(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Langlade County, Wisconsin, from U. S. government survey to present time, with biographical sketches"

imm 



mmfi 



m 







:^A/^.^ 



L.e,<£,i^.coi£.^L.t^ 



HISTORY OF 

LANGLADE COUNTY 

WISCONSIN 



From U. S. Government Survey To Present Time, 
With Biographical Sketches 



By ROBERT M. DESSUREAU 

Member of 

Wisconsin State Historical Society 

Wisconsin Archeological Society 

Langlade County Historical Society 

\ 



/" 



ILLUSTRATED 



COPYRIGHTED 1922 
(Robert M. Dessureau) 



BERNER BROS. PUBLISHING CO. 
ANTIGO, WISCONSIN 



.L3D3 



lClA6y283i 



DEC I5iy2^ 



o 



ipitiraltnn 

So Uir ruggrJi vionrrr mlioar 
uiirmuiucrahlr B;jirit braurti 
the trials au^ DatigrrB of tlip 
'Ntm Jfortl] tl^al pflBtrrttg 
mtgl]t brnrfit, thts uinrk ia 
rpB^Jfrlfully iiriiiratrii. 




SQl'lRE A. TAYLOR 

The Founder of Langlade Count}'. 

Born, 1806. 

Died, Feb. 22, 1902. 



PREFACE 

It should be stated that the primary motive of the writer has not been to pre- 
sage the future development of the county, l.)ut to set down, without personal mter- 
pretation. to the l)est of his ability, the story of the Langlade County pioneer, who 
blazed the trail for those who followed. 

Time passes swiftly. There is approachins' that hour when the last pioneer will 
pass to his reward, and ^^■.th this thought as his inspiring motive, the writer began 
the task of setting down, while yet there are a few from whose lips the story can be 
told, the deeds, trials, tribulations and monumental efforts of that vanguard of mor- 
tal souls who first trod the soil of Langlade County. 

If the Wisconsin Geographical Society, organized in the village of Antigo in lS8:j 
had followed out its purpose as its leaders intended it should, the achievements of 
the early settlers of Langlade County would be as fresh as if occurrences of yester- 
day and an accurate and complete link between the past and present could easily be 
obtained But such was not done. The golden opportunity has passed. Complete 
records of early county and township affairs are in many instances not properly in- 
dexed or not to be found. Nevertheless the writer is indebted to school district. 
township city of Antigo and County officials, a host of pioneers, the State Histori- 
cal Socie'ty, the Wisconsin Archeological Society, the press and others for invalu- 
able assistance rendered. 

Where data was not obtained through creditable records statements of pioneers 
have been relied on; where they have differed as to facts a reconciliation of differ- 
ences has been made according to the preponderance of evidence. 

Space has been devoted to recent history and attention has been given to recent 
industrial and social progress. 

Rather than fuse the entire manuscript into one conglomerated mass the writer 
has divided the work into four sections: 1— Langlade County as a unit; 2— The 
City of Antigo; :3— the Townships distinctly apart from the County as a unit, with 
school district subdivisions; and, lastly, 4— the Biographical element. 

The progress of the county and its institutions is given in a narration of those 
leadino- historical events selected because of their outstanding importance after a 
lapse of almost a half century. If this humble and unassuming compilation of those 
events shall give any pleasure to pioneers still living or to posterity, the writer will 
have attained all it should be his privilege to anticipate. 

Inaccuracies and omissions may have crept in. Lack of records, the inexperi- 
ence of the writer or the fact that no one living were associated with certain events 
would be the reason for such. Therefore the writer meekly asks the indulgence of 
the reader for while it is human to err it is divine to forgive. 

The writer does not feel satisfied that this volume adequately expresses the per- 
iod of expansion in Langlade County since 1S5::! to date. However, it is hoped that 
the charitable reader and critic will recognize, at least, this first attempt made to de- 
pict intelligently the leading occurrences that have during less than a half century 
laid the immoyal)le foundation upon which progressive Langlade County builds for 
a greater tomorrow. 



MAY, 1922. 



'-^iJeA/<^c/ce^U'CiA/L^^i^ 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I 

THE INDIAN-EPITOME OF WISCONSIN HISTORY 

Aborigines — Mound Builders — Habitat — Missionaries — Wisconsin Ter- 
ritory — The Badger State 1 

CHAPTER II 

SIEUR CHARLES DE LANGLADE 

Augustin De Langlade — Birth of Charles — Prestige over Ottawas — 

His Life and Death... 5 

CHAPTER III 

GEOGRAPHY 

Location of Langlade County — Boundary — Population — Area 6 

CHAPTER IV 

THE PIONEER 

Hardships — Life — Hospitality — Their Homes — Christian Charity.... 9 

CHAPTER V 

ORGANIZATION OF LANGLADE COUNTY 

Rule of Four Nations — Territorial Government — Land Districts — New 
County — S. A. Taylor — Langlade County Created — Boundary 
Error — County of Keeps — Matt Carpenter County — Terri- 
torial Changes 12 

CHAPTER VI 

FINANCIAL AND OFFICIAL 

Early County Finances — Comparative Financial Statements — County 

Officials, 1881-1922 16 

CHAPTER VII 

TAVERNS, OLD STOPPING PLACES, HOTELS 

Famous Log Cabins — Ranches on Lake Superior Trail — Old Dutch 
Frank's — Military Road Stopping Places — Early Antigo Hotels — 
Present Antigo Hotels .. 18 

CHAPTER VIII 

INDIAN TRAILS, ROADS, TRANSPORTATION 
Lake Superior Trail — Military Road — Tote Roads — Wholesale Land 
Grants — Pioneer Life on Military Road — Road Petitions — Rail- 
roads — Trunk Lines — Commissioners 21 

CHAPTER IX 

PIONEER LUMBERING ON WOLF AND EAU CLAIRE RIVERS 
Improvement Concerns — Great Log Drives — Early Lumbermen — 

Dams on Rivers — Maine Timbermen in Langlade 30 



CHAPTER X 

COUNTY POLITICS AND PARTIES 

Political Parties — Old Leaders — Personal Politics — Political Wigwam 
— Women in Politics — Breaking of Ties — County Presidential 
Vote, 1884-1920 33 

CHAPTER XI 

SCHOOLS AND EDUCATION 

Ordinance of 1787 — First County School — Pioneer Methods — Antigo 
Schools — Antigo Superintendents — Historical Society — Graduates 
of Antigo High School and County Normal 37 

CHAPTER XII 

INDUSTRIES, 1873-1922 

First Saw Mill in County — Antigo's First Mill — Review of Industries 

Since 50 

CHAPTER XIII 

BANKS AND FINANCES, LANGLADE COUNTY 

Early Charters — Banking Laws — National Bank Act — First County 

Bank — First National Bank — Antigo Banks — County Banks 55 

CHAPTER XIV 

COURTS, LAWS, LAWYERS 

First Circuit Court — Judges — Jury Trials — Murder Cases — Municipal 

Court Act — Grand Jury ^ 57 

CHAPTER XV 

MILITARY HISTORY 

De Langlade Recruits Indians — Civil War Veterans — Spanish-Ameri- 
can War — Fred Springstead — The World War 61 

CHAPTER XVI 

TEMPERANCE, PROHIBITION 

Dry Regime in Antigo, 1878 - 1885— The Fight of 1886— Blind Pigs- 
Good Templars — Anti-Saloon League in Antigo — County Prohibi- 
tionists — The Campaign of 1884 — W. C. T. U. — Moonshine — Law 
and Order 82 

CHAPTER XVII 

METEOROLOGY 

Coldest Season — Dryest — Warm Years — Meteoric Phenomena — Fires 

— Cyclones 84 

CHAPTER XVIII 

AGRICULTURE AND DAIRYING 

First Farm in County — Difficulties and Impediments — Homesteaders 

— County Fairs, Dairying and Breeders' Associations 88 



CHAPTER XIX 

MEDICINE, DOCTORS, CHIROPRACTORS 

First Hospital — Writings of Hypocrates — Medical Societies — First Doc- 
tor — Present Physicians — Dentists — Chiropractors — 92 

CHAPTER XX 

SOIL FORMATION IN LANGLADE COUNTY 

General Character of Surface — Glacial Drifts — Ledges — Elevation 

Above Sea Level 95 

CHAPTER XXI 

ANTIGO, THE COUNTY SEAT 

Surroundings — F. A. Deleglise's Plans — Population — Village — City 

— The Fight to Incorporate — . 98 

CHAPTER XXII 

HON. FRANCIS A. DELEGLISE 

Birthplace — Early Life — Parentage — Military and Public Career — 

Marriage — His Death 103 

CHAPTER XXIII 

CITY OF ANTIGO OFFICIALS 

First Mayor — City Clerks — Treasurers — Engineers — Health Of- 
ficers — Attorneys — Aldermen — Chiefs of Fire and Police De- 
partments - 105 

CHAPTER XXIV 

ORIGINAL CHARTER OF THE CITY OF ANTIGO 

Wards — First Election — Power of Council — Ordinances — Char- 
ter of 1905 -. -- 109 

CHAPTER XXV 

CITY ADMINISTRATIONS, 1885 - 1922 

Mayor Thomas W. Lynch — M. M. Ross Administration — Adminis- 
trations of Every Mayor, Including Mayor Charles J. Hanzel 128 

CHAPTER XXVI 

NEWSPAPERS OF NEW AND LANGLADE COUNTIES 

New County Republican — Langlade Republican — Woodland Homes 
Weekly News Item — The Special — The Forward — Herold — 
Antigo Republican — Antigo Daily Journal — Antigo Herald — 
Antigo Banner — Press Meetings 144 

CHAPTER XXVII 

THE ANTIGO POSTOFFICE 

First Established Antigo Postoffice — Niels Anderson — Rural Routes 

— Old Locations — New Postoffice — Postmasters 147 



CHAPTER XXVIII 

ANTIGO CHURCHES 

Congregational — Methodist — Catholic — Adventist — Unity Evan- ■ 
gelical — Peace Evangelical — Baptist — Episcopal — Zion — 
Christian Science — Kahaal Adaas Yesiu 149 

CHAPTER XXIX 

LITERATURE, ART, MUSIC 

Unwritten Literature of the Pioneer — Antigo's First Singing Mas- 
ter — Neighborhood Entertainment — Early Bands — Antigo City 
Band 155 

CHAPTER XXX 

COMMERCIAL ANTIGO 

Business Firms of Today — Location — Association of Commerce 158 

CHAPTER XXXI 

PIONEER MERCHANTS AND BUILDINGS 

Merchants of 1879 — Fifth Avenue a Wilderness — Real Estate Of- 
fices — Business Conditions — Old Opera House — The Approach 
of a New Era 163 

CHAPTER XXXII 

PUBLIC UTILITIES 

Volunteer and Paid Fire Departments — Telephone Industry — Elec- 
tric Systems — Antigo Water Department — Police — City Fi- 
nances 165 

CHAPTER XXXIII 

ANTIGO LODGES, CLUBS, SOCIETIES 

Odd Fellows — Masonic — K. of C. — K. cf P. — Labor Organizations 

— Beavers — Eagles — Moose — M. W. A. — Others 169 

CHAPTER XXXIV 
U. S. GOVERNMENT SURVEY OF LANGLADE COUNTY 
Rolling Surveyed in 1854 — Other Civil Divisions Surveyed 174 

CHAPTER XXXV 

ACKLEY TOWNSHIPS No. 31 N., R. 9-10 E. 

Area — Organization — Location — School Districts — Early Settlers 176 

CHAPTER XXXVI 

AINSWORTH TOWNSHIPS No. 33-34 N., R. 12 E. 

U. S. Survey — Organization — Cleveland Township — Officials 184 

CHAPTER XXXVII 
ANTIGO TOWNSHIP No. 31, N., R. 11 E. 
Town of Springbrook — Early Roads— Districts — Settlers — Schools 188 



CHAPTER XXXVIII 

ELCHO TOWNSHIPS No. 34, N., R. 10-11 E. 

Lakes — Timber Belt — Village of Elcho — First Election — Early In- 
dustries — Districts 195 

CHAPTER XXXIX 

ELTON TOWNSHIPS 31, 32, 33, N., R. 14 E., Etc. 

Largest Civil Division — Area — First Town Meeting — Langlade 
Fights Elton — Langlade, White Lake, Markton Called Dobbs- 
ton — Hollister 200 

CHAPTER XL 
EVERGREEN TOWNSHIP No. 31 N., R. 13 E. 
Wolf River Township — Village of Elton — Districts of Evergreen 206 

CHAPTER XLI 

LANGLADE TOWNSHIPS No. 32-33, N., R. 13 E. 

The Famous Lost Nation — Organization of Langlade — History of 

Pickerel, Elm Grove and Kent Districts 209 

CHAPTER XLII 

NEVA TOWNSHIP No. 32, N., R. 11 E. 

Derivation of Name — Early Settlers — Officials — Districts — Indus- 
tries — Schools — Churches — Agriculture 214 

CHAPTER XLIII 

NORWOOD TOWNSHIP No. 30, N., R. 12 E. 

Phlox Settlers — Organization of Districts — Riverside — Maple Grove 

Apple Grove — Sugar Bush — Mayking 220 

CHAPTER XLIV 

PECK TOWNSHIP No. 32 N., R. 10 E. 

Location — Area — Organization — First Officials — Survey of 1860 
— Ormsby — Badger District — Friebel, Blue Bell, Rose Dale Re- 
gions 226 

CHAPTER XLV 

POLAR TOWNSHIP No. 31 N., R. 12 E. 

Survey of 1857 — H. B. Polar, Indian Trader and Pioneer — Detach- 
ments from Original Polar — Districts — Industries 231 

CHAPTER XLVI 

PRICE TOWNSHIP No. 32 N., R. 12 E. 

Congressman W. T. Price — Town of Eagle — Davis Mill Ticket — 

Officials of Price — Malcolm — Bryant Village 235 



CHAPTER XLVII 

ROLLING TOWNSHIP No. 30 N. R. 11 E. 

Pioneer Settlers — Organization — Industries — Milltown — School 

Districts — Elmhurst Village 240 

CHAPTER XLVIII 

SUMMIT TOWNSHIPS No. 33-34 N., R. 9 E. 

Survey of 1860 and 1864 — Timber Belt — Summit Lake — Parrish 
Township — Sleepy Hollow — Sunny Slope — Rocky Glen — Call- 
sen — Parrish Village 247 

CHAPTER XLIX 

UPHAM TOWNSHIP No. 33 N., R. 10-11 E. 

Early Assemblage of Pioneers — Organization — Industries — Schools 

— Districts of Upham 252 

CHAPTER L 

VILAS TOWNSHIP No. 32 N., R. 9 E. 

Government Survey of 1860 — Township Organization — School Dis- 
tricts — Pioneers — Industries 257 

CHAPTER LI 

HISTORICAL NOTES 

Chairmen of County Board — Vacated Townships — S. A. Taylor, 
Booster of a New County — How Larzelere Paved the Way — 
Miscellaneous 261 

CHAPTER LII 

COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 

Importance of Biography — The Life of W. L. Ackley, First Settler in 

Langlade County — Sketches of Pioneers and Present Settlers..-. 266 



History of Langlade County 



CHAPTER I. 

The Indian 

Epitome of Wisconsin History 

Aborigines in Wisconsin — Mound Builders — Habitat — Custom — Post Lake — The Wolf River — Wis- 
consin and Fox River Valleys — Missionaries — The Badger Territory from Nicolet to 1848 — 
Wisconsin As A State — Wisconsin In The World War. 



While it is the purpose of confining this work ex- 
clusively to Langlade County, yet the reader may be in- 
terested in a brief sketch of our state from the time 
when the Indian roamed at will to date. 

When the first Europeans settled on American soil 
they found the Indians occupying the country. It was 
then the prevailing opinion that the Indian was of one 
common family, possessing similar habits and speaking 



the conclusive opinion among anthropologists that the 
various people inhabiting the American continent 
sprang from one common stock, the Mongolian, in 
Eastern Asia. 

The Indian possessed marked peculiarities of fea- 
tures, high cheek bones, long straight black hair, a red 
or copper colored skin, black eyes and was erect in 
stature. 




CHIPPEWA INDIANS AND THEIR WIGWAM. 
These Indians of the famous .Algonquin Tribe, are restless and nomadic. This group was encamped 
near Otter Lake, Elcho township. Note the skins, construction of the wigwam and the birch bark 
canoes — "We-ka-see-gee-mon." The high powered rifle in the hands of the "Chief" is a striking con- 
trast to the weapons used by those savage warriors shown in the picture of De Langlade's battle with 
the English under General Braddock. 



identically the same tongue. This error was soon dis- 
pelled with a more extended observation and intimate 
relations with these people in different sections of the 
country. Slowly it was disclosed that there were 
many tribes and combinations of tribes or nations, so 
to speak, differing radically in language, habit, custom 
and degree of civilization. As time passed it became 



The villages of the Red Men were composed of very 
rude huts or wigwams made of poles driven into the 
ground and then tied at the top with buckskin lacing. 
Except to exhibit as trophies or to torture to death, few 
prisoners were taken in battle. The Indian was haugh- 
ty and taciturn. He disliked a coward and it was 
fortunate for the Whites, if when Indians visited their 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



cabins, they did not show any evidence of fear. The 
Indian was quick to admire those Whites, who were 
bold and defiant. 

The belief of old that there was not a good Indian 
but a dead one is erroneous and is one of the wrongs 
the Red Men have suffered at the hands of the invad- 
ing Whites. Greed and lust for land and power may 
account for the remainder. That the Indian was sav- 
age and cruel, crafty and often treacherous is doubtless 
a fact; but the truth is our ancestors wanted the val- 
leys of the Rock, the Fox, the Chippewa and the Mis- 
sissippi rivers for their exploitation. It was neces- 
sary to dethrone the original owners and this was often 
accomplished, not by honorable purpose of treaties, but 
by superior forces, skill and the flint-lock. We can 
learn little of our first inhabitants from the few left 
within our borders, for the Indians are a people of 
legend and tradition, handed down from gen- 
eration to generation, and not of recorded his- 
tory. We must go to the records of the 
French Missionaries, who first lived among them 
to acquaint ourselves with their lives, manners, 
customs and beliefs. From the journals of these men 
we learn that Wisconsin was once the home of differ- 
ent nations of three great Indian tribes — Iroquois, 
Sioux and Algonquins. We have only to cite the fact 
that Powhatan, King Philip, Tecumseh, Pontiac and 
the famous Black Hawk, were all leaders of these na- 
tions. The Pottawattomies on Green Bay Island were 
the most restless of the Algonquin tribes. The Sacs, 
Fox, and Outagamies lived first in the Fox River Val- 
ley, but later were pushed west and their trails and vil- 
lages cover the valley of the Wisconsin. 

The Mound Builders of Wisconsin are known by rea- 
son of the remains they have left. As the scientists 
of today study the relics and bones of a vanished peo- 
ple they find the presence of numerous mounds, chief- 
ly in southern Wisconsin. These Mounds were locat- 
ed usually on natural lines of travel and the places 
where groups of them have been found, indicates an 
early occupation by considerable number of people. 
The mounds are of all sizes and shapes and we sup- 
pose they were classified according to purpose. Man 
has faithfully searched and contrived in his desire 
to answer these questions. 

THE INDIAN IN LANGLADE COUNTY. 

There is no question that before the settlement of 
Langlade County missionaries and Indian traders utiliz- 
ed the old Indian trails, the Lake Superior Trail and 
parts of the Wolf River for transportation. Their 
canoes and bateaux, small and light, were propelled 
by oars. Only small articles could be carried. Post 
Lake was once a trading post between French and 
Indians. Large trees have grown up about the ruins 
of an old trading post there, thus establishing abundant 
proof of its existence. Settlers residing at Upper 
Post Lake can recall olden days when the east bank of 
the lake was dotted with the wigwams of the Potta- 
wattomies. David Edick, pioneer Wolf river settler, 
has identified a Jesuit missionary ring bearing the in- 



signia, "I. H. S." and a small cross found on the east 
shore of the lake. 

But a fev.' years ago the main street of Antigo was 
visited by many Indian braves and their squaws, who 
went among the merchants and residents selling blue- 
berries, maple sugar, black cherry bark, wild ginseng 
or shipping bales of evergreen. They still come to 
Antigo from the Indian reservation, but only to sell 
baskets. 

Langlade County had among its early settlers many 
adventurers and prospectors, the most of whom were 
industrious settlers. They moved into the wilder- 
ness, erecting cabins or shacks near a creek or river, 
and in their trading with the passing Indians often 
met and married young Indian maidens who proved 
faithful and devoted wives. These men are some- 
times called "Squaw Men." 

MISSIONARIES AND EXPLORERS. 

A half century before Philadelphia was settled by 
white men, Jean Nicolet, professional French inter- 
preter and explorer, was dispatched from Quebec by 
Samuel de Champlain. Nicolet no doubt landed on 
the shore of Green Bay, negotiated with the Indians, 
made explorations and returned to Canada. In 1655 
Pierre Espirit Raddison and Medard Chourrt des Gro- 
selliers, fur traders, went down the Fox River as far 
as the present site of Portage and crossed over the 
Wisconsin river. Reinforced by a band of Huron 
Indians these same roving fur traders explored the 
south shore of Lake Superior and built a crude water- 
side fort between the present sites of Ashland and 
Washburn. 

In 1661 Father Pierre Menard, Jesuit Missionary 
came to Kewaunee Bay and while descending the Wis- 
consin river was lost and probably perished in the wild- 
erness or met death at the hands of the Indians. Four 
years later Father Claude Allouex was sent here to 
re-open a mission at Chequamegon Bay, which place 
he named "La Pointe Du Saint Espirit," (The point 
of the Holy Ghost.) In 1669 he was relieved by a 
younger Jesuit, Father Jacques Marquette. Nicholas 
Perrot, prominent adventure and fur trader, vis- 
ited Wisconsin in 1666 and dealt with the Indians at 
Green Bay. In 1763 by the treaty of Paris, Wiscon- 
sin came under the control of England and after the 
Revolution was attached to the United States. 

During the Revolutionary War, the Indians and 
French in Wisconsin were hostile. In the War of 1812 
the Indians actually participated against the United 
States. After the Black Hawk War and the discovery 
of lead mines in Southern Wisconsin, there was a great 
influx of immigrants. The state was in succession a 
part of Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, finally the Wiscon- 
sin territory in 1836. Wisconsin was admitted into the 
Union May 29th, 1848. Among the chief historical 
events in its earlier history as a state were the whole- 
sale granting of lands to railroad companies, the politi- 
cal gathering at Ripon leading toward the organization 
of the Republican party and the part Wisconsin took 
in the Civil War, where it raised more than its quota 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



of men and money. Wisconsin has been a strong Re- 
publican state politically. 

After the Civil War the state grew rapidly in pop- 
ulation. Its soil by far its greatest natural resource 
became the field of intense cultivation and today the 
products of Wisconsin exceed $250,000,000 in value 
annually. 

When the United States entered the World War, 
Wisconsin National Guards won praise everywhere. 
The 32nd Division, Wisconsin and Michigan troops, 
were designated "Les Terribles" by General Mangin, 
French Commander. The people at home maintained 
a spirit not seldom exhibited, gave their general and 
hearty support in all Liberty Loan and other drives. 
Red blooded Americans left their business, their homes 
and those dear to them to don the uniform, thus dem- 
onstrating as War Governor Emanuel L. Phillip said, 
"The love of country and flag is strong among the 
people." In another section we discuss the part 
Langlade County played in the World War. 

The financial expenditure in the World War daily 
was approximately $117,000,000. At that rate the 
total cost of the entire war was $183,339,000,000. 
Taxation, international credits, floating of foreign and 
domestic loans was the means whereby such vast sums 
of money were raised. The reader can turn to the 
chapter on military history of Langlade County to find 
what amount the citizens raised in the various bond 
loans during the great conflict. When the first Liber- 
ty Loan was offered for subscription May 14, 1917, 
reports poured into general headquarters at Washing- 
ton, D. C, from every section of the country. The is- 
sue, amounting to $2,000,000,000 was raised success- 
fully. 4,000,000 more than the necessary number of 
subscribers came forth to assist Uncle Sam. 

Six months elapsed and on October 1, 1917, the sec- 
ond Liberty Loan was launched. It met with popular 
favor. The issue was over-subscribed in one of the 
greatest national campaigns ever held in the United 
States. 9,500,000 citizens subscribed to the issue, 
which called for $3,000,000,000. 

April 6, 1918 — the anniversary day of America's en- 
try into the war — was celebrated by the Third Liberty 
Loan in which $3,000,000,000 was offered. The drive 
was one of the memorable events connected with the 
war. May 4, 1918, it was closed with an over sub- 
scription of $1,176,516,850. 

Twenty-two million American citizens subscribed 
for Liberty Bonds in the Fourth Loan launched Sep- 
tember 28, 1918, and ending October 19, 1918. The 
appeal was for $6,000,000,000 and was over-subscrib- 
ed. This was the greatest financial undertaking ever 
recorded. 

The last drive — the Fifth Liberty Loan was launch- 
ed April, 1919, and ended May 10, 1919. Amid pa- 
triotic fervor seldom exhibited America sent the Vic- 
tory Loan over the top and made the ultimate defeat of 
the enemy possible sooner. 

In these financial drives Wisconsin played its part 
admirably, subscribing a total of $333,633,800 in the 



five drives. Langlade County subscribed a total of 
$1,678,150 in all Liberty Loan drives. 

But Wisconsin accomplished many other notable 
achievements besides backing up the Liberty Loan 
drives. The Red Cross, The Y. M. C. A., the Knights 
of Columbus, the United War Work drives, soldier's 
aid, soldier's dependents aid, the four minute men, the 
states man power, enlisted men and drafted men, the 
state public service reserve, the community labor 
boards, federal employment offices, food and fuel ad- 
ministration, the non-war construction organizations, 
the county councils of defense, the Wisconsin draft 
administration, the legal advisory boards, the district 
and local Boards of Exemption, the war savings and 
thrift stamp campaigns, the activities of the public 
and parochial schools, — these and others were vital 
factors in the winning of the great war. 

The raising of the National Army in Wisconsin was 
one of the outstanding feats in state history. Provost 
Marshal Crowder, the head of the Selective Service 
Department in Washington, D. C, in this connection 
said: "It remains the ultimate test and proof of the 
intrinsic political idea upon which American institu- 
tions of Democracy and local self-government are bas- 
ed." He was not mistaken in what the outcome would 
be. Major E. A. Fitzpatrick, state draft administra- 
tor, received the following message from General 
Crowder, when the armistice was signed November 
11, 1918: "I take this opportunity to convey my con- 
gratulations upon the vigorous and systematic man- 
ner in which the whole administration of the Selective 
Service System has been conducted in the State of 
Wisconsin." And these words from General Crowder 
are a testimonial as to the efficiency of all war organ- 
izations in each county — for without a sense of cour- 
age and responsibility and cooperation by all organi- 
zations the success of the Selective Service Law would 
have been imperiled. 

With the signing of the armistice the fate of a 
mighty empire was doomed and before six months 
passed the soldiers of Wisconsin began to return home 
— to be once more absorbed into the economic and in- 
dustrial life of the state. 

September 29, 1919, Wisconsin voters by a vote of 
165,762 for and 57,324 against accepted the amend- 
ment to Chapter 452 of the Laws of 1919, which pro- 
vided for the creation of a Service Recognition Board 
and the payment of what has since been known as the 
Soldier Bonus Act, which provided for the raising of a 
sufficient sum to assure each soldier, sailor, marine 
and nurse, including Red Cross nurses, who served in 
the armed forces of the United States during the 
World War against Germany and Austria and who, at 
the time of their induction into service were residents 
of Wisconsin, a sum of not exceeding ten dollars for 
each month of service with a minimum of fifty dol- 
lars, as a token of appreciation of the character and 
spirit of their patriotic service and to perpetuate such 
appreciation as a part of the history of Wisconsin. 
Langlade County went on record in favor of the Sol- 
dier Bonus Act by the overwhelming vote of 1,294 for 
and 258 against the proposal. 




= U = 

fc> 5 



.ill 

~ '/] ~ 

as ^ 



-J 



o ^ y 



^ •£ 



b«T3 M 






2 






■— rt — {. 

-■^ s 2 

" ^ ^ ^ 

« 5 £ « 



J «.i s 



5,= W M 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER II. 
Charles De Langlade 



Before a historical discussion of Langlade County is 
undertaken it will not be amiss to give an account of 
the exploits of Augustin De Langlade and his illustrious 
son, Charles, in honor of whom Langlade County bears 
its name. 

Augustin De Langlade was born about 1695. While 
still a young man, lured to the unconquered and unex- 
plored northwest of the new world he settled near 
Mackinaw (Michigan) and traded with the Ottawa 
Indians. He became very friendly with the Ottawas 
and married a sister of King Nis-so-wa-quet of that 
famous tribe. After this union he gained wonderful 
prestige over the Ottawas. 

Charles De Langlade was the second child and was 
born in 1724 at Mackinaw. At the age of twenty-five 
he moved with his parents and their younger children 
to the settlement at Green Bay. Here Sieur De Lang- 
lade continued as a trader among the Indians, living a 
peaceful life which ended when he was 76 years old in 
1771. 

Sieur Charles De Langlade married Charlotte Bou- 
rassa, the daughter of Rene Bourassa, a retired voy- 
ageur, who then lived at Mackinaw, August 12, 1754. 
The ceremony, performed by Father M. L. Le Franc, 
Roman Catholic priest, was vouched for by M. Herbin, 
then leader and commandant of the Green Bay post. 
Mme. De Langlade moved to Green Bay from Macki- 
naw six years after her marriage. It was at the Green 
Bay settlement that De Langlade's hardy, noble, im- 
pulsive, but dangerous career began. 

Sieur Charles De Langlade gained a reputation for 
bravery and strategy second to none. Before the out- 
break of the French-Indian war in 1754 he had led a 
force against the Sac Indian nation and succeeded in 
pushing them back from their holdings in the Fox 
river valley to the banks of the Wisconsin river. 

Because of his knowledge of the Indian tribes of the 
northwest, his winning personality, intelligence and 
wonderful influence over the Red Men, Marquis Vau- 
dreuil, Governor-General of New France and Louisi- 
ana, selected De Langlade to recruit a powerful force 
from the ten Indian nations, Ottawas (to whom he was 
personally related), Chippewas, Menominees, Hurons, 
Winnebagoes and others. ^ The force of Indians was 
merged with a body of French frontier fighters with De 
Langlade assuming full command. 

The fearless young warrior of just thirty years pro- 
ceeded at once to Fort Du Quesne ^ where a defense 
against the British was planned. General Braddock, 
vainly attempting to take Fort Du Quesne with his 
picked soldiery, was decisively defeated. The victory 
of the French and Indians was due to the persistant 
appeals of De Langlade to induce De Beaujeu, French 
commandant, to commence the attack. Beaujeu, after 
repeated requests refused to give the order to com- 
mence battle. De Langlade then called a council of 
the Indian chiefs and they demanded that Beaujeu give 

1 — De Langlade's agents recruited Indians for this battle from w. th- 
in the limits of Langlade County. 



the order to fight while the British were feasting or be- 
fore they crossed the river (Ohio). The French com- 
mandant, disheartened and fearing that he faced de- 
feat, yielded to De Langlade and gave orders to bat- 
tle. Beaujeu, brave, but pessimistic, was killed in 
the affray. Braddock lost twenty-six officers and 714 
of his men were killed or wounded. George Washing- 
ton, young Colonial leader, saved the retreating troops 
by his masterly conduct. The force under Beaujeu 
and De Langlade lost but three officers and thirty men. 

Dumais, Commandant of Du Quesne, then ordered 
De Langlade to proceed with his force on August 9, 
1756 to strike at Ft. Cumberland and obtain informa- 
tion about the movements of the British in the Ohio 
river valley. 

In 1757 De Langlade participated in battles in Cana- 
da under the brave and beloved Montcalm. De Lang- 
lade aided in the capture of Ft. William Henry at the 
head of Lake George. 

September 8, 1757, Governor General Vaudreuil or- 
dered De Langlade to start from Montreal for the post 
of Michilimackinac to serve as second in command un- 
der orders of M. De Beaujeu, post commandant. A 
year later he returned to Canada, fought at Ticonderoga 
with the French-Indian force against General Aber- 
crombie, British leader, who suffered severe reverses 
in killed and wounded. 

After the battle at Ticonderoga, De Langlade went 
back to Ft. Du Quesne, then threatened by the enemy. 
The gallant George Washington drew near the fort. 
Rather than face disaster the defenders set fire to It. 
In November 1758 the Dragon of St. George took the 
place of the Lilies of France and floated over the Ohio 
river valley unmolested. De Langlade returned to 
the post at Green Bay. 

Here De Langlade proved himself a faithful servant 
of France. He could see that the power of the French 
was slipping, but he rendered faithful and efficient 
services until the end. In the battle for possession 
of Quebec, when both Montcalm and Wolfe were mor- 
tally wounded, De Langlade fought furiously, coming 
out of the conflict wounded. Two of his brothers fell 
on the plains of Abraham. 

In 1760 he was commissioned a Lieutenant by the 
King of France and received instructions to return the 
Indians under his command to their respective villages 
and he to locate at Mackinac. The French-Indian war 
ended with the tri-color of France hauled down and 
De Langlade was given an appointment as Superin- 
tendent of Indians at Green Bay. While he did not 
actively participate in the Revolutionary War, his mor- 
al assistance alone, was worth much to the English. 

However he received valuable grants of land and an 
annuity from the British for his services in the Revo- 
lution. He passed away in January, 1800, at the ad- 
vanced age of 75 years and was laid to rest beside his 
father. 

2 — Ft. Du Quesne was built at the junction of the Allegheny and 
Monongahela rivers, and was named in honor of the Governor of 
Canada. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 




CHAPTER III. 
Geography 

Location — Boundary — Population by Comparative Statement — Area — Civil Divisions — Rivers and 
Streams — County Farm Statistics — Summary of Development. 

A relief map of Wisconsin shows 
that Langlade County is situated in a 
north central position and is located 
very near the geographical center of 
the State. Langlade County is 

bounded on the north by Oneida and 
a part of Forest county; on the south 
by Shawano and a part of Marathon 
County; on the west by Lincoln Coun- 
ty and on the east by Oconto and a 
part of Forest County. The territory 
of Langlade County embraces the fol- 
lowing governmental sub-divisions 
viz. all townships numbered 31, 32, 33 
and 34 in ranges 9, 10, 11 and 12; also 
townships numbered 30 in ranges 11 
and 12; also townships numbered 31, 
32 and 33 in ranges numbered 13 and 
14; also the west twelve sections of 
township numbered 31 in range num- 
bered 15. The ranges all being east 
of the 4th principal meredian. 

This territory before the establishment of Langlade 
County was a part of the counties of Shawano, Oconto 
or Lincoln. In another chapter the changes affecting 
the county from 1880 to date will be discussed. The 
boundary of Langlade County forms a regular course. 
Commencing at the northwest corner it runs east twen- 
ty-four miles; thence six miles south; thence twelve 
miles east; thence south twelve miles; thence two 
miles east, completing the northern boundary; thence 
six miles south; thence sixteen miles west; thence six 
miles south; thence twelve miles west; thence six miles 
north; thence nine and three-fourths miles west and 
thence twenty-four miles north to the place of begin- 
ning. It includes within its borders 876 square miles 
or 560,640 acres of which approximately 90 per cent is 
reported for taxation. Non-taxable area includes 
lakes, rivers and streams. 

The following statement gives a comparative report 
of the population of Langlade County for the ten year 
periods since 1880: 

Population in 1880—685. 

Population in 1890—9,465. 

Population in 1900—12,553. 

Population in 1910—17,062. 

Population in 1920—21,471. 
The per cent of increase in population is as follows: 
From 1890 to 1900—32.6 per cent; 1900 to 1910—35.9 
per cent; 1910 to 1920—25.8 per cent. This phenome- 
nal growth during a span of forty years is a simple tes- 
timonial of what can be expected for the future. The 
intelligence and initiative of the citizens, their thrift 



Scene on tlie Eau Claire Kucr. Lany'ailc Lounty. 

and integrity, the great diversity of industry and occu- 
pation, the vast resources, the accessibility of raw ma- 
terials necessary, but not produced within the borders 
of Langlade County, the excellent transportation facil- 
ities, the splendid network of highways, radiating from 
Antigo to all sections of the county, prosperous farms, 
and unsurpassed dairying communities are some of the 
responsible reasons for a steady, healthy increase in 
new settlers from year to year. 

RIVERS, LAKES AND STREAMS. 

Langlade County is at the door of the great lakes 
and rivers of tourist fame in Wisconsin. The larg- 
est rivers are the Wolf and the Eau Claire {east ana 
west branches.) These two bodies of water together 
with numerous creeks, small rivers and rivulets, drain 
and water the county. The principal river is the 
Wolf, which has its source in Forest County, flows 
through Langlade County in a south-easterly direction 
through the townships of Elcho, Ainsworth, Langlade 
and Elton. Its receives many rivulets, rivers and 
creeks, the most important being the Lily River, Hunt- 
ing River and Pickerel Creek. The Eau Claire river 
has its headwaters (western branch) in the northwest- 
ern section of the county, draining the southeastern 
part of the Town of Summit, the southwestern part of 
Upham township and Peck township. The east 
branch of the Eau Claire river drains the south eastern 
part of Upham township, all of Neva township and a 
section of Peck township. It joins the western branch 
in the northwestern part of section 28 of East Ackley 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



township. The west branch of the Eau Claire river 
receives Clear Water Creek, and Sucker Creek from 
the northeast in Peck township and Black Creek from 
the west in Ackley township. The east branch re- 
ceives Sucker Creek from Bass Lake in sections 10 and 




Scene on the Red River, which flows through 
Norwood Townsliip. 

11 of Neva township and a few smaller creeks and 
streams in Peck and Ackley townships. 

Other rivers of importance in the county are the 
Trappe River of the west Ackley township, the Prairie 
River of north Summit township. Red River of Nor- 
wood township, Springbrook, with its headwaters in 
Neva township, flowing through Antigo township, 
through the City of Antigo and also through Rolling 
township. McCloud Creek, Pine River, Lloyd Creek, 
Pratt Creek, all in the west part of Vilas township, flow 
in a southwesterly direction. 

GOVERNMENT CIVIL DIVISIONS. 

Langlade County is subdivided into sixteen civil di- 
visions. They are Summit, Vilas, Elcho, Peck, Neva, 
Antigo, Ainsworth, Price, Polar, Norwood, Rolling, 
Langlade, Upham, Evergreen, Elton and Ack- 
ley. Elton, the largest civil division is 128 
square miles in area. Summit, Upham, El- 
cho, Ackley, Ainsworth and Langlade are each 
72 square miles in area. The other town- 
ships, Vilas, Polar, Antigo, Rolling, Norwood, Peck, 



Neva, Evergreen and Price are 36 square miles in area 
respectively. The most densely populated townships 
are Antigo and Norwood. The most sparsely popu- 
lated are Summit, Vilas and Ainsworth townships. 

61 per cent of the people of Langlade County are 
residents of rural districts. 

This county has some of the most beautiful lakes in 
the state. The largest lakes are Post, Pickerel, Sum- 
mit, Enterprise, Richs' or Rolling Stone and Bass Lake. 
Post Lake is about four miles long. Enterprise Lake is 
almost two miles at its widest point. Richs' Lake 
from its farthest northern shore to its most remote 
southeastern shore is about two miles long. Summit 
Lake, Bass Lake, Lawrence Lake, Moose Lake, Twin 
Lakes, Mueller's Lake, Lower Bass Lake and Rose 
Lake, also White Lake, are all lakes of good size. 
There are 570 lakes, streams and rivers in the county. 
The average annual rainfall is about 40 inches and the 
variations of temperature are from 30 degrees below 
zero to 90 degrees above (Fahrenheit.) 

Langlade County is drained by the St. Lawrence 
river and the Mississippi river drainage systems, the 
Wolf river and its tributaries in the former and the Eau 
Claire (east and west branches) river in the latter. 

RURAL LANGLADE COUNTY. 

The information herein does not tell the reader all 
there is to be known about the geography of Langlade 
County. Important matters come up every day and 
there are scores of new things relative to the county 
with which all intelligent and active citizens should ac- 
quaint themselves. 

Langlade County is closer to the border of Michigan 
than to any other state border. It is just southwest of 
Forest County, touching the Michigan border. There 
was a day when the county did touch the border line 
of Michigan before detachments of 1885. 

It may be interesting to the student of county his- 
tory to know that in the State of Wisconsin there are 
over seven hundred million eggs laid annually of which 
the hens in Langlade County laid 3,626,080 eggs in 
1921. Recent statistics show that in Langlade Coun- 
ty there are approximately 42,280 hens laying on an 
average of 86 eggs each year. Assuming that eggs 
are retailing at 44 cents per dozen the selling price of 
all eggs produced in Langlade County is approximate- 
ly $136,553 annually. Hundreds of crates are ship- 
ped from the county to Chicago and other points where 
they are held in "cold storage" houses. The "can- 
dling" of eggs is carried on in the county quite ex- 
tensively also. Exclusive poultry farms, modern and 
profitable, are rapidly making their appearance in dif- 
ferent townships in the county. This holds good for 
the future welfare of this particular industry. 

Wisconsin is the leading dairy state in the United 
States. The milk cows of Badgerdom produce an 
average of over 140 quarts of milk per second. There 
are 11,518 milk cows in Langlade County producing 
an average of 4,935 pounds of milk each per year with 
a total of 50,391,250 pounds of milk during one year. 



8 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Langlade County, as we have stated, has a popu- 
lation of 21,471 inhabitants. A quart of milk, weigh- 
ing two pounds, could be given to every man, woman 
and child in Langlade County three times per day if 
the annual total milk production of the county was 
evenly divided among the people. 

The potato industry is the most important in pro- 
ductivity in Langlade County. Some of the larg- 
est potato fields under cultivation in Wisconsin are 
located in Langlade County. The most advanced 
methods of cultivation are followed by the experts en- 
gaged in that phase of agriculture. Homer Beattie, 
the Prosser Brothers, C. Sorenson, John Morrissey, J. 
W. Smith, of Kent, Peter Krier and others are well 
known as leading potato men. There are approxi- 
mately 4,435 acres of land used for potato cultivation 
annually in the county. The average yield per acre 
is 127 bushels. Langlade County holds a rank near 
the top in the total amount of car loads of potatoes ex- 
ported yearly. The average annual potato crop is 
563,245 bushels. The actual land area of the coun- 
ty is 555,414 acres. Thus the average farm value of 
an acre of potatoes in Langlade County is $130.81. The 
reader can gain an idea of the vast potato industry 
of Wisconsin when it is realized that the county pro- 
duces but one fiftieth of Wisconsin's total annual yield 
of 27,200,000 bushels. Langlade County potato 
growers cultivate about one-sixtieth of the total 
amount of potato acreage of Wisconsin. Langlade 
County raises about twenty-five bushels of potatoes 
for each inhabitant every year. The principal pota- 
toes cultivated in the county are the Rural New York- 
ers, Russetts, Triumph, Irish Cobbler, Green Mountain 
and Early Ohio's and other varieties. Extreme cau- 
tion is taken in the county to guard against potato 
blight and the potato beetle. Langlade County grow- 
ers export seed potato to every section of the United 
States. 

Recent statistics produce the fact that 446 silos are 
being used in Langlade County. Every year new 
silos are erected to care for the increasing yields of 
the farmers. There are now about five hundred silos 
in the county or one silo to about every fourth farm. 
Langlade County has 1717 acres annually producing 
10,908 tons of corn silage. The figures given are 
based on a five year average. Thus there are about 
thirty-six silos in each civil division (section) in the 
county or an average of nearly one silo to every square 
mile. 

While the county is not in the corn belt of the Uni- 
ted States it produces a fair yield of corn used as a 
grain. There are 704 acres of land, according to sta- 
tistics producing five year averages, yielding annual- 
ly in Langlade County 19,800 bushels of grain corn. 

Langlade County is within that area of land which 
the United States governmental officials declare will 



make the greatest developments during the next few 
decades. Since 1855 its area has been gradually, but 
surely developed into an important and essential part 
of the great commonwealth of Wisconsin. From the 
day when the squatters and early homesteaders push- 
ed back the forests from an acre or more of ground, 
new land has been constantly cleared, broken or drain- 
ed from year to year. 842 acres of land were clear- 
ed or brushed off during the year ending April 1, 1920. 
The farm value of nineteen principal Langlade Coun- 
ty crops during the years 1919 and 1920 were : $2.- 
474,422 and $1,927,443. 15,771 acres of land have 
been added to the total area under cultivation in the 
county since 1909. 

The growth of the county has been gradual and 
without the "boom" of the mushroom variety. No 
better index to the general progress of a community 
could be related that a comparative statement giving 
figures which cannot be denied and which tell the 
amazing story of the expansion of the county. 

LANGLADE COUNTY FARM STATISTICS. 

In 1910 there were but 2,823 apple trees in bear- 
ing in the county as compared with 8,584 in 1920. 

42 tractors were in use in the county in May, 1920. 

From fifteen acres the county has forged ahead so 
far that now 243 acres of land are producing root crops 
other than sugar beets. 

There were less than fifty acres of peas for can- 
ning cultivated in 1909 as compared with 251 acres in 
1920. 

From 137 acres the wild or marsh hay has decreas- 
ed from 1909 to 1920 to but 97 acres — a sure indica- 
tion that agriculture is developing scientifically. 

Clover and timothy production has increased from 
17,942 to 23,715 acres in ten years— 1909-20. 

256 more acres of rj'e were planted in 1920 than in 
1909 in the county. 

In 1909, 2,597 acres of barley were cultivated. The 
acreage of the same crop was practically the same ac- 
cording to 1919 statistics. 

151 acres were under spring wheat production in 
1909 as compared with 1,074 acres in 1920. 

The increase in acreage sown in oats was approxi- 
mately 3,000 acres, U. S. statistics indicate. 

A general summary of rural development shows that 
the county has made rapid increase in production of 
crops considered grown for strictly commercial pur- 
poses. 

The first record of tractors used on Langlade Coun- 
ty farms was called for by the United States govern- 
ment in 1920. With a return to normal conditions of 
production and consumption and an equilibrium of 
price levels the tractor will no doubt be more exten- 
sively used. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER IV. 
The Pioneer 

Hardships — Mode of Life — Hospitality — How They Came — Their Homes. 



After the great war of the rebellion the dense un- 
broken wilderness of Upper Wisconsin was explored 
by an almost unceasing army of timber estimators, 
lumbermen, prospectors and homestead seekers. With 
the construction of the Military Road through Ains- 
worth, Langlade and Elton Townships, the opening of 
Eastern Langlade County began. With the pioneer 
came the saw mill. As the result the heavy timbered 
hills and valleys where once only the red man and wild 



miles of splendid highways over which high powered 
motor vehicles travel swiftly linking city, village and 
hamlet. 

Brave and courageous were the families that moved 
into this country infested with wild animals and In- 
dians. In early years our first settlers, particularly 
in Norwood Township and the Wolf River Country 
came into this land of hope after enduring many hard- 
ships from long exposure. The journey was always 





lodern Langlade County farm with its pure bred cattle and lu.xuriant meadows, presenting a vivid 
contrast to the log cabin of the old homesteader of nearly a half century ago. 



beasts fought for supremacy, a thriving industry de- 
veloped. 

What a contrast today. Then the Indian was master 
of the land. Where his camp fire burned brightly in 
the valley, on the plains and hilltops, we see hundreds 
of cultivated farms today. We see the ideal farm- 
house with its water works and electric lights, its au- 
tomobile garage, machine shop, huge barns and tractor 
sheds and silos, where once the Indian tepee comfort- 
ed the restless and impulsive red man. Where the 
Indian made his temporary abode, we find today pros- 
perous farms and contented communities, factories and 
mills, churches and schools. Instead of the old In- 
dian trails over which mail and provisions had to be 
"toted" or "man packed" from Shawano, Wausau or 
Appleton, the nearest trading points, we have today 



tiresome and tedious. Travel was done with oxen or 
horses and the wagons were crude and heavy. Many 
miles of wilderness were passed. The rough cordu- 
roy roads were few and boggy. Many a pioneer wa- 
gon that trekked into this country was upset or dam- 
aged due to miry roads or pits. Some pioneers did 
not even have a wagon or cart with a yoke of oxen, 
but trudged along on foot, carrying their personal be- 
longings on their backs. Such jourreys lasted days 
and days. Langlade County's first settlers suffered 
hardships, trials and tribulations of which the present 
generation is not at all familiar. Many a family lost 
one of their loved ones after they had staked their 
claim in the woods of the county. Very often on the 
journey children would become ill and not having any 
medical attention close at hand would die. In such 



10 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



instances, the bereaved parents would place their lov- 
ed one in a grave dug under the boughs of the forest 
trees. 

Before the Civil War, white men penetrated Lang- 
lade County. From 1870 to 1890, this part of Wiscon- 
sin, which had long been looked upon as adapted for 
nothing but the undisturbed home of the Indian and the 
journeys of venturesome speculators, became the mec- 
ca for immigrants from every section south and east 
of Wisconsin. The belief that this country possessed 
only one factor of wealth — its pineries — became a 
myth. With the death of that idea, there was born 
a new period of expansion — in upper Wisconsin, which 
wonderfully contributed to the development of Lang- 
lade County. In the period of 1870-1875, after the 
trail of the Pine hunter had been blazed, hardy sons of 
toil, whose greatest asset was health and muscle, began 
to erect log cabins, "Homes of Peace and Plenty." 
Thus began the settlement of the picturesque new 
north, with Antigo, then an unrealized ideal, and Lang- 
lade County, as the pivotal point of progress. 

The pioneer cabins and shacks were often times sepa- 
rated by miles of unbroken virgin forests. This lone- 
liness naturally made the homesteaders and squatters 
very hospitable and cordial. Visitors were always 
welcome and were given the best that the little cabins 
could afford. Everyone was neighborly and a spirit 
of mutual helpfulness approaching perfection was man- 
ifest. They were kind and always willing to lend a 
helping hand to any settlers in distress. Mrs. Anna 
Morrissey, daughter of Mrs. F. A. Deleglise, has told 
how her mother would go long distances to aid and 
comfort some sick person. It was truly a land of 
equality here in the wilderness. No racial distinc- 
tions, no sects, creeds, coteries of people secluded — 
but all on one common plane. Sometimes we think 
that in our day of extolled progress and civilization we 
have attained the acme of benevolence, but the chris- 
tian charity of the pioneer far surpassed that of society 
today. 

When notice that an itinerant preacher would be in 
the county to dwell upon the gospel the pioneer set- 
tlers would come from miles around to hear him. 
Some came on foot, horseback, horse and wagon, and 
with oxen carts, all eager to participate in the worship 
of God. 

The cabin or shacks of the first settlers were made 
of logs, sometimes covered with boards. The crude 
dwellings were usually of three rooms, all comfortably 
but plainly equipped. Rough sawed lumber was used 
for flooring. The settlers would store their winter 
supplies in the cabin. There are still many log 
cabins used in Langlade County and while the log 
cabin was the start of prosperity for the county, it 
holds a high place among those things worthy of his- 
torical preservation. 

Neighbors were not plenty but they made up a lack 
of numbers by a hearty good wholesome exchange of 
courtesies and "good turns." When the long winter 
evenings arrived, the oxen were hitched to the "jump- 
er" and the buxom lads and lassies "snugged in" and 



sought a neighbor's cabin by sleigh road winding 
through the forest, slow, it is true, but speed was not 
desired as so much of the fun was "being together." 
When the turnouts would arrive at their destination, 
the occupants of the cabin home would cordially greet 
them and all would make merry while games, music on 
the old organ, accordian, or violin was enjoyed. 

The howl of the timber wolf often broke forth near 
the pioneer cabin accompanying the master of the ac- 
cordian or the old violinist. It is different today. 
The wolf has been pushed back by civilization and but 
in few places can his bark be heard. Time has 
brought forth a wonderful change in the past forty 
years or more. 

FORTY YEARS AGO. 

In what a wonderous age we live 

Not many seem to know. 
But few the mighty change perceive, 

Since forty years ago. 

Then the farms were covered o'er 

With forest trees aglow. 
And the red man held full sway 

Over forty years ago. 

The bear, the wild cat, wolf and lynx 

Were the red man's only foe 
When the pioneer settlers came 

Over forty years ago. 

But the red man was driven out. 

And the forests, too, must go 
Before the ax of the pioneer 

Over forty years ago. 

The youngsters dressed in homespun clothes 

And made but little show. 
And Lindsey-woolsey dressed the girls. 

Over forty years ago. 

The "warmeses" and "round-a-bouts" 

Gave plenty room to grow. 
And boys were strong and rugged then. 

Over forty years ago. 

The girls could spin, knit and weave. 

And have as good a beau 
As any lady's heart could wish 

Since forty years ago. 

And grandpa's heart was always green. 

Although his locks were snow. 
And grandma knit and darned the socks. 

Over forty years ago. 

Our fathers never had a dream. 

When things moved on so slow. 
Of what their boys would do by steam 

Since forty years ago. 

Automobiles and electric cars. 

And airships on the go, 
Would open the eyes of the pioneer 

Of forty years ago. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



11 



The telephone and wireless. 

The music in the air. 
How different from the olden days 

When messengers were rare. 

Our giant ships and railroad trains 

With goods from every clime; 
How wonderful when compared 

With the ox cart of olden time. 

But time has deadened many a tree. 

And "logged" up many a row, 
Since they began to clear the land 

Over forty years ago. 

And when the covered wagon comes. 

And we are called to go, 
We'll settle in a better land 

Than forty years ago. 

With all its drawbacks the pioneer log cabin was a 
happy home. As saw mills became numerous the 
doors and floors of the log cabins were made of rough 
wood. With trade increasing the prosperity of the 
homesteaders and pioneers became more apparent and 
frame dwellings were erected. Many of the cabins In 
the county were covered by clapboards slit from na- 
tive timber and weighted down by poles. 

It was not uncommon for the pioneer settlers to 
sleep out under the boughs of a forest tree during the 
time when a cabin was. being "rolled up." The oxen 
or mules were then allowed to graze in the forest na- 
tural clearings around the temporary camping place. 
Many of the pioneers were without funds to purchase 
any of the luxuries of that time. Even if they did 
have funds the trading posts were so far away that it 
was only with great difficulty and trouble that even 
necessities were purchased. Courage and unlimited 
energy were the chief assets of the first settlers. 

Once a cabin home was started it was but a few 
days before it was completed. Two to three families 
often settled in the various townships in groups. 
Thus by mutual assistance many of the trials and 
hardships were successfully coped with. Food was 
usually "toted" in to the new-comers, but before then 
they were compelled to gather wild berries, herbs, kill 
wild game, the deer, rabbits, ducks, prairie chickens 
and other wild animals of which there was then an 
abundance. 

Some of the old cabins first rolled up are yet in 
- existence. If the decaying logs of these old land 
marks could tell the story of their existence history 
would be much more interesting. The days when the 
"bee" or the log rolling was conducted were important 
to the first settlers. It was a courtesy generally re- 
spected by all, for every able bodied man who lived 
within an easy walking or "ridin' distance" to attend 



the bee or log raising event. He was expected to as- 
sist the new settler about to become his neighbor in 
the all important task of erecting his little domain in 
the wilderness. If the new settler lived in a section 
of the county where a number of pioneers could gather 
quickly the occasion was made a distinct social fea- 
ture. 

The hardy men folks would busy themselves 
throughout the entire day felling the trees, trimming, 
sawing and hauling the logs to the site of the proposed 
cabin. Oxen were often used to aid in hauling the 
logs. When the logs were placed in proper position 
the cracks in the walls were filled with moss, sticks, 
mud and plaster, if it could be obtained. This pre- 

vented the wind and rain from entering into the cabin 
home. 

When the work would be about complete the pio- 
neers attending the "bee" or log raising would feast 
out in the open air. The women folks were as essen- 
tial at such a pioneer gathering as were the men, for 
the hard labor was forgotten as the feasting and merri- 
ment connected with the event began. 

The first pioneers did not have furniture such as is 
found in the modern home of Langlade County today. 
In fact only the necessary articles were found in the 
homes of the homesteaders and other pioneers. When 
they came into the country the roads were nothing but 
trails and it was thus very hard to bring any furniture 
with them except those things absolutely necessary. 
Many of the household necessities were made by the 
older boys or the father. Chairs usually consisted 
of stools or benches made out of rough material se- 
cured in the forests. 

During the week's labor the father of a family 
found it difficult to make ends meet, so to speak, and 
as money was not plentiful he was always anxious to 
barter commodities. Thus after a church session on 
Sunday the people would stand around trading pro- 
duce, exchanging one article for another which they 
needed most. The people supported the church by 
sending in corn, potatoes, rutabagas, cord wood, etc., 
to the pastor. If they subscribed to a paper the edi- 
tor often allowed them to pay for the subscription in 
some product of the homestead. And it was for a 
long time that produce was regarded equally with 
money as the standard of value. 

The cabins of the early settlers were exceptionally 
simple. Nothing but needed household articles could 
be found. No art decorations or beautiful paintings 
adorned the walls of these homes. 

The ax, the augur, saw and awl 

Hang on pegs upon the wall. 
And kitchen utensils — bright and clean 

May also on the wall be seen. 



12 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER V. 
Organization of Langlade County 

Under Rule of Four Nations — Spain, France, Great Britain and U. S. — Territorial Government — 
Land Districts Created in 1834 — County of New Organized by S. A. Taylor — Langlade County 
Created in 1881 — First County Board — Public Buildings — Opposition to Boundary Changes — 
Boundary Error — First County Officials — County of Keeps — Territorial Changes 1881-1885- 



The territory comprising Langlade County has serv- 
ed successively under the flags of four powerful na- 
tions, Spain, France, Great Britain and the United 
States. Originally a part of the Northwest territory, it 
became a part of Indiana district in 1800. In 1809 it 
became a part of Michigan territory, detached from Il- 
linois territory, and was governed by William Henry 
Harrison. Not until 33 years after Wisconsin was ad- 
mitted into the union was Langlade County establish- 
ed. 

Long before the advent of the white man in Langlade 
County, there were no land claims made upon the fed- 
eral government to affect this region. The Green Bay 
land district, created June 26, 1834, by an act of Con- 
gress, did not include Upper or Northern Wisconsin. 
Thus the reader can realize that for nearly a half cen- 
tury more, until 1855, Langlade County was a paradise 
of nature, unmarred by the woodman's axe; a virgin 
forest where God's cattle fed "upon a thousand hills;" 
where streams and glacial lakes abounded unmolested 
in fish and game; a country where the melodious war- 
ble of the feathered songster intermingled with the 
soft sigh of the giant pine. 

THE FOUNDER OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 

The founder of Langlade County was Squire A. Tay- 
lor, a well educated and progressive c'tizen of Lily, 
Langlade township. He was engaged in lumber and 
logging operations for years on the Wolf and Lily riv- 
ers. It was he who changed the name of the little 
village to New. He led an eventful life and was one 
of the picturesque pioneers of Wisconsin's wild north. 
He passed away at the old Springbrook House, Antigo 
land mark, February 22, 1902. Through the efforts 
of Squire A. Taylor, the Committee on Town and Coun- 
ty Organization of the State Legislature recommended 
the passage of Chapter 114, Laws of 1879, creating the 
"County of New." 

The county was named "New" because it was a New 
County if we are to take the statements of pioneers, 
and Chicago officials of railroad concerns as accurate.* 

THE COUNTY OF KEEPS— MATT CARPENTER. 

In 1882, S. A. Taylor, Founder of Langlade County, 
attempted to organize the County of Keeps. The pro- 
posed county would include all of Langlade County as 
it then existed except Norwood and Rolling townships. 
They were to be evacuated and attached to Shawano 

* New County was organized when Marinette County was created. 
It was attached to Shawano County for County and Judicial purposes- 
The Act of Organizing New County was approved February 27. 1879. 



County. The bill was introduced in the Wisconsin 
Legislature by Mr. H. Button, who opposed it. The 
Lost Nation was included in the proposed county. In 
March, 1883, at the time of the defeat of Keeps Coun- 
ty, the Lost Nation was attached to Langlade County. 
In 1884 Taylor tried to organize Matt Carpenter Coun- 
ty. It was defeated by the State Legislature. 

LANGLADE COUNTY. 

Langlade County was named in honor of Sieur 
Charles De Langlade, brave and impulsive leader of 
the French and Indians, who has been heralded as the 
first citizen of Wisconsin. In February, 1880, the leg- 
islature passed an act changing the name of New, to 
Langlade County. The change was proposed by Ly- 
man C. Draper, Secretary of the State Historical So- 
ciety. One year later, February 19, 1881, the bound- 
aries of Shawano, Oconto and Langlade counties were 
changed. The County of Langlade was created and 
perfected and "certain towns were therein establish- 
ed." Langlade County included : "All that portion 
of the counties of Shawano, Oconto and Langlade, 
within the following boundaries, to-wit: Commencing 
at the southwest corner of township 30 north, range 11 
east of the 4th principal meridian, running thence north 
on range line between ranges 10 and 11, to the third 
correction line, thence east on the said correction line 
to the southwest corner of township 31, range 11 east, 
thence north on range line between ranges 10 and 11 
of the 4th correction line; thence west on the said cor- 
rection line to the southwest corner of township 41 of 
range 11 east; thence north on range line between 
ranges 10 and 11 to the Michigan-Wisconsin boundary 
line; thence southeasterly on said boundary line to the 
range line, between ranges 14 and 15 east of the 4th 
principal meridian; thence south on said range line to 
the 4th correction line; thence east on the said correc- 
tion line to the northeast corner of township 40 of range 
14 east; thence south on range line between ranges 14 
and 15 to the southeast corner of township 34, range 
14 east; thence west on the town line between town- 
ships 33 and 34 to the northeast corner of township 33, 
range 12 east; thence south on range line between 
ranges 12 and 13 to the third correction line; thence 
west on said correction line to the northeast corner of 
township 30, north, range 12 and 13 east, to the town 
line between townships 29 and 30; thence west on said 
town line to the place of beginning. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



13 



POWERS AND PRIVILEGES OF COUNTY. 

Section 3 of the act creating Langlade County specifi- 
cally granted all rights, powers and privileges legally 
granted other counties to Langlade. Section 4 stipu- 
lated that within ten days after passage and publica- 
tion of the act of organization Governor J. M. Rusk 
shall appoint in and for Langlade County all officials 
excepting the Chairman and members of the County 
Board. 

County officers appointed were to hold offices until 
the first Monday in January, 1883, until their succes- 
sors were elected and qualified. County Superintend- 
ent and County Judge 
held office until the 
first Monday in Janu- 
ary, 1882. 

SALARIES OF 

FIRST COUNTY 
OFFICERS. 

The salaries of the 
first officers of Lang- 
lade County were fix- 
ed as follows : Coun- 
ty Clerk)— $600; 
County Treasurer — 
$600; County Judge 
—$100; County Su- 
perintendent o f 
Schools— $300 ; Dis- 
trict Attorney— $100. 
The first Langlade 
County officers were : 
County Judge — J. W. 
Morse; District At- 
torney — George W. 
Latta; Circuit Judge 
— George H. Meyers 
of Appleton; Clerk of 
Court— D. S. Olm- 
sted; Sheriff — 
Charles Herman; 
County Clerk — J. J. 
Simpson; County 
Treasurer — F. A. 
Deleglise; County 
Supt. of Schools — 
George Ratcliffe; 
Register of Deeds — R 
Gee ; Coroner 



41 and fractional part township 42 of ranges 11 and 12 
east; Carpenter township consisted of townships 35, 
36, 37, 38, 39, 40 and fractional township 41 of ranges 
13 and 14 east. 

A study of the map of Wisconsin indicates that the 
towns enumerated extended to the state boundary and 
included parts of Forest, Oneida and Vilas Counties, as 
they now exist. The county was not permitted to 
raise more than $1,500 in any one of the first five years. 

FIRST TOWN MEETINGS. 

The first annual town meetings were held strictly ac- 
cording to legal pro- 
visions. Norwood 
and Rolling town- 
ships held their first 
assemblages in 
places previously 
provided by the 




Shawano 

Board. 

township 



County 

Antigo 

held its 



JOHN JANSEN OF NORWOOD TOWNSHIP. 
Elected first Chairman of Langlade County Board, May, 



1881. 



G. Webb; Surveyor- 
Dr. J. H. Dawley. 



-Harvey 



first meeting in the 
old log store of Niels 
Anderson. Polar 

township held its 
meeting at the quaint 
farm house of Moritz 
Muller, section 16, 
township 31, lange 

12 east. Carpenter 
township conducted 
its first annual meet- 
ing at the Charles 
Van Zile residence, 
lot two, rcction 31, 
township 36, range 

13 east. The farm 
house of Louis Motz- 
feldt was the scene 
of the first town 
meeting in Gagen 
township. Motz- 
feldt's place was lo- 
cated at Freeden- 
land, near Post Lake, 
on section 26, town- 
ship 35, range 12 
east. 



TOWNSHIP LIMITS. 

Langlade County was divided into six townships, 
Rolling, Norwood, Antigo, Polar, Carpenter and Gagen. 
Rolling consisted of township 30, N. of Range 11 east; 
Norwood consisted of township 30 North of Range 12, 
east; Antigo township consisted of townships 31, 32, 
33, 34, 35, 36 and 37, all of range 11 east; Polar town- 
ship consisted of townships 31, 32 and 33 North of 
Range 12 east and townships 34 of ranges 12, 13 and 
14 east; Gagen township consisted of townships 35, 36 
and 37 North of range 12 east and township 38, 39, 40, 



COUNTY SUPERVISORS MEET . 

The first County Board meeting was held at Niels 
Anderson's store on the first Tuesday in May, 1881. As 
Langlade County was a vast wilderness, extending to 
the state line, it was difficult for the more remote Su- 
pervisors to get to the county seat to attend this his- 
toric session. These were days before the advent of 
the railroad. Indian trails and tote roads were few 
and the country used as many oxen as horses. Never- 
the-less these delegates of the hardy pioneer home- 
steaders diligently attended to their duties at the cru- 
cial moments when the moulding of a county destined 



14 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



to lead Upper Wisconsin in many diversified indus- 
tries was in the making. 

The Supervisors present at the first session were Dan 
Gagen of Gagen township; J. Jansen of Norwood town- 
ship; James Quinn of Rolling township; A. Van Zile 
of Carpenter township; J. Schufeldt of Polar township 
and V. Simmons of Antigo township. Mr. Jansen was 
elected first Chairman of the Board. 

BONDS OF OFFICIALS FIXED. 

The oath of office was administered by Niels Ander- 
son, who climbed the rough stairs leading to the sec- 
ond floor of his log cabin, to act. The first act of 
the Supervisors was to fix the bond of county officers 
in the following sums: County Clerk — $5,000; County 
Surveyor— $1,000; County Superintendent— $1,000; 



THE FIRST COURT HOUSE. 

Until the county provided suitable buildings it was 
necessary to hold court, board meetings and house of- 
ficials in the tiny hall and dingy rooms over the old 
Niels Anderson store. The hall was plainly furnish- 
ed with "three tables, four common chairs and two 
rocking chairs." These quarters cost $250 annually. 
But the progress of Langlade County was the inspir- 
ing motive of its pioneer builders and immediate plans 
were made for a court house. The county seat was 
at once officially established by ordinance on the west 
I2 of the NW I4 of Section 29, Township 31 N, Range 
11 E. A. Van Zile and James Quinn, Supervisors, 
and three citizens at large — Charles Herman, archi- 
tect, Henry St. Louis and George Ratcliffe, were se- 
lected to draft specifications and ascertain feasible 




Langlade County Court House, erected in I'.iUJ 
at a cost of $71,080. 



Sheriff— $5,000; Clerk of Court— $5,000; Register of 
Deeds— $3,000; District Attorney— $1,000. 

FIRST COUNTY AGENT— FIRST COMMITTEES. 

The first County Board appointed George D. Rat- 
cliffe, "A committee to act as Purchasing Agent." The 
resolution, introduced by Supervisor V. Simijions, gave 
the Purchasing Agent power to "purchase and contract 
for all books, blanks, safes, stationery, fuel, furniture, 
lights, etc., for the use of county officers as provided by 
law." He was authorized and did secure a county 
seal for county officers and courts. Bills and con- 
tracts rendered were reported by Mr. Ratcliffe at the 
first session thereafter. • He was retained until May 
19, 1881. 

Chairman Jansen appointed five committees as fol- 
lows : Finance — Dan Gagen, A. Van Zile and V. Sim- 
mons; Pauper Accounts — James Quinn and V. Sim- 
mons; Sheriff, Constable's and Justice's Claims — J. 
Schufeldt and Dan Gagen; Public Property — Dan Gag- 
en and A. Van Zile; Roads and Bridges — James Quinn 
and Dan Gagen. 



plans for securing funds to erect a court house. The 
committee reported in June, 1881, proposing a $5,000 
building. The board delayed the matter until August, 
1881, when they adopted the committee's report to 
erect a court house at $3,000. Immediate steps were 
taken to prepare for the contractor, E. A. Stickney. 
The court house square was cleared of dead trees, de- 
cayed windfalls and brush. Three county bonds of 
$1,000 denominations bearing 8 per cent interest an- 
nually were issued and $500 was at once levied as a di- 
rect tax to pay interest charges. The building com- 
mittee, James Quinn, G. W. Latta, Eli Waste, V. Sim- 
mons and G. D. Ratcliffe, was appointed August 4, 
1881. The first court house was completed in May, 
1882. 

THE PRESENT COURT HOUSE. 

Langlade County, making wonderful development 
each decade, since 1879, needed a modern court house 
to keep in accord with its growth otherwise. The first 
court house served continuously for over a quarter of 
a century. The present commodious court house was 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



15 



erected by the Prince Construction Co., Minneapolis, 
Minn., and accepted March 30, 1905, on recommenda- 
tion of L. E. Frederickson, County Superintendent of 
Construction. The first proposal to build came in 
November 1903. On January 19, 1904, a remonstrance 
signed by many citizens urged the erection of a build- 
ing not to exceed $60,000 in costs. 

George W. Hill, John Byrne, M. D. Besse, Chris 
Wunderlich and H. C. Stewart, building committee, 
succeeded in having the archiect lower the cost $28,000. 
Three separate bids were called for February 16, 1904. 
District Attorney Max Hoffman, John Byrne, Geo. W. 
Hill, T. W. Hogan, Edward Cleary, committeemen, se- 
lected to approve plans and specifications, recommend- 
ed a court house not to cost more than $75,000. The 
third committee was then appointed consisting of 
Leonard Frieburger, Sr., Chris Wunderlich, George W. 
Hill and H. C. Stewart. New plans were secured and 
a contract was virtually entered into with Schmidt 
Bros, of Superior, when the entire project was thrown 
back to the place of beginning. 

The Prince Construction Company was paid $71,080 
for the court house. The building committee in charge 
of the work was composed of the following: L. D. 
Hartford, John Byrne, W. J. Knott and L. F. Culver. 
Kinney & Detweiler of Minneapolis were the archi- 
tects. V. P. Rath, County Clerk, and R. J. Morgan, 
Chairman of the County Board, for the county and C. 
E. Prince, President of the Prince Construction Com- 
pany signed the contract. District Attorney Hoffman 
and A. J. Nowotny were signatory witnesses. 

Port Wing Brown stone was used in body construc- 
tion. The two base courses are made of raindrop 
stone. The court house contains the office of Munici- 
pal Judge, Circuit Judge, court room, offices of Clerk 
of Court, Court Reporter, Register of Deeds, County 
Judge, Superintendent of Schools, County Treasurer, 
Highway Commissioner, County Clerk and law library. 
It is situated in block 13, City of Antigo. It is sur- 
rounded by the most beautiful park in Langlade 
County. 

LANGLADE COUNTY JAILS. 

The first County Board passed an ordinance select- 
ing James Quinn, J. Jansen and J. Schufeldt as a com- 
mittee to draw plans and let a contract for building a 
"lock-up or jail" for Langlade County. It was speci- 
fied that the jail not exceed $150 in costs and should 
be erected in the court yard. The committee enter- 
ed into a contract with J. W. Morse, Norwood town- 
ship, June 15, 1881, for the erection of a log jail 16x20 
feet and nine feet high. Lumber and shingles were 
purchased from F. A. Deleglise and paid for out of the 
$150. What was left went to contractor Morse. James 
Quinn accepted the jail for Langlade County, in Au- 
gust, 1881. It cost $4.00 to clear the land of trees, de- 
bris and brush before the erection of this rude jail. 

Antigo grew miraculously from 1879 to 1886. As a 
consequence law enforcement became more hazardous 
and law breakers became more numerous. The old 
jail was inadequate. It did not provide for a Sheriff's 
residence. 

Pat Murphy of Deerbrook, a character of pioneer 
days, when confined in the log jail for some trivial of- 



fense, would climb over the transom over the door and 
run up to 5th Avenue through the woods, shouting that 
the jail was on fire. The old volunteers would rush to 
the log jail put out the fire, presumably started by 
Pat, and return to their routine work. This demon- 
strates the security of the first jail. 

January 9, 1885, Charles Gowan, Henry Peters, Wal- 
ter Guile, E. Raddatz, and Joseph Duchac were select- 
ed from the County Board as a building committee to 
erect a new jail. Bids were received until February 
4, 1885. The contract for a two story combined jail 
and Sheriff's residence was let to J. E. Clancy for 
■$6,884. $7,000 in bonds of $500 denominations were 
issued by the county at 7 per cent interest for ten years 
to meet the cost. The new jail was accepted by the 
final committee, Ed. Daskam, E. R. Van Buran and W. 
H. Dawley, January 1, 1886. The cells were placed 
by Pauly Jail Bldg. & Supply Co., St. Louis, Mo. The 
Sheriff is the custodian of the county jail. 

TERRITORIAL CHANGES— 1881 TO 1885. 

The territorial changes affecting Langlade County 
were made between 1883 and 1885. The legislature 
detached the territory in ranges 13 and 14 and the 
west 12 sections of township 31 from Shawano County, 
known as the Lost Nation and attached the same to 
Langlade County in 1883. Territory cut from Lang- 
lade County by the Provisions of Chapter 7, laws of 
1881, was also attached to Langlade County. In 1885 
the state legislature again directed the territory in 
township 31, range 14 and 15 east, known as the Lost 
Nation be detached from Shawano County and attach- 
ed to Langlade County. In 1885, Chapter 436, laws 
of Wisconsin, detached territory in ranges 9 and 10 
from Lincoln County and attached the same to Lang- 
lade County (Ackley, Peck, Upham and Summit town- 
ships.) Forest County was created in 1885 from the 
territory north of the present northern Langlade Coun- 
ty boundary. For the story of "The Lost Nation and 
its Chiefs" consult the history of Langlade township. 

The County Board on February 7, 1882, met in spe- 
cial session and passed a resolution opposing any 
changes and attempted disturbances in boundary lines 
and declared itself not in favor either of detachments 
or additions of territory to Langlade County. January 
10, 1883, a similar resolution was passed after intro- 
duction by Supervisor H. Peters. Copies were sent 
to Assemblymen and Senators. 

BOUNDARY ERROR IN STATUTES. 

Chapter 2, section 5, paragraph 5, Wisconsin Laws 
of 1898, gives a description of Langlade County com- 
mencing at the southwest corner of township 31, range 
9 east and describing Langlade County correct with 
this exception: "thence south on section lines to the 
township line between townships 30 and 31 ; thence 
west to the place of beginning. This description cut 
off Norwood and Rolling townships. It was not dis- 
covered and changed until 1907 when E. F. Nelson, 
Rolling township, represented Langlade County in the 
Assembly. Legally Assemblyman Nelson did not 
represent Langlade County because he was a resident 
of a township that for nine years was inadvertantly 
cut off from the county. 



16 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER VI. 
Financial and Official 

Early County Finances — Comparative Statement Ten Year Period — The County Officials from 

1881-1922. 



While the early records of Langlade County were not, 
at all times complete, and were in certain instances im- 
properly kept, in fact some reports were never record- 
ed while others were at times crude and unintelligible, 
yet one can present a comparative statement of finan- 
cial conditions of Langlade County since 1880 to 1920, 
ten year periods to date. 

The principal source of revenue of Langlade County 



Treasurer, and from it the reader can gain an idea of 
the amount of county business during that period. 
The report is as follows : 

1881. 

LANGLADE COUNTY 

DEBTOR: 

July 28 — To drainage money from state $1,934.54 




GEORGE \V. LATTA. 

First .'\ttorney to locate in Langlade County. Selected first 

District .\ttorney in 1881. 

has and continues to be by direct tax levies. The re- October 28 — To suit tax received from Clerk 

ceipts and disbursements of the county are an interest- of Court 1-00 

ing key to the progress and growth of the county since November 28 — To fines received from Justice 

its organization. Mendlik 50.00 

The first financial report of the county was made, 

November 18, 1881, by Eli Waste, Deputy County Total Receipts $1,985.54 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



17 



CREDIT: 
August 14. — Paid Drainage money to Town 

of Carpenter $1,218.16 

August 19 — Paid drainage money to Town 

of Polar 95.81 

September 16 — Paid drainage money to Town 

of Gagen 50.00 

September 6 — Paid drainage money to Town 

of Antigo 470.57 



Total disbursements $1,834.54 

Balance on hand on date of settlements with county 
settlement committee. District Attorney George W. 
Latta, James Schufeldt and James Quinn, $151.00, 
which was presented to the committee and "same 
was counted and found to be correct." 

The county tax levy for all county purposes for the 
year 1882 was $11,213.48. Compare that levy with 
$340,461.71, the tax levy for county purposes in 1921. 

Receipts and disbursemens of Langlade County from 
all sources from 1880 to 1922 are given as follows for 
the ten-year periods. 
Year. Receipts. Disbursements. 

1880 $ 1,985.54 $ 1,834.54 

1890 50,577.42 46,973.60 

1900 116,119.84 114,605.47 

1910 159,489.75 110,968.63 

1920 499,630.87 478,921.58 

1921 555,190.28 536,422.28 

The balance on hand at the first of the year, 1922, 
in the office of County Treasurer John Callahan was 
$18,768.00. Compare that with the balance of $151.00 
of 1881. 

COUNTY OFFICERS— 1881-1922. 
* (Present incumbent.) 

CIRCUIT JUDGES. 
George H. Meyers— 1881-1891 ; John S. Goodland— 
1891-1915; Edgar V. Werner— 1915-1922.- 

MUNICIPAL JUDGES. 

F. J. Finucane— 1891-1895; M. M. Ross— 1895-1899 
John E. Martin— 1899-1906; W. F. White— 1906-1910 
John A. Ogden— 1910-1912; T. W. Hogan— 1912-1919 
Arthur Goodrick— 1919-1922.* 

COUNTY JUDGES. 
J. W. Morse— 1881-83; John E. Martin— 1883-86; Eli 
Waste— 1886-92; A. C. Conway— 1892-94; M. G. Flan- 
nagan— 1894-1902; J. W. Parsons— 1902-22.* 

DISTRICT ATTORNEYS. 
George W. Latta— 1881-84; J. H. Trever— 1885-87; 
T. McCarthy— 1887-88; George L. Schintz— 1889-91 ; 
T. W. Hogan— 1892-96; J. E. Martin— 1896-98; T. W. 
Hogan— 1898-1900; H. F. Morson— 1901-02; Max 
Hoffman— 1903-04; Henry Hay— 1905-12; C. J. Te- 
Selle— 1913-18; A. N. Whiting— 1919-20; T. J. Reinert 
—1921-22.* 



CIRCUIT COURT REPORTERS. 

F. S. Bradford— 1889-1908; William Kriess-1908- 
22.* (If any cases were tried before 1889, W. C. Kim- 
ball, first, and then Robert Sawyer were the official re- 
porters.) 

SHERIFFS. 

Charles E. Herman— 1881-83; D. F. Butler— 1883- 
84; George W. Hill— 1885-86; T. H. Robbins— 1887- 
88; George Wunderlich— 1889-91 ; Jerome Gallagher— 
1891-92; J. B. McCormick— 1892-93; James McHale— 
1894-96; C. H. Thompson— 1897-98; A. R. Billings— 
1899-1900; A. M. Boll— 1901-02; H. J. Seamon— 1903- 
04; John Driggs— 1905-06; Joseph Spoerl— 1907-08; 
C. E. Jones— 1909-11; Joseph Spoerl— 1911-12; C. E. 
Jones— 1913-14; Thos. Ford— 1915-16; Ed. Buchen— 
1917-18; Louis Porlier— 1919-20; Ed. Buchen— 1921- 
22.* 

COUNTY CLERKS. 

J. J. Simpson— 1881-82; J. Jansen— 1883-85; A. B. 
Millard— 1885-86; F. Hayssen— 1887-93; Henry 
Strauss— 1894-96; Henry Smith— 1896-98; Fred Hay- 
ssert— 1899-1902; V. P. Rath— 1902-22.* 

REGISTERS OF DEEDS. 

R. G. Webb— 1881-83; M. M. Ross— 1883-86; Henry 
Smith— 1887-90; John Menting— 1891-94; George W. 
Bemis— 1895-98; J. W. Parsons— 1899-1900; William 
Reader— 1901-08; H. A. Friedeman— 1909-22.* 

COUNTY TREASURERS. 

F. A. Deleglise— 1881-83; H. A. Kohl— 1884-86; J 
C. Lewis— 1887-89; C. H. Larzelere— 1889-90 ; F. P 
Kennedy— 1891-94; S. W. Chamberlain— 1895-97 
.Tames McHale— 1899-1902; A. P. Church— 1903-07 
Frank Dvorak— 1908-1911 ; Henry P. Ings— 1912-15; 
John Callahan— 1915-22.* 

ASSEMBLYMEN. 

Herman Nabei'— 1879-81 ; George W. De Lano— 
1881-83; Alex Brazeau— 1883-85; Wm. H. Young— 
1885-87; Charles F. Hall— 1887-89; L. S. Baily— 1889- 
91; E. A. Edmonds— 1891-93; F. A. Deleglise— 1893- 
95; George W. Latta— 1895-99; John McGreer— 1899- 
1901; Leroy McGill— 1901-03; R. J. Morgan— 1903-05 ; 
E. F. Nelson— 1905-07; Wm. Reader— 1907-11 ; Ed- 
ward Nordman— 1911-19; F. J. Olmsted— 1919-21 ; B. 
W. Rynders— 1921-22.* 

CLERKS OF THE CIRCUIT COURT. 

D. S. Olmsted— 1881-84; Charles Teipner— 1884; 
A. D. Rice— 1885-86; T. H. Ward— 1886-95; E. A. 
Peterson— 1895-98; A. J. Nowotny— 1899-22.* 

MUNICIPAL COURT REPORTERS. 

Robert Zobel — Miss Gertrude Tibitts — James Gagen 
— Clarence 01k.* 



18 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER VII. 
Taverns, Old Stopping Places, Hotels 

Famous Log Cabins — Ranches — Stopping Places On Lake Superior Trail — Old Dutch Frank Place 
At Strauss Crossing — Military Road Stopping Places — Early Antigo Hotels 
Hotels. 



Present Antigo 



The story of the lumberman's conquest of eastern 
Langlade County would not be complete without a 
chapter on the old stopping places and "log cabins" 
that dotted the Lake Superior Trail and Military Road 
between 1860 and 1885. 

The first stopping place was erected by "Old Dutch 
Frank," a jovial fellow, whose surname cannot be 
found, even pioneers, who have been fifty years in 
Langlade County have not known his identiy. "Old 



were erected in 1874. The partnership continued un- 
til 1880, when Mr. Hill continued alone. He sold to 
Mr. Whitehouse, who in turn sold to Mark Roax. It 
was here that Arthur Janes, a boy of seventeen years, 
was employed by Christopher Hill and from the cabins 
he wooed and won the hand of Miss Jeannie Hill, 
youngest daughter of Landlord Hill. On February 
13, 1879, they drove from the cabins to Shawano, 
where the nuptial ceremony was performed. 




THE I.Oc; CABINS OX MILITARY RO.AD— ERECTED IN ISTl. 
The man standing at tin- left of the third cabin from the left is Christopher Hill, proprietor. Opposite him at the 
right of the office door of this cabin is Mrs. Christopher Hill. To her right is Jennie Hill, a daughter — now Mrs. 
.Arthur Janes. Her sister, Lovina Hill, stands at her right. The other lady is not known. Horace Rice is standing 
back of the great log and just in front of the cook cabin and dining room (fourth cabin from the left.) Over to the 

left where the two teams are resting can be seen Matt Bray and Leander Choate, pioneer lumbermen of Oshkosh, Wis. 
They are seated in the cutter. The snow covers the military road that passed in front of the cabins. Seymour Mills 
of Shawano is watering the horses. Note the hemlock boughs on the second and third cabins. These boughs were 
used to keep (nit the wild blasts of the north winds that cut in from the tops of the giant trees in the background. 



Dutch Frank" settled on section 17, Township 33, 
range 13 east, near Lily. He had his stopping place 
on the Lake Superior Trail. 

Christopher Hill and Horace Rice had a stopping 
place or "log cabins" just off the Menominee Indian 
Reservation on section 31, township 31, range 15 east. 
This place was popular with woodsmen and became a 
tourist resort of renown. Visitors came to it from the 
Atlantic coast and from points in southern United 
States. Fishing and hunting in the Oconto and Ever- 
green river territory was the attraction for these folks. 
Thus the Hill and Rice cabins became the first of 
northern Wisconsin fishing resorts. 

The cabins, three in number, all one story structures. 



George Gardner, full blooded Stockbridge Indian, 
owned a stopping place, first on the old Lake Superior 
Trail, located on section 26, township 31, range 14 east 
and later on the Military Road on section 30, township 
31, range 15 east. His first stopping place on the trail 
was used until the Military Road was built. This ar- 
tery diverted traffic from the trail and Gardner built 
his second place. He stayed on the Military Road 
some time, taking in transients, lumbermen, derelicts, 
and prospectors, and then sold to Amessey Smith, who 
in 1878 sold to Chris Wheeler. Gardner then went 
back to the Indian Reservation. 

Charles Larzelere, early settler in the Wolf river 
country, opened a ranch or stopping place in 1872 at 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



19 



Langlade on section 10, township 31, range 14 east. 
The same year John Yates, an easterner, came to Lang- 
lade County and opened a stopping place one hundred 
rods down the Wolf River from the Larzelere place on 
section 10, township 31, range 14 east. Robert Gil- 
ray bought the place from Mr. Yates and he in turn 
sold to Albert Wood. Amessey Smith had a stop- 
ping place on section 27, township 33, range 13 east 
near Lily. 

Henry Strauss, an intelligent merchant and trader, 
compelled to flee from Germany because of his con- 
nection with the rebellion of 1848 engaged in import- 
ing, mercantile and saw mill businesses in America. 
He failed because of poor collections. Then he went 
into the upper Wolf river country hoping never to see 
another white man. This was in 1867. He pur- 
chased the "Old Dutch Frank" stopping place and for 



in this chain of stopping places stretching from Shaw- 
ano to Lac Vieux Desert at state line. 

William Johnson and Henry Strauss, partners. Hi. 
Polar and Louis Motzfeldt, proprietors of stopping 
places, were also Indian traders. 

The early log cabins, ranches and stopping places 
between 1863 and 1885 served the lumbermen and set- 
tlers for years before the arrival of the railroad. When 
cattle, oxen and supplies were sent north from Shaw- 
ano and Green Bay to the Michigan copper region the 
old Lake Superior Trail was very picturesque. For 
many days cattle would slowly move over the rough 
trail, while convoyed by sturdy cattlemen mounted on 
fleet steeds or pushing forward afoot. 

These early stopping places, while roughly con- 
structed of logs, were very comfortable and cheerful, in 
spite of their great distance from civilization. In win- 




jjBISiliMli.lllifflW^^ 



First accommodation for travelers was provided for in 1879 by Niels 

Anderson, whose "hotel" is shown above. The Springbrook House 

was erected but a short time later. 



years before and after the building of the Military 
Road was its proprietor. Wm. Johnson of Marinette 
was associated with Henry Strauss for a while. Hi. 
Polar erected a stopping place on section 34, township 
34, range 12 east at Pickerel Creek. Both the Strauss 
and Polar places were originally on the Lake Superior 
Trail, which route crossed the Wolf river at the Henry 
Strauss place. 

Fred Dodge built a stopping place at "Nine Mile 
Creek," now HoUister, located on section 19, town- 
ship 32, range 14 east in 1877. 

The only stopping places or log cabins on the Lake 
Superior Trail before the construction of the Military 
Road were the Old Dutch Frank and the George Gard- 
ner places. Other stopping places, it is true, were 
built on the trail route, but not until after the coming 
of the Military Road, which followed the course of 
the trail in many places. 

The Mag Law stopping place at Keshena, the James 
Law place at 5 Island, north of Keshena, Indian reser- 
vation village, and John Corn's Indian log cabin were 



ter evenings, when the wild north gale sent its chilly 
blasts against the moss covered logs, the pioneers 
would gather in the main cabin for merriment and en- 
tertainment. Thus the log cabins and stopping places 
played an important part in laying the foundation for 
the great progress made in opening up to the outside 
world the resources of Langlade County. 

EARLY ANTIGO HOTELS AND TAVERNS. 

Although the Teipner Hotel, commonly known as 
the Springbrook House, was erected in 1879 it was not 
the first accommodation for travelers in the village. 
Almost at once after Niels Anderson came to Antigo 
he provided sleeping rooms in the second log house 
he erected in 1879. True, it was not exclusive, but 
was cheerful and weary settlers and transients were 
always welcome and were given a warm hand by the 
genial landlord. 

Julius and Charles Teipner came to Antigo in 1879 
from Oshkosh. They erected the Springbrook House, 



20 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



now Market Square Hotel. This was the first Antigo 
hotel, and for years was the headquarters for drivers, 
lumbermen and teams going into the eastern part of 
the county for the spring log drives. The original 
hotel was of logs. 

The Twin Valley Inn was built in 1880 and has al- 
most dropped from the memory of early pioneers. 
While in existence it was the largest structure in An- 
tigo. Its life was short as it burned down six months 
after it was built. S. L. Waite was proprietor and 
owner. The hotel was located on the southeast corn- 
er of 5th Avenue at Superior Street. 

The important historical fact connected with the 
Twin Valley Inn was the first social gathering between 
the county supervisors and the citizens of Antigo. 
May 3, 1881, the citizens of Antigo, anxious to extend 
to the county solons an appropriate welcome, charac- 
teristic of the spirit of the village, presented a writ- 
ten invitation to the county supervisors in which "they 
took pleasure in soliciting their attendance at the viand 
board of the Twin Valley Inn at 5.30 o'clock this eve- 
ning." The invitation was signed by George W. Lat- 
ta, F. A. Deleglise and George Ratcliffe. It is suffi- 
cient to state that the meeting was a harmonious one 
and paved the way for amiability and mutual helpful- 
ness between city and county. We shall observe, how- 
ever, that in the fight to incorporate Antigo as a city 
that this mutual cooperation was broken by a battle 
of political retorts, charges and counter charges issued 
by enemy and friend of incorporation. 

The last logs of the Niels Anderson boarding house 
were razed and the old relic of pioneer days gave way 
to a frame structure after five years of service. 

Other important early hotels were : Charles Raesse 
hotel, west of the A. Goldberg Store, built in 1882 and 
ran successively by Charles Raesse, "Big Nels," An- 
drew Anderson and J. Hatley, who sold to I. Suick. It 
was once known as The Waverly and now is called 
The Club. 

The Antigo House was located on the corner of 5th 
Avenue and Edison street, present site of A. Gold- 
berg's store. It was opened in 1883 by R. H. Mc- 
Mullen. After years of service in which changes were 
made in ownership, it finally burned. It was the 
largest Antigo hotel in 1886 when operated by P. J. 
Koelzer and John Mullowney. 

R. Warren, following the railroad from Aniwa, came 
to Antigo in 1881 and built a frame hotel on the site 
of the present Antigo Hotel, Morse street and Sixth 
Avenue. It was owned and managed by Walter Guile 
and J. W. Pitcher, and finally torn down. A part still 
stands, however, and was for years used as the Pabst 
Brewing Company headquarters in Antigo. 

Ben Spencer came to Antigo from Maine state in 
1882 and erected a two story frame hotel on the pres- 
ent site of the Geo. W. Hill building, 5th Avenue. 
Here he conducted a hotel until his property was pur- 
chased by George W. Hill. Mr. Hill conducted it as 
the Hoo! Hoo! Hotel. D. P. Corbett, a Mr. Garvey 
and Jos. DuBois managed it under Mr. Hill. It was 
called the Windsor Hotel before torn down to make 
way for the Hill building, two story brick structure. 



The Lake Shore House was built in 1884 on the site 
of the present Hoffman House. It has been con- 
tinually under the management of Joseph Hoffman and 
Frank Hoffman. In 1903 the hotel was rebuilt and re- 
modeled into a three story hotel, one of the best in 
Upper Wisconsin. The name was changed from The 
Lake Shore House to The Hoffman House in 1893 
when the M. L. S. & W. Ry. was sold to the C. & N. 
W. Ry. Co. 

The Winn or Central Hotel was opened in May, 
1890, by Lowell A. Winn. For years it was used 
as a Y. M. C. A. and for a time was vacant. 

It is now managed by John Hanousek, Jr., and is 
known as The Hanousek Hotel. Arthur Koch man- 
aged it when it was called the Kasson Hotel. Original- 
ly a two story frame building, it is now brick veneer- 
ed. It is located at the intersection of 5th Avenue 
and Lincoln street. 

The Langlade House was moved into Antigo from 
the Edward Cody corner, Langlade Road intersection 
at east 5th Avenue and has been operated by J. Jenss, 
Citizens Brewing Company, Wm. Berner, Joseph 
Spoerl, J. Fleischmann, Jos. Zoern, purchased by W. 
A. Maertz and sold since to John Benes, who conducts 
it under the name. Northern Hotel. 

The American House is conducted by Hon. B. W. 
Rynders, present Assemblyman, and is a two story 
structure located on 5th Avenue. It is well manag- 
ed and enjoys a good patronage. 

The Vivian Hotel, now the Schneiter Hotel, was 
built in October, 1887, by E. N. Mellor, W. W. Hutch- 
inson and A. W. Larsen. It has operated almost con- 
tinually since. In 1920 it was purchased by E. F. 
Schneiter who has remodeled it. D. P. Corbett ran 
it for a number of years before 1920. It was once 
known as the Farrell House. E. N. Mellor, ore of 
its builders, killed himself in the hotel. 

The Hotel Martiny was purchased by Hynek Mar- 
tiny in 1901 from John Sipek, who ran it for a number 
of years before then. 

The Bacon House is located on west Edison street 
between Fifth and Sixth Avenues and is operated and 
owned by Charles Bacon. 

The Market Square Hotel is the oldest Antigo hotel. 
William Reader has been its proprietor since 1911. He 
has remodeled and made extensive additions. 

The Hotel Antigo, 6th Avenue and Morse Street, was 
erected by Paul Von de Schoeppe, a chiropractor, who 
conducted a school of Chiropractics in the building, 
1912. Von de Schoeppe went into bankruptcy and 
W. E. Butterfield came into possession of the build- 
ing, which he still owns. 

The Hotel Butterfield was built in 1899 by John 
Friend, who had been a passenger conductor out of 
Antigo. He sold the hotel to Charles Long of Mer- 
rill in November, 1903. Mr. Long conducted it un- 
der the name of Hotel Friend until 1905, when he sold 
to W. E. Butterfield. Mr. Butterfield changed the 
name to the Butterfield Hotel. He remained proprie- 
tor for thirteen years until 1919 when he retired from 
active management. It is now conducted by R. T. 
Marson, able and experienced hotel man. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



21 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Indian Trails, Roads, Transportation 

Old Lake Superior Trail — Tote Roads — Oxen Carts — Famous Military Road — Wholesale Grants 
Of Public Lands — Land And Timber Conspiracy — Pioneer Life Along the Military Road — 
First Road Appropriation — First Road Petition — State Trunk Lines — State Aid Roads — High- 
way Commissioners. 



The old Roman roads marked a development and 
extent of civilization of an ancient people who de- 
pended upon transportation facilities as important to 
their welfare. Good roads are characteristic of a 
progressive people. 

The first roads in Langlade County in 1853 when 
the first white man erected a log cabin on the Eau 
Claire river were nothing but Indian trails. No such 
a thing as a tote road could be found then. The first 
settlers came into the county afoot or on horse back 
along the Indian trails. Some followed the courses 
of the Wolf and Eau Claire rivers. 

The Indian trails ran from place to place over the 
best, but not the shortest route. They were used be- 
fore the government survey and therefore followed a 
course irrespective of section lines. The early pioneer 
"blazed" his trail by barking a tree here and there 
along his journey.^ 

Indian trails in Langlade County ran through the 
following township sections : Southwest and northeast 
in township 34, range 9 east; through sections 34, 24, 
22, 15, 16, 9 and 4, north of Ackley's trading and log- 
ging camp in township 31, range 10 east; township 34, 
north of range 12 east, had Indian trails running 
through sections 36, 35, 26, 22, 15, 10, 3 and 4. A 
trail ran northwest in township 34, range 11 east, 
in township 32, range 13 east, through township 33, 
range 13 east and township 31 range 14 east running 
through sections 36, 35, 34, 33, 32, 31 and 30. 

These trails were used for many years even as late 
as 1885. The main Indian trail from Oconto to Wau- 
sau was used frequently. Ackley's trail in Ackley town- 
ship and the Pickerel Creek trail were adjuncts to it. 

THE LAKE SUPERIOR TRAIL. 

Farmer's sectional map of Wisconsin, published in 
1866 shows a trail beginning in township 31, Range 14 
East and running in the same general direction as Wolf 
River on its west side. This trail crossed the Wolf 
River in section 28, Township 33, Range 13 East and 
continued to an Indian village at Lake He Nosheca, 
Pickerel Lake of today. 

On the east side of Wolf River a trail started in the 
middle of section 14, Township 30, Range 15 East. 
It crossed the east end of Pickerel Creek and ran un- 
certainly among the northern lakes to Lac Vieux Desert 
and beyond. 

The famous old Lake Superior Trail was used only 
during the winter months to haul mail and drive cat- 
tle and supplies to the great copper mines of Michigan. 
The trail started at Shawano and followed the west 



side of the Wolf River north to the state boundary 
line. Two of the first stopping places in Langlade 
County were located on the trail (before the building 
of the Military Road.) Much of the old route was 
impassable during the summer. It was built in the 
years 1861-62. It ran straight north to White Lake 
and followed the west bank of the Wolf River, cross- 
ing to the east side of the river in section 17, town- 
ship 33, Range 13 East, at what is commonly known as 
the "Henry Strauss Crossing." The trail then ran 
between Twin Lakes in the northwestern part of Town- 
ship 33, Range 13 East, entered township 34, Range 
12 East, crossed Pickerel Creek and then continued on 
to Rockland, Michigan. 

When the pine hunter penetrated Langlade County 
it was urgent that he be in contact with his base of 
supplies, usually at Wausau, Appleton or Shawano. 
This opened the "tote" road era. The hardy lum- 
berjack cut out a narrow path, barely accessible for 
the yokes of oxen and horses. These roughly cleared 
tote roads were used to haul provisions to the log driv- 
ers' camps in the pine timber belt. 

Straightening of roads did not begin in the county 
until long after the section lines were surveyed. The 
old trails of the Indians were gradually forced out of 
existence. Even the tote road is a thing of the past. 

THE MILITARY ROAD. 

The famous Military Road is one of the most his- 
toric subjects of Langlade County. It was built to 
"transport military forces from Fort Howard, Green 
Bay, Wis., to Fort Wilkins, Keweenaw County, Michi- 
gan." 

Sympathy of higher classes and government officials 
in England was in favor of the Confederacy at the 
outset of the Civil War. "They have made an army 
— more than that they are making a Nation," said 
Gladstone, British statesman. Britian's financiers 
purchased $10,000,000.00 worth of Confederate bonds 
in the spring of 1863 when the cause of the South 
looked favorable. The North had no way of trans- 
porting troops from the interior to the Canadian line 
in the event of trouble with the Indians, spurred on by 
friends of the South. 

Thus on March 3, 1863, Congress passed an act ap- 
proving the construction of a military road from the 
points mentioned. Public lands were granted to Wis- 
consin and Michigan to aid in construction. 

The Wisconsin legislature, April 4, 1864, accepted 
the grant of land and Commissioners were appointed 
by the state to lay out the said road, advertise for bids 



1 — There is a birch tree growing on section 14, Township 32, Range 
13 East on which United States surveyors placed the date 1866. 



22 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



and let the contract to the lowest bidder. All work 
was paid for in grants of land, three sections for each 
mile of completed road. 

James M. Wintlow secured the road contract from 
the Commissioners on August 24, 1864. He trans- 
ferred it over to the U. S. Military Road Company, a 
corporation, organized under Wisconsin laws. This 
company assigned the contract to Jackson Hadley, 
transfer being approved by the legislature. March 2, 
1867, Hadley died. He had completed thirty miles , 
of the road from Fort Howard. Ninety sections of land 
were turned over to Mrs. Augusta Hadley, wife, and 
administratrix of the deceased's affairs. July 30, 1867, 
the administratrix turned over the 90 sections of land 
granted her by the state to A. G. Crowell. Previously, 
on July 18, 1867, Mrs. Hadley entered into a contract 
with John W. Babcock, A. G. Crowell and G. N. Fletch- 
er, assigning to them all interest in the road not con- 
structed. 

John W. Babcock entered into a contract with the 
Commissioners August 24, 1868, to construct the in- 
completed road in accordance with terms made out 
with Jackson Hadley. Meanwhile Congress extend- 
ed the time of completion of the road from August 24, 
1868 to March 1, 1870. Babcock completed 52i2 
miles of the road by January 1, 1869. He then en- 
tered a contract with Alanson J. Fox and Abijah Wes- 
ton of Painted Post, N. Y., giving them half interest 
in the road incompleted. On February 20, 1870, the 
Commissioners certified to Governor Fairchild that 
Babcock, Fox & West had completed the unconstruct- 
ed portion of the road commencing one-half mile from 
the 82nd mile post and ending on the state line, sec- 
tion 5, township 42, north of range 11 east, within time 
limited by Congress. 

Amolons G. Crowell and heirs were granted 38,017.17 
acres of land in Langlade County (then part of Ocon- 
to County) in even numbered sections. 

The Military Road enters Langlade County in sec- 
tion 32, township 31, range 15 east, runs in a north- 
west course through Elton, Langlade and Ainsworth 
townships, entering Forest County from section 4, 
township 34, range 12 east. More than any other 
wagon road, "the old militaire" opened up a vast ex- 
panse of the Wolf River country to early traders and 
stimulated and increased the momentum of the great 
lumbering industry in eastern Langlade County. 

While the stated intent of the Military Road was 
for military purposes in defense of the nation, old 
Langlade County woodsmen, who worked in the 
pineries for Ex-Senator Philetus Sawyer and other well 
known Wisconsin lumber kings of a half century ago, 
refute this. They insist that the Military Road was a 
land and timber conspiracy. 

PIONEER SETTLERS OF 1880. 

Most of Whom Settled Along the Historic Military 
Road. 

The historic Military Road opened up the wild north 
to a great number of new setders. By February, 
1880, New County h^d approximately seven hundred 



settlers. Their names are given herewith from the 
original census as taken then. Because most of them 
were in the eastern section of New County, with a 
fair number in Norwood and Springbrook (Antigo) 
townships, they are given in this section as follows : — 
Joseph Cruger, Mrs. Joseph Cruger, Mrs. M. A. Scott, 
Jane E. Scott, Mary C. Scott, May Scott, Loly Scott, 
Agnes Scott, Joseph Quimbey, Mrs. J. Quimbey, Min- 
nie Quimbey, George Scott, Mrs. M. Scott, Hattie 
Scott, George Sherin, Mrs. George Sherin, George 
Sherin, Jr., John Emiland, Mrs. John Emiland, Hatty 
Emiland, A. 0. D. Kelly, Mrs. A. O. D. Kelly, Alsina 
Kelly, James Brenan, Pat Byrnes, Emil Brenan, Mrs. 
Pat Byrnes, James Atwood, James Atwood, Jr., Mary 
Atwood, Eugene Toplin, Alexander McMartin, Mrs. 
A. McMartin, Bur McMartin, Daniel McMartin, Mrs. 
Elizabeth O'Connor, Charles O'Connor, Peter O'Con 
nor, James O'Connor, Mary O'Connor, Dominic Gold- 
en, Mrs. M. Golden, Bridget Golden, Anna Hughes, 
Robert Sheriff, Joseph Sheriff, Anna Sheriff, Charles 
Sheriff, Nicholas Hawley, Robert Webster, Mrs. Ro- 
bert Webster, John Jones, Josephine Eldridtre, Mrs. J. 
Eldridge, Thomas Eldridge, Mr. and Mrs. "Doc" 01m- 
stead, Harry Olmstead, W. J. Olmstead, Caroline 
Olmstead, Susan Olmstead, Charles Beemer and wife, 
Eurica Beemer, James Beemer, William Beemer, Eras- 
tus Beemer, Rauf Beemer, Walter Beemer, Robert 
Beemer, H. E. Baker, Mrs. E. Baker, Ella Baker, Lola 
Baker, Ephram Stephens, Mrs. Ephram Stephens, 
Charles Stephens, Mary Stephens, Mr. and Mrs. Jos- 
eph Moser, Sarah Moser, Isaac Nobles, Mrs. I. Nobles, 
Thomas Nobles, Albert Nobles, Luther Nobles, A. 
Nobles, Meranda Nobles, William Miller, John Evans, 
Mrs. John Evans, Lyman Wax, Joseph Wax, Michael 
Wax, Henry Wax, August Wax, "Baby" Wax, Frans 
Compton, Mrs. Frans Compton, Sada Compton, H. 
Compton, Clark Waldreth, Elizabeth Waldreth, Mrs. 
C. Waldreth, Harvey Gee, John Gee, William Jones, 
Mrs. W. Jones, William Stark, Mr. and Mrs. Charles 
Starks, Mrs. William Starks, Mr. and Mrs. M. Muller, 
Beca Muller, Mary Muller, Baby Muller, Mr. and Mrs. 
W. Schoefeldt, P. Simons, Mrs. P. Simons, Sarah Si- 
mons, Henry Simons, Michael Maloney, Mrs. Kate 
Maloney, Bridget Maloney, Lizzie Maloney, James 
Maloney, Dick Maloney, Thomas Maloney, Phil Ma- 
loney, Patrick Maloney, Michael Ford, Mrs. Michael 
Ford, Caty Ford, Royer Ford, Michael Carney, J. W. 
Hooker, J. Wideburgh, Henry Wideburgh, Alex Mc- 
Mullen, Mrs. Alex McMullen, Joseph Debrower, Jake 
Debrower, Ed. Teipner, Ada Bell Teipner, Jule Teip- 
ner, William Teipner, John Teipner, George Morley, 
Mrs. George Morley, Mamy Morley, Baby Morley, 
Charles Moser, Mrs. Charles Moser, Erastus Moser, 
Julius Moser, Hiram Moser, Peter Moser, Julie Moser, 
Vern Moser, Caty Moser, Nicolas Golden, Danield Mc- 
Taggart, Frank Burn, Mrs. Rosy Burn, Bridget Burn, 
Caty Burn, May Burn, Lewis Burn, James Burn, Ja- 
cob Johnson, Mrs. J. Johnson, Sherman Johnson, 
Blaine Johnson, Lucy Johnson, M. Johnson, Gus Lind, 
Wesly Dorson, Joseph Krause, Charles Honzik, Mrs. 
Joseph Krause, Mike Stidel, Mrs. M. Stidel, Louis 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



23 



Stidel, Abram Gaplanik, Mrs. A. Gaplanik, Gabe Ga- 
planik, Edward Gaplanik, Mrs. R. Nattanie, Gabriel 
Nattanie, Anton Nattanie, Mary Nattanie, Joseph 
Liminger, Mrs. Liminger and baby, Niels Anderson, 
Louis Novotny, John Novotny, Burt Novotny, F. A. 
Deleglise, Jo. Deleglise, Mrs. F. A. Deleglise, Malin- 
da Deleglise, Albert Deleglise, Alex Deleglise, Edmond 
Deleglise, Amelia Deleglise, Mr. and Mrs. John Cherf, 
Maxwell Cherf, Gleason Cherf, Rebecca Cherf, AUace 
Cherf, James Nowotny, Julina Nowotny, Jake Holley, 
Joseph Holley, Wencel Holley, Mrs. Jake Holley, 
John Doersch, Mrs. Mary Doersch, Baby Doersch, 
Scott Hale, Mrs. D. Hale, Alex McCloud, Charles 
Gowan, Mrs. Chas. Gowan, Eugene Gowan, Frank 
Gowan, Daniel Gowan, Baby Gowan, Woodley Hale, 
Chris and Mary Hanson, Charles Brunther and wife, 
Lizzie Brunther, Kenton Brunther, Anna Brunther, Oscar 
Brunther, Ripley J. Richards, Mrs. Ripley J. Richards, 
Mary Richards, W. Richards, William Richards, George 
Richards, Baby Richards, W. A. Wheeler, Mrs. W. A. 
Wheeler, G. Bridgeman, Mrs. G. Bridgeman, John Mc- 
Closkey, Mrs. John McCloskey, Grace McCloskey, 
Frank Churchouse, Ben Colwell, Nellie Colwell, Hat- 
tie Colwell, Bessie Colwell, Herman Colwell, Sim 
Post, Eel Post, Eugene Rumery, Mrs. Eugene Rumery, 
D. Rumery, John Murphy, Thomas Hutchinson, Mrs. 
Thomas Hutchinson, Mina Hutchinson, Eugene 
Hutchinson, Jessie Hutchinson, Orman Hutchinson, 
Steven Hutchinson, Malcolm Hutchinson, George 
Hutchinson, Allen C. Taylor, Mrs. Allen C. Taylor, O. 
J. Yates, Mrs. 0. J. Yates, Walter Yates, Baby Yates, 
John Yates, John Haron, James Folin, Isaac Farrow, 
Mrs. Isaac Farrow, Etta Farrow, G. Farrow, Edgar 
and Mrs. Neff, Pina Neff, Ulu Neff, Willard Neff, 
Mike Willit, Grace Willit, Mike Willet, Jr., Etie Willit, 
Charles H. Larzelere, Mrs. Charles H. Larzelere, Alta 
Larzelere, Vernie Larzelere, Carrie Larzelere, Rosy 
Larzelere, Baby Larzelere, Mary Murtolf, Charles W. 
McFarland, J. J. Springer, John Gibson, Mrs. John 
Gibson, Leta Gibson, E. Cole, Fred Dodge, Mrs. Fred 
Dodge, Fred Dodge, Jr., Anna Dodge, Walter Dodge, 
William Dodge, Theodore Dodge, Baby Dodge, Mary 
Turtillotte, Hull Gromoson, Baby Gromoson, William 
Frisby, L. J. Marsh, Mrs. L. J. Marsh, Eugene Marsh, 
Sarah Marsh, Baby Marsh, Charles Van Zile, Abraham 
Van Zile, C. Quindlund, Robert and Mrs. Gilray, Baby 
Gilray, Louis Pison, Stephen A. Austin, Stephen Aus- 
tin, Jr., Mrs. M. Austin, Clery Austin, Mary Austin, 
Lucretia Austin, William Austin, Harry Austin, Ella 
Austin, Bert Getchell, Mrs. E. Getchell, Thomas D. 
Kellogg, Nellie Kellogg, Mary Kellogg, Haty Kel- 
logg, Polly Kelley, M. Kelley, H. Colnel, Mrs. H. Col- 
nel, H. Preston, M. Faliny, Edward Born, F. Wescott, 
Mrs. A. Smith, Lily Smith, August B. Miller, Thomas 
M. Dobbs, J. J. Commiskey, B. Barto, L. M. Gray, 
Caspar Bosh, Mrs. C. Bosh, Baptist Bosh, Henry Price, 
Sarah Price, William Price, William Smith, Joseph 
Bunyard, Mrs. Joseph Bunyard, Louis Bunyard, R. 
Johnson, David B. Edick, Mary Edick, H. Hayter, H. 
Hayter, Jr., Sam Scribins, Herman Sperburgh, Ira 
Lathan, John Lathan, Alton Lathan, John Keyhoe, 



Mrs. John Keyhoe, Magg Keyhoe, Jason Howard, John 
McNair, Harvey Sawtell, Thomas Lett, Charles Lett, 
Edward Allen, Jacob Grutchens, Will Grutchens, Mrs. 
Will Grutchens, Anna Grutchens, Charles Culling, Jos. 
Gibbs, Edward Marden, Henry Peck, Robert Hayter, 
Philipp Labell, Annie Labell, Thomas Labell, Mrs. 
Thomas Labell and baby, John Atridge, James John- 
son, Harlowe Lawrence, Will McDonald, John and 
James Morse, John Gardner, John Wunderlich, Abram 
Wunderlich, Mr. and Mrs. John Caligan, George Wil- 
son, Miles Lutsy, Nels Dristal, Patsy Dristal, John 
Mature, William Gary, Mr. and Mrs. James Cregg, 
Trean Cregg, Sylvester Cregg, Amos Cregg, Jap Sears, 
Thomas Lutsy, P. Lutsy, Theodore Sholts, Christopher 
Ludlo, August Ludlo, Henry Miller, John Miller, Aman- 
da Miller, Theressa Miller, Frank Thompson, H. Bur- 
dow, William Johnson, Mrs. William Johnson, Anga 
Johnson, Nina Johnson, N. Lake, H. Conors, Edward 
Bisby, Joseph Jackson, George Jackson, John Jackson, 
Cary Jackson, Fred Stanca, Mrs. Fred Stanca, Albion 
Cole, Levit Smith, L. Pendleton, Thomas Ainsworth, 
Jr., John W. Ainsworth, William Tipkey, Mr. and Mrs. 
George Gilmore, Burdy Gilmore, Baby Gilmore, James 
Roberts, Philip Melona, William and Mrs. Simons, 
James Simons, Walter Simons, Magg Simons, Thomas 
Lima, Michael Kepner, Albert Fingler, William Star- 
kucother, August Caston, James McCloud, Deba Mc- 
Cloud, Mary McCloud, Angus and James Cason, Wil- 
liam Parks, Mrs. William Parks, M. Parks, George 
Culiner, Jerry McDonald, John Miller, Angus 
McCloud, Demona McCloud, Anna McCloud, 
Nancy McCloud, Daniel McCloud, Sandy McCloud, 
Mike McDonald, Albert McMillan, John Johnson, Ed- 
ward Morgan, Martin Echtner, William Gauge, Thom- 
as Gauge, Martin Erisi, Herman Wurl, Daniel Mc- 
Cary, David Getchel, Mrs. David Getchel, George 
Getchel, Thomas Simons, Louis Horn, John Gordon, 
Thomas Oconnel, Joseph Winters, H. B. Polar, Mrs. 
H. B. Polar, Barney Polar, James Polar, Giles Polar, 
George Polar, John Polar, Emma Polar, Pheba Polar, 
Sarah Polar, Gip Bagby, James Olmstead, Joseph Cor- 
net, Andrew Burnett, John Harmon, Archa Beggs, 
Henry Zimmerman, William Merical, Lorenzo Meri- 
cal, Herman Merical, James Buckstaff, Oscar Buck- 
staff, Louis Motzfeldt, Mrs. Louis Motzfeldt, Tepa 
Motzfeldt, Hanna Motzfeldt, Patsy Shay, Dewood Bery, 
Winson Williams, Daniel Gagen, Mrs. Daniel Gagen, 
Jack Gagen, James Gagen, Henry Gagen, William 
McDonald, William Fundow, Leonard Thomas, Mrs. 
L. Thomas, Pearson Thomas, AUace Thomas, Emma 
Thomas, Ada Thomas, James Thomas, Mrs. J. Irwin, 
Ryan Irwin, Lota Irwin, Sallie Irwin, Adams Irwin, 
Mr. and Mrs. James Hones, L. Hones, Anton Hones, 
Henreitta Hones, Samuel Stobard and wife, Saby 
Stobard, Albert Bernet, Herman Bernet, Daniel Quade, 
Charles Tomas, Edward Tomas, Mrs. Edward Tomas, 
Mary Tomas, John and Ernest Dagat, Elliott Dagat, 
Henrietta Dagat, Antinett Dagat, Mical Kenby, 
Charles Kenald, Norman Hide, James Austin, Mrs. 
James Austin, Robert Austin, Agnes Austin, Horatio 
Austin, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Nichols, George Nichols, 



24 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Mary Nichols, Ancy Yakes, Ranki Scott, W. H. Allen, 
John Smith, Willis Peck, Lucy Peck, Charles Peck, 
Henry Peck, Charles Knapp, Thomas Martin, Seman 
Smith, Alphonso Stephen, Mertin Johnson, George 
Holland, James Dell, Edward Savaga, William Wil- 
kins, Elbrage Wilkins, Mary Wilkins, Wallace Wil- 
kins, Robert Wilkins, Edward Peckham, Hurburt 
Bush, Henry Wix, Mr. and Mrs. P. Wix, Emily Wix, 
Charles Hiat, Thomas H. Jenkins, John Blyman, Esra 
Read, H. Emka, Arthur Perry, A. Spencer, John Spen- 
cer, Charles Judd, S. Anderson, Marshal FuUerton, 
Mrs. Harshal Fullerton, Albert Fullerton, John De 
Lamatra, A. Hurdiny, H. A. Lee, J. Jascam, Julius 
Melrich, J. Baskirk, Mike Moran, Mrs. C. Moran, 
George Olmstead, William McGinnis, Abe Kiny, Wil- 
liam Livingston, Nicholas Acous, Mrs. Nicholas 
Acous, Julia A. Acous, Martha Acous, Masco Acous, 
Mr. and Mrs. Hiram Parkherst, Albert Parkherst, Adi- 
son Parkherst, Helen Parkherst, Julia Parkherst, Mar- 
garet Hanes, William Livingston, Edward Lacy, Mrs. 
Edward Lacy, Louis Lacy, Agnes Lacy, Harriett Lacy, 
Wad Wilber, William Kilisass, Jane Armstrong, Roy- 
ers Armtsrong, Henry Aural, R. R. Smith, Thomas 
McNutt, Michael Kennedy, Thomas Bolton, 
Frank Zaler, Charles Fischer, Edward Fisch- 
er, Dexter Luce, Joseph Faliny, Frank Oka, Elmer 
Ward, Criss Olson, Thomas Caton, Charles Murser, 
Mrs. Charles Murser, Hiram Murser, "Old" Murser, 
Sefrona Murser, Justin Butterfield, Samuel Nolton, 
Roda Hacock, John Cobler, Mrs. John Cobler, Sefrona 
Cobler, Milton Cobler, Fineus Cobler, Amo3 Caring- 
ton, Mrs. Amos Carington, Anace Carington, Alnerd 
Carington, Samuell Carington, Gus Frunbaw, R. Park- 
er, J. H. Laystreet, Adam Brunker, David Chapman, 
William Ale, Thomas Shehan, Oly Swanson, Sandy 
Stronic, Ramsey Denby, Walter Shat, Richard Du- 
rand, Mrs. Richard Durand, Erica Durand, Richard 
Durand, Jr., Frederick Stotson, Joseph Elmwood, H. 
S. Wood, J. A. Frebum, Tom Maham, Squire A. Tay- 
lor, Burt Sheldon, Charles Sheldon, Frederick Semore, 
Charles Abrams, Peter Nelson, Max Riter, Frank Rit- 
er, Frank Hopkins, Henry Housuyer, Albert Skinner. 

The census was taken by Thomas M. Dobbs and 
Joseph M. Gray, who stated in explanation that the 
above list "is correct of the people of New County as 
far as we have gone. But there are many we have not 
got." The western part of Langlade County as it is 
today was not included in this census because it then 
belonged to Lincoln County. 

PIONEER LIFE ALONG THE MILITARY ROAD. 

The old Military Road has been the source of many 
a poem and pioneer song. Its history has been inter- 
woven with the pioneer lumbering of eastern Lang- 
lade County. The Squaw Man and the pine hunter 
both played their part with the early adventurer in the 
development of this country. Dan Gagen, Louis Motz- 
feldt, Henry Strauss, "Old Dutch Frank," Hiram B. 
Polar, Charles Larzelere, Dave Getchell and 
William Johnston, were either traders or 
pine loggers of that section of the county first settled. 



For several years before the construction of the Mil- 
itary Road mail was carried by men on foot in the sum- 
mer and by dog teams during the winter, following an 
Indian trail (old Lake Superior Trail) along the same 
route as the government Military Road. Log houses 
or stations were erected every thirty-five miles. These 
mails, though somewhat slow, were regular, as only 
men accustomed to the wilderness and familiar with 
the wild frontier life were employed in this service. 

They seemed to be equal to any emergency, and 
when it became necessary, on account of deep snow, 
to abandon the dog team they would put on their snow 
shoes, slap the mail sack on their back and make thir- 
ty or forty miles per day. Darkness, storm or hunger 
had little terror for them. They seemed to realize 
that the tireless mail, the evangel of the wilderness, the 
mission of civilization and the herald of a progressive 
era, could not brook delay. They were the brave 
young men whose love of adventure, principally, led 
them away from their haunts of civilization, and whose 
untamed nature found keen zest and enjoyment in the 
dangers and excitement of the daring frontier life. 

Thus month after month and year after year, these 
pioneers of the wilderness trod their lonely beat. Then 
the wave of war with its bloody issue rolled in sullen 
gloom over the entire nation. For several years they 
had driven their dog teams in the great pine forests in 
the interest of peace and now they set off to drive their 
war horses in battle armed with gun and sabre. 

The mail carriers faded from the trail and passed 
into history; the trail became grass grown and the 
abandoned stations stood like ghosts of silent cities. 

The fur trader in the employ of the American Fur 
Company was the pioneer of the new north, as he pen- 
etrated the pine forests very much in advance of the 
lumbermen, who could see but little wealth in the giant 
pines and still less in the hardwood forests. The fur 
industry was established in northern Wisconsin over 
one hundred years ago. It has been half a century 
since the lumberman or logger began cutting pine tim- 
ber on the upper waters of the Wolf and Wisconsin 
rivers. It seemed to be his ambition from the start 
to begin at the top or headwaters of a stream and cut 
down. Extensive lumber camps were established 
where now the thrifty little City of Eagle River (once 
in Langlade County) stands, which soon became 
the center of attraction for the woodsman and river 
driver. Wages were very high and money was plenti- 
ful. This soon attracted a rowdy element which rep- 
resented all that was bad and vicious. 

After the completion of the Military Road the moral 
tone of society in towns along its route was improved 
but little. The towns were typical of the western 
mining town, where the frontier element held full 
sway. Hotels and travelers would spring into exis- 
tence in a day. A bank and an opera 
house would rise simultaneously side by side. Stores 
and outfitting establishments of every variety would 
line the main streets with their quaint signs and em- 
blems of trade. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



25 



Mechanics and artisans poured in from other parts 
of the state and with them came the lawyer and the 
doctor, both great healing mediums with peculiar 
methods. The morning's dawn was not greeted by 
the daily newspaper, the first to herald the name and 
fame of the new town, but night's blackness would be 
dispelled by flaming campfires built in front of sa- 
loons and dance houses, where men and women stood 
within the vestibule of Hades and drank fiery liquids, 
danced to the wheezing tune of the "Hurdy Gurdy," 
sang their songs and laughed merrily at their ribald 
jests. Verily they were of their day and generation. 
They were a part of the rude civilization of wild 
frontier life, which paved the way for the purer and 
gentler influences that followed to mould the morals of 
the race that peopled the cities of the wilderness. 
Every store in the village on the Sabbath contracted and 
carried on more business than upon any other day in 
the week. The river driver, the woodsman, the team- 
ster, the Indian, the fur trader, all gathered here, and 
to each and all it was a gala day. 

Drunkeness, brawls, and fights became the amuse- 
ment and smote the peace and order of the communi- 
ty. But civilization brought thither a finer feeling; 
order arose from chaos and bloodshed; refinement ap- 
peared with the wives and daughters of the pioneers, 
who came like angels to create homes from the haunts 
of vice. The light of love banished the mildew and 
rot of depravity and a better manhood dawned upon 
the brave rough diamonds of the northern pine. The 
church came with the bold missionary, who was the 
bravest of them all, and then the school house and the 
court house weeded out the dance hall, and the for- 
lorn outcasts moved farther on in the race of life until 
dissipation entombed their ghostly shadow. 

Of course there was a broad and deep gulch between 
the Sunday rattle of the auctioneer and the sweet 
chimes of the Sabbath bells, and in the rude element 
of frontier society the violence of the bad was often 
checked by the violence of the good. 

The region along the old Military Road was very 
rich in natural resources before white men came to ac- 
cumulate wealth, with and without capital. 

It was not uncommon for one of the many fur trad- 
ers to purchase ten thousand dollars worth of fur from 
the Indians in a single season. The fur consisted 
largely in bear, wolves, beavers, otter, fisher, martin 
and mink. But little cash was paid the Indian. Blank- 
ets, beads and tobacco played a prominent part in the 
purchase. They demanded the best grade of blank- 
ets and fifty dollars a pair was often paid by the In- 
dians. The white man as a hunter and trapper was 
more industrious and energetic than the Indian, and 
with his improved methods, the fur industry was des- 
troyed in a very few years. The fur bearing animals 
have largely disappeared; a few black bear and gray 
timber wolves remain. The wolf is an enemy to civ- 
ilization, an outcast and a vagabond, despised alike by 
the white and the red man. The increase of the deer 
keeps pace with the annual slaughter. 

The choice white pine is now extinct. The 



silence and solitude along the old Military Road has 
disappeared forever; the red man and the pine for- 
ests have faded together. Along the great lines of 
railroad plowing through these once vast solitudes, all 
is life and activity. Towns and cities have invaded 
their paths. Men who have followed the faint trail 
of civilization have themselves beheld the great tide 
roll over their own foot prints and view with wonder 
its ever advancing waves. Schools, churches and 
happy homes have appeared to enlighten the multi- 
tude and mould the morals of a new born community. 
The Anglo-Saxon spirit of enterprise laid the hand of 
industry upon the pine forests; the pioneers of the 
north woods came as a mighty army; they were 
soldiers of industry, drilled by labor and hardship, 
and went forth only to industrial conquests. The 
fruits of the old pioneer ripen into the full measure of 
wealth and refinement; their names may not live in 
history; no monument of the everlasting hill will bear 
their fame. Some of them lie in the graveyard at the 
edge of the pine forest by the side of the torrent 
streams that forever sing a wild dirge to their memory; 
some in green graves covered by the flowers of re- 
membrance, far beyond the crags, over which they 
strode, more like Gods, than men; some sleep in their 
own home valley; some of the gallant band are yet in 
the active busy world, awaiting the final summons be- 
yond the snow and the frost line. Wherever they 
are they will be recalled as heroes of the storm beaten 
north. 

THE RAILROADS— C. & N. W.— M. L. S. & W. 

The story of how the Chicago & Northwestern rail- 
road secured absolute control of 86,215.03 acres of val- 
uable timber and agricultural lands within the present 
limits of Langlade County is also the story of the de- 
velopment of railroad facilities in Upper Wisconsin. 

By an act of Congress, June 3, 1856, thousands of 
acres of public lands were granted to the state to aid 
construction of railroads. October 11, 1856, the state 
approved incorporation of the Wisconsin & Superior 
Railroad, which was granted all immunities and privi- 
leges for the purpose of aiding in railroad construc- 
tion from Fond du Lac to the state line. 

The Wisconsin & Superior consolidated with the 
Chicago, St. Paul & Fond du Lac Railroad. On 
March 14, the legislature passed an act to facilitate 
and authenticate formation of a corporation by the 
purchasers of the Chicago, St. Paul & Fond du Lac, 
which has since been known as the Chicago & North- 
western railroad. This new organization became at 
once entitled to all land grants to the state to aid in 
railroad construction if they would build a road to the 
state line, which they did. The Chicago & North- 
western was completed to the mouth of the Menominee 
River, certification of the same was made by the Gov- 
ernor and the Secretary of the Interior and the lands 
were deeded over to the railroad company. Odd num- 
bered sections were selected. It is interesting to note 
that between the contractors of the Military Road and 
the Chicago & Northwestern railroad approximately 



26 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



125,000 acres of Langlade County territory (one-fifth 
of the total area of the county) passed into the hands 
of a few. For many years later tax deeds on Chi- 
cago & Northwestern railroad lands in Langlade Coun- 
ty were signed by Samuel Tilden, Democrat Governor 
of New York, who attained fame for his exposure of 
the Tweed Ring and his contest for the Presidency with 
General Rutherford B. Hays, Ohio Governor, and Re- 
publican President of 1877. 



village plat bordering on the line of the road, together 
with the right-of-way over all lands in which he was 
interested. Truly he was public spirited. 

The first "mixed" train arrived in Antigo, Novem- 
ber 9, 1881, with Conductor Sylvester Graves in 
charge. The Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western was 
sold to the Chicago & Northwestern railroad August 
19, 1893. All Langlade County property of the old 
Lake Shore system was taken over then. 




.AN OLD "WOOD BURNER" OF THE U. L. S. & \V. RV. 
This type of engine was used for many years in and out of Antigo on the Lake Shore road. The 
work train was at Summit Lake, I'phani township when this picture was taken years ago. Among 
those in the crew were .Vlbert Stats, Sr.. Herman Walter, Joseph Cardaphe, Charles Wojan, Anton 
Reinsch, Dennis Greening, Theodore Kupper, Albert Kupper, .Mhert Koles. William Draeger. Jacob 
Kunz, Frank Daskam, August BecVnian, Wencel Cherwinka, Sr., .\1. Hillings. Conductor. Julius I'e- 
trowski, Peter Petrowski, Rudolph Helby, Ed. Walch. Charles Lcnt.schc, Jacob Ko'achek and Adam GUi- 
gla. Engines No. 2!), :w. .'il, 32 and :!:!, New York Central property, were used for eight years in and 
adjacent to Antigo. They were converted wood burners. Pioneer engineers can remember them. 



THE MILWAUKEE, LAKE SHORE & WESTERN. 

August 15, 1881, the first train pulled into Antigo 
and the old Indian trail, tote road, ox team and pack 
horse, marks of progress and development, diminished 
in usefulness. Demands for rapid transportation were 
about to be met. As the small engine No. 31 of the 
Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western railroad, with its 
work car and caboose pulled into the wilderness, a 
band of villagers gathered around the Engineer, 
Charles Abrams, his fireman, James O'Connel and 
Conductor John Gordon. Antigo was then a strong 
temperance village. Thus the citizens did not fea- 
ture Marse Henry or "hard lickker" of the Volstead 
violaters of today. Instead a great barrel of lemon- 
ade was provided by the womenfolk and the feasting 
on sandwiches and the rejoicing and merriment of the 
pioneers centered about the large barrel. There were 
no brass bands nor the flare of the bugle to herald this 
epochal event in Antigo's history. Less important 
things have occurred since in Antigo and have been 
given inflated publicity. 

Hon. F. A. Deleglise, after considerable negotia- 
tions, succeeded in inducing the railroad officials to 
change the survey of the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & 
Western to its present route. Originally they had sur- 
veyed two miles west of the present site of Antigo. 
Mr. Deleglise gave the railroad eight blocks of the 



THE WISCONSIN & NORTHERN. 

The Wisconsin & Northern railroad was built origi- 
nally to serve the timber products of the Menasha- 
Woodenware Company in eastern Langlade County. It 
was completed in 1907 or thereabout and has since 
been purchased by the Soo line. The road has been 
surveyed into Antigo but nothing definite about a spur 
into Antigo from Phlox can be stated. It is interest- 
ing in this connection to note that since 1883 citizens of 
Antigo have constantly talked about "another railroad 
coming in." 

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE & ST. PAUL. 

The Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad runs 
through sections 19, 30, 31 and 32 of west Ackley town- 
ship, but serves no beneficial territory in Langlade 
County. 

THE CHICAGO & NORTHWESTERN ENGINE 
HOUSE. 

January 25, 1883, the first engine house of the Mil- 
waukee, Lake Shore & Western railroad was complet- 
ed at Antigo. It was a two stall structure located be- 
tween Third and Fourth Avenues, east of the railroad 
main track. In 1893, when the Milwaukee, Lake 
Shore & Western was sold to the Chicago & North- 
western railroad the engine house was moved to the 
present site, northeast of block 1. The new house 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



27 



was built with twelve stalls. In 1905, owing to the 
increased importance of Antigo as a Division point, 
fifteen stalls were added, making a twenty-seven stall 
roundhouse. The turn-table operates by electricity. 
A yard office, weighmaster's office, machine shops, de- 
pot, freight depot and warehouse, lumber yard and 
purchasing agent's office constitute the other railroad 
buildings. 

THE ANTIGO DEPOTS. 

The Chicago & Northwestern depot was completed 
at a cost of approximately $65,000.00, October, 1907. 
Division offices were moved into the new headquart- 
ers then. The contract was let to Charles W. Gin- 
dele of Chicago. Work commenced in March, 1907. 
The depot was built in two sections, one containing 
waiting and ticket rooms with offices of telegraph op- 



meter. These bicycles tipped easily and many mis- 
haps resulted. John Blinn, son of W. H. Blinn, first 
Antigo jeweler, owned the first bicycle in the county. 
Bicycles soon became popular, tournaments and races 
were held in Antigo, but with the approach of the au- 
tomobile the bicycle era passed. It is now used whol- 
ly as a business convenience. 

THE FIRST ROAD PETITION. 

George Ratcliffe, Charles Herman and twenty-eight 
settlers of Antigo, Carpenter, and Rolling, petitioned 
the first county board to establish a road commencing 
at the southwest corner of section 21, township 30 N. 
of Range 11 east and running in a northeast course. 
The petitioners prayer was granted and the first com- 
mittee on roads, consisting of James Quinn, A. Van 




THE OLD iMILWAUKEK, LAKE SHORE & WESTERN DEPOT. 
The man standing near the engine holding a white flag in his hand is James Driscoll, a well known 
Antigo man in his time. Engine No. 2(1 was used for a long time in this region. The faithful old 
"Dobbin" of the American Express Company which cooperated with "Lon" House in the distribution of 
the cit5''s express can be seen near the depot. A small group of Indians are gathered in a circle near 
the waiting passenger train. Observe the old fashioned bicycle of that time. 



erators, dispatchers, clerks and Division Superintend- 
ent above and the other containing a lunch room, bag- 
gage and express rooms and employes dressing room 
on the first floor with offices of the Division Engineer 
on the second floor. 

The depot was formally dedicated November 5, 
1907. A banquet was given at the Hotel Butter- 
field. Those present who spoke were : W. A. Gard- 
ner, Vice-President of the road, E. H. Heyser, Wiscon- 
sin Attorney for the road, George W. Latta, Antigo 
Attorney for the road, J. C. Lewis, banker. Attorney 
W. H. Mylrea of Wausau, Ex-Congressman E. A. 
Morse, R. C. Richards, General Claim Agent, Attorney 
F. J. Finucane and Mayor George W. Hill. 

Contrast the new modern depot with the little frame 
two room depot of the old Lake Shore system which 
was remodeled once before its career ended. 

THE BICYCLE ERA. 

In 1884 the first bicycle made its appearance in An- 
tigo. The front wheel was a large one to which pedals 
were attached. The rear wheel was very small in dia- 



Zile and V. Simmons, were selected to report damages 
for lands taken preparatory to construction. The road 
was needed as it afforded settlers of Rolling and Nor- 
wood better facilities to get into Antigo, the county 
seat. 

The second road petition was received from James 
Kennedy, W. C. Battrell and thirty-one others, resi- 
dents of Polar and Antigo townships (18 from Polar — 
15 from Antigo) asking for a county road from the 
east I4 post of section 25, township 31, range 12 east 
and following the Y^ line west to the Village of Antigo. 

FIRST ROAD APPROPRIATION. 

The first actual road construction appropriation was 
made by the county June 15, 1881. $500.00 was ap- 
propriated to the Town of Norwood to open and im- 
prove a road, commencing at the SW post of section 
35, then running north on the Y4 line of sections 36 and 
26; thence to the center of said section 26, then west 
to the west ^4 post of section 26; thence north on sec- 
tion line to the SE corner of Section 22; thence west 
on the section line to the SW corner of section 20. 



28 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



$300.00 was applied to opening and improving a road 
running on or near to the section line running from 
the southwest corner of section 20 to the northeast 
corner of section 6, all in township 30, north of range 
12 E. 

FIRST COUNTY ROAD— 1881. 

The first road built by the county in 1881 commenc- 
ed at the southwest corner of section 21, township 30, 
north of range 11 east and then went north to Neva; 
thence east one mile; thence in a northeastern course 
to section 16, township 33, range 12 east; thence to 
section 34, township 34, range 12 east; thence by the 
Military Road to a point three miles north of Freeden- 
land P. 0. and then on a route between ranges 14 and 
15. 



dren were amazed to see this marvelous machine so 
easily propelled by some invisible power. 

The automobile has demonstrated its value and is 
in constant use everywhere in Langlade County. An- 
tigo has eleven garages where able mechanics repair 
automobiles. Every township has its garages. The 
number of automobiles owned in Langlade County is 
1,536. Five hundred and forty-nine of these 
are owned by Antigo residents. Antigo township has 
more automobiles than any other township, 159 being 
its total. 

The aggregate assessed value of the automobiles in 
the county is $640,083.00. 

The motorcycle has come into general use within 
the period of the automobile era and many people own 
and operate a motorcycle as a convenient method of 
travel. 




I hiiaKii i^ Xuitluvs->lern Depot. .Antigo. Wis. 
cost of $(>.>, uoo. no. 



Mrictcil in I'.KIT at a 



THE AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY. 

The most advanced means of travel on highways is 
the modern automobile. The first to appear in Antigo 
came in 1902 and was owned by W. L. Elliott, Antigo 
business man. It was a "one lunger" Oldsmobile 
with a high odd looking top. It aroused townsfolk 
with its odd Chug! Chug! Men, women and chil- 




\V. L. ELLIOTT'S OLDSMOP.! LR. 
l-'irst Anlonioliilc in Langlafie Connty. 



THE AEROPLANE AND LANGLADE COUNTY. 

Langlade County has many experienced aviators 
who served in the World War, but it has no aero- 
planes. The first flying exhibition in Langlade Coun- 
ty was held by John Schweister in 1910 at the county 
fair. A great crowd gathered to see him perform, 
.lohn Kaminski, Milwaukee aviator, was the second to 
exhibit in an aeroplane in Antigo. The best aeroplane 
flight ever witnessed by Langlade County citizens was 
during the county fair of 1912, when the late Lincoln 
Beachey, renowned aviator, went into the clouds be- 
fore thousands of thrilled spectators. 

Today airplanes are used extensively in warfare and 
in arts of peace. It is not uncommon to see them pass 
over Antigo. The county fair grounds are frequently 
used as a landing place. The day will come when air 
lanes will be regulated everywhere as highways are 
today. 

HIGHWAYS— ROAD COSTS— MACHINERY. 

Highways No. 47, 39 and 64 traverse Langlade 
County. Thousands of tourists from every section of 
the union pass through Antigo on their way to and 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



29 



from the great tourist resorts of the Badger state. 

Langlade County spent $188,007.78 on road con- 
struction and improvements in 1921. Contrast this 
with $500.00 spent the first year the county was or- 
ganized. There are 160 miles of state aid and 62 
miles of state trunk lines in the county. The average 
cost of ordinary graded roads in Langlade County is 
$2,000 per mile. 

AUTOMOTIVE DEALERS ASSOCIATION. 

The Langlade County Automotive Dealers Associa- 
tion was organized May 1, 1920 at Antigo. Annual au- 
tomobile shows are given by it. 

LANGLADE COUNTY BRIDGES. 

As Langlade County has within its borders two large 
rivers, the Wolf and Eau Claire, together with numer- 



FIRST COUNTY BRIDGE. 

December 11, 1883, the county board was petition- 
ed to build a bridge across Wolf river at the lower 
Post Lake dam in section 16, township 33, range 12 
east. The petition was signed by Jos. M. Jackson, 
H. B. Polar and 16 others. After reference to 
the Road and Bridge Committee, the county voted 
$1,200.00 to build the bridge. Bids were received by 
Supervisor Joseph Duchac. The contract was award- 
ed to Hi. Polar, March 6, 1884 for $925.00. 

IMPORTANT BRIDGES. 

The most important bridges in Langlade County are 
located at Langlade, over Wolf river; at Lily, over 
Wolf river; at Pearson, at Elton, at Rezula, Ackley 
township. They are all steel bridges except the last 
named. The Rezula bridge cost $12,000.00. It was 




THE REZULA CONCRETE BRIDGE 
Oil Highway No. 64, over the west branch of the Eau Claire River. 



ous rivulets and smaller streams, bridges have played 
a very important part in its development. 

It was difficult for the early homesteaders to travel 
in their day. They lost no time in erecting bridges 
to cross rivers and streams. The first bridge was 
probably built by W. L. Ackley over the Eau Claire 
in 1853, as it is safe to presume that he needed one to 
log and get back into the country known now as west 
Ackley. 

The first bridge we have record of was built in 1874 
by S. A. Taylor near lower Post Lake over the Wolf 
river. Many bridges were built and destroyed before 
then, no doubt. The Indians bridged the streams in 
their primitive way. 

The S. A. Taylor bridge was constructed of heavy 
timber and rough sawed lumber. When Langlade 
County was organized Mr. Taylor sent a bill to the 
County Board declaring, that inasmuch as he had built 
the bridge and it was a public necessity the county 
ought to reimburse him for his labors, which they did 
to the extend of $1,400. 



erected in 1916-17, and is of concrete. The longest 
bridge in the county spans the Wolf river at Lang- 
lade. 

Many small wooden bridges of minor importance 
span small streams and rivers through various parts of 
the county. When the first settlers came to Antigo, 
Springbrook was spanned by a wooden bridge put in 
by John Cherf. It has since been replaced by con- 
crete. 

The ruins of many pioneer bridges can be located on 
various streams throughout Langlade County. Some 
of them have been obsolete for the past quarter of a 
century or more. 

HIGHWAY COMMISSIONERS. 

Langlade County has had two County Highway 
Commissioners. The first T. W. Humble was select- 
ed by the County Board in 1911. He served until 
1916 and was followed by Charles Olson of Elcho, 
who is still in the service. Wm. Wolfe is Mr. Ol- 
son's assistant. 



30 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER IX. 
Pioneer Lumbering on the Wolf and Eau Claire Rivers 

Improvement Concerns — Pioneer Lumbermen — The Great Log Drives — Dams on the Wolf and Lily 
Rivers — Maine Timbermen in Langlade County — A Pioneer Camp. 



Lumbering was the principle industry in Langlade 
County for many years after its organization and twen- 
ty years before 1880, the first prospectors and early 
settlers engaged in that industry. Only pine was cut. 
River channels were improved by various private im- 
provement companies and logs were driven down the 
streams to Shawano and Oshkosh on the Wolf River, 
and to Wausau on the Eau Claire River. 

The Wolf River Improvement Company was owned 
by Oshkosh people. The River Improvement Co. was 
a firm created to improve the west branch of the Big 
Eau Claire River. It was organized February 26, 
1894, by A. C. Campbell, A. M. Lanning and G. W. 
Hogben. The Big Eau Claire River Improvement 



Dodge of Shawano, cut the first pine north of the In- 
dian Reservation on Section 7, township 31, Range 15 
East for L. Beecher of Boston, Mass. Other pioneer 
lumber operators were: Dewey George of Shawano, 
Weatherby & Crowe of Oshkosh; T. Crane of Shaw- 
ano; Welcome Hide, land locater, from Embarrass, 
Waupaca County, who came first into Langlade County 
with his fifteen year old son and then moved to Vir- 
gin Lake, five miles east of Three Lakes; George 
Gery of Appleton, George Gilkey of Oshkosh and 
Choate & Bray of the same place. Logs of each 
operator were marked and boomed. 

The river drives meant an influx of woodsmen, 
cruisers and operators into the Wolf river country. 




Hf^.: 



THE GARDNER DA.M SITE 

On the Weill' River near the old log cabins on the Military Road. 

The (lan> was named in memory of the Stockbridge Indian. 

who first condneted a stopping place on the Lake 

Superior Trail. 



Company was organized by John D. Ross, Walter H. 
Bissell and J. S. Clements. Its object was to im- 
prove the Eau Claire River course, to handle, sort and 
deliver logs and timber in the territory adjacent to the 
river in Lincoln and Langlade Counties. The Deer- 
skin Log Driving and Improvement Company, organiz- 
ed by Alexander Stewart, Walter Alexander, Thomas 
Scott and F. P. Hixon, improved Deerskin River from 
Section 24, Township 42, Range 11 to Section 13, 
Township 40, Range 10 East at which it then "flowed 
into a lake in the counties of Langlade and Lincoln." 
Pioneer lumberman who operated extensively in the 
Wolf River country in Langlade County as early as 
1875 were: Philetus Sawyer, Seymour HoUister, 
George Buckf.taff, George Rich, Lyman Rumery, Kel- 
logg 8f McCoy, Asa C. Hicks, all of Oshkosh; Daniel 
Fitzgerald and Col. Hansen of Oshkosh. Theodore 



Often the drives were not completed until August. 
Many logs would sink and frequently log jams were 
costly. A jam of logs would hold the entire drive up 
and it was necessary many times to break up the jam 
for miles on the river. The work was strenuous and 
exceedingly dangerous and many a pioneer lumber- 
jack and river driver was drowned or suffered a broken 
limb during one of the exciting drives. Logs were 
frequently intentionally jammed, during low tide, 
to raise the water and thus take in the rear. The 
improvement companies were under a heavy expense 
to maintain clean river channels to transport the thou- 
ands of feet of logs that moved down stream. 

The Wolf river and other Langlade County streams 
were equipped with dams to facilitate log movement. 
Important dams on the various rivers of eastern Lang- 
lade County were : The first dam was below Pine 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



31 



Lake, followed by another just below Rice Lake. The 
next was at Pelican, known as the Pelican dam. Near 
Crandon, Forest County, the Little Chute dam was lo- 
cated and below it we come into Langlade County, 
where the Upper Post Lake dam is found. The wa- 
ters from Upper Post Lake formed the principal res- 
ervoir dam for log driving on the entire Wolf river 
south of it. The flood started in the Upper Post Lake 
and until the logs were nearing Shiocton, dams were 
necessary. Other dams were : Lower Post Lake 
dam, Lily river dam, Larzelere dam, George Gardner 
dam, Keshena Dells dam. On Lily river there were 
six dams on the main stream and one on Bob Brook. 



a ways." A regular mat of ground and cedar had 
grown over the river south of Gardner's dam from 
which he drew his conclusion that the river "flowed 
out of the ground." 

ISAAC FARROW'S MISTAKE. 

Isaac Farrow, pioneer settler in the Lost Nation, 
wanted to drain White Lake and make a natural hay 
meadow out of it. He started a drain at the out- 
let of White Lake (N. E. part). The bottom of the 
lake was found to be white marl, used to clean silver- 
ware, etc., and would be of no value for hay meadow- 
ing. His deed is now called Isaac Farrow's mistake. 




"NOT AS A CONQUEROR COMES, 
Oxen, horses and sturdy men played their part in the si 
ers of Louis Sands of Manistique, Michigan, and W. B. Bon 
nel camps were located on section li.'i, township HI, Range 11 
son, Superintendent, who came from the Pine Tree State 
ter shanty. The first building at the left is the cook shant 
the right are hovels used to house the oxen and horses. T 
ations in 188.'), 20,200,000 feet of pine had been cut. A shin 
by-product was manufactured. The great forest of pine an 
been replaced by modern farms. The pine from this camp 
Weed mill in .Antigo township. The old Sands & Bonnel 

They were Lake Dam, at Robert's Lake; eighty rods 
below was Lake Dam No. 2; one-half mile below was 
Bowser dam, named after John Bowser and next was 
the Choate & Bray dam, Turtillotte dam and Big 
Roll dam, Hayter dam and Craine dam. There was 
a dam on the east branch of the Lily River. On Pick- 
erel Creek there were two dams; on Swamp Creek 
there were two dams, and above and below Freedenland 
(Louis Motzf eld's place) on Swamp Creek two dams 
were erected. The Keshena Improvement Company 
owned many of the dams in Langlade County. 

GILMORE'S MISTAKE. 

A Civil Engineer and surveyor whose surname was 
Gilmore surveyed the course of the Wolf River in 
1868 for Oshkosh lumbermen and reported that "no 
pine could be driven on the river as it ran underground 



THEV, THE TRUE HEARTED CAME." 
aughter of Langlade County pine. The camping headquart- 
nel of Chicago, III., are reproduced here. The Sands & Bon- 
East on the site of the J. J. Laughlin farm. Henry Hud- 
is shown back of a snow covered stump in front of the cen- 
y, the second is the sleeping shanty and the log structures at 
he camps shown were erected in 188t and at the close of oper- 
gle mill was then erected and in 188(;-87. 25,000.000 feet of the 
d hardwood shown back of the camp buildings has long since 
and many others in Langlade County was hauled to the J. H. 
camp granary is still in existence. 

WOODSMEN SCOFFED AT ANTIGO FLATS. 

In 1874 two hardy woodsmen journeyed over the In- 
dian trails from Wausau through the present limits of 
Langlade County to the camp headquarters of Moore 
& Galloway, three miles east of Dobbston. They 
told the Camp Superintendent, the timber prospectors, 
cruisers, lumberjacks and drivers of the wonderful re- 
gion to the west. One of the men remarked to Henry 
Hudson: "The country is full of pine and splendid 
tracts of hardwood, but it would take a whole year to 
get 1,000 feet of the product to the Wolf River." He 
never realized that the "Iron Trail' 'as the pioneer call- 
ed the railroad, would penetrate into that same terri- 
tory before seven years passed, and that in fifty years 
the same region would be the most productive agricul- 
tural section of the territory now comprising Langlade 
County. 



32 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



PIONEER LUMBERMEN FROM MAINE. 

Maine has long been known as the Pine Tree State, 
because of the vast areas of pine forests within its 
limits. Years ago the woodland area of Maine cov- 
ered over three-fourths of the total area of the entire 
Commonwealth. With the passing of the primeval 
forests of that state many of its native sons moved 
westward. Thus the pine forests of Maine furnished 
to Langlade County many of the pioneers in the logg- 
ing, river driving and lumbering industry of the Wolf 
River country. These sturdy followers of the stately 
pine often took up lands and homesteads in the re- 
gions slashed with the result that the descendants of 
many are still living along the route of the Military 
Road or in other sections of the county. Many of the 
Maine pine men moved on westward and their progeny 
are found at this day in the great forests of Canadian- 
British Columbia. 

With the pine slashed, the purpose of the pioneer 
lumberman was accomplished. Hardwood was a bur- 
den and an expense. The knotty and poorer grade of 
logs were usually left in the forests to become a prey 
to future raging forest fires. At first only the pine 
timber along the banks of the Wolf and Lily rivers 
was cut, but with timber operations increasing, the ex- 
tent of the slashed area also increased. The "cut- 
over" land of that day was then placed on the market 
to be taken up by the first settlers. Often they be- 
came discouraged and would abandon their "hole in the 
woods" as the first clearings were called. Land was 
then considered worthless. It would not in many in- 
stances yield sufficient products to pay taxes. Thus 
the land speculator, the tax-title lawyer, great land 
agencies and many who invested "pine profits" took up 
the lands of the county. They paid the munificent 
sum of from fifty cents to two dollars per acre for 
land that today could not be purchased for $150.00 per 
acre. The delicate problems envolving the owner- 
ship and the title to thousands of acres of land demand- 
ed expert attention. Thus the tax title attorney be- 
came a necessity. Attorney W. H. Webster of Ocon- 
to and Attorney George W. Latta of Antigo, were the 
acknowledged tax title experts in the vicinity. 

The story of the pine hunter is now but a memory on- 
ly to the oldest settlers. The lumberman and timber 
cruiser of that era are passing away swiftly. Only 
through the story teller of tomorrow — "the art preser- 
vative of arts" will the traditions of the early lumber 
districts be preserved. 

And the tales they will tell the people 
Will be of logging camps and saw mills 

At a time by few remembered 

When this land was dense with forests. 

Tales of swamping, sawing, skidding. 
Rafting, driving, logs and lumber. 

How they felled the forest timber. 



Tell of lumber jack and camp boss, 
Of the cook and sleeping shanties. 

Of the horse and oxen stables 
By the forest trees surrounded. 

Of the peavy and the cant hook 
Now no longer seen with workmen. 

Stories of the timber cruising. 
Bearing trees and section corners, 

Tramping woodland shod in snow shoes 
Seeking merchantable timber, 

Looking ever at the tree trunks. 
Never noting soil they grew on 

Though the richest ever planted. 
Tell the tales of timber stealing. 

Liens for labor, suits for trespass. 
To a wondering pastoral people. 

Tell of shingle bolts and saw logs 
And the timber cut for pulp wood; 

Of the log jams in the river. 
And the ice roads to the landing 

Of the circular and band saw. 
How they ripped the logs and lumber. 

When his father was a youngster; 
They will tell of mills dismantled, 

Of the knives that changed the huge logs 
Into long sheets called veneering. 

Of the hubs made for the wagons 
Turned and mortised by the carload, 

And the staves and hoops for barrels, 
Manufactured by the million; 

They will tell of mills that vanished. 

When no timber grew to feed them. 
Where they stood the lawn mowers clicking 

Seems faint echo to their noises. 
Tell how forests were denuded 

Of all timber having value. 
When the farmer of the southward 

Came to clear the timber slashings, 
Built of logs their house and stables, 

Toiling hard for crops to gather. 
How the timber farmer wondered, 

Shook his head and smiled with pity 
Said it was the height of folly 

Trying to force from stumps a living; 

But the sneers were all unheeded 
By a farmer at his clearing. 

Late and early toiling conquered. 
Field on field was cleared and planted 

Garnered grain rewards his labors. 
Dairy cattle browse contented 

In the pastures once the forest. 
Well content the prosperous farmer 

Tells with mirth of timber settler 
Who once owned his smiling acres. 

How he followed lumbering northward 
To the verge of civilization 

And was never heard from after. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



33 



CHAPTER X. 
County Politics and Parties 

Political Parties — Federal — Whig — Democrat — R epublican — Green Backs — Socialists — Non-Parti- 
san League — Progressives — Retirement of Old School leaders — County political henchmen — 
Personal Politics in County Affairs — Political Wire Pulling — Langlade County Women in Pol- 
itics — The Political Wigwam of 1896 — War with Germany Breaks Party Ties — Labor to the 
Front — Weakening of Party Lines — The Battle Line of 1924 — Presidential Vote of County 
1884-1920. 



In the Colonial period of American history there ex- 
isted no political parties such as are prevalent today. 
Not until 1760, when the English insisted upon a severe 
policy toward the Colonies did two factions develop, 
one favoring self government and the other favoring 
obedience to the crown government. Thus was born 
the Colonial Whig and the Tory groups and with 
their birth American political history began. 

The initial party organization commenced in op- 
position to measures sponsored by Alexander Hamil- 
ton, which included the establishment of a National 
Bank. In this conflict of ideas developed the Feder- 
al and Anti-Federalist — the former led by Alexander 
Hamilton, the latter by Thomas Jefferson. The Fed- 
eralists gained control of the new United States gov- 
ernment with the election of George Washington, but 
in 1801 were overthrown by the Anti-Federalists, who 
during their quarter of a century of power, changed 
their party label from Anti-Federalist to Democratic- 
Republican, Republican and finally Democrat. 

The National Republican party, created during the 
Monroe "Era of Good Feeling," the Anti-Masonic 
party of 1832, the Whig party of 1836, the Liberty 
party of 1840, the Free Soilers of 1848, the American 
or Know-nothing party of 1856, the Republican party 
of 1856, the Green Backs or Nationals of 1876, the 
Laborites of 1884, the Peoples Party of 1892, the So- 
cialists of 1892, the Populists of 1896, the 
Socialist-Labor Party of 1896, the Prohibition- 
ists commencing in 1896, the Progressives of 1912, the 
Farmer-Labor Party of 1920, all have been organized 
as a result of divided opinions on some burning princi- 
pal or issue of national interest. 

POLITICAL LANGLADE COUNTY. 

Political history of the county began when Squire 
A. Taylor made his fight for the County of New, in 
1879. A year later, as we know, in February, 1880, 
the name of the county became Langlade. The Wolf 
River settlement and its leaders opposed the establish- 
ment of the county-seat at Springbrook or Antigo. 
Francis A. Deleglise and his followers accepted the 
creation of New County nonchalantly. This is evi- 
denced by the following petition to the Oconto County 
Board of Supervisors : We, the undersigned inhabi- 
tants and electors of that part of Range eleven (11) 



that lays in Oconto County* do hereby make applica- 
tion to you to establish and organize a town out of and 
comprising the above mentioned territory and to call 
said town the name set opposite the majority of the 
signers hereto. 

Dated at Antigo this sixth day of November, 1880. 

Names of Petitioners and the name preferred for 
proposed town : 

F. A. Deleglise — Antigo. 

Gus Lind — Antigo. 

George Ratcliffe — Antigo. 

Remington — Antigo. 

Niels Anderson — Antigo. 

Richard Healy — Antigo. 

John Erkling — Antigo. 

Joseph R. Sheriff — Antigo. 

Charles Mosher — Antigo. 

William Miller — Springbrook. 

Charles Teipner — Springbrook. 

S. L. Wait— Antigo. 

Daniel M. Taggart — Antigo. 

D. M. Randall— Antigo. 

D. S. Olmsted— Antigo. 
James Novotny — Antigo. 
Joseph Kraus — Antigo. 
Jozeph Nowotny — Antigo. 
Joseph Novotny — Antigo. 
Louis Novotny — Antigo. 
Joseph Duchac — Antigo. 
Philip Novotni — Antigo. 
Thomas Vochoska — Antigo. 
Antone Honzik- — Antigo. 

E. R. Whitmore — Antigo. 
Joseph Mattek — Antigo. 
Joseph Plzak — Antigo. 
John Carlson — Antigo. 
Wenzel Smetana — Antigo. 
J. C. Maloney — Antigo. 

J. W. Goodwin — Antigo. 



* The territory which the petitioners sought to have detached from 
Oconto County d'd not then belong to Oconto County. The 

petit oners desired townships 31, 32, 33, 34, 35 36. 37, 38, 39, 40. 41 
and 42. North, Range 11 East "be detached irom all previous town 
organizations existing under authority of the Oconto County Board 
and that the townships be organized and named Antigo." The first 
town election was to be held April 5, 1881. A. D., at Niels Anderson's 
store. This was directly in conflict with the Chapter 7, laws of 1880, 
approved February 19, 1880, in which New County was changed to 
Langlade County, (with Antigo township as a part of it) and in which 
Oconto County had no jurisdiction since 1879. It demonstrates the 
livalry between the Squire A. Taylor group on the Wolf River and 
the settlers in and adjacent to Antigo. 



34 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Alex McMillan — Springbrook. 

E. Holly — Antigo. 

Jos. Holy — Antigo. 

M. W. Waite— Antigo. 

Alexander McMartin— Antigo. 

Albert Brown — Antigo. 

Frank Byrne — Springbrook. 

Peter O'Connor — Springbrook. 

James O'Connor — Antigo. 

Thomas W. Leslie — Antigo. 

Oliver Leslie — Antigo. 

R. J. Richards — Springbrook. 

John Cherne — Antigo. 

Lawrence Walk — Antigo. 

Stephen Dauet — Antigo. 

Joseph Debrewer — Antigo. 

Patrick Byrne — Springbrook. 

John Deresch — Antigo. 

T. Ekart — Antigo. 

Michael Weix — Antigo. 

Frank Campton — Springbrook. 

Nick Golden — Antigo. 

Total number voting — 59. 50 for Antigo — 9 for 
Springbrook. "Two would not sign on account of the 
majority being for Antigo," said the petition. 

POLITICAL CAMPAIGNS— 1884-1924. 

The campaign of 1884 was Langlade County's first 
dip into Presidential politics. September 25, 1884, a 
Blaine and Logan Club was organized with W. H. 
Blinn as President and A. L. Ross, Commander. 
October 16, 1884, a great celebration and torch parade 
was held by the Blaine and Loganites in Antigo. The 
procession, headed by a brass band, proceeded from 
the Antigo House (corner of 5th Avenue and Edison 
street) to the Opera House (south of site of Vivian 
Hotel), where Hon. W. C. Bailey of Green Bay spoke 
in ringing terms for over an hour on impending is- 
sues. The Republicans appealed to Civil War vete- 
rans to support Blaine and especially Logan, soldier 
and G. A. R. Commander. 

The Democrats were very active in support of Cleve- 
land and Hendricks. A Cleveland and Hendricks 
Club was formed with Attorney Thomas W. Lynch as 
President and W. H. Dawley as Secretary. Their 
street parades, torch processions and county campaign- 
ing kept the Plumed Knights of the Blaine and Logan 
Club on the alert. Many prominent speakers visited 
Antigo and spoke on the paramount issue, the tariff. 

After the election the people of the village throng- 
ed to the Milwaukee, Lake Shore depot, where tele- 
graphic returns were received. The bulletins were 
scanned with eagerness to cheer or lament as the re- 
port dictated. Rivalry was not over when voting 
ceased as the Republicans charged the Democrats with 
"being too boisterous while awaiting returns." 

Newspapers played an important part in the cam- 
paign. The Langlade Republican was strong for 
Blaine, while the News Item was for the Cleveland- 
Hendricks ticket. 



Pioneers are of the opinion that Antigo has never 
since witnessed such earnest political torch parades, 
pow wows and active political campaigning as the 
great election of 1884. While Blaine carried the 
county it was only by 126 votes. 

THE CAMPAIGN OF 1888. 

The campaign of 1888 turned the tide in favor of 
the Republicans and Benjamin Harrison, with free 
trade as the paramount issue, went into the President's 
chair. Langlade County endorsed Cleveland in the 
campaign by 1192 votes as against 774 for General 
Harrison. 

The election was equally exciting as that of 1884. 
When the returns showed Harrison and Morton as the 
victors a great log cabin demonstration was arrang- 
ed, Saturday, November 10, 1888. Music, a pro- 
cession, banners, horsemen and a general "bang up" 
prevailed. An amusing incident of the 1888 fight 
was related by an old timer telling how William Mar- 
thinson carried David Clements from Weed's mill to 
Clement's residence, a considerable distance, as pay- 
ment of a losing end of an election bet. 

THE GREAT FIGHT FOR FREE SILVER. 

The most exciting campaign in the history of the 
nation for years was the McKinley-Bryan contest of 
1896. The coinage of free silver at a 16 to 1 ratio 
was the dominant issue. McKinley carried Langlade 
County by approximately five hundred votes. The 
campaign held sway over the entire nation from the 
time nominations were made until the inauguration 
of President-elect McKinley. Bryan, magnetic ora- 
tor, toured the country speaking to great crowds every- 
where. Republican and Democrat leaders were sent 
into Langlade County to aid their respective parties. 
Rallies, torchlight parades, political speeches and bar- 
becues enlivened the campaign in which party lines 
were broken and crossed in so many ways making its 
local phase notable in Langlade County political his- 
tory. 

THE POLITICAL WIGWAM OF 1896. 

The citizens of Antigo, chiefly Republicans, with 
the aid of some Gold Democrats and free silver pro- 
ponents alike, realized the need of a large meeting 
place during the political election of 1896. Accord- 
ingly carpenters, laborers, politicians and office seek- 
ers all joined hands and erected a monstrous wigwam, 
as it was called, on the present public library grounds. 

The great poles were hauled from the Kingsbury & 
Henshaw land just west of Neva road, opposite the 
McHale farm, north of Antigo. Most of the labor 
and material was donated. The framework of the 
wigwam was erected with great speed. A substan- 
tial building paper covered the rough wall boards. 
The interior was equipped with plank seats and a plat- 
form. The seating capacity was between fifteen 
hundred to two thousand. Antigo had a Bryan Club 
and a McKinley Club during that hot fought contest. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



35 



Republican and Democrat campaign speeches alike 
were given in the wigwam. More interest was evinc- 
ed by the women of the county than ever before. 

McKINLEY CARRIES LANGLADE. 

Bryan was defeated but as he said "the year 1900 
is not far away, the campfires of patriotism still 
burn" and the great Commoner to this day is a leader 
in American politics. The campaign of 1900 resulted 
again in the victory of McKinley and the Republicans. 
Langlade County gave McKinley five hundred majori- 
ty, the vote being 1596 for McKinley and 1084 for 
Bryan. The paramount issue was the monetory sys- 
tem and the tariff. 

In 1904, Alton B. Parker, Democratic presidential 
nominee was defeated by Roosevelt. Parker charged 
his defeat to followers of Bryan. Roosevelt carried 
Langlade County by a thousand votes. 

The campaign of 1912 is notable for developing the 
Bull Moose or Progressive Party under the leadership 
of Roosevelt, who defeated LaFollette of Wisconsin 
for Presidential nominee. William Howard Taft, 
eminently qualified, was nominated at Chicago by the 
Republicans. Some thought the nomination to be un- 
fair and the Progressive party was the result. Sena- 
tor La Follette broke with Roosevelt after the latter's 
nomination. Meanwhile the Democrats, through the 
influence of Bryan, nominated Governor Woodrow 
Wilson of New Jersey and with the Republican forces 
divided the results were easy to forecast. Wilson was 
elected. He carried Langlade County by five hun- 
dred votes. Roosevelt lead Taft in Langlade Coun- 
ty and gained a greater vote than Taft in the nation. 

In 1916 with Europe at war, the United States neu- 
tral, Woodrow Wilson was swept into office on a plat- 
form, "He kept us out of war." Langlade County en- 
dorsed Wilson, giving him two-hundred more votes 
than Charles Evans Hughes, Republican nominee. 

The campaign of 1920 was one of the most memor- 
able in the history of the nation. President Wilson, 
broken in health, his ideals of a League of Nations 
shattered, looked on as James M. Cox, Ohio war Gov- 
ernor, leading the Democrats in a remarkable uphill 
battle, was overwhelmingly defeated by the Republi- 
cans, who nominated Warren G. Harding, U. S. Sena- 
tor from Ohio. 

Langlade County went Republican by two thou- 
sand votes. The paramount issue was the League of 
Nations and America's foreign policy. The Farmer- 
Labor party, new born, made a creditable showing. 
The Non-partisan League gained a following in Lang- 
lade County. The campaigns of 1884-1896 and 1920 
are considered the most remarkable in American poli- 
tical history. We can only await the year 1924 to see 
if these contests are not superceded. 

THE YEAR 1924 IS NOT FAR AWAY. 

The battle lines of politics are beginning to be ar- 
rayed at this writing. The Democrats have many 
leaders as McAdoo, Pomerene, Bryan, Cox or Walsh, 



Presidential possibilities, but a dark horse has ample 
time to come up. Warren G. Harding, if alive, will un- 
questionably be the Republican choice again. The So- 
cialists may replace Debs with a man younger than 
he. Soldiers of the World War and the women will 
play an important part in the contest. The dead pro- 
gressives of 1912 may be reborn under a new title. 
Borah, La Follette, (who will be re-elected in Novem- 
ber, 1922), Johnson of California, James A. Reed and 
France of Maryland would be the timber for the new 
political coterie. The conservative policies of the 
Republicans are now a target. 

PERSONAL COUNTY POLITICS. 

Langlade County since its organization in 1880 has 
had, in its past and present political history many 
leaders who acquired their controlling influence 
through their own personal prestige and cordiality 
rather than through party principles. The day is pass- 
ing when men adhere to the narrowness of a one policy 
or party. Party lines are weakening. A man's 
character, his ability and his honesty figure largely in 
local politics. For that reason Langlade County may 
be Republican on national issues, but largely Demo- 
cratic on local affairs. 

DOMINANT PARTIES IN COUNTY. 

The dominant parties in the county have been Dem- 
ocrat and Republican. In 1884 and afterward for 
sometime the Prohibitionists or "third party" element 
was strong. The Socialist Party has been stronger 
in late years. There candidate for U. S. Senate, Vic- 
tor L. Berger, received 420 votes in the county in 1918. 
The Non-Partisan League organized in the county in 
1919. Allied with various labor organizations in a 
Farmer-Labor League this party swept the county in 
the 1920 primaries, but was defeated in the general 
election. The Republican McCoy Club (Col. McCoy, 
of Sparta was then Democrat candidate for Governor 
against J. J. Blaine, Progressive Republican, whom 
the standpat Republicans repudiated) of Langlade 
County played an important part in the defeat of the 
Farmer-Labor group. The Republican county com- 
mittee was captured by the Farmer-Labor League and 
is still in their control. Issues resultant from the 
World War broke party ties. Democrat county offi- 
cers have been retained almost without exception, save 
for Sheriff, for many years. In 1922 the important 
battle in the county appears to be between the Progres- 
sives and the Stalwarts for control of Republican party 
affairs. "Rings," political aspirants, so-called ama- 
teur political "bosses" and "one man power" are talk- 
ed of in the county. 

LANGLADE COUNTY PRESIDENTIAL VOTE 
SINCE ORGANIZATION TO DATE. 

In 1880 there is no record of a Presidential vote in 
New County, but in 1881 a record of a Gubernatorial 
vote is given in Langlade County. Langlade County 
has voted Republican majorities six times and Demo- 
cratic majorities in Presidential elections four times. 



36 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



The first Presidential vote was during the great Blaine 
and Logan and Cleveland and Hendricks campaign as 
follows : 

1884 — Grover Cleveland, Democrat— 559 votes; 
James G. Blaine, Republican — 685 votes. 

1888 — Grover Cleveland, Democrat — 1192 votes; 
Benjamin Harrison, Republican — 774 votes. 

1892— Grover Cleveland, Democrat— 1299 votes; 
Benjamin Harrison, Republican — 877 votes; J. B. 
Weaver, Peoples Party — 13 votes; Bidwell, Prohibi- 
tionist — 31 votes. 

1896— William J. Bryan, Democrat— 957 votes; Wil- 
liam McKinley, Republican— 1445 votes; J. W. Palmer 
— 21 votes. 

1900— William J. Bryan, Democrat— 1084 votes; 
William McKinley, Republican — 1596 votes; Wooley, 
Prohibitionist — 48 votes; Eugene Debs, Socialist — 5 



votes; J. F. Malloney, Social Labor— 5 votes. 

1904 — Theodore Roosevelt, Republican— 2105 votes; 
A. B. Parker, Democrat — 1018 votes; Swallow, Prohi- 
bitionist — 46 votes; Socialist — 31 votes; Social Labor 
Party — 1 vote; Peoples Party — 2 votes. 

1908— William J. Bryan, Democrat— 1340; William 
H. Taft, Republican— 1921 votes; Chafin, Prohibition- 
ist — 64 votes; Debs, Socialist — 33 votes. 

1912 — Woodrow Wilson, Democrat — 1387 votes; 
William H. Taft, Republican— 710 votes; Theodore 
Roosevelt, Progressive — 810 votes; Chafin, Prohibi- 
tionist — 36 votes; Debs, Socialist — 91 votes. 

1916 — Woodrow Wilson, Democrat — 1730 votes; 
Charles Evans Hughes, Republican — 1524 votes. 

1920 — James M. Cox, Democrat — 1619 votes; War- 
ren G. Harding, Republican — 4059 votes; Debs, So- 
cialist — 189 votes; Watkins, Prohibitionist — 46 votes. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



37 



CHAPTER XL 
Schools and Education 



State Land Grants — Ordinance of 1787 — First Langlade County School — Pioneer Teaching Meth- 
ods—Early Teachers — Graded and Consolidated Schools — Antigo High School — Public 
Schools — Parochial Schools — County Superintendents — Antigo Public Library — City Super- 
intendents — Antigo Pioneer Club — Wisconsin Geographical Society of Antigo — Langlade 
County Historical Society — Graduates by Classes from 1885-1922, inclusive, Antigo High 
School — Langlade County Normal. 



"That religion, morality and knowledge, being nec- 
essary to the government and happiness of mankind, 
schools and means of education shall be forever en- 
couraged," declared the Ordinance of 1787. At once 
the founders of this nation encouraged and fostered, in 
the organic law of government, education among the 
people. 

Thirteen years before Congress carved Wisconsin 
from the Northwest Territory, it set aside every six- 
teenth section within the limits of the proposed state 
for common school purposes, estimated at 1523 sec- 
tions. Later 72 sections were set aside as a Univer- 
sity fund. 72 addi- 
tional sections were 
granted the Universi- 
ty fund. This grant 
was assigned to sa- 
line lands, but other 
lands were substitut- 
ed. Various grants 
of land, too numer- 
ous to mention here 
and not of assistance 
in revealing the mo- 
tive of this chapter, 
were granted to the 
state for school funds 
at varying periods 
from 1848 to 1922. 
All lands and moneys 
were given to the 
state in trust in order 
to create a fund, the 




li 



- ^ **-^*"f ,»'"ifi. 



AN OLD LOG CABIN SCHOOL 

Typical of pioneer education in Langlade County. This school has been 

replaced by a modern brick structure. See photo in Forest 

District, Upham township. 



Bay. James Porlier, ancestral relative of Louis Por- 
lier, ex-Sheriff of Langlade County, was the instruc- 
tor. There were many private and religious schools 
in the state before 1836. Edward West taught the 
first public school in Town Kilbourn (now a part of 
Milwaukee). The first Wisconsin high school was 
established in 1846. Eleazer Root was the first State 
Superintendent of Wisconsin Schools. A free high 
school law was passed in 1875, five years before the 
organization of Langlade County, and carried with it 
an appropriation of $25,000.00. 

THE BENNET LAW 
—ITS REPEAL. 

Under the Terri- 
torial government 
state schools were 
under the jurisdiction 
of county commis- 
sioners, who were re- 
placed by the town 
superintendents. 
School boards of 
three members were 
later organized. 
Town superintend- 
ents were then re- 
sponsible to the 
County Clerk. This 
was an improvement. 
In early years Coun- 
ty Superintendents 
carried teacher's cer- 



"v 



a- j' f 






income of which might be added to other sources of 
revenue, with which public schools were maintained. 

Thus the total number of acres of land grants to the 
state aggregated nearly five million acres. Yet the 
income derived from such a vast area is far below 
what it should be. Powerful combines, making pleas 
for immigration, purchased thousands of acres of pub- 
lic school land grants and laid the foundation for large 
private fortunes. 

THE FIRST WISCONSIN SCHOOL. 

Pierre Grignon, son-in-law of Charles De Langlade 
opened a private school for French families at Green 



tificates and promiscuously distributed them to friends, 
regardless of teaching qualifications. The first man- 
ual for common schools was issued by State Superin- 
tendent Graham in 1882. Since then the annual 
school manual is published by the State Department 
of Education. 

In 1889, by the passage of the Bennet Law, making 
it compulsory for all children between ages of 7 and 
14, to attend school at least 12 weeks and not more 
than 24 weeks, the educational system of the state be- 
came embroiled in politics. The Bennet Law was 
repealed in 1891 and a new compulsory law was in- 
stituted. 



38 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



THE ORIGIN OF ARBOR DAY. 

Setting aside a day for the annual planting of trees 
was first proclaimed by the Governor of Nebraska in 
1872. Hon. B. G. Northrop, Secretary of the Con- 
necticut Board of Education in 1865 was the first to 
suggest such a day. Observance of Arbor Day in 
Wisconsin on the first Friday of May is annually pro- 
claimed by the Governor. Arbor Day is also as- 
sociated with Bird Day, when children are instructed 
in the care and protection of birds. 

The Arbor Day manual of exercises and instructions 
is annually published by the State Department of Ed- 
ucation. Arbor Day has been the means of planting 
millions of trees throughout the United States. Since 
the World War many of the trees have been dedicated 
to fallen American heroes. 

LANGLADE COUNTY SCHOOLS. 

The dominating 

thought of the first 

settlers in Langlade 

County was to secure 

means and education 

for their children. It 

was not more than 

six months after the 

first permanent set- 
tlers came into east- 
ern Langlade County 

when the first schoo' 

house was erected. 
The first school 

was located on sec- 
tion 3, township 31, 

north, of range 14 

east. The little log 

cabin, built in 1873, 

was roughly thrown 

together. While it 

was primitive it was 

the beginning of education in Langlade County. Miss 
Addie Wescott of Shawano was probably the first 
teacher. In this one room log structure, surrounded 
by dense forests, the children of the early 
settlers were taught the "three R's." The first pupils 
to attend school in the county were : Waldo A. Yates, 
Elton C. Larzelere. Levi R. Farrow, Etta B. Farrow 
and Carrie J. Larzelere. The teacher made arrange- 
ments to get a blackboard from Shawano. The stu- 
dents ranged in ages of from five to eighteen. Text 
books were not uniform yet from the "backwoods" 
schools, such as this one, were produced some of 
Langlade County's leading citizens. Lessons taught 
were Reading, Writing, Spelling, Arithmetic, History 
and Geography. The first schools had no maps. 
School terms were usually eight to nine months. The 
second school in the county was established at "Nine 
Mile Creek," now Hollister, and the third was erected 
at New, now known as Lily. 




He 



THE FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE IN ANTIGO. 
Miss .\nna Sheriff held sway during the first term. Xott 
scooped roof, the forest in the background and the o.xen. 
Guenthner is standing near the oxen. 



Ed. 



THE FIRST ANTIGO SCHOOL. 

The first school in Antigo was constructed of logs 
by a young man named Joseph Krause. He intend- 
ed to reside at the place, but instead took up a home- 
stead at or near Kempster. The school was located 
where the P. F. Kelly Implement Store is now, corner 
of Third Avenue and Superior Street and was opened 
in 1879. Miss Anna Sheriff, now Mrs. Peter O'Con- 
nor of White Lake, Elton township, proved capable 
and efficient as the first teacher. 

Other early teachers in Antigo were: Miss Sophia 
Deleglise, now Mrs. Sophia Leslie, Miss Carrie Her- 
man, Miss Nellie Williams, now Mrs. C. S. Leykom, 
Mrs. Maggie Hughes, Byron J. Oakley, the late F. J. 
Finucane, Elizabeth McGill, Virginia Pierson and Liz- 
zie Borgman. By 1883 Antigo had a graded school 
with three departments. 

The first Antigo school was typical of the pioneer. 

It had only two half 
windows in which to 
let light. The floor 
was made of rough 
odds and ends 
boards. The seats 
were made of bass- 
wood trees, "split in 
twain." The round 
sides were perforated 
with holes to receive 
pegs. Back rests 

and book shelves 
were absent. 

The little 1 o g 
school was warmed 
by a box stove that 
drove out the frost 
in the long dreary 
winters and smudged 
out the mosquito and 
fly in the spring and 
summer. 



THE FIRST HIGH SCHOOL. 

The High School department was established in the 
Village of Antigo in October, 1883. C. O. Marsh, 
first Principal, arrived in Antigo Tuesday, September 
25, 1883. 41 pupils were enrolled before the 1883 
term closed. Miss Agnes Donohue, the first gradu- 
ate, June 20, 1885, read an essay, "Character" as one 
of the numbers of the first high school exercises. Oth- 
ers who participated were: Lizzie Caldwell, Sybil Cor- 
nish, George Porter, Edith Logan and Dr. H. V. Mills, 
leader of the Forest City Orchestra. High School 
was first conducted in a frame building on the site of 
the public library. Not long after a two story frame 
building was erected on the site of the Second Ward 
School from which Miss Agnes Donohue graduated. 
This frame building was used until the first brick 
structure was erected in block 63, present site of the 
Antigo High School. When it was proposed to erect 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



39 



a brick high school on that site it was covered with 
a thick growth of timber. It was owned by Hon. 
Francis A. Deleglise who presented it to the village 
for school purposes. 

February 9, 1890, the city council approved plans 
for the erection of the school. The building original- 
ly cost $16,500, but improvements and additions were 
made after its construction to keep pace with the in- 




Antigo's First High School. 
This building was located on the 
site of the present public library. 



THE NEW HIGH SCHOOL. 

Time was not lost to provide facilities for school 
purposes after the burning of the high school. Citi- 
zens, business places, lodges, and churches unani- 
mously came forth and offered rooms. Most of them 
were accepted. A special meeting of the Board of 
Education was called. President E. J. Goodrick ap- 
pointed a committee consisting of N. R. Babcock, R. 
S. Healy, Sr., and Walter Below to assist Superintend- 
ent H. S. Simmons secure rooms. 

The first building plans were discussed at once. E. 
J. Goodrick, W. B. McArthur, N. R. Babcock, Edgar 
Neff and George Palmiter were chosen as the Ways 
and Means Committee on construction. Robert Mess- 
mer, Milwaukee architect, was selected to prepare 
plans and specifications for a new school to cost not 
more than $100,000. This was in accordance with a 
resolution passed at a regular meeting of the city 
council, April 26, 1916. May 18, 1916, bids were 
opened and the contract for erecting the building was 
awarded to the Immel Construction Company of Fond 
du Lac for $96,000. Heating and ventilating appara- 
tus was installed by the General Heating & Ventilat- 
ing Company of Milwaukee. Louis Peters, Antigo 
plumber, was awarded the plumbing contract. 

The corner stone of the high school was laid amid 







THE PRESENT ANTIGO HIGH SCHOOL ERECTED IN iyiG-17 



In less than fifty years the school population of Ant 

three 

crease in enrollment from year to year. The school 
served the rising generations faithfully until that bit- 
ter cold morning, January 6, 1916, when fire turned it 
into a heap of smouldering ruins. The Philakean De- 
bating Society held the last meeting in it, January 5, 
1916. Valuable school records and trophies, most of 
which cannot be replaced, were burned. 



igo has grown from twenty pupils to approximately 
thousand. 

impressive and appropriate ceremonies in July, 1916. 
The high school, modern in every respect, was first 
used in the spring of 1917. It was officially accept- 
ed before the opening of the 1917-18 school term. The 
building committee consisted of N. R. Babcock, R. S. 
Healy, Sr., Walter Below, and Dr. F. C. Kestly. The 
flag pole was donated by N. R. Babcock. 



40 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



WARD SCHOOLS. 

The contract for the erection of a two story brick 
school building in the 1st ward was awarded to Thom- 
as Solar, September 18, 1905, at a cost of $10,247. 
The school was completed and accepted in October, 
1906. J. D. Chubb was the architect. The 1st ward 
school was named the T. D. Kellogg school in honor 
of T. D. Kellogg, then President of the Board of Ed- 
ucation. It is located in Daskam's 2nd sub-division. 

February 7, 1896, bids were received for erecting a 
four room two story school in the second ward. Thom- 
as Wright was awarded the contract at $6,868. Con- 
over & Porter, Madison, Wis., architects drafted plans 
and specifications for the building which was com- 
pleted in August, 1896. The school is at the inter- 
section of Clermont street and Second avenue. 

In 1899 the city authorized the issuance of $8,000 
in bonds to build a two story school in the third ward. 
A one room frame building was used before then. 
The present school was completed and accepted in 
1900. It is located in block 1 of the Mary Deleglise 
addition. It cost about $8,000. 

The fourth ward building contract was let to Thomas 
Solar at $11,630. ( He was also given a contract to 
build an addition on the high school at the same time, 
June 15, 1904.) The fourth ward was completed and 
ready for school purposes by the fall of 1904. The 
old frame structure was moved away by R. M. Briggs. 
The fourth ward is located in block 1 of Daskam's 
addition. 

All classes in the fifth ward are conducted i.i the 
high school building in block 63. 

On June 5, 1896, the Board of Education adopteJ a 
resolution requesting the city council to submit tD a 
referendum a proposition to borrow $7,003 from the 
state for a ten year term, $4,000 to be used to erect 
the sixth ward and $3,000 to meet a part of the con- 
tract price of the second ward. The resolution was 
rescinded June 19, 1896. March 1, 1897, the school 
board passed a resolution requesting the same 
loan. Meanwhile the Jaekel building (M. 

Krom Building) was used for school pur- 
poses. May 8, 1897, W. H. Nelson of 
Merrill was awarded the contract to build the sixth 
ward at $6,450. Conover & Porter were the archi- 
tects. The building was completed October 1, 1897. 
It is located in block 59, 7th avenue and Virginii 
street. 

PAROCHIAL SCHOOLS. 

In 1890, under the regime of Rev. William Takken, 
the St. John's Parochial School was erected. The 
cost was approximately $8,000. The increased en- 
rollment and growing demands necessitated additions 
and improvements that have been made during Rev. 
Conrad Saile's pastorship. These improvements 

have cost between $12,000 and $14,000. Enrollment 
at St. John's parochial school in 1922 was 487 — 255 
boys and 232 girls. The school is in charge of Fran- 
cisan Sisters, ten of whom teach the various grades. 



It is located at the corner of Fulton Street and Sev- 
enth Avenue, block 57. 

St. Hyacinth parochial school was erected in 1908. 
It is in charge of two Sisters. The average attend- 
ance is 84 pupils in grades ranging from the first to 
the eighth. This school is located on Edison street 
in block 23, original plat of Antigo. 

The Phlox parochial school is discussed in Nor- 
wood township. 

The Antigo Evangelical Peace parochial school 
was established in 1897. Since 1902, the old church, 
north of the present edifice, has been used as the 
school. Two teachers are in charge. The old school 
was located west of the present church site. Grades 
range from first to eighth. 

COUNTY SCHOOLS. 

The first Langlade County Superintendent's report 
was made November 17, 1881 by George T. Ratcliffe. 
It was a well written review of the rural schools. The 
schools of the county were then in a chaotic condition. 
Rolling and Norwood townships were credited with the 
best schools in the county in 1881. Sixteen teachers 
had charge of the entire rural school system at that 
time. In 1881, there were but nine school districts as 
compared with eighty in 1922. The first school dis- 
ti'icts were subdivided into 12 sub-districts. The first 
county teacher's institute was held in October, 1881. 
A Langlade County Teacher's Association was organ- 
ized but never functioned successfully at that early 
date. 

The total enrollment in the rural schools in 1921 was 
3285 pupils. The number of teachers engaged in rur- 
al and graded schools exclusive of Antigo, was 107 ac- 
cording to 1921 official reports. 

Langlade County has three consolidated schools: 
Parrish District No. 1 of Summit township. Summit 
Lake District No. 1 of Upham township and District 
No. 1 of Kent, Langlade and Price township districts 
consolidated. 

Two union free high schools were recently establish- 
ed. One, the Union Free High School of Districts 1, 4 
and 5 of Langlade township is located at White Lake. 
The other was erected in 1921 at Elcho. Both offer 
four year courses. 

The cost of educating the pupils in the rural schools 
of Langlade County is approximately $58 per pupil. 

The following is a list of Langlade County Superin- 
tendents of Schools since 1881 : George Ratcliffa — 
1881-1885; A. H. Morris— 1885-1887; Dr. J. H. Daw- 
ley— 1887-1888; Edward Nordman— 1888-1895 ; H. F. 
Morson— 1895-1896; Edward Nordman— 1896-1901 ; 
C. 0. Marsh— 1901-1903; A. M. Arveson— 1903-1919; 
Bertha Moss — 1919-1922, (present incumbent). Mis; 
Mattie McMillan elected in 1919 did not qualify. 

THE PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

The first free library opened in Antigo April 17, 
1897. in the F. A. Millard building, now 711 Fifth Ave- 
nue. 172 volumes were in use. In 1898, Mrs. A. K. 
Brush, most influential in organizing the library, aided 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



41 



in increasing the volumes to 450 in number. The li- 
brary was open two times a week, Tuesdays and Sat- 
urdays. Camilla Thrall was Secretary. Rules were : 
1. — No one allowed behind desk except librarian. 2. — 
No cards issued to children under 12. 3. — Unneces- 
sary conversation prohibited. 

The semi-annual anniversary of the opening was 
celebrated November 5, 1897. A book social was 
held at the Congregational Church. All present do- 
nated a book to the library. New quarters were pro- 
vided in the City Hall in October, 1900. At this time 
Friendship Union, W. C. T. U., which had reading 
rooms over Molle's Jewelry Store, donated tables, 
books and magazines to the newly created library 
board. 

THE FIRST LIBRARY BOARD. 

When the W. C. T. U. agreed to turn over their tables 
and equipment to the city provided the city would ex- 
pend $500 for necessities for a public library the first 
step toward the practical solution of the library pro- 
blem was taken. The city agreed and the library was 
formally opened December 29, 1900, in the City Hall. 
The first librarian in the city hall library was Miss Jane 
Ogilvie. The library remained there until the Carne- 
gie Library was erected in 1904. C. F. Dallman, An- 
tigo contractor and architect, erected the present 
library. 



neely. President; Mrs. E. A. Morse, Vice-president; 
Mrs. Charles La Blonde, City Commissioner Frank 
Dvorak, Superintendent of City Schools, A. M. 
Arveson, Ernest Hirt, C. W. Van Doren and Miss 
Edith Rectygl, librarian, who is secretary of the board. 

OLD SETTLERS CLUB. 

The Antigo Pioneer Club was formed by Jessie Arm- 
strong, S. E. Leslie, D. F. Chandler, Jule Grant, H. M. 
Chandler, A. P. Menting, W. H. Dawley, and G. J. 
Schintz, November 22, 1891. The purpose of the club 
was to "maintain and manage fishing and sporting fa- 
cilities at Moose Lake, Norwood township." 

WISCONSIN GEOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY. 

The Wisconsin Geographical Society organized in 
1883 to collect and diffuse geographical data, books, 
pamphlets, old and new, for the benefit of posterity, 
was active for many years. Its first officers were : 
President— L. W. Bliss; Vice-President— F. A. Dele- 
glise and Secretary — W. H. Dawley. 

LANGLADE COUNTY HISTORICAL SOCIETY. 

The Langlade County Historical Society was organ- 
ized at the City Hall, May 14, 1921. Mayor Charles 
J. Hanzel opened the meeting. Officers elected were: 




THE .\XTIGO PUBLIC LIBRARY ERECTED IN 1U04. 

Equipped then with but 152!) volumes, it now has 11,525 voknnes at the 

command of the Langlade County reading public. The County 

Normal is located in the library building, second floor. 



The first library board and directors were appoint- 
ed by Mayor I. D. Steffen. Members were : Mrs. E. 
P. Bridgeman, F. J. Finucane, Frank Ringsmith, C. 
S. Leykom, Mrs. J. F. Albers, Mrs. M. F. Crowe, Miss 
Anna Kelly, Frank Glugla and C. 0. Marsh. The 

board elected these officers: President — F. J. Finu- 
cane; Vice-President — Mrs. J. F. Albers and Secretary 
— Miss Anna Kelly. 

The library board meets the first Tuesday of each 
month. The present board is as follows : G. K. Me- 



President — George W. Latta; Vice-Presidents*— Judge 
J. W. Parsons, Mrs. Anna Morrissey and Frank Dvor- 
ak; Secretary — Robert M. Dessureau; Treasurer — 
Mrs. Sophia Leslie; Board of Directors — Edward Goe- 
bel, John McGreer, Mrs. Sophia Leslie, Mrs. Anna 
Morrissey, Charles Hoeffler, George W. Latta and 
Robert M. Dessureau. The Advisors selected were: 
J. C. Lewis, Edward McCandless, Anton Nowotny, W. 
H. Dawley and William H. Wolpert. 

Besides collecting historical data the society will 



42 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



place markers and tablets at locations of historical 
note in Langlade County. 

ANTIGO SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS. 

The history of Langlade County would be incom- 
plete without the names of the City Superintendents of 
Antigo and also the principals of the Antigo High 
School. They are given herewith with the dates they 
served. Up to the year 1915-16 the City Superin- 
tendent also acted as principal of the High School. For 
that reason his name is not repeated under the list of 
principals. 




C. O. M.\RSH. 

Who came to Antigo in 188.'! and liccanie the first City 

Superintendent of Schools. 

Year. City Superintendent. 



1884-1885 
1885-1886 
1886-1887 
1887-1888 
1888-1889 
1889-1890 
1890-1891 
1891-1892 
1892-1893 
1893-1894 
1894-1895 
1895-1896 
1896-1897 
1897-1898 
1898-1899 
1899-1900 
1900-1901 
1901-1902 
1902-1903 
1903-1904 
1904-1905 
1905-1906 
1906-1907 
1907-1908 
1908-1909 



C. O. Marsh 
C. 0. Marsh 
John O'Hara 
John O'Hara 
John O'Hara 
John O'Hara 
J. E. Hoyt 
W. H. Williams 
W. H. Williams 
C. 0. Marsh 
C. 0. Marsh 
C. 0. Marsh 
C. O. Marsh 
C. 0. Marsh 
C. 0. Marsh 
F. F. Showers 
F. F. Showers 
F. F. Showers 
F. F. Showers 
Myron E. Keats 
W. H. Hickok 
W. H. Hickok 
W. H. Hickok 
W. H. Hickok 
W. H. Hickok 



1909-1910 


W. H. Hickok 




1910-1911 


W. H. Hickok 




1911-1912 
1912-1913 


W. H. Hickok 
R. A. Brandt 


H. S. Principal 


1913-1914 


R. A. Brandt 


Edward F. Merbach 


1914-1915 


R. A. Brandt 


Edward F. Merbach 


1915-1916 


H. S. Simmons 


Edward F. Merbach 


1916-1917 


H. S. Simmons 


Edward F. Merbach 


1917-1918 


Ernest Her 


Edward F. Merbach 


1918-1919 


Ernest Her 


Edward F. Merbach 


1919-1920 


Ernest Her 


Edward F. Merbach 


1920-1921 


R. A. Brandt 


H. H. Theisen 


1921-1922 


R. A. Brandt 


H. H. Theisen 


1922-1923 


J. F. Waddell 


H. H. Theisen 



AN EARLY ANTIGO SCHOOL REPORT— 1884. 

December 5, 1884, C. O. Marsh of the new Antigo 
High School reported as follows regarding school con- 
ditions. The report is given to show the change in 
the schools during the past thirty-eight years. 

HIGH SCHOOL DEPARTMENT. 

Number of pupils enrolled 31 

Average daily attendance 28 

Aggregate attendance 230 

Names of pupils neither absent or tardy: Agnes 
Donohue, Lucy Bliss, Viria Mellor, Emmo.n Badger, 
Carrie Censky, Kalie Donohue, Maggie Donohue, Wil- 
lie Dresser and Marion McDona'd. 

C. 0. MARSH, Principal. 

GRAMMAR DEPARTMENT. 

Number of pupils enrolled 24 

Average daily attendance 22 

Aggregate attendance 412 

Names of pupils neither absent or tardy: Mina Ba- 
con, Itola Baker, Tracie Censky, Elizabeth Flynn, 
Emma Heller, Anna Locks, Josie McKusker, Louisa 
Romeis and Mamie Sheriff. 

EMMA L. ATWOOD, Teacher. 

"B" GRAMMAR AND "A" INTERMEDIATE SIDE. 

Number of pupils enrolled 57 

Average daily attendance 49 

Aggregate attendance 931 

Names of pupils neither tardy nor absent: Willie 
Roake, Annie Jensen, Abbie Hoffman, Martin Marek, 
Lela Baker and George Beemer. 

INTERMEDIATE DEPARTMENT. 

Number of pupils enrolled 48 

Average daily attendance 38 

Aggregate attendance 761 

Names of pupils neither absent nor tardy: Eva Bow- 
man, Minnie Burdick, Burr McMartin, Clayton Nickel, 
Simmie Warren, Maggie Spencer, Lena Rusch, Ira 
Meaghers, Lily Fishback, Tressa Ball, Johnie Good- 
win, Charlie Klopper, Anna Smith, Millie Moody, Ada 
Gibbs and Lizzie Mader. 

LIZZIE McGILL, Teacher. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



43 



FIRST PRIMARY DEPARTMENT. 

Number enrolled 35 

Average daily attendance 28 

Aggregate attendance 535 

Names of pupils neither tardy nor absent: Eddie 
Long, Johnie Santners, Eddie Fishback, Wentzel Wan- 
ninger, Wentzel Cherf, Lillie Jensen, Evert Webley, 
Frances Sheriff. 

EMMA J. CRONE. Teacher. 

SECOND PRIMARY DEPARTMENT. 

Number enrolled 49 

Average daily attendance 43 

Aggregate attendance 819 

Names of pupils neither tardy nor absent: Ella 
Rosh, Amanda Zilkey, Tilly Hoffman, Lydia Rush, 
Nellie Anderson, Carrie Robinson, Anna Johnson, Kit- 
tie Sipes, Georgie Neff, Irvie Rice, Marion Spencer, 
Daniel Driscoll, Bertie Allen, Artie Nichol, Allek Mc- 
Martin, Georgie Zilkey, Artie Webb, Henry Berner and 
Maggie Ball. 

MRS. R. G. WEBB, Teacher. 

WEST SIDE SCHOOL. 

Number of pupils enrolled 58 

Average daily attendance 45 

Aggregate attendance 869 

Names of pupils neither tardy nor absent: Eddie 
Kelly, Ella Kelly, Frank Marek, Mat McCarthy, Jos- 
eph Tomany, Barbara Tomany, Lena Wood, Alice 
Mills, Barbara Fa Vortsky. 

BELLE McCUSKER, Teacher. 

SUMMARY. 

Whole number of days taught 19 

Whole number of pupils enrolled 302 

Average daily attendance 253 

Whole number neither tardy nor absent 79 

Among the names of the pupils are some of the now 
prominent citizens of Larglade County. 

TOTAL NUMBER HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES, 

From but one graduate in 1885 the Antigo High 
School has grown to be one of the best known of Wis- 
consin schools. It has turned out 1,147 graduates in 
the time from 1885-1922 inclusive. The largest class 
in the history of the school was the 1922 class. The 
class of 1921 ranks second. No better statistical index 
can be produced than this to prove the steady and con- 
tinued progress of a community. 

GRADUATES OF THE ANTIGO HIGH SCHOOL 
BY YEARS FROM 1885-1922 INCLUSIVE. 

In a work of this character it is difficult to compile 
that data which is essential and which posterity will 
find of value. January 6, 1916, the Antigo High 
School was destroyed by fire and with it all valuable 
records including the list of the high school graduates 
from 1885 to 1915. The writer has therefore with 
great difficulty gathered an accurate list of the high 
school graduates by classes, which is given herewith. 



CLASS OF 1885. 
Miss Agnes Donohue. First Antigo High School 
graduate. 

CLASS OF 1886. 

June 11. 

Sybil Cornish, Lucy W. Bliss, Mary A. Otto, George 

E. Porter, Emma R. Molzberger, Viria E. Mellor, 

Louis D. Chamberlain, Esther M. Springstead, Edith 

M. Logan.— Total 9. 

CLASS OF 1887. 
July 1. 
Marion McDonald, Clara Alton, Andrew McQueen, 
Russell Wheeler, lone Ross, Mary McQueen. — Total 6. 

CLASS OF 1888. 

June 15. 
Marion McDonald. 
The course was changed in 1888 to a four year term. 
Miss McDonald remained in High School after grad- 
uating in 1887 and "re-graduated." 

CLASS OF 1889. 
Louis Romeis, Itola Baker, Margaret Kavanaugh, 
Lizzie Caldwell, Willie Dresser. — Total 5. 

CLASS OF 1890. 
June 20. 
Kittie Donohue, William Kennerd and Anna Jen- 
sen. — Total 3. 

CLASS OF 1891. 
June 17. 
Michael Donohue, Harley C. Logan, Hulda Nue- 
man, Lydia Romeis, Mamie Sheriff. — Total 5. 

CLASS OF 1892. 
June 10. 
J. Joseph Flynn, John P. McHale, F. William Olden- 
burg. — Total 3. 

CLASS OF 1893. 
June 16. 
Blanche B. Friend, Anna B. Chicks, Margaret W. 
Hessel, James Kavanaugh. — Total 4. 

CLASS OF 1894. 
June 14. 
May Cornish, Pearl Drew, Mabel Hafner, Jessie 
Henshaw, Louise Henshaw, Theresa Sloan. — Total 6. 

CLASS OF 1895. 
June 5. 
Rosalind B. Hogben, Hattie B. Goessling, Mary E. 
Locks, Cora Mabel Palmiter. — Total 4. 

CLASS OF 1896. 
June 10. 
Mary J. Spencer, J. R. Williams, M. Vaughn Mc- 
Mullen, Roy K. Dorr, Amy R. Mason, Leslie M. Fow- 
ler, Lily A. White.— Total 7. 



44 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CLASS OF 1897. 
June 10. 
Alvin Sylvanus Chamberlain, James Lawrence Dono- 
hue, Daniel Patrick Driscoll, Theresa Katherine Dris- 
coll, Orlando H. Frick, Oliver Berr.ard Kohl, James 
Henry Hopkins, Emma Marion Kupps, Maud Abigail 
Latta, Richard John McMullen, Harriette Abbey Sax- 
ton, Marie Stengl, Clara Harrington Wooledge, Gaius 
Sibley Wooledge. — Total 14. 

CLASS OF 1898. 
June 10. 
Fred L. Berner, Myrtle Elsa Dawley, Frank T. Don- 
er, Eugene J. Donohue, Theresa Donohue, Fred C. Du- 
chac, Peter J. Dunn, R. Gertrude Hanks, Nellie A. 
Nelson, Arthur L. Strasser, Charles L. Willard, John 
B. Wooledge.— Total 12. 

CLASS OF 1899. 
Bessie Janes, Clara Kunst, Pearl Beattie, Payson 
Bridgman, Harry Dawley, Zura Fowler, Mabel Frick, 
John Friend, Myrtle Merrill, Ida Nelson, Caleb Ogden, 
May Robinson, Tillie Schuetz, Arthur Strong, Emma 
Strong, Daisy Bussum. — Total 16. 

CLASS OF 1900. 
June 14. 
Roxana May Baxter, Lizzie M. Besancon, Alice Julia 
Brandow, Louis W. Bridgman, Francis Frederick 
Brush, Hilda A. Carpenter, J. D. Webb Chamberlain, 
Erwin Couch Dawley, James P. Driscoll, Arna Eliza- 
beth Fischer, Jennie Vivian Goessling, Harriet Ann 
Hill, Everet D. Humphrey, Lottie Mae Sweeney, Pearl 
A. Williams.— Total 15. 

CLASS OF 1901. 

June 7. 
Edward Brush, Josephine Donohue, Ida Meaghers, 
Edward St. Clair, Emma Sipek, Lee Taylor, Ray 
Walch, Delbert Williard, Harry Wooledge.— Total 9. 

CLASS OF 1902. 
June 11. 
Anna Beard, Edith Beard, Irene Day, Alice Donohue, 
Winnifred Donohue, Frances Duchac, Ruth Dorr, Mary 
Flanagan, Blanche Frick, Euphemia Hill, Florence 
Hudson, Jennie Humphrey, Selma Kunst, Grace Lat- 
ta, Meda Lewins, Bessie Lewis, Amelia Matthias, 
Laura Millard, Verna Pardee, Theresa Reindl, Albina 
Sipek, Alice Smolk, Bernice Steffen, Claire Thursby, 
Eslie Webley, Otto Berner, John Cleary, Jesse Conway, 
Ernest Dawley, Irving Hull.— Total 30. 

CLASS OF 1903. 
June 11. 
Floy H. Allerton, Elsie Hirt, Clara A. Horn, A. 
Barbara Michaelson, Dagmar M. Nelson, Joseph Nei- 
genfind, John Novotny, M. Edith St. Clair, G. W. 
Stengl, Joseph Stengl, Louis E. Wahl, Winifred G. 
Watson, William E. Donohue. — Total 13. 



CLASS OF 1904. 
June 10. 
George D. Crowe, Grace J. Stewart, William F. Mey- 
ers, Burt L. Tradewell, Henry J. 01k, Arthur McCarey, 
Clara M. Kramer, Edith Trusdell, Pearl A. Dalton, 
Doris E. Baxter, Oscar H. Seaman, Anne E. Weix, 
Theodore J. Dunnewald, Adolph Shipek, Mary A. 
Brandt, Blanche M. Nelson, Joseph Shapiro, Harry G. 
Andrews, Alice E. Jensen. — Total 19. 

CLASS OF 1905. 
June 15. 
Agnes Marie Cleary, Marjorie Theresa Hall, Erma 
Edith Hessel, Myrtle Viletta Kellogg, Georgiana Wini- 
fred Latta, John Wallace Leykom, Roland Osborne 
Marsh, Ada Belle Morgan, Lyman Allen Steffen, 
Arthur Frank Trever, Ralph Edwin Krause, Ivah 
Jeanette Dobbs, Esther Louise Byerly, Pearl Harriet 
Nelson, Olin Albert Ladwig, Ida May Hudson, Wini- 
fred Emma Below, Fred Albert Novak, Clara Andrea 
La Mere.— Total 19. 

CLASS OF 1906. 

June 7. 
Laurinda Anna Albers, King Myron Bacon, William 
Dudley Burton, Harry Frank Humphrey, Mabel Flor- 
ence Jewell, Mary Celestia Ladwig, John Paul Rauen, 
Elizabeth Marie Day, Theresa Vera Bretl, Gertrude 
Mathilda Deierlein, Clara Alvina Brockhaus, Wesley 
Dolphus Goodwin, Lettie Edith Jamieson, Catherine 
Irene Kennedy, Annie Nora Kaven, Claudia Agnes 
McKinnon, Amable Medard Miller, Hope Angela Mul- 
loy, Edwin Eugene Palmer, Mary Catherine Riley, 
Ethel Irene Roberts, George Jule Schoblasky, Char- 
lotte Mary Tobey, Norman Irvy Tollefson, Nannie J. 
Congleton, Walter Peter Nelson, Lillian V. Nelson, 
Alfred C. Winters.— Total 28. 

CLASS OF 1907. 
June 6. 
John Albers, Julia Andrews, Hugh Campbell, James 
Charlton, Theodosia Goodwin, Eva Hoffman, Malinda 
HoUey, Faye Kingsbury, Earl Laughlin, Glenn Millard, 
Edith Rudolph, Neva Stewart, Violet Stout, Bessie 
Taylor, Veronica Weeks, Emma White, Wilbert Wil- 
son, William Hughes, William Andrews, Maud Aucutt, 
William Bard, Cyrus Beard, Mary Borth, Arbelle Bran- 
dow, Vesta Byerly, Emma Belsky, Harry Clements, 
Edward Fischer, Lucy Gilman, Cora Hungerford, 
Agnes Johnson, Av. Klever, Stephen Kozarek, 
Anna Mattek, Mary Moss, Emil Novak, Charles Novot- 
ny, J. N. Prokupek, George Raymond, Mary Schmitz, 
Joseph Schultz, Rose Singer, Harry Stasek, Joseph J. 
Tessar, Emily Johnson, Anton Schmutzer. — Total 46. 

CLASS OF 1908. 
June 4. 
Clara Ideal Waterman, Grace Helen Robinson, 
Martha Valeria Petrofsky, Walter A. F. York, Homer 
Curtis Beattie, Raymond Walter Cleary, Frances May 
Hessler, Le Roy George Hoffman, William George 
Krause, Jessica Catherine Madsen, Marshall John 



HlSTO!iY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



45 



Miller, Mary Anna Reindl, Kathryn Frances Wage, 
Mae Maggie Taylor, Neal Francis Crowe, George Jos- 
eph Miller, Joseph Victor Duchac, Elizabeth Mary 
Healy, Elizabeth Mary Knox, Archie Borg Lendved, 
Myrtle Isabel Maltby, Clarence C. Fenn, Harold Vin- 
cent 01k, Rudolph John Stengl, Otis Oliver Wheeler, 
George Washington Schmitz, Everette Kellogg Mor- 
gan, Madge F. Hoyt, Russell Carhart Hall, Ida Clair 
Schaefer, Paul Wilterding Dunnewald, Mabelle Elliott 
Henshaw, Anietta Ross, Thomas Buffum Kellogg, Elsa 
Herman Goebel. — Total 35. 

CLASS OF 1909. 
June 10. 
Le Roy Gordon Cunningham, Ruth Hazel Allerton, 
Arthur William Brandner, Eleanore Pauline Buchen, 
Irene Mary Byrne, Daniel Albert Dallman, Lillian May 
Dobbs, Vera Estelle Briggs, Jesse Theodore Drake, 
Elizabeth Mae Duchac, Eileen M. Duggan, Lulu Irene 
Garrett, John Daniel Gillis, Ethel Ellen Gillman, May 
Elizabeth Guenthner, Harry Helmuth Heidman, Har- 
riet Margaret Houck, Ida Mae Humble, Harry Frank 
Jewell, Beth Pearl Judson, Nellie Irene Kitt, Elmar 
August Kohl, Blanche Bessie Lewins, Kathryn Marie 
Valeria Loos, Nannie Loretta Maloney, Ella May Ran- 
dall, Winnie E. Lore, Clarence Alfred Mader, Hazel 
Mildred Reynolds, Earl Vilas Rudolph, Lillian Mar- 
guerite Sargent, Anna Marie Schroeder, Dorothy 
Louise Schultz, Kathleen Virginia Dana, Edna Made- 
leine Hoffman, Veda Sue Marsh, Arnold Burton Mil- 
lard, Gladys Clare Mills, Alice Marie Pardee, Dexter 
Culver Van Ostrand, Irvin Arnold White, Frank Joseph 
Pliska.— Total 42. 

CLASS OF 1910. 
June 9. 
Jessie E. Arentsen, Guy L. Aucutt, Edna Louise 
Beattie, Erna E. Below, Margaret E. Bonnell, Velma 
Julia Brooks, Lann Bryant, Gilbert W. Burnet, George 
A. Carley, Elizabeth B. Cleavland, Marie Antoinette 
Dana, Edith L. Daskam, Paul H. Dawley, Ruth Ethel 
Dobbs, Nellie E. Dresser, Walter H. Ebert, Emma Mae 
Fischer, William H. Fischer, Minnard F. Frederickson, 
Paul J. Glugla, Helene G. A. Hanson, Minnie A. Hel- 
bich. Alma Hoffman, Arthur A. Hoffman, Harriet 
Electa Holley, John F. Honzik, John A. Jacobus, Mary 
Edith Janes, Mary C. Keelan, Louis L. Koles, John L. 
Laughlin, Blanche Eleanora Leslie, Mable Louise Malt- 
by, Clara M. Meyer, Ella Rose Meyer, Paul Vilas Mil- 
lard, J. Harold Morris, Leona McDonald, Charles A. 
Norem, Gordon F. O'Connor, Clarence L. 01k, Leo 
Lyle Otis, Bernard P. Pliska, Anna C. Podlewski, Or- 
nie A. Preston, Maud E. Prosser, Gertrude Sparks, 
Frank C. Stewart, Mollie E. Stewart, Mary Laura Tay- 
lor, A. Mortimer Van Ostrand, William H. Wall, 
Florence Claire Waste, Amelia Kathryn Weix, Lena B. 
Wendorf, Helen C. Wierek, J. Herman Yentz, Blanche 
E. Zahl.— Total 58. 

CLASS OF 1911. 
June 8. 
Lee Briggs, June Barber, William Brown, Edmund 
Byerly, Katherine Byrne, Effie Chute, Shirley Camp- 



bell, Emmet Cleary, Ruth Clements, Emily Driggs, 
John Driscoll, Esther English, James Flannagan, Edna 
Frederickson, Nellie Fowler, Floyd Frink, Clarence 
Gray, Dora Heckman, Ralph Hudson, Eva Jewell, 
Julius Jordon, Martha Kaske, Carl Lee, William Lord, 
Victoria Madison, Kenneth Maxwell, Elwyn Nelson, 
Hazel Betters, James Prosser, John Pliska, Elizabeth 
Preston, Walter Rowlinson, Laura Relyea, George 
Reader, Nellie Rammer, Bessie Rockwood, Peter Sleet- 
er, Agnes Spychalla, Paul Stengl, Harry Shapiro, Edna 
Schultz, Wencel Stasek, Glynden Steffen, Bernice Ste- 
wart, Mary Strong, Marion Tosch, Ruben Tollefson, 
Mae Van Vleet, Lynn Weaver, Claire Wedeman. — 
Total 50. 

CLASS OF 1912. 
Margaret Mary English, Harvey Weaver, Eva Jane 
Church, Carroll Quinlan, Claire Alice Laughlin, Mayme 
Lombard, John Sipek, Helen Janaszak, Joseph Gold- 
berg, Harriette Elizabeth Streich, Hugh William 
Byrne, Anna Martin, Hermis Francis Dionne, Lyda 
May Leutsker, Robert Leslie, Irma Marie Wunderlich, 
Edward Shipek, Agnes Marie Bonnell, John Wright, 
Inez Sparks, Hazel Elizabeth Kelly, George A. Jicha, 
Alice Jane Doucette, William Michael Keelan, Mary 
McFadden, Dorothea Elizabeth Birdsell, Frank Jacob 
Koutnik, Ida Grosow, Earl W. Messinger, Hazel Mae 
Cunningham, Lloyd Chester Raymond, Mercy Adelyn 
Rockwood, Roy Vernon Gilmore, Mary Alice Healy, 
Arthur Edward Clegg, Earl Vincent McCarey, Anna 
Shapiro, Bemis Daskam, Jane Marie Crowley, Edward 
William Franzke, Frank W. Plzak, Minnie Caroline 
Kaska, Harold Boll, Mary Kloida, John Irving Wall, 
Sylvia Cornelia Anderson, Robert Wing Hemingway, 
Irene Gwendolyn McKenna, Harold John Rayworth, 
Madge Sisel, Stanislaus Stephen Jordon, Fred A. Kol- 
erus, Joseph Henry McClelland, Hiram Gustave Horn. 
—Total 54. 

CLASS OF 1913. 

June. 
Lillian Louise Libert, Martha Margaret Weix, Ed- 
ward Trippe, Fern Robinson, Fay Robinson, Theodore 
LeRoy Sloat, Margaret M. English, Phillip Hoffman, 
Georgia Burton, Carl 0. Duchac, Harland Andrew 
Marceau, Marguerite Allegra Eversz, George W. Gib- 
son, Eleanor E. Larzelere, Howard Wallace Jaekel, 
Edward J. Koudelka, Ruby Fehring, Anna Louise Hirt, 
Glendola M. Bryant, Walter Robert Voight, Lillian R. 
Censky, Edward C. Zellmer, Noble E. Guile, Robert 
C. Dewey, Julia Edeal Wade, Lloyd Eugene Fitzgerald, 
Myra M. Leslie, John Kakes, Mary Phoebe Campbell, 
Alice Alberta Farnham, Mary Loraine Holley, Frank 
Tweedie Lynde, Florian Agnes Sims, Irving Charles 
Green, Esther T. Wanninger, Kathleen Genevieve Dug- 
gan, James Ira Pentony, Louise Anna Maltby, Bert Er- 
rington Hale, Mary Belsky, Frank Duchac, Mable Ruth 
Evenson, Lloyd Stone Brooks, Leonore Lavoy, John 
Phillip Oxley, Alice Elizabeth Hull, Elmer Harry Frey, 
Stella Irene Hickey, George Benjamin Griffiths, Mar- 
tha Gertrude Pliska, Vira Marclette Briggs, Homer 
Walter White, Polina Antoinette Benishek, Joe W. 



46 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Gillis, Lola Dean Frink, Grace Gwendolyn Edee, Ella 
Harriet Wigderson. Harry John Kelly, Marie A. Ray- 
worth, Anna Novotny, Esther Judson. — Total 61. 

CLASS OF 1914. 

Gertrude Marcel Congleton, Katherine Kunegunda 
Bierzynski, Grace Rosalind Finucane, Lillian Griffiths, 
Daniel Francis Healy, Anna Rachel Hughes, William 
Henry Kohl, Margaret Florence Manthey, Joseph B. 
Feil, Esther Marie Raschke, Alexander Houck, Helen 
Annette Benishek, Ruth Anna Feller, Harold Sargent, 
Bertha Elma Hirt. Robert William Hughes, Florence 
Pauline Madsen, William McNamara, Jessica Rosalind 
Riley, Lawrence Sargent, Vernon J. Quigley, Mabel 
Christeen Beyer, Frank D. Winter, Clara May Hull, 
Donald White. Anita Eleanor Howard, Roy Messen- 
ger, Gratia May Moss, Alma Loretta Polar, Arthur 
Louis Bacon, Mayme Ziegelbauer, Harry Roy Green, 
Catherine Anna Crowley, Fred Benjamin Stacek, Mary 
Imogene Ralph, Erwin Henry Yentz, Mary E. Tomany, 
James Schultz, Mary A. Kalouner, John Anthony Spy- 
challa. Vera May Wunderlich, Elma Marguerite Bard- 
well.— Total 42. 

CLASS OF 1915. 

Doris Evelyn Allerton, Reney Olive Apker, George 
Gordon Bemis, Elmer James Boll, Blanche Gladys 
Briggs, Clara Edythe Censky, Mabel Luella Clark, 
Margaret Daskam, Margaret Blanche Donohue, Frank 
Joseph Dvorak, Clarence Michael Elliott, Louis Orland 
Evenson, Quirin George Ewen, Clement M. Flanagan, 
Rose Henryetta Friebel, Luella Marie Garrity, Archie 
Edward Gillis, Benjamin Goldberg, Evelyn Marquerite 
Gray, Raymond Scott Griffith, Helen Louise Hayner, 
Lewis Tillman Hayner, Irma Charlotte Hayssen, 
Gladys Marie Herman, Blanche Marie Jewell, Arthur 
Alexander Johnson, Alice Adele Jordon, John Alois 
Jordon, Horace Bauter Kellogg, Eugene Ogden Kiefer, 
Florence Marion Larzelere, Lois Juanita Leykom, Roy 
Delbert Lindsay. Sanford Fred Marsh, Margaret Cath- 
erine McMillan, Kathryn Mercedes Miller, M. Virginia 
Morrissey, Pearl Margaret Murphy, Regina Margaret 
Novotny, Helen Grace Paull, Valerie Althea Poshinski, 
Rusk Potter, James Ralph, Esther Katherine Rayworth, 
Irene Margaret Reader, Arthur James Romeis, Henry 
George Schroeder, Adolph Bernard Skibba, Margaret 
Lois Steffen, Ethel Margaret Tillotson, Marion Rose 
Ver Bryck, Lucille Gertrude Wigderson, Maitland Pape 
Williams, Margaret Marie Wright. Arthur Christian 
Zimmerman. — Total 55. 

CLASS OF 1916. 

Marion A. Duchac, Klara Lukas, Frank Wojtasiak, 
Bert Nixon, Hugh L. Lewis, Edward Winter, Elizabeth 
B. Benishek, Agnes Kevan, Eugene McKenna, Merton 
McNamara, Warren Williams. Anne Marion Burnet, 
Bernard Keelan, Vivian H. McCandless, Christina A. 
Koutnik, Nora Irene Wirig, Earl Frey, Ethel Beryl 
Gilmore, Francis Hurley, Nettie Follstad, Guy E. 
Janes, Blanche M. Martin, Earl Crowe, Ethel Helen 
Rezek. Elmer B. Arentsen, Margaret A. Quinlan, Harry 
E. Moss, Margaret Moss, Raymond Rutherford Clegg, 



Grace Wright, Reuben Kenneth Monroe, Agnes Stengl, 
Robert D. Millard, Marion Irene Hull, Raymond J. 
Wagner, Gertrude Berner, Bert M. Turney, Irene Dele- 
glise, Arthur Raymond Wall, Helen Patricia Crowley, 
Joe Loper, Estelle Bennington Bryant, Noble Ander- 
son, Louise Annette Kohl, Pearl A. Lindsay, Laurence 
Gaudette, E. Ilene Mustard, Herbert W. Frisch, Jane 
Elizabeth Weeks.— Total 49. 

CLASS OF 1917. 
Helen Apolena Belsky, Evelyn Blanche Boll, Mar- 
quette Seraphine Cleary, William Elmer Coddo, Cary 
C. Couch, Grace Marie CuUen, Gladys De Loye, Robert 
M. Dessureau, Ida Frances Feil, Irene Fierst, Annette 
Catherine Fitzgerald, Mary Frederick, James Cletus 
Garrity, Harriet Elizabeth Hammond, Marie Hecker, 
Alice Genevieve Helmbrecht, Rose Roberta Hermann, 
Gladys Marie Hopkins, Byron Willard Hunter, Vernon 
Lloyd Hunter, Rose Clare Kalouner, Flora May Kaske, 
James Koutnik, Howard Krueger, Raymond Carl Lang, 
Evelyn Eleanor Laughlin, Mabel Ethlyn Leslie, Ray- 
mond Loper, Emma Marcella Mattek, Harry Eugene 
Mills, Terrill Morson, Kenyon Moyer, Edward McDon- 
ald, Mayme Albert McArthur, Vernon James McHale, 
Mayme Virtue Novotny, Olga Olson, Emma Paiser, 
Harold Woodford Pond, Roy Herman Rezek, Marie 
Agnes Sheehan, Dora Agnes Sisel, Marian Caldwell 
Strong, Blanche Wilamine Teske, Mildred Alice Uhl, 
Ruth Mildred Wunderlich, Ralph John Yentz, Jessie 
Regina Young. — Total 48. 

CLASS OF 1918. 
Marion Kathryn Hudson, Lewis William Kruger, 
Kathryn Marion Kiefer, Orville Chester Green, Eva 
Lindsay, Marjorie Hecker, Frank J. O'Bester, Irene E. 
Dumas, Howard Warren, Orpha Babcock, Mildred 
Beatrice Viel, Earl E. Evenson, Mildred Pauline Potter, 
Paul James Kavanaugh, Marian Frances Jones, Eliza- 
beth Marquerite Folk, Edward Hallada, Minnie Luella 
Grassel, Edward William Mattek, Louise M. Buerger, 
Vivian Merie Apker, Dewey Johnson, Leona Hilla Van 
De Wall, Wiley Peter Koelzer, Lillian Sipek, Frances 
Marian Reznichek, Arthur Rynders, Edna Otelia 
Nagel, Earl E. Craine, Theresa Walsh, Frar.ces Cle- 
mantine Modi, Raymond Richard Kitt, Margaret Caro- 
line Mosher, William Morgan Knott, Agnes Prastil, 
Irma Leola Weeks. Charles A. Capek, Eileen Mc- 
Namara, Dennis Sylvester Donohue, Eloise Pauline 
Valentine, Marquerite Estelle Driscoll. Charles Leo 
Gardaphe, Agnes Ann Hickey, Frank Schwartz, 
Blanche Eleanore Bonnell, Clara Angell Larzelere, Vera 
Lorene Young. — Total 47. 

CLASS OF 1919. 
Alex Fierst, Verna Ploeger, Irene McCormick, Marie 
Mumme, Meyer Shapiro, Patricia Garrity, Charles 
Wall, Josephine Augustyne, Lawrence Guenthner, 
Dorothy Berner, Genevieve Riley, Robert Lynde, 
Goldie Madsen, Edwin Norem, Audrey Doner, Helen 
Hilton, Herman Boll, Margaret Rasmann, John Jicha, 
Mabel Schultz, May Nowotny, Dorothy Parsons, Ed- 
ward Belsky, Clara Poss, Leona Polar, Margaret 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



47 



Fehring, Earl Tobey, Marine Javorsky, Thomas Hum- 
ble, Laura Woodcock, Edward McClean, Mary Mc- 
Kenna, Dorothy Kiefer, Margaret Koudelka, Frank 
Suick, Julia Hoffman, Edmund Tink, Beatrice Ander- 
son, Leonard Mosher, Marjorie Reif, Audrey Doner, 
Sadie Lipman, Eldie Packard, Belva Higgins, Ger- 
trude Young, Ethelyn Martin, Floyd Michaelson, 
Loretta Lloyd, Earnest Fuszard, Lela Rynders, Chris- 
tine Townsend, Herbert Fischer, Margaret McNamara, 
Newton Jones, Edith Gardaphe, Helen Fessenden, Ted 
Duchac, Mary Wright, Harold Porter, Bessie Barrick, 
Lela Pleoger, Orville Olson, Bernice Howe, Ruth 
Wirig, Maymie Jachimsthal, Gaylord Barnes, Irma 
Vorass, Eugene Cleary, Sadie Stabe. — Total 69. 

CLASS OF 1920. 

Florence Howe, Agnes Swoboda, Erwin Goebel, 
Carolyn McCarthy, Gerald Donohue, Ruth Quinlan, 
Blanche Reising, Maurice Arveson, Lodema Kuhl, 
Elizabeth Knott, Pearl Arndt, Irwin Randall, Emma 
Joles, Henry Hess, Cora Sowers, Lyle Dalton, Erna 
Bruss, Gerald Hopkins, Alice Dessureau, Herbert 
O'Donnell Martha Rauen, Wallace Ryan, Genevieve 
Flanagan, Martha Leutsker, Alice Cavert, Josephine 
Perry, Harold Dixon, Elizabeth Moyer, Dorothy Ray, 
Clara Folstad, Merrit Jennings, Clara Weix, Wiley 
McGee, Macaslyn Hill, Margaret Callahan, Mildred 
Popkey, Theodore Krueger, Cecelia Wagner, Carolyn 
Petrofsky, Delphos Michaelson, Elsie Hoffman, Lu- 
cile Laughlin, Fred Rasman, Mildred Dessureau, Myr- 
tle Schufelt, Harry Merrill, Marie Blood, Vance Urness, 
Sadie Hoover, Helen McCarthy, Marres Wirig, Hilda 
Lukas, Erma Berner, Endre Norem, Kathryn Ford, 
Marie Wall, Richard Rynders, Claire Schoepke, Joe 
Antoniewez, Verna Brush, Edith Conachen, Joe Stein- 
fest, Etta Bishop, Harold Fuzzard, Thressa Fell, Liala 
Boldt, Linda Klessig, Frank Manthey, Alice Them, 
Gertrude Skibba, Alma Severson, Harold Maier, May 
Morrissey, Lyle Daskam, Clara Wagner, Ward Hickok, 
Regina Skibba, William Strong, Olga Petrofsky, Loret- 
ta Friedl, Fern Vandervest. — Total 8L 

CLASS OF 192L 

Lester Novotny, Doris Maxson, Ruth Stengel, Lil- 
lian McKinnon, Lorraine Hopkins, Frank Stasek, 
Earl Smith, Eva Rose, Frances Cleveland, Soly 
.Stamper, Marie Beyer, Earl Doersch, Henry Berner, 
Elva DeLoye, Mona Burns, Earl Hoiem, Lillian Kou- 
delka, Sylvia Buboltz, Walter Mumme, Cecil Ray- 
mond, Mildred Isberg, Fred Kelly, Luella Joles, 
Audrey Schoepke, Myer Lipman, Norma Hutchinson, 
Evren Bessey, Merrit Palmer, Lila Boll, Helen Ahler, 
June Craig, Cyril McKinnon, Laurette Friebel, Mar- 
ion White, Fred Schwartze, Gladys Olson, Inez Fowl- 
er, Erwin Wiegert, Catherine Frederickson, Esther 
Nowotny, Raymond Novotny, Linda Fuller, Margar- 
et Gillis, Merrit 01k, Arnold Neufeldt, Edna Stein- 
bach, Violet Huycke, Artemas Berner, Arthur Stro- 
schan, Winnifred Johnson, Catherine Johns, Donald 
McArthur, Norma Othersall, Lois Hammond, Charles 
Larzelere, Kathleen Wright, Margaret Collins, Fran- 
cis Finucane, Helen Hay, Marie Franzke, Will Lip- 



man, Hazel Driscoll, Edith Finnell, Endre Norem, 
Ralph Schroeder, Edris Driscoll, Shurbie Shannon, 
Fred Koelzer, LaFayette Thompson, Selma Neufeld, 
Raymond Mattka, Christian Heyl, Eleanor Javorsky, 
Justin McCarthy, Julius Guenthner, Verna Doucette, 
Cecelia Jordon, Ronald Moss, Frank Pawlak, Gladys 
Elliott, Jerome Riley, Laura Green, Gordon Schoblas- 
ka, Gerald Morrissey, Zenaida Fierst, Stuart Hayner. 
—Total 86. 

CLASS OF 1922. 

Janet E. Beattie, W. Helmet Gropp, Bernice Lucile 
Moscrip, Virginia B. Hathaway, Ted Dvorak, Alida 
Mary McGlone, Pearl A. Johnson, Clyde Lewis Teske, 
Ann Frisch, Walter Patzer, Catherine R. Callahan, 
Mildred L. Bessey, William Charles Morrison, Hilda 
Eleanor Buchen, La Verne Reynolds, Frank Russel, 
Irene Marie Salchert, Archie George Douglas, Ruth 
Elizabeth Olson, Agnes Lenzner, Peter Jackimstahl, 
Lillian M. Zangl, Hazel Mattka, Albert W. Spencer, 
Viola Margaret Helbick, Cyrus G. Reznichek, Mary 
Welnetz, Rose M. Schwingle, Jake Lipman, Adeline 
Jones, Eleanor M. McCarthy, William Peterson, Mar- 
ion Stewart, Elliot Arveson, Estelle Fuller, Evelyn 
Keen, Lynn H. Matthias, Beatrice Cherwinka, Wino- 
na Lenzner, Donald Richard Craine, Agnes June Pe- 
trofsky, Clarence Tikalsky, Martha Wolf, Verna Wei- 
gert, John F. Millard, Freda M. Wetzel, Harriet A. 
Utnehmer, Neal E. Baker, Inez L. Moss. Paul Demar- 
est, Helen Mauer, Ethel Jane Greenland, Harold Chap- 
man, Olive A. Kubiaczyk, Malinda M. Strehlow, 
August Mecikalski, Frances Hilton, Avery Hill, Mary 
Lorraine McCarthy, Angeline Jones, William Patrick 
Curran, Eleanor M. Mullen, Marcella Mildred Mettler, 
Leon Ervin Fisher, Mildred Novotny, Robert Fessen- 
den, Faye L. Marshall, Marion J. Kebble, John Bur- 
ney, Dorothy L. Merrill, John R. Prosser, Vivian 
Lovisa Loper, Gertrude Ginsberg, Edward Wolf, 
Helen F. Hallada, Amelia Jewell Echart, Idris Davis, 
Eleanor Louise Seidl, Marion E. Maloney, Philip E. 
Reif, Donna Marie Nelson, Milton Loper, Margaret 
Vorass, Florence M. Culbertson, Francis James Mc- 
Cormick, Beatrice Wella Murton, Margaret Reif, Le- 
land Hoke, Lois Wilma French, Elmer A. Donohue, 
Arlo McKinnon, Eugene Cody, Dorothy E. Schwartz- 
burg, Russell Cavert, Kenneth Moscrip. — Total 95. 

LANGLADE COUNTY NORMAL. 

The founding of the Langlade County Normal is 
due largely to the untiring efforts of A. M. Arveson, 
former County Superintendent of Schools, who, in 
the fall of 1905, succeeded in securing an appropria- 
tion for the establishment of the school. T. W. Hum- 
ble, Richard Koebke, and A. M. Arveson were the 
fi/st members appointed on the Langlade County 
Training School Board. The second floor of the An- 
tigo Public Library was remodeled and equipped for 
suitable class rooms. C. 0. Marsh, then City Super- 
intendent of the Antigo schools, was engaged as prin- 
cipal of the new school and Miss Maud Brewster 



48 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



(now Mrs. L. L. Gibbs) was engaged for Supervisor 
of Practice. 

The Langlade County Normal entered upon its first 
year of training rural teachers August 27, 1906, with 
an enrollment of about thirty-five students. The first 
class was graduated June 20, 1907. The school con- 
tinued under the leadership of its first faculty for 
six years until in 1911 Miss Brewster resigned to ac- 
cept a position at Stevens Point Normal. Miss Mattie 
McMillan was then selected Supervisor of Practice. 
A year later Mr. Marsh resigned to be succeeded by 
W. E. Switzer, who served efficiently for five years. 
In 1915, a third teacher, Miss Florence Marsh, was 
added to the faculty. Her successors have been Miss 
Matilda Horn and Miss Jessie Thorp, each holding 
the position of assistant for two years. W. E. Switz- 
er was followed by W. E. Smith, who resigned after 
two years of creditable service. He was succeeded 
by J. H. Lasher, the present principal. Under Mr. 
Lasher's administration the institution has maintain- 
ed its former high standard of excellence and has 
made itself an indispensible factor in county educa- 
tional and community advancement. 

In 1918 appropriations by the County Board made 
possible the establishment of a school dormitory and 
a model rural school, both of which have 
aided in increasing the efficiency of the 
school. Previously to that year all prac- 

tice teaching had been done in the city grades. Miss 
Beulah Kobler, who succeeded Miss McMillan as Su- 
pervisor of Practice, organized the Model School and 
also acted as first matron of the dormitory. 

The present faculty consists of J. H. Lasher, Prin- 
cipal; Pearl Blanding, Supervisor of Practice; Inez 
McGeaham, Assistant. The members of the present 
Training School Board are Leonard Freiburger, Sr., 
W. J. Mattek, and Miss Bertha Moss. The school to 
date has graduated 281 students, most of whom have 
taught in the rural schools of Langlade County or in 
the Antigo public schools. Eighty-six per cent of the 
one-room rural schools of this county are taught by 
graduates of the school at present. Many of the alum- 
ni have, since graduation, continued their profession- 
al training in other institutions so that they are now 
found in varied teaching positions. 

The alumni roll of the Langlade County Normal 
contains the names of County Superintendents, Rural 
School Supervisors, and High School Instructors as 
well as rural and city grade teachers. In addition to 
its work of training the rural teacher ,the school has 
developed its extension service which is making its 
influence for better schools felt in every rural com- 
munity. 

GRADUATES OF THE LANGLADE COUNTY 

NORMAL FROM 1907 TO CLASS OF 1922 

INCLUSIVE. 

CLASS OF 1907. 

Jessie Elnora Bottrel, Anna Elizabeth Brennan, 
Bessie Censky, Pearl Margaret Dalton, Pearl A. Davis, 
Edna Anna Day, Emma Margaret Elack, Alma Olive 



Ellison, Libbie J. Gillett, Lulu Ford, Mary Edith St. 
Claire.— Total 11. 

CLASS OF 1908. 
Daisy Bell, Katie Agnes Doucette, Flora Louise 
Goebel, Elsie Melissa Gillett, Agda Marie Johnson, 
Maud Johnson, Nellie Margaret Kevan, Ida M. Morn- 
son, Monico Sarah Riley, Anna Elizabeth Weix, Mary 
Cecelia Wurzer, Anna Emelina Yindra, Elizabeth E. 
Byrne.— Total 13. 

CLASS OF 1909. 
Kathryn Wege, Helen Sullivan, Lottie Stoker, Pearl 
Harriet Nelson, Annettie Ross, Edyth M. Sandner, 
Agnes Mary Schumitch, Katherine Elizabeth Steger, 
Susie Dailey, Ruth Katherine Ford, Matie Gibson, 
Ruby Marion Huggins, Anna Marie Kennedy, Pearl 
Ellen McNutt.— Total 14. 

CLASS OF 1910. 
Edith Blood, Agnes Kennedy, Anna Swanson, Stella 
Zaloudek, Theresa Smith, Clara Johnson, Eleanore 
Fellner, Minnie Brandow, Gertrude Wirth, Sophie 
Hovey, Lydia HoUsted, Florence Horton, Margaret 
Healy, Frances Hessler, May Guenthner, Anna Grant, 
Veda Marsh, Dorothy Borth.— Total 18. 

CLASS OF 1911. 
Nannie Maloney, Clara Monette, Amelia Weix, Eva 
Schultz, Anna Schroeder, Sadie Hoffman, Yarda 
Pearson, Zelma Preston, Agnes Walter, Jessie Mc- 
Gregor, Neta Ings, Hattie Wirth, Lulu Garrett, Lil- 
lian Steger, Margaret Byrne, Elizabeth Healy, Edna 
Brakemeyer. — Total 17. 

CLASS OF 1912. 
Edna Frederickson, Harriet Kohl, Verna Spencer, 
Zelma Sheldon, Anna Sailer, Nellie Rammer, Eva 
Jewell, Evelyn Ackerman, Anna Kobernat, Lena Wen- 
dorf, Agnes Crummey, Ruth Filiatreau, Sadie Walch, 
June Barber, Grace St. Louis, Inez Hall, Elsie Stro- 
schan, Jennie Lade, Edna Beattie. — Total 19. 

CLASS OF 1913. 
Bessie Regina Augustyn, Ruth Alberta Barker, 
Mildred Marie Blood, Agnes Mary Bonnell, Myrtle 
May Boothe, Margaret Ryan Deleglise, Irene Gwen- 
dolyn McKenna,' Mabel Ella Agnes Miller, Lola Reeve 
Mills, Vivian May Napier, Mayme Agnes Raymark, 
Daisy Louise Shanks, Laura May Way, Kathryn 
Hauenstein, Mary Kloida. — Total 15. 

CLASS OF 1914. 
Martha Weix, Kathleen Duggan, Julia Wade, Wil- 
helmine Riley, Blanche Leslie, Rosaline Marleau, 
Alma Stromberg, Mary Belsky, Hattie Congleton, 
Catherine Abler, Lily Winter, Olga Gram, Vita Young, 
Stella Hickey, Rose Stacek, Otelia Person, Alice Hull, 
Martha Pliska.— Total 18. 

CLASS OF 1915. 

Anna Cernoch, Genevieve Grignon, Maude Smith, 
Christina Folk, Laura Allen, Rozella Armstrong, Mary 
Tomany, Anna Cusick, Celia Shanks, Evelyn Janes. — 
Total 10. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



49 



CLASS OF 1916. 



Sophia Augustyn, Faye Brown, Margaret Daskam, 
Alvina Dvorak, Mabel Earlandson, Margaret Follstad, 
Helen Hayner, Hattie Horton, Ernestine Kopischka, 
Florence Larzelere, Katherine Miller, Margaret Mc- 
Millan, Gene McArthey, Regina Novotny, Virginia 
Pearce, Margaret Richter, Jessica Riley, Lila Standi- 
ford, Esther Wegner. — Total 19. 

CLASS OF 1917. 

Delila Weikel, Nettie Walker, Lillian Libert, 
Blanche Martin, Margaret Moss, Elfreida Bruss, 
Gladys Herman, Gladys Gardner, Louise Kohl, Norma 
Hess, Rose Freibel, Martha Wirth, Helen Crawley, 
Blanche Raymark, Ella Timm, Marion Duchac, Klara 
Lukas, Claire Censky, Helen Young, Nora Wirig, Hel- 
en Hittle, Ada Carlson, Sylvia Chadek, Jane Weeks, 
Ethel Gilmore.— Total 25. 



Sisel, lone Preston, Elizabeth Folk, Flossie Robinson. 
—Total 13. 



CLASS OF 1920. 
Clara Clark, Edith D. Gardaphe, Mayme E. Jack- 
imsthal. Marine C. Javorsky, Margaret Johnson, Doro- 
thy M. Kiefer, Anna J. Kauschinger, Claire A. Larze- 
lere, Irene A. McCormick, Golda Madsen, Ethelyn B. 
Martin, Mae T. Nowotny, Ruth F. Olmsted, Iva E. 
Pennings, Leona E. Polar, Marjorie Reif, Ethel N. 
Sanders, Eva M. Schultz, Mabel A. Schultz, Fannie 
W. Shannon, Irma L. Vorass, Alice 0. Warg. — Total 
22. 

CLASS OF 1921. 
Bernice Wood, Wymoga Lenzner, Marie Kelly, Edna 
Swanson, Blanche Bonnell, Liala Boldt, Genevieve 
Flanagan, Gerald Donohue, Kathryn Ford, Nancy Fry- 
er, Linda Klessig, Leona Kotchi, Lodema Kuhl, Lydia 




THK OLD A\TIGO HIGH SCHOOL. 

Erected in ISiiO. It was totally destroyed by fire Janiiar\' li, lUKj. 

J. E. Hoyt was the first City Superintendent to take 

charge at this building. 



CLASS OF 1918. 
Elna S. Augestad, Palma M. Cosgrove, Alive Gene- 
vieve Helmbrecht, Irene L. Hoyt, Dorothea R. Kru- 
ger, Armella M. Lindsay, Nellie M. McDougall, 
Delia M. Powers, Ursulla M. Puth, Ethel H. Rezek, 
Marie A. Robinson, Mae M. Schoepke, Edna D. Tay- 
lor, Bertha C. Wetzel, Hazel H. Wetzel, Clara Bertha 
Winter, Helen Apolena Belsky, Irene S. Schultz, Mar- 
ion C. Strong. — Total 19. 

CLASS OF 1919. 
Elfrieda Pautz, Stella Jacobus, Marion Hudson, 
Anna Klitz, Ruby T. Thorn, Vera Young, Margaret 
Feigley, Eleanore Greenland, Hattie Verch, Doris 



Lukas, Hilda Lukas, Carolyn McArthey, Helen Mc- 
Arthey, Josephine Perry, Delphos Michaelson, Myrtle 
Schufelt, Cora Sowers, Evelyn Stein, Clara Wagner, 
Alice Thern.— Total 24. 

CLASS OF 1922. 
Marie Blood, Celia Darling, Mildred A. Dessureau, 
Helen Dickman, Helen Elsholtz, Laurette Friebel, 
Linda Fuller, Margaret Gillis, Norma Hutchinson, 
Luella Joles, James Koutnik, Lillian McKinnon, Doro- 
thy Nequette, Esther Nowotny, Merna Peterson, Echo 
Robbins, Esther Salter, Audrey Schoepke, Gladys 
Schuh, Fred Schwartz, Shurbie Shannon, Sadie Stabe, 
Minnie Tolford, Francis Wilmot. — Total 24. 



50 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XII. 
Industries, 1873-1923. 

Thomas Dobbs Saw Mill — John Evans Saw Mill — Novotny Brothers — Clithero, Putnam & 
Strong, 1883— Herman, Becklinger & Herman— Weed Mill— T. D. Kellogg — Antigo Hub & 
Mfg. Co. — Hoop & Stave Co. — Antigo Lbr. Co. of 1883 — Pioneer Iron Works — Badger Hub 
Factory — Clancy Factory — Goodwin's Broom Factory — Hoxie & Mellor — Excelsior Factory — 
Canning Company — Building Supply — Wis. Handle & Mfg. Co. — River Improvement Co. — 
Screen Door Co. — English Mfg. Co. — Antigo and City Gas Cos. — Antigo Mfg. Co. — Wunderlich 
and Krause Lumber Cos. — Faust Lbr. Co. — Antigo Lbr. Co. — Mattefs Bros. — Frost Veneer — 
Tractor Corporation — Fish Lumber Company — Langlade Lbr. Co. — Hirt Bros. — Kingsbury & 
Henshaw — Henshaw-Worden Lumber Co. — V. Wolf — Lincoln Box Co. 



One of the most interesting phases of the develop- 
ment of the county has been the rise and expansion of 
industries that flourished and then for various reasons 
halted operations and passed into oblivion. The cause 
for these changes in the industrial life of a communi- 
ty opens up a philosophy of history producing a wide 
and interesting field. 

The first industry established in the county was the 
old portable saw mill of Thomas M. Dobbs, a Pennsyl- 
vanian, who came into the county in 1873. Dobbs be- 
gan to clear out a space in the wilderness for his home 



lage; it gave the settlers a market for their timber, 
provided employment and supplied the growing de- 
mand for lumber. Mr. Deleglise gave the Novotny 
Brothers the right to erect a dam with a seven foot 
head and overflow any of his lands for a pond. In 
April, 1883, the legislature passed a law authorizing 
Joseph and Louis Novotny to construct a dam across 
Springbrook on the west i 2 of the northeast and the 
east ^2 of the northwest I4 of section 29, township 31, 
range 11 east. The two brothers erected a grist mill 
also. The saw mill averaged 30,000 feet per day. 




HOW LOfiS WERE OXCE HAULED TO .-WTIGO NULLS. 
Contrast the aliove "Caterpillar" tractor method of hauling logs, once used 



hv the T. D. 



Kellogg Lumber and Manufacturing Company, 
pioneer method shown on page 31. 



with the 



immediately after his arrival. His mill was on sec- 
tion 30, township 31, range 15 east. He stayed there 
but a short time when he moved to the junction point 
of the Lily and Wolf rivers, known since as the Lily. 

The second saw mill in the county was probably 
owned by John Evans, who first operated on the Ever- 
green River south of White Lake about 1879. 

FIRST ANTIGO SAW MILL. 

Louis and Joseph Novotny came to Antigo in De- 
cember, 1878, from Manitowoc, consulted with Hon. 
F. A. Deleglise and agreed to erect a saw mill in the 
village. They moved their equipment from Wausau 
in 1879 and erected "Novotny's Mill" on the site of the 
Faust mill of today. Louis Novotny erected Antigo's 
first frame building. 

The Novotny mill was an asset to the embryo vil- 



THE WEED MILL. 

In January, 1882, A. Weed of Oshkosh erected a 
large saw and planing mill one mile south of the Vil- 
lage of Antigo. This mill had a capacity of 75.000 
feet per eleven hour day. Approximately 20,000 feet 
of lumber was cut into shingles by the shingle mill. 
Booming facilities were provided by backing up 
Springbrook with a 37 rod long dam providing ample 
storage for ten million feet of logs. One hundred 
persons were employed on an average by Weed's mill, 
which operated until 1899, when it was destroyed by 
fire. When, in 1885, the city was incorporated the 
Weed mill property was excluded because of high 
taxes. A store and boarding house was operated in 
connection with the mill. F. J. Hopkins was in charge 
of this for many years. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



51 



HERMAN, BECKLINGER & HERMAN. 

In 1881 Fred and Julius Herman came to Antigo 
from Milwaukee and erected a saw mill on the site of 
the Crocker Chair Company plant. The mill operated 
until March 22, 1883, when it was destroyed by fire. 
The Herman Brothers rebuilt. They also opened a fur- 
niture factory, June 23, 1882. The firm was then known 
as Herman, Becklinger & Herman. A 60 horse power 
engine drove the mill machinery. The plant was sold 
to the Crocker Chair Company, December 9, 1890. 
The new owners rebuilt and reconstructed 
the plant, which they still operate. They manufacture 
chair parts. 

T. D. KELLOGG BUYS OUT NOVOTNY BROS. 

In March, 1883, T. D. Kellogg moved to Antigo from 
New (Lily), where he had operated a saw mill. He 
purchased Novotny Brothers saw mill, grist mill, pow- 
er dam and 14 acres of land in 1885. The mill burned 
down in 1886, but was rebuilt. Mr. Kellogg then 
took D. D. Kellogg (not a relative) of Green Bay into 
partnership, operating as Kellogg & Kellogg. In 1889, 
D. D. Kellogg sold his interest to T. D. Kellogg and 
two years later, 1891, the T. D. Kellogg Lumber & 
Manufacturing Company was organized. The saw 
mill was sold in 1905 to J. H. Worden. For a time 
the T. D. Kellogg Lumber & Manufacturing Company 
operated three mills — Polar mill, Antigo Hoop & Stavs 
mill and the T. D. Kellogg mill. 

ANTIGO HUB & MFG. CO. 

The Antigo Hub & Mfg. Company was organized 
September 19, 1892, by Henry J. Frick, W. Morgan and 
A. Wiltderding. A plant was erected and operated 
with fair success for a while but finally failed. The 
property was taken over by the First National Bank. 
H. B. Kellogg was selected to operate it for the bank 
in 1901 and did so until April 18, 1903, when it was re- 
organized as the Antigo Hoop & Stave Company of 
which H. B. Kellogg was the principal owner. The in- 
dustry was sold April 1, 1919 to Henshaw-Worden 
Lumber Company, who used the yard, but wrecked the 
machinery. 

ANTIGO LUMBER COMPANY OF 1883. 

The first "Antigo Lumber Company" was organized 
in November, 1883, by E. R. Van Buran, Antigo man, 
and Chicago associates. The company did a broker- 
age business and had an office located where the Lang- 
lade County Normal dormitory is now located. Five 
years later it disbanded, Mr. Van Buran leaving for 
Chicago. 

PIONEER IRON WORKS. 

The Pioneer Iron Works was organized January 1, 
1884, by W. B. Johns, who came here from Brillion, 
Calumet County, Wisconsin. He erected the plant at 
4th Avenue and Dorr Street. He formed a partner- 



ship with J. Kerling of Manitowoc. Kerling soon 
sold his rights back to Mr. Johns, who took D. D. Kel- 
logg into partnership with him. The Pioneer Iron 
Works flourished in its early history. For a long 
time W. B. Johns operated it alone, he being followed 
by W. S. Morgan. 

BADGER HUB FACTORY. 

W. D. Badger came to Antigo from Fort Atkinson, 
Wisconsin and on December 7, 1883, erected a hub 
factory in the northern part of the Village of Antigo, 
across from the C. & N. W. Round House location. 
The frame timbers used in the excelsior factory of C. 
B. McDonald & Co., was the first product of the hub 
factory. Mr. Badger operated the mill but a short 
time when Louis Buckman became his partner. He 
was from Green Bay. The mill burned in 1886 and 
Mr. Badger went three miles north to "Shadeks" sid- 
ing, Antigo township, and erected a mill. 

CLANCY BUILDING FACTORY. 

From 1883 to 1889, E. Clancy, a well known con- 
tractor of Antigo, ran a building factory north of the 
Pioneer Iron Works. It was an auxiliary to his con- 
tract business. 

CITY PLANING MILL. 

Fred Herman of the Herman, Becklinger & Herman 
firm, erected a planing mill in Antigo in 1881. It 
was located in block 64, across from the Antigo Public 
Library grounds. It operated until about 1889. 

R. M. GOODWIN BROOM HANDLE FACTORY. 

The R. M. Goodwin Company of Union Pier, Michi- 
gan erected a broom handle factory in Antigo in 
August, 1885. They operated until 1893, when the 
plant was sold to W. H. Pardee and others. John 
T. Thursby was the manager of the plant. 8,000 
handles were turned out daily. It burned down in 
1895. 

J. C. HOXIE & E. N. MELLOR. 

J. C. Hoxie and E. N. Mellor, known over the middle 
west, did a volume of lumber business in the county 
until their failure in 1890. They had all their logs 
cut in Langlade County mills, not operating mills of 
their own. They leased the Weed Mill for a while, 
however, and ran a building material mill of their own 
south of Clithero & Strong's mill, across from the pres- 
ent Antigo Canning Company. Mr. Mellor shot him- 
self in the Vivian Hotel, December 22, 1892, the morn- 
ing he was to appear at a "three cornered deal" hear- 
ing in the bankruptcy proceedings at Oshkosh. Mellor 
was once Vice-President of the Wisconsin Valley Lum- 
berman's Association. The Hoxie & Mellor failure 
involved millions of dollars and was given first page 
publicity in metropolitan newspapers. 



52 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



EXCELSIOR FACTORY. 

C. B. McDonald and George T. Ratcliffe opened an 
excelsior factory providing a market for basswood pro- 
ducts, December, 1883. In the spring of 1885, the 
original owners sold to Rassmussen & Co. Rassmus- 
sen was influenced to come to Antigo by Niels Ander- 
son. The plant, located across from the Henshaw 
Lumber Company office, on Sixth Avenue, was clos- 
ed in August, 1885, as a result of litigation. Niels 
Anderson then took it over and operated it for a while 
later. In 1907 the property was remodeled into a 
planing mill. Those who were interested in the busi- 
ness were John P. Nelson, P. F. Kelly, John A. Ogden 
and J. J. Laughlin. The mill burned. 

CLITHERO & STRONG-PUTNAM-BANGS. 

George Clithero and L. K. Strong, pioneers, formed 
the Clithero & Strong patrnership in 1885. They 
operated a planing mill on south Morse street across 
from the site of the Antigo Canning Co. The mill 
operated until 1887 when it burned. Mr. Clithero 
went to Hurley and Mr. Strong entered the real estate 
business in Antigo. George Clithero first had E. R. 
Putnam as a partner in 1883. Putnam and he ran a 
sash door factory on south Morse street from Novem- 
ber 1883, until 1885. In September 1884, N. Bangs 
became associated with the two and the concern was 
then known as the Antigo Planing Mill Co. 

In 1885, Hans Anderson, a Dane, opened a machine 
shop in Antigo. It was a small industry. 

WISCONSIN HANDLE & MFG. CO. 

The Wisconsin Handle & Mfg. Company was organ- 
ized September 5, 1893. by W. H. Pardee, E. P. Bridge- 
man and Charles Kellogg. The Company took over 
the R. M. Goodwin Broom Handle Factory. It ope- 
rated until 1895. 

IMPROVEMENT COMPANIES. 

The River Improvement Company organized Febru- 
ary 26, 1894, by A. C. Campbell, A. M. Lanning and 
G. W. Hogben and the Big Eau Claire River Improve- 
ment Company organized by J. D. Ross, W. H. Bissell, 
and J. S. Clements, were both organized to improve 
the Big Eau Claire River, the first, the west branch, 
and the last named concern, the river course in Lincoln 
and Langlade counties "adjacent to timber territory." 

ANTIGO SCREEN DOOR COMPANY. 

The Antigo Screen Door Company was organized by 
G. W. Hogben, H. C. Humphrey and A. M. Lanning, 
June 25, 1897. The concern went bankrupt after ope- 
rating a few years on the site of the English Mfg. Co. 

ANTIGO MINING AND OIL CONCERNS. 

In an early day many prominent Antigo men were in- 
terested in mining companies such as: The Phoenix 
Mining Co., organized December 27, 1886; The Iron 



Vein Mining Company, organized February 10, 1887; 
The Antigo Mining Company, organized about then 
also. Leaders were Nick Bangs, M. ToUefson, War- 
ren and George Hill, W. W. Warner, Pat Day, H. A. 
Kohl, R. J. Leutsker, P. J. Koelzer, M. M. Ross and J. 
E. Mullowney. 

In 1921-22 a number of Antigo people, more parti- 
cularly John Brown, Jr., John Hanousek, W. B. Mc- 
Arthur, C. J. Courtney, Harry Meyers and others be- 
came interested in an oil well at Roundup, Montana, 
called the Devils Dome Oil concern. 

ANTIGO CANNING CO. 

The Antigo Canning Company was organized Octo- 
ber 12, 1907, by PI. C. Head, R. B. Johns and Sarah 
A. Head. The company operates extensively each 
year, its products being sold everywhere. A tremen- 
dous volume of vegetable products are canned at their 
factory south of the city and just west of the C. & N. 
W. tracks. 

ANTIGO BUILDING SUPPLY CO. 

The Antigo Building Supply Company organized 
October 28, 1902, with the following officers : Presi- 
dent — Robert Miller; Vice-President — Herman Behn; 
Manager — G. A. Hirsch; Secretary-Treasurer — W. A. 
Maertz. Present officers are : President — Robert 
Miller, Clintonville; Vice-President — Henry Leppla, 
Brillion, Wis.; Secretary-Treasurer — C. O. Miller, 
Antigo; Manager — T. A. Brenner. Offices and factory 
are at 817 Fulton Street. 

INTERNATIONAL HOIST CO. 

The International Hoist Company was originally the 
result of the activities of C. F. Dallman, Joseph Wirig 
and Leonard Frieburger, who on November 12, 1910, 
filed articles of organization for the concern. The in- 
dustry was created to manufacture hoists designed by 
Mr. Dallman. A plant was erected on north Minola 
Street, Antigo. For years the industry was operated 
by the Beavers Reserve Fund Fraternity, Dr. J. C. 
Wright, and Mayer Brothers of Mankato, Minn., when 
it was sold to the Murray-Mylrea Machine Company. 
In 1919 the buildings were sold to the Antigo Tractor 
Corporation. 

ENGLISH MANUFACTURING CO. 

The English Manufacturing Co., with factories and 
offices at 805 Hudson Street, was organized October 
28, 1907. The company deals in pails, ice cream 
freezers, packing tubs, staves, heading timber, etc. 
John English is head of the institution. 

ANTIGO GAS CO.— CITY GAS CO. 

The Antigo Gas Company was organized February 
10, 1910 by J. C. Spencer and R. Koebke. The indus- 
try went through reverses and a period or re-organiza- 
tion and litigation until March 12, 1914, when the City 
Gas Company was organized. June 1, 1919, C. O. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



53 



Somdahl took active control of the plant, stock of 
which is now owned by six individuals. Extensive 
improvements and many new patrons has resulted. 
Offices are in the Masonic Temple building. The 
plant is located on south Clermont street, between 9th 
and 10th avenues. 

ANTIGO MFG. CO. 

The Antigo Mfg. Co. was organized in Nov., 1891, 
by Messrs. H. A. Babcock, John Holley, G. H. Maxwell 
and G. K. Meneely. The plant located on 10th Ave- 
nue burned October 31, 1893. It was rebuilt and still 
operates. Excepting H. A. Babcock, the original 
owners still control the industry. 

WUNDERLICH-KRAUSE-EDGAR & MARTIN- 
DAWLEY NORTHERN YARDS, INC. 

The Wunderlich Lbr. & Mfg. Co. was organized in 
1905 by Chris. Wunderlich, who was associated with 
his brother, George Wunderlich. A mill erected on 
south Clermont street was destroyed by a boiler explo- 
sion, February 24, 1905. May 10, 1918, George Wun- 
derlich, C. H. Krause and R. E. Krause organized the 
C. H. Krause Lumber Co., which operated until the 
concern went into bankruptcy. The property was 
purchased by George Wunderlich from the bankruptcy 
referee and then sold to Edgar & Martin, who operated 
until 1922. Dawley-Northern Yards, Inc., of Wausau, 
Wis., then purchased the planing mill and property and 
still own it. H. F. Harmon is local manager. 

WOLF RIVER LUMBER COMPANY. 

The Wolf River Lumber Company, organized March 
18, 1912, by J. H. Worden, President, has offices on 
Superior street, Antigo. Its operations in lumber, 
white and Norway pine, hemlock and hardwood pro- 
ducts, logs and pulp wood, are extensive. 

WISCONSIN BARK & LBR. CO. 

The Wisconsin Bark & Lbr. Co. took over the saw 
and planing mill property of the T. D. Kellogg Lumber 
& Mfg. Co., in 1905, after the mill had been sold to J. 
H. Worden. 

Principal owners were J. H. Worden, and Edward 
Faust. Until 1909 the industry operated as that con- 
cern and then re-organized as 

THE ANTIGO LUMBER COMPANY. 

We have heard of the Antigo Lumber Company of 
1883. Twenty-six years later another Antigo Lumber 
Company, which operated from 1909 until 1912, came 
into existence. The concern went bankrupt in 1912 
and J. H. Worden, Caspar Faust of Oshkosh, Charles 
Malug of Marion, Wis., and J. B. Lesch of Chicago, 
took over the property. The new concern became 

THE FAUST LUMBER COMPANY. 

The Faust Lumber Company operates a saw and 
planing mill in Antigo. The annual cut of lumber 



is about six million feet. Principal owners are: J. 
H. Worden, L. P. Tradewell, J. B. Lesch, John Hessel 
and Caspar Faust. 

MATTEFS BROTHERS COMPANY. 

Mattefs Brothers Company was organized February 
7, 1917, and is the successor of the Mattefs Construc- 
tion Co., organized in 1904. Principal owners are Gust 
and August Mattefs. The company operates a plan- 
ing, building supply and interior finish mill, lot 13, 
Lincoln street. It engages extensively in contract 
building. A new mill is being erected. 

FROST VENEER SEATING COMPANY. 

The Frost Veneer Seating Company was one of the 
early industries to locate in Langlade County, coming 
first to Elmhurst and then at Elcho, from where in 1890 
they moved to Antigo. A plant was erected on the 
north end of Novotny's (Kellogg's) pond where 40 
men are employed on an average. The Antigo mill 
devotes itself exclusively to cutting and drying veneer. 
Chris. Janes, Superintendent, was appointed May 1, 
1921. Main offices are at 50 Union Square, New York 
City. 

THE ANTIGO TRACTOR CORPORATION. 

The Antigo Tractor Corporation was organized Janu- 
ary 13, 1921, by a group of citizens, chiefly of Lang- 
lade County. Capital stock is $1,000,000. The cor- 
poration is the outgrowth of the original Antigo 
Tractor Company, organized with a capital stock of 
$100,000, June 12, 1919. The corporation engages in 
the manufacture and distribution of the Quad-Pull 
Tractor, principal of which was designed by D. S. 
Stewart, Antigo man. Factory and offices are located 
on north Minola street, Antigo. The plant was pur- 
chased in 1919. Officers of the Antigo Tractor Cor- 
poration are: President — John Manser; 1st Vice-Pres- 
ident—Ernest Hirt; 2nd Vice-President— J. R. McQuil- 
lan; Secretary — Dr. E. R. Murphy; Treasurer — Ernest 
Hirt. Board of Directors consist of the officers and 
W. H. Wolpert, George Foster of Wausau, John Han- 
ousek, Charles W. Fish, Morris Robinson and R. C. 
Dempsey. 

THE CHAS. W. FISH LUMBER COMPANY. 

The Charles W. Pish Lumber Company, main office 
at Elcho, cut their first log at the Antigo mill. No. 3, 
July 11, 1917. The plant was started May 1, 1917, 
after a popular campaign was made to induce Mr. Fish 
to build in Antigo. The institution employs 100 men 
the year around. The cut averages 12 million feet an- 
nually. Offices and plant are located in the northern 
part of the city. M. H. Keenan is the foreman. The 
Chas. W. Fish Lumber Company has five mills, two 
of which are in Langlade County. 



54 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



THE LANGLADE LUMBER COMPANY. 

The Langlade Lumber Company was organized Jan- 
uary 2, 1916, and on April 1, 1916, ground was broken 
for the erection of their saw mill on Clermont Heights, 
Antigo. The first log was cut December 20, 1916. 
The modern planing mill, started May 1, 1917, was 
completed in August the same year. 

The Langlade Lumber Company purchased the tim- 
ber holdings of the defunct Paine Lumber Company of 
Oshkosh. The company operated five camps and had 
fifteen jobers logging in the 1922 season. All of 
their timber west of the C. & N. W. right-of-way in 
Upham township has been cut. The store and camps 
of Bass Lake and Pearson are discussed in Upham 
and Ainsworth townships. 

Officers of the Langlade Lumber Company are: L. 
K. Baker, Chicago, President; George E. Foster, Wau- 
sau, 1st Vice-President; Frank Boutin, Minneapolis, 
2nd Vice-President; J. R. McQuillan, General Manager 
and Secretary; H. L. Fitze, Assistant Secretary; A. 
R. Owen, Owen, Wis., Treasurer; Fred H. Shaw, Super- 
intendent and L. A. Maier, Land Department Manager. 
Offices are at 1625 Clermont Street. 

The Company employs 130 men annually on an 
average and has a cut of approximately 20 million feet 
of lumber. Much of the product is sent direct from 
the camps to the paper industries in the Fox River 
Valley. 

HIRT BROTHERS MILLING CO. 

The Hirt Brothers Milling Company opened their 
Antigo mill on 9th Avenue, December 15, 1917. The 
company is engaged in the manufacture of wheat, rye 
and buckwheat flour, grind feed for farmers and con- 
duct a wholesale and retail business in flour, feed, hay 
and grain. Officers of Hirt Brothers Milling 
Company are: President — Ernest Hirt; Vice- 

President — L. L. Gibbs; Secretary-Treasurer — Miss 
Elsie Hirt. 

The average daily production of flour on a 24-hour 
run basis is 150 barrels. 

KINGSBURY & HENSHAW LUMBER CO. 

The Kingsbury & Henshaw Lumber Company was 
organized in 1892 by C. E. Henshaw and J. J. Kings- 
bury. They erected a saw mill on Field street, Antigo. 
The business flourished until the death of J. J. Kings- 
bury, August 2, 1917. The concern re-organized with 
C. E. Henshaw and J. H. Worden associated in the 



HENSHAW-WORDEN LUMBER CO. 

The Henshaw-Worden Lumber Company was organ- 
ized December 4, 1917, with a capital stock of 
$100,000. January 12, 1922, the firm name was chang- 
ed to Henshaw Lumber Company. C. J. Te Selle is 
secretary and manager of the concern, which has 
offices on Field street and 6th avenue. 

V. WOLF MILLWORK CO. 

The Vincent Wolf Millwork Co. was opened in May, 
1914, at 628 Sixth Avenue. The concern deals in 
building material, interior and exterior finishing, sash 
doors, etc. 

LINCOLN BOX COMPANY. 

The Lincoln Box Company of Merrill, Lincoln Coun- 
ty, opened a factory in Antigo on Hudson street recent- 

ly. 

THE LANGLADE LAUNDRY CO. 

The present Langlade Laundry Company was form- 
ed by C. E. Home and O. R. Frisby, who in the fall of 
1916 purchased the plant from F. A. Hecker, when it 
was then located on Fifth Avenue in the Neff-Roberts 
flat. In the spring of 1919, the business was sold to 
William A. Lange and Ed. Stoddard, Wausau, Wis- 
consin, men. A half year later E. C. Stoddard sold 
his interest to C. E. Home and since that time the 
business has been owned and operated by the Lang- 
lade Laundry Company, of which Wm. A. Lange and 
C. E. Home are proprietors. The business continued 
in Neff-Roberts building until the spring of 1921, when 
because of increased business, and need of larger quar- 
ters, a modern two story brick structure was erected, 
which houses a laundry and dry cleaning and dyeing 
establishment. The proprietors added new machinery 
and equipment, a soft water installation, with a capaci- 
ty of 12,000 gallons a day, water being pumped from 
a deep well in the plant. The plant employs four 
male and twelve female employes. 

The Langlade Laundry plant is a model institution. 
By a special ventilating system the air in the entire 
plant is changed every seven minutes. Windows on 
both sides of the plant make ideal working conditions. 
It is safe to infer that the plant is the most modern one 
of Northern Wisconsin. The laundry work is of ex- 
ceptional high grade and is under the efficient super- 
vision of C. E. Home. Mr. Lange, associate of Mr. 
Home's, has personal charge of the dyeing and clean- 
ing department. The laundry has added rug cleaning 
to its field and with this new venture they are meet- 
ing with success. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



55 



CHAPTER XIII. 
Banks and Finances, Langlade County 

Early Bank Charters — First Banking Law — National Bank Act — First Langlade County Bank — The 
Bank of Antigo — Langlade National Bank — The First National Bank — The Fidelity Savings Bank 
— Elcho, Neva, White Lake and Phlox Banks — Comparison 1881-1922. 



The Territorial Legislature of Michigan granted a 
charter to the Bank of Wisconsin at Green Bay in 1834. 
(Before Wisconsin was detached from Michigan Ter- 
ritory.) This bank was in existence until 1838, when 
upon demand it was liquidated. 

Bank charters were granted to the Miner's Bank of 
Dubuque, la., then in Wisconsin Territory, the Bank of 
Milwaukee and the Bank of Mineral Point at the Wis- 
consin Territory Legislature's first session. 

Louis Grignon, Green Bay, kin of Charles De Lang- 
lade, possessed the first bank bills in Wisconsin. No 
doubt, they were for service with the British in the 
War of 1812. 

The first general banking law in Wisconsin was 
adopted in 1852 and has since been frequently amend- 
ed. All changes are made by the legislature with- 
out submission to the electorate. 

The National system of banking was organized by 
law in 1863. The first monetary system was estab- 
lished in the United States by an act of Congress on 
April 2, 1792. First coinage began at the government 
mint at Philadelphia. The single gold standard, as a 
unit of value, was adopted in 1873. State and Na- 
tional banks are required to keep on hand a certain 
per cent of their deposits to meet all ordinary drafts 
and such special emergencies as may arise. 

LANGLADE COUNTY'S FIRST BANK. 

The first bank in Langlade County was organized as 
a private institution in 1881 by L. D. Moses, pioneer 
Antigo merchant. This bank was located just east of 
what is now A. A. Lueck's Drug Store. It was called 
The Langlade County Bank. L. D. Moses was presi- 
dent and Irvin Gray, later an employee of the First 
National Bank, was cashier. 

The deposits never exceeded six thousand dollars 
and the bank possessed no capital stock. 

H. C. Humphrey of Sheboygan Falls and F. W. 
Humphrey of Shawano purchased the bank from its 
original owners in 1883 and continued it under the same 
name and as a private institution. 

In February, 1888, the Langlade County Bank was 
re-organized with a capital stock of $30,000. C. S. 
Leykom was chosen President, Louis Mendlik, Vice- 
President and H. C. Humphrey, Cashier. Few changes 
took place until its re-organization as a National Bank 
in August, 1901, when it was changed to The Lang- 
lade National Bank. 

THE LANGLADE NATIONAL BANK. 

The capital stock of the Langlade County Bank was 
increased $20,000 to $50,000 when it was made a Na- 



tional Bank. J. F. Albers was chosen president and 
H. C. Humphrey as cashier. In January, 1902, H. C. 
Humphrey resigned and 0. P. Walch was elected 
cashier. Mr. Walch had entered the employ of the 
Langlade County Bank when he was a lad of fifteen 
in 1889 and grew with the institution. In 1918, Mr. 
Walch was forced to retire from the cashiership, be- 
cause of ill health. He was chosen second Vice-Pres- 
ident. Upon the death of F. J. Finucane, he was made 
first Vice-President, in 1919. F. G. Wanek of Menom- 
inee, Mich., was elected cashier in July, 1918. 

The Langlade National Bank increased its capital 
stock to $100,000 in January, 1920. Its Trust De- 
partment was created in 1919, immediately after the 
state legislature had passed a law allowing this depart- 
ment to be associated with national banks in Wiscon- 
sin. Officers at present are: President — Dr. I. D. 
Steffen, Vice-President— 0. P. Walch; Cashier— F. G. 
Wanek; Assistant Cashiers — N. J. Raiche and W. J. 
Schultz; Board of Directors— 0. P. Walch, John Man- 
ser, John 01k, I. D. Steffen, W. A. Grant, Robert W. 
Zobel and Charles H. Avery. 

THE BANK OF ANTIGO. 

In January, 1888, D. E. Jones, Col. Woodard, Dr. A. 
H. Solliday and Amos Baum of Watertown, Wis., with 
E. N. Mellor organized The Bank of Antigo. Dr. Solli- 
day was elected president, E. N. Mellor, vice-president 
and Amos Baum, cashier. The bank was located east 
of Cody's Shoe Store on Fifth Avenue and progressed 
without a mishap until the following summer of 1888, 
when $5,500.00 was stolen from it. The discrepancy 
was met by the stockholders. In 1890 The Bank of 
Antigo was closed, its affairs were liquidated and de- 
positors were paid one hundred cents on the dollar. 

On January 6, 1891, the name, books, good will, etc., 
of the bank were sold to H. G. Borgman, C. B. Mc- 
Donald, Ed. Daskam, C. F. Smith and three Water- 
town, Wis., men. The capital stock was restored to 
$25,000 in cash. H. G. Borgman was elected Presi- 
dent, C. B. McDonald, Vice-President, and L. E. Buck- 
man, Cashier. In 1897, the bank again closed its 
doors but to the credit of the stockholders, the deposi- 
tors were paid one hundred cents on the dollar. 

L. D. Moses, pioneer Antigo merchant and first 
banker, together with Oshkosh men, organized the 
First State Bank of Antigo in April, 1898, using that 
name until a First National Bank charter could be se- 
cured from the government. 

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK. 
A charter for the First National Bank was secured 
August 31, 1898, and the institution was commenced 



56 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



with a capital stock of $50,000. L. D. Moses was its 
first President and Fred T. Zentner, its first cashier. 
Its growth was phenomenal. In January, 1901, W. 
B. McArthur of Waupaca was elected cashier to suc- 
ceed Mr. Zentner. In 1902, January, Leander Choate 
was elected President and upon his death J. C. Lewis, 
Vice-President, was chosen President. He remained 
as President until 1919, when he was selected Chair- 
man of the Board of Directors, Dr. F. V. Watson being 
chosen President. H. B. Kellogg was chosen presi- 
dent of the bank after Dr. F. V. Watson resigned. 

In August, 1910, the First National Bank increased 
its capital stock to $100,000 and its surplus to $20,000. 
W. B. McArthur resigned as cashier in January, 1919, 
and was succeeded by J. E. Enquist of Shell Lake, 
Wis., who was followed by W. W. Smith, Jr., of Sleepy 
Eye, Minnesota, who assumed this position in July, 
1919. 

THE FIDELITY SAVINGS BANK. 

The Fidelity Savings Bank was organized January 
20, 1909, under the general banking laws of Wisconsin 
and the United States, with a capital stock of $50,000. 
Its first officers were Henry Hay — President; Anton 
Molle — Vice-President; Walter Daskam — Cashier. 
The Board of Directors consisted of the three named 
together with J. A. Rudolph, John Benishek, C. S. 
Pierce of Milwaukee and W. J. Mattek. 

The Fidelity Savings Bank has had exceptional suc- 
cess and has always been commandeered by a strong 
official roster. In June 1919, the bank purchased the 
building in which it is located. The Fidelity Savings 
Bank building was completely remodeled in the fall 
of 1919. Walter Daskam, Cashier of the Fidelity 
Savings Bank has served continually as such since its 
organization. The members of the Board of Direc- 
tors are Anton Molle, Vice-President; J. A. Rudolph; 
J. R. McQuillan, President; Henry Hay and Walter 
Daskam, Cashier. 

FARMERS' STATE BANK OF PHLOX. 

The Farmers' State Bank of Phlox was organized 
June 1, 1920. The capital stock was $10,000 and re- 
mains the same. The present officers, also the 
original officers of the bank are as follows : Pres- 
ident* — W. B. Kramer, Vice-President — M. J. Ellstad, 
Cashier — A. J. Reinert. Members of the Board of Di- 
rectors consist of the three named officers together 
with George Jansen, W. B. Dresser and W. F. Meagher. 
The bank is located at Phlox, Norwood township. Its 
present deposits are approximately $38,000. Its sur- 
plus is about $1,500 and undivided profits were $887.14 
at the close of business January, 1922. 

NEVA FARMERS STATE BANK. 

The Neva Farmers State Bank was organized Octo- 
ber 1, 1915, with a capital stock of $10,000. Its first 
officers were : President — W. J. Mattek, I. D. Wood 
— Cashier and John F. Schultz — Vice-President. The 
members of the first Board of Directors were : W. J. 



Mattek, John F. Schultz, Fred Schwartz, Anton Gallen- 
berg, August Carlson, Fred L. Berner, and A. J. 
Nowotny. The present officers are : President — John 
F. Schultz, Fred Schwartz, Anton Gallenberg, Fred L. 
Berner, Gust Schmidt and Henry Buboltz. The pres- 
ent deposits amount to $199,000. The surplus was 
$14,000 and the undivided profits $500 in February, 
1922. The resources are approximately $220,000. 
This bank is located at Neva, in Neva township. 

WHITE LAKE STATE BANK. 

The White Lake State Bank was organized in 1921 
with a capital of $15,000. The first officers have been 
retained to date as follows : President — W. D. Cavers, 
Vice-President — E. G. Woodford; Cashier — V. H. 
John; who with Peter O'Connor and W. W. Gamble, 
constitute the Board of Directors. Present deposits are 
$75,687.55. Surplus is $1,000, undivided profits 
$337.90 and resources $93,227.21. The bank is locat- 
ed at White Lake village, Langlade township. 

STATE BANK OF ELCHO. 

The State Bank of Elcho is located in the thriving 
and bustling village of Elcho, Elcho township, and was 
organized April 3, 1912, with a capital stock of $10,000. 
Actual business was commenced April 9, 1913. 

The first officials of the bank were : Charles W. 
Fish, President; W. D. Burton, Vice-President; George 
H. Bauer, Cashier. Original directors were : Charles 
W. Fish, W. D. Burton, John F. Singer, L. W. Filyes, 
Charles Beard, Julius Follstad, R. P. Guptil; E. S. 
Tradewell and Bernhard Follstad. The present offi- 
cers are: John F. Singer — President; 0. C. Fish — 
Vice-President; George H. Bauer — Cashier. Present 
directors are : Charles W. Fish, John F. Singer, 
Charles Beard, Julius Follstad and 0. C. Fish. 

Capital stock is now $10,000 with surplus and un- 
divided profits aggregating $8,000.00. 

Antigo's three banking institutions have a combined 
total capital stock of $250,000. Their total resources 
amounts to over three millions of dollars. Add to this 
the resources of the State Bank of Elcho, the Neva 
State Bank, The Farmers State Bank of Phlox and the 
White Lake State Bank and sum up the deposits of 
the banking institutions of the county and an idea of 
the volume of business and accumulated wealth in 
Langlade County can be gained. 

The total amount of surplus and undivided profits of 
Antigo banks at the close of business, December 31, 
1921, was $157,265.23. 

Today the reader can carry money or check to any 
corner of the world. Money can be deposited with 
a certainty that it is safe and that your bank deposit 
slip will be honored thirty days or a year later as it 
pleases you. This is a contrast to conditions in early 
days, when banking laws were less stringent and 
when much of the commerce was through the medium 
of farm produce. Langlade County official orders, at 
the time of the organization of the Langlade County 
Bank, were worth but eighty cents on the dollar. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



57 



CHAPTER XIV. 
Courts, Laws, Lawyers 

First Term Circuit Court — Judge George H. Meyers — First Circuit Court Case — First Jury Trial — 
First Murder Case — Early Criminal Cases — County Court — The Henry Still Murder — Court at 
Shedd's Store — Municipal Court Act — Judge F. J. Finucane — Judge J. W. Morse — First Grand 
Jury. 



Langlade County, when organized in 1880, was plac- 
ed in the 10th Wisconsin Judicial Circuit. The first 
Circuit Court records are very meagre. George H. 
Meyers of Appleton, Outagamie County, was the first 
Circuit Judge of Langlade County. Circuit Court 
cases of importance were not heard in Antigo until the 
March term of 1883. i 

The first Circuit Court session was held in the old 
frame court house. Formal announcement of its open- 
ing was made by Sheriff Charles Herman. Dr. D. S. 



Graham vs. Emma Graham. The decree was grant- 
ed upon grounds of desertion. The third action was 
Ernest Roseberg vs. Daniel Pillsbury. A charge of 
venue was granted and the case was taken to Mara- 
thon County. 

THE FIRST JURY TRIAL. 

The law suits mentioned previously in this chapter 
were trivial actions, only important because they were 
the first of their kind to occur in Langlade County. 




THE FIRST L.-WGLADE COUNTY COURT HOUSE 

Where the first Circuit Court session was held in 1883. Hon. George 

H. Meyers was then sitting as Circuit Judge. 



Olmsted, first Circuit Court Clerk, produced his com- 
mission and began the task of keeping and preparing 
records of proceedings and determinations of the 
court. 

The first official Langlade County Circuit Court seal 
is still in use. It represents justice. A sword and 
dagger are crossed in the background. The outline 
of an open book appears in the fore. 



land ejectment 
It was heard 



FIRST CASE. 

The first Circuit Court case was a 
action, Gabe Bouck vs. S. A. Coleman 
and disposed of March 27, 1883. In its wake came 
the first divorce action in Langlade County — Daniel 

1. September 5, 1882. Circuit Judge Meyers came to Antigo and 
a day's court session was held. Gabe Bouck and Attorney Gerry of 
Oshkosh, Attorney CoU'ns of Menasha, William Kennedy of Appleton 
and William Kimball, Circuit Court reporter, were in attendance. 
The cases were against men who sold liquor without town licenses. 



The fourth case ever tried was not an insignificant 
controversy. This was the first action in the county 
demanding a jury. The contending parties were 
prominent in the early history of the county. 

Henry Mitchell of Milltown,- Norwood township, 
was suing J. W. Morse, later County Judge, for slander. 
At a town meeting in Norwood Mr. Morse was charged 
with having said : "Henry Mitchell was a robber and 
swindler, who took $300 from Hutchinson township." 
Mr. Mitchell asked $5,000 damages. 

The action was filed in Shawano County as Norwood 
was then a part of Shawano County. On June 30, 
1881, by court order the place of trial was moved from 
Shawano to Antigo. Judge George H. Meyers sat in 
the case. Mr. Mitchell, the plaintiff, was a millwright 

2. Milltown was a settlement in Norwood. It was at this place 
that Henry Mitchell operated a mdl for years before moving into 
Antigo. Consult Norwood township history. 



58 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



and farmer. He was represented by Collins & Pearse, 
Appleton lawyers. J. W. Morse was defended by 
George W. Latta, pioneer Antigo Attorney. Wit- 
nesses called were: F. Topping, R. Vaughn, Charles 
Herman, N. Sennsenbrenner, C. Schroeder, P. Schweit- 
zer, S. D. Chappel, A. Boetke, G. W. Jurret, C. W. 
Moss, Geo. W. Bemis, J. J. Simpson and W. Haffen- 
becker. Eli Waste was then Court Commissioner. 
J. W. Goodwin, the Jury foreman, made the following 
statement when a verdict was reached: "We, the jury, 
find for the defendant." The plaintiff paid costs 
amounting to $174.44. The verdict was reached 
March 28, 1883. D. S. Olmsted was then Clerk of 
the Court. 

THE FIRST LARCENY CASE. 

January 11, 1884, Adolph Tuekurky was sentenced 
to three years in the state penitentiary at hard labor, 
being convicted of larceny. 

THE FIRST MURDER TRIAL. 

The first murder case brought to the attention of 
the Langlade County Circuit Court was during the 
March term of 1886. Mrs. Mary Chadek of Reeve 
(Deerbrook) was charged with killing her husband, 
Thomas Chadek. Monday, November 30, 1885, Dr. 
J. H. Dawley, Antigo physician, was called to attend 
Mrs. Chadek, who was badly wounded. Her husband 
was dead from revolver shots. Mrs. Chadek main- 
tained that her husband shot her and killed himself. 
She was held for murder, however. George W. Latta, 
her Attorney, secured a change of venue. The case 
was heard in Milwaukee Circuit Court. District At- 
torney J. H. Trever was assisted in the prosecution by 
Attorney Wm. Kennedy, of Appleton. Mrs. Chadek 
was acquitted. 

LOWELL A. WINN MURDER TRIAL. 

While the Chadek murder trial was the first to se- 
cure the attention of Langlade County courts, it was 
not until the fall of 1889, when the first murder case 
demanding a jury was held in Langlade County. 
Lowell A. Winn was charged with murdering Thomas 
Coats — the culmination of a liquor debauche in a sa- 
loon located where Muttart-McGillan Company is 
now in business, (L. Krom Building.) Albert De 
Foy, bartender, refused Winn several times when the 
latter demanded whiskey, during the afternoon of 
October 23, 1889. Winn, enraged, returned in the 
evening, engaged De Foy in a quarrel, which resulted 
in the shooting of Thomas Coats. Mortally wounded. 
Coats incriminated Winn in a dying statement to Dis- 
trict Attorney George L. Schintz. Winn, charged with 
first degree murder, was acquitted. He was tried 
again on a charge of assault with intent to kill, and 
was declared guilty. He was senter.ced to serve 
seven years at Waupun, but he was released before his 
full time was up. 



AN EARLY CRIMINAL CASE. 

September 28, 1888, Peter Becker made a complaint 
before Justice J. W. Wines, charging James Collins 
with wilfully and feloniously assaulting him with a 
double bitted axe. Becker suffered a disabled right 
arm. The case was somewhat similar to the Lowell 
A. Winn case. Becker refused to give Collins a drink 
of whisky. Collins, an indigent person, demanded a 
jury trial. He was represented by Attorney J. E. 
Martin, appointed by Judge Geo. H. Meyers. Dis- 
trict Attorney George L. Schintz represented the state. 
On March 19, 1889, Collins was arraigned and was 
found guilty of intent to maim. He received this sen- 
tence: "Confinement in the common jail from 12 
o'clock noon this day for one calendar month." By 
the court— March 28, 1889. 



COURT AT SHEDD'S STORE. 

The early lawyers of Langlade County had much to 
contend with. They were usually not over supplied 
with financial strength, but possessed much energy. 
They would often walk miles in response to the call of 
a client. Rough roads, trails, crossing swamps and 
wading streams were the usual difficulties they con- 
fronted. 

The fees of the pioneer lawyers would probably pro- 
voke a smile from the modern Attorney-at-Law. A 
complete administrator's report could be made for the 
princely sum of three dollars. Cases of great import- 
ance were conducted for but a few dollars. The early 
lawyers possessed a self-reliant spirit and a keen in- 
genuity that made them formidable and dramatic as 
trial lawyers. Cases in pioneer times did not extend 
over many months. Victories were won swiftly or 
defeat came suddenly. The battles between the op- 
ponents would bring out all the old pioneers who took 
delight in hearing the sarcasim and humor of the 
lawyers. 

In the early days local disputes were usually settled 
in the township "court." Henry Mitchell and Ross 
Young of Norwood township had an argument in which 
Mitchell charged Young with making certain remarks 
about his honesty and character as a citizen. The dis- 
pute was apparently ended when Young apologized. 
Mitchell would not be satisfied as he was confident his 
humiliation had not been overcome by the personal 
retraction. A law suit resulted. J. W. Morse, pio- 
neer Justice of the Peace and Judge presided at the 
"court" held in the Charles Shedd store in Norwood 
township. George Bemis was chosen to act as coun- 
sel for Mr. Young. "Doc" Olmsted, picturesque Jus- 
tice and pioneer, was the Attorney for Mitchell. The 
case was dismissed by Judge Morse who gave the par- 
ticipants a lecture on the duties of good citizens. Mr. 
Young apologized to Mr. Mitchell by saying, "I am 
sorry, but every bit of it was the gospel truth." It 
was an apology with a string attachment. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



59 



THE NOTED STILL-POLAR MURDER. 

All of the citizens of Langlade County were 
startled when news reached them that Henry 
Still, an esteemed resident of the Town- 
ship of Gagen had been murdered by Barney 
Polar. Many conflicting stories have been told 

about the murder. According to a statement attribut- 
ed to Louis Motzfeldt of Gagen township, the unfor- 
tunate Mr. Still met his death after he had refused to 
give Polar whisky from a jug of the drink that Polar 
was said to have brought from Shawano the same day 
for Mr. Still. Mr. Still refused to give Mr. Polar 
any whisky and at ten o'clock Tuesday evening, June 
12, 1883, Motzfeldt, who lived in the rooms adjoining 
those of Mr. Still (the building was owned by Mr. 
Motzfeldt) was awakened by what he thought was the 
report of a gun. He rushed into the rooms of the 
Still family and found Mrs. Still — a squaw — crying 
and moaning that Barney Polar had killed her hus- 
band. The murderer, however, never was apprehended. 
He lurked about Motzleldt's place in the woods the 
following day, a menace to all citizens about, but 
made his escape. 

As soon as the news spread to Antigo that Polar had 
fled a posse consisting of Attorney Bliss, Walter Daw- 
ley, Geo. W. Hill, and many others went to Rice Lake, 
"armed to the teeth" to apprehend the criminal, but by 
the time they had reached the vicinity of the crime. 
Polar was no doubt well on his way to a place of safe- 
ty- 
July 6, 1883, Supervisor Duchac presented the fol- 
lowing memorial to the Governor, which was adopted 
on motion : 

"We, the County Board of Langlade County, do 
hereby most respectfully petition his honor the Gover- 
nor of the State of Wisconsin that he offer a reward 
(according to law in such cases provided) for the ar- 
rest of Charles Polar, who murdered Henry Still on 
the 12th day of June, 1883, in the Town of Gagen, 
Langlade County, and who is at large and supposed 
to be in the woods of Shawano County. The county has 
already spent considerable money to effect the arrest 
of said Polar. He has, before and since the murder 
of H. Still threatened to take the lives of other persons 
in that section of the state; that he is a desperate char- 
acter and should be captured as soon as possible and 
the intervention of your authority is most earnestly re- 
quested. 

County Board of Supervisors of Langlade County." 
The petition was recognized by Gov. Jeremiah M. 
Rusk, but nevertheless Still's murder went unavenged 
as Barney Polar was never found.*^ 

COUNTY COURT. 

The first term of County Court was held in the hall 
over Niels Anderson's store. J. W. Morse, builder of 
the log jail of 1881, was the first County Judge. The 
first case was an application for letters of guardian- 
ship by B. F. Hall. The guardianship was to J. H. 



Hall, Sara J. Hall, Charles E. Hall, Benjamin Hall 
and Solon Hall, Jr. The letters were issued July 16, 
1881. Bondsmen for the guardian were Julius Her- 




HON. J. W. MORSE 

.SeK-ctcd first County Judge of Langlade County in 1881 

hy Governor J. At. Rusk. 

man and Niels Anderson. The guardian died shortly 
afterward and the estate was settled between the 
heirs. 

ADOPTION CASEh-SECOND. 

The second case, February 2, 1882, was an adoption. 
Jesse Maud Jacobs, "whose father was dead and moth- 
er supposed to be" was adopted by Martin Weather- 
wax. No testimony was taken. The third case oc- 
curred June 11, 1882. In November, 1882, the fourth 
case was heard. The fifth case was a petition and 
order, without report of physicians, placing a man in 
the Outagamie Insane Asylum. On March 27, 1883, 
the first letters of administration were issued in Lang- 
lade County. It was three years after the court was 
organized that the first estate was probated. 

Judge J. W. Parsons served longer than the com- 
bined terms of his predecessors. During the twen- 
ty-two years of his regime, 2,311 cases have been dis- 
posed of. Three hundred sixty cases were heard by 

3. Barney Polar hid in the forests and was protected by Indians, 
who befriended him. When years passed he came from his seclusion 
frequently. He died at an advanced age in the spring of 1914 and is 
buried in the Pol.Tr cemetery in Ainsworth township, nrar Pearson. 
The house where Henry Stil! was murdered still stands, a monument 
to forgotten days. It is located on the east side of the Military 
Road. Section 26, Township 36, Range 12 East. Forest County. 



60 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



the first County Judges, J. W. Morse, J. E. Martin, Eli 
Waste, A. C. Conway and Michael G. Flanagan. 

County Court is held in the court house building at 
Antigo in the northwest room on the second floor. 




HON. V. J. FIXUCANE 

Who was elected first Municipal Judge of Langlade 

County after the creation of that Court in 1801. 

MUNICIPAL COURT ACT OF 1891. 

The Municipal Court was created by Chapter 96, 
Laws of 1891. It is composed of two branches — Up- 
per and Lower Municipal Court. The Upper branch 
has jurisdiction equal and concurrent with Circuit 
Court in all cases except homicide and crime and in 
all civil actions in which the sum sought does not ex- 
ceed $100,000 exclusive of interest and costs. This 
court has jurisdiction over all actions brought for the 
breach of any recognizance returned or given in it. 

Circuit Court Jury Commissioners act for Municipal 
Court also. Chapter 320 of the Laws of 1921 chang- 
ed the term of Municipal Judge from four to six years, 
taking effect after the April, 1923, election. Hon. 
F. J. Finucane was the first Municipal Judge. The 
present Municipal Judge, Hon. Arthur Goodrick was 
appointed by Governor E. L. Fhilipp after the death of 
Hon. T. W. Hogan. Judge Goodrick was the unani- 
mous choice of the Langlade County Bar Association. 
He has since been elected to the bench. 

Municipal Court is held in the court room, third 
floor, of the court house. The private office of 
Municipal Judge is west of the Court Room. Munici- 
pal Court was first held in the Jaekel Building (M. 
Krom store building) when the court was established. 



THE FIRST GRAND JURY. 

The first Grand Jury of Langlade County was select- 
ed November 30, 1920, following a conference be- 
tween Judge Arthur Goodrick, District Attorney A. N. 
Whiting and City Superintendent of Schools R. A. 
Brandt. The selection of a grand jury was consider- 
ed the best means of clearing the local atmosphere of 
prohibition law violations. It had a moral benefit. 
Jurors were selected from the following petit list: 
Anton Schultz, W. B. McArthur, John G. Prokupek, 
Joseph Jirtle, N. R. Babcock, Al. Duchac, L. H. Hil- 
ton, August Vogel, W. J. Gallon, W. J. Herbst, F. D. 
Leavens, L. D. Hartford, L. C. Sorenson, William 
Shank, F. W. Ophoven, L. E. Farnham and A. N. 
Anderson. The jury convened December 6, 1920, and 
received instructions from Judge Goodrick. Thirteen 
indictments were returned against liquor dealers and 
"bootleggers." The grand jury adjourned December 
27, 1920. 

ROLL OF ATTORNEYS. 

The following is a complete roll of attorneys who 
have practised or are now practising in Langlade 
County: George W. Latta, L. W. Bliss, Thomas W. 
Lynch, M. M. Ross, J. E. Martin, J. H. Trever, George 
H. Peters, S. A. Cronk, W. F. White, J. B. Loomis, T. 
F. McCarthy, George H. Ramsey, C. Werden Deane, 
John A. Ogden, F. J. Finucane, S. S. Hamilton, 
— Grossman, A. C. Conway, Max F. Hoffman, H. F. 
Morson, 0. Weinandy, A. J. Lobb, Henry Hay, Walter 
J. Hammond, Thomas W. Hogan, E. A. Morse, 0. H. 
Foster, G. C. Dickenson, E. J. Goodrick, Arthur Good- 
rick, O. G. Erickson, S. J. McMahon, R. C. Smelker, 
E. S. Tradewell, J. T. Sims, C. J. Te Selle, G. J. 
Bowler, A. N. Whiting, Charles Avery, Ray C. Demp- 
sey, George Y. King, T. J. Reinert, Earl Plantz, W. C. 
Brawley, Vernon J. McHale and Irvin White. 

The Langlade County Bar Association was organiz- 
ed in 1895. The Association has all of the attorneys 
in the county as its membership. Annual meetings 
are held. 

FIRST CITIZENSHIP RECORD. 

The first Langlade County residents to be made 
United States citizens were: Albert Boeltcher, Wil- 
liam Hafferbecker, August Darnlow, Herman Schmeis- 
ser, Wm. Flemming and J. B. Lorent in March, 1883. 
The hearings were conducted before Circuit Judge 
George H. Meyers and a U. S. Examiner. 



histohy of langlade county. 



61 



CHAPTER XV. 
Military History 

Indians with De Langlade — Grand Army of the Republic — Spanish-American War — Langlade Coun- 
ty Heroes of 1898— Antigo Guard Company of 1888— Guards of 1901— The 14th Wisconsin In- 
fantry — The Mexican Expedition — Organization of Antigo Militia League — Co. G. Wisconsin 
National Guards — America at War with Germany — The Farewell of August 11, 1917 — 57th Field 
Artillery Brigade — 107th at Pontinazian Barracks — Camp De Coetquidan — In Alsace Sector — 
Vesle River — Soissons — Argonne Offensive — Officers Promoted — Reese Sparks — ToUefson, Bal- 
lard and Alft Killed — Antigo Home Guards — Liberty Loan and Victory Fund Drives — Schools 
in Wartime — The Women in War — Board of Exemption — Advisory Board — The Red Cross — 
Great Armistice Celebration — Return of Soldiers — Casualties — American Legion — Veterans of 
World War — Battery "A" — Memorial Park at Polar — Council of Defense — Memorial Hospital. 



The citizens of Langlade County are ever peaceful 
and law abiding, willing to be neighborly and live hap- 
py and contented. They are on an average progres- 
sive, thrifty and industrious. Ready to defend the 
right they are equally willing to condemn the wrong 
to the extent of taking up arms for the upholding of 
right, if in the defense of their country, such must be. 

Langlade County has nobly performed its duty in 
time of distress, when war, rebellion or insurrection 
against the peace and civil dignity of our common- 
wealth has imperiled national respect. 

Langlade County, or the territory compris- 
ing it, has actively participated in at least 
three of the seventeen American wars. They 

were French-Indian War of 1756, the Spanish-Amer- 
ican War of 1898, and the World War, 1914-1919. 

Long before Langlade County was organized, years 
before the Northwest territory was legally defined 
and when the French had control of Wisconsin terri- 
tory, bands of Indians roamed within the present lim- 
its of Langlade County. Charles De Langlade, noted 
leader of the French and Indians in their battles with 
the British and colonial troopers, drew recruits from 
within Langlade County. 

The force under command of De Langlade, besides 
the French, was composed of Ottawas, Chippewas, 
Menominees, Winnebagoes, Pottawottamies, Hurons 
and Wyandotts and perhaps others. This force de- 
fended the French fort Du Quesne against the English 
and Colonists under the leadership of General Brad- 
dock in 1754 and included within the ranks were In- 
dians from the territory now known as Langlade 
County. They were, no doubt, Chippewas, Menom- 
inees or Pottawottamies. Thus the military history 
of Langlade County begins and it has since been one 
of loyalty, faith and gratitude to country. 

THE GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC. 
The John A. Kellogg Post No. 78, G. A. R., was 
organized by District Commander J. H. Woodnorth 
of Waupaca, May 15, 1883, and was named in honor 
of General John A. Kellogg of Wausau. Charter 
members were : W. H. Blinn, B. F. Dorr, S. W. Cham- 



berlain, William Brainard, John A. Long, F. M. Sher- 
man, Henry Smith, John B. Bruner, A. L. Russell, 
Edward Daskam, Charles Beadleston, Edward R. 
Dudley and H. Springstead. First officers were : 
Commander, W. H. Blinn; Senior Vice Commander, 
B. F. Dorr; Junior Vice Commander, S. W. Chamber- 
lain; Surgeon, J. A. Long; Officer of Day, F. M. Sher- 
man; Quartermaster, J. Beemer; Adjutant, H. Smith; 
Quartermaster Sergeant, Abel Russell. 

Civil War veterans are dying fast. The once flour- 
ishing membership of the John A. Kellogg Post has 
dwindled down to fifteen comrades. October 2, 1921, 
the John A. Kellogg Post No. 78 elected Robert M. 
Dessureau first honorary member for "meritorious de- 
votion to the G. A. R." He is the youngest honorary 
member in the United States and one of two in Wis- 
consin. 

June, 1913, and again in June, 1921, the State En- 
campments of the Grand Army of the Republic and 
auxiliary patriotic organizations were held in Antigo. 
Distinguished visitors were present at both conven- 
tions and were accorded splendid receptions. W. S. 
Carr and R. C. Dempsey were General Chairmen of 
the 1913 and 1921 encampments respectively. 

VETERANS OF THE CIVIL WAR. 

Daniel Webster once said, "When my eyes shall 
turn to behold for the last time the sun in Heaven, 
may I not see it shining on the broken and dishonor- 
ed fragments of a once glorious union." He could 
see that the conflict between the North and the South 
was irrepressible. The three-cornered presidential fight 
of 1860 in which Abraham Lincoln, Republican, who 
maintained that slavery must not only be curtailed, 
but destroyed, was elected, forced the issue square- 
ly before the American people. The South supported 
John C. Breckenridge of Kentucky. Stephen A. Doug- 
las, formidable debater and opponent of Lincoln in 
the election, was the choice of the moderate Demo- 
crats. When the storm broke this distinguished 
statesman rushed to Abraham Lincoln and pledged 
unswerving allegiance to the Union. Lincoln's words. 



62 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



"The nation cannot exist half slave and half free," 
was a warning to those who sought to perpetuate slav- 
ery at the expense of a united nation. When Fort 
Sumter was fired upon in the harbor of Charleston, 
S. C, April 12, 1861, the entire North was solidified 
into one unit, whose purpose was to save at all costs 
the union of the states. President Abraham Lincoln 
called for 75,000 volunteers April 15, 1861, and de- 
clared the coast of the Confederacy to be under 
blockade. Young men rushed to the colors in the de- 
fense of their country and for four years the world 
looking on, stood aghast as the contending armies of 



the Blue and Gray struggled. Langlade County was 
then a wilderness and had but few settlers at the out- 
break of the war. 

Twenty years later the Grand Army of the Repub- 
lic became a vital factor in the village of Antigo. W. 
H. Blinn was its first Commander. The following 
Civil War veterans are now or have been members of 
the John A. Kellogg Post No. 78, G. A. R. The date 
of their enlistment, the date of their honorable dis- 
charge, and the unit in which they enlisted are given 
also: 




GRAND ARMY MOXUMEXT. 

Erected in the .Aiitigo Cemetery by the \\'. R. C. in cooperatiuii with 

tile Langlade County Board. 



Name 



Date of Enlistment 



Discharge 



Unit 



F. E. Allen August, 1863 August 10, 1865 Co. D.. 15th N. Y. C. 

John Atwood October 15, 1864 July, 1865 Co. G., 1st Wis. H. A. 

David P. Andrews April 11, 1865 August 4, 1865 Co. G., 154th 111. 

J. B. Beemer February, 1865 November ,1865 Co. C, 46th Wis. 

W. B. Brainard September, 1862 September, 1865 Co. G., 21st Wis. 

C. Beadleston June 14, 1861 September 5, 1865 Co. E., 4th Wis. Inf. 

W. H. Blinn July. 1861 May 20, 1863 Co. C, 9th N. Y. Inf. 

W. D. Badger July 12, 1862 July 12, 1865 Co. F.. 32nd Wis. Inf. 

Ed Boyle September 23, 1864 June 29, 1865 Co. D., 19th Wis. Inf. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 63 

Name Date of Enlistment Discharge Unit 

H. 0. Beard August 18, 1862 August 17, 1865 Co. D., 32nd Wis. Inf. 

S. Lloyd Breck August 14, 1862 May, 1865 Co. C, 28th Wis. Inf. 

C. G. Burdick October 18, 1861 September 7, 1864 Co. E., 10th Wis. Inf. 

C. M. Beattie September 13, 1861 October 25, 1865 Co. F., 14th Wis. Inf. 

E. Barrett September 21, 1864 June 20, 1865 Co. K., 4th Wis. Cav. 

J. E. Bickman September, 1864 June, 1865 Co. L.. 1st Wis. H. A. 

John B. Balch August 14, 1862 June, 1865 Co. A., 141st N. Y. Inf. 

E. P. Bridgeman August 15, 1862 August 15, 1862 Co. G., 37th Mass. Inf. 

Edwin Beard August 11, 1861 July 11, 1865 Co. A., 64th 111., Inf. 

John Bahr, Sr February 3, 1863 August 29, 1865 Co. K., 27th Wis. Inf. 

A. J. Brown October, 1864 August 22, 1865 Co. C, 211th Pa. Vol. 

John Bernier September 1, 1861 July 17, 1865 Co. A., 8th 111. Cav. 

Washington Brown March, 1864 October 9, 1865 Co. E., 14th Wis., Vol. 

R. C. Briggs October 3, 1862 June 20, 1865 Co. J., 32nd Wis., Inf. 

Geo. W. Bemis February 7, 1862 September 15, 1865 3rd Wis. Cav. 

Abel L. Bedell February 14, 1864 1865 Co. D., 1st Wis. L. A. 

Andrew Bovee February 3, 1864 May 17, 1865 Co. B., 5th Wis. Inf. 

Rufus Barcus May 23, 1864 July 6, 1865 Co. J., 113th Ohio Vol. 

S. W. Chamberlain August 6, 1862 June 8, 1865 Co. G., 21st Wis. Inf. 

A. J. Calkins August, 1862 June, 1865 Co. G., 21st Wis. Inf. 

George Costley May 28, 1864 May 25, 1865 Co. D., 2nd Pa. Cav. 

J. 0. Conner October 24, 1861 November 20, 1865 Co. F., 14th Wis. Inf. 

H. M. Carpenter October 3, 1864 July 18, 1865 Co. A., 18th Wis. Vol. 

Patrick Corbett August 11, 1862 August 9, 1865 Co. J., 32nd Wis. Vol. 

Theodore W. Cornell August 8, 1862 June 8, 1865 Co. E., 21st Wis. Inf. 

Lorenzo D. Cone August 27, 1864 June 2, 1865 Co. D., 16th Wis. InL 

Peter Colton October 9, 1861 September 1, 1865 Co. F., 67th Ohio 

Frank Clark August 25, 1864 August, 1865 Co. D., 27th Wis. Inf. 

John Clark December 22, 1864 July 18, 1865 Co. E., 18th Wis. Inf. 

Warner S. Carr February 14, 1864 Co. G., 21st Wis. Vol. 

James H. Craine Co. F., 3rd Iowa Cav. 

Henry Calkins August 11, 1861 June 18, 1864 Co. G., 21st Wis. Inf. 

Orlo Cheever June 17, 1864 June 5, 1865 Co. A., 14th N. Y. Art. 

Avery Colburn September 23, 1863 July 3, 1865 Co. C, Wis. Battery 

B. F. Dorr February, 1864 October 5, 1865 Co. G., 2nd Iowa Cav. 

E. R. Dudley 

E. Daskam September 16, 1861 October 9, 1865 Co. G., 14th Wis. 

F. A. Deleglise July, 1861 July, 1864 Co. E., 6th Wis. Inf. 

John Dixon February 24, 1864 October 9, 1865 Co. G., 14th Wis. InL 

David Dicks September 1, 1861 1862 Co. L., 9th Pa. Cav. 

H. H. Dudley February 22, 1864 January 24, 1865 Co. B., 36th Wis. Inf. 

C. Werden Deane October 13, 1862 July 6, 1865 Go. J., 6th Mich. Cav. 

George F. Dailey May 7, 1861 July 10, 1865 Co. K., 3rd Wis. Vol. 

Chriss Dehersberger 1864 July 17, 1865 Co. B., 45th Wis. Inf. 

Chas. Decanter February, 1864 May 7, 1865 Co. 10th H. A. New York 

Davis Eben June, 1861 1863 Co. A., 11th Ind. InL 

Jack Dowd June 23, 1864 May 3, 1865 Co. F., 38th Wis. InL 

W. J. Empey December, 1861 September, 1865 Co. H., 3rd Wis. Cav. 

Martin V. Elliott September 11, 1861 February 20, 1863 Co. H., 14th Wis. InL 

William Fife 

S. S. Ferguson April 21, 1861 September, 1865 Co. K., 4th Wis. Cav. 

Francis Fryer October 11, 1861 September, 1865 Co. C, 3rd Minn. InL 

Charles Furgeson January 24, 1864 January, 1865 Co. E, 35th Wis. Inf. 

Dominicus Fowler February 6, 1862 February 17, 1865 U. S. Navy 

George Fehl April 21, 1861 August 5, 1864 Co. G., 12th Mo. InL 

John A. Finney ...February, 1862 March 16, 1865 Co. D., 10th W. Va. 

John M. Fischer August 27, 1861 May 12, 1865 Co. F., 29th N. Y. 

L. L. Foster October 1, 1864 June 2, 1865 Co. K., 17th Wis. InL 

Charles Gosha December 23, 1863 September 2, 1865 Co. E., 4th N. H. Inf. 

D. Graham December 24, 1862 August 10, 1865 3rd Wis. Battery 

John W. Goodwin August 4, 1862 June 4, 1865 Co. G., 109th N. Y. 



64 HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Name Date of Enlistment Discharge Unit 

Theodore Graves August 26, 1864 June 6, 1865 1st Michigan Engrs. 

E. W. Gallagan April 6, 1862 April 5, 1865 Co. H., 14th Wis. Inf. 

B. Garrity March 30, 1864 October 27, 1865 Co. G., 3rd Wis. Cav. 

G. W. Garrett April 9, 1863 October 2, 1865 Co. B., 3rd Wis. Cav. 

Thomas Gleason July 17, 1863 September 5, 1863 U. S. Navy (Landsman) 

Charles Graves October 6, 1862 July 30, 1865 Co. D., 6th Iowa Cav. 

Charles E. Goodnow November, 1861 April 6, 1863 Co. J., 3rd Mo. Inf 

Joseph Gotchey June 1, 1861 August 8, 1863 Co. K., 3rd Wis. Inf. 

Peter Hilger October 28, 1864 June 4, 1865 17th Wis. Inf. 

W. H. Higgins July, 1862 March 9, 1863 Co. H., 20th Me. Inf. 

J. H. Heath January, 1864 June, 1864 Co. E., 40th Wis. Inf. 

W. J. Hagen November, 1864 July, 1865 Co. J., 32nd Wis. Inf. 

R. J. Hitchcock September 24, 1861 September 4, 1865 Co. K., 11th Wis. Inf. 

Z. Hammond August 21, 1861 February 20, 1866 Co. M., 11th Pa. Cav. 

Nelson Hobart August 13, 1862 August 15, 1865 Co. F., 27th Ind. Vol. 

A. J. Hooker August 24, 1861 August 29, 1864 Co. B. 1st N. Y. A. 

A. P. Hull January 1, 1861 July 19, 1865 Co. B. 8th Minn. Inf. 

Wm. Hampton August 21, 1862 June 12, 1865 Co. H., 32nd Wis. Inf. 

W. C. Hubbard October 15, 1863 September 28, 1865 Co. H., 1st Mich. Eng. 

Patrick Hickey October, 1863 July 1, 1865 Co. H., 2nd Mass. Cav. 

Frank A. Huff December, 1863 August 17, 1865 Co. A., 3rd Wis. Cav. 

Frederick Hillman 1864 July, 1865 Co. K., 17th Wis. Inf. 

Frank Hoyt December 1, 1863 August 17, 1865 Co. A., 3rd Wis. Cav. 

George Jones August 15. 1862 July, 1865 Co. K., 21st Wis. Inf. 

W. B. Johns May, 1864 September 30, 1864 Co. G., 39th Wis. Inf. 

H. W. James August 21, 1861 July 17, 1865 Co. C, 16th Wis. Inf. 

A. Juneau lune 13, 1861 August 5, 1865 78th U. S. Battery 

Ed Jarvis February 11, 1864 August 10, 1865 8th Wis. Battery 

William James 

James Kennedy August 22, 1862 January, 1863 Co. K., 103rd Ohio Inf. 

A. O. D. Kelley July 20, 1862 July 8, 1865 Co. C, 85th Ind. Vol. Inf. 

J. N. Kiefer July 13, 1862 June 15, 1865 Co. H., 24th Wis. Inf. 

A. Kling August, 1862 June 18, 1865 Co. D., 21st Wis. Inf. 

F. P. Kennedy February, 1865 December, 1865 Co. E., 42nd Wis. Inf. 

Chas. W. Knapp February 2, 1865 September 21, 1865 Co. A., 153rd 111. Inf. 

Davis Kirk April, 1861 July 2, 1866 Co. B., 14th Ohio Inf. 

J. A. Long March, 1862 1865 Co. G., 9th Ind. Inf. 

John R. Leykom March, 1861 July, 1865 Co. A., 5th Wis. Inf. 

Edw. LaLonde August 28, 1862 June 2, 1865 Co. A., 18th Wis. Inf. 

Ira Lake November 24, 1863 June 23, 1865 Co. H., 21st Wis. InL 

Beng. F. Lillie September 2, 1862 Aug. 10, 1865 Co. — 2nd Ohio Lt. A. 

Henry Lloyd February 25, 1864 Sept. 4, 1866 Co. G., Uth Wis. InL 

Franklin Locke August 14, 1862 June 8, 1865 Co. G., 21st Wis. Inf. 

Robert Lewins February 18, 1865 June 18, 1866 Co. F., 50th Wis. Inf. 

M. J. Lower Co. C. 122nd Ohio Inf. 

W. Laing June 2, 1862 September 5, 1865 Co. K., 3rd N. J. InL 

H. M. Lord October 15, 1865 July 2, 1865 Co. G., 1st Wis. Art. 

August C. Ludkey November 17, 1863 July 19, 1865 Co. G., Wis. Cav. 

Homer W. Lake March 3, 1864 July 26, 1865 Co. A., 38th Wis. Inf. 

John Merchant January 1, 1864 January 22, 1865 Co. G., 10th N. Y. Inf. 

Moritz Mueller August 21, 1862 June 12, 1865 Co. A., 32nd Wis. InL 

Thomas McDonald October, 1864 Co. D., 12th Inf. 

E. H. Mellor August, 1864 June 1, 1865 Co. E., 5th Wis. InL 

Andrew Michaelson February 20, 1865 June 12. 1866 Co. C, 50th Wis. InL 

John W- Merrill August 11, 1862 September 20, 1865 Co. D., 30th Wis. Inf. 

D. A. Morgan September 2, 1864 July, 1865 U. S. S. St. Western 

William Meller September 6, 1862 July 18, 1865 Co. G., 92nd N. Y. 

M. Simon Matheny February 18, 1864 June 22, 1866 Co. C, 1st Bat. Cav. 

Charles Mosher May 8, 1861 November 14, 1861 Co. H., 20th 111. InL 

H. A. Mills December 6, 1863 August 31, 1865 Co. D., 1st Wis. H. Art. 

William Madder August 26, 1864 June 17, 1865 Co. D., Wis. Vol. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



65 



Name Date of Enlistment Discharge Unit 

D. M. Maxon July 29, 1861 July 28, 1862 Co. B., 4th Wis. Inf. 

John Newberry August 16, 1864 July 19, 1865 Co. G., 169th N. Y. Inf. 

John S. Nelson September 2, 1864 June 14, 1865 Co. A., 2nd Wis. Cav. 

C. O'Neil August 2, 1862 August 2, 1865 Co. C, 16th U. S. Inf. 

D. W. Olin February, 1865 June, 1865 Co. G., 50th Wis. Inf. 

Benjamin O'Deal August 21, 1862 June 12, 1865 Co. F., 32nd Wis. Inf. 

R. B. Olmsted January 4, 1865 September 14, 1865 Co. D., 47th Mass. 

Daniel O'Brien September 19, 1862-. January 5, 1865 Co. G., 92nd III. Inf. 

J. Phelps August 11, 1862 June 16, 1865 Co. D., 31st Wis. Inf. 

Joel E. Parker May 5, 1862 May 5, 1865 Co. G., 11th Ohio Vol. 

E. W. Pride January 1, 1862 ^-September, 1863 Co. G., 1st Wis. Inf. 

John H. Reader September 8, 1864 g^June 2, 1865 Co. D., 16th Wis. Inf. 

Henry Rust April 23, 1861 July 27, 1865 Co. E., 14th Ohio Inf. 

Austin Robinson February 10, 1865 ..February 9, 1866 Co. F., 34th N. Y. Vol. 

Alexander Rogers September 10, 1861 October 30, 1864 Co. F., 16th Ohio Vol. Inf. 

A. D. Rice March 17, 1864 August 12, 1865 Co. B.. 38th Wis. Inf. 

Henry Smith July 20, 1863 November 8, 1865 Co. H., 2nd N. Y. Vol. Inf. 

F. M. Sherman April 19, 1861 January 18, 1865 Co. I., 9th Ind. Inf. 

J. A. Spencer March 25, 1862 September 1, 1865 Co. I., 3rd Wis. Vol. Inf. 

Stephen Scott March, 1863 Co. B., 37th Wis. Inf. 

August Schoepke December 20, 1861 April 4, 1865 Co. K., 17th Wis. Vol. Cav. 

H. C. Shipley September, 1861 April 14, 1865 Co. C, 1st Wis. Cav. 

J. F. Saxe February, 1864 July 11, 1865 Co. M., 3rd W. Va. Cav. 

William Stacy September 1, 1862 June 15, 1865 Co. K., 21st Ohio Inf. 

Gates Saxton April 30, 1861 May 23, 1862 Co. H., 14th N. Y. Inf. 

E. D. Stewart February 16, 1864 December 1, 1865 Co. H., 15th Ohio 

C. H. Steele August 6, 1862 August 7, 1865 Co. A., 72nd 111. Inf. 

Robert Sheriff August 28, 1864 June 28, 1865 Co. E., 5th Wis. Inf. 

George W. Stanley September 21, 1861 May 28, 1862 Co. B., 14th Wis. Inf. 

Frederick Spoehr September 29, 1864 June 3, 1865 Co. B., 9th Wis. Inf. 

J. C. Spencer April 19, 1864 June 24, 1865 Co. F., 37th Wis. Inf. 

Albert L. Stowe August 14, 1862 June 25, 1865 Co. G., 21st Wis. Inf. 

Charles H. Sprague August 18, 1862 May 20, 1865 Co. E., 100th Ohio Inf. 

Loren M. Shew January 19, 1864 May 24, 1865 Co. K., 10th N. Y. H. Art. 

J. Spurgeon May 7, 1861 September, 1865 Co. K., 3rd Wis., Vol. 

Dan Sweeney February, 1864 July 15, 1865 Co. K., 64th 111. Inf. 

J. P. Sanders November 19, 1861 July 12, 1862 Co. H., 1st Wis. Inf. 

A. D. Stowe August, 1864 June 1865 Co. H., 5th Wis. Inf. 

James Thurber May 26, 1864 Sept. 23, 1864 Co. G., 41st Wis. Vol. 

R. S. Thompson June 11, 1861 November 15, 1861 Co. — 2nd Wis. Inf. 

Israel Wood December, 1863 July 11, 1865 Co. K., 34th Mass. Inf. 

H. B. Woodhouse December 18, 1864 May 18, 1865 Co. D., 14th Wis. Inf. 

W. W. Wheeler June 12, 1861 June 23, 1862 Co. C. 7th Ohio Inf. 

E. I. Whitney 1864 June, 1865 Co. A., 38th Wis. Inf. 

William N. Wilson February 4, 1865 September 4, 1865 Co. I., 47th Wis. Inf. 

Nicholas Weaver September 18, 1862 May 29, 1865 Co. D., 97th N. Y. Inf. 

Thomas Williams August, 1864 Co. F., 145th P. A. 

D. A. Willard September 18, 1861 October 31, 1864 Co. G., 1st Wis. Cav. 

Hiram H. Ward February 1, 1864 May 26, 1866 Co. K., 4th Wis. Cav. 

Andrew Webley 1861 June 13, 1865 Co. K., 50th N. Y. Inf. 

Michael Weix September, 1861 June 13, 1865 Co. A., 15th Inf. 

L. Zahn April 11, 1862 April 29, 1865 Co. K., 19th Wis. Inf. 



THE SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 

Langlade County was still in its infancy when 
President William McKinley issued a call for 125,000 
volunteers on April 23, 1898, after the blowing up of 
the ill-fated Maine in Havana harbor. Yet Langlade 
County citizens were ready to do their part. Ed 
Kiefer enlisted at Portage, Wis., in the 3rd Wiscon- 
sin Infantry; John McGinley enlisted in Co. D., 49th 



Iowa Volunteer Infantry, Waterloo, la. He saw serv- 
ice in Cuba and was mustered out at Savanah, Ga., 
May 13, 1899. George Doersch served in a South Da- 
kota regiment; Frank Lyons served with Co. L of 
the U. S. Cavalry; Dan O'Brien served in the 34th 
Michigan Regiment with an Ironwood Co.; John Mol- 
litor served with Company "E" of the 2nd Wisconsin 
Volunteers, a Fond du Lac unit; Charles Clark serv- 
ed with "G" Co., 2nd Wisconsin Volunteers from Ap- 



66 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



pleton, Wis. Both Mr. Clark and Mr. Mollitor sol- 
diered in Porto Rico. Willis Otis enlisted January 
10, 1899. with Co. "D" of the 4th U. S. Infantry. He 
was mustered out in 1901 after service in the Philip- 
pines. Fred Springstead enlisted in May, 1898. 

FRED SPRINGSTEAD— HERO. 

Fred Springstead, son of Mrs. Jane Springstead, of 
Antigo, was the only Langlade County man to be kill- 
ed during the Spanish-American War. He was killed 
in action August 1, 1898, before the entrenchments of 
Cavite, P. I. by a sniping sharpshooter. He died 
while fighting with "D" Company of the 1st Colorado 
Volunteers. 




FRED SPRINGSTE.^D 

The first LaiiKlade County soldier to be killed in action, 

while lightinK for his Country. He enlisted in Colorado 

during the .Spanish-AmcricaTi War. 

A bust of Fred Springstead now appears in the 
state capitol, Denver, Colorado, as young Spring- 
stead was the first Colorado soldier to fall. 

His military funeral at the Antigo M. E. Church, 
March 29, 1900, was the largest gathering that had 
to that day ever assembled to pay homage to a Lang- 
lade County hero. 

ANTIGO GUARD COMPANY. 

After the Spanish-American War a military unit 
known as the Antigo Guard Company was organized, 
March 21, 1901. Officers chosen were: Captain, 
George H. Doersch; 1st Lieut., William C. Ross; 2nd 
Lieut., Thomas F. Thompson; Secretary, R. C. Lillie. 

The muster roll of enlisted men was as follows: H. 
Baldwin, Herman Brecklin, Peter P. Chadek, F. C. 
Duchac, A. E. Dove, F. Doner, C. W. Frick, George 
Fehring. R. H. Ford, W. P. Fessenden, P. H. French, 
P. H. Flanagan, J. W. Flanagan, Will Flynn, Ernest 
Fondow, Walter Guile, E. L. Goff, J. H. Hopkins, 
William H. Hackett, E. D. Humphrey, Paul Heller, 
H. B. Heinemann, Colon Hutchinson, F. G. Hoffman, 
Alfred Klock, August Kurz, John Kebble, A. B. Kra- 
mer, Harry F. Kohl, Otto Molle, J. W. Mader, J. P. 
McHale, C. H. Rice, R. Rounds, F. J. Rhode, C. W. 
Rock, Julius Strauch, Max Steinhauer, G. H. Wan- 
ninger and Louis Zern. 

The roll was augmented by new members during 



the six months following organization. The company 
was reorganized with a change in officers. Thomas 
Thompson, J. H. Hopkins, D. Meyer served as Cap- 
tains successively. When the company disbanded, 
because it was not possible to be admitted into the 
Wisconsin National Guards, it had the following offi- 
cers: Captain, J. H. Hopkins; 1st Lieut., Harry F. 
Kohl, and 2nd Lieutenant, Otto F. Berner. 




THE ANTIGO GUARDS OF 1901. 
Camping on the banks of the Eau Claire River. 

The old Antigo Guards was a live unit, much more 
so than the Antigo Light Guards of 1888, who dis- 
banded shortly after their organization. Many an In- 
dependence Day celebration and sham battle were 
given by the Antigo Guards. The Battle of Crocker's 
Landing was a thrilling mock battle staged by Antigo 
Guards at a July 4th celebration. 

THE 14TH WISCONSIN REUNION. 

The old 14th Wisconsin Regiment of Civil War 
fame held a reunion in Antigo in June 1902. Antigo 
was lavishly decorated. A welcome address was giv- 
en the veterans by Mayor Thomas W. Hogan. Beauti- 
ful arches were erected at Edison, Clermont, and Su- 
perior streets and near the depot. Antigo people en- 
rolled at the reunion headquarters were: George 
Jessie, "A" Co., 14th Wis.; Lieut. C. M. Beattie and 
wife; Edward Daskam, "G" Co.; M. V. Elliott, "H" 
Co., and E. Galligan, "H" Co., all of the 14th Wis- 
consin. 

ANTIGO BOYS WITH PERSHING AT BORDER. 

Pancho Villa, bandit chieftain, in his desire to wage 
guerilla warfare against the United States, ransacked 
the border town of Columbus, New Mexico. Presi- 
dent Wilson ordered General John J. Pershing into 
Chihuahua and other northern Mexican states in pur- 
suit. State militia was called out to patrol the bor- 
der and excitement was high. Langlade County boys 
in Co. L., Rhinelander, Oneida County military unit, 
were Louis Maybee, Archie and Curtis Carpenter of 
the city of Antigo, Charles Gehrke, Summit Lake, 
Oscar Hertell of Bass Lake, and Otto Staats. They 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



67 



returned home after eight months of border service, 
February 28, 1917. Truck drivers were necessary for 
border warfare and Bert Nixon, Lester Tosch, Ben 
Pliska and Ward Walsh enlisted in that branch of 
service. 

RECRUITING FOR WORLD WAR. 

When it became apparent that the United States had 
no alternative but to enter the war against Germany, 
a recruiting office was opened in Antigo. It was lo- 
cated in the rear of the Rogers-McCollister fruit 
store, Voight Bldg., and later located in the Manthey 
bldg., corner of Fifth Avenue and Edison Street. 

Edward Cody, Postmaster, and Otto F. Berner were 
the men most influential in organizing plans for an 
Antigo military unit. They were working quietly on 
the matter as early as June, 1916. 

First volunteers to sign the roll on April 6, 1917, 
were as follows: O. A. Miller, William H. Leslie, 
Mike Skibbins, George Kolerus, Orville Green, Ezra 
Knapp, John Gesiorek, George Chadek, Leland May- 
otte, Henry Tenant, Leland A. Tollefson, Frank T. 
Lynde, Stanley Talarcyzk, John Chadek, Edwin Walk- 
er, Edwin Menting, Richard Hugnin, Bill Now, AI 
Menting, F. M. Hopkins, Floyd Topping, E. Krauk, F. 
Stidel, Silas Baird, J. Sharon, Jr., Evan Martin, Otto 
F. Berner, Alex Skibba, Leo Mountain, Al Dixon, B. 
Hogan, A. McGregor, P. J. Sleeter, Hermis F. Dionne, 
Leo Bowens, William Bonier, Henry Edwards, Frank 
Schyzyski, Henry Kawalski, O. G. Brandow, Hugh 
Nelson, S. V. Noble, F. Hersant, Leo Ottman, Bert 
Mayerl, Lester Parkhill, Floyd Burdin, Clarence No- 
wotny, Robert M. Dessureau, George P. Rath, Albert 
B. Arnold, C. D. Leslie, Harold Huntoon, George Rabi- 
deau. Otto Weiher, John Shadick, Edwin Boettcher, 
James Schultz, J. B. Zodrow, Robert Mattmiller, J. H. 
Hopkins, Norman Preston, Merritt Reader, Raymond 
Lange, R. S. Griffith, George E. Brown, Ray Clegg, 
Daniel Hayes, George McArthur, John Maltby, John 
Wall, I. Hoffman, Will Rice, I. C. Green, D. 0. Rich- 
ter, George Edee, J. Churney, Charles Bonnell, W. C. 
Peterson, C. H. Anderson, Charles McArthur, Anton 
Bosacki, W. Neary, Dan Kehlnofer, Jerome Riley, 
Frank Luckowicz, John Cherek, William Reif, F. 
Bahr, E. G. Winters, Walter Lange, James Garvey, 
and Theodore Sloat. 

ANTIGO MILITIA LEAGUE. 

The Antigo Militia League was organized April 18, 
1917, two weeks after war was declared. Henry Hay 
was elected President; Edward Cody, Vice President; 
Fred L. Berner, Secretary, and J. C. Lewis, Treasurer. 

The object of the league was to promote the organ- 
ization of an Antigo military unit; to give moral and 
financial aid to the unit in its embryo stages. An 
executive committee consisting of G. J. Quigley, R. 
B. Johns, S. B. UUman, Fred L. Berner, and John 
Hanousek, was appointed. The Antigo Militia League 
applied for state aid for an armory under the Wilcox 
Law after John Hanousek, a member of the executive 



committee, purchased the Antigo Opera House and 
presented it to the city for an armory. This work, to- 
gether with a great patriotic meeting. May 16, 1917, 
when Col. Guy D. Goff and General Charles King 
spoke and the organization of Company "G," 4th Wis- 
consin Regiment, practically completed the purpose 
of the Militia League. 

The Antigo Militia League performed a commend- 
able service in an anxious time in the history of Lang- 
lade County. 

CITIZENS' TRAINING CAMP. 

The Antigo Citizens' Training Camp, a home mili- 
tary unit, recognized in war on an equal status with 
the state militia, was organized October 26, 1917. A 
Board of Governors consisting of C. J. TeSelle, James 
Cody, S. B. UUman, J. D. Mylrea, and Fred L. Berner 
was appointed. J. D. Mylrea was elected Captain, C. 
J. TeSelle, 1st Lieutenant, and Edward Faust, 2nd 
Lieutenant of the unit. Captain Mylrea resigned 
shortly after his selection. C. J. TeSelle then became 
Captain, Edward Faust, 1st Lieutenant, and Charles 
Cody, 2nd Lieutenant. 

The Citizens' Training Camp drilled regularly and 
performed a service of importance at home. The or- 
ganization took its oath and was inspected by a repre- 
sentative of the Adjutant General. No definite ter- 
mination was made of the home guards, as they were 
called. Drill ceased when war ended. 

ORIGINAL ROSTER OF THE 107TH TRENCH 

MORTAR BATTERY AS COMPANY "G" 

4TH WISCONSIN INFANTRY. 

Captain — 0. A. Miller. 

First Lieutenant — Otto F. Berner. 

Second Lieutenant — Vernon J. Quigley. 

First Sergeant — Frank T. Lynde. 

Supply Sergeant — Harry Zuehlke. 

Mess Sergeant — William E. McNamara. 

Stable Sergeant — Louis J. Maybee. 

Sergeants — Robert C. Dewey, Hermis F. Dionne, 
Robert E. Mattmiller, George A. Bates, Raymond R. 
Clegg, William L. Andrews, Floyd E. Fitzgerald. 

Buglers — Ralph H. Berner, Earl W. Huntoon. 

Corporals — Abner J. Rolo, Frank A. Cherek, Harvey 
E. Goebel, Leonard Rolo, Lester N. Parkhill, George 
E. Brown, Harry L. Zwickey, Howard E. Beldin, Wil- 
liam H. Wessa, Alex P. Skibba, Joseph Wojtasiak, 
Frank L. Smith, Joseph Rath, Frank C. Fischer, Amos 
J. Maltby, Edward J. Bernier, James I. Prosser. 

Privates, 1st Class— Albert B. Arnold, Willard J. 
Bernier, Orlin G. Brandow, George E. Buerger, George 
G. Edee, Frank D. Fierst, Ira D. Finley, Frank W. 
Fischer, Roy Goodwill, Daniel D. Hayes, Francis A. 
Hersant, Clarence Horn, Charles W. Hotchkiss, Rich- 
ard A. Hugunin, Nestor C. Humblet, Roy A. Joles, 
Edward H. Koles, John B. Maltby, Bert L. Mayerl, 
Edwin Menting, Bernard Miller, Anson G. Mueller, 
Neal A. McArthur, Terrence A. McCann, Hugh B. 
Nelson, Edmond Noel, Clarence H. Nowotny, 



68 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Thomas F. O'Brien, William E. Page, William Pas- 
suelo, Jay W. Plopper, George A. Rabideau, George 
P. Rath, Amos A. Rice, William I. Rice, Walter B. 
Scott, Frank Skibba, Reese D. Sparks, Orson F. Stone, 
Leland F. Tollefson, Raymond J. Wagner, Julius N. 
Weinberg, Ira Zwickey. 

Privates — George P. Ackerman, William W. Adget, 
Joe Alft, Harry Aim, William F. Auclair, Frank J. 
Bahr, William T. Ballard, Edward D. Bardwell, Ed- 
ward Blaha, James Blaha, Edward G. Blahnik, Joseph 
F. Blahnik, Harry H. Bohse, Charles Bonnell, John 
F. Borowczyk, Leo M. Bowens, Harold D. Bovet, Mar- 
tin J. Brennan, Robert S. Brown, Ray L. Carpenter, 
Joseph F. Chadek, Stanley A. Christian, Benjamin H. 
Clark, Henry Cornelius, Charles Couveau, Wallace 
Curran, Lyle A. Dalton, Roy E. Drew, Arleigh L. 
Dudley, Frank Fischer, Frank J. Gugla, Leo J. Glugla, 
William D. Grigson, Andrew M. Halminiak, Bernard 
R. Hogan, Anton W. Homola, Fayett M. Hopkins, 




(). A. .MILLER 

Captain of original Co. G. Promoted to Major Octol)i.r I, 

li)lS. Overseas from February IT, 1!IIS to lamiary 

1, 1!)1S. Major Miller participated in the Alsace 

defensive. Cliateau-'riiierry. Jnvigny and 

Mnese-.\rgonnc battles. Major Miller 

was awarded the Croix de (luerre 

for bravery by the I'^rench 

(ioveninient. 

Lynn E. Hull, Joseph V. Jagla, Frank Janness, August 
Jaster, Richard Kaplanek, Frank H. Keen, Andrew 
Kielhofer, Louis Klinner, George Kolerus, Walter Ko- 
zarek, Frank J. Kotavy, George A. Kotchi, Frank W. 
Kubiaczyk, John A. Lebek, Joseph Leindecker, Felix 
Lepinski, Cyril D. Leslie, Gordon Maloney, Roscoe 
Manning, Frank Manthey, George E. Martin, Richard 
H. Martiny, Cliff Middleton, Clarence C. Morse, 
George W. Mulhern, Frank Muraski, Frank J. Novak, 
William H. Now, Erwin Nowotny, Charles Olson, 
Frank Opichka, Burnie L. Orr, Francis E. Othrow, 
William Peters, Samuel Potts, Floyd C. Rath, Merrit 
W. Reader, Wallie Remington, Hiram W. Renfro, 
William Rief, Alfred Robinson, William Schielke, 



Peter Schramke, George Schwentner, John W. Seis, 
Earl W. Shanks, Archie W. Shannon, Vernon F. Shan- 
non, Frank Spychalla, Otto Tiegs, Roy J. Thompson, 
Harold C. Tenant, Ora N. Tidd, Grant J. Turney, Jr., 
Joseph M. Van Dyke, Adles A. Willams, Hilery B. 
Wineberger, Emil H. Wojan, Walter Wojeck, George 
A. Zehner, John D. Zemske, Joseph A. Zima, John B. 
Zodrow. 

COMPANY G, 4TH WISCONSIN. 

The application for creating an Antigo military unit 
was forwarded to the Adjutant General, Orlando Hol- 
way, at once after the necessary volunteers had en- 
listed and other arrangements made. April 22, 1917, 
at the Antigo High School, sixty-five recruits were 
sworn into service as soldiers of Company G., 4th Wis- 
consin National Guard. Otto A. Miller was elected 
temporary Captain, Otto F. Berner, temporary 1st 





OTTO F. BERNER 

Captain of the lOTth Trench Mortar Battery, was 1st 

Lieutenant of the original Co. G. He was promoted 

October l(i, I'.ns. Captain Berner enlisted .April 21, 

I'.llT as a private. He served overseas from 

February 17, 191S to February 27, lill!) and 

participated in the Alsace defensive, 

Chateau-Thierry, Jnvigny and 

Muese-.^rgonne battles. 

Lieutenant, and Vernon Quigley, temporary 2nd Lieu- 
tenant. Captain Miller was permanently commission- 
ed May 17, 1917. Lieutenants Berner and Quigley 
were permanently commissioned July 12, 1917. 

The new company drilled at the ball park in ear- 
nest from July 15, 1917, to August 11, 1917, when it 
was ordered to Camp Douglas, Wisconsin. Amid im- 
pressive scenes and farewells that were heart-rending, 
the boys entrained. Thousands of people were at the 
Antigo depot at seven o'clock that eventful morning to 
bid farewell to Langlade County's military unit. Who 
knew but what they would not return? 

Company G conducted itself admirably at Camp 
Douglas, from which place it was ordered to Camp 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



69 



McArthur, Waco, Texas (with the 32nd Division). 
The 4th, 5th, and 6th Wisconsin regiments were re- 
organized at Camp McArthur and Company G be- 
came the 107th Trench Mortar Battery. 

107TH TRENCH MORTAR BATTERY. 

The 107th Trench Mortar Battery was a unit of the 
57th Field Artillery Brigade. Lieutenant Otto Ber- 
ner was ordered to Ft. Sill, Oklahoma, to take a 
three months' field artillery course. The battery left 
Camp McArthur February 8, 1918, proceeded to Camp 
Merrit, N. J., and on February 16, 1918, boarded the 
U. S. S. President Grant and a day later sailed from 
New York harbor. They arrived at Brest, France, 
March 4, 1918. While Langlade County citizens were 
aware that the Antigo unit would sail soon, they did 
not know it had embarked from New York until noti- 
fication of the unit's safe arrival at Brest was given 
out by the War Department. 

From Brest the battery proceeded to Pontinazian 
Barracks and after a few days' rest marched to Camp 
de Coetquidan, near Guer, France. Some of the An- 
tigo soldiers were ill and remained at Brest. Private 
Ora N. Tidd, son of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Tidd of Neo- 
pit, Wisconsin, a member of the 107th, died at Brest 
in March, 1918. He was 26 years old at the time of 
his death. He enlisted July 18, 1917. 

The 107th Trench Mortar Battery evacuated Camp 
de Coetquidan for the Alsace Sector, near the Swiss 
border, June 10, 1918. Captain Miller and Lieuten- 
ants Berner and Quigley returned May 10, 1918, to 
the 107th headquarters, after attending a trench mor- 
tar school at Langres en Marne. Lieut M. V. Griscom 
of Chattanooga, Tennessee, had charge of the battery 
during their absence. 

IN ALSACE— REESE SPARKS KILLED. 

The 107th was in action in the Alsace Sector on 
June 29, 1918, and it was here that Reese Sparks fell 
fighting for his country. Reese Sparks, first Langlade 
County soldier to be killed in action, was the son of 
Mr. and Mrs. George Sparks of Olive Hill, Kentucky, 
and enlisted in the Antigo unit in June, 1917. 

ALFT AND BALLARD KILLED. 

The 107th Trench Mortar Battery was located in a 
French fort and attached to French Mortar Batteries 
while in the Alsace Sector. Here Joseph Alft and 
Thomas Ballard were killed by a premature explosion 
on July 8, 1918. Joseph Alft was the son of John 
Alft of Shawano, Wis. He enlisted April 23, 1917. 
Thomas Ballard was the son of Mr. and Mrs. John 
Ballard, Elton, Wis. He was born August 12, 1895, 
and enlisted May 6, 1917. John Baetz and Jackimo 
Gambino of Detroit, Michigan, were wounded by the 
same explosion. 



AT CHATEAU THIERRY. 

July 20, 1918, the 107th Trench Mortar Battery was 
ordered to Chateau Thierry and there participated in 
the Vesle River engagement. The unit used captured 




A TRENCH MORTAR 
Used l)v the liirth Trench Mortar Battery 
World War. 



in the 



German trench mortars in the skirmish. The 107th 
was under fire from July 27 to August 23, 1918, while 
in this section. When not in the lines the men were 
engaged in burying the dead and in salvage. 

CORPORAL L. A. TOLLEFSON KILLED. 

In the Vesle River engagement, where the Ameri- 
can army won undying glory by pushing the German 
army back for miles. Corporal Leland ToUefson was 
killed on August 17, 1918. He was delivering an im- 
portant message to brigade headquarters in the Cha- 
teau Thierry Sector and sacrificed his life while on 
that duty. Corporal Tollefson was the son of Mrs. 
A. M. Tollefson and was born May 30, 1894. 

IN THE ARGONNE FOREST. 

August 25, 1918, the 107th moved north of Soissons, 
just previously captured by the French and Ameri- 
cans. September 15, 1918, the battery was ordered to 
the historic Argonne forest. The unit arrived at its 
destination September 24, 1918. The battery was split 
into two groups and assisted two French mortar bat- 
teries in the Argonne offensive, which was launched 
with a terrific attack upon the Germans September 
26, 1918. The end of war was now in sight, as the 
German army was retreating all along the entire front. 

107TH OFFICERS PROMOTED. 

On October 1, 1918, Captain O. A. Miller was pro- 
moted to rank of Major and assigned to a trench mor- 
tar battalion. Fifteen days later Lieutenants Berner 



70 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



and Quigley were promoted to Captain and First Lieu- 
tenant respectively. 

The 107th Trench Mortar Battery assisted the 89th 
Division Trench Mortar Batteries in a drive against 
the Germans at Bantherville, twenty miles northwest 
of Verdun, October 25, 1918. Thirteen days later, 
November 17, the Antigo unit left the front lines. 

November 9, 1918, the 57th Field Artillery Brigade 
was ordered to Bar Le Due because of a shortage of 
horses needed to haul battery equipment. The bat- 
tery equipment of the 107th was disposed of at Vitrey 
in December, 1918, and the Langlade County soldiers 
were now ready to embark for America. Joy spread 
over the entire unit at the thought of home and loved 
ones. But it was a long wait ahead of the now sea- 
soned veterans of the greatest war in history before 
they would trod on American soil. 

The 107th was detained at Angers, France, in the 
early part of January, 1919. Angers is a short dis- 



James A. Cody, Charles W. Fish, William H. Brown, 
C. J. TeSelle and Fred L. Berner, were in charge of 
the great celebration, program and parade. Langlade 
County made it a holiday such as the children of its 
citizens of the coming generations will ask questions. 
Thousands of mothers, weary and overstrained be- 
cause of war, sweethearts, wives, fathers, brothers and 
sisters beseiged the passenger coaches of that historic 
train. The Antigo band struck up the tune "On Wis- 
consin" as the boys stepped from the train. Rousing 
cheers were given them from the huge mass of hu- 
manity. It was a day Langlade County will not for- 
get. God had delivered back to the folks at home 
the soldiers who had bid farewell August 11, 1917. 
They marched to the Antigo Armory where John Han- 
ousek had prepared a regular meal, "the kind mother 
makes," for them. And although Uncle Sam fed his 
soldiers the best, the 107th soldiers thought much 
more of "what mother cooked." 




RETURN' OF THE lOTTH TRENCH MORTAR B.\TTERV 

May 17, 1919, thousands of relatives and friends greeted the boys, who 

served in the World War, as they inarched down Fifth .Avenue, 

Antigo, Wis. .\ntigo has never since been in such gala attire. 

It was a notable event in the history of 

Langlade County. 



tance from St. Nazairre and here the 107th was on 
detail duty until the early part of April, when orders 
to proceed to St. Nazairre for embarkation were given. 

HOMEWARD BOUND. 

April 20, 1919, the 107th boarded the U. S. S. Mer- 
cury and ten days later, April 30, 1919, landed at 
Philadelphia. The boys were mustered out of serv- 
ice at Camp Grant, 111., on May 15, 1919, and arrived 
in Antigo on a special train at 11.30 a. m., May 17, 
1919. 

THE GREAT WELCOME HOME. 

Never in the history of Langlade County will there 
be witnessed such a welcome as that accorded the 
valiant soldiers of the 107th Trench Mortar Battery. 
The flag-bedecked special train pulled into Antigo 
near noon. The citizens' committee, consisting of 



TWO PROGRAMS. 

After the monstrous parade, second to none in the 
county's history, was reviewed by civic leaders and 
Civil War veterans, two programs were given. The 
Armory program was presided over by Judge T. W. 
Hogan and that in the Beavers' Hall was presided 
over by Judge J. W. Parsons. Officers and men of 
the battery talked of their experiences and sang 
trench songs. When the program closed that evening 
the boys began at once to turn their attention to the 
arts of peace, and, like Cinncinnatus, took up their 
tasks where they left off almost two years before. 

THE COUNCIL OF DEFENSE. 

The Langlade County Council of Defense was or- 
ganized April 10, 1917, with the following member- 
ship chosen by the State Council of Defense: Chair- 
man, Leonard Freiburger; M. T. Canfield, Food Ad- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



71 



ministrator; C. J. TeSelle, Secretary; Agricultural De- 
partment, F. G. Swoboda; Transportation, G. J. Quig- 
ley; Banks, W. B. McArthur; Red Cross, Edward 
Cody; Labor, Edward Gibbons; Press, Fred L. Ber- 
ner; Public Nurse, Elizabeth Cornish; Women, Mrs. 
H. V. Mills; Executive Committee, Leonard Freibur- 
ger, Edward Cody and C. J. TeSelle. 

The Council of Defense had as its many duties 
registration of the Antigo Militia unit, supplying or- 
ganization and expense for the war registration, en- 
couraging food production and conservation, distribu- 
tion of funds to various committees and aided in meet- 
ing all labor emergencies, promulgated ideals of loyalty 
and Americanism, furnished speakers to every Lang- 
lade County community in all war drives, co-ordinated 
the women organizations to war conditions, gave their 
support to the State Council of Defense in mobiliza- 
tion, executed the supply, distribution and welfare of 
labor in the county, acted to curb disloyalty and sedi- 
tion, assisted U. S. secret service agents in a campaign 
of education among the few who were disloyal, pro- 
vided for the protection of public health, assisted the 
federal government in floating the various loans and 
war drives, encouraged community and patriotic sing- 
ing with the aid of rural and city schools, distributed 
wheat and corn seed in car lots with the aid of the 
county agent, the Farmers Co-operative store and Hirt 
Brothers Milling Company, cared for the food and fuel 
supplies of the county, aided War Savings Stamp and 
Red Cross drives, executed the Victory Fund drive, 
and received whole-hearted support from the public 
in the "war garden and back yard poultry flock" cam- 
paigns of 1917. 

C. J. TeSelle, District Attorney, Edward Cody, 
Postmaster, and W. J. Gallon were the local committee 
that acted on all sedition charges. 

The Langlade County Board unanimously approved 
the action of the Council of Defense and without soli- 
citation appropriated money to aid it. The Council 
of Defense automatically ceased its work six months 
after armistice day. Thirty-four cases of disloyalty 
were reviewed by the organization. Apprehension of 
slackers was accomplished by the U. S. District At- 
torney through the local committee. 

FIRST MEN TRANSPORTED. 

The first men transported by the Council of Defense 
was November 1, 1917, when John Chadek, Charles 
Dean, William Schatschneider, Edward Boerner, Lad- 
die Bierczynski and Earl Hodgson joined a group of 
volunteers at Rhinelander and proceeded to Texas. 

HISTORIC POSTERS. 

The Council of Defense was charged with register- 
ing every male inhabitant of draft age. Governor E. L. 
Philipp was anxious that Wisconsin be first to report 
complete registration. He sent the following wire to 
C. J. TeSelle through the State Council of Defense : 
"Every point must be worked out carefully in each 



precinct. Wisconsin must be first" — Melville, State 
Council of Defense. 

The Langlade County Council then posted large 
cards everywhere bearing the words : "Work or Fight," 
"Register or go to Jail." The State Historical Society 
has one of each of the posters in its archives. 

C. J. TeSelle was appointed Government Appeal 
Agent by President Wilson at the opening of the war 
and was honorably discharged March 31, 1919. He 
worked with the Board of Exemption. 

FOUR-MINUTE SPEAKERS. 

C. J. TeSelle, T. W. Hogan. J. W. Parsons, W. J. 
Gallon, Fred L. Berner, Arthur Goodrick, Henry Hay, 
Robert M. Dessureau, F. J. Finucane, Charles H. 
Avery, T. J. Reinert, A. N. Whiting, H. Morson, E. A. 
Morse, A. M. Arveson and F. G. Swoboda. 

OTHER WAR ACTIVITIES. 

Antigo had a Labor Bureau in charge of A. A. Gar- 
land and much was accomplished by it. The United 
States Public Service reserve was represented in Lang- 
lade County during the war by Edward Cody. A. M. 
Arveson had charge of the Boys' Working Bureau. 
Peter Krier had charge of the bureau for returning 
soldiers and sailors as early as December, 1918. The 
Community Labor Board consisted of the following 
members : Peter W. Krier, Charles W. Fish, Esther 
English, for employers; Fred W. Luebke and Miss 
Althea Wade for employes. Peter Krier was examiner 
and John H. Menting, junior examiner of the Antigo 
war employment office. County Fuel Administrators 
were: R. Koebke, James Cody and C. H. Avery suc- 
cessively. Food Administrators for Langlade County 
in order of service were : Charles Metcalf , M. T. Can- 
field, David Stewart and Mose A. Jansen. F. J. Finu- 
cane had charge of the war history work for the Wis- 
consin War History Commission in Langlade County. 
The County Non-War Construction Committee con- 
sisted of Endre Norem of Bryant, Leonard Freiburger 
and Mose Jansen of Antigo. 

LEGAL ADVISORY BOARD. 

The Langlade County Legal Advisory Board ren- 
dered efficient service gratuitous to drafted men in 
filling out questionairres. The board had the following 
membership : Chairman, Henry Hay, Charles Avery 
and Arthur Goodrick. They were often assisted by 
other citizens, including members of the bar, school 
officials and ministers. 

BOARD OF EXEMPTION— SELECTIVE SERVICE 
LAW. 

The Selective Service Law, section four, authoriz- 
ed the creation of a Board of Exemption in each 
county in the State or one board for every thirty thou- 
sand inhabitants in a large city. The Board of Exemp- 
tion of Langlade County was appointed by President 
Wilson, membership consisting of the following: J. C. 



72 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Lewis, Valentine P. Rath, Miss Carrie Collins, Fred 
Jacobus, Henry Hersant, Edward F. Buchen, Dr. J. C. 
Wright and F. J. Finucane (deceased). 

The Board of Exemption had power to hear and de- 
termine, subject to review, all questions of exemption 
under the Selective Service Act and all questions or 
claims for including or discharging individuals from 
selective draft, made under rules and regulations 
prescribed by the President, except for persons who, 
under the provisions of the Selective Service Act, were 
legally exempt because of their being engaged in in- 
dustry or agriculture found necessary to the mainten- 
ance of military forces and national interest during the 
emergency. 



DRAFT PLAN CHANGED. 

The original draft method was changed in Septem- 
ber, 1917, and all future registrants were required to 
fill out questionairres in which general questions rela- 
tive to physical fitness, citizenry, divinity, military 
service, federal or municipal service, dependency, re- 
ligious conviction against war, industrial and agricul- 
tural occupation and numerous other matters were an- 
swered. 

Draft ages were extended to all youths who had at- 
tained twenty-one years of age between June 5, 1918, 
and August 24, 1918. Registration took place August 
24, 1918. 




TH1-: HOARD OF EXEMPTION' OF LAXGL.XDE COfXTV. 



J. C. Lewis 



Valentine V. Katli. 



Miss Carrie Collins. 
Fred Jacobus. 



Henry Hersant. 

Edward F'. nuchcn. 



C. Wright. 

F. I. Finncane. 



The order of military liability of registrants was 
determined by lottery. The serial numbers of all reg- 
istrants drawn for service were published in local pa- 
pers. Notice was given at once to registrants. This 
list was often referred to as the "red ink list." The 
local Board of Exemption fulfilled the purpose of the 
Selective Service Law in leaving at home in national 
interest, married men who were actually supporting 
families. 



September 12, 1918, all Langlade County male in- 
habitants not in service between the ages of eighteen 
and forty-five registered in accordance with a state 
executive proclamation. 

THE LAST DRAFT. 

November 11, 1918, news and rumors were current 
in Antigo that the armistice was signed. The local 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



73 



Board of Exemption was instructed to proceed, how- 
ever, with mobilization of men who were ordered to 
embark for camps beginning with the five day period 
starting November 11. A telegram, as follows, was re- 
ceived by the local board : "Work of Local Boards will 
proceed uninterruptedly." About four o'clock in the 
afternoon of November 11, 1918, a telegram was re- 
ceived at the local exemption board cancelling the 
last draft contingent that would in a few hours have 
been on "their way to camp" had not these words — 
"armistice signed — cancel draft," been received. 

The Exemption Board thereupon gradually complet- 
ed its work in the county. A total of 4,579 regis- 
trants were passed upon during its existence. The 
total registration on June 5, 1917, was 2,024; June and 
August, 1918, total registration in Langlade County 
was 180 men; September 12, 1918, 2,555 were regis- 
tered. Of those registered in Langlade County 530 
were accepted at camp, 611 were chosen for general 
service, 38 were classed as remediables, 47 were plac- 
ed in limited service, 51 were disqualified from serv- 
ice, 680 were granted deferments because of depen- 
dency claims, 122 because of agriculture claims, and 
20 because of industrial service. 

VICTORY FUND. 

The Langlade County Victory Fund Campaign, or- 
ganized to consolidate all war drives without waste 
or unnecessary effort, into one great fund raising cam- 
paign, was launched July 14, 1918. The organization 
perfected to raise this fund was under the supervision 
of the Council of Defense of Langlade County. Offi- 
cers and trustees held office for one year and directed 
the disbursement of funds upon orders approved by 
the Executive Committee. The total amount collect- 
ed during the campaign was $33,506.98, of which 
$25,000 was collected by the time the armistice was 
signed. The first subscription was $25 by the Com- 
munity Welfare Association. Charles W. Fish con- 
tributed the largest individual subscription of $500. 
With the exception of $1,349.25 used for remodeling 
the Armory, $334.02 appropriated for the homecom- 
ing celebration of the Langlade County Soldiers, 
$8,771.96 turned over to the local Red Cross Chapter, 
together with a small amount for current expenses, 
the balance was turned over to the state headquarters 
of the United War Work Campaign at Milwaukee. 
Organizations participating in the Victory Fund were 
Y. M. C. A., Y. W. C. A., National Catholic War 
Council, K. of C, Jewish Welfare Board, War Camp 
Community Service, American Library Association 
and Salvation Army. 

Headquarters of the Victory Fund were in the City 
Hall at Antigo, managed by Mose A. Jansen. The 
fund was capably supervised under the direction of 
the Chairman and Town Committees, a complete ros- 
ter of which appears : 

LIST OF CHAIRMEN. 

Executive — C. J. Te Sella. 
Publicitj' — S. Ullman. 



Speakers — Ami Whiting. 

Industries and Employers — G. K. Meneely. 

Wards: 1st — Edward Cody; 2nd — W. J. Hammond; 
3rd — Joseph Tessar; 4th — James McKenna; 5th — W. 
J. Zahl ; 6th— H. E. Sargent. 

TOWN COMMITTEES. 

Ackley — John O'Brien. 
Ainsworth — John Aird. 
Antigo — Wm. Brennecke. 
Elcho— G. W. Bauer. 
Elton— Wm. Alft. 
Evergreen — H. P. Juetten. 
Langlade — Hugh St. Clair. 
Neva — John Schultz. 
N9rwood — E. A. Moss. 
Peck — Wm. Wegner. 
Polar — Herman Parson. 
Price — Endre Norem. 
Rolling — Gustav Schroeder. 
Summit— North— Alfred Hurlbut. 
Summit — South — Geo. E. King. 
Upham — Wm. Pfeister. 
Vilas — Geo. Marshall. 

TOWN OF ACKLEY. 

Chairman of Town — John O'Brien. 

District No. 1— Walter Heyl; District No. 2— John 
Bahr, Jr., District No. 3 — Art Goodman; District No. 5 
— Frank Fisher; District No. 6 — J. Schmutsch, Jr.; 
District No. 7— Otto Klessig. 

TOWN OF AINSWORTH. 

Chairman of Town — John Aird. 

District No. 3 — John Aird; District No. 4 — John 
Harvey; District No. 5 — C. A. Swanson; District No. 
6 — Archie Spencer; District No. 7 — E. S. Tradewell. 

TOWN OF ANTIGO. 

Chairman of Town — William Brennecke. 

District No. 1— E. D. Gould; District No. 2— Harry 
Ralph; District No. 3 — John Olson; District No. 4 — 
Oscar Peterson; District No. 5 — Claude Jensen; Dis- 
trict No. 6— Ed. Hruska; District No. 7— J. G. Urness. 

TOWN OF ELCHO. 



Chairman of Town — G. W. Bauer. 
District No. 1 — William Fenton; District No. 2- 
C. Maney. 

TOWN OF ELTON. 



-W. 



Chairman of Town — William Alft. 

District No. 1— W. D. Cavers; District No. 4 — G. H. 
Shannon; District No. 5 — H. E. Dempster; District No. 
6 — Ray Kielczewski. 

TOWN OF EVERGREEN. 

Chairman of Town — H. P. Juetten. 

District No. 1 — M. E. Taylor; District No. 3 — John 
Thornberry; District No. 4 — Geo. Fraley; District No. 
6 — Roland Combs; District No. 7 — Frank Tabor. 



74 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



TOWN OF LANGLADE. 

Chairman of Town — Hugh St. Clair. 

District No. 1 — Robert Braun; District No. 
James Orr; District No. 7— Christ Priem; District No. 
8 — Grant Gilray. 

TOWN OF NEVA. 

Chairman of Town — John Schultz. 

District No. 2— Frank Chadek; District No. 3— Fred 
Honzik; District No. 5 — John Behm; District No. 1, 
Jt. — Ernest Anderson; District No. 3, Jt. — Chas. 
Rusch. 

TOWN OF NORWOOD. 

Chairman of Town — Ernest A. Moss. 

District No. 1— E. A. Moss; District No. 2— Geo. W. 
Geurtz; District No. 3 — Walter Lloyd; District No. 4 — 
Henry Nauman; District No. 5 — Earl Hill; District No. 
6 — Norman Koch. 

TOWN OF PECK. 

Chairman of Town — William H. Wegner. 

District No. 1 — John Walker; District No. 3 — John 
Wegner; District No. 4 — Ludwig Strum; District No. 
6 — Chas. Jicha; District No. 5 Jt.— J. A. Barker. 

TOWN OF POLAR. 

Chairman of Town — Herman Parsons. 

District No. 1 — Wm. Schuman — District No. 2 — 
Henry Lade — District No. 3 — D. A. Mader; District 
No. 4 — A. Herman; District No. 5 — Sam Reeves; Dis- 
trict No. 6 — Louis Peters; District No. 7 — J. J. Creech. 

TOWN OF PRICE. 

Chairman of Town — Endre Norem. 

District No. 1 — Fred Hartman; District No. 2 — 
Chas. Dalton; District No. 3 — Frank Furry; District 
No. 4 — Richard Moller. 

TOWN OF ROLLING. 

Chairman of Town — Gustav Schroeder. 

District No. 1 — Frank Schroeder; District No. 2 — 
Chas. Vorass; District No. 3 — J. E. Monroe; District 
No. 4 — Joseph Modi; District No. 5 — H. A. Carley; 
District No. 6 — H. P. Wheeler. 

TOWN OF SUMMIT. 

Chairman of Town — Alfred Hurlbut. 

District No. 1 — Robert Cummings; District No. 2 — 
Conrad Simon; District No. 3 — George King; District 
No. 4— John Callsen; District No. 1 Con.— J. H. Wick- 
er. 

Chairman of South Upham township — Geo. King. 

TOWN OF UPHAM. 

Chairman of Town — Wm. Pheister. 

District No. 1 Con. — F. J. Koszarek; District No. 6 
— Emil Person; District No. 7 — Geo. Quick; District 
No. 2 Jt.— F. M. McKenney. 



TOWN OF VILAS. 

Chairman of Town — Geo. Marshall. 

District No. 1 — Rueben Hess; District No. 2— Frank 
Kobylinski; District No. 3; Chas. Hubbard; District 
No. A — John Yopes. 

LIBERTY LOAN CAMPAIGN. 

Langlade County responded nobly in the Liberty 
Loan Campaigns made during America's participation 
in the World War. 

The total amount subscribed for in each loan in 
Langlade County was as follows: 

First Campaign $138,750.00 

Second Campaign $434,300.00 

Third Campaign $425,400.00 

Fourth Campaign $701,100.00 

Fifth Campaign $396,950.00 

Total $2,096,500.00 

The Liberty Loan drives were directed by J. C. 
Lewis, Chairman, who served throughout the war. He 
was assisted by Sam B. Ullman, selected Vice-Chair- 
man, Attorney A. N. Whiting was Chairman of the 
Speakers' Bureau. Fred L. Berner was in charge of 
publicity. The women workers were directed by 
Mrs. F. V. Watson and Mrs. Howard Bishop. 

The success of the Liberty Loan drives in Langlade 
County was due to the energetic activity of the Liberty 
Loan workers and to the unflinching patriotism of the 
citizens, who from every walk of life bought bonds, 
"until it hurt." 

THE AMERICAN RED CROSS. 

Langlade County Chapter, American Red Cross was 
organized May 15, 1917, with the following officers: 
Chairman — Edward Cody; Secretary — John W. Brown; 
Vice-Chairman — Sam B. Ullman; Treasurer— W. B. 
McArthur; Membership — Mrs. T. J. Kavanaugh; Hos- 
pital Supplies — Mrs. R. Koebke ; Instructions — Miss 
Elizabeth Cornish; Motor Transportation — C. W. Van 
Doren; Finance — 0. P. Walch; Executive Committee 
—Judge T. W. Hogan, S. B. Ullman, Walter Gallon, 
Fred L. Berner and C. J. Te Selle. 

A membership campaign was launched and proved 
successful. This was followed by organization of a 
Junior branch of the local chapter. 

Langlade County's Red Cross Chapter reached the 
high mark of 4,581 members in 1919 and had a war 
fund totaling $14,602.80. Various methods were tak- 
en to raise funds for the Red Cross, such as a white 
elephant sale, church benefits, baseball games, bazaars 
and membership drives. 

Antigo young women who served as Red Cross 
nurses during the World War were: Miss Mable Les- 
lie, Anna Burnet, Miss Claire E. Censky, Miss Anna B. 
Honzik, Miss Clara Hull, Miss Paulina Benishek and 
Miss Mary Kalouner. 

Valuable local service was performed by Mrs. Wil- 
liam Knott, Mrs. S. B. Ullman, Mrs. F. V. Watson, 
Mrs. Fred L. Berner, Mrs. M. S. Hurless, Mrs. E. R. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



75 



Krause, Mrs. W. J. Gallon, Mrs. E. A. Morse, Mrs. P. 
W. Krier, Mrs. R. B. Johns, Miss Margaret Healy, Miss 
Ethel Tillotson, Miss Lillian Censky, Mrs. R. Koebke, 
Mrs. Edward Cody, Mrs. T. W. Hogan, Mrs. John Han- 
ousek, Mrs. A. N. Whiting, Mrs. F. P. Kelly, L. W. 
Filyes, Chapter Chairman in 1917, A. N. Whiting, Miss 
Theresa Driscoll, Mrs. T. J. Kavanaugh, all of the 
rural and city school teachers, Mrs. L. L. Gibbs, Mrs. 
N. Holmes, Mrs. John HoUey, Mrs. A. H. Anderson, 
Mrs. James A. Cody, Mrs. Otto Eshbach, Mrs. J. T. 
Fitzgerald, Mrs. Charles W. Fish, Mrs. Emma Gully, 
Mrs. E. J. Goodrick, Miss Annette Gleason, Mrs. 
Mayme O. Glassow, Mrs. W. J. Hammond, Mrs. P. J. 
Millard, Mrs. A. R. Treat, Miss Ella Kiefer, Mrs. M. H. 
Keenan, Mrs. H. R. Dawley, Mrs. X. Reese, Erna 
Bruss, Mrs. Frank P. Ver Bryck, Mrs. L. H. 
Abendschein, Mrs. John Burnet, Mrs. R. L. Denton, 
Mrs. N. Granger, Miss Grace Dessureau, Mrs. H. W. 
Jackson, Mrs. W. S. Jewell, Mrs. G. K. Meneely, Mrs. 
John Mumme, Miss Lillian McGreer, Mrs. William 
Rowlinson, Mrs. D. H. Sargent, Mrs. Ella B. Wilson, 
Mrs. William Dodge, Mrs. John Leykom, Mrs. Jule 
Libert, Mrs. H. V. Mills, Miss Nellie Christenson, Miss 
Kathleen Dana, Miss Ethel Gilmore, Miss Jane Weeks, 
Miss Nora Wirig, Miss Amelia Sabin, Miss Irene Read- 
er, Miss Willamine Riley, Miss Jessica Riley, Miss 
Mattie McMillan, Miss Ida Mornson, Mrs. Laura 
Granger, Miss Catherine Griswold, and Sisters M. Hy- 
acinth, M. Agnello, M. Alberta, M. Louis and M. 
Modesta. 

Officers of the Red Cross have been re-elected an- 
nually since 1917. The original officers remain in 
charge of the work. 910 members are listed for 1922 
in the local chapter. 

WOMEN AND THE WAR. 

The great burden of the war fell upon the women 
back at home. They labored incessantly while their 
brothers, husbands, sons and sweethearts crossed the 
Atlantic and faced the foe on the battlefront. They 
were helpful in maintaining here in the county the 
necessary morale, courage and sense of responsibility 
to keep the home fires burning. The last farewell and 
the terrible suspense did not leave until November 11, 
1919, when the vigil ceased. The women of Lang- 
lade County played their part at home and in service. 
Future generations should concede all honor to them. 

ADOPTING WAR ORPHANS. 

Fifty-five war orphans were adopted by Langlade 
County lodges, individuals and societies. The war 
orphans communicate with their benefactors. 

Y. M. C. A.— K. of C. 

Y. M. C. A. work in Langlade County during the 
World War was in charge of E. H. Palmer. Langlade 
County subscribed $5,528.28 in 1917 for Y. M. C. A. 
purposes. William Reese Dixon, Pastor of the Con- 
gregational Church served with the Y. M. C. A. from 
February 23, 1918 to July 3, 1918. Langlade County 
was in District No. 3 of the ten Wisconsin Y. M. C. A. 



districts. Besides the good work for which the funds 
were raised Langlade County citizens were educated 
during the drive about the "Y" and its merits. 

The Knights of Columbus contributed to the sup- 
port of all patriotic contributions among which was 
the K. of C. war activities. Antigo Council No. 1002, 
K. of C. raised a total of $4,242.22 prior to the United 
War Work Campaign in the fall of 1918. Their 
assessment then was $506.00. 

PUBLIC AND PAROCHIAL SCHOOLS. 

The Public and Parochial schools of Langlade Coun- 
ty demonstrated their loyalty and patriotism to the na- 
tion during the World War by purchasing Thrift and 
War Savings Stamps, Liberty Bonds, and in the High 
School, the classes adopted war orphans. The stirring 
patriotic songs, the patriotic essays written by the 
pupils and the student four minute topics on war cam- 
paigns all aided in maintaining a high morale at home. 
The school children played their part in the home 
coming celebrations, patriotic demonstrations and 
parades. 

THE AMERICAN LEGION. 

After the World War the returned soldiers rapidly 
organized as did the veterans of the Civil War. The 
American Legion became permanently established in 
Antigo in October, 1919. The local post took for its 
name, "Reese Sparks Post," in honor of Reese Sparks, 




REESE SPARKS 

The first Langlade County soldier to be killed in action 

and in whose honor Reese Sparks Post No. 3, 

.American Legion, was named. 

the first soldier of Langlade County to be killed in ac- 
tion in the World War. First officers were Com- 
mander, Otto F. Berner; Vice-Commander, Ray C. 
Dempsey; Adjutant, William Wessa; Historian, Harry 
Zuehlke; Chaplain, George Y. King; and Post Finance 
Officer, Ben Bradley. 

Present officers of the post are : Commander — Edgar 
Van Gorder; Vice-Commander — William Kohl; Adju- 
tant — E. E. Cherf ; Historian — Ed. Bernier; Chaplain — 
William Wessa; Post Finance Officer — Fred Kolerus; 
Executive Committee — Frank Lynde, Otto F. Berner, 
E. Koles and Harley Schaefer, with Commander, Vice- 
Commander and Adjutant. Meetings are held at the 
Adraktas Hall every first Monday of each month. The 
local post has a membership of about one hundred. 



76 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



It takes a prominent part in civic and patriotic affairs 
of Langlade County. 

PROSSER POST NO. 11, WORLD WAR 

VETERANS. 

The Prosser Post, No. 11, World War Veterans, was 
organized at a meeting at the Ullman Hall on February 
11, 1922. The meeting was presided over by State 
Commander Rebenstorff, who was introduced by W. 
H. Fuller. Officers chosen were : President, T. Cher- 
ek; Vice-President, A. Carlson; Secretary, H. Rich- 
ards; Treasurer, T. Mentch; Sergeant-at-Arms, Paul 
Chase. There were ten charter members. 




WILLIAM PROSSER 

Veteran of the World War. who was killed near Verdun. 

France. I'rosser Post, World War Veterans, was 

named in his memory. 

Meetings are now held the second and fourth Tues- 
days at Brunswick Hall. Ten members are now in 
the auxiliary to the post. The post was named in 
honor of William J. Prosser, son of Charles Prosser, 
Antigo, Wis. Prosser, a Wagoner, was killed Novem- 
ber 24, 1918, by being crushed between two trucks near 
Verdun, France. 

BATTERY "A" 120th F. A. 

Antigo's post war military unit is a part of the 120th 
Field Artillery, designated as Battery "A." It was 
organized on May 8, 1920. Frank T. Lynde and 
Robert Dewey were Captains in succession. They 
resigned and Otto F. Berner was appointed Captain, 
resigning in May, 1922. He was succeeded by First 
Lieutenant E. H. Koles. Other officers are First 
Lieutenants George Edee and Alvin H. Damm. 

ROSTER OF BATTERY "A," 120th FIELD ARTIL- 
LERY, WISCONSIN NATIONAL GUARDS. 

Captain — Edward H. Koles. 

1st Lieutenants — Alvin H. Damm, George Edee. 

1st Sergeant — A. B. Arnold. Chief Mechanic — H. 
Friedeman. Supply Sergeant — K. Moscrip. Stable 
Sergeant — Dr. A. B. Jorgenson. 



Sergeants — Ted Dvorak, Robert Lynde, Endre Nor- 
em, Donald McArthur. 

Corporals — Julius Guenthner, Earl Juhl, James 
Maltby, Ronald Moss, Herbert O'Donnell, Charles 
Wall, Marres Wirig. 

Buglers — Harold Porter, Earl Tobey. 

Cooks — Lee Bowens, J. Olson. 

Saddlers — Frank Van Dyke. 

Horseshoers — Joseph Fuchs. 

Mechanics — Ray Ostermeir. 

Privates, 1st Class — H. Abel, R. Brenner, A. Doug- 
las, W. Fessenden, Leon Friede, E. Johnson, E. Kava- 
naugh, F. Lynett, J. Maloney, M. Quade, F. Schlundt, 
F. Schwartz, A. Stroschan, G. Wells. 

Privates — Dale Bauter, Jos. Bosacki, F. Bures, B. 
Chapman, D. Chapman, Earl Day, Aloysius 
Duquette, Fred Duquette, Francis Finucane, G. 
Hopkins, W. Hanneman, C. Jenesen, R. Hand- 
lers, J. Kavanaugh, A. Keen, J. Kielczewski, 




CAPTAIN EDWARD IL KOLES 

In command of Battery "A." Langlade County's 

present Military unit. 

N. Koss, G. Leonard, A. Lipman, L. Magelund, L. 
Maltby, H. Maier, H. Merrill, L. Miller, H. Moss, Mer- 
ritt 01k, Earl Othrow, W. Peterson, F. Rassman, J. 
Rennert, R. Rynders, F. Schoblaski, W. Strong, Clyde 
Teske, L. Tradewell, L. Weix, H. Wright. 

Battery "A" has its headquarters at the Antigo Ar- 
mory. The horses are stabled in barns at the Lang- 
lade County fair grounds. 

MEMORIAL HOSPITAL. 

At the January, 1922 session of the Langlade County 
Board, a committee consisting of Supervisors L. A. 
Maier, J. W. Mattek, and August Goeman was appoint- 
ed to confer with a general citizens committee on the 
feasibility of constructing a hospital to be dedicated 
as a memorial to the soldiers, sailors and marines of 



HISTORY Of LANGLADE COUNTY. 



77 



Langlade County, who served in the World War. The 
citizen's committee consisted of M. T. Canfield, J. R. 
McQuillan, Edward Cody, R. Koebke, and Mose A. 
Jansen. The County Board committee reported at the 
April, 1922 session and presented ways and means 
whereby the proposed hospital could be erected. A 
referendum vote will be taken on the proposed hospi- 
tal in the 1922 November election, this being the wish 
of most of the members of the County Board. 

MEMORIAL PARK AT POLAR. 

On July 4, 1919, a Soldiers and Sailors Memorial 
Park was dedicated by the citizens of Polar to the 
memory of the men who served from Langlade County 
during the World War. \ Addresses were given at the 
dedicatory celebration by Ray C. Dempsey, Sam B. 
Ullman and Robert M. Dessureau. Hon. Edward 
Nordman acted as Chairman. The Memorial Park 
is at Mueller's Lake, one of the beautiful and pict- 
uresque spots of northern Wisconsin. The citizens of 
Polar and their Town Board are credited for the 
initiative taken in the project. The Town Board pur- 
chased the property and turned it over for public use as 
a Soldiers and Sailors memorial. The Reese Sparks 
Post, American Legion, held their Independence Day 
Celebration, July 4, 1921, at the Park. The original 
Park Board in charge of the park project consisted of : 
Herman Parsons, Herman Bruening, Herman Dallman, 
Charles Lade, Charles Rusch, John Groth and Richard 
Bloedorn. 

LANGLADE COUNTY SOLDIERS WHO GAVE 

THEIR LIVES FOR THEIR COUNTRY 

AND FLAG. 

"Rest on embalmed and sainted dead, 

Dear as the blood ye gave; 
No impious footstep here shall tread 

The herbage of your grave." 

That posterity may know, the names and a brief 
record of Langlade County soldiers who gave their 
lives for their country during war are given here. 

THE SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 

Fred Springstead, son of Mrs. Jane Springstead. He 
was killed August 1, 1898, before the entrenchments 
of Cavite, P. I. Private Springstead was the first 
soldier from Langlade County to die for his country. 

THE WORLD WAR. 

MAITLAND WILLIAMS— Son of Mr. and Mrs. C. 
C. Williams, Antigo, Wis. Private, Aviation section. 
Enlisted in November, 1917. Born April 13, 1896. 
Died in discharge of duty while in service of his coun- 
try. Buried at Antigo, Wis. He was the first of 
Langlade County's soldiers to die in the World War. 

REESE SPARKS— Son of Mr. and Mrs. George 
Sparks, Olive Hill, Ky. Enlisted June, 1917. Private 
107th Trench Mortar Battery. Born March 10, 1890. 
Left U. S. February 17, 1918. Killed in action June 



29, 1918, the first Langlade County soldier to be killed 
in action in the World War. 

ORA N. TIDD— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer E. Tidd, 
Neopit, Wis. Born June 29, 1892. Enlisted July 18, 
1917. Left U. S. February 17, 1918. Died at Brest, 
France, March, 1918. He was the first of the soldiers 
in the 107th Trench Mortar Battery to die. 

ALFRED J. BRIGGS— Son of Burt Briggs, Antigo, 
Wis. He was born October 3, 1891. He enlisted July 
22, 1918, as a private, 1st Class, in the 343rd Infantry, 
86th Division. He died in service overseas, October 
7, 1918. He was returned for burial to Antigo, Wis., 
in 1920. 

JOHN P. MORGAN— Son of Hamlet D. and Char- 
lotte Church Morgan, was born in 1897. He served as 
a private in "G" Co., 110th Infantry. He was killed 
in action September 27 in the famous Muese-Argonne 
offensive. 

JOHN NETZELMAN— Private, 1st Class, the son 
of Mary Netzelman, Elcho, Wis., was born January 
22, 1889. He enlisted in Co. C, 53rd Machine Gun 
Battalion, July 6, 1918. He died at Camp Trevis 
Texas, February 8, 1919. 

ANTON CARLSON— The son of Mr. and Mrs. Gust 
Carlson, now of Velvet, Washington, was born Septem- 
ber 27, 1892. He enlisted May 13, 1918, in the 4th 
Trench Mortar Battery "C," New Port News, N. J. 
He died October 10, 1918 at New Port News. He was 
buried at Polar, Wis., October 20, 1918. 

JOSEPH LEIDHEISL— Son of Sebastian Leidheisl, 
Deerbrook, Wisconsin, was born September 19, 1889. 
He enlisted July 22, 1918, serving as a private in Bat- 
tery E, 36th Field Artillery, 9th Division. He died of 
pneumonia, January 5, 1919 at Camp McClellan, An- 
niston, Alabama. 

NOBLE L. ANDERSON— The son of Mrs. Sam 
Nelson, Antigo, Wisconsin, was born October 16, 1897. 
He enlisted April 1, 1919 as a landsman for electrician, 
1st Class, Radio School, U. S. Naval Training Station, 
R. I. He died in service at the U. S. Naval Hospital 
at Newport, R. I., Sept. 21, 1918. Buried at Antigo, 
Wis. 

RALPH KUHL— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Kuhl, 
Parrish, Summit township. Wis., was born May 6, 
1894. He left the U. S. in the spring of 1918 as a 
Wagoner, Headquarters Company, 12th Machine Gun 
Battalion. He had served previously three years in 
the cavalry on the Mexican border. He died in a 
hospital in France, September 20, 1918. 

JOSEPH ALFT— Son of John Alft, Shawano, Wis- 
consin, was born October 23, 1897. April 23, 1917, he 
enlisted in Co. G. 4th Regiment, later the 107th T. M. 
B. He was killed in the Alsace-Sector by a prema- 
ture explosion on July 8, 1918. 

HARRY NEWBERRY— Son of Mr. and Mrs. John 
Newberry, was born April 13, 1883. He saw service 
from December 24, 1906 to November 17, 1918. He 
was a Chief Gunner's Mate four years before his death, 
December 11, 1918 at St. Elizabeth Hospital. 



78 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



PETER GALUSKI— Son of John Galuski, Antigo, 
Wis., was born December 29, 1891. He enlisted May 
25, 1918, serving as a private in Veterinary Hospital 
No. 9. He left for overseas, July 25, 1918. He died 
at St. Nazairre, France, August 30, 1918. 

LELAND A. TOLLEFSON— Son of Mrs. A. M. 
Tollefson, was born May 30, 1894. He enlisted April 
21, 1917, serving as a Corporal in the 107th Trench 
Mortar Battery. He was killed while delivering a 
message to Brigade Headquarters in the Chateau- 
Thierry Sector. August 17, 1918. 

BRADLEY HALL— Son of Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Hall, 
Antigo township, was born August 25, 1895. He en- 
listed as a private in the 2nd Casual Co., A. S. S. C, 
Vancouver Barracks, Vancouver, Washington, Febru- 
ary 19, 1918. He died April 8, 1918. He was buried 
at Antigo. Wis., April 15, 1918. 

DONALD WHITE— Son of Mrs. Emma White, of 
Manitowoc, formerly of Antigo, Wis. Served as a 
Lieutenant. He was killed in action November 1, 
1918, in the noted Argonne Forest fighting. 

ROY F. HECKER— The son of Mr. and Mrs. J. 
Hecker, was born October 6, 1895. He served as a 
private, 1st class, Co. M., 356th Infantry, 89th Di- 
vision, enlisting April 26, 1918. Participated in the 
St. Mihiel and Argonne Forest drives. Was wound- 
ed with shrapnel October 1, 1918. Died February 
16, 1919 at Hospital No. 11, St. Nazairre, France. Re- 
turned to Langlade County in 1920 for burial. 

ANTON PRASALOWICZ^Son of Joseph Prasa- 
lowicz. Antigo, Wis., was born in January, 1891. He 
enlisted as a Private in Co. C, 361st Infantry, 90th 
Division. He left the U. S. May 22, 1918, participat- 
ing in the Alsace Sector, St. Mihiel and Muese-Ar- 
gonne sections of fighting. He was killed in action 
October 6, 1918, in the Argonne. 

GEORGE CROWE— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Michael 
F. Crowe, Antigo, Wis., was born May 27, 1885. He 
enlisted in October, 1917. He served in the M. C, 
Medical Detachment, 81st Field Artillery. Was 2nd 
Lieutenant, when he died October 30, 1918 at Camp 
Mills. Body returned for burial to Antigo, Wis. 

ALEXANDER SKIBBA— Son of John Skibba, Junc- 
tion City, Wis., was born January 8, 1889. He enlisted 
April 21, 1917, serving as a Corporal in the 107th T. 
M. B. He participated in the Alsace Defensive, 
Chateau-Thierry, Juvigny, and Meuse Argonne Offen- 
sives. He died of pneumonia March, 1919, in a hos- 
pital at Angers, France. 

LEWIS M. WEED— Died while overseas. 
JULIUS LEO JORDON— Son of Mr. and Mrs. 
Louis Jordon, Antigo, Wis., was born April 10, 1890. 
He enlisted July 22, 1918. At the time of his death 
at Cleveland, Ohio, October 15, 1918, he was a gas in- 
spector, attached to the Chemical Warfare service. 

FRANK TOUSCH— Son of William Tousch. was 
born May 17, 1896. He enlisted outset of war, serv- 
ing as a Corporal, Headquarters Co., 355th Infantry, 
89th Division. He served overseas and saw service 
in the St. Mihiel, Argonne and Vosges defenses. He 



was wounded October 22, 1918 in the Argonne Woods. 
Five days later, October 27th, 1918, he died. 

ED. BOERNER— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Boerner, en- 
listed November 27, 1917. He served as a Private in 
the 128th Hdq. Infantry, 32nd Division. He was kill- 
ed in action October 23, 1918, in the Argonne Forest. 
His remains were returned to America and were interr- 
ed in the Arlington National Cemetery. He was one 
of two Wisconsin heroes to be thus honored in death. 

PAUL J. MARMES— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Peter 
Marmes, Antigo, Wis., was born February 20, 1892. 
Enlisted April 30, 1917, Private, Co. G.. 26th U. S. In- 
fantry, 1st Division. Left U. S. February, 1918. 
Killed in action, July 19, 1918, Soissons offensive. His 
honorable record of service is preserved in the archives 
of the A. E. F., signed by General Pershing. 

LEON PRESTON— Was born February 25, 1895. 
Son of Mr. and Mrs. Sam Preston, Pearson, Wis. En- 
listed July 22, 1918, Private, Co. H.. 343rd Infantry, 
86th Division. Left the U. S. September, 1918. Died 
of pneumonia, October 7, 1918, at Bordeaux, France. 

WILLIAM F. GRIMM— Son of Mr. and Mrs. A. 
Grimm, Antigo, Wis., was born February 27, 1890. 
Private, enlisted as Machinist at Chicago, transferred 
to S. T. C. Carnegie Institute of Music. Enlisted July 
15, 1918. Died of pneumonia October 14, 1918 at 
Pittsburg, Pa. Buried at Antigo, Wis. 

LEWIS SCHRAML— Born December 4, 1892. Son 
of John Schraml, Antigo, Wis. Enlisted July 19, 1918, 
as Cook, 6th Co., M. G. Co., Tr. Bn., Group No. 1. 
Died November 26, 1918 at Camp Hancock, Ga. 

THEODORE MONNOT— Son of Julius Monnot, 
was born at Pearson, Wis., February 3, 1897. Enlisted 
Private Med. Replac. Unit No. 63, Aug. 26, 1918. 
Left the U. S. Sept. 23, 1918. Died Nov. 18, 1918 at 
Brest, France. Returned to Antigo for burial, 1920. 

WILLIAM J. PROSSER— Son of Charles Prosser, 
Antigo, Wis. Enlisted May 2, 1918. Killed Nov. 24, 
1918, being crushed betwen two trucks at Verdun, 
France. 

HAROLD J. SARGENT— Son of Mrs. Lily Sar- 
gent, Antigo, Wis., was born September 25, 1895. He 
left the U. S. January 10, 1918. He was a 2nd Lieuten- 
ant, Co. H., 369th Infantry, 93rd Division. Lieutenant 
Sargent participated in the Ypres and Argonne Forest 
battles. He was killed in action September 28, 1918 
in the district of Champagne. He was decorated with 
the Croix de Guerre by General Retain, French Com- 
mander-in-Chief. 

THOMAS BALLARD— Son of Mrs. John Ballard, 
Elton, Wis., was born August 12, 1895. He enlisted 
as a Private in the 107th Trench Mortar Battery, 32nd 
Division. He was killed by a premature explosion 
in the Alsace Sector, France, July 8, 1918. 

JOSEPH HELL— Son of Jos. Hell, Antigo, Wis., 
was born August 10, 1892. He served as a Private 
in the Veterinary Corps, Hospital No. 9. He left the 
U. S. June 31, 1918. He died at Base Hospital No. 
101, in France, March 19, 1918. His body was return- 
ed to Antigo for burial. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



79 



FRED M. ST. CLAIR— Son of Mr. and Mrs. C. M. 
St. Clair, Lily, Wis., was born November 25, 1891. He 
enlisted June 2, 1918, serving as a Private in the 86th 
Division, 234th Infantry, Co. H. He died of pneu- 
monia at Bordeaux, France, October 15, 1919. His 
body was returned to Lily, Wis. 

PETER POLAR— Son of Mrs. Pat. Monray, Post 
Lake, Wis. He enlisted in the 46th Co., Machine Gun 
Bat, Camp Hancock, Georgia. He died in France. 
Private Polar left the U. S. in September, 1918. 

JOHN FRANK WENZ— Son of Mr. and Mrs. 
George Wenz, Watersmeet, Michigan, was born De- 
cember 15, 1899. He died September 21, 1918, at the 
Great Lakes Naval Station. He was a 2nd Class Sea- 
man, U. S. N. R. F. 

EMIL GLEICH — Son of John Gleich, Deerbrook, 
Wis. Died in France while in the U. S. service. His 
body was returned to Neva, Wis., for burial. 

JOHN J. SCHWARTZ— Son of Mr. and Mrs. J. 
Schwartz, Antigo, Wis., was born April 28, 1890. He 
enlisted June 15, 1918, serving as a Private in Battery 
E, 139th Field Artillery, 38th Division. He died Octo- 
ber 17, 1918, while crossing the Atlantic Ocean on the 
U. S. S. Cedric and was buried in Everton Cemetery, 
England, November 4, 1918, with full military honors. 
Private Schwartz left the U. S. October 5, 1918. 

DANIEL J. PLZAK— Seaman, 2nd Class, U. S. 
Navy, U. S. S. Montona, was born May 20, 1896. Son 
of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel J. Plzak, Deerbrook, Wis. He 
entered the service May 11, 1917, and made 17 trips to 
France. He was accidently killed on boat when Hear- 
ing France on the 17th trip. His body was returned 
to Antigo, Wis., for burial, 1920. 

GLENN DeBROUX— Son of Mr. and Mrs. Michael 
DeBroux, Phlox, Wis., was born February 6, 1895. He 
enlisted as a Private in Co. G., 343rd U. S. Infantry. 
He left the U. S. September 8, 1918. He died Oct. 
2, 1918 at Bordeaux, France. 

FRED INGALLS— Private Co. F., 344th Infantry, 
89th Division, enlisted July 22, 1918. He was born 
September 10, 1895, the son of Frank Ingalls, Elm- 
hurst, Wis. He was reported missing in action after 
taking part in the St. Mihiel and the Argonne Forest 
combats. 

THOMAS INGALLS— Another son of Frank In- 
galls, Elmhurst, Wis., was born June 15, 1894. He 
enlisted July 22, 1918. He was in the same unit 
as his brother, Fred, Co. F., 344th Infantry, 89th Di- 
vision. He participated in the St. Mihiel and Ar- 
gonne Forest battles. He was killed while fighting 
in the Argonne Forest, November 2, 1918. 

HONOR ROLL WORLD WAR VETERANS, 
LANGLADE COUNTY.^ 

George Ackerman, Paul F. Adamski, William W. 
Adget, Raymond J. Adget, Ernest Adraktas, Anton H. 
Abler, Fred W. Albright, Joseph Alft, Harry L. Aller- 
ton, Arthur E. Altmann, Noble L. Anderson, Wm. Le 
Roy Andrews, Stanley Anthony, Ed. Antoniewicz, Al- 



bert B. Arnold, Chester A. Arrowwood, Frank Bahr, 
Jos. Bahr, Jr., Ralston Fitch Baker, Silas L. Baird, 
Thomas Ballard, John Baraniak, Edward D. Bardwell, 
George J. Basl, Oscar Bauknecht, Lewis Bauman, 
Georg A. Bates, William Baxter, Edward L. Beckman, 
Arnold F. Beirsdorf, C. S. Beard, Otto Behm, William 
Behm, Howard F. Beldin, Frank Belott, Edwin Louis 
Bemis, Erwin Bendey, Julius Bergman, Otto F. Berner, 
Ralph H. Berner, Williard J. Bernier, Edward I. Ber- 
nier, Bernard A. Biersdorf, James Blaha, Edward Bla- 
ha, Andrew Blaha, Edward Blahnik, Jos. Blahnik, John 
C. Blahnik, E. L. Blodgett, Edward Blodgett, Warren 
Blodgett, Arthur A. Bloedorn, Ed. Boerner, Edwin 




PRIV.\TE EDWARD BOERNER 
Langlade County soldier killed in the World War^ whose 
remains were buried in the Arlington National Ceme- 
tery, with high military honors. Private 
Boerner was one of two Wisconsin 
heroes thus honored. 

Boettcher, Charles Bohlman, Harry Bohse, Harold T. 
Boll, Elmer R. Boll, Richard A. Boll, Charles H. Bon- 
nell, William Bonnell, Daniel Borneman, John Borow- 
cyzk, David J. Borth, Geo. G. Bowen, Leo M. Bowens, 
Benjamin Bradley, Arthur W. Brandner, Orlin G. 
Brandow, Herman K. Brandt, George P. Bremer, 
Charles Bremer, Clarence Bretl, Alfred J. Briggs, 
Arthur Brittenham, Robert S. Brown, William Henry 
Brown, P. J. Brown, George Erwin Brown, Edgar 
Brown, George Brunette, Willard R. Brush, Lann Bry- 
ant, Vernon Buck, John L. Budzenski, George E. Buer- 
ger, John F. Burkhart, Gilbert W. Burnet, George C. 
Calkins, Anton Carlson, Edward Calkins, Ray L. 
Carpenter, Fred Kolerus, Archie B. Carpenter, Curtis 
Carpenter, Harley M. Cary, Howard Case, Claire E. 
Censky, George W. Censky, Chester Censky, Jos. F. 
Chadek, Frank Cherek, Emil E. Cherf, Leo. F. Ches- 
lak, Oscar Christenson, Lawrence Christenson, Ralph 
L. Clark, Benjamine Clark, Benjamin H. Clark, Em- 
met V. Cleary, Raymond Walter Cleary, Raymond 
Clegg, Harold E. Clough, Henry Cornelius, John Cor- 

1. This list is incomplete. Both U. S. Senators R. M. La Follete 
and I. L. Lenroot, as well as Adjutant General Orlando Holway, de- 
clare that due to failure of Congress to appropriate money to give the 
War Department an opportunity to complete this data for each state, 
it has been neglected. 



80 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



nelius, Jr., Neil Crowe, George Crowe, George F. 
Crummey, Wallace Curran, John Julius Danberg, Wal- 
ter P. Dallman, Arthur C. Dallman, Fred Dallman, 
Daniel A. Dallman, Lyle A. Dalton, Frank Peter 
Damos, Elmer Davenport, Paul H. Dawley, Ernest 
Dawley, Arthur M. Day, Leo T. Day, Glenn De Broux, 
Wilbert J. De Broux, Lewis J. De Broux, Ralph Dem- 
low, Ray C. Dempsey, John Demske, Bruno Demske, 
Leo Des Jarlais, Alvin Devore, Robert C. Dewey, 
Harold J. Dewey, Ed W. Dexter, Bery Y. Diercks, 
Noe Everett Dillman, Hermis F. Dionne, Albert 
Dobbs, Alexander H. Dobbs, Harold Donohue, Arthur 
L. Doolitde, Andrew Drabek, William J. Drake, Bur- 
ton A. Drake, Harry Dresser, Roy E. Drew, John A. 
Driscoll, Vincent Drzewiecki, Carl 0. Duchac, Frank 
Duchac, Joseph V. Duchac, Arleigh L. Dudley, Arthur 
F. Duernberger, Floyd T. Duncan, Frank J. Dvorak, 
Irving James Eckles, Wellington Edee, George C. 
Edee, Edward E. Edick, William Jackson Edick, 
Hirman G. Edwards, Henry W. Edwards, Charles 
Elam, John Engels, Leo Ensle, Louis O. Evenson, 
George Falkenhagen, Walter Falkenhagen, James Far- 
rand, Charles F. Fell, Joseph B. Feil, Lester F. Feller, 
Claude Fenton, Frank D. Fierst, Paul P. Figel, Anton 
Figel, Chester Filyes, Stanley S. Filyes, Ernest Fin- 
ger, Ira D. Finley, Frank C. Fischer, D. D. Fish, 
Glenn H. Fish, Lloyd Fitzgerald, Joseph Fleischman, 
George Fleischman, Frank Fleischman, Richard 
Fleischman, Evert Fouch, Edward W. Franzke, Joseph 
R. Frederick, Vernon H. Freiburger, Edward Friebel, 
Charles Frimark, Floyd Frink, C. O. Fuller, Edward 
F. Fultz, Charles G. Furlott, Clarence F. Fuszard, 
— Galarowicz, Brascue Gallion, Claude Gallion, Peter 
Galupski, James E. Garvey, Charles Gerhke, Guy 
Gerhke, Ralph M. Getchell, Frank J. Guertz. James P. 
Gillis, John D. Gillis, Joseph E. Gillis, Emil Gleich, 
Paul J. Glugla, Frank J. Glugla, Leo J. Glugla, Harvey 
E. Goebel, Winfred Goeman, Roy Goodwill, Charles 
T. Gorham, Marton Gossen, Fred W. C. Grabowsky, 
Walter Grabowsky, Joseph J. Grail, Dan Grant, Eln^er 
Graves, Neal Gray, Orville C. Green, Harry Roy 
Green, Erving C. Green, Harry Greenberg, William 
Grigson, William F. Grimm, Frank Grossman, Leo F. 
Guenthner, Melvin E. Gurnee, George W. Hafemeis- 
ter, Erwin Haferbecker, Andrew M. Halminak, Brad- 
ley Hall, Wensel F. Hallada, Richard J. Hansen, Wil- 
liam Harbeck, Henry C. Harp, Guy Hartman, Daniel 
D. Hayes, Thomas Hayes, Lewis Tillman Haynei, 
Dan Healy, Roy F. Hecker, Elmer Hecker, Roy B. 
Heckert, Joseph L. Helmbrecht, Joseph Hell, Leo. J. 
Heller, Charles Anton Herold, Francis A. Hersant, 
Joseph J. Hersant, Clarence F. Heyse, John F. Hew itt, 
Ira R. Hicks, Frederick C. Higgins, Arthur A. Hoff- 
man, Carl Hoffman, Floyd Hoffman, James A. Hoff- 
man, Frank Hoffman, Bernard R. Hogan, Herman F. 
Hohensee, Albert Hohensee, Gustave Hohensee, Ar- 
thur R. Hoke, Anna B. Honzik, Fayette M. Hopkins, 
Arnold Hoppe, Gust Hoppe, William Hoppe, Clar- 
ence Horn, William Hoppe, Charles W. Hotchkiss, 
William Howard, Floyd Huggins, William Robert 
Hughes, Richard A, Hugunin, James B. Hunter, By- 



ron Hunter, Earl W. Huntoon, Myron E. Hurlbut, Fran- 
cis X. Hurley, Lawrence Huybers, Hubert William 
Huybers, Edwin S. Iceberg, Thomas Ingalls, Fred In- 
galls, Edward Ingalls, Porter Ingram, Charles 0. Irish, 
Oscar L. Isberg, Russel Jacobs, Edmund Jagla, Claude 
James, Reuel R. Jamieson, Guy E. Janes, Harry F. 
Jewell, M. F. Jewell, George A. Jicha, James B. Jilek, 
Alois Jirovec, Palmer Johnson, Roy Johnson, Dewey 
Johnson, Roy O. Joles, Howard M. Jones, Julius Leo 
Jordan, Thomas Louis Jordan, John A. Jordan, Steve 
S. Jordan, Frederick B. Joyce, Edward P. Joyce, Henry 
J. Juetten, Lawrence Juetten, John P. Juetten, Joseph 
L. Kakes, Richard R. Kaplanek, Joseph Kaplanek, Leo 
Karniewski, Elmer John Kaufman, Frank R. Kaven, 
William M. Keelan, Bernard J. Keelan, Frank H. Keen, 
Louis F. Keen, Harry J. Kelly, John D. Kelly, Otto 
Kelnhofer, Horace B. Kellogg, Thomas B. Kellogg, 
Eugene Ogden Kiefer, Sidney Kindle, William Kirker, 
William A. Kitt, Harry Klaves, Fred Klechwitz, An- 
drew Kielhofer, Charles E. Klever, D. E. Klever, Al- 
vin C. Klever, Elmer Kloida, Karl E. Kluge, Frank J. 
Kneiszel, Russell Stanley Knight, Ernest L. Knoke, 
William Morgan Knott, Leonard Koch, Wiley Koel- 
zer, R. P. Koenig, Aurel Koepenick, William H. Kohl, 
Michael Kohler, George Kolerus, Edward H. Koles, 
Walter Kozarek, George A. Kotchi, Frank J. Koutnik, 
Raymond J. Krall, Harry Krall, Harold C. Krall, Emil 
T. Krall, Allen J. Kramer, John J. Kramer, Rudolph L. 
Kramer, Charles J. Kramer, Robert Krueger, Rhine- 
hart Krueger, Frank W. Kubiacyzk, Ralph Kuhl, Her- 
man Kunza, Emil Kupper, Ray M. La Belle, Vernon 
La Belle, Walter H. Lange, Raymond C. Lang, Ernest 
J. Lang, Ephraim Langlois, John L. Laughlin, Harvey 
Lawrence, Joseph Leidheisl, John Leidheisl, Charles 
L. Leidheisl, Joseph Leindecker, James W. Leindeck- 
er, Robert W. Leslie, Cyril D. Leslie, Roy J. Leutsker, 
Hugh L. Lewis, Sumner C. Leykom, Eric M. Linden, 
Roy D. Lindsay, Francis S. Lingle, Henry T. Lins- 
dau, Erwin Loche, William Dell Lord, Leonard Lyon, 
Frank T. Lynde, Jack Lytton, Arthur Mader, Clar- 
ence A. Mader, Irwin P. Maloney, Gordon C. Maloney, 
John B. Maltby, Amos Maltby, James Maly, Everette 
Maney, Roscoe Manning, Frank R. Manthey, Albert 
S. Marciniak, Jr., Joseph W. Maresch, Paul J. Marmes, 
Peter Marmes, George E. Martin, Richard H. Mar- 
tiny, Robert E. Mattmiller, Louis J. Maybee, Bert 
Mayerl, Neil McArthur, Charles W. McArthur, George 
A. McArthur, Vivian Harold McCandless, Terrence A. 
McCann, Caleb R. McDonald, Charles R. McFar- 
lane, John N. McKenna, Harry T. McKinney, A. R. 
McMaster, William E. McNamara, Merton J. Mc- 
Namara, William McNutt, Charles X. McNutt, Donald 
A. McPhail, Archie L. McPhail, T. H. Meinert, Wil- 
liam H. Melchert, Carl J. Memminger, Edwin Menting, 
William J. Menting, Roy F. Messinger, Thomas Me- 
taxas, Pete Michaels, Ray Mikkelson, Paul V. Millard, 
O. A. Miller, Bernard E. Miller, Perie J. Miller, Hiram 
J. Miner, William J. Mitchell, Theodore Monnot, Reu- 
ben Monroe, Carl Monroe, Frank William Montabon, 
John P. Morgan, W. L. Morris, John F. Morrissey, 
Gerald D. Morrissey, Clarence C. Morse, Douglas 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



81 



Morson, Theron D. Morson, Terrill Fredrick Morson, 
Fred Moss, Kenyon Moyer, James Mucha, Anson 
Mueller, George W. Mulhern, Frank Muraski, John 
Muraski, Walter Muraski, Edwin R. F. Murphy, Har- 
old R. Murphy, M. J. Murphy, Oscar D. Murphy, 
George C. Naumann, Roy E. Nelson, Hugh B. Nelson, 
Shirley Nelson, John Netzelman, William Netzelman, 
Harry Newberry, William Nightingale, Arthur Nonne- 
macher, Elways Nonnomacher, Charles A. Norem, 
Harold E. Norem, Mathew E. Norem, Godfrey Nor- 
man, Frank Novak, Alvin E. Novak, W. H. New, Clar- 
ence Nowotny, Ervin N. Nowotny, Thomas F. O'Brien, 
Guy F. O'Brien, Frank P. O'Conner, Harold 01k, Ar- 
thur Oliver Omholt, Rudolph A. Opichka, Frank C. 
Opichka, Francis Othrow, Frank Pacer, Anton Pacer, 
Fred L. Packard, Dewey J. Packard, Walter 0. Pack- 
ard, Harry Page, William E. Page, John Pagel, Wil- 
liam A. Pagel, Edwin E. Palmer, Dudley Palmer, Noel 
Lester Parkhill, Walter Parson, John Patnode, Gus- 
tave E. Patzer, Ray F. Pavlichek, Albert F. Pawlak, 
Arthur Pennings, Henry J. Pennings, Albert Pennings, 
Joseph Pennings, John Pennings, Luther Pennington, 
Clarence Perrott, Mathew Person, Frank B. Pesl, 
Frank Peterlick, W. J. Peters, Leo Peters, Roy C. 
Peters, Arthur G. Peters, Edward Peters, Eric Peter- 
son, Joseph Peterson, Paul Peterson, John Petrowski, 
Alex Petrowski, Paul F. Fetters, Albert Petzoldt, Ar- 
chie M. Piper, James Plotz, Daniel J. Plzak, Peter 
Polar, Ralph H. Polar, Fred Poss, Rusk P. Potter, 
Frank Pozak, Anton Prasalowicz, Leon Preston, Ches- 
ter C. Preston, Clarence Price, Charles W. Price, 
Richard Priem, W. J. Prosser, Charles B. Prosser, 
James L Prosser, Marvin Prosser, V. J. Quigley, James 
Ralph, Walter Ralph, Will M. Rath. George P. Rath, 
Joseph Rath, John H. Rath, Thomas E. Rath, Adrian 
Reynolds, Henry T. Raymark, John Raymark, William 
M. Raymark, John Reader, George Reader, Merritt 
Reader, John E. Reeves, Walter Earl Reeves, Morris 
E. Reif, Wallies E. Remington, Willis V. Remington, 
Edward Remington, Roy Remington, Hiram W. Ren- 
fro, Wensel Rettinger, Roy H. Rezek, Anton 0. Rez- 
nichek, Amos Rice, William L Rice, William Rief, 
Royal Riek, A. J. Robinson, Leonard Rolo, Abner J. 
Rolo, Arthur J. Romeis, Elmer Romeis, Monroe M. 
Ross, Peter Rouman, Walter S. Rowlinson, Robert 
Rusch, Patrick A. Ryan, Francis Ryan, Francis A. 
Rynders, Alvin A. Sage, J. F. Sajtar, Harold J. Sar- 
gent, Lawrence Sargent, J. J. Sazama, Frank G. 
Schleinz, N. D. Schleis, Frank Schleis, George W. 
Schmitz, Frank Schoblasky, W. J. Schoenfeldt, Peter 



Schramke, Lewis Schraml, Floyd E. Schroeder, Tony 
Schuh, Earl E. Schultz, Arthur Schuman, Frank A. 
Schumitsch, Edward J. Schumitsch, Robert Schuster, 
John R. Schuttee, J. M. Schutts, John J. Schwartz, 
Frank Schwartz, George Schwentner, J. W. Seis, Er- 
vin Seipba, L. J. Seller, Harry Mills, Michael E. Sen- 
senbrenner, John Servi, Wenzel J. Servi, Mike Servi, 
John Shadick, Harley W. Shafer, Earl Shanks, Edgar 
Shanks, Archie Shannon, Vernon Shannon, J. J. Shim- 
eck, Edward Shipek, George Siebert, Walter Siebert, 
Frank Simmon, Michael Simon, John Skarlupka, Alex 
Skibba, Frank Skibba, Adolph Skibba, R. A. Skid- 
more, Mike Skore, Albert Smith, Samuel Smith, John 
Soman, Harley A. Space, Reese Sparks, John Spearo, 
George Spencer, Harvey G. Spencer, John F. Spencer, 
R. W. Spotzel, Alex Spychalla, Leo Spychalla, Robert 
L. Stanley, Floyd Stark, Fred M. St. Clair, Edward 
F. Steber, James L. Steele, Lyman A. Steffen, George 
Steger, William Steinfest, Robert Stanley, Orson 
Stone, B. Strasser, Frank Strauss, George Strobel, Jr., 
Adam Strobel, Herman Strube, E. G. Struck, Felix 
Suick, Paul Swanson, Chester Sweeny, Earl L. Tay- 
lor, Harold Tenant, John C. Tenant, Walter Ludwig 
Teske, Rudolph M. Teske, Leo Theisen, Ray Thomp- 
son, Ora N. Tidd, Leland A. Tollefson, Fred Tomany, 
R. G. Tourtillotte, Frank Tousch, Adam Trieglaff, 
James M. Tucher, Grant J. Turney, Jr., Bert M. Tur- 
ney, Hiram Turney, A. J. Urban, Henry F. Vanderhei, 
Joseph M. Van Dyke, John Verhaagh, Frank Ver- 
haagh, Henry L. Verhasselt, Herman Verhasselt, 
Charles Veselak, Alfred Vogel, John Volkman, Ray- 
mond Wagner, George C. Wahleitner, Carl L Walk, 
W. R. Walker, Arthur R. Wall, John L Wall, Bert M. 
E. Walters, F. J. Walters, John C. Wanninger, How- 
ard V. Warren, Arthur A. Weber, Elmer Weedman, 
George Wellner, Frank Weir, Charles T. Weix, Walter 
A. Weix, Alfred John Weix, E. Welch, John Frank 
Wenz, William H. Wessa, Donald White, I. A. White, 
Kurt Weigert, Samuel J. Wierschke, Benson L. Wig- 
derson, A. J. Wildman, Maitland Williams, Warren 
Williams, Andrew Williamson, Edward G. Winter, F. 
D. Winter, Emil Wojan, Frank Wojtasiak, Joseph 
Wojtasiak, Henry A. Wolhaupt, John J. Wright, Joseph 
Wurzer, Adolph Wurzer, Julius Wurzer, Rudolph Yon- 
kee, William N. Yentz, Ervin H. Yentz, J. H. Yentz, 
Ralph Yentz, Thomas Youngbauer, Anton Zelazoski, 
George A. Zehner, Charles E. Zehner, Albert J. Zig- 
linski, Joseph Zima, Jr., Harry Zuehlke, Harry 
Zwicky, Ira Zwicky. 



82 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XVI. 
Temperance, Prohibition 

F. A. Deleglise, Radical Prohibitionist— Dry Regime of 1878-1885— The Fight of 1886— "The Blind 
Pig" — Good Templars Organize — Anti-Saloon League In Langlade County — County Prohibi- 
tionists in 1885 — B. F. Dorr and Congressman W. T. Price — W. C. T. U. — Antigo Prohibition 
Club — The Prohibition County Ticket in 1884 — Order of Camels — Moonshine Era Since Vol- 
stead Act — Breweries — Pioneer Rallies — The Law and Order Plea. 



Hon. Francis A. Deleglise, radical Prohibitionist, 
inaugurated the first Prohibition movement in Lang- 
lade County. Mr. Deleglise was determined that not 
a drop of liquor should be sold in the village of An- 
tigo. With this view in mind the first officers were 
chosen at the first election. The issue was not "repeal 
the 18th Amendment" or "liberalize the Volstead Act," 
but was whether the town board should grant retail 
liquor licenses or not. Antigo, as a village, was offi- 
cially as dry as the great Sahara. Not until after in- 
corporation as a city in 1885 was the first sale of liquor 
made under a municipal license. 

While Antigo was legally dry it was many times 
actually wet during the prohibition regime of 1878 
to 1885. A blind pig operated on the west bank of 
the Spring Brook in a log cabin. Another way to de- 




RLIND PIG SALOON IN ANTIGO 
Which operated on the banks of Springbrook in iss:!. 

feat the purpose of local prohibition was explained 
by James Smolk: "We had a tent where great ex- 
citement prevailed. Announcement was made that a 
bear would climb a pole and then dance inside the 
tent. A small fee was charged. Those who were ad- 
mitted received a nip o' rye that took away th' 
glooms." J. C. Lewis tells how the purpose and in- 
tent of the prohibition law was defeated when a man 
hid his "likker" in the hollow of an old stump near 
the M. L. S. & W. depot. Any person desiring a drink 
would place a dime in a cup in the stump, dip in a 
pail for a glass of spirits and "go about your business." 
The proprietor was where he could witness his busi- 
ness from a distance. Thus the law was unjustly vio- 
lated then as it is today. 

Retail liquor licenses were granted in the city until 



1886. In the spring election, April 6, 1886, the voters 
declared for "No license." The anti-liquor forces 
fought valiantly and honestly and won. 

The opposition to the temperance folks worked 
earnestly and fairly and did not give up until the vote 
was counted. M. M. Ross was chosen Mayor. In 
the county election of 1886 the Prohibitionists put up 
a complete ticket. Not a man was elected. The Re- 
publicans charged the Prohibitionists with splitting 
their normal vote. 

While Antigo was dry in 1886 Casino clubs flour- 
ished. Members in good standing were allowed beer 
and whisky, by applying at club headquarters. Whisky 
co'ild also be secured from druggists. This privilege 
was abused then as it is today. 

Antigo citizens voted overwhelmingly for license 
in 1887. From then until the enactment of the Vol- 
stead Act the city granted license. The question was 
frequently voted on since 1887, but each time went 
down to defeat. Many old saloon keepers went out 
of business when the Volstead Act was passed. The 
annual municipal license for operating near beer par- 
lors in Antigo is $100. 

The Woman's Christian Temperance Society was 
organized in Antigo in 1883. It became a force in 
the little community. Years later Friendship Union, 
W. C. T. U., was reorganized. It is still intact. 

The Anti-Saloon League, active temperance organ- 
ization, still fights on. It opposes attempts to liber- 
alize the Volstead Act. The League was a force in 
Antigo before Prohibition became law. Its chief pur- 
pose was to secure restrictive temperance legislation. 

F. C. Fuller was the leader of the Langlade County 
prohibitionists in 1885 . The party opposed granting 
license and sought to defeat anti-prohibitionist can- 
didates. They had a complete ticket in the county 
field. 

Antigo Lodge No. 11, Good Templars, did much in 
pioneer days to create favorable public sentiment for 
prohibition. D. S. Olmsted, F. C. Fuller, Gus Lind, 
and A. B. Hanks were its leaders. 

November 13, 1883, Rev. Father Cleary, noted Pro- 
hibition speaker, addressed a large crowd at the coun- 
ty court house. Father Cleary then organized a 
branch of the Catholic Total Abstinence Society of 
America. 

The first members were: Hon F. A. Deleglise, Mike 
Hafner, John McGahn, John Hafner, Joseph, John, 
and Mike Kennedy and Marvin Maloney. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



83 



B. F. Dorr was probably a more ardent Prohibition- 
ist than Hon. F. A. Deleglise. He energetically es- 
poused the cause of temperance at all times, contri- 
buting many articles to the press. Responding to a 
letter from B. F. Dorr, Congressman W. T. Price of 
Black River Falls said : "The whole fight, Mr. Dorr, 
is an uphill one. We shall never succeed in destroy- 
ing the traffic, but we can, and ought to lessen its 
baneful influence." Almost a half century has pass- 
ed since then and National Prohibition has become 
the law of the land. 

On April 2, 1888, a Prohibition Club was organiz- 
ed in Antigo. W. R. Brown, state organizer, presided 
at the first meeting, which initiated 42 members. Of- 
ficers were: President, R. C. Dresser; Vice President, 
W. D. Badger; Secretary, Julia Bliss; Treasurer, E. P. 
Bridgeman. 

TEMPERANCE TICKET OF 1884. 

During the Blaine-Cleveland presidential campaign 
of 1884 Langlade County temperance leaders put the 
following ticket in the field: Treasurer, B. F. Dorr; 
Sheriff, John Goodwin; District Attorney, J. H. Tre- 
ver; County Supt. of Schools, L. K. Strong; County 
Clerk, George Clithero; Register of Deeds, M. M. 
Ross; Clerk of Court, F. C. Fuller; Surveyor, G. W. 
Bliss; Coroner, John F. Saxe. The ticket was some- 
times referred to as the "Third Party" ticket. J. H. 
Trever and M. M. Ross, successful nominees, were 
the only two on the ticket elected. 

The Langlade County Prohibitionists have always 
been active at the polls, ever striving to elect men, 
who were proven leaders and supporters of the tem- 
prance movement. 

THE ORDER OF CAMELS. 

In 1920 the Grand Caravan, Order of Camels, an 
anti-Prohibition order, sent A. R. Diegle, Grand Sec- 
retary, of Milwaukee, to Antigo. He installed tem- 
porary officers of the Antigo Order of Camels. The 
first and only meeting was held in Skibba Hall. 

THE MOONSHINE ERA. 

Much was said before Prohibition relative to the 
evil environment of a saloon. All of that doubled 
cannot lessen the pernicious damage that the illicit 
traffic in moonshine, "sour mash," has accomplished. 
This home-made product has ruined many men, caus- 
ed the death of many and has made law breakers out 
of those who manufacture it. It has brought disgrace 
and sadness into many a good home. 

December 24, 1921, three federal Prohibition offi- 
cers with Deputy Sheriff Harry Morse, went to Elton 
where Julius and Joseph Wurzer were alleged to have 
operated a moonshine still. The officers surprised the 
Wurzer brothers and Luther Pennington in a shack. 
In the commotion Julius Wurzer was killed. The of- 
ficers were held on a charge of manslaughter. The 



case attracted national attention. It is now in the 
hands of the U. S. Eastern District Federal Court. 

RESPECT THE LAW. 

The many temperance organizations mentioned in 
this chapter have had their influence in not only turn- 
ing men from the whisky glass, but they have also 
created a public sentiment in favor of civic virtue, 
cleanliness and sobriety in living — all of which the 
saloon did not aid. The temperance cause grew as it 
was based upon a noble purpose. The traffic that 
brought distress and degradation to thousands of peo- 
ple has been legally banished. 

In this age we need organizations that will uphold 
law as it exists — men and women with red-blooded 
Americanism — those who are ready to stand by and 
defend a law and condemn the citizen who does not. 
Dissatisfaction with a law can be settled by the elec- 
torate through the ballot box, not through disrespect 
and defiance. 

PIONEER TEMPERANCE RALLIES. 

March 22, 1883, Theo. D. Kanouse, Appleton, 
Wis., spoke at the court house. No license advocates 
held a jubilee. 

November 13, 1883, Rev. Fr. Cleary, noted Catho- 
lic Abstinence Leader, spoke at court house. 

October 15, 1882, Hon. H. H. Woodmance, Prohi- 
bition candidate for Congress, spoke at court house. 

October 27, 1890, Hon. B. E. Van Keuren of Osh- 
kosh. Prohibition candidate for Attorney General, 
spoke in Antigo. 

The last speech given by a Prohibition leader be- 
fore the 18th amendment was made by John Strange 
of Neenah, ex-Lieut, governor. He spoke in the An- 
tigo Opera House before a fair sized crowd. 

THE ANTIGO BREWERY. 

The Antigo Brewing Company was organized Sep- 
tember 25, 1896, by Albert Koles, Frank Hanzel, 
Frank Riendl, Albert Fisch, Thomas Schmitz, John 
Kestly, William Krier, Joseph Hoffman, Max Hoff- 
man and A. Jenss. The plant and office were located 
on south Edison street. Near beer was manufactured 
for a while after the 18th amendment was passed. 

THE CITIZENS BREWERY. 

The Citizens Brewing Company was incorporated 
September 15, 1899. John Sipek, Wencel Sipek, 
Frank Boyanowski, and Frank Cherf were the incor- 
porators. John Benishek was one of the 
active men in this industry also. Articles 
of incorporation were amended June 6, 1907, 
and the capital stock was increased from 
$25,000 to $100,000. Chris Wunderlich, deceased, 
was then president of the concern. May 27, 1913, the 
name was changed to the Great Northern Manufac- 
turing Company. The plant was located on Superior 
street north of the office. The office was at the inter- 
section of Sixth avenue and Superior street. 



84 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XVII. 
Meteorology 

Coldest Season — Dryest Season — Warmest Season — Meteoric Phenomena — Weather Observers 
Cyclones of 1881-1898-1922— Floods— Fires, 1880 to 1922. 



The Elfreth family, Quakers of Pennsylvania, pre- 
served a diary indicating the coldest weather since 
1790 to be in 1812. The summer of 1816 is the cold- 
est on record. Killing frosts were prevalent each 
month. June 16, 1816, a shepherd searched for his 
sheep in a blinding Vermont snow storm. The most 
appalling blizzard on record in the United States was 
in February, 1817. 

The coldest winter in Langlade County was that of 
1917-1918. Winter set in early in November and zero 
weather prevailed until April. The winter of 1899 
was a hard one. Pioneers still living can recall days 
of biting cold then. Years before, in 1876, the ear- 
ly settlers on the Wolf River recall the long winter 
siege when mail carriers found it difficult to make 
their "stretches" between the stopping places. 

The coldest day on record in Antigo was February 
10, 1899, when the thermometer registered 40 degrees 
below zero. Woodsmen, trappers, and Indians de- 
clared it was dangerous to attempt outside work that 
day. The fall of temperature that day is without pre- 
cedent in Langlade County. 

The summer of 1915 is the coldest on record in 
Langlade County. Potatoes, corn and vegetables 

were frozen, especially in the lowlands. The sum- 
mer of 1863 was very cold, but as Langlade Coun- 
ty had but few settlers then, every one of whom were 
sturdy prospectors, adventurers and land hunters, lit- 
tle is known of it. The settlers were : Hi Polar, Dan 
Gagen, Henry Strauss, Louis Motzfeldt, "Old Dutch 
Frank," George Gardner, and W. L. Ackley. 

The winter of 1920-21 was the warmest winter in 
the county. There was little snow and automobiles 
ran the year round. Very little ice was cut and a 
shortage resulted in the summer of 1921. 

Robins, meadow larks, horned larks and swallows 
made their appearance unusually early. Farmers be- 
gan breaking ground in March. The snow was light 
the entire year, about one foot deep. 

The hottest summer recorded in Langlade County 
was that of 1921 when the temperature was 95.7 de- 
grees Fahrenheit. 

The longest drouth probably occurred in 1862. 
However, official records show the year 1894 as the 
dryest for Langlade County. The spring of 1894 was 
"early" and the summer was very hot. There was a 
severe drouth in 1856, but as the county had but one 
white settler within its boundary then we learn noth- 
ing of it. 

Antigo is situated in what is known as Twin Valley, 
with Springbrook running in a southeasterly direction 
and the Eau Claire River four miles west. Spring- 



brook, while small, has caused considerable damage 
as a result of overflowing its banks. This is particu- 
larly true at the dam to the rear of the Neff-Roberts 
flat on Fifth avenue, where in the summer of 1921 
many families were forced from their homes by the 
rapid rise of the little brook. 

For many spring seasons, not including 1922, but 
more notably the spring of 1913, many portions of 
Antigo were inundated when storm sewers were un- 
able to carry off flood waters. Minola street, a part 
of the Third ward. Fourth ward, and the north part 
of the city were affected. It was not uncommon to 
visit a neighbor by boat in the regions flooded. Resi- 
dences were isolated. Often the fire department was 
enlisted into service to aid the beleaguered residents. 
Rainfall was no greater during these years than nor- 
mal. Floods are sure to occur even where storm sew- 
ers, tiling, and ditching has been installed to facili- 
tate in the discharge of water. 

W. P. Stewart, meteorologist, in charge of the U. 
S. Dept. of Agriculture weather bureau at Milwaukee, 
in response to a series of questions regarding the cli- 
matological history of Antigo, says: 

"With reference to your inquiries regarding the sta- 
tion at Antigo : 

1 — The Weather Bureau does not maintain an office 
at Antigo, but we have had an observer there since 
May, 1894, who has kept a record for us of the tem- 
perature, rainfall, and weather conditions. Our first 
cooperative observer at Antigo was Mr. John McGreer. 
Mr. E. C. Larzelere, our present observer, has kept 
records there since May, 1905. 

2 — The average annual rainfall for Antigo is 30.02 
inches. 

3 — The greatest 24-hour rainfall, 3.70 in., July 23, 
1912. 

4 — The wettest year, 37.94 in., in 1919. 

5 — The mean annual temperature, coldest year, 38.7, 
1917. 

6 — The mean annual temperature for the warmest 
year, 45.7, 1921. 

7 — The warmest day on record, 100 degrees, July 
2. 1911. 

Respectfully, 
Signed : 

W. P. STEWART, 

Meteorologist. 
March 22, 1922." 

In 1883, L. W. Bliss was an unofficial weather ob- 
server in Antigo. The winter of 1922, when in Febru- 
ary one of the worst snow storms and blizzards tied 
up traffic for many days, will long be remembered. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



85 



It was the worst tie-up in the history of the Ashland 
Division, C. & N. W. Ry. 

THE CYCLONE OF 1881. 

In September, 1881, a cyclone struck the south- 
eastern part of the county and severe damage result- 
ed. Trees were uprooted in the village of Antigo. 
The G. W. Latta residence was damaged. No lives 
were lost. 

THE DESTRUCTIVE CYCLONE OF 1898. 

At 7 o'clock Wednesday evening, May 18, 1898, a 
cyclone struck the northwestern part of Antigo, caus- 
ing the loss of three lives and approximately $35,000 
worth of damage to property. Those killed were 
Frank Billings, who had a box car thrown against him; 
Goldie Sheldon, 7-year-old daughter of Homer Shel- 



house and contents damaged, I. E. Buckman, 
A. Goldberg, G. Parker, Will Botrell, Dr. H. 
V. Mills, Mrs. Harris, P. J. Millard, C. O. Marsh, 
W. Kenyon, Allan Taylor, Al Billings, L. K. Strong, 
H. C. Mumphrey, J. H. Trever, Ralph Briggs, Joseph 
Bainiaj, Bruno Krowlinski, Alex McMillan, Ed Gra- 
bowsky, Wm. Heckman, Edward Boettcher, Frank 
Valnets, Mike and Frank Lynski, Joseph Hoffman, 
August Reige, Joseph Holle, Mrs. Hayes, A. Kolte, 
J. A. Weaver, T. Bradnock, August Frieburger, and 
H. Ward all suffered either residence, barn, or house- 
hold damages, some both household and residence 
damages. The Chicago & Northwestern Railway suf- 
fered considerably also. 

Many farmhouses, barns, and sheds were destroyed 
in the eastern part of the county. Trees were up- 
rooted and broken off and forests were laid low. The 
path of the cyclone was small, but very destructive. 




THE PATH OF THE CYCLONE OF MAY 18, 1898. 
The street shown is Martin Avenue looking from the C. & N. W. railroad track. The ruins in the 
foreground at the left shows what the cyclone did to the Whitney residence. The Conway residence, 
corner of Martin Avenue and Clermont Street is shown at the left also. It was badly damaged. Just 
north of it the residence of Dr. Fetters was located. It was also badl}' damaged. The residence of 
H. B. Kellogg can be seen in the center of the picture. The windows were broken and this residence 
suffered slight damages otherwise. John E. Martin, then District Attorney, lived on Martin Avenue. 
The ruins of his residence are in the rear to the right of the picture. If one looks close, the small space 
from out of which the Alartin family crawled can be seen. Timbers prevented the roof from crushing 
them. There were other sections of Antigo where the cyclone did equally serious damage. 



don, and Ignatz Barr, struck while standing in front 
of the F. Ringsmith residence. Seriously injured 
were: Mrs. Alex McMillan and daughter, Mamie, Mrs. 
J. Kolte, Mrs. Martin Lynski, Dr. Frank I. Drake, 
Mrs. Francis Kaplanek, and Mrs. H. H. Ward. 

Property damage was as follows: Electric light plant, 
water works power house, Isaac Cople residence, John 
E. Martin residence, and E. Houck residence demol- 
ished, household goods of Frank Newberry damaged, 
L. C. Bemis residence damaged, F. Ringsmith resi- 
dence demolished. Homer Sheldon household goods 
damaged, Mrs. A. Tollefson residence and household 
goods damaged, Joseph Steidle, two houes damaged, 
Gus Urbank household goods damaged, L. Frederick- 
son house demolished, Horace Kellogg house damag- 
ed, W. Putnam residence damaged, Henry Feindeisen 
house moved off foundation, C. H. Fetters residence 
damaged, A. C. Conway, W. Whitney, Olaf Gold- 
strand, and C. Hungerford residences damag- 
ed or they were demolished. George Bemis 



Mayor Dailey immediately issued a proclamation 
calling upon the Antigo citizens to aid the suffering 
and homeless. A Citizens' Relief Committee was ap- 
pointed. The Jones Lumber Company of Elcho donat- 
ed $50 for relief. Food, clothing and financial aid was 
distributed fast. The city council appropriated $1,000 
for relief purposes and offers for assistance came 
pouring in from every section to the sorrowing and 
stricken community. Never before or since has Lang- 
lade County witnessed such a holocaust. 

THE TORNADO OF JUNE 16, 1922. 

At 2.20 p. m. Friday afternoon, June 16, 1922, a 
destructive tornado entered Langlade County from the 
southeast corner, causing thousands of dollars of dam- 
age, endangering the lives of scores of people and 
creating havoc that will be discussed by generations 
to come. The path was almost the same as that of 
the tornado of May 18, 1898. In fact the basement 
of a house (just opposite the John Bahr, Jr., farm) is 



86 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



but a few feet from where the tornado did much of 
its destruction. 

The George Wachal farm lost heavy. Two barns, a 
granary, a machine shed and minor buildings were des- 
troyed. The estimated loss was $10,000. 

Felix Adamski had a barn, valued at $5,000 des- 
troyed. His silo, the windows of his residence and 
many shade trees were destroyed. 

The farm of Charles Kloida was a heavy sufferer. 
The great barns, machinery sheds, silo and other build- 
ings, implements and other property were destroyed. 
The residence of Mr. Kloida was also badly damaged. 
The family went into the basement just before the 
storm approached. 

The brick veneer residence, the barn, silo and ma- 
chinery buildings of Anton Zima were levelled to the 
ground. Mr. and Mrs. Zima were in Antigo shopping 
when the storm came up. 



zens. Homes and business properties were laid low. 
A strong southwest wind swept the city during the 
day. The fire department was called twice to extin- 
guish a fire in a swamp along the Weed mill spur 
track. The volunteers were unable to cope with the 
second fire as it gained considerable headway. Weed's 
saw and planing mills were ignited. Burning cinders 
and shingles were blown through the air and landed 
on other buildings. Dwelling houses were destroyed, 
one after another. Many families managed to save 
their household contents, however. Losses were sus- 
tained by the following: J. H. Weed's mill— $20,000 
to $30,000. Residences destroyed with losses rang- 
ing from $200 to $3,000 were those of : A. W. Cook, 
James Weaver, 0. H. Williams, Rufus Payne, Mrs. L. 
E. McCorckle, Fred Able, Jule Grant, Wm. Oldenburg, 
Fred McBain, Caleb Morse, E. D. Davis, T. H. Ward, 
Mike and Jos. Servi, L. Berner, Max Kalouner, Mar- 




W RECKED i-AR.M HU.ME OF AXTOX ZIMA 
On Highway (54, a short distance from Fifth .-Xveiiue, .\ntigo. Wis. 
This was one of the four farms completely or partially destroyed 
by the tornado, June K!, 1022. 



The granary and the barn of John Bahr, Jr., suffered 
heavily. The roof of the granary was torn away. 
Barn doors were torn from their hinges. 

Live stock belonging to Charles Kloida, Joe Herman, 
Joe Koudelka, Charles Kloida and Anton Zima was 
either killed or injured. 

Telephone poles in the path of the tornado were 
pulled from the ground for a distance of about one- 
half a mile. The tract of maple owned by John Bahr, 
Jr., was torn to splinters. 

Many Antigo people watched the white "twister" as 
it approached. None realized that it was but a mile 
from Fifth Avenue, Antigo's main street. The scene 
of the tornado was visited by thousands of people who 
drove through the muddy roads in the rain. It was 
an incident in the history of Langlade County that will 
be talked of for many years to come. 

THE WORST FIRE IN ANTIGO HISTORY. 

The most appalling fire in the history of Antigo oc- 
curred on the afternoon of May 20, 1893, and losses to 
the extent of $75,000 were sustained by scores of citi- 



tln Crash, Mrs. Jos. Grignon, Rube Paint, H. Schuer, 
A. J. Webley and David Clements, ($2,000 worth of 
wood, barn and household goods). The Prosser Livery 
Company lost sleighs, cutters and livery apparatus. 

Many had just time to flee from their homes. One 
old lady fled carrying a hen in each hand, all she could 
save from her premises. Another lady fled with a 
curtain pole and two pups. Sewing machines, bureaus, 
organs and choice pieces of furniture were carried into 
the streets only to be burned to ashes. 

ANOTHER BIG FIRE. 
January 5, 1893, a serious fire occurred when the M. 
Binder saloon, C. B. McDonald store, 0. H. P. AUerton 
store, I. Silbar store and contents were ruined or com- 
pletely destroyed. Origin of the fire is unknown. 
The total estimated loss was approximately $20,000. 
In October, 1893, the Antigo Manufacturing Company 
mill was destroyed by fire. 



OTHER IMPORTANT FIRES. 
1880— Twin Valley Inn, M. L. Waite, prop, 
to ground. 



burned 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



87 



September 5, 1883 — Catholic church, Antigo, total- 
ly destroyed. 

June 29, 1885— J. H. Weed's mill fire. Losses to 
the following: J. H. Weed, S. Bryant, L. Sands & Co., 
A. Weed, McElwe, Billings & Carney, Methudy & 
Meyers, Paine Lumber Co., P. Weed, H. Hewitt and 
H. Ried. Total loss— $340,500. 

October 27, 1886 — Antigo Lumber Company mill 



million feet of lumber and store building, also C. & 
N. W. depot burned at Elmhurst. 

August 1, 1899 — Davis Bros, mill at Bryant burn- 
ed. Loss $20,000. Re-built. 

February 2, 1897~John Dailey Mill at Strassburg 
burned to ground. Loss $12,000. 

December 14, 1910 — M. Krom building burned. Loss 
partially covered. 




SMOULDERING RUINS OF THE ANTIGO HIGH SCHOOL 
Which was totally destroyed by fire on January (i, lilKi. A week later the walls 
stood up against the ravages of fire were blasted from their foundation. 



that 



burned. Henry Bangs, L. K. Strong and John Mit- 
chell, owners. Loss about $20,000. 

May 12, 1887 — J. H. Weed's planing mill, operated 
by Hoxie & Mellor, burned with a $6,000 loss. 

December 6, 1891— $53,000 fire in Antigo. L. 
Strasser, Edward Cleary, Lee Waste, Masonic Lodge 
and J. A. Ogden, properties burned. 

July 26, 1894 — Fire started at Crocker Chair Co. 
yards. Rhinelander fire engine called. Losses to 
Crocker Chair Co., Thielman Brothers, Herman, Beck- 
linger & Herman, Marsh Brothers & Chase, Charles 
Thompson, Hessel & Leykom, Kohl & Tollefson, Henry 
Smith and O'Donnell's Livery. 

September 12, 1894 — Wunderlich's lumber yard, 2 



April 19, 1916— English Mfg. Co., kiln struck by 
lightning. Destroyed. Re-built. 

January 6, 1916 — Antigo High School completely 
destroyed by fire. 

August 30, 1922 — Faust Lumber Company Saw Mill 
totally destroyed by fire. Will rebuild. 

BRILLIANT METEOR. 

On March 10, 1905, at about 9.30 p. m., the citizens 
of Antigo were almost blinded by a very brilliant flash- 
like illumination of the entire sky. A heavy clap of 
thunder followed. The cause was a meteor which 
struck southwest of the city in Rolling township. 



88 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XVIII. 
Agriculture and Dairying 

The First Farmer — Difficulties and Impediments — Homestead Immigration — Progress — Agricultural 
Society — First County Fair — Poultry Association — Potato Grower's — Breeder's Associations — 
Cow Testing — Short Courses — County Agents — Dairying — Patrons of Husbandry. 



The beginning of agriculture in Langlade County 
dates back to the year 1853 when the first permanent 
white settler located within the limits of the county. 
The first white settler to clear away a space in the 
forest on which to cultivate a few crops was W. L. 
Ackley. Mr. Ackley settled on the northeast quarter 
of section 28, township 31, range 10 east. Here he 
cultivated potatoes, corn, and other necessary food- 
stuffs. In the winter months he busied himself in the 
forest, where both hardwoods and pine prevailed. 

H. C. Fellows, U. S. Deputy Surveyor, surveyed the 
region about Ackley's place in August, 1860, and re- 
ported "good crops on Ackley & Hogarty's farm." 
Hogarty was never a resident of Langlade County, 
but was interested in business with Ackley. The vil- 



Eau Claire banks were many. Here in this primitive 
wilderness W. L. Ackley lived until his death in 1894. 
He was well known and respected by all. 

Agriculture developed slowly between 1860 and 
1875. Settlers did not arrive in great numbers in that 
fifteen year period. A man named Boyington had a 
farm and logging claim on section 4, township 31, 
range 10 east, and another settler named Stone had a 
small farm with a number of buildings on the north- 
west quarter of the southeast quarter of section 9, 
township 31, range 10 east, in 1860. Boyington left 
the country because of the depressed state of the lum- 
ber market at that time. 

The first farmers, Ackley, Boyington, and Stone, 
were followed by others coming into eastern Lang- 




THE FIRST LOG C.'\BIN ERECTED I.\ L.\XGL.\DE COLXTY. 
These cabins on the banks of the Eau Claire river, near the junction of the cast and west branches, were 
built by W. L. Ackley, the first permanent white settler in Langlade County. Mr. Ackley came up the Eau 
Claire river in a canoe in 1S53 and was in this county at least eight years before "Old Dutch Frank" of the Wolf 
River country. He cleared the first farm in the county near the site of the once thriving village of Heine- 
niann. 



lage of Hogarty, stopping place between Wausau and 
Antigo territory between 1853 to 1886, was named 
after him. 

Mr. Ackley came into Ackley township from Wau- 
sau following the course of the Eau Claire river up 
to the forks of the east and west branches, where he 
settled. He married a Chippewa Indian maiden' and 
she proved a capable and thrifty housewife. After 
erecting his cabin and rude shacks he began the nu- 
cleus of the Ackley trading post. This was at his 
farm. He traded chiefly with the Indians passing over 
the trails in western Langlade County as well as river 
drivers, lumbermen and homestead seekers. 

The trials and difficulties of this first settler as he 
pushed back the timber and erected a cabin on the 



lade County and to Norwood, Antigo and Rolling 
townships, between 1870 and 1880. 

Charles Larzelere, driving a span of horses, came 
down the Military Road from Lac Vieux Desert, bor- 
der settlement, to the Wolf river country in the win- 
ter of 1870-71. He settled on his claim on sections 
3 and 10, township 31, range 14 east. Mr. Larzelere 
erected a small dwelling, made a clearing and cultivat- 
ed crops the following spring. 

Agriculture still progressed slowly. The great for- 
ests, where only pine was cut, and the great amount 
of labor necessary to clear a farm and remove logs 
and stumpage were the chief obstacles. Poor roads 
and long distances from trading posts and cities fig- 

1, Consult life of W. L. Ackley in biographical section. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



89 



ured as principal impediments. Then the farmer did 
not have the modern equipment of the agriculturist 
of 1922. Markets were lacking, therefore no incen- 
tive to produce more than needed for family consump- 
tion was stimulated. Natural meadows were often 
found for hay and grasses. 

The giant forests abounded in game, deer, bear and 
wild fowl of every description. The streams were 
filled with fish. When the pioneer farmer and settler 
desired meats for his table he took his rifle or by use 
of his traps supplied the family wants with the choic- 
est meats. 

The pioneer relied chiefly on his own resources. 
He could not do otherwise. The housewife aided her 
husband clear ground and cultivate crops; she knitted 
his mittens and sox and made his home comfortable 
and cheerful. As time passed the housewife became 
the patron of the trading post or village stores of An- 
tigo, which became a fair settlement in 1881. The 
farmer began to cultivate hay, timothy, clover and 
truck products. He became more scientific. Live- 
stock became more common and a general change 
from the methods of 1853 to those of 1922 gradually 
took place. His neighbors became numerous, forests 
thinned, a greater acreage was tilled and, in short, the 
farm community became a reality. 

COUNTY AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

The Langlade County Agricultural Society was or- 
ganized August 21, 1886, under the laws of Wiscon- 
sin. A mass meeting of citizens was held at which 
a committee was selected to draw up a constitution 
and by-laws, which were adopted. Charles Gowan, 
prominent farmer, and A. B. Millard, publisher, were 
elected President and Secretary respectively. The 
first county fair was held October 4 and 5, 1886, at 
the old Opera House. W. H. Hoard, later Governor 
of Wisconsin, was the principal speaker. 

The success of the first fair created greater interest 
in the agricultural possibilities of the new county and 
steps were at once taken to secure permanent grounds 
for an annual exhibition. The County Board appro- 
priated $1,500 for which a site of 40 acres was pur- 
chased. In June, 1887, $1,000 was appropriated by 
the county for erecting buildings and by October 1, 
1887, a fine exhibition building was erected for $1,300. 
Agriculture exhibitions have been supported since; 
farmers and citizens generally have taken a keen in- 
terest in the annual fair and its success is a source of 
civic pride. The fair is now held three days, usually 
early in September. Present officers are : Presi- 
dent, John Bowen; Vice President, A. L. Hayner; Sec- 
retary, Henry Berner; Treasurer, Leonard Freiburger, 
Sr. ; Executive Committee, all officers, together with 
W. H. Wegner, R. S. Healy, Sr., James McKenna and 
John O'Brien. Officers are elected annually. 

DAIRYING AND HORTICULTURE. 

Langlade County is rapidly forging to the front in 
Wisconsin as a distinctive dairying district. The in- 
creased demand for milk and butter by the rapidly 



growing urban population and the large number of 
cheese factories in the county have created a rivalry 
and continued development in the industry. 

James Cherf, Ed H. Marsh and other horticulturists 
in the county will organize a Langlade County Horti- 
cultural Society in 1922. The cultivation of fruits, 
vegetables and ornamental plants can be practiced 
in Langlade County for commercial as well as pleas- 
ure purposes. 

BEE KEEPERS' ASSOCIATION. 

The Langlade County Bee Keepers' Association was 
organized in 1918. Then it was known, however, as 
the Northwestern association. Reorganization took 
place January 14, 1921, when the name was changed 
to the present. Meetings are held annually with inter- 
vening special sessions. Officers are a President, now 
James Cherf, who owns a large orchard and farm east 
on Fifth Avenue, Antigo; Vice President, Otto Kles- 
sig; Secretary, Mrs. D. A. Blanchard, 825 Langlade 
Road; Treasurer, Otto Wirth, Rolling township. 
Board of Directors, D. A. Blanchard, chairman, Her- 
man Wirth and Joseph Ramer. James Cherf, E. H. 
Marsh and H. H. Schroeder were active in organiza- 
tion of the association. 

COW TESTING ASSOCIATION. 

The Langlade County Cow Testing Association was 
active from 1913 to 1918 inclusive. It was reorganiz- 
ed in January, 1915, by F. G. Swoboda, County Agent. 
Testing was performed by an expert responsible joint- 
ly to the local association and the State Dairyman's 
Association. Eight farmers at Friebel's school. Peck 
township, and twelve at Elcho weighed their milk regu- 
larly and made monthly tests. 

SHORT COURSE FOR BOYS. 

That the young man might acquaint himself with 
scientific methods of modern farming, short courses 
were held in townships and at the court house since 
1915. Then three were held — one at Friebel's school. 
Peck township, attended by twenty-five; one at Phlox, 
Norwood township, attended by fifty-four, and an- 
other, a six weeks' course, at the court house, attended 
by eleven. The course was continued at the court 
house while the County Agents were retained. They 
are now conducted under the auspices of the County 
Normal. 

THE COUNTY AGENT. 

The County Agricultural Representative movement, 
born in Oneida County, Wisconsin, has expanded over 
the entire nation. Langlade County has had three 
County Agents. The first, F. G. Swoboda, now Gener- 
al Manager of the Wisconsin Cheese Federation, com- 
menced duties in 1913. 

During his tenure in office, 75 meetings were held 
the first ten months. In the same time 395 farms were 
visited, 2,726 letters were written to farmers, 2,113 of- 



90 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



fice visits were made by farmers and 41 committee 
meetings were attended. The pure bred cattle organ- 
izations, short courses, cow testing association, com- 
munity fairs, bee keepers' association and potato grow- 
ers' association, were either organized or developed 
during his tenure. He resigned in June, 1918. 

J. J. Garland, Emergency Demonstration Agent, 
took up the work after the resignation of F. G. Swo- 
boda. During his regime potato growers were induc- 
ed to treat seed before planting; membership in the 
potato growers' association was increased; Dr. Ball, 
State Entomologist, examined potato fields attacked 
by leaf hoppers; boys' and girls' clubs were organized 
in 29 schools; 272 members joined the sheep club; 
poultry contests were conducted; a land clearing dem- 
onstration was held in Little Chicago district, sheep 
raising was encouraged and in 1918, 26 pure bred sires, 
5 Guernseys and 12 Holstein breeds were brought into 
the county through the agent. 

W. M. Bewick took charge of the County Agency 
in April, 1918. During his tenure, 3,345 letters were 
written to farmers, 1,849 conferences were held, 151 
days were spent in field work, the township agricul- 
tural committee system was partially operative, land 
clearings, live stock improvement, potato inspection, 
sheep club work, calf clubs, and poultry contests were 
conducted. Mr. Bewick resigned in November, 1920. 

POTATO GROWERS. 

The Langlade County Potato Growers' Association 
was organized in 1914. The most enthusiastic mem- 
bers of the unit are: Homer Beattie, J. W. Smith of 
Kent, famous for his Smith strain of Triumphs, best in 
the U. S., Peter Krier and C. Sorenson. Local exhi- 
bits have been conducted, the most important in 1916. 
The association has not been active in late years. 
There is no reason why Langlade County should not 
be the banner potato county. 

PURE BRED CATTLE ORGANIZATIONS. 

Langlade County has three pure bred cattle or- 
ganizations, whose objects are to promote and im- 
prove the quality of stock possessed by Langlade 
County farmers. 

The Langlade County Jersey Breeders' Association 
was organized in March, 1914, by F. G. Swoboda, 
County Agent. First officers were: President, Blaine 
Stewart; Vice President, Harry Lyons; Secretary, P. 
T. Gillett; Treasurer, Charles Schotte. Present offi- 
cers are: President, Charles Schotte; Vice President, 
Harry Lyons; Secretary, John Maichen; Treasurer, 
A. Oldenburg. The first meeting was held at the court 
house. Twenty members are now active. 

The Langlade County Holstein Breeders' Associa- 
tion was organized by F. G. Swoboda, County Agent, 
in 1915. First officers were : President, George Wun- 
derlich; Vice President, Walter Lloyd; Secretary, F. 
G. Swoboda ; Treasurer, Adam Guenthner. First meet- 
ings were held at the court house. Business sessions 
are held in the winter and an annual summer outing 



and picnic is enjoyed. Present officers are: President, 
Henry Diercks, Bryant; Vice President, Theodore 
Miller, Antigo township; Secretary, Clemans Bemis, 
Rolling township; Treasurer, Adam Guenthner. Thir- 
ty-five progressive breeders are members of the or- 
ganization. 

The Langlade County Guernsey Breeders' Associa- 
tion was organized in May, 1915. First officers chos- 
en were : President, Anton FoUstad ; G. Schroeder, 
Treasurer; F. G. Swoboda, Secretary. Present offi- 
cers are: President, R. P. Guptil; Secretary-Treasurer, 
Anton Follstad. Eighteen Guernsey breeders in Lang- 
lade County are members. 

POULTRY ASSOCIATION ORGANIZED. 

The Langlade County Poultry Association was or- 
ganized by A. B. Goodrick and E. J. Goodrick, Novem- 
ber 12, 1912. The object of the association is to en- 
courage and assist breeding and raising pure bred 
poultry, pigeons and pet stock and the public exhibi- 
tion thereof. 

SOIL TESTS ON COUNTY FARMS. 

Four factors are considered in soil fertility. The 
crop producing ability of a soil depends upon the 
amount of Nitrogen, Phosphorus, Potash and acidity 
there is in the soil. 

Soil tests have been made by the state soils labora- 
tory. University of Wisconsin. Field examinations 
and chemical analysis was made by H. W. Ullsperger 
and E. J. Graul of the College of Agriculture. Tests 
were made on the following farms : Carl Follstad, 
George Moss, Casper Jilek, Walter Heyl, Joseph 
Guenthner, S. B. Ullman, H. W. McDougall, Earl 
French, Homer Beattie, D. C. Dewey, Herman Wirth, 
Prosser Brothers, Charles Johnson, Charles Motts, 
William Pheister, Head & Jackson, Edward Nordman, 
B. Berendsen, Moss & Levis, George Grossman, E. S. 
Tradewell, Albert Kelly and Knight Brothers. 

1,842 FARMS IN COUNTY. 

In 1909, 30,000 acres of land were under cultivation 
in the county. In 1910, 128,828 acres were such as to 
be classed as farm lands. Ten years later farm lands 
increased to 152,683 acres, or an increase of 27.3 per 
cent. In 1920 there were 5,833 acres of county plow 
land in pasture. Statistics reveal that in 1920 there 
were 1,842 farms in the county, 1,776 of which were 
managed by their owners. Today Langlade County 
has farms classified as follows : 775 farms between 50 
to 99 acres; 368 farms between 100 to 174 acres; 49 
farms between 175 to 259 acres; 24 farms between 
260 to 499 acres; 4 farms between 500 to 990 acres; 
2 farms over 1,000 acres; 7 farms under 3 acres; 34 
farms between 3 and 9 acres; 76 farms between 10 and 
19 acres and 503 farms between 20 and 49 acres. 

The average Langlade County farm is 82I2 acres. 
Contrast the number of farms in the county in 1922 
with the year 1881 when there were two-thirds less in- 
habitants in the county than there are farms today. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



91 



Although the entire acreage of Langlade County is 
far from under cultivation there is not a great amount 
of waste land. Agriculture is diversified, farmers not 
being confined to one single crop, therefore they must 
not rely on the results of one product. 

1921 STATISTICS. 

No. of horses and mules in Langlade County 5,467 

No. of neat cattle in Langlade County 19,689 

No. of sheep in Langlade County 3,006 

No. of swine in Langlade County 3,739 

The assessed value per acre of land without im- 
provements is by townships as follows: 

Ackley 18.62 

Ainsworth 16.32 

Antigo 56.99 

Elcho 15.35 

Elton 19.57 

Evergreen 14.64 

Langlade , 15.84 

Neva 31.87 

Norwood 21.32 

Peck 15.07 

Polar 15.73 

Price 15.97 

Rolling 26.49 

Summit 11.17 

Upham 14.77 

Vilas 14.91 

The first thresher used in Langlade County was 
bought by Willard L. Ackley, the first settler, in 1883. 
from the J. C. Lewis Hardware Company of Antigo. 

PATRONS OF HUSBANDRY. 
Langlade County, Wisconsin, is one of the most 



active grange centers in the United States. At the 
1922 session of the Wisconsin Granges at Rhineland- 
er, Oneida County, Wisconsin, Langlade County grange 
leaders took a prominent part. 

Edward Utnehmer, Polar Township, member of Po- 
lar Grange, is State Overseer; Chaplain of the state 
unit is J. H. Howe of Winner Grange, Antigo town- 
ship; Gatekeeper of the state unit is Floyd Frederick- 
son of Antigo, and Fred Swenson of Langlade County 
is a member of the state executive committee. 

Pomona Grange, No. 20, Patrons of Husbandry, 
was organized by State Organizer John F. Wilde. 
Rhinelander. The Pomona Grange is the parent unit 
over the subordinate granges in Langlade County. 
Its purpose is to solidify subordinate granges for mu- 
tual helpfulness and to discuss such questions of gen- 
eral benefit tending to educate and elevate the Lang- 
lade County farmer. 

First officers of Pomona Grange, No. 20, Langlade 
County, were: Master, P. T. Gillett; Overseer, A. F. 
Goodman; Lecturer, George Sloat, Sr.; Steward, Jacob 
Price; Assistant Steward, Chester Nelson; Lady As- 
sistant Steward, Jessie Dudley; Chaplain, Mrs. Mal- 
colm Hutchinson; Treasurer, William Shanks; Trea- 
surer. J. H. Howe; Gatekeeper, Theodore Kieper; 
Ceres, Amanda Koch; Pomona, Delia Naumann; Flora, 
Mrs. J. H. Howe; Trustees, William Hafecker. David 
Mader and Norman Koch. 

The present Master is Fred Swenson; H. H. Schroe- 
der is Overseer; Alex Henry, Treasurer; Mrs. Cora 
Utnehmer, Secretary; Chaplain, Mrs. Fred Swenson; 
Lecturer, Mrs. Jess Dudley. Trustees are P. T. Gil- 
lett, H. H. Schroeder and Otto Hanke. Meetings are 
held every two months at a designated subordinate 
grange and occur on the fourth Thursday. 




AN EXCITING MOMENT IN A MOTORCYCLE RACE AT THE LANGLADE COUNTY FAIR. 

The Langlade County Fair Association has held races in connection with its annual agricultural exhibitions sitice 
1886. The old Antigo Trotting Association was the first organization to use the race track. 



92 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XIX. 
Medicine, Doctors, Chiropractors 

First Hospital — Writings of Hypocrates — First Autopsy — Medical Associations — Langlade County 
Doctors — Trials and Tribulations — Drugs and Instruments — Medical Statutes — First and Sec- 
ond Langlade County Medical Societies — Dental Association — Dentists — School of Chiropractics 
— List of Physicians — Chiropractors. 



Before the time of Hypocrates, the healing of the 
sick or the art of medicine was joined with the mis- 
sion of Gods and priests. Religion, medicine and the 
superstition of the people combined into a so-called 
science of the ancients. 

The writings of Hypocrates were standard guides 
for the medical profession for centuries after his 
death. Galen in 130 A. D., Andrew Vesalius in 1514, 
William Harvey in 1628, each were epochal medical 
writers. Edward Jenner, discoverer of vaccination 
against smallpox. Dr. Morton of Boston in 1846, dis- 
coverer of anaestheti.x properties of suphuric ether, 
all of these and others since, have done much to ad- 
vance medical and surgical science. 



tez, Spanish conqueror of Mexico. February, 1752, 
the first hospital was opened in the United States by 
Drs. Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Bond in Phila- 
delphia. 

LANGLADE COUNTY HOSPITALS. 

Antigo and Langlade County are served by two 
hospitals. The City Hospital, owned by Dr. E. J. 
Donohue, located at the intersection of First Avenue 
and Superior Street, and the Antigo Hospital, owned 
by Drs. G. E. and G. W. Moore, located at 1404 Fifth 
Avenue. 

The first Langlade County hospital was a frame 







THE .WTIGO HOSPITAL 
Located at 14(14 Fifth .\venue. It was purchased by Dr. G. W. 
former .Antigo physician on January :!, IHIS. 



Moore, 



During the past quarter of a century, particularly 
during the World War (1914-19) great strides were 
made in surgery. 

The first autopsy held in America was upon the re- 
mains of John Bridge of Roxbury, Massachusetts, who 
died of "Winde CoUicke," August 20, 1674. The first 
doctors in the United States were Dr. Thomas Woot- 
ten of Jamestown, Virginia, in 1607, Dr. Walter Rus- 
sell, 1608, and Dr. Lawrence Bohun in 1610. The 
first hospital in the world was built at Jerusalem by 
Helena, mother of Constantine, about 350 A. D. The 
first American hospital was built before 1524 by Cor- 



structure situated between Milton and Superior Streets 
where now the Langlade County Normal dormitory is 
located. It was organized by Dr. I. D. Steffen in 1889. 
He conducted it for three years. 

Dr. I. D. Steffen purchased a piece of property in 
Antigo from Theresa Hirtz, March 11, 1897, and 
opened the Antigo Hospital. He sold the property 
to Mayme Boyle in 1917 and she in turn sold it to 
Dr. G. W. Moore, January 3, 1918. Dr. G. W. Moore 
has since associated with Dr. G. E. Moore, his fo'mer 
pri-tner, in conducting the hospital 

Dr. E. J. Donohue purchased a two story brick struc- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



93 



ture from Osca Daskam, June 3, 1911. The proper- 
ty, located in block 2 of Daskam's subdivision, was 
converted into the City Hospital. It is in charge of 
the Misses Agnes and Theresa Donohue. 

FIRST COUNTY PHYSICIANS. 

The first Langlade County doctor was Dr. E. Smith, 
who came to Antigo from Little Suamico, Oconto 
County. Dr. Smith did not remain long in Antigo. He 
was immediately followed by Dr. F. J. Despins, who 
stopped for a time at the Springbrook House. Dr. 
Smith came here in 1880. Other pioneer doctors were 
Dr. E. A. Beckel, Dr. G. W. Moody, Dr. G. W. Rem- 
ington, Dr. J. H. Dawley, Dr. M. J. Lower, Dr. F. J. 
Doyle, and Dr. Mills, dentist. 

TRIALS OF EARLY PHYSICIANS. 

Today we cannot imagine the trials and vicissitudes 
that confronted the pioneer physician of 1880. Be- 
fore Langlade County was organized it was necessary 



remedies. These ordinarily consisted of herbs, barks, 
liniments, ointments, secured by stage from Shawano 
or Wausau. The families would "stock up" on such 
medicine as St. Jacob's Oil, Seller's Cough Syrup, 
burdock and pleurisy root and other home remedies. 

The pioneer housewife was always on hand when 
illness overtook a neighbor or a member of her own 
family. She usually had a remedy for most any dis- 
ease and when her remedy failed a doctor was called. 
His methods were crude compared with modern medi- 
cal methods, but in justice to the pioneer doctor, he 
brought relief to as many a patient and exhibited as 
much resourcefulness and common sense as do the 
modern physicians. Many of the herbs and medicines 
of early days did not possess pleasing tastes. "I 
can taste some of the medicine yet," remarked a pio- 
neer of 1879. 

If Drs. E. Smith and F. J. Despins, the first doctors 
in the county, could come back to earth and witness 
the wonderful progress made in Antigo and vicinity, 




THE CITY HOSPITAL, AMTGO, WIS. 

Purchased from Osca Daskam by Dr. E. J. Donohue on June 3, 1911. This 

hospital is located at the corner of Superior Street and First Avenue. 



for settlers to send to Shawano, Wausau or Clinton- 
ville for a physician. Many a life was in the bal- 
ance while the doctor, far away, with poor roads, 
wound his way through the forests, either on horse- 
back or with his "buckboard" and pony. When calls 
were made in evenings in later years many a doctor 
would lose his way in the dark wilderness. Over on 
the Wolf River, Jeannie Hill, now Mrs. Art Janes, and 
Mrs. Charles Larzelere, who nursed many a sick per- 
son, recalled sending to Clintonville for a doctor, who 
would often be two to three days on the way. 

DOMESTIC MEDICINES. 

It is only reasonable to see that because of these 
conditions so prevalent in New County and Langlade, 
afterwards, every household was provided with home 



see the flying machine, the automobile, the roaring 
20th century passenger train, the great farm tractors 
and observe doctors talking with patients miles dis- 
tant, prescribing treatment by radiophone or tele- 
phone and giving other medical advice, they would be 
thunderstruck, so to speak. If they could visit the 
late meetings of the county Medical Society, hear the 
papers read and the medical terms created since their 
day, they would be amazed. 

Many instruments and necessary appliances could 
not be secured by early physicians. The pioneer doc- 
tor acted as nurse, interne, attendant and operator. 
His hospital was a room in the home of the patient. 
The X-ray and other electrical apparatus were un- 
known. Asceptic surgery, as practiced today, was in 
embryological stages. 



94 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



THE FIRST LANGLADE COUNTY MEDICAL 
SOCIETY. 

The first Langlade County Medical Society was or- 
ganized April 19. 1897, with the following officers: 
President, M. E. Williams; Vice President, Dr. M. J. 
Lower; Secretary, Dr. B. F. Harris, and Treasurer, 
J. H. Dawley. 

LANGLADE COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETY. 

The present Langlade County Medical Society was 
organized in the municipal council chambers by Dr. 
J. M. Dodd, councilor of District No. 10, now Dis- 
trict 11 (La Crosse District), of the State Medical 
Society, October 9, 1903. Officers elected were : Presi- 
dent, Dr. I. D. Steffen; Vice President, Dr. M. J. 
Donohue; Secretary, Dr. F. I. Drake; Board of Cen- 
sors, Dr. F. V. Watson, Dr. M. A. Flatley, and Dr. M. 
J. Donohue. Meetings were set at the first Friday of 
December, March, June and September. Present of- 
ficers are: President, Dr. L. A. Steffen; Vice President, 
Dr. E. R. Murphy; Secretary-Treasurer, Dr. J. C. 
Wright. 

The purpose of the society is to bring into one or- 
ganization the physicians of the county, so that by 
frequent meetings and full and frank discussion, in- 
terchange of views, they may secure such intelligent 
unity and harmony as will elevate the opinion of the 
profession in all scientific, legislative, public health, 
material and social affairs, to the end that the pro- 
fession may receive that respect and support within 
its own ranks and from the community to which its 
honorable history and achievements entitle it. 

The county unit is a part of the state society and 
the American Medical Association, parent organiza- 
tions. 

The annual meeting, with banquet, was introduced 
in 1910. The society did commendable service dur- 
ing the World War as a unit as also did its members. 

The first medical banquet was held February 9, 1910. 



LIST OF PHYSICIANS. 

Langlade County physicians who have served re- 
spective communities since 1880 to date are: Dr. E. 
Smith, Dr. F. J. Despins, Dr. G. W. Remington, Dr. 
F. A. Beckel, Dr. J. H. Dawley, Dr. M. J. Lower, Dr. 
C. Munn, Dr. E. A. Craine, Dr. M. E. Williams, Dr. 
J. W. Moody, Dr. B. F. Harris, Dr. G. R. Shaw, Dr. J. 
Weiss, Dr. E. P. Cook, Dr. M. J. Donohue, Dr. E. J. 

Donohue, Dr. J. F. Doyle, Dr. I. D. Steffen, Dr. 

Frank, Dr. H. T. Field, Dr. G. W. Moore. Dr. G. W. 
Develaar, Dr. G. H. Williamson, Dr. C. L. Cline. Dr. 
H. P. Beattie (woman). Dr. G. L. Bellis. Dr. N. Kahn, 
Dr. H. G. Westphal, Dr. J. P. Percival, Dr. W. H. 
Ellis, Dr. T. J. Fladey, Dr. M. A. Flatley, Dr. 0. G. 
Wolfgram, Dr. E. E. Couch, Dr. J. M. Sattler, Dr. L. 
A. Leysner, Dr. Clayton Charles, Dr. F. V. Watson, 
Dr. E. A. King, Dr. E. R. Murphy, Dr. G. E. Moore, 
Dr. J. P. Gillis, Dr. P. J. Dailey, Dr. Lyman Steffen, 
Dr. Edward Zellmer, Dr. E. G. Bloor, Dr. J. C. Wright 
and Dr. F. Drake. 

CHIROPRACTORS. 

Present Antigo Chiropractors are: Harry Zuehlke, 
J. J. Healy, Julius Below and Miss Alma Hanson. In 
1912-13 the Antigo School of Chiropractics conducted 
by Paul Von de Schoeppe enjoyed state and nation- 
wide reputation. The school graduated many chiro- 
practors. 

LANGLADE COUNTY DENTAL ASSOCIATION. 

The Langlade County Dental Association organized 
June, 1919, with the following officers: President, Dr. 
F. C. Kestly; Vice President. Dr. C. B. Baker; Secre- 
tary-Treasurer. Dr. A. A. Hoffman. Meetings are held 
every two months. Present officers are : President. 
Dr. C. B. Baker; Vice President. Dr. John Prokupek; 
Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. A. N. Anderson. 

Dr. H. V. Mills, first Langlade County dentist, came 
to Antigo in 1882. Present Antigo dentists are : Dr. 
H. V. Mills. Dr. F. C. Judson. Dr. F. C. Kestly. Dr. J. 
Prokupek. Dr. N. P. Kelly. Dr. Jos. Gillis. Dr. A. N. 
Anderson. Dr. A. A. Hoffman, Dr. Harry B. Dresser 
and Dr. C. B. Baker. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



95 



CHAPTER XX. 
Soil Formation in Langlade County 

General Character of Surface — Glacial Drifts — Merrimac Silt Loam — Gloucester Series — Igneous and 
Metamorphic Rocks of Archean System — Spencer Silt Loam — Peat Formations — Wolf River 
Ledges — Elevation of Antigo and Summit Lake. 



Langlade County owes the general character of its 
surface to glacial action. Geologists have divided the 
time required to develop the earth to its present state 
in cycles or ages. Thus where rocks predominate 
they can be studied and their geologic age can be 
ascertained. 

Two distinct periods of glaciation are represented 
in Langlade County. The older drift is confined to 
the southwestern part. The surface is gently rolling 
with no lakes and only a few undrained tracts. The 
newer glacial drift covers the rest of the county. The 
surface is more irregular, the drainage system, while 
developed, has not become so well established. Lakes 
and swamps abound. Thus the soils of the entire 
county are the result of glacial drifts. 

In northeastern Langlade County a small tract of 
land is underlain by igneous and metamorphic rocks 
of the Archean system, consisting of granite, gneis 
and schist, with subordinate greenstone, porphyries 
and syenites. Here numerous outcrops occur and the 
formation has contributed extensively to the overly- 
ing soils. 

Gloucester silt loam is an important soil. Elton and 
Langlade townships have important areas. This type 
consists of a brown or light brown, friable loess-like 
silt loam, which extends to an average depth of from 
12 to 14 inches. Much organic matter is present, the 
amount of silt is higher and the percentage of coarse 
material lower than in the rolling phase of the same 
type. The subsoil becomes heavier with depth. Be- 
low 30 inches the subsoil grades into a bed of un- 
assorted glacial till of sand and gravel. 

Stones and boulders are present on the surface. As to 
distribution, while not uniform, they range in diame- 
ter from 12 to 14 inches. In the Gloucester silt loam 
territory of the county there are many stone-free 
areas of considerable size and with liming and in- 
noculation of soil, livestock, dairying, potato culture 
and small grain growing have been developed. 

EASTERN AND CENTRAL LANGLADE 
COUNTY. 

The Gloucester silt loam, rolling phase, predomin- 
ates in the eastern and central portions of Langlade 
County. Associated with it are the typical soil and 
numerous areas of the Gloucester sandy loam. The 
rolling Gloucester phase consists to an average depth 
of 10 to 12 inches of a grayish brown, friable silt 
loam, with smooth feel. It contains organic matter 
in a moderate degree. This soil has somewhat the 
appearance of loess. The sub-soil of the rolling phase 



consists of yellow, yellowish brown or slightly gray- 
ish yellow silt loam becoming heavier in texture with 
depth, extending to a depth of 20 to 26 inches. Be- 
low this depth the percentage of sand and gravel in- 
creases. In sections 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 of Town- 
ship 34, Range 10 east and in sections 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 
in Township 33, Range 11 east, of the county, 
there is a considerable amount of fine sand incorpor- 
ated in both soil and sub-soil, so that the soil ap- 
proaches a fine sandy loam. Rolling, Norwood, Polar 
and Evergreen Townships, in the Gloucester silt loam, 
rolling phase, are all extensively developed. 

Gloucester fine sandy loam is found in the county 
where crystalline rocks make up the underlying geo- 
logic formation. The general occurrence of this type 
of soil is in irregular belts running in a northeast 
and southwest direction, following the trend of the 
glacial ice sheet. 

The Gloucester fine sandy loam surface soil consists 
to an average depth of 12 inches of light brown or yel- 
lowish brown mellow, friable sandy loam. The sub- 
soil consists of a light yellowish brown to yellow fine 
sandy loam coarser in texture with increased depth. 
Gravel occurs below a depth of 20 inches. Stones and 
boulders are plentiful on the surface and through the 
soil section, ranging in size up to three feet in diam- 
eter. They are not as numerous, however, as on the 
Gloucester silt loam, rolling phase. In section 33 and 
34 of township 34, range 10 east, the surface is only 
undulating and the material is derived from an out- 
wash plain. This type of soil owes its origin to the 
weathering of glacial till which was deposited over 
the crystalline rocks and it consists of material which 
was derived largely from this geologic formation 
through the grinding action of the ice and subsequent 
weathering. A part of this type may consist of lateral 
or recessional moraines. 

There are only a few square miles of Gloucester 
fine sand in the county. The surface soil, to an aver- 
age depth of 9 to 10 inches, consists of loose, friable, 
yellowish brown fine sand. The surface inch on vir- 
gin tracts is often darker due to the accumulation of 
organic matter, where the land has been burned over. 
The subsoil is a yellow fine sand. Gravel is not plen- 
tiful in within 36 inches of the surface. Where this 
soil is found in the county stones and boulders are 
present in moderate quantities on the surface and mix- 
ed with the soil. The surface of this type of soil 
varies from undulating to gently rolling while some 
areas consist of low hills giving a hummocky appear- 
ance. It owes its origin to the weathering of glacial 



96 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



drift derived chiefly from the grinding action of the 
ice sheet over the crystalline rocks. 

Gloucester sandy loam has been extensively devel- 
oped in Langlade County. The surface soil consists 
to an average depth of about 12 inches of a brown or 
yellowish brown medium textured sandy loam of a 
rather loose and friable structure. The subsoil is grad- 
ually lighter and often coarser in texture with depth. 
Below 22 inches it consists of an unstratified mixture 
of medium to coarse sand and fine gravel. Stone and 
boulders up to three or four feet in diameter are scat- 
tered over the surface and mixed with the soil mate- 
rial but they are not numerous. The most numerous 
boulders range from ten to eighteen inches in diameter. 

ROLLING TOWNSHIP. 

In Rolling Township the soil is somewhat heavier, 
less rolling and has fewer stone sand and is a better 
agricultural soil than Gloucester sandy loam else- 
where. Gloucester sandy loam in Upham Township 
is more gravelly than usual and the texture is variable 
within short distances. In places it is a loam or a 
gravelly loam while again it may be a fine sandy loam 
or gravelly sand. In the extreme northwestern cor- 
ner of Langlade County, in township 34, range 9, and 
in the extreme southeastern part, in township 32, 
range 14 east, and township 31, range 14 east, Glou- 
cester sandy loam is more stony, gravelly and rougher 
than usual and has a lower grade of agricultural value. 
In some places it is a gravelly sand. Excavations and 
well records show that the subsoil of sand and gravel 
extends to bedrock, and that the huge boulders occur 
to a depth of 20 to 30 feet. 

The surface of the Gloucester sandy loam varies 
from rolling to rough and hilly. Over the greater part 
of this type of soil the surface is not too steep for cul- 
tivation, but there are exceptions to this where the 
topography is so broken and the slopes so steep that 
cultivated crops probably could not be produced with 
profit. In the vicinity of Edith and Rose Lakes, town- 
ships 32, range 14 east, and in the northwestern part of 
the county, township 34, range 9, except in sections 
17 and 18, the surface is very rough and the land has 
not a high agricultural value. 

The surface frequently appears as a series of paral- 
lel ridges varying in elevation from 15 to 40 feet above 
the intervening valleys and occurring from 20 rods to 
a quarter of a mile apart. These slopes are some- 
times very steep and in a general outline they have an 
appearance of eskers, but the material is not stratified. 

The material composing the Gloucester sandy loam 
consists of glacial debris deposited over crystalline 
rock by the ice sheet. The supply of organic matter 
in this soil is low. There is a probability that little 
of the material forming this soil has come from the 
immediate region and it therefore has the same rela- 
tion to the underlying rock that a residual soil would 
have. 

Gloucester sand, of minor importance, is found in 
the townships of Elcho and Ainsworth in small tracts. 
It is a light brown surface soil extending to about 



eight inches. The material is loose, has an acid condi- 
tion and contains but little organic material. The sub- 
soil is a yellow medium sand. Fine gravel occurs 
over the surface occasionally and in the deep subsoil. 
Few stones appear on the surface and none hinder cul- 
tivation. No limestone material is present as the ma- 
terial composing this type of soil consists of glacial 
debris not transported from any great distance. Farm 
crops do not yield as much on this soil as on silt loam 
and fine sandy loam, potatoes doing the best. 

GLOUCESTER STONY SAND ALONG WOLF 
RIVER. 

Gloucester stony sand is found in small patches in 
northern Langlade County along the Wolf River. This 
is a loose, incoherent sand of medium texture at a sur- 
face depth of 8 to 10 inches. The amount of organic 
matter is very small. The subsoil is lighter as depth 
becomes greater. It is yellow in color. Stones are 
plentiful on the surface and boulders frequently ap- 
pear. Kames and eskers make up a great portion of 
the surface, which is very irregular and rough. 

The material of which Gloucester stondy sand con- 
sists is glacial debris deposited as kames, eskers and 
probably as lateral and recessional moraines. The 
gravel, stones and boulders are largely of crystalline 
rock. No trace of limestone can be found and the 
soil and subsoil are acidic. It is of little value for 
agricultural purposes, but is well adapted for fores- 
tration. 

The Spencer silt loam, a most important and exten- 
sive soil type, is confined to the western part of Lang- 
lade County where it occurs as one continuous tract in 
Summit, Vilas, Ackley and the western part of Peck 
and Upham Townships. 

The surface of this type of soil to an average depth 
of 10 inches consists of a light brown or grayish silt 
loam with a reddish shade and contains a small 
amount of organic matter. The percentage of silt is 
very high and the soil has a smooth feel characteris- 
tic of silt loam. This soil is heavy and compact be- 
cause of the high clay content and at places approaches 
a silty clay loam in texture. The subsoil consists of 
a yellowish brown, buff or grayish silt loam which is 
heavier with depth and grades into a silty loam at 
16 to 20 inches. Below this depth and at times above 
it the material is mottled with yellow, brown, bluish 
and reddish brown, indicating poor internal drainage. 
The lower subsoil below 24 and 30 inches has a red- 
dish brown color. There are but little stones on the 
surface. The amount of organic material is greater 
in the depressions. The depth to bedrock ranges from 
4 to 50 feet. The surface generally is undulating and 
gently rolling. Elevation differences between high- 
est and lowest points do not exceed over forty feet. 
Slopes are long and gentle. There are some places 
where the surface is wet most of the time, but the 
natural surface drainage is fairly good. 

This soil is formed from the weathered product of 
the ground-up rock left upon the surface early in the 
Glacial Period. It has been derived almost entirely 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



97 



from the old ingneous rocks which make up the under- 
lying formation through this part of the county. The 
soil has some of the characteristics of a residual soil. 
The small number of stones and boulders present is 
due to their disintegration and breaking up into soil 
during the long period that has elapsed since the old 
drift formation was deposited. This drift has been 
eroded and washed by streams and rains for so long 
a period that depressions in the surface have been 
largely drained or have been filled by wash from 
adjoining slopes. There are seldom any peat bogs, 
swamps or lakes in this section of the county. All 
the region is excellent for crops. 

The level phase of Spencer silt loam is found in 
Ackley Township. In texture the soil is a silt loam, 
but it has a lower position and poorer drainage. The 
organic material is great. Drainage is not very good 
as the surface is so level and the texture of the soil 
so heavy that natural drainage is deficient. The most 
important consideration in the improvement of this 
soil is drainage after which the level phase is good 
for agricultural purposes. 

Merrimac silt loam is an important soil from the 
standpoint of productivity and agricultural develop- 
ment. The most extensive tract in Langlade County 
is found in the southwestern part where there is an 
unbroken area covering approximately 150 square 
miles. Antigo, Deerbrook, Bryant, Elcho and Ormsby 
are all located in this tract. The surface of this soil 
is light brown or grayish brown, friable silt loam, 
which extends to an average depth of 12 inches. The 
content of the silt is high, organic material is very 
small, but the soil as a whole is in an acid condition. 
The subsoil is yellowish brown and at a depth of 22 to 
30 inches it grades into beds of stratified sand and 
gravel. West of Antigo the silt covering in some 
places is five feet while in other places east of Anti- 
go, particularly, gravel and sand sometimes are turned 
up by the plow. 

This soil is lighter east of Antigo than that west of 
the city. Where this type of soil is best developed 
there are few stones and but little gravel. However, 
on a small area two miles north of Ormsby, stones are 
thickly embedded in the soil. This surface is level 
or gently undulating and usually has a very gentle 
slope toward the water course along which it occurs. 
Streams that have cut through these areas have their 
channels 5 to 20 feet below the general level of the 
adjacent land. Flood plains along such streams are 
from a few rods to a quarter of a mile in width. East 
of Antigo and also north is a prairie-like plain in 



which the elevation differences do not exceed 6 to 10 
feet in distances of several miles. This country is 
commonly called "The Antigo Flats" and is very pro- 
ductive. The gravel and sand generally comes close 
enough to the surface in this part of the county to 
make for good drainage. The Merrimac silt loam is 
composed of alluvial material and is the result of out- 
wash plains and stream terraces by streams issuing 
from the ice sheet during the gracial period. Beds 
of stratified sand and gravel below the surface extend 
to a considerable depth, known to be as high as 58 
feet at Antigo. The underlying rock is granite and 
the gravel found in this section is usually from gran- 
ite and other crystalline rocks. The fine surface soil 
is the result of the grinding action of the glacial ice 
formation and the action of water, weather and wind 
upon glacial debris. Stones and boulders were car- 
ried in by floating ice or by the advance of an ice 
sheet after the stratified material was first deposited. 
The area of this type of soil about Antigo is the larg- 
est in the state and is some of the finest agricultural 
land in the state. 

Merrimac sandy loam, a type of soil of minor im- 
portance, is found in Langlade County northeast of 
Antigo in a narrow belt of 7 or 8 square miles. The 
surface soil is sandy loam to a depth of one foot. The 
subsoil is loose and coarser with depth. This soil 
warms up early in the spring and general farming 
produces fair yields from it. The parent material from 
which the type of soil was derived consists largely of 
crystalline rock with a small quantity of material from 
limestone. 

Peat is found in small tracts through Langlade 
County and consists of vegetable matter in various 
stages of decomposition. Muck, consisting of well de- 
composed matter with which there is incorporated an 
appreciable amount of mineral matter, is also found 
in the county in small areas. 

There are some ledges in eastern Langlade County 
along the Wolf River. 

The most important weed pests in Langlade County 
are Canada thistles, quack grass and wild mustard. 

Antigo is 922 feet above Lake Michigan and 1,483 
feet above sea level. Summit Lake is 1,697 feet above 
sea level and is officially the highest body of water in 
Wisconsin. There is a small body of water 
just north of Summit Lake declared to be much 
higher than Summit Lake. Rib Hill, Marathon 
County, highest land point in Wisconsin, is 1,940 feet 
above sea level. Koepenick, Upham Township, Lang- 
lade County, is 1,683 feet above sea level. 



98 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXI. 
Antigo, the County Seat 

Surroundings — Hon. F. A. Deleglise — Rich Timber Belt — Influx Of Homesteaders — Famous Run- 
away Election — Population — Village Plat — The Fight To Incorporate A City. 



Within the memory of the older settlers of Antigo, 
was a time, not so many years ago, when the great 
Badger country north of a line running west of Green 
Bay was denominated by a howling wilderness. Two 
streaks of rust and a right-of-way, the iron trail of 
the new north, through densely unbroken forests, were 
the only evidences that civilized man had ever pene- 
trated a land so wild as to be practically worthless to 
humankind save to the sturdy woodsman and the hunt- 



ly timbered, known as "the hills." From thence east, 
the land, to the county line, was heavily covered with 
basswood, maple, birch, rock elm with pieces of choice 
oak, ash, cherry and butternut scattered through other 
timber. From "the hills" to the east Eau Claire riv- 
er across the Antigo flats, now hailed as the most pro- 
ductive soil in the state, the timber was as thick and 
heavy as on the higher ground but not as valuable. 
The city of Antigo was located on Spring River, a 




HOW FIFTH .WEXUE, ANTIGO. WIS.. LOOKED IX 1882. 
Only a path through the great forests was then evidence of pioneer settlers. This picture was taken 

just cast of what is known as the "Hclt line." Contrast this picture with a bird's eye view of .Antigo in 

ISSfi and the advancement of the village in that four-year period will be easily noted. 1 hen turn to page 101 
and compare with a Fifth .'\venue scene taken in .August, 1022 — Forty years later. 



er of game. If the captious critic and explorer of fifty 
years ago could stalk across this country today he 
would be amazed. Here he would find white flocks 
feeding upon a thousand hills; he would see scores 
of stately cities, with great rivers flowing beneath their 
walls; cities with the best accommodations, thriving 
and prosperous, railroads, manufacturing establish- 
ments towering toward the sky, churches, schools, 
libraries and scores of happy and contented people. 

It was through this progressing section 45 years ago 
that the city of Antigo, county seat of Langlade Coun- 
ty, was staked by F. A. Deleglise, the surrounding 
aiding him materially in reaching that conclusion. The 
city was wisely located in the valley of the Eau Claire 
river, three miles east of it being an area of land, heavi- 



branch of the Eau Claire river and originally was a 
mile and a half long, east and west, by a mile in width, 
north and south. The attention of homesteaders was 
first attracted to this country and its surroundings by 
the exceptional quality of its soil and its adaption to 
agriculture, then progressing under the Homestead 
Act. F. A. Deleglise located the site of Antigo in 1877 
and later moved his family to it. With him came 
his brother-in-law John Doersch. They were then 
the only white men at or near what is now the city of 
Antigo. 

The far sighted Mr. Deleglise at once set out to plat 
a town, his life ambition being to found a city. It 
was his purpose to build a town of 500 or 1,000 inhabi- 
tants and he felt that the amount of timber in the ter- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



99 



ritory adjacent to his embryo village would in short 
time require a mill to cut it. Thus a rising inland 
town would grow from out of the wilderness. The 
country demanded it and would therefore sustain it. 
Mr. Deleglise was an able civil engineer and he had his 
own notions about platting the village and having it 
look well. And it may be added that his notions were 
good. Acting on his own theories he stuck a stake 
at what he presumed to be a good center, without re- 
gard for section lines, and covered it with brushes so 
as it would be unmolested by the new inhabitants ar- 
riving. In the meantime he spent much time perfect- 
ing his plat on paper. 

When the founder of Antigo first arrived in the 
wilderness where he later plated the village of Antigo, 
the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western Railroad Com- 
pany were pushing their line north from Clintonville 
with the city of Wausau, then a small hamlet, known 
to be its objective. Beyond that, its course was a 
mystery. The first survey north from Eland Junction 
was not made until the fall and winter of 1879-1880. 

F. A. Deleglise began his first survey of the intend- 
ed village of Antigo at the south end of what is known 
today as Virginia street on October 12, 1878, with the 
single assistance of his daughter, Virginia, who was 
born after the return of F. A. Deleglise from the 
Civil War. 

The original plat of the village of Antigo was filed 
with the Register of Deeds, R. G. Webb, at 5.30 p. m., 
July 10, 1882, in the name of Mary Deleglise, wife of 
the founder of the city. Niels Anderson was the 
notary public who affixed his seal to the historic plat. 
B. F. Dorr and Charles Gowan were witnesses. The 
plat ran north and south from First to Tenth Avenue 
inclusive and east and west from Aurora street to 
Lincoln street, inclusive. 

The first addition to the village of Antigo was 
made on March 16, 1883, when M. M. Ross was Regis- 
ter of Deeds and was called Daskam's addition. The 
second addition was Jone's first addition, made August 
30, 1883. 

It may be interesting to readers to know how the 
streets of Antigo within the original plat of the vil- 
lage received their names and why. This is explain- 
ed as follows : 

THE CITY OF ANTIGO. 

Antigo received its name from Nequi-Antigo-Seebeh, 
the Chippewa Indian name of Spring River, signify- 
ing balsam evergreen river from the balsam evergreen 
that bordered the river. 

THE STREETS OF ANTIGO. 

Aurora — East boundary of original plat — meaning 
dawn of day. 

Watson — Named after an eminent Wisconsin astron- 
omer, discoverer of the planet Vulcan and others. 

Virginia — Named after Virginia Deleglise, daughter 
born to F. A. and Mary Deleglise after the return of 
the former from Virginia, where he had served un- 
der General Bragg in the Civil War. 



Hudson — Named after Henry Hudson, discoverer of 
Hudson Bay. 

Arctic — Most northern street in the Village of An- 
tigo. 

Field — Named after C. H. Field to whose persever- 
ance mankind owes the laying of the Atlantic cable. 

Milton — After the famous English poet, author of 
Paradise Lost and Paradise Regained. 

Weed — Named after J. H. Weed's — the largest saw 
mill in Langlade County. 

Superior — Leading thoroughfare, north and south — 
on highway to Lake Superior. 

Clermont — In honor of Robert Fulton's steamboat, 
The Clermont. 

Fulton — After Robert Fulton, inventor of the steam 
boat. 

Edison — After the great inventor, Thomas A. Edi- 
son. 

Reed — After the Vice-President of the M. L. S. & 
W. Railroad. 

Morsel — After Samuel F. B. Morse, inventor of the 
telegraph system. 

Dorr — After B. F. Dorr, assistant surveyor of the 
village of Antigo in 1881-1882. 

Lincoln — After Abraham Lincoln — emancipator of 
four millions. 

Adantic — After Atlantic Ocean. 

Pacific — After Pacific Ocean. 

The Atlantic was the block between Fifth and Sixth 
Avenues east of the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western 
railroad depot. The Pacific was the street between 
the same avenues on the west side of the depot. Both 
streets, Atlantic and Pacific and the territory between, 
included of course (the depot and its grounds), were 
called America. This no doubt signified that be- 
tween the Atlantic and Pacific was America, the con- 
tinent. 

LONG PLANNED SETTLEMENT. 

Regarding the founding of the city of Antigo, Mr. 
Deleglise said: "As early as 1857, I believed that 
there were openings in this neighborhood for several 
prosperous settlements. Looking over the map of 
Wisconsin, I came to the conclusion that the valley 
of the upper Embarrass river and of the upper Eau 
Claire river would afford sites for at least two central 
commercial points, one to be located in the Embarrass 
country and the other in the Eau Claire river coun- 
try." 

Mr. Deleglise had in view a location within a radius 
of a few miles around the southeastern corner of town 
27, range 13 east and another in the vicinity of section 
15, town 27, range 12 east, as the eligible points in the 
valley of the Embarrass river. He also had in view a 
point at the fork of the Eau Claire river, known as the 
Ackley trading post,' another at Bear Lake (now Elm- 
hurst) in town 30, range 11 east, also another on sec- 
tion 21, township 32, range 11 east and another near 
Mueller's Lake in township 31, range 12 east. 

1. The city of Antigo should have been located at the forks of the 
cast and west branches of the Eau Claire river. The Milwaukee. Lake 
Shore & Western Railroad Company originally planned to construct 
their road through what is now Ackley Township, Langlade County. 




c 






n % 






.« 



« 4) X 

" "ltd ™u 



O "^ C ^ '' '" 






ce: 



' O rt 



a : 









^^s- . 

-3, -5 ^>.u"0--o 

i;!iii 1 1 1 1 1 



' v \> '^ 

■'13 C C , 



« C >. « 
• P V n «^ 

or 



■^-c ,„• « 

£ o S « 

„- c o Q 

c >-] -a 
. rt ■ t- 

<cn ».2 " 

o 5 

1 I I M 

!» r* 00 OS o 

OlOIOl C4CO 



I:: 



S cu i 



J! 5" 
5 " ° 



wo 



SCO 



)3 ti< '" 

S5 = ;^ 






-< oX U ° 

U 



.2 E 
■a o 
5<-> 



^ M _ "O .». m _. Li, 

,S u o~ ~-5- coj -wo 









c E 
" o 

>. 



2. 

sis' 



c/id^O'*! 



I I I I I I M I M I I 

rHe4»^»OCO r* CO 0> O •-< C4 CO T 






O ^ M 






3 i 

C u . £* = 

jg Q 0- w o 



-nils 






5 S-= ° 
o o_ c u ;;;= 

J o Si ■ w- 

C ^ M C O. 
re 3 ■- O • rt ■ 

Mill., 

<£0UQWIi,O 



. >.^'P" 



c,» « I' C 
cO c 3 O tP 
w « o StJCQ 



'^ 1J-- O-O O O 3 

5 !; < ■= E r = S; 



■XX'Z 



I I I I 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



101 



After considerable deliberation, while at Appleton, 
in the summer of 1876, Mr. Deleglise mapped out the 
present plan of the city of Antigo and determined up- 
on its location as the point for the upper Eau Claire 
river valley. Most of the land was entered in the 
name of his wife, Mary Deleglise, in the fall of 1877, 
with $300 received from her parents. Entry was 
made upon a contract with the state. "We paid about 
$16 per forty acres down," said Mr. Deleglise. 

The founder of the city built a log shanty on lot 13, 
block 35, of the future village and moved his family 
into it. Thus his was the first family and the first 
building in the original plat of the place. The first 
shanty, however in the neighborhood was that erected 



and delay, as they could, the diversion of the lumber 
business. 

Pioneers of Shawano had succeeded in inducing the 
legislature in 1879 to attach Antigo and New County 
to Shawano County for county and judicial purposes. 
This actually bound Antigo, hand and foot, to Shawano. 
Twenty miles of woods separated Antigo from the 
Wolf River country, where the town board of Langlade 
township met. The town board was also antagonistic 
to citizens of Antigo. This was unbearable and the 
settlers of Antigo thereupon devised a plan to over- 
throw the town board and elect officers with sympathy 
for Antigo and who would afford the city the op- 
portunity to grow that it was entitled to by law. 




LOOKING EAST ON FIFTH AVENUE FROM EDISON STREET, ANTIGO, WIS., IN 1922. 

Where the oxen slowly trudged in 1870, the molerii automobile spins in 1922. The Pioneer "picked 
his way" through marsh and mud by the light of an oil lantern then. Forty-three years later Antigo's 
main street, lined with splendid brick buildings, and e.xcellently paved, is illuminated by a beautiful orna- 
mental lighting system. 



by Michael Weix in what is now Weix's addition to 
the city of Antigo. In 1878, there were just eighteen 
people, including laborers and transients in Antigo. The 
village of Antigo was originally included within the 
Town of Langlade, Oconto County. The nearest town 
officers were twenty-one miles away. 

Mr. Deleglise engaged in lumbering operations and 
as a land and real estate agent having had control of 
10,000 acres of land within a radius of ten miles of 
Antigo. 

FAMOUS POLITICAL EPISODES. 

During the early years of the settlement of Antigo, 
the people were apprehensive of trouble with their 
neighbor, the city of Shawano. Antigo was destined 
to rival and ultimately surpass Shawano as a business 
and commercial center. Shawano citizens believed 
that a great deal of the Wolf River lumber business 
would be diverted to Antigo. Consequently this serv- 
ed as an incentive to the people of Shawano to spare 
no means to prevent Antigo's prosperity and growth. 



THE SURPRISE VOTERS. 
The Antigoites kept very quiet on election day, thus 
leading the Wolf River party to think that Antigo citi- 
zens would not vote. The Antigo citizens, starting 
the day before election, in that fine spring of 1879, 
camped out during the night along the road and put 
in their appearance late in the afternoon of the fol- 
lowing day and won by superior numbers. The Lang- 
lade settlement was defeated by about six votes, their 
strength being divided by dissension. ^ It has been 
said by an old pioneer that the Langlade settlers could 
have defeated Antigo by challenging the vote, which 
they did not do. The total vote was less than one 
hundred. 

THE FIGHT TO INCORPORATE ANTIGO. 

In 1883 an unsuccessful fight was made before the 

State Legislature to incorporate the city of Antigo. 

The defeat was due to dissension among the people of 

Antigo. Members of the county board not from the 

1. If the Langlade voters knew of the approach of the Antigo citi- 
zens they would have temporarily buried their differences to save to 
the Wolf River region that political prestige which they held so many 
years. 



102 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



village of Antigo were opposed to its incorporation 
because they disliked the idea of greater representa- 
tion of the village on the county board. 

Proponents of the plan for incorporation declared 
that the village should be incorporated as a city be- 
cause the pro rata of electors to each chairman of 
the county townships exclusive of the Town of Antigo 
was in 1883, 51 inhabitants. Thus, they argued, if 
the village becomes a city, each of the four ward su- 
pervisors would represent 53 electors. The four su- 
pervisors of the city and the Chairman of Antigo town- 
ship would each represent 63 electors and that even 
with the four city supervisors on the board, that the 
county members opposed, the per cent of representa- 
tion would still be in favor of the townships. 

Two years later in 1885, Antigo citizens led a fight 



City Clerk* — J. E. MuUowney. 

Assessor — Frank M. Sherman. 

Treasurer — R. H. McMuUen. 

Justices of the Peace — Eli Waste, John W. Wines 
and E. R. Colton. 

The election of Thomas W. Lynch, an attorney, as 
Mayor was practically unanimous, he receiving 483 
votes to 3 for W. H. Blinn, a jeweler. 

FIRST ALDERMEN ELECTED. 

The first aldermen elected in Antigo were as fol- 
lows : 

1st ward — P. A. Robinson, two-year town; Louis 
Novotny, one-year term. 




THE OLD CITY HALL AXD FIRE DEPARTMEXT 

Of the city of Antigo arc shown herewith. This picture, taken in ISiiO bj- C. B. McDonald, shows the 
frame building at the intersection of Clermont Street and Fifth .Avenue (now the site of the First Nation- 
al Bank). Just north of it on Clermont Street was the store of Henry Berner. Sr.. and north of that 
building was the old city hall and fire department, (the building with the steeple and bell). This photo 
was taken on Memorial day. Clermont Street, north of Third .Avenue was then being opened. The old 
Tiblu-t place (nnw the Mnrten residence) is seen north of the old city hall. 



to have the city incorporated and were successful. The 
city was incorporated under chapter 79 of the laws of 
1885 with four wards. The first election was held 
on the first Tuesday in April, 1885. Inspectors of 
ward elections selected by the act incorporating the 
city were: 1st ward — H. G. Borgman. 2nd ward — 
B. F. Dorr; 3rd ward — August Schoepke and 4th ward 
— Louis Mendlik. 

The first polling places were held at: 1st ward — 
Clithero & Strong's lumber office on Superior street; 
2nd ward — Spencer's Hall on 5th Avenue; 3rd ward — 
At Sherman & Dawley's office on Fifth Avenue; 4th 
ward — At Louis Mendlik's office on Superior street. 

The first officers elected under the city charter were : 

Mayor — Thomas W. Lynch, 



2nd ward — George Clithero, two-year term; P. A. 
Koelzer, one-year term. 

3rd ward — D. W. Keen, two-year term; John Saxe, 
one-year term. 

4th ward — C. Taubner, two-year term; G. C. Wil- 
liams, one-year term. 

George Clithero was chosen first President of the 
city council at the first city council meeting held at 
Spencer's Hall, April 13, 1885. The first act of the 
council was to create by resolution the city of Antigo 
pursuant to the provisions and in compliance with 
chapter 79 of the laws of 1885. 

Antigo's progress as a city is discussed in another 
chapter, as the opening of the new form of govern- 
ment closed a vivid chapter in early pioneer life. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



103 



CHAPTER XXII. 
Hon. Francis A. Deleglise 

Birthplace — Parentage — Early Life — Coming To America — Fought in Civil War — His Marriage to 
Mary Bor — Children — His Coming to the Valley cf the Eau Claire River — His Death March 25, 
1894— The Death of Mrs. Mary Deleglise. 



On March 25, 1894, the city of Antigo lost its most 
illustrous pioneer, Hon. Francis A. Deleglise, known 
widely to the public as the "Father of Antigo." Hon. 
Francis Augustine Deleglise was born on February 10, 
1835, in Commune of Baynes, Canton of Valais, 
Switzerland, the son of Maurice Athanase and Cath- 



Township, Dodge County, Wisconsin, where she is 
buried. 

The father then moved with his family to Gibson, 
Manitowoc County, shortly after, moving to Belle 
Plain, Shawano County. Maurice Deleglise farmed 
here until 1878 when he was called by death. He was 




HON. FR.WCIS A. DELEGLISE 

THE FOUNDER OF THE CITY OF ANTIGO 

Born February in, 1835. Died March 25, 1894. 



erine (Lang) Del'Eglise. The father of Mr. Dele- 
glise was one of four brothers of the old and highly 
esteemed Catholic families of Valais vineyardists. 
Maurice, the father of the founder of Antigo, was a 
teacher and surveyor, he not following the occupation 
of his ancestors. In 1848 Maurice Deleglise emigrat- 
ed to America, coming to Wisconin where he engag- 
ed in agriculture. Pioneer life was hard and new to 
the teacher and surveyor and after five years' resi- 
dence his wife passed away at their home in Theresa 



buried in the village of Antigo, the home of his son, 
Francis A. Deleglise. 

Francis A. Deleglise was the eldest of the three 
children brought to America. An older daughter, 
Catherine, remained in the native land. Young Fran- 
cis, an intelligent student in the Swiss Canton, found 
it necessary to aid his father in their new home in 
America, and he was largely responsible for much 
of the earnings emptied into the family purse. 

On November 29, 1856, he was united in marriage 



104 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



to Mary Bor, at Two Rivers, Wisconsin. Mrs. F. A. 
Deleglise was born January 1, 1835, in Taus, Boheniia. 
Her father died in Antigo in the year 1881. 

Francis A. Deleglise answered the call of President 
Lincoln for troops during the Civil War. He enlisted 
June 28, 1861, in Appleton, Wis., in Company E of 
the 6th Wis. Vol. Inf., under Captain Marston. He 
was promoted to Corporal and in July, 1862, when 
the regiment became attached to the Army of the 
Potomac, he participated in many of the struggles of 
the famous "Iron Brigade" of General Bragg. At An- 
tietam, bloodiest Civil War battle, he was wounded 
September 17, 1862. During the first day's fighting 
at Gettysburg, he was wounded and taken prisoner, 
but was later rescued by Union forces. On July 16, 
1864, he was honorably discharged, after gloriously 
serving the colors of the North and leaving behind 
a record of a valiant soldier. Mr. Deleglise suffered 



be remembered as the most public spirited Antigo citi- 
zen of his day. Mr. Deleglise was a member of the 
Roman Catholic Church all of his life. He died 
Easter Sunday, March 25, 1894, in the loyal profes- 
sion of that faith. Mrs. Deleglise survived her hus- 
band fourteen years, dying December 20, 1907. 

Mr. and Mrs. Deleglise were survived by five chil- 
dren of the eight born to them. Those who died 
were: Francis Joseph, John E., Henry, and Edmond. 
Mrs. Mary Teresa Deresch, eldest child, was the first 
white settler to enter a government homestead in the 
wilderness adjacent to Antigo. Mrs. Deresch was for 
many years the only white woman within a radius of 
twenty miles. 

Mrs. Sophia Leslie, the wife of Sam. E. Leslie, was 
one of the first Antigo school teachers and assisted 
her father in platting the village of Antigo. She has 
two children. Loyal I. and Cyril. 




THE F. A. DELEGLISE HOMESTEAD 

The first house in .Xntigo. erected in 1ST7 by Hon. Francis A. Deleglise. 

The historic log cabin is now preserved on the Antigo Public 

Library grounds. 



much from exposure and wounds during the war and 
lost in weight from 180 pounds to less than 100 
pounds. 

After the Civil War he started locating lands in 
north central Wisconsin and it was then that he se- 
lected the future site of Antigo. He brought his fam- 
ily to Antigo in 1877, located and platted the village, 
more of which is told elsewhere in this volume. 

Mr. Deleglise dealt largely in real estate in Antigo. 
He was an early Town Chairman, the first County 
Treasurer, and was elected to the Assembly in 1892, 
a Republican victor in the Democratic landslide. Dur- 
ing his legislative career he made a brilliant record, 
manifesting his intelligence and his welfare for the 
constituents whom he represented. He was liberal in 
all things, donated many sites to industries, churches, 
and business interests in Antigo. He secured the first 
storekeeper, the first mill proprietor and banker who 
came to Antigo. He was farsighted and will forever 



Anna E. Morrissey, as a girl of ten, accompanied 
her father, Antigo's founder, to Langlade County, 
when he brought with him the first vanguard of set- 
tlers. She was the first white child to come to what 
later became the city of Antigo. Anna E. Morrissey, 
wife of Thomas Morrissey, has four children, Mar- 
garet Virginia, John Francis, Gerald Deleglise, and 
May. 

Adelbert Deleglise is unmarried and lives in Min- 
neapolis. 

Alexius L. Deleglise is an able civil engineer and 
has for many years been City Engineer of Antigo, but 
at the present time is City Engineer at Merrill, Wis- 
consin. He has three children, Margaret, Irene and 
Germaine. 

The Deleglise family have enjoyed the respect, con- 
fidence and esteem of the citizens of Antigo and Lang- 
lade County and their place as pioneers is equalled only 
by their standing as citizens. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



105 



CHAPTER XXIII. 

City of Antigo Officials 

First Mayor — City Clerks — City Treasurers — Civil Engineers — City Sealers of Weights and Meas- 
ures — City Health Officers — City Attorneys — Presidents of Board of Aldermen — City Marshals — 
Justices of the Peace — Assessors — Street Commissioners — Chiefs of the Antigo Paid Fire Depart- 
ment — Aldermen — Supervisors. 



ANTIGO CITY OFFICIALS— 1922. 

Mayor — Charles J. Hanzel. 

City Clerk — George O. Palmiter. 

Treasurer — Frank Dvorak. 

Deputy City Clerk — Edith Beard. 

City Attorney — R. C. Dempsey. 

City Nurse — Esther Bayliss. 

City Engineer — Frank Quimby. 

Supt. of Water Dept. — H. W. Jackson. 

Councilmen — G. O. Palmiter and Frank Dvorak. 

Assessor — John Menting. 

Marshal — William Coblentz. 

Deputy Marshals — Nels Madsen, Harry Morse, 
Robert Ford and John Utnehmer. 

Health Officer and City Physician— Dr. L. A. Stef- 
fen. 

Commissioner of Poor — Mrs. H. V. Mills. 

Chief of Antigo Fire Department — Elwin Billings. 
Asst. Chief of Antigo Fire Department — Guy Rice. 

Board of Public Works — Mayor Charles J. Hanzel, 
G. O. Palmiter and Frank Dvorak. 

City Police and Fire Commissioners — Fred H. 
Shaw, M. T. Canfield, Hon. B. W. Rynders, L. P. 
Tradewell and J. F. Weix. 

Unofficial Advisory Board selected by the Mayor — 
A. K. Potter, Wm. H. Wolpert, J. R. McQuillan, Ed- 
ward McCandless, James Cody, Edward Daskam, P. 
J. Dunn, Al Duchac, O. P. Walch, W. W. Smith, 
Francis Brush and John Hessel. 

MAYORS. 

Thomas W. Lynch, 1885-86; M. M. Ross, 1886-87; 
D. W. Keen, 1887-88; Thomas W. Lynch, 1888-89; 
Dr. J. F. Doyle, 1889-90; Dr. I. D. Steffen, 1890-91; 
Cassius F. Smith, 1891-92; Dr. J. F. Doyle, 1892-93; J. 
F. Albers, 1893-94; George W. Hill, 1894-95; R. H. 
McMullen, 1895-98; John F. Dailey, 1898-99; Dr. I. 
D. Steffen, 1899-01; R. H. McMullen, 1901-02; Thomas 
W. Hogan, 1902-04; Fred Hayssen, 1904-06; George 
W. Hill, 1906-08; Fred Hayssen, 1908-10; Burt W. 
Rynders, 1910-12; George W. Hill, 1912 until April 
20, 1913, when he died; Leonard Frieburger, 1913-14; 
Dr. L D. Steffen, 1914-15; C. F. Calhoun, 1915-17; 
John Benishek, 1917-20; Charles J. Hanzel, 1920-22, 
(term unexpired.) 

CITY CLERKS. 

J. E. Mullowney, 1885-87; Ed. La Londe, 1887-89; 
Edward Case, 1889-90; Ed. La Londe, 1890-91; Lee 



Waste, 1891-92; J. E. Mullowney, 1892-93; D. J. Ma- 
honey, 1893; W. H. Dawley, 1893; D. J. Mahoney, 
1893-94; Fred Hayssen, 1894-95; D. J. Mahoney, 
1895; Anton Schultz, 1896-97; Peter Chadek, 1897- 
1900; M. M. Ross, 1900-01; F. A. Michaelson, 1901- 
02; A. M. Arveson, 1902-05; G. 0. Palmiter, 1905-22 
(term unexpired). 

CITY TREASURERS. 

R. H. McMullen, 1885-86; J. W. Wines, 1886-87-88- 
89; George Schutz, 1889-90; L. D. Dana, 1890-91; D. 
W. Keen, 1892-93; John McCarthy, 1893-94; D. Cle- 
ments, 1894-95-96; H. A. Friedeman, 1897-98; John 
Wagner, 1899-1900; J. J. Laughlin, 1900-02; Edward 
Cody, 1902-04; John Rezek, 1904-11; Frank Dvorak, 
1911-22 (term unexpired). 

CITY CIVIL ENGINEERS. 

B. F. Dorr, 1891-1910; Alex Deleglise, 1910-12; 
Henry 01k, 1912-16; N. H. Smith, 1916-17; Alex 
Deleglise, 1917-22; F. Quimby, 1922. 

CITY SEALER OF WEIGHTS AND MEASURES. 

C. S. Leykom, 1914-20; Alex Deleglise, 1920-22 
(resigned). 

CITY HEALTH OFFICERS. 

Dr. I. D. Steffen, 1889; Dr. J. F. Doyle, 1891; Dr. 
J. H. Dawley. 1891; Dr. J. F. Doyle, 1892-93; Dr. I. 
D. Steffen, 1893-94-95; Dr. T. L. Harrington, 1896; 
Dr. M. J. Lower, 1897; Dr. I. D. Steffen, 1898; Dr. 
M. J. Lower, 1899; Dr. T. L. Harrington, 1900-01; Dr. 
F. V. Watson, 1902-03-04-05; Dr. G. C. Williamson, 
1905-06; Dr. G. L. Bellis, 1906-07-08; Dr. G. W. 
Moore, 1908-12; Dr. J. C. Wright, 1912-14; Dr. G. 
W. Moore, 1914-20; Dr. L. A. Steffen, 1920-22 (term 
unexpired). 

CITY ATTORNEYS. 

W. F. White, 1889-90; F. J. Finucane, 1890-91-92; 
W. F. White, 1893-94; C. W. Deane, 1894-95; F. J. 
Finucane, 1896-97; Max Hoffman, 1898-99-1900-02- 
03; Henry Hay, 1903-04-05; E. A. Morse, 1905-06- 
07; 0. G. Erickson, 1907-08; S. J. McMahon, 1908-10- 
12; H. F. Morson, 1912-14; R. C. Smelker, 1914; Geo. 
J. Bowler, 1914; F. J. Finucane, 1914; Charles Avery, 
1914-20; R. C. Dempsey, 1920-22 (term unexpired.) 



106 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



PRESIDENT OF BOARD OF ALDERMEN. 

George Clithero, 1885-86; D. W. Keen, 1886-87; L. 
Mendlik, 1887-88-89; W. H. Dawley, 1889-90; J. E. 
Martin, 1891-92; T. D. Kellogg, 1893-94; A. M. Lan- 
ning. 1895-96; James McKenna, 1897-98; T. D. Kel- 
logg, 1898-99-1900-02-03; Leonard Freiburger, Sr., 
1903-04; W. F. White, 1904-05; James McKenna, 
1906-07; James Steber, 1910-12. (Automatically dis- 
pensed of when government by commission was adopt- 
ed.) 

CITY MARSHALS. 

W. L. Crocker, 1885-86; E. McKenna, 1887-88-89 
T. H. Robbins, 1889-93; Peter O'Connor, 1893-94 
Frank Cunningham, 1895-96; John McArthur, 1896-97 
A. M. Boll, 1898-99-1900; John McArthur, 1902-06 
George Drake, 1906-08; William Coblentz, 1908-22 
(present incumbent). 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

Eli Waste, E. R. Colton, L. Mendlik, 1885; J. Wines, 
Eli Waste, E. R. Colton, 1885-86-87; E. A. Challoner, 
1888-89; D. S. Olmsted, E. R. Colton, A. D. Rice, 
1889-91; J. Wines, A. D. Rice, John O'Hara, 1891; W. 
F. Bowman, 1892; W. C. Peterson, A. D. Rice, James 
Smolk, 1895-96; W. C. Hill, W. C. Peterson, A. O. 
Reed, 1897; J. V.'. Wines, L. K. Strong, 1898; Ed 
Peterson, John Ber.ishek, A. D. Rice, 1893; J. E. Buck- 
man, 1900; A. D. Rice, J. W. Merrill, A. L. Ross, 1901- 
02; Henry Berr.er, 190^-06; A. D. Rice, John Benishek, 
John Merrill, 1903-04; B. W. Rynders, Charles Raess, 
1905-06; Charles Raess, G. C. Dickenser, 1907-09; 
Charles Raess, John Benishek, 1910-11-12; W. S. Carr, 
1913-20; John Benishek, 1914-22 inclusive. 

ASSESSORS. 

Frank M. Sherman, 1885-86; Ed Daskam, 1887-88; 
Frank Allen, 1888-89; James Porter, Joseph Duchac, 
1889-90; J. N. Kiefer, John Benishek, 1891; J. H. Por- 
ter, Joseph Duchac, 1892; A. B. Hanks, Charles Dall- 
man, 1893; J. H. Porter, Joseph Duchac, 1896; A. M. 
Miller, John McGreer, 1897; Charles Dallman, John 
Menting, 1898; A. M. Miller, John Hafner, Joseph 
Duchac, 1899; J. W. Allerton, 1899; J. Hafner, Joseph 
Duchac, 1900; John McGreer, A. M. Miller, 1901; W. 
C. Hill, Henry Mitchell, 1903-04; John Benishek, 1904; 
George French, John Benishek, 1906-08; Edward La 
Londe, James Mitchell, 1908-10; John Menting, George 
Bemis, 1910-12; John Menting, Alex Rodgers. 1913- 
14; John Menting, 1914-1922. 

CITY STREET COMMISSIONERS. 

First Ward, Chas. Teipner; Second Ward, Dennis 
McCarthy; Third Ward, Edward Boyle; Fourth Ward, 
John Riede, 1885; First Ward, Chas. Teipner; Second 
Ward, Jos. Firminhac; Third Ward, Edward Luce; 
Fourth Ward, John Riede, 1886; First Ward, Chas. 
Teipner; Second Ward, Jos. Firminhac; Third Ward, 
John Riede; First Ward, E. Newberry; Second Ward, 



Chas. Teipner; Third Ward, James Brennan; Fourth 
Ward, John Mader; Fifth Ward, P. Fishback; Sixth 
Ward, Chas. O'Connor, 1889; First Ward, B. Stage; 
Second Ward, Chas. Teipner; Third Ward, Chas. Clif- 
ford; Fourth Ward, Edward Boyle; 1890; L. Corrigan, 
1893-1905; J. E. Barker, 1905; L. Corrigan, 1905-07; 
H. Byrnes, 1908-12; Charles McCandless, 1912-14; 
Henry 01k, 1914; Fred Schmeisser, 1920-22. 

CHIEFS OF ANTIGO PAID FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

G. O. Palmiter, 1902-04; Daniel Leonard, 1904-05- 
06; F. Ebert, 1907-12; Elwin Billings, 1912-22. 

ALDERMEN, CITY OF ANTIGO, 1885-1914. 

Supervisors served as Aldermen of the city as we'l 
as on the County Board. Therefore the Supervisors 
are not listed again with the Aldermen herewith giv- 
en, but are recorded separately. Aldermen from 1885 
to 1914 when the government by commission was in- 
stituted were : First Ward, P. A. Robinson, Louis 
Novotny; Second Ward, George C'ithero, P. A. Koel- 
zer; Third Ward, D. W. Keen, John Saxe; Fourth 
Ward, C. Taubner, G. C. Williams— 1885. First Ward, 
W. F. Bowman; Second Ward, J. S. Clancey, Ben Spen- 
cer; Third Ward, N. Boll; Fourth Ward, S. E. Leslie— 
1886. First Ward, Louis Novotny; Second Ward, W. 
F. Bowman; Third Ward, F. C. Meyers; Fourth Ward, 
F. Randall— 1887. First Ward, lohn Thursby; Second 
Ward, J. Weinfeldt; Third Ward, Wm. B. Johns; 
Fourth Ward, C. Becklirger; Fiah Ward, P. J. Koel- 
zer— 1888-89. First Ward, Gabe Kaplane't; Second 
Ward, H. C. Humphrey; Third Ward, M. F. Crowe; 
Fourth Ward, C. F. Dallman; Fifth Ward, W. C. Peter- 
son; Sixth Ward, Leonard Freiburger — 1889. First 
Ward, J. Wines; Second Ward, H. C. Humphrey; 
Third Ward, M. F. Crowe; Fourth Ward, Jas. B. Mc- 
Cormick; Fifth Ward. C. M. Beattie; Sixth Ward, M. 
McNeil— 1890. First Ward, W. S. Morgan; Second 
Ward, Charles Teipner; Third Ward, John Kevin; 
Fourth Ward, F. C. Meyer; Fifth Ward, George Perry; 
Sixth Ward, Samuel Roake— 1891. First Ward, P. J. 
Millard; Second Ward, J. E. Buckman; Third Ward, 
R. Rice; Fourth Ward, C. F. Pohlman; Fifth Ward, 
George P. Perry; Sixth Ward, Ed Gunnon— 1892-93. 
First Ward, Ed. Cleary; Second Ward, A. M. Lanning; 
Third Ward, M. F. Crowe; Fourth Ward, Fred Ebert; 
Fifth Ward, G. O. Palmiter; Sixth Ward, C. 0. Marsh 
—1893-94. First Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Second 
Ward, A. M. Lanning; Third Ward, John Folk; Fourth 
Ward, Fred Ebert; Fifth Ward, F. C. Meyer, A. Mil- 
lard; Sixth Ward, James Clements— 1895-96. First 
Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Second Ward, Henry Findei- 
sen; Third Ward, D. Driscoll ; Fourth Ward, William 
Yentz; Fifth Ward, J. C. Phelps; Sixth Ward, J. J. 
Laughlin— 1896. First Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Sec- 
ond Ward, A. R. Billings; Third Ward, D. Driscoll; 
Fourth Ward, William Yentz; Fifth Ward, J. C. 
Phelps; Sixth Ward, J. J. Laughlin— 1897. First 
Ward, Louis Beyer; Second Ward, A. R. Billings; 
Third Ward, J. Below; Fourth Ward, A. P. Church; 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



107 



Fifth Ward, F. C. Meyer; Sixth Ward, William Ber- 
r.er— 1898. First Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Second 
Ward, M. F. Crowe; Third Ward, Frank Wagner; 
Fourth Ward, Theodore Kupper; Fifth Ward, Carl 
Krause; Sixth Ward, Henry Mitchell— 1899. First 
Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Second Ward, J. W. AUerton; 
Third Ward, Julius Below; Fourth Ward, Leo Hittle; 
Fifth Ward, Carl Krause; Sixth Ward, N. R. Bab- 
cock — 1900. First Ward, Wm. Carrier; Second Ward, 
J. W. Allerton; Third Ward, R. M. Briggs; Fourth 
Ward, George Basl; Fifth Ward, H. Brecklin; Sixth 
Ward, John Rezek— 1901-02. First Ward, F. P. Ver 
Bryck; Second Ward, M. F. Crowe; Third Ward, J. J. 
Tessar; Fourth Ward, Theodore Kupper; Fifth Ward, 
John Benishek; Sixth Ward, John 01k— 1902-03. First 
Ward, F. P. Ver Bryck; Second Ward, M. F. Crowe; 
Third Ward, Herman Schlundt; Fourth Ward, Theo- 
dore Kupper; Fifth Ward, John Benishek; Sixth Ward, 
John 01k— 1903-04. First Ward, George French; Sec- 
ond Ward, Fred Moses; Third Ward, James Steber; 
Fourth Ward, Hugh Byrne; Fifth Ward, G. O. Palmi- 
ter; Sixth Ward, John 01k— 1904-05. First Ward, F. 
P. Ver Bryck; Second Ward, Fred W. Bauter; Third 
Ward, Frank Glugla; Fourth Ward, George Basl; Fifth 
Ward, George Drake; Sixth Ward, John 01k— 1905- 
06. First Ward, J. H. Hopkins; Second Ward, H. A. 
Baldwin; Third Ward, James McCormick; Fourth 
Ward, Leo Hittle; Fifth Ward, W. E. Butterfield; Sixth 
Ward, Jos. Wirig- 1906-07. First Ward, R. M. Kutch- 
ins; Second Ward, John McGreer; Third Ward, James 
McCormick; Fourth Ward, Leo Hittle; Fifth Ward, J. 
W. Pitcher; Sixth Ward, Joseph Wirig— 1907-08. First 
Ward, John Ainsworth; Second Ward, John McGreer; 
Third Ward, James F. McCormick; Fourth Ward, Leo 
Hittle; Fifth Ward, J. W. Pitcher; Sixth Ward, Joseph 
Wirig— 1908-09. First Ward, J. W. Hopkins; Second 
Ward, Joseph Dubois; Third Ward, James Steber; 
Fourth Ward, James McKenna; Fifth Ward, J. G. Kou- 
delka; Sixth Ward, B. W. Rynders— 1909. First Ward, 
R. Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, Lee Waste; Third Ward, 
James Steber; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; Fifth 
Ward, J. Herman; Sixth Ward, John A. Ogden— 1910. 
First Ward, Walter Guile; Second Ward, Lee Waste; 
Third Ward, James Steber; Fouth Ward, Harvey Nel- 
son; Fifth Ward, T. J. Roberts; Sixth Ward, Joseph 
Wirig— 1911. First Ward, Walter Guile; Second 
Ward, John McGreer; Third Ward, James Steber; 
Fourth Ward, Harvey Nelson; Fifth Ward, V. O'Con- 
nor; Sixth Ward, Joseph Wirig — 1912. First Ward, 
R. Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, John McGreer; Third 
Ward, James Steber; Fourth Ward, Harvey Nelson; 
Fifth Ward, V. O'Connor; Sixth Ward, Joseph Wirig — 
1913. First Ward, R. Healy, Sr.; Second Ward, John 
McGreer; Third Ward, James Steber; Fourth Ward, 
Frank Reindl; Fifth Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth Ward, 
Joseph Wirig — 1914. 

(Government by Commission adopted by referen- 
dum vote of people, thus abolishing Aldermanic sys- 
tem of government after 29 years' service.) 

WARD SUPERVISORS, CITY OF ANTIGO, 
1885-1922. 
Supervisors of the various wards of Antigo since 



1885, when the city was incorporated, were as follows: 
First Ward, J. C. Lewis; Second Ward, E. Daskam; 
Third Ward, W. H. Dawley; Fourth Ward, E. R. Van 
Buren — 1885. First Ward, J. C. Lewis; Second Ward, 
Ed Daskam; Third Ward, W. H. Dawley; Fourth 
Ward, N. Bangs— 1886. First Ward, A. B. Millard; 
Second Ward, J. E. Martin; Third Ward, A. L. Ross; 
Fourth Ward, W. H. Dawley; Fifth Ward, S. E. Les- 
lie — 1887. First Ward, George L. Schintz; Second 
Ward, George W. Latta; Third Ward, J. B. McCor- 
mick; Fourth Ward, W. H. Dawley; Filth Ward, S. 
E. Leslie— 1888. First Ward, George W. Hill; Second 
Ward, G. W. Latta; Third Ward, Joseph Fermanich; 
Fourth Ward, J. B. McCormick; Fifth Ward, W. H. 
Dawley; Sixth Ward, H. A. Kohl— 1889. First Ward, 
Edward Cleary; Second Ward, R. H. McMuUen; Third 
Ward, A. McMillan; Fourth Ward, J. B. McCormick; 
Fifth Ward, W. H. Dawley; Sixth Ward, S. E. Les- 
lie— 1890. First Ward, R. J. Morgan; Second Ward, 
J. E. Martin; Third Ward, W. B. Johns; Fourth Ward, 
M. M. Ross; Fifth Ward, J. L. Klock; Sixth Ward, S. 
E. Leslie— 1891. First Ward, George W. Hill; Second 
Ward, I. D. Steffen; Third Ward, James Steber; 
Fourth Ward, A. P. Church; Fifth Ward, J. L. Klock; 
Sixth Ward, M. A. McNeil— 1892. First Ward, T. D. 
Kellogg; Second Ward, J. C. Lewis; Third Ward, 
James Steber; Fourth Ward, J. McKenna; Fifth Ward, 
A. M. Millard; Sixth Ward, H. G. Borgman— 1893. 
First Ward, T. D. Kellogg; Second Ward, J. C. Lewis; 
Third Ward, J. Nickle; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; 
Fifth Ward, John Benishek; Sixth Ward, H. G. Borg- 
man — 1894. First Ward, W. S. Morgan; Second Ward, 
L. K. Strong; Third Ward, James Steber; Fourth 
Ward, M. V. Elliott; Fifth Ward, A. M. Millard; Sixth 
Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr. — 1895. First Ward, P. 
J. Koelzer; Second Ward, Charles Teipner; Third 
Ward, A. McMillan; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; 
Fifth Ward, G. O. Palmiter; Sixth Ward, L. Freiburg- 
er, Sr.— 1896-97. First Ward, T. D. Kellogg; Second 
Ward, J. L. Klock; Third Ward, George Schafer; 
Fourth Ward, Frank Reindl; Fifth Ward, James Mc- 
Hale; Sixth Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr.— 1898-99. 
First Ward, T. D. Kellogg; Second Ward, John Mc- 
Greer; Third Ward, James Steber; Fourth Ward, Fred 
Ebert; Fifth Ward, John Kestly; Sixth Ward, Leonard 
Freiburger, Sr.— 1900-01. First Ward, C. E. Hen- 
shaw; Second Ward, Charles Teipner; Third Ward, 
W. B. Johns; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; Fifth 
Ward, J. C. Phelps; Sixth Ward, L. Freiburger, Sr. — 
1901-02. First Ward, Louis Beyer; Second Ward, G. 
W. Hill; Third Ward, J. J. Tessar; Fourth Ward, F. 
Riendl; Fifth Ward, J. Schlemmer; Sixth Ward, L. 
Freiburger, Sr.— 1903-04. First Ward, W. F. White; 
Second Ward, W. J. Knott; Third Ward, Edgar Neff; 
Fourth Ward, F. Riendl; Fifth Ward, L. D. Hartford; 
Sixth Ward, Thomas Morrissey — 1904-05. First Ward, 
J. J. French; Second Ward, R. Koebke; Third Ward, 
Edgar Neff; Fourth Ward, M. M. Ross; Fifth Ward, 
R. J. Morgan; Sixth Ward, L. Freiburger, Sr.^ — 1905- 
06. First Ward, J. J. French; Second Ward, R. Koeb- 
ke; Third Ward, James Steber; Fourth Ward, James 



108 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



McKenna; Fifth Ward, Thomas Schmitz; Sixth Ward, 
J. L. Klock, 1906-07. First Ward, J. J. French; Second 
Ward, R. Koebke; Third Ward, James Steber; Fourth 
Ward, James McKenna; Fifth Ward, Thomas Schmitz; 
Sixth Ward, J. L. Klock— 1907-08. First Ward, J. H. 
Hopkins; Second Ward, Joseph Dubois; Third Ward, 
James Steber; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; Fifth 
Ward, H. A. Friedeman; Sixth Ward, B. W. Rynders 
—1908-09. First Ward, R. Healy, Sr.; Second Ward, 
John McGreer; Third Ward, Julius Below; Fourth 
Ward, Frank Riendl; Fifth Ward, G. J. Buchen; Sixth 
Ward, Joseph Wirig— 1909-10. First Ward, Walter 
Guile; Second Ward, John McGreer; Third Ward, Jul- 
ius Below; Fourth Ward, Frank Riendl; Fifth Ward, 
T. J. Roberts; Sixth Ward, Joseph Wirig— 1910-11. 
First Ward, Richard Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, John 
McGreer; Third Ward, Julius Below; Fourth Ward, 
Frank Riendl; Fifth Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth Ward, 
J. J. Laughlin— 1911-12. First Ward, Walter Guile; 
Second Ward, Lee Waste; Third Ward, Julius Below; 
Fourth Ward, Frank Riendl; Filth Ward, Charles 
Tuma; Sixth Ward, J. J. Laughlin— 1912-13. First 
Ward, W. A. Maertz; Second Ward, Lee Waste; Third 
Ward, Julius Below; Fourth Ward, Frank Riendl; Fifth 
Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth Ward, J. J. Laughlin — 
1913-14. First Ward, W. A. Maertz; Second Ward, H. 
A. Baldwin; Third Ward, Julius Below; Fourth Ward, 



A. L. Lauby; Fifth Ward, L. D. Hartford; Sixth Ward, 
Leonard Freiburger, Sr. — 1914-15. First Ward, Rich- 
ard Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, Lee Waste; Third Ward, 
Julius Below; Fourth Ward, A. L. Lauby; Fifth Ward, 
L. D. Hartford; Sixth Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr. 
—1915-16. First Ward, R. E. Krause; Second Ward, 
H. A. Baldwin; Third Ward, Julius Below; Fourth 
Ward, A. L. Lauby; Fifth Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth 
Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr. — 1916-17. First Ward, 
Richard Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, H. A. Baldwin; 
Third Ward, Joseph Stengl ; Fourth Ward, A. L. Lau- 
by; Fifth Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth Ward, L. Frei- 
burger, Sr.— 1917-18. First Ward, R. Healy, Sr.; Sec- 
ond Ward, H. A. Baldwin; Third Ward, Joseph Stengl; 
Fourth Ward, James McKenna; Fixth Ward, Charles 
Tuma; Sixth Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr. — 1918-19. 
First Ward, Richard Healy, Sr.; Second Ward, H. A. 
Baldwin; Third Ward, Joseph Stengl; Fourth Ward, 
James McKenna; Fifth Ward, Charles Tuma; Sixth 
Ward, Leonard Freiburger, Sr. — 1919-20. First Ward, 
Richard Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, H. A. Baldwin; 
Third Ward, Joseph Stengl; Fourth Ward, James Mc- 
Kenna; Fifth Ward, L. D. Hartford; Sixth Ward, 
Leonard Freiburger, Sr.— 1920-21. First Ward, Rich- 
ard Healy, Sr. ; Second Ward, L. A. Maier; Third 
Ward, James Steber; Fourth Ward, James McKenna; 
Fifth Ward, L. D. Hartford; Sixth Ward, Leonard 
Freiburger, Sr.— 1921-22. 




HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



109 



CHAPTER XXIV. 
Original Charter of the City of Antigo 

Ward Boundaries — Four Wards — Elective Officers — The First Election — General Elections — Pow- 
ers and Duties of the Common Council — Poll Tax — Oificers — Their Duties and Powers — Ordi- 
nances — Procedure for Violation of Ordinances — Schools — Streets — The General Charter of 
1905. 



The original charter of the city of Antigo is to the 
citizens of Antigo what the Declaration of Independ- 
ence is to the nation at large or what the constitution 
of Wisconsin is to the citizens of the state in general. 
The original charter of the city of Antigo is the very 
foundation upon which the city was created. The gov- 
ernment of Antigo has and continues to be, in most- 
respects, in accord with this original document. As a 
matter of record the complete charter is given here- 
with. 

THE ORIGINAL CHARTER OF THE CITY OF 
ANTIGO. 

CHAPTER I. 

Section 1. All that district of territory in the Coun- 
ty of Langlade hereinafter described shall be a city 
by the name of Antigo, and the people now inhabiting 
and those who shall inhabit said district, shall be a 
municipal corporation by the name of Antigo, and shall 
have the general powers possessed by municipal cor- 
porations at common law, and in addition thereto shall 
have and possess the powers hereinafter specifically 
granted, and the authorities thereof shall have perpet- 
ual succession, and shall be capable of contracting 
and being contracted with, suing and being sued, plead- 
ing and being impleaded in all courts of law and equi- 
ty, and shall have a common seal and may change and 
alter the same at pleasure. 

Section 2. All the district of the county included in 
section number twenty-nine, in township number thirty- 
one north, of range eleven east of the fourth principal 
meridian, and also the east one-half of section number 
thirty, in township number thirty-one north, of range 
eleven east of the fourth principal meridian. 

CHAPTER II. 

WARD BOUNDARIES. 

Section 1. The city of Antigo shall be divided into 
four wards, as follows : 

First Ward. — The first ward shall comprise all that 
part of section number twenty-nine aforesaid, which 
lies north of the center line of Fifth Avenue, prolong- 
ed to the east line of said section, and east of the center 
line of Clermont Street, prolonged to the north line of 
said section. 

Second Ward. — The Second Ward shall comprise all 
of the northeast quarter of section number thirty afore- 
said, with all that part of section number twenty-nine 



which lies north of the center line of Fifth Avenue, and 
west of the center line of Clermont Street, prolonged to 
the north line of said section. 

Third Ward. — The Third Ward shall comprise all the 
southeast quarter of section number thirty aforesaid 
with all that part of section number twenty-nine, which 
lies north of the center line of Fifth Avenue, and west 
of the center line of Clermont Street. 

Fourth Ward. — The Fourth Ward shall comprise all 
that part of section number twenty-nine aforesaid 
which lies south of the center line of Fifth Avenue, pro- 
longed to the east line of said section, and east of the 
center line of Clermont Street. 

CHAPTER III. 

ELECTIVE OFFICERS. 

Section 1. The elective officers of the said city shall 
be a mayor, clerk, treasurer, assessor, one school com- 
missioner, and three justices of peace, from the city 
at large, and two aldermen, two school commissioners, 
one supervisor, and one street commissioner from each 
ward. 

Section 2. All the officers elected from the city at 
large, except justices of the peace, shall hold their of- 
fices for one year, or until their successors are elected 
and qualified. Justices of the peace shall hold their 
offices for two years. 

Section 3. All the elective officers from the city at 
large, and the aldermen, school commissioners and su- 
pervisors from each ward, shall be qualified voters, 
electors and freeholders in said city, and the ward 
officers shall be freeholders in the ward where elected. 

Section 4. The school commissioners from the sev- 
eral wards and aldermen shall hold their offices for two 
years, and the street commissioner and supervisor for 
one year. 

Section 5. At the first election in said city one of 
the aldermen and one of the school commissioners in 
each ward shall be elected for one year, and one for 
two years, the ballots to designate the term of office 
of each. Thereafter at the annual municipal election 
each ward shall elect one alderman and one school 
commissioner, who shall hold their respective office for 
two years. 

Section 6. Whenever a vacancy occurs in the office 
of mayor, aldermen or justices, each or such vacancy 
shall be filled by a new election, which shall be ordered 
by the common council within ten days after such va- 
cancy shall occur. Any vacancy happening in any of- 



no 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



fice shall be filled by the comnnon cour.cil. The 
person elect to fill in any such vacancy shall hold the of- 
fice and discharge the duties thereof for the unexpired 
term, and shall be subject to the same liabilities as the 
person whose office he may be elected or appointed to 
fill. 

Section 7. Every officer or agent, who shall be ap- 
pointed by the common council, may be summarily 
removed, by a vote of two-thirds of all of the members 
of the common council elect, and the office declared 
vacant. No other officer shall be removed from office, 
except for good cause, nor unless furnished with 
charges, and an opportunity given such officer to be 
heard in his defense. The common council shall have 
power to compel any and all persons in said city to ap- 
pear before it and testify, in any hearing or proceed- 
ing instituted to remove from office any officer men- 
tioned in this act, or any agent under said city govern- 
ment for any violation of duty, or of any provisions of 
this act, or of any ordinarxe, resolution rule, order, 
regulation, or by-law of the common council of said 
city, either of omission or commission and such viola- 
tion shall be cause for removal, and to revoke and va- 
cate any license granted under this act, and for that 
purpose said council may make its order command- 
ing. The person or persons therein named to 
appear before it and testify, which order shall 
be certified by the clerk of the said city, under 
the corporate seal thereof, and personally served on 
the person or persons therein named by delivering to 
each a true copy thereof, and for the purpose of com- 
pelling such appearance before it, and the giving of the 
testimony on such hearing or proceeding the said com- 
mon council is hereby vested with the same power 
and authority possessed by any court of record in this 
state, and any violation or disobedience to the com- 
mands or requirements of a subpoena issued out of 
any court of record in this state. The common 
council shall proceed to said hearing within ten days 
•from the service of the charges upon the officers as 
charged, and may adjourn from time to time, as may 
be deemed necessary and if such officer neglects to ap- 
pear and answer to such charges, or if such charges 
are sustained, then the common council may, by a two- 
thirds vote of the whole council, remove such officer 
and declare such office vacant. 

ELIGIBILITY TO OFFICE AND QUALIFICA- 
TIONS OF OFFICERS. 

Section 8. No person shall be eligible to any office 
of said city unless he shall be a resident elector of said 
city, nor to any of the ward offices, unless he be a resi- 
dent elector and freeholder of the ward for which such 
officer is to be chosen, and otherwise qualified to per- 
form the duties of office to which he may be elected or 
appointed; and whenever any person, elected to any 
city office, shall remove from the city or any ward offi- 
cer shall be removed from the ward in which he holds 
office, he shall be deemed thereby to have vacated his 
office. 

Section 9. Every person elected or appointed to any 



office of said city or the wards thereof shall, before, 
he enters upon the duties thereof, take and subscribe 
the oath of office required by the constitution of the 
state, before some proper officer, and file the same 
with the city clerk, within ten days after notification 
of election. 

Section 10. The city clerk, city treasurer, city mar- 
shal, justices of the peace, and such other officers 
as the common council may direct, shall severally, be- 
fore they enter upon the duties of their respective of- 
fices, execute to the city of Antigo, a bond, with at 
least two sufficient sureties, which bond shall contain 
such penal sum and such conditions as the common 
council shall prescribe. Such bonds, together with 
the affidavits of the sureties hereinafter provided, shall 
be filed with the city clerk and recorded in books in 
his office for that purpose. 

Section 11. Sufficiency of the snreties upon bonds, 
provided for in the next preceding section, may be de- 
termined by the affidavits of the sureties, severally 
taken, in which affidavits it shall appear that said sure- 
ties, in the aggregate, are worth, in property, over and 
above all debts, exemptions and liabilities, the penal 
amount of such bond, or the common council may, in 
any other manner, aside from the affidavits of such 
sureties, determine their responsibility and sufficiency, 
and either accept or reject such sureties, or require 
other additional sureties. 

Section 12. The common council shall, at any and 
all times, have the power to require other or addition- 
al official bonds, over or additional sureties thereof, at 
any time during the official term of any officer of said 
city. 

Section 13. Every person elected or appointed to 
any office in said city, who shall neglect to take and 
file with the city clerk his oath of office, as herein 
required, or neglect to file his official bond as provid- 
ed by this act, or as may be required by the common 
council, within ten days after notification of election 
or appointment, such office shall be deemed vacant, 
and the vacancy shall be filed as provided in this act. 

Section 14. No member of the council shall be ac- 
cepted as surety upon any bond, note or obligation 
made to the city. 

Section 15. No alderman or member of the com- 
mon council, while holding office, shall be appointed 
to, or be competent to hold any office, of which the 
compensation is paid by the city. 

CHAPTER IV. 

FIRST ELECTION. 

Section 1. The first election for said city of An- 
tigo, for the election of city officers, shall be held in 
the respective wards of said city, on the first Tues- 
day in April, 1885, as follows: 

1. The polls of the election for the first ward shall 
be held at the lumber office of Clithero & Strong, on 
Superior Street, at which election H. G. Borgman, R. 
H. McMullen and A. B. Millard, shall, if present, be 
the inspectors thereof. 

2. The polls of the election for the second ward 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Ill 



shall be held at Spencer's Hall on Fifth Avenue, at 
which election B. F. Dorr, J. E. Mullowney and J. E. 
Clancey shall, if present, be the inspectors thereof. 

3. The polls of the election for the Third Ward 
shall be held at Sherman & Dawley's office, on Fifth 
Avenue, at which election F. M. Sherman, August 
Schoepke, and Gilbert Bacon shall, if present, be in- 
spectors thereof. 

4. The polls of election for the Fourth Ward shall 
be held at the office of L. Mendlik, on Superior Street, 
at which, election L. Mendlik, James Porter, and J. 
Herman shall, if present, be the inspectors thereof. 

Section 2. The polls shall be opened in each of said 
wards at nine o'clock in the forenoon, and be kept open 
continuously until five o'clock in the evening. 

Section 3. The inspectors present at the opening of 
the polls shall appoint two suitable and competent 
persons to act as clerks of election. 

Section 4. The inspectors and clerks of election in 
each of said wards shall take the oath of office, and in 
all things be governed by the several laws of the state 
for holding and conducting election and shall without 
adjournmert publicly canvass the votes cast in their 
wards for the different offices and propositions voted 
for and make, sign and seal a statement in writing of 
the number of votes cast for each candidate and for and 
against any proposition voted for, and announce the 
result. 

Section 5. H. G. Borgman, from the First Ward, B. 
F. Dorr, from the Second Ward, August Shoepke, from 
the Third Ward, and L. Mendlik from the Fourth Ward, 
shall constitute a city board of canvassers to canvass 
the vote of said election, shall meet at the office 
of L. Mendlik on the Tliarsday after election, at nine 
A. M. in said city, and there publicly canvass and count 
the votes cast in each of said wards for the officers to 
be elected, and shall then and there publicly announce 
the result of said election and issue and sign dupli- 
cate certificates of election, declaring and naming the 
persons elected to each of the offices required by this 
charter. One of said certificates shall be delivered 
to the person elected, city clerk, and the other to the 
clerk of the county board of supervisors of Langlade 
County, to be there filed and preserved in that office. 

Section 6. The town clerk of the town of Antigo 
shall give notice of said first election by publication 
thereof in two newspapers published in the city of 
Antigo, for two weeks next preceding the holding 
thereof, and the inspectors named in this act shall post, 
or cause to be posted, in three public places in each 
ward, a notice of the time and place of holding said 
election, at least ten days before election. 

CHAPTER V. 

GENERAL ELECTIONS. 

Section 1. The annual municipal election of said 
city shall be held on the first Tuesday of April, in 
each year, for which purpose one place in each ward 
shall be procured and designated as election polls, by 
the aldermen of the proper ward, and notice shall be 
given by the said aldermen for at least ten days prior 



to said election by publication in two newspapers, if 
there be so many printed in said city, and by posting 
the same in three conspicuous places in each ward, 
which notices shall be signed by the aldermen of the 
ward in which the same are to be posted, and shall des- 
ignate the time and place where the polls will be open- 
ed. 

Section 2. All male inhabitants of said city, who 
shall have resided therein for thirty days next pre- 
ceding any election therein, and who are otherwise 
qualified to vote under the general laws of the state, 
shall be entitled to vote at such election, in the ward 
in which he lives. 

Section 3. The aldermen in each ward and the su- 
pervisor therein, shall be the inspectors of all elec- 
tions held in said city, and at the opening of the polls 
therein, at the general or special election the inspectors 
present shall appoint the clerk or clerks of election. 

Section 4. All general or special elections held in 
Eaid city shall be held and conducted, and the votes 
canvassed, sealed and returned in all respects under 
and in accordance with the general laws of the state. 
And the inspectors and clerks of said elections shall 
possess the same powers and authority as are prescrib- 
ed by the general laws of the state in regard to elec- 
tions. 

Section 5. The polls of election in each ward, shall 
be kept open from nine o'clock in the morning until 
five o'clock in the evening, without intermission or ad- 
journment, and when the polls shall have been closed, 
the inspectors, without adjourning, shall canvass the 
votes received at such polls, and make returns thereof 
in writing, duly signed, stating therein the number of 
votes received for each person for a designated office, 
and the whole number of votes received, and such re- 
turns shall be by them delivered together, with the 
oaths of the inspectors and clerks, and the polls lists 
kept by them to the city clerk, to be filed in his office 
within twenty-four hours after closing the polls. 

Section 6. All elections shall be by ballot; a plural- 
ity of votes shall constitute an election and the names 
of all officers voted for shall be upon the ballot. 

Section 7. Except as herein otherwise provided, 
so far as the same are applicable, all of the laws relat- 
ing to general elections, as to the qualifications of elec- 
tors, the manner in which election shall be conducted, 
the making of poll lists, and returns, and the punish- 
ment of illegal or fraudulent voting, or attempting to 
vote and for fraudulent or illegal returns and any other 
fraud or wrong designated under the general election 
laws, shall apply to all elections provided for by this 
act. 

Section 8. On Thursday next after the elections 
herein provided for in each year, at 7.30 o'clock P. M., 
the common council shall meet at the council rooms in 
said city and the returns of the inspectors of the vari- 
ous wards shall be produced by the city clerk where- 
upon the common council shall forthwith canvass and 
returns determine and declare, by the greater number 
of votes appearing by said returns to have been cast 
at said election, who are elected for each of the city 



112 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



and ward offices as were voted for, or any other or 
either of them, and the council shall thereupon cause 
a report of such determination to be made and entered 
upon the minutes of said determination, the city clerk 
shall cause certificates of election to be served upon 
the persons so declared to be elected personally, or by 
depositing the same, enclosed in an envelope, with the 
postage paid and properly directed, provided, that the 
city clerk shall at the same time certify to the clerk of 
the circuit court the names of the persons so elected 
justices of the peace, and all officers authorized to 
administer oaths and take acknowledgements of in- 
struments in writing and the terms for which they were 
respectively elected when they have qualified. 

Section 9. When two or more candidates for an 
elective office, shall receive an equal number of votes 
for the same office, the election shall be determined by 
casting lots, in the presence of the common courcil at 
such time and in such manner as said council may di- 
rect. 

Section 10. Every justice of the peace elected or 
appointed by virtue of this act, shall file such oath of 
office and bond necessary to qualify, before entering 
upon the discharge of the duties of such office, as is 
prescribed by the general statutes for such officers in 
the several towns. 

Section 11. Upon the filing the oath of office and 
the filing and approval by the common council of any 
kind by any officer of the city, as in this act required, 
the city clerk shall, upon demand, execute and deliver 
to the persons so entitled a certificate of his election 
and qualifications to the office to which he has been 
elected or appointed. 

Section 12. In addition to the amount herein lim- 
ited for taxes for general city purposes special taxes 
may be levied for the purchase of fire engines, ceme- 
tery grounds, public square and other objects of public 
utility; but no such tax shall be levied, unless the 
same shall first be recommended by the common coun- 
cil and afterwards submitted to a vote of the people, 
and approved by them. Whenever the council shall 
recommend such a tax, it shall specify the amount to 
be raised and the object thereof and cause notice there- 
of, and of the time and the place of voting thereon, to 
be published in the same manner as in case of the an- 
nual city election. 

Section 13. At such special elections so called, no 
such special tax shall be raised or levied unless the 
whole number of votes cast shall equal two-thirds of 
the whole number of votes cast in said city at the last 
preceding municipal election; nor unless two-thirds of 
the votes cast at such special election shall have been 
cast in favor of the tax so voted for. 

Section 14. At each special election no person shall 
be entitled to vote unless he be a freeholder in said 
city. 

CHAPTER VI. 

POWERS AND DUTIES OF THE COMMON 
COUNCIL. 

Section 1. The municipal government of said cor- 
poration shall consist of a common council, composed 



of the mayor and the two aldermen from each ward. 
The common council shall annually meet on the first 
Monday after the annual municipal election, at 7 o'clock 
P. M. and at such other times, not less than once in 
each month, as it shall by resolution appoint. The 
mayor, or in his absence or inability to act, the presi- 
dent of the council, for any good reason, may call spe- 
cial meetings by notice to each of the members, to be 
served personally, or left at their usual place of abode 
by the city clerk. The common council at any regu- 
lar or special meeting shall have power to adjourn the 
same to such time as it may deem proper. 

Section 2. It shall be the duty of the common 
council at said first meeting to elect by ballot, one of 
its members president of the council. 

Section 3. The mayor, when present, shall preside 
at all meetings of the common council, and in his ab- 
sence or inability so to do the president of the com- 
mon council shall preside. 

Section 4. In the absence of the mayor, and presi- 
dent of the common council, the aldermen present, if 
there be a quorum shall elect one of its members as 
president protem, of the common council who shall 
have and possess all the powers of mayor while so pre- 
siding. 

Section 5. In the proceedings of the common coun- 
cil each member present, including the mayor, shall be 
entitled to a vote; but no appropriations nor appoint- 
ments to office, shall be made except by the vote of a 
majority of all the members elect. 

Section 6. The common council shall determine the 
rules of its proceedings not inconsistent with any of 
the provisions of this act. A majority of the mem- 
bers elect shall constitute a quorum for the transac- 
tion of business, and may compel the attendance of 
absent members, and in case of the refusal of absent 
members to attend for three successive meetings, the 
common council may declare the office of the member 
so refusing, vacant. 

Section 7. If required by one member present at 
any meeting of the common council, the vote upon any 
ordinance, resolution, or question pending before each 
meeting, except the appointment of officers, shall, when 
taken, be taken, by the yeas and nays of all the mem- 
bers present, and a record of such vote shall be entered 
at large in the minutes of the common council. 

Section 8. The common council shall have the pow- 
er, from time to time, to require other and further du- 
ties to be performed by any officer, whose duties are 
herein prescribed, and to prescribe the duties of such 
other officers as may be appointed, whose duties are 
not herein prescribed. 

Section 9. The common council shall have the gen- 
eral control of all the property, both real and personal, 
belonging to the city. 

Section 10. The common council shall also have 
power to organize a board of health, and to provide 
measures for the preservation of health of the inhabi- 
tants of said city, and to prevent the spread of in- 
fection or pestilential diseases therein. The board 
of health shall consist of the junior alderman of each 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



113 



ward, the mayor, who shall be its president; each mem- 
ber of the board of health shall have power and per- 
form such duties as the common council, by ordinances 
or otherwise, shall direct. The city clerk shall be ex- 
official clerk of the board of health. The common 
council may, by ordinances, authorize the board of 
health, or any member thereof, to make and enforce 
such orders, rules and regulations not inconsistent with 
the charter of any ordinance of said city as they shall 
deem most effectual for the preservation of the public 
health; but no order, rule or regulation of said board, 
imposing a penalty, shall take effect and be in force 
until the same shall have been published in a news- 
paper published in said city, as required for the publi- 
cation of ordinances. 

Section 11. The common council shall have the 
power to make, modify and repeal such ordinance, res- 
olutions, regulations, or by-laws as may be necessary to 
carry into full effect all the powers conferred upon it by 
this act. In every such ordinance, resolutions, regu- 
lations, or by-laws passed by said council, it may im- 
pose such penalty for the violation thereof, any part 
thereof, by fine, not exceeding two hundred dollars, and 
if not paid with the costs, by imprisonment in the 
county jail for Langlade County, not exceeding six 
months, or by imprisonment in any other place pro- 
vided by the common council for the detention or im- 
prisonment and punishment of persons committing of- 
fenses, not exceeding three months, and shall have 
power by such ordinances, resolutions, regulations, or 
by-laws and with such penalties aforesaid; 

1. To preserve peace and good order, and to re- 
strain and prevent vice, immorality and every kind of 
fraudulent device and practice. 

2. To restrain, prevent and suppress, houses of ill- 
fame, and all places of prostitution, and disorderly and 
gambling houses, billiard tables, and all instruments 
and devices for gambling, and to authorize the des- 
truction and demolition of all instruments used for this 
purpose of gambling, and to punish the occu- 
pants and frequenters of such houses and places, 
and to prohibit the occupation of any room, building, or 
any part thereof, within said city, for that purpose. 

3. To restrain and punish vagrants, mendicants, 
street beggars, drunkards, and persons soliciting alms, 
keepers of houses of ill-fame, common prostitutes, 
bawds, and disorderly persons, and to prevent drunken- 
ness and disorderly and immoral conduct, and obsceni- 
ty in public places and streets, and to provide for ar- 
resting, removing and punishing any persons or per- 
sons who may be guilty of the same. 

4. To prevent any riots, noises, or public disturb- 
ances, and all disorderly assembles. 

5. To license, prevent, or regulate the sale and 
giving away of ardent, spirituous wines, malt, ferment- 
ed and intoxicating liquors, and drinks within the city, 
under the provisions of this act. 

6. To prohibit or regulate the erection or contin- 
uance of slaughter houses in said city, and to cause the 
removal thereof. 

7. To compel the owner or occupant of any grocery, 
meat market, tallow chandlers shop, soap factory, tan- 



nery stable, privy, sewer, drain or other unwholesome 
or nauseous house or place, to cleanse, remove or abate 
the same as often as, and whenever the common coun- 
cil or board of health, shall deem it necessary for the 
health, comfort or convenience of the inhabitants of the 
city, and for the prevention of diseases. 

8. To require the removal of any putrid or unwhole- 
some meat, fish, hides or skins, or any decaying sub- 
stance of any kind, by any person owing or occupying 
the premises on which the same may be found and in 
case of his default to do so, within time as may be 
prescribed by the council, to cause the removal there- 
of, and the expense thereof shall be a lien upon the 
lot or premises upon which the same were found, to 
be enforced, as hereinafter provided. 

9. To prevent restrain remove and abate nuisances. 

10. To prevent any and all persons from casting 
into Spring Brook within the limits of the city or leav- 
ing upon the banks thereof any offal, dead animals, 
filth or rubbish, and to punish any person or persons 
doing the same. 

11. To prevent the digging, excavating or making 
holes or places below the natural surface of the ground, 
wherein stagnant waters or other noxious or unwhole- 
some matter may accumulate, and to cause the filling 
up, cleansing or purifying of any such hole or place by 
any person who may have caused, made, or in any 
way assisted in making the same, and in case of the 
default in the filling up, cleansing or purifying 
thereof, within such time as may be prescribed by the 
common council, to cause the same to be filled up, 
cleansed or purified, and the expense thereof shall be 
a lien upon the lot or premises upon which the same 
existed to be enforced as hereinafter provided. 

12. To prohibit any person from bringing or deposit- 
ing, within the limits of said city the dead carcass of 
any animal, filth or rubbish or any unwholesome thing. 

13. To prevent and prohibit the manufacture keep- 
ing or storing of nitro-glycerine, and to regulate the 
keeping and storing of gun powder, gun cotton, burn- 
ing fluids, coal oils, and other dangerous explosives 
material in said city, and to provide for the inspection 
of illuminating oils and fluids. 

14. To prohibit, restrain or regulate the discharge 
of firearms, and the explosion of gun powder and gun- 
cotton, and the firing of fire crackers, and fireworks of 
any kind within the city. 

15. To regulate the use of candles and lights in 
barns, stables, shops and out buildings. 

16. To compel all persons to remove the dirt, snow 
and ice from the sidewalk in front of the premises oc- 
cupied or owned by them, and to keep the streets swept 
in front of such premises and to prevent the encumber- 
ing of the streets, sidewalks and cross walks with car- 
riages, wagons, carts, sleds, sleighs, wheelbarrows, 
boxes, wood, lumber, timber, or other substances or 
materials whatsoever, and to prohibit excavating on 
streets, or the raising or lowering the surface of streets, 
crosswalks, or sidewalks, above or below the estab- 
lished grade, or the interference in any manner with 
the established grade of the streets, and to prohibit 
the raising of any portion adjoining, unless with the 



114 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



II 



consent of the common council, and to prohibit injury 
to sidewalks. 

17. To prohibit the leaving of any horse, mule or 
team on any street without being securely fastened or 
hitched. 

18. To regulate and control the erection of awn- 
ings and awning posts, to prevent the erection of signs 
and sign posts in the streets or over the sidewalks; and 
to provide for and compel the hitching posts and places 
for fastening teams, at such point or points as the coun- 
cil may deem necessary. 

19. To prevent and regulate the running at large 
of dogs, and to destroy them, and to impose a tax upon 
the owners or possessers of dogs. 

20. To require and cause the removal from thick- 
ly inhabited parts of the city, of all persons having 
contagious diseases. 

21. To prohibit, restrain and regulate all exhibi- 
tions of natural or artificial curiousities, caravans of 
animals, theatrical shows or performances, circuses, 
and all other public exhibitions or performances for 
money, and to require, fix the amount, and provide for 
the collection of license fees for any and all such pub- 
lic exhibitions or performances. 

22. To regulate, restrain and prohibit the ringing 
of bells and the crying of goods, wares and merchan- 
dise or other commodities in the streets of said city. 

23. To impose and collect license fees of each auc- 
tioneer, and commissions on the sale of goods, wares, 
merchandise or other personal property by auction, 
and to punish any person acting as auctioneer without 
a license, or refusing to report sales by auction. 

24. To regulate and restrain hawking and peddling 
in streets. 

25. To establish and regulate a market or markets 
in said city, to restrain and regulate the sale of fresh 
meats, fish and vegetables, and to select places for the 
sale of hay, wood, straw, grain, lumber, lime, and all 
other articles offered for sale from wagons, sleighs or 
vehicles, and cause the same to be weighed, measured 
or inspected, and to establish and collect fees for such 
weighing, measuring, or inspection, and to prohibit 
under penalties the sales of such articles at any other 
place or places. 

26. To establish and regulate public pounds. 

27. To restrain and prohibit the running at large 
of cattle, horses, mules, sheep, swine, geese and fowls 
in said city, and to cause such as may be found run- 
ning at large to be impounded, and to have a lien there- 
on for all fines, penalties, costs, poundage and dam- 
age done thereby, and to cause the same to be sold, 
to discharge the said liens, and to punish the owners 
of such animals or fowls found running at large. 

28. To prevent and punish horse racing and im- 
moderate driving or riding in the streets or highways; 
to require all persons driving horses with sleighs or 
cutters in the streets of said city, to carry bells either 
upon the horses or other animals, to warn other per- 
sons using said streets, and prevent and punish per- 
sons playing any game or doing any act having a ten- 
dency to frighten horses, or annoy persons passing in. 



or along the streets or highways, or endanger pro- 
perty. 

29. To compel railroad companies and other cor- 
porations and persons, to do all needful and proper 
draining, grading and filling up the lands owned or 
occupied by them, within the limits of said city to 
compel railroad companies to construct and keep in 
repair, suitable street crossing and carriage ways over 
their several tracks, and place flagmen at such street 
crossings, in said city, as said common council may 
designate; to regulate and restrain the speed of cars 
in passing through said city, and to prevent such cars 
from passing at a greater rate of speed than six miles 
per hour through said city, and to prevent the obstruc- 
tion of streets, lanes and highways by the cars of 
said companies, and to regulate the putting up of all 
necessary signs to beware of the cars, at railroad and 
street crossings. 

30. To prevent the use of false weighing or meas- 
ures. 

31. To direct and require the keeping of records 
of mortality by physicians, sextons, and others. 

32. To protect shade trees and direct and compel 
and regulate the planting, rearing and preservation of 
shade or ornamental trees in the streets and public 
grounds in said city. 

Section 12. The common council shall have author- 
ity, by ordinances, resolution, or by-laws; regulate, 
preserve and dispose of the property, real and person- 
al, belonging to the city. 

2. To purchase all real estate, or other property, 
as may be required for the use of such city, for public 
uses, provided, the cost thereof shall not exceed the 
amounts previously limited therefor. 

3. To adopt all legal and requisite measures for 
levying taxes and assessments, general and special. 

4. To purchase and lay out public parks, squares, 
or grounds, and improve same. 

5. To establish, make, regulate, preserve, and pro- 
tect public reservoirs, pumps, wells, hydrants and 
fountains in said city, supply them with water and 
construct all necessary water works for such purposes, 
and to pay for the same, and to prevent the unneces- 
sary waste of water therefrom and regulate and con- 
trol the use thereof. 

6. To establish, construct and build all necessary 
drains, sewers, and gutters, and maintain the same. 

7. To fix up, widen, straighten, deepen, drain, 
dress, or otherwise improve or abate any and all 
sloughs, ravines, water courses and wet places in the 
limits of said city. 

8. To compel the owners or occupants of houses 
or other buildings to have scuttles in the roofs, and 
stairs or ladders leading to the same, and suitable fire 
escapes for same. 

9. To prevent the deposit of ashes in unsafe places, 
and to cause all buildings and enclosures, as may be 
in dangerous state, to be put in a safe condition. 

10. To regulate and prevent the improper construc- 
tion and unsafe condition of chimneys, fire places, 
hearths, stoves, stove pipes, ovens, boilers, and appa- 



I 



1 



1 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



115 



ratus now in and about any buildings or manufactory, 
and to cause the same to be removed or put in a safe 
condition. 

11. To regulate and prevent the carrying on of 
manufactories dangerous in causing or promoting fires. 

12. To authorize the mayor, aldermen, police, fire- 
men and other officials of the city to keep away from 
the vicinity of any fire all idle and suspicious persons, 
and to compel all persons in said city to aid in the 
extinguishing of fires and the protection and preserva- 
tion of property thereof. 

13. To authorize and require any person appointed 
for that purpose to enter buildings and enclosures at 
proper times, to ascertain whether the arrangements 
for fire, or the preservation of ashes are dangerous, 
ard to cause such as are dangerous to be put in a 
safe condition. 

Section 13. The common council shall let by pro- 
posals to the lowest bidder and not otherwise, all con- 
tracts for services or work, and materials or supplies, 
and other payment for the same, except as is specific- 
ally otherwise provided by this act, and may, from 
time to time, require any officer to furnish reports, in- 
formation or estimate and to perform other and furth- 
er duties than herein prescribed, if the council shall 
deem that the interests of the city so require. 

Section 14. The common cour.cil shall have power 
by ordinance or resolution, to cause all out and in lots 
within said city, of less size than ten acres each, that 
have not been platted and recorded by the owner or 
owners thereof as required by the laws to be platted 
and recorded, and to tax the charges for the platting 
and recording thereof against the lot or lots so plat- 
ted and recorded, to be collected in the same manner 
as other special city assessments and taxes. 

Section 15. The common courcil may cause all 
streets, highways, alleys, lanes, side and crosswalks, 
culverts, drains, sewers, public places in the said city, 
to be surveyed and described and the established 
height of all grades of streets or sidewalks, to be re- 
corded in a book to be kept by the city clerk for that 
purpose, and to cause maps to be made and filed with 
the city clerk. Such records and maps, when so filed, 
shall be primafacie evidence of the facts therein de- 
scribed and portrayed, in all actions and places be- 
tween the city and other persons, touching their loca- 
tion and the facts therein or thereon represented. 

Section 16. The common council of said city shall, 
by proper resolution, levy all taxes to be raised in 
said city, itemizing the amount so as to show the 
amount raised for school purposes, and for general 
purposes. 

Section 17. The school tax shall be based on an 
itemized estimate of the amount required, such esti- 
mate to be furnished to the council by the board of 
education of said city at the regular monthly meet- 
ing of the council in July, each year, but they may, 
by a two-thirds vote of the whole council, levy more 
or less tax for school purposes than the amount so 
estimated by the board of education. 

Section 18. The common council shall, annually 



at its regular meeting in April, levy taxes on all the 
taxable property of said city, not exceeding five mills 
on the dollar, for highway purposes, such tax to be 
known and designated as the general fund. 

Section 19. The common council shall, annually 
at its November meeting, levy a tax not exceeding five 
mills on a dollar, on all the taxable propery of said 
city for all general purposes of said city, to be known 
and designated as the highway fund. 

Section 20. Such highway tax shall be levied and 
carried out immediately, and the tax roll placed in 
the hands of the city treasurer for collection on or 
before the tenth day of May, in each year. The trea- 
surer shall forthwith proceed to collect the highway 
tax so levied and shall collect the same on or before 
the first day in June, in the next year. 

Section 21. The common courcil shall at its last 
regular meeting before the annual municipal elec- 
tion, by resolution, fix the salaries and compensation 
to be paid to such of the city officers and employees, 
to be elected or appointed under the provisions of 
this act as are entitled thereto; provided no salary or 
compensation having been once fixed, shall not be 
increased to any officer or employee during his term 
of office or employment, unless by the unanimous con- 
sent of all the members of the common courcil elect; 
provided that the salaries for the first year shall be 
fixed at the first meeting of the council. 

Section 22. The common council of the city of An- 
tigo shall, annually at the spring election therein, sub- 
mit to the voters of said city the question of granting 
license for the sale of intoxicating liquor, or refusing 
to grant license for the sale of intoxicating liquors 
therein, for the ensuing year. The question when sub- 
mitted to the voters shall be upon a separate ballot, 
and the ballots on the license question shall be in the 
following form : Those in favor "For License," those 
against "No License," and they shall be deposited in 
a separate ballot box provided for that purpose and 
whenever a majority of the voters shall declare by 
their votes as aforesaid in favor of license then the 
common council shall grant licenses according to the 
provisions of the laws of the State of Wisconsin on 
that subject, and in case the majority of the voters 
shall declare for no license, as aforesaid, then, and 
in every such case, the common council shall have no 
power or authority to grant licenses for the sale of in- 
toxicating liquors and drinks in said city; and all 
such licenses granted shall run from the first day of 
May in each year to the first day of May following; 
provided, however, that when any such license may 
be applied for after that date the same may be granted 
to expire on the first day of May of each year on ap- 
plicant paying pro rata therefor; but no license shall 
be granted for a longer period than one year. 

POLL TAX. 

Section 23. The common council of said city shall 
have and it is hereby granted power to tax annually 
each male inhabitant within the corporate limits of 
said city, not by law exempt from such labor, between 



116 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



the ages of twenty-one and fifty years, a sum not to 
exceed one dollar and fifty cents, to be denominated 
a poll tax, and to be appropriated to the improve- 
ment of the streets, roads, alleys and crosswalks of the 
city. 

Section 24. On or before the twentieth day of May 
in each year the street commissioner in each ward 
shall make out a list of the names of all male persons 
over the age of twenty-one and under the age of fifty 
years, liable to pay such poll tax, with the amount 
thereof set opposite to each person's name, and sub- 
mit the same to the common council for correction. 
When such list is correctly made out, and on or before 
the first day of June in each year, the board shall by 
order (signed by the mayor and clerk and annex- 
ed thereto) direct the same to be delivered forthwith 
to the street commissioner in each ward for collection. 

Section 25. The street commissioner shall notify 
each male inhabitant to whom a poll tax shall be so 
assessed, to appear at a certain time and place in his 
ward with such tools as the street commissioner shall 
direct; such notice to be less than three nor more 
than five days. If the persons so notified shall appear 
and work for one day, agreeably to the order of such 
street commissioner, he shall, if he demands, receive 
a receipt for the poll tax so assessed, provided, how- 
ever, that the person so assessed may, at his option, 
pay such poll tax in money. And if any person 
neglects to pay the same for two days after, the street 
commissioner shall in the name of the city, sue for 
and collect such tax with fifty percenium damages on 
the same with costs of suit, before the justice of peace 
of said city, and in default of payment of such judg- 
ment execution shall issue against the defendant as 
in cases of court, and the first process in such action 
shall be by civil warrant; and the street commissioner 
shall account for such taxes by him collected, in the 
same manner as for other moneys coming into his 
hands by virtue of his office. And the street commis- 
sioner, while said list is in his hands for collection, 
may be put upon the same, the names of all such per- 
sons liable to such tax, as may have been omitted 
therefrom, who shall then be liable, the same as if 
their names were originally placed in such list. 

Section 26. Every street commissioner shall, before 
entering on the duties of his office, give a bond to the 
city of Antigo, with one or more sureties, to be approv- 
ed by the common council in the penal sum of not less 
than five hundred dollars, conditioned to render an 
account to the common council, whenever required by 
law, or the ordinances of said city, or by vote of said 
common council, to safely keep and account for, and 
deliver over when lawfully required, all property of 
said city that may come into his hands; to use, dis- 
burse or pay over as required by law, or the ordinances 
of said city, all moneys that may come into his pos- 
session as such officer, and to faithfully discharge the 
duties of his said office. 

Section 27. The common council of said city shall 
at its first meeting after election, elect a city marshal 
of said city, who shall before he enters upon the dis- 



charge of the duties of his office take the constitution 
oath of office and give a bond to said city, and to each 
and every person entitled thereto, for all moneys that 
may come into his hands by virtue of his office. 

Section 28. The city clerk and city assessor shall 
be paid a salary to cover all services rendered by 
them; the common council may also, in its discretion, 
pay the marshal a salary, in which case the salary 
so fixed shall be in full for all services which the mar- 
shal may render by direction of the council, and shall 
also be payment in full for any and all services ren- 
dered by him in or for which the city mayor shall 
eventually become liable. 

Section 29. The common council may by a two- 
thirds vote of the whole council make temporary loans 
at such rates of interest as it shall decide for the gen- 
eral purpose of said city, and may, in its discretion, 
in anticipation of the highway tax levied but not paid 
in the month of June in any year, make temporary 
loans for highway purposes, but no such loan shall, in 
any event, exceed the amount of tax levied for high- 
way purposes, and all moneys so loaned by the city 
for highway purposes, if any, shall be apportioned to 
the wards on the basis of the tax levied. 

Section 30. The common council shall annually fix 
and limit the per diem of the several street commis- 
sioners in said city. 

CHAPTER VII. 

OFFICERS, THEIR DUTIES AND POWERS. 

Section 1. The mayor shall be the chief executive 
officer of the city. He shall see that all laws relat- 
ing to the peace and good order of the city, as well as 
the ordinances of the city, are enforced, and shall 
exercise a constant supervision over all other officers 
of the city. He shall receive and examine into all 
complaints against all subordinate officers for mis- 
conduct, inefficiency or neglect of duty, and may, 
when the interests of the city are in danger of being 
impaired, summarily suspend such officer until the 
next meeting of the common council, at which time 
the mayor shall make report to the common council 
of his action in writing, setting forth all the facts and 
circumstances in relation thereto, and the common 
council may dispose of the matter in the same man- 
ner as hereinbefore provided, for the removal of per- 
sons from office. He shall recommend from time to 
time to the common council such measures as he shall 
deem expedient and necessary for the welfare of the 
city. He shall possess all the power and authority 
conferred upon mayors of cities by the general laws 
of the state. He shall have power, with force if ne- 
cessary, to suppress all tumults, riots and unlawful 
assemblies, all revelling, quarreling, or other disor- 
derly conduct to the disturbance or annoyance of the 
peaceable inhabitants of the city. He shall have con- 
trol, subject at all times to be restricted by the com- 
mon council, of the city marshal and the entire police 
force of the city. He shall have power to admit to. 
or discharge without, bail any and all persons ar- 
rested by the police force of the city without warrant. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



117 



He shall have power to administer oaths required in 
the discharge of the duties of his office. He may call 
special meetings of the common council by order in 
writing specifying therein the object for which such 
meeting is called, to be filed with the city clerk and 
when such order is filed it shall be the duty of the 
city clerk to serve or cause to be served on all the 
members of the common council a copy thereof, per- 
sonally or by leaving the same at the place of resi- 
dence or business of each member to be served. And 
at such special meeting of the common council so 
called the common council shall not transact any other 
business than that so specified in the call. He shall 
nave power, for cause to pardon, any person convicted 
for violation of any city ordinance. He shall com- 
municate to the common council as soon as practic- 
able after his election, and as often thereafter as he 
may deem expedient a general statement of the af- 
fairs of the city in relation to its finances, government 
and improvement. He shall possess all such other 
powers and perform all such other duties as are inci- 
dent to, or necessary for, the faithful discharge of his 
duties under this act. 

Section 2. The president of the common council 
shall possess all of the powers, and perform all the 
duties of the mayor, in his absence or inability to act. 

Section 3. The city clerk shall attend all the meet- 
ings of the common council, and keep a correct record 
of its proceedings. He shall have custody of the cor- 
porate seal, and of all the papers and records of the 
city, that by provision of law, or by direction of the 
common council are required to be kept in his office, 
or filed by him. He shall see that all ordinances, or- 
ders, resolutions, notices and other matters requiring 
publication, are promptly and correctly published in 
such paper or papers as the common council may have 
directed, and that due proof thereof be made and re- 
corded as in this chapter provided. He shall record 
all papers and proceedings required by any of the pro- 
visions of this act, to be recorded in his office. He 
shall serve in the capacity of clerk of all such boards 
or committees as the common council may direct. He 
shall attest all orders drawn upon the treasury, and 
sign all licenses granted by the common council, and 
keep correct record thereof, in books provided for 
that purpose, in such a manner as may be designated 
by the common council. He shall keep a detailed ac- 
count of the financial condition of the city and of the 
amounts expended through orders drawn upon the 
treasury; of all balances remaining unexpended, of the 
condition of any fund or separate appropriation for 
particular purposes, of the amounts received into the 
city treasury, as appears by the reports of the trea- 
surer, and all other facts desired by the common coun- 
cil at any regular meeting or at any time. He shall 
do and perform any other or further act or service in 
relation to any details in the matter of keeping books 
of account, records or proceedings which the common 
council may, by ordinance or resolution require. He 
shall make copies of the assessment roll of the city, 
as may be required by the law of the state by the 
common council. He shall keep a record in detail of 



the bonded indebtedness of the city, in such a manner 
as will show the amounts required to be paid each 
year for interest and principal, or to invest in a sink- 
ing fund. He shall, before the levy of any annual tax 
by the council make report of all amounts in detail, 
which the city will be required to pay towards any 
indebtedness and such facts and statements of past 
expenditures as will enable the council to make pro- 
per estimates for tax levies. He shall keep a record 
of all the proceedings in matters relating to the con- 
demnation of private property for public use all pro- 
ceeding in any improvement by which the expense or 
any portion thereof, shall be chargeable to any real 
estate. He shall at the regular meeting each month, 
make a report to the common council of the amount of 
money belonging to the general fund, in the city trea- 
sury at the last meeting, the amount of orders drawn 
on said fund since the last meeting, and the balance 
on hand at the date of meeting. He shall have power 
to administer oaths and affirmations in the discharge 
of the duties of his office, and may, when authorized 
by the common council, appoint a deputy city clerk, 
who, when so appointed shall possess all the powers 
and authority of city clerk. The city clerk may, in 
addition to his salary, receive such fees as the common 
council may prescribe for filing chattel mortgages and 
making certified copies of the same or for any service 
in connection with his office not in this act specified, 
or hereafter required by the common council. 

Section 4. The city treasurer shall receive, and 
safely keep until lawfully paid out, all moneys be- 
longing to the city, and keep accurate accounts there- 
of with an accurate account of all disbursements in 
such a manner as the common council direct. He 
shall collect all licenses, duties, commissions and 
moneys due the city, all general and special taxes, 
assessments, which may be lawfully charged, levied 
or assessed upon the real and personal property in this 
city, and chargeable therewith, and exercise the same 
powers and be subject to the same liabilities as trea- 
surers of towns, except when special directions and 
duty imposed by this act. He shall pay all orders 
drawn upon the treasury, by authority of the common 
council, or as may be required under any special pro- 
vision of this act. He shall report to the common coun- 
cil, at the end of each month the actual amount of 
money in the treasury, together with the amount re- 
ceived and paid out. He shall accompany such re- 
ports with all others redeemed and paid by him, which 
said account and orders with any and all other vouch- 
ers held by him, shall be delivered over to the city 
clerk, and filed in his office, after the same shall have 
been examined by the common council. And all such 
orders so presented, when credited to the treasurer, 
shall be cancelled by the common council in such a 
manner as the common council shall direct. He shall 
at the end of his official term, or oftener, as may be 
required by the common council, make a detailed re- 
port of all the transactions of his office, and at the end 
of his term of office shall thereupon deliver over to 
his successor in office all money or property belonging 
to the city, as well as all books, records, papers, or 



118 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



documents, in any way pertaining or belonging to the 
office. The treasurer shall, in addition to the duties 
herein enumerated, do and perform all the duties pro- 
vided to be done and performed by him in any por- 
tion of this act. The fees of the city treasurer shall 
be as follows : For collecting the highway tax he shall 
receive two per cent on the amount collected, for all 
taxes in the general tax roll collected on or before the 
tenth day of January in each year he shall receive one 
per cent, on the amount collected for all taxes collect- 
ed between the tenth day of January and the tenth 
day of February in each year he shall receive two 
per cent, on the amount collected, and for all taxes 
collected after the tenth day of February in each year 
he shall receive three per cent, on the amount collected. 

Section 5. The city marshal shall perform such du- 
ties as shall be prescribed by the common council for 
the preservation of the peace. He shall possess all 
the powers and authority of constables of towns, and 
be subject to the same liabilities. It shall be his duty 
to execute all writs and processes to him directed, and 
when necessary in criminal cases, or for the violation 
of any ordinance of said city, or laws of this state, 
may pursue and serve the same in any part of the 
state. It shall be his duty to suppress all riots, dis- 
turbances and breaches of the peace, and to remove 
all obstructions in the streets and alleys of said city, to 
apprehend with or without warrant, any person in the 
act of committing any offense against any ordinance 
of said city or the laws of this state, and forthwith 
bring such persons before a justice of the peace for 
examination or trial, and for such service he shall re- 
ceive such fees as are allowed by law to constables 
for like services in this state; provided that if said 
city marshal perform any labor by direction of the 
common council or required by law, for which no fees 
are allowed, he shall receive such compensation as 
the common council shall determine. He shall have 
power to appoint one or more deputies, subject to the 
approval of the common council, but for whose official 
acts he shall be responsible and for whom he may re- 
quire bonds for the faithful discharge of their duties. 
Such deputies shall also take and subscribe the pro- 
per oath of office which will be filed in the office of 
the city clerk, and when duly qualified as aforesaid 
such deputies shall possess all the powers and author- 
ities and be subject to the same liabilities as the mar- 
shal. 

Section 6. The supervisors elected under this act 
shall be members of the county board of supervisors, 
and, as such, shall have powers of the chairmen of the 
board of supervisors in the several towns of this 
state, except as qualified by the provisions of this 
act; and in case of any vacancy, in either of the wards, 
in said office, or inability of the supervisors elect to 
act, the senior alderman from such ward shall be and 
act as such supervisor until the vacancy is filled or 
disability removed, and such alderman shall have all 
the powers and discharge all the duties of the office of 
supervisor. 

Section 7, The assessors elected under this act 



shall, in all things pertaining to their offices, be gov- 
erned by the same laws as assessors under the gen- 
eral laws of this state, and their compensation shall 
be established by the common council. 

Section 8. The board of review shall consist of 
the mayor, clerk, assessor and senior alderman from 
each ward. They shall meet on the day fixed by law 
for that purpose, and in all things be governed by the 
general laws of this state. The members of the board 
of review shall receive five dollars each for their serv- 
ices during all the sessions of the board for the year, 
and no more. 

Section 9. Each of the justices of peace provided 
for in this act shall hold a court for trial and de- 
termination of such actions civil and criminal, as they 
have jurisdiction of as justices of the peace under the 
general laws of the state or the provisions of this act. 
All the general laws of the state of Wisconsin, rela- 
tive to the proceedings in justice courts in civil and 
criminal proceedings shall apply to the courts of such 
justices except as otherwise provided in this act. 

Section 10. The justice of the peace of said city 
shall have exclusive original jurisdiction of all crimin- 
al cases arising in said city, to try and determine, or 
commit for trial, as may be, any or all cases, civil or 
criminal, arising under the ordinances, rules or regu- 
lations of said city. All the general provisions of law 
concerning the trial of criminal offenses, and the con- 
ducting of criminal prosecutions, appeals from the 
judgments of the justice, the fees of officers and pro- 
ceedings in which upon trial the justice finds he has 
not final jurisdiction of the case shall govern trials 
under this act. When an act or omission, declared to 
be an offense by the general laws of the state, is also 
made an offense by the provisions of this act or the 
ordinances of the city passed pursuant thereto, a con- 
viction or acquittal in a prosecution under the gener- 
al laws shall be a bar to a prosecution under this act, 
or such ordinances. The persons accused shall have 
the same right to a removal of the case for prejudice 
as provided by the general laws of the state. All fines 
collected on convictions for such acts or omissions 
shall be paid into the city treasury, and become a part 
of the general fund thereof. 

Section 11. The common council shall, annually be- 
fore any highway taxes are expended, appropriate and 
set apart from the whole amount of highway tax le- 
vied such sum or portion as it shall deem necessary, 
not to exceed one-fourth of the amount so levied, to 
be expended by the common council on Fifth Avenue 
and the extension thereof to the city limits east and 
west, and Clermont Street and the extension thereof 
north and south to the city limits, all other boundary 
streets between wards in said city. All highway taxes 
shall be expended in the wards where raised and paid 
except the amount which may be appropriated by the 
common council for the streets above mentioned. The 
city clerk shall deliver to the street commissioner in 
each ward, on or before the first day of June each 
year, a statement of the amount of the highway taxes 
belonging to his ward, and file a duplicate thereof 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



119 



with the city treasurer. The aldermen and street 
commissioner in each ward shall constitute a commit- 
tee for the purpose of laying or expending the high- 
way tax therein. Same committee shall direct the ex- 
penditure of all highway taxes in its ward, and the 
street commissioner shall have charge and control of 
all work so directed and for that purpose shall have 
authority to employ men and teams, and to procure 
such tools as shall be necessary, but the committee 
shall fix and limit th^ wages to be paid, and in all 
cases, and make all purchases of tools or implements 
used or bought. The street commissioner shall pre- 
pare and submit to the aldermen of his ward, a month- 
ly statement of the amount expended by him, show- 
ing the number of days work done by men, the num- 
ber of days team work, the names of the men and 
owners of teams so employed, and all other work 
done. When such statement shall be approved by 
the aldermen of such ward, by indorsing their approv- 
al thereon, the street commissioner shall file the same ' 
and with the city clerk. The city clerk shall issue or- 
ders to all persons named in such statement for the 
amount to which each person named therein shall be 
entitled and when such orders are countersigned by 
the mayor, they shall be delivered to the persons nam- 
ed therein and the amounts charged to the highway 
fund of said ward. 

CHAPTER VIII. 

ORDINANCES. 

Section 1. Ev/ery ordinance of the common council 
shall, before it takes effect, be duly signed by the 
mayor and attested by the city clerk; provided, how- 
ever, that no ordinance shall be in force until it shall 
have reached at least one publication in a newspaper 
published in the city of Antigo, and proof of such pub- 
lication, by the affidavit of the publisher, printer or 
foreman of such newspaper be filed with the city 
clerk; and the ordinance and the proof of publication 
thereof shall be recorded in a book kept for that pur- 
pose. 

Section 2. The style of all ordinances shall be 
"The common council of the city of Antigo do ordain 
as follows," etc. 

Section 3. A printed copy of an ordinance passed 
by the common council and published in a newspaper, 
or in a pamphlet, or book form, purporting to be pub- 
lished by authority of the common council of said 
city, as certified by the clerk prima facie evidence of 
its passage and publication, and shall be received in 
evidence on the trial of all cases cognizable before 
any court in the state. 

CHAPTER IX. 

PROCEDURE FOR VIOLATION OF ORDI- 
NANCES, LAWS, ETC. 

Section 1. The city of Antigo may sue for to re- 
cover any and all penalties, or forfeitures, under the 
charter of said city, or any amendment thereto, or the 
ordinances, by-laws, police or health regulations, made 



in pursuance thereof, in the corporate name of said 
city of Antigo, any general law of the state to the con- 
trary notwithstanding, and such action shall be com- 
menced by complaint, substantially in the following 
form : 

State of Wisconsin, 
City of Antigo, and 
County of Langlade. — SS. 

being duly sworn complains on 

oath, to a justice of the peace 

in said city, that on the 

day of , 18 , violated the 

section of an ordinance, by-law or resolution ( describ- 
ing it by its title and number of section, which said 
is now in force, as this deponent ver- 
ily believes, and prays, that said 

may be arrested, and held to answer to the said city 
of Antigo therefor. Sworn and subscribed to before 

me this day of , 18 It shall 

be sufficient to give the number of the sections or sec- 
tion, and the chapter or title of the ordinance, by-law, 
regulation or resolutions, or of the law violated, in 
such complaint, with the number of section or sections. 
Upon the filing of said complaint with the justice hav- 
ing jurisdiction a warrant shall issue thereon substan- 
tially as follows: 

State of Wisconsin, City of Antigo and County of 

Langlade — SS. 

to 

The State of Wis., the city marshal of said city of 

Antigo, or the sheriff or any constable of said county, 

greeting : 

Where has this day complain- 
ed to me in writing on oath that 

did on the the day of A. D. 18_-_, 

violate the section or sections of an ordi- 
nance, by-law, regulation or law (describing it by its 

chapter or number), which said is 

now in force and effect, as said complainant verily be- 
lieves; therefore, in the name of the state of Wis- 
consin you are hereby commanded to arrest the body 

or the said and him forthwith bring 

before to answer to said city of 

Antigo on the complaint aforesaid. Given under my 
hand this day of , 18 

Section 2. Witnesses and jurors shall attend in 
all city prosecutions without the payment of fees in 
advance, upon process of the court, duly served, and 
in default thereof, their attendance may be enforc- 
ed by attachment in case the jury, after being kept 
a reasonable time, should disagree, they shall be dis- 
charged, and thereupon the court shall adjourn the 
cause to a day certain, and issue a new venire as 
aforesaid. 

Section 3. In city prosecutions the finding of the 
court or jury shall be "guilty" or "not guilty." If 
guilty, the court shall render judgment thereon against 
the defendant for the fine, penalty or forfeiture, and 
where the same is not to exceed a certain sum, and 
not less than a certain other sum, shall fix the amount 
of such fine, penalty or forfeiture as he shall deem 



120 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



best, within the provisions of such ordinance, by-law 
or resolution, for the violation of which the person 
or persons shall have been adjudged guilty, and for 
the costs of suit. If not guilty, the costs, as in ac- 
tions in justices court, shall be taxed against the city, 
but no attorneys' fees shall be taxed for or against 
the defendant in any such suit. Execution shall is- 
sue forthwith upon the rendition of the judgment un- 
less the same be stayed or appealed as hereinafter 
provided, and the fine or penalty imposed by the 
court may be enforced and collected by levy and sale, 
on execution of the property of the defendant, as pro- 
vided by law in civil actions before the justice of 
the peace. 

Section 4. The execution upon the judgment recov- 
ered in any such action, may require that in case 
nothing shall be found from which the amount can 
be collected, the defendant shall be taken and impri- 
soned in the jail of Langlade County, for the term 
not exceeding six months, or in the police station, not 
exceeding three months, unless the judgment be soon- 
er paid and the term of such imprisonment shall be 
inserted in the execution and commitment. And said 
execution and commitment may require the defendant 
to perform hard labor during the term of such im- 
prisonment. In case nothing be found from which the 
amount can be collected, the defendant shall be im- 
prisoned in the jail of Langlade county, or in the po- 
lice station, according to the terms of the execution. 
Such execution may be in the following form: 
State of Wisconsin, 
City of Antigo, 
County of Langlade — SS. 

The state of Wisconsin to the sheriff or any constable 
of said county of Langlade, the city marshal of 
said city, the keeper of the common jail of said 
county, or the keeper of the police station: 

Whereas, the said city of Antigo, on the day 

of , 18 , recovered a judgment 

before the of said against 

for the sum of dollars, 

together with dollars, cost of suit, for 

the violation of (here insert the number of section, 
chapter, the title of the ordinances and offenses, as 
set forth in the complaint). These are, therefore, in 
the name of the state of Wisconsin, to command you 
to levy distress on the goods and chattels of the said 

{excepting such as the laws exempt) 

and make sale thereof according to law in such case 
made and provided, to the amounts of said sums to- 
gether with your fees, and twenty-five cents for the 
execution; and the same return to me within thirty 

days; to be rendered to the said for 

said judgment and costs, and for want of such goods 
and chattels whereon to levy, to take the body of said 

and him convey and deliver unto 

the keeper of the common jail of said county, or to 
the keeper of the police station of the city of Antigo, 
who is hereby commanded to receive and keep the 

in safe custody in said , 

and at hard labor for the term of , 



unless the aforesaid sum and all legal expenses be 
sooner paid and satisfied, or until he be discharged 
thence by due course of law. 

Give under my hand this day of , 

18-—. 



Section 5. All penalties, forfeitures, fines of claim 
due to said city, where or when paid to the magis- 
trate authorized to receive same, shall be paid by him 
to the city treasurer, within one month after the re- 
ceipt thereof, by him. Whenever execution shall be 
issued upon any judgment in favor of the city, the 
same shall be returned by the officer receiving the 
same, to the judge or justice who issued it, on or be- 
fore the return day thereof, and if such officer neglect 
to return same for two days after the return day there- 
of, the judge or justice shall report the fact to the 
city treasurer, who shall cause an action to be brought 
in the name of the city, against the officer and his 
sureties for the default. 

Section 6. Appeals shall be allowed in all said 
cases to the circuit court, and taken in the same man- 
ner as appeals from justices of the peace. The de- 
fendant in all city prosecutions may appeal to the 
circuit court of Langlade County, by filing an affidavit 
and bond, and complying with the requirements of 
appeals shall be taken and perfected within forty- 
eight hours from the time the judgment is rendered 
in the suit. Upon any appeal being taken and allow- 
ed, the judge or justices shall stay all fuither pro- 
ceedings in the case and the defendant, if in custody, 
shall be charged, and the judge or justices shall trans- 
mit the papers in the case so appealed, with a tran- 
script of his docket, and the circuit court within the 
time and in the manner prescribed, in cases appealed 
from the justice of the peace. 

Section 7. The jail fees, and officers fees, if any, 
commitment or prosecution in behalf of the same shall 
be audited and allowed by the common council when 
the same cannot be collected by the defendant, be- 
fore his discharge, and said common council may by 
resolution direct the justice to discharge from the jail 
any person confined for a judgment of said city, but 
such discharge shall not open as a release of the judg- 
ment, unless said common council shall direct in their 
resolution. On filing a certified copy of such resolu- 
tions assisted by the city clerk, the judges or justices 
shall order such defendant discharged from custody 
and make an entry of such discharge on his docket, 
an execution may issue or be renewed by an en- 
dorsement from time to time, before or after the re- 
turn day thereof, and before or after the commitment 
of the defendant; until the judgment is satisfied or re- 
leased; but after the defendant shall have been once 
committed, no execution shall be issued against the 
body of the defendant in the same action. 

FINANCE AND TAXATION. 

Section 1. The fiscal year of the city of Antigo 
shall commence on the second Tuesday of April. 
Section 2. All moneys credited and demands be- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



121 



longing to the city of Antigo shall be kept by and de- 
posited with the city treasurer, and be under control of 
the common council, and shall only be drawn upon 
orders signed by the mayor and city clerk, duly 
authorized by a vote of the common council, and in 
no other manner, provided, that the school fund may be 
drawn out as provided by other provisions of this act, 
and all resolutions adopted by the common council 
authorizing the expenditure of moneys, shall appro- 
priately specify the amount to be expended and no 
extra or additional compensation shall be allowed or 
paid on any contract, or on account of any contract, 
or to any contractor, person or persons, for any serv- 
ice or work done, or material furnished to or for the 
city. 

Section 3. No debt shall be contracted against the 
city or certificate of indebtedness be drawn upon the 
city treasurer, unless the same shall be authorized by 
a majority of all the members elect of the common 
council, and the vote authorizing the same shall be 
entered ayes and r.ays, upon the jourra^ o' the com- 
mon council, provided that the common counc'l, shall 
not, in any case, or under any pretext, or any purpose 
whatever, contract debts or liabilities of any kind, 
name or nature, exceeding the amount which it is 
authorized by the provision of this act to levy for the 
recent year. 

Section 4. All forfeitures and pera'tiei accru'n^ 
to the city for violation of this act, or any of the or- 
dinances, by-laws, rules ar.d regu'a'iors of the city, 
passed thereunder, or for any act of onis i^n or com- 
mission forbidden or made punishable by or under 
the general laws of the stats, which act oi omission 
or commission is also forbidden or made punishable 
by any ordinance, by-law or regulation of said city, 
and all moneys received for licenses an insurance per- 
centage, and from all other sources for the city, shall 
be paid into the city treasury and become a part of 
the general fund, and all moneys received for tuition 
of scholars under this act, shall be paid into the 
treasury, and become part of the school fund. 

Section 5. All orders drawn upon the treasury of 
the city shall be made payable to the order of the 
person in whose favor they may be drawn and shall 
be transferred only by indorsement. Each order shall 
specify upon its face the purpose for which it was 
drawn, and the same shall be payable out of the pro- 
per fund, and all such orders shall be received in pay- 
ment of any municipal tax levied and assessed. 

Section 6. No interest shall be allowed or paid on 
any city clerk order or certificate of indebtedness, un- 
less the same is expressly authorized by the common 
council, by a vote of a majority of all members elect. 

Section 7. All corporations, companies, and as- 
sociations, by their respective underwriters or agents, 
engaged in said city in effecting fire insurance, shall 
account and pay to the city treasurer, the two per 
cent, upon the amount of all premiums which shall 
be received or agreed to be paid for insurance, at the 
times and in the manner and form prescribed or pro- 



vided for by section 19-6 revised statutes. 

Section 8. Real estate exempt by the laws of the 
state from general taxation, shall be subject to spe- 
cial taxes for the building of streets, sewers, side- 
walks, repairing and cleaning of sidewalks, removal of 
nuisances, and such other work, walks, and labor, for 
which a special Hen is given, and the making of local 
and general improvements, and all the property of the 
city shall be subject thereto, provided that the pro- 
perty of the city shall be exempt from all taxation, 
except such special tax, when known, and give the 
amount of such tax so levied and assessed upon each 
such lots or part of lots, or lands. On or before the 
f':st day of December of each year, the city clerk 
of said city, shall insert in a separate column in the 
tax list of his city next there after to be delivered to 
the city treasurer of said city for collection and op- 
posite to the description therein of each of said lots, or 
part of lots, or lands, the amount of such special tax 
properly chargeable thereto as appears by the 
aforesaid resolution adopted by the common council, 
and then said special taxes shall be collected or re- 
turned delinquent in the same manner as town, coun- 
ty and state taxes are collected or returned delinquent 
by law, and the lots, or part of lets, or lands, upon 
which such special taxes may be so lev'eJ and assess- 
ed may be sold and conveyed for the non-payment 
thereof, in the same marner and with the same effect 
3.3 if sail special tax had been a ge, era! town, county 
cr state tax. 

Section 9. When it shall be necessary in the opin- 
ion of the common council to repair or reconstruct any 
sidev.a^k the common council ma/ cause such side- 
v. alk to be repaired or reconstructed at the expense 
of the owners of the lot or lots or lands abutting on 
such sidewalk in the same manner as is authorized to 
construct new sidewalk, provided, however, that dan- 
gerous sidewalk shall be in immediately the same 
condition and the cost of repair'ng shall not ex- 
ceed three dollars, the street commissioner abutting 
will notify the owner of the lot or lots of said on 
dangerous sidewalk, if a resident of said city, to re- 
pair such sidewalk, and if such owner shall not at 
once proceed to repair same the street commissioner 
shall at once repair such dangerous sidewalk, and the 
cost of such repairs shall be levied upon and collect- 
ed from the lot or lands abutting on such dangerous 
sidewalk, in the same manner as the cost of construct- 
ing new walks are levied and collected from the lots 
and lands abutting thereon. 

CHAPTER X. 

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS. 

Section 1. All work for the city, including all 
printing and publishing, shall be let by contract to 
the lowest bidder and due notice shall be given of 
time and place of letting such contract and the coun- 
cil shall have the right to reject any bid, when it is 
deemed for the interest of the city to do so. 

Section 2. No penalty or judgment recovered in 
favor of the city shall be remitted -or discharged, ex- 



122 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



cept by a majority of the aldermen elect. 

Section 3. No real or personal property of any in- 
habitant of said city, or of any individual or corpor- 
ation, shall be levied on and sold by virtue of any 
execution issued to satisfy or collect any debt, obli- 
gation or contract of said city. 

Section 4. When the city of Antigo deeds or leases 
any real estate or any interest therein, owned by said 
city, the party of the first part shall be the city of 
Antigo, and the person or persons authorized to exe- 
cute such deed or lease need not be named in the body 
thereof. 

Section 5. The mayor of said city is hereby author- 
ized, when the common council shall, by ordinance or 
resolution, for that purpose, (describing the real es- 
tate and interest to be conveyed) order and direct 
him so to do, to execute a deed or lease of such real 
estate, or interest therein belonging to said city; the 
said deed or lease shall be signed by the mayor of 
said city and countersigned by the city clerk, and 
sealed with the corporate seal of said city, and duly 
witnessed and acknowledged, as is provided by law 
for the execution of deeds and leases. 

Section 6. When any such deed or lease is so exe- 
cuted, the city clerk shall attach to such deed or lease 
a true and attested copy of such ordinance or resolu- 
tion, and the same shall be recorded by the register 
of deeds with the said deed or lease, and such copy, 
so attached and recorded, shall be, in all the courts 
of this state, prima facie evidence of the authority of 
such mayor to make and execute such deed or lease. 

Section 7. When judgment is rendered against any 
person for the violation of any city ordinance, and 
such person shall be committed for the non-payment 
thereof, including his board, shall be added thereto, 
which he shall be required to pay in case of payment 
of said judgment. 

Section 8. The keeper of the common jail of the 
county of Langlade is hereby required to receive and 
keep all persons who shall be arrested by the proper 
officers for the violation of any city ordinance, or 
committed for the non-payment of any judgment, fine 
or penalty. 

Section 9. No member of the common council shall 
be eligible to any other office provided for by this 
act, during the term for which he shall have been 
elected or appointed. No member of the common 
council shall vote upon any question, matter or reso- 
lution in which he may be directly or indirectly inter- 
ested. 

Section 10. No member of the common council 
shall be a party to or interested in any job or con- 
tract with the city, or any department thereof ; and 
any contract in which any such member may be so 
interested shall be null and void. No member of the 
common council shall sign any bond as surety for the 
performance of any contract or agreement with such 
city, or official bond to such city during his term of 
office. 

Section 11. Every license issued by the authority 



of this act, or the ordinances of the city, shall be sign- 
ed by the city clerk and sealed with the corporate 
seal, but no such license shall be issued by said clerk 
until the person applying for the same shall have de- 
posited with the clerk the receipt of the city treasurer 
for the amount to be paid therefor. 

Section 12. Every member of the common council 
of the city of Antigo who shall directly or indirectly 
vote to himself, or knowingly to any other person, any 
sum of money for any other purpose whatever in vio- 
lation of the city charter or any amendment thereto, 
or shall ask or receive any compensation for doing 
any official act, except as inspectors of elections, mem- 
bers of the board of registry, and as members of the 
board of review; any member of the common council 
or other city officer who shall be directly or indirectly 
interested in any contract made with or in behalf of 
the city, and any member of said council or other city 
officer who shall directly or indirectly purchase or be 
interested in the purchase of any city order or city 
indebtedness for less than the full amount thereof, 
shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor in office, and 
may be prosecuted by complaint before any justice of 
the peace in the city, and, upon conviction thereof, 
shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one hundred 
dollars nor less than twenty dollars, or by imprison- 
ment in the county jail not more than thirty days nor 
less than ten days, or both, at the discretion of the 
court. 

Section 13. No action in tort shall lie or be main- 
tained against the city of Antigo, unless a statement 
in writing, signed by the person injured or claiming 
to be injured, of the wrong and circumstances there- 
of, and amount of damages claimed, shall be present- 
ed to the common council within ninety days after the 
occurring or happening of the tort alleged. 

Section 14. Whenever any grave or heinous crime 
shall have been committed in said city against life or 
property, the mayor, with the concurrence of the com- 
mon council, may offer a reward for the arrest and 
conviction of either of the perpetraters of such of- 
fense, provided that such reward shall, in no case, ex- 
ceed one hundred dollars. 

Section 15. The office of mayor, aldermen, and 
school commissioners shall be filled by their incum- 
bents without fee. 

CHAPTER XI. 
STREETS AND HIGHWAYS. 

Section 1. The common council of the city of An- 
tigo shall have the power and authority to lay out, 
alter, widen or discontinue any street or highway with- 
in the limits of said city, that is now or may hereafter 
be conferred on the supervisors of towns in this state, 
and all streets, highways or alleys, within the limits 
of said city hereafter laid out, altered or discontinued 
by the common council of said city, under the provi- 
sions 01 chapter 52 in the revised statutes, and in all 
respects in the same manner as is provided in said 
chapter 52 for the laying out, altering or discontinu- 
ing highways in the towns of this state. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



123 



Section 2. The common council shall have power 
to lay out and open alleys within the limit of said 
city, in the same manner as highways upon petition 
of a majority of the property holders abutting the 
proposed alley, provided that any damages awarded 
to any property holder abutting said alley shall be 
assessed on all property abutting said alley, in equal 
proportion, according to the number of feet fronting on 
said alley. 

CHAPTER XII. 

BOARD OF EDUCATION. 

Section 1. The city of Antigo shall constitute a 
school district, and all matters pertaining to the con- 
trol, management and government thereof shall be 
vested in the board of education, consisting of two 
school commissioners from each ward and one from 
the city at large, which said board shall be a body cor- 
porate, by and under the name of the board of educa- 
tion of the city of Antigo, with power of contracting and 
being contracted with, of suing and being sued, and 
shall have perpetual succession by and under that 
name. 

Section 2. The board of education shall meet at 
the council rooms, in the city of Antigo, on the second 
Tuesday after the charter election, at seven o'clock 
P. M., and at such meeting shall choose one of its 
members president; it shall also elect a secretary of 
the board who may or may not be a member of the 
board, and the secretary shall receive such salary as 
the board may direct, not to exceed fifty dollars per 
annum. 

Section 3. The president of the executive office of 
the board, shall preside at all meetings of the board 
and decide all questions of order subject to appeal 
to the board. He shall countersign all orders drawn 
by the secretary for the payment of teachers and 
janitors' wages, and all other incidental and neces- 
sary expenses of said board of education, and in all 
suits brought by or against the school district, he shall 
appear on behalf of the district, unless some other 
provision is made by the board of education. He 
shall declare all votes taken on questions coming be- 
fore the board, provided, that on all questions requir- 
ing the appropriation of money, or the adoption of 
new text books, the vote shall be taken by ayes and 
nays, and on other questions the ayes and nays shall 
be called when any member shall request it. 

Section 4. The secretary shall attend all meetings 
of the board, keep a true record of all the proceedings 
thereof, take the school census of the city annually, 
assist in grading the schools and visit and report the 
conditions of any school in the city when directed by 
the board, make all reports required by law to be 
made by such board and record same, to safely keep 
and preserve all records of the board and deliver the 
same to his successor in office and do and perform 
any and all other services that may be required of 
him by the board. 

Section 5. The board of education may make all 
necessary rules and regulations for its government 



and proceedings, and, in the absence of the president 
of the board, may elect from its own number a presid- 
ing officer protempore. 

Section 6. The board may meet from time to 
time, and at such place in the city as it may desig- 
nate, and a majority of the commissioners shall al- 
ways be required to constitute a quorum. 

Section 7. The clerk of the board shall keep a rec- 
ord of the proceedings of the board, in a book to be 
provided for that purpose, and shall record copies of 
all official reports made by the board, or the superin- 
tendent of schools. He shall also, under the direction 
of the board, take the annual enumeration of scholars 
residing in the city at the time prescribed by law, and 
shall keep and preserve all books, records, papers, 
or other property belonging to his office and deliver 
the same to his successor in office. 

Section 8. The board of education shall have pow- 
er : 

1. To organize and establish such and so many 
schools in the city and in the several wards as it 
may deem necessary and required for the public 
good, and alter or discontinue the same at pleasure. 

2. To have the custody and safe keeping of the 
school buildings and lots, the books, furniture, 
school supplies, apparatus, and appendages, and all 
the property belonging to the schools. 

3. To contract with, and employ in behalf of 
the city, all teachers in the schools of said city, un- 
der the direction of said board, and who shall have 
been licensed, and at the pleasure remove them. 

4. To hire buildings suitable for school houses, 
and lease sites for the same, and to purchase neces- 
sary fixtures, furniture and apparatus for the schools 
of the city, but only with the coasent of the com- 
mon council as hereinafter provided. 

Section 9. It shall be the duty of the board of edu- 
cation, before the commencement of the school year, 
annually to determine in the amount of salaries or 
wages to be paid to the teachers in the several schools 
and grades respectively, for the year then next ensu- 
ing, and report the same to the common council for 
its action. 

Section 10. The comm.on council shall consider the 
report or reports so made, and shall act thereon, and 
by resolution fix the salaries or wages to be paid to 
the teachers of the several schools respectively, ac- 
cording to grades, which resolution shall be certified 
by the city clerk, to the board of education, and 
thereafter such board shall not contract for the pay- 
ment of any salary or wages greater than the sum fix- 
ed in said resolution except by special order of the 
common council. 

Section 11. The board of education shall also, an- 
nually, before the close of the school year, make esti- 
mates of the expenses for necessary repairs to school 
buildings, furniture, apparatus, schoolroom fixtures, 
incidentals, fuel, cleaning and care of rooms, and rent 
of buildings necessary to be incurred the next ensuing 
year, and file the same with the city clerk. 

Section 12. The board of education shall, from time 



124 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



to time, make such rules and regulations for the gov- 
ernment and organization of schools, for the reception 
and instruction of pupils, and their transfer from 
school to school, and for the promotion and good or- 
der and discipline in schools, as to it shall seem ex- 
pedient, and also for the care and management of the 
several schoolrooms, fixtures, furniture, and apparatus, 
and shall establish the text books to be used therein. 

Section 13. The board of education shall have povif- 
er to allow the children of persons not resident of said 
city to attend any of the schools therein, upon such 
terms as the board shall, by resolution, prescribe, fix- 
ing the tuition therefor; provided, that no such pupil 
shall be received, under or until he or she shall have 
paid into the city treasury in advance for the current 
term the amount of tuition fixed by said board to be 
paid therefor. 

Section 14. It shall be the duty of the board of 
education to report to the common council on the first 
Monday of August in each year, the condition of the 
several schools in said city, the average number of 
pupils in attendance, the names and rate of compensa- 
tion of the several teachers, the cost of supporting each 
and all of said schools, since its previous report, and 
also to do and perform all other duties that may be 
required by any general law of this state, to entitle the 
schools of said city to participate in, and enjoy the 
benefit of school money, or school fund, apportioned 
among the schools of the state. 

Section 15. Teachers' wages, and all moneys due 
upon the contract under this chapter, shall be audited 
by the board of education and paid by an order of the 
treasury signed by the president of the board and the 
secretary, and specifying on its face the purpose for 
which it was drawn. 

Section 16. All the supplies on the several school 
houses, and schools, exceeding $50.00 shall be furnish- 
ed by contract let to the lowest bidder, by the board 
of education, subject to approval of the common coun- 
cil. 

Section 17. No member of the board of education 
shall have any interest, directly or indirectly, in any 
contract made by said board, and every contract so 
made in which any member of said board shall have 
such interest shall be absolutely void. 

Section 18. The title of the school houses, sites, 
furniture, apparatus and appurtenances, and all other 
property herein mentioned, shall be vested in the city 
of Antigo, and the said city may accept, hold and dis- 
pose of any real or personal estate transferred to it 
by gift, grant, bequest or devise, for the use of the 
schools of said city, whether the same shall be trans- 
ferred in terms to said city by its proper style, or by 
other designation, or to any person or persons or body 
for the use of said schools. 

Section 19. No member of the board of education 
shall receive any compensation whatever for services 
rendered as a member of said board, or for services 
rendered on any committee of said board, under any 
pretext whatever, except when a member of said 
board shall be elected secretary thereof he may re- 



ceive such salary as is herein provided for said secre- 
tary. 

CHAPTER XIII. 
FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

Section 1. The common council, for the purpose of 
guarding against the calamities of fire, shall have the 
power to prescribe the limits within which wooden 
buildings, or buildings of other materials that shall not 
be considered fireproof, shall not be erected or re- 
paired and to direct that all and every building with- 
in the limits prescribed shall be made and construct- 
ed of such fireproof materials, to prohibit the repair- 
ing or rebuilding of wooden buildings within the fire 
limits where the same shall have been damaged to the 
extent of fifty per cent of the value thereof, and to 
prescribe the manner of ascertaining such damages 
and to prescribe the penalties for the violation of any 
resolution or ordinances passed under this section. 

Section 2. The common council shall have power to 
prevent the dangerous construction and condition of 
chimneys, fireplaces, hearths, stoves, stovepipes, ovens, 
boilers, and apparatus used in and about any building, 
and to cause the same to be removed or placed in a 
safe and secure condition when considered dangerous, 
to prevent the deposit of ashes in unsafe places, to re- 
quire the inhabitants to provide as many fire buckets, 
and in such manner and time as it shall prescribe and 
to regulate the use of them in case of fire, to regulate 
and prevent the carrying on of manufacture danger- 
ous in causing or promoting fires, to regulate and pre- 
vent the use of fireworks and firearms, to compel the 
owners and occupants of buildings to have scuttles in 
the roofs, and stairs on inside leading to same. To 
authorize the mayor, aldermen, fire wardens and other 
officers of the city to keep away from the vicinity of 
the fire all idle and suspected persons, and compel all 
bystanders to aid in the extinguishing of fires, and in 
the preservation of property exposed to danger there- 
at, and generally to establish such regulations for the 
prevention and extinguishment of fires as the common 
council may deem expedient and to provide penalties 
for the violation of any resolution ordinance passed 
under this section. 

Section 3. The common council shall have full 
power to purchase fire engines and other fire appara- 
tus and to authorize the formation of fire engine, hook 
and ladder and hose companies, and to provide for the 
due and proper support and regulation of the same, 
and to order such companies to be disbanded, and 
their meetings to be published and their apparatus to 
be delivered up. Each company shall not exceed for- 
ty able-bodied men, between the ages of eighteen and 
fifty years, and may elect its own officers and form 
their own units not inconsistent with the laws of this 
state or the ordinances and regulations of said city, 
and shall be formed only by volunteer enlistments. 
Every member of said companies hereby authorized 
to be formed shall be exempt from highway work, 
and the poll tax, and from serving on juries and mili- 
tary duty, except in cases of wars, insurrection or in- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



125 



vasion, during the continuance of such membership, 
and any person having served for the term of seven 
years, in either of such companies, shall be forever 
thereafter exempt from poll tax and military and jury 
duty, except as in case before mentioned. 

Section 4. The mayor shall appoint two fire war- 
dens for each ward subject to confirmation by the 
common council, who shall perform such duties as the 
common council may prescribe, and they may at any 
time enter into any building, house, store, barn or en- 
closure, for the purpose of inspecting same. 

Section 5. When any person shall refuse to obey 
the lawful order of any engineer, fire warden or alder- 
man of the city, or the mayor of the city, or marshal, 
at any fire, it shall be lawful for the officer giving 
such order to arrest, or direct orally the city marshal, 
constable, or watchman or any citizen to arrest such 
person and to confine him temporarily in any safe 
place until such fire shall be extinguished and in the 
same manner such officers or any of them may arrest 
or direct the arrest and confinement of any person at 
such fires who shall be intoxicated or disorderly and 
any such person who shall refuse arrest or aid in ar- 
resting any person, shall be liable to such penalty as 
the common council may prescribe, not exceeding 
twenty dollars. 

Section 6. The common council shall have power 
to organize a sack company or to countenance any such 
company now organized, which shall be known by 
such name as it may select, and shall consist of not 
more than thirty members. Such company shall con- 
stitute a part of the engineers. The members of said 
company, either collectively or individually, are here- 
by authorized and empowered to act as a special po- 
lice in and for the city of Antigo, and are hereby vest- 
ed with all the power and authority which now is or 
may hereafter be vested in any other police officer of 
said city, and shall be entitled to all the rights and im- 
munities of members of the fire department, except 
exemption from jury duty. At fires, it shall take 
charge of all property which may be exposed or en- 
dangered, and shall as far as may be in its power, pre- 
serve the same from injury or destruction. Such com- 
pany may from time to time adopt such laws as it 
deems necessary, not inconsistent with the laws of 
this state, or the ordinances of said city. The mem- 
bers shall be entitled to any compensation for any 
service rendered in their official capacity. They shall, 
in case of riot or other disturbance of the peace, have 
access to all licensed places of amusement in the 
city, and shall perform such services as may be ne- 
cessary for the peace and good order of the same. 

Section 7. The treasurer of the fire department 
shall receive and pay out all moneys belonging to said 
department and shall secure the faithful performance 
of his duty by his bond to said city in such penal sum 
as shall be required, and with the sureties to be ap- 
proved by the common council. Such moneys shall 
only be paid out on order signed by the chief engineer, 
or acting city engineer, and countersigned by the clerk 
of said department. 



Section 8. There shall be elected by the members 
of each company aforesaid, annually, at their annual 
meeting, a clerk or secretary and a treasurer, who 
shall, on or before the first Monday of May in each 
year, return to the city clerk a list containing the name 
of each member of their respective companies, and 
when any member of eit-Tier of said companies shall 
cease to be a member thereto by resignation, expul- 
sion or otherwise, notice thereof shall be given to 
the city clerk. 

Section 9. The city clerk is hereby required to 
keep a record of the members of the several compan- 
ies organized under this chapter and such record shall 
consist of the returns made by the several clerks or 
secretaries as above provided, and no person shall be 
exempt from jury duty unless the name is entered on 
such list, in case any person shall for any cause, cease 
to be a member of either of said companies, the clerk 
shall note the fact thereon, and shall return to the 
clerk of the board of supervisors of the county of Lang- 
lade a list of all persons who are members of either or 
all said companies exempt from jury duty, on or be- 
fore the day now appointed, or which may hereafter 
be appointed for the annual meetings of said board 
and said board shall not place the names of such per- 
sons on the jury list for the ensuing year. 

Section 10. The officers of the fire department shall 
be a chief engineer, an assistant engineer, a secretary 
and treasurer. The several fire companies shall hold 
at least one annual meeting for the purpose of elect- 
ing department officers, the first meeting to be called 
by the mayor. Each member of the several com- 
panies, in good standing, shall be entitled to a vote in 
the election of department officers, and a majority of 
the votes cast shall elect. The officers so elected shall 
be subject to confirmation by the common council. 

CHAPTER XIV. 

CONSTRUCTION, REPAIR AND RECONSTRUC- 
TION OF SIDEWALKS. 

Section 1. The common council shall have power to 
order the building construction, reconstruction or repair 
of sidewalks in the city of Antigo in such a manner it 
may deem proper provided, however, that when any 
member of the common council, shall offer a resolu- 
tion for the construction of any sidewalk in the city, 
the resolution shall be referred to the proper commit- 
tee and held over until the next regular meeting. Such 
resolution shall describe the street or part of street 
along with and the block opposite where it is pro- 
posed to construct such sidewalk. The city clerk 
shall, within five days after such resolution is intro- 
duced and referred, serve a copy of such resolution on 
each and all of the residents or occupants of lots on the 
street or streets along which it is proposed to build 
such sidewalks. 

Section 2. At its next regular meeting after such 
resolution shall have been so offered and referred, ac- 
tion shall be had by the common council thereon, and 
if such resolution be adopted by the common council, 
an order shall be entered among its records requiring 



126 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



a sidewalk to be constructed along such street or part 
of street or lands described in said resolution. The 
common council in such order, shall designate and de- 
termine the street or part of street along which such 
sidewalk shall be constructed, and the time within 
which the owner or owners of the property along such 
streets shall build the same. If the owner or owners 
of any such lot or lots or such lands shall fail to so 
construct such sidewalks opposite the lot or lots, or 
lands so owned by him or them within the time limited 
in said order, the city shall construct such part thereof 
as such owner or owners have so failed to construct and 
charge the cost thereof to the lot or lots, or lands, op- 
posite which the city shall have so constructed such 
sidewalk. 

Section 3. Within three days after said order shall 
have been entered as aforesaid the city marshal of 
said city shall serve a copy of such order upon the resi- 
dents or occupants of the lots or lands opposite which 
such sidewalk is to be constructed personally or by 
leaving a true copy thereof at the usual place or abode 
of such owner or occupants in said city. In case any 
owner or owners of any such lot or lots, or such lands, 
shall not reside thereon, or in the city of Antigo, or his 
or their name shall be unknown to the city marshal, 
then such order shall be served on such non-resident 
or unknown owner or owners, by publishing the same 
in some newspaper published in said city, at least 
once and at least ten days before the expiration of the 
time limited in said order for the construction of such 
sidewalk. As soon as the city marshal shall have 
completed the service of said order as herein provided, 
he shall make and file with the city clerk his return 
service, in which he shall state the time, place and 
manner of service thereof, and in case the order shall 
have been published, as hereinafter provided, he shall 
attach to his return, and file therewith the affidavits 
of the publication thereof in the usual form, subscrib- 
ed and sworn to by the printer or publisher of the 
newspaper in which such order shall have been so 
published. 

Section 4. At any time after such order shall have 
been so entered by the common council as hereinbe- 
fore provided, and within the time therein limited, 
therefor, the owner or owners of the lots or lands op- 
posite which such sidewalk is to be constructed may, 
at his or their own expense, and in the manner and 
of the width and material designated in such order, 
construct such sidewalk opposite the said lots, or lands 
owned by them respectively. 

Section 5. Within the three days after the expira- 
tion of the time limited in such order for constructing 
said sidewalk, the street commissioner of the ward in 
which said sidewalk is ordered to be built, shall ex- 
amine the street, part of the street or block, along said 
sidewalk shall have been ordered to be so constructed, 
and within said three days shall make and file with the 
city clerk a report in writing, signed by him, as to the 
construction of the same. He shall state in such re- 
port what part of said side walk, if any, has been and 
what part, if any, has not been constructed in con- 
formity with such order, and shall describe the lots or 



part of lots, or lands, if any opposite within the side- 
walk has been so constructed as well as the lots or 
part of lots, or lands, if any, along which said side- 
walk has not been so constructed. 

Section 6. If it shall appear, by such report of the 
street commissioner that any part of such sidewalk has 
not been constructed in conformity with the order 
aforesaid, the common council shall at its next regular 
meeting after such report shall have been made and 
filed, direct the street commissioner to proceed at once 
to construct, in conformity with said order, such part 
of said sidewalk as said report shows has not been con- 
structed, and the said street commissioner shall there- 
upon proceed at once so to construct such part of side- 
walk. 

Section 7. Immediately upon completion of his work, 
the street commissioner shall make and file with the 
clerk a statement in writing, subscribed and sworn to 
by him, in which he shall state the total expense actual- 
ly incurred by him in so constructing that part of such 
sidewalk in front of each lot, or lots or land, opposite 
which it appears by his report, the owner or owners 
of such lot or lots, or land has failed as aforesaid to 
construct sidewalk. 

Section 8. At its next regular meeting after such 
statement shall have been so filed, the common coun- 
cil shall by resolution levy and assess upon each lot or 
part of lot, lands, opposite which any sidewalk or part 
of sidewalk shall have been constructed, by said street 
commissioner as appears by his said statement, a spe- 
cial tax sufficient to pay actual expense incurred in so 
constructing the same as appears by said statement, 
and said resolution shall describe each such lots or 
part of lots, or lands, state the names cl the owners 
thereof, and compensation of salary for any services. 

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS. 
(Concluded) 

Section 16. All city or ward officers, at the ex- 
piration of their own term of office, or upon their resig- 
nation, removal or vacation from office, shall imme- 
diately deliver to their successor in office all property, 
moneys, books, papers, and effects of every descrip- 
tion in their possession belonging to the office they 
may have held. Any person who may have held an 
office neglecting or refusing so to do for twenty-four 
hours after the presentment, by his successor, of the 
city clerk's certificate of his successor's election or ap- 
pointment and qualifications to the office shall forfeit 
and pay to the use of said city twenty-four hours re- 
fusal, the sum of one hundred dollars and all damages 
and costs incurred, either by the said city or his suc- 
cessor by reason of such neglect or refusal. 

Section 17. The common council of the city of 
Antigo, or a committee thereof to be appointed there- 
by for the purpose shall meet with the board of su- 
pervisors, of the town of Antigo, at the common coun- 
cil rooms in the city of Antigo, upon six days notice 
given by either party to the other, by service thereof 
on the town or city clerk, for the purpose of appro- 
priating and dividing the credits and indebtedness of 
the town of Antigo, as the same shall be found to be on 
the first Tuesday of April, 1885. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



127 



Section 18. All the credits and liabilities of the 
town of Antigo, as they shall be found to exist on the 
first Tuesday of April, 1885, shall be apportioned to 
the city and town of Antigo on the basis of the last 
assessment of said town. 

Section 19. A certified copy of such apportion- 
ment signed by said town board and said common 
council shall be filed in the office of the town clerk of 
the town of Antigo, in the office of the city clerk of 
the city of Antigo, in the county of Langlade, in the 
county clerk's office and in the county treasury offices 
and the proportion of the indebtedness due from Lang- 
lade county to the town of Antigo, which shall be ap- 
portioned to the city of Antigo, shall be paid to the 
treasurer of said city, and become part of the general 
fund thereof. 

Section 20. The city clerk of the city of Antigo 
shall insert and levy in the tax roll of said city, for 
the year 1885, the amount of the indebtedness of the 
town of Antigo, which shall be apportioned to said 
city and the treasurer of said city and the treasurer of 
the town of Antigo, take the receipt therefore, and file 
the same in the office of the city clerk, and thereupon 
and thereafter the city of Antigo shall stand released 
of and from any and all liabilities of said town of 
Antigo. 

Section 21. This act shall take effect and be in 
force from and after its passage and publication. 

Approved March 14, 1885. 

GENERAL CITY CHARTER ADOPTED. 

June 27, 1905, the patent of the general city charter 
which was then adopted by the city of Antigo was re- 
ceived by the city from the Secretary of State. It 
brought a number of important changes in city govern- 
ment. The Board of Public Works became a more 
important body. All public work or city improve- 
ment jobs exceeding $200 in value were placed under 
the direction of this board. The power of eminent 
domain was greatly extended by the general charter 
and its operation much more complete. Six years be- 
fore the adoption of the general charter, in 1899, the 
ordinances of the city of Antigo were ably revised by 
the then City Attorney Max Hoffman and were pub- 
lished in book form. No revision followed until when 
on August 2, 1905, the city council directed the City 
Clerk, A. M. Arveson and City Attorney, E. A. Morse, 
to re-write and revise the ordinances and have them 
issued in book form. They at once complied with the 
directions of the city council and on March 22, 1906, 
the revised ordinances were published. Since the re- 
vision of 1906, 103 ordinances have been passed by the 
law making body of the city of Antigo. 

PRESENT CITY WARD BOUNDARIES. 
Chapter 1 of the general ordinances of the city of 



Antigo as revised, consolidated and amended give the 
boundaries of the city to-date correct as follows, with 
the exception of eighty acres of land attached to the 
city at the time the Langlade Lumber Company was 
established. 

Section 1. — All that district of territory in the coun- 
ty of Langlade hereinafter described, shall be a city by 
the name of Antigo, and the people now inhabiting, and 
those who shall inhabit said district, shall be a munici- 
pal corporation by the name of Antigo, and shall have 
the powers hereafter specifically granted, and the au- 
thorities thereof shall have perpetual succession, and 
shall be capable of contracting and being contracted 
with, suing and being sued, pleading and being im- 
pleaded, in all courts of law and equity, and shall have 
a common seal, and may change and alter the same at 
pleasure. 

Section 2. — All that district of country included in 
the south half of section nineteen, south half of sec- 
tion twenty, all of section thirty, all of section twenty- 
nine, north half of section thirty-one, except that part 
of the east half of the north-east quarter lying south 
of the north bank of Spring Brook, and the mill pond, 
and the north half of section thirty-two, all in town- 
ship thirty-one north, range eleven east, in Langlade 
County, Wisconsin, shall comprise and constitute the 
city of Antigo. 

Section 3. — The city of Antigo shall be divided into 
six wards as follows : All the territory lying north of 
the center line of Fifth Avenue, extended to the east 
city limits, and east of the center line of Superior 
Street and Neva Road continued northeasterly as now 
used and traveled, to the north limits of the city, shall 
constitute the First Ward. All the territory lying 
north of the center of Fifth Avenue, west of Superior 
Street and Neva Road continued northeasterly as now 
used and traveled, and east of the main track of the 
Chicago & Northwestern Railway company, shall com- 
prise the Second Ward. All the territory lying west 
of the main track of the Chicago & Northwestern rail- 
way company, and north of the center line of Fifth 
Avenue, extended to the western city limits, shall con- 
stitute the Third Ward. All the territory lying south 
of the center of Fifth Avenue, and west of the main 
track of the Chicago & Northwestern Railway com- 
pany, shall constitute the Fourth Ward. All the ter- 
ritory lying east of the main track of the Chicago & 
Northwestern Railway company, south of the center 
of Fifth Avenue, and west of the center of Superior 
Street, continued to the southern limits of the city, 
shall constitute the Fifth Ward. All the territory ly- 
ing east of the center of Superior Street continued to 
the southern limits of the city, and south of the center 
of Fifth Avenue, continued to the eastern city limits, 
shall constitute the Sixth Ward. 



128 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



u 



CHAPTER XXV. 
City Administrations— 1885-1922 

Mayor Thomas W. Lynch — Mayor Munson M. Ross — Mayor Daniel W. Keen — Thomas W. 
Lynch's Second Administration — Mayor J. F. Doyle — Mayor I. D. Steffen — Mayor Cassius F. 
Smith — Mayor J. F. Doyle's Second Administration — Mayor J. F. Albers — Mayor George W. 
Hill— Mayor R. H. McMullen— Mayor John F. Dailey— Mayor I. D. Steffen's Second Adminis- 
tration — R. H. McMullen's Second Administration — Mayor Thomas W. Hogan — Mayor Fred 
Hayssen — George W. Hill's Second Administration — Fred Hayssen's Second Term — Burt W. 
Rynder's Administration — George W. Hill's Last Term — Mayor Leonard Freiburger — The Ad- 
ministration of Dr. I. D. Steffen — Government by Commission Adopted — C. Fred Calhoun's Ad- 
ministration — The Administration of John Benishek — The Present Administration of Mayor 
Charles J. Hanzel. 



A review of the administrations of the Mayors of 
Antigo is the most feasible way to cover municipal ac- 
tivities in a span of years from 1885 to 1922. This 
review of Antigo, as a city, commences with the ad- 
ministration of Thomas W. Lynch, the first Mayor, who 
was elected on April 7, 1885. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF THOMAS W. LYNCH 
—1885-1886. 

Thomas W. Lynch, a Democrat, lawyer and resi- 
dent of the village of Antigo two years before its in- 




THOM.^S W. LYNCH 
First Mayor of .\ntigo — 188.5-86. 

corporation as a city, was elected first Mayor of Anti- 
go, April 7, 1885, with practically no opposition, pur- 
suant to the provisions of Chapter 79, Wisconsin laws 
of 1885. The first meeting of the Aldermen elected 
from the four wards and the Mayor was held at Spen- 



cer's Hall, the site of the Hill Building, Fifth Avenue, 
April 13, 1885. The city of Antigo was formally 
created then. 

George Clithero, Alderman from the Second Ward 
was elected President of the first city council, on 
the second ballot. He defeated D. W. Keen and P. 
J. Koelzer. 

The first ordinance passed prescribed the width of 
board sidewalks and the manner in which they should 
be constructed. This ordinance was passed April 16, 
1885. 

April 13, 1885, a poll tax of $1.50 was made upon 
every male inhabitant in the city of Antigo between 
the ages of 21 and 50 years, the said fund to go into 
the street improvement fund. 

The salary of City Marshal was fixed at $50 and 
W. L. Crocker was chosen first marshal on April 14, 
1885. The salary of the city clerk was fixed at $250. 

May 1, 1885, the city awarded to Messrs. Wood & 
George the contract for pulling stumps from the prin- 
cipal Antigo streets for $84, the work to be completed 
in June, 1885. 

Mayor Thomas W. Lynch issued the first public pro- 
clamation ever issued by an Antigo Mayor on August 
6, 1885 in which he said: 

TO THE CITIZENS OF ANTIGO : 

"On the 8th of August will occur the funeral of 
America's great chieftain. General U. S. Grant. An 
event of equal universal regret has not occurred in our 
day, nor is likely to happen again. The preparations 
being made throughout this great country, to pay the 
final tribute to our world renowned fellow citizen, but 
feebly speaks the affections of the people for the de- 
ceased. Nor is the regret confined to this country; it 
prevails throughout the world co-existence with his 
fame; from the humblest village to the grandest metro- 
polis, from the farm to the cabinet, the people are pre- 
paring to observe the obsequies of General Grant. It 
is to meet therefore, that our young city should join in 
the National event with appropriate ceremonies. 

I therefore request that all business be suspended 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



129 



and all business houses close from twelve o'clock noon 
to four in the afternoon, August 8, 1885, and that the 
citizens meet at the Odd Fellows' Hall at 2 p. m. and 
proceed from there to the Antigo Opera House, where 
appropriate funeral ceremonies will be held. 

The exercises will be given under the auspices of 
the Grand Army of the Republic. All civic societies 
are requested to be present. 
(Signed) 

THOMAS W. LYNCH, 

Mayor of Antigo. 
April 6, 1885. 

Mayor Lynch officially welcomed the Wisconsin 
Press Association to Antigo on August 18, 1885. This 
was the first state-wide gathering of people who every 
visited Antigo. 

September 15, 1885 at a special election the first 
vote was taken in the city of Antigo on the license 
question. The question was whether $500, $350 or 
$200 should be the annual license to be paid. The 
voters declared in favor of a $500 license by a vote of 
42 majority. The total vote was 181 for $500; 19 for 
$350 license; and 120 for $200 license. 

June 7, 1885, the city purchased fire apparatus for 
the volunteer fire department from Bailey & Gleason 
by a vote of 7 to 1. The fire apparatus was accepted 
on July 3, 1885, and a hook and ladder truck was pur- 
chased for $350. 

W. F. White was elected first Antigo City Attorney 
on August 6, 1885. 

Sixteen ordinances were passed during the Ad- 
ministration of Mayor Thomas W. Lynch. The last 
meeting of the common council under his administra- 
tion was held April 12, 1886, when Mayor elect M. M. 
Ross and the new city officers qualified and took the 
oath of office. 

ADMINISTRATION OF MUNSON M. ROSS— 
1886-1887. 

Munson Monroe Ross, the second Mayor of Antigo, 
was elected to the office April 6, 1886, over Geo. W. 
Latta. Mayor-elect Ross lead the Democratic city 
ticket. The election was very exciting the chief con- 
troversies were between the Mayoralty candidates and 
the vote on the license question. The license of sa- 
loons was discontinued in the city by a very large vote. 
Mayor Ross, born August 22, 1853, came to Antigo in 
June, 1881, and permanently located in the village in 
September, 1881. He was elected by a vote of 353 as 
against 200 for Mr. Latta. A^-ril 12, 1886, Mayor 
Ross presided for the first time over the city council. 
D. W. Keen was elected President of the council, Ed. 
McKinney was selected City Marshal, at this first ses- 
sion. George Schintz was elected the second City At- 
torney of Antigo on April 19, 1886. 

In June, 1886, the city purchased a second hand 
steamer for fire fighting purposes from the city of 
Appleton. The apparatus proved very necessary and 
paid for itself in one fire. 

Mayor Ross issued an order closing all "Casino" and 



other club rooms where liquor was sold in violation of 
the city government November 24, 1886. 

In February, 1887, the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & 
Western railroad decided to locate its shops and ma- 
chine factory at Antigo after the Ross administration, 
with the assistance of many public spirited citizens, 
made arrangements for an $8,000 appropriation to pur- 
chase the necessary grounds for the industry. This 
action meant much to Antigo — in fact if not then accom- 
plished, Antigo probably today would not be the im- 
portant railroad center that it is. 

A public subscription was started to raise money to 
purchase the grounds for the railroad property and 
$4,300 was obtained in that way. 




MUXSWN M. ROSS 
Mayor of .'Vntigo — 1886-87 

The contributors were : Hessel & Leykom, C. G. 
Adkins, C. H. Thompson, M. L. Bacon, E. A. Grain, 
H. G. Borgman, G. C. Williams, J. H. Dawley, Herman 
& Becklinger, G. J. Schutz, M. Weix, W. H. Blinn, Irvin 
Gray, Henry Smith, J. L. Jensen, Mark W. 
Waite, James Chadek, J. C. Lewis & Co., S. Neuman, 
T. H. Robbins, W. L. Giffin, F. M. Sherman, W. H. 
Dawley, August Kropp, Louis Wahl, Joseph Hoffman, 
J. W. Wines, John A. Ogden, S. Buerger, Fred C. Mey- 
er, D. Berard, A. C. Clark, H. J. Frick, Johns & Kel- 
logg, J. Brennan, Nicholas Boll, J. E. Mullowney, Ben 
Spencer, Henry Berner, Sr., John Doersch, Gus Ulrich, 
Silbar Sf Goldberg, Robinson & McDonald, Thomas W. 
Lynch, R. Otto, H. V. Mills, W. S. Morgan, F. Manthey, 
P. J. Koelzer, W. F. Bowman, M. J. Lower, S. E. Les- 
lie, George L. Schintz, John E. Martin, Niels Anderson, 
L. K. Strong, Charles Teipner, A. Logan, W. H. Stacy, 
Leutsker & Wilterding, Frank Wanninger, R. H. Mc- 
Mullen, L. Mendlik, W. E. Jones, P. J. Millard, J. H. 
Trever, C. M. Beattie, Con Donohue, Dennis McGuire, 
Louis Novotny, A. H. Morris, H. L. Ferguson, W. F. 
White, J. F. Doyle, E. N. Mellor, Fred Herman, C. F. 
Smith, Gates Saxton, H. A. Kohl, G. W. Latta, W. J. 



130 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Zahl, T. D. Kellogg, D. W. Keen, Edward Daskam, H. 
C. Humphrey, R. L. Webster, A. D. Rice, Fred Hay- 
ssen and Philip Wessa. 

Mayor Ross was an efficient Mayor. When elected 
he was at Sheboygan, Wisconsin, but took charge of 
city affairs with vigor upon his return. His adminis- 
tration was handicapped due to the lack of funds, how- 
ever. Nevertheless during his term of office consid- 
erable street improvements were made and the city in 
general made good progress. 

Mayor Ross was succeeded in office by Daniel W. 
Keen, who was the first Mayor to be elected under the 
city charter after its first revision. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF DANIEL W. KEEN— 
1887-1888. 

Daniel W. Keen, former Alderman and public spirit- 
ed citizen, was the first Mayor elected after the first 
revision of the original city charter. He defeated 
Charles S. Leykom, who was nominated at a meet- 




DANIEL W. KEEX 

Mayor of Antigo — 1887-88. 

ing held at the headquarters of trie Antigo Business 
Men's Association on April 15, 1887. The Business 
Men's Association and those affiliated with it were "for 
economical and conservative government and for the 
election of men who will faithfully discharge the du- 
ties devolving upon them." Mr. Keen lead the Union 
Tax Payer's ticket, in opposition to the Business Men's 
Citizen's Ticket. 

Mayor Keen presided at the first council meeting un- 
der his administration on May 9, 1887. Alderman L. 
Mendlick was elected President of the city council. 

The first ordinance passed under the Keen adminis- 
tration was one granting L. K. Strong and his asso- 
ciates the privilege of erecting, operating and main- 
taining a system of electric lighting in Antigo. 

A municipal well was authorized constructed in June, 
1887. This well was located at the intersection of 



Fifth Avenue and Daskam (Morse) Street and B. P. 
Hopkins of New London, Wisconsin, secured the con- 
tract to dig the well, the first municipal one in Antigo. 

Upon petition of many citizens an ordinance was 
passed May 17, 1887 discontinuing the following 
streets in Antigo. Commencing at the southeast 
corner of Pacific street, running thence northerly along 
the west line of the right-of-way of the Milwaukee, 
Lake Shore & Western railroad to a point in the north 
line of lot nine (9) in block forty-one (41), extended 
thence westerly on the line of lot 9, extended twenty- 
two feet, thence southerly to the place of beginning. 
Also the east twenty-two feet of Pacific street from the 
north line of said lot 9 extended to Fifth Avenue, the 
easterly twenty-two feet of all that part of Reed Street 
lying between Fifth and Fourth Avenues, the east 
twenty-two feet of that part of Reed Street between 
Fourth and Third Avenues; all of Reed Street lying 
between Tliird Avenue and the north line of First Ave- 
nue; all that part of First Avenue between the westerly 
line of lot 1, block 2, extended northerly to the north 
line of said First Avenue and the east boundary of lot 
4, of block 1, extended north to the north line of said 
First Avenue; all that part of Second Avenue lying 
between the west line of lot 1, block 12, extending 
northerly to the west line of lot 10, block 2, and the 
east boundary line of lot 4, block 11, extended norther- 
ly to the east line of lot 15, block 1 ; all that part of the 
alley lying between blocks 9 and 10, block 1 and lying 
between lots 9 and 10, block 11. 

These streets and alleys were discontinued to make 
room for the extensive improvements of the Milwau- 
kee, Lake Shore St Western railroad. 

In 1887 the common council passed an ordinance 
exempting all manufacturing plants from taxation for 
a period of five years, that would locate in the city of 
Antigo and would quarantee steady employment to at 
least twenty men. 

Mayor Keen served until the election in April, 1888, 
when Thomas W. Lynch, Antigo's first Mayor, was 
elected. He was nominated by a coalition of Demo- 
crats and Republicans. He defeated W. E. Jones and 
W. B. Badger. The latter was the Prohibition candi- 
date. 

THE SECOND ADMINISTRATION OF THOMAS 
W. LYNCH— 1888-1889. 

Thomas W. Lynch began his second administration 
of Antigo municipal affairs on April 9, 1888. Mayor 
Lynch delivered his message to the new city council 
and made many specific recommendations regarding 
important city questions. He said among other things : 
"We have agreed to assume the trust of administering 
the affairs of the city for the coming year. In per- 
forming that trust the welfare and best interest of the 
city, present and future, should be our sole aim. Public 
money is just as sacred as private money. Between 
necessary and unnecessary expenses we should use the 
judgment that any prudent business man would use in 
his own business." 

April 9, 1888, W. H. Dawley was elected President 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



131 



of the city council, defeating J. A. Thursby. 

Saloon licenses were granted for the first time since 
the first administration of Mayor Lynch. 

Ed. McKenna was appointed Marshal of Antigo by 
Mayor Lynch after the various municipal committees 
were appointed. 

The Wisconsin Press Association made its second 
visit to Antigo on July 25, 1888 and a public reception 
was given the editors. Mayor Lynch delivered the 
address of welcome. Among the visitors were Editor 
W. D. Hoard of Ft. Atkinson and John Hicks, Presi- 
dent of the Association. Mayor Lynch, P. J. Millard, 
A. B. Millard, J. C. Lewis, W. H. Dawley, J. A. Ogden, 
G. W. Latta and H. G. Borgman, accompanied the edi- 
tors from Antigo to Rhinelander. 

Applications for sidewalks (plank) were granted at 
every meeting of the city council during this admin- 
istration. 

In 1889 the matter of making certain amendments to 
the city charter was taken up by the Mayor and the 
city council. 

The Sixth Ward was created as a result of revision 
of the charter and the boundary of the city was ex- 
tended one half mile each way. 

The Lynch administration of 1888-89 was less mo- 
mentous than that of 1885-86 when that citizen who 
played such an important part in Antigo municipal af- 
fairs first piloted the municipal ship. Mayor Lynch 
was succeeded by Dr. J. F. Doyle. The proposed 
amendments to the city charter were endorsed by the 
electorate. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR J. F. DOYLE 
—1889-90. 

The first meeting of the city council under the Doyle 
administration was held on Monday, April 8, 1889. 
Mayor Doyle made some important suggestions to the 
Aldermen of the various wards, his address following 
the farewell speech of the outgoing Mayor Thomas W. 
Lynch. 

One of the important achievements of this adminis- 
tration was the appointment of a committee, consisting 
of the Mayor, W. H. Dawley and H. C. Humphrey to 
investigate the matter of water works for the city of 
Antigo. This was not the first time the water works 
question was brought to the attention of the city, but 
this was the first practical step toward the solution 
of the problem. 

June 28, 1889, a mass meeting was held at the city 
council rooms for the purpose of discussing the water 
question. H. G. Borgman and W. B. Johns were ap- 
pointed to look over city water works in other cities. 

H. C. Humphrey, J. H. Trever and Hon. Thomas W. 
Lynch were selected to represent the city of Antigo to 
confer with officials of the M. L. S. & W. R. R. Co. re- 
garding alleged rumors that the Antigo shops would be 
moved to Kaukauna, Wis. The committee reported 
that the company had made no such plans and inti- 
mated that Antigo would ultimately be the point where 
the Lake Shore system would have its largest shops. 

During the administration of Mayor Doyle, the city 



adopted the report of a committee on schools and 
authorized the expenditure of "not more than $20,000 
for the erection of a high school in block 63." 

The first ordinance making it necessary for transient 
merchants to pay a municipal license was passed by 
the city council in October, 1889. 

The first arc lights were installed in Antigo on the 
principal streets during the Doyle administration by 
the Antigo Edison Electric Light Company. 

The polling places for the municipal election of 1890 
were fixed as follows : First Ward — Teipner's sample 




DR. J. I'. DOYLE 
Mayor of Antigo — ) 880-00 

room; Second Ward — The Council Rooms; Third Ward 
— The school house; Fourth Ward — School house; 
Fifth Ward — Ratskey building, near Larzelere Livery; 
Sixth Ward — Freiburger's Shop, near bridge. 

Mayor Doyle was succeeded by Dr. I. D. Steffen, 
who was elected April 1, 1890. Dr. Steffen defeated 
G. W. Latta. The city council under Mayor Doyle as- 
sembled for the last time on April 8, 1890, completed 
its work and turned over the city's destiny to the new 
Mayor and the new council. Dr. J. F. Doyle, the re- 
tiring Mayor and Dr. I. D. Steffen, Mayor-elect, de- 
livered appropriate addresses. 

THE FIRST ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR I. D. 
STEFFEN- 1890-91. 

April 8, 1890, the first meeting of the new city coun- 
cil under Mayor I. D. Steffen was called to order by the 
new chief executive. W. H. Dawley was selected 
President of the council for the year, T. H. Robbins 
was elected City Marshal, H. A. Mills was chosen 
Deputy City Marshal, the retiring Mayor, Dr. J. F. 
Doyle was chosen as City Physician and F. J. Finu- 
cane was elected City Attorney at this meeting. 

The subject of water works, which had been con- 
stantly before the Doyle administration was one of the 
problems with which the Steffen administration had to 
cope. 

April 16, 1890, the city council thoroughly considered 
the question of water works for the growing city of 



132 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Antigo. The rental system was decided to be the 
most feasible system to adopt. April 30, 1890, the 
proposals for the erection of a plant were opened by 
the city council and a committee was selected by May- 
or Steffen to report May 2, 1890. The result was that 
a special election was authorized to be held May 31, 
1890, at which time the voters decided by a vote of 
621 to 39 to permit a tax levy of $4,000 per year to 
pay the rental of such a system as it might adopt. The 
vote demonstrated that the people were then fully alert 
to prosperity and needs of the city. New bids were 
at once called for by the city council and on June 12, 
1890, the council adopted and granted a franchise to 
W. G. Maxcy, giving him the exclusive right to main- 
tain a system of water works in Antigo for fire and 
domestic purposes for a term of thirty years (1890- 
1920). The question of levying a tax of $4,000 per 




DR. I. D. STEFFEN 
First served as Mayor of .Antigo in lSi)0-ill. 

year for a term of thirty years to pay fire hydrant ren- 
tals was again put before the electorate on July 28, 

1890, and the people were in favor of the proposal by 
an overwhelming vote of 514 to 21. 

The water plant was in operation by January 1, 1891 
and this marked an important step in the municipal ad- 
vancement of Antigo. We shall learn more of the wa- 
ter works in the administrations following. 

Through the efforts of the city council under Mayor 
Steffen the Kingsbury & Henshaw flour mill and the 
saw mill, eventually, important industries in Antigo, 
were obtained in May, 1890. 

November 24, 1890, the new hose cart for the fire 
department was received and accepted by the city 
council. Arrangements were made at this time by 
the council to provide sleeping quarters for four men 
in the fire department and to always have a team of 
horses on hand to haul fire apparatus to any fire. 

The Frost Ver.eer Seating Company erected their 
plant in Antigo in the months of November-December, 

1891, during the Steffen administration. W. D. 
Badger erected the plant. 

The city council passed an ordinance in February, 

1892, authorizing the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & West- 



ern Railway Co. to construct and maintain a track 
across the streets between the Frost Veneer plant and 
the Antigo Screen Door Company plant. This track 
is a part of what is commonly called the "belt line." 

During the administration of 1890, Dr. Steffen was 
also President of the School Board and at this time 
also the first high school building was erected in the 
block now occupied for high school purposes. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF CASSIUS F. SMITH 
—1891-92. 

Cassius F". Smith was elected Mayor of Antigo in 
April, 1891, by defeating W. H. Dawley. Mayor 
Smith was the unanimous choice of the Republicans 
of the city. He defeated his opponent by a vote of 
437 to 357 in a contest that was very exciting. 

The first meeting of the city council under Mayor 
Smith was held on April 14, 1891. Mayor Smith se- 
lected T. H. Robbins as City Marshal; Louis Novotny 
as Street Commissioner; Attorney George W. Latta as 
City Attorney; Dr. J. H. Dawley as City Physician and 
B. F. Dorr as the first City Engineer. 




CASSIUS F. SMITH 
Mayor of Antigo — ls'.i|-;i2. 

During his administration many new buildings were 
erected in Antigo and streets were generally improv- 
ed. 

The stand pipe of the Antigo Water Company was 
erected in April, 1891. Ed. LaLonde was then Super- 
intendent of the plant. 

At that time the Antigo Water Works park was con- 
sidered the best in Antigo. 

The question of cattle running at large on the streets 
was again given serious discussion by the city coun- 
cil. 

May, 1891, the city fire department, with the sanction 
of the city council, responded to many calls in the out- 
skirts of the city, where forest fires were raging. Dur- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



133 



ing this month thousands of dollars of property was 
destroyed by the forest fires, among which was one at 
Bryant and Kent, Price township. 

Mill Street, between Seventh Avenue and Eighth 
Avenue, was discontinued by the city to make room 
for extensive improvements by the Crocker Chair 
Company. 

During the Smith administration G. E. Frost, Presi- 
dent of the Frost Veneer Seating Company of Sheboy- 
gan and William Calhoun, an official of that concern 
together with W. D. Badger, Manager of their plant at 
Elcho, conferred with the city officials regarding the 
location of their plant at Antigo. 

A bonus was granted the company and as a result 
the mill was moved from Elcho to Antigo. 

Mayor Smith retired from office in April, 1892, de- 
clining to become a candidate for re-election. Shortly 
afterwards he moved from Antigo and today he is Pres- 
ident of the Chicago Lumber and Veneer Company, 
Chicago, 111., which concern has extensive operations 
over a wide field. 

THE SECOND ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR J. 
F. DOYLE— 1892-93. 

Mayor J. F. Doyle defeated John A. Ogden by a vote 
of 488 to 326, a majority of 162 votes. The entire 
Democratic ticket of the city was elected with the ex- 
ception of a Justice of the Peace. The license ques- 
tion again came up and the vote was 6^3 for license 
and 157 against license, or a majority of 486 in favor 
of granting license. 

April 11, 1892, the city council was organized under 
the Doyle administration. Ex-Mayor Steffen was 
elected President of the city council, T. H. Robbins as 
City Marshal; L. Novotny as Street Commissioner; G. 
R. Shaw as City Physician; W. F. White as City At- 
torney; Dr. J. H. Dawley as Health Officer; Mayor 
Doyle in his recommendations to the council dwelt 
with length on the financial conditions, treasury settle- 
ments, the street fund, the industrial bonus proposition 
and the publicity of council proceedings. 

May 11, 1892, the city council authorized the enforce- 
ment of the ordinance prohibiting the running at large 
of cattle and elected Andrew Teske as Pound-Master. 
A fee of twenty-five cents was authorized paid to any 
individual who would drive any cattle running at large 
on the city streets to the city pound. This ordinance 
had its effect, when enforced, as but few cattle ran at 
large in Antigo since. 

July 21, 1892, Mayor Doyle "unofficially" straddled 
L. E. Bucknam's bicycle and quite a crowd gathered on 
the corner of Clermont Street and Fifth Avenue expect- 
ing to see some fun but the Mayor got aboard with the 
agility of an expert and rode away on the "wonder ma- 
chine" to the bewilderment of the people. 

The city council, at a special meeting, November 1, 
1893, decided to extend the Superior Street water main 
to Tenth Avenue to afford fire protection to the Antigo 
Manufacturing Company. The plant had been des- 
troyed by fire the day before. 



THE ADMINISTRATION OF J. F. ALBERS— 
1893-94. 

The mayoralty campaign of the spring of 1893 was 
really started by the Citizens' League, a non-partisan 
organization, whose object was "to get the men best 
fitted for public service into office," to look over the 
transactions of the city council and the county board 
and to stand for economy and low taxation." The 
coalition of Democrats, Republicans and Prohibition- 
ists endorsed and supported J. F. Albers for Mayor. 
The Democrats put up J. L. Klocke. Thus the con- 
test was between two prom.inent business men of the 
city. 

Mr. Albers was elected, receiving 464 votes to 350 
for Mr. Klocke. D. J. Mahor.ey was elected City 
Clerk and the contest for City Treasurer between L. 




J. F. .XLBERS 
Mayor of Antigo — 1803-!»4. 

Buckman and John McCarthy was a tie, which when 
settled by lot, resulted in Mr. McCarthy's victory. 

When the result of the Mayoralty election was an- 
nounced the adherents of the Citizens' League held a 
great parade and celebration on Fifth Avenue, which 
brought back the old days of 1884 when the Blaine and 
Cleveland torch processions were so lively. 

The vote was canvassed by the city council on 
April 6, 1893. 

The administration of Mayor Albers' was launched 
on April 10, 1893, with the organization of the city 
council of which T. D. Kellogg was chosen President. 
T. H. Robbins was elected City Marshal; A. C. Con- 
way, City Attorney; Dr. I. D. Steffen, City Physician; 
L. Corrigan, Street Commissioner and B. F. Dorr, City 
Engineer. 

The estimated operating expenses for the ensuing 
year were given at $23,476.20. 

During this administration the great Weed mill fire 



134 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



occurred on May 20, 1893. Mayor Albers telegraphed 
to Rhinelander for aid which came at once. 

An ordinance was passed by the city council stop- 
ping all bicycle riding on sidewalks of the city. The 
wheel men of Antigo resented this ordinance as the 
streets of the city were traveled by wheel with dif- 
ficulty. 

Acting upon the petition of residents a hose cart was 
established in both the Third and Fourth Wards dur- 
ing this administration. 

City Marshal O'Connor applied for a franchise to 
erect and maintain a telephone exchange in Antigo in 
1894 and his application was granted by the coun- 
cil. 

The report was current during this administration 
that the Northwestern railroad would remove their 
shops from Antigo to Monico and thus minimize the 
importance of Antigo as a railroad center. Public 
spirited Antigo citizens together with the city council 
placed the matter before the officials of the Chicago & 
Northwestern Railroad Company and were given as- 
surance that the shops would remain in the city. Thus 
an industry of great importance was retained. 

The Citizens' League of Antigo became a potent force 
as the end of the Albers' administration approached. 
It was non-partisan in character. Dr. I. D. Steffen 
was President; W. H. Blinn, Vice-President; J. C. 
Lewis, Secretary; J. F. Albers, Treasurer; Advisors 
were: A. M. Millard, John E. Martin, W. F. White, M. 
F. Crowe and H. G. Borgman. The Committee on 
Special Inquiry consisted of Ed. Daskam, J. C. Spencer 
and John A. Ogden. 

Mayor Albers was followed by George W. Hill, a 
Democrat, who served his first term as Mayor from 
1894-95. 

THE FIRST ADMINISTRATION OF GEORGE W. 
HILL— 1894-95. 

George W. Hill, a pioneer Antigo citizen, was first 
elected Mayor on April 3, 1894 defeating Dr. I. D. 
Steffen. Although a Democrat Mr. Hill did not have 
the support of the Democrat organ of the city in the 
election. 

The first council meeting was held April 9, 1894. 
Mayor Hill appointed various committees and the 
council elected the following officers : President of the 
council — T. D. Kellogg; City Marshal — Peter O'Con- 
nor; Deputy Marshal — Frank Cunningham; City At- 
torney — W. F. White; Street Commissioner — L. Cor- 
rigan; City Engineer — B. F. Dorr; City Physician — Dr. 
I. D. Steffen. Fire Wardens were appointed in each 
ward. 

By reason of the defeat of the proposition to in- 
crease the water tax $500 at the annual municipal elec- 
tion the city council ordered a special election to be 
held April 30, 1894. The proposal for the increase 
was defeated at the annual election due to the mis- 
understanding of the question. Thus when the vote 
was taken the second time it resulted in 419 in favor of 
the increase and but 75 against the proposition. This 



gave the city authorities power to grant extensions of 
the water works as the means of the city afforded. 

In June, 1894, the city council, after a demonstra- 
tion had been made before Mayor Hill and members 
of the council by three different machines, authorized 
the purchase of an Austin road machine for use on An- 
tigo streets. 

In 1894 there was considerable propaganda about 
the city purchasing the water works. 

Fifteen hundred feet of hose for the volunteer fire 
department was purchased by the Committee on Fire 
and Water of the city council in August, 1894. 




GEORGE W. HILL 
First served as >[ayor of .■\nt;go in 18'.)4-95. 

A new fire department was organized in November, 
1894, and the organization was accepted by the city 
council. An arrangement was made for four pipemen 
to sleep in the engine house, the city to purchase a team 
of horses and the volunteers agreed to furnish a vol- 
unteer chief, whose services were gratuitous. 

In February, 1895, the finance committee of the city 
council was instructed to act with the Antigo Board of 
Education to devise ways and means for the construc- 
tion of a new school house in the Second Ward. The 
proposition was finally defeated. 

Mayor Hill served until April 8, 1895, when Mayor- 
elect R. H. McMullen presided over the city affairs for 
the first time. 



THE ADMINISTRATIONS OF R. 
—1895-98. 



H. McMULLEN 



R. H. McMullen came to Antigo in 1880 from Chil- 
ton, Calumet County, Wisconsin, and at once became 
an active leader in the affairs of the village and city of 
Antigo. He was chosen the first City Treasurer in 
1885 and held other offices. He was first elected May- 
or of Antigo on April 2, 1895, defeating the Republi- 
can candidate for Mayor, John A. Ogden, by a vote of 
483 to 410. With the exception of one city officer 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



135 



and five members of the city council the entire official 
roster was Democratic. 

Among the outstanding events during his adminis- 
trations were the proposal to raise a sum sufficient to 
erect a new school in the Second Ward. The propos- 
al went down to defeat on April 2, 1895. 

A. M. Lanning was elected President of the city 
council under Mayor McMullen during his first admin- 
istration. Ordinance No. 75 amended ordinance No. 
42, prescribed new fire limits for the city and regulat- 
ed the construction of buildings within those limits. 

The telephone franchise of Peter O'Connor was re- 
pealed during the year 1895. 

As a result of a conference with Superintendent G. 
F. Bidwell, Mayor McMullen and the council succeed- 
ed in having the Chicago & Northwestern railroad 




R. H. McMULLEN 
First served as Mayor in 1895-08. 

construct crossings at all Antigo streets and to main- 
tain an arc light on Fifth Avenue at their crossing. 

During the McMullen administration the Antigo 
Opera House, where the first county fair was held was 
burned to the ground. Hoeffler Brothers were then 
in charge of it. The fire was on May 22, 1895. 

The license question was voted upon September 17, 
1895, and $500 as an annual license was again decided 
upon by the voters. 

Mayor McMullen was successively elected until 
1898. In March, 1896, caucuses were held in Antigo 
Wards and T. D. Kellogg was nominated by the Re- 
publicans to contest the Mayoralty with Mr. McMullen. 
The result was the re-election of Mr. McMullen by a 
vote of 608-314. 

The new city council met on April 13, 1896, and 
the following official roster was created : City Attor- 
ney — F. J. Finucane; City Physician — Dr. T. L. Har- 
rington; City Marshal — John McArthur; Deputy Mar- 
shal — Isaac Lament; Street Commissioner — Larry 



Corrigan; City Engineer — B. F. Dorr; Department 
Driver — Chet Hugunin; Janitor — M. Devoy. 

April 6, 1897, Mayor McMullen was again victorious 
for the office. He defeated John A. Ogden by a vote 
of 510 to 457. The appointive city officials remained 
the same with the exception of City Physician, M. J. 
Lower, being selected. 

Mayor McMullen and the city council did consider- 
able street work during his last administration. There 
was then considerable agitation about paving Fifth 
Avenue. Nothing definite was then decided. 

He served until the election of John F. Dailey on 
April 5, 1898. 

In 1919 Mr. McMullen moved from Antigo to Port- 
land, Oregon, which has been his home since. He 
was born in Marysburg, Ontario, Canada on May 10, 
1850. 

Mayor McMullen was the first citizen to be continu- 
ously elected by the voters of Antigo for three con- 
secutive terms. He was the first Antigo Mayor to be 
re-elected after the expiration of his first term. Oth- 
er mayors had been previously re-elected but their 
terms were not consecutive. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF JOHN F. DAILEY— 
1898-99. 

John F. Dailey was elected Mayor of Antigo on April 
5, 1898, defeating W. B. Johns by a vote of 571 to 349. 
Mr. Dailey was the Democrat nominee and Mr. Johns 




JOHN F. D.^ILEY 
Mayor of Antigo — 1898-99. 

was the Republican choice. Mayor Dailey was born 
on December 26, 1856, at Ogdensburg, Waupaca Coun- 
ty, Wisconsin. He spent his early youth on a farm 
and secured his schooling at Waupaca. When a 
young man he became Superintendent of a large saw 
mill at Manawa, Wisconsin. He moved to Strass- 
burg, Langlade County, eight years later and there op- 
erated a saw mill for nearly six years. From Strass- 



136 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



burg in 1897 he came to Antigo and opened up a shoe 
store. 

The principal events of his administration were the 
macadamizing of Fifth Avenue and the revision of the 
city ordinances by City Attorney Max Hoffman and 
the City Clerk. 

Mayor Dailey was requested to run for re-election 
but refused because of business affairs. 

The last meeting of the city council under his ad- 
ministration was held April 10, 1899. Mayor Dailey 
thanked the city council for the courtesies extended 
him during his administration and then the city coun- 
cil of 1898-99 adjourned. 

Dr. I. D. Steffen followed Mayor Dailey in office, 
this being Dr. Steffen's second administration. 

It was during the Dailey administration that the 
printing offices of the Antigo Herold, The Antigo Re- 
publican and the Weekly News Item were entered and 
the mechanical plants were damaged, January 19, 1899. 
The city council at their meeting of January 22, 1899, 
offered a reward of $250 for information leading to the 
arrest and conviction of the party or parties who per- 
petrated the deed. 

The city council tabled a request for aid when the 
Antigo Public Library Association presented a peti- 
tion signed by one hundred tax payers on February 6, 
1899. 

Mayor Dailey moved to Birnamwood shortly after 
his term of office. He passed a'^ay on October 21, 
1908, at that place. Many prominent citizens of An- 
tigo attended his funeral. 

THE SECOND ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR I. 
D. STEFFEN— 1899-1901. 

Dr. I. D. Steffen was nominated on March 19, 1899 
at a meeting held in the old council rooms. The meet- 
ing was non-partisan in character. A ctimplete ticket 
was placed in the field by the non-partisans, with P. 
J. Millard for Clerk, Anton Schultz for Treasurer and 
Jos. Duchac and J. W. AUerton for Assessors. 

The Democrats were lead by Leonard Freiburger, 
who, like Dr. Steffen, was a pioneer Antigo resident. 
This contest for the Mayor's office was the most ex- 
citing political contest ever conducted in Ar.t'go up to 
that time. Dr. Steffen was elected over Mr. Freibur- 
ger by a close vote. Peter Chadek defeated P. J. 
Millard for City Clerk by thirteen majority. Anton 
Schultz was defeated for City Treasurer by James 
Wagner, who received 460 votes to 448 for the former. 

The city council under the Steffen administration 
employed Edgar Williams, a civil engineer, of Chica- 
go, to prepare plans for a sewerage system in Antigo 
in August, 1899. 

An ordinance was passed on August 18, 1899 to bond 
the city of Antigo in the sum of $10,003 for the erec- 
tion of a city hall. The same time Edgar Williams of 
Chicago submitted plans for a modern sewerage sys- 
tem in Antigo. 

The new third ward school was erected during this 
administration. It was opened for school purposes 
on February 5, 1900. 



Plans of the architect, Van Ryan, for the construc- 
tion of the city hall were adopted by the city council 
on October 3, 1899. Mayor Steffen, Fred Ebeit, C. 
O. Marsh and T. D. Kellogg constituted the building 
committee. The city hall was ready for use in Febru- 
ary, 1900. 

Dr. I. D. Steffen was re-elected Mayor on April 3, 
1900 by defeating George W. Hill by 125 majority. 

During his second administration Mayor Steffen 
continued his policies as enunciated when he became a 
Mayoralty candidate in 1899. His re-election was a 
vindication of his previous record. 

Mayor Steffen served until April 1, 1901, when the 
city council was reorganized and the reins of the city 
government were taken over by R. H. McMuUen. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF R. H. McMULLEN— 
1901-02. 

April 2, 1901, R. H. McMullen was again chosen 
Mayor. He defeated Walter L. Elliott. The first 
meeting of the city council under his administration 
was on April 9, 1902, when the following city officials 
were chosen : President of the city council — Leonard 
Freiburger, Sr. ; City Attorney — E. A. Morse; City 
Physician — Dr. M. J. Lower; Marshal — John McArth- 
ur; Deputy Marshal — G. L. Drake; Street Commission- 
er — A. B. Hanks ; City Engineer — B. F. Dorr. 

The city hall had been nearly completed during the 
administration of Dr. I. D. Steffen. The city clock 
was installed during the tenure in office of Mayor Mc- 
Mullen. 

Antigo's Fire Department at that time had one hose 
cart, three hand hose carts, 2,800 feet of cotton and 
linen hose in good condition, 1,400 feet of rubber hose, 
six hydrant wrenches, ten play pipes, twelve spanners, 
ten pair of rubber boots, fifteen rubber coats and thir- 
teen rubber hats for the equipment of the firemen. 

At a special election held August 26, 1901, the mat- 
ter of bonding the city of Antigo in the sum of $18,000 
to put in a complete sewerage system was placed be- 
fore the people. It was voted down by a vote of 273 
to 170, or a majority of 103 who were against the 
measure. 

Mayor McMullen served his last term as city execu- 
tive of Antigo in 1901-02 and was succeeded by 
Thomas W. Hogan, who defeated W. L. Elliott, nomi- 
nated on March 23, 1902. That day nominees were 
placed in nomination by Republican and Democrat 
conventions. There were times when, due to some 
dissension among certain wings of each city political 
coterie, a coaltion ticket was placed before the elec- 
torate. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF THOMAS W. 
HOGAN— 1902-04. 

Thomas W. Hogan was elected Mayor of Antigo on 

April 1, 1902 by defeating Walter L. Elliott by a vote 

of 584 to 380. Mr. Hogan was nominated by the 

Democrats and Mr. Elliott by the Republican city or- 

. ganization. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



137 



On April 7, 1902, Mayor Hogan outlined his policies 
to the new city council. He made two suggestions, 
one that the fire team should sprinkle Fifth Avenue 
and that the street commissioner should also act as 
weed commissioner. He ignored party lines in the 
appointment of city office; s. T. D. Kellogg was 
chosen President of the council by the aldermen. John 
McArthur was again named City Marshal with August 
Vogel and William Berner as his deputies; Dr. Fred 
V. Watson was elected City Physician and Max Hoff- 
man as City Attorney. B. F. Dorr and Larry Corri- 
gan were again chosen for the offices of City Engineer 
and Street Commissioner respectively. G. 0. Palmi- 
ter was made Chief of the Antigo Fire Department. 
Miss Maude Beattie was appointed Deputy City C'erV. 




THOMAS W. HOGAN 
Elected Mayor of Antigo in April. 11103. 

One of the first acts of Mayor Hcgan was to order 
all gambling devices and slot machines removed from 
saloons, public halls and tobacco shops. 

May 5, 1902, a Board of Public Works was created, 
the first one in the city, and .Aldermen M. F. Crowe, 
Leonard Freiburger, Sr., and Frank P. Ver Bryck were 
elected. J. F. Albers was then selected City Comp- 
troller. The suggestion for the Board of Public Works 
was made by Alderman L D. Steffen. 

A new system of accounting was installed in the city 
offices in May, 1902 by G. D. Bartz, Wausau, expert. 

May 30, 1902, the Board of Public Works recom- 
mended the installation of a more effective sewerage 
system in Antigo, but the proposals were defeated by 
the city council. The report of the Board of Public 
Works was then amended at the city council's request 
and was adopted at a meeting of that body on June 
17, 1902. August 23, 1902, Harding, Nelson & John- 
son of Racine, were granted the sewerage contract for 
$19,000.00. 

Antigo's officials, including the Mayor and the city 
council, took part in the great reunion of the 14th Wis- 



consin infantry of Civil War fame, in Artigo June 18, 
19 and 20, 1902. 

Antigo was connected with Milwaukee by long dis- 
tance telephone on October 2, 1902. The first tele- 
phone conversation to leave Antigo was one from the 
Antigo Republican requesting a supplement from Mil- 
waukee containing Governor La Follette's speech at 
Milwaukee. 

THE FIRST ADMINISTRATION OF FRED 
HAYSSEN— 1904-06. 

Fred Hayssen was elected Mayor of Antigo for the 
first time on April 5, 1904. He did not have any op- 
position, receiving 812 votes. The chief event of his 
first administration was the revision of the charter of 
the city in 1905. 

Fulton Street was opened as far north as the First 
Ward school in 1905 upon petition of residents in that 
part of the city. 

Alderman Frank P. Ver Bryck and John 01k resign- 
ed as Aldermen from the First and Sixth Ward re- 




FRED HAYSSEN 
Twice Mayor of Antigo. First elected in in04. 

spectively on August 1, 1905. W. A. Maertz succeed- 
ed Mr. Ver Bryck and Thomas Morrissey succeeded 
Mr. 01k. 

Extension of sewers to various parts of the growing 
city was one of the achievements of the administra- 
tion. 

During the Hayssen administration the City Park, 
two blocks between Eighth and Nir.th Avenues, east 
of Watson street, was purchased by the city council. 

April 4, 1906, the last meeting of the city council 
under the first Hayssen regime was held. George W. 
Hill, the incoming Mayor, then took office for the sec- 
ond time. 

Much public building was one of the noticeable oc- 
currences during the term of Mayor Hayssen. 



138 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



THE SECOND ADMINISTRATION OF GEORGE 
W. HILL— 1906-08. 

George W. Hill was elected Mayor of Antigo on 
April 4, 1906, by defeating J. F. Albers. The contest 
was one of the most exciting in the history of the city. 
Mr. Hill won by fifteen votes, he receiving 546 to 531 
votes for his opponent. 

The Hill administration took over the government 
of the city the following day, April 5, 1906. Mayor 
Hayssen and the old city council "cleared the deck" 
and in a few appropriate words the retiring Mayor bid 
farewell to his former associates. Mayor Hill made 
a plea for harmony in the conduct of the city and urg- 
ed all factions to forget differences in the interest of 
the city's welfare. 

In April, 1906, the contract for the remodeling of the 
second floor of the public library for training school 
purposes was let to Thomas Solar, at $1,117.00. 

The Mary Deleglise park, block 68, city of Antigo, 
was sold to Mayor Hill on September 21, 1906. This 
block was platted and soon became an important addi- 
tion to residential Antigo. 

The estimated expense for operating the city of 
Antigo in 1906-07 according to R. Koebke, J. J. French 
and G. 0. Palmiter, members of the Board of Public 
Works of that time, were $50,983.00. 

During the Hill regime additional powers were ac- 
corded the Mayor by the city cour.cil in the enforce- 
ment of all rules governing the Ar.tigo Fire Depart- 
ment. 

Another impoitant event in Antigo history happened 
during this period. November 14, 1906, the old C. & 
N. W. depot was removed from its foundation to make 
room for the modern depot now used. 

Many blocks of cement walks and extensive addi- 
tions to the sewerage system were laid duiing this 
term. 

Mayor Hill served until the spring of 1908 when his 
former rival, ex-Mayor Fred Hayssen was again 
elected. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF FRED HAYSSEN— 
1908-10. 

Fred Hayssen, a pioneer Langlade County resident, 
who in an early day, before his residence in Antigo, 
had been in business at Bryant, Price township, was 
elected Mayor of Antigo on April 7, 1908. He de- 
feated three other candidates, Leonard Freiburger, 
George W. Hill and A. F. Brehmer. Mr. Freiburger 
was his nearest rival, receiving 418 votes to 507 for 
Mr. Hayssen. Hayssen was elected on a platform of 
rigid economy in the conduct of the city and took ad- 
vantage of the dissension in the ranks of his political 
rivals. 

The license of saloons was again voted upon. For 
license again proved victorious. The vote stood : For 
License — 770; Against License — 451. 

The city council under the Hayssen administration 
organized on April 21, 1908. Mayor Hayssen plead for 
harmony in the conduct of city affairs, making it plain 



that he would oppose any appropriations for improve- 
ments unless the money was provided previously. 

James Steber was elected President of the city coun- 
cil, William Coblentz was elected Chief of Police, S. J. 
McMahon was elected City Attorney, Dr. G. W. Moore 
was chosen City Physician and B. F. Dorr as City En- 
gineer. 

June 20, 1908, the Antigo Water Company refused 
to give the city officials a test of the system. Four 
days previously the city council instructed the Board 
of Public Works to engage a competent engineer to 
furnish estimates of the cost of a complete water works 
for the city of Antigo. This was a direct defy to the 
Antigo Water Company. The test was made at a lat- 
er date. 

The law suit of the City of Antigo vs. The Antigo 
Water Company was argued before the railroad rate 
commission in 1908. The suit was instituted because 
the city was not satisfied with the company's program 
of improvements. The railroad rate commission sent 
four experts to Antigo on July 14, 1908, to make an 
examination of the water plant. A partial decision 
was handed down by the railroad rate commission in 
which the finding was "the testimony shows that the 
present water supply of the Antigo Water Company is 
inadequate." The company was given three months 
to take steps necessary for securing and maintaining 
a reasonably adequate supply of wholesome water. 
The order, however, was a provisional ore, supplement- 
ed later by a more elaborate discussion. 

August 4, 1908, the Board of Public Works of Antigo 
was authorized to advertise for bids for paving Cler- 
mont Street from Fourth to First Avenue. 

September 17, 1908, the city council began plans for 
the erection of a sewerage disposal plant and John W. 
Alvord of Chicago was instructed to make estimations 
and recommendations relative to the erection of such a 
plant. 

Hayssen served until the election of Burt W. 
Rynders. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF BURT W. RYNDERS 
—1910-12. 

Burt W. Rynders, who had served in the Hayssen 
administration as Acting Mayor for many months, was 
elected Mayor of Antigo on April 5, 1910. He defeat- 
ed George W. Hill by a vote of 648 to 622 in a hot 
fought contest. Both men appealed for support on the 
merits of their past records. The license question 
was again voted upon at this election and, as usual, 
was defeated by the overwhelming vote of 823 to 
337. 

Inadequate fire protection for the city was one of the 
chief questions confronting the Mayor and city council 
during the Rynder's administration. January 3, 1911, 
the fire and water committee of the council was ordered 
to investigate the cost of a modern fire engine. 

The city council, February 7, 1911, delivered an ul- 
timatum to the owners of the Antigo Water Company 
in which it was declared that "unless the said company 
does not comply fully with all the terms of its fran- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



139 



chise on or before July 1, 1911, court proceedings 
would be instituted in the courts of the state or before 
the Railroad Rate Commission in order that the city 
and its inhabitants may be adequately supplied with 
water for the purposes of fire protection and for do- 
mestic use." This was but a part of the long fight 
between that concern and the city and which eventual- 
ly led to the purchase of the water works by the city. 

In the spring election, April 4, 1911, little interest 
was manifested. 

April 8, 1911, the city council took favorable action 
on a petition of abutting property owners on Clermont 
Street between First and Fourth Avenues in which they 




BURT W. RVXDERS 
Mayor of Antigo in 1910-12. 

requested that the street be paved. Westrumite as- 
phalt was laid the following summer. 

The Department of the Interior selected the post 
office site in April, 1911. 

March 1, 1911, a petition signed by many citizens 
called upon the city of Antigo to construct and main- 
tain an entirely new water system in Antigo, "because 
the present mains and pumps are not of sufficient ca- 
pacity to furnish the necessary water and pressure for 
adequate fire protection." 

Dr. G. W. Moore was elected City Health Officer 
and H. F. Morson chosen City Attorney to succeed 
City Attorney S. J. McMahon in May, 1918. 

Extensive improvements were inaugurated by the 
Antigo Water Company, under the supervision of F. 
C. Robinson, expert waterworks man of Manitowoc, 
Wis., on June, 1911. 

Work was started on the new sewerage disposal plant 
in Rolling township in June, 1911. 

A water test by the Antigo Water Works was ac- 
cepted by the city on June 29, 1911. 

The American La France steam engine for the An- 
tigo Fire Department was purchased during the Ryn- 
ders administration. The old dispute between the 
city and the Antigo Water Works was settled. 



Mayor Rynders served until in April, 1912. George 
W. Hill was then elected Mayor for the term 1912-13. 

THE LAST ADMINISTRATION OF GEORGE W. 
HILL— 1912-APRIL 20, 1913. 

George W. Hill was again elected Mayor, defeating 
Burt W. Rynders for that office on April 12, 1912. 
Four days later the new city council was called into 
session. Mayor Hill advocated strict economy in the 
administration of the city. He took the office of May- 
or following the farewell address of the retiring Mayor 
B. W. Rynders. 

James Steber was elected President of the city coun- 
cil. F. Reindl, John McGreer and J. J. Laughlin 
were then made members of the Board of Public 
Works. 

A proposal to establish a fire alarm system in Antigo 
was voted down by the city on July 1, 1912. 

July 8, 1912, the Antigo Fire Department received a 
new team, which was purchased from the Ullman Sales 
stable. 

H. F. Morson, who resigned, was succeeded as City 
Attorney by R. H. Smelker on July 16, 1912. 

An ordinance for the building of a $30,000 trunk line 
sewer to relieve flood conditions in the northern part of 
the city was defeated at a special session of the city 
council on October 16, 1912. 

Mayor Hill served as an efficient officer until his 
death at Montague, Muskegon County, Michigan on 
April 20, 1913. He was born on March 15, 1857, ths 
son of Homer and Elizabeth Hill and came to Antigo 
in 1882. Mayor Hill was active in city and county 
politics from then until his death. His body lay in 
state at the M. E. Church until the funeral April 24, 
1913. His eulogy was read by Rev. M. L. Eversz. 

The following day Leonard Freiburger was elected 
Mayor of Antigo. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF LEONARD FREI- 
BURGER, SR.— 1913-14. 

Leonard Freiburger, Sr., a member of the city coun- 
cil from the Sixth Ward, was elected Mayor on the 
seventh ballot at a meeting of the council, April 25, 
1913. He was officially notified of his election by G. 
0. Palmiter, City Clerk, the following day. Mr. Frei- 
burger had previously served for sixteen years as an 
Alderman from his ward. His nearest opponent for 
the office was Lee Waste of the second ward. 

Among the important events of the Freiburger ad- 
ministration was the platting of Clermont Heights by 
Morse & Tradewell Co. This addition to the city was 
approved by the city council on May 6, 1913. 

In 1912 the first experiments with street oil were 
made on Fifth Avenue. During the Freiburger re- 
gime the sprinkling of all city streets with oil was pro- 
posed in May, 1913. The applications then were plac- 
ed on streets, upon request of citizens in the form of a 
petition. Then oil was applied for the following 
rates: One application; 12 foot roadway — 75c; 18 foot 
roadway — $1.10; 24 foot roadway — $1.50; two appli- 



140 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



cations— 12 foot roadway— $1.50; 18 foot roadway— 
$2.20 ; 24 foot roadway— $3.00. 

The old Antigo Commercial Club was very active 
in 1913. I. A. Herrick, then Secretary-Manager, was 
the leader in a movement to establish a public market 
square in Antigo. 

Antigo's first modern moving picture theatre was 
erected by Harvey Hanson, who on May 17, 1913, pur- 
chased the Lee Waste Fifth Avenue property. 

The city council appropriated funds for the pur- 
chasing of lighting standards for the high school park. 
The lighting system was installed during the summer 
of 1913. 

It was during this administration that the Board of 
Public Works presented to the city council satisfactory 




LEONARD FREIBl"R(iER 

CIiosLii M;i\or nf Aiitino following tlic dcatli oi George \\ . 

Hill. Served in I1M:1-I4. 

plans for the division of the city into storm sewer 
districts. 

L. P. Tradewell was awarded a contract for the con- 
struction of two blocks of concrete pavemer.t on June 
3, 1913. The streets paved were Fifth Avenue, from 
Superior Street east to Field Street and Su,:erior 
Street, between Fifth and Fourth Avenues. The con- 
tract was let for $11,897.00. 

June 7, 1913, the city of Antigo and Langlade Coun- 
ty acted as hosts to the Merchants and Manufacturers 
of Milwaukee, who visited the city. The Cream City 
people were given a splendid reception by the Antigo 
business men. 

The old homstead of F. A. Deleglise was moved 
from its original location to a spot on the public library 
grounds to be preserved. The city council authorized 
its removal to save it from being torn down. 

The first municipal street sprinkler was purchased 
in 1913. Previously the merchants made arrange- 
ments with private organizations for sprinkling streets. 

The completion of the sewerage disposal plant was 
inaugurated during the Freiburger regime. 



During the term of Mayor Freiburger the city pur- 
chased the Antigo Water Works, which it has since 
successfully operated. 

Mayor Freiburger served urtil the election of Dr. L 

D. Steffen, the first Mayor to serve as such under gov- 
ernment by commission, March 24, 1914. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR I. D. STEF- 
FEN— FIRST UNDER COMMISSION 
GOVERNMENT— 1914-15. 

Government of the city of Antigo was changed from, 
the aldermanic system to that of government by com- 
mission by an overwhelming vote of the people. The 
primary election of that mayoralty contest was held on 
March 24, 1914. Candidates for election were Leon- 
ard Freiburger, Sr., Dr. I. D. Steffen, E. R. Gibbons, 

E. H. Palmer, T. J. Roberts, B. W. Rynders and L. P. 
Tradewell. E. R. Gibbons and Dr. I. D. Steffen, hav- 
ing the greatest number of votes, were declared nomi- 
nees. 

The contest between the primary election and the 
general election, April 7, 1914, was one of the most 
spectacular elections in the history of the city. Dr. 
Steffen defeated Mr. Gibbons by a vote of 730 to 693 
and was thus elected the first Mayor to serve under the 
commission foim of government in Antigo. He is call- 
ed the father of that form of gDve.'nms/t in the city 
of ArAigo. G. 0. Palmiter and Frank Dvorak were 
both elected councilmen in the new government. They 
defeated John Callahan, anJ Thomas Daskam, the 
other two nominees. The other candidates for coun- 
cilmen at the primary election were N. R. Babcock, 
James Cody, D. P. Corbett, William Kirg, John Mc- 
Greer, Lee Waste and Joseph Skibba. 

With the inauguration of government by commission 
the veto power of a city executive was abolished and a 
majority of the city council constitutes a quorum. This 
system also eliminated many committees and the ad- 
ministration of city affairs progressed rapidly. 

The city council. Mayor Steffen, City Clerk G. 0. 
Palmiter and City Treasurer Frank Dvorak, took over 
the reins of the city on April 21, 1914, when they held 
the first council meeting. 

The late F. J. Finucane was selected City Attorney 
during the Steffen Administration and the stable foun- 
dation of that form of government in Antigo, is, in a 
large measure due to Attorney Finucane's wise coun- 
sel and advice. 

The city took over the Antigo Water Works in April, 
1914, and Frank Dvorak was made manager of the 
institution. 

Dr. Steffen was elected to the office of Mayor upon 
his previous record as a public servant, extending over 
a period of years since 1887. He deplored faction- 
alism in the city. The rigid enforcement of the law, 
particularly that city ordinance pertaining to Sunday 
closing of saloons, was one of his strong planks in his 
platform for election. 

During his administration of affairs taxes were re- 
duced in the city, the water department operated at a 
' profit, an extensive street improvement program was 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



141 



inaugurated, many feet of cement sidewalks were laid, 
new streets and alleys were opened for public con- 
venience, all city ordinances were enforced, water mains 
were extended in many parts of the city, the old busi- 
ness of the aldermanic system was closed and the city 
was placed upon an entirely new and economic founda- 
tion. 

Dr. Steffen served efficiently until September, 1915, 
when at a special election he was defeated by C. Fred 
Calhoun. The election was given state wide atten- 
tion. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF C. FRED CALHOUN 
—1915-1917. 

C. Fred Calhoun, Superintendent of the Frost Ve- 
neer Seating Company plant in Antigo, was elected 
Mayor of Antigo at a special election in September, 
1915. He presided over the city council as executive 
of the city, for the first time on Wednesday, Septem- 
ber 29, 1915. 

Mayor Calhoun proved to be a capable city officer. 
Among the important achievements of his administra- 




C. FRED CALHOUN 
Mayor of Antigo — 1!)15-17. 

tion was the settlement between the city council and 
the National Surety Company of New York relative 
to the repairing of the Westrumite paving on Cler- 
mont Street between Fourth and First Avenues. This 
settlement was made on October 15, 1915, when the 
city council accepted $1,000.00 from the National 
Surety Company with which to repair the street. 

Before his election as Mayor, Mr. Calhoun was a 
member of the Board of Education from the Sixth 
Ward and he resigned from that body on October 14, 
1915. B. H. Strong was chosen to fill the vacancy. 

A contract was let, previously, to John MulhoUand 
to lay 653 feet of water mains on south Clermont 
Street, between Eighth and Ninth Avenues. This 
work was completed during this administration. 



December, 1915, the city purchased a tank from 
the Standard Oil Company. The tank is used to store 
street oil and has a capacity of 12,500 gallons. 

While not a municipal affair, with which the city 
council had much to do, it is important to state that 
the Antigo Post Office was included, December 6, 

1915, in the estimates submitted to Congress by Secre- 
tary of the Treasury Wm. G. McAdoo for the operat- 
ing expenses for the year 1916. Thirty-four thousand 
dollars was listed as the amount needed to further 
the construction of the Antigo Post Office. 

Twenty thousand square yards of macadam streets 
were resurfaced and thirty blocks were graded during 
the Calhoun regime. 

New sewers were laid, extensions were made to 
water mains, and 8,785 feet of cement walk was put 
down by contractors, working for the city. 

The valuation of the city of Antigo in 1915 was 
$4,707,752.00 while in 1914 it was $4,566,973.00. 

November 10, 1915, the city council purchased a 
fire truck from the Seagrave Motor Company at a 
cost of $5,600.00. 

The announcement was made on February 17, 1916, 
that the city was to have a new industry. The Lang- 
lade Lumber Company. This followed a formal rati- 
fication of an informal agreement between officials 
of the concern and the members of the Antigo Com- 
mercial Club. Mayor Calhoun was made Chairman of 
a Finance Committee to raise a large sum of money to 
insure the city that the lumber company would lo- 
cate here. 

March 2, 1916, the city council granted the Board 
of Education authority to engage an architect and ob- 
tain plans and specifications for a new high school. 
The corner stone of the school was laid on July 7, 1916. 

April 4, 1916, G. 0. Palmiter was against chosen 
City Clerk by the people, defeating Thomas Daskam. 

Five thousand one hundred dollars was paid to the 
Immel Construction Company of Fond du Lac, this 
being the first of the payments on the new Antigo 
High School. The school was dedicated October 19, 
1917. 

Charles W. Fish was banqueted on November 2, 

1916, at which time he announced his intention to 
erect a modern sawmill in Antigo, the mill to have 
a capacity of seven million feet annually. 

During the Calhoun administration W. J. Gallon 
was elected first President of the Antigo Association 
of Commerce, which was organized on April 20, 1917. 

Mayor Calhoun resigned in the fall of 1917 and a 
special primary election was held on November 13, 

1917, Four aspirants for the office of Mayor were 
placed in the field. Mayor Calhoun left soon after 
for Sheboygan, Wis., to make his home. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR JOHN 
BENISHEK 1917-20. 

Four prominent Antigo citizens were placed on the 
ticket as candidates for Mayor in the special primary 
election held in the fall of 1917. Munson M. Ross, 
Antigo's second Mayor, Martin Robrecht, a pioneer 



142 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



citizen and a man who had served in various public 
capacities for many years, H. F. Morson, a former 
County Superintendent of Schools, former City At- 
torney and a prominent member of the Langlade Coun- 
ty bar, and John Benishek, a well known real estate 
dealer, who had served on the city council for many 
years prior to the change from aldermanic to govern- 
ment by commission, were the candidates. H. F. 
Morson and John Benishek were chosen at the primary 
as the candidates to be voted upon at the general 
election. 

The election was close, John Benishek defeating 
Mr. Morson by one vote. 

Mayor Benishek inaugurated a program of economy 




JOHX BENISHEK 
.Mayor of .Aiitigo— liilT-20. 

without parsimony in the conduct of city affairs. His 
years of experience as a city official gave him a 
valuable insight to prevalent conditions. 

Upon the death of City Attorney F. J. Finucane, 
Charles Avery, who had been Acting City Attorney 
for some time, was elected City Attorney. He per- 
formed a service of great value in that position. 

Mayor Benishek spent much of his time as Mayor 
securing estimates and making plans for a general 
program of street improvement and paving. Material 
was secured with difficulty, yet many of the streets 
were placed in first class condition. 

During his administration a resolution was passed 
whereby all of the principal streets were prepared for 
paving by getting sewer connections with all build- 
ings and vacant lots, thus to eliminate the necessity 
of tearing up a street. 

The coal shortage of 1918 was so serious that many 
Antigo citizens petitioned the Mayor and the city 
council to establish a municipal coal yard. By pur- 
chasing coal, direct from the mines. Mayor Benishek's 
policy saved the city approximately $2,000 each year 
in fuel alone. 

The Antigo Armory, operated by the city, was un- 



der the direct management of Mayor Benishek, dur- 
ing his term. He found that the institution was op- 
erating at a loss each year. By booking first class 
shows and under proper management the Armory made 
money for the city. 

During his administration new polling stations were 
erected in the Third and Fourth Wards. 

Three thousand square yards of gravel were laid 
on Superior Street, Antigo's principal highway. A 
modern grader for road and street work was purchai- 
ed and plans for scarifying Fifth Avenue were made. 

The sewerage disposal plant was repaired and ex- 
tensive changes were made in it, with the result that 
all complaints from Rolling township farmers ceased. 

The storm sewer from Minola Street to the sand 
pit, east of the fair grounds, (purchased by the city 
during the Benishek administration) was completed. 

Mayor Benishek served as Mayor for two and one- 
fourth years. He became a candidate for re-election 
in 1920 and made his campaign upon his previous 
record. The campaign was one of the most interest- 
ing of recent elections. He was defeated by but two 
votes. 

THE ADMINISTRATION OF MAYOR CHARLES 
J. HANZEL 1920-22. 

On February 20, 1920, Charles J. Hanzel, an An- 
tigo business man, announced his candidacy for May- 
or of Antigo. The six years of government by com- 
mission (1914-20) had produced three Mayors, Dr. 
I. D. Steffen, C. Fred Calhoun, and John Benishek. 




CllARl ES J. ll.WZEL 
Elected Mayor of .\ntigo for term l!i2()-2li. 

Dr. Fred Kestly was placed in the field by a gather- 
ing of citizens who met at the Elks' Club January 21, 
1920. Dr. Kestly later withdrew from the race. 

Mayor Benishek, who had made an efficient public 
servant, announced his candidacy for re-election Jan- 
uary 31, 1920. This made it a race between Mayor 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



143 



Benishek, who made his previous record the issue, 
and Charles J. Hanzel, who made the race on a plat- 
form of lower taxation and better streets. 

When the votes were counted it was discovered that 
it was a tie and would have to be decided by lot. Mr. 
Hanzel won. Mayor Benishek demanded a recount, 
which showed the correct vote to be 641 to 639, Hanzel 
winning by two votes. Thus Hanzel was twice declar- 
ed Mayor of Antigo in two days. 

During the summer of 1920 important street im- 
provements were made in Antigo. Fifth Avenue and 
the Westrumite paving on Clermont Street were re- 
paired at once. A new gyratory stone crusher was 
purchased to replace the old stone crusher which had 
been in service since 1907. 

May 4, 1920, Attorney R. C. Dempsey was chosen 
City Attorney, G. 0. Palmiter, City Clerk and Vice- 
Mayor, and Frank Dvorak, City Treasurer. Lyman 
A. Steffen was made City Physician and City Health 
Officer. T. T. McGillan and M. T. Canfield were mads 
members of the Park and Cemetery Board. All banks 
of the city were made city depositories. During the 
same month nine new wells were completed and add- 
ed to the municipal water works. 

An extensive program of water main and sewer 
construction was carried out. During 1920 and 1921 
thirteen thousand feet of water mains were laid. Dur- 
ing the same time ore mile of sanitary sewers were 
laid annually. Two miles of storm sewers were laid 
under the supervision of Harry W. Jackson, Superin- 
tendent of the Water Department, during this admin- 
istration. 

June, 1920, an audit of the city's books was made 
by an auditor from the Wisconsin Tax ComTiission at 
the request of the city, to give the public a state- 
ment as to the actual financial condition of the city. 

In November, 1921, in accordance with a plank in 
his platform or a promise to the electorate, 
Mayor Hanzel selected his unofficial Advisory 
Board. The twelve citizens chosen were 

A. K. Potter, Francis Brush, R. J. McQuillan, 
Peter J. Dunn, Al. Duchac, Wm. H. Wol- 
pert, John Hessel, W. W. Smith, 0. P. Walch, Walter 
Daskam, Edward McCandless, and James A. Cody. 
The first meeting of the Advisory Board was held on 
May 6, 1921. 

An outstanding event in the administration was 
the fight for the ornamental lighting of Fifth Avenue. 



The proposed white way was endorsed by the Advis- 
ory Board on August 8, 1921. The contract, calling 
for 46 single standards, with one light, was awarded 
to the Freeman-Sweet Company of Chicago, 111., on 
September 27, 1921, for $9,210. Fifth Avenue was 
lighted with the white way for the first time at eight 
o'clock, Saturday evening, December 10, 1921. The 
lights were turned on by little Elizabeth Berner, 
daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred L. Berner. 

Among other achievements of the Hanzel admin- 
istration thus far have been the creation of a Poor 
Commission in Antigo. Mrs. H. V. Mills was select- 
ed Poor Commissioner in December, 1921 ; the addi- 
tion of one man on the police force, the establish- 
ment of a desk sergeant, which was approved by the 
Police and Fire Commission in November, 1920; the 
licensing of all Antigo liveries, according to an ordi- 
nance passed on June 16, 1920; the great July 4th, 
1920, celebration, in which Mayor Hanzel unveiled a 
bronze tablet at the Antigo Armory; extensive im- 
provements in the City Hall; passed a resolution, 
January 12, 1921, whereby a new fire department will 
be constructed, the present one to be turned into a 
rest room, in accordance with state law; laid thirty 
thousand feet of curb and gutter in 1921-22, or more 
curb and gutter in the city than any other admin- 
istration, and, among other things, assumed care of 
the old cemetery on April 19, 1922. 

At a meeting of the Association of Commerce April 
19, 1922, the paving of Fifth Avenue was endors- 
ed. The next day the Advisory Board of the Mayor 
unanimously endorsed the proposed paving of Fifth 
Avenue. 

The contract for the paving of Fifth Avenue from 
Superior Street to Lincoln Street, Edison Street from 
Sixth Avenue to Fourth Avenue, Clermont Street from 
Seventh to Fourth Avenue, and Superior Street from 
Sixth to Fifth Avenue, was awarded to the F. P. 
Coughlin Co., Chicago, 111., at approximately $81,000. 
This is the most extensive program of street improve- 
ment inaugurated in Antigo. 

Mayor Hanzel became a Democrat candidate for 
Congress from the Ninth Congressional District, his 
announcement being made on April 22, 1922. He is 
the second Antigo man to be nominated for that office 
from this district, the other being Hon. Thomas W. 
Lynch, who was elected in 1892, the first Democrat 
ever accorded that honor in the Ninth Wisconsin Dis- 
trict. 



144 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXVI. 

Newspapers of New and Langlade Counties 

New County Republican of 1879 — First Publication — Langlade Republican — Woodland Homes — 
The Weekly News Item — Langlade County Special — The Pioneer — The Antigo Forward — The 
Antigo Herold — Antigo Republican — The Antigo Journal — Antigo Daily Journal — Farmers 
Journal — The Antigo Banner — Antigo Herald — Newspaper Changes — Press Associations — 
School Publications — Directories. 



The first attempt to publish a newspaper of the pres- 
ent type was made in 1615. Seven years later The 
Weekly News was started in England. The first 
American newspaper was issued in Massachusetts in 
1690 and was called "Publick Occurrences." It dis- 
pleased the government and was supressed. The first 
Wisconsin newspaper, "The Intelligencer" was issued 
from Green Bay in 1833. 

The first newspaper established in Langlade (New) 
County was in 1879 and was called the New County 
Republican. The first issue appeared January 3, 1880. 
George Ratcliffe, owner and editor, came to Antigo 
from Clintonville, where he had edited The Clinton- 
ville Herald. 

When the legislature changed the name of New 
County to Langlade County the paper became The 
Langlade Republican. In 1884, The Langlade Re- 
publican was changed to The Forward with the issue 
of August 14th. George Ratcliffe was then editor, 
Gus Lind was the publisher and Ira C. Edwards was 
business manager. In 1886, The Forward was taken 
over by C. A. Martin, a brother of Attorney J. E. Mar- 
tin of Antigo. The same year John A. Ogden pur- 
chased The Forward from C. A. Martin and changed 
the name to 

THE ANTIGO REPUBLICAN. 

John A. Ogden edited The Antigo Republican until 
August, 1899, when he sold the plant and paper to C. 
0. Marsh. Mr. Marsh published and edited the An- 
tigo Republican until 1906, when it was sold to a cor- 
poration called the Republican Publishing Company. 
During that time it was managed by Messrs. Hopkins 
and Loper, C. A. Stedman and John T. Brown. In 
1912, The Republican Publishing Company sold the 
paper to Berner Brothers Publishing Company, owners 
of the Antigo Daily Journal. The Antigo Republican 
was then discontinued. Thus ended the career of the 
first newspaper that sought the home of the pioneer 
by path, trail and blazed guide lines, telling them of 
the great strides of the future. 

THE ANTIGO PIONEER. 

The Antigo Pioneer, established May 8, 1884, was 
published every Thursday. The Pioneer was publish- 
ed by Henry Berner, Sr., and edited by Hugo Grosser, 
who came here from Manitowoc. The Pioneer was 
a German language weekly, five column quarto, half 



patent. It was moved to Shawano before the end of 
1884 and continued to be published there under a new 
name. The Pioneer was Democrat in politics. 

THE WEEKLY NEWS ITEM. 

The Weekly News Item was established by Arthur 
B. and Paul J. Millard, August 12, 1882. They came 
to Antigo from Wausau. The paper was located orig- 
inally on Fifth Avenue near the railroad track (M. L. 
S. & W.) in a small building, previously used by Peter 
Dolan, saloonkeeper. The News Item later moved in- 
to the Spencer House building, the present site of the 
Hill building, intersection of Fifth Avenue and Edison 
Street. It was next located in the second story of the 
structure now occupied by the H. A. Kohl Hardware 
Company on Superior Street. 

In 1884, The Millard Brothers moved to their own 
building erected on Superior street (now the Mrs. A. 
R. Winter buildirg). The paper occupied that loca- 
tion until 1898, when it was then sold jointly to John A. 
Ogden, owner of The Antigo Republican and W. H. 
Dawley, then proprietor of The Langlade County Spe- 
cial. The Special assumed the good will of The News 
Item. A division of the material and machinery was 
made by the two papers. Paul J. Millard severed his 
connections with the News Item when he was appoint- 
ed Postmaster in 1893. 

When the News Item was taken over by Mr. Dawley 
it was published from the Fidelity Bank Building (then 
known as Dawley Building) and for many years up to 
1918 it was issued from that place. It was then mov- 
ed to 521 Clermont Street, where it is still issued. W. 
H. Dawley is sole proprietor and editor. 

THE JOURNAL— WEEKLY— DAILY. 

In September, 1898, J. H. Fitzgibbons moved to 
Antigo from Neenah and started publishing a weekly 
Democratic paper, called The Journal, in the basement 
of the First National Bank building. It was not suc- 
cessful and was taken over by George W. Hill. Fitz- 
gibbons moved to Mattoon, Wis. It was purchased 
in 1901 by Berner Brothers who returned to Antigo 
from Columbia County, where they operated a news- 
paper plant, and moved from the First National Bank 
building to the Journal building on Superior street. It 
was edited weekly until Sept. 18, 1904, when the first 
issue of The Antigo Daily Journal, Langlade County's 
first and only permanent daily newspaper, appeared. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



145 



Fred L. Berner is Editor, Earl S. Holman, City Editor, 
Henry Berner is Business Manager and Otto F. Berner 
is Advertising Manager of the Antigo Daily Journal. 
Berner Brothers also publish two weekly papers, The 
Farmers Journal and The Antigo Journal. The Jour- 
nal is Republican in politics. 

FIRST DAILY ISSUED. 

The first daily newspaper issued in Langlade Coun- 
ty was during the 14th Wisconsin Regiment re-union 
at Antigo in June, 1902. The Berner Brothers Pub- 
lishing Company issued the Journal daily for three 
days in recognition of the event. 

"OUR PAROCHIAL SCHOOLS." 

March 1, 1887, a Catholic Journal, eight pages, all 
home print, was inaugurated at Phlox, Norwood town- 
ship by Rev. Father Philip St. Louis. It was named 
"Our Parochial Schools." Its service to the communi- 
ty was such that it soon ceased to be a school paper 
and became instead a community newspaper. It was 
originally published monthly, then semi-monthly. 
Father St. Louis changed the name in 1890, after its 
growth from the denomination to the broader non- 
sectarian field to The Langlade County Special. 

THE LANGLADE COUNTY SPECIAL. 

The Langlade County Special was originally owned 
by Father Philip St. Louis of Phlox, who had as an 
associate John Menting. In 1891, John Menting, 
Thomas W. Hogan, Sam Leslie and Thomas Ward pur- 
chased the Special and its good will from Father St. 
Louis. In the year previous, 1890, The Special was 
moved to Antigo from Phlox, locating on the site of 
the Neff-Roberts building. It was later moved to the 
Lynch building, now the site of Nolte's Shoe Store. In 
1892, W. H. Dawley, purchased Thomas Hogan's in- 
terest and he forwith published The Special until 
August 13, 1898, when it was merged with The Week- 
ly News Item. 

THE ANTIGO HEROLD. 

The Antigo Herold, a German language publication, 
was published first in October, 1888, by Edward Goe- 
bel. Mr. Goebel came to Antigo from Appleton, where 
he had edited the Appleton Weiker. The Herold 
was published continually by Mr. Goebel until Decem- 
ber 5, 1919, when the name and good will of The 
Herold together with the mailing list was sold to the 
Langlade Printing Company. Mr. Goebel then began 
editing The Antigo Banner, serving the same sub- 
scribers as did The Herold. The Antigo Banner is 
still edited weekly in the German language. Both The 
Herold and The Banner are Democratic. 

THE ANTIGO HERALD. 

The Antigo Herald, as an English language publica- 
tion, was launched December 5, 1919. The Antigo 



Herold, German language weklyv was purchased by 
W. F. Kasson and Will C. Brawley, proprietors of The 
Langlade Printing Company. The Herald is a six 
column well edited paper published every Friday. 
Will C. Brawley is editor. It is located in the Lang- 
lade Bank building. The Herald i^ Democratic in 
politics. A job department is operated in connection 
with the paper. 

ANTIGO HIGH SCHOOL PAPERS. 

Three Antigo High School papers have been known 
to exist. The first, "The Antigo High School Mer- 
cury" was published in 1896 and continued until 1898. 
It was a monthly publication. 

The Scrap Heap was first edited by the class of 
1915, during the year 1914. It continued to be pub- 
lished by the Junior Class each year until 1918, when 
it was abandoned. It started out as a monthly but 
was afterwards published twice a month. 

The Astonisher, high school paper, made its first ap- 
pearance in May, 1921, and is published by the stu- 
dents of all classes in high school. 

"THE GRADUATE"— ANNUAL. 

"The Graduate," annual published review of high 
school activities, is the product of the Senior Cass. 
The first Graduate was published in 1909. 

CITY AND COUNTY ADVERTISING. 

The City of Antigo has been advertised frequently 
in well edited pamphlets and folders, the last of which 
was published in 1922. County progress was featur- 
ed also. 

OTHER PUBLICATIONS. 

Antigo is the publishing location of The Beaver, of- 
ficial organ of the Beavers Reserve Fund Fraternity, 
The Clippings, house organ of the Langlade Lumber 
Company land department, the Langlade County Nor- 
mal bulletin and the Outlook, Episcopalian pamphlet. 
The Antigo Publishing Company, for years managed 
by the late Rev. A. Grimm, publish booklets and 
pamphlets in German. 

"WOODLAND HOMES." 

In January, 1884, F. A. Deleglise and W. W. Hutch- 
inson, prominent early pioneers and real estate dealers, 
began publishing a pamphlet boosting Antigo. It was 
called Woodland Homes. Its foreign circulation was 
extensive. 

FIRST CITY DIRECTORY. 

The first City Directory was published in Antigo by 
the Inter-state Directory Company. The directory 
contained approximately fourteen hundred names. It 
appeared in 1898. Fred L. Berner and Frank Doner 
were the canvassers who gathered the data. The last 



146 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



It 



city and county directory was published in 1920. 
contained approximately ten thousand names. 

A NEWSPAPER OUTRAGE. 



On January 19, 1899, the mechanical departments of 
the Antigo Republican, The Harold and the News Item 
were broken into and type was piled up in a promiscu- 
ous and chaotic state. Forms, jobs and advertise- 
ments were "pi heaped." The Herold, where the cur- 
rent edition was ready for mailing, was thrown into 
Springbrook. The motive or the culprits were nev- 
er apprehended. The papers charged the Journal, ri- 
val publication, then owned by J. H. Fitzgibbons, and 
some of The Journal's "close friends" as the instiga- 
tors of the deed. 

GERMAN PRESS ASSOCIATION. 

The Wisconsin German Press Association convened 
in Antigo Friday, Saturday and Sunday, August 19, 
20 and 21, 1892. The following is a brief outline of 
the program: Reception at the trains; meetings at 
Marmes' Hall ; Address of Welcome by Mayor C. F. 
Smith; Response by President A. Wittman of the As- 
sociation. This was followed by a social meeting. 
Saturday, the German editors inspected the mills and 
business districts, journeyed to the Eau Claire River 
(not in automobiles) and on Sunday, the day was spent 
at Sylvian Lake, now known as Mueller's Lake. 

THE WISCONSIN PRESS ASSOCIATION. 
1885-1921. 

The Wisconsin Press Association visited Antigo and 
Langlade County, first in 1885, also in 1888, and again 
in 1921. They gathered here on Aug. 13, 1835. Many of 
the editors present then were either at that time well 
known figures in Wisconsin and the nation or became 
prominent afterward. Chase S. Osborn, then editor 



of the Florence Mining News, was in Antigo. He lat- 
er became Governor of Michigan. Wm. "Bill" Nye, 
W. C. Hoard, one time Wisconsin Governor, Col. J. A. 
Watrous, of the old Iron Brigade, Hon. Frank Leland, 
Sam Ryan, Hon. E. Hurlbut, J. C. Bartholf and others 
were present. Mayor Thomas W. Lynch welcomed 
the editors to the little city. J. C. Lewis, George Rat- 
cliffe, Millard Brothers, were Antigo leaders, who took 
part in the entertainment. 

The praise and publicity given Antigo, then a little 
city of less than three thousand, did much to aid its fu- 
ture progress. 

Thirty six years later the Wisconsin Press Associa- 
tion again visited Antigo, July 26, 1921. The party 
arrived here from Laona, Wis., July 25, 1921. The 
following day a program was given at Elcho, Wis., and 
at the Antigo Armory. Charles W. Fish, Elcho lum- 
berman feted the editors at Muskie Inn, E'.cho, Wis. 
A wonderful opportunity to view the developed and 
raw resources of the county was given the visitors. 
A program presided over by Judge Arthur Goodrick 
was given in the Antigo Armory in the evening. J. R. 
McQuillan and L. A. Maier were General Chairman 
and Secretary of the reception committee. John A. 
Kuyper, President of the Association, responded to the 
address of welcome by Mayor Charles J. Hanzel. 
Toasts were given by: Walter Gallon, President of the 
Association of Commerce; Will C. Brawley, of The 
Antigo Herald; Bert E. Walters of the Reedsburg 
Times; D. C. Menefee of the Vilas County Review; 
Louis H. Zimmerman, Secretary of the Wisconsin 
Press; Fred L. Berner of the Antigo Daily Journal; 
Robert M. Dessureau of The Antigo Herald; Merlin 
Hull, ex-Secretary of State; Henry C. Campbell, of 
the Milwaukee Journal; Dr. I. D. Steffen, ex-Mayor of 
Antigo. Louis A. Maier introduced the "Antigo 
Mushroom" typical oldtime weekly newspaper, copy 
for which was "set up" on the Armory rostrum during 
the banquet. The meeting at Antigo ended a week 
motor excursion through northern Wisconsin. 




I 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



147 



CHAPTER XXVII. 
The Antigo Post Office 

First Established — Early Receipts — First Postmaster — Rural Routes — Old Locations — Postal Sav- 



ings Banks- 



-Postmasters — New Post Office. 



Mail was carried through Eastern Langlade County 
over the old Lake Superior Trail twenty years before 
the location of the first Post Office. This was long be- 
fore Langlade County was organized as the County of 
New, and when it was a vast wilderness stretching 
north to Lac Vieux Desert, and the State Line region 
known as part of Oconto County. Before the govern- 
ment survey in 1860, there was a mail station in section 
17, Township 33, Range 13 East, of the present limits 
of Langlade County. This statement is substan- 
tiated by the U. S. field notes of Langlade County. 



Building, now known as the Fidelity Bank Building on 
Fifth Avenue, W. H. Dawley, acting as Postmaster 
from August 20, 1885 to August 17, 1889. In 1889, the 
Post Office was moved to the same frame building as 
used in 1885, W. H. Blinn, acting as Postmaster from 
August, 1889 to April 23, 1893. The Post Office re- 
mained there until 1897, when it was moved to the 
frame structure south of the Fidelity Bank Building on 
the west side of Clermont Street. From April 24, 
1893 to June 30, 1897, P. J. Millard acted as Postmas- 
ter. P. J. Millard was succeeded by Fred W. Kiefer. 




THE .ANTIGO POST OFFICE 
Erected in 1111.5 at a cost of $(50,000.00. 



The first Post Office was established in the old log 
store of Neils Anderson, three years after the arrival 
of F. A. Deleglise in Antigo. The system of caring 
for mail then was much different than it is today, when 
Postmaster, Postal Clerk, Rural Carriers, City Carriers, 
Parcel Post Departments, Money Order Departments, 
Postal Savings Departments and Stamp Departments 
labor incessantly from day to day. 

Neils Anderson was officially selected as the first 
Postmaster on April 1, 1879, and served until August 
17, 1882. On August 18, 1882, Henry Smith was ap- 
pointed Postmaster, and at that time the Post Office 
was moved to the frame building of Henry Smith, 
where he conducted a drug store at the corner of Fifth 
Avenue and Superior Street. This frame structure 
served as federal headquarters until 1885, when the 
Postoffice was moved to the west room of the Dawley 



who served from July 1, 1897 to July 20, 1901. The 
Post Office was then moved to the MoUe Building on 
F'ifth Ave., Edward Cleary serving as Postmaster from 
July 21, 1901 to July 30, 1910. From August 1, 1910 
to Feb. 23, 1915, Richard Koebke acted as Postmaster. 
On Feb. 24, 1915, Richard Koebke was succeeded by 
Edward Cody, who is still serving. The site of the 
present Post Office was purchased from the Antigo 
Canning Co., June 30, 1911, for $8,250.00. The Post 
Office building was erected in 1915 at a cost of $60,- 
000.00, by W. D. Lovewell, Minneapolis, Minnesota. 
F. W. Thomas was superintendent. Sydney Chaplin 
acted as government superintendent of construction. 
Edward Cody was the first Postmaster and property 
custodian of the new federal building. 

City free delivery was instituted November 1, 1903, 
after Postmaster Edward Cleary had reported receipts 



148 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



in excess of $10,000.00. There were then three dis- 
tricts and the city was served by the following, the 
first mail carriers : Emmon J. Badger, Roy G. Lyons 
and Fred C. Brooks. 

Rural Free Delivery was commenced November 1, 
1893, with three routes in the county. The first car- 
riers of these routes were: A. B. Hanks, George H. 
Hoffman and William Case. The rural mail service 



lished throughout the world and has met with growing 
sentiment everywhere in the United States, was es- 
tablished in Antigo in June, 1911. The first year's 
receipts were $415.90. Gene Palmer, a mail carrier, 
was the first depositor. 

Mail was carried from Wausau to Springbrook by 
private carriers before July, 18S0, when the first gov- 
ernment contract was let. John Doerish operated the 




NEILS AXDERSOX 
Antigo's first postmaster, who was appointed April 



I. 1ST9 by President Rutlierford B. Hayes. 
.\nderson was also the first .'\ntigo merchant. 



Mr. 



has proven a great service to the Langlade County 
farmers and the isolated communities springing up in 
the more remote sections of the county. It has put 
the settler, living in the sparsely settled regions, in 
constant touch with the outside world, bringing to his 
door pictorial news, the metropolitan daily newspaper, 
election returns almost instantaneously and has been 
an unsurpassed convenience to the farmer. 

The Star Routes, with the exception cf the Antigo to 
Elton and return route, have been abandoned. Rural 
Free Delivery meant the discontinuance of many old 
post offices within the boundary of the county as it 
eliminated their necessity. 

The receipts of the Antigo Post Office for ten year 
periods since 1890 are: 1890— $5,271.73; 1900— $8,- 
157.68; 1910— $19,783.20; 1920— $34,967.48. 

The Postal Saving System, which has been estab- 



first stage line out of Antigo. 

Edward Cody, the present Postmaster, is assisted by 
the following: P. J. Millard, Assistant Postmaster and 
O. C. Bardwell, Miss Lily Ladwig, Glen Millard, F. A. 
Kolerus, Walter A. Betters and William Kuhr. 

The City Mail Carriers are : Willis Wheeler, Eu- 
gene Palmer, Jos. Rath, Max Lyons, Emil Cherf and 
Jos. Feil. 

The rural mail carriers are: Martin Fishback on 
Route No. 1, William McGregor on Route No. 2, John 
Feller on Route No. 3, S. B. Kendall on Route No. 4, 
and Frank Ferdon on Route No. 5. 

The estimates and proposals for the erection of the 
Antigo Post Office were made during the terms of for- 
mer Congressmen E. A. Morse and Thomas F. Konop, 
of the now Ninth Wisconsin Congressional Distrcit. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



149 



CHAPTER XXVIII. 
Antigo Churches 

Congregational — Methodist — St. John's — Seven Day Adventists — St. Mary's Church — Unity Evan- 
gelical — St. Hyacinth Church — Peace Evangelical — First Baptist — Episcopal — Christian Science 
— Zion Evangelical — Kahaal Adaas Yesiu. 



There can be no law without a lawmaker. The 
finite mind of man cannot explain the phenomena of 
nature about him. Knowing that system, general or- 
der and law, which governs nature, prevail, men of 
every race believe in some supreme being. 

The advent of Christianity into Langlade County is 
co-temporary with its first settlements. As early as 
June, 1878, when Langlade County was a forest prime- 
val, the Rev. Jesse Cole, a Methodist Episcopal preach- 
er, drove through the Twin Valley townships and stop- 
ped in the little forest group of cabins, preaching the 



tary of State, June 26, 1882, by L. W. Bliss, 
W. H. Wheeler and B. F. Dorr. The church 
was erected on the present location and was 
dedicated on September 9, 1883. The dedica- 

tory sermon was delivered by the Rev. J. D. 
WiUard of Appleton. The church has been remodel- 
ed and an addition placed on the south end since. 
Pastors thus far have been: Rev. A. D. Adams, Dea- 
con J. Tibbits, Rev. Henry Ketchum, Rev. C. C. Camp- 
hell, Rev. William Pease, Rev. P. H. Ralph, Rev. Jesse 
Sarles, Rev. William Reese Dixon. 




THE FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH 
Established in Antigo in 1883 by L. W. Bliss, W . II. Wheeler, and 



B. F. Dorr. 



gospel from the door of Baker's shanty. Rev. Cole 
had been through the vicinity in 1877 and prayed with 
a party of landseekers on the banks of the Spring 
Brook, which was then bordered with giant forest 
trees. Rev. Phillip St. Louis, born April 15, 1848, at 
Little Chute, Wisconsin, made a visit to Phlox in 
1879. Much of his journeys from Menasha to Phlox 
and Antigo, his mission villages, were made afoot. 
The first established church in Langlade County was 
erected in Phlox, Norwood township in 1881.^ 

CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Articles of Incorporation of the First Congregation- 
al Church of Antigo were filed with the Secre- 

1. In 1830 mass was celebrated in F. A. Deleglise's log cabin, now 
preserved on the library grounds. Many Antigo settlers attended 
mass in the old cabin. 



In the summer of 1915, the interior of the church 
was refinished. A handsome pipe organ was install- 
ed at that time also. The parsonage is just south of 
the church and is a two story frame structure. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church was erected in 
1883 and on June 24, 1883, the Rev. E. L. Eaton, of 
Madison, dedicated the edifice. A parsonage was 
erected in 1895, when the second M. E. Church was 
erected. The Methodist church was then built in its 
present location. The present parsonage was erected 
during the pastorship of the Rev. W. A. Hall. The first 
M. E. Church is now used as the Polish Catholic 
Church. 



150 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Pastors and the date of service at the Methodist 
Episcopal Church are: Rev. Patrick Burke, 1881; Rev. 
Perry Miller, 1882-1885; J. J. Foot, 1885-1886; Rev. 
John Willis, 1886-1887; Rev. F. Howarth, 1887-1889; 
Rev. J. B. Beadle, 1889-1890; Rev. J. D. Kenestrick, 



In 1909 a pipe organ -was installed and the interior 
of the church was completely renovated. 

UNITY EVANGELICAL CHURCH. 
The Unity Evangelical Church was organized on Dec. 




THE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH 

The first M. E. Church in Antigo was on Third Avenue, across from the 

Court House, and is now St. Hyacinth's Polish Catholic Church. 



1890-1892; Rev. Henry Dueker, 1892-1893; Rev. T. 
E. Williams, 1893-1896; Rev. W. A. Peterson, 1896- 
1901; Rev. F. A. Nimits, 1901-1904; W. A. Hall, 1904- 
1909; Rev. James Churm, 1909-1911; Rev. M. L. 



25, 1890. Charter members were : Messrs. Herman 
Laehn, Gustav Ulrich, William Kupper, Theodore 
Kupper, Edward Grabowski, Herman Meyer, Gottlieb 
Erni, William Oldenberg, Jacob Kunz, Henrich Boldt, 




i 



THE UXITV E\AXGELICAL CHURCH 
The present edifice has been in charge of Rev. Carl Xagel since July 1. 190S, 
church was organized in December ISOO with eighteen charter members. 
The parsonage and church hall are shown in this picture. 



The 



Eversz 1911-1916; Rev. S. J. Tink, 1916-1921; Rev. O. 
D. Cannon, 1921-1922, 



Adolph Stahl, Herman Schlundt, Wilhelm Brennecke, 
Heinrich Brennecke, Carl Brennecke, Louis Krueger, 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



151 



Fredrick Kaske and Phillip Wessa. The new church 
took for its name "Deutsche Evangelische Einigkeits 
Geminde" or Unity Evangelical Church. The first 



sonage is separated from the church by the old par- 
sonage, now used as the Unity Church Hall. Pastor 
Carl Nagel has been in charge of the church since July 




.ST. JOHN'S CHURCH 

L-cted in ISS4 after the original St. John's Churcli had hnrned on 
Septoinber 2. 1883. Dean Conral .Saile has been in charge of 
St. John's Churcli since Alay. 18(i:i. 



church was a small frame structure. This was fol- 
lowed by the present edifice, a splendid brick build- 



1, 1908. Pastors of the Unity Church thus far have 
been: Rev. August Jennrich, Rev. Benedict Schori, 





ST. M.ARY'S C.\THOLIC CHURCH 

Erected In Antigo in September, 1S)01. Rev. Father Frank 

Kohler was the first priest in charge. 

ing, which was completed in 1897. The present mem- 
bership is 97. 

The Parsonage of the church was built in 1907. C. 
F. Dallman was architect and contractor. The par- 



ST. HV.ACIXTH'S CATHOLIC CHURCH 

^\■hich was established in 1805. It was originally the 

M. E. Church of Antigo. 

Rev. Rudolf Zielinski, Rev. Hermann Retter, Rev. H. 
E. Blum, Rev. 0. Gilbert, Rev. F. C. Kuether, Rev. Carl 
Nagel, present pastor. 

ST. JOHN'S CHURCH. 

On May 2, 1880, Rev. Father St. Louis said Mass in 
the humble log dwelling of Frank A. Deleglise, pioneer 
and founder of Antigo. Father St. Louis nurtured his 
Antigo mission from Phlox, with a spiritual eye until 
in 1882, the Catholic population increased such in An- 



152 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



tigo that a church was erected, completion of same 
being in 1882. Rev. Peter Lockman succeeded Father 
St. Louis. He was succeeded by Rev. Father John 
Seubert, under whose administration the present edi- 
fice was begun in 1884, the first church having burned 
to the ground on September 2, 1883. The first resi- 
dent pastor was Rev. A. N. Buschle, who came to An- 
tigo in 1885. He was followed in 1886 by Father Wil- 
liam Takken and during his first services in Antigo, the 
St. John's church was completed. The parsonage was 
also erected in 1886. Father Takken died May 5, 
1893, and was succeeded by Rev. Father Conrad Saile 
of Wilkesbarre, Pa. Father Saile has proven a 
worthy successor to Father Takken. During the thir- 
ty years that Father Saile has been in charge of St. 
John's congregation he has seen it progress to such 




TIIK l'i:.\Ll-: I-:\A.\(,KLICAL lA'THER.-XX CHrRClI 

Erected in 1'.I02 at a cost of $r.,000.00. 

The o](i frame church, now used as a parochial school, 

can be seen at the right.. 

extent that the present edifice is no longer capable of 
caring for the large congregation, and funds are now 
being raised for a new church. 

ST. MARY'S CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

St. Mary's Catholic Church located at the inter- 
section of Lincoln Street and Third Avenue, was erect- 
ed in September, 1901. The approximate cost of 
erecting the edifice was $10,000.00. The first priest 
was the Rev. Father Frank Kohler, who v/as followed 
by the Rev. Father Emanuel Kobat. He passed away 
while at this charge and was succeeded by the Rev. 
Father J. G. Vorlichek, who is still in charge of the 
parish. 

The St. Mary's Parsonage was erected in 1904, dur-, 
ing the pastorship of Father Kobat. 



ST. HYACINTH'S CHURCH. 

The parish of the St. Hyacinth Church was es- 
tablished on May 1, 1895. The Rev. L. Starostzick 
was the first appointed Pastor. He was succeeded by 
the Rev. Father Bieniarz, who, as assistant to the Rev. 
Father C. F. Saile, organized St. Hyacinth's church. 
Catholic organizations connected with the church are: 
St. Stanislaus Kostke Society, St. Hyacinth's Society 
and Holy Rosary Confraternity. Pastors serving the 
congregation thus far have been : Rev. L. Starostzick, 
1895; Rev. J. C. Bieniarz, 1895-1899; Rev. Quirinas 
Zielinski, 1899-1907; Rev. Lad. V. Stefaniak, 1907- 
1912; Rev. S. A. Warzynski, 1912-1916; Rev. T. Mal- 
kowski, 1916-1919; Rev. V. Pruc, 1919-1921; Rev. P. 
Sokol, 1921, who was succeeded in September, 1922 
by Rev. Fr. Bemowski. 

PEACE EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH. 

In 1883 the Rev. C. Purzner came to Antigo and or- 
ganized from the little band of Lutherans in the vil- 
lage, the Peace Evangelical Lutheran Church. He 
conducted services in private residences. Rev. Purz- 
ner was followed in 1884 by the Rev. H. Daib, under 
whose pastorate much progress was made. In 1887, 
the first frame edifice was erected. The resolution 
calling for a structure 26x40 was adopted by the con- 
gregation in April, 1887. The first church served 
until 1902, when the present church was erected at 
a cost of approximately $5,000.00. The church was 
dedicated October 19, 1902, with services conducted 
by Rev. F. L. Karth of Synco, Rev. 0. List of Witten- 
berg and Rev. John Ebert of Birnamwood. The lat- 
ter directed a sacred concert during the evening dedi- 
catory services. The building committee consisted of 
Carl Fuss, Ferdinand Ebert and Joseph Hensel. The 
architect was A. F. Gruenhagen of Oshkosh, Wis. 

The first parsonage was erected on Eighth Avenue, 
west of the church. In November, 1919, the present 
parsonage was purchased at a price of $5,000.00. 

The Pipe Organ was installed in the church August 
1, 1915, at a cost of $2,600.00. Dedicatory services 
were conducted by Rev. E. Englebert of Birnamwood, 
while an organ recital was given by Prof. H. M. Hahn 
of Fort Wayne, Indiana. 

Pastors of the church have been: Rev. C. Purzner, 
1883-1884; Rev. H. Diab, 1884-1889; Rev. P. Cuechke, 
1889; Rev. A. Grimm, 1891-1919; Rev. 0. Neuman, 
August, 1919-1922. Rev. Neuman was in Antigo as a 
student in 1901-1903. The Peace Evangelical Luth- 
eran Church is located at the corner of Eighth Avenue 
and Lincoln Street. 

FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH. 

The First Baptist Church Society of Antigo was or- 
ganized in May, 1883. The first meeting of the so- 
ciety was held at the old county court house. The peo- 
ple of the Baptist faith held their first services in the 
old Fourth Ward School, the Odd Fellows, Good Tem- 
plars Hall, and the old Herman Hall, until the pres- 
ent church was erected. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



153 



The Baptist church was dedicated on March 17, 1887, 
during the pastorate of the Rev. J. Staley. The 
church cost $5,008.73. It was completely remodeled 
in 1919, a stone foundation and a basement dining 
room being added. Pastors of the Baptist Church were 
as follows : Rev. W. L. Cook, Rev. J. J. Staley, Rev. 
A. C. Brown, Rev. J. H. Fairchild, Rev. Brinsted, Rev. 
Theo. Hansen, Rev. Jos. Malley, Rev. Hansen, 
Rev. Arthur Irving, Rev. Charles La Reau, Rev. N. F. 




THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH 
Which was dedicated in 1887. The church was complete- 
ly remodeled in 191i). The Baptist Church has been 
organized in Antigo since May, 1883. 

Clark, Rev. A. C. Watts, Rev. David Alexander, Rev. 
H. C. Carnell and Rev. F. L. Holden, who is in charge 
at the present time. 

ZION EVANGELICAL CHURCH. 

The Zion Evangelical Church was organized in An- 
tigo on May 19, 1888. The organizers were: Rev. M. 
Ganeche, Fred Miller, John Walch, Fred Boettcher 
and Ferdinand Bothie. The church is located at the 
intersection of Seventh Avenue and Edison Street. 
The congregation has no resident pastor, a student pas- 
tor coming from Appleton to preach each Sunday. Rec- 
ords as to when permanent pastors were here are not 
to be found. 



EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

On January 3, 1883, the Rev. Brown, made a visit to 
Antigo and conducted Episcopal services. The Rev. 
Fathers 0. S. Prescott and L. D. Hopkins visited An- 
tigo during 1887 to 1890, inclusive. Rev. 
W. R. Gardner, D. D., visited Antigo on Octo- 
ber 11, 1883 and conducted Episcopal serv- 
ices in the present Polish Catholic Church. In 
1885, the Rev. J. Jameson held services in a hall lo- 
cated on the southeast corner of Superior Street and 
Fifth Avenue. The Right Rev. Hobart Brown con- 
ducted his first services in Antigo in the Odd Fellows 
Hall. This was January 3, 1886. 




THE ZION EVANGELICAL CHURCH 

The Zion Evangelical Church Congregation was organized 

in 1888. The church is located on Seventh 

Avenue at Edison Street. 

The first church was a frame structure located on 
Milton Street near the present resider.ee of Dr. C. B. 
Baker. The church was moved from its first location 
to the corner of Sixth Avenue and Clermont Street. The 
Episcopal church was called St. Joseph's until 1908, 
when the name was changed to St. Ambrose. 

The present St. Ambrose Church was built by con- 
tractor J. W. Otis and completed July 14, 1908 at a cost 
of $10,748.00. The corner stone was laid amid im- 
pressive ceremonies under the auspices of the Grand 
Lodge K. of P. on August 18, 1908, with Bishop Coad- 
jutor Weller of Fond du Lac as the guest of honor. St. 
Ambrose Church is built of hard head granite in fif- 
teenth century architectural design. 

The Vicarage was erected in 1907. Vicars of the 
church were : Rev. J. Jameison, 1886-1887 ; Rev. Alfred 
W. Griffen, 1890-1891; Rev. L. C. Birch, 1894-1897; 
Rev. R. G. Osborne, 1899; Rev. L. Moran, 1900; Rev. 
Geo. H. Kesselhuth, 1904-1905; Rev. J. Boyd Coxe, 
1905; Rev. W. L. Williams, 1906-1907; Rev. Fred W. 
Allen, 1907-1908; Rev. Arthur Searing Peck, 1908- 
1909; Rev. R. Johnston Campbell, 1909; Rev. Alfred 



154 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



W. Griffen, 1909-1913; Rev. Cuthbert F. Hinton, 1913- 
1918; Rev. J. J. Crawford, 1918-1919 and Rev. Le Roy 
Jahn, 1920-1922, who is in charge at the present time. 

The old church is now used as a Guild Hall and is 
just west of the Vicarage. 

CHRISTIAN SCIENCE (EDDY) CHURCH. 

The Christian Science religion was founded by Mary 
Baker-Eddy, who was born in New Hampshire in 1821 
and died in 1910 at Boston, Mass. The first church 
was established by her in 1879. 

The Christian Scientists belief was brought to An- 
tigo by E. R. Horn. The first church was organized 



meetings in the Odd Fellows Hall before the erection 
of their new edifice at the corner of Superior Street and 
Seventh Avenue on the site of the old Fred Herman 
Planing Mill of pioneer Antigo history. The church 
was formally opened Dec. 13, 1921. 

SEVEN DAY ADVENTISTS. 

The Seven Day Adventists, while a small congrega- 
tion, is one of the oldest religious organizations in An- 
tigo. Elder Charles Herman, the first Sheriff of 
Langlade County, erected the first Seven Day Adven- 
tist Church, corner of Eighth Avenue and Superior 
Street. It is still standing. The edifice was sold to 




THE EPISCOP.\L CHURCH 
Xow ill charge of Rev. LeRoy .\. Jahn, was erected by 



1. W. Otis 



in I'.IOS. 



in Antigo in January, 1895. The original members 
of the church were: E. R. Horn, Mrs. Wm. Heckman, 
Charles Anderson, (all still residents in the county) 
George Doersch, John Dexheimer, Mr. Luedke and 
Fred Miller. First meetings were held in the old G. A. 
R. Hall, standing then where the Greisch building is to- 
day. The founders of the church in Antigo then held 
meetings at residences of members. Rooms were 
used in the I. O. O. F. building for five years prior to 
erection of the present church. The Antigo society of 
the church was incorporated on May 27, 1916 by W. H. 
Fuller, Minnie H. Palmer, Lenora Gelbke, E. F. Horn 
and Ernest Hirt. The Christian Scientists held their 



the Jewish people of Antigo in 1909. The Seven Day 
Adventists then erected a church in 1910 on Eighth 
Avenue costing $1,700.00. The church has thirty-five 
members at the present time. The officers are : George 
Stamper, Deacon; Charles Georgeson, Elder; E. A. 
Sage, Treasurer. 

KAHAAL ADAAS YESIU. 

The Kahaal Adaas Yesiu, (Jewish Congregation) 
was dissolved on August 11, 1915. The synagogue 
is located at the corner of Eighth Avenue and Super- 
ior Street. It was purchased from the Seven Day Ad- 
ventists in 1909. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



155 



CHAPTER XXIX. 
Literature, Art, Music 

The Unwritten Literature of the Pioneer — Charles McFarland, Wolf River Country Writer — Rev. 
Carl Nagel, Poet — Rev. A. Grimm and Writings — May Napier Burkhart Poems — Paul Swan- 
son Short Stories — Margaret Ashmun — George Hutchins — Pioneer Art — Early Langlade County 
Artists — The Pioneer Singing Bee — Antigo's First Singing Master — Neighborhood Entertain- 
ments—The Village Church and Log School Centers of Music— The Quintet Club of 1883— The 
Forest City Band of 1884 — Aeolian Band and Orchestra — Antigo Cornet Band — Antigo City 
Band — Orchestras — Musicians Association — Radio — "Music in the Air." 



None of the writers of Langlade County have made 
literature a profession. Those who have written have 
done so at leisure — more for amusement and pastime. 
In the pioneer history of Langlade County there is 
the unwritten literature of the public address, the 
debates on local questions, the verbal thoughts and 
ideas of the county orators — all of which had a bene- 
ficial influence on our early citizens. The early 
churches, music halls and pioneer "gatherin' places" 
would often resound with the eloquence of the civic 
leader, the political leader and the reformer. 

Charles McFarland was the earliest of pioneer writ- 
ers. He was prominent in the development of the 
county. During his term as Chairman of Wolf River 
township (Evergreen township) he contributed arti- 
cles to local newspapers commenting in his character- 
istic style on county progress. Mr. McFarland start- 
ed a historical story dealing with the pioneer settlers 
of the Wolf River Country. It has never been publish- 
ed. 

The Rev. Carl Nagel, Pastor of the Unity Evangeli- 
cal Church, who was born at Port Washington, Wis., 
September 28, 1873, has composed several poems, 
many of which have been given national circulation. 
"The Amateur Sportsman," a delightful poem of a 
fisherman, and "Farewell to the Lake" were publish- 
ed in Outers Magazine. But recently a poem, "Is It 
Nothing to You," depicting the misery and the starva- 
tion of the Armenian children was officially adopted 
by the Near East Relief campaign and was widely dis- 
tributed during the relief drive. Rev. Nagel has 
translated songs for publication from English to Ger- 
man and vice versa. He has composed many other 
poems of a patriotic, benevolent or charitable nature. 

The Rev. A. Grimm was born in Petershagen, Kreis, 
Schevelbein, Pommern, Germany, January 18, 1864, 
and came to Antigo as Pastor of the Peace Lutheran 
Church in 1891. Rev. Grimm was an author of note, 
whose books were read all over the United States and 
elsewhere. In his early years his books were publish- 
ed under the non de plume of Alfred Ira. His works 
were written in German, but several were translated 
into English. His books include: Der Pastor's Nach- 
lass, which was so used that four editions were re- 
quired. Das Stiefmutterschen, Dodai, Unter Uns, 
Unter dem Apfelbaum, Bilder aud dem Reisepredi- 



gerleb — all stories of his German missions close to 
Antigo. Sommerfaiden, Der Missionplatz, Aus der 
Alter Kaffeemuehle, Liebe, Im Zukerbusch, Ehwuer- 
den Nudel, Wenn Mann's Gut Meint Gemutlich, Gott- 
hold I and II, Der Prachtjunge are others of his work, 
of which many are in the Antigo Library. Rev. 
Grimm also wrote many plays in both English and 
German for enactment by church organizations. Rev. 
Grimm died February 12, 1922, following an attack 
of paralysis. He attained greater success in his liter- 
ary work than any other Langlade County resident. 

May Napier Burkhart, a graduate of the Langlade 
County Normal and a public school teacher, has writ- 
ten many poems, the first of which appeared in the 
local press when she was fourteen years old. Invar- 
iably they are of the Walt Mason type and deal with 
contemporary topics. More important of h?r poems 
have been: "Money in the Bank," "Aunt Sarah's First 
Basket Ball Game," "Hunting a House" and "Daily 
Habit." 

Margaret Ashmun, once a teacher in the Antigo 
Public Schools, published Ashmun's Prose Literature 
for Secondary Schools in 1910. She was then an in- 
structor in the English Department of the University 
of Wisconsin. 

Paul Swanson, 162 Fred Street, Antigo, has written 
short stories for publication in nationally known maga- 
zines. His latest story is entitled, "His Unearned 
Reckoning," and was published in Truth Magazine. 

George Hutchins has written many poems, one of 
the best of which is, "A Warning to Sinners." The 
town of Hutchins, Shawano County, was named in his 
honor. 

ART AND ARTISTS. 

In early days Langlade County pioneers were busy 
clearing away the forests, tilling little patches of soil 
and building their cozy log and frame houses. Little 
did they enjoy of the luxuries of life so apparent in 
this age. No man here was expected to live solely 
by his artistic talents. None of the artists of Lang- 
lade County have had any other than self training. 
Photography was in existence when the county was 
organized so painting and drawing were not neces- 
sary to preserve the memory and faces of family and 
friends. 



156 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Langlade County has had a number of artists who 
will be briefly mentioned. 

James Smolk is the pioneer painter of Langlade 
County. He was born in York township, Medina 
County, Ohio, February 17, 1859. He came to Antigo 
January 2, 1882, and has since resided there. Mr. 
Smolk is a prolific painter of more than ordinary abil- 
ity. His little studio is located on Fifth Avenue, 
where he divides his time between mixing colors and 
barbering. 

William G. Lindsay, a young artist of talent and 
ability, was born April 1, 1878, at Oshkosh. His ear- 
ly education was in the Antigo public schools. Mr. 
Lindsay resides at 128 Filth Avenue. He has painted 
many local scenes and takes especial delight in land- 
scape. His chief work, however, is commercial sign 
painting. 

George Falkenhagen, Jr., was born July 22, 1890, at 
Chicago, 111. He moved to Antigo in 1904. Mr. 
Falkenhagen has made a number of landscape paint- 
ings and sketches of Langlade County's woods and 
streams. Two of his paintings, one a view of the 
south arm of Post Lake and another a view of Duck 
Lake, were exhibited at the Wisconsin Sculptor's and 
Painter's ninth annual art institute in Milwaukee 
March 1 to May 1, 1922. He has many decorative 
paintings in the county to his credit. 

Mrs. John Burnet conducted her art institute and 
exhibits in the Cleary building (K. C. home) from 
1914 to 1917. She then moved to her home at 
303 Superior Street. Mrs. Burnet is an ar- 

tist of local distinction. Her work is confined 
largely to landscape and teaching hand China 
painting in which she is an expert. She has conduct- 
ed classes in the Vocational School for the past few 
years. 

Mrs. Eugenia Hutchinson Worman, pioneer Antigo 
lady, has made a name for herself in the art world. 
She has been awarded honorable mention for her 
Painting, "Zinnias" at the University of Washington 
art exhibit. Mrs. Wormer is a sister of Malcolm 
Hutchinson, pioneer settler. She was the first teach- 
er of music and drawing in the Antigo schools. 

Floyd Michaelson, son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank 
Michaelson, of Bryant, Price township, a promising 
student, now attends Pratt Institute at Brooklyn, N. Y. 
He is adept at commercial drawing and cartoon art. 

Harold Pond, born in Appleton, June 20, 1897, is 
nevertheless an Antigo product. He entered Pratt In- 
stitute at Brooklyn, N. Y., after graduating from the 
Antigo High School in 1917. He is now with the 
American Crayon Company of New York. He is a 
splendid artist. 

Nick Fredericks, a painter and decorator, was born 
January, 1866. He came to Antigo in 1904. His prin- 
cipal decorative work has been the interior of the 
Langlade County court house. 

Lindsay Brothers, Leon and Frank, came to Antigo 
in 1886 with their parents. Frank Lindsay was born 
September 13, 1869, at Beaver Dam, Wis. Leon was 
born April 15, 1871, at Chilton, Wis. They are pio- 
neer Antigo painters and decorators. 



Clarence Freiburger, son of Mr. and Mrs. Leonard 
Freiburger, Sr., was born in Antigo, June 23, 1891. 
He has engaged in painting and decorating for many 
years. He specializes in interior, exterior and sign 
painting. 

Max Dietz is a painter and decorator who has been 
in Antigo since 1904. 

Charles Courtney came to Antigo in 1883 and be- 
gan artistic sign painting in the village. 

E. V. Palmer, a sign painter, came to Antigo the 
same year. 

Harvey Guile, a native Langlade County resident, 
was born in Norwood township in 1887. He has fol- 
lowed the decorative painting field since his youth. 
Important decorative painting has been done by him 
on the court house building. Palace Theatre interior, 
ward schools, Antigo High School, county jail and 
other places. 

George and Herman Strube, well known Antigo 
young men, have been engaged in decorative painting 
for a number of years, both as employes and now in 
a partnership of their own, organized in 1921. George 
was born in Audubon, Iowa, July 1, 1888. Herman 
Strube was born in September, 1886. The Strube 
Brothers moved to Antigo with their parents about 
1890. They have done much in their field in Antigo, 
including the decorative work of The Hoffman House 
and the Unity Church. 

Ernest Strube, deceased pioneer decorator, was born 
in Hanover, Germany, and after coming to America 
emigrated to Antigo in 1890. He engaged in painting 
and decorative work at once. His principal work was 
the Antigo Opera House, the old Music Hall interior 
scenery and the Unity Church interior. 

L. G. Lambert, pioneer Antigo painter and decora- 
tor, came to Antigo in 1885. He was born in Marke- 
san. Green Lake County, Wisconsin, in 1869. Mr. 
Lambert has decorated, among other places, the 
Armory club rooms, public library, bank buildings, 
city hall, etc. 

There have been and no doubt are others who have 
a local reputation for art work whose names are not 
enumerated here yet are equally meritorious. 

The few mentioned prove that Langlade County, 
less than fifty years eld, is well represented by artists 
and works of art as in other lines of human endeavor 
and progress. Our people are learning that as we live 
and admire the beauty of nature it enhances and de- 
velcpes the beauty of the soul. 

MUSIC AND MUSICIANS. 

"Music," said Victor Hugo, "is the vapor of art." 
It is to poetry what reverie is to thought, what fluid is 
to liquid, what the ocean of clouds is to the ocean of 
waves. This "vapor of art" made its appearance in 
Langlade County with the first settlers. When the 
county developed, when farms were opened and home- 
steads claimed, when churches, community halls and 
logs schools were erected, then the old fashioned sing- 
ing master, the accordian and violin genius and the 
. dance instructor introduced neighborhood entertain- 
ment into Langlade County. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



157 



The village church and the early log school were 
the gathering places of the early singers. Then the 
accordian, mouth organ and violin were highly prized. 
Few were able to play. However, each church had 
one or two members who could be relied upon. The 
early settlers on the Military Road and in Norwood 
and Rolling townships frequently gathered at the 
school where the younger folk of the community pre- 
sented an entertainment. Antigo's first singing master 
was J. E. Anderson, who conducted a singing class 
starting December, 1883, and continuing until the 
spring of 1884. 

The Antigo Quintet Club, consisting of Dr. H. V. 
Mills. Mrs. H. Mills, Dr. J. C. Petty, W. H. Blinn and 
H. Phillips, was organized in December, 1883. The 
club gave its first concert December 21, 1883, at the 
new Congregational Church. Dr. H. V. Mills and Dr. 
J. C. Petty composed the music, with one or two ex- 
ceptions. 

In the summer of 1884 The Antigo Comet Band was 
organized with Dr. H. V. Mills as leader. The Forest 
City Band followed and was composed largely of the 
same membership. These were Antigo's pioneer musi- 
cal units. Another early day musical organization 
was the Aeolian Orchestra in which James Smolk, pio- 
neer violinist, Mr. Praehl, Ed Kiefer, John Haeffler, 
Frank Modi and Charles White were members. 

The old Antigo Cornet band of 1884 was revived 
in 1891 and was active for a few years later. L. D. 
Dana was its leader. The Antigo City Band was or- 
ganized in 1907. Fred W. Leubcke is its leader. 
Neva Imperial Band, organized by Neva township 
musicians, was most successful in 1918. Elcho sup- 
ports a band equal to many in this section of Wiscon- 
sin. 

Mrs. Lillian White Freyn of Chicago, who lived for 
many years in Antigo, has made a splendid record in 
the musical world. She is now conducting recitals and 
concerts in Chicago. Mrs. Freyn studied at the Fine 
Arts School, Chicago, 111. She left Antigo in 1907. 

James Strnad was a prominent violinist in Antigo 
for many years before he left in 1919 for Chicago. 
His son, a lad of nine years, studying in Chicago, has 
a wonderful career as a violinist before him. 

The first violin to form the sound reproducer and 
amplifier of talking machine records was patented 
May 24, 1910, patent No. 959318, by Wm. H. Des- 
sureau, 1435 Clermont street, Antigo, Wis. 

THE RADIO— "MUSIC IN THE AIR." 

Great advancement has been made in wireless tele- 
phony. It is now possible to sit at home and hear a 
complete concert many miles away. Weather fore- 
casts, the correct time, market reports, stock fluctua- 
tions can be communicated to the invisible audience. 
These communications travel on radio waves at a 
speed of 186,000 miles per second. The currents they 
induce alternate too rapidly for any mechanism yet 
devised to register directly. A detector, therefore, is 
essential in all radio work. 

The experience of listening to music out of the air 
is quite unique and interesting. The novelty naturally 
makes a strong appeal and will be carefully watched 



by manufactures and retailers of the talking machine. 
In these and other matters there are signal opportun- 
ities awaiting the inventive genius of the coming gen- 
erations. 

It is difficult to realize that but twenty-six years 
ago, in 1896, the first talking machine was exhibited 
at the Langlade County fair by James McCarty. It 
was an odd looking instrument with many long tubes 
running from the sound reproducer. These tubes were 
placed to the ear of the listener. No record could be 
heard without the use of a tube. Five and ten cents 
was charged to hear one record. 

The first broadcasting radio wireless in Langlade 
County was installed by Lynn Matthias of Antigo. Mr. 
Matthias is a member of the American Relay Radio 
Association. Irvin Leuck has cooperated with Mr. 
Matthias in radio experimentation. 

Harold Chapman and Neal Thayer are among those 
known to have received messages and enjoyed radio 
concerts from great distances. 

MUSICIANS ASSOCIATION NO. 638. 

Antigo Local No. 638, Musicians Protective Asso- 
ciation was organized January 8, 1917. Fred Luebcke 
was the first President. Other officers were : A. L. 
Lauby, Charles Urban and L. G. Lambert, Vice Presi- 
dent, Secretary and Treasurer respectively. Those 
present at the first meeting were : James Strnad, 
Chas. A. Urban, Fred W. Luebcke, Raymond Chadek, 
W. J. Giese, Fred Schneiter and Stanley Kames. The 
Antigo Local is now active in Langlade County mu- 
sic circles. Past and present members of the associa- 
tion are: H. C. Becker, Mrs. G. Beard, Ben Benishek, 
Emma Blahnik, Ralph Berner, E. A. Boettcher, F. P. 
Burkhart, Virgil Biefind, Ben Barta, L. G. Barnes, 
Betty Carpenter, Raymond Chadek, J. C. Clausen, 
Hulda Dallman, Mrs. P. Dahleiner, Clarence A. De 
Chemm, Arthur Du Mont, Raymond Eseucius, Andrew 
Fagen, Mrs. George Fehring, Esther Fehring, Frank 
Galligher, Wm. J. Giese, Mattie Gibson, Lee Herman, 
Al J. Hunter, Victor Hunter, Floyd Hunter, Bert 
House, Frank Janousek, Peter Jachimstachal, Stanley 
Kames, Dan Keen, Henry Keen, John Kocian, Victoria 
Krall, E. H. Kimball, Mrs. E. H. Kimball, Stephen 
Kimball, Arthur and Claude Clifford, V. E. Kundinger, 
Olive Kubiacyzk, Wm. Kuhn, Harold King, Wencel 
Koltz, Wm. Keelan, M. Lambert, L. G. Lambert, A. 
L. Lauby, F. W. Leubcke, Tony Lindner, James Lich- 
man, Bruno Meyer, Wm. Meagher, Stanley Mills, A. 
M. Mader, B. Maull, B. E. Morgan, Mrs. Sylvia Mil- 
ler, John Obester, George Onsanda, Harold Porter, 
Guesseppe Pomilio, Frank Pinkner, Charles Parrot, 
Anna Shapiro, John Schroepfer, Fred Schneiter, 
James E. Strnad, Blaine Stewart, Charles Schuler, 
James Schultz, Joseph Turechek, George Turechek, 
Earl Tobey, George Theby, Charles A. Urban, Grace 
Urban, Clyde Van Doran, A. Vogel, A. L. Vendner, 
Althea Wade, A. L. White, Earl Weaver, C. Williams 
and Mrs. Edith Walters. 

Music teachers in Antigo: Hazel Kelly, Emma Blah- 
nik, Mr. J. Roberts, Howard Jaekel, Mrs. Perkins, 
Edna Nagel, St. John's Sisters, 0. Mader, John 
Schroepfer, St. Hyacinth Sisters, and Ruth Wunder- 
lich, vocal lessons. 



158 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXX. 

Commercial Antigo 

Business Firms of Today — Location — Organization — Commercial Associations — Business Men's 
Association of 1885 — Mercantile Protective Association — Old Commercial Club — Fifteen Thou- 
sand Club — Association of Commerce. 



History, it is said, repeats itself. The pioneer mer- 
chant, anxious to supply the demand of a critical pub- 
lic, handled many and diverse articles. A suit of 
clothes or a sack of oats could be purchased at the 
same store. As time passed business house in Antigo 
began to specialize in one line of goods. Today, how- 
ever, firms are reverting to the pioneer method, viz., 
the purchasing of any article desired under the same 
roof. Thus came into existence the modern depart- 
ment store. The A. Goldberg Department store, or- 
ganized in 1887, once located in the Goldberg 
building. Fifth Avenue and Edison Street, was 
the only department store that developed with 
the city, since 1887. A. Goldberg erected the brick 
building, corner of Clermont Street and Fifth Avenue, 
and moved from it in 1907. 

The E. Wigderson Department store was opened in 
the Hill Building, Antigo, in 1903. E. Wigderson has 
two other stores, one at St. Paul, Minn., and another 
at Rhinelander, Wis. 

M. Krom & Son are early Antigo merchants, the 
former coming here in 1888. The present store opened 
as Krom & Slepyan in 1912 and M. Krom & Son com- 
menced business in 1913. 

The J. C. Penney Company opened a store in the 
Kratche Bldg., 717 Fifth Avenue, April 27, 1920. C. 
Melgaard came here from Williston, North Dakota, 
and assumed the management. Eight regular em- 
ployes are on the clerical force. 

Wm. H. Wolpert is the oldest exclusive clothing 
merchant in Antigo. 

DRUGGISTS. 

R. J. Leutsker, pioneer druggist, present organiza- 
tion started 1913; J. F. Albers, bought out R. J. 
Leutsker, April 2, 1890; City Drug Store, John Mc- 
Carthy, organized February 11, 1901, corner Fifth 
Avenue and Clermont Street; A. A. Leuck Drug Store, 
705 Fifth Ave., purchased from J. C. Spencer in 1911; 
C. D. Gauthier Drug Store, purchased from E. E. 
Williams in 1913. 

FURNITURE AND UNDERTAKERS. 

McCandless & Zobel, E. McCandless and Robert 
Zobel, props., 717 Fifth Avenue, organized in April, 
1904; Muttart-McGillan Company, H. B. Muttart and 
T. T. McGillan, props., Krom Bldg., organized Novem- 
ber, 1918, outgrowth Antigo Furniture Company, or-, 
ganized July 1, 1912. 



JEWELERS. 

Anton Molle, started with J. Braun, October, 1894, 
1897 bought out latter, now known as Molle's Jewelry, 
821 Fifth Avenue; L. D. Dana Jewelry Company, Ull- 
man bldg., organized March, 1888; Charles Braun Jew- 
elry, Neff-Roberts bldg., started in 1910; J. F. Breiten- 
stein. Jeweler, organized in 1905. 

SHOE DEALERS. 

Carl Krause Shoe Store, started March, 1913, locat- 
ed at 1019 Fifth Avenue; Cody Shoe Store, 721 Fifth 
Avenue, organized June, 1913, outgrowth Edward Cody 
Shoe Store of 1899; Economy Shoe Store, Griesch 
bldg., started August 1, 1921, Chas. Cody, prop.; 
Nolte's Shoe Store, 0. G. Nolte, prop., 811 Fifth Ave- 
nue, purchased Herbst Shoe Store April 6, 1921; 
Richter Shoe Repair Shop, 725 Fifth Avenue, started 
May, 1889. 

SHOE SHOPS. 

Economy Shoe Repair Shop, P. J. Samolinski, prop., 
opened May 17, 1920; Ben Jones Market Square Shop; 
Lepinski Shoe Shop, opened in 1920; Wolf's Shoe 
Shop, Fifth Avenue, opened in 1920; Antigo Shoe Hos- 
pital, Wm. Neuburger, prop., 527 Superior Street, 
opened in 1921 ; Progressive Shop, Karl Cash, Morse 
Street. 

ANTIGO GROCERS. 

Maloney's Grocery, Irvin Maloney, prop., started 
May 10, 1919, Field Street; Palmer's Grocery, John 
Palmer, prop., started March 1, 1909, Sixth Avenue 
and Superior Street; Bee Hive, Harry Goldberg, prop., 
started in 1919; Evenson's, M. J. Evenson, prop, 1539 
Clermont Street, started May 20, 1919; Buerger's 
Grocery, 1025 Eighth Avenue, 0. Buerger, prop., start- 
ed spring 1903; C. B. Knapp's Grocery, 208 Hudson 
Street, started April 20, 1920; Ada R. Winter's Gro- 
cery, 633 Superior Street, started Feb. 12, 1912; Frank 
Baxter, started March 30, 1907; Frederick's Grocery, 
225 Tenth Avenue, started October 8. 1921; Joseph 
Duquette Grocery, 100 Superior Street, started April 
2, 1921 ; Market Square Grocery, George C. Wahleit- 
ner, prop., started May 15, 1920, 724 Superior Street; 
Koutnik Grocery, Frank Koutnik, prop., started 631 
Fifth Avenue, November 15, 1921; Railway Co-opera- 
tive Company, Masonic Temple, started April 11, 
1918, S. D. Warren, John McKenna, L. A. Howard, 
Jos. Poss and A. K. Potter, incorporators; Goldberg 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



159 



Grocery, started in 1907, Edison Street entrance, Gold- 
berg building; C. A. Maertz Grocery, 1501 Neva Road, 
started April 15, 1918; Mosher Grocery, Borgman 
(Butterfield bldg.l, started Fe-bruary 2, 1918; Lang- 
lade Farmers' Co-operative Company, Superior Street; 
Schroeder Grocery, corner of Fourth Avenue and Dele- 
glise Street, started in August, 1922; Fred Boldt's 
Grocery, 351 Field Street, started July 6, 1916; Albert 
Winter's South Side Grocery, started at 710 Maple 
Street November 2 ,1918; L. Krom Produce Company, 
Edison Street; J. A. Rudolph, Fifth Avenue, started 
fall of 1888; Antigo Grocery Co., Helmbrecht & Clif- 
ford, Props., started in September, 1922. 

HARDWARE STORES. 

Lendved-Schultz Hdw. Co., 707-709 Fifth Avenue, 
organized May, 1906; John Hessel Hdw. Co., organ- 
ized November 1, 1900; A. L. Kommers Hdw., Field 
Street, organized July 1, 1915; Jos. Gruber Hdw., or- 
ganized March 1, 1914; Antigo Hardware, Inc., 813- 
815 Fifth Avenue, organized September 1, 1900. 

REAL ESTATE— INSURANCE— LOANS. 

John Benishek & Son, 718 Fifth Avenue, organized 
January, 1915, outgrowth of John Benishek Real Es- 
tate office, started in 1890; Morse & Tradewell Com- 
pany, Molle-Albers bldg., started October, 1907; 
Radtke Realtor, Harry E. Radtke, prop., started Feb- 
ruary 28, 1921; Mose A. Jansen Agency, started Jan- 
uary 1, 1921, 723 Fifth Avenue; Fred W. Kiefer, start- 
ed in 1906, present location, February, 1921; Joseph 
Duchac. Sr., started in 1880, 1043 Fifth Avenue; N. 
R. Babcock, 232 Field Street, started in 1901; James 
Gagen, Fidelity Bank Bldg., started in 1913; Crandell 
& Arveson, Fifth Ave, organized in 1922; C. E. 
Loper, 328 Lincoln Street; Paul Thompson and S. B. 
Ullman, considerable real estate dealing; Whiting & 
Dempsey, insurance; John McGreer, for years local 
Baldwin estate representative; W. J. Hammond, real 
estate; E. H. Palmer, opened on April 1, 1902. 
Other agents are Z. T. Bagby, Geo. W. Schmitz, J. J. 
Joslynn, M. T. Canfield and Harry Carpenter. 

The Langlade County Real Estate Board was or- 
ganized January, 1920. 

ABSTRACT COMPANIES. 

The Langlade County Abstract Company, J. W. 
Brown, prop.. First National Bank Bldg., started July 
1, 1905, originally organized February, 1905, by Fred 
Hayssen; The Antigo Abstract Title Company, or- 
ganized April 28, 1921, Fidelity Bank Bldg. 

FLOUR AND FEED STORES. 

Farmer Boy, George Manthey, prop., 612 Superior 
Straet, started October, 1916; Langlade Wholesale 
Grain & Groc. Co., organized September 15, 1919; 
Farmers' Feed Store, Schleis & Kopeschka, Sixth Ave- 
nue, started September 1, 1921; Farmers' Elevator, 
1001 Seventh Avenue, Fred W. Ophoven, bought out 



A. L. Lauby, August, 1915; Frank Krause, Krause 
bldg., started March, 1914; McCandless Feed Store, 
purchased from E. Yahr in November, 1920, located 
602 Fifth Avenue. 

CLOTHING FIRMS. 

W. H. Wolpert & Brother, Wolpert Bldg., Fifth Ave- 
nue, organized June 15, 1911; Friede's Clothe's Shop, 
H. Levin, Mgr., organized December 8, 1918; Aaron's 
Good Clothes Shop, M. Aaron, prop., started August, 
1917; Baures Brothers, Fidelity Bank Bldg.; The New 
Continental, A. E. Sims, Mgr., Clermont Street and 
Fifth Avenue, organized April, 1922; Lempereur's 
Clothing Store, Fifth Avenue, started in October, 1922. 

LADIES' SHOPS. 

Werner's Shop for Ladies, J. Werner, prop.. Butter- 
field bldg., organized September 16, 1916; The Style 
Shop, I. Cohen, prop., organized February 13, 1913. 

FRUIT STORES. 

Lipman Brothers, 716 Fifth Avenue, started in 1908; 
Antigo Fruit Company, A. Lombardo, 820 Fifth Ave- 
nue, started September, 1917. 

GARAGES. 

Palace Garage, Reed & Shubert, props., since No- 
vember, 1921, March 15, 1921, it opened as Kernohan 
& Shubert, George Kernohan retired July, 1921, busi- 
ness at 807 Fifth Avenue; Van Doren Motor Car Com- 
pany, C. W. Van Doren, Prop., organized May, 1915, 
located at Superior Street and Sixth Avenue; Buick 
Garage, E. H. Maxson, prop., 526 Clermont Street, 
opened August 18, 1918; Kelly Motor Sales Co., H. J. 
Kelly, prop., Edison Street, started in 1920; Othersall 
& Sorenson, Sixth Avenue and Superior Street, open- 
ed in 1917; Antigo Hdw. Garage, started in 1914; 
The General Garage, Dorczeski & Kielcheski, 
props., 524 Superior Street, opened in 1922; 
Marathon Motor Car Co., started December, 1918, lo- 
cation Fourth Avenue and Edison Street; East Side 
Garage, Frank Schoblasky, prop., opened July, 1922. 

TINSMITHS. 

Priebe Brothers, A. Priebe and H. Priebe, 508 Su- 
perior Street, organized in 1910; Antigo Sheet Metal 
Works, John Koudelka, prop., organized in 1905, lo- 
cated Neff-Roberts building. 

AUTO LIVERIES. 

Abel Livery, 623 Fifth Avenue ; Kelly Auto Livery, 
Edison Street; Schufelt Livery; Coblentz & Ottman 
Livery; T. J. Martin Livery, oldest in city. 

BAKERY SHOPS. 

Frederich Gunkel Bakery, 506 Superior Street, or- 
ganized November, 1908; The Antigo Bakery, Carl 
Zech, prop., started August, 1915; The West Side Bak- 



160 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



ery, M. W. Noack, prop., purchased from Maertz & 
Jesse in 1907, located 1024 Fifth Avenue; The Honne 
Bakery, A. H. Murten, prop., purchased from H. 
Finch, November 24, 1921; Sanitary Bakery, started 
May, 1919. 

PLUMBERS. 

Louis Peters, located 727 Fifth Avenue, started in 
1904; Antigo Heating & Plumbing Co., Filbrandt & 
Vowinkle, started July 17, 1921; Falkenhagen Broth- 
ers, started in 1912, George Falkenhagen, prop.. First 
National Bank Bldg.; Jos. W. Hoefer, 1542 Neva Road. 

MEAT MARKETS. 

Klemann's Market, Peter Klemann, prop., 810 Fifth 
Avenue, opened March 1, 1920; Palace Meat Market, 
L. P. Kieffer. prop., opened March 24, 1919, at 907 
Fifth Avenue; Vogel Market, A. H. Vogel, prop., 
since 1912; Wm. Bork, 510 Superior Street, started 
March, 1902; Ryder & Ry-nders, Superior Street, start- 
ed September, 1921 ; Collins Brothers, 1022 Superior 
Street, purchased Havlicek & Capek on November 15, 
1921; West Side Market, J. Huenik, prop., started De- 
cember, 1921, 1037 Fifth Avenue; The City Meat Mar- 
ket, J. M. Kubichek, prop., 1009 Fifth Avenue, opened 
July 1, 1922; Waste & Kadow Shop, Fifth Avenue, 
opened by Lee Waste and Ed Kadow in May, 1922. 

BOWLING ALLEYS. 

Krause Bowling Alley, Anton Krause, prop., pur- 
chased from F. J. Hoffman, July 28, 1921, Fifth Ave- 
nue and Dorr Street. 

MUSIC HOUSES. 

B. Jewell Music House, Jewell Bldg., was started in 
1915; Hutchins Music House, E. G. Hutchins, prop., 
started October. 1920. 

ANTIGO THEATRES. 

The Palace Theatre, Harvey E. Hanson, prop.; 
Armory Theatre, John Hanus, prop. 

BOOK AND 10-CENT STORES. 

L. D. Hartford Store, L. D. Hartford, prop., sole 
prop, since July, 1922, located at 729 Fifth Avenue; 
F. W. Woolworth Store, located at 824-826 Fifth Ave- 
nue, opened September 16, 1921 ; The McLellan Stores 
Co., opened November 7, 1921, (successor to Metro- 
politan Stores, Inc.) located 820-822 Fifth Avenue, C. 
A. Howell, prop.; News Stand, Mrs. L. E. Johnson, 
prop, since April 16, 1920. 

SOFT DRINK PARLORS. 

Anton Cornelius Stand, 710 Fifth Avenue, bought 
from Frank Augustin in 1922; Suick's, "The Club," 
908 Fifth Avenue, established by I. Suick in 1890, op- 
erated by Phil Suick since death of I. Suick; Maltby 



& Maltby, Amos and John Maltby, proprietors, 
started June 8, 1920; Kupper's Place, Theo. 
Kupper, proprietor, started in present site July 
1, 1914; Wm. Reader, Market Square Hotel, 
started 1911; Northern Hotel, John Benes, start- 
ed April 1, 1919; Walk's Place, taken over by Law- 
rence Walk, October, 1912, started in 1888 by Carl 
Walk; Jos. Seis & Frank Grossman, Farmers' Head- 
quarters, Field Street, started May 10, 1919; Hoffman 
House, F. J. Hoffman, started 1884; Butterfield Annex, 
Maloney & Fehring, props.; Hotel Antigo Annex, 
George Fehring, prop.; Alois Aulik, prop, at 828 Fifth 
Avenue, partnership since September 7, 1921; H. Mar- 
itny Place, established July 1, 1901. 

RESTAURANTS. 

Frey Brothers, Elmer and Earl Frey, succeeded 
their father, William Frey, who operated for many 
years in Antigo; Antigo Cafe, Peter Rouman, prop., 
opened in 1916, Mr. Rouman purchased from Miss 
Anne Helmbrecht in fall, 1921, located at 827 Fifth 
Avenue; Depot Lunch Counter, C. & N. W. depot; 
Kupper's Lunch Room, Theo. Kupper, prop; A. L. 
Lauby's Lunch Stand at Suick's; Seis & Grossman's 
Stand; Anderson's Restaurant, Morse Street, opened 
May, 1922; Ye White Grille, started in September, 
1922, Fifth Avenue and Dorr Street by Romeis Broth- 
ers. 

TAILOR SHOPS. 

J. W. Herman Tailor Shop, Hill Bldg., oldest in An- 
tigo, started May, 1897; R. A. Rassmussen's Shop, 
Fifth Avenue; Keen Tailor Shop, successor to T. R. 
Atkins, opened May, 1922; Mrs. Paetzer Shop, Super- 
ior Street, opened 1922. 

ELECTRIC SHOPS. 

T. Bardwell Electric Shop, 613 Clermont Street; R. 
Healy, Jr., 627 Superior Street; Spiegel Electric Shop, 
509 Fifth Avenue; Chas. Furgeson, electrical engi- 
neer, shop on Neva Road; Antigo Storage Battery Co., 
E. F. Kaske, prop., 611 Superior St., organized Sept., 
1919. 

HARNESS SHOPS. 

James Jensen Shop, 619 Fifth Avenue, operated 
since November 15, 1913, and Frank Riendl, 827 Fifth 
Avenue, who has been in business since spring 1903. 

ANTIGO BARBER SHOPS. 

Antigo Barber Shops are: James McCormick's; 
Hoffman House Shop, George Crummey, prop. ; Ten- 
ney's, C. R. Tenney, prop.; Frank Vandervest's; 
Schoenfeldt's Shop, George Schoenfeldt, prop; Wil- 
liam Ladwig's Market Square Shop; Wm. Kohl's 
Shop; Thos. Grignon's; McGee's Shop, Wm. McGee, 
prop. ; Northwestern Shop, Lewis Stengl, prop. ; 
Smolk's Shop, James Smolk, prop.; Paul Yaeger Shop. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



161 



LADIES APPAREL SHOPS— MILLINERS. 

The Ladies Specialty Shop, known also as The 
Quality Shop, opened July 30, 1921, at 722 Fifth Ave- 
nue, and has proven popular. Mrs. Alice Walker, a 
thirty year resident of Antigo, has associated with her 
Miss Dorothy Parsons, twenty years an Antigo resi- 
dent. Miss Myrtle Otis has a Quality Art Shop, con- 
ducted since April, 1922, in the Greisch building. 

The Gift Shop, Mrs. R. Koebke, prop., opened in 
May, 1916, in the Molle-Albers bldg., and enjoys a 
fine patronage. Antigo milliners are: Mrs. Wahl, 
Molle-Albers bldg., started in March, 1900; Miss Nan 
Miner in Style Shop; and Mrs. Lillian Koelzer, who 
in September, 1895, succeeded her mother, Mrs. M. A. 
Ferguson, who ran the store from 1882. 

COAL AND WOOD DEALERS. 

Dakin & Strong, George Dakin and B. H. Strong, 
Props., Field Street, successors to Farnham & Yahr, 
started September 1, 1919; Mehne & Neilson, started 
1921, successors to Mehne & OthersoU and Donohue 
Coal and Wood Co., 1005 Fifth Avenue; Duchac Coal 
& Wood Co., started spring of 1917; Quinlan Coal & 
Wood Co., Carroll and E. A. Quinlan, Props., started 
in 1920. 

DAIRY— CREAMERIES. 

Pacific Ice Cream Co., 612 Clermont Street, Harry 
Quackenbusch, Prop., started in 1911; Heyl's Dairy 
Store, W. C. Heyl, Prop., started January 9, 1922, 
Greisch Bldg.; J. H. Howe Creamery, J. H. Howe, 
Prop., started in Antigo township spring of 1908, in 
the city of Antigo, April, 1921 ; Antigo Dairy, 235 Lin- 
coln Street, E. J. and H. W. Byrne, Props., started 
August 1, 1914; East Side Dairy, Claude Clifford and 
L. Tibbetts, Props., started April, 1922; Antigo-She- 
boygan Dairy Products Co., A. A. Kriewaldt, Prop., 
started September, 1921, at 612 Fifth Avenue; Green's 
Dairy, H. W. Green, Prop., started Antigo township, 
1904; Klessig's Dairy, Antigo township, E. Klessig, 
Prop., started April, 1921. 

CONFECTIONERY BUSINESS. 

The L. J. Koles Candy Company, located at 608 
Dorr street, organized April 29, 1919; Princess Parlors, 
731 Fifth Avenue, Louis and John Sarris, props., pur- 
chased Peter Papadakis, January 1, 1921; Adraktas 
Sweet Shop, Chris. Adraktas, Prop., opened in 1916. 

VULCANIZING SHOPS. 

Bishop & Mentch, Clermont Street, started spring of 
1922; Dan Keen Tire Shop, 612 Superior Street, start- 
ed fall of 1917; The Antigo Tire Repair Shop, A. H. 
Sengstock, Prop., 1913; Bretl Tire Shop, Superior 
Street, G. Bretl, Prop., opened in 1921. 

TRANSFER LINES. 

The Walter Weinandt Transfer Line, W. Weinandt, 
Prop., purchased from John Kingsbury, August 16, 



1920, located at 613 Edison Street; R. M. Briggs Trans- 
fer, 831 Fifth Avenue, established in 1887; The Serv- 
ice Transfer Line, Robert Briggs, Prop., started March, 
1922; Jess Garland Line, established in 1921. 

SECOND HAND STORES. 

The Cash Sales Company, J. W. .and Lyle Otis, 
Props., Otis Bldg., Superior Street; Raskin's Second 
Hand Furniture Store, 613 Fifth Avenue. 



BLACKSMITH SHOPS. 

Antigo Wagon Works, Leonard Freiburger, Sr., 
Prop., Field Street; Joseph Wirig Shop, Field Street; 
Houdek's Shop, Superior Street; Aulik's Shop, Edison 
Street; Farmer's Co-operative Shop, rear of OthersoU 
& Sorenson Garage, R. Jonas, Prop. 

PHOTOGRAPHERS. 

F. W. Bauter, 519 Superior Street, oldest in Antigo; 
H. R. Madison's Studio, started November 10, 1905; 
Kingsbury Kodak Store, A. J. Kingsbury, Prop., start- 
ed May, 1906, located Hill Bldg.; Wessa Studio, Fifth 
Avenue, W. H. Wessa, prop. 

HORSE DEALERS. 

J. Ullman Co., office and sales stable, 721 Fourth 
Avenue; Toyle Bros.; J. Aulik; and Paul Thompson. 

FARM IMPLEMENT STORES. 

P. F. Kelly Implement Store, 801 Superior Street; 
J. F. Jones, 631 Edison Street. 

TEA AND COFFEE STORES. 

N. J. Greisch, Greisch Bldg., Fifth Avenue; and P. 
C. Monday representative. 

SHINE PARLORS— POOL ROOMS. 

Jenkins' Cigar Store, Ben Richter, Mgr., 815 Fifth 
Avenue; Metaxas Pool Room, T. Metaxas, Prop.; 
Metaxas Shine Parlor, Fifth Avenue; Smith and Gar- 
land, Props., Palace Pop Corn Stand; Chas. Boyle's 
Pool Room, Fifth Avenue. 

POTATO WAREHOUSES. 

Bain & Company, Morse Street; Penny Warehouse, 
Edison Street; N. Ginsberg, Dorr Street; Leonard, 
Crosset & Riley, rear of Edison Street, between Fourth 
and Fifth Avenues. 

GINSENG BUYERS. 

W. G. Betters, E. Wigderson Depart.iient Store, Peter 
W. Krier and William Berner. 

POTATO BUYERS. 

Prosser Brothers, Nathan Ginsberg, L. Ginsberg, 
David Bain, D. C. Dewey, A. Penny Co., L. Starks Co., 
Homer Beattie, M. Mageland, for Leonard, Crosset & 
Riley. 



162 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



RAILROAD OFFICIALS. 

J. L. Leppla, Superintendent of Ashland Division; 
F. Doner, Assistant Superintendent of Ashland Divi- 
sion; A. L. Sohrweide, Chief Clerk to Superintendent; 
J. T. Fitzgerald, Chief Train Dispatcher, Antigo; J. 
Eva, Chief Train Dispatcher, Ashland; W. B. Murrary, 
Assistant Superintendent, Ashland; C. H. Perry, Divi- 
sion Engineer; Ben Bradley, Chief Clerk to Division 
Engineer; E. C. Larzelere, Agent at Antigo; Thomas 
Cavanaugh, Yardmaster at Antigo; W. E. Peterson, 
foreman of Antigo Rour.dhouse; E. H. Hadler, Super- 
intendent of Telegraph; A. K. Potter, Purchasing Agent 
for the C. & N. W. over many divisions; F. Slater, Kau- 
kauna. Master Mechanic; W. A. Brandt, Roadmaster, 
subdivision No. 1; H. Van Gorder, Roadmaster, sub- 
division No. 2; C. S. McConnel, Rradmaster, sub- 
division No. 3; G. Darrow, Roadmaster, subdivision 
No. 4; A. L. Kickhaefer, Roadmaster, subdivision No. 
5; Division Accountant, Frank T. Lynde; Assistant 
Division Accountant, Edgar Van Gorder. 

SOFT DRINK FACTORIES. 

The Taylor Beverage and Candy Co., W. J. Giese, 
Mgr. 

ANTIGO HOTELS. 

Hotel Butterfield, R. T. Marson, Prop.; The Hoffman 
House, Frank Hoffman, prop.; Schneiter's (new) 
Hotel, F. G. Schneiter, prop.; The Market Square 
Hotel, William Reader, prop.; The Bacon House, C. G. 
Bacon, prop.; The Hanousek Hotel, John Hanousek, 
Jr., prop.; The American House, B. W. Rynders, prop.; 
The Northern Hotel, J. W. Benes, prop. 

THE FIRST OF MANY THINGS COMMERCIAL. 

First Antigo saw mill — Louis and Jos. Novotny, 
props.— 1879. 

Grist mill — Novotny Bros., props. 

Attorney— G. W. Latta. 

Mayor — Thomas W. Lynch. 

Doctor — F. J. Despins. 

Jeweler — W. H. Blinn. 

Merchant — Neils Anderson. 

News Stand — L. Mendlik. 

Settler in County — W. L. Ackley. 

Hotel — Springbrook. 

Blacksmith — Edgar Neff. 

Dentist— H. V. Mills. 

Automobile— 1902— W. L. Elliott, owner. 

Sidewalk (cement) — in front of John Ogden's resi- 
dence, 1897. 



Bicycle — John Blinn, owner, 1884. 

Newspaper — New County Republican. 

Circus — Col. G. W. Hall's U. S. & Great Eastern 
Consolidated shows, the first circus to visit Antigo and 
Langlade County, exhibited June 16, 1884. 

Roundhouse — opened January 1, 1883. 

Brick building — The Dawley building, now Fidelity 
Bank Building. 

Barber — "Chub" Watkins. 

H. S. Graduate — Agnes Donohue. 

First board sidewalk — in front of Springbrook Hote', 
Teipner Bros., props. 

First Jail — log, erected in 1881. 

Flying machine, first exhibition in Antigo by aviator 
John Schweister of Wausau in 1910. 

COMMERCIAL ORGANIZATIONS. 

The first Langlade County commercial organization 
was instituted April 19, 1885. Rooms were secured 
and fitted up in the second story of the block, corner 
Clermont Street and Fifth Avenue. The organiza- 
tion was called The Antigo Businessmen's Association. 
Its purposes were to "extend and improve social re- 
lations and to encourage local manufacturing, establish 
new industries and maintain good municipal govern- 
ment." It advocated prohibition and stood for no- 
license. Those who signed organization articles were 
W. H. Lord, F. A. Deleglise, J. C. Lewis, H. C. Hum- 
phrey, J. J. Simpson, W. W. Hutchinson, J. E. Martin, 
H. A. Kohl, M. M. Waite, Charles Sipes, T. D. Kellogg, 
C. A. Martin, C. S. Leykom, R. J. Leutsker, Ed. Das- 
kam, George Ratcliffe, J. G. Champion, Irvin Gray, 
A. C. Clarke, W. B. Johns, J. E. Clancy, C. G. Adkins, 
L. Lusk, A. W. Dean, F. M. Sherman, W. S. Morgan, J. 
K. Smolk, Paul Weed, B. F. Dorr, and John E. Mul- 
lowney. 

This was followed by other important civic and com- 
mercial associations, which lasted a few years and 
were replaced. The more important of these were the 
Mercantile Protective Association, organized April 14, 
1893, the 15,000 Club, a real estate unit, organized 
February 26, 1908, and the old Commercial Club, which 
while not active, still exists. 

The Antigo Association of Commerce was organized 
in January, 1917, and W. J. Gallon was elected first 
President, which office he still retains. Offices of the 
Association are in the Hill Building. Other officers 
are: Vice-President — Fred L. Berner; Treasurer — 
Frank G. Wanek; Secretary — Mrs. L. E. Dickensen; 
Directors — A. A. Lueck, Chairman, F. G. Wanek, Dr. 
F. C. Kestly, Chas. Cody and C. 0. Miller. Meetings 
are held monthly. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



163 



CHAPTER XXXI. 
Pioneer Merchants and Buildings 

Merchants of 1879 — Fifth Avenue a Wilderness — First Store — First Real Estate Office — Business 
Conditions — The Old Opera House — Difficult Access to Trading Points — The Approach cf a 
New Era. 



The first mercantile firm in Antigo was that of Niels 
Anderson, who came from Mills Center, near Green 
Bay, to the Antigo settlement in 1878. He opened a 
store on Superior Street, facing east towards Spring 
River, known now as Springbrook. It was a log store 
with scooped roof, and while very crude, was the be- 
ginning of what has since developed into the business 
district of Antigo. The Anderson store was a success 
and for years was the nucleus of all activity in the vil- 
lage and surrounding territory. It was through the 
efforts of F. A. Deleglise that Mr. Anderson was in- 
fluenced to locate here. 

The first real estate office of Antigo was located 
across from Niels Anderson's store in the log building 
owned by F. A. Deleglise. Many settlers can still re- 
call negotiations of land affairs with the founder of 
Antigo. 

In the year of 1879, L. D. Moses of Ogdensburg, 
Waupaca County, settled in Antigo, and opened the 
second store. The building was constructed of rough 
lumber and was located on the east side of Superior 
Street, south of the UUman B'ock. Mr. Moses con- 
ducted this store for five years, and then engaged in 
the banking business. The store was then taken over 
by Irvin Gray, who assumed complete charge by 1886. 
When the first stores were opened, there were less 
than fifty settlers here. 

Between the years of 1878 and 18S0 there was not 
a house east of "Spring River." There were only two 
farm houses between the village of Antigo and Aniwa 
and the journey was long and treacherous between 
the two points. 

Dr. D. S. Olmsted came to Antigo in 1879 from 
Embarrass, Waupaca County, and erected two crude 
buildings on the east side of Superior Street between 
Fifth and Sixth Avenues. "Doc" Olmsted was de- 
scribed as "cute and bright." He was Justice of the 
Peace, and Clerk of Court, and was one of the pic- 
turesque characters of early Antigo. 

In 1879 Louis Mendlik of Manitowoc setded here. 
He built a two story frame building. This was locat- 
ed between Sixth and Seventh Avenues, across from 
the present site of the Antigo Public Library. He en- 
gaged in the book and stationery business. 

In 1880 Antigo possessed two other buildirgs, a 
log school house on the present site of the P. F. Kelly 
Implement Store, Third Avenue and Superior Street, 
and the Old Twin Valley Inn, erected on the south- 
east corner of Fifth Avenue and Superior Street. 

Julius and Charles Teipner of Oshkosh settled in 
Antigo in 1879. They erected a stopping place on 



the present location of the Market Square Hotel. 
They provided headquarters for the logging teams and 
lumbermen who went ir.to the Wolf River country 
during the historic log drives. 

This is a complete description of the pioneer dis- 
trict between 1877 and 1880, and is worthy of perma- 
nent record to preserve for posterity the names, loca- 
tions and character of the early merchants and their 
business establishments. 

During the first years business was limited. The 
Milwaukee Lake Shore and Western Railroad had 
been nothing but a dream. Our neighbors at Shawano 
had "scoffed" at its coming into Antigo and declared 




\^^ 




f 



^ 



THE F1R.ST OPERA HOUSE ERECTED IN ANTIGO 

Which burned to the ground on May 22, 1895. 

It was then owned by Hoeffler Brothers. 

that it would go "up in smoke." Forty-five miles of 
wilderness separated Antigo from Wausau, from 
which place many an early settler laboriously hauled 
a sack of flour on his back the entire distance to his 
home in the woods. Shipments of produce necessitat- 
ed expensive hauling by oxen or horse. 

It was a tedious journey from Aniwa to Antigo, and 
goods and food products were hauled over a trail that 
had not emerged from "totedom." There were few 
farmers in Langlade County in 1880 and as the gov- 
ernment census indicates permanent settlers number- 
ing 685. Those fortunate to have a surplus of pro- 
duce such as potatoes, corn, hay or clover had diffi- 
cult times to get in contact with the merchant. Roads 
were few, yet the merchants were busy. Produce was 
exchanged by homesteaders for needed household 



164 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



goods, and Antigo, in its embryo stages, was prosper- 
ous. We shall learn that through this period of mu- 
tual helpfulness and cooperation and through the 
gradual approach of the railroad, the wonder of the 
new north took on unheard of proportions and the 
dream of F. A. Deleglise to found a city unfolded in 
reality before his eyes. 

THE NEW ERA 
PERIOD OF 1882-1886. 

The growth of Antigo from March, 1878 to the end 
of the period of 1881 was slow and at times discourag- 
ing to the first vanguard of mortals, who showed the 
way of those who followed. Antigo did not increase 
rapidly in population between 1878 and 1882. Never- 
theless the hardy pioneers, strong of character, un- 
swervedly kept faith in an ideal village, and by the 
summer of 1882, less than a year after the firsi. rails 
were spiked, a new era of heretofore unsurpassed 
prosperity and expansion was witnessed. By 1886, 
Antigo was a city of 2,500 inhabitants. From eight 
business establishments it had grown to be an in- 
corporated city. During this period of development 
the following were the chief business firms: Opera 
House; J. H. Weed Saw Mill; Antigo Planing Mill; 
City Planing Mill; Herman & Becklinger Sawmill; 
Fred Herman Planing Mill; Novotny's Sawmill, later 
Kellogg & Kellogg Sawmill; R. M. Goodwin & Co. 
Broom Handle Factory; W. D. Badger Hub and 
Spoke Factory; Ed Neff B'acksmith Shop; Johns & 
Kerlings Pioneer Iron Works; J. E. Clancy Building 
Factory; Milwaukee Lake Shore and Western Railroad 
engine house and depot; Bacon, ToUefson & Com- 
pany; Irvin Gray Mercantile Store; Hessel & Leykom 
Hardware; Langlade County Bank; J. C. Lewis & 
Co.; W. W. Hutchinson, Real Estate; F. C. Meyers 
Meat Market; H. L. Ferguson; Antigo House; Teipner 
House; Spencer House; G. W. Hill Meat Market; 
Jacob Wavrunek Store; Sherman & Dawley Real Es- 
tate; G. C. Williams Meat Market; Luetsker & Wilter- 
ding Drug Store; H. Smith Drug Store; Morgan Art 
Studio; C. Censky Shoe Store; O'Connor & McDon- 
ald Livery; Shove & Baily Store; Captain William 
Stone, Blacksmith; Bridgeman Variety Store; W. H. 
Blinn, Jewelry; Janes Billiard Hall; Vantassel & 
Daugherty; Charles Jaekel Store; Smolk Barber Shop; 
Lillian Horton, Dressmaker; C. R. Morehouse, Black- 



smith; Crocker and McHale, Contractors; Kropf & 
Zuehle Market; Lind & Sipes; Zahl & Robinson; Bow- 
man Gun Shop; Henry Berner, General Store; Silbar 
& Goldberg; Clithero & Strong Lbr. Co.; Peter Fish- 
back, Clothing Store; Bailey & Shaver; S. Buerger 
News Depot; S. Neuman Store, and C. G. Adkins, 
Store. 

H. A. Mills was the first merchant police in Antigo. 
He was employed by the merchants on Central Avenue 
(Fifth Avenue) in February, 1885. Peter Johnson is 
the merchant police officer of Antigo in 1922. 

T. H. Robbins and Frank Sherman opened the first 
roller skating rink in Antigo in 1885. Roller skating 
was the leading means of recreation and diversion for 
the people of Antigo then. It was then popular all 
over Wisconsin. 

In 1885, the merchants of Ar.tigo began a campaign 
for the construction of board sidewalks on Fifth Ave- 
nue. Considerable discussion was made at th2 time 
over the width of the walks. No sidewalks were con- 
structed without authority of the common cour.cil of 
the city, after its incorporation in 1885. 

Road improvements was advocated by Antigo mer- 
chants in 1885, with the result that the road from An- 
tigo west into Ackley township (now highway No. 64) 
was turnpiked and greatly improved. Settlers in that 
vicinity had complained to Artigo merc'ients that it 
was then difficult for them to get their produce into 
Ar.tigo to the markets. 

Lots were sold in the South Park Addition to Antigo 
by W. W. Hutchinson in 1885 for from $25 to $125.00. 

The Antigo Busiress Men's Association held their 
first meeting in their headqaurters in October, 1885. 

The program for City Advancement in Antigo as in- 
augurated in 1885 was as follows : 

How to build the city of Antigo: 

Talk about it. 

Write about it. 

Speak well of its public spirited citizens. 

Invest in something, if you have money. 

Don't be a knocker. 

Be courteous to strangers. 

Always cheer the men who go in for improvements. 

Help to improve it. 

Speak well about it. 

Beautify the streets. 

Advertise. 

Elect good men to public offices. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



165 



CHAPTER XXXII. 
Public Utilities 

The Volunteer and Paid Fire Departments — Telephone Industry — Old Bowman Central Station of 
1883 — Progress — Antigo Telephone Corporatinn — Antigc Electric Light Systems — The City 
Hall — Antigo Water Company — Police Department — City Finances. 



When the first settlers of Antigo were in peril of 
fire the "bucket brigade" was adopted, being the first 
system of fire protection in the village. When the 
early residents desired pure drinking water open wells, 
wooden and other pumps were sunk, this being the 
first "water system" of the little hamlet. When they 
wished to communicate with a neighbor a distance 
away they did not telephone, but hitched up old "Dob- 
bin" and made the call. They carried an oil lantern 
to the barn instead of turning on an electric light 
switch and milking the cows by a Mazda light. They 
read the late arriving papers and magazines by the 
light of oil burning lamps that partially illuminated 
their homes. The "city fathers" or town officials met 
at Niels Anderson's log cabin and later at Spencer's 
Hall instead of holding conferences in the sanctum 
of a modern city hall. These hardy folk paved the 
way and suffered inconveniences that this generation 
and posterity might profit because of their faith. 

From the story of the muricipal and public utili- 
ties as presented the reader will notice an improve- 
ment and wonderful progress since the coming of the 
first white settlers into the land dubbed "Deleglise's 
Dream." 

THE FIRE DEPARTMENT— VOLUNTEER AND 
PAID. 

The paid Antigo Fire Department was organized in 
1903 and G. 0. Palmiter was chosen first chief. Pre- 
viously equipment and organization consisted of a 
Hose Company, Hook and Ladder Company, and an 
Engine Company of volunteers. The first fire appara- 
tus was a hand suction pump called "the man killer." 
The pump was first used the afternoon after its arriv- 
al in a fire at the Herman, Becklinger & Herman mill. 

One of the first acts of the city, when incorporated, 
was to secure a second hand fire "steamer" from the 
city of Appleton. This was used at the Clithero & 
Strong mill fire for the first time and proved satisfac- 
tory. The steamer, called "The Ben Jones," was of 
a type such as the fire department owns today, but 
was smaller and of less power. 

In 1885 and for a time later, the city did not own 
a fire team. When the alarm was sounded whoever 
came with a team first would hitch onto the apparatus 
and proceed to the conflagration. In the absence of 
a team, the hose cart, engine and truck and ladder 
were "man pulled" to the fire. The sons of Mr. and 
Mrs. H. Berner lived close to the fire department 
headquarters and were usually first to "hitch on." 

The first Fire Wardens appointed by Mayor Thomas 



W. Lynch, April 20, 1885, were: First Ward, W. F. 
Bowman and Thomas Sanvidge; Second Ward, T. D. 
Kellogg and B. F. Dorr; Third Ward, E. Meaghers and 
C. F. Dallman; Fourth Ward, E. R. Van Buran and 
Charles Thompson. 

June 10, 1885, Alderman George Clithero introduc- 
ed a resolution, which pass«d, instructing the fire de- 
partment committee to lease a lot on "main street" 
near the Lewis corner on which to erect an engine 
house 24x40 feet and 12 feet high with "double front 
doors." 

The first fire apparatus purchased by the city was 
June 7, 1885, when, at a special meeting of the city 
council, an engine, hose cart, and a hose and hook and 
ladder truck were purchased "from Gleason & Bailey." 
July 7, 1886, $900 was appropriated for purchasing 
fire hose from the Hamilton Rubber Company and 
Louis Novotny was engaged at a $100 a year salary 
to act as steam fire engineer. 

August 8, 1886, all fire companies and the hook 
and ladder company were dissolved, shortly after F. 
M. Sherman had resigned as volunteer chief. 

August 11, 1886, the fire department was reorganiz- 
ed with the following officers: C. S. Leykom, Chief; 
W. F. White, Assistant; A. D. Rice, Secretary. Feb- 
ruary 7, 1888, members of Rescue Hose Company No. 
1, Volunteers, resigned. On February 21, 1888, the 
citizens were called upon to organize a hose, hook and 
ladder, and engine company pursuant to section 3, 
chapter 173 of the laws of 1887. The apparatus in 
possession of the resigned companies was collected by 
the City Marshal with authority of the city council. 

It was not long before Antigo had a new fire fighting 
unit. May 6, 1888, a new constitution and new by- 
laws of the Antigo Engine Company were formed and 
accepted by the city council as follows : 

ANTIGO ENGINE COMPANY. 

Preamble: "The undersigned citizens of the city 
of Antigo hereby agree to associate 'ourselves' to- 
gether for the purpose of forming an engine company 
to form a part of the Antigo Fire Department and re- 
quest the common council to accept us as such; to have 
the custody, care and control of the two fire engines 
in said city." As such company the citizens organ- 
ized themselves under an entirely new set of rulings. 

RESCUE HOSE CO. NO. 1. 

Under the provisions of section 3, sub-chapter 12, 
chapter 173, laws of 1887, Rescue Hose Company No. 



166 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



1 was organized and accepted by the city council. The 
petition for acceptance was signed by E. B. Kennedy, 
Casper Peck, John Tobin, A. L. Ross, A. Novotny, 
Wm. Mader, Peter Becker, W. H. Dawley, Gabe Ka- 
planek, E. McKenna, C. Druesen, M. R. McCann, W. 
B. Johns, F. J. Finucane, G. E. Keen, S. Buerger, John 
Mader, Wm. Berner, Louis Berner, John Reide, Fred 
Myer, H. L. Furgeson, and L. Wahl. 

ALERT HOOK & LADDER CO. NO. L 

The constitution and preamble of the Alert Hook 
& Ladder Co. No. 1 was signed by the following: H. 
A. Kohl, J. C. Lewis, N. J. Boll, John Beadle, J. B. 
Loomis, G. Costley, Fred W. Kiefer, W. L. Crocker, 
J. Dunn, Thomas Smith, B. Hoffman, E. Meaghers, 
W. Bacon, 0. Heller, and A. Boll. 

THE PRESENT HEADQUARTERS. 

The Antigo Fire Department occupies the north 
part of the city hall building. Sleeping apartments 
are located on the second floor east of the council 
chambers. There are now nine members of the de- 
partment as follows: Chief, Elwin Billings; Assistant 
Chief, Guy Rice; Pipemen, Chester Hugunin, Louis 
Maybee, Edward Rynders, and Ben Joyce; Driver, 
Ernest Frisch; Extra Driver, George Case; Engineer, 
John Bowens. 

The city equipped the department with an eighty 
horsepower Seagrave motor truck in 1916. The 
American La France steamer, now used, was purchas- 
ed in 1911. It is capable of pumping 750 gallons of 
water per minute and has saved thousands of dollars 
worth of property. 

Chiefs of the volunteer departments were W. L. 
Crocker, William Johns, Frank M. Sherman, H. A. 
Kohl, G. 0. Palmiter, and Warren Hill. Chiefs of the 
Paid Antigo Fire Department have been G. O. Palmi- 
ter, Dan Leonard, Fred Ebert, Emil Panoush, and El- 
win Billings, present chief. 

THE TELEPHONE INDUSTRY. 

Pioneers, who have passed to their reward, would be 
amazed to know that instead of sending a courier on 
horseback or afoot they could today pick up a re- 
ceiver and in a few minutes talk to a physician at 
Shawano, Clintonville or Wausau, nearest settlements 
to the Langlade County wilderness of 1880. Such 
has been the wonderful change resulting from the in- 
vention of the late Alexander Graham Bell in 1876. 

The first telephone system in Antigo was owned by 
the Wisconsin Telephone Company. Poles were erect- 
ed in November, 1883. In December, 1883, the first 
telephones were put in business and residential places. 
Central office was located where the Masonic Temple 
now stands, in a gun shop owned by W. F. Bowman, 
who was the first manager. 

Peter O'Connor in an early day operated a private 
telephone system with a few subscribers. In Novem- 
ber, 1896, I. F. Strasser of Ripon, Wis., secured' a 
franchise to operate a private telephone company in 



Antigo. The office was moved from the Bowman lo- 
cation to the Spencer drug store location, now the A. 
A. Lueck Drug Store. Richard Koebke managed the 
system and later became its owner. A new exchange 
was instituted in 1900. June 1, 1902, W. L. Elliott 
took over the Antigo Telephone Company. Two hun- 
dred and fifty subscribers used the service then. The 
same year the Wisconsin Telephone Company sup- 
plied Antigo with long distance connections. 

T. W. Hogan, J. C. Lewis, Edward Cleary, L. L. 
Gibbs, and W. H. Brown purchased the Antigo tele- 
phone system from W. L. Elliott and improved the 
service during their years of ownership. In 1916 the 
stock was sold to E. A. Zundel and others of Sheboy- 
gan, Wis. Since, it has been known as The Antigo 
Telephone Corporation. Offices of W. J. Gallon, Gen- 
eral Manager, are in the Ullman building, Superior 
Street. Central offices are located in the Cleary 
building. Other officers are President, E. A. Zundel; 
Vice President, J. E. Collins; Secretary-Treasurer, W. 
J. Gallon, and Ben Snyder, Assistant Manager. Di- 
rectories are issued semi-annually. 

ANTIGO'S ELECTRIC SYSTEMS. 

The Antigo electric plant was established in 1888 
by Louis K. Lusk, J. H. Trever, and C. S. Leykom. 
It was called the Antigo Edison Electric Light Co. 
The concern operated in the location of the present 
plant until September, 1897, when the original owners 
sold to W. L. Elliott, who made many improvements 
in the industry. 

Mr. Elliott died on January 2, 1904, and John 
Wright of Chicago took over the plant. (Deal was 
made before Elliott's death). The electric light plant 
was destroyed by fire one day before Mr. Wright sign- 
ed the legal papers. Mr. Wright completely remodel- 
ed his new plant and operated with success until 1909 
when the present owners purchased it. Purchasers 
from Mr. Wright were John Manser, F. A. Hecker, D. 
J. Murray, John Anderson, F. J. Boyce, and C. M. 
Cleveland of Wausau. Antigo men became interested 
financially since then. The company reorganized irl 
August, 1909, electing the following officers: Presi- 
dent, John Manser; Vice President, F. J. Boyce, and 
Secretary-Treasurer, F. A. Hecker. Mr. Manser is 
now active manager of the plant. The present owners 
have made great advances and have practically a new 
A. C. plant. J. J. Healy is chief engineer and Walter 
Vaughn is chief of the linemen. 

ANTIGO WATER CO.— WATER DEPARTMENT. 

Before July, 1891, Antigo citizens did not have the 
conveniences of waterworks as enjoyed today. An- 
tigo was then dependent on wells, cisterns, pumps, and 
bubbling springs for water supply. But a growing 
community is bound to attract capital, labor, and pro- 
gressive citizens. W. G. Maxcy, his brother, and two 
other parties organized the original Antigo Water 
Company in 1891. A complete plant, pump house, 
and reserve tank were erected at the present water- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



167 



works site. The company served the business and 
residential sections as fast as they desired water serv- 
ice. 

The city of Antigo purchased the Antigo Water- 
works in 1914 at a cost of $148,507.13. The affairs 
of the plant are in charge of Frank Dvorak, Treasur- 
er and Manager, and Harry Jackson, Superintendent, 
and Miss Grace Dessureau, department clerk, who 
have offices in the city hall. Other officers are Mayor, 
who is Chairman of the board of directors, and Secre- 
tary, who is the City Clerk, now G. O. Palmiter. 

The water plant is equipped with two tubular boil- 
ers of 125 horsepower each. A steel stand pipe 100 
feet high has a capacity of 150,400 gallons. The total 
amount of water pumped in 1921 was 291,355,930 gal- 



Interest on funded debt, $4,250; interest on real es- 
tate mortgages, $1,150; contractual sinking fund re- 
quirements, $1,800. 

Net income at close of business in 1921 was 
$6,880.54. 

The department has 127 metered consumers and 
1,108 flat consumers. 

Daily capacity of the two municipal pumps is 
1,735,000 and 1,500,000 gallons respectively. 

THE CITY HALL. 

When the city was incorporated in 1885, the old 
skating rink, property of T. H. Robbins, was purchas- 
ed and made over into quarters for city officials and 
the fire department. The large frame structure was 




THE ANTIGO 

Erected in I'.iuu by Contractor C. F. 

home of Antigo's 

Ions. The range of ordinary pressure on water mains 
is between 30 and 43 pounds, while fire pressure 
ranges from 100 to 125 pounds. At the close of busi- 
ness in 1921, 98,813 feet of mains served as distribu- 
tors to all sections of the city. Two shallow wells 
with capacities of 750,000 and 800,000 gallons each, 
constitute a part of the system. These wells are 25 
and 30 feet in depth respectively. All Antigo Water 
Department bonds mature in 1934. Operating ex- 
penses at the close of June, 1915, were $9,996.84. 

Total revenues for 1921 were $34,063.11. 

Total operating expenses for 1921 were $19,982.57. 

Gross income for 1921, $34,063.11. 

Total deductions from gross income $7,200 sub- 
divided as follows: 



CITY HALL 

Dallman. The City Hall is the 
official body. 

used until the new city hall was erected in 1901. The 
"old skating rink" was razed. 

Bids for erecting the new city hall were opened 
October 17, 1899, and the contract awarded to C. F. 
Dallman for $9,250.00. The building committee se- 
lected by Mayor I. D. Steffen consisted of John 
Kestly, N. R. Babcock, and J. W. Allerton. The city 
hall was completed in December, 1900, and final pay- 
ments were made to contractor C. F. Dallman in Jan- 
uary, 1901. Van Ryan & De Gelleke of Milwaukee 
were the architects. 

The city hall is the home of Antigo's official body. 
It contains offices of the Mayor, City Clerk, Commis- 
sioners, Treasurer, Council Chambers, Water Depart- 
ment, Engineer, Fire and Police Departments, and de- 
partment firemen sleeping quarters. 



168 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



STONE CRUSHERS— DISPOSAL PLANTS. 

Sewerage disposal land was purchased in October, 
1910. John Brogan was the sewerage disposal con- 
tractor. Bonds for the erection of the plant were is- 
sued June 15, 1911, to the extent of $50,000. 

The old stone crusher cost $1,185 and was erected 
in 1907. The crusher was to the rear of the J. W. 
Otis building. The second crusher was purchased 
from the Austin-Western Road Machine Co. in 1913 
for $1,541.60. A stone crusher was purchased in 
1896 for $1,000. In May, 1922, a new stone crusher 
was purchased from the Austin-Western Road Machin- 
ery Co., Chicago, 111. 

CEMETERIES— PARKS. 

The first cemetery association was organized in An- 
tigo by Jackson Tibbets, W. L. Crocker, Gus Lind, 
Hon. F. A. Deleglise, J. E. Martin, B. F. Dorr. L. 
Mendlik, L. W. Bliss, and George Ratcliffe. It was 
organized October 24, 1882. The Catholic Cemetery 
Association was organized in July, 1914. Leaders in 
the movement were J. J. Laughlin, Edward Cleary, A. 
J. Nowotny, Thomas W. Hogan, Fred W. Kiefer, 
Frank Riendl, Leonard Freiburger, and Thomas Mor- 
rissey. 

The Antigo Cemetery Association controlled the 
Protestant and Catholic cemeteries until two distinct 
associations were formed — one Catholic and one Pro- 
testant. The Protestant continued as the old organ- 
ization. Their cemetery, adjoining the Catholic ceme- 
tery on Aurora Street, is called the Antigo Cemetery. 

During the mayoralty term of Fred Hayssen, June 



8, 1905, eighty acres of land were purchased by the 
city and set aside for cemetery purposes. The ceme- 
tery is called "Elmwood." The Antigo Cemetery and 
Park Boards were consolidated in 1922. 

The City Park was given to the city of Antigo by 
Mrs. Mary Deleglise in January, 1905. The deed 
was turned over to the city by Morrissey & Leslie. 
The park is situated between Eighth and Ninth Ave- 
nues east of Watson Street. 

FIRST CITY ORDINANCE. 

The first ordinance of the city was adopted April 16, 
1885, after presentation by Mayor Thomas W. Lynch. 
The ordinance prescribed the manner of building 
wooden sidewalks and the width of same. The sec- 
ond ordinance fixed the regular meetings of the city 
council and was passed April 18, 1885. Both ordi- 
nances were repassed and published September 19, 
1890, when Dr. I. D. Steffen was Mayor. 

The first act of Mayor Thomas W. Lynch in 1885 
was to sign a resolution declaring the city of Antigo 
duly created in accordance with chapter 79 of the 
laws of 1885. 

CITY FINANCES. 

The following statement from the City Comptroller 
gives the present financial status of the city of Antigo: 

Total receipts for year ending 1921 $490,260.35 

Total expenditure, all sources, for year 

1921 505,842.26 

Total Bonded Indebtedness, City of An- 
tigo, 1921 201,000.00 




THE .-WTIGO PAID FIRE DEI'.-\RT MEXT 
This jjictiire was taken liy A. J. Kingsbury before the Seagrave truck was purchased. Left to right the lirciiien 
are: Chester llngnnin; El win I'.illings. Chief; Guy Rice. .Xssistant Chief; Ernest Frisch; Thomas 

Hickey; John Bowens and George Case. 



i 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



169 



CHAPTER XXXIIl. 

Antigo Lodges, Clubs, Societies 

Masonic — Odd Fellows — Elks — Knights of Columbus — Foresters — Knights of Wisconsin — Knights 
of Pythias — Various Railroad Lodges and Auxiliaries — Labor Organizations — Eagles — M. W. 
A. — Mystic Workers — E. F. U. — Owls — Beavers — Moose — Z. C. B. J. — Patriotic Orders — Typo- 
graphical Union. 



That the generations to follow may know that An- 
tigo, Langlade County, was one of the prominent fra- 
ternal and social cities of Wisconsin in this age, the 
various lodges, patriotic orders, clubs, and labor or- 
ganizations are briefly enumerated. Where charter 
members were available they have been listed. These 
organizations are numerous and only a sketch of each 
can be made. They are benevolent, social, benefi- 
ciary, patriotic, and literary in character. Their mem- 
berships represent the entire city of Antigo and every 
township of Langlade County. In generations to come 
many of the orders will be dead and forgotten, and 
perhaps, by chance, in an old attic or from between the 
walls of a building being torn down or one that is 
decaying, this record of Antigo's fraternal, social, and 
benevolent affairs will be found. 

REBEKAHS— TWILIGHT LODGE NO 184. 

Twilight Lodge, No. 184, Rebekahs, was organized 
June 5, 1901. The charter members were H. Findei- 
sen, W. F. Bowman, W. B. Johns, W. L. Crocker, W. 
J. Daskam, J. W. Allerton, Frank Irwin, Louisa Bow- 
man, Amanda Johns, Fannie Crocker, Effie Crocker, 
Sophie Findeisen, Grace Daskam, Floy Truesdell, 
Hattie Kellett, Emma Weeks, Elizabeth Johnson, Eva 
Gee, Carrie Christiansen, Nellie Freyer, E. H. Trues- 
dell, Nellie Hulbert, Etta Erwin, Floi Allerton, Kate 
Gee, Emaline Findeisen, Anna Watch, Alvin Watch, 
A. A. Hulbert, Fred Gee, George Gee, John Weeks, 
Henry Freyer, Elizabeth Kenyon, and L. J. Kenyon. 

ROYAL NEIGHBORS, CAMP 1847. 

Antigo Camp 1847, Camp 6419, and Camp 8449 of 
the R. N. A. have been consolidated into one camp 
known now as Antigo Camp 1847. Charter members 
of Camp 1847 were Minnie L. Albright, Anna Badger, 
Jennie Barnes, Matie E. Bemis, Rose Boll, Lottie B. 
Calkins, Anna F. Dana, Anna C. Dawley, Tillie 
Driggs, Jennie Fischer, Emma Garland, Alice Gray, 
Hilma Gryle, Louise Heller, Eva S. Hill, Anna M. 
Hopkins, Maggie Kempf, Mary Locks, Augusta Mad- 
sen, Mary Yentz, Franciska Wege, Louise Molle, Al- 
vina Phelps, Mary Ringsmuth, Alma E. Rudolph, Effie 
L. Steffen, Maggie A. Warren. Charter members of 
Camp No. 6419 were: Anna Barta, Mary Barta, Abbie 
S. Bonner, Agnes Chadek, Mary A. Chadek, Mary K. 
Cherf, Anna Dvorak, Katherine E. Hubbard, Anna 
and Annie Jacobus, Marie F. Jacobus, Maud Karbon, 
Theresa Krugel, Augusta McDougal, Essie McDougal, 



Clara Mosher, Kristena Pavlicek, Mary Platek, Mary 
J. Plzak, Hedley Ralph, Rillie Ralph, Theresa Rice, 
Anna Rine, Evelyn Rynders, Clara Schmitzer, Marie 
Smetana, Annie Steinfest, Anna Urban, Mary White. 
Charter members of Camp No. 8449 were Lulu Aben- 
schein, Jennie Anderson, Rosella Berg, Sadie Cavers, 
Mabel W. Charles, Kattie Claggett, Irene Conway, 
Esther Edwards, Ethel Fearson, Maud Finney, Mayme 
C. Glassow, Maud Goodchild, Lillian J. Gorman, Hil- 
degarde Hill, Anne Hodd, Ella Kamke, Lottie Larze- 
lere, Bernice Cambridge, Gustava McDonough, Lynda 
Nelson, Lillian Patnode, Willamine Riley, Myra 
Roberts, Hidvina Rogge, Minnie Speener, Rose 
Strandt, Eva Tatro, E. Threasther, Ella Wilson, C. 
Washburn. 

G. I. A. TO B. OF L. E. 

The G. I. A. to B. of L. E. organized in Antigo Feb- 
ruary 14, 1914. Charter members were Mesdames 
Charles Aucutt, Charles Abrams, C. A. Apker, A. H. 
Bessey, M. F. Crowe, J. Callahan, Ed Clancy, Wm. 
Curran, M. F. Day, Patrick Donohue, E. F. Duggan, 
Dennis Donohue, Ed Eschenbach, E. T. Ford, L. Hoff- 
man, R. C. Hull, R. H. Johnston, T. P. Kelly, John Ke- 
van, T. J. Kavanaugh, James Kane, Jule Libert, Wm. 
Meagher, Pat Mulloy, Angus McKinnon, John Mc- 
Guire, Joseph McClelland, Charles McCarthy, George 
Norton, James Paton, Al Ryland, Frank Stewart, 
Charles Tillett, F. P. VerBryck, J. D. Vantwood. 

ORDER OF OWLS, NEST 1165. 

Nest 1165, Order of Owls, was organized in Antigo 
with charter members as follows: A. A. Hyams, Wal- 
ter Boyle, Eugene Palmer, George V. Stengl, J. C. 
Wright, H. A. Kohl, D. H. Keen, Richard Boll, Dan 
Haffner, Frank Arnold, Charles F. Gorham, John 
Schrieber, E. S. Rayworth, F. Bergran, John Hayes, 
Louis Kaims, A. F. Billington, F. J. Kadow, Frank 
Herrick, Ernest P. Emerich, C. F. Williams, Andrew 
Mathison, Peter Poshinsky, Henry Hoffman, M. A. 
Flatley, Edward Hadler, Lamont Boyer, Henry Bork, 
Wm. Laroy, Arthur Mader, Charles Atkins, F. J. Gal- 
lagher, Julius Heissinger, E. J. Donohue, F. G. Kub- 
seroy, George J. Larson, M. J. Donohue, Paul Von de 
Schoeppe, M. Healy, Jess Garland, A. E. James, John 
Prokupek, Wm. Stewart, Joseph Giese, L. C. Andrews, 
A. E. Harris, August Laabs, Edward J. Beckman, 
Joseph Kotschie, E. J. Berenson, Frank Lyons, J. J. 
Herbash, Clinton Jerosom, George Wolfe, M. McCann, 



170 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



W. H. Jensen, J. C. McCann, J. Stillman, W. F. Baker, 
F. H. Boldt, Stanley Kames, G. W. Moore, John Bo- 
sacki. The nest was organized December 6, 1910. 

SPRINGBROOK LODGE 534, B. OF L. F. & E. 

Springbrook Lodge No. 534, B. of L. F. & E., was 
organized in Antigo, March 1, 1909. 

LADIES SOCIETY, B. OF L. F. & E. 

The Ladies Society of the B. of L. F. & E. was or- 
ganized March 14, 1919. Charter members were 
Ethel Allen, Veronica Barr, Ida Below, Grace and 
Mary Bublitz, Bell Christensen, Edna Curran, Cora 
Drake, Laura Drake, Mary Donohue, F. Engle, Lynda 
Fuller, Merle Fuller, Josephine Gnat, Katherine Gra- 
bowsky, Genevieve Hayes, Mary Hanneman, Margaret 
Heaney, Martha Hintz, Margaret Jones, Bertha Russ- 
ler, Christina Sisel, Anna E. Soman, Mary F. Stats, 
Theresa Stats, Ella Strobel, Ruth Wiske, and Ella 
Young. 

ASSEMBLY NO. 29, E. F. U. 

Charter members of Antigo Assembly No. 29, E. 
F. U., organized March 10, 1898, were A. D. Stewart, 
Fred Zwickey, Joseph Wirrer, C. Leykom, W. H. 
Pardee, F. A. Millard, Charles Fehring, Anton MoUe, 
Peter Hansen, C. L. Robinson, S. Dunnewald, John F. 
Schultz, Charles Franzke, I. D. Steffen, Sipley Weeks, 
Henry F. Fryer, L. K. Strong, Leon Hartford, A. C. 
Campbell. E. A. King, A. H. Walch, Charles H. 
Krause, and D. H. Clements. 

MYSTIC WORKERS OF WORLD. 

Antigo Lodge No. 585, Mystic Workers of the 
World, was organized September 29, 1903. Charter 
members were E. R. Watson, Ella R. Putnam, Charles 
L. Braun, H. A. Schafer, M. J. Donohue, Erwin Hutch- 
ins, Fred Litts, John Crandall, Jr., Evan Evenson, H. 
D. Willard, and J. E. Putnam. They were also the 
first officers. 



BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY CLERKS. 

The Brotherhood of Railway Clerks, Station, Steam- 
ship and Express Employes organized in Antigo as 
Antigo Lodge No. 144, November 16, 1918. Charter 
members were Arthur A. Holmes, E. Nonnemacher, 
Albert Ross, Andrew Follsted, F. Sobkowiak, James 
Pliska, Ray Loper, H. R. Bomke, E. P. Emerich, E. J. 
Steffel, Frank Emerich, John Reubal, Joseph Sob- 
kowiak, W. J. Wolhaupt, R. Brandl, and Lester G. 
Frink. 

CARPENTERS UNION NO. 1508. 

Antigo Lodge No. 1508, United Brotherhood of Car- 
penters and Joiners, was organized September 2, 1910. 
The union holds its meetings the 2nd and 4th Satur- 
days of each month. 

ANTIGO CENTRAL LABOR UNION. 

The Antigo Central Labor Union was organized 
June 17, 1916, with E. E. Frink, H. H. Fetters, M. D. 
Robrecht, Charles Kupper, Albert Rice, and A. Wulk 
as charter members. The central body is representa- 
tive of the greater number of organized unions of An- 
tigo. Meetings are held in the Butterfield building. 
October 7, 1918, the unit received a certificate of mem- 
bership in the State Federation of Labor. The Antigo 
Central Labor Union has conducted Labor Day cele- 
brations in Antigo since 1917. 

ANTIGO LODGE NO. 662, B. P. 0. E. 

Antigo Lodge No. 662, B. P. O. E. was instituted in 
Antigo on February 21, 1901 by D. D. G. Exalted Ruler 
Thomas B. Mills of West Superior, Wisconsin. Elks 
from Rhinelander, Wausau and Ashland were present 
and assisted in organization. The first officers elected 
were : E. R.— G. W. Latta ; E. Leading K.— C. E. Hen- 
shaw; E. Loyal Knight — C. O. Marsh; E. Lecturing K. 
— Max Hoffman; Secretary — 0. P. Walch; Treasurer — 
W. B. McArthur; Tiler— William Hackett; Trustees— 
Dr. F. V. Watson, Fred Meyers and L. D. Dana. 

Antigo Lodge No. 662 has its own home at 622 Cler- 
mont Street. 



JUVENILE BRANCH— MYSTIC WORKERS. 

Charter members of Branch No. 585, Juvenile Mys- 
tic Workers of the World are Dorothy E. Below, Aug- 
ust Laehn, Jr., Emmet Below, Dorothy Laehn, Elmer 
Laehn, Ruth E. Drake, Cleo Doebert, John Laehn, 
Mabel Laehn, Paul Laehn, Raymond Laehn, Rosa 
Laehn, Ray Edwards, A. C. Goodnow, C. C. Herman, 
C. L. Goodenow, Marquette Herman, D. E. Herman, 
Harold J. and Leo James Hittle, Walter Laehn, Alice 
Laabs, Frank Lenzner, Martha and Ray Lenzner, Ade- 
line Kupper, Gladys Maloney, Dwayne Mountain, Bea- 
trice Nedden, Alice Sweeney, Francis G. Person, Luel- 
la Rettinger, Dorothy R. and Clarence, Edward, Helen, 
and John Swoboda, and Lorraine Van Atter. The 
branch organized March 10, 1920. 



ANTIGO LODGE NO. 470, L. 0. 0. M. 

Anitgo Lodge No. 470, L. 0. 0. M., was organized 
August 8, 1919. Elwin Billings, Robert S. Browne, 
E. A. Beckman, Oscar Hertell, Chris Adraktas, Eugene 
Nash, Joseph Schwartz, Stephen Stacka, Arby Gil- 
mer, Frank Grossman, F. Molzberger, Godfrey Nor- 
man, Tony Dombios, Julius Bergman, John Now, 
Harry Woodward, A. P. Anderson, M. J. Hickey, 
Leonard Freiburger, Jr., S. A. Dillman, Anton Holup, 
Joseph Bames, A. E. Pickel, Harley Space, Alex Ka- 
dow, W. F. Kasson, H. F. McCollough, George Basl, 
Ira Miller, Fred C. Schultz, Anton Peroutka, E. H. 
Marsh, August Marmes, Herman Levin, Ed Williams, 
Thomas Collick, Charles Fleischman, N. F. Lamey, 
Charles Gorham, Julius Guenthner, Jr., Edward J. Ka- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



171 



dow, M. D. Robrecht, Charles Orgeman, R. Houle, N. 

E. Dillman, Frank Schoepfer, Ray Kitt, W. C. Fehr- 
mann, and Max H. Delfs. The lodge was organized 
August 8, 1919. 

ANTIGO COUNCIL NO. 25, F. R. A. 

Antigo Council No. 25, F. R. A., was instituted No- 
vember 19, 1902, with A. F. Zimmerman, Henry Mitch- 
ell, J. J. Laughlin, Leonard Freiburger, J. W. Parsons, 
Delbert Rice, Henry Green, A. M. Arveson, Paul Rum- 
mer, Chris Brennecke, Emmon Badger, Peter Marx, 

F. V. Watson, Fred Boyce, Frank Drake, August 
Gamm, Henry Heller, Otto Able, Dan Keen, Gustav 
Berglin, Frank Koles, Emil Klitz, Wm. Wright, Frank 
Keller, and Alfred Iserhott as charter members. 

SPRINGBROOK COLONY 27, BEAVERS R. F. F. 

Springbrook Colony 27, B. R. F. F., was organized 
September 20, 1907. C. J. Nash, James Gagen, Leon- 
ard Freiburger, Sr., Fred Wege, Minnie Goebel, Mary 
Tollefson, Ellen McArthur, A. F. Zimmerman, C. H. 
Calkins, F. H. Boldt, Emma McArthur, Dr. F. V. Wat- 
son, Dr. G. H. Williamson, Dr. Helen Beattie were 
charter members. 

WOMAN'S CATHOLIC ORDER OF FORESTERS. 

The Woman's Catholic Order of Foresters, insti- 
tuted St. Marguerite's Court No. 264 June 2, 1898. 
Isabel McKusker, Mary Crowe, Marie Moulton, Agnes 
Donohue, Margaret Cleary, Mary Morse, May Kest- 
ly, and Z. M. Strong were charter members. 

UNITED BROTHERHOOD MAINTENANCE OF 
WAY, ANTIGO LODGE NO. 474. 

The United Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way 
and Railway Shop Employes organized as Antigo 
Lodge No. 474, December 30, 1918. The following 
were the charter members: William A. Ranka, first 
President; Edward Wojan, Vice President; Harry 
Pehil, Past President; Theodore Zemke, Sec.-Treas.; 
Theodore Zemke, Journal Agent; George Dale, Chap- 
lain; Fred Ebert, Conductor; Fred Parsons, Warden; 
Albert Schutz, Inner Sentinel, and Paul Zemke, Outer 
Sentinel. January 9, 1919, the Maintenance of Way 
received certification of membership in the State Fed- 
eration of Labor. 

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY CARMEN. 

Springbrook Lodge No. 451, Brotherhood of Rail- 
way Carmen, was organized September 22, 1906. Char- 
ter members were J. J. Tessar, John Cherney, J. M. 
Fencil, Peter Piotrowski, A. Dumke, Frank Chur- 
ney, Anton Zima, James Byrne, Frank Steber, R. Mahl, 
and Adam Janazak. 

ORDER OF RAILWAY CONDUCTORS. 

On December 4, 1904, Division No. 462, of the Order 
of Railway Conductors, was organized in Antigo with 



the following charter members : Edward Cleary, C. D. 
Fenn, M. Garrity, John McKenna, S. J. Lynde, B. W. 
McCarey, W. H. Brown, John Wall, C. M. Beattie, 
H. J. Frick, H. M. Jennings, H. J. Riley, D. E. Rock- 
wood, W. P. Hull, F. C. Parsons, James Farley, J. 
R. McCullouch, W. D. Kelly, John Kelly, A. Pelkie. 
J. P. Warren, and W. J. Van Rossum. 

INTERNATIONAL ASS'N. OF MACHINISTS 
(HELPERS) 

December 8, 1917, the International Association of 
Machinists formed an Antigo unit with the following as 
charter members: John Douglas, John A. Granscheid, 
Charles Hittle, Clarence Heyse, Emil Krall, James 
Krall, John Knolinski, Ernest Duchrow, Jacob Lingle, 
Joseph Pentany, John and Roy Remington, S. Rock, 
Joseph Sailer, and Frank Sell. 

WOMAN'S RELIEF CORPS NO. 78. 

The John A. Kellogg Relief Corps, No. 78, was or- 
ganized May 15, 1888. The charter members were 
Mrs. M. Jane Burdick, Mrs. Helen Breck, Mrs. E. L. 
Bowman, Mrs. Emma La Londe, Mrs. Elvey E. Cham- 
berlain, Mrs. R. A. Laing, Miss Florence Burdick, Mrs. 
Mary A. Dix, Miss Maud La Londe, Mrs. Jane A. 
Springstead, Mrs. Emily Juneau, Mrs. Matilda Graves, 
Mrs. Theresa Phelps, and Miss Cora Graves. Meet- 
ings are held the first and third Tuesdays at Odd 
Fellows' Hall. 

DAUGHTERS OF THE G. A. R. 

The Antigo Fortress of the Daughters of the G. A. 
R. was organized August 23, 1921. Charter members 
were Mae Young, Elizabeth Higgins, Flora Bryant, 
Alice Garland, Anna Lavoy, Anna Gelow, Ella Seng- 
stock, Lottie Aucutt, Margaret Randall, Genevieve 
Stanson, Gertrude Young, Hazel Aucutt, Mabel Malt- 
by, Hattie Lyons, and Myrtle Schutts. Meetings are 
held at Adraktas hall. Mrs. Leland Mayotte, nee 
Leila Abrams, was officially adopted as a daughter 
of the John A. Kellogg Post No. 78, G. A. R., in June, 
1912. 

REESE SPARKS POST NO. 3, AMERICAN 
LEGION. 

Reese Sparks Post No. 3, American Legion, was or- 
ganized September 1, 1921. 

INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS. 

Gem Encampment No. 30, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, was organized February 12, 1892, with 
J. W. Morse, G. 0. Palmiter, W. L. Crocker, Dr. M. 
J. Lower, Thomas Salvidge, and John Benishek as 
charter members. 

On June 8, 1883, W. L. Crocker, George Ratcliffe, 
J. K. Smolk, J. A. Long, W. L. Wallon organized An- 
tigo Lodge No. 310, I. 0. 0. F. 



172 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHARTER OAK NO. 150, K. OF P. 

Charter Oak Lodge No. 150, Knights of Pythias, was 
organized June 10, 1903, with the following charter 
members: C. M. Beattie, W. H. Dawley, Guy J. 
Moses, F. E. Chandler, F. I. Drake, W. B. McArthur, 
C. W. Swanson, F. W. Hogan, A. C. Conway, W. H. 
Furgeson, R. Koebke, George Ewen, F. C. Myers, M. 
M. Ross, Fred W. Bauter, Dave Clements, F. T. Gray, 
R. Brush, Henry Berner, Fred L. Berner, A. M. Dues- 
dru, W. H. Grey, C. L. Clarke, 0. H. Foster, M. L. 
Bacon, James F. McCormick, O. P. Walch, and E. 
Wigderson. Meetings are held every Thursday eve- 
ning at Odd Fellows' Hall. 

MOOSEHEART LEGION OF WORLD. 

Antigo Chapter 587, Moosehart Legion of the 
World, was organized January 9, 1921. Meetings are 
held at Adraktas Hall. 

Z. C. B. J. 

The Z. C. B. J. was organized in Antigo, January 1, 
1897. 

ANTIGO COUNCIL NO. 1002, K. OF C. 

Antigo Council No. 1002, Knights of Columbus, was 
organized on June 4, 1905. Charter members were : 
J. F. McCormick, William Reader, Hector McDonald, 
Rev. P. T. Garrity, Timothy Burke, F. Jennings, D. J. 
Murphy, Joseph Kelley, J. P. Rohlinger, J. M. Hogan, 
Archie Pelkie, Rev. P. S. Schmitz, Charles Nichols, 
John Barnes, J. H. Wall, J. H. Dedier, B. Berhatter, 
Jacob Bentz, Angus McKinnon, Matt Donohue, Rev. 
Fr. Bastian, Marcus Madel, Joseph Bentz, Edgar R. 
Gibbons, W. J. Sullivan, John O'Day, R. W. Barrett, 
J. J. Kiely, T. M. Bolger, Dr. W. Ryan, Adolph Kom- 
mers, M. J. Donohue, T. W. Hogan, A. J. Riley, John 
Kevin, M. J. McNamara, Charles McCarthy, W. H. 
Wall, J. E. Collins, John Kelley, Edward Doner, John 
Rassman, T. J. Kavanaugh, John McCarthy, J. L. 
Donohue, G. W. McKinnon, J. L. Burns, M. J. O'Don- 
nell, M. O'Donnell, D. Van Hecke, Thomas Kelley, 
James Koehane, John McKenna, Rev. C. Saile, G. W. 
Anson, Thomas W. Koehane, A. M. Baranton, M. W. 
Schumacher, James O'Malley, Pat O'Malley, James 
S. Timlin. T. T. McGuine, W. H. Johnson, W. H. 
Brown, Edward Cleary, F. Verkurlin, J. 0. Madel, R. 
M. Kutchins, A. J. Nowotny, John Roem, M. A. 
Flatley, L. Kommers, F. T. Doner, H. B. Muttart, F. 
McGillan, B. W. McCarey, J. J. Laughlin, F. M. Mul- 
vaney, Frank Kelly, V. P. Rath, D. E. Rice, Thomas 
Morrissey, C. N. Cody, John Kalmers, W. H. O'Brien, 
A. H. Bauer, J. A. Walsh, B. J. Lally, C. Fred Calhoun, 
Ed Cody, J. A. Gaynor, Dr. J. J. Looze, Frank Kane, 
T. E. Mullen, R. F. Dedier, T. M. Coughlin, P. J. Koel- 
zer, F. Kestly, R. Kemmer, J. J. Huhn, Jr., Henry and 
Arnold Maes and John Van Hecke. 

LADIES AUXILIARY TO B. OF R. T. 

On March 5, 1896, Badger Lodge No. 93, Ladies 
Auxiliary to the B. of R. T., was organized. Anna 



Persons, Bertha Billings, Delia Bernett, May Dix, 
Mary G. Laughlin, Helen Mclntyre, Lettie Anchet, 
Mary Clark, Jennie Porter, Clara Hoyt, Ina White, 
Mayme McNamara, Lottie Dailey, Nellie Garrity, 
Mary Nye, F. A. Arnold, Maggie Boyle, Mary Billings, 
and Amelia Snorts were the charter members. 

MacPHERSON CIRCLE, LADIES OF G. A. R. 

Gen. J. MacPherson Circle No. 2, Ladies of the G. 
A. R., was organized December 12, 1893, with Mrs. 
Mary A. Dricks, Theressa Phelps, Anna Elliott, Carrie 
Leudkey, Elizabeth Fowler, Anna Briggs, Alice Swee- 
ney, Rachel Laing, Adelaide Stone, Mary Furgeson, 
Margaret Michaelson, Grace Fowler, Margaret Ley- 
kom, Charlotte Aucutt, Emily Juneau, Estella Prosser, 
and Miss Minnie Hull as charter members. 

ANTIGO TYPOGRAPHICAL UNION NO. 734. 

Antigo Typographical Union No. 734 was organ- 
ized on March 4, 1915. Ten members were initiated 
into the union at the first regular meeting. Albert Spy- 
challa is now President and Hugh Besaw is Secretary 
and Treasurer. The membership is composed of print- 
ers as follows : Ralph Berner, Bert House, Harvey 
Goebel, Otto Kiedatz, Clifford B. Knapp, Irvin Schille- 
man, Roy Rezek, Rudolph Steber, Hugh Besaw, Wil- 
liam Leslie, Earl S. Holman, Albert Spychalla, Henry 
Berner, Otto Berner, and Louis Berner. 

CATHOLIC KNIGHTS OF WISCONSIN. 

Antigo Branch No. 77 of the Catholic Knights of 
Wisconsin was organized July 29, 1887. The charter 
members were Stephen Dauch, Patrick H. Durick, 
Joseph H. Hoffman, J. N. Kiefer, J. E. Mullowney, 
George L. Schintz, Israel Wood, Edward Cavanaugh 
John Deresch, Joseph Firminhac, Frank Kennedy, M. 
McNamara, Frank Reindl, George L. Schutz. 

ST. JOHN'S COURT, C. 0. 0. F. 

St. John's Court No. 105, Catholic Order of For- 
esters, was organized March 20, 1889, with the follow- 
ing charter members : George L. Schintz, Frank Mot- 
tell, Thomas W. Hogan, Michael O'Donnell, August 
Freiburger, Dr. J. F. Doyle, Dennis Costello, Daniel 
Dunn, Leonard Freiburger, A. H. Morris, James Lor- 
enz, John Kevan, and Joseph Alb. Regular meetings 
are held. 

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHIN- 
ISTS. 

Libby Lodge No. 700, International Association of 
Machinists, was organized in Antigo on January 17, 
1918, with the following charter members: Edwin A. 
Berg, P. B. Gibson, T. J. Holland, Ever Hoiem, L. A. 
Howard, L. G. Krause, W. J. Owens, F. W. Priester, 
J. W. Strong, L. Wolf and W. H. Wall. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



173 



B. A. R. E. 

The Brotherhood of Railway Employes, Antigo Di- 
vision No. 122, was organized on April 3, 1919. 

ANTIGO LODGE NO. 618—1. B. B. I. S. B. H. OF A. 

Antigo Lodge No. 618, International Brotherhood of 
Boilermakers, Iron Ship Builders and Helpers of Amer- 
ica, was organized on March 9, 1920. The charter 
members were Eugene Fuszard, George Ostermeir, 
Tim Crow, Paul Schumann, Emil Hanousek, Fred 
Wendt, Ed. Muraski, Felix Ourouke, W. A. Lillie, 
Frank Neuburger, Henry Harm, Daniel Pierson, Albert 
Nedden, Joseph Bahr, Peter De Loy, Peter Piotrowski, 
M. Rock, J. H. Luckowicz, Plumber King, E. Fuszard, 
Joseph Frisch, B. H. Franklin, A. Long, August Laabs, 
Louis Meyers. John Petrowski, Max Hoffman and 
Charles Bliss. 

ANTIGO LODGE, MAINTENANCE OF WAY. 

Antigo Lodge, International Brotherhood of Main- 
tenance of Way Employes, was organized on March 
23, 1910. The charter members were as follows: S. 
F. Plzak, J. P. Pliska, J. J. Kosarek, August Kessler, 
Charles Daga, C. A. Smith, M. Kozarek, William Sen- 
ner, Robert Ison and A. Schmal. 

ANTIGO LODGE F. & A. M. 

Antigo Lodge No. 231, F. & A. M., was organized on 
September 15, 1885. The lodge was instituted with 
twenty-one charter members. The first officers were : 
W. M.— G. A. Ramsay; S. W.— J. W. Moody; J. W.— 
Ed. Daskam; Treasurer — G. W. Latta; Secretary — P. 
J. Millard; S. D.— A. B. Millard; J. D.— James Porter; 
Stewards — J. W. Goodwin; Charles Teipner; Tiler — 
Frank Carsen. M. L. Youngs, Grand Lecturer of Wis- 
consin was instrumental in organization. The first 
meeting was held over Irvin Gray's store. 

Present officers, 1922, are : W. M.— C. W. Van Dor- 
en; S. W.— L. H. Hilton; Jr. W.— Chas. Gauthier; 
Treasurer — Geo. Crandell; Secretary — N. C. Holmes; 
S. D.— Tracy Wales; Jr. D.— Harry Fitze; Sr. S.— 
Walter Fetters; Jr. S.— A. Hovey; Tyler— H. A. Bald- 
win. 

ANTIGO CHAPTER NO. 64. 

Organized December 6, 1889. Present officers, 
1922, are: H. P.— Otto Walch; King— C. 0. Miller; 
Scribe — Wm. R. Dixon; Treasurer — Geo. Crandell; 
Secretary— Joe Jirtle; C. of H.— M. C. Canfield; P. S. 
—Ever Hoiem; R. A. C— K. C. Parton; 1st V.— Geo. 
Crandell; 2nd V.— R. T. Bonner; 3rd V.— John Josh- 
lyn; Sentinel — Jim Smolk. 

ANTIGO COUNCIL NO. 28. 

Organized February 21, 1905. Present officers, 
1922, are: F. A. M.— Chas. Horn; D. M.— John Smith; 
P. C. of W.— 0. C. Bardwell; C. of G.— Ever Hoiem; 
Recorder— K. C. Parton; Sentinel— Wm. Lange. 



ANTIGO COMMANDERY NO. 31. 

Organized October 10, 1906. Present officers, 

1922, are: E. M.— Peter Klemann; G.— Otto Walch; 
C. G. — Ever Hoeim; Treasurer — Earnest Hirt; Record. 
— Edw. Palmer; Prelate— Wm. R. Dixon— Sr. W.— A. 
J. Kimber; Jr. W.— C. 0. Miller; Standard Bearer- 
Ed. McCandless; Sword Bearer — Chas. Horn; Warder 
— Geo. Crandell; Sen. — Wm. Lange. 

THE WOMAN'S CLUB. 

The Antigo Woman's Club, an active organization 
for good in the community was organized in 1895. 
Meetings are held regularly in Antigo. Annual pro- 
grams are given. 

The present officers of the Antigo Woman's Club 
are: President — Mrs. R. B. Johns; Vice-President — 
Mrs. L. L. Gibbs; Recording Secretary — Mrs. Howard 
Bishop; Corresponding Secretary — Mrs. B. H. 
Strong; Treasurer — Mrs. M. K. Keenan. 

Meetings are held every two weeks from the first 
Monday in October to the first Monday in May. 

OTHER ORDERS— CLUBS. 

Other active orders and clubs are the Damascus 
Club, St. Joseph's Benevolent Society, The Columbus 
Home Association, and various church and civic asso- 
ciations, including the Community Welfare Associa- 
tion and the Men's Club. 

ANTIGO CITY BAND. 

The present band was organized in March, 1907. 
Its first officers were : L. G. Lambert — President; Fred 
W. Luebcke — Vice-President; Stanley Mills — Secre- 
tary-Treasurer; George J. Larson — Director-Manager. 

The following names were the members of the band 
at that time and instruments they played : Clarinets — 
Lyle Andrews, Stanley Mills, Thomas Kellogg, Frank 
Pliska, Frank Osada; Saxophones — Everet Morgan, 
Howard E. Berry; Cornets — Dan Keen, P. O. Prink, 
George Gorham, John Strnad, Hans Larson, George J. 
Larson; Altos — John Schroepfer, Matt Koebernack, 
Alfred Palmer; Barintone — Ernest Praehl; Trombones 
— Joe Kalouner, B. Seigert, Glen Sevelle; Basses — L. 
G. Lambert, Blaine Stewart; Drums — Fred W. 
Luebcke, John Palmer. 

The present officers and members are : Fred W. 
Luebcke — President and Manager; John Schroepfer — 
Vice-President and Director; Ben Benishek — Secretary 
and Treasurer. Clarinets — John Schroepfer, Frank 
Pinkner, George Osada, Peter Jackimstahl; Saxo- 
phones — Jim Schultz; Cornets — Dan Keen, Henry 
Keen, Art White, Frank Kastka, Bert House; Altos— 
B. Meyer, Billy Kuhr, William Geise; Baritones — Ben 
Benisek, Ben Barter; Trombones — Lee Herman, Ralph 
H. Berner; Basses — L. G. Lambert; Drums — Art Clif- 
ford, Fred W. Luebcke. 



174 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXXIV. 
United States Government Survey of Langlade County 

Rolling Township First Civil Division Surveyed — West Elcho Last Area Surveyed in 1865 — Govern- 
ment Land Measures — State Soil Survey of Langlade County. 



Rolling township was the first Langlade County civil 
division to be surveyed by the United States govern- 
ment. William T. Bradley of the United States gov- 
ernment Department of Surveying with headquarters at 
Dubuque, Iowa, commenced the survey of Rolling Oc- 
tober 13, 1853, and completed it October 24, 1853. 



The last township to be surveyed was West Elcho. 
The survey was inaugurated by James L. Nowlin on 
July 8, 1865, and ended July 20, 1865. 

The survey of Langlade County townships is given 
herewith : 



Township. 


Range. 


County Name. 


31 N. 


9 E. 


W. Ackley. 


32 N. 


9 E. 


Vilas. 


33 N. 


9 E. 


S. Summit. 


34 N. 


9 


E. 


N. Summit. 


31 N. 


10 


E. 


E. Ackley. 


32 N. 


10 


E. 


Peck. 


33 N. 


10 


E. 


W. Upham. 


34 N. 


10 


E. 


W. Elcho. 


30 N. 


11 


E. 


Rolling. 


31 N. 


11 


E. 


Antigo. 


32 N. 


11 


E. 


Neva. 


23 N. 


11 


E. 


E. Upham. 


34 N. 


11 


E. 


E. Elcho. 


30 N. 


12 


E. 


Norwood. 


31 N. 


12 


E. 


Polar. 


32 N. 


12 


E. 


Price. 


33 N. 


12 


E. 


S. Ainsworth. 


34 N. 


12 


E. 


N. Ainsworth 


31 N. 


13 


E. 


Evergreen. 


32 N. 


13 


E. 


S. Langlade. 


33 N. 


13 


E. 


N. Langlade. 


31 N. 


14 


E. 


S. Elton. 


32 N. 


14 


E. 


Cen. Elton. 


33 N. 


14 


E. 


N. Elton. 


31 N. 


15 


E. 


15 Sec. Elton. 



Survey Commenced. Ended. 

8-18-1860. 8-24-1860. 

9-21-1860. 9-27-1860. 

9-28-1860. 10- 5-1860. 

9-15-1864. 10- 4-1864. 

8-25-1860. 8-30-1860. 

9-14-1860. 9-20-1860. 

10- 6-1860. 10-18-1860. 

7- 8-1865. 7-20-1865. 

10-13-1853. 10-24-1853. 

9- 1-1860. 9- 6-1860. 

9- 7-1860. 9-13-1860. 

10-19-1860. 10-26-1860. 

7-18-1859. 7-24-1859. 

11-22-1854. 12-12-1854. 

11-21-1857. 12- 1-1857. 

12- 2-1857. 12-12-1857. 

5- 6-1865. 5-17-1865. 

5-18-1865. 6- 1-1865. 

11-10-1857. 11-20-1857. 

9- 6-1857. 9-18-1857. 

4-26-1865. 5- 5-1865. 

9-22-1857. 9-30-1857. 

9-19-1857. 9-29-1857. 

4-15-1865. 4-25-1865. 

9-12-1857. 9-21-1857. 



Surveyor. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
Wm. T. Bradley. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
H. C. Fellows. 
Wm. E. Daugherty. 
James Withrow. 
James McBride. 
James McBride. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
Jas. McBride. 
Alfred Millard. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
Jas. McBride. 
Alfred Millard. 
Jas. L. Nowlin. 
Jas. McBride. 



Township. 



GOVERNMENT LAND MEASURES. 



Section. 



yojtTB- 





:rp;;: 


-i-s-i- 


T'i'f 


...;.3..:... 


.1.^.1.. 


1 




':f^z. 


■ ■:-8-:- 


.....p... 


10 


•••: 11 


12, 










■lis!- 


..llji;.. 


13 


I 


'■ie'r. 


-;i7;- 


jie- 


;i9; 


20 


21 


22 


;23: 


24 




iao: 


29: 


28 


27 


-20 


25 




■"■■":"'i" 


■■\s2'r 


■•{sa;-- 


•;3^i-- 


■lip':- 


'36 



\\v 

Quarter 


XW 'A 

of 
XE % 


XE 'A 

of 
XE A 


SW 54 

of 
NE % 


SE % 

of 
NE H 


SW 


SE 


Quarter 


QiiartcT 



SOVl'IC 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



175 



For all legal or descriptive purposes the lands in 
Langlade County are referred to a town line and a 
range line. The largest division of land is a town- 
ship, which is six miles square; the townships in Wis- 
consin are numbered 1 to 53 from the southern bound- 
ary line north, and are divided into townships by range 
lines running north and Fouth. The range lines are 
referred to the 4th meridian, the ranges west being 
known as range 1 to XX west, and those east being 
known as ranges 1 to XXIX east. The city of Antigo 
is thus located in township 31 north, range 11 east. 

A township contains 36 sections or 23,0 W acres. 
A section is one mile square and contain 640 acres. A 
quarter section is a half mile square and contains 160 
acres. A 40 acre tract of land is one-fourth of a 
mile square. 



Lands are usually sold in tracts of 40 acres or a mul- 
tiple thereof, except in case of land bordering on lakes, 
which are fractional sections and may contain more 
or less than 40 acres. These are called government 
lots. 

The sections in each township are numbered 1 to 36, 
commencing at the northeast corner as is shown in the 
diagram. Sections are divided into quarters which 
are known as the northeast quarter, the northwest quar- 
ter, the southwest quarter and the southeast quarter. 
The quarters are again divided in the same way as 
shown in the accompanying diagram on page 174. 

The description of this 40 acre lot would then, for 
example, read as follows : The northeast quarter of 
the northeast quarter of section 1, township 33 north, 
range 13 east. 



SOIL MAP OF LANGLADE COUNTY 












3 

■-■■>^ 



TTTSS 



) '^ l/v ^ — 



7— 
A9 






\ 

\ 

5l1 



^A 




y.<3^'^. '' 









< ).< 



1 

//I I^J ^-o 







'^ Hccrbjook; ^^^ 













MS''*"' 









^. 



\0\J 






'iK^P^ 



VMfi 






:^. 



'Me z. 






N>0!^W0OD 
Phlox 






T.J 2, WIS. 3<jil. Survey, 



IL 



2L 






UN 



m^m<i L^l 



UGKT^S|r^^; 



TNliULRTIlke 



un 



m 



lyioRM UGm%R]iny.Lo. hervysrndylcrm 



UNDULRTINGi LOAM , 



H 



SILTLORrWlTflWELL 
-URRINEDiUBSOIL 
LEVEL 



-5- 5L 8U 

''JrlWJiffit^ •S!LTLbfifT¥lTH POORimRlNED 



m 

PERT 



\TWG) 

Jm 



10 






176 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXXV. 
Ackley Townships No. 31, R. 9-10 E. 

Location — Variation of Soils — Boundaries — Organization — Attached to Langlade County 1885 — Elec- 
tion of 1879 — Early Voters — Pioneer Roads — First Officials — First Settler — Territory To State 
Line — Eagle River Included — Eau Claire River Drives — School Districts Adopted 1886 — Bell- 
myer-McGinnis-Behm Communities on C. M. & St. P. R. R. — Screen Door Concern — Heine- 
mann Village — Control of Lands — Early Settlers in Districts — Schools — Teachers — Pioneer 
Hardships — Progress. 



Historic Ackley township, with its vast expanse of 
uninhabited territory, reveals a most interesting chap- 
ter in the story of Langlade County. While not at- 
tached until long after the county was penetrated 
first by white men, yet its growth and prominence 
have not been retarded by its physical, political, or 
geographical features. 

This township comprises two full congressional 
townships, about 40,080 acres or 72 square miles. 
Township 31, Range 9 East is referred to as West 
Ackley and Township 31, Range 10 East is designated 
as East Ackley. The township is bounded on the 
north by Vilas and Peck townships, on the east by An- 
tigo township, on the south by Rolling township and 
Marathon County, and on the west by Lincoln County. 
The survey of both Ackley townships was inaugurat- 
ed by H. C. Fellows, on August 18, 1860, and ended 
August 30, 1860. 

It received its name from its first settler, W. L. Ack- 
ley, an Englishman, who played an important role in 
the early pioneer and official life of the township. 

The principal water course is the west and east 
branches of the Eau Claire river. The east branch 
runs through sections 2, 3, 10, 15, 21, 27, 28, and 34. 
The west branch flows through sections 4, 9, 16, and 
21, all in East Ackley. Black Creek flows through 
sections 19, 29, and 30 in East Ackley township and 
through sections 11, 12, and 13 in West Ackley. The 
Trappe river runs through sections 27, 32, 33, and 34, 
draining much of the West Ackley territory. 

The general surface of the township is low, becom- 
ing, however, somewhat rolling in the southwestern 
portion. Ample drainage is afforded in East Ackley, 
but such is not the fact in West Ackley. 

Both congressional townships of Ackley were orig- 
inally covered with heavy tracts of white pine, maple, 
poplar, birch, oak, red birch, elm, iron wood and oth- 
er forest products. The pine was first to be slashed. 
Except in the southwestern part and in other swampy 
regions the best of the timber has all disappeared be- 
fore the axe of the conqueror. 

Ackley township has five different phases of soil. 
They are the Spencer Silt Loam, Peat, Merrimac Silt 
Loam, Merrimac Sandy Loam, and Muck. 

Spencer Silt Loam, level phase, is a light brown 
silt loam, average depth ten inches, containing a mod- 
erate amount of organic matter. The depth below 16 
to 20 inches is mottled with yellow, brown, bluish. 



and reddish brown, indicative of poor internal drain- 
age. This type of soil is found in West Ackley in all 
sections except 10, 15, 13, and 21. 

Peat, vegetable matter in various stages of decom- 
position, is found in sections 10 and 15, principally, 
and in parts of sections 7, 19, 30, and 13 of West Ack- 
ley township and also in sections 17, 18, 23, and 19 and 
in narrow strips elsewhere in East Ackley township. 

Merrimac Silt Loam is found in sections 12, 13, 21, 
and 25 of West Ackley township and with the excep- 
tion of that part of East Ackley in which Peat and 
Merrimac Sandy Loam and Muck are found, all of East 
Ackley territory. This means that over two-thirds of 
East Ackley have that type of soil. The Merrimac Silt 
Loam, composed of alluvial material, is a light brown 
or grayish brown friable silt extending to an average 
depth of twelve inches. The content of silt is high. 
The subsoil becomes heavier with depth. It is under 
general cultivation and is highly improved. Oats, hay, 
potatoes, corn, rye, barley, wheat, peas, and poppy 
seed are grown successfully on this soil. Ginseng is 
a special crop, which, when handled properly, yields 
profitable results. 

The Merrimac Sandy Loam is a type of soil, occu- 
pying a tract of land in sections 17, 18, 19, and 20, 
East Ackley township, with a total area of about one 
section. It is found in the south part of the first two 
and the northern part of the last two named sections. 
This soil on the surface is sandy loam to a depth of 
12 inches. The subsoil is loose and incoherent yel- 
low sand, becoming coarser with depth. 

Muck is found in East Ackley in section 32. 

FIRST TOWN MEETING. 

The first annual town meeting in 1879 was held April 
1. Forty-three votes were cast. The township then 
stretched north to the state line. The first voters were 
George Bessy, Willis Otis, Michael Kennedy, Frank P. 
Kennedy, Charles Nelson, Joseph Kenredy, Emanuel 
McGahan, John Hafner, William Taylor, Henry Ship- 
ley, Thomas Hafner, John Kennedy, John McGahan, 
August Hoglander, Jeremiah De Moss, Joseph Long- 
worth, Rubin Vaughn, Leroy Furgeson, Peter Beck, Y. 
Space, M. Holey, J. G. Beardsley, W. L. Ackley, 
Charles M. Ackley, Chauncey Vaughn, John Nelson, 
Nathan De Moss, Edson Lloyd, Joseph Parfitt, Frank 
Locks, Thomas Longworth, John Darow, August Hoff- 






OHBIDA 



K-UI 

3^ 



28 






COUNTY 




MAffT^THON 



A\AP0F 

LANQLADE C0UNTY,WI5 



LEGEND 

.,^,H+«- RA/L ROADS ■■■^TATdTRUNK LINE5 
^^ ROADS Hi ■♦:0UNTY)TRUNK LiNtS 



-rov/H Mauu ^ ChuRC*^ 



SHAWANO 



CRANDON 



COUNTY 




Drawing, Locations and Colorings 



— for — 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY 



—1922 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



177 



man, Carl Yopes, James R. Nelson, John Tinner, Fran- 
cis Fryer, W. Hampton, Ransom Balch, Henry Fryer, 
H. 0. Johnson, Leonard Shaw, and J. W. Hampton. 

TOWNSHIP SCHOOL GOVERNMENT. 

The pioneer settlers of Ackley also voted April 1, 
1879 to adopt the Township School government system. 
Thirteen votes were cast, all in favor of that system, 
which was revoked in 1886. 

FIRST TOWNSHIP OFFICERS. 

First Ackley township officers were as follows : 
Chairman — Frank P. Kennedy; Supervisors — John 
Nelson, Joseph Parfitt; Assessor — J. W. Hampton; 
Township Clerk — John Hafner; Treasurer — W. L. 
Ackley; Justices — John G. Beardsley, John Kennedy 
and Y. Space; Constables — Jeremiah De Moss, Henry 
Day, Peter Beck. 

ELECTION BOARD— 1879. 

Z. Space and John McGahn were the first election 
clerks and L. 0. Shaw, John Kennedy and Thomas 
Hafner were election supervisors. 

FIRST RESOLUTION. 

The first Ackley township officials by unanimous 
vote resolved to raise "for town taxes and incidental 
purposes," $300. For road tax. 007 mills. For teach- 
ers' wages and incidental school purposes, $500. 

REPORT OF TOWNSHIP TREASURER, 
NOV., 1879. 

A committee was selected to examine the "accounts 
and moneys" of Edson Lloyd, Treasurer, November, 
1879. The following correct and true report, showing 
a balance of $960.18, was produced then: State Tax, 
$38.40; County Schools, $31,27; County Tax, $340.84; 
Town and Road Tax, $218.30; Judgment Tax $182.44; 
Fees, $48; Total, $960.18. 

EARLY ACKLEY BRIDGES. 

Some of the first bridges in Ackley township were : 
W. L. Ackley built a roughly constructed bridge, the 
first in the township, over the Eau Claire river. This 
was the first bridge built by white men in Langlade 
County (1853). J. R. Balsh corduroyed Black Brook 
in 1881. April, 1882, Nathan De Moss was allowed 
$122.65 for bridge work in Ackley. 

ROAD DISTRICTS. 

Ackley township was divided into four road dis- 
tricts in 1880. They were in charge of Thomas Haf- 
ner, John Tinney, George Bessy, and W. L. Ackley. 

EARLY TOWNSHIP ROADS. 

In 1879 Ackley was divided into three road districts, 
while a year later, as stated, it was reorganized into 
four districts. 

May 8, 1879, the township officials granted the ap- 
plication of J. Johnson, John McGahn, Neils Olson, 



Henry Holey, C. D. Wescott, Charles Holey, Thomas 
Hafner, John Hafner, Frank P. Kennedy, and John 
Kennedy, homestead applicants, for a road beginning 
at the quarter section corner in the center of section 
26, Township 31, Range 10 East, and running north 
on the quarter line to the quarter post in the center of 
Section 11; thence on the quarter line to the quarter 
section corner in center of section 12; thence north 
on the quarter line to the quarter section corner in 
the center of section 1 and thence east on the quarter 
line to the quarter section corner on the east side of 
section 1. 

One year before, 1878, bearing the date of Novem- 
ber 11, A. D., the supervisors of the Town of Pine 
River layed out a highway which began at the center 
of Section 27, Township 31, Range 10 E., thence west 
toward the Lincoln County line. This was actually the 
first road in Ackley. It was named the Ackley road. 
F. A. Deleglise, with John Doersch and George Eck- 
hart, assisting, surveyed this region in October, 1879. 
Five other roads were laid out in 1879. One began at 
the center of section 11 and ran west to the center of 
Section 10, Township 31, Range 10 East, authorized 
July 25, 1879. Another commenced at the quarter 
post on the west line of section 11 and continued 
north until striking the bank of the Eau Claire River 
(near the A. L. Hayner farm), and was authorized 
April 30, 1879. May 4, 1879, a road was authorized on 
the following survey : Beginning at the southwest 
corner of Section 31, Township 32, Range 10 East, 
then north (not in Ackley township now). June 20, 
1879, a road was authorized beginning in the center 
of section 3 and running north into what is now Peck 
township. The last road authorized in 1879 was one 
beginning at the quarter post of section 12 to the 
quarter post on the east line of Section 12, Township 
31, Range 10 East. 

These were the first roads of Pine River or Ackley 
township. With their construction the tote road and 
Indian trail were trod less frequently and before long 
a new wilderness erased them forever. 

ATTACHED TO LANGLADE, 1885. 

In 1885, Chapter 436, Laws of Wisconsin, detach- 
ed Township 31, Ranges 9 and 10 East, from Lincoln 
County and attached this territory to Langlade Coun- 
ty. Frank P. Kennedy was the first Chairman of Ack- 
ley Township to sit in at a Langlade County Board 
of Supervisors session. 

FIRST TOWNSHIP BONDS. 

Ackley township had heavy expenses during its 
first years. New schools, bridges, cutting out roads, 
general township expenses, all were a constant drain 
on the treasury. Therefore, June 13, 1885, a resolu- 
tion was adopted authorizing the township to issue 
bonds to the extent of $5,500 for the purpose of set- 
tling all outstanding township accounts. 

ON THE WATER WAGON. 
Nathan De Moss, pioneer settler, was authorized 
to procure a good pail of drinking water, said water 



178 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



to be drank at the polling booth, 1885, (June) and for 
the service he was paid fifty cents in town orders. 
This resolution passed. It demonstrates that Ackley 
officials were moderate in their demands for ale. 

SOME EARLY SETTLERS. 

Elsewhere in the districts will be found the names 
of early settlers. Herein is a list of those not within 
the district reviews : Dan O'Brien, Patrick Durick, E. 
J. Whitney, E. S. Wescott, S. 0. Shelley, C. H. Hard- 
er, Venel Brick, George Glines, S. L. Brown, and 
Peter Schmitt. 

ACKLEY TOWNSHIP OFFICERS, 1879-1922. 
TOWNSHIP CHAIRMEN. 

Frank P. Kennedy, 1879-83; B. H. Wooledge, 1883- 
84; Frank P. Kennedy, 1884-86; B. H. Wooledge, 1886- 
87; Frank P. Kennedy, 1887-91; George Hoffman, 
1891; John Kennedy, 1891-94; Charles Nelson, 1895- 
96; James Aird, 1896-97; Charles Nelson, 1898-99; 
James Aird, 1900-02; Henry E. Higgins, 1903-05; 
Charles Nelson, 1905-09; S. Goodman, 1909-10; John 
O'Brien, 1910-11; James Aird, 1911-13; Carl Ohlen, 
1913-18; John O'Brien, 1918-23. 

TOWNSHIP CLERKS. 

John Hafner, 1879-83; Frank Wilson, 1883-84; Peter 
Beck. 1884-86; W. W. Stone, 1886-87; John Hafner, 
1888-89; W. W. Stone, 1889-91; John Hafner, 1892-94; 
John Hafner, 1895-96; Charles Nelson, 1896-97; John 
Hafner, 1898-1901; Frank Marek, 1901-02; Phillip 
Aird, 1903-07; John Hafner, 1907-17; John Bahr, Jr., 
1917-23. 

TOWNSHIP TREASURERS. 

W. L. Ackley, 1870; Edson Lloyd, 1879-81; John 
Kennedy, 1881; Z. Space, 1882-83; John Hafner, 
1883-85; Thomas Hafner, 1885-87; Charles Nelson, 
1888-93; Henry Higgins, 1893-95; Frank Metcalf, 
1895-96; James Maloney, 1896-97; Joseph Stengl, 
1898-99; James Boyle, 1900-01; James Maloney, 1901- 
05; Joseph Schumitsch, 1905-12; M. B. Emmerich, 
1912-13; Art Goodman, 1913-14; John Mauer, 1914-23. 

TOWNSHIP ASSESSORS. 

W. J. Hampton, 1879-80; John S. Nelson, 1880-82; 
W. L. Ackley, 1882-83; Patrick Durick, 1884-85; W. 
W. West, 1885-86; John S. Nelson, 1886-87; George 
Schaefer, 1887-90; Frank Metcalf, 1892-96; George 
Stengl. 1896-97; Frank Metcalf, 1897-98; H. J. Richey, 
1898-99; Michael Kennedy, 1899-1900; Henry Higgins, 
1900-01; J. G. Koudelka, 1901-02; H. J. Richey, 1903- 
04; Ed Boyle, 1904-05; P. E. Higgins, 1905-07; H. J. 
Richey, 1907-08; James Boyle, 1908-09; P. F. Higgins, 
1909-10; G. M. Brandow, 1910-12; Joseph Stengl, 
1912-13; Joseph Schumitsch, Jr., 1913-14; John Fronek, 
1914-23. 

TOWNSHIP SUPERVISORS. 

John S. Nelson, Joseph Parfitt. 1879-80; J. S. 
Hughes. Joseph Parfitt, 1880-81; Joseph Parfitt, August 



Wolfgram, 1881-82; Charles Holey, August Ludwig, 
1882-83; George Stengl, Peter Beck, 1883-84; Rich- 
ard Tracey, James Ozetta, 1884-85; S. L. Brown, John 
Bahr, 1885-86; John Beardsley and John Bahr, 1886- 
87; W. L. Ackley, Alfred Brandow. 1888-89; W. L. 
Ackley, Matt Wachal, Sr.. 1889-90; George Hoffman. 
J. Siota, 1890-91; H. J. Richey, J. Siota, 1892-95; H. 
J. Richey, Matt Wachal, Sr., 1896-97; Rudolph Yon- 
kee, M. Wachal, 1897-98; James Basel, Ira Berdan. 
1898-99; Dan O'Brien. James Basel, 1899-1900; 
Charles Vorass, John Bahr, 1900-01 ; Charles Vorass, 
Joseph Breck, 1901-02; James Basel, Peter Higgins, 
1902-03; John Kubeny, Joseph Schumitsch, 1903-04; 
John Kubeny, James Boyle, 1904-05; Matt Hermann, 
John O'Brien, 1905-06; F. G. Kubeny, Rudolph Yon- 
kee, 1906-07; F. G. Kubeny, John O'Brien, 1907-08; 
John O'Brien, Joseph Stengl, 1908-09; John O'Brien. 
Matt Fuchs. 1909-10; Joseph Stengle, John Fronek, 
1910-11 ; John Fronek. Matt Fuchs, 1911-13; Peter Hig- 
gins, Matt Fuchs, 1913-14; J. A. Barker, Matt Fuchs, 
1914-15; John O'Brien, James Aird, 1915-17; John 
Duchac. H. J. Richey, 1917-18; John Duchac, William 
Higgins, 1918-22; John Duchac, George Eckart, 1922- 
23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

John Kennedy, John Beardsley, Y. Space, 1879-80; 
A. S. Wescott, L. 0. Shaw, 1880-81; J. R. Balsh, H. C. 
Shipley, W. L. Ackley, 1881-82; A. S. Wescott, W. 
Hayes, M. A. Wooledge, 1882-83; H. C. Shipley, Wil- 
liam Stone, 1883-84; W. W. Stone, E. Koepenick. 
1884-85; M. E. Bessy. R. Rice, 1885-87; A. S. Wescott, 
J. L. Cook, 1885-86; W. L. Ackley, H. C. Shipley, 
1886-88; B. F. Loose, E. F. Russell, 1887-88; H. J. 
Bristol, 1889-90; E. T. Russell, H. J. Bristol, 1890-91; 
A. Bovee, E. D. Richey. 1890-92; John Bahr. 1890-91; 
M. M. Ross. 1888-89; William Laehn. Peter Higgins. 
H. J. Richey. Joseph Siota. 1896-97; J. Bahr. P. Dean, 
John Galuski, Joseph Figal. 1898-99; Joseph Bretle. F. 
Gezezepski. 1900-01 ; Thomas Woodcock. Matt Her- 
mann, 1901-02; John Galuska, Matt Herman, Matt 
Fuchs, 1903-04; J. Barnhart, C. W. Bruce, Matt Fuchs, 
1904-05; Tom White, Joseph Stengl, Frank Voss, 1905- 
06; Herb Richey, Oscar Nelson, 1907-08; John Bahr, 
John Fronek, Andrew Woodcock, 1908-09; Joseph 
Garadphe, W. Myer, Joseph Zima, 1909-10; James 
Boyle, John Wachal, Frank Kubeny, 1910-11; M. B. 
Emmerich, William Higgins, Theodore Buss, 1911-12; 
John Steber, Art Goodman, 1912-13; B. C. Goodman, 
John O'Brien, 1913-14; John Duchac, Ernest Joss, 
1914-15; John Bostwick, John Cornelius, 1915-16; D. 
C. Woodcock, Karel Hulka, 1916-18; Peter Higgins, 
Jr., James Scheffel, 1918-19; Karel Hulka, J. C. Wood- 
cock, Anton Herman, 1919-20; Chester Nelson, 1920- 
22; Frank Sheriff, 1920-21; John Mettler, 1920-23; 
Stephen Feigel, Karel Hulka, 1922-23. 

TOWNSHIP CONSTABLES. 

Peter Day, Jeremiah De Moss, Peter Beck, 1879- 
80; Jeremiah De Moss, Elisah Johnson, Thomas Haf- 
ner, 1880-81; J. McGahn, J. De Moss, G. Bessy, 1881- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



179 



82; Mose Hawley, H. Harder, H. O. Johnson, 1882- 
83; H. 0. Johnson, Martin Maloney, J. De Moss, 1883- 
84; W. L. Ackley, E. Hagadone, George Schaffer, 
1884-85; William Holland, Dan Graham, Charles Bea- 
dleston, 1885-86; Martin Maloney, John Kennedy, Wil- 
liam Reader, 1886-87; Frank Metcalf, M. Duda, Ed- 
ward Richey, 1887-88; H. Richey, Thomas Woolett, 
George Brandow, 1888-89; John Stengl, Andrew Zolli- 
ber, J. Mark, 1889-90; Henry Higgins, Joseph Kenne- 
dy, James Vilt, 1890-91; J. Boyle, J. Stengl, C. Voss, 
1896-97; F. P. Kennedy, James Siota, F. Metcalf, F. 
Marek, 1898-99; J. Pasl, J. Banzyck, M. Siota, 1900- 
01; Anton Herman, Louis Boxleitner, 1901-02; G. 
Stengl, James Aird, Jr., J. Wise, 1903-04; Herbert 
Steann, L. Crooks, 1904-05; Frank Jeropke, John Fron- 
ek, Bert Goodman, 1905-06; John and Joseph Stengl, 
1907-08; J. Boyle, J. Cornelius, 0. Nelson, 1908-09; 
W. Higgins, L. Adams, 1909-10; L. Crooks, J. Wach- 
al, James Fronek, 1910-11; L. Crooks, A. Goodman, 
G. Adams, 1911-12; William Klaves, J. A. Barker, L. 
Crooks, 1912-13; H. Harm, L. Dunke, 1913-14; Joseph 
Marsch, James Barker, 1914-15; D. Woodcock, J. 
Mettler, F. Weipinger, 1915-16; P. Galuska, H. Cor- 
nelius, Joseph Hell, 1916-17; B. C. Goodman, James 
Maley, 1917-18; E. Maltby, E. Joss, 1918-19; J. Mett- 
ler, P. Higgins, 1919-20; J. Bonzyck, J. Mettler, J. 
Maresch, 1921-23. 

DISTRICT NO. 1. 

CLOVERVALLEY DISTRICT. This district is 
one of the oldest settlements in Langlade County. It 
is also one of the smallest, containing sections 31, 32, 
33, 34, 35, 36, all of Township 31, Range 10 East in 
East Ackley congressional township. 

The district system of school government was adopt- 
ed in Ackley township by a vote of 64 to 56 on April 6, 
1886. Thus district No. 1 was created. It should be 
understood, however, that schools were opened in this 
territory six years previous. 

District No. 1 originally consisted of all of sec- 
tions 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 in both townships 31, 
Ranges 9 and 10 East, and also sections 7, 8, 17, 18, 
19, 20, 29, 30 in Township 31, Range 9 East. Orig- 
inally a district containing 12,800 acres it has, by de- 
taching, recreation of districts and organization of 
joint districts, dwindled down to but 3,840 acres. 

In the year 1880, before the railroad pierced into 
the county. Matt Duda, Frank Wilson, Joseph Stengl, 
James Sisel, Alfred Brandow, B. Wooledge, Sr., and 
son, James Witt, Matt Wachal, Sr., John Stengl, James 
Brick, W. W. Stone, Charles G. Koudelka, and George 
Brandow settled on cheap land or staked homesteads 
in this territory. 

Upon their little domains rude log cabins were erect- 
ed. Necessities of life were considered luxuries by 
the hardy inhabitants. Wausau was the trading post 
and one settler would follow the Indian trails on the 
Eau Claire river banks or an old road cut out by 
river drivers to that city for provisions. He would 
haul back to the sparsely settled region such provisions 
as flour, corn meal, meats, clothing, and garden seeds 



and grain for the pioneers. The journey, tedious, 
would take two to three days as oxen were used and 
they do not compare well with the motor car of today 
or the fast twentieth century locomotive. Yet in a 
time like that the settlers were content with what 
they possessed. The adjacent world was not more 
fortunate. 

In the year 1884 a school was erected. Miss Mary 
Kiefer and Miss Brandow were very early teachers. 
The school was a typical pioneer institution of learn- 
ing. A small stove, a few black boards, and rough 
floors and benches were used. Text books were not 
uniform. Teachers' salaries then averaged $25 per 
month. 

The settlers welcomed new families into the dis- 
trict and before long an addition was made on the 
little school. The same school is in use by the dis- 
trict yet. It is located on the northwest quarter of the 
southeast quarter of section 35. 

The district has splendid roads and rural free de- 
livery since 1904 keeps the agriculturist in touch with 
events of the state, nation and world. He may re- 
ceive election returns without leaving his plow or may 
order his supplies from Antigo, county seat, without 
leaving his comfortable farm home. The Stenglville 
and Eau Claire river telephone services are at his 
command. 

The residents are progressive. Pure bred cattle 
are encouraged, scientific farming and modern dairy- 
ing methods are practiced and fostered. 

Lumbering was an important industry in pioneer 
days. The logs were hauled to the banks of the Eau 
Claire river and driven to Schofield, village near Wau- 
sau, Wis. 

The first school officers were : Lloyd Breck, Direc- 
tor; John Stengl, Treasurer; and B. H. Wooledge, 
Clerk. 

DISTRICT NO. 2. 

FERNDALE DISTRICT. District No. 2 is located 
in the southern part of East Ackley township No. 31, 
Range 10 East. It originally consisted of 20 sections, 
as follows: Sections 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 
27, 28, 29, 30, Township 31, Range 10 East, and all of 
sections 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28 in Township 
31, Range 9 East. 

While the education of the youth was adequately 
provided for, considering the perplexities confronting 
the early settlers, the district was not organized until 
April 28, 1886. Schools were erected before then in 
many instances. 

When the first settlers in Ferndale district arrived 
they found the country a desolate wilderness. Roam- 
ing bands of Indians, chiefly of the Chippewa and 
Menominee tribes, hunted in the forests and fished in 
the Eau Claire river. Their main Indian trail was 
along the Eau Claire river banks and went north and 
eastward toward Oconto County territory, and the old 
Lake Superior Trail. It was this trail that many set- 
tlers used to haul or "man pack" supplies to the set- 
tlement from Wausau. Settlers in other districts had 



180 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



the same experience. Some early settlers were M. 
Hermann, A. Hermann, J. Stengl, M. Orado, L. Legro, 
and H. Holley. 

It was during the early settlement of the district 
that the Indians intermingled with the white settlers. 
The custom among the first white settlers was 
to take Indian maidens as their brides. They 
erected a little cabin, usualy under the boughs 
of a giant pine tree, hunted wild game, se- 
cured provisions, worked on the river drives, 
trapped in the winter months, fished in the 
Eau Claire river and cultivated little garden patches 
while the dusky maiden reigned over the household 
affairs. Hospitality to no higher degree was ever ex- 
hibited than by the "squaw man" and his wife. Many 
of the pioneer settlers were taught by the Indians how 
to operate a light canoe down the Eau Claire river 
to Schofield, Wis. 

The first school erected in the district was a rough 
frame structure in 1886. It was located on section 35. 
Miss Susan Watson was the first teacher. A Mr. Wes- 
cott was a member of the first school board. 

The old school v.-as moved from its original loca- 
tion to the northwest Quarter of the southeast quarter 
of section 26, East Ackley township on land owned by 
John Bahr, Sr., pioneer settler. The wooden structure 
served until the settlers decided to construct a new 
school of brick. The old one was moved off the site 
by D. C. Woodcock, who purchased it after the erec- 
tion of a modern school years later. 

The 1922-23 school board consists of John Bahr, Jr., 
Treasurer; G. C. Woodcock, Director; and Steven Fei- 
gel. Clerk. 

There are about twenty farmers residing in the dis- 
trict. It has a cheese factory, erected in 1917 by J. 
Grunderman, who since sold to E. Haase. The fac- 
tory is located on section 26, near the school house. 
It is now operated by Michael F. Helmbrecht. 

The soft drink parlor of Jess Hawkins is located 
on the northeast quarter of the southwest quarter of 
section 26. 

Highway 64 runs through this district. All other 
roads are well maintained. 

Agriculturing and dairying are the principal occu- 
pations of the residents. Excellent lighting systems, 
well kept barns, silos, farm machinery, neat residences, 
substantial out buildings, farm tractors, rural tele- 
phones, a rural mail system — all these are splendid 
features of the district. 

The town hall of Ackley township is located in 
this district on section 23. 

EAU CLAIRE GRANGE NO 647. 

The Eau Claire Grange No. 647, Patrons of Hus- 
bandry, was organized April 27, 1917. Meetings are 
held every second and fourth Friday at the township 
hall. Section 23. The first Master of the grange was 
Frank Sheriff. Other original officers were : Over- 
seer, William Heschke; Secretary, John Mauer; 
Treasurer, John Somer; Lecturer, Mrs. John Somer; 
Steward, Charles Hoerman; Chaplain, Mrs. Otto Kles- 
sig; Gatekeeper, Earl Klessig; Ceres, Mrs. Charles 



Motts; Pomona, Mrs. Beno Hoerman; Flora, Ther- 
esa Raff; Assistant Steward, Ivan Somer; Lady As- 
sistant Steward, Mary Hoerman; Board of Trustees, 
John Mettler, Joseph Hell, Charles Motts. 

Present officers are: Master, John Bahr; Overseer, 
Frank Sheriff; Lecturer, Mrs. John Somer; Secretary, 
John Somer; Treasurer, John Csuy; Steward, Mrs. An- 
ton Zaverousky; Chaplain, Mrs. D. C. Woodcock; 
Gatekeeper, Anton Zima; Lady Assistant Steward, 
Mrs. John Bahr; Assistant Steward, Mrs. Anton Za- 
verousky. The membership is nearly twenty. 

ACKLEY TOWN HALL. 

Ackley township, progressive and alert, has a splen- 
did town hall on section 23 of East Ackley township. 
The hall was erected at an approximate cost of $1,500. 
It has one acre of ground neatly fenced in. The hall 
was erected in 1917. 

DISTRICT NO. 3. 

LONGFELLOW DISTRICT. In the northeastern 
part of East Ackley is an area of land containing sev- 
en and one-half sections or 4,800 acres. This portion 
of Langlade County, lying northwest of Antigo, is 
known as District No. 3, since designated as the 
Longfellow district, in honor of Henry Wadsworth 
Longfellow, distinguished American poet. 

The first settlers braved the perils of a desolate wil- 
derness infested with Indians as early as 1877. Those 
who were first to settle here were John Kennedy, 
Michael Kennedy, Frank P. Kennedy, Charles Nelson, 
G. Hoglander, John Nelson, John McGahn, Emanuel 
McGahn, Thomas Hafner, John Hafner, Michael Haf- 
ner, Albert Berdan, the O'Brien family, S. Goodwin, 
and J. Jilik. Following the first vanguard came Peter 
Higgins, Sr., his son, Peter Higgins, Jr., Henry Hig- 
gins, Joseph Singer, Martin Maloney, and others. 

Many of the first settlers came from Wausau, Stev- 
ensville, Outagamie County, and other nearby cities. 
The first came from Wausau with yokes of oxen. The 
journey was a long one and many of the early home- 
steaders and land purchasers spent days on the jour- 
ney. Their family belongings were carted by the same 
oxen. 

Log shacks were hastily erected. Their scooped 
roofs furnished a picturesque contrast to those frame 
buildings first erected in the district by Michael Ken- 
nedy, who imported the lumber from Wausau. The 
Martin Maloney and John Nelson homes were second 
and third frame residences in the district. 

Sustenance was provided by the excellent soil and 
work in the pine timber belt. The Brooks & Ross 
Company, Wausau, and other pioneer lumber inter- 
ests, cut pine in the region. Many of the settlers took 
an active part in this industry during its high tide. 

Education of the children was provided for before 
the expiration of the first year. In 1878 a log school 
house was erected just a little to the east of the pres- 
ent school site. This school was not a step in advance 
of the schools such as Abraham Lincoln or Daniel 
Webster attended. The first teachers were very con- 
scientious and industrious, as are most of those of to- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



181 



day. The first teacher, Michael Hafner, still lives 
in Langlade County. In 1922 he returned to the dis- 
trict to visit some of the remaining pioneers. Other 
early teachers were Carrie and Marian Finucane, 
Lizzie Young, Mrs. Margaret Hughes, Harry Logan, 
now a preacher at Appleton, Wis., and Margaret Kav- 
anaugh. The Kennedy, Nelson, and Hoglander chil- 
dren were the first pupils. 

Two years later, 1880, the first frame school was 
erected on the present school site. It was used until 
1910. Its cost was $500, but additions and better- 
ments since have entailed $500 expenses. The mo- 
dern brick structure was erected in 1910 by August 
Stabe, Antigo contractor, at a cost of $1,800. It is 
located in the northwest quarter of the southeast quar- 
ter of section 11. 

John Hruska erected the first cheese factory seven- 
teen years ago. It was operated successfully by Ernest 
Jaess and Joseph Maresch until the fall of 1921 when it 
burned. On the same location, section 11 (NWI4), 
the American Produce Company, a corporation in 
which Ackley farmers are principal stockholders, 
opened a new cheese factory May 22, 1922. The first 
factory was called the Kenr.edyville factory. 

Members of the original school board of this dis- 
trict were Frank P. Kennedy, Clerk; John Kennedy, 
Director, and John Nelson, Treasurer. Agnes Kennedy 
was the district teacher in 1921-22, while the school 
officers for that term were Peter Higgins, Jr., Treasur- 
er; Fred Swenson, Clerk, and John Fronek, Director. 

The Indians, Chippewa, chiefly, had many favorite 
camping and fishing locations in the district. They 
were not very industrious, but were kind to the first 
settlers. Often these red folk entered homes for food 
or clothing. 

District No. 3 originally consisted of fifteen and one- 
half sections, East Ackley township. The sections 
were 1, 2, 3, one-half of section 4, all of sections 7, 
8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, or 9,940 acres. 
This is twice the present area of the district. Organ- 
ization took place April 6, 1886. The district now 
comprises 5,440 acres of land in sections 9, 10, 11, 12, 
13, 14, 15, 16, and the south half of section 1, Town- 
ship 31, Range 10 East. 

EAST ACKLEY GRANGE NO. 593. 

East Ackley Grange, No. 593, is located in this dis- 
trict. The grange was organized August 22, 1912, at 
the Longfellow school. The first officers were : Mas- 
ter, M. B. Emmerich; Overseer, John Fronek; Lectur- 
er, Clara Emmerich; Steward, Chester Nelson; Assist- 
ant Steward, James Barker, Jr.; Chaplain, Anna Good- 
man; Treasurer, R. Krall; Secretary, A. F. Goodman; 
Gatekeeper, Joseph Maresh, Jr.; Ceres, Florence Haf- 
ner; Flora, Rose Hafner; Pomona, Mamie Maloney; 
Lady Assistant Steward, Helen Hayner. Present of- 
ficers are: Master, A. F. Goodman; Overseer, James 
Barker; Lecturer, Rudolph Shaser; Steward, Joseph 
Jilek, Jr.; Assistant Steward, Louis Domke; Lady As- 
sistant Steward, Anna Jilek; Chaplain, Clara Swenson; 
Gatekeeper, Harry Fronek; Treasurer, Fred Swenson; 



Secretary, Ralph Krall; Ceres, Emma Singer; Flora, 
Elma Domke; Pomona, Anna Goodman. 

The East Ackley hall was erected in the fall of 
1914. The building was not actually completed, how- 
ever, until the spring of 1915. Its cost was $1,500. 
Eighty enthusiastic grangers are on the membership 
roll. 

District No. 3, pioneer district, faced the storms of 
reaction, lumber and agricultural reverses for a quar- 
ter century with calmness and high hope. Its fu- 
ture will be an important march of progress in Lang- 
lade County. 

DISTRICT NO. 5 

EAU CLAIRE DISTRICT. This district is located 
in the west central part of Ackley township, and lies 
almost wholly within Township 31, Range 9 East. In 
consists of all of sections 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, and the 
south halves of sections 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 of Town- 
ship 31, Range 9 East, all of sections 16, 17, 19, the 
south one-half of section 18, the north three-quarters 
of section 21, the west one-half of section 22, the north- 
east one-fourth of section 22, the northwest one-fourth 
of the southeast one-fourth of section 22, all in Town- 
ship 31, Range 10 East. 

District No. 5, organized April 6, 1886, originally 
consisted of all territory beginning at the northeast 
corner of section 7, Township 32, Range 10 East, 
thence running south to the southeast corner of sec- 
tion 12, then west to the southwest corner of section 
10, Township 32, Range 9 East, thence north to the 
northwest corner of section 3, thence east to the place 
of beginning. It will be observed that this territory is 
not within the present Ackley township limits, but is 
in the northeastern part of Peck township. 

The territory now known as Eau Claire district was 
within the original limits of districts 2, 3 and 6. 

J. Schaeffer, John Galuski, Anton Smith, Albert Reg- 
gotki, Albert Preboski, and Charles Ackley were pio- 
neer settlers. Ted Bera and John Boncyzk were also 
early settlers, but later than the first. 

The district was one of the principal pine belts in 
western Langlade County and logging and lumbering 
were the chief industries until the cut over lands were 
cleared and cultivated. The Brooks & Ross Company, 
W. L. Ackley, Boyington, and others logged and cut 
pine in this territory in a very early day. 

The farm home of Albert Reggotski was the location 
of the first school, which was taught by Phillip Aird, 
who became an Ackley township official later. 

Some of the pioneer Ackley township roads were 
constructed in this district, the old beds of which are 
still visible. Indian trails abounded and many set- 
tlers used them to get from cabin to cabin. 

The original farm dwellings were nothing but log 
shacks, just as were those of the other districts. 

Early bridges were constructed of logs, sod, and 
stones. The most historic is the old Galuski bridge, 
which collapsed under a load in 1887. 

The Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company 
built a spur track into this territory to haul lumber 



182 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



products, logs, and to serve the village of Heinemann 
generally in 1901. The track runs through sections 
23 and 24 in this district. 

Mention has been made of the first school. The 
second was soon after erected near the Prasalowicz 
place, section 21, on the banks of the Eau Claire 
(East Branch) river. The present school was erected 
in 1910. It is a brick structure with cost $1,800. 

There are approximately thirty-five settlers in the 
district which is named Eau Claire because of the 
two branches of that river joining nearby. 

A vast portion of this district is not inhabited. High- 
way No. 64 traverses it on a direct west course to the 
Lincoln County line. 

The present school is located on the northwest one- 
fourth of the northeast one-fourth of section 21. 

DISTRICT NO. 6. 

MARSH DISTRICT. District No. 6, situated in the 
northern part of Ackley, principally range 9 east, is 
the largest school area in Ackley township. It com- 
prises 12,000 acres, or all that territory within sec- 
tions 1 to 12 inclusive in Township 31, Range 9 East, 
the north one-half of sections 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 in 
Range 9 East, the north one-half of section 18, Range 
10 East, also sections 6, 7, 8 in Township 31, Range 
10 East, and the southwest one-fourth of section 5, 
Range 10 East. 

District No. 6 was organized April 6, 1886, when the 
school system was changed from the township meth- 
od to the district method. It then consisted of all of 
sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 in 
Township 31, Range 9 East, the west one-half of sec- 
tion 4, and also sections 5 and 6 in Township 31, 
Range 10 East, also more territory now in Peck town- 
ship which was sparsely settled. 

The first settlers were William Taylor and Thomas 
Woolets. William Taylor came into this district in 
1877. His entire fortune consisted of a team, two 
calves, a hundred pound sack of flour and a few cop- 
pers in his pocket. It was necessary for him to drive 
through much swampy land to reach his small hold- 
ing. He erected a log cabin, made his own shingles, 
hewed his logs and cultivated a patch of land to the 
rear of his cabin located on section 6, Township 31, 
Range 10 East. Other settlers later, but early, were 
Thomas Longworth and J. Finney. 

Very few settlers moved into this district because 
of the marshy territory, poor drainage and inaccessi- 
bility to trading posts. Even water was hard to ob- 
tain by the first settlers, who carried many buckets 
from Black Brook, Peck township. Spring water was 
used also. 

The first school was erected on a site three-quarters 
of a mile southeast of the present school site. Twelve 
pupils were in attendance at the first session which 
was in charge of John Kennedy. Elizabeth and Alice 
Kennedy were the second and third teachers in this 
district. 

The log cabin school soon became inadequate to 
cope with educational needs of the district and a 



frame school was erected which Agnes Singer taught 
during the first session held. It was used until 1906, 
when a brick school house was erected on section 6. 
The second school was used afterward as a woodshed. 

The first settler, William Taylor, moved from this 
district in 1917. 

Members of the first school board were John Beards- 
ley, Jonathan Reader and Peter G. Beck. (The dis- 
trict then included part of what is today Peck town- 
ship). The school affairs in the Marsh District have 
been capably handled by various citizens, elected an- 
nually as members of the district board. 

Much of the land in the district is owned by the 
B. Heinemann Lumber Company, the George Baldwin 
estate, and others. 

DISTRICT NO. 7. 

RIVERVIEW DISTRICT. When the township sys- 
tem of school government was abandoned in Ackley 
township, the township was divided into eight school 
districts. Reorganization took place from time to time 
in recognition of demands of new settlers and also 
because of Langlade County territorial changes from 
1881 to 1885. 

District No. 7 was organized by order of State Su- 
perintendent of Schools C. P. Cary, Thursday, July 
26, 1906. The district was formed chiefly because of 
the demands for a school by the settlers residing at 
Heinemann, lumber village, in the territory. It con- 
sisted originally of the south half of the southwest 
quarter and the south half of the southeast quarter of 
section 20, the south quarter of the southwest quarter 
and the south half of the southeast quarter of section 
21, the west half of section 27, all of sections 28, 29 
and 30 and the northeast quarter of the northeast 
quarter of section 32, all in Township 31, Range 10 
East (East Ackley) ; also all of sections 25, 26, 27, 28, 
29 and 30 in Township 31, Range 9 East. This took 
in territory once a part of the original Ferndale District 
No. 2. District No. 7 then contained 6,480 acres. Its 
area now, when changes in districts have been made, 
more important of which was made on petition of 27 
citizens, June 4, 1919, is 10,320 acres. It includes all 
of sections 25 to 36 inclusive, Township 31, Range 9 
East, all of sections 28, 29, 30, the west half of sec- 
tion 27, the south half of the south half of both sec- 
tions 20, 21, and the south half of the southeast quar- 
ter of section 22, all in Township 31, Range 10 East. 

The first officers of this school district were W. B. 
Heinemann, Treasurer; Charles Bruce, Director, and 
Fred Hoffman, Clerk. Present officers (1921-22) are 
John Mauer, Clerk; Charles Motts, Treasurer, and Her- 
man Lucht, Director. 

Early settlers in this district were : W. L. Ackley, 
Louis Poxleitner, Adolph Stall, Benno Hoermann, 
John Mauer, Matt Fuchs, Mrs. Joseph Kolet, and oth- 
ers. 

The district has the distinction of having W. L. 
Ackley, first permanent settler of Langlade County, 
as it's first settler. He arrived in this country in 1853. 
He was present in Ackley township when the govern- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



183 



ment survey was made in 1860. Mr. Ackley lived on 
the Eau Claire river banks. He fished, hunted in the 
forests, lumbered in the pineries, aided the log drivers, 
established a business with D. Hogarty, traded with 
the Indians, lived, in fact, the life of a Daniel Boone 
in this country. Mr. Ackley was in this township, 
which bears his name, ten years before Henry Strauss, 
"Mystery Man" of the Wolf river country went into 
eastern Langlade County from Menominee, Michigan, 
to be from the haunts of all white men who he de- 
clared he wished no longer to see. 

The district is, therefore, the oldest one in point of 
habitat by permanent white settlers. 

The river driving on the Eau Claire river form- 
ed an important industry in pioneer days. The var- 
ious improvement companies removed obstructions in 
the Eau Claire river, thus enabling the pine logs to 
be driven down the stream to Schofield, Wis. 



Company, Antigo, Wis., and moved to the vicinity 
of the Langlade Lumber Company mill in August, 
1917. 

The first cheese factory was opened in 1919 in the 
old store building, once the Heinemann Lumber Com- 
pany store. In 1920 it changed hands and the Ackley 
Farmers Dairy Produce Company operated the fac- 
tory, which burned down in 1921. 

There are now no cheese factories, cemeteries or 
churches in the district. Highway No. 64 runs through 
the district and is used constantly. It was opened to 
Merrill in the fall of 1921. 

The Riverview Park, in which many Antigo people 
are interested, is located across the Eau Claire river 
(on the west bank) in the district. A large dance 
pavilion was erected in 1921 and is very popular. 

Eugene Mullen conducts a soft drink parlor which 
he has operated for a number of years. 




UELLS OF THE EAU CL-MRE RIVER 

The junction of the east and west branches of the Eau Claire River 

are in Ackley township. 



In 1897, H. C. Humphrey, G. W. Hogben, and A. 
M. Lanning organized the Antigo Screen Door Com- 
pany. They discontinued business in Antigo after 
operating a short time. Then the concern erected a 
factory on the Eau Claire river in this district on sec- 
tion 28. A. C. Campbell and A. M. Lanning operated 
it until a change in ownership whereby the Heine- 
mann Lumber Company took it over in 1901. They 
made extensive improvements in the industry. Their 
saw and planing mills operated until 1911 when the 
sawmill burned down. The village of Heinemann 
prospered during the life of the industry. Many em- 
ployes were boarded at a hotel owned by the lum- 
ber concern. The concern also operated a store for 
the residents of the village. Many of the village 
houses were since purchased by the Langlade Lumber 



Agriculture is the principal occupation of the set- 
tlers, all of whom are progressive. 

Ruins of the once splendid planing mill, sawmill and 
thriving village still exist, reminding the observer 

"That trade's proud empire hastes to swift decay, 
As ocean sweeps the labour'd mole away; 

While self-dependent power can time defy. 
As rocks resist the billow and the sky." 

At the opening of the twentieth century. Barker & 
Stewart and the Heinemann Lumber Company logged 
extensively in this district. The Chicago, Milwaukee 
& St. Paul Railroad serves this territory, passing 
through sections 19, 30, 31, 32 in West Ackley. 

Settlements are along this road. They are called 
McGinnis, Bellmeyer and Behm. 



184 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXXVl. 

Ainsworth Townships No. 33-34, R. 12 E. 

Location — Original Timber Growths — Quality of Soil — Government Survey — Organization of Ains- 
worth Township — "Uncle Tom" Ainsworth — Ainsworth Originally in Cleveland Township — 
Town Hall— Township Officials— The Old Lake Superior Trail— Stopping Places— Dams— Pear- 
son District — Arbutus Hill District — District No. 5 — Swamp Creek District. 



Ainsworth township was named after "Uncle Tom" 
Ainsworth, who was born in Dorchester, England on 
August 18, 1839, the son of Henry and Susan Ains- 
worth. When eighteen years of age he came to the 
United States, stayed two years in Ohio and then came 
to Wisconsin, settling at Oshkosh, Winnebago Coun- 
ty. He was a Civil Engineer by profession. Henry 
and John Ainsworth, two brothers, were engaged in 
agriculture in Winnebago County at the time of "Un- 
cle Tom's" arrival. Tom Ainsworth tended the dams 




"LXCLE TOM" AIXSWORTII 

Pioneer dam tender at Pearson after whom Ainsworth 

township was named. 

for the improvement companies on the Wolf River 
between Post Lake and Shawano. He made three 
trips every two weeks from Shawano, Wis. He was 
married in 1874 to Anna B. Jones of Shawano. They 
had one child, Mary, now Mrs. Eugene Wescott, Shaw- 
ano, Wis. "Uncle Tom" died January 11, 1910 at 
Shawano. 

Ainsworth township clings to the name Ainsworth in 
more than one way. Charles Ainsworth, a nephew of 
"Uncle Tom" has been successively chosen Township 
Treasurer since the organization of the township. 

Uncle Tom Ainsworth was one of the best known 
men among the pioneers in the Wolf River country. 



AINSWORTH TOWNSHIP. 

Ainsworth is situated north of Price township and 
occupies that territory in townships 33 and 34 of Range 
12 East. South Ainsworth township was surveyed by 
James L. Nowlin, U. S. Deputy Surveyor, who com- 
menced the survey May 6, 1865, and completed it May 
17, 1865. South Ainsworth is bounded on the north 
by North Ainsworth township, on the south by Price 
township, on the east by East Upham township and on 
the west by North Langlade township. The south 
township was originally covered with a growth of white 
and yellow pine, hemlock, birch, oak and maple. Most 
of the timber was of poor quality. Extensive tracts 
of hardwood still stand. The soil of South Ainsworth 
consists of Gloucester sandy loam found in sections 1, 
2, 3 and 4 of the township and in a spear shaped area 
in the western part of South Ainsworth. Merrimac 
silt loam is found in sections 5 and 6. Gloucester silt 
loam is not so extensive in the southern part of the 
township. Considerable Peat is found along the banks 
of the Wolf River and near the marshes and lakes. The 
junction of the Hunting and Wolf rivers is in this 
township in section 8. The famous military road runs 
through section 1 entering North Ainsworth in section 
35. 

North Ainsworth lies in congressional township 34 of 
Range 12 East. It was surveyed by James L. Nowlin, 
who started May 18, 1865, and completed the survey 
June 1, 1865. Hemlock, tamarack, white pine, cedar, 
birch and maple were the original forest products. 
There was but little pine in this township. The only 
stream of note is the Wolf river, which has a width 
from 1 to 3 chains. It runs through sections 30, 31 and 
32 on the west. Pickerel Creek, in the east, runs 
through sections 13, 24, 25, 26, 27, 33 and 34. Principal 
lakes are Rich Lake, the western part of Pickerel Lake, 
in section 25, and other small lakes. 

North Ainsworth is bounded on the north by Forest 
County, on the south by South Ainsworth, on the west 
by East Elcho township and on the east by Forest 
County. The soil of North Ainsworth consists prin- 
cipally of Gloucester silt loam, Gloucester stony sand 
in the south and a small area north near Little Rolling 
Stone Lake fat county boundary). Gloucester sandy 
loam is found in the center of the township, Glouces- 
ter fine sand in sections 22, 23 and 27, a strip of Plain- 
field sand is found south of Rich's (Rolling Stone) 
Lake in sections 13 and 14. The largest area of Peat 
in Langlade County is found in western North Ains- 
worth. It embraces an area of about eight sections. 



" 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



185 



and extends north into the Town of Nashville, Forest 
County. 

THE ORGANIZATION OF AINSWORTH. 

Ainsworth township is the youngest of Langlade 
County civil divisions. The township was organized 
at the first annual township meeting, April 4, 1905. 
Charles A. Learned was appointed temporary Chair- 
man of the meeting and Alexander Henry and Robert 
Schmidt were selected as Clerks of Election. H. B. 
Polar and A. Nixon were chosen ballot clerks and F. 
A. Thorn and Joseph Schoknecht as inspectors of elec- 
tion. 

The township was named after "Uncle Tom" Ains- 
worth, who, for many years came to the dam at Pear- 
son to care for it and "tend" for the Wolf River Im- 
provement Company. 

FIRST OFFICERS. 

The first officers of Ainsworth township were: Chair- 
man — Charles A. Learned; F. A. Thorn and H. B. 
Polar — Supervisors; Alexander Henry — Clerk; Chas. 
T. Ainsworth — Treasurer; Samuel Preston — Assessor; 
W. Newell — Constable; J. Thorn, Henry Harvey and 
J. W. Hoffman — Justices. 

ONCE IN LANGLADE TOWNSHIP— 1875. 

The town of Ainsworth was once a part of Langlade 
township, Oconto County, in 1875-1879. (Langlade 
township then consisted of 44 and a third townships 
and extended to the state line, but was cut down to 27 
townships just before New County was created in 
1879). When Langlade County was organized Ains- 
worth was a part of Polar township. In November, 
1883, it was detached from Polar township and be- 
came a part of Price township. It remained under 
the jurisdiction of Price township but one year. 
November 12, 1884, the county board was requested 
to organize Aetna township out of the present terri- 
tory of Ainsworth and townships 34 of Ranges 13 and 
14 East, now a part of Nashville township. Forest 
County. The request was granted and Cleveland 
township was created. (See Cleveland township in 
Chapter on Vacated Langlade County Townships). 
In November, 1886, this territory, with the exception 
of that part ceded to Forest County in 1885, was va- 
cated and attached to Langlade township. It re- 
mained in Langlade township until 1905 when Ains- 
worth was organized. 

AINSWORTH HALL. 

November 6, 1907, James D. Polar, Sam Preston, F. 
W. Hoffman, C. A. Learned, Jos. Schoknecht, Charles 
T. Ainsworth, J. W. Spencer, J. K. Newell, Alvin Rich- 
ter, F. A. Thorne, J. T. Thorn, Wm. Spencer, W. Crams, 
H. B. Polar, B. S. Powell, and J. H. Powell petitioned 
the township officials to vote on the question of rais- 
ing $1,000 to erect a town hall. The question was put 
to the voters of Ainsworth and 13 voted for and 2 



against the loan. The first meeting in the new town 
hall, located on section 9, was held April 7, 1908. 

SETTLEMENT WITH LANGLADE. 

Ainsworth township made a settlement with the of- 
ficials of Langlade township May 20, 1905. Charles 
A. Learned, Alexander Henry and C. T. Ainsworth 
were the Committee on Settlement from the new town. 
The division of properties and treasury funds was 
made on a 491 to 509 per cent basis, the latter per cent 
to be retained by Langlade. 

Ainsworth received $713.54 and Langlade received 
$739.70. 

The division of Langlade township creating Ains- 
worth made the seventh recorded change in township 
jurisdiction of townships 33 and 34 of Range 12 East. 
These were 1 — Territory was in Oconto County; 2 — 
Territory in New County ; 3 — Territory in Langlade 
County in Polar township; 4 — Territory in Price town- 
ship; 5 — Territory in Cleveland township; 6 — Terri- 
tory in Langlade township; 7 — Territory in Ainsworth 
township. 

FIRST HEALTH OFFICERS. 

The first health officers of Ainsworth township were : 
Chairman of Board of Health — H. B. Polar; Health 
Officer — Frank A. Thorn and Clerk — Alexander Henry. 

FIRST ROAD BEFORE U. S. SURVEY IN 1865. 

The first road to penetrate the township was the old 
Lake Superior Trail that ran in a north and south di- 
rection through the center of the township. This road 
was cut before the government survey of Langlade 
County. The military road runs through this town- 
ship on practically the same course. 

STOPPING PLACES— DAMS. 

Early stopping places and dams are found in the 
chapters on "Pioneer Lumbering on the Wolf River" 
and "Taverns — Old Stopping Places — Hotels." 

AINSWORTH TOWNSHIP OFFICERS— 1905-1923. 

CHAIRMEN. 

Charles A. Leonard — 1905-06; Frank A. Thorn — 
1906-09; Wm. F. Spencer— 1909-10; James D. Polar— 
1910-11; J. H. Powell— 1911-12; John H. Harvey— 
1912-14; E. S. Tradewell— 1914-16; John Aird— 1916- 
21; John Wilcox— 1921-23. 

CLERKS. 

Alex Henry— 1905-06; Wm. F. Spencer— 1906-09; 
B. S. Powell— 1909-12; J. B. Skidmore— 1912-14; Sam- 
uel Preston— 1914-17; J. B. Skidmore— 1917-19; Alon- 
zo Bunten— 1919-21 ; Fred Hartman— 1921-23. 

TREASURERS. 

Charles T. Ainsworth— 1905-23. 

SUPERVISORS. 

F. A. Thorn, H. B. Polar— 1905-06; Joseph Schok- 
necht, H. B. Polar— 1906-08; H. B. Polar, Gust Mc- 



186 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Mahon— 1908-09; J. H. Powell, John Harvey— 1909- 
10; Walter Sears, J. H. Powell— 1910-11; John Harvey, 
Wm. F. Spencer— 1911-12; Fred A. Hartman, Samuel 
Preston — 1912-13; Charles Krueger, Henry Shadick — 
1913-14; John H. Harvey, Fred A. Hartman— 1914- 
15; John H. Harvey, Henry Shadick— 1915-16; N. R. 
Spencer, John H. Harvey — 1916-17; Archie Spencer, E. 
J. Kaufman — 1917-18; Archie Spencer, N. R. Spencer 
—1918-19; Archie Spencer, William Craig— 1919-20; 
William Craig, Henry Shadick— 1920-21; Henry Sha- 
dick, Samuel Preston— 1921-22; Henry Shadick, N. 
Thorn— 1922-23. 

ASSESSORS. 

Samuel Preston— 1905-07; James D. Polar— 1907- 
10; Samuel Preston— 1910-11 ; James D. Polar— 1911- 
13; Wm. F. Spencer— 1913-14; James D. Polar; 1914- 
16; Frank A. Thorn— 1916-18; Joseph Schacher— 1918- 
21; F. A. Thorn— 1921-22; John Schacher— 1922-23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

Henry Harvey, Jessie Thorn, F. W. Hoffman — 1905- 
06; Henry Harvey, John K. Newell— 1906-07; Charles 

A. Learned, Henry Harvey— 1907-08; J. T. Thorn, 
Henry Harvey— 1908-09; J. T. Thorn— 1909-10; Wm. 
M. Grams— 1910-11; N. Thorn, Henry Harvey— 1911- 
12; Henry Shadick, N. Thorn— 1912-13; Henry Harvey 
1913-14; Henry Harvey, Samuel Preston— 1914-15; 
Tilman Arrand, Henry Harvey — 1915-16; Henry Har- 
very, Archie Spencer — 1916-17; Henry Harvey, Wil- 
liam Craig — 1917-18; Henry Harvey, Samuel Preston 
—1918-19; J. B. Skidmore— 1919-20; H. Harvey— 
1920-21; H. Harvey, A. J. Monette— 1922-23. 

CONSTABLES. 

Warren Newell — 1905-06; Huston Townsend, J. W. 
Spencer— 1906-07; Gust McMahon— 1907-08; Fred 
Hartman— 1908-09; Samuel Preston— 1909-10; C. C. 
Spencer, J. H. Harvey — 1910-11; William Miracle, 
William McGeesick— 1911-12; John Polar— 1912-13; 
J. H. Harvey, William Grams— 1913-14; J. H. Powell, 
Julius Monette — 1914-15; J. H. Powell, Nim Spencer — 
1915-16; John H. Harvey, George Maloney— 1916-17; 
J. H. Powell, Frank Doucette— 1917-18; C. B. Skid- 
more, John Wilcox— 1918-19; N. Thorn— 1919-20; C. 

B. Skidmore— 1920-21 ; J. Harvey, M. Shadick— 1921- 
22; J. Harvey, F. Doucette— 1922-23. 

DISTRICT NO 3. 

PEARSON DISTRICT. The first historical event 
of importance in this district was the construction of 
the Wolf river dam, erected by the Keshena Improve- 
ment Company in 1869. Thomas Ainsworth, had 
charge of construction of this dam. P. Williams 
Maginey often termed "Bogus Bill" was the first dam 
tender. Buckstaff Brothers of Oshkosh had a camp 
on Craig's corner in this district in 1866. James Magee 
operated a camp on the site of the Henry Shadick res- 
idence, section 5. 

The first permanent settlers in this district were 
Henry and John Seeman who settled in the district in 



March, 1883. Charles Ferguson came at the same 
time. Joseph Schoknecht settled on section 3, Town- 
ship 33, Range 12 East, in July, 1883. Following 
him J. Pearson Hughes came in 1884 from Oshkosh, 
Wis., to regain his health. Henry Harvey and Charles 
Ainsworth followed, both coming from Shawano. The 
latter settled on section 9. Alexander Henry, Fred 
Hoffman, Albert Nixon, Sim Graves and Samuel Pres- 
ton all were early settlers coming shortly after the first 
arrivals. 

Henry Seaman and J. Pearson Hughes erected the 
first log school house on section 3. It was built in 
1886. Edith Hughes and Rose and Frank Seeman were 
the first pupils. Early teachers were Louisa Romeis, 
Jane Reader, Nellie Reader and Mrs. J. Pearson 
Hughes. In 1891 a frame school replaced the log 
structure, being erected on section 10. It was in use 
until 1916 when a brick school was erected on the same 
site at a cost of $5,500. The old frame school house 
was moved to the Cloverdale district where George 
Mathison remodeled it for a store. The members of 
the school board when the frame school of 1891 was 
erected were Joseph Schoknecht, Treasurer; J. Pearson 
Hughes, Clerk and Robert Armstrong, Director. The 
1921-22 officials were Fred Hartman, Treasurer; John 
Aird, Clerk; August Kussman, Director. The 1921- 
22 teacher was Vera Young. 

J. Pearson Hughes was the first storekeeper and 
postmaster at Pearson village, which was named by 
him. The store was a typical crossroads place. Albert 
Nixon operated the first hotel on section 9. J. P. 
Hughes ran a boarding house before then. 

Oscar Seeman was the first boy and Elsie Schok- 
necht was the first girl born in the district. She was 
also the first woman to vote in the district, at a gen- 
eral election. 

Sim Graves operated a saw mill on section 4 from 
1905 to 1907, when it was moved away. The land 
was purchased by the Paine Lumber Company of Osh- 
kosh, Wis. 

The first and only cheese factory was erected on 
section 4 in 1919 by R. Roeder. 

Telephone service was brought into the district in 
1915 by the Military Road Telephone Company. 

Fred Hartman erected the first silo in the district. 
There are now four silos in the district. 

The town cemetery is located on section 3, an acre 
of land having been purchased for that purpose from 
Joseph Schoknecht. 

The Langlade Lumber Company, successor to the 
Paine Lumber Company, have extensive holdings in 
the district. They have brought in new settlers, 
through their cut over land sales. 

The post office has been moved frequently since J. 
Pearson Hughes opened it, on section 9. Other post- 
masters were Alexander Henry, section 9; William 
Spencer, section 9; Samuel Preston, section 9, (it burn- 
ed when he was in charge). It was then located on 
section 4. Other postmasters were Annie Monette, 
George Thrasher, Alonzo Bunten and George Mathison. 

The Pearson district has a progressive population. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



187 



DISTRICT NO. 4. 

ARBUTUS HILL DISTRICT. The pioneer citi- 
zens of this district were Charles A. Learned, H. B. 
Polar and David Getchell (who later moved to Lang- 
lade township, Elm Grove District). 

H. B. Polar came into northern Wisconsin in 1861 
and moved down the old Lake Superior trail from 
Lac Vieux Desert to the territory that later become 
Langlade County, but a short time later. He was one 
of Langlade County's most conspicuous pioneers. He 
lived with and among the Chippewa Indians, who re- 
vered and respected him. The chief occupation of 
this pioneer was that of a trader, woodsman, and later 
a proprietor of a so-called "stopping place." ( See 
chapter on Taverns-Hotels-Stopping Places). Polar 
township was named in his memory. David Getchell, 
who came from Maine, is mentioned in the Elm Grove 
District. Charles Leonard became the first Ainsworth 
town chairman. He was active in Langlade township 
and Cleveland township affairs previously. 

District No. 4 has long been the habitat of the 
Chippewa, who today lives within its borders. Many 
of them live in a primitive environment. "Old Blind 
Christ," a Chippewa Indian of advanced age lives near- 
by. He is reserved as are most of the Chippewa In- 
dians hereabout. His name is John Pete and the story 
is related of how he became blind in an attempt to 
run from the authorities enforcing the peace and civil 
dignity of the district. Joseph Pete, a brother, fought 
in the Civil War. 

The first school was known as the Polar School and 
was on the site of the present Arbutus school, section 
34. It was a log building and was used a number of 
years. A frame building was erected and burned 
down in 1906. It was replaced by another frame struc- 
ture which still stands, section 27, but is not used as a 
school. The brick school now in the district was built 
by Dallman & Hoffschmidt of Antigo. It is a splen- 
did building, well equipped and a credit to the com- 
munity. 

The Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company laid 
a spur track from Koepenick to Pearson and has done 
much to open this vicinity. 

Lakes or Creeks in the district are: Pickerel Creek; 
Mosquito Creek, Dead Man's Lake, Sunken Lake, 
Hollister Lake and Mosquito Lake. 

Loggers who have or are now operating : Fish Lum- 
ber Company crews, Kellogg Lumber & Mfg. Co., 
Langlade Lumber Co., Wittenberg Cedar Company and 
White Star Lumber Co., and Munsard & Perkins of 
Bowler. 

There are about ten settlers in the district. 

Early teachers were : Michael Hafner and Edith 
Buck. The 1921-22 teacher was lone Preston. The 
1921-22 school officials were : Lyman Jessey, Treasur- 
er; John Harvey, Director and Frank Harvey, Clerk. 

An Indian cemetery is located in the district and 
many of the Polar family are at rest in it. There H. 
B. Polar, the pioneer, James Polar and Barney Polar, 
who was charged with the murder of Henry Still, but 
was never captured for trial, are buried. 



DISTRICT NO. 5. 

This district has but four settlers, Frank A. Thorn 
family, Wm. Grames, William Vorass and Charles 
Franks. It is heavily timbered, lumbering, logging 
and agriculture being the chief occupations of the 
settlers. 

Nicholas Preston homesteaded the southeast quarter 
of section 29. He was followed by Sim Graves, who 
also settled on section 29. Frank A. Thorn and fami- 
ly came into the district in 1899 and settled on section 
27. E. C. Nichols settled on section 27 (NW M). 

The first school was erected on section 29 and was 
used for many years until the frame structure was built 
in 1905. Early teachers were Edith Hughes, Dora 
Berendson, Lena Arentsen, Frarxis McBain, Francis La 
Veque and Nettie Hanson. The first teacher in the 
frame school was Minnie Brandow. The last teacher 
was Olga Grames. School has been discontinued be- 
cause there are no children of school age. 

The Langlade Lumber Company store and head- 
quarters are located near this district on section 5. 
They moved their headquarters into the district from 
Bass Lake, Upham township in 1921. The company 
store was purchased from Hale, Mylrea Lumber Com- 
pany in 1916. 

DISTRICT NO. 6. 

CLOVER DALE DISTRICT. In the region where 
the Hunting River joins with the Wolf River in a 
journey on to the St. Lawrence is a district known to 
the school children as the Clover Dale. Its early set- 
tlers were: John Powell, "Uncle West" Spencer, Co- 
lumbus Spencer, B. S. Powell and Tillman Arrand. The 
district is not densely populated, but, because of recent 
extensive logging operations, has become settled. 

A Catholic church was erected in 1919 in the dis- 
trict. The land for this church was donated by Oliver 
Shadick, Sr. 

The Langlade Lumber Company has extensive logg- 
ing operations in this vicinity. Their machine shop, 
general store operated by F. R. Cleveland and the 
Langlade Hotel, run by William Zerrener, are all lo- 
cated in Clover Dale. George Mathison is the Pear- 
son postmaster. He has a store which he runs in con- 
junction with the post office. Oliver Shadick, Jr., con- 
ducts a soft drink parlor in this district. 

The present Clover Dale School was erected in 1909. 
It is located on section 5, township 32, Range 12 East. 

DISTRICT NO. 7. 

SWAMP CREEK DISTRICT is sparsely settled. 
The settlers are Charles Kreger, Wallace Fryer, the 
Brennerman family, George Maloney, Frank Slaboch, 
William Tomlin and Joseph Schacher. E. S. Trade- 
well logged extensively in the district for many years 
until 1921. He also conducted a general store while 
engaged in logging. The school house, was erected 
by the Charles W. Fish Lumber Company. The first 
teacher was Miss Lola Mills. Mrs. Wallace Fryer is 
the present teacher. The 1921-22 school officials 
were: Frank Slobach, Treasurer; Mrs. Charles Krue- 
ger, Clerk and Wallace Fryer, Director. 






188 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXXVII. 
Antigo Township No. 31, R. 11 E. 

Location — Boundaries — Organization — Old Town of Springbrook — Two Sets of Town Officers in 
1880 — Early Roads — Road Districts — First Improvements — First School District Boundaries — 
Expansion of Town — Boundary Lines Changed — School Districts — Early Settlers — The First In- 
dustries — Mills — Agriculture — Dairying — Sch ools — Churches — Cemeteries — Granges — Miscel- 



laneous- 



-Progress. 



Antigo township, range 11, once extended fronn the 
southern boundary line of township 31, direct north in 
range 11 east to the boundary line between townships 
37 and 38, range 11 east. Its original area was 252 
square miles. Antigo township originally included its 
present area and all of Neva township, east Upham 
township, east Elcho township and township 35, 36 and 
37, north of Langlade County. 

The township lies in the south central part of Lang- 
lade County. Like the city of Antigo, it received its 
name from the Chippewa Indian word, Nequi-Antigo- 
Seebeh, signifying balsam evergreen. It is bounded 
on the north by Neva tov/nship, on the west by East 
Ackley township, on the east by Polar township and 
on the south by Norwood and Rolling townships. An- 
tigo township embraces one Congressional township or 
thirty-six square miles. The most important water 
course in the township is Springbrook, which flows 
through sections 2, 10, 16, 23 and the city of Antigo. 
The township is generally level, its soil of exception- 
al fertility. Once the land was covered with dense 
timber, the great tracts of pine being first to fall under 
the blow of the woodsman's axe. Maple, birch, elm 
and cherry were also plentiful. It is distinctly a 
dairying and agricultural township. Its farms, cheese 
factories, stock and poultry farms, commodious barns 
and silos have taken the place of the stately pine tree 
of a half century ago. Antigo township was survey- 
ed by H. C. Fellows of the U. S. Survey in September, 
1860. 

ORGANIZATION— TOWN OF SPRINGBROOK. 

Antigo township belonged to Langlade township of 
Oconto County before 1879, when New County was or- 
ganized. Thereupon it was under the jurisdiction of 
Shawano County and was known as Springbrook town- 
ship. 

Prior to January 1, 1880, the Shawano County Board 
of Supervisors ordered electors of Springbrook town- 
ship to meet April 6, 1880 at the residence of Robert 
Sheriff, section 26, township 31, range 11 East. The 
meeting was adjourned from the Sheriff residence 
"because of illness in the family" to the farm home of 
A. O. D. Kelly, section 11, township 31, range 11 East. 
An election was held and the following were chosen 
first officers of Springbrook township : Chairman — 
Robert Sheriff; James Brenner and J. B. Beemer, 
Supervisors; A. 0. D. Kelly — Assessor; D. S. Olmsted 



— Town Clerk; George Taplin — Town Treasurer; F. 
J. Despins, E. B. Morley and Charles Gowan — Justices 
of the Peace; John Cherf, D. H. Brands and Wm. Mil- 
ler — Constables. Nineteen votes were cast by the 
following: D. S. Olmsted, Alex McMillan, George 
Taplin, James Brennen, Henry Jones, Richard Healy, 
Sr., John Everling, A. 0. D. Kelly, Robert Sheriff, 
Fred Betke, Albert Betke, Charles Fred, Joseph De- 
brauer, Ferdinand Betke, Robert Webster, George Scott, 
Joseph Sheriff, Joel Quimby, D. H. Brands. J. B. 
Beemer, refused to qualify as a Supervisor, and John 
Cherf, was appointed to serve in his place from 
1880-81. This set of officers held meetings at the 
homes of the officers the last one August 9, 1880, when 
$200 was appropriated from the drainage fund of the 
tovvfn to defend the township in an action began by F. 
A. Deleglise in Circuit Court. 

WHY THE ACTION WAS INSTITUTED. 

When F. A. Deleglise, George Ratcliffe, M. W. 
Waite, V. Simmons, John Doersch, John Cherf, A. 
Price, E. M. Stevens, Charles Teipner, Wm. Shiel, 
Niels Anderson and Charles Gowan, all of the town of 
Springbrook, proceeded to the farm house of Robert 
Sheriff (the place designed by the Shawano County 
Board as the place of holding an election and organiz- 
ing the town of Springbrook), they were informed of 
illness in the Sheriff family. The twelve citizens were 
indignant over the fact that "the polling place had been 
adjourned before the legal time of opening it and be- 
cause a constable or any other person in authority was 
not left at the place from which adjournment was made 
to inform the electors of the new polling booths at the 
A. 0. D. Kelly home." 

Thus the township was divided into two factions be- 
fore it was organized. The followers of Hon. F. A. 
Deleglise proceeded to the store of Niels Anderson, 
section 29, township 31. An election was held in 
which F. A. Deleglise was chosen Chairman; Joseph 
Duchac and James O'Connor as Supervisors; E. M. 
Stevens, Clerk; George Ratcliffe, Treasurer; Assessor 
— Charles Gowan; Justices of the Peace — F. J. Des- 
pins, V. Simmons and Charles Mosher; Constables — 
J. Compton and Lawrence Weix. 

The fight between the two factions ended in Circuit 
Court at Green Bay when the Sheriff group were sus- 
tained. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



189 



STATE LAW OF 1881— FIRST OFFICERS. 

A year passed swiftly and in accordance with pro- 
visions specified by the February 19, 1881, act of the 
State Legislature in which Langlade County was or- 
ganized, an election for a Chairman of the new Town- 
ship of Antigo (name of Springbrook dropped by vot- 
ers) was held at Niels Anderson's store. The fol- 
lowing first officers of Antigo township were elected : 
Chairman — V. Simmons; Supervisors — Joseph Du- 
chac, George Ratcliffe; Town Clerk — H. E. Baker; 
Town Treasurer — Louis Novotny; Town Assessor — 
Thomas Leslie; Justices of the Peace — Louis Mend- 
lik, Charles Mosher, M. Weatherwax, Thomas Leslie; 
Constables — D. McTaggart, James Brennen and Law- 
rence Weix. 

FIRST ELECTION ADJOURNED— 1881. 

The first township election was adjourned from the 
Niels Anderson Store to the boot and shoe store of 
James Novotny. Niels Anderson was left at the first 
place to notify voters of the change. This election, 
April 5th, 1881, was the first one of the township as a 
part of Langlade County. Louis Mendlik acted as 
temporary chairman, Thomas Leslie and R. J. Richards 
as Inspectors of Election. 

FIRST ACT OF VOTERS. 

The voters first act was to agree to raise $600 to pay 
off the township school indebtedness of 1880. $1,000 
was voted for school purposes for 1882. 

JANUARY 11, 1883, TOWNSHIPS DETACHED. 

All townships north of township 31, range 11 East in 
Antigo township were severed from Antigo township 
January 11, 1883, to form Neva township. Antigo 
township has since then remained one Congressional 
township. 

ROAD DISTRICTS. 

May 8, 1882, Antigo township was subdivided into 
ten road districts. Principal pioneer highways laid 
out were McMillan highway, Gowan highway. Brands 
highway, Oblique highway, Kennedy highway, Antigo- 
Neva highway, Krause highway, Byrnes highway, 
Langlade highway, Dawsen highway, Leslie highway, 
Betke highway. Sheriff highway, Crompton highway, 
R. C. Richard highway, Brennen highway, Polar-Anti- 
go town line highway. The first road petition was 
granted May 8, 1880 by the town of Springbrook (be- 
fore Antigo township was organized). This highway 
was four rods wide and ran as follows : Center line 
commenced at the west quarter corner of section 7, 
township 32, range 11 East, thence east on the quarter 
line to the center quarter corner of section 8; thence 
southeast touching at every corner to the southeast 
corner of section 16; thence southeast to the center 
line of a wagon road ; thence south on center line of 
said wagon road (magnetia variation N. 6" E.) to the 
southeast corner of section 21, township 32, range 11 
east, (now Neva township). 



SCHOOL DISTRICT BOUNDARIES. 

Before 1883 when Antigo township extended so far 
north and before Neva township was detached from 
Antigo township the school districts were vast incon- 
gruous sections of land. Since then Antigo township 
has been easier to divide into school districts. In 
1885 the school districts were determined as follows: 
District No. 1 consisted of sections 19, 20, 21, 28, 29 
and 30. District No. 2 consisted of sections 4, 5, 6, 
7, 8, 9, 16, 17 and 18. District No. 3 consisted of 
sections 25, 26, 27, 34, 35 and 36. District No. 4 con- 
sisted of sections 1, 2, 3, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and the 
north 1 2 of sections 22, 23 and 24. District No. 5 con- 
sisted of sections 31, 32 and 33. 

School district boundaries were changed, due chief- 
ly to the growth of the city of Antigo, May 30, 1885; 
August 22, 1885; Nov. 17, 1890; November 20, 1900; 
April 21, 1903; October 16, 1906; Nov. 20, 1911; May 
24, 1912; June 8, 1912. 

Antigo township is now subdivided into seven school 
districts. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP CHAIRMEN— 1880-1923. 

Robert Sheriff— 1880-81 (Chairman of Town of 
Springbrook); L. Mendlik — 1881 (Temporary); Vol- 
ney Simmons— 1881-82; F. A. Deleglise— 1882-83; B. 
F. Dorr— 1883-84; Charles Gowan— 1884-87; John 
Byrnes— 1887-89; Charles Gowan— 1889 (resigned); 
Ezra Winch — 1889 ( appointed — died in service) ; A. O. 
D. Kelly— 1889-90; John Byrne— 1890-91; James 
Quinn— 1891-92; Wm. Brennecke— 1892-94; J. P. Tib- 
betts— 1894-95; James Quinn— 1895-99; Wm. Bren- 
necke— 1900-01 ; John Byrne— 1901-02; A. R. Billings 
—1903-04; John Byrne— 1904-05; Thos. W. Humble— 
1905-12; Christ Brennecke— 1912-14; Thomas Ford— 
1914-15; Lewis Winter— 1915-16; Wm. Brennecke— 
1916-21 ; Theo. Miller— 1921-23. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP CLERKS— 1880-1923. 

D. S. Olmsted— 1880-81 (Clerk town of Spring- 
brook); H. E. Baker— 1881-82; Louis Mendlik— 1882- 
83; R. G. Webb— 1883-84; W. L. Crocker— 1884-85; 
S. W. Chamberlain— 1885-94; Charles Theisen— 1895- 
1923. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP TREASURERS— 1880-1923. 

George Taplin — 1880 (Treasurer town of Spring- 
brook); Louis Novotny — 1881-82; James Novotny — 
1882-83; Niels Anderson— 1883-85; Paul Weed— 1885- 
86; A. O. D. Kelly— 1886-87; Jerome Galligher— 1887- 
91; August Gabel— 1891-94; Patrick Byrnes— 1894-97; 
Chr. Brennecke— 1898-02; H. P. Ings— 1903-06; Louis 
Winter— 1906-09; Elmer Tibbetts— 1909-18; Jacob 
Gallenberger— 1918-23. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP SUPERVISORS. 

James Brennan, J. B. Beemer — 1880-81 (town of 
Springbrook) ; Joseph Duchac, George Ratcliffe — 
1881-82; James Brennan, John Goodwin— 1882-83; 
John Goodwin, E. Hubbard— 1883-84; R. H. McMul- 



190 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



len, S. W. Chamberlain— 1884-85; John Byrne, Mar- 
shall Hubbard— 1885-86; John Byrne, Albert Heyse— 
1886-87; W. L. Zuehlke, John Doersch— 1887-89; R. 
Healy, Sr.. Jos. Seipold— 1889-90; Wm. Brennecke, 
Jos. Seipold— 1890-91 ; J. J. Kramer, S. W. Chamber- 
lain— 1891-92; Frank Borth, Frank Byrne— 1892-93; 
Charles Theisen, Peter Marmes— 1893-94; Peter 
Marmes, Charles McGinley— 1894-95; Chas. McGin- 
ley, Wm. Hoppe — 1895-98; George Bonnell, Andrew 
H. Zelinski— 1898-99; J. J. Kroemer, Henry Bohlman 
—1900-01; Louis Winter, Frank Dvorak— 1901-02; 
George Bonnell, Henry S. Heller— 1903-04; Peter 
Marmes, George Bonnell — 1904-05; Thomas Ford, Pet- 
H. Selenski— 1898-99; J. J. Kroemer, Henry Bohlman 
—1906-08; Peter Marmes, Wm. Duernberger— 1908- 
09; Peter Marmes; J. Schoblasky— 1909-10; Peter 
Marmes, Chris. Brennecke, 1910-11; Julius Schoblasky, 
Chris. Brennecke, 1911-12; Louis Winter, Peter 
Marmes — 1912-13; Frank Olmsted, J. J. Seamon — 
1913-14; William Kitt, Louis Winter— 1914-15; Julius 
Hintz, Louis Winter— 1915-16; William Kitt, Edward 
Jansen, 1916-19; Louis Winter, William Kitt— 1919-21; 
Louis Winter, Julius Hintz— 1921-23. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP ASSESSORS— 1880-1922. 

A. 0. D. Kelly— 1880-81 (town of Springbrook) ; 
Thos. W. Leslie— 1881-82; G. Eckart— 1882-83; Eu- 
gene Taplin— 1883-84; Ed. Daskam— 1884-85; John B. 
Beemer— 1885-86; M. E. Carney— 1886-87; John Per- 
ry_1887-88; D. Matteson— 1883-93; Andrew Selen- 
ski— 1893-94; Patrick Byrnes— 1894-96; Lute Adams 
—1896-97; J. L. Jansen— 1898-99; August Wensel— 
1900-01; Elmer Tibbetts— 1901-02; Henry W. Green— 
1903-04; W. B. Hale— 1904-06; Thomas Ford— 1906- 
07; Henry S. Heller— 1907-08; Chas. H. Buchen— 
1908-09; Thomas Ford— 1909-10; James Cherf— 1910- 
12; Frank Olmsted— 1912-13; James Cherf— 1913-14; 
Jos. Holup— 1914-21 ; Frank Wildman 1921-23. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP JUSTICES OF THE PEACE 
—1880-1922. 

F. J. Despins, E. R. Morley, Charles Gowan — 1880- 
81 (Town of Springbrook); Martin Weatherwax, 
Charles Mosher, Louis Mendlik, T. W. Leslie — 1881- 
82; L. W. Bliss. D. S. Olmsted, M. Ford— 1882-83; E. 
Hubbard, John W. Goodwin— 1883-84; L. Mendlik, J. 
W. Wines— 1884-86; Daniel Graham— 1884-85; A. 0. 
D. Kelly— 1885-87; Jno. Daskam— 1885-87; H. B. 
Woodhouse — 1885-86; Geo. S. Foster, Oliver Leslie — 
1886-88; Alex McCleod— 1886-87; A. 0. D. Kelly, D. 
L. Matteson, Conrad Kruse— 1887-88; Oliver Leslie, 
Conrad Kruse, George Bonnell— 1888-89; A. O. D. Kel- 
ly, M. Selenski, John Cherf— 1889-90; J. P. Tibbetts, 
W. Hale, Ernest Hirt— 1890-91 ; Jas. Cunningham, A. 
O. D. Kelly, T. W. Leslie— 1891-92; Louis Winter, 
Frank Forbes, Peter Marmes— 1892-93; H. H. Ward, 
T. W. Leslie— 1893-94; Jos. Kohler, Louis Winter— 
1894-96; Jos. Kramer— 1894-95; Peter Marmes— 1895- 
97; H. H. Ward— 1895-96; Andrew Selenski— 1896-97; 
Lewis Lusk — 1898-99; Lewis Lusk, Frank Michaelson, 
A. Selenski— 1900-01; Peter Marmes, G. W. Tuttle— 



1901-02; G. W. Tuttle— 1903-04; T. W. Humble, F. 0. 
Wheeler— 1904-05; A. S. Rolo, A. Selenski— 1905-06; 
F. 0. Wheeler, A. H. Selenski— 1906-07; William Kitt, 
Elmer Tibbetts— 1907-08; Wm. Hirt, H. Lieber, S. P. 
Jameisen, Geo. Getchell — 1908-09; Wm. Duernberger, 
Herman J. Mathias— 1909-10; H. J. Mathias, S. P. 
Jameison— 1910-11; C. H. Tracy, H. J. Mathias— 1911- 
12; Frank Olmsted, J. P. Nelson— 1912-13; Wm. Kitt, 
P. W. Krier— 1913-14; J. H. Hovre, 1914-15; P. W. 
Krier, J. H. Howe— 1915-16; P. W. Krier, Irvin Green 
—1916-17; Irvin Green, C. H. Tracy— 1917-18; J. H. 
Casey, Elmer Tibbetts— 1918-19; A. Gallenberg— 
1919-20; Carl Boerner— 1920-21 ; Anton Hubatch— 
1921-23; Carl Boerner— 1922-23. 

ANTIGO TOWNSHIP CONSTABLES— 1880-1923. 

J. Cherf, R. H. Brands, Wm. Miller— 1880-81, 
(Town of Springbrook) ; J. Brenner, D. McTaggart, 
Lawrence Weix— 1881-82; Patrick Byrne, John Mc- 
Hale, Martin Weatherwax— 1882-83 ; M. W. Waite, 
John A. Long, Geo. W. Hill, Dan Brown— 1883-84; J. 
A. Long, W. Stevens, John Prastil— 1884-85 ; Eugene 
Taplin, John McCormick, James Maloney — 1885-86; 
Jerome Galligher, John Cherf, T. W. Leslie— 1886-87; 
Chas. McGinley, Patrick Byrne, John Spychalla — 1887- 
88; Louis Mayotte, Herman Rasch, J. Galligher— 1888- 
89; A. Bollker, T. W. Leslie— 1889-90; M. Heller, Jos. 
Kohler, E. A. Tibbetts— 1890-91 ; Jos. Kohler, Patrick 
Byrne, George Cunningham — 1892-93; M. Heller, J. J. 
Kramer— 1893-94; Jos. Seipold, M. Selenski— 1894-95; 
Jos. Kohler — 1896-98; Jos. Jecjka, Emil Rasch, Jno. 
Mittermiller— 1897-98; Wm. Sill— 1896-97; Ezra Gal- 
ligan— 1898-99; Jos. Kohler— 1899-1900; Chas. Miller, 
Louis Winter— 1900-01 ; Chas. Wordel— 1902-03; C. H. 
Tracy— 1903-04; Matt Funck, T. W. Joyce— 1904-05; 
Harrison Hale, Jas. O'Brien, Wm. Raess— 1905-06; 
Herman Brecklin, Emil Rasch— 1906-08; Henry P. 
Ings— 1908-09; Henry P. Ings, D. J. Vanooyen— 1909- 
11; John Cherf, Edward Hruska — 1911-12; Louis Bern- 
er, John Cherf — 1912-13; John Cherf, John Matuszczak 
—1913-14; Wm. Lucht, Matt Elliott— 1914-15; T. W. 
Humble, John Cherf, Henry P. Ings— 1915-16; P. W. 
Krier, Irvin Green — 1916-17; J. F. Casey, Oscar Pet- 
erson — 1917-18; J. F. Casey, Jacob Gallenberger — 
1918-19; J. F. Casey— 1919-22; 0. Peterson, Matt El- 
liott— 1921-22; A. Oldenberg, Geo. Baxter, Albert 
Skaletska— 1922-23. 

DISTRICT NO. 1. 

PIONEER DISTRICT. School District No. 1, 
known as the Pioneer district, is one of the first of 
Langlade County school units. When the early set- 
tlers came to Antigo many also took up homesteads in 
this district as early as 1879. Pioneers in this dis- 
trict were George Bonnell, Peter Doucette, Ezra Galli- 
gan, Isreal Wood, August Baxter, J. W. Prosser and 
Oliver Leslie. 

When the district was created it consisted of sections 
19, 20 and 21 and the south ^z of sections 16, 17 and 
18. May 30, 1885, the NW ^ of the NW I4 of sec- 
tion 30 was added to the district. August 22, 1885, 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



191 



this same territory was detached and became a part of 
the city of Antigo. November 17, 1890, the district 
was reconstructed, also on August 8, 1900, April 21, 
1903, October 10, 1906 and June 8, 1912. 

The district now comprises all of sections 16 and 17, 
the north ^^ of sections 20 and 21, also the north i/^ 
of section 19 (with exception of SE Vi of the NW V^ 
of section 19), the south V2 of the south V2 of section 
9 and the south V2 of the SE I4 of section 8. The 
area is 2,440 acres. 

The modern school in this district was built at a 
cost of $3,200 by Dallman & Hoffschmidt, Antigo con- 
tractors. A frame structure was used previously. 
Miss Anna Schultz was the teacher in 1921-22. 

There are no cheese factories, churches or cemeteries 
in this district. Near Springbrook a gravel pit is lo- 
cated and it is from this pit that much of the gravel 
used on Langlade County highways has been secured. 

Highways No. 64 and 39 either penetrate the dis- 
trict or are on its border. The district is situated in 
the north central part of Antigo township, just north 
of the city of Antigo. 

The farms are some of the most up-to-date in the 
county. 

Mrs. M. Jamieson, Mrs. D. J. Murphy, and Mrs. W. 

C. Krier, were 1921-22 members of the district Board 
of Education. The school is situated on the SE Y^ of 
the SE I4 of section 17. 

DISTRICT NO. 2. 

MAYFLOWER DISTRICT was legally es- 
tablished as District No. 2, in the north- 
western part of the township of Antigo. It 
comprises all of sections 4, 5, 6, 7 and 18 and 
the west ^2 of section 8, the NE V4 of section 8, the 
north V2 of the SE Y^ of section 8, and all of section 9, 
except the south ^'2 of the south Y2- 

Early settlers in this district were Hedly Ralph, T. 
W. Leslie, Anton Reznichek, Matt Elliott, Lee Elliott, 
John Sweet, Charles Reidl, Charles Johnson, Joseph 
Igle, Michael Bartl, Otto Steber, William Vlasczyk, 
Joseph Casey, and Jos. Wojtasiak. 

The only industries in the district with the exception 
of agricultural pursuits is a cheese factory. The Fair- 
view, located on the SE Yt of the NW I4 of section 
8. It was erected in 1916 by Charles Maloney. D. 

D. Korth, present proprietor, took possession May 7, 
1917. 

The Mayflower school is located on the NW i'4 of 
section 8 and is a splendid brick structure. Before its 
erection in 1914 by C. F. Dallman at a cost of $2,200.00 
a frame structure was used. 

This district was organized at the time district No. 1 
was created. Changes in the district boundary were 
made from June 23, 1885, when the district consisted of 
sections 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17 and 18, on the following 
dates: August 5, 1885; May 5, 1887; August 10, 1900; 
April 21, 1903; October 16, 1906; June 8, 1912. 

Highway No. 39 runs through the district. 

The 1921-22 board consisted of D. D. Korth, Clerk; 
John Sweet, Treasurer and Charles Johnson, Director. 



DISTRICT NO. 3. 

BOULDER HILL DISTRICT. District No. 3, 
which is known as Boulder Hill district because of the 
typography of the vicinity in which the district school 
is located, was organized about 1882. Langlade Coun- 
ty was not subdivided into school districts, however, 
until later when the school district system was adopt- 
ed by the electorate. 

June 23, 1885, this district consisted of the south V2 
of section 22, the south Y2 of section 23, the south Y2 
of section 24 and all of sections 25, 26, 27, 34, 35 and 
36. August 22, 1885, sections 25, 26, 27, 34, 35 and 
36 constituted the district. The south Y2 of sections 
22, 23 and 24 were detached then and added to dis- 
trict No. 4. (District No. 6 was created at that time.) 

On August 10, 1900, section 27 and the NW H of 
section 26 were detached from District No. 3 and add- 
ed to District No. 7. August 22, 1910, the NW 14 of 
the SW I4 of section 26 was taken from District No. 3 
and attached to District No. 7 and the SE Yi of the 
SE 1,4 of section 27 was attached to District No. 3. 

The area of the district at present is 2,720 acres or 
4 and Y sections of land. The district is situated in 
the southeast corner of Antigo township. 

Early settlers were : Michael Ford, John Ford, Mike 
Carney, James C. Maloney, R. Richards, Charles Frill, 
Frank Compton, John Monnette, Elias Tibbetts, John 
Clarke, Albert Boettcher, Fred Boettcher, John Now, 
Richard Healy, Sr., Robert Sheriff of run-away election 
fame, Joseph De Brauer, Lewilyn Richards and others. 
The first settlers cleared their cabin home spaces in 
1879. 

The first school was erected in the south central 
part of the district on section 36, the land for same be- 
ing donated by John Ford. It was a quaint log build- 
ing typical of the pioneer temples of education. Miss 
Kate Ford, now Mrs. James Maloney, was the first 
teacher. Fred Boettcher and G. A. Baker were mem- 
bers of the first school board, after the district system 
was adopted. 

Other teachers were : Clara Alton, Clara Beals, Mag- 
gie Gilroy, Clara Sackett, Nettie Burdick, Addie Hill, 
Maggie Kavanaugh, Maggie McGinley, Minnie Mor- 
ris, Florence McGuire, Bessie Chamberlain, Marie 
Driscoll, H. C. Logan, Jos. Flynn, Anna Shinners, Josie 
Edwards, Maude Burns, Bertha Moss, Maud Lillie, 
Mattie Morson, Elizabeth Young, Pearl Williams, Myr- 
tle Merrill, Margaret Healy, Clara Brockhaus, Ida 
Kitt, Mary Moss, Lula Ford, Edna Brakenyer, Pauline 
Waterman, Mattie Morson, Mildred Blood, and Ethel 
Gilmore. Average attendance at the school is thir- 
ty. 

1921-22 school officers were : William Schroeder, 
Treasurer; Thomas Ford, Director and Frank Neigen- 
find. Clerk. The original log school was replaced 
years ago with a splendid frame school house, which 
has been improved frequently. 

Instead of the old tote road, Indian trail, and oxen 
carts, the settlers of the district now have splendid 
highways and excellent transportation facilities. Many 
of the prosperous settlers own automobiles making 



192 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



communication with Antigo, the county seat, very con- 
venient. The proposed route of the Soo Line (Wis- 
consin Northern) runs through section 34 in this dis- 
trict. 

WINNER GRANGE NO. 588. 

Winner Grange No. 588, Patrons of Husbandry, is 
located in this school district. This Grange was or- 
ganized at Fairview School, in District No. 7, July 
26, 1912. The Winner Grange building, however, is 
located on the southwest corner of section 34 in this 
district. The first officers were : Master — J. H. Howe; 
Overseer — H. J. Mathias; Lecturer — Mrs. W. G. Head; 
Treasurer — H. W. Green; Secretary — B. G. Stewart. 
Present officers are: Master — James Holup; Overseer 
— F. L. Seidl; Lecturer — Mrs. O. W. Johnson; Steward 
— 0. W. Johnson; Chaplain — Mrs. J. H. Howe — As- 
sistant Steward — F. A. Frederickson; Treasurer — H. 
H. Aldrich; Secretary — James Knox; Gatekeeper — Al- 
fred Boyle; Ceres — Mrs. Thomas Ford; Pomona — Mrs. 
Frank Gustavis; Flora — Mrs. Frank Seidl. 

The membership now consists of sixty, while the 
high tide of membership reached 118. 

The present quarters were erected in 1915, when the 
Winner Grange Corporation was formed. Calvin Bal- 
liet, J. H. Howe, B. G. Stewart, S. E. Webb and James 
Knox were the trustees. The grange is an institu- 
tion for good in the community. 

DISTRICT NO. 4. 

SELENSKI DISTRICT— District No. 4, better 
known as the Selenski district, consists of sections 13 
and 14, all of section 15, except 120 acres in the north- 
ern part, all of section 23 and 24 and the north ^2 of 
section 22. The district is situated in the east cen- 
tral part of Antigo township. 

June 23, 1885, it was described as follows by the 
Town Board of Supervisors: All of sections 1, 2, 3, 
10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and the N Vz of sections 22, 23 
and 24. On September 22, 1885, sections 1, 2, 3, 10, 
11 and 12, were taken from District No. 4, and formed 
into District No. 6. (Neff Switch District.) District 
No. 4 then became all that territory in Antigo township 
included in sections 13, 14, 15, 22, 23 and 24. August 
8, 1900, the S V2 of section 22 was detached from the 
district and added to Fairview District No. 7, October 
6, 1906, and again November 20, 1911, changes were 
made in the district boundary. 

Early settlers were Matt and Andrew Selenski, John 
Byrnes, Patrick Byrnes, D. W. Olan, and David Lucht. 

In 1885 (two terms of school were held — spring and 
fall) the original school house was erected. It was a 
small frame structure, capable of caring for the educa- 
tion of the pioneer school children. Clarence E. Al- 
ton taught the fall term when the new school opened. 
The first school was located on the NE I4 of the NE 
V4 of section 14, now farmed by Ben Joyce. The 
school was moved to the present school site, the SE 
Vi of the SE 14 of section 14 (W. H. Wall farm) in 



the fall of 1885. The first school board consisted of 
A. 0. D. Kelly, Clerk; John Byrne, Treasurer; Dyer W. 
Olen — Director. In 1914 a new school was erected of 
brick. Miss Katherine Byrne was the first teacher in 
the new school. School officers then were : A. Wild- 
man, P. Schramke, and Steve Wildman, Treasurer, 
Director and Clerk respectively. 

Pioneer teachers were : Elizabeth Young, Mattie 
Beedle, R. Baxter, Mary McGuire, Clara Mire. The 
school is located on highway No. 64. 

The district has made a remarkable growth during 
less than a half century. It has changed from a dense 
wild region to one of the most productive sections of 
Upper Wisconsin. New settlers continue to come in- 
to the district and improvements are many. 

THE TOWN HALL. 

Antigo township hall, where all of the historic gath- 
erings of many years have been held, is located in this 
district on the NW I4 of the NW I4 of section 22. The 
town hall was erected in June, 1889. The town board 
advertised for bids to furnish material and build the 
hall and they were opened May 27, 1889. The suc- 
cessful bid was that of Frank Borth, early settler. Oth- 
er bidders were: J. L. Case, Gray & Ings, B. J. Daugh- 
erty, J. A. Sanders, Louis Krueger and Thos. Brad- 
bough. 

The first meeting was held in the town hall, June 22, 
1889. Those present were : Chairman E. Winch, Rich- 
ard Healy, Sr. and Jos. Shipold. The same hall is 
still used. It has a stone foundation. 



DISTRICT NO. 5. 

THE CHAMBERLAIN DISTRICT, legally es- 
tablished as District No. 5 was created when Antigo 
township was unknown and when Springbrook town- 
ship was a part of Shawano County. This was forty- 
two years ago in 1880. March 28, 1885, sections 28, 
29 and 30, were taken from District No. 1 (Pioneer 
District) and attached to District No. 5. This change 
made the district one of the largest, consisting of six 
sections, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 and 33. It did not remain 
long in that status however. On May 30, 1885, all of 
section 29 and the NW I4 of section 30 were taken 
from District No. 5 and attached to District No. 1. Sec- 
tion 29 and the east half of section 30 were then the 
city of Antigo (established by act of the State Legisla- 
ture.) This left the district comprising sections 28, 
31, 32, 33 and the SW V4 of section 30. 

On August 15, 1885, section No. 28 and the west V2 
of section No. 30 were detached from the district and 
added to the school district of the city of Antigo. This 
cut the district down to its original area, three sections, 
31, 32 and 33. On May 5, 1887, the W Vg of section 
30, and all of section 28, were detached from the city 
of Antigo and placed in District No. 5. This action 
was because of illegal attachment of the same terri- 
tory to the city of Antigo in 1885. S. W. Chamber- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



193 



lain and Charles Gowan were then Treasurer and Clerk 
of District No. 5. 

November 17, 1890, District No. 5 consisted of sec- 
tions 28, 23, the south ^2 of section 32, the south ^ 2 of 
section 31 and the SE 14 of the NE I4 of section 31 
(Weed's mill site.) November 10, 1900, section 28 
was taken from this district and attached to District 
No. 7, known as Fairview District. The last boundary 
change in District No. 5 was made in 1912. 

This district now comprises sections 33, the south 14 
of 32, the south % of section 31 and the SE I/4 of the 
NE I4 of section 31. 

THE EARLY SETTLERS. 

Energetic and thrifty settlers came into this dis- 
trict in 1878 and 1879 from Waupaca, Brown, Mara- 
thon and Outagamie Counties. John Cherf, J. Pras- 
til, James Quinn, Charles Gowan, S. W. Chamberlain, 
F. Heller, John Knox, Alex McCloud and E. Hubbard 
were early settlers in the original district. John Cherf, 
first settled in Antigo on lot 26, block 45 of the city of 
Antigo, SE corner of Fifth Avenue and Superior Street. 
He erected a log cabin there and after a short while 
moved to his present home in this district. 

The country about was then a pine area, roads were 
not to be found, only the Indian trail abounding. The 
earlier settlers found it necessary to come into this 
wilderness by oxen from Hogarty (a place between 
Wausau and Eland), then but a small trading post for 
transients and Indians. The journey was tedious and 
long. It was necessary for the new immigrants to load 
the rear of the rough wagon with their household uten- 
sils, what little they brought with them. 

These hardy pioneers were ever mindful of the value 
of proper education of the rising generation. Great 
precaution was taken that the rudiment of education 
should be accorded the children. Accordingly a one- 
room log school was erected on section 31 (south Vg) 
on the banks of Springbrook. Here the children, 
ranging from tiny tots to growing ladies and men, la- 
bored studiously. The school was small, the teacher, 
while intelligent, had much to cope with. The facili 
ties of the modern school were not then dreamed of. 
Books, and maps were few. Nevertheless the three 
R's were well absorbed by the children, many of whom 
are today prominent in Langlade County affairs. First 
school officers were: Charles Gowan, E. Hubbard and 
Alex McCloud, Clerk, Director and Treasurer respec- 
tively. The old log structure, ever a faithful servant, 
was used for years. In 1908 an acre of ground was 
donated to the district by S. W. Chamberlain, a fine 
brick school was erected. The school is located on 
the north central part of the S V2 of section 32. This 
school replaced a frame structure used for years. The 
contract was let to George Schoblasky. The present 
school is ideally situated and is a credit to the resi- 
dents. It is well equipped and modern. 

EARLY INDUSTRIES. 

Lumbering was an industry in the district in pioneer 
life. The great tracts of pine succumbed to the at- 



tack of the army of lumbermen and settlers. The first 
were desirous of the pine for profit and the latter 
wished space in the forest on which to erect their little 
homes. 

The J. H. Weed saw mill, shingle mill and planing 
mill were located in this district. The reader can find 
a full account of this industry in the chapter on "In- 
dustries 1873-1923." 

AGRICULTURE— MERRIMAC SILT LOAM. 

The principal occupation of the residents is agricul- 
ture. The soil of the district is adapted to oats, po- 
tatoes, corn, hay, clover, rye, barley and wheat and 
other products. The Merrimac silt loam found in this 
district is a part of a vast tract of this soil found in 
southwestern Langlade County. Stratified sand and 
gravel below the surface in this vicinity are known to 
extend to a depth of 58 feet. 

INDIANS THERE. 

When the first log cabin was rolled up by John Cherf 
a band of Indians, presumably Chippewas, had tem- 
porary camping headquarters in the district. They mov- 
ed northward later. 

DAIRYING— STOCK. 

Dairying and pure bred cattle raising are important 
factors in the district. A cheese factory owned by 
A. A. Miller, operated in the district for a number of 
years until 1921, when it burned. 

ELMWOOD CEMETERY. 

Elmwood Cemetery owned by the city of Antigo 
since 1906 is situated in the southwest part of section 
33. 

KASSON'S PARK. 

W. K. Kasson has a fine park, dance hall and cabaret 
in this district. He purchased the property, which is 
located in the SW V4 of section 32 from George Otto- 
man in 1916. 

HIGHWAYS. 

Highway No. 39, running north and south, passes 
through the district. The county trunk line roads are 
in excellent condition. 

SCHOOL OFFICERS— TEACHERS. 

The 1922-23 officers were: Paul Thompson, Director; 
F. Strong, Treasurer; Joseph Fischer, Clerk. Early 
teachers were : Nettie Palmiter, W. Chamberlain, Lot- 
tie Nixon, V. McMullen, Mae Raymond, Zura Fowler. 
Miss Shanks was teacher in the district school in 1921- 
22. The first teacher received $25 per month for a 
six months' term of school. 



194 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



TAXABLE AREA. 

Exclusive of Elmwood Cemetery, 80 acres, there are 
1,200 acres of taxable land within the district. 

DISTRICT NO. 6. 

NEFF SWITCH DISTRICT. August 22, 1885, the 
Board of Supervisors of Antigo township met pur- 
suant to a notice issued previously at the town hall 
for the purpose of altering districts and making specific 
changes in school district boundaries. It was at this 
meeting that District No. 6 was organized. 

The supervisors detached sections 1, 2, 3, 10, 11 and 
12 from District No. 4, "Selenski District," and or- 
ganized District No. 6, known since as the Neff Switch 
District. November 20, 1911, 35.47 acres were de- 
tached from District No. 4 and added to District No. 
6. 

In 1884, Edgar Neff, late of Antigo, with Matt Mil- 
ler of Green Bay erected a saw mill on section 2. Be- 
cause of this industry there, the only saw mill that has 
ever been in the district, the school was named to com- 
memorate the event. The mill burned on June 28, 
1886. It was started by Matt Miller and J. Wright. 
Mr. Neff purchased their interests. 

There have been no important changes in the dis- 
trict boundary since its organization. Before its or- 
ganization the territory of the district was a part of 
District No. 4, of which it was a part when that dis- 
trict was formed. The area of the district is 216 
square miles or 3,840 acres of land, with approximately 
39 farms. 

Early settlers into this district were : A. 0. D. Kelly, 
who was prominent in early Antigo township affairs, 
Dan O'Brien, Jos. Kramer, Chas. Roberts, Joel Quims- 
by, George Young, W. Skinner, Joseph Jecka, John 
Evans, and Charles Theisen. 

FIRST CHEESE FACTORY. 

The first cheese factory in the district was erected 
twenty-two years ago (1900) by Edward Hruska. He 
operated it for five years and sold to Edward Buchen, 
who sold to Fred Buss. Mr. Buss retained the factory 
until 1921, when he sold to Herman Genskow. Dis- 
trict farmers are patrons of this institution. Anton 
Peroutka purchased the James Mundl hall situated in 
the NE \i of the SE 1/4 of section 11, August 11, 1917. 
He uses a section of his building for a meat market, 
which he operates during the summer months. 

When the Selenski District or District No. 4 was 
severed from the territory of this district the school 
building was moved to a location south of Neff Switch 
District. A new school for the settlers was 

therefore necessary. Accordingly a frame 

building was erected on the same location 
where the present splendid school is located. It 
was moved from the original location to a position back 
somewhat from the highway. Extensive improve- 
ments were made in 1903, 1909, 1914, and since vari- 



ous improvements have been made at this school. The 
year 1903 it was brick veneered. 

Early teachers were : Miss Bess Chamberlain, Ida 
ToUefson, Miss Doolittle, John Crondill and Mary 
O'Connor. Later teachers were: Alvina Shipek, Jen- 
nie Gibson, Ella Palm, Ella Randall, Anna Weix, Hazel 
Cunningham and Clara Lukas. 

Neff Switch District has some of the oldest Langlade 
County farms within its borders. 

Officers of the first school were: A. 0. D. Kelly, Jos. 
Kramer and T. J. Roberts. 

TRANSPORTATION. 

The district is equipped with fine highway facili- 
ties. Most of the progressive farmers own automo- 
biles making it very convenient to shop in Antigo. 
The Chicago & Northwestern Railroad branch line to 
Bryant and Elton and White Lake, passes through 
section 11 of this district. 

The office of the town clerk, Charles Theisen, is on 
section 12 of this district. 

DISTRICT NO. 7. 

FAIRVIEW DISTRICT is situated in the south cen- 
tral section of Antigo township. It was organized at 
a meeting of the Antigo township board, August 8, 
1900. Officers of districts No. 1, 3, 4 and 5 were 
present. 

District No. 7 consists of the south Vg of section 21, 
the south ^2 of section 22 (these two ^'2 sections were 
detached from Districts 1 and 4 respectively), all of 
section 27, 28 and the NW I4 of section 26. Section 

27 previously was a part of District No. 3 and section 

28 was detached from District No. 5. 

The territory embracing the 7th district to be or- 
ganized in Antigo township consists of 2,080 acres. 

Pioneer settlers in this district were : William Bren- 
necke, Henry Brennecke and Christopher Brennecke. 
A glance over the officers of Antigo township since 
1880 will show that these three men have been honor- 
ed with various offices of public confidence and trust 
during their residence in the district. They were not 
alone in settling this district, soon to be one of the 
finest agricultural regions in Wisconsin. William 
Oldenberg and H. P. Ings were also early settlers. 

INDUSTRIES. 

In 1900, Edward Buchen came to Langlade County 
from Sheboygan County. The following year he 
erected a cheese factory in this district on the NE I4 
of section 27. Here he operated his factory until 1905 
when he sold to Albert Eserloth of Glen Beulah, Wis. 
The latter conducted the factory until 1907 when it 
was purchased by P. G. Schaefer of Marshfield. In 
the fall of 1908, J. H. Howe purchased the institution 
from P. G. Schaefer and conducted it until April, 1921, 
when he sold to Otto Klessig. Earl Klessig manages 
the factory, which has been named the Klessig Dairy. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



195 



CHAPTER XXXVIII. 
Elcho Townships No. 34, R. 10-11 E. 

U. S. Government Survey in 1859 — Lakes and Streams — The Timber Belt — Village of Elcho — The 
Petition for Elcho — Original Area of New Township — The First Election — Officers of Elcho, 
1887-1923 — District No. 2 — Post Lake, Sunset, Kosciousko Districts — Elcho District— Solberg's 
Store — Frost Veneer Co. — Jones Lumber Co. — Fish & Mullen — The Charles W. Fish Industries 
— Elcho's Progress — Elcho Business Places — Elcho Voters in 1888 — A Depot, 1889 — Schools — 
Churches — Miscellaneous. 



ELCHO TOWNSHIP. 

Elcho township comprises two congressional town- 
ships numbered 34 of Ranges 10 and 11 East. It is 
situated in the northwestern part of Langlade County 
and is the farthest township north occupying two town- 
ships in different ranges in the county. Elcho town- 
ship is bounded on the north by Oneida County, on the 
south by Upham township, on the east by North Ains- 
worth township and on the west by North Summit 
township. 

East Elcho township survey was commenced July 18, 
1859 and was completed July 24, 1859 by William E. 
Daugherty of the United States Survey. West Elcho 
township was surveyed six years later by James L. 
Nowlin. He started the survey July 8, 1865 and end- 
ed it July 20, 1865. 

East Elcho township has but few swamps, those 
found being very small in area. The timber west of 
Post Lake and the Wolf river originally was very 
heavy and extensive tracts of the best quality of white 
pine were cut years ago. The soil of this township is 
good and well adapted to agricultural purposes. Glou- 
cester sandy loam is found in sections 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 16, 
17, 21 and 22. Plainfield sand is found in an exten- 
sive area in sections 11, 12, 13 and 14. Gloucester 
fine sandy loam is found in sections 1, 2, 4, 5, 17, 18, 
19, 27, 28, 29, 34 and 35, while Gloucester sand is the 
principal soil in sections 3, 9, 10, 14, 15, 23, 24, 25 and 
26. Sections 6, 7, 8, 22, 25, 26, 32, 33, 35 and 36, all 
contain some Gloucester silt loam. Peat is found in 
sections 5, 6, 8, 9, 16, 22, 25, 26, 29, 32 and 33. Post 
Lake, Loon Lake, Mud Lake, and Bass Lake are the 
principal bodies of water. The Hunting and Wolf 
rivers both run through sections in the township. The 
Hunting river flows through sections 19, 30, 31, 32 
and 33 and the Wolf river through sections 11, 13, 14, 
24 and 25. 

West Elcho township was the last Langlade County 
civil division to be surveyed by the United States gov- 
ernment. The survey required twelve days. 

The thriving village of Elcho, second largest com- 
munity in Langlade County, is located in this town- 
ship in section 23. The principal lakes are Enter- 
prise, summer resort of note, located in sections 3, 4, 
9 and 10, Duck Lake in section 33 and Elcho Lake in 
section 12, north of the village of Elcho and west of 
Highway No. 39. Gloucester silt loam is found in 



sections 1, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 and 22; Gloucester 
stony sand in sections 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 29, 
30, 31, 32 and 26; Gloucester fine sandy loam in sec- 
tions 14, 15, 21, 22, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 33, 34, and 35 and 
Peat in sections 5, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, 21, 23, 24, 33 
and 35. The peat is not in one continuous tract. The 
main track of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad 
Company runs through sections 13, 24, 25, 35 and 36 of 
West Elcho. 

THE PETITION FOR ELCHO. 

November 22, 1886, twenty-nine citizens of Summit 
Lake and Neva townships petitioned the county board 
for a division of these two townships and the creation 
of a new township to be known as Elcho. The peti- 
tioners were Byron E. Cole, Clarence H. Graves, 
Fayette Cole, John Schuh, F. Teske, N. G. Weaver, 
N. F. Weaver, Charles Races, Henry Ebner, Anton 
Follstad, Sigvart Solberg, Herman N. Idler, Ole K. 
Hedal, Hans Hanson, John Nelson, Charles F. Graves, 
F. L. Adams, Frank Cole, Thorvald Solberg, R. W. 
Cave, Lewis R. Lee, Christ Kunos, Ludwig Schla- 
done, Anton Schuh, George H. Tappan, John W. 
Gormley, George Lorenz, Herman Wolfgram, and A. 
Seidenspinning, Supt. of the Frost Veneer Works, 
Elcho, Wis. 

December 27, 1886, the petition was read to the 
county solons, who laid it upon the table on motion 
of Ed Daskam. 

ORIGINAL AREA OF NEW TOWNSHIP. 
The ordinance creating Elcho township passed Feb- 
ruary 23, 1887. It detached township 34 of Ranges 
9 and 10 East from Summit township and township 
34 of Range 11 East from Neva township. Thus the 
original area of this township was 108 square miles. 

DETACHMENT OF PARRISH. 

Elcho township consisted of three congressional 
townships until November 13, 1889, when township 34 
of Range 9 East was detached from Elcho and form- 
ed into Parrish township. This left Elcho township, 
two congressional townships 34 of Ranges 10 and 11 
East. 

THE FIRST ELECTION. 

The first township meeting was held at- the store of 
Thorvald Solberg in the village of Elcho, April 5, 



196 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



1887. T. Solberg, N. G. Weaver and John Nelson were 
the first inspectors of election. R. W. Cave was elect- 
ed first Town Chairman; Charles F. Graves, first 
Town Clerk; J. N. Nelson and Frank Lee, first Super- 
visors, and N. Weaver, G. I. Tappan and Christ Call- 
sen, first Justices. N. G. Weaver, J. W. Gormandy and 

B. E. Cole were the first Assessors of the township. 

OFFICERS OF ELCHO TOWNSHIP, 1887-1923. 
CHAIRMEN. 

R. W. Cave, 1887-88; B. E. Cole, 1888-89; J. N. 
Nelson, 1889-92; Anton FoUstad, 1892-95; N. G. 
Weaver, 1895-96; R. W. Cave, 1896-99; N. G. Weaver, 
1899-1900; A. B. Goodrick, 1900-01; R. W. Cave, 1901- 
02; H. C. Stewart, 1902-04; A. B. Goodrick, 1904-05; 
Charles Beard, 1905-11; Charles Olson, 1911-12; 
Charles Beard, 1912-13; Charles Olson, 1913-16; 
Frank J. Olmsted, 1916-23. 

CLERKS. 

Charles F. Graves, 1887-88; R. W. Cave, 1888-95; 
Charles Beard, 1895-96; Anton FoUstad, 1896-1901; 
Charles Beard, 1901-05; Anton FoUstad, 1905-09; Wil- 
liam J. Litzen, 1909-10; Anton FoUstad, 1910-13; 
George P. Rothenberger, 1913-20; Jesse L. Olmsted, 
1920-23. 

TREASURERS. 

Anton Follstad, 1887; E. S. Brooks, 1887-88; T. 
Solberg, 1888-90; Anton Follstad, 1890-93; Anton 
Schuh, 1893-94; L. K. Lee, 1894-09; John Singer, 
1909-13, R. M. Franks, 1913-16; John N. Nelson, 1916- 
18; Charles Beard, 1918-23. 

SUPERVISORS. 

Frank Lee, J. N. Nelson, 1887-88; Anton Follstad, C. 
Callsen, 1888-89; N. G. Weaver, F. A. Cole, 1889-90; 
N. Weaver, G. A. Seigusmund, 1890-91; C. Madson, 
Otto W. Ecke, 1891-92; C. Madson, J. N. Nelson, 
1892-93; N. G. Weaver, A. C. Sindberg, 1893-94; J. 
N. Nelson, John Drew, 1894-95; George Brunette, Wil- 
liam Sallman, 1895-96; Knute Anderson, John Olm- 
sted, 1896-97; Knute Anderson, J. Olmsted, 1897- 
98; George Brunette, Knute Anderson, 1898-99; Otto 
Sallman, John Monroe, 1899-1900; John Davelin, John 
Schuh, 1900-01; John Wilson, Math. Litzen, 1901-02; 
John Wilson, Anton Schuh, 1902-03; George Olmsted, 
J. M. Wilson, 1903-04; Knute Anderson, John Wilson, 
1904-05; John Monroe, Frank Schuh, 1905-07; Anton 
Schuh, John Monroe, 1907-08; John Wilson, Gust 
Wallin, 1908-10; George Brunette, Fred Noetzelman, 
1910-11; George Rothenberger, George Brunette, 1911- 
12; John Wilson, Fred Noetzelman, 1912-13; Roy 
Burton, Fred Noetzelman, 1913-15; Adolph Winnega, 
R. M. Burton, 1915-18; Adolph Winnega, John Singer, 
1918-19; Adolph Winnega, W. J. Litzen, 1919-23. 

ASSESSORS. 

N. G. Weaver. 1887-88; J. W. Gormanley, 1887-90; 

C. W. Maney, 1890-91; J. W. Gormley, 1891-92; L. K. 
Lee. 1892-93; N. F. Weaver. 1893-94; L. K. Lee, S. 



Solberg, 1894-95; H. C. Stewart, 1895-98; Charles 
Beard, 1898-99; C. C. Gindberg, 1900-01; Charles Pal- 
mer, 1901-02; William Brandner, 1903-04; N. G. Weav- 
er, 1904-05; Charles Anderson, 1905-06; Charles Ol- 
son, 1906-07; N. G. Weaver, 1907-08; Charles Olson. 
1908-09; N. G. Weaver. 1909-12; John Schuh, 1912- 
13; Charles Palmer, 1913-23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

N. F. Weaver, G. A. Tappan, D. Callsen, Charles 
F. Graves, 1887-88; D. Callsen, A. Schuh, William 
Berger, 1888-89; Leo Harrington, N. F. Weaver, 1889- 
90; W. D. Badger, 1892-93; N. F. Weaver, 1892-94; 
Anton Schuh, 1892-93; J. N. Nelson, 1893-95; J. Swan- 
son, 1893-94; J. N. Nelson. 1894-97; P. Allber. 1894- 
96; John Olmsted. 1895-97; P. Allber. 1895-97; John 
Nelson. Peter Higgins. 1896-97; H. J. Olmsted. 
1896-98; Peter Higgins. John Monroe. 1898-99; J. N. 
Nelson. N. R. Harmon, 1900-01; John Monroe, Peter 
Higgins, L. Habersoat, 1901-02; John Monroe, Robert 
Mathison, 1903-04; H. C. Stewart, A. C. Sinberg, 
1904-05; John Monroe, H. G. Weaver, 1905-06; John 
Monroe, William Litzen, 1906-07; J. Monroe, J. N. 
Nelson, J. Wilson. 1907-08; J. N. Nelson. Henry Pet- 
ers, 1908-09; J. N. Nelson, Frank Marks, 1909-10; J. 
N. Nelson, John Wilson, 1910-11; J. N. Nelson, Joseph 
C. Dubois, 1911-12; C. W. Maney. J. N. Nelson. 1912- 
13; Henry Peters, Even Stevens. 1913-14; Henry 
Peters, 0. A. Fish, 1916-17; Henry Peters, R. G. Ger- 
manson, 1917-18; John Dubois, R. G. Germanson, 
1918-19; R. G. Germanson, 1919-20; J. E. Steel, 1920- 
21; T. Youngbauer, 1921-22; R. G. Germanson, 1922- 
24; J. Aird, 1922-23. 

CONSTABLES. 

L. A. Adams, 1887-88; L. K. Lee, H. Wolfgram. E. 
Rasbach, 1888-89; Otto W. Ecke, 1889-90; H. C. 
Buhse, N. F. Weaver, J. Follstad, 1890-91; George 
Behling, 1891-92; Charles Daga, H. Anderson, 1892- 
93; William Sallman, Martin Oleson, 1893-94; J. N. 
Nelson, N. F. Weaver. 1894-95; Oscar TuUberg. 1895- 
96; Gus Wallin. George Brunette, 1896-97; George 
Olmstead, George King, 1898-99; Charles Thompson, 
George King, 1900-01 ; H. C. Stewart, Charles Thomp- 
son. 1901-02; Frank Schuh. Sim Jones, 1903-05; Otto 
Sallman. 1904-05; Charles Behrend, George Olm- 
sted, 1905-06; Sim Jones, Robert Mathison, 1906-07; 
N. F. Weaver, Sim Jones, 1907-08; C. W. Maney, 
Frank Schuh, 1908-09; Sim Jones, John Schuh, 1909- 
10; Oscar Jordon, Thomas Litzen, 1910-11; J. N. Nel- 
son, A. Vanduser, 1911-12; Oscar Jordon, Charles Tur- 
ney. 1912-13; J. N. Nelson. Adolph Winnega, 1913-14; 
Oscar Jordon, Adolph Winnega. 1914-15; Oscar Jor- 
don. George McNinch, 1915-16; Sim Jones, Oscar Jor- 
don, 1916-17; Earl Weaver, William Daga, 1917-18; 
Archie Ball, Oscar Jordon, 1918-19; A. Ball. G. Man- 
del. 1919-10; T. Litzen. G. Beard, 1920-21; Mrs. Jul- 
ius Follstad. A. Ball, 1921-22; Louis Boettcher, Ed Du- 
quette, 1922-23. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



197 



DISTRICT NO. 1. 

ELCHO DISTRICT. This district includes all of 
township 34 North, of Range 10 East and some 
of township 34, Range 11 East. The western part of 
the district is sparsely settled. The village of Elcho, 
second largest community in the county, is located in 
the northeast corner of section 13. 

The village of Elcho was surveyed and platted by B. 
F. Dorr, first City Engineer of Antigo, and pioneer 
county surveyor. This survey was made in 1887, be- 
ing recorded March 21, 1887. Streets were named 
Dorr, Elmo, Riordan, Rumele, Echo, Elk and Owono. 
Dorr's addition to the village was recorded February 
20, 1904. 

Before the Frost Veneer Seating Company moved 
their plant from Elmhurst, Rolling township to the 
present site of Elcho village in 1887, Elcho had but 
few settlers. Col. Byron Cole and William Cole, 
came from Colebrook, Waushara County, In 1885 and 
erected log cabins in the district, south of the village 
plat. John Nelson settled in the district about the 
same time. Other early settlers were : Richard W. 



La Fayette Weaver, Harry Stewart, Frank McCor- 
mick, and the Frost Veneer Seating Co., all conduct- 
ed boarding houses in the village primarily to serve 
the transient laborer. 

The Muskie Inn, located in the village on highway 
No. 39, was erected by Charles W. Fish. It has been 
the scene of many notable banquets and convention 
meetings. Wm. Litzen manages the Inn for Mr. Fish. 

The Frost Veneer Seating Company erected the first 
manufacturing plant in Elcho in 1887. They operated 
until 1893, when the plant was moved to Antigo. The 
company located on Otter Lake, now known as Elcho 
Lake. The Jones Lumber Company of Manitowoc 
purchased the site and property of the Frost Veneer 
Seating Company in 1893 and erected a saw mill, the 
first Elcho saw mill. Charles W. Fish and Thomas 
Mullen, a traveling salesman, organized a $20,000 con- 
cern known as Fish & Mullen. They operated a plan- 
ing and saw mill. The planing mill burned, was re- 
built, and shortly afterwards the saw mill burned. This 
left the concern with a planing mill and a saw mill site. 
At this time C. W. Fish purchased the interest of oth- 
ers in the business, but not until 1910, was the saw 




THE ELCHO JHGH SCHOOL 

Erected in in21. J. W. Bluett was the first principal of this school. Hon. 

Arthur Goodrick delivered the dedicatory address when the 

school was dedicated. 



Cave, Sigvart Solberg, Thorwald Solberg, Anton Foll- 
stad, Clarence Graves, Charles Graves, Anton Schuh, 
Charles Beard, Peter Tappan, John Gormanley, Wm. 
Brantner, and E. Youngbauer. Charles W. Fish, prom- 
inent lumberman, came to Elcho in 1895. 

Elcho's first general store was opened in 1886 by 
Thorwald Solberg, a Norwegian, who had, before then, 
lived a short time, on a homestead in Antigo township. 
This storekeeper was also the first postmaster of El- 
cho. When the Jones Lumber Company came to El- 
cho, the Solberg store was taken over by them. Sol- 
berg & Niels Anderson, first Antigo merchant, follow- 
ed the Jones Lumber Company. The Solberg & An- 
derson store was then taken over by Charles W. Fish, 
who, with the exception of an interval when it was 
sold to W. Litzen, still owns it. The original Solberg 
store was near the site of the Muskie Inn. Solberg 
first kept supplies at his home on section 12. 

The Elcho House, first hotel, was erected in 1886 by 
N. F. Weaver. It served for many years as a hotel. 
It burned in 1919. 



mill rebuilt. The rise and progress of Elcho since 
then has been interwoven with the success of the 
Charles W. Fish Lumber Company, which now ope- 
rates five mills. 

Postmasters at Elcho since 1886 have been: Thor- 
ward Solberg, Mrs. Byron Cole, Richard W. Cave, G. 
W. Jones, George Burton, Dudley Burton, R. Hanson. 
The present postoffice building was erected in 1915. 

Elcho has splendid educational facilities. The first 
frame school still exists. It was built in 1887. Ear- 
ly teachers were Mrs. R. W. Cave, Flora Wilson and 
Dora B. Benedict. The pioneer school was used un- 
til 1902, when a new school house was built in block 
14. It was a one story two room building originally 
but a second story has since been added. 

In November, 1921, a high school was added to the 
educational institutions of Elcho. Dedicatory serv- 
ices were conducted in 1921. The principal address 
was given by Hon. Arthur Goodrick, Municipal Judge 
of Langlade County. J. W. Bluett was the first H. S. 
principal. 



198 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Elcho has two churches, The Holy Family Church 
in which those of Catholic faith hold services. The 
congregation organized January 31, 1905. Organizers 
were : J. H. Wigman, Bishop J. J. Fox and Rev. Con- 
rad Saile. The Free Union Church is located in block 
8. Rev. Fred Harvey, Congregational Pastor con- 
ducts services in this edifice. Rev. J. A. Snartemoe 
of Rhinelander conducts Lutheran services in this 
church. 

There are two cemeteries — a township cemetery and 
a Catholic cemetery, both located on section 18. 

Elcho has a band of twenty-two pieces, led by Gus- 
tav Hanke. The band was organized in 1921. 

The Elcho State Bank was organized in 1912 and a 
complete account is given in Banks and Finance chap- 
ter. 

Most of the residences of Elcho were erected by the 
Charles W. Fish Lumber Company. 

Present business places are: The Charles W. Fish 
Lumber Company mills and lumber yards, Muskie 
Inn Hotel, Wm. Litzen, Manager; A. J. Car- 
nahan Boarding House, The C. W. Fish Gen- 
eral Store and Market; J. F. Steel Grocery; 
C. W. Fish Hardware Store, J. L. Olmsted, bil- 
liard hall and confectionery; The Elcho State Bank; 
Elcho Garage; and the Rothenberger Garage; a Drug 
Store, operated by R. G. Germanson, a meat market 
run by Earl Weaver and a barber shop run by Wm. 
Estabrook; Anton Thomas, shoemaker. 

Elcho physicians have been: Dr. Williams( first); 
Dr. Owen; Dr. La Coont; Dr. Seymour and Dr. J. P. 
Daily, present physician. 

The first citizens to vote in Elcho township 
were: D. Callsen, Ed. Rosfach, W. H. Hink- 
ley, J. Rutinger, B. E. Cole, George Behling, A. 
Follstad, R. W. Cave, C. Callsen, C. F. Graves, Louis 
Hansen, Otto Oleson, Ole Wesley, N. G. Weaver, 
John Konz, Moses Hinkley, J. N. Nelson, C. W. Man- 
ey, Peter Higgins, Ernest Youngbauer, C. Madsen, A. 
C. Sindberg, T. Solberg, N. F. Weaver, Anton Schuh, 
Wm. Berger, S. Solberg, Otto Walters, G. Erne, A. 
Herrman, R. Edwards, S. Aleff, Ed. Hinchley, August 
Kewrweter, H. Anderson, J. Shand, J. A. Adams, T. 
Edwards, A. K. Hadel, A. Delimater, M. Weiss, G. 
Walling, Jos. Herb, R. A. Cole, M. W. Eke, H. Ander- 
son, John Swartz, H. Klan, H. Wolfgram, H. Hrisk, C. 
Klien, H. Barr, Louie Weller, H. Oleson, R. Peterson, 
E. H. Hansen, C. Beard, L. A. Harrington, G. Wright, 
J. W. Gormaley, Julius Follstad, Frank Herman, A. 
Schwab and John Qeualman — 64 in all. 

DISTRICT NO. 2. 

District No. 2 is subdivided into three divisions 
with schools at Post Lake, the Sunset subdistrict and 
the Kosciousko (Polish) settlement. The Post Lake 
region is the most densely settled and the oldest in 
point of habitation by white settlers. Sunset subdis- 
trict is situated nearer to the village of Elcho than the 
other two. It is well settled. The Kosciousko dis- 
trict has been settled since 1897. 

District No. 2 was organized in 1894. From 1887, 
when Elcho township was organized, to 1895, the 
schools were conducted under the township system. 
This system was then continued from 1895 to 1912. 



Post Lake is one of the most picturesque places in 
Wisconsin. The beautiful lake, stretching north into 
Oneida County from the center of section 23 of East 
Elcho township, affords excellent boating and fishing 
for the sportsman and tourist. Its shore line is dotted 
with the cottages of men and women, who, tired of the 
constant and incessant grind of the commercial whirl, 
come here in "The Heart of the Whispering Pines" to 
hold communion, so to speak, with God and His handi- 
craft. The Narrows are bridged at section 11 by one 
of the best iron bridges in the county. 

But Post Lake held an attraction for more than 
the modern tourist. Long before the first pine was 
cut in East Elcho township, bands of Menominee and 
Chippewa Indians camped on the shores of Post Lake. 
At the narrows of Post Lake on the farm of Charles 
Thompson, section 11, Charles Thompson dug up the 
skeleton of a man, who was buried in a sitting posi- 
tion. Harry Graves once found on the same site a 
signet ring bearing the insignia "I. H. S." and also 
of a tiny cross. David Edict identified it as a Jesuit 
Missionary ring, thus proving that this was once the 
trading post of Indians and French missionaries, who 
probably travelled in small bateau down the Wolf 
river, portaging the rapids and impassable places. 

This was once a strategical point. Before the 
Charles Thompson farm was cleared and plowed the 
walls of a general defense works, broken and crum- 
bled by time and disintegration, were clearly discern- 
ible. David Edick, who has been in this region for 
a half century, was one of the first to observe this de- 
fense work. This point commanded both arms of 
Post Lake and the Wolf river as well. The ruins of 
the old trading post on the east bank of Post Lake 
are still visible. The trading post is probably one 
hundred years old. A large birch tree has grown up 
in the ruins. Early settlers at Post Lake can recall 
when the east bank of Post Lake was dotted with the 
wigwams of the red men. It was among these tribes 
that the pioneer fur traders and supply merchants of 
pioneer days lived. Many married squaws who prov- 
ed to be thirfty and industrious housewives. 

The first school at Post Lake was a log building on 
section 10, erected by C. W. Maney. A second log 
building was erected shortly after the first one by Knute 
Anderson. This was used until the frame school was 
built on section 11. Early teachers were Loretta Bish- 
op, Tillie Schultze, May Cornish, Anna Beard, May 
Taylor. Others were Ada Jersey, Lucy Miller, Margaret 
Deleglise, Margaret Moss, Otelia Person, Madge Hoyt, 
Edna Dumjohn, and Florence Helgerson. Pioneer 
school children in the Post Lake school were Isabell, 
Minnie, Nellie, Grace, Gilbert and Jennie Maney and 
Nellie and William Dagl. 

From 1900 to 1901 Frank Wagner operated a saw- 
mill on section 11. Charles Thompson built a saw- 
mill on section 11 in 1903 and operated it until April 
17, 1905, when it burned down. John Monroe had a 
sawmill on section 12 for one year. George McNinch, 
who operated a sawmill on section 14, sold it to Cran- 
don people in 1922. 

In 1900 Thomas Bradnock erected a dam on lot 3 
on the Wolf River at the outlet of Post Lake. 

The Post Lake postoffice was opened in 1902. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



199 



Harry Harmon was the first Postmaster. He was suc- 
ceeded by Sim Jones. In 1903 Mrs. Charles Thomp- 
son was appointed Postmistress. She retained the of- 
fice until 1913, when the office was abandoned. The 
rural free delivery system has been extended to this 
district from Pelican Lake. The pioneer settlers ob- 
tained mail from Elcho and those who settled in this vi- 
cinity before Elcho was established, from Lily, (New) 
on the old Military Road. 

The first store in this vicinity was erected in 1922 on 
section 11 by E. G. Benfield, who came from Chicago, 
111. 

The Kosciousko or Polish District is situated south 
and west of Post Lake. The first settlers were Michael 
Mickezkak, who homesteaded on section 21 in 1897. 
The second settler was Valentine Dzewski, who came 
from Milwaukee in 1900 and located on section 21. 

The school is located in the northern part of sec- 
tion 21, not far from the main highway from Post Lake 
to Elcho. It was erected by the Jones Lumber Com- 
pany, once established at Elcho. The children at- 
tended school at Post Lake before this frame building 
was erected. There are about ten settlers in this re- 
gion. The land is hilly and rolling. The school is in 
charge of the officials of District No. 2. Marine Ja- 
vorsky was the 1921-22 teacher. The school may be 
abandoned in this subdistrict. 

SYSTEM OF SCHOOL GOVERNMENT. 

May 31, 1912, the Elcho township officials met at 
the town hall to change the system of school govern- 
ment from township to the district system. The no- 
tices for the meeting were posted at prominent places 
in the township May 21, 1912. Two school districts 
were formed. District No. 1 consists of all of Town- 
ship 34, Range 10 East, and sections 6, 7, 18, 19, 30 
and 31 of Township 34, Range 11 East. District No. 
2 consists of sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 
15, 16, 17, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33, 
34, 35 and 36 of Township 34, Range 11 East. 

VALUATION OF PROPERTY. 

The valuation of real estate and personal property in 



the two school districts at the time of the change to 
the district system was: District No. 1, $396,787.00; 
District No. 2, $227,272.00. Assessed value of Elcho 
township, $624,059.00. The township indebtedness 
was apportioned as follows: District No. 1, $1,590.00; 
District No. 2, $910.00; Total, $2,£C0.C0. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

On October 7, 1893, District No. 3 was set off after 
the township board had voted favorably on taking ter- 
ritory from District No. 1 and No. 2. The first meet- 
ing was held at the home of C. W. Maney on October 
18, 1893. 

FINAL SETTLEMENT. 

Final settlement was made April 1, 1886, between 
Summit and Elcho township officers. The Elcho of- 
ficials went on record December 6, 1887, favoring an 
immediate payment of their township's proportion of 
money due Lincoln County from the old original Ack- 
ley township, of which Elcho township (as it then 
existed) was once a part, as soon as the settlement 
was made. 

NEW SCHOOL IN 1902. 

In 1902 the people of Elcho erected a new school 
house. The first township official meeting in the old 
school house was held on June 17, 1902. 

NEW BRIDGE ACROSS NARROWS. 

The Wisconsin Bridge & Construction Company of 
Milwaukee built an iron bridge across the narrows of 
Post Lake in 1902. The span of the bridge is 100 
feet. The bridge was completed before December 1, 
1902, at a cost of $2,490. The wooden bridge, pre- 
viously used, was erected in December, 1895, by Gust 
Schmege. It was completed in February, 1896, at a 
cost of $500. J. W. Parsons and Walter Dorczeski, 
County Commissioners, looked after the bridge during 
process of construction. 




200 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XXXIX. 
Elton Townships 31, 32, 33 N. R. 14 E., and 12 Sections T. 31, R. 15 E. 

Largest Civil Division — Area — Organization — Soil — Lakes — Wolf River — First Town Meeting — 
First Town Board — Langlade Township Fighting Elton Township in 1887 — S. A. Taylor Wanted 
Keeps Township Created — Township Officers — 1887-1923 — White Lake Village — Yawkey-Bis- 
sell Lumber Company — Van Ostrand in 1907 — Wolf River District — Historic Langlade Village 
— Dobbston, Now Markton, Oldest of Settlemente in Langlade County — Hollister District — Nine 
Mile Creek. 



Elton township is the largest civil division in Lang- 
lade County, containing three and a third congression- 
al townships or 120 square miles. It is also the most 
eastern township in the county. Elton township is 
bounded on the east by Armstrong and Wheeler town- 
ships, Octonto County, on the west by Langlade and 
Evergreen townships, Langlade County, on the north 
by Wabeno township, Forest County, and on the south 
by the northern boundary of the Menominee Indian 
reservation. This township consists of townships 31, 
32 and 33 of Range 14 East and 12 sections in town- 
ship 31 of Range 15 East. The northern townships 
are heavily timbered, containing immense tracts of 
hardwood owned by large lumbering concerns, resi- 
dents and the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Co. 

Elton Township 32 North, of Range 14 East is very 
unequal in the northwest portion. In some places in 
this part of the township it is nearly level while the 
southern and eastern parts are rolling and hilly. A 
range of hills extends through the southern portion in 
a southwesterly direction. Much of the surf-ace has 
large protruding boulders scattered about. Originally 
this township was heavily timbered (as it is still) 
with maple, hemlock, elm and some white pine. There 
are very few swamps in this township. Those found 
were once timbered with spruce, tamarack and cedar. 
The Wolf river passes through the southwest part 
of the township in sections 30, 31 and 32. The shores 
of the lakes were thickly grown with birch and cedar. 
The waters were originally stagnant and impure and 
have not changed much through the years. The Wolf 
river varies in width from 6 to 20 links (4 to 14 feet) in 
the township. The bed of the stream is filled with 
boulders. There are rapids and falls in many places, 
making navigation impossible. This part of the river 
affords excellent power for manufacturing institutions. 
Elton township No. 32 has a diversified soil. Gloucester 
stony sand is by far the predominant type, covering an 
area of one-half the township, or about 18 sections, in 
the central, northeastern and northwestern sections. In 
the north central part Gloucester silt loam, rolling 
phase, covers a large area. All of section 31 and the 
southeast part of section 36 are also covered by this 
soil. Gloucester sandy loam is found in sections 6, 7 
and 8 and also sections 33, 34, 35 and 36. Peat is 
found on the river banks. 

Township 33 North, of Range 14 East is the most 
northern Elton township. It was surveyed by James 



L. Nowlin, United States Deputy Surveyor, in April, 
1865. There are no large streams in this township. 
Ada and Mary lakes are the only large bodies of 
water. The township is covered with a dense tract of 
timber. Maple, birch and hemlock, elm, ash and 
white and Norway pine were the original forest pro- 
ducts. There are some swamps in the township. 
They cannot be drained without great difficulty and 
some cannot be drained irrespective of any efforts. 
The region has not been settled, contains no schools 
nor important highways or railroads, except the Wis- 
consin & Northern (now the Soo Line) and the C. & 
N. W. railroad tracks, serving territory north and 
south. The soil may be divided into three types, al- 
though Gloucester silt loam occupies nearly the en- 
tire township. That type of soil is more extensive in 
this part of Elton than anywhere else in the county. 
In the north part of the township it is the rolling 
phase. Gloucester fine sandy loam is found in a small 
area at the intersections of sections 20, 25 and 30. 
Gloucester sandy loam is found in sections 17, 18, 19 
and 20. There is a large amount of peat on both sides 
of "Nine Mile Creek," which runs from the central 
part of the township in a southwesterly course, through 
Hollister. 

Township 31, Range 14 East contains a few swamps 
unfit for cultivation. This township was surveyed in 
July, 1857, by U. S. Deputy Surveyor James McBride. 
Original timber was maple, birch, pine, hemlock and 
spruce. Before 1857 a terrific tornado swept through 
this township uprooting trees and laying waste every- 
thing in its path. The wind travelled in a wide and 
irregular path in the north and west parts of the town- 
ship. It made the region very near impassable for 
many years. The Wolf river flows through sections 
3, 4, 10, 15, 22, 23. 25, 26, 27 and 35. The Wolf river 
is shallow in many places. Its rapids in certain sec- 
tions make it a valuable water for motive power. Glou- 
cester sandy loam is found in the eastern part, Glou- 
cester silt loam in the western part and Gloucester 
fine sandy loam in the north central part of the town- 
ship. This township is the most populous of Elton 
townships. Langlade and White Lake villages are lo- 
cated in it. The Soo Line railroad serves the terri- 
tory as does the Chicago & Northwestern. It is said 
that the Soo main line will eventually pass through 
this eastern part of the county. 

Sections 5, 6, 7, 8, 17, 18, 19, 20, 29, 30, 31 and 32 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



201 



or the west one-third of township 31, Range 15 East 
are also in Elton township. Dobbston, now named 
Markton, is located in this part of Elton. Boulder 
lake is the principal body of water. Gloucester silt 
loam is found in the extreme northwest and a small 
area in the southeast. Gloucester sandy loam is the 
most extensive type of soil and is found through the 
north and central parts. Gloucester fine sandy loam is 
found in the southern part of the territory. James 
McBride, U. S. Surveyor surveyed this region in Sep- 
tember, 1857. Birch, pine, cedar, tamarack, hemlock 
and maple were the original forest products. 

Before the United States survey there were no im- 
provements in Elton township. It was not for six 
years after the final survey in 1865 that settlers began 
to trek into the vast wilderness. The old military road 
and the Lake Superior trail were the first highways of 
communication to bring in the pioneer settler and 
prospector. We shall hear of the trials, vicissitudes, 
tribulations and discouragments of these hardy folks 
in the story of the various districts. Before then it 
will not be amiss to give the process of organization 
that ultimately lead to the establishment of Elton 
township in 1887. 

PETITION OF 1886. 

November 10, 1886, Charles W. McFarland, Charles 
H. Larzelere, and others sent a request to the county 
board asking that townships 32 and 33 of Rarge 13 
East be detached from Langlade township and created 
into Lily township and that township 31 of Range 13 
East (Evergreen township) and townships 31, 32 and 
33 of Range 14 East and the west one-third of town- 
ship 31, Range 15 East be detached from Langlade 
township and organized into a new township to be 
henceforth known as Elton township. The township 
was accordingly created. It was named after Elton C. 
Larzelere, son of Charles H. Larzelere, now the C. 
& N. W. depot agent at Antigo. The first township 
meeting was held in April, 1887, at the house of C. 
H. Larzelere, section 10. C. H. Larzelere, J. J. Spring- 
er and J. F. Bunten were the first election inspectors. 

LANGLADE TOWNSHIP FOUGHT ELTON. 

January 18, 1887, a remonstrance was sent to the 
Langlade County solons denouncing the division of 
Langlade township and the formation of Elton. The 
remonstrance was signed by S. A. Taylor, Lewis Pen- 
dleton, U. G. Taylor, G. F. Truesdell, John Attridge, 
J. B. Hollister, H. G. Chase, 0. A. Taylor, J. C. John- 
son, Israel Stinson, Frank Kielzewski, J. J. Springer, 
William (his mark X) Guelky, Joseph Warblesky, 
Stephen H. Austin, S. D. (his mark X) Austin, T. M. 
Dobbs, Robert Gilray, Joseph M. Jackson, S. J. Robin- 
son, J. E. Schultz, D. McDonell, H. L. Mason, David 
B. Edick, Henry Strauss, H. Ball, C. S. Dempster, W. 
B. Bell, H. N. Bell, H. N. Bell, Jr., Mike Willett, Bert 
Getchell, David Getchell, J. Vinton, Walter Dorszeski, 
Louis Moldrawski, S. Ball, A. E. Wheeler and J. Camp- 
bell. The remonstrance asked that the ordinance creat- 



ing Elton township be set aside. It was defeated. 
The old town of Langlade retained townships 32 and 
33 of Range 13 East, however. S. A. Taylor wanted 
the name changed from Langlade township to Keeps 
township. This request was defeated. Elton town- 
ship lost no territory until Evergreen township was or- 
ganized in 1896. 

FIRST ELTON TOWN BOARD. 

J. J. Springer was elected first Chairman of Elton 
township. Joseph Wurzer and C. S. Dempster were the 
first Supervisors; W. B. Bell, first Assessor; C. H. 
Larzelere, first Treasurer; C. W. McFarland, first Jus- 
tice; C. H. Larzelere, also a Justice. These officials 
were sworn into office April 12, 1887. 

OFFICERS OF ELTON TOWNSHIP, 1886-1923. 

CHAIRMEN. 

J. J. Springer, 1887-88; Charles W. McFarland, 
1888-90; J. J. Springer, 1890; W. V. Dorszeski, 1890- 
91; C. C. Sawyer, 1891-92; A. J. Wood, 1893,94; 
Charles McFarland, 1894-95; W. V. Dorszeski, 1895- 
1901; C. S. Dempster, 1901-06; W. V. Dorszeski, 1906- 
10; William Alft, 1910-12; George H. Shannon, 1912- 
14; William Alft, 1914-15; R. G. Johnson, 1915-16; 
George H. Shannon, 1916-17; William Alft, 1917-23. 

CLERKS. 

Charles W. McFarland, 1887-88; J. F. Bunten, 1888- 
89; C. S. Dempster, 1889-91; Charles W. McFarland, 
1891-92; John N. Gress, 1892-95; George A. Roix, 
1895-96; Robert Gilray, 1896-98; George A. Roix 
1898-99; Frank Kielczewski, 1899-1900; W. Bell, 
1900-10, W. H. Partridge, 1910-14; W. B. Bell, 1914- 
17; Harry A. Shannon, 1917-22; John Eschenbach, 
1922-23. 

TREASURERS. 

Charles H. Larzelere, 1887-90; Charles W. McFar- 
land, 1890; A. J. Wood, 1890-91; E. C. Larzelere. 
1891; S. E. McConley, 1891-92; C. W. McFarland (ap- 
pointed), 1892-93; A. J. Wood, 1896-99; Frank P. 
Kielczewski, 1900-01; A. J. Wood, 1901-11; W. B. 
Bell, 1911-13; A. J. Wood, 1913-16; William Alft, 
1916-17; Marcus Wahleitner, 1917-18; W. F. Thomp- 
son, 1918-19; William Gamble, 1919-20; William 
Mitchell, 1920-21; W. H. Partridge, 1921-22; Olaf 
Christianson, 1922-23. 

SUPERVISORS. 

Joseph Wurzer, C. S. Dempster, 1887-88; C. S. 
Dempster Joseph Wobeleski, 1888-89; Marcus Wahl- 
eitner, Joseph Wobeleski, 1889-90; Wenzel Santner, 
Ignatz Plattenbacker, 1890-91; J. T. Smith, Dan Mur- 
phy, 1891-92; Henry Juetten, Dan Murphy, 1892-93; 
Henry Juetten, George Roix, 1893-94; Henry Juetten, 
Walter V. Dorszeski, 1894-95; Marcus Wahleitner, 
John Wurzer, 1895-96; George Truesdell, Marcus 
Wahleitner, 1896-97; M. Mahleitner, Frank Kielczew- 
ski, 1897-98; Frank Spalding, A. Jagla, 1898-99; A. 



202 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Jagla, A. Dynscyinski, 1899-1901; George Shannon, 
M. Wahleitner. 1901-05; George Shannon, Matt Hein, 
1905-06; George Shannon, H. Partridge, 1906-07; Isa- 
dor Jung, George Shannon, 1907-09; B. Skodzenski, M. 
Wahleitner, 1909-10; Raymond Spencer, Raymond 
Kielczewski, 1910-12; Matt Hein, John Bombinski, 
1912-14; Matt Hein, James Peters, 1914-15; Matt 
Hein, August Buettner, 1915-16; John Bombinski, Matt 
Hein, 1916-17; John Bombinski, Louis Bricco, 1917- 
18; Arthur Baseley, Louis Bricco, 1918-20; Julius De- 
horn, Louis Bricco, 1920-22; F. Murray, Julius De- 
horn, 1922-23. 

ASSESSORS. 

W. B. Bell, 1887-90; C. C. Sawyer, 1890-91; M. 
Whitehouse, Henry Smith, Robert Gilray, 1891-92; 
F. Kielczewski, 1892-94; Robert Gilray, 1894-95; F. 
Kielczwski, 1895-96; A. Rollo, 1896-97; Levi Farrow, 
1897-98; Levi Farrow, George Truesdell, Theo. Smith, 
1898-99; M. H. Coughlin, 1899-1900; R. Bell, 1900-01; 
A. M. Mader, 1901-02; W. Wood, 1902-03; Frank Kiel- 
czwski, 1903-04; W. J. Wood, 1904-06; Bruno Skodin- 
ski, 1906-08; John Bombinski, 1908-09; Peter Jagla, 
1909-10; H. G. Johnson, 1910-13; William Alft, 1913- 
14; Marcus Wahleitner, 1914-15; Joseph Jagla, 1915- 
17; Byron C. Larzelere, 1917-19; John C. Kielczew- 
ski, 1919-20; Byron C. Larzelere, 1920-21; H. E. 
Spencer, 1921-22; Ole Heistad, 1922-23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

M. WiUett, C. J. Pratt, C. Richards, C. W. McFar- 
land, 1887-88; J. J. Springer, Theo. Smith, 1889-90; 
J. A. Smith, D. A. McDowell, J. J. Springer, C. S. 
Dempster, 1890-91; G. Irish, J. A. Smith, Robert Gil- 
ray, 1891-92; W. Bell, G. Irish, C. W. McFarland, 
1892-93; George Roix, 1894-95; Ned Sawyer, 1895-96; 
C. W. McFarland, George Stearns, Henry Juetten, 
1896-97; W. Bell, C. A. Dempster, 1897-98; George 
Roix, A. J. Ward, 1898-99; C. Dempster, W. Bell, 
1900-01; H. Shannon. A. M. Mader, 1901-02; C. S. 
Dempster, 1902-04; A. Jagla, 1902-03; C. S. Dempster, 
1903-04; John Schutte, C. S. Dempster, 1904-05; C. 
S. Dempster, 1905-06; H. Partridge, C. S. Dempster, 
1906-07; Matt Hein. Hugh Shannon, 1907-08; W. H. 
Partridge, C. S. Dempster, 1908-09; William Stevens, 
1909-10; Edward Wright, Matt Hein, C. S. Dempster, 
1910-12; Fred Hoeffs, 1911-12; Andrew Dalton, Hugh 
Shannon, 1912-14; Andrew Dalton, Byron C. Larze- 
lere, 1914-15; William Alft, G. H. Shannon, 1915-16; 
William Alft, William Wood, 1916-17; J. J. Alft, Rob- 
ert Dyce, 1917-18; Henry Hoffman, William Spencer, 
1918-19; Dan Jagla, 1919-20; William Spencer, A. Dal- 
ton, 1920-21; James Cowan, 1921-22; William Spen- 
cer, 1922-23. 

CONSTABLES. 

M. Baker, H. N. Bell, Jr., Daniel Murphy, Robert 
Gilray, 1887-88; J. S. Peters, 1888-89; J. S. Peters, 
P. Nowak, 1889-90; Peter Nowak, B. Statler, Joseph 
Wurzer, 1890-91; Joseph Wurzer, B. Statler, M. 
Whitehouse, 1891-92; Wencel Santner, Joseph Ramer, 



1892-93; Joseph Murphy, 1893-95; William Wood, 
1895-96; Anton Ramer, James Murphy, 1896-97; Dan- 
iel Wheeler, Anton Dynzynski, 1897-98; Ned Sawyer, 
1898-99; Peter Nowak, 1899-1900; J. Jagla, H. Shan- 
non, N. Sawyer, 1900-01; H. N. Bell, 1901-02; An- 
ton Dynzynski, T. Shier, 1902-03; T. Shier, 1903-04; 
H. Spencer, T. Shier, 1904-06; T. Shier, George Shan- 
non, 1906-07; T. Shier, H. Spencer, 1907-08; Harry 
Spencer, Peter Jagla, 1908-09; Hugh Shannon, 1909- 
11; G. H. Shannon, 1911-12; Joseph Jagla, 1912-13; 
William Wood, 1913-14; Arthur Basel, William Wood, 
1914-15; Daniel Jagla, Arthur Baseley, 1915-16; Ar- 
chie Shannon, Daniel Jagla, 1916-17; John Eschen- 
bach, Archie Shannon, Robert Dyce, 1917-18; Otto 
Glassow, H. C. Spencer, 1918-19; P. Jagla, M. Tousey, 
1919-20; F. Hoffman, G. Ashefsky, 1920-21; Paul 
Komke, George Bohag, 1921-22; George Bohag, H. 
Smith. 1922-23. 

DISTRICT NO. 1. 

WHITE LAKE DISTRICT. When Isaac Farrow, 
pioneer Elton citizen, attempted to drain White Lake 
to create a natural hay meadow out of its level bot- 
tom in 1876, little did he dream that the shores of the 
same lake would a half century later be the site of a 
prosperous village wherein dwell 700 inhabitants. If 
George Gardner, Stockbridge Indian, who kept a stop- 
ping place on the old Lake Superior Trail and the 
Military Road fifty years ago, near what is now White 
Lake, could return to earth and visit this region he 
would have difficulty in locating the old trail and the 
site of his "ranch." (See Chapter on Stopping Places- 
Hotels-Taverns). 

Marcus Wahleitner, Sr., came into this district in 
1889 from Elton village, settling on section 29. John 
Evans operated a saw mill in this district until 1895. 
Much of the labor about this mill, one of the first in 
eastern Langlade County, was accomplished with the 
assistance of oxen. The mill was moved to Lily in 
1895. In 1891 T. F. Smith purchased eighty acres on 
section 29. Joseph Kettner settled in the district in 
1893 and Thomas Carson in 1899. Charles Switzer, 
father of W. E. Switzer of Wabeno, Forest County, 
who headed the Langlade County normal for a number 
of years, logged in this district in 1893 for the Me- 
nasha Woodenware Company. 

The first school was erected on section 29. W. E. 
Switzer was an early teacher. Three pupils attended 
the first school. 

In October, 1907, the village plat of Van Ostrand, 
proposed town of E. H. Van Ostrand, was surveyed by 
Alex Deleglise. The village contained 41 blocks and 
was owned by the Van Ostrand Town Site Improve- 
ment Company. Adams, Hayes, Madison, Harrison, 
Jackson, Van Buran, Grant, Monroe, Lincoln, Jefferson, 
Buchanan and Washington streets were laid out. Ave- 
nues from first to tenth inclusive were platted. Lots 
were sold but the purchasers sold back to the improve- 
ment company when Van Ostrand village was aband- 
oned. A depot was built by the Wisconsin Northern 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



203 



railroad at the village site in 1908. The line then 
ended at Van Ostrand. 

A brick school was erected in 1913 at a cost of $3,000 
when the frame structure, inadequate and small, was 
vacated. The school enrollment had increased in six 
years from a few pupils to thirty-four. This school 
is under the jurisdiction of the school board in charge 
of the White Lake village schools. It is located on 
section 29. 

THE VILLAGE OF WHITE LAKE. 

A year before the Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Com- 
pany, lumber kings of Wisconsin for a half century, 
located, rumors floated about to the effect that a large 
saw and planing mill would be erected at White Lake. 
The rumors became facts when in July, 1916, the Yaw- 
key-Bissell Lumber C6mpany began clearing land east 
of White Lake for a village and mill site. August 16, 
1916, work was started on the large saw mill which 
commenced operations June 1, 1917. A year later 
ground was broken (August, 1917) for the planing mill 
which was completed and in operation January 1, 
1918. 

Following the mill came the hotel which was erected 
in the winter of 1917-18. It is managed by Mrs. Paul 



the village. Ten teachers have charge of the 

White Lake schools. The large enrollment is in- 
creasing every year. The White Lake rural school is 
still used on section 29. For three years it was va- 
cated. W. D. Cavers, Director, B. C. Nelson, Clerk 
and H. F. De Horn, Treasurer were the 1921-22 officers 
in charge of the high school, White Lake graded and 
White Lake rural schools. 

White Lake has 110 families. 

Shipping facilities are good. Passenger service is 
not. The Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Company have 
enough timber in Langlade and Forest Counties to run 
until 1944. 15,000 acres were purchased in 1916 from 
the Menasha Wooden Ware Company. Most of this 
timber is in Langlade County. In 1919, 18,000 acres 
were purchased from the Kimberly-Clark Company. 
This tract is in Forest County. Smaller tracts were 
purchased from the Oconto Lumber Company, the C. & 
N. W. Railroad Co., and the S. W. Hollister estate. 

Two camps operate all year around. Peter O'Con- 
nor, early Antigo citizen, whose wife was the first An- 
tigo school teacher, is Wood Superintendent for the 
lumber concern. J. C. Horgen was the first manager 
at the store. 




THE LARGE SAWMILL UF IHE VAWKEV-HISSELL LUMBER 

COMPANY 
at White Lake, Elton township. Langlade County. 



Leitl. The lumber concern also has a boarding house 
where many employes live. R. Pagel conducts it. 
In September, 1916, the depot erected at Van Ostrand 
by the Wisconsin & Northern railroad was moved to 
White Lake and W. H. Gamble became the first agent. 
A store was built by the lumber company in November, 
1916. William Obendschein is in charge of the store 
and Julius Strauch of the meat market. A barber shop 
is operated by P. J. Reis. In August, 1917, the C. & 
N. W. Railroad Company built a depot at White Lake. 
The Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Company office was erect- 
ed in 1916 and by January 1, 1917 was completed. A 
splendid club house, dance hall and community center 
building was erected at an approximate cost of $15,000 
in 1918-19. It was opened June 1, 1919. 

The White Lake graded school was opened October 
1, 1917. The school was built at a cost of $13,000. 
In 1921 a union free high school, including about two- 
thirds of Elton township, was organized in 



The Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Company has ten 
miles of track connecting their camps in the southern 
part of Evergreen township with the mills at White 
Lake. Annual cut is 30 million feet, while the capaci- 
ty of the mill is 60 million feet. 

The Military Road Telephone Company serves this 
district. 

Dr. W. E. Ellis is the present doctor. Dr. Clayton 
Charles was the first doctor in the village. 

White Lake has two churches and three church or- 
ganizations. The St. Mathews Lutheran church, erect- 
ed in 1917, has Rev. A. Hoswald as resident Pastor. 
The St. James Catholic church, erected in 1920 is in 
charge of Rev. Victor Happa. Rev. J. Landusky was 
the first pastor, followed by Rev. F. A. Bemowski. The 
Presbyterian faith is represented by a local organiza- 
tion. Services are held monthly in the club house 
with Rev. Westphal of Neenah as Pastor. 

White Lake is 35 miles from Shawano, 32 miles from 



204 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Antigo and 40 miles from Crandon. It is on section 
16, township 31, range 14 east. The nearest point 
of the Wolf river is about one mile. 

The White Lake Bank is discussed in the chapter on 
Banks and Finance. 

Many of the residents of White Lake have been em- 
ployed for years by the Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Com- 
pany, who at the beginning of the twentieth century 
had large saw and planing mills at Arbor Vitae, Vilas 
County and Hazelhurst, Oneida County. 

Employes at the Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Company 
general offices at White Lake are : E. G. Woodford, 
Sales Manager; 0. A. Olmholt, Assistant Sales Mana- 
ger; L. E. Prahl, Stenographer; Charles W. Wick- 
strom. Bookkeeper; John Anderegg, Timekeeper; W. 

D. Cavers, Auditor and E. D. Sterling, General Super- 
intendent. J. Collins and W. J. Edwards are in charge 
of camps. 

Wm. Obendschein is the postmaster. 

DISTRICT NO. 4. 

WOLF RIVER DISTRICT. The first settler in the 
Wolf River district was Charles H. Larzelere, who 
came down from Lac Vieux Desert on the newly con- 
structed military road in the winter of 1870. He had 
a short time previously driven north from Janesville 
with a yoke of oxen to the state line. Mr. Larzelere 
settled on section 3, township 32, range 14 east. 0. 
J. Yates was the next early settler. He came from 
Maine in 1873 and settled on section 10. Isaac Far- 
row, came at the same time from Oshkosh. He also 
settled on section 10. John J. Springer, a Canadian, 
settled on an adjoining section No. 3, about that time. 
John Gibson came from Littletown, New Hampshire, 
with the first settlers and took up a claim on section 3. 
Thomas Hutchinson, who later moved to Price town- 
ship, settled on the banks of the Wolf river in section 
10, this district, in a very early day. Charles Mc- 
Farland, pioneer writer and timberman, settled on sec- 
tion 10. Mr. McFarland was from Racine, Wis. 
Other early settlers were : Frank Derinski, who came 
from Poland, settling on section 3; Peter Novak, Poland 
immigrant, who cleared out a home for himself on sec- 
tion 10; Michael Baker came from Chicago and began 
farming on section 10; Robert Gilray, Canadian native, 
settled on section 10. H. McConley came from Bell 
Plaine, Wisconsin, settling on section 3. These set- 
tlers were all here very early. 

The first school in the county was erected in this 
district on section 3. It was taught by Mrs. C. H. 
Larzelere, Addie Wescott, Annie Nolan, Wealthie Doo- 
little, Anna V. Cole, Carrie J. Larzelere, Myrtle Griff- 
iths, Francis Churchouse, Orville Pulcifer and H. B. 
Kellogg, all early teachers. A second school was later 
erected on section 10. Both of these pioneer school 
buildings were frame structures. A third school fol- 
lowed. The fourth building was erected in 1908 by 
Kraisin Brothers of Tigerton, Wisconsin, at a cost of 
$4,233.00. The contract was let July 6, 1908. The 
1921-22 teachers were : Lulu Livingston and Anna 
Cusick. The 1921-22 school officials were : Mrs. M. 

E. Spencer, Clerk; George Shannon, Treasurer and 



Mrs. A. J. Baseley, Director. The average enroll- 
ment is 45 pupils. 

VILLAGE OF LANGLADE. 

The village of Langlade, named after Charles De 
Langlade, is located in this district. Langlade, as 
platted, contains all that territory in the southwest i/4 
of the NE 14 of section 3, Township 31, Range 14 East. 
The streets were designated on the plat as A, B, C, D, 
E and F streets, with avenues from First to Third Ave- 
nues inclusive. The village plat was recorded Octo- 
ber 16, 1906. W. C. Webley was the surveyor. Kiel- 
czewski's plat of Langlade is in the NE I4 of the NE 
I4 of section 10. 

J. Yates had the first store, located on section 10. 
He ran it from 1874 to 1879 with success. He mov- 
ed to the State of Washington from Langlade County 
before the city of Antigo was dreamed of by any one, 
(except F. A. Deleglise). Olaf Morgan ran a saw 
mill on section 27 and section 14. He came from 
Morgan's Siding, a place below Neopit. 

The district has one church, a Polish Catholic 
church. There is a Protestant and Catholic cemetery 
on section 10. On section 3 a Polish Catholic ceme- 
tery is located. 

In this vicinity are found many private cemeteries, 
where in early days, when the pioneers passed away, 
they were laid to rest near the old homestead or log 
cabin wherein they had spent so many days during 
these first momentous years. 

The Wolf River district has thirty-five families. The 
principal occupation is agriculture. J. L. Whitehouse 
and H. A. Shannon are proprietors of general stores 
at Langlade. ' 

The district has the following territory: Sections 3, 
10, 15, 22, 27, 34, of Township 33, Range 14 East and 
sections 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 21, 22, 23, 26, 27, 
28, 33, 34, 35 of Township 32, Range 14 East and 
sections 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15 and 16 of Township 
31, Range 14 East. It was once an important part of 
the famous Lost Nation. 

DISTRICT NO. 5. 

MARKTON DISTRICT. This district is located in 
southeastern Langlade County and was one of the first 
regions to be settled. Pioneers were Christopher 
Wheeler, who settled on section 30, Township 31, 
Range 15 East in 1871. Mr. Wheeler came from Em- 
barrass, Wisconsin, and followed the military road 
north. H. N. Bell settled in the district in 1877 on 
section 30. He came from Chicago. Thomas M. 
Dobbs settled on section 30 in 1873. He erected a 
saw mill, the first in Langlade County. (See chapter 
on Industries 1873-1923). The Melville family came 
to the district in 1877 settling on section 30. Christo- 
pher Hill and Horace Rice settled on section 30 in 
1877. They conducted the first stopping place north 
of the Menominee Indian Reservation for years. An 
account of this place is given in the chapter on old 
stopping places, hotels and taverns, found elsewhere. 
The district was one of the most active lumbering re- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



205 



gions in Langlade County during the famous Wolf riv- 
er log drives. Daniel McDowell of Embarrass came 
to this district in 1876 settling on section 30. S. A. 
Taylor, the dominant factor in county organization had 
much land and timber interests in the district. L. H. 
Taylor erected a store and also conducted the first Post 
Office on section 30. The Taylor people came from 
New York state. Allen Taylor came to Dobbston, as 
Markton was named by Thomas M. Dobbs, in 1874. 
William Schroeder of Shawano, Markton Roax and 
George Roax of Shawano and James L. Whitehouse, 
all of Shawano, settled in the Markton district in a 
very early day. George Roax re-named Dobbston 
after his son, Markton Roax. H. N. Bell is the last 
of the old settlers still in the district. 

The first school house was erected on section 30 in 
1873. It was a frame building and the lumber was 
bought from T. M. Dobbs. This lumber was some of the 
first ever manufactured in the county. In those days 
the entire number of settlers "chipped in" to pay the 
teacher's wages. (See the Lost Nation section in 
Langlade township.) 

Mayme Kellogg was one of the first teachers. The 
old school was used from 1873 until a splendid brick 
building was erected in 1915 by C. F. Dallman. It is 
now preserved by the H. N. Bell family. 

The old Gardner dam is located on section 25. Ruins 
of it are still visible. 

Matt Heins has operated a saw mill in the district 
on section 7, Township 31, Range 15 East for the past 
twenty years. He came from Milwaukee. 

In pioneer days the village of Dobbston hummed with 
the labors of the pine men. Philetus Sawyer, Repub- 
lican leader in Wisconsin politics for many years, often 
visited in this district, during the pinery regime. 

Henry Sherry, who operated a mill at Kent, ran sev- 
eral camps near Markton. The original Dobbs mill 
was moved to Lily in 1882. 

Remnants of the old Lake Superior Trail are visible 
in this vicinity. 

Wm. Alft, chairman of Elton township, lives in the 
district on the site where the old Hill & Rice log 
cabins once flourished. 

DISTRICT NO. 6. 

HOLLISTER DISTRICT. Squire A. Taylor, Found- 
er of New (Langlade) County, dominant pioneer in the 
historic Wolf river country and leader of the Wolf riv- 
er county seat proponents, came into eastern Langlade 
County in 1860. He was a timber and real 
estate dealer and as a sub-contractor aided in 
the construction of the United States military road. 
Nine years later, 1876, Leonard Marsh, the second per- 
manent settler moved from Omro, Wisconsin, to this 
district, settling on the SE i/4 of section 18. The same 
year extensive logging operations were inaugurated by 
Oshkosh lumbermen, more prominent of whom was C. 
B. HoUister, who had camps in this district. Thus 
the region became known as the HoUister district. 



Robert Gilray and Fred Dodge followed as the next 
pioneer settlers. They both became proprietors of 
stopping places on the military road. The Dodge 
place was on the site of the Ehlinger Brothers mill, 
section 18. 

Education of children was not overlooked by Leon- 
ard Marsh, Robert Gilray, Fred Dodge and the others 
who followed. In 1878 a humble frame school build- 
ing was erected on section 19. It still stands a monu- 
ment to pioneer progress. Meanwhile the district 
flourished. Men riding horse back took the place of 
the oxen and "man packed" mail from Shawano north 
into this district on the military road. Settlers receiv- 
ed mail twice a week. 

S. Moldrawski and family, Walter V. Dorszeski and 
family of Chicago moved into the community in 1884. 
Mr. Dorszeski later became actively identified with 
Langlade County's interests, serving as an official from 
this township many times. Frank Kielcheski settled 
in the district on section 7 about 1886. He came from 
Chicago. Antone Kielcheski now occupies the farm 
his father settled on. J. Schutte moved from Lang- 
lade into the HoUister district a few years later and J. 
Bombinski, who served as a town official many years, 
came here from Chicago at that time. 

The second school was erected on the Dorszeski 
farm in 1890. Anna Kelly, Antigo. was the first 
teacher in the second school. After eighteen years 
this school was discontinued. The district developed 
its agricultural potentialities and the logging and lum- 
bering industries flourished meanwhile. With the 
approach of the Wisconsin & Northern railroad in 
1913 and now its purchase by the Soo Line (1921) the 
future of this region is exceptionally promising. Two 
years later, 1915, The Military Road Telephone Com- 
pany erected a telephone line in this district. 

In October, 1916, Michael, M. F. and Nicholas Eh- 
linger of Suring, Wisconsin, erected a mill at HoUister 
on section 19. It brought in settlers and employment. 
It operated until May, 1920, when a fire completly 
destroyed it. The Ehlinger Brothers re-built in June, 
1920. Thirty men are employed on an average. Four 
million feet of lumber is the average annual cut. 

In 1918 a postoffice was established known as Eh- 
linger. The Soo railroad station is known as HoUis- 
ter. A third name for the district is "Nine Mile 
Creek" by which it is referred to by the settlers. 
George Burger of Suring erected a hotel at Ehlinger in 
November, 1921. He also conducts a supply store at 
the hotel. 

The present modern brick school was erected on an 
acre of land donated by M. J. Wallrich, Shawano, 
Wisconsin, in section 18. This school is one of the 
best in the eastern part of the county. About thirty- 
eight families reside in the HoUister district. Anoth- 
er school will be erected to accommodate the increased 
school attendance. 

The Campbell Lumber Company and the Weber, 
Anderson & Wallrich Lumber Company interests are 
cared for by C. A. Anderson. 



206 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XL. 
Evergreen Township No. 31 N., R. 13 E. 

Surface and Drainage — Soil — Lakes and Streams — Wolf River Township — Name of Township 
Changed to Evergreen — Evergreen Officials, 1896-1923 — Cozy Corner — Sherry — McKinley and 
Wilson — Village of Elton — ^Kentuckian Settlers — Washington District. 



Evergreen township is situated in southeastern Lang- 
lade County. It lies in congressional township 31 
North of Range 13 East. James McBride, United 
States Deputy Surveyor surveyed this township in No- 
vember, 1857. The entire surface of Evergreen is 
hilly and broken. The land is well watered by num- 
erous streams and ponds. The township was visited 
by many destructive cyclones in an early day (before 
1858) as was then evidenced by the many windfalls. 
Principal timber was hemlock and birch. The town- 
ship contains a wealth of timber products yet, much of 
which is being extensively logged. It lies in the St. 
Lawrence river drainage system. The dominant soil 
is Gloucester silt loam, rolling phase. It is found in 
the southern half of the township. About eight sec- 
tions in the northwestern part occupy the southern part 
of a great area of Gloucester sandy loam that stretches 
northeast and then northwest through Langlade and 
Ainsworth townships. In the center of the township 
about one section of Gloucester fine sandy loam is 
found. Principal lakes are McGee, Florence, West 
Florence, Dodgers, Town Line, Twin Hill and Mud 
Pond. Evergreen Creek runs through sections 4, 9, 
16, 17, 21, 22, 27, 34 and 35. The Chicago & North- 
western road ( Wolf river branch) runs through sections 
7, 8, 16, 17, 21, 22, 23, and 24. The Crocker Chair 
Company railroad extends north from Elton village 
through sections 3, 4, and 16. The Wisconsin 
& Northern (now Soo Line) runs through the south- 
eastern part of the township in section 36. The Yaw- 
key-Bissell Lumber Company of White Lake, Elton 
township, have their logging railroads in the south- 
eastern part of Evergreen. Their logging camp is lo- 
cated on section 26. It is in charge of John Collins. 

WOLF RIVER TOWNSHIP. 

November 18, 1895, residents of Elton township re- 
quested the County Board to detach townships 31, 
32 and 33 of Range 14 East and the west twelve sec- 
tions of Township 31, Range 15 East from Elton 
township and create the Town of Wolf River. A. J. 
Wood, W. J. Wood, Marcus Wahleitner, Sr., G. T. 
Truesdell, C. S. Dempster, Joseph Wahleitner, Albert 
Rolo, John Wurzer, Michael Coughlin, Walter V. Dor- 
szeski, John Evans, F. Dasynski, Frank Spaulding, 
Will Schroeder, L. P. Wahleitner, Simon Post, Ned 
Sawyer, John Olkoewick, Andrew Jagla, J. S. Smith, 
M. Dazinski, George A. Roix, Louis Motorum, Henry 
Juetten, W. B. Bell and Robert Gilray were the lead- 
ers of this movement. 

Walter V. Dorszeski, George Roberts and Chester 



Starks, town organization committeemen on the 
County Board, referred the request to the members. 
Strenuous efforts were made to defeat the detachment. 
While a new township was organized it was not un- 
til February 26, 1896, and then the division was not 
in accord with the petition from the Wolf River town- 
ship leaders. Township 31, Range 13 East was taken 
from Elton township February 26, 1896, and was es- 
tablished as Wolf River township. The Wolf River 
does not flow through the township and this name was 
not appropriate. It was changed in May, 1896, to the 
Town of Evergreen by its settlers. 

CEMETERY OF EVERGREEN. 

April 7, 1903, a committee of ladies were selected 
to chose a site for a township cemetery. The ladies 
reported to the town board and the same year the 
cemetery was laid out, section 16. 

OFFICERS OF WOLF RIVER AND EVERGREEN 
TOWNSHIPS, 1896-1923. 

CHAIRMEN. 

Charles W. McFarland, 1896-97; Albert S. Rollo, 
1897-99; Charles W. McFarland, 1899-1902; Theodore 
Suter, 1902-04; J. F. Culver, 1904-05; Joseph Ramer. 
1905-07; J. F. Culver, 1907-08; John A. Wurzer. 1908- 
09; J. E. Elliott, 1909-11; John H. Rose, 1911-12; J. 
M. Thornberry, 1912-13; Alonzo Bunten, 1913-14; 
Henry P. Juetten, 1914-16; Dixie Whitt, 1916-17; E. 
H. Upton, 1917-18; J. M. Thornberry. 1918-21; John 
E. Elliott, 1921-23. 

CLERKS. 

Henry P. Juetten, 1896-97; John N. Gress, 1897- 
1903; Robert McCleary, 1903-05; Henry P. Juetten, 
1905-09; J. M. Thornberry, 1909-12; Henry P. Juet- 
ten, 1912-14; J. M. Thornberry, 1914-15; Jay Roberts, 
1916-17; J. M. Thornberry, 1917-18; L. R. Roberts. 
1918-22; Willis Clark, 1922-23. 

TREASURERS. 

Joseph Wurzer, 1896-1902; George J. Moser, 1902- 
04; Michael Binder, 1904-05; W. G. Horton, 1905-07; 
Ignatz Plattenbacker, 1907-09; George Roberts, 1909- 
10; Ignatz Plattenbacker, 1910-11; George Roberts, 
1911-12; Ignatz Plattenbacker, 1912-14; Dixie Whitt, 
1914-15; L. R. Roberts, 1915-17; Merl Horton. 1917-18; 
Thomas W. Clark, 1918-23. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



207 



SUPERVISORS. 

Albert Rollo, John Wurzer, 1896-97; John Wurzer, A. 
Bedall, 1897-98; John Wurzer, Wenzel Sandner, 1898- 
99; Wenzel Sandner, Charles Hansen, 1899-1900; 
John Wurzer, Joseph Ramer, 1900-01 ; Frank Alex- 
ander, John Wurzer, 1901-02; Charles Binder, Frank 
Alexander, 1902-03 ; J. F. Culver, Joseph Wurzer, 1903- 
04; J. M. Okaneski, Frank Harville. 1904-05; J. E. 
Elliott, Nat Pomasl, 1905-06; Frank Harville, W. E. 
Taylor, 1906-07; Frank Harville, F. C. Rose, 1907-08; 

F. C. Rose, Jay Roberts, 1908-09; L. R. Roberts, A. J. 
Browning, 1909-10; Mark Powell, J. H. Rose, 1910-11; 
J. K. P. Horton. James R. Jones, 1911-12; Miles E. 
Jones, J. K. P. Horton, 1912-13; George Mannin, J. K. 
P. Horton, 1913-14; J. H. Jones, J. K. P. Horton, 1914- 
15; Roland Combs, Melvin Tacket, 1915-16; Melvin 
Jacket, J. K. P. Horton, 1916-17; Samuel Combs, 
Willis Clark, 1917-18; James R. Jones, Samuel Combs, 
1918-19; James R. Jones, Thomas Elliott, 1919-20; 
L. L. Pennington, Thomas Elliott, 1920-22; L. L. Pen- 
nington, J. H. Jones, 1922-23. 

ASSESSORS. 

Abner Rollo, 1896-97; Ignatz Plattenbacker, 1897- 
99; John Hunter, 1899-1900; I. Plattenbacker, 1900- 
02; Nat Pomasl, 1902-05; Jay Roberts, 1905-06; J. H. 
Jones, 1906-08; W. G. Horton, 1908-09; Frank Tabor, 
1909-10; F. C. Rose, 1910-11; J. H. Rose, 1911-12; J. 
H. Jones, 1912-14; John A. Wurzer, 1914-15; J. H. 
Jones, 1915-16; S. C. Rose, 1916-17; Frank Tabor, 
1917-19; J. H. Jones, 1919-20; Frank Tabor, 1920-21; 
D. B. Hall, 1921-23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

C. W. McFarland, Abner Rollo, George Stearns, 
Henry Juetten, 1896-97; John N. Gress, Henry P. 
Juetten, 1897-98; L. Steiner, Joseph Wurzer, 1898-99; 
J. N. Gress, Henry P. Juetten, Joseph Ramer, 1899- 
1900; John N. Gress, C. W. McFarland, 1900-01; Frank 
Alexander, George J. Moser, 1901-02; W. N. Porter, 
R. H. Elliott. 1903-04; Jay Roberts, William McKen- 
na, 1904-05; F. C. Rose, George Roberts, 1905-06; 
Leonard Patnode, 1906-07; George W. Mannin, 1907- 
08; George W. Mannin, John Wickershein, 1908-09; 
George W. Mannin, G. K. P. Horton, 1909-10; Jay 
Roberts, 1910-11; A. W. Karrick, Jay Roberts, 1911- 
12; J. H. Rose, G. W. Mannin, 1912-13; F. C. Rose, 

G. W. Mannin, 1913-14; John Rose, F. C. Rose, 1914- 
15; G. W. Mannin, Delaney Wheeler, 1915-16; Thom- 
as Clark, G. W. Mannin, 1916-17; J. M. Boyd, A. W. 
Karrick, 1917-19; A. W. Karrick, 1919-21; A. R. Por- 
ter, 1920-21; A. Drettwan, 1921-22; Charles DeHart, 
1922-23; H. Renfro, 1922-24. 

CONSTABLES. 

Anton Ramer, James Murphy, 1897-98; Michael 
Ramer, Sam Brown, 1898-99; Henry Juetten, 1899- 
1901; Ulrich Suter, Nat Pomasl, Mike Binder, 1901-02; 
Sam Elliott, Wm. Underwood, 1902-04; G. W. Jones, 
Wm. Underwood, H. Elliott, 1904-05; Fred Wessa, 



Oscar Oppenheimer, 1905-06; Oscar Oppenheimer, 
Richard Thomas, 1906-07; Ben Berkley, 1907-08; 
Frank Tabor, Thomas Elliott, 1908-09; R. L. Lam- 
bert, 1909-10; J. A. Rose, Dennis Rose, 1910-11; Da- 
vid Phipps, 1911-12; Samuel Roe, William Conn, 
1912-13; J. E. Elliott, Luther Pennington, 1913-14; L. 
Forest, Samuel Roe, 1914-15; Luther Pennington, 
1915-16; Lem Stegall, Luther Pennington, 1916-17; 
Lem Stegall, John Conn, W. L. Bailey, 1917-18; John 
Conn, Lem Stegall, 1918-19; Ernest Courbic, 1920-21; 
John Rath, 1921-22; L. Pennington, 1922-23; Asa 
Powell, 1922-24. 

DISTRICT NO. 1. 

COZY CORNER DISTRICT. There are five set- 
tlers in this region that lies in the sparsely and unde- 
veloped southwestern part of Evergreen. The first 
settler was Simon Post of Oshkosh, who took up a 
farm on section 35. He was one of the pioneers of 
Langlade County and settled in the district in 1879. 
Simon Post settled on a little clearing made for oxen, 
used by Lyman Rumery, a prominent lumberman and 
logger of Oshkosh. Rumery was then logging pine 
in the district. Mrs. Post lived three years in this 
wilderness before she saw the face of a woman and 
she was a squaw. Albert Rollo, who came from Bear 
Creek, Outagamie County, was a pioneer in Cozy Cor- 
ner. The Culber family of Portage and the Richard 
family settled on section 35. Later settlers were 
Ward T. Taylor of Omro and Nat Pomasl of Eau 
Claire. 

The settlers now in this region are E. O. Finger, Nat 
Pomasl, W. E. Taylor, John McGee and Stephen Po- 
pelka. The 1921-22 school officials were: Mrs. W. 
E. Taylor, Clerk; E. 0. Finger, Director; Nat Pomasl, 
Treasurer. The 1921-22 teacher was Helen McCarthy. 

Miss Francis McFarland, a niece of Charles Mc- 
Farland, was one of the earliest teachers. She is still 
following her chosen vocation. Among the first pu- 
pils were the Marcus Wahleitner, Sr., children and 
Maggie Post. The first school house, one of the old- 
est in Evergreen, was located on section 25. It was a 
one room log building. It was used but a short time 
when the present frame building was erected. 

Cozy Corner was once a district embracing a large 
area. It now has but four sections, 25, 26, 35 and 
36. The Yawkey-Bissell Lumber Company is en- 
gaged in logging, their camps being located on section 
26. 

With the hardwood cut, this district will forge ahead, 
as the Menasha Wooden Ware Company, heavy land 
owners, will sell the cut over land. An influx of new 
settlers is predicted. 

DISTRICT NO. 3. 

SHERRY DISTRICT. This district received its 
name after Henry Sherry, a prominent mill owner, 
who logged extensively in Price and Evergreen town- 
shis. Mr. Sherry operated a mill at Kent. 

The first settlers were James Lambert, who located 
on section 6, George Thornbery, who settled on section 



208 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



7, and B. Morse, who also located on section 7. Oth- 
ers were James Roe, section 8; Delaney Wheeler, sec- 
tion 7; William Bailey, section 8, and William Kevith, 
section 7. 

These pioneer settlers emigrated to this hilly part 
of the county from Kentucky. The broken country 
was subdued only after much difficulty and hardships. 
Some good farms are now found. Much of the land 
is still to be cleared. The pioneers arrived in 1899 
and 1900. 

Section 7 is also the site of the frame school erect- 
ed in 1899. James Lambert and Q. Rose were mem- 
bers of the first school board. Isaac Thornberry erect- 
ed the first house in the district. The school is lo- 
cated north of highway 64, principal commercial ar- 
tery to eastern Langlade County from Antigo. 

Settlers in the Sherry community are: Everett 
Adkins, James Lambert, William Kevith, William 
Bailey, Delaney Wheeler, James Roe, Albert Basely, 
B. Morse, George Thornberry, D. H. Jenkins, Robert 
Lambert and Opal Tate. The 1921-22 school officials 
were D. H. Jenkins, Clerk; Robert Lambert, Director; 
B. Morse, Treasurer. 

The Wolf River branch, C. & N. W. Ry., runs 
through this district. 

DISTRICT NO. 4. 

McKINLEY-WILSON DISTRICT. This district oc- 
cupies western Evergreen township and is better set- 
tled than the Sherry or Washington districts. The set- 
tlers live in the vicinity of the schools, two of which 
are located in the district. Plans are being formulated 
for the division of the district, thus creating a sepa- 
rate McKinley district and also a Wilson district. 

Pioneer settlers were Michael Servi, who settled 
on section 14; Anton Rammer, section 15; Samuel 
Mauk, section 15; R. N. Rose, J. H. Rose, section 11 
and 2 respectively; James Sullivan, section 15 and 
Herman Zastrow, section 14. Other early settlers 
were George Brown and Thomas Campbell. 

The McKinley school is located on section 11 and 
the Wilson school on section 14. They were named 
after William McKinley and Woodrow Wilson, Amer- 
ican Presidents. The first school in the district was 
erected on section 10. It was moved onto section 11 
to have it nearer the center of the district. July 8, 
1915, the matter of a new school was discussed at the 
district meeting. Three thousand dollars was borrow- 
ed from the state with which to erect a new frame 
school. The old school was moved August, 1915, to 
section 11. This site was formally established by the 
settlers August 21, 1915. 

The second school was erected by Charles F. Dall- 
man, deceased Antigo contractor, at a cost of $2,985. 
It was contracted for August 7, 1915. This is the 
Wilson school, section 14. Mary Wurzer and Ethel 
French were early teachers. 

The L. R. Roberts store is located on section 14. 
It was erected by A. R. Porter, who in 1919 sold to 
Mr. Roberts. There are about twenty-six families in 



the district. The Military Road Telephone Company 
serves the community with facilities for outside com- 
munication. 

A Penticost church, frame structure, is located on 
section 15. George Brown conducts the services twice 
a month. The church was erected in 1921. 

The 1921-22 school officials were: Charles Adkins, 
Director; A. R. Porter, Treasurer, and L. R. Roberts, 
Clerk. The 1921-22 teachers were M. Lenzner and 
Nellie Powers Rose. 

DISTRICT NO. 5. 

ELTON VILLAGE. Among the early settlers of 
Elton village were M. J. Binder, Henry Juetten, Dan 
Murphy, M. Wahleitner, Sr., the Santner family, 
Joseph Ramer, Ignatz Plattenbacker, the Steiner fam- 
ily, Charles McFarland, J. Morse, Joseph and John 
Wurzer, Theodore Smith, and Michael Rammer. Lat- 
er settlers, but early ones, nevertheless, were John 
Wickerham, Ward Taylor, Nat Pomasl, George Wan- 
ninger, Frank Patnode, William Teal, William Under- 
wood and L. L. Pennington. 

Suter Brothers, the Upham Lumber Company, A. 
Gill of Wausau, the Hilstrom Company of Plumb, 
Wisconsin, and lastly, the Crocker Chair Company 
have had manufacturing establishments in the vil- 
lage. The last named concern still operates at Elton. 

Early postmasters were L. F. Bunten, John Smith, 
Joseph Wurzer, George Mosher and Merl Ladwig. 

Present Elton business places are : Elton Garage, 
William Gillespie, prop.; Elton Hardware, Mix & 
Maertz, props.; Elton Mercantile Company, W. B. 
McArthur, prop.; Elton Hotel, M. J. Binder, prop.; L. 
R. Roberts store, and the Grange Hall. 

DISTRICT NO. 7. 

WASHINGTON DISTRICT. Washington District 
lies in the southwestern part of Evergreen township. 
It was settled in the early part of the twentieth cen- 
tury by Charles Bowen, who came to the district in 
1904, Luke Powell, Miles E. Jones, Albert Crom, 
Joseph Powers, John Shelv and B. Rose. New settlers 
are constantly arriving in the district. 

The first school was a small frame structure which 
is located opposite the present frame school built 
on section 29. It was used until 1912 when the new 
school was constructed and was named in honor of 
George Washington. Hazel Cunningham was the first 
teacher in the new school. Other early teachers were 
Irene McKinney and Miss Larzelere. The 1921-22 
schools officials were Frank Tabor, Clerk; L. L. Pen- 
nington, Treasurer, and Joseph Powers, Director. 

Dr. A. A. Lynn of Iowa has a shorthorn cattle ranch 
in this district. 

The settlers are from Kentucky. Much of the dis- 
trict is hilly and unsettled. Improvements are being 
made frequently by the residents. All the settlers 
are living within a short distance from Elton. 



II 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



209 



CHAPTER XLI. 
Langlade Townships No. 32-33 N., R. 13 E. 

Survey of South Langlade in 1857 — North Langlade Survey in 1865 — The Lost Nation — Its Fight 
Against Attachment to Shawano County — The Passing of The Lost Nation — Organization of 
Langlade Township — Township Officials, 1885-1923 — History of Pickerel, Elm Grove, Kent 
Consolidated and Lily Districts. 



Langlade township comprises two entire congres- 
sional townships, numbers 32 and 33, of Range 13 
East. It derives its name from the distinguished 
Charles De Langlade, French soldier and leader of 
the Indians. It is bounded on the north by Forest 
County, on the west by South Ainsworth and Price 
townships, on the south by Evergreen township, and 
on the east by central and north Elton township. 

South Langlade township was surveyed in Sept., 
1857, by Alfred Millard of the United States survey. 
The surface of this region is rolling and hilly. A 
range of hills extend through the township in a north 
and south direction and are covered with granite 
boulders. South Langlade township has two types 
of soil. In south and western parts of the township 
Gloucester sandy loam is found. In northern and 
eastern sections of south Langlade Gloucester silt 
loam, rolling phase is the dominant soil. Peat is 
found along river banks and in marshes. 

North Langlade was surveyed in April, 1865, by 
James L. Nowlin. The township originally was cov- 
ered with hemlock, birch, oak, pine, maple and elm. 
The Wolf river enters the township in section 18 and 
runs in an easterly direction passing out of the town- 
ship at section 34. There are many marshes and ponds 
in the township that cannot be drained. The soil 
is Gloucester silt loam of the rolling phase, except in 
the central sections where considerable peat is found. 

The Wolf river passes through sections 2, 3, 11, 12, 13 
and 24 of south Langlade. Its width varies from one 
hundred to two hundred links. In many places it is 
very rapid and filled with boulders so as to complete- 
ly obstruct navigation. South Langlade has but one 
swamp of any note in sections 11, 12, 13 and 14. It 
was originally very low and was heavily timbered 
with cedar, spruce, tamarack, and other forest pro- 
ducts. Elm, yellow birch, white pine and ironwood 
were the principal forest products. 

THE LOST NATION. 

In 1881 all of the present territory of Langlade, 
Evergreen and Elton townships was detached from 
Langlade County and made a part of Shawano Coun- 
ty. For two years the settlers refused to hold an elec- 
tion at the designated place stipulated by law, they 
refused to send a Chairman to the Shawano County 
Board of Supervisors sessions, refused to recognize the 
authority of the Shawano County Superintendent of 
Schools and defied the state legislature. They held 



that the detachment was not legal because none of 
the territory detached was "contiguous to Shawano 
County." (The Menominee Indian reservation is be- 
tween the territory and Shawano County.) And the 
contention of the settlers was positively correct. This 
vast area should not have been detached from Lang- 
lade County. The settlers charged that leaders in 
Antigo plotted the detachment to "get the territory out 
of the county and thus block the ambition of Lily and 
Langlade settlers who dreamed of a magnificent coun- 
ty with Lily as the county seat." 

The citizens of The Lost Nation, as this 
region was called, maintained their own schools, 
levied their own taxes, hired their own road 
inspectors, built their own bridges, cut out their 
own roads — all these and many other public affairs 
were conducted without contact or assistance from 
Oconto, Langlade or Shawano Counties. Their schools 
were declared the best by the Oconto County Super- 
intendent who visited them, as did the Shawano Coun- 
ty Superintendent. (Both claimed them in their jur- 
isdiction.) 

But this status could not continue indefinitely. In 
1883 the legislature again directed that The Lost Na- 
tion be attached to Langlade County, thus restoring 
the region cut from the county by the provisions of 
Chapter 7, Laws of 1881. 

Two years passed. The Lost Nation remained 
"lost," with Oconto and Shawano desirous of having 
it and Langlade County settlers in and adjacent to 
Antigo not so enthusiastic over it. The settlers in the 
six and a third townships refused to compromise. 
They desired a township in Langlade County with 
all the privileges of a township. In 1885 the legisla- 
ture again directed that The Lost Nation be detached 
from Shawano County and be attached to Polar town- 
ship. Thus came into existence Langlade Township, 
Langlade County. 

ORGANIZATION OF LANGLADE. 

The chiefs of The Lost Nation were quick to real- 
ize the phraseology of Chapter 137, Laws of 1885. 
Attached to Polar township they would be practically 
under the jurisdiction of the settlers in and near 
Polar village, whose voting power was larger than 
that of The Lost Nation. But the attachment law of 
1885 held out another hope. If the settlers held an 
election the first Tuesday in April, 1885, and their 
officers qualified, a new township would be automatic- 



210 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



ally created and the attachment to Polar would not 
hold. This the leaders in The Lost Nation decided 
was the best move to make. 

THE PASSING OF THE LOST NATION. 

The Lost Nation passed into history when the first 
memorable election of Langlade township was held 
at the school house in the village of New (Lily) the 
first Tuesday in April, 1885. Charles H. Larzelere 
was elected first township Chairman for the new town 
of Langlade, which consisted of the six and a third 
townships of The Lost Nation. He served as Chair- 
man until 1887. 

The settlers in the Lost Nation were called Chiefs 
over the state of Wisconsin. This term applied partic- 
ularly to the leaders. 

LANGLADE OPPOSED ELTON. 

May 17, 1887, the Langlade township officials auth- 
orized the township Chairman, U. G. Taylor, to em- 
ploy counsel and start quo warranto proceedings 
against the officers of Elton township. The object of 
this action was to set aside the ordinance made by 
the County Board of Langlade County November 10, 

1886, when Langlade township was divided and Elton 
township was created. The Langlade township offi- 
cials wanted the action of the Langlade County Board 
of November 10, 1886, wherein Cleveland township 
was to be attached to Langlade township by April 1, 

1887, set aside. The suits were commenced, W. F. 
White and C. Werden Deane, Antigo lawyers, repre- 
senting Langlade. The suit failed and on April 8, 
1887, the township officials requested C. Werden 
Deane to ascertain the cost of carrying the case to 
the Supreme Court. 

S. A. TAYLOR DEMANDED ACTION. 

The Keshena Improvement Company owned proper- 
ty in Langlade township that went unassessed for 
some time. S. A. Taylor went before the township 
officials and demanded that they instruct the township 
assessor to assess the corporate property of this con- 
cern. The board accordingly directed the assessor to 
do this, July 30, 1887. 

LANGLADE TOWN HALL. 

May 9, 1908, the Langlade township officials met 
at the office of V. P. Rath, Langlade County Clerk, 
where sealed bids for the erection of the Langlade 
township hall were opened. Notices regarding the 
proposed hall were previously erected by Robert Gil- 
ray at Kent, Lily and Pickerel post offices. The con- 
tract was awarded to J. W. Otis for $900. The town 
hall was completed by August 1, 1908. It is located on 
section 27. The half acre site was purchased from 
William Priem for $150. It is on the east side of the 
Wolf river, near the intersection of the Kent and Mili- 
tary roads. 



OFFICERS OF LANGLADE TOWNSHIP, 
1885-1923. 

CHAIRMEN. 

Charles H. Larzelere, 1885-87; U. G. Taylor, 1887- 
88; Henry Strauss, 1888-95; H. B. Polar, 1895-98; 
Charles Learned, 1898-99; J. E. Schultz, 1899-1900; 
J. D. Polar, 1900-01; Charles A. Learned, 1901-02; D. 
Sinnis, 1902-03; J. E. Schultz, 1903-04; Charles A. 
Learned, 1904-05; W. W. Clark, 1905-06; Edward 
Cunningham, 1906-07; Adolph Heeg, 1907-09; William 
Wolf, 1909-12; W. K. Harper, 1912-13; William Wolf, 
1913-14; Thomas Ward, 1914-15; W. K. Harper, 1915- 
16; William Wolf, 1916-17; Hugh E. St Clair, 1917-23. 

CLERKS. 

J. J. Springer, 1885-86; Henry Strauss, 1886-87 (tie 
vote decided by lot between Henry Strauss and David 
B. Edick); David B. Edick, 1887-88; J. C. Johnston, 
1888-89; U. G. Taylor, 1889-96; Charles Walsh, 1896- 
97; J. Pearson Hughes, 1897-99; U. G. Taylor. 1899- 
1902; Tim Connell, 1902-05; Robert Gilray, 1905-09; 
N. T. Horton, 1909-12; Grant Gilray, 1912-14; Jesse 
Pendleton, 1914-16; Grant Gilray, 1916-23. 

TREASURERS. 

Henry Strauss, 1885-86; J. J. Springer, 1886-87; 
Allen Taylor, 1887-90; J. E. Schultz, 1890-92; J. D. 
Polar, 1892-99; William Priem, 1899-1901; J. D. Polar, 
1901-05; Adolph Heeg, 1905-07; Charles Haney, 1907- 
09; Charles Jackson, 1909-10; Thomas Ward, 1910-11; 
Charles Jackson, 1911-12; Thomas Ward, 1912-14; 
Hugh E. St. Clair, 1914-15; Arthur Sweet, 1915-16; 
Charles L. Jackson, 1916-17; William Bachman, 1917- 
20; Charles L. Jackson, 1920-23. 

ASSESSORS. 

Frank B. Getchell, 1885-88; H. B. Polar, 1888-92; 
Tim Connell, 1892-96; J. M. Jackson, 1896-98; H. 
Polar, Charles Tourtillotte, T. Connell, 1898-99; L. 
Clark, 1899-1900; H. B. Polar, 1900-01; Len Clark, 
1901-02; H. B. Polar, 1902-05; Joseph M. Jackson, 
1905-06; Hugh E. St. Clair, 1906-07; Tim Connell, 
1907-08; Thomas Ward, 1908-09; Herman Seidler, 
1909-10; William Jackson, 1910-11; J. W. Burkhart. 
1911-12; Charles A. Schrader, 1912-14; George Jack- 
son, 1914-15; Nels Horton, 1915-17; Harry Clark, 
1917-18; W. K. Harper, 1918-19; William Jackson, 
1919-20; W. K. Harper, 1920-21; Charles W. Tour- 
tillotte, 1921-21 ; C. F. Priem, 1922-23. 

SUPERVISORS. 

Lewis E. Pendleton, Joseph HoUister, 1885-86; J. 
R. Hollister, M. W. Dorszeki, 1886-87; James Camp- 
bell, Israel Stinson, 1887-88; Thomas M. Dobbs, 1888- 
89; Samuel Preston, Henry Ball, 1889-90; Samuel Pres- 
ton, Israel Stinson, 1890-91; David B. Edick, Samuel 
Preston, 1891-92; L. E. Pendleton, Charles Learned, 
1892-93; J. E. Schultz, Joseph Schoknecht, 1895-96; 
H. Mason, Charles Stubs, 1896-97; T. Connell, Joseph 
Schoknecht, 1897-98; William Priem, Len Clark, 1898- 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



211 



99; T. Connell, S. Austin, 1899-1900; J. M. Jackson. 
Chris Priem, 1900-01; Chris Priem, Joseph Schok- 
necht. 1901-02; Len Clark, A. Harvey. 1902-03; Joseph 
Schoknecht. Joseph Schrader, 1903-04; Joseph Schok- 
necht, C. F. Priem, 1904-05; George Jackson, Herman 
Seidler. 1905-06; H. Seidler, Charles Haney, 1906-07; 
Hugh St. Clair, George Jackson, 1907-09; Christ 
Priem, W. K. Harper, 1909-12; Tim Connell, Hugh E. 
St. Clair, 1912-13; Christ Priem. James Albino. 1913- 
14; William Bachman, James Albino. 1914-15; James 
Albino. Roy E. Larzelere. 1915-17; Henry Braun, Sam- 
uel Wagner. 1917-23. 

JUSTICES OF THE PEACE. 

George Gilmer. J. J. Springer, Simon Ball. M. Wil- 
lett. 1885-86; L. J. Whitehouse, George Gilmore, 1886- 
87; Allen C. Taylor, Henry Chase, 1887-88; T. M. 
Dobbs, Henry Chase, 1888-90; Samuel Preston, 
Charles Learned, 1888-89; J. P. Hughes. H. Seeman. 
1889-90; Henry Chase, L. H. Taylor, 1890-91; J. P. 
Hughes, Robert Armstrong, 1891-93; H. G. Chase, T. 
M. Dobbs, 1892-93; Robert Armstrong, 1895-96; R. 
H. Armstrong, Charles Helfish, 1896-97; J. P. Hughes, 
J. Hale, 1897-98; Charles Walsh, 1898-99; J. P. 
Hughes, Charles Walsh, 1899-1900; J. Hale, F. A. 
Thorn, 1900-01; Tim Connell, F. A. Thorn, 1901-02; 
T. Connell, A. Harvey, 1902-03; Tim Connell, David 
B. Edick, Frank Hufferd, 1903-04; Tim Connell, Sim 
Graves, Sylvester Albino, 1904-05; Sylvester Albino, 
1905-06; T. Connell, William Priem, 1906-07; T. Con- 
nell, Jesse Pendleton. 1907-08; Nels Horton. Len 
Clark. 1908-09; Jesse Pendleton, Tim Connell, Robert 
Gilray, 1909-10; N. T. Horton, 1910-11; Robert Gil- 
ray, Nels T. Horton, John Kehoe, 1911-12; John Ke- 
hoe, N. T. Horton, 1912-13; Tim Connell, Jesse Pen- 
dleton, 1913-14; N. T. Horton, Jesse Pendleton, 1914- 
15; Nels T. Horton, Leonard Clark, 1915-16; Leon- 
ard Clark, Thomas Albino, 1916-17; W. K. Harper, 
Charles Tourtillotte, 1917-18; W. K. Harper, Jesse 
Pendleton, 1918-19; Thomas Clark, W. K. Harper, 
1919-20; M. Roix, A. Dreger, 1920-21; W. K. Harper, 
1921-23. 

CONSTABLES. 

John Gibson, Henry Chase, Stephen H. Austin, 
1885-86; J. Stinson, Ed Schultz, 1886-87; Edward 
Schultz, Israel Stinson, 1887-88; James Polar, H. 
Smith, J. E. Schultz, J. P. Hughes, 1888-89; J. E. 
Schultz, T. Connell, Samuel Preston, C. Learned, 1889- 
90; J. E. Schultze, Al Chase, 1890-91; D. Jackson, 
Samuel J. Robinson. 1891-93; J. Polar. 1892-93; J. 
Rouse, William Magee, D. Jackson, J. E. Schultz, 
1895-96; Alex Henry, James Brennan, 1896-97; J. 
Pendleton, F. W. Hoffman, 1897-98; Samuel Brown, 
Robert Armstrong, 1898-99; George Jackson, Nels Van- 
derhoof, 1899-1900; George Jackson, Woodsel Gibbs, 
1900-01; John Polar, Jesse Pendleton, 1901-02; L. Pen- 
dleton, L. Clark, 1902-03; Charles Harney, 1903-04; 
Charles Harney, W. Gibbs, 1904-05; Boone Gibbs, 
1905-06; Boone Gibbs, Woodsel Gibbs. 1906-07; John 



Kehoe. Axel Oleson. 1907-08; John Spauss. 1908-09; 
Joseph Goldberg. Joseph Schrader. 1909-10; Simon 
Brennan. 1910-12; Boone Gibbs, 1912-13; Fred Domke, 
1913-14; Ed Cunningham, Otto Priem, 1914-15; George 
Sparks, Harry Clark, 1915-16; Boone Gibbs, Harry 
Clark, 1916-17; Art Bartels, H. Getchell, Ralph Getch- 
ell, 1917-18; Joseph Schrader, Merrill Clark, 1918-19; 
M. Clark, J. GoberviUe, 1919-20; H. Clark, Joseph 
Goldberg. 1920-21; Robert Schuster. 1921-22; Vincent 
Dazinski, 1922-23. 

DISTRICT NO 1. 

PICKEREL DISTRICT. Joseph M. Jackson, bring- 
ing with him his worldly possessions, came to Lang- 
lade County from Bailey's Harbor. Wisconsin, in 1873 
and settled on section 7, township 33. range 13 east. 
He cleared a little space out of the forests and before 
long a comfortable home was erected. Following him 
Thomas Simons, a native of Mary-Machee, New Bruns- 
wick. Canada, settled on section 7 in the year 1878. 
Three years before, in 1875. James McCloud. a na- 
tive of the state of Maine, came into this country fam- 
ous for its pine forests and settled on section 6. Len 
Clark, another "Maine stater." settled on section 5, on 
land purchased from the government at $1.25 per 
acre, in 1880. John Attredge, Canadian, settled on 
section 7 in 1880. Henry Chase came the year later 
from Maine, settling on section 7. The same year 
Timothy Connell. another Maine native, settled on sec- 
tion 7. In 1882 George Gilmore settled on section 7. 
James Campbell came to the district in 1883 and set- 
tled on section 5. He came from Canada. 

The first school was erected in the pine wilderness 
on section 7 in 1873. It was built by J. M. Jackson 
at a cost of $100. The lumber for its roof was hauled 
from Shawano, over the military road. Miss Ida 
Norton was the first teacher. Others were Parker 
Ross. Hattie Kittell. Henry Strauss, later a prominent 
Democrat in Langlade County politics, and Mae Beau- 
dette. The 1921-22 teacher was Berdetta Lutterman. 
The 1922-23 teacher was lone Preston. The average 
enrollment at this school is 25 pupils. 

The members of the first school board were Timo- 
thy Connell. George Gilmore and Henry Strauss. The 
old log school was used until 1893. when a frame build- 
ing was erected on section 7 at a cost of $1,000. Mi- 
chael Hafner was the first teacher in the frame school. 
The old log cabin stood for many years, "an idle beg- 
gar sunning." In 1915 the frame school was replaced 
by a modern structure erected by C. F. Dallman. 

Present industries in the district are : Charles Jackson 
store, W. K. Harper store. Pickerel Cheese & Butter 
Company cheese factory. 

The 1921-22 school officials were Robert Brown, 
Clerk; William Buckman, Director, and Charles Jack- 
son, Treasurer. 

Agriculture and lumbering are the principal indus- 
tries of the district. Large areas of timber are locat- 
ed in this region. The land is rolling and in some 
places hilly. 



212 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



Ruins of the old Hayter, Big Roll, and Little Roll 
Dams, reminiscent of pioneer lumbering on the Lily 
river, are found in this district. 

The military road and county trunk lines are the 
principal highways. 

DISTRICT NO. 7. 

ELM GROVE DISTRICT. The pioneer settler of 
this district was "Old Dutch Frank," whose identity 
has been shrouded in darkness. He was in the dis- 
trict in 1863 and operated mail headquarters on sec- 
tion 17 at the place since known as the Strauss Cross- 
ing. He was followed by Henry Strauss, who came 
from Menominee where he had operated a sawmill. 
Strauss, with William Johnston as a partner, settled in 
1867 in the district. He traded with the Chippewa 
Indians passing through the country over the Wolf 
river trails and became known for miles around as a 
friend of the Indian and a shrewd trader, fur buyer, 
trapper and scholar. Henry Strauss purchased the 
"Old Dutch Frank" place. 

Henry Strauss and "Old Dutch Frank" both secur- 
ed their merchandise and supplies from Henry An- 
drews, who was in charge of the government store at 
Keshena in 1863-68. The old crossing known as 
Strauss' Crossing can still be located on section 17. 
Trees, wild vegetation and grasses have long since 
erased from the view of the passerby for all time most 
of this historic and picturesque site of a romantic and 
stirring chapter in Langlade County's pioneer history. 

The old Lake Superior trail, mail route from Green 
Bay, Shawano and thence to the state lire, wound its 
solitary way through the district. In 1886 the sturdy 
mail carrier, who often rode many miles, fording 
streams and climbing treacherous hills, was discon- 
tinued. 

David Getchell, pioneer, came from Waterville, 
Maine, in September, 1872, and settled on the historic 
section 17. Here he has lived since on the north bank 
of the rumbling Wolf river, that defies man and time 
as the settler of today becomes the pioneer in pass- 
ing years. 

The settlers in Elm Grove district are few. The 
school was erected in 1908 by F. F. Arndt at a cost 
of $1,089. The first schools officials were Mrs. David 
Getchell, Clerk; Christopher Priem, Director, and 
Herman Seidler, Treasurer. School was held before 
the erection of the school house at the residence of 
Christopher Priem for a year and two months of the 
second term. 

Settlers in this district are : David Getchell, who 
has since 1900 operated a sawmill on the banks of the 
Wolf, section 17, Mrs. H. Armstrong, Earl Dalton, Sam 
Elliott, Charles Hoffman, Chauncey Ennis, Ed Schultz, 
John Taylor. 

Agriculture is the principal industry. 

Rev. C. D. Griese, Lutheran Pastor of Polar, visits 
at Lily every month and settlers of the Lutheran faith 
from this district attend his services. 

There are no churches, cemeteries, cheese factor- 
ies or stores in the district. 



The 1921-22 school officers were: Mrs. C. Priem, 
Clerk; Charles Hoffman, Treasurer, and Sam Elliott, 
Director. Teachers in the distirct have been: Myra 
Dempster (first), Clara Johnson, Clara Monette, Madge 
Cecil, Harriet Kohl, Maud Smith, Alfreida Bruss, Flos- 
sie Robinson, Elizabeth Folk, Irma Vorass and Aud- 
rey Schoepke. The school is located on section 16. 

DISTRICT NO. 8. 

LILY DISTRICT. This district is situated in the 
North Langlade township. The principal village is 
Lily, thriving little hamlet at the junction of the Lily 
and Wolf rivers, section 27. It was settled by the first 
pioneers to come into Langlade township. Ammesey 
Smith came to the district from New York state in 
1876, settling first at Lac Vieux Desert and then at 
Lily. S. A. Taylor came from New York into this then 
unsettled territory. Steven Austin, T. D. Kellogg, Henry 
Tourtillotte, David B. Edick, Ed Schultze, Napoleon 
Moran, John Moran, Wren Taylor, Duke Dalton, Is- 
rael Stinson, Allen Taylor, Robert Gilray, Nicholas and 
Jerome Winton, George Truesdell, Louis Pendleton 
and Henry Mason were all pioneers not only in this 
district but in the settlement of Langlade County as 
a whole. 

The great pinery of the Wolf river country was the 
attraction that brought these hardy folks into the 
dense wilderness that stretched for miles on both sides 
of the roaring, foaming and picturesque Wolf river. 

The first sawmill in the Lily district was erected by 
Thomas M. Dobbs, in 1882. Mr. Dobbs, pioneer saw- 
mill owner in Langlade County, moved his mill to 
Lily from Dobbston (Markton) where he has estab- 
lished it in 1873. In the year 1892 it was moved to 
the south arm of Post Lake, Dobbs moving to Anti- 
go to engage in a business. ' He later moved to Price 
;jwnship). 

J. E. Schultze and Allen Taylor moved the old 
John Evans sawmill, erected years before on the Ever- 
green river banks, to Lily in the winter of 1895 and 
located it on section 27. It operated until 1915. 

William and Herman Haenke moved a mill into 
the district from Polar in 1916 and after operating it 
for two years sold to Chris Wunderlich of Antigo. 
The mill closed in May, 1922, following the death of 
its owner. 

Lily district is located on the famous Military Road 
and the old stopping place erected by Ammesey Smith 
in 1876 was the scene of many pioneer activities. The 
long herds of cattle, often driven from Shawano to 
the copper regions of Michigan, slowly trod this im- 
portant highway. Their herders, stopping on the way, 
fraternalized with the dam tenders, timbermen, Indian 
traders, prospectors and river drivers. This was a 
country close to the throne of the Almighty. Man in 
his mad quest for wealth and power, had not begun 
to despoil it. 

On section 15 of North Langlade township, David B. 
Edick kept a stopping place for Timothy Craine, lum- 
berman, who was active in timber operations in the 
Wolf river country for many years. 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



213 



Henry Ball and sons came to Lily from Shiocton in 
1881 and erected a general store on sections 27. They 
had their supplies and merchandise in the Amessey 
Smith place in September, 1881, when the historic 
cyclone of that year went through eastern Langlade 
County. They operated their store until 1888, when 




DELLS OF THE WOLF RIVER 

The junction of the \Vo]f and Lily rivers is at Lily. The 

dells are down stream from Lily in the ?vIenomince 

Lidian territory. 

Charles and Jesse Walsh came from Black Creek, 
Outagamie County, and took over the business. They 
moved to Antigo after seven years and June 5, 1895, 
the store was taken over by William Priem, who has 
a general store at Lily now. At the time William 
Priem came to Lily, Israel Stinson had a little store 
there. 

The first school in the district was a one room log 



cabin erected on section 27. Miss Dempster was an 
early teacher. This school was used for a short time 
until a frame structure was erected on section 34. The 
frame school was used until 1895, when a second 
frame school was erected. The second frame school 
was used until 1914, when C. F. Dallman, Antigo con- 
tractor, erected a brick structure on section 34 at a 
cost of $4,600. 

The old frame school was purchased for $100 by 
William Priem, July 6, 1914. 

The Lily school is a state graded school of high 
rank. The 1921-22 officials were: Director, George 
Getchell; Treasurer, Roy Larzelere; Clerk, W. W. 
Clark. Mrs. Robert Dewey was Principal and Miss 
Nellie McDougal, assistant instructor, in 1921-22. The 
average enrollment is 55 pupils. 

Lily has had a number of postmasters, as follows: 
George Taylor, Sim Ball, Wren Taylor, Israel Stinson, 
Charles Walsh, William Priem and Osca Tourtillotte. 

The Lily cemetery is located on section 35. 

There is still a vast area of valuable standing tim- 
ber in the district. 

Turtle Lake is located on section 28. 

Before the spur track was laid from Bryant to Kent 
it was difficult for Lily settlers to get to Shawano or 
Antigo. This was also before the universal use of 
the automobile. The year 1914 brought the Wiscon- 
sin & Northern Railroad into the district, opei>ing up to 
the outside world the resources of the country. In 
1921 this road was purchased by the Minneapolis, St. 
Paul & Sault Ste. Marie Railroad. Extensive improve- 
ments are contemplated and before many years the 
main Soo line will pierce eastern Langlade County. 
Lily has a depot erected in 1919 on section 34. 

From the day when the red man using his bateaux 
on the Wolf or portaging about its rapids, on through 
the years of pine timber conquest to the present day 
of the prosperous farmer, the modern automobile 
and speeding locomotive, the Lily or the village of 
New, as S. A. Taylor once named it, has lived on. Its 
years in the unknown tomorrow may be for bigger and 
better things. 



214 



HISTORY OF LANGLADE COUNTY. 



CHAPTER XLII. 

Neva Township No. 32 N., R. 11 E. 

Derivation of Name — Location — Soil — Early History — Organization — First Town Meeting — Early 
and Present Industries — Roads — Churches — Cemeteries — Granges — Schools — School District 
Boundaries — Township Chairmen, Clerks, Treasurers, Justices of the Peace, Supervisors, Assess- 
ors— 1883-1923— First Bank— Cheese Factories. 



Neva township was named in honor of Chief Neva, 
leader of a tribe of Chippewa Indians, who visited at 
what is now known as Neva Corners on their way north 
to Post Lake in an early day. Once one of the larg- 
est, it is now one of the smallest townships in Lang- 
lade County, embracing a territory of thirty-six square 
miles or one Congressional Township No. 32, North of 
Range 11 East. It is bounded on the north by Up- 
ham, on the east by Price, on the west by Peck and on 
the south by Antigo townships. Springbrook runs 
through sections 1, 11, 15, 20, 21, 22 and 30. The 
surface of the township is generally level except in the 
northwestern part. Originally the land was covered 
with a thick growth of white pine, elm, beech, maple 
and oak, which was rapidly cut. Neva township is a 
splendid agricultural district comparing favorably with 
any other section of Wisconsin. In 1878 it belonged 
to Langlade township, Oconto County. It was survey- 
ed by H. C. Fellows, U. S. Deputy Surveyor, in Sep- 
tember, 1860. 

ORGANIZATION IN 1883. 

Neva township was organized January 11, 1883, by 
the Langlade County Board of Supervisors. Super- 
visor H. Heim of Norwood township introduced the 
resolution in which all territory in townships No. 32, 33, 
34, 35, 36 and 37 of Range 11 East was detached from 
Antigo township and "organized and formed into a 
new town to be henceforth known as "Neva township." 
The proposed ordinance was recommended by the 
Committee on Town Organization, consisting of Hon. 
F. A. Deleglise, Moritz Mueller and Henry Heim of 
Antigo, Polar and Norwood townships respectively in 
accordance with section 6, chapter 7, laws of 1882. 
Thus Neva came into existence and has since been the 
pride of its citizens and the county as well. 

Neva township, when organized, contained 216 
square miles or six Congressional townships. We 
shall now learn how the townships were detached and 
how Neva township was cut to its present area. 

November 14, 1883, an unsuccessful attempt was 
made by C. C. De Long, S. B. Roberts and others of 
Neva township to have townships 35, 36 and 37 (now a 
part of Oneida County) detached and incorporated 
into a town to be known as Pelican township. The 
petition was laid over by the Committee on Town Or- 
ganization until December 13, 1883, when an ordinance 
was passed creating Pelican township. Thus the three 
northern townships of Neva township were severed 



making Neva township one-half of its original area 
of January, 1883 or 108 square miles, (three Congres- 
sional townships). These three Congressional town- 
ships are yet within the limits of Langlade County, 
two of which form part of Elcho and Upham townships 
respectively. 

In February, 1887, township 34, range 11 east, was 
detached from Neva township by an ordinance drawn 
up by District Attorney John E. Martin to become a 
part of Elcho township. This action cut Neva town- 
ship, once a vast territory stretching north thirty-six 
miles, to two Congressional townships, 32 and 33 of 
range 11 east. Neva township remained as such until 
township 33 was detached to form a part of Upham 
township in 1894 and from that year Neva township has 
consisted of one township No. 3