(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Lehi, including a biographical section"

THE Lib* 
^ GHJ %mO, UTAH 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 
in 2009 with funding from 
Brigham Young University 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyoflehiincOObyugard 



HISTORY OF LEHI 

INCLUDING 

A Biographical Section 



. O 










Vvw^ 



PUBLISHED BY 

THE LEHI PIONEER COMMITTEE 

WRITTEN BY 

HAMILTON GARDNER 



THE DESERET NEWS 

Salt Lake City, Utah 

1913 



BfclGHAM YOUNG U ^ 

PROVO, UTAH 



"What do zee want with this vast worthless 
area; this region of savages and wild beasts, 
of deserts, of shifting sands and whirlwinds of 
dust, of cactus and prairie dogs? To -what use 
could zee ever hope to put these great deserts, 
or those endless Imountain ranges, impenetrable, 
and covered to their very base with eternal 
snow?. What can we ever hope to do with the 
western coast, a coast of 3,000 miles, rock- 
bound, cheerless, uninviting, and not a harbor 
on it? Mr. President, I will never vote one cent 
from the public treasury to place the Pacific 
Coast one inch nearer to Boston than it now is." 
(Daniel Webster, in U. S. Senate.) 



PREFACE. 

THIS history is issued under the direction of the Lehi 
Pioneer Committee, consisting of William S. Evans, 
Andrew Fjeld, George N. Child, Martin B. Bushman, and 
Andrew B. Anderson. The securing of necessary facts 
for the Pioneer Monument at its erection in 1908 brought 
to light so much valuable historical matter that the com- 
mittee determined to give it permanent book form. This 
proposal was approved by the people of the city in a pub- 
lic meeting, and work was immediately started on the pro- 
ject ; it has continued uninterruptedly since. 

The material for the volume has been gathered from 
many sources. James Kirkham, while acting as tithing 
clerk, Frank Butt, as clerk of the Lehi Second Ward (ec- 
clesiastical), W. Karl Hopkins, Principal of the Lehi 
High School, and Ephraim J. Child, have searched out a 
store of useful information. But most of the data has 
been gathered by the Pioneer Committee itself by personal 
conversation and wide-reaching correspondence. In this 
work, special credit must be accorded Bishop Andrew 
Fjeld, who for many months has devoted a large part of 
his time to this history. 

While most of the city records are in fairly good 
condition, some periods are almost wholly lacking, and it 
was only with extreme difficulty that the missing facts 
could be ascertained. The lack of records concerning the 
settlement of the city is more than compensated in com- 
pleteness and accuracy by the practical unanimity of tes- 
timony from the many participants consulted. 



vi HISTORY OF LEHI. 

Although one of the chief aims in the writing of this 
history has been to make it absolutely as accurate as pos- 
sible, it is unbelievable that some mistakes of time, place, 
or identity have not crept in. If so, they are wholly un- 
intentional. 

Special thanks must be given to William Fothering- 
ham, Henry McConnell, and Joel W. White, who, upon 
invitation of the committee, made special trips to Lehi 
from Beaver, Cedar City, and Idaho respectively, to fur- 
nish information; Mrs. David Clark; Jacob and Edward 
Cox; Bishop Thomas R. Cutler, who went over Chapter 
XVII, and supplied many necessary facts concerning it ; 
Professor Levi Edgar Young, of the University of Utah. 
who has read a number of the chapters and offered many 
helpful suggestions ; John Woodhouse and James Har- 
wood, whose interesting accounts constitute a large part 
of whatever merit the book possesses ; and a score of oth- 
ers who have contributed to the success of the under- 
taking. 

The writer became connected with the history in the 
summer of 1912, while performing some research work 
for the department of history of the University of Utah. 
Engaged at that time by the Pioneer Committee to write 
the book, he has worked on it until the present. He leaves 
it completed now, believing that the volume is a fitting 
means of perpetuating the noble deeds of the pioneers, and 
that the history of Lehi is a valuable contribution to the 
history of the Commonwealth of which it forms a part. 

Hamilton Gardner. 
Lehi. Utah, August, 1913. 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER I. 

FOREWORD. 

History of Utah and Lehi Similar — Lehi a Typical Utah 
Town — An Anglo-Saxon Village Community — Government 
Stable — Effect of Ecclesiastical upon Civic Government — 
Character of Lehi's Growth 1 

CHAPTER II. 

EXPLORATIONS IN AND AROUND LEHI. 

1776-1849. 

Native Indians — Franciscan Friars — Provost — Ashley — First 
of Utah Pioneers — First Colony on Lake — Stansbury Party 
— Visits of Later Lehi Residents — First Pioneer Boat- 
manship — General Character of these Explorations 4 

CHAPTER III. 

PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 

1850-1851 

Brigham Young's Colonization Policy — The Peterson Party 
— White and Thomas — Royle and Clark — Daniel Cox — 
Charles Hopkins — Building Operations — The First Saw — 
Pioneer Furniture — The First Baby — The First Fort — ■ 
The First' Winter — John Ryan — Hunting and Fishing — 
An Averted Accident — The First Death— The Winter 
Safely Through — The Nucleus of the Future City 10 

CHAPTER IV. 

THE BEGINNING OF COMMUNITY LIFE. 



Other Locations than Sulphur Springs — Peter Shirts — The 
Lott Settlement — Evansville — The Dry Creek Ward — -The 
First Planting — The First Trouble with the Indians — -The 
American Fork Ditch — A Peculiar Situation — The First 
Boat Wreck— The First Boy— The First Blacksmith— The 
First Flour Mill— The Close of 1851 29 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



CHAlxER V. 
THE BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 

1852-1854 

Lehi Incorporated — Irrigation . Water Grant — Lehi's First 
Legislator — Changes in the Bishopric — Sugar Beets — 
Close of 1852— Alteration of Time of First Election — First 
Municipal Election — Minutes of the City Council — Post 
Office — Second Change in the Bishopric — Jordan Bridge 
— First City Ordinance — First School Election 42 

CHAPTER VI. 

TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 

1853-1856 , 

The Walker War — The Second Fort — Military Organization 
— Indian Expeditions — A Fort Wall Planned — Second Mu- 
nicipal Election — A Peculiar Office — Board of Examiners 
— The Fort Wall — Pioneer Day, 1854 — The Indian House 
—The Ti'ntic War 65 

CHAPTER VII. 

INITIAL STRUGGLES AND HARDSHIPS. 

1854-1856 

Grasshoppers — The First Harness — The First Threshing 
Machine — Grasshopper War — First Fruit Trees — Hard 
Times — Liberty Pole — Third Municipal Election 85 

CHAPTER VIII. 

EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 

1851-1871 

The First School House — Home Dramatic Organizations — 
The Meeting House — Choirs — First Public Library — Fife 
and Drum Corps — First Brass Band — Lehi Music Hall — 
Conclusion 93, 

CHAPTER IX. 

FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 

1856-1858 

Hand Cart Veterans — Hand Cart Disaster — Belated Immi- 
grants — An Exploring Trip — White Mountain Mission — 
Salmon River Expedition 107 



CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER X. 

THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 

, 1857-1859 

A Historic Twenty-fourth — Cavalry — Infantry — The "Move" 
— Peace Commissioners in Lehi — Camp Floyd 122 

CHAPTER XI. 

CHURCH IMMIGRATION. 

1860-1868 

First Expedition — Crossing the Plains — Further Aid to Im- 
migration — Later Immigration Expeditions 139 

CHAPTER XII. 

GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 

1859-1869 

Mulliner's Mill — Fourth Municipal Election — Introduction of 
Alfalfa — Work on the Point of the Mountain — Fifth Mu- 
nicipal Election — First Tannery — Sixth Municipal Election 
— Mail Coach Massacre — Sugar Cane — Seventh Municipal 
Election — Freighting — Eighth Municipal Election — Build- 
ing a House in 1867 148 

CHAPTER XIII. 

THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 

1865-1867 

Preliminary Expeditions — First Company to Sanpete — Sec- 
ond Company — Third Company — Fourth Company — Fifth 
Company — War Reminiscences 171 

CHAPTER XIV. 

BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 

1862-1883 

The Firm of T. and W. Taylor — Lehi Union Exchange — 
Pioneer Milliners — The Telegraph Reaches Lehi — Utah 
Southern Railroad — The People's Co-operative Institu- 
tion — The Livery Business — Denver and Rio Grande Rail- 
way — T. F. Trane Mercantile Company — The First Butcher 
— Cattle and Sheep — The First Hotels — Pioneer Drug- 
gists and Doctors — The Warm Springs — Pioneer Jewelers 185 



x HISTORY OF LEHI. 

CHAPTER XV. 
CONTINUED GROWTH. 

1868-1890 

The Swett Tragedy — The Grasshoppers Return — Ninth Mu- 
nicipal Election — The Meeting House Fire — Tenth Muni- 
cipal Election — The Cemetery Surveyed — The First City 
Hall Built — The City Grows — End of Jordan Bridge Com- 
pany- — A Sad Christmas— Eleventh Municipal Election — 
New Schools— Twelfth Municipal Election — Thirteenth 
Municipal Election — The Present City Hall Built — Irriga- 
tion Litigation — Fourteenth Municipal Election — A Cen- 
sus Taken — Fifteenth Municipal Election — New Educa- 
tional Methods — A Campaign for Shade Trees — Broadbent 
& Son — Sixteenth Municipal Election — Lehi Adopts Stand- 
ard Time — Seventeenth Municipal Election — The "Under- 
ground"- — Eighteenth Municipal Election — A Curfew Law 
Passed — Telephone — Nineteenth Municipal Election — 
Sectional Rivalry in Lehi — The Streets Named 204 



CHAPTER XVI. 
THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 

1851-1913 

Bishop David Evans — First Change in the Bishopric — Lehi's 
First Missionaries — Jehial McConnell Resigns — Quorums 
Organized — Counselor Hatch Moves to Cache Valley — 
Abel Evans, a Missionary in Wales — Sunday School Or- 
ganized — William H. Winn a New Counselor — Other Or- 
ganizations Founded — Death of Counselor Thomas Karren 
—Reorganization — Thomas R. Cutler Succeeds Bishoo 
Evans — Death of Bishop Evans — Death of Counselor Winn 
— Another Death in the Bishopric — North West Branch 
Organized — The New Tabernacle — Counsleor Clark Re- 
signs — Lehi Ward Divided — The First Ward — The Second 
Ward— The Third Ward— The Fourth Ward— The New 
West Church and School 237 

CHAPTER XVII. 

THE BEET SUGAR INDUSTRY. 

1890-1913 

Preliminary Steps — City Council Offers Bounty — The Fac- 
torv Built— The First Campaign— Officers of the Company 
— Growth of the Industry from Lehi — Effects on Lehi... 259 



CONTENTS. x J 



CHAPTER XVIII. 
PROSPERITY. 

1891-1901 

Lehi Commercial and Savings Bank — The Union Hotel — A 
Second Livery Stable— The Lehi Banner — Twentieth Mu- 
nicipal Election — President Harrison Visits Lehi — The 
Central School House — Noted Educators — Twenty-first 
Municipal Election — Old Folks' Committee — A Celebration 
in the Canyon — A Canning Factory — James Kirkham & 
Sons — Stoker — Twenty-second Municipal Election — The 
Industrial Army — Twenty-third Municipal Election — Lehi 
Celebrates Statehood — -Twenty-fourth Municipal Election 
Electricity Reaches Lehi — Spanish War Heroes — Twenty- 
fifth Municipal Election— The Citv Park — Emigration — 
Lehi Mercantile Company — Twenty-sixth Mun'cipal Elec- 
tion — Cotter's Grocery 268 

CHAPTER XIX. 
MODERN LEHI. 

1902-1913 

The Pumping Station — Twenty-seventh Municipal Election 
— Racker Mercantile Company — Primary School House — 
Twenty-eighth Municipal Election- — Business Growth — 
Commercial Club — The Lehi High School — Twenty-ninth 
Municipal Election — Pioneer Monument — City Water 
Works — Legislation by the City Council — -Thirteenth Mu- 
nicipal Election — Public Library — Grammar School Build- 
ing — Home-Coming Week — Agricultural Development— 
Thirty-first Municipal Election — Paving of Sidewalks — 
Inter-urban Railway 292 

CHAPTER XX. 

TODAY AND TOMORROW. 

Lehi Proud of Her Past — Satisfaction with the Present — 
Land Valuable — Aid from Industry — An Ideal Residence 
Town — Opportunity for Diversion — Outlook for the Future 319 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Hyland D. Wilcox 7 

John Jacobs 8 

Brigham Young 10 

Canute Peterson 11 

David Savage 12 

Joel W. White and Wife... 14 

David Clark 15 

.Mrs. Lucy Cox 16 

Henry McConnelJ 18 

Mrs. "Elizabeth T. Moorehead 19 

Claiborne Thomas and Wife 20 
.Mr-. Azubia Deseret Cox 

Hardwick 21 

Plan of Fort at Snow Springs 22 

Mr-. Israel Evans 24 

Mrs. David Savage 25 

Mrs. David Clark 26 

William S. Riggs 27 

James Clark 28 

Abraham Losee 30 

Mrs. Pamelia Lott 31 

Bishop David Evans 32 

Ira J. Willes 33 

John Fotheringham and 

Charlotte Fotheringham.. 34 

Preston Moorehead 35 

Mr-. Ann Moorehead Thomas 36 

William Fotheringham .... 37 

II. M. Rovle 38 

Joseph J. Smith 39 

Abram Hatch 40 

Mr-. Abigail Evans Lott... 41 

Orrace Murdoch 51 

Martin Bushman 52 

Silas P. Barnes 54 

Thomas Taylor 56 

lohn S. Lott 57 

Alonzo I). Rhodes 58 

Daniel S. Thomas 60 

Present I '.ridge on Si 1 

Old Jordan Bridge 61 

William Goates 62 



Sylvanus Collett 64 

Alexander Loveridge 66 

John Brown 67 

Capt. William S. S. Willes 69 

James Harwood 70 

Commission of David Evans 
as Major of the Xauvoo 

Legion— the Utah Militia 72 

Thomas Ashton 73 

Harrison Burgess 74 

Plan of the Fort 77 

Charles Barnes 79 

Samuel Briggs 81 

James Lamb 82 

Mrs. Peter Schow 87 

Mrs. Canute Peterson 88 

Cradling Grain 90 

Mrs. Johannah Jacobs 91 

William Snow 92 

Elisha H. Davis, Sr., and 

Wife 94 

Mrs. James W. Taylor.... 96 

Mrs. Isabell Judd 97 

Meeting House 98 

Edward W. Edwards 100 

John L. Gibb 101 

Interior of Meeting House. 103 

I saac W. Fox 104 

Abraham Enough 105 

Mrs. Sarah S. Brown 108 

Mrs. Betsey Smith Goodwin 109 

Mrs. Rebecca Pilgrim Goates 110 

Mrs. M uriah Loader 112 

Mr-. William Hall 113 

Mrs. Carl J. E. Ejeld 114 

Mr-. I [enry Simmonds 115 

len- Holm 117 

Xewal A. Brown 118 

Mr-. Hannah S. Bone 119 

Mr-. Joseph Broadbent 120 

Weslej Mi den 126 

Luke Titcomb 127 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Henry Simmonds 129 

Riley Judd 130 

Joseph Slater 131 

John Zimmerman and Wife 134 

John C. Nagle 137 

Edwin Standring 141 

William Ball 142 

Thomas R. Jones 145 

Paulinas H. Allred 146 

Samuel Mulliner 149 

Commission of David Evans 

as Mayor 151 

James Q. Powell 154 

William Dawson 155 

John R. Murdock 157 

Residence of David Evans. 158 

Lorenzo H. Hatch 160 

Thurman School 1 [ouse .... 162 

I saac Goodwin 166 

Israel Evans . . . 167 

John Woodhouse 168 

George William Kirkham.. 172 

William Yates 173 

Frank Molen and Wife.... 176 

Andrew A. Peterson 178 

William L. Hutchings 180 

Charles Phillips 181 

William W. Taylor 186 

Building of Lehi Union Ex- 
change 188 

William Wanlass 189 

.Mrs. Barbara Evans Bush.. 191 
Utah Southern Station in 

1873 192 

William Bone, Sen 194 

Hans Hammer 195 

An Old Loom 198 

Saratoga 202 

Carl J. E. Fjeld 205 

William H. Winn 207 

Thomas Fowler 209 

William Gurney 210 

John Austin 211 

John Johnson and Anna 

Johnson 212 

George William Thurman.. 214 

Ross School House 216 

Franklin School House 217 



Samuel R. Thurman 219 

City Hall 220 

Andrew' R. Anderson 222 

Lehi's First Baseball Team. 224 

Simon P. Eggertson 226 

Joseph Broadbent 227 

Oley Ellingson 228 

William Clark 229 

George Webb 232 

Birdie Stoddard 233 

Samuel Taylor 234 

James T. Powell 235 

Abel Evans 241 

James W. Taylor 242 

Mrs. Rebecca Standring.... 244 
Bishop Thomas R. Cutler. . 245 

Third Ward Chapel 248 

Laying of Corner Stone of 

New Tabernacle 25(1 

Lehi Tabernacle 252 

Bishop Andrew Fjeld 254 

Bishon James H. Gardner.. 255 

Bishop 1 lenry Lewis 256 

Bishop John Stoker 257 

New West School Mouse.. 258 

John Beck 262 

"Clarence A. Granger 263 

The Sugar Factorv in 1895. 266 

Robert Stoddard 269 

Abel John Evans 271 

Central School House 273 

First Old Folks Committee 276 
fames P. Carter and Wife.. 27* 

lohn Roberts Jr. 280 

John S. Willes 282 

Sego Lily School House... 283 
Spanish War Volunteers... 284 

Mosiah Evans 287 

City Pavilion 288 

George Austin 291 

Jordan Pumping Station in 

Winter 293 

Largest Motor and Pump at 

Jordan Pumping Station. 295 
Primary School Building.. 297 

Thomas W r ebb 299 

Lehi Roller Mills 301 

Pioneer Monument 304 



xiv HISTORY OF LEHI. 

Lehi Pioneer Committee. .. 305 State Street 314 

Main Street 307 Plant of Utah Lake Irriga- 

Fourth Ward Chapel 309 tion Company 316 

Edward Southwick 311 William E. Racker VI 

Grammar School Building. 312 



INDEX to BIOGRAPHICAL SECTION, 



Anderson, Andrew R 325 

Anderson, Mary Ann Ped- 

erson 326 

Anderson, Nelsina 327 

Anderson, Andrew Bjrring. 328 

Anderson, Johannah J. J.. . . 330 

Anderson, Mons 330 

Anderson, Christine Bensen 331 

Ashton, Thomas 332 

Ashton, Araminta L 333 

Austin, John 334 

Ball, William 336 

Barnes, Silas P 337 

Bone, John 339 

Bone, Hannah S 339 

Bone, William, Sr 340 

Bone, William, Jr 340 

Briggs, Samuel 341 

Broadbent, Joseph 342 

Broadbent, Sarah Dixon... 343 

Bushman, Martin 344 

Bushman, Martin B 346 

Bushman, John 347 

Carter, James Perry, and 

Wife 348 

Child, John J 349 

Child, Elizabeth A 349 

Clark, David 350 

Clark, Myra Williams 350 

Clark William 351 

Clark, Jane 351 

Coleman, Sarah T. .' 352 

Collett, Svlvanus 353 

Cutler, Thomas R 355 

Davis, Elisha H 356 

Davis, Mary Ann M 359 

Dickerson, W. W 360 

Dorton, Joseph A 360 

Dorton, Martha C 361 

Edwards, Edward W 361 

Evans, Abel 363 

Evans, Mary Jones 363 



Evans, Abel John 364 

Evans, William S 366 

Evans, David 367 

Evans, Barbara Ann 368 

Evans, Rebecca C 371 

Evans, Israel 372 

Evans, Matilda Thomas.... 372 

Evans, David, Jr 373 

Fjeld, Carl J. E 374 

Fjeld, Anna Olson 376 

Fjeld, Andrew 377 

Fotheringham, William .... 379 

Gardner, James H 380 

Gardner, Rhoda P. H 382 

Goates, William ... 383 

Goates, Rebecca Pilgrim... 385 

Goodwin, Isaac 386 

Goodwin, Isaac H 387 

Goodwin. Betsy Smith 388 

Gough, James 388 

Gough, Charlotte Crockett. 389 

Gurney, William 389 

Hadfield, William 390 

Hammer, Hans 391 

Hammer, Anne C. 392 

Holm, Jens and Family.... 392 

Ingalls, M. W 393 

Jackson, Mary Joynson.... 395 

Johnson, John 396 

Jones, Ellen W 396 

Karren, Thomas 397 

Karren, John 398 

Karren, Maria Lawrence... 398 

Kirkham, George William. 399 

Knudson, Thorsten 400 

Lamb, James J 401 

Larson, Lars Victor 402 

Lewis, Henry 402 

Losee, Abraham 403 

Lott, Permelia Darrow 404 

Moorehead, Elizabeth T. . . 405 

Mulliner, Samuel 406 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Peterson, Andrew A 407 

Peterson, Mary A. Pherson 408 

Peterson, Andrew F 408 

Peterson, Hannah C. (Jones) 409 

Peterson, Canute 410 

Powell, James Q 412 

Powell, Thaddeus 413 

Powell, Ester A. A 414 

Racker, William E 414 

Racker, Frederick E 415 

Roberts, John, Jr 416 

Robinson, George G 417 

Ross, John E .. 418 

Russon, Lot, and Eliza 

Round 419 

Royle, Henry 420 

Royle, Ann Capstick 421 

Schow, George P 421 

Smith, Joseph Johnson.... 423 

Smith, Ann Coleman 424 

Smith, Sarah A. L 425 

Southwick. William 426 

Southwick, Edward 429 

Southwick, Ann .Maria T. . . 430 

Southwick, Edward, Jr 431 

Standring, Edwin 431 

Standring, Rebecca S 432 

Stewart, John and Lydia... 433 



Taylor, William W 434 

Taylor, Samuel R 435 

Taylor, Martha Ann Fox. . . 436 

Thomas, Daniel S 437 

Thurman, George William. . 438 

Titcomb, Luke 439 

Trane, Thomas F 440 

Trane, Eliza M 442 

Vaughn. Michael 443 

Webb, George 444 

Webb, Mary Ann W 445 

Webb, John Stokes 446 

Webb, Hannah Grace 447 

Webb. William and Harriet 448 

Whipple. Robert John .... 449 

Whipple, Susie Winn 450 

Willes, Ira J 451 

Willes. Mellisa L. S 451 

Willes. William S. S 452 

Willes, Alzina Lucinda .... 454 

Wing. John William 455 

Wing, Tohn William, Jr. . . . 456 

Winn, William H 458 

Woodhouse, John 459 

Worlton. John 460 

Worlton, Anna B 461 

Zimmerman, John 462 



HISTORY OF LEHL 



CHAPTER I. 

Foreword. 



THE history of Lehi is almost the history of Utah 
in miniature. The same type of people founded 
the city; the same trend and kind of growth is evi- 
dent; the same struggles and hardships were com- 
mon to both; the same events left their effects on 
both; the same influences of uplift and betterment 
were at work — Lehi is but a small-scale reproduction 
of Utah. 

As a type of Utah town, Lehi is an exceptionally 
good one ; because its history began so early. Hence 
it expresses in true terms that which was common to 
all the contemporary history of the Commonwealth. 
Here was no need to hide anything. Unlike Salt 
Lake City, the founders of Lehi were not under crit- 
ical and unfriendly observation, so the people were at 
liberty to live out their ideals as they desired. Their 
subsequent record bespeaks the high character of 
those ideals. 

Furthermore, Lehi is not only a typical Utah 
town, but an excellent type of the Anglo-Saxon vil- 
lage community as well. In their every step in gov- 
ernment, the people of the little community have ex- 
pressed those civic ideas common to the race. Like 

2 



2 HISTORY OF LEHI. 

their Teutonic and New England forefathers, they in- 
herently built up a type of government which had as 
its chief characteristic the independence of the local 
unit. The town meeting was the universal way of 
transacting community business, just as it was with 
the Puritans — whose descendants, indeed, these pio- 
neers were. Their race expressed itself; the Anglo- 
Saxon blood was supreme. Their governments, 
whether municipal, county, or state, were always 
characterized by their stability and democracy. 

To many, this fact may not seem worthy of men- 
tion. Yet a mere glance at the history of the West 
at the time will show that it is sufficiently remark- 
able. Civilization had as yet not become firmly 
planted west of the Missouri. Indeed, the frontier 
settlements along that river were famous for their law- 
lessness and wildness. For many years afterwards, 
in fact, there could be found very few firmly estab- 
lished governments of any kind in the West. Yet 
these pioneers transplanted bodily the law and order 
to which they had formerly been accustomed, and 
they had no more than found a permanent resting 
place in the mountains than they established a gov- 
ernment whose superior in strength and equality of 
rights could not be found in America. 

That ecclesiastical and civic governments very 
much overlapped at first there is no denying. Nor 
need this occasion any great wonder. The pioneers 
had come west for a religious ideal — their religion 
was their life: it permeated all their activities and 
necessarily colored them. Yet there is no doubt that 
just such a bond was needed to hold together these 



FOREWORD. 3 

people in the foundation of a commonwealth. Surely 
the boundless wealth lying in the mountains, the 
fortunes in hunting and trapping, were not the goals 
which enticed the pioneers towards the Rockies. 
Their every action proclaims their migration to be 
only the working out of the desire for freedom of 
conscience. Yet if church and state were intermixed 
in Utah, Lehi was perhaps more free from such a 
condition than some other towns , because of the ex- 
ceptionally early establishment of her municipal gov- 
ernment. 

The character of Lehi's founders is exemplified in 
the steady, consistent growth of the city as a result 
of their foundations. It was no mushroom mining 
camp they built, nor yet a transient trading post ; it 
was a home. Permanency was the keynote of their 
pioneer life. And that their work was not in vain the 
flourishing city of today bears unmistakable witness. 



CHAPTER II. 

Explorations in and Around Lehi. 



NATIVE INDIANS. 

JUST what Indian tribes have resided on the north 
end of Utah Lake, how long they have remained 
there, what constituted their customs and manner of 
living, is to history unknown. Definite is, however, 
that this part of Utah Valley has long been a haunt 
of the dusky redmen, because numerous arrow heads, 
stone mills, and other weapons and utensils have 
been excavated near the springs and other meeting 
places of the savages. On entering the valley, white 
men found small bands from the neighboring Utah 
tribes, who eked out a meager existence from fishing 
in the lake and raising small quantities of Indian corn. 
Like their tribesmen, they were nomads and wan- 
dered from place to place as their food supply dimin- 
ished or was exhausted. 

FRANCISCAN FRIARS. 

The actual settlers of Lehi were not the first white 
men to view the site of the future city by almost a 
century. In July, 1776, two Franciscan monks from 
Xew Mexico, Francisco Antanasio Dominguez and 
Silvester Velez de Escalante, determined to find, if 
possible, a short route from Santa Fe to California, 
and accordingly set out for the northwest. Their 



1776-1825] EXPLORATIONS. 5 

wanderings — which took them through western Col- 
orado and eastern Utah — finally brought them down 
the Provo River into the Utah Valley, and they were 
the first white men to behold the beautiful lake which 
lies nestling there. This was probably in the early 
part of September. They christened the Jordan the 
Santa Ana, and found it and the other streams in the 
vicinity, as well as the lake, to be teeming with fish. 
The Indians, the Spaniards tell us, lived in willow 
huts and subsisted from hunting and fishing, the 
former because plenty of bear, deer, buffalo, jackrab- 
bits, and wild fowl were found in the neighborhood. 
After stopping a short time in the inviting valley, the 
friars resumed their journey late in September, and 
passing along the Sevier River reached New Mexico. 

PROVOST. 

As to who the next white men were to visit the 
site of Lehi, nothing can be definitely ascertained. It 
is stated that a trapper named Provost (sometimes 
spelled Proveau) visited the north end of the valley, 
and it is presumed that Provo is named after him. 
His visit is supposed to have been in 1820, but this 
fact cannot be verified. Undoubtedly, however, some 
of the numerous trappers and hunters who were roam- 
ing the West in the early '20's for the Hudson Bay 
Company and the North American Fur Company 
visited the lake and hunted along its shores. 

ASHLEY. 

One such person, William N. Ashley of St. Louis, 
led, in 1825, a company of considerable size to the 



6 HISTORY OF LEHI. ri825-i849 

West arid founded Fort Ashley on the lake. From 
the fort, this body of water was long known as Lake 
Ashley. It is not unreasonable to believe, also, that 
some of the many immigrants, missionaries, and ad- 
venturers, who passed through Utah on their way 
west between 1830 and 1845, stopped temporarily in 
Utah Valley, lured by the pleasant scenery and smil- 
ing beauty of the lake. Known among these, how- 
ever, is scarcely any other than John C. Fremont, the 
intrepid explorer and subsequent presidential candi- 
date. 

FIRST OF UTAH PIONEERS. 

On July 27th, 1847, just three days after the arrival 
of the first company of pioneers, Orson Pratt, while 
out with an exploring party in the southern end of 
Salt Lake Valley, climbed a high range of hills and 
obtained the first glimpse of Utah Lake. The honor 
of being the first to explore it fell to other hands. On 
August 5, Jesse C. Little returned from an explor- 
ing expedition in Utah Valley, and reported that the 
soil there was exceptionally well adapted for cultiva- 
tion. 

FIRST COLONY ON LAKE. 

The pioneers were not slow to take advantage of 
this favorable report. As early as 1849, a party under 
the leadership of John S. Higbee founded a colony 
and built a fort on the present site of Provo. Con- 
tinual altercations with the Indians, however, made 
its early existence a difficult one. 

STANSBURY PARTY. 

It was in this same year that the first survey — in- 



1849] 



EXPLORATIONS. 



complete as it must have been — was made of Utah 
Lake. This work was under the direction of Captain 
Howard Stansbury, of the United States Army, who 
proved to be a loyal and useful friend to the strug- 
gling colonists. 

VISITS OF LATER LEHI RESIDENTS. 

Before any attempt had been made to establish a 
colony on the site of Lehi, two of the city's later res- 
idents passed through 
the place. Neither knew 
at the time that they 
should later become 
citizens of the commu- 
nity to be founded 
there. The first of these 
was Hyland D. Wilcox. 
A boy of thirteen then, 
he had crossed the 
plains in 1849 in com- 
pany with Ephraim 
Brown, who settled in 
Draper after his arrival. 
It was as companion to 
this man that Wilcox 
came into the north end 

of Utah Valley, some hyland d. wilcox. 

time between July fifteenth and twentieth of the same 
year, in search of grazing land for their cattle. On 
Dry Creek they encountered a camp of Indians whose 
none too cordial welcome caused Brown to decide 
that other places would be more suitable for pastur- 
age, so they returned to Draper. 




HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1849 






Ill 1849 also, John Jacobs passed through the site of 
Lehi on his way to Cali- 
fornia. Leaving Illinois 
May 18, and crossing 
the plains in a company 
under charge of Ezra T. 
Benson, he arrived in 
Salt Lake, October 31. 
About one week later 
he joined a company 
bound for California. 
They passed Dry Creek 
about November 10, 
and camped over night 
on a spring southeast of 
the present city, pro- 
ceeding immediately on 
their way. Two years 
later, Jacobs purchased 
a lot in Evansville, and took up his permanent resi- 
dence upon it in the spring of 1852. 

FIRST PIONEER BOATMANSHIP. 

To Parley P. Pratt must be accredited the honor of 
being the first pioneer to navigate the waters of the 
lake, according to the following statement from his 
journal (p. 402) : 

"Some time in December (1847), having finished 
sowing wheat and rye, I started, in company with a 
Brother Higby and others, for Utah Lake with a boat 
and fish net. We traveled some thirty miles with our 
boat, etc., on an ox wagon, while some of us rode on 



**k 



JOHN JACOBS. 



1849] EXPLORATIONS. 9 

horseback. This distance brought us to the foot of 
Utah Lake, a beautiful sheet of fresh water, some 
thirty-six miles long by fifteen broad. Here we 
launched our boat and tried our net, being probably 
the first boat and net ever used on this sheet of water 
in modern times." [Pratt was probably wrong in this 
statement, as can be readily seen from the list of 
trappers and explorers who preceded him.] 

"We sailed up and down the lake shore on its west- 
ern side for many miles, but had only poor success in 
fishing. We, however, caught a few samples of moun- 
tain trout and other fish." 

GENERAL CHARACTER OF 1HESE EXPLORATIONS. 

All these stops on Utah Lake were only temporary. 
Spanish monk, American trapper, explorer, and ad- 
venturer alike were drawn to its shores only for gain 
or adventure. To make a permanent colony was far 
from being their aim. It remained for the Mormon 
pioneers to send out the expedition which resulted in 
the city of Lehi. 



CHAPTER III. 

Permanent Foundations. 



WHEN the Mormons entered Utah, in 1847, it 
was their intention to remain permanently. 
The desire for gold and the search for adventure were 
not the phantoms which lured them from their homes 
in Illinois to an unknown land in the \Yest. Like the 

Pilgrims of old, they 
hoped in a new country 
to find liberty — civic 
and religious — and the 
opportunity of carrying 
out their ideals and per- 
forming their destiny 
free from the molesta- 
tions of persecution and 
bigotry. Their memor- 
able pilgrimage across 
the plains — a march al- 
most without parallel in 
the annals of history — 
brought them at last to 
their mountain home. 
Under the leadership of 
Brigham Young — long 
regarded by both Utahn and stranger as one of the 
greatest pioneers of history — they immediately pro- 




BRIGHAM YOUNG. 



1850] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



11 



ceeded to establish a permanent abiding place, and 
began the heart-breaking task of wresting a liveli- 
hood from the desert waste which they found. 

One of the first moves undertaken by the Mor- 
mon authorities was to explore new land for their 
co-religionists who should come later. Parties were 
sent out into all adja- 
cent parts of the Terri- 
tory to find suitable sites 
for colonization. In this 
way Brigham Young 
became thoroughly ac- 
quainted with the coun- 
try and was able to give 
pertinent advice to new- 
comers who desired a 
place to settle. Among 
other places such a par- 
ty of home-seekers en- 
tered Utah Valley in 
1850. 

THE PETERSON PARTY. 

Having heard favor- 
able reports in regard to 

the land around American Fork Creek, a party corm 
posed of Canute Peterson, David Savage, Charles 
Hopkins, Henry Royle, William S. Empey, William 
Wadsworth, and Surveyor Lemmon, set out on an 
exploring expedition to Utah Valley in July, 1850. 
They proceeded immediately to this little stream, but 
were surprised to find, on their arrival, that it was 
already pre-empted by* Washburn Chipman, Arza 




CANUTE PETERSON. 



12 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850 



Adams and others who laid claim to all the land and 
water in the vicinity. 

A disagreement arising between the two parties' 
the next morning, Peterson and his followers imme- 
diately left and stopped at another stream about three 
miles west, which, on account of the difficulty with 

which they found suffi- 
cient water for their 
horses, they named Dry 
Creek, an appellation 
much more truthful than 
poetic. After camping 
approximately on the 
site of the present City 
Park, they spent the re- 
mainder of the day in 
exploring the surround- 
ing country, going as far 
south as Utah Lake and 
as far west as the Jordan 
River. 

They found the valley 
david savage. to be covered with sage 

brush, intermingled here 
and there with a sprinkling of greasewood and bunch- 
grass and colored occasionally with a patch of sun- 
flowers or Indian paint brushes. A strip of meadow- 
grass, cane brakes, rushes and flags formed an em- 
erald border around the lake. A spring was also dis- 
covered about three-fourths of a mile north of the 
lake, and one mile east of the river, which was chris- 
tened Sulphur Springs on account of the peculiar 




1850] PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 13 

taste of the water. This spring later became the cen- 
ter around which the first settlers located. In 1853 
it came into the possession of William Snow, and 
was henceforth known as Snow's Spring. Recently 
it has become clogged with weeds and undergrowth, 
and the water has dwindled to a mere seepage. 

After their investigation of the country, the party, 
being favorably impressed with the land and its pos- 
sibilities, surveyed and located an extensive tract and 
determined to return and settle permanently. 

As to who was the first person actually to set up a 
permanent home on the site of Lehi, there exists a 
difference of opinion. There is a woeful lack of rec- 
ords, the principal actors in these stirring events have 
long since passed to the Great Beyond, and in the 
minds of the few survivors a mistiness beclouds the 
dates and events which make up this eventful his- 
tory. In all the lack of information and amid all the 
seeming disagreement as to priority, however, a dif- 
ference of only one month is found in the time of 
arrival of the first families. 

WHITE AND THOMAS. 

On the 5th of September, 1850, a band of im- 
migrants who had crossed the plains in Captain Aaron 
Johnson's company, arrived at the home of David 
Savage in Salt Lake City. Among this number was 
Joel W. White, a brother-in-law of Savage. Weary 
and footsore from their long journey, their first 
thought was of a resting place where they could build 
a home. Savage urged White and his friends to go 
to Utah Valley, offering part of the land he had taken 



14 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850 



up as an inducement. The proposal was gladly ac- 
cepted, and a week after the close of the semi-annual 
conference, held this year on the 5th of September, 
found the little company on its way south. 

Savage directed White to proceed to Sulphur 
Springs, considering that the best place to obtain 

water for domestic use. 
He promised to follow 
the next day and over- 
take the party if it 
should lose its way. 
Such a precaution was 
unnecessary, however, 
because White and his 
companions had little 
trouble in finding the 
springs, where they im- 
mediately pitched camp. 
In this company were 
the families of Joel 
William White, John 
Griggs White, Claiborne 
Thomas, and Elizabeth 

JOEL W. WHITE AND WIFE. a- tv/t u i <-ru 

T. Moorehead. The 
next day, David Savage and two hired men arrived, 
and they were followed a few days later by the family 
of Samuel D. White, brother of Joel W. and son of 
John G. White.* 




*William S. Riggs maintains that David Savage, himself and 
a young man named Hager were the first arrivals at the springs, 
having passed White's company at Little Cottonwood. The three 
later returned to Salt Lake for Savage's family. He places the 
order of arrival as follows: Savage, White, Clark, Cox. 



1850] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



15 



ROYLE AND CLARK. 

David Clark and family arrived in Salt Lake City 
August 26, 1850, having crossed the plains with a 
company of gold diggers on their way to California. 
While in the city the Clarks were entertained at the 
home of his brother-in-law, Henry. Royle. who finally 
persuaded them to ac- 
company him to Dry 
Creek. After about two 
weeks' rest for the 
wearied travelers, the 
two families began their 
southward journey with 
Royle's ox team and the 
running gear of a wag- 
on. They arrived in the 
vicinity of Dry Creek, 
September 10, 1850. 
Probably because of 
lack of knowledge of the 
country, they did not go 
directly to Sulphur 
Springs, but camped for 
the time further east on 
the Ira Willes Spring. This fact may account for the 
conflicting statements as to antecedence of arrival, 
for Joel W. White maintains that his company was 
the first to camp at Sulphur Springs, while Mrs. 
David Clark insists that she was the only woman in 
the vicinity for some time after her arrival. Royle 
and Clark found the ground around the Willes Spring 




DAVID CLARK. 



16 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850 



too marshy, so they moved their camp to the drier 
soil surrounding Sulphur Springs. 



DANIEL COX. 

Having arrived in Salt Lake City some time be- 
tween the first and fifth of September, 1850, after 

crossing the plains in 
Capt. Wall's company, 
Daniel Cox happened to 
meet Brigham Young on 
the street one day and 
asked where he should 
make his home. After 
a moment's reflection, 
President Young re- 
plied: "Brother Cox, go 
south and prosper with 
the Saints in Utah Val- 
ley." 

With these general 
directions in mind, Cox 
and his family were 
soon on their way. Hav- 
ing reached the Point of 
the Mountain, they encountered a number of men 
who advised them to settle on Dry Creek. After 
crossing the Point — an extremely hazardous under- 
taking at that time, because the way led up through 
a ravine, over the mountain, and down a hollow on 
the other side, instead of around the Point as at pres- 
ent — Cox followed the trail he found there, and, pass- 
ing about where the State Road now runs, reached 




MRS. LUCY COX. 



18S0] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 17 



Dry Creek, where he pitched camp on the east bank. 
An amusing anecdote is told about Cox's first sup- 
per. To the south of the camp lay Utah Lake, shim- 
mering and gleaming in the rays of the setting sun. 
To Cox it appeared very near, and he determined to 
get some water from it while supper was being pre- 
pared. Taking a bucket, he started on his er- 
rand. After walking for some time he noticed that 
the water appeared no nearer than at first, and so he 
gave up, filled his bucket from a spring he had 
chanced to find, and reached camp after dark, much 
chagrined, the family being considerably worried in 
the meanwhile. 

About the third day after their arrival on Dry 
Creek, they discerned several teams and wagons com- 
ing down the trail from the Point of the Mountain, 
but instead of continuing to the creek, they turned 
south towards the lake. Cox decided to follow them, 
and accordingly broke camp, caught the others and 
with them camped on Sulphur Springs. Here again 
may possibly be a disagreement, for the Cox broth- 
ers, Edward and Jacob, state that this company was 
the first to camp on Sulphur Springs, but who the 
other families were they cannot now recall. 

CHARLES HOPKINS. 

Before the end of November, 1850, Charles Hop- 
kins and Israel Evans, together with their families, 
and William Fotheringham, with his aged father and 
mother, had arrived at the colony. They were fol- 
lowed by Thomas Karren and family, who had 



18 HISTORY OF LEHI. nsso 

crossed the mountains from Salt Lake Valley near 
the present site of Alpine, and had followed the creek 
down to Sulphur Springs. Jehial McConnell and 
family were the last to arrive, and they completed the 
little colony which spent the winter of 1850-1851 at 
the spring by the lake. 

BUILDING OPERATIONS. 

The first problem for these sturdy pioneers to set- 
tle was the erection of some kind of dwelling that 
would protect them from the inclemency of the rap- 
idly approaching winter 
as well as from the pos- 
sible incursions of the 
red men. Immediately, 
therefore, they began 
felling the native Cot- 
tonwood trees which 
were to be found some 
miles up the creek, trim- 
J t ming them into logs, 

__«& \ _^ and hauling them to the 

» ^k W spring. Meantime the 

M Mk/tk ^m wagon boxes were put 

V ^ mk $mmi ^r on tne S ronn d an( l used 

^H m i J ^W for temporary quarters. 

^^^ ^^r Those early cabins 

henry McConnell. consisted of only one or 

two rooms, according to 
the size of the family — surely none too ample quar- 
ters. The walls were approximately seven feet high ; 
the roof a leaky, inadequate contrivance of willows 




1850] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



19 



and dirt, gabled at each end. The openings between 
the logs were "chinked" with pieces of wood and 
daubed with mud. A sod fireplace in one corner of 
the room served the varied purposes of cooking, fur- 
nishing heat and providing light. Doors were made 
for some of the cabins from the wagon boxes, while 
for others quilts served the same purpose. By those 
who had it, "factory" was tacked over the window 
openings, which served the double purpose of letting 
in the light and keeping 
out the cold, although 
it necessarily performed 
both these functions im- 
perfectly. 

THE FIRST SAW. 

It was not long until 
William Fotheringham 
and Thomas Karren 
made shift to provide a 
saw pit in a nearby 
gully. Here, with a 
whip saw and with Kar- 
ren as top sawyer and 
Fotheringham under- 
neath, lumber was 
sawed to finish some of mrs. Elizabeth t.moorehead. 
the cabins. The necessary logs were hauled from Al- 
pine Canyon. Of these homes, thus difficultly erected, 
Joel W. White says: 

"Of logs we built our houses, 

Of shakies made the doors, 
Of sod we built the chimneys, 

Dirt we had for floors." 




20 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850 



PIONEER FURNITURE. 

The furniture of those early days lacked most of 
the beauty and convenience of modern furniture, and 
possessed, indeed, only little of its utility. All of it 
was cumbersome and clumsy, being made from the 
materials at hand, except in those rare instances 
where a chair or bed had been brought from the Mis- 
souri River. Three-legged stools took the place of 
the former, while a frame of poles in one corner of 
the room sufficed for the latter. The chief cooking 
utensils were an iron pot to hang over the fire, a fry- 
ing pan, and a bake kettle. 

With such equipment were the pioneer mothers 
compelled to keep house. That their problem was a 
difficult one needs no further proof than a mere state- 
ment of the facts. Nor 
was the providing of 
food on the part of the 
men at all less difficult. 
With the exception of 
that which they ob- 
tained from the chase 
and from the settlers in 
Salt Lake Valley, their 
food had almost entire- 
ly been brought from 
the Missouri frontier by 
means of slow-moving 
prairie schooners. Here 
was a case of ingenuity 
triumphing over envi- 
claiborne thomas and wife, ronment, or starvation. 




1850] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



21 



And right nobly did these men and women meet the 
situation, and in spite of hardships and obstacles, suc- 
ceeded in obtaining a livelihood. 

THE FIRST BABY. 

The Cox cabin was no more than well begun when, 
on November 5, 1850, a baby girl was born to Mrs. 
Cox. She was named Azubia Deseret, and was the 
first white child to see 
the light of day on Dry 
Creek. Her birth in a 
wagon box did not pre- 
vent her from growing 
into a rugged, healthy 
girl.* 

THE FIRST l'ORT. 

When the erection of 
ihe cabins began, it was 
planned to build them 
end to end in the form 
of a fort, with the spring 
in the center; but this 
design was never car- 
ried out, because of the 
small number of the set- 
tlers. Only the north 
side was completed with 

eight houses, together with four on the east and 
three on the west, the south side being entirely open. 

The location of the various families, commencing with the 
south cabin on the east side, and going north to the north east 




AZUBIA DESERET COX 
HARDWICK. 



*She is now Mrs. A. D. C. Hardwick, of Oxford, Idaho. 



22 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850 



corner, thence west along the north side to the north-east corner, 
thence south on the west side, was as follows: 

First cabin — occupied by Samuel D. White; wife; son Orson; 
and two daughters, Lucy (Mrs. William Flake), and Mary (Mrs. 
A. Milton Musser). 

Second cabin — occupied by David Savage; wife, Marv A. 
White; daughter, Amanda P. (Cook); and two hired men, Wil- 
liam S. Riggs and George Hager. The latter was a miner who 
went to California during the winter. 

Third cabin — occupied by John Griggs White and wife, Lucy 
Baley, who were the aged parents of Charles D. White, Joel W. 
White, and Mrs. David Savage. 



*** a^ y , 



* y ^° 



^ o* r ,/ *« ,/ v <r # r / 

> r a 



</ / y / & o* 



/ 

^ .**■ 



V 



© 

Spr.ng 



A 



Rood way & ^* 



PORT OM SNOW SPRINGS. 



Fourth cabin — occupied by Joel William White; wife, Frances 
Ann Thomas; and Daniel C. Thomas, the young brother of Mrs. 
Joel W. White. This was the last cabin on the east side. 

Fifth cabin — the home of Claiborne Thomas; wife Jane, and 
infant daughter. 



1850] PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 23 

Sixth cabin — occupied by a widowed sister of Claiborne 
Thomas, Elizabeth T. Moorehead, with two children, Preston 
and Ann. 

Seventh cabin — the home of David Clark; wife, Myra Wil- 
liams; and infant son James. 

Eighth cabin — home of Thomas Karren; wife; and six chil- 
dren, namely: John, Sylvia (Mrs. Lorenzo H. Hatch), Thomas, 
Hyrum, Charles, and Mary (Mrs. Hyrum Bennion). 

Ninth cabin — occupied by Tohn and Charlotte Fotheringham 
and their son William. 

Tenth cabin — home of Charles Hopkins; wife; and step-son, 
William Van Dyke. 

Eleventh cabin — occupied by Israel Evans; wife, Matilda 
Thomas; and infant daughter Abigail (Mrs. Benjamin S. Lott). 

Twelfth cabin — home of Daniel Cox; wife, Lucy Smith; and 
three sons by a former marriage, Edward, age IS, Jacob, age 13, 
and Joseph. This was the last house on the north side of the 
fort. 

Thirteenth cabin — occupied by Jehial McConnell; wife; and 
three sons, Henry, George, and William. 

This made a total of fifty-two souls, classified as follows: 
fifteen men, thirteen women, fifteen boys, and nine girls. Three 
of the girls and two of the boys were babies. 

Henry Royle had a tree fall on him and break his collar bone 
and was taken to Salt Lake City, where he remained during 
the winter. He is, therefore, not included in this enumeration. 

Two other cabins had been started on the west side, but they 
were never finished, because of a subsequent move to other 
ground. 

THE FIRST WINTER. 

When the log cabins had been finished and the 
families made as comfortable as possible under the 
'circumstances, quarters for the animals were pro- 
vided, and a quantity of grass was cut for hay. Those 
first to arrive were able to put up the hay in good con- 
dition, but the others found the grass frozen and unfit 



24 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850-1851 



for this purpose. Fortunately for the infant colony, 
the first winter, while quite cold, was open, and this 

made it possible for the 
stock to run at large un- 
til spring. 

In this work of pro- 
viding fodder, only the 
most primitive tools 
were used by the pio- 
neers. For mowing 
grass, a- scythe and 
snath were employed, 
and often that most an- 
cient of harvesting in- 
struments, the sickle. 
The chief tool, however, 
was the ax, in the use of 
which most of the men 
were experts. 

For animal help, the 
settlers depended almost solely upon oxen. A few 
pioneers were fortunate enough to possess horses, 
and frequently cows were hitched to the wagons. 
But practically all of the team work — plowing, log- 
ging, road-making, and traveling — was performed 
with the patient oxen, yoked to the wagon and 
guided only by the "Gee" and "Haw" of the driver. 




MRS. ISRAEL EVANS. 



JOHN RYAN. 



The little co'ony at Sulphur Springs had at least 
one visitor during the winter. He was John Ryan 
who had become involved with the Indians in Skull 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



25 



Valley and been chased by them to the east end of 
Cedar Valley, where he checked their pursuit by kill- 
ing two of them. Proceeding to the Jordan, he 
crossed and stopped at the fort. Shortly afterwards, 
Daniel Cox made a raft to ferry his things across the 
river. 

HUNTING AND FISHING. 

The construction of this raft for Ryan seems to 
have started Cox into other affairs of navigation, for 
a short time later he hollowed a tree trunk for a 
canoe, which he used on 
his hunting and fishing 
trips on the river and 
lake. He also impro- 
vised a sort of gill net 
to catch fish in the river. 
Cox was easily the prin- 
cipal Nimrod in the 
camp, and frequently 
shared his ducks, geese, 
or fish with his fellows. 

That the others were 
also engaged in this 
kind of activity can be 
seen from the fact that 
Claiborne Thomas and 
some of the women suc- 
ceeded, late in the win- 
ter, in making a hundred 
chased in Salt Lake City 
a lead line and cork line, 
chased a skiff for use on 




MRS. DAVID SAVAGE. 

foot seine out of twine pur- 

, and provided it with both 

Claiborne Thomas also pur- 

the lake, and sent Joel W. 



26 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1850-1851 



White to haul it from Salt Lake City. On this trip 
the latter found a number of men building a road 
around the Point of the Mountain. He was, there- 
fore, the first member of the settlement to pass over 
the new highway. With this equipment, the colo- 
nists succeeded in catching sufficient fish to satisfy 
their needs. Later the supply exceeded the demand, 
and the fish were sold in the surrounding settlements, 
often as far as Tooele. Thus arose Lehi's first com- 
mercial enterprise. 

AN AVERTED ACCIDENT. 

That so much hunting and fishing could be carried 
on without accident was marvelous; indeed, there 
came nearly being a serious mishap early in the win- 
ter. One day Claiborne Thomas noticed a flock of 

geese flying over the 
fort. Rushing into the 
cabin after his gun, he 
accidentally discharged 
it as he came out of the 
door. The shot went 
into David Clark's wag- 
on, which stood near 
by, for Clark's cabin was 
not yet finished. Ter- 
ribly frightened, Thomas 
hurried to the wagon, 
and, raising the cover, 
was relieved to find 
Mrs. Clark seated in the 
other end quietly comb- 
mrs. david clark. ™g her hair. 




1851] 



PERMANENT FOUNDATIONS. 



27 



THE FIRST DEATH. 

In the month of February, John G. White, after a 
life full of activity, devotion, and faith, passed to the 
Great Settlement beyond. David Savage, who was 
a carpenter, and owned a set of tools, made a respec- 
table coffin from a wagon box, and Father White was 
interred. His grave is in an old burial ground situ- 
ated a little west of Dry Creek, and north of the State 
Road* Thus occurred the first death on Dry Creek. 

THE WINTER SAFELY THROUGH. 



Despite all their diffi- 
culties, the inmates of 
the little fort passed 
safely through the first 
winter. True it is that 
many of them were en- 
tirely without shoes, 
and the clothing of all 
was woefully patched. 
But good health was 
theirs, and they enjoyed, 
in some measure • at 
least, what they had left 
the East to find — free- 
dom and a home. It 
was only natural, there- 




WILLIAM S. RIGGS. 



*This cemetery was used for many years in early times, and 
although most of the dead buried there were reinterred in the 
present city cemetery, there still remain a few graves. Of late 
these have fallen into neglect, but a movement is now on foot 
to care for them and also to erect suitable monuments. 



28 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



11851 



fore, that their gratitude should frequently find ex- 
pression in religious services. Meetings were held at 

various times- through- 
out the winter, under 
the direction of David 
Savage and Charles 
Hopkins. 

THE NUCLEUS OF THE 
FUTURE CITY. 

Thus with the advent 
of a few families and 
their camp around a 
spring, the growth of 
one of Utah's chief cities 
began. Such a develop- 
ment as has actually 
taken place was un- 
doubtedly far from the 
minds of those hardy 
founders. But they 
builded well, and upon their foundation has the su- 
perstructure of Lehi's growth and prosperity been 
placed.* 




JAMES CLARK, 

A Child at Sulphur Springs. 



*Not all the inhabitants of the fort remained permanently in 
I.clii. Some of them moved to other parts of the State and 
assisted in pioneer work there. It is a notable fact that a large 
number of these held prominent and responsible positions in 
public service. This is equally true of their children. The winter 
at Snow Springs proved to be an excellent school. 



CHAPTER IV. 

The Beginning of Community Life. 

OTHER LOCATIONS THAN SULPHUR SPRINGS. 

THE spring of 1851 witnessed the arrival of various 
families and parties to settle in the vicinity of 
Sulphur Springs. Some of them, in fact, had already 
reached Dry Cheek in the late autumn of the preced- 
ing year. But these new arrivals did not join the lit- 
tle colony in the fort ; they remained outside wher- 
ever a water supply suitable for domestic use could 
be found. 

PETER SHIRTS. 

In the fall of 1850, Peter Shirts had found a spring- 
east of the fort, near the lake, and spent the winter 
there.* Abraham Losee and his family, who arrived 
some time later, selected a place a short distance 
north of Shirts', and dug a well to procure water. 
which was undoubtedly the first well in this region. 

THE LOTT SETTLEMENT. 

The spring of 1851' saw an increase to this little 
group near the lake. The first arrival was a widow, 
Mrs. Pamelia Lott, mother of Mrs. Losee. She was 
soon followed by her son, John, her son-in-law, John 
R. Murdock, and Orrace Murdock. who, with their 
families, settled near the home of Shirts. This little 



*This spring is directly south of Fifth West street, on land 
now owned by Andrew B. Anderson. 



30 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ri8si 



group became known as the Lott Settlement, and was 
increased soon afterwards by the arrival of Isaac 
Losee and Ira J. Willes, the latter, however, re- 
maining at Stink Weed Spring. In addition, other 
families had stopped at various springs in the neigh- 
borhood. 

EVANSVILLE. 



On February 15, 1851, there arrived on Dry 
Creek a man who was destined to play the leading 
part in the growth of the community for many years. 

This man was David 
Evans. He had pre- 
viously been ordained a 
bishop in Nauvoo by 
Joseph Smith, and had 
now been sent by Brig- 
ham Young to preside 
over the Saints of Dry 
Creek. Bishop Evans 
was a typical pioneer. 
Possessing the same 
rugged qualities which 
distinguished his chief, 
President Young, he 
was eminently fitted to 
direct the work of 
founding a community. 
Devoted to his Church. 
honest, upright, but determined and aggressive, and 
withal characterized by that rare gift of leadership 
which, above everything else, was imperative for a 




ABRAHAM LOSEE. 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



31 



pioneer commander, he knew how to direct the col- 
onists to obtain the best results. In his dealings with 
his fellows he was plain and outspoken, but always 
just and fair. Altogeth- 



er, Bishop Evans was 
precisely the kind of 
man needed to meet the 
situation. 

With his family, Ev- 
ans made his home on 
Dry Creek with some of 
the people who had 
moved up from Sulphur 
Springs. His land was 
a tract west of the creek 
and just north of the 
present City Park. This 
place was called Evans- 
ville in honor of the 
bishop, and being on 
higher ground, with 
good water available by 

digging wells, it soon became the favorite locality for 
the home-seeker. 

During the early spring months, all the families at 
Sulphur Springs moved up to Evansville. Daniel 
Cox again took up the land where he had first camped 
on entering the valley. The Fotheringhams and 
Karrens, with the families of Henry Royle and Ca- 
nute Peterson, chose land on the creek a little south of 
the others, their places being due west of the end of 
Main Street as it is now. Most of the families who 




MRS. PAMELIA LOTT 





^a*iR^v ^ 




BISHOP DAVID EVANS. 
Second Mayor of Lehi— 1854-1861. 



1851] 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



35 



arrived in 1851 settled on the creek between these 
two points, although some joined the Lott Settle- 
ment in the field. 

THE DRY CREEK WARD. 

Shortly after the arrival of Bishop Evans, Apos- 
tle George A. Smith visited the little colony and or- 
ganized the Dry Creek 
Ward of the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter- 
day Saints. David Evans 
was appointed bishop, 
with Charles Hopkins 
and David Savage as 
counselors and Jehial 
McConnell as ward 
clerk. This was the 
first organization of any 
kind to be effected, and 
with it a coherency and 
direction was given to 
the growth of the set- 
tlement impossible here- 
tofore. IRA j. WILLES. 




THE FIRST PLANTING. 

In the spring of 1851, the first crops, consisting of 
wheat, corn, potatoes, squash, and a few vegetables 
were planted. The farm implements were both crude 
and scarce. William Fotheringham relates that he 
had the point, share, and land side of a plow, and be- 
ing a ship carpenter by trade, and hence expert in the 



34 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



use of the foot adze, he made a mold board from a 
gnarled piece of cottonwood, and with a log from the 
same kind of wood for a beam, managed to do fairly 
good plowing. 

THE FIRST TROUBLE WITH THE INDIANS. 

When the wheat was about six inches high, the 
first trouble with the Indians occurred. The redmen 
insisted on turning their ponies loose in the growing 

fields, maintaining that 
the grass and water 
were theirs, while only 
the land and wood be- 
longed to the whites. 

About this time three 
Indians came up the 
creek one day where the 
Karren, Fotheringham, 
Royle, and Peterson 
families were living. 
They appeared to be in 
an ugly mood and, em- 
boldened by the fact 
that all the men were 
away at work, they took 
great delight in fright- 
ening the women and 
children. Finally Char- 
lotte Fotheringham, an old Scotch lady, seized a 
hatchet and, shaking it threateningly in the face of 
one of the braves, she berated him right soundly in 
her good old mother tongue. This so surprised and 




JOHN FOTHERINGHAM. 
CHARLOTTE FOTHERINGHAM. 



1851] 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



35 



amused the Indians that they withdrew, after enter- 
ing a rebuttal in the Ute language. 



THE AMERICAN FORK DITCH. 

As the water in Dry Creek could not be relied upon 
to mature the crops, it was imperative that late irri- 
gation water be pro- 
cured. As the only sup- 
ply available was the 
stream in American 
Fork Canyon, the pro- 
digious undertaking of 
digging a ditch seven 
miles long from the 
mouth of the canyon to 
Lehi was begun under 
the initiative and direc- 
tion of Bishop Evans. . 

Early in May, Charles 
Hopkins and Henry Mc- 
Connell were sent to 
the mouth of the can- 
yon to cut and haul logs 
for the purpose of con- 
structing a dam which 

should divert part of the water into the proposed 
ditch. The main company arrived the next day and 
work was immediately begun. The ditch was made 
about two feet wide in the bottom, and one rod was 
considered a good day's work for a man. Tools were 
scarce and of poor quality, while the sun-baked soil 
was full of cobble stones and otherwise hard to dig. 




PRESTON MOOREHEAD, 
A Child at Sulphur Springs. 



36 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1851 



Under, such hardships, the men, poorly fed and 
scantily clothed, would undoubtedly have abandoned 
the enterprise, but for the influence of the bishop. 
His good humor and witticisms never failed, and with 

rare tact and diplomacy, 
he kept the men from 
brooding over their 
troubles, and inspired 
them with new hope 
and courage. 

Instead of taking the 
ditch due west to the 
creek as it is now, the 
builders brought it 
down Cedar Hollow and 
across the bench before 
it joined Dry Creek. 
This mistake was recti- 
fied the following year, 
as it was impossible to 
keep the ditch open on 
account of the drifting 
sand. By the latter part 
of August, the water reached the farms and helped to 
save part of the corn and potato crop. 

A PECULIAR SITUATION. 

As illustrative of the conditions existing at this 
time, it is related that no paper could be found in the 
settlement on which to keep records except a blank 
book owned by John Fotheringham. Fotheringham 
had been a master tailor in Europe, and this book 




MRS. ANN MOOREHEAD THOMAS, 
A Child at Sulphur Springs. 



1351] 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



37 



had been used for entering orders for clothes. It was 
partly full of notations, but as occasion demanded, 
leaves were torn from it and supplied to the bishop. 

THE FIRST BOAT WRECK. 

The first boat wreck on. the lake in which Lehi peo- 
ple figured, occurred in the latter part of May, 1851, 
and is related by Wil- 
liam Fotheringham. 

"Canute Peterson and 
myself, with, Simeon 
Houd and Seth M. 
Dodge of Salt Lake 
City, went on a fishing 
expedition to the mouth 
of Provo River, and 
succeeded in making a 
good haul of trout and 
suckers. We left Provo 
in the evening, and ar- 
rived at the mouth of 
American Fork Creek 
in the morning, where 
we intended to make 
another haul with the 

seine, but a gale came up from the south and pre- 
vented it, so we pulled for home. The lake became 
very rough, and on being struck by a heavy wave, 
the boat was completely capsized. Being a good 
swimmer, I struck out for the shore, a quarter of a 
mile distant, while two of the men clung to the boat, 
and the third was washed ashore with the oars under 




WILLIAM FOTHERINGHAM. 



38 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1851 



his breast. I now remember vividly the whole in- 
cident; the sun was just rising over the Wasatch 

Mountains as I was bat- 
tling with the waves to 
reach the shore, wonder- 
ing if this was the last 
time I would ever see it 
come up. We all finally 
reached shore and got 
home safely, and the 
next day recovered the 
boat and seine. Through 
a dream of his wife El- 
mira, John R. Murdock 
was prevailed upon not 
to join us in this fishing 
trip, and as he could not 
swim, no doubt he 
would have lost his life 
in the wreck." 

THE FIRST BOY. 

The honor of being Lehi's first boy fell to the lot of 
Henry Moroni Royle, who was born June 22, 1851. 
At the time of his birth, his parents were living in a 
little log house near Dry Creek, directly west of Main 
Street. Moroni has grown up amid the hard times of 
pioneer days, and has lived to see the place of his 
birth become a prosperous city. 

THE FIRST BLACKSMITH. 

One of the greatest difficulties which beset the pio- 
neers of Dry Creek was the lack of mechanical help, 




H. M. ROYLE 



1851] 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



39 



the nearest blacksmith being at Alpine, and that not 
until 1851. However, in the autumn of that year, on 
the invitation of Bishop Evans, Joseph J. Smith, a 
skilled mechanic, came 
to Dry Creek and set up 
a blacksmith shop. It 
was first situated in 
Evansville, but after the 
city was laid out, it was 
moved and located on 
the present north-east 
corner of the intersec- 
tion of Main and Fourth 
West streets. 

THE FIRST HARVEST. 



Good crops of wheat 
were raised this year, 
but owing to the scar- 
city of late irrigation 
water, the other prod- 
ucts were a partial failure 




JOSEPH J. SMITH. 



As all of the grain was 
harvested with the cradle, except a small portion 
which was cut with the sickle, considerable labor 
was required to handle the crop, so the newcomers 
of this year were exceptionally welcomed to aid in 
this work. The threshing was done by beating the 
grain out with a flail, or tramping it out with the cat- 
tle, and winnowing it in the wind. 



40 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1851 



THE FIRST FLOUR MILL. 



Towards the close of the year, a flour mill was built 
at the mouth of American Fork Canyon by Lorenzo 
H. Hatch, Abram Hatch, and Nathan Packer. It 
was the first mill in the north end of the county, but 
it was unfortunately destroyed by fire the following 

year. However, on the 
advice of Willard Rich- 
ards, it was immediate- 
ly rebuilt by its enter- 
prising- owners, and for 
many years it served 
the people in grinding 
their grain. 

THE CLOSE OF 1851. 

The year closed with 
Bishop Evans' ward in 
a very scattered condi- 
tion. Over thirty fam- 
ilies had arrived during 
the year, and while most 
of them had remained in 
Evansville, several had 
located on springs in the bottoms, the Lott Settle- 
ment receiving the greater number of these. 

Of the families who arrived this year the follow- 
ing is the best list obtainable: Martin Bushman, Ira 
J. Willes, Henry Kerns, Canute Peterson, Alexander 
Loveridge, Ezekiel Hopkins, George Burgess, Or- 
race Murdock, Joseph J. Smith, Thomas Green, Al- 




ABRAM HATCH. 



1851] 



COMMUNITY BEGINNING. 



41 



fred Bell, Harrison Burgess, David Evans, Alonzo D. 
Rhodes, Samuel Rogers, John S. Lott, Abram Hatch, 
Lorenzo H. Hatch, Jeremiah Hatch, R. C. Goodson, 
Mrs. Pamelia Lott, Joseph Skeens, Samuel Briggs, 
Thomas Ashton, Samuel Wise, John R. Murdock, 
Mrs. Sarah T. Coleman, Abraham Brown, Daniel Col- 
lett, Preston Thomas, Isaac Losee, William Sidney- 
Smith Willes. 




MRS. ABIGAIL EVANS LOTT, 
A Child at Sulphur Springs. 



CHAPTER V. 

The Birth of Political Life. 



LEHI INCORPORATED. 

A BODY of such thorough Americans as composed 
the little settlement on Dry Creek could not long 
remain without some form of civil administration. An 
innate love of law and order — the priceless heritage 
of their Pilgrim forefathers — soon compelled them 
to take steps to form some kind of municipal gov- 
ernment. 

Accordingly, early in 1852, David Evans, on behalf 
of the people of Dry Creek, presented a petition to the 
Territorial Legislature, requesting that body to incor- 
porate the little community;. This petition was 
granted, and the city incorporated under the name of 
Lehi. this Book of Mormon appellation being sug- 
gested because the people had moved so frequently. 
Lehi was the sixth city in the Territory of Utah to 
be incorporated, Salt Lake City, Ogden, Provo, 
Manti, and Parowan having preceded her in 1851. 
The act of incorporation is deemed of sufficient inter- 
est to be presented here in full: 

An Act to Incorporate the City of Lehi. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That all that portion of the 
country lying on Dry Creek, in Utah County, bounded as fol- 
lows, to-wit: commencing at the Utah Lake direct south of the 



1852] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 43 

south-east corner of the plat of Evansville, running direct to said 
corner; from thence north three miles; from thence west to the 
Jordan River; from thence up the river Jordan to the outlet of 
the lake; from thence up the lake to the place of beginning, is 
hereby incorporated into a city, which shall be called the "City of 
Lehi," and the inhabitants thereof are hereby constituted a body 
corporate and politic, by the name aforesaid; and shall have 
perpetual succession, and may have and use a common seal, 
which they may change and alter at pleasure. 

Section 2. The inhabitants of said city, by the name and 
style aforesaid, shall have power to sue and be sued; to plead 
and be impleaded; defend and be defended; in all courts of law 
and equity and in all actions whatsoever; to purchase, receive and 
hold property, real and personal, in said city; to purchase, re- 
ceive and hold real property beyond the city, for burying 
grounds, or other public purposes, for the use of the inhabitants 
of said city; to sell, lease, convey, or dispose of property, real 
and personal, for .the benefit of said city; to improve and pro- 
tect such property, and to do all other things in relation thereto 
as natural persons. 

Section 3. There shall be a City Council, to consist of a 
Mayor, four Aldermen, and nine Councilors, who shall have the 
qualifications of the electors of said city, and shall be chosen by 
the qualified voters thereof, and shall hold their offices for two 
years, and until their succesors shall be elected and qualified. 
The City Council shall judge of the qualifications, elections, and 
returns of their own members, and a majority of them shall 
form a quorum to do business; but a smaller number may ad- 
journ from day to day, and compel the attendance of absent 
members, under such penalties as may be prescribed by ordin- 
ance. 

Section 4. The Mayor, Aldermen, and Councilors, before 
entering upon the duties of their offices, shall take and subscribe 
an oath or affirmation, that they will support the Constitution 
of the United States, and the laws of this Territory, and that 
they will well and truly perform all the duties of their offices, 
to the best of their skill and abilities. 

Section 5. On the first Monday of March next, and every 



44 HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[18S2 



two years hereafter, on said day, an election shall be held for the 
election of one Mayor, four Aldermen, and nine Councilors, and 
at the first election under this act, three judges shall be chosen, 
viva voce, by the electors present. The said judges shall choose 
two clerks; and the judges and clerks, before entering upon 
their duties, shall take and subscribe an oath or affirmation, such 
as is now required by law to be taken by judges and clerks of 
other elections; and at all subsequent elections, the necessary 
number of judges and clerks by the City Council. At the first 
election so held, the polls shall be opened at nine o'clock a. m., 
and closed at six o'clock p. m. At the close of the polls the 
votes shall be counted, and a statement thereof proclaimed at 
the front door of the house at which said election shall be held; 
and the clerks shall leave with each person elected, or at his 
usual place of residence, within five days after the election, a 
written notice of his election, and each person so notified, shall 
within ten days after the election, take the oath or affirmation 
hereinbefore mentioned. A certificate of which oath shall be 
recorded with the recorder, whose appointment is hereinafter 
provided for, and by him preserved; and all subsequent elec- 
tions shall be held, conducted, and the returns thereof made, as 
may be provided for by ordinance of the City Council. 

Section 6. All free white male inhabitants who are of the age 
of twenty-one years, who are entitled to vote for Territorial of- 
ficers, and who shall have been actual residents of said city sixty 
days next preceding said election, shall be entitled to vote for 
city officers. 

Section 7. The City Council shall have authority to levy and 
collect taxes for city purposes, upon all taxable property, real 
and personal, within the limits of the city, not exceeding one- 
half per cent per annum, upon the assessed value thereof; and 
may enforce the payment of the same, in any manner to be pro- 
vided by ordinance, not repugnant to the Constitution of the 
United States or the laws of this Territory. 

Section 8. The City Council shall have power to appoint a 
Recorder, Treasurer, Assessor and Collector, Marshal, and Su- 
pervisors of Streets. They shall also have the power to appoint 
all such other officers by ordinance, as may be necessary; de- 



1852] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 45 

fine the duties of all city officers, and remove them from office 
at pleasure. 

Section 9. The City Council shall have power to require of 
all officers, appointed in pursuance of this act, bonds with pen- 
alty and security, for the faithful performance of their respective 
duties, such as may be deemed expedient, and also to requir- all 
officers appointed as aforesaid, to take an oath for the faithful 
performance of the duties of their respective offices. 

Section 10. The City Council shall have power and authority 
to make, ordain, establish, and execute all such ordinances, not 
repugnant to the Constitution of the United States, or the laws 
of this Territory, as they may deem necessary for the peace, 
benefit, good order, regulation, convenience and cleanliness of 
said city, for the protection of property therein from destruc- 
tion by fire or otherwise, and for the health and happiness 
thereof. They shall have power to fill all vacancies that may 
happen by death, resignation, or removal in any of the offices 
herein made elective; to fix and establish all the fees of the offi- 
cers of said corporation not herein established; to impose such 
fines, not exceeding one hundred dollars for each offense, as they 
might deem just, for refusing to accept of any office, in, or 
under the corporation, or for misconduct therein; to divide the 
city into wards, and specify the boundaries thereof, and create 
additional wards; to add to the number of Aldermen and Coun- 
cilors, and apportion them among the several wards, as may be 
just and most conducive to the interest of the city. 

Section 11. To establish, support, and regulate common 
schools; to borrow money on the credit of the city: Provided, 
that no sum or sums of money be borrowed on a greater interest 
than six per cent per annum; nor shall the interest on the aggre- 
gate of all the sums borrowed, and outstanding, ever exceed one- 
half of the city revenue, arising from taxes assessed on real 
estate, within this corporation. 

Section 12. To make regulations to prevent the introduction 
of contagious diseases into the city; to make quarantine laws for 
that purpose, and enforce the same. 

Section 13. To appropriate and provide for the payment of 
the expenses and debts of the city. 



46 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i 8 52 

Section 14. To establish hospitals, and make regulations for 
the government of the same; to make regulations to secure the 
general health of the inhabitants; to declare what shall be nuis- 
ances, and to prevent and remove the same. 

Section 15. To provide the city with water; to dig wells, lay 
pump logs and pipes, and erect pumps in the streets for the ex- 
tinguishment of fires, and convenience of the inhabitants. 

Section 16. To open, alter, widen, extend, establish, grade, 
pave, or otherwise improve and keep in repair streets, avenues, 
lanes and alleys; and to establish, erect, and keep in repair 
aqueducts and bridges. 

Section 17. To provide for the lighting of the streets, and 
erecting lamp posts, and establish, support, and regulate night 
watches; to erect market houses; establish markets and market 
places, and to provide for the government and regulation thereof. 

Section 18. To provide for erecting all needful buildings for 
the use of the city, and for enclosing, improving, and regulating 
all public grounds belonging to the city. 

Section 19. To license, tax, and regulate auctioneers, mer- 
chants, and retailers, grocers and taverns, ordinaries, hawkers, 
peddlers, brokers, pawn brokers, and money changers. 

Section 20. To license, tax, and regulate hacking, carriages, 

wagons, carts, and drays; and fix the rate to be charged for the 

carriage of persons, and for wagonage, cartage, and drayage of 

property, as also to license and regulate porters, and fix the rate 

**)f porterage. 

Section 21. To license, tax, and regulate theatricals, and 
other exhibitions, shows, and amusements. 

Section 22. To tax, restrain, prohibit, and suppress, tippling 
houses, dram shops, gambling houses, bawdy and other disor- 
derly houses. 

Section 23. To provide for the prevention and extinguish- 
ment of fires; to regulate the fixing of chimneys, and the flues 
thereof, and stove pipes, and to organize and establish fire 
companies. 

Section 24. To regulate the storage of gunpowder, tar, pitch, 
rosin, and other combustible materials. 



i852] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 47 

Section 25. To regulate and order parapet walls and other 
partition fences. 

Section 2d. To establish standard weights and measures, and 
regulate the weights and measures to be used in the city, in all 
other cases not provided for by law. 

Section 27. To provide for the inspection and measuring of 
lumber, and other building materials; and for the measure- 
ment of all kinds of mechanical work. 

Section 28. To provide for the inspection and weighing of 
hay, lime, and stone coal, and measuring of charcoal, fire wood, 
and other fuel to be sold or used within the city. 

Section 29. To provide for and regulate the inspection of 
tobacco, and of beef, pork, flour, meal; also beer, and whiskey, 
brandy, and other spirituous or fermented liquors. 

Section 30. To regulate the weight, quality, and price of 
bread, sold and used in the city. 

Section 31. To provide for taking the enumeration of the 
inhabitants of the city. 

Section 32. To fix the compensation of all city officers, and 
regulate the fees of jurors, witnesses, and others, for services 
rendered, under this or any city ordinance. 

Section 33. The City Council shall have exclusive power 
within the city by ordinance, to license, regulate, suppress, or 
restrain billiard tables, and from one to twenty pin-alleys, and 
every other description of gaming or gambling. 

Section 34. The City Council shall have exclusive power 
within the city by ordinance, to license, regulate, or restrain the 
keeping of ferries, and toll bridges; to regulate the police of 
the city; to impose fines, forfeitures, and penalties, for the 
breach of any ordinance; and provide for the recovery of such 
fines and forfeitures, and the enforcement of such penalties, and 
to pass such ordinances as may be necessary and proper for 
carrying into effect and execution the powers specified in this 
act; provided such ordinances are not repugnant to the Con- 
stitution of the United States or any of the laws of this Ter- 
ritory. 

Section 35. All ordinances passed by the City Council shall 
within one month after they have been passed be published in 



48 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i852 

some newspaper printed in said city, or certified copies thereof 
be posted up in three of the most public places in the city. 

Section 36. All ordinances of the city may be proven by 
the seal of the corporation; and when printed or published in 
book or pamphlet form, purporting to be printed or published by 
the authority of the corporation, the same shall be received in 
evidence in all courts or places, without further proof. 

Section 37. The Mayor and Aldermen shall be conservators 
of the peace within the limits of the city, and shall have all the 
powers of Justice of the Peace therein, both in civil and criminal 
cases arising under the laws of the Territory. They shall, as 
Justices of the Peace, within the limits of said city, perform 
the same duties; be governed by the same laws; give the same 
bonds and securities as other Justices of the Peace, and be com- 
missioned as other Justices of the Peace, in and for said city, 
by the Governor. 

Section 38. The Mayor and the Aldermen shall have ex- 
clusive jurisdiction in all cases arising under the ordinances of 
the corporation, and shall issue each process as may be nec- 
essary to carry said ordinances into execution and effect. Ap- 
peals may be had from any decision or judgment of said Mayor 
or Aldermen, arising under the ordinances of said city to the 
Municipal Court, under such regulations as may be prescribed 
by ordinance, which court shall be composed of the Mayor as 
Chief Justice, and the Aldermen as Associate Justices; and from 
the final judgment of the Municipal Court, to the Probate Court 
of Utah County, in the same manner as appeals are taken from 
Justice of the Peace; Provided, the parties litigant shall have a 
right to a trial by jury of twelve men, in all cases before the 
Municipal Court. The Municipal Court shall have power to 
grant writs of Habeas Corpus, and try the same in all cases 
arising under the ordinances of the City Council. 

Section 39. The Municipal Court may sit on the first Monday 
of every month, and the City Council, at such times and places 
as may at any time be called by the Mayor or any two Alder- 
men. 

Section 40. All processes issued by the Mayor, Aldermen, or 
Municipal Court, shall be directed to the Marshal, and in the 



1852] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 49 

execution thereof, he shall be governed by the same laws as are, 
or may be prescribed for the direction and compensation of Con- 
stables in similar cases. The Marshal shall also perform such 
other duties as may be required of him under the ordinances 
of said city, and shall be the principal ministerial officer. 

Section 41. It shall be the duty of the Recorder to make 
and keep accurate records of all ordinances made by the City 
Council, and of all their proceedings in their corporate capac- 
ity, which record shall at all times be open to the inspection 
of the electors of said city, and shall perform all other duties 
as may be required of him by the ordinances of the City Council, 
and shall serve as clerk of the Municipal Court. 

Section 42. When it shall be necessary to take private prop- 
erty for opening, widening, or altering any public street, lane, 
avenue, or alley, the corporation shall make a just compensa- 
tion therefor, to the person whose property is so taken; and if 
the amount of such compensation cannot be agreed upon, the 
Mayor shall cause the same to be ascertained by a jury of six 
disinterested men, who shall be inhabitants of the city. 

Section 43. All jurors empaneled to enquire into the amount 
of benefit or damages that shall happen to the owners of prop- 
erty so proposed to be taken, shall first be sworn to that effect, 
and shall return to the Mayor their inquest' in writing, signed 
by each juror. 

Section 44. In case the Mayor shall, at any time, be guilty 
of a palpable omission of duty, or shall wilfully and corruptly 
be guilty of oppression, malconduct, or partiality, in the dis- 
charge of the duties of his office, he shall be liable to indictment 
in the Probate Court of Utah county; and on conviction, he shall 
be liable to fine and imprisonment; and the court shall have 
power on the recommendation of the jury to add to the judgment 
of the court, that he be removed from office. 

Section 45. The City Council shall have power to provide 
for the punishment of offenders and vagrants, by imprisonment 
in the county or city jail, or by compelling them to labor upon 
the streets, or public works, until the same shall'be fully paid; 
in all cases where such offenders shall fail or refuse to pay the 
fines and forfeitures which may be recovered against them. 



50 HISTORY OF LEHI, 



[1852 



Section 46. The inhabitants of Lehi City shall, from and 
after the next ensuing two years from the first Monday of April 
next, be exempt from working on any road or roads beyond the 
limits of said city. But all taxes devoted to road purposes shall, 
from and after said, term of two years, be collected and expended 
by, and under the direction of the supervisor of streets, within 
the limits of said city. 

Section 47. The Mayor, Aldermen, and Councilors of said 
city shall, in the first instance, be appointed by the Governor 
and Legislature of said Territory of Utah, and .shall hold their 
office until superseded by the first election. 

Section 48. This act is hereby declared to be a public act, and 
shall be in force from and after its passage. 

Approved February 5, 1852. 

IRRIGATION WATER GRANT. 

Another important act of the Territorial Legisla- 
ture was passed at this time, granting to the people 
of Lehi one-third of the waters of American Fork 
Creek. While the legislature does not now presume 
to act in such matters, it is evident that the passage 
of this act helped to secure permanently to Lehi this 
share of the water. The act follows : 

"An act in relation to the waters of American Creek in Utah 
County. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That the inhabitants of the 
settlement of Dry Creek in Utah County are hereby authorized 
and allowed to take out, at some convenient point, the waters of 
American Creek, and use the same for their benefit: Provided 
that no more than one-third part of said waters shall be so 
taken for the use of said settlement on Dry Creek. 

Approved February 18, 1852." 

LEHI'S FIRST LEGISLATOR. 

Active in securing the passage of these acts was 
David Evans, who had been elected from Utah 



BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 



51 



County to serve in the first Territorial Legislature. 
He has the honor, therefore, of being the first of the 
long line of men who have ably served Lehi in the leg- 
islative councils of the Commonwealth. 



CHANGES IN THE BISHOPRIC. 

In the spring of 1852, Jehial McConnell and Lor- 
enzo H. Hatch were selected and set apart as First 
and Second Counselors 
to Bishop Evans, as 
Charles Hopkins and 
David Savage were re- 
leased to occupy other 
positions in the church. 

SUGAR BEETS. 



John Taylor, in the 
spring of 1852, had im- 
ported from France and 
brought across the 
plains by ox team, a 
quantity of sugar beet 
seed, and Bishop Evans 
with others had been 
able to secure a small 
part of this. The beets 

they planted matured successfully, but were used for 
making molasses rather than sugar. In this was pres- 
aged an industry which was destined to become the 
most important factor of Lehi's commercial develop- 
ment — the sugar industry. 




ORRACE MURDOCK. 



52 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



11852 



CLOSE OF 1852. 



During the year large a 
the cultivated lands, and a 
around the Big Field. The 




MARTIN BUSHMAN. 

B rough, Abel Evans, ^'illi 



dditions had been made to 
fence had been constructed 
ditch from American Fork 
Canyon had also been 
changed to avoid the 
shifting sands of Cedar 
Hollow. The close of 
the year found the peo- 
ple in the same scat- 
tered condition as at the 
beginning, no attempt 
having been made to 
lay out a city. The fol- 
lowing are some of the 
families who arrived in 
1852: William Hudson, 
Daniel S. Thomas, John 
Zimmerman, Philip 
Ol instead, Samuel Har- 
wood, Samuel T. Smith, 
John Jacobs, George 
am Goates. 



ALTERATION OF TIME OF FIRST ELECTION. 

According to Section 5 of the act of incorporation, 
the first municipal election should have been held on 
the first Monday in March, 1852, and in Section 47, 
the Governor and Legislature were empowered to 
appoint, in the first instance, the mayor, aldermen, 
and councilors, who were to hold office until the first 



1852] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 53 

election. For some reason, however, neither the offi- 
cers were appointed nor the election held. To rem- 
edy this condition of affairs, the Legislature, the next 
January, passed the following brief and liberal act : 

An. act altering the time of holding the first election for city 
officers in Lehi, Fillmore and Cedar Cities. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That the inhabitants of 
Lehi, Fillmore, and Cedar Cities are hereby authorized and em- 
powered to hold their first election for city officers at any time 
during the present year that to them shall be the most conveni- 
ent; and who shall hold their offices until superseded by due 
course of law. 

Approved January 17, 1853. 

THE FIRST MUNICIPAL ELECTION'. 

Twelve days after the passage of this act, on Jan- 
uarty 29, the first municipal election was held. As 
compared with the election campaigns and activities 
of modern times, it was an extremely quiet affair. On 
account of the interest attached in the first of such 
events, the complete account of this election, as con- 
tained in an old record of the City Council, is given 
below. 

"The inhabitants of the town of Evansville met at 
the school house in the said town for the purpose of 
organizing and electing the City Council of the City 
of Lehi, on the 29th day of January, 1853. 

"Business commenced by appointing David Evans, 
Charles Hopkins, and Claiborne Thomas to a£t as 
judges of election, and Jehial McConnell and Tohn 
Spires to act as clerks. 




SILAS P. BARNES. 
First Mayor of Lehi— 1853-1854. 



1853] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 55 

"Voted unanimously that Silas P. Barnes* be 
Mayor of said city, also that David Evans, David 
Savage, Charles Hopkins, and Abraham Losee be Al- 
dermen ; William S. S. Willes, Harrison Burgess, 
Daniel Collett, Israel Evans, Samuel W. White, Eze- 
kiel Hopkins, Lorenzo H. Hatch, Thomas Green, and 
Richard C. Gibbons be Councilors for the City of 
Lehi. 

"The above named gentlemen were then sworn 
into office by Charles Hopkins, Esquire." 

On December 13, 1853, the City Council rilled the 
following vacancies, caused by the removal of several 
officers from the city: Thomas Taylor to succeed 
John Spires as Recorder; Elisha H. Davis and Har- 
rison Burgess to fill the offices of Aldermen vacated 
by David Savage and Charles Hopkins ; John R. Mur- 
dock and Daniel Thomas to succeed Samuel D. 
White and Thomas Green as Councilors. 

On account of the necessity of making laws to 
define the duties of the appointive officers, the City 
Council was not able immediately to fill all such of- 
fices. But finally, on December 16, 1853, the follow- 
ing were installed: Water Master, Daniel Collett; 
two Policemen for each of the four sides of the fort 
as follows : south side, Alonzo D. Rhodes and Daniel 
Cox; east side, John Zimmerman and Richard C. 
Gibbons ; north side, Abel Evans and Prime Cole- 



*Silas P. Barnes was from Boston, a man of education, cul- 
ture and refinement. Possessing considerable means, he was able 
to render valuable assistance to his friends. He found the fron- 
tier life of Lehi not to his liking, so remained only a few years 
and moved to California. 



56 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



man; west side, Preston Thomas and David Clark.* 

On the 3rd of January, 1854, Ezekiel Hopkins was 

appointed Assessor and Collector, and Daniel Cox, 

Treasurer. The next day, Sylvanus Collett and 

Alonzo D. Rhodes qual- 
ified as Constable and 
Marshal, respectively. 
On the tenth of the 
same month, Orrace 
Murdock was appointed 
Policeman in the place 
of Alonzo D. Rhodes, 
promoted, and on the 
31st, John Zimmerman 
was selected as Road 
Supervisor, and Rich- 
ard C. Gibbons as Cap- 
tain of Police. In addi- 
tion to these a City Sur- 
veyor was designated, 
but his name does not 
appear. 
The standing committees of the City Council were 
Municipal Law, Revision, Ways and Means, Roads 
and Bridges, and Improvements and Public Library. 

MINUTES OF THE CITY COUNCIL. 

To illustrate the formal and dignified manner in 
which these pioneer statesmen transacted their par- 
liamentary business, the minutes of two sessions of 
the first City Council are given in full: 




THOMAS TAYLOR. 



: See Chap. VI— Fort wall. 



1853] 



BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 



57 



Wednesday evening, December 28, 1853, 

Council met pursuant to adjournment at the usual place, 
(the log school house). Alderman Evans took the chair and 
called the meeting to order. Roll called, a quorum present. 
Prayer by Councilor Murdock. Minutes of last meeting read and 
accepted. 

No petitions. 

An ordinance was presented by the committee on Municipal 
Law entitled: An ordinance in relation to fires. Was received, 
when it was moved, seconded, and carried, that it lay on the 
table to come up in its order. 

An ordinance was presented entitled: An ordinance respect- 
ing firearm and powder plots. Moved, seconded, and carried, 
that the ordinance be re- 
ceived and lay on the table 
to come up in its regular 
order. 

Moved, seconded, and car- 
ried, that the officers elected 
to fill the vacancies of the 
council, be legally sworn and 
give bonds before proceeding 
to any further business. 

Moved, seconded, and car- 
ried, that a committee of 
three be appointed, to visit 
the Marshal, John R. Mur- 
dock, Assessor and Collec- 
tor Abram Hatch, and Con- 
stable John S. Lott, and 
know whether they will act 
in their respective offices or 
not. 

William S. S. Willes, Jo- 
seph Skeens, and Ezekiel 
Hopkins were appointed said committee. 

Ezekiel Hopkins was appointed a committee to draft an ordin 
ance creating a Treasurer. 




JOHN S. LOTT. 



58 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



On motion the council adjourned to Tuesday evening, Jan- 
uary 3, 1854. 

Dismissed with prayer by Councilor Thomas. 

Tuesday evening, January 3, 1854. 

Council met pursuant to adjournment at the school house of 
the City of Lehi. Roll called, a quorum present. Prayer by 

Lorenzo H. Hatch. Minutes 
of last meeting read and, on 
motion, accepted. 

The committee to visit 
certain officers reported: 
John R. Murdock not willing 
to serve as Marshal, that 
Abram Hatch would report 
himself, and that John S. 
Lott was willing to serve as 
Constable for the City of 
Lehi. On motion, the report 
was received. 

Abram Hatch, being pres- 
ent, was called to know if he 
would act as Assessor and 
Collector. Stated that if he 
could receive pay for his ser- 
vices, he was willing. The 
council informed him they 
could promise him such pay 
as they got. This not being 
satisfactory, he refused to act. 

On motion, Ezekiel Hopkins was appointed Assessor and 
Collector for the City of Lehi. 

An ordinance was presented entitled: An ordinance creating a 
Treasurer. On motion, was received and, after its first reading, 
the ordinance, on motion, passed entire. 

On motion, Daniel Cox was elected Treasurer. 

Councilor Hopkins now came forward and gave bonds and 
was sworn into office by Thomas Taylor, Recorder. 

John S. Lott then, gave bonds, and the Recorder administered 




ALONZO 1). RHODES. 



1853] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 59 

to him the oath of office. On motion, the council adjourned to 
Friday evening, January 6, 1854. 
Benediction by Murdock. 

The following minutes of the second council might 
also prove interesting: 

Saturday, May 27, 1854, 4 o'clock p. m. 

Council met pursuant to adjournment at the school house of 
the City of Lehi. 

The Mayor (David Evans) took the chair and called the 
meeting to order. Roll called, a quorum present. Prayer by 
Alderman Thomas. Minutes of a special meeting held May 15 
read and accepted. Minutes of a meeting held May 12 read 
and accepted. 

Mr. John Murdock presented a resignation of his office as Al- 
derman to the council. On motion of Councilor Skeen, the res- 
ignation was accepted. 

A petition was presented by Alderman Thomas from Martin 
Bushman and others, praying the council to take into consider- 
ation the pay for cleaning out water ditches, etc. On motion of 
Alderman Bell, the petition was received. After considerable 
discussion, on motion, the petition was thrown under the table. 

POST OFFICE. 

Early in 1853, Lehi was placed in communication 
with the outside world by the establishment of a 
post office with David Evans as postmaster. He fitted 
up a small room in his house for an office, the sole 
equipment being a green painted box divided into al- 
phabetically arranged pigeon holes.* 

Before the trans-continental railroad reached Utah, 
the mail was handled by means of overland stage or 



*His successors have been James Harwood, 1882-1893; Prime 
Evans, 1893-1897; Stephen W. Ross, 1897-1913; and Joseph An- 
derson, the present incumbent. 



60 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



the "Pony Express." It often happened that months 
would elapse, especially during the winter season, be- 
tween the arrivals of the mails. But the people were 
well satisfied even with this imperfect service. 

SECOND CHANGE IN THE BISHOPRIC. 

On account of the removal of Jehial McConnell, 
First Counselor in the Bishopric, to southern Utah, 

another change was 
made in the bishop's 
aids, early in 1853. Lor- 
enzo H. Hatch was se- 
lected as First Coun- 
selor, and Abel Evans 
as Second Counselor to 
Bishop Evans. 

JORDAN BRIDGE. 

The first bridge to 
span the Jordan River 
near Lehi was built this 
spring under the super- 
vision of Thomas Ash- 
ton. It was the result 
of a commercial enter- 
prise, a stock company 
having been organized 
for the purpose. For this company, Charles Hopkins 
obtained a charter from the Legislative Assembly, 
which empowered the holders both to construct the 
bridge and to collect toll for crossing it. The act fol- 
lows : 




DANIEL S. THOMAS. 



1853] 



BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 



61 



An act granting unto Charles Hopkins and others the right 
to build a bridge across the river Jordan. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That Charles Hopkins, 
Ezekiel Hopkins, and Alonzo D. Rhodes, citizens of Lehi City, 
Utah County, are hereby authorized and empowered to form a 
company for the purpose of building a toll bridge across the 
Jordan River at any point within ten miles north of Utah Lake, 
that the city may determine. 

Section 2. The within named Charles Hopkins, and Alonzo 
D. Rhodes, are hereby authorized to take, and sell stock at $25.00 




PRESENT BRIDGE ON SITE OF OLD JORDAN BRIDGE. 



each share, until a sufficient amount of stock shall have been 
taken to defray the cost of building said bridge. 

Section 3. There shall be a committee of three chosen from 
among, and by the stockholders, whose duty it shall be to keep 
an accurate account of all expenditures, also to superintend the 
building, and to do such other business for the company as the 



62 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



majority of the stockholders may deem expedient tor the gen- 
eral good. 

Section 4. Every stockholder shall be entitled to one vote 
for each share he may have taken. 

Section 5. The bridge shall be built to the acceptance of 
the Territorial Commissioner. 

Section 6. The City Council of Lehi City are hereby au- 
thorized to regulate the rates of toll for crossing said bridge. 

Section 7. The company thus formed may have the right 
to hold claim on the bridge, until they have realized one hun- 
dred per cent over and above all expenditures; after which said 
bridge shall be turned over to the Territorial Commissioner in 
good repair, as the property of the Territory. 

Approved, January 21, 1853." 



From the first, the bridge 
able success and rewarded 




WILLIAM GOATES. 



proved to be a reason- 
the promoters with a 
substantial rate of in- 
terest on their invest- 
ment. 

George Zimmerman 
was among the first toll 
keepers for the bridge 
company. For several 
years also, a man named 
Jenkins, and later Wil- 
liam Ball and his family, 
lived at the bridge and 
collected the fees due 
for crossing. The last 
collector was Joseph J. 
H. Colledge, who re- 
sided at the bridge for 
many years. 



1853] BIRTH OF POLITICAL LIFE. 63 

FIRST CITY ORDINANCE. 

As provided in the charter, the regulation of tolls 
for this bridge was to be under the direction of the 
City Council, and their first ordinance had to deal with 
this matter. It is given in full below : 

An ordinance defining the amount of toll on Lehi Jordan 
Bridge. 

Section 1. Be it ordained by the City Council of the City of 
Lehi, that the toll of the above named bridge shall be as follows: 
For crossing a vehicle of any kind drawn by two animals. . .20c 

Or six tickets for $1.00 

For each and every vehicle drawn by one animal 15c 

For each animal and rider or each pack animal 10c 

For loose horses, mules, jacks, jinnies, and cattle, each 5c 

For sheep and hogs lc 

For each .foot passenger 5c 

Section 2. Be it further ordained that any person crossing 
the above named bridge on a single animal faster than a walk, 
shall pay a fine of five dollars. 

Any person driving a loose team faster than a walk, shall 
pay a fine of ten dollars. 

Also, any person driving a team and wagon faster than a 
walk, shall pay a fine of fifteen dollars. 

Section 3. This ordinance shall be in full force from and 
after its passage. 

Passed July 8, 1853. 

FIRST SCHOOL ELECTION. 

On February 17, 1854, the City ' Council- passed 
an ordinance creating a school district which 
provided that the district should extend to the 
lines of the municipal corporation; that three trus- 
tees were to be elected, who should proceed forth- 
with to assess and collect taxes with which to build 
a suitable school house; that the trustees should 



64 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



appoint a clerk to keep a record of their proceedings; 
and that for the faithful performance of their duties 
they were compelled to furnish a bond in the sum of 
one thousand dollars each to the City Council. 

The council ordered the election to be held on the 
twentieth of the month, 
the polls to open from 
12 noon to 1 p. m., 
and appointed Silas P. 
Barnes, Preston Thomas 
and Ira J. Willes, judges 
of election, with Thomas 
Taylor as clerk. The 
result of the election 
showed that Preston 
Thomas, Daniel Collett, 
and William Burgess 
had been selected as 
Lehi's first school board. 
Thus did the innate 
tendency of the pioneers 
towards political organ- 
ization find expression. 
In a remarkably short time after the founding of the 
community, a stable municipal government with all 
its departments and offices had been set up and was 
running smoothly. Truly such a record speaks well 
for the love of law and order these people possessed. 



*** 



SYLYANUS COLLETT. 



CHAPTER VI. 

Troubles with the Indians. 

1853-1856. 

NOTWITHSTANDING the extremely wise and 
humane policy of the pioneers of Utah in dealing 
with the Indians, it was inevitable that trouble should 
eventually arise. The situation was new for both ; the 
white men, from their previous life in the East and 
Middle West, were comparatively lacking in knowl- 
edge of the character and habits of the red men; while 
the savages were none too trustful of the intentions of 
the pale faces, and certain turbulent spirits among 
them openly showed their hostility. It needed but an 
overt act, even though unintentional, to kindle the 
flame. 

THE WALKER WAR. 

The opportunity finally presented itself through the 
killing of an Indian in Springville in 1853. One Chief 
Walkarah immediately incited the neighboring In- 
dians into hostilities, and from these the warlike spirit 
spread generally among the Indians in the southern 
part of the Territory. Attacks were made on the set- 
tlers and numerous depredations were committed be- 
fore the uprising was quelled. This trouble was called 
the Walker War, an incorrect English rendition of the 
name of the Indian leader. 

To protect the settlers, their militia was called to 
arms, and on July 25, Colonel George A. Smith was 
placed in command of that part operating south of 
Salt Lake City. At once he directed the inhabitants 



66 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



of the settlements, as the first means of defense, to 
gather in forts and barricades. 

The question of the location of the proposed fort in 
Lehi immediately arose. At this time the people 

were scattered from the 
present State Road to 
the lake, although the 
majority lived in Evans- 
ville. Different locali- 
ties were agitated as be- 
ing the most desirable, 
but the choice finally 
dwindled to two sites — 
one the present Xew 
Survey, (the north-west 
part of modern Lehi). 
the other, the site upon 
which the city was 
eventually built. The 
latter was selected be- 
cause no one had al- 
ready constructed homes 
there, thus avoiding ri- 
valry and unpleasantness, and also because the surface 
well water was considered more desirable. 

THE SECOND FORT. 

The plan of construction for the fort was not a com- 
plex one. It consisted merely of placing the log 
houses of the settlers end to end, thus forming a 
hollow square seventy rods long. Inside the en- 
closure were to be built the corrals, stackyards and 
stables. As the crops were harvested this fall, they 




ALEXANDER LOVERIDGE, 
A Pioneer of 1851. 



1853] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



67 




were brought to this 
place, and later the 
houses were moved into 
line. This was not ac- 
complished without re- 
luctance, especially on 
the part of those who 
had most recently erect- 
ed their homes. But the 
need of defense was so 
urgent and the labor of 
moving a log house so 
comparatively small that 
eventually everyone was 
found in the fort. This 
centralization with its 
resulting close associa- 
tions did much to de- 
velop and cement the union of community life, fur- 
nishing, through the stress of adverse circumstances, 
an excellent opportunity for the expression of that 
high regard of civic life which so markedly character- 
ized the people of Utah.* 

The log school house was torn down and rebuilt 
near the northeast corner of the fort, which would be 
approximately where the Mountain States Telephone 
office now stands. This" move also resulted in the 
erection of an adobe tithing office of two stories and 

*The north line of this second fort was three rods north of 
Main Street; the west line three rods west of Third West Street; 
the south line midway between Second and Third South Streets; 
and the east line midway between Center and First West Streets. 

The following are the names of some of the families who 
lived in the fort: 



JOHN BROWN, 
A Pioneer of 1853. 



68 HISTORY OF LEHI. ri853 

a basement and surrounded with a mud wall. It was 
quite the most pretentious structure thus far put to- 
gether in Lehi and stood on the north-west corner of 
Third "West and Main. The building was occasion- 
ally used as the meeting place of the City Council and 
other similar bodies, while for many years the base- 
ment served as a jail. 

As an additional safeguard against the Indians, a 
parapet was erected a short distance north of the fort 
near the State Road. Bishop David Evans and *Abel 
Evans directed the work. The parapet consisted of a 
trench eight feet wide and five feet deep, enclosing a 
piece of ground eleven rods square. The excavated 
earth formed a formidable breastwork. In especially 
dangerous times, a guard maintained a lookout on 
the parapet and warned the people in the fort of any 
approaches of the enemy. This outpost stood im- 
mediately north of the present Central School House. 



East side — George Zimmerman, John Zimmerman. John 
Spires, Tunis Rappley, Martin Bushman, John Brown", William 
Goates. 

North side — Thomas Ashton, Alfred Bell, William Hudson, 
William Sharp, William Dobson, Abel Evans, Daniel Collett, 
William Burgess, Philip Olmstead, Prime Coleman, George 
Coleman, William Coleman, David Evans, Israel Evans, Joel W. 
White, Jehial McConnell, Henry Norton, John W. Norton, J. 
Wiley Norton, Riley Judd, David Norton. 

West' side — John Mercer, Abraham Brown, Joseph J. Smith, 
Preston Thomas, Canute Peterson, David Clark, Samuel T. 
Smith, Samuel Briggs, William Goates, Charles Partridge, Luke 
Titcomb, William Snow, Samuel James, Samuel Harwood, Daniel 
S. Thomas, John Andreason, Daniel Cox, Oley Ellingson. 

South side — Orrace Murdock, John- Murdock Sen., John R. 
Murdock, Abram Hatch, Mrs. Pamelia Lott, John S. Lott, Ira 
J. Willes, W. S. S. Willes, Abraham Losee. Mrs. Lydia Losee, 
Joseph Skeens, Thomas Karren, Alonzo D. Rhodes, John Winn, 
Silas P. Barnes, Tunis Rappley. 



1853] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



6 ( ^ 



MILITARY ORGANIZATION. 

Very early in the history of Utah, a territorial mili- 
tia, known as the Nauvoo Legion, was organized with 
military districts in each 
county and branches in 
each settlement. The 
captain of the Lehi di- 
vision was Wiliam Sid- 
ney Smith Willes, famil- 
iarly known as Sidney 
Willes, a man noted for 
his courage and far- 
sightedness, and a for- 
mer member of fcheMor- 
mon Battalion. During 
the turbulent years of 
Lehi's . founding, Cap- 
tain Willes led his little 

company on more than capt. william s. s. willes. 
one dangerous and difficult expedition. 

INDIAN EXPEDITIONS. 

Soon after the outbreak of the Walker War, Cap- 
tain Willes with thirty men was detailed to Salt 
Creek, (now Nephi) to assist the people there. They 
served only ten days before returning home. Later an 
expedition left Lehi with Millard County as the objec- 
tive point and of this, James Harwood, a member of 
the company, gives the following interesting account : 

"Captain Sidney Willes was ordered to take his 
company and proceed to Fillmore, the capital of the 
Territory. W'illiam Wadsworth, Abram Hatch, 
Sylvanus Collett, William Bell, George Coleman, 




70 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1853 



John Hackett, and myself, with others from American 
Fork and Pleasant Grove, made up the company. 

"It was quite an undertaking at that time to find 
horses and saddles, as but few of these were used, 
oxen being the principal beasts of burden. By the 

first of August, we were 
on the way and succeed- 
ed in getting through 
without any attacks from 
the Indians. A company 
from Salt Lake City, who 
were a few days' march 
ahead of us, were at- 
tacked at Willow Springs 
and several of their num- 
ber killed. When we ar- 
rived in Fillmore, we 
acted as guards for the 
settlement and stock 
while the people gath- 
ered their crops and 
placed themselves in a 
position of defense. 
Shortly afterwards, we received orders to gather up 
all the surplus cattle and bring them to Salt Lake City 
for safety. When we started on our trip, we took with 
us a cannon, John Hackett and myself having it in 
charge. We had no occasion to use it, but I think 
it had a salutary effect upon the minds of the red men. 
They said they did not mind being fired upon with 
guns, but they most seriously objected to being shot 
at with wagons. The old cannon is now in the 
museum in Salt Lake City. When we arrived in 




TAMES HARWOOD. 



1853] TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 71 

Lehi, we could not find our houses, as they had been 
moved to form a part of the fort which had been built 
in our absence." 

By exercising care and vigilance, the people of Lehi 
were successful in protecting themselves and their 
property from the Indians. The men were armed 
wherever they went. As they worked in the fields, 
they kept constantly on guard for ambushes, and the 
same precaution was observed within the fort. Xo 
one dared go alone into the mountains after wood or 
stock. Herders took care of the cattle by day and 
drove them into the stockade for the night. These 
strict measures undoubtedly saved the settlers in Lehi 
much trouble and loss; because, as compared with 
some of their neighbors, they were singularly free 
from the depredations of the red men. 

The close of 1853 saw the cessation of hostilities 
around Lehi, but in the southern part of the Territory 
the so-called war lasted until the spring of 1854. By 
this time, about five hundred people had made their 
homes in Lehi. 

A FORT WALL PLANNED. 

As a precautionary measure for possible future out- 
breaks of the Indians, the City Council decided to 
build an eight foot adobe wall with a rock foundation 
around the present fort. To construct this, the fol- 
lowing committee was appointed, February 17. 1854: 
David Evans, Preston Thomas, William Burgess, 
Sen., Harrison Burgess, and Lorenzo H. Hatch. The 
plans for this wall were never carried out, but they 
undoubtedly opened the way for the construction of 
a much larger one the following summer. 









5 « 

.. DO tOMAIIiSlL , . J M 1 


% 


On iTcijtinnii'.ij ll'hcvcijf. ' 


■ 

■ 


mm* , 



Commission of David Evans as Major of the Nauvoo Legion — the 
Utah Militia. 



1854] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



73 



SECOND MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

Because of the delay in the first municipal election, 
the officials then selected acted only for thirteen 
months, when on March 6, 1854, the second election 

was held. But one ticket 
was in the field and no 
opposition to it was 
shown. Alfred Bell, 
Stephen H. Pierce, and 
Daniel Cox acted as 
judges of election with 
Thomas Taylor as clerk. 
The choice of the voters 
was as follows: Mayor, 
David Evans; Alder- 
men, John R. Murdock, 
Preston Thomas, Wil- 
liam Burgess and Alfred 
Bell ; Councilors, Abra- 
ham Losee, Daniel Col- 
lett, Lorenzo H. Hatch, 
Ezekiel Hopkins, Joseph 
Skeens, Abel Evans, Thomas Ashton, Daniel Cox and 
Richard Gibbons. Later it was discovered that Abra- 
ham Losee had not become a citizen of the United 
States, so his seat was denied him. William S. S. 
Willes received an appointment to act in his place. 
The newly elected City Council appointed the follow- 
ing officials: Recorder, Thomas Taylor; Marshal, 
Alonzo .D. Rhodes ; Constables, Sylvanus Collett and 
John S. Lott ; Captain of Police, Orrace C. Murdock; 
Policemen, John Zimmerman, Prime Coleman, Wil- 




THOMAS ASHTON. 



74 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[18S4 



liam Sharp, David Clark, James W. Taylor, Thomas 
G. Winn, and Charles Galloway; Water Master, 
Daniel Collett; Street Supervisor, John Zimmerman; 
Field Committee, Daniel Collett, Joseph Skeens, and 
William Burgess. As no treasurer was appointed, it 

is probable that Daniel 
Cox continued to act in 
this office, unless, in- 
deed, experience had 
taught that the position 
was entirely unneces- 
sary. On May 27, 1854, 
William S. S. Willes suc- 
ceeded John R. Mur- 
dock as Alderman, the 
latter having resigned. 
Abraham Losee, having 
in the meantime sworn 
allegiance to the United 
States, filled the vacancy 
in the council caused by 
the promotion of Willes. 
Later, Losee became an 
Alderman to succeed Daniel S. Thomas, who re- 
signed, and Stephen H. Pierce, in turn, replaced 
Losee. Changes also occurred in the appointive 
offices — Justin J. Merrill as Constable and George 
Coleman as Policeman in place of John S. Lott and 
Prime Coleman respectively, the two latter having 
gone on misions. A later change was the promotion 
of Daniel Collett, March 2. 1855, to the office of Alder- 
man, in place of William Burgess, who had resigned. 




HARRISON BURGESS. 



1854] TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 75 

The vacancy in the council was filled by Thomas 
Karren. Still another vacancy in the council, caused 
by the removal of Richard Gibbons to Salt Lake, was 
filled June 7 , by the appointment of John S. Lott. 

A PECULIAR OFFICE. 

One of the legislative results of the second City 
Council was the following ordinance : 

An ordinance creating a deposit for lost property. 

Sec. 1. Be it enacted by the City Council of the City of Lehi, 
that there be a person appointed to take charge of lost property 
that may be found within the limits of this City, and deliver the 
same to the owner when called for or proven. 

Sec. 2. Be it further ordained, that it shall be the duty of 
every person or persons finding property within the limits of this 
City, to deliver the same forthwith to the person appointed for 
that purpose. 

Sec. 3. Any person or persons not complying with the re- 
quirements of this ordinance, shall be liable to a fine not exceed- 
ing fifty dollars. 

Sec. 4. This ordinance to be in effect from and after its pub- 
lication. 

Passed November 16, 1854. Published November 19, 1854. 

Stephen H. Pierce was the first man to occupy this 
position and hold the pretentious title of Superintend- 
ent of Lost and Found. The office has long since 
ceased to exist.* 

BOARD OF EXAMINERS. 

Another interesting ordinance of the second City 
Council was one which created a "Board of Exam- 



*The proceeds from the last sale were turned over to the 
Perpetual Emigration Fund, a contributory fund maintained by 
the Mormon Church to assist immigrants to Utah. 



76 HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1854 



iners," whose duties consisted in determining the fit- 
ness of applicants for the position of school teacher. 
One of the first examinations was a difficult problem 
in long division, the recitation of the multiplication 
table, the reading of a few paragraphs from the Bible, 
and the writing of a few lines as a display of penman- 
ship. The first members of this board were Alonzo 
P. Raymond, John Butler, and William Vance. 

THE FORT WALL. 

In May, 1854, Brigham Young concluded a treaty 
of peace with Chief Walker, and upon his return to 
Salt Lake City was caught in a blinding snow-storm 
on the west side of Utah Lake. Reaching Lehi on 
the fourth of June, he decided, because of the in- 
clemency of the weather, and also because he desired 
to warn the people of possible future danger, to stop 
in the little settlement and hold a meeting. The 
advice he gave at this gathering was to proceed imme- 
diately with the erection of a strong fort wall, an 
undertaking in Lehi which had been contemplated 
but as yet not begun. Governor Young, because of 
his recent experience with the red men, was deeply 
impressed with the necessity for caution, and so ex- 
pressed himself. Heber C. Kimball, who accom- 
panied the Governor, called attention to the fact that 
the recent snow fall might be used to some present 
advantage in dampening the earth to be used in the 
construction of the wall. 

Work was accordingly begun the next day. Bishop 
David Evans, who was also Mayor at this time, di- 
rected the surveying of the city, previous to the build- 



1854] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



77 



ing of the wall. The result of this work, which was 
performed with a pocket compass and a carpenter's 





ii. 








m. 






















1 
































>. 






































1 










} 



THE PORT 



T 



The street at the extreme right of the fort is the present Center 
Street; the street one block south of the north wall is the present Main 
Street; the Meeting House stood in the exact center of the fort at the 
intersection of the two central streets, on the south-west corner. 

square,* was a plat containing sixteen square blocks 
twenty rods long, interesected with streets six rods 

*In a careful survey of city blocks made in 19-13, it was dis- 
covered that this original survey of the blocks in the fort was 
far more accurate than many subsequent surveys of other parts. 
Fewer property lines needed adjusting there than at any other 
place, when the sidewalks were paved. 



78 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i854 

in width. Just inside the wall, there was left an eight 
rod street on all sides except the south, where it nar- 
rowed to five rods. Thus the dimensions of the fort 
were 114 rods in length and 111 rods in width, the 
wall enclosing the whole. 

The wall itself was no small thing. Standing twelve 
feet in height, it sloped from a bottom six feet in 
thickness to a top of three feet. For the use of the 
defenders, portholes, eight feet from the ground and 
a rod apart, might be used. The bastions which pro- 
jected out from the walls midway between the cor- 
ners served as an additional protection. Entrance to 
the fort could be made through gates on each side, 
which were well guarded through their closeness to 
the bastions. 

The construction of the wall proved to be an ar- 
duous and difficult task. First the earth had to be 
mixed to the proper consistency, this work often be- 
ing performed with wooden spades made by Charles 
Barnes, the city's first cooper. Then it was necessary 
to tramp the mud into the wall, in itself an under- 
taking of no mean dimensions. Each layer must dry 
thoroughly before the next could be applied, and this 
delayed the work considerably. In view of the small 
number of people and their meager resources, it must 
be granted that they completed a colossal enterprise. 

As a means of insuring the performance of the work 
on the wall, the sixteen blocks in the fort were divided 
into lots, eight to each block, ten rods in length and 
five in width. On alternate blocks the lots faced east 
and west, and north and south, respectively. For one 



18S4] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



79 



of these lots, the owner was compelled to build four 
rods of wall or pay the equivalent — sixty bushels of 
wheat or sixty dollars. During the summer and fall 
of 1854, work continued steadily on this undertaking, 
and while practically all parts of the wall were finished, 
Tunis Rappley was the only man to complete fully his 
four rods to its' full 
height. What was ac- 
complished, however, 
served as an excellent 
defense, and together 
with the guards which 
were placed at the gates, 
was effective in keeping 
out marauders. This 
practice lasted- during 
two years and the very 
night it was discon- 
tinued, an Indian broke 
into the fort and stole 
two of the best horses 
there. 

With the erection of 
a wall, the people moved 

their houses from the former fort to their city lots. 
Many of them, however, erected new dwellings. In 
this building era, the adobe — that sun-dried brick 
which was so well known in Western pioneer days 
— began to come into its usefulness. Even the log- 
houses appeared more pretentious, since now the logs 
were hewn, and a few could boast of old-fashioned 
shingled roofs. But the mud-thatched roof and the 




CHARLES BARNES. 



80 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i8S4 

dugout were destined to continue for many years yet 
to be the common dwelling.* 

PIONEER DAY, 1854. 

For the first time since the founding of the city, the 
people, on July 24, celebrated Pioneer Day. The 
celebration took the form of a procession through the 
streets, led by a band consisting of three violinists — 
Alonzo D. Rhodes, Sylvanus Collett and Stephen H. 
Pierce. Following these came twelve young men 
and twelve young ladies dressed in white. It is said 
the ingenuity and resources of the people were taxed 
to the utmost to furnish these white clothes. Next 
in line marched the Church officials and the militia, 
and a number of citizens carrying banners brought up 
the rear. Strange to say, one of the banners read 
"Peace and Plenty." After parading the streets, the 
procession drew up in front of the log school house 
where a brush bowery had been constructed. Here a 
program was enjoyed. A dance concluded the festiv- 
ities of the day. Notwithstanding all existing hard- 
ships and difficulties, it is affirmed by the participants 
that every one enjoyed a most thorough good time. 

THE INDIAN HOUSE. 

Not the least interesting of the houses in the fort 
was the so-called Indian House. This was a four- 
roomed adobe structure built against the north wall, 
near the present north-west corner of Third "West 



*The Pioneer Monument has since been erected to commem- 
orate the construction of this wall and it stands where once stood 
the north wall of the fort and twenty-six rods from its north-east 
corner. (Chap. XIX.) 



1854] 



TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 



81 



and First North. Its purpose seems to have been 
two-fold — a reward for a clan of Indians under a 
Chief Yan Tan who had aided Bishop Evans in cap- 
turing the Indian murderers of two white boys named 
Weeks from Cedar Fort, and also a means of attempt- 
ing to civilize these 
dusky friends. The first 
purpose failed in part, 
and the second entirely. 
Only in the day time 
would the red men oc- 
cupy the house built by 
(he pale faces— at night, 
no other shelter than 
their "wickiups" would 
suffice ; and after an In- 
dian child had died in 
the house, they would 
never enter it again. 
Their attempted civili- 
zation succeeded only to 
the extent of the hours 
of play which both red 
and white children en- 
joyed with each other. After being vacated by the 
savages, the house served as- a temporary shelter for 
new arrivals, and many are the families of Lehi whose 
first residence was the Indian House. 




SAMUEL BRIGGS, 
A Pioneer of 1851. 



THE TINTIC WAR. 



The so-called Tintic War was a local disturbance in 
the north end of Utah County. It arose from the 

7 



82 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[18S4 



stealing of an ox from a herd of cattle on the west 
side of Utah Lake, in charge of Abraham Hunsacker 
of Goshen. On February 22, Sheriff Wall of Provo 
set out from that place with a posse of ten men to 
arrest the Indian thief. The result proved to be a 
general fight with the tribesmen of the culprit, who 

were encamped in Cedar 
Valley. Reinforcements 
being necessary, the 
sheriff called on the 
Lehi militia. A company 
of fifteen men under 
command of Captain 
Willes and John S. Lott 
responded, some of 
whom were William 
Clark, James Lamb, 
John Glynes, John Kar- 
ren, John Catlin, George 
Winn, William Skeens, 
Joseph Cousins, Frank 
Molen, Sylvanus Col- 
lett, and Alonzo D. 
Rhodes. 

Leaving Lehi on the morning of February 26, and 
crossing Utah Lake on' the ice, the little company 
proceeded to the Lone Tree Ranch to guard the cattle 
which were kept there. To their dismay, they dis- 
covered that they were already too late ; both herders, 
Henry Moran and Washington Carson, had already 
met their death at the hands of the militant savages. 
There remained only to drive the cattle north to 




JAMES LAMB. 



1854] TROUBLES WITH THE INDIANS. 83 

Chimney Rock Pass and camp for the night, James 
Lamb and John Glynes having been sent, in the mean- 
time, to inform the people at Cedar Fort of the sad 
fate of the two herders. Camp having been pitched, 
an animal was killed and the party fed. During the 
meal, Joseph Cousins jestingly remarked, "If the In- 
dians kill me, I wish to die with a full stomach." Be- 
cause of the intense cold, a roaring fire was made. 
Cousins and Sylvanus Collett, being delegated to se- 
cure wood, proceeded to a nearby bunch of trees to 
cut some. They were busily engaged when Collett, 
glancing up, saw an Indian peering out from behind 
a tree not far away. Shouting to his companion, 
"Run, there is an Indian," he hastily fled to camp. 
Not so with Cousins. He seemed rooted to the spot, 
unable to help himself. The savages made quick 
work of him, mercilessly shooting him down and 
scalping him. The massacre of Cousins proved to be 
but the prelude to a general attack. Crouching be- 
hind wagon boxes and whatever shelter they could 
obtain, the men returned the fire as best they could. 
The intervention of nightfall was a great relief to 
them, however, because the little party was almost 
helpless before the greater number of Indians. As it 
was, John Catlin was killed and George Winn mor- 
tally wounded. Fearing a continuation of the attack, 
the company retreated to the lake shore, four miles 
away, carrying the wounded Winn in their arms. 
Alonzo D. Rhodes crossed the lake on the ice and 
reached Lehi the next morning. A relief company 
immediately returned with him and accompanied the 
dispirited party home, two of their number dead and 



84 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i854 

one hopelessly wounded. The funeral of these three 
heroes was held on February 28. A larger force in 
a few days effectively put an end to the "Tintic War." 
Such were the troubles which the early settlers of 
Lehi had with their savage neighbors. Precaution 
and vigilance meant safety to them, the lack of it 
would have resulted in the loss of life and property. 
The so-called "wars" of those early days may appear 
trivial and petty to modern eyes, but in the days of 
Lehi's founding they meant life or death. 



CHAPTER VII. 

Initial Struggles and Hardships. 



THE Indians did not constitute the only difficulty 
the pioneers of Lehi had to overcome. Nature 
herself seemed for a time to be arrayed against them. 
While it is true that the development of a new coun- 
try entails many hardships and presents an abundance 
of perplexing problems, yet it would almost seem that 
the early inhabitants of Lehi, in common with the 
pioneers of all Utah, were compelled to meet a suc- 
cession of misfortunes and adverse circumstances far 
beyond the ordinary. What these blows of Dame 
Fortune were and how the people met them, forms an 
interesting part of Lehi's story. 

GRASSHOPPERS. 

In August, 1854, began the first of a series of costly 
invasions by the grasshoppers. Appearing in count- 
less myriads, they settled down on the fields and de- 
voured everything in their path. Nothing green 
escaped their voracious appetites. Fortunately most 
of the crops had already been harvested, so the dam- 
age wrought by the pest was inconsiderable. The 
grasshoppers soon died, and the people congratulated 
themselves on escaping so easily. But in this they 
assumed too much, for the insects had deposited their 
eggs and dire havoc was to follow the next year. 



86 HISTORY OF LEHI. uss4 

THE FIRST HARNESS. 

To James Harwood belongs the honor of making 
the first harness ever manufactured in Lehi. From 
leather, tanned by Samuel Mulliner in Salt Lake City, 
he put together, in 1854, the first product of a business 
which he kept active until the time of his death, and 
which is now conducted by his son-in-law, John T. 
Winn. 

FIRST THRESHING MACHINE. 

The summer of 1854 also witnessed the importation 
of the first agricultural machinery into Lehi — a 
threshing machine. Compared to modern standards 
it was but a sorry affair, since it did not separate the 
chaff from the wheat. This operation was performed 
by hand. A tread mill, run by horses, furnished the 
motive power. A few years later, Bishop Evans se- 
cured a fanning mill and this proved of inestimable 
assistance. Both the threshing machine and the fan- 
ning mill were owned and operated by Bishop David 
Evans, Thomas Karren, and Daniel Collett. 

GRASSHOPPER WAR. 

Encouraged with the success of the few preceding 
years, the people planted crops in 1855 on a more 
extensive scale than ever. Growth during the spring 
months promised a bounteous harvest, and the farmers 
were already felicitating themselves on their good 
fortune. But their hopes were soon to be blasted. 
With the arrival of warm weather came also the hop- 
pers, the sequel to the invasion of the year previous. 
Growing with astonishing rapidity, they soon 



18SS] 



INITIAL STRUGGLES. 



87 



swarmed into the fields and began their work of de- 
vastation. A marked peculiarity about these pests 
was that they seemed always to travel across a field 
in a southerly direction. Devouring everything in 
their path, leaving not a 
single green herb stand- 
ing, their departure saw 
the fields absolutely bar- 
ren and waste. Only a 
very few patches of 
grain south of Dry 
Creek were left stand- 
ing. 

To combat this plague 
and to save if possible 
some of the crops which 
meant so much to them, 
the settlers made des- 
perate efforts and util- 
ized various schemes. 
They dug ditches, filled 
them with water, and 
drove the hoppers into 
them ; they scattered winrows of straw over the fields 
and when these were covered with the insects set 
them on fire; they dug holes in the ground, brushed 
the "Ironclads" into them and covered them with 
earth. But all of their work seemed to be wasted; 
they were unable to perceive that the numbers of the 
creatures were in the slightest diminished. By the 
middle of June, however, the wings of the grasshop- 
pers were fully grown and they flew away, leaving 




MRS. PETER SCHOW, 

(Daughter of Abraham Losee,) 

A Pioneer of 1851. 



88 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1855 



but a desolate waste where once had been a promise 
of bounteous crops. 

In order that food stuffs be obtained, the people 
planted the devastated fields in corn and potatoes. 
Fortune, which had been so unkind to them in the 
spring, now bestowed her good graces upon them; 
for the lateness of the arrival of snow and frost in the 

autumn allowed these 
crops to mature. 

Of the very few 
patches of grain har- 
vested in 1855, one be- 
longed to Mrs. Canute 
Peterson, and the cir- 
cumstances attending its 
survival, as related by 
her daughter, are suffi- 
ciently noteworthy to 
deserve narrating. Ow- 
ing to the absence of her 
husband on a mission, 
the responsibility of til- 
ling the land fell upon 
Mrs. Peterson. She was 
unable to obtain assist- 
ance so attempted the planting of the crop herself. In 
furrows made with a hoe, she planted the precious 
kernels of wheat and because of her anxiety to per- 
form the work well, she covered them deeply with 
soil. An acre of land was utilized in this laborious 
manner. Because of the lateness and depth of plant- 
in--, the wheat did not show above the ground until 




MRS. CANUTE PETERSON. 



1855] INITIAL STRUGGLES. 89 

after the departure of the grasshoppers, so that when 
the other fields were barren and waste, that of Mrs. 
Peterson was covered with a luxuriant growth. Sixty 
bushels of wheat was the generous reward bestowed 
by Mother Earth, in addition to sixty bushels of corn 
and some potatoes. With these, this good lady was 
able to provide, during the following winter, for seven 
orphans, and to give generous aid to numerous neigh- 
bors. 

FIRST FRUIT TREES. 

The spring of 1855 marked the beginning of an 
industry which has since developed into one of the 
most profitable carried on in Lehi. At this time, 
Abram Hatch, James W. Taylor, and John R. Mur- 
dock brought the first apple and peach trees into Lehi. 
Since then, fruit raising has been extensively and 
profitably carried on. 

HARD TIMES. 

The winter of 1855 and 1856 is noted for being" 
probably the most severe in the history of Utah. In 
common with others, the people of Lehi suffered in- 
tensely during this time. Heavy snows and extremely 
cold weather continued until late in the spring. With 
but few comforts to offset the intense cold, and with 
a small store of food owing to the failure of the crops 
the year previous, the people were subjected to deep 
and prolonged suffering. Every expedient was re- 
sorted to in order to alleviate this trying condition. 
Sego bulbs, thistle roots, and artichokes, together with 
pig weed "greens," constituted a disagreeable but un- 
avoidable part of their fare. With only such nour- 



90 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1855 



ishment as could be obtained from this too exclusively 
vegetarian diet, it is small wonder that men were 
often seen staggering along the streets from sheer 
weakness. 

Concerning these strenuous and trying times, 
Samuel Briggs relates the following: 

"The difficulty of obtaining bread to eat was only 
surpassed by the trouble we had in getting something 
to go with it. Indeed, this often proved impossible, 




k 



m 



CRADLING GRAIN. 

so dry bread frequently formed our fare. The people 
made molasses of beets and occasionally of squash 
and of parsnips, but of the three, beet molasses was 
the least repulsive. The cooking was done in large 
iron or brass kettles, of which there were very few 
in the town. 'Grandma' Jacobs had an old iron kettle 



18S6] 



INITIAL STRUGGLES. 



91 



which went the rounds for molasses making. Its 
broken pieces were held together by an iron band 
round the outside. When the kettle was to be used, 
the cracks were filled with flour paste of which a small 
quantity was also kept on hand to stop leaks during 
the process of cooking. 
It sometimes happened 
that small pieces of beet 
were left in the molasses 
and these the children 



These conditions made 
the harvesting of the 
crop the following sea- 
son a long-looked-for 
and eagerly anticipated 
event. Although only 
one-third of the usual 
amount of grain had 
been sowed, the result 
was an exceptionally mrs. johannah Jacobs. 

bounteous harvest. Eagerly did the people seek the 
first few ripened heads of grain and with great re- 
joicing make them into bread. The survivors of those 
hard times say that the first bread made from this har- 
vest was sweeter and more delicious than any other. 

THE LIBERTY POLE. 

In 1856 the people of Lehi erected a flag pole upon 
which to unfurl the emblem of their country. Pre- 
ceding the Fourth of July of that year, William Daw- 




92 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1856 



son — familiarly called Uncle Billy — brought from 
West Canyon a tall, straight pole, which was set up 
at the north-east corner of the Meeting House lot. 

Known as the "Liberty 
Pole," it performed yeo- 
man service for over 
thirty-seven years, when 
on July 5, 1893, it was 
taken down by order of 
the City Council as be- 
ing unsafe. 

THIRD MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

Except for a small 
number of ordinances 
and some extremely in- 
distinct memorandums, 
there exist no authentic 
records of the third mu- 
nicipal election and the 
third coterie of city offi- 
cers. The election was 
held in February, 1856, with the following results, as 
nearly as can be ascertained: Mayor, David Evans; 
Aldermen, Alfred Bell, Lorenzo H. Hatch, J. W. Mor- 
ton, and William Snow; Councilors. Abel Evans, 
Daniel S. Thomas, Thomas Ashton, John S. Lott, 
Daniel Collett, William S.S. Willes, Ezekiel Hopkins. 
James \Y. Taylor, and Canute Peterson; Recorder 
and Auditor, Thomas Taylor; Marshal, Alonzo D. 
Rhodes ; Treasurer, Lorenzo H. Hatch ; Assessor and 
Collector, James Harwood. 




WILLIAM SNOW. 



CHAPTER VIII. 

Early Cultural Activity. 

1851-1871. 

ONE of the favorite pretensions of those who have 
criticised the pioneers of Utah is that they were 
largely illiterate and uneducated. They attempt to 
insinuate and inveigh against the pretended lack of 
refinement and culture in Utah as compared with 
that of her sister states east of the Missouri. Teacher 
and layman alike, no matter whether informed or not. 
have taken their fling at the founders of the Common- 
wealth. It is only recently, in fact, that an eminent 
professor of history in a prominent American univer- 
sity displayed the usual antagonism — to say nothing 
of misjudgment — in a text book he published, by mak- 
ing the statement that the farmers in the colonies in 
Revolutionary times "had reached about the same 
plane of civilization as that now occupied by the farm- 
ers of Utah." 

But the slightest examination of early Utah his- 
tory reveals the utter fallacy of these criticisms. The 
pioneers of Utah were among the most highly civ- 
ilized and cultured Americans of their time. Far 
from being the ignorant, uncouth frontiersmen their 
critics paint them to be, they were drawn almost 
wholly from the best families of New England and the 
Middle West. Their state of culture soon became 
evident after their arrival in Utah; for among their 
first acts was to establish a school system which has 



94 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1851 



developed into the envy of all Utah's sister states. 
Art, literature, music, the drama, soon found and kept 
a place among the founders, and of other kinds of 

cultural development 
there was no lack. 

Lehi is a good mirror 
of the whole State in 
this respect. The steps 
the little community 
took to advance civiliza- 
tion, the difficulties en- 
countered in making 
these efforts, and their 
widespread effect make 
an interesting study. 

THE FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE. 

In the fall of 1851, 
just one year after the 
arrival of the first set- 
tlers on Sulphur Springs, 
the people of Evansville erected a school house. It 
was a little log structure, eighteen by twenty-four 
feet, and was situated a short distance west of the 
present crossing of the D. & R. G. railroad and Dry 
Creek. The building was fitted up for school pur- 
poses in the best manner possible under the condi- 
tions. A large fire place in one end served to keep the 
interior warm. For desks, the children used rough 
slab benches without backs. Other furniture in the 
room consisted of a long table at which the pupils 
practiced writing. 




ELISHA H. DAVIS, SR., AND WIFE, 
Pioneers of 1853. 



1851] 



EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 95 



The equipment of the school otherwise was a seri- 
ous problem. Books were extremely scarce, and of 
those available hardly any were duplicates. Some 
Bibles and Books of Mormon and a very few readers 
and spellers — relics of other and better days — were 
with difficulty gathered and used. Two or more pupils 
had to content themselves with one book. Preston 
Thomas was the first school teacher, and his problem 
can be imagined somewhat when it is considered that 
his school ranged from the learning of the alphabet to 
long division, hardly two of his thirty or forty pupils 
being in the same stage of advancement. But in spite 
of -all these handicaps, school was held, and that suc- 
cessfully. 

Nor was the school house limited to use as a temple 
of learning. Being the first public building, it served 
alike as school house, meeting house, city hall, ball 
room, theatre, and the gathering place for assem- 
blies of all kinds. At its completion a rousing picnic 
was held in it, and who can doubt that the little place 
saw just as enjoyable a time as any of our pretentious 
modern structures ? 

This little building continued serving its purpose 
many years. Later, school was held in the Meeting 
House until the Thurman School House was con- 
structed, an edifice in which nearly all the adult popu- 
lation of Lehi has attended school.* 

HOME DRAMATIC ORGANIZATIONS. 

It was during the winter of 1854-1855 that the amuse- 



*Various private schools had been conducted, notably those 
of Mrs. Bassett, on the corner of Fourth West and Second 
South, and Mr. Purse. 



96 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



1854] 



ment-loving nature of the people took definite form 
in the organization of the first home dramatic asso- 
ciation of Lehi. Of this association, Thomas Taylor 
was president and James W. Taylor, stage manager. 
These two, with the following, put on the first per- 
formances : William W. Taylor, Mrs. Isabell Norton 
Judd. Edwin Standring, James Harwood, William 

Hudson, John Niel, Jo- 
seph Field. Robert 
Stoney, Andrew Ander- 
son. Prime Coleman, 
George Coleman, Riley 
Judd. William Sharp, 
William Van Dyke, 
Oscar Taylor, Mrs. Ann 
Taylor, Henry McCon- 
nell, Mrs. James W. 
Taylor, Emma Evans, 
Margaret and Elizabeth 
Zimmerman, Emma 
Lawrence, Lydia Kar- 
ren and William Bur- 
gess, Jr. 

On the 16th of Feb- 
ruary, 1855, William 
Burgess, Jr., appeared before the City Council and 
secured a license for the Lehi Dramatic Club for one 
year free of charge. 

The first productions given were "Priestcraft in 
Danger" and "Luke the Laborer," the performances 
being held in the log school house. Tallow candles 
were used for foot lights, and wagon covers, painted 




MRS. JAMjlS W. TAYLOR. 



1855] 



EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 



97 



with charcoal and red paint — the latter from the hills 
above Lehi — formed the scenery and drop curtain. 
The Dramatic Company was very popular with the 
people, and these initial ventures were succeeded by 
many admirable performances, much to the delight 
and pleasure of the hardship-ridden pioneers. 

THE MEETING HOUSE. 

Since, in the late fall and winter of 1855, the peo- 
ple had a great deal of spare time, it was proposed 
by Bishop Evans that work be commenced on a meet- 
ing house. The sugges- 
tion met with instant 
favor, and preparations 
were accordingly made 
for the construction of 
such a building. A com- 
mittee was appointed to 
take charge of the mat- 
ter — Daniel S. Thomas, 
chairman, and James 
Harwood, assessor and 
collector, are the only 
ones of this committee 
now known — and a tax 
of $1.50 for every $100 
valuation levied, $1 to 
be paid in labor and fifty 
cents to be paid in grain. 

Men were sent into West Canyon to obtain logs, 
and others busied themselves with hauling rocks and 
making adobes, and soon the masons were busy put- 




MRS. ISABELL JUDD. 



less] EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 99 

ting in the foundations and erecting the walls. The 
logs were hauled to Alpine and sawed into boards, 
except a few of the best which were reserved for 
shingles. The house was not completed the first 
season, but was used in an unfinished condition and 
has, in fact, never yet been formally dedicated. 

The corner selected for the Meeting House was the 
intersection of the two principal streets of the city, 
now First South and Second West Streets. This 
placed the building approximately in the center of the 
old fort. 

The church is sixty feet long by forty feet wide, 
and sixteen feet high to the square, with a gable at 
each end. The main auditorium is forty-eight by 
thirty-six feet, and with the gallery which extends 
across one end has a capacity of about five hundred. 
In the attic are two rooms which have been used as 
school rooms, and for quorum meetings, City Council 
meetings, and prayer meetings. 

The old structure has been used for a variety of 
purposes during the nearly sixty years of its exist- 
ence; it is still in active use; and bids fair yet to have 
many years of service. Superseding the old log 
school house, it was used for a long time for schools, 
balls, parties, theatres, and municipal meetings, not 
to mention its employment as a house of worship. 
Celebrations, conventions, business meetings, and al- 
most every other kind of assemblage, religious, polit- 
ical, educational, industrial, and social, have been held 
within its walls. In short, like as in Puritan days, the 
Meeting House has been the center of the life and 
growth of the community, and is a mute witness of its 



100 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[18S2 



struggles, vicissitudes, hardships, suffering, happiness 
and success. During the so-called "Move," it shel- 
tered at least twenty families. Within its portals 
have the last sad rites been paid to more than one of 
Lehi's children, and from its doors have been borne 
to rest upon the lonely hillside the dear ones of the 
best families in the city. Truly, the Meeting House, 
interesting old structure that it is, is entwined around 
the very heart strings of the people of Lehi. 



The "Divine Art" was not forgotten by the pio- 
neers of Lehi any more than the others. Even before 

the organization of a 
ward, David Clark led 
the singing in the as- 
semblies, but no organ- 
ized effort is known be- 
fore 1852. In this year, 
William Hudson organ- 
ized and led the first 
choir. Among the sing- 
ers who assisted him in 
the old log school house 
and Meeting House 
were David Clark, Sam- 
uel Jones, Edward W. 
Edwards, John Wield, 
James Harwood, Mrs. 
Robinson, Mrs. Folkner. 
William Sharp, Martha Clayton, William Littlewood, 
Mrs. Littlewood, Annie Brown, and others. 




EDWARD W. EDWARDS, 
Choir Le;.der and Hand Cart Veteran 



1854] 



EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 



101 



During the Christmas hoi 
lish custom of serenading w 



idays the good old Eng- 
as enjoyed, but with the 
passing years it has al- 
most died out. 

Some of the later lead- 
ers of the choir are Ed- 
ward W. Edwards, James 
P. Carter, Isaac W. Fox, 
John L. Gibb. E. Beesley, 
and Isaac Fox. Under 
these men the choir has 
always taken an active 
part in the life of the 
city, participating in cel- 
ebrations, exercises, pro- 
grams, meetings and fu- 
nerals, and in bringing 
good cheer and comfort 
in numerous other ways 
to the people. Indeed, 
it has been the choir that has formed the nucleus of 
musical development in Lehi. At various times its 
high state of proficiency in music has been demon- 
strated by its success in winning contests, some of 
them State-wide. 




JOHN L. GIBB. 



FIRST PUBLIC LIBRARY. 

As early as 1854, the City Council of Lehi had ap- 
propriated $70.00 for the purpose of founding a public 
library. The impetus was not sufficient, however, and 
the matter was not agitated again until 1865. Largely 
through the efforts of Israel Evans, a stock company 



102 HISTORY OF LEHI. rises 

was then organized for the purpose of establishing 
and operating a library, the members subscribing at 
$5.00 a share. The company was organized under the 
following grant of the Legislature : 

An act to incorporate the Lehi Library Association. 

Section 1. Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative 
Assembly of the Territory of Utah: That Israel Evans, Wil- 
liam H. Winn, Canute Peterson, James W. Taylor, and William 
S. S. Willes and their associates and successors in office are 
hereby constituted a body corporate, to be known and styled as 
Lehi Library Association; and shall have power to purchase, 
receive and hold property real and personal; to sue and be sued, 
plead and be impleaded, defend and be defended in all courts 
of law and equity; and to do all or anything that may be proper 
to carry into effect the object of the association by establishing 
a library of books, maps, charts, and scientific instruments, con- 
necting therewith a reading room and lectures, and the above 
named persons are hereby constituted a board of directors of 
said association, until superseded as provided in the following 
section. 

Section 2. A board of five directors shall be elected by the 
members of the said association on the first Monday in March, 
1866, and annually thereafter on said day, who shall hold the 
offices for one year and until their successors are duly elected; 
and they shall have power to appoint a president, secretary, cor- 
responding secretary, treasurer, and librarian, and define their 
duties; and also to enact such by-laws as may be necessary to 
do all business of the association. A majority may form a 
quorum to do business and fill any vacancy in the board, until 
the next regular election. 

Section 3. This association may raise means by sale of shares 
and contributions and donations for the purchase of books, maps, 
charts, etc., and for leasing or erecting of suitable buildings for 
library, reading room, and lecture. 

Section 4. Conditions of membership, admission to the li- 
brary, reading room, and lecture, and the loaning of books or 



1865] 



EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 



103 



other property, shall be as provided by the by-laws of the said 
association. 

Approved December 27, 1865. 

For this library there was purchased Harper's Fam- 
ily Library, consisting of one hundred fifty volumes of 
uniform size and binding. In addition, the collection 



HblJ ? Bra 

- 


5 1 






• L lE^g^q 


i 1 i 


"^t^SLbii 


1 1 V — — %..-* 



INTERIOR OF MEETING HOUSE. 
(Looking toward Stand.) 

contained histories, biographies, and scientific works, 
but no novels. 

The library was first opened in the small room in 
the Meeting House, with Joseph J. H. Colledge as li- 
brarian. A small fee was charged for the use of the 
books, and as literature was very scarce, they were in 
constant use. It is related that a lecture was held 



104 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



11860 



once a week at which time the people would draw out 
their books for the succeeding week, arid it is said also 

that very few volumes 
were allowed to remain 
in the library during 
the meantime. 

After the organiza- 
tion of the Young Men's 
Mutual Improvement 
Association, the books 
were turned over to that 
society. By them a li- 
brary was opened in the 
basement of the present 
City Hall, and a great 
number of volumes 
added to the collection. 
Later, however, the 
isaac w. fox. books were divided and 

for a number of years were not available. 

FIFE AND DRUM CORPS. 

About 1860 there was organized in Lehi a fife and 
drum corps which did much to please the people in 
the following years. Abraham Enough was the prime 
mover in this organization, and he became its first 
leader. This post he held for more than a score of 
years ; a familiar figure on public occasions, with his 
mouth crooked over his fife and his feet keeping time 
to the strain. Until the brass band was organized, the 
drum corps was the principal music in all public 
afTairs. From year to year the membership of the 




1871] 



EARLY CULTURAL ACTIVITY. 



105 



band changed until a large part of the male popula- 
tion of the city had seen service in it. It was not un- 
til after 1890 that the last remnants of the corps dis- 
banded. 

FIRST BRASS BAND. 

It was only in 1871 that the first brass band was 
formed in Lehi, but when the conditions are taken 
into consideration, that 
is a sufficiently meri- 
torious accomplishment. 
In that year, principally 
through the activity of 
George William Thur- 
man, such an organiza- 
tion was launched. By 
agreement, John Beck 
furnished one-half of the 
money necessary to se- 
cure the instruments. 
The following were the 
charter members : Al- 
fred Fox, leader; Isaac 
Fox, Samuel Taylor, 
George Beck, Robert 
Gilchrist, John Beck, 
Thomas Fowler, Christian Racker, Thomas R. Cutler, 
David J. Thurman, Joseph Ashton, and Joseph Col- 
ledge. These men were enthusiastic workers, and the 
band soon reached a high stage of proficiency. 

LEHI MUSIC HALL. 




ABRAHAM ENOUGH. 



Soon after the brass band was organized, the mem- 



106 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i87i 

bers erected the Lehi Music Hall at a cost of $2,500. 
This building was the first real theatre and dance hall 
in Lehi. It was located one-half block south of the 
Central School Building. It was thirty feet by sixty- 
two feet, with twenty-one feet of the west end used for 
a stage, and was built of adobes. The stage settings 
and scenery were the wonder and admiration of the 
people, and attracted many visitors as well. The drop 
curtain and some of the scenery were painted by 
George Kirkham, and the remainder by Kirkham and 
Lambourne of Salt Lake City. It served well the pur- 
pose of furnishing amusement, and was the scene of 
many notable performances by the Home Dramatic 
Association, and traveling companies. It enjoyed pop- 
ular favor until the erection of the Lehi Opera House 
by Lewis GarrT, when it was sold and torn down. 

CONCLUSION. 

Such a record is sufficient refutation of the charge 
of ignorance on the part of the founders of the State. 
When a little city like Lehi, in the face of the almost 
insurmountable difficulties which beset its founders, 
can accomplish the advances in education, music, the 
drama and other lines of culture, that have been 
shown, there remains little ground for further charges 
of lack of education and refinement. And to the men 
and women who accomplished these things too much 
credit can not be given. 



CHAPTER IX. 

Frontier Problems. 



THE influx of the pioneers started a continuous 
flow of immigration from the East. New con- 
verts of the Mormon religion were urged to migrate 
to the Rocky Mountains to affiliate themselves with 
their co-religionists. The response to this advice taxed 
to the utmost the facilities of the Church for transpor- 
tation. Ox teams and horses proved entirely inade- 
quate. To handle the ever-increasing stream of peo- 
ple who desired to go to the "Valley," some additional 
means was necessary. The hand cart companies came 
into being to supply this need. Unaided by horses or 
oxen, thousands of sturdy men and their no less cour- 
ageous wives crossed the plains after 1856, pulling a 
small cart which contained all of their possessions. 
In general, this method of traveling proved highly 
' satisfactory, and to it is due in no small part the 
steady increase in Utah's population in early times. 
Like her sister cities, Lehi received part of this hand 
cart immigration. 

HAND CART VETERANS. 

The task of crossing the plains with a hand cart is 
sufficiently noteworthy to deserve more than passing 
mention. To those noble men and women who made 
this memorable journey must be accorded praise in 



108 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[18 '.6 



boundless measure. Their names should be written 
indelibly upon the pages of history and cherished al- 
ways in the hearts of their fellow citizens. Especially 
do these men and women who came to Lehi by the 
hand cart method deserve a permanent place in the 

narration of the city's 
growth. Their names con- 
stitute an honor roll to 
which their fellows may 
look with sincere pride 
and gratitude. 

Robert Stoddard 
Sarah Stoddard Brown 
Edward IV. Edwards 

These three young peo- 
ple were members of the 
first hand cart company to 
come to Utah. Edmund 
Ellsworth was . captain, 
and they entered Salt Lake 
on September 26, 1856. 

Betsy Smith Goodzvin 
Rebecca Pilgrim Goates 

were members of Captain Willie's ill-fated company, and 
reached Salt Lake City November 9, 1856. 

Mariah Loader 

came in Captain Martin's company, of whom about one- 
fourth were left dead upon the plains. She arrived in 
Salt Lake City November 30, 1856. 




MRS. SARAH S. BROWN, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



1857-1860] 



FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 



109 



William Ball 
Henry Simmonds 
William L. Hut chin gs 

These men, together with their families, were with the 
company of Captain Israel Evans. After a very success- 
ful trip, then entered Salt Lake City, September 12, 1857. 

Jens Holm 

and family, after a journey of 1400 miles with Captain 
Christensen's company, arrived in Salt Lake, September 
13, 1857. 

Joseph Broadbent 

and family came to Utah 
in Captain Rowley's com- 
pany, which suffered con- 
siderably for want of 
food. Their arrival in 
Salt Lake City dated 
August 4, 1859. 

Joseph Slater 

and family crossed in 
Captain Daniel Robin- 
son's company. August 
27, 1860, saw them safely 
in Salt Lake City. 

Hannah Slater Bone 
was a member of this same company. 

Carl J. E. Fjeld 
and family were members of Captain Oscar O. Stod- 
dard's company. This was the last hand cart company to 




MRS. BETSEY SMITH GOODWIN, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



110 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1856 



cross the plains to Utah, and it entered Salt Lake City 
September 24, 1860. 

HAND CART DISASTER. 

But the hand cart immigration was not without its 
tragic side. In the fall of 1856, several companies 
started from the Platte so late that the winter snow 
caught them when they reached the mountains. They 

suffered untold hard- 
ships from cold, hunger 
and exposure, and many 
gave up their lives. To 
assist them, Brigham 
Young called for volun- 
teers during the month 
of October. Many men 
with teams and provi- 
sions responded and 
went out to meet these 
ill-fated travelers. A 
second call brought out 
the following men from 
Lehi who, forgetting 
the extreme vicissitudes 
which they had been 
compelled to undergo in 
the recent past, left their homes to give whatever aid 
they could to their brothers in distress: John R. Mur- 
dock, William H. Winn, Frank Allen, John S. Lott, 
Jonathan Partridge, and Alonzo D. Rhodes. 

Concerning this incident, John R. Murdock 
says: 




MRS. REBECCA PILGRIM GOATES, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



18S6] FRONTIER PROBLEMS. Ill 

"There were six of us called from Lehi as a sec- 
ond relief party to go and meet the hand cart suffer- 
ers. We proceeded as far as the Weber where we 
met them, and after distributing the supplies we had 
brought with us, undertook to help them on the road 
to the valley. Through the falling snow and the 
chilling blast our progress was necessarily very slow, 
but by night we had managed to reach the Cotton- 
wood Grove where we camped. Next morning we 
started to cross the Big Mountain. In going up the 
mountain in advance of the company, we found the 
snow becoming deeper and deeper, and when we 
reached the top, we discovered that it had drifted to 
a depth of ten or twelve feet. Here we met men and 
teams who inquired where the men and teams from 
Provo were. When I told them that they were a 
long distance back, they proposed to return to their 
camp. To this proposition I said 'No' most em- 
phatically, and told them to go and help bring the im- 
migrant train up, which they finally did. 

"Frank Allen and Jonathan Partridge were now 
sent forward to make fires for the immigrants at their 
proposed stopping place, while the rest of us worked 
with all our might to get the train over the mountain. 
We hitched three yoke of big cattle to each of the 
two lead wagons, and with a great deal of labor suc- 
ceeded in getting a trail opened for the hand 
carts." 

John R. Murdock was a mountaineer of wide ex- 
perience and unlimited energy, and there is no doubt 
but that his wise planning and untiring labor saved 
many lives on that memorable occasion. 



112 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1856 



BELATED IMMIGRANTS. 

No sooner had these men of Lehi helped bring the 
hand cart companies to safety than they received an- 
other call to assist an independent immigration com- 
pany which was in distress near Fort Bridger. Brig- 
ham Young requested Bishop Evans to fit out a relief 
expedition and proceed to the assistance of the un- 
fortunates with all possible speed. A company of 
twenty men with teams and ten wagons provided 

with provisions and feed 
was the response. The 
captain of these men 
was Joseph Skeens and 
some of his companions 
were Alonzo D. Rhodes, 
Abraham Brown, Sam- 
uel Cousins, Newal A. 
Brown, Riley Judd, 
Henry McConnell, Pau- 
linas H. Allred, and 
William Dawson. 

This company left 
Lehi on December 10. 
On account of the great 
drifts of snow which 
they encountered in the 
mountains, they could 
travel only with great 
difficulty and but very slowly. Finally, however, they 
reached Fort Bridger and found the immigrants on 
the verge of starvation. Their provisions were ex- 
hausted and their teams so poor that they could not 




MRS. MARIAH LOADER, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



1856] 



FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 



113 



continue their journey. The arrival of the company 
from Lehi saved them from a most pitiable condition 
and the possibility of death from starvation. 

Now began the return march. More snow had fal- 
len, so the homeward journey was more difficult than 
ever. It was almost impossible to get the teams 
through the deep drifts. They arrived at the Big 
Mountain one day about sundown and found the 
snow near the top to be 
about twenty feet deep 
and so loose and dry 
that it would not pack. 
With great exertion, 
Captain Skeens crawled 
to the top. and to his 
great joy found a com- 
pany of men camped on 
the other side. When 
he told them the condi- 
tion of his expedition, 
they came at once to 
the rescue. Hitching 
together four yoke of 
oxen, they drove them 
over the top of the 
mountain down through 
the snowdrifts to the 

first wagon. This they pulled back to the top while 
its team in turn helped bring the second wagon. In 
this way the trail was opened, and the company 
passed safely over. 

The expedition encountered no further trouble and 




MRS. WILLIAM BALL, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



114 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1857 



reached home in safety, having traveled about three 
hundred and thirty miles over the mountains in fiteen 
days. The cold had been so severe that every mem- 
ber of the party had fingers or toes frost bitten. 

AN EXPLORING TRIP. . 



Besides the work of assisting others who were in 
distress, the pioneers of Utah often made trips of ex- 
ploration into adjoining- 
parts of the Rocky 
Mountain region. Sev- 
eral such expeditions 
went out from Lehi. In 
April. 1857, Bishop Ev- 
ans. William Fothering- 
ham and John Brown, 
upon the invitation of 
Brigham Young, joined 
a party which he and 
Heber C. Kimball were 
organizing to explore 
the country in the 
north. The company 
was made up of picked 
men from the various 
towns, together with a 
few women. Bishop 
Evans' wife. Ann. being one of the number. Leaving 
Salt Lake City April 24, 1857, they traveled north into 
the trackless plains and mountain ranges of Idaho, 
until thev arrived at Fort Limhi. a Mormon settle- 




MRS. CARL J. E. FJELD, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



1857] 



FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 



115 



ment on Salmon River. The company reached Utah 
again, May 26. 



WHITE MOUNTAIN MISSION. 

Upon his return from Idaho, Bishop Evans was 
called to explore the White Mountains and Beaver 
Valley. With him went Richard Bee. William W. 
Taylor, John Norton, W T illiam Skeens, Dr. Williams, 
Thomas Randall, and 
James Harwood. The 
latter gives an account 
of the trip : 

"With some of the 
men riding horseback 
and others taking their 
ox teams, and equipped 
with provisions to last 
several months, we 
started some time in 
June, going south to 
the present site of 
Beaver, thence west. 
Through groves of trees, 
many of which were cut 
down by the beavers for 
their dams, we followed 
down the river to a large 

spring, issuing from a black rock, which we named 
Black Rock Spring. Here we camped and plowed 
a ditch, taking the water from the spring for irriga- 
tion purposes, because we intended to locate a settle- 
ment. 




MRS. HENRY SIMMONDS, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



116 HISTORY OF LEHI. nsss 

"A tribe of Indians camped with us, made them- 
selves quite at home, and enjoyed our rations ex- 
ceedingly. After a few days, the Bishop took a small 
party of men and explored the White Mountain coun- 
try. After being at the spring about a month, we 
received orders from Church headquarters to aban- 
don the idea of making a settlement and to return 
home. The Indians were quite disappointed at our 
departure." 

SALMON RIVER EXPEDITION. 

In the spring of 1858, contingencies arose which 
made necessary the sending out of an expedition from 
Lehi for still another purpose — this time to assist in 
the defense of a colony which had been attacked by 
the Indians. Ea.rly on the morning of March 8 the 
signal drum hurriedly called the men of Lehi to the 
Meeting House. There they learned that volunteers 
were needed to rescue the colonists in Fort Limhi, on 
the Salmon River, in Idaho. Two men had been 
killed and five others wounded by the Indians, and 
the savages had driven away most of the cattle. A 
number of men volunteered to go upon this danger- 
ous and difficult expedition. They were : Captain Sid- 
ney Willes, Abram Hatch, Henry Norton, John 
Glynes, Riley Judd, James Lamb, William Skeens, 
David Skeens, William Dawson, Newal A. Brown, 
Benjamin Cutler, Frank Molen, Wesley Molen, Henry 
McConnell, Andrew Anderson, David Taylor, Samuel 
Cousins, Oley Ellingson, Joseph A. Thomas, George 
Merrell, Israel Evans, William H. Winn, George Bar- 
ber and possibly others. 



1858] 



FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 



117 



Making only the scantiest and most necessary 
preparations, the company left Lehi at noon of the 
day upon which the call came. At Ogden they joined 
the remainder of the expedition, which consisted of 
200 men with Colonel Cunningham in command. The 
party left Ogden on 
March 11. Their way 
led through Malad, 
Blackfoot, up Snake 
River, across Shanghi 
plains to the head of the 
Salmon, and down that 
stream to Fort Limhi. 
They arrived at their 
destination March 23. 
The hardships of this 
journey can only be ap- 
preciated when all of 
the conditions are con- 
sidered. The men were 
but scantily clothed. 
Many of them wore 
mocassins. Nearly all 
were without overcoats. 

Underwear made of wagon cover was quite common. 
With such clothing the men were but barely able to 
resist the intense cold and the biting north wind 
which had blown constantly since they had left Og- 
den. The plains they traversed were covered with 
snow, in many places drifted to great depths. In ad- 
dition, the trail led through dangerous canyons and 
over equally dangerous ice-bound rivers. On every 




JENS HOLM, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



118 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1858 



side was the constant menace of the savage redskins 
who viewed with great disfavor the march of the 
"pale faces" into their domains. Truly it required 
men of courage and purpose to make such a journey. 
Newal A. Brown, the only survivor of this expedi- 
tion in Lehi, relates the following: 

"We found the fort surrounded by a high stockade 
which gave the people 
ample protection so long 
as they remained inside. 
It was while they were 
out gathering the stock 
which the Indians had 
stolen that the men 
were killed. Soon after 
our men entered the 
fort, a party of eight In- 
dians came in, not know- 
ing we were there. The 
gates were quickly 
closed, and we captured 
five of the redskins. The 
others scaled the stock- 
ade, and with a loud 
warwhoop dashed down 
the valley. 
"By the aid of the interpreter we learned from the 
captives that the main Indian encampment was 
twenty miles further down the river. Something 
concerning the nature of the grievances entertained 
by the Indians we also learned, and one of the cap- 
tives was dispatched with a message to his tribe that 




NEWAL A. BROWN. 



1858] 



FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 



119 



the white men wished to meet his tribesmen next day 
and have a 'big talk.' 

"On going down the river next morning, we found 
the red men apparently more prepared for war than 
for peace. They were lying in ambush in a large cot- 
ton grove awaiting developments, the spokesman and 
a few braves being the only ones in view. We formed 
a line on the edge of the 
grove and immediately 
entered into negotia- 
tions by means of the 
interpreter, on the one 
hand, and the Indian 
spokesman on the other. 
Both men seemed emi- 
nently well qualified for 
the contest, and for some 
time a wordy warfare 
waged. The Indian, an 
excellent specimen of 
his race, was on a white 
horse which he rode 
around and behind our 
boys, gesticulating with 
his arms as he talked 
loudly and rapidly. Fi- 
nally the tone of the savage became more docile, and 
on hearing an occasional approving grunt from among 
the trees, it grew to be quite friendly. We learned that 
the mountaineers, who were hostile toward the Mor- 
mons, had poisoned the minds of the Indians and 
incited them to acts of lawlessness and plunder. 




MRS. HANNAH S. iiOXE, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



120 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1858 



"After the 'big talk' was over, the savages ex- 
pressed their regret for the trouble they had caused, 
and sent out runners to gather all the stolen cattle 
they could find. Later they made up the number short 
with Indian ponies. We also traded for a consider- 
able number of buffalo robes, giving one blanket for 
two robes. These skins helped materially in keeping 
out the cold on the homeward journey. 

"The commander at once dispatched a posse of five 
men with the news of 
the treaty to President 
Young. Indians at- 
tacked the men before 
they reached Utah, and 
Bailey Lake was killed 
in the encounter. 

"Although against 
the wishes of the In- 
dians, the settlers im- 
i , fl H mediately prepared to 
fct *Mk ■■• leave the fort, commenc- 

ing the homeward jour- 
ney, March 28, 1858. 
Every vehicle of trans- 
portation was loaded 
to its full capacity with 
tools, furniture and pro- 
visions, and yet a quan- 
tity of grain was left at the fort. After helping the 
colonists start and accompanying them some dis- 
tance on the way, we increased our speed and pre- 
ceded them on the journey south. 




MRS. JOSEPH BROADBENT, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



1858] FRONTIER PROBLEMS. 121 

"On the way home we called at the old abandoned 
Fort Hall, and a few days later found the naked body 
of Bailey Lake. He lay face downward, pinned to 
the earth with five arrows. We dug a grave, held a 
funeral service, and laid away the remains of this un- 
fortunate man, with all the honor and respect possible 
under the circumstances. When we reached Utah 
early in April, we learned that the people in Salt Lake 
Valley and the valleys in the north had commenced 
the so-called 'Move' to the south." 



CHAPTER X. 

The Echo Canyon War. 



IT IS necessary now to turn back in the annals of 
Lehi's history to consider that peculiar and inter- 
esting episode — the Echo Canyon War. A discus- 
sion of the causes leading up to this unique incident 
does not belong here, neither is it incumbent to de- 
scribe the attitude of the Federal government and of 
the people of the Territory towards each other, ex- 
cept in so far as they affected the growth of the little 
settlement on Dry Creek. Thus limited, the sub- 
ject still possesses many features of interest and im- 
portance. 

A HISTORIC TWENTY-FOURTH. 

Ten years had elapsed since the pioneers first set 
foot in Salt Lake Valley. Prosperity — limited even 
though it admittedly was — reigned where originally 
had been found but hardship and suffering.. From the 
first colony on the shores of the salt sea had grown 
numerous settlements in different parts of the Terri- 
tory. The people were free from oppression; they 
lived contentedly and happily. There was reason to 
rejoice over the substantial progress made and the 
rosy outlook for the future. 

Thus it came about that July 24, 1857, found a joy- 
ful celebration under way — the tenth anniversary of 



1857, THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 123 

the arrival of the pioneers. Most of the people of 
Salt Lake City had migrated to Silver Lake, a beau- 
tiful sheet of water at the head of Big Cottonwood 
Canyon (now called Brighton). With them, upon 
invitation of Brigham Young and other Territorial 
and Church officials, had come the more prominent 
men from all over Utah. Included in these, by special 
request, were the members of the exploring party 
which had journeyed into Idaho a few months pre- 
vious. And so it was that Lehi was well represented 
at the historic celebration in the canyon. 

The unexpected arrival of Abram O. Smoot, 
Orrin Porter Rockwell and Judson Stoddard at the 
height of the celebration, with the startling news 
that an army of the United States was on its way to 
Utah, precipitated the most profound, astonishment 
and the most varied speculation as to the outcome. 
When the news reached Lehi, it was the sole topic of 
conversation for months. Amid all kinds of rumors 
and excitement, it was possible to find out practically 
nothing definite concerning the impending invasion 
which threatened to have so dubious a result for 
the people of the Territory. It is easily understood 
why the men and women of Lehi should become in- 
tensely concerned. 

In the first place, the invasion by an army of the 
United States was to their minds wholly unprece- 
dented and unjustified. They were neither aliens seek- 
ing to overthrow the government nor subjects 
in rebellion. Indeed they prided themselves on 
their loyalty to the Federal Government. They 
pointed to the fact that one of their first actions 



124 HISTORY OF LEHI. nss7 

in the Territory was to hoist the Stars and Stripes. 

Since that time they had universally been at 
peace except for their spasmodic conflicts with the 
Indians. Furthermore, they considered they had the 
right to a presumption of loyalty from their past rec- 
ord. In Lehi were at least thirteen men — George 
Coleman, James Lemmons, John C. Nagle, Israel 
Evans, Jesse B. Martin, Ira J. Willes, William S. S. 
Willes, John R. Murdock, Charles Hopkins, Thomas 
Karren, Frank Woodward, Joseph Skeens, and Levi 
Savage — who had faithfully and heroically served 
their country in the Mormon Battalion. Another — 
Alfred Bell— had fought in the War of 1812. Numer- 
ous families traced their descent from the Revolu- 
tionary fathers. Were they not entitled to some con- 
sideration and respect as patriotic citizens of the gov- 
ernment that was now sending an 'invading army 
against them? Such, at least, was their belief. That 
they should be exceedingly concerned over the vio- 
lence which threatened is easily understood. Most 
of them had been victims in some form or other of 
the persecutions and mobbings of a few years pre- 
vious in Missouri and Illinois. Also they could not 
help calling to mind that those mobs had often com- 
mitted their horrible crimes under the flimsy justi- 
fication of supposed legality. Can they be blamed for 
being fearful of a repetition of their former heart- 
breaking experiences? 

But this speculation and discussion eventually took 
tangible form. Representatives from Lehi attended 
all the meetings in Salt Lake City in which the ques- 
tion was thoroughly considered. Finally they cor- 



1857] THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 125 

curred in the decision arrived at, to resist the entrance 
of the army into the Territory. In addition, the Ter- 
ritorial militia was perfected and prepared to enter 
the conflict, if necessary. The Lehi military district 
comprised all of Utah County north of Provo, and 
was under the supervision of David Evans, who held 
the rank of major. 



In September came a call on the Lehi district for a 
company of cavalry for service in Echo Canyon. Men 
from all settlements north of the lake made up the 
number as finally organized. Captain Sidney Willes 
commanded the party, and among its members could 
have been noted the following Lehi men : Frank Mo- 
len, Wesley Molen, Joseph A. Thomas. Newal A. 
Brown, William Fotheringham, Riley Judd, William 
Skeens, George Merrel, David Taylor, John S. Lott, 
Sylvanus Collett, John Karren, and James Wiley 
Norton. The work of these volunteers consisted at 
first only of blocking Echo Canyon against the en- 
trance of the troops. To this end, they constructed 
barricades and breastworks in the defiles of the moun- 
tains, and took all possible measures effectively to 
impede the progress of the army. Later they joined 
Captain Lot Smith's company at Ham's Fork, and 
experienced more active and interesting service. Un- 
der the leadership of this resourceful and daring fron- 
tiersman, they harassed General Johnston in every 
conceivable manner. They burned his supply trains ; 
they drove off his horses and mules; they stampeded 
his cattle ; they set the dry grass around him afire ; 



126 HISTORY OF LEHI. nss? 

they irritated and hampered him continuously — but 
they shed not a drop of blood. All this was accom- 
plished with the most meagre equipment, and a com- 
paratively small force. Indeed, to deceive the en- 
emy, Captain Smith often had his men ride in file 

around visible hill tops 
and passes for hours at 

a a stretch, accomplishing 

by strategy alone what 
i others might have per- 

f ...jfc formed only through 
\ m bloodshed. Often the 
Territorial recruits were 
compelled to subsist on 
a diet of bread and 
water — the former made 
from a mixture of flour 
and water, and baked 
over an open fire by 
winding the dough spi- 
rally around a stick. 
wesley molen. When the snow set in. 

General Johnston estab- 
lished his winter quarters at Fort Bridger. and the 
volunteer cavalry returned home. A few of the men, 
under Captain W'illes, maintained a kind of patrol in 
Echo Canyon during most of the winter. Early De- 
cember saw all the party with this exception safely 
in Lehi. 

INFANTRY. 

In the meantime, a company of infantry had also 
set out from Lehi. Major William Hyde was in com- 




1857] 



THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 



127 



mand of this expedition, and it carried a full equip- 
ment of guns and ammunition and sufficient pro-* 
visions to last all winter. Major William Hyde, Wil- 
liam Clark, James Harwood, Luke Titcomb, Joseph 
J. Smith, Samuel T. Smith, Joseph Robinson, Edward 
Cox, Robert Maugh, Preston Thomas, Henry Sim- 
monds, Edward M. Allison, William Hudson, James 
Commander, and Thomas Ashton made up the roll of 
volunteers from Lehi. 
Some of these reputed 
infantrymen . were so 
poorly clad as hardly to 
deserve the name. In- 
deed, if their value had 
depended upon their 
uniforms at all, rather 
than upon their daunt- 
less courage and un- 
questioned bravery, they 
would have been a sorry 
band of soldiers. For 
example, Samuel T. 
Smith had no shoes un- 
til the company arrived 
in Salt Lake City, and 
then he procured an old 
pair from William Clark who in turn bought the only 
pair in a certain store for sixteen bushels of oats. 
They were, the largest and most ungainly footgear he 
had ever beheld, but he had to make shift with them 
or do without. From James Harwood is obtained 
this account of the campaign : 




LUKE TITCOMB. 



128 HISTORY OF LEHI. [iss? 

"In the month of November we started for Weber 
River, traveling through Emigration Canyon and 
over the Big Mountain, where the snows of winter 
were gathering in great drifts. After reaching the 
Weber, we marched to the mouth of Echo Canyon, 
where a military camp had already been established. 
Here we were told to remain and await further or- 
ders. Soon afterward, we received word that John- 
ston's army was going into winter quarters and that 
we might return home. 

"With much rejoicing we packed our effects and 
started on our homeward march. While no one 
thought in the least of deserting, yet we felt at times 
a little anxious when we considered the object of the 
campaign. We were going out to meet and attempt 
to resist one of the best equipped armies of the United 
States, whose orders were to enter Salt Lake City at 
any cost. We knew very well that if we ever met that 
army, some of us might never see our loved ones 
again. 

"About midnight of the first day's journey home- 
ward, as we were rolled up in our blankets at the foot 
of Big Mountain, a messenger aroused us with orders 
to return to our former camp at once, for the Federal 
army, as supposed, had not gone into permanent quar- 
ters for the winter. In spite of a feeling of disap- 
pointment, back we tramped through the snow until 
we reached the main encampment of the Nauvoo Le- 
gion, situated near the Overhanging Cliffs in Echo 
Canyon. The camp presented quite a military ap- 
pearance with its hundreds of white tents and cov- 



18S7] 



THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 



129 



ered wagons, and as we came marching in, the band 
played, 'O ye mountains high.' 

"We soon became accustomed to the routine work 
of a military camp, and learned to regulate our actions 
by the bugle call and the tap of the drum. We had 
tents and wagons in which to sleep, and each com- 
pany provided itself with a large 'wickiup,' made of 
poles placed upright in a circle with their tops to- 
gether and thatched on the outside with pine boughs. 
These we used as places in which to spend our leisure 
time. We had plenty of beef, bread, and beans to eat, 
so we did not suffer for 
lack of food. In fact, 
we all enjoyed ourselves 
and had a good time. 

"One evening we were 
sitting around the big 
fire in the 'wickiup,' 
'spinning yarns' and 
singing songs, when a 
scouting party which 
had been out in the 
neighborhood of the 
army came in. 'Bill' 
Skeens and Riley Judd 
had been with them, so 
we were soon listening 
to their big stories. 
They happened to be 
standing on opposite 
sides of the fire when 'Bill' remarked, 'Here's your 
powder horn, Riley,' at the same time handing him 
10 




HENRY SIMMONDS, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



130 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1857 



the horn. Riley reached across the fire for the recep- 
tacle, when to our horror it fell into the flames. The 
scene that followed can best be imagined, for we lost 
no time in getting away from the fire and out of the 
'wickiup.' We expected to see both men blown to 
atoms. But the explosion never came. When we 
finally ventured to look in, there sat Bill and Riley 
quietly toasting their toes by the fire and in the com- 
fortable seats their lit- 
tle ruse had secured for 
them. 

"Our time was not all 
spent in play; we had 
drill every day, and work 
with the pick and shov- 
el. At convenient places 
in the canyon, we dug 
trenches and construct- 
ed breastworks, piled 
boulders on the heights 
to be rolled down on 
the invaders, and made 
a dam across the can- 
yon to submerge the 
road. We also stood 

RILEY JUDD. guard at night an( j per _ 

formed all the other duties of a soldier. 

"Scouting parties continued to come in with news 
from the army and occasionally with prisoners. I 
recognized one of the men brought as a fellow-passen- 
ger on the ship on which I had crossed the Atlantic. 




1857] 



THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 



131 



He informed me he had hired out as a teamster, deem- 
ing that a good way to reach Salt Lake. 

"Finally we received word that the army had defi- 
nitely gone into winter quarters on Black's Fork, and 
orders came early in De- 
cember to break camp 
and return home. It did 
not take long to put this 
command into execu- 
tion. With as few stops 
as possible, after leaving 
Echo Canyon, we trav- 
eled up the Weber, as 
the snow on the Big 
Mountain was impassa- 
ble, and followed the 
trail to Parley's Park 
and down Parley's Can- 
yon. We ate the last 
of our provisions and 
pitched our last camp in 
this canyon. The snow 
was so deep that we did 

not attempt to shovel it away, but made our beds on 
top of it, and in the morning we found ourselves un- 
der another layer. When we arrived at Union Fort, 
wi 1 were invited to the meeting house where a good 
meal awaited us, and it is needless to say that we did 
ample justice to the occasion. We reached home the 
next day a tired, happy lot of men who expected to 
renew the campaign when spring came." 




JOSEPH SLATER, 
A Hand Cart Veteran 



132 HISTORY OF LEHI. ussmsss 

THE "MOVE." 

The winter of 1857-1858 passed very much as the 
preceding winters, but underneath the outward feel- 
ing of serenity there existed a vague wonder as to the 
future movements of the army quartered just outside 
the Territory. During all the months of inactivity, 
negotiations were carried on between Brigham Young 
on one hand and General Johnston and the newly- 
appointed Governor, Alfred Cumming, on the other. 
The upshot of these communications was hardly sat- 
isfactory to either party. At first fearful of allowing 
the soldiers to enter Salt Lake Valley, the Mormon 
leaders finally consented to permit them to come in 
without resistance, upon condition that their com- 
manders pledge the security of the life and property 
of the people. This both Governor Cumming and 
General Johnston did. The outcome was unsatisfac- 
tory to Brigham Young and his colleagues, because 
in their minds no necessity existed for the presence 
of an armed force in Utah, while for the army the 
occupation meant a mere empty triumph of their 
policy. 

So strong was the distrust of the Utah leaders for 
the army that they resolved not to leave them any 
opportunity for depredation. Accordingly, Brigham 
Young directed all the people north of Utah County 
to leave their homes and proceed southward. At the 
same time, he perfected measures whereby sufficient 
men were left in Salt Lake to set fire to all the houses 
and chop down all the trees upon the first sign of dis- 
order by the invaders. Thus began the famous 



less] THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 133 

"Move" in which Lehi was destined to play so prom- 
inent a part. 

The spring of 1858 found 30,000 people migrating 
southward. Day after day the citizens of Lehi saw 
them pass through their borders, a continuous stream 
along the State Road, from daylight till dark. A 
striking picture was this exodus, one long to be re- 
membered — covered wagons laden with all manner 
of household goods; hand carts; men and women 
mounted on horses or mules ; far more of them walk- 
ing, often barefoot ; cattle, sheep and pigs, singly and 
in herds ; all manner of freak conveyances ; no end of 
confusion, and not a little suffering and sorrow. Added 
to all the rest was the almost incessant rain which 
fell during that spring.* 

The people of Lehi responded nobly in assisting 
their unfortunate visitors. Men who could, furnished 
teams and wagons to help in the transporting of their 
neighbors from the north. Every home in the little 
city was thrown open, and each room filled to its ca- 
pacity ; even the Meeting House was placed at the dis- 
posal of the refugees. When all available room had 
been occupied, the men built cabins against the fort 
wall, and even made dugouts on the vacant lots in the 
city. But the hardest problem was to provide food 
for this excessive number. The foodstuffs from the 
previous crops were brought into requisition, and up- 
on the advice of Bishop Evans many of the people 
raised vegetables. 



*The relief expedition to Salmon River was fitted out dur- 
ing- the course of the Echo Canyon War and returned during the 
"Move." 



134 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1858 



John Zimmerman casts an interesting sidelight up- 
on these stirring times : 

"During the spring months I kept a team on the 
road hauling people from the north into Utah Valley. 
I would make one trip and William Southwick the 

next. We went to the 
General Tithing Office 
in Salt Lake City, where 
the brethren in charge 
gave us a load of people 
and their belongings, 
which we brought to 
Utah County and left in 
whatever town they 
wished to stop. We 
continued in this way 
until the last family was 
moved. Between these 
trips we planted our 
crops, although we 
scarcely had hopes of 
ever harvesting them. 
john Zimmerman and wife. «t we \i re member the 

bishop counseling us to raise potatoes, and it would 
have been better for me if I had followed his advice. 
I had six or seven acres of land which I intended 
planting in corn, but I gave different men parts of it 
until there remained but one acre and a half. In this 
small piece I planted corn which came up nicely, grew 
rapidly, and gave promise of a bounteous harvest. 
But early in July a severe frost came and utterly de- 
stroyed it. Not so with the potatoes; the frost did no 




1858] THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 135 

further damage than to set them back a little, and 
when the harvest came, the potato crop was a 
bumper. I have never seen larger or better potatoes 
than those raised that season." 

PEACE COMMISSIONERS IN LEHI. 

After the people had migrated south, negotiations 
continued between Brigham Young and the Federal 
officials who had been sent out. At first they bore 
no fruit, but finally two additional commissioners ar- 
rived from the East, met Brigham Young at Salt 
Lake City, and after holding a meeting in Provo, 
came to Lehi on June 17. These men were Gover- 
nor L. W. Powell, of Kentucky, and Major Ben Mc- 
Cullough of Texas. They called an open-air mass 
meeting near Bishop Evans' residence, and ad- 
dressed the gathering in the hope of conciliating them. 
They promised that the people should not be mo- 
lested by the army, in fact that it should be quartered 
a reasonable distance from their homes; they affirmed 
that full amnesty had been granted by the President 
of the United States for whatever fancied wrongs the 
people of the Territory had committed; and finally 
they promised that all difficulties should be amicably 
settled. Their pleas were not in vain. Their auditors 
took them at their word and accepted the proposals 
of peace. The meeting was followed by great enthu- 
siasm and no less intense gratitude that the affair 
should have so fortunate a termination. The next 
two months — July and August — saw all the people 
back in their homes, and the danger of any further 
conflict averted. 



136 HISTORY OF LEHI. [isss 

CAMP FLOYD. 

General Johnston's troops passed through Salt Lake 
City on June 26, and assumed permanent quarters im- 
mediately afterward at Camp Floyd in Cedar Valley, 
eighteen miles west of Lehi. Their near proximity 
to the town had a most salutary effect upon it. The 
shrewd farmers of Lehi were not slow to sense the 
market for their food products which the garrison fur- 
nished. Immediately there sprang up a brisk trade 
with the soldiers in grains, vegetables, eggs, dairy 
products, squash pies, and fodder. Two dollars were 
often paid for a bushel of grain or potatoes, and hay 
and straw readily sold for twenty-five or thirty dol- 
lars a ton. For the people, Thomas Taylor acted as 
agent in these commercial transactions with the 
soldiers, and in this way began his career as a mer- 
chant. John Zimmerman invested the first profit 
from his grain in a threshing machine, and with this 
was able to take several contracts with the soldiers 
to furnish grain. In addition to the purchase of food- 
stuffs, the camp was profitable to Lehi because it fur- 
nished employment for many of its laborers. Wood 
must be cut in the canyons, hauled to Camp Floyd, 
and corded for firewood. The new quarters must be 
erected, so carpenters were in demand. Adobe-mak- 
ing also proved to be a profitable occupation, since 
many of the barracks were constructed from this ma- 
terial. In payment for their goods and their work, 
the people received many needed articles which the 
soldiers were able to supply. Horses, mules, har- 
nesses, wagons, and other equipment and implements 



THE ECHO CANYON WAR. 



137 



soon passed from Camp Floyd to the city and found 
immediate and profitable use. 

This trade continued until July, 1861, when, by 
order from Washington, Camp Floyd was abandoned 
and the equipment sold. It is estimated that $400,- 
000.00 worth of government stores were purchased 
by people in the Territory at a valuation not to ex- 
ceed three per cent. Part of this, Lehi men secured. 
Notable among these 
newly acquired things 
were the large wagon 
boxes which came to be 
used as bins for storing 
grain ; the soldiers' over- 
coats with capes which 
were worn extensively; 
the wide-strapped gov- 
ernment harness ; and 
cannon balls which John 
Zimmerman utilized for 
casting machinery. John 
C. Nagle purchased the 
fort building for seven- 
ty-five dollars, and the 
wood was sufficient to 
last the city for building 
purposes for some years. 

On the whole, the Echo Canyon war proved to be a 
benefit to Lehi rather than a detriment. While grave 
apprehension existed at first as to the effect of such an 
invasion, later events proved that it was ground- 
less. Aside from the temporary inconvenience of af- 




JOHN C. NAGLE. 



138 HISTORY OF LEHI. [isss-isei 

fording shelter to the unfortunates who came in the 
"Move" — which to the kindhearted people of Lehi 
was truly a labor of love — the city suffered no appre- 
ciable ill effects from the so-called war. Furthermore, 
the establishment of Camp Floyd benefited Lehi more 
than any other town in the Territory. It furnished 
countless badly needed articles and offered an excel- 
lent market for the disposal of surplus products of the 
farm. Whatever punishment, therefore, was contem- 
plated in the sending of an army to Utah, resulted, at 
least in so far as Lehi was concerned, not in harm, but 
in immense good. 



CHAPTER XL 

Church Immigration. 



THE year 1860 saw the arrival of the last hand cart 
companies in Utah. Henceforth immigrants came 
in trains of "prairie schooners" drawn by oxen. To 
assist this trans-continental travel, Brigham Young 
began the practice of sending expeditions out from 
Utah, fully equipped, to transport numbers of the 
waiting immigrants from Florence, Nebraska, which 
was the starting point of Church migration, over the 
plains to the Rockies. It grew to be a common prac- 
tice for men to be called from the different towns in 
Utah to accompany these trains ; indeed, it was gener- 
ally regarded as missionary work. During a period of 
eight or nine years, until 1868, Lehi furnished her 
share of men and equipment for the carrying out of 
this plan. Each summer a little company from the 
settlement, which itself had only been established ten 
years, set out for the Missouri to assist others in their 
journey west. Those who remained at home helped 
the expedition by furnishing provisions and adding to 
the equipment of the outfit. Above all others, John R. 
Murdock was active in this work. He made five dif- 
ferent trips to the *East as captain of immigration 
trains, and assisted hundreds of men and women to 
reach Utah. 



140 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i86i 

FIRST EXPEDITION. 

The first of these immigration expeditions in which 
Lehi men participated set out in April, 1861. It con- 
sisted of two hundred wagons with four yoke of oxen 
to each wagon, and a cargo of fifty thousand pounds 
of flour. At night the wagons were placed in a circle, 
thus forming an enclosure for the cattle. After each 
stop the drivers had the not inconsiderable task of 
selecting their eight oxen from* the herd and hitching 
them to the wagon before a start could be made. On 
the return trip, eight to twelve persons were assigned 
to each wagon. Some of them walked and some rode, 
but the driver walked always. 

On this journey John R. Murdock was captain of 
one of the four companies into which the whole expe- 
dition was divided. Thomas Karren, 'George McCon- 
nell. John E. Ross, Martin B. Bushman, and Albert 
Goodwin constituted Lehi's quota to the personnel of 
the party, in addition to which the city furnished five 
wagons, forty oxen, and five thousand pounds of flour. 
Captain Murdock's company arrived in Salt Lake City 
September 12, 1861, having made the whole journey 
in four and one-half months. 

CROSSING THE PLAINS. 

In continuance of the policy begun the year before, 
the Church sent, in May, 1862. 262 wagons, 293 men, 
2,800 oxen, and 143,315 pounds of flour to the Mis- 
souri River to assist poor immigrants in their trip to 
Utah. Lehi sent the following men this summer: 
John R. Murdock, captain ; John Woodhouse, commis- 
sary; Edwin Standring. Joseph Ashton, Peter Brown, 



1862] 



CHURCH IMMIGRATION. 



141 



George Murdock, John Bushman, and Daniel W. 
Thomas. With the company was also Newal A. Brown, 
who was on his way east to buy merchandise for John 
C. Nagle. An interesting account of this journey is 
given by John Woodhouse : 

"The year 1862 is known as the high water year, 
and it was with diffi- 
culty that we could 
make our way through 
the mountains on ac- 
count of the deep snow. 
In some places it was 
necessary to take the 
wagons apart and carry 
them along the moun- 
tain side to avoid the 
heavy drifts in the bot- 
tom of the canyons. 

"About May 1 we 
started, and made our 
way up Emigration 
Canyon, where Daniel 
W. Thomas overturned 
his wagon in trying to 
get through a snow bank. At Yellow Creek the water 
was overflowing the banks, and it entirely surrounded 
the bridge. When one-half of the company had 
crossed over, the road had become so cut up that it 
was impossible to reach the bridge. Having obtained 
permission to tear down a log stable near by, we de- 
cided with the logs obtained from it to build a bridge 
farther up the creek, where the banks were steeper. 




EDWIN STANDRING. 



142 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1862 



We found, however, that the logs were too short to 
span the creek, and we were about to abandon the 
project when I suggested the splicing of two logs to- 
gether with our log chains. Everyone ridiculed the 
idea at first, but it was found to be practicable when 

we tried it. According- 
ly, we built the bridge 
successfully and passed 
over in safety. 

"The water at Ham's 
Fork was overflowing 
the banks and submerg- 
ing the bridge, which as 
a result was in danger 
of being washed away. 
After fastening it with 
chains, we succeeded in 
getting our wagons over 
by hand and swimming 
our animals across the 
stream. It took us two 
and one-half days to get 
our train completely 
across. An immigrant train, bound for the west, was 
camped on the east bank of the river, and some of 
the men had watched us work. As we were leaving, 
one of them said, 'Well, boys, you beat all I've ever 
seen to cross rivers. If you will take our outfits over, 
we will pay you ten dollars per wagon.' The young 
man ahead of me replied, 'No, by h — , we don't work 
like this for money.' 

"We found Green River much swollen, and the 




WILLIAM BALL, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



1862] CHURCH IMMIGRATION. 143 

valley flooded with water, especially on the east side. 
We ferried the wagons over, and after several at- 
tempts, succeeded in swimming the cattle across. 

"At the Sandy we saw the place where Captain 
Lot Smith had burned the government trains during 
the 'Utah War.' The circle was markd by bits of 
burned wood, pieces of iron, and other debris. As I 
gazed upon the spot, a verse of an old song drifted 
into my mind: 

" 'We'll hang each man that's got two wives, 
We've got the ropes right handy, 
That is to say, we had, you know; 

But Smith burned 'em, out on Sandy.' 

"We arrived in Florence July 9, and remained there 
until the 24th of the month, which gave our cattle a 
much-needed rest. Our allotment of immigrants was 
about seven hundred, which, with the supply of ba- 
con, groceries, and a quantity of freight, made up the 
loads for the homeward journey. I had seventeen 
immigrants and three tents to my wagon. As the 
captain desired me to deal out provisions, we made 
an inventory and agreed on rations. The first eve- 
ning I distributed flour, bacon, sugar, tea, coffee and 
rice, according to the number in each family. Then 
I appointed a day for dealing out flour, another day 
for bacon, and another for groceries. This plan 
worked very well, and did not hinder us from travel- 
ing at a fairly good speed.* 



*Woodhouse was continually bothered by the ignorance of 
many of the foreign immigrants in regard to frontier life. One 
of their greatest difficulties was in making a fire. To avoid this 
trouble, Woodhouse finally explained the proper way of build- 



144 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1863 

"We left Florence, July 24, and arrived in Salt Lake 
City, September 27, 1862, the second Church train of 
the season." 

FURTHER AID TO IMMIGRATION. 

The following letter from the Presiding Bishop's 
Office to Bishop Evans reflects the spirit of the times, 
and is self-explanatory : 

Bishop David Evans, Lehi, Utah. 

Dear Brother: In view of the increasing anxiety of our lead- 
ers to assist the poor from the Old and New Worlds, coupled 
with the warmest desire to get them here, we are prompted to 
make an extra effort this year to bring them hither; and to carry 
out such design, we will be obliged to fit out and equip at least 
five hundred teams to bring them from Florence. 

In proportioning these teams among the Territorial wards, 
your ward will be expected to furnish eight ox or mule teams 
(four or six mules or four yoke of oxen to each team) an equal 
number of good and trusty teamsters, and one mounted guard, 
armed and equipped for a four or five months' journey, with 
clothing, provisions, ammunition, ferriage means, ox or mule 
shoes, spades, axes, picks, ropes, augers, saws, etc., for down and 
back trips, without the expectation of receiving any assistance 
from any other source. 

As sacks and sacking are scarce, you will have to make boxes 
to put the flour in, for the poor on the road. Each team will be 
expected to have sufficient boxes to carry at least one thousand 
pounds of flour for this purpose. 

The flour and grain must be brought to this city, and a full 
and detailed report made to us of the amount of flour for the 
poor, number of teams, etc., so that a settlement can be made 
with you after their return in the fall. 



ing a camp fire to an Englishman, telling him that he must avoid 
green wood, that when branches had leaves on they would not 
do, they were too green to burn. The Englishman gravely said: 
"Well, I can soon pull them bits of things off." 



1863] 



CHURCH IMMIGRATION. 



14; 



The teams are expected to leave this city about the 25th of 
April next, and will have to be such as will bear inspection be- 
fore starting. 

The captain assigned to take charge of your teams is Peter 
Nebeker, of Mill Creek, this county, who will as soon as possible 
put himself in communication with you. 

Your Brethren in the Gospel, Edward Hunter, 

L. W. Hardy, 
J. C. Little. 

In response to this call, the following Lehi men 
made the trip in Captain Nebeker's company: Wil- 
liam Bone, Jno. W. Wing, 
Jacob Cox, Byron W. 
Brown, Squire Rey- 
nolds, Heber Oakey and 
Henry Wedge. John R. 
Murdock was in com- 
mand of another Church 
train this year, and Dan- 
iel W. Thomas accom- 
panied him as teamster. 
The trip to Florence and 
return was made with- 
out any unusual difficul- 
ty. Only one aeath oc- 
curred, and that was by 
lightning. Captain Neb- 
eker's company reached 

Salt Lake City Septem- thomas r. jones. 

ber 25, 1863. 




LATER IMMIGRATION EXPEDITIONS. 

Owing to the Civil War and the consequent light 
immigration, only a few Church trains left Utah in 
li 



146 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1864-1866 



1864. William Ball, William L. Hutchings, Gideon 
Murdock and Jack Ewing were the only men from 
Lehi to go east this year. 

At this point it might be an interesting digression 
to note practically the only effect the Civil War had 
upon the life of the community. The conflict had 

caused the depreciation 
of paper to a great ex- 
tent. Greenbacks were 
negotiable at only half 
their value. In recogni- 
tion of this, the City 
Council this year passed 
an ordinance which dou- 
bled the toll rates on 
the Jordan River bridge. 
Thomas R. Jones, Al- 
fred Fox, Thomas F. 
Trane, John Worlton, 
Xels Downs, William 
Simmonds, Christian 
Nelson, and James Daw- 
son made up the contin- 
gent in the Church 
trains of 1866. Their journey was marred only by the 
theft of a hundred oxen, which the Indians succeeded 
in driving off. Upon receipt of the news of this loss, 
which came by overland telegraph, Brigham Young 
sent out a relief expedition to meet the party. Newal 
A. Brown accompanied this latter company. With 
the assistance thus obtained, the westbound train ar- 
rived safely, and in about the usual time. 




PAULINAS H. ALLRED. 



1868] CHURCH IMMIGRATION. 147 

The last Church immigration trains left Utah in 
the spring of 1868, as after that year it was possible 
to come by rail to Ogden. Accompanying the expe- 
dition this time were Paulinas H. Allred, Thomas 
Fowler, Joseph Evans, Benjamin S. Lott, George 
Zimmerman, John Peterson, and Joseph W. Goates. 
John R. Murdock, as usual, had charge of a company 
of fifty wagons.* 

Such is the extent of the assistance the little town 
of Lehi was able to give its neighbors. It had been 
established but fifteen years, and its people had been 
compelled to undergo hardships and privations of the 
most severe nature. Any aid rendered to the outside 
was done only at a tremendous sacrifice. In spite of 
all these difficulties, it is safe to say that no town in 
the whole Territory rendered more effective succor 
to needy immigrants than did Lehi. It is a record 
of which the city can well be proud. 



*This company encountered the Union Pacific Railway which 
was then being built westward. Some of the men had never 
seen a locomotive before. Among this number was Paulinas H. 
Allred, who, upon first sight of the steel monster, stood fixed 
with amazement. A railroad man, seeing his wonderment, 
thought to ridicule him and said, "Where were you raised that 
you have never seen a railroad?" "Sir," said Allred, "I was al- 
ways ahead of them." 



CHAPTER XII. 

Growth of the Community. 



IN history the things of most permanent value are 
generally accomplished with the least display of 
pomp and ostentation. It is quiet, commonplace 
things which have done most to advance the race in 
civilization. Always the warrior has been a fascinat- 
ing figure and the laborer ordinary and uninteresting, 
yet nations have been infinitely more benefited by the 
effective work of the toilers than by the carnage and 
destruction of the man of arms. The growth of our 
own country has been due to the character of its citi- 
zens as expressed in economic and political life far 
more than to that character expressed in the clash of 
weapons. In terms of ultimate value, the most or- 
dinary things are often also the most important. 
What is true of race and nation applies with equal 
correctness to the city. Hence the growth of Lehi 
is a result, not so much of the spectacular incidents, 
as of the ordinary commonplace, uninteresting — yet, 
withal, effective and valuable — events in the life of 
its people. 

The decade between 1859 and 1869 is a period of 
rapid growth in the life of the city on Dry Creek. 
Developing from a little settlement, Lehi assumed 
during this time the aspect of a town. No remark- 
able events occurred; nothing wonderful happened; 



1858] 



GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 



149 



the consistent, unceasing work of the people was re- 
sponsible for the advance. True it is that a variety 
of other things must receive mention during this 
period; but in their narration the real cause of de- 
velopment — the unrelenting toil of the men and 
women of Lehi — must be kept in mind. 

MULLINER'S MILL. 



When conditions had become practically normal 
again, in 1858, Samuel Mulliner set in operation the 
grist mill which he had 
been constructing the 
last two years. When 
completed, it was one of 
the best in the Terri- 
tory. Previously the 
farmers had taken their 
grain to the mouth of 
American Fork Canyon 
or to Salt Lake County. 
The miller was Elisha 
H. Davis ; he had previ- 
ously lived in Lehi and 
been a member of the 
City Council, but had 
moved away ; now at the 
request of Mulliner he 
returned to operate the 
newly erected mill. This 
present site of the sugar factory, the "Mill Pond" hav- 
ing been built for furnishing power. The mill con- 




SAMUEL MULLI>,ER. 



structure stood near the 



150 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1859 

tinued in operation until the site was sold by Thad- 
deus Powell to the Utah Sugar Company. 

FOURTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

On account of the unsettled condition of affairs in- 
cident to the Echo Canyon War, no election had been 
held in 1858. The previous city officials continued to 
serve until an election could be observed, namely, 
Monday, February 14, 1859. On this date, with the 
Tithing Office as the scene of the election and with 
Ezekiel Hopkins, William Hyde, and William Foth- 
eringham as judges and Thomas Taylor as clerk, the 
people chose the following men to be their civic lead- 
ers: Mayor, David Evans; Aldermen, Lorenzo H. 
Hatch, Israel Evans, James Taylor and Alfred Bell; 
Councilors, Abel Evans, Canute Peterson, Thomas 
Ashton, Thomas Karren, Daniel S. Thomas, Alonzo 
P. Ravmond, William W. Taylor, John W. Norton, 
and William S. S. Willes. 

The new coterie of officers made these appoint- 
ments: Recorder, Thomas Taylor; Marshal, Alonzo 
D. Rhodes; Treasurer and Supervisor, Canute Peter- 
son; Sealer of Weights and Measures, James Har- 
wood ; Water Master, Thomas Ashton ; Constables, 
James Harwood and John Zimmerman; School Trus- 
tees, Daniel S. Thomas, Thomas Karren, and John 
W. Norton; Examiners, Thomas Taylor, Alfred Bell, 
and David Taylor; Field Committee, Israel Evans, 
Canute Peterson, and Alonzo P. Raymond. 

The last named committee was one of that exten- 
sive system of offices which the early city fathers 
deemed essential to the successful maintenance of the 



(• - 



~i 


; -^v 


pi 




m 




& 


4^ 





^V; 










w 




h^j 








R 




m 




r-1 


H : 


-1 




<*! 








-H 




-',) 


„ : ^> 


'ans 


v! ^ 


[}rt 


V >v 






,iii 


v ! 


M 


V' • 


;lii 




re 


s 


Pi 





m 

\i % 




G) 



s 




152 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i859 

government. Like all the others, its members served 
without remuneration. Concerning it, the following 
preamble and resolution, passed by the fourth City 
Council soon after its installation in office, is both 
enlightening and interesting: 

A Preamble and Resolution in relation to the Big Field and 
Fence in Lehi City. 

Whereas: Through a report made to this City Council by 
a committee appointed for this purpose, it appears that there are 
one thousand seven hundred and thirty-one rods of fence around 
the said Big Field, and that some of said fence is good, some 
is down, and some needs repair, all of which needs the attention 
of the citizens of this City to make the lands therein enclosed 
available to the owners for the purposes intended. And 

Whereas: The said committee also reports that there are 
lands enclosed in the said field to the value of $17,310.00, belong- 
ing to individuals and under the control of this City Council. 
Therefore, be it 

Resolved by the City Council of the City of Lehi: That it is 
the privilege, and is hereby made the duty of the said Field Com- 
mittee, to measure off to each individual holding land in said 
field, a lot of fence equal in length to value of his or her lands 
in dollars and cents, and in a principle of equity and justice as 
near as may be according to the judgment of said committee. 

Resolved: That it shall be the duty of each person holding 
or claiming land in said field, at any time when called upon 
by said committee, to furnish and cause to be set, according to 
the directions of said committee, a stake with the owner of said 
fence written legibly thereon, to be eighteen inches in the ground 
and twelve inches above, squaring at least two inches at the top, 
at the end of his or her fence, thus allotted by said committee. 

Resolved: That when a lot or parcel of fence is awarded to 
any person by said committee, it shall be and is hereby made the 
duty of such person or persons, to see that such fence is in good 
repair and ever after keep the same in good repair, according 
to the order of the City Council or this committee. 

Resolved: That it shall hereafter be the duty of any person 



1859] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 153 

or persons conveying or in any way transferring lands or fence 
in or around said field, to stake as before provided and report 
the same to the Field Committee, that a true record of such 
transfers may be kept. 

Resolved further: That any person violating any of the fore- 
going resolutions shall be liable to a fine in any sum not exceed- 
ing one hundred dollars for every such violation or neglect of 
duty, also liable to all damages that may be sustained by such 
violation or neglect. 

These resolutions to be in force from and after their pub- 
lication. 

Published February 21, 1859. 

INTRODUCTION OF ALFALFA. 

The first alfalfa seed was brought to Lehi by Isaac 
Goodwin. A member of Captain Samuel Brannan's 
company, he sailed in the "Brooklyn"' around Cape 
Horn and landed in California, in 1846. With others, 
he was working on the mill race at Sutter's Mill when 
gold was discovered, resulting in the mad rush to the 
Golden Gate from all parts of the world. Goodwin 
arrived in Lehi from the Pacific Coast in February, 
1859, bringing with him a little of the precious alfalfa 
seed. At first he remained at Cold Springs, on the 
west side of the Jordan River, but later he moved into 
the city, locating permanently on the southeast cor- 
ner of Fourth West and Main. 

In the spring of 1860, Goodwin planted the first 
alfalfa seed that Utah soil had known. From his 
seeds only seven plants sprouted. These he nour- 
ished tenderly until they yielded him more. This in 
turn he planted the following spring, caring for it 
with all possible patience. Continuing this process 
for a number of years, and cleaning the husks from 



154 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[I860 



the seeds by means of a coffee grinder, he was able 
at last to sell a little seed to his neighbors for one 
dollar a pound, which, indeed, scarce paid for the 
cleaning.* In a few years the seed had become quite 
generally distributed, and lucern has now become the 
staple forage crop of the west. Paulinas H. Allred, *in 
1867, put up the first stack of lucern hay in Lehi. 

WORK ON THE POINT OF THE MOUNTAIN. 



Up to 1860 the road at 




JAMES Q. POWELL. 

fun is irrepressible. No 



the Point of the Mountain 
had been excessively 
steep and difficult of 
travel. Higher up on the 
hill than at present, it 
presented a serious in- 
convenience to travelers 
on the State Road. To 
allay this difficulty, 
Brigham Young re- 
quested the towns in the 
north end of Utah Coun- 
ty to assist him in re- 
pairing the road. Sixty- 
one men responded from 
Lehi, and performed al- 
together two hundred 
seventy days of work. 
The Yankee spirit of 
matter what the time or 



*On one occasion a neighbor, while watching Goodwin clean 
this alfalfa seed, picked up a pinch of it. "Put it down," imme- 
diately said the latter, "I would as willingly give you so much 
gold dust." 



1860] 



GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 



155 



place, your real American loves a good joke. Of this 
company at work at the Point of the Mountain, this 
was indeed true. One would think that the sobering 
effect of hardship and trouble would have completely 
banished any desire for humor in the pioneers of 
Lehi ; but such was far from being the case — there 
was an exceptionally large number of mischief makers 
here. 

One evening a crowd of the younger men disguised 
themselves as Indians 
and sent two of their 
complotters into the 
camp of the older men. 
Joining them at the 
camp fire, they adroitly 
steered the conversation 
around to the Indians. 
In turn they related in- 
cidents of ever increas- 
ing horror, until they 
reached the story of an 
Indian massacre which 
had occurred on the 
very spot where the 
camp was pitched. This 
narration lacked no em- 
bellishment of gruesome 
detail and blood-curdling description. Finally one of 
the young men asked what the others would do in 
case of a repetition of the alleged Indian attack. 
Bravely the elders announced that it would unques- 
tionably be the proper thing to hold one's ground, to 




WILLIAM DAWSON. 



156 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i86i 

fight, — any other course would be inconceivable. 
Suddenly a fearful noise was heard near by ; it ap- 
proached the fire with wonderful rapidity; the din 
grew ever louder until the hair-raising Indian war 
whoop could be only too clearly distinguished. It 
needed but a single glimpse to verify what had been 
heard — there in all their war paint was a band of In- 
dians, hostile, bloodthirsty, menacing. Instantly the 
veterans forgot their recent advice and with reckless 
haste fled in all directions from the fire. One even 
ran into Lehi — a good six miles — and in his awful 
fright told the people that the whole company had 
been massacred by the red men and that he was the 
sole survivor. Some of the citizens were consider- 
ably agitated, but when the news reached Bishop 
Evans, he — shrewd Yankee that he was — inquired the 
names of the party from Lehi, and upon mention of 
a few of the worst jokers, he knew that the supposed 
massacre was solved. 

FIFTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

February 11, 1861, was the date of the fifth-election 
in Lehi. The result follows : Mayor, John R. Mur- 
dock ; Aldermen, James W. Taylor, William Snow, 
John W. Norton, and William Fotheringham ; Coun- 
cilors, Thomas Ashton, William S. S. Willes, John C. 
Nagle, John Zimmerman, Henry Norton, J. B. Martin, 
Hugh Hilton, William Clark, and Abraham Losee. 

The council entered upon its duties February 27, 
and appointed Joseph J. H. Colledge as Recorder. 
Later it made the remaining appointments : Marshal, 
John S. Lott; Assessor and Collector, James Har- 



GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 



157 



wood; Treasurer, Abram Hatch; Water Master, 
Thomas Ashton; Supervisor, John Zimmerman; 
Pound Keeper, William Clark; Sealer of Weights and 
Measures, William S. S. Willes ; Superintendent of 
Lost and Found, Stephen H. Pierce; Field Commit 
tee, Charles Partridge, 
Thomas Karren, and 
George Coleman; Build- 
ing Committee, Thomas 
Ashton, William S. S. 
Willes, and John W r . Nor- 
ton ; Examiners, Abram 
Hatch, James W. Taylor, 
and William Fothering- 
ham; Sexton, John W. 
Norton; Captain of Po- 
lice, James Wiley Nor- 
ton. 

Various changes in 
this list of officers were 
made to meet condi- 
tions. Alderman James 
W. Taylor acted as 
Mayor pro tempore dur- 
ing the summer months while Mayor John R. Mur- 
dock was absent assisting Church immigrant trains 
from the Missouri to Utah. On April 27, Councilor 
William Clark was promoted to the office of Alder- 
man to fill a vacancy left by William Fotheringham, 
who had gone on a mission to Africa. Paulinas H. 
Allred took Clark's vacated place. William Snow 
assumed William Fotheringham's duties on the Board 




JOHN R. MURDOCK 

Third Mayor of Lehi, 

1861-1863. 



158 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1861 



of Examiners. Charles Barnes succeeded Stephen H. 
Pierce as Superintendent of Lost and Found, the lat- 
ter having vacated the office because of infirmity. 
William Goates was made a Councilor, on November 
10, to succeed Hugh Hilton, who had gone on a 
mission. 

Upon assuming the reins of government, the fifth 
City Council determined to make an investigation of 
all property owned by the municipality. The com- 
mittee on revenue, after making a most painstaking 
inquiry, reported through its chairman, John C. Na- 




RESIDENCE OF DAVID EVANS. 

gle, that the city's wealth consisted of three small 
drums and one large one, and stated further that all 
stood very much in need of repair. 

On April 27, 1861, the council received a numer- 
ously signed petition asking that the city be enlarged. 
This unmistakable sign of growth occasioned much 
discussion. For one, Bishop Evans seriously objected 



1861] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 159 

to any such extension of the city, giving as his reason 
the lack of water in Dry Creek to supply any consid- 
erable addition to the population of Lehi. Finally, 
however, all objections were satisfactorily adjusted, 
and the City Council ordered that a tier of blocks be 
surveyed around the wall. These did not supply the 
unexpected demand for building lots, so a tier each 
on the north and south was subsequently surveyed 
and sold to home builders. 

In the spring of 1861 there came to Lehi another 
plague, although this time it was far less menacing 
than the grasshoppers. The pest now took the form 
of blackbirds which did considerable damage to the 
farmers in the Big Field. The City Council estab- 
lished a fund and arranged shooting contests to put 
an end to these marauders. Their efforts were highly 
successful and the blackbirds soon ceased to bother. 

FIRST TANNERY. 

Early in 1862, David Evans and Canute Peterson 
built a small tannery near the north-east corner of 
Third North and Second West. Jonas Holdsworth, a 
tanner who had learned his trade in England, was the 
first workman in the little establishment. He had 
brought some of his tools with him across the Atlantic 
and had others made here. By aid of tan bark from 
the surrounding mountains, Holdsworth succeeded in 
making a quality of upper, sole, and harness leather 
that was exceedingly useful to the people of the city. 
The tannery closed in 1870. 

SIXTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The Legislative Assembly of the Territory, in Jan- 



160 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1863 



nary, 1863, had reduced the offices of Territorial mu- 
nicipalities to a mayor, two aldermen, and two coun- 
cilors. Accordingly, the ticket for the election held 
February 16, 1863, contained this lessened number of 
names. The following candidates were successful : 
Mayor, Lorenzo H. Hatch; Aldermen, Isaac Goodwin 

and William H. Winn; 
Councilors, Canute Pet- 
erson, Thomas Ashton, 
and Charles D. Evans. 

Dissimilar to the elec- 
tive offices, the appoint- 
ive offices were not les- 
sened, but rather in- 
creased. Qualifying for 
office on February 18 in 
the council chamber, 
which at that time was 
the upper room of the 
Meeting House, the 
sixth City Council made 
the following appoint- 
ments : Recorder, Joseph 
J. H. Colledge ; Marshal, 
Abel Evans ; Treasurer, 
Canute Peterson; Water Master, Thomas Ashton; 
Supervisor, John Zimmerman ; Pound Keeper, Wil- 
liam Clark; Sexton, John W. Norton; Sealer of 
Weights and Measures, William S. S. W r illes ; Field 
Committee, John Zimmerman, John R. Murdock, 
Abram Hatch, Thomas Karren, Sen., and Thomas R. 
Davis. Later appointments were : Examiners, David 




LORENZO H. HATCH, 
Fourth Mayor of Lehi, 1863. 



1863] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 161 

Evans, Abram Hatch, and Israel Evans; Captain of 
Police, William Southwick; Policemen, Isaac Chilton, 
James T. Powell, Swen Jacobs, John Jacobs, Robert 
Dunn, Samuel Briggs, William Evans, Jacob Bush- 
man, William Gurney, and Suel Lamb. 

Mayor Hatch's tenure of office lasted only a month, 
for on March 18 he moved to Cache County. He was 
succeeded by Alderman Isaac Goodwin whose va- 
cancy in turn was filled through the promotion of 
Councilor Canute Peterson. Israel Evans was then 
selected as a Councilor. In place of William S. S. 
Willes, who had accepted a call for a mission to Eng- 
land, Joseph J. Smith became Sealer of Weights and 
Measures. 

Not to be outdone by their predecessors, the sixth 
City Council also created a new appointive office. 
This took the name of Inspector of Wood and Lum- 
ber, John W. Norton being the first man who per- 
formed its functions and received its limited emolu- 
ments. His duties are set forth in the following or- 
dinance : 

An Ordinance Defining the Duties and Regulating the Fees 
of the Inspector of Wood and Lumber. 

Section 1. Be it ordained by the City Council of the City of 
Lehi that there shall be an Inspector of Wood and Lumber who 
shall, before entering upon the duties of his office, take an oath 
and give bonds in the penal sum of one hundred dollars, con- 
ditioned for the faithful performance of the duties thereof, which 
bond shall be approved by, and filed with, the City Recorder. 

Section 2. Be it further ordained that it shall be the duty of 
the Inspector of Wood and Lumber to inspect and measure all 
wood and lumber, when called upon by any person within the 
City of Lehi. 

Section 3. And be it further ordained that said Inspector 



162 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1864 



shall receive 20 cents per hundred feet for measuring and in- 
specting wood. 

Section 4. This ordinance to be in effect from and after its 
publication. 

Passed January 23, 1864. Published January 25, 1864. 

Daniel S. Thomas, Canute Peterson, and Thomas 
Karren, the school trustees, were completing the 




THURMAN SCHOOL HOUSE. 



Thurman School House at this time, and finding their 
funds scarce, they petitioned the City Council, March 
25, to lend them the surplus wheat in the city treasury. 
After investigating the condition of the municipal 
treasury, the council loaned the trustees thirty bushels 
of wheat. With this assistance, the trustees were 
able to bring the school house to such a stage of com- 



1864] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 163 

pletion that the City Council could hold its meetings 
there. The first session in the Thurman School 
House was held January 2, 1864. This now made 
four places available for such meetings, the log school 
house (the first home of the -council), the Tithing 
Office, the upper room in the Meeting House, and the 
Thurman Building. 

MAIL COACH MASSACRE. 

In the spring of 1863, Lehi was witness to one of 
the most sombre events of her whole history. A num- 
ber of soldiers from Fort Douglas, enjoying a vaca- 
tion at Fort Crittenden, as Camp Floyd had later been 
named, wounded two Indians and frightened the 
squaws of a neighboring camp. It was all done in a 
spirit of deviltry and without provocation, so the In- 
dians swore revenge on "the men who wore the blue 
coats," and unfortunately confused these with the 
drivers of the mail coaches. 

On Tuesday evening, June 9, a number of the, red 
skins told Mrs. William Ball, who then lived at the 
Jordan Bridge, and whose family was extremely 
friendly with the Indians, that on the next day they 
were going to kill the mail driver and "blue coats." 
Mrs. Ball warned the driver, who was then on his way 
to Fort Crittenden, but he could do nothing by way 
of preparation. 

The next day, June 10, George Kirkham, then a boy 
of twelve, was herding cattle west of the Jordan, 
about one mile north-west of the Cold Springs. See- 
ing the mail coach come flying in the distance, his 
curiosity was aroused, and he followed its course 



164 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1863 

closely. In a short time he could discern a number 
of horsemen following the vehicle and then he could 
see that they were Indians and were firing at it. Ever 
faster they came, the driver making a great effort to 
reach the road to the ford across the river, which was 
about three miles below the bridge. He had cut 
through the country in order to gain this haven, but 
finally the savages turned him south, drove him into 
high brush, and the speed of his horses was checked. 
First his leaders fell and when a wheeler went down, 
too, he dismounted and stood behind the other, firing 
at his assailants as rapidly as possible. Finally both 
he and his last horse were shot down, and the sole pas- 
senger in the coach was murdered with him. The 
driver's name was Wood Reynolds, and because of his 
bravery the Indians cut his heart out and ate it, be- 
lieving that some of his courage would in that way 
pass to them. They then scalped both their victims 
and mutilated their bodies terribly-. 

In the meantime, Kirkham had run for the bridge, 
and after delivering his horrible tidings there, had 
gone on to Lehi and started a posse out for the scene 
of blood. But it was too late. The Indians had de- 
parted and nothing remained but to take the bodies 
of the men on to Salt Lake City. 

The next morning William Ball, who was returning 
from Goshen, met this band of assassins, glorying in 
their scalps and proudly displaying the bugle and 
other property of the unfortunate men. Although a 
squad of soldiers was dispatched from Fort Douglas 
in search of the murderers, they were never appre- 
hended. 



1865] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 165 

SUGAR CANE. 

In the early '60s arose an industry which for a time 
was a very important factor in the life of the people. 
This was the culture of sugar cane and the production 
of molasses from it. Nearly all the farmers had fields 
of cane, indeed most of the ground north-east of the 
city was used for that purpose. To produce the mo- 
lasses, a number of mills were installed, the largest 
being on the present site of the Central School House ; 
it was operated by water from Dry Creek. At that 
time, the chief articles of food for children were bread 
and molasses. 

SEVENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The seventh election, observed February 13, 1865, 
resulted in the holding over of all the city officers, 
namely: Mayor, Isaac Goodwin; Aldermen, William 
H. Winn and Canute Peterson; Councilors, Thomas 
Ashton, Charles D. Evans, and Israel Evans. On the. 
following 9th of March, the appointive offices were 
filled: Marshal, Abel Evans; Treasurer, Canute Pet- 
erson; Water Master, Thomas Ashton: Supervisor, 
Paulinas H. Allred ; Sexton and Inspector of Wood 
and Lumber, John W. Norton ; Sealer of Weights and 
Measures, Joseph J. Smith; Field Committee, Israel 
Evans, Chairman, Orrace Murdock, Thomas R. Davis, 
Samuel Briggs, and Joseph J. Smith ; Examiners, 
David Evans, Israel Evans, and William Fothering- 
ham ; Policemen, Jacob Bushman, Captain, Isaac Chil- 
ton, John Jacobs, William Gurney, James T. Powell, 
Paulinas H. Allred, Thomas Karren, Jr., George 
Davy, Samuel Taylor, and John Roberts. 



166 



HISTORY OF LEHI, 



[1865 




A few changes also occurred in this set of officers. 
May 10, Suel Lamb received the appointment as Mar- 
shal to succeed Abel Evans, who had gone to Wales 
on a mission. On the same date John W. Norton 

assumed the duties of 
Councilor in place of 
Charles D. Evans, who 
had moved from the 
city. The following De- 
cember the Marshalship 
was again vacated, this 
time because Suel Lamb 
took up his residence in 
Cache County. Jacob 
J^-^HJH Bushman now became 

^^^^^^^^8PW Marshal and Isaac Chil- 

V WL i ^B ^ ton succeeded him as 

\ ; ^L ^^^^ Chief of Police. Decem- 

^^^^ ber 29. William Clark- 

became a Councilor and 
William S. S. Willes, 
Sexton and Inspector of 
Wood and Timber, to fill the vacancies resulting from 
John W. Norton's removal from the city. 

FREIGHTING. 

About this time a number of citizens of Lehi found 
it to their advantage to engage in the freighting busi- 
ness to Montana. Carrying their farm produce to 
the mining camps of that state, they found they could 
sell at very profitable prices. For eggs they received 
$1.25 a dozen, and for oats and flour 12 cents and 24 
cents a pound respectively. In 1865 Abram Hatch 



ISAAC GOODWIN, 
Fifth Mayor of Lehi, 
1863-1867; 1875-1877. 



1867] 



GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 



167 



sent two teams to Montana with Amasa Lyman and 
Stephen Ross as teamsters. Jasper Rolf and Peter 
Lott made the trip during the same season. 



EIGHTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The following officers were elected at the city elec- 
tion held February 11, 1867: Mayor, Israel Evans; 
Aldermen, William H. 
Winn and John Wood- 
honse; Councilors, Wil- 
liam Clark, William S. 
S. Willes, and Oley El- 
lingson. Some of the 
appointments m a d e 
were : Recorder, Joseph 
J. H. Colledge; Marshal. 
Joseph A. Thomas ; and 
Treasurer, Oley Elling- 
son. On account of the 
loss of the records of 
this council, it is impos- 
sible to ascertain the re- 
maining officers. 

The most important 
event occurring during 
this administration was 
the official listing of the land of Lehi. The Federal 
Land Office allotted two days in which the owners of 
land might file their claims, but through the liberality 
of the Land Office officials, this time was extended to 
two months. This gave everyone sufficient time to 
insure their land titles. On behalf of the citizens of 




ISRAEL EVANS, 
Sixth Mayor of Lehi, 1867-1869. 



168 HISTORY OF LEHI. nse? 

Lehi, Mayor Israel Evans entered and filed the land 
upon which the city was built, so that during the next 
administration it was possible to issue deeds for city 
lots. 

BUILDING A HOUSE IN 1867. 

One of the most interesting men who have lived in 
Lehi is John Woodhouse. During a long and busy 

life he has shown un- 
usual skill and versatil- 
ity and few men have 
done more to help the 
community than^ he. 
Possessed of a remark- 
ably retentive memory, 
he has acquired a fund 
of information on nu- 
merous and various sub- 
jects which he has often 
found occasion to use 
for the benefit of his fel- 
lows. Although he has 
served his city as law- 
ver, doctor, merchant, 

JOHN WOODHOUSE. , , • , , 

J lecturer, judge, and en- 

tertainer, he still found time to follow the vocation 
of farmer and tailor for the support of his family. 
The following account of the erection of a house in 
early days is from his pen, and aptly illustrates the 
spirit of the times : 

"I purchased a house and lot from Thomas Oakey 
for which I paid $300.00 as follows : I let him have 
some cattle, a wagon, a bed coverlet woven by Mother 




186-] GROWTH OF THE COMMUNITY. 169 

Thomas, and the balance in wheat at theTithingOffice 
to apply on the Oakey family debt to the Perpetual 
Emigration Fund. During the winter of 1866-1867, 
most of the house fell down, as it had been built of 
mud without a stone foundation, so I was compelled 
to build a new one. 

"For the benefit of our children, I shall relate how 
I built a house sixteen feet wide by thirty-four feet 
long and two stories high, practically without money 
or credit. 

"After the spring work was done on the farm, I 
moved the family into a small granary, cleared the 
debris of the old house away and hauled rock for the 
foundation. Abraham Enough, the mason, was under 
contract to make adobes for Robert Gilchrist, but 
would rather lay rock if I could arrange with Gil- 
christ. 'When I approached Gilchrist on the matter, 
he was quite willing that Enough should work for 
me, and I could pay him (Gilchrist) by making a pair 
of pants each for himself and brother Niel ; thus I got 
the foundations laid. 

"I was considering the best way to get the adobes 
for the walls, when my neighbor, Andrew F.Peterson, 
proposed that if I would furnish the material and 
make him a suit of clothes, he would make my adobes. 
Making the clothes was a small matter, but to furnish 
the material was a serious consideration; however, I 
finally agreed to it. I sheared sheep and earned wool 
from which my wife spun and wove cloth for two 
suits of clothed. The one I paid Peterson for the 
adobes, the other I gave to John Andreason for build- 
ing the walls. 



170 HISTORY OF LEHI. H867 

"I procured window and door frames from John C. 
Nagle which had come out of the buildings at Camp 
Floyd. I hauled timber from the canyons and made 
sleepers for floors and plates and stringers for the 
roof. Several men who were owing me for work, 
done the year previous and were now working at John 
Zimmerman's saw mill in American Fork Canyon, 
paid me in lumber and shingles. I also exchanged 
work with Newal A. Brown by binding grain for him 
in the forenoon and receiving his help in putting on 
the roof in the afternoon when the grain was too dry 
to bind. 

"The shingle nails used were second hand ones 
from Camp Floyd and cost 30 cents a pound, while 
new nails cost 75 cents a pound. The lumber for 
casings and upstairs floors I bought from Latimer & 
Taylor, of Salt Lake City, paying $15.00 down and 
promising to pay a fat pig to weigh about 200 pounds 
at killing time for the balance. I procured the lum- 
ber for the lower floors from Anthony Ivins, of Salt 
Lake City, agreeing to pay in geese, at the rate of 
one goose for fifty feet of lumber, the geese to be 
delivered in time for Christmas dinner. I delivered 
the geese on time, but I had to leave Lehi in a blind- 
ing snow storm to do it. The nails used in the con- 
struction of the building, were made by James W. 
Taylor and cost two cents each in currency or one 
cent in gold. I did my own lathing and exchanged 
work with William Clark and John E. Ross for the 
plastering. Thus we were able to "move into the 
house and occupy it, although it was not entirely fin- 
ished. Best of all, it had no encumbrance upon it." 



CHAPTER XIII. 

The Black Hawk War. 



ALMOST twenty years had elapsed since the pio- 
neers first essayed their fortune on the banks of 
the great Inland Sea. The two decades had wit- 
nessed many changes, both in the life of the settlers 
themselves and in the conditions which confronted 
them. Carrying out their colonization policy, they 
had spread into all parts of the Territory, founding 
little colonies on a basis of permanency and self-sup- 
port. The southern and central parts of Utah, espe- 
cially, had been the scene of numerous attempts at 
establishing settlements, and in the main they were 
successful. Thus there grew up San Pete, Sevier, 
Piute. Iron, and Beaver counties. The colonists had 
almost universally been at peace with the Indians. 
Naturally, disagreements had arisen over various 
matters, but with patience and forbearance they had 
generally been adjusted without delay or trouble. 
Still, the never-ceasing advance of the whites had 
aroused the animosity of many of the Indians, so that 
by 1865 it was a delicate matter to restrain them. 

On April 9, 1865, in Manti, during the course of a 
quarrel over some stolen cattle, John Lowry of that 
place unceremoniously pulled a certain Chief Jake 



172 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1865 



from his horse, thereby seriously offending his dig- 
nity and inciting the ire of his tribesmen. It needed 
but this trifling cause to fan the subdued anger of the 
Indians into flames. The same night the red men 
raided the cattle and drove most of them off. Next 
day they attacked a rescuing party and killed one of 
its members. Thus began the Black Hawk War, so 

named from the wily 
chief who later assumed 
the leadership of the 
savages. The Territorial 
militia was immediately 
mustered into service, 
and during the next 
three summers, under 
command of Daniel H. 
Wells, it performed val- 
uable service in protect- 
ing the lives and prop- 
erty of the southern 
settlers. 

As part of this citizen 
soldiery, forty men from 
Lehi participated in the 
war. At different times 
during 1866 and 1867, 
they joined expeditions to the south and served in the 
campaigns in San Pete and Sevier counties. At home 
the utmost vigilance was observed; the town was con- 
stantly under guard; the cattle and horses were 
watched with unceasing care. As a result, Lehi's to- 
tal loss in the Black Hawk War was a few horses. 




GEORGE WILLIAM KIRKHAM, 
A Pioneer of 1859. 



1866] 



THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 



173 



PRELIMINARY EXPEDITIONS. 

The first company to leave Lehi was under com- 
mand of Washburn Chipman, of American Fork, and 
the date of its departure was March 3, 1866. To- 
gether with a number of men from neighboring 
towns, James Kirkham, 
William Simmonds, Eli- 
sha H. Davis, Jr., James 
Lamb, and Henry Mal- 
let made up this party. 
The route lay through 
Cedar Valley, Tintic 
Valley and then south 
to Cherry Creek. Dur- 
ing the whole march, 
the expedition never 
once caught sight of an 
Indian, although several 
times they were in the 
near proximity of skir- 
mishes between the sav- 
ages and other troops. 
The company disbanded 
in Lehi, March 22. 

A second relief party was organized in the follow- 
ing April to rescue some white men who had been 
taken captive by Chief Tabby, in Strawberry Valley, 
of whose condition the people of Lehi had learned 
through Joseph Murdock of Heber. Under the com- 
mand of Colonel Paulinas H. Allred, Samuel Taylor, 
William Bone, Jr., John Bushman, Edward Cox, Wil- 
liam Sparks, John Zimmerman, James Kirkham, 









** 02* 


» 


, 




'JR. J^ 


1 


(Uyii 



WILLIAM YATES. 



174 HISTORY OF LEHI. usee 

Elisha H. Davis, Jr., Edwin Goodwin, Daniel W. 
Thomas, Henry Mallet, and Stephen Ross joined a like 
number of men from American Fork and four from 
Pleasant Grove, and proceeded to the mouth of Provo 
Canyon, where they expected to be joined by rein- 
forcements from Provo. Shortly before reaching 
that place, however, a messenger from Heber met 
them and informed them that through a bribe of a 
number of cattle, the captives had been released. The 
company immediately returned home, but held them- 
selves in readiness for service at a moment's notice.* 

FIRST COMPANY TO SAN PETE. 

Abraham G. Conover organized in Provo, on May 
1, the first company from Utah County which went 
to the seat of war in San Pete. With this party were 
James Lamb, Mathias Peterson, Thomas Fowler, 
Robert Fox, and John Karren from Lehi. James 
Lamb held the rank of sergeant, while Thomas Fow- 
ler was captain of ten. 

The service of the company consisted of guarding 

*On the way to American Fork, a little incident happened to 
the Lehi contingent which threatened to delay their rescue ex- 
pedition temporarily. Besides their horses, the men brought a 
number of pack animals. Among these was a wild mule, bor- 
rowed by Henry Mallet from John C. Nagle, and loaded now 
with frying pans, skillets and other cooking utensils. Disliking 
the noise made by its pack, the beast determined to rid him- 
self of it, so unexpectedly began a wild dash for liberty. The 
whole party joined in pursuit. The chase was a merry one — 
the mule in the lead with the din of the dishes worse than ever, 
the men following at full speed close behind, and adding not a 
little to the disturbance with their excited cries. But Fate was 
against the descendant of Balaam's loquacious quadruped — all at 
once it plunged head foremost in a deep mudhole, whence with 
much difficulty the men extricated it. 



1866] THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 175 

the towns in San Pete and Sevier counties. They 
accompanied a number of scouting and foraging expe- 
ditions, and at one time went as far south as Circle 
Valley. They were mustered out of service July 18. 

SECOND COMPANY. 

Came another call for men on June 12. In response, 
William H. Winn was appointed captain of a com- 
pany, John Zimmerman as his second lieutenant, Jas- 
per Rolf as sergeant, and the following as privates : 
Loren Olmstead, JoJm_Bu^hman, Henry Mallet, Ed- 
win Goodwin, Samuel Taylor, Alfred Turner, and 
William Bone, Jr. Their work was similar to that of 
the first company — guarding the property of the 
towns in San Pete and Sevier. Especially was this 
company active around Fountain Green and Mount 
Pleasant, although they made numerous expeditions 
into the neighboring mountains. Accompanying- 
General Dahiel H. Wells home, they disbanded Aug- 
ust 13. 

THIRD COMPANY. 

The third expedition in which Lehi men served 
was organized in Payson on July 3, with Jonathan S. 
Page of that city as captain. Frank Molen acted as 
sergeant, while George McConnell, Daniel W. 
Thomas, Newal A. Brown, Joseph Ashton, William 
Mathews, John E. Ross, and Thomas Karren, Jr., 
served as privates. Scouting in the mountains of San 
Pete. Sevier and Piute counties made up the work 
of this company. They were released from service 
August 25. 



176 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



FOURTH COMPANY. 

The last company of this year was formed in Amer- 
ican Fork, August 7, Alva Green of that place acting 
as captain. Stephen Ross, John W. Wing, John Rob- 
erts, Jr., Jacob Cox, and David Pearce made up the 
Lehi contingent. With Fountain Green as its head- 
quarters, this company scouted throughout the whole 
of San Pete Valley, with occasional trips into Sevier 
County. Its members were discharged October 7. 

FIFTH COMPANY. 

The opening of spring, in 1867, saw hostilities be- 
tween the Indians and whites break out with greater 
ferocity than ever. Chief Black Hawk proved an ex- 
tremely sagacious and wily foe, hard to apprehend, 

and always striking at 
unexpected places. It 
was during this summer 
that the hardest cam- 
paign was waged against 
him and that he was 
practically subdued. 

Under Orson P. Miles, 
of Salt Lake City, a 
number of Lehi men en- 
listed April 22. They 
were Daniel W.Thomas, 
who acted now as sec- 
ond lieutenant, Stephen 
Ross, John Bushman, 
William Bone, Jr., Geo. 
McConnell, and Byron 
W. Brown. It will be 




FRANK MOLEN AND WIFE. 



1867] THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 177 

observed that all of these men except the last had 
been in service the previous year. Since the settlers 
had decided to abandon, temporarily at least, their 
homes, this company assisted in the evacuation of 
Richfield, Glenwood, Alma, and Salina.* Just before 
July 24, some of the militiamen from Lehi were al- 
lowed to return home on furlough, while John Worl- 
ton, Thomas F. Trane, Wicliffe Smith, and Hyland D. 
Wilcox were sent forward to replace them. This 
relief party left Lehi July 20, joined their company at 
Ephraim and continued in service until the whole 
company was discharged, August 6. The men on fur- 
lough were on the point of returning when they re- 
ceived notice of the cessation of hostilities. 

On August 19, Black Hawk made a treaty of peace 
with the white men in Strawberry Valley. This event 
marked the close of the war, although a few depreda- 
tions were committed in the south the next year by 
Indians who did not know that an agreement had 
been reached. 

During the course of the war the men who had re- 
mained at home were equally as active as those of 
their townsmen who went to the front. . Paulinas H. 



*Not all the life of the volunteers was serious. On one occa- 
sion, Stephen Ross, a great joker, succeeded, with the help of 
several others, in chaining Moroni Pratt. Pratt had long hair 
which became very much snarled and disheveled when he was 
tied to a wagon and compelled to lie all day in the bright sun. 
Ross told newcomers that they had succeeded in subduing a 
crazy man, and indeed the appearance of the prisoner, who was 
straining at his chains, muttering all sorts of imprecations and 
foaming at the mouth, amply bore him out. Finally, when a 
large number had collected, Pratt succeeded in breaking loose 
and started for the crowd. With all speed, these turned and 
fled to the hills, only returning when assured that the "crazy 
man" had been captured. 
IS 



178 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



11867 



Allred and Edward W. Edwards assisted nobly in 
drilling the recruits in the first rudimentary knowl- 
edge of the manual of 
arms. Various others — 
notably Andrew A. Pe- 
terson, Samuel Briggs, 
and James Harwood — 
furnished horses, sad- 
dles, mules, wagons, 
guns, and ammunition. 
Due to the abandon- 
ment of the towns in 
southern Utah. Lehi re- 
ceived a small increase 
in her population. An- 
drew R. Anderson. Pe- 
ter J. Christofiferson, 
and George Beck had 
lived in the districts 
where most of the fight- 
ing had taken place and now moved to Lehi. 




ANDREW A. PETERSON". 



WAR REMINISCENCES. 

One of the best ways of obtaining an accurate con- 
ception of a historical event is to listen to the story of 
that event as told by the participants themselves. 
Fortunately, it is possible to present here the accounts 
of various incidens pertaining to the war as related 
by men from Lehi who served in it. 

Says John W. Wing: 

"I well remember the drilling we received in mil- 
itary maneuvers, one being to shoot at an enemy 



1865-1867] THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 179 

while going at full speed. The whole company 
would be drawn up in line, and at a given signal 
would charge towards a target. When within one 
hundred yards, we would receive the order to wheel 
and fire. We were then supposed to discharge our 
arms at the target and return to the point of begin- 
ning without slacking speed. About the first time 
we tried this exercise, we almost killed each other, 
for instead of all firing simultaneously, only a very 
few succeeded in firing together. This so frightened 
the horses that they became almost unmanageable, 
while the firing continued until we reached the start- 
ing point. One man shot his horse through the head 
between the ears, killing him instantly." 
William Bone, Jr., relates the following: 
" A rather remarkable incident occurred June 2, 
1867. Our company was camped near the Sevier 
River bridge, on its return from helping the people 
of Scipio abandon that town. Some time before sun- 
down, as William Tunbridge and myself were enjoy- 
ing a stroll along the river, we stopped a few minutes 
on the edge of the bank, which at this place was fully 
ten feet high. Presently we moved back a distance, 
when several rods of*the bank about ten feet wide, 
fell with a crash to the river bed below. Instantly 
Tunbridge remarked, 'An Indian outbreak.' The 
water in the river was some distance away, so the 
bed was dry at this place, which makes it more re- 
markable that the bank should fall the moment we 
stepped off it. 

"When we returned to camp, Tunbridge told the 
captain of the incident, and insisted that an Indian 



180 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1865-1867 



outbreak was imminent. The captain, to be on the 
side of safety, ordered an extra guard placed that 
night. The next day we received the sad news that 
Major John Wesley Vance, of Alpine, and Heber 
Houtz, of Salt Lake City, had been killed on Twelve- 
Mile Creek the evening before, and by comparing 
notes, we found that these men were shot at about 
the same time the bank fell. 

"The most desperate struggle I ever had to keep 
awake happened while 
we were stationed at 
Fort Gunnison. A ru- 
mor reached us that In- 
dians had been seen in 
Salina Canyon about 
twenty miles away, and 
it was decided by our 
captain to place a picket 
guard at a convenient 
place to observe the 
movements of the red 
men. Daniel W.Thomas, 
two men from Ameri- 
can Fork and myself 
were selected for the 
task. After receiving 
our instructions, we 
started for the canyon 
in the night, as we hoped to be in position before the 
first gray light of dawn was visible in the east. When 
near our destination, we left the road and skirted the 
side hills of the canyon to a sheltered cave, where we 




WILLIAM L. HUTCHING 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 



181 



left the horses in charge of the men from American 
Fork. 

"In the darkness Thomas and I crawled to the top 
of the ridge, and each selected a high point command- 
ing a view of the canyon and the surrounding coun- 
try. As this was the second night we had gone with- 
out sleep, the effort to 

keep awake was almost 
more than human na- 
ture could endure. 
Thomas resorted to 
pounding his head with 
a stone, while I pricked 
myself with a pin. Fi- 
nally the sun came up. 




flooding the mountains 
and valleys with light 
and beauty, and as the 
warm rays poured down 
upon us, our eyes grew 
heavy and our limbs be- 
came numb. But we 
dared not give way, for 
perhaps life and death 
depended on our vigi- 
lance. At noon we exchanged places with our com- 
panions, and eventually passed through the long sum- 
mer day. 

"When it was fully dark, we left the canyon and re- 
turned to camp, not having seen any Indians. We 
explained to the captain the great danger of having 



CHARLES PHILLIPS, 
A Pioneer of 1866. 



182 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i86« 

a | ticket guard so far away from the main body. The 
practice was afterwards discontinued." 

Samuel Taylor says : 

"I have never suffered so much with the cold as I 
did on the night of June 20. 1866, although it was in 
the middle of summer. Our company was going over 
the mountains to Circle Valley, when, near the top of 
the divide, we received word that Indians had been 
seen in the neighborhood. We camped that night on 
the ridge and one-half the company was placed on 
guard. Another young man and myself were stationed 
on a high cliff where the wind blew directly upon us, 
and before morning I thought I should perish. I be- 
lieve this was the coldest night I ever experienced. 

"Being in suspense and always looking for Indians. 
it is no wonder that some men with a superabundance 
of imagination saw them where they did not exist. A 
striking case of this kind happened as we were on the 
way to Fish Lake. When we reached the high ridge 
between Grass Valley and Fish Lake, some of the 
men saw Indians in the timber near the lake. We 
were all ordered to dismount and form into skirmish 
lines, except a few men who were placed in charge 
of the horses. In this manner we proceeded towards 
the lake, covering the entire distance by a series of 
running, hiding, crouching, crawling, and charging 
movements. Fortunately, we found that the Indians 
were all imaginary." 

The following from Robert Fox: 

"One time, while camped at Gunnison, we received 
word to proceed to Salina at double quick time. When 
we arrived, we found the town already deserted by its 



1866] THE BLACK HAWK WAR. 183 

inhabitants. Chickens cackled and pigs squealed, hut 
no human being was in sight. We afterwards learned 
that the day previous to our visit, Black Hawk, with 
a band of warriors, had swooped down on the little 
town and stolen every horse and cow in the place. 
Then the dusky chieftain, who spoke English fluently, 
had ridden around the settlement and tauntingly 
shouted for the men to come out and get their cows 
or their papooses would go hungry. During the night 
the inhabitants fled to Manti, leaving the town as we 
found it. 

"One time Captain Conover took about a dozen 
of us young men with him on a scouting trip. We 
had not gone far when we noticed what we supposed 
to be a steer near the mouth of a canyon. Immedi- 
ately three or four of the most thoughtless ones 
among us started after the object, but the captain 
called them back and told us that this was not a steer, 
as we supposed. Upon firing a shot at the dark ob- 
ject in the distance, we were surprised to see a cow- 
hide thrown in the air and the object resolve itself 
into two Indians, who quickly disappeared up the 
canyon." 

Joseph Ashton tells this : 

"While our company was stationed at Twelve-Mile 
Creek, in July, 1866, John E. Ross and I spent a very 
pleasant afternoon fishing in the stream. About 
sundown the mosquitoes became so annoying that 
we concluded to return to camp, which was in plain 
sight, some distance away. As we went along swing- 
ing our hats to brush away the troublesome insects, 
the picket guard mistook our movements for danger 



184 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i866 

signals, and hurried to camp to give the alarm. We 
noticed a great deal of activity in camp, so we quick- 
ened our speed, wondering what was the matter. 
When our companions saw us running, they became 
greatly alarmed, and hurriedly grasping their weap- 
ons, they mounted their horses and hastened out to 
meet us. As they drew near, they inquired in very 
excited tones what the trouble was. We told them 
we had no trouble except the mosquitoes, and would 
like very much to know what had happened in camp. 
To our surprise they informed us that we had caused 
all. the excitement. Later, when matters were ex- 
plained in camp, our supposedly great danger caused 
no little amusement." 

Such was Lehi's part in the Black Hawk War, the 
last conflict of importance with the Indians. For their 
service these volunteers received nothing. Immedi- 
ately after the last campaign a report was submitted 
which showed that the struggling young Territory 
had expended $1,121,037.38 to protect the lives and 
property of its inhabitants, that seventy of its citizens 
had met their death, and that twenty-five towns had 
been abandoned. Repeated attempts have been made 
both to obtain remuneration and have the veterans of 
the conflict placed on the Federal pension list. So far, 
all efforts have been without avail. Happily, the State 
of Utah has not acted in the same manner. During 
the legislative session of 1913, $25,000.00 was appro- 
priated as pay for the volunteers in the Indian wars. 
Thus does virtue and bravery, after many days, re- 
ceive its reward. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

Beginnings of Business Life. 



IN THE establishment of settlements in Utah, com- 
1 merce played but a small part. The pioneers at- 
tached themselves to the soil and wrested their live- 
lihood from it, thus assuring a future permanent and 
unquestionable. The immeasurable stores of mineral 
wealth buried in the adjoining mountains they left 
untouched; it remained for other hands to profit by 
Nature's bounteousness there. Neither did they at- 
tempt to follow the example of their predecessors in 
the Great Basin and engage in trapping and fur trad- 
ing. Their sole aim — and in this they followed the 
advice of their leaders — was to obtain possession of 
the land — time would take care of the rest. Hence, 
there was no occasion for commerce, except in the 
rudest forms of barter and trade. 

But, similar to all other colonies on the frontiers 
of civilization, later growth wrought changes to 
those in Utah in this as in other respects. At first 
the settlers were hard put to it to obtain the bare 
necessities of life ; but with the passing years came 
greater prosperity, and hence, also, a surplus of prod- 
ucts. From this arose the possibility and the desire 
to trade, and at this point enters commerce. 

In Lehi the advent of this stage is easily recognized, 
because it came, not gradualy, but all at once, through 



186 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1862 



the establishment of Camp Floyd. The trade which 
grew up between the city and the barracks has been 
noted before. Here was the possibility of commerce 
— it needed but a short time for men to recognize 
it as such, and utilize it. In Lehi one of these men 
was Thomas Taylor, and with his work as intermedi- 
ary between the farmers of the town and the soldiers 
of the camp began Lehi's commercial history. 

THE FIRM OF T. AND W. TAYLOR. 

Shortly after the abolishment of Camp Floyd, 
Thomas and William W. Taylor determined to go 

into the mercantile bus- 
iness for themselves. To 
their minds, the grow- 
ing population of Lehi 
was sufficient justifica- 
tion for the venture. Ob- 
taining a stock of goods, 
they began a mercantile 
business in a building 
erected on the corner 
of Main and Second 
West Streets. This was 
the first real store in 
Lehi, and the site of this 
initial venture has been 
in use by various com- 
panies ever since.* The 
merchandise of the store 

*Although this was the first real store in Lehi, goods had 
been previously sold in private dwellings. Among those who 
traded in this fashion were Thomas Taylor, Abram Hatch, Wil- 
liam W. Taylor, and George Leslie. 




WILLIAM W. TAYLOR. 



1868] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 187 

was obtained from Salt Lake City, and because of the 
great cost of transporting most of it across the plains, 
the prices were necessarily high. 

LEHI UNION EXCHANGE. 

The next commercial enterprise was the Lehi 
Union Exchange, founded in 1868, as a result of agi- 
tation on the part of Israel Evans, who, while on a 
mission to England, had studied the Rochdale co-op- 
erative system, and now believed the same plan of co- 
operation could be utilized beneficially in his own city. 
In a meeting called by Bishop Evans, and attended by 
Israel Evans, William Wanlass, John Zimmerman, 
William Clark, Thomas R. Jones, Andrew A. Peter- 
son, Joseph A. Thomas, and James Q. Powell, the 
project was launched and definite plans made for its 
maintenance. David Evans was elected president of 
the company; William Wanlass, secretary; John Zim- 
merman, treasurer; Israel Evans, William Clark, and 
Thomas R. Jones, directors ; and it was capitalized for 
$350.00. in shares of $25.00 each. Several of the in- 
corporators volunteered to haul the first goods free 
of charge. Thus was organized the first co-operative 
store in Utah. 

On July 23 the new company opened its establish- 
ment for business. Its first quarters consisted of a 
little building on Third West and First South Streets, 
now used as a granary by Andrew R. Anderson. The 
enterprise met with immediate success, so much so 
that at the end of the first six months of business a 
dividend of $28.20 a share — over 100 per cent — was 
declared, although it had been originally intended 



188 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1868 



that any profits should be used towards the estab- 
lishment of other industries, notably a grist mill and 
woolen mill. This unlooked-for prosperity necessi- 
tated the obtaining of more commodious quarters, 
which was done through the purchase of the present 
site of the City Hall from Hyrum Norton. The com- 
pany immediately excavated a cellar and commenced 
the construction of a building. Twice did the winds 
blow the frame work over, but before a third attempt 




BUILDING OF LEHI UNION EXCHANGE. 

was necessary, other changes had occurred which 
greatly altered the status of commercial affairs. 

With the great success of the Union Exchange and 
the widespread urging of the co-operative plan, the 
business of T. and W. Taylor had suffered to a con- 
siderable extent. This occasioned much discussion 
and not a little bitterness on both sides. As a com- 



1869] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 189 

promise, it was decided to consolidate the two com- 
panies through the purchase of the Taylor business 
by the Exchange. Thomas R. Cutler — a young man 
who later played one of the most important roles in 
Lehi's history — for T. and W. Taylor, and William 
Wanlass for the Union Exchange, completed these 
negotiations, and the latter company moved at once 
into the building formerly occupied by the Taylor 
concern. 

Some time after this consolidation, the foundin'g of 
the Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution in Salt 
Lake City began a 
widespread adoption 
throughout the Terri- 
tory of the co-operative 
plan. The Lehi Union 
Exchange was linked to 
the Salt Lake company 
as a local branch, and 
henceforth was known 
as the "Co-op," although 
it had really preceded 
the central organiza- 
tion. The sign of the 
all-seeing eye and the 
inscription, "Holiness 
to the Lord" adorned 
the gabled front of the william wanlass. 

store and became fa- 
miliar to the trades people of the city. William Wan- 
lass was manager, chief clerk, and bookkeeper of the 
Exchange in its new home, and continued as such 




190 HISTORY OF LEHI. [isee-iszi 

for many years. The prosperity which attended the 
first few years of business of the Exchange did not 
last. This was due to two reasons, the excessive 
credit system and the establishment, in 1871, of The 
People's Co-operative Institution. So poor, indeed, 
was the business of the Exchange that in 1880 it sold 
out to its younger rival, and was henceforth known as 
the "Branch." 

PIONEER MILLINERS. 

Early in Lehi's history, Mrs. Samuel James had 
made the first ladies' straw hats; but in 1866, Mrs. 
Harriet Austin Jacobs set up a millinery store which 
has continued in operation ever since. Mrs. Jacobs 
manufactured her own hats, having learned the trade 
while a girl in England. This pioneer head-gear was 
made from straw grown in Lehi, and selected, cut, 
split, and braided by hand. Assisting the milliner in 
this work were Mrs. Emma Austin, Mrs. Harriet 
Webb, Mrs. Sarah Gurney, Mrs. Ann Whitman, Mrs. 
Ann James, and Mrs. Elizabeth Cutler. Mrs. Mary 
A. Webb manufactured straw trimmings. In July, 
1868, while on a visit to Lehi, Brigham Young was 
so delighted with the hats worn by the women of the 
city that he ordered twelve from Mrs. Jacobs for his 
daughters, paying $4.00 each for them. 

THE TELEGRAPH REACHES LEHI. 

The autumn of 1870 saw Lehi in communication 
with the outside world through one of the modern 
inventions — the telegraph. A. Milton Musser, of Salt 
Lake City, acting for the Deseret Telegraph Line, 
installed at that time an office of his company in the 



1870] 



BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 



191 



residence of Bishop Evans, and placed Miss Ina John- 
son of Springville in charge. The company offered 
to teach telegraphy to any of the local young women, 
and promsied to place the office in their charge when 
they had reached a stage of sufficient proficiency. 
Three young ladies from 
Lehi, Barbara A. Evans 
(Mrs. John Bush), Isa- 
bella Karren (Mrs. Sam- 
uel R. Thurman), and 
Harriet A. Zimmerman 
(Mrs. Henry M. Royle), 
undertook to solve the 
mysteries of dots and 
dashes under the tutor- 
ship of Miss Johnson, 
at the rate of $5.00 a 
month. Since the office 
was in her home, Miss 
Evans rapidly outstrip- 
ped her rivals and ob- 
tained the position. The 
telegraph continued in 

operation until May, 1872, when, on account of insuf- 
ficient receipts, it was abandoned. Miss Evans then 
accepted a similar position in Farmington. 




MRS. BARP.ARA EVANS BUSH. 



UTAH SOUTHERN RAILROAD. 



The completion of the track of the Utah Southern 
Railroad into Lehi marked an important epoch in the 
growth of the city. The arrival of the first train on 
September 23, 1872, meant much to the citizens, both 



192 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1872 



as to their future development and their immediate 
satisfaction. Many of them, and especially the chil- 
dren, had never seen a train before, so the first shriek 
of the iron monster was anticipated for weeks and re- 
alized with intense delight. 

The effect of the advent of the railroad in Lehi 
was almost magical. State Street witnessed a mush- 
room growth of saloons, boarding houses, and small 





















\ 










1 






^ 


^^ 






' 


r p~ 


■ 


Tg 


g 


"■ 


■H 




_ 


Hi " :s 


^ 


,'-.' E 




'M 






wJm 


■i 


■■ ■ 




' 


"*',-". 





UTAH SOUTHERN STATION IN 1873. 



shops; commodities became cheaper at once; and 
great numbers of people moved into the city. For a 
year the terminus of the road was in Lehi, and this 
made the city the distributing center for goods 
shipped to the towns of the south. Many of the men 
obtained profitable employment in freighting, and in 



1872] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 193 

addition much money was spent in the city by freight- 
ers from other districts. Furthermore, a narrow 
gauge line was constructed to American Fork Can- 
yon to tap the smelting being done there in the Miller 
and other mines. This proved profitable to Lehi, both 
as a market for goods and in furnishing work in haul- 
ing supplies and ore. In the station, the railroad op- 
erated a telegraph system and placed it in charge of 
Miss Barbara Evans who had returned from Farm- 
ington. The old Utah Southern has been succeeded 
by the Union Pacific, and at present by the San Pedro, 
Los Angeles and Salt Lake Railway. 

THE PEOPLE'S CO-OPERATIVE INSTITUTION. 

Of the various business concerns which sprang up 
around the Utah Southern station only one took per- 
manent form — The People's Co-operative Institution. 
In anticipation of the arrival of the railway, and its 
resulting value to adjacent real estate and business, 
Thomas R. Cutler had. in 1871, a year previous to the 
coming of the railroad, commenced a mercantile bus- 
iness in a little adobe building, fourteen by twenty 
feet, built by William \Y. Taylor on the south-east 
corner of Second East and State Streets. Cutler con- 
ducted the business alone during the first year, but 
the advent of the Utah Southern made additional help 
necessary. Accordingly he employed William Hutch- 
in gs, who assumed charge of a meat market, and Ed- 
win Standring. 

James W. Taylor, on April 4, 1872, secured the 
first license for the store from the City Council. The 
same year, on December 21, the company incorpo- 

14 



194 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1872 



rated under the name of People's Co-operative Insti- 
tution, with a capital stock of $28,000.00, divided into 
700 shares of a part value of $40.00. James W. Taylor 
was elected president, Isaac Goodwin, vice-president; 
Thomas R. Cutler, secretary-treasurer, and Samuel 
Briggs, William Bone, Sr., and Jesse Smith, directors. 
In addition to the ordinary mercantile business, the 
"People's Co-op," as it has since been called, engaged, 

conjointly with Ira D. 
Wines, in the forward- 
ing business, as long as 
Lehi remained the ter- 
minal point of the Utah 
Southern. The company 
also purchased the 
agency of Bain wagons 
and farm machinery 
from Howard Sebree, 
and operated a lumber 
yard. For a time it also 
acted as the shipping 
agent for the Copper- 
opolis smelter in Mam- 
moth, sending the ore 
from that plant to Bos- 
ton. Nor was its activ- 
ity confined to these things. Essaying the part of 
manufacturer, the "Co-op" produced the first com- 
mercial made shoes in the Territory, and the first 
furniture. The shoe shop, under the direction of Ed- 
ward Soutliwick, made an excellent grade of boots, 
shoes and women's shoes, most of which were sold to 




WILLIAM BONE, SEN. 



1872-1903] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 



195 



the Zion's Co-operative Mercantile Institution in 
Salt Lake. Peter Loutensock had charge of the fur- 
niture department. Later methods, which could pro- 
duce goods more cheap- 
ly, eventually drove the 
"Co-op" out of the man- 
ufacturing business. 

Thomas R. Cutler 
continued as manager 
of the company until 
April 29, 1893, when he 
resigned to assume con- 
trol, of the affairs of the 
Utah Sugar Company. 
William E. Racker, who 
had acted as assistant 
manager for some time, 
was selected as his suc- 
cessor. Under Racker's 
direction prosperity con- 
tinued to attend the en- hans hammer. 
terprise, so much so that in 1890 the capital stock was 
increased to $100,000.00, of which $60,000.00 was paid 
up. February 3, 1903, Manager Racker accepted a 
call for a mission to Denmark, and his duties fell upon 
Samuel I. Goodwin, who has since successfully di- 
rected the affairs of the company. From time to time 
the corporation has added to its stock and premises, 
until today the People's Co-operative Institution is as 
modern, efficient, and successful a mercantile plant as 
can be found in the whole State. 




196 HISTORY OF LEHI. [im 

THE LIVERY BUSINESS. 

The livery business in Lehi had a peculiar begin- 
ning. In April, 1877, James Harwood, who at that 
time was a postmaster and carried the mails, desired 
a vacation, and so hired Hans Hammer to act in his 
absence. Having bought Harwood's buggy and bor- 
rowed his horse, Hammer, upon the advice of a phy- 
sician, continued carrying the mail after the postmas- 
ter's return. One day as he was leaving the station, 
a stranger inquired the way to lodgings and Hammer 
obligingly took him there. With this as a beginning, 
he soon learned to provide strangers with transpor- 
tation about town. After he had used Harwood's 
horse a year, Hammer finally bought one himself, 
which immediately proceeded to demolish his only 
buggy in a runaway. The first livery stable was a 
straw shed on Main Street, where Darling's Hotel 
stands. After six years' use, a hail storm demolished 
this structure, and a new stable was built on the north 
side of the street, where the business is still con- 
ducted. A landmark in the Hammer concern was a 
horse, ( )ld Roney by name, which, purchased in 1881. 
was in use until 1912, when he died. Upon the death 
of Hans Hammer, in 1905, his sons assumed control 
of the enterprise. Samuel's death in 1907 left George 
and Joseph in charge. At the present, Hammer 
Brothers' Livery is full}' equipped with all kinds of 
necessary vehicles and with thirty horses. 

DENVER AND RIO GRANDE RAILWAY. 

The summer of 1881 witnessed Lehi placed on the 
second trans-continental railway — the Denver & Rio 



1881] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 197 

Grande. This road chose to come into the southern 
and western parts of the city. Its advent furnished 
considerable employment to Lehi workmen, because 
most of the grading was contracted to Lehi men, 
among them David Evans, Jr., and Samuel R. Thur- 
maii. Until 1889 the road was a narrow gauge, but 
after that year it was enlarged and equipped with 
standard rolling stock. 

T. F. TRANE MERCANTILE COMPANY. 

As the People's Co-operative Institution had been 
successful in the proximity of the Utah Southern sta- 
tion, so, upon the arrival of the Denver and Rio 
Grande Railway, an attempt was made to establish a 
mercantile business near that station. Thomas F. 
Trane and Augustus Powell were the promoters of 
this venture, and they finished their building and 
opened their store in June, 1883. Many changes were 
made in the ownership of this store. Powell soon sold 
his interest to Samuel P. Teasdale of Salt Lake, and 
soon afterwards Trane disposed of part of his hold- 
ings to Prime Evans. The firm of Trane and Evans 
continued but a short time when Teasdale bought the 
latter out, and Trane conducted the store as agent for 
the Salt Lake man. In 1894, through the failure in 
business of Teasdale, the store was discontinued. 

THE FIRST BUTCHER. 

As early as 1855. Joseph Dorton began the slaugh- 
tering of animals for food for the settlers. He had 
been called to come to Lehi by Brigham Young, and 
had moved his family here after selling the corner of 



198 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1855 



Main Street and Third South, Salt Lake City (where 
now stands "Walker's store), for a yoke of oxen. When 
the Lehi Union Exchange was established, he con- 
ducted the meat department of that institution. At 
a later date' he began business on his own account, on 
the north side of Main Street, where, since his death, 
his sons have conducted a shop. 



CATTLE AND SHEEP. 

When the settlers of Lehi first began their terrible 
struggle to build homes on Dry Creek, they found the 

surrounding country 
covered to some ex- 
tent with bunch grass 
and meadow grass, 
far more than in later 
times. This they soon 
learned formed excel- 
lent feed for their cat- 
tle, and they were not 
slow in using it. Often, 
indeed, they cut much 
of it with the scythe 
for hay. One crop was 
easily obtained, and 
in addition sufficient 
grazing to satisfy 
their animals until 
Christmas, if the 
Each family possessed only a 




AN OLD LOOM. 



weather permitted. 

few cattle, and these were generally herded with all 

the others of the settlement, this work being the spe- 



1860] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 199 

cial task of the boys. The lands south and west of 
the city were the best grazing grounds. 

As the population of the town was augmented by 
new arrivals and economic life developed, certain in- 
dividuals began to secure ownership of more than the 
original quota of catttle, and as a branch of farm life 
engaged in raising them for profit. To make this 
possible, the grazing lands on the west were extended 
into the foothills. Finally, when it had been indisput- 
ably demonstrated that the business could be con- 
ducted with profit, a number of men launched into 
cattle raising as their sole occupation. Taking ad- 
vantage of West Canyon, they allowed their animals 
to feed in the mountains, and their herds might often 
be found far away from Lehi. Cattle raising, either 
as a branch of farming or as a vocation, has continued 
to occupy the attention of many of the citizens of 
Lehi until the present. 

Many years after the cattle had found nourishing 
food on the foothills, sheep were introduced and al- 
lowed to graze in their place.* At first they found 
excellent pasturage in the vicinity of Lehi. but later. 
when wool raising had become more extensive, the 
herds were compelled to seek new regions. While 
fewer of Lehi's citizens have been wool growers than 
cattle men, yet those who have engaged in this in- 
dustry have generally found it profitable, and a few 
have reaped fortunes from it. 



*The first sheep in Lehi came from a herd which was being 
taken from the Missouri to California. On account of the unex- 
pected cold, the herders decided to remain in Lehi during the 
winter: but scarcity of feed compelled them to sell many of 
their flock to Lehi farmers. 



200 HISTORY OF LEHI. [iss; 

A later development of the cattle business was 
dairying. A\"hile the production of butter was an es- 
tablished part of farm work, yet in addition there 
have been attempts to maintain dairies. The first was 
built by Israel Evans, near the Jordan River. For a 
number of years it was operated, but finally it closed 
down. A later creamery was erected by a company 
of Lehi stockholders on the county road, a short dis- 
tance east of the city. It was maintained with profit 
until it burned down. Farmers now sell their milk 
either in neighboring cities in Utah County or in 
Salt Lake City. 

THE FIRST HOTELS. 

It was many years after the founding of Lehi that 
the first hotel was erected, or even a building wholly 
devoted to that purpose. At first, David Evans fur- 
nished lodgings to visitors. In 1857, Abram Hatch 
threw open part of his house in which to entertain 
strangers. But it was not until after the arrival of 
the D. & R. G. railroad, in 1881. that a real hotel was 
operated. At that time Mrs. Sarah Smith built an 
adobe building on Main Street and Fourth West, 
where formerly had been a store belonging to John 
Woodhouse, and conducted it as a restaurant, Lehi 
being one of the eating places for passengers on the 
railroad. This building is still used as a hotel. 

PIONEER DOCTORS AND DRUGGISTS. 

In the days of Lehi's founding, when sickness or 
injury befel any of the pioneers, they would imme- 
diately send for Mrs. Lucy Cox, who, by means of 
an immense fund of useful, practical knowledge, to 



1881] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 201 

say nothing of home brewed remedies from herbs, 
could immediately render them valuable assistance. 
For many years she continued to help her neighbors, 
especially the members of her own sex. 

Following her, at a much later date, was "Cap" 
Hart, a former sailor, who had some knowledge of 
homeopathic medicine and who was able to aid suf- 
ferers especially from measles and fever. He made 
no pretense at surgical knowledge or skill. 

Many of the fractured limbs were set in early times 
by John Woodhouse who, along with numerous other 
accomplishments, was also something of a practical 
surgeon. 

The first real doctor to practice in Lehi was 
Thomas S. Wadsworth. Dr. Wadsworth was a na- 
tive of Iowa, and had resided in Ogden and Ameri- 
can Fork before moving to Lehi, in 1881. With his 
medical skill he was able to alleviate much suffering 
that had hitherto been necessary. 

The first drug store was opened in Lehi, in 1881, by 
Robert E. Collett. Some years later David Ellingson 
and Dr. C. L. Seabright also started in the pharmacy 
business. Dr. Seabright afterwards practiced medi- 
cine. Still other druggists were T. J. Wadsworth, 
who began business in 1897, and H. B. Merrihew, who 
followed him one year later. 

THE WARM SPRINGS. 

The warm springs west of Utah Lake had attracted 
the attention of the pioneers of Lehi, but it was a 
number of years after the founding of the city that 
John C. Nagle moved from the Cold Springs south to 



202 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1880 1900 



the warm ones. Later he took up title to the land. 
Seeing what- he considered great potential possibil- 
ities in the springs, John Beck purchased the ranch 
from Nagle, and after unsuccessful attempts to utilize 
it as a chicken and a fruit farm, he opened it as a 
public resort, named it Saratoga, and built a swim- 
ming pool for the hot water, later following this with 
a much larger one. As such it was used until pur- 




SARATOGA. 

chased by the Utah Sugar Company. Many improve- 
ments were made, and every measure taken to make 
it one of the best resorts in the West. The effort was 
not wholly successful ; Saratoga became widely and 
favorably known ; but lack of railroad facilities made 
the place unprofitable. It was therefore operated only 
on a small scale. Various efforts have been made to 



1871] BEGINNINGS OF BUSINESS LIFE. 203 

obtain railroad connections, and when finally they 
culminate in success, Saratoga will come into her 
own ; for her location near the lake, her medicinal wa- 
ters, her beautiful surroundings make her by natural 
endowment the equal of any resort in the inter-moun- 
tain country. 

PIONEER JEWELERS. 

In 1871, Gudmund Gudmundson established the 
first jewelry shop in Lehi. There had been but scant 
need for such a place heretofore. Using the back 
room of Hans Hammer's residence for two years, 
Gudmundson moved into the building now adjoin- 
ing the fire department. His son, Abraham, later 
built a shop on his own lot on the south side of Main 
Street. 

Joseph Broadbent and Ernest Webb have main- 
tained shops at a later date. 



CHAPTER XV. 

Continued Growth. 



TO chronicle now is the period between 1868 and 
1890. These two decades are remarkable only 
for their steady, consistent growth. Again are seen 
the most gratifying results, accruing, not from any 
single event or combination of circumstances whose 
character was unusual or exciting, but rather from 
the every day life of the people. It is work that 
makes growth, and the development of Lehi during 
this period can be ascribed to the energy, frugality, 
and industry of its citizens. For example, if the 
municipal- elections passed off biennially without un- 
toward incident or over-abundant comment, then that 
does not speak of any lack of interest in them, but 
rather bears testimony of the stability of the political 
institutions of the time. 

THE SWETT TRAGEDY. 

During the close of the year 1868, Lehi was witness 
to one of the most diabolical crimes ever committed 
within her boundaries. On account of the White 
Pine mining boom, west of the city, considerable 
freighting was carried on with Lehi as the starting 
point. Among the miners who passed through were 
Harlem P. Swett and a man named Mayfield, together 
with a teamster whom they had hired in Salt Lake, 



1868] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



205 



Chauncy W. Millard. It later developed that Millard 
was a street Arab of New York, who, after a short 
service as a Union soldier, had drifted west in search 
of adventure. Passing south along the west side of 
the lake, the three men camped December 1 1 at the 
Stone House. Here Millard attempted to put into 
execution a fiendish scheme, which he had no doubt 
planned since joining his 
companions. Securing 
possession of Mayfield's 
revolver, the depraved 
youth — he was only 
18 — cowardly shot 
Swett in the back as he 
sat unsuspectingly be- 
fore the fire, killing him 
instantly. Turning his 
attention next to May- 
field, who was in the 
wagon just then search- 
ing for his revolver, Mil- 
lard fired point blank at 
him, but in some way 
barely missed his aim. 
Mayfield jumped from 
the wagon and fled for 

the lake, followed by Millard who emptied his revolver 
as he ran. One shot took effect in Mayfield's hand. 
Crossing the lake on the ice, the wounded man 
gained the present site of Murdock's resort, and 
from there managed to reach Lehi. 

At that time John Woodhouse was Justice of the 




CARL T. E. FJELD, 
A Hand Cart Veteran. 



206 HISTORY OF LEHI. [ims 

Peace and he immediately sent for the body of Swett 
and dispatched the Constable, Joseph A. Thomas, and 
a posse after the murderer. A coroner's jury was 
then impanelled, consisting of Paulinas H. Allred, 
William Dawson, and Thomas F. Trane. They were 
unable to determine how Swett met his death, think- 
ing- perhaps he and Mayfield had quarrelled. In the 
meantime, the posse had discovered the riding horse 
which Millard had taken, but were unable to find any 
other trace of the man himself. Orrin Porter Rock- 
well, who was living in Lehi at this time, then took 
ii]) the search. Rockwell was one of the most famous 
frontiersmen of his time and soon located Millard at 
a sheep ranch in Rush Valley. Upon being brought 
back to Lehi, the murderer freely confessed his crime 
and did not seem to feel at all sorry about it. Later 
he was taken to Provo and executed, while his victim, 
Swett. was buried in the Lehi cemetery. This crime, 
one of the worst ever committed in Lehi, aroused no 
little excitement.* 

THE GRASSHOPPERS RETURN. 

The early autumn of this year had witnessed the 
return of the pest that had formerly almost proved 
Lehi's undoing — the grasshoppers. Arriving in great 
hordes in August, they were unable to do much dam- 
age because the crops had practically matured. Every 
effort was made to combat them, but their eggs the 
next spring hatched before the crops were well under 



*The execution proved what a human fiend Millard was. 
Selling his body to Doctor Roberts of Provo for a pound of 
candy, he calmly ate the sweets while sitting in the executioner's 
chair awaiting the fatal shot. 



1869] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



207 



way and did considerable damage, although nothing 
on the scale of the former visitation. 

NINTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

February 8, 1869, was the date of the ninth city 
election, and the Tithing 
Office the place where it 
was held. William H. 
Winn was chosen as 
Mayor; Israel Evans 
and John Zimmerman 
as Aldermen; and Wil- 
liam Clark, William 
Yates, and Oley Elling- 
son as Councilors. Ap- 
pointments were Joseph 
J. H. Colledge, Re- 
corder ; Charles Barnes, 
Treasurer; Alonzo D. 
Rhodes, Marshal ; and 
Joseph J. H. Colledge, 
Assessor and Collector. 
Because of the loss of 
the records of this coun- 
cil, it is impossible to give 




WILLIAM II. WINN, 

Seventh Mayor of Lelii, 
1869-1875; 1877-1878. 

the other appointments. 



THE MEETING HOUSE FIRE. 

On February 6, 1870, while Charles D. Evans was 
making an address at a regular Sunday morning ser- 
vice in the Meeting House, Isaac Fox and a number 
of other boys who were playing in John Zimmer- 
man's lot, discovered that smoke was issuing from 
the roof of the church. They immediately warned 



208 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1870 

several larger boys who were congregated just out- 
side the building, and those in turn communicated the 
alarm to those inside, Charles Karren stepping to the 
door and shouting for the people to come out. This 
they immediately proceeded to do. The fire, which 
by this time had spread along the whole length of the 
building, had started from a stove in the attic which 
had been left with a hot fire after the adjournment of 
a prayer meeting that morning. 

As quickly as possible, ladders were brought and a 
bucket brigade formed, the water being supplied from 
the wells of John C. Nagle, on the east, and Israel 
Evans, on the north. To assist further, John Stewart 
scaled the walls and took a position on the roof where 
lie was able to do good work with the help of the 
bucket brigade. Soon the flames were under control, 
but not without a great deal of damage having been 
done. Especially was this true of the interior, where, 
because of excitement and thoughtlessness, the floor 
was ripped up, the chandeliers cut down, the lamps 
thrown out of the windows, the cornice pulled off and 
an attempt made to cut down the pillars which sup- 
ported the upper floor and roof. Altogether the de- 
struction wrought by the excited people was as great 
as the damage from the fire. A long time and con- 
siderable money was necessary fully to repair the loss. 

TENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The tenth civic election resulted in the re-choosing 
of the present incumbents — William H. Winn, 
Mayor; Israel Evans and John Zimmerman, Alder- 
men; William Clark, William Yates, and Oley Elling- 
son. Councilors. They resumed their duties on 



1871] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



209 



March 4, 1871, and selected Joseph J. H. Colledge as 
Recorder and Alohzo D. Rhodes as Marshal. Four 
days later the following appointments were made : 
Attorney and Sexton, George William Thurman ; 
Supervisor, Israel Evans ; Water Master, William L. 
Hutchings; Pound Keeper, William Clark; Treasurer, 
Charles Barnes; Inspec- 
tor of Wood and Lum- 
ber, Thomas Ashton ; 
Sealer of Weights and 
Measures, Joseph J. 
Smith ; Assessor and 
Collector, Joseph J. H. 
Colledge ; Policemen, 
Samuel Taylor, Captain, 
Jacob Hodge, Robert 
Gilchrist, Thomas Fow- 
ler, William Mathews, 
Andrew R. Anderson, 
Martin B. Bushman, 
Charles Phillips, and 
Thomas R. Jones ; Ex- 
aminers, David Evans, 
Israel Evans, and John 
Woodhouse ; Fence Viewers, Daniel S. Thomas, Wil- 
liam Ball, Samuel Briggs, Shadrack Empey, Paulinas 
H. Allred, and Martin B. Bushman; Pasture Commit- 
tee, John Woodhouse, Alonzo D. Rhodes, and John 
Bushman. 

Changes in this set of officers were many. August 
28, John Zimmerman resigned as x\lderman in favor 
of John W r oodhouse, whom he considered better qual- 




THOMAS FOWLER. 



210 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ified than himself to act as Justice of the Peace, a 
position held by Aldermen in addition to being mem- 
bers of the council. John E. Ross and James W. 
Taylor were later chosen Sexton and Attorney, re- 
spectively, to fill the positions vacated by George W. 
Thurman, deceased. William Gurney and Jacob Cox 

succeeded John Wood- 
house and Alonzo D. 
Rhodes on the Pasture 
Committee. On account 
of having moved some 
distance out of town, 
Alonzo D. Rhodes re- 
signed as Marshal, May 
6, and was succeeded by 
Andrew R. Anderson. 
At this time Andrew A. 
Peterson received the 
appointment as jailer, 
the first person to serve 
in this capacity. On the 
13th of the same month, 
Martin B. Bushman was 

WILLIAM GURNEY. p , aced ;„ charge of the 

Estray Pound, William Clark having resigned. In 
October, Charles Barnes and Andrew R. Anderson 
resigned as Treasurer and Marshal respectively, and 
their places were filled by Oley Ellingson and Byron 
W. Brown. Frank Molen was installed as a Police- 
man the following January. 

THE CEMETERY SURVEYED. 

In May, 1872, Alderman Israel Evans and Sexton 




1872] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



211 



George W. Thurman supervised the surveying of the 
present cemetery. It was platted with streets and 
blocks by William F. Greenwood of American Fork. 
The old burial ground had been north of the State 
Road and just west of Dry Creek. 

THE FIRST CITY HALL BUILT. 

In the summer of 1871. the City Council began the 
erection of the first city hall. A jail was to be placed 
underneath. The build- 
ing was located just 
back of the present City 
Hall and cost $750.00. 
Israel Evans and John 
Woodhouse constituted 
the building committee 
from the council and 
supervised the work. In 
the construction of the 
hall, Abraham Enough 
and James Wiley Nor- 
ton were the masons 
and Thomas Ashton. 
Wesley Molen, John 
McComie, and John 
Stewart, the carpenters. 
The council held its first 
meeting in the newly constructed hall, April 22. 1S72. 

THE CITY GROWS. 




TOITX AUSTIN. 



Since the surveying of the first blocks outside the 
city walls, the people had been gradually making 



212 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1871 



their homes there. New arrivals continued to build 
up this part of the town and Lehi increased rapidly 
in population. Among the first to venture so far 
north were John E. Ross and his wife, who built a 
dugout on the lot where they have resided ever since. 

At that time they were 
farther away from the 
walls than any one else 
and were entirely sur- 
rounded with sage 
brush. Joseph Ashton 
soon joined them and 
built a dugout on the 
corner of Third North 
and First East. 

A beginning had also 
been made in settling 
the country west of Dry 
Creek, later known as 
the "New Survey." The 
first man to move west 
was James Gough, who, 
in 1868, took up some 
land immediately west 
of the creek. James T. Powell was the next to fol- 
low, John Meakin and John Johnson migrating there 
a few years later. The country rapidly filled up with 
home builders and soon became an important part 
of the city. 

END OF JORDAN BRIDGE COMPANY. 

The Jordan Bridge Company closed its career in 




JOHN JOHNSON. 
ANNA JOHNSON. 



1871] CONTINUED GROWTH. 213 

1871. From the beginning it had been financially 
profitable, so that when the Territorial Commissioner 
demanded that it be turned over to him as public 
property, the company was extremely dissatisfied. 
Nevertheless, the charter was repealed in 1866 by the 
following act of the Legislature : 

An act repealing an act granting unto Charles Hopkins and 
others the right to build a bridge across the River Jordan. 

Be it enacted by the Governor and Legislative Assembly of 
the Territory of Utah: That an act granting to Charles Hop- 
kins and others the right to build a bridge across the River Jor- 
dan, approved Januaray 23. 1853, is hereby repealed. 

Approved January 12, 1866. 

The company continued to charge toll at the 
bridge, however, until the new bridge, built in 1871 
by Utah County, was opened for general use, when 
the old one was torn down and its timbers distributed 
among the stockholders. 

A SAD CHRISTMAS. 

The school teacher during the winter of 1871-1872 
was George William Thurman. Because of his 
ability as a teacher, his amiable nature as a man. and 
his unselfish public service as a citizen, he was uni- 
versally esteemed and honored. At Christmas time 
Thurman had planned and was preparing a celebra- 
tion for the children. Locking himself and some 
others in the Meeting House to make ready the 
Christmas tree in time for the beginning of the affair 
on Christmas Eve, he was busily engaged in his work 
of love for the little ones when the door was rudely 
broken open and Jed Woodward, who had formerly 



J14 



1 1 STORY OF LEHI. 



received some chastisement from the school-master, 
pushed his way in. Thurman immediately ejected 
him, but had no more than done so than Jed drew a 
revolver and shot the teacher. The death, a few 
hours later, of this popular young" man threw the 
whole city into gloom and gave a sad tinge to the 

holiday season.* On 
account of some miti- 
gating circumstances. 
Woodward was sen- 
tenced only to serve ten 
years in prison. Taking 
advantage of a jail- 
breaking plot to help the 
officers, he was soon 
pardoned. He then 
moved to the southern 
part of the state, where, 
as the result of the con- 
tinuation of his bullying 
ways, he ran foul of an 
officer and was instantly 
killed while creating a 
disturbance in a dance. 




CKDKCK WILLIAM TIIUKMAN. 



ELEVENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

1 he eleventh election saw the incumbent officers, 
who now had served four years, re-elected for the 
third consecutive time — William H. Winn, Mayor; 

*Thurman's place as teacher was taken by his brother David 
J., who for the following decade served the city faithfully and 
efficiently. 



1871] -CONTINUED GROWTH. 215 

Israel Evans and John Woodhouse, Aldermen; Wil- 
liam Clark, William Yates, and Oley Ellingson, Coun- 
cilors. At the same election, February 10, 1873, John 
Roberts, Thomas Hawkins, and John Bushman were 
chosen School Trustees.* 

For the first time in the history of the town, this 
election does not appear to have been unanimous ; 
for upon petition of James W. Taylor and others, the 
Municipal Court, consisting of the mayor, aldermen 
and recorder, met to determine whether the new offi- 
cials had been chosen according- to law. After hear- 
ing evidence on both sides, the court decided that the 
election had been held legally. This was the only 
time in the history of Lehi that the Municipal Court 
ever convened. 

On March 4, the council appointed Joseph J. H. 
Colledge, Recorder; Oley Ellingson, Treasurer ; Peter 
Christofferson, Marshal; James Wiley Norton, Attor- 
ney; Jesse Smith, Supervisor; Joseph J. H. Colledge, 
Assessor and Collector; Joseph J. Smith, Sealer of 
Weights and Measures ; John E. Ross. Sexton ; 
Thomas Ashton, Inspector of W T ood and Lumber; 
and Edward W. Edwards, Jailer. From the fact that 
policemen were now paid a small sum, the force was 



*The following is a list of school trustees who have served 
in Lehi as nearly as can be determined : Preston Thomas, Daniel 
Collett, William Burgess, Daniel S. Thomas, Canute Peterson, 
Thomas Karren, Abel Evans, John Roberts, Thomas Hawkins, 
John Bushman, James W. Taylor, John Woodhouse. Samuel 
Briggs, Jacob Bushman, George Webb, Andrew A. Peterson, 
James P. Carter, Charles Johnson, John E. Ross, Nedson Whip- 
ple, John L. Gibb, James B. Gaddie, E. A. Bushman, James H. 
Gardner, Andrew Fjeld, Samuel I. Goodwin, Henry Lewis, John 
Roberts, Jr., Morgan Evans, W. S. Evans, Edward Southwick, 
George A, Goates ; W. W. Dickerson, and Leonard Peterson. 



216 



HISTORY OF LEHT. 



r 187 1 



reduced to Thomas Fowler, Captain, William 
Mathews, Thomas R. Jones, and Martin B. Bushman. 
Peter Christofferson declined the appointment of 
Marshal, so Byron W. Brown was selected in his 
stead; but he did not serve longer than the last of 
April, so that Thomas Fowler was the ultimate re- 
cipient of the office. Martin B. Bushman was then 




ROSS SCHOOL HOUSE. 



made Captain of Police. Changes during 1874 were 
the appointment of Samuel R. Thurman as Auditor, 
James W. Norton as Jailer to succeed Edward W. 
Edwards, and Andrew A. Peterson as Water Master, 
Later both Mayor Winn and Alderman Woodhouse 
resigned to go on missions, and their places were filled 



1872J 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



217 



by Isaac Goodwin and Samuel R. Thurman, respec- 
tively. 

NEW SCHOOLS. 

As the city grew in size and population, the demand 
for additional schools other than the Thurman Build- 
ing became increasingly great. Accordingly the 
School Board began, in the autumn of 1872, the erec- 
tion of the Ross School House to accommodate the 




FRANKLIN SCHOOL HOUSE. 



children in the north-east part of town. The lot had 
been purchased the previous summer. In 1873 the 
structure was completed and utilized. 

A short time after the erection of the Ross Build- 
ing, the City Council received a number of petitions 
from the people in the New Survey, or as they were 



218 HISTORY OF LEHI. [i87s 

called in common parlance at the time, the people 
"over the creek." asking that they too have a new- 
school building for the convenience of their children. 
To accommodate them, the mayor purchased a lot 
from James P. Carter for a school site, and some years 
later (1875) the School Board erected a suitable build- 
ing and called it the Franklin School House. This 
has been in almost constant use up to the present 
time. 

TWELFTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

At the twelfth city election, held February 8. 1875, 
Isaac Goodwin was elected Mayor; Samuel R. Thur- 
man and John Cherington, Aldermen; and William 
Goates, John E. Ross, and James T. Powell, Coun- 
cilors. The appointments for the municipal offices 
were made at several meetings: Recorder, Joseph J. 
H. Colledge; Treasurer, Oley Ellingson; Marshal, 
Thomas Fowler; Attorney, James Wiley Norton; 
Supervisor. William Southwick ; Assessor and Collec- 
tor, Joseph J. H. Colledge; Sexton. John E. Ross; 
Pound Keeper. Martin B. Bushman; Water Master. 
William Bone. Jr.; Inspector of Wood and Lumber, 
Thomas Ashton; Sealer of Weights and Measures, 
Joseph J. Smith; Auditor, Thomas R. Cutler; Captain 
of Police, William Mathews: Jailer. James W. Nor- 
ton ; Board of Examiners. Samuel R. Thurman, John 
E. Ross, and John Cherington; Policemen, Martin B. 
Bushman and Jacob Cox. After serving a year, John 
Cherington resigned as Alderman and John E. Ross 
assumed the duties of his office, Martin B. Bushman 
in turn filling his place in the council. Other changes 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



219 



were the accession of Jacob Bushman to the office of 
Attorney and Thomas Fowler to the Jailer's position, 
the previous occupants of these offices having re- 
signed. 

THIRTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The thirteenth set of city officers was chosen Feb- 
ruary 12, 1877, and was composed of William H. 

Winn. Mayor ;SamuelfR. 
Thurman and Thomas 
R. Cutler, Aldermen ; 
and Oley Ellingson, 
Charles Barnes and 
Thomas Ashton, Coun- 
cilors. 

Their appointments: 
Recorder, Joseph J. 
H. Colledge; Marshal, 
Thomas Fowler; Treas- 
urer. Oley Ellingson : 
Assessor and Col 1 ector. 
Joseph J. H. Colledge ; 
Inspector of Wood and 
Lumber, Thomas Ash- 
ton; Supervisor, Wil- 
liam Southwick; Sex- 
ton, John E. Ross ; 
Sealer of Weights and Measures. Thomas Hawkins; 
Jailer, Thomas Fowler; Attorney, George Webb; 
Water Master, William Bone, Jr. ; Policeman, James 
T. Powell. 

On October 19, Samuel R. Thurman became Mayor 




SAMUEL R. THURMAN, 
Eighth Mayor of Lehi, 
1878-1879; 1881-1882. 



220 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1877 



of Lehi through the resignation of William H. Winn, 
who had been called on another mission. For the 
same reason, Oley Ellingson resigned as Councilor and 




CITY HALL. 



Treasurer and was succeeded by William Clark and 
Thomas R. Cutler, respectively. Later Mayor Thur- 
man also filled the office of Auditor on account of the 



1877] CONTINUED GROWTH. 221 

resignation of Thomas R. Cutler. To fill the vacancy 
in the City Council caused by the promotion of Alder- 
man Thurman, George Webb was designated and 
David Evans, Jr., succeeded him as Attorney. 

THE PRESENT CITY HALL BUILT. 

The present City Council very early became con- 
vinced that the little adobe city hall in which they met 
was not sufficiently pretentious to suit the growth of 
the city. Accordingly, they made plans for a better 
building, giving Thomas Ashton authority to prepare 
an estimate of cost. Upon his report of $1,928.00 for 
a structure twenty-live feet square with a basement, 
they resolved to proceed, and appointed Mayor Winn 
and Councilors Ashton and Ellingson as a building- 
committee. In the summer of 1877, the foundation 
was laid, and by the time a year had elapsed, the hall 
had been completed. Carlson and Andreason were 
the masons employed in the construction, Thomas 
Ashton was the chief carpenter and Joseph Trinna- 
man did the plastering. The City Hall is still in use 
by the city fathers and in a fairly good state of preser- 
vation.* 

IRRIGATION LITIGATION. 

Because of numerous disputes between the people 
of Lehi and the farmers of American Fork Bench over 
the right to use water from the Lehi ditch, in its course 
from the mouth of American Fork Canvon to Lehi, the 



*A widespread demand now exists for the erection of a new- 
city hall, one in keeping with Lehi's present size and importance. 
The near future will undoubtedly bring such a building. 



222 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1877 



city corporation planted a suit in court, in the summer 
of 1877, to restrain the people on the bench from using 

the Lehi ditch. Oley El- 
lingson was at the head 
of a list of two hundred 
Lehi water users who 
represented the city 
in the suit. After a 
long trial, the district 
court, through Judge 
Emerson, decided in 
favor of Lehi, giving 
the city exclusive use 
of the Lehi ditch dur- 
ing July, August, and 
September. Although 
several appeals have 
been made, this decision 
is still practically the 
basis of water distribu- 
tion. 




ANDREW R. ANDERSON, 
Ninth Mayor of T.ehi, 



FOURTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The fourteenth civic election observed February 10, 
1879, resulted in the selection of Andrew R. Ander- 
son as Mayor; Samuel R. Thurman and George Webb 
as Aldermen ; and Thomas R. Cutler, Samuel Taylor, 
and James T. Powell as Councilors. In the appoint- 
ments made by the fourteenth City Council, many of 
the old offices were discontinued. The men selected 
were: John E. Ross, Recorder; Thomas Fowler, 
Marshal ; William E. Racker, Treasurer; Joseph J. H. 



1879] CONTINUED GROWTH. 223 

Colledge, Assessor and Collector; David Evans, Jr., 
Attorney; John E. Ross, Auditor and Sexton; Thomas 
Fowler, Jailer; and Isaac Chilton, Policeman. 

On account of having been selected as Bishop of the 
Lehi Ward to succeed David Evans, Thomas R. Cut- 
ler resigned as Councilor, after a year's service, and 
the vacancy thus created was filled by the selection of 
William Clark.* Very shortly he left the city on a 
mission, so Andrew A. Peterson became a member of 
the City Council in his place. Other changes were 
brought about by the resignation of Alderman Samuel 
R. Thurman ; he was followed by Councilor Samuel 
Taylor, whose place was then occupied by Abel John 
Evans. 

A CENSUS TAKEN. 

It was learned now by the city officials that several 
tiers of blocks on the east side were on unpatented 
school land and that it would be necessary to deter- 
mine the population of Lehi before application could 
be made for title to the land. In April, 1879, there- 
fore, a census was taken, probably the first official 
census since the founding of the town over twenty- 
eight years past. The population of the city was 
found to be 2.026. This number was sufficient to en- 
title the municipal corporation to an enlargement of 
its townsite, so Mayor Anderson at once filed on the 
desired land. 

The growth in population from the mere score of 
people around Sulphur Springs," in 1850, to the 2,026 in 
Lehi, thirty years later, is nothing short of phenom- 



'Chapter XVI. 



224 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1881 



enal. Lured by no mining boom, the development of 
the city had been gradual and constant. The unusu- 
ally rapid increase in numbers evidenced in these 
statistics surely speaks well for the type of people who 
came to Lehi to make their home. 

FIFTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

Samuel R. Thurman was selected as Mayor; George 
Webb and John Woodhouse as Aldermen; and Sam- 
uel Taylor, Abel John Evans, and William Clark as 




LEHI'S FIRST BASEBALL TEAM. 

Standing — Michael Vaughn, Hyrum Andreason, Thomas Taylor, Morgan 

Evans, William Ball, Jr., Daniel Thomas. 

Sitting— Israel Evans, Jr., James M. Anderson, Isaac Taylor. 

Councilors, at the fifteenth city election held Feb- 
ruary 14, 1881. For the first time, the recorder, mar- 
shal, treasurer, and assessor and collector were chosen 
by popular vote. Selected for these offices respec- 



1881] CONTINUED GROWTH. 225 

tively were : John E. Ross, Thomas Fowler, William 
E. Racker, and Joseph J. H. Colledge. 

In this term, Lehi was destined to lose the help of 
two of her veteran public officers. After a faithful 
and efficient service of twenty years as recorder and 
assessor and collector, Joseph J. H. Colledge died, 
leaving the office vacant. An examination of his ac- 
counts by a committee from the City Council revealed 
the fact that they were in excellent condition after 
such a long incumbency. Thomas Fowler was des- 
ignated to fill the vacancy. Isaac Chilton, who was 
also a veteran in the service of the city, now felt im- 
pelled by old age to resign as policeman, a position 
which he had filled for many years. With a vote of 
thanks for his efficient labor, the council accepted his 
resignation, appointing Hyrum Smith as his suc- 
cessor. 

A very curious condition arose in the municipal 
government through the resignation, on November 
22, 1882, of Mayor Thurman. The City Council did 
not appoint a successor, so for over two months Lehi 
was without a mayor. Alderman George Webb 
presided at meetings of the City Council during this 
time. No harmful results accrued from this novel 
experience. 

NEW EDUCATIONAL METHODS. 

About this time there came to Lehi a young man 
whose later work had a tremendous influence on the 
city's educational system. This was Simon P. Eg- 
gertson. Until this time, the teachers in the Lehi 
schools had almost universally used the old methods 



226 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1881 



in teaching, methods which had for their sanction 
scores of years of practice in the schools of the conn- 
try. It was Eggertson who substituted for them the 
beginnings of modern education ; it was he who more 
than any one else laid the foundation of the school 
system which later has brought Lehi educational facil- 
ities up to the standard of the best schools of the State. 

A CAMPAIGN FOR SHADE TREES. 



The most important 
teenth Citv Council \va 




SIMON P. EGGERTSON. 

priation of $100.00 to 
fitting up the basement 



work performed by the four- 
s to begin the custom of plant- 
ing shade trees on the 
sidewalks. After a thor- 
ough campaign on the 
subject, the council, in 
the spring of 1881, pur- 
chased 1,200 locust trees 
and distributed them at 
cost to the citizens. A 
year later they set out 
Lombardy poplars the 
whole length of Main 
Street. The resulting 
beneficial appearance of 
the city was inestima- 
ble. 

Another noteworthy 
action of this coterie of 
officers was the appro- 
assist the Ward Bishopric in 
of the City Hall as a reading 



1883] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



227 



room. Details of this worthy project have already 
been noted.* 

BROADBENT AND SON. 

In 1882 Joseph Broad- 
bent and his son, Joseph 
S. Broadbent, opened a 
small store on First East 
Street, one block north 
of Main. The business 
prospered from the first, 
and additions were made 
from time to time. The 
most important of these 
was a musical depart- 
ment, from which the 
store took its name — the 
Lehi Musical Emporium 
— for some years. The 
firm is still conducting 
its business under the 
same management. 




JOSEPH BROADBENT, 
Merchant and Hand Cart Veteran. 



SIXTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

February 12, 1883, was the date of the sixteenth 
municipal election. Oley Ellingson was chosen 
Mayor and the other officers were : Aldermen, George 
Webb and Abel John Evans ; Councilors, Andrew A. 
Peterson, Byron W. Brown, and John J. Child; Re- 
corder, John E. Ross; Marshal, Thomas Fowler; and 
Treasurer, William E. Racker. The council ap- 
pointed Byron W. Brown, Attorney; Loren Olm- 



^Chapter VIII. 



228 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1884 



stead, Pound Keeper, and Hyrum Smith and George 
Beck, Policemen. 

Having heard of the successful boring of artesian 
wells in Salt Lake County, the City Council appointed 

a committee to investi- 
gate the feasibility of 
similar action in Lehi. 
In its report on January 
23, 1884, the committee 
recommended that the 
city purchase a well-bor- 
ing machine for the use 
of its citizens. At a cost 
of $377.00 this was 
done. The machine was 
driven by horse power 
and was supposed to 
drill a well ten or twelve 
inches in diameter, 
which would be encased 
with wooden staves or 
galvanized pipe. When 
actually tested, the well- 
borer proved a complete failure. 

As a result of the continued litigation with the 
farmers of American Fork bench over water rights, 
the city in 1884 bought the Pool farm, a tract of land 
in the very center of the disputed territory. It was 
placed in charge of James 'South wick. 




OLEY ELLINGSON, 
Tenth Mayor of Lehi, 
1883-1887; 1893-1895. 



LEHI ADOPTS STANDARD TIME. 

To be in accord with the rest of the country, the 



1885] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



229 



City Council, early in May, proclaimed the adoption 
of standard time, as recently determined by govern- 
ment observatories. It was necessary to set the 
clocks forward twenty-eight minutes to agree exactly 
with Mountain time. The change was effected 
May 12. 

SEVENTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 



the people exercised their 
officers for the seventeenth 



On February 9, 1885, 
franchise in electing city 
time. Their choice for 
Mayor was Oley Elling- 
son; for Aldermen, 
George Webb and John 
E. Ross ; for Councilors, 
Andrew A. Peterson, 
Samuel Taylor, and Wil- 
liam Clark; for Re- 
corder, Edwin Evans ; 
for Marshal, Thomas 
Fowler; for Treasurer, 
William E. Racker; and 
for Assessor and Collec- 
tor, Thomas Fowler. 
The appointive offices 
were filled as follows : 
Loren Olmstead, Pound 
Keeper ; Samuel R. 

Thurman, Attorney ; George Glover, Joseph Roberts, 
and Hyrum Smith, Policemen; and William Wanlass, 
Auditor. 

Lehi was visited during 1885 by a severe epidemic 




WILLIAM CLARK. 



230 HISTORY OF LEHI. [isse 

of diphtheria. Science had not yet discovered a 
method of combating this dread disease successfully, 
hence, many deaths occurred, especially among the 
children. It was a rare instance where some of the 
little ones did not succumb when the scourge once 
began its inroads on the family. 

By this time the three school houses in Lehi — the 
Thurman, Franklin, and Ross — were so crowded that 
additional room was imperative. To meet this need, 
the school trustees, George Webb. Andrew A. Peter- 
son, and James P. Carter, secured the use of the City- 
Hall in October, 1886. From this time until the Cen- 
tral School was erected, in 1892, school was held 
every year in the City Hall. 

THE "UNDERGROUND." 

All over Utah there began now a zealous prosecu- 
tion of the recent enactments of Congress against 
polygamy. In common with other towns in the Ter- 
ritory, Lehi received frequent visits from Federal 
officials in search of "cohabs." Many instances, both 
tragic and humorous, transpired during the course of 
these prosecutions, which are intensely interesting 
and sometimes ludicrous to the later observer. F'or 
instance, it is related that a Federal officer came to a 
certain home in Lehi in search of the father, but the 
only person he could find around the place was a boy 
about ten years old. Thinking to. obtain some infor- 
mation that might be valuable, the officer asked the 
boy if he knew where any polygamists were. After a 
long pause, accompanied by much scratching of the 
head and digging of the bare toes into the earth, on 



1887] CONTINUED GROWTH. 231 

the part of the child, his eyes suddenly brightened, he 
vigorously nodded his head and answered that he 
could take the officer to the hiding place of a polyg- 
amist. Thinking that at last he was about to make 
an arrest and secure the accompanying reward, the 
visitor quickly dismounted and eagerly followed the 
boy around the house. Gravely leading him to the 
barn and with the utmost caution opening the gate to 
the yard, the boy proudly pointed to the object of 
their search; and there with head erect and in the 
midst of his cowering wives, stood the polygamist — 
a rooster. 

EIGHTEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The election held February 9, 1887, was the eigh- 
teenth in the history of the city. George Webb was 
elected Mayor; Samuel Taylor and Abel John Evans, 
Aldermen; Andrew A. Peterson, Jesse Smith, and 
John Woodhouse, Councilors; John E. Ross, Re- 
corder; Thomas Fowler, Marshal; William E. Racker, 
Treasurer; and Thomas Fowler, Assessor and Col- 
lector. The council appointed Michael Vaughn, 
Pound Keeper; Loren Olmstead, Supervisor; Hyrum 
Smith and Joseph Roberts, Policemen ; and John 
Woodhouse, Attorney. 

Two of this number resigned : William E. Racker 
as Treasurer, his successor being John Roberts, Ji., 
and Thomas Fowler, who accepted the position of 
county sheriff and moved to Provo. Joseph Roberts 
became Marshal in his place. 

This City Council did many things while in office, 
among them being the sale of the Pool farm to 



232 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Thomas R. Cutler for $2,000.00, the planting of trees 
around the cemetery, the selling of the useless well 
driver at public auction, the purchase of the Kelly 
place for use as a public park,* and the opening up of 
various streets for use, notably, the street leading to 

the sugar factory, the 
street leading at present 
to the Sego Lily School 
House and, by repairing, 
the street leading from 
the State Road to the 
cemetery. 

A CURFEW LAW PASSED. 

In compliance with a 
petition signed by a 
large number of citizens, 
the City Council, on 
July 18, passed a curfew 
law which provided that 
children under sixteen 
were prohibited from 
being on the streets 
after nine o'clock with- 
out a guardian. The mayor was authorized to pur- 
chase a bell for use as a signal in the execution of this 
law. Ever since its installation in the belfry of the 
City Hall, this bell has sent its silver notes out over 
the city, warning many a wayward youth that his 
steps should be turned homeward. It has also been 
used as a fire alarm. 




GEORGE WEBB, 

Eleventh Mayor of Lehi 

1887-1889. 



*The present home of Bishop Henry Lewis. It was never 
used. 



1888] CONTINUED GROWTH. 233 

TELEPHONE. 

In 1888 the telephone reached Lehi. The first instru- 
ment was installed in the People's Co-op. For a num- 
ber of years it was main- 
tained as a toll station. 
Clarence A. Granger 
was the first individual 
subscriber. When more 
people had begun to use 
telephones, a switch- 
board was built by the 
Rocky Mountain Bell 
Telephone Company in 
the Union Hotel. Birdie 
Stoddard was the first 
operator and continued 
as the operating direc- 
tor for many years. In 
1906 the company erect- 
ed a building on Main 

Street and installed a modern switchboard and equip- 
ment.* It is now the Mountain States Telephone 
and Telegraph Company. 

NINETEENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The nineteenth election of city officers, observed 
February 11, 1889, placed in office Samuel Taylor as 
Mayor; George Webb and Edwin Evans as Aldermen; 
William H. Winn, Jr., Andrew A. Peterson, and Jesse 
Smith as Councilors; John E. Ross as Recorder; 
Joseph Roberts as Marshal; John Roberts, Jr., as 

*There are over 200 telephones in the city today. 




234 



HISTORY OF LEIII. 



Treasurer; and Johji Woodhouse as Assessor and Col- 
lector. The council appointed Loren Olmstead as 
Supervisor, and Michael Vaughn as Pound Keeper. 
'I"he only change in this set of officers was the resig- 
nation of Edwin Evans who after a year of service 
went to Paris to study art.* 

SECTIONAL RIVALRY IN LEHI. 

The City Council soon entangled itself in a bitter 
controversy by the purchase of a lot in the north part 

of town upon which to 
erect a jail — the corner 
of First East and Fifth 
North. The long pent- 
up bitterness and rivalry 
between the upper and 
lower parts of town 
soon came to a head 
over this matter. James 
1 larwood headed a peti- 
tion of one hundred 
names to the City Coun- 
cil protesting against the 
building of a jail at a 
point so far north. Im- 
mediately, William E. 
Racker, together with 
ninety-two signers, sent 
in a petition congrat- 
ulating the council upon its choice. A bitter discus- 
sion ensued which did not cease during the incum- 

*Edwin Evans is now Professor of Art in the University of 
Utah. 




SAMUEL TAYLOR, 

'welfth Mayor of Leli 
1889-1891. 



1889] 



CONTINUED GROWTH. 



235 



bency of the nineteenth administration. Although 
the council valiantly remained with its original in- 
tention, and even went so far as to purchase a steel 
cage, it was never installed on the original lot ; for 
the succeeding council built a jail on the old estray 
pound lot — where now stands the new Grammar 
School Building — and the cage was used in a tem- 
porary jail in the City 
Hall. This sectional 
fight raged for a long 
time with periods of in- 
tense bitterness recur- 
ring only too often. In- 
deed, it has been the 
most detrimental factor 
in the growth of the 
city. "Up town" and 
"Down town," in their 
internal bickerings, have 
prevented development 
that otherwise would 
not only have been pos- 
sible but certain. Of late 
years, the rivalry has to 
some extent diminished, 
a gratifying and hopeful sign. Its complete banish- 
ment were a boon to the city. 




AMES T. POWELL. 



THE STREETS NAMED. 



A noteworthy achievement of the nineteenth coun- 
cil was the naming and lighting of the streets. Main 
Street, so called so long "that the memory of man 



236 HISTORY OF LEHI. U890 

runneth not back to the contrary," was made the 
starting point for the streets running east and west ; 
for example, the first street north of Main was called 
First North, the next, Second North, and the first 
street south of Main, First South. For the streets 
running north and south, Center Street — that street 
now running between the Tabernacle and the Primary 
School Building — was made the starting point; thus 
the first street paralleling Center on the west is First 
West, and the first one on the east is First Fast. 

As an initial attempt to light the streets of Lehi, 
the council, in September, 1890, placed twenty-six 
gasoline street lamps at various corners. 

It was this City Council also which first made an 
effort to obtain the proposed sugar factory at Lehi.* 



*See Chapter XVII. 



CHAPTER XVI. 

The Church in Lehi, 



THERE is only one example in the annals of Amer- 
ica of the organization of a commonwealth upon 
principles of pure theocracy. There is here one exam- 
ple only where the founding of a state grew out of the 
founding of a new religion." So says Hubert Howe 
Bancroft, the great American historian, and in these 
illuminating sentences he proceeds to the very heart 
of historical matters in the founding of Utah. It is 
here that the history of the State differs from all oth- 
ers, that it furnishes problems dissimilar to those met 
elsewhere. 

It is impossible to estimate the extent to which the 
church influenced the lives of the pioneers of this 
Commonwealth. Migrating here through a religious 
motive, their belief continued to be the dominating 
factor in all their affairs. The church preceded all 
other organizations, whether political or social ; it was 
the center of all activities; around it everything else 
was built. True it is that later political institutions 
were notable for their substantiality, vigor and 
strength, yet it was to their ecclesiastical leaders 
that the people looked ultimately for advice and lead- 
ership. 

A factor of such importance cannot be neglected in 
considering the growth of a Utah town, especially a 



238 HISTORY OF LEHI. [issi 

rural community like Lehi. Here also, religion was 
the dominating influence in the lives of the people. 
This, then, is sufficient justification for an effort to 
trace its development and chronicle its history, and 
that without considering in the least the purely dog- 
matic side. 

Mention has already been made of instances in 
which the church and its officials have been intimately 
involved. Apart from such events is the history 
of the church itself, the record of its growth and 
expansion. This it is proposed to discuss now. Natur- 
ally it is the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints — the Mormons — which must necessarily be the 
subject of most of this study, but due consideration 
will also be given to the work of another denomina- 
tion, the Congregationalists, who in later times estab- 
lished a mission and school in Lehi. 

BISHOP DAVID EVANS. 

Mention has already been made of the arrival of 
Bishop David Evans, February 15, 1851.* At once he 
became the directing personality in the little settle- 
ment, and led the people in their struggle to obtain a 
foothold on Dry Creek. For this work he was emi- 
nently qualified, sturdy, determined, plain, outspoken, 
resourceful, a pioneer in every respect. Soon after 
his arrival, the Dry Creek Ward was organized with 
David Evans as Bishop, Charles Hopkins and David 
Savage as Counselors, and Jehial McConnell as ward 
clerk. For twenty-eight years Bishop Evans held this 
position, during the whole time when the infant city 

♦Chapter V. 



1852] 



THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 239 



was struggling against colossal hardships, when it 
gained its feet sufficiently to combat the Indians and 
grasshoppers, when it acquired stability enough to 
make the future look hopeful and finally when it blos- 
somed into a flourishing city — a wonderful transfor- 
mation from the Evansville of 1851 to the Lehi of 
1879. 

FIRST CHANGE IN THE BISHOPRIC. 

In 1852 Jehial McConnell and Lorenzo H. Hatch 
were set apart as First and Second Counselors to 
Bishop Evans, Charles Hopkins and David Savage 
having been released for other work in the church.* 



LEHI'S FIRST MISSIONARIES. 

It was also at this time that the first missionaries 
were sent out. Canute Peterson went to Norway, 
William Fotheringham to India, Thomas Karren to 
the Sandwich Islands, and Preston Thomas to Texas 
— truly a widely scattered field.!" These first envoys 
of the Church have been succeeded by many scores of 
faithful and zealous elders, but it is doubtful if any 
left their homes under such extreme hardships — a 
little village, founded in a desert and in its second year 
of struggle for existence, able to send men to such 
widely divergent places as India, Norway and Hawaii! 



*This other work was in the presidency of the Lehi Ward, an 
organization supposed to be equal in authority to the Bishopric. 
Such a presidency was a common practice in the Church in early 
days. Charles Hopkins was President, David Savage was First 
Counselor and Samuel D. White Second Counselor. So much 
friction arose with the Bishopric that the office of president was 
soon abolished, his functions passing to the Bishop. 

tThe next year, 1853, Israel Evans went to Wales on a mis- 
sion. 



240 HISTORY OF LEHI. [iss3-i863 

Such devotion speaks well for the vitality and strength 
of the religious beliefs of Lehi's founders. 

JEHIAL McCONNELL RESIGNS. 

In 1853, Jehial McConnell resigned as First Coun- 
selor in the Bishopric in order to move to southern 
Utah. Lorenzo H. Hatch was promoted to be First 
and Abel Evans chosen to be Second Counselor in the 
subsequent reorganization. 

QUORUMS ORGANIZED. 

No further changes were made in the constituency 
of the ward leaders during the next ten years, but 
this period was a time of substantial progress and 
growth. The Meeting House was erected in 1855, 
and numerous expeditions sent out to aid immigrants, 
beginning in 1856. January 17, 1858, the first elders' 
quorum was organized,* while four years later, in 
November, 1862, the sixty-eighth quorum of seventy 
was installed."!' 

COUNSELOR HATCH MOVES TO CACHE VALLEY. 

In 1863, First Counselor Lorenzo H. Hatch moved 
to Cache Valley, thus creating a vacancy in the Bish- 



*The only known members are William Goates, president; 
William Southwick, Isaac Chilton, Henry Simmonds, and Peter 
Christofferson. 

tThe officers were: J. R. Murdock, O. C. Murdock, John C. 
Xagle, Israel Evans, John Brown, J. R. Moyle of Alpine, and 
W. S. S. Willes; the members: William SouthwicK, Samuel 
James, Oley Ellingson, Jacob Bushman, William H. Winn, Ed- 
win Standring, Michael Vaughn, John Jacobs, James P. Carter, 
Robert Stoney, J. Abrams, H. A. Wedge, T. R. Jones, E. Wat- 
sons, L. Titcomb, E. M. Allison, William A. Bell, John Andrea- 
son, William Gurney, and Jens Holm. 



1865-1866] 



THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 



241 



opric. To fill this, Abel Evans was promoted to the 
office of First Counselor, and Canute Peterson se- 
lected as Second Counselor. 



ABEL EVANS— A MISSIONARY TO WALES. 

The Bishopric continued without change as to 
membership until May, 1865. when First Counselor 
Abel Evans left Lehi for 
a mission to Wales, his 
native country. Canute 
Peterson then became 
First Counselor and 
Thomas Karren Second 
Counselor. 

After eighteen months 
of missionary labor, 
Counselor Evans con- 
tracted a severe cold 
which later proved fatal, 
his death occurring No- 
vember 30, 1866. A 
month afterwards, when 
the sad news reached 
Lehi, it cast a feeling of 
gloom over the entire 
community. Abel Evans had been a man of excep- 
tional worth to the people of Lehi, because of his 
integrity, uprightness, and devotion to duty. 




ABEL EVANS. 



SUNDAY SCHOOL ORGANIZED. 



Although a temporary Sunday School organization 
had been effected in 1851, it was not permanently or- 



17 



J4: 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1866-1867 



ganizecl until 1866.* At that time, James W. Taylor.. 
William Yates, and William Gurney became inter- 
ested in the possibilities of such a school, and advo- 

cated its adoption. At 

firs-t meeting with little 
response, it was soon 
recognized that the 
hitherto free Sunday af- 
ternoons might be prof- 
itably utilized; so the 
organization followed. 
James W. Taylor was 
Superintendent of the 
first school, Daniel S. 
Thomas, Israel Evans, 
Martin B. Bushman, Re- 
becca Standring, Mar- 
garet Taylor (Mrs. Ira 
D. Wines), and Mrs. 
Elisha H. Davis were 
tames r. taylor. teachers, and approxi- 

mately twenty-five pupils attended. For lack of other 
books, the children studied reading and spelling. 
Among the later Sunday School workers of that 
period might be mentioned James Kirkham, Joseph 
Broadbent. Charles Phillips, and James- Gough. 

WILLIAM II. WINN A NEW COUNSELOR. 

In 1867, First Counselor Canute Peterson was 




*Of this early school, George Zimmerman was Superintend- 
ent; Israel Evans, J. Hatch and Jehial McConnell were teach- 
ers, while Joseph Ashton, Peter Lott, Matilda Evans and Susan 
Territory were pupils. Meetings were held in the log school 
house during two winters only. 



1868-1871] THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 243 

called to become bishop of the ward at Ephraim, so 
he resigned his position with Bishop Evans. Second 
Counselor Thomas Karren succeeded him and he, in 
turn, was followed by William H. Winn. No further 
change occurred for ten years. 

OTHER ORGANIZATIONS FOUNDED. 

The Woman's Relief Society was first organized 
in Lehi, in 1868.* It has since built a meeting house 
of its own and possesses several granaries. It has 
done much to alleviate distress and misfortune among 
the poor of the city. 

Both teachers't and high priests'! quorums date 
their organization from 1869, the former on Novem- 
ber 28, while the exact time of the latter's first meet- 
ing is unknown. 

The year 1871 saw the inception of the first dea- 
cons' quorum. § The initial meeting was held March 7. 



*In the first imperfect organization, Sarah J. Coleman was 
president and Rebecca Standring counselor. On October 27, 
1868, the organization was perfected. Sarah J. Coleman was 
president, Martha P. Thomas and Barbara Ann Evans were 
counselors, and Rebecca Standring and Mary Ann Davis acted 
as secretary and treasurer, respectively. 

tThe members were: William Yates, William Clark, William 
Gurney, Isaac Goodwin, William Goates Sen., Charles Barnes, 
John Zimmerman, Oley Rllingson, William Southwick, William 
Ball, and Jacob Bushman. The first three named constituted 
the presidency; Charles Barnes was secretary. 

tjanuary 3, 1869, is the date of the first meeting that this 
quorum is known to have held. It had forty-two members en- 
rolled, with Daniel S. Thomas as president and Joseph J. H. 
Colledge as secretary. 

§Andrew A. Peterson, John Jacobs, Jacob Bushman, Elisha 
Peck, J. L. Rosbottom, Jacob Cox, Peter Peterson, Andrew R. 
Anderson, Newal A. Brown, George Kirkham, and Martin B. 
Bushman constituted this quorum. The first four named were 
the presiding officers and secretary. 



244 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1875-1878 



The Young Ladies' Retrenchment Society made its 
appearance in Lehi, April 23, 1875.* This organization 

was later succeeded by 
the Young Ladies' Mu- 
tual Improvement As- 
sociation. Both this 
and the similar society, 
the Young Men's Mu- 
tual Improvement Asso- 
ciation, which was 
founded in 1875, have 
had much to do with the 
social and intellectual 
activities of the younger 
people in the city. Sam- 
uel R. Thurman was the 
first president of the lat- 
ter. At various times 
they have maintained a 

MRS. REBECCA STANDRING. c ,. , 

tree reading room, and 
conducted the public dances. 

The Primary Association was established in 1878.1' 




DEATH OF COUNSELOR THOMAS KARREN. 



On April 4, 1877, First Counselor Thomas Karren 
passed to the Great Beyond. William H. Winn was 
promoted to fill the vacancy caused by his death, and 
William Goates was designated Second Counselor. 



*Orinda Davis CMrs. Delbert II. Allred), was president. 

tThe presidencies of the three districts with their aids, in 
order, are: Mary A. Davis, Mary A. Webb, Rebecca Evans; 
Eliza Smuin, Hannah P. Jones, Mary A. Anderson; Ellen Jones, 
Esther Sirnmonds, Tolly Turner. 




BISHOP THOMAS R. CUTLER. 



246 HISTORY OF LEHI. usn 

REORGANIZATION. 

This arrangement continued for one year, when a 
disagreement arose between Bishop Evans and Coun- 
selor Winn which resulted in the relieving of the 
latter of his position. In the reorganization which 
followed. William Goates was made First Counselor 
and Andrew R. Anderson Second Counselor. 

THOMAS R. CUTLER SUCCEEDS BISHOP EVANS. 

By this time Bishop Evans had become an aged 
man. and with the addition of poor health to inter- 
fere with his duties, he concluded to resign. On 
September 21, 1879, after twenty-eight years of ser- 
vice such as few men have had the opportunity and 
ability to give, he was honorably released from his 
position. For his successor was chosen Thomas R. 
Cutler, and associated with him William H. Winn 
and Andrew R. Anderson as counselors. Bishop 
Cutler had come to Lehi fourteen years previously 
and engaged in the mercantile business for T. and 
W. Taylor. Later he had become the head of the 
People's Co-operative Institution. His business 
training and his native ability qualified him eminently 
to lead the affairs of the ward under the new condi- 
tions which he was later to meet. Like his predeces- 
sor. Bishop Cutler served the people of Lehi as then- 
ecclesiastical leader during an extended period, his 
incumbency measuring twenty-four years. He saw 
the city grow from a town in the infancy of business 
development to the commercial, industrial, and agri- 
cultural center that is modern Lehi. 



1883-1888] THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 247 

( )ne of the first official acts of the new bishop was 
the building of a tithing office on Second East, mid- 
way between State Street and Sixth North. Only a 
barn was moved from the old tithing office lot. James 
Kirkham was named tithing- clerk.* 

DEATH OF BISHOP EVANS. 

After a strenuous and well-spent life of almost 
eighty years, former Bishop David Evans parsed away 
June 23, 1883. He was buried with great honors, a 
special train bringing prominent Church and State 
officials from Salt Lake and other parts o/f the Terri- 
tory. 

DEATH OF COUNSELOR WINN. 

Bishop Evans was soon followed ! to the do- 
mains of the Grim Reaper by his former counselor, 
William H. Winn. His death occurred April 26, 1884. 
Andrew R. Anderson now became First Counselor, 
and Edwin Standring Second Counselor. 

ANOTHER DEATH IN THE BISHOPRIC. 

On November 13, 1888, Counselor Edwin Stand- 
ring died, leaving another vacancy in the Bishopric. 
William Clark was selected to occupy his place. 

NORTH-WEST BRANCH ORGANIZED. 

Because of their partial isolation from the main 



*Jehial McConnell, Thomas Taylor, Willkmi H. Winn, Charles 
Widerberg, Robert Lapish, William Wanlass, Thomas, R. Cutler, 
Christian Racker, and William E. Racker had held this position 
under Bishop Evans, 



248 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[189; 



body of church members, and because of their ever- 
increasing numbers, the people in the north-west part 
of town — called variously the New Survey, Lehi Junc- 
tion, and "Over the Creek" — desired to have a branch 
organization of their own. Their request was granted, 
and on October 1, 1893, the North-west Branch was 
organized with Thomas R. Jones as president. Later 
he was succeeded by W. W. Clark. One year later 




THIRD WARD CHAPEL. 



the branch began the erection of a meeting house 
which has been in use ever since. 



THE NEW TABERNACLE. 



The need for a new meeting place had now long 
been apparent. The old Meeting House was entirely 



1900] THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 249 

inadequate to seat the great number of worshipers 
who thronged there every Sunday; and the pride of 
the people demanded a larger and more modern 
structure. For many years there had been only talk 
and desire for a new chapel ; the erection of a taber- 
nacle in Provo proved to be all the burden the church 
members in Lehi could carry. Finally, when the as- 
sessment from Provo had been met, the movement 
for a tabernacle in Lehi assumed definite form. A 
committee was appointed by Bishop Cutler, consist- 
ing of himself, Henry Lewis, E. A. Bushman, Jr., 
Elias Jones, Heber Austin, Mark Austin, and Franz 
Salzner, who were to have entire charge of the build- 
ing operations. 

The first move of the committee was to secure a 
lot. After numerous conferences and investigations 
of proposed sites, the lot on the north-east corner of 
Center and Second North Streets was purchased and 
cleared. The consideration of plans for the building 
was the next step. After an extensive study of the 
work of many architects, the plans of R. Kletting* 
w r ere accepted. To raise the necessary money was 
now the formidable task which confronted the com- 
mittee. Steps were soon taken to levy assessments 
against the members of the ecclesiastical ward in such 
amount as, in the judgment of the committee, they 
could consistently meet. The payment of these as- 
sessments lasted through many years, but were in 
the end met. 

Work on the excavation began in February, 1900. 
Much of it was performed without remuneration, and 



*He later drew the plans for the State Capitol. 



!50 



I I IS I < >KY < )!•' LEHI. 



11901 



provision was also made that assessments could be 
paid in labor. The laving' of the foundation, which 
was of cement and limestone, was under the direction 
of John Donaldson. In eighteen months this part of 
the building had been completed, so that on Septem- 
ber 14. 1901. the corner stone could be laid. Lorenzo 
Snow, at that time President of the Mormon Church, 
was invited to officiate at the exercises, but in his 




LAYING Or CORNER STONE OF NEW TABERNACLE. 



enforced absence. Bishop Thomas R. Cutler swung 
into place the large block on the so L ;th-west corner. 
The occasion was marked by the attendance of most 
of the citizens and by appropriate exercises. 



1902] the mi urn in leiii. 251 

The following years witnessed the continuation of 

the work of construction. The masons were in charge 
of Elias Jones, while Monroe Wilson directed the car- 
penter work on the outside. John S. Willes erected 
the rostrum, and Fred Merrill and William Turner 
performed the plastering - . The walls were built of 
white pressed brick. The building as completed is 
121 feet in length and 76 feet in width, the dimensions 
of the main auditorium being 80 feet and 60 feet. The 
tower rises to the height of 112 feet. The seating ca- 
pacity of the Tabernacle is 1100, and its total cost 
$46,000.00. 

In five years the erection of the building had pro- 
gressed to such a stage that meetings could be held 
in it. September 3, 1905. was the date of the initial 
gathering, a notable event in the life of the city. To 
observe the occasion fittingly, elaborate exercises 
were prepared, and numerous distinguished visitors 
entertained. From that date, assemblies of all kinds 
— religious, political, civic, patriotic, educational — - 
have been held in the Tabernacle. 

The crowning feature of the building is the giant 
pipe organ which was installed soon after the Taber- 
nacle began to be utilized for public meetings. This 
instrument cost $3,700.00; is 19 feet high, 8 feet deep, 
20 feet wide, and weighs 9 tons. It consists of three 
organs — great, swell, and pedal, and has 13 couplers 
and a total of 792 pipes. 

Five years more were necessary before the Taber- 
nacle was completed. On Sunday, May 15, 1910, the 
building was dedicated by Joseph F. Smith, president 
of the Latter-dav Saints, amid the intense gratifica- 



1902] THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 253 

tion of the people who had labored so long to erect 
the magnificent structure. 

The basement is fitted up with an auditorium and 
various small rooms, which are used as the assembly 
rooms of the Second Ward. 

COUNSELOR CLARK RESIGNS. 

On account of old age and failing health, Second 
Counselor William Clark resigned on November 23, 
1902. His successor in the office was Andrew Fjeld, 
a son Of Carl J. E. Fjeld (the hand cart veteran), a 
native of Lehi, and long one of the most active church 
workers in the ward. 

LEHI WARD DIVIDED. 

The time had now come when the growth of the 
Lehi Ward had placed it out of all bounds of admin- 
istration, under the existing system. It was impera- 
tive that it be divided. Accordingly, on December 
20, 1903, a meeting of all church members was held, 
and plans for the segregation were announced. The 
Northwest Branch was to become the Third Ward, the 
north-east part of town was to be called the Fourth 
Ward, the southern and older section of the city was 
designated the First Ward, and the north central part 
received the name of Second Ward. Four men with 
counselors were selected to preside over, the new 
wards, and steps taken fully to get the new organiza- 
tions and business under way. The new bishops did 
not assume the duties of their offices until January 
1, 1904. 

A later concerted action of the wards was the pur- 



254 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1904 



chase of the lot on Center and Second North Streets 
tor use as a tithing office. 

THE FIRST WARD. 



Andrew Fjeld was the 



new bishop of the First 
Ward with George 
Schow and R. John 
Whipple as his counsel- 
ors. Bishop Fjeld had 
been counselor to Bish- 
op Cutler, and by na- 
tural ability and faithful 
training was thoroughly 
fitted for his new work. 
The ward now took pos- 
session of the old Meet- 
ing House, and held 
their assemblies there. 
No changes have been 
made in the Bishopric, 
and the ward since its 
beginning has experi- 
bishop Andrew fjeld. enced a time of contin- 

ual advancement and progress. 

the second ward. 

For bishop of the Second Ward was chosen James 
H. Gardner, with Andrew C. Pearson and William F. 
Gurney as counselors. Bishop Gardner was then and 
is now the superintendent of the Lehi sugar factory. 
He had made his home in the city in 1890, when the 
factory was built, having learned the sugar business 




THE CHURCH IN LEHI. 



255 



while on a mision in Hawaii. His previous active 
work in church affairs and his natural endowment of 
executive ability quali- 
fied him to perform the 
functions of his office 
successfully. The Sec- 
ond Ward adapted the 
basement of the Xew 
Tabernacle for its as- 
sembly rooms, meeting 
with the First Ward 
conjointly once every 
Sunday. On July 8, 
1906, First Counselor 
Andrew C. Pearson re- 
signed to become super- 
intendent of the sugar 
factory at Nampa, Ida- 
ho. To fill the vacancy 
created by his removal. 
Counselor Gurney was promoted and James M. Kirk- 
ham became Second Counselor. Later, on January 
20, 1913, the latter accepted a call to a position in the 
Alpine Stake Sunday School; his successor is John 
W. Wing, Jr. 




r.ISIIOP TAMES II. GARDNER. 



THE THIRD WARD. 



The three men chosen for the Bishopric of the 
Third Ward were Henry Lewis, George Glover, and 
Jackson Wanlass. Bishop Lewis had performed some 
meritorious work in connection with the quorums of 
boys and young men, and his ability demonstrated in 



256 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1904-1910 



this capacity was undoubtedly among the causes of 
his call to change his residence from the heart of 

the city to the old 
North-west Branch and 
become the head of the 
new ward created there. 
The chapel of the 
branch was taken over 
by the ward as its place 
of meeting. On August 
14. 1910, the Bishopric 
was reorganized, both 
Counselor Glover and 
Counselor Wanlass be- 
ing honorably released. 
In their places, W. \Y. 
Dickerson and William 
Hatfield were named. 

THE FOURTH WARD. 
BISHOP HENRY LEWIS. 

For a number of years 
before the division of the Lehi Ward, John Stoker 
had been tithing clerk, and it was his faithfulness in 
this position that made him the logical man for 
bishop of the Fourth Ward. As his counselors were 
chosen Robert Fox and Samuel Smith. At first the 
ward held its meetings in the Lehi Commercial and 
Savings Bank Building, but in May, 1909, the corner 
stone for a new ward chapel was laid. It is now 
near completion. Because of necessary absence from 
home, James Clark, December 3, 1905, succeeded 
Counselor Smith in the Bishopric. 




1880] 



THE CHURCH IX LEHI. 



257 



THE NEW WEST CHURCH AND SCHOOL. 



In 1880, the New West Educational Commission, 
with headquarters in Boston, founded a mission 
school in Lehi for the purpose of furnishing better 
educational facilities to the young men and women 
of the city. Securing a 
lot on Main Street, the 
Commission sent to 
Lehi as its first teachers 
Miss Carter and Miss 
W'inslow. These ladies 
began school in the cot- 
tage with four pupils 
— Lily Harwood. Rose 
I larwood, M innie Wines 
and Eugene Wines. At 
first the work was whol- 
ly of a high school char- 
acter, hut gradually it 
was enlarged until it in- 
cluded all the grades. 

and finally the high 

i , r • • pjsnor tottx stoker. 

school division was 

dropped. It was early demonstrated that the cottage 
was too small for the attendance, so funds were so- 
licited in the East, and a school house erected ; it has 
since been called the Xew West School. In its early 
stages, the school was well attended. In later years, 
it passed out of the control of the Xew West Com- 
mission and was taken over by the Congregational 
Church, which has since maintained it. In addition 




258 



[ I STORY OF JLK1-1L. 



L18SH 



to the school work, the church conducts religious 
services during the school year, and at various times 

has had ministers in residence. 




NEW WEST SCHOOL HOUSE. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

The Beet Sugar Industry. 



WHEN the sugar factory was built in Lehi,in 1890, 
there was added to the city its most important 
commercial factor. Immediately an impetus was given 
to all business in the town. Lehi became widely 
known as the first sugar city in the West. The fac- 
tory has since continued to be her chief claim to more 
than ordinary distinction, while the industry has 
brought immense benefits, not only to the municipal- 
ity itself, but to the whole surrounding country. 



PRELIMINARY STEPS. 



ion 
of 



The story of the steps which led up to the erect 
of the factory in Lehi is best told in the words 
Thomas R. Cutler, Manager of the Utah-Idaho Sugar 
Company. 

"The first attempt at making beet sugar in Utah 
was in 1852, when President John Taylor. Elias Mor- 
ris and others brought some machinery from France 
and across the plains by ox teams.* This attempt. 
however, proved a failure, and some of the remnants 



*This factory was in the south-eastern part of Salt Lake City, 
and from it the district called Sugar House gets its name. Set- 
tlers in Lehi planted some of the beet seed brought to Utah in 
this venture. See Chapter V. 



260 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1852-1890 

of this machinery may be seen amongst other relics 
in the Deseret Museum. 

"Of course this machinery was not at all modern 
and was what is called the 'Open Kettle Plan." which 
could not be use/ljn the production of beet sugar. 

"Some years, aiterward, Arthur Stayner conceived 
the idea of sorghum sugar, and quantities of sorghum 
cane were planted in the State. He did produce a 
brown sugar and obtained a prize' of $5,000.00 from 
the Legislature. 

"A committee was appointed to visit Fort Scott, 
Kansas, where a sorghum sugar factory had been 
running for a period of years, but when the committee- 
reached the place, the company was about to dis- 
solve. It was decided, because of earlyfrosts in the 
higher altitude, that sorghum cane could not be de- 
pended upon in large quantities for the purpose de- 
sired : and that idea was abandoned. 

"After these investigations, the prominent people 
who had taken part in the experiments got together, 
formed a company called the Utah Sugar Company, 
and built the first sugar factory in the Rocky Moun- 
tains, located in Lehi. in 1890. 

"There was one factor)- in the United States that 
had been running for one year previous to this. 
located at Grand Island. Nebraska, and owned by the 
Oxnards; also one at Alvarado. California, that had 
been in operation under various vicissitudes for sev- 
eral years and. notwithstanding that the government 
of the United States had passed a bounty law offering 
two cents per pound for all the sugar produced by 
beet factories for a period of years, capital was slow 



1890] THE BEET SUGAR INDUSTRY. 261 

to avail itself of the opportunity. ****** 
"The officers and directors of the first company 
were Elias Morris. President : George O. Cannon. 
Vice-President ; Thomas R. Cutler, Heber J. Grant, 
Moses Thatcher, Frank Armstrong, W. B. Preston, 
James Jack, George M. Cannon. Barlow Ferguson, 
John Beck, and John R. Winder, Directors; with 
Thomas R. Cutler, Manager, and Arthur Stayner, 
Secretary."* 

CITY COUNCIL OFFERS BOUNTY. 

To induce the recently organized Utah Sugar Com- 
pany to erect its plant in Lehi, the City Council 
offered them, on August 20, 1890, a bounty of 
$1,000.00. The following 6th of January this amount 
was increased $6,000.00. promised by a committee of 
the citizens which had been appointed to make addi- 
tional efforts to secure the factory. John Beck also 
worked hard to obtain the factory for Lehi. Finally 
the company decided that the Lehi offer was the most 
attractive and selected that city as the site of the first 
factory in the West. 



♦From an article in the Richfield Reaper. 

Additional information on this point is given by Albert F. 
Philips, in The Salt Lake Tribune. October 1, 1907: , 

"Experiments in the manufacture of beet sugar in the United 
States were made in 1830, a company being formed in Philadel- 
phia, but little was accomplished, only a few hundred pounds of 
sugar being made. Several years later at Northampton, Massa- 
chusetts, another beet sugar factory was started. But 1,300 
pounds -of sugar were made and in 1840 its owner. David L. 
Child, abandoned the plant. 

"In Utah the third attempt at manufacturing sugar from beets 
was made. Thi- was in 1852 and 1853. A plant was purchased 
in England [should be France. II. G-l and -hipped to Provo, 
but it was never started." 



262 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1890 



THE FACTORY BUILT. 

Because of the large supply of water available in 
the so-called "Mill Pond," the Utah Sugar Company 
purchased from Thadeus Powell the site of the old 
Mulliner flour mill, which, together with the adjoin- 
ing- land, made an ideal location for a sugar factory. 

The corner stone was 
laid, December 26, 1890. 
by President Wilford 
Woodruff of the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints, which 
had invested heavily in 
the new industry to as- 
sist it.* After the cere- 
monies at the factory, a 
lunch was served in the 
Opera House and a cele- 
bration carried out in 
honor of the beginning 
of an enterprise that 
was to mean much to 
the city's future. The 
contract for the con- 
struction of the plant had been given to E. H. Dyer 
& Sons, of Cleveland, Ohio. Immediately they be- 
gan the work of building, an operation that furnished 
much employment to laboring men in Lehi. With 
its machinery, the factory cost $500,000.00. 




JOHN BECK. 



*The weather on this day and the rest of the winter was 
especially propitious, so much so that work on the walls was 
carried on with only few intermissions. 



THE BEET SUGAR INDUSTRY. 



263 



THE FIRST CAMPAIGN. 

In the spring of 1891, the first beet seed was planted 
by George Austin on land belonging - to George 
Comer. The event was a notable one. many people, 
including Manager Thomas R. Cutler of the Utah 
Sugar Company, being present to watch the operation 
of the planter. From the 
crop in Lehi and sur- 
rounding towns suffi- 
cient beets were har- 
vested to conduct the 
factory through its first 
campaign, in the fall of 
1891. The result was 
about 1.000.000 pounds 
of refined granulated 
sugar which was imme- 
diately placed on the lo- 
cal and outside markets. 
Every autumn since that 
year has seen the plant 
going at full capacity, 
transforming the juice 
of the beets, by means 

of its myriads of mysterious processes, into pure white 
crystals of sugar. The total output of sugar since the 
beginning has been 377,935,200 pounds.* 




CLARENCE A. GRANGER. 



*"Utah and Idaho comprise a large, contiguous sugar beet 
area and in the richness of the sugar content these states are 
only rivaled by California. ' The present sugar production within 
these states is four times the domestic consumption, and yet 
the capacity of the nine factories in operation is considerably 
larger than the supply of beets from the 48,000 acres in Cultiva- 
tion." George Thomas Surface in "The Story of Sugar," p. 125. 



264 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1890-1913 

OFFICERS OF THE COMPANY. 

Since the organization of the first company, Thomas 

R. Cutler lias acted as its manager, directing the 
alt airs of the Utah Sugar Company and its successor, 
the Utah-Idaho Sugar Company, with efficiency and 
success. lie still holds the position of manager in 
addition to being vice-president. In 1903. because of 
the ever increasing territory embraced in the business 
operations of the company, he moved to Salt Lake 
City where the central offices had been established. 

Clarence A. Granger of Alvarado, California, was 
the first superintendent of the Lehi factory, occupying 
the position until 1897, when he accepted a similar 
position in Greeley, Colorado. Hy A. Vallez, a native 
of France, was his successor, hi 1899, Vallez moved 
to Michigan, and James H. Gardner became superin- 
tendent; he has held the position ever since. Super- 
intendent Gardner is a Utah man who learned the 
sugar business in the Hawaiian Islands while on a 
mission. This knowledge enabled him to secure a 
position when the new factory was erected. At the 
present time, besides acting as superintendent of the 
Lehi factory, he is General Consulting Superintendent 
of the company and a member of the Technical Board 
which directs the operation of the plants. 

The first agricultural superintendent of the Utah 
Sugar Company was George Austin. In 1892, he 
became General Consulting Agricultural Superintend- 
ent and later moved to Salt Lake City. His brother, 
lleber Austin, filled the vacancy caused by his pro- 
motion. When, in 1896, Heber Austin went on a mis- 
sion to England, Mark Austin became agricultural 



1890-1913] THE BEET SUGAR INDUSTRY. 265 

superintendent. In 1904. Mark Austin became Resi- 
dent Manager of the sugar factory at Sugar City. 
Idaho, and his place was filled in Lehi by Parley Aus- 
tin, who still holds the position. 

M. W. Ingalls has acted as the chief engineer of 
the Lehi factory since its erection, but in addition he 
is at present General Consulting Engineer of the 
whole company and a member of the Technical Board. 

GROWTH OF THE INDUSTRY FROM LEHI. 

Although experiencing some difficulty at first, the 
sugar industry in Lehi has from the beginning been 
an unqualified success. When it had been thoroughly 
demonstrated that beet sugar could be produced prof- 
itably in the Great Basin, the Utah Sugar Company 
began to expand. It established cutting stations in 
Bingham Junction. Springville, and Provo and con- 
structed pipe lines through which the extracted juice 
was pumped to the Lehi factory. This was now en- 
larged to handle the additional supply of juice. After 
a few years, the Bingham Junction station was aban- 
doned and moved to Spanish Fork. Finally, in 1903. 
the Utah Sugar Company constructed a new factory 
in Garland. Utah. This was followed by other fac- 
tories in Idaho Falls, Sugar City. Blackfoot (by pur- 
chase), and Nampa, Idaho, and Elsinore and Parson. 
Utah. Thus from the parent factory in Lehi has 
grown a system of sugar plants all over the Rocky 
Mountain region, both from the Utah-Idaho Sugar 
Company and the Amalgamated Sugar Company. 
And although the old mill in Lehi is far from the most 
modern plant of the system, still it produces a-- high 



1890-1913] THE BEET SUGAR INDUSTRY. 267 

a grade of sugar as any of its younger rivals, and does 
its work more expeditiously and efficiently. 

EFFECTS ON LEHI. 

The establishment of the sugar industry in Lehi has 
been a tremendous boon to its growth. Thousands 
of dollars have been paid every year for beets to the 
farmers and hardly a less sum to laboring men. Every 
campaign the factory employs three hundred men. 
most of whom are from Lehi. What this means not 
only to the laborers themselves but a'so to the busi- 
ness of the city can hardly be estimated. There can 
be no doubt but that the sugar industry has been the 
most important element in the commercial growth 
of Lehi. 

But the commercial gain is not the only effect the 
factory has had upon the municipality. It has brought 
many people to Lehi and sent a far greater number 
out to other places. When new factories have been 
established, most of the responsible positions have 
been given to Lehi men who had learned their busi- 
ness in the Lehi factory. Thus there are little Lehi 
colonies wherever new factories have been construct- 
ed in Utah and Idaho. Not only this, but a great 
demand has existed for experienced agricultural ad- 
visers who had been successful in raising beets in 
Lehi. To supply this demand has been the cause of 
many removals of Lehi families to neighboring and 
even distant states. On the whole, therefore, Lehi 
has played an exceptional part in developing the sugar 
industry in the West, even at the loss of some of her 
verv best citizens. 



CHAPTER XVII] 

Prosperity. 



WI'I II the establishment of the sugar factory in 
Lehi there began an unprecedented era of bus- 
iness growth. New enterprises of various kinds were 
set on foot, and on every side could be seen the evi- 
dences of prosperity. Especially was this true of the 
business portion of the city on State Street. Here 
within a short time were founded the town's first 
bank, the first pretentious hotel, and a second livery 
stable. 

LEHI COMMERCIAL AND SAVINGS BANK. 

In 1891, Thomas R. Cutler. Ira D. Wines. William 
E. Racker. and William Clark, together with a num- 
ber of Salt Lake City capitalists, organized the first 
banking company in Lehi — the Lehi Commercial and 
Savings Bank. The company at once began the erec- 
tion of a brick and stone building on the corner of 
State Street and Second East which was finished the 
next year, when the doors were opened for business. 
Oley Ellingson, Jr., was the first cashier, and his suc- 
cessors have been John Y. Smith, under whose direc- 
tion a branch was established in American Fork and 
a re-incorporation under the name of the Utah Bank- 
ing Company effected. Charles C. Friel. and at present 
William E. Evans. On January 23, 1911, the bank 



1891 I 



PROSPERITY. 



269 



closed its doors and went into the hands of a receiver 
for a period of approximately a year, since when it 
has been in constant operation. 



THE UNION HOTEL. 

In the same year which saw the launching of 
bank, Thomas R. Cutler, 
Ira D. Wines, and Wil- 
liam E. Racker erected 
the Union Hotel, a two- 
story brick structure, on 
the corner of State and 
First East Streets. For 
many years Robert Stod- 
dard was the genial 
manager of this hostlery 
and it enjoyed an excel- 
lent reputation and a 
profitable clientage. Lat- 
er, however, it proved 
an unsatisfactory invest- 
ment, and was finally 
closed. In 1909, Ira D. 
Wines renovated the 
building thoroughly and 
installed new furnishings, since when the hotel has 
again enjoyed some measure of prosperity. It is now 
owned by the People's Co-operative Institution. 




ROBERT STODDARD, 

Hotel Proprietor and Hand Cart 

Veteran. 



A SECOND LIVERY STABLE. 



It was in 1890 that the People's Co-operative Insti- 
tution built a commodious livery stable on the south- 



270 HISTORY OF LEH1. Li»i 

west corner of Second East and State Streets and 
installed Charles Barnes as manager, with an equip- 
ment of twelve horses. After one year, William 
Wing succeeded Barnes and continued to have 
charge of the establishment until 1905, when Ham- 
mer Brothers secured possession of it. The business 
was continued by them until 1909, when it was sold 
to Elam Foutz, who had the buildings torn down. 

THE LEHI BANNER. 

On Monday, June 1, 1891. the Lehi Banner made 
its first appearance. It was a weekly devoted to the 
interests of the city. At first owned by the Lehi Pub- 
lishing Company, it was later acquired by George 
Webb, who from the first had acted as editor. He 
continued publishing the paper until 1905. when it was 
leased to James M. Kirkham. At the expiration of 
one year, Kirkham bought the entire plant and is- 
sued the paper himself. Until 1908, The Banner had 
a home of its own on First East Street, between 
Third and Fourth North, but at that time it was moved 
to the James Kirkham & Sons Building, on First 
East and Sixth North. The plant was considerably 
enlarged with modern printing appliances, and in 
connection with The Banner, the Deseret Farmer 
was published. In 1913, the paper was sold to the 
Alpine Publishing Company. 

TWENTIETH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

For some elections previous to the twentieth there 
had been slight factional lines drawn between the 
Liberal Party, whose first meeting was held in Lehi 



lsyij 



PROSPERITY. 



271 



September 22, 1882, and the People's Party, but the 
Liberal strength was only nominal, the nomination 
on the People's Party ticket always insuring election. 
In the nominating caucus of this party, for the ap- 
proaching election in 1891, a very spirited contest de- 
veloped. For some time the younger men in the city 
had been conducting a civil government class to 
acquaint themselves with the theory of politics. Now 
they determined to apply their knowledge and use 
their class as a vehicle 
to carry out their plans. 
Accordingly they ap- 
peared at the nominat- 
ing caucus at the Meet- 
ing House. February 2. 
thoroughly organized 
to annex the whole 
ticket of nominees. Tak- 
ing the convention by 
storm, they succeeded, 
much to the surprise 
and chagrin of their 
elder co-partizans. in al- 
most carrying out their 
purpose. A week later 
the election followed. ABEL JO hn evans, 

Abel John -EvailS Was Thirteenth Mayor of Lehi (1891-1893). 

chosen Mayor; William 

S. Evans, Joseph Goates, James B. Gaddie, Louis 
Garff, John Woodhouse, Oley Ellingson, and Thomas 
F. Trane, Councilors (the legislature had in 1888 abol- 
ished the office of alderman, so none were chosen at 




272 HISTORY OK LB HI. ti89i 

this election I : John E. Ross. Recorder: Edwin Good- 
win. Marshal; John Roberts, Jr.. Treasurer; and By- 
ron W. Brown. Justice. 

Appointments were. Prime Evans. Attorney; John 
YVorlton. Supervisor: and John E. Ross. Pound 
Keeper. As Byron \Y. Brown failed to qualify as 
Justice. L. Benjamin Willes was appointed, but after 
a few months' service he resigned in favor of Edward 
Smith. At a later date. Hyrum Timothy succeeded 
Edwin Goodwin as Marshal and John R. Gurney fol- 
lowed John E. Ross as Pound Keeper. 

Shortlv after its induction into office, the City 
Council cleared all the platted streets, and opened up 
a number of new thoroughfares. 

PRESIDENT HARRISON VISITS LEHI. 

For the first time in its history. Lehi had the honor. 
in 1891, of entertaining' the President of the United 
States. Bi that year President Benjamin Harrison 
made a brief stop at the sugar factor}-, where the Sil- 
ver Band and the citizens gave him a most cordial 
reception. The President stayed only long- enough to 
hear a brief .address of welcome from Thomas R. 
Cutler. 

THE CENTRAL SCHOOL HOUSE. 

George Webb. Andrew A. Peterson, and James 
P. Carter were the trustees of the Lehi school 
district, in 1892, when -the Central School House 
was erected. Before deciding on the site, a bit- 
ter sectional fight arose, but finally the citizens from 
the northern part of the town carried their point, and 
a lot on the corner of Sixth North and Center Streets 



PROSPERITY. 



273 



was purchased. Watkins was the architect of the 
structure, and $20,000.00 its initial cost. At first only 
six class rooms were finished, but the necessity for 




CENTRAL SCHOOL HOUSE. 



more was soon demonstrated with a resulting enlarge- 
ment. The building has performed excellent service 
to the present time, and bids fair yet to have many 
vears of usefulness. 



NOTED EDUCATORS. 



Among the many teachers who have labored to 
instruct the young people of Lehi in this building two 

19 



274 HISTORY OF LEIU. nwz 

stand out with especial distinctness — James M. An- 
derson and George N. Child. For many years Mr. 
Anderson had been the supervisor of the Lehi public 
schools and the teacher of the eighth grade. More 
than a few of the prominent men and women who 
have achieved fame in after life owe their introduc- 
tion to Dame Learning to this man. With equal 
gratitude many of a still younger generation thank 
Mr. Child for their start on the never-ending path of 
education. Succeeding Mr. Anderson, Mr. Child was 
for many years the supervisor of the Lehi schools. 
In 1906 he resigned his teaching work and became 
cashier of the newly-organized Bank of Lehi. Since 
that time his ability in teaching has brought him 
back into educational work. For two terms he was 
Superintendent of Schools of Utah County, and is at 
present supervisor of the grammar grades in the Salt 
Lake City public schools. For one year after Mr. 
Child's resignation, the Lehi schools were in charge 
of Fred Worlton, who then resigned to take up med- 
ical work. He was succeeded by the present incum- 
bent. Andrew P.. Anderson, an educator of experience 
the ability. He has had much to do with the phe- 
nomenal growth of the public school system and is 
largely responsible for its present high state of effi- 
ciency. 

TWENTY-FIRST MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

To conform with recently enacted legislation, the 
twenty-first election for city officers was held on the 
first Tuesday after the first Monday in November — 
this year (1892) November 8 — and the officers chosen 
were installed on the first of the vear. For the first 



i892j PROSPERITY. 275 

time also this election was carried out on national 
party lines. During the previous summer both the 
Republican and Democratic parties had effected or- 
ganizations in Lehi and these now exerted them- 
selves to the utmost to win the votes of the people. 
Street parades, torch light processions, drum corps, 
and political rallies became common affairs, and on 
every side the novel situation caused unlimited ex- 
citement. 

The Democrats eventually carried the election : 
Abel John Evans, Mayor; James B. Gaddie, James M. 
Anderston, Otto Hudson, William R. Sharp, and An- 
drew Fjeld, Councilors; George X. Child. Recorder; 
Joseph A. Thomas, Marshal ; and Prime Evans, Treas- 
urer. The important appointments made by this coun- 
cil were William H.Winn, Jr., Assessor and Collector, 
and David J. Thurman, Attorney. The only change 
in the set of officers as elected was the resignation of 
Otto Hudson and the appointment of James Turner 
to succeed him. 

For the first time, the city ordinances were printed 
in 1893, Mayor Evans acting as the Lehi member of 
a committee from all the cities of Utah County for 
the revision and printing of the municipal ordinances. 

OLD FOLKS' COMMITTEE. 

Having conceived the idea, while on a mission in 
the Southern States, William Southwick in 1892 orig- 
inated a movement which has resulted in immense 
good to the aged of Lehi. His plan was to furnish 
some means of taking care of the old people and occa- 
sionally to tender them a celebration. Bishop Cutler 



276 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1892 



approved the scheme most heartily, so Southwick 
called a committee to asist him : they were: Alphonzo 
M. Davis. Joseph Broadbent, Lott Russon, Sen., and 
George Glover. In December of that year the first 



* FBI 1 X 



FIRST OLD FOLKS' COMMITTEE. 

George Glover, Joseph liroadbent, William Southwick Lott Russon Sen., 

A. M. Davis. 

entertainment was given in the Opera House, a pro- 
gram of old songs, recitations, and reminiscent 
speeches, which pleased the veterans immensely. Each 
summer and winter since, a similar affair has been 
tendered all the citizens over sixty years, and the 
happiness derived from this simple but effective 
means has been inestimable. 



A CELEBRATION IN THE CANYON. 

For many years it had been the custom of Lehi peo- 
ple to go for outings and excursions to nearby Amer- 



1893] PROSPERITY. 277 

ican Fork Canyon, but July 24, 1893, was the date of 
the first official celebration conducted there. Both 
the Lehi Silver Band and the choir spent Pioneer 
Day in the canyon, and with them went great num- 
bers of citizens. An excellent program, together with 
picnic and sports, made tip a successful celebration. 

A CANNING FACTORY. 

April of this year witnessed an offer from J. E. 
Keenan, of Ogden, to Lehi people to furnish the ma- 
chinery for and operate a canning factory in the city 
if they would provide him a stipulated amount for 
operation. Thomas R. Cutler, Ira D. Wines, Wil- 
liam E. Racker, William Clark, and T. F. Trane were 
among the number who accepted the proposition and 
financed the removal of the factory from Ogden to 
Lehi. One season was the extent of operation of 
the new enterprise, both because it was discoverd 
that the machinery was antiquated and useless, and 
because disagreement arose between Keenan and the 
local stockholders concerning running expenses. A 
loss of $4,000.00 was the result of the venture to Lehi 
investors. 

TAMES KIRKHAM & SONS— STOKER. 

In 1893. two new business establishments were 
opened, one by the firm of James Kirkham & Sons, 
the other by John Stoker. The latter lasted only a 
few years and was abandoned. Kirkham & Sons 
erected a brick building on the corner of First East 
and Sixth North Streets, and filled it with a complete 
stock of merchandise. The venture proved profitable 



278 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1893 



until 1904, when the store was closed. The building 
has since been used by the Standard Knitting Com- 
pany and the Lehi Publishing Company. 

TWENTY-SECOND MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

After a heated campaign, tlie Republicans succeeded 
in electing their entire ticket in the twenty-second 
election of city officers, on November 7, 1893: 
Oley Ellingson, Mayor; John Roberts, Jr , Thadeus 

Powell, Benjamin S. 
Lott, Edward Evans, and 
Joel Myers, Councilors ; 
Mosiah Evans, Record- 
er; Charles H. Karren, 
Marshal ; George Evans, 
Justice; Oley Ellingson, 
Jr., Treasurer; and Geo. 
Webb. James P. Carter, 
and Elias A. Bushman. 
School Trustees. Their 
appointments included 
Stephen W. Ross, At- 
torney; James Evans. 
Building Inspector; and 
James Harwood, Food 
Inspector. The only 
change made during the 
incumbency of this set of officers was the substitution 
of Elisha IT. Davis, Jr.. for Stephen W.Ross, as Attor- 
ney, the latter having gone on a mission to England. 
One of the first acts of this City Council was to 
authorize the erection of a new liberty pole in place 




TAMES P. CARTER AND WIFE. 



1893-1895J PROSPERITY. 279 

of the one which had necessarily been removed by 
the previous administration. Nelson Gay Whipple 
built the new pole: it was ninety feet in length; and 
was put up on the jail lot. 

Under orders from the city fathers, the first street 
sprinkling by the municipal government was com- 
menced in September, 1895. Mathias Peterson was 
the teamster in charge. 

THE INDUSTRIAL ARMY. 

On May c '. 1S C )4, there arrived in Lehi a detach- 
ment of the "Industrial Army" under "General" Car- 
ter. This was part of an organization of idle work- 
men from different states of the Union which aimed 
to converge at Washington and there secure certain 
legislation in their behalf. For a number of days the 
army camped on Dry Greek, at the State Road, and 
conversed with the citizens who came out of curi- 
osity to inspect them. In addition they held an open- 
air meeting and paraded the streets with banners, 
some of which were inscribed, "No Pauper Labor" 
and "Give Us Free Silver." They terminated their 
visit by stealing an engine at Lehi Junction and pro- 
ceeding to Provo. where the militia derailed the loco- 
motive and thus checked their progress. Carter and 
sixteen of his followers ended in jail, while the rest 
were shipped to Colorado. 

TWENTY-THIRD MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

Neither party was wholly sucessful in the election 
held November 5. 1895. which resulted in the selec- 
tion of Tohn Roberts. Jr., Mayor: Olev Ellingson, An- 



280 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1895 



drew A. Peterson, Richard Bradshaw, and John S. 
Willes, Councilors; John E. Ross, Recorder; Joseph 
A. Thomas, Marshal; and James Harwood, Treas- 
urer. Of this number Peterson, Willes, and Thomas 

were Democrats ; the 
rest were Republicans. 
Thomas John of Provo, 
Attorney; Dr. C. L. Sea- 
bright, Quarantine Phy- 
sician ; and the mayor, 
the quarantine physician, 
and Hyrum L. Baker, a 
Board of Health, were 
some of the appoint- 
ments made by the 
twenty-third coterie of 
city officers. The only 
change occurring in the 
personnel of the admin- 
istration was the resig- 
nation of Thomas John 
and the appointment of 
Stephen AW Ross as At- 
torney when the latter returned from England. 

The City Council now made an effort to erect a 
new city hall. First it sold the lot in the northern 
part of town over which there had been so much dis- 
pute previously, when the building of a jail was con- 
templated, and endeavored to buy all the property 
near the newly-erected jail. That is as far as the 
project advanced, however. 




JOHN ROBERTS, JR. 

Fourteenth Mayor of Lchi 

(1895-1897, 1903-1905) 



1896-1897] PROSPERITY. 281 

LEHI CELEBRATES STATEHOOD. 

When, on January 4, 1896, it was learned that Utah 
had reached her long- sought goal of Statehood, Lehi 
celebrated in fitting style the auspicious event. The 
firing of guns, ringing of bells, and blowing of whis- 
tles characterized the first part of the celebration, 
while an enthusiastic public assembly expressed con- 
gratulations over the induction of the forty-fifth 
State into the Union. 

TWENTY-FOURTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The chief issue in the twenty-fourth civic election 
was prohibition, the Democrats declaring for the com- 
plete abolition of the liquor traffic, while the Repub- 
licans proposed high license and strict regulation as 
the proper solution of the prob'em. At the polls, on 
November 3, the Democrats elected their whole 
ticket with one exception: John S. Willes, Mayor; 
Andrew A. Peterson. James Allred. Samuel Taylor, 
George H. Smith, and George Glover, Councilors; 
Edward Southwick, Recorder: Joseph A. Thomas, 
Marshal : and Thomas F. Trane, Treasurer. Samuel 
Taylor was the only Republican member of this ad- 
ministration. The principal appointments were David 
J. Thurman, Attorney: and Dr. C. L. Seabright, 
Quarantine Physician. 

Some changes occurred during the two years this 
set of officers held their positions. Dr. R. E. Steele 
succeeded Dr. C. L. Seabright as Quarantine Phy- 
sician : George Zimmerman accepted George Glover's 
place as Councilor because of the absence of the lat- 



282 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



11898 



ter on a mission ; and Prime Evans became Attorney 
when David J. Thnrman resigned. 

Early in 1899, the City Council sold the Kelly lot, 
which, although bought for a public park, had never 
been used as -such, and utilized the proceeds of the 
sale in improving the city cemetery. 



ELECTRICITY REACHES LEHI. 

In the spring of 1899, the Lehi City Council entered 
into negotiations with Christian Garff concerning the 

proposed erection of a 
power plant at the 
month of American 
Fork Canyon, which 
could be utilized for fur- 
nishing power to Lehi, 
American Fork, and 
Pleasant Grove. The 
enterprise was possible 
providing the three 
cities would subscribe 
for a portion of the 
stock. Then began a 
series of meetings be- 
tween the promoters 
and city officials which 
finally culminated in the 
organization, on August 
2, of the Utah County 
Light and Power Com- 
pany. Mayor Willes and Councilor Samuel Taylor 
were Lehi's representatives in this transaction. Lehi 




JOHN S. WILLES, 
Fifteenth Mayor of Lehi (1897-1899). 



1899] 



PROSPERITY. 



283 



became the owner of $6,000.00 worth of stock, which 
was paid for by means of a special bond election in 
September. For the right of way on the city streets, 
the power company furnished electric lights at all the 




SEGO LILY SCHOOL HOL* 



principal corners, and when the electricity finally 
reached Lehi early the next spring, the electric 
streets presented an extremely pleasing appearance. 



SPANISH WAR HEROES. 

August 19 saw the city arrayed in holiday attire to 
welcome home three Lehi volunteers who had served 
in the Utah Battery in the Philippines — Richard L. 
Bush, Philip Dallimore, and Abner Harris. These 
men had volunteered in April, 1898, were mustered 




SPANISH WAR VOLUNTEERS. 

Frederics L. Racker, Philip Dallimore, 

Azer R. Briggs, Abner Harris, Richard L. Bush, 

William C. Herron, John Darling. 



1899] PROSPERITY. 285 

into service at Fort Douglas on May 9, left Salt Lake 
City for San Francisco on May 20, and arrived in 
Manila, July 17. With the Utah volunteers they per- 
formed valiant and able service against the Spaniards 
in Manila and the surrounding country. Serving side 
by side with regular soldiers, the Utah Batteries ac- 
quitted themselves with such bravery and distinction 
that their reputation spread throughout the whole 
country. Of them it is said, "In an army where all 
were heroes the men of Utah made for themselves a 
conspicuous name. They earned it, for they never 
retreated, never lost a battle or a flag, never started 
for the foe that they did not scatter it as the wind 
scatters the chaff from the threshing floor." Serv- 
ing with distinction until the late summer of 1899, the 
Utah volunteers reached San Francisco and were 
mustered out of service on August 16. After their 
reception in Salt Fake City three days later, Lehi 
gave her returning sons a welcome that has never 
been paralleled in her annals. A City Council appro- 
priation, contributions by the citizens, and the most 
intense enthusiasm helped to furnish a fitting tribute 
to the returning heroes. 

All three Lehi volunteers had made enviable names 
for themselves in the Utah contingent, and Richard 
L. Bush had been promoted to the rank of corporal 
for distinguished services. 

Besides the three who had served in the Philippines 
with the Utah Batteries. Lehi had other sons who 
had volunteered for and had seen service in the war 
•with Spain. Upon three different occasions Frederick 
Racker enlisted as a volunteer. The first time, he 



286 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1899 

had expected to go to Cuba, but his regiment had 
only been used for guard duty. Upon the second 
enlistment, he served in the Philippines with the 
Twenty-fourth Infantry until compelled by sickness 
to return home. His last enlistment was in tne reg- 
ular army with the Twenty-ninth Infantry at Fort 
I )ouglas. 

Another son of Lehi had served in the Wyoming- 
Light Artillery — John Darling. Enlisting in 1898, 
Darling did not reach Lehi until several years after 
the mustering out of the others. 

Azer R. Briggs and William C. Herron were two 
others who entered the army to right their country's 
battles. Sworn in at Fort Douglas, July 23, 1899, they 
reached Manila. October 11. and immediately were 
assigned to General Lawton's division. With this 
leader the)- participated in sixteen months of active 
service, principally against the rebel Filipino general, 
Aguinaldo. Ofttimes they suffered extreme hardships, 
and on one occasion both were compelled to remain 
a number of days in the hospital. Sailing from Ma- 
nila in February, 1901, they were mustered out of ser- 
vice in San Francisco, April 17, and reached Lehi 
three days later. 

TWENTY-FIFTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The verdict of the voters on November 7, 1899, 
was that the previous Democratic administration of 
prohibition had not been successful, so they showed 
their disapproval of that party by electing the Re- 
publican ticket on a platform which declared for the 
former policv of high license and strict regulation. 



lsyyj 



PROSPERITY 



287 



That ticket was as follows: Mosiah Evans, Mayor: 
Samuel Taylor, William Bone, Elias A. Bushman, 
George Austin, and Richard Bradshaw. Councilors; 
James E. Ross, Recorder : J. X. Butt, Marshal ; and 
Stephen W. Ross, Justice. The principal appoint- 
ments of the City Council were Prime Evans, Attor- 
ney; Dr. R. E. Steele, Quarantine Physician; and 
Hyrum Timothy, Policeman. 

In the following" November, Mayor Evans was 
elected to the State 
Legislature, so he re- 
signed his position as 
chief executive of Lehi. 
George Austin was ap- 
pointed to succeed him, 
while Joseph S. Broad- 
bent took the vacant 
place thus created in the 
City Council. Still other 
changes occurred in this 
administration — the ap- 
pointment of John V. 
Smith as Attorney be- 
cause of the death of 
Prime Evans, July 8, 
1901, and the selection 
of Joel Mears as Coun- 
cilor in place of Richard 
Bradshaw. who had moved away. 

It was the twenty-fifth City Council which took 
the initial steps to provide the city with a fire de- 
partment. It purchased a number of ropes, buckets. 




MOSIAH EVANS, 

Sixteenth Mayor of Lehi 

(1899-1900, 1902-1903) 



288 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1900 



and ladders as equipment, sent a committee to Pay- 
son and Eureka to study the fire departments exist- 
ing- there, and by ordinance created a fire department 
in Lehi. Later a small engine was purchased. 

THE CITY PARK. 

The City Council purchased from John Beck, in 
July, 1900, a lot near the Denver and Rio Grande sta- 
tion to use as a city park. Already the property was 
admirably adapted for the purpose, a thick growth of 




CITY PAVILION. 



young trees covering part of it. Immediately the 
council began the task of improving the ground, and 
in this work the citizens were requested to share. 
Public holidays were declared and men and boys 



1900J PROSPERITY. 289 

gave their work free while the women prepared lunch 
for them. In this way a fence was built around the 
grounds, a baseball diamond laid out, a grand stand 
constructed, and a floor laid for dancing. By July 24 
the park was in such shape that the first celebration 
could be held there. The construction of the pavilion 
was a later undertaking, in charge of R, John Whip- 
ple. Both the park and the pavilion have performed 
yeoman service since. Most of the dances have been 
held in the pavilion, while the baseball diamond has 
witnessed many interesting exhibitions of the great 
national game. The park has also served for reunions, 
encampments, and athletic carnivals. 

EMIGRATION. 

Lehi had in the past been very seriously involved, 
with the problem of immigration, but about this time 
arose a different kind of problem — that of emigra- 
tion. Large numbers of Lehi people now left their 
old homes and moved to other parts of the West, most 
of them going to Canada. It was not dissatisfaction 
which impelled them to go, but rather the belief that 
greater opportunities existed in newer countries. 
Several towns in the province of Alberta owe a large 
part of their growth and population to this exodus 
from Lehi — notably Magrath and Raymond. 

But Canada was not the only country in which 
Lehi people found a new home. Mexico, especially 
the State of Sonora. claimed many of these new pio- 
neers. Idaho also received a great number. In ad- 
dition, various towns in Utah obtained an influx of 
population from this move. 
20 



290 HISTORY OF LEI 1 1. Liyoi 

vThus with the sugar business and this exodus. Lehi 
can well claim to have children scattered over the 
entire West. 

LEHI MERCANTILE COMPANY. 

In 1901 a number of Lehi business men, together 
with investors from southern Utah, bought out the 
mercantile business of Louis Garff, and established 
the Lehi Mercantile Company in the Garff Building. 
Abel John Evans and James H. Gardner were the 
principal promoters of the new concern, and John L. 
Snow was the hrst manager. The company was able 
at first to enjoy a lucrative business, but later years 
saw it unprofitable. The store closed its doors in 
1907. 

TWENTY-SIXTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The result of the election of November 5, 1901, was 
the success of the Republican ticket, with two excep- 
tions. The Democrats had combined with the So- 
cialists and won the Recorder and Marshal, of whom 
the latter was a Socialist. The new officers were: 
George Austin. Mayor; James H. Gardner, James 
ITarwood, Joel Mears, William Bone, Jr., and Samuel 
Taylor, Councilors: Sarah T. Evans. Recorder; 
Henry East, Marshal: John T. Roberts, Treasurer; 
and Stephen AM Ross, Justice. The council ap- 
pointed John Y. Smith. Attorney; Dr. R. E. Steele. 
Quarantine Physician; and M. \Y. Tngalls, Chief of 
Fire Department. 

Only two changes were made in the twenty-sixth 
administration. Having been elected to the State 
Legislature. Mayor Austin resigned and Mosiah 



1902] 



PROSPERITY. 



291 




Evans was chosen in his 
place. Later John T. 
Winn became Recorder 
when Mrs. Evans re- 
signed. 

The chief efforts of 
this administration were 
directed to improving 
the efficiency of the 
newly created fire de- 
partment. Accordingly 
a building was erected 
on Main Street, adjoin- 
ing the City Hall, in 
which to keep the . en- 
gine, hose, and other 
equipment. The coun- 
cil also placed two wa- 
ter cisterns on Main 

Street, one near the City Hall and one on First West. 
to be used in fighting fire. The final act was the ac- 
ceptance of approximately fifty volunteer firemen. 
The department has on numerous occasions been 
extremely useful in saving the threatened property 
of the citizens. 

COTTER'S GROCERY. 

In 1902, J. E. Cotter purchased the stock of Rob- 
inson's "Corner Grocery," and with additions opened 
a grocery store for business on Main Street. In 1910 
he built a brick store on Main and Center Streets, 
and moved his goods there. His business has been 
a profitable one since. 



ORGE AUSTIN. 

Mayor of Lehi (1900-190.; 



CHAPTER XIX. 

Modern Lehi 



THE twentieth century dawned upon a thriving, 
prosperous city which had grown from the seeds 
planted on Dry Creek five decades previously. Fifty 
years had worked marvelous changes. The old Lehi 
had known only hardship and suffering, the new re- 
joiced in peace and comfort ; the old was oft con- 
fronted with starvation, the new lived in peace and 
even luxury; the old knew what it meant to be threat- 
ened with danger from savage men and savage beasts, 
the new experienced only safety and security; the old 
endured all manner of makeshifts and inconveniences 
in its daily life, the new utilized the manifold appli- 
ances and inventions of a highly developed modern 
science. Yet the old was not surpassed by the new 
in its patriotism and love for its home. 

The growth of Lehi from the beginning of the cen- 
tury to the present has been of a kind with its previ- 
ous advancement — -steady, consistent, unceasing. 
Nothing has marred its development ; much has aided 
it. Today, also, this progress is in evidence, and is cer- 
tain to continue in the future. 

THE PUMPING STATION. 

Two successive seasons of drought, in 1900 and 1901, 
in Salt Lake County, led the farmers there to investi- 



294 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1902 

gate new methods for securing additional water for 
irrigation to prevent the increasing diminuition in 
crops and the corresponding drop in land values. The 
Jordan River had been the source of water supply; 
but now it was furnishing only one-fourth enough 
water. In a previous season of drought. Bishop Arch- 
ibald Gardner, of ^*est Jordan, had suggested the ad- 
visability of pumping water into the river and thus 
increasing the supply. His son. James H. Gardner, 
now took this idea up with Angus M. Cannon, presi- 
dent of one of the Salt Lake County canals, who in 
turn presented it to the Board of Canal Presidents, 
the body which regulated irrigation affairs in the 
county. After prolonged discussion and considera- 
tion, the scheme was adopted, and bids were opened 
for the installation of the pumps at the head of the 
Jordan on Utah Lake, four miles west of Lehi. James 
H. Gardner and M. W. Ingalls, of Lehi, secured this 
contract. 

Building operations began June 21. 1902, and in 
the ensuing two months four pumps were installed. 
They were 48-inch Byron Jackson centrifugal pumps, 
capable of delivering 400 cubic feet of water per sec- 
ond, or approximately 3,000 gallons. They were 
driven by four 100-horse-power motors. 

On August 19. two of the pumps were put into 
operation and immediately the flow of the river in- 
creased from 40 to 200 second feet of water. Although 
the additional supply from the pumps came so late in 
the season that it was not available for crops, yet the 
project had been proven a success and the farmers 
looked with hope to the next season. They were not 



1V02J 



MODERN LEHI. 



295 



disappointed. The summer of 1903 saw the river, by 
aid of the pumps, able to supply Salt Lake County 
farms with all the water needed. The pumping 
scheme was so successful that much new land was 
brought under cultivation and the necessity for more 
pumps created. 

In 1905, another pump was installed, and in 1907, 
two more. All were of the same size as the first four. 




LARGEST MOTOR AND PUMP AT 



RD AN PUMPING STATION. 



Finally, in 1911, the eighth and last pump was placed 
in operation. This was a 60-inch centrifugal pump, 
driven by a 250-horse-power motor and capable of 
delivering 1,600 gallons per second. 

The entire plant now has a capacity of 700,000,000 



2% HISTORY OF LEHI. [1903 

gallons of water every twenty-four hours. It is be- 
lieved to be the largest pumping plant in the world. 
As an investment, the station has proved to be in- 
valuable. The good to the farmers which lias directly 
resulted from its establishment cannot be estimated.* 

TWEXTV SEVENTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The officers chosen November 3. 1903. to have 
charge of the affairs of the city for the ensuing two 
years were all Republicans except the Justice, who 
was a Democrat: Mayor. John Roberts. Jr.; William 
Bone. Councilor for four year term ; Thomas Webb, 
George L. Comer, George Beck, and Edward Karren, 
Councilors for two year term : John T. Winn, Re- 
corder : T. J. Wadsworth, Treasurer: J. Newburn 
Butt. Marshal : and Eli Kendall, Justice. The new 
council appointed James Brown. Road Supervisor; 
Dr. R. E. Steele. Quarantine Physician, and George 
Hammer. Fire Chief. Later John Y. Smith received 
the appointment as Attorney, but after his resignation 
he was succeeded by Stephen W. Ross. 

The cities of Utah County now undertook a second 
revision and printing of the city ordinances. Conn- 
ci'or William Bone, Jr., was the representative of Lehi 
in this work: $500.00 was appropriated to defray the 
expenses incurred. 

This City Council also endeavored to effect an ex- 



:: Average precipitation at the pumping plant, by months, from 
1904 to 1912 inc 



Jan 


Feb. 


Mar. 
1.57 


Apr. Maj June | July ] Aug. < Sept Oct. 
l.tio 1.97 0.35 1.08 1.42 165 1.57 


Nov. Dee. 
1.00 1.44 


Total 
16 13 


1.17 


1.26 



Elevation 4.500 feet. 



MODERN LEH1. 



297 



change with the School Board, giving the jail lot for 
the old Biesinger lot. The deal was not consum- 
mated, however. 

RACKER MERCANTILE COMPANY 

Upon his return from a mission to Denmark, Wil- 
liam E. Racker entered into negotiations with the 
People's Co-operative Institution for the purchase of 
their branch store on Main Street, which was now a 
commodious, modern structure. Finally the deal was 




PRIMARY SCHOOL BUILDING. 

consummated and the Racker Mercantile Company 
opened its doors for business, in 1905. The enterprise 
has prospered and at different times has been enlarged 
until today it is a nourishing business, handling all 
kinds of merchandise. 



298 HISTORY OF LEHI. U9os 

PRIMARY SCHOOL HOUSE. 

This same year the School Board, urged by the 
overcrowded condition of the school houses, especially 
in the lower grades, began the construction of a new 
building on the corner of Center Street and Second 
North. It was for the use of the beginning classes 
and was therefore called the Primary Building. 
Erected at a cost of $30,000.00, and containing eight 
rooms, with all the modern conveniences, it is a credit 
both to the progressiveness of the city and the stand- 
ard of its education. 

TWENTY-EIGHTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The Republican party was again successful in car- 
rying the city election on November 7, 1905 : Thomas 
Webb, Mayor; Councilors (hold over), William Bone, 
Jr. (four year term), Samuel I. Goodwin (two year 
term), John D. Woodhouse, Henry Lewis, and Parley 
Austin; Marshal, George Evans; Recorder, John T. 
Winn; Treasurer. T. J. Wadsworth; and Justice, 
Samuel Taylor. Appointments were: Stephen W. 
Ross, Attorney; George A. Wall, Street Supervisor; 
George Hammer, Fire Chief: and John D. Wood- 
house, Policeman — the last named resigning his office 
as Councilor to accept the position. Mathias Peter- 
son succeeded him. 

Ill fortune seemed to pursue the office of marshal 
during this administration, causing many changes. 
Marshal George Evans died, February 26, 1906, and 
John D. Woodhouse took up his duties. After a 
year's service, Woodhouse resigned and Robert Tay- 
lor was chosen to fill the place. While hunting rabbits, 



1906J 



MODERN LEHI. 



299 



July 19, 1907, near Lehi, Marshal Taylor was killed 
by the accidental discharge of his gun, and all Lehi 
mourned his death. Edmund Fowler was the fourth 
incumbent of the office during the administration. 

As an experiment, the City Council, in connection 
with the Lehi Irrigation Company, drove a three-inch 
well, during the summer of 1906, on Third East be- 
tween Second and Third , 
North Streets. The well 
reached a depth of 569 
feet and discharged 
about 75 gallons of 
water per minute. It was 
used in sprinkling the 
streets. 

BUSINESS GROWTH. 

There began now in 
Lehi a definite era of 
business growth. Not 
only did the established 
business houses experi- 
ence prosperous times. 
but many new concerns 
were founded and start 
ed likewise upo:i a suc- 
cessful career. Among these can be mentioned the 
Bank of Lehi, the Mount Pickle factory, the Lehi 
Roller Mills, and the Standard Knitting Company. 

The Bank of Lehi was first established in the Ross 
Building on Main Street, in 1906, as a branch of the 
Bank of American Fork. Only one Lehi man, James 
H. Gardner, was on the board of directors. George 




THOMAS WEBB, 

ighteentb Mavor of Lehi 

190S-1909. 



300 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1906 

X. Child was the first cashier. Lehi soon demon- 
strated its ability to support two banks, for the new- 
institution was unusually successful. In 1912, a reor- 
ganization of the bank occurred. It became a state 
bank under the name of the State Bank of Lehi, and 
the capitalization was set as $25,000.00. Lehi stock- 
holders now secured the majority of stock and the 
control of the board of directors. Edward Southwick, 
James H. Gardner, Morgan Evans, Dr. H. G. Hol- 
brook, William E. Racker, and W. S. Evans were 
among the most active in effecting this change. 

The factory of the Mount Pickle Company was es- 
tablished as a result of a thorough canvass among the 
farmers of Lehi in which the latter pledged themselves 
to raise sufficient cucumbers to justify the erection 
of a salting plant. For a short time each season, 
cucumbers are received and taken through the pre- 
liminary stages of pickling. Much benefit has accrued 
to Lehi people as a result of the erection of the fac- 
tory. 

Because the farmers of Lehi had been compelled to 
take their grain elsewhere since the cessation of the 
Mulliner mill, the need of a roller mill in the citv be- 
came strongly evident. Various efforts had been 
made to promote new projects but without success. 
Finally, in 1905. a number of business men formed the 
Lehi Roller Mill Company and erected a thoroughly 
equipped, modern mill on the road to the sugar fac- 
tory, a short distance east of the city. It is electrically 
operated. Among its first officers were John Y. 
Smith. Samuel I. Goodwin, Thomas Webb, James H. 
Gardner, and Abel John Evans. In 1910, the company 



1906J 



MODERN LEHI. 



301 

mill 



sold its holdings to George G. Robinson. Th 
lias been operated since under his management. 

The Standard Knitting Company endeavored to 
produce at home those articles of wearing apparel for 




LEHI ROLLER MILLS. 

which money had been sent outside. In this en- 
deavor a full equipment of knitting machinery was in- 
stalled in the Kirkham building on First East Street 
and a full line of knit goods produced. James AT. 
Kirkham was the first manager. 

COMMERCIAL CLUB. 

In the promotion of these enterprises much credit 
was due to a club which had been formed some years 
before — the Commercial Club. It was organized in 
1905 for the purpose of creating a medium whereby 



302 HISTORY OF LEHI. [1906 

the business interests of Lehi could be forwarded, new 
industries fostered, and the products of the eity well 
advertised. Incidentally it furnished social diversion. 
George Austin was the first president of the society. 
At first the club rooms were in the Utah Banking 
Building on State Street, but in 1911 they were trans- 
ferred to the Ross Building on Main Street. The club 
has effected much good in the city's commercial life 
and has been a substantial aid to its general progress. 

THE LEHI HIGH SCHOOL. 

Although a ninth grade course had been given to 
fifteen students by ( t. X. Child, in 1902, and a continu- 
ation of their work had followed the next year, yet it 
was not until 1906 that this higher educational work- 
came to be called a high school. James M. Anderson 
had taught these advance grades after the first year, 
but in 1906 he moved to Salt Lake City and W. Karl 
Hopkins, a graduate of the University of Utah, was 
engaged as principal of the Lehi High School. In 1908. 
a class was graduated from three years' work and the 
following year the first fourth year class received 
diplomas of graduation. Classes have been graduated 
every year since. In 1910, the High School came 
under the administration of the Alpine School Dis- 
trict, whose board purchased the Central School 
House and used it exclusively for high school work. 
Its growth since has been phenomenally rapid. In 
1913, the High School consisted of 151 students and 
seven teachers. 

The High School students have been an important 
factor in the social life of the city, and are responsible 
for interesting and beneficial athletic diversion during 



1907] MODERN LEHI. 303 

the winter and spring- months. The people of Lehi 
are proud of their High School and accord it then- 
earnest support. 

TWENTY-NINTH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

With the exception of one Democratic councilor, 
the Republicans had a clean sweep in the twenty- 
ninth election of city officers, observed November 7, 
1907: Thomas Webb, Mayor; Councilors, (hold 
over), Samuel I. Goodwin, (four year term). Joseph 
W. Goates. Democrat, (two year term), Jonas Holds- 
worth. Le Roy Lott, and Henry Lewis ; Recorder, 
George A. Goates; Treasurer, John T. Winn; Mar- 
shal, J. Newburn Butt; and Justice, Samuel Taylor. 
The appointive offices were distributed as follows: 
George Webb, Road Supervisor; George Hammer. 
Fire Chief; Abel John Evans, Attorney; Dr. .Walter 
T. Hasler, Quarantine Physician, and Charles C. 
Trane, Policeman. The only change occurring in 
this administration was the resignation of Marshal 
Butt and the appointment of Henry East in his place. 

PIONEER MONUMENT. 

The fort wall had gradually fallen or been torn 
down until, in 1905. only one vestige of it remained 
on the south-west corner of the Primary School lot. 
When it became necessary to destroy this, a little 
sentiment was aroused over the passing of such a 
land mark without suitable commemoration. Noth- 
ing came of it. however, until 1908. when two men 
who had become interseted in the matter, through 
their connection with the School Board, W. S. Evans 
and Andrew Fjeld. called a mass meeting of the citi- 




riOXEER MONUMENT. 



[908] 



M( )DERN LEHI. 



305 



/ens. The upshot of this and a subsequent assembly 
was the appointment of the Lehi Pioneer Committee. 
consisting of W. S. Evans, Andrew Fjeld, Martin B. 
Bushman, George X. Child, Hamilton Gardner, and 
A. B. Anderson. 

The committee now offered a suitable prize for the 
best design for a monument ; it was won by the Elias 
Morris Company, of Salt Lake. The memorial was 
erected in November, 1908; the base of Utah granite 




LF.UI PIONEER COMMITTEE. 



George N. Child, 
Hamilton Gardner, 



Andrew Fjeld, 
\V. S. Evans, 



Anders. in, 

!. Bushman 



and the shaft of Vermont granite. It is 16 feet in 
height. On the sides of the base are a plan of the old 
fort, the raised inscriptions — "Fort Wall" and "Lehi 
Pioneers," and the following items of history — "Lehi 

21 



306 J US TORY OF LEHI. luos 

settled, 1850; organized as a ward, 1851, David Evans, 
first bishop; incorporated as a city, February 5, 1852, 
Silas P. Barnes, first mayor. Erected 1908." 

Thanksgiving Day, November 26, was the date of 
the unveiling of the monument. A holiday had been 
declared and invitations sent out to many of the pio- 
neers of the city. Many of these, indeed, attended the 
meeting in the Tabernacle and the later exercises at 
the monument. The principal features of the pro- 
gram were an oration by David Evans, Jr., and the 
unveiling of the monument by Mrs. Azubia D. Cox 
Hardwick, the first child born in Lehi; she was as- 
sisted by H. M. Royle, the first boy born on Dry 
Creek. 

'Idie monument stands in a conspicuous place on 
the school lot on the north line of the fort, just 2d 
rods from the north-east corner. It is a fitting 
tribute to the work of the hardy pioneers who found- 
ed and built the city. 

CITY WATER WORKS. 

The question of an adequate water supply had long 
been a vexing one to the citizens of Lehi. Depend- 
ing upon artesian and surface wells, they had experi- 
enced much dissatisfaction and not a little danger. 
When the movement for a city water system began, 
therefore, they were heartily in favor of it. The first 
project was to unite with American Fork and secure 
a supply of water from Grove Springs, near Alpine. 
On investigation, however, it was found that this 
water was neither of suitable quality nor of sufficient 
quantity to supply the two cities. 

The City of Alpine now proposed another scheme 



1908] 



MODERN LEHi. 



3< v 



— it should unite with Lehi in the installation of a 
system from School House Springs. A committee 
from the Commercial Club, consisting of James H. 
Gardner, Andrew Fjeld, and Abel John Evans, met 
with the City Council and urged them to investigate 
this plan. On June 9, 1908, the City Council and the 
Commercial Club committee made a trip to Alpine 



I: 








IBg? 


HHmnu, : ; •>■ :, 


i 


"ill 


je!~" 









MAIN STREET (Looking East). 

and after investigating the springs, held a meeting 
with the Alpine City Council and offered them 
$8,000.00 for five-sixths of the stream, the offer to 
be subject to the citizens of Lehi. 

In July, a special meeting of the tax payers was held 
to discuss this proposed plan. The result was the 
sanctioning of the action of the council and the au- 
thorization of a water system. Furthermore, in a 



308 HISTORY OF LEHI. U""s 

special bond election, on September 21, the people, by 
a decisive majority, authorized the issuing- of $26,- 
500.00 in water bonds to install the system. The last 
step in preparation for actual work came with the 
agreement with the City of Alpine and the Alpine 
Irrigation Company whereby Lehi was to secure five- 
sixths of the water from School House Springs for 
$8,000.00, and in addition Lehi was to pipe the entire 
stream to Movie's Hill where the division would be 
made. The council now hired Richard R. Lyman to 
work out the details of the system and direct the 
installation. 

The summer of 1009 saw the work on the system 
in full blast. Under the supervision of W. S. Evans, 
drain pipes were placed in all the outlets at School 
House Springs, and by a system of deep cross-cutting 
trenches, the water was brought into one channel. 
A weir for the division of the water was already being 
built at Moyle's Hill. From here it was conducted 
by pipe line across the bench to a settling tank just 
north of Lehi. This has a capacity of 320,000 gallons 
and is built of concrete. Other gangs of men put in 
a system of conduits along the city streets, and before 
many months had elapsed the water was in the homes 
of the citizens. 

The water works has been a boon to the people of 
Lehi. Tt is inexpensive, sanitary, and plentiful, and 
gives a distinct value to the city's claim as a desirable 
residence town. 

LEGISLATION BY THE CITY COUNCIL. 

A prohibition wave now struck Utah and found 
echo in the action of various cities in Utah County. 



Ml >DERN LEI II. 



309 



As a preliminary step, the city councils of Lehi, Amer- 
ican Fork, and Pleasant Grove decided to allow the 
licenses of liquor dealers to expire by Febraury 1. 
1910. Before this agreement was put in effect, the 
councils of all cities in the county agreed, in a meeting 




•OURTH WARD CHAPEL. 



held in Provo in July, 1909, to adopt common legisla- 
tion which would terminate the saloons by the first of 
the following year. After a protracted session, the 
Lehi City Council adopted this ordinance on Septem- 
ber 14. 

The exchange of lots with the School Board, which 
the City Council had tried to make several years previ- 
ously, was completed in 1909. Through it the city 
came into possession of the lot on Center and First 



310 HISTORY OF LEHI. [uw 

North and the School Board became the new owners 
of the jail lot. The old jail was torn down at once 
and a larger and better one erected on the new city 
property. 

A second special bond election, held July 26, au- 
thorized the city to bond for $21,000.00, of which 
$8,000.00 was to be spent on the water works and the 
remainder for funding a floating indebtedness. 

The last official act of the council was the sale of 
the 12,000 shares of Utah County Light and Power 
stock to meet their later obligations. At various 
times the city had increased its holdings in this com- 
pany until it totalled the number mentioned, but now 
it was deemed advisable to apply their value in help- 
ing the installation of the water works. 

THIRTIETH MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 

The thirtieth election of city officers was the most 
spirited the people had witnessed for some years. 
The prohibition question was one cause, the Demo- 
crats declaring explicitly for abolition of the saloons 
and accusing the Republicans of evading the question. 
Another reason was the internal trouble in the Re- 
publican ranks. There had been a bitter fight for the 
nomination for mayor, and this had the effect of split- 
ting the party on election day, November 2, 1909. 
The result was a complete Democratic victory, with 
the exception of one councilor and the recorder: 
Mayor, Edward Southwick; Councilors, (hold over), 
Joseph W. Goates, (four year term), William F. Gur- 
ney, (two year term). George G. Webb, R. John 
Whipple, and James Cough (Republican) ; Recorder, 



1909] 



MODERN LEI IT. 



311 



George A. Goates; Treasurer, John Stoker; and Jus- 
tice, Eli Kendall. 

The appointments made by the council included 
Henry East, Marshal — (The last Legislature had 
made the marshal an appointive instead of an elective 
office); Abel John Evans, Attorney; George Schow, 
Road Supervisor; Dr. Walter T. Hasler, Quarantine 
Physician, and William J. Gurnev. Night Police. 
Later the position of Superintendent of Water Works 
was created and George 
A. Goates designated as 
the first incumbent. 
Changes in this admin- 
istration were few — the 
resignation of Police- 
man Gurnev and the ap- 
pointment of George 
Wing, and the resigna- 
tion of Treasurer Sto- 
ker, who was succeeded 
by Ephraim J. Child. 

Among the notable 
acts of this City Council 
wns the passing of an 
ordinance which com- 
pelled all drug stores, 
soda fountains, and can- 
dy stores to close their 
places of business on Sunday. As public sentiment 
seemed to view such an action as entirely too strict, 
it was later modified. 

The last Legislature had extended the bonding 




EDWARD SOUTHWICK, 

Nineteenth Mavor of Lehi, 

1909-1911. 



312 



HISTORY OF LEIir. 



[1910 



limit of cities, so at a third special election, held April 
11. 1911, the city increased its bonded indebtedness to 
$25,000.00. 



PUBLIC LIBRARY. 



Near the close of 1910, the City Council established 
a public library and reading" room in the Senate Build- 
ing on Main Street. Securing- the books of the Mu- 
tual Improvement library, and adding to them some 




AMMAN! SCHOOL BUILDING 



others contributed by interested citizens, the library 
was able to make available a valuable set of books to 
the public A librarian is in charge of the reading 
room which is opened at convenient hours on all week 
(lavs. 



1910] MODERN LEHI. 313 

GRAMMAR SCHOOL BUILDING. 

The summer of 1910 witnessed the erection of the 
latest of Lehi"s excellent system of public school 
building's — the Grammar School building - . It was built 
on the jail lot secured from the city one year before 
at a cost of $30,000.00. Ohran & Fjeld were the 
contractors in charge of the construction. The build- 
ing is of white, pressed brick and contains eight 
rooms. A modern heating plant with which to heat 
both this building and the adjoining Primary build- 
ing was also erected. 

HOME COMING WEEK. 

Sufficient time had now elapsed that Lehi's sons 
and daughters had been scattered all over the Inter- 
mountain West, and they had been away long enough 
that a visit to the old home would be highly desirable. 
Many people had privately and unofficially spoken of 
a "Home Coming Week.'* but it remained for the City 
Council, on December 27. 1910, to take the initial 
action. This was the appointment of a committee to 
direct the affair, consisting of Mayor Edward South- 
wick. Councilor Joseph W. Coates. Bishop James H. 
Gardner, Bishop Andrew Fjeld, Dr. Horace G. Hol- 
brook. and W. S. Evans, with James M. Kirkham. 
secretary. The committee met shortly afterward and 
organized their work thoroughly. Immediately a 
widespread publicity campaign was launched, letters 
being sent to every former citizen of Lehi of whom 
any trace could be found. The Home Coming week- 
was set for June 5 to 11. 

Several days before the actual program was to com- 
mence, visitors began making their appearance, and 



314 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



[1911 



by Monday, June 5, the hospitality of the city was 
crowded to its limit. Former residents of the town, rel- 
atives and friends, came in numbers which exceeded 
even the most sanguine hopes of the committee. But 
all were made welcome, not only by personal greet- 
ing, but by the- decorations of the streets, residences, 
and business houses of the city. Blue and white had 
been chosen as the official colors of the celebration, 
and they were used profusely. 

A "Get-Acquainted" meeting on Monday afternoon 




STATE STREET (Looking East). 



inaugurated a most successful week of entertainment. 
Then followed every day some special feature in- 
tended to make the visit of the guests a pleasant one, 
and increase their regret that thev had moved away 



1911] MODERN LEHI. 315 

from the city. Old-fashioned dances, evenings with 
friends, opportunities to discuss reminiscences and 
memories of the past, and a general renewal of old 
friendships characterized the Home Coining celebra- 
tion. One meeting was attended by Governor Wil- 
liam Spry, while President Joseph F. Smith, of the 
Latter-day Saints, was the guest at another. The 
whole program was carried through with unusual 
success. 

The Home Coming week furnished an opportunity 
for many people to see again those old friends from 
whom they had long been separated and whose ac- 
quaintance they valued most highly. Sons and daugh- 
ters of Lehi came to their home again from all parts 
of the "West. Many of them had participated in the 
stirring times which accompanied Lehi's foundation, 
and now they had gone to other parts of the country, 
playing again the part of pioneers and path-finders. 
The visit of these old veterans was a distinct benefit 
to Lehi, both because it gave her an opportunity to 
honor those whose work had built her up, and because 
she could show that their efforts had not been in vain. 
Altogether the Home Coming was a supreme success. 

AGRICULTURAL DEVELOPMENT. 

The summer of 1911 witnessed a new kind of agri- 
cultural work in full blast. This was the process of 
drv-farming. Since 1851. the farmers had irrigated 
their lands to grow cereals, but modern agricultural 
science had now brought a new method to light — the 
production of grain without irrigation. The land west 
of the Jordan River was found especially adaptable to 



316 



HISTORY OF LEHf. 



this kind of farming", so what had once been nothing 
but a sage brush tract was now covered with arid 




PLANT OF UTAH LAK] 



\ COMPANY, 



wheat. The lands around the Point of the Mountain. 
and on the bench north and west of Lehi. which had 
long" been unused, were now also made to produce 
bounteous crops of golden grain. 

But development had not stopped here. Both the 
bench land on the north and the land west of the Jor- 
dan was now brought under canals by the Provo Res- 
ervoir Company, and the Utah Take Irrigation Com- 
pany, respectively, making it possible to irrigate most 
of it. Thus the pioneer spirit of old, which "made the 
desert blossom as the rose." was continued in modern 
times. 



l'Ml] 



U< >DERN LEI II. 



317 



THIRTY-FIRST MUNICIPAL ELECTION. 



The thirty-first election for city officers, which was 
held on November 7. 1911, returned the Republicans 
to office, the hold-over councilor being the only Dem- 
ocratic member: Mayor. William E. Racker; Coun- 
cilors (hold-over). William F. Gurney, (four-year 
term) W. Karl Hop- 
kins, (two year term) 
Thomas Webb, Parley 
Austin and George G. 
Robinson; Recorder. 
James F. Fyffe ; Treas- 
urer. Thomas F. Kirk- 
ham : Justice, George 
Webb. The appoint- 
ments made by the 
council included William 
Asher, Attorney : Geo. 
Wing, Marshal; Dr. 
Horace G. Holbrook. 
Quarantine Physician : 
John E. Jones, Night 
Policeman ; G. L. Comer. 
Road Supervisor : and 
George Hammer. Fire 
Chief. Only a few changes occurred during the ad- 
ministration. John Evans succeeded George Wing 
as Marshal, John Zimmerman took Policeman Jones' 
place, and John Cooper filled the vacancy caused by 
George Hammer's resignation as Fire Chief. 




w II 
Twei 



I.IAM E. RACKER, 
lieth Mayor of Lehi, 
1911-1913. 



318 HISTORY OF LEHI. urns 



PAVING OF SIDEWALKS. 

The most notable action of the thirty-first City 
Council was the preparation to pave the side- 
walks of the city. Recognizing that Lehi must take 
such action in order to keep up with modern progress, 
the council divided the city into paving districts and 
solicited bids for the construction of cement walks on 
a'l the principal streets. The work promises to be 
well under way before the close of 1913. 

INTER-URBAN RAILWAY. 

At various times in the past, different promoters 
had secured rights of way through the city, dependent 
upon the immediate commencing of building opera- 
tion^ but none had as yet utilized them. In 1910. 
however, a number of Utah County men, including 
several from Lehi, organized a company to construct 
an electric railway from Payson to Salt Lake City. 
This company has gone through several changes of 
officers and capitalizations until today it is called the 
Salt Lake and Utah Railway. It is proposed to op- 
erate electric passenger trains over the line, as well as 
to handle freight. The road has been surveyed sev- 
eral times, most of the rights of way secured, and grad- 
ing has already begun. The inter-urban will run on 
Third North Street, in Lehi, and wi 1 1 be the third rail- 
way to pass through the city, affording it excellent 
connections with the State capital and other cities. 



CHAPTER XX. 

Today and Tomorrow. 

A SURVEY of her development since 1850 justi- 
fies Lehi in feeling pride for the past, satisfaction 
for the present, and hope for the future. Her record 
is an enviable one: not a single blotch mars its whole 
course. It speaks ever of progress, order, and justice, 
never of lawlessnes. stagnation, and retrogression. 
Every step forward has been natural and logical, be- 
cause it has resulted from the labor of men and 
women who knew how to build firmly and well. 
Growth has been an internal working out of ideals, 
and not a chance external cause. To this can be 
ascribed the steadiness and consistency of Lehi's ad- 
vancement — a past of which her children may always 
be proud. 

Nor need their attitude change when they contem- 
plate the present. Lehi is a fair city to look upon; her 
people are a good people. Her fertile fields, thriving 
mercantile establishments, and teeming factories, be- 
speak the industry in which they are pleased to live. 
On every side can be seen the evidences of prosperity 
and happiness. 

The farmer cultivates his rich land with skill and 
profit, bringing forth crops in an abundance that be- 
lies the possibility of hunger and want. His waving 
fields and broad acres are proof positive of his pros- 
perous condition. The fruit trees, laden to the break- 



320 HISTORY OF LEHI. 

ing point with luscious fruit, bring each year pleasure 
and health to the consumer and profit to the owner of 
the orchards. Nor do the sheep and cattle fail to 
tender their share to the wealth and happiness of 
Lehi's children. 

I'he laborer need not long be idle here.. Factories 
beck him on to turn the wheels of industry and create 
the necessities of life for men and women within a 
radius of many miles. And for their labor and raw- 
materials, the people receive a liberal compensation 
to add to their security against an unknown future. 

As a residence town Lehi gives place to none. Free 
from all the vices of the large cities, she offers the 
dweller within her borders safety from that which is 
undesirable, together with all the advantages of mod- 
ern life. She combines strikingly all the security of 
the country with the desirability of the city. Her ed- 
ucational system compares favorably with any in the 
land. Pure mountain water gushes forth from her 
water system. Her climate is unsurpassed. Three 
railroads place her within easy reach of Salt Lake and 
other sister cities. Her people are desirable neigh- 
bors. Everything is suitable to make Lehi continue 
as one of the favorite residence towns of the West. 

On all sides is opportunity for legitimate pleasure 
and diversion. The canyons nearby, and Utah Lake 
with its wide expanse of shimmering blue, invite the 
camper and tourist to rest, and the contemplation of 
Nature's wondrous beauties. The Saratoga Springs 
offer their healing waters for the benefit and enjoy- 
ment of the visitor. The theatres and places of amuse- 
ment furnish proper and refined pleasure to those 



TODAY AND TOMORROW. 321 

who wish thus to enjoy themselves. The citizens, 
too, whether in dance, party, or private association, 
afford a richness of friendship and sociability unsur- 
passed. So. then, Lehi can well feel satisfaction with 
her present condition. 

But it must be the kind of satisfaction that seeks 
something better, not that kind which stagnates in 
self-sufficiency. The future is colored with a rosy 
outlook for her. It beckons her on to greater pro- 
gress than ever. The duty of her sons and daugh- 
ters is to retain and practice that patriotism for their 
city which characterized the every action of their 
fathers and mothers. Let her honor be their choicest 
possession, her welfare their most immediate desire. 
If so it be, then the future will yet bring forth a 
greater and better Lehi. 



Biographical Section. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



ANDREW R. AXDERSOX. 

Andrew Rasmus Anderson 
was born near the city of Aal- 
borg, Denmark, March 9, 1844. 
He was the only child of Jens 
and Ane C. Anderson, people of 
considerable means and influ- 
ence. 

The family became converts 
of the Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints. Andrew 
R. was baptized a member when 
sixteen years of age, and before 
six months had elapsed, he be- 
came a missionary of the gos- 
pel, preaching in his own land 
with great success. Through his 
efforts he organized a branch of 
the church in the city of Belum. 

In the year 1862 the family 
emigrated to Utah. His father 
was buried in the North Sea, 
but he and his mother arrived 
in October of that year. 

Mr. Anderson settled in Eph- 
raim, Utah, where he was mar- 
ried to Mary Ann Pederson, 
January 1, 1863. Six children 
were born of this marriage. 
Later he married a second wife, 
Nelsina M Anderson, by whom 
eight children were born. 

While in Ephraim he was ac- 
tive in defending the homes and 



property of the people against 
the Indians. He took part in 
all the engagements and expe- 
ditions in the Black Hawk War 
in that section. 

Mr. Anderson moved to Lehi 
in the year 1870, where he has 
since resided. He procured some 
of the choice lands of Utah val- 
ley, which he tilled with profit. 

He at once became active in 
the civic development of the 
community. He served for a 
short time as marshal of Lehi 
and one term as mayor of the 
city. Through earnest effort he 
brought about the entry of the 
western half of section 16, 
which row forms a part of 
Eastern Lehi. He was a di- 
rector on the Lehi City water 
board during the early years of 
its organization. He has been 
identified with many leading in- 
terests of the city. For years 
he was a director in the Lehi 
Bank and later the Utah Bank- 
ing Company, also a director in 
the People's Co-operative Insti- 
tution, which position he holds 
at the present time. ,He was 
one of the leading promoters in 
the erection of the Lehi Taber- 
nacle which adorns our city. 

Not only in civic, but in a re- 



326 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ligious way, has Mr. Anderson 
been active. From the begin- 
ning he was a devout bel.iever 
in the faith of the Latter-day 
Saints. As a church worker he 
filled many positions with 
credit. From 1874 to 1877 he 
filled a mission to his native 
land. He was selected as coun- 
selor to Bishop David Evans, 
and later as counselor to Bishop 
T. R. Cutler, thus acting in the 
Bishopric more than 30 years. 
After the division of the wards, 
he served as a high councilor 
in the stake. He was chosen 
counselor to William Bromley, 
president of the High Priests' 
Quorum of the Alpine Stake. 
Since the death of President 
Bromley, Mr. Anderson has 
been chosen president of that 
quorum. 

All who know Mr. Anderson 
know him as a man of his word. 
He has led a useful life, admin- 
istering to the needy, helping 
the distressed, and giving coun- 
sel to his fellow-men. By his 
straightforward and honorable 
career he has drawn around him 
a host of friends, and has the 
entire confidence of all who 
know him. 

MARY ANN PEDERSON 
ANDERSON. 

Mary Ann Pederson Anderson 
was born at Vedum, Denmark, 
September 29, 1837. She is the 
third child of a family of nine 
children. She joined the 



Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints November 9, 
1855. The spirit of gathering 
soon found Mrs. Anderson a 
disciple, and she emigrated to 
Utah in 1862 with C. A. Madsen's 
ox team company. She was mar- 
ried New Year's day, 1862, to 
Andrew R. Anderson, at Eph- 




MARY ANN PEDERSON ANDERSON. 

rairh, Sanpete County, Utah. In 
1870 conditions made it po^r 1 ' 
ble for her husband to mere to 
Lehi, the place of her death, 
September 23, 1912, at the age of 
74 years, 11 months, and 24 days. 
Mrs. Anderson was an active 
worker in the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints. She 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



327 



was an earnest laborer in the 
Primary Association from the 
time of its organization until 
the incorporation in the Lehi 
Ward of the Relief Society in 
1882. At this date she was ap- 
pointed to the position of treas- 
urer of the Relief Society, act- 
ing in this capacity for the fol- 
lowing eighteen years. From 
1900 to 1903 she. filled the posi- 
tion of counselor, and from 1903 
to 1907 the position of president. 
She is the mother of six chil- 
dren, three boys and three girls. 

NELSINA ANDERSON. 

Nelsina Anderson was born 
in the city of Staun, Denmark, 
in the year 1854. She was the 
youngest but one of nine chil- 
dren. Her parents, Andres and 
Dorothy Anderson, were the ad- 
miration of the community in 
which they lived. 

Nelsina was one of those who 
left a comfortable home for the 
gospel's sake. In company with 
her parents, three sisters, and 
the youngest brother, she emi- 
grated to Utah in the year 1868. 

She is one of those who 
shared in the sad experiences 
connected with such emigra- 
tions. A sister was buried in 
the ocean, a father and a sister 
on the way, and mother and a 
brother died a few days after 
reaching Utah. Thus only she 
and her one sister remained. 
Fortunately they were among 
friends. They were offered in- 



ducements to return to their na- 
tive land by a well-to-do rela- 
tive, but the girls were already 
firmly planted in Utah, and here 
they remained. 

Nelsina Anderson came to 
Lehi in the year 1870, where she 
was married to Andrew R. An- 
derson, a well-known resident of 
Lehi. She has reared a family 




NELSINA ANDERSON. 

of children of whom she may 
justly be proud. All who have 
been her neighbors know full 
well that she has kept the com- 
mandment: "Love thy neighbor 
as thyself." For fifteen years 
she labored as a teacher in the 
Relief Society, and holds such a 
position at the present time. 



328 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Through her warm sympathy, 
kind consideration of others, 
and her willing devotion, she 
has left remembrances that will 
never die. 

ANDREW BJRRING 
ANDERSON. 

Andrew Bjrring Anderson is 
the son of Andrew R. Ander- 
son and Mary Ann Pederson 
Anderson. He was born in Eph- 
raim, Sanpete County, Utah, on 
the 14th day of September, 1866. 
When he was three years old, 
his parents moved to Lehi, the 
place of his home up to the pres- 
ent time, excepting the years 
spent in teaching at Vernal and 
Beaver. 

Mr. Anderson's early life was 
occupied on the farm, which af- 
forded a most excellent oppor- 
tunity for attending school dur- 
ing the winter months. In the 
spring of 1884 he graduated 
from the public schools, and the 
following two winters attended 
the B. Y. Academy at Provo, 
graduating at the head of his 
class in 1886 from the prepar- 
atory normal course. The am- 
bition of becoming a teacher, 
which had been created under 
the splendid instructions of Dr. 
Maeser, were for a period of 
six years not realized. It was 
during these years that he was 
employed by the Lehi Co-op. as 
clerk, serving two years in ihe 
Branch store and four years at 
the main building, in Lehi. Dur- 



ing the summer of 1892, while 
acting as a grand juror in 
Provo, the influences of Dr. 
Maeser's early teachings moved 
him to make arrangements for 
attending school the following 
winter. During the commence- 




ANDREW B. ANDERSON. 

ment exercises of the spring of 
1895, the B. Y. University con- 
ferred upon him the degree of 
Bachelor of Pedagogy (B. Pd.), 
also a diploma from the com- 
mercial department of the same 
institution. Two years later the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints, as recognition of 
meritorious work in the Uintah 
Stake Academy, conferred upon 
him the degree of D. B. In the 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



329 



spring of 1912, he filed credits 
from the most noted summer 
schools of the University of 
Utah, the B. Y. University, and 
the Agricultural College with 
the State Board of Education, 
receiving from it a State High 




HANNAH EVANS ANDERSON. 

School Diploma. He served as 
teacher and principal from 1895 
to 1901, in the Uintah Stake 
Academy, and from 1901 to 
1907 as principal of the Beaver 
Branch of the B. Y. University, 
and from 1908 to the present 
writing, he has occupied the po- 
sition of district principal of the 
Lehi schools. 

Mr. Anderson has been a con- 
sistent Democrat all of his life. 



During his early manhood, he 
received from his party recog- 
nition in being sent as a dele- 
gate -to attend the National 
Democratic Convention, held in 
Chicago, at which time and 
place Grover Cleveland received 
the nomination for his second 
term as President of the United 
States. 

He has been a persistent 
worker in the church to which 
he belongs. In his early youth, 
he was placed in the position 
of counselor to the president of 
the Y. M. M. I. A., and later be- 
came president. For three years, 
from 1898 to 1901, he was coun- 
selor to Bishop John N. Davis, 
of the Vernal Ward, and from 
1901 to 1907, was presiding elder 
of the Academy Branch of the 
Beaver Ward. At this writing 
lie holds, in the Alpine Stake, 
the position of alternate to the 
high council, member of the 
stake board of education, and 
superintendent of the religion 
classes. 

Wherever he has lived, he has 
been a producer and a home- 
builder, a lover of the soil, and 
a producer of its products. 

Hannah Evans and Andrew 
B. Anderson were married in the 
Manti Temple, September 12, 
1888. To them have been born 
Vernon A., Leland D., Maesa 
L., and Mary M. Hannah Evans 
is the daughter of David Evans 
and Margaret Christina Holm 
Evans. She was born in Lehi, 
February 4, 1870. 



330 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



JOHANAH J. J. ANDERSON. 

Johanah Johnson Jacobs An- 
derson, the daughter of John 
and Anna Johnson, was born in 
1792, in Tyrsfors, Soken, Nor- 
way. The family were farmers, 
so her early life was spent on 
the farm. Her education was 
limited to the amount prescribed 
by law, which was very little. 
She married Swen Jacobs, with 
whom she had two sons, Swen 
aad John. 

In 1830, the family emigrated 
to the New World, being among 
the first to leave Norway for 
America. Two years after their 
arrival, the husband died, leav- 
ing Mrs. Jacobs a widow, in the 
state of New York. A few 
years later she married Andrew 
Anderson, and together they 
moved to La Salle County, Illi- 
nois. While here they joined 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, through the 
instrumentality of Elder George 
P. Dykes and others. Mrs. An- 
derson and her two sons, Swen 
and John, were baptized Aug- 
ust 12, 1842. 

May 18, 1849, the family 
started on the perilous trip 
across the plains for Utah, with 
ox teams, arriving in Salt Lake 
City. October 31, 1849. On the 
Sweetwater they were over- 
taken by a raging snow storm, 
and lost a great number of their 
cattle, and but for the timely ar- 
rival of help from the valley, 



they would have been unable to 
continue the journey. 

The next two and a half years 
were spent in Session Settle- 
ment, and in the spring of 1852 
the family moved to Lehi. 

Grandma Jacobs, as she was 
affectionately called, spent the 
remainder of her days in Lehi, 
administering cheer and comforc 
to the sick and bereaved. She 
was eminently successful as a 
midwife, and a great deal of her 
time was taken up with this 
work. She died at the home of 
her son, John, December 17, 
1878, aged 86 years. 

MONS ANDERSON. 

Mons Anderson was born 
February 8, 1829, at Ringsager, 
Hedemarken, Norway. He emi- 
grated to America in 1848, lo- 
cating in Wisconsin. In 1852 
he started for the gold fields of 
California, but while passing 
through Salt Lake City, he was 
converted to Mormonism 
through hearing Orson Pratt 
preach, and was baptized by 
Robert T. Burton, July 9, 1852. 
He remained in Salt Lake City, 
and married Christine Bensen 
July 3, 1854. Before leaving 
Salt Lake City, he was called to 
go and meet Johnston's army 
in Echo canyon. 

He moved to Lehi in April, 
1858. He filled a mission to 
Norway in 1870-1872, laboring 
as traveling elder and as presi- 
dent of the Christiania Confer- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



331 



ence. In 1882-1883, he filled an- 
other mission to Wisconsin and 
Minnesota. 

He married Hanna Gulbrand- 
son in October, 1875. He was 
the father of seven sons and two 
daughters. He was one of the 
first men in Lehi to raise flax, 
hemp, and broom corn, and to 
manufacture from these prod- 
ucts rough linen, rope, and 
brooms. For many years he was 
president of the Scandinavians 
of Lehi. He also filled other 
ecclesiastical positions. Mr. 
Anderson took part in all the ac- 
tivities and withstood all the 
hardships of early Lehi, and was 
among the most ardent of pio- 
neer town builders. He was a 
prominent and progressive citi- 
zen to the time of his death, 
September 18, 1908. 

Mrs. William Sharp. 

CHRISTINE BENSEN 
ANDERSON, 

Christine Bensen Anderson, 
wife of Mons Anderson, was 
born June 11, 1826, at Aarnage, 
Island of Bornholm, Denmark. 
She accepted the gospel from 
the first missionaries sent to 
Denmark, and was baptized by 
Elder George P. Dykes, August 
24, 1850. She was living in Co- 
penhagen at the time of her 
conversion. She gave the elders 
financial aid, and took great 
pleasure in helping to teach the 
Danish language to Erastus 
Snow. Soon after her conver- 
sion, she was asked to accom- 



pany the elders to Bornholm 
her native island, to do mission- 
ary work. Her parents, Yeppe 
and Maren Bensen, gave them 
a home, and she helped to sup- 
port the elders, and assisted 
them in their missionary work. 
She was the second convert 
from Bornholm to join the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints. 

She left her native land for 
Utah, December 24, 1852, on the 
sailing vessel, "Forest Monarch," 
in Elder John Forsgren's com- 
pany. They were ten weeks 
crossing the ocean, arriving in 
Salt Lake City, October 3, 1853. 
The overland journey was made 
by ox team, and Miss Bensen 
walked all the way, besides car- 
ing for an invalid, and cooking 
for eight people. 

She was married to Mons An- 
derson, July 3, 1854. They en- 
dured all the hardships of that 
early day, making their home in 
Salt Lake City till the spring of 
1858. when they moved to Lehi. 
Their first home here was a dug- 
out, and later two small adobe 
rooms. She engaged in pioneer 
industries, such as carding, 
spinning, and weaving. She was 
the mother of five sons and one 
daughter, and an active Relief 
Society worker for over twenty 
years. She endured the hard- 
ships of early days with cheer- 
fulness and patience. Lehi was 
her home till the time of her 
death. December 28. 1909. 

Mrs. William Sharp. 



332 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



THOMAS ASHTON. 

Thomas Ashton, the son of 
Joseph and Catherine Sedden 
Ashton, was born in the town- 
ship of Parr, Lancashire, Eng- 
land, November 7, 1813. At the 
age of fifteen years he was ap- 
prenticed for six years to the 
trade of wheelwright, carriage 
builder, and ship-carpenter. At 
the expiration of his apprentice- 
ship, he went to work on the 
Liverpool and London railway, 
which was being built at that 
time. 

November 20, 1836, he mar- 
ried Mary Howard. He and his 
wife were the first citizens of 
St. Ellens to be baptized mem- 
bers of the Mormon Church. 
They were baptized by Samuel 
Cryer at St. Ellens, Lancashire, 
England. 

They emigrated to America in 
1841, and made their home at 
Skunk River, Iowa. The fam- 
ily were driven away by the 
mob and went to Nauvoo. He 
returned to Skunk River to sell 
his property, but the mob had 
possession, and compelled him 
to sign a deed to the property. 

His wife died August 26, 1849, 
at Pottawattamie, Iowa. She 
was the mother of five children. 

He was ordained a priest Jan- 
uary, 1841, by Theodore Curtis; 
ordained a seventy at Nauvoo, 
1844, ordained a high priest by 
Daniel S. Thomas, August 22, 
1875, at Lehi, Utah, and re- 
ceived his endowments May 23, 



1856, at Salt Lake City, Utah. 

On September 25, 1849, he 
married Sarah E. Mills. She 
died September 3, 1850, leaving 
one child. 

On February 17, 1851, he mar- 
ried Araminta Lawrence, at 
Council Bluffs, Pottawattamie, 
Iowa. They had eleven chil- 
dren. 

Before his final move to Nau- 
voo, he went to work under the 
direction of the Prophet Joseph 
Smith on the Nauvoo Temple. 
He assisted to build the noted 
Mormon boat, the "Maid of 
Iowa." The family moved to 
Nauvoo after the death of the 
Prophet. He took part in all 
the events of the trying times 
until the final expulsion. He 
worked in the wagon shops 
where the wagons were made 
for the trip westward. He as- 
sisted in the last defense of Nau- 
voo against the mob, and helped 
to work the cannon that was 
made out of a steamboat shaft. 

The family left Nauvoo at the 
final expulsion, and went to Win- 
ter Quarters, passing through 
the events that happened there 
until the breaking up of Winter 
Quarters. Not having means 
enough to come to Utah, they 
moved back across the Missouri 
River to Council Bluffs. Here 
they raised crops until the 
spring of 1851, when the family 
moved to Utah, traveling in the 
company of Captain Morris 
Phelps. The company arrived 
in Salt Lake City, September 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



333 



27, 1851, and came to Lehi, ar- 
riving October 6, 1851. 

He took a very active part in 
planning and making onr first 
water ditches, and was one of 
our first water masters when 
there was no salary attached to 
the office. He was also very ac- 
tive in planning and building 
our first bridges across Jordan 
River, and other bridges, also 
cair first meeting and school 
house. He was a member of 
the Lehi City Council from 
1854 to 1866 inclusive, and was 
always prominent in adding his 
means to the outfits of our boys 
going on Indian raids. He died 
in Lehi, Utah, January 22, 1903, 
at the age of 89 years, 2 months, 
and 15 days. 

ARAMINTA L. ASHTON. 

Araminta Lawrence Ashton, 
the daughter of John and 
Rhoda Sanford Lawrence, was 
born in upper Canada, Decem- 
ber 5, 1831. 

With her parents she went to 
Missouri in 1838, and was there 
to share in the mob troubles 
and the expulsion of the Mor- 
mons in 1839, and they settled 
at Pittsfield, Pike County, Illi- 
nois, where they remained until 
the expulsion of the Saints from 
Nauvoo on account of their re- 
ligion, in 1846. 

She married Thomas Ashton, 
February 17, 1851, at Council 
Bluffs, and they emigrated to 



Utah the same year, settling in 
Lehi. 




ARAMINTA L. ASHTON. 

She was the mother of eleven 
children, three of whom pre- 
ceded her to the Great Beyond. 
She raised and cared for four- 
teen children, two of her hus- 
band's first wife's and one grand 
daughter. 

She would take her family 
and glean wool from the bushes, 
wash, card, spin, and weave it 
into cloth to clothe her family. 
She also wove cloth and carpets 
for others. She burned grease 
wood, gathered the ashes, 
leached, and used them to make 
soap in the place of lye. She 



334 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



helped in the cricket and grass- 
hopper war. 

She was an active member of 
the Mormon Church, and held 
the office of teacher in the Re- 
lief society, also in the Sabbath 
School. She also labored in the 
Mutual Improvement Associa- 
tion. 

Being of a charitable disposi- 
tion, she was always ready to 
help the poor and nurse the 
sick. 

She died in Lehi, Utah, June 
10, 1891, at the age of 59 years, 
6 months, and 5 days". 

JOHN AUSTIN. 

John Austin was a grandson 
of James Austin, who was born 
about 1748, in Bedfordshire, 
England. His wife, Mary, was 
born in 1752, in the same shire. 
James Austin was fairly well to 
do, being very industrious, and 
had a respectable family of 
eight children. One Sunday af- 
ternoon, on his way home from 
visiting a friend, he broke a 
blood vessel while crossing a 
stile, and died soon after. The 
family was now dependent on 
the mother, and the children, 
who were going to school, were 
kept out and set to work. The 
mother died in 1835, being 83 
years of age. 

Joseph Austin was the sev- 
enth child of James and Mary 
Austin, and was born May 17, 
1791, in Studham, Bedfordshire, 
England, where he lived all his 



dajs, and where he died Sep- 
tember 14, 1870. He married 
Ann Mills about the year 1814, 
and to them were born eight 
children.. 

John Austin was the third 
child of Joseph and Ann Mills 
Austin. He was born Decem- 
ber 3, 1822, in Studham, Bed- 
fordshire, England, where he 
spent his youth and early man- 
hood. He married Emma Grace 
March 20, 1847; on her twentieth 
birthday. She was a daughter 
of Thomas Grace and Mary 
Jayce Grace, and was born in 
Whipsnade, Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land, March 20, 1827. Soon after 
their marriage, this couple 
moved to Kinsmouth, Hartford- 
shire, where they resided for 
about one year, when they re- 
turned to Studham. While in 
Kinsmouth, Mrs. Austin was 
converted to the Mormon faith 
and was baptized a member of 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, January 5, 
1848, by Elder Benjamin John- 
son, and two years from that 
day Mr. Austin was immersed 
in the waters of baptism. 

Soon after their conversion, 
this couple had a strong desire 
to emigrate to Utah to the body 
of the Church, as the principle 
of gathering was preached con- 
siderably throughout England 
at this time. It seemed to be a 
hopeless undertaking, however, 
as \i was about all they could do 
to get the bare necessities of 
life for their ever-increasing 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



335 



family. Mrs. Austin, who was a 
woman of great faith and deter- 
mination, was very anxious to 
do something to increase their 
scanty income, that her family 
might at some time be permit- 
ted to gather with the Saints 
in the valleys of Utah. One day 
in 1854 a man came to her door 
selling straw for braiding. He 
persuaded her to buy a number 
of bundles to sell to her neigh- 
bors, offering her about one 
cent per bundle for profit. Mrs. 
Austin was quite successful in 
this venture, and bought more 
bundles of straw, which she also 
sold at a profit. From this small 
beginning, in the course of 
time, a business was built up 
and a small store was conduct- 
ed, which helped materially to 
swell the coffers of the fam- 
ily. By 1866 sufficient means 
had been saved to send two of 
the children to Zion, accord- 
ingly the two oldest, Harriet 
and George, were sent. Two 
years later the father decided to 
emigrate, as perhaps the oppor- 
tunities for making money were 
more plentiful in Utah than in 
England. Two weeks before the 
vessel sailed on which John ex- 
pected to travel, one of their 
neighbors who also expected to 
emigrate to Utah at this time 
offered to lend the money for 
the entire family to go. This 
man was Bartle Turner, the 
father of the Turner families of 
Lehi, and it is needless to say 
that the offer was thankfully 



accepted, the necessary prepar- 
ations hurriedly made, and the 
family, which at this time con- 
sisted of father, mother, and 
nine children, was soon on its 
way to the West. 

They crossed the ocean on the 
sailing vessel, "John Bright," 
and the plains in Captain Joseph 
S. Rawlins' mule train, which 
left Laramie City July 25th, and 
arrived in Salt Lake City Aug- 
ust 20, 1868. They came at 




MRS. JOHN AUSTIN. 

once to Lehi, where their son 

and daughter, who had preceded 
them, were living, and have 
since made this place their 
home. 

Soon after his arrival in Lehi, 



336 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Mr. Austin took up farming and 
in connection with his sons was 
among the first to take up land 
on the bench north of Lehi on 
the Bull River Ditch. The father 
and sons have been eminently 
successful as tillers of the soil 
and when the sugar factory was 
located at Lehi, the Austin 
brothers were among the fore- 
most to bring about the success- 
ful cultivation of the sugar beet. 
As a consequence, a number of 
the sons of John Austin at the 
present time are superintendents 
of agriculture at some of the 
factories of the Utah-Idaho 
Sugar Company, George being 
the general superintendent of 
agriculture over all of the Utah- 
Idaho Sugar Company factories. 
After a well spent life of toil 
and devotion, having brought 
seventeen children into the 
world, twelve of whom grew 
up to manhood and womanhood. 
Mrs. Austin died, November 30, 
1893. In May, 1894, Air. Austin 
married Elizabeth Pead, who 
preceded him just a few days to 
the Great Beyond. He died 
February 13, 1907. John Austin 
was a true and faithful Latter- 
day Saint, full of devotion to 
duty and true to every trust. 
At the time of his death he pre- 
sided over the high priests of 
Lehi, and was dearly beloved 
and respected by all. His fam- 
ily has been active ir many 
lines in the history, not only of 
Lehi, but of the intermountain 
region. They are noted for 



thrift, industry, and business sa- 
gacity, and are filling many po- 
sitions of trust and honor both 
in church and state. 

The names of John Austin's 
children are as follows: Har- 
riet i Mrs. John Jacobs), George, 
Joseph, Hiram, Alfred, Parley, 
Heber, William, Sarah Emma 
(Mrs. Charles Allen), Juliet 
(Mrs. John Brown), Hector, 
Anne (Mrs. Charles Munns), 
Mark, Thomas, Herbert, John 
Ezra, Lettie (Mrs. Abraham 
Gudmundson), and Frank. 

WILLIAM BALL. 

William Ball, son of George 
and Harriet Noyes Ball, was 
born at Andover Hans, England, 
January 22, 1833. He received a 
common school education, and 
at the early age of 16 years 
left his home in the country 
and cast his lot in the city of 
London. Here he remained un- 
til he became 21 years old, when 
he joined the L. D. S. faith, and 
in the year 1855 married his first 
wife, Sarah Ann Markwick. On 
October 1st of the same year he 
set sail for America, arriving 
three weeks later in New York. 
His wife joined him there in 
February, 1856. 

Leaving New York in the 
spring of 1857, he and his wife 
set out for Council Bluffs, joined 
Israel Evans' hand cart com- 
pany, and crossed the plains, 
walking a distance of thirteen 
hundred miles. They arrived in 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



337 



Salt Lake on the 12th day of 
September, 1857, where they re- 
mained a few days for rest, 
then journeyed on to Lehi. Here 
he followed the occupation of 
farming. 

In the year 1858 he was called 
to take charge of the toll bridge 
over Jordan River, where he re- 
mained for a number of years. 
In 1862 he married his second 
wife, Caroline Simmons, who 
came in the same company 
across the plains. From this 
union came six sons and two 
daughters. In 1863 he was called 
on a mission to Omaha to help 
a company of Saints cross the 
plains with ox teams. In 1877 
he filled a mission to England, 
spending nearly three more 
years of his time for the great 
cause of truth. 

He labored as a block teacher 
for a period of 40 years, and 
was also connected with the 
Sunday School 30 years. He 
was beloved by all who knew 
him for his genial disposition, 
always looking on the bright 
side of life. He lived and died 
a faithful Latter-day Saint, be- 
ing called to the Great Beyond 
April 10th, 1911. 

His wives were certainly true 
to him, working hand in hand 
with him, suffering the trials of 
subduing a new land. They 
were faithful to the cause of 
truth. His wife Sarah Ann la- 
bored as a teacher in the Sunday 
School, and held the office of 
treasurer of the Relief Society 



for many years. Caroline was 
called as one of the first Sunday 
School teachers when it was re- 
organized in 1866. In 1878 the 
first Primary Association was 
organized in Lehi, and Caroline, 
with 13 others, was set apart to 
preside over this organization, 
which office she held for 13 
years. Since she discontinued 
that work, she has labored as a 
teacher in the Relief Society. 
Robert Ball. 

SILAS P. BARNES. 

Silas Parker Barnes was born 
in Deering, New Hampshire, 
March 7, 1805. His parents 
were natives of that state. His 
father having a large family to 
support, Silas, at the age of sev- 
enteen, decided to cope with 
life's battles alone; so bidding 
his family farewell, he made his 
way to Boston. With only a 
single dollar in his possession, 
he began what proved to be al- 
most a fruitless search for work. 
Finally, at the great grain and 
coal wharves, he found a job 
shoveling coal, which he grate- 
fully accepted. Being active, 
energetic, and willing, he suc- 
ceeded in a few years, by un- 
tiring industry, in winning a 
partnership in the business and 
finally owned it himself. 

With the advent of prosperity, 
Barnes decided to share his life, 
so on May 7, 1832, he married 
Miss Olive Chapman, then of 
Boston, but a native of Saco, 



338 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Maine. From this union were 
born nine children, three daugh- 
ters and six sons, of whom only 
three are now living: Ferdinand 
of Rhode Island, and Richard 
G. and Watson of California. 
The other children are Freeman, 
Sarah E. Carners, Marcellus, 
Pamelia, Leander, and Harriet. 

In 1851 Mr. Barnes settled up 
his business and with a number 
of others who, like himself, had 
embraced the doctrines taught 
by Joseph Smith, started west. 
Traveling first by railway to 
New York and then by canal 
boat and steam boat, they finally 
reached Council Bluffs, Iowa. 
After a stay of six weeks here 
in preparation for the arduous 
journey ahead of them, the com- 
pany finally set out. The party 
consisted of sixty wagons, two 
hundred men, and almost that 
many women and children. The 
journey through the trackless 
prairies, among ever-present 
dangers from the untamed ele- 
ments and wild savages, was a 
noteworthy one. After two and 
one-half months, the company 
reached Salt Lake City. Here 
the Barnes family remained a 
year, during which the father 
bought five acres of land and 
improved it and built a house 
and small barn. These prepar- 
ations enabled the family to 
withstand with comparative 
comfort the severe winter which 
followed. Next spring Silas 
planted the five acres with peach 
pits, which later grew into a 



thriving orchard. The lot was 
situated near the present busi- 
ness center of Salt Lake City. 

In the summer of 1852 the fam- 
ily again moved, this time to 
Dry Creek, where Barnes pur- 
chased a farm about three-quar- 
ters of a mile outside of the 
fort. He was quite successful 
in farming because of avilable 
irrigation water. After one year, 
the family was ordered to move 
into the fort because of threat- 
ened danger from the Indians. 
They had seen the redmen only 
once, when about three hundred 
of them camped a little distance 
from the farm, and stole some 
cattle belonging to the settlers. 

In 1853 Silas P. Barnes was 
elected mayor of Lehi. He was 
the first incumbent of that office 
and filled it most successfully. 

Becoming dissatisfied with 
conditions in general in Utah, 
Mr. Barnes decided to remove, 
so in April, 1854, he started with 
his family to California. After 
a three months' journey they 
reached the Golden State, and 
settled in Yolo County. Here 
Silas followed farming until his 
death, in April, 1888, Mrs. 
Barnes having passed to the 
Great Beyond April 5, 1885. 

During his later years, Silas 
became an adherent of the Ad- 
ventist faith, and having been 
from his boyhood an earnest 
student of the Bible, but few 
men were so conversant with its 
teachings as he.. Of strong re- 
ligious convictions, imbued with, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



339 



to him, right principles, ener- 
getic, active, stern, though just 
in all his dealings with his fel- 
lows, he built up not only a 
large worldly fortune, but also 
made for himself a place in the 
hearts of the people of the com- 
munity as a good man and earn- 
est friend to the interests of the 
public. May the good and char- 
itable deeds of "Daddy" Barnes, 
as he was familiarly called, ever 
be remembered. 

Watson Barnes. 

JOHN BONE. 

John Bone was born Septem- 
ber 2, 1839, at Caldecote, Bed- 
fordshire, England. He joined 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints in the year 
1854, and received the priest- 
hood shortly after, in the Calde- 
cote branch. 

He left England in 1858, on 
the ship "Empire," traveling 
with the missionaries who came 
home that year, the year in 
which the army came to Utah. 
He stayed in New York and 
worked until the year follow- 
ing, when he went to Florence, 
Nebraska, and volunteered his 
services to drive a team for the 
Church across the plains. He 
arrived in Salt Lake City in the 
fall of 1859, and came to Lehi 
in the year 1860, where he re- 
sided until his death, Januarv 
16, 1893. 

He joined the Sixty-eighth 
Quorum of Seventies December 
2, 1862. 



His occupation was that of 
farming. The first year sugar 
beets were raised in Lehi for 




JOHN BONE. 

the sugar factory, he took the 
prize for raising the most beets 
to the acre. 

He was a good citizen, a 
faithful Latter-day Saint, a kind 
father, and an affectionate hus- 
band. 

HANNAH S. BONE. 

Hannah S. Bone, daughter of 
James and Hannah Pratt Slater, 
was born October 5, 1839, at 
Clifton, Bedfordshire, England. 
She joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints No- 
vember 5, 1854. 



340 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



She crossed the ocean on the 
ship "Underwriter," leaving Liv- 
erpool on the 1st of April, and 
landed in New York on the 
1st of May. She came across 
the plains with the hand cart 
company under the direction 
of Captain Daniel Robinson, 
leaving Florence, Nebraska, on 
June 2, 1860, and arriving in 
Salt Lake City on August 27, 
the same year. 

She came to Lehi two days 
later, residing here until the 
present time. 

She was married August 28, 
1860, to John Bone, son of Wil- 
liam and Mary Wagstaff Bone. 

They were blessed with eight 
children; seven are now living, 
and reside in the following 
places: John Bone of Lehi; 
James Bone, Garland, Utah, 
Mrs. Jane Mason, Lehi; George 
Bone, Magrath, Canada; Mrs. H. 
J. Stewart, Lehi; Mrs. Charles 
Edwards, Garland, Utah; and 
Eugene Bone, Lehi. Thirty-wo 
grandchildren are living, and 
ten are dead, while twelve great 
grandchildren are living and 
three are dead. 

Sister Bone has been a worker 
in the Primary and also the 
Relief Society of Lehi. 

WILLIAM BONE, SR. 

William Bone, Sr., son of 
Thomas Bone and Elizabeth 
Ollengos Bone, was born No- 
vember 8, 1812, at Beeston, Bed- 
fordshire, England. He left 



England for America in 1861, 
arriving at Salt Lake City in 
September of the same year, 
and moved to Lehi soon after- 
wards. 

He was married to Mary 
Wagstaff, from which union 
were born seven children. 

As a builder of Lehi, he was 
noted as one of its most liberal 
philanthropists; in all worthy 
causes his name was written 
near the head of the list. 

He served Lehi as general 
watermaster for several years; 
also acted as a director of the 
People's Co-operative Institu- 
tion for a term of years. 

He was one of Lehi's fore- 
most farmers, and above all true 
to himself and honest with all 
his fellows. He died October 
2, 1902, at Lehi, Utah. 

WILLIAM BONE, JR. 

William Bone, Jr., was born 
November 6, 1841, in Upper 
Caldicote, Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land, his parents being William 
and Mary Wagstaff Bone. 

In April, 1861, he sailed from 
Liverpool for America, on the 
sailing vessel "Underwriter," 
with his parents. They crossed 
the plains from the Missouri 
River with an ox team, arriving 
in Salt Lake City in September, 
1861, and moving to Lehi soon 
after. 

In 1863 he returned to the 
Missouri River with an ox-team 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



341 



for immigrants, bringing also on 
his journey a part of the famous 
Salt Lake Tabernacle organ. 

In 1866-1867 he went to San- 
pete and Sevier counties to help 
quell the Indian trouble, par- 
ticipating in what is known as 
the Black Hawk War. 

In July, 1867, he married 
Fanny Wagstafif, from which 
union there were eleven chil- 
dren. 

He served Lehi six years in 
the capacity of city councilor, 
being elected for the two-year, 
and later for the four-year term. 

He was rated as a leading 
farmer, and served a number of 
years in the board of directors 
of the Lehi Irrigation company, 
acting as its president several 
terms, and holding this position 
at the time of his death. 

He died November 19, 1912, 
at Lehi, Utah. 



SAMUEL BRIGGS. 

Samuel Briggs, son of Wil- 
liam Briggs and Jane Hays 
Briggs, was born at South Clif- 
ton, Nottinghamshire, England, 
on the 20th day of June, 1826. 
As was the custom in that pe- 
riod, he received a parochial 
school education, working with 
his father on a farm until he 
was 13 years of age, when he 
hired out by the year to a farm- 
er, at Olme, Nottinghamshire, 
working for a year, after which 
he went to work in the coal 



mines of that district. While 
living at Bolesover, five miles 
from Chesterfield, Derbyshire, 
he heard the principles of the 
gospel as taught by the elders 
of the Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints, and em- 
braced that faith, being bap- 
tized in the year 1849. 

He emigrated to the United 
States of America, together with 
his wife Hannah Dean, in the 
year 1850, arriving at New 
Orleans on Christmas Eve, on the 
ship "Zetland." after a five 
weeks and two days' journey 
over the ocean. 

In January, 1850, he moved up 
the river to St. Louis, Missouri, 
staying there 15 weeks, when he 
moved to Council Bluffs, Iowa, 
from which place he again 
moved to Springville, three 
miles from Kanesville, where he 
spent the winter. 

He migrated to the upper 
crossing of Keg Creek in the 
spring of 1851. In the summer 
of 1851 he cut the lumber and 
made the outfit with which lie 
crossed the plains. After the 
wood work was all completed, 
it was discovered that there was 
no blacksmith in that region 
who could iron the wagons. 
About this time Apostle Ezra 
T. Benson visited the colony 
and bade them be of good cheer, 
for all who so desired would be 
able to make the journey to 
Utah that season. This promise 
was fulfilled, for in a short time 



342 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



a blacksmith arrived, bringing 
the necessary tools and iron to 
complete the wagons, as a result 
of which the journey to Utah 
was made in safety. Briggs, to- 
gether with his wife and son 
Samuel, arrived in Salt Lake 
City. Utah, on the 7th day of 
October, 1852, moving to Lehi 
during the same month. He 
was engaged at once by John R. 
Murdock to work on his farm 
for a short period, after which 
he engaged in farming for him- 
self, following that avocation 
principally until his death. 

Samuel Briggs had five sons 
by his first wife, four of whom 
survived him. In the fall of 1868 
he married Emma Thomas, by 
whom he had twelve children, 
five sons and seven daughters, 
nine of whom survived him. He 
was a good, industrious, enter- 
prising, and thrifty citizen, being 
identified with such commercial 
enterprises as the Z. C. M. I. of 
Salt Lake City, the Provo 
Woolen Mills, and the Peoples' 
Co-operative Institution of Lehi. 
He held successively the offices 
of teacher, elder, seventy, and 
high priest in the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints. 

He died at Lehi City on Octo- 
ber 22, 1898. 

JOSEPH BROADBENT. 

Joseph Broadbent. son of John 
Broadbent and Betty Lees, was 
born August 26, 1836, in Mill 



Bottom, Oldham, Lancashire, 
England. For many generations 
his forefathers worked in the 
cotton mills and to this life he 
was very early assigned. After 
going to school about one year. 
he commenced to work in the 
mills at the age of nine years, 
working half time, as the law 
would not permit children under 
14 years to work full time. Be- 
ing the oldest child of the fam- 
ily, which was very poor, he was 
not permitted any leisure time 
for further education, except a 
little at the Sabbath School, 
where reading and writing were 
taught. 

At the age of 19 years, he mar- 
ried Sarah Dixon, whom he had 
met at the meetings of the Mor- 
mon Church, to which organiza- 
tion he had allied himself about 
a year previous. When the 
Mormon elders began proselyt- 
ing in the neighborhood, consid- 
erable opposition was manifest 
by various members of the fam- 
ily, but eventually the father, 
mother, and children were all 
converted to the doctrines set 
forth by the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints. 

April 11, 1859, Mr.Broadbent and 
wife set sail for America on the 
sailing vessel "Wm. Tapscott," 
in company with 725 emigrating 
Saints. They arrived in New 
York May 14th, and at Florence, 
Nebraska, on the 25th of the 
month. On the 9th of June they 
started across the plains in 
George Rowlev's hand cart com- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



343 



pany, arriving in Salt Lake City 
September 4, 1859. The latter 
part of the journey across the 
plains was very severe, for after 
being on rations for some time, 
the food supply was entirely ex- 
hausted and the company camp- 
ed for several days near Devil's 
Gate waiting for help from the 
valley, which arrived in time to 
save them from actual starva- 
tion. 

Being acquainted with James 
Taylor of Lehi. who had been 
one of the missionaries laboring 
in Oldham, Mr. Broadbent and 
wife came direct to Lehi, where 
they have lived ever since. For 
twenty-eight years he followed 
the occupation of farming and 
mending clocks as a side line. 
In 1883 with his oldest son, 
Joseph S., he went into the mer- 
cantile business, founding the 
firm of Broadbent and • Son, 
which has continued with steady 
growth to the present. 

Mr. Broadbent has been an ac- 
tive Church worker, tilling a 
number of positions with honor. 
He was a member of the 
first Old Folks Committee: 
for many years an active 
member of the Missionary Fund 
Committee; and a Sunday 
School worker for over forty- 
five years. He is still active in 
the Sunday School and although 
he is now in his 77th year, he is 
seldom absent from his post. Be- 
ing of a musical turn of mind, he 
has always been connected with 
some musical organization. Thus 



he has been a member of choirs 
and bands both in this country 
and in England. In the early 
days he was a member of the 
Utah Militia, serving as bugler 
cjf cavalry under Captain Joseph 
A. Thomas. 

His wife dying in 1888, he 
married Elizabeth Greenwood, 
June 26, 1889, a daughter of 
James and Hannah Turner 
Greenwood, born October 29, 
1843, in Haywood, Lancashire, 
England. For seven years they 
lived happily together, but on 
August 14, 1896, he was again 
left a widower. On April 8, 1897, 
he married Sarah Lee Fowler, a 
widow of the late Henry C. 
Fowler of Salt Lake City, a 
daughter of George and Sarah 
Peaker Lee, born December 25, 
1852, in Sheffield, England. She 
had four daughters living from 
her former marriage: Lilly Lee 
(Mrs. John J. McAfee), Jennie 
V. (Mrs. Charles W. Earl), Hen- 
rietta (Mrs. Henry C. Allen), 
and Ruth Pearl (Mrs. John F. 
Cutler). 

SARAH DIXON 
BROADBENT. 
Sarah D. Broadbent was born 
in Saddleworth, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, April 8, 1832, being a 
daughter of Samuel Dixon and 
Hannah Percival. When she was 
twelve years old, her father, who 
was a stone mason, was killed 
while working on a bridge, by 
a large stone falling on him as 
it was being raised into position 



344 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



by a derrick. Her mother hav- 
ing died some time previous, the 
duties of keeping house for her 
three brothers and caring for a 
baby sister now rested on her. 
She never went to school, but in 
addition to keeping house she 
commenced to work in the cot- 
ton mills when quite young. 

In 1855 she became converted 
to the teachings of the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints, and while in attendance 
at these meetings she met her 
future husband, Joseph Broad- 
bent, whom she soon after mar- 
ried. 

With her husband and a large 
company of Saints she emigrated 
to Utah in 1859, crossing the 
plains in George Rowley's hand 
cart company. Some time be- 
fore reaching Devil's Slide the 
provisions ran so low that ra- 
tions of 4 ounces of flour a day 
were issued, which also were 
exhausted. The travelers finally 
got so weak for lack of food 
that it was impossible to pro- 
ceed farther and some distance 
this side of Devil's Slide the 
company halted, waiting for help 
to come from the valley, as the 
captain had dispatched a mes- 
senger on horseback to Brigham 
Young, telling of their condition. 
After waiting a few days, the 
captain was in the act of nego- 
tiating with some traders for a 
small quantity of flour on Brig- 
ham Young's credit, when to 
their great joy the relief train 
from the valley hove in sight. 



From this time until they 
reached the valley they had all 
they wanted to eat. At the mouth 
of Emigration Canyon the com- 
pany was met by a brass band 
and escorted to Pioneer Square. 
At the mouth of the canyon the 
women were invited to ride in 
the wagons which had come out 
to meet them, but Mrs. Broad- 
bent replied that she had walked 
every step of the way thus far 
and she would finish the journey 
as she had begun. 

Mrs. Broadbent is the mother 
of eight children, three of whom 
are now living: Joseph Samuel, 
Eliza Ann (Mrs. Andrew Fjeld), 
and Geneva Rebecca (Mrs. Ben- 
jamin C. Lott). After a linger- 
ing illness of seven years, she 
died September 13, 1888. 

MARTIN BUSHMAN. 

Martin Bushman was born 
April 1, 1802, in Lancaster 
County, Pennsylvania. He was 
the son of Abraham and Esther 
Bushman, who were of German 
descent. Martin received a 
common school education, 
spending his boyhood days on 
the farm. He soon acquired a 
knowledge of farming and be- 
came a skilful hand at sowing 
grain and using the sickle to 
harvest grain and the scythe to 
cut grass for hay. The winter 
months he usually spent thresh- 
ing grain with a flail, that being 
the method used then. He also 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



345 



look an especial pride in caring 
for his cows and horses. 

In physique he was very 
strong and healthy, standing six 
feet high and weighing 175 
pounds. He had light brown 
hair and blue eyes. 

At the age of twenty-five he 
married Elizabeth Degen of his 
native state. She was born in 
Switzerland. September 12, 1802. 
She was a woman of good char- 
acter and strong will power. She 
had learned all the branches of 
household work and was an ex- 
pert with the spinning wheel 
and the needle. Undoubtedly 
the training both husband and 
wife had received in their child- 
hood days qualified them to be- 
come successful pioneers later. 

Thirteen years after their 
marriage, the couple joined the 
Mormon Church and moved to 
Illinois, a journey of one thou- 
sand miles by wagon. By this 
time they had four children. 
After four years of prosperity 
and happiness in Nauvoo, they 
fell victims, with their co-relig- 
ionists, of mob violence, and 
were compelled to flee into 
Iowa, leaving their crops stand- 
insr. Making this journey in the 
middle of winter, they suffered 
intense hardships and two of 
the children died from exposure. 
In the western part of Iowa 
they made themselves still an- 
other home where they re- 
mained for four years. 

At the end of that time they 
had acquired sufficient means to 



bring them to Utah, so they set 
out for the West. Their con- 
veyance was a wagon drawn by 
two yoke of oxen and four 
cows. They arrived in Salt 
Lake in September, 1851, after 
a journey of five months. After 
a rest of one week there, they 
came on to Lehi, where they 
remained until their death. 

They arrived at their new 
home without any provisions, 
having eaten their last morsel of 
bread on the way. The few set- 
tlers of Lehi helped them, how- 
ever, by furnishing Martin em- 
ployment in the harvesting of 
the crops. Shortly afterwards, 
he obtained some land and built 
a home. Henceforth he was ac- 
tively engaged in helping to 
build up Lehi, participating in 
all the joys and sorrows inci- 
dent to the settlement of the 
city. 

He proved true to his country 
and his religion, considerate of 
his wife and kind to his chil- 
dren. He never turned a 
stranger away hungry. He died 
in 1870, aged 68. His wife sur- 
vived him eight years, finally 
passing the 76th milestone. 
Much of her time she spent with 
the sick and her memory will 
ever live in the hearts of many 
of her sex on account of kind- 
nesses bestowed unon them. 

The five children the Bush- 
mans brought to Lehi are still 
alive, the oldest being 83 years 
old. All have been as their 
parents — true pioneers; for they 



346 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



have assisted in building up 
towns from Canada on the north 
to Arizona on the south, being 
always known as workers and 
not drones. Truly as the poet 
says: 

"Toiling hands alone arc build- 
ers 
Of a nation's wealth, and fame." 

MARTIN B. BUSHMAN. 

.Martin Benjamin Bushman, the 
son of Martin and Elizabeth 
Bushman, was born Feb. 5, 1841, 
in Lancaster County, Pennsyl- 
vania. The first noted event of 
his life was the journey of over 
one thousand miles by team 
from Pennsylvania to fllinois, 
taken by his parents when he 
was fifteen months old. Of times 
the ground was his bed while 
his mother cooked their scanty 
meals. His next journey was 
through Iowa in the winter of 
1843, when two of his sisters 
died for want of food and shel- 
ter. They stayed at Council 
Bluffs for three years to get an 
outfit to come to Utah. Here at 
the age of eight, he took care 
of the team and chopped wood 
for the family, so his father and 
elder brother could go off to 
work to get something for them 
to eat and wear. Then came 
their journey to Utah in 1851 
which took four months of ardu- 
ous toil. 

Following this was their 
struggle in Lehi to make a 
home; fence land: make water 



ditches; plow the land; build 
houses; stand guard against 
the Indians; and many other 
labors and hardships they had 
to endure. 

At the age of twenty he re- 
turned to Florence, driving an 
ox team. The journey took five 
months, covered two thousand 
miles, and was to bring the poor 




.MARTIN B.' BUSHMAN. 

Saints, who had no teams, to 
Utah. 

He has now lived in Lehi 
sixty-two years and helped in all 
its growth and development 
from a barren waste to a thriv- 
ing city; he has taken part in 
making roads, building bridges, 
making canals, building school 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



347 



houses, and houses for worship. 
He has held offices in state and 
church, and has traveled in the 
United States and Canada. 

He has taken great interest in 
the threshing of grain; his first 
experience in Utah was pound- 
ing it out with a flail, cleaning 
it in the wind. Then he was in- 
terested in the threshing ma- 
chines. He has owned in part 
and helped to run every thing 
from the most primitive ma- 
chine of early days to the latest 
improved steam thresher. 

His main occupation has been 
farming and he has taken pride 
in tilling the soil. The present 
season, at the age of seventy- 
two, he has done most all the 
work on ten acres of land and 
raised two hundred and forty 
bushels of wheat, four hundred 
bushels of potatoes, eighty tons 
of sugar beets, and some hay. 

He is the father of twenty 
children and has schooled and 
provided for them and their 
mothers. He has been exposed 
much, in camping out. with cold, 
and has likewise been short of 
food and clothing in early days, 
yet for all this he is healthy in 
his old age, and can read and 
write without glasses. He helped 
compile this little book, the 
History of Lehi. 

JOHN BUSHMAN. 

John Bushman, son of Martin 
and Elizabeth Degen Bushman. 
was born June 7, 1843, at Nau- 
voo, Illinois. At this time the 



Church was passing through try- 
ing scenes. His parents were 
driven with the Saints from Nau- 
voo, and after several years of 
trials and poverty arrived in Salt 




JOHN BUSHMAN AND WIFE. 

Lake City in 1851. One week- 
later they went to Lehi City. 
There he spent his boyhood days, 
always willing to do his full 
share for the town. Often he 
was very scantily clothed, and 
lacking for food, especially dur- 
ing the grasshopper years. With 
the rest he had very little school- 
ing. 

In 1865 he married Lois A. 
Smith. In the summer of 1866 
and 1867 he was in the Black- 
Hawk war. 



348 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



In 1876 he was called to Ari- 
zona, and located at St. Joseph. 
In 1877, he came back to Lehi 
and married Mary A. Peterson, 
who shared with his family all 
the privations incident to set- 
tling a desert country. She 
named her first son Lehi, in 
honor of her former home. 

After many years of toil they 
are comfortably situated, sur- 
rounded by a large family, who 
are all faithful members of the 
Church. Five of their sons have 
filled honorable missions. 

Mr. Bushman has held many 
positions of trust, having been 
bishop 25 years, a member of 
the Board of Education 21 
years, Justice of the Peace 14 
years, chairman of the Irriga- 
tion Company many years, and 
director of the Bank of North- 
ern Arizona. 

He and his wife have pa-ssed 
the 70th milestone, and bid fair 
to enjoy many more years. 

JAMES PERRY CARTER 
AND WIFE. 

James Perry Carter was the 
son of Josiah Carter and Re- 
becca Perry, and was born Feb- 
ruary 23, 1827, in Clutton, Som- 
ersetshire, England. He was 
baptized into the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 
on October 17, 1848, by Edward 
Roberts. He was ordained an 
elder in 1852 by James T. 
Powell. 

On February 12, 1853, he mar- 



ried Harriett Wood, a daughter 
of John Wood and Mary Parry, 
who was born June 6, 1830, in 
Michael Church, Herefordshire, 
England, and who had joined 
the same church as Mr. Carter 
in 1844. 

In 1861 this family emigrated 
to Utah, crossing the ocean or. 
the ship Manchester, and the 
plains in Captain Daniel Jones' 
company. They came direct to 
Lehi, where they have since re- 
sided except for six years they 
lived in Salt Lake City. 

Carter was ordained a seventy 
November 28, 1862, and a high 
priest April 1, 1894. For twenty 
years he was leader of the Lehi 
choir. He also took a great in- 
terest in education and for thir- 
teen years was identified with 
the public schools in the capac- 
ity of school trustee. 

Eight children came to bless 
this family, four of whom grew 
up to maturity. They are: 
Catherine Ester (Mrs. Mosiah 
Evans), Mary Ann Rosalee 
(Mrs. Charles Woodhouse, de- 
ceased) James, and Clara (Mrs. 
Ed. Mowry). 

The Carter family were among 
the early settlers "over the 
creek" and have been active in 
all social, political, and religious 
work in that neighborhood and 
were esteemed as highly respec- 
table citizens. On April 11. 
1894, the mother, who was a 
most estimable woman, died, and 
about two years later Mr. Car- 
ter married Amy Smith, late of 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



349 



England, with whom he lived 
to the time of his death which 
occurred October 11, 1898. 



JOHN J. CHILD. 

John J. Child came to Lehi 
with his family in 187? and has 
continuously made it his home 
since that time. 

He was born in Pennsylvania, 
near Philadelphia, in 1831. When 
seven years old he moved with 
his parents to Belleville, Illi- 
nois, where he lived a free life 
in the woods and grew up ac- 
customed to hard work on the 
farm. 

The death of his mother when 
lie was but nine years old left 
him one of four motherless chil- 
dren, two boys and two girls. 
The family was held together 
by each sharing the burden of 
providing and caring for home. 

In 1853 Mr. Child became a 
member of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, and, 
with his father's entire family, 
came to Utah. He lived at 
Taylorsville for three years and 
then moved to St. John, Tooele 
County, where he lived until he 
came to Lehi. 

Mr. Child married Elizabeth 
de St. Jeor January 8, 1861. He 
is the father of twelve children, 
six boys and six girls. 

During most of his married 
life he has been engaged in 
farming and stock raising. 



Among his working associates 
he was ever a favorite, and 
among the Indians with whom 
he had much to do in the early 
settlement of Tooele County, he 
was known as a "heap good 
man." He often served in set- 
tling disputes between the 
whites and Indians, and some- 
times among Indians themselves. 

ELIZABETH A. CHILD. 

Elizabeth A. Child, wife of 
John J. Child, is the daughter 
of Francis de and Elizabeth 
Jane St. Jeor. She was born 
September 4, 1844, on the Island 
of Jersey. 

In 1855 the family emigrated 
to this country, and having be- 
come members of the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints, came to Utah. They lo- 
cated near St. John (now Clover 
Creek), where as a girl Mrs. 
Child lived a life full of hard- 
ships due to poverty and dan- 
gers from Indians. 

Besides being the mother of 
twelve children and attending tr 
the duties of home incident to 
the rearing of a large family, 
she has always been interested 
in public and church move- 
ments planned for the general 
good. She has acted for many 
years as a block teacher in the 
Relief Society, and at seventy 
years of age is still active in 
that capacity. 



350 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



DAVID CLARK. 

David Clark was the son of 
William and Margaret Clark, 
and was born May 28, 1816, at 
Lincolnshire, England. Being of 
a very ambitious turn of mind 
and desiring to better his con- 
dition, he left his mother coun- 
try in 1841, and sailed for Amer- 
ica. He engaged in the stone- 
cutting business, at which he 
had remarkable success. 

One year after he arrived in 
this country, he was convinced 
of the truths contained in the 
gospel of Jesus Christ of Latter- 
day Saints, and was baptized 
into the Church by the Prophet 
Joseph Smith. 

He lost his first wife and two 
children in St. Louis by cholera. 

He was married to Miss Myra 
Williams, November 26, 1849, 
and as years rolled on they were 
blessed with six children, name- 
ly, James, David, Myra, Rachel, 
Annie, and Nelson. 

Shortly after his marriage, he 
and his wife prepared for their 
journey to Utah. On April 7. 
1850, they started with a wagon, 
two yoke of oxen, a cow. and 
provisions, lhey joined an in- 
dependent company of a dozen 
wagons. The buffalo were so 
numerous upon the prairie that 
they caused many delays. 

They traveled over the old 
emigrant trail, reaching Salt 
Lake City August 26. coming to 
Lehi September 10, 1850. 

Mr. Clark and his family suf- 



fered all the hardships of the 
pioneer life in the early days. 

Jn 1862 he was assigned to 
missionary work on the Rio Vir- 
gin river in southern Utah. 

He died March 1. 1889, having 
borne throughout his whole life 
a reputation for sterling integ- 
rity, and honesty of purpose in 
all his dealings. 

Mr. Clark organized and led 
the first choir in Lehi. 

Mrs. Elias M. Jones. 

MYRA WILLIAMS CLARK. 

Mrs. Clark was born at Staf- 
fordshire, England, March 2, 
1821. She was the only one of a 
family of fourteen to embrace 
the gospel. She came to Amer- 
ica in 1849. 

At St. Louis she met David 
Clark, whom she afterwards 
married. While crossing the 
plains in 1850 she gave birth to 
her first son. They arrived in 
Lehi September 10. 1850. She 
was one of the first white 
women to come to Lehi. 

During the early days of Lehi. 
she took a very active part in 
the social features, and was 
loved and honored for the great 
work she did in nursing the sick 
and helping those in need. 

Mrs. Clark died May 28, 1912. 
at the age of 91. She was sur- 
vived by three children: Mrs. 
Rachel Gaddie, James W. and 
Annie Clark. 

Three children preceded her 
to the great beyond: Mrs. Myra 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



351 



Thomas (wife of John J. 
Thomas), David Clark, and 
Nelson Clark. 

Mrs. Elias M. Jones. 

WILLIAM CLARK. 

William Clark was born in 
Worcester, England, July 26, 
1825. He came to America in 
1848, and followed the avocation 
of plasterer in St. Joseph, Mis- 
souri, for several years. He 
married Emily K. Bryant just 
prior to leaving- England, Sep- 
tember 20, 1848. The year fol- 
lowing, his wife died in child- 
birth. During the winter of 1851, 
he married Mrs. Jane Stevenson 
Ross. The following spring 
they started for Utah, crossing 
the plains by ox team, and arriv- 
ing in Salt Lake City in the 
fall. In the fall of 1853 lie ar- 
rived in Lehi, three years after 
the first settlers. 

Probably no one has done 
more in a material way towards 
the city's upbuilding. Hardly 
any industrial project was ever 
commenced in the city without 
his assistance. He was a pio- 
neer plasterer, doing this part of 
the mechanical work on most of 
the early homes and public 
places. He was one of the most 
successful farmers, and was one 
of the first Lehi citizens to en- 
gage in the sheep industry. He 
was an organizer and director 
in the People's Co-operative 
Mercantile Institution, the Lehi 
Irrigation Company, and the 



Lehi Commercial and Savings 
Hank. 

He served several terms in 
the City Council, was road su- 
pervisor for a series of years, 
and served a long time as 
pound keeper. He was also an 
active worker in a church ca- 
pacity, filling a mission to Eng- 
land in 1880 for the Mormon 
Church, and serving as a coun- 
selor to Bishop T. R. Cutler un- 
til Lehi was divided into four 
wards. At the time of his death 
he was patriarch of the Alpine 
Stake. 

JANE CLARK 

Jane Clark, daughtc; of Sam- 
uel and Emily Stevenson, was 
born in Canada, December 5, 
1820. Both parents died while 
she was in her infancy, after 
moving to Newark, New Jersey. 
She married Stephen W. Ross, 
March 2, 1838, by whom she had 
five children, four boys and one 
girl. Mr. Ross died December 
9, 1849. 

May 10, 1851, she started for 
Utah with her two sons and 
daughter, arriving in Council 
Bluffs in July. That same win- 
ter she met and married William 
Clark, a widower, by whom 
she had seven children, six girls 
and one boy. The following 
spring they came on to Utah, 
making the trip with a yoke of 
oxen and a yoke of cows, ar 
riving in Salt Lake City in Sep- 
tember. The summer of 1853 



352 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



was spent on Cottonwood, and 
in the fall they moved to Lehi, 
which was her home till her 
death, September 21, 1895. 




JA.VE CLARK. 

She was a friend to the sick 
and needy, relieving many from 
their physical , sufferings, and 
contributing freely of her sub- 
stance to the poor. 

SARAH T. COLEMAN. 

Sarah Thornton Coleman, 
daughter of William Thornton 
and Elizabeth Christian, was 
born June 11, 1806, in Paxton, 
Huntingtonshire, England. With 
her family she joined the 
Church of Latter-day Saints in 



the year 1841 and emigrated to 
Xauvoo, Illinois, soon after. The 
family lived on the farm of Hy- 
rum Smith, brother of the 
Prophet Joseph Smith. Here 
her husband. Prime Coleman, 
and the oldest daughter died. 
The mother, with her seven 
children, was left to share the 
hardships and mobbings with 
the other Saints. 




SARAH T. COLEMAN. 

After the martyrdom of the 
Prophet and his brother, Sister 
Coleman and family moved to 
the Eleventh Ward, in the city 
of Nauvoo. Here she became 
acquainted with Bishop David 
Evans through receiving help 
from the ward. Trouble for the 
Saints was steadily increasing, 
and when companies were 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



353 



formed to move, she and fam- 
ily were placed in Bishop Da- 
vid Evans' company. For three 
years they moved from place to 
place in Missouri, and then 
made the final move to Utah, ar- 
riving in Salt Lake City in the 
fall of 1850. They remained 
there that winter and the next 
spring moved to Lehi, then 
known as Dry Creek. 

Sarah T. Coleman passed 
through the hardships of pio- 
neer life, raised a highly re- 
spected family, and lived the 
life of a Latter-day Saint. She 
was respected and loved by all 
who knew her, and was presi- 
dent of the first Relief Society 
organized in Lehi. She died 
March 1, 1892, at the ripe age 
of 86 years, nine months. 

Mrs. E. J. T. Roberts. 

SYLVANUS COLLETT. 

Among the early settlers of 
Lehi were Daniel Collett and 
family, the eldest son being 
Sylvanus, then a young man 
about 21. Sylvanus' mother's 
name was Esther Jones, a na- 
tive of Wales, while his father 
was an Englishman of Norman 
ancestry. The youth of "Syl" 
Collett, as he was familiarly 
called, did not prevent him from 
playing a prominent part in the 
early days of Lehi and Utah 
county. Were there Indians to 
subdue, he was always one of 
the first to respond to the call 
to arms. He was of heroic 

24 



physique, tall, straight, broad- 
shouldered, and athletic, and he 
was entirely without fear. If a 
parley with the Indians was nec- 
essary, "Syl" was usually 
chosen, as he talked the ver- 
nacular of the natives as 
though to the manner born. 

While living at Lehi, Sylva- 
nus Collett married Lydia Kar- 
ren, a daughter of Thomas Kar- 
ren, and their first son, Sylva- 
nus, Jr., was drowned in the 
creek near Lehi. 

In the early "sixties" Sylva- 
nus Collett removed to Cache 
Valley, acquiring an extensive 
ranch where Cache Junction 
now stands, his father mean- 
while being one of the first four 
men to settle in Plain City, We- 
ber County. 

At Logan, "Syl" Collett was a 
colonel of militia in the Nauvoo 
Legion, and took part in the 
Indian war at Smithfield in 
1863. After one or two men had 
been killed, the Indian chief was 
captured and held under guard 
by Colonel Collett, E. R. Miles, 
and Thomas Winn. The chief's 
sons came near to the settle- 
ment, and at a signal the father 
made a dash for liberty. Three 
shots rang out, the redskin 
leaped high into the air and 
when he struck the ground he 
was a "good Injun." The writer 
of this sketch once asked Mr. 
Winn his opinion as to whose 
shot put a quietus on the des- 
perado, and he laconically re- 



354 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



plied: "I am no marksman, and 
Miles was but little better; 
"Syl" could hit a fly's heel a 
thousand yards with a blank 
cartridge." 

In the winter of 1863 occur- 
red the famous fight with. In- 
dians on Battle Creek, in south- 
ern Idaho, when General Con- 
nor of Fort Douglas wiped out 
a combination of Bannocks, 
Snakes, and Shoshones, but 
with a loss to his own men that 
made a decided nucleus to the 
military cemetery on the bench 
east of Salt Lake City. A short 
time previous to the engage- 
ment, Colonel Collett and 
Thomas E. Ricks went as spe- 
cial envoys from the Cache Val- 
ley settlers to the entrenched 
Indians on Battle Creek, and 
secured the return of some ani- 
mals that the redskins had 
stolen a short time before. 
When the Fort Douglas army 
reached Logan, General Connor 
summoned Messrs. Collett and 
Ricks and went over the situa- 
tion with them. When a sug- 
gestion was offered as to the 
mode of attack, the intrepid 
general curtly replied: "Gen- 
tlemen, I am asking for infor- 
mation, not advice." 

From a nearby eminence, Col- 
onel Collett and Dudley D. 
Merrill witnessed the slaughter 
of General Connor's men, un- 
til late in the day, when a wick- 
ed fire from howitzers mounted 
on mules' backs ended the af- 
fray in the almost complete an- 



nihilation of the Indians. Col- 
onel Collett always averred that 
Chief Pocatello was not in the 
Battle Creek fight, local history 
to the contrary notwithstanding, 
and he knew thoroughly well 
whereof he spoke. 

After leaving Cache Valley, 
Sylvanus Collett .lived for a 
while in Nounan Valley, Bear 
Lake County, Idaho, where he 
grazed large herds of horses, 
cattle, and sheep, from whence 
he removed to Smith's Fork, 
now Cokeville, Wyoming, where 
he lived the remainder of his 
life, engaged in mining, stock 
raising, and kindred pursuits. 
He died while on a visit to Salt 
Lake City, April 10, 1901. 

"Syl" Collett possessed char- 
acteristics that endeared him to 
all who had his acquaintance. 
To his bravery, before alluded 
to, were added a loyalty to 
friend and a kindly and char- 
itable consideration for foe in 
remarkable degree. Of the lat- 
ter phase of his disposition note 
the following incident: Through 
his instrumentality a malefactor 
was being turned over to offi- 
cers of the law. The man raved 
and swore vengeance at the first 
opportunity. "Syl" unbuckled a 
horse pistol from his belt and 
handed it to the culprit with the 
remark: "Please don't shoot me 
in the back." The weapon was 
returned unused. 

D. F. Collett. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



355 



THOMAS R. CUTLER. 

An essential requirement for 
success in a pioneer country is 
adaptability. New conditions 
must be met, new methods of 
life adopted, new problems 
solved. He who possesses this 
quality and with it the power of 
application is bound to achieve 
success. Thomas Robinson Cut- 
ler was such a man, 

Born June 2, 1844, in Shef- 
field, England, his parents were 
Thomas Cutler and Elizabeth 
Robinson Cutler. His father 
was also a cutler by trade. 
Thomas R. received an ordinary 
education, and at the age of fif- 
teen he entered into the work 
of his life-business. For a num- 
ber of years he was a clerk in a 
foreign shipping house, and then 
with his family, all of whom had 
been converted to the teachings 
of the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, he emigrated 
to Utah. He arrived in Salt 
Lake October 6, 1864, and lived 
for a year in a little house near 
the mouth of Big Cottonwood 
Canyon. 

Next year he moved to Lehi 
and again took up his business 
career, this time in the employ 
of the firm of T. and W.. Taylor. 
When this concern later sold out 
to the Lehi Union Exchange, he 
arranged for them the terms of 
the sale. For a number of years 
he engaged in sheep and cattle 
raising. 

It was when the formation of 



the Utah Central Railway be- 
came a fact that the business 
acumen of T. R. Cutler made 
its first step and launched him 
upon a career which has had few 
equals in the commercial life of 
Utah. Recognizing what the 
railroad would do for Lehi com- 
mercially, he conceived the idea 
of establishing a store near the' 
proposed depot, so in 1871, in 
connection with James W. and 
Thomas Taylor, he built a small 
adobe structure where now 
stands the Utah Banking Com- 
pany. For a year he conducted 
a store here. When, in 1872, 
the railroad reached Lehi, the 
concern was in a position to 
realize upon their foresight. 
Accordingly, the People's Co- 
operative Institution was organ- 
ized, and Cutler became the 
manager. This company has 
prospered since its establish- 
ment, due in no small part to 
its successful management. 
Thomas R. is now the president 
of the organization. 

When the Utah Sugar Com- 
pany was organized in 1890, the 
promoters experienced no trou- 
ble in deciding whom they de- 
sired to control the affairs of the 
new industry; they immediately 
selected the young man from 
Lehi who had made so great a 
success of his business there. He 
was therefore designated gener- 
al manager of the Utah Sugar 
Company. The success of the 
beet sugar industry in the West 
has been due in no small part to 



356 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Thomas R. Cutler. His fore- 
sight, business sagacity, reliable 
judgment, and untiring industry 
have enabled him to conduct the 
company which employs him, 
from its possession of a single 
factory in Lehi, to a gigantic 
corporation which owns eight 
factories in Utah and Idaho, fur- 
nishes employment to thousands 
of people, and gives to the farm- 
ers of the two states immense 
sums of money each year for 
their beets. The company is a 
monument to his success. 

But the sugar business is not 
the only field in which Mr. Cut- 
ler has been active. He was one 
of the promoters of the Lehi 
Commercial and Savings Bank 
and the Union Hotel. Other 
concerns which have benefited 
Lehi only indirectly, which he 
has been instrumental in form- 
ing, or active in conducting, are 
the Provo Woolen Mills, and 
Cutler Brothers Company. In 
addition he is a director in the 
Utah State National Bank, pres- 
ident of the Continental Life 
Insurance Company, and an im- 
portant member of numerous 
other companies. He has also 
engaged to some extent in the 
mining business. 

His public work in Lehi em- 
braces various offices with which 
the people have honored him. 
He has been a member of the 
City Council and city treasurer. 
In politics he has been a Repub- 
lican, but in spite of the earn- 
est solicitation of his friends, he 



has almost universally refused 
to run for office. 

But it is in his ecclesiastical 
capacity that the people of Lehi 
will longest remember Thomas 
R. Cutler. When Bishop David 
Evans resigned, on September 
5, 1879, Thomas R. was the 
choice of all the people as his 
successor. For twenty-four 
years he directed the fortunes 
of the Lehi Ward, and by his 
ability to lead, his sympathy for 
each of those over whom he pre- 
sided, his broad-mindedness, 
and his unbounded charity, he 
won a permanent place in the 
hearts of the people. 

In 1904 the ever-widening 
scope of his business compelled 
him to change his residence to 
Salt Lake City. It was with in- 
tense sorrow that the people ac- 
cepted his lesignation as Bishop 
and saw him depart for his new 
home. But always they will 
claim him; always will they 
think of him as Bishop Cutler 
of Lehi. 

H. G. 

ELISHA H. DAVIS. 

Elisha Hildebrand Davis, the 
son of Isaac and Edith Richards 
Davis, was born in West town- 
ship, Columbia County, Ohio, 
October 22, 1815. His great- 
great-grandfather, John Davis, 
came from Wales and settled in 
Salem County, New Jersey, 
where the great-grandfather, 
Thomas Davis, and the grand- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



357 



father, Isaac Davis, as well as 
the father, were born. 

While the family were living 
at West Township, Ohio, they 
were converted to the gospel as 
taught by the Mormon elders, 
and in 1838 most of the mem- 
bers of Isaac Davis' family, in- 
cluding Elisha, joined the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints. Soon after, the 
family moved to Illinois, and 
after residing in several places, 
settled near Nauvoo. 

Elisha was baptized August 
19, 1838, by Edwin D. Woolley, 
and on the 8th of the following 
January he was ordained an el- 
der under the hands of Lorenzo 
D. Barnes, H. Sagers, and Ed- 
win D. Woolley. The next day, 
in company with three elders 
who had ordained him, he start- 
ed on a mission to the Eastern 
States. He labored for about 
two years in the states of Penn- 
sylvania, New Jersey, and Dela- 
ware, assisting in raising up 
several branches of the church. 
On this mission he was instru- 
mental in bringing the gospel to 
Bishop Edward Hunter, Bishop 
Elijah Sheets, Bishop Jacob 
Weiler, the Rhodebach family 
of Cedar Fort, the Bushman 
family of Lehi, and many others 
who afterward joined and be- 
came prominent and faithful 
members of the church. 

He often worked in the har- 
vest fields with the people and 
in this way earned sufficient 
means to supply himself with 



clothing and food, and at the 
same time won the love and 
confidence of those with whom 
he associated. In the fall of 
1840 he started for Nauvoo, 
traveling with a family he had 
baptized. He arrived some time 
in the following March, and 
was present at the laying of the 
cornerstone of the Nauvoo Tem- 
ple, April 6, 1841. 

Having had a brief visit of 
about six weeks with his fath- 
er's family, on the 27th of April, 
1841, he started on his second 
mission east of the mountains, 
which lasted about three years, 
when he was called by Brigham 
Young, who had now become 
the president of the church, on 
a mission to England, arriving 
in Liverpool August 19. 1S44. 
on the sixth anniversary of his 
baptism. During his entire time 
in the British mission he pre- 
sided over the London Confer- 
ence, and at che close of his 
ministry, on Christmas day, 
1846, he took to wife Mary 
Ann Mitchell. In company with 
John Taylor, Parley P. Pratt, 
Joseph Caine, and others, he set 
sail for the United States on 
the good ship "America." After 
a perilous journey, they landed 
at New Orleans, March 7, 1847, 
and proceeded up the river to 
Saint Louis, and thence to Win- 
ter Quarters, where Elisha 
found that his father and sister, 
Sabina, had died a few days be- 
fore his arrival. 

Elisha and wife remained in 



358 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Winter Quarters about a year, 
when they re-crossed the river 
to Iowa, and built a house on 
the ground where the Liberty 
pole stood, and where the Mor- 
mon Battalion was rallied. 
They lived there two years, 
their daughter, Mary Ann, and 
son, Elisha, being born at this 
place. They then removed ten 
miles east to Keg Creek, where 
Sarah Agnes was born; re- 
mained there a year; and emi- 
grated to Utah in 1852. Mr. 
Davis tended Bishop Gardner's 
mill on Jordan River the first 
winter, as he was a miller by 
trade, and in the spring of 1853 
the family moved to Lehi. In 
the spring of 1854 they moved 
to Bountiful, Davis County, and 
for over a year Elisha ran a 
grist mill for Heber C. Kimball. 
In 1855 they lived in Bingham 
Fort, near Ogden, and in 1857 
returned to Bountiful. 

Elisha took part in the Echo 
Canyon war, and in the "Move" 
south he once more brought his 
family to Lehi, where they have 
since resided. From 1858 to 
1869 he had charge of Samuel 
Mulliner's grist mill, which 
stood on the present site of the 
sugar factory. From then to 
the time of his death, he fol- 
lowed farming and stock rais- 
ing. 

Mr. Davis lived to a ripe old 
age. beloved and respected by 
all who knew him. As a result 
of his early training in the 
church, he was a theologian of 



marked ability, and a clear, 
logical, and forceful speaker, 
very devoted to his church and 
a good citizen. He was one of 
the early members of the City 
Council, and held other posi- 
tions of trust and honor. 

The following is from his 
journal: 
"To My Posterity: 

"During a life of nearly 82 
years, 59 years of which time 
having been spent in the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints, I can testify to the hap- 
piness of a life of moral honesty 
and religious devotion. Experi- 
ence has taught me the high 
value of moral purity and relig- 
ious sentiment, as reaching far 
above earthly pleasures, and the 
gratification of appetite and pas- 
sion which cannot produce last- 
ing joy. 

"My success in life has come 
through my not borrowing 
money and mortgaging my 
home, but always living within 
my means, and sustaining my- 
self and family by the sweat of 
my face. 

"When I owned little, I lived 
on little and was satisfied. My 
married life of 46 years has been 
a happy one; my wife was al- 
ways true, gentle, faithful, kind, 
and wise, a help mate in very 
deed to me. During our entire 
married life of 46 years, we 
never had a hard feeling, nor 
cross word, but lived in love to- 
gether, always adopting the rule 
of speaking gently and kindly to 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



359 



and of each other; and nOw, at 
the advanced age of 82 years, 
standing as it were on the verge 
of eternity, my great desire and 
advice to all of you is to be 
faithful and true to our holy re- 
ligion, to never depart from the 
faith and turn against God. 

Every day that I live, I re- 
joice more and more in the 
great work of the Lord, and in 
the hope of eternal life. 
"Your loving father and grand- 
father, 
"Elisha Hildebrand Davis." 

MARY ANN M. DAVIS. 

Mary Ann Mitchell Davis, 
the daughter of Robert and 
Sarah Hunt Mitchell, was born 
in London, England, October 
19, 1822; was baptized a mem- 
ber of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, in 
1842; and was married to Elisha 
H. Davis in London, December 
25, 1846. She set' sail with her 
husband for the United States 
on the day of her marriage, and 
settled in Winter Quarters, Ne- 
braska, where she lived one 
year. She was in Iowa three 
years, and then emigrated to 
Utah in 1852. 

In Lehi, Mrs. Davis has held 
many offices of trust and honor 
in the organizations of her sex. 
For many years she was the 
treasurer of the Relief Society; 
was the third lady teacher 
called to labor in the Sunday 
School, in 1866; and continued 



to act until the time of her 
death. On the 16th of October, 
1888, she was set apart as a 
president in the Primary Asso- 
ciation, a work with which she 
was connected for a number of 
years. She had great influence 
over the young, whom she won 
to her by strong affection and 
undying love. She was a true 
wife and a most affectionate 
mother. As a Saint she lived a 
holy life, and had the gift of 
interpretation of tongues, which 
she received in her early asso- 
ciation with the church, and 
which she retained through life. 
She died September 14, 1892. 

Her family consisted of the 
following children: Mary Ann, 
born near Council Bluffs, Iowa, 
October 31, 1848; living at pres- 
ent in Lehi. 

Elisha Hildebrand, born near 
Council Bluffs, February 7, 
1850; now living in Lehi. 

Sarah Agnes (Mrs. Charles 
Karren), born on Keg Creek, 
Pottawattamie County, Iowa, 
March 21, 1852; now living in 
Magrath, Canada. 

Orinda Jane (Mrs. Dilbert H. 
Allred), born at' Bountiful, Da- 
vis County, Utah, April 14, 1854; 
now of Lehi. 

George Edward, born in Bing- 
ham Fort, near Ogden, Febru- 
ary 4, 1857; now of Lehi. 

Alphonzo Mitchel, born Feb- 
ruary 19, 1859, near Lehi; still 
residing in Lehi. 

Edith Richards, born near 
Lehi, December 17, 1860; died. 



360 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Sabina Ann, born near Lehi, 
December 9, 1862; now of Salt 
Lake City. 

W. W. DICKERSON. 

William Walter Dickerson, 
son of James W. and Winnie L. 
Rice Dickerson, was born July 
1, 1880, at Lamar, Benton Coun- 
ty, Mississippi. I was baptized 
into the Mormon Church July 
4, 1897, in Mississippi, and 
married Effie Bell Curtis, Oc- 
tober 24, 1897, near Lamar, 
Mississippi, where we remained 
until 1899, at which time we 
moved to Tennessee, and lived 
in the city of Memphis until 
August, 1903. We then came 




W. W. DICKERSON. 



to Utah and settled in Lehi, 
August 21, 1903, where I have 
remained since. 

I have been engaged in the 
business of carpentering and 
building in Lehi. My wife and 
children were sealed to me No- 
vember 3, 1904, in the Salt Lake 
Temple. I was ordained an 
elder March 7, 1904; was called 
to work in the Sunday School 
of Lehi Third Ward, in 1905; 
was set apart as president of 
the M. I. A., in 1906. I did my 
first baptizing October 27, 1906, 
when I baptized twenty-five 
children. I was ordained a sev- 
enty February 4, 1906; called as 
an aide in the Alpine Stake Re- 
ligion Class work, in 1908; was 
called to the Bishopric of the 
Third Ward as First Counselor 
to Bishop Lewis, in 1910; and 
was ordained a high priest in 
1910. 

I was elected school trustee 
July 8, 1911. 

JOSEPH A. DORTON. 

Joseph A. Dorton, son of 
John Dorton and Catherine 
Carl, was born June 5, 1821, at 
Stockport, Cheshire, England. 
He came to Utah in 1855, and 
moved to Lehi in 1857. He was 
the first butcher in Lehi, also 
the first one to move outside 
of the old fort wall, moving 
over on the divide between this 
valley and Cedar Valley. He 
had remarkable skill in dealing 
with the Indians. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



361 



He crossed the plains with 
the Saints to enjoy freedom of 
worship, and made two trips 
back to pilot two more immi- 
grant trains to Utah. 

He married Martha Clayton 
in 1858, and was the father of 
twelve children. 




JOSEPH 



DORTON. 



In 



1860 he conducted the 
stage line between Salt Lake 
and Cedar Fort. 

He died November 5, 1898. 

MARTHA C. DORTON. 

Martha Clayton Dorton, 

daughter of George Clayton 

and Jane Bingham, was born 

July 16, 1837, at Greenlane, 



Cheshire, England. She emi- 
grated with her parents to Utah 
in 1855, and moved to Lehi in 
1856. She was a member of the 
first choir in Lehi. 

She married Joseph A. Dor- 
ton, in 1858, and was the mother 
of twelve children. 

She has been a resident of 
Lehi 57 years. 

EDWARD WM. EDWARDS. 

Edward William Edwards 
was born in Carmarthenchere, 
Wales, March 3, 1831. He 
joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints 
September, 1849. He moved 
from Carmarthenchere to Llan- 
elly, where he was appointed 
counselor of that branch of the 
church. In the spring of 1854 
he left his native home for 
America, landing in New York 
in June, 1854. In August, 1854, 
he moved west to Illinois. In 
the spring of 1855 he moved to 
Saint Louis, Missouri, and a 
company of fifty, under the di- 
rection of Erastus Snow, went 
to Fort Riley to build the fort. 
He was appointed teacher of 
the camp by Bishop Charles 
Chord. The camp broke up, 
and they went in the fall of the 
same year to Saint Louis, where 
he acted as nurse in the cholera 
plague, and secured means by 
which to cross the plains. 

The spring of 1856 he moved 
to Florence, Nebraska, and re- 
mained there until the camp was 



362 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ready to move out on the plains, 
which was with the first hand 
cart company, in charge of Cap- 
fain Edmond Elsworth. They 
arrived on the public square, 
Salt Lake City, October 3, 1856.' 




MRS. EDWARD W. EDWARDS. 

He hired out to Bishop Woolley 
to work in the saw mills in Lit- 
tle Cottonwood canyon. The 
latter part of 1857 he moved to 
Spanish Fork and worked for 
Bishop Butler until the move 
south before the arrival of John- 
ston's army. When he returned, 
he went to the White Moun- 
tains on an exploring expedi- 
tion. After the army had ar- 
rived, he moved to Camp Floyd 
and worked at his trade tailor- 



ing for the soldiers. While em- 
ployed at Camp Floyd he was 
shot in the leg by an intoxi- 
cated soldier, who, after finding 
out what he had done, did ev- 
erything in his power to shield 
himself, paying all expense of 
doctors and medical treatment. 

After his recovery he moved 
to Lehi in the spring of 1859, 
and married Amanda Evans, 
April 29, 1859, who was the 
daughter of the late Bishop Da- 
vid Evans of the Lehi ward. She 
was born April 21, 1844, at Han- 
cock County, Illinois. She 
passed peacefully away on 
March 25, 1881. They had born 
through their union eleven chil- 
dren, eight boys and three girls. 

He was ordained in the Fif- 
tieth quorum of Seventies, at 
Spanish Fork, and was trans- 
ferred to the Sixty-eighth quo- 
rum, in Lehi. He was a block 
teacher for many years in the 
Lehi Ward, and was ordained a 
high priest about two years be- 
fore his death. He died in 
American Fork, November 29, 
1903. 

The funeral was held at Lehi, 
December 1st, Counselor A. R. 
Anderson having charge of the 
meeting. 

Singing, "Heaven is my 
home." 

Prayer, William Southwick. 

Singing, "O my Father." 

The speakers were: Thomas 
R. Jones, William Clark, John 
Austin, Sr., and A. R. Anderson. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



363 



Singing, hymn 406, "Rest, 
Rest." 

The deceased was laid to rest 
in the Lehi cemetery, the grave 
being dedicated by Joseph 
Kirkham. 

He was assistant chorister in 
the Lehi ward for many years. 

ABEL EVANS. 

Abel Evans, son of Samuel 
Evans, was born June 24, 1813, 
at Carmarthenshire, South 
Wales. His boyhood and early 
life were spent in the coal mines 
of his native land. He never 
joined any of the religious de- 
nominations, although he always 
lived an honest, moral, and up- 
right life. About the year 1840 
he received the gospel as taught 
by the Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints, in Glamor- 
ganshire, South Wales, being the 
second person baptized in 
Wales. For the next ten years 
he devoted himself to the min- 
istry, traveling in South and 
North Wales, and as a result a 
great many people accepted the 
gospel at his hands. 
. He emigrated to America in 
1850, and while crossing the 
ocean, he became acquainted 
with Mary Jones, whom he mar- 
ried after landing in America. 
The next two years were spent 
in Council Bluffs, and in 1852 
he and his wife crossed the 
plains with ox teams, coming 
direct to Lehi, where he resided 
for thirteen years. He was 



called on a mission to his na- 
tive land in 1865, and labored 
there for a period of one and 
a half years, at which time he 
slept in a damp bed, from the 
effects of which he died Novem- 
ber 30, 1866, firm in his Mas- 
ters' cause. 

He was the husband of three 
wives, namely: Mary Jones, 
Martha Morgan, and Jane Da- 
vis. He was the father of six- 
teen children, nine of whom 
reached maturity, namely: Abel 
John, William, Samuel, Mary 
(Mrs. Thomas Webb), Sarah 
(Mrs. William Sabey of Ma- 
grath, Canada), Catherine (Mrs. 
William R. Yates), Hyrum, Ed- 
ward (now of Beach, Idaho), 
Martha (Mrs. George C. Phil- 
lips, deceased), Jane (Mrs. 
Abraham Gudmunson, de- 
ceased). 

Abel Evans was a man of 
strong faith, and was especially 
endowed with the gift of healing 
and the discerning of spirits. He 
was counselor to Bishop David 
Evans for a number of years as 
well as being president of the 
high priests' quorum; was mar- 
shal of Lehi; and held a num- 
ber of other civil offices. 

MARY JONES EVANS. 

Mary Jones Evans was born 
August 1, 1827, at Carmarthen- 
shire, South Wales. She joined 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints about the year 
1849 in her native Jand and emi- 



364 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



grated to America in 1859, and 
while on the way became ac- 
quainted with Abel Evans, to 
whom she was married on their 
arrival in America. She lived in 
Council Bluffs two years and in 
the spring of 1852 started to 
Utah. Their team consisted of 
one yoke of cattle, one cow and 
a two-year-old heifer. They ar- 
rived in Lehi in the fall of the 
same year. 




MARY JONES EVANS. 

Mrs. Evans went through all 
the hardships pertaining to pio- 
neer life. She was left a widow 
i-i 1866, her husband having died. 
on a mission to Wales, leaving a 
family of six children, three boys 
and three girls, the oldest twelve 



years old. Although, she had the 
care of raising her family, she 
was never known to complain 
and was always cheerful. She 
was known for her hospitality. 
She died April 3, 1894. 

ABEL JOHN EVANS. 

Abel John Evans was born 
December 20, 1852, at Lehi City, 
Utah, being the son of Abel 
Evans and Mary Jones Evans. 
At the age of twelve years his 
father went on a mission to 
Great Britain, and in Novem- 
ber, 1867, died there, thus be- 
coming a martyr for the cause 
of his Master, and leaving Abel 
John the eldest of nine children 
to take the lead in all the hard- 
ships which the people of that 
time were forced to undergo. 
He had had but very little time 
to go to school, and indeed the 
opportunities of those days were 
but poor for those able to go. 
He worked on the farm and in 
the canyons, and at other man- 
ual labor; such as he could find 
to do. 

At the age of 21 years, on 
January 26, 1874, he was or- 
dained to the office of an elder, 
under the hands of Andrew 
Smith Johnson, and was mar- 
ried the same day to Louisa 
Emeline Zimmerman, in the En- 
dowment House at Salt Lake 
City, Utah. He afterwards be- 
came the father of eleven chil- 
dren, three boys and eight girls, 
seven of whom are still living, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



365 



namely: Harriet Mindwell (Mrs. 
Heber Webb), William Erastus, 
Robert James, Rose Ethel (Mrs. 
Angus Elmer Peterson), Hazel 
Julia (Mrs. George F. Holm- 
stead), Vervene June, and Win- 
ifred Erma. 

Soon after becoming an elder, 
he was chosen as one of the 
counselors to Lot Russon, who 
was president of the elders' quo- 
rum at Lehi; on December 30, 
1883, was ordained to the office 
of a seventy under the hands of 
Andrew A. Peterson; and in 
April, 1889, went on a mission 
to Great Britain. On January 
15, 1893, he was ordained a high 
priest, under the hands of Abra- 
ham H. Cannon, one of the 
apostles of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, and 
called to the High Council in 
the Utah Stake of Zion. He 
acted in that position until the 
Alpine Stake of Zio^ was or- 
ganized, on January 13, 1901, 
at which time he was made one 
of the stake presidency, the po- 
sition he now occupies, having 
been set apart by Apostle Teas- 
dale. 

In the industrial line, Mr. 
Evans has always been a strong 
advocate of home industry and 
local institutions, being a stock- 
holder in the following com- 
panies: Provo Woolen Mills, 
Utah-Idaho Sugar Company, 
Utah Banking Company, State 
Bank of Lehi, Bank of Ameri- 
can Fork, American Fork Co- 
op., Intermountain Life Insur- 



ance Company, Provo Reservoir 
Company, Utah Lake Irrigation 
Company, Salt Lake & Utah 
Railroad Company, and many 
other minor enterprises. 
« Mr. Evans was a member of 
the City Council four terms, 
1881-1888; during the last three 
terms was alderman, which in- 
cluded the duties of justice of 
the peace, and in 1891 was 
elected mayor, this time run- 
ning on a Democratic ticket, 
being the first election since the 
division of the people on nation- 
al party lines. He has always 
been a strong Democrat in pol- 
itics. He served as a member 
of the county court for four 
years, 1892-1896, at which time 
he was elected a member of the 
Utah Constitutional Convention 
and there took a prominent 
part in framing the state con- 
stitution. He served as a sen- 
ator in the first, second, third, 
and fourth State Legislatures of 
the State of Utah, and at the 
last session was chosen presi- 
dent of the senate by the unan- 
imous vote of his party. 

Although Mr. Evans had very 
few educational opportunities in 
his youth, by determination and 
study, pursued at odd times, he 
has risen into the ranks of pro- 
fessional men. Although he 
never attended a high school 
nor a law school a day in his 
life, yet on May 13, 1901, he was 
the happy recipient of a certifi- 
cate from the Supreme Court of 
the State of Utah, which entitles 



366 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



him to practice law in all of the 
courts of the State. 

W. S. EVANS. 

William Samuel Evans was 
born at Lehi, February 1, 1855. 
He was the second son of Abel 
and Mary Jones Evans. He 
spent his boyhood days helping 
on his mother's farm and doing 
other odd jobs until 1874, when 
he married Geneva Clark, daugh- 
ter of William and Jane Clark. 




They then moved on to a home- 
stead in what is now known as 
I\ew Survey. There on the farm 
they raised their family of twelve 
children, four boys and eight 



girls, ten of whom are now liv- 
ing. About 1900 he built him a 
home, on Fourth North and Sec- 
ond West, which he still owns. 
He has followed various occupa- 
tions, such as running a thresh- 
ing machine, shearing sheep, and 
general contracting. He is a 




GENEVA CLARK EVANS. 

member of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints; was 
ordained an elder in 1874, and 
joined the quorum a little later. 
When the Alpine Stake was or- 
ganized, he became the presi- 
dent of the Sixth quorum of 
elders, and held that office until 
he was released to become a 
seventy. 
He has held several civil of- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



367 



fices,serving one term in the City 
Council, one term as member of 
the Irrigation Company, and, at 
different times, nine years as a 
member of the School Board. 
During his terms of office, they 
built the Franklin School, the 
Primary School, the Grammar 
School, the new Franklin School, 
and the Sego Lily addition. He 
also served two years as vice 
president of the Alpine High 
School Board. He served on the 
committee that erected the new 
High School building in Amer- 
ican Fork. At the last election 
he was elected City Councilor 
on the Peoples' ticket. 

DAVID EVANS. 

Bishop David Evans, son of 
Israel and Abigail Evans, was 
born in Cecil County, Mary- 
land, October 27, 1804. 

His early training in life was 
on the frontier in Pennsylvania. 
He was of a rugged character, 
such as to fit him for the events 
which were to follow. His ca- 
reer was remarkable for his 
great industry, frugality, and 
charity to the poor, his public- 
spiritedness and broad, self-ac- 
quired education. 

In 1826 he married Mary Beck 
and moved to Richland County, 
Ohio. Here he bought and 
opened up a new farm, where he 
lived until he was baptized into 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, April 6, 1833. 
On the 11th of the same month 



he was ordained a priest and im- 
mediately commenced traveling 
and preaching, selling his farm 
to enable him to perform his 
missionary labors. He was or- 
dained to the office of an elder 
July 21, 1833. He went with 
Zion's camp from Ohio to Mis- 
souri in 1834, and received or- 
dination to the First quorum of 
Seventy under the hands of the 
Prophet Joseph Smith and Sid- 
ney Rigdon, April 29, 1835. 

He attended the "School of 
the Prophets" in Kirtland, and 
then left Ohio for Missouri in 
charge of a company of Saints, 
most of whom he had baptized 
himself. Here he bought land 
and again made a home. He was 
with the Saints through all their 
persecutions in Missouri, among 
which was the terrible massacre 
at Haun's Mill. 

In December, 1838, he and 
family were compelled to flee 
from the state of Missouri, leav- 
ing all their property behind . 
He then went to Adams Coun- 
ty, Illinois, and commenced 
preaching and baptizing many. 
He lost his wife, after which he 
moved to Nauvoo and married 
Barbara Ann Ew'ell November. 
1341. In 1842 when Nauvoo was 
organized into wards he was or- 
dained bishop of the Eleventh 
Ward. He remained here until 
the Saints were driven out, when 
he was aopointed captain of a 
company to cross the plains, and 
arrived in the valleys September 
15, 1850. He moved to Lehi the 



368 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



following February, over which 
place he was appointed to pre- 
side as bishop, the duties of 
which he faithfully performed 
for 28 years, tendering his res- 
ignation on account of old age 
and failing health, August 24, 
1879. 

He located the city of Lehi 
and laid it off into blocks and 
lots with a pocket compass, tape 
line, and square. He was elected 
to the first Legislature of Utah 
and acted for many years as a 
member of that body. He was 
Colonel of Militia, served as 
Major of the Lehi Military Dis- 
trict several terms and was 
Mayor of Lehi City three terms. 
He married Climena Gibson in 
1854, Rebecca Coleman in 1856, 
and Christina Holm in 1861; and 
was the father of 41 children and 
a good provider for all his fam- 
ily. His death occurred June 23, 
1883, and the following day a 
special train was dispatched 
from Salt Lake City which 
brought President Woodruff. 
Bishop Hunter and several other 
leading men to attend the 
funeral. The cortege to the cem- 
etery was the largest ever 
formed in Lehi, 115 vehicles be- 
ing in line. 

BARBARA ANN EVANS. 

Barbara Ann Ewell Evans, 
the daughter of Pleasant and 
Barbara Ewell, was born the 
16th day of May, 1821, in the 
state of Virginia, Albemarl 
County. 



"My father and mother left 
that state when I was nine years 
old, and moved to Bedford 
County, state of Tennessee, 
where we remained three years. 
In 1833 we moved to Ray Coun- 
ty, Missouri. There I witnessed 
the falling of the stars, Novem- 
ber 13, 1833. 

"It was in my father's house 
that I first heard the sound of 
the everlasting gospel, preached 
by Brother Jacob Foutz. The 
next elder I heard was David 
Evans. My mother being first to 
believe, she was baptized by Da- 
vid Evans, and the family soon 
followed. 

'We remained in Missouri un- 
til the Saints were driven from 
that state. My mother and sis- 
ter being very sick when we left, 
they both died shortly after our 
arrival in Illinois, and in the 
course of a few months another 
of my sisters died, each leaving 
a small child which I had charge 
of in connection with my fath- 
er's family, which consisted of 
two brothers, two sisters, my 
father, myself, and the two small 
babies of my sisters, all of whom 
I had charge of, and I being 
only 18 years of age. 

"I was baptized by Elder Da- 
vid Evans, and confirmed by 
him June 10, 1837, and I was 
married to him on the 23rd 
of November, 1841. 

"I saw Joseph and Hyrum 
Smith after their martyrdom. It 
was a solemn day among the 
Saints. We felt like a flock of 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



369 



sheep without a shepherd, but 
the Lord had another shepherd 
to lead his Saints. It was Brig- 
ham Young. I was present the 
day he was set apart to lead the 
church. No Saint could dispute 
it, for it did seem when he 
spoke as though it was Joseph's 
own voice that was addressing 
us. I never shall forget that 
day nor how the Spirit of the 
Lord was poured out upon the 
people; it came so mild, yet so 
penetrating that every heart 
beat with joy to know we had a 
man of God to lead the Saints. 
Oh, what a consolation it was 
to know we were not forgotten. 

"I remained in Illinois until 
the exodus from that state, 
which was in 1846. Some of 
the Saints had neither teams 
nor wagons. The brethren unit- 
ed together and made wagons 
for those that had none; by that 
means all had wagons, but not 
teams, and we were obliged to 
get away, as the mob was howl- 
ing around, and Nauvoo was 
threatened. So my husband, 
being bishop of the Eleventh 
Ward, concluded to take the 
teams they had and move as 
many as they could. We made 
a start with what teams we had, 
crossed the Mississippi River, 
went a day's journey, and set 
the families down on the prairie. 
The next day they took the 
teams and brought the rest. 

"Soon after the men got em- 
ployment breaking prairie and 
other work. We took oxen 

26 



and milk cows, so in the fall all 
had teams and provisions for 
winter. I did considerable spin- 
ning in the tent, also quilted 
several quilts. One great bless- 
ing, we were generally well. We 
did not have many luxuries, 
still we felt thankful for what 
we had. We then started for 
Council Bluffs, but it was late 




BARBARA ANN EVANS. 

in the fall, winter had set in, 
and we stopped on the head- 
waters of the Nodaway. The 
men cut hay and put up log 
huts. My husband made a side- 
loom, and I did considerable 
weaving that winter. The cat- 
tle could not live on the frost- 
bitten hay so they commenced 



370 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



to die; our provisions began to 
get short; and we were obliged 
to leave in the month of Febru- 
ary, 1847. We started for Mis- 
souri, lost our way, our teams 
that were left gave out, and we 
had to kill and eat them to save 
our lives. 

"My husband and two other 
men, Joseph Smith (Lehi) and 
Shaw, went down to Missouri 
to get fresh teams and pro- 
visions, while they left their 
families camped on a small 
stream which was called Starva- 
tion Creek. We suffered from 
hunger and cold, but we did not 
complain, for we were united; 
we truly lived the order; we all 
shared alike. My husband came 
with fresh teams and provisions. 
I tell you it was a day of re- 
joicing. We had not heard 
from them since they left. They 
had had hard work to get 
teams. The people were so 
prejudiced against the Mor- 
mons, they were almost to re- 
turn without anything. My 
husband told the people he 
would return and die with the 
rest of the people. One gen- 
tleman spoke and said, 'Can't 
you do something for these 
men; they seem to be honest?' 
The men began to volunteer, 
and he soon had all the pro- 
visions and teams he wanted. 

"We then made another start 
for Missouri. The snow had 
fallen to a great depth, and we 
could not keep on the divide. 
After wallowing in the snow for 



four or five days, camping on 
the prairie without fire, we ar- 
rived in Nodaway County, Mis- 
souri, March 1, 1847. My son, 
Joseph, was born April 7th, in a 
house without doors, windows, 
chimneys or floor. My food was 
corn bread ground on a hand 
mill; we had bran for coffee. 
We stayed there three years, 
had plenty of work, made a 
good outfit and started for Utah, 
May 15th, 1850. My baby was 
ten days old when we started. 
After the company got together, 
Bishop Evans was appointed 
captain. They were organized, 
and on June 15 we made a start 
for Utah. 

"The cholera soon broke out 
in camp. People were stricken 
down on every side. There 
were five deaths in our com- 
pany, my husband's oldest 
daughter, Mrs. Ira Hinckley, 
was one among them. That 
was a trying time. I had six 
small children, but none of them 
had the horrible disease. Had it 
not been for that we should have 
had a pleasant journey. After 
we arrived at Laramie, we all 
enjoyed good health. 

"In the year 1850, September 
15th, we arrived at Salt Lake 
Valley, and lived there until 
February 15, 1851. We then 
moved to what was then called 
Dry Creek. We have made our 
home in Lehi ever since. 

"My husband was appointed 
bishop of Lehi, also postmaster 
and served several terms in the 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



371 



Legislature. Our son, Hyrum, 
was drowned at Pelican Point, 
in Utah Lake, July 29, 1862, age 
9 years, 21 days. He had been 
baptized. 

"I served as Second Coun- 
selor in the Relief Society for 
eleven years, I have done work 
in three temples, and have a lit- 
tle more to do, but my health 
would not permit. If I cannot 
do it, some of my family will 
attend to it. 

"My son, Eleazer Evans, was 
called on a mission to Germany. 
He left October 16, 1883, took a 
severe cold while in London; 
still he would not give up until 
he arrived in Berlin. He re- 
mained sick all winter. The 
president released him to re- 
turn home. He lived just three 
weeks after his return, when his 
noble spirit took its flight to 
God who gave it. 

"I am the mother of fifteen 
children, seven boys and eight 
girls, ten of whom are living 
besides one adopted child, the 
daughter of Louise and John 
Beck; grand children 101, 86 
living, 21 dead; great-grand- 
children 51, 43 living, 8 are 
dead. I was 75 years old May 
16, 1896. All my children liv- 
ing are married and have fam- 
ilies, and live in Utah. I have 
been a widow 13 years, was left 
with three children. I feel 
thankful through all the mean- 
dering and shifting scenes of 
mortal life. I have been pre- 



served thus far in the faith of 
the gospel, and can testify that 
Joseph Smith was a prophet of 
God." 

REBECCA C. EVA::S. 

Rebecca Coleman Evans, born 
October 4, 1838, in Bedfordshire, 
England, came to Lehi February 




REBECCA C. EVANS. 

15, 1851. She was married to 
Bishop David Evans in 1856. She 
is the mother of eight children 
as follows: George Prime, Har- 
riet, Sarah (Mrs. Samuel J. Tay- 
lor), Rebecca, Emma Jane (Mrs 
John Roberts, Jr.), Martha Ann, 
and Ella. 



372 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ISRAEL EVANS. 

Israel Evans was born in Han- 
over, Columbus County, Ohio, 
October 2, 1828, his parents be- 
ing David and Mary Beck Evans. 
At the age of five years he went 
with his parents to Missouri, and 
four years later to Nauvoo, Illi- 
nois. As his father's earnings 
were no more than sufficient for 
the support of the family, Israel's 
education was limited to the sim- 
ple studies taught in the district 
schools. 

In July, 1846, he enlisted in 
the Mormon Battalion at Coun- 
cil Bluffs, hoping that his enlist- 
ment might save some older 
man of family from service. He 
received his discharge after a 
year of severe duty in Califor- 
nia. He then went to work at 
Sutter's Mill and was employed 
in the company which discov- 
ered gold. He worked in the 
gold fields long enough to fit 
himself to return to Utah, in a 
party under the command of 
Captain Ira J. Willes. 

He arrived in Salt Lake City 
October 1, 1848, and was mar- 
ried January 1, 1849, to Matilda 
A. Thomas. In the fall of 1850 
he came to Lehi, where a few 
families had already settled at 
Snow's Springs. He assisted in 
surveying the first farm lands 
and towns'te, and in locating 
and digging the first irrigating 
r'itches, including the ditch from 
American Fork Canvon, which 



•vas a great undertaking for that 
time. 

In 1853 he was assigned to a 
four-year mission to England, 
which he honorably filled. On 
his r?turn he had charge of one 
of the hand cart companies, 
which he brought successfully 
across the plains. In 1868 he 
went upon a second mission to 
the eastern states. He was one 
of the presidents of the 68th 
quorum of seventies, was Mayor 
of Lehi for one term, and upon 
several occasions was elected to 
the City Council. He was also 
appointed major in the local di- 
vision of the Territorial militia. 

He was ever a public-spirited 
man. It was largely owing to 
him that a bill was passed es- 
tablishing the Agricultural Col- 
lege and he was instrumental in 
the location of the sugar factory 
at Lehi, maintaining and prov- 
ing the suitability of the pro- 
posed site, in spite of discourag- 
ing conditions. 

He died May 31, 1896 : in Lehi, 
respected by all who knew him. 
His belief in the faith of his 
choice was unshaken through 
life, and he left behind him the 
unblemished record of an hon- 
est, loyal, and generous citizen. 

MATILDA THOMAS EVANS. 

Matilda A. Thomas Evans, 
daughter of Daniel S. and Mar- 
tha P. Thomas, was born in Cal- 
loway County, Kentucky, Feb. 5, 
1830. She was baptized into the 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



373 



Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints when eight years 
of age. In ber youth her parents 
moved into Missouri, and from 
there into Illinois. She was in 
the expulsion from Nauvoo and 
in 1847 she, with her brother 
Isaac, crossed the plains in th* 
first company of emigrants after 
the pioneers. They drove teams 
for John Van Cott in order to 
get an outfit to return for the 
rest of her father's t'amil>. They 
arrived in Salt Lake City on 
September 4, 1847. The next 
year, her brother returned, 
bringing out the family in 1849. 

She was married to Israel 
Evans, January 1, 1849. After 
living in Salt Lake City for a 
thort time they moved to Lehi, 
settling at Snow's Springs. Aft- 
erward they moved up on the 
creek into what was known as 
Evansville, and still later into 
Lehi proper. In 1853 her hus- 
band "was calle\l upon a mission 
to England. He left her with 
two small children, remaining 
away between four and five 
years. During this time she 
passed through all the trials in- 
cident to opening up a new 
country, often going into the 
harvest field to glean wheat to 
provide for herself and children 
She did much toward building 
her first little home within the 
fort wall. Her entire life was a 
busy one, identified with the 
people of Lehi. 

She was the mother of nine 
children: Mary Abigail (Mrs. 



Benjamin S. Lott), Elgiva (Mrs. 
D. J. Thurman), Martha, Israel, 
Matilda (Mrs. Thomas Skalley), 
Morgan, Rachel (Mrs. E. J. 
Campbell), Lyda (Mrs. O. A. 
Slade), and Henry. She died 
March 11, 1905, a firm believer 
in the gospel taught by the 
Prophet Joseph Smith, having 
heard it preached from his own 
lips in her youth. She was a 
patient and willing worker all 
her life, always ready to give 
help to those in need. 

DAVID EVANS, JR. 

David Evans, Jr., son of Bish- 
op David Evans and Barbara 
Ann Ewell Evans, was born in 
Lehi January 28. 1852. His early 
life was spent in his native city 
working on his father's farm in 
the summer and attending the 
district school in the winter. 
After reaching his majority, he 
'.aught school for a time in the 
Franklin School "over the 
creek" and, in connection with 
Samuel R. Thurman, commenced 
reading law. He went to Ann 
Arbor in 1884 and after his re- 
turn moved to Provo, where he 
and Thurman conducted a law 
firm until 1887. As United States 
Deputy Marshal, Mr. Evans ef- 
fected the arrest of John D. Lee 
and during 1887-1891. he was 
Assistant United States District 
Attorney under C. S. Varian at 
Provo. About this time he moved 
to Ogden. He was in the Utah 
Legislature in 1892 and an active 



374 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



member of the Constitutional 
convention in 1895. 

In 1896, Mr. Evans was a dele- 
gate to the National Democratic 
Convention at Chicago, where 
William Jennings Bryan received 
his first nomination for Presi- 




DAVID EVANS, JR. 

dent of the United States. He 
lived in Salt Lake City for a time 
and moved to California about 
1902, where he has been inter- 
ested in some large enterprises 
near Los Angeles. He is now a 
prominent attorney in the "City 
of the Angels." He has been 
interested in mining to seme ex- 
tent in Utah and has been quite 
successful in this line. 

In 1881 he married Leah M. 
Nagle. a daughter of John C. and 



Louisa Nagle. Three daughters 
have been born to them, one dy- 
ing in infancy, — the other two 
are Lucile and Irma, who are re- 
ceiving a liberal education. 

Although Mr. Evans has risen 
to fame and fortune, he has 
shown on many occasions that 
he has a tender feeling for the 
place of his nativity and for the 
friends of his youth. 

CARL JOHN E. FJELD. 

Carl John Ellevsen Fjeld was 
born January 26, 1825, in 
Drammen, Norway. His father, 
Ellev Johnson Fjeld (he was 
called Fjeld because of long ser- 
vice at Fjeldgaard, Mountain 
Estate, near Drammen) came 
from Sigdahl, Norway, and was 
born July 30, 1789. His mother, 
Anna Halvorsen, was born 
March, 1791, in Hillestasogn, 
Norway. 

Carl's boyhood was spent in 
a ceaseless struggle for the bare 
necessities of life, as his parents 
were very poor, and although 
he had no schooling he became 
quite proficient in reading and 
writing. When sixteen years of 
age he went to sea, and spent 
a few years on the briny deep, 
much against the wishes of his 
mother. She finally persuaded 
him to give up sailing and to 
settle down to work and as a 
result he learned the trade of 
iron founder, at the Eidsfos 
Iron Works. 

On the 15th of February, 1846, 
he took to wife Maren Eline Pe- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



375 



terson, daughter of Peter Mor- 
tensen and Sophie Andreason, 
born February 5, 1822, in Hoff, 
Norway. 

In the winter of 1852-1853 he 
went to Denmark, and there 
met the late President C. D. 
Fjeldsted, a fellow workman, 
who converted him to Mormon- 
ism. He was baptized a mem- 
ber of the Church of lesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints 
April 6, 1853, by Peter Hansen. 
The following May he returned 
to Norway, and during the sum- 
mer moved his family to Chris- 
tiania, where he had secured 
work. In the fall, Canute Pe- 
terson, whom he had met in 
Denmark, came to do mission- 
ary work in Norway's capital, 
and found a number of earnest 
investigators among Fjeld's 
companions in the foundry. A 
regular missionary campaign 
was now inaugurated, the meet- 
ings being held in Fjeld's 
house, and on December 8, 1853, 
a branch of the Church was or- 
ganized with nine members. 
Fjeld was ordained a priest and 
set apart to preside. This 
branch has continued to the 
present and is one of the strong- 
est in the lands of the north. 

During the next seven years, 
Carl assisted the elders and took 
an active part in the ministry, 
and also endured his full share 
of the persecutions which the 
work had generally aroused. In 
the spring of 1860, with his fam- 
ily, he left his native land en- 



route for Utah, crossing the 
ocean in the good ship "William 
Tapscott," under tlie command 
of Captain Bell, and the plains 
in Captain Oscar O. Stoddard's 
hand cart company, arriving in 
Salt Lake City, September 24, 
1860. The first winter was spent 
in Salt Lake City, and in the 
spring they moved to Lehi, as 
Fjeld had engaged to work for 
his friend, Canute Peterson. 

It was quite a change for the 
iron- founder to drive an ox team 
while working on the farm or 
in the canyon, but this was the 
usual occupation of the pioneers 
of those days. On account of 
grasshopper wars and other 
wars, it was a hard struggle to 
get food enough for the family 
and the bread was often eaten 
bare. 

On November 8, 1862, he mar- 
ried Anna Olson, a Swedish girl 
he had become acquainted with 
on the journey to Utah, and in 
1866 he moved his first family 
to John C. Nagle's place, now 
known as Saratoga Springs, 
while the second family re- 
mained in Lehi. In 1870, an- 
other move was made to Pelican 
Point to take charge of the 
stage station, but the next year 
the route was changed through 
Cedar Valley, so the family 
moved to Eureka, where they 
have since resided. 

In the spring of 1876, Fjeld 
returned to Lehi alone, where 
he spent the remainder of his 
days. 



376 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



He again became active in 
church work, to which he was 
very much devoted. He was 
one of the active deacons and a 
faithful Sunday School teacher. 
Among 'the Scandinavians he 
was a great favorite, taking a 
prominent part in their meet- 
ings, and generally leading the 
singing. He died January 8, 
1888. 

Maren Eline is still living in 
Eureka, where she is familiarly 
known as Grandma "Fields," and 
although she is in her ninety- 
second year, she is hale and 
hearty. She had eight children, 
six of whom reached maturity 
as follows: 

Anne Susannah (Mrs. John A. 
Hansen). 

Josephine Amelia (Mrs. Wm. 
Montgomery). 

Charles Peter. 

Heber Sommund. 

Sarah Maria (Mrs. Robert 
Harrison, deceased). 

Daniel (also deceased). 

ANNA OLSON FJELD. 

Anna Olson Fjeld, the daughter 
of Andrew Olson and Christi 
Johanson, was born in Oste- 
goard, Warmeland, Sweden, 
April 17, 1825. Her father was 
a tiller of the soil and a highly 
respected citizen of the little 
community and while the family 
did not live in luxury, by thrift 
and industry they were able to 
secure the common necessities 
of life. 



As there were no schools in 
the country, the children were 
deprived the opportunities of 
book learning, but instead were 
taught to do all things necessary 
for their own sustenance and 
comfort. In this way Anna was 
taught to card, spin, knit, weave, 
sew, and make butter and cheese. 
At the age of twenty-six she 
went to Fredrickstad, Norway, 
to weave, and continued this oc- 
cupation with occasional visits 
home in the winter for eight 




ANN OLSON FJELD. 

years. The second year of her 
stay in Fredrickstad she lived 
with the family of Emil Larson, 
who were Mormons, and a num- 
ber of Mormon elders were also 
boarding there. At first she was 
very much prejudiced against 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



377 



this sect but after coming in con- 
tact with them and seeing their 
manner of living she began an 
tamest investigation, with the 
result that she was thoroughly 
convinced of the truth of the 
gospel as taught by the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints, and in October, 1852, she 
was baptized by John Johanson. 

In speaking of this event she 
says: ''I felt very happy in the 
knowledge that I had accepted 
the everlasting gospel and about 
a month after my baptism deter- 
mined to go home and tell my 
mother and brothers the won- 
derful news that the gospel 
which Jesus taught had been re- 
stored in our day. To my sur- 
prise and sorrow my folks be- 
came very bitter in their feelings 
toward me and even my dear old 
mother, who was rather hasty 
tempered, threatened to strike 
me with a stick for saying my 
prayers. My brothers, after try- 
ing in vain to convince me that 
I was wrong, took me to the 
priest but he would have noth- 
ing to do with me, so I was taken 
to the Provost. The Provost and 
I had a long discussion, but as I 
had studied the Bible consider- 
ably, I was able to defend my- 
self on every point. He finally 
told me I had better go to the 
Mormons, as he was sure that I 
was lost. My brother, who was 
with me and heard the discus- 
sion, wept bitterly," 

In 1860 Anna emigrated to 
Utah in the same company as 



Carl J. E. Fjeld, whom she after- 
ward married. She came to Lehi 
in 1862 and immediately com- 
menced weaving for a livelihood. 
Times were hard and the people 
were poor, but clothing being 
one of the absolute necessities, 
she was able to get sufficient em- 
ployment to maintain herself and 
only son without being a burden 
to her husband. She was very 
devoted to her religion and lived 
the life of a true and faithful 
Latter-day Saint to the time of 
her death, which occurred Au- 
gust 5, 1903. 

ANDREW FJELD. 

Andrew, the youngest child of 
Carl J. E. Fjeld and the only 
child of Anna Olson Fjeld who 
grew to maturity, was born in 
Lehi, May 30, 1866. He received 
his education in the public 
schools of the city, and as a 
means of earning a livelihood, 
learned the mason trade, at 
which he has labored most of the 
time. 

As a young man, he took an 
active part in church work, oc- 
cupying the positions of coun- 
selor to Michael Vaughan, presi- 
dent of the priests' quorum, and 
later holding the office of presi- 
dent of the quorum with Andrew 
Peterson and Walter Webb as 
counselors. 

In the Y. M. M. I. A. he at 
various times held the office of 
treasurer, counselor to Abel 



378 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



John Evans, and president of 
the association. 

He was a teacher in the Sun- 
day School for some time and on 
January 9, 1893, became a mem- 
ber of the first class to take the 
Sunday School course in the B. 
Y. University at Provo, which 
consisted of five weeks. The fol- 
lowing year the course was ex- 
tended to twenty weeks, when 
he was again called to attend the 
University. On his return he in- 
troduced the new ideas and 
methods into the Sunday School 




F.LIZA ANN B. FJELD. 

and was called November 18, 
1894, to succeed William Yates 
as the superintendent of the 
school, with James Kirkham and 



Joseph S. Broadbent as assist- 
ants. 

Being called to Australia on a 
mission, he was released from 
the Sunday School January 9, 
1899, and set sail from San Fran- 
cisco on the 26th of the month, 
landing in Sydney, Australia, 
February 19, 1899." He labored 
as traveling elder in the New 
South Wales Conference for 
thirteen months and as president 
of the Queensland Conference 
until November 28, 1900, when 
he was called by President 
Lorenzo Snow to preside over 
the Australian Mission. In this 
capacity he visited all the prin- 
cipal cities of Australia and Tas- 
mania and was relieved by James 
Duckworth, who had come to 
preside over the mission, August 
4, 1901. 

He set sail from Sydney, Aus- 
tralia, on the steamship Ventura 
August 13, 1901, calling en route 
at Auckland, Pago Pago, and 
Honolulu, landing in San Fran- 
cisco, where he was met by his 
wife and her father and mother 
September 3, 1901, arriving in 
Lehi on the thirteenth of the 
month. 

He was ordained a president of 
seventy in the 68th quorum Sep- 
tember 21, 1902, and on the 23rd 
of the following November was 
set apart as Second Counselor to 
Eishop Thomas R. Cutler. Upon 
the division of the Lehi Ward 
December 20, 1903, he was or- 
dained a bishop and set apart to 
preside over the First Ward with 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



379 



Robert John Whipple and 
George Schow as counselors, 
which position he still holds. 

He was a member of the 
School Board for one term, is a 
member of the Lehi Pioneer 
Committee and one of the pro- 
moters of the History of Lehi. 

On the 19th of February, 1890, 
he married Eliza Ann Broadbent, 
a daughter of Joseph and Sarah 
Dixon Broadbent, born August 
17, 1870. When family cares will 
permit, she delights in attending 
to church duties and for some 
years was an active Relief So- 
ciety teacher. She is the mother 
of nine children, seven of whom 
are living, as follows: Virgil 
Andrew, Wilford Carl, Leona 
Sarah, Edna Amanda, June, Al- 
lan Edward, and Velma. 

WM. FOTHERINGHAM. 

William Fotheringham, a pa- 
triarch and a veteran elder in 
the Church, was born April 5, 
1826, at Clackmannan, Scotland, 
the son of John Fotheringham 
and Charlotte Gentle. He was 
baptized in the fall of 1847 by 
Elder John Sharp, ordained a 
teacher March 19, 1848, by Elder 
William Gibson; ordained a 
seventy in the winter of 1849- 
1850, by Joseph Young; or- 
dained a high priest December 
3, 1870, by Jehu Blackburn; or- 
dained a bishop, in 1877, by 
Apostle Erastus Snow, to act as 
bishop's agent in Beaver stake; 
and ordained a patriarch Janu- 



ary 22, 1905, by Francis M. Ly- 
man. 

He was one of the first set- 
tlers of Lehi, Utah County, lo- 
cating there in 1850, and in the 
spring of 1852 he accompanied 
President Brigham Young on an 
exploring tour through Utah, 
Juab, Sanpete, Millard, Beaver, 
and Iron Counties. In 1852-1855 
he filled a mission to India, dur- 
ing which time he traveled more 
extensively than any other elder 
who has ever performed mis- 
sionary labor for the church in 
that country. He traveled 2,200 
miles in a bullock wagon, and 
went as far inland as the Hima- 
laya mountains. In the prov- 
ince of Orissa he resided six 
months close to the Temple of 
Juggernaut. After his return to 
Utah he accompanied President 
Brigham Young on an exploring 
expedition to Salmon River 
(now in Idaho), and the follow- 
ing winter participated in the 
Echo Canyon campaign. 

In the spring of 1861 he left 
Salt Lake City for his second 
mission, this time to South Af- 
rica. In crossing the plains he 
assisted Captain Ira Eldredge 
in taking charge of fifty wagons 
to the Missouri River, and was 
ninety-nine days making the 
voyage from London, England, 
to Capetown, South Africa. He 
presided over the mission until 
1864, when he returned to Utah. 
At the Missouri River he as- 
sisted in the immigration of the 
Saints and acted as assistant 



380 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



captain to Warren S. Snow in 
leading the last company of the 
season (84 wagons) to Zion. 
The trip was a severe one, as 
nearly all the teamsters were 
inexperienced in handling oxen. 

Since Elder Fotheringham 
became a member of the church, 
he has proven to be true an 1 
faithful to the cause of Christ. 
Over forty years of his life he 
spent as a zealous Sunday 
School worker, with the excep- 
tion of a few months, being Sun- 
day School superintendent forty 
years. He labored considerably 
as a home missionary, and iV'ed 
a mission to the St. George 
Temple from the Beaver Stake 
as an ordinance worker for four 
years, and in addition acted a> 
a member of the high council, 
and as first counselor in the 
presidency of the Beaver stake. 

Of civil offices he has held 
quite a number, having acted as 
alderman of Lehi City, mayor 
of Beaver City, probate clerk of 
Beaver County for sixteen years, 
a justice of the peace of Beaver 
precinct, and has been a member 
of the Utah Territorial Legisla- 
ture from Beaver and adjacent 
counties. In his youth he 
learned the trade of ship carpen- 
ter, and after his arrival in Utah 
he helped to build the old tith- 
ing office in Salt Lake City, to- 
gether with other buildings. 

He married his first wife in 
April, 1856, a second wife May 
25, 1857, and a third wife Oc- 
tober 10, 1865. By these three 



wives he has had thirty children, 
eighteen sons and twelve daugh- 
ters. Elder Fotheringham de- 
parted this life on February 27, 
1913, having proved himself 
staunch and true to his God, to 
his family, to his friends, and 
left behind memories worthy to 
cherish. 

JAMES H. GARDNER. 

One of the chief reasons why 
Utah has today so many men 
of initiative and ability to lead 
is that by force of circumstances 
they were early thrown on their 
own resources and compelled by 
an unkind fortune to develop 
that supremely valuable quality 
— self-reliance. Responsibility 
is an effective teacher and the 
responsibility of shifting for 
one's self quickly brings into 
being any valuable attributes of 
character hitherto lurking un- 
der the surface. 

When James Hamilton Gard- 
ner was born, on July 27, 1859, 
at Mill Creek, Salt Lake Coun- 
ty, Utah, he was thrown into 
conditions which, while seem- 
ingly hard, were only those 
common to the times, and 
which have been so productive 
of the best types of Utah man- 
hood. His father, Archibald 
Gardner, a pioneer of 1847, and 
that time Bishop of the West 
Jordan Ward, was that kind of 
man Brigham Young liked to 
have around him — a natural 
leader of men, resourceful, en- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



381 



ergetic, able to cope with new 
conditions, and a developer of 
new enterprises. His work left 
him little time to spend with his 
children, so that James H. was 
compelled to depend largely up- 
on himself, living alternately 
with his mother, Sarah Ham- 
ilton Gardner, and his grand- 
father, James L. Hamilton. 

Like most others of that pe- 
riod, he had little opportunity 
for education, his entire school 
life consisting of six winters in 
the grades. The rest of the time 
was spent working on the farm 
and, when he had reached young 
manhood, in the lumber camps. 

In 1880, when James H. was 
21 years old, he accepted a call 
for a mission to Hawaii. Here 
in the "garden spot of the 
world" he spent the next three 
and one-half years, and here it 
was also that perhaps the turn- 
ing point of his life occurred. 
Arriving on the island just when 
the sugar boiler on the church 
plantation was about to return 
home, he was assigned to work 
in the cane sugar mill, much to 
his regret — then. While here 
he became a thorough master 
of the art of boiling sugar, al - 
though most of his time was 
spent in traveling among the 
natives. 

In 1884 he returned to Utah 
and again took up his work on 
the farm, obtaining employment 
wherever possible. On October 
15, 1886, he was married to 
Rhoda Priscilla Huffaker. From 



this union have come nine chil- 
dren, four boys and five girls. 

Shortly after their marriage, 
James H. and his wife decided 
to take advantage of the avail- 
able government lands in Idaho, 
so leaving their old home in 
Utah, they homesteaded a quar- 
ter section of land at Willow 
Creek (now Elva), near Idaho 
Falls. The struggle to subdue 
this new country was a severe 
one, requiring to its fullest the 
pioneer spirit of perseverance 
and determination. He had no 
ii' ore than brought the land into 
some stage of cultivation than 
other events occurred which al- 
tered the course of his life com- 
pletely. 

In 1890 the Lehi sugar fac- 
tory was built and immediately 
there arose the necessity of ob- 
taining workmen to run it, and 
especially men of some experi- 
ence in the industry. Among 
other applications received was 
one from James H. Gardner of 
Idaho, who stated that he had 
previously boiled sugar in Ha- 
waii. He was at once told to 
l sport at Lehi, a summons 
which he glady followed, and 
'during the first campaign was 
one of the sugar boilers. In 
1892 he moved his family to 
Lehi, where they have since re- 
sided. 

From its beginning until the 
present, James H. Gardner has 
been a faithful employee of the 
Utah Sugar Company. After the 
first campaign, he was made 



382 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



night foreman and, in a few- 
years, general foreman. Finally, 
when Hy A. Vallez resigned 
fiom the position, he was desig- 
nated superintendent of the 
Lehi factory. Since that time 
he has received still another 
promotion, having been made 
General Consulting Superin 
tendent. He still holds this po- 
sition and in addition is a mem- 
ber of the Technical Board 
which controls the operation of 
the plants. His record as a 
sugar maker is an enviable one. 
His long experience, his ability 
to handle men, his excellent 
judgment have won him not 
only the confidence of the sugar 
company which employs him, 
but also a professional reputa- 
tion in other states — a reputa- 
tion which has brought him sev- 
eral lucrative offers from other 
companies in various parts of 
the United States. But he has 
preferred to remain in his na- 
tive Commonwealth. 

Since his residence in Lehi, 
James H. has given a large part 
of his time and talents to the 
work of public service. Inter- 
ested in the development and 
betterment of the city, he has 
endeavored to aid every worthy 
movement to the extent of his 
power. He has served the peo- 
ple in the City Council one term 
and also as a Commissioner of 
Utah County. Profoundly inter- 
ested in education, he was at 
one time a member of the 
School Board and has ever been 



an earnest supporter of Lehi's 
schools. He was one of the 
prime movers in the organiza- 
tion of the Commercial Club 
and has since been its president. 

His public work has also taken 
the form of helping to establish 
new enterprises in Lehi. His 
first venture in this line was 
that of a director in the Lehi 
Mercantile Company ■ — now 
closed. He was also one of the 
originators of the Lehi Roller 
Mills and the State Bank of 
Lehi, being still a director of 
the latter institution and of the 
Bank of American Fork. Of 
late years he has developed a 
large section of land west of the 
Jordan River, in dry-farming, 
fruit-raising, and stock-raising. 

In 1903, when the Lehi Ward 
was divided, James H. Gardner 
was chosen Bishop of the Sec- 
ond Ward, a position which he 
still holds. 

H. G. 

RHODA P. H. GARDNER. 

Simpson D. Huffaker was a 
pioneer of 1847 who lived with 
his wife, Rhoda P. Barnum, in 
South Cottonwood, Salt Lake 
County. To them was born De- 
cember 30, 1865, a daughter, 
whom they named Rhoda Pris- 
cilla. Her mother soon dying, 
Rhoda was given to the care 
of Lauretta Palmer Barnum, her 
grandmother. With this good 
woman she spent her girlhood 
and young womanhood in Peoa, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



383 



Summit County, Utah. Here 
she received a common school 
education and later worked a 
number of years in the Peoa 
Co-op. 

On October 15, 1886, Rhoda 
was married to James H. Gard- 




RHODA P. H. GARDNER. 

ner in Logan. For one year 
they made their home in Salt 
Lake County and then braved a 
new country in Idaho. With her 
husband she helped to bring un- 
der cultivation the quarter sec- 
tion of government land upon 
which he had filed, undergoing 
all the hardships and inconven- 
iences incident to a pioneer 
country. 

In 1892 the family moved to 



Lehi, which has since been their 
home. Mrs. Gardner has here 
reared a family of nine children, 
which alone is sufficient to show 
that her life has been a busy one. 
But outside of her family 
cares she has found time to par- 
ticipate in the various activities 
of her sex. In Idaho she was 
secretary of the Relief Society 
and first counselor in the 
Young Ladies' Mutual Improve- 
ment Association. When the 
Lehi Second Ward was formed, 
she was made second counselor 
in the Relief Society, a position 
she still holds. 

H. G. 

WILLIAM GOATES. 

William Goates, born at Wim- 
pole, Cambridgeshire, England, 
May 11, 1817, was the son of 
James Goates and Ann Dockery. 

He spent his boyhood days 
working with his father, who 
was a professional gardener. The 
beauties of nature soon appealed 
to him, and he loved the trees 
and flowers and soon became an 
expert in their care and cultiva- 
tion. He was baptized and con- 
firmed a member of the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints December, 1840, by Elder 
William Pierce and was sent the 
same day to Cambridge to 
preach. By his undaunted faith 
and zealous labors he was suc- 
cessful in establishing the first 
branch of the church at Cam- 
bridge, under the direction of 



384 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



the Bedford conference presi- 
dent, over which he was ap- 
pointed to preside. Through his 
earnest labors and untiring ef- 
forts, Cambridgeshire afterwards 
became a conference. 

In 1840 he married Susan Lar- 
kin, a daughter of Thomas Lar- 
kin and Ann Rayner. They al- 
ways made their home a home 
for the elders; and bade them 
welcome there. He emigrated 
to Utah, sailing from Liverpool, 
England, Tuesday, February 10, 
1852, with his wife and three chil- 
dren in the ship "Ellen Maria," 
with a company of 369 Saints. 
After eight weeks at sea they 
arrived at New Orleans. They 
then went to Saint Louis en 
route to Utah, crossing the 
plains in Captain A. O. Smoot's 
company of 31 wagons, and ar- 
riving in Salt Lake City Septem- 
ber 3, 1852. About two weeks 
later he settled in Lehi with his 
family, consisting of his wife, 
Susan, and daughters, Sarah Ann, 
Martha, and son Joseph W., his 
daughter Mary having died be- 
fore they left their home in Eng- 
land. In April, 1857, he mar- 
ried a plural wife, Rebecca Pil- 
grim, daughter of Samuel Pil • 
grim and Betsy Coote, a sur- 
vivor of Captain Willie's hand 
cart company of 1856. 

His early life in Lehi was a 
struggle with the sterile soil. He 
acquired land by homestead and 
purchase and his busy hands be- 
gan to build and to cultivate. He 
became extensively engaged in 



farming and stock raising, and 
was one of the first to import 
bees into Lehi. Hereafter he 
was long engaged in the bee and - 
honey industry. He loved the 
flowers and trees and was the 
pioneer floriculturist and nurs- 
eryman of the town, his trees 
and flowers being shipped to 
many parts of the country. 

The industrial matters of 
the people always interested him 
and he was an ardent advocate 
of their enterprises, helping and 
encouraging them whenever he 
found an opportunity to assist. 
In 1867 he wife, Susan, died, and 
was buried in Lehi. She had 
stood faithfully by him in all the 
trials of pioneer life, encourag- 
ing and helping him in all that 
he undertook to do. She never 
complained, but was his source 
of comfort and encouragement, 
and contributed much to his suc- 
cess. "He was a man of un- 
blemished character. His sterling 
honesty was proverbial, his faith 
immovable and his self-control 
truly astonishing." 

He was always active and 
faithful in church matters, and 
honorably filled the positions 
mentioned below: President of 
the first elders' quorum in Lehi; 
he was ordained a high priest 
and set apart as first counselor 
to Bishop Evans April 4, 1877, 
and was afterwards appointed to 
preside over the Lehi branch of 
the high priests' quorum in the 
Utah Stake of Zion. He was 
elected City Councilman of Lehi 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



385 



City February 8, 1875, and served 
during the years 1875-1876. He 
was a public-spirited man and 
passed cheerfully through all the 
hardships and privations of the 
early settlers. He was a builder 
in very deed, his busy hands 
leaving many traces of their 
work both on the farm, in the 
garden, and in the orchard. 

He did special guard duty 
against the depredations of the 
Indians, helped build the "Old 
Fort Wall," and assisted in the 
early irrigation projects and 
road building. 

His unflinching devotion to 
that which he believed to be 
right and just won for him a 
host of friends who were always 
welcomed to his home. Here he 
spent his declining years en- 
gaged in the life-loved work of 
his boyhood days, enjoying the 
labor of his own hands in his 
well cultivated garden of flowers 
and trees. He died Wednesday 
at 5:50 p. m., October 23, 1895, 
of general debility. Beloved by 
all, he passed to the world be- 
yond with the honors of a busy, 
well spent life upon him. 

He was the father of the fol- 
lowing children: Mary, Sarah 
Ann, Martha, Joseph W., James 
T., John, William, and George 
H. His descendants number 408 
souls. George A. Goates 

REBECCA PILGRIM GOATES. 

Rebecca Pilgrim Goates, daugh- 
ter of Samuel Pilgrim and Betsy 



Coote, was born at William 
Read's Farm, Madingly Road, 
Jiles Parish, Cambridge, Eng- 
land, January 1, 1826. 

When she was sixteen years 
of age her father died, leaving 
her mother with eight children. 
Being the oldest girl, she aided 
very materially in supporting 
the family. 

In 1853 she joined the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints. This brought upon her 
much opposition from her fam- 
ily and friends, but she was un- 
daunted and fearless in her con- 
victions and though persecuted 
and scorned, she remained faith- 
ful and true. In 1856 on the 
fourth day of May, she left her 
native home and friends and 
emigrated to Utah, sailing on 
the ship "Thornton" with a com- 
pany in care of Elder Levi Sav- 
age, arriving at New York June 
14, 1856. 

She joined Captain James G. 
Willie's hand cart company, 
numbering about five hundred, 
which left Iowa City July 15, 
1856, with 120 hand carts and six 
wagons. She pulled a hand cart 
1.400 miles through valleys and 
over the plains and mountains. 
The terrible privations of her 
company and the sufferings they 
endured during the trip are a 
matter of record. 

A recital of the sad story of 
the hand cart company disaster 
always filled her heart with pride 
and thanksgiving at the thoughts 



386 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



that she had passed through such 
hardships for the cause which 
she embraced and loved so 
much. She arrived at Salt Lake 
City, November 9, 1856, after 
great suffering from scarcity of 
provisions, cold, and over exer- 
tion in the mountains, many of 
the company having perished 
during the trip. She remained 
in Salt Lake City about one 
week and then came to Lehi. 

In April, 1857, she married 
William Goates. The remainder 
of her life was lovingly devoted 
to assisting him in all he under- 
took to do. She took the place 
of a mother and cared for his 
motherless children; she was de- 
voted and faithful, and although 
she never became a mother, she 
was indeed a mother to the 
motherless. She was kind, sym- 
pathetic and generous, always 
ready to aid those in need, and 
was ever busy looking after the 
welfare of others. She possessed 
a remarkably strong constitu- 
tion, which took considerable 
time to wear away, but was 
finally called to a well earned 
rest, after having been confined 
to her bed two weeks, suffering 
of general debility. She passed 
peacefully to the Great Beyond, 
at 12:30 a. m., April 18, 1909. 
Her honored career was closed 
m full faith and fellowship in 
the cause for which she so long 
had suffered, at the age of 83 
years, 3 months, and 17 days. 

George A. Goates. 



ISAAC GOODWIN. 

Isaac Goodwin, a descendant 
of Ozias Goodwin, who came to 
America from England and set 
tied in Connecticut in 1632, was 
born June 18, 1810, in New Hart- 
ford, Litchfield County, Con- 
necticut. He married Laura 
Hotchkiss February 2, 1833, 
from which union seven children 
were born, four boys and three 
girls: Isaac, Lewis, Edwin A., 
Albert S., Emmerett E. (Goons), 
Nancy (Evans), and Lucinda 
(Bushman). 

Isaac Goodwin and family em- 
braced the faith of the Latter- 
day Saints in the year 1844. Two 
years later in company with 
other Saints they concluded to 
go west and took passage at 
New York on the sailing vessel 
"Brooklyn," her destination be- 
ing California. Leaving New 
York on February 4, 1846, they 
sailed around Cape Horn at the 
southern extremity of South 
America, which point they passed 
in the latter part of April, finally 
landing at San Francisco on 
July 24, 1846, the voyage con- 
suming a little less than six 
months. 

At the beginning of the voy- 
age, Mrs. Goodwin met with an 
accident and being in delicate 
health, never recovered from the 
shock, passing away on May 6, 
1846, shortly after the ship had 
rounded Cape Horn. She was 
buried on Goat Island, one of 
the Juan Fernandes Group, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



387 



(Robinson Crusoe's famed is- 
lands). 

Isaac Goodwin and children 
lived for some time at San Fran- 
cisco and later moved to San 
Bernardino, where he met and 
married on December 22, 1855, 
Mary Cox of New Haven, Eng- 
land, who received the gospel on 
January 10, 1850, and emigrated 
to America, coming overland to 
Utah with Charles C. Rich's 
company and then going on to 
California. No children were 
born of this union. Mary Cox 
Gooflwin died December 13, 1898, 
at Lehi, Utah. 

After living at San Bernardino 
for several years, they decided 
to move to Utah, traveling the 
southern route, making a short 
stay in "Dixie," also in one or 
two other places, and finally set- 
tling in Lehi in 1859. 

Isaac Goodwin was the first to 
introduce alfalfa (lucern) in 
Utah, the hay from which has 
been such an important factor in 
the agriculture of this State. 

He was elected mayor of Lehi 
City on February 13, 1865; was 
appointed mayor on October 31, 
1874, to fill the vacancy made by 
William H. Winn, who resigned; 
was again elected mayor on Feb- 
ruary 8, 1875; and filled the office 
with honor and fidelity on each 
occasion. 

He held many other positions 
of trust, both secular and relig- 
ious. In 1872 he went on a mis- 
sion to the Eastern States. Isaac 



Goodwin died April 25, 1879, at 
Lehi, Utah. 

Samuel I. Goodwin. 

ISAAC H. GOODWIN. 

Isaac H. Goodwin was born 
August 25, 1834, at New Haven, 
Connecticut. He died at Thur- 






ISAAC H. GOODWIN. 

ber, Wayne County, Utah, April 
6, 1891, a faithful member of the 
L. D. S. Church. He is survived 
by his wife and four sons and 
many grandchildren, in addition 
to two great-grandsons. He 
moved to Smithfield, Cache Val- 
ley, in 1862, and was a pioneer 
there for fourteen years. He 
then moved south to Escalante 
in 1876, again a pioneer. The 



388 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



next move was to Thurber in 
1883, where he died in 1891. He 
was a good frontiersman, build- 
ing his own houses, and working 
his own farm and garden. 

BETSY SMITH GOODWIN. 

Betsy Smith Goodwin was 
born on March 7, 1843, at Dun- 
dee, Scotland, the daughter of 
Alexander Nichol Smith and 
May McEwan Smith. She emi- 
grated with her widowed mother 
and family in 1856, crossing the 
plains with J. G. Willie's hand 
cart company. Robert Angus 
Bain, also a Lehi pioneer, son 
and brother, met the family at 
Green river, and brought them 
to Lehi, arriving November 11. 
In Lehi they received kindness 
and sympathy from Bishop 
ICvans and the good people of 
the city. Betsy married Isaac 
H. Goodwin, eldest son 
R. and Laura Hotchkiss Good- 
win, on December 1, 1X59. Nine 
children, seven sons and two 
• laughters, blessed their home. 
She was president of the Relief 
Society eight years. 

JAMES GOUGH. 

James Gough was born Jan- 
uary 14, 1840, in Clifford, 
Herefordshire, England. He was 
the second child and oldest son 
of James Gough and Ellenor 
Jones Gough. When he was sev- 
en years old, his parents moved 
to Monmouthshire, Wales. 

He was baptized a member of 



the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints November 19, 
1857, by Thomas Morgan and 
confirmed by David Howells. He 
was ordained to all the offices in 
the Aaronic priesthood and later 
sent out as a traveling elder, 
which lasted for one year and 
seven months, after which he 




JAMES GOUCH. 

was called to preside over the 
Bryn Mawr Branch. Mr. Gough 
left Wales for Utah April 26, 
1862, and was five weeks and 
three days on the sea. He 
walked all the way from Flor- 
ence across the plains to Salt 
Lake City in Captain Harmon's 
company, where he arrived Oc- 
tober 4, 1862, taking six months 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



389 



to make the journey. He was 
met in Salt Lake City a few 
days after his arrival by his old 
friend Joseph J. H. Colledge, 
who had presided over the con- 
ference in which Gough had la- 
bored as traveling elder. With 
his old friend he came to Lehi. 

On October 17, 1863, he mar- 
ried Charlotte Crocket, to whom 
he had been engaged in England. 
She came to Utah in October, 
1863. They have lived in Lehi 
continuously, Mr. Gough work- 
ing in the mines, on the railroad, 
and at farming. 

Mr. Gough's public work has 
been in the church, to which he 
has always been very devoted. 
At the time of his departure for 
Utah, a number of the Saints of 
the branch over which he pre- 
sided also emigrated to Zion. 
These looked to him as their 
leader during the entire journey. 
Since coming to Utah, he has 
held the positions of seventy and 
high priest. He has been a Sun- 
day School teacher almost all 
the time and also a block teach- 
er, which position he still holds. 

Mr. Gough moved "over the 
creek" in 1868, being the first 
one to locate in that district and 
has been one of the main pillars 
of the church in this part of the 
community. 



Williams Crocket and was born 
April 25, 1840, in Victoria, Mon- 
mouthshire, Wales. She joined 
the church in 1857. She is the 
mother of eleven children, as fol- 
lows: Mary Ann (Mrs. Soren 
Sorensen), Lavina (Mrs. Moroni 
Thayne), James Charles, Ellen 
(Mrs. James Carter), William, 
Richard, Harriett (Mrs. Thomas 




CHARLOTTE C. GOUGH. 

Taylor), Samuel, Thomas 

Ephraim, Charlotte (Mrs. Wil- 
liam Hadfield), and Robert. 



CHARLOTTE CROCKET 
GOUGH. 

Charlotte C. Gough was the 
daughter of William and Ann 



WILLIAM GURNEY. 

William Gurney was born in 
Bedfordshire, England, August 
8, 1834, the son of John and 



390 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Mary Bales Gurney. His mother 
died when he was ten years of 
age. He was then taken care of 
by a loving sister. At the age of 
fifteen he first heard the gospel 
of Jesus Christ and soon accept- 
ed the same and was baptized 
March 1, 1853, by Daniel 
Mathews. 

He emigrated from England 
April 8, 1854, on the ship 
"Marshfield," landing at Xew 
Orleans May 28, 1854, and con- 
tinuing his journey up the Mis- 
sissippi River to St. Louis. There 
was much sickness among the 
Saints, which caused consider- 
able dela}', but he finally reached 
Salt Lake City October 22, 1854, 
where he remained for some 
time. 

He came to Lehi in the spring 
of 1855. After remaining in 
Lehi about four years, he be- 
came acquainted with Miss Julia 
Jeans, whom he married, and to 
them were born eleven children 
to gladden their home. 

He was a valiant worker in 
the cause of truth, at all times 
laboring in the Sabbath School 
from its earliest organization 
until the time of his death. He 
worked in connection with Wil- 
liam Yates in the acting teach- 
ers' quorum for many years, and 
was its president at the time of 
his death; he was also one of the 
senior presidents of the Sixty- 
eighth quorum of seventies, 
where he gained the love and re- 
spect of his brethren. 



He died March 25, 1905, after 
a long and useful life. 

He was the husband of three 
wives; and the father of nineteen 
children. He has in the year 
1913, 67 living descendants: 11 
children, 44 grandchildren, 14 
great-grandchildren; 8 children, 
10 grandchildren, and 4 great- 
grandchildren having passed to 
the Great Beyond. 

WILLIAM HADFIELD. 

William Hadfield, second son 
and third child of Samuel Had 
field and Alice Baker, was born 
at Provo, Utah, June 3, 1880. 
where he resided until 1889. Be- 
ing left an orphan, he came to 




WILLIAM HADFIELD. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



391 



live in Lehi in December, 1889, 
with T. R. Jones. He was bap- 
tized in 1890 by A. M. Fox, or- 
dained a deacon by W. W. 
Clark, and ordained an elder by 
Edward Southwick in June, 1902. 
He filled a mission to the East- 
ern States from October, 1902, 
to December, 1904, and was 
president of the New York con- 
ference for five months. He was 
superintendent of the Third 
Ward Sunday School from 1904 
to 1910, when he was chosen 
second counselor in the Bishop- 
ric of Lehi Third Ward. He 
was ordained a seventy by J. G. 
Kimball in 1906. He married 
Charlotte Gough June 28, 1905, 
in the Salt Lake Temple. Mr. 
Hadfield was the first and only 
Mormon to represent Utah at 
the national convention of mail 
carriers September 16 to 19, 1913, 
at Evansville, Indiana. 

HANS HAMMER. 

Hans Hammer was born in 
Bornholm, Denmark, October 11, 
1829, and is the son of Hans and 
Ane Anderson Hammer. He 
grew to manhood in his native 
place and there received his ed- 
ucation and was married. 

In 1853 he became converted 
to the teachings of the Mormon 
Church and with his family emi- 
grated to America, reaching Salt 
Lake City in 1854, and there 
made his home for the next five 
years, working part of the time 



on the Temple and doing any- 
thing he could find to make a 
living for himself and family. 
He moved to Lehi in 1858, ■tak- 
ing up a farm and has since 
made this place his home. 

For a number of years he was 
engaged in peddling, mostly 
among the soldiers; he also con- 
ducted a small store for a time. 

In 1871 he commenced the 
livery business, being the pio- 
neer livery man of Lehi. He 
also went into the hotel business 
on a small scale, all of which lie 
conducted with success. The 
livery business has continued to 
grow from year to year, and at 
present it is the leading livery 
stable of the town. 

Mr. Hammer was married in 
his native land in 1853 to Miss 
Julanc Marie Reese, who bore 
him eight children, three of 
whom are now living — George, 
Margaret (Mrs. Edward F. Cox), 
and Aldora (Mrs. Henry Ash- 
ton). The mother of these chil- 
dren died March 28, 1867, and 
on the 26th of the following Oc- 
tober Mr. Hammer married Miss 
Anne Christine Orego, by whom 
he had seven children of whom 
Joseph is the only one living. 

Mr. Hammer was an indus- 
trious citizen and in common 
with the pioneers of Lehi passed 
through the hard times of early 
days and lived to become a thriv- 
ing business man of the com- 
munity. .He died September 15, 
1905. 



392 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



ANNE CHRISTINE OREGO 
HAMMER. 

Mrs. Hammer, the wife of 
Hans Hammer, was born Au- 
gust 6, 1839, in Puerdal, Den- 
mark. Her parents, Christian 
Larsen Orego and Marie Peter- 
sen, were farmer folk living on 
the shore of the North Sea. At 
the age of six she lost her father. 
On the 17th of January, 1864, 




AXXA C. 0. HAMMER. 

she was baptized a member of 
the Mormon Church, two years 
later emigrating to America, ar- 
riving in Utah September, 1866. 
Mrs. Hammer was a young 
woman of twenty-seven years of 
age when she crossed the plains 



and she walked the entire dis- 
tance from Omaha City to West 
Weber, where she stayed for six 
months with William Cluff. Dur- 
ing the summer of 1867 she was 
working in Salt Lake City for a 
family of Jews. While here some 
of her friends in Lehi prevailed 
on Mr. Hammer, who was a 
widower, to call on her, which 
he did with the result that she 
was persuaded to make Lehi her 
future home, being married to 
Mr. Hammer October 26, 1867. 

At this time Mr. Hammer had 
a family of small children, times 
were hard and pioneer condi- 
tions prevailed, yet the subject 
of our sketch set bravely to 
work to make conditions better 
and help her husband rear his 
family. In time seven children 
blessed this union, but sad to re- 
late only one is now living, 
Joseph, who with George, the 
son of the first wife, is conduct- 
ing the business left them by 
their father. 

Mrs.. Hammer has ever been 
an industrious and faithful wife 
and mother, a good neighbor, 
and a devoted Latter-day Saint. 
For thirty-two years she has 
been an active Relief Society 
teacher and is still engaged in 
the work. 

JENS N. HOLM AND FAMILY. 

In Arnager, a small fisher- 
men''; village five miles from the 
city of Ronne on the Island of 
Bornholm, Denmark, were born 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



393 



Jens Neilson Holm and his wife, 
Margaret Christina Ipson Holm. 
They were married April 30, 

1842. To this union was given 
one daughter, Margaret Chris- 
tina, born September 5, 1843. 
They joined the Church o*f Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints Feb- 
ruary 4, 1854, emigrating to Utah 
in 1857. Nine weeks and three 
days were spent on the ocean 
voyage and fourteen weeks in 
crossing the plains from Omaha 
to Salt Lake City, arriving in 
Utah September 13, 1857. The 
hand cart company of which 
they were members paralleled, 
in their travels, the advance 
wagons of Johnston's Army. 

Father Holm and family spent 
the first winter in Brigham City. 
In the spring of 1858 he was 
called south. Upon reaching 
Payson he was ordered back, lo- 
cating in Lehi July 4, 1858. Here 
the members of this family made 
their home continuously up to 
the time of their death. 

Jens Neilson Holm was born 
March 23, 1818, and died in Lehi 
April 22, 1908, at the age of 90 
years and one month. 

Margaret Christina Ipson 
Holm was born August 14, 1817, 
and died in Lehi January 28; 
1896, at the age of 78 years, 5 
months, and 14 days. 

Margaret Christina Holm 
Evans was born September 5, 

1843. She was married to Bishop 
David Evans May 4. 1861. She 
became the mother of six chil- 
dren, one son and five daughters. 



Her children are John Holm, 
died in infancy; Margaret Chris- 
tine (Mrs. James J. Turner), 




MARGARET C. HOLM EVANS. 

Jane (Mrs. Richard W. Brad- 
shaw), Hannah (Mrs. Andrew 
B. Anderson), Rachel (Mrs. 
John W. Wing. Jr.). Clara (Mrs. 
Joseph Goates, Jr.) 

She died June 17, 1898, at the 
age of 54 years, 10 months, and 
12 days. 

M. W. INGALLS. 

Merrell Whittier Ingalls was 
born in the state of Maine, and 
removed to the state of Illinois 
when a small boy and to Cali- 



394 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



fornia in 1864. He was employed 
by his father, who had a con- 
tract for the erection of a plant 
for the California Beet Sugar 
Company at Alvarado, Califor- 
nia, in the year 1869. This plant 
was the first beet sugar factory 
in America, but was a few years 
later moved to Soquel, near 
Santa Cruz, California, where 




M. W. INGALLS. 

the writer with his brother was 
sub-contractor on part of the 
work. lie then followed sur- 
veying and was also on the en- 
gineering corps, surveying pro- 
posed routes for pipe lines to 
supply San Francisco with 
water. 



In 1879 he removed machinery 
from the factory in Sacramento, 
California, to Alvarado, for the 
Standard Sugar Company. He 
was employed by this company 
for six 4 or eight years, first as 
mechanic and then as master 
mechanic and Chief Engineer. 
On account of ill health, he went 
to Arizona and installed an elec- 
tric light plant in the peniten- 
tiary at Yuma, then operated a 
lumber mill and electric light 
plant at Portland, Oregon. 

Coming to Utah in 1891 as 
master mechanic for the com- 
pany which was building a fac- 
tory for the Utah Sugar Com- 
pany, he made a one year's con- 
tract with them. Then he made 
a three year's contract with the 
Utah Sugar Company, and has 
been with the Utah-Idaho Sugar 
Company, their successors, up 
to the present time, from 1902 to 
1907 as Chief Engineer of all 
plants connected with Utah-Ida- 
ho sugar Company, and from 
that time until the present as 
Consulting Engineer with the 
Technical Board. In the year 
1901 the farmers that were rais- 
ing beets in Salt Lake County 
would not raise them to the ex- 
tent desired by the sugar com- 
pany, on account of shortage of 
water, so in company with James 
H. Gardner, he contracted for 
and installed a pumping plant at 
the mouth of the Jordan River 
for the different canal com- 
panies. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



395 



MARY JOYNSON JACKSON. 

Mary J. Jackson, a daughter 
of Thomas and Mary Clay Joyn- 
son, was born August 30, 1819, 
in Barra, Cheshire, England. 
Her parents were farmer folk, 
so she grew up surrounded by 
the scenes of country life. Her 
opportunities being limited, her 
education was very meagre, al- 
though she was able to read. 

In 1836 she married John 
Jackson, a young man of almost 
her own age. He was born 
March 17. 1819, in her native vil- 
lage. His father. John Jackson, 
was a street paver, while John, 
Jr., became a carpenter. 

In 1841 this young couple 
joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, be- 
ing among the first to accept the 
gospel in England. For twenty- 
seven years Mr. Jackson and 
wife kept open house for the 
Mormon elders and many there 
wire who came and went as the 
years rolled by. 

One June 4, 1868, John and 
Mary and seven children emi- 
grated to America, leaving their 
two older sons, who were mar- 
ried, in England. They crossed 
the ocean on the sailing vessel 
"John Bright," landing in New 
York July 13. 1868: crossed the 
plains in Captain John R. Mur- 
dochs company and arrived in 
Salt Lake City, Utah, August 30, 
1868. Bishop Evans of Lehi, 
who was present when the com- 
pany arrived, made enquiry con- 



cerning tradesmen and on learn- 
ing that Mr. Jackson was a car- 
penter, asked permission of Pre- 
siding Bishop Hunter, who had 
charge of the immigration busi- 
ness, if he might take him to 




MARY T. JACKSON. 

Lehi. Bishop Hunter replied in 
his characteristic way, "Yes, yes, 
take him along, lock, stock, and 
barrel," and that is how it hap- 
pened that the family came to 
Lehi. 

The names of the children who 
came at this time were: Enos, 
Hyrum. Joseph, Mary Rebecca 
(Mrs. Moroni Holt), Daniel, 
Harriett (Mrs. James Brooks), 
Sarah (Mrs. Henry Mc'Comie). 
Ephraim, and Moses. John and 



396 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Henry came to Utah some years 
later. 

For a number of years Mr. 
Jackson followed the carpenter 
trade, but the change in climate 
seemed to break his health. Like 
all pioneers, he had to turn his 
hand to various occupations 
among which was cutting and 
hauling cedar posts to Salt Lake 
City. On the 5th of January, 
1870, while returning from Salt 
Lake City, where he had been 
with a load of posts, he was acci- 
dentally thrown from the wagon 
by the dropping of the wheel in 
a hole in the road and in falling, 
his head was caught in the wheel 
and his neck broken. About two 
years later, the widow married 
John Shaw, with whom she lived 
until the time of his death, which 
occurred in 1881. 

Mother Jackson, as she was 
familiarly known, lived to a ripe 
old age, loved and respected by 
all who knew her for her happy, 
cheerful disposition. She died 
December 21, 1906. 

JOHX JOHNSON. 

John Johnson was one of the 
very early pioneers and promi- 
nent citizens "over the creek." 
A native of Warceland, Sweden, 
he was born December 15. 1821, 
and with his wife and four chil- 
dren emigrated to Utah in 1862. 
He joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints in 
Norway, where he lived for a 
number of years, being baptized 



by Karl.Dorius, and took an ac- 
tive part in missionary work in 
the neighborhood where he 
lived. On reaching Utah, he 
came direct to Lehi, where he 
has since made his home. In 
1865 his wife Gorinna Torgersen 
died, leaving him with the care 
of five children, the youngest 
having been born in Lehi. Their 
names are: Anna (Mrs. George 
Beck), Willard, Parley, Charles, 
and Melvin. 

In 1867 he married Anna An- 
derson, a native of Morra, Swe- 
den, born 1828. who soon adapt- 
ed herself to the pioneer condi- 
tions of the Johnson family and 
became a kind and affectionate 
mother to the children and a de- 
voted wife and helpmate to Mr. 
Johnson. Besides being a good 
housekeeper, she was, an expert 
worker in hair, making very 
beautiful necklaces, watch chains, 
and the like, of this material. 

During his residence in Lehi, 
Mr. Johnson has followed the 
occupation of farming and dur- 
ing the latter years of his life 
was able to live in comparative 
comfort and enjoy the fruits of 
his toil and industry. 

He died May 5, 1913, survived 
by his wife Anna and four sons. 

ELLEN W. JONES. 

Ellen Williams Jones was 
born December 1. 1839, in Slan- 
santfraid, Denbigh County, 
Wales. She was the daughter 
of Emma Fowlks and William 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



397 



Williams. She was married to 
Thomas R. Jones December 28, 
1854. She arrived in Lehi in 
1861 and lived in a cellar one 
winter, then built an adobe house 
outside of the fort wall. After 
living a number of years there, 
they moved to the North Branch. 




ELLEX W. JONES. 

Mrs. Jones was present at the 
first organization of the Relief 
Society in Lehi and was called 
to act as president of the Lehi 
North Branch Relief Society in 
1877, serving for thirty-five 
years. In addition she was 
chosen first counselor of the Pri- 
mary Association, and served 
about twenty-five years. She was 
called to work among the sick 



and in laying away the dead, for 
which many scores are here to 
bless her for her assistance in 
time of death and sickness. 

THOMAS KARREN. 

Thomas Karren was born on 
the. Isle of Man, May 1, 1810, 
moved to Liverpool, England, in 
1830, and joined the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 
in 1842. He was ordained an el- 
der at Liverpool, emigrated to 
Nauvbo, Illinois in 1844, and was 
ordained a seventy in the Seventh 
quorum at Nauvoo. He joined 
the Mormon Battalion in 1846 
and was honorably discharged in 
1847, landing in Great Salt Lake 
Valley July 23 of the'same year. 

He went back to Council 
Bluffs and returned to Utah 
with his family in 1850. In 
1852 he was called to the Sand- 
wich Islands upon a mission, 
where he was associated with 
George Q. Cannon and others. 
He returned to Lehi in 1855. 
Later he was ordained first 
counselor to Bishop Evans, 
which position he retained to 
the day of his death. For two 
years before his death • he suf- 
fered extremely. 

He was a faithful Latter-day 
Saint, highly esteemed by all 
who knew him. Throughout all 
his affliction he did not com- 
plain but resigned himself to 
the will of God. He left three 
wives and thirteen children liv 
ing to mourn his loss. 



398 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



JOHN KARREN. 

John Karren was born July 4, 
1834, at Liverpool, England. His 
father, Thomas Karren, was a 
native of the Isle of Man and 
his mother's name was Ann Rat- 




JOHN KARREN. 

ley. The family were converted 
to the faith advocated by the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints and emigrated to 
America and cast their lot with 
the Mormon people. 

The father joined the famous 
Mormon Battalion and left the 
family to shift for themselves 
under very trying circumstances. 



After his return, the family 
crossed the plains to Utah in 
1850 and located at Sulphur 
Springs on Dry Creek, being 
among the first families to settle 
on the site of Lehi. 

John grew up amid the rugged 
scenes of pioneer life and con- 
ditions and took part in many of 
the hazardous undertakings of 
the early days. He was in the 
battle with the Indians during 
the Tintic War in 1856 when 
Catlin, Cousin, and Winn were 
killed. He made a trip back to 
the Missouri River after the 
Church immigration in 1865 and 
was a veteran of the Black- 
Hawk Indian war. He died 
March 19, 1904. 



MARTA LAWRENCE KARREN. 

Maria Lawrence Karren, wife 
of John Karren, was a daughter 
of John and Rhoda Lawrence, 
and was born May 24, 1836, in 
Toronto, Canada. Her father 
died at Winter Quarters in 1846, 
and a sister died at about the 
same time. The entire family 
except Maria were sick and she 
was the only one able to render 
any aid to the others. The fam- 
ily moved to Utah and she was 
married to John Karren in 1854. 
She was the mother of twelve 
children, six of them growing to 
maturity. They were: John 
Daniel, Edward, Rosabell (Mrs. 
John D. Woodhouse), Flora 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



399 



(Mrs. Heber McNiel, deceased), 
William, Josephus, and Katie 




MARIA LAWRENCE KARREN. 

Maria (Mrs. James H. Dunkley). 

Mrs. Karren died August 21, 
1904. 

GEORGE WILLIAM 

KIRKHAM. 

George William Kirkham was 
born March 18, 1822, in Lon- 
don, Surrey, England, and died 
at Lehi, Utah, April 24, 1896. 

Mary Astington Kirkham was 
born July 6, 1824, in Richmond, 
Yorkshire, England. She died 
at Lehi, Utah, October 27, 1881. 

They left their native land 
April 11, 1859, and with their 



four sons, James, George, Hy- 
rum, and Joseph, crossed the 
ocean in the sailing vessel. 
"William Tabscot." They crossed 
the plains in R. F. Neslen's 
company, arriving in Salt Lake 
City, Thursday, September 15. 




MRS. GEORGE WILLIAM KIRKHAM. 

1859. They lived in Sugar 
House Ward, Salt Lake City, 
during the winter of 1859 and 
came to Lehi in the spring of 

1860, where they spent their 
lives in helping to build up our 
city, making roads, building 
fences, assisting in rearing our 
public buildings, and otherwise 
passing through the trials of 
pioneer life and the hardships of 
the early days of Utah. 



400 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



THORSTEN KNUDSEN. 

Thorsten Knudsen was born 
February 20, 1835, in Sorknes, 
Grue, Soler, ' Norway being 
a son of Knud Knudsen 
and Tore Gulbrandsen. His 
father, who had been a well-to- 
do land owner, lost all of his 
property in speculations and 
when Mr. Knudsen was four 
years old his father died and he 
was sent to live with an aunt. 




THORSTEN KNUDSEN. 

When he was 16, his mother 
died also. There were ten chil- 
dren in the family, and Thorsten 
was the youngest. He lived 
with his aunt till he was about 
12 years old, when he went 



home to live with his mother. 
After her death, he lived with 
various ones to whom he hired 
out to work, as the custom was 
to hire out for a year. 

At the age of 20 he went to 
Christiania, the capital of Nor- 
way, and four years later he 
married Ogene Hergesen, the 
orphaned daughter of Hans and 
Ingaborg Hergesen. 

In 1860 he joined the Mormon 
Church, having come in contact 
with the elders through the per- 
suasions of his affianced. In 
1866 he became very ill and as 
the doctor advised a change of 
climate he decided to emigrate 
to America. He shipped from 
Hamburg in the sailing vessel 
"Humbolt," taking nine weeks 
to cross the ocean. He crossed 
the plains in Captain Scott's 
company, arriving in Salt Lake 
City during the October con- 
ference. 

Mr. Knudsen went to Provo, 
where he lived till the 22nd of 
December, 1866, when he came 
to Lehi and has lived here ever 
since. When Knudsen left his 
wife in Norway he also left his 
son Parley, who was 5 years 
old. Two years later through 
the death of a child whose fare 
had been paid, Parley was 
brought to Utah by C. C. A. 
Christensen, a returning mis- 
sionary. In 1870 Mrs. Knudsen 
emigrated to Utah and joined 
her husband and son in Lehi. 
Three children have been born 
to this family since their arrival 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



401 



in Lehi, but only one, Hyrum, 
is livings His home is in Logan. 
The wife and mother died No- 
vembeV 13, 1910. 

In 1871 the Knudsen family 
moved to their present home 
over the creek, being among the 
first to locate in this neighbor- 
hood. Mr. Knudsen has lived a 
quiet, peaceful life, tilling his 
little farm with care and keep- 
ing within his means; a good 
neighbor, a kind father and a 
consistent citizen. 

JAMES J. LAMB. 

James J. Lamb was born at 
Huron, Wayne County, New 
York, April 29, 1835. He emi- 
grated to Lehi in 1852 and there 
married Sarah E. Ross March 
21, 1863. He was the father of 
ten children. 

On March 21, 1866, he en- 
listed in the Black Hawk War 
and was mustered out of service 
July 18, 1866. He also fought 
all through the Walker War. 

He drove one of the first 
teams back to Florence, Ne- 
braska, in Joseph W. Young's 
company after Mormon immi- 
grants who were too poor to 
furnish ways for themselves to 
come to Utah. While at Flor- 
ence, he was chosen to drive to 
Utah with George Q. Cannon, 
who was just then returning 
home- from a mission to Eng- 
land. He also went with a com- 
pany of volunteers to join an 
expedition to go to Salmon 

27 



River, Idaho, and assist in 
bringing the settlers from Fort 
Limhi, who were surrounded by 
hostile Indians who had killed 
some of the white men. This 
was one of the hardest trips he 
was called to make. 




SARAH E. POSS LAMB. 

Mr. Lamb was a man of good 
character, a trusted citizen, a 
good husband and father and 
had many friends wherever he 
was known. 

He was thrown from a load 
of lumber and instantly killed, 
October 21, 1896, at the age of 
61 years, leaving a wife, five 
boys, and four girls. 



402 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



LARS VICTOR LARSON. 

Lars Victor Larson, son of 
Lars Larson and Stena Katerine 
Anderson, was born in Orebro, 
Sweden, July 24, 1857. Until 14 
years of age he lived on a farm 
with his parents, when he was 
apprenticed to a shoemaker, re- 




LARS VICTOR LARSON. 

maining with him for three 
years. In August, 1877, he 
joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints. In 
1880, he was ordained an elder 
and spent two years in mission- 
ary work on the island of Got- 
land. In 1882, he emigrated to 
Utah, locating in Salt Lake City, 
where he was married to Hilda 



Cristin Soderlund, by whom he 
had nine children, five 'boys and 
four girls. He lived in Salt Lake 
City but a short time, when he 
moved to Lehi, where he has 
lived for twenty-five years, en- 
gaged in shoemaking with occa- 
sional trips in the mountains 
prospecting for the precious 
metals. He was one of the first 
to build a home on what was 
known for many years as the 
"Big Pasture" south- east of 
Lehi, making a garden spot of 
what was formerly considered 
land too salty for anything but 
grazing purposes. Since the 
people divided on national party 
lines he has been active in poli- 
tics, speaking his views on eco- 
nomic questions at all times 
freely and fearlessly. He is an 
industrious and energetic citi- 
zen. 

HENRY LEWIS. 

Henry Lewis, son of Phillip 
Lewis and Cathrine Evans 
Lewis, was born April 28, 1854, 
in Llanelthy, Wales. He was 
baptized August 27, 1862, by 
Phillip Lewis; confirmed by 
James F. Watters August 27, 
1862, and labored as a deacon 
for many years. He emigrated 
to Utah in June, 1871. Here he 
was ordained an elder July 22. 
1871. He was married to Jane 
Sarah Goody June 30, 1873, who 
was the daughter of Henry 
Goody and Mary Wilshire. and 
was born at London. England, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



403 



February 15, 1856. They have 
had a family of eleven children, 
seven sons and four daughters. 

Mr. Lewis was appointed act- 
ing deacon in the eleventh dis- 
trict of Lehi March 1, 1879; was 
appointed acting priest in the 
third district of Lehi March 6, 
1880; was set apart as Sunday 
school teacher by Elder William 
Yates March 28*, 1880; was set 
apart as second counselor to 
Lott Russon of the elders' quo- 
rum March 16. 1884; was ap- 
pointed missionary for the Y. 
M .M. I. A. October 28, 1889; 
and was ordained a seventy 
March 10, 1889, by Elder T. R. 
Cutler. 

lie went to Great Britain on 
a mission on February 24, 1893, 
and was there until April 8, 
1895. Upon his return he la- 
bored with the missionary fund 
committee from 1896 to 1909, 
and collected thousands of dol- 
lars to send to missionaries. 

On December 20, 1903, he was 
chosen bishop of the Third Ward 
of Lehi, and was set apart by 
Elder John Henry Smith. He 
was one of the Building Com- 
mittee of the Lehi Tabernacle 
and was appointed treasurer, 
and received in cash and mer- 
chandise $30,913.39, and paid out 
$30,938.61. from 1900 to 1904. a 
balance to his credit of $25.22. 

He also held many other posi- 
tions of trust. He was a mem- 
ber of the City Council, a School 
Trustee, and helped promote 
manv home industries of our 



county. He has been a director 
in the People's Co-operative In- 
stitution for twelve years, and 
at present is president of the 
North Bench Irrigation Com- 
pany. 

ABRAHAM LOSEE. 

Abraham Losee, one of the 
early pioneers of Utah, was born 
in Holderman Township, Upper 
Canada, September 6, 1814. He 
joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints at 
an early date and was with the 
main body of Saints throughout 
all their persecutions until their 
removal to the Rockv Moun- 




MARY F.. LOTT I.OSEE. 



404 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



tains, being intimately acquaint- 
ed with the Prophet Joseph 
Smith. In the year 1848, he 
drove a team across the plains 
for Bishop Whitney, and was 
married in the same year, after 
reaching Salt Lake City, to 
Mary Elizabeth Lott. She also 
had been with the Saints in the 
East, and had lived with the 
Prophet's family and worked 
for him when 13 years of age. 
After having worked on the 
Church farm at Salt Lake City 
for two years, he was called to 
remove and settle in Utah Val- 
ley, by Brigham Young. Bring- 
ing his family with him, he 
came and lived in what is now 
known as Lehi field, for the 
fir^t winter in a covered wagon, 
having four men boarding with 
him. From then until his death 
lie remained a citizen of Lehi 
and served as a City Council- 
man for several years. Having 
reared a family of eight, two 
boys and six girls, he died Oc- 
tober 25, 1887, being 73 years 
old. His wife died in May, 1888, 
at the age of 60 years. They re- 
mained faithful church mem- 
bers and progressive citizens 
until their death. 



PERMELIA DARROW LOTT. 

Permelia Darrow Lott, daugh- 
ter of Mary Ward and Joseph 
Darrow, and granddaughter of 
General Ward and Captain Dar- 
row of Revolutionary times, 



was born at Bridgewater, Sus- 
quehanna County, Pennsylvania, 
Sunday, December 15, 1805. She 
received her education from the 
best schools of the times, and 
afterward, prior to her mar- 
riage, she became a school 
teacher, riding horseback twenty 
miles to and from her work. 

On April 27, 1823, she married 
Cornelius P. Lott; and with him 
joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints in 
its infancy, and so suffered the 
hardships and persecutions of 
being driven from their homes 
with the heroes of that epoch. 
They were the only members of 
their respective families to con- 
nect themselves with the Church, 
but they have left a large pos- 
terity to "rise up and call them 
blessed." 

Father Lott and family were 
very warm friends and associ- 
ates of the Smith family, espe- 
cially the. Prophet Joseph, as he 
had charge of the Church farm 
at Nauvoo and also held the 
same position in Utah after com- 
ing to Salt Lake City with Heber 
C. Kimball's company in the au- 
tumn .of 1848. Their first home 
was where the Auerbach's new 
store now stands. 

After her husband's death, 
which occurred July 6, 1850, she, 
with her family, moved to Lehi 
in the spring of 1851, where one 
daughter, Mrs. Abraham Losee, 
had preceded her. Her first 
home in Lehi was at the spring 
now owned by A. B. Anderson. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



405 



She was the mother of eleven 
children, five boys and six girls, 
all -of whom have been pioneers 
in the true sense of the word. 
Grandma Lott, as an old lady, 
impressed one with her quiet 
dignity and sweet unassuming 
manners, and all who knew her 
loved her. She never sought 
publicity of any kind, but was 
ever ready with a helping hand 
for the sick or needy. 

She died January, 1882, as she 
had lived, "faithful to her trust," 
at the age of 77 years and 18 
days, and was carried to the Salt 
Lake cemetery and tenderly laid 
to rest by the side of her hus- 
band. 

Following are the names of 
the children and those they mar- 
ried: Melissa (Ira Willes), John 
S. (Mary Faucet), Mary (Abra- 
ham Losse), Almira H. (John 
R. Murdock), Jane P. (Abram 
Hatch), Alzina L. (William S. S. 
Willes), Joseph (died young). 
Amanda (died young)", Peter L. 
(Sariah Snow), Cornelius (died 
young), Benjamin Smith (Mary 
A. Evans). All have passed to 
the other side except Benjamin 
S., the youngest, who will be 65 
years old November 16, and is 
commonly known as Uncle Ben. 

ELIZABETH T. 
MOOREHEAD. 

Elizabeth T. Moorehead was 
born July 31, 1812. Her father 
was owner of a large plantation 
in North Carolina. Here Eliza- 



beth was born and received an 
excellent education in the girls' 
boarding schools and colleges of 
the South. 

She moved to Mississippi, 
where she married James Mad- 
ison Moorehead of Nashville, 
Tennessee. In Mississippi they 
both heard and received the 
gospel and came directly to 
Nauvoo. Her husband assisted 
in building the Nauvoo temple. 

They were driven from Nau- 
voo with the Saints, crossed the 
Mississippi River, and camped 
in a tent, where her husband, 
one child, and her brother 
Joseph died, victims of exposure. 
A child had died at- Nauvoo. She 
was now left with three children 
and spent the winter in Des 
Moines City among strangers 
who proved to be kind friends. 
In the spring her brother Pres- 
ton came and moved her to 
Winter Quarters, and later she 
moved on again to Council 
Bluffs, where a child died. 

She and her two children, Ann 
and Preston, came across the 
plains with her brother. Clai- 
borne Thomas, and family and 
her nephew, Daniel Thomas, in 
Aaron Johnson's Company in 
1850. 

That fall all settled in Lehi. 
The winter of 1851-1852 she and 
her brother Preston taught the 
Lehi school, he taking the boys, 
she the girls. 

She was married to Samuel 
White, by whom she had one 
child. Elizabeth White Merrill. 



406 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



of Preston, Idaho. All moved 
to Cedar Fort, where her son 
Preston married Cordelia Smith, 
and daughter Ann married Har- 
rison Avers Thomas. Both have 
reared large families. They 
moved to American Fork when 
the soldiers located at Camp 
Floyd; here they owned a large 
farm which contained land 
where the old depot stood. 

After several years they 
moved to Cache Valley and 
were among the first settlers of 
Smithfield. She was first Relief 
Society president of Smithfield. 
She died here December 12, 
1894. Her son, Preston, was 
first counselor in the bishopric 
of that ward for over thirty 
years. He died in 1896. Her 
daughter, Ann. and husband 
moved to Preston, Idaho, in 
1903, where he died the next 
year, a good Latter-day Saint, 
loved and respected by all. 

SAMUEL MULLINER. 

Samuel Mulliner was born in 
Headdington, East Lothan, 
Scotland, January 15, 1809. He 
emigrated to America in 1832, 
settling near the city of Toron- 
to, in Canada. 

lie was baptized by Theodore 
Turley, September 10, 1837. The 
following spring he moved with 
his family to Missouri, and later 
settled in Springfield, Illinois, 
November 4, 1838. He was or- 
dained a teacher March 10, 1839. 
On May 6. 1839, he was ordained 



an elder, and a seventy, July 16, 
1839. 

Soon after this, he left his 
family and started on a foreign 
mission. He and his compan- 
ion, Alexander Wright, arrived 
at Glasgow December 20, 1839. 
The next day they continued 
their journey to Edinburgh, 
where his parents resided. They 
were the first elders to go to 
Scotland. On January 14, 1840, 
he baptized a number into the 
Church as the first fruits of the 
gospel in Scotland. On the 19th, 
he blessed some children and 
administered the sacrament for 
the first time in that vicinity. 
On that occasion he received the 
gift of tongues. They were very 
successful in their labors and 
baptized a great number, among 
whom were his own parents. 

He left Glasgow on October 2, 
1840, and returned to America, ar- 
riving home December 19, 1840. 
He afterward moved to Nauvoo, 
Illinois, from which place he 
was again sent on a mission in 
November, 1842. He organized 
a branch of the Church at Cam- 
bria, Niagara County, New 
York, April 27, 1843. He was re- 
leased to return home July 2, 
1843. 

In 1849, as he was preparing 
to go to Utah, he was sent on a 
business mission to the East. He- 
returned home the same year. 
In 1850 he came on to Utah and 
settled in Great Salt Lake City 
with his family, six in number. 
He bought a lot, which now is 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



407 



occupied by the Walker Broth- 
ers Bank, and started a tannery 
and shoe shop, making the first 
leather in the state. He built a 
comfortable dwelling house. He 
bought a grist mill at American 
Fork, and soon after buiit a 
carding mill adjoining it, and 
also a sugar cane mill. With the 
latter he made molasses for the 
settlers. He also built a grist 
mill at what was known as 
Spring Creek, between Lehi and 
American Fork, where he resid- 
ed most all the remainder of his 
days. 

He gave employment to many 
Saints and new-comers and did 
much for the poor and needy. 
He never allowed any to suffer 
for the want of food or clothes 
if he knew it. 

He died February 25, 1891, at 
the age of 82 years, 1 month, 
and 10 days. 

ANDREW A. PETERSON. 

Andrew A. Peterson was the 
son of Andreas Peterson and 
Marna Anderson, and was born 
in Ystad, Sweden, January 13, 
1840. He joined the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints October 1. 1854, being a 
member of the first branch or- 
ganized in Sweden. In 1855 he 
was ordained to the lesser priest- 
hood and shortly after migrated 
to Denmark, where he labored 
for two years as a teacher, when 
he was ordained an elder and in 
1858 was sent on a mission to 



his native land. In 1862 he was 
honorably released from his mis- 
sionary labors to emigrate to 
Utah. He started on this jour- 
ney in the first part of April and 
while passing through Germany 
was married on the River Elbe 
to Mary Ann Pherson. They 
crossed the plains in Captain 
Liljenquist's ox-team company, 
arriving in Lehi in October, 
1862. He resided in Lehi con- 
tinuously to the time of his 
death and held many positions 
of trust and honor. As a public 
servant he had few superiors, for 
his honesty and integrity were 
above reproach and his many 
years of service brought him the 
love and esteem of all with 
whom he associated. 

For six terms Mr. Peterson 
was a member of the City Coun- 
cil; twelve years a member of 
the school board; several years 
a member of the water board; 
two years general water-master; 
four years a policeman; a num- 
ber of years director of the Peo- 
ple's Co-operative Institution: 
and one of the promoters and 
first stockholders of the Lehi 
Union Exchange. 

In ecclesiastical affairs his 
record is an enviable one. For 
thirty-three years he was presi- 
dent of the deacons' quorum; 
for thirty-five years a faithful 
Sunday School teacher; for over 
thirty years he was president of 
ihc Scandinavian Saints of Lehi: 
and for many years one of the 
presidents of the 68th quorum of 



408 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



seventies. He was ordained a 
seventy January 17, 1872, and a 
liigh priest January 5, 1907. He 
Hied December 30, 1911. 

MARY ANN P. PETERSON. 

Mary A. Peterson was the 
daughter of Earland Pherson 
and Margaret Ingemanson and 
was born in Halmstad, Sweden, 




MARY A. PHERSON PETERSON. 

June 22, 1844. She embraced the 
gospel as taught by the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints in 1859, and emigrated to 
Utah in 1862, walking the entire 
distance across the plains. She 
was married to Andrew A. Pet- 
erson on the River Elbe in Ger- 



many enroute to Utah and has 
lived in Lehi ever since she ar- 
rived in October, 1862. 

She has been a true wife and 
an affectionate mother and has 
passed through the trying times 
of early days in Lehi, helping 
her husband to raise a large and 
respectable family. She has 
been a member of the Relief So- 
ciety almost from its organiza- 
tion and is still a faithful mem- 
ber in this society. She is the 
mother of ten children, six sons 
and four daughters. Those now 
living are: Leah, (Mrs. Lawr- 
ence Hill), Andrew, Mary Ann, 
(Mrs. Lyman P. Losee), Chris- 
tina, (Mrs. Wm. E. Southwick), 
Joseph (now principal of the 
Snow Flake Academy, Arizona), 
Hyrum, and David. 

ANDREW F. PETERSON. 

Andrew F. Peterson was the 
son of Peter Anderson and Anne 
Evansen, and was born in 
Modum, Norway, October 13. 
1823. He emigrated to America 
when a young man to seek his 
fortune. He was. converted to 
the Mormon Church in Council 
Bluffs and was baptized Novem- 
ber 19, 1849, by Torg Torstensen 
and confirmed by Benjamin 
Clapp. The following year he 
drove a team across the plains 
and on to California. He came 
back to Utah and settled in Cot- 
tonwood. 

He was out in the mountains 
during the Echo Canyon War 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



409 



and was one of those who rode 
around the hills to deceive the 
'soldiers in General Johnston's 
army. He came to Lehi in the 
"move" and afterward made it 
his home. 






ANDREW F. PETERSON. 

He was ordained a seventy 
April 9, 1852, in Salt Lake City, 
by Joseph Young, and was a 
member of the 33rd quorum. He 
married Hannah Christenson 
September 29, lbt>9, and was or- 
dained a high priest in 1874 by 
Daniel S. Thomas. He went to 
Norway on a mission in 1877, 
and after being gone one year 
and a half, was released on ac- 
count of ill health. He died 
April 17, 1881. 



HANNAH C. PETERSON. 

Hannah Christensen Peterson 
(Jones) is a native of Jylland, 
Denmark, born December 30, 
1845, her parents being Simeon 
and Karen Christensen. She re- 
ceived a common school educa- 
tion and was brought up in the 
Lutheran church, being sprink- 
led as a child and confirmed at 
the age of 16 years. She was 
taught the trade of dressmaking, 
which she followed through life, 
being exceptionally well quali- 
fied for this line of work. 




HANNAH C. PETERSON. 

On May 26, 1867, she was bap- 
tized a member of the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 



410 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



by Elder Mauritz P. Anderson, 
her brother-in-law, and con- 
firmed by Mathfas C. Anderson. 
In the spring of 1869 she bid 
farewell to her native land and 
emigrated to Utah, crossing the 
ocean on the steamship ".Min- 
nesota," which left Liverpool 
July 15 and arrived at New York 
on July 28. She reached Tay- 
lor's Switch, near Ogden, Aug- 
ust 6 and Pleasant Grove, Aug- 
ust 15. 1869. After a short stay 
at the latter place, she came to 
Lehi and was married to An- 
drew F. Peterson September 29. 
1869. 

Mrs. Peterson soon adapted 
herself to her surroundings and 
although at first was not able to 
understand English, she was 
soon able to take part in public 
affairs. She was one of the first 
officers of the Primary Associa- 
tion and was an active Sunday 
School worker for twenty years. 
Her special work has been the 
Relief Society, in which she has 
always been active as teacher, 
trustee, counselor and president, 
being set apart for the latter po- 
sition in October. 1907. At the 
age of 35 she was left a widow 
and thrown largely upon her 
own resources, but owing to her 
ability in her chosen calling she 
has lived in comparative com- 
fort. For many years she has 
taught large classes of girls the 
art of dressmaking and she has 
done much of the sewing for 
those who have been laid away. 
She married John J, Jones ' 



July 15, 1897, and ten years later 
May 9, 1907, she was again left 
i widow. 

CANUTE PETERSON. 

Canute Peterson was born in 
Eidsfjord. Hardanger, Norway, 
-May 13, 1824. The farm owned 
by his father is called Maurset, 
and is now visited by the tour- 
ists who go to view the pictur- 
esque waterfall called Voring- 
sfors, which is only a few miles 
distant. His parents emigrated 
to America in 1837, taking Ca- 
nute with them, but leaving Uvo 
older sons, John and Jacob, who 
preferred to remain in Norwav. 
His parents settled in La Salle 
County, Illinois. The father died 
in 1838. Canute's mother lived 
some ten years after her hus- 
band's death, but was afflicted 
with rheumatism and confined 
to her bed during these many 
years. Sister Jacobs, a benev- 
olent and faithful Latter-day 
Saint, gave her the care and the 
love as of a devoted sister. Sis- 
ter Jacobs afterwards came to 
Lehi, wdiere she was known to 
Brother Peterson's children as 
Grandma Jacobs, and spent her 
last years there. Young Canute 
had to take work among the 
farmers. Sometimes he would 
be miles away from his mother; 
but when through his work Sat- 
urday night, he would walk all 
the way home, though it took 
most of the night to reach it 
and most of the following night 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



411 



to return, in order to spend 
Sunday with his beloved mother. 
As he grew older he tried to 
buy a few luxuries for her. Be- 
fore he left the state, he had 
paid the debt which his father 
had incurred through his and his 
wife's sickness. This act shows 
how dearly he cherished the 
memory of his parents. No one 
could have made a claim on him 
for the debt. Money was scarce 
and wages low, but he was de- 
termined that none should lose 
through having loaned money to 
his father, and after years of toil 
he succeeded in paying it in full. 

When Canute was 18 years of 
age, his mother and he joined 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints. He was bap- 
tized August 12, 1842. There 
was a large number of Scan- 
dinavians living in La Salle 
County, Illinois, and a large 
branch of the Church was raised 
up there. He visited Nauvoo in 
1844 and was ordained a seventy. 
The same year he was called to 
take a mission to Wisconsin. 
Here he baptized quite a number 
and organized a branch of the 
Church. 

A few miles from Ottawa 
lived Widow Nelson, who had a 
number of sons and daughters. 
She was kind to the poor and 
even the tramp was never turned 
away from her hospitable home. 
Here Canute Peterson was al- 
ways a welcome guest. One of 
the daughters, Sarah Ann, a 
couple of years younger than he. 



had also joined the Church, and 
thus they were thrown much 
into each other's company, at- 
tending meetings and other gath- 
erings of the Saints. She was a 
lovely girl and a most lovable 
woman. 

When the Saints were advised 
to gather with the Church in 
Utah, she showed her integrity 
to the gospel by leaving her 
good home and those she loved 
so highly. A number of the 
Saints left La Salle for Utah in 
1849; among them was Canute 
Peterson and Sarah A. Nelson. 
In crossing Iowa their camp was 
attacked with cholera, and Miss 
Nelson came down with it. 
Canute Peterson felt deep anx- 
iety on her account. Should she 
die what would her mother and 
relatives say? The thought was 
agonizing to him. He went into 
a little grove by the creek and 
plead with the Lord to spare her 
life. When he arose from his 
knees he felt endowed with 
heavenly power and went to her 
wagon and placing his hand on 
her head he commanded her to 
arise and be healed. She felt a 
miraculous power pervade hei 
and was healed immediately. 
When they came to Mt. Pisgah. 
they met Elder Orson Hyde. He 
performed the marriage cere- 
mony, making Canute and Sa r ah 
husband and wife. They reached 
Utah in the fall and settled in 
Salt Lake City. Next year he 
was called to go and help settle 
Lehi. 



412 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



In the fall of 1850, in company 
with Jesse W. Fox, Nelson Em- 
pey, and Henry Royle, he went 
out to the present site of Lehi 
and helped to survey the town- 
site. He did not move his fam- 
ily to Lehi until the middle of 
March, 1851. He helped make 
water ditches and commenced 
breaking his farm when he was 
called to go to Scandinavia on a 
mission. His wife was left with 
the care of two children, and 
though it was a time of Indian 
troubles and grasshoppers, she 
felt the Lord had richly blessed 
her. W'lu-n the grasshoppers had 
swept the fields clean, her littre 
patch of wheat was spared and 
she raised sixty bushels of treas- 
ured breadstuff. She helped 
many who had lost their whole 
crop. 

Canute Peterson returned in 
1856, bringing a large company 
of immigrants with him, whom 
he inspired with a deep love for 
him. He became counselor to 
Bishop Evans. 

In 1867 he was called to go to 
Ephraim to preside over that 
ward as bishop. In 1870 he was 
called to take a mission to Scan- 
dinavia to preside over that mis- 
sion. He returned in 1872. 

When President Bn'gham 
Young organized the Sanpete 
Slake, Canute Peterson was 
chosen as its president. He held 
this position until the stake was 
divided and then he continued 
to preside over the South San- 
p< te Slake, until his death, which 



occurred October 14, 1902. He 
held the office of stake president 
more than twenty-five years. He 
was generally loved and es- 
teemed by the Saints. He was a 
good gospel preacher. The 
Bible and the book of Doctrine 
and Covenants were his favorite 
books, and few were so well 
versed in the Scriptures as he. 

He loved Lehi and its people, 
among whom were many of his 
dearest friends, and he never 
tired of relating his experiences 
during the seventeen years he 
sojourned there. 

His wife Sarah died in May, 
1896. Two wives, Mariah and 
Charlotte, and fifteen children 
survived him. 

Anthon H. Lund. 

JAMES Q. POWELL. 

James Q. Powell, a native of 
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, 
was born November 7, 1807, and 
emigrated to Utah in Pulsipher's 
company, arriving in Salt Lake 
City in September, 1848. 

He lived in Cotton wood (now 
Murray) four years, moved to 
the Point of the Mountain in 
1852, and to Lehi in 1856. 

He was among the first to 
own sheep in Utah, having 
brought a number with him 
across the plains. He was em- 
inently successful as a sheep 
and cattle raiser, which busi- 
ness he followed in connection 
with farming. In the early days 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



413 



he often sold his wool for grain 
and vegetables. 

Mr. Powell was married three 
times. In 1829 he married Su- 
san Charlston, who bore him 
four children. She died in Penn- 
sylvania in 1840. Some time 



Ruby Valley, Nevada; Thad- 
deus, a prominent business man 
of Lehi; and Susan (Mrs. Char- 
les Trane.) Mr. Powell died 
December 4, 1891. 

THADDEUS POWELL. 




MRS. JAMES 0. POWELL. 

after, he married Jane Cooper, 
who accompanied him to Utah. 
She was the mother of five 
children. She died in Lehi May 
16. 1893. 

In 1855 he married Hannah 
Anderson, a native of Denmark, 
who had two children. She 
died in Lehi, August 4, 1899. Of 
all these children only four are 
now living: Ann living in Salt 
Lake City; Naomi, living in 



Thaddeus Powell, son of 
James Q. and Mary Cooper 
Powell, was born September 30, 
1854, near the Point of the 
Mountain, in Salt Lake County, 
Utah. His boyhood was spent 
in herding sheep and cattle and 
in going to school a few weeks 
in the winter time at Lehi. 




THADDEUS POWELL. 

He married Esther Ann Ash- 
ton January 24, 1883. To them 



414 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



have been born five children, as 
follows: Thaddeus A., Eugene, 
Leland, Hazel May (Mrs. Isaac 
Bone), and Thomas James. Mr. 
Powell started in the sheep busi- 
ness in 1872 and continued till 
1891. During this time he 
owned herds of from 2000 to 
4000 head. 

He bought the Mulliner mill 
property in 1884, and sold it in 
1890 to the Utah Sugar Com- 
pany. The site is now occupied 
by the first sugar factory built in 
Utah. 

He was director of the Lehi 
Commercial and Savings Bank 
from 1893 to 1900 and a member 
of the City Council in 1894 and 
1895. Mr. Powell is sound in 
judgment, prudent in his under- 
takings, and altogether a pro- 
gressive and enterprising citizen. 

ESTER A. A. POWELL. 

Ester Ann Ashton Powell, the 
wife of Thaddeus Powell, and 
the third child of Thomas and 
Arminta Lawrence Ashton, was 
born February 17, 1856, in Lehi, 
Utah. 

In her early life, during the 
hard times, she carded wool and 
spun yarn which her mother 
wove into cloth for the family 
which in those days was clothed 
in homespun and glad to 
get it. Her education was lim- 
ited, as there were no free 
schools. Her father would teach 
his children what he could in the 
evenings. However, in spite of 



these handicaps, Mrs. Poweli 
grew up to be a capable and use- 




ESTHER A. A. POWELL. - 

ful woman. She is one that is 
ever trying to do her full duty 
as a wife, mother, and member 
of the community. 

WILLIAM E. RACKER. 

William E. Racker was born 
in Aarhus, Denmark, January 23, 
1853, and was the son of Chris- 
tian F. and Jacobine Racker. 
His father died when William E. 
was five months old. He spent 
his early life in Denmark and 
was educated in the schools of 
that country. At the age of fif- 
teen years he emigrated to 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



415 



America, being the second son 
but now the oldest son living. 

He arrived in Salt Lake City 
Sept. 25, 1868, where he re- 
mained for a year, the remain- 
der of the family coming to Lehi 
where he joined them later. 

He began life in Lehi work- 
ing at anything he could get to 
do, in the field or on the thresh- 
ing machine; later he became 
clerk in the tithing office under 
Bishop David Evans, staying 
there seven years. At the end 
of that time, he accepted a posi- 
ion as bookkeeper with the Peo- 
ple's Co-operative Institution. 
He was advanced to the position 
of secretary and treasurer of 
held that place for ten years and 
then was made Superintendent 
in 1893. He also held the office 
of secretary and treasurer of 
the institution. 

Mr. Racker was married on 
the 31st of March, 1873, to Miss 
Rozilla Evans, daughter of Bish- 
op Evans. By this marriage 
twelve children have been born, 
nine of whom are living. 

Mr. Racker is a Republican in 
politics. He has been Treas- 
urer of Lehi for three terms and 
has been prominent in all public 
affairs in the early days. He was 
one of the leading men in get- 
ting the sugar factory located in 
Lehi; was one of the promoters 
of the Lehi Commercial and 
Savings Bank, and a director of 
it for years: was president and 
director of the first electric light 
company, in the north end of 



Utah County; and one of the 
owners and builders of the 
Union Hotel. 

Mr. Racker is a member of the 
L. D. S. Church and is now a 
high priest. In February, 1903, 
he went on a mission to his na- 
tive country, returning in May, 
1904. In August of that year he 
organized the Racker Merchan- 
tile Company and became presi- 
dent and manager. In 1906 he 
was re-elected president and di- 
rector of the Uah County Light 
and Power Company, and re- 
mained an officer of that com- 
pany until its consolidation with 
the Knight Power Company. 

At the city election in the fall 
of 1911, he was elected Mayor of 
Lehi City and commenced to 
serve in that office on January 1. 
1912. and is still serving in that 
capacity. 

When the State Bank of Lehi 
was organized he was chosen a 
director and chairman of the Ex- 
ecutive Board of that bank. 

FREDERICK E. RACKER. 

Frederick Eugene Racker. son 
of William E. and Rozilla Rack- 
er, was born August 4. 1877, at 
Lehi, Utah. At the age of eight 
years he was baptized a member 
of the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, and at the age 
of twelve was ordained a deacon. 
His school days were spent in 
the Lehi public schools. At the 
age of twelve he started as an 



416 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



apprentice in the printing busi- 
ness with the Lehi Publishing 
Company, and from the age of 
fourteen to the age of twenty he 
was engaged as teamster and 
clerk in the People's Co-oper- 
ative Institution. 

When war broke out between 
the United States and Spain, he 
was one of the first three volun- 
teers from Lehi, and served in 
the Utah Cavalry during the war 
with Spain. Not having been en- 
gaged in any action during his 
enlistment in the cavalry, he 
again re-enlisted in the 24th In- 
fantry and went to the Philip- 
pines with the regiment, where 
he participated in some six or 
eight engagements with the en- 
emy. While there he was strick- 
en down with a very severe at- 
tack of dysentery and was taken 
to the hospital at Manila where 
he remained several weeks and 
was then sent over to the United 
States, having become so weak 
that he had to be carried on 
board the ship that brought him 
to San Francisco. After several 
months treatment in the hospital 
in the Praesidio, he obtained his 
release and came home. 

On the 31st of July, 1900, he 
was married to Miss Orpha Ad- 
ams of American Fork, Utah. 
Soon after his marriage, he 
again engaged as clerk and later 
as a miner until June, 1904, at 
which time he again enlisted in 
the United States Army, and this 
time he was assigned to the 29th 
infantry, Company G, and served 



as clerk of the company for a 
period of several months. 

Having obtained a knowledge 
of printing in his youth, he was 
detailed as post printer and on 
the 12th of April, 1905, he was 
detailed as school teacher at 
the post. 

He was very much beloved 
by his comrades and highly re- 
spected by the officers of his 
company. 

On Sunday, the 23rd of April, 
1905, he died in the post hospital 
from a very acute attack of 
dysentery and cramps. Tues- 
day following he was escorted 
by the full garrison at Fort 
Douglas with great military 
honors, commanded by Capt. 
Wells, Adjutant-General and 
Commanding Officer of the 
post, the cortege being preceded 
by the post Band. 

He died in full fellowship in 
the faith of the gospel, and he 
always had a firm belief in the 
principles of the same, and so 
expressed himself to his parents 
the last time he talked to them. 

JOHN ROBERTS, JR. 

John Roberts, son of John 
Roberts, Sen., and Adelade Ford 
Roberts, was born December 20, 
1848, in Woolwich, Kent, Eng- 
land. He joined the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints in 1863, and emigrated to 
America with his parents in 
1863. 

At the age of 14 he drove 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



417 



three yoke of oxen across the 
plains, arriving in Salt Lake 
City in October, 1863, and came 
to Lehi a month later. He went 
East for emigrants in 1865 and 
helped to bring the Thomas 
Taylor company to Salt Lake 
City. Two years later, 1867, he 
fought in the Black Hawk War. 
He spent two years freighting 
by team in Nevada, and for sev- 
eral years did teaming and farm- 
ing. 

He married Alice Ann Taylor, 
daughter of James and Ann 
Taylor, December 25, 1872, from 
which union ten children were 
born. 

He entered the employment 
of the People's Co-operative In- 
stitution in 1882. He was man- 
ager of the Branch Co-op. For 
fourteen years, city treasurer six 
terms, a member of the City 
Council two terms, and mayor 
of the city one term. He served 
on the School Board six years, 
as chairman, secretary, and 
treasurer. 

Death took his wife, Alice 
Ann. in the year 1895. He then 
married Mary Ann Cutler 
Standring, and in a few years 
was left again, she passing away 
in 1900. One year later he mar- 
ried Emma Jane Evans Taylor 
and has three sons from this 
marriage. 

He has taken an active part in 
ecclesiastical organizations of 
the Church, was one of the pres- 
idents of the 68th quorum of 
seventies, and is at present an 



active block teacher and a high 
priest. 

At the age of 65 he is still 
(1913) in the employment of the 
People's Co-operative Institu- 
tion. 

GEORGE G. ROBINSOX. 

George G. Robinson was born 
October 20, 1869, in Newcastle 
County, Delaware. He received 
his education in the public 
schools. At the age of 16 
years he commenced to learn the 
milling business with McLaugh- 
lin Brothers of Newark, Dela- 
ware, going to Crosswick, N. J., 
in 1888 to take charge of a mill 
for the Eagle Roller Mill Coin- 




GEORGE G. ROBINSON. 



418 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



pany of that place. He came to 
Utah at the request of Bishop 
\Y. I). Robinson, arriving at 
American Fork, Utah, in Decem- 
ber, 1890, working for W. D. 
Robinson upwards of five years, 
after which he worked for the 
Chiptnan Mercantile Company, 
having charge of their mill at 
American Foil;. He leased the 
Lehi Roller Mills in April, 1907, 
running the same for twenty- 
seven months. He then returned 
to the employ of the Chipman 
Mercantile Company and as- 
sumed charge of their mill. In 
June, 1910, he moved to Lehi 
and bought the Lehi Roller 
Mills, also the home of Louis 
Garff. He was elected to the City 
Council for the two year term in 
November, 1911, and re-elected 
as the four year term council- 
man in 1913. George G. Robin- 
son was married to Beulah 
Adams, daughter of Joshua- and 
Mary B. Adams of American 
Fork. January 2, 1894. 



JOHN E. ROSS. 

John E. Ross was one of the 
early settlers of Lehi, having 
arrived here in November, 1853. 
He has probably done more in 
an educational way for Lehi 
than any other man, having 
taught in the local schools for 
twenty-nine years without a 
break. When he commenced 
teaching there were no free 
schools in Utah and his pay in 



the earlier days consisted of 
various kinds of produce. He 
served fourteen years as city 
recorder and was an excellent 
penman. He also served two 
years as city alderman. 

He has also been a religious 
worker, serving twenty-five years 
in the Sunday Schools. 




JOHN E. ROSS. 

He was an Indian war vet- 
eran, serving in the Black Hawk 
War in 1866. He was a team- 
ster in his youth. In 1861 he 
drove four yoke of cattle across 
the plains, back to Florence for 
immigrants, and in 1864 he drove 
a six-mule team to Los Angeles 
for freight for John R. Murdock. 

Mr. Ross was the son of 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



419 



Stephen W. and Jane Ross and 
was born in Newark, New Jer- 
sey, January 13, 1840. His father 
died when he was 9 years of age, 
and the year following he came 
with his mother to Council 
Bluffs, Iowa. In 1852 they came 
to Salt Lake City, and the year 
following came to Lehi. July 1, 
1865, he married Amanda Nor- 
ton, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
Wiley Norton, who were also 
among the first settlers of Lehi. 
S. W. Ross. 

LOT RUSSON AND ELIZA 
ROUND. 

Lot Russon and Eliza Round 
were born in Wetherston, 
Worcestershire. England. Lot 



was born January 1, 1829, 
and Eliza on October 21, 1830. 
Lot was a lad of 13 when his 
father died, and he was the sup- 
port of his mother and four sis- 
ters for many years. On De- 
cember 25, 1850, he married 
Eliza Round. 

They were baptized into the 
Church in August, 1852. He was 
a collier and she made nails 
until their fifth child was born. 
They were faithful in their 
church duties. In October, 
1871, they emigrated to Utah 
with eight children, namely: 
Charlotte, Thomas, Mary, Sarah, 
Lot Jr., Eliza, Enoch, Annie 
Amelia (deceased), and George 
E. Two were later born in 
Lehi: Joseph F. and Kate L. 
All are stalwart Latter-day 




LOT RUSSON, AND ELIZA R. RUSSON. 



420 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Saints and have done temple 
work. 

Brother Lot was appointed 
president of the elders' quorum 
by Apostle Erastus Snow, June 
10, 1877, being the first to re- 
ceive that appointment in Lehi, 
and was president twenty-two 
years. He missed only four 
meetings in that time. 

Eliza held the office of a 
teacher in the Relief Society for 
thirty years, and died in the 
harness July 22, 1908, in her 
seventy-eighth year, surrounded 
by her husband and children — 
all except Enoch, who was do- 
ing missionary work in Eng- 
land. Lot is 85 years old and 
still hale. His posterity number 
at this reading eleven children, 
eighty-two grandchildren, and 
seventy-six great grandchildren, 
making a total of 170 souls. 

HENRY ROYLE. 

Henry Royle, one of the orig- 
inal pioneers of Lehi, was born 
in England. Very little is 
known of his early life. Some 
time in the early forties he 
joined the "Mormon" Church 
and took an active part in 
preaching and advocating its 
doctrines, being rotten-egged 
by hoodlums for so doing. He 
married a sister of David Clark, 
another Lehi pioneer; she soon 
died and left him without fam- 
ily. 

He came to America about the 
year 1846, and worked two years 



in St. Louis, in the meantime 
getting together an outfit con- 
sisting of oxen, cows, and other 
necessities with which to cross 
the plains. 

In the winter of 1847-1848 he 
married Ann Capstick, and on 
the 18th of March, following, 
they moved to St. Joseph, Mis- 
souri, from where they later 
started for Salt Lake City, ar- 
riving at the latter place Septem- 
ber 21, 1848, where he built a 
home. 

In the fall of 1848 and the fol- 
lowing spring he made adobes 
and, being a mason, helped to 
build them into one of the first 
meeting houses in Salt Lake 
City. In the summer of 1850 
in company with Canute Peter- 
son and others, he explored the 
north end of Utah Valley with 
a view of taking up land and 
finding a suitable place for a set- 
tlement. In September of that 
year he came back to Dry Creek 
with his brother-in-law, David 
Clark, and while felling logs for 
a house, had his collar bone 
broken. He went back to Salt 
Lake and remained until spring, 
when he brought his wife and 
infant daughter, (Mrs. Sarah A. 
Olmstead), to Lehi and lived 
for a time in a covered wagon 
box. On June 22, 1851, his son, 
Henry Moroni, was born, being 
the first white male child to see 
the light of day in Lehi. After 
a brief illness, he died July 8, 
1852, aged about thirty-two 
years. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



421 



ANN CAPSTICK ROYLE. 

Ann Capstick, the daughter of 
Ann and Christopher Capstick, 
was born July 26, 1812, at Old 
Hutton, Bridge End, north of 
Westmoreland, England. Her 
mother died December 31, 1836: 
her father died in August, 1841. 

In 1842, with her sister, Jane, 
she came to America. In 1843, 
July 30, she was baptized a 
member of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, in 
Newark. Connecticut. A short 
time after she made the ac- 
quaintance of Henry Royle, 
whom she married in the winter 
of 1847. March 18, 1848. they 
left St. Louis, where they had 
been residing and located at St. 
Joseph. Missouri; from there 
they left for Salt Lake City with 
an ox team, arriving in Utah 
on the 21st of September, 1848. 
Here they built a home on a 
city lot. September 22, 1849, 
their first child, Sarah Ann, was 
born. In the spring of 1851 
they moved to Lehi. June 22, 
1851, their son, Henry Moroni, 
was born. July 8, 1852, after a 
short sickness, her husband died. 
November 9, 1852, she married 
John Mercer of American Fork, 
Utah. October 6, 1853, she gave 
birth to her daughter, Martha 
(Mrs. James Kirkham). On 
March 8, 1860. her husband, John 
Mercer, died. In the fall of 1861 
she married Samuel Mulliner. 
After living with Samuel Mul- 
liner for a year or two, her chil- 



dren built her a home next to 
the residence of her daughter, 
Martha Kirkham, where she re- 
mained until her death, July 7. 
1879. 

GEORGE P. SCHOW. 

George Peter Schow was born 
in Ronne, Bornholm, Denmark, 
July 20, 1853, his parents being 
Jens Hansen Schow and Sine 
Kirstine Larsen. His father's 




GEORGE P. SCHOW. 

home was know as Helligdoms- 
gaarden, being a noted pleasure 
resort and its rugged cliffs and 
beautiful scenery were know all 
over the northern part of Eur- 
ope. 



422 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



When George was fourteen 
years old, his father died and 
the next four years were spent 
with his uncle. Although he was 
not a Mormon, at the age of 
eighteen years he determined to 
leave his native land and go to 
Utah. His relatives and friends 




CELESTIA WILLES SCHOW. 

tried to persuade him against 
this course. His uncle, who was 
childless and well to do, prom- 
ised to make it worth his time 
if he would stay. But it was all 
to no purpose; there seemed to 
be an irresistible impulse taking 
him to Utah, his brother, Peter, 
having preceded him there. He 
reached Utah in April, 1872, and 
'-pent the next few years work- 



ing in the mines of Little Cot- 
tonwood and Bingham Canyon. 
For a number of years he 
freighted to Bingham, hauling 
all manner of produce, such as 
butter, eggs, fruit, and vege- 
tables and selling it to the peo- 
ple. For the last number of 
years he has been one of Lehi's 
leading farmers and at present, 
in company with his sons, is 
engaged quite extensively in 
dry farming west of Jordan 
River. 

Mr. Schow first heard the 
gospel as taught by the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints in Lehi, where he has 
made his home since his arrival 
in Utah, and was baptized by 
Abraham Losee. He married 
Celestia Willes, a daughter of 
William Sidney Smith Willes 
and Alzina Lucinda Lott, No- 
vember 18, 1880. To them have 
been born five children as fol- 
lows: George Sidney, Virgin- 
ia (Mrs. Arthur Webb), Alzina 
Lucinda (Mrs. Albert Bone), 
Floyd, and Joice Pamelia. 

Mr. Schow is one of Lehi's 
progressive citizens, always tak- 
ing part in every enterprise that 
is for the public good. He is a 
strong supporter of education 
and to his honor be it said 
that his son, George Sidney, 
was the first Lehi boy to 
graduate from the University 
of Utah. During the years 
1900 and 1901, Mr. Schow was 
in California teaching the Cali- 
fornians how to irrigate their 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



423 



lands, being recommended for 
this position by Bishop Thomas 
R. Cutler. When the four 
wards of Lehi were organized 
December 20, 1903, Mr. Schow 
was selected as Second Coun- 
cilor to Andrew Fjeld in the 
Bishopric of the First Ward, 
a position he still holds. 

JOSEPH JOHNSON SMITH. 

Joseph Johnson Smith was the 
son of William and Sophia 
Brooks Smith, and was born 
April 8, 1821. in Kempston, Bed- 
forshire, England. He learned 
the trade of blacksmith and 
wheelwright and became a pro- 
ficient mechanic in this line. On 
March 1, 1840, he married Mary 
Ann Smart and on September 
23. 1841, he was baptized a mem- 
ber of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints by 
John Sheffield. 

In May. 1843, in company with 
his father, mother and some of 
his brothers and sisters who also 
had accepted Mormonism, he em- 
igrated to Nauvoo, Illinois. On 
the 8th of August, 1844, his wife 
died, leaving him with three 
small children and in April, 1845, 
his mother died. Soon after this 
his father returned to England, 
where he later married and 
raised another family. 

Joseph J. left Nauvoo in May. 
and in company with Bishop 
David Evans and others lived at 
Bonepart during the summer. 
Tn September Bishop Evans and 
Company moved for*v miles 



west of Pisgah on the head wat- 
ers of Nodaway, intending to 
settle there, but their provisions 
gave out and their cattle died, 
so they were compelled to move 
into Missouri for supplies. 

On the first of January, 1850, 
Mr. Smith was married to Ann 
Coleman, daughter of Prime and 
Sarah Thornton Coleman, by 
Bishop David Evans at Mary- 
ville. Missouri, and the same 
year they crossed the plains, ar- 
riving in Salt Lake City, Sep- 
tember 17, 1850. They lived in 
Salt Lake City for one year, 
when, on the solicitation of 
Bishop David Evans, they moved 
to Lehi. 

Mr. Smith was the first black 
smith to settle in Lehi and 
took an active part in the build- 
ing up of the community. He 
made plows for the farmers of 
wagon tires which Johnston's 
army brought: made the first 
iron rollers for crushing sugar 
cane in the manufacture of mo- 
lasses; and made nails and tools 
cf various kinds. This work oc 
cupied his spare time in winter 
and in the summer he followed 
farming. Being of an industrior- 
disposition, he was able to sur- 
round his family with all the 
necessities and some of the lux- 
uries of life and was considered 
well to do in those days. 

He was a stockholder in many 
of the industries and enterprises 
launched for the building up of 
the country. He was active in 
furnishing supplies for those 



424 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



were out on Indian expeditions 
and after the Church immigra- 
tion. He was among the first to 
launch out in the bee industry. 
He lvmesteaded a quarter sec- 
tion of land some distance north 
of Lehi on Dry Creek, which he 
brought into a high state of cul- 
tivation and also built a saw- 
mill, using the water of Dry 
Creek for power. On February 
10, 1865. he married Sarah Ann 
Liddiard and all together raised 
a very large family, as follows: 

Children of Mary Ann Smart: 
Caroline (Mrs. Wm. Skeens), 
Mercy, and Joseph. 

Children of Ann Coleman: 
Sarah Ann (Mrs. Samuel South- 
wick). Joseph William. George. 
Hyrum. Aldura (Mrs. James 
Roberts), Julia Elizabeth. (Mrs. 
James Taylor), Alfred James, 
Samuel Abraham, John Frank- 
lin, Rebecca, Jacob. David. Al- 
bert, and Moroni Alma. 

Children of Sarah Ann Lid- 
diard: Florence Sopho (Mrs. J. 
E. Cotter), and Elizabeth. 

After a lingering illness of 
heart trouble, he died August 6. 
1902. 

A XX COLEMAN SMITH. 

Ann Coleman, daughter of 
Prime and Sarah Coleman, and 
wife of Joseph J. Smith, was 
born in Oldin, Bedfordshire, 
England on the 2nd day of Oc- 
tober, 1833. She was baptized 
into the Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints, in Bed- 



fordshire, England,, by Elder 
John S. Thornton in Decem- 
ber, 1842, and in 1843, together 
with her father's family, consist- 
ing of the following members: 
Elizabeth Coleman Jacobs, Re- 
becca Coleman Evans, Martha 
Coleman Southwick, Prime 
Coleman, George Coleman, and 
William Coleman, migrated to 
America, and arrived in Nauvoo 
May 12, 1843. She was per- 
sonally acquainted with the 
Prophet Joseph Smith, and his 
brother, Hyrum, and passed 
through the persecutions the 




ANN COLEMAN SMITH. 

Saints were compelled to under- 
go at that time. 

She was married to Joseph J. 
Smith at Morrisonville, Mis- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



425 



souri. January 1, 1850. by Bish- 
op David Evans, and in May 
following, in company with 
her husband, moved to Council 
Bluffs. On June 13, she crossed 
the Missouri River, and start- 
ed across the plains with ox 
teams, for Utah, arriving in 
the fall of 1850. She lived in 
Salt Lake City one year, then 
moved to Lehi where she re- 
sided until her death. 

She was the mother of 14 chil- 
dren, 10 sons, and 4 daughters. 
She was very industrious and 
enterprising in the settling and 
building up of this country, pass- 
ing through all the hardships 
and trying times of early pio- 
neer life. She was a dutiful, and 
considerate wife, a kind and 
loving mother, and was respect- 
ed by all who knew her. 

She passed away October 1, 
1909, being 76 years old. 

SARAH A. L. SMITH. 

Sarath Ann Liddiard Smith 
v. as the daughter of Levi A. and 
Ann Liddiard. She w-as born at 
Windsor, England October 16, 
1831, and joined the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 
July 14, 1848, at East Woodhay, 
Hampshire, England, being a 
member of the Landers Confer- 
ence. 

She sailed for America on the 
ship, "Hudson," July 3. 1864; 
there were 1100 persons on 
board and six weeks were 
consumed in crossing the 



ocean. She crossed the plains 
m Captain Warren Snow's com- 
pany and during the journey 
she cooked for a number of el- 
ders who had been on missions 
and were returning home. She 
arived in Salt Lake City. No- 
vember 31, 1864, and was mar- 




SARAH A L. SMITH. 

ried to Joseph J. Smith Febru- 
ary 10, 1865, coming t<> Lchi 
the same year. She was the 
mother of two daughters, one 
dying in infancy, the other is 
Mrs. Florence Cotter. Mrs. 
Smith was of a refined yet in- 
dependent disposition; having 
received a liberal education, she 
taught school for a number of 
years and was identified with 



426 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



the Sunday School as a teacher. 
In 1887 she built a hotel by 
the Denver and Rio Grande de- 
pot which she conducted for 
a number of years. She died 
September 25, 1909. 

WILLIAM SOUTHWICK. 

My grandfather, Samuel 
Southwick, was born at Crad- 
ley, Shropshire, England, in 
1770. My grandmother, Nancy 
Holloway Southwick, died in 
1814, in England. My father, 
Edward Southwick, was born in 
Hanley, Shropshire, England, 
May 15, 1812. My mother, Mary 
Alexander Southwick, was born 
in July, 1812, in Dudley, Eng- 
land. My parents were married 
in 1834. 

I, William, oldest son of my 
parents, was born at Dudley, 
Staffordshire, England, Septem- 
ber 15, 1835. My parents were 
religious, belonging to the Meth- 
odist church. To them were 
born the following children: 
William, Joseph, Sarah, Edward. 
Samuel, Mary, John, and James. 
We were born of goodly parents, 
who always taught us to be vir- 
tuous and honorable all our 
lives. My grandfather, as also 
my parents, was baptized into 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints in May, 1844. 

I was baptized December 24, 
1848, by my uncle, Joseph 
Southwick. I attended Sunday 
School some five or six years. 
Tn the spring of 1854, I was or- 



dained a priest, my duties being 
to visit the Saints. In March, 
1855, I was ordained an elder 
by Edmund Ellsworth, and by 
him sent out as a traveling elder 
in the Warwick Conference. 

In November of this year I 
was released, and started for 
Utah with a company of Saints 
from Rugby of the same con- 
ference. On November 30 we 
set sail for New York on the 
ship "Emerald Isle." We landed 
on the 1st of January, 1856, after 
a pleasant voyage. I spent some 
two months in New York, Phila- 
delphia, and Saint Louis. Here 
L engaged to one Preston 
Thomas of Lehi (missionary to 
Texas), to drive a team for him 
to Utah. I left Saint Louis on 
March 4 on the river steamer, 
"Falls City," for New Orleans. 
After our arrival we re-shipped 
on a gulf steamer for Powder 
Horn, Texas. Here we met the 
Saints preparing for journeying 
to Utah, and on April 7 we 
struck camp for the West. 

After traveling some 2,500 
miles on the Cherokee trail and 
part on the Mormon trail, we 
landed in Salt Lake City on Sep- 
tember 17, and at Lehi on the 
19th. After my arrival I en- 
gaged to Preston Thomas to 
work on his farm for a year at 
$10.00 per month. 

The two following years, 1858- 
1859, I worked for John Zim- 
merman and John C. Nagle on 
their farms. Soon after my ar- 
rival T was mustered into a foot 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



427 



company, John Norton being 
captain, and soon afterwards 
formed a home company of 
which John S. Lott was cap- 
tain. During the two first win- 
ters, I spent much time as a 
home guard at the fort gates; the 
first winter without shoes, and 
scarcely enough clothing to keep 
warm. There were no fires; 
nothing pleasant about it, only 
discharge of duty. Indeed I had 
to keep moving to keep from 
freezing. During the "Move" I 
was able to get shoes and 
warmer clothing, after the army 
came in. Their coming was a 
£-reat temporal blessing to the 
whole people. I also assisted in 
herding and guarding the citi- 
zens' cattle up Utah Lake, and 
in taking part in all general 
work. 

On October 20. 1859, I took to 
wife Martha Jane Coleman, 
(owing to the army being here 
the endowment house was 
closed, therefore we were mar- 
ried by Bishop's Counselor L. 
H. Hatch). There were born to 
us six children: Wm. E.. Samuel 
K., George F., Mary Ann, Re- 
becca, and Joseph. 

In the spring of 1860 I bought 
a piece of land from Bishop Ev- 
ans, and started farming for my- 
self. In 1858. at the organiza- 
tion of the first elders' quorum, 
i was chosen as secretary. I was 
one of a committee in assisting 
to build the west school rooms, 
also helped in finishing the 
Meeting House. I was captain 



of police two years under Mar- 
shal Abel Evans, in the '60s. 

November 28, 1862, I was or- 
dained to the office of seventy in 
the 68th quorum by President 
Israel Evans; and at the same 




WILLIAM SOUTHWICK. 

time set apart as secretary of the 
quorum, which position I filled 
for twenty-five years. On De- 
cember 11. 1880, I was set apart 
as one of the council; I remained 
in this position until I was or- 
dained high priest on December 
1, 1906, by George Cunningham. 
Soon afterwards, I was called to 
act as second counselor to Pres- 
ident A. R. Anderson in the 
Presidency of the high priests' 



428 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



quorum in the Alpine Stake of 
Zion. In 1858, I joined the Lehi 
choir. Some time after, I be- 
came its leader for a number of 
years. I was a teacher in the 
Sunday School, also secretary of 
the theological class, in all thirty- 
years. 

My wife, Martha Jane, was 
sealed to me in the Salt Lake 
Endowment House August 3, 
1861, by President Daniel H. 
Wells. On May 28, 1864, I took 
fur my second wife Savina C. 
Larson, daughter of Swen Lar- 
son of Sanpete. We were sealed 
in the Endowment House by 
President W. Woodruff. The 
names of children born to us: 
Sarah M., Emma F., Martha 
Ann, Edith A., Ernest L., and 
Raymond. 

In 1863 my brother Samuel ar- 
rived in Lehi. where he made his 
home for years. Later he moved 
to Idaho. In 1864 my father, 
with two children, came to Lehi, 
my mother having died upon the 
plains. After seven years' resi- 
dence here he died in 1873. 

In the '60s I was a member of 
the old Dramatic Company. I 
was a home missionary in the 
old Utah Stake with Bishop 
Thomas R. Cutler one year. In 
1904 I served one year as home 
missionary with Emil Anderson 
in the Alpine Stake of Zion. In 
the years 1865-1880 I labored un- 
der Bishop David Evans as block 
teacher, and under Bishop Cutler 
as an acting priest. I was gen- 



eral water master for Lehi for 
-even years, and president of the 
Lehi Water Company for two 
years. 

In the fall of 1887, I received 
a call to take a mission to the 
Southern States. On March 29, 
1888, I left home, and arrived in 
Chattanooga on April 4. Here 
I received my appointment to 
travel in the Eastern Tennessee- 
Western North Carolina Confer- 
ence. After filling a satisfactory 
mission, I received an honorable 
discharge from the president of 
the Southern States Mission, 
William Sprv. I returned home 
in the fall of 1889. 

In the spring of 1890, I was 
appointed chairman of the Old 
Bolks' Committee of Lehi, in 
which position I served very 
pleasantly for twenty years. 

Since my return from my mis- 
sion, my time has been spent in 
my home affairs, and my duties 
in the Church, and as a citizen 
of my home town, of which I 
feel proud, having lived for the 
past fifty-seven years watching 
it grow from a small village, sur- 
rounded by a mud wall as a pro- 
tection against the invasion of 
hostile Indians, to its present 
surroundings. And may our pos- 
terity never cease to build upon 
the foundation laid by the earl}' 
veterans until it shall become, 
through their industry and en- 
terprise, the most beautiful city. 
overlooking that grand view of 
waters, the Utah Lake. 

Willia m Southwick. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



429 



EDWARD SOUTHWICK. 

Edward Soutlnvick, who was 
the son of Edward Soutlnvick 
and Mary Alexander, was born 
April 24. 1842 at Dudley, Wor- 
cestershire, England. 

His father not being in the 
best of circumstances, Edward 
was put to work in a glass fac- 
tory, at Sponlane, where he 
worked for a number of years, 
becoming quite proficient in his 
hne of work. He afterwards 
iearned the shoe making busi- 
ness from his father and also 
mastered this occupation. Af- 
ter working with his father for 
a number of years in West- 
bromwich, he went to North- 
hampton, where he was en- 
gaged in the Mansfield shoe 
factory, the largest in the 
world at that time. He af f ei- 
ward went to Norwich, w!rr j 
he was foreman in a small fac- 
tor}-. From here he migrated 
to this country in the year 
1871 on the steamship, "Ne- 
vada," which left Liverpool 
July 26, with 93 Saints under 
the direction of Lot Smith and 
arrived at Salt Lake City, Aug- 
ust 16. 

He then came direct to Lehi. 
and not having sufficient work- 
to occupy his time and make a 
living at his trade, he engaged 
in the construction work on the 
railroad that was being built up 
American Fork Canyon that 
year. When the railroad was 
completed, he engaged as a 



cook at the old Miller Mine in 
American Fork Canyon, and 
worked as such for a number of 
years, going then to Alta in Big 




EDWARD SOUTHWICK. 

Cottonwood Canyon where he 
was offered better wages. He 
commenced to work at his trade 
about the year 1876 and contin- 
ued in this occupation the re- 
mainder of his life, and all of 
the early settlers will remember 
him from the fact that he made 
footwear for them all. 

He was baptized in the year 
1854 by Elder John White, was 
ordained an elder, and did 
some missionary work in his na- 
tive land. He was ordained a 
seventy May 14. 1876. by Wil- 



430 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Ham Clark, and was a mem- 
ber of the 68th quorum ot sev- 
enty up to the time of his death. 
He was also a member of the 
School Board at the time of his 
death, the only public trust he 
ever held. 

He was married to Ann Ma- 
ria Taylor, February 18, 1866, 
in the old parish church of 
Dudley, England, and became 
the father of nine children. His 
eldest son Arthur James, who 
appears in the accompanying 
picture on his father's knee, was 
born March 24, 1876, at Birming- 
ham, England. This picture 
was the only one Edward 
Southwick ever posed for. He 
was a man of great faith and re- 
joiced in visiting and adminis- 
tering to the sick. He died very 
suddenly on October 30, 1888, 
being sick only eight hours. 



AXX M. T. SOUTHWICK. 

Ann Maria Taylor, who was 
the daughter of John Taylor and 
Ann Maria Lager, was born 
March 11, 1841, at Westbrom- 
wich, Staffordshire, England. 
She was engaged as a domestic 
in her girlhood; received the 
gospel with other members of 
her father's family; was bap- 
tized in the year 1854, by John 
Taylor, and was a member of 
Westbromwich and Birmingham 
branch choir, for a number of 
years. 

She was married to Edward 



Southwick March 18th, 1866, and 
became the mother of nine chil- 
dren, namely: Arthur James, 
now a resident of Provo, Utah; 
Clara, who was born March 5, at 
Norwich, England, now Mrs. 
George R. Meservy, of Provo, 
Utah, (whose picture appears as 
a baby with her mother below) ; 
Edward Southwick of Lehi, 
Utah; Dora May, now Mrs. Wil- 
liam L. Fuller, of Preston, Idaho, 
and Frederick, Agnes, Katie Eliz- 
abeth, Alice, Maud, and John Al- 
fred, all now deceased, John Al- 
fred died in the Thames Hos- 
pital. Xew Zealand, March 12th, 
1908, while filling a mission. 

She passed through many try- 
ing circumsatnces during her 




AXX MARIA T. SOUTHWICK. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



431 



life, but had a kind and loving 
disposition, and although afflict- 
ed with asthma all her days, was 
never heard to complain. She 
was a member of the Relief So 
ciety and a teacher in this or- 
ganization at the time of her 
death, which occured November 
29, 1892, at Lehi, Utah. 

EDWARD SOUTHWICK, JR. 

Edward Southwick, Jr., who 
was the son of Edward South- 
wick and Ann Maria Taylor, is 
a product of Lehi, having been 
born September 13, 1871, in his 
uncle's house now standing on 
the corner of First North and 
Fourth West streets. 

He was baptized October 3, 
1880, by Lot Russon, Sen.; 
was ordained a deacon and a 
teacher by his father; was or- 
dained an elder by Lot Rus- 
son, Sen., in July, 1889; and a 
seventy April 20, 1904, by Presi- 
dent Seymour B. Young. He 
filled a mission in England from 
1894 to 1896, als'i a mission to 
Colorado in 1899, returning in 
1900. He has labored as a Sun- 
day School teacher, superintend- 
ent, and stake officer for 
twenty-two years, and as a M. 
1 A. officer and teacher for 
welve years. He was secretary 
of the deacons', elders', and sev- 
enties' quorums for a number of 
years, and was chosen and set 
apart as one of the presidents of 
the 68th quorum by President 
Seymour B. Young September 9, 



1900. He has labored as such 
from that date to the present, 
now being the senior president 
of the quorum. He was city 
recorder of Lehi in 1898 and 
1899, and a school trustee from 
1907 to 1910, mayor of Lehi in 
1910 and 1911, and a member of 
the tenth session of the Utah 
Legislature in 1913. 

He is a director in the State 
Bank of Lehi and has been since 
its incorporation; has been em- 
ployed in various occupations; 
but is at present engaged in the 
real estate business and farm- 
ing. 

He was married in the Salt 
Lake temple March 24, 1897, to 
Rachel Ann Webb, and is the 
father of the following named 
children: Ethel, Edward W., 
Hannah Pearl, John W., Owen 
W., Glen W., and Emma Ann. 

EDWIN STANDRING. 

Edwin Standring, a son of 
James and Mary Standring, was 
born April 27, 1828, in Oldham, 
Lancashire, England. He was 
baptized into the Church of Je- 
sus Christ of Latter-day Saints 
March 4, 1848, in Oldham, and 
emigrated to Utah in 1853. In 

1857 he came to Lehi and in 

1858 was in the Echo Canyon 
War. In 1862, the high water 
year, he went back to the Mis- 
souri River after the Church im- 
migration, driving an ox-team 
all the way. 

On the 28th of November. 



432 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



1862, he was ordained a seventy 
and in the fall of 1876, went on a 
short mission to the states, re- 
turning in May, 1877. In 1884, 
he was ordained a high priest 
and chosen as Second Counselor 
to Bishop Thomas R. Cutler. 

On the 3rd of June, 1859, he 
married Rebecca Smith; she 
never had any children, but later 
in life she adopted Alice Bahr 
(Mrs. Henry Moroni Royle, Jr.) 

On the 14th of February, 1864, 
lie married Elizabeth Dixon who 
bore him one son who lived but 
six days; the mother died in De- 
cember, 1867. 

On the 28th of February, 1878, 
he married Ann Cutler, who be- 
came the mother of a girl and 
boy. The girl died in infancy 
and the boy is John Edwin. 
Mary Ann died July 13, 1900. 

On the 8th of November, 1888, 
Mr. Standring was summond to 
Provo on a charge of cohabita- 
tion. He was discharged and on 
the way home caught a severe 
cold which turned to pneumonia, 
causing his death November 20, 
1888. 

REBECCA S. STANDRING. 

Rebecca Smith Standring, the 
wife of Edwin Standring, was 
born in North Hampton, North 
Hamptonshire, England, Febru- 
ary 20, 1828. She was the 
daughter of William Smith and 
Charlotte Ford, being the fourth 
child in a family of ten children. 
It can truthfullv be said of Mrs. 



Standring that she forsook all 
for the gospel's sake, for having 
accepted the doctrines as taught 
by the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints, in company 
with two sisters, she emigrated 
to America in 1855, leaving a 
husband who afterward followed 
her to Salt Lake City, and tried 
to persuade her to return to 
England with him. During her 
stay in Salt Lake City, she lived 
with the mother of Apostle An- 
thony Ivins and in the "Move" 
went south with the Saints. Af- 
ter the people returned to their 
homes, she came to Lehi to visit 
her sister and met Edwin Stand- 
ring to whom she was married 
June 3, 1859, by James W. Tay- 
lor. 

Mrs. Stjafidring was refined 
and cultured, with queenly dig- 
nity, a natural leader and en- 
dowed with good practical 
sense. Being deprived of the 
privilege of motherhood, she 
took a promiment part in the 
public affairs of the community. 
During the early sixties' she was 
one of the leading stars in the 
pioneer Home Dramatic As- 
sociation and when the Sunday 
School was organized in 1866 
she was the first lady teacher 
called to aid in this noble work. 
For thirty years she was one of 
the most prompt and efficient 
teachers in the school until com- 
pelled by stress of other duties 
to resign. For a number of 
years she was stake aid in the 
Primary Association in the old 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



433 



Utah Stake and has labored for 
three months in each of the fol- 
lowing temples: St. George, 
Manti, and Salt Lake. 

At the organization of the Re- 
lief Society in Lehi, October 28, 
1868, she was chosen secretary 
and served in this capacity un- 
til the resignation of President 
Sarah Coleman, October 2, 1879, 
when she was selected as the 
president of the society. On July 
28, 1901, the well merited honor 
of presiding over the Relief So- 
cieties of the Alpine Stake was 
conferred upon her by the Stake 
Presidency. She faithfully per- 
formed the duties of this respon- 
sible calling until October 26, 
1913, when through age and ill 
health she was honorably re- 
leased. 

In the Relief Society Mrs. 
Standring found ample scope for 
her talents as leader, and spirit- 
ual advisor and through her wise 
management the organization 
was brought to a high point of 
efficiency. Her works will long 
be held in grateful remembrance 
by her devoted sisters. 

JOHN STEWART. 

John Stewart was born in 
Chester Town, Kent County, 
Maryland, September 27, 1827. 
His parents died when he was 
quite small, so he was raised by 
his uncle and aunt, Arthur and 
Julianne Merit. Very little is 
known of his early life except 
that he joined the Mormon 



Church, being baptized in the 
Missouri River in the dead of 
winter; he came to Utah some- 
time before 1851. 

Lydia M. Rolfe Stewart was 
born in Rumford, Oxford Coun- 
ty, Maine December 26, 1831. 
Her father and mother joined 
the Mormon Church when she 
was quite young and moved to 
Kirtland, Ohio, where her fath- 
er worked on the Kirtland tem- 
ple. In 1836, they moved to Far 
West, and in 1838, they settled 




JOHN STEWART. 
LYDIA M. STEWART. 

in Clayton, Illinois. When the 
old town of Commerce was pur- 
chased by the Church and the 
name changed to Nauvoo, the 



434 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



father secured a city lot and in 
1839 moved his family there. 

They lived in Nauvoo to see 
the temple finished and endured 
all the persecutions of that time. 

In 1846, they crossed the Mis- 
sissippi River and started for 
the west. They crossed the 
plains in the company of which 
A. O. Smoot was captain of KM 
and Samuel Rolfe was captain 
i i:i. 1 hey arrived in Salt Lake 
City, September 16, 1847, and on 
the 12th of February 1851, Lydia 
was married to John Stewart by 
lieber C. Kimball. 

In response to a call from 
President Young they left for 
California a week after their 
marriage and settled in San Ber- 
nardino. In 185S they were re- 
called by President Young, when 
they returned to Utah, locating 
in Heaver. In 1861 the family 
moved to Camp Floyd and in 
1868 they came to Lehi. where 
they have since resided. 

Mr. Stewart was a carpenter 
and builder and during the years 
of his residence in Lehi helped 
to build many of the residences 
and other structures. He died 
July 12, 1895. and was followed 
by his wife November 26, 1912. 

The family consisted ol 
children as follows: Arthur 
Merit, James, Harriet Elizabeth 
(.Mr-. Alonzo Rhodes), Juli- 
anne (Mr>. Edward Karren ). 
John. Jr., Henry T., Harry 
Jasper, Margaret, Benjamin, and 
Samuel. 



WILLIAM W. TAYLOR. 

William Whitehead Taylor 
was born in Tetlow Fold, Old- 
ham. Lancashire, England, De- 
cember 12, 1828, being the 
youngest of the seven children 
of Samuel and Sarah White- 
head Taylor. He had little ed- 
ucation, but was fond of books 
and -pent most of his evenings 
a' home reading. 

lie was converted to the 
Mormon faith by his brother, 
James, who presided over the 
Oldham Conference, and sailed 
for America September 5, 1849, 
on the ship "Berlin." During 
the voyage, cholera broke out 
and in twenty day- forty-five 
deaths occurred. lie landed at 
Yew Orleans and proceeded Up 
lie river to St. Louis, where 
he was met by his brothers. 
James and Thomas, who had 
left England the previous year. 
For two and one-half years he 
lived at Council Bluffs and suf- 
fered much at times for want 
of food. On the 6th of April, 
1852, Mr. Taylor started for 
Utah in Isaac Bullock's com- 
pany While on the plains, he 
became lost and was found by 
an Indian, who took him to the 
Indian encampment and treated 
him kindly. This hospitable 
red skin had his squaw pro- 
vide food for the white man'? 
supper, also skins for a bed. and 
the next morning conducted him 
to his own company, also re- 
turning two horses which had 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



43: 



strayed away. The company 
reached Salt Lake City, Septem- 
ber 25, 1852. 

For a year Mr. Taylor lived in 
Salt Lake City, helping to build 
the Fifteenth Ward school- 
house, and to excavate for the 
temple, whose corner stone he 
saw laid and dedicated. In Oc- 
tober, 1853, he moved to Lehi, 
where he has since led a busy 
and industrious life. For a 
time he followed farming, tak- 
ing the Fotheringham farm on 
shares, later becoming the own- 
er of this and several other val- 
uable pieces of real estate. In 
connection wiith his brother 
Thomas he founded the mer- 
cantile firm of T. and W. Taylor, 
which conducted the first store 
in Lehi. During the latter years 
o.f his life, he engaged in the 
dairying business. 

In 1853, he married Nannie 
Standring, who was born in 
Layton, Lancashire, England, 
July 24, 1826, being the daughter 
of James and Mary Halliwell 
Standring; and four years later 
he married Charlotte E. Leg- 
gett, a daughter of Conrad and 
Louisa Leggett, who was born 
October 9, 1837, in Ohio, and 
who was the mother of five chil- 
dren. In May, 1855, he was a 
member of the White Mountain 
expedition and from the spring 
of 1869 to the fall of 1870. was 
absent upon a mission to Eng- 
land, where he labored as travel- 
ing elder in the Manchester con- 
ference, and afterward presided 



successively over that and the 
Leeds conference. He returned 
home on account of ill health. 
He was secretary of the Lehi 
Dramatic Association, the pio- 
neer dramatic organization, and 
one of the leading players. He 
was at one time a member of 
the City Council and also con- 
nected with the local military 
organization. Although he pre- 
ferred a quiet life and was never 
much of a public man, vet he 
was one of the staunch and 
sturdy men of the community, 
ever ready to help in every 
worth cause. 

Charlotte E. L. Taylor died 
February 20, 1909. 

Nannie S. Tavlor died June 
15, 1913. 

Wm. W. Tavlor died Noverr 
ber 17. 1907. 

SAMUEL R. TAYLOR. 

Samuel Rogers Taylor, son of 
James Taylor and Ann Rogers, 
was born August 11. 1840 in 
Oldham. Lancashire, England. 
When eight years of age, he, 
with his parents, left England 
and came to this country The 
winter of 1848 he lived in New 
Orleans and in the spring of 
1849, he moved to St. Louis 
where he lived until 1851. At 
that time they moved to Paduca. 
Kentucky. After two years they 
returned to St. Louis. 

Early in the spring of 1853. 
he and his parents started for 
Utah, arriving in Salt Lake early 



436 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



in September, shortly afterwards 
he came to Lehi, where he has 
since made his home. 

During 1855 and 1856, he 
helped build the old Meeting 
House. 

On November 1. 1861, he mar- 
ried Martha Ann Fox. They 
were one of the first three coup- 
les from Lehi to be married in 
the Endowment House in Salt 
Lake City. 

In 1866, he was called to San- 
pete County, where he served 
about 60 days in the Black Hawk 
War. 

He has served in nearly every 
public office, having been elected 
first as captain of police in 1871. 
From 1879 to 1880 he was alder- 
man; 1881, 1882, 1885, 1886 was 
city councilor; 1889, 1890 he was 
Mayor; 1898, 1899, 1902, 1903 he 
was again a member of the 
Council. 

In addition to these he served 
two terms as Justice of the 
Peace; and one term as deputy 
assessor. He was a charter 
member of the Lehi Brass Band, 
also the old Enough Band, 
being a member of these organ- 
izations for about 20 years. 

He followed the blacksmith 
trade for many years until his 
health became impaired after 
which he engaged in farming. 
He died September 1. 1911. 

MARTHA A. F. TAYLOR. 

Martha Ann Fox, wife of 
Samuel Rogers Taylor, was born 



in Sheffield. Yorkshire, Eng- 
land, July 11, 1844, and was the 
daughter of Isaac W. and Mar- 
gret Ann Slinn Fox. She be- 
became a member of the Church 
of Jesus Christ of Latter-day 
Saints July 11, 1853, at the age 




of nine vears. During the years 
1857, 1858, and 1859, she lived 
with her parents in Scotland, 
where her father was president 
of the Scotch Mission. 

On May 1. 1860, with her par- 
ents, she emigrated to Utah, 
crossing the plains with ox 
teams. They arrived in Salt 
Lake City, October 6, 1860, and 
a week later they moved to Lehi, 
where they have since resided. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



437 



On November 1 1861, she 
married Samuel R. Taylor in the 
Endowment House, Salt Lake 
City. She has been an active 
worker in many lines. With her 
husband she labored in the first 
Old Folks Committee for many 
years. She has been prominent 
in political activities and took a 
leading part in many public fes- 
tivities. At present she is a mem- 
of the presidency of the Re- 
lief Society of the First Ward. 
. She has raised a large and re- 
spectable family. The names of 
her children are: Samuel, James, 
Ebenezer, William, Isaac, 

Thomas, Alfred. Margaret, Rob- 
ert, Charles Slinn, Birdie (Mrs. 
Thomas R. Cutler, Jr.) Ira, 
Leon, Ethel (Mrs. Douglas 
Scully), and Herbert. 

DANIEL S. THOMAS. 

Daniel Stilhvell Thomas was 
burn March 17, 1805, in Sumner 
County, Tenessee, and died June 
27, 1878. His wife, Martha Pane 
Jones Thomas, was born Febru- 
ary 20, 1808, in Sumner County, 
Tennessee, and died September 
5, 1885. They were living in Cal- 
away County. Kentucky, when 
Wilford Woodruff went on his 
first mission, holding the office 
of priest, and they were among 
his first converts. 

They emigrated to Missouri 
in 1837, lived one year, built a 
house, and raised crops, when 
the Saints were driven from Mis- 
souri. They then had five chil- 



dren. They were among the 
early settlers of Nauvoo and 
there built a house and lived, and 
chiefly worked on the temple, 
their oldest son, Morgan, learn- 
ing the stone cutting business 
there, commencing on the foun- 
dation and working on the Cor- 
inthian caps, which were on the 
tops of the pillars. They were 
among the last driven from Nau- 
voo in February. 1846. That sum- 
mer they lived in Iowa and then 
moved to Winter Quarters for 




MARTHA P. JONES THOMAS. 

the winter. When the Church 
left Winter Quarters they moved 
to Honey Creek, Iowa. 

In the summer of 1849, they 



438 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



crossed the plains to Utah, lived 
in Salt Lake City until 1856, then 
moved to Lehi where they lived 
until their death. 

Father Thomas served the 
public as school trustee, and 
built the first Lehi school house, 
the Thurman Building. He was 
president of the high priests 
quorum. He was a great worker 
and took a full share in fenc- 
ing the first fields and making 
the first water sections. 

Mother Thomas was counselor 
to Sister Coleman Evans, first 
president of the Relief Society, 
and an active worker in that 
body. She was a great weaver 
and clothed her family well in 
their home-made cloth. 

The children of Daniel Still- 
well Thomas and Martha Pane 
Thomas are: 

Morgan Milican Thomas, 

Matilda Ann Thomas; married 
Israel Evans. 

Malinda Stillwell Thomas; 
married Alexander Loveridge. 

Isaac Thomas, 

Emma Smith Thomas; mar- 
ried John Woodhouse. 

Joseph Alma Thomas: mar- 
ried Mary Ellen Lawrence. 

Daniel White Thomas; mar- 
ried Mary Asliton. 

Martha Jane Thomas: mar- 
ried Newal Brown. 

Sarah Phylinda Thomas; mar- 
ried Arthur Stewart. 

John Jones Thomas: married 
Myra Clark. 

John Woodhouse. 



GEORGE W. THURMAN. 

George William Thurman, son 
of William Thomas Thurman 
and Mary Margaret Brown 
Thurman, was born August 11, 
1843, in Larue County, Ken- 
tucky. His father died when he 
was eight years of age. He was 
the oldest of four children, three 
boys and one girl. He spent 
his boyhood in Kentucky, work- 
ing on the farm during the sum- 
mer and attending -the public 
schools during the winter. 

In the spring of 1860, during 
the agitation that finally culmin- 
ated in the Civil War, he was a 
member of the Kentucky Home 
Guard, organized for the pur- 
pose of protecting the citizens of 
the community. In 1862, when 
General Bragg, followed by Gen- 
eral Buell, made his famous raid 
through the state, he was called 
upon to carry a dispatch from 
Buell to Nelson at Louisville, a 
distance of seventy miles. Al- 
though about twenty miles of 
the distance he was traveling 
with Bragg's soldiers, he was 
not apprehended. 

From 1863 to 1864, he attended 
the high school in Hardin Coun- 
ty. In March, 1864, he started 
in company with several young 
men overland for California. He 
reached Salt Lake City during 
the summer and remained there 
a short time working for Bishop 
Hunter. From there he went to 
Nevada and worked for Len 
Wines on the overland stage 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



439 



lines. Sometime in 1865, he was 
transferred to Fairfield in Cedar 
Valley, Utah. He became ac- 
quainted in Cedar Fort and ob- 
tained a position as teacher in 
the schools there. 

In 1866 he married Catherine 
Rodeback. That same year he 
went to San Pete as a soldier in 
the Black Hawk War. In 1868, 
and 1869, he taught school in 
Lehi. In the spring of 1869, he 
went to Kentucky and brought 
his mother and her family out 
to Utah. The same autumn he 
was again employed in school 
teaching in Cedar Fort. He re- 
turned to Lehi in the summer of 
1870. and taught school until De- 
cember 24, 1871. On that date 
he was shot by a ruffian while 
he was preparing a Christmas 
tree for his school and his death 
occurred the same day. 

LUKE TITCOMB. 

Luke Titcomb. a pioneer of 
1852, was a native of Donning- 
ton, Berkshire. England, born 
March 3. 1832. a son of William 
rind Mary Atkins Titcomb. 

The father and mother joined 
the Mormon Church very soon 
after the introduction of the gos- 
1 el into England and with their 
family emigrated to America in 
1841. locating in Nauvoo, Illi- 
nois, passing through the per- 
secutions and drivings of those 
days in common with the rest of 
the Saints. They crossed the 
plains in 1849, in Ezra T. Ben- 



son's company, arriving in Salt 
Lake City on the 31st of Oc- 
tober. 

The next three years were 
spent in Cottonwood and in 
1852 the family moved to Lehi, 
where Luke has since resided. 
His parents soon moved back 
to Salt Lake City. The father 
died soon after, but the mother 
lived to a ripe old age. On Jan- 
uary 26. 1854, Luke married 
Lydia Jane Tanner, a capable 
woman and a member of a well 
known and very numerous 
family in Utah. They have 
raised a very large family and 
have passed through all the try- 
ing scenes of early days in Lehi. 

Mr. Titcomb was one of the 
builders of the fort wall in 1854; 
worked on the Meeting House in 
1855: and was a member of the 
company of infantry sent to the 
scene of action in the Echo 
Canyon War in 1857. being the 
cook for the company of ten of 
which William Clark was cap- 
tain. 

To support his family, he has 
been a tiller of the soil and for 
a number of years he was jani- 
tor of the old Meeting House. 
His wife was a kind, generous, 
woman, ever ready to help those 
in distress. She was the moth- 
er of fourteen children. She 
died October 31. 1897: Luke Tit- 
comb died November 24, 1913. 

The following children grew 
up to maturity: 

Mary Jane, CMrs. Thomas 
Gray): Joseph L., Rebecca (Mrs. 



440 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Tin una- Jones); Mahonri, Ruth 
(.Mrs. John Jackson); Naomi S. 
(Mrs. Thomas Powers); Eunice, 
(Mrs. Lott Russon, Jr.): Helen 
E. (Mrs. Heber C. Comer); 
Preston; Florence. 

THOMAS F. TRANE. 

"I was born February 4, 1846, 
in Lemvig, Jutland, Denmark, 
my father's name being Andreas 
Peter Trane and my mother's 
was Margrethe Nielson. When 
six years of age, I was nearly 
drowned in a pond, but managed 
to crawl out. I lived with my 
grandmother until I was eight 
years of age, when I went to 
my father in Copenhagen, go- 
ing all the way from Aalberg in 
the steamer alone. I was bap- 
tized March 17. 1858, by Elder 
Lars Matthiasen, and confirmed 
the following day by Niels Wil- 
hclmsen. 

"When fourteen years of age, 
T started for Utah with Carl 
Wideberg. I left Copenhagen 
May 2, 1860; crossed the At- 
lantic in the sailing vessel "Wil- 
liam Tapscott:" drove an ox 
team across the plains in Cap- 
tain Nephi Johnson's company: 
and arrived in Salt Lake City 
October 5, 1860. coming to Lehi 
October 12. 1860. where I re- 
sided for fifty two years. 

'"The first two summers in 
Lehi. T herded sheep and went 
to school about four weeks each 
winter. Tn the summer of 1862, 
which is known as the high wa- 



ter year, I was washing sheep 
in Utah Lake near Pelican Point 
when Hyrum, the son of Bishop 
Evans, was drowned. I was 
sent to Lehi with the news, and 
I ran all the way from the Point 
to Jordan Ferry, two miles north 
of the bridge, which was under 
water, procured a horse at Ter- 
rey's and met the Bishop be- 
tween American Fork and Pleas- 
ant Grove. We immediately re- 
tured, but the body of Hyrum 
Evans was never found. 

"In the summer of 1864, I 
hauled freight out west on Brig- 
ham Young's contract with Ben 
Eldredge and the Wells Fargo 
Stage Line. April 28, 1866, I 
went back after the church im- 
migration, driving four yoke of 
oxen to the Missouri river and 
back to Utah, reaching Salt 
Lake City, September 17, 1866. 
I brought a family from Cal- 
cutta in my wagon, the woman 
being a Hindoo of high caste. 
She was a lovely woman, but 
could hardly walk, as her feet 
had been pinched after the man- 
ner of the Chinese. She could 
not stand the climate and died 
three weeks after reaching Utah. 

"In the summer of 1857, I was 
called to Sanpete to protect the 
settlers from the Indians who 
were on the warpath under 
Chief Black Hawk. I served 
about a month on this expedi- 
tion. After forty years, I re- 
ceived a medal for services ren- 
dered. On the 8th of Decem- 
ber. 1867, I started for San 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



441 



Pedro, California, with a ten 
horse team and two wagons 
after freight which was brought 
down the coast in small schoon- 
ers. On the way down we left 
grain enough in a lone house 
at Las Vegas to last us back 
to the settlements. We arrived 
at San Bernardino January 17, 
1868, and after crossing the 
deserts of Arizona and Nevada, 
I thought the San Bernardino 
valley was paradise itself. We 
went down to Los Angeles, a 
city at that time of 2500 inhab- 
itants, half of whom were Mex- 
icans and Spaniarads. There 
were only tw or three ranches 
between San Bernardino and 
Los Angeles and one ranch 
from the latter place to San 
Pedro. We left San Pedro 
March 12, and arrived in Lehi 
May 16, 1868. 

"I started right off for Fort 
Laramie and worked on the rail- 
road which was coming west as 
fast as men and money could 
push it. I stayed until Christ- 
mas, working as far west as 
Echo and Weber canyons. I 
came home January 25, and was 
married to Eliza Howes in 
March, 1869. I went back to 
work on the railroad at Prom- 
ontory and was there when the 
golden spike was driven by 
Senator Stanford of California. 
The camp at the Promontory 
was composed of the roughest 
men I have ever seen. 

"I went up Bingham Canyon 
and worked for awhile at one 



of the first placer mines in the 
canyon. In 1871, I tended stage 
stock at the Half Way house for 
Gilmore and Salsbury, and in 
July of that year commenced to 




THOMAS F. TRANE. 

work for Bishop Evans as a 
clerk in the Lehi Union Ex- 
change, continuing until Decern 
ber 15, 1879, when I started out 
as traveling salesman and intro- 
duced the Studebaker wagons. 
My territory covered Utah, parts 
of Idaho, Arizona, and Wyom- 
ing. In 1882, with Augustus 
Powell I started a small mercan- 
tile business near the Denver & 
Rio Grande depot in Lehi, which 
I sold in 1894, on account of the 
Teasdale failure in Salt Lake 



442 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



City. I next clerked for the 
People's Co-operative Institu- 
tion for a few years and on April 
7, 1896, was ordained a seventy 
and sent on a mission to Cali- 
fornia by way of Portland, Ore- 
gon. I labored in San Francisco, 
'Sacramento, Los Angeles, and 
San Diego, returning home in 
September, 1897. During the last 
few years, I have been traveling 
salesman for the knitting fac- 
tory in Lehi and in 1912 moved 
to American Fork." 

Mr. Trane has led a very ac- 
tice life; has been a member of 
the City Council several times; 
a member of the School Board; 
and one of the first officers of 
the Young Men's Mutual Associ- 
ation in 1875. He has traveled 
much in the west; was present at 
the World's Fair at Chicago and 
St. Louis; and altogether has 
been a progressive, industrious, 
and useful citizen. 

He has four daughters living: 
Jean C. (Mrs. William Chip- 
man), Haydee (Mrs. William 
Thornton). Lulu M. (Mrs. Dr. 
II. E. Robinson), and Lexia M.. 
(Mrs. Lawrence Briggs.) 



and a little sister of whom the 
last named was buried on the 
plains. She came in the sail- 
ing vessel "Ellen Maria," landed 
in New Orleans and proceeded 
up the river to Keokuk. 

She crossed the plains with 
an ox team in Claudius Spen- 
cer's company, arriving in Salt 
Lake City in October, 1853, be- 



^a 



kit 

% 




ELIZA M. TRANE. 

Eliza Maria Howe- Trane, 
daughter of Henry and Eliza 
Howes, was born May 30, 1849, 
in Norwich, Norfolk, England. 
She emigrated to Utah, leaving 
England in January, 1853, with 
her father, mother, grandmother 



ELIZA M. TRANE. 

ing nine months on the way. She 
lived in Salt Lake City for one 
year, moved to Lehi where her 
father, who was a bricklayer, 
helped to build the Meeting 
House and took an active part 
in the building up of Lehi. Be- 
ing a man of means, he also 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



443 



assisted in bringing others to 
Utah. 

Sister Trane had a brother 
and sister born under very try- 
ing circumstances; it was dur- 
ing the grasshopper war. when 
money could not buy a comfort 
on earth, as it was not here. 

She attended the school taught 
by Mrs. Bassett and later taught 
by Charles D. Evans. As wo- 
men and girls in those days 
worked in the fields, she took 
her part, hauling and stacking 
hay and grain, digging potatoes 
and hauling sage brush for tuel. 
Furthermore, she worked many 
days killing grasshoppers; spun 
and colored yarn for her own 
dresses and performed other 
work of this kind. 

She is the mother of 8 chil- 
dren, 2 boys and 6 girls and at 
the present writing is the 
grandmother of 13 grand- 
children. She was a teacher in 
the Relief Society for 12 years 
before moving to American 
F<.rk. 



William Witched, at Hanover 
church. She died at Lehi Jan- 
uary 2'?, 1893. 

In 1858, he emigrated to Utah, 
his wife following three years 
later. In 1859, he located in 




MICH AFX VAUGHN. 



MICHAEL VAUGHAN. 

Michael Vaughan, a son of 
William Vaughan. was born Oc- 
tober 11, 1823. in the parish 
of Dinister, Monmouthshire. 
Wales, and was a coal miner by 
occupation. He was baptized a 
member of the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints in 
Blana. June 11. 1850, and on 
April 16. 1854. was married to 
Jane Witchell. a daughter of 



Lehi and for several years was 
employed by Bishop Evans, but 
it was not long before he se- 
cured some land and com- 
menced farming for himself. 
His principal occupation during 
the remainder of his life was 
tilling the soil. For eighteen 
years he was a dealer in coal, 
his stand being located near the 
D. & R. G. depot and for a num- 
ber of years he was agent for 
farm machinery. 



444 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Mr. Vaughan was an earnest 
church worker and during his 

er.tire sojourn in Lehi was a 
faithful and efficient member of 
tlie clmir and was seldom absent 
from his place among the 
bassos. For main- years he was 
a devoted Sunday School work- 
er and block teacher; for a num- 
ber of years presided over the 
priests quorum and in this 
position won the love and re- 
spect of the young men of the 
organization. 




JANE M. VAUGHN. 

On May 6, 1863, he married 
Jane Mariah Brain, a daughter 
of Thomas and Mariah Brain 
who was born May 1, 1841, in 
I'.ambury. Oxfordshire, England. 



Her parents being members of 
the Mormon Church, she was 
baptized when eight years of 
age and emigrated to Utah in 
1862, crossing the plains in 
Homer Duncan's company, com- 
ing direct to Lehi where she 
had a sister living. To this un- 
ion were born nine children, 
three of whom died in infancy; 
the others are: Mariah Brain 
(Mrs. Mark Austin), Michael 
Thomas, (deceased), William 
Henry, Emily Jane (deceased), 
George Isaac, and Eleazer (de- 
ceased.) Mr. Vaughan died 
February 21, 1893. 

GEORGE WEBB. 

The subject of this sketch, 
George Webb, was born at Stud- 
ham, Bedfordshire, England, 
May 6. 1839. He is the third son 
of William Webb and Emma 
Stokes Webb. His early life was 
spent on a farm and working in 
a Hour mill. In the year 1856, 
he joined the Mormon Church. 
In March, 1861, he was called 
on a mission by Elias Black- 
burn and assigned to labor in 
the Norwich conference, where 
he worked for 3 years and 3 
months. In 1864, he married Ju- 
lia Cushing. 

On June 3, with his father's 
family, he left England for Utah, 
sailing on the ship "Hudson." 
They were six weeks on the 
sea. On the plains his wife died. 
They arrived in Salt Lake City 
November 2, of the same year. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



445 



After staying there a few days 
thej came to Lelii where he has 
resided ever since. 

On May 30, 1865, he married 
Mary Ann Ward. While living 
m Lehi he has followed sev- 
eral occupations; running flour 
mills; working in American 
Fork canyon; farming: running 
the Lehi Banner, of which he 
was one of the promoters and 
finally editor and owner. 

He has held the following of- 
fices: attorney for Lehi City: 
alderman; precinct justice; may- 
or; member of the legislature; 
delegate to two constitutional 
conventions; school trustee for 
19 years; Utah County com- 
missioner; president Lehi Irri- 
gation Company 10 years; and 
director Utah Banking Com- 
pany. At the present time, he is 
vice president of the People's 
Co-operative Institution and jus- 
tice for Lehi City. He has also 
held the following positions in 
the Mormon Church: Assistant 
Superintendent of Sunday 
School; Assistant Superintendnt 
Utah Stake Sunday school; one 
of the presidents of the 127th 
quorum of Seventy. His life 
has been a busy one and he Ins 
always stood for the buildm;: 
up of Lehi. 

MARY AXX W. WEBB. 

Mary Ann Ward Webb, 
daughter of Robert and Isabella 
Watford Ward, was born at 
Walpole, St. Peter's, Norfolk. 



England, October 24, 1S40, and 
j i >ined the Mormon Church in 
November, 1851. Her early life 
was spent on the farm with her 
parents. When she was twenty- 
one, she went bo London, where 
she lived for three years. On 
June 3. 1864. she and" her sister 
"left London for Utah, sailing on 
the ship, "Hudson," which land- 
ed in New York on July 20. 
From there they sailed up the 
Hudson River to Albany, and 




MARY AXX W. WEBB. 

came thence by rail to the Mis- 
souri River. They left the river 
on August 12. crossing the plains 
in Captain Snow's company, 
walking much of the way. They 
arrived in Salt Lake City on No- 



446 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



vember 3. She lived there until 
May 30, 1865, when she married 
George Webb and moved to 
Lehi, where she has lived ever 
since. 

She is the mother of nine chil- 
dren, seven of whom are living. 
She has been a very active 
worker in religious and secular 
affairs and during a busy life has 
filled the following positions: 
member of Lehi choir for twen- 
ty years, president of Primary, 
Sunday School teacher for 
thirty years, counselor in Pri- 
mary Association, Relief Society 
teacher, and first president of 
Lehi branch of the Woman's 
Suffrage Assc .nation. At present 
she is stake board missionary in 
the Relief Society. Besides her 
public work she has done a great 
deal of work among the sick in 
her neighborhood, always being 
ready to help in time of need. 

The names of her children 
are: Walter L., Bernard G., Ar- 
thur F., Laura (Mrs..F. Salzner), 
Angie (Mrs. C. L. Warnick), 
Maud (Mrs. Jos. Glover), and 
Dulcie (Mrs. J. L. Francom). 



JOHN STOKES WEBB. 

John Stokes Webb, who was 
the son of William Webb, and 
Emma Stokes, was born in 
Whipsnade, Bedford. England, 
on the 20th day of November, 
1831. He was engaged as a 
farm laborer until the time 
of leaving 1m native land. His 



father's family did not belong 
to any denomination and when 
in 1847, elders of the Church 
came to Studham, his mother 
and sister became converted to 
the gospel. His father was 




JOHN S. WEBB. 

very bitter toward the elders and 
made many threats against 
them, but was finally persuaded 
to go and hear them, and was 
in due time converted and bap- 
tized. John was baptized on the 
17th day of April, 1848, and soon 
after was ordained and sent out 
as a traveling elder. 

He was married to Hannah 
Grace on February 18, 1854, in 
Studham and. in company witli 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



447 



liis wife, left his home on March 
10, 1854, for Liverpool, where 
they were detained for nearly a 
month and then set sail on the 
steamship "Marshfield" in com- 
pany with 366 other Saints under 
the direction of William Taylor, 
on April 8, 1854. After a long 
and tiresome journey they ar- 
rived in Salt Lake City in the 
fall of 1854 He was engaged to 
work for President Brigham 
Young for one vear, coming to 
Lelii in the fall" of 1855. His 
family lived for the following 
rive years in a dug-out on the 
west side of what is now Block 
18. Plat "A," Lehi City Survey 
of building lots, where his three 
oldest children were born. Food 
and clothing being very scarce, 
they endured many hardships in 
the early history of Lehi. He 
followed the occupation of farm- 
ing and was quite successful in 
this line. He was also a director 
and general water master in the 
Lehi Irrigation Company. 

Mr. Webb was a block teacher 
and a Sunday School worker for 
a great many years and held the 
office of a seventy at the time 
of his death. 

John Stokes Webb was a 
strong Democrat, and was a 
great student of history, being 
familiar with the names of all the 
Presidents and leading Senators 
of the United States. He was the 
father of nine children, a quiet, 
unassuming man. and respected 
by all. He died Tanuarv 27. 
1899. 



HANNAH GRACE WEBB. 

Hannah Grace Webb, who 
was the daughter of John Grace 
and Sarah Mathews, was born 
in Wipsnade, Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land on the 9th day of May 
1831. She, with other mem- 
bers of her father's family, were 
among the first to receive the 
gospel in Bedfordshire and she 
was baptized on April 19, 1846, 
in Whipsnade, England. She 
learned the art of braiding in 
her girlhood and followed this 
occupation until her marriage. 




H A N N A H GR ACE W EBB. 

selling the braid to the great 
straw hat factories at Luton, 
England. She was married to 



448 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



John S. Webb February 18, 1854, 
in Studham, England, and be- 
came the mother of nine chil- 
dren; five sons and four daugh- 
ters, their names being: Sarah 
Emma Webb. ( who became the 
wife of Wm. F. Gurney, she be- 
ing now deceased^, John Wil- 
liam Webb; George Grace 
Webb, Hannah Elizabeth Webb, 
(now Mrs. John Bone), Harriet 
Jane Webb, (now Mrs. Samuel 
A. Smith), Rachel Ann Webb, 
(now Mrs. Edward Southwick), 
all residing at Lehi, Utah; and 
Oren James, Edwin David; and 
W'ilsie Stokes, all of whom died 
in Lehi before marriage. * 



She passed through many 
trying ordeals in the early his- 
tory of Lehi. but was always 
cheerful and faithful to every 
trust and passed away Sunday, 
April 24, 1904, at the age of 72 
years, 11 months, and 14 days. 

WILLIAM AND HARRIET 
WEBB. 

William Webb was- born Au- 
gust 6, 1843, in the town of Stud- 
ham, England. His father's 
name was William Webb and 
that of his mother Emma Stokes 
Webb. Harriet Webb, wife of 
William Webb, was born June 




WILLIAM AND HARRIET WEBB. 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



449 



29, 1841, in Bedfordshire, Eng- 
land. Her father's name was 
John Grace and her mother's 
name Sarah Mathews Grace. 

William and Harriet were 
married May 9, 1864, and left 
London June 2 of the same year, 
forsaking relatives, friends, and 
a good home to come to Utah 
for the sake of their religion. 
They crossed the ocean in one 
of the old time sailing vessels, 
the "Hudson," which was six 
weeks making the trip. They 
came across the plains with ox 
teams in 1864, William Webb 
driving one of the teams all the 
way. The wagons were loaded 
so heavily with freight that his 
good wife was compelled to 
walk nearly the whole distance. 
Their arrival in Lehi dated No- 
vember 4, 1864, and they have 
resided here ever since. 

A family of twelve children 
was born to this couple, ten boys 
and two girls. They have always 
been faithful members of the 
Mormon Church. 

Harriet Webb died November 
5, 1911. 

ROBERT JOHN WHIPPLE. 

Robert John Whipple was 
born in Salt Lake City Novem- 
ber 13, 1869, and is a descendant 
of old New England stock. His 
father. Nelson Wheeler Whipple, 
was born July 11, 1818, in San- 
ford, Broom County, New York, 
and belongs to the same family 
as William Whipple, one of the 



signers of the Declaration of In- 
dependence. He came to Utah 
in 1851. His mother, Susan Gay 
Whipple, was born June 13, 1841, 
in Dekalb, Kemper County, 
Mississippi, and came to Utah 
in 1850. She died September 29, 
1911. 

Until he was 16 years of age, 
Robert John attended school in 
the Nineteenth Ward Meeting- 
house during the winter and in 
the summer worked with his 
father in Big Cottonwood Can- 




R. JOHN WHIPPLE. 

yon running a saw mill. His 
father died July 5, 1887, when for 
a number of years he worked at 
the carpenter trade and contract 
ing. In 1892 he came to Lehi to 



450 



HISTORY OF LEHJ. 



work on the sugar factory, and 
v as married to Susie Winn June 
24, 1896. He labored as block 
teacher in the ward and as as- 
sistant to the bishop in the priest 
quorum from 1898 to 1903, as 
second assistant in the Sunday 
school in 1902, as second coun- 
selor in the presidency of the 
Young Men's Mutual Improve- 
ment Association from 1900 to 
1903, and as president of the Y. 
M. M. I. A. in 1903. When the- 
Lehi Ward was divided, he was 
selected as First Counselor to 
Andrew Fjeld in the Bishopric 
of the Lehi First Ward, which 
position he still holds. In 1910 
and 1911 he served as a member 
of the City Council. 

Mr. Whipple is one of Lehi's 
progressive citizens, deeply in- 
terested in the growth and wel- 
fare of the community. 

SUSIE WINN WHIPPLE. 

Susie Winn Whipple, daughter 
of ^William Henry Winn and 
Martha Evans Winn, was born 
in Lehi February 10, 1874. She 
was baptized into the Church of 
Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints 
at the age of 8 years. During 
girlhood she took an active part 
in the social, religious, and polit- 
ical affairs of the town. She was 
graduated from the district 
school with the first class re- 
ceiving diplomas of graduation 
in 1892. and then took a special 
Sunday School and Mutual 
course in the P.. Y. Academy. 



She served as secretary in the 
Y. L. M. I. A. for two years and 
was for a number of years secre- 
tary of the Democratic party. 
She also acted as secretary of 
the Woman's Suffrage Associa- 
tion, with M. M. Gaddie as its 




SUSIE W. WHIPPLE. 

president. She assisted in pass- 
ing a petition to the State Leg- 
islature asking for woman's 
franchise, which was granted. 
She was a delegate to the first 
state convention of the Demo- 
cratic party in 1896, held in Salt 
Lake City. She was married. 
June 24, 1896, to R. J. Whipple. 
She is the mother of six chil- 
dren, as follows: Ora, Winnie 
Leath, Essie June, Byron John, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



451 



Mildred, and Miriam, the latter 
two being twins. 

IRA J. WILLES. 

Ira Jones Willes, son of 
Eleazar and Achsah Jones 
Willes, was born January 21, 
1812. in New York. Ira joined 
the Church of Jesus Christ of 
Latter-day Saints in its early 
history. He volunteered and 
was enlisted as a private in 
Company B of the Mormon Bat- 
talion on July 13, 1846, and was 
successful in making the long, 
perilous journey to California. 
After his arrival from the march 
to California he was married at 
Salt Lake City, May 13, 1849, to 
Malissa Lott Smith, a young 
widow of the Prophet Joseph 
Smith. They moved to Lehi, 
purchased a farm, and became 
actively engaged in farming. 
This he made his principal busi- 
ness and became an incessant 
worker as a pioneer. 

He was killed while crossing 
Dry Creek, by a load of wood 
overturning and burying him in 
the ice. together with his 9-year- 
old son, Cornelius. 

MALISSA LOTT SMITH 
WILLES. 

Malissa Lott Smith Willes, 
daughter of Cornelius P. 'and 
Permelia Darrow Lott, was born 
January 9, 1824, in Luzerne 
County, Pennsylvania. Her 
parents were born in New York 



and were staunch members of 
the Church of Jesus Christ oi 
Latter-day Saints. Malissa was 
baptized into the Church at the 
age of 14 years. 

She was married to the 
Prophet Joseph Smith Septem- 
ber 20, 1843, by Hyrum Smith, 
at Nauvoo. At this time she 
was 19 years and 9 months of 
age. She lived with the Prophet 
until his death, which occurred 
nine months after their mar- 
riage. 




MALISSA L. S. WILLES. 

Malissa crossed the plains 
with her parents one year fol- 
lowing the arrival of the pio- 
neers in Utah. She was mar- 
ried to Tra Jones Willes May 



452 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



13, 1849, after his return from 
the Mormon Battalion. She was 
the mother of seven children, as 
follows: Ira Pratt (deceased,), 
Cornelius John (deceased), Ach- 
sah Permelia (deceased), Polly 
Malissa (Mrs. Wm. W. Clark), 
Lyman Benjamin, Stephen 
Eleazar, and Sarah Amanela 
(.Mrs. Albert K. Mulliner). 
She died July 13, 1898. 

W. S. S. WILLES. 

William Sidney S. Willes, son 
of Eleazar and Achsah Jones 
Willes, the sixth child of a fam- 
ily of seven children, five sons 
and two daughters, was born in 
Jefferson County, New York, 
March 18, 1819. His ancestors 
in the direct line emigrated from 
England to New England prior 
to the Revolutionary War. He 
and his brother, Ira, were the 
cnly ones of his father's family 
who joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints. 

They were with the Mormons 
when the call was made upon 
the Church for a battalion of 
men to go and fight in the war 
with Mexico. They volunteered 
and were mustered as privates 
ir Company B of the Mormon 
Battalion and made the long and 
perilous journey overland to 
California. 

Arriving in California, Sidney, 
as he was commonly called, se- 
cured work at Sutter's Mill at 
the time that gold was first 
found there. Later, he dug gold 



at the Mormon Island with the 
Mormon boys. A great deal has 
been said among his friends to 
the effect that he was actually 
the first discoverer of gold, in- 
stead of James W. Marshal. The 
facts as related by him to his 
wife, and by her to the writer of 
this sketch, are as follows: 

He found some particles of 
yellow metal and suspected their 
true character, but decided to 
say nothing until he could verify 
his supicions, thinking he would 
put them to the test after his 
day's work was ended. In the 
meantime Marshal had also 
found some of the same metal 
and confided his belief that it 
was gold to Henry W. Bigler 
and others, and thus the great 
discovery was made known to 
the world. Being urged, at dif- 
ferent times, by his friends to 
press his claim to the honor of 
being the first discoverer of gold 
ir California, he invariably an- 
swered that he did not care for 
the honor. 

He was married April 23, 1852. 
to Alzina L. Lott, daughter of 
Cornelius P. and Permelia Dar- 
row Lott, in Lehi, Brigham 
Young performing the cere- 
mony. They established their 
home in Lehi, where were born 
to them nine children, two sons 
and seven daughters. 

Their house was the first one 
in Lehi with a board floor. With 
the assistance of a man whom 
he hired, he sawed the lumber 
with a pit saw, first taking off a 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



453 



slab which he used for the roof, 
next, a board for the floor, the 
balance of the log was used in 
the construction of the walls 
with the sawed side inside. 

March 10, 1855, he was com- 
missioned, under the hand of 
Governor Brigham Young, cap- 
tain of Company A, Lehi Post, 
of Utah Military district of the 
Nauvoo Legion and of Utah 
Militia, having been elected to 
this office May 11, 1854. 

On the organization of the 
68th quorum of seventy, Novem- 
ber 28, 1862, he was appointed 
one of its presidents. April 13, 
1863, he was called upon a mis- 
sion to England and assigned to 
labor in the Norwich district ; he 
was absent nearly three years. 

December 21, 1866, he was 
elected Major of the Second 
Regiment. First Brigade, Second 
Division, Nauvoo Legion, Utah 
Militia. This commission as 
such was issued by Governor 
Durkee March 27, 1868. 

In the fall of 1866 he was sent 
out to assist the immigrants and 
was captain of a train of ox 
teams which arrived in Salt 
Lake City November 29 of that 
year. 

He participated in the various 
Indian wars of the Territory ex- 
cept the Black Hawk War, be- 
ing absent in England during 
the greater part of this war. He 
took part in the Echo Canyon 
War, 1857, and was captain of a 
company which left Lehi to go 
to the relief of settlers at Sal- 



mon River. He brought the first 
bees to Lehi, consisting of three 
hives, one for himself and one 
each for two other men. He was 
several times elected to the City 
Council of Lehi. Although his 
opportunities for an education 
were meagre he was an ardent 
supporter of education. 

Sidney Willes was a man well 
adapted to pioneer a new coun- 
try, because he was able to turn 
his hand to almost any line of 
work, being an excellent gun- 
smith, carpenter, machinist, etc. 
In fact, he was what is gener- 
ally called a natural born genius. 

He surveyed the Spring Creek 
Ditch from the old mill pond to 
the lower held and, not having a 
spirit level he made one out of 
a piece of wood with a groove 
cut in the top which he filled 
with water. This incident shows 
his aptitude in contriving things 
to meet an emergency. He- 
made jewelry for his daughters 
from the gold which he brought 
from California. He could re- 
pair any kind of machine from 
a clock to a steam engine. He 
fulfilled the admonition "What- 
soever thy hand findeth to do, do 
it well." 

He was noted for his kindness 
of heart, cheerfulness, generos- 
ity, bravery and coolness in 
times of great danger. These 
qualities won for him the respect 
and love of all who knew him. 
He was of a modest, retiring dis- 
position, never caring for promi- 
nence or position among men; 



454 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



yet his strict integrity, mature 
wisdom, and large experience 
placed him in the front ranks 
among his associates. 

In the winter of 1870 and 1871, 
while working as sawyer at a 
mill in American Fork Canyon, 
he was caught in the saw, which 
resulted in injuries from which 
he died February 3, 1871, cutting 
short a useful career in the fifty- 
second year of his age. 

John S. Willes. 

ALZINA LUCINDA WILLES. 

Alzina Lucinda Willes, the 
wife of Wm. S. S. Willes, was 
born in Tunckhannock, Luzerne 
County, Pennsylvania, March 4, 
1834. She was the daughter of 
Cornelius P. and Permelia Dar- 
row Lott. 

Her father's family joined the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints in 1838, moving 
first to Ohio and thence. to Nau- 
voo, Illinois, where as a girl 
Sister Willes associated almost 
daily with the Prophet Joseph 
Smith. On account of her lively 
disposition and her ability to 
catch the Prophet's horse when 
no one else could do so, she be- 
came a special favorite of the 
Smith family. 

She passed through the per- 
secutions of Nauvoo and in 1848 
crossed the plains, driving a 
team composed of two cows and 
two oxen the entire distance of 
1,500 miles, arriving in Salt 
Lake Valley September 24, 1848. 



For two years after arriving 
in Utah the family made their 
home in Salt Lake City, where 
her father died on the present 
site of the Kenyon Hotel. 

In 1851 she, with her mother 




ALZIXA L. WILLES. 

and family, moved to Lehi and 
located on the shore of Utah 
Lake, where on April 23, 1852, 
she was married to William Sid- 
ney Willes by President Brig- 
ham Young, who was at that 
time passing through Lehi on a 
tour of the territory south. 

When in 1852 the scattered 
settlers surrounding Lehi were 
called to move together for pro- 
tection against the Indians, 
Brother and Sister Willes 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



455 



moved into the town, where she 
has since resided 

In 1871 death deprived her of 
her husband, leaving her with 
the responsibility of a large 
family of young children. Over 
this family she exercised the in- 
fluence of a loving mother and 
bravely assumed the arduous 
duties of a father as well. 

She was the mother of nine 
children, two boys and seven 
girls. Two of the girls died in 
infancy, the other children are 
as follows: Mary Jane (Mrs. 
Robert Gilchrist), William Sid- 
ney, John Smith, Celestia (Mrs. 
George P. Schow), Achsah Per- 
melia (Mrs. Janus Schow), Abi- 
gail (deceased), Florence (Mrs. 
George N. Child, deceased). 

Sister Willes possessed a 
warm heart and her life was 
full of service. • She died August 
19, 1910. 

JOHN WILLIAM WING. 

The Wing family landed in 
Boston in June, 1632, being de- 
scendants of the Reverend John 
Wing, a noted divine of Eng- 
land. 

John William Wing, son of 
Matthias and Elizabeth Chino- 
weth Wing, was born May 25, 
1845, at Newbourgh, Pike Coun- 
ty, Illinois. In 1862. in company 
with an uncle, Dr. Joseph Smith 
Wing, and an elder brother, 
Samuel Joseph Wing, John 
Wing started westward for the 
gathering place of the Latter- 



day Saints, having joined the 
Church the same year. With 
Louis Bruntson's independent 
company Mr. Wing landed in 
Salt Lake City August 29, 1862, 
and moved the following Sep- 
tember to Lehi. 




JOHN WILLIAM WING. 

Mr. Wing's life in Utah has 
been an active one. The year 
following his arrival, he an- 
swered a call to join Peter 
Nebeker's company to go to 
Winter Quarters for Church im- 
migration. The following four 
years he made four trips to the 
East for goods, making in all 
eleven trips across the plains by 
team. He was also active in 
freighting in Utah and the 



456 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



neighboring states, making two 
trips to Austin, Nevada, and two 
trips to Montana. 

In the early activities of the 
first settlers Mr. Wing per- 
formed an active part. He knew 
what it was to make the roads; 
to build the bridges; to clear the 
sage; and to direct the mountain 




MARTHA GOATES WING. 

stream to the patches of grain 
growing upon the thirsty soil; to 
build and to occupy the log hut; 
to place himself in defense of his 
home and neighbors against the 
intruding white man or the sav- 
age Indian. Nor was his de- 
fense confined to self or neigh- 
bors, as he served valiantly in 
the war against the fearless war- 



riors of the noted Black Hawk. 

Mr. Wing married Martha 
Goates October 11, 1868, moving 
directly to Heber City, becom- 
ing one of the prominent set- 
tlers for the following fifteen 
vears, at the close of which time 
he moved to Lehi, making his 
home here up to the present 
time. 

Martha Goates Wing was 
born in Cambridge, England, 
June 12, 1848, emigrating to Utah 
in 1852. She is the third child 
of William and Susan Larkin 
Goates. 

JOHN WILLIAM WING, JR. 

John William Wing, Jr., is the 
son of John W. Wing, Sen., and 
Martha Goates Wing. He was 
born in Lehi, Utah, July 28, 
1870. . For fifteen years he as- 
sisted upon his father's farm in 
Heber, Utah. During his early 
life he developed an unusual 
ability in handling responsibili- 
ties and places of trust. Those 
who knew him never hesitated in 
leaving their greatest risks with 
him and in some cases sent for 
his assistance. ' From the time 
he was 15 to the present he has 
made his home in Lehi, Utah. 

In the development of his 
community he has always taken 
a broad view. The needs of the 
people with him were always 
greater than self. 'This is illus- 
tiated during the eighteen years 
he conducted a livery and trans- 
fer business by bringing into the 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



457 



north end of Utah County a 
pure-bred Percheron stallion, 
one of the best of his type. The 
purchase and maintenance of the 




JOHN WILLIAM WING, JR. 

worthy enterprise were involved 
in considerable difficulty, but the 
greatest satisfaction came to Mr. 
Wing in the knowledge of bet- 
tering the conditions of his 
neighbors and friends. In the 
breeding of pure bred horses, 
Mr. Wing is one of the pio- 
neers. 

Mr. Wing's strong personality, 
his great desire to please and 
serve the needs of those whom 
he meets gave to him unusual 
success for two years as a trav- 
eling salesman and later four 



years (his present occupation) 
as special representative of the 
Beneficial Life Insurance Com- 
pany. His friends are numbered 
throughout Utah, Idaho, and 
Canada. 

Mr. Wing is a strong adherent 
of the Church of Jesus Christ 
of Latter-day Saints. During his 
boyhood he was a member of the 
various Church organizations 
acting for two years in the ca- 
pacity of president of the Y. M. 




MRS. j. w. WING, JR. 

M. I. Association. He was set 
apart January 31, 1905, for a mis- 
sion to England, returning Jan- 
uary 29, 1907. During this period 
of two years he labored in the 



458 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Liverpool Conference. For seven 
years he was a member of the 
presidency of the 68th quorum of 
seventies, and acted in this ca- 
pacity until he was called to the 
position of counselor to Bishop 
James H. Gardner of the Second 
Ward of Lehi, June 22, 1913. 

Mr. Wing married Rachel 
Evans September 7, 1898. To 
this marriage have been born 
one son and three daughters. 

Rachel Evans Wing is the 
daughter of Bishop David Evans 
and Margaret Christina Holm 
Evans. She was born in Lehi 
April 25, 1874. Seldom are peo- 
ple united in marriage when 
each perform so admirably the 
duties of their calling. 

WILLIAM H. WINN. 

William Henry Winn, son of 
John Winn and Christiana Finch 
Winn, was born in the State of 
Pennsylvania, Luzerne County, 
township of Greenfield, June 30, 
1833. He emigrated to Missouri 
in 1837, and was driven to Illi- 
nois in the Mormon expulsion of 
18-38. He was baptized into the 
Church of Jesus Christ of Lat- 
ter-day Saints in the year 1842 
at Nauvoo, Illinois. He emi- 
grated to Utah in 1855. He was 
married to Martha Evans, 
daughter of Bishop David Evans 
and Barbara Ann Ewell Evans, 
October 20. 1859. 

William H. Winn was an en- 
ergetic worker in both the busi- 
ness and the religious affairs of 



the town and did much to im- 
prove its general interests. He 
was mayor of Lehi City three 
terms and later represented 
Utah County in the Legislature. 
He accepted a call to labor as a 
missionary, leaving his home 
November 1, 1874, for the state 
of New York, where he filled an 
honorable mission. He accepted 
a second call to the mission field 
in October, 1879, laboring in the 




MARTHA EVANS WINN. 

state of Texas until he was re- 
leased on account of ill health. 
He served as captain in the 
Black Hawk Indian war. He 
served as counselor to Bishop 
David Evans eleven years, and 
later to Bishop Thomas R. Cut- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



459 



Ier for five years, which position 
he held at the time of his de- 
mise. 

He was taken suddenly with 
appendicitis and died at his home 
ia Lehi April 26, 1884, at the age 
of 51 years, 9 months, and 26 
days. 

As a citizen he was cautious, 
discreet and yet progressive. As 
n man he was honest and upright 
in his dealings, strictly temper- 
ate in his habits, and hrm in his 
convictions. 

JOHN WOODHOUSE. 

John Woodhouse, son of 
Charles and Ann Long Wood- 
house, was born July 21, 1830, at 
Wickle Street, four miles north 
of Doncaster, Yorkshire, Eng- 
land. Both his father and grand- 
father had been tailors by trade 
so John took up this work when 
he had left school at the age of 
thirteen, learning the fun- 
damental rules of reading, writ- 
ing and arithmetic. When he 
was eighteen he joined the 
Methodist Church, but forsook 
that denomination shortly after- 
wards to become a Latter-day 
Saint, his family soon follow- 
ing him. 

January 6, 1851, found the 
Woodhouse family in Liver- 
pool on their way to Utah. 
Landing at New Orleans after 
two months' voyage, they pro- 
ceeded at once to Saint Louis 
and after a year's stay there, 
continued on to Council Bluff's. 



By dint of much effort a wagon 
was secured in which not only 
the members of the family 
but several other passengers 
crossed the plains — altogether 
seventeen passengers to one 
wagon. September 10, 1852, 
saw the company safely in Salt 
Lake. 

Hearing of the contemplated 
erection of a sugar factory in 
Provo, and hoping thereby to 
obtain employment, John moved 
to that place, but was disap- 
pointed because the factory 
never materialized. The suc- 
ceeding months were spent in 
Spanish Fork, Nephi and fin- 
ally in Iron County. From here 
he made various trips to the sur- 
rounding country, including 
New Mexico and the White 
Mountains. Woodhouse's ser- 
vices were in demand at this 
time as surveyor for city lots 
and ditches. From Iron County 
he next moved to Beaver City. 
where he served as bishop's 
clerk. In 1862, he made a trip 
to the Missouri to assist the 
Church immigration. 

In March, 1864, Woodhouse 
came from Beaver to Lehi in 
company with Daniel S. Thom- 
as, whose daughter he had mar- 
ried. After a number of years 
he was called to go on a mis- 
sion to England, leaving home 
September 9, 1874. After two 
years in Great Britian he re- 
turned home, reaching Lehi. 
June 11, 1876. 

During his residence in Lehi. 



460 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



Mr. Woodhouse has filled the 
following public offices: alder- 
man, three terms; councilor, 
two terms; justice of the peace, 
one term; assessor for Lehi 
lily; deputy county assessor 
and collector, two terms; coun- 
ty justice of the peace, four 
terms. He has been associated 
with the Lehi Irrigation Com- 
pany since its organization, be- 
ing one of the original incor- 
porators, in fact. 

In addition to his public 
work, John Woodhouse has 
rendered invaluable assistance 
to his fellow-citizens in count- 
less other ways. His great 
versality has enabled him to act 
at different times as doctor, 
merchant, tailor, lawyer, en- 
gineer, and lecturer. Added to 
this, his remarkable memory has 
made it possible for him to col- 
lect and retain an immense fund 
of information which he has 
been willing always to use for 
the education and assistance of 
his fellows. Today at the ripe 
old age of seventy-nine, his abil- 
ity has not dimmed in the least 
and his countless friends wish 
yet to benefit by many more 
years of his friendship. 

JOHN WORLTON. 

John Worlton, son of James 
T. and Emma Martin Worlton, 
was born September 14, 1846, 
in Bath Sommershire, England. 
He came to Utah with his 
father's family when he was a 



small lad and lived the first year 
in Salt Lake City. From here 
the family moved to East We- 
ber, where they resided until 
the "Move," when they joined 
with other settlers in 1858, and 




JOHN WORLTON. 

moved to Spanish Fork. The 
next migration of the family 
was to Camp Floyd, where after 
a short stay, they moved in 1860, 
to Lehi, which became ther per- 
manent home. 

As a boy, John entered with 
spirit into the work and play 
which was characteristic of 
those pioneer days in Utah. He 
spent several years of his early 
life hauling produce from Utah 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



461 



into various places in Nevada 
and Montana. He made two 
trips by ox team from Utah to 
the Missouri river for the pur- 
pose of bringing European im- 
migrants to Utah. When the 
Black Hawk war and other In- 
dian troubles threatened the 
peace and safety of the peo- 
ple, he enlisted and served his 
country with honor. 

In 1869, he married Elizabeth 
Bone, by whom he had three 
children. His wife died in 1874, 
and on February 20, 1877, he 
married Anna Bronelson by 
whom he had eleven children. 

One of his prominent charac- 
teristics was his interest in ed- 
ucation. His own being neglec- 
ted, he resolved to make every 
effort to educate his children 
His labors in this direction met 
with unusual success. 

He was actively engaged in 
the religious activities of the 
community and worked unceas- 
ingly for the general good. 

Perhaps the work of his life 
which was most characteristic 
of the man was his persistent 
activity in the relief of suffer- 
ing. In case of contagious dis- 
eases, of deaths where help was 
to be had, he often risked his 
life in extending the helping 
hand. His life exemplified the 
admonition of the Savior, "What 
soever ye would that men should 
do to you, do ye even so to 
them." 

He died December 3, 1906. 



ANNA B. WORLTON. 

Anna Bronelson Worlton, wife 
of John Worlton, was born in 
Aarhuus, Denmark, March 16, 
1859, and spent the early part 
of her life in her native land. 
She joined the Church of Jesus 
Christ of Latter-day Saints, and 
with her mother came to Utah 
in 1876, and settled in Lehi. 




ANNA BRONELSON WORLTON. 

She was married to John 
Worlton, February 20, 1877, and 
became the mother of eleven 
children, nine of whom survive 
her. 

She died April 20, 1902. 

Her life was one of personal 
sacrifice for the good of others. 
She entered with enthusiasm in- 



462 



HISTORY OF LEHI. 



to the activities of various or- 
ganizations, both civic and re- 
ligious, for the general social 
v tlfare, and worked unceasingly 
to make of her home an ideal 
environment for her children. 

JOHN ZIMMERMAN. 

Another old pioneer and one 
who resided in Lehi fifty-six 
years, was John Zimmerman. 
He was born October 3, 1820, 
in Washington county, Mary- 
land. His parents were George 
Gottlob and Julian Hoke Zim- 
merman. 

His father was an accomp- 
lished man, being a school 
teacher. He taught English, 
French, and German as well as 
several other subjects. When 
lie was two years of age, his 
parents moved to Franklin 
county, Pennsylvania and in 
1M3. to the northern part of 
Illinois, and three years later 
to Garden Grove. 

John Zimmerman received a 
fair education, and, having an 
aptitude for farming, he fol- 
lowed that occupation at the 
expiration of his school days. 
His parents joined the Mormon 
Church and naturally went to 
Utah. John followed a year 
later. 

He was married September 21, 
1850. to Harriet Laura Lamb, 
and became the father of eleven 
children, namely: George Eras- 
tus, Harriet Abigail (Mrs. H. M. 
Royle), Louisa Emmeline, (Mrs. 



A. J. Evans), Margaret, (Mrs 
E A. Bushman), Polly Ann, 
(Mrs. David Losee), Elizabeth, 
(Mrs. Isaac Fox); Julia Ann, 
(Mrs. George F. Southwick), 
John, Charles, Wilson, Suel, and 
Robert. 

Mr. Zimmerman left Garden 
Grove, Iowa, June 1, 1852. He 
traveled along the Platte River 
under the command of Captain 
James C. Snow. His cousin and 
father-in-law died from cholera 
while journeying to Utah, other- 
wise the journey was unevent- 
ful. He reached Utah during 
the last week in September, 1852, 
and located in Lehi. Being one 
of the first settlers, he helped 
build the first fort. He became 
a member of the Church in 1856, 
after having associated with the 
Saints for ten years. 

He held many ecclesiastical, 
military, and public offices. In 
1857, he was ordained a member 
of the Forty-fourth quorum of 
seventy, and was later a mem- 
ber of the high priests' quorum. 
He was also ward teacher from 
1868 to 1894. From 1864 to 1868, 
he was adjustant of infantry in 
the Utah Militia, and from 1868, 
was adjuant of cavalry until it 
was disbanded. In public life 
he figured as an alderman, 1861- 
1862, and councilor for Lehi, 
1871-1872. He was constable at 
Garden Grove, Iowa, from 1842- 
1852. He was also one of the 
first police in Lehi, and from 
1856-1862 he was supervisor of 
roads. He aided in the con- 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 



463 



slruction of the first telegraph 
line in Utah and received one 
share of stock, value $100, for his 
services. He contributed his 
services very largely in assist- 
ing the country in general by 
erecting mills, helping in the 
construction of the first rail- 
road in Utah, besides furnish- 
nishing teams upon various oc- 
casions to bring imigrants to 



Utah. He was one of the first 
subscribers to the stock of the 
Z. C. M. I. also to the first co- 
operative store in Lehi, and was 
treasurer of that institution sev- 
eral years. 

Mrs. Zimmerman died Febru- 
ary 22, 1891, while Mr. Zimmer- 
man lived to be eighty-eight 
years of age. He died Novem- 
ber 13. 1908. 



. J«». 



3 1197 00491 8394 



DATE DUE 



jBULl 



SEF 3 






JOE 



- 1 



#* 



»v i s 






7 70 



; %H 



sa&i 



. ^ 



-4 



m t: 



JflL 



J JN 1 198> 






^n to" 



:-; : m 



n 



9K 



^ 



^ 



-•- - 



- 



* DEC E ? WIS 



OCT 2 



4 21)05 






a 198; 



DEC lH 1995 



MftP 9 * 19 S 



- ? RER 



i*Mr 



ISf 



JUi. 



-££** 






WG 1? 



:i. 



Wl io 






99T 



1 <»r 



. ■• ' ; 



DEMCO 38-29: 



JUL 



2 1597