Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Lowell and its people"

See other formats


4" 



4* 



,^^ 



, rf 




% '^ 'i. 



^ 1 



■^ 



Class Eri±^ Ir f » 



COPHJIGKT DEPOSm 



f^ 









,4 



,> 



^ 

^ 



> *- 



^/ 



i 






*t 



^ ^^« 



T«^ 



O 



1^ 



1.^ ^ 



If " *' 






.< 

'^w: 

x^^ 



^: 



#^ 



# 



<■ 



-*»' 



•"i ^ V 












-^^ ^:-.^ 






It 



^. 



A ^ 






N^ti' 



^^ >f^'- ''"'^ ' 








r 




^. 




Ristory of Lowell 

and Its People 



BY 



FREDERICK W. COBURN 




ILLUSTRATED 



VOLUME in. 



LEWIS HLSTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY 

NEW YORK CITY 

1920 






Copyright, 1920 
The Lewis Historical Publishing Company. 



©GI.A5(il8J2 



FEB -'.' Ii]20 



\ 
I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



ninr.RAiMiiCAL 163 

REDMOND WELCH, JR. 

For ten years, 1909-19, Redmond Welch has been chief of police 
in Lowell, and there are few dissenters to the statement that in point 
of efificiency the affairs of the department have never been so well 
administered. He has made a deep study of police problems, has 
developed strongly as a student of physiology, and depends largely 
upon a keen judgment of human nature and plain common sense, 
application of the known laws governing human nature, to guide him. 
He has brought about a close co-ordination of effort between the 
various divisions and ranks of the police department, and an unusual 
good feeling exists between the members. This in itself is a potent 
force for efficiency, and to this feeling of co-operation and good will 
is due the high morale of the Lowell force. The chief is an ardent 
advocate of physical culture, and in his own physical perfection a 
strong argument can be made of the great benefits to be derived from 
a systematic and persistent course of physical training. 

Chief Welch is a son of Redmond and Ellen (Broderick) Welch, 
his father born in County Cork, Ireland, his mother a native of the 
same county. Both came to the United States in their youth, met, 
and married in Lowell, Massachusetts, and there Ellen Welch yet 
resides, aged eighty-eight years. Redmond Welch, Sr., was a farmer 
in Ireland, and when a young man came to this country, settling at 
Westford, Massachusetts. He continued a tiller of the soil for years, 
and was foreman of the large farm owned by Zach Read. He was a 
man of great physical strength, and in Westford his wonderful feats 
gained him the title of the "strong man" of Westford. Later he moved 
to Lowell, where he became assistant-foreman in the construction 
department of the old Boston & Lowell Railroad. After track laying 
was completed on that road, he established a teaming business in 
Lowell, and for thirty years he conducted that business, only ceasing 
with his death in 1901, at the age of sixty-seven. He was a man of 
industry and good habits, a devout Catholic, and highly-esteemed by 
all who knew him. He married Ellen Broderick, who at the time of 
her marriage was in the employ of the Lawrence Mills Corporation. 
Three of their nine children are living: .Anna; Mary, married Daniel 
Crowley, a United States letter carrier of Lowell; and Redmond (2), 
of whom further mention is made. 

Redmond Welch, Jr., was born in Westford, Massachusetts. June 
6, 1863, but from his sixth month Lowell has been his home. He was 
educated in the city public schools, entering high school from Coburn 
grammar in 1877, finishing with the high school graduating class of 
1880. He was developed in size so far beyond his years that he would 
not seek office or indoor employment, but in overalls took his place 



id) HISTORY OF LOWELL 

with other drixcrs in his father's employ, and for seven years, 1880-87, 
he continued in that business neither asking nor receiving any favors 
above the other drivers because he was the boss's son. In 1887 he 
went up with the first class for physical and mental tests ever held in 
Lowell under the new civil service rules governing future appoint- 
ments to the Lowell police force. On the day he was examined he was 
six feet, two and three-quarter inches in height, and weighted two 
hundred and thirty pounds. His splendid physical condition brought 
for him very favorable comment from the examiner. City Physician 
Colton. He passed the mental tests with the same high standing as 
the physical, and on February 8, 1887, he was appointed a reserve 
patrolman. On September 13, following, he was appointed a regular 
patrolman, and until April 5, 1892, he was on patrol duty on the streets 
of Lowell. On April 5, he was promoted inspector of police, continu- 
ing in that position for a time, political conditions then decreeing that 
he should return to patrol duty. While on patrol duty during this 
period he made a notable arrest, one for which he received a commen- 
datory notice in general orders, one of the finest ever issued by the 
Department Chief. George R. Davis. During a heavy snow-storm, 
at 3 a. m., March 3, 1876, Officer Welch arrested Louis Jacquith, a 
notoricuis crook, with a long record of burglary and crime. Jacquith 
was armed with both a revolver and a butcher's cleaver which he 
several times attempted to use upon the officer without success. After 
subduing, disarming and handcuffing his prisoner, Officer Welch sig- 
naled another officer, and together they took Jacquith to his room 
where they found his partner in crime, one Ernest Beausoliel, whom 
they disarmed and took with them under arrest to police headquarters. 
This turned out to be a very important capture as both men were 
notorious criminals, and several thousand dollars worth of stolen 
property was recovered. This was the first time an officer had ever 
been commended in general orders in the history of the Lowell depart- 
ment, but Officer Welch was again named in commendatory terms in 
general orders of August 26, 1897, and again on October 18, 1898, 
the only member of the Lowell force ever receiving three citations. 
Officer Welch continued the courageous, efficient patrolman until 
the night of July 18, 1901, when he was ordered to appear before the 
Board of Police Commissioners then in session. Upon his presenting 
himself as ordered he was informed that Officer Welch had been made 
deputy superintendent of police, that he was relieved of further duty 
for the night, but should resume the duties of deputy chief the fol- 
lowing morning. For eight years he filled the office of deputy chief, 
and this brought the period to October, 1909, when William B. MofTat, 
chief of police, retired, and Assistant Chief \\'elch was appointed his 
successor. He seriously del)ated declining the appointment, political 



Hi 




.r^ 



\ 





^/^/^ /ci^rTyyiy^/ 



r.TOGRAPHICAL 165 

conditions rendering the tenure of office uncertain. There was pres- 
sure brought by business men of the city to induce his acceptance, and 
finally he consented, his investure with the full dignity of chief of 
police dating October 13, 1909, the board vote on his appointment 
being unanimous. Ten years have since intervened and Lowell is 
prouder each year of her chief and he each year is prouder of the 
department which has grown up under his leadership. There is a gen- 
eral building up all along the various police lines and the force reflects 
great credit upon both the chief and his assistants. 

Chief Welch is a member, and in 1910 and 191 1 was ])resident of 
the Massachusetts Police Chief's Association ; is a member of the 
International Police Chiefs' Association ; was an organizer and charter 
member of the Lowell Policeman's Relief Associaton ; is a member 
of St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church ; and of the Knights of Colum- 
bus. He is unmarried, residing with his widowed mother and sister 
at Xo. 571 Central street, Lowell. 



JOSEPH BOWERS. 

One of the ancient and honorable families of New England 
is that of Bowers, which in the second generation located at what is 
now Lowell, Massachusetts, the tract then granted having been held 
in part in the Bowers name from about 1685 until the present, 1918. 
Nine generations have made the farm their home, and in the old home- 
stead generation after generation has been born, the first home having 
been erected on the farm about 1696. At the present time, Joseph 
Bowers, of the eighth generation and his sons and grandchildren are 
living at the homestead, where all were born. 

George Bowers, the founder of his family, was the only early- 
settler of the name in New England. He is said to have come to 
England from Scotland, then to Massachusetts, and in 1630 he is 
recorded in Scituate, Massachusetts. He was admitted a ireeman 
there, March 7, 1636-37, was a town officer, a land owner and member 
of the early Scituate church. He sold his Scituate lands, April 2, 
1640, and located at Cambridge, Massachusetts, where he resided until 
his death in 1656, his home not far from the railroad bridge on the east 
side of North, now Massachusetts avenue. He also owned land in 
Charlestown, adjoining Cambridge. His first wife Barbara died ^Larch 
25, 1644, and he married a second wife. Elizabeth Worthington. who 
survived him. In his will he bequeathed to his wife, to sons, Benanuel, 
John. Jerathmeel ; and daughters. Patience and Silerici. 

Jerathmeel Bowers, son of George Bowers and his second wife, 
Elizabeth (Worthington) Bowers, was born in Cambridge, Massa- 
chusetts, May 2, 1650, and died April 2, 1724. He moved from Cam- 



1 66 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

bridge to Chelmsford, was admitted a freeman there, February 2, 
1685, was a town officer, and a soldier in King Philip's War and was 
known as Colonel Jerathmeel Bowers. For his services in that war he 
was granted a large tract of land, and he built the first house within 
the present limits of the city of Lowell, that house standing on what 
is now Wood street. He was guardian of the Pawtucket Indians, a 
neighboring tribe, and for five years represented Chelmsford in the 
General Court. He sold his homestead, January 2, 1683. By wife 
Elizabeth, he had two sons, Jerathmeel (2) and Jonathan. 

Captain Jonathan Bowers, son of Colonel Jerathmeel and Eliza- 
beth Bowers, was born in Chelmsford, April 13, 1674, and died Feb- 
ruary 12, 1744. He removed to Billerica, Massachusetts, in 1729. He 
was lieutenant in Captain Wilson's Company, Colonel Tyng's regi- 
ment, and in 1715 was promoted to the rank of captain. He married, 
May 17, 1699, Hannah Barrett, who died October 16, 1765. Children, 
all l)orn at Chelmsford : Jerathmeel, married Elizabeth Failey ; Jona- 
than, married Mary Grimes ; John, married Anna Crosby ; William, 
of further mention; Benjamin, a graduate of Harvard College, 1733, 
and ordained a minister over the church at Middle Haddam, Con- 
necticut ; Josiah, married Abigail Thompson. 

William Bowers, son of Captain Jonathan and Hannah (Barrett) 
Bowers, was born at Chelmsford, Massachusetts, January 8, 1712. He 
resided all his life on the original tract granted his grandfather. Colonel 
Jerathmeel Bowers, the homestead standing near Pentucket bridge, 
now Lowell, but then Chelmsford. His son, Luke Bowers, entered the 
Revolutionary army at the age of sixteen, and served seven years. 
William Bowers married, January i. 1761, Hannah Kidder, of Bil- 
lerica, Massachusetts. Children: Jonathan, Luke, Hannah, Sarah, 
W'illiam, Olive, Philip, Timothy, Joseph, of further mention, and 
Jesse. 

Joseph Bowers, ninth child of William and Hannah (Kidder) 
Bowers, was born December 31, 1780, at the Bowers homestead in 
Chelmsford, now Lowell, Massachusetts, and there passed his life. 
He was a man of influence, a substantial farmer, and a colonel in 
Massachusetts troops during the War of 1812. He was widely known 
as Colonel Joseph Bowers, and left behind him an honored name. 
He married, .\pril i, 1803, Rhoda Butterfield, born April 10, 1780. 
Their children were : Irene, born May 27, 1804; Alphius, born May 17, 
1807; Sewall, of further mention; Susan B., born August 19, 1813, 
and Mary S., born P'ebruary 14, 1818. 

Sewall Bowers, son of Colonel Joseph and Rhoda (Butterfield) 
Bowers, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, at the Bowers homestead. 
July 27, 1810, and died in 1893. He passed his life in agricultural 
pursuits on the home farm, varying this by teaming and stock dealing, 




.yf'fra// Jocffcr^ri 




yr j^ /3 r^^^^c^^ 



niOGRAI'HICAL 167 

and also was one of the builders of the Middlesex canal, lie married 
Philanda Fisher, born in Whitetield, New Hampshire, and died at 
the Bowers homestead in Lowell. Children : George, a resident of 
Lowell ; Lucena, deceased ; Joseph, of further mention ; and Jesse, 
deceased. All these children were born on the Bowers homestead. 

Joseph Bowers, of the eighth generation, son of Sewall and Phil- 
anda (Fisher) Bowers, was born at the old homestead, now Wood 
street, Lowell, Massachusetts, January 28, 1854, and there spent his 
life. The farm which he owns is part of the original grant to Colonel 
Jerathmeel Bowers, and now contains one hundred and fifty acres, 
one hundred and ten of these lying within the present limits of the city 
of Lowell. There he conducts general operations, devoting a part of 
its area to the raising of hay and dairy farming. He is one of the sub- 
stantial men of his city, a fine type of the independent American 
farmer, quiet and tuiassuming, but self-reliant and forceful, proud of 
the family name he bears, and holding that name above reproach. He 
is thoroughly respected wherever known, and has a wide circle of 
business and social acquaintances. He is a Republican in politics, a 
Unitarian in religion, a member of the Lowell Board of Trade, the 
Knights of Malta, Dames of Malta, and Middlesex North District 
Agricultural Society. 

Mr. Bowers married, December 30, 1880, at Lowell, Massachusetts, 
Jennie Toland, born at Malone, New York, who was brought to Lowell 
when a girl, and there resided until her death, February 7, 1912, at 
the Bowers homestead. Mr. and Mrs. Bowers were the parents of 
two sons: i. Joseph Walter, born April 19, 1882, at the homestead; 
married Eva Goss, of Lowell, and has four children, all born at the 
Bowers homestead in Lowell, they of the tenth American generation, 
and of the ninth to reside at the farm in Lowell first granted to Colonel 
Jerathmeel Bowers for gallant service in King Philip's War. These 
children are: Mildred, Pearly, Sewall and Sylvia Bowers. 2. Jesse 
Eugene, a farmer at the old Bowers homestead, where he was born 
January 29, 1888; he married Amy Laura Holdsworth, of Lowell, 
and has a daughter, ALiry Ethel Bowers, born at the old homestead, 
December 18, 1916. 



WILLIAM HENRY BRIERLY. 

With the passing of William Henry Brierl)-, the city of Lowell 
lost a citizen of sterling quality and a business man of industry, abil- 
ity and worth. He established in Lowell the firm of W. H. Brierly 
& Son, his partner, his son, Eugene L. Brierly, who is now his suc- 
cessor. The Brierlys are of English ancestry, this branch founded 
in the United States by David Brierly, who arrived in New York City 



i68 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

from his native England, Alarch 17, 1838, he then being a young man 
of twenty-one years. 

David Brierly, born in Leeds, England, July 4, 1817, died in 
Lawrence. Massachusetts. He learned the dyer's art, and in both his 
native Leeds and the United States followed that trade, becoming 
one of the skilled men of the textile dyeing guild. He was barely of 
age when he came to the United States, in 1838, and immediately after 
his arrival he located in Rome, New York, where he rose to the rank 
of a "boss dyer" in a large textile mill. In Rome also he was a well 
known musician, playing the cello in the leading orchestra of the city. 
There too he married, but shortly afterward moved to Syracuse, New 
York. Later he located at Blackenton, Massachusetts, going thence 
to Lawrence, Massachusetts. At all these places he was engaged as 
a dyer of textiles. After the removal to Lawrence, David Brierly 
enlisted for service in the Union army as a member of the Fourth 
Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, and went to the front. While in 
active service in the South he suffered a paralytic stroke, which left 
him nntii for military duty. .After receiving an honorable discharge 
from the army, he returned to Lawrence, Massachusetts, and there 
continued his residence until death. He married Margaret Wilson, 
born in Rome, New York, who survived him, moved to Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, there married a second husband, Robert Lord, and resided in 
West Chelmsford, Massachusetts. She died in Lowell, while visit- 
ing her daughter, Mrs. Rebecca Clark. David and Margaret (Wilson) 
Brierly were the parents of the following children : John, deceased ; 
Rebecca, married Edward D. Clark, an early settler in that part of 
Lowell known as Highlands; William Henry, to whose memory this 
review is inscribed. 

William Henry Brierly was born in Troupville, New York, May 
10, 1855, aid died in Lowell, Massachusetts, December 29, 1917. He 
was very young when his parents moved to Lawrence, Massachusetts, 
and there and in Lowell, Massachusetts, he attended public school un- 
til twelve years of age, the early death of his father leaving the widow 
with a young family, whose support required the efifort of each one. 
William H. did a boy's work in stores and elsewhere until reaching 
suital)le age, when he began learning the painter's trade with the 
firm of Fisk & Spaulding, painting contractors of Lowell, located at 
the corner of Jackson and Central streets. For twenty-five consecu- 
tive years he remained in the employ of that firm, becoming their most 
trusted foreman. After the death of Colonel Fisk, Mr. Brierly began 
business under his own name as a painting contractor and built up a 
very prosperous business. His shops at No. 56 Branch street were 
later moved to their present location. No. 836 Middlesex .street, and 
there he continued in business until his death. In 191 1 he admitted his 




9^M}4iLr^ 



lUOCRAPHICAL 169 

son, Eugene L., as a partner, the firm of W. H. Briefly & Son being 
then formed. Father and son continued as partners until the sudden 
death of the father in the closing days of the year 1917. 

Practically Mr. Brierly'.s entire life of sixty-two years were spent 
in Lowell, and there he won high standing among business men for his 
upright, manly life, strict attention to his business affairs, and his 
unwavering honesty. In 1880 he built the residence at No. 74 South 
Loring street, which is yet the family home. This was one of the first 
houses built in the Highland section of Lowell, now a prefered resi- 
dential part of the city. Mr. Hrierly was a Republican in his political 
preference, but never sought nor desired to hold public of^ce. He was 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, and of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, but was of quiet, domestic tastes, finding in 
his home the greatest satisfaction life could hold. 

William H. P.rierly married .\nna Louisa Thomi^son, of Lowell. 
April II, 1873. She was born in the village of Lakeport, town of 
Guilford, New Hampshire, daughter of John Prince and .Sarah Ann 
(Rowell) Thompson, both born in Lakeport, where both died, Mr. 
Thompson at the time of his death a retired farmer. Mr. and Mrs. 
Brierly were the parents of a son, Eugene Linwood, iiorn in Lowell, 
October 12, 1876. He was educated in the public schools, learned the 
painter's trade with his father, was his close business associate, and 
continues a contractor of painting and head of the firm, \V. H. Brierly 
& Son. He married, in 1905, Maud Ireland, of Lowell, who died there 
in 1013. Mr. Brierly resides with his widowed mother at the old home, 
No. 74 South Loring street, Lowell. 



GEORGE ARNOLD WILLSON. 

A retired merchant of Lowell, Alassachusetts, from 1914 until his 
death, George A. Willson reviewed a life of activity in which he ac- 
complished much, although hardly more than in his prime. He was 
born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, December 20, 1867, son of Francis 
Willson, his father a machinist, in business at Lawrence. 

George A. Willson was educated in the public schools and Bur- 
dette's Commercial College, of Lawrence. After completing his studies 
he began business life as a clerk in a Lawrence drug store, there 
remaining for about six years and becoming a skilled pharmacist. He 
spent the next two years in Boston as a drug clerk, and then came to 
Lowell, entering the employ of John I. Gibson. Later he was with 
Goodale & C. E. Carter. In 1895 Mr. Willson established in business 
for himself, opening a store at the corner of Branch and School streets, 
there conducting a successful business, later removing to a new busi- 
ness block which he erected just across the street from his first store. 



170 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

In 1914 he sold out to Fred C. Jones and retired. His business life 
was a successful one, and he was held in high regard by all who knew 
him. Mr. Willson was a member of the Royal Arcanum, the Knights 
of Pythias, Lowell Board of Trade, "V'esper Country Club, and High- 
land Congregational Church. 

Mr. Willson married in Lowell, Massachusetts, October 9, 1894, 
Alice L. Crossby. They were the parents of a daughter, Marian C. 
Willson. Mr. Willson died in Lowell, December 22, 1917, honored 
and respected as a man of integrity and ability. 



HARRY L. STANLEY. 



Nearly half a century ago George E. Stanley inaugurated the 
business upon which the Stanley Coal & Transportation Company of 
Lowell is founded. Light and heavy trucking and other forms of local 
freight and parcel handling was the first department established, the 
coal department, anthracite and bituminous, being added in 1887. To 
this business came Harry L. Stanley, immediately after leaving school, 
and upon the death of his honored father, in 1908, became its managing 
head. He is a great-grandson of Phineas Stanley, who came to Lowell 
from his native England. He was the father of a large family, one 
of his sons, George D., born in Lowell, and for many years an over- 
seer at the Massachusetts Mills, also being head of a family, including 
a son, George E. Stanley, father of Harry L. Stanley. 

George E. Stanley was born in Lowell, in 1845, and died in his 
native city in 1908. After leaving school he became a clerk in a shoe 
store, Init his health gave way under the confinement of indoor em- 
ployment. Finally he decided to establish a business of his own, and 
from that decision grew the Stanley Coal & Transportation Company. 
It was not an ambitious company at its birth but a local teaming busi- 
ness, which grew more and more important. In 1887 the coal depart- 
ment of the business was added, and at the death of the founder in 
1908, aged seventy-three, the company was doing and for many years 
had done a large business in light and heavy trucking, and in the sale 
of anthracite and bituminous coal. Mr. Stanley was a member of the 
Board of Aldermen, a school committeeman, director of the City 
Library, a member of Lodge, Chapter, Council and Commandery of 
the Masonic order, and in politics a Republican. He married Eliza- 
beth Hicks, born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, who survived him 
until 1910. They were the parents of: Gertrude, married Nathan 
Lamson, and Harry L., of further mention. 

Harry L. Stanley, only son of George E. and Elizabeth (Hicks) 
Stanley, was born in Low^ell, Massachusetts, April 13, 1870. He was 
educated in the pul)lic schools of his city, and after finishing his studies 




S, (S&.1/^ fSoAM^ 



TUOGRAPHICAT. 171 

was admitted to business association with his father, became his 
trusted assistant and partner, and his successor as head of the Stanley 
Coal & Transportation Company. The freight office of the company 
is at No. 12 Thorndike street, elevator at No. 223 Moody street, coal 
yard at No. 53 Aleadowcroft street. The business is conducted along 
the lines laid down by the founder, all modern aids and appliances in 
transporting heavy freight being freely used. The son's special de- 
partment was coal, that line of the company's business having been 
due to his suggestion and personal interest, Mr. Stanley, Sr., giving 
his attention to the transportation department until his retirement. 
Harry I^. Stanley is a member of Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Mount Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Boston 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; Boston Commandery, Knights 
Templar ; Aleppo Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Lowell Board 
of Trade ; and politically a Republican. 

Mr. Stanley married, October, 1897, Marie A. Crippen, of Con- 
cord, New Hampshire, they the parents of a daughter, Kathleen, wife 
of Leslie E. Sutton. The family home is at No. 135 Beacon street, 
Lowell. 



CHARLES OLIVER BARNES. 

A little over lifty-two years ago Charles Oliver Barnes began work 
as an apprentice in the printing department of the J. C. Ayer Company, 
of Lowell. The date of his beginning work was August 12, 1865. the 
day Saturday, and the believers in signs saw in that fact a sure indi- 
cation of a short stay. How well they prophesied is seen in the fact 
that one-half a century later, on Monday, August 12, 1915, the J. C. 
Ayer Company presented Mr. Barnes with a check for $500 and a 
three month's vacation in recognition of his fifty years of continuous 
service, and in appreciation of his efficient service during that period. 
The boy of fifteen is now the veteran of sixty-eight, and the changes 
in the printing plant where he is yet employed are equally apparent. 
When he entered the printing department the equijiment was three large 
presses and two small job presses, to-day six large presses and two job 
presses are in constant use. The old Adams press of 1865 has been 
supplanted, and the Degener, Ruggles, Cottrell, Campbell, Scott and 
Whillock presses each have had their day. In 1865, thirty-two copies 
of Ayers Almanac were printed in one minute ; now they are printed 
at the rate of four hundred a minute. The management of the print- 
ing department in 1865 was in the hands of Clark M. Langley, who in 
1869 was succeeded by J. C. Johnson, who resigned after twenty-eight 
years, giving way in 1897 to J. J. Brine, who continued manager until 
his death in Ai>ril. 1915. Following Mr. Brine came the present man- 



172 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ager of the department, E. G. Brown. Through these changes Mr. 
Barnes remained, developing from an apprentice to a skilled printer, 
and in all changes of equipment and methods he has kept pace and 
is fully abreast of the times. His unusually retentive memory en- 
ables him to recall names, faces, and facts far back into the last cen- 
tury, and he is a rich storehouse of history and tradition. 

C. Oliver Barnes was born in Lowell, at the corner of Worthern 
and then Mechanic street, now Broadway, July 31, 1850, and until 
August, 191 5, never left his native New England, and Lowell has been 
his home during his entire life with the exception of two years, 1853- 
55. He is a son of Charles E. and Ann (Mason) Barnes, his father a 
machinist employed on job work at the Lowell Machine Shop. In 
1853 t^ie family moved to Chicopee, where for two years Mr. Barnes 
was in the employ of the Ames Manufacturing Company, manufac- 
turers of cannon. During the two years in Chicopee he perfected and 
patented a self-loading cannon. The model for this cannon, which was 
patented in 1856, is yet in the possession of C. Oliver Barnes, a cher- 
ished family relic and a memento of the only two years spent else- 
where than in Lowell. 

C. Oliver Barnes began his education at Rock street i^rimary 
school. Miss Josephine Soule then being principal. In 1858 the family 
moved to Appleton street, the boy then being transferred to Eliot 
street primary school, of which Miss Jennie H. Dennis was principal. 
He next attended Edson school, Perley Balch being principal there, 
other Edson school teachers being: Harriet C. Hovey, Miss Hem- 
menway. Miss Dana, Miss Carliton, Miss Eaton, and Miss Lovejoy. 
His school years were finished at Edson, and at the age of fifteen he 
began his long connection with the J. C. Ayer Company. From this 
year, 1865, his life has flowed along in the same even channel, his 
position a pleasant one, both as to work and surroundings. He is the 
oldest man in the employ of the company, and there is no employee 
more highly respected. 

On November 4, 1866, he became a member of the Appleton Street 
now the Eliot Street Congregational Church, Rev. Addison P. Foster 
then being pastor of the same. Fifty-one years have elapsed since the 
pastor extended to Mr. Barnes the right hand of fellowship, and of all 
the male members of the church he is the oldest. This church has 
profited through his earnestness and devotion, his service being con- 
sistent and continuous. On September 17, 1872, he was made a Mason 
in the Ancient York Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; and for 
forty-five years he has been a member of that lodge. He has taken 
an unusual interest in the early history of that association, has gath- 
ered a great deal of history concerning the twenty-one charter mem- 
bers, secured with the facts their portraits, had them made into one 



BIOGRAPHICAL 173 

large picture, and in May, 1914. presented to the lodge the picture of 
its founders. In political preference he is a Republican and has sev- 
eral times been requested to run for the office of mayor, but always 
declined. 

Mr. Barnes married, March 14. 11^75. Henrietta Tilton, of Lowell, 
a descendant of Jonathan Tilton, one of whose ancestors fought with 
General Wolfe at Quebec. She was born in Boston, IMassachusetts, 
and died in Newton Highlands, Massachusetts, January 15, 1916, 
daughter of Walter and Ruth (Webster) Tilton, her father a native 
of New Hampshire. Children of Mr. and Mrs. C. Oliver Barnes : 
Emma Leslie, married, June 27, 1907, Edward S. Colton, of Newton 
Highlands, whom she survives with a son, James Byers (2) Colton; 
Carrie, married, August 3, 1910, Bertram E. Kellogg, of Holyoke, 
Massachusetts ; Helen Isabel, married, September 25, 1907, Walter 
E. Morse, of Lowell. Mr. and Mrs. Morse are the parents of Walter 
E., Jr., Ruth, Marian, Lester A. and Cynthia H. Morse. These grand- 
children of C. Oliver Barnes, in addition to descent from Jonathan 
Tilton, the Colonial soldier, are great-great-grandchildren of Deacon 
Joseph Barnes, who fought at Bunker Hill. 



CHARLES L. MARREN. 

A native son of Lowell, as was his father before him, the life of 
Charles L. Marren has flowed smoothly along accustomed lines amid 
accustomed scenes, with little of startling incident or sudden change. 
He is one of the reliable merchants of the city, his place of business, 
Nos. 143-147 Gorham street, one of the busy merchandising spots of 
the city. Mr. Marren is the son of John and Elizabeth (Deehan) 
Marren. John Marren, his father, was born in Lowell in 1835, and 
died there in 1899. He was a graduate of the Lowell High School, 
after which he spent some time in the grocery and shoe business in 
Lowell, then studied law, passed the required examinations, and was 
admitted to the Middlesex Bar, and practiced his profession success- 
fully. Elizabeth (Deehan) Marren, his mother, was born in Portland, 
Maine, in 1837, and now resides in Lowell. The Deehan family is one 
of the old families of Portland. 

Charles L. Marren was born in Lowell, June 6, 1865, and until 
the age of eighteen was a student in the public schools, finishing at 
evening high school after he had become a worker and a wage earner. 
He began business life as a bookkeeper with P. Dempsey & Company, 
but later was promoted to be manager, and remained in that employ 
seven years. He then started in business for himself at Nos. 143-147 
Gorham street, and there has since conducted a prosperous wholesale 
and retail business. He is a director nf the Lowell Trust Company, 



174 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

has real estate interests, and is highly esteemed in the business world. 
He belongs to the Lowell Board of Trade, the Washington Club, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Knights of Columbus, 
and St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church. He is a Republican in 
politics, and in earlier years was much interested in city politics, serv- 
ing Ward Three as a member of the Common Council in 1887-88 ; 
and in 1889-90 was Overseer of the Poor. While councilman he was 
chairman of the finance committee and one of the active working 
members of that body. He is a good sportsman, was at one time the 
amateur bowling champion of Massachusetts, and yet delights in 
vacation days which can be spent in the sports of forest and stream. 
He is a member of the Nashua County and Longmeadow Golf Clubs, 
and is rated one of the golf enthusiasts. 

Mr. Marren married, in Lowell, October 7, 1903, Theresa McCue, 
a native of Lowell, and a daughter of John and Ellen (Kelley) McCue. 
Her father was born in Lowell, and for a time was employed at the 
Lowell Machine Shop, later in the grocery business. He served in the 
Civil War, and was prominent in G. A. R. circles. Her mother was 
born in Ireland. Both her parents died in Lowell. 



WILFRED EMERY COGNAC. 

At the age of ten years. Emery Cognac was brought from his 
native Canada by his parents, the family settling in Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts. From the entrance of this boy Emery into the business life 
of the city, the name has been one honored in commercial circles. 
When at a ripe age Emery Cognac laid down the burden of life, his 
son, Wilfred Emery Cognac, although only twenty-three years of age, 
assumed the responsibility of managing and conducting the large busi- 
ness developed by his honored father, and under his energetic, enthus- 
iastic direction even a greater prosperity has resulted. 

The Canadian home of the family was in the Province of Quebec, 
Village of Stattsville, and there Emery Cognac was born, March i, 
1870, and spent the first ten years of his life. After coming to Lowell 
he continued his studies in the public school for some time, beginning 
his wage earning as a boy in the employ of the Lowell Hosiery Com- 
pany, at Lowell. He proved to be the right quality, and as he grew 
in years he attained correspondingly better positions, and for many 
years held important and responsible positions in the company's 
manufacturing plant. He was devoted to his employer's interests and 
spared not himself in his efforts to render just service. Finally, in 
the year 1894, he was compelled to seek less confining occupation, and 
having thriftily conserved his earnings during his years of mill con- 
nection, was possessed of sufficient capital to establish a commercial 



BIOGRAPHICAL 175 

enterprise, hut being unexperienced he first entered the employ of 
Joseph Marin, a furniture dealer, at No. 628 Merrimack street. For 
seven years he remained in a clerical position with Mr. Marin, thor- 
oughly absorbing every detail of the business, office, buying and sell- 
ing. In 1901 opportunity was offered, and he purchased the Marin 
furniture business, continuing it along the same lines and at the same 
location until his death, June 4, 191 5. He developed strong business 
ability, and at all times directed his mercantile interests with skill and 
judgment. He was a man of sterling worth, upright and honorable in 
all his ways, meriting and receiving the confidence and esteem of his 
business associates and fellowmen. Year by year his business in- 
creased in volume, and so large and varied was the stock carried in the 
various departments, that several warehouses were required to accom- 
modate the reserve stock of furniture, carpets, and household goods. 
He stood unusually high among the French residents of Lowell, and 
was associated with them in the societies which bound them socially. 
He was an ex-president of the Corporation of the Members Associa- 
tion Catholic (C. M. A. C), and was also a member of the Citoyens 
American, of Lowell. In politics he was a Republican, but never 
sought nor held public office. He was reared and died in the Roman 
Catholic faith, a communicant of the church of St. Jean the Baptiste. 
Emery Cognac married Adele Guimond, born in the Province of Que- 
bec, Canada, who came to Lowell as a child, and died at Stattsville, 
Canada, while on a visit there in 1895. They were the parents of a 
son, Wilfred Emery Cognac, of further mention ; and a daughter, 
Lillian L. Cognac, the latter born in Stattsville, Province of Quebec, 
Canada. 

Wilfred Emery Cognac, only son of Emery and Adele (Guimond) 
Cognac, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, January 12, 1892. He 
was educated in the public schools of Lowell, St. John's (Canada) 
Commercial College, and Lowell Commercial College, entering his 
father's furniture store upon completing the course of study at the 
last named institution. He began at the bottom of the ladder in 1908, 
and through actual contact became familiar with the detail of the 
large business which had grown up under the intelligent management 
of Emery Cognac. As he grew in experience and knowledge he be- 
came his father's valued assistant, and gradually took from the shoul- 
ders of the older man many of his managerial burdens ere the end came 
for the veteran. He then became head of the Cognac furniture busi- 
ness, and so well qualified was he that it has never faltered in its pros- 
perous course, and under its young owner and manager has held its 
high rank among Lowell's mercantile houses. The responsibility 
was heavy for a young man of twenty-three to carry, but he has met 
every demand made upon him, and is one of the young merchants of 



176 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Lowell who have fairl_\- won the position he holds in the business life 
of their city. 

In his political affiliation, Mr. Cognac, like his father, is a Repub- 
lican, and in religious connection identified with the church of St. 
Jean the Baptiste (Catholic). He is also a member of the Citoyens 
-American ; the Corporation of the Members Association Catholic (C. 
M. A. C), and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 



THOMAS WILLIAM JOHNSON. 

.\t the end of a five years' apprenticeship to the carpenter's trade 
during which his compensation had been one penny daily in addition 
to board and lodging, Thomas W. Johnson came to Canada, obtaining 
employment on the Canadian Pacific Railroad, then in course of con- 
struction. That was in 1878 and the next year he came to the United 
States, finally reaching Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1883. During the 
thirty-five years which have since elapsed he has built up high repu- 
tation as a builder, and in connection with his sons forms the well- 
known T. W. Johnson Company,. building contractors. It is a note- 
worthy fact that when Mr. Johnson first started in business for him- 
self he never missed a day of hard work, starting early and taking any 
kind of carpenter work that was offered. He never borrowed one 
dollar at any time, but through perseverance and hard labor saved 
money to continue to broaden his business until as now he is affluent 
in consequence. 

Mr. Johnson is a son of John and Ursula (Pearson) Johnson, of 
Northumberland. England, and grandson of Joseph Johnson, a farmer 
of Northern England, whose farm, "Kingswood," near Hayden Bridge, 
was long the ancestral home of the Johnson family, and otherwise 
famous in local annals. John Johnson was born at Kingswood, in 
Hayden Bridge parish. Northern England. He owned a fine farm in 
Northumberland, and there died. This farm, "Wall Fell," he culti- 
vated until his death, there lived a prosperous, influential farmer, held 
several parish offices, and after a long and useful life there ended his 
days, his son, John Pearson Johnson, now cultivating "Wall Fell," 
which is also the home of his widowed sister, Eleanor, widow of 
Thomas Heppell, her four sons all soldiers in the British army, serv- 
ing against the Hun in France, one of them having been four times 
wounded. He married Ursula Pearson, who was born on the Pearson 
farm, "Midgeholm," in the parish of Bardon ]\Iill, her family having 
held that estate for many generations. She resided at "Midgeholm" 
until her marriagfe, then "Wall Fell" became her home, there her seven 
children were born, and there she died. Four of these children are yet 
living: Sarah, wife of Thomas Holmes, of Boston, Massachusetts; 




Q-.y^a--«^~7--?-^--A-<7 




BIOGRAPHICAL 177 

John Pearson, who manag-es "Wall Fell," the old English farm ; 
Thomas William, of further mention ; Eleanor, widow of Thomas 
Heppel, the mother of four sons and three daughters, her sons, pre- 
viously mentioned, soldiers with the British Army in France. She 
resides at "Wall Fell." 

Thomas William Johnson was born at "Wall Fell," near Ilex- 
ham, parish of St. Johnby, Northumberland, England, February 28, 
1857. He attended the public schools nearby and when arriving at 
proper years was apprenticed and regularly indentured to William 
Prudhoe, of Barrasford, England, who agreed to teach him the car- 
penter's trade, give him board and lodging and furthermore i)ay him 
one penny daily wages. This agreement was faithfully carried out by 
the lad, and as there is no evidence to the contrary it may be pre- 
sumed that the stipulated wage was faithfully paid. At the expiration 
of his five years term, which brought the lad to legal age, he decided 
in 1878 to come to America. That year saw him engaged in carpenter 
work on the Canadian Pacific Railroad in Canada, and the year later 
he was working in Marquette, Michigan. There he followed his trade 
for four years and then came to New England, beginning his Lowell, 
Massachusetts, residence in 1883. He secured employment at his 
trade with James Bennett, a leading contractor of the city, his first 
work being done on the Waterhead Mills. Later, and for seventeen 
years, he was foreman for the important contracting firm, Whittet & 
McDonald, then for eighteen months was the carpenter boss at the 
plush mills, this bringing him to the year 1901. That year witnessed 
the end of his career as a journeyman carpenter, and the beginning of 
his contracting activities. He did not confine his business to building 
for others, however, but bought vacant lots, developed them by the 
laying out of streets, grading and paving them, and erecting buildings 
thereon which were sold to homeseekers on the modern plan of partial 
payments monthly or as otherwise agreed. This business he has 
since continued very successfully, and is now assisted by his two sons, 
who were admitted partners in 191 1, the firm then becoming the T. W. 
Johnson Company, one of the principal tracts developed by Mr. John- 
son being the Belvidere section of Lowell, where one of the streets 
in remembrance of the town in England, where he learned his trade, 
is named Barrasford street. Mr. Johnson is a Republican in politics, 
a member of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church, and is one of 
the leading substantial, successful men of the contracting and build- 
ing business. 

Mr. Johnson married, in (Irace I-'piscopal Church. Chicago, Illi- 
nois, November 13. 1880. Annie Thomas, born in Xewry, County 
Down, Ireland. Her youth was spent in Northumberland, luigland, 

L— 12 



178 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

where she and her husband became acquainted. She is the daughter 
of Hugh and Ann (Moore) Thomas, he born in Bangor. Wales, and 
she in Ireland, Thomas being the name of a very ancient Welsh fam- 
ily. Hugh Thomas, a stone-cutter, lived for a time in Ireland, then 
in England, coming to the United States in 1881, settling in Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and here died in Pawtucketville. His wife, Ann 
Modre. was born in Newry, County Down, Ireland, and died in Low- 
ell. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson are the parents of two sons and a daughter : 
I. John Humphrey, born in Republic, Michigan. August 18, 1882, now 
in business with his father and brother as the T. W. Johnson Com- 
pany ; married, in 1903, Agnes Lovejoy, of Tilton, New Hampshire, 
who died in Lowell, in 1905, leaving a daughter, Elizabeth Don Agnes, 
born in Lowell, August 19, 1905. 2. Mary Elizabeth, born in Dracut, 
Massachusetts ; married Fred. A. Barber, president and treasurer of 
the Globe Ear Phone Company, of Reading, Massachusetts. ]\Ir. and 
Mrs. Barber are the parents of Thomas Oilman, and Marguerite 
Annie Barber. 3. Hugh Thomas, born in Dracut, Massachusetts, 
November 19, 1892, and now engaged with his father and brother as 
the T. W. Johnson Company. He married Gladys Wood, of Sharon, 
Vermont. Their son, John Nelson, died in infancy. 



ERWIN A. WILSON. 



The firm of E. A. Wilson & Company, coal and mason's supplies, 
Nos. 132 Paige street, 700 Broadway, and 15 Tanner street, Lowell, is 
the outgrowth of the business founded by Mr. Wilson in 1891, his 
first business venture on his own behalf, although he was thoroughly 
experienced in mercantile life through long years of clerical service. 
He has won honorable position among Lowell merchants, and is at the 
head of a business well established and prosperous. He is a native 
son of Vermont, son of Calvin P. Wilson, a farmer, who died in 1913, 
aged seventy-seven years. He was a man of quiet, retiring nature, 
but highly esteemed in his community. He is the grandson of Benja- 
min Wilson, also a Vermont farmer. Calvin P. Wilson married Louise 
Gofif, of Pomfret, Vermont, born in 1842, died in 1910. 

Erwin A. Wilson was born in Pomfret, Vermont, June 10, 1861, 
and there spent his boyhood days in attendance at the public schools 
and in farm duties. Farming did not appeal to him, but an education 
did, and, after finishing public school studies, he began a course at 
the State Normal School at Randolph, Vermont, reaching the end of 
the course and being graduated with the class of 1879. He was then 
eighteen years of age, and the bare record does not tell the entire 
storv of those years at normal. The funds which financed the course 



r.IOGRAPIIlCAL 179 

were provided by himself, and were earned by teaching school at Ran- 
dolph. Hartford, and Sharon, Xcrnumt, his winters being- spent in that 
manner while the normal schoi>l was not in session. After graduation, 
in 1879, he taught at Sharon for a time, then came to Lowell, which 
has ever since been his home and the scene of his business activity. 

His first position in Lowell was as clerk with Whithed i^ Com- 
pany, coal dealers, seven years being spent in their employ, he remain- 
ing for a time after the business changed hands. Having gained an 
intimate knowledge of the retail coal business, during his seven years 
as clerk, Mr. Wilson determined to enter the same business on his 
own account, and some years after, securing the co-operation of La- 
forest Reals, formed the firm, E. A. Wilson & Company, coal and 
mason's supplies, beginning with a yard at No. 700 Broadway, and 
with four single teams for delivery. Now two yards are necessary for 
the coal department, sixteen horses and three motor trucks being 
necessary to keep up deliveries in both departments of the business. 
The first offices of E. A. Wilson & Company were on Merrimack 
street, now occupied by the Five and Ten Cent Store, and there were 
continued until they were moved to .\o. 4 Merrimack square, in the 
building now occupied by the Dow Drug Store. On December 31, 
1915, the offices were moved to their present location, Xo. 152 Paige 
street. The yards at No. 700 Broadway are yet retained, and addi- 
tional space was secured by opening a branch yard at Xo. 15 Tanner 
street. The firm specializes in coal for family use, and also does a 
large business with firms and corporations. Mr. Wilson is a member 
of the Masonic order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
the Benevolent and Protective Order of F.Iks. In politics he is a 
Republican. 

Mr. Wilson married, in Lowell, May 21, 1893. Evelyn A. Carroll, 
of Lowell, daughter of Henry L. Carroll, of Croydon, New Hampshire, 
later of Lowell, a contractor and builder who died in 1910, aged sixty- 
four years. Henry L. Carroll married Elizabeth Gunston, born in 
Canada, who died in 1905, aged fifty-four years. Mr. and Mrs. Wilson 
are the parents of two sons, one deceased, and of a daughter, all born 
in Lowell : Walter C. Wilson, born May 21, 1896, and educated in the 
grade and high schools of the city, finishing with graduation, class of 
1914. Frtjm high school he entered Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nology, class of 1918, taking the course recently added to the curri- 
culum, engineering and business. He is a member of the Tech. fra- 
ternity. Phi Beta Epsilon, and deeply interested in school work and 
life. The second son, Henry C. Wilson, born September 15. 1897, 
died in April, 1901. Doris Evelyn Wilson, the only daughter, was 
born April 25, 1903, and is a high school student. 



i8o HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ROBERT FRIEND. 

Friend Brothers' Company was incorporated in 1916, with Victor 
A. Friend, president, Lester Friend, treasurer, Robert Friend, clerk. 
This was the official beginning of the company, but not the com- 
mencement of their Lowell business, the Lowell branch having been 
started in 1898. Robert Friend, the manager of the Lowell branch, 
came to Lowell in 1900, and from his able, energetic management 
came the Friend Brothers' Company, Inc., the largest baking firm in 
Lowell, located in their own building, No. 2 Westford street, and 
operating a large modern "daylight" bakery, dealing both in whole- 
sale and retail in the usual bakery lines, bread, cake, pastry, etc. This 
Lowell plant is but one of a chain. Friend Brothers also having well 
established bakeries at Lynn and Melrose, Massachusetts. But that 
does not cover their activities ; realizing that their machinery bills 
were so high, they secured patents, incorporated as the Friend Ma- 
chine Company, established a factory in Lowell, and are manufacturers 
of a line of machines used in bakeries, including a machine which 
wraps the paper covering around the loaves, this guaranteeing perfect 
cleanliness in handling after leaving the ovens. This is the spirit of 
all the baking plants operated by the Friend Brothers' Company, 
cleanliness and every sanitary precaution being held paramount. 

Robert Friend, manager of the Lowell branch, was born in Brook- 
lin. Maine, February, 1877. son of Robert Alonzo Friend, a general 
merchant and proprietor of a canning factory in Brooklin. He was a 
veteran of the Sixth Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, and saw 
hard service with his regiment during the Civil War. Both he and 
his wife, Alona B, (Mirrick) Friend, are deceased. Robert, the son, 
attended the grade and high schools in Brooklin, Maine, Bridgewater 
and Melrose, Massachusetts, completing his studies in the Melrose 
High School. He began his connection with the baking business in 
the bakery owned by his brothers at Melrose, and there mastered 
every detail thereof, both as a trade and as a business. The brothers 
had started a branch at Lowell in 1898, and about 1900 Robert Friend 
was sent there as its manager. The ovens and store until December, 
1907, were at the old Scripture Bakery, No. ^^y Central street, but in 
that year the entire business was removed to the building which had 
been erected for its reception at No. 2 Westford street, the present 
location. Friend Brothers have the largest bakeries in the city, their 
business extending to all parts of Lowell and the surrounding country. 
The quality of their product is high, and Mr. Friend ranks with the 
sterling business men of the city. Mr. Friend is a member of the 
Association of Master Bakers of Lowell ; the Board of Trade ; Pen- 
tucket Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Mt. Horeb Chapter. Royal 




V7 V^/m^ [/".^^'^^yuJl 




)mmt iLeptne 



BIOGRAPHICAL i8i 

Arch Masons; the Council, Royal and Select Masters; Middlesex 
Chevalier Lodge, Knights of Pythias; the Vesper Country Club; an 
attendant of the I'irst Baptist Church, and in politics is a Republican. 
Mr. Friend married, in Lowell, June 8, 1900, Mary Ann Phelps, 
of Boston. They had two children: Lillian May, born June 8, lyoi, 
at Lowell, died December 6, 1904, and Robert .\. (2), born in Lowell, 
February 20, iyo6. 



MICHAEL J. MEAGHER, M. D. 

In County Tipperary, Ireland, on August 27, 1868, Michael J. 
Meagher was born, son of John and Mary Meagher, his father a 
farmer. In Ireland the boy attended the National schools and later 
was a student at Emmet College, in County Clare. He left Ireland 
in 1885 and resumed study soon thereafter at Mount St. Mary's Col- 
lege, Emmetsburg. Frederick county, Maryland, there receiving his 
degree, bachelor of arts, with the graduating class of 1889. Deciding 
upon medicine as his profession and life work, he entered Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College, New York City, and in 1890 was graduated 
doctor of medicine. He pursued post-graduate study at the Post- 
graduate Medical School and at Harvard Medical School, thus com- 
pleting an exhaustive preparatory course of education, with which he 
started practice in Lowell, in 1894. In 1895 he was appointed to the 
medical staff of St. John's Hospital, and for twelve years he continued 
a member of that staff. His private practice had grown to such pro- 
portions that in 1907 he resigned from the post he had held so long. 
He examines for the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, the Union 
Central Life Insurance Company, the Foresters, the Massachusetts 
Medical and the American Medical Associations. He is also a mem- 
ber of several medical societies, the Ancient Order of Hibernians, and 
St. Michael's Church. He is a physician of k-arning and skill, min- 
istering to a large clientele. 

Dr. Meagher married, in Lowell, Massachusetts, in October, 1902, 
Grace A. Mylott. Dr. and Mrs. Meagher are the parents of four sons : 
John Raymond, born July 6, 1903; William Brendan, born July 16, 
1910; Joseph Vincent, born March 16, 1912; Francis Patrick, born 
February i, 1914. 



MAXIME LEPINE. 



When a lad of seventeen Mr. Lepine left his Canadian home and 
came to the United States, locating in the city of Worcester, Massa- 
chusetts. Nearly forty years have since elapsed, and the boy of seven- 
teen has become the veteran of fifty-six, but Massachusetts has been 



i82 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

his home during the entire period, and for thirty-five of those years 
Lowell has been his home and the seat of his business activity. Dur- 
ing his years of American residence he has retained, until recently, 
his connection with the trade he learned, printing, and in addition was 
the publisher of a newspaper printed in the French language. In 191 7 
he assumed the duties of the position he now holds in the city govern- 
ment. He is highly esteemed wherever known, but especially is he 
honored by his countrj^men of French Canadian birth, his endeavor 
in their behalf being constant and long continued. Through his ad- 
vice, aid and encouragement, and that of others, the buying of homes 
has become common, and the standard of citizenship raised to a higher 
level. 

Maxime Lepine was born in the parish of L'Assomption, Prov- 
ince of Quebec, Canada, July 8, 1861, and is now a resident of the city 
of Lowell, Massachusetts. He attended school until eleven years of 
age, then began learning the printer's trade, going later to Joliette, 
Canada, where he continued his apprenticeship until seventeen years 
of age. He then decided to leave his native land and come to the 
United States, this decision being followed up, and a residence ac- 
quired in Worcester, Massachusetts. This was in 1878, his W^orcester 
residence continuing until 1882, the four years interval being spent as 
a printer on the W'orcester Evening Times. In 1882 he removed to 
Lowell, Massachusetts, and for seven years he was employed in the 
different printing establishments of the city. He was an expert com- 
positor and always found his services in demand. In 1889 he entered 
into a co-partnership, forming the firm, Lepine & Company, and pub- 
lishing a newspaper printed in the French language. This paper was 
well edited and still occupies a distinctive place in Lowell journalism. 
In 1909 Mr. Lepine sold his interest in the paper, but for several 
years, thereafter, worked at his trade in various printing shops of the 
city. In 1917 he was appointed purchasing agent for the city of 
Lowell. He is also a trustee of the Foxboro State Hospital ; member 
of the French Naturalization Association ; the French-American Club ; 
the Artisans Canadian Society ; the Lafayette Club, and the United 
States Bunting Cricket and Athletic Association. He takes a deep 
interest in these societies, and enjoys the companionship of his fellow- 
men who, with earnest purpose, are seeking to lighten men's burdens 
and make life pleasanter. He is a hard worker, the responsibility of 
life teaching him the value of time and well directed effort. 

Mr. Lepine married, July 24, 1882, at Worcester, Massachusetts, 
Zenaide Dupont, who died in 191 1, leaving two children: Benjamin, 
a printer of Worcester, Massachusetts ; and Stella, residing with her 
brother at No. 276 Plantation street, Worcester, Massachusetts. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 183 

HERMANN H. BACHMANN. 

In 1890 Mr. Bachniann came to the L'liiled States from his native 
land, Germany, being then well informed in textile manufacture and 
well advanced as a designer. Twenty years later, after perfecting his 
art in many mills in different cities, and under varying conditions, he 
came to the Lowell Textile School as head instructor of the depart- 
ment of textile design, fabric structure, and weaving. He has devel- 
oped a deep interest in these subjects in his classes each year, and 
sends out men thoroughly equipped to manage similar departments 
in textile mills. He is a man of high character as well as attainment, 
holds the perfect confidence and respect of his associates, and takes a 
deep interest in Lowell's welfare. 

Born and educated in Germany, and there taught the theory of 
designing and weaving in a textile school, also serving an actual prac- 
tical apprenticeship in designing, Hermann H. Bachmann brought to the 
United States, in 1890, a fund of practical manufacturing knowledge, 
which at once gave him standing as a textile worker. The years 
1890-97 were spent as textile designer with the Parkill Manufacturing 
Company, of Fitchburg, Massachusetts. There he grafted upon the 
knowledge and skill brought from abroad the peculiar advantage of 
American methods and styles, becoming thoroughly proficient in his 
work. In 1897 he went to the F"itchburg Worsted Company, for one 
year; spent another year as designer with the Boston Button Com- 
pany ; was with the Lorraine Manufacturing Company of Pawtucket, 
Rhode Island, for nine years, as designer ; two years with the Smith 
Webbing Company, of the same city, as head designer. This brought 
him to the year 1910, and the beginning of his service as head in- 
structor in textile design, decorative art, fabric structure and weaving, 
at the Lowell Textile School, a position he has most ably filled, and 
yet holds. 

In the department of design, original, combined and applied design 
in weave and color and cloth analysis is taught ; in weaving, the mak- 
ing of cloth up to the finest and most varied fabric comes under Mr. 
Bachmann's dominion, and upon the correctness of his teaching de- 
pends in a measure the textile manufacturing greatness of the United 
States in the future, for many men sit under his instruction and go out 
to positions of responsibility. 

Mr. Bachmann married, in 1894, Fannie Otto, of German birth 
and parentage. They are the parents of two sons and two daughters : 
I. Helen F., married Raymond A. \\'ilson, a jeweler and stone setter 
of Providence, Rhode Island, and they are the parents of one son, 
Raymond Bachmann Wilson. 2. Walter, born August 26, 1897. 3. 
Gertrude, born February 10, 1899. 4. Alfred, born January 18, 1901. 



i84 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ALBERT B. CAMERON. 

Until eighteen years of age, Mr. Cameron remained with his par- 
ents at the home farm in Canada, building up a strong, healthy body, 
and acquiring an education. His life in Lowell dates from the year 
1889, his business experiences in the city covering a variety of occu- 
pations, and he began business for himself as a retail confectioner. 
As that business became firmly established, a wholesale department 
was added, and still later the manufacture of Quality ice cream was 
begun, the firm, Cameron Brothers, being now located at No. 155 Mid- 
dlesex street, the business as a partnership dating from 1898, when 
James Cameron was admitted a partner. The brothers are sons of 
Alexander Cameron, of Scotch descent, and Barbara (Smallman) 
Cameron, their father now deceased. 

Albert B. Cameron was born in Dundee, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, April 19, 1871. He attended the village school and worked 
on the farm as his father's assistant until 1889, then left home and 
came to the United States, finding employment in Lowell, with 
A. C. Stevens, a druggist. He was with Mr. Stevens as clerk for 
about one year, then with the C. I. Hood Company in their mailing 
department for three years. Having conserved his resources during 
the four years in Lowell, he was in possession of a small capital 
which, in 1893, he invested in a retail confectionery store at No. 155 
Middlesex street. This store, known as Cameron's Store, acquired 
a reputation for especially toothsome confections, and a good trade 
developed on special brands of his own. For five years Mr. Cameron 
conducted a profitable retail business then, feeling that a wholesale 
department would prove equally profitable, he admitted his brother, 
James Cameron, and organized as Cameron Brothers. This was in 
1898, and from that time they have been both wholesale and retail 
confectioners and ice-cream manufacturers. Cameron Brothers are 
agents for Lennox, Lowney's, and Schraft's chocolates, and in all 
their departments maintain a reputation for high grade goods. Mr. 
Cameron also conducts a retail store at the comer of Stevens and 
Pine streets, Lowell, the building occupied having been built by him 
for the business. 

Albert B. Cameron married, in Lowell, January 4, 1901, Cath- 
erine Brown, and they are the parents of a daughter. Hazel Barbara, 
and two sons. Earl Albert, and Kenneth Alexander. Mr. and Mrs. 
Cameron are members of Highland Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. 
Cameron is a member of the Lowell Board of Trade. He holds no 
club or fraternal memberships, his business and his family filling his 
life to the brim. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 185 

EMMANUEL G. SOPHOS. 

At the age of sixteen years Mr. Sophos, now a successful import- 
ing merchant of Lowell, Massachusetts, came from his native land of 
Greece to the United States, joining relatives in Lowell. This was 
in 1896. The young Greek being unacquainted with the language of 
the country to which he had come, and being the son of poor par- 
ents, brought little of this world's goods with him, but he possessed 
a strong body and a stout heart, was not afraid, and began at once 
to fit himself to his new surroundings. He has succeeded far beyond 
his own hopes, his energy and natural ability forming a perfect 
union, with the fuller, freer opportunities of this country. He fought 
his own way, and from the bottom he came to honorable position. 
Knowing his own struggles, he has a deep sympathy for others in 
like circumstances, and it is his greatest joy to aid some one whom 
he sees is working with might and main to help himself. But for 
the idler, he has nothing but contempt. He is a son of George E. 
and Catherine ( Beleses) Sophos, both living in Earakas, Greece, his 
father a farmer. One other member of the family, a sister, is in the 
United States, living in California, and John G. Sophos, a brother, 
now resides in Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Emmanuel G. Sophos was born in Earakas, Greece, September 
20, 1880, and until the age of twelve attended the village school. 
From twelve to sixteen he was employed in a grocery store, then 
having relations in Lowell, Massachusetts, he determined to join 
them. He landed in Xew York City in the Fall of 1896, remained 
there four days, then came to Lowell, which place has since been his 
home. In a few days he began working in the spinning room of mill 
No. 2, of the Tremont and Suffolk group, there remaining six years, 
until 1901. During this period he attended night school and pursued 
a course of study in English. In May, 1901, he started his present 
business, importing from Greece the products of that land coming 
under the head of groceries, and selling in wholesale quantities to 
the smaller dealers. These specialties, olive oil, cheese, etc., found 
ready market, and in the course of a few years he was compelled to 
enlarge his place of business. In 1908 he removed from the basement at 
No. 568 Market street, in which he started, to his present store at 
the corner of Adams and Salem streets. Imported olive oil is his 
principal specialty, and with imported groceries the volume of busi- 
ness he transacts is very large, his present quarters having recently 
been enlarged by the addition of two more stores. He is the only- 
importer of importance in his specialties in this city, and he has 
developed the business from a very small beginning. He is also a 
manufacturer of Greek style cheese, having cheese factories in dif- 



i86 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ferent parts of \'ermont, having started that line of manufacture 
very recently. He is the sole owner of the business he conducts 
under the name of E. G. Sophos, and in all the city no business is 
better conducted in all its departments. He is a member of the 
Lowell Board of Trade, the United Commercial Travelers' Associa- 
tion, and a member of the Orthodox Greek church. He is devoted 
to his business, but not selfishly, his hand ever ready to help any one 
in need of a lift over a hard place. 

Mr. Sophos married in Lynn, Massachusetts, September 2, 1906, 
Catherine C. Andrean, of Lynn, Massachusetts, a native of Greece. 
They are the parents of five children, three of whom are being edu- 
cated in the public schools : George E., Christo E., Georgia E., 
Alkeveadis E., and Helen E. Their home is at No. 98 Mount \'ernon 
street, Pawtucketville. 

Note. — The E. is for Emmanuel, the middle name of all his chil- 
dren, following the Greek custom, the children's middle name (all 
children) is the same as the father's first name. 



DANIEL J. DONAHUE. 

For thirty years a member of the Middlesex County Bar, ]\Ir. 
Donahue has in that period accumulated a vast fund of experience, 
and is an authority on local bar history. Of his own part in making 
the history of that bar from 1887, when he was admitted a novice, 
until the present, 1917, when he stands the veteran attorney, respected 
by all, he is loth to speak, but he is one of the men who have continued 
steadily in practice, and through industry and ability won honorable 
standing at a bar noted for its strong men. He is well known as a 
lawyer, with a wide reputation as a platform orator, lecturing on 
varied subjects of timely interest. He has been called in important 
cases far beyond the jurisdiction of the Middlesex courts, and in his 
platform work has faced audiences far and near. He is a native son 
of Erin, his parents, Daniel and Mary (Cole) Donahue, coming from 
County Kerry, in 1861, a year after the birth of their son, Daniel J. 
Donahue. They located in Lowell, Mr. Donahue entering the employ 
of the Boston and Lowell Railroad as a stationary engineer. He died 
in Lowell, Massachusetts, aged seventy-two years. He married Mary 
Cole, born in County Kerry, died in Lowell, aged seventy-five years. 

Daniel J. Donahue was born at Kerry, in the County of Iverry, 
Ireland, April 19, i860, and the next year was brought to Lowell, 
Massachusetts, by his parents, he knowing no other home. He was 
educated in the grade and high schools of the city, attended Lowell 
Commercial College for two years, then began life as a wage-earner, 
performing clerical work for seven years before definitely settling 






^ 



r.IOGRAnilCAL 187 

down to the study of law. He then entered Boston University Law 
School, lie was admitted to practice, August 7, 1887, he then having 
reached the age of twenty-seven. The spirit and energy which car- 
ried him through college nerved Jiim through those hard first years 
for every young law^-er, and in time he had a good practice estab- 
lished. With a foothold gained, he could not be denied, and has gone 
forward to a leading and honored position among the leaders of the 
Middlesex bar. The first thirteen years of his practice he was asso- 
ciated with W. F. Courtney, at one time city solicitor, and later mayor 
of Lowell. Since Mr. Courtney's death, in 1900, Mr. Donahue has 
retained the same office, No. 97 Central street, rooms 13-14, but has 
practiced alone until the present admission of his son. He is a mem- 
ber of the local and State bar associations, and highly esteemed by 
his brethren of the profession. A Democrat in politics, he has served 
the party as a campaign orator, and for four years was a member of 
the Lowell School Committee, serving as chairman the last two years. 
He is a member of the Central and Washington Social clubs, the 
Middlesex Lawyers' Club, the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, Loyal Order of Moose, and Longmeadow Golf Club. Mr. Don- 
ahue is a devout Catholic, belonging to Immaculate Conception 
Church. 

Mr. Donahue married, March 5, 1884, Katherine Donovan, of 
Lowell, daughter of Timothy Donovan, a veteran of the Civil War. 
Mr. and Mrs. Donahue are the parents of a son, Joseph P. Donahue, 
born October 19, 1890, who prepared in the Lowell High School : 
Dartmouth College, A. B., class of 191 3 ; Harvard Law School, LL. B., 
1916; now associated in practice with his father. He enlisted in the 
United States army, in 1918, infantry branch; was promoted to the 
rank of regimental sergeant major, and was a student at the Officers' 
Training Camp, at Camp Sherman, Ohio. 



JOHN MARCOPOULOS 

Partly upon the site of ancient Sparta, of which but scanty re- 
mains survive, lies the modern Sparta, a town of Greece, of about 
five thousand population, arisen since the Greek Revolution. This 
modern Sparta was the birthplace of John Marcopoulos, born Feb- 
ruary 27, 1883. He is the son of George and Diamanto (Giannaco- 
poulos) Marcopoulos, both natives of Sparta, Greece, his father a 
highly-educated man and land owner. The father's property lay near 
the town of Sparta, and was devoted to the growing of olives, the 
orchards being great in their extent. There were twelve children 
in the Alarcopoulos family, five of them coming to the United States, 
three of them vet living here. Dcmertrius, who later returned to 



i88 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Greece ; Christos, a prosperous grocer of Newton, Massachusetts ; 
Alexander, who settled in Los Angeles, California, where he died ; 
John, of further mention ; Catherine, wife of Apostolos A. Johnson, a 
cigarette manufacturer of Lowell, whose sketch follows this. 

John Marcopoulos attended the Sparta schools until the age of 
fifteen. In 1898 he came to the United States and found a home in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, where many of his countrymen had preceded 
him. Here he continued his studies in the public schools, finally 
accomplishing the full course and then attended the Lowell High 
School. This he supplemented by a special business course at the 
School of Commerce and Finance in Boston, then began his success- 
ful mercantile career. He began in 1905 as a dealer in fancy fruit, 
renting a store in the center of the "high rent" district at the corner 
of Merrimac square. After demonstrating the value of the location 
as a good one for a fruit store, he sold out at the end of a year, and 
in 1907 returned to his home in Greece. He remained in Sparta until 
the fall of 1909, then came again to the United States, locating in 
Newton, Massachusetts, where he conducted a grocery store, then 
sold out to enter a new line of business activity. He formed a part- 
nership with his brother-in-law, Apostolos A. Johnson, and under the 
firm name, A. A. Johnson & Company, began the manufacture of 
high-grade Turkish and Grecian cigarettes. They located their factory 
at No. 613 Merrimack street, Lowell, where they built up a fine trade, 
particularly on their Pygros brand of cigarettes. This cigarette has 
won the approval of the Greek taste, and in every New England city 
or town that boasts a Greek colony that cigarette is in heavy demand. 
The firm makes a specialty of blending tobaccos to suit the individual 
taste, and special brands are a popular item of their trade. A. A. 
Johnson & Company, as well as the individual partners, operate in 
real estate considerably, and have been successful in wisely choosing 
locations in which to invest. By foreclosure the firm came into pos- 
session of the propert}', Nos. 507-51 1-5 13-515 Market street, Lowell, 
in the very center of the Greek Colony, part of this property being 
operated as a cafe at the time of foreclosure and since. 

John Marcopoulos is president of the Greek Progressive Union of 
Lowell, is a member of the Orthodox Greek church, is secretary of 
the Pan Hellenic Union, and one of the prominent and progressive 
young Greeks of the Lowell Colony. In politics he has affiliated with 
the Republican party. 



APOSTOLOS A. JOHNSON. 

In 1898 Apostolos A. Johnson and John Marcopoulos came from 
Greece, and in the United States formed the partnership, A. A. John- 





•-i2-^^<2-o-t<_— 



BIOGRAPHICAL 189 

son & Company, manufacturers of Pygros cigarettes, with factory on 
Merrimack street, Lowell, Massachusetts. The two men are connected 
by both business and family ties, being brothers-in-law. 

Apostolos A. Johnson was born in Greece, in 1874, was there 
educated, and spent the first twenty-four years of his life becoming 
familiar with the drug business and acquiring a good education in 
excellent Greek institutions of learning. In 1898 he came to the 
United States, spending one year in New York City, in a Greek res- 
taurant. In 1899 he came to Lowell and for twelve years was owner 
and proprietor of a drug store on Market street. This business was a 
profitable one, but after his brother-in-law, John Marcopoulos, arrived 
at legal age he admitted him a partner and later began the manufac- 
ture of cigarettes. In 1912 the partners sold their drug business and 
gave their entire attention to their cigarette factory, that business 
having become a very important one. In 1914 (Jeorge Gazolas, pro- 
prietor of the Cosmopolitan Cafe and Restaurant, went into bank- 
ruptcy, A. A. Johnson & Company taking over the business to protect 
themselves from loss. This business they yet retain, operating it 
under the firm name. The firm is also interested in Lowell real estate, 
and have built up a good business reputation. 

Mr. Johnson married, in Lowell, in 1903, Catherine Marcopoulos, 
a sister of John Marcopoulos, his business partner, the latter born in 
Greece, in 1885, and came to the United States in 1898. Mr. and Mrs. 
Johnson reside at No. 41 Mt. Vernon street, Lowell. 



ASSADOUR H. KLUDJIAN, M. D. 

In Antioch, a city and the ancient capital of Syria, founded 300 
B. C, and one of the chief centers of early Christianity, Dr. Kludjian 
first saw the light, and was there living when the city was visited by 
a severe earthquake in 1872, although but four years of age. His 
father, Hagop Kludjian, an Armenian, was born in Antioch in 1822, 
died at Ueurt Yol, Asiatic Turkey, in 1873. He married Elizabeth 
Derderian, born in Antioch in 1835, died at Deurt Yol, in 1895. They 
were the parents of Assadour H., of further mention; Abraham, Hov- 
hanness, Housep, Yesaye, Michael, and a daughter Nouri. 

Dr. Assadour H. Kludjian was born March 12, 1868, and when 
young was taken by his parents from his native Antioch to Deurt 
Yol, there obtaining his preparatory education. Later he entered 
Central Turkey College at Aintab, a town of Asiatic Turkey, on the 
southern slope of Mount Taurus, about sixty miles from Alleppo. 
Aintab is the great center of American missionary and educational 
work, the college above referred to being under American control 
and supported by the missionary funds. There Dr. Kludjian re- 



190 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

mained until nineteen years of age, taking a preliminary course of 
medical study in connection with his classical course. He came to 
the United States in 1889. and in that year entered Baltimore Medical 
College. In 1894 he received his degree of M. D., and until 1897 was 
an interne in New York City hospitals. In 1897 he moved to Boston 
and began practice in that city, locating offices on Huntington avenue, 
and there remaining until 1900, in which year he determined to return 
to his old home in Asiatic Turkey and practice his profession among 
his people, but after arriving in Turkey he found that political con- 
ditions were such that he would not be allowed to practice as he in- 
tended, and two years later he returned to the United States, and 
again located in Boston. He continued in practice there eight years, 
1902-1910, then moved to Lowell, ^lassachusetts, opening offices at 
No. loi Gorham street, and there ministers to a large clientele. He 
became a naturalized citizen in New York City, in 1895. and in political 
faith has been ever allied with the Republican party. He is a member 
of Ancient York Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, National Geo- 
graphic Society, Masonic Club of Lowell, and of Kirk Street Congre- 
gational Church. 

Dr. Kludjian was married in New York City, April 15, 1907, to 
Vartouhie Girogosian, born in Constantinople, Turkey, and educated 
in an English College. She is a fluent linguist, speaking Greek, Turk- 
ish, Armenian, French, German and English. For ten years she was 
secretary of the Christian Endeavor Society of Wisbech, England, 
and also private secretary to a sister of Lord Reckover for the same 
period. She is a daughter of Hegpos Girogosian, an M. D., educated 
in the United States, a graduate of New York Homoeopathic College, 
practicing his profession in Turkey, where he died in 1896, aged fifty- 
three. His wife died at the age of thirty-eight years. Dr. and Mrs. 
Kludjian are the parents of two children: Araxie P., born April 2, 
1908: and Haig H., born August 9, 1909. 



FRANCIS CABOT LOWELL. 

Of this name and memory our city is a monument. His connec- 
tion with the manufacturing business will not be understood without 
some brief sketch of the progress of that business in New England. 

The Beverly Cotton Factory was the first in this country to 
engage in the manufacture of cotton. It was organized in 1787, with 
a capital of £90,000 sterling. The Messrs. Cabots, Thorndike, Fisher 
of Beverly, and Henry Higginson of Boston, were its chief proprietors. 
John Cabot and Joshua Fisher were appointed agents for the manage- 
ment of its concerns. It continued in operation upwards of fifteen 
years, making corduroys, bed-tickings, cotton velvets — durable and 



J 



BIOGRAPHICAL 191 

approved fabrics; yet the business was not ])rofitahIe, the loss having 
been as great as ninety cents on the dollar. 

Samuel Slater came from England in November, 1789. In Decem- 
ber, 1790, he established a small factory at Pawtucket, near Provi- 
dence, Rhode Island. In 17()3 another factory was built by Messrs. 
Brown, Almy, and Slater, in Pawtucket, in which they set in motion. 
July 12 of that year, seventy-two spindles. P'or many years the 
progress of the business was very slow, and as late as January, 1807, 
there were but four thousand spindles in operation in Pawtucket and 
its neighborhood. These supplied yarns for hand weaving, and the cloth 
that was made was almost entirely of family manufacture. At that 
time the country received nearly all its cotton cloth from Great Brit- 
ain and the East Indies. In 1807-08 there were imported from Cal- 
cutta 53.000,000 yards, principally of course cotton goods, and worth, 
as prices were then, over $12,000,000. In 1810 there were made in all 
the factories in the United States, as appears by returns made by order 
of Mr. Gallatin, then Secretary of the Treasury, only 856,046 yards of 
cotton cloth. This is not so many yards as four of the establishments 
in Lowell can nnw | 1S46) turn out in one week. The whole number 
of yards made in the United States in that year was 16,581, 2()9. Of 
this, 15,724,654 yards were of family manufacture, scj imperfect was 
the machinery then in use. The weaving of the yarn alone cost double 
the whole process of making the fabric, after the introduction of the 
power-loom in 1815. 

Francis Cabot Lowell, son of Hon. John Lowell. LL. 1)., and a 
grandson of the Rev. John Lowell, of Newburyport, was born in that 
town, in 1774. He was graduated at Harvard College in 1793. In a 
memoir of Mr. Lowell's son, John Lowell, Jr., the founder of that 
course of lectures in Boston known as the Lowell Institute, Mr. Ed- 
ward Everett thus writes (Memoir, prefixed to first volume of "Lowell 
Lectures." by John Gorham Palfrey) : 

In 1910 ;\Ir. b'rancis Cabot Lowell was induced to visit England 
with his family, on account of the state of his health. The vast im- 
portance of manufacturing industry as a source of national wealth, 
was no doubt impressed with new force upon his mind in consequence 
of his observations in that country, and some branches of manufac- 
tures were examined by him with care, but it is not known that he 
paid particular attention to that of cotton. On his return home ami 
shortly after the commencement of the War of 181 2, Mr. Lowell was 
so strongly convinced of the ])racticability of establishing that manu- 
facture in the United States, that he proposed to a kinsman and friend 
(Patrick Tracy Jackson) to make the experiment on an ample scale. 
The original project only contemplated the weaving of cotton by 
machinery. The power loom, although it had been for some time 
invented in England, was far less used in that country, in proportion 



192 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

to the quantity of cotton spun, than at the present day, and was wholly 
unknown in the United States. After deliberation, the enterprise was 
resolved upon. A model of a common loom was procured by Mr. 
Lowell and his friend — both equally ignorant of the practical details 
of the mode in which the power loom was constructed — and their joint 
attention was bestowed on the reinvention of that machine. The 
winter of 1812-13 was passed at Waltham, where a water-power had 
been purchased, in bringing the loom to perfection. On being com- 
pleted, it was found to answer the purpose so completely, as to warrant 
the immediate construction, on the same plan, of all the looms needed 
for the establishment. 

These were the first power looms that were brought into suc- 
cessful operation in this country. They were the invention, as is stated 
above, of Messrs. Lowell and Jackson, which the genius of Paul 
Moody supplied. Power looms had been invented in this country prior 
to that of Lowell and Jackson's, and no less than twenty-five models 
had been patented in Washington at the time they set theirs up. But 
theirs was the first that wove cloth to any considerable amount. A 
machine upon which he had spent so much time and thought, was 
naturally an object of interest to Mr. Lowell. A friend of his, once 
finding him almost wholly lost in thought, while intently surveying 
the model, asked him what he could find in the machine which 
absorbed so much of his attention. Mr. Lowell replied, "That he had 
been reflecting upon the immense results which that piece of mech- 
anism was destined to work out, and that he would make the predic- 
tion that within fifty years cotton cloth would be sold for fourpence a 
yard." At a time when ten cents was paid per yard for weaving alone 
and the cloth cost thirty-three cents per yard, this prediction was 
regarded as the effusion of an enthusiast. It is needless to add that 
the prophecy has been literally fulfilled. 

In a speech made in the Massachusetts House of Representatives 
in January, 1828, Mr. Nathan Appleton, referring to the successful 
efforts of Mr. Lowell, has the following brief but emphatic sentence: 
"Seldom has a mind of so much science been turned to this subject, 
and never was a triumph more complete.'" 

In consequence, however, of the ill success which had attended 
previous attempts, the public feeling was strong against any further 
manufacturing efiforts. It is stated by Henry Lee, Esq., of Waltham, 
in one of a series of interesting articles contributed by him to the 
Boston "Daily Advertiser," 1830, that when Mr. Lowell first made the 
proposal to engage in the business, "many of his nearest connections 
used all their influence to dissuade him from the pursuit of what they 
deemed a visionary and dangerous scheme. These, too, were among 
those who knew, or thought they knew, the full strength of his mind. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 193 

the accuracy of his calculations, his industry, patience and persever- 
ance, and, withal, his power and influence over others whose aid was 
essential to his success ; they still thought him mad, and did not 
recover from that error till they themselves had lost their own senses, 
of which they evinced symptoms at least, by shortly purchasing- into 
the business of this visionary schemer at thirty, forty, fifty, and even 
sixty per cent, advance." From the memoir by Mr. Everett, we again 
quote : 

Mr. Francis Cabot Lowell repaired to Washington in the winter 
of 1816: and, in confidential intercourse with some of the leading 
members of Congress, he fixed their attention on the importance, the 
prosi)ects, and the danger of the cotton manufacture, and the policy 
of shielding it from foreign competition by legislative protection. 
Constitutional objections at that time were unheard of. The Middle 
States, under the lead of Pennsylvania, were strong in the manufac- 
turing interest. The West was about equally divided. The New 
England States, attached from the settlement of the country to com- 
mercial and navigating pursuits, were less disposed to embark in a 
new policy, which was thought adverse to some branches of foreign 
trade with India, from which the supp!)' of coarse cottons was prin- 
cipally derived. The planting States, and eminently South Carolina, 
then represented by several gentlemen of distinguished ability, held 
the balance between the rival interests. To the planting interest it 
was demonstrated by Mr. Lowell that by the establishment of the 
cotton manufacture in the United States the southern planter would 
greatly increase his market. He would furnish the raw material for 
all those American fabrics which should take the place of manufac- 
tures imported from India, or partly made in England from India 
cotton. He would thus, out of his own produce, be enabled to pay- 
for all the supplies which he required from the north. This simple 
and conclusive view of the subject prevailed, and determined a ])or- 
tion of the South to throw its weight into the scale in favor of a 
protective tariff. The minimum duty on cotton fabrics, the corner- 
stone of the system, was proposed by Mr. Lowell, and is believed to 
be an original conception on his part. It was recommended by Mr. 
Lowndes ; it was advocated by Mr. Calhoun, and was incorporated 
into the law of 1816. To this provision of law, the fruit of the intelli- 
gence and influence of Mr. Lowell, New England owes that branch of 
industry which has made her amends for the diminution of her foreign 
trade ; which has kept her prosperous under the exhausting drain of 
her population to the West ; which has brought a market for his agri- 
cultural produce to the farmer's door; and, which, while it has con- 
ferred these blessings on this part of the country, has been productive 
of good and nothing but good to every portion of it. For these public 
benefits — than which none, not directly connected with the establish- 
ment of our liberties, are of a higher order or of a more comprehensive 
scope — the people of the United States are indebted to Mr. Francis 
Cabot Lowell : and in conferring his name upon the noble city of 
the arts in our neighborhood, a monument not less appropriate than 

L— 13 



104 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

honorable has been reared to his memory. What memorial of great 
public benefactor so becoming as the bestowal of his name upon a 
prosperous community which has started, as it were, from the soil, 
at the touch of his wand? Pyramids and mausoleums may crumble 
to earth, and brass and marble mingle with the dust they cover, but the 
pure and well deserved renown, which is thus incorporated with the 
busy life of an intelligent people, will be remembered, till the long 
lapse of ages and the vicissitudes of fortune shall reduce all of America 
to oblivion and decay. — (From "Lowell," by Rev. Henry A. Miles, 
1846. The following narratives concerning Kirk Boott, Paul Moody, 
Warren Colburn and Luther Lawrence are from the same volume). 

Mr, Lowell died in 1817, at the age of forty-three. 



KIRK BOOTT. 



The early history of Lowell is a history of the services of this 
gentleman. It received the deep impress of his character, and is more 
indebted to his energy and great business talents than to those of any 
other individual. He was here when the first mill was erected, super- 
intending the interests of the Merrimack Company, and was appointed 
to the agency of the Locks and Canals, upon the reorganization of 
that corporation in 1825. From that time to his death he was the 
master spirit of the place, laying out plans for the extension of its 
works, devoting the powers of a strong and cultivated mind to its 
prosperity, and observing the highest satisfaction every step it took 
towards the great city to which he lived to see it attain. 

Mr. Boott was born in Boston, in 1791. At an early age he was 
sent to England, and for some time was a memljer of the Rugby 
School, afterward made celebrated by the late Dr. Arnold. On his 
return he entered Harvard College, but did not remain long enough 
to receive a degree. Choosing a military profession, his father obtained 
for him a commission in the English army, with which Mr. Boott was 
connected about five years. He served in the Peninsular War under 
the Duke of W^ellington, and commanded a detachment at the siege of 
San Sebastian in July, 1813. After this his regiment was ordered to 
New Orleans to serve against the United States in the war then 
existing between the two countries. Mr. Boott obtained leave to 
withdraw and entered a military academy, where he obtained a 
thorough knowledge of the arts which were afterwards of such eminent 
service to him, engineering and surveying. Upon the death of his 
father, in 1817, Mr. Boott returned to Boston and entered into business 
with his brothers. He did not long remain in this employment ; and 
the summer of 1821 found him at leisure. Then occurred one of those 
incidents which, though they appear chance and trifling at the time. 



I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



195 



often give direction and shape to a man's life. Passing a day at 
Nahant, in companj' with Patrick T. Jackson, the latter gentleman 
expressed great delight in having even that brief respite from his 
numerous and pressing cares. Mr. Boott expressed a wish that he had 
cares too, and offered to accept any post of service which Mr. Jackson 
might assign him. The conversation soon resulted in an offer to Air. 
Boott of the superintendence of the new works at East Chelmsford. 
In the autumn of that year Mr. Boott visited the place. In the suc- 
ceeding spring he came to Lowell to reside, and from that time gave 
his whole strength and zeal to promote the prosperitv of the new 
village and town. He watched its growth with a paternal interest, 
resolving here to live and die. 

It is impossible to present any extended account of his services. 
As a man of prompt business habits, of great power to manage men 
and to grasp and master extensive and complicated details, rarely has 
he been excelled. Naturally of a strong and impetuous will, he made 
everything yield to the perseverance and energy of his character. It 
is related that once in his absence, his workmen finding it difficult to 
make a current of water flow in a desired channel, it was proposed 
that Mr. Boott's hat and walking stick should be brought and laid on 
the bank, they feeling sure that even the water would obey. At the 
same time, by his high sense of honor, his lofty integrity, his quick 
perception and decided practice of what was just and right, he had 
always a respect and affections of those he employed. Towards the 
close of his life, the mechanics of Lowell had a full length portrait of 
Air. Boott taken by Harding, which was placed in their Hall. In 
whatever situation Air. Boott was found, as representative of Lowell 
in the Legislature, as undertaking more of the company's cares than 
any other two men could meet, or as its agent abroad to procure 
skillful artisans, for which purpose he once or twice visited England, 
he proved himself fully competent to his post. His constitution was 
impaired by a long camp sickness while in the army, and by a spinal 
complaint from which he suffered many years, and of which he finally 
died. On the morning of April 11, 1S37, he dropped dead from his 
chaise. 



PAUL MOODY. 

When the history of the progress of mechanical invention in this 
country shall be written, the name of Paul Aloody will be honored as 
one of the chief men in this line of distinction. He was born in New- 
bury, in 1777. He was engaged in the manufacturing business in 
Amesbury, in partnership with Air. Ezra Worthen. In 1814 he 



196 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

removed to Waltham, and rendered the most valuable assistance in 
starting the first mill in that town. A few anecdotes, illustrative of 
his talents and success, will constitute the only notice of his life 
which can here be taken. 

Mr. Moody supplied an important movement in the power loom 
invented by Messrs. Lowell and Jackson, to which that machine owed 
its successful operation. He invented what is called the "dead 
spindle," which was introduced at Waltham, and is still used. The 
Rhode Island machinery employed the "live spindle" copied from the 
English. The product of the former is greater, though it requires 
more power. About the time of starting their mill at Waltham, 
Lowell and Moody went to Taunton, Massachusetts, to procure a 
machine for winding and filling upon the bobbin. Just as the former 
gentleman was concluding a contract for these machines, Mr. Moody 
suggested that if they would return to Waltham without them, he 
thought he could invent a machine to spin the yarn upon the bobbin 
in the same conical form in which the winder put it on, and thus 
supersede the necessity of the intervention of that machine. Upon 
their return he invented what is called "the filling frame," a machine 
which he at once perfected, and which is still in use. Near the same 
time Mr. Lowell told Mr. Moody that they must have a "governor" 
to regulate the speed of their wheels. This was an apparatus of which 
Mr. Moody had never heard, and the only information concerning it 
which his friend could supply was that, having seen one in England, 
he remembered that there were two iron balls suspended on two rods, 
connected at one end like a pair of tongs. When the wheels were in 
too rapid motion these balls were driven apart, and produced a partial 
closing of the water gate ; when, on the other hand, their motion was 
slow, the balls approached each other and effected a greater opening 
of the gate by which an increased motion was produced. This con- 
versation was held in Boston, at Mr. Lowell's house. The gentlemen 
separated with an understanding that a "governor" should be forth- 
with ordered from England. Mr. Moody, on his ride to Waltham, 
could not get those balls out of his mind. They were flying round 
in his brain the whole of that day and night. The next morning he 
went to the shop, and chalked out the plan of some wheels, which he 
ordered to be made. Not long after this Mr. Lowell was at Waltham, 
and Mr. Moody inquired if the "governor" had been ordered from 
England. On learning that it had not, Mr. Moody produced the "gov- 
ernor" which he had made. It was set up in the mill, and that iden- 
tical one was in use until 1832. The "governors" now used are all 
copied from that. Mr. Moody, with the assistance of Mr. Lowell, was 
the inventor of the "double speeder." The machine was set in opera- 



I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 197 

tion at Waltham, and was patented. Some time after this the patent 
right was infringed upon by some mechanics who had worked upon 
the machine at Waltham, and a prosecution ensued. The case was 
tried before Judge Story, and was argued by Mr. Webster. The late 
Mr. Bowditch, then of Salem, was requested to examine the principles 
both of the original and the imitated machines, in order to appear as 
witness at the trial. Mr. Bowditch was afterward heard to say that his 
mind had been more severely taxed, for the "double speeder" required 
for its construction the greatest mathematical power of any piece of 
mechanism with which he had become acquainted. The idea of this 
machine originated with Mr. Moody, but the mathematical regulations 
necessary for its construction were made by Mr. Lowell. Beside the 
"double speeder," the Waltham Company patented a spinning frame, 
dressing frame, and warper, all the invention of Mr. Moody. It is an 
evidence of the great value attached to Mr. Moody's services that 
when in 1823 he went to Lowell, taking with him models and 
mechanics from Waltham, the company in the latter place was remu- 
nerated for the loss, by the payment to them of $100,000. 

Mr. Moody was at the head of the machine shop in I-owell until 
the time of his death, July 7, 183 1. No man could be more valuable in 
the place he filled, not only in his great talent in inventing, but by a 
rare tact in arranging and combining machinery in convenient, econ- 
omical, and effective forms. Modest and unpretending, a "born gen- 
tleman" in his manners, as one called him, and of the strictest integ- 
rity of character, he was greatly esteemed while living, and was much 
mourned when dead. Had he lived in England, he would have won 
for himself some of the highest honors which that country is prompt 
to bestow u])on the inventive genius. 



WARREN COLBURN. 



Nine years of Mr. Colburn's life were spent in Lowell as superin- 
tendent of the Merrimack Manufacturing Company. He was born in 
Dedham, in 1793, and for several years was a practical mechanic in 
that town. Under the impulse of a strong thirst for knowledge, he 
commenced rather late in life and in struggle with untoward circum- 
stances, preparation for Harvard University, which he entered at the 
age of twenty-four. He graduated from that institution in 1820. 
While there he developed that fondness for mathematical studies 
which constituted a remarkable feature of his mind, and as an under- 
graduate read through a considerable part of the great work of 
Laplace. For a few years he taught a school for boys in Boston, and 
while thus engaged wrote and published the well known works on 



198 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Arithmetic which revolutionized the system of elementary instruc- 
tion in that science. 

In April of 1823 Mr. Colburn went to Waltham to take charge of 
the upper mills in that town ; but in a little more than a year he was 
invited to Lowell, to fill the office made vacant by the death of Mr. 
Worthen. While in Lowell, Mr. Colburn prepared and published his 
work on Algebra. His deep interest in the subject of education led 
him to take an active part in the care of the public schools of the 
town ; and by his labors, in connection with those of the first minister 
of Lowell, was an excellent system of public instruction matured and 
established. A man of great mechanical skill, Mr. Colburn introduced 
many new improvements and applications of power, by which he 
rendered important service to the manufacturing interest. Rarely 
has it happened to any one. by a spirit of truest benevolence, by 
peculiar charms of social intercourse, and a manifestation of high 
moral worth, to leave a deeper impress, not only on the minds of 
friends by whom he was beloved, but in those wider circles in which 
he had his walk in life. Mr. Colburn died September 13, 1833. 



LUTHER LAWRENCE. 



During the last eight years of his life Mr. Lawrence was a citizen 
of Lowell, and although not directly connected with manufacturing 
interests, he exerted an important influence in the growth and pros- 
perity of the place, as a man of public spirit, as president of the Rail- 
road Bank, and the second mayor of the city, in which office he died. 
He was born in Groton, September 28, 1778, graduated at Harvard 
College in 1801, and entered into successful professional practice in 
his native town, where he held various offices of honor and trust. In 
1831 he removed to Lowell. In 1838 he was elected mayor of the 
city, the duties of which he discharged with great fidelity and success. 
Soon after his re-election in 1839, his life was suddenly terminated by 
a fall. By a slight trip of his foot he was precipitated into the wheel 
pit of a mill, which produced almost instantaneous death, April 17, 



ROBERT MEANS. 

To the names oi men whom Lowell has occasion to remember 
with honor and gratitude, may be added that of Robert Means, the 
late agent of the Suffolk Manufacturing Company. Mr. Means was 
born in Amherst, New Hampshire, was graduated at Bowdoin College 
in 1807, studied law in the office of Hon. Jeremiah Mason, then of 




{^AjI'cI^haJ^ M/ {£)oiyuAAi^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 199 

Portsmouth, New llariipshire, and was for many years in the practice 
of his profession in his native town. He removed to Lowell in 1831, 
to take charge of the SuiTolk Mills, in which station he remained until 
his death, September 27, 1842. Mr. Means was a gentleman in the 
true English sense of that word ; and left a remembrance of his line 
personal appearance, of his courtly manners, anfl high moral influence. 



FREDERICK WILLIAM COBURN. 

Frederick William Coburn was born at Nashua, New Hampshire, 
August 6, 1870, the oldest son of Frank and Susan (Whitney) Coburn. 
He is descended in the following line from Edward Colborne (or 
Coburn), first settler of Dracut, whose house, in the Pawtuckctville 
district of Lowell, is still standing: Edward^ ; Thomas-; Josiah^ ; 
Simon* ; Simon-'' ; George Washington* ; Frank". Through the mar- 
riage of Mary, daughter of Major-General Joseph Bradley Varnum, 
to Brigadier-General Simon' Coburn, he is descended from Samuel 
Varnum, whose lands in Dracut were adjacent to those of Edward 
Colburne. Simon-* Coburn was a second lieutenant in the Revolution. 
Simon'' Coljurn rose through the successive grades in the Massachu- 
setts volunteer militia to be a brigadier-general, and was "on call" 
during the war of 1812, though he saw no active service. ( )ii his 
mother's side, ]\lr. Coburn comes from John Whitney, the emigrant, 
who settled at Watertown, and whose royal lineage is interestingly 
traced in the Whitney genealogy prepared through the initiative of 
the late William C. Whitney, of New York, and cjther members of the 
Whitney family. 

His parents, whose stay in Xashua was only temporary, removed 
to Lowell when Frederick W. Coburn was two years old. He was 
educated in the public schools of that city, and was graduated from 
the local high school in 1888. winning one of the six Carney medals 
annually awarded to the best students of the senior class. He entered 
Harvard College with credit in six subjects, and completed the under- 
graduate course in three years. He took highest second year honors 
in classics, and final honors in classics at graduation in i8oi- 

Mr. Coburn had expected to return to Harvard fcir further study, 
but an opportunity to teach at the Friends' School, Washington, D. C, 
changed his plans. He was there three years. In his second year at 
Washington he registered as an afternoon and evening pupil at the 
Art Students' League of Washington, where he had inspiring instruc- 
tion in drawing and composition from Edward C. Messer, R. X. 
Brooke and Harold McDonald. By their advice, in the autumn of 
1894, he entered the .Art Students' League of Xew York, where during 



200 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

several years of more or less interrupted study he had as masters 
Douglas Volk, George DeForest Brush, Kenyon Cox and others. In 
1895 Mr. Coburn married Grace Mollison Denton, of Albany, New 
York, and simultaneously began teaching at the school of the Ethical 
Culture Society of New York, of which his League instructor, Mr. 
Volk, was one of the directors. This connection continued during five 
years, in which Mr. Coburn attended Mr. Brush's evening life class at 
the League, and for two years served as secretary of its board of gov- 
ernors. 

The publication of several articles on subjects connected with the 
fine arts and with pedagogy, led to Mr. Coburn's taking an editorial 
position, in 1900, with E. L. Kellogg & Company, educational pub- 
lishers. New York City. While there, besides writing extensively 
for the five periodicals issued by the firm, he prepared two small 
books, one of plans for rural school houses, the other on schoolroom 
decoration. A series of special articles on the fundamentals of art 
teaching, written for the Prang Educational Company, led to an invita- 
tion to assist John S. Clark, then managing head of the firm, at the 
Boston office, upon a revision of the Prang textbooks for elementary 
schools. This connection was terminated by the completion of the 
work in the summer of 1902, though Mr. Coburn later assisted in the 
preparation of the Prang Company's important book for high schools. 

He had in the meantime written a number of special articles for 
the Boston "Evening Transcript" and was beginning to find a market 
for his articles elsewhere. In January, 1903, he became simultaneously, 
art critic of the Boston "Herald" and a writer of special advertising 
literature for the Publicity Bureau of Boston. His work since then 
has been that of a general writer of newspaper and magazine articles, 
covering a very wide range of subjects. With two brief interruptions, 
he has contributed a weekly review of the fine arts in Boston to the 
"Sunday Herald" since 1903. He has reviewed many books in this 
field for "The Nation." He has had special articles in the "Atlantic 
Monthly," the "Review of Reviews," the "Outlook," the "World's 
Work," the "World To-day," "Harper's Weekly," the "Burlington 
Magazine," the "International Studio," the "American Magazine of 
Art," and many others. In 1912 he served as managing editor and 
principal contril)utor of the "American Business Encyclopedia" (pub- 
lished by the J. B. Millet Company, Boston), having as his editors-in- 
chief the late John D. Long, some time Secretary of the Navy, and 
Dr. \\'illiam P. Wilson, director of the Philadelphia Commercial 
Museum. For some years past jMr. Coburn has been press represen- 
tative of the New England Conservatory of Music, and editor of its 
monthly bulletin of school and alumni news. In the summer of 1918. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 201 

through the resignation of Lewis E. MacBrayne to become director 
of war gardens of New York State, a vacancy was created in the man- 
aging editor's ofifice of the Lowell "Courier-Citizen," and Mr. Coburn, 
by invitation of his old friend, Philip S. Marden, editor of the paper, 
undertook the work of associate editor, spending three days each week 
at Lowell and contributing editorials by mail on the other days. This 
position he holds at the present writing, continuing his work for the 
"Sunday Herald" and the New England Conservatory of Music. 

Mr. Coburn is secretary of the Copley Society of Boston (orig- 
inally the Boston Art Students' Association), whose loan exhibitions 
and other activities are internationally famous. He is on the board 
of directors of the Lowell Art Association. He is a member of the 
executive committee of the Fabian Club of Boston, his interest in 
socialism dating back to college days when he became familiar with 
the then newly published Fabian Essays, and a lifelong admirer of 
George Bernard Shaw. 

He belongs to no other organizations except the Winchester Boat 
Club, and he has no church or political afifiliations. His residence 
from 1903 until the summer of 1917 was at Winchester; since then, at 
4 Arlington street, Cambridge. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Coburn arc: Selena \"arnum 
Coburn, an art student, and Eric Denton Coburn, U. S. N. 

NOTK — In addition to these activities, Mr. Coliurn has written the present 
work. "Hi.story of l.owell." a most interesting narrative, on a higher plane than 
most local histories, and amone whose unusual features may be named the 
chapters on "Literary Lowell." and "Art and Artists." — The Editor. 



CHARLES HOVEY. 

The following is taken from a memento of Charles Hovey, read 
November 7, 1889, by James S. Russell : 

In July, 1832. a country boy, born in the neighboring town of 
Acton, but then living in Cambridgeport, embarked on board a packet 
boat on the Middlesex canal, on his way to Lowell, to commence the 
service of an apothecary's apprentice. A friend of the family had 
engaged the place for him, and introduced him to his future master. 
Till then the boy and master were total strangers to each other. Only 
those who have had like experiences away from home for the first 
time, only fourteen years of age, among strangers, in a strange busi- 
ness and subordinate to older apprentices, can appreciate the trials 
and home sickness of this lad. To enable me to imagine how he passed 
the long, tedious years to the remote time when he should be released 
from his servitude and became a free man, I have fortunately been per- 
mitted to read a diary kept by him the last six months of his appren- 
ticeship. It exhibits so free, frank and honest an expression of his 



202 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

mind that it is with the greatest satisfaction that I speak of the sub- 
jects that attracted my special notice. At the beginning of the book 
he states, his object is to improve his handwriting and acquire a facil- 
ity in writing his thoughts. At the end of the ninety-third and last 
page, he reflects that he cannot claim to have improved his handwrit- 
ing, whatever other advantages he may have gained. His writing on 
the earlier pages was excellent and very much like that of his later 
years. But later, there is appearance of hurry. He often speaks of 
being too tired to write after ten o'clock at night and a hard day's 
work. His room also is too cold for writing. He always has a reason 
to offer if he should omit his page of an evening. His style was plain 
and forcible; his language was good, grammatical and well spelled. 
In after life he indulged frequently in writing for the press; he had 
an extensive correspondence, and he presented numerous and valu- 
able papers before the Old Residents' Association, as you well know. 
Without doubt, his diary writing had a marked influence upon his lit- 
erary habits. The diary shows his commendable solicitude for the 
welfare of his parents. The brothers combined to build a house for 
them. Charles was able, from his scanty savings, to furnish $200 for 
that object. He manifested great interest in the progress of the build- 
ing, its final completion and occupation. His family affections were 
kept alive by constant correspondence, chiefly through his younger 
brother, Albert, who resided at home with his parents. 

Another revelation of his diary was his care of his personal char- 
acter. He frequently resolves to be strictly honest and faithful in the 
service of his Master, hoping thereby to deserve well of Him in the 
future. He resolves to be cautious of the company he keeps, to avoid 
certain young lady acquaintances, because he has seen them in the 
company of some young men whose characters were not agreeable to 
him. He laments his lack of decision of character, inability to say no, 
and resolves to strive for that ability. If his father had had more deci- 
sion, refusing to endorse for others, he might have been independent. 
He would never indorse beyond one-fourth of his ready means, and 
that not until he had $20,000 at command. He cultivated a taste for 
flowers, and enjoyed excursions with intelligent friends in search for 
them. He conceived a favorable idea of double entry bookkeeping, 
studied the subject and resolved to keep his own books in that way 
when he should be in business for himself. Indeed, he strove for self 
improvement in various ways ; in mental culture as well as in the 
technical knowledge of his business. He early anticipated engaging 
in business for himself, and meant to qualify himself for successful 
pursuit of it. He counted the days to the time when he should be a 
free man, and perhaps be taken into partnership by his master, for 
he foresaw his necessary connection with the concern. If disappointed 



I 

I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 203 

here, he would not follow the example of another apothecary of his 
acquaintance, who got married. Ijought a house, set up business with 
small means and burst up in a few months. He was not disappointed, 
however ; his long and faithful service, and his knowledge of the busi- 
ness made him necessary to the establishment, and he was taken into 
partnership on favorable terms. No other security than his own 
promise, without endorser, was required to install him the owner of 
a third of the stock and business. 

Mr. Hove)- was born and educated in a Baptist family, and when 
he came to Lowell he was so well grounded in sound principles that 
his good moral character was well insured. He probably knew no 
other mode of worship than that of his family. But his master, a 
member, officer and constant attendant at St. Anne's Church, to be 
sure that his apprentice attended church on Sundays, provided for his 
attendance where he could look after him. Mr. Hovey imitated his 
master in this particular. It was not done in a proselyting spirit, 
though I have heard such motives attributed to him, probably from 
the fact that most of these boys became attached to the church ; and 
several of them became the staunchest of churchmen. Mr. Hovey was 
a consistent prayer-book churchman, a constant attendant at church, 
and many years superintendent of the Sunday school. He succeeded 
Mr. Carleton as treasurer, and member of the vestry, and held those 
offices as long as he lived, and his memorial tablet occupies a conspicu- 
ous position upon the walls of the church. The knowledge of his char- 
acter and zeal as a churchman was not limited to St. Anne's people. 
He had familiar acquaintance with the bishops and many of the clergy 
of the church. He was clerk and treasurer of the corporation of St. 
Mark's Episcopal School of Southborough, Massachusetts, from its 
beginning until his death. He gave to the trustees of donations of the 
Epipcopal church a liberal lot of land on Holywood Hill for an Epis- 
copal church, in anticipation of the wants of Phoenix Village, the 
settlements of the syndicate's land, and the Tewksbury annex. His 
name as donor is inscribed upon one of the bells in the chime on St. 
-Anne's Church. 

Mr. Hovey was not, in common parlance, a popular man. He 
sought not popularity otherwise than to deserve well of the people 
He was not much of a politician. In his minority he was a \\'hig, not 
so much that he understood the principles of that party, as that he 
preferred to side with those for whom he had the most respect. He 
entered with enthusiasm into the first Harrison campaign, following 
the log cabin with the crowd, and was a member of a flute club, which 
contributed to the music of the campaign. In after years he was very 
conservative, quiet, and reticent on political matters. He rarely 
attended a caucus, hut alwavs voted, and then retired to his private 



204 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

business. At the outbreak of the late rebellion, when most people 
were excited to red heat, he was too calm to satisfy some of his neigh- 
bors. But no one had just cause to question his patriotism. When an 
apprentice, he was a member of an engine company, and in his diary 
speaks triumphantly of No. 3 being first at a fire. He never sought 
public office, nor joined secret societies. He willingly stood aside for 
those whose ambition led them to seek political preference; and his 
benevolence was too expansive to be limited to society membership. 
I have heard him say that he had observed that those who gave lib- 
erally were generally blessed with means to continue giving; while 
those who withheld more than was meet, tended to poverty. 

Mr. Hovey was a director of the Railroad Bank from 1846 to 1886, 
forty years. Only one other person ever served the bank so long. He 
was the youngest person ever elected to that office, he being only 
twenty-nine years old. He was made eligible to the office by being 
furnished with one share of the capital stock. The result shows the 
foresight of the management in selecting a man, and continuing him 
in office to the end of his life, who furnished the bank a large amount 
of business not only in the conduct of his private affairs, which were 
extensive, but that of a trustee of numerous estates, some of which 
were large, requiring extensive banking privileges. When the Me- 
chanics' Savings Bank was started in 1861, Mr. Hovey was elected a 
member of the corporation, and at the same meeting was elected trus- 
tee, which office he held over eighteen years, until he declined reelec- 
tion. During that time he served on various important committees. 
One of the present officials of the bank says of him : "He was an 
esteemed member of the Board of Trustees and gave to the duties of 
his office faithful and conscientious service." The first book of deposit 
the bank issued was taken by Mr. Hovey, he making a deposit in favor 
of one of his children, who still keeps it, not only as a valued curiosity, 
but as a cherished memento of a loving father. 

On July I, 1850. Mr. Hovey was elected clerk of the Lowell Gas 
Light Compan}-, which office he held by reelection for eight years, 
until he was elected treasurer and director of the company, but these 
offices he held only one year. It is usual for the directors to be nearly 
life tenants of the office, unless their private business prevents. This 
exception^.lly short term of service seems to call for explanation. The 
circumstances were well understood by all interested parties. At that 
time the manufacturing companies were large consumers of gas. and 
it was common to elect their agents directors of the company. A cer- 
tain agent of the Merrimack Company was desired for director. But 
no room was large enough to accommodate both him and Mr. Hovev 
at the same time. Even the chimes uuon St Anne'- Chr.r;h. whir"- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 205 

contained a bell given by Mr. Hovey, were so disagreeable to the 
agent that he would have suppressed their sound had he been able. 
This hostility also calls for explanation. There was an important con- 
test between the Merrimack Company and St. Anne's Church, to which 
both of these gentlemen were ardent partisans. It would have been a 
grief to Mr. Hovey to incur the displeasure of anyone, even, as in this 
case, when conscious of no dishonorable action. At the organization 
of the Lowell Cemetery Corporation, Mr. Hovey was elected clerk and 
treasurer, and he held the office eleven years, until declining reelection, 
March 3, 1852. It was an office involving much interruption of busi- 
ness ; the numerous inquiries about the choice, purchase and grading 
of lots, the anxious mourners, solicitous about the burial of their 
friends, demanded not only courteous patience but exhausting sym- 
pathy. Few have held the office so long as Mr. Hovey did until the 
present incumbent, who is a distinguished example of the qualities the 
office requires. The next year after Mr. Hovey's resignation he was 
elected trustee. He continued in that office for sixteen years, when the 
board of trustees was revolutionized by parties who assumed that they 
could improve upon the old board, but who, in their turn, found that 
their gratuitous services were not duly appreciated. Mr. Hovey was 
clerk of the Stony Brook Railroad Corporation for eleven years, be- 
tween 1851-62. Indeed, he was ever ready at the call of any honorable 
service, whether gratuitous or otherwise, even to the detriment of his 
private business. 

On examining the file of the Lowell "Daily Citizen" for May 4, 
1886, I find some additional facts and sentiments so true and just that 
I cannot do better than to repeat them here : 

The community was pained and shocked this morning, to learn 
that Mr. Charles Hovey, one of our oldest and most respected citizens, 
who yesterday was in the apparent enjoyment of good health, had, 
during the night, passed forever from the associations of half a cen- 
tury ; from the fellowship of men whose respect and confidence he had 
richly earned ; from the cares and pleasures of a life strongly marked 
with the distinguishing traits of industry and Christian rectitude. Mr. 
Hovey, who had spent the day in his store, retired last evening at 
about half-past nine, and made no complaint of illness. About eleven 
o'clock he aroused his wife and complained that he could not breathe. 
At his request Mrs. Hovey opened the windows, but that failed to give 
relief. Drs. Johnson and Fox were summoned. An examination 
showed the patient to be suffering from congestion of the lungs and, 
although every remedy known to science was applied, human skill 
could not avail, and death ensued at half-past twelve. The end was 
peaceful. 

p-or fifty-four years Mr. Hovey spent the greater part of his time 
in the store in City Hall, where he gained a reputation for business 



2o6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

probity and fair dealing which was not confined to Lowell, but spread 
abroad to the surrounding towns, and gave the firm of Carleton & 
Hovey a prestige, which was mutually beneficial to the public and the 
proprietors. He was a warm friend to the young, manifesting an 
especial pleasure in counselling and aiding them, who were bereft of 
home influence, Mr. Hovey was a man to command respect and invite 
confidence. His disposition was courteously genial, and he was kindly 
considerate for the faults and failings of others. His honesty was of a 
sterling quality, and his Christianity of a practical and unobtrusive 
character. Another, who knew him much more intimately than 
myself, though he was my intimate friend, with whom I almost daily 
held sweet converse, says of him : "The great characteristic of his 
life was certainly his goodness ; and when to that is added his unfail- 
ing tenderness and delicate sense of courtesy and affability to every- 
body without exception, it seems to me that we have a character of 
unusual attractiveness." The life of Mr. 'Hovey is certainly a model 
:ife, worthy of admiration and imitation. Born of pious parents, 
brought up in the "Nurture and admonition of the Lord," having only 
a common school and limited academic education, leaving home at a 
tender age to make his abode among strangers to learn a life business, 
to make for himself a name and praise among men, he departed not 
from his early training. The limited diary, which we have mentioned, 
reveals the development of the boy into a successful business man, the 
Christian gentleman and the happy father of a happy family, whom 
he left not only to mourn their sad bereavement, but to enjoy the fair 
prospect of continued comfort, usefulness and happiness. 

Mr. Hovey was married in Dover, New Hampshire, December 7, 
1843, to Catherine, daughter of Colonel Joseph Smith. He leaves a 
widow, one son, the Rev. Henry Emerson Hovey, of Portsmouth, 
New Hampshire, and one daughter, Mrs. Kate S. Martin, the widow 
of the late Laurin Martin, of this city. 

The ancestor of the Hovey family in this country was Daniel 
Hovey, who landed at Ipswich, Massachusetts, about 1637. He was 
born in England in 1619. From him the descent to Charles Hovey is 
as follows: John, born 1642, died 1695; Luke, born 1676, died 1756; 
Abijah, born 1719; Solomon, born 1748, died 1825; William, born 1785, 
died 1S52; Charles, born in Acton, Massachusetts, November 17, 1817, 
died in Lowell, May 4, 1886, aged sixty-eight years. These men, from 
Daniel down to W^illiam, Charles' father, were farmers and land 
holders in various parts of Middlesex and Essex counties. William 
was in the book business in Cambridge, Massachusetts. On April 10, 
1810, he married Sally Howe, who was born in Northboro, Massachu- 
setts, September 24, 1793, and died December 15, 1874. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 207 

REV. HENRY EMERSON HOVEY. 

Rev. Henry E. Hovey, the only son of Charles and Catherine 
(Smith) Hovey, did not emulate his father's example in the choice of 
a life work, but chose the holy calling, and from ordination in 1870 
until his death, in 1909, Rev. Henry Emerson Hovey was a zealous, 
devoted priest of the Protestant Episcopal church. He was l:)orn in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, November 23, 1844, died in Portsmouth, New 
Hampshire, August 6, 1909. 

After passing the graded and high school courses of the Lowell 
schools, he entered Trinity College, Hartford, Connecticut, whence he 
was graduated in 1866 at the head of his class. He next pursued 
studies in divinity at the General Theological Seminary, New York 
City, was graduated, class of 1869, then went abroad, and for a time 
was a student at O.xford University, England. While under deacon's 
orders he had been in charge of St. John's Church at Fort Hamilton, 
New York Harbor, and after ordination as a priest, in 1870, was in- 
stalled rector of the Church of the Ascension, Fall River, Massachu- 
setts. There he continued the spiritual head of the parish for two 
years, then accepted a call from St. Barnabas Parish, Brooklyn, New 
York. Later he was rector of St. John's and Christ churches, Ports- 
mouth, New Hampshire, there continuing vmtil his death. He was a 
man of high intellectual attainment and spiritual power, an eloquent 
jHilpit orator, and deeply in earnest where the good of mankind was 
concerned. Many of the virtues of the father descended upon the son, 
and he was greatly beloved by his people of the parishes he served. 
Rev. Henry E. Hovey married, April 15, 1871, Sarah Louise Folson, 
daughter of Charles James and Sarah (Carman) Folson. Rev. and 
Mrs. Hovey were the parents of: Sarah Whittier ; Katherine Emer- 
son, married William Seabury ; Louise Folson, married Lieutenant- 
Commander Austin Kautz : Ethelfreda Downing, married Lieutenant 
Scudder Klyce ; Lieutenant Charles Emerson Hovey, of the United 
States Navy, killed in action with the Moros in the Philippines, Sep- 
tember 24, 191 1. The torpedo boat destroyer "Hovey" was named in 
his memory in U^nitcd States Navy, launched in the spring of 1919. 



KATE SMITH (HOVEY) MARTIN. 

Kate Smith (Hovey) Martin, the only daughter of Charles and 
Catherine (Smith) Hovey, of Lowell, and the last of her immediate 
family since the death of her brother. Rev. Henry E. Hovey, in 1909. 
Mrs. Martin is surrounded in her home by many relics, heirlooms and 
memoirs of the past, for the Hovey ancestry carries far into the past 
and in its course touches well known New England names. The 
Hovey descent has been previously outlined, and on her mother's side 



2o8 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Mrs. Martin is a great-granddaughter of Nehemiah Emerson, who 
married Mary ^^■hittier, these being names to conjure with in New 
England. Nehemiah Emerson was a "minute man," marching on the 
"alarm" at Lexington, April 19, 1775, under Lieutenant Samuel 
Clement's command. That was but the beginning of his service, for he 
continued a soldier until the war closed. He attained rank, and when 
the Society of the Cincinnati was formed, became a member. General 
Washington, the first president of the society, thus spoke of Nehemiah 
Emerson : "He was a brave officer, a good disciplinarian, and who 
never lost his temper." In her own right Mrs. Martin is an artist of 
merit, best known for her oil painting and china decorating. 

Kate Smith Hovey was born in Lowell, at the Park street home 
of the family, and was educated in Miss Dana's private school. She 
also pursued art studies, and is one of the art lovers and artists of her 
native city. She married, November 17, 1870, Laurin Martin, born in 
Bradford, Province of Quebec, Canada, August 27, 1843, died April 
25, 1878. son of Captain Leonard and Priscilla (Abbott) Martin. 
Laurin Martin spent his youth at the home farm in Dixville, Quebec, 
there residing until 1862, when he came to the United States and 
located in Lowell. He was first employed by N. Hosford & Company, 
going from that firm to the J. C. Ayer Company, and from the Ayer 
Company to Adams & North. He enlisted, July 7, 1864, at Readville, 
Massachusetts, in Company G, Sixth Regiment, Massachusetts Volun- 
teer Infantry, and served until mustered out with honorable discharge, 
October 27, 1864. His service was with his regiment in garrison at 
Arlington Heights and Fort Delaware. After the war Mr. Martin 
returned to Lowell and entered the employ of the Merchants' National 
Bank. He was also in the service of the Old Lowell National Bank, 
going thence to the Lowell Institution for Savings as assistant treas- 
urer. He continued with the last named institution until his death. 
Well known and highly esteemed, Mr. Martin was a man who inspired 
respect and one who was deeply interested in his fellowmen. Poultry 
raising was one of his recreations, he being at one time president of 
the Middlesex Poultry Association. In religious faith he was an 
Episcopalian. 

Mr. and Mrs. Martin are the parents of two sons and a daughter, 
all born in Lowell: i. Charles Abbott, born August 24, 1873; he 
attended public school, Phillips Andover Academy, and Harvard 
University, now connected with the Brown Company, sulphite manu- 
facturers of Berlin, New Hampshire; he married, September 12, 191 1, 
Marion Elizabeth Herring, of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, daughter 
of Frederick Clark and Elizabeth (Potts) Herring, of Washington, 
D. C. 2. Laurin Hovey, born May 30, 1875 ; completed public school 
courses of study in Lowell; he then studied decorative design at 



I 



I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 209 

Cowles Art School of Boston, later going to England, where he pur- 
sued a course of practical designing at the Birmingham School of 
Art; in 1899. while a student at Birmingham, he exhibited some of 
his work at the National Exhibition held in London, and was awarded 
a medal for excellence of design and workmanship ; he is now instruc- 
tor in arts and crafts at Massachusetts Normal Art School, Boston, 
and at Rogers Hall in Lowell, Massachusetts, that city also being his 
home; he married, September 17, 1904. Harriet Nesmith Greenhalge 
their children: Isabelle Grace and Shirley Laurin Martin. 3. Louise 
Hovey. born April 17, 1878; educated in the public schools and Rcigers 
Hall, Lowell, and Miss Low's School. Stamford, Connecticut; she 
married (first) Waldo Parry Kennard, (second) . Isaac Hasbrook 
Chahoon, of Ausable Forks, Essex county, New York; she died at 
her home in Ausable Forks, May 31, 1908, and was buried in Fair- 
view Cemetery in that town. 

Since being widowed, Mrs. Alartin has continued her residence in 
Lowell, that city the only permanent home she has ever known. Her 
home surroundings bespeak her artistic taste and temperament, and 
her love for the old masters. Her own artistic attainment is high. 
and she has won an enviable reputation in local art circles. 



ADAM ERNEST SHAW, M. D. 

When a cb.ild uf si.x years. Dr. Shaw was brought by his jjarents 
from his native city of Glasgow, Scotland, to Lowell, Massachusetts, 
and here his life has been spent with the exception of his college 
years. His professional career l^egan upon his return from medical 
college in 1906, and in hospital, private and city ambulance practice 
has gained skill and reputation. He is a son of Adam and Margretta 
(McClure) Shaw, both born in Ireland, his father January i, 1852. 
his mother March 16, 1856, near Ballymena, County of .Antrim. 
Later they moved to Glasgow, Scotland, where Adam Shaw worked 
at his trade, carpentering, until leaving for the United States in 1888. 
In Lowell he secured employment in the Lawrence mill, and has 
there continued without interruption. .Adam and Margretta (Mc- 
Clure) Shaw are the parents of: William; Adam Ernest, of further 
mention; Jcannic. a teacher in the schools of Lake Forest, Illinois; 
Margretta. who married Charles Tucker, of Lowell, and Thomas, 
twins, the latter connected with the Department of the Interior, Wash- 
ington, D. C. ; Matilda, deceased ; and .Agnes. Adam Shaw was a son 
of Adam Shaw, a North of Ireland farmer, who died at the age of 
sixty-two years. 

Adam Ernest Shaw was born in Glasgow, Scotland, September 
22. 1882, and in 1888 was brought to Lowell, Massachusetts, by his 

L-14 



210 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

parents. Here he attended the grade and high schools, completing 
the full course of study, choosing the medical profession as his life 
work. He prepared at Bowdoin Medical College, here receiving his 
degree of Doctor of Medicine in the class of 1906. Previous to gradu- 
ation he had acted as interne at the Maine Eye and Ear Infirmary 
during the years 1905-1906, also pursuing his studies with the med- 
ical class. The year following graduation he was on the house staff 
of St. John's Hospital, Lowell, and since 1907 city ambulance sur- 
geon, and also has a private practice. He is an earnest worker, a 
careful, conscientious, skillful physician, taking his work as well as 
his pleasures rationally. He enjoys golf and his motor car above 
other recreations. 

Dr. Shaw is a member of the Masonic order, having attained the 
thirty-second degree, and belongs to Kilwinning Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Mt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Ahasu- 
erus Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Pilgrim Commandery, 
Knights Templar ; is past patron of Puritan Chapter, Order of the 
Eastern Star. He is also a member of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; the Manchester Unity, Knights of Pythias ; Order of 
Scottish Clans ; Centerville Lodge, Daughters of Rebekah ; the Mas- 
sachusetts State Medical Association, and the local medical society. 

Dr. Shaw married, June 8, 1910, at East Petpeswich, Canada, 
Matilda Jessie Anderson, daughter of William J. and Celina Ander- 
son, her father a sea captain in the coastwise trade, now fifty-three 
years of age. Dr. and Mrs. Shaw are the parents of: Lister Harvey, 
born March 16, 191 1. Marjorie Jeannie, born September 18, 1912. 



LEVI SPRAGUE. 



This family name was originally .Si)rake, and was lirought from 
England to this country prior to 1720 by Nicholas Sprake, who 
settled in that part of the town of Billerica, known as North Biller- 
ica. He was a clothier liy trade, married, and head of a family. 
.A.mong his children was a son, Samuel Sprake, whose son, Levi, mar- 
ried Sally Syms, and they were the parents of the Levi Sprague to 
whose memory this review is dedicated. Levi Sprague left a well 
written story of his life, and from that autograph the facts herein 
contained are largely drawn. The name Sprake prevailed during the 
first three generations, Init "previously to my recollection and for 
some reason I never knew my sisters and brothers always spelled 
their name Sprague." The home of Levi and Sally (Syms) Sprague 
was in Billerica, on the west side of the Concord river, opposite what 
is known as Sprague's Eddy, about one mile south of Edson Cem- 
etery, in Lowell, on the Lowell and Bo.ston highwav. Thev were the 




O^cn^Jfiyr^^ 



C^C^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 211 

parents of thirteen children, ten of whom reached years of maturity, 
as follows: Thomas, Sarah, Judith, Paschal, Harriet, Henry, Eliza- 
l)eth, Mary, Levi, and Susan. Levi Sprague was a farmer. 

Levi (2) Sprague, youngest son of Levi (i) and Sally (Syms) 
Sprague, was born at the homestead in Billerica, above described, 
September 16, 1810, died in Lowell, Massachusetts, August 28, 1902, 
a nonagenarian. He attended the district school for a few weeks each 
winter until his seventeenth year, the remaining weeks of the year 
being spent in a boy's work on the farm. In 1827 he went with an 
older brother, who was living in (now) Arlington, Massachusetts, 
going on foot, carrying a capital of a lone dime, which was given him 
by his sister Sally. He stayed with his brother tmtil he found an 
employer, Francis Bowman, a market gardener and milk dealer, who 
hired the lad at a salary of $5.50 monthly, with board. His labors 
began with the milking at 2 a. m., as the milk was sold in Boston. 
He remained with Mr. Bowman five months, then became an 
employee of the grocery firm. Mansur & Reed, of Lowell, their store 
the present site of a part of the Boston & Maine passenger station. 
He returned home after two months with Mansur & Reed, but came 
again to Lowell, early in 1828, and secured employment with Thomas 
Hurd. a woolen manufacturer. On March 18, following, he began 
working with Samuel Willard, a building contractor, as apprentice to 
the bricklayer's trade, his wages to be $30 yearly, with board. .A 
year later. Mr. Willard retired from business, which relieved the 
young man from further obligation to him. For the next five or six 
years he worked at the mason's trade, and on September 3, 1835, he 
married Lydia P. Wood, of Blue Hill, Maine. He had previously 
bought a two story house on Gorham street, opposite the court house, 
jointly, with Peter Powers, and there he was married by Rev. Amos 
Blanchard. and began housekeeping. He lived in his Gorham street 
home for a year, then .sold his half interest to his partner, Mr. Powers, 
and moved to Chapel street, which was his home until March 13, 
1837. On that date, with John Tuttle and Enoch Carlton, he started 
for St. Louis, Missouri. After a long journey via Boston, New York, 
Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, and Louisville, they arrived at St. Louis, 
having traveled by boat, coach, and car, on ocean, river and over- 
land. He worked for a time in St. Louis at his trade, then went to 
Quincy. Illinois, thence to Burlington, Iowa, thence to Lowell, where 
he remained all winter. The following spring he returned to Bur- 
lington, where he erected the first brick building in the town. The 
following winter he returned to Lowell, and there in the spring of 
1839 he began working at his trade with Caleb Crosby, with whom 
he formed a partnership in 1841, which existed until 1846. They 
built the original mill of the Lawrence Corporation ; the Savings 
Bank building, corner of Middle and Shattuck streets ; and one of 



212 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

the mills for the Prescott Company. In April, 1846, he went to Law- 
rence, Massachusetts, and completed a culvert built in a ravine over 
which the canal was to pass, that culvert now a part of the city 
sewer system. In that same month and year he moved with his family 
to Lawrence, and there in that year built the Upper Atlantic block of 
tenements, the first brick buildings erected in Lawrence. He became 
an important contractor of Lawrence, erected several mills and many 
tenements, employing at times three hundred hands on his various 
contracts. 

In Lawrence, Levi Sprague served four terms as selectman, 
1848-1849, 1851-1852, and in 1848 was chosen a director of the Man- 
chester & Lawrence Railroad. He also organized the Pemberton 
Bank, and for about thirty-eight years was the able president of that 
bank. He removed to Lowell, where he first built a residence at 
No. 115 Nesmith street, and in 1867 erected his Mansur street home, 
in which he resided until his death. He did little contracting after 
his return to Lowell, but gave himself to corporation affairs, being a 
director of the Traders' & Mechanics' Insurance Company, and 
elected its president in February, 1874; a director of the Lowell Gas 
Light Company (elected in 1858) ; president of the Lowell Water 
Commission, 1870-1873; chairman of the Lowell Water Board, 1873- 
1876; director of the Erie Telegraph & Telephone Company, elected 
in 1887, and president in June, 1889. He was a leading organizer of 
the Lowell General Hospital ; chairman of the house committee : also 
during the period from about 1854-1892 he was president of the Pem- 
berton Bank of Lawrence, but about ten years prior to his death he 
sold his stock, resigned the presidency, and retired. So a very active, 
useful and successful life was passed, Levi Sprague being one of the 
pioneer business men to whom Lowell and Lawrence owe a great 
deal. They bore the burden and heat of the day, and to them belongs 
much of the credit for the establishment of industries and the found- 
ing of corporations which it is now an honor to be connected with, 
but in the early days were weaklings and hardly able to exist. 

Levi Sprague married Lydia Parker Wood, in Lowell, Septem- 
ber 3, 1835, and together they walked life's pathway for fifty-nine 
years, Mrs. Sprague dying November 23, 1894, her husband surviving 
her until August, 1902. Mrs. Sprague was of Revolutionary stock, 
her ancestors fighting at Bunker Hill, and her mother a descendant 
of Mary Parker, who was burned at the stake during the witchcraft 
delusion. They were the parents of two daughters and two sons : 
Augusta, widow of Ami Sewell, a banker of Albany, New York, that 
city yet her home; Mary J., widow of William G. Mansur, of Lowell, 
whose career is reviewed in this work; William H., who died in 
Lowell. November 24, 1918 (q. v.); Levi Kirk, who died in Lowell. 
November 8, 1917 (q. v.). 



BIOGRAPHICAL 213 

WILLIAM GAGE MANSUR. 

Mary Jane Sprague, second daughter of Levi and Lydia Parker 
(Wood) Sprague, married, October 8, 1863, William Gage Mansur, 
whom she has long survived, a resident of Lowell. It is to the mem- 
ory of William Gage ^lansur and his honored father, a former mayor 
of Lowell, that this review is offered, to grace the pages of a history 
of the city in which the son was born and passed his life, and to 
whose development both contributed. 

The Mansur famil} of Lowell, Massachusetts, spring from Rob- 
ert Monsieur, a French Huguenot, who came to Charlestown, Mas- 
sachusetts, at an early day, he being known there as the "Crazy 
Frenchman," his vivacity and unusual way being in such contrast 
to the Puritans. The name soon became anglicized as Mansur, and 
his descendants are found all over the United States. Robert Mon- 
sieur married Elizabeth Brooks, June 6, 1670, according to Charles- 
town records, and it is known that he was living in 1678. The line 
of descent from Robert Mansur, the founder, is through his son, John 
Mansur: his son, John (2) Mansur, who settled in Temple, New 
Hampshire: his son William Mansur, born in Temple; his son. 
Stephen Mansur, born December 18, 1773; his son, Stephen (2) Man- 
sur ; his son William Gage Mansur, born in Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Stephen (2) Mansur, of the sixth generation, was born in Temple. 
New Hampshire, August 25, 1799, and died in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, April I, 1863. He was a farmer of New Hampshire and New 
York State, a liveryman, and hotel proprietor, of Boston, and later 
one of the builders of the Erie canal in New York State. He settled 
in Lowell in 1822, coming to this city to superintend the widening of 
the old canal between the guide locks and the old Lowell Machine 
Company shops. In 1830, he, with Alonzo Child, formed a partner- 
ship, and as Mansur & Child established a hardware and crockery 
store in Lowell, the site of their store on Central street now occupied 
by the hardware business of Bartlett & Dow. Later Mansur & Child 
established a branch of their business in St. Louis, Missouri. In 
1836, and again in 1837, Stephen (2) Mansur was elected a member of 
the Massachusetts House of Representatives. In 1836 he sat in 
Lowell's first Common Council, and again in 1839, he held the same 
honor, representing Ward Four. In 1840 he served as alderman, 
and in 1847 and 1853 he was again elected alderman of Lowell, 
declining a re-nomination in 1854; under the old town government 
he was tax assessor, and was mayor of Lowell in 1857. Stephen (2) 
Mansur was also a deacon of the First Baptist Church, and a man 
of upright life. He married Eliza Kimball, of an ancient New Hamp- 
shire family, and they were the parents of eight children: Stephen 



214 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

(3), Eliza, Ellen, Maria, Charles Henry, Benjamin, William Gage, of 
further mention ; and George. 

William Gage Mansur was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember 29, 1833, died in the city of his birth, January 15, 1873. He 
was educated in Lowell schools, and after completing his studies he 
entered business life as clerk in the store of Mansur & Child, of 
Lowell. He there remained until 1853, when he was sent to St. Louis, 
Missouri, where Mansur & Child had established a branch of their 
Lowell hardware business. Upon his return from St. Louis, he 
entered the employ of Nicols & Fletcher, grocers, and was continu- 
ously in that employ until his early death. He was a good business 
man, and very popular among his many friends of the social and 
business world. He was a Republican in politics, a member of High 
Street Congregational Church, and of the Masonic order. 

Mr. Mansur married Mary Jane Sprague, daughter of Levi 
Sprague, who survives him. They were the parents of four children, 
all residing in Lowell except the youngest, as follows : Fanny 
Sprague, of Lowell ; William Levi, associated with the American 
Hide & Leather Company for thirty years, who married Bertha 
Bishop, of Lowell ; George Warren, long in the employ of the Lowell 
Lock & Canal Corporation, who married Florence Valentine, of 
Lowell, who died leaving sons, Warren and Stephen Gerry Mansur; 
Lydia Nesmith, married O. A. Barnard, a cotton commission broker 
of New York City, and they are the parents of a son, Mansur Edwards 
Barnard. 



WILLIAM HENRY SPRAGUE. 

Levi Sprague, of the fourth generation of the family founded by 
Nicholas Sprake, of England, had two sons, one of whom was Wil- 
liam Henry Sprague, who, too, has been gathered to his fathers, his 
death hardly yet realized in the city in which his useful life was spent. 
He was the eldest son and third child of Levi and Lydia Parker 
(Wood) Sprague. 

William Henry Sorague was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
the family home then being on Summer street, between Gorham and 
South streets, September 15, 1841, and died in the city of his birth, 
November 24, 1918. He began school attendance at the age of four, 
the family then having moved to Lawrence, where they resided until 
1854, when they returned to Lowell. The family home was on Gor- 
ham street, nearly opposite the court house, the lad, William H., 
there attending the Edson School. He passed from this school to 
the high school, and in all grades compiled a record of good scholar- 
ship. At the age of eighteen, in September, 1859, he entered the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 215 

employ of Hocum Hosford, a drygoocis merchant on Merrimack 
street, hut he soon found that the position was not a pleasant one 
and he left the place vacant. At the outbreak of the Civil War he 
obtained a position with the Government, his assignment taking him 
to Fortress Monroe, Virginia, where he was stationed during the 
historical fight between the Monitor and the Merrimac. The ofifice 
in which he worked was in the Old Fort, which was very much 
crowded, damp, and disagreeable, the work very hard, and uncertain 
hours prevailed, but it was a touch of war, and Mr. Sprague never 
regretted his experiences. He was in charge of the contrabands 
(nmaway slaves) who came into the Union lines at Old Point Com- 
fort in droves. 

In February, 1864, he was appointed clerk in the office of the 
Paymaster General at Washington. D. C. The work was not satis- 
factory to him on account of its being a sinecure, and he resigned, 
but soon was appointed to a clerkship in the treasury department at 
a salary of twelve hundred dollars, which was later increased to 
fourteen hundred dollars. He remained in Washington until after 
the war closed, then returned home and entered a branch of business 
with which his father was connected in Lawrence. Some of the 
mechanical improvements he suggested in the factory are now in 
general use, but at the time they were first suggested brought their 
inventor nothing but derision. But he bided his time, and when they 
were finally introduced he had the satisfaction of knowing that he 
had given to the American manufacturer a labor-saving device which 
speeded production and decreased cost. He was then but twenty- 
four years of age, without previous mechanical training, but his mind 
was an active, inventive one, and he saw clearly a solution to many 
problems of manufacturing, which were puzzling older heads. He 
continued a successful manufacturer of Lawrence until November, 
1870, when his plant was totally destroyed by fire, causing him 
severe loss. He emerged from the disaster with but eight thousand 
dollars of his capital left, but with undaunted courage he faced the 
future, having such a spirit of confidence and self-reliance that he 
took unto himself a wife the month following the loss of plant and 
business. At this time, a critical one in his fortunes, Cyrus Wake- 
field, the millionaire rattan manufacturer of Wakefield, Massachusetts, 
thus advised the young man : "Rebuild, it is the opportunity of your 
life, but if you do not I will make you superintendent of my works 
at Wakefield ; look it over, but my advice to you is to rebuild, you 
will be better off for it in the end." He took the advice so kindly 
offered and the prediction of his good old friend was amply verified. 
From manufacturing he followed his father's example and became 
interested in banking, and for a long time was officially connected 



2i6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

with the Essex Savings Bank of Lawrence. Mr. Sprague first settled 
in Lawrence, in 1864, and for thirty-eight years he continued his resi- 
dence there, returning to his native Lowell in 1902. He built that 
same year a very handsome residence at No. 221 Nesmith street, and 
there passed the last sixteen years of his life in contented retirement. 
Political office never appealed to him, although he was ever mindful 
of his duties and responsibility as a citizen, but his service to his city 
and State was strictly in a private capacity. Neither had he any 
liking for club life, nor did he belong to any of the orders and societies 
which attract so many. But his tastes were quiet and domestic, his 
home and his family and his books filling the measure of his happi- 
ness to the brim. His library was a great source of joy to him, par- 
ticularly in the years when time could better be spared for literary 
pursuits, and he read voluminously, preferring scientific works and 
those dealing with modern English customs and history. Kindly- 
hearted, genial, and hospitable, he made friends easily, and these he 
retained through his excellence of character and pleasing personality. 
Honor and usefulness attended his life, and his years, seventy-seven, 
were well spent. 

William H. Sprague married, at Lawrence, ]\Iassachusetts, 
December 28, 1870, Alary Elizabeth Osgood, born in Amesbury, 
Massachusetts, daughter of Timothy and Lydia Jane ( Gile) Os- 
good, her father born in Amesbury, settling in Lawrence, in 1845, 
among the first permanent residents there. Her mother was born in 
Grantham, New Hampshire. Mrs. Sprague survives her husband, 
as does their only child. Paschal Sprague, born in Lawrence, Massa- 
chusetts, August 10, 1876, now a resident of Lowell. 



LEVI KIRK SPRAGUE. 



Younger of the sons of Levi and Lydia Parker ( W'ood) Sprague, 
and the only child born to them during their residence in Lawrence. 
Massachusetts, Levi Kirk Sprague came to Lowell upon the return 
of his father's family in 1854, and here his life was spent. He did 
not enter actively into business life, but purchased an estate nearby 
and there spent his life managing his farm and enjoying the pleasures 
of a man of means and position. Sprague avenue, which runs through 
the Sprague farm, is a tribute to his memory, although bestowed 
during his lifetime, and the Sprague home was the abode of generous 
hospitality and the scene of many social gatherings. He was a man 
of fine physique, genial and generous nature, both he and his wife 
well known and very popular in social life. 

Levi Kirk Sprague was born in Lawrence, Massachusetts, April 
6, 1850, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts. November 8, 1917. He 



BIOGRAPHICAL 217 

completed public school courses in Lowell, and was also a student at 
the Howe Boarding School, in Billerica, Boscawen Academy, Bos- 
cawen, New Hampshire, completing his studies at the last named 
institution. Levi Sprague, his father, a leading contractor of brick 
and mason work, gave his son an opportunity to learn the mason's 
trade, and until 1877 he was so engaged under his father's instruction 
and later in his emplo\ . In 1877 he retired from the building trade 
and purchased a farm in what was then the town of Tewksbury, 
Middlesex county, and there resided until his death. When that part 
of the town known as West Tewksbury was annexed to the city of 
Lowell it brought the Sprague farm within the city limits, and later 
Sprague avenue was opened through the farm and named in the 
owner's honor. Mr. Sprague never became a practical farmer, but 
from time to time dimmished his holdings as the land became valu- 
able. He was possessed of a keen mind, and appreciated the finer 
things of life, his home his greatest source of happiness. He was a 
Republican in politics, and an attendant upon the services of St 
Ann's Episcopal Church, Lowell. His life was a contented, happy 
one. and the Sprague farm home attracted many who enjoyed the 
charming hospitality there extended by the host and hostess. 

Levi K. Sprague married, at Lowell, November 26, 1877, Susan 
Francis Thompson, daughter of Samuel and Adaline Thompson, and 
sister of .Samuel H. Thompson, president of the Thompson Hardware 
Company, of Lowell, .'^amuel Thompson, an engineer, died in 1890, 
his wife also now deceased. The young couple began their married 
life at the Sprague farm in Tewksbury, now in Lowell, and there 
spent forty, happy, contented years. Mrs. Sprague continues her 
residence at the old home, to which she came a bride in 1877, and 
there her only child, Rachael Sprague, was born. She is a graduate 
of Rogers Hall School, and the wife of Elbert H. Dexter, who is 
connected with the credit department of the First National Bank of 
Boston. 



HENRY HALE HARRIS. 

One of Lowell's leading educators, Mr. Harris is best known in 
the city as the long time principal of the Varnum public school, but 
he has a State and almost nation wide reputation as a conductor of 
travel tours. For twenty-five years he has served the Varnum school 
as its principal, while during vacation periods he has conducted six 
tours to many parts of this continent. A former principal of the 
Varnum school, Daniel P. Galloupe, held the position twenty-five 
years before retiring, and within a short time Mr. Harris will exceed 
that period of service. He is most favorably known as an educator. 



2i8 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

and through his membership in various professional associations has 
won the personal acquaintance and friendly regard of a large number 
of the teachers and leading educators of the State of Massachusetts. 
He is a man of enterprise and initiative, proud of his profession and of 
his privilege to aid in the promulgation of useful, helpful thought 
through the medium of the school room. His deepest interest is in 
the cause of education, and his contributions to its advancement have 
been important through his written and spoken words as well as 
his work as school principal. He is devoted to his home and family, 
and is one of the most genial and hospitable of men. 

Henry H. Harris is a son of Henry H. Harris, who was born in 
Lowell, a machinist in the employ of the Massachusetts mills until 
the Civil War broke out. He then enlisted in Company G, Sixth 
Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Captain Taylor. 
He returned to Lowell, broken in health, and died in 1868, shortly 
before the birth of his son, Henry H. He married Thena Beach 
Martin, who was born in North Stratford, New Hampshire, and died 
in Lowell. 

Henry Hale Harris was born in Lowell, March 10, 1868. He 
began his education in the Varnum school. He continued through 
the grades, and the high school, completing a full course with grad- 
uation in 1888. He then entered Harvard University, completed a 
four years' course in three years, and was graduated A. B., 1891, 
A. M., 1892. In October, 1893, he began his professional career, 
being then elected an instructor in English, French and Mathematics 
at Lowell High School. He held that position until January 9, 1895, 
when he was chosen by the school board as principal of the Varnum 
school, a position he has now held with unqualified success for 
twenty-four years. He is secretary of that peculiarly named Lowell 
institution. The Ministry-at-Large, which is a wonderful instrument 
for good ; president of the Massachusetts Teachers' Association ; 
president of the Teachers' Annuity Guild of the Commonwealth of 
Massachusetts ; member of the Massachusetts Schoolmasters' Club ; 
Massachusetts Teachers' Association ; and of the National Educa- 
tional Association. He is in close touch with the work of these 
organizations, all professional, save The Ministry-at-Large, which is 
a philanthropic body. He is also a trustee of Lowell Public Library, 
and a man whose public spirit and enterprise can always be relied 
upon to support any worthy movement for intellectual or moral 
progress. 

As stated, Mr. Harris has personally conducted six European 
travel tours, having an audience with King George of Greece upon 
one occasion. His American tours have covered all points of scenic 
and historical interest, his tours having become very popular. He 



BIOGRAPHICAL 219 

has taken all degrees of the York and Scottish Rites up to and includ- 
ing the Thirty-second, being affiliated with William North Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Wt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
Ahasuerus Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Pilgrim Command- 
erv. Knights Templar ; Lowell Lodge of Perfection, now thrice potent 
master; Lowell Council, Princes of Jerusalem, of which he is past 
sovereign prince; Mt. Calvary Chapter, Rose Croix; Massachusetts 
Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; Alleppo Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; and in Odd Fellowship 
he is a member of Centralville Lodge. His political faith is Repub- 
lican, his religious connection being with Grace Universalist Church, 
which he has served as chairman of the board of trustees. 

Mr. Harris married, at Brookline, Massachusetts, April 8, 1903, 
Edith E. Potter, born there, daughter of Daniel E. and Imogene 
Stratton (Foster) Potter, her father of Vermont birth, her mother 
of New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Harris are the parents of a daugh- 
ter, Shirley, born in Lowell, April 21, 1905, now a high school student. 



FREEMAN MANTER BILL. 

The life of Freeman M. Bill, Lowell's prosperous wholesale 
grocer, is one of deep interest, and to the young man with his own 
way to make in the world it should prove an inspiration and an 
incentive. There is on^ fact which stands out clearly in the life story 
of this self-made man, and that is there is no blank page from the 
time he was a boy on the \\'oodbury farm until the present, every 
day having had its appointed work, and he has never shirked a known 
duty. Now at the age of sixty, and sole owner of the wholesale 
grocery business of F. M. Bill & Company, he might very properly 
claim exemption from daily toil and responsibility, but not so, the 
business which he founded, developed, and owns is still his first 
interest, and is under his personal direction and management. There 
is not a retail grocery store in Lowell which he has not visited. He 
has woven into the business the warp and woof of his own person- 
ality, and while there is an & Company on the sign, F. M. Bill is 
written large over its every department. It is a wonderful thing for a 
man to have built up from nothing a business of such proportions in 
Lowell, in competition with Boston's great wholesale house, and the 
only explanation which can be given is F. M. Bill. 

Freeman M. Bill is a son of Gilman Bill, a farmer all his life, of 
Woodbury, Vermont. He married Rosanna Ainsworth, and they 
were the parents of six children, all born in Woodbury, four of whom 
are living: Lura, married George W. Sawyer, a lumber dealer of 
Hardwick, Vermont ; Freeman Manter, of further mention ; Lina, 



220 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

married Eba Bashaw, a farmer, they now living on the old Bill farm 
in Woodbury ; Elgin, a resident of Lowell. 

Freeman Manter Bill was born in Woodbury, Vermont, October 
27, 1859. He there began his education in the district schools, 
and later attended the graded school at Hardwick, Vermont. He 
then returned to the home farm, where he remained his father's 
assistant until 1879. In that year he joined two of his cousins in 
Lowell, here securing employment in the dye house at the carpet 
mills. His job was such an easy one that he became disgusted with 
it, and after three weeks left and went with Daniel Gage and his 
ice cutting gang. He stayed with Mr. Gage all through the ice 
harvest, then obtained work with a Belchertown farmer with whom 
he remained until the spring of 1880. He then returned to Lowell 
and reentered the employ of Daniel Gage, but this time he drove an 
ice wagon in the city, distributing the ice he had helped to harvest the 
preceding winter. When the summer ice season was over he returned 
to the home farm at Woodbury, where he spent the winter, coming 
again to Lowell in the spring of 1881, and again drove one of the 
Gage ice wagons. At the end of that season he married, and during 
the winter of 1881 joined a party from Woodbury who had contracted 
a bad case of "Western fever." In the spring of 1882 the party 
journeyed to Redfield, South Dakota, where each man took up a 
homestead. Mr. Bill doubled up with one of the party, Tyler McCIoud, 
and purchasing an outfit, located on a homestead claim in Potter 
county, South Dakota, and put in a crop. When nearly ready to 
harvest a heavy storm destroyed everything, a disappointment Mr. 
Bill would not remain to perhaps again experience. He sold his 
interest in the claim, horses, tents, and implements, to his partner, 
and returned to Vermont, where he had left his wife. 

In 1883 he came to Lowell with his wife, and from that year this 
city has been his home and the seat of his business activity. When 
spring came he secured his old job with Daniel Gage on an ice 
wagon. During the summer he exerted himself to secure customers 
for country produce among the people he served with ice and was 
quite successful. He obtained fresh butter, eggs, and produce from 
Woodbury, and so well pleased was he with the success of his ven- 
ture that when the summer ice season was over he continued his 
produce business, working up a large route which he served for three 
years. That was his first mercantile venture, and the basis upon 
which was built the business of F. M. Bill & Company. After three 
years as a traveling produce dealer, Mr. Bill bought a half interest 
in the Wood & Lock retail grocery on Middle street, purchasing Mr. 
Wood's interest, the firm continuing as Lock & Bill for three years, 
when Mr. Bill sold out to Horace Ely, and established a small pro- 



• BIOGRAPHICAL 221 

duce and grocery business in a small one window storeroom in the 
Fellows block on Middle street, dealing strictly in wholesale quan- 
tities. He was successful, and soon moved to larger quarters in the 
Burke block on Middle street, thence to the Brabrook block on Market 
street, where he remained ten years, removing in 1914 to his present 
location in the modern Bay State storage building on Jackson street. 
From 1898 until 1913 Mr. Bill operated as a partnership, E. L. 
Fletcher being admitted. The firm then became F. M. Bill & Com- 
pany, a name that is still retained. Later, Bill & Company bought the 
wholesale grocery business of Tuft & Company, Boston, Massachu- 
setts, Mr. Fletcher managing the Boston business, Mr. Bill the 
Lowell house. When in 191 3 they decided to dissolve, Mr. Fletcher 
retained the Boston house, leaving Mr. Bill the Lowell half of th<s 
business, an arrangement very satisfactory to both. In 191S Mr. P)ill 
purchased and re-organized the Lawrence Market, a large retail 
business in Lawrence, Massachusetts, which he still owns and oper- 
ates. Country produce is no longer handled, the regulation wholesale 
grocery lines being dealt in by F. M. Bill & Company, its trading 
extending all over New England, employing a large force of city and 
traveling salesmen. Mr. Bill is a director of the Old Lowell National 
Bank, and is an active member of the Lowell Board of Trade. 

He is a Republican in politics. He is a member of All Souls 
Church ; the Yorick Club ; Vesper Country Club ; Pentucket Lodge, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Mt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
.-\hasuerus Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Mt. Calvary Com- 
mandcry. Knights Templar. While a business man of untiring 
industry, Mr. Bill for twenty-five years has not missed his fall vaca- 
tion, hunting and fishing trips in the Maine woods, except during the 
period of war with Germany, when he remained at home. Hunting 
and fishing are his favorite recreations, and he thoroughly enjoys 
these days "ofT duty." 

Mr. Bill married, at Mnnt])c!ier, X'ermont, January i, 1883, Mary 
Frances Morse, born in Calais, Vermont, who before her marriage 
was a teacher in the Woodbury school. Mrs. Bill is the daughter of 
Julius Augustus and Maria (Kamera) Morse, her father born in 
Woodbury, and a carpenter by trade. Mrs. Maria Morse was born 
in Easton. Pennsylvania, and died in Worcester, Vermont, surviving 
her husband several years, he dying in East Montpelier, Vermont. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bill are the parents of two daughters: Marion Morse and 
Mary Ruth Bill. The eldest daughter, Marion M., is a graduate ot 
Lowell High School, and later was a student at the Capen School, 
Northampton. Massachusetts; she married, September 5, 1917, at 
Lowell, Dr. Robert L. Jones, a physician of Lowell, who served with 
the Medical Corps, Evacuation Hospital No. 4, American Expedition- 



222 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ary Forces, Army of Occupation in Germany, after seeing hard 
service on French battle fields. Dr. and Mrs. Jones are the parents 
of Robert Bill Jones, born December 29, 1918. The youngest daugh- 
ter, Mary Ruth, attended Bradford Academy, Bradford, Massachu- 
setts, Dana Hall, Wellesley, Massachusetts, and graduated from 
Rogers Hall School, Lowell, 1914. In June, 1919, she completed a 
kindergarten course and graduated from ]\Iiss Neil's Training School, 
Boston, Massachusetts. 



ALBERT DARLING MILLIKEN. 

To fin successfulh' any official position in a textile mill a knowl- 
edge of every detail of the work performed in that mill becomes 
a necessity if the official hopes to retain the respect of the employees 
whose welfare depends upon his fairness and justice. It is a fact that 
Mr. Milliken has come up from the bottom of the textile worker's 
ladder, and knows exactly the problems of every mill worker, and 
this has won for him the high position he holds and the deep regard 
of the thousands of men who have been under his care in the various 
New England mills of which he has held the positions of overseer, 
superintendent and agent. He is one of the most modest and unas- 
suming of men, very democratic, but there is no man more thorough 
and capable nor more successful in mill management than Albert D. 
Milliken, now and since 1910 agent of the Hamilton Mills of the 
Hamilton Manufacturing Company, of Lowell, Massachusetts. This 
is one of the important textile companies of Lowell, a brief history 
of the company following. 

Albert Darling Milliken was born in New Bedford, Massachu- 
setts, July 30, 1870, son of Eben C. and Ellen M. (Darling) Milliken, 
of New Bedford. Eben C. Milliken was born in Winthrop, Maine, 
but when a boy came to New Bedford, where he was educated, and 
has since lived. He learned the baker's trade, and in the course of 
time started in business for himself. He has been very successful, 
and now operates and owns a large bakery. He was for many years 
a prominent figure in the public life of the town, now the city of New 
Bedford, and as councilman and alderman aided in the enactment of 
wise, just laws under which great prosperity has been possible. Mr. 
Milliken represented New Bedford in the State Legislature, was 
returned as .State Senator, and as faithfully and capably served his 
State as he had previously served his city. Eben C. Milliken married 
Ellen M. Darling, born at Chepachet, Rhode Island, died in New 
Bedford, the mother of two sons, Albert D., of further mention, and 
William B., deceased. 

Albert D. Milliken spent his early years in ac(iuiring an education, 



I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 223 

continuing until graduation from high school. While attending school 
he spent much of his out of school time at his father's bakery, and 
for a few years after leaving school he was a regular employee of 
the bakery. He then spent one year as reporter in the New Bedford 
"Journal," but in 1891 he decided to enter the business for which 
New Bedford was then becoming famous, the manufacture of fine 
cotton goods. He began as a laborer at the mills of the Pierce Manu- 
facturing Company at New Bedford, not of necessity but because he 
wanted to learn the lousiness from every angle. He next became a 
mill o|)erative at that mill, then in pursuance of his well formed plan 
he went to another mill, choosing the W'amsutta, New Bedford, the 
oldest and most prominent mill. He went to this mill in 1S94, and 
became third hand in the carding room. In 1895 he made another 
change, going to Lyman Mill No. 2, in Holyoke, Massachusetts, there 
becoming carding room second hand and remaining until 1897. In 
the latter year he was made overseer of the carding department of 
the Canoe River Mills at Taunton, Massachusetts, and in 1899 
resigned to accept the same position at the Aldrich Manufacturing 
Company Mill at Moosup, Connecticut. In 1901 he again changed, 
going as overseer of the carding department of the \\'. A. Slater Mills 
at Jewett City, Connecticut. The year 1902 brought him back to his 
native New Bedford, after a wide swing around the circle, all the 
changes he had made, however, having been in pursuance of his plan 
to learn the business "from every angle." Each mill made different 
goods both in kind and C|uality, and he returned with a finished textile 
worker's education attained in the most practical waj'. 

In New Bedford, from 1902 until 1906, he was overseer of the 
Bennett Mill, that mill being No. 2 among the mills of the New Eng- 
land Cotton Yarn Company. From 1906 until 1908 he was assistant 
sujjerintendent of departments No. i and No. 2 of the New England 
Cotton Yarn Company, and from 1908 until 1910 he was superintend- 
ent of the departments Nos. 15 and 16 of the Globe Cotton Yarn Mill 
at Fall River, Massachusetts, that mill being also owned by the New 
England Cotton Yarn Company. In 1910 he was appointed to his 
present position, agent of the Hamilton Manufacturing Company, 
Lowell, Massachusetts, having about two thousand five hundred 
operatives under him and the product of three thousand looms to 
place upon the textile market. This position is the culminating honor 
of a life of twenty-seven years spent in fitting himself for it. That he 
is successful as an agent is a recognized fact, and there are no honors 
of textile manufacture to which he is not eligible. He is master of 
his business and has impressed that fact upon the trade, hence his 
assumed position. 

Mr. Milliken is a member of the New England Cotton Manufac- 



224 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

turers' Association, National Association of Cotton Manufacturers, 
American Society of Mechanical Engineers, United States Chamber 
of Commerce, director of the Old Lowell National Bank, director of 
the Lowell Board of Trade, trustee of the Mechanics Savings Bank, 
director of Lowell Young Men's Christian Association, chairman of 
the fuel committee of the city of Lowell during the war, member of 
Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Mt. Horeb Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons; Ahasuerus Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar; and in the Ancient Accepted 
Scottish Rite holds the thirty-two degrees of Lowell Lodge of Per- 
fection ; Mount Calvary Chapter, Rose Croix ; Lowell Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem ; and Massachusetts Consistory. His clubs are 
the Yorick and Vesper Country, which he serves on the executive 
committee, and he is chairman of the house committee. He is a 
Republican in politics, and a member of Eliot Union Church. 

Mr. Milliken married, at Westport, Massachusetts, November 3, 
1897, Elizabeth Brownell White, born in New Bedford, daughter of 
George M. and Louise VonBonbon (Smith) White, her father born 
in Westport, her mother in New Bedford. Mr. and Mrs. Milliken 
are the parents of a son, Arnold White, born in Moosup, Connecticut, 
August 30, 1899, now a student at Massachusetts Institute of Tech- 
nolofTV. 



THE HAMILTON MANUFACTURING COMPANY. 

The first sale of water power made b)' the Locks and Canals 
Company after the completion of their canals in Lowell, was to the 
Hamilton Manufacturing Company, whose charter or act of incor- 
poration is dated January 26, 1825. The incorporators of the company 
were : Samuel Batchelder, Benjamin Gorham, William Appleton, 
William Sturgis, and John Lowell, Jr., their purpose declared to be 
"the manufacturing of cotton and woolen goods'' in Chelmsford, in 
the county of Middlesex. The capital stock was placed at $500,000, 
but various increases have been authorized by the Legislature, and it 
is now $T. 800,000. The first mills were built under the direction of 
one of the incorporators, Samuel Batchelder, who also became the 
first agent of the company, in 1825, served until 1831, and under his 
management the power loom was applied with great success to the 
weaving of twilled and fancy goods, such as heretofore had been 
made on hand looms. In 1828 the Hamilton Company began calico 
printing under the management of William Spencer, who came from 
England for that purpose, and for thirty-four years, 1828-62, was 
superintendent of the company. Ferdinand Rodlif¥ came to the 
employ of the mill as a boy, became superintendent, passing through 



r.lOGRAl'lllCAL 225 

all the departments, etc., and served in all a period of seventy years 
as an employee of the Hamilton Mills. He began as boy in the mill 
in 1827 and for thirty-two years served as second hand, overseer, and 
assistant superintendent, and then became superintendent of the mills 
and continued as superintendent for forty years. This is the longest 
period of continuous service ever rendered by a man in any mill in 
Lowell, probably in New England. He died in Lowell, May 31, 1899, 
aged ninety-three years. He was active in the cotton industry for 
eighty-two years, although the last two years of his life his connection 
with the Hamilton Mills was an honorary one. 

This Samuel Batclielder, so closely identified with the interests 
of the Hamilton Manufacturing Company for many years, was one of 
the pioneers of the manufacturing business in New England, and 
prominently connected with it with little interruption from 1808, 
when he was aged twenty-four, until 1870, a period of sixty-two years. 
He was the inventor of several machines which are still in use, was 
a wise manager, a successful manufacturer, a keen and able business 
man, and well known writer on the subject of a tariff for the protection 
of American industries. He resigned as agent of the Hamilton Com- 
pany in 1 83 1, but during his after life was connected with numerous 
corporations in responsible positions. A peculiar talent, faculty or 
ability he possessed was proven more than once, one case being the 
taking of a bankrupt company and restoring it to a sound financial 
condition. He died February 5, 1879, ^^ the wonderful age of ninety- 
five, having retired from business at the age of eighty-six. 

The mills of the company are on the Hamilton and Pawtucket 
canals, between Central street and the Appleton Company plant. The 
first treasurer of the company was William Appleton, who was suc- 
ceeded by Ebenezer Appleton in 1830, and in succession came George 
M. Lyman in 1833; Thomas G. Gary in 1839; William R. Bacon in 
1859; Arthur T. Lyman in i860; Arthur L. Devens in 1863; Eben 
Bacon in 1867; Samuel Batchelder in 1869; George R. Chapman in 
1870; James A. Dupee in 1870; James Longley in 1886; Charles B. 
Amory from 1886 to 1909 ; Arthur R. Sharpe from 1909 to present 
time. 

John Averj', who succeeded Samuel Batchelder as agent in 183 1, 
was an experienced mill official before coming to the Hamilton Com- 
pany, having been paymaster of a Waltham mill, and agent of the 
Appleton Company at Lowell. He continued as agent of the cor- 
poration until 1864, a period of thirty-three years, and most ably 
guided the company in all that the scope of his position would allow. 
After him came Oliver H. Moulton, who held the agency from 1864 
until 1904. Mr. Moulton was a man of unusual force and power. 



226 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

working his way upward from the lowest rung of the ladder of 
success to high and honorable position in many Lowell corporations. 
He was a man of fine presence, pleasing personality and dignified 
manner, broad and liberal in mind, upright and honorable in character. 
After Mr. Moulton's long term as agent came Clarence X. Childs in 
1904, and he was succeeded by the present agent, Allicrt D. Milliken 
in 1910. 

The Hamilton Manufacturing Company now own and operate 
seven mills, employs two thousand five hundred hands in the opera- 
tion of three thousand looms and one hundred and fifty thousand 
spindles ; their product being combed cotton yarns, cotton flannels, 
chambrays, tickings, ihirtings, cotton dress goods and ginghams. 
The president of the company is Felix Rockemann, of Boston; treas- 
urer, Arthur R. Sharpe ; agent, Albert D. Milliken ; Thomas S. Pren- 
dergast, clerk of the corporation and assistant treasurer ; directors, 
Felix Rockemann, Charles B. Amory, James M. Prendergast, Thomas 
P. Beal, Jr.. Arthur Adams, George H. Whiting, Arthur R. Sharpe. 



HARRY PUTNAM KNAPP. 



The business of which Harry Putnam Knapp is president and 
principal owner is the only one with which he was ever connected. 
The Talbot Chemical, incorpoiated in 1884 as The Talbot Dyewood 
and Chemical Company. This is one of Lowell's old business houses, 
having been originally established by C. P. Talbot as C. P. Talbot & 
Company, he occupying a store in the city market in 1867. Harry P. 
Knapp is a son of Joel and Elizabeth (Putnam) Knapp. 

Joel Knapp was a descendant of the Knapp family of early 
Colonial days in Rhode Island, son of Elijah Knapp, and grandson 
of Joseph and Eunice (Carver) Knapp, his grandmother, Eunice 
(Carver) Knapp, a lineal descendant of Governor Carver, of Massa- 
chusetts. Elijah Knapp married Celia PuUen, who resided in Free- 
man, Maine, at the time of the birth of their son, Joel Knapp, who was 
born June 16, 1835, died in Lowell, March 21, 1902. In 1853 he came 
to Lowell, working for the Merrimack Cotton Mills for six months 
before deciding to learn the machinist's trade. He served an appren- 
ticeship in the Lowell Machine Shop, then worked for one year in the 
Merrimack Repair Shop, spending the next year in California. Later 
he returned to Lowell and was in the employ of the Merrimack Com- 
pany until his enlistment in the Sixth Regiment, Massachusetts Vol- 
unteer Infantry, at the beginning of the Civil War. After a short 
term of service with the infantry, because of his knowledge of mechan- 
ics, he was transferred to the Engineer Corps, United States Army, 
and ser\-ed with the corps until honorably discharged at the end of 



BIOGRAPinCAT. 227 

the war. After the war he spent twenty-two consecutive years with 
the Lowell Machine Shop, and for twenty of those years he was a 
Fhop contractor. He withdrew in 1885 to engage in business for 
himself, first as Joel Knapp and later as Joel Knapp & Sons, archi- 
tectural iron work and manufacturing machinists, located at Nos. 
585-587 Middlesex street. Joel Knapp continued active in the busi- 
ness until his death, hearing an excellent reputation as a business man 
and citizen. A Republican in politics from the candidacy of John C. 
Fremont for the presidency in 1856, Mr. Knapp served his party in 
the Lowell City Council in 1869, and in 1875 and 1876 represented his 
district in the Massachusetts State Legislature, serving on the com- 
mittee on railroads. He was a member of the Shattuck Street, now 
Grace Unitarian Church, for more than thirty years and its treasurer 
for nine years. He was affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Ladd and \\'hitney Post, No. 185, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and was a member of the Lowell Builders' Exchange. He 
married Eliza Putnam. 

Harry P. Knapp was born in Lowell, Massachusett.';, Alarch 19, 
1872. He obtained his education in the public schools of the city, and 
after fini-^hing his high school course with graduation, he entered 
the employ of the Talbot Chemical Company as a regular employee, 
having during his high school life worked for the same company. He 
was clerk in both store and office, later acting as salesman, and after 
a few years going on the road as traveling salesman. He became 
thoroughly familiar with every detail of the business, manufacturing, 
wholesale and retail. In 1884 the business was incorporated as the 
Talbot Dyewood and Chemical Company, Joseph D. Gould, president ; 
James F. Preston, treasurer; Charles H. Kohlrausch, superintendent 
of the North Billerica plant of the company and clerk of the corpora- 
tion. In 191 1 Mr. Knapp became president and treasurer of the com- 
pany. Up to the year 1910 the company were manufacturers of 
heavy chemicals, their manufacturing plant being located at North 
Billerica, but since 1910 manufacturing has been abandoned and the 
business has been confined to dealers, importers and the sale of dye- 
woods and chemicals, the North Billerica plant now being used for 
experimental purposes only. The retail business conducted at No. 
40 Middle street has become an important part of the business. The 
company supply large bleacheries, textile mills and tanneries with 
heavy chemicals and conduct a very prosperous business. 

Mr. Knapp is a Republican in politics. He attends the Unitarian 
church. He is a member of .Ancient York Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Admiral Farragut Camp, Sons of Veterans ; and Sons of 
the American Revolution. He is a member of the Yorick Club, Ves- 
per Country Club, of Lowell, the Nashua Country Club, Engineers' 



228 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Club, Drysalters' Club, of Boston, the Boston Athletic Association, 
and is an honorary member of the Society of the Chemical Industry 
in London, England. He is a keen student of chemistry, and is par- 
ticularly fond of matters pertaining to chemical research work. He 
delights in golf, is a man of charitable impulse, but most unostenta- 
tious in his giving. 

On November 19, 1901, Mr. Knapp married Helen Maude Court- 
ney, at Brooklyn, New York. Mrs. Knapp was born in London, 
England, the daughter of Jesse and Helen C. (Dyer) Courtney, her 
father a graduate of Oxford University and was a resident of Brook- 
lyn, New York, where he was the attorney in New York City (for 
America) of an English insurance company; not attorney-at-law, but 
he was their American representative and had power of attorney to 
bind the company in contracts, etc. Mr. and Mrs. Knapp are the 
parents of three children : Donald Courtney, Edith Frances, and 
Harry Putnam, Jr. The family home is at No. 324 Andover street, 
Lowell. 



TIMOTHY JOSEPH HALLORAN, M. D. 

Nearly twenty years ago Dr. Halloran was awarded his M. D. 
by Harvard Medical School, and but a short time elapsed ere he was 
located in Room 8, in the Runels building, Lowell, awaiting the call 
of his first patient. The years that have elapsed since that day in 
1898, have brought him the honors of his profession, and he is now 
a skilled and trusted practitioner, but no change of location has been 
made. The original ofifice in the Runels building is still retained, and 
there his many office patients now await their opportunity to consult 
the successful physician and surgeon. Dr. Halloran is a son of Dan- 
iel Charles Halloran, and grandson of Timothy Halloran, the latter for 
several years prior to his death living in Cambridge, Massachusetts. 
His son, Daniel Charles Halloran, was for fifty-four years gardener 
for John A. Nesmith of Lowell, continuing active until his death, 
February i, 191 5, aged seventy years. He was an active Democrat, 
and for several years served as a member of the Central City Com- 
mittee. He married Rose Reilly, who died October 23, 1900, aged 
fifty-seven, they the parents of: Timothy Joseph, of further men- 
tion; Julia G., married David P. Martin, of Lowell; John B., of 
Lowell ; James L., a druggist, of Boston ; Mary, and Helen R., teachers 
in Lowell schools. 

Timothy J. Halloran was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 17, 1873, and here his years have been passed. His primary and 
preparatory education were obtained in the public school, the parish 
school of the Immaculate Conception Church, and Lowell High 






tayyi 




BIOGRAPHICAL 229 

School ; his collegiate education at Holy Cross College, Worcester, 
A. B., class of 1894; his professional education at Harvard Medical 
School, where he received his M. D., class of 1898. The accomplish- 
ment to his preparatory, collegiate and professional training for the 
practice of medicine occupied the first twenty-five years of his life, 
and was thorough in its detail, and ample, but when his services were 
offered to the public he was thoroughly prepared to meet all demands 
upon his skill or learning. In 1898 he opened offices in the Runels 
building. Lowell, and from that time has been in continuous practice, 
his clientele long having been a large one. In addition to his private 
practice, Dr. Halloran is surgeon to the Out-Patient Department of 
St. John's Hospital, physician to the Lowell City Dispensary, and 
while an Out-Patient Department was maintained at the Lowell Gen- 
eral Hospital, he was a member of the medical staff. He is a member 
of the American Medical Association ; Massachusetts State Medical 
Society ; Middlesex North District Medical Society ; Medical Advisory 
Board, Lowell District ; and the Alumni Association of Harvard Med- 
ical School. He is one of the strong men of his profession, and is 
highly esteemed by his medical and surgical brethren. He is a mem- 
ber of St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church ; the Knights of Colum- 
bus ; Foresters of America ; and the Ancient Order of Hibernians, also 
the Washington Club. The recreation he most enjoys is motoring, 
and music is his greatest delight. He reads, studies, works, and in a 
rational way meets life's responsibilities and enjoys its pleasures. 

Ur. Halloran married, in Lowell, Alice M. Brogan, daughter of 
Martin and Mary E. (Christie) Brogan, both deceased. Martin 
Brogan had retired from all business many years before dying in 
Lowell, in September, 1904, aged sixty-five years. His wife, Mary E., 
died in Lowell, June 28, 1900, aged fifty-seven. Dr. and Mrs. Halloran 
are the parents of: Alice Rose, born December 5, 1905, died shortly 
afterwards; Geraldine Claire, born June 26, 1908, died ALirch 4. 1914: 
Helen Louise, born January 7, 1910. 



PATRICK GILBRIDE. 

As the world grows older and wiser its standards of greatness and 
its measures of worth are changing; and there have grown into the 
minds and hearts of men saner ideals of conduct and truer conceptions 
of values— nobler estimates of the parts men play in the world. In 
reaching an estimate of a man to-day the service he renders to the 
community he lives in, and the men he lives with, must be reckoned 
with, and in considering that service, those who are weighing him on 
the scales of public opinion will ask if his work and word have added 



230 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



to the sum total of human peace and happiness, and if his character 
and reputation have been an inspiration, however slight, to other men. 

It is not always the man whose name is loudest on the lips of 
tame, whose reputation is linked with some piece of great legislation, 
some great victory in the field of strife, some great work of art or 
literature, who has earned the afifection and gratitude of his fellows. 
The man who has not thrust himself into the public eye, whose kind- 
ness and courtesy, work and worth are constantly touching his 
neighbors, helping them in evil days and putting heart and courage 
into them in the days of despondency and ill fortune, is of more 
value in the life and living of the age than those we call great. The 
man who brings peace and contentment to his community, who makes 
two blades of grass grow where only one grew before, who invents 
some appliance for lessening the burdens of the world, who adds a 
new industry to a town and increases the opportunities for honest 
labor and bread winning, he is more deserving of honor among men 
than he who destroys in war. The Republic has many such men who 
go from manhood to the grave engaged in good work and escaping 
the trump of fame, and such a one was Patrick Gilbride. 

Mr. Gilbride was born December 13, 1854, in the parish of Kin- 
awley, a few miles from the town of Enniskillen, County of Fer- 
managh, Province of Ulster, Ireland. He was a son of Patrick and 
Alice (McManus) Gilbride, and was born on the land which had 
been cultivated by his ancestors for centuries. The incidents of war 
and conquest had deprived them of this land and transformed the pro- 
prietors into tenant farmers. While he received the rudiments of his 
education in Kinawley Catholic parish school, the sound moral and 
religious character that marked all his days was founded in the simple, 
wholesome training of a God fearing household. 

While still a boy he was apprenticed to an Enniskillen linen 
draper, and in that provincial little shop he acquired a business train- 
ing that gave him success in wider fields and under more trying 
circumstances. It is a curious and significant fact that many of the 
shrewdest, most successful and respected dry goods merchants of 
America were born and trained in Ulster, and the success they 
achieved must be accounted for by the early business training they 
received, the lessons of thrift, attention to business, and square deal- 
ing taught them, supplemented and stimulated by the patience, per- 
sistence and pluck of the Ulster character, when transplanted to a 
new soil and new conditions. Like most of his race the wanderlust 
was in his blood, and when Enniskillen and its opportunities grew 
too small and limited for his ambitions and hopes, he came to Amer- 
ica, and in 1874 was soon employed by the dry goods firm of J. V. 
Keyes & Company in Lowell, Massachusetts. He worked hard and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 231 

taithfully, saved his money and made a lifelong friend of his employer, 
and in time he was ready to launch his own argosy on the sea of 
commerce. In a neighboring Lowell dry goods store worked another 
Ulster man, Constantine O'Donnell, and he and Patrick Gilbride 
united their savings, their hopes and courage, and began an independ- 
ent business under the corporate name of O'Donnell & Gilbride, in 
March, 1880. They were keen, watchful, enterprising, courteous and 
tireless; and the old-fashioned business virtues they had brought to 
America, added to the up-to-date methods of the age, soon brought 
them the confidence and patronage of the Lowell public, and the 
business grew by leaps and bounds until it expanded into a concern 
second to none in Lowell. In March, 1904. a great fire practically 
destroyed their business, and when the affairs of the concern were 
settled, the two builders of the corporation concluded to separate 
amicably, each going into business for himself. The Gilbride Com- 
pany rose from the ashes of the old concern, and is still doing busi- 
ness on the spot where it began its life in 1880. 

In 1887 Mr. Gilbride married Rose A. Delaney, a daughter of 
Thomas and Catherine (Fox) Delaney, of Lowell, and a sister of the 
late distinguished Catholic Bishop Delaney of Manchester, Xew 
Hampshire. The marriage was a hai)[)y one and was blessed by two 
daughters. Florence and Helen R. Gilbride. 

Quiet and unassuming, and devoted to business, Mr. Gilbride 
found time in an unostentatious way to interest himself in other 
matters He was a member of the Vesper, Country and Washing- 
ton clubs, the American-Irish Historical Society, and the Knights of 
Columbus: and his interest in the business progress of his city made 
him a director in the Lowell Board of Trade, and a trustee of the 
Washington Savings Institute. In March, 1914, he was taken seri- 
ously ill, and after a brief sickness he died on March 29, sincerely 
mourned by the city he had loved and labored in. 

Perhaps the best estimate of Patrick Gilbride as a man and citi- 
7en and the most sincere, was written a few days after his decease by 
his neighbor and friend, Mr. Joseph Smith : 

An honest man, an honorable merchant, a good citizen passed out 
of life and the acti\ities of this community when Patrick Gilbride 
died. I knew him long and well : he was my friend and no man's 
enemy. Clean thinking, clean si)eaking. clean living, religious, with- 
out ostentation, generous to all good causes, loyal to his friendships, 
kindly in his outlook on life and living, charitable in the presence of 
weakness and frailty, sympathetic and responsive in trouble and mis- 
fortune, he was a man who inspired affection and commanded 
respect. .Mways modest and unassuming he loved the fellowship of 
his kind, without thrusting himself upon them; optimistic and sunny- 
natured, no man ever heard him speak evil of his fellows ; and the 



232 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

joy of living and loving ran like a generous current in his veins. 
Born and raised in the province of Ulster, in a region where religious 
asperities were constant and rife, and where men seemed to prize 
the cover more than the contents of the books of religion, he grew 
to manhood with a line tolerance of all religious beliefs and preserved 
through all his days a pity and contempt for bigotries that brought 
Christianity into disrepute. Passionately devoted to the hopes and 
aspirations of his country, he was keenly interested in every move- 
ment that meant the peace and betterment of his native land, and to 
him the impending measure of home rule meant the dawning of a new 
day when his countrymen would unite for the common good and 
forget the asperities and vexations of the past. Patrick Gilbride will 
be missed in many places in the days to come ; his shy and restful 
presence will come back to those who knew him best like the music 
of a half forgotten song; and his kindly words and gentle person- 
ality will be recalled with tender regret. He made no great mark in 
the world, no great noise in the community in which he lived, but he 
has left a memory fragrant of modesty, gentleness, good fellowship 
and quiet good deeds. Surely a man who loves his fellowman, and 
by his living and his doing makes the life of the community in which 
he lives a little better and a little sweeter, is as worthy of as much 
honor and as tender a remembrance as he who fills the eye and ear 
of a Comtnonwealth. 

The Lowell "Sun" said ; 

The career of Patrick Gilbride was one of remarkable achieve- 
ment, typical of the spirit of an older generation. Coming to this 
country with no other capital than sturdy character, sterling integrity, 
sanguine temperament and untiring perseverance, he entered the 
iield of business and became not only one of the most respected but 
one of the most successful men in this section of the country. Quiet 
and unostentatious in manner, he was not given to personal exploita- 
tion, but his life's work is crystallized in results that speak more elo- 
quently ot the man than any personal laudations. He was univer- 
sally esteemed, universally respected, and will be universally mourned. 
It is a rare character that can distinguish between vmyielding zeal 
and unreasoning fanaticism, but Mr. Gilbride had that character, and 
was in the truest sense of the word always a gentleman. The city 
of Lowell is poorer for his departure — poorer in what every city 
needs most of all, to wit: Enlightened citizenship of the broad gauge, 
public spirit kind. The story of the life and business success of Pat- 
rick Gilbride should be an inspiration to every young man who is 
making his start in life, or who, having begun, has met with discour- 
agements which have hindered his progress. 



COMMANDER EDWARD HERSCHEL SCRIBNER. 

In Commander Edward llerschel Scribner, United States Navy. 
retired, Lowell has a son in whom she may well feel a justifiable pride. 
He served his country as an al)le and gallant officer, and retired to 



BIOGRAPHICAL 233 

the less arduous calls of life in the town of his birth. But upon the 
entrance of the country into the World War he was too valuable 
not to be put to use, and he has given up his well earned leisure to 
serve his country again in a crucial time. Such is the brief story of 
Commander Scribner. a picked man, trained and fitted for his 
country's service, and serving her well and faithfully. Such men are 
the boast of our institutions and the true torch bearers of democracy. 

Commander Scribner was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Octo- 
ber ID, i'"^54, the son of Charles and Emma (Home) Scribner. His 
father was born at Chelsea. Vermont, but as a young man had come 
to Lowell, where with his brother Frank he worked as a contractor 
in the Lowell Machine Company's shops. He continued to live in 
Lowell until his death in 1905. Mrs. Charles Scribner was born in 
Wakefield. New Hampshire, and died in 1914. in Lowell. Commander 
Scribner was educated in the public schools of Lowell, and after 
graduating from the high school he took the examination for the 
United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, and was graduated in 
1879. From that time until 1907 he was in active service. His first 
cruise in '.he years 1880-81-82, on the United States Steamship "Svva- 
tara," was under the late Rear Admiral Sampson as commanding 
officer. These three years were spent on the China Station. His 
second three years of sea duty were in Brazilian and Argentine waters 
on the gunboat "Nipsic," which was later lost in the storm at Apia, 
in Samoa, in 1889. For three years, from 1886 to 1889, he was instruc- 
tor of Marine Engim^cring at the United States Naval Academy. 
From 1889 to 1891 he served in the United States Geodetic and Coast 
Survey. This survey was in New England waters in summer, and 
in Florida and at the mouth of the Mississippi in winter. From 1892 
to 1894 he was on duty at the United States Navy Yard at Boston. 
From 1894 to 1897 he was in China and Philippine waters, serving on 
■several ships, among them, the "Boston," "Monocacy," "Yorktown," 
"Monadnock" and "New Orleans." In 1897 he returned to the United 
States, and was assigned to inspection duty, his post being to visit 
and inspect the steel products where machinery was being made 
under contract for the Navy, and at this post he remained for a year 
and a half, being then assigned to the battleship "Brooklyn." in the 
Philippines, and later transferred to the "Concord" at Manila, which 
took part in the bombardment of Panay Island while cooperating 
with the forces of General Hughes during the Philippino insurrection. 

In 1905 he voluntarily retired from active service with the rank 
of commander. Retiring to live in Lowell. Massachusetts, he became 
the general manager of the Davis & Sargent Lumber Company, and 
was with it until March, 1917. when the Government, anticipating 
war, requested him to enter active service again, and placed him in 



234 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

charge of the navy recruiting service in the State of Connecticut with 
headquarters at New Haven, where he has been to date, 1918. In 
politics Commander Scribner is an Independent, and attends the 
Unitarian church. He serves on the board of investment of the 
Lowell Institution for Savings. He is a charter member of the Amer- 
ican Institute of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers, and of the 
Vesper Country and Yorick clubs. His beautiful residence is No. 70 
Tyler Park. 

Commander Scribner, married in January, 1883, at Lowell, Carrie 
A. Davis, daughter of Stephen C. Davis, one of the founders of the 
Davis & Sargent Lumber Company. Commander Scribner, his wife, 
and their three children were born in Lowell. Their children are: 
Ernest Davis, born October, 1885, at present treasurer of the Davis & 
Sargent Lumber Company; Warren Francis, born August, 1887, an 
attorney-at-law in Boston, a lieutenant in the aviation division of the 
United States Signal Corps; Stephen Herschel, born June, 1889, 
studied at an Officer's Training School for the United States Navy. 



STEPHEN W. ABBOTT. 



Stephen W. Abbott is of a Maine family, son of David Stackpole 
and Jemima W. (Tinkham) Abbott. His grandfather, Benjamin 
Abbott, was a son of the first generation of Abbotts in America. His 
father. Df.vid S. Abbott, was reared on a farm, and later was engaged 
as outside superintendent for the Great Falls Manufacturing Com- 
pany, of Somersworth, New Hampshire. Still later he returned to 
farming in Albion, Kennebec county, Maine. 

Stephen W. Abbott was born at Somersworth, New Hampshire. 
February 27, 1858, but in i860 his parents moved to a farm in Albion, 
Kennebec county, Maine, where the next eighteen years of his life 
was spent. He attended the public schools, aided in the farm work, 
and after leaving school became his father's full helper. He continued 
on the farm until he was twenty years old ; then he secured a position 
in Dover, New Hampshire, with Converse & Hobbs, dealers in lum- 
Ijer. He took such a deep interest in all departments of the business, 
and developed such aptitude, that within a year he was in charge of 
ihe yards. In 1882 the firm dissolved partnership, Hobbs selling 
out to Converse, who continued the business. Mr. Abbott and Mr. 
Hobbs then went south, and after investigating timber lands in North 
Carolina, organized a corporation known as the New Market Lumber 
Company, Mr. Hobbs being president and Mr. Abbott treasurer. In 
the virgin forests, twelve miles from Highpoint, they set up one of 
the first lumber mills in this section. He established his home in an 
old plantation house, and started operation by building a mill and 





?^ /^ d//^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 235 

preparing the necessary equipment. The timber cut was hard wood 
and hard pine. With the help of the available negroes, he cut down 
the trees, dragged them to the mill, and sawed them into marketable 
lumber, and hauled them with ox and mule teams to the railroad 
station, where they were shipped to various markets in the North. 
Hauling logs by ox and mule teams was one of the many hardships, 
which the pioneer lumberman had to endure, but Mr. Abbott was a 
worker and a successfvil one in the production of lumber from the 
virgin forests. This experience was a valuable asset, for very few 
men have passed through all the stages of the lumber business as 
Mr. Abbott succeeded in doing. 

After three years spent in North Carolina. Mr. Abbott's health 
became affected, and it was no longer possible for him to continue to 
live in that climate. Accordingly he severed his connection with Mr. 
Hobbs and returned to Dover, New Hampshire, and engaged in native 
lumber business for himself, buying wood lots, cutting the timber 
and selling it in the market. He operated in Harrington, Strafford 
and Goffstown, New Hampshire, for about three years, and then went 
with the J. F. Paul Company, of Boston, Massachusetts, as foreman 
of their lumber business. It was while with this company that Mr. 
Forest, of the then important firm of Burnham, Forest & Davis, of 
Lowell, Massachusetts, approached him with the ofter to come to 
Lowell, as foreman, an offer which attracted Mr. Abbott's interest 
to such a degree that he came to Lowell to investigate. He found 
everything so much to his liking that he resigned his position with the 
Paul Company, and in March, 1S90, assumed the position of foreman 
with his new employers In 1891 his friend, Mr. Forest, died. The 
widow's interest was purchased by the remaining partners, who 
re-organized as Burnham & Davis. They operated as a firm until 
1903, then incorporated as Burnham & Davis Lumber Company, 
with Charles O. Davis as president, and Crawford Burnham as 
treasurer. In 1905 Mr. Burnham died, and Mr. Abbott, who had been 
intimately connected with the business all these years as foreman and 
manager, became the owner of half the business through the purchase 
of the Burnham stock. Mr. Abbott bought the Burnham interests 
from his savings and from the profits of several building transactions, 
for thrift with him went hand in hand with industry. When the 
company re-organized, Stephen W. Abbott was made president of 
the corporation, Burnham & Davis Lumber Company, and Charles 
O. Davis, treasurer. In May, 1916, Mr. Davis died. Mr. Abbott then 
purchased his interest and became sole owner, officially designated 
as president and treasurer. Since 1878 he has been in the lumber 
business 'n Dover, New Hampshire, New Market. North Carolina, and 
in Boston and Lowell, Massachusetts. Since 1890 he has been man- 



236 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ager of yards as foreman, and manager of the business as partner and 
owner. He is a thoroughly capable business man, and in his own 
special line is without a superior. Now in the prime of life he can 
review his career with satisfaction, and with the past as a guide can 
look confidently into the future. 

He has confined himself exclusively to his business, with the 
exception of a directorship in the Lowell Cooperative Bank. He is 
a member of the Lowell Board of Trade, but has no club or fraternal 
affiliations; business, home, and the family filling to the brim his 
measure of life. In politics he is a Republican. There is an instructive 
lesson to be learned from the career of Mr. Abbott, and the young 
man who would win success may gain the secret, for the reason is 
so plain that it cannot be misunderstood — hard work, absolute hon- 
esty in all his dealings, unfailing courtesy, and the unfaltering ambi- 
tion to make the most of himself and his opportunities. He has no 
finely drawn theories nor nicely drawn distinctions, but thinks, talks, 
and acts the value of labor in developing a man's powers and insuring 
his success, no matter in what field of activity he enters. 

Mr. Abbott has married twice, his first wife being Nellie M. Went- 
worth, daughter of George and Helen Wentworth, of China, Maine. 
This marriage was solemnized May i, 1879. Mrs. Abbott died Au- 
gust 27, 1880. In Dover, New Hampshire, September 30, 1882, Mr. 
Abbott married Adelaide O. Shepherd, daughter of Freeman and 
Susan Shepherd, of Strafford, New Hampshire. Mr. and Mrs. Abbott 
are the parents of a daughter, Nellie, a graduate of Lowell High 
School, and Rogers Hall School for Girls. On September 30, 191 1, 
she married Edgar H. Douglas, of Waterville, Maine, who is now 
associated with Mr. Abbott in the business. They have three chil- 
dren : Elinor, born April 10, 1914; Phyllis, born June 7, 191 5; and 
Stephen Abbott, born June 16, 1918. 



JOHN THOMAS DONEHUE, D. D. S. 

The wonderful advance made in the dental profession in the past 
half century has not been equalled in any of the professions. The 
graduate in dentistry now takes in anatomy practically the same 
course as the physician and surgeon, and excluding materia medica the 
courses are not widely separated. Dental surgery has and is accom- 
plishing wonders in adding to personal attractiveness, health and 
comfort, and as an exponent of that profession Dr. Donehue holds a 
high place in public esteem. He is one of Lowell's native sons who 
have retained residence all their lives and dedicated themselves and 
their talents to the welfare of their native city through service to their 
fellowmen He is a son of John Thomas Donehue, who was born in 



BIOGRAPHICAL 237 

Ireland, and was brought to the United States by his parents when a 
babe of four months. He grew to manhood in Lowell, served as 
representative in the Massachusetts Legislature of 1884, was a mem- 
ber of the executive committee of the Democratic city committee in 
r 883-84-85-86, and is yet influential in the party. In business he is 
head of John T. Donehue & Company, No. 276 Middlesex street, 
Lowell. He married Anne J. Shaughnessey, born in Lowell in 1843, 
the family home now being at No. 22 Twelfth street. John T. and 
.•\nne J. Donehue are the parents of ten children : William, of Los 
Angeles. California; John Thomas, of further mention; Harry; Jos- 
ephine, married John Crotty, of Bayonne, New Jersey ; George ; Her- 
bert; Gertrude, married John Dwyer, of Jersey City; Frank; Alice; 
and Clarence 

John Thomas Donehue, Jr., second son of John Thomas and .Anne 
J. (Shaughnessey) Donehue, was born in Lowell, September 29, 1874, 
and for the past twenty-two years has been practicing dentistry in 
his native city. He was educated in Lowell public schools, finishing 
with high school, going thence to Boston Dental College, whence he 
was graduated D. D. S., class of 189S. He at once opened offices in 
Lowell, and is one of the leading dental practitioners of the city, his 
offices in the Runels building, Room 3. Eminent in his profession, 
Dr. Donehue, while devoted to the interests of his clientele, has long 
taken an interest in certain phases of civic life, and is now a trustee of 
Lowell Public Library and of Lowell Textile School. He is a mem- 
ber of the Church of the Immaculate Conception, and the Knights of 
Columbus, and is a Democrat in politics. 

Dr. Donehue married, in Lowell, Nellie T. Gilday, daughter of 
Michael T. Gilday, born in Ireland in 1836, came to Lowell in 1848, 
died in 1898. Michael T. Gilday married Ellen Boland, born in 1839, 
died in 1913. Dr. and Mrs. Donehue are the parents of a daughter and 
three sons: Grace, born March 2, 1901, a student at New England 
Conservatory of Music, a harpist; John, born March 2, 1903, student 
at Boston College High School, a violinist; Paul, born July 13, 1905, 
a high school boy, his instrument the 'cello ; Charles, born February 
2, 1907. These children are all gifted musically, each having a favor- 
ite instrument, and they are a source of great pleasure to their parents 
and friends, but their youth restricts them to private entertainment 
only. The family home is No. 525 Andover street, Lowell. 



PHILIP PATRICK HAGGERTY. 

Every citizen of Lowell knows this name and respects the bearer 
of it. For more than fourscore years Mr. Haggerty has been a resi- 
dent of his present home town and for upward of half a century has 



238 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

been the most prominent figure in its musical circles. As choir direc- 
tor and soloist in different churches and also as an instructor in vocal 
music he has built up a widespread reputation, and as a citizen has 
always stood in the front rank. 

Patrick Haggerty, grandfather of Philip Patrick Haggerty, was 
a native of Galway, Ireland, where he passed his entire life. He was 
a cordwainer, also dealing in harnesses, horse trappings and similar 
articles. 

James Haggerty, son of Patrick Haggerty, was born in 1797, near 
the city of Galway, County Galway, Ireland, and as a child was 
deprived by death of both his parents. He was reared by an uncle 
in Dublin, where he was apprenticed to learn the trade of cordwainer, 
or leatherworker. After serving his time he went to Athlone, Ire- 
land, where he followed the trade of shoemaker and leatherworker. 
In 1835 he emigrated with his family to the United States, settling in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, whither some relatives had preceded them. 
Mr. Haggerty married, in Athlone, Ireland, Margaret Judge, and their 
children were: i. Philip Patrick, mentioned below. 2. Peter, born in 
1829, in Athlone, Ireland, and attended the public schools of Lowell, 
afterward studying law and acquiring a large practice. At the begin- 
ning of the Civil War he became captain on the staff of General Ben- 
jamin F. Butler, later becoming major, and sometimes serving as judge 
advocate of the Army of Occupation in New Orleans. In that city he 
was prosecuting attorney for the Union forces and represented the Fed- 
eral Government at all the famous trials. His duty as judge advocate 
of the army made it necessary for him to remain in the service long 
after peace had been declared, and while in New Orleans he contracted 
a fever from which he died in the military hospital in that city. His 
body was brought to Lowell, where it was interred in St. Patrick's 
Cemetery and the city did much to honor the memory of this man 
who rendered such good service and laid down his life for his adopted 
country. His name is preserved in the records of Memorial Hall and 
his portrait adorns the walls of the Lowell Historical Society. 3. Win- 
ifred, married (first) James Walsh, of Boston, Massachusetts, and 
(second) Edward Potter, of New York City. 4. Michael. James 
Haggerty, the father, who followed his trade in Lowell to the close of 
his life, died in i860, and so did not witness the distinction to which 
his second son attained. The mother of the family passed away 
several years earlier. 

Philip Patrick Haggerty, son of James and Margaret (Judge) 
Haggerty, was born August 18, 1827, near Athlone, County Roscom- 
mon, Ireland, and was eight years of age when brought by his parents 
from his native land. He was educated in the Lowell public schools, 
and as a young man obtained a clerkship in the Lowell post office, a 



r.IOr.RAPHICAL 239 

position which he retained for fifteen years. At the end of that time 
Mr. Haggerty resigned in order that he might be free to devote him- 
self to a profession for which nature had specially designed him. 
From childhood he had studied music, attending the best schools 
which Lowell and Boston offered at that time and also receiving 
private instruction. In 1870 he opened a studio in Lowell for the 
leaching of vocal music and thenceforth, for the long period of forty- 
eight years, he devoted himself continuously to the work of his much 
loved profession. During this time Mr. Haggerty was for a few 
years choir director of St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, and for 
five years held the position of soloist in the First Unitarian Church of 
Lowell. He was, also, for a few years, soloist in the Church of the 
Unity (Unitarian), Boston, then becoming choir director of the 
Roman Catholic Church of the Immaculate Conception, Lowell. This 
position he retained for more than thirty years, and during this time 
the church was famous for its music. 

In politics, Mr. Haggerty is a lifelong Democrat and has always 
manifested a loyal and helpful interest in the welfare and progress of 
the city which has been his home from childhood. Years ago he 
organized the Otto Musical Club, of Lowell, an organization com- 
posed of the business and professional men of the city. Mr. Haggerty 
was director of the club, and under his leadership it gave concerts at 
which the music and the manner in which it was rendered were such 
as would please the most fastidious taste. In conjunction with his 
musical genius Mr. Haggerty possesses a strong and distinctive per- 
sonality, forceful and at the same time genial. This explains why his 
admirers, who are numberless, are hardly more numerous than his 
friends, all of whom esteem it a privilege to be included in that circle. 
Mr. Haggerty is now in his ninety-second year and has suffered no 
impairment of his fine voice which has delighted, on so many occa- 
sions, a majority of the citizens of Lowell. In 1918 he relinquished 
his work as an instructor and withdrew from active participation in 
musical events of the city, but continued one thing which he felt to be 
a bounden duty. This was to sing the solo at the requiem mass of each 
of his old friends, as, one by one, they departed. This he still con- 
tinues to do, being frequently requested by the sons and daughters of 
his contemporaries to sing at the requiem masses of their parents. 

Mr. Haggerty married, August 18. 1857, at Lowell, Ann Eliza- 
beth McEvoy, born Ajjril 3, 1836, at Uxbridge, Massachusetts, daugh- 
ter of Hugh and Elizabeth (Daley) McEvoy, both natives of Belfast, 
Ireland. Mr. McEvoy was a tailor, and after working for short 
periods at Boston and Uxbridge, Massachusetts, and Nashua, New 
Hampshire, settled in Lowell, where he prospered in business and 
became one of the well known characters of the city. It was there that 



240 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

he died in 1889, after a residence of thirty-eight years. Mr. and Mrs. 
Haggerty were the parents of the following children: i. Charles 
Peter, deceased ; a chemist in the Merrimack Mills ; married Annie S. 
Morse, of Lowell, and their children were : i. Ann Elizabeth ; ii. John, 
corporal in Signal Corps, United States army, during the war ; iii. Jo- 
seph. 2. Winifred Catherine, at home. 3. Louise Adelaide, deceased ; 
married Peter A. Fay, of Lowell, also deceased ; children : Philip, 
Andrew, Catherine, Louise and Gertrude. 4. Susan Maria, wife of 
John R. Martin, business manager of Father John's Medicine Com- 
pany, Lowell; their children are: i. Robert; ii. Edward M., first lieu- 
tenant of the Seventh Regiment, United States Field Artillery, Reg- 
ular army ; was in France for over a year and a half, his regiment 
forming part of the First Regular Division ; he is now in Germany ; 
iii. Barbara. Mrs. Haggerty was an accomplished musician, serving 
as organist of the Roman Catholic Church of the Immaculate Con- 
ception, while her husband filled the position of choir director. Her 
death occurred in Lowell, September 28, 1907. 

Well and faithfully has Philip Patrick Haggerty served his day 
and generation, consecrating more than half his long life to an art 
which, perhaps more than any other, comforts, inspires and ennobles 
"all sorts and conditions of men." 



WOLFRED P. CAISSE, JR. 

Although born in Middlebury, Vermont, Mr. Caisse was brought 
to Lowell by his parents when but a year old, consequently remembers 
no other home and has for the city the feeling of a native son. After 
completing his classical education he prepared for the drug business 
by a course in pharmacy, and since 1905 has been engaged in the 
retail drug business and since 1914 has been sole proprietor of the 
business located at No. 461 Moody street. There are few young men 
who at his age have chosen and prepared for a profession, established 
their business and have life's battle fairly won. This record has not 
been completed without hard work, and to his task Mr. Caisse has 
devoted his entire time, talent and energy. He has allowed himself 
one specialty, perhaps hobby, but it might well be called another busi- 
ness, for he is an expert amateur taxidermist, and that is his recrea- 
tion. He is a son of Wolfred P. and Rose (Poerrir) Caisse, the latter 
deceased. His father, an expert pattern maker, long employed in 
Lowell cotton mills, is now living in Lowell, retired. 

Wolfred P. Caisse, Jr. was born in Middlebury, Vermont, Sep- 
tember 2"/, 1878, and in 1879 was brought by his parents to Lowell. 
He attended St. Joseph's Parochial School until prepared to enter 
a higher institution, then pursued commercial and classical courses at 



BIOGRAPHICAL 241 

'ihrec Rivers CuUege, Canada. There he completed classical study, 
and having decided upon his life work he entered Massachusetts Col- 
lege of Pharmacy and completed a two years' course. He then 
returned to Lowell and for four years was clerk in the Lowell Phar- 
macy. He then passed the State Board of Examiners and was duly 
entered a registered pharmacist. In 1905 he formed a partnership 
with James 0'F"lahaven and opened a drug store, his partner soon 
retiring from the firm. Mr. Caisse then admitted Dr. .\. G. Payette 
as a partner, they continuing as such until 1914, when Dr. Payette sold 
his interest to Mr. Caisse who has since conducted the business alone. 
The store on Moody street is well-located and well-managed, and Mr. 
Caisse has made many friends in that section who testify to his admir- 
able business qualities as well as to his worth as a citizen. A Repub- 
lican in politics, he has served his w^ard as member of the school board, 
first elected in 1913, reelected in 1915, his second term expiring with 
the year 1917. He is a member of the Pharmaceutical Association, 
the Royal .Arcanum, Corporation of Members of Association Cath- 
olique, L'Union St. Jean Baptiste D'Amerique, and his clubs the 
Lafayette and Citoyens Americains. He is fond of amateur theatricals 
and director of the entertainments of that nature of the Rosland Club. 
Mr. Caisse married, in Lowell, June, 1905, Cecile Lassoude, of 
Three Rivers, Canada. They are the parents of George, Cecile, Rose 
and Helen Caisse. The family home is at No. "Jj^i Merrimack street 
Mr. and Mrs. Caisse are members of the Church of St. Jean Baptiste, 
Riiman Catholic. 



JOSEPH MARIN. 

The first twenty-five years of the life nf juscph Marin were spent 
in his native Canadian home, agriculture being his business. But with 
his coming to the United States, he began his successful commercial 
career and became known as one of the leading merchants of the 
French Colony. He is now practically retired from all activities, his 
only business cares those of his private estate. He is a son of Joseph 
and Adelaide Marin, both deceased, his father a farmer of St. Hya- 
cinthe, Canada. 

Joseph Marin was born at St. Hyacinthe, Province of Quebec, 
Canada, November i, i860, and there attended school until his services 
were needed in the work of conducting the home farm. .As he 
developed in strength and stature his resjjonsibilities increased, until 
finally he was admitted to a partnership, father and son conducting 
a successful hay business in addition to the operation of the home 
farm. Af'er arriving at legal age, he still continued his father's asso- 
ciate, and it was not until 1885 that he finally turned his back upon 



242 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

his native town and sought a new home in the United States. He 
located in Lowell in 1885, and as all his training had been along agri- 
cultural lines he naturally chose a business with which he was 
familiar, the buying and selling of hay and other farm produce. He 
conducted business in partnership with Edward O'Heir, under the 
firm name, O'Heir & Marin, hay and potatoes being principally dealt 
in. Later this firm established a store on Merrimack street for the 
sale of second-hand furniture, both stores being conducted by the 
company until 1891, when Mr. Marin bought his partner's interest 
and continued the business under his own name. He carried on both 
branches of his business very successfully, and in 1896 bought land 
on Merrimack street, upon which, in 1897, he erected the Joseph 
Marin block. In 1900 he retired from the hay business, continuing 
his furniture bvisiness until 1910, which he sold to Emory Cognac. 

After the sale of his furnniture store, Mr. Marin entered the 
automobile business, as proprietor of the Moody Bridge Garage, a 
business he personally conducted for several years, but now leases 
to another. He devotes his time to the management of his lands and 
buildings, his property being largely real estate and tenements. A 
successful business man, he also has a warm, social nature, and 
delights in the society of his friends, who are many. He is a member 
of the church, St. Jean Baptiste, and of the Catholic Foresters of 
America. 

Mr. Marin married, in 1886, Josephine Dansereau, they the parents 
of: George E., a Jesuit Noviate in Montreal: Balda. a Sister in Notre 
Dame Convent, Montreal. 



JOHN H. BEAULIEU. 

Although for many years of his life a worker in the textile mills, 
Mr. Beaulieu is a well known merchant of Lowell, proprietor of his 
own grocery and principal owner of Joseph A. Desrosiers & Company, 
clothiers, and a dealer in real estate. He was the owner of consider- 
able land in the locality where the St. Louis Roman Catholic Church 
now stands, corner of \\'est Sixth and Boisvert streets, and when 
the newly-created parish was in need of aid he donated with Jacques 
Boisvert the land upon which the church is built, although not a 
member of that parish. He was a skilled mill worker, is a successful 
business man, and while serving as councilman and later as alderman 
he pursued a straight and honorable course, his record being free 
from all criticism. 

John H. Beaulieu, youngest and eleventh child of Benjamin and 
'\glae (Legeault) Beaulieu, was born in the village of Ste. Martine 
Province of Quebec, Canada, October 12, 1858, and there attended 



BIOGRAPHICAL 243 

the parish school until eleven years of age. In 1869 his parents 
moved to Fitchburg, Massachusetts, where the lad continued his 
studies in the public schools. He began his wage-earning life with 
the Wakefield Rattan Company, and continued with that concern 
until he was seventeen. He then came to Lowell, alone and unac- 
quainted, but soon found employment in the Merrimack Mills, there 
remaining sixteen years as weaver and loom fixer, becoming a "second 
hand." That brought him to the age of thirty-three, and not being 
satisfied with his financial progress he left the mills and entered 
mercantile life. His first business venture was as a grocer at No. 92 
Tilden street. Lowell, and there he just about held his own for a 
few years. Soon better things came and he bought the building in 
which he yet conducts the grocery at No. 92 Tilden street, and built 
his present home. No. 202 Hildreth street. He later became consid- 
erably interested in suburban real estate and is still a dealer, oper- 
ating quite largely at times. With his grocery and real estate dealing 
moving prosperously, he took on another interest by purchasing the 
clothing business of Partha Brothers, at No. 526 Merrimack street, 
in 1909, taking in his son-in-law, Joseph A. Desrosiers, and re-organ- 
izing as Joseph A. Desrosiers & Company. This business is also a 
prosperous one and its success adds tn the business reputation of Mr. 
Beaulieu. 

He is a director of the Middlesex Trust Company, member of 
the Lowell Board of Trade, the Lafayette Club, St. Louis Roman 
Catholic Church, the Centralville Social Club, and St. Joseph's Society. 
In political faith he is a Republican, and for two years represented 
Ward Six in Common Council, and one year as alderman. He is fond 
of travel, and whenever possible indulges himself in that way. He is 
a man of kindly heart and friendly nature, greatly liked by all who 
know him. He has been honored by being appointed a member of 
Local Draft Board, Division No. 4, Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Mr. Beaulieu married, in Lowell, in January, 1877, Marie Le Clair, 
their married life covering a period of forty years. They are the 
parents of a daughter and two sons: Laura M., married Joseph A. 
Desrosiers; Henri A., an employee of the Boston & Maine Railroad, 
married Juanita Godu : Leo, a merchant, associated with Joseph A. 
Desrosiers & Company, of No. 526 Merrimack street, married Robea 
E. Ducharme. 



DANIEL GAGE. 



Daniel Gage, for nearly half a century one of the most successful 
and prominent business men of Lowell, Massachusetts, with a repu- 
tation for integrity and ability, belonged to an old New England 



244 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

family connected from early Colonial times with the affairs of many 
communities. The Gage family claims honorable descent from one 
who came to England with William the Conqueror at the time of 
the Norman Conquest, 1066 A. D., and settled in Chichester. A 
lineal descendant of that ancestor was Sir John Gage, who died in 
the year 1633. 

(TI) John Gage, of Stoneham, Suffolk county, England, second 
son of Sir John Gage, migrated to America, landing at Salem, Massa- 
chusetts, in the summer of 1630. He was one of the first proprietors 
of Ipswich, Massachusetts ; he removed later to Rowley, and died 
there in the year 1673. 

(III) Daniel Gage, son of John (2) Gage, was born near Salem, 
Massachusetts, in the year 1639, ^"d died November 8, 1705. 

(IV) Daniel (2) Gage, son of Daniel (i) Gage, was born at 
Bradford, Massachusetts, March 12, 1676, and lived there until his 
death, March 14, 1747. He married Martha Burbank, who was born 
March 9, 1679, and died September 8, 1741. On the banks of the 
Merrimack river, he established the Gage's or Upper Ferry. 

(V) Daniel (3) Gage, son of Daniel (2) Gage, was born at Brad- 
ford, Massachusetts, April 22, 1708. He was a captain in the battle 
of Lexington, and had two sons in the battle of Bunker Hill. He died 
September 24, 1775, in that part of Pelham, New Hampshire, now 
known as Gage Hill. He married Ruth . 

(VI) David Gage, son of Daniel (3) Gage, was born at Pelham, 
New Hampshire, August 15, 1750, and died there April 26, 1827. He 
married Elizabeth Atwood, also of Pelham, who was born in the 
year 1755, and died in the year 1845, at the age of ninety years. 

(VII) Nathan Gage, son of David and Elizabeth (Atwood) Gage, 
the ninth of a family of twelve children, was born at Pelham. New 
Hampshire, May 27, 1791, and died there, February 20, i860. He was 
a farmer of the old sturdy New England type. He was a soldier in 
the War of 1812. He married Mehitable Woodbury, who was born 
at New Salem, New Hampshire, February 17, 1795, and died at Pel- 
ham, September 27, 1879. They had ten children, the fifth of whom 
was Daniel. 

(\TII) Daniel (4) Gage, son of Nathan and Mehitable (Wood- 
bury) Gage, was born at Pelham, New Hampshire, June 4, 1828, and 
died February 9, 1901, at Lowell, Massachusetts. He attended the 
schools of his native town, and spent the first twenty-five years of his 
life on his father's farm. In 1854 he came to Lowell, Massachusetts, 
and engaged in the wholesale beef business. During his successful 
career of fifteen years in this work, he was located much of the time 
on Hildre^h street, Dracut, now a part of the city of Lowell. In 1869 
he sold this business and his home, and moved to the estate at the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 245 

corner of Bridge and West Sixtli streets, Lowell, where his daughter 
now lives. In the spring of 1870, Mr. Gage took up the business with 
which, through the remainder of his life, he was prominently iden- 
tified and through the successful conduct of which he became known 
as the ice king of Lowell. From the McFarlin Brothers, he bought 
their few ice houses and adjoining property near the Merrimack river. 
This has remained the center of the great ice, wood, and lumber busi- 
ness which he developed and personally managed to the end of his 
life. He was for many years director of the Prescott National Bank, 
and at his death was its president. Intimately identified with the 
many aspects of the city's life, Mr. Gage was a unique figure in the 
development of this prosperous community. He was interested in all 
movements for the common weal and ready to help every good 
cause. He established the practice of supplying free ice to many 
charitable institutions of the city, a service still rendered under his 
name. 

On April 22, 1855, Daniel Gage married Abiah Smith Hobbs, of 
Pelham, New Hampshire, a daughter of James and Pamela (Hasel- 
ton) Hobbs, highly respected residents of that town. James Hobbs, 
Esquire, well versed in the law, held the highest offices of his town 
and transacted its business for many years. His grandfather was the 
Rev. James Hobbs, who about the year 1750 came from Kingston, 
Massachusetts, and settled in Pelham, New Hampshire, as the first 
minister of that town. Of the two children of Mr. and Mrs. Daniel 
Gage, one died in her sixteenth year, and one became the owner of 
the business established bv her father. 



EDWIN ALONZO SIMPSON. 

Edwin Alonzo Simpson, a successful and prominent contractor 
and real estate agent of Lowell, Massachusetts, and an important 
public official of this city, is a native of the State of New Hampshire, 
and the son of Olinthus A. and Emily J. (Stickney) Simpson, old and 
highly respected residents of the town of Windham. In 1870, Olin- 
thus A. Simpson moved to Lowell, and there continued in the con- 
tracting business. He was a prosperous and energetic man, and for 
many years was a prominent citizen of Windham, New Hampshire, 
where he was engaged in business as a contractor. 

Born August 22, 1867, at Windham, New Hampshire, Edwin 
Alonzo Simpson spent the major part of his childhood and early youth 
in Lowell, and attended the Varnum School, Lowell, and Bryant & 
Stratton's Commercial College at Boston, Massachusetts. Having 
completed his course here, where he gained much knowledge which 
has proved of value to him in his work, he remained in the city of 



246 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Lowell, and since that time has made it his permanent home. In 
Lowell he engaged in the contracting business, of which he had some 
knowledge from aiding his father in early youth, and prospered 
greatly. He soon had developed a business which was one of the 
largest of its kind in the city, and had earned a reputation for hon- 
esty and square dealing, as well as for ability and familiarity with 
his line, second to none. Having made a successful beginning in the 
contracting business, Mr. Simpson engaged in the real estate line as 
well, nor has he met with less success in this than in the former. 

Mr. Simpson has not confined his activities to the business world. 
He has interested himself keenly in public affairs, and has proved 
himself a capable officer in several different capacities in connection 
with the citv government. In 1897 he held the position of assistant 
superintendent of streets in Lowell, and has rendered much valuable 
service to hiL-. fellow citizens in the excellent work that he has done 
in that department. Mr. Simpson is also an active figure in the social 
and club worlds, and is a member of Lowell Pentucket Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons. He is also a member of the Vesper 
Country Club. 

Edwin Alonzo Simpson was vmited in marriage, Feliruary 23, 
1898, at Lowell, Massachusetts, with Laura E. Sayward, a daughter 
of James and Berthia (Morton) Sayward, her parents for many years 
residents of Burnham, Maine. 



JOSEPH FRANCIS McMAHON. 

It was not until 1907 that Mr. McMahon established the plumbing 
and heating apparatus business which bears his name, although a 
native son of Lowell, and long connected with her business interests. 
But it was as a mill worker, apprentice and journeyman, that he con- 
tinued for many years. He is a son of Patrick and Catherine 
McMahon, his father a shipper at the carpet mills. 

Joseph Francis McMahon was born at the Market street home 
of his parents, in Lowell, November 12, 1861, and obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools of the city. He began his wage earning 
career with the Hamilton Paint ^\'orks, continuing with that com- 
pany for seven years. He next spent two years under Jerry Ryan, 
learning the tinsmith trade, which he followed as a journeyman for 
about twenty years. The next ten years he was with the New Eng- 
land Telephone & Telegraph Company, that period expiring in 1907. 
He then organized the firm, J. F. McMahon & Company, and at Nos. 
453-455 Gorham street has since conducted a successful business in 
plumbing and steam heating, gas and water fitting. The firm is 
now constructing a brick building, sixty-one by one hundred feet, at 





<J^cyi 




BIOGRAPHICAL 247 

the corner of Union and Gorham streets, to which they will remove 
upon its completion. Mr. McMahon is a member of the National 
Master Plumbers' Association, and the Heating and Piping Contrac- 
tors' National Association, and stands well in the business com- 
munity. He has won his way to honorable position, beginning when 
very \(jung, and has come every step of the way through his own 
efforts. He is a Democrat in politics, a member of the Fraternal Order 
of Eagles, the Kiwanis Club, Lowell Board of Trade, and St. Peter's 
Church. 

Mr. McMahon married, August 12, 1883, Katherine Fitzgerald, 
daughter of Morris and Katherine Fitzgerald. Mr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Mahon are the parents of six children: i. William, steamfitter, mar- 
ried Mary Dean, and resides at No. 90 White street. 2. John J., 
plumber, member of the firm J. F. McMahon & Company ; unmarried ; 
resides with his parents. 3. Edward L., traveling salesman ; served 
with the United States Navy in World War. 4. Arthur P., plumber, 
associated with father ; served with United States Navy in World 
War. 5. Francis, a student. 6. Mary Katherine, attending St. Peter's 
Parochial School. 



CHARLES M. DICKEY. 



Charles M. Dickey, the well known and public-spirited citizen of 
Lowell, Massachusetts, where, as proprietor of a number of the most 
popular hotels in the city, he has established an enviable reputation 
for himself, comes of good old New England stock. He is a son of 
Joseph Dickey, a native of Topsham, Vermont, born in the year 1822. 
Mr. Dickey, Sr., was an active and energetic man, who met with a 
very well-earned success in the manufacturing world. He lived for a 
time in New York State, but eventually returned to Vermont, and had 
his home in the town of Corinth, in that State, at the time of his death 
in 1883. Mr. Dickey was a manufacturer of shoes and enjoyed a large 
market in Vermont and Northern New York, also engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits. 

Born at Brasher, New York, June 26, 1857, Charles M. Dickey 
spent the first few years of his life in his native town, and there began 
his education, attending the local public schools for this purpose. 
While still a lad his parents removed to Corinth, Vermont, and he 
continued his studies there until he had reached the age of seventeen 
years. Having at that age completed his schooling, he secured em- 
ployment with his father and worked on the latter's farm until he 
attained his majority. At the age of twenty-one, however, he aban- 
doned the parental roof and came directly to Lowell, Massachusetts, 
where he has made his home and his business headquarters ever since. 



248 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

His move to this city was impelled by a feeling shared by many enter- 
prising country boys of that time that greater opportunities awaited 
them in the cities than in their own rural home, and certainly in Mr. 
Dickey's case the e\ent has justified his belief. Upon first reaching 
Lowell, he secured a position as office clerk in the old Washington 
Hotel of this city, and was thus introduced to a line of business in 
which his entire career up to the present has been spent and in which 
he has come to be known widely, not only in the immediate vicinity. 
but by the public which traveled in New England generally. He ren- 
dered himself of so great value to his employers at the Washington 
Hotel, and showed so great an ability to grasp the details of his work, 
that by the end of four years he had been appointed manager of the 
American Hotel, and remained there for five years longer. He had in 
the meantime been setting aside a large proportion of his earnings, 
which during the latter part of his nine years' service were by no 
means small, and it thus came about that he found himself in a posi- 
tion to become independent in business at the close of that period. 
Accordingly, he purchased the St. Charles Hotel on Middlesex street, 
Lowell, where he met with such phenomenal success that he was 
enabled shortly afterwards to purchase the Franklin House in Law- 
rence, Massachusetts. Still later he sold the St. Charles, and purchas- 
ing the American Hotel, of which he had formerly been manager, he 
remodeled the entire building and opened the New American Hotel, 
which is known as one of the finest hostelries in that part of the State. 
From that time to the present, Mr. Dickey has operated the New 
American Hotel in Lowell, and the Franklin House in Lawrence, and 
by his admirable knowledge of the requirements of hotel management 
has made them two of the most popular houses in Eastern Massachu- 
setts, and has enjoyed a success which is most entirely deserved. He 
is at the present time, without doubt, one of the most successful busi- 
ness men of Lowell, and is known far and wide as having been success- 
ful in accomplishing that desideratum in hotels, the house where there 
is at once an air of informal hospitality and yet the most complete 
efficiency of service. 

Charles M. Dickey was united in marriage in the year 1877 with 
Julia A. Abbott, a daughter of James Abbott, of Fairlee. Vermont. 
Mr. Dickey, in spite of the great demands made upon his time and 
energies by the management of his two hotels, has always retained a 
keen interest in local affairs. He is a Republican in politics, but is in 
no sense of the word a politician, though he has served for some time 
on the Lowell Board of Trade, and the Lawrence Chamber of Com- 
merce. He is also affiliated with the Massachusetts Hotel Association, 
and with a number of important fraternal and social organizations, 
among which should be mentioned the local lodges of the Benevolent 



LilOGRAPHlCAL 249 

and Protective Order of Elks and the United Order of American 
Workmen, and he was also a member of the Highland Club. In his 
religious belief Mr. Dickey is a Universalist and attends the church of 
that denomination in Lowell. 

The qualities that are required for success in the hotel business 
are of a perfectly definite order and quite as capable of being formu- 
lated as those needed in any other calling. Many, too, are of a high 
order and closely connected with some of the most fundamental of the 
virtues. Xext to integrity, the most essential trait for the successful 
hotel man is that larger democratic sympathy that comes near to the 
virtue of Christian charity, which leads to a complete sympathy with 
and understanding of all men without regard for class or race and 
which finds its expression in that fine relationship between comrades 
that is one of the purest and most disinterested to be found. Such is 
the character of Charles M. Dickey, who has won a reputation as a 
hotel man second to none in that region of the State about Lowell, 
Massachusetts. 



RT. REV. JOHN BERNARD DELANY. 

The genealogy of the Delany family is like a page from Irish 
history, containing some lines of interest in a review of the life of 
Bishop Delany, who was always proud of his ancestry. His father, 
Thomas Delany, and grandfather, Bryan Delany, were born in County 
Galway, Ireland, but their ancestors for centuries before had settled 
in County Kilkenny, where they "bent the knee to no human lord," 
and "were possessed of considerable substance and pronouncedly 
different in character from the prevailing type of the neighborhood." 
About the middle of the eighteenth century the principal branches of 
the family moved to County Galway, and there became prominent. 
There Bryan Delany was born and lived, and there his ten children 
were born. The eldest of these children, Thomas Delany, resided 
in Galway until 1857, when he came to the United States and settled 
in Lowell, Massachusetts. There he established a tailoring estab- 
lishment, which he successfully conducted until his death, then ranking 
as Lowell's oldest tailor. He was a strong temperance man, and for 
a quarter of a century was president of St. Patrick's Temperance 
Society. He was a man of high character, justly esteemed as a citi- 
zen, and in religion was a fervent Catholic, identified all his Lowell 
life with St. Patrick's Church. He married, shortly after coming to 
the L^nited States, Catherine Fox, born in Ballatrain, County Mona- 
ghan, Ireland, a descendant of an ancient sturdy Irish family remark- 
able for their longevity. Her beautiful womanly Christian character 
shone brightest in her home, and upon her children she lavished a 



250 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

mother's devoted tenderness. She never harbored an unkind thoug-ht, 
and the Delany home in Lowell was a haven to young people. When 
her son, Bishop Delany, was consecrated to his high office, he paid her 
the finest tribute that a mother could be paid, the acknowledgement 
that he was her moral handiwork. "All that I am," he said from the 
steps of the sanctuary where he had just been crowned with the mitre, 
"I owe to the home influence which surrounded my youth." And 
descending the steps he came to his mother, kissed her, thanked her, 
and gave her his first Episcopal blessing. And when his dj-ing eyes 
looked upon her he said, "Don't cry, mother dear, I shall tell God 
about you." The nine children of Thomas and Catherine (Fox) 
Delany were: i. John Bernard, to whose memory this review is 
dedicated. 2. Rose, afterwards Mrs. Patrick Gilbride, of Lowell. 3. 
James, who died in infancy. 4. Mary, afterwards Mrs. John Hearn, 
of Boston. 5. Catherine, afterwards Sister Florence Louise, of the 
Order of Notre Dame of Namur. 6. Thomas, Jr., who died in 1903. 
7. Frederick, afterwards a devout priest of the Boston Diocese. 8 and 
9. Grace and Clotilda, both well known and highly esteemed teachers 
in the public schools of Lowell. 

John Bernard Delany was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, August 
9, 1864, and died in Manchester, New Hampshire, June 11, 1906. 
From the high school of Lowell he passed to further study at Holy 
Cross College, Worcester, Massachusetts, where he remained two 
years. He then entered Boston College, from which institution he 
was graduated in 18S7. 

From his earliest years he had been bent upon being a priest, and 
a few weeks after graduation, accompanied by Edward Quirk, his 
classmate and lifelong friend, he called on Bishop Bradley, of Man- 
chester, and asked for adoption to his diocese. With all the warmth 
of a father's love. Bishop Bradley welcomed the candidate and took 
him to his heart as his favored child. He urged him to go to Paris 
to make his ecclesiastical studies, and accordingly, in 1887, he left the 
United States on the steamship "La Bourgoyne," for the famous 
seminary of St. Suipice, at Paris. There, after four years of study and 
training, he was ordained a priest, May 23, 1891, by the venerable 
bishop of Paris, Cardinal Richard. He was a faithful and loyal alumnus 
of that institution wherein were handed down for centuries the best 
traditions of Catholic France, and he was ever ready to attribute to 
its influence and training much of the good of his after life. 

Father Delany said his first Mass at St. Suipice. He then offered 
the Holy Sacrifice at some of the famous shrines in and about Paris 
and Lourdes, where he journeyed especially to ask the blessing of the 
Mother of God on his new life and work. He visited Engfland and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 251 

Ireland, then returned to the United States. After a few days at his 
home in Lowell, he reported for duty to his superior, Bishop Bradley, 
at Manchester. He began his priestly life as second assistant in St. 
.•\nne's Church, Manchester, there remaining two and a half years, 
when he was transferred to Portsmouth, New Hampshire, as curate 
to the Vicar General of the Manchester diocese. After substituting 
for a short time for the pastor at Hinsdale, Father Delany was 
assigned to duty at St. Joseph's Cathedral, Manchester, to begin as 
secretary to Bishop Bradley, and as chancellor of the diocese, his 
more immediate preparation for the great work that was to follow. 
He was appointed chaplain to the Sisters of the Precious Blood, and 
at their Monastery on Union street said his first morning Mass and 
preached his Sunday sermon until his consecration. He was their 
spiritual father and friend, and in his various other duties became 
widely known throughout the State. He was diocesan director of 
the League of the Sacred Heart ; director of the Society of Holy 
Childhood ; State Chaplain of the Knights of Columbus ; member of 
the State Conference of Charities and Corrections ; and had charge of 
the State missions to non-Catholics. The last office which Bishop 
Bradley assigned Father Delany was that of diocesan director of the 
Priests' Temperance League. During those years he became better 
known as an interesting public speaker, and was in demand for lec- 
tures and addresses. 

In 1898, with the encouragement of Bishop Bradley, P""ather 
Delany instituted "The Guidon," a monthly magazine of which he 
was editor-in-chief until his elevation to the Episcopate. Other liter- 
ary work of that and a later period was an Introduction to a Life of 
Bishop Bradley, a Pastoral in English and French on Christian educa- 
tion. In 1902 he visited Cuba with a company of Sisters, and in 
Havana instituted the first Monastery of the Precious Blood in Cuba. 
He wrote a full account of this journey for the "Guidon," and also 
wrote voluminously for its editorial pages. He often accompanied 
Bishop Bradley on his travels, and frequently represented him on 
public occasions. His duties as chancellor brought him into intimate 
relations with the pastors throughout the State, and he won their 
unvarying respect. Bishop Bradley died in December, 1903, and 
Father Delany was prominently mentioned as his successor. At the 
turna of the New England bishops, held some weeks later, there was 
read to them a letter, written by Bishop Bradley months before his 
death, naming Father Delany as one of the three priests whom he 
would recommend as his successor. 

On August 9, 1909, his birthday, Father Delany was notified from 
Rome that he had been chosen Bishop of Manchester, and on Thurs- 



252 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

day, September 8, following, in his own Cathedral Church of St. 
Joseph, Rt. Rev. John Bernard Delany was consecrated Second Bishop 
of Manchester by the Apostolic Delegate, the Most Rev. Diomede 
Falconio, D. D., Archbishop of Larissa. The ceremony was most 
beautiful and impressive, no detail being omitted to give it dignity 
and grandeur. The sermon was preached by the Rev. William F. Gan- 
non, S. J., president of Boston College. Many high dignitaries of the 
church were present, and the number in attendance from outside was 
very large. One month after his consecration, in response to the invi- 
tation of Pope Pious X to the Bishops of the World to assist in Rome 
at the definition of the Dogma of the Immaculate Conception, the new 
bishop, accompanied by two of his sisters and Rev. Joseph G. Ander- 
son, now Auxiliary Bishop of Boston, sailed for Europe. He was 
presented to the Pope, as were his two sisters, and after a delightful 
visit they returned home in safety, weathering a most stormy and 
dangerous voyage. With the coming of the new year the young 
Bishop (the youngest in the United States) really took up his real 
burden. He at once began to enlarge and extend the work of the 
diocese. He plunged into an era of improvement, both material and 
spiritual, that was bringing splendid results, when, full of the joy of 
life, happy under the strain of labor, the lover of little children, with 
a nature of simplicity and openness like unto theirs, Bishop Delany's 
life was cut off while it was but beginning. Not two years a bishop, 
and only in his forty-second year, in the very flower of his manhood, 
he was suddenly stricken, and after a few days passed to his reward. 
He was a young man to have upon his shoulders the burden of a bish- 
opric, and this fact made him a conspicuous figure among the Amer- 
ican prelates, and had centered upon him widespread interest and 
universal affection. The news of his sudden and serious illness, so 
soon to be followed by the announcement of his death, came as a 
great shock to his people, who were happy to claim him as their 
spiritual leader and to point him out with pride as the youngest bishop 
in the L^nited States, or as Pope Pius X suggested in conversation 
with him at Rome, "Foristan in tota ecclesia" (Perhaps in the entire 
church). He was stricken with appendicitis on June 6, was operated 
upon the following day, but even with the best medical skill and 
attention, survived the shock only three days. The end came Monday 
morning, June ii, at 3.40 o'clock. His mother and sisters were with 
him, as were also many of his priests, and his death was most trium- 
phant. Six months later his mother died, and there was a joyous 
reunion of the souls who loved each other so well. 

The funeral services were most impressive from the time the body, 
invested in full Episcopal robes, was placed in the beautiful parlor of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 253 

the Cathedral residence, July 11, until the final placing of the body- 
in the vault and the closing and sealing of the great iron doors. The 
scene at St. Joseph's Cathedral will long be in the memory of each one 
present. The governor of New Hampshire, with his staff, were pres- 
ent, as were the mayors of Manchester and of Lowell, the chief justice 
of the Supreme and Superior courts, representatives of great manu- 
facturing interests, representatives from Boston College, Holy Cross 
College, Protestant clergymen from a dozen churches in the city, 
these all gathering to pay their last tribute to their Bishop and Friend. 
All the members of the Catholic hierarchy in New England were pres- 
ent and participated in the solemn ceremonies. Clergymen from 
neighboring dioceses in large numbers were in attendance to pay 
their last respects to the Manchester prelate, and all the priests of the 
See of Manchester were at the Cathedral, with distinguished laymen 
representing church organizations. The celebrant of the Mass was 
His Eminence, William Cardinal O'Connell, D. D.. now Archbishop 
of Boston. The eulogy was delivered by Rev. John T. Mullen, D. D., 
a college classmate and lifelong friend of the dead bishop. 

The following "Appreciation" by His Eminence, Cardinal O'Con- 
nell, forms the opening pages of the "Life and Writings of Bishop 
Delany," published in 191 1 : 

.\ man often unconsciously reveals his soul when he sets a value, 
whether it be upon a ])ainting, an accomplishment, a house, or even 
length of days. None of these things has an absolute fixed valuation. 
It depends upon how he likes them. 

Old age sheltered by the fireside, the silvery locks, the calm 
dimmed eye, the resigned features, all these have for some a great 
fascination. They look upon a long life and a serene old age as a 
beautiful [jossession which they hope one day to be theirs. To them 
it is a treasure which must be obtained by dint of saving. So they 
must have their energy, their emotion, their cfYort, their enthusiasm, 
for all of these wear out the slender thread of vitality. They become 
parsimonious of their forces so that they may last longer. And some 
have become atrophied of mind and heart long before nature's hour, 
simply that they may live long. They cease to do everything but live. 
To tiicm that is enough. Their ambition is satisfied. They are proud 
not oi what they might have accomplished but of being alive. That 
is one point of view, and in a certain sense to cheat nature of twenty 
years is something of an achievement not to be disdained. But there 
is another standard, as there always is for most things. 

To many the picture of life at eighty or ninety is far from fasci- 
nating; indeed it is looked upon with something akin to horror. To 
such, old age is not all silvery locks and calm eyes. It is sadly help- 
less, ])athetically dependent, tirefully reminiscent and dreadfully 
lonely. 



254 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

"Give me calm and longevity," cries one. "Give me an active and 
full life," says the other, "and when my working day is done let me 
go where I can begin Eternal youth." Which is right? Whatever the 
academic answer may be, happily we cannot practically settle it. We 
shall all of us work or wait on God's will. But certainly there is 
something splendid and heroic in the sudden taking off of a valiant 
soldier with his armor on, in the midst of the fight ; and when the 
fight is for God and when the soldier dies on the field, what laurel 
wreath is green and beautiful enough to lay upon his bier? 

What my beloved friend, the sweet record of whose noble life is 
written here, thought upon the subject of old age I know not. But I 
do know that when he fell in the thick of the fight for Holy Church 
he smiled. He was too young not to feel the human pathos of a death 
so early, so unlooked for. But he loved and trusted his King too 
completely to even ask Him why. 

He worked all his life as he had seen men work in the busy city 
when his youth sped by. There in the early morn the bell sounded, 
and again at night to rest. His brain was too active, his mind too 
vigorous, his heart too happy, to ever know what idleness meant. 

As a student he still studied when his task was finished. As a 
priest he still found or invented other duties when those allotted him 
were completed. As a bishop he planned new labors when the end 
came. 

Would the calm, the inactivity, the inertia of age, have attracted 
him? God knew best and has forever sentenced all cjuestioning. He 
was a laborer in the Vineyard, and he died laboring. Others will reap 
what he has sown. But the best seed he ever sowed was love of joy- 
ful work in the cause of God and the Church. 

And in the preface of the work from which the above is quoted, 
Right Reverend Joseph G. Anderson, Auxiliary Bishop of Boston, has 
written : 

In the life of any personage of note written for publication, the 
reader naturally looks for the narration of the extraordinary incidents 
and events that made such a life so important as to be considered 
worthy of presentation before the public. 

Afeasured by this standard there is little in the life of Bishop 
Delany that could merit the mark of greatness. And oftentimes want- 
ing in those sweet simple traits of character that appeal to the human 
heart or are gifted with such superior talents as to place them far 
removed from the everyday life about them ; when, however, they 
are found to be in sympathetic touch with and living our own simple 
existence, their lives then appeal to us more forcibly than all their 
greatness of intellect or heroic deeds. Such a life is that of Bishop 
Delany — beautiful for its simplicity, loving for its gentleness of char- 
acter, and inspiring for its nobleness of mind, generosity of heart and 
earnestness of faith and zeal. 

Though all too brief was his career as Bishop, there were evidences 
of saintly zeal and splendid talents which had he been spared would 



BIOGRAPHICAL 255 

have added lustre and gflorj' to the Diocese of Manchester which he 
ruled, and God's church in New England, as judged by his few years 
labor, and by the apostolic zeal and noble character of his whole 
priestly life. As an old classmate and lifelong friend, I pay this tribute 
of love for his many noble traits of character, and for his genuine, 
sincere and zealous devotion to God and the Church. May his life 
prove an inspiration to all who read it, as his memory will always be 
to those who knew and loved him. 



JOHN ARTHUR McEVOY. 

At the age of eighteen years, Mr. McEvoy, a graduate of a pro- 
fessional college, started business life as an optician in Providence, 
Rhode Island, in fact he was conducting business there while yet a 
student. He came to Lowell soon after graduation, and in the nearly 
twenty years of his residence in this city has built up a large business 
conducted at one location. He is a skilled optician and thoroughly 
reliable, two facts which have attracted to his store a large clientele 
of the best class. He is a son of Thomas and Winifred McEvoy, his 
father a farmer, now deceased. 

John Arthur McEvoy was born at Petersham, Massachusetts, 
March 15, 1875, and there attended the country public school, also 
assisting in such work on the farm as falls to a boy's lot. But he had 
no love for farm life, and soon had definitely decided upon the business 
he would follow. As soon as practical, he entered Klein Optical Col- 
lege of Boston, there pursued a regular course and was graduated in 
1898. 

His first start in business was at Providence, Rhode Island, and 
he was also associated with the Globe Optical Company of Boston 
prior to his coming to Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1900. In Lowell he 
purchased the business established by the New England Optical Com- 
pany at No. 232 Merrimack street, and with that as a nucleus he has 
gone forward to an unusual commercial success. In addition to reg- 
ular optometrist and optical goods, he has a lens grinding depart- 
ment, eye fitting is developed to a fine art, and kodaks and camera 
supplies, microscopes and full lines of optical accessories, are carried. 
The business is the largest of its class in the city, and its proprietor 
ranks with the progressive, public-spirited men of the city. The 
business is conducted under the name, John A. McEvoy. He is a 
member of Ancient York Lodge, P>ee and Accepted Masons ; Lowell 
Board of Trade; Highland Congregational Church: and the Masonic 
Club. 

Mr. McEvoy married, February 7 1898, Mary C. Copland, the 
family hume being at No. 22 Bertram street. 



256 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

WILLIAM THORNDIKE PATTEN. 

Patten's ^L-lrket, owned and operated by William T. Patten, 
occupies a site long devoted to the sale of meats, game, poultry and 
provisions. The former owner, L. W. Hall, was also a long time 
employer of the present owner, although from boyhood he was fami- 
liar with the environment of a meat market, that being his father's 
business. In the early days of Billerica, Massachusetts, his father, 
William Henry Patten, killed and dressed the cattle whose meat he 
sold, William T. also becoming an adept butcher. Then too he drove 
a wagon route, serving his customers from the rear of the wagon, 
which was in fact a meat shop on wheels. This was his early training 
for the business he conducts, and in addition he acquired expert knowl- 
edge of judging and buying cattle on the hoof, estimating their cor- 
rect value before and after dressing. The courtesy, which is a marked 
characteristic of Patten's market, is not forced, but springs from the 
kindly nature of the proprietor, who always has a good word for every- 
body and speaks ill of none. His customers are his friends, and every- 
one who meets him carries away the impression that he has been in 
contact with a true man. 

William T. Patten is a grandson of Deacon Aaron Patten, who 
was born in England, and there learned the cabinet maker's trade in 
a shop specializing in high grade hand made furniture. There, under 
the best of workmen, he mastered every detail of his trade, and after 
becoming an expert he decided to come to the United States. He 
located at Billerica, Massachusetts, and there in a small shop of his 
own began making hand made furniture. The quality of workman- 
ship and beauty of design brought him trade in increasing volume, his 
period furniture being exceedingly popular. Finally he was compelled 
to build a factory at Billerica for his large business, where later at 
times one hundred men were employed. He finally outgrew Billerica, 
and opened sales and display rooms on Haymarket Square, Boston, 
where discriminating buyers gathered and bought the furniture which 
is yet to be found in those old New England homes, highly prized as 
heirlooms. In his own family there are pieces made by this fine old 
mechanic and manufacturer, who never lowered 'his ideals for gain. 
The Billerica factory stands in that part of the town long known as 
Pattenville, his home in which he died also being in that neighbor- 
hood. He married Mary Andrews, a native of Scotland, where they 
were married, she coming with him to Billerica, where she also died. 
To them the following children were born: William H.. of whom 
further; Azel, Aaron, Thomas, Lyman; Asa J., and Mary. 

William Henry Patten, son of Deacon Aaron and Mary (An- 
drews) Patten, was born in East Billerica (Pattenville), Massachu- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 257 

setts, and there spent his youth, and obtained his education. He early 
became interested in the butcher business, and while yet a young man 
bought live cattle, dressed it, and sold the different cuts at retail. 
After mastering that business he left it for a time to assist his 
father in his important furniture business, becoming a good cab- 
inet maker himself. He worked in the Billerica shop for a few years, 
finally leaving his father and going to South Maiden, now Everett, 
Massachusetts, where he reentered the butcher business, buying, 
dressing and selling cattle, his shop a wagon, as was then the usual 
custom. One of the routes he served took him to South Market, 
Boston, where he had established a good trade and high reputation as 
an expert butcher and man of integrity. The practicability of estab- 
lishing a wholesale market in Boston was finally settled in Mr. 
Patten's mind, and so well and so favorably was he known that he had 
no difficulty in forming a syndicate to advance the necessary money. 
'File Clinton Market was built by this syndicate of well known men, 
and there he long conducted a prosperous business. Clinton Market 
was on Clinton street, Boston, the slaughter houses at South Maiden, 
Boston, now Everett, the site of the old building now covered by the 
Cochran Chemical Company building. Mr. Patten was the leading 
spirit in the business, and really the success of the entire enterprise 
rested on him and his expert knowledge of the butcher business. He 
bought on the hoof all meats which he sold in Clinton Market, and 
that business was so successful in its operations that for years Mr. 
Patten was rated as one of the largest buyers of native cattle in 
Massachusetts. In time Clinton Market became the largest wholesale 
meat market in New England, and for fifteen years was successfully- 
conducted by Mr. Patten and his associates. Then the era of Chicago 
dressed beef arrived, and the home dressing of cattle practically came 
to an end. The syndicate owning Clinton Market sold it to a large 
packing house corporation, which is still in existence. 

While William H. Patten was engaged in his Clinton Market 
enterprise his father died, and the son, after selling out, returned to 
Billerica Center, where he bought a large farm and many parcels of 
timber land, and henceforth devoted himself to converting these tracts 
of valuable timber, and placing it on the market. A great deal of this 
timber was converted into brick yard quality, the brick manufacturers 
of Massachusetts becoming very heavy customers. The more valuable 
timber was made into lumber suitable for manufacturers of wooden 
articles. A great deal of this was of such quality that the Teal Wagon 
Manufacturing Company of Medford, Massachusetts, took it in large 
quantities, and other manufacturers were his customers. Finally he 
laid aside all business burdens and retired to his farm at Billerica, 

1^17 



258 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

and there lived in contentment and peace until his death, December 
6. 1893. 

ATr. Patten also bore his share of civic responsibility, serving 
Billerica as selectman for many terms, also as assessor and school 
committeeman. No man stood higher in the esteem of his community 
than he, and the interests of his native Billerica were very dear to 
him. He was an active member and generous supporter of the church, 
and the musical talent he richly possessed was used to add value to 
the church services, and for years he was the leader of the choir. He 
was very fond of music, and played well upon the organ and violin. 

These two men. Deacon Aaron and William Henrj- Patten, father 
and son, did a great deal for both the business and moral welfare of 
Billerica, both being men of sound business quality and of honorable, 
upright lives, their example and influence always being exerted for 
good. Both were held in the highest esteem and when finally their 
work ended, they were laid at rest, and the community mourned the 
passing of two such valued citizens. 

\\'illiam Henry Patten married Abbie .Vnn Jacques, born at the 
Jacques farm in Tewkesbury, Massachusetts, near Chandlers' Turn- 
out on the Lowell-Boston State road. She was a daughter of Nathan 
P. and Thankful (Thorndike) Jacques, her father born in Canada of 
French parentage, her mother born in Massachusetts. Mrs. Patten 
died in Billerica, Massachusetts, April 13, 1896. To Mr. and Mrs. 
William Henry Patten were born the following children : William 
T., of whom further ; and Abbie A. 

William Thorndike Patten, son of William Henry and Abbie 
.\nn (Jacques) Patten, was born in Billerica, Massachusetts, January 
13, 1858, and for years has been one of the substantial, progressive 
merchants of Lowell. He was educated in East Billerica (Patten- 
ville) graded schools, Howe Academy in Billerica Center, Bryant & 
Stratton's Business College, Boston, completing a two years' course at 
the last named institution. He was associated with his father in his 
cattle buying and marketing enterprise, and became familiar with the 
business methods employed as well as an expert butcher. Later he 
became connected with L-. W. & C. O. Hall, prominent meat market 
men of Lowell. As an employee of the Lowell store Mr. Patten, in 
addition to his work there, drove a butcher's wagon, serving custo- 
mers over a route embracing Lowell, Collinsville, Tyngsboro, Massa- 
chusetts, and Pelham, New Hampshire. This style of traveling 
butcher shop, which was very much in vogue in those days, has now 
practically passed away save in a few rural districts, but once the 
housewife made her choice of meats entirely from well stocked wagons 
fitted up much as one sees the small shop of to-day. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 259 

In 1S9S Mr. Patten bought out the Hall business in Lowell, 
and for eight years conducted it under his own name. In 1906 
he sold out to J. M. Wilson and reentered the employ of L. W. Hall 
& Company, his former employer, C. O. Hall, being the company. 
He continued manager of the Hall Market at No. 15 Gorham street, 
Lowell, until the death of L. W. Hall in 1908, then bought the business, 
which he still conducts as Patten's Market. The market specializes 
in fine poultry and meats, has a generous patronage among the leading 
families, and has won for its owner and manager high reputation as a 
merchant of ability, integrity, and upright dealing. Kach of these 
three generations of Pattens has won business success in their chosen 
fields of activity, and all have possessed manly attributes of character 
which have won for them the high esteem of their fellowmen. 

William T. Patten is a member of the Lowell Board of Trade; 
belongs to Kilwining Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; the Vesper 
Country Club ; and is a member of the Pawtucketville Congregational 
Church, and a leader in the church choir, having, like his father, a 
fine voice. 

Mr. Patten married in Lowell, November 14, 1882, Nellie Florence 
Newhall, daughter of Henry L. Newhall, a sketch of whom follows 
in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Patten are the parents of a son, Henry 
Newhall Patten, born in Lowell, April 14, 1885, now connected with 
the Adams Furniture Company, of Lowell. He married, September 
5, 191 7, Adelaide Jeanette Cochrane, of Lowell, and they have one 
son, Henry Newhall Patten. Mr. Patten has the musical talent of the 
Pattens, highly cultivated, and is prominent in Lowell's musical circle. 
He is a member of the Masonic order, holding the thirt\-second 
degree. Ancient Accepted .Scottish Rite 

The Patten family home is at No. 235 Monmouth road, Pawtuck- 
etville, and there a most generous hospitality is dispensed. The home 
is a resort of music lovers, and impromptu vocal concerts are daily 
occurrences. That home is the real center of Mr. Patten's life, 
although he is a business man who always has led men, and for forty 
years has a record for arising each business day at 4 a. m. His busi- 
ness quality is of the highest order, and his many friends are evidence 
of the charm of his personality and character. 



HENRY LYMAN NEWHALL. 

.-\n octogenarian in years and a veteran of Lowell's manufactur- 
ing world, Henry L. Newhall, who through five different administra- 
tions retained his post as paymaster of the Merrimack Woolen Mills 
for forty-three years, 1860-1903, still remains a resident of the city of 



26o HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Lowell, where fifty-eight years of his useful, honorable life have been 
spent. This service to one of Lowell's great textile corporations 
means much more than the responsible task of handling the millions 
of dollars necessary to meet the stated payrolls, for as the business 
increased and employees numbered first hundreds, then thousands, 
new systems of handling these large payrolls quickly and without 
error had to be introduced. This was accomplished by Mr. Newhall 
and under him the business of the paymaster's office flowed smoothly 
and most satisfactorily. Now remarkably well-preserved and active, 
Mr. Newhall reviews his long career with the satisfaction which comes 
from duty well-performed, and it is the pleasure of his many friends 
to render him the deference to which his years and service entitle him. 
The Newhall family of England had estates in Wiltshire as early 
as the eleventh century. At one time in his career Oliver Cromwell, 
the great Protector, owned the Manor of Newhall, but later sold it. 
The family bore arms, those to which Thomas Newhall, of Lynn, was 
entitled, being thus described : 

Arms — .Azure three plates or, on each an ermine spot sable. 
Crest — A cross crosslet fitchee azure. 
Afotto — Diligcntia dilal. 

This branch of the Newhall family of New England descends 
from Thomas Newhall, who came to Lynn, Massachusetts, about 1630, 
his name and that of his brother Anthony appearing on the records of 
Essex county in that year. The line of descent is through the found- 
er's son, Thomas (2) Newhall, who is recorded as being the first 
white child born in Lynn. 

Thomas (2) Newhall was born in Lynn, Massachusetts, about 
1631, and there died April i, 1687. He married, December 29, 1652, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Nicholas Potter. The line continues through 
their son, Thomas (3). 

Thomas (3) Newhall was born in Lynn, Massachusetts, Novem- 
ber 18, 1653, died in Maiden, Massachusetts, July 3, 1728. He was a 
farmer and weaver, owning a farm in Maiden, which he bought in 
1681. He was a lieutenant of the Maiden military company, served as 
selectman, and was quite prominent in his community. He married, 
in November, 1674, Rebecca, daughter of Thomas Green, of Alalden, 
where she died May 25, 1726. They were the parents of Thomas (4), 
who is next in line of descent. 

Thomas (4) Newhall was born in Maiden, about 1680, but early in 
life moved to Leicester, Massachusetts. He became a large land 
owner, engaged also in the lumber business, and in 1724 was chosen 
to represent Leicester in the General Court. He married Mary ■ ■ — , 



BIOGRAPHICAL 261 

and they were the parents of a son, Jonathan, throug^h whom descent 
in this branch is traced. 

Jonathan Newhall was born in Maiden, March 4, 171 1, died June 
8, 1787. He was known as "Captain Jonathan," and in 1785 is of 
record as a trustee of the Baptist church of Leicester. He married 
Hannah, daughter of Josiah Converse, of Brookfield. Massachusetts. 
They were the parents of Hiram Newhall, their fourth child, and the 
head of this branch of the sixth generation. 

Hiram Newhall was born in Leicester, ilassachusetts, February 
23, 1738. lie married (first) January 2, 1762, Mary Seaver, who died 
February 3. 1769, leaving two children. He married (second) Octo- 
ber 19, 1769, Sarah Hasey, who died June 21, 1778, the mother of four 
children. He married (third) December 17, 1770, Jerusha Hayes, who 
bore him nine children. 

Joshua Newhall was born in Athol, Massachusetts, July 3, 1770, 
and there died July 14, 1825, a farmer. He married, April 24. 1791, 
Polly Cutting, born in Athol, May 24, 1773, died at Waltham, Massa- 
chusetts, April 15, 1858. They were the parents of Hiram Newhall, 
and grandparents of Henry Lyman Newhall, whose remarkable career 
is the inspiration of this review. 

Hiram Newhall was born in Athol, Massachusetts, January 20, 
1800, died at Lawrenoe, Massachusetts, March 20, 1862. After leav- 
ing the home farm he went to Nashua, New Hampshire, where he 
entered the employ of the Jackson Cotton Mills, later became over- 
seer of the cloth room, and for twenty-five years held that position. 
His desire, however, was for the Christian ministry, but ill health 
compelled him to abandon theological study, and he continued a 
cotton mill overseer until his retirement. For more than thirty years 
he was an active member and a deacon of the First Congregational 
Church of Nashua. He married, September 27, 1827, Louisa Prescott, 
born in Concord, Massachusetts, October 20, 1799, died at Nashua, 
New Hampshire, September 3, 1852. Both Deacon and Mrs. Newhall 
were highly esteemed for their devoted Christian lives, and were pop- 
ular within a very large circle of friends. 

Henry Lyman Newhall, of the ninth .\mcrican generation, son of 
Hiram and Louisa (Prescott) Newhall. was born in Nashua, New 
Hampshire, June 12, 1835. He attended Nashua public and private 
schools until thirteen years of age, then began his long and honorable 
business career as office boy at the Jackson Cotton Mills in Nashua. 
He continued in this office employ until eighteen years of age, and in 
the meantime continued his studies privately out of office hours. 
About 1853 he was appointed assistant to his father, who was then 
overseer of the cloth room, and there too he continued his studies. 



262 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

From Nashua he went to the Atlantic Cotton Mills in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, as office clerk, but a short time afterward the illness 
of his father recalled him to Nashua, and for two years he performed 
the duties of cloth room overseer at the Jackson Cotton Mills. He 
then returned to Lawrence as clerk to the paymaster of the Pember- 
ton Mills, there remaining until that fateful day, Jaiuiary lo, i860, 
when the mill went down in ruins, ninety lives being lost in the col- 
lapse of the mill. About three months after the Pemberton Mills 
disaster, or to be exact, on April 20, i860, Mr. Newhall came to Lowell 
to assume the duties of paymaster of the Merrimack Woolen Com- 
pany, a post previously oiTered him and accepted. From April 20, 
i860, until December 31, 1903, Mr. Newhall held the office of pay- 
master, and although the Merrimack Mills Corporation and the Pier- 
son Mills Corporation changed owners five times during that period 
he was never disturbed, but continued in office under each adminis- 
tration. No greater tribute could be paid him than to announce the 
simple fact that he held his office as long as he wanted to, no matter 
who owned and ruled the corporation. A Republican in politics, he 
took an active part in public affairs during his first half century of 
lite. He was town clerk in Dracut, 1870-74 inclusive, and during the 
year 1874 was also town treasurer. In 1885-86 he was a member of 
Lowell's Common Council, his interest since that time being that of a 
private citizen deeply concerned for the welfare of his city and country. 
He is a member of Pawtucket Congregational Church, and long served 
as superintendent of the Sunday school, clerk of the Society, and was 
often urged to accept the office of deacon, but as often declined. 

Mr. Newhall married, June 30, 1856, Susan M. French, of Mont 
\'ernon. New Hampshire, born May 15, 1838, daughter of Albert 
Clinton and Lucinda (Eaton) French. Mr. and Mrs. Newhall are the 
parents of two daughters and a son: Minnie Louise, born March 15, 
i860, died August 29, i860; Nellie Florence, born April 12, 1864, who 
married, November 14, 1882, William Thorndike Patten (See Patten) ; 
and Walter Henry, born September 19, 1876, died December 30, 1878. 

This story of a valuable life would be incomplete did it fail to 
speak of the beautiful home life of the Newhalls, and the lo\-able traits 
of character possessed by both that has drawn to them the hjve and 
friendship of so many. Sixty years of married life lies behind them, 
and confidently they approach the future, hand in hand. 



JOHN FRANCIS KRASNYE, M. D. 

John P'rancis Krasnye, AI. D., a specialist in nervous and mental 
diseases, with offices in the Keith's Theatre building, Lowell, Massa- 



P,IO(JRAPH[CAL 263 

chusetts, was born in Yonkcrs, New York, June 12, 1888. lie there 
attended St. Joseph's School and the Yonkers High School, and then 
continued his studies at Cathedral College, New York City, and at 
St. Bonaventure's College, Allegany, New York, there finishing his 
classical courses of study. He prepared for the profession of medicine 
at the medical department of Yale University and at the Chicago 
College of Medicine and Surgery. After receiving his M. D., he was 
appointed resident surgeon to the Wurkhduse Hospital, I'lackwell's 
Island, New York, that institution being under the jurisdiction of the 
Department of Correction, New York City. His services there were 
followed by a term as physician and surgeon to the City Home Hos- 
pital, Department of Charities, New York City, lie resigned his 
position in New York to become surgeon to the I'-mergency Hospital, 
Bridgeport, CnnnccticiU, that being a city institution under control of 
the Department of Charity. Definitely determining to specialize in 
nervous diseases, he became a member of the stafif of the Boston 
Psychopathic Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts, as resident physician. 
From Boston he went to .Vrlington Heights, Massachusetts, as asso- 
ciate physician at the Arlington Health Resort and Ring Sanatorium, 
an institution for nervous and mental diseases, lie later established 
the Pinewood Sanatorium for nervous and mental diseases at .Arling- 
ton Heights, of which he was the superintendent. 

Dr. Krasnye enlisted in the United States Army during the World 
War. receiving a commission in the Army Medical Department, and 
was stationed at Camp Devens, Ayer, Massachusetts, where he was 
camp psychiatrist and chief of the neuro-psychiatric service at the 
Base Hospital. He is well known in his special tield, and has a large 
Lowell clientele. 



JOHN LENNON. 

In the business world John Lenin >n won success through the exer- 
cise of able talents and by tireless devotion to the details of even his 
smallest interests. His death, in 1910, removed from the Lowell com- 
munity a man of large affairs, a pioneer in street railway lines, whose 
reputation for the strictest integrity and uprightness in his dealings 
extended wherever he was known. In his leisure hours he indulged 
his love of music and his fondness for horses, finding in these and in 
his home circle the greatest enjoyment of his life. Ten years ago his 
was a familiar figure on the Merrimack Boulevard as he exercised 
one of his fast trotters. He and his wife were both accomplished and 
talented musicians, members of St. Patrick's choir, and he also played 
the bass viol. He was the center of a wide circle of friends, by whom 
he was held in high esteem for a gentle, generous nature, for con- 



264 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

stancy in genial friendliness, and for dependability in the time of 
need. The outline of his busy, prosperous career follows. 

John Lennon was a son of Michael and Anne (Kelley ) Lennon, 
his parents both natives of County Queens, Ireland, where his father 
followed the farmer's calling and reared a large family. John Lennon 
was born at Hermitage, Parish of Closeland, County Queens, June 
ID, 1826, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, February 26, 1910 He 
was a voung man of twenty-three years when he left the home farm 
and, in 184Q, came to Lowell, Massachusetts, whither his brother, 
Thomas, had preceded him by several years. Thomas Lennon was 
established in the grocery business in Lowell, and John Lennon was 
for a time employed in this store, then establishing independently in 
liquor dealing. His business expanded to profitable dimensions and 
he continued its active head until 1908, when he retired, his son, 
Thomas E.. then becoming head of the business, a position he held 
until his death. 

Mr. Lennon was one of the promoters and builders of the Lowell 
& Dracut Street Railway Company, a horse car line that was absorbed 
by the Lowell Street Railway Company, becoming part of the Lowell 
and Suburban Street Railway System, Avhich in turn was absorbed by 
the Bay State Street Railway Company. He was a man of energetic, 
progressive tendencies, and was influential in numerous enterprises of 
consequence. He was financially interested in Lowell's first telephone 
line, withdrawing after a short time, and was a director of the First 
National Bank of Lowell. When that institution was merged with 
others and became the Union National Bank of Lowell he became a 
director of the new institution, so continuing until his death. His 
judgment and opinions were regarded with respect and attention by 
his associates, for results had vindicated his views on many occasions. 
His insight into the merits and drawbacks of a business proposition 
at first glance was remarkable, and rarely did his first decision lead 
him astray. To the end of his active career he was a leading figure 
in business life in his city, a man of honor and standing in Lowell. 
He was a Democrat in political faith, and a communicant of St. Pat- 
rick's Roman Catholic Church. He was deeply interested in public 
aft'airs and a loyal supporter of all civic movements of improvement 
and progress. His stable always held some fine horses, for he was a 
lover of good horseflesh and always found time for a drive behind one 
of his fast trotters. Mr. Lennon was a man who found much in life 
that was good because he put much of good into his daily contact with 
his fellows. His memory is held as a precious possession by his 
friends and the family upon whom he lavished the purest devotion. 

John Lennon married, at Lowell, in November, 1856. Mary Com- 



^^^/Uyi^l J^CLcAJtiuJL^'^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 265 

merford. who was born and spent her entire life in Lowell, her death 
occurring September 13, 1904. They were the parents of seven chil- 
dren, all born in Lowell: 1. Annie, married John II. Harrington 
(q. V. ). owner and editor of the Lowell "Sun." 2. Jnhn 1'"., a dental 
surgeon, of Providence. Rhode Island, married Elizabeth Denipsey, 
of L,owell. daughter of Patrick and Margaret (Deehan) Dempscy, and 
they are the parents of Edith, who married William J. Heffernan, of 
Long Island City. New York, and Marghretta, who married Francis 
Gilbane, of Pawtucket, Rhode Island. 3. Thomas E., his father's 
successor in business, died April 18, ujig, married Ella E. Butler, of 
Boston, who survives him. 4. William, deceased. 5. Katherine L., 
married Dr. Edward J. Welch, of Lowell, Massachusetts. 6. Mary E., 
a resident of Lowell. 7. Grace, who died in infancy. 



GEORGE C. FAIRBURN. 



The business now incorporated as Fairburn's Market, of which 
George C. Fairburn is treasurer and manager, was founded by his 
father, George Fairburn, who at one time operated the stores on the 
same lines, groceries and ])roduce. These were consolidated in 1912, 
and from that time the business has been centered in the store on 
Merrimack square. The first store opened by Cjeorge Fairburn was 
on East Merrimack street, and dated its existence from 1891. He was 
a good business man, and during his lifetime was rated one of the 
substantial provision merchants of the city. The store on Merrimack 
square was always known as Fairburn's Market, and when, after the 
death of George Fairburn, the business was incorporated, the Fair- 
burn Alarket became the corporate name. .\ large business is trans- 
acted, and as its managing head George C. Fairburn employs the 
experience of a lifetime, for he entered the store when a boy and has 
never known any major business connection. 

George Fairburn, father of George C. Fairburn, was born in 
Lancashire, England, and was in business as a butcher at Littlebor- 
ough until he came to the United States, in August, 1890, making 
Lowell his home. Mr. Fairburn was a member of Kihvining Lodge, 
.\ncient Free and Accepted Masons : Ahasuerus Council, Royal Arch 
Masons; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar; Aleppo Temple, 
Order of the Mystic Shrine ; a thirty-second degree Mason, also a 
member of the Ancient and Honorable Artillery of Boston. He mar- 
ried Annie Crossley, daughter of William and Elizabeth (Parker) 
Crossley, of Lancashire, England. They were the parents of two 
children: i. Florence, born in Littleborough, England, now the wife 
of Joseph W. Jordan, of Lowell, now (1918) with the United States 



266 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

army in France ; they are the parents of two chihlren : Ruth Annie 
and Joseph Whitehouse Jordan. 2. George C, of whom further. Mr. 
Fairburn died August 28, 1914, leaving a widow, who is now the wife 
of Cornelius E. Collins, of Lowell. 

George C. Fairburn was born in Lowell, February 28, 1891. After 
completing primary and grammar school courses, he advanced to the 
high school, whence he was graduated, going thence to Pennsylvania 
Military College, at Chester, Pennsylvania, an institution known as 
"The West Point of the Keystone State," which prepares students 
for the professions or for business. He chose the engineering course 
and was graduated civil engineer, class of 1910. After graduation he 
returned to Lowell, not to follow his profession, but to become his 
father's assistant, duty plainly pointing the way. It was in 1910 that 
he entered business life, going into the stores at the corner of Tremont 
and Merrimack streets, one of them being operated by George Fair- 
burn, who founded the business about twenty years prior to the 
entrance of his son. Father and son continued store business asso- 
ciates until the death of George Fairburn in 1914. The business has 
been consolidated in the large market store at No. 12 Merrimack 
square, and No. 14 Bridge street, and upon the death of the father, 
George C, the son, began as head of the business. In 1915, Fair- 
burn's Market was incorporated, Mrs. Annie (Crossley) Fairburn, 
now Mrs. Collins, president, George C. Fairburn, treasurer and general 
manager. A regular grocery and market business is conducted at 
this most popular trading- point, Mr. Fairburn giving his undivided 
attention to the affairs of Fairburn's Market, Incorporated. He is a 
member of the Lowell Board of Trade ; William North Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; the Council and Chapter ; also Pilgrim Com- 
mandery ; and his clubs are the Vesper Country, and Yorick. 

Mr. Fairburn married, in Lowell, June 7, 1915, Beulah A. Sturte- 
vant; they the parents of a son, George C, Jr., born March 20. 1916, 
at Lowell, and a daughter, Shirley Mavis, born December 12, 1918. 
Mrs. Fairburn is the daughter of Charles S. and Nellie Sturtevant. 



ALEXANDER CRUICKSHANK. 

When Mr. Cruickshank left the farm and went to the citv of 
Montreal, he there learned the trade which has made him one of the 
best known men of the city of Lowell, the making of ice cream and 
frozen delicacies, and when in later years he located in Lowell, he 
was the first ice cream manufacturer to settle in the city and he has 
always kept in the van, his wonderful equipment, where ice cream is 
made under perfect sanitary conditions, enabling him to meet and dis- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 267 

tance all competitions. His business is entireh- wholesale, and he 
enjoys a most liberal patronage. He is a son of John and Jeanette 
(Tannehill) Cruickshank. his father born in the Highlands of Scot- 
land, his mother in the Province of Quebec, Canada. John Cruick- 
shank came from Scotland to Canada at the age of seventeen years, 
there settling on a farm near Dundee, just across the New York State 
line, where he died in 1895. His wife, Jeanette Cruickshank, died in 
Dundee, Canada, in 1901. The}- were the parents of three children, 
all born at the Cruickshank homestead in Dundee; William, now a 
ranchman of Calgary, Canada; Alexander, of further mentiDn; John, 
who resides at the old homestead in Dundee. 

Alexander Cruickshank was born at the home farm in Dundee, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, March 5, 1872. He attended the district 
school, and remained on the home farm until sixteen years of age, 
then went to Alontreal, where he entered the employ of Joyce & Com- 
pany, Phillips square, as an apprentice to the trade of candy makers. 
While learning the trade of confectioner, he also learned ice cream 
manufacturing, a branch of the business in which he took a greater 
interest than in candy making. He became an expert manufacturer of 
creams and ices of all kinds, and from Montreal came to Huntington, 
Province of Quebec, where he for one year engaged in the confec- 
tionery business on his own account. He then located in ISoston, 
securing employment as a candy maker with John Mundock, who was 
proprietor of four confectionery stores in the city. Air. Mundock soon 
realized that he had a most capable young man in his employ, and at 
the end of three weeks made him manager of two of his stores, one at 
No. 12 (ireen street, the other at No. 2259 Washington street. For 
two years Mr. Cruickshank remained in Boston, then returned to his 
Canadian home. In 1893 ^^ came to Lowell, Massachusetts, securing 
a position with Albert S. Fox, who conducted a confectionery at No. 
67 Central street. In 1894 O. P. Saunders, a traveling salesman, pur- 
chased the business, retaining ]\lr. Cruickshank as manager until the 
business was sold to a Mr. Preston, he in turn selling out in 1898 to 
Mr. Cruickshank, who, upon coming into the ownership of the business 
at No. 67 Central street, began specializing in ice cream, and soon 
became well known for the excellence of his frozen dainties. In 191 3 
he moved to No. H) ;\rch street, which ])lace he has rebuilt to suit the 
demands of his business. He has built uj) a large trade in an exten- 
sive territory, and has made a great success of his business venture. 
He is a Republican in politics, and a member of Ancient York Loflge, 
Free and Accepted Masons. 

Mr. Cruickshank married, at l-'ort Covington, New York. June 15, 
1892, Elizabeth Robb. and they are the parents of two children, both 



268 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

born in Lowell : Eva Jeanette, married George A. Wood, manager of 
the Marion Studio, Lowell and has a daughter, June Elizabeth ; Alex- 
ander M., now with the American Expeditionary Forces in France, 
serving with the Three Hundred and Seventeenth Field Signal Bat- 
talion, United States Signal Corps. The following citation refers to 
the glorious part taken by the Three Hundred and Seventeenth Field 
Signal Rattalion with which Alexander M. Cruickshank is serving: 

HEADQUARTERS FIFTH CORPS. 
First Army, 
.\merican E. F. 
General Order No. 26. France, November 29, 1918. 

The following citations are announced : 

The .317th Field Signal Battalion, who, without rest or relief, 
maintained liaison and commimications with twelve combat divisions 
on duty at various times with this corps, who carried in anticipation 
their lines of communications to the front line, under artillery and 
small arms fire and through gassed areas, during the period from Sep- 
tember 26th to November iith, at which date an armistice was de- 
clared. 

Official: (Signed) C. P. SUMMERALL, 

HARRY G. KAEFRIXG, ]Major-General, 

Adjutant-General. Commanding. 



RICHARD SHERIDAN DONOGHUE. 

A man of quiet manner and most excellent business quality, 
Richard S. Donoghuc had l)ut two great interests in life, his home and 
his business. His home was made beautiful and attractive by the love 
and devotion of his family, and his business brotight him a fortune. 
He had a great love for nature, and two of his pet hobbies were the 
pressing of leaves and flowers, and the collection of foreign postage 
stamps. By the means of his flower pressing he kept a calendar of the 
important events of his life, and his collection of mementoes, many of 
them of a sentimental nature, was very large. As a pharmacist he 
ranked very high, holding the absolute confidence of the medical pro- 
fession. He was a son of Patrick and Margaret (Sheridan) Donoghue. 

Patrick Donoghue was born in Cork, Ireland, and there spent his 
life, coming to the United States when a young man, and locating 
in Lowell. Shortly after arriving in Lowell he entered the employ 
of the Lowell Gas Company, becoming one of the company's engi- 
neers, working his way up from the bottom. He embraced every 
opportunity to improve his position, and finally secured an engineer's 
certificate, continuing in the gas company's employ forty years. He 
married Margaret Sheridan, also born in Ireland, but a resident of 
Lowell from childhood. She died in Dorchester, Massachusetts. 





(j^<:<^ Kj j<Jl/h4:^.'M^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 269 

November 11, 1916. Patrick Donoghue died in Lowell, September 
15, 1897. They were the parents of nine children, all born in Lowell, 
two now living: Josephine, wife of Frank j. Hurley, a post office 
employee of Boston; Theresa, wife of James J. Dcjnigan. a contractor 
of Boston. 

Richard S. Donoghue was Ijorn in Lowell, Massachust-lts, Novem- 
ber 7, 1865, (iit'd in the city of his birth February I, lyiy. He was 
educated in the public schools of Lowell, finishing in high school. 
While a schoolboy he sold newspapers on the street, but later he 
became a clerk at a drug store soda fountain, where his ambition was 
stirred to become a druggist. He fitted himself for the study of 
pharmac}- and later entered Massachusetts College of Pharmacy, 
whence he was graduated Ph. G., class of 1889. His first position as 
a prescription clerk was with J. T. Brown, a pharmacist of Boston, 
his next with J. C. Bennett, a proprietor of a large drug store on 
Biddeford street, Boston. F'rom the Bennett store he went on the 
road for an ink manufacturing company, then returned to his pro- 
fession as chief clerk in a large drug store, corner of Charles and 
Chestnut streets, Boston. He remained there five years, then for a 
time was employed in Wakefield, Massachusetts, thence to the drug 
store of Frank O. Guild, Boylston and Exeter streets, Boston. He 
was next in the employ of Andrew P. Preston, a druggist of Ports- 
mouth, Xew Hampshire. In 1901 Mr. Donoghue returned to his 
native Lowell, obtaining a position in the EUingwood drug store, 
corner of Merrimack and John streets. He continued an employee 
until April i, 1908, when he purchased the business of Bailey & Com- 
pany, apothecaries. No. 79 Merrimack street, a business he verv suc- 
cessfully conducted until his death, eleven years later. 

The business which Mr. Donoghue bought was the oldest drug 
business in Lowell, and has always been conducted as a drug store of 
the old school, drugs and allied lines alone being handled, while the 
principal business of the store has always been done over the pre- 
scription counter, that l)ranch doing the largest business of any drug 
store in the city. The business was established in 1854, and is con- 
tinued by Mrs. Donoghue since her husband's death. In politics Mr. 
Donoghue was a Democrat, but he took little part in public life. He 
was a member of St. Margaret's Roman Catholic Church, the Knights 
of Columbus, the Washington and Mt. Pleasant Golf clubs, but his 
business and his home claimed his time almost exclusively. 

Mr. Donoghue married, at Lowell, September 15, 1896, Caroline 
Elizabeth Tufts, born in Portsmouth, Xew Hampshire, but spent her 
youth in Boston, coming to Lowell a young lady. She is a daughter 
of John and Abigail Jane (Doe) Tufts. She continues her residence 



270 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

at the old home, No. 245 Gibson street, with her two children : Agnes 
Abigail, a graduate of Lowell High School, now a student at Burdette 
College, Boston ; and Richard Tufts, a student in the Lowell High 
School. 



EDWARD H. FOYE. 



In 1910, under the old city charter, ]\Ir. Foye was elected by the 
people as purchasing agent for the city of Lowell. This was the last 
time that ofifice was filled by popular vote, the office being made an 
appointive one before his term expired. As training for his important 
post, which involves the purchase annually of goods to the value of 
$350,000, he had been associated with his father, and had conducted a 
wholesale business under his own name, selling that business to 
accept the position of city purchasing agent. He has held the position 
continuously since 1916, although during the past year there have 
been strenuous efforts to oust him, but his right to perform the duties 
of the office has been twice upheld by the Massachusetts courts, to 
the confusion of those opposed to him. Edward H. is a son of Wil- 
liam P. Fo^■e, born in New York State, l5ut from childhood lived in 
Lowell, where he is now leading a retired life, after thirty strenuous 
years of business life as a grain dealer, located on Market street. He 
married Elizabeth Hill, of Lowell, they the parents of: Edward H., 
of further mention ; Margaretta, married James P. Gallagan : John W. ; 
William P. (2), Paul L., ^Arthur H., and Raymond. 

Edward H. Foye, son of William P. and Elizabeth (HilP Foye. 
was born in Lowell, October 15. 1880, and educated in St. Michael's 
Parochial School and Lowell Commercial College. For two years after 
leaving school he was associated with his father in the grain business, 
there gaining an intimate knowledge of business methods, customs, 
and principles. From his father's business the young man went to 
his own business, and until 1910 was a successful dealer in paper 
bags, wrapping papers and kindred lines, his store located at No. 14 
Market street, Lowell. This business he sold in 1910 to accept his 
present position, purchasing agent for the city of Lowell. He held the 
office until January 4, 1917, when he was removed from office by the 
appointing power, the reason given being that it was for the "good 
of the service." Mr. Foye at once counterattacked through the courts, 
and on May 28, 1917, was reinstated in the office by order of the 
Massachusetts Superior Court. On an appeal taken to the Supreme 
Court of the State, a full bench sustained the findings of the Superior 
Court and reaffirmed Mr. Foye's right to the position. Under that 
decision he was again reinstated, and since January 7, 1918, has filled 



BIOGRAPHICAL 271 

the office. He was overseer of the poor in 1906 and 1907, filling his 
post most acceptably. Mr. Foye is a Democrat in politics, a inembei 
of St. Michael's Roman Catholic Church, and of the Washington Club. 
Mr. Foye married, in Lowell, June 14, 1904, Madeline E. Keavey ; 
they the parents of: Elizabeth Hill, born in Se])tem])er, 1905; Mar- 
garet, born in September, 1908; Eleanor, born in August, 1913; Rita, 
born in A]iril, 1916, and Knymond, born October 7, \<)\<.j. 



FREDERICK ARTHUR CHASE. 

Since 1891 Mr. Chase has been librarian of the Lowell Public 
Library, and as such has come into close and intimate relation with 
the public, particularly the reading and book-loving public He is a 
native son and from youth has resided in Lowell ; is a product of her 
[jublic schools and her btisiness institutions. I lis long term of office 
as city librarian, 1891-1919, is conclusive evidence of his ability and 
fitness for the position he holds, and under his management the public 
receives the maximum of benefit the resources of the library will per- 
mit. He is a son of Charles Chauncey and Martha Smith (Cowles) 
Chase, his father for thirty-eight years, until his voluntary retirement, 
principal of Lowell High School. 

Frederick .Arthur Chase was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
April Ji, 1858, and there was educated in the public schools, finishing 
with graduation from high school. He began his business career as 
clerk in the Central Savings Bank, remaining in that position until 
1879, when he entered the service of the old Lowell National Bank, 
continuing with that institution ten years. He then spent two years, 
1889-1891. with White Brothers & Company, of Boston, after which 
he was inducted into his present office, librarian of Lowell Public 
Library. Mr. Chase is a Republican in politics, a member of All 
Souls' Protestant Episcopal Church, the \'esper Country and the 
Literary clubs. 

Mr. Chase married, in Lowell, June 26. 1899. Helen Louise 
Conant, daughter of Charles Henry and Alice (Wheeler) Conant. Mr. 
and Mrs. Chase are the parents of a son, Richard Frederick Chase, 
born Ai)ril 23, 1902, and a daughter. .-Mice Louise Chase, born June 
21, 1905. 

This record of father and son in the service of the same city, 
thirty-eight years as educator by the father and twenty-eight years 
for the son as city librarian, has perhaps no equal in civic annals, 
^foreover, the service of the son still continues, and as he is but in the 
full prime of his intellectual strength, many years will yet be given to 
the service of his native citv. 



2-J2 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

THE LOVEJOY FAMILY. 

A twentieth century representative of an honored New England 
family is Roy F. Lovejoy, head of the firm, D. Lovejoy & Son, manu- 
facturers of machine knives for machinery used in the manufacture 
of leather, paper, wood, and all other machines which require machine 
knives. This plant was established by Daniel Lovejoy, in 1848, in a 
small shop, the site of which is lost in the large plant which covers 
the original location and the surrounding section. Daniel Lovejoy 
started very humbly, and in the beginning welded, hammered, and 
tempered, he alone being the factory and office force, skilled mechan- 
ical department, executive head and capital stock. He was the second 
man in the United States to own and operate a machine knife plant, 
and when his one rival sold out, a change of the firm name left Daniel 
Lovejoy the first and oldest under one name. He went from Hollis, 
New Hampshire, to Worcester, Massachusetts, after learning all he 
thought he could in a small country blacksmith shop, making horse 
shoe nails on the anvil, shoeing horses and oxen, his ambition being 
to become expert in forging machine parts. Probably no greater 
expert existed than he in his line, and after working in Worcester for 
perhaps a period of two years, he came to Lowell. In Lowell he first 
worked for his brother, Lund Lovejoy, a blacksmith on Market street, 
near the present police station, and soon after became a partner in 
the business which operated as L. & D. Lovejoy. Soon after, the firm 
L. & D. Lovejoy dissolved and he came to the present site, where he 
started his first small shop which in 1848 he began operating as a 
machine knife plant. LTntil he was fifty-four years of age, he continued 
the active head of the prosperous business he founded. He then 
surrendered the burdens of the management to his son, Elwyn W'\ 
Lovejoy, and for thirty-four years thereafter, lived a practically retired 
life although in excellent health. Even when an octogenarian, he 
frequently visited the plant, retaining a keen interest in all the 
branches of the business. 

(I I Daniel Lovejoy was a descendant of John Lovejoy, the 
founder of the family in New England, who was born in England in 
1621, and died at Andover, Massachusetts, November 7, i6go. John 
with Nicholas Holt and others, founded the first church in Andover 
in 1645. It is thought that his first landing was at Newbury, Massa- 
chusetts, and his first place of settlement known as Cochichewick. 
He married (first) January i, 1651, at Ipswich, Massachusetts, Mary 
Osgood, daughter of Christopher and Mary (Everett) Osgood. Mary 
(Osgood) Lovejoy was born in England, in April, 1633, and died at 
Andover, Massachusetts, July 15, 1675. He married (second) Novem- 
ber 12, 1676, Hannah Pritchard, who died in Andover, August i, 



274 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ingston Richardson, born November lo, 1826, at Westford, died in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, November 8, 1900. He resided in Llollis until 
May, 1843, then walked to Worcester, and from there moved to 
Lowell, Massachusetts, arriving- in October, 1845. ^" Lowell, he 
founded in an humble way the business previously referred to, of 
which his grandson, Roy Fisk Lovejoy, is the present m.anager. 
Daniel and Maria Livingston (Richardson) Lovejoy were the parents 
of two children : Clarence Edson, born in Lowell, January 18, 1849, 
died in the city of his birth, September 25, 1863; and Elwyn Winslow 
Lovejoy, head of the eighth American generation of the family in New 
England, and his father's successor in business. 

(Vni) Elwyn Winslow Lovejoy, son of and long time partner 
of Daniel (j) Lovejoy, and yet head of the firm, D. Lovejoy >S: Son, 
was born in Lowell, November 12, 1850, and was educated in the 
primary and grammar pi.blic schools. After completing his studies, 
he was at once taken into his father's business, D. Lovejoy's Knife 
Manufactory, learning the business from every angle. For eleven 
years prior to 1879, he was traveling salesman, but the business 
increased so much that Daniel Lovejoy called in his son and placed 
him in charge of the plant. This was in 1879, and until 1916 Elwyn 
Winslow Lovejoy was the managing head. He then gave over the 
management to his son, Roy F., and as he is still vigorous and active 
gets much pleasure out of life ; hunting and trap shooting still have 
a great attraction for him. He is a charter member of the Highland 
Club, and of the club now known as the Vesper Country Club. He 
has served as overseer of the poor, councilman for two years, alderman 
two years, and as chairman of the board the last year. He is a Repub- 
lican in politics, a member of Masonic bodies, interested in public 
afifairs, a good citizen, and an able business man. He married, in 
Lowell, September 13, 1876, Cora Zeanette Silver, daughter of Orrin 
Buckley and Matilda (Filmore) Silver; her father was a contractor at 
the Lowell Machine Shop. Mr. and Mrs. Elwyn W. Lovejoy are the 
parents of a son, Roy F., of further mention ; their first born, Guy, 
born in Lowell, November 18, 1880, died March 29, 1881. 

There are some interesting facts concerning the Lovejoy plant, 
one of Lowell's olden time industries, and one of its twentieth century 
successes. Since the plant was started in 1848, it has seldom known a 
man to be discharged for lack of work, although in 1873 it was run on 
three-quarter time for four weeks, but with that exception, nearly full 
time has been the rule on every working day of the year. The long 
term of service prevailing in the plant is another feature, of which 
good jiay, comfortable working conditions, and steady emjjloyinent 
contribute to the result. Elwyn W, Lovejoy came into ihe business 




(^Zw^ ./^C^K^X^^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 275 

as a bov. He is thoroughly faniiUar with every process of manu- 
facture employed in the plant, and can, at any time he chooses, fill 
the place of any skilled workman. At one time it was no unusual 
sight to see the three generations of Lovejoys at the plant, Daniel, 
the founder, Elwyn \V., the active, efficient head, and Roy F.. the 
grandson, just coming into manhood and into an interest in the busi- 
ness. The product of this plant is well known in the market, and 
upon every knife that is sent out the lirm name is cut. This is a matter 
of pride, for "Lovejoy" means quality. Some operations are secret, 
but the great secret of the plant is no secret at all, but the well known 
fact that perfect raw material is supplied to skilled workmen and a 
perfect product results. The Lovejoy management and ownership 
have prevailed seventy-four years, and is divided into three periods: 
Daniel Lovejoy, founder and head, 1848-1S79; Elwyn W. Lovejoy, 
assistant until 1879, active head until 1916, and yet an interested mem- 
ber; Roy F. Lovejoy, assistant, 1908 until 1916, and active manager 
since that date. It is a Lovejoy characteristic to retire from business 
while able to enjoy the leisure the industry has won them. Elwyn \V. 
Lovejoy, in imitation of his father, is now enjoying the sports and 
pleasures that appeal to him, and trusts to those whom he has trained 
in the Lovejoy methods to administer rightfully their trust. In 191 7 
he bought a fine farm of two hundred acres at Loudon, Xew I lanij)- 
shire, and there he now resides. He conducts a high grade stock 
farm, and every department of the farm is operated in accordance with 
the preference of its owner for the best of everything. 

(IX) Roy F. Lovejoy, grandson of Daniel (2) Lovejoy, and son 
of Elwyn W. and Cora Z. (Silver) Lovejoy, was born in Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, September 11, 1882. He passed through the grade and 
public schools of the city, then entered the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology, whence he was graduated Bachelor of Science, class of 1905. 
After post-graduate courses in finance and accounting at Burdette's 
Business College, Boston, he entered the Lovejoy plant at Lowell, and 
in the various departments gained that complete mastery of manu- 
facturing detail which qualifies him for the managerial position he so 
ably fills, the third in direct line to manage the business. 

Roy F. Lovejoy married Andrea Natalie Friedrichs, of New 
Orleans, Louisiana, July 18, 1913. He is a member of Delta Chapter, 
Theta Xi Fraternity ; the Vesper and Highland clubs ; and although 
his business cares are weighty, he enjoys motoring and golf in his 
leisure hours. He is earning the right to retire and, like his father, is 
a good sportsman and will enjoy his turn when it comes. The Lovejoy 
plant at Lowell is a large and modern one, and its specialty is machine 



276 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

knives. The firm also operates a similar but much larger plant at 
Anderson, Indiana. The Lovejoy claim is "superior temper, uniform 
quality, excellent finish, and every knife guaranteed." 



EDWARD GASTON CAMPBELL. 

A Canadian by birth, Mr. Campbell, educated in the public schools 
of Lowell and a technical institution of this city, is associated with 
the life of Lowell through many ties, business, financial, and social. 
He is a son of Charles and Emma Campbell, his father engaged in 
real estate operations throughout his active years. 

R. Gaston Campbell was born in Montreal, Canada, in 1891, and 
obtained his education in the \'arnuni School and the Lowell High 
School, completing his studies in the Lowell Textile School. He was 
employed for a time as draughtsman, then entered the real estate and 
insurance field, and conducted an auctioneering business of consid- 
erable size. He has acquired numerous and important business in- 
terests, and is now (1919) president of the United Lumber Company, 
president of the Economy Rug Works, president of the Old Dominion 
Title and Conveyancing Company, and president of the "Campbell 
Inks" Company. Mr. Campbell was one of the organizers of the 
Merrimack \'alley National Farm Loan Association, formed under 
the provisions of the Federal Farm Loan Act, and is the present secre- 
tary and treasurer of that institution. Mr. Campbell is a director of 
the Lafayette Club, which he also serves as treasurer, and belongs to 
the Genoa Club and the Young Men's Christian Association of Lowell. 
He is widely and favorably known throughout the district, has been 
mentioned for senatorial nomination, a distinction he declined. He is 
one of the progressive business men of the city, his own interests 
instruments in the development of the resources of the region, and is 
a dependable factor in local movements of civic betterment. 

Mr. Campbell married, in Lowell, in 1919, Idola Du Ba}'. 



WALTER HENRY HOWE. 

Of New England birth, and a graduate of her schools, ^Ir. Howe 
has spent his active life in New England, a resident from boyhood of 
the city of Lowell, where he is associated with several business enter- 
prises. He is a son of Henry Chadwick and Sarah Fanny (Hudson) 
Howe, and grandson of John Swain Howe. John Swain Howe was 
born in Harrington, New Hampshire, March 7, 1802, and died in 
Boston, August i, 1879. He was a farmer throughout the greater part 
of his life, and was the father of: Henrv Chadwick, of whom further; 




^.^^h^/^'^^c^/^^.-^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 277 

John F., Charles Kmerson, Albert, William, Elmira, Nancy, Lj'dia, 
and Mary. 

Henry Chadwick Howe, son of John Swain Howe, was bom in 
I'arrington, New Hampshire, December 16, 1822, died in Lowell, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1898. He became a lumber dealer and contractor of Lowell, 
as was also his brother John F. Howe, and was a successful and pros- 
perous business man, and, as a Republican, was elected to public offices, 
including those of common councilman and alderman. Fie was an 
attendant of the Kirk Street Congregational Church and a citizen of 
high standing in his community. He married, in Lowell, December 
15, 1853, Sarah Fanny Hudson, daughter of Charles and Sarah (Darl- 
ing) Hudson, who was born in Richmond, New Hampshire, February 
19, 1831, died April 8, 1901. They were the parents of: Nellie Frances, 
born November 26, 1855, died July 31, 1901 ; Annie Hudson, born Feb- 
ruary 9, 1862, died April 23, 1889; Walter Henry, of whom further; 
Bertha Leslie, born December 24, 1873. 

Walter Henry Howe was born in Lowell, June 6, 1864, and after 
attending the Edson Grammar School and the Lowell High School, of 
Lowell, Massachusetts, entered Harvard University, whence he was 
graduated A. B., in the class of 1886. From 1889 to 1893 he was 
associated with the firm of Howe Brothers & Company in lumber 
dealing, and since the death of his father he has been principally 
engaged in the management of the property of the elder Howe and 
other estates held in the family name. He is a director of the Lowell 
Hosiery Company, a director of the Traders' and ]\Iechanics' Insur- 
ance Company, and a trustee of the Merrimack River Savings Bank. 
He was formerly a director of the Wamesit National Bank. 

From 1891 to 1894 Mr. Howe was a private in the First Corps of 
Cadets of Boston, and from June 14, 1917, to June 14, 1919, was a 
private in Company G, of the Sixteenth Regiment. Massachusetts 
National Guard. He is a member of the Vesper Club, the Long- 
meadow Golf Club, and the Yorick Club, of Lowell, and the Harvard 
Club and the St. Botolph Club, of Boston. He is an attendant of the 
Kirk Street Congregational Church. Mr. Howe has wide acquaint- 
ance in Lowell, business and social, and is an interested participant 
in all movements of civic ]3rogress and betterment. 



WILLIAM KENDALL FAIRBANKS. 

At the early age of thirty-six years, Mr. Fairbanks ended a most 
jiromising career as mill official and business man. He literally 
"died in the harness," and it is to his energy and indomitable spirit 
that the early breakdown of his physical powers may be ascribed. 



278 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

He gave himself unreservedly to the upbuilding of the Lowell plant of 
the Bigelow Carpet Company, of which he was agent, and to his 
genius is due the great power plant which he built and harnessed to 
the looms of the company. He came by his unusual business ability 
through inheritance, his father, Charles Francis Fairbanks, a man of 
keen, well-balanced mind, clear judgment and exceptional qualities as 
a financier. Back of these two men was Henry Parker Fairbanks, 
father of Charles Francis Fairbanks, he a saddlery hardware merchant 
of Boston, president of the Charlestown Common Council, and a man 
of great prominence in his day. And he was a son of Stephen Fair- 
banks, even more prominent in his day than his son was in his life- 
time. The Fairbanks family was founded in New England by Jona- 
than Fairebanke, who came from England to Boston in 1633. From 
Jonathan Fairebanke spring nearly all of the name Fairbank or Fair- 
banks in the United States. His name in the records is written in 
about every way that the letters can be employed, but the common 
spelling is Fairbanks and that form will be used. 

(I) Jonathan Fairbanks came from Sowerby, in the \\'est Riding 
of Yorkshire, England, to Boston in the year 1633, and in 1636 settled 
in Dedham, where he built the noted "Old Fairbanks House," which is 
still standing, the oldest in New England, which for the same period 
of time has been continuously owned and occupied by the builder and 
his lineal descendants. He acquired considerable property in Ded- 
ham, was admitted a townsman and signed the Covenant in 1654, and 
there died December 5, 1668. He married Grace Lee, their children 
all born in England. The line of descent is through their oldest son. 
John. 

(Ill John Fairbanks was born in England and brought to New 
England by his parents in 1633. He lived in Dedham from the year 
1636 until his death, November 13, 1684, his father bequeathing him 
the Dedham homestead. He married, "the sixteenth of the first month, 
1641," Sarah Fiske, who died September 26, 1683. He was succeeded 
by his son. Deacon Joseph. 

(HI) Deacon Joseph Fairbanks was born in Dedham, "tenth of 
the third month, 1656," died June 14, 1734. He was made a freeman 
in May, 1678, was a deacon of the church for many years, and a man of 
influence. He married Dorcas , who died January 9, 1738. 

(IV) Joseph (2) Fairbanks, son of Deacon Joseph and Dorcas 
Fairbanks, was born in Dedham, April 26, 1687, died about 1754. He 
married. May 3, 1716. Abigail Deane. daughter of John and Sarah 
Deane. 

(\') Israel Fairbanks, son of Joseph (2) and Abigail (Deane) 
Fairbanks, was born in the "Old Fairbanks Home" March 28, 1723, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 279 

died in Dedham, February 25, 1804. He was a soldier of the Revolu- 
tion, serving as corporal in Captain George Gould's company of "min- 
ute men." fought at Lexington, April 19, 1775, and saw service at other 
times during the fight for liberty. He married, May 30, 1751, Eliza- 
beth W hiting, who died December 13, 1788. 

(\'I ) Israel (2) Fairbanks, son of Israel and Llizabeth (Whiting) 
Fairbanks, was born in Dedham, January 10, iJSS. died September 16, 
1818. He was a "minute man," marching on the Lexington Alarm, 
and saw other service during the war. About the year 1800 he moved 
with his younger children to Francistown, New Hampshire. He mar- 
ried (first) November 4, 1779, Anna Buckman. Their first child, 
Stephen, died in infancy, their second son also being named Stephen, 
the line of descent being through him. 

(VII) Stephen Fairbanks, son of Israel (2) and Anna (lluckinan) 
Fairbanks, was born in Dedham, Massachusetts, February 5, 1784, 
died in Boston, Massachusetts, September 10, 1866. When about fif- 
teen years of age, his father moved to Francestown. New Hampshire, 
Stephen remaining in Boston, where he learned the trade of harness- 
maker and saddler. On arriving at legal age he engaged in business 
for himself, but soon relinquished his trade to engage in the hardware 
business, continuing very successfully until 1846. In that year he was 
chosen a director of the Western Railway Corporation (now Boston 
and .Albany), was elected treasurer in 1846, an office he held until his 
death, in 1866. He was a member of the Boston School Committee ; 
member of both houses of the Massachusetts Legislature ; president 
of the Massachusetts Temperance Society ; trustee of the Asylum for 
the Blind ; treasurer for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel 
among the Indians and others in North America ; member of the 
Massachusetts Charitable Mechanics' Association and for several 
years its president, and was an active member of many of the phil- 
anthropic and charitable institutions of Boston, giving freely of his 
wealth and time to their support. He married, November 27, 1807, 
Abby Parker, daughter of Captain Thdmas Parker, of the United 
States navy. 

(VIII) Henry P. Fairbanks, son of Stephen and Abby (Parker) 
Fairbanks, was born in Boston, September 7, 1808, died February 14, 
1854. He was a hardware merchant of the city of Boston, inheriting 
his father's business and emulating him in his good works. He was a 
member and president of the Charlestown Common Council, member 
of the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanics' Association ; member of 
Harvard Church and chairman of the standing committee from 1841 
until his death. He was prominent in many societies and organiza- 
tions of city and State, abounding in good works and greatly esteemed. 
He married, August 7, 1832, Mary Hurd Skinner. 



28o HISTORY OF LOWELL 

(IX) Charles Francis Fairbanks, son of Henry Parker and Mary 
Hurd (Skinner) Fairbanks, was born in Charlestown, Massachusetts, 
September 25, 1843, died in Milton, Massachusetts, in March, 1914. 
He possessed the rare business quality which distinguished his grand- 
father and father, and during his lifetime was connected with many of 
the large manufacturing corporations. He was particularly gifted as 
a financier and served many corporations as treasurer. To his wise 
guidance of their financial affairs many of these owe their very exist- 
ance and to others he was a pillar of strength. Among the corpora- 
tions whose finances he guarded as treasurer was the Bigelow Carpet 
Company, and the Clinton Wire Cloth Company. He was vice-presi- 
dent of the Second National liank of Boston, and so highly was his 
ability recognized that he was called in consultation by financiers of 
national reputation. He married, December 2, 1869, Julia Emily 
Missroon, daughter of Commander John S. Missroon, of the United 
States navy, and his wife, Julia M. Downs. They were the parents of 
six children: Henry Parker, born October 25, 1870: Charles Francis, 
born February 26. 1872: William Kendall, oi further mention; Julia 
Missroon, born July 12, 1877; Gertrude, Ijorn July 2, 1882, died in 
infancy; Stephen, born July 28, 1889. 

(X) Such were the antecedents of William Kendall Fairbanks, 
to whose memor}- this re\iew of an ancient and honorable New Eng- 
land family is dedicated. He was liorn in Charlestown, Massachu- 
setts, October 5, 1875, died in Lowell, Massachusetts, January 29, 
191 1, third son of Charles Francis and Julia M. (Downs) Fairbanks. 
William K. attended public school in Boston, Hopkins Academy and 
Massachusetts Listitute of Technology, but did not graduate from the 
last named institution. He left Technology and came to Lowell, 
where he entered the employ of the Bigelow Carpet Company, at the 
bottom of the ladder, although his father was treasurer of the com- 
pany. But he had resolved to learn the business thoroughly, and in 
that spirit accepted a lowly position. He made rapid progress and 
soon was the able, valued assistant to Alvin S. Lyon, agent of the 
company. When Mr. Lyon resigned, Mr. Frairbanks was his logical 
successor, and after receiving his appointment he threw himself into 
the duties of the agent's position with all the energy of his nature. 
He began a system of improvement and expansion at the Lowell 
mills, adding buildings, machinery and modern equipment, the most 
important being the new and modernly equipped power house. His 
health broke tmder the burden of work he imposed upon himself, and 
he was in such poor health for a year that he should have given up. 
but he continued at his post until a complete breakdown resulted. 

Mr. Fairlianks was a member of Kilwinning Lodge, Free and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 281 

Accepted Masons: Mt. lioreb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Ahasu- 
erus Council, Royal and Select Masters; Pilgrim Comniandery, 
Knis^hts Templar; Lowell Lodge of Perfection; Lowell Lodge of Per- 
fection. Princes of Jerusalem; Mt. Calvary Chapter of Rose Croix; 
Massachusetts Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, holding 
thirty-two degrees of that rite. He was also a member of Aleppo 
Tom])lc. Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; his 
clubs, the Yorick and Vesper Country. He was a member of the 
Lowell Hoard of Trade, and took a deep interest in the various move- 
ments for Lowell's advancement. Pie was a Republican in politics, 
.-md a member of St. Ann's Protestant Episcopal Church. 

William Kendall Fairbanks married, at Boston. .\'o\ ember 10. 
iy02, Ethel May Potter, born in Boston, daughter of John C. and 
Christina (Xeill) Potter. John C. Potter born in Blackstone, Massa- 
chusetts, Captain of Battery A, Massachusetts Volunteer Militia of 
Boston. He died in that city in March, 191 2. His wife, Christina 
(Xeill) Potter, born in Boston, died there, October 2, 1913. Captain 
John C. Potter was a son of Daniel and Cecilia (Gifford) Potter, of 
Blackstone, Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Fairbanks were the par- 
ents of three sons, all born in Lowell: Charles Francis (2), born Feb- 
ruary 3. 1905: ^\■illiam Kendall (2), born April 13, 1908; John Miss- 
roon. iiorn January i, 191 1. Mrs. Ethel May (Potter) Fairbanks 
married (second) .April 25. 1913. II. Hutchins Parker, of Lowell. 



GREEN BROTHERS. 



The I-"i\e and Ten Cent Store idea in merchandising has taken 
firm hold (_)n the buying public, and all who have entered that held 
have prospered, providing they were (pialitieil to understand its 
peculiarities, and able to meet its peculiar demands. Among the men 
who. thirteen years ago, saw its possibilities, and qualified for admis- 
sion to the ranks of successful Five and Ten Cent merchants, were the 
(]rcen brothers, Benjamin, Frank and Isadore, president, vice-presi- 
dent, and treasurer of the Green Brothers Company. The result of 
their thirteen years' connection with the department store business 
conducted on the Five and Ten Cent Store plan is nine stores in New 
England, the first store being started at Waterville, Maine, followed 
in succession by similar stores at Lowell, Massachusetts ; Skowhegan, 
Rockland and Portland, Maine ; Manchester, New Hampshire ; Belfast, 
Maine; Burlington. Vermont: and Boston, Massachusetts, the Hub 
being the last city invaded. The main offices of the company are in 
Lowell, where all correspondence is addressed, although the Lowell 
store has been discontinued. 



282 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Isadore Green, now a successful merchant of New England, was 
born in Russian Poland, December 20, 1880, son of Moses and Frances 
(Freidman) Green. His mother's death occurred in Poland, after 
which his father came to the United States, residing in Lawrence, 
Massachusetts, until his death. Isadore Green attended a private 
school until fifteen years of age, and in 1895, with his brother Benja- 
min, he came to the United States, landing upon American soil in New 
York City. He had two brothers, Wolf and Frank, in Bangor, Maine, 
engaged in the confectionery business, whom he soon joined. For two 
years he attended private school in Bangor, also mastering the English 
language, acquiring American customs and assisting his brothers in 
their store. In 1898 he left Bangor, and to gain further experience 
spent six months in Boston, employed in a cigar store. He then 
returned to Maine, locating at Bar Harbor, and assisted his brothers 
in their btisiness for another year. 

This brings his career uj) to the year 1904. and the beginning of 
the business inaugurated by the Green Brothers. Benjamin, Frank 
and Isadore, in Waterville, Maine, the fourth brother. Wolf Green, 
having died. This store and business was financed with the brothers' 
own money, which they had accumulated through economy, and repre- 
sented their years of self denying industry. But the sacrifice has 
brought the fruition of their hopes, and the sign, "Green Brothers," 
was to tliem a sign of victory. The business was founded on the 
principle "Nothing Under Five, Nothing Over Ten Cents" in price, 
and was strictly adhered to. As prosperity came the Waterville store 
was enlarged and improved, the success met with there detertnining 
the brothers to extend their stores to other cities. The second store 
was opened at Lowell, Massachusetts, the third at Skowhegan, Maine. 
The sign "Green Brothers" has since been erected in six other New 
England cities previously named, and each store the sign graces is 
conducted on the same plan. Five and Ten Cents, each contributing its 
share to the general prosperity of the company. The Lowell store 
was located at No. 173 Merrimack street and is also the main office. 
As treasurer, Isadore Green has the financial management of the 
affairs of the company, and it is a tribute to his management that the 
company's credit is high and their commercial standing good. He is 
a member of the Lowell Board of Trade, and operates in real estate in 
different New England cities. He is devoted to his business and gives 
to it his very best endeavor, but he enjoys life's social side ; is a mem- 
ber of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and highly 
esteemed by his many friends. He has long been active in the Young 
Men's Hebrew Association, filling the office of president of the Lowell 
Association, and is a member of the Independent Order of B'nai Brith. 



niOGRAPinCAL 283 

^fr. Green married, in Boston, Sejjtember, 1912, Marian M. Wol- 
per. of that city. Mr. and Mrs. Green are the parents of a daughter, 
I'hyllis, and a son, Milton Green. 

Benjamin Green, whose career, as shown in the foregoins^ para- 
graphs, so closely parallels that of his brother, Isadore, is president 
of the firm of Green Brothers, the capable director of its extensive 
operations. He has remained in close touch with every branch and 
department of their business and has labored diligently in promoting 
the success of their various enterprises. Accurate knowledge of the 
])rinciples of the five and ten cent store, and business acumen of 
unusual keenness, have played an important part in the success of this 
firm, but the real keynote is found in their unflagging industry and 
devotion to business, in which Benjamin Green has set a worthy 
e.xamiile. Benjamin Green is a member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, of Waterville, Maine, and the Knights of 
Pythias of Bar Harbor, Maine. He married Rena Schreibman, of 
Salem, Massachusetts. 



DANIEL THOMAS SULLIVAN. 

A native son of Lowell, Daniel T. Sullivan has all his mature 
years been identified with the business interests of the city, and is now 
a well known and prosperous dealer in coal and mason's supplies. Fie 
is a son of Dennis A. and Margaret R. (Martin) Sullivan, his father 
an old resident of the city of Lowell, having settled there in 1846, and 
for over fifty years was active in the management of the Belvidere 
Woolen Company. 

Daniel T. Sullivan was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 2, 1866, and there was educated in the public schools and com- 
mercial college. He early became interested in mercantile life, and 
from a clerkship branched out as a member of the firm, Rourke & 
Sullivan, of Lowell, he continuing the business of that firm for him- 
self in Lowell, and since 1899 has been head of the firm, D. T. Sullivan, 
dealers in coal and mason's supplies, his successful management of 
that business still continuing. He is a director of the Lowell Trust 
Company, and a man highly regarded in business circles. He was at 
one time a member of Dolben & Sullivan, manufacturing agents of 
Boston. In social and fraternal circles he is equally well known and 
esteemed, being a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the Knights of Columbus, Royal Arcanum, Washington Club, 
Alpine Club, and in religious faith is connected with the Church of the 
Immaculate Conception of the Roman Catholic faith. 

Mr. Sullivan married, in Lowell, June 18, 191 1, Etta Frances 



284 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Dempsey, daughter of Timothy J. and Mary C. Dempsey. Mr. and 
Mrs. Sullivan are the parents of four children : Daniel Thomas, Jr., 
Mary D., Margaret M., and Etta F. 



ALBERT GARDNER THOMPSON. 

While probably ^Massachusetts had no stronger nor more influ- 
ential politician than Albert G. Thompson, postmaster of the city of 
Lowell at the time of his death, it was his many manly traits of char- 
acter, his generous, sympathetic heart that endeared him to his fellow 
townsmen to an extent hard to realize unless one came himself within 
the circle of his influence. 

The public display of grief at his funeral was most impressive, 
the very large attendance, the many delegations from lodges and 
organizations, the large body of post ofifice employees, all spoke elo- 
quently of the sorrow felt over the loss of their chief, their neighbor, 
and their friend. Albert G. Thompson was a son of Nathaniel and 
Rebecca (Chadbourne) Thompson, his father for man}- years a 
.armer of South Berwick, Maine. 

Albert Gardner Thompson was born at South Berwick. Maine, 
October 2, 1852, died in Lowell, Massachusetts, February 5, 1911. He 
spent his earl}^ life at the home farm at South Berwick, obtaining a 
good education in the district school and in South Berwick Academy. 
He remained at the home farm as his father's assistant, also working 
in the nearby lumber camps during the winter months. In 1872 he 
same to Lowell, Massachusetts, and secured a clerk's position with 
A. A. Laughton, who was proprietor of a provision store at the corner 
of High and East ^Merrimack streets. He became a valuable man to 
the business and in a few years procured a half interest in the busi- 
ness, which was successfully continued for many years under the 
firm name of Laughton & Thompson. Finally, Mr. Thompson became 
sole owner of the business, which he continued under the name of 
A. G. Thompson, continuing for over a quarter of a century before 
retiring in 1897. He was a good business man, just and fair in his 
treatment of all, and most scrupulous in his business dealings. 

Mr. Thompson for the greater part of his life in Lowell was con- 
spicuously in the public eye, and developed the highest qualities of 
political leadership without anything savoring of the "boss" or "dic- 
tator." His success as a business man and his interests as well as his 
thorough comprehension of civic affairs early marked him for political 
preferment. Beginning in 1881 with his election to the Common 
Council, followed by reelection in 1882, he was continuously in the 
service of the public, serving on the State Legislature in 18S7 and 




:a. dB. trijonipson 



BIOGRAPHICAL 285 

1888; for ten years a member of the school committee between 1889- 
1903: two years chairman of the Republican City Committee, devot- 
ing^ much of his time to this last position, and through the organization 
giving to the cause of good government the best that his years of 
experience and wisdom afforded. According to the prevailing custom 
he was elected Lowell's representative on the Rei)ublican State Cen- 
tral Committee, and in that body he was an important figure for 
several years. In 1897 he was appointed postmaster of Lowell by 
President McKinley, and at once he retired from business, and there- 
after devoted his time exclusively to his duties as postmaster. He was 
continued in office by Presidents Roosevelt and Taft, and was serving 
his fourth term when his final summons came. His record as post- 
master was one of efificicncy. and he endeared himself tii every member 
lit the large force under him. 

He was made a ALison in Kilwinning Lodge, iM'ce and .Accepted 
Masons, in 1886; and as fast as eligible became a member of all bodies 
of both the York and Scottish Rites, holding the thirty-second degree 
of the last named rite. He was a member of other organizations: 
\'erilas Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Lowell Lodge, 
Nil. 24, Knights of Pythias; Lowell Lodge, No. 87, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks ; Lowell Lodge, No. 22, Ancient Order 
United Workmen; the ^Massachusetts Postmasters' Association; the 
Yorick, Home and Martin Luther clubs, being a charter member of 
the Home Club, and especially active in the Martin Luther Club. He 
was a man of charming personality, making friends easily and ever 
retaining them. Genial and most companionable, the name of his 
friends was legion, perhaps no man in Massachusetts having a wider 
acquaintance, certainly none being better liked. 

Mr. Thompson married, at Lawrence, Massachusetts, March 6, 
1871, Susan Elizabeth Tarbox, born at Salmon Falls, New Hamp- 
shire, just across the river from South Pierwick, Maine, daughter of 
Daniel and Cynthia (Patch) Tarbox. Daniel Tarbox was born in 
P>iddeford, Maine, a textile mill man employed in a special capacity 
in the mills of Lawrence, Massachusetts, Shapleigh, Maine, Salmon 
Falls, New Hampshire, and other mill towns. He died in Biddeford, 
Maine. Plis wife was born in Maine and died in Lowell. Mrs. 
Thompson s])ent her girlhood in Lawrence, Massachusetts, coming to 
Lowell a bride in 1871. She survives her husband and continues her 
residence in Lowell, having two children, both born in Lowell : Fan- 
nie .\.. for many years and still a clerk in the office of the Lowell City 
Superintendent of Public Schools; Perry D., who is of special mention 
in following sketch. 

So a useful life was passed, the best oi his years being given to 
Lowell and its institutions. He accomplished a great deal for the 



286 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

public good and he lives in the hearts of his vast number of true 
friends. He sought his own goods and whatever came to him was 
unsolicited. While he never sought office, neither did he shirk a plain 
duty, but always gave his best. 



PERRY D. THOMPSON. 



As mayor of Lowell during the period of open warfare with 
Germany, Mayor Thompson came upon an exceptionally trying and 
exacting period, the extra burden of the many drives in furthering the 
prosecution of the war, the great demand made upon the hospitality 
of the city through the proximity of Camp Devens, and the many 
extra demands made upon the chief executive, that he be a "strong" 
man, physically, mentally, and in every other way, placed Mr. Thomp- 
son upon the threshold of the successful administrator of the city's 
affairs, which he has accomplished. That the mayor was able to meet 
all demands made upon him bespeaks loudly for his ability, his patriot- 
ism, and his zeal in the performance of his public duties. While many 
days saw him at his desk fifteen hours out of the twenty-four, per- 
sonal business was sacrificed for the public weal ; he had been elected 
to serve, and regarded his service to be "his bit," and every demand 
made upon him was fully met. Like his honored father, he is modest 
and unassuming, being strong in the performance of duty and devoted 
to the public good. He is a son of Albert G. and Susan Elizabeth 
(Tarbox) Thompson, his father's life story being recorded in this 
work. 

Perry D. Thompson was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, July 4, 
1874. He completed public school courses, finishing in high school, 
Phillips Andover Academy, and then was a student at Boston Llniver- 
sity Law School, being in the class with Senator David L Walsh, of 
Massachusetts. Being obliged to give up the study of law like many 
of the young men of frugal means, he became associated with his 
father in the provision business, continuing until 1897, when he 
became sole owner, his father retiring to accept appointment as post- 
master of Lowell. He conducted the meat and provision business 
until 1899. He then took up the business which he has ever since 
conducted very successfully, the purchasing of timber tracts, and con- 
verting the timber into lumber for various purposes. He employs 
portable saw mills and operates in Massachusetts, \'ermont. Xew 
Hampshire, and other parts of New England. 

Mayor Thompson is a Republican in politics, has always held the 
respect and admiration of his opponents by his manly and courteous 
mien and disposition. He was elected a member of the school com- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 287 

mittee in 1913 and 1914, and at the annual election in 1917 was elected 
mayor of Lowell to serve two years. While his term has been most 
exacting, he has given the city a strictly business administration, and 
it is a deserved compliment to aver that even his political opponents 
commend it. He is a member of the board of trustees of Grace Uni- 
versalist Church ; vice-president of the Vesper Country Club ; a mem- 
ber of the executive committee of the Yorick Clul:) ; member of the 
Masonic Club, the Engineers' Club, of Boston; Lowell Lodge, Bene- 
volent and Protective Order of Elks; Court Genor.d nininn. Foresters 
of .America; and in the Masonic order he is affiliated wiih Kilwinning 
Lodge, I-"ree and .\ccepted Masons, and is a thirty-second degree 
Mason. 

Mayor Thompson married, in Lowell, J.uuiary 6, 1897, Alice M. 
Jacques, daughter of Aaron T. and Emma C (Davis) Jacques; her 
father was a drygoods merchant of Lowell. Mr. and Mrs. Thompson 
are the parents of two children: i. Perry (Gardner, born in Lowell, 
July 3, i8g8, educated in the Lowell public schools, Mitchell Militarv 
School, of Billerica, ^Massachusetts (three years), and Cidver Military 
Academy, Culver, Indiana, a school designated by the United States 
Government for military training, whence he was graduated. After 
courses at an Officer's Training School, he was commissioned lieu- 
tenant and served as supply officer at the cantonment of Camp Grant, 
Illinois, during the latter days of the World War. 2. Cynthia Chad- 
bourne Thompson, born October 28, 1914. 



ANDREW G. SWAPP. 



Andrew G. Swapp, who for nearly four decades has been asso- 
ciated with the Lawrence Manufacturing Company of Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, and who is valued equally by the community as a successful 
business man and a public spirited citizen, is a native of this place, 
and a son of Andrew V. and Jane Swapp, old and greatly respected 
residents here. His father, .\ndrew F. Swapp, was for many years 
engaged successfully in the manufacture of carpets at Lowell, and was 
regarded as one of the substantial men of the city. 

.Andrew G. Swapp was born in Lowell, December 4, 1859, '^"^1 ^^ 
a small boy began to attend the local public schools. He continued his 
studies at these institutions until he had passed through the grammar 
grades and the high school, and was graduated from the latter. He 
then sought employment and secured it in a humble capacity with 
H. Hosford & Company of this city, remaining with that concern for 
two years. He then left the Hosford Company to enter the employ 
of the Lawrence Manufacturing Company of Lowell, with which he 



288 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

has been associated ever since. It was thirty-eight years ago that Mr. 
Swapp first became connected with this concern and during the 
period that has since elapsed he has risen in position until to-day he 
holds the responsible post of paymaster. He is one of the oldest and 
most valued members of the staff of this great company, with the 
business of which he is completely familiar. In addition to his busi- 
ness, Mr. Swapp has been active in the conduct of public affairs and 
especially in connection with the matter of the educational develop- 
ment of the citv. He is a staunch Republican, and for twenty-five 
Years continuously served as a memlier of the Lowell School Com- 
mittee. He is prominent in fraternal and club circles here, and is a 
member of Kilwinning Lodge. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
and of the Vesper, Country, and York clubs, all of this city. In his 
religious belief Air. Sw-app is an Episcopalian and attends St. Ann's 
Church of that denomination at Lowell. 

On September 15, 1886, Andrew G. Swapp was united in marriage 
at Lowell with Sophia L. Raymond, a daughter of S. E. and Lucretia 
(Bryant) Raymond, of Lowell. 



AMEDEE ARCHAMBAULT. 

As the leading undertaker of the French Cnlony in Lowell, Mr. 
Archambault is reaping the reward of a life of intelligent, well directed 
energy which began in Lowell in 1888, he then a yotmg man of nine- 
teen with a clerk's experience only. It was not until 1896 that he 
established the undertaking business to which he admitted his sons 
in 1917, the firm now being Amedee Archambault & Sons. Amedee 
Archambault is a son of Pierre and Louise (Lapierre) Archaml^ault of 
St. Charles, Province of Quebec, Canada. Pierre Archambault was 
born at St. Marc in the same province, and after completing his studies 
learned the blacksmith's trade. This, however, he did not long follow, 
but abandoned it in favor of farming, moving to St. Charles, just 
across the river Richelieu from St. Marc. He became a very prosper- 
ous farmer of St. Charles, was mayor of the town four years, and 
when, after a long life of prosperity and honor, he sold his farm, it was 
to retire to a contented old age at his birthplace, St. Marc, where he 
died in 1896. He married Louise Lapierre, born at St, Charles, where 
she died. Three of the four children of Pierre and Louise Archam- 
bault are li\ing: X'ietaline, married Ludger Vary, of St. Alarc, still 
living there; Lea, married Albert (iaudette, of Lowell, and tliey are 
both now deceased ; Amedee, of further mention ; and Euclide, a ranch- 
man of Alberta, Canada. 

Amedee Archambault was born at St. Charles, Province of Que- 



BIOr.RAPIllCAl. 289 

bee, Canada, March 15, 1869, and there began his education. He next 
pursued a three years' course at Jacques Cartier Normal School, Mon- 
treal, Canada, following that with a course at Plateau College, Mon- 
treal, Canada. He did not return to St. Charles after the completion 
of his commercial course, but secured a position with Dufresne & 
Mongenais, a wholesale, retail, and imijorting grocery house of Mon- 
treal. He was employed first as a clerk, according to the rules of the 
house, but his educational ecjuipment was such that it was soon found 
desirable to advance him to a bookkeeper's desk. He remained with 
this high grade Montreal house until the early part of 1888, then came 
to the United States., arriving June 25, the same year, after duly 
resigning his position and giving due notice. 

In Lowell the young man found his first position with an under- 
taking firm, but that proved to be a line which suited him, and from 
that June day, over thirty years ago, he has known no other business. 
He continued an employee for eight years, and every possible dollar 
was saved from his salary to create a fund with which to finance a 
business of his own. Finally, in 1896, he decided "the fund" was 
ample, and he began business as an undertaker under his own name. 
He found a response to his efforts, and ere long he moved from the 
first small quarters to Nos. 738-740 IMerrimack street, corner of 
Decatur, and there filled up undertaking parlors with every modern 
aid to the business of caring for the deceased. In 1917 he admitted his 
sons. Henry Amedee and Dewey George Archambault, to the business, 
and as Amedee Archambault & Sons they are the largest firm of 
French undertakers in Lowell, and rank with the leaders of the busi- 
ness in the city. They own the building which they occupy, and the 
founder can justly claim a great deal of credit for himself in the fact 
that by enterprise and progressive methods he has kept pace with 
every advance in mortuary learning, and has compelled recognition. 
His equipment is of the finest, and there is nothing that can reflect on 
the enterprise or public spirit of the present owners. Amedee .Arch- 
ambault is a Republican in politics, a member of St. Jean Baptiste 
(Roman Catholic) Church, Rochambeau Council, Royal Arcanum; 
Loyal Order of Moose ; Court St. Antoine, Catholic Order of Forest- 
ers ; Court Samuel de Champlain, Independent Foresters of America ; 
and St. Andrew Canadiens-Francais. He continues at the head of his 
very large business, in which he is ably assisted by his sons. 

Mr. Archambault married, in Lowell, July 7, 1893, Rose Flora 
Mineau, born in Louisville, Province of Quebec, Canada, but since 
1886 a resident of Lowell, daughter of Delphine and Rose Delima 
(Caron) Mineau, of Canada, later of Lowell, where both died. Mr. 
and Mrs. Amadee Archambault are the parents of four children, all 

L— 19 



290 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

born in Lowell, three of whom are living- : Henry Amedee, of Amedee 
Archambault & Son, undertakers and funeral directors ; Dewey George, 
associated with his father and brother in the undertaking business ; 
Rose Lea, residing with her ])arents. 



EARLE R. KIMBALL. 



'J'he common ancestor of a great majority of the Kimballs of the 
United States was Richard Kimball, who came from England in the 
ship "Elizabeth," sailing from Ipswich, April lo, 1634. He was a 
wheelwright by trade, and settled at Watertown, Alassachusetts, but 
later was induced to remove to Ipswich. He became one of the prom- 
inent men of the town, and there spent the remainder of his life. He 
married (first) Ursala Scott, daughter of Henry .'^cott. of Rattlesden, 
in the County of Suftolk, England. She was the mother of eleven 
children, and from her sons spring the eminent Kimball family of 
New Hampshire. This review deals with the lives of two of these 
descendants: Le Doit E. Kimball, and his son. liarle R. Kimball, 
whose names since 1878 have been synonymous with the Lowell Com- 
mercial College. 

Le Doit Ezekiel Kimball was born in Grafton, New Hampshire, 
June 22, 1854, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, October 15, 1915, 
son of Cromwell and .Susan (Jacobs) Kimball. Both parents were born 
in New Hampshire, and were lifelong residents of Grafton. He spent 
his youth in Grafton, attending the public schools, completing his 
education in Lowell, where he graduated in 1878 from the Lowell 
Commercial College. James McCoy, then owner and principal of the 
college, was strongly attracted by the young man, and after gradua- 
tion offered him a position as instructor in the college, an offer which 
the young man accepted. This college, one of the oldest and largest 
established commercial schools in New England, dating from 1859, 
took on a new lease of life with Air. Kimball's admission to the faculty, 
and under the new methods he introduced, there was a marked im- 
provement in both attendance and scholarship. Soon afterward an 
arrangement was made with Mr. McCoy by which Mr. Kimball be- 
came an equal partner in the ownership of the college, an arrange- 
ment which continued until Mr. McCoy's death, the latter then reward- 
ing his long time associate by leaving him sole owner. 

In the early days of the college, and when Air. Kimball came to 
it as a student, the location was in modest quarters in the Wells block 
in Merrimack street. This was outgrown and the college removed to 
larger quarters in the Fiske block on Central street, where it remained 
for nearly a quarter of a century. Subsequently the school became 



BIOGRAPTITCAL 291 

located in the Grosvenor building in Alerrimack square. From 1879 
to 191 5, there were associated with Mr. Kimball at various times Miss 
Bertha Baron, Albert C. Blaisdell, and K. Arthur Spence, the latter 
retiring in 1915, when Earle R. Kimball became associated with the 
school. Mr. Kimball continued in active management of the school 
imtil his death in 1915. His connection with the school extended over 
a period of thirty-nine years, during which time thousands of young 
people from all parts of New England sat under his instruction, and in 
addition to securing a modern business education, they found in Mr. 
Kiml)all a true friend, ever ready with a word of kindly advice or 
friendly council. Mr. Kimball achieved a prominent place in the art 
of handwriting, and was considered at one time as one of the leading 
penmen of the country. Mr. Kiml)all was also one of the earliest 
teachers of stenograph)-, and at one time taught five different systems. 
A great many of the prominent business men of Lowell and elsewhere 
maintain the most friendly recollections of Mr. Kimball, and do 
not hesitate to give him credit for their business education upon which 
their success was founded. 

In addition to his duties in connection with Lowell Commercial 
College, Mr. Kimball gave much of his time to the affairs of Trini- 
tarian Congregational Church, which for many years he served as 
deacon and superintendent of the Sunday school. He was also presi- 
dent of the Lowell District Sunday School Association. In the Ma- 
sonic order he was a past master of Kilwinning Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; also a member of Mt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons ; Ahasuerus Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Pilgrim Com- 
mandery. Knights Templar ; Aleppo Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; and Mr. Kimball was also interested in 
the Scottish Rite Masonry, and belonged to the various lodges com- 
prising that body. 

Mr. Kimball married, at Victor, New York, Deceml:)er J5. 1886, 
Myrta May Thompson, born at Hartwick, Otsego county. New York, 
daughter of James and Fanny (Magee) Thompson. Her father, born 
in Port Neuf, Ontario, Canada, was a contractor of Victor, New York, 
wliere he (bed July 4, 1886. Fanny (Magee) Thompson, born in Deca- 
tur, New York, died in Victor, New York. Mrs. Kimball, shortly 
after her birth, was taken by her parents to their home at Victor, near 
Rochester, New York, where she vi'as educated and became a teacher 
in the Ontario county public schools. While on a visit to friends in 
Lowell, she became acquainted with Mr. Kimball and later they were 
married at her home in Victor. She has been his able assistant in the 
college, both in teaching and management, and since his death has 
continued active in the affairs of the college. 



292 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Earle Raines Kimball, only child of Le Doit E. and Myrta May 
(Thompson) Kimball, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, December 
24, 1888. He graduated from the Varnum Grammar School and Low- 
ell High School, completing his education at Harvard University, 
graduating in 191 1 with the degree of A. B. His first business engage- 
ment was with tlie Packard Motor Car Company, in Detroit, Mich- 
igan, later being connected with the accounting and sales depart- 
ment of their branch in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. While in Phil- 
adelphia, he decided to return to Lowell and assist his father in 
the management of the Lowell Commercial College, and in order 
to broaden his knowledge of commercial college work and methods 
he entered as a student the Banks Business College in Philadelphia. 
In the spring of 191 5 he returned to Lowell, and was associated 
with his father until the latter's death, October 15, of the same 
year. He at once succeeded to the position so long held by Le Doit 
E. Kimball, and is the efficient treasurer head of Lowell Com- 
mercial College, which he conducts along the same lines which have 
placed it at the head of New England commercial schools. He holds 
all the degrees of York and Scottish Rites of Masonry up to and 
including the thirty-second degree, Massachusetts Consistory, Ancient 
Accepted Scottish Rite. In the York Rite he is affiliated with Kilwin- 
ning Lodge, Mt. Horeb Chapter, Ahasuerus Council, and Pilgrim 
Commandery. He is a member of the \'esper Countr}- Club of 
Lowell. 

]\Ir. Kimball married, at Lynn, Massachusetts, December 7, 1912, 
Theodate Purinton Breed, daughter of T. Harlan and Mary (Phillips) 
Breed, of an ancient Massachusetts family, former owners of Breed's 
Hill, Boston, where the battle of Bunker Hill was fought. Mr. and 
Mrs. Kimball are the parents of three children : Harlan Le Doit, born 
in Lynn, Massachusetts, December 5. 1913; Theodate. born in Lynn, 
June II, 1915 : Earle Raines, Jr., born in Lowell, May 31, 1916. 



CHURCH OF THE SACRED HEART. 

This church, and others in Lowell, is under the direction of the 
Oblates of Mary Immaculate, whose primary work is missions among 
the poor. In 1884 it was deemed advisable to establish a parish for 
the convenience of the Catholics of the south end of the city, and the 
task was entrusted to an Oblate father, Rev. William D. Joyce, 
O. M. I. In a short time a lot was purchased on Moore street, and 
on Easter Monday, 1884, ground was broken for a new church by 
Very Rev. Father Soulier, of Paris, France, first assistant general of 
the Order of Oblates of Mary Immaculate. Thus the Sacred Heart 
Church had its beginning 



BIOGRAPHICAL 293 

On August 10, 1884, the basement was blessed by Archbishop 
Williams and the first mass celebrated by Fr. Lefebvre, at that time 
Provincial. This basement was used until the church proper was 
completed and dedicated, on September 29, 1901. Fr. Joyce was 
recalled to the pastorate of the Immaculate Conception Church in 
1886, and was succeeded by Rev. Joseph T. Lavoie, O. M. I., who was 
in turn succeeded by Rev. J. M. Guillard, who began the upper 
church. Rev. J. P. Reynolds followed and the upper church was 
completed under his direction. 

A parochial school was built and ojjcned in 1892, and was placed 
in the charge of the Sisters of .St. JMary of Namur. In 1909 the Very 
Rev. T. Wade Smith, successor of Fr. Reynolds, found it necessary 
to erect a second and larger building for the accommodation of the 
increasing number of children. Upon the appointment of the Very 
Rev. T. W. Smith as Provincial of the Oblates. the Rev. J. P Flynn 
succeeded to the pastorate and is the present incumbent. 



GEORGE HENRY WOOD. 

For mure than lialf a century Mr. Wuod has been active in the 
jewelry business in New England, principally in Lowell, the scene of 
his present activities. Mr. Wood is a member of an old Massachu- 
setts family, grandson of Josiah Wood, a farmer and merchant of 
Dracut, who was a prominent figure in the early life of the town, a 
wealthy land owner there and in Boston. 

George llenr}- Wood is a son of Benjamin 1'". \\\)od, who was 
born on the old Wood homestead in Dracut, where he passed his life 
in farming operations, an influential citizen, active in public affairs. 
His death occurred in 1S99, that of his wife, Elizabeth (Durant) 
Wood, in 1902. They were the parents of five children: Elizabeth, 
a resident of Dracut ; Arthur, died aged nineteen years ; Harry Albert, 
who enlisted in the Thirtieth Regiment of Massachusetts V'olunteer 
Infantry in the Civil War, died in the service of the old St. Charles 
Hotel in .\e\v ( 'rleans, Louisiana, and is buried in Calumet Cemetery 
in that city; (ieorge Henry, of whoni further; and Millard I'., a jew- 
eler of Ldwell. 

'leiirge Henry Wood was bom in Dracut, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 28. 1847. His early life was spent on the home farm, and he 
attended the jjublic schools of the vicinity, finishing his studies in the 
Lowell High School. As a young man of nineteen years he was 
employed by Amos Sanborn, a jeweler of Lowell, whose store was 
located at the corner of Middle and Central streets, and he remained 
with Mr. Sanborn for five years, subsecjuently sijcnding one year in 



294 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

the same line in Salem, Massachusetts. In 1872 Mr. Wood returned 
to Lowell and purchased the Wilkins jewelry business on Central 
street, an enterprise that had deteriorated badly. He applied himself 
with characteristic energy to the upbuilding of the business, and suc- 
ceeded in a marked degree, his operations there flourishing until 
1912, when he moved to the Harrington block on Central street, and 
in 1915 to his present location at No. 135 Central street. In addition 
to the store that has been so long and so prosperously conducted as 
an enterprise distinctively his own, Mr. Wood has on numerous 
occasions operated other jewelry stores whose owners, through finan- 
cial reverses or other causes, were compelled to discontinue their 
dealings. But these have been only temporary arrangements, while 
the best of his time and labor has been devoted to the business above 
described, a popular and prosperous Lowell institution. Mr. Wood 
is a member of the Lowell Board of Trade, the Vesper Country Club, 
and affiliates with Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 
He is held in high regard in Lowell as a business man and citizen, 
interested and active in everything advancing the welfare of his city. 

^Ir. Wood married (first) at Lowell, June 25, 1872, Flora E. 
Coward, daughter of Francis and Sarah (Bickford) Goward, who died 
in Lowell in 1902. Mr. and Mrs. Wood were the parents of Lottie 
Alaud, who died aged seven years. Mr. Wood married (second) 
Helen Josephine Northrup, daughter of Seth B. and Cordelia 
((ioucher) Northrup, of King's county, New Brunswick. To this 
union there is one son, George Malcolm, born in Lowell, June, 1908. 



FREDERICK W. FARNHAM. 

Although not a graduate, Mr. Farnham, now city engineer, 
through his own private study and practical experience in field work, 
accomplished the acquirement of the equivalent of a technical school 
education. A native son of Lowell, educated in her public schools, 
he has spent a life time in her service, thus returning in loyal service 
the benefits conferred upon him. He entered city service a boy 
apprentice in the engineering department and from that time has been 
connected with that branch of city government, principally in con- 
nection with the sewerage system. The only break in his professional 
service was during the years 1907-1908, serving during these years as 
mayor of the city. He is the son of William L. Farnham, of Lowell. 

Frederick W. Farnham was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
November 30, i860, and is yet a resident of his native city. He was 
educated in the public schools, completing the high school course and 
graduating with the class of 1878. The next ten years of his life were 




-^^^r^-^ ^-y^ 



niOr.RAPIIICAL 295 

spent in the office of the city engineer, beginning as an apprentice 
under the then city engineer and continuing as a civil engineer. The 
record of these ten years is one of honor, for it involved hard work 
and study to accomplish what he did with special technical school 
training. In 1888 he was placed in charge of sewerage construction 
as engineer, and under his planning and direction practically all sub- 
sequent sewer building in this city has been done. He is skilled in 
his special field of engineering and an authority often consulted. He 
has given his life to his work and to the service of the city, forty 
years now having elapsed since he first entered the city engineer's 
office as an apprentice. He is highly regarded by his associates at the 
City Hall and by his many friends and acc|uaintances in the city where- 
in his life has been passed. 

.\ Republican in politics, faithful and loyal to jtarty interests, Mr. 
l-"arnham has held his profession and duty higher than mere political 
considerations, yet the city's highest honor was conferred upon him 
by election to the mayoralty in 1907 and 1908. This tribute for faith- 
ful, efficient service was most gratifying, much more so than had it 
been conferred for political service. He gave the city a good admin- 
istration, then returned to an engineer's duties. He is a member of 
Grace Universalist Church, t'he Masonic order, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and the Highland Club. 

Mr. Farnham married, in Lowell, October 13. 1886, Eleanor P. 
Rutters, daughter of George S. and Susan B. (Felsh) Butters, of 
Lowell. 



HARRY R. RICE. 



Mr. Rice's active career, begun in journalism, has continued unin- 
terruptedly in that field, with the excei)tion of four years spent as a 
teacher in W-rniont. For more than thirty years he has been iden- 
tified with the city of Lowell, first as city editor of the Lowell "Citi- 
zen," now as manager and treasurer of the "Courier-Citizen." Mr. 
Rice is a native of Quebec, Canada, son of Henrj' and Mary Rice, his 
father a jirominent contractor and well known citizen of that ])lace. 

Harry R. Rice was educated in Canadian and V'ermont schools, 
and upon the completion of his schooling formed an association with 
the Sherbrooke "Gazette," of Sherbrooke, Canada. Subsecpiently he 
was for a few years a member of the stafT of the famous "Watchman," 
owned by the noted Walton, at Montpelier, Vermont, and then, after 
teaching school for four terms, became connected with Walton's 
"Crazette" at Claremont, New Hampshire, published in conjunction 
with the "\\ .itchman." Making Lowell his home, Mr. Rice became 



296 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

city editor of the "Citizen." founded in 1854 as a weekly, the "Amer- 
ican Citizen" established as a daily the following year as the "Daily 
Citizen." Ziba E. Stone was the original owner of the paper, which 
was later controlled in turn by Leonard Brown and George F. Morey, 
by Knapp & Morey, by Chauncy L. Knapp independently, and, from 
April 3, 1882, to the consolidation of the "Citizen" with the "Courier" 
as the "Courier-Citizen" in 1894, by the Citizen Newspaper Company, 
in whose organization Mr. Rice was the leading factor. The personnel 
of the new corporation was as follows : Dr. Gustavus G. Gerry, presi- 
dent ; Harry R. Rice, business manager; Henry J. Monlton, editor; 
Charles F. Coburn, assistant editor and treasurer, and James Bayles, 
city editor. The home of the paper was on Central street, and under 
the new ownership and direction the "Citizen" attained a wide pop- 
ularity and secure standing in the community. "To maintain clean 
news, honest municipal government ; to advocate whatever was best 
for the community ; to counsel unity of purpose toward public benefit, 
was the aim of its staff; and the paper soon outgrew its tumbledown 
quarters and was of necessity moved to the Talbot building in Middle 
street, with a business office in the Hildreth Building." 

In 1894 the union of the "Citizen" and "Courier" was effected 
upon the basis that the "Citizen" should become a morning paper, and 
that the "Courier" should retain its afternoon publication. The con- 
duct of the papers was to lie left to the "Citizen" staff', and the pub- 
lishing and printing departments to remain under the direction of Mr. 
Peter W. Reilly. The first issue was published in the premises now 
occupied on Merrimack and Paige streets, on January i, 1895, and 
the job department was moved to the Parker block in Middle street, 
where it has since been located. The consolidation of the papers 
ushered in a new period of prosperity and extended influence, and the 
"Courier-Citizen" ranks with the leading newspapers of New Eng- 
land. Its present officers (1919) are: President, Philip S. Marden ; 
vice-president, Peter W. Reilly ; treasurer and business manager, Mr. 
Rice ; Clerk, Robert F. Marden ; auditor, P. S. Marden. The evidence 
of the efficient and progressive management of Mr. Rice's department, 
the foundation of the paper's increasing success, is that during 1918 
there were printed 272,417 inches of local advertising, with a total of 
317,596 inches. 

Mr. Rice is a director of the W'amesit National Rank, his exacting 
duties on the "Courier-Citizen" giving him small opportunity for out- 
side business interests. He is associated with the Juniper Point Realty 
Trust and the Juniper Point Improvement Association, of Salem, 
Massachusetts. His political beliefs are Republican, and among the 
public offices he has held is that of police Ixiard member for ten years 



r,iOGR.\pinr.\L 297 

from Jiilv 4. 1894. He is a cumniunicaiU of St. Anne's F.piscopal 
Church. 

Mr. Rice married, in Lowell, October 5, 1892, Mary E., clau«,^hter 
of Dr. Robert and Martha A. Wood, of this city. 



FRANK ROBERT BRADY. 



When Dr. I'.rady, in 1905, ofifercd his services to his friends and 
acquaintances of a lifetime in Lowell as a s])ecialist in diseases of the 
nose, throat and ear, he was thoroughly prepared in both theory and 
practice, having studied in high class medical institutions of both the 
United States and Europe. He is one of Lowell's native sons who has 
devoted his talents to the people among whom his life has been spent, 
and they, in turn, have honored him with generous recognition of his 
professional ability, his clientele being large and loyal. He is a close 
student of all new theorj- or suggestion in treatment or remedy, his 
own judgment finally deciding ui)iin the merit of the new thought, but 
only after careful investigation. Dr. I'.rady is a son of I'^rank (2) 
Brady, born in Ireland in 1842, came to the United States in 1830 with 
his father, Frank (i) Brady, a shoemaker, the family settling in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, where Frank (21 Brady became a wine mer- 
chant, and here died. May 30, 1914. He married Alice E. Uniack, born 
in Randolph, Massachusetts, in 1855. He served the city of Lowell at 
one time as a member of the City Council. 

Frank Robert Brady, only child i>f Frank (2) and Alice K. 
(Uniack) Brady, was born in Lowell. Massachusetts, December 3, 
1880. He passed through the grade and high schools of Lowell, fin- 
ishing with graduation, and after deciding upon the medical profes- 
sion, entered Tufts Medical College. There he pursued full and 
exhaustive courses of study, and was graduated M. D., class of 1904. 
The following year was spent in medical study and research at the 
L'niversity of Vienna. Austria, Dr. Brady returning to Lowell in 1905 
and beginning practice. The years ha\c' brought him a generous 
share of the honors of his profession, and at his offices. Nos. 301-302 
Sun building, he ministers to a large clientele as a specialist in diseases 
of the nose, throat and ear. He is a member of the Massachusetts 
State and American Medical societies, and is highly esteemed by his 
brethren of the profession. He is a Democrat in politics, and a 
devotee of open air sports, particularly those of forest and stream, 
hunting and fishing being his favorite recreations. 

Dr. Brady married, in Lowell. July 10, 1907, .Anna .\. Coughlin. 
daughter of William Coughlin. a real estate dealer of I^owell, who 
died in i()02. Her mother was Agnes A. Byrne, who is still living 



298 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

at the age of sixty years. Dr. and Airs. Brady are the parents of two 
sons and a daughter: Francis B., born May 21, igo8, attends the 
grammar school ; William, born June 24. 1910, attends primary school ; 
Barbara, born March 10, 1915. 



FRANK P. PUTNAM. 



Named for a president of the L'nited States, Franklin Pierce, of 
New Hampshire, and bearing an old and honored New England name, 
one borne by a great Revolutionary hero, Frank P. Putnam eschewed 
the political traits of one and the military ardor of the other, and found 
his vocation in merchandising. In the not always peaceful arts of 
trade he has won eminence, and in his native city of Lowell is well 
known and highly esteemed as merchant and citizen. There ;ire few 
men who, if fortune had been kind to them in a financial way, but 
would develop some special interest which often amounts to a passion, 
sometimes a hobby. Mr. Putnam is not an exception, his passion 
being the cultivation of flowers, carnations and single chrysanthe- 
mums being his specialties. Many are the prizes and first premiums 
which adorn his home, where four large greenhouses are stocked with 
the specimens and varieties which most appeal to the owner's tastes. 
Thus a successful business man finds his recreation, keeps his mind 
and body fit, and brings joy to every lover of the beautiful in nature, 
whtj is privileged to visit his greenhouses or gardens. 

In business life he is the honored president of the Putnam & Son 
Company, dealers in clothing, located at Nos. 166-168 Central street. 
He is a son of Addison Putnam, who established the business in 
Lowell, in 1846, at the corner of Hurd and Central streets, later 
locating at the corner of Market and Central streets, the present loca- 
tion being occupied since 1878. Addison Putnam, the founder, con- 
tinued head of the business which was incorporated as the Putnam 
& Son Company, in 1901, until his death in 1906, having been con- 
nected with the business as founder and head for sixty years. Addison 
Putnam married Hannah Blanchard Tarbell, they the parents of 
Frank P., to whom this review of an honorable, upright life is 
inscribed. 

Frank P. Putnam was born in Lowell, ilassachusetts, November 
15, 1848, and has ever resided in his native city and added to her 
mercantile greatness. He attended the public schools of the city, but 
at the age of fifteen years left high school to go into his father's store, 
business life greatly attracting him from boyhood. This was in 1863, 
or 1864, the clothing store of Addison Putnam then being located at 
the corner of Market and Central streets. He rapidly absorbed the 





3:^/C X 




BIOGRAPHICAI. 299 

principles upon which the business was conducted and the special 
details of the clothing business, soon becoming his father's assistant, 
and upon arriving at legal age his partner, the firm trading as Putnam 
& Son. In 1878 the store was moved to Nos. 166-168 Central street, 
and this oldest of Lowell's men's clothing and furnishing stores took 
up a new lease of life. Boys' clothing was added to the lines carried, 
and a large business developed, which continues a prosperous one at 
the same location for the past forty years. 

Addison Putnam was a member of the Board of Aldermen for a 
time, but Frank P. has accepted no political office, but served the city 
for twenty-one years as a trustee of the Public Library. He is a 
director of the Appleton National Bank: trustee and vice-president of 
the Lowell I'ive Cents Savings Bank ; director of the Traders' and 
Mechanics' Insurance Company of L(jwcll ; and is a member of the 
Board of Trade. He is a thoroughly public-spirited citizen, one who 
can be relied upon to aid in any movement promising better things 
for Lowell or the county-at-Iarge. He is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Putnam married, in Lowell, November i, 1898, Sarah Barry. 
The family residence is at North Tewksbury, where the greenhouses 
are Mr. Putnam's especial pleasure, and a generous hospitality is 
extended. 



FREDERICK STRAUSS. 

When a lad of nine years, Frederick Strauss, treasurer of Alex- 
ander Strauss, Inc., was brought to Lowell, Massachusetts, by his 
parents, and from that year Lowell has been his home. The activities 
of Alexander Strauss and his sons, Ansel L. and Frederick, form an 
important chapter in Lowell's mercantile records, and although the 
voice of the father is forever hushed, the sons emulate his many 
virtues, and along the lines he led them for many years are still 
operating. 

Alexander Strauss, the father, was born in (lermany, in 184-I, and 
died at his summer home at Old Orchard, Alaine, September 9. 1917. 
He came from the city of Cologne, Germany, to the United States, at 
an early age, finding his iirst .American home in Hartford, Connec- 
ticut. There he obtained a good public school education, and resided 
there until going to Pawtucket, Rhode Island, where he had a brother 
in the clothing business. He thoroughly mastered the details of a 
retail clothing enterprise, and there continued until 1896, when he 
came to Lowell, Massachusetts, to establish a store which should be 
another link in the chain of the Caesar Misch stores. At the same 
time he established a similar store at Manchester, New Hampshire. 
He continued head of the Caesar Misch store in Lowell for twenty 



30C HISTORY OF LOWELL 

years, and with his sons entered into other mercantile ventures, one 
of these being the Hanna Company, of Haverhill, Massachusetts, of 
which he was treasurer. For a year before his death he was not in 
Lowell much, spending his time with his married daughter in Hart- 
ford, Connecticut, and at his summer home at Old Orchard. While a 
resident of Pawtucket, Alexander Strauss enlisted in the First liat- 
talion, Rhode Island Cavalry, and for twenty-seven years Avas an 
active member of that battalion, rising from the ranks to major. He 
was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights 
of Pythias, and B'nai Brith ; a man of most lovable character, devoted 
to his family, his life being a succession of unselfish acts of kindness 
and charity. 

Alexander Strauss married, in 1871, Hannah Falk, who died Alay 
13, 1916, they the parents of five sons and three daughters: Ansel L., 
a merchant of New Rochelle, New York, and president of the Alex- 
ander Strauss, Inc., Lowell, and Hanna Company, of Haverhill; Dr. 
Abraham Strauss, now offering up his learning and his talents for his 
country with a hospital "Somewhere in France ;" P'rederick, of further 
mention; Moses, of Lowell ; Dr. L Strauss, of New York City; Helen, 
married Milton Simon, of Hartford, Connecticut ; Rose, married 
Francis Leduc, of Holyoke, Massachusetts ; Minna, married Philip 
Hamerslough, of Hartford. 

Frederick Strauss was born in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, May 26, 
1S83, and there resided until October, 1897, when his parents moved 
to Lowell. Massachusetts. There he completed graded and high 
school courses of instruction, entering Harvard College in 1902, and 
receiving his degree. A. B.. class of 1906. He then became associated 
with his father in the Caesar Misch store, originally at No. 78 Middle- 
sex street. later at No. 220 Central street, a store devoted to the sale 
of ladies' and men's clothing. The business was incorporated in 1905 
as Alexander Strauss. Inc.. hut was continued under the same firm 
name as before, with Ansel L. Strauss, as president, Alexander Strauss, 
treasurer, and Frederick Strauss, secretar3^ In 1909 the Hanna Com- 
pany, of Haverhill, Massachusetts, was incorporated with Alexander 
Strauss, president and treasurer; Ansel L. Strauss, vice-president; 
Frederick Strauss, clerk of the corporation. The business of the 
Hanna Company is that of a Ladies' Specialty store, and is still con- 
tinued, Frederick Strauss succeeding his father in 191 7 as treasurer 
of that company and of Alexander Strauss, Inc., of Lowell. 

In all these corporations Frederick Strauss has taken acti\e man- 
agerial part, and his success as a business man proves the value of 
the college bred man to the commercial world. He began at the bot- 
tom under the direction of his honored father, and has risen to honored 



r.ior.RAi'incAi. .^oi 

position among the merchants of his city. He is active, earnest and 
decisive, not afraid to trust his own judgment, yet willing to take 
counsel. He is a tine type of the young business man of to-day. and 
a bright future awaits him. He is a member of the Lowell Roard of 
Trade, the Harvard Club of Lowell, Vesper Country Club, and a 
Master Mason of William Xorth Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons. 
Mr. Strauss is unmarried. 



E. B. CONANT. 

Messrs. J. E. Conant & Company (Auctioneers) have been estab- 
lished in the one office in Central street since April, i86t. The busi- 
ness is almost exclusively the management of the sale of manufactur- 
ing properties — both textile and industrial — pledged to the highest 
bona fide bidders at unrestricted and unprotected public sale. In this 
century alone, or since January i, 1901. they have been called upon to 
take charge of such sales in twenty-one States of the country. The 
head of the firm from 1861 to 1878 was Mr. J. E. Conant, who died 
.Vugust 7, 1878. The present head of the house is Mr. E. B. Conant, 
his son, who succeeded to the business in October, 1878, or forty-one 
years ago. 



HAROLD LEUFROI CHALIFOUX. 

The development of the department store is one of the wonders 
of American merchandising, and no less wonderful has been the 
development of the American business man. In Lowell the great 
Chalifoux store on Merrimack square, the city's most modern depart- 
ment store, is an illustration of the development of both a business 
and a man to manage it. Harold L. Chalifoux is of the third genera- 
tion of his grandfather, a country merchant of ability, his father the 
founder of the business over which the son presides as sole owner. 
Joseph L. Chalifoux started in business in Lowell, in 1875, with one 
employee; his son, in 1917, does business in a six story building 
stocked from basement to the top with merchandise, the payroll of 
the store containing over three hundred names. The father founded 
and developed the business to the limit of his physical ability, and died 
after an attack of appendicitis, never moving to the great block he 
built, which now houses the business. The son, abandoning a college 
career, became his father's assistant, and succeeded to its ownership, 
in 191 1, with his brother, Paul E., and is now sole owner, having 
purchased his brother's interest recently. He is the capable head of 
his large business, is wise in executive management, broad-minded and 



302 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

liberal in his policies, in short, is the modern merchant at the head 
of a modern business. 

The Chalifouxs came from France to Canada during the eighteenth 
century, and many of the name have held high rank in official position ; 
a postmaster general of the Dominion, a speaker of the Canadian 
House of Parliament ; a Prime Minister, and a mayor of Quebec, 
being among the family notables. Charles Daunais, a great-grand- 
father of Harold L. Chalifoux. was the leader among the Revolution- 
ists of 1837 and in 1838, a man of high patriotism and courage. 
Joseph Chalifoux was born in Mascouche, Canada, in 1818, and 
became a country merchant of high standing and honor. He was a 
member of the local judiciary, served on the school board, and was 
a man of prominence in his community. He married Odele Daunais, 
born in Mascouche, in 1827, daughter of Charles Daunais, the patriot 
previously alluded to. 

Joseph L. Chalifoux, son of Joseph and Odele (Daunais) Chal- 
ifoux, was born in the Parish of St. Henri de Mascouche, Province of 
Quebec, Canada, December 20, 1850, died while a resident of the city 
of Lowell, Massachusetts, September 25, 191 1. He obtained a good 
education, completing his studies at the College de Terrebonne, and 
began business life as drug clerk. In 1868, at the age of eighteen years, 
he came to the United States, locating in Lowell, where he obtained 
his first position as clerk in a clothing store. He continued as clerk 
until 1S75, then with his savings opened a small store under his own 
name, having but one employee. This was the introduction of the 
name in Lowell, and during the forty-three years which have since 
elapsed, it has never disappeared from the list of Lowell merchants, 
nor has its honor been impugned. The little store was enlarged and 
expansion seemed continuous. The business developed along the 
modern department store idea, and a very large business was con- 
ducted in the Central block. Finally the Chalifoux block, on Merri- 
mack square, was erected for the use of the Chalifoux business, but 
after it was completed, ill health had so enfeebled him that he refused 
to move, and the handsome building was leased to the Nelsons, of 
five and ten cent store fame, Mr. Chalifoux continuing his business in 
the Central block. 

The upbuilding of a great business was but one of the results of 
the activity of this virile, energetic man. He was a* director of the 
Union National Bank ; trustee of the Lowell Textile School ; trustee 
of the Central Savings Bank ; member of the Board of Trade, and in 
1892-93 served as its president ; and a member of the Financial Com- 
mission created in 1894. He had large business interests in Birming- 
ham, Alabama, starting a store there in 1889, on a strictly cash plan. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 303 

the first in the city. He then conducted a most successful business, 
and erected from his profits a large and well equipped ofifice building in 
Birmingham. Finally his health broke, the physical man succumbed 
to an attack of appendicitis, he who had commanded and ruled as 
dictator was brought low, and his sons succeeded him. He married, 
in Lowell, August 21, 1S76, Nellie M. Gallagher, who had for the 
three years preceding her marriage been principal of the Mann Gram- 
mar School. Airs. Chalifoux survives her husband, the mother of: 
Paul E., Alice F., who married John Chess Ellsworth; Helene Ada, 
who married Charles Abbott Stevens, who was a lieutenant-colonel in 
the b'nited States army in France; Harold L., of further mention; 
and Elizabeth R., who married Lowell M. Chapin. 

Harold L. Chalifoux, youngest son of Joseph L. and Nellie Al. 
(Gallagherj Chalifoux, was born in Lowell, Alassachusetts, July 12, 
1886. After grammar and high school courses in Lowell, he entered 
Phillips Andover Academy, then entered Harvard University for a 
classical course, class of 1909. He did not complete the cour.<e, but 
after his sophomore year left the university, his father's health having 
failed to such an alarming degree that his presence at home was im- 
perative. He at once took charge of the Central Block department 
store in connection with his brother, i'aul E., and until the death of 
their father, September 25, 191 1, no change was made, the sons con- 
tinuing along the same lines. In 1912, Paul E. Chalifoux withdrew, 
Harold L. purchasing his interest. In 1913, having gained the neces- 
sary grasp upon the business, Mr. Chalifoux correctly appraised his 
own business value and decided that he would move the business to 
the building on Alerrimack square, which had been planned and built 
to receive it. On Alarch i, 1914, the move was effected, and three floors 
of the building, fully stocked and equipped, were opened to the public. 
The business outgrew these floors, and now all space in the great six- 
story building is occupied, and the demand is still for more room. 
To meet this demand, Mr. Chalifoux has purchased the Phoenix build- 
ing on Prescott street, which will be added to the present store build- 
ing. He has also added the entire floor space of the former Swan 
building, and has other plans. When he moved to Merrimack square, 
in 1914, 43,000 square feet was the floor space in use. After the 
present additions were completed, in 1918, 125,000 square feet came 
into use. A still more striking comparison is with the former "Red 
Ball" store owned by Joseph L. Chalifoux, which stood on the site 
of the present store ; that store, by no means an insignificant one, 
occupied 7,500 square feet of floor space, the new store 125,000 square 
feet. The usual department store stock is carried. Over all, Mr. 
Chalifoux maintains sole control, and although a young man he has 
proved his ability to manage and direct a great mercantile business. 



304 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Mr. Chalifoux is a man of broad vision, very progressive in his 
methods, and intensely public-spirited. He is one of the strong mer- 
chants of his city, and holds the respect and confidence of Lowell 
business and financial circles. He is an ex-vice-president of the Board 
of Trade, and is yet a director and interested in the board's activities ; 
is a director of the Chili Copper Company, the largest copper com- 
pany in the world, and owners of the world's largest copper mine, 
which is in Chili ; and is also a director of the Chili Exploration Com- 
pany. Air. Chalifoux enjoys life's social side, and is a member of 
many clubs, including the Vesper and Yorick, of Lowell ; the Harvard, 
of Lowell, Boston, and New York; the Essex County, of Manchester; 
the Oakley Country, the Exchange, Automobile, and Algonquin, of 
Boston ; the Chew Chase and Metropolitan clubs of W'ashington, 
D. C. He served as a first lieutenant in the Air Service, Aircraft Pro- 
duction, during the World War. 

Mr. Chalifoux married, November lo, 1916, Elizabeth Alice Bur- 
rage, daughter of Albert C. and Alice (Haskell) Burrage. 



FREDERIC WILLIAM COBURN. 

In 1837, one year after Lowell became incorporated as a city, the 
firm of Mixer & Whittemore, dealers in manufacturers' supplies, was 
established and located in the old Mechanics building on Dutton 
street, and the present C. B. Coburn Company is the outgrowth of the 
business instituted by those two men in that year. On the dissolution 
of Mixer & Whittemore, another concern, that of Mixer & Pitman, 
took up the business and continued it until the advent of Charles B. 
Coburn in the forties, when he succeeded Isaac Pitman in the partner- 
ship. At this time the name of the firm was changed to Mixer & 
Coburn, under which title the business was run until 1850. In that 
year Charles B. Coburn became sole proprietor. Ten years later his 
son, Charles H. Coburn, entered the firm, and in 1871 another son, 
Edward F. Coburn, was admitted to partnership. During these 
various changes in the personnel of the company and until 1876, C. B. 
Coburn & Company continued in its original quarters on Dutton 
street. In the latter year, however, it moved to the Wier building on 
Market street, and four years later located at its present site on Market 
street. 

In 1887, at the time of the semi-centennial celebration of Lowell, 
the founder of the firm, Charles B. Coburn, retired from business life, 
his two sons succeeding to the ownership of the company. Eight years 
after this event the elder Mr. Coburn died at the venerable age of 
eightv-one vears, after having been engaged in an active business life 




t^^^^^/^^^'z^'':^'^^^ 



BIOGRAPTTICAT. 305 

of over fifty years. His sons continued in i)artncrship until the death 
of E. F. Coljurn. in i8g8. when Frederic \V. C()l)urn, the son of 
Charles H. Coburn, and Gordon Tweed entered the firm. Under the 
management of these three men the business was conducted until 
1904, when it was incorporated under the name of C. B. Coburn Com- 
pany. Shortly after the death of Charles H. Coburn, which occurred 
in June, I'joy, Gordon Tweed retired from the corporation, and Fred- 
eric W. Col)urn, grandson of the founder of the comj)any, assumed 
sole management, as president, treasurer, and general manager of the 
corporation. The business of the company is paints, oils, glass, var- 
nishes, artist's materials, and manufacturers' and painters' supplies, 
the store being located at Xos. 63-67 Market street, Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, retail and wholesale. 

Shortly after five o'clock Wednesday morning, March 27, 1912, 
a burst of flame drove through the rear ground floor windows of the 
store of C. R. Coburn Company. Two hours later three floors of the 
lour story building were gutted by fire, and the top floor of the build- 
ing, the gla.^'.ing and window glass department was drenched with 
water, and littered with fragments of glass. Before the lire was 
really under control C. B. Coburn Company had rented the four story 
building near the corner of Palmer street, the W'icr building, which, 
strange to relate, was occupied by this corporation thirty-two years 
previous to the fire. Two lines of telephones were promptly installed 
in its temporary quarters, and before noon the shipping clerk was 
taking orders and delivering goods from the storehouse on Howard 
street. In the rear of the store an office was constructed for the book- 
keeping department, counters were installed, and the next morning 
goods were placed on shelves. A complete line of Harrison paint 
products, which had been shipped from the factory on the day of the 
fire, were on sale in the temporary quarters three days afterwards, 
and within a week's time all goods in the wholesale line and most of 
the retailed goods were ready for customers, and twelve days after the 
fire a settlement of the store's loss was made by the insurance adjust- 
ers, and business resumed. 

.As head of the business, Frederic William Cnburn cuntinucd 
until March 17. 1917, when he joined the great majority. He put new 
life into the business and developed it to a very high conditi(3n of 
prosperity. He was a man of energy and enterprise, very popular 
among the best business men of his city, his loss being generally 
mourned. 

Frederic William Coburn was a son of Charles Henry Coburn, 
son of Charles Butterfield Coburn, son of Henry (2) Coburn, son of 
Henry (i) Coburn, son of Ephraim Coburn, son of Thomas Coburn, 

1—20 



3o6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

son of Corporal Edward Colborne, Coburne, Colbron, Colebron or 
Coulborne, born in 1618, died 1700, of Dunstable and Clielmsford, 
Middlesex county, Massachusetts. 

(I) Corporal Edward Coburn, as the name soon liecame generally 
spelled, was a soldier of the Chelmsford military company, 1675-77, 
and the first settler there on the north side of the Merrimack. He 
erected a garrison house on his land, strengthened it after the Indian 
attack upon Chelmsford, February 26. 1676, and continued in com- 
mand and pay until November 17, 1692, perhaps longer. He was 
guarding the ferry, March 18, 1675, when the Wamesit Indians killed 
two of the sons of Samuel Varnum and burned Corporal Coburn's 
house. He was in command of the garrison house, July 23, 1689, 
during the first French and Indian War. With the aid of his seven 
sons he could always protect himself until help could be summoned. 
The garrison house was willed by Corporal Coburn to his son Joseph, 
and there seems little doubt that it is yet standing. There is a two 
story house standing on Varnum avenue, nearly opposite Totman 
road, which was for many years the home of the Coburns, the last to 
occupy it being Nathaniel B., of the seventh generation. Captain 
Coburn's wife, Hannah, died in 1712, the mother of seven sons and 
two daughters, the sons all heads of families except Edward (2), who 
was killed at Squakheage, August 2, 1675. Their children were born 
in Ipswich, but as the earlier records of that town were burned month 
dates cannot be given of the first six. Children: Edward, born in 
1642, killed August 2, 1675; John, born in 1644, died in 1687, married 
Hannah Read: Robert, born in 1646, died in 1701. married Mary 
Bishop; Thomas, of further mention; Daniel, born in 1654, died in 
1712, married Sarah Blood; Hannah, .born in 1656, married (first) 
Thomas Richardson, (second) John Wright; Ezra, born March 16, 
1658, died in 1739, married Hannah X'arnum ; Joseph, born June 16, 

1661, died in 1773. married Hannah ; and Lydia, born August 

20. 1666. 

(II) Thomas Coburn, son of Corporal Edward Coburn, was born 
at Ipswich, jMassachusetts, about 1648, and died before 1728. He was 
given land by his father, and was a dutiful son in his parents' old age. 
He married (first), August 6, 1672, Hannah Rouf or Rolfe, and they 
were the [jarents of four children : Hannah, Thomas, Jonathan, and 
Daniel. He married (second) November 17, 1681, Remembrance 
(Underwood) Richardson. They were the parents of nine children : 
Josiah, James, Margaret, Jonathan, Zachariah, Mary or Mercy, Henry, 
.Sarah, and Ephraim. Descent in this branch is traced through Eph- 
raim. the j-oungest and thirteenth child. 

(III) Ephraim Coburn, son of Thomas Coburn, was born April 
2J., 1706, died about 1758. He married Johanna Coburn, daughter of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 307 

John Coburn, and they were the parents of five sons and a daughter: 
I'.phraim (2), Amos, Thomas, John, Johanna, and Henry, head of the 
fourth generation. 

(1\') Henry Coburn, son of Ephraim Coburn, was born in the 
town of Dracut, Massachusetts, January 5, 1744, and died May 21, 
1829. He was a soldier of the Revolution, serving in Captain Wright's 
company. Colonel Blood's regiment, and was engaged at the battle of 
White Plains, New York, in 1776. He married Sarah Richardson, 
born in Dracut, March 13, 1755, died September 2, 1826, daughter of 
Captain William and Elizabeth (Coburn) Richardson, of Pelham, 
Xew Hampshire, her mother a daughter of Daniel Coburn, of Dracut. 
They had two sons and two daughters : Henry (2), of further mention ; 
Sarah, Thomas, and Anna. 

(V) Henry (2) Coburn, son of Henry (i) Coburn, was born in 
Dracut, Massachusetts, December i, 1780, and died September 27, 
1835. He married, May 5. 181 1, Martha, widow of Stephen Adams, 
daughter of Benjamin and Sarah (Chamberlain) Butterfield. Mrs. 
Coburn was born March 22, 1784, and died May 25, 1841. They resided 
in Chelmsford and Lowell, Massachusetts, and were the parents of 
eight children: Henry Albert, Charles Butterfield, of further men- 
tion : Stephen Adams, Franklin, all of whom married and reared fam- 
ilies ; Ralph, died young; a child, who died unmarried : Ralph ( 2), died 
young: and William, also died young. 

(\'I) Charles Butterfield Coburn, son of Henry (2) Coburn, was 
born in Chelmsford. June 16, 1813, and died at Lowell, October 18, 
1894. He left the farm for mercantile life, and after holding several 
positions he entered the employ of Mixer & Pitman, the forerunner 
of the present C. B. Coburn Company of Lowell. He became a mem- 
ber of that firm in the forties, and in 1850 became sole owner. He 
later admitted two of his sons to a partnership, and in 1880 he retired 
from business. As a merchant he was honored and respected, and at 
one time he was president of the Traders' and Mechanics' Insurance 
Company, and president of the Prescott Bank. He served as council- 
man several years, and also was a member of the Board of Aldermen. 
Charles B. Coburn married. May 24, 1837, Elizabeth West, who died 
December 12. 1903, daughter of Samuel and Hannah (Foster) West, 
of Providence, Rhode Island. Mr. and Mrs. Coburn were the parents 
of eleven children : Elizabeth West, died in infancj' ; Charles Henry, 
of further mention ; Horace Butterfield, Edward Foster, Walter, 
Alfred, Elizabeth, .Alice Nichols, Harriet, Martha, and Agnes Ward. 

(\TI) Charles Henry Coburn, son of Charles Butterfield Coburn, 
was born in Lowell, March 12, 1839, and died there. January 3, 1909. 
lie early became associated with his father in business, and in i860 



3o8 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

became a member of the firm, C. B. Coburn & Company. He served 
in the Civil War as assistant-quartermaster and commissary-sergeant, 
in the Sixth Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry, and was 
first lieutenant in the First Regiment, United States Colored Cavalry. 
After the war he returned to business life in Lowell, and in 1886, upon 
the retirement of their father, the two sons, Charles H. and Edward 
F., succeeded to the ownership of the business which they conducted 
as a partnership until the death of Edward F. Coburn, December 15, 
1898, when others were admitted, and in 1904 the C. B. Coburn Com- 
pany was incorporated. Charles H. Coburn served one term as alder- 
man in Lowell. He married, June 20, 1866, Victoria McLean, born 
Tulv 7, 1836, daughter of Andrew B. McLean, of Washington, D. C. 
They were the parents of two daughters and a son : Victoria McLean, 
born May 7, 1869, married. May 7, 1890, Frank L. Lane; Frederic 
William, to whose memory this review is inscribed; Helen, born June 
5, 1877, married Horace N. Stevens. 

(VIII) Frederic William Coburn, only son of Charles Henry and 
Victoria (McLean) Coburn, was born in Lowell, January 30, 1873, 
and died there. March 17, 1918. He was educated in the Bartlett 
street grammar school, Lowell High School, class of 1892, and at the 
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, which he attended in 1892 
and 1893. After completing his studies he became officially connected 
with the business founded by his grandfather, with which his father 
had lieen connected for half a century. His progressive s[)irit was 
manifest in every department of the business, and when his plans were 
fully matured the C. B. Coburn Company was a splendid monument 
to his progressiveness, energy, and ability. He was master of every 
detail of the business, and when he succeeded to the office of president 
and treasurer he entered most aggressively upon a business career 
which placed him in the front rank of Lowell business men, and made 
him one of the best known men in commercial circles. The influence 
and service of C. B. Coburn Company expanded steadily as the years 
went by, and prosperity attended the corporation. He was a member 
of Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; the Vesper Country 
and Yorick clubs of Lowell. He died just in the prime of life, but he 
had compiled a wonderful record of business usefulness, and his mon- 
ument is the modern business house, C. B. Coburn Company. He was 
a Republican in politics, and interested in all that concerned the wel- 
fare of his city. He would never accept office for himself, his time 
being devoted to his private business. He was a member of the Board 
of Trade, and very helpful. 

Frederic W. Coburn married, October 18, 1909, Bertha Wilcox, 
who survives him with two children : Shirley Woodbury, born March 
12, 1911; and Charles Butterfield, born August 12, 1912. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 309 

WILLIAM NEWTON OSGOOD. 

William Ncwtun Osgood was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
June II, 1855. He attended the Lowell public schools, and graduated 
from Amherst College in the class of 1878. He studied law with 
D. S. and G. F. Richardson. He also attended the Boston University 
Law School, and in 1880 was admitted to practice. Since that time 
he has been engaged in his profession in Lowell and Boston. In 
addition to the general practice of the law, Mr. Osgood has given con- 
siderable time to public questions, and by tongue and pen has striven 
to advance the general welfare. 

In early life Mr. Osgood was president of the Common Council of 
Lowell. He was also connected with the city government of Maiden, 
Massachusetts, during his residence there, and presided at the grand 
banquet held on the two hundred and fiftieth anniversary of that city, 
at which many notable guests responded to appropriate toasts. He is 
a student of economic and social subjects, and is credited with pre- 
paring the first draft of the Workmen's Compensation Act in the 
United States, while serving as a member of a commission to consider 
the relations between employer and employee, appointed by Ciover- 
nor Bates in 1904. In 1896 he published a book which presented the 
principal arguinents of both gold and silver advocates. At diiTerent 
times he has issued pamphlets and addresses upon a variety of sub- 
jects pertaining to industry, direct legislation, law. capital and labor, 
public ownership of public utilities, equable taxation, scientific man- 
agement, equal suffrage, etc. Another book recently published by 
Mr. Osgood is: "The Vital Question, or How to Get Real Democracy 
in the United States," in which work he considers the issues that he 
deems the most essential, and suggests a practical plan of action. This 
is the most comprehensive and serious work yet undertaken bv him. 

Mr. Osgood w-as one of the pioneers in advocating direct legis- 
lation, and in 1890 organized and was president of the Massachusetts 
Direct Legislation League. In 1908 he was the candidate of the 
Independence League for governor of Massachusetts. In 1912 and 
1914 he was the candidate of the Progressive Party for Congress from 
the fifth district. Many of the opinions held by Mr. Osgood in his 
earlier years, then deemed somewhat radical by practical politicians, 
are being rapidly incorporated into concrete legislation. Mr. Osgood 
is a member of the .American, the Middlesex County, and the Boston 
Bar associations. He is a member of Kilwinning ^lasonic Lodge, and 
of several social organizations. 

The following brief extracts from Mr. Osgood's latest work fairly 
indicate his general views on public questions: 



3IC HISTORY OF LOWELL 

The great problem of civilization, comprehensively stated, is how 
to increase the opportunity for all men and women to improve their 
religious, economic, social and even artistic well-being. The world 
has become too commercial and materialistic. It should become more 
creative and productive of those things that elevate the soul, educate 
the mind and heart, and improve the general and physical condition of 
the citizen. 

A monetary cast or class is being too rapidly formed in this land 
of ours. What a man possesses of this world's goods too commonly 
determines his standing in the community. "How much is he worth?" 
is becoming of vastly more importance than "What is he?" or "What 
does he believe and know, and what are his sentiments and capabilities 
in relation to lightening the burdens of his neighbors?" 

The task of perfecting popular government so that it shall equal 
the efficiency of a refined and perfect autocracy is, strictly speaking, 
theoretically impossible. The concentration of power in a single per- 
son, who happens to be great in heart and great in intellectual and 
administrative ability, may result in accomplishing things of magni- 
tude more expeditiously and economically than can be accomplished 
by a government with powers divided among many individuals. 

But there are, nevertheless, advantages which are inherent in 
popular governments that do not pertain to autocratic governments. 
While autocratic governments may be superior in efficiency under a 
wise and humane autocrat, under a cruel barbarous one, it may be 
extremely inefficient, and bring ultimate waste, ruin and disaster upon 
the governed, whose only refuge is revolution and the establishment 
of some form of popular government. Liberty, even if sometimes 
wasteful and inefficient, is in the end worth the price. Good things 
cost much ; the best costs most. 

Mr. Osgood also thinks that so-called scientific management, too 
intensely applied in industry, would finally produce inefficiency and 
waste, both in material products and in the producers. 

Mr. Osgood, on January i, 1882, married Harriet Leslie Palmer, 
of Tewksbury, Massachusetts. They have a daughter, Helen Augusta 
Osgood, who was born in Boston, educated in Maiden and Lowell 
schools, and is also a graduate of the Leland Powers School of Ex- 
pression, Boston. Miss Osgood is well known as a writer of verse and 
monologues, and for her dramatic and vocal talents. 



ADELBERT AMES. 



A native of Maine, and now resident in New England as a citizen 
of Lowell, Massachusetts, the most memorable experiences of Gov- 
ernor Ames' life were met in the South, as an ofificer of the Union 
army in the Civil War, and as the twenty-fifth and twenty-eighth 
governor of the State of Mississippi. Graduating from West Point 
at the outbreak of war between the states, he served with great dis- 




^-y<^^_e^,Ae^ -/^< 



BTOGRAnilCAL 311 

tinction in that conflict, and during the decade of reconstruction which 
followed he was twice governor of Mississippi and once United States 
Senator from that State. Returning North to New York in 1874, he 
afterward came to Lowell, his present home, where he has led an 
active career of wide influence. 

Adelbert ^Vmes was born in Rockland, Maine, Octoljcr 31, 1835, 
son of Jesse and Martha B. (Tolman) Ames. After preparatory- 
training, he entered the United States Military Academy at West 
Point and was graduated in 1861, becoming a second lieutenant in 
the Second Regiment of United States Artillery on May 6, of that 
year. On the following May 14 he was promoted to first lieutenant, 
and was assigned to the Fifth Regiment of Artillery, being ordered to 
the front at the beginning of the Civil War. .\t the l)attle of Bull 
Run, July 21, 1861, he received a severe wound in the thigh, but 
remained upon the field in command of a section of Grif^n's battery, 
continuing to direct its fire until too weak to sit upon the caisson 
where his men had placed him. His gallantry in this action won him 
the brevet of major, United States army, and the Congressional Medal 
of Honor. He took part in the siege of Yorktown, and for skill dis- 
played at Malvern Hill was brevetted lieutenant-colonel, July i, 1862. 
He was also engaged in the battles of Antietam, September 17, 1862, 
and Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862, as colonel commanding the 
Twentieth Maine Volunteers. On May 20, 1863, he was commissioned 
brigadier-general of volunteers. On the first day's battle at Gettys- 
burg, July I, 1863, he commanded a brigade, but upon the disable- 
ment of the commanding officer he took charge of the division on the 
two subsequent days, and was brevetted colonel. United States army, 
for meritorious service on that memorable field. The following 
August he assisted in the siege of Charleston ; in April, 1864, he was 
engaged in the operations before Petersburg and Richmond, and was 
selected to command a division against Fort Fisher, receiving the 
brevet of brigadier-general for distinguished gallantry on the last 
named occasion, January 15, 1865. He was promoted a captain. Fifth 
United States Artillery, February 22, 1865, and for gallantry and mer- 
itorious services in the field during the Civil War was brevetted major- 
general of volunteers, March 13 of the same year. After the war he 
occupied territorial districts in North and South Carolina until April 
30. 1866, when he was mustered out of the volunteer service. On 
July 28, following, he was promoted a lieutenant-colonel. Twenty- 
fourth United States Infantry. 

In the work of "reconstruction" necessitated by the new order of 
things at the close of the war, the southern part of the Union was 
divided into five districts under an Act of Congress providing for a 
temporary government. Fach of the districts had a general officer in 



312 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

command sustained by a military force. Mississippi was among the 
last of the states to adopt the conditions of reconstruction, and on July 
5, 1868, General Ames was appointed provisional governor of this 
State by President Grant. Eight months later, on March 17, 1869, his 
command was extended to include the Fourth Military District. He 
ordered an election to be held November 30, 1S69, and the Legislature 
to be convened January 11, 1870. An unexpired term for United States 
Senator dating March 4. 1869, existed, and Governor Ames was elected 
to fill the vacancy. He served on the committee of finance and mili- 
tary afifairs, and resigned his seat on being elected by a popular vote 
governor of Mississippi in 1873. His administration was marked by 
the promotion of the material welfare of the State and the economical 
and judicious uses of the revenues. The supremacy of the Repub- 
lican party, composed mainly of blacks, southern Unionists, and 
northern men who had settled in the State subsequent to the war, 
was regarded by the Democrats as a phase of the war for the suppres- 
sion of the rebellion. A riot at Vicksburg, December 7, 1873, between 
the political parties resulted in disorganization of the civil govern- 
ment and outrages occurred throughout the State. Governor Ames 
appealed to Washington for aid to enforce the laws, the authorities 
replying that he "take all lawful means to preserve the peace by the 
forces in his own state." He then organized the militia to aid the 
civil officers, as the affairs of the State were at a standstill, but these 
efiforts were resisted and rendered ineffectual by his political oppo- 
nents. The November election that followed resulted in the defeat of 
the Republicans and both branches of the Legislature became Demo- 
cratic. The latter body then prepared to prepare articles of impeach- 
ment against the governor, charging unconstitutional exercise of 
power. Governor Ames, anticipating trial by a prejudiced jury, then 
decided to ofifer his resignation, and all the charges were withdrawn. 

Moving from the South to New York, Governor Ames later came 
to Lowell, his present (1919) home. He was appointed brigadier- 
general of United States \'olunteers, June 20, 189S, and after serving 
through the Spanish War was honorably discharged, January 3. 1899. 

Governor Ames married, July 21, 1870, Blanche, daughter of 
General B. F. Butler, of Lowell, Massachusetts, and in his succeeding 
generation, as in his own, the name of Ames has been proudly and 
creditably borne. 



ROGERS HALL SCHOOL. 



Conceived by one of two sisters, and founded by the other after 
the death of the first, Rogers Hall School of Lowell has come to fill a 
distinctive place among instittitions of learning for girls in New Eng- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 313 

land. Miss Elisabeth Rogers was the founder; Miss Emily Rogers, 
the sister, whose idea it was that a school for girls be established on 
the Rogers homestead estate. That Miss Elisabeth Rogers felt able to 
carry out the plan often discussed with her sister is due largely to her 
having as adviser the Rev. John M. Greene, D. D., pastor of the Eliot 
Church. Dr. Greene had assisted Miss Sophia Smith in making plans 
for the founding of Smith College at a time when to many people 
the higher education of women spelled a most radical heresy, l)ut Dr. 
Greene foresaw not only the coming need of trained workers among 
women, but the increasing desire of women for wider intellectual 
interests. In advising Miss Rogers to found a school like Rogers Hall, 
Dr. Greene desired to assist in promoting secondary education by es- 
tablishing a school for girls, which should prepare for college both 
on the side of scholarship and of character, and should also give to 
girls who desired training, other than that preparatory for college, a 
sound education in preparation for life outside school. 

Miss Rogers did not plan to found the school in her lifetime, but 
owing to the establishment in Lowell, in 1891, of the Belvidere School 
for Girls, she changed her purpose and with great self-sacrilice and 
personal discomfort gave up for the use of a school the old home in 
which she had lived for many years, securing the cooperation of Mrs. 
Underbill, the principal of the Belvidere School, in the carrying out 
of her plan. Prior to coming to Lowell, Mrs. Underbill had been head 
teacher in Miss Barr's School for Girls in Boston. She possessed a 
rare combination of qualities for pioneer work of this kind. She had 
a keen and brilliant intellect, initiative, enthusiasm, optimism, good 
health, and will power which saw obstacles only as something to be 
swept out of one's path. With this equipment on the side of con- 
structive leadership, she also possessed beauty and personal charm, 
and for every reason was admirably fitted to lead to victory the new 
enterprise. The Belvidere School was located on the corner of 
Andover and Xesmith streets, in the house then owned by Mrs. TIenry 
Williams. It opened with twenty-one pupils ami included one house 
pupil. 

The peo])le of Lowell were cordial to the new scliool, anrl the 
year was a success so far as work and interest were concerned. But 
owing to the fact that Mrs. Williams was unwilling to renew the 
lease of her house a second year for school purposes, and that it was 
practically impossible to secure a suitable building, the prospects of 
continued existence for the Belvidere School seemed dark. At this 
juncture came the conference between Miss Rogers and Mrs. Under- 
bill which resulted in a proposal from Miss Rogers that the Belvidere 
School be transferred to her home and the Rogers Hall School be 



314 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

establislied in her lifetime. The ])revious year, when Mrs. Underhill 
was making plans for the Belvidere School, Dr. Greene and Miss 
Rogers had called upon her in Boston and suggested even then that 
she start the school for Miss Rogers instead of for herself. But Mrs. 
Underhill had so nearly matured her plans that she did not accept 
the proposal. After the school had been opened and had gained in 
reputation and interest, Miss Rogers again considered the possibility 
of making during her life the gift which she had intended to make 
after her death. There were many conferences before arrangements 
were concluded with Mrs. Underhill, the corporation of trustees 
formed, and the plans for remodeling the building for school purposes 
made. As at first remodeled the Hall had the present arrangement in 
the main house with this exception that the room now used as the 
office was divided into two recitation rooms, long known as A and B, 
and sacred to the teaching of mathematics and of Latin. The ell was 
torn down and rebuilt. The first floor contained school-room, dining- 
room, and kitchens, as at present, although of smaller size. The 
second floor included bed-rooms and recitation-rooms, the third, gym- 
nasium and art room. 

The history of Rogers Hall from its founding to the death of Miss 
Rogers was one of outward success and of inward anxiety and diffi- 
culty. Rogers Hall was founded before the day of Textile or Normal 
schools, and at a time when to people outside, the word Lowell sig- 
nified only mills and their products. Yet even at this time, when with 
a contracted campus it had little to oflfer in the way of outside sports, 
it attracted pupils from cities like Chicago, Bufi'alo, Cleveland, and 
Boston. Their coming was due to the personality of Mrs. Underhill 
and to her ability to gather about her a group of women who made the 
home life of the school unusually delightful. But the years were hard 
and difficult. At the death of Miss Rogers, in 1898, the whole of her 
property came under the control of the trustees, who have wisely 
assisted in the school's development by improving the plant and increas- 
ing the equipment. For a year legal difficulties prevented the use of 
Miss Rogers' bequest, but as soon as these difficulties were removed, 
the house was equipped as a dormitory, the old barn was remodeled 
for gymnasium purposes, the fences were taken down and suitable 
athletic courts laid out. At last there was a campus which provided 
adequately for outdoor sports. The school immediately responded to 
the advantages of improved equipment by increased registration. The 
third story of the house was next finished ofif to provide additional 
space for house pupils. Later Mrs. Underhill rented a cottage on 
Hanks street, which met their needs until they moved into the larger 
cottage on Astor street. 



BTOGRAPHTCAT, 315 

In 1910, Mrs. Underhill gave up her connection with the school 
after eighteen years of successful management, in which she had put 
the new school on its feet, established its reputation for good scholar- 
ship, formulated on broad lines the ideals for which it should stand, 
and planned for it many improvements, some of which are yet to be 
realized. Rogers Hall is to be congratulated that it had for its first 
principal in the years which must form the character of the school a 
woman who united with intellectual ability and executive power the 
best traditions of New England culture. In the last nine years the 
school has continued to pro.sper. The gymnasium has been built, 
many permanent improvements have been made, and plans for a new 
recitation building are in progress. On the side of instruction they 
have extended and enlarged the advanced courses which have long 
been an attractive feature of the school. Rogers Hall has for some 
years ofTered college preparatory, academic and advanced courses, the 
latter designed for graduates of high schools who may wish two years 
of instruction and training away from home. For the benefit of such 
pupils interesting courses in English, history, languages, history of 
art. and psychology were first planned. Later were added courses in 
domestic science, and many brides have written in warm praise of the 
Rogers Hall Cookbook, which saved them from the bride's usual cul- 
inary blunders. In 1918, preparation for secretarial work was suc- 
cessfully given, and also courses which had for their definite aim the 
preparation of girls for intelligent citizenship in their home commu- 
nities. The members of these classes were quickened mentally and 
morally by acquaintance, however superficial, with some of the con- 
ditions of life in our cities and towns and they have gained noticeably 
in seriousness of purpose. 

In the twenty-seven years of life as a schtjol, Rogers Hall has 
slowly but surely been developing a spirit or soul that is distinctive, 
and is more and more marking its girls as a product of the school. 
This Rogers Hall spirit has found expression in many school activ- 
ities, in "Splinters," in the Rogers Hall Chapter of the American Red 
Cross, in the system of student government, in the athletic clubs, in 
the Summer Athletic Club for Employed Girls, in the Alumnae Asso- 
ciation with its splendid record of patriotic service both in this country 
and overseas. The school is justly proud of its twenty-two alumnae 
who have served their country in Europe, but it is equally proud of 
the hundreds who gave their services in many capacities at home. 

The present principal of Rogers Hall School is Miss Olive Sewall 
Parsons, who from 1892 to 1910 was an associate of Mrs. Underhill. 
]Miss Parsons succeeded Mrs. Underhill as principal, and since that 
time has directed the work of the school. Her service to the school 



3i6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

and the vision that inspires her work is best expressed in her own 
words written for the Centennial Celebration of the Birth of Elisabeth 
Rogers, from which most of the foregoing has been quoted. 

What of the future? Will Rogers Hall stand as a permanent 
institution throughout the years, and on the Bicentennial of the 
Founder's birthday show a worthy record of development and accom- 
plishment? In these days of governmental questionnaire and inves- 
tigation, all industries and institutions which from force of habit have 
classified themselves as of the essential class must without reserve 
search out the reason for their existence, and if they have no real and 
vital mission to perform, merge themselves in some institution or 
industry which can prove its value. How is it with the private school? 
Is Rogers Hall a school for the daughters of the well-to-do, justifying 
its existence through its aims and ideals, in the training which it is 
giving the girls who come to it for instruction, and in the service ren- 
dered by its alumnae to community and country? In my opinion, a 
school like Rogers Hall does have a definite and substantial reason for 
existence. It will perform a work of undoubted service to the country 
as well as to the girls who come to it, if it recognizes a great oppor- 
tunity in training, for civic responsibility and service, the pupils who 
come from all sections of the country ; for here they live in a minia- 
ture world where all conditions are favorable for inspiring impres- 
sionable minds and characters with patriotic ideals. A school of this 
character should develop leaders, eager and ready to do their part 
worthily in the larger life outside school. I have dreamed many 
dreams of the future development of Rogers Hall. Through the wise 
and efficient cooperation of trustees, faculty, alumnae and pupils in 
the years to come. I look for the fulfillment of many of my dreams, 
and the continued life and prosperity of this memorial "more enduring 
than brass" to the generositv and wisdom of Elisabeth Rogers. 



GEORGE M. HARRIGAN. 

From youth Mr. Harrigan has been engaged in accounting and 
actuarial work, only resigning that form of activity to become presi- 
dent of The Lowell Trust Company, one of Lowell's worthy banking 
institutions, of which he was the first actuary. For over a quarter of 
a century he has been thus intimately connected with The Lowell 
Trust Company, and as its president he takes an honored place in the 
world of finance. As a boy he was a worker, as a young man he made 
many sacrifices to acquire knowledge, and as a man of mature years 
he is still a worker. 

George M. Harrigan is a son of John Harrigan, born in County 
Cork, Ireland, in 1818, died in Lowell, Massachusetts. December 23, 
1893. John Harrigan was educated and became familiar with business 
methods in his native country, and in 1845 came to the United States, 
locating- in Lowell, where he became connected with E. B. Patch, 




OAAJyaCuV' 



BIOGRAPHICAL 317 

furiiiiuri- iii;iiuil'acliirt.-r. and t'utiiaiii & Son. clulbii-is. lie was a 
good lousiness iiuui. upright and honorable, highly ostcenicd l)y all. 
lie married h~lizabeth J. Coughlin, of Lowell. 

(ieorge M. Harrigan was born in Lowell, August j6, iHdj. and 
has ever resided in his natix'c cit\-. He ]iassed all grades of the jniblie 
school in regular coursi-. Iinishing with graduation from high school in 
1879. Me recei\-ed the degree of l.L. 11. from Northeastern College. 
Boston. Massachusetts. 11)17. Immediately after graduation I'rcni high 
school he entered busines> life with 1.. W. I lall. wIkpui he r<'mained 
with eighteen months, then entered the eni])liiy of l)onn\ an <\: Com- 
pany, wholesale grocers, ■•"or three years he served that ciimp;inv as 
bookkeeper, then was admitted to the tirm as junior partner. During 
the years xvhich intervened until iS()i. he continued a partner in that 
company, also was interested with John j. 1 !ono\an and others in the 
Bea\ er Brook I'aper Comjiatiy as partner, and in the .\tlantic Tele- 
graph Company, of which he was auditor ;ind clerk In these posi- 
tions he demonstrated sterling business c|ualities which marked him 
for leadership. In 1890, he severed his connection with Donovan iS.- 
Com])any. and with John J. Donovan and others elifected the organ- 
ization oi The Lowell Trust Compan}-. He comjileted this work stic- 
cessfully, obtained a charter from the Massachusetts Legislature, the 
organization being completed and business begun Februarv y, 1.S91. 
with John I. Donovan, president, (jeorge T. Sheldon, treasurer; 
George .M. i larrigan, actuary. Xot long afterward the \\'ashington 
Savings P.ank was incorporated as an allied institution, John J. 
Donovan, president : ( ieorge M. Harrigan. treasurer. As actuarv of 
the Trust Company and treasurer of the Savings Bank, Mr. Harrigan 
guided the department o\er which he presided with skill and judg- 
ment, both institutions quickly taking their projier place in Lowell's 
tinancial system, and adding to its strength and to the city's standing 
in the world of finance. In 1902, Mr. Donovan resigned the pre>;i- 
dency of The Lowell Trust Company, and was succeeded bv Mr. 
Harrigan, who at the same time resigned as treasurer of the Wash- 
ington Savings Bank, the Trust Company and the Savings Bank now 
being divorced, each having its own officers and directing boards. .\s 
president of The Lowell Trust Comjiany, he has fully proven his ability 
to administer the duties of his office. He was also vice-president of 
the Lowell Insulated Wire Compan}, and pri^prietor ofT. C. Lee Insur- 
ance Agenc} . Mr. I larrigan has been actively identified with the 
advancement of Lowell's industrial affairs, and many commercial and 
industrial enterprises of importance may be attributed to his elTorts. 
He was connected for twenty-five years with the Moard of Trade, 
many years on the board of directors, three years first vice-]iresident, 
and two years president. During his official terms in office, great 
strides were made in l)ringing manv rlixersified new industries to the 



.^i8 HISTORTOF LOWELL 

cily, anidii^' tlu-ni llir sImc imliislry, <>1 which ci^ht new i-stahlish- 
nients were induced to locate here. After much time and funds spent 
by him personally, he was instrumental in bringing the large Boston 
& Maine car shops to Billerica. five miles from the center of Lowell, 
for which he received public commendation from the city government. 
T^xiard of Trade, and other organizaiions. The following cnniinenda- 
tions arc of interest : 

RKsoi.i'Tifixs Adopted r.'i' L'\ \.\i.Mms N'ote of the Directors oi'' riiF 
LowEi.i. r.oARi) OI' Trade. June 14, ic;ii. 

Whereas, The Lowell Hoard of Trade has been complimented by 
officials of the Boston & Maine Railroad for the good work of the Board 
and especially the individual work of one of its members, Mr. (ieorge M. 
Harrigan, in securing the locations for the locomotive, car and repair 
shops of the Boston & Maine Railroad, to be established at Billerica, and 

Whereas, In the front rank of the loyal workers for this project 
stands preeminent Mr. George M. Harrigan, a true, public-spirited citizen,, 
who has given freely of his time and money, and made many sacrifices in 
tlie interests of the city and this organization, that terminated successfully 
in securing the shops, be it 

Rcsoh'cd. That these resolutions be presented Mr. George M. Harri- 
gan in appreciation of his untiring efforts as a lasting memorial to his 
unselfish, energetic and faithful work, 

Harvev B. Gree.n'e, ['resident. 
John H. Murphy. Secretary. 

Resolutions passed by Lowell city government: 

\\'here.\s. The members of the City Council, mindful of whatever 
may conduce to promote the material progress of our city, and realizing 
that the location of the locomotive, car and repair shops of the Boston tt 
.^Lline Railroad in the neighboring village of North Billerica means speedy 
and substantial growth of our munici])alily, and wishing to express pub- 
licly to the ofificials of the Boston & Maine Railroad and to all those who 
so generously and effectively contributed their assistance, our sincere 
appreciation of the compliment conveyed in the selection of a site so near 
this city, and deeming it our boundcn duty, in behalf of oiu' city govern- 
ment and of this entire commimity. to record in suitable form the pro- 
found sense of gratitude which we and they feel toward said railroad 
officials and toward all those who cooperated in obtaining this splendid 
and much coveted acquisition to our industrial improvement, it is lu-rebv 
unaninnnisly and enthusiastically 

Resolved, That the heartfelt thanks of the Board of .\klermen and 
of the Common Council and of the people of the city of Lowell are hereby 
extended to the Boston & Maine Railroad, and its officials, who gave 
preference to the claims of this vicinity over those of many competitors 
and to whom we are primarily indebted for all the advantages which may 
accrue to our city for the site selected, and be it further 

Rcsolicd, That the citizens of the town of Billerica and the members 
of its Board of Trade deserve and should receive our hearty congratula- 
tions for their activities, the results of which contributed so effectively to 
bring about the choice of that town for the extensive operations which the 
location of the proposed plant involves, and be it further 



- . EIDGRAPHICAr/" ^o 

Rcsoln-il. 'I'liat tlu- iik'HiIkts of ihc l.uwi-ll Hoard cjt Trade and its 
efficient snb-CDmmittee, namely: Harvey I!, (ireene. Jusepli !.. C'lialitnux. 
Jesse n. ShepiJard, Ilerford X. Rlliott. John II. Murphy, Carl M. I'ihl, in 
conjunction with our honorable mayor, John \\ Meehan, are entitled to 
our highest commendation for the zealous and energetic efforts thev dis- 
p!a_\-e(l and without which this great hoi m to our city might never have 
been realize<I, and he it further 

Hrsolrrd, That of all the powerful influence by which this great 
achievement was accomplished, and of all the ])ublic-s])irited citizens who 
particijiated tliercin, the skillful and self-sacrificing labors of our esteemed 
fellow-liiwnsuian, .Mr. ( leorge M. llarri>.;an, are deserving of special rec- 
ognition. 

Throughout the long and arduous struggle to locate this most desir- 
able industry in close pro.ximity to our citv, Mr. liarrigan toiled iniceas- 
ingly and when formidable objections to the land titles endangered for a 
time the entire project, the ability, tact and zeal of Mr. Harrigan over- 
came and removed all obstacles and assured its success. 

To Mr. Harrigan. therefore, we extend our felicitations .ind ret'nrd 
our gratitude for his distinguished and patriotic services. In this con- 
nection, tile tribute of ^Ir. Frank Barr. XMce-President and (ieneral Man- 
ager of the I'oston &- Maine Railroad, might fittingly be fjuoted : "If 1 
lived in Lowell. I woidd see Mr. Harrigan llie very first thing, because he 
is tlu- man who accomplishes what he sets out to do." 

And he it further and finally 

Rcsok'i'd, That these resolutions be inscribed u])on the records of the 
City Council and that copies thereof be transmitted to the Presidents of 
the I'loston X- M;iine Railroad, the P.illerica and Lowell Board- of Trade 
and til .\lr. ( ii-iiri;i' .\1. I larrigan, also members of the cit\- go\eriinu-n!. 

Coi;.\'ciLM.\.\ John J. C(iL(;iii.i.\. Chai-inan : 
CouNcrLM.vx Herbert L. Cii.\pma,\. 
Cou.\cii.M.\N Joii.v J.xcoB Rogers, 

.Al.DERM.\N IIeRCII.E A. ToUPIN, 
Ar.DERM.W jERE.Ml.\ri l'". CoN'N'OKS. 

l'as>e(l in C'oninnin Council. June S. li)ii. 
|sK.\l.| Passed in Board of .\ldernien. June i_^. Kjii. 

.\pproved, June 32. lyii. 

-StrI'IIk.n Im.v.w. City Clerk, 
Jo M.N 1''. .Mki-.ii.\n. .M.-iyor. 

BoSro.X \- .\1.\L\I-: R MI.RO AD. 

Ofi-ue oi 
TiiiKi) \ice-1're.sii)e.ni .\\i) Cener.m. M.\n.\(;er. 

I'.o.sTO.N', Mass., Ai)ril 28, iQii. 
Mk. I1.\k\-ev 15. (Ikee.ne, 

President, Lowell Board of Trade. 
Lowell, Massachusetts. 

L)e.\k Sir : 

Thanks to the good offices of Mr. Ceorge M. Harrigan, re])resenting 
your board, all matters which in any way tended to cloud the title to land 
on which ojjtions were obtained have been cleared and we .-ire now t.iking 



320 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

up tlif deeds. Il looked, at llie time that 1 advised you of the diseo\ery of 
perpetual options covering- two rights of way through the land, as though 
we would have to throw up the whole deal and take up one of the other 
tracts which had been offered us. Mr. Harrigan. however, took the whole 
burden on his shoulders and has carried it through with great ability and 
complete success. 

I am writing this letter to you for the reason that I feared if 1 only 
expressed my appreciation to Mr. Harrigan personally, no one else would 
ever know it, and knowing that the Board of Trade and citizens generally 
were extremely interested, thought that you should be formally advised 
that you may be sure of having the information, which 1 know \ou and 
the public will fully appreciate. 

Yours truly, Fr.kxk B.\ki', 

\'ice-h'resident and (Jeneral Manager. 

A Democrat in his political faith, he served as a member of the 
Lowell School Board eight years, the la.st five years being vice-chair- 
man, both his own party friends and the opposition supporting him 
with their votes. In 1919 he was the candidate of the Democratic 
party for State Treasurer, running several thousand votes ahead of 
his ticket in Lowell. He has refused public office since organizing 
The Lowell Trust Companv. He was the first president of Division 8. 
.\ncient (Jrder of Hibernians: member of the American Order of For- 
esters : a member, president and director of the Board of Trade. 

Mr. J-Jarrigan married, July 17, 1895, Maria C. Sullivan, of Law- 
rence, Massachusetts. Two children were born to them : Elizabeth 
M. and Louise C, both attending Trinity College. Washington, D. C. 



THE LOWELL TRUST COMPANY. 

The functions of a trust conipan_\ .hs ikjw ciuistrued dift'er little 
from those of a national bank, }et those few differences are radical. 
The original idea implied in the name Trust has been greatly- enlarged, 
but that idea has never been departed from. The Lowell Trust Com- 
pany was the first of Lowell's financial institutions to organize under 
the Trust Company laws, and for a quarter of a century has stood as 
an example of conservative, thoroughly reliable management. 

The Lowell Trust Company, located in the Donovan building at 
the junction of Central. Gorham and Middlesex streets, was incor- 
porated and started business February 9, 1891. The first officials of 
the company were: President, John J. Donovan; treasurer, George 
T. Sheldon: actuary, George M. Harrigan: teller, C. F. Hamblett. 

John J. Donovan, the first president, retained that office a number 
of years, then was succeeded by George AL Harrigan, the present 
executive head. Ihe management of the company is further vested 




c^mH^Mm£J^,-^^m7^yM^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 321 

in a board of directors composed of twenty-lour members, including 
the president, three vice-presidents, and actuary. The capital stock 
of the company is $250,000, and every accommodation consistent with 
sound banking is extended to patrons. Its present officers are : Presi- 
dent, George M. Harrigan ; vice-presidents, Charles H. Hanson, George 
L. Iluntoon, Peter W. Reill}- ; actuary, J. F. Connors. 



DEMOSTHENES J. GENERALES, M. D. 

Dr. Generales, since 1901 a resident of Lowell, Massachusetts, 
widely known through professional connections and his activity in 
Greek-American organizations, is a descendant of an ancient and 
patrician family of Candia (Crete), Greece. The name, Generales, 
has been borne by military and political officials throughout many 
years, and large landed possessions are held in the family name. The 
traditions of his line, extending far back into Grecian history, and 
embracing a record of devoted and unselfish public service, are held 
in honored regard by Dr. Generales, and although Greece is no longer 
his home many of his labors are directed toward the welfare of his 
countrymen at home and in the United States. Dr. Generales 
was born in the town of Xirokambion, Greece, December 20, 1869, s*^" 
of John A. and Katherine P. (Karadodes) Generales, his father a 
school teacher and owner of large olive estates. John A. Generales 
was of the branch of the family resident at Rethymnon, of Candia 
(Crete), and died at Xirokambion, Greece, in Alarch, 1900, at the age 
of seventy-nine, his wife's death occurring there in 1895. 

Demosthenes John Generales was educated in the grammar and 
high schools in the ancient city of Sparta, graduating with honors 
from each department, and was the valedictorian of his class in the 
high school. He then entered the medical department of the Univer- 
sity of Athens, and was graduated with the degree of M. D., in the 
class of 1892. Before being permitted to practice medicine in Greece, 
it is necessary that a physician comply with the laws of the country 
which makes military service compulsary, and, accordingly, he en- 
tered the Ambulance Corps of the Greek army, in three months being 
promoted to the rank of sub-lieutenant physician, one year later 
attaining the rank of lieutenant-physician. After three years' service 
in the army, he took up private practice of medicine in his native town, 
Xirokambion, in 1894, remaining here until 1897, when he again be- 
came a lieutenant-physician in the Greek army, serving throughout 
the Greek-Turkish War of 1897, in the surgical division. He was in 
the front line of the battle of Revenion in Thessaley, and for his devo- 
tion to duty in renderinsr medical and surgical service to the wounded 



322 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

soldiers under fire he received honorable mention in the official reports 
of General Reglis, the commander of the Greek forces. Later he was 
summoned to Athens as city physician, a position he held for about a 
year, and when the army was demobilized he returned to private prac- 
tice in Xirokambion. 

In 1899, Dr. Generales left Greece for America, landing at New 
York City, September i, 1899, where he resided for eighteen months, 
during which time he took a post-graduate course in the Presbyterian 
Hospital. In 1901 he moved to Lowell. Prior to being registered and 
licensed to practice he served as an external physician to the Boston 
Lying-in Hospital, for several months, and completed a post-grad- 
uate course at the Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston. On 
September 10, 1903, Dr. Generales was licensed to practice medicine 
by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, he being the first Greek 
physician to pass the necessary examinations in the English language. 
Pie applied for examination in the Greek language, but that privilege 
being denied him he had to perfect his knowledge of English and pass 
his examinations in this language, which accounts for the delay, a 
short one when all that the doctor had accomplished is considered. 
He enjoys a large practice, and his ability is constantly increasing 
because of his broad reading and his wide experience, the former keep- 
ing him in touch with the trend of modern professional thought and 
investigation. 

In May, 1909, Dr. Generales was the only physician from the 
United States who attended the first convention ever held in Greece 
to combat tuberculosis. King Constantine, then Crown Prince, pre- 
sided over the convention, which was addressed by Dr. Generales 
upon conditions of the Greeks in Lowell and in other parts of the 
United States. His speech was published in all the leading news- 
papers of Greece, and has also been published in the special book of 
the convention college, "Practikatou A. Hellinicou synedreou Kata 
tes Phymatiosseos" (official records of the Greek physicians of the 
first Anti-Tuberculosis Congress). He was also honored with being 
elected as vice-president of the convention. He has been very helpful 
to his countrymen in Lowell, aiding and encouraging them in their 
efforts to obtain education and a business foothold. In 1916 he was 
elected president of the Greek Colony of Lowell ; is president of the 
Greek-American Americanization Club of Lowell ; aiid is a member of 
the Pan-Hellenic Union of America, a national organization which he 
has served as president of the Lowell branch, and as a member of the 
central committee, of which he was general secretary when Michael 
Anagnos, the well known director of the Perkins Institute for the 
Blind in Boston, was president. 



r.IOr.RAIMlRAL 323 

In November, 1906, to insure an intelligent presentation of (Ireek 
conditions and the Greek position in Balkan affairs. Dr. Generales 
established the newspaper, "Henosis" (meaning Union), which he 
edited. This journal, remarkable in the fact of its founding from 
purely patriotic motives, grew to national circulation, and was addi- 
tionally notable in that one entire page was printed in the English 
language. Its volume of circulation and attendant business attained 
proportions that made it necessary for Dr. Generales to arrange for 
others to continue its publication, his private and professional inter- 
ests prohibiting the devotion of the required time to the paper. In 
the transfer of "Henosis" to Greek scholars capable of following the 
lines he had laid down he received no remuneration for his property, 
content in the knowledge that his plan would be followed and that his 
country would be fairly represented in the paper he founded. 

Dr. Generales was elected, in recognition of generous voluntary 
contributions, an honorary member of the Agricultural Society of 
Greece. This society has as its honorary president the King of Greece, 
while the by-laws of the organization provide for the Premier of 
Greece, whoever be in ofifice, to hold the office of active president. Dr. 
Generales is a member of the Middlesex North District Medical Soci- 
ety, the Massachusetts Medical Society, and the American Medical 
Association, Lowell Anti-Tuberculosis Association, the \'olunteer 
Medical Service Corps of the United States, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks, and of the Greek Catholic church. In December, 1910, 
the citizens of Sparta, Greece, nominated Dr. Generales as a candidate 
for deputy of the Parliament of Greece to represent the Province of 
Laconia. He failed of election by only a few votes, and this was due 
to the question that arose as to the legality of a citizen of the United 
States holding ofifice as a member of the Greek Parliament. 

Dr. Generales married, on January 28, 1908 (Greek calendar), in 
the city of Pirjeus, port of Athens, Greece, Urania Constantine Tsel- 
epis, daughter of Constantine and Marie Tselepis. Mrs. Generales is 
highly educated, an accomplished musician, a graduate of the exclu- 
sive "Odeon" of Athens with the highest honors. The Tselepis family 
is an aristocratic family of distinction, very wealthy, owners of large 
tracts of real estate, having their own property on the water front, 
officially- known as "Tselepis' Quay." Her father, Constantine Tsel- 
epis, is a retired exporter and importer of Piraeus, whose interests were 
large and extensive. He is also a man of wide education. Dr. and 
Mrs. Generales are the parents of three children : Constantine D., 
born November 10, 1908; Minos D.. born April 10, 1910; Helle D., 
born August 21, 191 7. the two eldest children being born in Piraeus. 
Greece, and the voungest in Lowell, Massachusetts. 



324 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

FRANCIS WAYLAND QUA. 

Now senior member of the law firm of Oua, Howard & Rogers, 
Mr. Qua returned to private practice in Lowell after public service as 
a member of the Massachusetts Legislature and as city solicitor of 
Lowell. His professional career covers a period of more than forty 
j'ears, and the firm of which he is the head is of wide reputation in 
the locality. 

Air. Oua is a son of Robert and Jane (Moncrief) Qua, his father 
a prominent contractor and builder, and was born in Lisbon, St. Law- 
rence county. New York. September 2, 1845. His education was 
obtained in the public schools of his birthplace, Ogdensburg Acad- 
emy, Ogdensburg, New York, and private institutions. For four years 
after completing his studies he taught school, and subsequently fol- 
lowed journalism for a time as a reporter. In 1872 he became em- 
ployed by the Central Vermont Railroad Company, continuing with 
that road until 1875. In July, 1878, having passed the required exam- 
inations, he was admitted to the bar at Lowell, Massachusetts, and at 
once began professional work. Becoming interested and active in 
public affairs, and gaining a wide acquaintance, he was elected to the 
State Legislature in 1888, served for one term, and from 1895 to 1903 
filled the office of city solicitor of Lowell. Declining to accept the 
candidacy for another term to devote himself to private afifairs, he 
resumed his practice, and in 1906 associated with him his son, Stanley 
E. Qua, in the general practice of law. Until 1912 this arrangement 
continued, when the firm of Qua, Howard & Rogers was formed, its 
members Francis W. Qua, Albert S. Howard, Melvin J. Rogers, and 
Stanley E. Qua. Afterwards another son, Francis M. Qua, was 
admitted to the firm, which has acquired an important and influential 
clientele and has high professional standing. The ofifices of the firm 
are in the Hildreth building, Merrimack square. Mr. Qua is a com- 
municant of the Kirk Street Congregational Church. His political 
sympathies are Republican. 

Mr. Qua married, at Ogdensburg, New York, September 16, 1879, 
Alice L., daughter of Michael and Mary Ann Harder, and they are the 
parents of: Stanley E., born August 26, 1880, and Francis M., born 
November 11, 1890, both previously mentioned as members of the 
firm of Qua, Howard &• Rogers. 



BUTLER AMES. 



Butler Ames, one of the most prominent citizens of Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, and major-general commanding the Massachusetts State 
Ciuard, is a native son of this city, and one of which it may justly be 
I roud. He is a grandson of Major-General Benjamin F. Butler, and 




/C^(^v Jl. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 325 

son of Major-General Adclhert and Blanche ( Butler) Ames, his father 
having been very prominent in Mississippi, where he was a large 
manufacturer, serving the State as governor and representing it in the 
United States Senate. He was a major-general during the Civil War, 
and served as brigadier-general during the war with Spain. 

General Butler Ames was born in Lowell, August 21. 1S71. Dur- 
ing his boyhood he attended the Lowell public schools, and there 
gained the elementary portion of his education. He w-as then sent by 
his father to the famous Phillips-Exeter Academy at Exeter, New 
Hampshire, where he completed his preparation for college. He was 
then appointed to the West Point Military Academy and graduated 
from that splendid school with the class of 1894. He then entered 
the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and took a post-graduate 
course, and in 1S96 was given a degree both as a mechanical and elec- 
trical engineer. Upon completing his education. General Ames became 
agent of the Wamesit Power Company, and began to take an active in 
terest in the management of the many industries controlled by his fam- 
ily. He is now treasurer of the L^nited States Cartridge Company, treas- 
urer of the Wamesit Power Company, treasurer of the Heinze Elec- 
tric Company, treasurer of the L'nited States Magnet Safety Razor 
Company, |)residcnt nf the Wamesit Garage, and an officer and direc- 
tor in many other large enterprises. General Ames has been very 
active in the political life of this region since his early youth, and has 
taken a leading part therein. He first started his political career as a 
member of the Lowell City Council. He served three years in the 
Massachusetts State Legislature, and in 1902 was elected a mcmlier 
of Congress from the fifth Congressional District and served in that 
capacity for ten years, retiring voluntarily after that period so as to 
enable him to give his entire time to business At the outbreak of the 
Spanish-American War. General Ames volunteered and was commi.s- 
sioned a second lieutenant in one of the companies of the Sixth Massa- 
chusetts \'oluntary Regiment. He was promoted at the front and 
commissioned a lieutenant-colonel of the Sixth Massachusetts Volun- 
tary Regiment by Governor W'olcott. He organized and is now the 
major-general commanding the Massachusetts State Guard. General 
Ames is a member of the Masons, Knights of Pythias, and of a num- 
ber of the prominent clubs in this region, including the Yorick Club 
of Lowell, the Union Club of Boston, the Vesper Country Club of 
Lowell, the Brookline Country Cl'ub of Brookline, Massachusetts, and 
the New York Yacht Club. In his religious belief he is an Episco- 
palian and attends St. Anne's Church of that denomination at Lowell. 

General Ames was united in marriage, June 25, 1914. at Columbia, 
Missouri, with Fifille Willis, daughter of William H. and lunma 
(Price) Willis, of that place. 



326 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

LUCIUS ALBERIC DERBY. 

When Lucius A. Derby came to Lowell the telephone was just 
coming in, electric lights were few, and electricity as a motive power 
then but a dream. Soon after his coming, Alexander Graham Bell 
lectured in Lowell upon the wonders of the telephone, and soon 
afterward The Lowell District Telephone Company was formed, Mr. 
Derby being induced to enter the employ of that company. There he 
received his first instruction in electrical work and learned of its 
wonders. When the local company decided to transfer the central 
office to Boston, Mr. Derby was asked to go to that city, but he did 
not care to leave Lowell, and on September i, 1883, he started in 
business for himself, the first man to enter the electric field, the first 
man to install an electric arc lamp in a store in the city, the first to 
start an electric lamp on the streets, and the first to put in an electric 
motor. Thirty-six years have since elapsed, and he is still in the 
electrical business, a pioneer of 1883, but a present up-to-the-minute 
electrician of 1919, conducting his business since 1912 without a 
partner. 

The Derbys came to Lowell from Orford, New Hampshire, where 
Simeon Derby was the first of the family to settle. He was the father 
of Dr. John Derby, a physician of Orford, Dr. Derby being the father 
of Henry Barnes Derby, and grandfather of Lucius A. Derby. Henry 
Barnes Derby, born in Orford, spent most of his life there, a painter 
by trade, but also a very well informed and successful veterinarian. 
For sixteen years he was sexton of the Congregational Church of 
Orford, and was in charge of the cemetery. He was a suflferer from 
asthma, and in 1861, when he presented himself for enlistment in the 
Eleventh Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, in answer 
to President Lincoln's call, his brother, Francis Everett, was accepted 
but Henry B. was rejected. With a heavy heart he saw the boys 
march awav, and during the years that followed made several more 
attempts to enlist. Finally, in 1864, he was accepted in Company B, 
Eighteenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, and 
marched away to the war, never to return. The Eighteenth was a 
part of the hard fighting Army of the Potomac, and with his regiment 
Mr. Derby saw severe service. Finally he contracted a fever and 
died in the military hospital at City Point, \'irginia. He was a good 
soldier, and during his short service compiled an honorable record. 
Henry Barnes Derby married Julia Ruggles Church, born in Stan- 
distead, Vermont. She resided in Orford, later moved to Campton, 
New Hampshire, and died at Greensboro. Vermont, of pneumonia, 
while visiting friends, and was buried at Orford, New Hampshire, 
beside her husband in the familv lot. 




JLucius ;^. 2r>crbp 



BIOGRAPHICAL 327 

Lucius A. Derby, son of Henry Barnes and Julia Kng'gles 
(Church) Derby, was born at the home farm at Orford, Xew ilam])- 
shire, January 25, 1852, and there lived until thirteen years of age. 
attending the district schools and doing a boy's work on the farm. In 
1865 news of his father's death in the army was received by his fam- 
ily, and soon afterward they moved to Campton, New Hampshire, and 
there Lucius A. worked on a farm for two or three years, then obtained 
work in the woolen mills. He remained ten years in Campton. then 
came to Lowell. He came to Lowell without funds, although when he 
settled with the mill he was paid $106. But the family had bought a 
modest house from a relative, and finding there was S93 due on that 
he cleared it of debt, even though it practically used up all his capital. 
But he was well satisfied, as it placed his mother in a position of 
safety, and in those days "mother" was his chief concern. 

He came to Lowell in 1875, and at once hired with .A.ugustus J. 
Howe, a builder, who paid him seventy-five cents daily wages, and 
agreed to teach the young man the carpenter's trade. He put his 
energy into his work, and then after a day at carpentry w-ould attend 
night school. After learning his trade he worked for Deacon Warren 
Floyd, continuing at the carpenter's trade six years, serving Mr. Moyd 
as foreman of the shop which was in a little two story building back 
of Shattuck block, that block occupying the site of the present Har- 
rington block. From Mr. Floyd's employ Mr. Derby went to the 
Lowell District Telephone Company, and on September i. i''^83, he 
began busines for himself with his brother, Frank H. Being the first 
man in the electrical business in Lowell, and there being practically 
no such thing as "an electrical business" then, he had to build from 
the ground up. He installed the first arc lights in Lowell, in the store 
of Putnam & Sons, an engine being installed in the basement, and 
from this current was generated for eight Brush arc lights. Among 
his early achievements was the running of a private telephone wire 
from the pulpit of a church in Groton to the bedside of an old bed- 
ridden man who thereafter enjoyed his minister's sermons. He also 
buiit a telephone line from Plymouth, New Hampshire, to the Profile 
House, in Franconia, White Mountains. 

For the past twenty 3-ears he has been in business at the pres- 
ent site. Nos. 60-64 Middle street, first occupying a part of the Kitt- 
ridge block, then taking over the entire Clifford block adjoining, now 
occupying the entire three-story building. .\ large stock of all kinds 
of electrical supplies are carried, and a general electrical contracting 
business is transacted. His brother, Frank H. Derby, is now asso- 
ciated with him. When the storage battery came in, the Fastern Flec- 
tric Light and Storage Battery Company was fornu'd, and both the 



328 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Derby brothers went to work for that company, as did Charles F. 
Morse, but they later dropped out, Lucius A. and Charles F. Morse 
forming a partnership which continued until 191 2. Since then Mr. 
Derby has conducted business alone. When he began business in 
1S83 he was in debt $4,000 to a Lowell bank, as a result of the fluctua- 
tion in telephone stock which he had bought. But this was paid oft' 
with hard work, and he has abundantly prospered. 

Mr. Derby is one of the prominent men of the Masonic order, and 
has received many honors at the hands of his brethren of that order. 
He has attained the highest rank in that order, the thirty-third degree, 
this being conferred upon him in the city of Philadelphia. He is a 
member of Pawtucket Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, and for the 
past thirty-two years has been its secretary ; is a past high priest of 
Mt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; past thrice illustrious mas- 
ter of Aharsuerus Council, Royal and Select Masters ; a member of 
Pilgrim Commandery, and in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite be- 
longs to all bodies ; past thrice potential master of Lowell Lodge of 
Perfection ; is sovereign master of Lowell Council, Princes of Jeru- 
salem ; a member of Mt. Calvary Chapter, Rose Croix, and a member 
of Massachusetts Consistory. He is also a noble of Aleppo Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Boston, and presi- 
dent of the Masonic Relief Association of Lowell. His collection of 
Masonic past officer jewels is very valuable, few men attaining so 
many. By virtue of his patriotic father's service he became eligible 
to membership in the Sons of Veterans, and has been one of the 
staunch and unfailing friends of Admiral Farragut Camp of that order. 
He has taken the deepest interest in the work of the Sons of Veterans, 
and the Grand Army of the Republic, always standing ready to ma- 
terially aid any member of either order, and has done a great deal for 
the upbuilding of both. In politics he is a Republican, and for six 
years was a member of the Board of Aldermen of Lowell. He is a 
member of the board of trustees of the First Universalist Church, and 
a man highly esteemed in the city of which he has so long been a 
resident. 

Mr. Derby married. November 11, 1898, Nellie L. Bryant, born in 
Woodstock, New Hampshire, daughter of James and Mary K. (Douse ) 
Bryant. James Bryant was a farmer and carpenter of Woodstock, 
New Hampshire, which was his home frcim birth until death. His 
wife, Mary K. (Douse) (or Dows) Bryant, was born at Thedford, Ver- 
mont. The old Bryant homestead farm at Woodstock is now owned 
by Mr. Derby. Mr. and Mrs. Derby are the parents of one son, Roland 
Everett Derby, born in Lowell, November 15, 1900; he attended 
Mitchell's Military School at Billerica, Massachusetts, and graduated 
with high honors, and is now a student in the Lowell Textile School. 



BIOGRAPHICAT. 329 

LOUIS A. OLNEY, B. S., M. S. 

Among the founders of the city uf I'lox idence. Rhode Island, was 
'lluiinas Ohiey, who came witli Roger Williams in 1636, and from 
hnih of these men Louis A. Olney, of Lowell, traces descent along 
paternal and maternal lines. 

Louis A. Olney, son of Allicrt 11. and l-'rances E. (Olney) Olney, 
was born in Providence, Rhode Island, April 21, 1874, and there spent 
his youth. He completed public school courses with graduation from 
Providence High School in 1891. He was graduated !!. S., Lehigh 
University, class of 1896, and later received the degree, ^l. S., from 
the same institution. During the year 1896-97, he was an instructor 
in Brown University, and from 1897 until date (1919) has been pro- 
fessor of chemistry and head of the department of textile chemistry 
and dyeing of Lowell Textile School. Professor Olney has been 
associated with the Lowell Textile School since its inception, and is 
senior member of the faculty as to term of service. In addition to his 
duties in connection with the Lowell Textile School. Mr. Olney is 
president and assistant treasurer of the Stirling Mills. The Stirling 
Mills, now devoted to the manufacture of various types of woolen 
cloth, are located on the Concord river at Lowell. Originally built 
by Charles Stott, the mills were operated by him as a private enter- 
prise as long as he lived, but after his death, in 1881, his son, Charles 
A. Stott, sold them to a new corporation, the Stirling Mills. In 1910 
Mr. Olney w-as elected president of the corporation, and still fills that 
position. 

Mr. Olney is president of the Lowell Young Men's Christian 
Association ; chairman of the Lowell Board of Religious Education ; 
and is an active officer in the Eliot Union Church (Congregational), 
lie took an active part in the formation of that church, its organiza- 
tion being brought about through a combination of the Eliot and 
Kirk Street churches. He has also taken an active interest in the 
Lowell Congregational Club, of which he was formerly president. 
He is a member of William North Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
and of all York and Scottish Rite bodies in Lowell. His cluli is the 
Engineers of Boston. He either is or has been an officer in the fol- 
lowing societies or organizations: The American Society for the Ad- 
vancement of Science ; the Society of Chemical Industry ; the Ameri- 
can Institute of Chemical Engineers ; American Chemical Societ)^ ; 
Lowell Board of Trade ; and the Morris Plan Bank of Lowell. 

Mr. Olney married. June 24, 1903, Bertha Haynes Holden, daugh- 
ter of Edward D. Holden. They are the parents of two daughters : 
Margaret L. and Edna E., and of a son, Richard H. Olney. The family 
home is in Lowell, the summer home, Lake Penacook, Concord, New 
Hampshire. 



,330 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ALONZO GUSTAVUS WALSH. 

For a quarter of a centur_\- and more Mr. ^\'alsh has Ijeen identi- 
fied with brokerage deaHngs in Boston, confining his operations prin- 
cii)all_v to the securities of textile manufacturing enterprises. His 
business experience, prior to his entrance into the financial line, had 
been in the printing of cottons and woolens, and the knowledge and 
acquaintance gained in those years have been a valuable asset in his 
present extensive activities. Mr. Walsh was born at Tottington ^lills, 
near Bury, Lancashire, England, October 21, 1852, son of Richard and 
Mary A. W'alsh. His father was a designer and engraver in calico 
printing, nnd when the subject of this sketch was less than two years 
of age the family had settled in Pawtucket, Rhode Island. In or about 
the year 1863 his parents moved to Brooklyn, New York, in what was 
called the eastern district, better known as W'illiamsburgh. 

Mr. W^alsh attended the jniblic schools of Brooklyn, and Cooper 
Institute in New York City. With this schooling he became appren- 
ticed to the trade of his father, in engraving for calico printing. He 
came to Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1874, and finished his apprentice- 
ship in the Hamilton Print Works of that city : his uncle, Thomas 
Walsh, being superintendent of the Hamilton Print Works at that 
time. Later he went to New York to join his father, who had formed 
a partnership for the printing of woolens with Messrs. Burns and 
Tattersall. Returning to Lowell again in 1881, he took up his old 
trade of engraving in the Hamilton Print Works until 1892, when he 
became associated with the firm of Chamberlain, Burdette & Com- 
pany, stock brokers, of Boston. Later he formed a connection with 
Webster F. Putnam & Company, of Boston, in the same line of busi- 
ness, and with these representative firms became thoroughly familiar 
with brokerage afifairs. In 1895 Mr. Walsh established an independent 
business as a broker in Boston, with offices in the Atlantic Bank build- 
ing. No. 75 State street. The business that he founded was then 
unique, in that he made a specialty of the securities of textile manu- 
facturing concerns. He has developed a large clientele, and is known 
as an authority on industrials of this class. 

The Republican party has had Mr. Walsh's lifelong support. For 
many years he was secretary of the Republican City Committee, its 
chairman for four years, and in igo8 he was a delegate to the Repub- 
lican National Convention at Chicago for the Fifth Massachusetts 
Congressional District. He has held important positions in party 
councils, and in the city of Lowell. He was a member of the Lowell 
City Council, and its president in 1889, and also a member of the 
School Board. He was a member of the Republican State Committee 
for many years, and president of the Lowell Board of Trade in 1906-07. 
He has been active in Royal Arcanum affairs, is past grand regent of 




)f.jL^.xr. ifUMj 



BIOGRAPHICAL 331 

Massachusetts, and for sixteen years was representative to the Su- 
preme Council of the order, and trustee of the Highland Council, of 
Lowell. He is a Mason, and a member of the First Baptist Church, 
also a member of the Lowell Historical Society, and the Vesper Coun- 
try Club. 

Mr. Walsh married, June i, 1881, in Lowell, Adelaide J. Bral)rook, 
datighter of Deacon Joseph A. and Elizabeth M. (Fiske) Brabrook, 
of Lowell Their four children are: i. Richard Brabrook, born in 
Lowell, educated in the Lowell public schools. Harvard University 
and Harvard Law School, an attorney of Lowell, and chairman of the 
Lowell School Committee; married Mildred McKnight, who died in 
1919; they had one daughter, Martha A. 2. Elizabeth Morse, edu- 
cated in the public schools of Lowell, the Quincy Mansion School, and 
a graduate with honors of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts; Miss 
Walsh won the Paige Scholarship at the Fine Arts School in 1913-14, 
which carried with it a prize of $2,400 and a course of two years' study 
in the European art centers. 3. Francis Parkinson, educated in the 
Lowell public schools and graduate of Dartmouth College ; in the 
World War he enlisted in the United States navy and was appointed 
chief petty officer at Mare Island, San Francisco, California; in a com- 
petitive examination he was chosen for the Annapolis Xaval Academy, 
where he was trained for a commission, later serving with the rank of 
ensign, and was assigned to the Philadelphia Navy Yard ; is now man- 
ager of the sales department of the firm of Allen & W'heeler, of Troy, 
Ohio. 4. Adelaide F., educated in the Lowell public schools and 
Wellesley College, has made a study of music, and at present writing is 
engaged in her profession in the public schools of Lynn. Massachu- 
setts. 



PETER WILLIAM REILLY. 

Peter W. Reilly was born in Merrimack, Xew Hanqishirc. I"\'b- 
ruary 27, 1850, and is the son of Michael and Ellen (Moft'at) Reilly, 
his parents coming to the United States from Ireland in the early 
"Forties," and settled in Merrimack. He attended the public schools 
of Merrimack and Nashua. New Hampshire, until eighteen years of 
age, when his active connection with the printing business began in 
the New Hampshire "Telegraph" in Nashua. .After two years with 
the "Telegraph" he came to Lowell, and here took charge of the press 
work for The Globe Printing Company, owned by G. Clarence Scott. 
Later, he was employed in offices at Boston. Fall River, and W'ake- 
field, Massachusetts. He returned to Lowell in 1880, and entered the 
employ of C. L. Knapp & Son in charge of the printing department of 
the Lowell "Citizen," continuing in that capacity with the Citizen 



332 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Newspaper Company upon its organization. Since the "Citizen" and 
"Courier" consolidated as the "Courier-Citizen," in 1894, he has been 
officially connected with that corporation as director and vice-presi- 
dent. There are now two companies of similar names of which Mr. 
Reilly is vice-president, they having originated from the same source. 
The Courier-Citizen Newspaper Company, publishers of one of the 
leading journals of the State, and the Courier-Citizen Company, gen- 
eral writers and publishers of commercial printing. In addition to his 
forty years connection with the Citizen and the Courier-Citizen com- 
panies, Mr. Reilly has developed other business interests and holds 
official relation to the Lowell Trust Company as director, and the 
Washington Savings Institution of Lowell as trustee. He is a member 
of Lowell Coimcil, Knights of Columbus, the Yorick Club, and the 
Vesper Country Club. 

Air. Reilly married, October 5, 1881, Mary E., daughter of Major 
Timothy B. and Mary F. (Danahy) Crowley. Her father, Major 
Crowley, recruited a company of men for service in the Union army 
during the Civil War, went to the front as their captain, and for "gal- 
lant and meritorious conduct" was promoted to the rank of major. 
He was wounded in battle and never fully recovered from its effects, 
dying some years later. Major Crowley was born in Lowell, remov- 
ing to Nashua after his marriage, and there became a well known influ- 
ential citizen. At one time he was register of probate, and he held 
other important positions in Nashua until his death. Mr. and Mrs. 
Peter W'. Reilly are the parents of four children: Mary E., James C, 
Walter B., and Peter W. (2) Reilly. 



FRANK P. McGILLY. 



^^ hen on Januar}- 20. 1915, Frank P. McGilly was elected presi- 
dent of the Middlesex Safe Deposit and Trust Company, he brought 
to the position years of service in banking in Lowell, and with the 
Bank Commissioners Department of the State of ^Massachusetts. In the 
years which have since passed his fitness for the high executive posi- 
tion he holds has been fully demonstrated, and he has maintained the 
high standards set by his predecessors. The policy of choosing a 
leader from the Bank Commissioners Department had become pop- 
ular in Massachvisetts, President IMcGilley being the sixteenth to be so 
called. 

Frank P. McGilly, son of Patrick and Catherine (Duggan) Mc- 
Gilly. was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, February 23, 1884. He was 
educated in Immaculate Conception Parochial and Lowell High 
schools, finishing at the age of sixteen. In 1900 he entered the employ 
of the Lowell Trust Company, as messenger boy, and rose through 





z 



BIOGRAPHICAL 333 

various positions to that of assistant actuary. He continued with the 
Lowell Trust Company until December, 191 1, when he resigned to 
accept appointment to a place in the State Banking Department under 
Commissioner Chapin, serving through his administration and con- 
tinuing under Commissioner Thorndike until chosen president of the 
Middlesex Safe Deposit and Trust Company, of Lowell, on Januarv 
20, 19 1 5. 'I'he high position to which he was then elected he still ablj- 
fills, and under his management the company has made substantial 
gains and advancement along sound financial lines. In 1913 he was 
chosen commissioner of the Sinking Fund of the city of I^owell, and 
still holds that position. Mr. McGilly is a Democrat in politics, and 
a member of the Roman Catholic church, the Knights of Columbus 
and the Young Men's Catholic Institute of Lowell. Llis clubs are the 
Highland and Washington of Lowell, the Longmeadow Golf of Low- 
ell, the Nashua Country of Nashua, New Hampshire. He is also a 
member of the Bank Officers' Association of Boston. 

Mr. McGilly married, at Lowell, June 21, 1916, Mary Gertrude 
Seede, daughter of John T. and Cordelia (Hanley) Seede, and they are 
the parents of two sons: Francis, born March 19, 1917; and |nlm 
Seede, December 18, 1918. 



PATRICK F. SULLIVAN. 

In the course of a hearing on transportation matters that was 
being held in Boston, a few years ago, a prominent attorney, while 
addressing the committee, said: "In my opinion the ablest street rail- 
way man in the United States is Patrick F. Sullivan, president of the 
Bay State Street Railway Company." The remark was received with 
a murmur of approval which, coming from a body of men well quali- 
fied to judge, showed clearly that the tribute was deserved. Many 
years ago Mr. Sullivan took for his motto to be followed out to the 
best of his ability this quotation from "Endymion:" "After mature 
deliberation I brought myself to the conviction that a human being 
with a certain purpose must accomplish it, and that nothing can resist 
a will which will stake even existence on its fulfillment." And Mr. 
Sullivan in his achievement as head of the largest street railway in 
the world from a mileage comparison, proves that this quotation has 
been kept constantly in mind. It is not an easy task to manage a 
railway serving but one city, how much greater then must be the re- 
sponsibility on managing a railwa}- system that covers as much terri- 
torry and connects as many cities and towns as the Bay State. 

A man who has worked close to Mr. Sullivan states that never 
once during the past twenty-five years has he given a direct order to 
anyone of his subordinates. He is a firm believer in suggestion, argu- 



334 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

nient, and discussion with them, hut never the direct order to do this 
or that. To his tactful handling of the army of men under him the 
Bay State Street Railway owes its freedom from serious labor troubles. 
A practical railroad man himself, with a thorough knowledge of the 
calling gained from actual experience, he is always ready to see and 
listen to the employee's side of every controversy, and willing to grant 
their requests if he can do so, without injury to the road or inconven- 
ience to the public. 

Patrick F. Sullivan was born in County Cork, Ireland, March i6, 
1856, and there spent the early years of his life. He attended public 
schools until brought by his parents to the United States, and in this 
country was tutored by George H. Conley, later superintendent of the 
Boston public schools. He finished his education in Lowell Commer- 
cial College. He began his railway career in the offices of the old 
Lowell Horse Raihvay, and the Lowell & Dracut Street Railway, and 
with the exception of three years, 1883-86, during which time he served 
as chief clerk of the Lowell Board of Assessors, he has been engaged 
in the railroad business ever since. From June, 1888, until 1891, he 
acted in joint capacity as paymaster, secretary, auditor, and office 
manager of the two railways mentioned, then was made manager of 
the Lowell & Suburban Railway. In 1899 he went to Boston, as gen- 
eral manager of the Massachusetts Electric Companies, which was a 
holding company of thirty-four systems in Massachusetts. In 1900 
he was elected president of the Boston & Northern and Old Colony 
systems combined, and in 191 1 became president of the Bay State 
Street Railway Company, which took over the Old Colony, Boston & 
Northern, and a number of other lines. This proves that he had his 
purpose before him when he began and he accomplished it. He is a 
director of the Old Colony Trust Company, the Liberty ]Mutual In- 
surance Company, and a member of its executive committee, the Dor- 
chester Mutual Fire Insurance Company, all of Boston ; the Everett 
Mills, of Lawrence, the Union National Bank, of Lowell, and trustee 
of the Central Savings Bank. 

Mr. Sullivan is a member of the Exchange and Algonquin clubs 
of Boston, and of the Vesper Country Club, of Lowell, and the Nashua 
Country Club. His permanent residence is in Lowell. Mr. Sullivan 
is married, has two daughters and three sons. 



MOSES GREELEY PARKER, M. D. 

Parker is an ancient English family name derived from the occu- 
pation of the progenitors who first used it as a surname, as park 
keeper, and the forms Parens and De Parco are found in the Domes- 
day Book, the eleventh century. It is unlikely that the numerous Eng- 




^;^^^^i2i<^p^<:^J^^^^^^^y^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 335 

lish families have the same original ancestor. Geoffrey Parker, for 
instance, was in England before the year 925, probably a Saxon, while 
Johannes Le Parker, a Norman, came with William the Conqueror, 
and was a keeper of the royal ])arks. 

Arms — Gules, on a chevron between three keys erect argent, as many fleurs- 
de-lis of the field. 

Crcsl — An elephant's head couped argent, collared gules, charged with three 
fleurs-de-lis or. 

Motto — Sccuiidis dubiisque rectus. (Upright both in prosperity and in perils). 

There were no less than twenty-live immigrants named Parker in 
the State of Massachuse*;ts alone before 1650. It is not likely that they 
were all closely related, but there is reason to believe that the Parkers 
of Reading, Woburn, Chelinsford and Groton were brothers or very 
near relatives. Abraham Parker lived in Woburn, and in Chelmsford, 
Massachusetts. 

Deacon Thomas Parker, who was born in England, embarked for 
America on March 11, 1635, in the ship "Susan and Ellen," which was 
fitted out by Sir Richard Saltonstall, with whose family a tradition 
connects the Parkers by marriage. He settled in Lynn \'illage, later 
called Reading, where he lived in the eastern part, on the old Parker 
homestead where Deacon Parker, the immigrant ancestor, died, and 
where Deacon Parker, the last of his family to occupy it, passed away 
ill 1822 He was an active and prominent citizen, a man of ability and 
property. He was appointed a commissioner to try small causes in 
1636, and admitted a freeman in 1637. The Parker genealogy locates 
his residence within thirty rods of the present town hall of Wakefield, 
Massachusetts, formerly the south parish of Reading. Deacon 
Thomas Parker became a deacon of the Reading church, selectinan in 
1 661, and continued in that capacity for five years. He was thirty 
years of age when he left his native country, England, and was sev- 
enty-eight years old when he died. Dr. Moses Greeley Parker was a 
direct descendant of this immigrant ancestor, inheriting many of his 
sterling qualities of character. 

Kendall Parker, great-grandfather of Dr. Moses Greeley Parker, 
and the fourth in descent from Deacon Thomas Parker, the emigrant, 
was a son of Jonathan Parker, Jr., and was born in Reading, in 1723. 
He settled when a young man in the adjacent town of Dracut, Massa- 
chusetts, where his descendants have lived to the present time. He 
died there in 1776. He was a soldier of the Revolution, and was 
among those who rallied to Lexington, Massachusetts, April 19, 1775, 
to sound the alarm. He was in Captain Joshua Reed's company, 
serving in Colonel Green's regiment, and later in Colonel Varnum's 
regiment. He paid ten pounds to hire men for the Continental armv 
later in the war. 



336 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Peter Parker, son of Kendall Parker, the patriot, was born in 
Dracut, Massachusetts, May 17, 1754. He was all his life a farmer in 
his native town of Dracut. He was united in marriage with Bridget 
Coburn, and they were the parents of seven children, as follows : 
Samuel Parker; Elsy Parker; Hannah Parker: Peter Parker, Jr.; 
Amos Parker; Theodore Parker; Rhoda Parker. 

Theodore Parker, sixth in descent from Deacon Thomas Parker, 
the emigrant ancestor, and father of Dr. Moses Greeley Parker, was 
born in Dracut, Massachusetts, September 29, 1799. He was educated 
in the public schools of his native town, and followed farming there. 
He married (first) Lydia Carter, of Wilmington, Massachusetts, who 
died June 26, 1832. He was united in marriage (second) with Hannah 
Greeley, of Hudson, New Hampshire, a relation of Horace Greeley, 
the well known editor and statesman. He died in Dracut, Massachu- 
setts, December 20, 1865, and she died in Lowell, Massachusetts, Sep- 
tember I, 1890. Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Parker were the parents of 
four children: i. Theodore E., who was united in marriage with 
Frances Brackett, of Lowell, Massachusetts, and they became the par- 
ents of one son, Theodore E., Jr., who married Henrietta Talbot, a 
granddaughter of C. P. Talbot. 2. Mary Greeley, born in Dracut, Mas- 
sachusetts, January 5, 1836; she obtained her education in the semi- 
nary at West Townsend, Massachusetts, and at the Female College 
at Worcester, Massachusetts. She taught school in Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, and on January 8, 1868, became the wife of Leonard Har- 
vey Morrison, of New York. Mr. Morrison passed away November 
12, 1907, and after that time Mrs. Morrison made her home with her 
brother, Dr. Moses Greeley Parker. 3. Dr. Moses Greeley, in whose 
memory we are writing. 4. Adelaide C, born in Dracut, Massachu- 
setts, October 29, 1843, ^nd died there February 12, 1844. 

Dr. Moses Greeley Parker was born in Dracut, Massachusetts, 
October 12, 1842, the son of Theodore and Hannah (Greeley) Parker, 
and united in his person the blood of two of the oldest and most 
renowned of New England families. On his father's side he was 
descended from Deacon Thomas Parker, and was related to the great 
abolitionist. Theodore Parker. On his mother's side he was descended 
from Andrew Greeley, who settled in this country in 1640. On his 
maternal side he was also related to the celebrated statesman and edi- 
tor, Horace Greeley. Dr. Parker's great-grandfathers, Kendall Parker 
and Joseph Greeley, were among the minute-men who rallied to Lex- 
ington, on April 19, 1775, and his grandfather, Peter Parker, served 
valiantly in the Continental army during the Revolutionary War. 

Dr. Parker was educated in the district schools of his native town 
of Dracut, Massachusetts, then later in the Howe School at Billerica, 
Massachusetts, and jirepared for college at Phillips Academy, An- 



P.IOGRAI'HICAL 337 

dover. After teaching' in the district schools of New Hampshire for 
three years, Dr. Parker took up the study of medicine at Long Island 
College Hospital Medical School in Brooklyn, New York. lie later 
studied at the Harvard Medical School, from which he received his 
degree of Doctor of Medicine in 1H64, and this honor was followed by 
others from Europe, where he studied at the University of Vienna 
during 1873 and 1874 and in Paris. France, the following year. One 
week after his graduation from the Harvard Medical School, Dr. 
Parker enlisted for the remainder of the Civil War, being commis- 
sioned assistant surgeon in the Fifty-Seventh Massachusetts Infantry 
Regiment. Shortly after, at the request of General Benjamin F. But- 
ler, he was transferred to the Second United States Cavalry Regiment, 
then at Fortress Monroe, and with this unit served at Suffolk, Wil- 
'iamsburg, Drury's Bluff. Point of Rocks, and the siege of Petersburg, 
at which latter place he was in the trenches at the time of the explosion 
of the great mine, on July 30, 1864. From this service. Dr. Parker 
was transferred to the base hospital of the Eighteenth Army Cor])s. 
where he had charge of the First Division, and received the wounded 
from Petersburg, Deep Bottom, Cold Harbor, Dutch Gap, and Fort 
Harrison. He later superintended the building of an additional winter 
hospital with four thousand beds. He was serving as officer of the day 
just before the fall of Richmond, and as such had the honor of receiv- 
ing personally President Lincoln, General Grant, and the hitter's 
staff. He also was a member of the council of administration on the 
effects of the twenty-one hundred soldiers who died in the hospitals. 
Upon the close of the Civil War, Dr. Parker returned to Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and took u]) the practice of his profession, in which he 
developed a remarkable skill, and revealed a talent for special research 
and for progressive methods in medicine. In 1866 he became a special- 
ist in diseases of the eye and ear. Nothing has contributed so much to 
the advance of medical and surgical science as the creation of special- 
ists devoted to the study and treatment of diseases of the various 
organs of the human body. It must be evident to every one that it is 
utterly impossible for any one mind to cultivate the whole field of 
medicine thoroughly, and that the tendency to special work has in- 
creased. In 1873, desiring to specialize in certain branches of the pro- 
fession. Dr. Parker closed his office, and spent two years in study 
abroad. Returning to Lowell he opened a free dispensary, and gave 
freely of his expert services to the poor of that city, his ])rivate prac- 
tice meantime assuming very large proportions. In 1876 Dr. Parker 
became president of the Lowell Medical Journal Society, and was a 
member of the International Congress of Opthalmology at New York. 
For thirty years he was physician at St. John's Hospital in Lowell, his 

U-22 



338 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

home city, and was a trustee of the Lowell General Hosjjital from 
i8g8 to the time of his death. He was a trustee of the Howe School at 
Billerica, Massachusetts. He had been a delegate to the National 
Arbitration and Peace Congress in New York in 1907. 

Dr. Parker had been greatly interested in the telephone industry 
from the days of the parent company, the American Telephone Com- 
pany, and was a personal friend of Alexander Graham Bell, the inven- 
tor. \\'hen Professor Bell first exhibited his crude telephonic appara- 
tus in 1878, Dr. Parker was an interested observer, and was quick to 
see the marvelous commercial utility of the invention. As a result 
of one of the lectures given by Professor Bell, Dr. Parker built a tele- 
phone line from his house to his ofifice, a distance of about half a mile, 
and was delighted at the advantage it gave him. In 1879 the Lowell 
District Telephone Exchange was established, and Dr. Parker was 
quick to see its vast possibilities, and so great was his confidence in 
the future of the telephone, that he was the first man to walk into the 
exchange and ask to be permitted to buy a block of stock. He asso- 
ciated himself with various small licensed telephone concerns, which. 
largely through his instrumentality, were later merged into the New 
England Telephone Company. From that day to his death. Dr. Parker 
served constantly as a director in the company, and as a member of 
its executive board. His activities in this great and growing business 
led to his retirement from the practice of medicine, in which, however, 
he retained a vivid scientific interest. He became one of the largest 
individual shareholders in the enterprises of both the American Tele- 
phone Company and the New England Telephone Company, and was 
regarded as one of the most far-seeing men connected with those mam- 
moth concerns. Dr. Parker had been a director and member of the 
executive committee of the New England Company since its organiza- 
tion in 1883. He also was interested in the Bell Telephone Company, 
and was a director in the Aroostook Telephone Company and Knox 
Telephone Company. Another evidence of Dr. Parker's foresight as 
applied to telephoning is the method of calling by number that pre- 
vails to-day. In the early days subscribers were called for by name, 
and, as the size of the exchanges increased, it became a matter of some 
difficulty to train operators to remember the switchboard locations of 
the different persons called for. Dr. Parker saw that, in the event of 
an epidemic, the telephone system might be rendered useless. He 
suggested, therefore, that subscribers, instead of being called for by 
name, be called for by number, which practice was adopted and still 
prevails. In many other ways Dr. Parker continued to contribute to 
the development of the telephone. 

During his busy life Dr. Parker found time to devote to the study 
of electricity, and was the first to photograph the electric current and 



mOGRAPIIICAL 339 

show that it takes the lorm of spirals. His scientific bent led him to 
experiment in jihotograjihy, as well as in electricity, and he was the 
first to photoijraph the tubercular bacillus from Cushing's micro- 
scopical specimens. He also invented a thermo-cautery, and not 
long after devised and patented an improvement in the process of 
producing and maintaining a very high degree of heat by hydro-car- 
bonization. He received a diploma from the Massachusetts Charitable 
Mechanics' .Association for an incandescent cautery. He was made 
president of the Middlesex North District Medical Society in 189S and 
1899. He was a member of the American Medical Association, and 
the Massachusetts i\Iedical Society; and was a contributor to medical 
and scientific journals. 

In politics. Dr. Parker was a stalwart Republican, but never 
sought political preferment. He was named a special member of the 
commission on tuberculosis by Governor Douglas, and had acted with 
similar boards in the State of New Hampshire and elsewhere at vari- 
ous times. In his later years of life. Dr. Parker turned his attention to 
various patriotic, philanthropic and charitable enterprises. He was 
long an active worker in the Sons of the American Kc\(ilutinn. serving 
first as president of the State society, and later, in iwi 1 and 191J. as 
national president-general, a distinction which he regarded as by far 
the most notable in his career. He was chosen by his intimate friends, 
Frederick Fanning Ayer, to work out the details of the Ayer Home in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, and had always served that institution as the 
head of its governing board as president. He was also the leading 
spirit of the Lowell Day Nursery Association, and was deeply en- 
grossed at the time of his death in plans for a new building greatly 
extending the work. 

Dr. Parker was also a member of the Loyal Legion, the Bostonian 
Society. Bunker Hill Monument Association, the Massachusetts Soci- 
ety of Colonial Wars, of which he had been one of the board of man- 
agers ; Order of Colonial Governors, and the Grand Army of the 
Republic. He was president of the Parker Historical and Genealogical 
-Association, and was affiliated with the Masonic order. Dr. Parker 
was sent by the United States government as a delegate to the Inter- 
national Medical Congress held at London, England, in 1913. 

The city of Lowell, Massachusetts was profoundly shocked and 
grieved by the announcement of Dr. Parker's death, which occurred 
October i. 1917, in his seventy-sixth year. He was a man whose death 
at any time, under any circumstances, would have cast a gloom over 
the community, and the s(jrrow of the many who knew and loved him 
was greatly intensified by the suddenness with which the blow fell 
upon them. His judgment was excellent, his opinions were honest, 
and he was always loyal, faithful and patient. He was friendly, amia- 



340 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ble and helpful, and his good nature was never known to fail. He 
was the possessor of fine natural abilities, and such a man is always 
stronger than he appears to be in any live, growling community. 
Being a descendant from two of the oldest New England families. Dr. 
Moses Greeley Parker lived up to the standard set by his illustrious 
ancestors, and during his career proved himself to be a man among 
men. 

Dr. Parker never married, and is survived by his sister, Mrs. Mary 
Greeley Morrison, and one nephew, Theodore E. Parker, who is 
division commercial superintendent of the Eastern Massachusetts 
Division of the New England Telephone and Telegraph Company. 

In an extended search it would be very difificult indeed to find one 
who, better than the late Dr. Moses Greeley Parker, gave substantial 
proof of the wisdom of Abraham Lincoln, when he said, "There is 
something better than making a living, and that is making a life." 
With a realization of this truth, Dr. Moses Greeley Parker persistently 
and energetically labored, not only to win success, but to make his 
life a continual source of benefit to his fellow-men. While many men 
owe their success to intense concentration upon one line of effort, and 
while this quality is of decided value, there are a few exceptions in 
American enterprise, where leaders of business matters have been so 
variously endowed by nature that they have been able to organize and 
manage successfully a number and variety of exceedingly important 
undertakings. Of these exceptional men. Dr. Moses Greeley Parker is 
an example par excellence. A man of great sagacity, quick perceptions, 
sound judgment, noble impulses, and remarkable force and determina- 
tion of character, he commanded the respect and confidence of all who 
knew him. It is unnecessary to add that as a physician he was held 
in the highest estimation, the record of his daily life being filled with 
evidences of this fact. In all professions, but more especially the 
medical, there are exalted heights to which genius itself dares scarcely 
soar, and which can only be gained after long years of patient, arduous, 
and unremitting toil, and inflexible and unfaltering courage. To this 
proud eminence we may safely state that Dr. Parker rose. The influ- 
ence of a human life can never be properly and fully estimated, but 
such men as Dr. Parker create and maintain the honor of the medical 
profession. 



THE GREELEY FAMILY. 

The Greeley family is one of the oldest and most illustrious in the 
New England States, having maintained a high place in the regard 
of the community from the very earliest Colonial period to the present 
time. 



I'.lOCRAPinCAL 341 

Arms — Argent, on a cross sable five escallops or. 

Andrew Greeley, the emigrant ancestor, was born ahont the year 
1617. and dicii in Salishviry, Massachu.setts, June 30, 1697. His wife, 
-Mary (Moysc) CIrceley, died tlierc December 24, 1703. Andrew Gree- 
lev was an early settler in Salisbury, Massachusetts. The exact date 
of his arrixal there, or in what vessel, is unknown. He settled on a 
])art which is now included in Seabrook, New Hampshire, and there- 
ujion built a tide mill for the g-rinding- of corn, on Kane's river. In 
i()50, in addition to this mill, he built a large saw mill. All of the 
children of the three successive generations of Andrew ( Irct ley were 
born on the old Greele\' Homestead. 

Families bearing the name of Greeley have been so numerous in 
this country that their mere numbers preclude the possibility of trac- 
ing to a common ancestor. Andrew Greeley was the emigrant ances- 
tor of this branch of the family, and his descendants inherited a rare 
combination of citialities that formed a noble matihood and woman- 
hood. 

Joseph Greeley, great-grandfather of Dr. Moses Greeley Parker, 
and a lineal descendant of Andrew Greeley, was born in liavcrhill, 
Massachusetts, February 18, 1731. He was united in marriage with 
]''rudence Clement, in Haverhill, August 6, 1752. Prudence (Clement) 
Greeley was horn at Amesbury. Massachusetts, in 1730, a daughter 
of Jonathan and Mary (Greenleaf) Clement. Joseph Greeley passed 
away at Haverhill, Massachusetts, November 26, 1814; his wife died 
there January 22, 1806. Joseph Greeley received from his father a 
lot of land in Nottingham West, New Hampshire, but did not go 
there to live. He was sergeant in the Third Fort Company of Haver- 
hill, Massachusetts, under Captain Colby, which marched on the 
alarm of April 19, 1775, from the town of Haverhill to Cand)ridge, 
Massachusetts. He traveled seventj' miles, and was six days in the 
service. At one time he was a teacher. 

Hannah Greeley, mother of Dr. Moses Greeley Parker, and a 
lineal descendant of .Andrew Greeley, the emigrant, was liorn in Hud 
son. New Hampshire, July 19, 1806. She became the wife of Theodore 
Parker, January 30, 1834, the wedding ceremony taking place in Hud- 
son, New HatTipshire (see Parker). 



MAJOR JONATHAN LADD. 

For many years Major Jonathan Ladd, an eminent member of the 
Middlesex county bar, was a familiar figure upon the streets of Lowell, 
he and his friend, Jefferson Bancroft, the last to survive those lawyers 
of the olden times whom we love to style as "of the old school." They 



342 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

both clung" to the old style of dress, and right handsome they were in 
the blue cutaway coat of uniform cloth and brass button, with broad 
brimmed hat, silver buckled shoes, their courtly manner and dignified 
demeanor fitting in well with their style of dress. In his law practice 
Major Ladd held to the strictest code of professional honor, and in 
his citizenship was intensely patriotic and public-spirited. His mili- 
tary record was an honorable one, and in all things he measured up to 
the full stature of a man. A family tradition, well founded, asserts 
that the name Ladd is of French origin, and that it has existed in Eng- 
land from the time of the Norman Conquest, io66. From LeLade, 
the original French spelling, its orthography has been subjected to 
numerous changes. Lad, Lade, and Ladde, until reaching its present 
form, Ladd. 

The first of this name in America was Daniel Ladd, of Wiltshire, 
England, who took the required oath of allegiance in order to sail on 
the shi]}, "Mary and John," Robert Sayres, master, from London, 
March 24, 1633, for New England. He landed at Nantasket in Boston 
harbor, but, unlike most of his fellow passengers, did not settle in 
Dorchester, but went to Ipswich, where in 1637 he was granted six 
acres of land upon which he built a house which he owned until 1644, 
when he sold it, having previously, in 1639, moved to Salisbury, Mas- 
sachusetts. Later he moved to Haverhill, Massachusetts, where he 
was one of the first settlers, and there he resided until his death, July 
27, 1693. His wife, Ann, who came with him from England, died Feb- 
ruary 9, 1694. Chase, in his "History of Haverhill," says that Daniel 
Ladd owned and cultivated several farms, and was very prominent 
among the early settlers. In 1668, he was a selectman, and at the out- 
break of King Phillip's War, he was on the committee to establish 
garrison houses. His son, Nathaniel Ladd, settled in Exeter, New 
Hampshire, where he married Elizabeth Oilman, daughter of John 
Oilman, a member of the Provincial Council. From this branch came 
Isaac Ladd, a farmer cf Orafton county. New Hampshire, and one 
time sheriff of the county. He married Huldah Heath, and later re- 
tired from farm life and moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, where both 
ended their days. They were the parents of Major Jonathan Ladd, 
to whose memory this rex-iew is dedicated. 

Major Jonathan Ladd was born in Alexandria, New Hampshire. 
September 26, 1820, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, April 9, 1889. 
His youth was spent at the homestead in Grafton county, and until 
coming to Lowell in 1834 he was his father's farm assistant. The 
love of the soil was bred in him through a line of farmer ancestors, 
and as long as he lived he retained a deep interest in agriculture, while 
his love for horses was almost a passion. He acquired a good district 



BIOGRAPHICAL 343 

school education, upon which later he built his structure of profes- 
sional learning, nor at any time during his career did he need to feel 
that his educational eciuipment was insufficient. After coming to 
Lowell he was employed in the Lowell Alachine Shop, but deciding 
upon a profession he entered a Lowell lawyer's office and studied law, 
until finally admitted to the Middlesex bar in 1844. He began practice 
in Lowell and, save for the years of his absence during the Civil War, 
he was continuously engaged in professional work in Lowell, his 
career at the bar covering a perit)d of forty-five years. i<S44-89. His 
practice was very large and most scrupulously conducted, he holding 
his professional honor as sacred as he did his personal integrity. Ik- 
was a leading member of the Middlesex County Bar Association, and 
held in the very highest esteem by his contemporaries. Honorable, 
uiiright, courteous, and most deferential to the court, he was a man 
to Ik- loved, yet as an opponent greatly to be feared. 

Mr. Ladd was always interested in military affairs, and at the out- 
break of the Civil War was captain of Cmniiany H, Sixty-fifth Regi- 
ment, Massachusetts Militia, then known as the AVilson Light Guards, 
and after war was declared he was acting as chief of stafif under Gen- 
eral Sutton. He was at once detailed by Governor Andrews as master 
of transportation, and in that capacity accompanied the Sixth Massa- 
chusetts on their memorable march through the city of Baltimore on 
their way to the National Capital. In 1861 Captain Ladd was ap- 
pointed paymaster with the rank of major, and until the war closed in 
1865 he continued in the service of his country in that capacity. He 
then returned to Lowell and resumed his law practice, which was not 
again interrupted save by death. 

He ever retained a warm feeling for his army comrades, was a 
loj-al member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and took a deep 
interest in that order and the Military Order of the Loyal Legion of 
the United States. That he was deeply interested in agriculture is 
shown in the active part he bore in founding the Middlesex North 
District Agricultural Society, an organization of which he was presi- 
dent for several years. He was superintendent of the first New Eng- 
land fair ever held in Lowell, and was the owner of some of the best 
horses in the county. 

Major Ladd married Eunice Adaline Stickney, of Beverly, Mas- 
sachusetts, who died in Lowell, August 4, 1895, surviving her hus- 
l)and about six years. She was the daughter of Captain Benjamin 
Stickney, a master mariner, whose home for many years was in Bev- 
erly. Major and Mrs. Ladd were the parents of two children : Frank 
J., deceased, a sketch of whom follows; and Eunice Adaline, deceased, 
was the wife of Henr\- K. Sjiaulding. of Tewksbury, Massachusetts. 



344 ■ HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Such was the career of a fine gentleman and lawyer of the old 
school. High minded, he never lowered his ideals and carried with 
him to the grave the highest esteem of his fellowmen. 



FRANK J. LADD. 

Like his distinguished father, Frank J. Ladd was a man of strong 
character and ability, devoted to his home and family, and a lover of 
agriculture and agricultural life, and at his fine farm on the Butman 
road he spent much of his time when free from business cares, and the 
fine horses he owned and kept there were a source of great pleasure 
to him. 

Frank J. Ladd, only son of Major Jonathan and Eunice Adaline 
(Stickney) Ladd, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, July 15, 1849, 
and died there, Alarch 8, 191 5. He was educated in Lowell public 
schools, finishing in high school. When a boy he was allowed to visit 
his father in the city of W'ashington, and in this way he became 
familiar with the events of that period and acquainted with several 
of the prominent actors in the great war drama staged in the country 
during the years 1861-65. He began his business career as an em- 
ployee of a Boston Oil Company, and with that house spent several 
years, becoming thoroughly acquainted with that business. Later he 
established a similar business in Boston under his own name, so con- 
tinuing until 1890, when he sold out and became the accredited repre- 
sentative of large business interests in legislative matters. He was 
deeply read in matters aiTecting the business interests of the country, 
and his advice was sought from all quarters when legislation aiTecting 
tarifi' and taxes were being considered. After 1890 he made this his 
sole business, and became widely known as an expert in such matters, 
representing several large corporations. During his entire career Mr. 
Ladd retained his home in Lowell, his residence at No. 109 Fairmount 
street. He owned a fine farm on the Butman road, Lowell, and there 
bred and trained many fine horses. This farm is still owned In- Mrs 
Ladd, who operates it through a manager. 

Frank J. Ladd married, April 7, 1869, Ella Prudence Clifford, 
born in Lowell, daughter of Weare and Prudence (Wright) Clifford. 
Weare Clifford was born in Hampton, New Hampshire, but early in 
life came to Lowell, where he mastered the art of dyeing, conducting 
Clifford's Dye House on Andover street for many years. He became 
a substantial citizen, public-spirited and progressive, taking particular 
interest in the volunteer fire department, which he served as chief engi- 
neer. His wife. Prudence (Wright) Clifford, born in Tyngsboro, 
Massachusetts, died in Lowell. June, 1857. He died in Lowell, March, 




^/,aJ.J.^cM. 





~?^ 



^/- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 345 

1872. Children of Frank J. and Ella Prudence (Clifford) Ladd : Clif- 
ford Wright, (lied in Lowell, aged eighteen years; Alice Stickney, re- 
siding with lu-r mother at the family home. 



ERSON B. BARLOW. 



Since the year 1904, Mr. Barlow has been a resident of Lowell, 
Massachusetts, and in both business and public life has been closely 
identitied with the interests of his adopted City, County and State. 
He has won public confidence to the degree that he has been called 
to high and important office, and as representative, senator, and com- 
missioner, he has labored for the best interests of those from whom 
his honors came. He is a son of Ira and Elizabeth Barlow, who at 
the time of the birth of their son was living in Helena, a village of St. 
Lawrence county. New York, forty-five miles East of Ogdensburg. 

Erson 15. Barlow was born in Helena, Xew York, October 20. 1883, 
there spent his youth, and obtained his education. After completing 
primary public school courses, he became a student at Helena Acad- 
emy, and later comjileted his years of educational preparation with 
Commercial College courses at Cornwall. Before coming to Lowell he 
was clerk in the G. S. jVIills Department Store, at Hogansburg, New 
York, but after coming to Lowell he became interested in the insur- 
ance business, which he has made his life work. His other business 
interests are with the B. F. Butler Corporation. 

,\ Re]niblican in politics, Mr. Barlow early became identified with 
political affairs, and in 1908 he was chosen to represent a Lowell dis- 
trict in the Massachusetts Legislature, and in 191 1 was elected State 
Senator; in 1913 county commissioner of Middlesex county, Massa- 
chusetts. His rise in ]niblic life has been rapid, but each promotion 
has been based upon merit, his career as a public official reflecting 
nothing but credit upon him. He is a member of the ^\'a?hington, 
Highland and Central clubs of Lowell, and very popular. 



REV. JOHN M. GREENE, D. D. 

Shortly before his death the Re\-. Jdhii M. Greene penned the fol- 
lowing words : "Always a deep interest attaches to the person who 
has done something to make the world happier and better. Sometimes 
the good which people do is not immediately apparent, it is much con- 
cealed or is a long time maturing. What others do .stands out at unce 
as a great and brilliant achievement. Benefactors of humanity ought 
to have their names published. The real wealth of a city or of a nation 
consists largely of the good and wise men and women who live and 
have lived in it. Banks and shops, railroads, and steamships are not a 



346 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

nation's glory, but its wise and good citizens are." Truly might they 
have been written of him, and since his death in the spring of 1919, in 
his ninetieth year, the many whose lives were enriched and blessed by 
their contact with him have added their appreciation of the noble 
character that he was to the concrete evidence of what he accom- 
plished. 

Rev. John M. Greene was born in Hadley, Massachusetts, March 
12, 1830, and spent his early years on the home farm, improving all 
available opportunities for education. At the age of nineteen years 
he entered Amherst College and was graduated in 1853, one of the four 
honor men of his class. After teaching in an academy at Canandaigua, 
New York, for one year he entered the theological seminary at Bangor, 
Maine, teaching higher mathematics and Greek at Amherst College at 
intervals. He was offered the presidency of Olivet, a distinction he 
declined, and in 1868 he went on ministerial work to South Hadley, 
about two years afterward accepting a call to the Eliot Church in 
Lowell. He took his place in that congregation, July 20, 1870, and in 
that parish, either as active pastor or pastor emeritus, he continued to 
his death. His pastorate was among the longest in the Congregational 
church in New England. Following a serious illness, in igoo. Dr. 
Greene resigned his active pastorate and was elected pastor emeritus. 
He gave much of his time and energy in the summer months to the 
upbuilding of the church at Matinicus, an island off the coast of Maine, 
and although he was physically unable to continue his work in his 
latter years his interests remained numerous, and he was well informed 
on general and local affairs, religious and secular, until his death. Dr. 
Greene was typical of the old New England ministry at its best, com- 
bining a ripe scholarship and inspired spirituality with a benignity of 
mien and graciousness of personality that gave him a widespread in- 
fluence and made him generally loved. He was deeply concerned in 
the welfare of educational institutions, and was an important factor in 
the founding of two New England schools of high character. He 
advised and aided Miss Sophia Smith in the founding of Smith Col- 
lege for Women at Northampton, gave his name to one of the most 
important buildings on the campus, and throughout his life served as 
trustee. Had it not been for his eft'orts in interesting Miss Smith in 
the project and in guiding her in its material establishment, Smith 
College never would have been founded. His relation to the Rogers 
Hall School was much the same, for he was Miss Rogers' close advisor 
at all times, and was a member of the board of trustees of the school. 
Victor Hugo wrote, "Whoever opens a school closes a prison," and 
this quotation, used by Dr. Greene in writing of Miss Rogers, may be 
fittingly added to the great volume of testimony to the worth of his 
life and its wealth in service. 




'^J„,i..-;J n„l..:,//. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 347 

Dr. Greene's death occurred April 28, 1919. He passed to the 
])lace won by him and prepared for him in the mansions of his Father, 
entrance to wliose portals is the reward of the "pure in lieart" and 
whither he had labored to lead hundreds. 

Dr. Greene married, in 1857, Louise Dickinson, of North .\ni- 
herst, Massachusetts, and they were the parents of: William .*>.. Har- 
vey B., Louise D., Helen F., and others, now deceased. 



THOMAS CHADWICK ENTWISTLE. 

Belmont, Lancashire, England, was the home of the family of 
which Thomas Chadwick Kntwistle was a mem]:)er. His grandfather. 
Ralph Entwistle, was a native of England, a mill manager in calling, 
who came to the United States, his death occurring in Utica, New 
^'ork. Both he and his wife, Katherine, lived and died in the Quaker 
faith. Ralph (2) Entwistle, son of Ralph ( i ) and Katherine Entwistle, 
and father of Thomas C. Entwistle, of this record, was born in Eng- 
land and there died, the father of nine children. 

Thomas Chadwick Entwistle was born in Belmont, Lancashire. 
England, September 8, 1846. He attended the schools of his native 
city, and at the early age of seven years began to work in the cotton 
mills at Lancashire, of which later his father became the agent, spend- 
mg half his time at work in the mills and half at school until he was 
fourteen, when he was regularly apprenticed to a machinist for a term 
of seven years He was an expert machinist in the employ of a large 
English machinery manufacturing company, who were engaged in the 
manufacturing of textile machinery for the cotton mills of England 
and America. In 1869 he was selected by his employers to come to 
America to set up one of the first slashers ever used in the cotton mills 
in Manchester, New Hampshire. After completing the installation of 
the slashers, he decided to remain in this country and obtained em- 
ployment with the Lewiston Machine Company of Lewiston, Maine. 
While with this company he designed and constructed the first ma- 
chine ever made in America for making expansion combs for warpers, 
and later designed and built the Lewiston Warper, which was exten- 
sively used in the cotton mills of that period. Later he designed, con- 
structed and patented an entirely new warping machine, the first of 
its kind ever used in this country ; this new warper proved very suc- 
cessful, and so great was the demand for it that Mr. Entwistle returned 
to England in the early seventies and sold the rights to manufacture 
the warper to an English machine comi)any. He then returned to 
Lewiston, Maine, and took out other patents. In 1875 he left Lewis- 
ton and entered the employ of the Hopedale Machine Company, at 
Milford, Massachusetts, where he devoted his talent and energies in 



348 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

the designing and construction of textile machinery until i8So, then 
came to Lowell, where he organized the Phoenix Machine Company, 
of which he became the agent. This company occupied large quarters 
in the Belvidere section of the city on Phoenix street, the street tak- 
ing its name from that of the company. Here Mr. Entwistle designed 
and manufactured the Phoenix Warper, which soon came into general 
use in the cotton mills of New England. After severing his connection 
with the Phoenix Machine Company, he became general manager of 
the W^oodruff Iron Works of Hartford, Connecticut, but in 1887 re- 
turned to Lowell and engaged on his own account in the manufacture 
of his own inventions and other specialties, consisting of Patent W'arp- 
ing, Balling and Beaming Machines, all kinds of Expansion Combs 
for Warpers, Beamers and Slashers, and Traverse Wheel Card Grind- 
ers for American and English cards. The products of the T. C. Ent- 
wistle Company found a ready market throughout the entire cotton 
textile manufacturing industry, and he quickly built up a large and 
profitable business. His inventions have proved of great value in the 
textile industries, and he not only won for himself a high position in 
the world of business, but ranked high among the inventors of his 
generation. He died January 7, igo^. in the midst of a promising and 
prosperous career. 

In politics Mr. Entwistle was a Republican. He was a member 
of the First Universalist Church of Lowell, of the Franklin Literary 
Association, and of the Lowell Board of Trade. He was well known 
in Masonic circles, a member of Roboni Lodge, No. 150, of Lewiston, 
Maine; Montgomery Lodge; Mount Lebanon Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons; Milford Commandery, No. 11, Knights Templar, Milford, 
Massachusetts ; and of the Order of the Mystic Shrine, of Boston, 
Massachusetts. He was a member of The Club of Lowell, the Vesper 
Country- Club, the Yorick and Highland clubs, the Martin Luther, all 
of Lowell, and the Algonquin Club of Boston. He was also a member 
of the famous Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of Boston. 
He was fond of travel and crossed the Atlantic many times. He was 
open-handed and generous, always to the extent of his means, and took 
pleasure in helping those who appealed to his charity or friendship. 
He was a man of many pleasing characteristics and kindly disposition. 
His life work was of a most important character. He set for himself 
high standards, both of manhood and of citizenship, and commanded 
the respect and confidence of all with whom he came in contact, while 
his business policy, forceful and resourceful, brought him out of hum- 
ble surroundings into important manufacturing associations. 

Mr. Entwistle married, June 5, 1894. Amanda A. Stevens, daugh- 
ter of Matthew K. and Mary J. (Fowler) Stevens, of Maine. She sur- 
vived him, and since his death holds the office of treasurer of the T. C. 
Entwistle Company, Incorporated. 




Ky/XytPL^U^i /^ 




BIOGRAPHICAL 349 

FRANK B. KENNEY. 

Frank B. Keiiney, prominent manufacturer and l)u.siness man of 
Lowell, has been identified with the T. C. Entwistle Company, manu- 
facturers of textile machine accessories and s])ecial machinery used in 
this industry. His connection w ith tliis well known company has been 
for many years, and he has risen to the official position of president, 
the office which he so ably holds. A review of the sketch of T. C. 
Entwistle well outlines the prominence of this com])any's activities in 
the textile world. 

Mr. Kenney is a member of various organizations and cluljs, and 
is a prominent member in the Masonic order, belonging to its imijor- 
tant bodies. His residence is at No. 210 Liberty street, and in home 
and social life Mr. Kennev likewise is well known. 



HUMPHREY O'SULLIVAN. 

Humphrey O'Sullivan, capitalist, national advertiser and public- 
spirited citizen, with whom this article deals, is one of Lowell's front 
rank citizens, and one whose name is familiar to not only the millions 
of people in this country, but to many in various countries of the 
world. It is with much satisfaction that any community could claim 
such a well known citizen, and Lowell has been benefited in many 
ways by his residence here. From the beginning of Irish history 
O'Sullivans are traced, their ancient homes in Cork, Kerry and 
Limerick. The chief of the family bore the title of Prince and 
Lord, and in business, church, state and professional life, O'Sullivans 
have won a foremost place in Irish history. The O has been dropped 
by many descendants in many lands, while others zealously preserve 
the ancient name of their forefathers unchanged. Humphrey O'Sulli- 
van, with whom this narrative in principal deals, descends from the 
Cork branch, and is a son of Timothy O'Sullivan, born in the parish of 
Castle Haven, East Division of West Carbury, County Cork, Ireland, 
a section in which O'Sullivan had been resident for more than ten cen- 
turies. Timothy O'Sullivan was a farmer all his life and was fairly 
well-to-do for that day. He was a devout Catholic and well known as 
a man of thrift, integrity and upright life. He married Catherine 
Barry, daughter of James Barry of the Parish of Caheighy, County 
Cork. They were the parents of three sons : 

William O'Sullivan, the eldest son, was born in Skibbereen, 
County Cork, Ireland, in May, 1844. He came to the United States 
when a young man, enlisted in the United States Army at Boston, 
Massachusetts, was assigned to the cavalry, served three years on the 
frontier, 1864-67, and was mustered out at Tuscon, Arizona. He lived 
in Tuscon manv vears and was a member of the Pioneer's Society of 



350 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Arizona. He died at his home in Tuscon, in 1898, leaving his widow 
and a son, Humphrey. 

James O'SuIlivan, the second son, was born in Skibbereen, County 
Cork, in December, 1848. He learned the shoemaker's trade and, fol- 
lowing his elder brother's example, came to the United States, arriving 
at Boston, Massachusetts, in March, 1867. For about seven years he 
worked at the trade in Boston, New York, and Lowell, Massachusetts, 
principally in the latter city, where, in 1875, he purchased the retail 
shoe business conducted by Frank Brady. He continued alone in the 
management of the business until January 26, 1877, when his younger 
brother, Humphrey, became a partner, under the firm name O'SuIli- 
van Brothers, capital $1,800. Retail shoe dealing and custom work 
occupied the brothers until 1893, when a clothing business was added 
and the Associate building erected, in which the business was located 
when the O'SuIlivan Rubber Company was incorporated in 1899. 
James O'SuIlivan was elected president, and has been associated with 
his brother Humphrey in that company until the present. He married 
Catherine Connolly, and their children are : Timothy, William (de- 
ceased), James, Helena, Humphrey (deceased), Catherine, Francis. 
Jeremiah, Mary and Julia. 

Humphrey O'SuIlivan, the principal subject of this sketch, is the 
third and youngest son of Timothy and Catherine (Barry) 0'Sulli\-an, 
and was born in Skibbereen, County Cork, Ireland, October 7, 1853. 
He obtained a good education in the state school, and in time was 
offered a position of teacher in a nearby school. He began learning 
the printer's trade in July, 1868, serving a five years' apprenticeship 
with J. W. Potter & Sons, becoming a skilled typesetter and assistant 
foreman. He was so well trained in job and newspaper printing that 
when the junior Potter became general manager of the "Irish Daily 
Telegraph" in Cork, Mr.' O'SuIlivan was placed in charge of the printing 
of the afternoon edition of that paper. He continued with Potter & 
Sons for a full term of five years, and in that time developed far more 
than a knowledge of the printing business. He was under the capable 
training of Rev. D. McCartie, a cultured and scholarly gentleman, who 
was his tutor in general literature, voice culture and the development 
of his natural talent as an orator. One of his victories while an ap- 
prentice was winning an oratorical contest for a prize of five pounds 
sterling donated by Sir Wilfred Lawson, M. P. The contest was held 
in Munster Hall, Cork, and upon a later date in the Rotunds at Dublin, 
A. M. Sullivan being chairman of the committee of judges on both 
occasions. Mr. O'SuIlivan spoke with earnestness, displayed a deep 
knowledge of his subject, and presented his points with such clearness 
and eloquence that he was adjudged the winner on both occasions. 



RIOCRAI'llKAT, 351 

After ciimpk'tiiif,' his apprenticeship he joined the Printer's Union, 
and fur a time was in the employ of Guy Brothers, job printers,. of 
Cdrk. In June. 1874. he came to New York on the Inman Line steam- 
shi]) "City of Chester," landing with little capital except his trade, a 
card certifying to his lueinhership in the Printer's Union of Cork. He 
was rich in courage and anihition, which was capital that enabled him 
to overcome the many obstacles which confront the newcomer from 
foreign shores. He secured his iirst work in a \'onkers. New York, 
printing office, to which his union card gained him admission, but 
soon afterward he came to Lowell, Massachusetts, where his brother, 
James, was engaged in business as a retail shoe dealer. He obtained 
a i)osition on the Lowell "Courier," later on "Vox Populi," going thence 
to Lawrence, Massachusetts, where he was given a better position on 
the "Sentinel." There were no typographical unions in either Lowell 
or Lawrence at that time, his union card was of no benefit to him, and. 
printing conditions being chaotic, he abandoned his trade, returned to 
Lowell, and on January 26, 1877, became a partner in the business of 
his brother James. O'Sullivan Brothers develo])ed a very large and 
profitable business as retailers and makers of shoes, and their small 
cai)ital of Si. 800 was turned over and over each year, constantly being 
added to from profits which enabled the firm to expand and enlarge 
their line. Each partner limited his income from the firm funds to a 
minimum, for years all money made going back into the business, 
particular attention being given to securing the best grades from the 
best known manufacturers, and a most profitable business resulted. 
In 1893 clothing was added and the Associate Building erected. On 
August 28, 1S99, the O'Sullivan Rubber Company was incorporated to 
manufacture and market the O'Sullivan Rubber Heel, invented and 
])atented by Humphrey O'Sullivan. The officers of the company were 
James O'.Sullivan. president; flumjihrey O'.'^iillixan, treasurer and 
advertising manager: J. Munn .Andrews, secretary and manager. The 
success of this invention is national history, and perhaps there is no 
single article of wear in such universal use as the O'Sullivan Rubber 
Heel. Mr. O'Sullivan is one of the greatest of national advertisers, 
and as he is his own advertising manager all the credit of placing the 
heel upon the market through the medium of printer's ink goes with 
the honor of the invention to Mr. O'Sullivan. It is one of the great 
successes of merchandising on a large scale and forever stamps Mr. 
O'Sullivan's name as one of the great geniuses of the business world. 
This business led to that greatest of all footwear inventions — the rub- 
ber heel — an article of manufacture now everywhere associated with 
the name O'Sullivan, and under the inventor's name and ])atents this 
article is made in the L'nited States. Continental Europe and the Brit- 



352 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ish Isles. It can, therefore, be truthfully said that these heels are 
applied to the heels of the world. 

Mr. O'Sullivan has other large business interests in and out of 
the city, and holds directorship in many Lowell financial institutions. 
During his busy and successful business life, Mr. O'Sullivan has been 
identified with Lowell's public interests and has been a firm advocate 
of the advancement of all things pertaining to Lowell, ranking with 
the leaders in public spirit and progress. 

Lowell will long remember the great St. Patrick's Day parade and 
celebration of 1906, of which he was Chief Marshal, the wonderful 
Fourth of July celebration of igo/, which he alone was responsible for, 
and other events which came later. 

He is a member of St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, and has 
given much of his time and material aid to church work. Mr. O'Sul- 
livan is an ardent Democrat, one of the Massachusetts leaders of his 
party, and for several years was a member of the State Central Com- 
mittee. He is a member of Lowell Council, Knights of Columbus, the 
Celtics, the Yorick Club, Ancient Order of Hibernians, American- 
Irish Historical Society, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
Court Merrimack, Catholic Order of Foresters, and the K. W. Society. 

He is a loyal supporter of independence for Ireland, and has been 
identified with the various movements to benefit the cause of these 
harassed people. On numberless occasions he has been the invited 
orator, pleading eloquently for justice, and supporting the cause in a 
material way. Upon the accession of King Edward VII. to the throne 
of England he cabled a plea for Irish freedom to the King. He has 
been publicly honored by his fellow townsmen and in Lowell, his home 
and business headquarters, he is best known and held in highest 
esteem. The years, forty-four, Mr. O'Sullivan has spent in the United 
States have been well accounted for, and he stands to-day one of the 
most conspicuous examples of what energy and ability can accom- 
plish in this land of opportunity. 

Mr. O'Sullivan married, January 26, 1877, Hannah Driscoll, 
daughter of Daniel and Mary (Walsh) Driscoll, of County Cork, Ire- 
land. Both of their children died in infancv. 



GEORGE H. BROWN. 



At the age of five years, George H. Brown was brought by his 
parents from his native State of Maine, and in his adopted city he has 
risen from a street newsboy to the highest civic position his fellow- 
men of the city can bestow upon him, the high office of mayor. Every 
step of the way he has traveled he has taken alone and unaided, save 
by the friends which he made as he passed along from position to posi- 





^^^C£^'d^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 353 

tion in his upward rise. He is yet comparatively a young man, but he 
has traveled far, and the future holds for him nothing but promise of 
greater favor. Mayor Brown is a son of William H. and Abby L. 
(Crockett) Brown, his father born in Wells. Maine, but for many years 
an employee of Lowell mills. He died at Jordan Mountain, Kings 
county, New Brunswick, Canada, July 10, 1906. Abby L. (Crockett) 
Brown was born in Maine, and died in her native State. 

George H. Brown was born in Waterville, Maine, May 22, 1877, 
and in 1882 was brought by his parents to Lowell, Massachusetts. 
There he attended the city schools, and out of school hours sold papers 
on the streets. He began early in life learning the ])rinter's trade, but 
he did not like it, and at the first opportunity resigned on account of ill 
health and worked on a farm in Pelham, New Hampshire, and became 
an emplovee of White's Tannery, passing in succession to varied posi- 
tions in the Suffolk. Treniont, Massachusetts, and Appleton, and the 
Bigelow-Hartford Carpet Mills. In addition to the practical knowl- 
edge gained in these mills, he pursued courses of technical study at 
Lowell Textile School, attending the night sessions after his day's 
work in the mill was completed. 

He continued a mill worker until war was declared between the 
United States and Spain, then in answer to President McKinley's call 
for men he enlisted in Company M. Ninth Regiment, Massachusetts 
Volunteers, and served until honorably discharged at the close of the 
war. After his return to Lowell, he passed the civil service examina- 
tion for patrolman, and was one of the first three men on the eligible 
list. When there was another call by President McKinley for volun- 
teers in 1899 for service in the Philippines, he again enlisted, entering 
the Twenty-sixth Regiment, United States Volunteer Infantry. He 
spent two years with his command, serving with Company I in many 
engagements, skirmishes and expeditions under Colonel Dickman, who 
is now General Dickman, during the Philippine insurrection, his years 
of enlistment filled with arduous duty on Panay Island of the Philip- 
pine Archipelago. He was mustered out of the service in May, 1901. 
He then returned to Lowell, and w-as immediately appointed to a posi- 
tion as patrolman and later inspector of the Lowell police department. 
On March 3, 1903, Mr. Brown was commandeered by the superintend- 
ent of police for work at the Burbank block fire. In 1908, while still 
a member of the force, he was elected mayor, and on December 15, 
1908. he resigned his position as patrolman, and on January i, 1909, 
was inaugurated mayor of Lowell. He served a term of one year, 
giving the city a practical administration, and in 191 1 he was elected 
commissioner of streets and highways, and in 191 2 reelected for a 
term of two years. He was assigned to the finance department for 

L— 2 



354 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

two years, and was again reelected in 1916 for two years, his term 
expiring December 31, 1918. He served during his last term as 
fire and water commissioner. In 1919 he is again a candidate for 
the office of mayor for a period of two years. His public service 
was of the highest order, and he stands very high in public 
esteem. In politics he is a Republican, but strictly non-partisan in 
local afi'aiis. He attends the Presbyterian church. He is a member 
of Pawtucket Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Mount Horeb Chap- 
ter, Royal Arch Masons ; Ahasuerus Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar; Aleppo Temple, Nobles 
of the Mystic Shrine; Sons of Veterans ; General Adelbert Ames Camp, 
United Spanish War Veterans ; Oberlin Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; also the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

Mayor Brown married, in Lowell, October 5, 1904, Emma Vining, 
daughter of Hiram and Margaret (Campbell) Vining, of Lowell. 



LARKIN THORNDIKE TRULL. 

In the fall of 1882, Mr. Trull, a newly admitted memljer of the Mid- 
dlesex county bar, and a young man of twenty-five, began practice in 
Lowell, with office at No. 103 Central street. Six years later he 
formed a partnership with Frederick N. Wier, which still exists under 
the office firm name "Trull and Wier," No. 103 Central street, until 
July I, 1917, when they moved to their present location. This long 
record of service goes still further back into the past, even to the year 
1879, when Mr. Trull was a student in the law offices of the eminent 
Richardson brothers, William A., Daniel S., and George F., all now 
gone to their reward, but who, with their honored father. Squire Rich- 
ardson, of Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, made Richardson a household 
word in Lowell. Middlesex county, and in the State of Massachusetts, 
one of the brothers, William A„ becoming secretary of the treasury 
of the United States, and judge of the United States Court of Claims. 

Mr. Trull is of ancient Massachusetts family, son of Nathaniel 
Trull, and grandson of Jesse Trull, both farmers of Tewksbury, Mas- 
sachusetts, the old homestead farm having been in the family approach- 
ing two hundred years. There Nathaniel Trull was born in 1806, died 
October 14, 1884. He married Munanda Wood, born in 1827, died in 
1894. They were the parents of daughters: Jane, Josephine M., Fan- 
nie E., and Emmeline H.; sons: Jesse N., Larkin T., Benjamin F., 
Loring L., and Edward W. 

Larkin Thorndike Trull was born at the Tewksbury Trull home- 
stead in which six generations of Trulls have lived, October 17, 1857, 
and there attended public school until thirteen years of age. He was 
then sent to Boston public schools, thence to Boston Latin School, 





i^/ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 355 

whence he was graduated, class of 1875. H'^ "t'xt pursued a classical 
course at Harvard University, entering in the freshman 3-ear, and at 
the end of a four years' course receiving his Bachelor of Arts with the 
class of 1879. Deciding upon the profession of law, he spent a year in 
study in the ofifices of D. S. and G. F. Richardson at Lowell, entering 
Boston University Law School in the fall of 1880. He attended Law 
School two years, also continuing his association with the Richard- 
son law office until the fall of 1882, when he was admitted to the Mid- 
dlesex county bar. He began practice in Lowell the same year, and 
in due season secured a foothold and began his upward climb. For six 
years he practiced alone, Frederick N. Wier joining him as partner 
in 1888. They practiced at No. 103 Central street for twenty-nine 
years, conducting an extensive legal business. Recently the old 
location was abandoned and new offices taken. Mr. Trull served as 
city solicitor for two years, but has practiced privately during his 
thirty-five years at the Middlesex bar and has won high standing at 
that bar as an honorable, upright lawyer of learning, sound judgment 
and ability. 

During these thirty-five years, Mr. Trull has figured in many im- 
portant cases, has won a fair proportion of victories, and suffered his 
share of adverse verdicts. But he has fought fair, maintained the 
courtesy and deference due the court, sought no unfair advantage over 
an opponent, but trusted to his careful preparation, citations and 
strong presentation to win his cause. He is a member of the local 
and State bar associations, and holds the esteem of his professional 
brethren. He has acquired important business connections ; is a trus- 
tee of the Central Savings Bank ; was president at one time, now a 
director and vice-president of the Middlesex Trust Company; was an 
original trustee of Lowell General Hospital, is president of the Har- 
vard Club of Lowell, and member of the Yorick Club. In political 
faith a Republican, he was chairman of the City Committee during 
1886-87, 3n<i ^or two years was a member of the State Central Com- 
mittee. 

Mr. Trull married. October 8, 1884, Hannah J. Bailey, daughter 
of Henry B. and Anne B. (Lother) Bailey, of Lowell. The Trull home 
is at No. 56 Fairmount street, Mr. and Mrs. Trull attending the First 
Baptist Church. If Mr. Trull had not studied law he would have been 
an agriculturist, for he loves the country and owns a farm at his boy- 
hood home, Tewksbury, that closely vies with his profession in claim- 
ing his interests. 



JOHN KONSTAS GATSOPOULOS, M. D. 

In 1907 Dr. Gatsopoulos came to the United States from his 
native country, Greece, richly equipped for the practice of medicine 



356 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

and surgery, having prepared in Athens, Naples and Paris. The learn- 
ing of university and hospital was his, many years of his life having 
been spent in study and hospital practice. The task that confronted 
the doctor upon his arrival in Lowell was a formidable one, for not- 
withstanding his professional qualifications which were of the highest, 
he could not speak English. He resolutely set about his task, and 
within a year has mastered English, passed the State Board of Medical 
Examiners, and gained from them authority to practice his profession. 
From that time his pathway was much easier and more pleasant to fol- 
low, and the years have brought him recognition by the profession and 
laity as a skilled and honorable physician and surgeon. Dr. Gatsopou- 
los is a noted linguist, being thoroughly conversant with Greek, Turk- 
ish, Italian, English and other European and Oriental languages, being 
able to converse fluently in each. Dr. Gatsopoulos is a son of Konstas 
and Vacelo (Demeter) Gatsopoulos, both natives of Jannina, Greece, 
where the father died in 1896, aged sixty-five, a grain merchant, and 
the mother yet resides, aged eighty-five, cared for by her son, the doc- 
tor. The latter has two brothers, Nicholas, aged sixty-two, a mechan- 
ical engineer, of Jannina, Greece ; and Spyros, a merchant and importer 
of Carditza, a province of Thessaly. 

John Konstas Gatsopoulos was born in Jannina, Greece, Decem- 
ber 28, 1874, and was there prepared in academy and advanced schools 
for admission into the University of Athens. There he pursued medi- 
cal studies until graduation, in April, 1899, receiving his degree in 
medicine and surgery. For one year, thereafter, he was interne at the 
City Hospital, Athens, then for two years at Neker Hospital, Paris, 
France, and for one year at St. Andrea Hospital, Naples, Italy. He 
practiced his profession abroad until 1907, then came to the United 
States, locating in Lowell, where he has been in continuous and suc- 
cessful practice since 1908, his office being located in Room 11, No. 
322 Merrimack street. In July and August, 1910, he attended confer- 
ences in the Academy of Paris concerning the discovery and eiifective- 
ness of the "six-hundred-six" treatment, and other important medical 
researches by Professors Horlick and Hatta — he being the only physi- 
cian from New England to attend. In 1915 Dr. Gatsopoulos com- 
pleted his naturalization formalities and became a citizen of the United 
States. He is a Democrat in politics, a member of the Orthodox 
Greek church, and in 1915 was president of the Greek Colony in 
Lowell. In Athens he was a member of the Greek Uplift Society, 
Panelleni ; also the only Greek professional man to hold membership 
in the National Geographical Society. 

Dr. Gatsopoulos was elected president last year (1918) in the 
great convention in Worcester, Massachusetts, of the Greeks from 
North Epirus, who formed a society of National scope, the National 



BIOGRAPHICAL 357 

Pan-Epirotic Union. He was also appointed to attend the Peace Con- 
ference held in Paris, as one of the two representatives of the Epirotes 
in this country. The other delegate, chosen by the Pan-Epirotic Union, 
at the convention in Worcester, was N. J. Kusavetis. They were to 
go to Paris to put forward the claims of the inhabitants of Epirus, in 
northern Greece, that they be allowed to continue under the govern- 
ment of Greece. Italy's troops entered this old province. 

Dr. Gatsopoulos married, in Lowell, in 191 1, Edith Cox. burn in 
Kent county, England ; her father was a prominent engineer. 



JONATHAN TYLER STEVENS. 

Jonathan Tyler Stevens, son of Charles A. Stevens, was born in 
Ware. December 20, 1844. He was brought up in W'are, educated 
there in the public schools, and in Mr. Woodbridge's school at Auburn- 
dale, and began his business career with his father in the woolen mills 
at Ware. In the winter of 1864-65, he and his father made a visit to 
the Army of the Potomac in front of Petersburg, and both father and 
son were active in their support of the Union cause. In 1875 he re- 
moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, and assumed charge of the estate of 
his grandfither, Jonathan Tj-ler, one of the heaviest taxpayers of that 
city, and in this duty and the care of his own property found occupa- 
tion for the remainder of his life. He was interested in municipal and 
national affairs. He served the city of Lowell in the Common Coun- 
cil, and in 1881-82 represented his district in the General Court, serving 
efficiently on important committees. He was active in the Republican 
party, and often served as delegate to nominating conventions. He 
was four times elected vice-president of the Massachusetts Rc])uh- 
lican Club. He was an active member and generous supporter of the 
First Unitarian Church of Lowell. He was a member of the New 
England Historic-Genealogical Society, elected in 1894. He was inter- 
ested in early American history and especially in the genealogy- of his 
family. He was a member of the Massachusetts Sons of the Revolu- 
tion. "He was a sincere, straightforward, manly man, cordial and 
kindly in disposition, frank and unafTected in demeanor, and com- 
manded the respect and friendship of all who knew him." "His tastes 
were simple and refined, and his chief pleasure was in the pleasure that 
others had. He loved his children and did everything a father could 
to make it pleasant for them." He died in Lowell, March 13, 1902. 

Mr Stevens married, December 3, 1873, Alice Coburn, daughter 
of Charles B. Coburn, of Lowell, a descendant of Edward Coburn, of 
Concord, a pioneer in 1636. whose descendants have been very numer- 
ous in Dracut and vicinit\-. His widow lives in the homestead in Lowell 



358 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

She is a member of the local chapter of the Daughters of the Revolu- 
tion, of the First Unitarian Church, and is highly esteemed by many 
friends. Children: i. Tyler A., a sketch of whom follows. 2. Julia 
W., resides at home. 3. Maria, deceased, married William H. Fox. 4. 
Charles A., married Helene A. Chalifoux, and resides in Lowell. 5. 
01i\'er, married Edna Swain, and resides in Lowell. 



TYLER ABBOTT STEVENS. 

Tyler Abbott Stevens, son of Jonathan Tyler and Alice (Coburn) 
Stevens, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, January 29, 1877. After 
attending private and public schools in the vicinity of his home, he 
completed his education in the Victoria University at Leeds, England. 
In 1898 he began his business career in the woolen industry, and upon 
the death of his father in 1902 succeeded the elder Stevens in the 
management of the Stevens estate, which he administers to the present 
time. Mr. Stevens is a trustee of the Mechanics' Savings Bank, and a 
director of the Traders' and Mechanics' Insurance Company. His 
political belief is Republican, and during 1907-08 he served Lowell as 
a member of the City Council, officiating as president in the latter 
year, and continuing his service to the municipality as a member of 
the Board of Aldermen in 1909. His patriotic ancestry gives him 
membership in the Sons of the Revolution, and his clubs are the 
Yorick and the Vesper Country. He is a communicant of the Uni- 
tarian church. Mr. Stevens is thoroughly identified with the best and 
the most progressive influences in Lowell, and has borne his full share 
in promoting her welfare and prosperity. 

Mr. Stevens married, at Framingham, Massachusetts. A]n\\ 26, 
1905, Grace R., daughter of George W. and Jennie P. Buck. 



MICHAEL HENRY McDONOUGH. 

When a young man, Thomas McDonough came from County Ros- 
common, Ireland, to the United States, and settled in Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, where he died in 1871, a skilled mechanic. He married Alary 
Watson, born in County Conemaugh, Ireland, who also died in Lowell. 
They were parents of Michael H. McDonough, of Lowell, now de- 
ceased, whose life was spent in his native city, who founded and 
directed the business to which he admitted his sons, who are now his 
successors in the firm, M. H. McDonough Sons, undertakers and 
funeral directors. 

Michael H. McDonough was horn in Lowell, Massachusetts, Juh- 
17, 1862. died in the city of his birth, December 26, 191 1. After com- 




^ ^//// kJ C-T^i^yL- e/L. 



RIOGRAPIIICAL 359 

pleting his school years, he became an apprentice under James H. 
McDermott, one of Lowell's leading undertakers, and fur twenty-two 
years continued in that employ, becoming an adept at all phases of the 
undertaking trade and business. During those years he became well 
acquainted in his city and very popular. Finally he established busi- 
ness under his own name, beginning September i, 1906, and for the 
succeeding five years was head of a very prosperous business, his wide 
acquaintance and popularity, as well as his thorough knowledge of 
every detail, insuring him success from the commencement. His 
undertaking rooms were established at No. 108 Gorham street, Lowell, 
later moving to the present location, No. 176 Gorham street, in 1914, 
his sons, whom he made his partners, there continuing the business, 
safeguarding their mother's interest and winning high reputation as 
undertakers and funeral directors. Mr. McDonough was a Democrat 
in politics, and a member of St. Peter's Roman Catholic Church. His 
societies were the Knights of Columbus, Ancient Order of Hibernians, 
Industrial Council, Royal .\rcanum. and the Catholic Order of For- 
esters. He was a prominent worker in St. Peter's Holy Name Society 
and was the financial secretary of the society at the time of his death 
He held the rcs])ect of his large circle of friends, and was one of the 
men whose word was alwaj'S to be relied upon. 

Air. McDonough married, in Lowell, January 3, 1886, Margaret E. 
McGuane. born in Lowell, and there has always resided. Mrs. Mc- 
Donough is a daughter of Michael and Mary (Tully) McGuane, her 
father born in County Clare, her mother in County Cavan, Ireland. 
Both came to Lowell when young, and there I)oth lived and died. 
Michael H. and Margaret K. (McGuane) McDonough were the par- 
ents of eight children, all born in Lowell: i. John Leo. his father's 
associate and partner in the business firm of M. H. McDonough Sons 
and still continuing business under the same name; married Margaret 
E. Maloney, of Lowell, and has a daughter, Margaret M. McDonough. 
2. Thomas Aloysius, died aged four years. 3. William Francis, now 
deceased. 4. Edward Francis, member of M. H. McDonough Sons. 
5. George Michael, was associated with his brothers in the undertak- 
ing business, but enlisted in the United States .Army during the 
World War, serving in the Quartermaster's Department at Camp 
Devens, Massachusetts. 6. Mary Francis, died in infancy. 7. Mar- 
garet, residing with her mother. 8. Harry Lewis, residing at home. 
The sons of Michael H. McDonough, who have succeeded to his busi- 
ness, are all graduates of the Massachusetts School of Embalming, and 
expert in every department of the business. The reputation of the 
establishment is perfectly maintained, and the business exists and 
prospers under their management. 



36o HISTORY OF LOWELL 

CHARLES H. CLOGSTON. 

Banking has occupied Mr. Clogston throughout his entire active 
career, and he is now known in financial circles in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, as the treasurer of the Mechanics' Savings Bank of this city. 
He is prominent in Masonry, identified with numerous social and civic 
organizations, and a leading member uf the First Congregational 
Church. 

Mr. Clogston is a native of South Chelmsford, Massachusetts, 
born October 17, 1867, and was educated in the public schools of that 
town and Lowell. His business career began in the employ of the 
Railroad National Bank of Lowell, where he was employed for four 
years. He was then associated with the First National Bank of Lowell 
for a period of sixteen years, serving as bookkeeper and teller suc- 
cessively, after which he was for eleven years paying teller and assist- 
ant cashier in the Union National Bank of Lowell. His connection 
with the Mechanics' Savings Bank laegan at the end of this time in the 
capacity of treasurer, his present office, and he is likewise a trustee 
of the institution. The Mechanics' Savings Bank was incorporated in 
1 86 1. In its fifty-eight years of activity its affairs have been so con- 
ducted that to-day it enjoys a reputation for careful, conservative busi- 
ness methods surpassed by no other. Its present location is in the 
Mechanics' Bank building, Nos. 204-06 Merrimack street, and here its 
depositors are served with the careful consideration that has won the 
bank its general popularity. At the close of business, January 4, 1919, 
its deposits amounted to more than four millions. Mr. Clogston, in 
addition to his duties as treasiu'er and trustee, is one of the five mem- 
bers of the board of investment. Mr. Clogston has been treasurer of 
the Lowell Masonic Club since its organization. He is a member of 
the Lowell Board of Trade, the Massachusetts Savings Bank Officers' 
Club, and the Vesper Country Club, and is also treasurer of the Lowell 
Humane Society. He is a Republican in politics. 

Mr. Clogston married, in Lowell, Massachusetts, October 20. i8yo, 
Annie J. Dustin, daughter of Azro and Juliette (Barrows) Dustin. 
Mr. and Mrs. Clogston are the parents of one child, Marion H., born 
November 10, 1891, educated in Lowell schools. 



SETH BARTON HALL. 



Seven generations of Halls preceded Seth Barton Hall in New 
England, his American ancestor, William Hall, first appearing in the 
records of Portsmouth. Rhode Island, in 1638. William was a son of 
Rev. W'illiam Hall, a clergyman, who is believed to be William Hall 
who continued the "Fabyan Chronicle."' begun by Sir Thomas Aloore. 
The coat-of-arms is thus described : 



BIOGRAPHICAL 361 

Arms — Three talbols heads on a chevron sable. 
Crest — A griffin's head azure. 

William Hall disappears frinn London, England, records in 1638, 
and as he appeared in Portsmouth the same year the date of his com- 
ing in thus definitely fixed. He was one of the founders of Portsmouth, 
and one of the fifty-nine men who were admitted inhabitants of the 
Island of Aquidneck, August 8, 1638. In 1639 he is of record in New- 
port, Rhode Island, a parcel of land granted him in Portsmouth, May 
27, 1644, and his name is included in a list of freeman in 1655. '^^ was 
a part owner of Canonicut and IJutch Island, he selling a part of his 
holdings on these islands to Richard Sisson, September 6. 1654. He 
was commissioned to the General Court from Portsmouth four terms. 
1654-56-60 and 1663 ; deputy in 1665-66-67-68-72 and 1673, ^"d a mem- 
ber of town council in 1672. The practical effort of Puritan civiliza- 
tion up(}n the Indian is shown in the appointment of William Hall 
in 1673 on a committee to treat with the Indian chiefs and to "seriously 
council them and agree on some way to prevent extreme excess of 
Indian Drunkenness." William Hall's will was dated February 20, 
1673, and was probated April 19, 1676, his age at death, sixty-three 
years. His wife Alary, his executrix, died in 1680. They were the 
parents of six children, descent in this branch being through Zuriel, 
their first born. 

Zuriel Mall was born in Portsmouth, about 1645, and died there 
in 1691. He was not admitted a freeman until 1677. lie married 
Elizabeth Tripp, born in 1648, died in 1701, daughter of John and 
Mary (Paine) Tripp. They were the parents of four children. Their 
second son, Zuriel (2), is head of the third generation. 

Zuriel (2) Hall was born in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, in 1677, 
and died there April 3, 1765, in his eighty-eighth year. He settled 
in P.ellingham, Massachusetts, although some of his children were 
born in Portsmouth, Rhode Island. He married, in September, 1697, 
Susannah Sheffield, born in 1676, died August 3, 1742, daughter of 
William Sheffield of Sherborn and Ilingham, Massachusetts. They 
were the parents of twelve children, the fifth child, Seth, being next in 
line. 

Seth Hall was born in Bellingham, Massachusetts, April 2, 1707, 
died there April 27, 1780. He took a prominent part in town afifairs 
and was a member of the military company. lie married, May 28, 
1737, Abigail Albee of ancient Rhode Island family. They were the 
parents of six children, descent being traced through Seth (2), the 
second son and child. 

Seth (2) Hall was born in Bellingham, Massachusetts, May 15, 
1739, ^"<1 ^'cd April 22, 1757. His intentions of marriage with Martha 



362 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Thompson were published. He married (second) December 17, 1761, 
Elizabeth Spear, a widow. His six children were all by his second 
wife. Descent in this branch is traced through his fourth child, 
Lemuel. 

Lemuel Hall was born in Bellingham, Massachusetts, April 24, 
1768. He lived in Cumberland, Rhode Island, and Belchertown, Mas- 
sachusetts. He married, at Cumberland, Lucia (or Louisa) Gaskill. 
daughter of William Gaskill. Descent is traced through their son, 
Levi Barton, the eldest son and second child. 

Levi Barton Hall was born in Cumberland, Rhode Island, and 
there obtained a public school education and learned a trade. He 
moved from Cumberland to Belchertown, Massachusetts, and there 
followed his trade and engaged in farming. He married Maria Draper, 
and they were the parents of seven children : Caroline ; Seth Barton, 
to whom this review is inscribed ;' Lucy : Ellen ; Elizabeth ; Mary ; and 
Susan, the only survivor, lives at Northampton, Massachusetts. She 
married John L. Draper, now deceased. 

Seth Barton Hall was born at Pelham, Massachusetts, January 
6, 1830, died in Lowell, January 2, 1908. He was educated in the 
district schools, and during his boyhood aided his father in farm 
labor. At an early age he was apprenticed to a provision dealer, who 
taught him the butcher's trade in all its branches from the purchase 
of the cattle on the hoof to their final sale over the counter. After 
mastering the business the young man opened a meat and provision 
store under his own name in Blackstone, Massachusetts, there con- 
tinuing until 1869, when he sold out, moved to Dracut, now part of 
the city of Lowell, and purchased the wholesale native beef and cattle 
business of Daniel Gage. By this purchase he secured the ten-acre 
tract of land that is now the Hall homestead, No. 201 Hildreth street, 
together with all the buildings thereon, which included the buildings 
devoted to the butcher business. Mr. Hall began a general improve- 
ment of the plant and built what was probably the first modern beef 
cooling equipment in the State. He bought cattle on the hoof, dressed 
and prepared it for the market and served both the wholesale and retail 
trade. Some time prior to 1882, Seth B. Hall formed a partnership 
with Charles P. Perham, and they became the local agents for G. H. 
Hammond & Company, the Chicago wholesale beef packers, under the 
firm name of Hall & Perham, who began business on Dutton street, 
Lowell. In 1882 Mr. Hall sold out his interest in Hall & Perham to 
his son, Levi L. Hall, and Mr. Perham sold his interest to his son, 
Charles P. Perham, and they continued business as Hall & Perham. 
After retiring from active business, Mr. Hall became interested in 
Morida lands, purchased an orange grove near .San ]\Iateo, Florida, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 363 

and developed this to a modern orange plantation, and for more than 
twenty years spent the winter season there. 

He was one of the big men of the butcher trade in Lowell, and his 
conservative business ability was generally recognized by the business 
men of the city. He was a director of the Wamesit National Rank 
and a trustee of the Merrimack River Savings Bank ; in politics a 
Republican, and in religious faith a Baptist, serving for more than 
twenty years as a deacon of the Fifth Street Baptist Church. While 
prosperity attended his business enterprise, his success was won 
through strict adherence to the highest principle of commercial integ- 
rity and no man sufifered that he might gain. 

Mr. Hall married (first) Catherine Piarrows, their only child dying 
young. Mr. Hall married (second) January 10, 1854, Rexeville Hunice 
Gallop, at Palmer, Massachusetts. She was born at Guilford, Ver- 
mont, August 14. 1831, died in Lowell, Massachusetts, October 22, 
1899. They were the parents of six children: i. Levi Loreadon, born 
in Belchertown, Massachusetts, February 4, 1855, died at San Mateo, 
Florida, December 28, 1918; he married Cynthia Pope, who survives 
him. 2. Frank D., born in Belchertown, Massachusetts, August 5, 
1857: he married Ida Kempsey, and they are the parents of two chil- 
dren : Seth Wilson and John Richardson. 3. Mary M., born in 
Blackstone, Massachusetts, October 23, 1859, died February 4, 1862. 
4. Carrie Melissa, born in Blackstone, Massachusetts ; she married 
Jude C. Wadleigh, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this work. 5. 
Charles Seth, born in Blackstone, Massachusetts, March 10, 1865, now 
general manager for Swift & Company, the American wholesale beef 
packers, with headquarters in London, England. He married Louise 
Stephens, of Ithaca, New York. 6. Albert Sumner, whose sketch fol- 
lows. Mr. Hall married (third) Melissa, widow of James Richards. 



ALBERT SUMNER HALL. 



Trained in the meat jKicking business under the instruction of his 
father, Mr. llall, until 1913 was identified with this industry in asso- 
ciation with two of the best known packing houses of the country. 
Swift and Company and the G. H. Hammond Company. Since that 
date, when the operations of the Hall-Perham Company, representa- 
tives in Lowell of the G. H. Hammond Company were discontinued, 
Mr. Hall has devoted himself to his private interests. He is a son of 
Seth Parton and Rexeville Funice (Gallop) Hall, and was born on the 
Ilail homestead in Dracut, Massachusetts, his present home, Febru- 
ary 15, 1872. 

He was educated in the public schools of Lowell and the Mitchell 
Boarding School at I'illerica, Massachusetts, and Bryant and Strat- 



364 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ton's Business College, Boston. The elder Hall followed the butcher 
business throughout his active years and Albert S. Hall, in his father's 
employ, learned this line thoroughly, from the beginning to the 
retailing of the product. He entered naturally the wider field offered 
by the national and world business of Swift and Company, becoming 
employed with that great wholesale concern in New York City. His 
thorough preparation and real liking for the packing business won him 
steady advancement to the position of relief manager of all the plants 
of Swift and Company in New York City, and on several occasions 
his was the full responsibility for the direction of these branches. 
Mr. Hall resigned from Swift and Company to take over the interests 
of his brother, Levi L. Hall, in the firm of Hall-Perham Company, 
local agents in Lowell for the G. H. Hammond Company, of Chicago. 
This firm was located at No. 590 Button street, and Mr. Hall continued 
active therein until IQ13, when the business was discontinued and the 
property sold. 

Mr. Hall is the owner of valuable orange groves at San Mateo, 
Florida, and he gives his time to the management of this estate and 
his other private business connections. His home is the old Hall 
homestead, which he owns by purchase of the interests of his co-heirs 
upon his father's death, and in his home he finds his greatest enjoy- 
ment, unrivalled by the attractions of club or fraternity. With his 
farhily he attends the Episcopal church. 

He married Adelaide Gertrude O'Brien at Lowell, November 14, 
1905, daughter of Charles and Gertrude (Cozzens) O'Brien, and they 
are the parents of: Louise Estelle, born July 23, 1907, and Eunice 
Re.xeville, born IDecember 24, igii. 



HARRY PITTS. 



From across the seas, leaving their English home in Yorkshire, 
came in September, 1881, Arthur and Mary Pitts, bringing their son 
Harry, then a babe of fourteen months. Ashton, Rhode Island, was 
their first American home, Lowell their next. Arthur Pitts, now 
deceased, as is his wife, was a mill worker both in England and the 
LTnited States, an overseer and a man of good ability. The son whom 
he trained to habits of industry followed in his footsteps for a time, 
but the advent of the automobile created an opening that he embraced 
and now, although not yet in the prime of life, he has the distinction 
of owning and operating the largest auto supply house north of Bos- 
ton. He is a good business man, fully equipped by natural ability 
and mechanical skill for the business he follows, and is a firm believer 
in the values of svstem both for store and office. The svstem of 



BIOGRAPHICAL ^riS 

accounting he ein])loys in his business is one of modern oriijin, and 
is pronounced by experts as the very best that can he devised for 
such a business. 

Harry Pitts, son of Arthur and Mary Pitts, was born in Brad- 
ford, Yorkshire, England, July 8, 1880, and fourteen months later was 
brought to the United States by his parents. The family settled in 
Ashton, Rhode Island, where the boy, Harry, began his education in 
tlie pulilic schools. Later they moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, 
where he continued his studies in Bartlett street grammar school. 
1 le began life as a wage earner in the Boott Mills, later was employed 
at the United States Printing Mill, thence to the Lowell Electric Light 
Corporation, serving the latter company for one year as "trouble 
man." He next went into the electrical business for himself, so con- 
tinuing for one year. He became well versed in electrical work, be- 
came familiar with the automobile, and for a few years he was not 
settled in any one place of business, but was ready for anything that 
came his way anywhere. He was variously employed at electrical 
and other work, was chauffeur for a time for Hon. Charles II. Allen. 
and one of the first regularly employed chauffeurs of the city. This 
continued until iyo6 when he was sent to Europe by the Peerless 
Motor Company of Boston, to demonstrate their motor, an assign- 
ment which kept him in Europe eight months. Upon his return he 
became foreman of the repair shop operated by the Peerless Motor 
Company in Boston, a position he filled for one year. He then roamed 
from shop to shop adding to his already overflowing knowledge of 
motors and motoring. This continued until 1909, when he returned 
to Lowell. 

In 1910, Mr. Pitts decided a most important question for himself, 
and placed himself among the business men of Lowell. He started 
the Pitts Auto Supply Store, at No. 7 Ilurd street, he and a clerk 
constituting the entire sales and office force, his stock occupying but 
half the store, another business renting the other half. But his was 
the first strictly auto supph' store in the city, and business came to 
him in abundance. He soon absorbed the entire space at No. 7 Hurd 
street, and added No. 9 in 1912, making them into one store. In 1916 
he organized the Pitts Motor Sales Agency, to take the agency for the 
Ford car, that business being located at No. 53 Hurd street. Mr. 
Pitts also maintains ofifices at No. 12 Hurd street. Success has come 
to him in abundance, but it has been richly earned and well deserved. 
The capital with which he started the little store at No. 7 was saved 
from his earnings, and while he has always had friends willing and 
ready to aid him, he may truly claim to have been the architect of his 
own fortunes and to have won his own wav. Both branches of his 



366 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

business are well managed and prosperous. While he is a most modest 
and unassuming man, he is proud of his business and of the compre- 
hensive system of accounting under which it is managed. 

Still a young man, Mr. Pitts retains his early love for sports, base- 
ball being his favorite recreation. He gave the Pitts Trophy as a 
long distance swimming prize between Tungsboro and Lowell. He is 
proprietor of the Pitts South Ends Baseball Team, which held the 
semi-professional championship of the Merrimack valley for four 
years. Mr. Pitts is a thirty-second degree Mason of the Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite ; member of Ancient York Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; a life member of Aleppo Temple, of the Mystic Shrine. 
He is a member of Lowell Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, also the following: Lowell Country Club; Boston Athletic 
Association ; Martin Luther Club ; Royal Arcanum ; Lowell Board of 
Trade ; Young Men's Christian Association ; Masonic Club ; Associa- 
tion of Massachusetts Elks; Lowell Motor Boat Club; Kewanis Club; 
Fish and Game Association ; and the Automobile Legal Association. 
In all these associations and clubs he takes a lively interest, and is 
highly esteemed by his brethren, clubmates and associates. 

Mr. Pitts married, in Lowell, February 15, 1911, Ellen Dalgliesh, 
daughter of Adam and Elizabeth Dalgliesh. Mr. and Mrs. Pitts are 
the parents of a daughter. FHeanor Mae, born November 6, 191 1, at- 
tending Greenhalge public school. 



THOMAS GOODALE ROBBINS. 

In 1899, after graduation from law school, j\Ir. Robbins was ad- 
mitted to the Massachusetts bar, and later in the same year was 
admitted to practice at the New Hampshire bar. He located in Hills- 
boro. New Hampshire, in the fall of 1899, and after a few weeks came 
to Lowell, Massachusetts, in October, 1899, 3-"tl is there well known 
as lawyer and educator, having been connected with the Evening High 
School for eight years as principal. He is a son of Captain George A. 
and Mary C. Robbins, his father a veteran officer of the Civil W"ar, 
captain of Company A in the First Regiment, New Hampshire 
Cavalry. 

Thomas G. Robbins was born at Hillsboro, New Hampshire, Jan- 
uary 16, 1874. After completing the courses of Wesleyan Academy, 
he entered the law department of Boston University, whence he was 
graduated LL. B., and admitted to the Massachusetts bar, February 
9, 1899. He returned to New Hampshire later and was admitted to 
the bar of that State, September 12, 1899. He practiced in New Hamp- 
shire until October, 1899, then located in Lowell, which has ever since 



RIOGRAPHICAL 367 

l)ccti his hotiic and the scat of his practice. In nK)/, Mr. Robbins was 
appointed jjrincipal of Lowell Evening High School, a position he held 
continuously until 1916. He is a member of the professional societies 
of the city, Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, the Vesper 
Country Club, the Mt. Pleasant Golf Club, the First Universalist 
Church, and in politics is a Rei)ublican. 

Mr. Robljins married, March 28, lyii, Lilla l'21eanor Roche, 
daughter of Thomas J. and Lilla Eleanor Roche. Mr. and Mrs. Rob- 
bins had two sons: Charnley Simpson, born October 16, 1913, died at 
the age of ten da\s ; and Thomas Goodalc, jr., April 4. 1915. 



ROBERT B. WOOD. 



A descendant of Robert Wood, of linglish birth, and of the third 
generation of his family to reside in Lowell, Robert B. Wood, after 
residence in other cities, returned to Lowell, and as an exponent of 
photographic art conducts the Marion Studio in the Chalifoux build- 
ing, ranking with the best camera artists. lie is a grandson of 
Robert Wood, born in Saymundham, England, April 23, 1820, and 
came to the United States in 1839, locating in the city of Boston, 
October 13 of that year, and died in the city of Lowell, February 2, 
1892. He located in Lowell, October 28, 1842, and there became dis- 
tinguished in his profession of veterinary surgery and in political 
life. As a veterinarian he answered calls upon his skill from all parts 
of Massachusetts north of Boston. He was a member of the Board of 
Aldermen in 1880-81, a pioneer member of the Old Residents Associa- 
tion ; member of Ancient York Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 
Mt. Horcb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Ahasuerus Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar ; The 
Humane Society ; and the Lowell Board of Trade. He married, in 
August, 1846, Martha A. Mason, who survived him, the mother of his 
only son, Charles R., and his daughters, Annie M., who married Frank 
P. Hill, of Newark, New Jersey; and Mary F.., who married Harry R. 
Rice, of Lowell. 

Dr. Charles R. Wood, only son of Dr. Robert Wood, was born in 
Lowell, Massachusetts, July 11, 1847, «'"<i was educated in the schools 
of his native city. The success attained by his father as a veterinarian 
impressed him with a favorable opinion of that profession, and he 
made it his own. He prepared at New York College of Veterinary 
Surgery, and after obtaining his degree returned to Lowell, where he 
practiced for a time, later removing to Providence, Rhode Island. He 
attained eminence in his profession, was a man of high character, 
greatly esteemed where he was known. He married Lizzie B. \\'ig- 



368 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

gin, and thuy were the parents of three sons, and one daughter: i. Rob- 
ert B., of further mention. 2. Harry M., now residing in Buffalo, 
N. Y., district manager of the Export American Industries, a corpora- 
tion for introducing American made goods to foreign buyers ; he mar- 
ried Bertha Moody, daughter of Horace E. and Janet C. Moody, of 
Lowell. 3. George H., a photographer, associated with his brother, 
Robert B. in the work of the Marion Studio ; he married Eva, daugh- 
ter of Alexander and Elizabeth Cruikshank, her father an ice cream 
manufacturer of Lowell ; they are the parents of a daughter, June 
Elizabeth. 4. Harriet, married Walker F. Whitaker, an automobile 
salesman of Providence, Rhode Island ; they are the parents of a 
daughter, Elizabeth. 

Robert B. Wood, eldest son of Dr. Charles R. and Lizzie B. 
(Wiggin) Wood, was born in Manchester, New Hampshire, Febru- 
ary 20, 1876. He was educated in the grade and high schools of Salem, 
Massachusetts, and after completing his school years was associated 
with his father for five years, but the profession followed by his father 
and grandfather did not make any appeal to his nature, and after the 
five years association he made his start as an artist. He began his 
new career with the "Courier-Citizen" of Lowell in the art depart- 
ment, advanced rapidly, and became, as he has continued, one of the 
strong features in that department of the "Courier-Citizen." In 191 1 
Mr. Wood purchased the Marion Studio founded in Lowell by John 
Marion about 1861. Since 191 1 he has, in addition to his duties in 
connection with the art room of the "Courier-Citizen," conducted the 
Marion Studio, being assisted at the studio by his brother, George H. 
Wood, a talented photographic artist. At the Marion Studio photog- 
raphy in all its brandies, portrait, scenic and commercial, has been 
brought to a high degree of perfection, an appreciative public respond- 
ing to the efforts made in their behalf with a liberal patronage. 

Mr. Wood is a member of Kilwinning Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Mt. Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Mason ; Ahasuerus Coun- 
cil, Royal and Select Masters ; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar; and in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite has attained the 
thirty-second degree. He is a member of the Lowell Board of Trade, 
the Vesper Country Club, and in politics is a Republican. He is a 
man of genial, friendly nature and pleasant personality, has many 
friends, and is highly esteemed as a business man and citizen. 

Mr. Wood married, November 25, 1903, Ethel L. Peirce, daugh- 
ter of Andrew and Lucy L, (Darton) Peirce, of the New England 
Peirce family from which sprung Franklin Pierce, president of the 
United States. The Wood residence is No. 153 Fort Hill avenue, 
Lowell. 



lUOGRAr-IITCAL 369 

ANDREW G. STILE. 

As city treasurer, Mr. Stile was the honored head of a depart- 
ment of the city government with which he had long been connected. 
In fact he came to the treasurer's office shortly after completing his 
high school course, and worked his w^ay from the bottom in a subordi- 
nate position to that of one of the heads of the Lowell city govern- 
ment. He is a son of Alva G. Stile, born in Waterford, Vermont, in 
1831, died in Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1914, a grain and flour mer- 
chant. Alva C. Stile married (first) Carolina , born in Stock- 
ton, Massachusetts, who died in 1867. He married (second) Amelia 
Johninson. of Lowell. He married (third) Mrs. Mary Hanchet, a 
widow, now deceased. The children of his first marriage are : George 
F., deputy sheriff and court officer ; Carolina, married Fred F. Pack- 
ard, of Brooklyn; Andrew G., of further mention; A. Gertrude; Ber- 
tha A. 

Andrew G. Stile was born in Lowell. Massachusetts, April 4, 
1865, and educated in the grade and high schools of the city. He 
began business life as junior clerk in the treasurer's office, and through 
various promotions came to his last position, city treasurer. He is an 
able man of business, skilled in the duties of the treasurer's office, and 
was a worthy custodian of the city funds. He retired from city 
treasurership, and is now living at Cambridge, Massachusetts. He is 
a member of the Masonic order, holding the thirty-second degree, 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite ; member of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks ; Worthen Street Baptist Church ; and the Cen- 
tral Club. He is fond of sports of the open, particularly that of fishing. 



JOHN MICHAEL PINARDI. 

John Michael Pinardi, son of Charles .\. and Frances (Aljbiati) 
Pinardi, was born in Rockland, Maine, October 12, 1880. He w^as edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of Groton, Connecticut, and com- 
pleted his studies in The Commercial College of Westerly. Rhode 
Island. He began and finished an apprenticeship in marble and 
granite cutting at Quincy, Massachusetts, under the w-ell known Cav- 
anaugh Brothers of that city. He then returned to Westerly, Rhode 
Island, and for two years took up statue cutting, sculpturing in clay 
and the finer details of monumental art in the studios of his father. 
In 1903 he came to Lowell, Massachusetts, and for ten years pursued 
his calling with Gumb Brothers as letterer and carver of artistic 
memorial work. .\t the same time he attended the Lowell Evening 
Drawing School, and in a remarkably short space of time he graduated 
with the highest possible honors in three of its principal courses, 
namely, the free-hand class, modeling in claj- and the course in archi- 

L-24 



370 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

tectural drawing and water color. In 1913 he organized the Lowell 
Monument Company, and as the head of this enterprise has accom- 
plished excellent results by his agreeable personality and honorable 
business methods, rendering service and performing work of high 
merit. Mr. Pinardi is in a position to give full rein to his natural 
artistic talent in designing tasteful and appropriate monuments, 
memorials, and statuary for park, cemetery, church, and home, and in 
addition to extensive work along these lines he has done considerable 
interior marble work for public buildings. His artistic talent comes 
from a long line of ancestors, both paternal and maternal. His father, 
Charles A. Pinardi, of Westerly, Rhode Island, won fame as a sculp- 
tor, many notable works of art being credited to him, while most of 
the Abbiati family, formerly residents of the northern section of Italy, 
long celebrated as an art center, were highly skilled workers in marble 
and stone 

The Lowell Monument Comijany has its plant, yards, and offices 
at Nos. 1056-62 Gorham street, and is equipped with complete and 
most modern appliances for the manufacture of all kinds of marble 
and granite memorial work. Many beautiful monuments of splendid 
design and execution have been placed by the company in the various 
cemeteries of the city, and from its yards a number of works of art 
have gone forth to various parts of the United States. The popularity 
of the company and the quality of its work are attested by its growth 
from a modest beginning to membership among the very few leading 
concerns of its kind in the State of Massachusetts. Mr. Pinardi has 
supplied a great need in Lowell, for whereas it was formerly neces- 
sary to import desirable sculptured memorials, statues, and art work 
in granite and marble, he now not only supplies Lowell's demands, 
but has an important outside patronage. He has recently installed 
new machinery to facilitate work on the many war memorials for dif- 
ferent parts of the countrv. 

In 1900 and 1901 Mr. Pinardi was a member of Company K, 
Fifth Alassachusetts Infantry, at Braintree. He is a member of the 
Lowell Board of Trade, and se\eral leading fraternal organizations. 
Politically he is an Independent, and in religion a member of the 
Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church, also affiliating with the Holv 
Name Society of that congregation. 

Mr. Pinardi married, in Lowell, June 30. 1904. Josephine Trudel, 
daughter of Michael and Josephine (Hamel) Trudel, of Lowell. 



CHURCH OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION. 

The Church of the Immaculate Conception, dedicated June 10, 
1877, 's a very handsom.e one, and with its statue of the Immaculate 



BTOGRAI'IIICAL 



371 



Conception, waich was placed in the niche near the top of the gable 
on the Merrimack street side, and with the beautiful lawn in front 
called Columbus Park, forms a most pleasing view. The church owes 
its existence to the Order Oblates of Mary Immaculate, two priests of 
that order coming to Lowell in 1868. Their coming was the result of 
a wish expressed by Bishop Williams during a conference with Father 
V'anderburg, Provincial of the Order of Oblates in Canada, that a 
French-Canadian priest be sent to Lowell to care spiritually for the 
fast growing colony of l-'rench Canadians in that city. 

The two Oblate Fathers sent to Lowell to preach a mission were 
Rev. Andrew M. Garin and Rev. Father Lagier. They were made 
welcome at St. John's Hospital, and there conducted services in St. 
John's Chapel connected with that institution. Soon Father Garin 
bought a building on Lee street, and from this sprang St. Joseph's, 
which he founded and built up to be the strong and prosperous parish 
of St. Joseph's. Services were continued at St. John's Chapel, but 
soon it was thought best that the chajjel, which was part of the hos- 
pital, should be placed wholly in charge of the Oblates, and arrange- 
ments were made to that effect with Sister Rose, then Superior of St. 
John's Hospital. This change converted the chapel into a parish 
church, which was given the name. Church of the Immaculate Con- 
ception. Owing to the increase in population it was not long before 
a new church was a necessity, the little wooden chapel purchased 
from the Sisters of Charity in charge of St. John's Hospital having 
fulfilled its mission in giving birth to two prosperous churches, St. 
Joseph's for the French and Immaculate Conce])tion for the English- 
speaking people. .\ lot was purchased by the first pastor, Rev. James 
McGrath, an Oblate, whose pastorate began in Octolier, 1870, and 
upon that lot rose the present beautiful building. Plans were made 
by the famed architect Keely, of Brooklyn, New York. Work was 
begun on the foundation walls in April, 1871, and the cornerstone laid 
with appropriate ceremonies by Bishop Williams, December 30, 1871. 
The following summer the basement was finished and blessed. Solemn 
High Mass being sung by the Provincial of the Order of Oblates, 
Father Vanderburg, and a sermon preached by Bishop Williams, July 
7, 1872. The basement was used as a temporary church until the com- 
pletion of the main building in 1877. Dedicatory services were held 
June 10, )Sy/, Solemn High Mass being celebrated by Rev. Father 
Antoine, Provincial of the Oblates, Bishop O'Reilly, of Springfield. 
Massachusetts, preaching the sermon. The building, modern Gothic, 
and cruciform in style, is of granite, one hundred and ninety-two feet 
long, one hundred and nine feet wide in the transepts, and seventy- 
six feet in the nave, seating about two thousand persons. A notable 
feature of the interior is the magnificent marble altar erected in 1888 



>,-]2 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

replacing the one in former use. On November 24, 1878, occurred the 
translation of the relics of St. Veracunda, that date yet being ob- 
served as an annual anniversary event of the church. The parsonage, 
a building in keeping with the church, is erected at the corner of 
Stackpole and Fayette streets, the work being started on that build- 
ing in 1889. In 1892, the lot in front of the church facing on East 
Merrimack street was bought and converted into a beautiful lawn 
called Columbus Park. In the parish are two schools in charge of 
the Gray Nuns, the first opened in September, 1881, with six Sisters in 
charge. Father McGrath was succeeded as pastor by Rev. C. J. Smith, 
and he by Rev. William D. Joyce, born in Ireland, November 30, 1856, 
under all of whom the church flourished and became one of the best 
equipped in the archdiocese. He was succeeded in 1901 by Eugene 
A. Dorgan, then by Father McRory, who was pastor for two years, 
and after him came Father George Nolan, for part of a year, and 
finallv Father Tighe. who is still at the head of this church. 



PATRICK FRANK DEVINE. 

Thirty years ago, in 1888, Mr. Deviiie came to Lowell from lioston, 
and established the business which, under the firm name, P. F. De- 
vine, he has most successfully conducted. He is a son of Neal and 
Bridget (Bradley) Devine, both born in Ireland, who came early in 
life to Boston, Massachusetts, and there were married. Neal Devine 
was engaged in the hotel business in Boston for many years, finally 
moving to Scarboro, Maine, where he bought a farm, becoming as 
successful a farmer as he had formerly been a hotelkeeper. At the 
death of his wife he retired from all business, moved to Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, and there resided until death. Two of his sons also became 
residents of Lowell, John and Patrick F. 

Patrick F. Devine was born at the home farm, Scarboro, Maine, 
April 15, 1862, and died November 17, 1918, in Lowell, Massachusetts. 
He was" educated in Scarboro public schools, and remained in the 
town of his birth until twenty-one years of age, engaging for several 
of those years in the dairy business. He then went to Boston, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he entered the factory employ of Josiah Gumming, 
then, as now, a prominent manufacturer of trunks, traveling bags, and 
leather goods of varied kinds. He remained with Mr. Gumming four 
years, and became thoroughly skilled in the manufacturing of trunks, 
traveling bags and kindred kind. He then located in Lowell. Massa- 
chusetts, where under the name P. F. Devine he founded what is now 
the leading business of its kind in the city. The first store opened by 
Mr. Devine in Lowell was at No. t,2 Middlesex street, the Grown 
Theatre now occupying the site. He opened that little store on St. 




^ /^^^^^^^*^^ 



bioi;kai'iiical 373 

Patrick's Day, 1888, with a stock of trunks, bags, leather goods, he 
being proprietor, clerk, bookkeeper, cashier, and office boy. But he 
triumphed, and from this small beginning went forward to a fine busi- 
ness success as manufacturer and merchant. In five years he outgrew 
his original quarters at No. 32 and secured the adjoining store at No. 
30, and soon afterward opened a branch store on Central street. In 
1905 he moved from Middlesex to Merrimack street, opening at No. 
88, later at No. 124, there remaining until 1915, when again being 
cramped for room he moved to his present commodious store at No. 
156 Merrimack street. In 1914 he closed out the Central street store, 
and now concentrates his Lowell business at No. 156 Merrimack 
street. The success he met with in Lowell is also the story of a 
branch of the same business which he established in Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts, in 1898, at No. 410 Essex street. That store in time proved 
too small, and the business is now located at No. 260 Essex street. 
On March 17, 1918, the thirtieth anniversary of his beginning busi- 
ness in Lowell was held, many of his friends and employees celebrat- 
ing the occasion by a banquet in Mr. Devine's honor. During the 
summer of 1918 he was incapacitated by a serious illness, the business 
in the meantime being under the capable management of Mr. Devine's 
wife, a woman of strong character and business ability, who had 
always been his confidant in business matters. In politics, Mr. Devine 
is an Independent with Democratic leanings, a member of the Roman 
Catholic church, Knights of Columbus, Royal Arcanum, Lowell Board 
of Trade, and a strong supporter of all movements for Lowell's bet- 
terment. 

Mr. Devine married in Lowell, Januar)- 27, 1896. Emma Frances 
Head, daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Cunningham) Head, her father 
an upholsterer by trade, born in London, England ; her mother in 
Ireland ; both parents died in Lowell. Mr. and Mrs. Devine are the 
parents of a daughter, Dorothy Mae, born in Lowell. The family home 
since marriage has been at No. 67 Park View avenue until the spring 
of 1918, when it was sold. 

Such in brief is the life story of Patrick I''. Devine, a man who left 
his impress upon the business life of his city, and set an example of 
industry, integrity and business foresight which every young man 
can with profit emulate. He thoroughly mastered every detail of 
the business which he proposed to follow, and that knowledge covered 
the manufacturing as well as the merchandising departments. With 
this expert knowledge of his business as his principal capital in the 
beginning, he rapidly acquired skill and ability as a merchant, success 
following as sure result. While he became the leading merchant of 
his line in Lowell, he did not sacrifice the finer side of his nature, but 



374 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

was devoted to his home and family, and there his many good qual- 
ities shone brightest. He was social, genial and hospitable, making 
friends easily, his personality attracting men, his manly, upright life 
retaining the respect and esteem until the end. 



REV. PATRICK JOSEPH RALLY. 

Father Hally prepared for the priesthood in his native Ireland, 
but since ordination has been engaged in pastoral work in the arch- 
diocese of Boston, Massachusetts, where he has labored with most 
gratifying result. He is now pastor of St. Columba's Parish, in 
Lowell, and engages in his holy calling with a heart filled with zeal 
and love for his fellowmen. Patrick J. Hally, son of Patrick and 
Bridget (Prendergast) Hally, was born in Clonmel, County Tipperary, 
Ireland, March 2t„ 1846. He was educated in the Christian Brothers 
School of St. Peter and Paul's Parish in Clonmel, St. John's Diocesan 
Seminary in Waterford City, and Royal College of St. Patrick, founded 
in 1795 for the education of the Roman Catholic clergy in Maynooth, 
County Kildare. At All Hallows College, Dublin, he was ordained a 
priest of the Roman Catholic church, September 29, 1868. 

Tne same year he came to the United States, and in November 
was appointed assistant to Rev. Henry Lennon, rector of the Immac- 
ulate Conception Church at Newburyport, Massachusetts. There he 
served as assistant pastor until Father Lennon's death, in 1871, then 
was pastor of several parishes in the archdiocese of Boston, viz. : Dan- 
vers, Plymouth, Wakefield, Salem, Georgetown, Allston, Maiden, and 
finally St. Columba's, at Lowell, his present charge. These assign- 
ments were filled with honor and as the young father grew in strength 
as pastor and spiritual leader his responsibilities were correspondingly 
increased. The result of his years of labor were the complete extin- 
guishment of many parish debts ; the enlargement and improvement of 
the church at Danvers ; the building of a rectory at Wakefield ; the 
building of the Church of St. Agnes, at Reading, and the building of a 
parochial school for boys, and the purchase of a convent at Salem ; 
the consecration there October 5, 1890, of the Church of the Immacu- 
late Conception by Archbishop Williams, assisted by Bishops Healey, 
of Portland, and O'Reilly, of Springfield, Massachusetts ; the erection 
of a rectory in Allston, and the opening of Cheverus Centennial 
School in Maiden, a school furnishing instruction to eleven hundred 
boys and girls of the Sacred Heart Parish. To this temporal gain 
mtist be added great spiritual uplift and the improved conditions of all 
parish work which followed the opening of these new churches and 
schools. 




K^^^UznA ^A j/zTT^ 



BIOCRAnilCAL 375 

Fatlie: Flallx- came to St. Coluniha's Parish, in Lnwell, lan- 
uary i6, 1916, and has served his parish most acceptably during the 
years which have since intervened. He is wholly devoted to the work 
of the ministry, and deems no labor too severe if within the line of 
duty. Me is a member of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, the Cath- 
olic Order of Foresters, the Knights of St. Rose, and the Knights of 
Columbus. 



FRANK WALTER FOYE, 



The city of Lowell has no more stirring or successful business 
man than the one whose name heads this article. Mr. Foye, in addi- 
tion to being head of the well known flour firm of Frank \V. Fo3-e 
Company, of Lowell, is traveling salesman for the William AL Flan- 
ders Company, wholesale grocers, of Boston, and is widely known as 
one of the most aggressive men in the New England territory. 

James H. Foye, father of Frank Walter Foye, was born in Lowell, 
and lived there all his life. For over thirty-one years he was a con- 
ductor on the street cars, serving continuously and never taking a 
vacation. Mr. Foye married Theresa Hughes, also a native of Lowell, 
and their children were : Frank Walter, mentioned below ; \radaline 
T. ; Harold J., married Theresa Spalene ; Helen AL ; and Alice D. Air. 
Foye died December 10, 1918, and up to his last illness was actively 
engaged as one of the old standbys of the road. He was a man of 
strong principles and great good nature, and* was much liked and 
highly esteemed. His widow is still living in Lowell. 

P'rank Walter F""oye, son of James II. and Theresa (Hughes) 
Foye, was born July 10, 1887, in Lowell, and attended the Highland 
Grammar School and the Lowell High School. While a student at the 
latter institution, he was one of the track athletes of the school, being, 
in fact, among the most prominent, and representing the Lowell High 
School in the six hundred yard race at the Boston Athletic Association 
Meet held in 1905. At the beginning of his business career, Mr. Foye 
secured employment with the Talbot Clothing Company of Lowell, 
with which he remained one year. Desiring then to engage in a 
wholesale line, he obtained a position as salesman for the wholesale 
grocery house of Cofifey Brothers, of Lowell, and as their Lowell 
salesman, had charge of this territory for four years. During that 
four years he greatly enlarged his knowledge of the wholesale grocery 
business, and when a wider field was offered him was fully prepared 
to accept it. For the next ten years he was travelling salesman for 
the large wholesale grocery house of Daniels, Cornell Company, Man- 
chester, New Hampshire, taking charge, practically, of all their South- 



376 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ern New Hampshire and Eastern Massachusetts territory. In 1917 
he entered upon his present position of travelling salesman for William 
M. Flanders Company, wholesale grocers of Boston, with headquarters 
in Lowell. Each one of the houses with which Mr. Foye has been 
connected has found that his wisely directed aggressiveness caused a 
speedy and extensive increase in its sales, a result which created a 
large demand for his services. This demand increased year by year 
as Mr. Foye gained experience and assumed greater responsibilities. 
He is now almost without a rival in his own special line of business. 

Being in constant touch with the conditions of the wholesale and 
retail grocery business of the New England territory, and having a 
personal acquaintance with practically every grocer, at least every 
retail grocer in northern New England, and thus knowing the demands 
of the trade, Mr. Foye occupied a position abounding in opportunity. 
Always alert to recognize opportunity, he saw, in 1919, a very advan- 
tageous opening for the introduction of a high quality standard brand 
of flour. With him to perceive was to act, and he promptly secured 
the agency of the Bridal Veil brand of flour for the Lowell, Lawrence, 
and Nashua, New Hampshire, territory. It was then that he organ- 
ized the firm of Frank \\'. Foye Company, in Lowell, and, in addition 
to his connection with William M. Flanders Company, of Boston, 
became the distributor of the Bridal Veil flour. His success in the sale 
of this flour in this territory has been truly wonderful. He disposes 
of it, literally, in car-load lots. Being a keen student of the flour 
market, he is not afraid to take chances in purchasing in large lots in 
order that he may dispose of it in the same way to the trade. Politi- 
cally Mr. Foye is a Republican. He belongs to Lowell Council, No. 
/2, Knights of Columbus, and Lowell Council, No. 365, United Com- 
mercial Travellers, of which he is senior councilor. His clubs are 
the Nashua Country Club, the Longmeadow Golf Club, the Washing- 
ton Club, of Lowell, and the Eastern Commercial Travellers' Club. 

Mr. Foye married, January 7, 1913, at Lowell, Emma M., daugh- 
ter of Walter H. and Margaret C. (Maguire) Bagshaw, of that city. 
A biography of Mr. Bagshaw appears elsewhere in this work. Mr. 
and Mrs. Foye are the parents of four children : Margaret Theresa, 
Ilene Aneta, Emma M., and Walter Bagshaw. The home of Mr. and 
Mrs. Foye is in Chelmsford Centre, and it is there that Mr. Foye de- 
lights to spend the few hours of leisure permitted him by the strenuous 
demands of his business. His favorite recreations are golf and 
athletics. 

Frank Walter Foye may be truly termed a dynamo of energy and 
a real live wire. He has proved by his experience that "the course 
of boldness is the course of safety." 



BIOGRAPHICAL 377 

ALBION C. TAYLOR. 

just completing a half century of life in Lowell, his birthplace, 
Mr. Taylor bears a name long associated with Lowell's business life, 
and is head of the business another Albion C. Taylor founded, in 1854. 
The original business was buying, selling and shipping of fruit. After 
a few years, Albion C. Taylor, father of the present owner, admitted 
a partner, Gilmore G. Cook, the firm name being Cook, Taylor & Com- 
pany. The business was then changed to a dry goods and ladies' 
ready-to-wear garment house. This business, one of the oldest in the 
city, is now owned by Albion C. Taylor, son of the founder, who from 
boyhood has been connected with it, beginning at the bottom and thor- 
oughly mastering every detail of each position held before being 
advanced to a higher one. At one time two stores were conducted by 
Mr. Taylor, the main store at Nos. 231-235 Central street, the other 
at Nos. 98-100 Merrimack street, both under the original firm name, 
Cook, Taylor & Company. At the present time the business is con- 
ducted at the Merrimack street store, the firm having leased the Cen- 
tral street store. The firm is well known and years ago bore the title, 
"Old and Reliable," a name never forfeited. 

Albion C. Taylor, the father, was born in W'aterbury, Maine, in 
1834. After several changes and hard experiences, as a lad, he located 
in Lowell, where, in 1854, he started a small fruit store. He developed 
strong business ability, and when, a few years later, he established the 
dry goods firm. Cook, Taylor & Company, it was no novice but a 
practical, alert business man who, with zeal and wisdom, assumed 
the reigns of management and developed the business which now, 
sixty years later, is owned and ably managed by another Albion C. 
Taylor. After a successful business life, during which he won civilian 
honors as well. Air. Taylor died in 1901, aged sixty-seven years. 

Albion C. Taylor, son of the founder of the firm. Cook, Taylor & 
Company, was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, at the family home on 
Appleton street, June 6, 1868. He passed the grade schools and en- 
tered high school but before finishing the course in that school, left 
to enter Bryant & Stratton's Business College in Boston. After com- 
pleting his school years, he entered the employment of Cook, Taylor 
& Company, there under his honored father's direction mastering the 
details of the business of which he is now the owner and directing 
head. The lines carried by this "Old and Reliable" house consist of 
general dress goods, coats, suits, ladies' ready-to-wear garments and 
furnishings. Perhaps the oldest house of its kind in the city, its pat- 
ronage is substantial and secure, the years having established that 
confidence w^hich is the basis of all prosperity. 



378 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Air. Tavlor is a Republican in politics, and in 1904 represented 
Ward Nine on the Board of Aldermen. He has real estate interests of 
importance, but his mercantile business is his great business interest 
with Cook, Taylor & Company, the only mercantile house with which 
he has ever been connected. He is a member of the Board of Trade, 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. He is highly 
esteemed as a business man and citizen. 



JOHN WILLIAM ROBINSON. 

The success which attended Mr. Robinson as head and sole owner 
of Robinson & Robinson, structural engineers, of Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, is a wonderful testimonial to the value of the International 
Correspondence School, and a high tribute to his own energj', perse- 
verance and ability. Thousands have taken these courses without 
attaining unusual results, but when the right man and the right course 
of study form a combination wonderful results follow. And this is 
true of every educational institution or system, the man is the motive 
power, the school the medium through which ambition crystallizes 
into action. While Mr. Robinson does not detract from his own well 
directed effort, he gives to the International Correspondence School 
the credit for providing the opportunity which was otherwise denied 
him. 

John W. Robinson is a son of Joseph Robinson, who at the age of 
nineteen came from his native England to the United States, and is 
now overseer in the Lowell Bleachery and Dye Works. He and his 
wife, Elizabeth J. Robinson, reside at No. 230 Princeton street, Lowell. 

John W. Robinson was born in Nashua, New Hampshire, April 
9, 1875. During his youth he resided in Nashua, Lawrence and 
Lowell, in all these cities attending the public schools. After leaving 
school he entered the employ of the Lowell Bleachery as ofifice boy, 
being then in his fourteenth year. He continued with that corporation 
four years, filling the positions of office boy, junior clerk, and clerk. 
He left the Bleachery to become assistant cashier of the old Western 
Division of the Boston & Maine Railway, a branch soon afterward 
closed by legislative enactment. Being of a mechanical turn of mind, 
he decided this was an opportune time to connect with some mechan- 
ical activity, learn it thoroughly and make it his life work. He chose 
architectural drawing and engineering, secured a position with W. H. 
Wiggin, a prominent contractor, enrolled for an engineering course 
with the International Correspondence School, and before reaching 
his twentieth year had so progressed that he had won his employer's 
confidence, and was called upon to make estimates of cost and to 





^ 




RIOGRAPHICAL 379 

superintend smiK- inijuirtant construction. He continued in constantly 
increasing responsible positions with Mr. Wiggin for fifteen years, 
only the death of his employer dissolving the bond. He had developed 
into a strong self-reliant man, with a rich fund of constructive exper- 
ience to reinforce his natural ability and technical attainment, ranking 
among the strong men of his business which naay be also termed a 
profession. 

After the death of his long time employer, Mr. Robinson entered 
the same business under the firm name of Robinson & Robinson, to 
avoid confusion, there being another John W. Robinson in the city. 
The ofifices are at No. 64 Central street, Lowell. Mr. Robinson's busi- 
ness, as sole owner and manager, is the making of plans, engineering 
and construction of industrial buildings. He also deals at wholesale 
in lumber, brick, lime and cement, and is employed by several fire 
insurance companies to appraise their fire losses all over New Eng- 
land. (3ther corporations rely upon Mr. Robinson for engineering 
plans, specifications, estimates and construction, the Lowell Bleachery, 
Tremont and SufYolk Mills, and Lowell Electric Light Company, 
supplying him with a great deal of building. As a contracting engi- 
neer, he has developed a large business, and has won the confidence of 
the large mill owners who adopt his plans and accept his estimates as 
final authority. 

Mr. Robinson is a member of the National Contractors' Associa- 
tion ; Lowell Board of Trade ; Builders' Association of Lowell ; the 
Yorick Club ; \'esper Coimtry Club ; St. John's Protestant Episcopal 
Church ; and in politics is a Republican. He is a man of untiring 
industry, but not unmindful of the softer side of life, enjoys a game 
of golf, and is partial to the social features of club life. But as he won 
success, so he retains his position by keeping in advance, pushing 
instead of being pushed by the demands iif his business, and by being 
always at his post. 

Mr. Robinson married, in Lowell, June i. 1904, Blanche Staples, 
daughter of Arthur and Olive Staples. Mr. and ^Irs. Robinson are the 
parents of three children: Priscilla, born January 30, 1908; Arthur 
^I., born January 18, 1917, and Blanche Elizabeth, born September 6, 
1 9 IN. 



GEORGE HENRY SPILLANE. 

A native of Boston, Massachusetts, and there trained in the busi- 
ness of life insurance, in which he is now engaged in Lowell, Mr. 
Spillane has become thoroughly identified with his adopted city in 
numerous connections, business and social. 



^80 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

He was born November i6, 1883, son of John E. and Mary E. 
Spillane, and was educated in the George street elementary school, the 
Dearborn evening grammar school, the Boston evening high school, 
Comer's Business College, Sheldon School of Scientific Salesmanship, 
and the Sufifolk Law School ; at present attending the latter in his 
junior year. His business career was begun as assistant chief clerk 
in the wire department of the city of Boston, and after a period in the 
municipal employ he became an agent for the John Hancock Mutual 
Life Insurance Company, rising to the post of assistant superintendent 
of the Boston agency of that company, under Robert H. Clark, for 
many years the leader among the company's superintendents. In 1915 
he took up his duties as superintendent of the Lowell agency of the 
John Hancock Mutual Life Insurance Company, and has since 
remained in successful charge of the interests of that organization 
comprising fifty representatives in the territory of Lowell and sur- 
rounding towns. 

Mr. Spillane is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, Washington Club, the Yorick Club, the Longmeadow Golf 
Club, the Vesper Country Club, the Highland Club, the Boston City 
Club, Lowell Young Men's Christian Association, and Lowell Board 
of Trade, having been a member of the board of directors of the latter 
body. He is a communicant of the Roman Catholic church. He is a 
bachelor. 



PATRICK DEMPSEY. 



The life of Patrick Dempsey, one of the leading Irishmen of the 
city of Lowell and perhaps the first of his race to occupy prominent 
position in Lowell's business, contains much that is of interest to the 
student of human nature. He blazed the business trail for men of his 
race to occupy high position in finance and business, his elevation to 
a seat on the board of directors of the First National Bank of Lowell 
being the first instance of a man of Irish birth sitting as a director of 
any bank in Lowell. He was engaged in the wholesale liquor busi- 
ness, both in Lowell and in Boston, yet it was his invariable habit to 
spend his evenings at home with his family, and it was indeed a rare 
occasion which saw him on the streets after 6 p. m. After wealth 
came to him, he bought the old Southwick homestead, formerly the 
Southwick House, at No. 236 Salem street, Lowell, and there he dis- 
pensed a warm, hearty, and generous hospitality, the latch-string 
literally "always hanging out." Yet there was a grave and serious 
side to his nature not expressed by his fine business ability nor by 
his love of home and family, but was shown in his great love for 
books, particularly those dealing with history. He did more than 




^ 




BIOGRAPPIICAL 381 

read history, he studied it, and could quote dates of important events 
freely and correctly. His general reading took a wide range, and he 
could converse surprisingly well upon subjects foreign to the average 
man. He loved books, and his home in Lowell and his summer resi- 
dence at Juniper Point were both kept well supplied with his favorite 
authors and subjects. But with it all Mr. Dempsey was a keen, shrewd 
business man, and in his various enterprises displayed sound judg- 
ment and accumulated a generous fortune, although his beginning was 
modest and his capital small, this compensated for by an over-al)un(l- 
ance of energy and ambition. 

Patrick Dem]jsey was a son of Christopher Dempsey, and a grand- 
son of Arthur Dempsey, both of whom lived and died upon the small 
farm near Rathbran, Parish of Baltinglass, County Wicklow, Ireland. 
.Arthur Dempsey, by hard work and economy, was able to purchase 
that farm and there reared a large family. 

Christopher Dempsey, son of Arthur Dempsey, was born at the 
home farm in 1775, there passed his life, became its owner, and died in 
1845. ^^^ married Catherine Kclley, born in Rathbran, and they were 
the parents of se\en children ; Patrick, to whom this review is dedi- 
cated, being the fifth child, the others: Sarah, who came to the United 
States, and married Thomas Rafter, of Lowell ; Bridget, came to the 
United States, and married Joseph Redmond, of Lowell; James, came 
to the United States, settled at Lonsdale, Rhode Island, where he was 
employed in a bleachery-, going thence to Peabody, Massachusetts, and 
still later to Lewiston, Maine ; he became an authority in textile manu- 
facturing, and for twenty-five years was agent for the Lewiston 
Bleacher}- and Dye Works; his son, William P. Dempsey, whom he 
taught the business, owns the Dempsey Bleachery and Dye Works 
in Pawtucket, Rhode Island ; Arthur, died in youthful manhood in 
Ireland; Dennis, remained with his parents and became the owner of 
the home farm; Christopher (2), came to the United States, locating 
first in Lonsdale. Rhode Island, going thence to Lowell, where he was 
living at the outbreak of war between the states; he enlisted. May 30, 
1862, in Company G, Thirty-second Regiment, Massachusetts Volun- 
teers, when he was thirty-three years of age ; he saw hard service with 
the Army of the Potomac, was made corporal, and while carrying the 
colors at the head of his regiment, at the battle of the Wilderness, 
fought from May 4 to ]May 7, 1864, was fatally wounded, dying in a 
military hospital ; his name is inscribed on one of the bronze tablets 
placed on the walls of Lowell's Memorial Hall. The news account of 
his death follows : 

"Come on. buys. I have the flag." — The last dying words of Ser- 
geant Christoplur Dempsey, color-bearer of the Thirty-second Regi- 



382 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ment of Massachusetts Volunteers, who died in hospital at Washing- 
ton, June 8, 1864, from wounds received in the battle of the Wilder- 
ness. He leaves a wife and one child to mourn and feel his loss. He 
l)ore his flag and escaped through all the great battles that his regi- 
ment was in until the last day's fighting, when just after planting his 
colors on the rebel breastworks, amid the heavy fire of the enemy, 
he received his death wound, hi his last moments of life his mind 
wandered back to the scenes of strife, and his last words were: "Come 
on, boys, I have the flag." 

This incident inspired a stirring poem by General W. II. Hayward. 

Patrick Dempsey was born at the home farm in Rathbran, Bal- 
tinglass, County Wicklow, Ireland, March 17, 1822, and died at his 
home in the city of Lowell, Massachusetts, December 13, igo2. He 
spent the first sixteen years of his life on the home farm as his 
father's assistant, and passed the four following years at the provision 
trade in Dublin, where he received the business training that proved 
so useful after his arrival in the United States. He and his brother 
James came to this country in the same ship in 1842, and he spent 
the first year of his American residence at Fall River, Massachusetts, 
an employee of the Hope Mills. He continued a textile mill worker in 
Cranston, Rhode Island, and in Somerville, Massachusetts, but in the 
last-named city his health failed and he was obliged to seek out-of- 
door employment. Not finding anything suitable in Somerville, he 
went to Albany, New York, and there found a position with one of the 
contractors of a section of the Erie Canal, then being built across New 
York State to connect the Great Lakes with the Hudson River. He 
remained in that employ for some time, later went further AVest, not 
returning East until 1846, when he located in Lowell, and the same 
year rented the basement at No. 381-83 Market street, in a small way 
beginning the making and bottling of root beer. He devoted himself 
to the upbuilding of this business with all the energy and strength he 
possessed, making the root beer at night and spending his days selling 
it. He prospered, of course, for this combination of youth and energy 
could not be denied. Soon he added other beverages to his list and 
rented the store above his business as a salesroom, retaining the base- 
ment for manufacturing purposes. Later he opened a wholesale store 
for the sale of liquors under the firm name, P. Dempsey & Company, 
occupying the double stores. No. 381-83 Market street, continuing the 
active head of that firm for fifty-three years. 1846-99. In the latter 
year he retired and was succeeded by his son, George C. Dempsey. 
and Patrick Keyes, who continued at the same location and in Boston. 
He purchased the buildings in which he began business in 1846 and 
acquired other valuable real estate in the city, including the South- 
wick homestead on Salem street in which he resided. He was a 



BIOGRAPHICAL 383 

nuMiilur (it ilic St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Church, lie took little 
iiUcrcst ill politics nor did he belong to any clubs, his business engage- 
ments and his home ties filling his cup of life to the brim. His sum- 
mer home at Juniper Point, Massachusetts, held strong attraction for 
him, and no ])lace was so dear to him as his Salem street home. 

Patrick Dempsey married (first) in 1848, at Lowell, Bridget Hill, 
who died January 29, 1859, the mother of three children: Katherine, 
Marghretta, and Elizabeth, all deceased. ICIizabeth Dempsey married 
John F. l.ennon. D I). S.. of Providence, Rhode Island, son of John 
Lcnnon. of Lowell. Mr. Demjjsey married (second) at Lowell, July 
21. 1863, Margaret Deehan, who died at the Juniper Point Home, 
Salem, August 17, 1912. Margaret Deehan was the daughter of 
Charles and Isabelle (Ilagerty) Deehan, her father coming to the 
United States, a young man, and settling in Portland, Maine. There 
he remained some time, purchasing a horse and wagon and establish- 
ing an express hauling business. He married Isabelle Hagerty, and 
h\ thrift and economy was able to give his five children a good educa- 
tion. Charles and Isabelle Deehan were the parents of: Elizabeth, 
married John Marren, of Lowell ; Bridget, married Hugh Carney, of 
Portland, Maine: Margaret, married Patrick Dempsey. of Lowell; 
Hannah, deceased, a Dominican sister; r^Iary. married John Lane, of 
Portland. Maine. 

Patrick and Margaret (Deehan) Dempsey were the parents of 
the following children, all born in Lowell: i. George Christopher, his 
father's successor in business ; married Abigail, daughter of James and 
Martha (Cummings) Hanley, her father a brewer of Providence, 
Rhode Island; they are the parents of three children: Gerald H., 
Ethel H., and Justin H. Dempsey. 2. Katherine, married James II. 
Carmichael, of Lowell, and has children : James Dempsey, Katherine, 
Margaret, F.lizabeth, Elinor, and Frances Carmichael. 3. Sarah, a 
resident of Urookline, Massachusetts. 4. Helen C, married James 
Phelan, a shoe manufacturer of Lynn, Massachusetts. 5. Alice, mar- 
ried Dr. George A. Leahey, of Lowell, and they are the parents of four 
children: George .'\. (2), Brendan Dempsey, Kevin Dempsey, died in 
infancy, and Garret Dempsey Leahey. 6. Anna Margaret, married 
William F. Harrington, a manufacturer of stockings of Manchester, 
N'ew Hampshire, and the\' are the parents of three children : William 
F. (2), Margaret Patricia, and Ruth Harrington. 7. Edith, who died 
in Brookline, Massachusetts, September 30, 1918. 



ARTHUR EDWIN HATCH. 



Mr. Hatch's business interests are in his New England birthplace, 
Lowell, Massachusetts, and he is also a graduate of two of the best 



384 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

known educational institutions of his native State. Arthur E. Match 
was born October 18, 1874, and after attending the public schools of 
Lowell, obtained his college preparation at Phillips Academy, An- 
dover, Massachusetts, whence he was graduated in the class of 1894. 
He was graduated from Harvard University in 1898 and began his 
business career with the C. F. Hatch Company, manufacturers of 
paper goods. In October, 1S98, he was elected treasurer of this con- 
cern, and has since ably and efficiently discharged its important duties. 
His principal business connection in addition to this, his main interest, 
is as trustee of the Mechanics' Savings Bank, of Lowell. 

Mr. Hatch is a Republican in political belief. He attends All 
Souls' Church, of Lowell, and is identified with numerous social organ- 
izations, including the Yorick, Vesper, Rockport Country, and Lowell 
Harvard clubs. ' While a student at Harvard, he was elected to mem- 
"Dership in the Pi Eta fraternity. 

Mr. Hatch married, in Lowell, October 31, 1905, Maude T. Bow- 
ers, born in Lowell, August 20, 1874. 



FRANK TALBERT MUSSEY. 

This name, originally Dc Mussat, comes from the French, the 
pioneers of the family, who were descendants of the French scientist 
and author of that name, settling in Vermont, whence came Frank 
Talbert Mussey, proprietor of the Crescent Towel Company, their 
offices being located at No. 163 Middle street, Lowell. He is a grand- 
son of Flenry Mussey, a lifelong farmer of Rutland, the "Marble City" 
among the Green Hills of Vermont, and a son of George L. IMussey, 
of Rutland, a brick manufacturer and farmer, who was the fourth of 
ten children, seven boys and three girls. George L. and Melintha A. 
(Clark) Mussey were the parents of: Samuel C, of Newton, Massa- 
chusetts ; Carrie M., deceased ; and Frank Talbert, of further mention. 

Frank Talbert Mussey was born in Rutland, Vermont, October 
14, 1868, and now is a resident of Lowell, Massachusetts. FHs parents 
moved to Lowell in 1876, and here he obtained a good public school 
education in the grade and high schools. He completed his studies in 
1885 and the same year entered the employ of his brother, Samtiel C. 
Mussey, who was proprietor of a steam laundry in Lowell. During 
the years which followed, Mr. Mussey was associated with the laundry 
business in various capacities and with varying success, but in 1909 
he incorporated the F. T. Mussey Towel Supply Company, now oper- 
ating as the Crescent Towel Company, an enterprise which has been 
very successful. Mr. Mussey operates four wagons in gathering and 
dislrilniting to his many customers in Lowell, and to the management 




^^rj (T: -^-^ ^^- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 385 

of the business he devotes his entire time. For many years he has 
been a member of and flute player in the Lowell Cadet Band, and is 
a member of Company G, Sixteenth Regiment, Massachusetts State 
Guard ; and of the Musicians' Union, local, No. 83, American Feder- 
ation of Musicians. He is secretary of the New England Linen Sup- 
ply Association ; a member of the Masonic order ; the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks ; is a Republican in politics ; and in his relig- 
ious affiliations an attendant of the First Universalist Church. 

Mr. Mussey married, June 30, 1903, Pearl F. Saunders, daughter 
of John \V. and Sarah S. (Willard) Saunders, of Lowell, Massachu- 
setts. Mr. and Mrs. Mussey are the parents of a daughter, Dorothy, 
and lit two sons. Walter C. and Robert S. The family home is at No. 
108 Hastings street. 



HENRY KIRKE WHITE. 



When seven years of age, Henry Kirke White was brought to 
Lowell by his parents, and there he resided until his death. He was 
known to his friends as "Kirke," and while he never sought prom- 
inence for himself, his many friends would not allow him the quiet 
and peace he really craved, for his nature was modest and retiring. 
He was a man of genial, pleasing personality, a favorite everywhere, 
and a most zealous advocate for any cause which he espoused. He 
rendered a real service to many a good cause in Lowell, and through 
his generosity and aid, failure was often averted. In practical philan- 
thropy few men in Lowell equalled his record, although little of this 
was known beyond the family circle. It is true, nevertheless, that 
many a needy person found him a ready helper and genuine sympa- 
thizer. Another delightful trait of Mr. White's character was his 
kindl}-. thoughtful courtesy, a trait perfectly natural to him. He was 
a son of William Henry White and his first wife, Maria Theresa 
(Towie) White, and of the tenth generation of the family founded in 
New England by ^\'iIlialn White, of the "Mayflower." sixth signer of 
the "Compact." 

Henry Kirke White was born at Winchester, Massachusetts, 
August 23, 1858, and died in Lowell, June i, 1915. In 1863 his parents 
moved to Lowell, Massachusetts, where he attended Moody Grammar 
School and Lowell High School, he later entering Amherst College, 
whence he was graduated, class of 1880. After graduation he was at 
once admitted to a partnership with his father and brothers in the 
leather manufacturing business, which his father had founded and 
developed. He continued active in the firm. White Brothers & Com- 
pany, until its merger with the American Hide & Leather Company, 

L-25 



385 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

when he withdrew from active business, becoming a director of the 
American Hide and Leather Company. For a time he studied law, 
more as a diversion than with interest to practice, as he never applied 
for admission to the bar. He did, however, become interested with 
his father in the large farm at Pittsfield, New Hampshire, and the 
culture of apples became a passion with him. Large orchards of 
apple trees were planted there by the two enthusiasts, father and son, 
neither of whom lived to realize the full value of the work they were 
doing. He spent a great deal of his time at the farm after retiring 
from the firm, but retained his home in Lowell, at the old White man- 
sion. No. 250 Nesmith street. 

In politics Mr. White was a Republican, and in 1896 and 1897 he 
represented his ward in Common Council. He was a member of the 
High Street Congregational Church from boyhood, and interested in 
many of the city's social and other activities. For one year he was 
president of the Lowell Board of Trade. His clubs, the Vesper 
Country and Yorick of Lowell, the Hamilton Association of Boston. 
As a member of the city government he served through a trying period 
in such a manner as to win the confidence of his fellow members of 
both parties. In his death the city lost a useful, valuable citizen, and 
he was truly mourned, even beyond his large circle of personal friends. 

Henry Kirke White married, June 5, 1900, Florence D. Parkhurst, 
of Templeton, Massachusetts, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth 
(Darrow) Parkhurst. Mrs. White survives her husband, continuing 
her home at the White mansion on Nesmith street, Lowell. She is 
also the owner of the farm at Pittsfield, where she spends a great deal 
of her time, there continuing its operation as a fruit growing farm, 
and gathering bountiful apple harvests from the orchards planted by 
her husband. 



EDWARD GALLAGHER. 



As far back as 1887, Mr. Gallagher was a baseball enthusiast, he 
organizing in that year the club now referred to as the old Lowell 
Club, an organization ranking among the leaders in that day. The 
years have not caused the loss of his love for baseball and he is still 
a "fan." In his younger days all forms of manly contests appealed to 
him, and he was one of the boxing and wrestling bout promoters of 
Lowell. But after his marriage he gave up that form of sport. As 
a business man he has been successful, now being engaged in business 
at No. 165 Chelmsford street, Lowell, his native city. He is a son of 
James and Margaret Gallagher, his father a member of the old Lowell 
military company — the Jackson Musketeers. 




yff (Oc^^^i^m^ ^^^^t^.^.^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 387 

Edward Gallagher was born in old St. Peter's parish, Lowell, 
Massachusetts, August 21, 1856, and there spent his youth. He was 
educated in the Edson street school, completing grammar school 
courses, then entering the employ of the Lowell Machine Shop as an 
uffice boy. He continued in the employ of that corporation until 1873, 
when the panic of 1872-73 caused the laying off of a large number of 
cni]jloyees, he among the number. He then spent five years in the 
grocery business with William McAloon, as his clerk, leaving him in 
1878 to become a traveling salesman, handling gas mantels. When 
he retired from the road he engaged in business for himself, having a 
store on Gorham street, which he conducted until becoming proprietor 
of the (iallagher House on W'illiam street. He conducted the Galla- 
gher House until 1913, then retired, to again engage in mercantile 
life, his store located at No. 165 Chelmsford street. Mr. Gallagher 
represented the Sixth Ward in Common Council in 1876 and 1877, 
elected as a Democrat. He is a member of St. Margaret's Roman 
Catholic Church, Lowell Board of Trade, Democratic State Execu- 
tive Committee for a number of years, and Lowell Lodge, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Gallagher married, in 188S, Katherine O'Brien, of Aver, 
Massachusetts. They are the parents of a daughter. Katherine, now a 
student at Simmons College. 



EUGENE SUMNER HYLAN. 

For forty-two years a woolen manufacturer of Lowell, Mr. Hylan 
has for the past twenty years conducted his extensive operations under 
the title of the New England Bunting Company. He holds position 
among the successful industrial leaders of his city and is identified 
with many departments of the life of Lowell. 

Eugene S. Hylan was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, September 
13, 1847, <inJ <is a youth attended the public schools of Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, completing his studies in a Lowell commercial college. 
.'\t the age of thirty years he began independent business operations 
as a manufacturer of woolens and has continued in prosperous pursuit 
of this line of endeavor to the present time (1919). Since 1899 he 
has transacted business as the New England Bunting Company, a 
concern that is widely and favorably known throughout the trade. 
Until his resignation, in 1918, ]Mr. Hylan was a trustee of the Lowell 
Textile School, his service on the board and his generous interest in 
the institution inspired by his high ideals for the industry he had 
made his life work and the desire that its future be entrusted to 
trained men. Mr. Hylan is a member of the Vesper Country Club, 



388 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

the Yorick Club, and the Middlesex Ckib, of Boston, and is a com- 
municant of the L'nitarian church, of Lowell. He is one of Lowell's 
substantial citizens, a dependable supporter of enterprises of civic 
advancement and improvement. Mr. Hylan married, in Lowell, Esther 
J. Holt, born in Lowell, daughter of John Holt. Mr. and Mrs. Hylan 
are the parents of: Alice L., who married W. V. Adams, of Lowell; 
Grace A., John B., Edwin J.. Jennie M., and Florence L. 



WILLIAM ALEXANDER MACK. 

When yet a high school student, Mr. Mack began working at the 
business which he later adopted as his own, and is now well estab- 
lished as an undertaker and funeral director in his native city, Lowell, 
Massachusetts. He is the son of Michael Joseph and Theresa (Miles) 
Mack, both now residents of Lowell. Michael J. Mack was born in Bel- 
fast, Ireland, but when three months old was taken by his parents to 
England, where he lived until twelve years of age. His father came to 
the United States alone, and two years later his wife and son came. 
The lad, Michael J., attended school in England, and for eighteen years 
was employed as a color man in the yarn department of the Bigelow 
Carpet Company's factory in Lowell. He then entered the insurance 
field, and for the past twelve years, 1906-1918, has been a Lowell 
representative for the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. 
He married Theresa Miles, born in Lowell, her present home. 

William Alexander Mack was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
July 28. iS'93. He was educated in the public schools of that city, 
passed the grades of Moody Grammar and Lowell High School, fin- 
ishing with graduation in 191 1. The year previous to graduation he 
had begun work in the undertaking shops of James W. McKenna, 
in Centreville, Lowell, using his spare hours and vacation jieriods 
in that way. After leaving school in lyii, he continued in Mr. 
McKenna's emjjloy until 1913. when he became a student at The 
Renouard Training School for Embalmers in New York City, com- 
pleting the course with graduation, December 20, 1913. From that 
time until 1915 he was in the employ of John J. O'Connell, of Lowell, 
and in 191 5 purchased a half interest in the business which continued 
under the firm name, O'Connell & Mack. On June i, 1918, that 
partnership was dissolved, Mr. Mack purchasing the business and 
succeeding to the ownership of the undertaking establishment of 
James H. McDermott, the oldest undertaker in Lowell. For fifty 
years Mr. McDermott had been in the undertaking business on Gor- 
ham street, and as his successor, Mr. Mack, the youngest undertaker 
perhaps on the street, began his independent business career. Mr. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 389 

Mack is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Roman Catliolic 
church, Holy Name Society, and other church organizations, lie is 
treasurer of Lowell Aerie, No. 223, Fraternal Order of Eagles, and 
is one of the energetic, rising young business men of Lowell. His 
undertaking establishment is at No. 70 Gorhani street, his home. No. 
80 Whitney street, Lowell. 

Mr. Mack married in Lowell, Massachusetts, June 6, 1917, Mary 
Annabelle Sheehan. born at her parents' home. No. 140 Cross street, 
Lowell, daughter of William H. and Julia (Leary) Sheehan, her 
father also born in Lowell, a chemist by profession, but now employed 
at the I'igelow Carpet Company, in another line. His wife was also 
born in Lowell, at the family home. No. 140 Cross street. Mr. and 
Mrs. William Alexander Mack are the parents of William Alexander, 
Jr., born in Lowell, Massachusetts, June 5, 1918. 



NEWELL FULLER PUTNAM. 

In 191S, after a long term of serxice in the employ of the city of 
Lowell in ofifices for which his professional training particularly qual- 
ified him, Mr. Putnam formed his present relation with the United 
.States Cartridge Company. 

Newell F. Putnam was born in Freeman, Maine, .April 16, 1867, 
and after attending public schools took up civil engineering. He was 
engaged in this line from 1S81 to 1891, entering the office of the city 
engineer of Lowell, where he remained until 1909. On January i, 1909, 
he was elected superintendent of streets of Lowell, serving until .Sep- 
tember. 1915, and in 1915-16 he filled the office of city commissioner. 
In 191S he became identified with the United States Cartridge Com- 
pany in the capacity of foreman, his position at this time (1919). Mr. 
Putnam is a member of the Masonic order and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and his club is the Central, of Lowell. He 
is a commimicant of Grace Universalist Church. He is widely known 
in the Lowell locality through his public service, which has been of a 
high type of usefulness, and his circle of friends is large. 

Mr. Putnam married, in Lowell, November 3, 1892, Alice F. 
French, born in East Chelmsford, Massachusetts, February 7, 1868. 
daughter of Amos B. and Carrie French. Mr. and Mrs. Putnam are 
the parents of one son, Harold M., born F'ebruary 18, 1895. 



JOHN FRANCIS SAUNDERS. 

John Francis Saunders, whose life ended so suddenly at his home 
in Lowell, August 17. 1914. in the midst of a career already notable. 



390 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

and promising still more lofty achievement, was an exception to that 
rule which claims that death is needed to awaken the appreciation of 
our fellows and that the prophet is not without honor save in his own 
country. For Mr. Saunders' strong but genial personality, coupled 
with his well-gounded knowledge of his life's work, had won both 
recognition and success from the outset of his business life, and there 
were none of his fellow citizens who held a larger place in public 
esteem than he. 

Born in Lowell, February 24, 1869, the son of Edward and Julia 
(Dean) Saunders, Mr. Saunders was of Irish extraction. His parents 
were both natives of County Kerry, Ireland, his father having come to 
America while still a young man, and had settled in Lowell, Alassa- 
chusetts, and here followed the occupation of farmer and landscape 
gardener, and was chief farmer on some of the large estates in and 
adjoining Lowell. Here he met and married Julia Dean, and they 
became the parents of seven children, all of them born in Lowell, and 
three of whom survive. These are : Nellie, the wife of John Flynn, 
a retired merchant of Lowell, now living in Dracut Centre ; Mary, a 
resident of Lowell ; and Edward F., chief engineer of the Lowell Fire 
Department. John Francis Saunders began his education in the 
public schools of Lowell, but when the Xavierian Brothers established 
their parochial school here, he was one of the first pupils to enter. 
and was a member of the first class which graduated from the insti- 
tution. After completing his school work, he secured employment in 
a retail produce, grocery and meat market, and the record of his success 
should serve as an inspiring example to others, for he started out in 
boyhood, empty-handed, stimulated only by the laudable ambition to 
succeed. He wisely used his time and talents, and embraced every 
opportunity that pointed towards advancement. At length he decided 
to establish a business of his own, and in 1894, with a limited capital, 
opened Saunders' jMarket, on Gorham street, near the corner of Sum- 
mer street. It was a small store but it proved to be the beginning of 
what is to-day the largest market in the city, and which still occupies 
the original location, the business having in the meantime expanded 
to such an extent that the entire street floor of the building is required 
for the sales and display room, and the erection of a large warehouse 
and storage building became necessary. In the beginning the entire 
business of the market was handled as one dejiartment, but as the 
bu,siness grew the system was gradually improved, and now the vari- 
ous lines of produce are in separate departments, each department 
being equipped with modern appliances for the sanitary keeping and 
marketing of its particular goods. To build the large retail market 
in the city of Lowell was not an undertaking easily accomplished. 



BIOGKArillCAL 391 

The remarkable success Mr. Saunders attained as a merchant came 
from his power to concentrate and expend all his energy on one enter- 
prise, and from his habits of industry which kept him steadily at his 
post. He never relinquished the active management until his sudden 
death removed him from the business he founded and developed to 
an unusual condition of prosperity. 

Mr. Saunders was united in marriage, December 27, 1899, to Alice 
Josephine Mahoney, a native of Lowell, and a lifelong resident of the 
place. She is the daughter of Thomas and Mary Gertrude (Coleman) 
Mahoney, her father having been born in County Waterford, Ireland, 
and now residing in Lowell. His wife, who was also a native of 
County Waterford, died in Lowell, November 21, 1918. Eight chil- 
dren were born to Mr. and Mrs. Saunders: i. Edward John, born 
March 6, 1901, now a student at Holy Cross College, Worcester, Mas- 
sachusetts. 2. Mary Julia, born August 5, 1902, died December 6, 
1905- 3- Alice Josephine, born October 31, 1904. 4. John Francis, Jr., 
born September 27, 1906. 5. Eleanor, born May 10, 1908. 6. Thomas, 
born May 31, 1910. 7. Julia Dean, born October 6, 191 1. 8. Regina, 
born March i, 1914, died August 7, 1914. 

Mr. Saunders had but two great interests in his life, his family 
and his business, and to these he devoted his entire time. He was a 
devout Catholic. He was a member of Lowell Council, Xo. 72, 
Knights of Columbus; of the Friendly Sons of St. Patrick; and of the 
Alpine Club. The family residence, built in 1898, is at No. 548 Fletcher 
street. 



DANIEL D. O'DEA. 



As owner of the Dan O'Dea Motor Company, Mr. O'Dea con- 
ducts a prosperous business enterprise located in one of the largest 
and best equipped show rooms in Lowell. All his life from the age 
of fifteen years he has been connected with either the livery or auto- 
mobile business, and can be considered an expert on any matter con- 
nected with either of these forms of public conveyance. His first occu- 
pation was driving horses, his first position with a livery firm. He 
began his career as an auto salesman with the Lowell branch of the 
Kuick Company, and since starting in business for himself in 1915 has 
sold 8200,000 worth of motor cars and trucks. He has a service sta- 
tion and reputedly the best repair shop in the city. He is fearless, 
progressive and public-spirited. Lowell, owing to his initiative, had 
the automobile show at which all Lowell automobile dealers exhib- 
ited, as they will at the coming show in January. 1920. He is a son 
of Lawrence and Delia O'Dea, his father a mill man, now deceased. 



392 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

his mother living and residing at No. 68 Church street, Lowell. Their 
children: Daniel D., of further mention; Francis J., special delivery 
clerk, Lowell post office; Gilmore, a chauffeur; James L., a clerk in 
Lowell post office ; John B., employed at the United States Cartridge 
Company ; and Margaret L., a clerk. 

Daniel D. O'Dea was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, December 
19, 18S8, and until fifteen years of age attended the public primary 
and grammar schools. While still a school boy he was employed in 
shining shoes at the Sunlight Shoe Store, then conducted by James 
Coughlin. He began at the age of fifteen as a regular hand, driving a 
team for E. B. Conant, was with O. P. Davis, liveryman, and drove for 
J. L Peavey, of Brooklyn, a wholesale clothier. This carried him to 
man's legal estate, and soon afterward he secured a position with the 
Lowell Buick Company and began his successful career in the auto- 
mobile business. He continued with about six years working on the 
floor, in the garage, demonstrating, teaching beginners, and finally 
became salesman, meeting with success during the four years he 
served in this capacity. Becoming thoroughly capable in all branches 
of the business, Mr. O'Dea founded the Dan O'Dea Motor Company 
in 1913, and in 1916 incorporated under the same name, capital $10,000. 
He secured agencies for the Scrupp, Booth and National cars and 
trucks, later gave up the .Scrupp and substituted the \'im truck and 
Chevrolet car. He now also has National, Jordan and Republic 
truck agencies. The show rooms are at No. no Middle street, the 
service station. No. 30 \'arnum avenue. Eight men are kept steadily 
employed, and he conducts a large business in line with the best 
modern business principles. He is a member of the Lowell Board 
of Trade, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, U. T. C, and 
the South End Club. Mr. O'Dea during the World War served his 
country in service overseas. 



PIERRE ZOTIQUE HEBERT. 

The first twenty-four years of the life of Pierre Z. Hebert were 
spent upon the home farm in Canada, and there he imbibed those 
habits of energy, thrift, and industry, which ever distinguished him. 
He was a son of Joseph and Phoebe (Lanseou) Hebert, both of whom 
passed their lives in St. Constance, Canada, his father a farmer. 

Pierre Z. Hebert was born at the home farm at St. Constance, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, July i, 1855, died in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, April 24, 1910. He was educated in St. Constance schools, and 
from boyhood was his father's farm assistant. After completing his 
school years he remained at home, and until 1879 ^o continued. He 




0^eryr ^. Miey/ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 393 

then came to the United States, going to Little Rock, Arkansas, where 
he was employed on a large cotton plantation. Neither the work he 
had to do, nor the climate, nor the surroundings were congenial, and 
he soon came North, locating at Lowell, Massachusetts, in 1880. He 
was here engaged as a painter for a few years, but this did not agree 
with him. and under a physician's advice he gave up that occupation. 
During his latter years in Canada, and in the few years in Lowell, 
he had accumulated some capital from his savings, and when again 
out of employment he decided to engage in a business of his own. He 
finally formed a partnership, and as Duprey & Hebert, opened a fur- 
niture store on .\iken street. This partnership was soon dissolved, 
Mr. Hebert l)uying his partner's interest and moving the store to No. 
308 Aiken street. This was then a rented store, but later, when pros- 
perity came, as a result of his wise management and energy, he bought 
the building, and there continued in business twenty-two years, until 
his death. Mr. Hebert had great faith in Lowell, and all the profits 
of his business were invested in city real estate, particularly in what, 
is known as the French quarter. He bought wisely, and was the 
owner of considerable business property and a home at No. 321 Hil- 
dreth street. He was a devoted member of St. Louis Roman Catholic 
Church, and in politics a Republican. 

Mr. Hebert married Rosaline Methe, at Lowell, November 4. 
1883, she born at St. Sebastian, Quebec, Canada, daughter of William 
and Mary (Letourneou) Methe, her father born in St. Sebastian, her 
mother in the city of Quebec. William Methe was a farmer of St. 
Sebastian until 1886. when he came to Lowell with his family. He 
returned to Canada in i88y, and there spent the active years of his life. 
After retiring from farming he and his wife moved to New Bedford, 
Massachusetts, where several of their children had settled and there 
both died. Mr. and Mrs. Hebert were the parents of seven children, 
all born in Lowell, five of whom are living: Virginia, married Klzlar 
Laduc, a furniture dealer of Lowell, and they have a daughter. Jean- 
nette ; Romeo, married (Sertrude Lorenger, of Lowell, and has a 
daughter. Retta ; Rosaline, married Alfred Capone, of Lowell, and had 
children : Pierre, Wilfred, and Louis ; Alfred, a recently honorably 
discharged soldier of the United States army ; Alzear, a school boy. 
Mrs. Hebert. after her husband's death, disposed of his furniture busi- 
ness, but retains the ownership of his building, and continues her resi- 
dence at the old iiome. No. 321 Hildreth street. 



CHARLES RUNELS. 



Retired from the business that mainly occupied him throughout 
his active career, granite cutting. ]\Ir. Runels' association with the 



394 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



business and industrial circles of Lowell, his native city, continues in 
his vice-presidency of the Merrimack River Savings Bank and his 
financial interest in numerous leading enterprises of the locality. 

IMr. Runels, son of George and Mary A. (Morrill) Runels, was 
born in Lowell, October i8, 1849, and was educated in the public 
schools of his birthplace, going from high school to Bryant and Strat- 
ton's Business College, in Boston. Upon the completion of his studies 
he learned the granite cutter's trade in the granite yards of his father 
in Lowell, and for a number of years pursued that calling. In 1872, 
with his brother, Henry Runels, Nat A. Davis, and Charles W. Foster, 
he formed the granite cutting firm of Runels, Davis & Foster. Later 
these partners retired from the firm, and Mr. Runels continued inde- 
pendently with prosperous result until 1898, when, the Boston & 
Maine Railroad Company taking the land occupied by the plant, he 
discontinued his operations in this line. Throughout its existence 
as a firm and under Mr. Runels' independent management it was a 
thriving and prosperous concern. It supplied the granite for many 
conspicuous buildings of Lowell, Boston, and the surrounding country, 
and Mr. Runels was associated with the large contracting firm of 
Trumbull & Cheney, of Boston, in the erection of the piers and 
approaches of the Aikens Street Bridge, in Lowell. Among Mr. 
Runels' present business interests is the vice-presidency of the Mer- 
rimack River Savings Bank, and he is a charter member of the board 
of trustees of this institution. Mr. Runels' service and support has 
been freely given to enterprises of civic progress and benefit. He was 
one of the organizers of the Lowell General Hospital, holding member- 
ship on the board of trustees and the executive board, and public 
spiritedly and disinterestedly discharges the duties of citizenship. A 
Republican in politics, he served his city as a member of the Common 
Council in 1876, and of the Board of Aldermen in 1888. He is a mem- 
ber of the Lowell Board of Trade, and the Vesper Country Club. His 
fraternity is the Masonic order, in which he belongs to the lodge, 
chapter, council, commandery and other Rlasonic bodies. 

Mr. Runels married Mary E. Letteney, daughter of Jeremiah X. 
and Matilda (Inglis) Letteney, of Granville, Nova Scotia, her father 
a shipbuilder and mariner. Mr. and Mrs. Runels are the parents of 
three children: 1. Clara E., born in Lowell, July 30, 1880, died Octo- 
ber 17, 18.S6. 2. Ralph E., born in Lowell, August 12, 1887, educated 
in the public schools of Lowell, and the Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology; now general manager of the General Building Company, 
of Boston; married Beatrice M. Horn, and had one child, Ralph E., 
Jr., who died in infancy. 3. Chester M., born in Lowell, June i, 1892; 
educated in the Lowell public schools and the ^Massachusetts Institute 





n? 



)Ql^ CiZ-t^ )7?^^^yiYy'0^^^6^^u^y 



BIOGRAl'JllCAL 395 

of Technology ; an architectural engineer in the employ of Stone &• 
Webster, of Boston ; married Margaret A. Thompson, of Lowell. The 
Runels home is a beautiful residence at No. 818 .\ndover street, 
Lowell. 



J. HENRY COLLINS. 

As president and general manager of the New England Electric 
& Supply Corporation, of No. 261 Dutton street and Nos. 62-64 Cen- 
tral street, Lowell, Mr. Collins occupies a position for which he is 
admirably fitted by technical education and practical experience. He 
came to Lowell a yoimg man, but experienced as an engineer skilled 
in electrical and sanitary engineering as taught in a technical school, 
with practical knowledge of telegraphy, and with two and a half years 
experience in a locomotive works. Since his coming in 1885 he has 
been variously engaged, forming the corporation of which he was head 
in 1902. The growth of the business has been marvelous, the original 
store being a single room, ten by twenty-four feet, the present location, 
a building thirty by eighty-eight feet, with three floors, all occupied by 
the ciirjioration. In addition a store at Nos. 62-64 Central street has 
been conducted since 191 2, the store seventeen by forty-five feet, with 
five additional rooms on an uppper story used for storing slock. No 
better comment upon Mr. Collins as a business man and executive 
could be made than the foregoing facts. Mr. Collins is a son of Michael 
Collins, of Irish descent, born in Northfield, \'ermont, a railroad fore- 
man for several years, but later a farmer. He married Mary C. Cush- 
ing, they the parents of: J. Henry Collins, of further mention ; Eugene, 
deceased ; Mary, deceased ; Charles E., a graduate of Norwich Uni- 
versity, now a civil engineer of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Alice L., 
a graduate M. D., practicing in Philadeliihia ; John L.. a graduate of 
Norwich University, now a civil engineer of New York City ; Emma 
A., a graduate M. D., practicing in Philadelphia. 

J. Henry Collins, eldest son of Michael and Mary C. (Cushing) 
Collins, was born at Burlington, Vermont, February i, 1865, and there 
passed through the grade and high schools. He then entered North- 
field University, taking the engineering courses. After graduation he 
was employed in telegraph line construction, spent two and a half 
years with the St. Albans Locomotive Works in their shops, was in 
charge of a telegraph station at Waterbury, Vermont, filling all these 
positions prior to his coming to Lowell in 1885. His first position in 
Lowell was as engineer with the Lawrence Corporation, but shortly 
after his coming he formed an association with the Lowell Creamery, 
which continued for about nine years, being superintendent during 
the last seven years of that engagement. The following two years he 



396 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

was engaged in the restaurant business in Lowell, with a fair degree of 
success. 

In 1903 he founded the New England Electric and Supply Cor- 
poration, beginning business in a single room at No. 14 Cabot street. 
The following year he moved to No. 249 Market street, but the busi- 
ness soon outgrew that location and was moved to No. 231 Dutton 
street, there remaining three years before being removed to its pres- 
ent location, No. 261 Dutton street, a four story brick building which 
the corporation purchased in 1913, the entire building being occupied 
as store, display and stock rooms. The Central street store was 
opened in 1912. Mr. Collins is a thorough master of his business, 
bringing to it the knowledge and training of an engineer, the mechani- 
cal skill of an expert, and the business ability of the merchant. He is 
a large dealer in plumbing and electrical supplies, and among the 
buildings which he has supplied can be mentioned : The Chalifoux, 
the John Pilling Shoe Company, Federal Shoe Company, the Mann 
School, Massachusetts Cotton Mills, American Hide and Leather 
Company, Samson Stair Company, Blossom Street Baptist Church, 
Spaulding Shoe Company, Merrimack Manufacturing Company, Boot 
Mills, Lowell Paper Tube, Northern Street Baptist Church, Paige 
Street Baptist Church, Merrimack Clothing Company, Hamilton 
Restaurant, Putnam Clothing Company, A. G. Pallard Company, city 
of Lowell High School, City Hall building, C. L Hood Company, 
Lowell jail, Chelmsford Street Hospital, Lowell General Hospital and 
the Shaw Stocking Company. Mr. Collins is a Republican in politics, 
and for one term was a member of Council from the First Ward. He 
was ofifered a renomination, but refused to accept, his business de- 
manding his time. He is a member of Ancient York Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons, is past grand of Merrimack Lodge, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Lowell ; the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion ; Lowell Board of Trade ; and Worthen Street Baptist Church. 

Mr. Collins married Amelia A. Cushing, daughter of Richard R. 
Gushing, a contractor. Mr. and Mrs. Collins are the parents of a son, 
Harold C. Collins, now associated in business with his father. He 
married Nynette Soulard, born in Bordeaux, France. 



FRANCIS EDWARD APPLETON. 

A civil engineer by profession, Mr. Appleton, until 1890, devoted 
himself to the duties of that profession exclusively save during the 
years 1878 and 1880, but from 1882 he has been in the employ of The 
Locks and Canals Corporation of Lowell, his present position being 
purchasing agent. He is a son of Edward and Frances Anne (Atkin- 
son) Appleton, his father a civil engineer in railroad service. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 397 

Francis Edward Ajjpleton was l)orn in Reading, Massachusetts, 
May 25, 1853, there completing full courses of public school study, 
finishing with high school. He then became a student at Worcester 
Polytechnic Institute, his work as a civil engineer beginning soon 
after graduating from that institution in 1874. He continued an engi- 
neer until 1890. but in 1S78 he was paymaster of a woolen mill at 
Gonic, New Hampshire, and in 1880 spent a year in Texas as chief 
clerk in the maintenance of way department of the Galveston, Harris- 
burg & San Antonio Railroad. On January i, 1890, he became pay- 
master with the Locks and Canals Corporation of Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, continuing in that position until December 31, 1916, then 
becoming purchasing agent for the same corporation, his term of 
service now covering a period of thirty-seven years (1920). For twenty- 
three years he has been a director of the Lowell Cooperative Bank, 
and since May, 1914, has been its vice-president. In politics Mr. 
-Appleton is a Republican, in religious connection is affiliated with 
Grace Universalist Church. He is a member of the Masonic order, 
New England Water Works Association, Lowell Historical Society 
and the Society for the Preservation of New England Antiquities. 

Mr. Appleton married, December 15, 1880, in Reading, Massa- 
chusetts, Sarah L. Stoodley, daughter of Major Nathan Dame and 
Rebecca Allen (Goldthwait) Stoodley. Their only child, Samuel 
Chandler Appleton, born February 14, 1885, died May 22. 1885. 

It is w'orthy of remark that an .Appleton was one of the founders 
of Lowell, who in 1821 purchased from the proprietors of the Locks 
and Canals on the Merrimack River the first canal built by that cor- 
poration, known since its completion in 1796 as the Pawtucket Canal. 
These men, founders of Lowell and purchasers of the canal, were 
Patrick T. Jackson, Nathan .Appleton and Kirk Boott. That was the 
beginning of the wonderful system of canals which furnishes Lowell 
with its splendid water-power. 



HIRAM COLDWELL BROWN. 

After a varied business career marked everywhere by a high 
degree of success, Mr. Brown is now well established in business as 
an undertaker and funeral director, his place of business, No. 14 Lor- 
ing street, Lowell. Massachusetts. He is a son of Charles Brown, 
who was born in Cornwallis, Nova Scotia, Canada, and there resided 
until 1867. a fisherman, farmer, carpenter and contractor. In 1867 he 
came to the United States, locating at Wellesley, Massachusetts, 
where he was assistant su])erintendent of the large Baker estate there. 
He was in charge of the construction of several of the artificial caves 
on the estate, and connected with landscape gardening, which has 



398 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

made the estate famous in Massachusetts. After leaving Wellesley 
he engaged in contracting and bridge building, doing work of that 
class in different parts of New England and neighboring States. He 
was very successful, and in his later years retired from business and 
owned farms in different places which he cultivated. In this way he 
lived at Pelham, New Hampshire ; Dracut, Massachusetts, and other 
places. He died at the home of his daughter in Somersworth, New 
Hampshire. He married Elizabeth Bennet, in Cornwallis, Nova 
Scotia, who died in Jersey City, New Jersey, and they were the par- 
ents of Hiram Coldwell, of whom further ; Charles Brown was a son 
of Charles Brown, born near Cornwallis, Nova Scotia, Canada, a fish- 
erman there for many years. The Browns are of English ancestry, 
the first comers settling in Nova Scotia. 

Hiram Coldwell Brown was born at W'ellesley, Massachusetts, 
July 25. 1867. His father's business took him to diiterent parts of the 
Eastern States, consequently his education was obtained in widely 
separated schools ; East Boston, Massachusetts ; Gofif's Falls, New 
Hampshire; Manchester, New Hampshire, and Dracut, Massachu- 
setts. After his father began farming, Hiram C. Brown became his 
assistant on the farm in Dracut, Massachusetts, and Pelham, New- 
Hampshire, following agriculture for eight years. In 1892 he located 
in Lowell, Massachusetts, became a clerk and manager of markets, 
produce and grocery business, so continuing for ten years until 1902 
when he established in business for himself, conducting a grocery and 
market verj' successfully until 1914. He then sold his business and 
entered upon a course of study at the New England Institute of 
Anatomy, where he completed a course in modern methods of em- 
balming, graduating and receiving his diploma, October 3, 1914. He 
passed the ^Massachusetts Board of Examiners for Embalmers, Octo- 
ber 7, 1914. and was licensed by the New Hampshire State Board. 
July 14, 1916. He later purchased a half interest in the undertaking 
business of J. B. Curry on Branch street, Lowell. On September, 
1917, this partnership was dissolved, Mr. Brown retiring and estab- 
lishing in the same business at No. 345 Westford street, Lowell, there 
remaining until September i, 1918, when he moved his undertaking 
rooms to No. 14 Loring street, where he has built a chapel and com- 
plete modern mortuary establishment, unrivalled in the city. Mr. 
Brown is a Republican in politics, an attendant on the services of 
Trinitarian Congregational Church, and is a member of all bodies of 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows including Highland Lodge, 
Daughters of Rebekah. Centreville Lodge, No. 215, Pilgrim Encamp- 
ment, and Canton Pawtucket, Patriaichs Militant. He is also a mem- 
ber of Lowell Lodge, No. 8, Royal Arcanum, and Greenhalge Council. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 399 

Mr. Brown is a successful business man, honorable and upright in 
his dealings, and is a strong believer in the "square deal." He has a 
good business which extends far beyond city limits, a great many of 
his calls coming from Pelham, New Hampshire, and surrounding New 
Hampshire towns. Pelham is one of his boyhood homes and there he 
was for several years his father's farm assistant. All this has brought 
him a wide circle of friends and to these he continually adds, his pleas- 
ing personality attracting, his honorable, upright business methods 
retaining the friends he makes on every hand. 

Mr. Brown married, at Lowell, April 22, 1896, Mary Francis 
Thorne, born in Lowell, daughter of John and Sarah (Hill) Thorne, 
her parents both born in England. John Thorne, an expert carder, 
was long employed in English woolen mills, then came to the United 
States and was in charge of the carding room at the Brookside Mills 
in West Chelmsford. Massachusetts. His home was in North Chelms- 
ford, where he and his wife, Sarah (Hill) Thorne, died. 



WALTER HENRY RICKEY. 

For many years district superintendent of the Bay State Railroad 
Comjjany, but since April, 1918, operating manager of the B. F. Good- 
rich Rubber Company. Mr. Hickey is reaping the reward of his years 
of able efifort in subordinate position. Promotion did not come un- 
deserved, the years preceding having been spent in arduous position 
impossible for a man of ordinary attainment to fill. He came to the 
position he holds through a winding way, his earlier years having 
been spent in an entirely different field. In addition he had learned 
a trade, and when the Bay State was about to equip their cars with the 
air brake it was to Mr. Hickey they turned as an expert on piping the 
cars to carry the air. He is a son of Walter and Elizabeth (Campbell) 
Hickey, the former of Boston birth, the latter of Lowell. 

Walter Henry Hickey was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, July 
6, 1878, and has ever been a resident of his native city. He attended 
the public school until fifteen years of age, then became a wage-earner, 
his school attendance thereafter being confined to the evening high 
school. His first position was with the Merrimac Manufacturing 
Company, of Lowell, his first work being performed in the bleach 
house. He did not long remain with the Merrimac Company, going 
next to the Lawrence Manufacturing Company as a yarn weigher. 
For two years he continued in that department, then decided to learn 
a trade. He became an apprentice in the pipe shop of the Lawrence 
Company, and for four years he continued in that department, acquir- 
ing a good knowledge of cotton mill piping methods. At the end of 
his four years he left the Lawrence Company, securing a position as 



40C HISTORY OF LOWELL 

piper's helper with T. Costello. Under Air. Costello he completed his 
trade and was pronounced an expert piper, quahfied for any piper's 
position. In 1897 he entered the employ of the Bay State Railway 
Company at the Lowell power house, and for two years was engaged 
in pipe work principally in and around the engine room. In 1S99 he 
abandoned the engineering department for the operating department 
of that road, serving for one year as an extra conductor, believing that 
with that start he could rise to higher position. As an extra he 
attracted attention by his willingness, faithfulness, and mechanical 
ability, a regular run being assigned him in 1900. He continued on 
the rear platform three years, constantly gaining in experience and 
knowledge of street railway problems. In 1903 Superintendent 
Thomas called him up and assigned him the position of starter at 
Lake View Park. During the next fourteen years he was in succes- 
sion starter, operating foreman, and claim adjuster, filling the last 
named position until October i, 1917, when he was promoted to the 
responsible post of district superintendent, in which capacity he served 
until April, 1918, when he became connected with the B. F. Goodrich 
Rubber Company. He proved his ability and reliability in every posi- 
tion he has ever held, and not yet in the prime of life he can look for- 
ward to greater usefulness. Mr. Hickey is a member of the Father 
Mathew Temperance Society, the Knights of Columbus, and the 
Roman Catholic church. 

Mr. Hickey married. October 8, 1908, Eleanor E. Calvin, of Hud- 
son, New Hampshire, a woman of strong character and womanly 
grace and a true helpmeet. Mr. and Mrs. Hickey are the parents of 
one dausrhter. 



PATRICK KELLEY. 



At the age of eighty-one years, Patrick Kelley's useful life ended, 
a life which began in County Cavan, Ireland, fifty-eight of those years 
having been spent in Lowell, Massachusetts. Patrick Kelley was 
born June 10, 1837, ^^^ until i860 resided in his native Ireland. In 
that year he came to the United States, coming direct to Lowell, his 
first employment being the sawing of a cord of stovewood. He was 
next employed by a farmer, but only for a short time, the owner of 
the farm being Phineas Whiting. He finally secured work with the 
Bigelow Carpet Works and remained with that company eighteen 
months, until the Civil War resulted in the closing of the carpet 
works. For the next five years he was employed as coachman by 
Isaac Farrington, a wealthy manufacturer of West Chelmsford. In 
1867 he began working for C. B. Coburn & Company, as teamster, re- 
maining two years, when his former employer, Mr. Farrington, 



-4. 





BIOGRAPHICAL 401 

secured fci him a position as clerk in the storeroom of the Talbot 
Dye Works, manufacturers of chemicals, now on Market street, 
Lowell, located at that time in North Billerica. He remained there 
two years, and in the meantime had been appointed a special police 
officer, on duty Sundays and holidays. After leaving the dye works 
he was appointed to the police force on full time, and for twelve years 
he served the city well. In i88o he started a bottling business on 
Middle street, and later the firm of Patrick Kelley & Company was 
organized, and located at Nos. 19-27 Davidson street, from which he 
retired in favor of his son, Thomas F. Kelley. Mr. Kelley was a char- 
ter member of Lowell Lodge, No. S7, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks ; member of the Immaculate Conception Church ; and in 
politics was a Democrat. 

Mr. Kelley married, December 2/, 1871, Julia A. Commcrford, 
who died December 28, 1903. Mr. and Mrs. Kelley had children: i. 
Mary Ellen, born December i, 1872. died January 2/. 1873. 2. Rich- 
ard L., born December 22, 1876, died May 4, 1890. 3. Josephine, born 
March 15. 1878, died August 18, 1883. 4. Thomas F., born February 
13, 1881. Mr. Kelley died July 23, 1918, at Lowell, Alassachusetts. 



JAMES E. DONNELLY. 

James E. Donnelly was born in the City of Lowell, and educated 
in its public schools. After leaving school, for many years Mr. Dimi- 
nelly was associated in business with his father, John J. Donnelly, 
who was engaged in the horseshoeing business in Lowell. Under the 
old form of city government, Mr. Donnelly served the city as a mem- 
ber of the school committee, and for many years as purchasing agent. 
Under the present form of government, the commission form, he has 
held the office of commissioner of finance, commissioner of streets and 
highways, and commissioner of public property and licenses, and is 
at present the commissioner of finance. He is a member of the 
Knights of Columbus, the Young Men's Catholic Institute, the An- 
cient Order of Hibernians, the Foresters of America, and the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. His club is the .Alpine. 



SAMUEL GRIFFIN PARKER. 

During the battle of Bunker Hill, a boy named Josiah Parker 
stood afar off watching the unequal conflict. The boy who watched 
this momentous struggle was Init eleven years old, and the home in 
which he lived was one of four hundred which was destroyed at that 
time. Shortlv after this he, with his parents, moved to Wilton, New 



402 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

Hampshire. Samuel Griffin, another lad of but sixteen years of age, 
played a man's part with the sturdy patriots who defied the British 
regulars at Breed's Hill. This Samuel Griffin was the father of Sophia 
Griffin, who later married Josiah Parker, the third of the name, and 
the son of the boy, Josiah Parker, who watched the historic battle as 
recorded. 

Josiah and Sophia (Griffin) Parker were the parents of Samuel 
Griffin Parker, to whose memory of an honorable, upright. Christian 
life this review is dedicated. Seventy-nine years was the term allotted 
to Samuel Griffin Parker, and at its close but one sentiment was ex- 
pressed by those who knew him : "A good man has gone to his re- 
ward." A more unselfish life was never lived, nor one more beauti- 
fully exemplifying the scriptural description, "diligent in business, 
fervent in spirit, serving the Lord." His home was his only club, and 
there was his greatest joy. He was most kindly in heart and very 
hospitable. 

Samuel Griffin Parker was l.)orn in Nelson, New Hampshire, 
March i8, 1820. and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, January 9, 1899. 
Josiah Parker, his grandfather, had removed from Charlestown, Mas- 
sachusetts, to Wilton, New Hampshire, and there his son, Josiah (3) 
Parker, was born, and later moved to Nelson, where he married Sophia 
Griffin, of Nelson, and they were the parents of eleven sons and 
daughters. Samuel Griffin Parker, one of the eldest of these children, 
grew up at the home farm in Nelson, but when he was eleven years of 
age his father became an invalid, and a few years later died, leaving 
the farm heavily mortgaged. This threw a heavy responsibility upon 
the boy, but right manfully he assumed it and nobly did he adminis- 
ter the trust. He attended the district school as much as possible, but 
from the age of eleven was his father's chief assistant, and very soon 
his successor. He remained at home with his mother until the age of 
twenty-one, managing the farm with such skill and bending to his 
task with so much energy of purpose that he paid off all indebtedness 
formerly resting upon the old home. Then relinquishing his interest 
in favor of his mother, he started out into the world a strong, well- 
developed, self-reliant young man of twenty-one. In addition to pay- 
ing off the mortgage, the young man had saved four hundred dollars in 
cash, and w^ith that as capital he came to Lowell, Massachusetts, and 
began his career as a business man. His only experience in business 
had been in connection wnth his farming operations, but he possessed 
the business instinct and was able to meet and deal with the most ex- 
perienced. Naturally he chose the line of activity with which he had 
the closest acquaintance, his first venture being in the wholesale meat 
business. This prospered and soon he was buying and selling real 
estate, conducting both lines successfully for a number of j'ears. In 



I 



BIOGRAPIIICAI, 403 

1857 he extended his operations by purchasing an interest in a Boston 
])lant which manufactured soda water. That business, which later 
grew to immense proportions, was then in its infancy, the Boston fac- 
tor)- in which Mr. Parker was interested being the first manufactory 
of soda w;)ter in the United States as well as in liurope. His interest 
in that enterprise w-as very profitable and he shortly became the sole 
owner. He also became the part owner of the Indian Head Hotel at 
Nashua, New Hampshire, and for a time was its manager. He con- 
tinued his real estate dealing, becoming a large owner of Lowell prop- 
erty. 

Mr. Parker decided that a good profit was awaiting the man who 
had the courage to try, and the ability to transact an export business 
in apples, and perfecting his arrangements he shipped the first con- 
signment of the fruit ever sent from this country to England. Re- 
frigeration was then an imperfect art and shipments were made only 
in winter, but for several years he continued in the business with 
satisfactory results to himself, adding a new industry which has since 
resulted most profitably to fruit growers in all sections of the country. 
So his life was passed, industry being ever its dominating character- 
istic. The success he achieved was fairly won, and in the accumula- 
tion of his fortune no man was prevented from exercising his every 
right, no governmental favor was obtained, nor any man pulled down 
that he might rise. He dealt fairly and honorably with all and de- 
manded only his own. He w-as ofifered directorships in banks, but 
always refused, saying: "I do not want the responsibility of handling 
other people's money." He attended Kirk Street Congregational 
Church, L.owell, and in politics was a Republican. 

Mr. Parker married, in 1846, Sarah Stevens, of Mount X'ernon, 
New Hampshire, daughter of Daniel and Tabitha (Sawyer) Stevens, 
her father a native of Chelmsford, Massachusetts, his parents moving 
to Stoddard, New- Hampshire, w-hen he was two years of age, settling 
on land patented to them while it was still virgin forest by the State. 
Mr. and Mrs. Parker w-ere the parents of four daughters, of whom two 
survive, .-Mice C, and Lina S. Parker, w-ho reside in Lowell, their 
home being at No. 57 Belmont avenue. 



ARTHUR J. GAGNON, D. D. S. 

Dr. Arthur J. Gagnon, now engaged in the practice of dentistry in 
the city of Lowell, Massachusetts, was born at St. Ursule, Province of 
Oueiiec, Canada, July u. 1S68, a son of Boniface and Judith (Bran- 
chaud) Gagnon. His father was a merchant of Three Rivers, Canada. 
He received a high school and college education, and after obtaining 
his degree, began the practice of dentistry in Lowell in 1886. In that 



404 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

profession he has continued without interruption for thirty-three 
years. He has been very successful. Dr. Gagnon is a member of the 
Vesper Country, the Martin Luther, the Yorick and Lafayette clubs, 
and the C M. A. C. 

Dr. Gagnon married. July 26, 1900, in Lowell, Hermine Bella- 
vance. 



WILLIAM STEUBEN SOUTHWORTH. 

\\'ith the passing of William S. Southworth, at Tampa, Florida, 
after an illness of but two days, the textile industry of New England 
lost one of its best known mill agents, the city of Lowell lost a citizen 
of honor and uprightness, the mill workers of the city lost a true, 
loyal and sympathetic friend. Mr. Southworth was one of the most 
successful textile manufacturers in New England, not only because 
he had the practical knowledge of manufacturing, but because he 
was a hard worker, and he understood men. He enjoyed working out 
manufacturing problems. Much of his work he did long after the 
day's schedule was ended for the operatives. Few knew the earnest- 
ness of his endeavor. In his dealings with employees, Mr. South- 
worth was usually able to strike a balance, he saw their side as well 
as that of the mill owners, and because he was able to get their view- 
point he enjoyed their esteem and confidence, and out of such rela- 
tions came one of the finest and most effective organizations known to 
American textile manufacturing. He was exact, and he sought that 
virtue in others. He was fair in his business dealings, and in time the 
Massachusetts cotton mills, under his direction, obtained a reputation 
for production excelled by none. It was but natural with such leader- 
ship that expansion should come, and the Massachusetts Cotton Mills 
not only developed wonderfully in Lowell, but the new mills started 
in Lindale, Georgia, vmder the same management prospered as 
much as those in Lowell. Modern methods in both plants, together 
with well-paid and satisfied employees, contributed to the success of 
the Massachusetts activities. That he shared the esteem of employees 
as well as of mill owners was evidenced at the time of Mr. South- 
worth's retirement by the following: 

We, the undersigned employees of the Massachusetts Cotton 
Mills, learning with unfeigned regret that you are this day to retire 
from the position which you so long and honorably filled as agent of 
this corporation, tender to you with one accord this manifestation of 
our regard and esteem. We, who have worked with you, know better 
than others can possibly know what your untiring services have 
meant to the Massachusetts mills, and through them to the city of 
Lowell. We, who have been your associates, realize better than any 
others can realize the full worth of your personal character, your 




W. 3.5ou^"L.^^l-^ 



RIOr.RAl'IIICAL 405 

devotion to our common tasks, \-our kindness ; in short, your human- 
ity. To these we testify, trusting that you will not misunderstand or 
he greatly displeased, if we mark this day of parting with a word of 
heartfelt jiraise. 

The public at large has marked the growth of the Massachusetts 
mills during the twenty-nine years of your service as agent ; but only 
those within can have known what it cost in hours of patient plan- 
ning, wise foresight, courage and physical fatigue. You, sir, have 
erected a monument more enduring than bronze, and if we others 
have borne any part therein it has been under your leadership, and 
under the constant inspiration of your example. We regret your de- 
liarture from our common labors, but we are sure that twenty-nine 
\cars of your service will prove as important to the future of these 
mills as they have been to their past, and with full hearts we wish you 
long life, a well-earned rest, and every blessing. 

Mr. South worth was a descendant of Constant .South worth, who 
came to Plymouth, Massachusetts, in 1620; John Alden, Plymouth. 
1620; Thomas Tolman, of Dorchester, 1630; Richard Kent, Ipswich, 
1634. He was a son of Gustavus W. Southworth, born Se])temr)er 16, 
181 1, the third son of Gordon B. and Abigail Southworth, of Dorset, 
\'ermont. Gustavus W. Southworth married (second) January 28, 
1845, '1 Chicago, Illinois, Susan Jane Alden, born in Baltimore, Mary- 
land, November 3, 1819, seventh child of Jonathan and Mehitable 
Alden, of that city. Gustavus \V. Southworth died August 30, 1854, 
his widow November 28, 1861. Gordon B. Southworth was a son of 
Joshua (2), son of Joshua (i), son of Nathaniel, son of William, son 
of Constant Southworth. the American ancestor of the famil}- wlici 
came in 1620. 

William S. Southworth, son of Gustavus W. and Susan Jane 
(Alden) .Southworth, was born in Chicago, Illinois, November 17, 
1849, died in the city of Tampa, Florida, February 11, 1919. He was 
named after an uncle who, in 1849, was made agent of the Lawrence 
Manufacturing Company of Lowell, a fact which greatly influenced 
the lad's after-life. Until he was fifteen years of age he followed the 
fortunes of his parents, and in turn attended the public schools of 
Kenosha, Wisconsin; Newmarket, New Hampshire; and Nahant, 
Massachuj:etts. He came to Lowell, in 1864, and was given a posi- 
tion with the Lawrence Manufacturing Company as office boy in their 
counting room. Two years later he entered the offices of the pro- 
prietors of locks and canals, continued in the engineering department 
of that organization until 1876, with the exception of two years as a 
printer and assistant editor on the Lowell "Courier." Two years, 
1876-78, were spent as assistant clerk in the Massachusetts House of 
Representr'tives, and five years with George Draper & Sons, builders 
of cotton mill machinery at llopedale. Massachusetts. There he 



4o6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

gained the practical mill experience which later was of great value in 
the rehabilitation and expansion of the Massachusetts Cotton Mills, 
to which he came in 1S82 as super'ntendent, Frank H. Battles then 
being superintendent. On Mr. Battle's retirement, in 1889, Mr. South- 
worth was appointed agent, and for twent)'-two years he continued at 
the head of the Massachusetts Cotton Mills, resigning May 31, 191 1. 

At the time of his death, Mr. Southworth was president of the 
Lowell Five Cents Savings Bank ; a director of the Shaw Stocking 
Company ; and a trustee of the Lowell Cemetery Association. He had 
been a director of the Railroad National Bank until its merger, and 
was an ex-treasurer of the Lowell Hospital Association. He was long 
an honored member of the New England Cotton Manufacturers' Asso- 
ciation, and of Kirk Street Congregational Church. In politics he was 
a Republican, but with strongly developed independent tendencies. 
He was interested in many worthy causes and was most generous and 
helpful. 

Mr. Southworth married, No\'ember 20, 1871, Ella Frances Emer- 
son, who died January 8, 1917. They had no children. In his will Mr. 
Southworth generously remembered those institutions whose work 
had appealed to him in life : The Lowell Boy's Club, the Young Men's 
Christian .Association, the Young Women's Christian Association ; all 
sharing in his bounty. 



THE TRADERS' AND MECHANICS' INSURANCE COMPANY 
(MUTUAL) 

This company was incorporated as a mutual company and was so 
conducted until 1854, when a stock department was added. It was 
run as a joint stock and mutual company until 1881, when capital and 
surplus was divided among the shareholders, and only the mutual 
business continued. The company has paid losses up to January i, 
1917, aggregating $2,671,588.22, and pays dividends on all expiring 
policies, having paid as high as seventy per cent, return premiums on 
five-year policies, fifty per cent, on three-year and thirty per cent, on 
one-year policies. The present treasurer of the company, Edward M. 
Tucke, is a son of Edward Tucke, who for fifteen years was president 
of the old Lowell National Bank. Office of the treasurer. Room 24. 
No. 53 Central street. 

The present officers are : President, Nicholas G. Norcross ; secre- 
tary and treasurer, E. M. Tucke ; assistant secretary. Edward W. Brig- 
ham. Directors : Nicholas G. Norcross, George S. Motley, Franklin 
Nourse, Walter H. Howe, Frank P. Putnam, Frank E. Dunbar, E. M 
Tucke, Percy Parker, Tyler A. Stevens. 




^i^-^-^ 0^ ^^)^.t7i^^yniZC 



BIOC.RAI'illCAL 407 

JOHN J. O'CONNELL. 

For fifteen years Mr. O'Connell lias I)een eiigajjed in the under- 
taking Inisiness in Lowell, Massachusetts, the ])resent tirni name, 
O'Connell & Fay. To a high reputation as a business man he adds 
years of public service in both city and State legislative bodies, during 
which he has compiled an honorable record. He is very popular and 
influential in city politics, one of the local leaders of the Democracy. 
John J. O'Connell is a son of Timothy and Mary A. (Finnegan) 
O'Connell, his father born in County Cork, his mother born in Lim- 
erick, Ireland. They moved to County Kerry, where Mr. O'Connell 
was a farmer the remainder of his days, and there both died. Timo- 
thy and Mary A. (Finnegan) O'Connell were the parents of eleven 
children, eight sons and three daughters. Three of the sons came to 
the United States: Timothy, who after a few years in Lowell went 
West and there died; John J., of further mention; and Michael, a 
memljcr of Lowell's police force. 

John J. O'Connell was born in the village of Brosna, County 
Kerry. Ireland, February 7, 1863, and there spent the first seventeen 
years of his life. He came to the United States in 1880, a passenger 
on the then largest passenger steamship afloat, "The City of Berlin," 
arriving at New York City. He soon found his way to Lowell, Mas- 
sachusetts, where he was for a time a mill employee, but later secured 
a position with the city department of streets. Later, and for eleven 
years, he was proprietor of a cafe in Lowell, selling out in 1903, and 
engaging in the undertaking business as a member of the firm, O'Con- 
nell & Cashman. Their undertaking rooms were first on Lawrence 
street, later on Central street, and since 1908 at No. 658 Gorham street. 
O'Connell & Cashman were succeeded by O'Connell & Mack, and the 
latter by the present partnership, O'Connell & Fay. The firm enjoys 
a high reputation, and is highly regarded as honorable, upright busi- 
ness men. 

Air. 0'C(jnncll affiliated with the Democratic party after becom- 
ing a citizen, and has always taken an active part in public affairs, 
both as an interested citizen and public official. In 1903 he was ap- 
pointed a member of the City Common Council to fill out the unex- 
pired term of John Grady, and in 1904 was elected to succeed himself. 
He sat in the first council to occupy their quarters in the new City 
Hall, John J. Pickman then being mayor. In 1916 he was elected to 
represent the Sixteenth Middlesex District in the State Legislature, 
his committee appointment being State house and library. For five 
years he was a member of the Democratic executive committee for 
Ward Four, and in 1917 he was elected a delegate to the Massachu- 
setts Constitutional Convention to serve two years, being a member 



4o8 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

of the special committee of the convention State finances. In religious 
faith Mr. O'Connell is a member of Sacred Heart Roman Catholic 
Church. He is a member of Court Merrimack, Foresters of America ; 
Division No. i, Ancient Order of Hibernians; Lowell Aerie, Fraternal 
Order of Eagles ; Lowell Lodge, No. 87, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; Ward Four Improvement Association: Harmony 
Club ; and The Bunting Cricket Association. 

Mr. O'Connell married, February 22, 1892, Mary A. Walsh, born 
in Lowell, daughter of Redmond Walsh. The family home is at No. 
61 Newhall street. 



WILL T. S. BARTLETT. 



Mr. Bartlett has had nearly forty years experience in the hard- 
ware business, comes from an old New England family, is a member 
of the Pawtucket Congregational Church, belongs to the Red Men, 
Sons of Veterans, is president of the Lowell Paper Tube Corporation, 
and is actively interested in numerous manufacturing enterprises. 
He was born April 19, 1867, in the mill district of Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts, receiving his education in the public schools, and at an early 
age was obliged to earn his keep, working in the mills. Early in 1883 
he entered the hardware business, and since then has devoted all his 
energies to the promotion and development of this business until 
to-day he is the dean of the dealers of Lowell, and has a well appointed 
and large stocked store. In 1895 he succeeded to a business that had 
been established since 1826. Mr. Bartlett is a man of genial energy, 
strong convictions, resourceful, aggressive and progressive, faithful 
and conscientious. At one time in his early life he was active in mili- 
tary affairs, serving three years in Company D, Second Corps Cadets, 
Massachusetts State Militia. In politics he is a progressive Repub- 
lican. 

On September 9, 1897, he was married to Alice M. Colton, daugh- 
ter of Dr. John Jay and Czarina C (Varnum) Colton, and they are the 
parents of two children: A\inthrop C, born July 19, 1S98, and 
Czarina V., born March 2, 1914. 



CHARLES HENRY MOLLOY. 

When gathered to his fathers in 1916, Charles H. Molloy left two 
able sons to continue the business he founded in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, and when his country called, the elder brother responded, and is 
now in France, the younger brother continuing the business. Charles 
Henry Molloy was a son of James Molloy, born in Ireland, who came 
to the United States when a young man, and settled in Georgetown, 




-^^-^/^ 



^^^;^^- 





t^cx^ //,<^^^^^^^ 



/- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 409 

Massachusetts, where for many years he was a prosperous farmer, 
highly respected. After retirement he moved to Haverhill, Massachu- 
setts, where he died. He married Bridget McGrath, born in Ireland, 
who died in Haverhill, Massachusetts. They were the parents of 
Charles Henry Molloy. now deceased, who for twenty-one years was 
engaged in the undertaking business in Lowell, Massachusetts. 

Charles Henry Molloy was born in Georgetown, Massachusetts, 
June 8, 1861, and died in Lowell, Massachusetts, December 7, 1916. 
His youth was spent at the farm in Georgetown, his education secured 
in the schools of that town and Haverhill, Massachusetts. After leav- 
ing school he was employed for a time in Georgetown mills, later 
went to Boston, where he was employed until 1893, coming to Lowell 
in that year. During his first years in Lowell, he was employed in 
an undertaking establishment, then on July i, 1895, began business 
under his own name at No. 343 Market street, there conducting a 
successful business as an undertaker and funeral director until his 
death, twenty-one years later. Lie was a good business man, energetic 
and upright, conducting his business along modern lines, and stood 
high among his contemporaries. The business he founded is now con- 
ducted by his .sons, Joseph A. and Leo C. Molloy, under the firm name. 
Charles H. Molloy's Sons, located at the old number. 343 Market 
street, Lowell. 

Mr. Molloy was a Democrat in politics, very active in the party, 
and prominent in the public life of his city. In 1903 he was elected a 
member of the Board of Aldermen, and in 1905 was reelected. He 
sat as a delegate in many party conventions, and was one of the 
acknowledged leaders of the party in Lowell. He was a member of 
the Roman Catholic church ; a past exalted ruler of Lowell Lodge. 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and treasurer for nine years 
until his death; treasurer of Lowell Lodge, Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians : member of the Catholic Foresters of America ; Massachusetts 
Catholic Order of Foresters; and treasurer of Court Wamesit, For- 
esters of America. 

Mr. Molloy married Catherine O. Herlihy, born in Lawrence. 
Massachusetts, the city in which she now resides. They were the par- 
ents of three children, all born in Charlestown, Massachusetts: i. 
Frances Claire, born May 13, 1888, married Elias J. McQuade, of the 
firm of Dickerman & McQuade, of Lowell ; they are the parents of two 
children: Martha and Elias (3) McQuade. 2. Joseph Aloysius, of 
whom further. 3. Leo Charles, of whom further. 

Joseph Aloysius Molloy, the eldest son, was born May 25, 1889, 
and educated at St. Anselms College, Manchester, New Hampshire. 
He later joined his father in the undertaking business in Lowell, and 
upon the latter's death succeeded him. When war with Germany was 



4IO HISTORY OF LOWELL 

imminent he enlisted, l)eing the first business man in Lowell to enter 
the army as an enlisted man. He detailed a mounted orderly at the 
army camp at Framingham, Massachusetts, was selected to attend the 
officers' training camp at Plattsburg, New York, passed the course 
successfully, and was commissioned second lieutenant in the United 
States regular army. He was assigned to duty with the Twenty- 
third Regiment, United States Infantry, and with that regiment went 
overseas, the Twenty-third being one of the first regiments of the 
American Expeditionary Forces arriving in September, 1917. He has 
seen hard service, his regiment having been in the thick of a great 
deal of fighting. 

Leo Charles Molloy, the younger of the two sons of Charles Henry 
MoUoy, was born March 30, 1891. He was educated at St. Anselms 
College, Manchester, New Hampshire, and at Holy Cross College, 
Worcester, Massachusetts, finishing his studies at Holy Cross in 191 1, 
and since then he has been associated with the imdertaking business, 
and with his brother, Joseph A., now in France, constitutes the firm 
of Charles H. Molloy's Sons, No. 343 Market street, Lowell, Massa- 
chusetts. In the absence of his brother the burden of management 
falls upon the shoulders of the younger brother. 



WILLIAM H. GOLDSMITH, JR. 

William H. Goldsmith, Jr., is agent of the Lowell Shop, Saco- 
Lowell Shops, Lowell, Massachusetts. 



JAMES P. ROBINSON. 

\\'ith the passing of James P. Robinson, founder of the James P. 
Robinson Iron Foundry of Lowell, the city lost one of her loyal native 
sons and veteran foundrymen, one who from the beginning of his 
apprenticeship until the rendering of his final account, thirty years 
later, knew no other interest. The business he founded was also the 
business school of his sons, James P., Jr., and Richard T., who de- 
veloped an aptitude and skill under their honored father's instruction, 
and when he retired at the command of the Master they succeeded to 
the business, and the James P. Robinson Iron Foimdry under their 
management continues its successful course, and each year shows a 
substantial increase in the volume of business handled. 

James P. Robinson was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, February 
6, 1865, and died in the city of his birth and continued residence. May 
12, 1912. He attended the public schools of Lowell until seventeen 
years of age, leaving high school to become a moulder's apprentice. 
That was in 1882, his employer, William Edwards, then operating the 
Union Iron Foundry in Lowell. After completing his apprenticeship 






f 



•n. 



/^^^^-'-^^^ ^^^C^/t^^i,^,,^;^.^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 411 

Mr. Robinson continued as journeyman for a few years, acquiring 
skill as a moulder and becoming familiar with all the foundry's de- 
partments, pattern, casting and finishing. He was ambitious to estab- 
lish a business under his own name, conserved his resources carefully, 
and finally took the decisive step by forming a partnership with his 
brother Anthony and bought the Union Iron Foundry from William 
Edwards. Robinson Brothers made good castings, built up a good 
class of patrons and prospered. They enlarged as business needs de- 
manded. When they dissolved partnership, Anthony Robinson con- 
tinued the Union Iron Foundr}^ and James P. Robinson established the 
James P. Robinson Iron Foundry, in 1908, and when Anthonj- Robin- 
son died he bought the Union Iron Foundry, operated it a few years 
and closed it up. But the years had given him stalwart sons to share 
the burden, and the business continued under the new conditions as 
the James P. Robinson Iron Foundry. JNlr. Robinson continued head 
of the business until his last illness, then turned the control over to 
James P., Jr., and Richard T. Robinson, its present managers. James 
P. Robinson married Hannah O'Leary, of Lowell. Their children are: 
James P., Jr., Richard T.. Joseph P., deceased ; Gertrude, Josephine 
and Madeline. James P. Robinson, Jr., was born in Lowell, Massachu- 
setts, August 20, 1888. He attended 'the graded and high schools of 
the city until he was fifteen years of age, then entered the Union Iron 
Foundry as an apprentice, under his father and uncle, develojiing 
strong, mechanical ability, and when in 190S the James P. Robinson 
Iron Foundry was established, he with his l^rother became mem- 
bers of the company upon whom the burden of management fell. In 
1912, as the eldest son, he succeeded his father as head of the business. 
The plant is located on Foundry street, off Plain, and there light and 
heavy castings are manufactured. James P. Robinson married, June 
18, 1913. Ingrid I. Pihl, the family home being at No. 208 Princeton 
street. They were the parents of two daughters, Eleanor and Muriel, 
both now deceased. 

Richard T. Robinson was born in Lowell, Massachusetts, August 
30, 1890. He attended the public graded and high schools of Lowell 
until he was about fifteen years of age, then became an apprentice in 
Robinson Brothers Foundry. He became a member of the firm, the 
James P. Robinson Iron Foundry, and since the death of James P. 
Robinson, St., in 191 2, has shared with his brother the responsibili- 
ties of the business, ever a large and successful one. He is a member 
of Lowell Lodge, No. 87, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
at the present time (1919) loyal knight of the lodge. Richard T. Rob- 
inson married Margaret O'Harie, of Lowell, they the parents of two 
daughters: Dorothy and Blanche. The family home is at No. 27 
Albert street, Lowell. 



412 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

LOUIS P. TURCOTTE. 

Coming from his Canadian birthplace to Lowell, Massachusetts^ 
as a young man, Louis P. Turcotte has since been a resident of this 
city, engaged successively in grocery dealings, mechanical lines, and 
liquor dealings, to the present time (1919). He was born in St. Guil- 
laume. Province of Quebec, Canada, October 18, 1848, and attended 
the public schools of his birthplace, completing his education in eve- 
ning schools in Lowell. His independent business operations began, 
in 1875, when he became a grocer in Salem, Massachusetts, and from 
1876 to 1888 he was employed as a mechanic. In the latter year he 
became a liquor merchant and continued his activities in this field with_ 
prosperous result to the present. This has been his main business 
connection during that time, although he has been closely concerned 
in public affairs, serving in 1890 and 1891 on the City Council, elected 
on the Republican ticket. He is a member of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and the American Citizen Lafayette Club. 
His church is the Roman Catholic. 

Mr. Turcotte married, in Lowell, Massachusetts, October 18, 
T876, Marcelline Blanchette, daughter of Jean Louis and Adelaide 
(Poissant) Blanchette, and they are the parents of: Homer H. L., 
who married Nora Hotin, of Lowell ; Lucien F., who married Mar- 
garet Lake, of Lowell; Evangeline M.; Henry L. ; Lucienne A., who 
married Horace H. Phaneuf, of Lowell; Gabrielle M.; and Arthur L. 



FIRTH B. ROLLINSON. 



When, in 1914, Mr. Rollinson came to Lowell as general manager 
of the Middlesex Company (woolen department), now the Brookfield 
Woolen Company, it was not as a novice in either mill management 
or woolen manufacturing, for in the textile school and in the woolen 
mills of England he had won highest standing as a designer and prac- 
tical textile worker, and in Canada and in the United States had held 
managerial positions of importance with large woolen manufacturing 
corporations. He is a son of Samuel C. and Ann (Brodhead) Rollin- 
son, both of English birth and parentage. 

Firth B. Rollinson was born in Holmfirth, near Huddersfield, 
England, December 27, 1864, and there attended public school and 
academy. Deciding to become a textile worker, he determined to pre- 
pare for the higher positions, and in accordance with his plans entered 
for and completed a three years' course in designing under Professor 
Beaumont at the Yorkshire College, the oldest school of its class in 
the entire world. This course he completed shortly after arriving at 
legal age, and when twenty-two years old he was filling the position 
of designer and manager of the Savile Mills, at Dewsbury, England 




e^y^^ ^f^^i^^^. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 413 

For six years he remained in Dewsbury, then spent six years in the 
same capacity at the Robert Wilson Woolen Mills, at Batley, England. 
In 1895 he came to America, going in 1898 to the Paton Manufactur- 
ing Company at Sherbrooke, Canada, the largest woolen and worsted 
manufacturing corporation in Canada. There he continued for six 
years as superintendent, then came to the United States, locating at 
Dayville, Connecticut, there spending several years as superintendent 
of the Assawaya Company. From Dayville, Mr. Rollinson came to 
Massachusetts, connecting with the North Adams Manufacturing 
Company, but two years later going to Utica, New York, as general 
superintendent of the Famous Globe Mills, remaining there through 
the years 1912 and 1913. In 1914 he again came to Massachusetts, 
locating in Lowell as general manager of the Brookfield Woolen Com- 
pany, No. 40 Warren street, incorporated in 1916, Henry Lewis, presi- 
dent. Brook Stevens, treasurer. In this position he held true to the 
high reputation which had preceded him, and is still well known 
among the representative mill men of his city. He is a member of 
the Masonic order, and of the Congregational church. 

Mr. Rollinson married, September 4, 1888, Louisa Jessup, of 
Huddersfi.'ld, England; they are the parents of Florence, Bessie, and 
Jack Rollinson. 



JOHN J. MAHONEY, A. B., A. M. 

Many years ago John Mahoney opened the first undertaking 
establishment in the city of Lawrence, Massachusetts. When he laid 
down the burden of management, it was assumed by his son, John D. 
Mahonej', who conducted the business until his death. John D. Ma- 
honey was also interested in public affairs and served Lawrence as 
both councilman and overseer of the poor. He married Ellen E. 
Regan, of Lawrence, Massachusetts, and among their children was 
John J. Mahoney, now principal of Lowell Normal School. Both John 
D. and Ellen E. Mahoney have passed to their reward, both d\ ing at 
the age of sixty years, he in December, 191 5. 

John J. Mahoney was born at Lawrence, Massachusetts, Decem- 
ber 2, 1 880, and there began his education as a pupil at St. Mary's 
Parochial School, continuing until graduated, valedictorian, class of 
1896. He then entered Phillips Andover Academy, there pursuing a 
brilliant career during his three years as a student. He was gradu- 
ated with honors, class of 1899, and on graduation day was presented 
with several prizes won for Greek and Latin excellence, the crowning 
honor, the conferring of a $250 scholarship at Harvard University. At 
Harvard he continued his brilliant career as a student, and in 1903 was 
graduated Bachelor of Arts, magna cum laitde, missing the coveted 



414 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

siimnta citiii laitdc by one-half of an A, his A's secured in courses total- 
ling fourteen and one-half, the needed number being fifteen. At Har- 
vard he specialized in the classics, but later made education his spe- 
cialty, and has taken the Professor Hanus courses and Harvard 
Graduate School courses, sufficient to earn the Harvard Master of 
Arts in education. 

After graduation from Harvard, Professor Mahoney began his 
career as an educator, his first position being as a teacher in English 
in the Lawrence High School during the school year 1903-04. In 
October, 1904, he was elected headmaster of the largest grammar 
school in Lawrence, the Packard School, there being many candidates 
for the position, all more experienced than the chosen one. From 1904 
to 1912 he continued head of the grammar school above referred to. 
and for six years of that period, 1906-12, was supervisor of evening 
schools in Lawrence, being the pioneer organizer of that now impor- 
tant branch of the public school system of Lawrence, but then almost 
wholly overlooked. In connection with the development of the eve- 
ning school system of the city. Professor Mahoney took upon himself 
another branch of school work, and is the author of one of the very 
first pamphlets ever printed on "The Teaching of the Foreigner in 
the Evening School." 

In 1912 Professor Mahoney severed his connections with the 
Lawrence schools, accepting election as assistant superintendent of 
schools in Cambridge, Massachusetts. There he was supervisor of 
the grammar graded, and as a special assignment was in charge of the 
seventy-five teachers of the High and Latin School. He was in sole 
charge of the evening schools of the Cambridge public school system, 
and during the three years he was in charge thoroughly reorganized 
the evening schools. The most important construction work carried 
forward and completed under his inspiring leadership was the scien- 
tific investigation of the problem of teaching English and the adoption 
of a course of study for the Cambridge schools, the clearest and most 
definite solution of the problem ever put forth. In 191 5 he was elected 
principal of the Lowell Normal School, his present position. 

During the winter of 1907-08, Professor Mahoney went abroad 
under the auspices of the National Civic Federation to study the 
schools of England and Scotland. He is well known on the lecture 
platform of New England cities, and he has written a great deal for 
the educational journals. His writings include reports, courses of 
study, and papers on educational subjects. One of these '"The Prob- 
lem of the Poor Pupil," published in "Education" in 1906; another, 
"Economy of Time in English," in "School and Society," July, 191 5, 
attracting wide attention and favorable comment. He is a member 
of the New England Educational Association : the National Society 



RIOCKAI'IIICAL 415 

fur the Promotion of Industrial Education; National Council of Eng- 
lish Teachers, Harvard Teachers' Association ; New England Super- 
intendents' Association ; American Institute of Instruction and other 
organizations, social and professional. He ranks very high among 
American educators, and at a recent convention of the American Insti- 
tute of In-^truction held at Harvard, he conducted one of the programs. 
He is an ex-president of the Carter's Club of Lawrence, member of 
the Boston City Club, Yorick Club, Merrimack Valley Country Club, 
the Knights of Columbus, and in politics is a Democrat. 



JAMES HARVEY GAMBLE. 

From office boy to superintendent has been the record made by 
Mr. Gamble with the American Mason Safety Tread Company, a busi- 
ness established in 1893, incorporated in 1895. With the exception of 
a short period with the Shaw Stocking Company, his entire business 
life has been spent with the company he now serves as superintendent, 
and there is no detail of the manufacturing nor office department with 
which he is not familiar. The company manufactures safety stair 
treads for street and railroad cars; American Mason sidewalk lights; 
coal hole covers, and Karbolith fireproof flooring. The plant in 
Lowell employs about one hundred hands, and offices are maintained 
by the company in all large cities of the country. The company was 
founded in 1893 by William S. Lamson, inventor of the Lamson Store 
and Cash System, and is now capitalized at $500,000. Officers: H. C. 
King, president; James L. Campbell, treasurer; J. Harvey Gamljle, 
superintendent. 

James Harvey Gamble was born September 20, 1880, in Herdman, 
Province of Quebec, Canada, where he spent the first ten years of his 
life. His father died when James H. was but three months old, and 
in 1890 he was brought to Lowell by his widowed mother, and has 
ever since been a resident of that city. .After completing the grades, 
he entered Ltnvell High School, from which he graduated, finishing 
his studies with a course at Perrin Business College, in Boston. His 
first position was in the office of the Shaw Stocking Company, but 
his stay there was short, his second employer, and his last, the Ameri- 
can Safety Tread Comjjany. He began with that company as an 
office boy, but soon began his upward climb, and he held the positions 
of foreman, shipping clerk, paymaster, and purchasing agent prior to 
1910, in which year he was appointed superintendent. His position 
gives him full charge of the plant, but he understands his duties thor- 
oughly, and every department is administered in a modern, business- 
like manner, and the varied output of the plant is kept up to a high 
standard of excellence. Mr. Gamble is a deep student, keeps well 



4i6 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

abreast of all inventive progress, and is a thorough twentieth century 
manufacturer. 

Mr. Gamble is a member of the Lowell Board of Trade ; the Asso- 
ciated Industries of Massachusetts ; the Yorick Club ; Vesper Country 
Club ; William North Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Mount 
Horeb Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Ahasuerus Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar; and Aleppo 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Gamble married, in 1904, at Lowell, Laura B. Symonds, they 
the parents of a son, Harvey R. Gamble, born May 10, 1910. 



FREDERICK ARTHUR FLATHER. 

Frederick A. Flather, treasurer of the Boott Mills, of Lowell, is 
descended paternally from French Huguenot ancestry, his maternal 
line tracing to Thomas Drake, a settler of Weymouth early in the 
Colonial period and a participant in King Philip's War. He is a son 
of Joseph Flather, born in Bradford, Yorkshire, England, April i, 
1837, who came to the United States as a youth of seventeen years. 
He became the owner of a machine shop in Nashua, New Hampshire, 
and at his death, February 3, 1907, was the head of the firm, Flather 
& Company. He married Caroline Drusilla Drake, born January 25, 
1842, in Newton, Massachusetts, and died February 2, 1869. 

Frederick Arthur Flather was born in Nashua, New Hampshire, 
March 21, 1867. He was educated in the public schools of his birth- 
place, and early in his business career was associated with his father. 
Subsequently he was connected with the Pettee Machine Works, of 
Newton, Massachusetts, and the Lowell Machine Shop, of Lowell, 
both manufacturers of cotton machinery, and after a period was in 
the employ of the McCormick Harvester Company and the Inter- 
national Harvester Company, of Chicago. From the last-named cor- 
poration he came to the Boott Mills (q. v.) and since 1905 has been 
treasurer of that large and prosperous enterprise. In addition to this 
interest he is vice-president of the Mechanics' Savings Bank, of 
Lowell, and a director of the Merchants' National Bank, of Boston. 
He serves the Lowell Textile School as trustee, is a member of the 
American Society of Mechanical Engineers, of New York, the Na- 
tional Association of Cotton Manufacturers, and affiliates with the 
Masonic order. He is a member of the First Congregational Church. 
In political faith he is a Republican. His clubs are the Eastern Yacht, 
the Marblehead Neck, Massachusetts, the Algonquin, Exchange, and 
Arkwright, of Boston, and the Yorick, \'esper Countr}-, and Long- 
meadow, of Lowell. 



BIOGRAPniCAL 417 

Mr. Flather married (tirst) in i'ucblo, Colorado, June i, 1891, 
Mary Southerland Prichard, horn in Bradford, Vermont, died in 
Nashua, New Hampshire; (second) Alice Poor Rogers, born in 
Lowell, Massachusetts. Children: Mary Drusilla, a graduate of 
Brown University, class of 1917, and Bryn Mawr College, 1919; John 
Rogers, and Frederick, students in Harvard University, class of 1923. 



THE BOOTT MILLS. 



By act of the Massachusetts Legislature, jiasscd Feliruary 6, 1822, 
the Merrimack Manufacturing Company was incorporated. Kirk and 
John Wright Boott being among the incorporators. The company's 
first mill was started September i, 1823, the first cloth woven in No- 
vember, 1823, and the first shipment made from the mill January 3, 
1824. The Hamilton Manufacturing Company was incorporated 
January 26, 1825; the Appleton Company, February 4, 1828; the 
Lowell Manufacturing Company, February 8. 1828; the Middlesex 
Company, June 5, 1830; the Suffolk Manufacturing Company, Janu- 
ary 17, 1831 ; the Tremont Mills, March 19, 1831 ; the Laurence Manu- 
facturing Company, March 11, 1836; and the Boott Mills, March 27, 
1835, the avowed purpose of all these corporations being the manu- 
facture of cotton and woolen goods in the town of Lowell and Mid- 
dlesex county. The capital stock of the Boott Mills Corporation was 
placed at $1,000,000, but on February- 11, 1837, permission was given 
them by the Legislature to increase it to $1,500,000. The present capi- 
talization (1919) is $1,550,000. The incorporators of the company 
were three : Abbott Laurence, who was also an incorjiorator and 
first treasurer of the Lowell Machine Shop, president of the Atlantic 
Cotton Mills and the Pacific Mills Company, both of Lawrence, Mas- 
sachusetts ; Nathan Appleton, an associate of Francis L. Lowell, one 
of the purchasers of the water-power at Pawtucket Falls, founder and 
largest owner of the Hamilton Manufacturing Company, and Con- 
gressman; John Amory Lowell, first treasurer of the Boott Mills, a 
man of wonderful achievement in the business world, a fellow of Har- 
vard College, for forty years an accomplished classical scholar, a deep 
mathematician, a botanist of rare attainment and master of several 
foreign languages. This combination of sound, level-headed men, 
practical, scientific, and literary in their natures, joined abilities which 
meant success to any movement or enterprise in which they engaged. 

The four mills of the company are located on Amory street, em- 
ploying sixteen hundred hands, equipped with one hundred and 
twenty-five thousand spindles and twenty-six hundred looms, produc- 
ing corduroy, velveteen, sheetings, and shirtings, seamless bags, cot- 



4i8 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

ton, duck, reps, scrim, and Boott Mills absorbent toweling', which com- 
prise the company's output. The plant covers eight acres, the four 
mills being driven by nine turbines and two turbo-generators, total- 
ling seven thousand horse-power. The present company has been 
generally occupied in building up the property and its business for 
the benefit of stockholders, employees, and customers alike. 

The first treasurer of the company was John Amory Lowell, son 
of John Lowell, and grandson of Judge Lowell, a United States Cir- 
cuit Court Judge. He was a gra-difete of Harvard College in 1815, 
being then but sixteen years of age. He began his business education 
with Kirk Boott & Sons, later becoming a partner with John Wright 
Boott. In 1835 he built the Boott Mill at Lowell and from the incor- 
poration of the company in 1835 until 1848, was treasurer of the com- 
pany. He then resigned, but as president and director was a potent 
factor in the success of the company until his death, October 13, 1884. 
Mr. Lowell was succeeded as treasurer by T. Jefferson Coolidge, who 
held the office from 1848 until 1858, giving way to Richard D. Rogers, 
who continued in office until 1865. Augustus Lowell was treasurer 
ten years. 1865-75, Elliot C. Clark succeeding him in 1875, holding 
until 1903. Alonzo S. Covell was treasurer for one year. The last 
treasurer of the Boott Cotton Mills was Charles F. Young, and the 
first treasurer of the reorganized company, the Boott Mills, was Fred- 
erick Arthur Flather, who was elected in 1905, and is the present treas- 
urer. 



ALEXANDER G. CUMNOCK. 

The development of the water power of the Merrimack river at 
Lowell, early in the nineteenth century, led to the building of manu- 
factories along its banks, which grew rapidly as the canals and other 
arteries were developed to carry water to turn the wheels. Small 
detached mills, managed by the owners of the property, in which only 
one manufacturing process was carried on, gave place in 1822 to the 
experiment of building a great industrial plant, owned by a joint 
stock company, in which all the varied processes from the raw mate- 
rial to the finished product should be carried on under one manage- 
ment. The instant success of this new venture led to the establish- 
ment of other great manufacturing corporations. 

The steady growth of these industrial plants, the rapid increase 
in population and the rise of problems relating to community welfare 
led the founders of these industries, who were in the main wealthy 
merchants of Boston, to select for the managers of the mills men of 
liberal education and culture who brought wisdom and understanding 
to the solution of problems for which no precedent existed. They 



RIOGR AlMIICAr. 419 

were lawyers, mainly, and had little practical knowledge of manu- 
facturing. As long as the price of goods was high and there was 
little or no competition, these corjiorations were remarkably success- 
ful. But by the middle of the century competition had sprung up. 
The success and large dividends of the mills of the "Mother Textile 
City of -America" had been widely heralded, and other cities were 
beginning to Ijuild and c(|ui]) mills aftir the l.ciwcll plan. The C"i\il 
War retarded competition fcir a timi', i)iu after the Declaration of 
Peace there was a wonderful speeding up of industry. Cotton cloth 
which had sold for 30 cents a yard before the war now sold for 6 cents. 
Dividends were greatly reduced, labor was becoming self-conscious, 
demanding shorter hours and a higher wage, and the ways and means 
of reducing the cost of operation were studied with increasing anxiety. 
It was beginning to be felt that managers, or agents as they were 
called, should be not only men of liberal views and business ability, 
but should possess executive talents and a thorough and practical 
knowledge of the varied processes of textile manufacturing. To this 
class belonged Alexander G. Ciminock, who eventually became the 
dean of the cotton manufacturing industr_\- in New iuigland, In- 
reason of his high executive ability, his inveiitixe mind ;md his long 
years of service. 

Mr. Cumnock was horn September j8, 1834, in (dasgow, .Scot- 
land. His father. Koliert L. Cumnock, came with his wife and two 
children to this country in 1846. The family having settled in Lowell, 
Alexander G., ambitious to succeed, eagerly availed himself of the 
educational opportunities ofTered Ijy the public schools, becoming a 
pupil in the F.dson Grammar Schot)l. He devoted not only his davs to 
stu(l\', but after work was over, his evenings as well, and added lessons 
in mathematics and mechanical drawing to his curriculum. Doubtless 
the progress thus made influenced him in later years to make avail- 
able for j^oung men, unable to study during the day time, the courses 
of study of the Lowell Textile School, of which he was a founder and 
which has played an important part in the cotton, woolen and dyeing 
industry not only in New England, but the entire country. 

.After serving a preliminary apprenticeship in manufacturing in 
various Lowell mills, Mr. Cumnock, in 1866, accepted the position 
of agent in the Quinebaug Manufacturing Com])any of Danielson- 
ville, Connecticut. In 1868, he returned to Lowell as agent of the 
Boott Cotton Alills, a position he held with distinction thirty years. 
Under his successful management the plant was develoiied from 64,000 
spindles to treble that number. 

On February 17, i8y8, Mr. Cumnock assumed active control of 
the Appleton Company of Lowell as treasurer. The "Boston Journal 



420 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

of Commerce" said uf him at this time: "Mr. Cumnock is conceded to 
be one of the ablest manufacturers in the country and he certainly was 
one of the earliest to recognize the new era in the manufacture of 
cotton goods and the necessity of changing to a finer and more 
diversified line of goods that would be outside Southern competition." 

When Mr. Cumnock took charge of the Appleton Company, the 
mill was in a bankrupt condition, with worn out machinery and old 
buildings, some of them dating back to 1828. The principal product 
of the mills was sheetings, which could not be successfully manu- 
factured in competition with Southern mills. Mr. Cumnock reorgan- 
ized and put new life into the corporation and established its finances 
on a sound basis. The mills were entirely rebuilt. At the time of his 
death, twenty-one years later, not a single mill was standing which 
had been there when he took control and the size of the plant had 
been increased three-fold. The product of the mills, too, had under- 
gone a change from sheetings to colored nap goods. The corporation 
had a firmly established business, not only in this country but abroad, 
and its trade-mark was copyrighted in thirty-two foreign countries 
with a constantly increasing business. This remarkable result was 
chiefly due to the genius for organization and development possessed 
by Mr. Cumnock. "He was a man with new suggestions, new ideas, 
new designs and new accomplishments so that his mills, the Appleton, 
assumed and held a foremost place in the commercial and financial 
world ;" so wrote a contemporary. He was sixty-four years old when 
he undertook the reorganization of the Appleton Company, but of 
such physical vigor that he seemed a decade younger. 

The greatest monument to his constructive imagination and spirit 
of enterprise is undoubtedly the Lowell Textile School. Owing to the 
rapid development of the manufacture of the coarser cotton fabrics in 
the Southern States, in close proximity to the cotton and coal districts, 
a crisis had developed in the foremost industry of New England. This 
could only be met by the application of science and art to the produc- 
tion of finer and more varied products. This was the basic need for 
the school. To the attsinment of this ideal he brought his technical 
knowledge and skill, and it was largely owing to his wisdom and guid- 
ance that its foundation was possible. From its inception and there- 
after for the twenty-two years of his life he was president of its board 
of trustees. In a public address delivered by Mr. Cumnock at the 
opening of the school, January 30, 1897, he set forth the object of the 
school as follows : 

It seems fitting that this school, the first incorporated textile 
school in New England, should be located in Lowell, Massachusetts, 
the "Mother Textile City of America," the city and State affording 



BIOGRAPHICAL 421 

financial aid in its establishment and the niannfacturers of New F,ng- 
land heins: eqnallv lil)eral in their C(intril)Utiiins. 'j'he advantages of 
the school at a textile center where every commercial lihrc enters into 
the product, the student thus being directly brought in touch with the 
industry and management thereof, will he apparent. The object of the 
school is to give instruction in the ])ractical knowledge necessary in 
the cotton, woolen, worsted, silk and other textile industries, in 
sciences and arts as applied to these industries, and in the processes 
:md methods for the purjjose of improving any special trade, or of 
introducing new branches of industry. It is essentially a trade school, 
and the whole plan provides for such instruction only as will be use- 
ful in textile trades. Science and art will be taught, not with the 
object of educating professional and scientific men, but with a view 
to industrial and commercial applications ; but the school offers to 
graduates of universities and scientific institutions an opportunity of 
instruction in the jiractical applicaticm of certain branches of science. 

The school was opened in the Parker block. Middle street, Feb- 
ruary I, 1897, and five years later a permanent building was built on 
the banks of the Merrimack river at Moody street. From sixty-nine 
pupils at the start in 1897, at Mr. Cumnock's death in 19T9, the school 
numbered twelve hundred. 

Mr. Cumnock passed away .-Xugust 17. 1919. within a month of 
his eightv-fifth birthday, in the ripeness of years and in the full and 
complete exercise of the talents which had made him a dominant influ- 
ence in his day and generation. With an absorbing interest in his 
daily pursuits, he found time for participation in public affairs. He 
was president of the Mechanics' Savings Ikink; director of the Lowell 
Gas Light Company, and of the Stony Brook Railway, president of 
the People's Club, and a generous contributor to all the city char- 
ities. In 1872 he was elected a member of the Board of Aldermen, 
and was chairman of the Committee on Water Works. In 1895 he was 
appointed a member of the Lowell Finance Commission. He was a 
zealous churchman, a devout worshipper, a constant attendant at Sun- 
day school, and for many years senior deacon of the Kirk Street Con- 
gregational Church. He allied himself with movements for the ad- 
vancement of religion, and generously supported plans for community 
betterment. The board of trustees of the Lowell Textile School in- 
scribed upon their records this tribute to his worth as a citizen : 

IJy his death the .school has lost a friend and guide whose sturdy 
character, breadth of vision and pioneering spirit has been woven into 
its very life and being. A moving spirit in the work of establishing 
the school in its humble beginnings, giving without stint his talents, 
energy and resourcefulness to its growth and rapid and sound devel- 
opment, he lived to see the school take high rank among the best 
technical schools of the world. To him, the Dean of New England 
Textile men, the school was an especial pride and his time and effort 



422 HISTORY OF LOWl-XL 

and all the wisdom which long and valuable experience had brought 
him were bestowed upon it freely and gladly ; his own remarkable 
abilities and characteristics had made him a commanding figure in a 
great New England industry among whose captains, past and pres- 
ent, he held an honored place and it was a cherished ambition to make 
the school a shining symbol of all that was best in the solidity, enter- 
prise, industry, skill and beauty of New England. A public-spirited 
citizen, devoted to the support of religion and the furtherance of char- 
itable works, rugged of mind and spirit as he was staunch in physical 
attributes, he brought into the council of men great virility and a high 
regard for all the better things of life. He labored intelligently and 
zealously for the prestige of Massachusetts in practical, scientific edu- 
cation and in ail things deserved so well of the days in which he lived 
that his name should long be held in grateful and appreciative remem- 
brance. 

]Mr. Cumnock was survived by his wife. Frances F. Cumnock, 
whom he married in 1855, and by five children: Eva F. Cumnock, of 
Lowell ; Mrs. John Wood Blodgett, of Grand Rapids, Michigan ; Vic- 
tor I. Cumnock, Arthur J. Cumnock, and Mrs. Norman E. Ditman. 
of New York. 



WILLIAM HENRY WHITE. 

From the age of sixteen years until his death at the age of sev- 
enty-four, the life of William Henry White was one of great activ- 
ity and he reached eminence in more than one walk of life. He began 
life a machinist, and became high in authority in the mechanical 
department of the Erie Railroad. He was a manufacturer of lumber, 
a successful tanner in Canada, and then head of a large and prosperous 
leather house in Lowell, White Brothers and Company, consisting of 
himself and three able sons : E. L., H. K., and W. T. White. Lowell 
was long his home and as manufacturer and private citizen he con- 
tributed to the industrial development of the city and by his enterprise 
and business sagacity founded a very large manufacturing enterprise. 

This branch of the White family in Massachusetts traced descent 
in direct male line from William White, of the "Mayflower," who was 
the sixth signer of the "Compact" drawn up in the cabin of that vessel 
for the self-government of the Colonists. Of him Davis says : "The 
first \\'illiam White, son probably of Bishop John White of England, 
came in the 'Mayflower' in 1620. He married in Leyden, Holland, in 
1612. Anne, sister of Samuel Fuller, always called Susanna. He 
brought with him his wife and son Resolved, born in 1615. He died 
in 1621, and his widow Susanna married (second") Governor Edward 
Winslow." 

Resolved White, son of William and Susanna (Fuller") \\'hite 
came with his parents in the "Mayflower" in 1620 and settled in 



BIOGRAPHICAL 423 

Scituate, Massachusetts. In 1662 he moved to Marshlield, where he 
owned a farm on North river, which he sold in 1670 to John Rogers. 
He owned another farm on South River brook, on which he is believed 
to have lived after leaving Scituate. In 1672 he exchanged this farm 
with Samuel Baker. Resolved White married in Scituate, April 8, 
1640. Judith V'assall, who died at IMar^^hfield, April 3, 1670. She was 
a daughter of William Vassall, of Italian ancestry, the English found- 
ers of the family settling in London during the reign of Kings James 
and Charles I., there becoming possessed of great wealth and power. 
The)- also owned estates in New England and the West Indies. Wil- 
liam Vassall coming with Governor Winthrop in 1630 and returning to 
England the same year. In June, 1635, he came again bringing with 
him his wife and family, arriving in the ship "Blessing." William 
\'assall is said to have been the wealthiest of all the Plymouth colo- 
nists. Resolved and Judith White were the parents of William, John, 
Samuel, Resolved. Anna, Elizabeth and Josiah. The line continued 
through the third son, Samuel. 

Samuel White, born March 13, 1646, resided in Marshfield with 
his parents, hut later moved to Rochester, Massachusetts. He mar- 
ried, and was succeeded by his son Samuel (2). 

Samuel (2) White, born about 1670, married, and by wife Anne 
had several children, including a son Ebenezer, the youngest. 

Ebenezer White was born March 4, 1710, and was a shipwright 
of r>oston, owning a house in Battery Alley. He married Martha 
Piurbeck, of an early Woburn family. 

William White, son of Ebenezer and Martha (P.url)eck) White. 
was born about 1740. He married Mary Bartlett, daughter of Roger 
Bartlett, who came from England, and married Anne Beard about 
1740. His son, Samuel Bartlett, was clerk of the courts and register 
of deeds in Cambridge, Massachusetts, from 1796 until 1819. Mary 
(Bartlett) White died February 23, 1826, leaving a son Samuel. 

Samuel (3) White was born June i, 1773. He married (first) 
Penelope Cades, (second) Sarah Davis, (third) Hannah Hopkins. 
Penelope Cades, his first wife, was born February 9, 1778, died July 
ij. 1807. Samuel (third) White died January 13, 1854. They were 
the parents of Joanna C, Nancy B., Penelope, Samuel Bartlett, of 
further mention ; William, and John B. 

Samuel Bartlett White, son of Samuel (3) and his first wife, Pen- 
elope Cades, was born in Boston, May 17, 1803, died in Winchester, 
Massachusetts, in 1878. He was the first treasurer of the town of 
Winchester, was a founder of the public library there, the first com- 
mander of the Woburn Military Phalanx, one of the organizers of the 
F'irst Presbvterian Church in Winchester, and a man of wonderful 



424 HISTORY OF LOWELL 

energy, perseverance and public spirit. He married Sarah Richard- 
son, an excellent type of New England mother, born in 1804, died in 
1880, daughter of Calvin, son of Jiduthan, son of Thomas, son of Sam- 
uel (3), son of Samuel (2), son of Samuel (i) Richardson, the founder 
of the family in New England. Samuel Richardson, born in England, 
in 1 610, came to New England in 1636. He joined the church at 
Charlestown, February 18, 1637-38; was admitted a freeman, .May 2, 
1638; and moved to Woburn in the spring of 1641, one of the original 
settlers of that town. He was a selectman of Woburn five terms, and 
there died March 23, 1658. 

William Henry White, of the ninth generation of this branch of 
the White family in New England, son of Samuel Bartlett and Sarah 
(Richardson) White, was born in W'oburn, Massachusetts, October 
26, 1829, died in Pittsfield, New Hampshire, November 12, 1903. He 
was educated in the public schools of Woburn and W'inchester, Mas- 
sachusetts, then until sixteen years of age was a student at Sheppard's 
Academy. At sixteen he began learning the machinist's trade, devot- 
ing four years to his apprenticeship, but all those years continuing his 
studies in geometry and draughting. In 1849 he entered the locomo- 
tive shops of the Boston & Lowell Railroad at East Cambridge, Mas- 
sachusetts, and later was an engineer of that road, running between 
Boston and Lowell. From that road he went to the Erie, first as 
assistant master mechanic at now Hornell, New York, and then to 
Dunkirk, New York, on Lake Erie, the western terminus of the Erie at 
that time. He put in order and first occupied the works which later 
became the Brooks Locomotive W^orks. He was offered a partnership 
in a fine lumber manufacturing enterprise, and until the destruction 
of the company's plant at Winchester a few years later they were 
most profitably engaged in sawing foreign hard woods for furniture, 
pianos and other purposes. 

After the fire, Mr. White sold his interest in the company and 
turned to the leather business. He accepted a commission from a 
Boston house to locate and build a modern tannery in Canada, and for 
five years he remained in that country, locating the tannery in Mont- 
real, at the junction of the Grand Trunk railroad and the Lachine 
Canal. In 1863 he located in Lowell and began the manufacture of 
leather, beginning in a small way with one or two men to assist him. 
The business gradually increased as the fine quality of his product 
became known, until finally the volume of business transacted became 
very large. He was associated with his brother in this business as 
White Brothers, and later a salesroom was opened in Boston under the 
firm name of W'hite Brothers & Kilburn. Later, Mr. Kilburn retired 
and a son of each partner was then admitted, forming the firm of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 425 

White Brothers & Sons. This association came to an end in 1887, 
William H. White purchasing his partner's interest and admitting his 
three sons. Edward L., Henry K. and William T. While, the firm 
name then becoming W^hite Brothers & Company. 

With the influx of new blood, the business still more rapidly 
increased, the young men being thoroughly familiar with the business 
and devoting themselves most energetically to the manufacture and 
sale of the plant product. W'ith their able father to direct and guide, 
])rosperity bountifully attended their efforts, and at the factories, 
Howe street and Fort Hill avenue, in Belvidere, from four hundred 
to six hundred men were kept employed even in ordinary times. The 
White leather became well know-n in the market, and they were the 
pioneers in all the higher grades of shoe leather. With the era of 
consolidation and trusts, the fine business of White Brothers & Com- 
pany attracted envious eyes, and later the company was merged with 
the American Hide and Leather Company. AN'illiam White then with- 
drew from the wearying details of business which he had borne so 
long, and bought a farm at Pittsfield, New Hampshire, where he 
thoroughly enjoyed the life of a gentleman fruit farmer, having thou- 
sands of young trees growing, specializing in apples. At various times 
^Ir. White was president of the Lowell Young Men's Christian Asso- 
ciation, a director of the Prescott National Bank, trustee of the Cen- 
tral Savings Bank, vice-president of the Lowell General Hospital, and 
deacon of the High Street Congregational Church. In politics he was 
a Republican. 

William H. White married Theresa Towie, who died leaving four 
children : Edw^ard L., a leather manufacturer in Boston ; Henry Kirke. 
deceased (see sketch on another page) ; William T.. general manager 
of the American Hide and Leather Company plant in Lowell, the 
plant established by his father and known in Lowell as White's Tan- 
nery, and in which William T. was formerly a partner. She was also 
mother of a daughter, Theresa, deceased. William H. White married 
(second) in 1899, Mrs. Maria C. Lyon, who survived him several years. 



INDEXES 



HISTORICAL-BIOGRAPHICAL 



INDEX— HISTORICAL 

History proper ends with page 572, Vol. II. I'arl Two, Biographical, follows 
immediately thereafter, and is paged continuously unto Vol. 111. 



.\l)bott. .\mos. 234 

Abbott, Capt. Edward, 327 

.Absentee Ownership, 426 

.Agricultural Society, 129 

Ansart, Col., 98 

.Anti-Slavery, 91 : beginning of agita- 
tion, 204 

-Appleton, Nathan. 148 

.Arkwright Spinning Frame, 13.1; im- 
provements. 135 

.Art .Association, 455 

.Arts and .Artists, 525; list of arlists, 528 

.\rt Panoramas, 317 

.Articles manufactured in Lowell, 417 

.Athletics, 384 

-Authors of Lowell, 475 

.Aver, Frederick F., 451 

.Ayer, Dr. James C, 246 

.Ayer, James H., 222 

.Ayer Home for Young Women and 
Children, 378 

.Ayer's New City, 232 

Baldwin, Col. Loammi, 114 
Bancroft, Col. Jefferson, 221 
Baptist Church, first, 198 
Bartlett, Dr. Elisha, 220 
Base Ball, 385 
Belvidere, 125, 182 
Beverly, Cotton manufactured at, 137 
Bibliography, 463 

Billerica, parent town of Lowell, 22 
Board of Trade, 422 
Boott, Kirk, 149 
Borland, John, 46 
Boulevard, 441 
Boundaries, 71 
Bowers, Col. Joseph, 120 
Bowers, "Johnnie," 315, 387 
Bradley, .Amos, 57 
Bridge, Col. Ebenezer, 82 
Bridges, early, 25: new, 364 
Bunker Hill, Battle of, 82 
Butler, Benj. F., 194; in Civil War, 291 ; 
quoted, 330; as Governor, 362 



Canals, iii; the Middlesex, 113; navi- 
gation, 117; excavations of, 153 

Carpet Manufacture, beginning of, 165; 
development of, 245 

Catholic Church, 271; St. Peter's, 271; 
St. Michael's, 553 

Cemetery, 275 

Census of 1778, 87 

Centennial E.xposition, Lowell at. 351 

Central Bridge, 230 

Centralville, 231 

Centralville Academy, 185 

Channing Fraternity, 379 

Charitable Organizations, 380 

Chelmsford, founding of, 21; in the 
Revolution, 79 

Christian Hill, 56, 185 

Churches, early, 127 

Church League, 408 

Circulating Library, 203 

City Hall, old, 224; new, 427 

City Library, 229 

City Marshal, 226 

Civil War, Lowell's part in, 285; Lo- 
well companies prepare, 289; lead- 
ership of Gen. Butler, 290; de- 
parture of 6th Regiment, 294; the 
Baltimore Martyrs, 296; Capt. 
Follansbee's account of Baltimore 
Massacre, 297; deaths of Whitney 
and Ladd, 299; their obsequies, 
302; home sacrifices, 305; return 
of 6th Regiment, 319; Lowell men 
in other regiments, 319; Lowell 
men in the Navy, 323; how Lowell 
supported the National Administra- 
tion, 331 

Coal, introduction of, 210 

Coburn, Capt. Peter, 83 

Coburn, Samuel A., 160 

Colburn, Edward, 32 

Colburn, Warren, 172 

Comments on Lowell, 208, 209 

Commission Government, 437 



430 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



Commons established, 224 

Concord River, 9 

Congregational Church, first, 198; 
others, 266, 268, 269 

Congress, first election to, 186; Lowell 
members before Civil War, 233; 
after Civil War, 362 

Cook, James, 233 

Corporations, Manufacturing, 419 

Corporation Boarding Houses, estab- 
lished, 155; abandonment of, 424 

Cosmopolitanism of City, 344, 395 

Cotton Manufacture, beginning of, 243 

Court House, 226 

Crompton Loom, 245 

Cushing, Caleb, 233 

Daughters of American Revolution, 455 
Dickens, Charles, quoted, 255 
Dimon. Gen. Charles A. R., 321 
Directory, first, 179 
Distinguished Visitors, 210, 235, 255 
Dracut, beginnings of, 29; laid out, 53; 

in the Revolution, 83 
Drama, the, 279 

Dramatic Entertainments, early, 202 
Driven Wells, 442 

Early Settlers, 13, 19 
East Chelmsford, beginnings of, 27; a 
mill village, 147; post-office at, 186 
Edson Orphanage, 378 
Eliot, John, 18 
Election, contested, 101 
Episcopal Church, 269 
Evered, John, 28 

Factories, erection of, 153: genesis of 
workers in, 180; physical and moral 
conditions, 247, 248; Charles Dick- 
ens, quoted, 255 

Fair Grounds, 232 

Father Mathcw Temperance Institute, 
.378 

Ferries, old-time, 56 

Fire Department, beginning of, 195; 
modern establishment, 228 

Fish and Game Commission, 461 

Fisheries, early, 62 

Fiske, Rev. John, 66 

Fletcher, Lieut. William, 28 

Ford, Capt. John, 81 

Francis, James B., 237 



French Canadians, coming of, 342; 

their activities, 397 
French College, 382 
French, Josiah E., 222 

General Hospital, 376 
Gilman, .-Mfred, 149 
Glass Manufacturing, 122 
Gookin, Gen. Daniel, 17, 38 
Goulding, John, 122 
Greeks, coming of, 399 
Green, Benjamin, 175 

Iladley, Samuel P., 118 

Hale's Brook, 121 

Hale, Moses, I2i 

Hamilton Company, 163 

Hanks, Rev. Stedman, 267 

Hapgood Wright Centennial Trust 
Fund, 391 

Highland Club, 383 

High School, beginning of, 193; de- 
velopment of, 225 

Highways, 441 

Hildreth, Lieut. Israel, 97 

Hildreth, Sergeant Richard, 54 

Hill Cadets, 320 

Historical Society, 453 

Holden, Artemas, 161 

Hosford, Hocum, 311 

Hosiery Company, 356 

Hospital, opening of, 265 

Howard Benevolent Society, 266 

Howe, Elias, Jr., 176 

Hunt, Samuel, 58 

Huntington, Dr. Elisha, 221 

Huntington Hall, 380 

Hurd, Thomas, 147, 167 

Hydraulic Engineering, 237 

Industrial Leasers, 169 
Industries, new, 353 
Institution for Savings, 201 
Irish, coming of, 170; school for chil- 
dren, 194 

Jackson, Patrick T., 214 

Jail, 227 

Journalism, 487; "The Courier," 48S; 

Short-lived journals, 494; "Vo.x 

Populi," 495; "The Citizen," 499; 

"Times," "Mail," "Sun," "News," 

500 



INDEX 



431 



King Philip's War, 34 
Kitson, Richard, 355 
Knapp, Chauncey L., 235 

Labor Strike of 1903, 410 

LatUl and Whitney Monument, 336 

Law and Lawyers; early and later 
practitioners, 535 

Lawrence, A. & A., 167 

Lawrence, Ambrose, 223 

Lews, the Musical, 281 

Lexington Alarm, 80 

Library at Chelmsford, 129 

Lincoln, assassination of, 337 

Liquor Traffic, 446 

Livermore, Edward S. L., 182 

Living, mode of in early days, 59; 
later cost of, 421 

Locks and Canal Company, 145 

Locomotive Engine, first built in Lo- 
well, 215 

Lowell, a landmark in National In- 
dustry, i: founders of, 148; incor- 
poration of, 157; first selectmen, 
161; city incorporated, 216 

Lowell Dispensary, 265 

Lowell, Francis Cabot, his power loom, 

Lowell Manufacturing Company, 165 
"Lowell Offering," 472 
Lowell Textile School, 414 
Lyceum Bureau, 312 

Mack, Sewell G., 222 

Mansur, Stephen, 223 

Manufacturing, before the Revolution, 
64; irregularities exposed by Dr. 
J. C. Ayer. 309 

Mayors, early, 220; after the Civil 
War, 357 

McAlvin, John H., 311 

Mechanics' Fair of 1851, 282 

Medical Association, 504 

Medical Practitioners, 503 

Meeting House, first, 66; "Old Yellow 
House." 68 

Meigs Memorial, 372 

Memorial Building, 427; laying of cor- 
ner-stone, 433; dedication of, 435 

Men of Wealth, 277 

Merchants, old-time, 178 

Merrill, Joshua N., 189 

Merrimack Company, 154; agents of, 
349 



Merrimack Mill. 163 

Merrimack River, 7; 237 

Methodist Church, igg 

Mi<l(llesex Canal, 242 

Middlesex Mechanics Association, in- 
corporated, 200; growth of, 263; 
passing of, 452 

Middlesex-Merrimack Bridge, 107 

Middlesex Village, 119 

Middlesex Women's Club, 459 

Mill, the first, 65 

Monuments, Victory, 527; Rodin Statue, 
528 

Moody. Paul, 140 

Mullin, Rev. Francis J., 562 

Musical .Arts. 201 

Musical Lews, 313 

Xesmiths, the, 183 

Newspapers, 423 

North Billerica Bridge, no 

O'Connell, Cardinal, 449 

Old Ladies' Home, 377 

Old Marshal! Tavern, 126 

Old Residences, 124 

Old Residents' Historical Association, 

388 
Old Stone House, 203 
Old Yellow House, 181 

Parker, Benjamin, 68 
Parker, Rev. Thomas, 67 
Park System, 4.38 
Passaconaway, Indian Chief, 14 
Patent Medicines, beginning of, 246; 

multiplication of, 357; at their 

zenith, 420 
Pawtucket Falls, 11, 95; first bridge 

at, 107; canal at, III 
Peirce (Pierce), Benjamin, 82 
People's Club, 379 
Physicians, old, 503; list of, 522 
Police Court, early, 227 
Polyglot Colonies, 406 
Postmasters, 232 
Public Health, 445 
Public Library, 443 

Railroads, projected, 211; Boston & 
Lowell road, 213; first train out of 
Lowell, 214 

Religious Developments, 447 

Richardson, Lieut. James, 40 



432 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



Roads, early, 24 

Rogers Hall School, 460 

Royal, Silas, 92 

Running Water, introduction of, 228 

Sanitary Fair, 332 

Sawyer, Jonathan, 177 

Sawyer, Wesley, 176 

Schools, early, 129; modernization of, 

188, 191; school boys' fights, 317; 

development of school, 367: princi- 

palship of Charles C. Chase and 

Frank F. Cobiirn, 368 
Shaw, Rev. John J., 559 
Shay's Rebellion, 99 
Skinner, Deborah, 154 
Slackers in the Revolution, 86 
Slater, Samuel, establishes cotton mills, 

137 
Slavery, 61 
Social Life, 276 
Soldiers' Aid Association, 303 
Soldiers' Monument, 338 
Sons of American Revolution, 453 
Southwick, Royal, 173 
Sprague, Nicholas, 65 
St. Anne's Church, 156, 196 
St. John's Hospital, 375 
St. Patrick's Church, 171 
State Normal School, 447 
Stott, Charles, 175 
Street Cars, first, 312 
Streets, extension of, 364 
Sullivan, John L., 116 
"Survey," by Rev. George F. Kenn- 

gutt, 451 
Surveys, early, 8 

Taverns, old, 106 

Telephone, Lowell a centre of, 373 

Temperance Agitation, 206; first So- 



ciety in Lowell. 207; Reminiscences 

of Judge Hadley, 207 
Tewksbury Investigation, 363 
Tewksbury in the Revolution, 84 
Textile Plants, 162 
Textile School, the Lowell, 415 
Toll Bridge, 287 
Trades Unionism, 346 
Trolley System, 370 
Tyng's Island, 34 

Union Ball, 204 
Unitarians, the. igg. 275 
Universalists, the, 271 

Varnums, the: John, 31, 70; Joseph, 
61; Joseph B., 75, 90; Molly, 78: 
Samuel, 31 : Thomas, 51 

\esper Boat Club, 385 

\ esper Country Club, 461 

Wamesit, 11; Indians, 16, 39; the pro- 
prietors, 50; later history, 144 

Wannalancet, Indian Chief, 43 

War of 1812, 103 

\\ ashingtonian Temperance Movement, 
log 

Water Power, development of, 131; 
improvement of, 353 

Water Supply, storage basin, 241 ; 
water works, 366 

Webster, Humphrey, 177 

Wentworth, Tappan, 234 

Whipple, Oliver, 123 

Whistler, Maj. George W., 174 

Whistler, James M., 457 

Willow Dale, 314, 385 

Wilson, Henry, 234 

Woolen Companies, merger of, 415 

Wright, Alexander, 173 

Wright, Hapgood, 391 

Yorick Club, 383 



PART TWO 



Boott Mills, 417 

Church of Immaculate Conception. 370 

Church of Sacred Heart, 292 

Hamilton Manufacturing Co., 224 

Lowell Trust Co., 320 

Merrimack Manufacturing Co., 90 



Rogers Hall School, 312 
St. Patrick's Church, 95 
St. Peter's Church, 50 
Traders' and Mechanics' Insurance Co., 
406 



INDEX— BIOGRAPHICAL 

Adpenha — White, p. 155. Mr. White is a trustee of the Lowell Textile School. 



.•\hhott, .Vdclaide O., 236 

Benjamin, 234 

David S., 236 

XcIIie M., 236 

Stephen W,, 234 
.\mcs. Adelbert, 310. 311 

Benjamin F., 324 

Blanche, 312 

Butler, 324. 325 

Fifille, 325 

Jesse, 311 
Anderson, Francis D., 77 

Mary E., 79 

William H., -7 
.•\p|)leton, Edward, 396 

Francis E., 396, 397 

Sarah L., 397 
.•\rchambault, Amedee. 288 

Dewey G.. 289 

Henry A., 289 

Pierre, 288 

Rose F.. 289 
.-\yer, Rlisha, 17 

Frederick, 17 

I'Vederick F., 22 

lames C, Dr., 16, 17 

Josephine M.. 21 

Bachelder ( Batchelder ), .Arthur 
147 

George H., 145. 146 

Henry S., 145 

I.idwyn, 147 

Nathaniel. 146 

Stephen, Rev., 145 
Bachniann, Fannie, 183 

Hermann H., 183 
Baker, Alvah S., 3i 

Chester S., Dr., 155 

Grace H., 156 

Isabelle. 33 



Smith, 31 
Smith, Rev., 
William A., 
1^28 



31 



Bancroft, .Mice, 80 

Charles, Rev., 80 

James, Rev., 79, 80 
Barlow, Alfred H., 144. '4.1 

Elizabeth, 345 

Erson B., 345 

Ira. 345 

Samuel B., 145 

Samuel S., 145 
Barnes, Charles E., 172 

Charles O. (C. Oliver), 171, 172 

Henrietta, 173 
Bartlett, .Mice M., 408 

Will T. S., 408 
Bates, Eddo \'., 116 
Beaulieu, Benjamin, 242 

John H., 242 

Marie, 243 
Bell, Grace T., 154 

Robert A., Dr., 154 
Bcllefontaine, .Andrew, 141 

Edgar P.. 142 

Mary J., 142 

Miller, 140, 141 
Bill, Freeman M., 219, 220 

Gilman, 219 

Mary F., 221 
Blessington, John B., 115 

Margaret V., 1 16 
Boott, Kirk, 194 
Bowers, George, 165 

Jennie, 167 

Jerathmeel, 165 

Jesse E., 167 

Jonathan, 166 

Joseph, 165, 166, 167 

Joseph W., 167 

Sewall, 166 

William, 166 
Brady, .\nna A., 297 

I'rank. 297 

Frank R., Dr., 207 
Brierly. .Anna L., 169 

David, 1^)7. 168 



434 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



Eugene L., i6g 

William H.. 167, 168 
Brown, Charles, 307 

Emma, 354 . 

George H.. 352, 353 

Hiram C, 397. 3y8 

Mary F., 399 

William H., 353 
Burrage, Alvali L.. 160 

Guy H., 160 

Hamilton, 159 

Herbert D., 160 

John. 159 

John ()., 160 

Mary, 160 
Butcher. Arvilla O.. loi 

Robert J., 100 

William, 100 
Butler, Benjamin F., 3, 4 

Hannah B., 6b 

John, 4 

Sarah, 6 

Paul, Oa 

Zeplianiah, 4 

Caisse, Cecile, 241 

Wolfred P., 240 

Wolfred P., Jr., 240 
Cameron, Albert B., 184 

.Alexander, 184 

Catherine, 184 
Campbell, Abel R., 122, 123 

Charles, 276 

Claude M., 122 

Edward G., 276 

Florence M., 123 

Idola, 276 
Carter, .-Mbert D.. 56, 57 

H. Adie. 58 

John. 56, 57 

Orlando, 56 
Chalifoux, Elizabeth .A., 304 

Harold L., 301, 303 

Jo.seph, 302 

Joseph L., 301, 302 
Chase, Charles C, 271 

Frederick A.. 271 

Helen L., 271 
Clogston. Annie J.. 360 

Charles H., 360 



Coburn, Bertha, 308 

Charles B., 305, 307 

Charles H., 305, 307 

Edward, 306 

Ephraim, 306 

Eric D., 201 

Frank, 199 

Frederic W., 304, 305, 308 

Frederick W., 199 

Grace M., 200 

Henry, 307 

Selena V., 201 

Thomas, 306 
Cognac. Emery, 174 

Wilfred E., 174, 175 
Colburn. Warren, 197 
Collins. Amelia A., 396 

Annie. 266 

Harold C, 396 

J. Henry, 395 

Michael, 395 
Conant, E. B., 301 

J. E., 301 
Conway, Ella F., 127 

George F., 126 

James E., 126 
Cruickshank, Alexander, 266, 267 

Alexander M., 268 

Elizabeth, 267 

John, 267 
Cumnock, Alexander G.. 418, 419 

Frances F., 422 

Robert L., 419 
Gushing, Henry W., 62 

Lester H.. Prof.. 61, 62 

Marion, 62 

Delany, Bryan, 249 

Catherine, 249 

John B., Rt. Rev,. 249, 250 

Thomas, 249 
Demers, Adelard P., 143 

Helene E., 144 

Pierre, 143 
Dempsey, Arthur. 381 

Bridget, 383 

Christopher, 381 

George C, 383 

Margaret, 383 

Patrick, 3S0, 381, 382 

Sarah, 383 



INDEX 



435 



Derby. Henry B., 326 

John. Dr.. 326 

Lucius .\.. 326, 3J7 

Nellie L., 328 

Simeon. 326 
Oevine. Emma ]•".. 373 

Xeal, 3-2 

Patrick F.. 372 
Dickey. Charles M.. 247 

Joseph. 247 

Julia A.. 248 
Donahue. Daniel, 186 

Daniel J.. 186 

Joseph P.. 187 

Katherinc, 187 
Doneluie. John T., 236 

John T.. Jr., Dr., 236, 237 

Nellie T., 237 
Donnelly, James E., 401 

John J., 401 
Donoghuc. Caroline E., 269 

Patrick. 268 

Richard S., 268. 269 
Douglas. Edgar H.. 236 

Nellie, 236 
Dunbar. Frank E.. 58, 59 

John F.. 59 

Mary C. 59 
Dunsford. Jeanie. 61 

Reuben. 60 

Samuel. 60 

Eames. Charles H., 127 

Lemuel. 127 

Mary W.. 128 
I'tntwistle. .Xmanda A., 348 

Ralph, 347 

Thomas C. 347 

Fairb.-inks. Charles F., 280 

Henry P., 279 

Israel. 278. 279 

John, 278 

Jonathan, 278 

J.iseph. 278 

Stephen. 270 

William K.. 277. 280 
I'airburn, Beulah A., 266 

C.corge, 265 

George C, 265, 266 



Farnham. b'.leaiior 1'.. _• ;3 

Frederick W., 294 

William L., 294 
Fisher, Caleb E., Rev.. 67 

Nehemiah, 67 
Flather. .\lice P., 417 

Frederick A.. 41 6 

Joseph, 416 

Mary S., 417 
Flynn, J. P., Rev., 293 
Foye, Edward H., 270 

Emma M., 376 

Frank W., 375 

James H.. 375 

Madeline E., 271 

W illiam P., 270 
French. Albert F.. 

David. 106 

Edmund. 106 

Etta E.. 108 

John, 104, 105 

Joshua, 107 

William, 103 
Friend. Mary A., 

Robert, 180 

Robert .'\., 180 



103, 107 



181 



Gage, .Abiah S., 245 

Daniel, 243, 244 

David, 244 

John, 244 

Nathan, 244 
Gagnon, .'Arthur J., Dr., 403 

Boniface. 403 

Herinine, 404 
Gallagher, Edward, 386, 387 

James, 386 

Katherine, 387 
Gamble, James H., 415 

Laura B., 416 
Gatsopoulos, Edith, 357 

John K., Dr., 355, 356 

Konstas. 356 
Generales. Demosthenes J., Dr.. 321 

John A., 321 

Urania C, 323 
Gilbride, Patrick, 230 

Patrick, Jr., 229, 230 

Rose ,\., 231 
Goldsmith, William H., Jr., 410 



436 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



Grannis. Appletoii, Rev., 62. 63 

Charles K., 63 
Graves, Harrison P.. 157, 158 

Helen, 159 

Orville D.. 158 
Greeley, Andrew, 34T 

Joseph, 341 
Green. Benjamin, 283 

Isadore, 282 

Marian M., 283 

Moses, 282 

Rena, 283 
Greene, John M., Rev., 345, 346 

Louise, 347 
Guillet, Clara, 67 

Jean C, 64 

Joseph H., 64, 65 

Leah M., 67 

Pierre, 64 

Haggerty, Ann E., 239 

James, 2,38 

Patrick, 238 

Philip P., 237. 238 

Winifred C, 240 
Hall. Albert S., 363 

Adelaide G., 364 

Catherine, 363 

Charles S., 363 

Frank D.. 363 

Lemuel, 362 

Levi, 362 

Rexeville E., 363 

Seth, 361 

Seth B., 360, 362 

William, 360, 361 

Zuriel, 361 
Halloran. Alice M., 229 

Daniel C, 228 

Timothy J., Dr.. 228 
Hally, Bridget, 374 

Patrick, 374 

Patrick J.. Rev., 374 
Hamel, Albert O., 43 

Antoine. 43 
Harmon, .\lbert N., 150 

Alice E., 151 

Almon L., 150 
Harrigan, George M.. 316, 317 

John. 316 

Maria C, 320 



Harrington, .Annie M., 36 

Edith, 157 

Jeremiah J., 157 

John, 34 

John H., 33, 34 

John R., 156, 157 
Harris, Edith E., 219 

Emma R., 72 

George W., 68, 69 

George W., Jr., 72 

Henry H., 217, 218 

Jasper, 69 

Susan, 72 

Thomas, 68 
Hatch, Arthur E., 383, 384 

Maude T., 384 
Hebert, .-Mfred, 393 

Alzear, 393 

Joseph, 392 

Pierre Z., 392 

Romeo, 393 

Rosaline, 393 
Hickey, Eleanor E.. 400 

Walter, 399 

Walter H., 399 
Hood, Charles L, 22, 23 
Hovey, Catherine, 206 

Charles, 201 

Charles E., 207 

Daniel, 206 

Henry E., Rev., 207 

Sarah L., 207 
Howard, Albert S.. 72, 73 

Edna M., 73 

William H., 72, 73 
Howe, Henry C, 276, 277 

John S., 276 

Walter H., 276, 277 
Huntoon, Bernice E., 46 

Charles, 45 

David, 45 

George L.. 44. 45 

John, 44 

Lucy, 46 

Philip, 44 

Samuel, 44 
Hylan, Esther J., 388 

Eugene S., 3S7 

Jackson, Clara T., 95 
Lawrence M., 95 



INDEX 



437 



William 15.. Dr., 94 
William C. 95 
Johnson, .Annie, 177 
Apostolns A.. 188. 189 
Catherine, il^) 
Hugh T., 178 
John, 176 
J<ihn I!., 178 
Joseph. 176 
Thomas \\'.. 176, 177 

Kelcher. Daniel J., Rev., 55 

James, 55 
Kellcy, Julia .\., 401 

Patrick. 400 
Kenney, Frank I!., 349 
Kimball, Cromwell, 290 

Earle R., 290, 292 

LcDoit E., 290 

Myrta M., 291 

Theodate P., 292 
Kludjian. Assadcnir H., Dr., 189 

HaKop. 189 

\artouhic, 190 
Knapp, Elijah, 226 

Harry P., 226, 227 

Helen M., 228 

Joel, 226 

Joseph, 226 
Krasnye, John F., Dr., 262 

Ladd, Daniel, 342 

Ella P., 344 

Eunice A., 343 

Frank J., 344 

Isaac, 342 

Jonathan. 341, 342 

Nathaniel, 342 
Laurin, .Mice M.. 50 

Henry A., Dr.. 49. 50 

Martin, 50 
Lawrence, Luther, 198 
Lees, .Vdclaide G., 143 

Margaret, 143 

T. Archie. 143 

Thomas, 142 

Thomas, Jr., 142 
Lcgare, Frank N., 128 

Joseph A.. 128 
Lcnnon, John, 263, 264 

John F., Dr., 265 



Mary, 264 

Mary E., 265 

Michael, 264 

Thomas E.. 265 
Lepine, Benjamin, 182 

Maxime, 181, 182 

Stella, 182 

Zanaide, 182 
Livingston, .Asa, 85 

Daniel, 85 

John, 84 

Mary E. C. 87 

Rena F., 88 

William, 84, 85. 87 

William E., 84, 86 
Lovcjoy, Andrea N., 275 

Christopher, 273 

Daniel, 272. 273 

Elwyn W., 274 

Jonathan, 273 

Ralph, 273 

Roy F., 275 
Lowell, Francis C, 190, 191 

Jolui, Rev.. 191 

MacBrayne. Lewis E., 15 

Sarah E.. 16 

William S.. 15 
McDonough. Edward F., 359 

George M., 359 

Harry L., 359 

John L., 359 

Margaret, 359 

Margaret E., 359 

Michael H., 358 

Thomas, 358 
McEvoy, John A., 255 

Mary C, 255 

Thomas. 255 
McGilly, Frank P., 332 

Mary G., 333 

Patrick, 332 
McKinley, Emma B., 137 

E'.ta M., 136 

James D., 137 

James H., 135, 136 

Robert, 135 
McLean, Thomas, 63 

William C, Dr., 63, 64 
McMahon, Edward L.. 247 

Francis, 247 



438 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



John J., 247 

Joseph F., 246 

Katherine, 247 

Patrick, 246 

WiUiani. 247 
Mack. Mary A., 389 

Michael j., 388 

William A., 388 
Mahoiiey, Alice T., 140 

Reiijamin J., 138 

Dennis, 151 

John, 138, 413 

John D., 413 

John J.. 413 

Mollie, 152 

Patrick J., 151 
Mansnr, Charles H., 154 

Elizabeth A., 154 

Fanny S., 214 . 

George W., 214 

Mary J., 213. 214 

Stephen, 213 

Stephen M., 154 

William 0., 213, 214 

William L., 214 
Marcoponlos, George. 187 

John, 187, 188 
Marden, Ella B., 14 

Florence S., 13 

George A.. 11 

Philip S.. II 

Robert F,. 13 
Marin, Joseph, 241 

Josephine, 242 
Marren, Charles L.. 173 

John, 173 

Theresa, 174 
Martin, Charles A., 208 

Kate S., 207, 208 

Laurin, 208 

Laurin H., 208 

Leonard, 208 
Meagher, Grace A., 181 

John. 181 

Michael J.. Dr.. 181 
Means, Robert, 198 
Meehan, Francis G., 153 

John, 152 

John F., 124, 125 

John P., 152 

Nellie v.. 126 

Patrick, 12; 



Milliken, Albert D., 222 

Eben C, 222 

Elizabeth B., 224 
Mitchell, Charles A., I2g, 13c 

Daniel F., 129 

Elizabeth M., 131 

Frederick G., 129, 130 

Helen G., 130 
Molloy, Catherine O., 409 

Charles H.. 408. 409 

James. 408 

Joseph A., 409 

Leo C, 410 
Mood}', Charles H.. 149 

James E.. 149 

Mary G.. 150 

Paul, 195 
Morrison, Mary G., 340 
Morse. Charles J.. 46, 47 

Matilda. 48 

William. 46 
Munn. Amy B., 124 

Arthur T., 123 
Murphy, Alice B., 90 

Daniel J., iii 

Dennis. 88 

Dennis J.. 88, 89 

John, 88 

John H.. no, in 

Martha G., in 
Mussey, Frank T., 384 

George L., 3^4 

Pearl E., 385 

Xesmith. John, 6b 
Newhall. Henry L., 259, 2fil 

Hiram, 261 

Jonathan, 261 

Joshua. 261 

Susan M.. 262 

Thomas. 260 

O'Brien. John. 98 

John. Rev.. 96 

Michael. Rev.. 96, 97 

Patrick J.. 30 

William, Rev., 98 

William F., Dr., 29, 30 

William H.. 30 
O'Connell, John J., 407 

Mary A., 408 

Timothy, 407 



INDEX 



439 



O'Dea, Danitl 1).. 3vi, 302 

Lawrence, jgi 
O'Doiiiiell. Charles C, M9 

Constantine. 147 

Daniel, 147 

James E., 117 

Jaines F., 117 

Katharine F., 148 

Mary, 118 
O'Neill, Cornelius J., 99 

Dennis F., 99 
O'Sullivan, Hannah, 352 

Humphrey, 349, 350 

James, 350 

Timothy, 349 

William, 349 
Olney, Albert H., 329 

Bertha H., 329 

Louis A., 329 
Osgood, Harriet L., 310 

Helen A., 310 

U'illiam N'., 309 

I'arker, Aaron, 74, 75 

Alice C, 403 

Ethel. M., 281 

H. Hutchins, 281 

H.mnah, 336 

Henry F'.. 75 

John, 74 

Jonas, 74 

Josiah, 401, 402 

Kendall, 335 

Lina S., 403 

Mildred M., 77 

Moses C, Dr., 334, 336 

Peter, 336 

Ralph \V., Dr., 74, 77 

Samuel C, 401, 402 

Sarah, 403 

Theodore, 336 

Theodore E., 340 

Thomas, 74 

Walter S., 75 
Parsons, Olive S., 315 
Patten, Aaron, 256 

Henry X., 259 

Nellie F., 259 

William H., 256 

William T., 256. 258 
Perkins, Eva S., 115 



George H., 114 

George H., Jr., 113, 11 4 
Pinardi, Charles A., 369 

John M., 369 

Josephine, 370 
Pitts, Arthur, 364 

Ellen, 366 

Harry, 364, 365 
Pollard, Arthur G., 7, 8 

Francis, 7 

Harry G., 11 

Isaac, 7 

Joseph S., 8 

Martha M., 11 

Thomas, 7 

William, 7 
Prince, .-\rthur D.. 118 

Bertha L, 1 ig 

George C, 118 
Putnam, .\ddison, 298 

Alice' F., 389 

Frank P., 298 

George E., loi 

Mary R., 103 

Nellie, 103 

Newell F., 389 

Sarah, 299 

Qua, Alice L., 324 
Francis M., 324 
Francis W., 324 
Robert, 324 
Stanley E., 324 

Ranlett, Charles, 109 

Elizabeth A., 1 10 

Orrin B., 108, 109 
Regan, John, 49 

Katherine J., 49 

William, 48 

William D., 48, 49 
Reilly, Mary E., 332 

Michael, 331 

Peter W., 331 
Rice, Harry R., 295 

Henry, 295 

Mary E., 29' 
Richardson, Caroline A., 43 

Daniel, 40 

George F"., 40, 41 

Marietta, 43 



440 



HISTORY OF LOWELL 



Robbiiis. George A., 366 

Lilla E., 367 

Thomas G., 366 
Robinson, Blanche, 379 

Hannah, 411 

Ingrid I., 411 

James P., 410 

James P., Jr., 411 

John W., 378 

Joseph, 378 

Margaret, 411 

Richard T., 411 
Rochette, Louis V., Dr., 161 

Norbert, 161 

Romula, 161 

Stephen L., 160, 161 
Rogers, Elisabeth, 313 

Emily, 313 
Rollinson. Firth B., 412 

Louisa, 413 

Samuel C, 412 
Rourke, Elizabeth, 122 

Fred H., 121 

Mary E., 122 

Patrick, 121 
Runels, Charles, 393, 394 

Chester M., 394 

George, 394 

Mary E., 394 

Ralph E., 394 

Saunders, Alice J., 391 

Edward, 390 

John F., 389, 390 
Sawyer, John W., 84 

Joseph, 83 

Joseph W., 84 

Mary A., 84 

Mary E., 84 

Reuben, 83 

Wesley, Dr., 83 
Scribner, Carrie A., 234 

Charles, 233 

Edward H., 232, 233 

Ernest D., 234 

Stephen H., 234 

Warren F., 234 
Shaw, Adam, 209 

Adam E., Dr., 209 

Matilda J., 210 
Shepard, Fannie A., 82 

Jesse, 81 



Jesse H., 80, 82 

Ralph, 81 

Thomas. 81 

William, 81 

William E., 81 
Simpson, Edwin A., 245 

Laura E., 246 

Olinthus A., 245 
Slack, Samuel, 162 

Samuel B., 162 

Sarah, 162 
Sophos, Catherine C, iHfi 

Emmanuel G., 185 

George, 185 

John G., 185 
Southworth, Constant. 405 

Ella F., 406 

Gordon B., 405 

Gustavus W., 405 

William S., 404, 405 
Spillane, George H., 379, 381' 

John E., 380 

Mary E., 380 
Sprague, Levi, 210, 211, 214 

Levi K., 216 

Lydia P., 212 

Mary E., 216 

Paschal, 216 

Susan F., 217 

William H., 214 
Stanley, George D., 170 

George E.. 170 

Harry L., 170 

Marie A., 171 

Phineas, 170 
Stevens, Alice, 357 

Charles A., 357, 358 

Grace R., 358 

Jonathan T., 357 

Julia W., 358 

Oliver, 358 

Tyler A., 358 
Stile, Alva G., 369 

Andrew G., 369 
Strauss, Abraham, Dr., 300 

Alexander, 299 

Ansel L., 300 

Frederick, 299, 300 

Moses, 300 
Sullivan, Daniel T.. 2S3 

Dennis A , 283 



INDEX 



44" 



Etta F., 283 
Patrick F., 333. 334 
Swapp, Andrew F., 287 
Andrew G., 287 
Sophia L., 288 

Taylor, Albion C, 377 

Albion C, Jr.. 377 
Thompson, Albert G., 284 

Alice M.. 287 

I'jntna F., 135 

I-'annic A., 285 

Nathaniel, 284 

Perry D., 286 

Perry G., 287 

Samuel, 133 

Samuel H., 133 

Susan E., 285 
Tighe, L. T., Rev., 372 
Tripp, Charles A., 154 

Elizabeth W., 154 

John, 153 
Trull, Hannah }.. 355 

Jesse, 354 

Larkin T.. 354 

Nathaniel, 354 
Tucke, Edward, 406 

Edward M., 406 
Turcotte. Louis P., 412 

Marcelline, 412 

N'arnum. Charles F., 119, 120 
Nellie H., 121 
Percy E., 119, 120 
Samuel, 119 

VVadlcigh, Carrie M., 94 

Joseph. 93 

Jude C, 92, 93 

Robert, 93 
Walsh, .Adelaide F., 331 

.Adelaide J., 331 

Alonzo G.. 330 

Elizabeth M., 331 

Francis P., 331 

Richard. 330 

Richard B., 331 
Ward, George M., Rev., 38 

George W., Dr., 37 

Julia E., 39 



Mary F., 38 

Sullivan L.. Dr., 37 
Welch. .Anna, 163 

Ellen. 163 

Redmond. 163 

Redmond, Jr., 163 
White, .\gncs P., 155 

Ebenczer, 423 

Edward L., 425 

Florence D.. 386 

George \V. B., 1 13 

Gideon V., 154 

Henry K., 385 

Maria C, 425 

Martha, 113 
* Royal P., 154 

Samuel, 423 

Samuel B., 423 

Theresa, 425 

William, 422, 423 

William H., 112, 385 

William H., 422 424 

William P., 112 

William T., 425 
Willson, .Alice L., 170 

Francis, 169 

George A., 169 

Marian C, 170 
Wilson, Benjamin, 178 

Calvin P.. 178 

Ervvin A., 178 

Evelyn A., 179 

Walter C, 179 
Wood, Benjamin F., 293 

Charles R., Dr., 367 

Elliot F., 137 

Ethel L., 368 

Flora E., 294 

George H., 293 

Helen J., 294 

Josiah, 293 

Robert, Dr., 367 

Robert B., 367, 3(18 

William S., 137 
Wright, .Alexander, 131, 132 

Duncan. I3t 

Helen W., 133 

Peter, 131 

Sabra. 133 

Sabra W.. 133 



FEB 19 1920 






y^*^ > ^■^',."-rl^, 



^ 

*¥ 

L.^.^ 



^ 



» 



I 



4t 1 










1 



^ 



> 



/. .# 



'His~' 



< V 



r 



1^ 



,^ 






k 






# \ 



^v^^ 
^ 



F 



1 

111 



% 

i 












■ii,^^ 



'V 



'4 
4 












****-.^ 






# ' 



Y ¥«^ 



V V 



V 



^-1 



4(fV 



4^ 






* 



|fc 



»«, 



\ 



i