(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Madison County, Indiana ; a narrative account of its historical progress, its people and its principal interests"

Gc 

977.201 

M26for 

v.l 

1525094 



M.L- 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



b<^ 



llfl'iilll'iii'im'iifmir.'i!'^'-":'-'B''*Rv 



3 1833 00827 6393 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyofmadison01fork 




^^C^Z.-^^^<^>2>6^'>^^ 



HISTORY OF 

MADISON COUNTY 

INDIANA: 

A Narrative Account of Its Historical Progress, 
Its People and Its Principal Interests 



Compiled Under the Editorial Supervision of 

JOHN L. FORKNER 



VOLUME 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 
I914 



A Reproduction by UNIGRAPHIC, INC. 

4400 Jackson Avenue, Evansville, Indiana 47715 

Nineteen Hundred Seventy 



1525094 



PREFACE 



111 presenting tliis history to tlie people of Madison county, the 
editor and publishers do not claim that it is to till the proverbial "long 
felt want." They believe, however, that there is always room for a 
good county history, and no effort has been spared to make this work 
both as authentic and as comprehensive as. possible. 

To write of the past ; to preserve the historic records of by-gone 
generations; to cull the good and true of any period of time; to render 
green again the memories and experiences of former days ; to record the 
achievements and even the errors of our ancestors, is but to perform a 
common duty to a common humanity. 

The division of the subject matter into topics and the arrangement 
of chapters is, we believe, the best that could lie made, and will prove 
of great convenience to the reader. The chapter on the Bench and Bar 
was written by Hon. Frank P. Foster, mayor of Anderson, who is well 
qualified for the task by reason of his long connection with the bar of 
^Madison county. The chapter on the Medical Profession was largely 
prepared by Dr. Jonas Stewart, one of the oldest practicing physicians 
of Anderson, and for several years secretary of the Madison County 
Medical Society. J. A. Van Osdol. general attorney of the Indiana 
Union Traction Company; Dr. L. E. Alexander, of Pendleton; J. E. 
Hall and Dr. F. 8. Keller, of Alexandria: A. D. Moffett, John Nearom 
and J. E. Carpenter, of Elvvood; also rendered valuable assistance in 
the collection of data regarding their respective cities and the insti- 
tutions with which they are connected. 

The works consulted in the preparation of this history include the 
following : Official publications — Reports of the United States Bureau 
of Ethnology; United States Census reports; Reports of the Commis- 
sioner of Indian Affairs; Reports of the United States Department of 
Agriculture; Reports of the Indiana State Geologist, the Bureau of 
Statistics and the Bureau of Inspection; Adjutant-General's reports; 
Bulletins of the Railroad Commission ; Session Laws of Indiana, and 
the records in the various county offices. Miscellaneous publications — 
Harden's History of Madison County (1874); Kingman's History of 
Madison County (1880) ; Historical Sketelies and Reminiscences of Jlad- 
ison County (1897), by John L. Forkner and Byron H. Dyson; Har- 
desty's History of Anderson; Dillon's History of Indiana; O. H. Smith's 



iv PREFACE 

Early Reminiscences of Indiana ; Reports of the Grand Lodges of 
various fraternal organizations ; city directories and the files of the 
Madison county papers. 

The editor and his assistants desire to express their thanks and 
obligations to ^liss Kate Chipman. librarian of the Anderson public 
librar3% and her assistants; jMiss Henriette L. Scranton. Miss Zada Carr 
and Miss Margaret Wade, public librarians in Ehvood, Alexandria and 
Pendleton, respectively, and to the various county officers and their dep- 
uties for their uniform courtesies and assistance in the collection of 
information. 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I 

PHYSICAL FEATURES-, GEOLOGY, ETC. 

Location, Boundaries and Area of the County — Principal Water- 
Courses — General Character of the Surface — Underlying Rocks 
OP the Upper Silurian and Devonian Periods — Pendleton Sand- 
Stone — Niagara Limestone — Quarries — The Glacial Drift — The- 
ory OF Glaciers — Moraines — Gravel Beds — Natural Gas — Petro- 
leum — The Alex.\ndria Oil Field — The Primitive Forests — 
Mineral Spring 1 

CHAPTER II 

ABORIGINAL INHABITANTS 

The Mound Builders — Theories Concerning Them — Districts in the 
United States — Their Distinguishing Characteristics — Mounds in 
Madison County — Distribution op Indian Tribes v^^hen America 
First Discovered — Indiana Tribes — The Delawares — Their His- 
tory and Tradition — A Delaware Prophet Inspires Pontiac — 
Noted Delaware Chieftains — A Legend 11 



CHAPTER III 

THE PERIOD OF PREPARATION 

Early Explorations in America — Conflicting Claims op England, 
France and Spain — -French Posts in the Interior — French and 
Indian War — Pontiac 's Conspiracy — English in Possession op 
Indiana — The Revolution — George Rogers Clark's Conquest op 
the Northwest — The Northwest Territory — Campaigns of St. 
Clair and Wayne — Treaty op Greenville — Indiana Territory Or- 
ganized — Indian Treaties — Tenskwataw^v and Tecumseh — Battle 
OF Tippecanoe — War of 1812 — Burning op the Delaware Villages 
on the White Rr'er — Indiana Admitted Into the Union — Treaty 
of St. ]\rARY's — Seat op Government 24 



vi CONTENTS 

CHAPTER IV 

SETTLEMENT AND ORGANIZATION 

First Settlers in Madison County — Sketches op Prominent Pio- 
neers — Frontier Life and Customs — The Log Cabin — Furniture 
— "Swapping Work"- — Log Rollings — Harvesting — Homespun 
Clothing — Madison County Organized — Provisions op the Or- 
ganic Act — County Seat Difficulties — Anderson Finally' 
Selected — Public Buildings — The Three Courthouses — Laying 
the Corner-stone op the Present Courthouse — The Four Jails^ 
Changes in the Original Boundaries 37 

CHAPTER V 

TOWNSHIP HISTORY 

List of Civil Townships in the County — Early Records — Adams — 
Anderson — Boone — Duck Creek — Fall Creek — Green — Pioneers 
OP Each — Early Schools and Industries — Churches — Towns and 
Villages — Mention op Prominent Citizens — Interesting Inci- 
dents 57 



CHAPTER VI 

TOWNSHIP HISTORY, Continued 

Jackson — Lafayette — • Monroe — Pipe Creek — Richland — Stony 
Creek — Union — Van Buren — Settlement and Organization of 
Each — Early Schools and Churches — Mention of Prominent 
Pioneers — Primitive Industries and Roads — Extinct Towns and 
Villages, Etc 75 

CHAPTER VII 

THE CITY OF ANDERSON 

Location — First Known as Andersontown — First Incorporation — 
Change of Name — Second Incorporation — Becomes a City — First 
City Officials — Public Utilities — Water Works — Electric 
Lighting Plant — Fire Department — Police Department — Sewer- 
age System — Street Railway — The "Mule Motor" — Electric 
Lines — Illuminating Gas — Postoffice — Some Historic Hotels — 
First Newspaper — A Political Drug Store — Board of Trade — 
First City Directory — Sketches of the Mayors — Statistics and 
Comment 97 



CONTENTS vii 

CHAPTER VIII 

CITIES AND TOWNS 

Extinct Towns and Villages — Incorporated Towns — Elwood — 
Alexandria — Pendleton — Summitville — Frankton — Lapel 
— Chesterfield — Markleville — Ingalls — Orestes — Smaller 
Villages — Alliance — Emporia — Ovid — Leisure — Huntsville 
— Halford — Perkinsville — Florida— Lin wood — Fishersburg — List 
OF I'ostoffices in- thk Cointy — Rural Routes ■ 115 

CHAPTER IX 

FINANCE AND INDUSTRY 

Public Finances — Outstanding Debt: — Gravel Road Bonds — Banks 
AND Trust Companies — Bold Bank Robbery — Anderson Loan 
Association — Early Manufacturing Establishments^Natural 
Gas Era — New Factories Located — Manufacturing Statistics of 
Cities and Towns — "Made in Anderson" Exhibit — Agricultural 
Conditions and Statistics — The Farmer Still King 136 

CHAPTER X 

INTERNAL IMPROVEilENTS 

Old Trails — First Highways — State Roads — Turnpike Companies 
AND Toll Roads — The Era of Canals — Land Grants — State Legis- 
lation for Internal Improvements — Act of 1836 — Indiana Cen- 
tral Canal — Its Collapse — The Hydraulic Project — Railroads — 
Early Ideas Regarding Them — The Big Four — First Train to 
Anderson — The Pan Handle — Cincinnati, Wabash & jNIichigan — 
Lake Erie & Western — The Central Indiana — Ditches — Union 
Traction Company 161 

CHAPTER XI 

EDUCATIONAL DEVELOPMENT 

County Seminary — Public Schools of Anderson — Schools of Other 
Cities and Towns — Value of School Property — Statistics — ■ 
County Superintendents — First Graded School — Franklin's 
Private School — Anderson Normal University — Business Col- 
lege — Parochial Schools — The Press — Struggles of the Early 
Newspaper — The First Daily — Hardesty's Window Shutter 
Campaign — Present Day Newspapers — Public Libraries — School 
Libraries 177 



viii CONTEXTS 

CHAPTER XII 

BENCH AND BAR 

First Seat of Justice — Early Courts and Pioneer Judges — Char- 
acter OF THE Early Lawyers — Sketches of Judges and Promi- 
nent Attorneys — The Superior Court — Incidents in Connec- 
tion AViTii Legal Practice 193 



CHAPTER XIII 

THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 

The Pioneer Doctor — His General Character and JIethod of 
TrE:\.ting Disease — His Standing in the Community— Balzac 's 
Tribute to the Country Doctor — ^Sketches of Early JIadisox 
County Physicians — Medical Societies — Their History — Physi- 
cians IX THE Army — Pension Examiners — List of Registered 
PlIYl^ICIAXS 218 



CHAPTER XIV 

CHURCH HISTORY 

Moravian ^Missions — Monument — The Methodists — The Baptists — 
Friends or Quakers — United Brethren — Roman Catholics — • 
Chkistians or Disciples — New Light Christians — The Lutherans 
—The Universalists — Protestant Episcopal Church — Church 
OF God — Congregationalists — Spiritualists — Their Camp Grounds 
at Chesterfield — List of Churches in the Cities 228 



CHAPTER XV 

CHARITIES AND CEISIETERIES 

Early Methods of Caring for the Poor — ^Madison County's First 
Poorhouse — Later Poorhouses — The County Infirmary — Or- 
phans' Home — Associated Charities — St. John's Hospital — 
Sketch of its Founder — Country Graveyards by Townships — 
GROVEL-iND Cemetery at Pendleton — Odd Fellows' Cemetery 
AT Alexandria — Park View — Elwood Cemetery — Grave Rob- 
bery — Anderson Cemeteries — ]Maplewood Association 248 



CONTENTS ix 

CHAPTER XVI 
SOCIETIES AND FRATERNITIES 

AGRICULTrEAL SOCIETIES— F AIR. ASSOCIATIOXS AXD FaIRS AXDEKSON" 

Ltcecm — Old Settlees' As£<xiatiox — The Patkoxs of Husbaxdry 
— Horse Thief DETECTI^^; Ass<xtatiox — The Mascxic Frateexttt 

IXDEPEXDEXT OeDEE OF <JDD FeLLOWS ^KXIGHTS OF PtTHIA= IM- 
PROVED Order of Red JIex — <jRaxd Army of the Replbuc — A Liv- 
ixG Flag — Bexe%"olext axd Protective Order of Elks — Lotai. 
Order of ;Mo<:>se — iliscELLvxEors Lodges ax"d S<:'Cietie£ — Trades 
Vxioxs — Daughter> . 'F the Americax Re\ OLunox 261 

CHAPTER Sr^'II 

MILITARY HISTORY 

JIadis<;>x CorxTY ix the W.vr With !Me3io3 — The CmL "War — Loyal 
Spirit of the Citizexs — Meetixg at tee CorRTHorsE — The First 
CoMPAXY From ^Iadisox Couxty — Rc"Sters of the Various Com- 
PAXiEs — Hetoric-vl Sketches of the Regimexts ix Which They 
Ser\'Ed— Cavalry axd Artillery Orgaxtzatioxs — Spaxtsh-Ameri- 
CAX War — Aftm>.^v Couxty Represexted ix Two Regimexts. . .2S2 

CHAPTER XVIII 
CRIMES AND CASUALTIES 



Murder of the Ixdiaxs is' 1S24 — The Abbott Mysteby- 



Tharp axd Escape of Cox — Murder of Daxiel Ho??is by 3Iiltox 
White — The Dale-Traster Affair — A^lYSTEBiors Mubdeh of Albert 
Mawsox — Disappearaxce of Susax Nelsox — Shootixg of Bexe- 
FiEL BY Dams — Charles Kyxett Shot by the City Marshal — Knx- 
iXG of McT.f. m \xd StAxts — McCuLLOUGH Shot by Wetsh — Kill- 
rxG of Albert Hawkixs — Historic Fires rx Ajxders-ox. Elwood, 
Alexaxdria. Fraxktox axd SuMMmiiiE — ^Some Great Storms — 
Fl.>ii>s of 1>47. 1S75. 1SS4. 19«>4 and 1913 312 

CHAPTER XIX 

MISCELLANEOUS HISTORY 

Sketches of a Few Typical Pioxeek; — Levi Brewer — ^Mzx-nox of 
Promixext CmzExs — -James Wi;rrcoMB Rilet — Samuel Richards 
— The Fexiax Raid — Express Robbery axd the Faujbiuty of 
CmcrMSTAXTiu. Evidexce — ^Mysterious Disappearaxce of a Ped- 
dler Recalled — Receptiox to Compaxy L — Chroxology of the 
County — Cexsis — List <>f Couxty Officers -i^i5 



INDEX 



Abbott Cabin (view), 313 

Abbott mystery, 313 

Abbott, William L., 707 

Aboriginal inhabitants, 11 

Act to secure relocation of county seat, 
47 

Adams, Abraham, 58 

Ailams Township, location, 57; named for 
Abraham Adams, 58; early settlers, 58; 
first schoolhouse, 59 ; schools, 59 ; 
churches, 59; principal villages, 60 

Agricultural societies, 261 

Agricultural statistics, 159 

Alexander, John E., 664 

Alexander, Lot E., 476 

' ' Alexandria Bee, ' ' 120 

Alexandria View (view), 121 

Alexandria, mention, 82; location, 119; 
third city of the county in population, 
119; first hotel in, 120; newspapers, 
120; railroads, 120; first natural gas 
well, 120; disastrous fire, 121; city gov- 
ernment 1913, 121; electric light, 122; 
fire department, 122; municipal build- 
ings, 122; water works, 122; popula- 
tion, 123; schools 179 * 

Alexandria Business Men's Association, 
123 

Alexandria Carnegie Library, 122 

Alexandria Electric Lighting Company, 
122 

Alexandria Library Association, 190 

Alexandria National Bank, 142 

Allman, Charles H., 571 

Alliance, 132 

Ancient Order of Foresters, 280 

Ancient Order of Hibernians, 281 

Anderson, Archie C, 435 

Anderson, Captain, 22 

Anderson, Chester H., 634 

Anderson, Chief, 228 

Anderson, mention, 61; location, 97; first 
known as Andersontown, 97; incorpora- 
tion, 98; change of name, 98; becomes 
a city, 98; first election for city ofK- 
cials, 99; city officials in 1913, 99; elec- 
tric light and water works, 99; public 
utilities, 99: water works, 99; first 
electric lighting plant, 100; present 
electric lighting plant, 101; fire de- 



partment, 102; police department, 103; 
sewage system, 104; street railway sys- 
tem, 104; electric lines, 106; illuminat- 
ing gas, 107; postoffice, 107; hotels, 
108; first newspaper in, 110; "political 
drug store," 110; board of trade, 110; 
first city directory of. 111; mayors, 
111; tax assessment for 1913, 114; 
seventh city in Indiana in population, 
114; schools, 177 
Andersontown, 47 
Anderson Banking Company, 139 
Anderson High School (view), 178 
Anderson Postoffice (view), 108 
Anderson Public Library (view), 188 
Anilerson Business College, 182 
Anderson Cemetery Association, 258 
Anderson Knife and Bar Company, 147 
Anderson Loan Association, 140 
Anderson Lyceum, 263 
Anilerson Normal University, 181 
Anderson Reading Room and Library 

Association, 187 
Anderson Trust Company, 139 
Anderson Township location, 60; early 
settlers, 61; schools, 61; Anderson, 
only town in, 61 
American Steel and Wire Comjiany, 147 
Arcade File Works, 148 
Area of the county, 1 
Annington, Charles L., 498 
Armstrong, Paul, 592 
Artillery service, 306 
Associated charities, 251 
Attorneys who have practiced at the 

iladison Co\inty bar, 210 
Auditors, 357 

Bagot, Charles K., 197 
Baker, George W., 614 
Ball, Blaine H., 748 
Ball, Robert E., 650 
Banking institutions, 13i 
Bank robbery, 138 
Baptists, 234. 
Battle of Tippecanoe, 34 
Barber, Fred T., 633 
Peall, Curran ("Jack"), 446 
Beck, Henry V., 719 
Beck, .Mary E., 337 



INDEX 



Beebe, George T., 388 

Beeson, Martin M., 563 

Behymer, Andrew J., 698 

Behynier, Frank, 694 

Bench ami bar, 193 

Benefiel-Davis affair, 318 

Benefiel, Joel B., 363 

Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
278 

Berg, Andrew, 600 

Berry, John, 39 

Bevilhimer, Spencer C, 481 

Bickford, George W., 459 

Biddle, Charles \V., 441 

Biegel, Balthasar, 564 

Big Four Railway, 169 

Big Mound at iloiinds Park (view), li 

Bireley, William H., 672 

Boland, Daniel L., 417 

Boone Township, location, 62 ; organiza- 
tion, 62; first white man, 62; other 
pioneers, 63 ; last wild deer killed in, 
6.4; schools, 64; churches, 64 

Boone Township Hay (view), 63 

Bordwell, Dr. Lewis, 219 

Boundaries, 1 ; change in, 56 

Bradley, Joseph E., 572 

Bradley, Patrick S., 495 

Brady, Arthur W., 478 

Brenaman, James F., 733 

Brewer, Levi (])ort.), 339 

Broadbent, Oliver, 637 

Broadbent, Sarah I., 637 

Bronnenberg, Frederick, 15, 37, 93 

Bronnenberg, Henry, 338, 703 

Bronnenberg, Isaac, 667 

Bronnenberg, Eansom, 514 

Bronnenberg, Sheridan, 749 

Bronnenberg, Weems, 448 

Bronnenberg, William B., 449 

Brumbaugh, Austin, 728 

Brunt, Kichard H., 576 

Brown, George W., 573 

Brown, Glendeu, 689 

Brown, Henry C, 393 

Brown, Levi P., 571 

Brown, William L., 112 

Buckeye Manufacturing Company, 148 

"Bulletin," 184 

Burdett, Oliver H., 779 

Burke, Newton, 549 

Burr, Lafe J., 519 

Busby, Grattan A., 751 

Busby, Jonathan A., 432 

Byrum, Enoch E., 471 

Cain, Joseph R., 515 
Cain, Winifred, 515 
Campbell, Bartlett H., 507 
Campbell, Wallace B., 478 
Camels of the World, 281 
Canada.y, Harrison, 787 



Canadav, Joseph R., 625 
Canaday, Ward K., 624 
Canals, 165 

Caring for soldiers families, 307 
Carlton, David R., 452 
('arlton, James W., 628 
Carnegie libraries, 187 
Carr, I. W., 619 
Cartwright, William E., 604 
Catholic Benevolent Legion, 281 
Catholic Knights of America, 280 
Catholic Order of Foresters, 281 
Catholics, 240 
Cemeteries, 252 
Census statistics, 355 
Chambers, Joseph, 545 
Chambers, Seneca, 445 
Charities, 248 
Charles, Etta, 691 

Chesterfield, mention, 94; laid out, 129; 
growth of, 130; incorporation, 130; 
Chief Anderson, 228 

Childera, Philip A., 660 

Children's Home Association, 250 

Chipman, Marcellus, 196 

Christians or Disciples, 241 

Chronology of the county, 345 

Church history, 228 

Church of God, 152, 246 

Church organizations, Alexandria, 247 

Church organizations, Elwood, 247 

Church organizations in Anderson, 247 

Cincinnati & Chicago Air Line, 169 

Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan Railroad, 
171 

Cities and towns, 115 

Citizens' Bank, 137 

Citizens' State Bank, 141 

City Building, Elwood (view), 116 

Citv of Anderson, 97 

Civil War, 283 

Clark, General George Rogers, 26 

Clark, Ralph B., 554 

Clark, Robert H., 646 

Clark 's conquest of the Northwest, 27 

Clauser, Joseph L., 724 

Clerks, 357 

Clymer, Willie E., 745 

Cochran, Henry, 65 

Coddington, William A., 674 

Commercial Bank and Trust Company, 
142 

Conflicting claims of the English and 
French, 25 

Congregationalists, 246 

Conner, John, 726 

Conrad, Ernest M., 376 

Cook, A. AV., 400 

Cook, Ben.iamin H., 456 

Corbet, CM., 740 

Coroners, 338 

Cory, Wilson, 539 



INDEX 



Cotterman, Clinton M.. 471 
County, area of, 1 
County assessors, SoS 
County Commissioners, 3,38 
County organizeil. 45 
County seat locati'd, 4(i 
County Seminary, 177 
Court-houses, 48 
Courts, 193 

Cox, E. T., State Geologist. 14 
Cox, Lewis C, 734 
Coy Lorana Wise, 773 
Cragen, John B., 440 
Craven, Hervey, 195 
Creeks, 1 

Crimes and casualties, 312 
Crittenberger, Dale J., 651 
Croan, William il., 714 
Cromer, Martin L., 425 
Cunningham, William P., 722 
Custer, O. B., 392 

Dale-Traster affair, 316 

Daniel Hoppis, murder of, 315 

Dau_i liters of Libeity, 281 

Daughters of the American Revolution. 
281 

Davis, Alvin H., 662 

Davis, Arthur, 432 

Davis, Doctor B., 579 

Davis, Edgar E., 729 

Davis, Jolm E., 466 

Davis, L^roy, 644 

Dawson, Charles W., 608 

Day, Thomas E., 436 

Dean, Purl, 585 

Decker, Philip G., 679 

Dehority, llharles C, 69C 

Dellority, Frank E., 708 

Dehority, Joseph A., 700 

Dehority, William A., 117 

Delaware, 17 

Dick, Charles G.. 755 

Discoverv of natuvil gas, 116 

"Dismal," 89 

Ditches, 174 

Donnelly, James il., 606 

Downs, John P., 746 

Doty, Thomas J., 387 

Douglas, Otho W., 429 

Douglass. Frederick, 70 

Doxey, Charles T., 341 

Doxey Opera House, 323 

Drach, Henry. 367 

Draper, Joseph, 599 

Duck Creek Township organization of, 
65 ; location, 65 ; first settler, 65 ; early 
industries, 66; schools, 66; churches, 
67; last entry of land in county, 67. 

Dunham, Wesley, 112 

Dunlap, Ivan C., 486 

Dunlap, Morey M., 113 



Durbin. Winfield T., 341 
Dye. Augustus T.. 407 
Dyson, Byron H., 112, (i4S 

Earliest manufacturing establishments, 
144 

Early courts and pioneer fudges, 193 

Early Dwelling in I'niou Townshij). view 
92 

Early explorations iji America, 24 

Early method.s of caiing for the poor, 
248 

Early jdiysicians. 210 

Electric railways, 175 

Educational development, 177 

Eighth Cavalry, 305 

Eighth Infantry, 284 

Eighty-ninth Infantry, 298 

Eleventh Infantry, 287 

Elks, 278 

"Elk's Home. Anderson (view), 279 

Elliott, Joseph H., 469 

Ellis. Amlrew, 418 

Ellison, Alfred, 197 

Elwood, mention, 85; discovery of natural 
gas, 116; incorporated, 116; first elect- 
ric ears in. 117; first mayor, 117; water 
works, 117; city government in 1913, 
118; city hall,' 118; fire department, 
118; new postoffice, 118; police depart- 
ment, 118; clubs, 119; statistics of, 
119; schools, 179 

Ehvood Cemetery Association, 256 

Elwood Driving Park and Fair Associa- 
tion. 263 

Elwood Public Library (view), 190 

Elwood State Bank, 141 

Elwood Trust Company, 142 

Emporia, 132 

English and French claims, 25 

Episcopalians, 245 

Equitable Aid Union, 281 

Eshelman, David, 406 

Eshelmaun, Ross, 692 

Etchison, R. F., 609 

Etchison, William, 617 

Evans, Will G., 491 

Exchange Bank, 138 

Express robbery, 343 

Extinct towns and villages, 115 

Fairs, 262 

Fall creek, 1 

Fall Creek township, location 67; first 
township settled by white men, 68; early 
settlers, 68 ; first land entries, 69 ; in- 
dustries, 70; churches, 70; Frederick 
Douglass tries to address citizens, 70; 
schools, 72 ; towns, 72 

Falls at Pendleton (view), 68 

Farlow, J. M., 616 

Farmer, Edgar W., 548 



XIV 



INDEX 



Farmers Trust Cnnipaiiv, 141 

Faust, \V. A., 710 

Federate.l Catholic Chilis, 2S1 

Fenelon, Charles E., 701 

Fesler, B. F., Ofili 

Finance and imhistry, 13fi 

Fires. :VI'2 

Fishersburg, 91 

Fifth Cavalry, ."104 

First company from iladison (oiiiity, 284 

First cdiirt house in the connty, ll'4 

First daily in Anderson, 1S4 

First fair in the connty. 2<i1 

First Gas Well, Anderson (view), ]4(i 

First gas well sunk in connty, 7 

First graded school in the connty, ISl 

First highways, 161 

First medical society, 224 

First National Bank of Anderson, 137 

First National Bank of Elwood, 141 

]'''irst natural gas well in Madison conntv, 

120, 154 ■ 

First newspaper, 182 
First parochial school, 182 
First physician in county, 219 
First seat of .iustiee, 193 
First settlers in Madison county, 37 
First successful attempt to develop oil 

fields, 8 
First Trolley Car (view), 106 
Fishersburg, 135 
Flanagan, Barney, 711 
Floods, 331 

^-^ood Scene (view), 333 
Florida, 80, 134 
Fogerty, Michael J., 762 
Ford, Eugene L., 521 
Forkner, James M., 527 
Forkner, John L., 113, 510 
Fornshell, Elmer E., 503 
Fornshell, Fred B., 502 
Forty-seventh Infantry, 295 
Foster, Frank P., 113, 193, 419 
Fountain William, 593 
Fowler, James A.. 779 
1^-ankton, location, 127; incorporated, 

128;principals industries, 128; schools, 

180 
Fraternal Order of Eagles, 280 
Free, LeBoy, 730 
Free, Wade H., 517 
French and Indian war, 25 
Friends or Quakers, 238 
Fuller, Tillman, 772 
Fuller, W. H., 717 

Game plentiful, 43 

Oarr, Jesse D., 542 

Garretson, William M., 735 

Gavin, Martin, 617 

General character of surface, 3 

Geology, 3 



German Baptists or Dunkards, 237 

Oibault, Father, 26 

(iilison. John J., 752 

(iivens, John L., 437 

(loehler, Daniel, 736 

(ioodykoontz, >rartin L., 389 

Corden. Welden B., 590 

"(iospel Trumpet," 152 

(iospel Trumpet I ome, 152 

(iospel Trumpet Publishing Plant (View), 
153 

Cossett, William H., 595 • 

(hand Armv of the Republic, 275 

Gravel Road l>onds, 136 

Great flood of 1913, .333 

(ireathouse, Frank il., 501 

Great storms, 329 

Green Township, location, 72; first set- 
tlers, 73; industries, 74; schools, 74; 
towns. 74 

(ireenville treaty, 30 

Grider, ,Tohn L., 676 

Griffin, James W., 482 

Groendyke, Thomas, 737 

Guy, Elmer A., 506 

Haines, John, 786 

Halboth, Ijouis E., 737 

Ifalford, 134 

Hall, Jesse E.. 668 

Hancock, Garland, 474 

Hancock, John L., 639 

Hancock, William W., 663 

Handy, Edward C, 410 

Harbit, Francis M., 705 

Hardie, Henry P., 113, 385 

Harold, Alva N., 732 

Hardy, Thomas M., 457 

Hartley, Eugene B., 782 

Hartman, Jacob, 658 

Harrison, General William Henry, 30 

Harvesting Scene Near Lapel (view), 90 

Hartzell, George, 638 

Hawkes, Marshall A., 709 

Hawkins, Albert, killing of, 320 

Hays, John D., 721 

Hazlett, James, 112 

Heffner, Lewis, 484 

Henderson, Charles A., 364 

Hennings, Joseph E., 366 

Henry, Charles L., 342 

"Herald," 184 

Herring, Charles H., 496 

Hickey, John, 251 

High School at Alexandria (view), 179 

Hill, Forrest J., 368 

Himelick, Joseph, 670 

Hinderer, John G., 581 

Hinshaw, (.irlando D., 488 

Historic fires, 322 

Hockett, George H., 783 

Hoel, Elmer E., 718 



IXDijX 



Hooven, Clement \V., 4'23 

Hoover, Rufiis A., 593 

Hopppnrath, William H., 704 

Horse Thief Detective Association, 265 

Howard, Homer E., 596 

Huffman, Owen, 434 

Hugliel. Klmer E.. (iS7 

Hughel, Herman C, 7S4 

Hull. .Tames C. 574 

Hundlev. James il., 560 

Hunt, i.ee F., 747 

Hunt, Jfason V., 420 

HuntsviUe. 72. 133 

Hupp, George W., 516 

Hurst, Alfred D., 641 

Improved Order of Red Men, 273 

Incorporated towns, 115 

I. 0. 0. F. Building (view), 270 

Independent Social Club, 191 

Indiana admitted to Union, 35 

Indianapolis & Bellefontaine Railroad 

Company, 168 
Indiana Spiritualist Association, 130 
Indian Chiefs, 20 
Indians, 16 

Indians and Pioneers (view), 32 
Ingalls, 74 

Ingalls Land Company, 131 
Ingalls, incorporation of, 131 
Ingalls industries. 131 
Internal improvements, 161, 166 
Interior Pioneer Cabin (view), 44 
Isanogel, "Walter, 443 

Jackson Township, location, 75 ; early 
settlers, 75; industries, 77; schools. 
78 ; churches, 78 ; towns, 78 

Jacobs, Cassius C, 583 

Jails, 54 

.Tesuit missionaries, 24 

Johnson, Daniel M., 559 

Johnson, John C, 549 

Johnson, Lewis, 378' 

Jones, Arthur H., 690 

Jones, Dee R.. 681 

.Tones, Homer B., 601 

.Tones, Horace E., 422 

Jones, Joel M., 577 

Jones, John C, 111 

.Tones, .Tohn "W., 396 

.Tones, Thomas M.. 758 

Judd, George W., 595 

Judges, 194 

Junior Order American Mechanics, 281 

Kaufman, Andrew F., 541 
Kelelamand, 21 
Kellv, Isaac S., 682 
Keltner, Sanford M., 416 
Kemp, Henry M.. 742 
Kidwell, Elbert E., 652 
Kikthawenund, 22, 228 



Killbuck, Captain, 21 

Killing of Albert Hawkins, 3^0 

Killing of Susan Nelson, 317 , 

King, Thomas J., 628 

King. Willard, 628 

Kinnard. Lewis D., 393 

Kinnard, William R.. 394 

Kirk, George W., 685 

Kittinger, William A., 402 

Klunipp. .Tohn. Sr., 753 

Knight, Frank, 557 

Knights and Ladies of Columbia, 281 

Knights and Ladies of Honor, 281 

Knights of Columbus, 280 

Knights of Honor, 281 

Knights of Pythias, 272 

Knights of the Golden Eagle, 281 

Knights of the Maccabees, 280 

Knopp, Washington B., 636 

Koons, George W'., 497 

Koons. .John H., 556 

Kynett, Charles, shooting of, 319 

Labor Organizations, 281 

LaPayette Township, location, 78; early 
settlers, 78; organiiation, 79; indus- 
tries, 80; schools, 80; churches, 80; 
towns, 80 

Lail, John H., 485 

Lambert. John W., 382 

Lamey, .John M., 525 

Lantz, Frederick, 532 

Lapel, mention, 91; location, 128; first 
settler in, 128; incident of 1886, 129; 
incorporated, 128; industries, 128; 
schools, 180 

I^rmore, .Tames iL, 415 

Last toll road, 164 

Ijawyers, 198 

Laying of corner stone of present court- 
house, 53 

Leisure, 133 

Lewark, John W., 399 

Lee, James 0., 614 

Libraries, 187 

Lilly, George, 542 

Linwood, 135 

List of civil townships in the county, 57 

Living Flag (view), 277 

Loan Building (view), 140 

locating the county seat, 46 

Loyal Order of Moose, 279 

Lukens, Edwin, 634 

Luse, Emereth E., 409 

Lutherans, 244 

Lyst, Edward E., 451 

Maag, Samuel, 686 

Madden, James F., 723 

Mladison County Agricultural Society, 

262 
Madison County Bar Association, 199 



INDEX 



Madison County Courthouse (view), 49 

Madison county in the War with Mexico, 
282 

Madison County Joint-Stock Agricultural 
Society, 262 

Madison County Wheatfield (view), 159 

Major May Post No. 244, G. A. R. 
(view), 274 

Makepeace, Allen, 129 

Makepeace, Amasa, 38 

Makepeace, Sherman H., 771 

Mann, Bert, 575 

Manning, George G., 404 

Manning, Lucia K.. 405 

Manring, Hubert B., 784 

Manger, Emerson, 454 

Manufacturing statistics, 146 

Miaplewood Association, 259 

Maplewood cemetery, 259 

^^aris, Harry D., 716 

Markle, Sam"uel Q., .381 

MarkevJlle early merchants. l.'^O; loca- 
tion, 130; incorporation, 131 

Markleville Bank, 143 

Marshall, William, 39 

Martindale, Simeon C, 112 

Masonic Fraternity. 265 

Masonic Temple, Anderson (view), 267 

Maul, Walter, 454 

Mauzy, Silas R., 377 

Mawson, Albert, murder of, 317 

May, Isaac E., 431 

McClintock, Oliver E., 438 

McClure, John F., 113. 766 

McClure, Richard A., 622 

McCullough, C. K.. 412 

McCullough, Neel M., 415 

McCullough- Welsh shooting affair, 320 

Mcllwraith, John G., 778 

McLain, Robert, 004 

McDermit, George B., 554 

McKenzie, James D., 534 

McMahan, Elijah P., 589 

McVaugh, W. Frank, 537 

Meckel, John, 458 

Medical profession, 218 

^Medical societies, 224 

Merchants' and Manufacturers' Club, El- 
wood, 119 

Meyer, Charles F., 677 

Meyer, Michael, 623 

Meyer, William P., 492 

Meridian Street South from Tenth Street 
(view), 101 

Jlethodists, 229 

^lexican War, 282 

Miami Confederacy, IS 

Miamis, 17 

Milburn, Anurew, i)'2Z 

Military History, 282 

Mingle, Oscar F., 400 

Jliscellaneous history, 335 



Miscellaneous infantrv regiments, 302 

Mobley, Lewis F., 539 

Moilern Woodmen of America, 280 

ilonroe Township, location, 80; early 
settlers, 81 ; organization, 81 ; schools, 
82 ; industries, 82 ; towns, 82 ; 
churches, 83 

Montgomery, Samuel D., 475 

.\ioon, .Tohn A., 487 

Moravian Alission, 228 

ilorris, Thomas, 453 

.\rorris, William A., 433 

.Morris, William R., 769 

Mosiman, Frederick, 489 

Moss Island Mills (view), 60 

Jloss, Sanford R., 531 

Moore, Asbury M., 615 

Moore, Charles W., 688 

:\toore, Thad M., 744 

Mound Builders. 11 

ilounds of the United States, 13 

Mounds Park, 14 

Murder of Daniel Hoppis, 315 

JIuriler of McClelland Streets, 319 

Murder of the Indians in 1824, 312 

^Mustard, Daniel F., 552 

Myers, William R., 341 

National Union, 281 
Neese. Reuben, 763 
Netterville, James J., 373 
Nichol, George. 460 
Xorris, Alonzo D., 371 
Norton, Martin C, 523 
Norton, Thomas M., 776 
Norton, William J., 777 

Odd Fellows, 269 

Office of county superintendent created, 

181 
Officers Company L, 160th I. V. I. (view), 

309 
Official Register of county officers, 356 
Oil and Natural gas, 7 
Oldham, Charles L., 477 
Old Horse Car (view), 105 
Old Settlers' Association, 263 
Old trails, 161 

One Hundred and Fifth Infantry, 300 
One Hundred and First Infantry, 299 
One Hundred and Thirtieth Infantry, 300 
One Mile House (view), 109 
Order of Owls, 281 
Order of Plowmen, 281 
Orestes, discovery of natural gas at 132; 

incorporated, 132 ; population, 132 
Organic Act, 45 
Orioles, 281 
Orphans ' Home. 250 
Osborn, Edward, 626 
Oswalt, Alonzo JI., 715 
Oswalt, Ernest M., 716 



INDEX 



Outstanding indebtedness of county, 136 
Overman, George M., 401 
Ovid, 132 

Palmer. Thomas E., 620 

Pan Handle, 169 

Park View Cemetery Association, 255 

Parochial schools. 182 

Parsons, James JI., 577 

Pathfinders, 281 

Patrons of Husbandry, 263 

Peck, J. K Webster, 610 

Pence. Frank D., 411 

Pendleton, C. B., 386 

Pendleton, mention, 72; location, 123; 
first seat of justice in county, 123; pio- 
neers, 124; first tavern in, 124; first 
courthouse, 124; population, 125; pres- 
ent town government, 125; early recol- 
lections of, 125; clubs. 125; schools, 
180 

Pendleton Agricultural Society. 262 

Pendleton Banking Company, 142 

Pendleton Public Library (view). 191 

"Pendleton Republican," 185 

Pendleton Trust Company, 142 

Pennsylvania Glass Company, 147 

Pennsylvania R. E. Station (view), 170 

Perkinsville, 78, 134 

Peters, Allen, 551 

Pettigrew, George W., 473 

Pettigrew, William C, 421 

Phillip and Emma Shinkle, Pioneers, 
(port.), 336 

Phillips, Samuel G., 674 

Phipps, George A., 395 

Physicians, 218 

Piankeshaws. 17 

Pioneer Cabin (view), 41 

Pioneer doctor, 218 

Pioneer life and customs, 39 

Pioneer Settlement (view), 71 

Pipe, Captain, 29 

Pipe Creek, 2 

Pipe Creek Township, location, 83; early 
settlers, 83; organization, 84; area, 
84; pioneers, 84; industries, 85; 
schools, 85; churches, 85; towns, 85 

Poindexter. Charles, 434 

Poling, William S., 671 

Pontiac, 20 

Pontiac 's war, 26 

Population, 355 

Portraits— Milton White 315; Levi 
Brewer 339; Philip and Emma Shin- 
kle, Pioneers, 336 

Postotfice of the county, 135 

Pottawatomies, 17 

Potts. James W., 538 

Presbyterians, 244 

Press, 182 

Pritehard, John B., 405 



Procter, Abraham R., 629 

' ' Prophet 's town, ' ' 33 

Protected Home Circle, 281 

Public libraries, 187 

Public school, Lapel (view), 180 

Public schools of Anderson, 177 

Quakers, 238 

Quick, William H. H., 769 

Quinn, Charles R., 653 

Railroads, 167 

Rapp, George, 738 

Raymer, C. S.. 389 

Raymer, John H., 388 

Reception given Company L, One Hun- 
dred and Sixtieth Indiana Infantry, 
344 

Recorders. 357 

" 'Red Hot' Herald," 184 

Reeves, Cicero R., 739 

Registered Physicians (1912), 226 

Remy Electric Co. Anderson (view), 149 

Remy B. Perry, 790 

Remy, Frank I., 790 

Representatives, 356 

Reynolds, Miron G., 361 

Richmond. Dr. Corydon, 219 

Richmond, Dr. John L., 219 

Richland Township, location, 86 ; area, 
86; early settlers, 86; industries, 87; 
churches, 87 ; schools, 87 ; towns, 88 

Richards, Samuel, 343 

Richards, William T., 695 

Richwine, Absalom, 661 

Riley, James Whitcomb, 342, 610 

Rittenour, James M., 781 

Ritter, Peter, 760 

Rivers, 1 

Roach, Ward L., 656 

Roach, William, 112 

Robinson, Milton S., 340 

Rodecap, Joseph D., 691 

Rodger, J. C, 430 

Rogers, John, 68 

Rogers, John, first settler, 37 

Rosters of the various infantry compa- 
nies, 285 

Rosters of various cavalry companies, 
304 

Rothrock, Jesse, 558 

Rozelle, Charles J., 462 

Rural routes, 135 

Ryan, Noah, 775 

Rybolt, William A., 618 

Sailing, Neils P., 362 

Savage, Harry, 720 

Savage, William L., 589 

Scene Near Perkinsville (view), 76 

Schlegel, Elmer, 659 

Schools, 177 



XVIU 



INDEX 



Sebuster, Adam, 530 

Schurtz, Clyde D.. 741 

Scott, BuBhrod W., 468 

Seott, Chester F., 407 

Soott, W. C, 370 

Scott, W. F., 727 

Sefton Manufacturing Conipanv, 147 

Sellers, Robert, 584 

Sellers, Wilfred, 629 

Settlement of county, 37 

Seventeenth Infantry, 289 

Seventy-fifth Infantry, 296 

Shanklin, Andrew, 73 

Shaul, Winfield, 536 

Shawnees, 17 

Shav, Patrick, 622 

Shay, Thomas, 622 

Shepherd, Leona T., 370 

Shepherd, Robert C, 369 

Sheriffs, 357 

Shetterly, Andrew J., 535 

Shinkle,'Emma, 335 

Shinkle, Philip, 335 

Shirley, Philip G., 761 

Shocking crime, 317 

Showers, George W., 513 

Sigler, John H., 603 

Sketches of prominent pioneers, 37 

Small, Loren, 785 

Smaller villages, 132 

Smethers, John A., 455 

Sm',"!, Edgar C, 680 

Sm 111 mystery, 344 

Sneed, Bertan E., 504 

Societies and fraternities, 261 

Sons of St. George, 281 

Spad,-. W. E. C, 649 

Spanish-American War, 308 

Sjiiritualists, 246 

Srackangast, Joseph W., 662 

Stanlev, Verling, 437 

Starr, John T., 372 

State Bank of Lapel, 143 

State roads, 161 

State senators, 357 

State treasury notes, 166 

St. Clair, General Arthur, 29 

St. John's Hospital, 251 

St. John's Hospital (view), 252 

Stephens, Byron L., 685 

Stewart, Jonas, 425 

Stilwell, Thomas N., 341 

Stinson, Charles, 670 

Stohler, George, 684 

Stoker, Oliver H., 609 

Stony Creek Township, location, 89; 

"Dismal," 89; early settlers, 89; 

schools, 90; churches, 90; towns, 91 
Storms, disastrous, 329 
Stottlemyer, S. J., 712 
Streets, McClelland, murder of, 319 
Striker, Michael, 447 



Studley, Charles C, 533 

Summitville Bank and Trust Company, 

143 ^ ^' 

Summitville, discovery of natural gas at 

127; industries, 126; location, 126; 

pioneers, 126; schools, 180; statistics, 

127; water works, 127 
Surveyors, 358 
Swain", Samuel, 398 
' ' Swapping ' ' work, 42 

Tamenend, 20 

Tappan, Hezekiah, 713 

Tecumseh, 33 

Tenskwatawa, 32 

Terhune, John H., 113 

Territory of Indiana organized, 35 

Terwilliger, W. Edward, 721 

Tin Plate Works, Elwood (view), 156 

The Hoosier Poet, 610 

Thirty-Fourth Infantry, 293 

Thomas, C. B., 751 

Thomas, Edward E., 525 

Thomas, John L., 654 

Thomas, Willard H., 518 

Thompson, Charles H., 727 

Thompson, William E., 585 

Thorn, Alva, 562 

Thurston, George F., 570 

Thurston, Robert O. P., 602 

Thurston, Robert W., 594 

Toll roads, 162 

Township history, 57 

Transportation facilities, 96 

Travelers' Protective Association, 281 

Treasurers, 358 

Treaty of Greenville, 30 

Treaty of St. Mary's, 35 

Tribe' of Ben Hur, 280 

Trueblood, Wilson T., 442 

Turnpikes, 162 

Twelfth Infantry, 287 

Twightwees, 17 

Typical ]iioneers, 335 

Underwood, Amos, 380 

Union Building Anderson (view), 175 

Union Traction Company, 175 

Union To^\'nship, organization, 91; loca- 
tion, 91; area, 91; rivers. 92; early 
settlers, 92; industries, 93; schools, 
94; churches, 94; towns, 94 

United Ancient Order of Druids, 280 

Ignited Brethren, 239 

Ignited Commercial Travelers, 281 

United Order of the Golden Cross, 281 

I'^niversalists, 245 

Vandevender, Hiram T., 284 
A'an Buren Township, location, 94; or- 
ganization, 94; surface, 95; early set- 



f^DEX 



tiers, 95; industries, 95; schools, 96; 
churches, 96 

Van Osdol, James A., 427 

Van Winkle, John Q., 342 

Vermillion, Chancey, 544 

Vernon. Charles W., 760 

Vernon, EdT\ar(l P., 337 

Vernon, Elman G., 765 

Vestal, Walter W., 605 

Views, White River at Mounds Park, 14; 
Big Mound at Mounds Park, 17; In- 
dians and Pioneers. 3i; Pioneer Cabin, 
41 ; Interior Pioneer Cabin, 44 ; Madi- 
son County Courthouse. 49 ; Moss Island 
Mills, 60; Boone Township Hay, 63; 
Falls at Pendleton. 68; Pioneer Settle- 
ment, 72 ; Scene near Perkinsville, 76 ; 
Harvesting Scene near Lapel, 90; Early 
Dwelling in Union Township, 9- ; Meri- 
dian Street South from Tenth Street, 
101; Old Horse Car, 105; First Trolley 
Car, 106; Anderson Postoffice, 108; One 
Jlile House, 109; City Building, El- 
wood, 116; Alexandria View, 121; Loan 
BuiMing, 140; First Gas Well, Ander- 
son, 146; Remy Electric Co., Anderson, 
149; Gospel Trumpet Publishing Plant, 
153; Tin Plate Works. Elwood, 156; 
Madison County Wheatfield, 159; Penn- 
sylvania R. R. Station, 170; Union 
Building, Anderson. 175; Anderson 
High School, 178; High School at Alex- 
andria, 179; Public School, Lapel, 180; 
Anderson Public Library, 188; Elwood 
Public Library, 190; Pendleton Public 
Library, 191; St. John's Hospital, 252; 
Masonic Temple, Anderson, 267; I. O. 
O. F. Building, 270; Major May Post, 
No. 244, G. A. R., 274; Living Flag, 
277; Elks' Home, Anderson, 279; Offi- 
cers Company L, 160th I. V. I., 309; 
Abbott Cabin, 313; Ninth Street 



Bridge, Anderson, Flood of 1913, 331; 
Flood Scene, 1913, 333 
Vincennes, 35 

Walker, Dr. Madison G., 219 

Waymire, Harvey A., 619 

Webb. Elmer, 665 

Webb, Herbert D.. 463 

Webster. Robert E., 551 

Werking, Walter R., 632 

Wjdener. Oliver P., 640 

Wise. Augusta, 789 

Wise, Daniel, Jr., 788 

Williams, Emmor. 450 

Williams, Ira, 464 

Williams, Robert X., Ill 

Williamson, Alvin B., 520 

Wilson. William F., 601 

Winn. William R., 646 

Winings, Mark E.. 509 

Winsell, Adam, 38 

Wise, Alexander, 631 

Wise, William H.. 616 

VVhetsel. Andrew J., 643 

White, Milton (port.), 315 

White river, 1, 92 

White River at Mounds Park (view), 14 

White, Wesley, Jr., 390 

Whitecotton, MJoses, 69 

WTiitledge, George A., 666 

Witter, Frank W., 561 

Woodmen of the World, 280 

Wright. C. R., 627 

Wright, Fred D., 428 

Wright. Thomas W., 759 

Wyandots, 17 

Yule, Edwin W., 598 
Yule John C, 598 

Zerface, William G., 493 
Zettel, Joseph A., 757 



History of Madison County 

CHAPTER I 

PHYSICAL FEATURES, GEOLOGY, ETC. 

Location, Boundakies and Area op the County — Principal Water- 
. Courses — General Character op the Surface — Underlying Rocks 
OP the Upper Silurian and Devonian Periods^Pendleton Sand- 
Stone — Niagara Limestone — Quarries — The Glacial Drift — The- 
ory OF Glaciers — Moraines — Gravel Beds— Natural Gas — Petro- 
leum — The Alexandria Oil Field — The Primitive Forests — 
Mineral Spring. 

Madison county is situated a little northeast of the center of the 
state, being bounded on the north by Grant county; on the east by 
Delaware and Henry; on the south by Hancock, and on the west by 
Tipton and Hamilton. The fortieth parallel of latitude crosses the 
county about two and a half miles north of the southern boundary and 
the eighty-sixth meridian of longitude lies six miles west of the western 
boundary. The county contains four miles of Range 6, all of Range 7, 
and five miles of Range 8, east; one mile of Township 17, all of Town- 
ships 18, 19, 20 and 21, and five miles of Township 22, north. This 
gives it a width of fifteen miles from east to west, a length of thirty 
miles from north to south and an area of 450 square miles. 

White river, the most important stream in the county, crosses the 
eastern boundary about one and a half miles northeast of Chesterfield, 
follows a general westerly direction and crosses the western boundary 
not far from the village of Perkinsville. Its length in the county is not 
far from twenty miles. 

Fall creek enters the county from the east, about five miles north 
of the southeast corner, flows a southwesterly course through the town- 
ships of Adams, Fall Creek and Green, and enters Hamilton county 
near the southwest corner of the last named township. Its principal 
tributary in Madison county is Lick creek, which rises in Henry county 
and runs westwardly through the southern part of Madison, emptying 
into Fall creek near the Hamilton county line. Sly Fork, another 
tributary, has its source in Union township. After flowing southward 
for about four miles it turns west and finally discharges its waters into 
Fall creek some two miles east of Ovid. Prairie creek, a little stream 
about eight miles in length, flows southwest through Anderson and 

1 



2 HISTORY OF MADISOxX COUNTY 

Fall Creek townships, deriving its name from the fact that it drains 
the prairie lying between the cities of Anderson and Pendleton. It 
empties into Fall creek a short distance above the falls. 

Next in importance after Fall creek is Pipe creek, which rises in 
Delaware county, crosses the eastern boundary of iladison about three 
miles south of the northeast corner, then flows a southwesterly direction 
past Alexandria and Frankton and enters Hamilton county about one 
mile north of Perkinsville. It takes its name from the Indian chief 
known as "Captain Pipe." Its principal tributaries are Little Pipe, 
Mud and Lilly creeks. Little Pipe creek has its source in the southern 
part of Section 28, Township 21, Range 6, in Monroe township. Its 
course is northwest for its entire length (about four miles), untfl it 
empties into the main stream just south of Alexandria. Mud creek, 
whose name indicates its character, rises in Grant county, follows a 
general southwesterly course thrx)ugh Van Buren township, past Sum- 
mitville, touches the southeast corner of Boone township, then turns more 
toward the south and continues its course through Monroe township, 
emptying into Pipe creek about a mile west of Alexandria. Lilly 
creek rises in Boone township and follows a course a little west of south 
until its waters fall into Pipe creek, about four miles northeast of 
Frankton. Its total length is about eight miles. 

Duck creek rises in Boone township, about two miles from the Grant 
county line, and flows west into Duck Creek township, where it turns 
toward the southwest, running past Elwood and entering Tipton county 
not far from the Hamilton county line. Little Duck creek, about six 
miles in length, rises in the northern part of Pipe Creek township and 
flows southwest, uniting with the main stream two miles south of 
Elwood. 

Killbuek creek (sometimes written Kill Buck), so called for a noted 
chief of the Delaware tribe, rises in DelawfJ^re county, enters Madison 
near the northeast corner of Richland township, then flows southwest 
until it empties into the White river near the northern limit of the 
city of Anderson. Little Killbuek begins in ]Monroe township, unites 
with the old canal in Section 18, Township 20, Range 8, not far from 
the old village of Prosperity, and from this point runs south, emptying 
into the Big Killbuek near the southern line of Richland township. 

Mill creek rises in ITnion township, not far from the source of Sly 
Fork, but flows in an opposite direction and empties into the White 
river near Chesterfield. It is only about two miles long. 

Stony creek rises in Jackson township, flows southwest past Fishers- 
burg and enters Hamilton county a short distance south of that village. 
It is about ten miles in length and takes its name from the stones 
abounding in its bed. The lower portion of its course is through Stony 
Creek township, which derives its name from the stream. 

Indian creek rises near the northeast corner of La Faj'ette town- 
ship, flows west and empties into the White river in Jackson township, 
near the village of Halford. 

Sand creek, formerly called Mud branch, rises in the southern part 
of Stony Creek township, flows southwest across the corner of Green 
township and enters Hamilton county about a mile south of the Pendle- 
ton and Noblesville pike. It is about seven miles long. 



HISTORY OF .MADISOX COIXTV 3 

Other streams are Winsell's hraiieli, whicli is aliout four miles long 
and empties into Fall creek near Iluntsville: Foster's hraneii, wliieh 
rises in Jackson township, flows aci'oss the noi'tliwest corner of Fall 
Creek township, thence south tlirough (iieen townsiiip and falls into 
Fall creek three miles helow Peiidh'toii; and Green's hranch, which 
empties into the White river near tlie city of Anderson. Winsell's 
branch derives its name from Adam Winsell, a blacksmith, who was a 
member of the first court of Madison county, serving as associate judge 
from 1823 to 1830, while Jutlges Wick and Eggleston occupied the 
bench of the circuit court. 

These water-courses provide reasonably good natural drainage for 
all parts of the county and tliis natural drainage has been supple- 
mented by a system of tlitches which has done much to bring the land 
under cultivation and render the soil more productive. 

That portion of the county lying south of the Big Four railroad, 
and drained by Fall creek and its trilmtaries, has an undulating sur- 
face, with hills of moderate size along Fall creek and the White river. 
These elevations generall.y consist of beds of bowlders and gravel and 
bear unmistakable evidence of glacial action. This is especially true 
of a belt ranging from three to four miles in width, extending from 
the Lick creek valley, three miles southwest of Pendleton, in a north- 
easterly direction along the south side of the tract called the prairie, 
crossing the White river near Anderson and following the valley of the 
Killbuck creek to the Delaware county line. The northern portion of 
the county is more level and it is in this section that artificial drainage 
by means of ditches has been I'esorted to most extensively. 

State Geologist Collett, in his report for the year 1884, says: "The 
greater part of Madison county is covered with a deep deposit of 
glacial drift, but the few streams which cut through it and reveal the 
rock in place, indicate that the eastern and northern parts of the 
county rest on rocks of the Ujjpei" Silurian age, but in the southwestern 
corner, endiracing Green, and parts of Fall Creek and Stony Creek 
townships, the underlying rock is Devonian. The falls of Fall creek, 
at Pendleton, furnish the boldest and most remarkable outcrop of rock 
in the count}-. The ledge forming the cataract is composed of heavily 
stratified sandstone of a peculiar structui'e. It consists entirel.y of 
quartz crystals of pretty uniform size and but feebly held together, 
sometimes by a cement of peroxide of iron, but more fre(iuentl.v by no 
visible force, and therefore nuicli disposed to crumble ; .vet it has a 
wonderful power to resi.st llie action of water. The ledge over which 
the water falls at Pendleton has scarcely undergone any change since 
the white nuin first became ac(|uaintc(l witli it, sixty years ago." 

Six years t)efore Pi-ofessor Collelt made this report, E. T. Cox, at 
that time the state geologist, took measurements at Pendleton, concern- 
ing which he says: "We have the following section extending from the 
bed of Fall c-reek to the top of the drift, all belonging to the Corniferous 
epoch : 

1. Drift with large bowlders of granite and other crystalline 

rocks .strewed over the surface "iO feet. 

2. Ash colored, rough weathering, cherty, magnesian lime- 



4 HISTORY OF MADISOX COUNTY 

stone, alternating with soft, sandy greenish colored, 
pyritiferous layers, in all about 4 feet. 

3. Buff, sandy, magnesian limestone, Pleurotomaria and coral 

bed 4 feet. 

4. Heavy bedded and soft, white sandstone, upper part fos- 

silif erous 15 feet. ' ' 

The Pendleton sandstone may be had in blocks five feet in thickness. 
When first quarried it is soft, but hardens upon exposure to the atmos- 
phere and "has a good reputation as a building stone, both for beauty 
and durability." When the Indianapolis Glass Works first started the 
deposits at Pendleton furnished the sand and proved to be well adapted 
to the manufacture of glass, but the stone has never been extensively 
used for that purpose. Geologists seem to differ with regard to the 
place this sandstone occupies in the geologic scale. Specimens were sent 
to James Hall, state geologist of New York, who saj^s: "My own con- 
victions are that it is the equivalent of our own Schoharie Grit, being 
the western prolongation of beds that are generally well developed in 
Canada West, but making no conspicuous figure in the geology. Sev- 
eral of the fossils are identical with those of our own Schoharie Grit," 
etc. Dana and other eastern geologists have located the Oriskany sand- 
stone in exactly the position occupied by the Pendleton deposits, and 
CoUett was inclined to the opinion that the sandstone at the falls of Fall 
creek belongs to that formation. 

W. S. Blatcliley, who was state geologist for several years in the 
early part of the present century, appears to have devoted more atten- 
tion to the geology of Madison county than any of his predecessors. In 
his report for 1905 he says: "Three geologic periods are represented 
in the surface rocks of this county — the Niagara limestone of the 
Silurian, the Pendleton sandstone of the Devonian, and the glacial drift 
of the Pleistocene." 

After a thorough investigation of the subject, Mr. Blatcliley reached 
the conclusion that for limestone the county ranks among the first in the 
state, both in quantity and qualitj'. The Niagara limestone outcrops 
at numerous places in the beds of the water-courses. It shows at three 
points on the south bank of Fall creek in the town of Pendleton — at the 
lower edge of the town, at the foot of the falls, and on a knoll about two 
hundred yards below the fall. On Foster's branch, four miles below 
Pendleton, is an outcrop of Niagara limestone of the hard, gray variety. 
Collett noticed this outcrop in 1884 and classed the stone as Cornif erous. 
He described it as a "compact, crystalline limestone, which will prove a 
durable material for foundations, cellar walls, etc." One and a half 
miles northeast of Ingalls sixty acres on the farm of David V. Miller 
were found to be underlain with limestone and a stone crushing plant 
was erected there in 1905 to prepare material for road building. In 
his report for 1878 Cox mentions a quarry on the farm of William 
Crim, located on the bank of the White river, about two miles west of 
the courthouse in Anderson. Upon examining this quarry he found "as 
many as eleven workable layers of stone, vai'ving from four to twelve 
inches in thickness." 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 5 

In the western part of the cfty of Alexandria is a macadam plant 
erected for the purpose of utilizing a deposit of some fifteen acres, the 
stone having all the essential qualities of good road material. Another 
quarrj' is that known as Daniel Abbott's, located in Section 33, Town- 
ship 21, Range 7, near the soutlieast corner of Pipe Creek township. 
Other places where the Niagara limestone is quarried are near Frankton, 
on Pipe creek, and in the vicinity of Pendleton. 

Probably no phenomena have proven more perplexing to students 
of geology than those which brought about the destruction of vast 
beds of rock and the distribution of their fragmentary remains over 
large areas of territory far from their original location. For example, 
the large bowlders found all over Indiana, commonly called "nigger- 
heads, ' ' are of a granitoid character, belonging to beds that are nowhere 
represented in the state, and must have come from some place beyond 
her borders. Various theories have been advanced to account for these 
conditions, the most prominent of which, and the one most generally 
accepted by scientists, is the glacial theory. The glacial epoch, or 
Pleistocene period of geologic time, sometimes called the "Ice Age," 
comprises the earliest part of the Quaternary period. During the 
latter part of the Tertiary period, preceding, there was a gradual lower- 
ing of temperature throughout the north temperate zone until the entire 
surface was covered with large bodies of ice, called glaciers. • These 
glaciers were formed by periodical or intermittent snows. During the 
period of rest between those falls of snow, that which had already fallen 
became compacted by pressure until the whole mass was converted into 
one solid body. 

The pressure upon the yielding mass of snow imparted motion to the 
glacier, which cari-ied with it rocks and other mineral matter. This 
grinding and, equalizing work of the glaciers in time effected a material 
change in the topography and meteorological conditions of the earth. 
Not only were mountain peaks worn down and the general leveling 
of the land brought about, but vast quantities of earth and sand were 
carried forward by the streams of water formed by the melting ice and 
flowing beneath the glaciers and deposited in the ocean. In this way 
the shores of the continait were pushed forward during a period of 
several centuries and the superficial area of the land was materially 
increased. 

In general, the course of the North American glaciers was toward 
the south. One of them extended over Canada and the northeastern 
part of the United States, reaching from the Atlantic ocean on the 
east to the Missouri river on the west, covering the entire basin of the 
Great Lakes. When the ice melted, the rocks and other debris carried 
along by the glacier were left to form what is known as the glacial 
drift, also called till, bowlder clay and older diluvium. 

The accumulation of earth and stone carried by the glacier was 
sometimes heaped up along the margin, where it formed a ridge or 
deposit called a lateral moraine. When two glaciers came together, the 
deposit formed at the point of conjunction is called a medial moraine ; 
the more level deposit under the body of the glacier is known as the 
ground moraine, and that at the edge of the glacier is called a terminal 



6 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

moraine. The valley of the Ohio river was the terminus of the glacier 
that once covered Madison county and the channel of that stream owes 
its origin to the melting of the ice and the flow of water which always 
underlies the bed of a glacier. As the melting process proceeded, the 
terminal margin withdrew to the north, and wherever there remained 
undestroyed rock barriers or dams they gave direction to the waters 
of the terminal moraines. In this way the course of the Wabash river 
and the two forks of the White river were determined, or modified, 
centuries before Columbus discovered the New World. 

The rate at which the glaciers moved rarely exceeded one foot per 
day. As it glided along the bowlders at the bottom left marks or 
scratches on the bed rock, and from these marks or strise the geologist 
has been able to determine with reasonable accuracy the course of the 
glacier, by noting the direction of the striae. 

In some portions of North America the lateral moraines rise to a 
height of from 500 to 1,000 feet. The terminal moraine in northern 
Indiana, that marks the southern boundary of the Great Lake basin, 
contains several mounds that are from 150 to 200 feet in height. In 
Madison county the drift has been more uniformly deposited, though 
there are abundant evidences of glacial action. Collett, in the report al- 
ready alluded to, says: 

"The ice age has left distinct foot-prints on the southeastern sec- 
tion of Madison county. A line drawn from near the northeast comer 
of Richland township to Anderson and continued in the same direc- 
tion down the valley of Prairie creek by Pendleton to the southern line 
of the county, will traverse a region of valleys of erosion between hills 
of washed gravel deposited by currents from beneath the dissolving 
glacier, while the finer and lighter materials were carried forward to 
form the clay surface of the counties south. The most distinct remains 
of a lateral moraine that I have seen anywhere is in the piles of gravel 
and bowlders that skirt the southeastern side of the glacial river bed 
which stretches from White river to Fall creek in what is now known 
as the Prairie. This valley of erosion has an average width of about 
a mile and is some thirty feet below the general level of the country, 
while the gravel along the southeast side is piled up from forty to fifty 
feet high. The valley crosses Fall creek and continues somewhat nar- 
rowed to Lick creek near the Hancock county line. At the point of 
crossing Fall creek bowlders of granite, gneiss and trap rock are pro- 
fusely distribpted over several hundred acres of land." 

Southeast of this eroded valley are gravel hills and the soil in that 
section is usually of a sandy loam. North and west of it the gravel 
beds are rare and near the northern boundary of the county entirely 
disappear, though gravel is sometimes found where there is notliing on 
the surface to indicate its presence. In his report for 1905 the state 
geologist devotes considerable space to the road building materials of the 
state and on a map of Madison county shows the deposits of gravel 
that have been developed. Two of these are in the western part of Duck 
Greek township; one in the northwestern part of Boone; one near 
Alexandria, and one two miles farther west, in Monroe township ; three 
in the southeastern part of Pipe Creek; two in the northeastern and 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 7 

two in the southwestern part of Richland; one near White river, in 
Jackson township, and another on Pipe creek, four miles farther north ; 
five in Union township; four in Anderson, not far from the city and 
three farther south; three in Green; five in Fall Creek and five in 
Adams. The map also shows the location of several gravel beds that 
at that time had not been opened. 

No account of the geologj- of the county would be complete without 
some mention of oil and natural gas, both of which have been found 
within the county limits. Natural gas is described as "a member of 
the paraffin series (hydrocarbons), a combination of carbon and hydro- 
gen, about 60 per cent as heavy as air and highly inflammable." It 
is composed chiefly of marsh gas, or methane, the gas fields in Ohio and 
Indiana having been formed by the decomposition of animal matter, 
while the Pennsylvania field is composed of decayed vegetation. The 
decomposition, or chemical change, that generated the gas is believed 
to have taken place at comparatively low temperatures within the por- 
ous rocks of the Lower Silurian formation, the rocks serving as reser- 
voirs for the gas. 

Natural gas was probably fii-st used in connection with the Delphic 
oracles, about 1000 B. C, and it has been used for centuries by the 
Chinese in the evaporation of salt water. It was first used in the 
United States in 1821, when a well one and a half inches in diameter 
and twenty-seven feet deep was drilled near a "gas spring" at Fre- 
donia, New York, and thel gas used for lighting the streets. In 1838 its 
presence was noticed at Findlay, Ohio, and three years later it was 
found in a well at Charleston, "West Virginia. While developing the oil 
fields of Pennsylvania, in 1860, the gas was used under the boilers 
instead of coal, but the first systematic use of it as a fuel was at Erie, 
Pennsylvania, in 1868. On March 14, 1886, the first gas well in Indiana 
"blew in" at Portland, where it was struck in the Trenton limestone. 
The second well was opened at Eaton, Delaware county, in September, 
1886, and the third was sunk at Kokomo, gas being struck in October 
of that year. 

Little was known of the Trenton limestone prior to 1884, except 
from the outcrops in Canada and some parts of the United States. In 
that year gas was struck at Findlay, Ohio, which marked the beginning 
of an era of prosperity for that city and led to the investigations in 
Indiana, with the results above mentioned. 

In Madison county, the first gas well was sunk on the farm of 
Samuel Cassell, at Alexandria, early in 1887. On the evening of Janu- 
ary 25, 1887, a meeting was held at the courthouse in Anderson for the 
purpose of organizing a natural gas company. Some work had been 
done about a week before that time and the names of forty of the rep- 
rekentative citizens had been signed to articles of association for a 
stock company with a capital of $20,000, the organization of which 
was completed at the meeting of the 25th. Drilling was soon after- 
ward commenced on a piece of land donated by John Hickey, imme- 
diately south of the Midland railroad station and not far from Meridian 
street, where gas was struck in the Trenton limestone at a depth of 
847 feet on the morning of March 31, 1887. This was the second 



8 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

well in the county and the first at or near the city of Anderson. 
A further account of the development of the natural gas field of the 
county will be found in the chapter on Finance and Industries. 

The original rock pressure throughout the Indiana gas field was 
from 300 to 325 pounds to the square inch and the supply appeared to 
be inexhaustible. Ihis belief was so prevalent that the gas was used 
in the most wasteful and extravagant manner. In 1893 the Indiana 
legislature passed an act prohibiting the waste of gas and oil, but it 
was, a case of locking tlie door after the horse had been stolen. So 
much had already been wasted that it was evident a few years more 
would witness the failure of the accumulated supply and that centuries 
would probably have to elapse before another could be formed in the 
porous rock, if indeed a new supply could ever be generated by natural 
processes. 

Petroleum, kerosene, or coal oil, is a natural rock oil, composed of 
hydrocarbons and classed with asphalt and natural gas as a bitumen. 
It was known to the ancients and during the days of the Roman empire 
was obtained from Sicily and burned in lamps. The Pennsylvania 
Rock Oil Company was organized in 1854, but it was not until five 
years later that oil was struck in paying quantities in the western part 
of the state. Then fortunes were made in a comparatively short time 
and the excitement became widespread. Prospecting for oil was car- 
ried on in various parts of the country, but most of them ended in fail- 
ure and the few wells yielding oil were poor payers and were soon 
abandoned. In 1885 the Lima, Ohio, field was developed and in that 
year the production in the United States was about twenty-two million 
barrels. 

The first successful attempt to develop an oil field in high pressure 
gas territory was near Alexandria, Madison county, in the spring of 
1897. About the beginning of that year the Northern Ohio Oil Com- 
pany secured a lease upon the farm of Nimrod Carver, about two miles 
northeast of the city of Alexandria, and on April 20, 1897, the first 
oil well in the county came in with a flow of eight hundred barrels 
daily. Oil operators flocked to the new field and high prices were paid 
for leases upon lands in the vicinity of the Carver farm. Between that 
time and March 4, 1898, seventy-five wells were drilled in the Alexandria 
field. Of these, forty yielded both oil and gas, thirty-three proved to 
be gas wells only, and two were dry. In 1900 the output from this field 
was about sixty thousand barrels. During the next year a number of 
new wells were drilled, but most of them were light producers — about 
thirty barrels each per day. Of ninety-four wells drilled in Monroe 
township, thirty-nine were dry; one on section 3 produced forty bar- 
rels daily at the start, and one on section 7 had an initial flow of one 
hundred barrels. Two wells on the J. M. Hughes farm in section 10 
showed ninety and one hundred and fifty barrels respectively at the be- 
ginning, but this yield soon fell off. Of the ten wells drilled in Richland 
township only four were producers. One started at seventy-five barrels 
and one on the Fuller farm in section 6 yielded one hundred barrels. 
At the close of the year the wells on the Hughes and Fuller farms were 
the only ones in operation. From this time on interest in the Alex- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 9 

andria waned and in 1908 operations were practically at a standstill. 
Only two wells were sunk in that year, both on section 22, in Monroe 
township, and they yielded but five and ten barrels respectively. The 
total shipment of oil from the field in 1908 was only one hundred and 
eight barrels. 

When the first white men came to what is now Madison county they 
found a large part of the surface covered with a heavy growth of tim- 
ber. The principal varieties of forest trees were yellow and white 
poplar; white, burr, red and black oak; black and white walnut; ■wdld 
cherry; white, red and slippery elm; white, blue and black ash; shell- 
bark and pignut hickorj' ; sycamore ; several varieties of maple ; honey 
locust; beech, sassafras and basswood. Some cottonwood grew along 
the courses of the streams and there were a few minor species, such as 
hackberry, mulberry, ironwood, buckeye, etc. At that time the soil 
was of more value for cultivation than the timber, and many trees were 
cut down and burned that, if they were standing today, would be worth 
more than the land upon which they grew. Then no thought of a timber 
famine entered the minds of the pioneers. Far away to the westward 
stretched the boundless forest and to the frontiersman it seemed, if he 
gave it a thought, that there would be timber for the use of the people 
for generations to come. Now, though less than a century has passed, 
the conservation of American forests is an engrossing subject. Possibly 
much of the timber might have been saved, but would the people of the 
present day act differently under the same conditions? Perhaps not. 

While making his investigations in Madison county in 1878, State 
Geologist Cox noticed several "bold, running springs of chalybeate 
water" at the base of the bluff near what is now Mounds Park, about 
three miles above Anderson, on the White river. In his report for that 
year he gives the following analysis of the water from this spring: 

"Bold running spring; cold and clear; strong inky taste; bubbles 
up through sand; no appearance of escaping gases; decidedly alkaline 
reaction. 

Grains in an imperial gallon. 

' ' Insoluble silicates 1.6580 

Oxide of iron 7287 

Lime 8.1610 

Alumina trace 

Magnesia trace 

Sulphuric acid 2.7500 

Carbonic acid, combined 7.1070 

Iodine trace 

Alkalies trace 

Loss and undetermined 3.5953 

Total in one gallon 24.0000 

' ' The above constituents are probably combines as follows : 

Bicarbonate of lime 10.898 

Carbonate of protoxide of iron 1.177 

Sulphate of lime 6.672 



10 HISTORY OF MADLSOX COUNTY 

Insoluble silicates 1.658 

Magnesia trace 

Alumina trace 

Alkalies trace 

Iodine trace 

Loss and undetermined 3.595 

Total 24.000" 

The analysis further disclosed the fact that the amount of gas in an 
imperial gallon was 13.580 per cent, and the amount of free carbonic 
acid was 6.473 per cent. Concerning the results of the analysis, Mr. 
Cox says: "This is a very pure calcic chalybeate water, a tine tonic 
and alterative, and is admirable for persons laboring under general 
debility and dyspepsia. The location is all that could be desired for 
a watering-place and resort." 

From the foregoing it may be seen that while Madison county has 
no peculiar or startling geological formations, it is well supplied with 
mineral resources in the way of stone and road building materials ; 
that during the era of natural gas and oil it was one of the largest pro- 
ducing counties in the state ; that the glacial drift has given to the 
county a fertile soil ; that it has one of the finest mineral springs in 
central Indiana, and that its streams and ditches afford ample drain- 
age to render the county one of the most productive and healthful in 
the state. 



CIIAl'TKH II 
AH()R1(;IXA1. IXllAlilTANTS 

TlIK .MoTM* Hril.DKHS TllKdKlKS (JONCKUNINC TllEM DlSTltlCTS IN THE 

United Statks — Tiikir Distinciisiiing Ciiakacteristics — Mounds in 
IMadison County — Distribution of Indian Tribes when America 
First Discovered — Indiana Tribes — The Deuawares — Their His- 
tory AND Tradition — A Delaware Prophet Inspires Pontiac — 
Noted Dekaware Chieftains — A Leciend. 

Who Were tile first luiiiuHi liciii^s to iiili;il)it the coiitiiu'ut ol' North 
America ' The (luestion is more easily asked than answered. When 
the first white men eame they found here a peeuliar raee of eopper 
colored people, to whom they fiave the name of Indians, hut aftei- a 
time it became evident to the student of archaeology that the Indian 
had his predecessors. These predecessors have been named Mound 
Builders, on account of the gi'eat numher ol' mounds or eartinvorks they 
erected, and whicii constitute the only data from which to write their 
history. For fully a century the cliaracter and fate of the Mound 
Builders have been discussed by antiipiarians and archaeologists, hut 
the problem appears to l)e no nearer a positive solution than when it 
first came up for consideration. The American Anti(|uarian Society 
was organized in 1812 and some investigations were made during the 
years immediately following, but the first work of note on American 
archaeology, entitled "Anciont Monuments of the Mississip[)i Valley," 
compiled ))\- E. G. S(|uier and K. H. Davis, did not make its appear- 
ance until 1847. In that work the authors presented the theory that the 
Mound Builders belonged to a very old race and that the.v were dis- 
tinct from and in no way related to the Indians found here when the 
continent was discovered by Columbus. Allen Lapham, who wrote on 
the '■ Anti(|uities of AVisconsin," in IHr);"), als" held to the separate race 
and gi'eat age theory. 

In fact, such was the hyjiothesis of most of the early writers on the 
sub.jecf, and some haxc arranged the peiiod of man in the Mississippi 
valley into four epochs, viz.: 1. The Mound Builders; 2. The Villagers; 
3. The F'ishermen ; 4. The Indians. This theory, which is somewhat 
fanciful, presupposes four distinct races or peoples and is not sus- 
tained by any existing or known facts. Baldwin, in his valuable work 
on "Ancient America" (p. 71), says: "They were umiuestionably 
American aborigines and not immigrants from another continent. That 
appears to me the most i'easonabl(> suggestion which a.ssumes that the 
Mound Builders came originally from .Alexico and Central America. 

11 



12 HISTORY OF JIADISON COUNTY 

It explains many facts connected with their remains. In the Great 
Valley their most populous settlements were at the south. Coming from 
Mexico and Central America, they would begin their settlements on the 
Gulf coast, and afterward advance gradually up the river to tlie Ohio 
valley. It seems evident that they came by this route, and their 
remains show that their only connection with the coast was at the south. 
Their settlements did not reach the coast at any other point." 

On the other hand, JIcLean says: "Prom time immemorial, there 
has been immigration into Mexico from the North. One type nfler 
another has followed. In some cases different branches of the same 
family have successively followed one another. Before the Christian 
era the Nahoa immigration from the North made its ajipearance. They 
were the founders of the stone works in northern Mexico. Certain 
eminent scientists have held that the Nahoas belonged to the race that 
made the mounds of tlie Ohio and ilississippi valleys. Following this 
people came the Toltecs, and with them the light begins to dawn upon 
ancient Mexican migration. They were cultivated and constituted a 
branch of the Nahoa family. * * * Jq ^^g light of modern dis- 
covery and scientifie investigation, we are able to follow the JMound 
Builders. We first found them in Ohio, engaged in tilling the soil and 
developing a civilization peculiar to themselves. Driven fi'om their 
homes, they sought an asylum in the South, and from there they wan- 
dered into Mexico, where we begin to learn something more definite 
concerning them." 

Two more diverse theories than those advanced by Baldwin and 
McLean can hardly be imagined. Of course, it might be that the emi- 
gration from Ohio occurred at a very earl.y period of time and that 
the descendants of the emigrants at a later date found their way back 
into the United States, as suggested by Baldwin, but such a theory is 
scarcely tenable. There is not, then, and never has been, a unity of 
opinion regarding the Mound Builders. While the early ^vriters classed 
them as a hypothetical people, supposed to have antedated the Indian 
tribes as inhabitants of the Ohio and Mississippi valleys, the Mound 
Builders of these valleys are now regarded "as the ancestors and repre- 
sentatives of the tribes found in the same region by the Spanish, French 
and English pioneers." Says Brinton : 

"The period when the Mound Builders flourished has been differ- 
ently estimated; but there is a growing tendency to reject the assumption 
of a very great antiquity. There is no good reason for assigning any 
of the remains in the Ohio valley an age antecedent to the Christian 
era, and the final destruction of tlieir towns may well have been but a 
few generations before the discovery of the continent by Columbus. 
Faint traditions of this event were still retained by the tribes who occu- 
pied the region at the advent of the whites. Indeed, some plausible 
attempts have been made to identify their descendants with certain 
existing tribes." 

The culture of the Mound Builders was distinctly Indian in char- 
acter. De Soto and the early French explorers in the southern part 
of what is now the United States found certain tribes who were mound 
builders in the early part of the sixteenth century, and the relics found 



HISTORY OF I\rADISOX COUNTY l:j 

in many of the mounds differ but sliglitly from those of known Indian 
origin. As these facts have been developed tlie theory that the Mound 
Builders were the ancestors of the Indians has in recent years come to 
be generall}' accepted by archaeologists. 

Cyrus Thomas, of the United States ]5ureau of Ethnology, has 
divided the mounds of the United States into eigiit districts. 

1. Tlie Wisconsin district, which embraces tiie soutlu'ru half of 
Wisconsin, the northern part of Illinois and the northeastern portion 
of Iowa. In this district the effigy mounds aimnnd — that is, mounds 
bearing a resemblance in form to .some beast or bird. They are sui)- 
posed to have been copied from the bird or animal that .served as a 
totem for the tribe that erected them, though they may have been objects 
of veneration or worship. Effigy mounds are also found in .some of the 
other districts, one of the most noted of this class being the "Great 
Sei'pent," of Adams county, Ohio. This mound, which is in the form of 
a serpent, if straightened out, would l)e l,;i48 feet in length. It is located 
on a narrow ridge, almost surrounded by three streams of watrr. The 
opened jaws measure seventy-five feet across and immediately in front 
of the mouth is a circular or elliptical inclosure with a heap of stones 
in the center. The body of the sei'pent is from thirty to iifty feet wide 
and about eight feet in height in tlie highest part. 

2. The Ujiper JMississippi or Illinois district, which includes north- 
ern aiul central Illinois, soutlieastei-n Iowa and nortl.eastern Missouri. 
The mounds of tliis district -are mostly conical tunuili, located on the 
ridges, uplands, etc. 

;5. Th(! Ohio district, which eniljraces Ohio, eastern Indiana and the 
western portion of West Virginia. The distijiguishing feature of this 
district is the large number of fortifications and altar mounds, though 
the conical tumidi are also plentiful. One of the largest known mounds 
of this class is the one at Grave creek, West Virginia, which is 900 feet 
in circumference and seventy feet high. In the State of Ohio alone 
about i;3,000 mounds have been imted. 

4. The New York district, including the cmtral lake region and the 
western portion of the state, where the enclosing walls or fortifications 
constitute the leading reliqe of the ]\I()und Huilders. 

•"). The Appalachian district, embracing western North Carolina, 
eastern Tennessee, southwestern Virginia and southeastern Kentucky. 
In the mounds of this district have been found a large number of stone 
pipes, bracelets of copper, mica jjlates and other relics, many of which 
have not been seen elsewhere, and the district has also furnished a larger 
lunnber of skeletons than any of the othei-s. Some mounds of the fortifi- 
cation t.vpe have likewise lieen found in this district. 

6. This district includes the middle portion of Mississippi, south- 
eastern ilissouri, northern Arkansas, western Teiniessee, western Ken- 
tucky, southern Illinois and the Wabash valley of Indiana. Here the 
truncated and terraced pyramid mounds are found in greater numbers 
than in any of the preceding districts. There are also inclosures, ditches 
and canals, and pottery and stone coffins have been found in several of 
the mounds that have been explored. Near Cahokia, Illinois, is a 
truncated pyramid mound 500 by 700 feet at the base and 97 feet in 
height. 



14 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

7. The Lower Mississippi district, which includes the southern half 
of Arkansas, the greater part of Louisiana and the southern part of 
Mississippi. The mounds of this district display no marked characteris- 
tics, being chiefly of the conical type. 

8. The Gulf States district, which embraces the southern part of 
the country east of Mississippi. Here the large flat-topped pyramidal 
mounds and inclosures or fortifications abound. There are also a number 
of effigy mounds, the great eagle mound of Georgia being one of the 
finest specimens of this class in the country. 

Concerning the structure and purpose of the mounds, Brinton says: 
"The mounds or tumuli are of earth, or earth mingled with stones, and 
are of two general classes, the one with a circular base and conical in 
shape, the other with a rectangular base and a superstructure in the 
form of a truncated pyramid. The former are generally found to con- 
tain human remains and are therefore held to have been barrows or 




White River at Mounds Park 

sepulchral monuments raised over the distinguished dead, or, in some 
instances serving as the communal place of interment for a gens or elan. 
The truncated pyramids, witli their flat surfaces, were evidently the 
sites for buildings, such as temples or council houses, which being con- 
structed of perishable material have disappeared." 

'E. T. Cox, state geologist, in liis report for 1878, says: "By far the 
most unique and well preserved earthworks in this state are on the 
banks of White river, in iladison county, about three miles from Ander- 
son, the county seat. The principal work in a group of eight is a 
circular embankment with a, deep ditch on the inside. The central area 
is one hundred and thirty-eight feet in diameter, and contains a mound 
in the center four feet high and thirty feet in diameter. There is a 
slight depression between the mound and the ditch. The gateway is 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 15 

thirty feet wide. Carriages may enter at the gateway and drive around 
the mound, as the ditcli terminates on each side of the gateway. The 
diteh is sixty feet wide and ten and a half feet deep; the embankment 
is sixty-tliree feet wide at the base and nine feet higli. and the entire 
diameter of the circle is three hundred and eighty-four feet. 

"When I first visited these works, which ^o by the name of the 
'Mounds," there were growing upon the embankment a great many 
large forest trees, from one foot to four feet in diameter. Several large 
walnut trees have since been cut off; with that exception the work still 
remains covered with a growth in no respect differing from the adjoin- 
ing forest, and the embankment and ditch are in as good a state of 
preservation as when abandoned by the builders." 

In the immediate vicinity of this large work are seven smaller ones, 
four of which are circular in form and two are in the form of links, 
slightly bent together in the center, while one consists of two embank- 
ments about two and a half feet high, with a gateway at each end. 
The largest of these subordinate works is one of the link-shaped forma- 
tions, situated 325 feet northwest of the main embankment. It is 181 
feet in length, 122 feet across the widest part, and 57 feet across the 
constricted part. The wall is from one foot to six feet high, with a 
ditch on the inside, and in the end nearest the large mound is a narrow 
gateway. 

Directly south of this and 475 feet from the large mound is a 
circle 126 feet in diameter, with a bank about three feet in height and 
a slight ditch on the inside. Still further south, in the public road, is 
another circle, the greater part of which has been obliterated by passing 
vehicles. The second link mound almost touches the large work on the 
west side. Its greatest length is 106 feet, the bank is only about two 
feet high and it has no gateway. 

A debt of gratitude is due Frederick Bronnenberg, late owner of 
the grounds upon which these naounds are situate. During the many 
years he owned the property he kept the ancient earthworks from being 
obliterated by the plo\f man's share and guarded with jealous eye the 
handsome woodlands surrounding tliem. To have stuck an ax into 
one of the stately elms or sturdy oaks would have been sacrilege in his 
estimation. As long as he was the owner of these grovinds, thev were 
open to visitors and he took pride in the ownership of this mysterious 
and interesting place. Many people censured Jlr. Bronnenberg because 
he would not part with the grounds and convey them to persons who 
wished to purchase the place and convert it into a resort. But it seems 
that Providence has worked out a better way for their preservation 
and has given to the pcojtle a place for rest, amusement and plea.sure 
that will be more lasting than by private ownership. Since the death 
of Mr. Bronnenberg. his heirs have transferred the property to the 
Indiana Union Traction Company, which now conducts the grove as a 
pleasure resort, but in such a way that the mounds shall be preserved 
and perpetuated. Around the large work is a sti'ong wire fence, with 
notices posted at frequent intervals forbidding visitors to walk upon 
the slope or crest of the embankment. This policy, if continued, will 
preserve this interesting relic of a bygone race for future generations 



16 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

to admire and study. At the foot of the blufE is the mineral spring 
mentioned at the close of the preceding chapter. This spring may have 
had some influence upon the aborigines in the selection of a location for 
their earthwork, though Professor Cox, in the same report, notes that 

"On the same section of land, but half a mile farther up the river, 
and on the same side of the stream, there is another cluster of earth- 
works that are of nearly equal interest; in fact, the principal work is, 
in some respects, more remarkable than the large circle (previously 
described). The outline is of irregular shape — coustricted on one end 
and at the sides; at the other end there is a gateway nine feet wide, 
protected by two small mounds, now about four feet high. The wall is 
thirty to thirty-five feet wide at the base and about four feet high ; ditch 
eight feet wide. A central line through the longer way is N. 67° E. 
and 296 feet long; it is 160 feet across at the widest and 150 feet across 
at the narrowest part — near the middle. With the exception of the two 
mounds at the gateway, which lie on the cultivated side of a section 
fence, and have been cut down by the plow, the remainder of this 
antiquity is in as good state of preservation as when deserted by its 
original occupants. Large trees are growing over it, and the under- 
brush is so thick that it was difficult to obtain accurate measurements; 
in fact, there is hardly a stick of timber amiss over the ruins. ' ' 

Near this work is a plain circle, 150 feet in diameter, which lies in 
a cultivated field and is fast being obliterated. Southeast of this circle 
is an oblong work, similar to the one above described by the state 
geologist. Its longest diameter is 106 feat and the distance across the 
other way is forty-eight feet at each end, but somewhat less in the 
center, or constricted part. The wall is about two feet high and the 
ditch on the inside is fifteen feet in width. At the southeastern end 
is a gateway fifteen feet wide. This portion is well preserved, but the 
western part lies in the open field and the plow has almost leveled the 
walls. In these works the Mound Builders, whoever they were, or at 
whatever time they inhabited the land, have left their indelible impress 
upon Madison county. The architects have gone, but the building 
remains. Who built it, or for what purpose it was erected, will doubt- 
less remain for generations to come largely a matter of speculation and 
conjecture. 

At the time the Western Hemisphere was first visited by Europeans, 
the continent of North America was inhabited by several groups or 
families of Indians, each of which was distinguished by certain charac- 
teristics and occupied a well defined territory. In the north were the 
Eskimo, a people who has never played any conspicuous part in history. 
South of them and west of the Hudson bay were the Athapascans, 
scattered over a wide expanse of territory. The Algonquian group 
occupied a great triangle, roughly bounded by the Atlantic coast on the 
east, a line drawn from the most northern poitit of Labrador in a 
southwesterly direction to the Rocky mountains, and a second line from 
there to the Pamlico sound, on the coast of North Carolina. South of 
the Algonquian and east of the Mississippi river was the Muskhogean 
family, including the Creeks, Choctaws, etc. Directly west of this group, 
across the Mississippi, were the Caddoan tribes. The hardy, restless 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 17 

Siouan tribes occupied the Missouri vallej', and in the southwestern 
part of what is now the United States was the Shoshonean group. 
Along the St. Lawrence river and the shores of Lake Ontario and 
Lake Erie, in the very heart of the Algonquian country, were the 
brave, warlike Iroquoian tribes, who were probably the most intel- 
lectual of all the North American Indians. 

Of all these families, the Algonquian was the most numerous, inhab- 
ited the largest scope of country, and has been the most important in 
the history of the nation. This group consisted of several hundred 
tribes, the most prominent of which were the Miami, Pottawatomi, 
Delaware, Shawnee, Ojibwa and Ottawa. Among the Iroquois the 
principal tribes were the Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, Mohawk and 
Cayuga. The Algonquian invasion of Iroquois territory led to a con- 
federacy being formed by these tribes, which became known as the 
"Five Nations," and which was a powerful factor in most of the early 
treaties made between the Indians and whites. Subsequently the Tus- 
caroras, another Iroquoian tribe, were taken into the arrangement and 
the confederacy then took the name of the ' ' Six Nations. ' ' 




The Big IMound at Mounds P.\rk 

( Courtesy, Herland Publishing Co. ) 

When the first white settlements were made in Indiana, the region 
now comprising the state was inhabited by at least seven different tribes 
of Indians. The Pottawatomies occupied the entire northern part of 
the state ; the Miamis, or Twightwees, as they were sometimes called, 
dwelt along the St. Joseph and St. Mary's rivers; along the Wabash 
were the Weas, their principal village being near the present city of 
Lafayette ; east of the Wabash and north of the Ohio lay the country 
of the Piankeshaws, extending eastward to what is now Lawrence 
county and northward to Vigo; the Wyandots occupied the present 
counties of Harrison, Crawford, Spencer, Perry, Dubois and Orange; 
east of them were the Shawnees, their country extending eastward into 
Ohio and northward to Rush and Fayette counties, while between the 
districts inhabited by the Shawnees and the Miamis were the Delawares, 
who occupied the present county of Madison. 

The Miamis were at one time the most powerful tribe in the West 
and when the French traders first visited the lake region were in com- 

Vol. \—-> 



18 HISTORY OF JIADISOX COUNTY 

plete control. They had been moving eastward, when they were met 
and driven back by the Iroquois, after which they settled in Ohio. One 
of their leading chiefs, Little Turtle, once said: "My forefather 
kindled the first fire at Detroit ; thence he extended his lines to the 
headwaters of the Scioto ; thence to its mouth ; thence down the Ohio 
river to the mouth of the Wabash, and from there to Chicago over Lake 
Michigan. These are the boundaries within which the prints of my 
ancestors' houses are everywhere to be seen." 

At some time in the distant past — the exact date is not certain — 
the Miamis, with their kindred tribes, because of their great power and 
influence, the wide extent of their domain and their aggressiveness, 
were known as the ''Miami Confederacy." About tlie middle of the 
eighteenth century this confederacy numbered about 1,200 warriors, 
though, according to tribal traditions, it was able to muster at an 
earlier period a much more formidable force. 

Of the Indian tribes above mentioned, the Pottawatomies were prob- 
ably the strongest at the time the white man began coming into the 
state, the Shawnees were unquestionably the fiercest and most warlike, 
and the Delawares claimed to be the oldest. According to their tradi- 
tions they once possessed all the western portion of North America, 
when they were known as the Lenni Lenape, w'hich in their language 
means "men." As they traveled eastward they were met by the 
Iroquois, with whom they formed an alliance. The combination of these 
two powerful tribes enabled them to overcome all the smaller and 
weaker tribes east of the Mississippi, and in time thej' laid claim to 
all the territory between the Great River and the Atlantic coast. This 
vast region they divided, the Delawares taking the countrj- Ijdng between 
the Hudson and Potomac rivers and the Iroquois assuming dominion 
over the remainder. It was from the Delawares that William Penn 
purchased the province of Pennsylvania. A recent writer on this sub- 
ject says: "In the early days of their known history', especially after 
their loss of power and caste, the oft-repeated remembrance of their 
former high position among the numerous tribes occup.\'ing the lake 
region, was a source of proud satisfaction. The relation connecting them 
with the period of their prosperity was regarded as a golden epoch in 
their tribal history. It was then that the bravery of their warriors, 
the wisdom of their counsellors and the brilliancy of their warlike 
exploits gave them a prestige worthy to be recounted, in after years, 
among the traditions of their fathers. Then they were allied with the 
Iroquois, and retained their ancient character for prowess and enter- 
prise; To recall these was pleasant. W^hen, however, the Five Nations 
confederated at Onondaga, and were no longer engaged in petty quar- 
rels among themselves, the former pleasant relations ceased, and the 
over-confident Delawares were made to feel the effect of the concentrated 
power and consequent arrogance of their ancient allies. The concen- 
trated energies of the Five Nations, thirsting for prominence among the 
North American tribes, soon set them about acquiring and maintaining 
the supremacy. To do this, aggressions were the order and ultimate 
conquest the end of the movements thus directed. So the Delawares 
lost their native independence in the rise of Iroquois power and became 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 19 

a subordinate nation, denied tlie enjoyment oi" their ancient rights and 
territory. ' ' 

A Delaware tradition says that the Iroquois "made them women" 
through deceit by inducing them to accept a subordinate position in 
order to keep peace with the whites. The event was brought about by 
what is known in historj' as the "walking purchase," whereby they 
were ousted from a half a million acres of their lands in the forks of the 
Delaware, above Easton. Penn.sylvania. The Delawares protested and 
the IrO(iuois compelled them to retire to the Susquehanna river. This 
was the beginning of their downfall. The Delawares were always at 
peace with the whites luitil the French and Indian war, when some of 
them took uj) arms against the English settlers. At the conclusion of 
that contest some of the tribe went to Ohio, where they found a refuge 
among the Shawnees. The white men continued to encroach upon the 
Indian lands and in 1768 the Delawares were given permission to settle 
among the Miamis and Piankeshaws, between the White and Ohio 
rivers, in Indiana. The main body of the tribe established themselves 
on the Whitewater river, where they tried -to rekindle the national 
council fire under the head chief, Tedpachxit, but in vain. The glory of 
the once proud tribe had departed. 

The Delawares were divided into three subtribes or elans — the Unami, 
or Turtle; the Unalachto, or Turkey; and the Minsi, or Wolf, the ani- 
mals having been the emblematic totems of the separate divisions bear- 
ing their names. The Minsi became corrupted into ilunsee, sometimes 
called the "Christian Indians." After the treaty of 1768, t^iey founded 
the village of Gnadenhutten, on the ^Muskingum river. 

There is one incident in connection with the history of the Delaware 
Indians that has never been sufficientlj' emphasized by historians, and 
that is the fact that the celebrated Pontiac received his inspiration for 
his great conspiracy through the preaching of a Delaware prophet. 
Heckewelder, who was a missionary among the Delawares for fifty years, 
says: "In the year 1762 there was a famous preacher of the Delaware 
nation' who resided at Cayahaga, near Lake Erie, and traveled about 
the country among the Indians endeavoring to persuade them that he 
had been appointed by ^he Great Spirit to instruct them in those 
things that were agreeable to him, and point out them the offenses by 
which they had drawn his displeasure on themselves, and the means 
by which they might recover his favour for the future. He had drawn, 
as he pretended, by the direction of the Great Spirit, a kind of map 
on a piece of deerskin, somewhat dressed like parchment, which he 
called ' The Great Book or Writing. ' This, he said, he had been ordered 
to show to the Indians, that they might see the situation in which the 
Mannitto had originally placed them, the misery which they had brought 
upon themselves by neglecting their duty, and the only way that was 
now left to regain what they had lost. This map he held up before 
him while preaching, frequently pointing to particular marks and spots 
upon it, and giving explanations as he went along." 

The map or chart was about fifteen inches square, in the. center of 
which was drawn a square about eight inches on each side, representing 
the "heavenly regions," or place designed by the Great Spirit for Indian 



20 HISTORY OF ]\IADISO\ COUNTY 

habitation in a future life. At the lower right hand corner of this 
square was an opening or avenue, which he declared to be in possession 
of the white men, through the shortcomings of the Indians, while another 
opening, at the upper corner was for the Indians, but was beset by 
many dangers and obstacles, an evil spirit guarding the entrance, etc. 
Outside of the square represented a country given to the tribe, in which 
they had the privilege to hunt, fish and dwell during this life. The inner 
square, he declared, had been lost through neglect and disobedience; 
by not making sufificient sacritices to the Great Spirit; by looking with 
favor upon a people of a different color and allowing them to occupy 
part of the hunting grounds, etc. In order to regain that which had 
been lost, he advised that the tribe must desist from drunkenness, wars 
among people of their own color and polygamy ; give up the medicine 
song and the customs they had adopted since the coming of the white 
people. 

"Then," he would exclaim with great fervor and enthusiasm, "will 
the Great Spirit give success to our arms ; then he will give us strength 
to conquer our enemies, to drive them from our hunting grounds, and to 
recover the passage to the heavenly regions which they have taken 
from us." 

In order to impress his teaching upon his tribesmen, and to refresh 
the memory, he advised every family to have a copy of the map or 
Great Book, which he offered to make for them for one buckskin or two 
doeskins. "In some of those maps," says Heckewelder, "the figure of 
a deer or turkey, or both, was placed in the heavenly regions, and also in 
the dreary region of the evil spirit. The former, however, appeared fat 
and plump, while the latter seemed to have nothing but skin and bones." 

The sermons and exhortations of the prophet produced a religious 
ferment, which soon spread to other tribes, but without concrete effect 
until the master mind of Pontiac, the celebrated Ottawa chief, who had 
commanded some of his people at the defeat of General Braddock in 
1755, conceived the idea of taking advantage of the spirit of unrest and 
forming a confederation of all the tribes. The story of Pontiac 's war 
is familiar to every reader of American history, but it may not be 
generally known that the preaching of the Delaware prophet prepared 
the minds of the red men to receive his suggestions, if not to furnish 
Pontiac himself with the idea of a general uprising for the expulsion 
of the hated palefaces. 

Among the great men of the Delawares at various periods in their 
history, the names of Tamenend, Tedpachxit, Koguethagechton, Hopocan, 
Buckongahelas, Captain Killbuck, Kikthawenund and James Nanticoke 
deserve more than passing mention. 

Tamenend, one of the chieftains while the tribe occupied the country 
in the vicinity of Philadelphia, is considered by many as the foremost 
man of the Delaware nation at any period. He was a statesman as 
well as a warrior, distinguished in public life for his talents and patriot- 
ism, and in private life for his virtues. His tribesmen claimed that he 
was favored by the Great Spirit. Many of his contemporary white 
friends held him in high esteem and the first day of May was marked 
in their calendars as "The Festival of Tamenend." That day was 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 21 

given over to festivities and the society of Saint Tammany was named 
in his honor. 

Tedpachxit has already been mentioned as the head chief who in 
1768 endeavored to rehabilitate his tribe with some of its former great- 
ness. Little has been written concerning him, but what has been written 
shows that he was "wise in counsel, brave in battle, and always alert to 
promote the welfare of his people." 

Koguethagechton, whose English name was Captain White Eyes, 
was the head chief of the Turtle branch of the Delawares at the begin- 
ning of the Revolution and resided in Ohio. Upon the death of Neta- 
watwees, in 1776, he became the chief sachem of the Delaware nation. 
In this capacity he favored the maintenance of missions among his 
people and a neutral policy while the colonists were engaged in their 
struggle for independence. This policy was opposed by some of the 
younger chiefs and warriors, but the old sachem maintained his position 
and in the council at Pittsburgh boldly defied some of the Seneca chiefs 
who were anxious to bring about an alliance between the British and the 
Delawares. White Eyes died at Philadelphia in 1780, and is said to 
have been over 100 years of age. 

Hopocan, which, according to Heckewelder, means "a tobacco pipe," 
was generally called Captain Pipe. In his younger days he was one 
of those who opposed the peace policy of Captain White Eyes and was 
inclined to favor the British cause during the Revolution. When the 
commandant of the British post at Detroit ordered the expulsion of the 
Moravian missionaries. Captain Pipe and his followers joined the Half- 
King to aid in enforcing the order. In a grand council at Detroit the 
missionaries established their innocence and Pipe was man enough to 
acknowledge his error in persecuting them. After this he took very 
little part in public affairs. His death occurred about 1818. 

Buckongahelas rose from the ranks, so to speak, to be the head war 
chief of the Delawares. Heckewelder mentions him as having been at 
Tuscarawas as early as 1762, and nineteen years after that he visited 
the Christian Indians in Ohio. He is described as "fearless, frank 
and magnanimous," and refused to obey the orders of Captain Pipe 
when the latter directed that none of the Indians who had been under 
the instruction of the Moravian missionaries should be permitted to 
leave the territory. He was a friend to the British when they treated 
him to his liking" but after General Wayne's great victory in 1794 he 
renounced all allegiance to the English and became the steadfast friend 
of the United States. He died in 1804 and Dawson says that when 
on his deathbed he advised his people to desert the cause of the British 
and rely on the friendship of the United States government. 

Captain Killbuck, whose Indian name was Kelelamand, or the Big 
Cat, was the son of a chief of the same name. He accepted the office of 
chief during the minority of the regular heir to the position. Through 
the intrigues of Captain Pipe he was forced to abandon the council 
house and place himself under the protection of the white men near 
Pittsburgh. Subsequently he proved to be a faithful friend to those 
who shielded him and rendered them every service in his power. This 
so incensed his Indian enemies that they ordered him to be shot on 



22 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

sight. The latter years of his life Avere passed under the protection 
of the Christian Indians, and it is said he never wandered far from 
home for fear his enemies would meet and kill him. He died in January, 
1811. A creek in Madison county still bears his name. 

Kikthawenund (Captain Anderson) was one of the best known and 
most influential chiefs of the Delawares in Indiana. His village stood 
where the city of Anderson is now located, and which bears the old 
chief tain 's ^English name. His home was at the foot of the hill, not far 
from where Norton's brewery now stands. One account says his resi- 
dence was a two-story, double cabin, one side of which was occupied 
by him and his family- aud the other by his son. Chief Anderson was 
always friendly to the whites. When Tecumseh visited him for the 
purpose of securing him and his tribe as allies of the British in the 
War of 1812, the old Delaware firmly refused to take any part against 
his white friends and continued the stanch friend of the Americans. 
Doubtless one reason for his attitude in this regard was the marriage 
of his daughter, Oneahj'e, or Dancing Feather, to Charles Stanley, one 
of the pioneer settlers. When the Delawares departed in the fall of 
1821, for their new home beyond the Mississippi, Oneahj'e remained 
behind with her white husband. There are various accounts concerning 
the death of Kikthawenund. One tradition says he died before the 
exodus of 1821 and was buried in the burial ground of his tribe. An- 
other says he met his death when the pony he was riding plunged over 
a high bluff on the White river, a short distance above Anderson. Still 
another is to the effect that he, with a few followers, removed to Ohio 
and died there. There is also a legend thaj twenty years after his 
departure for the far West he returned to visit his daughter, was 
stricken with fever and died on the third day after his arrival in the 
town of Anderson. The same story states that fifty years later, when 
excavating for the Anderson hotel, on North Meridian street, the bones 
of the old chief were unearthed, but were reburied under the founda- 
tions of the building. He was active in the negotiations that led to 
the treaty of St. Mary's in 1818 and was one of its signers. 

James Nantieoke was also one of the signers of the treaty of St. 
Mary's. His village was situated not far from Anderson and bore the 
name of "Our town," which was conferred upon it by Nantieoke 's 
squaw, who is said to have been "a very l>eautiful woman and at one 
time maintained the relation of 'chief ess' to her tribe." 

Peekeetelemund (Thomas Adams) was a chief of some prominence 
among the Delawares and had a village at some point on the White 
river, but its exact location is now uncertain. 

Another Delaware chief and warrior was Captain John Green, who 
was part French. He is described as a man of superior intelligence, 
tall and weighing about 240 pounds. He was fond of wearing his war 
emblems and displaying them on every occasion. His wigwam stood 
near what is now the west end of Tenth street, in the city of Anderson, 
and Green's branch, which winds through the western part of the city, 
bears his name. Whfen the first white men came to Madison county 
they could discern near Green's wigwam traces of the pathway where 
prisoners, brought before him for trial, were made to run the gauntlet. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 23 

There is a fairly well authenticated account to the effect that Captain 
Green was an idolater. He had a large slab of wood fashioned to repre- 
sent a human face, which was elevated to a height of some twelve or 
fifteen feet above the ground upon a tree, and to this image he paid 
his devotions. Judge John Davis managed to secure possession of this 
idol and for a time kept it in one of the rooms of the old courthouse. 
Some one, probably proceeding upon the theory that the "last thief is 
the best owner," extracted it from its hiding place and its ultimate fate 
is not known. Some suppose that this image was destroyed by fire 
among other relics kept in the old courthouse, which was burned Dee. 
10, 1880. 

]\Iiss Nellie Lovett, daughter of John W, Lovett, of Anderson, now 
Mrs. Earle Reeves, of Chicago, some j'cars ago wrote a beautiful story, 
or legend, of Chief Anderson, in which she told of the finding of his 
skeleton under the Anderson Hotel. The legend closes with the follow- 
ing, which is certainly pretty, if it is not true: 

"It is said that on the night of the 21st day of September, 1891, 
the seventieth anniversary of the exodus of the Delaware, just as the 
clock in the tower' of the courthouse struck the hour of midnight, the 
ghostly form of an Indian, clad, in the full habiliments of a Delaware 
chieftain, might have been seen -standing erect on the highest crest of 
the unfinished building (the Anderson Hotel), with folded arms, looking 
towards the east, just as the chieftain had stood on the morning of his 
departure, seventy years before. It remained thus for a moment and 
faded out in a cloud of mist." 



CHAPTER III 

THE PERIOD OP PREPARATION 

Early Explorations in America — Conflicting Claims of England, 
France and Spain — French Posts in the Interior — French and 
Indian War — Pontiac's Conspiracy — English in Possession of 
Indiana — The Revolution — George Rogers Clark's Conquest of 
the Northwest — The Northwest Territory — Campaigns op St. 
Clair and Wayne — Treaty of Greenville — Indiana Territory Or- 
ganized — Indian Treaties — Tenskwatawa and Tecumseh — Battle 
of Tippecanoe — War of 1812 — Burning of the Delaware Villages 
ON the White River — Indiana Admitted Into the Union — Treaty 
op St. Mary's — Seat op Government. 

Although Madison county, as a separate political division, was not 
called into existence until 1823, the events leading up to its establish- 
ment had their beginning more than a century and a half prior to that 
time. It is therefore pertinent to notice the work of the early explorers, 
particularly those who visited Indiana. Soon after the discovery of 
America by Columbus, in 1492, three European nations were busy in 
their attempts to establish claims to territory in the New World. Spain 
first laid claim to the peninsula of Florida, whence expeditions were sent 
into the interior ; the English based their claims to the discoveries made 
by the Cabots, farther northward along the Atlantic coast; and the 
French claimed Canada through the expeditions of Jacques Cartier in 
1534-35. 

Spain planted a colony in Florida in 1565 ; the French settled Port 
Royal, Nova Scotia, in 1605 ; the English colony at Jamestown, Virginia, 
was established in 1607, and Quebec was founded by the French in 1608. 
The French then extended their settlements up the St. Lawrence river 
and along the shores of Lakes Ontario and Erie, and Jesuit mission- 
aries and fur traders pushed on farther west, into the heart of the 
Indian country. A mission was established near Green Bay, Wisconsin, 
in 1660, by Father ]\Iesnard. In that year Father Claude Allouez made 
his first pilgrimage into the interior. Two years later he returned to 
Quebec, where he urged that permanent missions be established among 
the Indians and that colonies of French immigrants accompany the 
missions. Upon his second journey into the western wilds he was 
accompanied by the missionaries, Claude Dablon and James Marquette. 

In 1671 Father Marquette founded the Huron mission at Point St. 
Ignace, and the next year the country south of the missior was visited 
by Allouez and Dablon. In their explorations they visiter the Indian 

24 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 25 

tribes living near the head of Lake Michigan and are supposed to have 
touched that portion of Indiana lying north of the Kankakee river. They 
were probably the first white men to set foot upon Indiana soil, though 
some writers maintain that Robert Cavalier, Sieur de la Salle, crossed 
the northern part of the state on the occasion of his first expedition 
to the Mississippi river in 1669. 

In 1673 JMarquette and Joliet crossed over from Mackinaw to the 
Mississippi river, which they descended until they came to an Indian 
village called Akamsea, near the mouth of the Arkansas river, when 
they returned to Canada. In 1679 Port Miami was built at the mouth 
of the St. Joseph river of Lake Michigan (then called the river Miamis) 
by La Salle, who about three years later succeeded in descending the 
Mississippi to its mouth, where on April 9, 1682, he claimed all the 
territory drained by the great river and its tributaries for France, giv- 
ing to it the name of Louisiana, in honor of the French king. This 
claim included the present state of Indiana. 

Spain claimed the interior of the continent on account of the dis- 
coveries of Ponce de Leon and Hernando de Soto, the English laid 
claim to the same region on account of ithe royal grants of land ' ' extend- 
ing westward to the South Sea," but the French ignored the claims 
of both nations and began the -work of building a line of posts through 
the Mississippi valley to connect their Canadian settlements with those 
near the mouth of the great river. There is a vague account of a French 
trading post having been established in 1672 where the city of Fort 
Wayne now stands. This may be true, but is probably an error, as the 
old maps of 1684 show no posts within the present limits of Indiana. 
In July, 1701, Cadillac founded the post of Detroit and the next year 
Sieur Juehereau and the missionary Mermet made an attempt to estab- 
lish- a post near the mouth of the Ohio river. Some writers say this 
post was located upon the site now occupied by the city of Vincennes. 
Dillon, in his "History of Indiana," says: ,"It is probable that before 
the year 1719, temporary trading posts were erected at the sites of 
Port Wayne, Ouiatenon and Vincennes. These posts had, it is believed, 
been often visited by tradere before the year 1700." 

Ouiatenon was located' on the Wabash river, eighteen miles below 
the mouth of the Tippecanoe river, not far from the present city of 
Lafayette. Says Smith: "The best record is that this was the first 
post established in what is now Indiana by the French." He fixes 
the date of its establishment as 1720 and says that no effort was made 
to plant a colony there. 

The conflicting claims of the English and French culminated in 
what is known in history as the French and Indian war. In 1759 Quebec 
was taken by the British forces and the following year the French 
governor of Canada surrendered all the posts in the interior. Soon 
afterward Major Rogers, an English officer, took possession of Detroit 
and sent detachments to the post at the junction of the St. Joseph and 
St. Mary's rivers (Fort Wayne), and to Ouiatenon. By the treaty of 
Paris, February 10, 1763, all that part of Louisiana east of the Missis- 
sippi river was ceded to Great Britain and Indiana became subject to 
English domination. 



26 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

In April, 1763, a great council of Indians was held near Detroit, at 
which the wily Ottawa chief, Pontiae, "as high priest and keeper of 
the faith," revealed to his fellow chiefs the will of the Great Master 
of Life, as expounded by the Delaware prophet, and called upon them 
to qnite with him in a grand movement for the recovery of their hunting 
grounds and the preservation of their national life. Along the Atlantic 
coast the white man was in undisputed control, but the Ohio valley 
and the region about the Great Lakes were still in the hands of the 
Indians. Between these two sections the Alleghenj' mountains formed 
a natural boundary and behind this barrier Pontiae determined to 
assert the red man's supremacy. The recent defeat of the French taught 
him that he could expect nothing from them in the way of assistance, 
but, relying upon and encouraged by the loyalty of his own race, when 
informed that the British were coming to take possession of the posts 
surrendered by the French, he sent back the defiant message : " I stand 
in the way." 

Pontiae 's war ended as all such contests usually do, when an inferior 
race opposes the onward march of a superior one, and the subjection 
of the Indians was rendered complete by Colonel Bouquet's march into 
the interior of Ohio, forcing the natives to enter into treaties to keep 
the peace. Pontiae "s warriors captured the posts at Fort Wayne and 
Ouiatenon, but the post at Vincennes, which had not yet been turned 
over to the English, but was still occupied by a French garrison under 
command of St. Ange, was not molested. This post was turned over by 
St. Ange on October 10, 1765, to Captain Sterling, who immediately 
issued a proclamation, prepared by General Gage, formally taking pos- 
session of the territory ceded by the Paris treatj'. 

From that time until the opening of the Revolution, the English 
established few posts in their new possessions, though those at Fort 
Miami (Wayne), Ouiatenon and Vincennes were strengthened and at 
the beginning of the Revolutionary war were occupied by small garri- 
sons, the British depending largely upon their Indian allies to prevent 
the colonists from encroaching upon their lands in the Ohio valley. 

In December, 1777, General George Rogers Clark appeared before 
the Virginia legislature with a plan to capture the English posts in the 
northwest — Detroit, Kaskaskia and Vincennes, especially. Governor 
Patrick Henry approved Clark's plan and the legislature appropriated 
£1,200 to defray the expenses of the campaign. Early in the spring of 
1778 four companies of infantry, commanded by Captains Joseph Bow- 
man, Leonard Helm, John Montgomery and William Harrod. rendez- 
voused at Corn island, in the Ohio river opposite Louisville. On June 24, 
1778, the forward movement was begun, the little army drifting down 
the river to Fort Massac, where the boats were concealed and the march 
overland toward Kaskaskia was commenced. Kaskaskia was captured 
without resistance on July 4th and Clark sent Captain Bowman to 
reduce the post at Cahokia, near the present city of East St. Louis, 
which was successfully accomplished. 

While at Kaskaskia, Clark learned that Father Gibault, a French 
priest, was favorable to the American cause and sent for him to enlist 
his aid in the capture of Vincennes. Father Gibault admitted his loyalty 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 27 

to the American. side, but on account of his calling suggested that Dr. 
Lafonte, whom he knew to be both capable and reliable, could conduct 
the negotiations for the surrender of the post better than himself, though 
he promised to direct the affair, provided it could be done without expos- 
ing himself. Accordinglj', Dr. Lafonte explained to the people of 
\'ineennes that they could break the yoke of British domination by 
taking the oatli of allegiance to the colonies, which they cheerfully did, 
and Captain Helm Avas sent to take command of the post. 

In October, 1778, the Virginia assembly passed an act providing 
that all the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia "who are already 
settled, or shall hereafter settle, on the northwestern side of the River 
Ohio, shall be included in a distinct county, which shall be called Illi- 
nois county, ' ' etc. But before the provisions of this act could be applied 
to the newly conquered territorj', Henry Hamilton, the British lieu- 
tenant-governor of Detroit, with thirty regulars, fifty volunteers and 
four hundred Indians started down the Wabash to reinforce the posts. 
On December 15, 1778, he took possession of the fort at Vincennes, the 
American garrison at that time consisting of Captain Helm and one 
man, who refused to surrender until promised the honors of war. The 
French citizens were disarmed and a large force of hostile Indians began 
to gather near the fort. 

Clark was now in a perilous position. His force was weaker than 
when he set out on his expedition and part of his forces must be used 
to garrison the posts already captured. It -was the dead of winter, sup- 
plies were scarce and there were no roads over which he could move 
against Vincennes. Notwithstanding all these difficulties, when he 
learned late in January, 1779, that Hamilton had weakened his garrison 
by sending Indians against the frontier settlements, he determined to 
attack the post. Hamilton's object was to collect a large body of Indians 
and as soon as spring opened drive out the Americans, hence prompt- 
ness on the part of Clark was imperative. He therefore hurried for- 
ward, overcoming all obstacles, his men frequentl.v wading through 
ci-eeks and swamps where the water came up to their waists, and on the 
morning of February 18, 1779, was close enough to hear the sunrise 
gun at the fort. Three days more were passed in the swamps, but at 
daybreak on the 21st his little army was ferried across the Wabash in 
two canoes. Soon after that a hunter from the fort M-as captured and 
from him Clark learned that Hamilton had but about eighty men in 
the fort. He then prepared and sent to the village the following procla- 
mation : 
"To the Inhabitants of Post Vincennes: — 

' ' Gentlemen : Being now within two miles of your village with my 
army, determined to take your fort this night, and not being willing to 
surprise you, I take this method to request such of you as are true 
citizens, and willing to enjoy the liberty I bring you, to remain still in 
your houses: — and those, if any there be, that are friends to the king, 
will instantly repair to the fort and join the hair-buyer general and 
fight like men. And if any such as do not go to the fort shall be dis- 
covered afterward, they may depend on severe punishment. On the 
contrarv, those who are true friends to liberty may depend on being 



28 HISTORY OF :MADIS0X COUNTY 

well treated; and I once more request them to keep out of the streets. 
For every one I find in arms on my arrival, I shall treat him as an 
enemy. ' ' 

The allusion to Hamilton as "the hair-buyer general" has reference 
to that ofiScer's attempt to incite the Indians to greater cruelty by 
placing a price upon American scalps. Clark says that he had various 
ideas on the supposed results of his letter, or proclamation. He watched 
the messenger enter the village and saw that his arrival there created 
some stir, but was unable to learn the effects of his communication. A 
short time before sunset he marched his men out into view. In his 
report of his movements on this occasion he says: "In leaving the 
covert that we were in, we marched and countermarched in such a 
manner that we appeared numerous." Clark had about a dozen stands 
of colors, which were now fastened to long poles and carried so that 
they could be seen above the ridge behind which his "handful of men" 
were performing their maneuvers, thus creating the impression that he 
had several regiments of troops. To add to this impression, the several 
horses, that had been captured from duck-hunters near the village, w-ere 
ridden by the officers in all directions, apparently carrying orders from 
the commanding general to his subordinates. These evolutions were 
kept up until dark, when Clark moved out and took a position in the 
rear of the town. Lieutenant Bayley, with fourteen men, was ordered 
to open fire on the fort. One man in the garrison was killed in the 
first volley. Some of the citizens came out and joined the besiegers 
and the fort was surrounded. The siege was kept up until about nine 
o'clock on the morning of the 24th, when Clark demanded a surrender, 
with all stores, etc., and sent the following message to Hamilton: "If 
I am obliged to storm, you may depend on such treatment as is justly 
due a murderer. Beware of destroying stores of any kind, or any 
papers or letters that are in your possession — for, by heavens! if you 
do, there shall be no mercy shown you." 

To this message Hamilton replied that he was "not to be awed into 
doing anything unworthy of a British soldier," and the firing on the 
fort was renewed. Most of Clark's men were unerring marksmen and 
their bullets found their way through the cracks with deadly effect. 
Some of the soldiers begged permission to storm the fort, but Clark 
felt that it was much safer to continue his present tactics of harassing 
the enemy until he was ready to surrender. After a short time a flag 
of truce was displayed and the British officer asked for an armistice of 
three days. He also invited Clark to come into the fort for a parley, 
but the American general was "too old a bird to be caught with chaff" 
and sent word back that he would meet Hamilton at the church, about 
eighty yards from the fort. The British officer, accompanied by Cap- 
tain Helm, who was a captive, came out to the church and pressed his 
request for a truce of three days. Fearing the return of some of Ham- 
ilton's Indians, Clark denied the request and informed Hamilton that 
the only terms he could offer was "Surrender at discretion." The fort, 
with all its stores and munitions of war, was then turned over to the 
Americans and a few days later a detachment sent out by Clark cap- 
tured about $50,000 worth of goods coming down the Wabash to the 
fort. 



HISTORY OP^ JIADISOX COUNTY 29 

Througli the conquest of the northwest by General Clark, what is 
now Indiana became subject to the colony of Virginia and a tide of 
emigration followed. On January 2, 1781, the general assembly of 
Virginia passed a resolution to the effect that, on certain conditions, 
the colony would cede to Congress its claim to the territory northwest 
of the Ohio river. But the Revolutionary war was then in progress and 
Congress took no action on the subject. On January 20, 1783, an 
armistice was agreed upon and proclaimed by Congress on the 11th of 
the following April. The treaty of Paris was concluded on September 
3, 1783, and ten days later Congress agreed to accept the cession tendered 
by the Virginia legislature more than two years before. On December 
20, 1783, the assembly of Virginia passed a resolution authorizing their 
delegates in Congress to convey to the United States the "title and 
claim of Virginia to the lands northwest of the river Ohio." The ces- 
sion was made on Alarch 1, 1784, and the present State of Indiana 
thereby became territory of the United States. 

On Jlay 20, 1785, Congress passed "An ordinance for ascertaining 
the mode of disposing of lands in western territory," and on June 15, 
1785, a proclamation was issued forbidding settlements northwest of the 
Ohio until the lands were surveyed. This ordinance and proclamation 
conveyed to the Indians the idea that their lands were to be taken for 
white settlers and they grew restless. By treaties in 1768, between 
the British colonial officials on one side and the chiefs of the Five Na- 
tions and Cherokee on the other, the Ohio and Kanawha rivers were 
designated as the boundary between the Indians and the whites, the 
former relinquishing all claims to their lands along the Atlantic coast 
and in the Delaware and Susquehanna vallej^s, and were confirmed in 
their possession of the country lying west of the Allegheny mountains. 
The Indians claimed that the acts of Congress relating to the territory 
northwest of the Ohio were in violation of the treaties of 1768 — which 
was true — but during the Revolution most of the tribes in that region 
had acted in accord with the British, and the new government of the 
United States repudiated the treaties made by the British provincial 
authorities. Late in the summer of 1786 some of the tribes grew so 
threatening in their demonstrations that Clark marched against the 
Indians on the Wabash and Logan against the Shawnees on the Big 
Miami river, and in October a garrison was established at Vincennes. 

On July 13, 1787, Congress passed an act or ordinance "for the 
government of the territory of the United States northwest of the river 
Ohio," and on October 5th General Arthur St. Clair was elected by 
Congress as governor of the Northwest Territory. Again the Indians 
showed signs of becoming troublesome and on January 9, 1789, Gen- 
eral St. Clair made a treaty of peace with some of the leading tribes at 
Fort Harmar, on the Muskingum river. Among the Delaware chiefs 
that signed this treaty was Captain Pipe, either the one who afterward 
lived in Madison county or an immediate ancestor. This treaty was 
not kept by the Indians and in the fall of 1791 St. Clair organized an 
expedition against the tribes in northwestern Ohio and about the head- 
waters of the Wabash. On November 4, 1791, St. Clair's army was 
defeated and almost annihilated by the Indians under command of the 



30 HISTORY OF :\IADISOX COUNTY 

Miami chief Meshekunnoghquoh, or Little Turtle. Soon after his de- 
feat, St. Clair resigned his commission as major-general and Antliony 
Wayne was appointed to succeed him. Wayne spent the time from tiie 
spring of 1792 to August, 1793, in recruiting and e(iuipping an army 
for a campaign into the Indian country. In the meantime the govern- 
ment appointed Benjamin Lincoln, Beverly Randolph and Timothy 
Pickering commissioners to negotiate treaties with the Indians. Coun- 
cils were held at various places with the chiefs of the dissatisfied tribes, 
' but nothing was accomplished. 

In the spring of 1794 Wayne took the field against the hostile tribes 
and on the 20th of August won a decisive victor}' at the battle of 
Fallen Timbers. On September 17, 1794, he halted his army at the 
site of the deserted Miami village, at the junction of the St. Joseph 
and St. Mary's rivers, and the next day selected a location for "Fort 
Wayne," which was completed on the 22d of October. From this 
point he sent messengers to the Indian chiefs, inviting them to visit 
Fort Greenville for the purpose of entering into a new treaty. The 
season was so far advanced, however, that nothing was done until the 
following summer. The greater part of the months of June and July, 
1795, were spent in holding councils with the various tribes and on 
August 3, 1795, was concluded the treaty of Greenville, one of the 
most important Indian treaties in the history of Indiana and Ohio. 
That treaty was signed bj' eighty-nine chiefs, distributed among the 
several tribes as follows: 24 Pottawatomies, 16 Delawares, 10 Wyan- 
dots, 9 Shawnees, 11 Chippewas, 3 ^liamis, 7 Ottawas, 3 Eel Rivei-s, 
3 Weas and 3 Kaskaskias. Among the Delawares- who signed was 
Kikthawenund, or Anderson, after whom the city of Anderson was 
named, and one of the Miami chiefs was Little Turtle, who had so 
signally defeated General St. Clair nearly four years before. Some 
of the chiefs also represented the Kickapoos and Piankeshaws, so that 
the treaty bound practically all the Indians in Ohio and Indiana to 
terms of peace. 

By the Greenville treaty the United States was granted several 
small tracts of land for militarv stations, two of which — Fort Wayne 
and Vincennes — were in Indiana. The United States government was 
further given the right to build or open roads through the Indian 
country, one of . which ran from Fort Wa^Tie to the Wabash river 
and down that stream to the Ohio. For these concessions the United 
States gave the Indians goods to the value of .$20,000 and an annuity 
of $9,500, in goods, forever. This annuity was to be distributed among 
the tribes in the following manner : The Delawares, Pottawatomies, 
Shawnees, Wyandots, ]\Iiamis, Ottawas and Chippewas, .$1,000 each; 
the Kickapoos, Weas, Piankeshaws, Eel Rivers and Kaskaskias, $500 
each. The United States further agreed to relinquish claim to all 
other Indian lands north of the Ohio, east of the Mississippi and south 
of the Great Lakes, ceded by Great Britain in the treaty of 1783. 

By an act of Congress, approved May 7, 1800, the Northwest Ter- 
ritory was divided into three territories — Ohio, Indiana and Illinois — 
and on the 13th of the same month General William Henry Harrison 
was appointed governor of the Territory of Indiana. At the same 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 31 

time John Gibson, of Pennsylvania, was appointed territorial secretary. 

Although the United States, by the treaty of Greenville, agreed to 
allow the Indians to remain in peaceable possession of their lands 
north of the Ohio, before a decade liad passed the white man began to 
look with longing eyes at the rich valleys and prairies of Indiana and 
pressure was brought to bear upon the government to negotiate a treaty 
whereby these lands could be acquired and opened to settlement. Ac- 
cordingly, a general council of Indians was called to meet at Fort 
Wayne on June 7, 1803. The most important acts of the council were 
the recognition of the right of the Delawares to certain lands lying 
between the Ohio and the Wabash rivers, the defining of the post 
boundaries at Vineennes, and the cession of the post tract to the United 
States bj' the Delawares. General Harrison was present at the council 
and made the necessary preliminary arrangements for the treaty after- 
ward held at Vineennes on August 18, 1804, by which the Delawares 
"for the considerations hereinafter mentioned relinquish to the United 
States forever, all their right and title to the tract of country which 
lies between the Ohio and Wabash rivers and below the tract ceded by 
the treaty of Fort Wa,yne, and the road leading from Vineennes to 
the Falls of the Ohio.'"' 

The most northern point of the tract ceded by this treaty is not 
far from French Lick. For the cession the tribe was to receive an 
annuity of .$300 for ten years "to be appropriated exclusively to the 
purpose of ameliorating their condition and promoting their civiliza- 
tion." To accomplish these ends it was agreed that "suitable persons 
shall be employed at the expense of the United States to teach them 
to make fences, cultivate the earth, and such of the domestic arts as 
are adapted to their situation; and a further sum of $300 shall be 
appropriated annually for five years to this object." 

The Piankeshaws claimed the land and refused to recognize the title 
of the Delawares to the region thus ceded. General Harrison met the 
Piankeshaw chiefs at Vineennes on August 27, 1804, and concluded a 
treaty by which the tribe relinquished title to the tract for an addi- 
tional annuity of .$200 for five years. 

Another treaty was concluded at Grouseland, near Vineennes, on 
August 21, 180.5, between General Harrison and the chiefs of several 
tribes, in which "The Pottawatomies, Miamis, Eel Ri\^r's and Weas 
explicitly acknowledge the right of the Delawares to sell the tract of 
land conveyed to the United States by the treaty of the 18th of August, 
1804, which tract was given by the Piankeshaws to the Delawares, 
about thirty-seven years ago." At the same time the Eel River and 
Wea tribes agreed to "cede and relinquish to the United States forever, 
all that tract of country which lies to the south of a line to be drawn 
from the northeast corner of the tract ceded by the treaty of Fort 
Wayne, so as to strike the general boundary line, running from a point 
opposite to the mouth of the Kentucky river to Fort Recovery, at the 
distance of fift.v miles from its commencement on the Ohio river." 
The lands thus ceded include the present counties of Jefferson, Ripley, 
Jennings, Jackson, Scott, Washington and Orange, and small portions 
of some of the adjoining counties. 



32 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



Aboiit this time some of the Indian chiefs began to see, in the policy 
of making treaties of cession, the loss of the lantls guaranteed to the 
red men by the treaty of Greenville. They had been accustomed to 
look upon Little Turtle as one of their wisest men, a leader whose 
opinions were entitled to respect, but when he bowed to the inevitable 
and joined in disposing of the lands of his people he was branded as 
"an Indian with a white man's heart and a traitor to his race." In 
November, 1805, a prophet arose among the Shawnees in the person of 
Lalawethika, then about thirty years of age. He went into a trance, saw 
the spirit world, and came back with a message from the Master of Life to 
"let tire-water alone, abandon the white man's customs," etc. After his 
vision he changed his name to Tenskwatawa (sometimes written Elsk- 
watawa), wliich in the Shawnee tongue means "The Open Door." This 
name was selected because he claimed that he was to open the way by 




InDIVNS \ND PlONtER-. 

which the Indians were to regain the lands of which they had been 
dispossessed and the power they had lost. He took up his headquarters 
at Greenville, but the Miamis were jealous of his influence and in order 
to lessen his power among the braves of that tribe some of the chiefs 
declared him to be an imposter. Says Moonc}': 

"By some means he had learned that an eclipse of the sun was to 
take place in the summer of 1806. As the time drew near, he called 
about him the scoffers and boldly announced that on a certain day he 
would prove to them his supernatural authority by causing the sun to 
become dark. When the day and hour arrived and the earth at mid- 
day was enveloped in the gloom of twilight, Tenskwatawa, standing in 
the midst of the terrified Indians, pointed to the sky and cried: 'Did 
I not speak the truth? See, the sun is dark!' " 

Tenskwatawa then went a step farther in his claims to supernatural 
power and asserted that he was a reincarnation of Manabozho, the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 33 

great "first doer" of the Algonquians. He opposed the intermarriage 
of Indian squaws with white men and accused the Christian Indians of 
witchcraft. The Delaware chief, Tatebockoshe, through whose influence 
the treaty of 1804 liad been brought about, was tomahawked as a wizard 
on the accusation of the prophet, and the Indian missionary known as 
"Joshua" was burned at the stake near the present town of Yorktown, 
Delaware county, only a few miles east of Anderson. His followers 
increased, but it soon became apparent that something more than proph- 
ecj' and a display of supei-natural ability was uecessai-y to restore the 
Indians to their birthright. 

As Pontiac had taken advantage of the preaching of the Delaware 
prophet, more than forty years before, to organize a conspiracy, Tecum- 
seh (the Shooting Star), a brother of the prophet, now came forward 
as a temporal leader and began the work of cementing the tribes 
into a confederacy to resist the further encroachment of the white 
man. Tecumseh and Tenskwatawa were sons of Pukeesheno, who was 
killed at the battle of the Kanawha, in 1774, when the prophet was an 
infant. 

In the spring of 1801 a mission had been established among the 
Delawares in what is now Madison county. This was broken up by 
Tenskwatawa about 1806 or early in 1807 and some of the Delawares 
espoused the cause of the Shawnee chieftain. A great many Indians 
from the lakes came to visit the prophet and his brother in the spring 
of 1808. The peaceable Delawares and the Miamis protested against 
this incursion and to avoid an open rupture with these tribes the two 
brothers removed their headquarters to the Wabash river, just below 
the mouth of the Tippecanoe, where they established a village known 
as "Prophet's town." 

Tecumseh then notified General Harrison that he and his followers 
would never consent to the occupation of the Indian lands by white 
men until all the tribes should agree, instead of the few who claimed 
to own the lands. Ha\'iug served this notice upon the governor of the 
Indiana Territory, he began his active propaganda, visiting the chiefs 
and head men of the tribeg to secure their cooperation aqd arouse 
them to action. Some two years were spent in this work, and in the 
meantime a treaty w-as concluded at Fort Wayne on September 30, 
1809, whereby two large tracts of land in Indiana were ceded to the 
United States. The first embraced practically all of the present coun- 
ties of Fayette. Wayne and Randolph, and the second included approx- 
imately the counties of Monroe, Lawrence, Green, Sullivan, Owen, 
Clay and Vigo. This treaty so incensed the Shawnees and their allies 
that they commenced a series of raids upon the frontier settlements. 
To protect the settlers, General Harrison, in the summer of 1811, went 
up the Wabash to the site of Terre Haute, wliere he built a fort. 

He then went to Prophet's town, but before arriving at the village 
he was met by a delegation and arrangements were made for a "talk" 
the next day. That was on November 6, 1811. That night Harrison's 
army encamped on a piece of high ground not far from the village. 
Harrison distrusted the members of the delegation, so that night he 
placed a strong guard about the camp and ordered his men to sleep on 



34 HISTORY OF :\[ADISON COUNTY 

their arms. Even's proved that his suspicions were well fouzided. A 
little while before the break of day on the morning of the seventh, the 
Indians, led by Tenskwatawa in person, made their attack, intending 
to surprise the camp. The precautions taken by Harrison now demon- 
strated his wisdom. His camp tires were extinguished and his men 
fought on the defensive until it was light enough to see clearly, when 
they charged, utterly routing the Indians. Amid the din of battle 
the voice of the prophet could be heard haranguing his warriors, telling 
them that through his supernatural power the bullets of the white men 
would be rendered harmless and that they would win the victory. In 
this action, known as the battle of Tippecanoe, the whites lost sixty 
killed and one hundred wounded. The loss of the Indians was much 
greater. Harrison then burned Prophet's town and returned to Vin- 
cennes. 

Tecumseh was in Tennessee at the time the battle occurred. Upon 
his return it is said he called the prophet a fool, took him by the long 
hair and shook him until his teeth rattled, and declared that he ought to 
be killed for thwarting their plans. Not long after this Tecumseh went 
to Canada, joined the British army, in which he was made a brigadier- 
general, and fell at the battle of the Thames, October 5, 1813. 

In December, 1811, a memorial was sent to Congress by the people 
of Indiana, asking for admission into the Union as a state, but before 
any action was taken on the memorial the War of 1812 broke out, 
which completely engrossed the attention of the national administra- 
tion for the next three years. In this conflict some of the tribes in the 
interior acted in accord with the British and brought the war into 
Indiana. Late in the year 1812 Lieutenant-Colonel Campbell, of the 
Nineteenth United States Infantry, with about six hundred mounted 
men, was sent against the hostile Miamis on the Mississinewa river. 
On the morning of December 17, 1812, Colonel Campbell surprised an 
Indian town, inhabited by a number of Delawares and Miamis, killed 
eight warriors and took forty-two prisoners. Before daybreak the next 
morning, while Campbell and his officers were in council, his camp was 
attacked by a large party of Indians, but after an action of over an 
hour the' assailants fled, leaving fifteen dead upon the field, many more 
having been probably carried away. The whites lost eight killed and 
forty-two wounded. Campbell then sent two messages to the Delawares 
living on the White river, who had previously been requested to aban- 
don their towns there and remove to Ohio. In these messages he ex- 
pressed his regret at having killed some of their tribe and urged them 
to go to the Indian settlement on the Auglaize river in Ohio. Not long 
after that they went to Ohio, accompanied by a small number of 
friendly Miamis, and placed themselves under the protection of the 
United States. 

In June, 1813, Governor Posey received information that some 
hostile Indians were lurking about the abandoned Delaware villages 
on the White river and ordered Colonel Joseph Bartholomew to pro- 
ceed at once to those villages and punish any Indians found there. 
Bartholomew, with 137 mounted men — parts of three companies of 
rangers commanded by Captains James Bigger, Williamson Dunn and 
C. Peyton, and a small detachment of militia under Major Depauw 



±^^t>U^1 



HISTOKY OF MADISON COUNTY 35 

— left Valonia on June 11, 1813, and four days later reached the upper 
Delaware town on the White river to tind the principal part of it had 
been burned before their arrival. In the four houses that were left 
standing was a considerable quantity of corn. Three or four miles 
down the river Bartholomew found another village that had been 
burned, and twelve miles below the first town visited was another vil- 
lage still standing. Here a number of horses were captured, a*large 
quantity of corn was destroj'ed and the village laid waste. The sur- 
rounding countiy was then scoured in search of Indians, but only a 
few were discovered. In the attempt tq surround and capture them, 
one Indian was killed. One of Captain Peyton's men was thrown from 
his horse and while dismounted was shot in the hip by an Indian lurking 
in ambush and severely wounded. The expedition then returned to 
Valonia, arriving there on the 21st of June. 

On December 14, 1815, a second memorial was addressed to Congress 
by the inhabitants of Indiana Territory, praying for admission into 
the Union. This time their efforts were crowned with success and a 
bill providing for the admission of the state was approved by Presi- 
dent ]\Iadison on April 19, 1816. At that time there were but thirteen 
organized counties in Indiana and the greater part of the land, includ- 
ing JIadison county, was still in the hands of the Indians. In the fall 
of 1818 Jonathan Jennings, Benjamin Parke and Lewis Cass were 
appointed commissioners on the part of the United States to negotiate a 
treaty with the Delawares for their lands in Indiana. The treaty was 
concluded at St. Mary's, October 3, 1818, when the tribe relinquished 
all claim and title to the lands, with the understanding that posses- 
sion was not to be given for three years, at the end of which time they 
were to remove to a new home to be provided for them by the United 
States on the west side of the Mississippi river. The United States 
further agreed to pay to the Delawares a perpetual annuity of $4,000, 
and to furnish and support a blacksmith for the benefit of the tribe. 

Three days later (October 6, 1818), the treaty was ratified by the 
Miamis, making it valid, and on September 20, 1821, the Delawares 
turned their faces toward Hie setting sun and set out for their new 
home beyond the great Father of Waters. The white man was now in 
full possession. In the century that has elapsed since the burning of 
the Delaware villages on the White river, great changes have come to 
the beautiful valley. The scream of the factory whistle is heard instead 
of the howl of the wolf or the war-whoop of the savage; the smoke of 
the council fire has been displaced by the smoke that rolls from the 
chimneys of great industrial establishments; the schoolhouse has taken 
the place of the tepee: the trail through the forest has been broadened 
into a highway, over which civilized man skims along in his automobile 
at the rate of thirty or forty miles an hour ; along these highways are 
stretched telephone and telegraph lines that bear testimony to the 
century's progress, and coaches, almost palatial in their magnificence, 
propelled by steam or electricity traverse the land where once the red^ 
man roamed in all his freedom. 

The seat of government of the Territory of Indiana was established 
at Vineennes when the territory was organized in 1800 and remained 
there until 1813. On March 11, 1813, the territorial legislature passed 



36 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

an act providing that "from and after the first day of May next, the 
seat of government of this territory shall be located at Coiydon, Har- 
rison county." There the capital remained until after the admission 
of the state in 1816. By the act of January 11, 1820, the legislature 
appointed ten commissioners to "select and locate a tract of land, not 
exceeding four sections, for a permanent capital." The commissioners 
entered at once upon their duties and after visiting several proposed 
locations selected the one on the White river, where the city of In- 
dianapolis now stands. There is a current rumor that the little vil- 
lage of Strawtown, Hamilton county, only a short distance west of 
the Madison county line, came within one vote of being the choice of the 
commission. Had that site been selected, Madison county would have 
been several miles nearer to the capital city. The selection of the 
Indianapolis site was confirmed by the legislature on January 6, 1821, 
but the seat of government was not removed from Corydon until Janu- 
ary' 10. 1825. 



CHAPTER IV 

SETTLEMENT AND ORGANIZATION 

First Settlers in Madisox County — ^Sketches op Prominent Pio- 
neers — Frontier Life and Customs — The Log Cabin — Furniture 
— "Swapping Work" — Log Rollings — Harvesting — Homespun 
Clothing — Madison County Organized — Provisions of the Or- 
ganic Act — County Seat Difficulties — Anderson Finally 
Selected — Public Buildings — The Three Courthouses — Laying 
THE Corner-stone of the Present Courthouse — The Four Jails — 
Changes in the Original Boundaries. 

When it became known that the Delaware Indians had ceded their 
lauds in Indiana to the United States by the treaty of St. Mary's, 
October 3, 1818, emigrants from the older states began coming into 
the ' ' New Purchase ' ' for the purpose of securing lands and establishing 
homes. Although the treaty gave the Indians the privilege of remain- 
ing upon the ceded lands for three years, before the expiration of that 
period a number of white men had located in what is now Madison 
county, the majority of them coming from Virginia and Kentucky. 

The first actual settler in the county, of whom anything authentic 
can be learned, was an Irishman named John Rogers, who came from 
North Carolina and on December 29, 1818, less than two months after the 
conclusion of the treaty, located on a tract about a mile and a half east 
of the present town of Pei^dleton. The lands had not yet been sur- 
veyed, but Mr. Rogers set to work clearing his land and preparing for 
a crop the following season. When the survey was made bj' the gov- 
ernment, he did not like the tract he was on and removed a short dis- 
tance southeast, where he entered a farm and lived until 1838, when 
he sold out to Abraham Vernon and went to Iowa. 

Among those who located in the county in 1819 were Frederick 
Bronnenberg and Adam Winsell, both of whom were afterward prom- 
inently identified with public affairs. Frederick Bronnenberg was a 
German, who first settled on a piece of land about three and a half 
miles east of Anderson, on the south side of the White river. A year 
or so later he removed to the north side of that stream, where he 
remained for one year, when he recrossed the river and entered a tract 
of land about a mile west of the present town of Chesterfield. There he 
continued to reside until his death in 1853. Mr. Bronnenberg was one 
of the most energetic and progressive of Madi-son county's pioneers. He 
built a sawmill, gristmill and woolen factory, all of which were destroyed 
by fire some five or six years before his death. He was a member of 
the first grand jury after the county was organized. 

37 



38 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Adam Winsell was a blacksmith by trade. When he came to the 
county in 1819, he located on the west half of the northwest quarter 
of section 22, township 18, range 7, about a mile and a half east of 
Pendleton, where he established what was probably the first blacksmith 
shop in the county. He did not enter the land for more than ten years 
after settling upon it, but told the other settlere as they came in that he 
had done so, later explaining that he did not want to" "run the risk of 
having it entered from under him." When the county was organized 
in 1823', he was made one of the first associate judges and held the 
ofiSee for seven years. As a blacksmith he made the irons and fastened 
them upon the men who murdered the two Indians in 1824, remarking 
as he did the work that he would put them on so firmly that "no corpus 
could get them off without his consent." In 1837 he sold his farm to 
Joseph Weeks and went to Iowa. He has been described as a man of 
boundless good nature, never cross to his family, and a much better 
man than many of those who make higher pretensions. In a sketch of 
Judge Winsell, written by Joseph B. Lewis and published in the Ander- 
son Herald of September 22, 1881, the writer says: "He always ob- 
tained religion at camp meeting, just after the harvest times, and con- 
tinued in good standing in the church until the shooting matches 
began in the fall, when he would get drunk, and, as a necessary con- 
sequence, be expelled from the church and remain outside until camp 
meeting time came around the next year. It is due to truth, if not to 
the dignity of history, to say that the Judge was a good shot and a 
boon companion of the boys at these shooting matches." 

In 1820, as the time for the departure of the Indians drew nearer, 
quite a number of white men came into the county, most of them set- 
tling in what is now Fall Creek township. Among them were eight 
men who formed a colony in Clarke county, Ohio, and came to Indiana 
in search of lands. They were Elias Hollingsworth, Thomas and Wil- 
liam McCartney, Manly Richards, William Curtis, Israel Cox, Saul 
Shaul and Moses Corwin. All except the last named were married and 
after selecting their lands they returned to Ohio for their families, mak- 
ing the journey back to Indiana with one wagon, drawn by an ox team, 
and four pack horses. From Dayton, Ohio, to Newcastle, Indiana, they 
had a public highway, but from the latter place they guided their course 
by a compass, which one of their number was fortunate enough to pos- 
sess, blazing their way through the forest to mark out a route for use on 
future occasions. Upon arriving at their destination they found that 
two men named Stanfield and Burras had settled upon the prairie 
north of where Pendleton now stands. A little later in the year Thomas 
and James Scott and Thomas M. Pendleton, with some twelve or fifteen 
others, settled in the same locality. 

Another pioneer of 1820 was Amasa Makepeace, who came from 
Massachusetts and settled where the town of Chesterfield is now located. 
Not long after settling there he built a mill, and in 1825 his son, Allen, 
opened a store. The latter was at one time considered the wealthiest 
man in Madison county and at the time of his death, in 1872, was the 
owner of nearly two thousand acres of land. Another son, Alford, was 
for years a prominent business man of Anderson. He died in 1873. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 39 

Amasa Makepeace was a member of the county board whieh ordered 
the erection of the first jail in 1829. 

William Marshall also came to the county in 1820, built a double 
log house on the west side of the White river, opposite the present city 
of Anderson, and established a trading post. His stock consisted chiefly 
of goods adapted to the Indian trade, such as cheap articles of jewelry, 
show}' blankets, etc. Little is known of Mr. Marshall, but it is probable 
his trading post was discontinued when the Indians left the country. 
Benjamin Fisher and his family settled near the present village of 
Fishersburg in 1820. He was killed by Indians while felling a tree 
near Strawtown, Hamilton county, and "his widow afterward married 
a man named Freel. His son. Charles Fisher, who was but one year 
old when the family came to 5Iadison county, was the first merchant in 
Fishersburg. In this year there also came Zenas Beckwith, who set- 
tled on the White river, near Anderson; Eli Harrison and William 
Stogdon (or Stockton), near Anderson; and a few others in various 
parts of the country. 

On March 4, 1821, John Berry came with his family from Clark 
county, Indiana, and established his domicile where the city of Anderson 
now stands. When the county was organized he donated a consider- 
able portion of his land (Kingman sa.ys sixty acres) for county seat 
purposes. He was the first postmaster at Anderson, but after several 
years residence there went to Huntington, Indiana, where he died in 
1835. His son, Nineveh Berry, was bom in Clark county, April 20, 
1804, and was therefore nearly seventeen years of age when the family 
removed to Anderson. His whole life was passed in his native state and 
just before his death, which occurred on August 17, 1883, it was claimed 
that lie was the oldest native born Hoosier living. He served for eight 
years as countj' recorder ; four j'ears as treasurer ; was a soldier in the 
Mexican war; enlisted in the Thirty-fourth Indiana Infantry in the 
Civil war, but after a year's service in the commissary department 
failing health compelled him to retire from the army. In 1833 he mar- 
ried Hannah Pugh, who came with her parents to Madison county from 
Ohio in 1826, when she was eleven years old. She died on June 11, 1875. 

During the years 1821 and 1822 William Williams, Palmer Patrick, 
Thomas and William Silver, Adam Winchell, the Richmond family and 
a few others settled in Fall Creek township ; Jacob Hiday, Samuel Hol- 
liday, who was one of the first associate judges of the county, and some 
others in Green; the Kinser and Dewey families, Daniel Wise, George 
Cunningham, Robert Blair, David, William and John Montgomery, in 
Jackson; William Diltz, David Croan, Daniel Noland, William Woods, 
John Martin, Joseph Carpenter and a few others in Union; Jonathan 
Davis, Abel Jenney, William Nelson, Andrew Young and his three 
sons — William, Christopher and Isaac — and a number of others in the 
vicinity of Anderson. A more complete account of the local settle- 
ments will be found in the chapters on Township History. 

Pioneer Life and Customs 

The young people of the present generation can hardly understand 
or appreciate the toil and hardships of these pioneers who boldly 



40 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

marched into the wilderness, robbed it of its terrors, and paved the way 
for the comforts and luxuries of modern civilization. One of the first 
necessities of the frontier settler was to provide a shelter for himself 
and family. This shelter was nearly always a log cabin, rarely more 
than sixteen by twenty feet in size, and usually consisting of but one 
room, which was living room, dining room, bed room and kitchen. Where 
several settlers came into a new country at the same time, one cabin 
would ,be built, in which all would live together until others could be 
erected. Money was scarce on the frontier and hired labor was prac- 
tically unknown. To overcome this condition the settlers in a neighbor- 
hood would "swap" work by helping each other to do things that one 
man could not well do by himself. Hence, when a settler wanted to 
build a cabin, he would cut his logs, drag them to the site, and then call 
upon his neighbors to assist in placing them in position. When the com- 
pany was assembled four men skilled in the use of the ax were selected 
to "carry up the corners." These men took their places at the four 
corners of the cabin and as the logs were pushed up to them on poles or 
"skids," would shape a "saddle" upon the top of each and then cut a 
notch in the under side of the next to fit upon the saddle. The man 
who could "carry up a corner," keeping the walls fairly plumb by his 
eye alone, was considered an artist. 

The "house-raising" was an event of social as well as industrial 
importance. While the men were engaged in raising the cabin, the 
"women folks" would get together and prepare dinner, each one bring- 
ing from her own store such articles of food as she thought the others 
might not be able to supply. If the weather was warm enough, the 
dinner would be served out of doors upon an improvised table under the 
shade of the trees; but if too cold for that, it would be served in the 
cabin of the nearest settler. And that dinner! While it boasted no 
terrapin nor canvas-back duck, it was made up of wholesome, nutritious 
food, with appetite as the chief sauce, and was always accompanied by 
jest and good-natured badinage. 

The roof of the cabin was made of oak clapboards, split or rived with 
an instrument called a frow, and were generally three or four feet long. 
Nails and hardware of all kinds were scarce and not infrequently the 
cabin would be finished without a single pieoe of iron being used in its 
construction. The clapboards would be held in place by poles running 
lengthwise of the roof and fastened to the logs at either end with wooden 
pins; the door would be made of boards fastened to the battens with 
wooden pins, provided with wooden hinges and a wooden latch, which 
could be lifted from the outside by pulling a string. At night the string 
was drawn inside and the door was locked. This custom gave rise to the 
expression "The latch-string is always out," signifying a welcome when- 
ever the visitor might choose to call. 

Oftentimes the cabin had no floor except "mother earth." At others 
a puncheon floor was provided. The puncheons were slabs of timber, 
split as nearly the same thickness as possible, and after the floor was 
laid the surface would be smoothed with an adz. Lumber was scarce 
and hard to obtain. In many frontier settlements the first boards were 
made with a whip-saw. By this method of manufacturing lumber the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



41 



log, generallj- hewed on two sides with a broad-ax, would be placed upon 
a scaffold high enough for a man to stand upright under it. The upper 
surface of the log was marked with lines showing the thickness of the 
boards. One man would stand upon the top of the log to guide the saw 
and another would stand below to pull the saw down, giving it the cut- 
ting stroke. This was a slow and tedious process, but it was the one in 
use until some enterprising settler would build a sawmill in the neigh- 
borhood. 

At the time a cabin was raised no openings were left for doors and 
windows, these being sawed out after the walls were up. An opening 
would also be made at one end for a fireplace, which was usually wide 
enough to take in sticks of wood four or five feet in length. If stone was 
convenient, a stone chimnev would be built outside the cabin, but in a 










Pioneer Cabin 



majority of instances the chimney would be constructed of sticks and 
clay. The meals for the household were cooked at the fireplace, a long- 
handled skillet, with an iron lid, and an iron kettle being the principal 
cooking utensils. The former was used for frying meats and baking 
bread and the latter in the preparation of the "boiled dinner." 

Matches were practically unknown and the fire in the fireplace was 
not permitted to become extinguished. If such an unfortunate event 
should happen one of the family would be sent to the nearest neighbor's 
for a burning brand or a shovelful of coals to replenish the supply. On 
fall and winter evenings the light thrown out by the open fire was often 
the only light in the cabin. In warm weather, when a fire would be 
uncomfortable, light was supplied by partially filling a shallow dish with 
lard or bear's grease, in which was immersed a loosely-twisted strip of 
cotton cloth, one end of which was allowed to project beyond the edge 
of the dish. The projecting end was then lighted and, while this rude 
lamp emitted both smoke and the odor of burning grease, it afforded 



42 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

light enough for the housewife to attend to her duties. Later came the 
tallow cardie, which was considered the acme of perfection in artificial 
lighting. These candles were made in moulds of tin, usually consisting 
of six or eight tubes soldered together. Through the center of each tube 
would be drawn a cotton wick, then' molten tallow would be poured in 
until the moulds were filled, when the whole would be set in a cool place 
for the tallow to harden, after which the candles were withdrawn and 
kept in a cool place until wanted for use. 

To transport real furniture for many miles through the woods to a 
frontier settlement was out of the question, so the pioneer supplied his 
cabin with furniture of his own make. A few clapboards, smoothed 
with a draw-knife and supported on pins driven into the walls, served 
as a place to keep the dishes. Sometimes this primitive "china closet" 
would be covered by a curtain of cotton cloth, though the curtain in 
many cases was lacking. Tables were formed by nailing or pinning 
clapboards or whipsawed boards to battens and the table top thus formed 
would be supported on trestles. When not in use, the top could be stood 
on edge against the wall and the trestles stacked in one corner, in order 
to make more room. Chairs were a luxury that few could afford. To 
provide a substitute benches or stools were made of puncheons, supported 
on pins driven into holes bored with a large auger. These holes were 
bored at an angle that would permit the legs to flare outward, thus 
giving the bench or stool greater stability. 

After the "house-raising" came the "house-warming." In every 
neighborhood there was at least one fiddler, as the pioneer violinist 
was called, whose services would be called into requisition upon the 
completion of the cabin, and the neighbors would gather to dedicate 
the new dwelling with a dance. The waltz and the two-step were un- 
known, but their places were well supplied with the minuet and the old 
Virginia reel, or even the "break-down," in which main strength and 
physical endurance took the place of the "poetrj- of motion." 

Other instances where "swapping" work was customary were in the 
log-rollings and at harvest time. When a settler undertook to clear a 
piece of ground for cultivation, he felled the trees and cut or burned 
the logs into such lengths that they could be handled, after which he 
invited his neighbors to aid him in piling them in heaps suitable for 
burning. These log-rollings were tests of physical strength. The men 
were divided into pairs, according to their muscular ability, and each 
pair provided with a piece of tough wood called a "hand-spike." The 
two strongest men were selected to "make daylight" — that is, to place 
their hand-spike under one end of the log ancl raise it high enough for 
the others to get their spikes in position. WHien all was ready they 
came up together, and woe to the unfortunate individual who allowed 
his fingers "to take mud" by his inability to lift his share of the load, 
for the laugh would be on him for the balance of the day, unless be 
could redeem himself by causing his partner "to take mud." 

In early days the wheat in harvest time was cut with the old-fash- 
ioned reaping hook, a crooked steel knife, with a serrated edge and a 
handle at one end. As more land was brought under cultivation and 
the number of acres sown to wheat each year increased, progress 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 43 

demanded a better method of harvesting the grain and the cradle was 
invented. This implement consisted of four tingers of tough wood, 
bent to conform to the curvature of the scj'the, over which they were 
mounted on a light framework. A good cradler could cut from four 
to tive acres a day. It was no unusual sight to see a half dozen or 
more eradlers in a field, each followed by a hoy with a rake to bunch 
the wheat into sheaves and a man to bind them. These were followed 
by a shocking party, which stacked the sheaves in shocks. When one 
man's grain was harvested the party would move on to the next ripest 
field Tintil the wheat of the entire neighborhood was taken care of and 
made ready for the flail, which was the primitive threshing machine. 

At the log-rollings and harvesting bees a little whisky was always 
provided for the men, yet it was an uncommon thing for anyone to 
drink enough to become intoxicated. On these occasions the women 
would assist in preparing the meals for the log-rollers or harvest hands, 
and, as in the case of a house-warming, the frolic would frequently 
•wind up with a dance. After awhile the flail gave way to the old 
"ground-hog" threshing machine, which separated the grain from the 
straw, but did not clean it from the chaff. Then the fanning mill was 
invented and many a boy who wanted to spend an afternoon along some 
stream fishing for "shiners" has been compelled to turn the crank of 
the fanning mill, furnishing the motive power while his father fed the 
wheat and chaff into the machine. 

Game was plentiful when the first settlers came, and as nearly 
every pioneer was an expert in the use of the rifle the forest was 
depended upon to furnish the family a supply of meat. It is related of 
Caleb Williams, a son of William Williams, who was one of the early 
settlers in Fall Creek township, that he stood in one place and killed 
fifty-one squirrels as they were preying upon his corn-field, missing his 
fifty-second shot. But in the early days there was much larger game 
than squirrels, and roast venison, or a feast of bear meat, was fre- 
quently to be found upon the settler's table. 

Clothing was usually of the homespun variety. The man who wore 
"store clothes" was regarded much as the people of the present gen- 
eration regard a multimillionaire. Nearly every settler kept a few 
sheep, and in every neighborhood there were one or more sets of hand 
cards — a sort of brush with short wire teeth, all bent slightly in one 
direction — which were used for converting the wool into rolls. Then 
the rolls were spun into yarn on the old-fashioned spinning wheel, which 
was turned with a stick having a small knob at one end, the housewife 
walking back and forth as the rapidly revolving spindle made the roll 
into woolen thread. An industrious spinner could "do her six cuts" a 
day, but how many of the young women who graduated in the state's 
high schools in 1913 know what "six cuts" means? After the yam was 
spun it was colored with indigo or the bark of some tree — most fre- 
quently the walnut — and then woven into flannel, jeans or linsey on 
the old hand loom. 

Flax was raised by almost every settler. When the plant was ripe 
it was pulled up by the roots and spread out to dry, or "rot," and 
when the straw was made brittle by this process the flax was ready for 



44 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



the "break," an implement which broke the straw into short pieces. 
Next, to separate the straw from the bark or fiber, the flax was thrown 
over the rounded end of a board set upright and beaten with the "scutch- 
ing knife," a piece of hard wood with moderately sharp edges. Pieces 
of straw too small to be caught by the scutching process were removed 
by the "hackle," which was made by sharpening a number of nails 
or pieces of wire of equal length and driving them closely through a 
board. Combing the flax through the hackle also split the fiber into 
fine threads and thus made it ready for the spinning wheel. Flax was 




Interior Pioneer Cabin 



generally spun on a small wheel operated by foot power. After the 
linen was woven, it was spread out upon a grass plot to bleach, after 
which it was used for table cloths, sheets for the bed and numerous 
articles of clothing. 

But times have changed. The log cabin has given way to the modern 
residence and the tallow caudle to the electric light. Jleals are no longer 
prepared upon the hearth, where the cook was compelled to wear a 
deep bonnet to shield her face from the fierce heat of the blazing fire. 
The reaping hook and the cradle have been supplanted by the twine 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 45 

binder, and where the weary farmer once toiled with his flail to thrash 
his few bushels of wheat is now heard the hum of the steam thresher, 
which daily turns out hundreds of bushels ready for the market. The 
great packing companies, with their refrigerating cai-s, supply the 
denizens of the cities with fresh meats. The spinning wheel and the 
hand loom are looked upon as relies of a primitive civilization and now 
everybody wears "store clothes." Yes, great progress has been made 
since the first white men came to Madison county, but are the people any 
happier or more unselfish than the pioneers who "swapped" work 
while they brought the wilderness under subjection ? 

By the latter part of the summer of 1822 there were a sufficient 
number of inhabitants within the county to arouse an interest in the 
question of a separate county organization. Meetings were held in the 
various settlements, at which the subject was discussed, and through 
these meetings was developed a sentiment almost unanimous in favor of 
a count3' organization. Accordingly, when the legislature assembled 
at Corydon on December 2, 1822, the fallowing bill was introduced early 
in the session, and after passing both houses was approved by Governor 
William Hendricks on January 4, 1823 : 

The Organic Act 

"Section 1. Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of 
Indiana, That from and after the first day of July next, all that tract 
of land which is included within the following boundaries shall consti- 
tute and form a new county, to be known and designated by the name 
of the county of Madison, to wit : Beginning at the southwest corner 
of the county of Henry, thence north with the line of the same and to 
the township line dividing 20 and 21 north; thence west to the north- 
east corner of Section 5, in Township 20 north, Range 6 east; thence 
south twenty miles ; thence west to the northeast corner of the county of 
Marion ; thence south to the northwest corner of Shelby county ; thence 
east with the line of Shelliy, until the same intei-sects Rush county; 
thence north with Rush county to the northwest corner of the same; 
thence east to the place of beginning. 

"Section 2. The .said new county of Madison shall, from and after 
the first day of July next, enjoy all the rights, privileges and jurisdic- 
tions, which to separate and independent counties, do or may properly 
belong or appertain. 

"Section 3. Abijah Bayless, of Harrison county; William Williams, 
of Jackson county; Jesse Reddick, of Bartholomew county; Rollin C. 
Dewey, of Lawrence county, and James Dill, of Dearborn county, are 
hereby appointed Commissioners, agreeably to an act entitled 'An act 
for fixing the sets of justice in all new counties hereafter to be laid 
off. ' The Commissioners above named shall meet at the house of William 
McCartney, in the said new county of Madison, on the first Monday in 
September next, and shall immediately proceed to discharge the duties 
assigned them by law. It is hereby made the duty of the Sheriff of 
Marion county to notify the said Commissioners, either in person or by 
written notification of their appointment, on or before the fifteenth 



46 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

day of August next, and the said Sheriff of Marion county shall be 
allowed therefor by the County Commissioners of the county of Madison 
such compensation as by them shall be deemed just and reasonable, to 
be paid out of the county treasury of the county of Madison in the 
same manner other allowances are paid. 

"Section 4. The circuit and other courts of the county of Madison 
shall meet and be holden at the house of William McCartney, until suit- 
able accommodations can be had at the county seat of said county ; and 
so soon as the courts of said county are satisfied that suitable accom- 
modations are provided at the county seat of said county they shall 
adjourn thereto: after which time, all the courts of said county shall 
be held at the seat of justice thereof; provided, however, that the circuit 
court of said county shall have authoitty to remove from the house of 
said William McCartney to any more suitable place in said county 
previous to the completion of the public buildings if they should deem 
the same expedient. 

"Section 5. The agent who shall be appointed for said county, to 
superintend the sales of lots at the county seat of said county or receive 
donations for said county, shall receive ten per cent of the proceeds of 
such sale and donations, which he shall pay over to such person or 
persons, as bj' law may be authorized to receive the same, for the use 
of a county library for said county, which he shall pay over at such 
time or times and manner as shall be directed by law. 

"Section 6. The Board of County Commissioners of said county 
shall, within twelve months after the permanent seat of justice shall 
have been selected, proceed to erect the necessary public buildings 
thereon. ' ' 

There were two other sections. Section 7 providing for the "organiza"- 
tion, conduct and support of a county library, as provided by the act 
organizing Dubois county, approved January 23, 1818," and Section 8, 
which attached the new county of Madison to the Fifth judicial circuit 
of the state. 

In accordance with the provisions of this act, the county was for- 
mally organized on Monday, November 10, 1823, by John Roberts, 
sheriff of Marion county, who had been appointed for that purpose by 
the legislature. The organization was effected at the house of William 
McCartney, a log dwelling of two rooms, which stood upon the site 
afterward occupied by the Universalist church in the town of Pendleton. 
Commissions were presented by Samuel Holliday and Adam Winsell, 
as associate judges; Moses Cox, as clerk, and Samuel Cory, as sheriff. 
These commissions set forth that the holders thereof had been regularly 
appointed by William Hendricks, governor of the state, and each bore 
the indorsement of Sheriff Roberts, certif3'ing that the person to whom 
it was issued had taken the prescribed oath of office and the oath against 
dueling. After the commissions had been received the sheriff of Marion 
county made proclamation that "the Madison circuit court is now open, 
according to law." An account of the proceedings of this first court 
will be found in the chapter relating to the Bench and Bar. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUxNTY 47 

Locating the County Seat 

Some trouble was expenenced in the matter ^f locating a permanent 
seat of justice. Sheriff Roberts, of Marion county, notified the commis- 
sioners named in Section 1 of the organic act of their appointment, and 
on September 1, 1823, the same being the first ^Monday in the month, 
the commissioners met at the house of William McCartney and pro- 
ceeded to discharge the duties imposed upon them by law. Several 
proposed sites were visited and examined, but the commissioners finally 
decided to accept the proposition of John Berry, who was one of the 
first settlei-s at or near Chief Andenson's village on the White river. 
Owing to the fact that the records concerning this transaction cannot be 
found, the details of Mv. Berry's proposition are not definitely known. 
It is certain, however, that the acceptance of this site was not concluded 
at the time, and it was not long until some dissatisfaction arose over 
the decision of the commissioners. Steps were accordingly taken to 
secure a relocation of the seat of justice. The cjuestion came before 
the legislature at the session of 1825-26 and on January 13, 1826, the 
governor approved an act, the principal provisions of which were as 
follows : 

"Section 1. Be it enacted hy the General Assembly of the State 
of Indiana, That Benjamin Irwin, of Bartholomew county ; George 
Hunt, of Wayne county ; Lewis Hendricks, of Shelby county ; Elisha 
Long, of Henry county, and Daniel Heaton, of Hamilton county, be, 
and they are hereby, appointed commissioners, to relocate the seat of 
justice of Madison county. The commissioners above named, shall 
meet at the house of ]\Ioses Pearson, in said county, on the first Monday 
in June next, and shall proceed to locate the seat of justice of said 
county under the provisions of the laws regulating the fixing of the 
seat of justice in all new counties hereafter to be laid off. 

"Section 2. The circuit and all courts of said county shall be held 
at the house of the said Moses Pearson, until suitable accommodations 
can be had at the county seat, when all the courts of said county shall be 
removed thereunto. 

"Section 6. All proceedings had as to the donation made by John 
Berry and others to said county, at Andersontown, in said county, are 
hereby annulled and revoked, and the said donation is hereby returned 
to the respective original proprietor or proprietors, as if the same had 
nevef been granted; and all sales made by the agent of said county, of 
whatever nature or kind, in the disposal of lots or lands donated to the 
said county heretofore, shall be so far considered annulled that the 
purchase money paid and the obligations given by the respective pur- 
chasers, shall be returned to them or their legal representatives, with 
interest on the amount paid, on application; and thereupon, the 
respective bond or obligation which may have been given to said pur- 
chaser, relative to said sale, shall be returned to the said agent. 

"Section 7. If any money, collected by said agent, arising from said 
donations to the county, has been so disposed of that it cannot be 
returned, the Board of justices of said county shall direct the payment 
of the same to be made out of the treasury of the county." 



48 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

No record has been found to show that these commissioners ever 
made any effort to discharge their duties under the provisions of the 
act appointing them. It is probable that no action was taken, for on 
January 26, 1827, the governor approved an act, Section 1 of which 
provided : 

' ' That William Shannon, Jeremiah K. Lemon and William C. Black- 
more, of Hamilton county; Moses Prewitt, of Shelby county, and John 
Thompson, of Marion county, be, and they are hereby, appointed com- 
missioners to relocate the seat of justice of Madison county. The commis- 
sioners above named shall meet at the house of John Perry (Berry), in 
said county, on the third Monday in May next, and proceed to locate 
the seat of justice of said county, agreeably to the provisions of an 
act entitled 'An act to establish seats of justice in new counties,' 
approved January 14, 1824, and the act amendatory of the same, 
approved December 19, 1825." 

On May 21, 1827, the time appointed by law, the commissioners met 
at the house of John Berry and entered upon the performance of their 
duties. There is no evidence to show that they considered any propo- 
sition except the one submitted by John Berry, the terms of which were 
reported to be satisfactory and the proposition was accepted. Pursuant 
to this arrangement, John Berry and his wife, Sally Berry, on November 
7, 1827, executed a deed to William Curtis, who had in the meantime 
been appointed county agent, for the following described tract of land: 
"Commencing at the southeast corner of Lot No. 16, in the southwest 
square in the town of Andersontown ; thence north, with Meridian 
street, to the northeast corner of Lot No. 1 in the northwest square of 
said town ; thence east to White river ; thence up said river, at low- 
water mark, until a line running a due south course till it comes parallel 
with the south end of Meridian street, will contain thirty acres, being 
part of the southeast quarter of Section 12, Town 19 north, of Range 
7 east," etc. 

The tract of land thus conveyed was to remain the property of the 
county "so long as the town aforesaid continues to be the permanent 
seat of justice of Madison county," and as a consideration Berry 
received Lot No. 7, "in the north front of Anderson, in said county, 
receipt whereof is hereby acknowledged." Thus, after nearly four years, 
the county seat question was settled. In the meantime justice had been 
administered at Pendleton, though that place was never officially recog- 
nized as the county seat. 

CouRT-HousES 

The next step in the county's progress was the erection of public 
buildings in accordance with Section 6 of the organic act, which pro- 
vided that the county commissioners should "proceed to erect the neces- 
sary public buildings within twelve months after the permanent seat 
of justice shall have been selected. ' ' More than twelve months elapsed, 
however, before any definite steps were taken for the erection of a court- 
house. The location of the county seat was settled in May, 1827, and 
it was not until September 1, 1828, that the county board directed the 
agent of Madison county to "sell the building of a court-house to the 



I 



HISTORY OF .AIADISON COUNTY 



49 



lowest bidder, said sale to take plaee on tlie last Friday in Oetober next, 
the said house to be twenty-six lect one way and twenty-two feet the 
other way on the ground, two stories high, the lower story to be nine 
feet between floors and the upper stoiy to be eight feet between floors, 
divided into two rooms with two twelve-light window.s in each of the 
upper rooms and four twelve-light windows in the lower room, the last 
mentioned room to be ceiled and a stove put therein, with all other 
necessary conveniences, the aforesaid building to be well finished on or 
before the first daj' of September next." 




Madisox County Cot;RTiiorsE 



Septimus Smith, publisher of a weekly newspaper at Centerville, 
Wayne county, was allowed the sum of $2.2.5 by the county board at 
tlieJanuarj' "session in 1839 for advertising "the sale of a contract to 
build a court-house," which notice had been published five times in his 
paper. This court-house was never built. For some reason not explained 
in the records, the order authorizing the county agent to sell the con- 
tract was revoked at the July session in 1829, as was also the order 



50 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

allowing William Curtis, the county agent, the sum of thirty dollars 
"for the purpose of building a court-house." 

In January, 1831, it was ordered by the board in regular session, 
"That the agent of the county of Madison sell to the lowest bidder the 
building of a court-house, to be built on lot No. 17, in the N. E. square, 
in Andersontown, to be built on the following plan, to-wit : One story 
high, thirty-six feet long and twenty feet wide, to be elevated one foot 
from the ground and underpinned with stone, the story to be ten feet 
between floors, the building to be well weather-boarded and covered with 
good joint shingles, to have a good brick chimney in the west end, with 
a large fireplace therein, ten feet of the end to the partitioned off and 
the room so to be partitioned off as to make two ten-feet jui-y rooms, 
all the partitions to be run of good, seasoned plank. Each of the 
said jury rooms to have a door to open into the large room; the said 
house to have three twelve-light windows in the south side and three 
in north side, the windows to be so placed that the large room shall 
have four windows and each of the jury rooms one. The under floor 
to be laid in good workmanlike manner, the upper floor to be laid of 
loose planks; (the) house to have one door in the front, to open near 
the partition; then windows to be in, the outside door hung and the 
house inclosed on or before the second Monday in May next, and the 
whole work completed according to the above plan on or before the 
second Monday in November next. The sale to take place at Anderson- 
town on the third Saturday in January, inst., the said agent taking 
bond and security in double the amount for which is taken, on condi- 
tion for the completion of the work against the 15th day of November, 
1831." 

When the day arrived for opening the bids, Daniel Harpold was 
found to be the lowest bidder and was awarded the contract for the 
erection of the building. He evidently completed the court-house some- 
where near the time specified by the board, as in January, 1832, John 
Drewry and Nathaniel Chapman were appointed by the board "to 
examine the new court-house and report if it had been built according 
to contract." 

In these days, when charges of corruption or "graft" in connection 
with the erection of public buildings are so common, it is refreshing 
to read the itemized list of deductions recommended by Drewry and 
Chapman, because the contract had not been "fully complied with." 
These deductions were as follows : 

Lack of studding in frame $ 5.00 

Lack of work at windows 2.00 

Lack of joists 2.50 

Lack of plank in upper floor 3.00 

Lack of rafters 3.00 

Deficiency in doors 1-50 

Deficienc3' in weather-boards 6.00 

Faulty material in chimney 4.00 

Deficiency in floors and partitions 3.00 

Total $30.00 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 51 

The recommendation was adopted by the board and the contractor 
was discharged. This first court-hopse stood on East Eighth street, 
between Main street and Central avenue. It was used for county pur- 
poses until after the erection of a new court-house upon the public 
square, when it was sold by order of the county board and was used 
as a dwelling until torn down to make way for the business block that 
now occupies the site. While it was in use several appropriations were 
made by the board for changes or improvements in the building. In 
May, 1832, a platform sixteen inches high, three and a half by seven 
feet in size, was ordered for the judge, three plank benches were ordered 
at the same time, as well as a railing or partition, four feet high, to 
separate the bar from the general public. In September, 1834, a new 
partition and shutters for the windows were ordered. The first session 
of court held in this court-house was the May term of the Madison 
circuit court in 1833. 

Early in the year 1837 it became apparent that the business of the 
county had outgrown the little, one-story court-house, and at the March 
term in that year the board of county commissioners ordered the publi- 
cation of notices in the Indiana Journal and the Indiana Democrat, both 
published in Indianapolis, advertising for bids for the erection of a new 
court-house for Madison county, the notices appearing for three succes- 
sive weeks. The contract was let on April 5, 1837 (the first Wednesday), 
to Crawford & Meek, of Hancock county, for $5,770. The contract 
called for a structure "of brick, forty-four feet square., two stories 
high, all to be like the court-house at Noblesvilk, except the court- 
room, which is to be on the lower floor; the tower to be like that on the 
court-house at Indianapolis, and the cupola, which is to be like that on 
the court-house at Centerville. " 

It was also specified that the court-house was to be erected on the 
public square in Andersontown and was to be inclosed on or before 
November 1, 1837. Crawford & Meek completed the building within 
the time designated in the contract and on November 25, 1839, a special 
session of the county board was called "for the purpose of receiving 
and accepting the court-house as being fully completed according to 
the contract existing between the Board and Nathan Crawford and 
Joshua Jleek, embracing subsequent alterations." At that time the 
contractors were allowed sixty-three dollars for extra work, and on 
January 9, 1840, the board ordered the payment of $2,770 to Nathan 
Crawford ' ' in full of amount due for the court-house. ' ' The first term 
of the circuit court in the new court-house was held in October, 1839, 
with William W. Wick as the presiding judge. 

Not only was the court-house used for the transaction of the public 
business, but rooms in it were also rented to individuals and societies. 
At the May session of the board in 1841, it was "ordered that Nineveh 
Berry pay $3 per month rent for the room which he now occupies in 
the court-house for the postoffiee, so long as he remains in the ^ame." 
In March, 1846, it was "ordered that the southeast room of the court- 
house, up stairs, be assigned to Mount Moriah Lodge of Free and 
Accepted Masons, and to be kept in good order by said lodge." In 
December, 1849, Anderson Division, No. 227, Sons of Temperance, pre- 



52 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

sented a petition asking permission to remove the partition between 
the grand jury room and the southwest room, and to occupy the same 
as a meeting place when so altered. The request was granted, with 
the understanding that the said Anderson Division, No. 227, was to 
keep the room in repair. Rooms were also rented to attorneys and 
justices of the peace, this custom continuing until about 1860, when 
the entire building was devoted to the use of the county. Some ten or 
twelve years before that time a small one-story brick building was 
erected on the southeast corner of the public square for the offices of 
the auditor, treasurer and recorder. This building was torn down in 
1882, when work upon the present court-house was commenced. 

The court-house built by Crawford & Meek stood for more than 
forty years, or until it was destroyed by fire early on the morning of 
December 10, 1880. The county suffered more through the loss of the 
public records than in the destruction of the building. It was a com- 
paratively easy matter to erect a new court-house, but the valuable 
records can never be replaced. 

On the day following the fire, the commissioners met in special 
session, rented quarters in the "Westerfield block on North Alain street 
for the clerk and sheriff, and appointed Edwin P. Schlater special com- 
missioner to look after the damaged records. Mr. Schlater was familiar 
with the records of the court and the clerk's office and through his labors 
a large number of valuable documents were saved. For a time the 
sessions of the court were held in the hall in the Westerfield block, but 
later were removed, with the offices of the clerk and sheriff, to the 
Hannah & Boring building, on the north side of the public square. Not 
long after the fire the commissioners ordered the levy of a light tax 
upon the taxable property of the county, the proceeds of whichi were 
to be used in the erection of a new court-house, and advertised for 
plans and specifications. On February 8, 1882, the plans submitted 
by George W. Bunting, an architect of Indianapolis, were accepted 
and on March 27, 1882, the contract for the erection was awarded to 
McCormack & Sweeney, of Columbus, Indiana, for $152,000. 

August 17, 1882, was a red-letter day in Madison county's calendar. 
On that day the corner-stone of the present court-house was laid with 
impressive and appropriate ceremonies. Prior to that date the com- 
missioners ordered "that the honor of laying the corner-stone be ten- 
dered to Mount Moriah Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons." The invi- 
tation was accepted by the lodge, which secured the services of Bruce 
Carr, at that time the grand master of the Indiana grand lodge. Invi- 
tations were likewise extended to various social and fraternal societies 
and the Masonic lodges in other counties to participate in the cere- 
monies. A reception committee of sixteen members was appointed from 
the Masons, Odd Fellows and Red Men to welcome the visiting societies. 
On this committee the Masons were represented by John P. Barnes, J. M. 
Dickson, T. J. Stephens, Nineveh Berry and C. K. McCullough; the 
Odd Fellows by W. R. Myers, Joseph Fulton, M. A. Chipman, Samuel 
Myers, W. W. Williams and W. S. Diven; and the Red Men by C. D. 
Thompson, James Mohan, J. S. Carr, Thomas Gee and Peter Fromlet. 

In the great civic parade that preceded the laying of the corner- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 53 

stone Major John F. Wildman was grand marshal. His aids were 
J. P. Barnes, C. K. McCuUough and L. J. Burr, for the Masons ; C. B. 
Cooper, C. T. Doxey and W. S. Diven, for the Odd Fellows; and for 
the Red Men the members of that order who served on the reception 
committee. After the parade the vast throng assembled about the public 
square to witness the ceremony of placing the stone in position. McCor- 
maek & Sweeney, the contractors, had erected a large stand over the 
northeast corner of the foundation to accommodate the speakers, the 
oificers of the day, the musicians and the invited guests. Thomas B. 
Orr, of Anderson, delivered the address of welcome, at the conclusion 
of which Grand Master Bruce Carr took charge of the exercises and 
after the stone was laid according to the Masonic ritual delivered an 
appropriate address. He was followed by Nineveh Berry, one of the 
oldest residents of Madison county, and Colonel James B. Maynard, 
editor of the Indianapolis Sentinel. 

The corner-stone is Berea sandstone from the quarries near Cleve- 
land, Ohio. It is six feet three and a half inches long, three feet eleven 
inches wide, two feet six inches thick and weighs five tons. "Within the 
stone was deposited a copper casket containing historical sketches of 
the Masonic bodies of Madison county ; also histories of the Odd Fel- 
lows, Red Men, Knights of Honor, Royal Arcanum and other fraternal 
organizations in the county; proceedings of the Indiana Masonic and 
Odd Fellows grand lodges for 1882; proceedings of the Indiana Grand 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons for 1881 ; copies of the Anderson, Indian- 
apolis, Cincinnati and Chicago papers of recent date ; condensed his- 
tory of the church societies of Anderson; names of county officials and 
the officials of the city of Anderson, past and present; specifications of 
the court-house; roll of names of contractors, superintendents and 
employees, and list of public works constructed by McCormack & 
Sweeney; photographs of Colonel Nineveh Berry and William Roach, 
the latter being at that time the oldest Mason in Madison county; a 
group photograph of the county commissioners ; a picture of the old 
court-house that was burned on December 10, 1880 ; photographic group 
of eighty-one old settlers of Madison county, taken in 1877 ; samples 
of grain raised in the county; a copy of Hardin's History of Madison 
county ; a history of the Madison county schools ; the bar docket for the 
June term, 1882 ; reports of various public officials and institutions, and 
a number of other interesting relics. 

On the face of the stone is a panel, in each comer of which is carved 
a cluster of fruit or grain, and within the panel is the inscription : 

A. D. 1882 



BRUCE CARR, 

G. M. of F. and A. M. 

B. F. Aimen, 1 McCormack & Sweeney, 

J. Bronnenberg, [Commissioners. Contractors. 



J. F. Thurston,] 



54 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

J. L. Forkner, J. E. Redmond, 

Auditor. Superintendent. 

G. W. Bunting, N. C. McCullough, 

Architect. Local Superintendent. 

In the records of a special session of the board of county commis- 
sioners, held in February, 1885, is the following entry: "By agreement 
with McCormack & Sweeney, contractors for the court-house, the com- 
missioners are to take possession of such rooms and parts of the court- 
house as they may desire, and such possession is not to be an acceptance 
of the building or work thereon. And the board orders that the Madison 
circuit court hold its sessions in the new court-house and that the 
auditor, clerk, treasurer, recorder and sheriff be instructed to remove 
their offices and all records and papers thereto belonging into the proper 
rooms in the new court-house by Saturday evening, February 21, 1885." 

Pursuant to this order the officers named removed their records, etc., 
to the rooms designated by the commissioners and a little later the 
building was pronounced complete and was accepted by the commis- 
sioners. Subsequently a raised roof was placed on the building, but 
with this exception the court-house stands just as it left the hands of 
the contractors in 1885. As the picture shows, it is one of the most 
imposing court-houses in the state and is ample in eveiy particular for 
the needs of the county for years to come. 

Jails 

On July 6, 1829, the county board "ordered that the agent of Madi- 
son county sell to the lowest bidder the building of a jail in Anderson- 
town, according to a plan adopted at the present session, on the 10th 
or 11th day of this instant, to be finished within six months, requiring 
bond and security for the performance of the building in a workman- 
like manner, the bond to be taken in the penalty of double the amount 
contracted for, towards the erecting of which building the board agrees 
to appropriate the sum of $200, according to the corifideratidns of a 
subscription signed at the January session of this board for 1829." 

From this order it would appear that the citizens of Anderson sub- 
scribed certain sums of money to aid in the erection of the public 
buildings, but who the subscribers were, or what amounts they con- 
tributed cannot be ascertained. Prior to the issuance of this order, the 
prisoners of Madison county had been kept in the jails of the adjoining 
counties. In March, 1830, an allowance of $4.81 was made to John 
Rogers, the jailer of Henry county, for caring for four Madison county 
prisoners. The jail erected under this order stood on the west side of 
the public square, about where the west steps of the court-house are 
now located. It was a log structure, sixteen feet square, a story and a 
half high. The only entrance to the lower story was through a trap 
door in ceiling, prisoners being let down from above by means of a 
ladder and after they were safely lodged in the lower room the ladder 
was withdrawn. It was torn down when the court-house was erected 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 55 

in the public square, and from 1837 to 1842 all prisoners that were to 
be confined for any length of time were taken to the Marion county 
jail at Indianapolis. 

Soon after the second court-house was completed, the board gave 
notice that "sealed proposals will be received until the first Monday in 
December next (1841) for the erection of a jail in Andersontown. " 
It was also stipulated that the jail should be constructed of hewed oak 
timber, twelve inches square, eighteen by twenty-two feet in dimensions 
and two stories in height, the stories to be eight feet between floors, and 
that it was to be built "on the public square west of the court-house, 
the north side of the jail to be on a line with the north side of the 
court-house." It was therefore on nearly the same spot as the former 
jail. The cost of this second jail was $149 ; it was accepted by the com- 
missioners at the June -term in 1842, and served the county for about 
ten years, though it was never a very safe depository for a desperate 
criminal and several persons confined within its walls succeeded with- 
out much difficulty in making their escape. Accordingly, on March 24, 
1852, the commissioners took the following action relative to a new jail : 

"Whereas, it having been made known to the board of commissioners 
of Madison county, that the jail house in said county has twice been 
condemned by the grand jury of said county, that the same is unsafe 
and in no way sufficient to answer the purposes intended, Therefore, 
it is ordered by the board that it is actually necessary to build a new 
house and also a dwelling house attached to said jail house; therefore, 
John Davis, George ]\Iillspaugh and William Roach be, and they are 
hereby appointed a building committee, and said building committee 
are hereby authorized to draw a draft or drafts such as in their opinion 
will be suitable and proper in every respect, both for the jail house and 
wall and dwelling house thereunto belonging, for the inspection of 
builders or contractors, and also said committee shall have power to 
advertise in any way they may think best, giving notice that proposals 
will be received for materials and construction of the same. Walls to be 
built of good brick, the whole to be done under the superintendence of 
the said building committee. And said building committee shall have 
power to contract for the furnishing materials and constructing the 
said building, giving the contract or contracts to the lowest responsible 
bidder, and as soon as this is done the auditor shall be authorized to 
convene the board of commissioners to confirm the same." 

The committee decided upon a two-story, brick building, which was 
erected at the northwest corner of Ninth and Jackson streets. It is stated 
that they made their final report at the December session of the com- 
missioners in 1852, but the records of that term make no mention of 
the jail. Records are sometimes defective, however, and it is probable 
that the building was completed within the year. This jail, like its 
predecessors, in time became inadequate to the needs of the county and 
the question of erecting a new one came before the commissioners. 

Accordingly, in 1880, the old jail was sold and the board purchased 
the lot at the northeast corner of Eighth street and Central avenue as 
a site for a new county prison. Notice was given to architects, inviting 
them to submit plans and specifications for the proposed new jail build- 



56 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

ing. At a special session of the board in October, 1880, the proposition 
of T. J. Tolin & Son, architects, was accepted. Bids for the erection 
of the jail were then advertised for, the opportunity to submit proposals 
remaining open until February 11, 1881, when the contract was awarded 
to W. H. Myers & Son for $17,989. The building was completed in 
1882, giving to Madison county a prison of modern character, one 
from which but few escapes have ever been made, and they were due 
rather to the carelessness of the jailer than to any defect in the con- 
struction. 

Change in Boundaries 

As established by the organic act of January 4, 1823, Madison county 
included all of the present county of Hancock, but the northern boundary 
— the line between townships 20 and 21 north — excluded all that part 
of the present county lying north of Lafayette and Richland townships. 
Hancock county was erected under the act of January 26, 1827, Section 2 
of which defined the boundaries of Madison county as follows : 

"Hereafter, the county of Madison shall be bounded as follows, 
to-wit : Beginning on the line dividing the counties of Henry and 
Madison, one mile south of where the line dividing Townships 17 and 
18 crosses the same ; thence north wdth said county line to the line 
dividing Townships 22 and 23 : thence west to the iliami Reservation ; 
thence south with the line of said Reservation to the southeast corner 
of the same ; thence west until a line running south will strike the 
northeast corner of Hamilton county ; thence south with said county 
line to one mile south of the line dividing Townships 17 and 18 ; thence 
east to the place of beginning. ' ' 

Section 4 of the same act provided that "All the territory lying 
one mile south of the line dividing Townships 17 and 18, and within 
the former bounds of Madison county, shall be, and the same is hereby, 
organized and formed into the countj^ of Hancock," etc. 

When Grant county was erected by the act of February 10, 1831, the 
southern boundary was established as follows: "Beginning on the line 
dividing the counties of Madison and Delaware, three miles north of the 
township line dividing Townships 21 and 22, in Range 8 east ; thence 
west to the west boundary thereof," and Section 7 of the act provided 
"That the strip of land lying between the north line of the county of 
Madison and the south line of the county of Grant be, and the same is 
hereby, attached to the county of Madison." 

By the act of January 15, 1833. the boundary between Henry county 
and the counties of Madison and Hancock was tixed on "the fii-st section 
line west of the range line dividing Ranges 8 and 9 east. ' ' 

As designated at present, the boundaries are as follows: "Com- 
mencing at the southeast corner of Section 2, Township 17, Range 8 east, 
on the west line of Henry county ; thence north on said line to the north- 
east corner of Section 11, Township 22 north. Range 8 east; thence 
west to the northwest corner of Section 9, Township 22, Range 6 east; 
thence south to the southwest corner of Section 4, Township 17, Range 
6 east; thence east to the place of beginning." 



CHAPTER V 

TOWNSHIP HISTORY 

List of Civil Townships in the County — Early Records — Adams — 
Anderson — Boone — Duck Creek — Fall Creek — Green — Pioneers 
OF Each — Early Schools and Industries — Churches — Towns and 
Villages — JIention of Prominent Citizens — Interesting Inci- 
dents. 

Madison county is divided into fourteen civil townships, to-wit: 
Adams, Andei-son, Boone, Duck Creek, Fall Creek, Green, Jackson, 
Lafayette, Monroe, Pipe Creek, Richland, Stony Creek, Union and Van 
Buren. The oldest record of the proceedings of the county board that 
can be found begins with the September session in 1828. At the January 
term in 1829, it was ordered by the board "Tliat Isaac Jones, of Fall 
Creek township ; James Scott, of Green ; Manly Richards, of Adams ; 
Jeremiah Williams, of Anderson; and Andrew McClintock, of Jackson, 
be, and they are hereby, appointed inspectors of elections in and for 
their respective townships for the present year, ending on the first 
Monday in January next." 

At the same session James Noland and Evan Pugli were appointed 
fence viewers for the township of Green ; John McKinzie and Charles 
Doty, for Fall Creek; Moses Corwin and Moss Shane, for Adams; 
Stephen Noland and Thornton Rector, for Anderson, and Colings Tharp 
and Nehemiah Layton, for Jackson. In Januarj', 1830, these five to\vn- 
ships were divided into sixteen road districts. Green township consti- 
tuting districts Nos. 1 and 2 ; Fall Creek, Nos. 3, 4, 5 and 6 ; Adams, 
Nos. 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11 ; Anderson, Nos. 12, 13 and 14, and Jackson, 
Nos. 15 and 16. 

It is evident from these entries in the early records that the five 
townships named therein had l)een organized sometime during the first 
six years of the county's history, but in the absence of official records 
the exact date of the establishment of each cannot be ascertained. 

Adams Township 

This township occupies the southeast corner of the county. In extent 
it is seven miles from north to south, five miles from east to west, and 
contains an area of thirty-five square miles. It is bounded on the 
north by the townships of Union and Anderson; on the east by Henry 
county; on the south by Hancock county, and on the west by Fall 
Creek township. The general surface is rolling and the township is 

57 



58 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

watered by Fall creek and Lick creek, both of which flow westwardly 
across the township, and several smaller streams, tributaries of the 
above. 

Adams is one of the first five townships organized in the county 
and was named for Abraham Adams, who was the first white man to 
settle within its present limits. He came with his family in 1823, the 
year Madison county was organized, and located a short distance east of 
the present village of Ovid, where he built a cabin of round logs, the 
first house erected by civilized man in the township. Before the close 
of the year he was joined by a man named Manl.y, and about the same 
time came John and John T. Bridge, James Hudson, Thomas Harper 
and Andrew Sawyer, the five men who were indicted by the grand .jury 
in April, 1824, for the murder of two friendly Indians, with their 
squaws and children, an account of which may be found in chapter 
XVIII. 

These early settlers sent back to their old homes such favorable 
reports concerning the new country that during the next five years a 
number of immigi-ants found homes in Adams township. Joseph and 
Moses Surber and Abraham Blake came from Ohio in 1826; Anthony 
Hill, also from Ohio, came in 1827, and in 1828 George Hudson and 
his six sons — Eli, George, Isaiah, William, David and Jonathan — came 
from Ohio. Thornton Rector, who had previously settled in Wajme 
county, Indiana, likewise came in 1828. The nest year witnessed the 
arrival of Hugh and John Gilmore, Samuel and L. D. Reger, Martin 
Brown, the McCallisters — Thomas, William and Garrett — and a few 
others. The Gilmores and McCallisters came from western Virginia. 
Martin Brown and the two Regers were also from that state. Thomas 
McCallister afterward served several terms in the Indiana legislature. 

Other earl}' settlers were Levi Brewer, Joseph Ingles and Jesse 
Martin, in 1830; William S. Gale and Colonel Thomas Bell, in 1831. 
Colonel Bell subsequently served five terms in the legislature from 
Madison county, or the district of which it constitutes a part. Follow- 
ing these came Hezekiah Justice, Samuel Huston, Jacob Evans, Isaac 
Cooper, Harvey Chase, William Prigg, Hiram Burch, John Copman, 
Stephen and Henry Dobson, William Stanley, William Sloan, Ralph 
Williams, Thomas Sbelton, John Markle, David Rice, William Nelson, 
James Peden, Caleb Biddle, John Collier, Joseph Smith, John Borman, 
Stephen Norman, William Penn, Reason Sargent, James Pearson, and 
some others, all of whom had located in the township by 1835. 

As already stated, the first log cabin in the township was built by 
Abraham Adams in 1823. The first frame house was built by Friend 
Brown, and in 1838 Morris Gilmore built the first brick house on what 
is still known as the "Morris Gilmore farm." The first orchard was 
planted by Abraham Adams in 1829, and, according to Kingman's 
"History of Madison County," in the same year Enos Adamson estab- 
lished a saw-mill on a small stream called Hasty 's branch. In 1835 
Bailey Jackson began the erection of a saw-mill on Fall creek, at New 
Columbus, but for some reason did not finish it. James Peden then 
purchased the site and completed the mill in 1843. About that time the 
Adamson mill was removed to Howard county. In the meantime Isaac 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 59 

and Edmund Franklin had established a saw-mill on Fall creek, on 
Section 15, in 1841. About two years later they put a grist-mill near 
the saw-mill. The "Franklin Mills," as they were known far and wide, 
did a successful business, under various owners, until they were de- 
stroyed by fire in 1888. 

The first steam saw-mill was built near the present village of Markle- 
ville by Blake & Hudson in 1857. Six years later the proprietors sold 
out and the purchaser removed the mill to Frankton. Abisha Lewis 
and John Huston erected the second steam saw-mill in the early '70s. It 
cost about $3,000 and at that time was conceded to be the best concern of 
the kind in Madison county. It was located at Markleville. A shingle 
machine was installed about two years after the mill was built and did 
a thriving business for many years. Shortly after the Cincinnati, 
"Wabash & Michigan (now the Big Four) Railroad was extended south- 
ward from Anderson, a saw-mill was built at Emporia, a small station 
two miles north of Markleville. But the valuable timber that was once 
abundant in Adams township has almost disappeared and the prosper- 
ous era of the saw-mill has passed. 

The first election in Adams township was held at the house of 
Abraham Adams. Later the voting place was changed to the house of 
Manly Richards, where elections were held until 1830, when the county 
commissioners designated a permanent voting place where the village 
of Ovid is now located, though the town was not laid off by Abraham 
Adams until four years later and named New Columbus. 

It is stated, on apparently good authority, that the first school house in 
the township was located on Section 19, about two miles south of Ovid, 
and was a log structure, similar in size and design to other school 
■houses of that day, but the date when it was built is uncertain. The 
second school house, also a round-log building, stood at the east end of 
what is now the village of Ovid. Kingman says this house was built in 
182'4, which was the next year after Abraham Adams, the first settler, 
located near the place. Other log school houses were built in different 
parts of the to%\Tiship and subscription schools maintained until after 
the passage of the school law of 1851. Then frame houses began to take 
the place of the log ones, and in 1873 two brick school houses were 
built — one at Ovid and one at ' Markleville. Four ye^rs later three 
more brick houses were erected. In 1912 there were ten school districts, 
each provided with a substantial brick house, the school property of the 
township, exclusive of maps, libraries and other apparatus, being valued 
at $20,900. The ten teachers employed in 1912-13 received $4,256 in 
salaries. 

The first religious services were usually held at the homes of Abraham 
Adams, Reason Sargent and Peter Jones. A Baptist society was formed 
in 1830 and a second organization of this faith was effected in 1834. 
The Methodists held services at the houses of Stephen Noland and 
Ralph Williams, and in the school houses, for many years before they 
erected a church building in 1856, near Markleville. - A Christian 
church was organized in 1848; a Lutheran church some time in the 
'50s ; a German Baptist church in 1860, and a congregation of the 
Church of God in 1887. (See chapter on Church History.) 



60 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



The principal villages of Adams township are Alliance, Emporia 
and Markleville on the line of the Big Four Railway — ilichigan division 
— and Ovid (formerly New Columbus), a short distance west of the 
railroad. 

Anderson Township 

This township, like Adams, is one of the first five to be organized in 
the county. It is situated a little southeast of the center of the county 
and is bounded on the north by the townships of Lafayette and Rich- 
land ; on the east by Union ; on the south by Adams and Fall Creek, and 
on the west by Jackson and Stony Creek. In extent it is six miles 
square, having an area of thirty-six square miles, or 23,040 acres. The 




Moss Island Mills 

White river enters the township about midway on the eastern bound- 
ary and flows a general northwesterly course, crossing the western 
boundary about one mile south of the northwest corner. Its principal 
tributary in the township is the Killbuck creek, which empties into the 
river at Anderson. 

Located on the White river about three miles west of Anderson, are 
the old Moss Island Mills, one of the landmarks of Madison county. 
These mills were built by Joseph MuUinix in 1836, long before the 
advent of the railroad, but since that time have been owned by at least 
fourteen different firms or individuals, some of the owners having been 
prominent in business and social life, as well as in political affairs. The 
mills, in their palmy days, consisted of a flour mill — large for that day 
— with a saw-mill attached, power for both being furnished by a large 
water-wheel. They were built with a view to catching the trade that 
followed the construction of the old Indiana Central canal, the western 
branch of which passed near the mills. With the decadence of the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 61 

canal, the building of the railroads and the introduction of improved 
machinery and methods in the manufacture of flour, the old Moss 
Island mills fell into disuse and they now stand silent and deserted near 
the beautiful little island which gave them their name. 

When the first white men came to Anderson township they found 
the region heavily timbered, but nearly all the valuable timber has 
found its way to the log-heap or the saw-mill to make way for the culti- 
vated fields of the husbandman. The surface is generally level or 
slight!}' undulating. Near Jlounds park, about three miles above An- 
derson, the bluffs along the White river rise to a height of some seventy- 
five feet above the level of the stream and are the greatest elevations in 
the township. 

Among the names of the early settlers, that of John Berry stands 
preeminent. He came to the county in March, 1821, and entered a 
tract of land where the city of Anderson now stands, part of which 
he aftei-ward donated to the county to secure the location of the county 
seat at that point, as stated in the preceding chapter. About the same 
time that Mr. Berry settled at Anderson, Eli Harrison selected a farm 
on tlie White river not far from Berry's, and William Stogdon (or 
Stockton) also settled in the vicinity. Other early settlers were John 
and Christopher Davis, Daniel Harpold, the contractor who built the 
first court-house, William and Isaac Young, William Allen, William 
Curtis, the first agent of the county, Samuel Kinnamon and David 
Williams. About the time the county was organized, or perhaps a 
little earlier, the population^ of what is now Anderson township was 
increased by the arrival of Benjamin Sumpter, John Renshaw, David 
Harris, Philip Shinkle, Jacob Stover, Benjamin Ridgeway and some 
others. The descendants of some of these pioneers still reside in the 
township and are numbered among its best citizens. 

The first school house in the township was a log structure that 
stood on what is now Central avenue, between Tenth and Eleventh 
streets, in the city of Anderson. The first school was taught here in 
1836 by Richard Treadwaj^ and later Nineveh Berry taught in the same 
house. In 1912 there weje eleven school districts in the township, 
outside of the city of Anderson, and the school houses were valued 
at $25,000. In the eleven districts sixteen teachers were employed 
during the school year of 1912-13 at an aggregate salary of $7,900. 

Anderson is not the only town that was ever laid out or projected 
within the limits of the township. In 1838, while the Indiana Central 
canal was under construction, John Renshaw laid out a town on the 
north side of the White river, where the Anderson cemetery is now 
located, and gave it the name of Victoria. As far as can be learned 
but one house — a log cabin — was ever erected on the town site. When 
work on the canal was suspended Mr. Renshaw disposed of the land and 
the town of Victoria has been practically forgotten. 

Another canal town was projected by J. W. Alley, who laid out 
Rockport, about two miles west of Anderson on the Perkinsville pike, 
or Strawtown road, and a little southeast of the old Moss Island mills. 
Like Victoria, it never came up to the anticipations of its founder and 
the land afterward passed into the hands of J. W. Sansberry, Sr., who 



62 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

opened a stone quarry on the site. Rockport boasted of several houses 
at one time, but they have all been removed or sank into decay. 

The village of Omaha, situated near the line of the Big Four rail- 
road in the southern part of the township, was laid out some years 
before the railroad was built southward from Anderson. Eli Gustin 
had a saw-mill there and a store was conducted for some time by George 
Darrow, who afterward went to Denver, Colorado, but returned to 
Indiana ?ind located at Montpelier, Blackford county. With the dis- 
appearance of the timber and the removal of the saw-mill, Omaha ceased 
to exist. 

As much of the history of Anderson township naturally belongs, to 
the city of Anderson, hence many of the important events that occurred 
from time to time in this township are treated in the chapter relating to 
the city. 

Boone Township 

This township is situated in the northern tier and is bounded on 
the north by Grant county ; on the east by Van Buren township ; on the 
south by the townships of Monroe and Pipe Creek, and on the west 
by Duck Creek township. In extent it is five miles from north to south 
and six miles from east to west, containing an area of thirty square 
miles, or 19,200 acres. It was named in honor of Daniel Boone, the 
historic Kentucky pioneer and celebrated Indian fighter. 

The exact date when Boone township was organized cannot be ascer- 
tained at this late day. Kingman's and Forkner & Dyson's histories 
of Madison county both state that the first election in the township was 
held in September, 1843, at a log school house near the site afterward 
occupied by the Tomlinson school house, and it is probable that the 
organization of the township was authorized some time earlier in that 
year. The main reason why the township was so late in being organ- 
ized was that the northwestern part of Madison county, including nearly 
all the western half of Boone and the northern two-thirds of Duck 
Creek townships, lay within the Miami Indian reservation, which was 
not vacated by the natives uniil several years after the county was 
organized. With the departure of the red man the white settlers came 
in and it was then not long until civil townships were established. 

The honor of being the first white man to establish a home in what 
is now Boone township belongs to Wright. Smith, a native of North 
Carolina, who upon coming to Indiana first settled in Rush county, but 
in 1836 removed to Madison county and located on the southwest quarter 
of Section 35, near the southern boundary of the township. He and 
his family lived in a tent until a cabin could be erected. Mr. Smith 
died on this farm on December 23, 1863. Soon after locating there he 
was joined by his brother-in-law, Thomas Brunt. These two men went 
to the land office at Fort Wayne and entered the lands upon which they 
had located, Brunt's farm being the southwest quarter of Section ^24, 
about two miles up Lilly creek from Smith 's, where he died on December 
31, 1879. Brunt first rented a cabin from a Mrs. Ballance, in what is 
now the northern part of Monroe township, and did not move to his 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



63 



land until some months later. Not long after these two had located 
land in Boone township, James Brunt, the father of Thomas, and his 
son-in-law, John Moore, came from Rush county, where they had first 
located upon coming from North Carolina. They entered land on Lilly 
creek, between Wright Smith and Thomas Brunt. 

Other pioneers were John and James Tomlinson, Elijah "Ward, Hugh 
Dickey, Morgan and Enoch McMahan, Peter Eaton, Dudley and George 
Doyle and Bazaliel Thomas, from North Carolina; Robett "Webster, 
from Delaware; John "W. Forrest, Benjamin Sebrell and Micajah 
Francis, from "Virginia. 

During the first ten years following the coming of Wright Smith 
and Thomas Brunt, the settlement made but little progress in the way 
of an increase in population. But in 1847 a number of immigrants 
founded homes in the township. Among them were William Sehooley, 
Andrew Taggart, Jesse Windsor, William Hyatt and a man named 




Boone Township Hay 



Purtee, who was the first white man in the township to settle on the 
Miami Indian reservation, which became a favorite place with those 
who came a little later. The farm entered by Mr. Purtee is the south- 
east quarter of Section 21, on Duck creek, near the center of the town- 
ship. 

Mention has already been made of the first township election in 
September, 1843. At that election Peter Eaton was inspector and 
Dudley Doyle and Morgan B. McMahan were elected justices of the 
peace for a term of five years. At the expiration of the term Doyle was 
reelected, but John Tomlinson was chosen to succeed Mr. McMahan. 



64 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

The firpt M-hite child bom in Boone township was Joseph Taylor 
Smith, son of Wright Smith, the first settler. He grew to manhood 
in the township, served with distinction as a soldier in the Civil war 
as captain of a company in the Seventy-fifth Indiana infantry and 
afterward practiced law for several years at Anderson, when he removed 
to Manhattan, Kansas. 

The first marriage was solemnized on April 18, 1838, when Miss 
Sarah Eaton became the wife of Dudley Doyle, and the first death was 
that of John Huff, who was killed by a falling tree in 1843. The second 
death, that of Mrs. Mary Doyle, wife of Adam Doyle, occurred on 
January 21, 1844. 

About 1840 a log school house was built on the farm of John Moore. 
It was a rude structure of round logs, with clapboard roof and door, 
a dirt floor, a huge fireplace at one end, and was without windows. This 
was the first school house in the township and the first school was taught 
there by James Smith, a son of Wright Smith. In 1852, after the 
enactment of the school law of the preceding year, Thomas Brunt, 
Benjamin Sebrell and M. L. Overshiner, the township trustees, erected 
four or five log school houses at different points, and it is from that 
time that the educational history of the township really marks its 
beginning. In 1912 there were eight school districts in Boone, each 
equipped with a modern brick school building, the value of the eight 
houses being estimated at $10,700. The amount paid in teachers' sala- 
ries for the school year of 1912-13 was $3,598. 

A Methodist class was organized in 1851 and two years later a 
Sunday school was opened, with Wright Smith as superintendent. A 
meeting was held at the house of John W. Forrest in 1853 for the 
purpose of organizing a Baptist congregation, but no house of worship 
was erected until four years later. 

Boone township has no towns or villages of importance. In the 
extreme northwest corner, a part of the village of Independence lies in 
this township, the other portions being situated in Duck Creek township, 
Madison county, and the townships of Green and Liberty, in Grant 
county. A postofifice called Rigdon was once maintained here, but with 
the introduction of free rural mail delivery it was discontinued. 

Forrestville was laid out on July 24, 1850, by John W. Forrest, on 
Section 21, a little west of the center of the township. Several dwell- 
ings and a church were erected, a general store was opened and a post- 
office was established, but they have all disappeared and the site of the 
town is now used for agricultural purposes. 

Benjamin Clark laid out a town on Section 13, near the Van Buren 
township line, and gave it thfe name of Clarktown. It never grew to 
any considerable proportions and a small general store was its only 
business enterprise. 

Game was plentiful in the early days and the pioneers depended 
chiefly upon their rifles for their supply of meat. Venison and wild 
turkey, now esteemed as luxuries, were then common articles of diet. 
The last wild deer seen in Madison county was killed in this township 
by Morgan Sebrell on November 24, 1871, while he and Timothy IMet- 
calf were out hunting together. It was a large buck with seven prongs 
on each antler. Mr. Sebrell preserved the antlers as a tronhy, and as 
reminder of the last deer killed in the county. 



HISTORY OF xMADISON COUNTY 65 

Duck Creek Township 

On Januan- 23, 1851, the following: petition was presented to the 
board of commissioners of Madison county : 

"We, the undersigned, citizens of Pipe Creek township, in said 
county, showeth by this, our petition, that we labor under incon- 
veniences in regard to the size of our township, we therefore request 
you to strike off a township from the north end of Pipe Creek of the 
following dimensions, to-wit : Commencing at the northwest corner of 
Section 9, Township 21 north, of Range 6 east; running thence east 
four miles to the range line; thence north to the county line; thence west 
to the county line ; thence south to the place of beginning, to be called 
Dtick Creek township." 

This petition was signed by James Gray, Fielding Sampson, James 
Casteel and fifteen others, residents within the proposed new township. 
No action was taken on the petition at that session, but at the following 
term the subject again came up for consideration and the minutes for 
March 6, 1851, contain the following entry : 

"And now, at this time, after due deliberation has been had thereon, 
the board now in session accept said petition and order and direct that 
a new township be laid oiit and organized as follows: All of Con- 
gressional Township No. 22 north of Range 6 east that lies within 
the limits of Madison county, and Sections 1, 2, 3 and 4 in Township 
No. 21 north of Range 6 east, in said county f being four miles wide 
and six miles long), shall compose said township, and all that part 
which now lies in Pipe Creek township, is hereby stricken from and 
curtailed from said Pipe Creek township and made a part of Duck 
Creek township, as above set forth, for all township purposes. And it is 
hereby ordered by the board that on the first Jlonday in April next 
(1851) there shall be an election held in said township of Duck Creek 
at the Bethel meeting house for the necessary township officers, to-wit : 
Two justices of the peace, two constables, one supervisor to each road 
district, a township clerk and township treasurer, and any other town- 
ship officers authorized by law. ' ' 

At the same time David Waymire was appointed inspector of the 
election and the new township was divided into four road districts. 
The boundaries as established in 1851 have not been changed and the 
township remains as originally erected. It occupies the northwest 
corner of the county, has an area of twenty-four square miles, or 15,360 
acres, and is bounded on the north by Grant county ; on the east by the 
townships of Boone and Pipe Creek; on the south by Pipe Creek town- 
ship, and on the west by Tipton county. Duck creek, from which the 
township takes its name, flows in a southerly direction through the 
southern part and is the only stream of any consequence in the township. 

The settlement of Duck Creek township began in the fall of 1838, 
when Henry Cochran came from Butler county, Ohio, and selected a 
tract of laud on Section 35, about three miles northeast of the present 
city of Elwood. Upon this tract he built a log cabin and then went back 
to Ohio, where he remained for a year, at the end of which time he 
returned to Indiana with his father and took up his residence on the 

Vol. 1—5 



66 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

land. Later in the year 1836 Thomas Casteel and Elijah Berryman 
settled on Section 3, a short distance southwest of Cochran. During 
the next ten years there were few additions to the population. In the 
summer of 1848 A. C. Ritter, a native of Ohio, made the first entry of 
land on the Miami reserve in Duck Creek township and from that time 
the settlement of the region was more rapid. Among those who came 
prior to the organization of the township were Fielding Sampson, James 
Gray, Anthony Minnick, Azel Stanberry, David and Elliott Waymire, 
Thomas W. Harmon, Mahlon Hosier, James French and Isaac Dough- 
erty. Stephen Williamson, a veteran of the Mexican war, was also one 
of the early settlers. 

Previous to 1846, the only dwellings to be seen in the township were 
the log cabins usually found in frontier settlements. In 1846 Thomas 
Casteel built a frame house and his example was soon followed by sev- 
eral of his neighbors. The first brick house was built by Jonathan Noble 
in 1872, near the northeast corner of the township. In the spring of 
1843, Thomas Casteel and Henry Cochran both planted orchards, the 
first in the township. The first white child born in the township was 
James, son of Thomas and Elizabeth Casteel, who was born on Novem- 
ber 9, 1842. The first wedding was on December 26, 1844, when Henry 
Cochran and Miss Rebecca Casteel were united in marriage, and the first 
death was that of Samuel Cochran on September 11, 1844. He was 
the father of Henry Cochran and was quite old at the time of his death. 
James Shofer and Anthony Minnick were the first progressive, up-to- 
date farmers in the township. The Minnick farm was a model in all 
respects and stood alone in its appointments in the forests that sur- 
rounded it. 

Among the early industries was a steam saw-mill, erected near 
Henry Cochran's place about 1850 by Jacob E. Waymire, who con- 
ducted it successfully for over fifteen years. In 1866 the 'mill was pur- 
chased by Henry Cochran, who carried on the business at the old place 
until 1873, when his son Samuel was admitted to a partnership and the 
machinery w*s taken to Elwood and installed in a new mill there. In 
1875 a steam saw-mill was established in the northwestern part of the 
township by G. & V. Worley, who later sold out to William & J. B. 
HoUingsworth and the mill was removed to the Hollingsworth farm, 
about half a mile farther south. William Hedrick also owned and 
operated a large saw-mill at one time on his farm, about two miles east 
of the Hollingsworths. 

The first school house, a round log affair of the customary frontier 
type, was built in 1841 on the Knott farm, in the southern part of the 
township. A few years later it was moved about a mile farther north, 
where the school house in District No. 2 is now located. The second 
school house was erected in 1853 on Isaac Wann "s farm, on or near the 
present site of school No. 1. In 1912 there were seven public school 
houses in the township,, five of which were brick and two were frame, the 
value of the buildings being $14,000. Eight teachers were employed 
during the school year of 1912-13 and the amount paid in salaries was 
$3 500. 

' The first church in the township was built by the United Brethren 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 67 

about the time the society of that denomiuation was organized in 1852. 
A little later the New Light Christians united with the United Brethren 
in the erection of a better house of worship on the farm of W. F. Hol- 
lingsworth. Subsequently congregations of the Christian and Methodist 
Episcopal faith were organized in the township. 

With the exception of Independence, which has been mentioned in 
the preceding history of Boone township, there are no villages in Duck 
Creek township. A portion of this village is situated in the extreme 
northeast corner. The inhabitants of the southern part of the town- 
ship find it convenient to "do their trading" at El wood, the northern 
line of which touches the southern border of Duck Creek township. 

It may be interesting to the reader to know that the last entry of 
land in Madison county was that of a forty-acre tract in Duck Creek 
township. This tract is described as the southeast quarter of the north- 
west quarter of section 21, township 22, range 6 east, and is situated 
three miles due north of Elwood. It was purchased from the state 
of Indiana by David Braden, of Indianapolis, for $50. His patent, 
dated October 22, 1875, states that the sale was made "under the act 
of May 29, 1852, entitled 'An act to regulate the sale of the swamp 
lands donated by the United States to the State of Indiana, and to 
provide for the draining and reclaiming thereof,' " etc. 

The first time this tract of land appears in the public records was 
on October 28, 1872, when it was sold by David K. Carver, sheriff of 
Madison county, to satisfy an assessment of $175.50, with costs of 
$30.33, for the construction of the Wild Cat ditch. On this occasion 
the land was taken as the property of Joseph Sigler, but the records do 
not show how Sigler came into possession, or by what right he claimed 
the ownership of the land. At the sheriff's sale above mentioned the 
land was bought by Howell D. Thompson, of Anderson, for $100. At 
the time the tract was purchased by Braden from the state it was in the 
possession of William A. Sheward. There was some kind of litigation 
over the land, but owing to the destruction of the court records by the 
courthouse tire of December 10, 1880, the exact nature of the case can- 
not be learned. It is certain, however, that Braden 's title was sus- 
tained, for on February 1, 1879, he transferred the land to Howell D. 
Thompson, who on the same day conveyed it back to Mr. Sheward. 

Fall Creek Township 

Soon after Madison county was organized the local authorities erected 
five townships, one of which was named Fall Creek, from the principal 
stream flowing through it and the natural falls on that stream at Pen- 
dleton. Fall Creek is the third largest township in the county, being 
exceeded in size only by Monroe and Pipe Creek. In extent it is six 
miles from east to west and seven miles from north to south, contain- 
ing an area of forty-two square miles. On the north it is bounded by 
Anderson and Stony Creek townships; on the east by Adams; on the 
south by Hancock county, and on the west by the townships of Green 
and Stony Creek. Fall creek flows in a southwesterly direction through 
the central part and the southern portion is watered by Lick creek. 



68 HISTORY OF MADISON COrXTY 

The surface is genrally slightly undulating or roUin.ii and the soil 
compares tavoral)ly with that of the adjoining townshijjs. 

To Fall Creek belongs the distinction of being the first in Jladison 
county to be settled liy white men. In a previous chapter mention has 
been made of John Rogers as the first white man to locate in the county. 
An old diary left by him is authority for the statement that he settled 
in what is now Fall Creek township on December 29, 1818, about two 
miles east of the present town of Pendleton. More than likely the 
vicinity of the falls had been visited by white men before that time, 
but none of them attempted to form a permanent settlement. A year 
or so after Mr. Rogers came, Judge Stanfield and a man named Burras 
settled upon the prairie north of Pendleton. In 1820 came the colony 
from Clarke county, Ohio, consisting of William Curtis, Israel Cox, 
Moses Corwin, Thomas and William ^IcCartnej', Saul Shaul, Manly 
Richards and Elias IloUingsworth. ilrs. Hollingsworth accompanied 
her husband and was the first white woman in that settlement, if not in 



I 




I 



Falls at Pendleton 

Madison county. Moses Corwin was the only unmarried man in the 
colony. After selecting lands the married men returned to Ohio and 
brought out their families, traveling with four pack horses and a wagon 
drawn by a team of oxen. That wagon was doubtless the first ever 
brought to the county. Manly Richards evidently settled in what is 
now Adams township, or soon afterward removed there, as the records 
show that some of the early elections in Adams township wei-e held at 
his residence. 

Among the next settlers to come into the township were Isaac Jones, 
Conrad Crossley, Adam Dobson, William, Isaac and Henry Seybert, 
William Neal, Jacob Shaul, Thomas and William Silver, Palmer Pat- 
rick, Kilbourn Morley, John Gunse, Nathaniel Richmond and Adam 
Winsell, the last named becoming one of the first associate judges when 
the county was organized in 1823. About that time there was a large 
influx of immigration to Fall Creek township, and F. M. Richmond, 
Moses Whitecotton, Thomas and James Scott, Enos Adamson, Thomas 
Snyder, Joseph Carter, George Nicholson, Martin Chapman, Isaac and 



HISTORY OK .MADISON COrXTY 69 

Thomas Busby, James Irish, Dr. Lewis Bordwell, Thomas Bell, Dr. 
Henry Wyman and Thomas M. Pendleton, for whom the town of Pen- 
dleton was named, and a number of others located at various points along 
the Fall creek valley. 

One of these pioneers — Moses Whitecotton — was an eccentric char- 
acter who preferred poetry to prose. He was one of the first justices 
of the peace in Fall Creek and it is said kept his court docket in rhyme. 
Uufortunately his old records have disappeared. Once, when his stock 
of provisions ran low, he addressed the following pathetic appeal to 
his neighbor, John Rogers : 

"My family is sick, with nothing to eat, 
I pray you the loan of two bushels of wheat ; 
This favor, if granted, shall ne'er be forgotten, 
As long as my name is Moses Whitecotton." 

Mr. Rogers responded to the plea, as any good neighbor would have 
done in those pioneer days, and in acknowledgment of his obligation 
Mr. Whitecotton executed a note in the following strain : 

"One day after date I promise to pay 
To old John Rogers, without delay. 

One hundred weight of hemp when I make it and break it. 
One dollar I shall not deny ; 
Witness my name this 4th of July. 

Moses Whitecotton." 

One of the first land entries was made by Saul Shaul, who took up 
a part of section 30, about two miles southwest of Pendleton, where he 
developed a farm and planted what was probably the first orchard in 
the county. Nathaniel Richmond, Adam Winsell, John Gunse and 
John Rogers had all planted orchards by 1824, their trees having been 
brought from Henry county. Early in the '30s William Williams 
established a nursery on liis farm about three miles east of Pendleton, 
the first nursery in Madison county. 

The first white child born in the township, and also the first in 
Madison county, was E. P. Hollingsworth, a son of Elias Hollings- 
worth and his wife, the date of his birth having been November 7, 1820. 
Electa Shaul, daughter of Jacob Shaul, born the same night, was the 
first white female child born in the county. 

Stephen Corwin and Miss Hannah Ellsworth were united in mar- 
riage in 1821, which was the first wedding in the township. As Madi- 
son county had not yet been organized, ^Ir. Corwin made the journey 
on horseback to Connersville to procure a marriage license. Furniture 
was scarce at that time in frontier settlements like the one on Fall 
creek and it is said that a door was lifted from its hinges and converted 
into a table, upon which the wedding banquet was served. 

The first deaths were those of a man named ]\Iartin and his wife, 
both of whom were stricken with fever in the fall of 1821 and it is sup- 
posed died about the same time, but as they were alone in their home at 



70 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

the time it is not known which one died first. Their neighbors knew 
nothing of their illness and they had been dead for several days before 
the fact was discovered. Their bodies were buried in the same grave, 
immediately west of the present town of Pendleton. This first visit of 
the Grim Destroyer, and the fact that his victims died unattended, cast 
a gloom over the little settlement, where it was part of each man's 
religion to minister to the wants of his neighbor in times of sickness 
and distress. 

A corn mill was built by Thomas McCartney on the south side of 
Fall creek at the falls in 1821, the first in the township. It was a 
crude affair, as Jlr. ^McCartney dressed the stone and constructed most 
of the machinery himself, but primitive as it was it proved a great boon 
to the settlers, who were thus given an opportunity to have their corn 
ground at home, but for wheat flour they were still compelled to go 
some distance to the mills in the older settlements. Mr. McCartney 
also kept a small stock of goods, consisting of a few staple articles in 
demand among the pioneers, and a line of trinkets — beads, cheap jew- 
elry, small looking glasses, etc. — adapted to trade with the Indians. 
He likewise started a tannery in 1827. 

In course of time the McCartney mill gave way to a larger and bet- 
ter appointed one, built by Thomas Bell on the opposite side of the 
creek and equipped for grinding both corn and wheat. The falls are 
situated upon section 16, set apart by Congress for school purposes, 
but that portion of the section including the falls was bought by James 
M. Irish of the county treasurer at a sale of school lands, and later Mr. 
Irish became the owner of the mill erected by Mr. Bell. Sometime 
in, the '30s he transferred the property to his son, Samuel D. Irish, 
and went to Texas. In 1848 he returned to Madison county, where he 
remained for about a year, when he again went to Texas and died there. 
He was a man of progressive ideas, very dark complexioned, on account 
of which he was called "Black Hawk" by his neighbors. This mill, 
known as the "Cataract Mills," was destroyed by fire on July 13, 1882. 

About 1850 a movement was started to restore the falls property to 
the school fund, but the period of twenty years peaceable possession 
had about expired and definite action in the matter was postponed 
until it was too late. 

]\Iost of the early settlers were of a religious turn of mind and soon 
after locating in the township they took the necessary steps for the 
establishment of church organizations. The first Methodist church had 
its beginning in 1823, though no house of worship was erected until 
1839. Antioch Methodist church, at Menden, was organized in 1831 ; 
a Baptist church about 1830; the society of Friends or Quakers in 1834; 
the United Brethren in 1836, and the Universalists in 1859. An ac- 
count of these different congregations will be found in the chapter on 
Church History. 

In a grove a short distance below the falls, Frederick Douglass, a 
negro of national reputation, in 1843 undertook to deliver a public 
address on the subject of slavery. He was at that time making a tour 
of the western states, stopping at places where there were a number of 
Friends, who were universally recognized as abolitionists. Unable to 



72 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

secure a hall, a platform was erected in the grove, but Mr. Douglass 
had been speaking Ijut a short time when a man named Rix walked up 
to the stand and called upon his associates — Duke Scott, Thomas Col- 
lins, Peter Runnels and some others — to "come and help clean him 
out." Douglass was alarmed and tried to escape by climbing over a 
fence immediately back of the platform, but before he could do so 
was struck by a stone and severely injured. His friends took him to the 
home of Neal Hardy, where he remained until he recovered and it was 
deemed safe for him to leave the neighborhood. 

The incident caused considerable excitement. Some of the leaders of 
the mob were arrested, but while the sheriff was conducting them to 
Anderson he was met by a company of men who demanded the release 
of the prisoners. For a time it looked as though serious trouble was 
imminent. The release of Runnels was finally agreed to and the mob 
disbanded. The other prisoners were taken to Anderson and lodged in 
jail, but were subsequently released. Since that time public opinion 
has changed and a colored man is as free from assault or insult in 
Madison county as anywhere in the United States. 

Just when and where the first schoolhouse in Fall Creek township 
was erected is largely a matter of conjecture. The early settlers be- 
lieved in education, however, and subscription schools were maintained 
until after the enactment of the school law of 1851. Then a number 
of frame school houses were built, one of which was still in use as late 
as 1880. In 1876 two brick school houses were erected — one in district 
No. 1 and the other in district No. 5. In 1912 there were eleven dis- 
tricts in the township outside of Pendleton, but as several of these had 
been consolidated there were but nine teachers employed in 1912-13, a 
number of the old houses standing vacant. The amount paid in teach- 
ers' salaries for the year was $5,188.78. 

Pendleton, a little west of the center, and Huntsville, about a mile 
up Fall creek from Pendleton, are the only towns of importance in 
Fall Creek township. At the intersection of two public highways, 
three and a half miles south of Pendleton, was once the village of Men- 
den. A general store was established there by Thomas Jordan at an 
early day and the village grew up around the store. Jordan sold out 
to Morgan Drury and about that time a postoffiee was established there 
with Mr. Drury as the first postmaster. The postoffiee was discon- 
tinued in 1851, Jonathan Wiseman then being in charge of the office as 
postmaster. Public school No. 11, the United Brethren church, the 
cemetery and one dwelling constitute all that is left of the old village. 

Green Township 

Green township occupies the southwest corner of the county, is four 
miles in width from east to west, six miles long from north to south, 
and contains an area of twenty-four square miles, or 15,360 acres, 
nearly all of which is capable of being cultivated. It is bounded on 
the north by Stony Creek township; on the east by Fall Creek town- 
ship; on the south by Hancock county, and on the west by the county 
of Hamilton. The source of its name is uncertain. Many think it was 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNT i^ 73 

named for Nathaniel Greene, one of the leading generals in the Con- 
tinental army during the Revolutionary war, but as the name of the 
township always appears in the records without the final "e," it is 
quite likely that it was derived from the verdure of the forests that 
practically covered the entire surface at the time the township was 
organized in 1826. 

The first white man to settle within the present limits of the town- 
ship was Jacob Hiday, wlio in 1821 came from Ohio with his wife, four 
children — Catharine, Henrj', Susan and Mary — and a grandson, Thomas 
Hiday. Mr. Hiday settled on the south side of Lick creek, on section 
2, township 17, range 6, not far from where the village of Alfont was 
afterward laid out. He was a man of strong character and, though old 
enough to be a grandfather at the time he came to Madison county, took 
an active part in public affairs. He was one of the early justices of the 
peace and was a leader in .securing many of the improvements in the 
township in early days. 

Samuel HoUiday, who was one of the first associate judges of the 
county, came from Kentucky in 1822 and located about half a mile 
north of Mr. Hiday. He was in all probability the second settler. 
Judge Holliday was a well educated man and as associate judge made 
a good record. His son, William A., became a Presbyterian minister 
of note, and Joseph, another son, served with distinction in the ^Mexican 
war and later represented Blackford county in the Indiana legislature. 
After serving as associate judge for several years, Samuel Holliday 
removed to Hamilton county and died there in 1835. 

The settlement of the township was slow for a few years. In 1825 
William Huston came from Virginia and Richard Kinnaman from 
South Carolina. The next year witnessed the arrival of Abraham 
Cottrell, a native of Ohio, and during the next five years there were a 
number of newcomers. Among them were Andrew Shanklin, Walter 
Kinnanftn, John and Charles Doty, Peter Colerick, John Cottrell, John 
Huston, Thomas Scott, Elijah Bolinger, Samuel Gibson, William A. 
Williamson, William Nicholson, Robert Fausset, James Jones, William 
Alfont, George Keffer and Washington W. Pettigrew. 

Most of these early settlers were from Virginia, South Carolina or 
Tennessee, though the Dotys came from Pennsylvania and William 
Nicholson from Ohio. Near the close of the Mexican war Mr. Nichol- 
son raised a company of volunteers, but the war closed before his com- 
pany could be accepted and mustered in. At the time of the Civil war 
he was captain of a company of home-guards and was one of the first 
militia officers in the state to tender the services of himself and his men 
to repel the invasion of the notorious Confederate guerrilla, General 
John H. Morgan. 

One of the most prominent of these pioneers of Green township was 
Andrew Shanklin, who came from Virginia with his family in 1830 
and located on section 13, in the northeastern part of the township. 
He soon became a leader in the little community ; was elected justice of 
the peace in 1840; was a delegate to the constitutional convention in 
1850, and two years later was elected to represent Madison county in 
the lower branch of the state legislature. Samuel Gibson, a Tennesseean, 



74 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

was also a prom'.nent citizen of Green and served as justice of the peace 
for a number of years. 

The first orchard was planted by Richard Kinnaman in 1826. Jacob 
Hiday, Samuel Holliday, George Keffer, Abraham Cottrell and James 
Scott all planted orchards a little later, obtaining their trees at Mal- 
lory's nursery in Hamilton county, not far from Noblesville. 

The first distillery was established by Richard Kinnaman in 1840, 
and the first tan-yard by Captain William Nicholson four years later. 
Kinnaman 's distillery was located on section 21, near the western 
boundary, and Nicholson's tan-yard was on the northeast quarter of 
the same section. 

The first school house was built in 1829, on the farm of James Jones, 
and a fund was raised by subscription to employ John Wilson, as the 
first teacher. He taught three months in the winter of 1829-30, which 
was the first school ever taught in the township. The second school 
house was built in 1837, on section 25, near the eastern boundary, and 
John Lewark taught the first school in this house the ensuing winter. 
A frame house was afterward built on the site. In 1912 there were 
seven brick school buildings valued at $14,000, and the nine teachers 
employed during the school year of 1912-13 received in salaries the 
sum of $4,936. 

Ingalls is the only town of importance in the township. The vil- 
lage of Alfont, a short distance west of Ingalls, was laid out by Wil- 
liam Alfont about 1850. Some fifteen years before that time Mr. Alfont 
had established a small sawmill on Lick creek, from which power was 
procured to run the mill. This mill was burned in 1847, but was 
replaced by a steam mill, which did a successful business for a number 
of years. A few persons settled in the immediate vicinity and when 
the old Belief ontaine (now the Cleveland division of the Big Four) 
railroad was completed across the southeast corner of Green township, 
Mr. Alfont had a town regularly platted and named it after himself. 
For a time the venture prospered. A postoffice was established with 
William Molden as postmaster. Mr. Molden was also engaged in busi- 
ness as a general merchant. A warehouse was erected and a consider- 
able quantity of grain was shipped. Other business enterprises came 
in, but when Fortville, two miles west, came into prominence it proved 
to be the greater attraction and the growth of Alfont suffered a decided 
check thereby. With the establishment of Ingalls, only half a mile 
away, in 1893, Alfont passed into history. 



CHAPTER VI 

TOWNSHIP HISTORY, Continued 

Jackson — Lafayette — Monkoe — Pipe Creek — Richland — Stony 
Creek — Union — Van Buren — Settlement and Organization of 
Each — Early Schools and Churches — ^Mention op Prominent 
Pioneers — Primitive Industries and Roads — Extinct Towns and 
Villages, Etc. 

Jackson Township 

Jackson is the middle township of the western tier. It is bounded 
on the north by Pipe Creek and Lafayette townships; on the east by 
Lafayette and Anderson ; on the south by Stony Creek township, and 
on the west by Hamilton county, and contains an area of twenty-eight 
Square miles. The White river flows across the township from east to 
west in the southern part, the northwestern part is watered by Pipe creek 
and its tributaries, and Stony creek has its source in the southeast comer. 
Along the streams the surface is rather hilly, but farther back it is so 
level that artificial drainage is necessary in order to bring the exceed- 
ingly fertile soil under cultivation. Jackson is one of the first five 
townships to be organized in thfe county and was named after General 
Andrew Jackson, who was president of the United States from 1829 to 
1837. 

Sometime in the year 1821 two men named Dewey and Kinser, with 
their families, came to what is now Jackson township. Mr. Dewey built 
his cabin on the south side of the White river, opposite the present vil- 
lage of Perkinsville, and Kinser located about a mile and half farther 
up the river. Neither of these men entered land, nor did they remain 
long in the county. In the spring of 1822 Daniel Wise came from Rosa 
county, Ohio, and the following October entered four hundred acres of 
land on the south side of the river, including the cabin that had been 
occupied by Kinser the preceding year. This was the first entry of 
land made in the township. Prior to that time, however, Benoni Freel 
had cleared land and built a cabin opposite Perkinsville, not far from 
the Dewey cabin, and it is believed that he was the first actual settler. 

Others who came during the year 1822 were the Montgomerj's — 
David, William and John-^George Cunningham and Robert Blair, all 
from Ohio.- During the next three years a number of pioneers located 
lands in the township. Among them were Thomas Forkner, James 
White, the two John Connors (senior and junior). Matthew Connor, 
James, Alexander and George ]\IcClintock, Lemuel Auter, Joseph Lee 

75 



76 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



and William Parkins. The last named, with his wife and seven chil- 
dren, came in the fall of 1825 and pitched his tent on the north bank of 
the White river, where Perkinsville now stands, and remained there 
until he leased a tract of land from Daniel Wise and built a cabin, into 
which he moved his family about Christmas. Mr. Parkins preached the 
first funeral sermon in the township over the remains of a young man 
who was killed by the falling of a burning tree in a clearing. He was 
also a blacksmith, as well as a preacher, and soon after becoming set- 
tled in his cabin on the Wise farm he opened the first blacksmith shop 
in the township. 

About 1825 the Indianapolis & Fort Wayne road was surveyed 
through this region, and during the following fall and winter was cut 




Scene Near Perkinsville 

out by the settlers. It was the first road through this portion of Madi- 
son county. 

In the spring of 1826 John Ash by brought his family from Ross 
county, Ohio, and settled near the present village of Halford, where he 
died about two years later. His son, John Ashby, Jr., who was about 
eighteen years of age when the familj^ settled in Jackson township, 
assisted in supporting the family and in 1842 opened the first tavern 
in Hamilton (now Halford). Among others who settled in the vicinity 
of Halford about this time were Joel White, Robert Cather, Joseph 
Miller, Joel Epperly, and the Robinett, Harless and Benefiel families. 

The first white child born in Jackson township was Sarah, daughter 
of Lemuel Auter, but the date of her birth is not known. The first 
marriage was in 1825, when Isaac Shelton and Delilah Crist were made 
man and wife. The first death was that of William Montgomery. The 



niSTOKV OK .AIADISUN COUNTY 77 

first brick house was erected in 1827 l)y Robert Blair on his farm op- 
posite Perkinsville. 

One of the great needs of the early settlers was a mill of some de- 
scription. It was fourteen miles by the nearest route from the settlement 
near Perkinsville to the McCartney mill at Pendleton, which was the 
nearest place where corn could be converted into meal. No roads had 
as yet been opened and the task of going to mill was one to be dreaded. 
In this emergency AVilliani Parkins set his ingenuity and industry to 
work and constructed a small mill, to be operated by hand power. The 
stones, which he dressed himself, were of native limestone, and the 
remainder of the "machinery" consisted principally of round poles. 
By the exercise of sufficient "elbow grease" this mill would grind about 
a bushel of meal an hour. It did not lack for patronage, as the settlers 
within a radius of several miles brought their corn and frequently 
furnished the power to grind their own grists. As the population in- 
creased in numbers, the old hand mill became inadequate to supply the 
demand. Again Jlr. Parkins came to the rescue. With the assistance 
of his neighbors he constructed a dam across the White river in front 
of where Perkinsville now stands and built a small mill to be run by 
water power. The dam was made chiefly of logs and brush, weighted 
down with stones. The mill was a little log building containing one run 
of buhrs, or stones, which were fashioned by Mr. Parkins and his son 
James out of glacial bowlders, or "nigger heads." Such a mill would 
be regarded as insignificant in this day, but at that time it was looked 
upon as a triumph of mechanical genius. Subsequently a run of buhra 
was added for grinding wheat, the flour being bolted upon a machine 
operated by hand. 

Some years later this mill propert.y w^as purchased by Andrew Jack- 
son, of Anderson, who in 1846 erected a large frame building, in which 
he installed the best milling machinery that day afforded. A sawmill 
was added in 1854. ]\Ir. Jackson subscribed for stock in the old Indian- 
apolis & Bellefontaine Railroad Company and through this deal the 
mill passed into the hands of the railroad company, which afterward 
sold it to James M. and David B. Jackson, sons of the former owner. 
After operating it for some years, they sold it to Jacob Zeller, who in 
turn sold it to Alfred Clark. On the night of August 19, 1884, the 
building, with all its machinery and a large quantity of grain, was 
totall.v destroyed by fire and has never been rebuilt. 

Kingman's History of Madison County is authority for the state- 
ment that the first school in the township was taught in the year 1825, 
in the cabin that had been erected by Mr. Dewey some four years 
before, and that the teacher was a man named Williams. Among the 
scholars were three or four of the Wise boys, about the same number 
of the ]\IeClintock boys and Joseph Lee. The second school house was 
built a year or two later on section 34, on the Wise farm, a third was 
built a little later on the north side of the White river. Both were small 
log buildings of the usual frontier type, and the schools taught in them 
were subscription or "pay" schools. After the introduction of the 
public school system, better school houses were erected. In 1912 Jack- 



78 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

son had six brick buildings, valued at $10,000. During the school year 
of 1912-13 nine teachers were employed and received in salaries the 
sum of $3,636.75. 

About 1824 a Methodist class was organized, with Benoni Freel as 
the first class leader, and the first regular services were held in the 
Dewey cabin. Sometime in the '40s a United Brethren church was 
organized at the house of Samuel Gentry, a short distance from Perkins- 
ville. A Christian church was organized at Hamilton about 1857 by 
Rev. Carey Harrison, but no house of worship was ever erected by the 
congregation, and in April, 1866, a Methodist Protestant church was 
organized at Hamilton with eight members. 

Perkinsville, on the north side of the White river near the western 
boundary, and Halford, on the south side of the river, about four miles 
east of Perkinsville, are the only villages in the township. In what is 
known as the McCliutock neighborhood, near the site of an old Indian 
village and burying groimd, was once a little hamlet called Nancytown, 
but it is now extinct and the ground where it stood is used for farm- 
ing purposes. 

Lafayette Township 

This township is centrally located and is the only civil township in 
the county whose boundaries coincide with the Congressional township 
lines, it being six miles square and embracing township No. 20 north of 
range 7 east. On the north it is bounded by the towmships of Monroe 
and Pipe Creek ; on the east by Richland ; on the south by Anderson and 
Jackson, and on the west by Jackson and Pipe Creek. The surface 
being generally level, the lands were originally too wet to carry on 
farming successfully, but in 1875 an extensive sj'stem of artificial drain- 
age was inaugurated that has made this township one of the most desir- 
able in the county for agricultural purposes. 

In 1831 Henry Ry brought his family from North Carolina and 
settled on section 36, in the extreme southeast corner of the township, 
where North Anderson now stands. There he built a cabin of round 
logs, the first civilized habitation in the township. During his ten years' 
residence here he made many substantial improvements, but about 1841 
he sold his farm and removed to Randolph county, Indiana, where he 
passed the remainder of his life. 

In the spring of 1832 John Croan, who had previously settled in 
Anderson township, in 1828, removed with his family to section 35, in 
what is now Lafayette township and established a new home, about 
half a mile north of Henry Ry's cabin. Later in the same year Reuben 
Junks, George Mustard and John B. Penniston came from Ross county, 
Ohio, and founded homes in this township. James Baily also came 
from Ohio in this year, but soon became dissatisfied and returned to the 
Buckeye State. Reed Wilson, of Wayne county, Indiana, came in the 
spring of 1834 and settled on what was later known as the Pierce farm, 
and about the same time Jordan Newton came from Ohio and settled 
on the Stanley farm. The next year (1835) there was a considerable 
tide of immigration to the township, Isaac Jones, William Lower, James 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 79 

Finney, Samuel Fetty, John JIaggart, David Gooding and Mrs. Mar- 
garet Shinkle all entering lands and becoming permanent residents. 
Gooding was a Kentiickian, who had served as an aide-de-camp under 
Colonel Richard M. Johnson in the War of 1812, and was present at 
the battle of the Thames, where Colonel Johnson was wounded by the 
famous Shawnee chief, Tecumseh. 

In July, 1836, James Hollingsworth settled upon the farm where 
he lived for many years, and soon after his arrival he built a carding 
machine, which he conducted successfully until it was destroyed by a 
flood in 1838. He had not been in the township verj' long before he 
started the movement for its organization. He circulated the petition, 
which was signed by himself, John B. Penniston, John Croan, Isaac 
Jones, Reuben Junks, Reed Wilson, Henrj- Ry, Jordan Newton, George 
Mustard, George Moore, William Lower, Enos Mustard, John Maggart, 
George Rains, Samuel Fetty, David Gooding and James Finney — the 
entire voting population living within the territory it was proposed 
to incorporate in the new township. The petition was duly presented 
to the county commissioners, who on November 9, 1836, issued the order 
for the erection of the to^^^lship, as shown by the following entry taken 
from the records of that date : 

"Ordered by the board that a new township be stricken off from 
the townships of Richland, Jackson and Pipe Creek, said new town- 
ship shall include all of Congressional township 20, north of range 
7 east, and no more, and that all elections shall be held at the house 
of John Maggart therein, and the said new township shall be known and 
designated by the name and style of Lafayette township." 

The name was suggested by James Hollingsworth, in honor of the 
Marquis de La Fayette, the gallant French general who rendered such 
timely and efficient aid to the struggling armies of the American colonies 
in the war for independence. Mr. Hollingsworth was also inspector 
of the first election, which was held at the house of John Maggart, as 
directed by the commissioners, on January 17, 1837. On that occasion 
no ballot-box had been provided and the inspector used his hat as a 
receptacle for the tickets. At that election John Maggart received a 
majority of the votes for Justice of the peace and Enos Mustard was 
chosen township clerk. 

Almost immediately following the organization of the township 
there was a decided increase in the population. By 1840 the following 
persons had founded homes and were developing farms : Daniel Sigler, 
Allen Simmons, Lewis and George Baily, Thomas G. Clark, Matthew 
Taylor, Samuel Moore, Henry Purgett, John Ridgeway, Washington 
Trotter, Zail and George Rains, Caleb Dehority, James Closser, Francis 
Colburn, Nathaniel G. Lewis, John Clock, James Wier, Joseph Van 
Meter, Samuel Westerfield, George Hilligoss, Sr., Robert and Samuel 
Gooding, John Burk and James Stover. 

Annis Croan, daughter of John and Sarah Croan, who was born in 
1834, was the first white child born in Lafayette township. The first 
marriage was celebrated on March 19, 1838, the contracting parties 
being James Hollingsworth and Miss Elizabeth Shinkle, and the first 
death was that of Reuben Junks. 



80 HISTORY OF MADISON COL'XTY 

George Mustard planted the first orchard in the township soon after 
settling there, procuring his trees from Dempsy Wilson, of Anderson 
township. The first mill was huilt by George Millspaugh and James 
Stevenson in 1851. It was a small steam sawmill and was first located 
on the farm of Patrick Ryan, but subsequently was removed else- 
where. In 1870 Roadcap & Van Winkle built a steam sawmill where 
the village of P'lorida is now situated. Two months after it went into 
operation the boiler exploded, completely wrecking the mill, killing 
Perry Moore and a man named Wolf and severely injuring the engineer, 
Solomon Muck. 

A small log school house was erected in 1840, near the site afterward 
occupied by public school No. 7, and the first school in the township was 
taught there in the fall of that year by John Penniston. The first frame 
school house was built in the same locality in 1857 and was the first to 
be erected as a public school. In 1912 there were eleven districts, each 
provided with a modern brick building, the estimated value of the eleven 
houses being $22,000. Sixteen teachers were employed during the school 
years of 1912-13, receiving $7,666 in salaries. 

A Methodist society was organized at the house of William Lower in 
the fall of 1836, by Rev. Robert Burns. A Christian church was formed 
in May, 1869, and the New Lights and United Brethren also established 
churches in the township. Accounts of these organizations will be found 
in the chapter on Church Historj'. 

Florida, on the Pittsburgh, Cincinnati. Chicago & St. Louis (Pan 
Handle) Railroad, and Linwood, on the ilichigan division of the Big 
Four, are the only villages of consequence. The town of Frankton is 
situated near the boundary line between Lafayette and Pipe Creek town- 
ships. Soon after the Pan Handle railroad was built in 1856, a ware- 
house was established on the road a mile and a half northwest of Florida 
and a general store was also opened there. For a time the trains stopped 
at Keller's Station, as the place was called, John Keller being the owner 
of the land upon which the station was situated. Owing to an insulifi- 
cient patronage the store-keeper disposed of his stock of goods and the 
warehouse was likewise an unprofitable venture. Trains ceased to stop 
there and Keller's Station is now only a memory. 

Monroe Township 

This township is the largest in Madison county. It is six miles in 
width from north to south ; the northern boundary is nine miles and the 
southern eight miles in length, and the area of the township is fifty- 
one square miles, or 32,640 acres. Pipe Creek flows a southwesterly 
course across the township, entering near the northeast corner and 
crossing the western boundary a little south of the center. The south- 
eastern portion is drained by Little Pipe and Killbuck creeks and the 
northwestern part by Mud and Lilly creeks. Along Pipe creek the sur- 
face is somewhat undulating, but the greater part of the township is 
generally level. The soil is fertile and some of the finest farms in the 
county are in Monroe township. 

The first white settlers to locate in what is now Monroe township 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 81 

were George Marsh and Micajah Chamness, who in the spring of 1831 
came from North Carolina and made the first land entries in that part 
of the county. Chaniness entered the west half of the northwest quar- 
ter of section 19 and the east half of the northeast quarter of section 
24, all of which now lies within the corporate limits of the city of Alex- 
andria. His cabin, erected on this tract, was the first habitation estab- 
lished by a white man within the present limits of the township. 
Sometime during the following year, James M. James entered a part 
of section 25, about a mile down the creek from the Chamness cabin. 
Morgan James settled on Little Pipe creek, a short distance south of 
Alexandria, and Annon James entered land near the mouth of Mud 
creek. 

In 1833 William Chamness and James Tomlinson, the former from 
North Carolina and the latter from Clermont county, Ohio, both set- 
tled in the neighborhood and during the next two years a number of 
immgrants founded homes in the township. Among them were Jesse 
Vermillion, from Lawrence county, Ohio, Thornberry Moffit, from Rush 
county, Indiana, David L. Pickard, from Maine, Stephen and John 
Marsh, Peter Edwards and Stephen Fenimore. The descendants of 
some of these pioneers still reside in Madison county. 

One agency that materially aided the settlement of this portion of 
the county was the opening of two public highways in 1830. One of 
these was the Indianapolis & Fort Wayne road and the other was the 
road from Fort Wayne to Shelbyville. These two roads, which form a 
junction near the northern line of the present township of Monroe, 
were the first opened through that section of the county. Over them 
were carried the early mails and they served as a stimulus to the white 
man to move in and occupy a district in which the Indian had, up to 
that time, been the only inhabitant. Compared with some of the im- 
proved highways of the present day, they were poor affairs. At the 
present time the township is well supplied with good country roads, 
while the Big Four and Lake Erie & Western railroads and the lines of 
the Indiana Union Traction Company furnish unsurpassed transporta- 
tion facilities to all parts of the township. 

By the close of the year 1835 the population was considered suffi- 
ciently large to justify the organization of a new township. A petition 
was accordingly prepared and circulated, and it was signed by prac- 
tically every voter residing within the territory it was proposed to 
include. At the January term of the commissioners' court in 1836 the 
following action was taken by the board : 

"On petition filed, it is ordered that the following described terri- 
tory be stricken from Richland township, to wit: Commencing on the 
country line, where the to^vnship line dividing townships 20 and 21 
north crosses the same; running thence north with the county line to 
the northeast corner of Madison county; thence west with the north line 
of said county to the northeast corner of Pipe Creek township ; thence 
south with tlie east line of Pipe Creek township to the line dividing 
townships 20 and 21 north ; thence east on said line to the place of 
beginning, and that said territory so stricken off be organized into a 
separate township to be known and designated by the name of Monroe 



82 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

township. All elections are ordered to be held at the residence of 
Micajah Chamness until otherwise ordered." 

As established by this order, Monroe township included all of the 
present township of Van Buren and the eastern half of Boone township. 
The township was named in honor of James Monroe, the sixth presi- 
dent of the United States. The first election was held at the designated 
plae'fe*jn April, 1836, and David L. Pickard was elected justice of the 
peace. Mr. Pickard seems to have been one of the most prominent 
pioneers. Besides being the first justice of the peace in Monroe town- 
ship, he was the first postmaster at Alexandria when the office was 
established, and was the first hotel keeper in that town. His hotel 
was built in 1838, though previous to that time he had been accustomed 
to entertaining travelers at his residence. 

About the time the township was organized, or soon afterward, the 
population was augmented by the arrival of John Banks, Evan Ellis, 
John Brunt, Elijah Williamson, John Cree, Joseph Hall, Jacob Price, 
John Chitwood, Lorenzo Carver, Hildria Lee, Baxter Davis and some 
others. 

The first school was taught by John Brunt in 1837. Twelve pupils 
were enrolled in this school, but the exact location where it was taught 
is uncertain. David L. Pickard built the first regular school house in 
1839. Richard Edwards was one of the pioneer teachers. In 1912 there 
were sixteen school districts in the township, outside of the city of 
Alexandria. Ten of these districts were provided with brick buildings 
and six houses were frame, the value of all being estimated at $33,400. 
During the school year of 1912-13 there were twenty-six teachers em- 
ployed in the township schools and the payroll for the year amounted 
to $7,852. 

The first brick house in the township was built by Peter Edwards, 
who came in 1835 and settled on the land afterward known as the 
Abram Miller farm, where he erected a brick residence soon afterward. 
The first deaths were two'members of the Hyatt family and the third was 
that of Micajah Chamness. 

There is a rumor, but it is not well founded, that a small corn mill 
was built on Pipe creek, about a mile northeast of Alexandria, soon 
after the first settlers located in that vicinity. The first mill of which 
there is any authentic record was a saw and grist-mill built by James 
M. James on Pipe creek, about a mile west of Alexandria, in 1834. A 
few years later Henry Huff established a saw-mill about two miles 
farther up the creek. In the early days Pipe creek abounded in fish and 
old settlers have been heard to relate how they would fish at James' 
mill of nights, with the wolves howling in the woods around them. 

Alexandria, located a little west of the center of the township, at 
the junction of the Big Four and Lake Erie & Western railroads, is 
the most important town. Orestes, formerly known as Lowry Station, 
is situated on the Lake Erie & Western, two and a half miles west of 
Alexandria. On the same line of railway, near the eastern boundary 
of the county, is the station of Oilman, and the old village of Osceola 
is situated in the northwest part, on section 4 of range 7. Osceola was 
laid out in 1855 and was named for the celebrated Seminole chief. At 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 83 

one time it promised to become a place of some importance. E. M. 
Trowbridge opened a general store there soon after the town was laid 
out and when the postofiSce was established he was appointed the first 
postmaster. David Perry established the first blacksmith shop and 
Absalom Webb was the first shoemaker. A large steam saw-mill was 
built, but after the most valuable timber had been manufactured into 
lumber the mill was taken away. The loss of the mill, the building of 
railroads through other parts of the county, and the discontinuance of 
the postofiSce, all had a tendency to cheek the growth and prosperity 
of Osceola, and about all that remains is the public school and a few 
residences. 

The first religious organization in the township was the Little Kill- 
buck Old School Baptist church, which was formed on June 18, 1842, 
at the house of Moses Maynard, with ten members. About the same 
time a Methodist congregation was organized at Alexandria. The 
Lilly Creek Christian church was established also in 1842 ; the Alex- 
andria Christian church in 1852 ; the Lilly Creek Baptist church in 
1868, and in more recent years the Baptist, Presbyterian and Episcopal 
churches of Alexandria have been organized and neat houses of wor- 
ship have been erected. 

By far the greater part of the history of Monroe township centers 
about the city of Alexandria and many of the important events will 
be treated in the chapter on cities and towns. 

Pipe Creek Township 

Next to Monroe, Pipe Creek township is the largest in the county, 
having an area of forty-three square miles, or 27,520 acres. It is 
bounded on the north by Boone and Duck Creek townships; on the east 
by Monroe and Lafayette ; on the south by Lafayette and Jackson, and 
on the west by the counties of Tipton and Hamilton. It is the most 
irregularly shaped township in the county, having seven outside and 
three inside corners. Pipe creek, the stream that gave name to the 
township, enters near the northeast corner of section 21 of range 7, 
flows a southwesterly direction past the city of Elwood, and crosaea 
the southern boundary about two miles east of the Hamilton county 
line. Its principal tributary in the township is the Big Branch, which 
flows through the central portion, and the northwestern part is watered 
by the Big and Little Duck creeks. The surface is quite level and the 
soil is exceedingly fertile, though the expenditure of a considerable 
sum of money in the construction of ditches was necessary before agri- 
culture could be carried on successfully. The township is now thor- 
oughly drained and produces excellent crops. 

In 1830 Joseph Shell settled on section 11, township 20, range 6, 
near the southern border of the township and about two and a half 
miles east of the county line. He had come from Ohio in 1826 and had 
spent the intervening years in Jackson township. Settlement was slow 
for about two years after Mr. Shell's arrival, but in 1832 several per- 
sons located near where the town of Frankton now stands. Among 
them were Walter and William Etchison, from North Carolina, Reuben 



84 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

KeUy, from Virginia, Samuel Howard, from Wayne county, Indiana, 
John, Peter and Job Chamness. In 1833 John Beeson, from Wayne 
county, Indiana, and Jacob Sigler, from Virginia, entered the land 
upon which Erankton is now situated. Elijah Dwiggins also settled 
in the township this ypar. 

On May 13, 1833, the board of county commissioners passed the 
following order for the erection of the township: 

"Ordered that there be a new township organized and stricken 
off from Jackson township as follows, to wit : Beginning on the county 
line at the southwest corner of section 9, in township No. 20, in range 
6 east; ninning thence east on the section line to the southeast corner 
of section No. 8, township 20, range 7 east ; thence north to the county 
line; thence west to the northwest corner of the county, thence south 
along the county line to the place of beginning ; to be known and desig- 
nated by the name and style of Pipe Creek township. It is also ordered 
that the sheriff notify citizens of said township, that they, on the last 
Saturday in June next, proceed to elect one justice of the peace in said 
township, and that all elections in said township be holden at the house 
of Walter Etchison until otherwise ordered by the board." 

Pursuant to this order, the first election was held on June 29, 1833 
(the last Saturday in the month), at the house of Walter Etchison and 
James Beeson was elected the first justice of the peace for the township 
of Pipe Creek. 

As originally established, Pipe Creek township included all its 
present area except three square miles; four square miles in what is 
now the northwest corner of Lafayette township ; all of Duck Creek, 
ajid ten square miles of the western part of what is now the township 
of Boone. Two years later — at the May term in 1835 — a strip two 
miles wide and extending the full length of the township, was taken 
from Richland and added to the east side of Pipe Creek, giving the 
latter township an area of 104 square miles, or almost the northwest- 
em one-fourth of the county. At the same time Jesse Harris was 
appointed constable ; James French and Jesse Etchison, supervisors ; 
William Flint and Jacob Sigler, overseers of the poor; Robin Erwin 
and Jeremiah Derry, fence viewers ; and an order was issued for an 
election to be held on the first Monday in June, for the purpose of 
electing an additional justice of the peace. 

From the organization of the township to 1840, a large number of 
new settlers came in. Among the best known, or those who afterward 
became prominently identified with township affairs, were Noah Way- 
mire, John and Daniel Dwiggins, Henry Plummer, James and William 
Montgomery, James Barrow, Caleb Canaday, Dr. W. H. Ebert, Ben- 
jamin and Hezekiah Denny, Edmund Johnson, James French, Jonathan 
Reeder, John Benefiel, James M. Dehority, Hezekiah and Sterling Kid- 
well, Arthur Legg, Joseph and Jonathan Miller, James Tharp, Davis 
Wilborn, Lindsey Blue, John Hardy, Jacob French, Frank Dennis, 
Robin Erwin and Jeremiah Derry. Several of these pioneers held posi- 
tions of trust and responsibility and some of their descendants still reside 
in the township. 

About 1839 or 1840 a small corn mill was put up on the Big Branch, 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 85 

near the point where that stream is now crossed by the Pan Handle 
Railroad. It was not much of a mill and was called a "wet weather 
corn cracker," because it could run successfully only when there was 
a good stage of water in the creek. However, it made a good quality 
of corn meal and saved the adjacent settlers many a weary journey 
through the woods and over almost impassable roads to the mills at 
Perkinsville and Anderson, whither they had gone before the mill on 
the Big Branch was erected. A saw-mill was established about the same 
time on Pipe creek, three miles above Frankton, by Joseph and Daniel 
Franklin. 

Elijah Dwiggins opened the first store in the township in 1837, a 
short distance west of Frankton. His stock of goods consisted mainly 
of such staples as sugar, coffee, salt, calico, etc. Money was rare -on 
the frontier and coonskins and other peltries were made to perform, 
to a large extent, the functions of currency. 

The first school was taught by a Mr. Perry in 1836, in a house 
erected for the purpose on Jacob Sigler's farm, near the present town 
of Frankton. Other pioneer teachers were Hezekiah Denny, Tilghman 
Armfield, John Ring and Joseph Sigler. The last named taught for a 
number of years. In 1854 he was elected county auditor and held the 
ofiSce for eight years. In 1912 the fifteen brick school houses in the 
township were valued at $40,000 and the number of teachers employed 
was thirteen, two houses having no school on account of a consolida- 
tion of districts. The amount paid in teachers' salaries was $5,474. 
This does not include the schools in the corporations of Elwood and 
Frankton. 

Sometime in the sunnner of 1836 a Methodist church was organized 
at the house of Reuben Kelly. This was probably the first religious 
society in the township. The Frankton Christian church was formed 
in 1839, a IMethodist Protestant congregation was organized at Elwood 
about the close of the Civil war in 1865, and after the discovery of 
natural gas several new church organizations sprang into existence. 

New Madison was the first village in Pipe Creek township. It was 
laid out by John Chamness on December 3, 1849, and was situated on 
Pipe creek, about two miles above Frankton. It was also called Cham- 
nesstown. About two years later James Hilldrup and a man named 
Sanders laid out a town called Monticello, about two miles northwest 
of Frankton. Mr. Hilldrup opened a store there, and at one time the 
town boasted, besides the store, a blacksmith shop, a school house and 
six or seven residences. Neither of these old towns is any longer on the 
map. 

Elwood, the second largest city in Madison county, is situated in 
the northwest corner of this township, at the junction of the Pan Han- 
dle and the Lake Erie & Western railroads. Frankton, on the Pan 
Handle railroad, five miles southeast of Elwood, is an incorporated 
town of importance. In the chapter relating to Cities and Towns may 
be found the history of Elwood and Frankton, together with numerous 
events pertaining to those sections of the township. 

Four and a half miles east of Elwood on the Lake Erie & Western 
Railroad, is the village of Dundee. The first settler here was Riley 



86 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Etchison, who opened a store "in the woods" in the early '50s and 
like Elijah Dwiggins traded staples for coonskins, ginseng, etc. His 
store was not on any road, but the settlers found their way through the 
woods aod the proprietor did a thriving business. When the railroad 
was built past his place in the '70s, the town of Dundee, like Topsy 
in Uncle Tom's Cabin, "just growed." At first the place was called 
"Mudsock," on account of the character of the soil, but on December 
6, 1883, Mr. Etchison filed a plat of the village with the county recorder 
under the name of Dundee, which name had been given to the post- 
ofiBce established there on December 26, 1876, with A. S. Wood as the 
first postmaster. 

Richland Township 

On March 4, 1834, the county commissioners issued the following 
order, as shown by the records of that date: "It is ordered by this 
board that there be a new township organized in the county of Madi- 
son, to be known by the name of Richland, to be bounded as follows, 
to wit: Beginning at the southeast comer of section 33, township 20, 
range 7 east; rimning thence east with the line dividing townships 19 
and 20 north to the east line of said county; thence north with the 
county line to the northeast corner' of township 21 and said line ; thence 
west to the northeast comer of section 4, township 21 north, range 7 
east; thence south to the place of beginning." 

As thus established, Richland included all the present township 
bearing that name, all of Monroe except three square miles in the north- 
western part, the eastern half of Lafayette and a strip half a mile wide 
across the north end of Union. With the organization of Monroe and 
Lafayette townships in 1836 and a change in the north line of Union, 
Richland was reduced to its present area of twenty-eight and one half 
square miles. It is bounded on the north by Monroe township ; on the 
east by Delaware county ; on the south by the townships of Union and 
Anderson, and on the west by Lafayette. The name Richland was 
conferred on it because of the fertility of the soil. Killbuck creek enters 
the township near the northeast comer and flows a southwesterly direc- 
tion, crossing the southern boundary near the southwest corner. Just 
before leaving the township it received the waters of the Little Kill- 
buck creek, which flows southward through the western part. 

When erected in March, 1834, the township was divided into three 
road districts and it was ordered that all elections be held at the house 
of Peter Ehrhart until otherwise directed by the board. At the first 
election Matthew Fenimore was chosen as the first justice of the peace, 
but soon afterward removed from the township and an election was 
ordered for the first Saturday in February, 1835, to select his suc- 
cessor. 

About four years before the township was organized, or in 1830, 
William Curtis entered the east half of the southwest quarter of sec- 
tion 31, in the southwest corner, near the Killbuck creek and just west 
of the road now leading from Anderson to Alexandria. There he built 
the first log cabin ever erected for a white man's habitation in the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 87 

towuship. In the fall of that year David Penisten located on section 
30, directly north of Mr. Curtis. About that time the Shelbyville & 
Fort Wayne state road was laid out and passed through what is now 
Richland township. This had a tendency to encourage the settlement 
of territory, in which, up to that time, the Indian had held undisputed 
sway, and before the close of the year 1831 a number of pioneers had 
settled within convenient distance of the new road. Among them were 
John Shinkle, Joseph Brown, Is&ac Jones, Adam Pence, Joseph Ben- 
nett, John Beal, William McClosky, Peter Keicher, J. R. Holston, 
Thomas Thornburg, Samuel Stephens, John Coburn, Jacob and Michael 
Bronnenberg, Jonathan Dillon, Christian Lower, John Hunt, Jesse 
Forkner, Randolph Chambers, Jacob Stover and Weems Heagy. John 
Parker's daughter, born in 1832, was the first white child born in the 
township. 

In 1833 Matthew Fenimore built a saw-mill on the Killbuck creek, 
near the southwest corner of the township, and a little later William 
Curtis and James Barnes built a grist-mill near by, getting their water 
power from the same dam as Mr. Fenimore. After the saw-mill was 
abandoned Robert Adams, an Englishman, bought out Curtis & Barnes 
and in 1850 converted the grist-mill into a woolen factory. It was 
destroyed by fire in 1876. 

About three miles farther up the creek, Benjamin Walker built a 
saw-mill soon after the settlement of that section began, and in 1840 
added a carding machine. Near this mill John 3- Purcell established 
a woolen factory, which he operated for a few years, when he sold out 
to Stephen Broadbent. After his death some years ago the factory was 
abandoned and the machinery sold piecemeal by the administrator of 
his estate. The old, dismantled building is still standing, but is rapidly 
falling to pieces. With the erection of steam mills, equipped with im- 
proved machinery, in various parts of the county, most of the old water 
power mills went out of business. 

Three churches have been organized in Richland township — two of 
the Methodist and one of the Christian denomination. The Methodist 
church known as the Wesley Chapel is situated in the northwestern 
part, and the Asbury Methodist church is situated on the Killbuck 
creek in the southern part. A mile and a half east of this church is the 
Chambers Christian church, so called from some of the leading mem- 
bers of the congregation at the time it was organized in 1854. Near 
the Wesley CHapel, on the farm once owned by J. R. Holston, were the 
grounds of the Wesleyan Camp Meeting Association, where for many 
years camp meetings were held anmially and were attended by people 
from all parts of the country. 

The first school house was built in the fall of 1831, on what is known 
as the Harrison Canaday farm, near the southwest corner of the town- 
ship, and the first school was taught there by an Irishman, whose name 
appears to have been forgotten. John Treadway was one of the early 
teachers in this house. In 1912 the seven brick school houses of the 
township were valued at $20,000, and the seven teachers employed 
received in salaries the sum of $2,858. 

Several villages have been projected at divers times in Richland. 



88 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

township, but none has ever grown to any considerable proportions and 
most of them have entirely disappeared. The oldest of these villages 
was Moonville, which was laid out by Zimri Moon in 1835. It was located 
on section 15, about a mile and a half west of the county line and on 
the road later known as the Killbuck pike. During the period from 
1838 to 1840, while the old Indiana Central canal was under construc- 
tion, Moonville did a thriving business. Among those engaged in various 
lines of activity there were Nathan Williams, James Trimble, Abraham 
Adamaon, John Winslow, Samuel and Joseph Pence, James Swaar, 
Riley Moore, John C. Gustin and Dr. John W. Westerfield. The last 
named was the only resident physician. With the suspension of work on 
the canal Moonville began to decline and, as one old settler expresses it, 
finally died of "dry rot." The site it once occupied is now a farm. 

About 1838 the village of Pittsborough was laid out by John Beal 
and others on the road leading from Anderson to Alexandria, near 
the western boundary, and about three miles south of the northwest 
comer of the township. Several lots were sold soon after the town was 
laid out. Among the purchasers were Nineveh Berry, William Coburn, 
James Carroll, Lewis Maynard, Isaac Snelson and Mrs. Martha Shinn. 
The records of the county commissioners' court for the March term 
in 1839 show that 

"On petition presented and duly supported bj' a competent number 
of freeholders, it is ordered that Jeremiah Judd be allowed a license to 
vend groceries and liquors by the small in the town of Pittsborough, 
in said county, for the term of one year from date." 

Local option had not been adopted anywhere, and almost every 
neighborhood had a place where liquors were sold, while small dis- 
tilleries were common. Although "Jerry" Judd's license entitled 
him to sell groceries, it is quite probable that most of his profits were 
derived from selling "liquors by the small." Pittsborough was a canal 
town and old settlers used to tell of the fights that occurred there among 
the men employed on the canal, especially upon or immediately after 
pay day, when they could get the inspiration for a fight at Judd's 
"tavern." Besides Judd's establishment, there were several stores 
and residences, most of them log structures common to that period. 
When the canal was abandoned most of the inhabitants "moved on" 
and Pittsborough ceased to exist. 

Another canal town was Mount Pleasant, which was laid out in 1839 
on section 32, near the southern border of the township, on land belong- 
ing to Joshua Shinkle. John Thornburg bought a lot and built a dwell- 
ing house, the only one ever erected in the town. Work on the canal 
was suspended about the time the village was laid out and Mount 
Pleasant was short-lived. No trace of it remains to tell the story of its 
existence or the ambitions of its founders. 

Prosperity, situated in the southwest corner of section 18, on the 
Anderson & Alexandria pike, was founded by John Beal and Hiram 
Louder, who opened the first store there about the time the canal was 
being built. A postoffice was established soon after and for a time 
the village flourished, a fact which is probably responsible for the 
name. When the turnpike was built in 1858, a toll gate was placed 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 89 

at Prosperity. The death of the canal was a severe blow to the village, 
the discontinuance of the postoffice added to the decline, and with the 
inau^ration of the free gravel road system even the toll gate was 
abolished. Three or four houses remain to tell of the good times of 
the bygone days, when Prosperity was a bustling little place. 

Stony Creek Township 

The first mention of this township to be found in .the public records, 
is in the minutes of the commissioners' court for March, 1851, when 
Thomas McAllister was appointed assistant appraiser of real estate, 
"under a law of the legislature at the last session," to appraise the lands 
in district No. 1, consisting of the townships of Adams, Fall Creek, 
Green and Stony Creek. 

It is one of the western tier and is bounded on the north by Jackson 
township ; on the east by Anderson and Fall Creek ; on the south by 
Fall Creek and Green, and on the west by the county of Hamilton. Its 
area is twenty-eight square miles and it takes its name from Stony 
creek, which flows a southwesterly course across the northwest corner. 
The southern part is watered by Sand creek and its small tributaries. 
This creek forms an outlet for a number of neighborhood ditches in that 
portion of the county. Originally the township was covered with 
a heavy forest growth, but the ax and the saw-mill have done their 
deadly work and but little valuable timber is left. 

A portion of this township was once known as the "Dismal." It was 
a tract of land, several miles in extent, heavily timbered, with a dense 
growth of underbrush that gave it a dismal and forbidding appearance. 
Wild animals found a certain security in this wilderness and for many 
years the "Dismal" was a favorite hunting gi'ound, not only for the 
pioneers, but there is also a tradition that the Indian tribes as far 
north as the Wabash river came here on hunting expeditions before 
the advent of 4:he white man. Human skeletons and Indian relics found 
in this part of the county bear out the tradition. But the "Dismal" 
is no longer a place with which to frighten timid children. The dense 
forest has been cut away, the land drained, and where once the savage 
Indian pursued the wild beast are some of the most productive farms 
in the county. 

The first white settlement in the township was made near the present 
village of Fishersburg, in 1823, when Thomas Busby, George Reddick, 
John Anderson, Benjamin Fisher, the Studleys and a few others settled 
along Stony creek in that locality. Benjamin Fisher was killed by the 
Indians while felling a tree near where the village of Strawtown, 
Hamilton county, now stands, and his widow afterward became the wife 
of Benoni Freel, who is credited with having built the first log cabin 
in what is now Jackson township. 

Among those who settled in the township during the decade begin- 
ning with 1823, were Henry Shetterly and John Fisher, both from 
Ohio. The former came in 1828 and the latter in 1831. Other early 
settlers were James and Jesse Gwinn, W. A. Aldred, Peter Ellis, New- 
ton Webb, Isaac Milburn, Noah Huntzinger and Arbuckle Nelson. 



90 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

The Gwinns came about 1835 and settled on section 23, about two 
miles northeast of Fishersburg, where members of the family still live. 
They were from Virginia, where one of their ancestors settled in colonial 
times and took up a large tract of land. By some means this land 
passed out of the control of the Gwiun family and later was leased to 
a coal company. When rich deposits of coal were found, suit was filed 
to recover the land and after five years of litigation the ease was decided 
in the summer of 1913 in favor of the Gwinn heirs, giving them pos- 
session of 440 acres of coal lands, valued at $50,000. The Gwinns of 
Stony Creek township shared in this good fortune. 

The first death in the township was that of George Shetterly, about 
1830, and the first marriage was between Samuel Shetterly and Jane 
Freel on July 8, 1834. She was a daughter of Benoni Freel, the pioneer, 
and the ceremony was performed by Ancil Beach, a deacon in the 
Methodist church. 

The first road opened through the township was the one from Pen- 
dleton to Strawtown, which was laid out in 1832. In 1865 that portion 
between Pendleton and Fishersburg became a toll road known as the 




Harvesting Scene Ne.vr L.vpel 

Pendleton & Fishersburg turnpike and remained thus until purchased 
by the county and made a free gravel road in 1888. There are now 
nearly fifty miles of public highway in the township, and one line of 
railroad (the Central Indiana), which crosses the eastern boundary 
about a mile south of the northeast corner and runs a southwesterly 
direction past Lapel, leaving the to\\'oship about half a mile south of 
Fishersburg. 

About 1835 a log school house, the first in the township, was built 
near Stony creek, a short distance southeast of Fishersburg. Three 
years later it passed into the hands of a man named Rogers, who con- 
verted it into a blacksmith shop, which it is claimed was the first in the 
township. "With the introduction of the free school system, better 
buildings were erected for educational purposes, and in 1912 there were 
nine school houses, all of' brick, valued at $12,000. The nine teachers 
employed in the public schools during the year 1912-13 received $4,324 
in salaries. 

Of the churches in Stony Creek township, the Methodists organized 
a society at Fishersburg about 1838, the Baptists formed a congrega- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 91 

tion there in 1843, the Forest Chapel Christian church, in the south- 
eastern part, was founded in 1860, and the Methodists, Friends and 
United Brethren have churches in Lapel. 

Fishersburg, near the western boundary, and Lapel, about a mile 
southeast of Fishersburg, are the only towns of importance. The lat- 
ter is incorporated. Shortly after the completion of the Central Indiana 
railroad through the township a postoftice called Bruin was established 
at Graber's Station on March 6, 1878, with Marion Graber as post- 
master. A few days later another postofBce was established at John- 
son's Crossing, about one mile east of Graber's Station, with John J. 
Johnson as postmaster. Both these ofiBces have since been discon- 
tinued and the people who once received mail there are now supplied 
by rural carrier. 

Union Township 

Union is the smallest civil township in Madison county, though when 
created in 1830 it embraced a much larger territory than at present. 
The order for its erection was issued by the board of county commis- 
sioners on May 3, 1830, and in the records for that date it appears as 
follows : 

"Ordered by the board that there a new township be laid off from 
Anderson township, beginning at the corner of section 23, township 19, 
range 8; thence north to the north corner of the county; thence west 
three miles to the northwest corner of section 4, township 22; thence 
south to the southwest corner of section 12, township 19, range 8 ; thence 
east to the place of beginning, to be known and designated by the name 
of Union." 

The commissioners' clerk evidently made two mistakes in entering this 
order in the records. First, the northwest comer of section 4, township 
22, is in Grant coimty, one mile north of the Madison county line. It 
is probable that the northwest corner of section 9 or the southwest cor- 
ner of section 4 was intended, as those two corners join on the county 
line just three miles west of the northeast corner of the county. Sec- 
ond, to run a line from that point south to the southwest comer of 
section 12, township 19, range 8, would be a geographical impossibility, 
for the reason that section 12 lies in Delaware county, the southwest 
comer of it being one mile east of Chesterfield and two miles due north 
of the starting point. Transposing the figures gives section 21, which 
was doubtless the one meant, the southwest corner of that section being 
exactly three miles west of the ' ' place of beginning. ' ' 

As at first organized, with the boundaries as above indicated. Union 
township was twenty-one miles long from north to south and three 
miles wide from east to west. The organization of Richland, Monroe 
and Van Buren absorbed all the northern part — in fact all of the town- 
ship except nine square miles of the southern end. Subsequently six 
square miles were added on the south, carrying the southern boundary 
down to the line separating townships 18 and 19, and the northern 
boundary was fixed at the middle of sections 33, 34 and 35 of township 
20. giving Union its present area of nineteen and one-half square miles. 



92 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

It is bounded on the north by Richland township; on the east by Del- 
aware county; on the south by Adams township, and on the west by 
the townships of Anderson and Richland. 

In the original order for the organization of the township it was 
specified that the first election should be held on the second Saturday 
in June, 1830, at the house of Thomas Vananda, in the town of West 
Union (now Chesterfield), for one justice of the peace. At the August 
term the commissioners appointed "William Bodle constable for the new 
township. 

It is claimed by some that the township was named on account of 
its being situated opposite the point where the counties of Henry, 
Delaware and Madison form a "union," but in view of the great extent 
of territory included at the beginning, it is more than likely that the 
name was adopted out of regard for the Federal Union of states. 

The White river enters the township from Delaware county about 
a mile and a half south of the northeast corner and flows westward for 




1 



An Early Dwelling in Union Township 

two miles, when it turns southward and crosses the western boundary 
a little south of the center. Its principal tributaries in Union are the 
Turkey creek from the north and Mill creek from the south, both of 
which empty into the river near Chesterfield. Sly Fork, an affluent 
of Fall creek, flows southward in the southeastern portion. The sur- 
face is generally level, except along the White river, where there are 
some bluff's and hills. On the south side of this stream in Union town- 
ship, half a mile east of the western border, are the celebrated mounds 
described in Chapter II. 

When the first white men came to this part of the county they found 
the ground covered with a dense forest, consisting of black walnut, oak, 
hickory, ash, poplar, beech, and other varieties of trees, but most of the 
valuable timber has disappeared. The soil is fertile, much of it being 
a black, sandy loam with clay subsoil and well adapted to agricultural 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 93 

purposes. The county infirmary is in this township, about half a mile 
west of Chesterfield. 

William Uilts, who came from Montgomery county, Ohio, in March, 
1821, and settled on the east side of Mill creek, is credited with being 
the first white man to erect a cabin in what is now Union township. 
Here he dwelt for about three years, when, being without sufHcient 
means to enter the land, the place he had selected for a home was en- 
tered from under him by Joshua Baxter. Mr. Dilts then went to Del- 
aware county, but in 1829 he returned and entered 160 acres just east 
of where he had first located. Upon this tract he built a double log 
house, which he opened as a hotel, the first in that part of the county. 
In 1835 he erected a brick house, the first of its kind in the township, 
near the log house. This building was also conducted as a hotel for 
many years. 

About three months after Mr. Dilts settled on Mill creek in 1821, 
Frederick Bronnenberg came into the towniship. He was from Rich- 
land county, Ohio, on his way to Sangamon county, Illinois, with an 
ox team, when one of his oxen gave out near Mr. Dilts' place, upon 
whom he called for assistance. Upon being informed that there were 
no roads to speak of farther west, Mr. Bronnenberg decided to locate 
in the neighborhood. He first moved his family into an abandoned 
cabin that had been erected by an Indian trader named McChester, but 
the following spring built a cabin of his own on section 16. This sec- 
tion was school land, which was afterward purchased by Mr. Bron- 
nenberg, and which is still owned by his descendants. 

Prior to the organization of the township in 1830, the following 
persons settled within its present limits: Isaac K. Errick, from New 
York; John Suman, from Maryland, an unmarried man who made his 
home with ]\Ir. Dilts; Daniel Nolandand his four sons-in-law — William 
Woods, John Martin, Jason Hudson and Joseph Carpenter — from North 
Carolina ; Amasa Makepeace, from Massachusetts ; David Croan and a 
Mrs. Shinier, from Ohio ; Bazil Neely, from Virginia ; John Pugh, and 
some others. 

Michael, son of Frederick Bronnenberg, born on November 21, 1821, 
was the first white child born in the township, and the second white 
male child in the county. The first wedding was on December 29, 1825, 
when Nancy Shimer became the wife of Allen Makepeace, and the sec- 
ond was that of John Pugh and Celia Bracken in September, 1829. 

For the first four years after the settlement of the township was begun, 
the settlers had to take their corn to the mill at the falls of Fall creek 
to have it ground into meal. In 1825 Amasa Makepeace offered to build 
a mill on Mill creek, a short distance above the mouth, if the neighbors 
would construct a race for the water necessary to run it. They cheer- 
fully agreed and before the close of that year the Makepeace mill was 
a landmark in that section of the county. Soon after the mill was 
completed, Allen Makepeace, a son of Amasa. opened the first store in 
a log cabin near by, hauling his goods from Cincinnati in wagons. This 
was the first mercantile establishment in Union township. 

A saw-mill was built on the White river by Frederick Bronnenberg 
in 1837. Later buhrs for grinding both wheat and com were added, 



94 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

and still later a carding machine. The entire plant was destroyed by 
fire in 1847. When the Indianapolis & Bellfoutaine (now the Big 
Four) Railroad was completed through the township, Brazleton Noland 
built a large flour mill at Chesterfield and not long afterward J. B. 
Anderson established a saw-mill there. Both these mills have passed 
away. 

Samuel Suman started the first distillery in the township, on his 
farm on the north side of the White river, at an early date, and Fred- 
erick Bronnenberg afterward built a distillery on his farm. Like his 
mill, this distillery was destroyed by fire. 

The first school house was built in 1829, near where the town of 
Chesterfield now stands, and the first school was taught that winter 
by Jason Hudson. The six brick school houses in the township in 1912 
were valued at $5,000, and the seven teachers employed in the public 
schools received $3,680 in salaries. 

The United Brethren church organized in Chesterfield in 1840 was 
the first religious society. This church was followed by the Baptists 
in 1868, and in 1870 a Methodist congregation was organized. In 1890 
the Spiritualist camp grounds were established near Chesterfield and 
meeting have been held annually since that time, usually in the month 
of August. 

Union township has about forty miles of public highway and two 
lines of railroad. The Big Four runs from southwest to northeast 
through the central part and the Pan Handle from northwest to south- 
east through the southern part. Chesterfield, on the Big Four, is the 
only railroad station in the township. When the Pan Handle was com- 
pleted a station called Slyfork was started near the place where the 
railroad crosses the stream of that name, and a postoffice called Bran- 
son was established by the government. Ballingall & Tucker opened a 
store, a sawmill was built, and for a time Slyfork gave evidences of 
having "come to stay." But the machinery of the mill was taken to 
another location, the postofiice was discontinued, and finally the stock 
of goods was removed and the building torn down. Nothing is left to 
mark the place where this promising hamlet once stood. 

Van Bueen Township 

This township occupies the northeast corner of the county and is 
five miles square, with an area of twenty-five square miles, or sixteen 
thousand acres. It was named in honor of Martin Van Buren, who was 
inaugurated president of the United States on March 4, 1837, and two 
days later the township was organized, as shown by the following entry 
in the records of the commissioners' court for that date: 

"On petition filed, and due deliberation thereupon had, it is ordered 
by the Board that Congressional township No. 22 north, of range 8 
east, in Madison county, be organized into a township to be known and 
designated by the name and style of Van Buren township, and it is also 
ordered that they hold an election in said township, at the house of 
Hiram Palmer therein, on the first Monday of April next, for the pur- 
pose of electing one justice of the peace." 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 95 

Hiram Palmer was appointed inspector of the election and it waa 
further ordered that all elections in the township should be held at his 
house until the board might otherwise direct. From the published 
accounts of that first election it is clear that Mr. Palmer did not serve 
as inspector. He and Samuel P"'enimore were the opposing candidates 
for the ofifice of justice of the peace. Early on the morning of -the elec- 
tion Mr. Fenimore and three of his friends appeared at the polls and 
cast four votes for Fenimore for "squire." No other votes were cast 
until just before the time for closing the polls, when Palmer and four 
others came up and cast five votes for Palmer, electing him by a major- 
ity of one vote. The Fenimore crowd no doubt felt somewhat crest- 
fallen, when they realized their defeat, especially as they had made no 
effort during the day to bring out other voters and then had to witness 
the victory snatched from them when it was too late. 

The surface of this township is generally level and was once heavily 
timbered. The soil is principally a black loam in the level portions 
and clay where the surface is rolling. It is all highly productive and, 
now that the level lands are thoroughly drained, some of the largest 
crops in the county are produced in Van Buren, especially of wheat 
and corn. Pipe creek, which flows across the southeast corner, and 
Mud creek, which has its source near Summitville are the only water 
courses. 

There is some question as to who the first settlers were, or just when 
they located in the township. From sources believed to be reliable it is 
learned that about 1830 Jacob Davis, John and Hiram Palmer and 
Thomas Gordon, came from Virginia and located a little north of where 
the town of Summitville now stands. Between that time and the organ- 
ization of the township quite a number of immigrants came in and 
entered lands. Among them were John and William Kelsey, who set- 
tled on section 8, near the Grant county line ; John Cree and Robert 
Robb, on section 17, immediately south of the Kelseys; Samuel Feni- 
more. on section 20, near those who came in 1830; Thomas Cartwright 
and James Blades, on section 31, in the southwest corner; John Moore, 
who came from North Carolina and settled near Samuel Fenimore. 

Others who came in during this period and settled in various parts 
of the township were Ephraim and Madison Broyles (father and son), 
John Shields, Zachariah Robinson, David Culberson and John M. 
Zedeker. Some of these remained but a short time. Believing that bet- 
ter opportunities could be found in Illinois or Iowa which were just 
then being settled, they moved on westward to find farms on the prairies, 
where the arduous labor of "making a clearing" could be avoided. 

After the organization of the township settlement increased steadily. 
By 1839 there was considerable travel over the old Indianapolis & 
Fort "Wayne state road and in that year Samuel Fenimore built an addi- 
tion to his cabin and opened a tavern for the accommodation of travel- 
ers who might pass over the "Fort Wayne trace," as the road was called, 
and who might need a "square meal" or a night's lodging. This was 
the first hotel in the township. The first saw-mill was built by Moore, 
Wellington & Harold in 1854, to which a run of buhrs for grinding corn 
was afterward added. The first store was opened by Robert Robb in 



96 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

1838, and the first postofifice was kept by John Kelsey. The first black- 
smith shop was started by Jasper Webb and the first shoemaker was a 
man named Snelling. In 1868 the first flour mill was built at Summit- 
ville by Columbus Moore. 

It is believed that the first school house in Van Buren township was 
a small Log cabin, about a mile and half north of Summitville, but the 
date when it was built or when the first school was taught there cannot 
be definitely ascertained. George Doyle was the first teacher. In 1912 
fhere were eight brick school houses, exclusive of the building in the 
incorporated town of Summitville, and the value of these eight houses 
■was estimated at $10,000. Ten teachers were employed in the township 
schools during the school years of 1912-13 and the amount paid to them 
in salaries was $4,204. 

Probably the first religious society to be organized was a German 
Baptist church, which was established at an early date. A Christian 
congregation was organized about 1859, the Zion Baptist church in 1874, 
the Wesleyan Methodist church at Summitville the same year, and the 
Baptists and Presbyterians also have churches in Summitville. 

Van Buren township has transportation facilities above the avetage. 
Over forty miles of public highway traverse all sections of the township, 
and a large proportion of these roads consists of graveled roadways of 
the most approved type. The Michigan division of the Big Four Rail- 
road runs north and south through the western part, through Summit- 
ville, and is paralleled by a line of the Indiana Union Traction Company, 
over which electric trains run every hour. Summitville is the only town. 



\ 



CHAPTER VII 

THE CITY OP ANDERSON 

Location — First Known as Andersontown — First Incorporation — 
Change of Name — Second Incorporation — Becomes a City — First 
City Officials — Public Utilities — • Water Works — Electric 
Lighting Plant — Fire Department — Police Department — Sewer- 
age System — Street Railway — The "Mule Motor" — Electric 
Lines — Illuminating Gas — Postopfice — Some Historic Hotels — 
First Newspaper — A Political Drug Store — Board op Trade — 
First City Directory — Sketches op the Mayors — Statistics and 
Comment. 

Anderson, the county seat of Madison county, is pleasantly situated 
on an eminence on the south side of the White river, about five miles 
southeast of the geographical center of the county and thirty-nine miles 
northeast of Indianapolis, the capital of the state. It is located upon the 
site formerly occupied by the Delaware chief, Kikthawenund, or Captain 
Anderson, for whom the city was named. The records show that the 
original site in section 12, embracing 320 acres, was entered by Wil- 
liam Conner previous to the organization of the coujlty. He after- 
ward sold it to John Berry, who in 1823 laid out the first plat of the 
town and on November 7, 1827, conveyed a considerable portion of it 
to the county in consideration of the seat of justice being permanently 
located there. The following year the business of the county was re- 
moved from Pendleton, which prior to that time had been the seat of 
justice by common consent. 

During the first ten years of its existence the growth of Anderson- 
town, as the place was at first called, was rather slow. In 1837 the 
population did not exceed two hundred people. That year witnessed 
the introduction of the system of internal improvements throughout 
the state and "Andersontown" began to wake up. One of the enter- 
prises projected by the board of internal improvements was the Indiana 
Central canal (a branch of the Wabash & Erie), which was to leave 
the main canal "'at the most suitable point between Fort Wayne and 
Logausport, running thence to Muncietown, thence to Indianapolis," 
etc. As this branch of the canal system would pass Anderson it had the 
effect of almost doubling the population within two years. It was dur- 
ing this period that the subject of incorporating the town first came up 
for consideration, and, although there was considerable opposition to 
such a proceeding, the legislature that met in December, 1838, passed an 
act ""to incorporate the town of Andersontown, in Madison county, 
containing 3.50 inhabitants." 

Vol. 1 — 7 

97 



98 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

Pursuant to this act, the county commissioners, at their January 
session in 1839 ordered "That an election be held at the court-house in 
said town, by the citizens of said town, on Monday, the 21st day of 
January, instant, for the purpose of electing trustees and appointing 
officers to govern the town, and upon the citizens complying with this 
order, the said town is hereby and thereafter to be considered an incor- 
porated town." 

Almost immediately after the town was incorporated came the dis- 
couraging news that the work of internal improvements projected by 
the state was suspended, and that the canal which had promised mate- 
rial growth and prosperity to the budding city was never to become a 
reality. A decline in population followed and with it a decline in the 
interests of town corporation, which lost its vitality and finally died a 
natural death. Anderson was then a village for about fifteen yeai's, or 
until the summer of 1853, when it was incorporated for the second time. 

In the meantime Robert N. Williams, county auditor, and James 
Hazlett, county clerk, on behalf of the citizens, went before the legis- 
lature of 1844-45 and presented a request to have the name of the town 
changed to Anderson, dropping the last syllable of the old name of 
" Andersontown, " on the ground that the name was too cumbersome 
and did not sound well. The petition was granted by the general as- 
sembly and since that time the official name of the place has been 
"Anderson," though many years elapsed before the old settlers could 
break themselves of the habit of using the old name. 

With the completion of the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine Railroad 
through Madison county, and the establishment of a station at Ander- 
son in 1852, the town soon began to manifest signs of increased busi- 
ness activity and the necessity for a town government became apparent. 
Consequently a public meeting was called for the evening of April 
25, 1853, at the court-house, for the purpose of considering the ques- 
tion of incorporation. At that meeting Samuel Myers presided and 
P. H. Lemon acted as secretary. After some discussion. Dr. Townsend 
Ryan offered a resolution declaring that it was tlie sense of the meet- 
ing that Anderson should be incorporated as a town under the laws of 
the state of Indiana. The resolution was adopted almost unanimously 
and on motion of Milton S. Robinson, John Davis, Townsend Ryan and 
Nineveh Berry were appointed a committee to fix the town boundaries. 
Armstrong Taylor was appointed to take a census of the population. 
Steps were also taken for the circulation of a petition to be presented 
to the board of county commissioners at the next regular session. 

The commissioners met on June 6, 1853 (the first Monday), and on 
Thursday following John Davis, J. C. Thompson and J. W. Sansberry 
appeared before the board and filed an application for the incorporation 
of the town, which application was accompanied by a map or plat, 
showing the bounds as surveyed by Nineveh Berry. After the applica- 
tion and plat had been examined by the commissioners, the following 
action was taken : 

"And the board being satisfied that the requirements of the statutes, 
in such case made and provided, have been fully complied with, it is 
therefore ordered that the said territory included and embodied in the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 99 

survey, to wit: (Then follows a description of the boundaries), be 
incorporated as the Town of Anderson. . . . And the qualified 
voters of the said territory to be incorporated are hereby notified to 
meet at the courthouse in said town on Saturday the 16th day of July 
next to determine whether said territory shall be incorporated," etc. 

For some reason not apparent, the election was held on Tuesday, 
June 28, 1853, instead of on the date fixed by the commissioners. James 
W. Sansberry, Burket Eads and S. B. Mattox were the election in- 
spectors. The result was thirty-six votes in favor of incorporation and 
one against the proposition. The town government established at this 
time lasted for about twelve years, when some of the leading citizens, 
believing that Anderson had outgrown a municipal organization of that 
nature, took steps to organize a city government. For some time the 
subject was canvassed and on August 28, 1865, an election was held to 
decide whether the old form of government should continue or Ander- 
son should become incorporated as a city. At that election 217 votes 
were cast, 207 of which were in favor of a city government and only 
ten in the negative. The next step was to comply with the requirements 
of the state laws and obtain a charter. When this was done the city 
was divided into three wards and the first election for city officers was 
held with the following results: Mayor, Robert N. Williams; clerk, C. 
D. Thompson ; treasurer, Joseph Fulton ; marshal, M. N. Harriman ; 
city prosecutor, E. V. Long; councilmen — First ward, John D. Mershon 
and Stephen Noland; second ward, Eli B. Goodykoontz and George 
Nichol ; third ward, Winburn R. Pierse and Benjamin Sebrell. 

Following is a list of the city officials in 1913: Frank P. Foster, 
mayor; Maurice Collins, clerk; John C. Williams, controller; Otis P. 
Crim, treasurer; Charles T. Sansberry, city attorney; George A. Lan- 
phear, city engineer ; Charles G. Alford, chief of the fire department ; 
John B. Pritchard, superintendent of police; Henry C. Brown and 
Edward F. Staton, eouncilmen-at-large ; J. H. Mellette, councilman 
first ward; Fred T. Barber, councilman second ward; Edgar Tupman, 
councilman third ward. The board of public works is composed of H. 
C. Brown, F. T. Barber and Edgar Tupman, and the board of health 
of Drs. E. W. Chittenden, W. A. Lail and J. A. Long. 

In the matter of electric light and water works, Anderson has suc- 
cessfully solved the problem of municipal ownership. Prior to 1885 
the city was without fire protection and after several disastrous fires 
had occurred the citizens decided in favor of the establishment of some 
system of water works. An appropriation of $20,000 was made as a 
starter, and L. J. Burr, T. M. Norton and H. J. Bronnenberg were ap- 
pointed trustees. On account of an injury received in an accident on 
August 22, 1888, Mr. Bronnenberg resigned and was succeeded by 
Harrison Canaday. A building was erected and two pumps — each hav- 
ing a capacity of one million gallons daily — were installed. About 
five miles of mains were laid and forty-five hydrants placed in position 
by July, 1886, when the pumps were started for the first time. It was 
thought when this plant was erected and equipped that it would be suffi- 
cient to supply the city's needs for the next twenty-five years. But 
the water works had but fairly started when natural gas was discov- 



100 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

ered at Anderson and the city began to spread over new territory, which 
demanded that mains be laid to supply the inhabitants with water. 

Meetings of the water works trustees and the city council were 
called to consider what was best to be done in the emergency, and in 
the spring of 1892 an appropriation of $65,000 for enlarging the plant 
was made. It was soon discovei-ed that the entire works would have to 
be practically rebuilt. The mains were too small to deliver a larger sup- 
ply of water than they were already delivering ; new buildings were 
necessary to accommodate the large pumps and boilers necessary to meet 
the demand, and the result was a bond issue of about $150,000 to secure 
the funds for the purpose of putting in a water works system that 
would be large enough to supply the constantly increasing demand for 
water. Larger mains were laid from the pumping station and the old 
ones used in a secondary capacity. Two duplex compound pumps with 
a daily capacity of eight million gallons were purchased and installed in 
a new building and the boiler capacity was increased in proportion. 
According to the report of Henry Drach, superintendent of the water 
works, for the year ending on December 31, 1912, the value of the 
buildings and machinery was, in round numbers $112,220, and the 
amount of water furnished to consumers during the year was 501,451,- 
250 gallons. During the year about three miles of new mains were 
laid. 

Soon after the present plant went into operation the water works 
trustees and the city authorities agreed upon the plan of charging the 
city $1,500 a month for water furnished to the fire hydrants, public 
buildings, etc., that amount to be paid from the general fund. This 
plan was followed until 1912, when the charges were reduced to $1,250 
per month, or $15,000 for the year. This is no more than the city 
would have had to pay a private corporation for water, and by this 
method the water works have been placed upon a paying basis. Bonds 
to the amount of $20,000 were redeemed during the year 1912 from the 
earnings of the system, leaving l)onds outstanding to the amount of 
$37,000, which the board expects to redeem from the. earnings of 1913. 
In addition to this all the operating expenses, salaries, etc., were paid 
from the earnings and at the close of the year there was a net balance 
on hand of over $7,000. Notwithstanding this, the rate to consumers 
is much below that usually charged in cities the size of Anderson, the 
average rate for a family occupying a house of eight rooms being about 
$8.50 annually, large consumers being supplied at a somewhat lower 
rate. 

In 1903 there were a number of cases of typhoid fever in the city 
that were charged to the water furnished by the water works, the 
.supply coming from the White river and being delivered to consumers 
-without being filtered or purified in any way. To obviate this diffi- 
culty, a Continental-Jewell filtering system was put in at a cost of 
about $66,000, and since then there have been no more typhoid cases 
traceable to the city water. There are now nearly forty-five miles of 
mains, 379 fire hydrants and about 3,200 private consumers. 

The first electric lighting plant in Anderson was started by Isaac D. 
Bosworth, in connection with his planing mill on ^Meridian street, be- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 101 

tween Teiitli and Eleventh streets, in 1885. He made a contract with 
the city to funiisli current to the arc lights in the streets and alleys, 
but made no effort to secure private consumers. In 1892 Charles L. 
Henry acquired the street railway interests and changed the old mule 
power to electricity. About the same time he purchased Mr. Bosworth's 
plant, contracts and good will and continued to supply the city with 
street light until 1896. He then built the first interurban line from 
Anderson to Alexandria and offered the electric lighting plant to the 
city. His offer was accepted and the purchase price of $48,000 was 
paid in notes, all of which have since been paid from the earnings, so 
that the municipal electric lighting plant has really cost the taxpayers 
of the city nothing. 

At the time this deal wa.s made and the cit.y took over the plant 




JIeridian Street, South from Tenth Street 

natural gas was in the zenith of its glory. The price of gas was so low 
that many people preferred to use it for lighting purposes on account 
of the cost. There were then two hundred arc lights in the streets, and 
for keeping these supplied with current and in good repair the city paid 
$18,000 annually from the general fund— vabout- what it would have 
cost to have taken light from a private corporation. This charge was 
reduced to $15,000 for the year 1913. Although the charge to the city 
was reduced $3,000 for that year, there were then 325 are lights, or 
125 more than when the first charge of $18,000 a year was taken from 
the general fund to pay for street lighting. In 1903 notes to the amount 
of $60,000 were issued to rebuild the plant and these notes have all 
been paid from the earnings, the transmission has been greatly impi'oved 
and the cost of service has been reduced. The total receipts of the 
lighting department for the year 1912 were, in round numbers, $127,000, 
and there was a net balance of over $20,000 on hand at the close of the 



102 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

year, thougu nearly $15,000 in bonds were paid from the year's earn- 
ings. The department also holds $32,500 of Anderson city bonds as an 
investment. Edmund Burke is the superintendent of the plant. Through 
the successful management of the municipal lighting and water depart- 
ments the city tax rate has been i-edueed from $1.08 in 1905 to 65 cents 
in 1913. It is estimated by the city controller that the net earnings of 
the lighting plant for the year 1913 will reach $70,000. 

The first- effort to organize a fire department for the city was made 
in the early '70s, when John P. Barnes and Chai-les T. Doxey, then 
members of the city council, urged upon that body the necessity of pro- 
viding some protection against loss by fire. Through their influence the 
council was induced to authorize the purchase of a Silsby engine at a 
cost of $7,000. After the engine arrived it was useless without an ade- 
quate water supply and some of the citizens, seeing that a large expend- 
iture of money would have to be made in erecting buildings, construct- 
ing cisterns, etc., applied to the circuit court for an injunction. A 
temporary restraining order was granted by the court and pending 
further hearing the engine was locked up in a building on West Eighth 
street, where it remained until the case was decided against the council 
by the circuit court of Henry county, where it had been taken on a 
change of venue. Such was the manner in which the first attempt to 
establish a fire department ended in failure. 

Some years later, while James Hazlett was mayor, he and H. H. 
Conrad, a member of the city council, after much argument, prevailed 
upon the council to purchase a small hand engine and a hook and ladder 
apparatus at a cost of $600. A shed was erected by order of the council 
on east Eighth street, at the first alley east of the public square, where the 
engine was kept for several years. There was no organized department, 
the citizens turning out on an alarm of fire to man the engine, and at 
one time this little machine saved the east side of the public square from 
destruction when a fire broke out in the Grunewald building. 

In 1886, while the water works were under construction, a petition 
was presented to the city council asking for the organization of a 
volunteer fire department. On August 13, 1886, a meeting was held 
in the mayor's office and fifty-seven men enrolled themselves as members 
of the volunteer department. By-laws, rules and regulations were 
adopted for the government of the department ; Amos Coburn was elected 
chief; C. K. McCuUough, assistant chief; S. A. Towell, secretary; Bart 
Proud, captain of Hose Company No. 1 ; Jesse Talmage, captain of Hose 
Company No. 2 ; John Ewing, captain of the Hook and Ladder Company. 
Headquarters were secured in the basement of the court-house and the 
first Friday in each month was selected as the time for holding regular 
meetings. Soon after the organization was perfected the city council 
furnished the members with rubber coats, boots, fire hats, etc. The 
citizens gave the volunteers a banquet, which encouraged them to do their 
best, and the movement was pronounced a success. At last Anderson 
had a fire department. 

At the time this department was organized the fire fighting apparatus 
consisted of two hand reels, 1,000 feet of hose, the old hand engine and a 
hook and ladder truck. Better hose was soon afterward provided by 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 103 

the city council and members of the department were allowed two dollars 
each for attendance at a fire. In the spring of 1887 Amos Coburn 
resigned as chief and was succeeded by Samuel A. Towell. A year later 
two horses were purchased and Edward Wilcox was employed as a regular 
driver — the first paid man in the department. Three additional men 
were placed on the pay roll at forty dollars a month in 1889; the chief's 
salary was fixed at $100 per annum ; the two old hand reels were replaced 
by a one-horse reel, and further improvements were added. The Gane- 
well alarm system was installed in 1890, a hose wagon was purchased 
and the building at the corner of Central avenue and Eighth street was 
erected for the use of the department. As soon as the building was com- 
pleted two new members were added to the department and the salary 
of firemen was fixed at forty-five dollars a month. The chief's salary 
was also increased. Three years later the department was converted 
into a full paid force of thirteen men. This was done on motion of John 
L. Forkner, who at that time represented the Second ward in the city 
council. The same year a building was erected at the comer of 
Seventeenth street and Madison avenue and Hose Company No. 2 was 
there stationed. 

In 1913 the department consisted of Charles G. Alford, chief; Philip 
HoUingsworth, assistant chief; four captains; two lieutenants; three 
laddermen, and twelve pipemen. The city now owns four buildings, viz. : 
The Central Station at the corner of Eighth street and Central avenue, 
where a chemical engine and the hook and ladder truck are stationed, and 
where the chief maintains his headquarters; Hose Company No. 2, at 
the corner of Madison avenue and Seventeenth street; Hose Company 
No. 3, at the corner of Columbus avenue and Twenty-first street; and 
Hose Company No. 4, at the corner of Third and Hendricks streets. 

In his report for the year ending on December 31, 1912, Chief Alford 
said : "I wish to call your attention to the automobile fire apparatus. A 
great many cities are installing it with a view of increasing the efBciency 
as well as decreasing the cost of maintenance." Acting upon his sug- 
gestion, the city purchased an automobile chemical engine in the summer 
of 1913 at a cost of about $2,200. This engine is an Anderson product, 
having been built by the Nyberg Automobile Works expressly for the 
city fire department. 

When Anderson was first incorporated as a city in 1865, the only 
police officer was the city marshal. In 1889 the marshal's office was 
abolished by an act of the state legislature and the metropolitan police 
system was introduced. Under the operations of this system the duty of 
keeping order and enforcing the ordinances and laws is vested in a 
board of three commissioners. At the close of the year 1912 the board 
of police commissioners was composed of Carl K. Stephens, Ralph B. 
Clark and Fred Mustard. Carl K. Stephens is president and John B. 
Pritchard, who is also superintendent of the police force, is secretary. 
The police force proper is made up of the superintendent, one captain, 
one sergeant, a clerk, a humane officer, a bailiff, a motorcycle man, a 
detective, and seven patrolmen. In addition to this regular force there 
are four special patrolmen with full police powers at the American Steel 
and Wire Works, two at Mounds Park and two at the Rcmy Electric 



104 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Works. During the year 1912 the pay roll of the department amounted 
to $15,384. 

No effort was ever made to dispose of Anderson's sewage until after 
the discovery of natural gas. This is no reflection upon the city nor 
upon the character of its inhabitants, as it has long been a custom in 
country towns and smaller cities to let the sewage "take care of itself." 
At the time natural gas was discovered the population of the city was 
estimated at about 6,000. The United States census for 1890 — three 
years later showed it to be 10,741. With this phenomenal increase in 
population it became evident that some sanitary precautions were neces- 
sary if the health of the people was to be preserved and their comfort 
taken into consideration. 

In January, 1891, the city engineer, Henry Rawie, was instructed to 
investigate the subject and report upon the plan of a sewerage system 
and the cost of its construction. Mr. Rawie at once opened a correspond- 
ence with George E. Warring, of Newport, Rhode Island, a sanitary 
engineer of national reputation, and after a consultation with llr. 
Warring the council instructed the city engineer to make a map of the 
city, showing its topography and the location of the proposed sewers. 
When this map was completed it was submitted to the city council for 
consideration. That body approved the plans of the city engineer and 
advertised for sealed proposals for the construction of the sewers 
as shown on the map. On July 15, 1891, a contract was entered into 
between the city and the firm of Kinser and Tuhey, of Terre Haute, 
Indiana, for the installation of a sewerage system, the contract price being 
$71,900. 

The contractors began immediately and prosecuted the work so well 
that before the close of the year 1892 the entire system was pronounced 
complete, accepted by the city and paid for according to the contract. 
The cost of the sewerage system was assessed against the lots benefited 
thereby and was paid for by the property holders under what was known 
as the Barrett law, which gave them the privilege of making their pay- 
ments in ten annual installments. 

Mr. Rawie 's plan was at first severely criticised as being too elaborate 
and expensive, but he was a man of progressive ideas who believed in 
building for the future as well as the present. The system of sewers 
built under his supervision as city engineer has been in use for more than 
twenty years, and even those who were most free with their criticisms 
now acknowledge that he was right. The members of the city council 
who favored the scheme also came in for a share of the condemnation, 
but after almost another generation has come upon the scene of action 
they feel that their course has been fully sustained by the city's sanitary 
condition during that period. No trouble has ever been experienced with 
any of Anderson's sewers, for the reason that they were constructed 
according to the most approved methods known, and it is quite probable 
that few cities of the same class have as good a system. 

Along with other municipal improvements that followed the discovery 
of natural gas was a street railway system. As soon as Anderson began 
her great strides forward in 1887, several persons of a speculative turn 
of mind visited the city to look over the field with a view to the establish- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



105 



ment of street car traffic on the principal streets and to the outlying 
suburbs. On August 19, 1887, the city council granted a twelve-years' 
franchise to Seldon R. and D. C. Williams, of Lebanon, Tennessee, 
authorizing them to construct and maintain a street railway in Anderson. 
Work was commenced soon afterward upon the line on Meridian street, 
running from the Big Four to the Pan Handle passenger stations. In 
order to accommodate travelei's by enabling them to reach the principal 
hotels, changes were made in the route as originally intended, the line 
running from the Big Four station north on Meridian street to Tenth, 
east on Tenth to Main, north on Main to Ninth, west on Ninth to Meridian, 




Old Horse Car 



north on Meridian to Fifth and east on that street to the Pan Handle 
station. 

On the morning of September 6, 1888, the citizens of Anderson were 
treated to the unusual spectacle of a street car, drawn by mules, passing 
over the route above described. That evening the road was formally 
opened, the railway company engaging the Riverside Park band and 
inviting a number of prominent citizens to enjoy a free ride. The com- 
pany had but two ears, each with a capacity of about twenty people. 
In the front car was the band, closely followed by the second car in 
which were the guests. Along the route the sidewalks were crowded 
with people to congratulate themselves and the city that the "walking 
days were over. ' ' 

Branch lines were later built from the main line to the railroad 
junction in the southwestern part, and a third line to the northwestern 



106 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



portion. The service, however, was not what the people had been led 
to expect and it is doubtful if dividends were ever realized upon the 
investment while the "mule motor" was in use. Under these conditions 
the founders of the system were glad when an opportunity presented 
itself for them to dispose of their interests to the Anderson Electric 
Street Railway Companj'^ which was organized early in 1892 by Charles 
L. Henry, of Anderson, and Philip flatter, of Marion, Indiana. As 
soon as the new company came into possession of the street railway 
electric power was installed, and the first electric car made its appearance 
on the streets of Anderson at 2 o 'clock p. m. on March 12, 1892. 

It has been said that capital is timid and not likely to seek investment 
unless it is fully protected. But in this ease the reverse is true. At 
the time the mules were discarded and electric power introduced by 




First Trolley Car 



the new company it had no franchise for the use of the streets. Messrs. 
Henry, Matter and their associates felt confident that the people would 
appreciate the improvement in the service and that the city council 
would be willing to grant them a franchise upon liberal terms. They 
were not mistaken, for on May 30, 1892, the council granted the new 
company a franchise for thirty years. As soon as this was done the 
company began the work of rebuilding the lines. The old iron rails 
were taken up and heavy steel rails were put in their place. Old lines 
were extended and new ones constructed. A large power house was 
built and a better class of cars was put into service. Andei-son was the 
first city in the gas belt to boast of an electric street railway, and it is a 
matter for congratulation that the company was composed of local 
capitalists whose interests were identical with those of the people. In 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 107 

1896 Mr. Henry constructed the electric line from Anderson to Alex- 
andria, which was the beginning of central Indiana's great interurban 
system of electric railways now operated by the Union Traction Company. 

Long before the discovery of natural gas or the introduction of 
electric lights, Anderson was lighted by artificial, or manufactured gas. 
Soon after the city was incorporated in 1865 Milton N. Harriman, then 
city marshal, and John P. Barnes, a member of the city council, secured 
the erection of iron posts through the business section, upon each of 
which was placed a kerosene lamp. These were Anderson's first street 
lights. In 1875 the city made a contract with G. F. Good, of Astabula, 
Ohio, and H. C. Bardwell, of New York, to light the streets with gas and 
gave them the use of the streets for a period of twenty years. The gas 
plant — a comparatively small affair — was completed on July 2, 1875, and 
on the evening of the 3d gas was used for lighting purposes for the 
first time in Anderson. The gas was of good quality and was so far supe- 
rior to any light that had preceded it that in a short time the company 
was taxed to its full capacity to supply the demand. 

About a year later N. C. McCuUough, one of the most energetic and 
progressive of Anderson's citizens, saw that the enterprise was a paying 
proposition and purchased the plant of the original builders. He con- 
tinued the manufacture of illuminating gas successfully until the 
discovery of natural gas in 1887. In the summer of that year Mr. 
MeCullougli merged his interests in the Anderson Gas and Oil Company. 
The first gas plant stood at the corner of Twelfth and Main streets and 
remained there until Mr. McCullough sank a gas well in what was then 
known as McCullough Park, at the east end of Eighth street. This gas 
well, known as ' ' Vesuvius, ' ' was the largest ever opened in the Madison 
county gas field, having a capacity of 10,000,000 cubic feet per day. 
Mr. McCullough then removed the gas plant to East Eighth street, 
enlarged the capacity to meet the demands of the community, and for 
a year thereafter mixed natural gas with the manufactured product, 
furnishing the citizens with gas for lighting purposes at a cheap rate 
until the consolidation of the artificial and natural gas interests. Charles 
T. Doxey then became a stockholder and the Anderson Gas and Oil 
Company absorbed the artificial plant, which was consolidated with the 
Citizens' Gas Company and the artificial plant passed out of existence. 
The old plant, that stood idle for many years, with its franchise, was 
purchased by the late C. W. Hooven and is now a part of the system 
operated by the Central Indiaria Gas Company, though the old retorts 
and buildings have been dismantled and a new plant erected. 

A postoffice was established at Anderson in 1831 and Robert N. 
Williams was appointed postmaster. He was also auditor and clerk 
of the county and kept the postoffice in the clerk's office. At that time 
Anderson was a station on the mail route running from Indianapolis to 
Centerville, via Noblesville, Perkinsville, Anderson and Newcastle. The 
mails were carried on horseback, the post-rider making two trips a week. 
In 1839 Mr. Williams was succeeded by Nineveh Berry. It is said that 
when a mail would arrive Colonel Berry would place the letters in his 
hat and start out to deliver them to the persons to whom they were 
addressed. From this fact he is credited with being the first postmaster 



108 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



to introduce the free delivery system in Indiana, but the actual free 
delivery system in Anderson was introduced by Postmaster H. J. Daniels 
on June 3, 1890, when four carriers appointed by him and confirmed 
by the government went into service. Shortly after that the number 
was increased by the addition of two carriers and in 1893 four more were 
added. 

For many years the postoffice was kept in such buildings as could be 
secured at a reasonable rental. In May, 1841, the county commissioners 
rented a room in the court-house to Postmaster Berry, for which he was 
to pay three dollars a month ' ' so long as he remains in the same. ' ' The 
present postoffice building at the northeast corner of Eleventh and 
Jackson streets was erected by the Federal government at a cost of 
$85,000, and was opened for business in August, 1906. In 1913 the 




Anderson Postoffice 



persons employed in the office were the postmaster, assistant postmaster, 
fifteen clerks, two substitute clerks, fifteen city carriers, two substitute 
carriers for the city and thirteen rural carriers. The receipts of the 
office for the fiscal year ending on June 30, 1913, were $91,100.03. 
During the year the office issued domestic money orders amounting to 
$146,692.95 and international orders amounting to $18,484.82. The 
orders paid during the same period amounted to $215,340.90 for the 
domestic and $2,817.20 for the international — quite a change from the 
good old days when Colonel Berry carried around the receipts of an 
entire mail in his hat. The present postmaster is Henry P. Hardie. 

The first hotel — or tavern, as houses of entertainment were called 
in those days — in Anderson was kept by John Berry, the founder of the 
town, in a hewed log house on the west side of the public square. It 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 109 

was the boast of the proprietor tliat his liouse had the best beds in the 
United States, though he admitted that tliere might be more imposing 
hotels in New York and a few other large cities. Berrj-'s house was a 
favorite stopping place for the lawyers who followed the sessions of the 
court from one county seat to another on the circuit. 

"Uncle Billy" Myers was the second hotel keeper in the town. His 
tavern was a two-story log house on the south side of the square. The 
building was burned in 1851 and the same day Mr. IMyers purchased the 
property at the southwest corner of Main and Tenth streets and imme- 
diately resumed business. Some years later he bought a two-story build- 
ing on the east side of the square and here he conducted the "Myers 
House" until old age compelled, him to retire. 

Another famous hostelry of the pioneer days was the "One Mile 
House," which was built in 1839 by the widow of David Harris. It 




One Mile House 

stood on the bank of Green's branch, on the Strawtown road, or about 
where Eighth street now crosses Green's branch. David Harris and 
his wife came to Madison county about 1826. His death occurred about 
a year later and his bodj' was interred in the old Indian burying ground 
on East Ninth street. It is thought that his bones were taken away 
by the Pan Handle Railroad Company when it opened a gravel pit on 
the site of the old graveyard. The One Mile House was a two-story log 
structure, with a one-story wing extending to the rear and for many 
years it was the principal stopping place in the vicinity of Anderson for 
immigrants going westward over the Strawtown road. Another hotel 
of note in early times was the Antrim House, which stood on the site 
now occupied by the Williams block on Meridian street, opposite the 
Union building. 

In 1852 Alfred jMakepeace erected a three-story brick building at 
the southwest corner of Main and Ninth streets, which was really the 
first pretentious hotel in the town. It was long known as the "United 
States Hotel" and was one of the best known houses of entertainment 



no HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

in central Indiana. After the death of Mr. Makepeace in 1875 the 
building was torn down and a business block Was erected upon the 
site. 

The Doxey House, which is still doing business at the northeast corner 
of Ninth and Main streets, was erected by Col. Thomas N. Stilwell 
and was opened to the public as the "Stilwell House" in 1871 by John 
Elliott, of Richmond, Indiana. The property was purchased by N. C. 
McCullough in April, 1875, from the administrator of the Stilwell 
estate and a year later Mr. McCullough sold it to Maj. Charles T. 
Doxey, whose name it still bears. 

In 1878 the Windsor Hotel was built by Cal. Lee at the northwest 
comer of Seventh and Meridian, and in 1880 the Griffith House was 
erected by George R. Griffith at the southeast corner of Tenth and 
Meridian. Both these hotels have gone out of business. A business 
block occupies the site of the Windsor and the Anderson Trust Company 
has its place on the corner where the Griffith once dispensed good cheer. 

After the discovery of natural gas J. W. Lovett and Dr. H. E. Jones 
built the Hotel Anderson on North Meridian street between Sixth and 
Seventh. It is now owned and occupied by the Loyal Order of Moose 
for the supreme offices and as a club house. 

The first newspaper published in the city was the Federal Union, 
which was likewise the first paper publisher in Madison county. It was 
started by T. J. Langdon in 1834, but was discontinued after a few 
months. A more complete account of the newspapers and periodicals 
of the present day will be found in the chapter on Educational Develop- 
ment. 

The first drug store was started by Dr. J. W. Westerfield in 1843, 
on the south side of the public square, where he continued in business 
until 1846, when he sold out to Attieus Siddall. The store was destroyed 
by the big fire of 1851, which consumed the entire south side of the 
square. About the beginning of the Civil war Dr. Westerfield again 
became the proprietor of the store, and during the war the firm was 
Westerfield & Menefee. Subsequently the place of business — on the 
east side of the square — became widely known as the Henderson drug 
store. This concern has been mentioned because it was one of the 
famous places of rendezvous of the Madison county politicians. Many 
times have the "pins been set up" at Henderson's drug store for the 
nomination of some individual for an office, or for the defeat of another 
who was not looked upon with favor. The old building is still standing 
and were the walls endowed with the power of speech they could doubt- 
less tell of many a political intrigue of bygone days. 

Shortly after Anderson started on its natural gas boom some of the 
business men began to advocate some sort of an organization for the 
purpose of advertising the advantages of Anderson as a location for 
new factories and in other ways advancing the material interests of the 
city. The result of this agitation was that on the evening of May 24, 
1887, a meeting was held at the court house for the purpose of organizing 
a board of trade. George Nichol presided and E. E. Hendee was chosen 
secretary. A committee was appointed to draft a constitution, by-laws 
and articles of association, which it seems had been prepared in advance. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY m 

as they were adopted the same evening. At a second meeting, held at 
Chipman & Chipraan's law office on the evening of May 31, 1887, 
George Nichol was elected president and M. A. Chipman, secretary. 

At this meeting a communication in the nature of a proposal from a 
prominent glass manufacturer was read and discussed, but no definite 
action was taken to secure the location of the plant. Later in the year 
the board became more active and a number of new industries were 
established in Anderson under its influence. 

An interesting relic of Anderson's early days is now owned by John 
L. Forkuer. For want of a better name it might be called the first 
city directory. It was compiled by Eli P. Brown in 1876 and is v/ritten 
out with a pen in an old account book, the names being aiTanged in 
alphabetical order by wards. On the front page is the inscription : 
"Centennial Census, July, 1876, by Eli P. Brown.'" Opposite the name 
of each person of foreign birth is written in the margin his nationality, 
and the recapitulation shows 652 Irish, 266 Germans, 21 English, 12 
French, 3,116 native born, and 51 colored — a total of 4,118. Of this 
population 1,195 were children between the ages of six and twenty-one 
years, and 527 were children under the age of six j-ears. 

Following is a list of the mayors of Anderson from the time it was 
incorporated as a city to the present, with the year in which each 
assumed the duties of the office : Robert N. Williams, 1865 ; John 0. 
Jones, 1866; Wesley Dunham, 1868; Simeon C. Martindale, 1870 
William Roach, 1872 ; William L. Brown, 1874 ; Byron H. Dyson, 1876 
James Hazlett, 1878 ; Wesley Dunham, 1882 ; John F. McClure, 1886 
John H. Terhune, 1890 ; Morey H. Dunlap, 1894 ; John L. Forkner, 1902 
John H. Terhune, 1905; Henry P. Hardie (acting), 1909; Frank P. 
Foster, 1909. 

Robert N. Williams, the first mayor, was elected soon after the city 
-was incorporated in the summer of 1865 and served until the next general 
election in the spring of 1866. His administration was uneventful as 
there but little to be done except to preside over the deliberations of 
the city council and occasionally impose a fine upon some offender who 
might be brought before him as judge of the city court. He was the 
first postmaster of Anderson, served as county clerk, auditor and re- 
corder, and was at one time a large holder of Anderson real estate. 
He was also one of the leading members of the Madison county bar for 
many years. Mr. Williams was a Republican in politics, but by his 
popularity as a citizen was chosen the first mayor by common consent, 
without opposition. The first political contest for the mayoralty was 
when the next general election took place in 1866, at which John C. 
Jones defeated Mayor Williams for reelection. 

John C. Jones, the second mayor, was a Virginian bj^ birth, but came 
to Madison county a few years before the beginning of the Civil war 
and was one of the pioneers of Boone township. His first appearance 
in politics was as deputy sheriff under his brother-in-law, Benjamin 
Sebrell, who was elected in 1860. While in this office he made many 
acquaintances and was elected mayor in 1866. His administration of 
two vears, like that of his predecessor, was uneventful. Mayor Jonea 



112 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

was good-natured and good-hearted, and frequently sent some poor 
man to his home after a lecture instead of imposing a fine. 

Wesley Dunham was elected in 1868 and served until 1870. During 
his administration the first street in the city to be improved on an 
established grade was made passable. This was Water street (now 
Central avenue). He believed in municipal progress in the way of 
public works, and though this led to some criticism he was again elected 
mayor in 1882 and reelected in 1884. After retiring from the mayor's 
office he served several years as justice of the peace. 

Simeon C. Martindale, who served as mayor from 1870 to 1872, was 
the first Reput)lican to be elected to that office, as such, defeating Wesley 
Dunham and Andrew Jackson. He M'as born in Henry county, was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1860 and was for many years a prominent figure as 
a member of the bar of Madison county. 

William Eoach succeeded Mayor Martindale in 1872 and served one 
term. He had previously served as deputy sheriff and sheriff of the 
county and had a wide circle of acquaintances. He was one of the pio- 
neer merchants of Huntsville, in Fall Creek township, and was recog- 
nized as a sterling citizen. In 1874, when he was a candidate for reelec- 
tion, the temperance crusade, which swept over the country, struck 
Anderson. Women paraded the streets and erected booths in front of 
every saloon, where they held prayer meetings from the opening to the 
closing hours, keeping tab on all who entered the places. Although 
Mayor Roach was a temperance man, he yielded to the importunities of 
the business men and issued a proclamation prohibiting public demon- 
strations upon the streets or the holding of prayer meetings in front 
of the saloons. Then the guns of the crusaders were turned upon the 
mayor with such effect that he was defeated for reelection. 

William L. Brown, the temperance candidate, was elected in 1874 
and served for two years. In 1875 he took all the members of the 
city council and a number of the leading citiens to Union City, Indiana, 
to inspect the water works that had recently been established in that 
city, with a view of awakening sufficient interest to induce Anderson 
to follow the example. Nothing came of the effort, however, and it was 
not until eleven years later that the Anderson water works were cpfi- 
structed. Mr. Brown was public-spirited and was instrumental in 
securing the building of the road from the Pan Handle tracks to the 
cemetery, as well as other public improvement*. He subsequently re- 
moved to Sterling, Kansas, where he died. 

Byron H. Dyson succeeded iMayor Brown in 1876, being the young- 
est man ever elected to the office in Anderson. At the time of his elec- 
tion he was just from college and was a law student in the office of 
Judge W. R. Pierse. As mayor he presided with dignity and tact and 
was in all respects a good chief executive. After serving two years as 
mayor he entered the field of journalism, was connected with the local 
press and served as correspondent for some of the metropolitan papers. 
In the early '90s he collaborated with John L. Forkner in the compila- 
tion of a work entitled ' ' Historical Sketches and Reminiscences of Jladi- 
son County." 

James Hazlett was mayor from 1878 to 1882, serving two terms. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 113 

He has been credited with being one of the smoothest politicians Madi- 
son county ever produced. William C. Fleming, editor of the Demo- 
cratic organ of the county and a warm personal friend of Mr. Hazlett, 
was wont to allude to him as the "smoothing iron" of the Republican 
party. Mr. Hazlett also held the offices of county clerk, county treas- 
iirer and county commisiouer at different times. At one time he was 
a large property holder and was once a partner with William Grim in 
the grain business. Hazlett 's addition, in the northwestern part of the 
city, is upon land once owned by him. Atjout 1888 he removed to River- 
side, California, where he died some years later. 

John F. ilcClure was elected mayor in 1886 and at the close of his 
first term in 1888 was reelected. It was during his two administrations 
that Anderson made her phenomenal growth following the discovery 
of natural gas. Mayor McClure was one of the active spirits in organ- 
izing the board of trade and was one of the first men to advocate the 
paving of the streets with brick. After retiring from the mayor's office 
he was a member of the city council; was twice elected judge of the 
Madison Circuit Court, and is now serving as a member of the Indiana 
Railroad Commission. 

John H. Terhune, who was elected mayor in 1890, 1892 and in 1905 
for a four-year term, was one of Anderson 's largest manufacturers. He 
was a man of fine executive ability, a shrewd business man and just as 
shrewd in politics as he was in business matters. He was the owner of 
several business blocks and was always ready to contribute of his time 
and means for the promotion of Anderson's interests. As a member of 
the Indiana legislature he acquitted himself with credit, and his admin- 
istration as mayor were marked by that progressive spirit which was so 
characteristic of the man. His death occurred in 1909, before he had 
completed his last term. 

Morey j\I. Dunlap, who was elected mayor in 1894, was the only man 
who has ever served eight successive years as mayor of Anderson. Before 
locating in Anderson he had served for one term as mayor of Blooming- 
ton, Indiana. He was always alert to every movement for the benefit 
of the city, was public spirited and companionable and his administra- 
tions have passed into history as clean and business like in all respects. 

John L. Forkner was elected mayor in 1902 and at the close of his 
first term was reelected. His administrations are notable for the re- 
building of the electric lighting plant, the improvements of the water 
works by the installation of the filtration system, etc. Mayor Forkner 
was fortunate in having a cit}' council composed of men who were 
always ready to lay aside political differences when the welfare of the 
city was concerned. 

Henry P. Hardie was appointed city controller by Mayor Terhune 
and upon the death of the mayor early in 1909 Mr. Hardie became 
mayor by virtue of his office. He served oiit the unexpired term in a 
manner that was entirely acceptable to the people, but at the end of the 
term did not ask to be elected to the office as many expected and hoped. 
Mr. Hardie was at one time one of the police commissioners and is now 
postmaster. 

Frank P. Foster, the present incumbent, is a graduate of the In- 



114 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

diana State University and one of the prominent members of the bar 
of Madison county, having been engaged in the practice of law for 
many years. As Madison county's representative in the lower branch 
of the state legislature his counsel was sought on all important meas- 
ures that came before that body and he has been a factor in the public 
and political life of Anderson ever since becoming a resident of the 
city. He was elected mayor in 1909 for a term of four years, which 
expires in January, 1914. 

According to the United States census for 1910, Anderson is the 
seventh city ia Indiana in population, being exceeded in that respect 
only by Indianapolis, Evansville, Fort Wayne, Terre Haute, South Bend 
and Muncie, in the order named. In 1910 the population of Anderson 
was 22,476, an increase of nearly 12 per cent, during the preceding 
decade. The city has 6 banking institutions, 29 religious organiza- 
tions, lodges of all the leading fraternal orders, 10 public school build- 
ings, the high school building being one of the finest in the country, 
several good hotels, a large number of well stocked mercantile estab- 
lishments, several fine office buildings, well paved streets and concrete 
sidewalks, neat residences, a public park, which was dedicated on July 
4, 1913, a fine public library building, and a number of large manu- 
facturing concerns described in another chapter. The property of the 
city was assessed for tax purposes in 1913 at $10,226,745. 

One thing that impresses the visitor to Anderson is the large num- 
ber of shade trees that line the streets. From the tower of the court- 
house the city looks like one vast grove, with here and there a house 
visible among the trees. Cleveland, Ohio, once rejoiced in the name of 
the "Forest City," but never in her history was the streets of that city 
as well shaded as those of the residence sections of Anderson at the pres- 
ent time. Among the residents there is a spirit of friendly rivalry as 
to who can keep their lawns and shade trees in the best condition, giv- 
ing the city an air of comfort and prosperity. 



i 



1 



CHAPTER VIII 

CITIES AND TOWNS 

Extinct Towns and Villages — Incorporated Towns — Elwood — 
Alexandria — Pendleton — Summitville — Frankton — Lapel 
— Chesterfield — Markleville — ■ Ingalls — Orestes — Smaller 
Villages — Alliance — Emporia — Ovid — Leisure — Huntsville 
— Halford — Perkinsville — Florida — Linwood — Fishersburg — List 
of Postoffices in the County — Rural Routes. 

Since the formation of Madison county as a separate political divi- 
sian of the state in 1823, a number of towns or villages have been estab- 
lished or projected within her borders. Some of these have survived 
and have become industrial centers of considerable importance ; others 
move along in "the even tenor of their way" as neighborhood trading 
points or post-villages, and still others have succumbed to the inevitable 
and are no longer in existence. In the chapters on township history 
will be found mention of most of these extinct towns, as well as a few 
of the minor villages still on the map, but for the convenience of the 
reader a list of these places is here given, to wit : 

Victoria, Rockport and Omaha, in Anderson township ; Independ- 
ence, Forrestville and Clarktown, in Boone; IMenden, in Fall Creek; 
Alfont, in Green; Nancy town, an Indian village, in Jackson; Keller's 
Station, in Lafayette; Gilaaan and Osceola, in Monroe; Dundee, Monti- 
cello and New Madison, in Pipe Creek; Moonville, Pittsborough, Mount 
Pleasant and Prosperity, in Richland; Graber's Station and Johnson's 
Crossing, in Stony Creek; Slyfork or Branson, in Union. 

Anderson, the county seat and largest city, is treated in the preced- 
ing chapter. Next to Anderson, Elwood and Alexandria, in the order 
named are the largest and most important centers of population. Other 
incorporated towns are Chesterfield, Frankton, Ingalls, Lapel, Markle- 
ville, Orestes, Pendleton and Summitville. 

Elwood 

Elwood had its beginning in 1852, when William Barton opened a 
general store there. On March 1, 1853, the town was regularly laid 
out by James Anderson, J. B. Frazer and Mark Simmons and named 
Quincy by the founders. Soon after that a postoffice was established 
with William Barton as postmaster. As there was already one post- 
ofiSce in the state (in Owen county) called Quincy, the one at Elwood 

115 



116 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



was named Duck Creek. The confusion arising from having one name 
for the town and another for the postofifice often was the cause of both 
ludicrous and serious embarrassments, but the condition continued for 
more than fifteen years, when Captain F. M. Hunter, who was then 
postmaster, enlisted the cooperation of some of the citizens in a move- 
ment to change the name of both town and postoffice to Elwood, the 
new name becoming effective on July 21, 1869. 

In December, 1872, Elwood was incorporated as a town with the 
following officers: G. W. Rupp, John Ross and Huston Clendenen, 




City Building, Elwood 

trustees; J. H. Hunter, clerk; George Ross, treasurer; J. M. Parsons, 
marshal. The population was then between three hundi-ed and four 
hundred and the principal articles of export were lumber and cooper- 
age materials. The town boasted a brick school house, a fine flour mill, 
a hotel, several well appointed stores and a bank. The last named insti- 
tution had been established by William Barton in 1870, about two years 
before the incorporation. 

Although Elwood continued to grow steadily, its development was 
comparatively slow until after the discovery of natural gas in the im- 
mediate vicinity in 1887. Then it experienced a boom. Within two 
years the population and business interests had increased to such an 
extent that some of the more enterprising and progressive citizens began 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 117 

to advocate the establishment of a city goverument. As a result of the 
agitation an election was called for April 27, 1891, to give the voters 
an opportunity to express themselves for or against the incorporation 
of Elwood as a city. The whole number of votes cast at the election 
was 523, of which 377 were in favor of the proposition and 146 against 
it, a majority of 231 in favor of a city government. As. soon as the 
customary preliminaries were complied with, the city was divided into 
four wards and an election for city officers was ordered for the 9th 
of June. 

To William A. Dehority belongs the distinction of having been El- 
wood's first mayor. He was born in Elwood (or Quincy, as it was then 
called), on October 24, 1868, and was therefore in his twenty-third year 
when called by his fellow townsmen to be the city's first chief executive. 
At the time of his election he was the youngest mayor in the state of 
Indiana, but his energy, fine educational qualifications and inherent 
executive ability soon made it manifest that no mistake had been com- 
mitted by the people when they intrust-ed him with the important duty 
of inaugurating the new municipal regime. Mr. Dehority was also 
Indiana's first chief stale accountant, appointed by Governor Marshall. 

The other officers elected at the same time as Mayor Dehority were 
0. A. Armfield, clerk ; T. L. Dehority, treasurer ; F. M. Hunter, Jr., 
marshal ; G. W. Boyer and Jacob Kraus, councilmen for the first ward ; 
Martin E. Goode and Hugh Lyst, for the second; Daniel Heck and S. 
H. Cochran, for the third; and John Frith and W. B. Willets, for the 
fourth. 

One of the first acts of the new city administration was the passage 
of an ordinance granting a franchise to a company to put in a system 
of water works. This ordinance was approved by the mayor on July 
27, 1891, work was commenced on the plant immediately afterward, 
and water was supplied to a part of the city by the close of the year. 
The source of supply is fourteen, eight-inch deep wells. A reservoir with 
a capacity of one million and six hundred thousand gallons forms part of 
the system, the water being forced through the mains for ordinary pur- 
poses at a pressure of forty pounds to the square inch, which may be 
increased to one hundred pounds in case of fire. The quality of the 
■water is above the average for cities of Elwood 's size, and the quantity 
has always been sufficient to supply the demands. 

About the time the franchise was granted to the water company an 
electric lighting company was also granted a charter. Some years later 
the equipment of this company, with patronage and good will, was trans- 
ferred to the Indiana Service Company, which controls electric light and 
power plants in a number of cities through central Indiana. 

When natural gas was first struck near Elwood, the people were so 
elated over the prospect of securing cheap light and fuel that a company 
was formed and mains laid through the streets and alleys at pleasure, 
without the formality of asking for a franchise. After the city govern- 
ment had been in operation for some time, this company sought and 
obtained a franchise giving it the right to extend its mains, etc., and 
also regulating the rates to be charged for gas. 

The first electric cars appeared upon the streets of Elwood in the 



118 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

summer of 1893. The privilege of laying tracks upon certain streets 
had been granted by the city authorities some time before, but the work 
was delayed by the opposition of both the Lake Erie & Western and the 
Pennsylvania Railroad Companies, which tried to prevent the street 
railway lines from crossing their tracks. The street railway system is 
now owned by the Indiana Union Traction Company. 

On April 1, 1892, the first Elwood fire department was organized. 
It consisted of two regular men, eight volunteers, one wagon and two 
horses. In 1895 six paid men were added to the department, which was 
still further strengthened by the addition of two more in 1899, after 
which time volunteers ceased to form part of the department. The city 
now has two hose wagons and a hook and ladder truck, housed in good 
buildings and provided with everything that contributes to efficiency. 
The working force consists of a chief, an assistant chief and eight men 
who give their entire time to the city and are always ready to answer 
calls. 

Soon after the inauguration of the city government the marshal 
gave way to an organized police department, which in 1913 consisted 
of a chief, a sergeant and seven patrolmen. 

In 1899 a city hall was erected at a cost of $35,000. In the base- 
ment are located the heating plant and cells for the city's prisoners. 
The main floor is occupied by the municipal offices and the mayor's 
court, and in the south wing quarters are provided for the hook and 
ladder truck and one of the hose wagons. The inscription on the cor- 
ner-stone shows that at the time the building was erected F. M. Harbit 
was the mayor; J. J. Davis, city clerk; W. A. Hupp, city treasurer; 
John Finan, city engineer; Phil Hamm, J. L. Ringo, Lute Douge and 
"William Davis, councilmen; T. F. Harnack and E. Rummel, building 
committee, and that J. E. Alexander & Son were the architects who 
designed the building. 

The city government in 1913 was composed of Austin Brumbaugh, 
mayor; John Nearom, city clerk; V. M. Maines, city treasurer; A. R. 
Foland, chief of police; Frank Toler, sergeant; Herman Barber, chief 
of the fire department; J. H. Snyder, assistant chief, and the council 
was composed of five members instead of eight as when the city was 
first incorporated. At one time Elwood was divided into five wards, 
but in recent years the number has been reduced to three, each of which 
elects a councilman and there are two councilmen at large. The pres- 
ent council i^ made up of C. C. Haworth and Edmon H. Peters, coun- 
cilmen at large; Albert L. Klapp, representing the first ward; W. E. 
Clymer, the second, and E. B. Weismantel, the third. These officers 
retire in January, 1914, except the members of the fire and police de- 
partments. 

From the little Duck Creek postoffice, established on February 5, 
1855, with William Barton as postmaster, the postal business of El- 
wood has grown to such proportions as to justify the erection of a spe- 
cial building by the Federal government for its aceommodation. Accord- 
ingly, an appropriation was made for that purpose by Congress and 
work on the building was commenced on April 22, 1912. On July 21, 
1913, it was opened to the public. The new postoffice is located at the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 119 

corner of North A and Anderson streets, near the business center of the 
city, and was completed at a cost of $57,555. Besides the postmaster 
and assistant postmaster, the office employs five clerks and six carriers 
in the city and six rural carriers deliver mail from the Elwood office to 
the surrounding country. 

Since the incorporation of Elwood as a city, several clubs or associa- 
tions have been formed by the business men for the promotion of the 
material welfare of the city and its industries. The present Merchants' 
and Manufacturers' Club was organized on September 13, 1911, and 
numbers ninety-eight members. The officers for 1913 were: M. J. Fo- 
garty, president; B. H. Campbell, vice president; R. J. Weber, secretary; 
W. E. Harting, treasurer. 

The Elwood of today has twelve miles of brick streets, five modern 
public school buildings, twelve churches, a free public library, a central 
heating plant that supplies hot water heat to over one hundred buildings, 
lodges of all the leading fraternal organizations, four of which own 
their homes, two daily newspapers, three banks and one trust company 
with deposits of about $1,500,000, good hotels and theaters, two large 
grain elevators, a well equipped flour mill, several important manufac- 
turing establishments, over one hundred retail mercantile houses, and is 
surrounded by one of the best agricultural districts in the state. Excel- 
lent transportation and shipping facilities are afforded by the Lake Erie 
& Western and Pan Handle railroads and the Indiana Union Traction 
Company. In 1910 the population, according to the United States census, 
was 11,028, and the assessed value of the property in 1912 was $3,188,690. 

Th€ business development of Elwood, bringing it up from a mere vil- 
lage to a city of large proportions, is largely due to the enterprise and 
loyalty of the Dehority family and the Callaways. These two families 
were in business in Elwood when it was but a "speck" on the map, 
and they both prospered to such an extent that when the moment came 
to make strides toward making Elwood a city, they were there, ready to 
lead the procession. No proposition for the betterment of Elwood has 
ever presented itself that did not receive their hearty support. 

Alexandria 

Alexandria, the third city of the county in population, is situated 
on Pipe creek, near the center of Monroe township, ten miles north of 
Anderson, with which city it is connected by the Michigan division of 
the Big Four railway, and a line of the Indiana Union Traction system. 
The first white settler in Monroe township, Micajah Chamness, located 
here in 1831. Others came soon after and quite a settlement had grown 
up in the vicinity before the town was formally laid out. Soon after the 
passage of the internal improvement act by the state legislature of 1836, 
John D. Stephen.son and William Connor came to the conclusion that 
the Indiana Central canal must pass near this settlement and conceived 
the idea of starting a town on the banks of Pipe creek. They therefore 
purchased of Micajah Chamness the east half of the northeast quarter 
of section 24 and employed Nineveh Berry, at that time county survej'or, 
to lay out the town. The survey and plat were completed on June 3, 1836, 



120 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

and on the next day was held the first sale of lots. News of the canal had 
spread and a large number of buyers were present, the prices of lots 
ranging from ten to tifty-three dollars. 

Thus the town started off under favorable auspices. Soon after it 
was laid out Nineveh Berry erected a log house at the southeast corner 
of what are now Berry and Clinton streets and, as the agent of Conner 
& Stephenson, put in a stock of general merchandise. This was the 
first mercantile establishment in Monroe township. In a few months 
Colonel Berry's official duties as surveyor called him to Anderson and 
David L. Pickard became his successor as manager of the store. About 
this time a postoffiee was established and Mr. Pickard was appointed 
postmaster. He was succeeded by Nathan E. Tomlinson, who came 
from Yorktown, Delaware county, in 1839 as manager of the store of 
Burner & Company. 

The first hotel in the town was opened by David L. Pickard in 1838, 
in a log house weather-boarded on the outside, located at the corner of 
Harrison and Berry streets, where it remained standing for fifty years 
or more as one of Alexandria's landmarks. In that day there were no 
railroads, and, as most of the travel was on horseback, the frontier hotels 
were generally prepared to furnish "entertainment for both man and 
beast." For this service Mr. Pickard 's rates were sixty cents per day. 

Connor and Stephenson had judged rightly when they anticipated 
that the canal would pass Alexandria, and when it was located in 1838 
the town enjoyed an era of prosperity that lasted until the canal project 
was abandoned about two years later. For the twenty years from 18-40 
to 1860 the growth of Alexandria was rather slow. Among the enter- 
prises established during this period were the mercantile houses of 
William Calloway (1845) and William T. Scott (1847), and the fan- 
ning mill factory of Wolfe & Sherman in 1850. At the beginning of the 
Civil war in 1861 the population of Alexandria was about 350. 

In 1875 two railroads — the Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan and the 
Lafayette, Muncie & Bloomington — were completed through Alexandria. 
The former of these roads is now the Michigan division of the Big Four, 
and the latter is the Lake Erie & Western. With the advent of the rail- 
roads Alexandria experienced a marked increase in both population and 
business activity. So much so, indeed, that early in the summer of 
1876 the town was incorporated with the following officers : Nathan E. 
Tomlinson, E. B. Chanmess and Gideon Kiefer, trustees; J. M. Tomlin- 
son, clerk; Seth B. Henshaw, treasurer; ilarion Tuttle, marshal. The 
first meeting of the town board was held on July 5, 1876. 

Attracted to the enterprising little town, Joseph Fenimore started 
the publication of the Alexandria Bee in 1877, but he "reckoned with- 
out his host," for the patronage was not equal to his expectations and 
after a somewhat precarious career of a few months the Bee was forced 
to suspend. 

On March 27, 1887, the first natural gas well in Madison county, 
near the end of East Washington street came in with a strong pressure 
and for the third time Alexandria was due for a boom. The population 
was then about 800. The enterprising citizens were not slow to recog- 
nize the possibilities and offered flattering inducements to manufac- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



121 



turers to locate in Alexandria. The first window glass factory in the 
county was started by Harper & Cruzen in 1888. Within the next three 
years two large brick factories, four glass works, the Kelly Ax Works 
and the Union Steel Company, established themselves in Alexandria. 
The 3,500 men employed by these concerns, as well as a number employed 
by several smaller concerns, added materially to the population and it 
soon became evident that the old town government was too antiquated 
in form for a municipality that was going forward by leaps and bounds 
like Alexandria. Consequently Alexandria was incorporated as a city 
in 1893, with the following officers: John E. Sherman, mayor; L. J. 
Hernly, clerk; E. C. Robinson, treasurer; W. W. Penimore, marshal; 
C. F. Heritage and John Reese, couneilnien for the First ward ; Joseph 
Brannum and Henry Herr, Second ward ; T. AV. JIullen and Peter 
Hartman, Third ward. 

In 1913 the city government was administered by James H. Edwards, 
mayor; Bernard M. Madden, city clerk; Horace J. Inlow, treasurer; D. 




Alexandria View 



A. Allman and John M. Walker, councilmen at large; George C. Her- 
man, First ward ; Charles P. Meyer, Second ward ; John F. Kelly, Third 
ward ; D. R. Jones, city attorney ; S. E. Donahoo, chief of police ; John ' 
F. Merker, chief of the fire department ; Emmet N. Hollowell, assistant 
chief; Dr. E. J. Beardsley, health officer. 

On the night of December 6, 1891, fire was discovered in Pauly's jew- 
elry store about midnight and every building in that square was de- 
stroyed before the flames could be checked. All the buildings were 
frame except the one occupied by H. P. Williams' saloon. A few days 
after the fire the walls of this structure fell and buried John Fink and 
William Morley, the latter a boy about fifteen years old, in the ruins. 
Both were unconscious when rescued and died soon afterward. Another 
disastrous fire occurred on the night of January 21, 1893, starting in 
Clayton's grocery on the west side of Harrison street, between Church 
and Wood streets. Although the citizens rendered such aid as they 
could on both these occasions, it was apparent that the city needed some 
systematic protection against conflagrations. The city council was 



122 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

appealed to by the citizens to establish a fire department, but the state 
of the public finances was such that nothing could be done by the munic- 
ipal authorities. 

In this emergency R. H. Hannah, A. E. Harlan, S. E. Young, 
Anthony Bertsehe and J. P. Condo, five of the public spirited citizens, 
came forward with a proposition to furnish the money to purchase a 
hook and ladder truck, a two-horse chemical engine and a small fire 
extinguisher if the people would undertake to man them. The appa- 
ratus was purchased in Chicago and upon its arrival in Alexandria a 
meeting was held at the office of Mayor Sherman to organize a fire com- 
pany. Forty men volunteered and Pink Varble, Joseph Brannum, 
Joseph Fulton and T. W. Mullen were elected a board of directors. This 
was the beginning of Alexandria's fire department. As the city pos- 
sessed no suitable building for the chemical engine and hook and lad- 
der truck, they were kept in a livery stable until more adequate quar- 
ters could be provided. 

After the completion of the water works the chemical engine was 
dispensed with, and the department at the present time consists of a 
chief, assistant chief and four men, aU paid by the city. The apparatus 
consists of a hook and ladder truck and a hose wagon, stationed in a 
buildijig on Wayne street, just south of the city building. 

On September 2, 1895, bonds to the amount of $40,000 were issued 
for the purpose of constructing a water works system for the city. 
Mains were laid through all the principal streets, both in the business 
and residence districts, a large steel stand-pipe and pumping station 
were erected and a number of deep wells were sunk to furnish the 
water supply. AU the bonds have been paid except $4,000, which are 
not due until 1915. Alexandria has a modern water works system and 
a bountiful supply of good water and the entire plant is owned by the 
city. 

In 1893 the Alexandria Electric Lighting Company was organized 
and within a comparatively short time had its plant in operation. This 
plant is now operated by the Indiana Service Company. 

For more than ten years after the city was incorporated, the munic- 
ipal officers occupied rented quarters, but in 1905 a lot was purchased at 
the southeast corner of Church and "Wayne streets and James McGuire 
was employed to make plans for a city building. From the inscrip- 
tion on the corner stone it is learned that J. H. Edwards was then 
mayor ; H. J. Inlow, city clerk ; J. S. Wales, treasurer ; J. W. Mountain, 
marshal ; A. H. Jones, attorney ; M. Miller, F. C. Jones, N. Booth, A. 
Schilling, J. F. Kelly and J. H. Prank, councilmen; O'Hara & Good- 
win, contractors. The cost of the administration building was $7,679 
and the contract provided that it should be completed by May 1, 1906. 
Just south of this building is the city prison, or jail, which was erected 
about the same time at a cost of $950, and south of the jail is a brick 
building for the use of the fire department, erected in 1905 at a cost 
of about $3,000. With these buildings Alexandria is as well provided 
with municipal accommodations as any city of its size in the state. 
Immediately across Wayne street from the administration building is 
the Carnegie Library. 



1 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 123 

The citizens of Alexandria have always been alert to any and every- 
thing that would conduce to the material welfare and progress of their 
city. To this end the Alexandria Business Men's Association was organ- 
ized on January 24, 1911, and now numbers seventy -five members, with 
the following officers : F. C. Jones, druggist, president ; L. S. Mahony, 
shoe merchant, vice-president; William P. Snethen, tailoring, secre- 
tary; S. G. Phillips, banker, treasui'cr. This association assumes charge 
of celebrations, advertising, etc., and in other ways endeavors to pro- 
mote the interests of the city and its people. 

According to the United States census of 1910, the population of 
Alexandria was then 5,096. In 1912 the property of the city was 
assessed for taxes at $1,159,275, or about $225 for each man, woman and 
child living within the corporate limits. The city has four modern pub- 
lic school buildings, two banks, two newspapers, one of which issues a 
daily edition, fourteen religious organizations, adequate fire and police 
departments, a number of well stocked mercantile establishments, well 
paved streets over a large part of the city, good hotels, and although the 
industries of the city suffered great inconvenience through the failure 
of natural gas, there are still several large manufactories at Alexan- 
dria. The United States postoffice employs six persons in the office, 
four city and eight rural carriers and annually handles a large amount 
of mail. John C. Brattain was postmaster in 1913. The first lawyer to 
locate in Alexandria was Peter H. Lemon, who opened an office there 
in 1842. The first resident physician was a Dr. Spence, who established 
himself in the village soon after it was laid out and built the first brick 
house in the town. The city now has its full quota of lawyers and doc- 
tors. 

Pendleton 

- This town has the distinction of being one of the oldest in the county. It 
is situated near the center of Fall Creek township, on the main line of the 
Big Four Railway, eight miles southwest of Anderson. In the early settle- 
ment of Fall Creek township a majority of the pioneers located along Fall 
creek, near the falls, and their houses were so near to each other that 
the settlement had the appearance of a town without ever having been 
laid out as such. Thomas M. Pendleton, who owned the land upon 
which the major portion of the town now stands, and for whom the 
place was named, seeing the desirability of the location, decided to 
found a town in the regular way. Accordingly, he employed a surveyor 
and on January 13, 1830, had his farm divided into lots and a copy of 
the plat filed with the county recorder. 

When the county of Madison was erected in 1823, the seat of jus- 
tice was established at Pendleton, the organic act providing that the 
sessions of the court should be held at the house of William McCartney, 
which stood near the falls of Fall Creek. Oliver H. Smith, in his 
"Early Reminiscences of Indiana," in giving an account of the famous 
trials of the white men for the Indian murders, says: "A new log 
building was erected at the north part of Pendleton, with two rooms, 
one for the court and one for the grand jury. The court room was about 



124 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

twenty by thirty feet with a heavy 'puncheon' floor, a platform at one 
end, three feet high, a bench for the judges, a plain table for the clerk, 
in front, a long bench for the counsel, a little pen for the prisoners, a 
side bench for the witnesses, and a long pole in front, substantially sup- 
ported, to separate the crowd from the bar." 

This was doubtless the first courthouse ever erected in the county. 
The business of the county was transacted at Pendleton until after the 
passage of the act of January 26, 1827, which appointed a commission 
to select a location for a permanent county seat. A full account of the 
work of this commission, and the establishment of the seat of justice at 
Anderson, will be found in Chapter IV. 

Thomas Silver had opened a store a year or two before the town 
was surveyed. He was the pioneer merchant and the brick building 
erected by him on the corner of State and Main streets was the first 
business building of that kind in Pendleton. Other early merchants 
were Palmer Patrick, James Gray, Joseph Bowman and William Silver. 
Palmer Patrick was associated for a time with Thomas Silver. James 
Gray came in 1833 and at the time of his death in 1850 was considered 
the leading merchant of the town. Joseph Bowman remained but a 
short time, when he removed to Middletown, where he finally died. 
William Silver came in 1838 and engaged in business alone. Ten years 
later he transferred his store to his son, J. R. Silver, who conducted it 
for many years. 

The first tavern was a frame building on the south side of State 
street, a short distance west of Main. It was built by Jacob Mingle for 
a residence, but, the town being without a hotel, he opened it for the 
accommodation of travelers, chiefly immigrants seeking homes in "the 
new country. ' ' 

James Bell, who came to Pendleton in 1833, conducted a hotel for 
awhile at the corner of State and Main streets, but later converted the 
building into a mercantile establishment. The "Madison House," a 
two-story frame building on the south side of Main street, west of State, 
was erected and opened as a hotel by Jesse Boston about 1835. He died 
two years later, but his widow continued to conduct the hotel until her 
death some years afterward, when the house was closed. The building 
occupied by James Gray's residence and store, at the northeast corner 
of State and Main streets, was converted into a hotel about 1852 and 
was first conducted by James H. Smithers, under the name of the Pen- 
dleton House. After several changes in ownership it passed into the 
hands of F. E. Ireland, who changed the name to the Commercial Hotel. 
This building was destroyed by fire on July 7, 1897. 

During the first twenty years of its career, the growth of Pendle- 
ton was "slow but sure." In 1850 the Indianapolis & Belief ontaine 
Railroad (now the Big Four) was completed to Pendleton and proved a 
great stimulus to the town. On October 12, 1850, Nineveh Berry made 
a new survey of Pendleton and about the same time two or three addi- 
tions were made to the original plat. A year or so later a movement 
was started for the incorporation of the town, and after the usual pre- 
liminaries in the way of circulating petitions, etc., an election was 
ordered for December 24, 1853, to determine the question. Nathaniel 



f 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 125 

Richmond, T. G. Mitchell and G. M. Rogers were the election inspectors, 
and upon canvassing the returns they found thirty-seven votes for the 
incorporation and only four against it. The first officers were as fol- 
lows: Nathaniel Richmond, William Silver, Joseph Stephenson, M. 
Chapman and R. Clark, trustees; T. G. Mitchell, clerk; John Huston 
(or Houston), treasurer; David Bousman, marshal. The first meeting 
of the town board was held on March 31, 1854, when Nathaniel Rich- 
mond was elected president of the board. 

The present town government is composed of William Swain, Fred 
Lantz, Stephen Hair, T. A. Baker and J. W. Linder, trustees; D. B. 
Cole, clerk and treasurer ; Edward Burdette, marshal. The school board 
is made up of J. J. Rodger, president; Dr. L. E. Alexander, secretary; 
George P. Longnecker, treasurer. 

In Harden 's ' ' Pioneer, ' ' published in 1895, is an article from the pen 
of Mrs. Caroline E. Russell, giving her early recollections of Pendle- 
ton. Mrs. Russell- says that about 1831 the citizens decided to have a pub- 
lic well and a man by the name of Adam Anderson was employed to dig 
it. At the brick store, where many of. the inhabitants were in the habit 
of loafing of evenings, a collection would be taken up each evening to 
pay Anderson for his day's work. If there was not enough to satisfy 
his demand he would cover up the well and wait until he received his 
wages before proceeding with the work. In time, however, the well was 
completed and was the principal source of water supply for the greater 
part of the town. Before it was dug the people carried water for some 
distance from two springs — one known as the "Spout Spring," which 
was located south of the central part of the town near the right of way 
of the Big Four Railroad, and the other north of Fall creek, not far 
from the Fishersburg pike. 

In common with other Madison county towns, Pendleton enjoyed 
a prosperous career for a few years following the discovery of natural 
gas. Several new manufacturing establishments were located and for 
a time the town wore an atmosphere of industrial activity. With the 
failure of the gas supply most of the factories were discontinued or 
removed to other points, though there are still some industries of this 
nature in operation, mention of which is made in the chapter on Finance 
and Industries. Pendleton has a commercial club, of which A. B. Tay- 
lor is president and Charles Goodrich is secretary, the purpose of 
which is similar to that of such organizations in other towns — to adver- 
tise Pendleton and its advantages and by cooperating secure favor- 
able freight rates, etc. The Big Four Railroad and one of the principal 
lines of the Indiana Union Traction Company afford excellent transpor- 
tation and shipping facilities. 

The Pendleton of the present day has a modern school building, four 
churches, a weekly newspaper, well paved streets, two banks, several 
well equipped mercantile establishments and a number of handsome 
residences. The population in 1910 was 1,293. 

SUMMITVILLE 

This town was laid out in 1867 by Aaron M. Williams, who was one 
of the pioneers in that section of the county. He established a tanyard, 



126 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

which he operated in connection with his farm, kept a general store and 
also entertained travelers at his residence. A settlement grew up about 
the store and tannery and Mr. Williams sold several lots by metes and 
bounds before any regular plat of the town was made and recorded. 

Summitville is located a little west of the center of Van Buren town- 
ship, seventeen miles north of Anderson. It was first called "Skipper- 
ville," but when the surveyors marked the line of the old Indianapolis 
& Fort Wayne State road, some years before any settlement was made 
where Summitville now stands, they marked that point as the highest 
ground between Fort Wayne and Indianapolis. The name of Skipper- 
ville not being very dignified or euphonious, it was changed to Summit- 
ville, which name was adopted to correspond to the report of the sur- 
veyors. A short distance north of the town is the watershed that divides 
the valleys of the Wabash and the White river. 

Among the early settlers in the vicinity of Summitville were Thomas 
Cartwright and his son, William T., who came from Wayne county, 
Indiana, early in the fall of 1835. Seven years before that the family 
had come from North Carolina and settled at Milton, Wayne county. 
Thomas Cartwright kept a tavern on the canal, just south of Summit- 
ville. He was one of the three trustees that ordered the erection of the 
second public schoolhouse in Van Buren township. His grandson, T. 
E. Cartwright, of Summitville, still has in possession the old clock 
brought to the settlement by his grandfather in 1835. 

Other pioneers who located near where Summitville now stands were 
John Thurston, Sr., Asbury Chaplin, George M. and Henry Vinson, 
James Oldfield, Harrison McLain, Lemuel Jones, James M." Hundley, 
Isaac Woods, John M. Harris, John Allman, Aquila Moore, Aaron M. 
Williams apd John Beck. 

In November, 1867, Henry Roby opened a store — the first business 
enterprise to be established after the town was laid out — but soon after- 
ward sold out to Aquila Moore & Son. Some time before that a post- 
ofBee had been established about two miles north of the town and Wil- 
liam Knowland was the first postmaster. About the time Moore & Son 
purchased Mr. Roby's interests, the postofQce was removed to the store 
and Aquila Moore was appointed postmaster. The first mails were car- 
ried on horseback from Strawtown, Hamilton county, over "blazed" 
roads through the woods. Daniel Dwiggins was the first mail rider. 
Then Caleb May and Kuhn Slagle began running a stage line between 
Anderson and Marion and they carried the mails — north one daj' and 
south the next. Thomas Cranfill was the last man to carry the mails by 
vehicle prior to the completion of the railroad. 

Dr. Cyrus Graul located at Summitville soon after the town was 
laid out, though Drs. S. B. Harriman, C. V. Garrett, John Wright, W. 
V. McMahan, S. T. Brunt, T. J. Clark and M. L. Cranfill had all prac- 
ticed in the neighborhood before that time. 

In 1876 the Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan Railroad (now the Big 
Four) was completed to Summitville and a station was established there 
with J. P. Smith as agent. James H. Wooden erected a grain warehouse, 
several new business enterprises came in and Summitville experienced 
its first real boom. Such was the growth during the next few years that 



\ 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 127 

on December 31, 1881, Summitville was incorporated by order of the 
board of county commissioners, though the town ofiBcers were not elected 
until May 1, 1882, when Joseph A. Allen, Moses Stone and George W. 
Fear were chosen trustees; Frank Ilernley, clerk; W. H. Williams, 
treasurer; and J. M. Williams, marshal. In 1913 the officers were as 
follows: Isaac F. Wilbanks, William W. Bryson and Oscar A. Vinson, 
trustees; John M. Kaufman, clerk; Maurice Warner, treasurer; Lytle 
Bair, marshal. 

The town's second boom came with the discovery of natural gas. In 
a short time after the first gas well was sunk Summitville became one 
of the thriftiest and most enterprising towns in the county. Among 
the industries established there during the gas era were three glass fac- 
tories, a large brick factory and the Summitville Tile Works, as well as 
several smaller concerns. Some of these industries are still running. 
About 1890 or 1891 a question was raised as to the legality of the town's 
incorporation. Through the influence of J. M. Hundley, the legislature 
of 1895 passed an act legalizing the incorporation and all the acts of the 
town board. 

The first water works in Summitville were put in by the Summit- 
ville Mining Company, which in reality was a natural gas company. 
Gas pressure was used to pump water from a deep well bored for gas, 
and after the pressure became too low to force the water through the 
pipes the water works were abandoned. The present electric light and 
water company was organized in 1903 by William Warner & Sons and 
R. C. Howard. About a year later the plants were sold to .the town on 
a rental basis and were operated by the municipality until in 1911, 
when, the town deciding that it was unable to make the payments, they 
were turned back to the original company, which is now furnishing an 
ample water supply from deep wells, but the electric lighting plant is 
idle, the company purchasing its current from the Union Traction Com- 
pany. 

Summitville has a bank, a flour mill, a handsome public school build- 
ing, five churches, several good mercantile establishments, about two 
and a half miles of paved streets, concrete sidewalks over the greater 
part of the town, first class transportation facilities through the Big 
Four Railroad and one of the Union Traction Company's lines, a good 
hotel, a weekly newspaper, and in 1910 reported a population of 1,387. 
North Summitville, formerly known as "Wrinkle," is the site of a large 
drain tile works, a general store, etc. It is located about three quarters 
of a mile north of the main town. 

Frankton 

Situated on the Pan Handle Railroad about ten miles northwest 
of Anderson, and on the boundary line between Lafayette and Pipe 
Creek townships, is the town of Frankton. It was laid out on March 3, 
1853, by Alfred Makepeace and Francis Sigler. The first building had 
been erected there some five years before by John Hardy and was occu- 
pied as soon as completed by Alfred Makepeace with a stock of goods, 
brought in wagons from Cincinnati. As early as 1837 or 1838 a post- 



128 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

oflSee had been established at the house of William Taylor, about a mile 
east of Franktoa, with Mr. Taylor as the postmaster. In 1855 it was 
removed to the village and the name of the office changed to Frank- 
ton. 

The town was incorporated in 1871 with Dr. Stanley W. Edwins, 
William Cochran and Dr. R. Harvey as the first board of trustees. Three 
years before the incorporation the town had erected a two-story brick 
schoolhouse at a cost of about $2,500. At the present time Frankton 
has a commissioned high school and employs seven teachers in the pub- 
lic schools. The first bank was started in 1876 by Cornelius Quick 
& Company. 

Prior to 1887 the principal industries of Frankton were a sawmill 
and flour mill. With the discovery of natural gas in 1887 the town 
immediately began to look up. A number of new industrial concerns 
located there, among them being two brick manufacturing companies, 
two window glass companies, one of which erected two factories, three 
fence companies, a rolling mill and a novelty works. In a short time 
after the introduction of gas the population was estimated at 2,000. 
Three additions were made to the town by Joseph M. Watkins, and 
other additions were made by different persons until the town spread 
over a considerable territory. Several of the factories closed when the 
natural gas failed and there was a decline in population. Notwithstand- 
ing these losses, Frankton is still one of the active towns of the county. 
It has a number of well stocked mercantile houses, a bank, several fac- 
tories, a fine public school building, neat church edifices representing 
the houses of worship of different denominations, lodges of some of 
the principal fraternal societies, and in 1910 reported a populatipn of 
936. Being located in the midst of a rich agricultural district, it is an 
important shipping point. 

Lapel 

On the line of the Central Indiana Railroad, eight miles west of 
Anderson, lies the incorporated town of Lapel, the principal town of 
Stony Creek township. Probably the first settler here was Benoni Freel, 
who had previously settled near the present town of Perkinsville, Jack- 
son township, but in 1828 erected a cabin upon the site of Lapel. This 
town is the outgrowth of the building of the Anderson, Lebanon & 
St. Louis (now the Central Indiana) Railroad. Work was commenced 
on this road in 1873 and the first rail was laid late in the year 1875. On 
April 27, 1876, Samuel E. Busby and David Conrad laid out the town 
of Lapel. For several years the village consisted of a few scattering 
houses, a flour mill and a general store. Then a second flour mill was 
erected and after the discovery of natural gas the growth was more 
rapid. In a short time Lapel boasted — besides the two large flour mills 
— a planing mill, a flint bottle factory, a pump and gas regulator fac- 
tory, tile mills and some minor industries. 

In January, 1893, Lapel was incorporated with E. R. Rambo, 0. 
C. Shetterly and James Armstrong as trustees, and J. C. McCarty as 
clerk. After the incorporation considerable attention was given to the 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 129 

work of improving the streets and in other ways beautifying the town, 
with the result that Lapel has the reputation of being one of the pret- 
tiest places in Madison county. It has a fine public school building, a 
commissioned high school and employs eight teachers, there are several 
neat churches edifices, lodges of various orders, a number of handsome 
residences, some good stores, a bank and a few factories, among which 
are a flint bottle works and a large canning factory. Lapel is sur- 
rounded by a fertile country and is the principal shipping point on the 
Central Indiana Railroad between Anderson and Noblesville. 

An incident that occurred at Lapel in the summer of 1886 attracted 
considerable attention. That was the incendiary fire that destroyed 
Woodward Brothers' large flour mill early on the morning of August 
16th. Mrs. William Woodward discovered the fire and aroused her 
husband, who reached the window in time to see the incendiary watch- 
ing, apparently to see if his work was well done. The town had no fire 
department and the mill, together with its contents — about 5,000 bush- 
els of wheat and a large quantity of flour — was completely destroyed, 
the loss being given as $15,000. Detectives were employed by the 
owners to discover and convict the guilty parties. Suspicion pointed 
to John Cottrell, who was soon afterward arrested at Pendleton and 
taken to jail. In a preliminary hearing before a justice of the peace 
he was bound over to the Madison circuit court. Thomas and George 
Ford, the son and nephew of James Ford, the rival miller, were also 
arrested, given a preliminary hearing and bound over to the circuit 
court. 

Upon promise of immunity Cottrell turned state's evidence, testify- 
ing that a conspiracy was formed between him and the Fords by which 
he was to fire the mill. A change of venue was taken to the Hamilton 
county circuit court, where George Ford was found guilty at the Decem- 
ber term in 1886 and sentenced to serve nine years in the penitentiary 
and pay a fine of $1,000. At the March term following Thomas Ford 
was found guilty as an accessory and sentenced to four years in the 
penitentiary. Cottrell was never punished for his part in the work. 
James Ford, the owner of the rival mill, an old and respected citizen, 
spent the greater part of Ihe fortune he had accumulated in the defense 
of his son and nephew. No accusation was brought against him as hav- 
ing guilty knowledge of the affair and he had the sympathy of many 
citizens who had known him for years as an honorable and upright 
man. 

Chesterfield 

This tovra dates back to about the year 1827, though it was not for- 
mally laid out until early in the year 1830 by Allen Makepeace. It was 
first called West Union and when the township of Union was organ- 
ized in May, 1830, the first election was ordered to be held at the house 
of Thomas Vananda, who kept a grocery in the town of West Union. 
The county commissioners, at the September term in 1834, changed the 
name to Chesterfield upon a petition signed by a majority of the cit- 
izens and presented by Allen Makepeace. 

In its early days Chesterfield was one of the prosperous towns of 



130 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

the county and so far as trade was concerned bid fair to become a 
formidable rival to Anderson. When the Indianapolis & Bellefon- 
taine Railroad was completed through Madison county in 1852, Ches- 
terfield experienced several years of unusual business activity. Large 
shipments of agricultural products were made from the town and the 
merchants extended their trade over a large district of the surround- 
ing country. Population increased to such an extent that in the late 
summer of the year 1857 a petition was circulated and signed by a 
large majority of the citizens, asking for the incorporation of the town. 
At the September term the county commissioners ordered an election 
for October 9, 1857 (the second Friday), at the sehoolhouse, when 
the voters might have an opportunity to express themselves for or 
against the incorporation. For some reason that election was not held, 
and in December the board ordered a second election, to be held on 
January 2, 1858. This time the effort was productive of better results. 
Thirty-two votes were cast in favor of the incorporation and none 
against it. Proper returns of the election were filed with the commis- 
sioners, who, on March 11, 1858, issued the order for the incorpora- 
tion of Chesterfield. 

For some time after the town was incorporated it continued to pros- 
per and improve. Harden, who wrote in 1874, said at that time — "It 
has, however, lost its prestige, and many of its houses are untenanta- 
ble." The principal reasons why Chesterfield thus declined were no 
doubt that other towns offered better inducements and some of the most 
active and successful business men of Chesterfield removed to other 
points. In 1910 the population of Chesterfield was 285, and the prop- 
erty in 1912 was assessed for tax purposes at $107,560. 

Since Harden alluded to Chesterfield in 1874 as having "lost its 
prestige," it is but justice to the town to say that in recent years it 
has again become a live, active place. The building of the interurban 
railway had the effect of stimulating industry and activity in mercan- 
tile pursuits. It is now one of the best villages in the county for coun- 
try trade. The Indiana Spiritualist Association has a large tract of 
land adjoining the town, which makes for it a beautiful park and a 
meeting place for the annual gathering of those connected with the 
Spiritualistic faith. Allen Makepeace, who died at Chesterfield, was 
the wealthiest man in the county at the time of his death. 

Makkleville 

This town is located in Adams township, two miles from the Henry 
county line and the same distance north of Hancock county. It is on 
the Michigan division of the Big Four Railroad, ten miles southeast of 
Anderson, and is the principal town in that section of the county. The 
Pendleton & Newcastle pike runs east and west through the town. 
Markleville was laid out by John Markle, from whom it derives its 
name, in 1852. Soon after the town was laid out a postoflBce was estab- 
lished there with John Markle as postmaster. 

Among the early merchants were Newton Busby, E. B. Garrison, 
Ralph Williams, David Johnson, J. W. Shimer and H. H. Markle. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 131 

Those of a later date were the firms of Sebrell & Blake and Hardy & 
Lewis. The latter firm about 1873 erected the finest business room in 
the town up to that time. Dr. Daniel Cook was probably the first 
resident physician. Other physicians in the early history of the town 
were William Hendricks, Jacob and William P. Harter and William 
Swain. 

When the railroad was completed through the town in 1890, Mar- 
kleville became a station of considerable importance for the south- 
eastern part of the county. By 1910 the population had increased to 
225 and some of the citizens began to advocate the incorporation of the 
town. Two years passed before anything definite was done, but on 
August 10, 1912, a petition to incorporate the town of Markleville, 
signed by more than one-third of the resident qualified voters, was pre- 
sented to the board of county commissioners. An election was ordered 
for Tuesday, August 27, 1912, the polls to be open from 9 o'clock A. 
M. to 4 o'clock P.M. On the 31st I. N. Addison, B. F. Ham and B. 
L. Petro, inspectors of election, filed a certificate of the result with the 
commissioners, showing that sixty-seven votes had been cast, fifty-two 
of which were in favor of the incorporation and fifteen opposed. 

Upon this showing, and it further appearing that all the require- 
ments of the law had been complied with by the petitioners, the board 
"ordered and ordained that said town is legally and lawfully incor- 
porated under and by the name of Markleville." 

Markleville has the usual mercantile concerns and business inter- 
ests found in towns of its size, churches of different faiths, a public 
school, a bank, lodges of some of the fraternal societies, and is a ship- 
ping point for a rich agricultural district. 

Ingalls 

This town, located near the southern boundary of the county in 
Green township, was laid out on June 5, 1893, by the Ingalls Land Com- 
pany, of which J. H. Clark was president, and was named in honor of 
M. E. Ingalls, president of the Big Four Railroad Company. At that 
time natural gas was plentiful in Madison county and the liberal 
inducements offered by the founders of Ingalls led to the establish- 
ment there of a number of manufacturing concerns, one of which was 
known as the Zinc Works, which employed a large number of persons. 
A glass factory was established in 1895 and soon after the town was 
platted the railroad company erected a comfortable passenger station. 
At the March term in 1896 the county commissioners received a peti- 
tion asking that Ingalls be incorporated. The petition was granted and 
an election ordered for April 7, 1896, for the purpose of giving the voters 
the privilege of recording themselves as in favor of or opposed to the 
incorporation of the town. John Manifold, Silas Baker and Henry 
Swain were the inspectors at this election. They reported sixty-five 
votes cast, only four of which were against the proposition to incor- 
porate, and on May 1, 1896, the following town officers were elected: 
J. C. Manifold, George Laws and William Potter, town council; J. 
H. Lail, clerk; J. M. Manifold, treasurer; Chance Stewart, marshal. 



132 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Ingalls has never reached the magnitude anticipated by its projec- 
tors, though if the natural gas supply had continued the town might 
have been larger and more active than it is. In 1910 the population 
was 322. It is a trading point for the southeastern part of the county, 
but the proximity of Fortville, Hancock county, which is only a little 
over two miles distant, robs Ingalls of some of its prosperity. 

Orestes 

Two miles west of Alexandria on the Lake Erie & Western Railroad 
is the incorporated town of Orestes. It was established as a station soon 
after the railroad was completed in 1876 and remained a small village 
until after the discovery of natural gas. Then a large glass factory 
and a tile works were located there and the population increased until 
two school buildings were required to accommodate the children of 
school age. It was about this time that the town was incorporated, the 
order of the commissioners to that effect being made late in the year 
1894. With the decline of natural gas the town lost much of its pres- 
tige and much of the business formerly transacted there was trans- 
ferred to Alexandria. Orestes still maintains a good public school, some 
general stores, a money order postoffice, etc., and in 1910 reported a pop- 
ulation of 420. 

Smaller Villages 

Besides the ten incorporated cities and towns above mentioned in 
this chapter, there are a number of smaller towns and villages in the 
countj' . These are Alliance, Emporia and Ovid, in Adams township ; 
Leisure, in Duck Creek township ; Huntsville, in Fall Creek township ; 
Halford and Perkinsville, in Jackson township ; Florida and Linwood, 
in Lafayette township, and Fishersburg, in Stony Creek township. 

Alliance is a station on the Big Four Railroad about five miles south- 
east of Anderson. A general store is located here and some shipping 
is done from Alliance, though it was considered too small by the cen- 
sus authorities in 1910 to give it a separate report as to population, its 
inhabitants being included with Adams township. 

Emporia, a small station on the Big Four Railroad, is two miles 
southeast of Alliance. It was laid out soon after the southern exten- 
sion of the railroad was completed in 1891. One of the first industries 
to be established there was the sawmill of William and Edward True- 
blood. A postoffice was established here with William Trueblood as 
postmaster, but upon the introduction of the rural free delivery system 
the office was discontinued and the people now get their mail through 
the office at MarkleviUe, two miles southeast. William Mauzy opened 
the first general store after the town was laid out. -The population in 
1910 was fifty. 

Ovid, formerly called New Columbus, was laid out by Abraham 
Adams in 1834. It is pleasantly situated upon the high grounds just 
south of Fall Creek, seven miles south of Anderson and about half a 
mile west of the Big Four Railroad. When the postoffice was estab- 
lished in 1837 it was named Ovid, in order to avoid confusion with an 



HISTORY OF ^LA.DISON COUNTY I33 

office at Columbus, Bartholomew county. William Miller was the first 
postmaster; Hiram Bureh was the first merchant, and Dr. C. Horn was 
the first physician. Armstrong & Fort started a tannery in 1837, but 
it was not a financial success and was abandoned after a short time. 
Early in 1840 a petition was presented to the county commissioners 
praying for the incorporation of the town, whereupon the board took 
the following action: "On a petition of a majority of the citizens of 
New Columbus, Madison county, Indiana, it is ordered that the citizens 
of said town hold aii election in said town on the first Monday in April 
next, for the purpose of electing the proper of&cers to govern the said 
town as an incorporated town. And upon the citizens complying with 
this order the said town thereafter to be considered as incorporated." 

The records do not show what became of the town government, but 
it IS certain that for many years New Columbus has not appeared upon 
the tax duplicates of the county as an incorporated town. The postoffice 
has been discontinued and the people are supplied by rural carrier. 
The population was 110 in 1910. Ovid has a public school; some of the 
fraternal orders are represented by lodges, and the village is a trad- 
ing point and rallying center for a rich and populous agricultural 
district. 

Some of the most prominent men in Madison county, in former 
years, lived and thrived in Ovid. Among them may be mentioned Dr. 
Joel Pratt, Dr. Bear and Dr. Stanley W. Edwins, all prominent in 
their profession. Allen Makepeace and Abner Cory were among the 
early merchants. The defeating of a subsidy of $6,000 asked for the 
southern extension of the Big Four Railroad through Adams township, 
was the death knell of Ovid. It was a mistake often since regretted, 
but it can never be corrected. The influence of Ovid was against the 
subsidy and for this reason the railroad avoided the town, causing other 
villages to be built up along the line. 

Leisure is a small hamlet in the northwestern corner of Duck Creek 
township, five miles due north of Elwood. It has a church, a public 
school, a general store and a few dwellings. A postoffice was once 
maintained at Leisure, but it has been discontinued, the people now 
receiving mail by rural carrier from Elwood. In 1910 the village re- 
ported a population of one hundred. 

Huntsville, situated about one mile northeast of Pendleton, is one 
of the old towns of the county, having been laid out on May 24, 1830, 
by Enos Adamson and Eleazer Hunt, who were among the early set- 
tlers in that locality. Other pioneers were Thomas and J. T. Swain, 
Abel Johnson, B. F. Gregory, John Montgomer.y, Dr. ilcCain, William 
Wright and John Jones. For several years Huntsville was a rival with 
Pendleton for commercial supremacy, but with the completion of the 
railroad through the latter town in the early '50s, Huntsville began 
to decline. In the early days the elections in Fall Creek township were 
held in Huntsville, but in 1838 the voting place w£is removed to Pendle- 
ton by the county commissioners. In 1890, when the township was 
divided into four precincts under the Australian ballot law, Hunts- 
ville again became a voting place. 

Among the early industries were a tannery, started by A. S. Under- 



134 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

wood in 1830; Enos Adamson's gristmill, which began operations the 
same year; James Hackney's hat shop, John Conrad's tailor shop, Rob- 
ert Childers' distillery and Joseph Hair's shoe shop, all opened in 1831. 
Eleazer Hunt also opened a tannery in that year and conducted it for 
six years when he sold out to Isaac Wright. Adamson's mill continued 
in operation until 1848, when it was destroyed by tire. During the lat- 
ter part of its existence a woolen mill and oil mill were conducted in 
connection with it. Not long after the burning of this mill Wilson, Wynn 
& Kocuin built a new one. Cook & Aimen afterward became the owners 
of this mill, as well as the sawmill a short distance east of it, and in 
1872 Mr. Aimen became the sole owner. This mill, like its predecessor, 
was destroyed by fire and has never been rebuilt. 

Benjamin Snodgrass was the first merchant in Huntsville. Simeon 
Lewis, John Tillson, Nathan Wilson, William Johnson, Dr. McCain, 
Benjamin Lukens and some others were also engaged in merchandising 
at Huntsville during the early days. A postofHce was established there 
at an early day, with David P. Hazleton as postmaster. Horace Lewis 
was the last postmaster, the office being discontinued while he held the 
position. 

Halford, a small hamlet of Jackson township, is located on the south 
bank of the White river, about four miles west of Anderson. It was 
laid out in 1836 by Henry Devlin, who was the agent of Conner & 
Stephenson, of Noblesville, who were active in locating towns and open- 
ing stores along the line of the Indiana Central canal. When it was 
first laid out the name of Hamilton was conferred upon it, but the 
postoffice established there some years later was called Zinnsburg. Sub- 
sequently the name was changed to Halford, after Elijah Halford, an 
Indianapolis journalist. William King was the first merchant, and Dr. 
William Godell the first physician. John Ashby opened a tavern here 
in 1842 and for some years after that the town did a considerable 
volume of business. The postoffice has been abandoned and the inhabit- 
ants are supplied by rural carrier from Anderson. 

Perkinsville, situated on the north bank of the White river in the 
western part of Jackson township and extending to the Hamilton 
county line, was laid out by Thomas L. and James Beckwith and Bick- 
nell Cole on August 1, 1837. It was the intention of the founders to 
name the town in honor of William Parkins, who was one of the prom- 
inent pioneers, but the plat was recorded as "Perkinsville" through 
mistake. Thomas L. Beckwith opened a store here in 1835, and in. 1838 
was appointed the first postmaster, a position he held until 1877. The 
postoffice has since been discontinued. A large flour mill was one of the 
industries of Perkinsville for many years, but it was destroyed by fire 
in August, 1884, and has never been rebuilt. The town has a good 
public school building, the usual quota of general stores, churches, etc., 
for villages of its size, a hotel, and in 1910 reported a population of 
318, according to the United States census for that year. 

Florida is a station en the Pan Handle Railroad in Lafayette town- 
ship, six miles northwest of Anderson. It was laid out in 1856 on the 
farm of Thomas G. Clark, and was at first known as Clark's Station. 
Henry Hendriek was the first merchant and George Craighead was the 



HISTORY OF IVLADISON COUNTY 135 

first postmaster. Dr. Thomas B. Forkner was the first physician. A 
large tile mill was one of the early business concerns, but with the drain- 
age of the lands in the vicinity the demand for tile decreased and the 
plant was converted into a brick factory. Florida is located in a fer- 
tile farming district and is a shipping point of some importance. Dur- 
ing the era of natural gas Van Metre's addition was made to the original 
plat, but the town did not grow as expected and in 1910 the popula- 
tion was but 125. The postoffice has been discontinued and the village 
now receives mail by rural route from Anderson. Public school No. 10, 
of the township schools, is located at. Florida. The village also has a 
Methodist church, a general store, etc. 

Linwood, originally called Funk's Station, is located on the Michigan 
division of the Big Four Railroad, about six miles north of Anderson. 
The name of Linwood was given the place when the postofiice was estab- 
lished there some years ago, with Samuel A. Towell as the first post- 
master. Given & Bruce at one time conducted a general store and 
Charles Hartman a drug store. John C. May and a Mr. Thomas have 
made additions to the original plat. Linwood has a public school, a 
sawmill and lumber yard, a general store and a few minor business con- 
cerns. A line of the Union Traction system passed a short distance 
east of the main portion of the village and a station has been established 
opposite the town. 

Fishersburg was laid out in May, 1837, by Rev. Fletcher Tevis. It 
is located on the right bank of Stony creek at the western boundary of 
the county. The first house in the village was built by a man named 
Rogers, who started the first blacksmith shop in that part of the county. 
William and Benjamin Sylvester were the first merchants, opening 
their store in 1844. A postoffice was established in 1853, with Charles 
Fisher, who had bought out the Sylvesters, as the first postmaster. 
The postoffice has been discontinued, the citizens now being supplied by 
rural route from Lapel. Prior to the building of the Central Indiana 
Railroad in 1876, the village of Fishersburg was the principal trading 
point for the western part of Stony Creek township and a large section 
of Hamilton county. When the railroad was completed the town of 
Lapel, three-fourths of a mile southeast, sprang up, and being on the 
railroad drew a large part of the trade. The United States census of 
1910 gives the population of Fishersburg as two hundred. A good brick 
schoolhouse was erected here in 1874, and Methodist and Baptist churches 
were organized at an early date. 

Over forty-five thousand of the citizens of Madison county reside in 
the cities, towns and villages. The postoffices of the county, according 
to the United States Postal Guide for July, 1913, were : Alexandria, 
Anderson, Chesterfield, Elwood, Frankton, Ingalls, Lapel, Linwood, 
Markleville, Orestes, Pendleton and Summitville. All these are money 
order offices, those at Alexandria, Anderson, Elwood, Frankton, Ingalls, 
Pendleton and Summitville being authorized to issue international money 
orders. Forty-four rural routes supply daily mail to all parts of the 
county. 



CHAPTER IX 

FINANCE AND INDUSTRY 

Public Finances — Outstanding Debt — Gravel Road Bonds — Banks 
AND Trust Companies — Bold Bank Robbery — Anderson Loan 
Association — Early Manufacturing Establishments — Natural 
Gas Era — New Factories Located — Manufacturing Statistics of 
Cities and Towns — "M.vde in Anderson" Exhibit — Agricultural 
Conditions and Statistics — The Farmer Still King. 

The people of Madison county are to be congratulated upon the fact 
that the public revenues have always been managed in such a manner that 
at no time has the indebtedness been burdensome to the taxpayers. Bonds 
have been issued from time to time for specific purposes, but with each 
issue provisions have been made for meeting the obligations when they 
fell due. So carefully and conservatively has this policy been followed 
that at the beginning of the year 1905 the county was entirely fi-ee from 
debt. The great flood of that year swept away a number of bridges, and 
to meet the emergency the commissioners decided to borrow $45,000 upon 
the county's notes, without issuing bonds. These notes were made pay- 
able one year after date, the county reserving the right to make paj'ment 
sooner, if the revenues were in shape to do so. Plenty of men were found 
to loan money under these conditions, so that a regular bond issue was not 
necessary. 

Shortly after the passage of the local option law by the state legis- 
lature, Madison county "went dry" and the saloon keepers asked a 
refund of the money they had paid for liquor licenses. That money 
had been turned into the public school fund, from which it could not 
be withdrawn and the county authorities borrowed, on notes, the sum 
of $3,950 to refund the license fees. 

In 1910 this debt of $3,950 was paid, but in that year the county 
borrowed $20,000 for current expenses, giving notes therefor. These 
notes were all paid in 1911, but the county in that year borrowed $10,000 
to meet current expenses. The total outstanding debt at tlie beginning 
of the year 1912 was therefore $55,000, but during that year and the 
first half of 1913 notes to the amount of $17,000 were paid and canceled, 
leaving an outstanding indebtedness on September 1, 1913, of $38,000. 
Few counties in the state can show as clean a financial record. 

In the purchase of the toll roads some years ago, and in the con- 
struction of new gravel roads, bonds aggregating about $2,000,000 have 
been issued. These bonds are payable by the townships. The amount 
of gravel road bonds outstanding on September 1, 1913, was as follows : 

136 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 137 

Adams township $ 29,657.81 

Anderson township 100,867.56 

Boone township 60,288.45 

Duck Creek township 32,092.00 

Fall Creek township 53,987.20 

Green township 27,196.00 

Jackson township 39,220.83 

Lafayette township 48,817.78 

Monroe township 139,808.16 

Pipe Creek towmship 206,269.75 

Richland township 35,330.32 

Stony Creek to\raship 39,597.18 

Union township 11,289.99 

Van Buren township 26,620.56 

Total $851,043.59 

While these figures may seem large, when the reader stops to con- 
sider that Madison county has approximately five hundred miles of im- 
proved highway it will be seen that every dollar of gravel road bonds 
issued is a permanent investment, the profits of which can hardly be 
estimated. 

Banking Institutions 

The Citizens' Bank, of Anderson, which was founded in 1855 by 
Neal C. MeCullough and Byron K. Elliott, is the oldest bank in Mad-, 
ison county. Judge Elliott retired in 1863 and in 1879 the bank was 
reorganized, W. T. Durbin and C. K. MeCullough being then admitted 
as partners. In 1881 D. F. Mustard became a member of the banking 
firm, but withdrew in 1884. In the meantime the Madison County Bank 
had been organized by J. E. Corwin, L. J. Burr, N. R. Elliott, J. H. Ter- 
hune, John W. Pence and some other local capitalists, and subsequently 
was converted into a state bank. About the time Mr. Mustard left the 
Citizens' Bank he formed a partnership with A. J. Brunt and others 
and purchased the ^ladison County Bank, which was consolidated with 
the Citizens' in 1886. 

A statement issued by this bank on April 9, 1913, shows the fol- 
lowing officers : D. F. Mustard, president ; George E. Nichol, vice-pres- 
ident ; N. M. MeCullough, cashier; F. E. ]\Iustard, assistant cashiei:; 
W. T. Durbin, A. W. Brady, B. H. Gedge, J. W. Lovett, the president, 
vice-president and cashier, directors. The capital stock (paid in) is 
$125,000; surplus $40,000; total resources, $720,870, and deposits, 
$493,000. 

The First. National Bank, of Anderson, was organized in 1865. Prior 
to that time J. G. Stilwell and his son, Thomas N. Stilwell, had been 
engaged in doing a banking business upon a small scale and they were 
the principal factors in securing the organization of the First National 
in 1865, with a capital stock of $50,000. The bank started off with bril- 
liant prospects and for about eight years carried on a successful busi- 
ness. It was a correspondent of the banking house of Jay Cooke & 



138 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Company, of New York, and when the failure of that concern occurred 
in the early fall of 1873 it precipitated a wide-spread panic. Many of 
the depositors in the First National, knowing- the relationship between 
that bank and Jay Cooke & Company, hastened to withdraw their money. 
These withdrawals so crippled the bank that on November 15, 1873, 
it was compelled to close its doors. At that time Colonel Thomas N. 
Stilwell was president and A. B. Kline, cashier. 

Thomas McCullough, of Oxford, Ohio, was made receiver and issued 
a statement showing the resources of the bank to be $164,563 and the 
liabilities, $137,717. Upon this showing it was thought the bank would 
pay all obligations in full, but among the assets were Venezuelan bonds 
to the amount of $100,000, of which Colonel Stilwell had acquired a large 
part while he was minister to that country, and these bonds turned out 
to be worthless, so that the depositors received only about forty cents 
on the dollar. The bonds were taken possession of by the comptroller 
of the currency at Washington and there are some who still believe that 
some time they will be paid. 

Mr. McCullough soon resigned as receiver and Walter S. Johnson, 
of Washington, D. C, succeeded him, remaining until the business of 
the bank was settled. Among the heavy depositors was Weems Heagy, 
treasurer of Madison county, whose deposit at the time of the failure 
amounted to $21,000. This is the only bank failure that has ever 
occurred in the county. 

The Exchange Bank, of Anderson, was organized in 1866 by William 
Crim & Company, with Joseph Fulton as cashier. It was opened in 
what was known as the Adams block, the second door from Main street, 
at the northeast corner of the public square, where it continued in busi- 
ness until 1873, when it was moved to the northwest corner of the 
square, in the building now known as the Harter Hotel. In 1881 it was 
reorganized, T. J. McMahan, H. J. Daniels and John L. Forkner be- 
coming interested. Three years later J. W. Sansberry purchased the 
interest of Mr. Daniels. On July 1, 1886, the bank was removed to the 
Doxey Hotel corner, at Ninth and Main streets, and in 1892 it was 
reorganized as the National Exchange Bank of Anderson. In October, 
1909, it removed to its present location on the east side of Meridian 
street, between Ninth and Tenth streets. J. W. Sansberry is the pres- 
ent president, Isaac E. May, vice-president, and George S. Parker, 
cashier. The capital stock of the bank is $100,000; surplus and undi- 
vided profits, $35,000, and deposits, $564,000. 

On August 10, 1878, while conducted by William Crim & Company, 
this bank was robbed in a peci;liarly daring manner. A few days before 
that time a well dressed man registered at the Doxey Hotel as "H. F. 
Tilden, IMound City, Iowa," and soon became acquainted with Joseph 
R. Cain, who was then cashier of the bank. Just at noon on the 10th, 
while Mr. Cain was in the bank alone, Tilden entered and requested 
silver for a $20 bill. Mr. Cain counted out the money and just at 
that moment Tilden, who had a cloth around one of his fingers as 
though he had suffered some injury, requested the cashier to tie up 
his finger, saying he could not tie it himself with but one hand. 
While Mr. Cain was thus engaged, two of Tilden 's confederates, wear- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 139 

ing soft-soled shoes, slipped around to the safe and made away with a 
considerable amount of money, which has been estimated all the way 
from $5,000 to $12,000. Another confederate stood on the outside to 
detain any person about to enter, and did detain Richard Thornburg 
with some insignificant inquiry until Tilden and the two sneak thieves 
made their "get away." 

The absence of the money was discovered a few minutes later when 
Norval Crim went to the safe to get funds with which to cash a large 
check, and ofificers were soon hot on the trail. Tilden and his associates 
made at once for the Pan Handle station to the north-bound train due 
at 1 : 20 p. m. and the officers succeeded in boarding the same train. 
Tilden; J. C. Curtis, of Cleveland; John Ryan, of Fort Wayne; J. Ash 
and J. T. Bradley, of Pittsfleld, were arrested before the train reached 
Elwood and were brought back for trial. At the preliminary hearing 
Ash and Curtis were released but the other three men were held on bail. 
Their friends came forward and put up a cash bond, which was for- 
feited and the criminals disappeared. About $2,000 of the stolen money 
was found hidden in a stave yard at Elwood, where Ryan tried to make 
his escape after being arrested, and many believe that some kind of 
arrangement was made by which the bank recovered the greater portion 
of it, though the facts have never beeii made public. Mr. Cain was 
never censured, as it was always considered that he acted as any one 
else would have done under similar circumstances. 

In February, 1890, the Anderson Banking Company was organized 
with a, capital stock of $60,000, which was held by the following per- 
sons : Dr. Braxton Baker, W. H. Quick, Jesse L. Vermillion, George F. 
Quick, Harrison Canaday, U. C. Vermillion, S. E. Young, A. J. Brunt 
and H. J. Daniels. Braxton Baker was the iirst president and Jesse 
L. Vermillion the first cashier. The officers in 1913 were: Jesse L. 
Vermillion, president; W. H. H. Quick, vice-president; Otto Buettner, 
cashier; Earle E. Young, assistant cashier. The board of directors con- 
sists of the president, vice-president, cashier, A. J. Brunt, E. F. Ver- 
million, George F. Quick, Harrison Canaday and Braxton Baker. The 
bank is located at the southwest corner of Ninth and Meridian streets. 
Its capital .stock is now $126,500; surplus, $73,500, and deposits, $650,- 
000. It is regarded as one of the strongest banks in this section of the 
state. 

The Anderson Trust Company, which conducts a general trust com- 
pany and banking business at the southeast corner of Tenth and Merid- 
ian streets, was established in February, 1899, with a capital stock of 
$50,000. Since it commenced business the company has increased its 
capital stock to $100,000, accumulated a fund of over $50,000 in sur- 
plus and undivided profits, and in June, 1913, carried deposits of 
nearly $362,000. The present officers of the company are: Sanford M. 
Keltner, president ; Thomas B. Orr, vice-president ; Prank H. Schlater, 
secretary; B. B. McCandliss, assistant secretarj-. Besides the three 
principal officers, the board of directors includes J. L. Vermillion, A. J. 
Brunt, Henry C. Callaway and James M. Donnelly. "William H. Her- 
itage is in charge of the real estate and insurance department. 

Just across Meridian street from the Anderson Trust Company is 



140 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

the People's State National Bank. This institution was organized iu 
1905 by Joseph I. Schuhmacher as the People's State Bank and it opened 
its doors for business on the first day of November with a paid in cap- 
ital of $100,000. On November 26, 1912, it was reorganized as a national 
bank, with the name indicated above. The officers of the bank are : J. I. 
Schuhmacher, president ; Stephan ]\Iarkt, vice-president ; C. A. Thayer, 
cashier. Some idea of the successful career of this bank may be gained 
from the fact that its surplus and undivided profits are over $30,000 
and its total resources nearly $590,000. The deposits are over $300,000. 
There is one financial concern in Anderson that stands almost with- 
out a parallel in the financial history of the state. That is the Anderson 
Loan Association, which has an authorized capital of $10,000,000. It 
was organized late in the year 1888, incorporated under the state laws, 









.3 




0^^ 




-^I^H 




SC^BSt^ii^ 




iflfl^H 






^ 


■ 


^^BBE^,,''* '"^^^ 






■^^^H 



Anhkhshx Li IAN Association Building 

and began business on January 1, 1889. For some time the association 
had no regular meeting place, using such locations as could be had 
without payment of rent. The first secretary received a salary of 
$15 per month. After a time a regular meeting place was found 
in the commissioners ' court room, for which the association paid a rental 
of $12.50 per month. In 1894 the commissioners needed the room and 
the association was forced to look for a new home. The officials then 
rented a room in the basement of the courthouse for $6.00 per month. 
In December, 1894, the lot where the Masonic Temple now stands, on 
Meridian street, was bought for $6,400 and the association joined with 
the Masonic bodies of Anderson in the erection of a building, the north 
Slide of which belonged to the loan association. This building was first 
occupied on December 27, 1895. 

In a few years it became apparent that more room would soon be 
needed for the transaction of the rapidly increasing business and the 
officers began to look for a more suitable location. In June, 1908, the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 141 

association purchased the lot at the southeast corner of Tenth and 
Jackson streets and began the erection of a building 72 by 144 feet, 
tliree stories high. Two liusiness rooms front on Tenth street, the one 
in the corner (48 by 70 feet) being occupied by the association, and 
the east room by tlie Farmers' Trust Company. The second and third 
floors are divided into twenty-one apartments, modern in every respect. 
The cost of this buikling and the lot upon which it stands was $90,000. 

The original founders were Francis A. "Walker, Charles H. Evving 
and Thomas li. Orr, the last named being the present attorney for the 
association. In the beginning the capital autliorized was $1,000,000, 
v.hich has been increased from time "to time until it is now $10,000,000, 
of which $8,500,000 has been issued. The association has nearly 10,000 
members, the greatest number of any institution of its kind in the State 
of Indiana. Members have removed to other states and even to foreign 
countries, but they still' retain their holdings. The total assets of the 
institution aggregate over $2,500,000, with a surplus of over $120,000, 
and it has nearly $2,000,000 loaned on real estate security, most of it in 
Madison county. 

Anderson's youngest banking house is the Farmers' Trust Com- 
pany, which began business on January 6, 1912, with J. J. Netterville 
as president ; Edward H. Mathews, vice-president ; George E. Nichol, 
secretary and trea.surer; A. T. Dye, assistant secretary and treasurer. 
The capital stock of this company is $100,000 and during the first six- 
teen months of its existence it accumulated a fund of $5,391 in undi- 
vided profits. Its deposits are over $150,000. It is located at No. 29 
West Tenth street. 

In Elwood, the second city of the county, there are four banks. The 
oldest of these is the Citizens' State Bank, which was organized in 

1881 by B. T. and H. C. Callaway, with a capital of $50,000. In 1908 
it was incorporated under the laws of Indiana. Originally it was 
known as the Citizens' Exchange Bank, but at the time of the incorpo- 
ration took its present name. The officers in 1913 were : H. C. Callaway, 
president; S. C. Spoor, vice-president; Charles Osborn, cashier. H. C. 
Callaway, S. C. Spoor, L. M. Gross, J. W. Callaway and Charles Osborn 
constitute the board of directors. 

The First National Bank of Elwood was opened for business in 

1882 as the Farmers' Bank. In 1892 it was reorganized under its 
present name and is No. 4,675 under the national banking laws. It has 
a capital stock of $50,000 ; a circulation of $50,000 ; a surplus of over 
$20,000, and deposits of about $300,000. In 1913 the officers of the 
bank were: E. C. Dehority, president; Charles Harvey, vice-president; 
C. D. Babbitt, cashier. In 1892 the building occupied by this bank was 
destroyed by fire and a new home for it was erected at the northwest 
comer of Main and Anderson streets, but this building was exchanged 
for the bank's present quarters a few years later. 

In February, 1903, the Elwood State Bank was established with a 
capital of $75,000, all paid up. In a short time this bank came, to be 
generally recognized as one of the strong financial institutions of Mad- 
ison county. The present officers are : O. B. Prazier, president ; J. D. 
Armfield, vice-president; Charles C. Dehority, cashier. These three 



142 HISTORY OF IVIADISON COUNTY 

officers, with N. J. Leisure and Wayne Leeson, compose the hoard of 
directors. 

The Elwood Trust Company commenced its career on March 31, 
1907, with a capital of $25,000. It now has a surplus of about $9,000 
and deposits of over $330,000. P. M. Harbit is the president of the 
company ; J. T.' Jessup, vice-president ; J. D. Higbee, secretary and 
treasurer. The board of directors is composed of P. M. Harbit, W. E. 
Harting, S. B. Harting, R. A. McClure, P. H. Zahn, Harry Sells and 
J. T. Jessup. This company is incorporated under the laws of Indiana 
and is authorized to act as trustee, administrator, executor and receiver, 
as well as to transact a general banking business. The combined de- 
posits of the four Elwood banks amount to over $1,250,000. 

The first bank in Alexandria was opened by Dr. Braxton Baker in 
McMahan & Company's drug store, years before it was thought the 
village would become one of the principal cities of the county. In 1888 
it was formally organized as the Alexandria Bank by Dr. Baker and 
some local capitalists, and in 1892 it was reorganized under the national 
banking laws as the Alexandria National Bank, which afterward liqui- 
dated and the same persons resumed business as the Alexandria Bank. 
A statement issued by this bank at the close of its business on August 
9, 1913, shows a capital stock paid in of $11,500; a surplus of $9,000, 
and deposits of over $376,000. At that time the officers of the bank 
were as follows : S. G. Phillips, president ; R. H. Hannah, vice-president ; 
Isaac S. Kelly, cashier; J. S. Wales, assistant cashier. This bank is a 
private institution that has acquired a reputation for the reliable and 
conservative management of the funds intrusted to its care during its 
successful career of a quarter of a centurj', and today it enjoys the 
confidence of the entire community. 

The Commercial Bank and Trust Company, of Alexandria, was first 
organized in 1893 by S. V. Pree and Dr. B. T. Callaway as the Com- 
mercial Bank. In 1908 it was incorporated as the Commercial State 
Bank, and in 1912 was reorganized as the Commercial Bank and Trust 
Company. The capital of this institution is $25,000 ; its surplus, about 
$3,500, and its deposits, nearly $175,000. Arthur E. Harlan is pres- 
ident; Harry M. Adams, vice-president; Vernon H. Day, secretary; 
Hugh A. Harlan, assistant secretary. The board of directors is com- 
posed of the three principal officers, J. C. Vinson, S. P. Brown and 
W. P. Wilson. 

A. B. Taylor & Son organized the Pendleton Banking Company in 
1872. Some years later they disposed of the bank by selling it to E. P. 
Rogers, who admitted Thomas M. Hardy to a partnership. In 1891 
Aaron Morris became interested in the institution and about 1897 Mr. 
Rogers retired. This bank has a capital stock of $25,000 and is in- 
corporated as a state bank. Its surplus is over $8,000 and its deposits 
nearly $250,000. In August, 1913, the officers of the bank were : Thomas 
M. Hardy, president; R. A. Morris, vice-president; W. P. Morris, 
cashier; V. P. Wilson, assistant cashier. 

The Pendleton Trust Company was organized in the spring of 1910, 
with a capital of $25,000. Its officers in August, 1913, were as follows: 
A. C. Anderson, president; G. R. Mingle, vice-president; R. P. Thomas, 
secretary and treasurer. At that time its deposits amounted to about 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 143 

$60,000. Incorporated under the laws of Indiana, the company is 
authorized to transact all classes of business legally transacted by trust 
companies within the state. 

The Summitville Bank and Trust Company was organized on April 
14, 1913, by merging the two banks then in the town and the Summit- 
ville Realty Company into one institution. In 1892 the Summitville 
Bank was organized by A. J. Brunt and a Mr. Scott. Two years later 
William Warner became president and Maurice Warner cashier, and 
they remained at the head of the concern until the formation of the 
Summitville Bank and Trust Company. W. H. Dobson and others 
organized the Citizens' tiank, of Summitville, in 1893 and it continued 
under that name until in 1905 when it was changed to the Farmers' 
and Merchants' Bank. In the consolidation of these two banks' to form 
the Summitville Bank and Trust Company the capital stock was fixed 
at $35,000, all of which is paid in. The deposits amount to about 
$300,000. John F. P. Thurston is president of the institution; Jesse 
Vermillion, vice-president; Maurice Warner, secretary; C. M. Waltz 
and Frank "SI. Hundley, assistant secretaries. The trust company 
department is under the management of Robert McLain and John M. 
Kaufman. Soon after the bank was organized the directors purchased 
and remodeled the McNabney block, at the corner of Main and Mill 
streets, which the management claims is the largest and best equipped 
banking room in this section of the state. 

In 1876 Cornelius Quick opened a private bank at Frankton, with 
his son, George Quick, as a partner. Some years later George Quick 
became interested in the Anderson Banking Company and is now a 
director in that institution. In 1909 this bank was reorganized as a 
state bank, with a capital stock of $17,000, and in 1913 the deposits were 
about $110,000. Charles C. Dehority is president; J. M. Farlow, vice- 
president, and J. 0. Lee, cashier. 

The State Bank of Lapel was organized under the laws of Indiana 
in 1898, with a capital stock of $25,000, though it had been founded 
some years before bj- David Conrad and conducted as a private bank 
until incorporated. David Conrad is now president and D. E. Conrad, 
cashier. This bank has deposits of over $100,000 and a surplus of 
about $1,000. 

On January 6, 1913, the Markleville Bank, a private institution, 
subject to the banking laws of the state, was organized at Markleville, 
with a capital stock of $10,000. Of this bank C. W. Keach is president ; 
J. F. Keach, vice-president; and Benjamin Keach, cashier. 

The report of the State Bureau of Statistics for the year 1912 says 
of Madison county: "Before gas was discovered in 1887, agriculture 
was the county's leading industry; but since then manufacturing has 
grown rapidly, and now many hundreds of skilled workmen are em- 
ployed in the numerous large plants, which produce nails, files, wire 
fence, cut, window and plate glass, decorative tile, carriages, refriger- 
ators, electrical supplies, granite ware, tinplate, silos, automobiles, etc., 
worth millions of dollars." 

While the above statement is true, it is equally true that consider- 
able manufacturing was done in the county before the discovery of 



144 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

natural gas. The earliest manufacturing establishments were flour mills. 
What were known as the Cataract mills were built at Pendelton as early 
as 1825. The Silver or Lower mills, were built at Pendleton in 1828, 
and the National mills in 1848. The latter were supplied with two 
Leffel turbine wheels and had a capacity of forty barrels of flour per 
day. In 1856 a large merchant mill was erected at Perkinsville by 
Jacob Zeller. The Germania mills, at Anderson, were established in 
1867, by J. H. Carl & Son, in a building at the crossing of Fifth street 
and the Pan Handle Railroad that had been erected for a grain elevator 
by Mortimer Atherton twelve years before. These mills, now known 
as the SehaLk mills, are still in operation, G. D. Schalk, of Hamilton, 
Ohio, having purchased the property in 1869 and made a number of 
improvements. In 1876 he was killed in this mill by the bursting of 
a buhr. His partner, James Wellington, took charge of the mill and 
with the minor sons of Mr. Schalk conducted the business and made 
further improvements. Subsequently, the sons of G. D. Schalk pur- 
chased Mr. Wellington's interest and haye since operated the mill in 
their own name. 

The Henderson mills, also at Anderson, were built by James M. 
Dickson in 1874, on the west side of Meridian street, just north of the 
Big Four Railroad. After several changes in ownership they became 
the property of Edgar Henderson in October, 1878. He operated the 
mills until they were destroyed by fire on October 22, 1881, when he 
sold the lot and removed to Kingman, Kansas, where he died some years 
later. Another concern of this kind is the Wellington mills, located at 
the junction of Central avenue and the Big Four tracks in Anderson. 

A carding machine was established in connection with his mill near 
Chesterfield, about 1838, by Frederick Bronnenberg. James M. Irish 
erected a woolen mill at Pendleton a few years later. He transferred 
it to his sons and it was operated by them until destroyed by fire in 
1865. The following year it was rebuilt and continued as a woolen mill 
until about 1870, when it was converted into a flour mill. There was 
also a woolen mill in the southern part of Richland township. It was 
built in the early '40s by John B. Purcell, who sold it to Stephen Broad- 
bent. Mr. Broadbent continued to operate this mill until his death. 
It was the last woolen mill in active operation in the county. 

In 1865, the year Anderson was incorporated as a city, James, A. J. 
and H. W. Quinn began the manufacture of carriages at the corner of 
Main and Fifth streets, near the Pan Handle station, under the firm 
name of James Quinn & Sons. James Quinn learned his trade in Ire- 
land and his motto was apparently "Honesty is the best policy," as 
some of the vehicles made by him and his sons nearly half a century ago 
are still in use. 

George Mathes and H. H. Conrad formed a partnership in 1866 
and began the manufacture of wagons and carriages iinder the firm 
name of Conrad & Mathes. Two years later Mr. Mathes withdrew from 
the firm and engaged in business for himself on North Main street, not 
far from the Pan Handle freight house. In 1877 his brother, William 
Mathes, became a partner and the business of the new firm was en- 
larged until the Mathes wagon became one of the best known in central 



HISTORY OP M.A.DISON COUNTY 145 

Indiana. They also shipped a number of wagons to West Virginia 
and Ohio. This business is now conducted by Fred Mathes, a son of the 
late George Jlathes, who in the spring of 1913 erected a new building 
and added a department for repairing automobiles. This is one of the 
oldest plants in the city of Anderson. 

Jackson & Holloway established a chair factory at the corner of 
Eleventh and Meridian streets, in Anderson, in 1865 ; Anderson, Chit- 
tenden & Sisco started a factory in 1868 for the manufacture of spokes, 
hubs, etc., but five years later the founders were succeeded by the firm 
of Lafe J. Burr & Company ; C. T. Doxey & Company engaged in the 
manufacture of heading and staves in 1870, their factory having been 
located on Jackson street near the Big Four tracks ; and the Ralya stave 
factory, near the junction of the Big Four and Pan Handle tracks, was 
started by J. J.- Ralya in 1877. All these concerns, in common with, 
other wood working factories, were discontinued when the supply of 
timber suitable for their use was exhausted. 

The Michner Machine Works was organized and incorporated in 
1870, with D. W. Swank as president and John W. Westerfield as secre- 
tary and treasurer. A foundry and machine shop were erected at the 
north end of Jackson street. In 1875 the plant became the Anderson 
Foundry and Machine Works, under which name it is still in operation. 
Brick making machinery and gas engines are the leading products of 
the factory. As an interesting historical fact, the Anderson Foundry 
and Machine Works was the first factory to receive a subsidy for locat- 
ing in the city of Anderson. The grounds upon which the plant stands 
were donated by James Hazlett and the city made an appropriation 
to induce the company to locate here. 

Platter & Foreman started a pump factory on January 1, 1873, 
in buildings that had been erected for the purpose by some other parties 
in 1859. After several unsuccessful attempts to make pumps here by 
various parties the works were abandoned in 1870 and stood idle for 
nearly three years. Platter & Foreman infused new life into the project 
and a year after they began business, James Battreall was admitted as 
a partner. In a short time the porcelain-lined wooden pumps made by 
this firm were knowii all over northern and central Indiana, the southern 
peninsula of Michigan and western Ohio. Scarcity of timber was the 
principal cause of the suspension of this concern. Platter and Battreall 
are both now deceased. 

The Natural Gas Era 

It is believed that natural gas was first utilized in the United States 
at Fredonia, New York, in 1821, when a "pocket" was struck and the 
product was used for illuminating purposes. About forty years later, 
while developing the oil fields of western Pennsylvania, enough gas 
was discovered to serve as fuel under the boilers instead of coal, and 
in 1873 gas was first used in the manufacture of iron at Leechburg, 
Pennsylvania. Prospecting went on and in the early '80s a rich gas 
field was found in Washington county, Pennsylvania. In 1884 the first 
gas wells were drilled near Findlay, Ohio, opening the field in that state. 



146 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



The first successful gas well was drilled in Indiana near Eaton, Delaware 
county, in 1886, and early the following year a well was drilled on the 
farm of Samuel Cassell, at Alexandria. This was the first well in 
Madison county. The second was sunk at Anderson, where a large flow 
of gas was found on ]\Iarch 31, 1887. The company that ordered the 
drilling of this well was organized at the courthouse on the evening 
of January 25, 1887, with a capital stock of $20,000, and, inasmuch as 
its labor resulted in transforming Anderson from a sleepy little city 
of about 6,000 population into the seventh city of the state, it is deemed 
advisable to give the names of tln' men who had the courage to sub- 




FiRST Gas Well, Anderson 

scribe for stock in an undertaking that might end in failure. They were : 
L. J. Burr, G. D. Searle, C. K. and Thomas McCullough, Harry Brels- 
ford, H. J. Bronnenberg, F. W. Makepeace, H. J. Daniels, R, P. Grimes, 
George C. Forrey, W. A. Kittinger, E. P. Schlater, J. P. Wild, A. B. 
Buck, E. T. Brickley, James Wellington, B. L. Bing, W. L. Maynard, 
A. J. Brunt, Thomas J. McMahan, Peter Fromlet, Harrison Canaday, 
Joseph Schwabacher, Patrick Skehan, George Jlatthews, J. F. Brandon, 
Samuel Kiser, W. T. Durbin, L. D. Adams, Thomas M. Norton, J. L. 
Kilgore, I. E. May, J. A. Munchoff, N. C. McCullough, John H. Ter- 
hune, William Crim, IMilton S. Robinson, and the firms of Nichol & 
Makepeace and Sansberry & Sansberry. 

To promote the industrial interests of Anderson the board of trade 
was organized, but no effectual woi-k was done toward the securing 
of new factories xintil late in the fall, when the Fowler Nut and Bolt 
Works, of Buffalo, New York, removed to Anderson. This concern 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 147 

was followed by others, among wliieh were the American Wire Nail 
Company, the Union Strawboard Company, the Anderson Flint Bottle 
Company and the Knife and Har Works. By 1890 a number of new 
nianufac'tnring eoncerns had located in the city, adding materially to 
the population and wealth of Anderson. 

One of the largest of these concerns is the American Steel and Wire 
Company, which was originally organized at Covington, Kentucky, for 
the manufacture of wire nails. In 1888, attracted by natural gas, the 
plant was removed to Anderson and the capital stock increased from 
$60,000 to $300,000. This company makes all kinds of wire nails and 
tacks, wire rods, plain and barbed fence wire, steel springs of all kinds, 
wire rope, concrete reinforcement, wire hoops, etc. The main offices 
of the company are in Chicago. The Anderson plant employs 600 peo- 
ple and is one of the principal works of the company. 

The Anderson Knife and Bar Company was first located at Dayton, 
Ohio, where it was established by Manning & Farmer. In September, 
1888, it removed to Anderson. At that time the capital stock was fixed 
at $25,000 and eighteen people were employed. The present number of 
employees is about thirty. This company manufactures all kinds of 
machine knives for wood-working and paper-cutting machinery, shear 
blades, fly bars, etc. The works are located in Hazelwood addition. 

Mention has been made of the Fowler Nut and Bolt Works, which 
was the first factory to locate in Anderson after the discovery of gas. 
After the removal it took the name of the Anderson Bolt Company, 
under which name it was operated until 1895, when it changed owners 
and became the Schofield Bolt Works. When the supply of gas failed 
this factory was discontinued. A similar concern was the Anderson 
Iron and Bolt Company,, organized by local capitalists, which was sub- 
sequently sold to a company in Louisville, Kentucky, and the works 
were removed to that city. 

The National Tile Company, originally the Columbia Encaustic 
Tile Company, was organized by some Indianapolis men, who located a 
factory in the southeastern part of Anderson early in the days of the 
gas boom and began the manufacture of unglazed floor tiles, enameled 
tiles for hearths, mantels and wainscoting, and embossed tiles. George 
E. Lilly is the present president of the company. This concern ships 
several car loads of tile each week and maintains sales offices in New 
York, Chicago, St. Louis and San Francisco. It is one of the leading 
manufacturing industries in Madison county, employing about 200 
people. 

In 1888 the Penn.sylvania Glass Company was removed from Mead- 
ville, Pennsylvania, to Anderson and located near the south end of 
Meridian street. At the present time it is under the management of 
John Shies, president and general manager, John L. Porkner, secre- 
tary and treasurer, and is engaged in the manufacture of fruit .jars, 
bottles and druggists' prescription ware. It employs 200 people. 

Another Anderson factory of note is the Sefton Manufacturing 
Company, which makes all kinds of paper cartons, corrugated ship- 
ping cases, paper pails, mailing envelopes, etc. The company has 
plants at Anderson, Chicago and Brooklyn, the one at Anderson em- 
ploying 500 or more people the year round. 



148 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

In North Anderson is located the Wright Shovel Company, a part 
of the Ames Tool Company, manufacturers of shovel plate, manufac- 
turing tools of various kinds, etc. This company also has a plant 
at Elwood. The works at Anderson employ about 175 men. 

The Buckeye Manufacturing Company was formed at Union City, 
Ohio, where it was engaged in business for several years before remov- 
ing to Anderson. When first started in the spring of 1884 the business 
was conducted under the firm name of Lambert Brothers & Company, 
with a small capital and was engaged in making neck yokes and buggy 
materials, with a force of six men and perhaps as many boys. For 
a while the 'firm was known as J. H. Osborne & Company, and under 
this name the manufacture of certain hardware specialties was added. 
Mr. Osborne withdrew in 1890 and the old name of Buckeye Manu- 
facturing Company was resumed. In 1891 the plant was destroyed by 
fire, but was soon rebuilt upon a larger scale. The Lambert gasoline 
engine was patented in 1894 and the company was then reorganized 
and incorporated with a capital stock of $100,000; John W. Lambert, 
president; George Lambert, vice-president; C. A. Lambert, secretary 
and treasurer. In recent years the company has added the manu- 
facture of automobiles, which has come to be the chief product of the 
factory. The company employs about 200 persons, most of whom 
are slalled workmen. 

The first glass factory to locate in Anderson was the Anderson 
Flint Bottle Company, which was removed from Butler, Pennsylvania, 
in 1888. At the time of the removal the company was capitalized at 
$60,000 and employed about 100 people, with Alexander P. McKee as 
secretary, treasurer and general manager. With the failure of the 
gas supply this company liquidated and went out of business. 

In 1889 the Union Straw Board Company established a factory 
in Anderson. Subsequently the name was changed to the American 
Straw Board Company. The capital stock of this concern was $500,000 
and in its day it was one of the largest plants of its kind in the country. 
The buildings, near the north end of Delaware street, are now used by 
a roofing company. 

The Arcade File Works, located in the southeastern part of the 
city, is one of the industries that has continued to prosper after nat- 
ural gas was exhausted. This company makes all kinds of files, the 
Anderson plant being one of a chain of factories owned by the Nichol- 
son File Company, the largest producers of files in the world. About 
600 people are employed, most of them skilled workmen, and the pay 
roll of the file works is probably the largest of any manufacturing con- 
cern in the city. It was established in 1891. 

In addition to the factories already mentioned that ceased to do 
business with the failure of natural gas, the following may be added 
to the list: Anderson Forging Company, Anderson Paint Company, 
Anderson Paper Company, Anderson Pottery Company, Cansfield Sta- 
tionery Company, Cathedral Glass Company, Electric Power Compauy, 
Fisher Snath Company, Gould Steel Company, Haugh-Kurtz Steel Com- 
pany, Indiana Box Company (removed to Elwood), National Tin Plate 
Company, Union Glass Company, Victor Window Glass Company, 
Wooley Foundry, and the Speed Changing Pulley Works. 



HISTORY OP JVIADISON COUNTY 149 

A mere superficial glance at this list might convey the impression 
that, with the loss of all these factories, Anderson is a dead town. But 
such is not the ease, for scarcely had one factory suspended than an- 
other came in and took its place. The report of the State Bureau of 
Inspection for the year 1912 gives the following list of Anderson manu- 
factories, with the general character of their business and the number 
of employees in each : 

American Rotary Valve Company, compressors, motors, etc., 200; 
American Steel and Wire Company, all kinds of wire products, 600; 
Ames Shovel and Tool Company, shovel plate and manufacturing tools, 




Remy Electric Co., Anderson 

173 ; Anderson Brick Company, 91 ; Anderson Canning Company, corn, 
peas and tomatoes, 300; Anderson Carriage Manufacturing Company, 
35 ; Anderson Foundry and Machine Company, clay working and tin 
plate machinery, 60 ; Anderson Gas Company, 25 ; Anderson Knife and 
Bar Company, machine knives and heavy cutlery, 30; Anderson Mat- 
tress Company, 8 ; Anderson Motor Company, 15 ; Anderson Plating 
Company, electro plating, 4 ; Anderson Rubber Works, rubber tires and 
specialties, 25; Anderson Tool Company, automatic computing scales, 
etc., 230; Arcade Pile Works, 550; Barber Manufacturing Company, 
bed springs, cushion springs, etc., 30; W. B. Brown & Company, gas 
and electric fixtures and supplies, 90 ; Buckeye Manufacturing Com- 
pany, automobiles, gasoline engines, etc., 200; Bulletin Printing and 
Manufacturing Company, 23 ; Computing Cheese Cutter Company, 19 ; 
J. H. Cloud Company, automobile tops, 15; Crystal Ice Company, 15; 
Daniels, Lyst & Douglas, paving and concrete construction, 90 ; De 
Tamble Motors Company, automobiles, 160; Dwiggins Wire and Pence 
Company, 40; Pletcher Enamel Company, granite enameled kitchen 



150 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

ware, 80 ; Frazer Stove Company, steel ranges, 75 ; Gedge Brothers Iron 
Hoofing Company, iron roofing, corrugated siding, galvanized iron water 
tanks, etc., 15 ; Herald Publishing Company, 46 ; Hill Machine Company, 
pumping machinery, 42; Hill Standard Manufacturing Company, wire 
wheels and children's velaicles, 75; Indiana Brick Company, 90; Indiana 
lee and Dairy Company, ice and dairy products, 26 ; Indiana Silo 
Company, silos, 52 ; Indiana Union Traction Company, 213 ; Lavelle 
Foundry Company, castings of all kinds, 16; National Tile Company, 
270 ; Norton Brewing Company, brewers and bottlers, 40 ; Nyberg Auto- 
mobile Works, 70 ; Oswalt Printing and Paper Box Manufacturing Com- 
pany, 18 ; Pennsylvania Glass Company, 200 ; Philadelphia Quartz Com- 
pany, silicate of soda and heavy chemicals, 25 ; Pierse Furniture Com- 
pany, dining and library tables, 8 ; Remy Electric Company, magnetos, 
etc., 288 ; Reynolds Gas Regulator Company, 40 ; Sefton Manufacturing 
Company, 500; Shimer & Company, wire fencing and recutting files, 
25 ; Spring Steel Fence and Wire Company, wire fencing and gates, 
40; Star Foundry and Machine Works, machinery for canning fac- 
tories, 51 ; Wright Rich Cut Glass Company, 40. 

From this list it may be seen that over 5,000 persons are employed 
in the manufacturing establishments of Anderson, and it is quite prob- 
able that two- thirds of the city's population are supported by them. 
Lack of space forbids a detailed account of each one of these numerous 
factories, but there are a few that are deserving of more than passing 
mention. The Remy Electric Company was incorporated in October, 
1901, and began business on First street. In 1904 the building now 
occupied, in the southwestern part of the city, was erected and a larger 
force of men employed. The magneto made by this company is used 
on many of the standard automobiles. The company also manufactures 
ignition for all kinds of motors, automatic starting motors and electric 
locomotive headlights. 

The Nyberg Automobile Works, located on West First street, were 
originally started as the Rider-Lewis Automobile Company, but were 
purchased and enlarged by Henry Nyberg. The cars turned out at this 
factory have won a reputation all over the country — whether run- 
abouts, touring ears or heavy trucks — and the factory is regarded as 
one of Anderson's most substantial concerns. While the report of the 
State Bureau of Inspection gives the number of employees as 70, that 
number has been increased to about 300 since the report was published. 

Fifteen thousand small wire wheels per daj^ is the capacitj^ of the 
Hill-Standard Company, besides the large number of children's vehicles 
that is constantly being turned out. Who has not seen the little wagon 
known as "The Irish Mail?" It is an Anderson product that is sold 
all over the country, made by the Hill-Standard Company. 

On Ohio avenue, in the southeastern part of the city is located 
the Wright Rich Cut Glass Company, of which Richard Wright is presi- 
dent ; Hunter Richey, secretary ; and Thomas W. Wright, treasurer. 
This is one of two cut glass factories reported in 1912 to the bureaii 
of inspection, the other being located at Walkerton, St. Joseph county. 
The glass made by this company is sold all over the United States and 
compares favorably with the imported article. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 151 

The Indiana Silo Company, "William Swain president, has two plants 
and several thousand silos in use. It is one of the Anderson industries 
that is advertising the city over a wide expanse of territory. 

There are also a few factories in Anderson that did not make reports 
to the state inspection department in 1912. Among these may be men- 
tioned the Anderson Art Glass Company, the Gospel Trumpet Company, 
the Koons Oil Furnace Company, the United States Electric Company, 
the Vulcanite Roofing Company and the Webb-Baxter Company. The 
Anderson Art Glass Company began business about 1888. It makes a 
specialty of fine colored and bevel plate designs for memorial windows 
in churches, etc. From twelve to fifteen men are constantly employed 
and the products of this little factory are shipped to all parts of the 
country. The Koons Oil Furnace Company is located at 639 Meridian 
street. It makes oil furnaces for annealing, etc. The United States 
Electric Company, located on West Tenth street, is owned and operated 
by F. P. and Martin Dunn and George Louiso. It makes novelties in 
the waj- of electric cigar lighters, clippers, etc. The Vulcanite Roofing 
Company is located in the old strawboard plant at the corner of Hazlett 
and Delaware streets and employs about seventy-five men in the man- 
ufacture of roofing materials. This company also has plants at Frank- 
lin, Oliio, Kansas City, Missouri, and San Francisco. In the old Neely 
Saw Works building on South Brown street is the establishment of the 
Webb-Baxter Company, which manufactures vacuum cleaning devices 
that are sold over a large part of the country. 

The Gospel Trumpet publishing plant is one of the largest printing 
plants in the United States devoted exclusively to the publication of 
religious literature. The annual output is constantly and rapidly in- 
creasing. During recent years the company has sent out annually about 
twenty car-loads of books, tracts, weekly periodicals, and Sunday-school 
quarterlies. These are sent to all parts of North America, and to 
Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, South America, and the islands of the 
sea. The company maintains a German department, which edits Ger- 
man periodicals and publishes a large number of German books and 
tracts; also a department for the blind, which publishes books, tracts, 
and periodicals in Braille and New York point prints, and conducts a 
free library for the blind. Some of tlie literature of this faith is also pub- 
lished in Dano-Xorwegian, Swedish, Russian, Lettish, Spanish, Japanese, 
Chinese, Hindustani, and other languages. The company is not a com- 
munistic colony or institution, but a corporation acting as a publishing- 
center of the Church of Got!, with the sole object of publishing the relig- 
ious truths taught in the Bible. Its publications are not issued for 
profit. The company is organized under the charitable laws of the 
State of Indiana. The corporation is self-perpetuating. At the annual 
meeting in June the trustees elect the directors and the officers for the 
following year. 

The business is conducted by up-to-date systematic methods. A well- 
organized working-force of about 225 persons is employed. This force 
is^livided into about thirty departments with their respective heads. 
Over these are the division managers, general superintendent, executive 
committee, and finally the directors and trustees of the company. 



152 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

A most interesting feature of this publishing-plant is that the em- 
ployees, or "workers," as they call themselves, are not paid regular 
salaries. They donate their services, receiving only their board, cloth- 
ing, and actual expenses. This applies to all, from the common laborers 
to the officers of the company. This plan, it is reported, has worked 
well for over thirty years. The workers and the church prefer that 
devotion to the cause, rather than desire for remuneration, be the 
motive for engaging in this publishing-work. A considerable number 
renjain for eight, ten, or fifteen years, but most of them for a shorter 
time. In procuring the necessary funds as well as the labor, not even 
the mildest form of coercion is employed. Only free-will offerings are 
received. All profits and donations above the amount needed to oper- 
ate the plant are used in sending out literature free, or in enlarging 
the plant and in extending the circulation of the publication. The com- 
pany maintains a Free Literature Fund to which donations, large and 
small, are constantly being made by interested persons. Many thou- 
sands of dollars' worth of free literature is sent out each year to mis- 
sionaries and ministers, and to inquirers in all parts of the world. 

The Gospel Trumpet Home is a large, three-story cement-block struct- 
ure situated near the publishing-house. It contains, besides kitchen, 
dining-room, laundry, etc., nearly one hundred living-rooms comfort- 
ably, though economically, furnished. Most of the married employees 
live in private cottages. The workers come from many different parts 
of the country, almost every state in the Union being represented. Aside 
from the object of donating their time and talents to the publication of 
the literature, many come to receive training and qualification for min- 
isterial work. A number of classes for the study of different branches 
of knowledge are organized from time to time. Bible study and devo- 
tional exercises are given prominence. In the chapel of the Trumpet 
Home devotional services are held every day, and other public meetings 
at appointed times. A high standard of Christian conduct and exper- 
ience is demanded of those who are regarded as permanent workers. 

The Gospel Trumpet, the main periodical of the Gospel Trumpet 
Company, started on its career January 1, 1881, at Rome City, Indiana. 
Later the publishing-office was moved to Indianapolis, Indiana, and 
after several other moves, was located for thirteen years in Grand 
Junction, Mich. Here D. S. Warner, the former editor, died, and the 
present editor, E. E. Byrum, took charge. In 1898 another move was 
made to Moundsville, W. Ta., and in 1906 the company located per- 
manently in Anderson, Ind. 

While the Gospel Trumpet office is not the headquarters of the 
church, a great deal of correspondence and other business for the Church 
of God is handled here. The Mission Board, both home and foreign, 
has its office in the publishing-house. The general camp-meeting, at- 
tended by several hundred ministers and workers and by several thou- 
sand laymen, is held here each year in June. This meeting is not an 
official or legislative body; but as it is the largest gathering of the 
church, ministers, and foreign missionaries, and others make it a point 
to attend as frequently as possible. Many visitors from all parts of the 
United States and from foreign lands visit The Trumpet office with the 



154 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

object of obtaining spiritual help and instruction. Many also come for 
physical healing. Several hundred requests for prayer are received 
each week — cablegrams, telegrams, telephone messages, and letters. 

The prominent doctrines taught by the Gospel Trumpet literature 
are: Conversion, or the new birth; sanctification, or the baptism of the 
Holy Spirit; baptism by immersion; the Lord's Supper; feet-washing; 
divine healing, and the unity of all believers. Special emphasis is laid 
on the. doctrine of church unity. The church of God here represented 
is not an ecclesiastical organization as are other churches; it is not 
incorporated, has no church discipline but the Bible, has no roll of 
members, nor does it license its ministers. After feeling the divine call 
and meeting certain Biblical requirements, they are ordained by the 
laying on of hands of the elders. All the ministers are recognized as 
equal in .authority ; they have no bishops or presiding minister. Min- 
isters preach where they feel led to go; they are not appointed to any 
particular circuit or district. The membership of the Church of God 
includes, according to their doctrine, all who have an experimental 
knowledge of conversion, or the new birth (St. John 3:3), and are living 
true Christian lives. The doctrine of divine healing, which is given 
much prominence, is they claim, quite different from Christian Science. 
The doctrine is founded on the example of Jesus Christ and on several 
texts of Scripture, the chief one among which, probably, is St. James 
5: 14, 15: "Is any sick among you? let him call for the elders of the 
church ; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name 
of the Lord : and the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord 
shall raise him up ; and if he have committed sins, they shall be for- 
given him." Numerous instances of notable healings are published in 
The Gospel Trumpet literature. 

As already stated, the first gas well in Madison county was on the 
farm of Samuel Cassell, near the eastern terminus of Washington street, 
Alexandria. It was sunk by the Alexandria Mining and Exploring 
Company and "came in" on March 27, 1887, only four days before 
gas was struck at Anderson. The people of Alexandria were not slpw to 
take advantage of the discovery as a means of advertising their town, 
though the first well was comparatively weak — about 2,000,000 cubic 
feet per day — owing to the fact that the drillers were afraid to go too 
deep into the Trenton rock, for fear of striking salt water. A second 
well drilled by the same company went deeper into the gas-bearing rock 
and showed a flow of 6,000,000 cubic feet per day. Soon after that a 
Mr. Davis, of Indianapolis, located a large brick plant north of the 
town ; Harper & Cruzen brought a window glass factory to Alexandria, 
the first to locate in Madison county ; next came the Lippincott Glass 
Chimney Works, whieli at one time employed over 600 men, and wliieli 
is still one of the large maziufacturing concei-ns of Madison county; 
following the Lippincott Company came the Indiana Brick Company; 
the DePauw Plate Glass Company and the DePauw Window Glass Com- 
pany were the next concerns to locate in Alexandria ; tlien came the 
Kelly Ax Manufacturing Company and the Union Steel Company. With 
the introduction of these manufacturing concerns and their army of 
employees, Alexandria jumped from a little village of 800 to a city of 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 155 

some 7,000 population within two years. In common with other places 
in the gas belt, the town suffered a period of comparative stagnation after 
the failure of the gas supply, but there are still a number of prosperous 
factories in or about the city, as may be seen from the following list 
taken from the i-eport of the State Bureau of Inspection for 1912, show- 
ing the number of employees : 

Alexandria Creamery Company, butter and dairy products; Alexan- 
dria Crushed Stone Company, crushed stone for paving, 26 ; Alexandria 
Paper Company, print and wrapping papers, 100; American Insulating 
Company, rock products, mineral wool, etc., 25 ; Art Printing Company, 
5 ; Banner Rock Products Company, cold storage insulation, 26 ; Brown- 
ing Milling Company, 4 ; Empire Mirror and Beveling Company, mirrors 
and beveled plate glass, 20 ; Hoosier Rock Wool Company, mineral wool, 
etc. ; Imbler Fence Manufacturing Companj', woven wire fencing, 10 ; 
Indiana Ice and Dairj' Company, 26 ; Lippincott Glass Company, lamp 
chimneys, etc., 500; Penn-American Plate Glass Company, 470; "Wells 
& Davis Boiler Shop, 5. 

Although the loss of the DePauw Glass Works, the Kelly Ax Works 
and the Union Steel Company threw about 3,000 people out of employ- 
ment, many of whom left the city, the factories of Alexandria still em- 
ploy regularly from 1,200 to 1,500 persons at good wages. The products 
of the glass factories and the large refrigerators built by the American 
Insulating Company and the Banner Products Company are shipped 
to all parts of the country. The materials used by these factories in 
the preparation of mineral wool, packing, insulating, etc., come from 
the stone in the Pipe creek quarries. This line is comparatively new, 
but the business is growing in a satisfactory manner to all concerned. 

Among the factories that closed when the gas gave out, the Kelly 
Ax Company was one of the best known. W. C. Kelly, the patentee of 
the ax manufactured, was president of the company, which employed 
at one time about 400 men, the axes being shipped in large quantities to 
the lumbering districts all over the civilized world. Another factory 
that is closed at present is the Steel Wheel Works. It is not abandoned 
entirely but merely suspended, awaiting developments. It is the hope of 
Alexandrians that some day soon it will open its doors and resume 
business. 

Elwood was not far behind Alexandria and Anderson in boring for 
gas, and was as fortunate in striking it in large quantities. Within a 
short time a number of manufacturing plants were located in the city. 
Among them were the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Works, the Macbeth- 
Evans Glass Company, the ^IcCloy Glass Works, the Elwood Furniture 
Compan.y, the Elwood Boiler and Engine AVorks, Crystal Ice Manufac- 
turing Company, Superior Radiator Company, Elwood Window Glass 
Company, Nivisen & Weiskolp Bottle Works, Phil Hamm Boiler Works, 
Akron Steam Forge Works, HefFner Planing Mill Company, American 
Tin Plate Works, Elwood Box Factory, Elwood Iron Works and the 
Excelsior Works. 

On the night of June 25, 1891, a destructive fire broke out in the 
Plate Glass Works. The Elwood fire department at that time was rather 
limited and word was sent to Anderson, Logansport and Kokomo ask- 



156 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

iug for help. Logansport sent a fire engine, Kokomo two hose carta, 
and Anderson sent the hose wagon and hook and ladder truck by special 
train. Before any of the outside help arrived the fire was under control, 
but the plant was damaged about $60,000. The burned portions were 
quickly rebuilt in a more substantial manner. 

The Excelsior Works burned on December 20, 1888, the fire originat- 
ing by th-e ignition of gas while making repairs. Adam Miller and 
Michael Glaspy, who were at work on the repairs in the engine room, 
were severely burned. The loss was about $4,000. 

A list of Elwood factories reporting to the State Bureau of Inspec- 
tion in 1912, with the number of employees in each, is as follows : Ameri- 
can Sheet and Tin Plate Company, 1,800; Ames Shovel and Tool Com- 
pany, 141 ; Dkwson Machine Works, foundry and machine work, 5 ; L. 
J. Diamond, plate, sheet and structural iron work, 15 ; J. P. IDowns, 
abattoir, 7 ; Elwood Call-Leader, printing, 10 ; A. D. Moffett, priating, 
6; Elwood Iron Works, tin plate machinery, 30; Elwood Lawn Mower 
Manufacturing Company, 50; Prazier Packing Company, catsup, chili 
sauce, canned vegetables, etc., 100 ; Home Storage and Manufacturing 



Tin Plate Works, Elwood 

Company, ice and soft drinks, etc., 20 ; Indiana Box Company, wooden 
packing eases, 61 (This plant was partially destroyed by fire in August, 
1913, but was immediately rebuilt) ; Irwin & Turner Canning Company; 
Macbeth-Evans Glass Company, pearl top chimneys, globes, flues and 
shades, 400; Ohio Oil Company, pumping station, 40; Pittsburgh Plate 
Glass Company (pot works), glass pots, 25; G. I. Sellers & Sons Com- 
pany, kitchen cabinets, 68 ; J. L. Small, gloves, 7 ; Tipton-Berry Cigar 
Company, 38 ; Hoosier Stogie Manufacturing Company, 23. 

A comparison of this list with the one given above, of the factories 
that located in Elwood soon after the discovery of gas, will show that 
some of the early factories have been discontinued and that new ones 
have been established. Of the 11,028 inhabitants of Elwood, approxi- 
mately 3,000 are employed in her factories — a larger proportion than 
any other city or town in the county. 

Elwood also has the largest single plant of any kind in the county — • 
The American Sheet and Tin Plate Company. This factorj^ was opened 
on September 13, 1892, when William McKinley, chairman of the ways 
and means committee of Congress that reported the McKinley tariff bill 
and afterward president of the United States, visited Elwood and made a 
speech, in which he maintained that the increase in duty imposed by the 
new tariff made the establishment of tin plate mills in this country 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 157 

possible. As at first established the plant consisted of four hot mills 
and a tinning department of six stacks, employing in all about 300 men, 
nearly all of whom had been brought from England and Wales. The 
original directors of the company were D. G. Reid, W. M. Leeds, J. M. 
Overshiner, P. G. Darlington, A. L. Conger, John F. Hazen and W. P. 
Ilutton. For some time the plant worked under disadvantages, but in 
1898 the American Tin Plate Company was formed, and with the absorp- 
tion of the Elwood works by this company a new era was begun. Six 
more hot mills were brought to Elwood from Montpelier, making the 
plant one of the largest factories in Indiana. 

On September 13, 1912, the works celebrated their twentieth anni- 
versary. By that time the tin plate factory had grown to twenty-eight 
hot mills, the entire works covering thirty-four acres of ground and 
employing 1,800 men, many of whom own homes in the city. 

Frankton, Lapel, Pendleton and Summitville also benefited by the 
discoverj' of natural gas, wells having been sunk in those towns soon after 
Alexandria, Anderson and Elwood were enjoying the benefits of nature's 
bounty in the way of cheap fuel. 

At Frankton the Clyde Window Glass Company erected two fac- 
tories. The Frankton Window Glass Company quickly followed. Then 
came the Wetherald Rolling Mill, the Hoosier Fence Company, the 
Frankton Brick Works, the Dwiggins Fence Company, the Bradrick 
and Lineburg Fence Works, the Quick City Novelty Works and a few 
other concerns. Most of these factories have been discontinued, the 
only one reporting to the state bureau of inspection in 1912 being 
the Hoosier Fence Company, which employed 20 men, and the Frankton 
Canning Company, also employing 20 persons. 

Two large flour mills, a bottle factory, a tile mill, a pump and gas 
regulator works, and some minor concerns were located at Lapel. The 
bottle factory is still running and in 1912 employed 120 people, and 
there is also a large canning factory at Lapel. 

The Pendleton Window Glass Company was organized soon after 
gas was struck there, with B. F. Aiman at its head. This factory was 
isituated on the north side of Fall creek and at one time employed a 
large number of men. On the south side of town was the Indiana 
Window Glass and Bottle Factory, and the Guptill Glass Works, which 
made a specialty of glass tubing for drains, conduits, etc., was located 
in the northern part of town, near the Big Four Railroad. There were 
also a wire fence factory, tile mill and brick factory. The buildings 
once occupied by the Pendleton Window Glass Company are now used 
as a canning factory. For a while the Motsinger Device Company, man- 
ufacturers of automobile accessories, was located in Pendleton. Among 
the present business concerns of the town is the Hardy Manufacturing 
Company, which makes sheet metal ware, conduits for silos, etc. 

Soon after gas was struck at Alexandria and Anderson a successful 
well was sunk at Summitville. Within a short time Central Gla.ss Com- 
pany, the Crystal Window Glass Company, tlie Rothschild Glass Com- 
pany, the Summitville Brick Factory and the Summitville Tile Works 



158 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

were all in active operation. Other factories that located here about 
that time were the Madison Brick Company and a stave and hoop 
factory. The American Flint Bottle Company also established a plant 
here, but it was destroyed by fire and never rebuilt: The Central Glass 
Company is still running as the Model Glass Works and is engaged in 
the manufacture of bottles, employing about 250 men and boys. The 
Summitville Tile Works were started by S. C. Cowgill and at one time 
manufactured more drain tile than any similar concern in the United 
States. It is now a part of the National Drain Tile Company, which 
owns several tile mills in the state. About sixty men are constantly em- 
ployed at this factory. There is also anotlier tile works here, now called 
the Summitville Tile Works, operated by Berry & Morris. The old 
flour mill, from which Mill street took its name, was sold some years ago 
by Joseph Daniels to J. M. Gordon and now forms part of the grain 
elevator on Main street. About the time this sale was made a model 
flour mill was erected by S. B. Gilman & Company and is still running. 
To Lemuel Webb, however, belongs the credit of having erected the first 
modern flour mill in Summitville. After his death the mill was suc- 
cessfully operated for a number of j^ears by his daughter, but shortly 
after her marriage she disposed of the property. 

Ingalls, in Green township, was laid out during the gas boom and 
several factories were projected at that place. Among them were 
the Zinc Works, which at one time employed a large number of people, 
and a glass factory for the manufacture of fruit jars was erected by 
Henry Wagner and others in 1895. It employed a number of opera- 
tives and had a successful career for a while, but, like most of the 
factories in the smaller towns, all those at Ingalls were closed when 
the gas failed. 

As an evidence that the manufacturers of Madison county, especially 
those of Anderson, are wide awake to their interests and ready to 
promote their material progress, a "Made in Anderson" exhibit was 
held the first week in June, 1913. Eighth street from Meridian to 
Morton was lined with booths, under a mammoth tent, in which the 
various manufacturing establishments of the city arranged their ex- 
hibits. The exhibit opened on Saturday, May 31, 1913, by a great auto- 
mobile parade, at the head of which rode Governor Samuel M. Ralston 
and the managers of the exhibit in a nickel-plated Lambert automobile 
built especially for the occasion. Following the line of automobiles were 
a number of manufacturers' floats. In this part of the parade were 
represented the American Steel and Wire Company, the American 
Rotary Valve Company, the Anderson Mattress Company, the Public 
Schools of the city, the Pennsylvania Glass Company, the Indiana Brick 
Company, the Dwiggins Fence Company, the National Tile Company, 
the Hill-Tripp Company, the Nyberg Automobile Company and a 
number of others, all presenting some feature of their particular indus- 
tries in an attractive manner. After the parade the governor formally 
opened the exhibit in an appropriate address. Hundreds of people from 
other cities were in attendance. Among the distinguished visitors 
during the succeeding week was James Whitcomb Riley, the "Hoosier 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



159 



Poet," who was a special guest of honor on Tuesday, June 3d, which 
(late was set apart by the managers as "Riley Day." It was generally 
remarked by those who attended the exhibit that it was a credit to a city 
the size of Anderson, and the immediate result was seen in increased 
orders by the factories participating. 

Notwithstanding the great progress made in manufacturing during 
the last quarter of a century, agriculture is still the chief source of 
wealth and the tiller of the soil is still king. According to statistics for 
The year 1910, Madison county stood far above the average of the ninety- 
two counties of the state in the production of the staple crops. It was 
the thirtieth county in the state in the production of wheat, ninth in 
corn, twenty-fourth in oats, twenty-second in rye, twelfth in potatoes, 
sixteentli in tomatoes, twenty-eighth in timothy hay, sixteenth in clover 
hay. fifth in clover seed, eighteenth in the value of horses On hand, 
fifth in milk sold, nineteenth in butter, the value of dairy products 
being over $450,000, tenth in the value of cattle sold, tenth in the value 
of hogs sold, and fifteenth in the production of eggs, over 1,000,000 
dozen being sold, bringing $178,500. During the year over $500,000 




^FaDISOX r'i)rXTV "WlTEATFIELD 



of the mortgage indebtedness on farms in the county was paid. These 
statistics indicate that the farmers of Madison county are, as a rule, 
prosperous, and the visitor to the county sees evidence of this pros- 
perity on every hand. Good dwelling houses and barns, bountiful crops 
and an abundance of live stock bear out the statement that the farmer 
is still the industrial king in the county. 

In connection with the agricultural and stock breeding industry, 
it is worthy of note that the large business of importing and breeding 
English and Belgian horses by James Donnelly & Sons, of Chesterfield, 
occupies a high place among the business enterprises of the county. 
Mr. Donnelly and his two sons cross the ocean twice each year, bringing 
back with them herds of fine horses for sale, or for breeding purposes. 
They claim to have the largest horse breeding farm in the State of 
Indiana, dealing exclusively in imported stock. 

At one time Madison county promised to become a paying oil field. 
Many wells were sunk in various parts of the county, some of which 
were' producers in paying quantities, especially those in Monroe town- 



160 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

ship. It has already been stated that the first gas well in the county 
was sunk in this township, and it is equally true that the first oil well 
in the county was drilled on the form of Nirarod Carver, in Monroe 
township. Some experts in the oil industry predict that a profitable 
petroleum field will vet be developed in Madison county. 



CHAPTER X 

INTERNAL IMPROVEMENTS 

Old Tr.uls — First Highways — State Roads — Turnpike Companies 
AND Toll Roads — The Era op Canals — Land Grants — State Legis- 
lation FOR Internal Improvements — Act of 1836 — Indiana Cen- 
tral Canal — Its Collapse — The Hydraulic Project — Railroads — 
Early Ideas Regarding Them — The Big Four — First Train to 
Anderson — The Pan Handle — Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan — 
Lake Erie & Western — The Central Indiana — Ditches — Union 
Traction Company 

One of the first necessities in the way of internal improvements in a 
new country is the construction of public highways. When the first 
white men came to what is now Madison county there was not "a stick 
of timber amiss." In going from one place to another the most direct 
route was followed, a small compass often being used to keep the traveler 
in his course. The first roads were merely marked by "blazes" on the 
trees, without regard to section lines, no matter how much they might 
later interfere with some pioneer's farming operations. Where an old 
Indian trail existed it was used by the settlers until better roads could 
be constructed. In after years all these early "traces" were straightened 
end altered to conform to tlie lines of the official survey running east 
and west and north and south. 

Surveys were made for state roads at an early date. Some of these 
roads were afterward opened and improved, but in a majority of in- 
stances they were .simply "cut out" by the settlers living along the route, 
verj' little expenditure being made by the state beyond the cost of the 
surve}'. One of the first roads of this character to be surveyed through 
J\Iadison county was the Indianapolis & Fort Wayne state road, which 
was laid out about 1825 and passed through Jackson, Pipe Creek, Monroe 
and Van Buren townships. The Shelbyville & Fort Wayne state road, 
which was laid out about 1830, ran northward through Anderson and 
Alexandria and formed a junction with the Indianapolis road near the 
northern line of what is now Monroe township. 

The Newcastle & Lafayette state road was established about the 
same time as the Shelbyville road, or perhaps a year or two sooner. 
Morgan Shortridge and Zenas Beckwith were appointed by the state 
legislature to locate this road and report to the board of justices in each 
of the counties through which it was to pass. Their report was dated 
December 13, 1828, and the road was opened for the greater part of the 

Vol. 1 -II 

161 



162 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

distance the following year. It entered iladison county about a mile 
tnd a half north of the southeast corner, ran thence a northwesterly 
direction through Pendleton and across Green township into Hamilton 
county. 

Another state road projected in the early '30s was the one running 
from Newcastle to Logansport. It followed closely the route over which 
the Pan Handle railroad now runs. When the legislature granted the 
railroad company the right of way over this line the act contained a 
provision that a good wagon road should be constructed by the railroad 
company parallel to its tracks, but the charter once obtained the company 
paid no attention to the stipulation regarding the construction of a 
public highway. 

In the spring of 1832 a road between Pendleton and Strawtown was 
laid out and before the close of that year it was made passable. That 
portion of this road in Madison county was afterward made the Pendle- 
ton & Fishersburg pike. 

Another old highway was the one running west from Anderson to 
Strawtown via Hamilton (now Halford) and Perkinsville. It is a con- 
tinuation of West Eighth street in Anderson. Along in the latter '30s 
and during the '40s, when there was a heavy tide of immigration to the 
western states, this road acquired almost a national reputation. Old 
settlers living as far east as the Ohio state line can recall the covered 
wagons bound westward, the drivers of which would eagerly inquire the 
best way to reach the Strawtown road, and manj^ a western pioneer has 
traveled over this old pathway to fortune or to failure. 

For thirty-five years after Madison county was erected the only high- 
ways were of that variety known as "dirt roads." During this period 
the county was divided into road districts, in each of which was an ofS- 
cial called a supervisor, whose duty it was to "call out" eveiy able- 
bodied man between the ages of twenty-one and fifty years to work for 
two, three or four days in each year upon the public highway. In these 
cases the supervisor would designate what tools each man should bring. 
Engineering, as applied to the construction and maintenance of high- 
ways, was unknown, each supervisor exercising his own fancy as to what 
work was essential. Low places were filled with soil or clay and shallow 
ditches were plowed along the roadside, to be filled up again when the 
rainy season came. Every spring, when the ground thawed out, the 
condition of these roads can be better imagined than described. 

Then came the era of turnpikes — toll roads constructed by private 
corporations. After laws were passed by the state legislature, authoriz- 
ing the organization of companies to build improved roads. Dr. John 
Hunt was the pioneer of the movement in Madison county. Through his 
efforts and influence a company was organized in 1858 to build what was 
long known as the Anderson & Alexandria pike. The first officers of the 
company were William Crim, president ; Joseph Fulton, secretary ; Neal 
C. McCullough, treasurer. The directors were W. A. Hunt, George 
Niehol, Curran Beall and Frederick Black. The officers of the company 
were never changed, except that upon the death of Mr. JlcCullough, his 
son, C. K. McCullough, was elected treasurer. Work was commenced 
soon after the company received its charter and the road was completed 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 163 

from Anderson to within two miles of Alexandria, when work was sus- 
pended for some reason and the north end of the line was never finished. 
This road was the first turnpike in the county. 

In 1859 the Pendleton & Newcastle Turnpike Company was organ- 
ized with Neal Hardy as president; J. T. Wall, secretary; L. W. Thomas, 
treasurer; C. G. Mauzy, Ralph Williams and Elwood Brown, directors. 
This pike was constructed on the line of the Newcastle & Lafayette state 
road. Work was commenced in the fall of 1859, but it was not com- 
pleted to the Henry county line — a distance of nine miles from Pendle- 
ton — until 1867. The total cost of this pike was about $13,500, and the 
county built two bridges, one over the Spring branch and the other over 
Lick creek, at a cost of $1,415. For many years this road was recognized 
as one of the best in the county. The portion of the Newcastle & Lafay- 
ette state road running west from Pendleton was subsequently improved 
and was known as the Pendleton & Noblesville pike. 

The third turnpike built in the county was the one known as the 
Pendleton & Eden pike, which ran southward from Pendleton for a dis- 
tance of eight miles, passing the old village of Menden. Its total cost 
was about $12,000 and it was completed in 1862. 

During the Civil war — from 1861 to 1865 — little attention was given 
to road building, the preservation of the Union overshadowing every- 
thing else. In 1865 the Andei-son & Fishersburg Turnpike Company 
was organized with the following officers and directors : David Conrad, 
president ; C. D. Thompson, secretary ; Samuel Moss, treasurer ; Elias 
Brown, William Woodward and John Cunningham, directors. This 
road is a little over nine miles in length and was completed after several 
delays at a cost of $2,000 per mile. It was one of the best paying turn- 
pikes in the county. 

Two turnpike companies were formed in 1866 — one for the purpose 
of constructing the Anderson & New Columbus short line and the other 
to build the Lick Creek pike. The officers of the former were N. C. 
McCullough, president ; A. D. Williams, secretary ; George Nichol, treas- 
urer ; Peter Fesler, Stephen Carr and Samuel Walden, directors. Work 
was commenced soon afterthe company organization was perfected and 
the road was completed to New Columbus (Ovid) at a cost of $1,200 per 
mile. In 1872 the pike was extended two miles south of New Columbus 
and this extension is sometimes called the Anderson & Knightstown pike. 

The officers of the Lick Creek Turnpike Company were Jacob Ken- 
nard, president; J. L. Thomas, secretary, and these two officers, with 
J. P. James, constituted the board of directors. No work was done on 
the road until in 1867, after which time the construction was pushed 
vigorously, and the three and a half miles from Pendleton to the county 
line were completed at a total cost of a little over $5,000. 

In 1867 the Anderson & Lafayette pike was built from Anderson to 
Frankton, in Lafayette township, a distance of six miles, for $1,800 per 
mile. A portion of this road follows the old Newcastle and Logansport 
state road. The same year the company was organized to build the road 
known as the Killbuck pike, which runs northward from Anderson ancf 
intersects the Anderson and Alexandria pike near the Big Killbuck creek. 
From this point it extends in a northeasterly direction into Richland 



164 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

township, its total length being about seven miles. The cost of construc- 
tion was about $1,200 per mile. 

A second pike, called east line road, was built from Anderson to 
New Columbus in 1868 by a company of which George Nichol, Michael 
Stohler, Ephraim Clem, Henry Keller and George F. Chittenden were 
the moving spirits. It followed the road to Chesterfield for about a mile 
from Anderson, when it turned abruptly to the south and followed the 
section line to New Columbus. The cost of this road was $1,100 per mile. 

A gravel road known as the Madison and Hancock pike was built in 
1870, beginning at the Pendleton and Newcastle pike about two miles east 
of Pendleton and running due south to the county line, thence to War- 
rington, Hancock county. Three miles of the road are in IMadison 
county, and tfcis portion of the road was constructed at a cost of $3,600. 

The last toll road to be built in the county was the Anderson and Ham- 
ilton pike, which was constructed in 1872. During the era of turnpikes 
the roads of this character in Madison county were kept in good condi- 
tion and most of them paid good dividends upon the capital invested. 
Travelers through the county made many favorable comments upon the 
condition of the turnpikes, and while some other counties in the state 
might have had more miles of improved road, it is certain that none 
showed a better class of such highways than ^Madison. In 1885 the legis- 
lature passed an act providing for the purchase of toll roads by the 
county commissioners in the several counties of the state, whenever a 
majority of the voters at a general election expressed themselves in 
favor of such a proposition. Within five j'ears after the taking effect of 
this law the people of Madison county had voted in favor of buying all 
the turnpikes and converting them into free gravel roads. If this meas- 
ure has its advantages it also has its disadvantages. Money expended 
by a private corporation in the repair of a turnpike generally pro- 
duced better results than the same amount of the public funds expended 
in the repair and maintenance of free gravel roads. In the one case the 
work was always done under the supervision of a competent man in the 
employ of the company, while in the other it is too frequently done 
under a careless or incompetent official. IMadison county now has ap- 
proximately five hundred miles of free gravel road, most of which is in 
good condition, though it is possible that none of these highways comes 
up to the standard of the old turnpike. 

During the first twenty years of Indiana's statehood — from 1816 to 
1836 — scarcely a session of the legislature was convened in which there 
were not introduced one or more bills looking toward the establishment 
of some system of internal improvements. Most of the governors during 
this period were interested in the development of the resources of 
Indiana and their messages to the general assembly were replete with 
recommendations, some of which possessed merit, but many of them 
would now be regarded as visionary in the extreme. Governor Ray was 
especially energetic in his efforts to secure the enactment of laws that 
would enable the state to prosecute "a grand system of internal improve- 
ment to a successful termination, and for the ultimate production of a 
revenue that shall relieve our fellow-citizens from taxation." 

The prevalent idea seemed to be that water navigation was the one 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 165 

thing needed to stimulate commerce and develop the natural resources 
of the state. As early as 1822 the states of Indiana and Illinois began 
to work together for the improvement of the Wabash river, and in 1823 
the subject of connecting the Mauraee and Wabash rivers by a canal 
came before the legislatures of Indiana, Illinois and Ohio. Nothing 
definite was done at that time, but in 1827 the federal government gave 
to the State of Indiana a large grant of land to aid in the construction 
of a canal to connect Lake Erie with the Wabash river. Work on the 
canal was commenced in 1832, under the supervision of a board of canal 
commissioners. 

Four years later the financial condition of the state was thought to 
be such as to justify the inauguration of an extensive system of public 
works. An act was accordingly passed by the legislature of 1836, 
authorizing the appointment of a board of internal improvements, to 
consist of six persons appointed by the governor "by and with the ad- 
vice of the senate and the canal commissioners then in office." Eight 
great water and land thoroughfares were specified in the bill, only one 
of which directly aflfected Madison county, but the subject is deemed of 
sufficient interest to justify the insertion here of the entire list, that the 
reader may learn what ideas were entertained three-quarters of a cen- 
tury ago with regard to the development of the state. The routes were 
as follows: 

1. The Whitewater Canal, which was to begin on the west braneli 
of the Whitew'ater river at the crossing of the national road and thence 
down the Whitewater valley to the Ohio river at Lawrenceburg. 

2. The Central Canal, "to commence at the most suitable point on 
the Wabash & Erie Canal, between Fort Wayne and Logansport, run- 
ning thence to Muncietown ; thence to Indianapolis ; thence down the 
valley of the west fork of the White river to its junction with the east 
fork of said river, and thence by the most practicable route to Evans- 
ville, on the Ohio river." 

3. The extension of the Wabash & Erie Canal from the mouth of the 
Tippecanoe river to Terre Haute. 

4. The construction of a railroad from Madison to Indianapolis via 
Columbus and certain other points named in the bill. 

5. A macadamized road from New Albany to Vineennes over a 
route including Fredericksburg, Salem and Paoli. 

6. The construction of a railroad, or, if a railroad was found to be 
inexpedient, a turnpike from Jeifersonville to Crawfordsville. 

7. The improvement of the Wabash river from Vineennes to the 
mouth of the stream. 

8. A canal from the Wabash & Erie Canal near Fort Wayne to La'ke 
Michigan. 

The second of these projects was the one in which Madison county 
was directlj' interested. Of the .'filO,000,000 appropriated to carry out 
the intent of the bill, $3,500,000 were to be devoted to the construction 
of the Central Canal. In the construction of this canal the board of 
internal improvement commissioners was given the option of building it 
upon the "lower, or Pipe creek route, if found most practicable and 
conducive to the interests of the state," in which case a branch or 



166 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

"feeder" was to be built to Muncietown, this branch to be of the same 
size as the main canal. The commissioners selected the Pipe creek route 
and as soon as the survey was made rival towns sprang up like magic 
along the line of the proposed canal. The excitement was almost equal 
to that which followed the discovery of gold in California, or when oil 
was first struck in western Pennsylvania. 

In 1838 work was commenced upon that portion of the canal running 
through Madison county. According to old maps of the county, the 
canal ran southward past Alexandria and through the western part of 
Richland township, striking the little Killbuck creek not far from the 
village of Prosperity, following that stream to the White river, and 
thence down the river valley as provided in the act of 1836. The Muncie 
branch was surveyed to unite with the main canal at Anderson. 

Says Dillon, in his history of Indiana: "In fixing the mode of or- 
ganizing a state board internal improvement, and in defining the duties 
and powers of this board, the general assembly of 1836 committed 
several material errors. On account of these errors, and for other 
reasons, the internal improvement law of 1836 encountered a strong op- 
position ; and this opposition was most ^ marked among the people of 
those counties through which the lines of the proposed public works did 
not pass." 

This opposition, like Banquo's ghost, would not down, and by 1839 
it became so insistent that work upon the internal improvements was 
suspended. In his message to the legislature in December, 1839, Gov- 
ernor Wallace summed up the situation as follows: "The failure to 
procure funds, as we had a right to expect from the extensive sale of 
bonds effected in the early part of the season, has led to great and un- 
usual embarrassments, not only among the contractors and laborers, but 
also among the people. The state has, in consequence, fallen largely in 
debt to the former, and is without means of discharging it. * * * * 
What shall be done with the public works? Shall they be abandoned 
altogether? I hope not. In my opinion, the policy of the state, in the 
present emergency, should be, first, to provide against the dilapidation 
of those portions of the works left in an unfinished state, and, secondly, 
as means can be procured, to finish some entirely, and complete others, 
at least, to points where they may be rendered available or useful to the 
country. ' ' 

The legislature of 1839 authorized the issue of $1,500,000 of state 
treasury notes for the payment of the contractors and other public 
creditors. These notes circulated as currency for a time at their face 
value, but within two years they had depreciated from 40 to 50 
per cent. At the close of the year 1841 over $8,000,000 had been ex- 
pended on the internal improvements contemplated by the act of 1836, 
and it was estimated that $20,000,000 more would be necessary to com- 
plete the system according to the original designs. Public sentiment 
was against any further issue of state bonds, or any increase in the 
public debt to carry on the work, and the whole scheme collapsed. 
Madison county, in common with others along the lines of the canals 
and highways, suffered a severe blow. ]\Iost of the towms that had com- 
menced their career with such a flourish of triumpets were abandoned 



HISTORY OF JMADISON COUNTY 167 

and it was several years before the business of the county resumed its 
normal condition. 

Several jears after the abandonment of the Central Canal by the 
state, certain persons became interested in a proposition to complete 
tliat portion of it situated between Anderson and Daleville and convert- 
ing it into a hydraulic canal. After some talk the subject was dropped, 
but shortly after the close of the Civil war it again came up for consid- 
eration, with the result that on December 19, 1868, the Anderson 
Hydraulic Company was organized with a capital stock of $64,000 sub- 
scribed. Later the city of Anderson subscribed for .$20,000 of the stock 
and issued bonds for the amount. N. C. McCullough was elected presi- 
dent of the company; C. D. Thompson, secretarj'; William Crim, treas- 
urer; N. C. ilcCullough, William Crim, Peter Suman, H. J. Blacklidge, 
George Nichol, Samuel Hughel and James Hazlett, directors. Con- 
tracts were let for reconstructing the canal on the original survey from 
Anderson to Daleville, a distance of eight miles, but nearly seven years 
passed before it was finished. On July 4, 1874, the water was turned 
into the canal from the AVhite river opposite Daleville, but the banks 
were unable to stand the pressure and gave way at so many places that 
the water was shut off. After the breaks were repaired the water was 
again turned on, but again the banks gave way. By this time the stock- 
holders had reached the conclusion that the undertaking was doomed to 
ultimate failure and refused to furnish any more money for experi- 
menting, .$80,000 having already been expended with no show of prac- 
tical results. The canal was afterward sold by the sheriff of Madison 
county to Edward H. Rogers to satisfy certain judgments held by him 
against the company. This was the last echo of the old Indiana Central 
Canal that once buoyed up the hopes of the people of Madison county, 
and they turned their attention to other plans of development. 

While the states were turning their attention to the building of 
canals as a means of developing their natural resources, a few miles of 
railroad were built in the east, and thoughtful men foresaw that this 
was the coming method of transportation. Many were skeptical, how- 
ever, aud many were actualh- opposed to the introduction of this method 
of traffic. About 1830 some young men of Lancaster, Ohio, asked the 
school board to permit them to use the schoolhouse for the discussion of 
the railroad question. To this request the board replied as follows : 

"You are welcome to the use of the school house to debate all proper 
questions in, but such things as railroads and telegraphs are impossi- 
bilities and rank infidelity. 'There is nothing in the Word of God about 
them. If God had designed that Plis intelligent creatures should travel 
at the frightful speed of fifteen miles an hour, by steam. He would 
clearly have foretold it through His holy prophets. It is a device of 
Satan to lead immortal souls down to hell." 

A few years after the abandonment of the Indiana Central Canal, a 
company was organized to build a railroad from Indianapolis to Belle- 
fontaine, Ohio. As this line was to pass through Madison county public 
interest was aroused, and, while the opposition was not so pronounced 
as that of the Lancaster school board, there were a few pessimistic indi- 
viduals who expressed their doubts as to the advisability of spending 



168 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

time and money in the construction of railroad, the disadvantages of 
which might be greater than the advantages. One prominent citizen of 
Anderson objected to the road running through the town, because the 
cars would ' ' run over and kill the children. ' ' Another insisted that the 
road would have to be operated at loss, for the reason that "one train 
could haul all the produce of the county for twenty years at one load. ' ' 

Notwithstanding such objections, a large majority of the people were 
in favor of the road and did everything in their power to encourage its 
construction. In the light of modern progress, the objections of 1840 
seem puerile in the extreme. And although the holy prophets failed to 
foretell a ' ' frightful speed of fifteen miles an hour, " it is no uncommon 
occurrence for the railway train of the present day to travel at a rate 
four times that great. 

At the June session of the Madison county commissioners in 1849 it 
was "Ordered that the County Commissioners, for and on behalf of the 
county of Madison, take and subscribe the sum of $15,500, which, includ- 
ing the sum of $500 heretofore subscribed, makes $16,000, as stock in 
the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine Railroad Company, to be paid in four 
equal annual installments, and to be expended within the county of 
Madison." 

The records do not show what became of the stock subscribed for by 
the county, nor can any of the old settlers remember what disposition 
was made of it. That the stock was issued to the commissioners is shown 
by the following letter fromO. H. Smith, author of "Early Reminis- 
cences of Indiana," and at one time United States senator, but in 1849 
president of the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine Railroad Company: 

Office I. & B. R. R. Co. 

Indianapolis, Sept. 4, 1849. 

To the Board of County Commissioners of the Coimty of Madison: 
Gentlemen :— The board of directors of the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine 
Railroad Company, in session this day, have adopted the following 
resolution : 

"On motion by Mr. "Williams: Resolved, That the board do hereby 
accept the subscription of stock to the company of $15,500 by the board 
of county commissioners of the county of Madison, upon the terms of 
said subscription, and that the president be directed to cause the sub- 
scription to be entered on the books of the company, and notify said 
board thereof, and issue to the county of Madison a certificate of stock 
for the proper number of shares." 

You are therefore hereby notified that the subscription aforesaid has 
been entered on the books of the company, and a certificate for 620 
shares of stock has been accordingly issued and is herein enclosed. 

Witness the signature of the president and secretary and seal of the 
company, the day and year above written. 

0. H. Smith, 
Attest : Jas. G. Jordan, Prest. 

Secy. 

In addition to this subscription by the county, many of the citizens 
showed their faith in the enterprise by taking stock in the company and 



HISTORY OF jVIADISON COUNTY 169 

work on the road was prosecuted with vigor. On July 4, 1851, the first 
railroad train that ever ran into Anderson — an excursion train from 
Indianapolis — came in over this road. The locomotive was one of the 
old-fashioned "wood burners," with a smoke stack shaped like a funnel, 
and the train consisted of three unvarnished coaches, with plain wooden 
seats, quite unlike the upholstered seats of the present day coaches. 
News of the excursion had spread over the surrounding country and for 
two days before the scheduled time for its arrival curious sight-seers 
were seen coming into Anderson, some of .them from points several miles 
distant, to see the curiosity of coaches drawn over rails by a steam, 
engine. Hotels and boarding houses were taxed to their utmost capacity 
and near the wagon bridge over the White river, north of town, a camp 
was established by those who were unable to find better accommodations. 
Buildings in the town were decorated with flags and bunting and every 
thing po*>sible was done to make July 4th a red letter day in the city's 
calendar. As the hour for tlie arrival of the train approached a number 
of people, unable to restrain their impatience, walked some two miles 
down the track toward Indianapolis in Order to catch an early view of 
the excursion. When the train came in sight the engineer sounded a 
few shrill blasts from the whistle as welcome. Consternation reigned 
among the curious sight-seers and they set out with more speed than 
grace for the "tall timber" in search of a place of safety. It is said 
that one man never stopped running until he reached Anderson. After 
the train had been inspected, citizens and excursionists joined in an 
appropriate celebration of the anniversary of national independence. 

In 1852 the road was completed through the county and a station 
was established at Anderson, the first building erected by the company 
standing near the present depot and passenger station. Philip Siddall 
was the first ticket and freight agent, and also the first telegraph 
operator in Anderson. He was a man of pleasing personality, who 
quickly made friends and incidentally increased the business of both the 
railroad and telegraph companies. In due time the road was completed 
to Bellefontaine and subsequently to Cleveland, Ohio, when it became 
known as the "Bee Line." It is now operated by the New York Central 
Railroad Company and is known as the Cleveland division of the Big 
Four Railway System. Through Madison county the line is double- 
tracked, with stations at Ingalls, Pendleton, Anderson and Chesterfield. 
It is one of the leading railway lines of the Middle West and in connec- 
tion with the old Indianapolis & St. Louis Railroad forms a popular 
route from the region of the great lakes to the southwest. 

The second railroad to enter Madison county was the Cincinnati & 
Chicago Air Line — now a branch of the Pennsylvania System and 
usually called the Pan Handle. It enters the county about eight miles 
north of the southeast corner and follows a northwesterly direction 
through Anderson, Florida, Frankton and Elwood, leaving the county 
on the west at the northwest corner of Pipe Creek township. This road 
was projected about the same time as the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine, 
but was not completed through Madison county until about three years 
later. Soon after the Columbus, Piqua & Indianapolis railroad was 
finished the company, seeing that Chicago was rapidly becoming a city 



170 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



of importance to the commercial world, decided upon a line from Rich- 
mond to Chicago. During the j'ears 1850-51 the road was built from 
Richmond to Hagerstown, a distance of sixteen miles, and the next year 
it was finished as far as Newcastle. Little progress was made during the 
next three years, but early in the summer of 1855 the line was completed 
as far as Anderson. On July 4, 1855 — just four years after the first 
train came into that town over the Indianapolis & Bellefontaine — an 
excursion train of four coaches came up from Richmond. 

Again the town of Anderson was in gala attire, the people coming 
from all directions to join in the celebration. Perhaps the curiosity was 
not so great as on the former occasion, but there were still citizens of 
Madison county who had not yet seen a railroad train and they were 




Pennsylvania R. R. Station 



very much in evidence. Speech-making, wrestling matches and other 
athletic contests constituted the principal features of the celebration 
that followed the arrival of the excursion, music being furnished by a 
"sheepskin band," composed of a bass drum, snare drum and a fife. 
The engine that drew the excursion train was not much larger than one 
of the sixteen horse-power traction engines of the present day used for 
running threshing machines. In the earh' days of railroading in Indi- 
ana the locomotives were named instead of being numbered, and nearly 
ever}' town or cit.y through which the Cincinnati & Chicago Air Line 
passed was anxious to have an engine named after it. The officials of 
the road, glad to please the people, named several of their locomotives 
after the county seats along the line. Old residents still recall the 
"Logansport," the "Anderson," the "Newcastle," the "Chicago" and 
other engines that in their day were considered magnificent pieces of 
machinery. Then there were the "Swinett," a rather diminutive affair, 
the first engine on the road, with John Smock as the first engineer, her 



HISTORY OF iL\DISON COUNTY 171 

• 
twin, the "Julia Dean" the "S. Fosdick," which was named after one 
of the ofBeials of the railroad company, and last but not least the 
"Hoosier," whose whistle could be heard for miles. It used to be said 
that when Mark Smith, the engineer of the Hoosier, would make that 
whistle do its best he could shake the beech nuts off the trees in the woods 
along the road. 

The first depot and passenger station of the Cincinnati & Chicago 
Air Line in Anderson stood at the north end of Main street, near the 
river. It was near this old station that the locomotive •"Anderson"' came 
to grief in the year 1860. While the engineer was eating a lunch in 
DehoritT.-"s restaurant opposite the depot, the boiler exploded with ter- 
rific force, throwing Iragments ia everj- direction. Fortunately no one 
was hurt, but the explosion ended the career of one of the favorite 
engines on the road. 

Shortly after the close of the Civil war the Grand Rapids, Wabash & 
Cincinnati Railroad Company was organized and in 1869 made a prop- 
osition to the citizens of Anderson. Monroe and Van Buren township, 
of Madison countj-. that if certain aid was extended a road would be 
built from White Pigeon. Jilichigan. to Anderson. About the same time 
the Lafayette. ^Muncie & Bloomington Railroad Company made a similar 
proposition and at a special session on October 12. 1869, the county 
commissioners accepted a petition relating to the matter and ordered 
"that an election be held on ^^londaj'. November 15, 1869, for the pur- 
pose of taking a vote upon the question of appropriating .?14;7,000, by 
Madison county, to aid in the construction of the roads above named." 

At the election the proposition was carried by a substantial majority, 
the commissioners levied a tax in accordance with the vote, and prepara- 
tions were made to begin work on the roads. Before anj-thing was done, 
however, a number of citizens of the cotinty joined in bringing a suit to 
enjoin the collection of the tax and after several years of litigation the 
supreme court decided against the appropriation. The money already 
collected under the levy was returned to the taxpayers by the county 
treasurer. 

Five years later, in 1874, the Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan Rail- 
road Company — the succfesor of the Grand Rapids, Wabash & Cincin-' 
nati— came forward with a proposition to complete the road to Ander- 
son, provided sufficient encouragement was offered. At the March term 
in 1874. the commissioners ordered an election in Anderson township 
for May 2nd (the first Saturday; for the purpose of taking a vote upon 
the question of donating -$28,000 to aid in the construction of the road. 
At the same time elections were held in the townships of Monroe, Boone 
and Van Buren, the donations asked for in these townships being 
$24,000 in Monroe. .4;7.50<5 in Boone, and .*8.000 in Van Buren. Monroe 
township voted in favor of the proposition, but in Van Buren it was 
defeated by a vote of 120 to 90. In Boone township the first returns 
indicated that the proposition had carried, but. tipon c-omplaint that a 
number of illegal votes had been cast, a recount was ordered and the 
donation was defeated. Another election was ordered to be held in 
Van Buren township on December 15, 1874, and as a special inducement 
to the voters it was " " Provided that the said Cincinnati, Wabash & Mich- 



172 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

igan Railroad makes a station within one-fourth of a mile of Lot No. 1, 
in the town or village of Summitville, in said Van Buren township." 
Again the proposition was defeated in that township, which reconsidered 
at a later date, however, and work was commenced upon the road be- 
tween Wabash and Anderson. It was completed to the latter city in the 
spring of 1876, giving Anderson three railroad lines. 

It was the orginal intention of the railroad company to complete the 
road to Louisville, Kentucky, but after Anderson was reached neai-ly 
fifteen years elapsed before anything was done toward the building of 
the southern extension. Work on that portion of the road was begun 
in 1890 and was pushed with such despatch that in May, 1891, the com- 
pany published the announcement that the road was open for business 
from Bentbn Harbor, Michigan, to Louisville, Kentucky. From North 
Vernon, Indiana, this road uses the tracks, of the Baltimore & Ohio 
Southwestern to Louisville. Soon after the line was finished it passed 
to the control of the Big Four Railroad System and is now known as the 
Michigan division of the Big Four. Over thirty miles of the main track 
are in Madison county and the stations in the county are Summitville, 
Alexandria, Linwood, Anderson, Alliance, Emporia and Markleville. 
The first station in Anderson erected by this company stood on the east 
side of the track between Fifth and Sixth streets. It was destroyed by 
fire and was never rebuilt, the road having in the meantime been taken 
over by the Big Four. 

The history of the Lafayette, Muncie & Bloomington Railroad is not 
materially different from that of the Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan. 
After several futile efforts, aid was finally extended to the company and 
the road was completed through Madison coixnty in 1875-76. Soon after 
it went into operation it became a part of the Lake Erie & Western Rail- 
road System, of which Calvin S. Brice, of Ohio, was then president. 
Mr. Brice was a good financier, understood railroad building, was ambi- 
tious and anxious to build up a great system of transportation. A good 
story is told of a bout between him and the late Commodore Vanderbilt, 
and while it is not directly connected with Madison county history it 
shows the character of the man who at one time dominated one of the 
county's leading lines of railway. Brice and his coterie built a line of 
railroad through northern Indiana to parallel the Lake Shore & Michi- 
gan Southern, which was controlled by the Vanderbilt interests. After 
the road was finished it was offered to Vanderbilt, in order that he might 
prevent competition. When the price was named it seemed to the great 
railroad king to be prohibitive and he replied : ' ' Why, Brice, I wouldn 't 
pay that for your old road if it was nickel plated." Notwithstanding 
this positive refusal, Brice soon made competition so keen that the old 
commodore was glad to purchase the road at the figure named. It was 
in this way that the "Nickel Plate" got its name. After Mr. Brice 's 
death the Lake Erie & Western became a part of the New York Central 
System. 

A little over fifteen miles of the main track of this road is in Madison 
county. The line crosses the eastern boundary about ten miles south of 
the northeast corner and runs west through Alexandria, Orestes, Dundee 
and Elwood into Tipton county. 



I 



I 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 173 

The last railroad to be constructed through Madison county, even 
though it be considered of less importance than the others, has a more 
tumultuous history than any of them. In the spring of 1871 seven men 
met in Lebanon, Indiana, and started a movement for the construction 
of the Anderson, Lebanon & St. Louis Railroad. At the September term 
of the commissioners' court of Madison county. Colonel Thomas N. Stil- 
well, the president of the company, came forward with a petition signed 
by many prominent citizens and taxpayers of the county, asking the 
board to order an election in Anderson township for October 21, 1871, 
for the purpose of allowing the voters an opportunity to express their 
views upon the question of appropriating money to aid in the construc- 
tion of the road. At the same session a petition was also presented to 
the board bj' the people of Stony Creek township, asking that an elec- 
tion be held in that township to vote on the proposition of levying a tax 
of 20 per cent on the property of the township for the benefit of the 
enterprise. Both elections were held on the same day and in each town- 
ship a majority of the voters expressed themselves as being in favor of 
extending the assistance asked for, though many of the citizens after- 
ward refused to pay the tax. 

This refusal embarrassed the railroad companj' and meetings were 
held at various points along the line of the proposed road to arouse in- 
terest and secure individual subscriptions. Stock was also sold at 
$50 a share and some money was realized by this method. On April 
17, 1873, the first shovelful of earth was cast at Anderson by President 
Stilwell and the construction of the Anderson, Lebanon & St. Louis 
Railroad was begun. Work proceeded slowly and it was not until 
December 11, 1875, that the first spike was driven at Anderson at 2:30 
p. m. President Zion, who had succeeded Colonel Stilwell, made a 
speech congratulating the people upon the prospects of a speedy com- 
pletion of the road. Mayor Brown made a brief response to ]\Ir. Zion's 
address, after which the first rail was laid in place and Mr. Zion drove 
the first spike, remarking at the time that it gave him intense pleasure. 

At the time the road was commenced the country was in the thi-oes 
of the hard times resulting from the panic of 1873, and nearly two j'ears 
passed between the time tMte first rail was laid at Anderson and the com- 
pletion of the road to Noble-sville, about twenty miles west. Then the 
company advertised the "First Grand Sunday School Picnic and excur- 
sion from Xoblesville to Anderson, over the Anderson, Lebanon & 
St. Louis Railroad, Thursday, June 14, 1877." In the meantime the 
road had been thrown into the liands of a receiver and was sold by the 
United States marshal at Indianapolis on April 10, 1877, when it was 
purchased by Thomas Piatt, president of the American Express Com- 
pany, for $40,000. At that time the bonded indebtedness of the company 
was nearly $300,000, and prefen-ed claims, receiver's certificates, etc., 
aggregated about $40,000 more. 

Mr. Piatt, soon after his purchase, turned the road over to Harry 
Crawford, of Chicago, who reorganized the company, changed the name 
of the road to the Cleveland, Indiana & St. Louis Railroad, and began the 
work of extending the line westward from Noblesville, the objective 
point being Paris, Illinois, where connections could be made to St. Louis 



174 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

and other western cities. When Lebanon was reached there was another 
delay for want of ready money, but in course of time the track was com- 
pleted to Waveland, in the southwest comer of JMontgomerj' county. 
From Waveland the trains of the new company used the tracks of the 
Vandalia to Sand Creek (twenty-two miles) and from Sand Creek the 
road was completed to Brazil, a distance of twelve miles. About the 
same time the road was extended eastward from Anderson to Muncie, 
the present eastern terminal. 

For many years the old Anderson, Lebanon & St. Louis Railroad was 
a standing joke among the newspaper humorists of the state. It is now 
known as the Central Indiana, and since the failure of natural gas in the 
cities near its eastern terminus is earning dividends in the transporta- 
tion of coal to supply fuel to man}- of the factories established in that 
region during the period when natural gas was abundant. 

Just before the receiver's sale of the roa,d in April, 1877, the com- 
pany owned two locomotives, both of which were attached by the sheriff 
of Madison count}' and chained to the track to satisfy a judgment. The 
present company owns eleven locomotives and sufficient other rolling 
stock to handle the traffic. The only stations on this road in Madison 
county are Anderson and Lapel, though at one time Johnson's Crossing 
and Graber's Station were stopping points. 

In 1892 the Anderson belt railroad was built by a number of local 
capitalists and manufacturers for the purpose of providing better ship- 
ping facilities for the various manufacturing concerns of the city. This 
road connects with each of the main lines and makes Anderson one of 
the best shipping points in the state. 

An improvement of purely local interest, but one that might be 
classed as internal improvements, is the ditches that have been con- 
structed in the county for the purpose of reclaiming the swamp lands 
and bringing them under cultivation. The first drains in the county 
were constructed by voluntary associations formed by those whose inter- 
ests in the draining of a certain district were mutual. This method was 
found to be unsatisfactory, for the reason that it often happened some 
land owner, whose farm would be benefited by the ditch, would refuse 
to pay anything toward its construction, and there was no way by which 
he could be forced to pay a just share, in proportion to benefits received. 

On March 10, 1873, Governor Hendricks approved an act providing 
for the organization of ditch associations, defining their duties and 
powers, etc. This law, while an improvement over the old voluntary 
association method, was unsatisfactory, as it provided no way to prevent 
any one opposed to the construction of a ditch from carrj'ing out his 
opposition, effectively and interposing an obstacle that could not be over- 
come by those in favor of it. A supplementary act gave the county com- 
missioners power to order the construction of a ditch, upon petition of 
a given number of those whose lands would be benefited thereby, and to 
levy assessments in proportion to the benefits derived. This system was 
better than any that had preceded it and many of the ditches in Madison 
county were constructed under its provisions. As mile after mile of 
drain was built, the objectors began to see the advantages arising from 
such a course and the opposition gradually became weaker, until today 



T 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



175 



it would be almost impossible to find a land owner in the county who is 
not in favor of a thorough going drainage system. 

By the act of April S, 1881. the appointment of a drainage commis- 
sioner for each county was authorized, and provisions made for the 
hearing of petitions by the circuit court. This shortened the process 
somewhat, as in the former method, when the commissioners ordered a 
diteli, an appeal could be taken to the circuit court, thus delaying the 
construction of a needed improvement. By presenting the petition 
directly to the court the appeal and delay are forestalled. * Recent legis- 
latures have passed numerous acts regarding the drainage and reclama- 
tion of swamp lands, and since the beginning of the present century 
many of the old ditches of Madison county have been reopened and new 
ones built, until at the present time it is estimated that there are eight 
hundred miles of main ditch in the county. The expense has been enor- 




SllSiiiai 







Union Building, Anderson 

mous but has been more than offset by the increase in the output of the 
farms and the value of agricultural lands. 

One internal improvement that has been an important factor in add- 
ing to the prestige of Madison county as a commercial and industrial 
center is the system of electric railways now operated by the Union 
Traction Company. The first dream of an interurban railroad in this 
section of the country originated in the mind of Samuel T. Bronnenberg, 
of Anderson, about 1890. At that time the industrial activity due to 
natural gas was at its height and Anderson and Alexandria were both 
spreading out over new territory. When the Anderson street car lines 
were extended across the river to North Anderson, Mr. Bronnenberg 
conceived the idea of connecting the two cities with a line of electric 
railway. His idea was to secure a strip of land four hundred feet in 
width, extending from Anderson to Alexandria, through the center of 



176 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

which was to be a boulevard one hundred feet in width, over which the 
railway would run. On either side the lands were to be beautified and 
divided into residence lots, making an ideal suburban locality. He 
obtained the greater portion of the right of way and had interested some 
outside capital in the project, when the hard times of 1893 set in, which 
put an end to the undertaking. 

About this time Noah Clodfelter, of Crawfordsville, Indiana, began 
the construction of an electric line from Marion to Indianapolis. A con- 
siderable portion of the road bed was graded and power houses built 
along the line, when the enterprise was overtaken by financial disaster 
and abandoned. 

Charles L. Henry, one of the large stockholders in the Anderson 
Street Railway Company, then undertook the construction of a line 
from Anderson to Alexandria. This was the beginning of the Union 
Traction Company, which was incorporated on Septembr 3, 1897, by 
Charles L. Henry, Philip Matter, John L. Forkner, Ellis C. Carpenter 
and James A. Van Osdol. The line running from Anderson to Alex- 
andria was continued north to Summitville ; a line was built from 
Alexandria to Elwood; the street railway properties in Anderson and 
Elwood were purchased by the company, and a little later the Marion 
street railway property was purchased, including an interurban line 
from Marion to Summitville. On June 27, 1899, the compan.y, with all 
its holdings, was consolidated with the jMuncie, Anderson & Indianap- 
olis Street Railroad Company, which owned the local street railway lines 
in Muncie and the right of way for an electric line from Muncie to 
Indianapolis. 

The corporation formed by that consolidation took the name of the 
Union Traction Company of Indiana. The line from Muncie to Indi- 
anapolis, via Anderson, was constructed, and since then the company 
has acquired, by construction, consolidation and leases, enough lines to 
bring the total up to 370 miles of interurban railway, connecting the 
leading cities of what was formerlj' the gas belt with the city of 
Indianapolis, and fifty miles of city railway in the various cities where 
the company operates. Lines radiating from Indianapolis run to Ander- 
son, Muncie, Winchester, Union City, Hartford City, Bluffton, Elwood, 
Alexandria, Marion, Wabash, Peru, Logansport, Kokomo, Tipton, 
Noblesville and Newcastle, and the intervening towns and villages. 

The principal offices of the company, as well as the main power gen- 
erating plant and car shops, are located in Anderson, where, according 
to the last report of the state bureau of inspection, 210 people are em- 
ployed in various capacities connected with the company. The principal 
officers of the company are as follows: Arthur W. Bradj-, president; 
William H. Forse, secretary and treasurer; H. A. NichoU, general 
manager ; Walter Shroyer, auditor ; J. A. Van Osdol, general attorney ; 
C. A. Baldwin, superintendent of transportation; F. D. Norviel, general 
passenger and freight agent. The company has recently purchased 
ground at the corner of Twelfth and Meridian streets, in the city of 
Anderson, where it is intended to erect a new passenger and freight 
station in the near future. 



CHAPTER XI 
EDUCATIONAL DEVELOPMENT 

COCNTY SeMIVAKY — PuBLIC SCHOOLS OP AXDEBSON" — SCHOOLS OF OtHEB 

Cities and Towns — Vall-e of School Peopebty — Statlstics — 

COL'NTY SUPERIXTEN'DENTS FlKST GRADED SCHOOL FBv\>.KLIN 'S 

Private School — Anderson Normal Unh'ersity — Business Col- 
lege — Parochial Schools — The Press — Strf;ggles of the Eablt 
Newspaper — The First Daily — IIardesty's AVindow Shuttee 
Campaign — Present Day Newspapers — Public Libraries — School 
Libraries 

In the chapters on Township Historj- will be found accounts of the 
early schools in the rural districts, with statistics showing the condition 
of the public schools in each township at the present time. The legisla- 
ture of 1828 passed an act providing for the establishment of county 
seminaries in the several counties of the state at public expense, but 
nearly twenty years elapsed before such an institution was founded in 
Madison county. In 1849 a two-story brick building was erected on the 
northeast comer of Main and Twelfth streets, in the town of Anderson, 
for a county seminarj'. This building was forty feet square, with a hall 
running east and west through the center. The lot upon which it stood 
was donated "for school purposes" by Andrew Jackson and Robert N. 
Williams, two citizens who believed in education. School was taught in 
this building until it was destroyed by fire in 18-56. 

Soon after the burning of the old seminar}-, a public school building 
was erected upon the site. It was used for more than thirty years, but 
was torn down in 1888 to make room for the present ilain Street sehooL 
The second public school building in Anderson ''known as the f?econd 
Ward school^ was erected in 18G8 at the comer of Seventh and Milton 
streets, but was torn down in 189-5 to make way for the present commodi- 
ous building that occupies the site. In the meantime Anderson had been 
incorporated as a city in 1865 and a high school had been organized in 
187-3. After the erection of the Main street building in 1888 it was used 
for the high school until the Lincoln building was erected in 1890, at a 
cost of $-39,000, when the high school was removed to the new building. 

Two buildings were erected in 1891 — the Park place building, which 
cost .$9,000. and the Central Avenue school, located on Central avenue 
between Twentieth and Twenty-first streets, which cost $20,000. In 1892 
the Hazelwood building was erected at a cost of -$20,000, and the next 
year the Columbia school, at the comer of Ninth and Madison, was 
erected at a cost of $22,500. In 1894 the building at the comer of 

TtLI— u 

177 



178 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



Seventh and Delaware streets was erected at a cost of $24,000. The 
"Washington school, situated on Columbus avenue, between Twenty-third 
and Twenty-fourth streets, was established in 1896 by the erection of a 
building that cost $37,000, and in 1897 the Shadeland school, a frame 
building of five rooms, was built at a cost of $3,000. The first high school 
building was erected in 1898. It is situated immediately south of the 
Lincoln building and is now called the grammar school. 

Just after noon on December 18, 1901, fire was discovered in the 
basement of the Lincoln building. Through the ventilating ducts the 
flames soon found their way to all parts of the structure. The fire de- 
partment responded promptly, but the fire was not under control until 
eleven o'clock that night, when the building was reduced to ashes. It 
was immediately rebuilt. 

The present high school building was erected in 1910 at a cost of 




Anderson High School 



$150,000. It is centrally located, on Lincoln street, between Twelfth 
and Thirteenth streets, and is considered by educators to be one of the 
best high school edifices in the state. In the building is a large audi- 
torium for public meetings, commencement exercises, etc. The school 
is also equipped with a gymnasium and swimming pool. The course of 
study includes the usual high school branches, manual training in wood 
and iron work for the boys, cooking and sewing for the girls, and kindred 
subjects. The display of this school at the ' ' Made in Anderson ' ' exhibit 
in June, 1913, attracted a great deal of attention, especially the speci- 
mens of pattern making and needlework from the manual training de- 
partments. The school is open to students from all parts of the county. 
Those who have completed the course of study in the towTiship schools 
have their tuition paid from the township funds and all others pay a 
small tuition fee. In connection with the high school is a free night 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 179 

school, in which is taught the ordinary school branches, shorthand, 
machine drawing, commercial chemistry, shop practice, pattern making, 
sewing, cookery, etc. The first high school class, consisting of four 
young ladies, was graduated in 1876. In 1912-13 there were 626 
students enrolled in the Anderson high school. The school board that 
ordered the erection of the present magnificent high school was com- 
posed of Willis S. Ellis, F. A. Walker and W. B. Campbell. 

The present members of the school board of Anderson are H. E. 
Jones, Austin Retherford and G. E. Nichol. Among those who have 
been prominently identified with the public school system of Anderson 
in the past may be mentioned Charles Hewett, T. C. Davis, W. R. 
Myers, Joseph Franklin, Dr. C. S. Burr, S. M. Keltner, C. W. Prather, 
George Quick, W. T. Durbin, N. C. McCullough, A. J. Dipboye and 
J. S. Carr, all of whom served either on the board of education or as 
superintendent of the schools. The present superintendent is James 
B. Pearcy. 




High School at Alexandkia 

In 1913 the city of Anderson had eleven public school houses, ten 
of which were of modern hrick construction, the value of buildings and 
grounds being estimated at $544,000. Of the 109 teachers employed in 
the city schools, twenty-three are in the high school. 

In 1876 the town of Elwood had but one school building and 
employed four teachers. With the discovery of natural gas and the 
consequent increase in population the educational facilities were made 
to keep pace, until in 1913 the city had eight public school buildings, 
viz : High School, Linwoood, Central, Osborne, Washington, Edge- 
wood, North C street, and a small frame building in one of the out- 
skirts. Five of these buildings are of brick and three are frame. The 
total value of grounds and buildings was $210,000. Fifty-seven teach- 
ers were employed during the school year of 1912-13, nine of whom 
were in the commissioned high school. It is no exaggeration to say that 
no city of its size in the state offers better educational advantages to 
its young people than Elwood. 

Alexandria has four public school buildings, known as the Old Cen- 
tral, the Clark, the Tomlinson and the High School. The three last 



180 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



named are of modem construction and compare favorably with public 
schoolhouses anywhere, costing over $20,000 each. The corps of teach- 
ers in the Alexandria public schools in 1912-13 numbered twenty-seven, 
six of whom were employed in the high school grades. The value of all 
school property in the city was $49,300. 

The first schoolhouse in Pendleton stood on the east side of the Big 
Four Railroad, on what is now known as Tariff street. In 1864 the 
brick building long known as the Pendleton Academy was erected on 
the site of the second schoolhouse and was for many years the only 
public school in the town. Pendleton now has two modern brick build- 
ings — the High School, at the corner of East and High streets, and the 
West building, at the corner of Taylor and West. In 1913 a large 
addition was made to the high school building, so that the value of all 
school property is approximately $45,000. Thirteen teachers were 




Public School, Lapel 

employed in the Pendleton schools during the school year of 1912-13, 
and of these four were engaged in high school work. 

Siunmitville has but one school building, which was recently erected 
at a cost of $22,500. Nine teachers are employed, three of whom are 
in the commissioned high school. The public school building at Lapel 
cost $18,000 and the one at Frankton cost $5,000. Eight teachers are 
employed at Lapel and seven at Frankton, and in both towns there are 
commissioned high schools. 

Thus it will be seen that in the seven principal cities and incor- 
porated towns there are twenty-eight public school buildings, valued at 
$893,800. The incorporated towns of Chesterfield and Markleville have 
no separate boards of education and their schools are treated in con- 
nection with Union and Adams townships, , respectively. In each of 
the seven large cities and towns is a commissioned high school. The 
total number of teachers employed in the county during the school year 
of 1912-13 was 375, of whom 230 were employed in the cities and towns 
and 145 in the country schools. The value of all real estate and build- 
ings owned by the county for school purposes was $1,118,300 and the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 181 

value of maps and other apparatus was estimated at $23,100. The 
total amount paid in teachers' salaries during the last school year was 
$228,184.38. 

The office of county superintendent was created by the legislature 
of 1873. Since that time the county superintendents of the Madison 
county schools, with the year in which each took office, have been as 
follows: Joseph Franklin, 1873; R. I. Hamilton, 1875; William M. 
Groan, 1881 ; Dale J. Crittenberger, 1884 ; Willis S. EUis, 1887 ; Isaac 
V. Busby, 1893 ; Manson U. Johnson, 1894 ; Lawrence McTuman, 1897 ; 
James W. Frazier, 1902. Mr. Frazier was first appointed upon the 
resignation of Mr. McTuman and has since been twice reelected. His 
present term expires in 1917. 

The first graded county school in the county was taught by W. M. 
Croan at a schoolhouse in Richland township known as "College Cor- 
ner," and it was in this house that the first "graduating" exercises in 
the country schools of the county were held. In 1912-13 the average 
length of term in the various schools of the county was 145 days. At 
the close of the term there were 177 graduates in the commissioned high 
schools and 529 in the township schools. 

Madison county has never boasted a college or higher institution of 
learning. The law establishing the state university provided that 
each county in the state should be entitled to appont two students 
annually, whose tuition should be free. Enoch M. Jackson, a son of 
Andrew Jack.son, and Augustus M. Williams, son of Robert N. Wil- 
liams, were the first from Madison county to become graduates of the 
University of Indiana, the former entering the institution in 1845 and 
the latter in 1846. 

Joseph Franklin, who had charge of the one public school in Ander- 
son during the period from 1862 to 1865, erected a frame building on 
the west side of Delaware street between Eleventh and Twelfth streets 
in 1868 and there conducted a private graded school for several years, 
Miss Genevieve Robinson having charge of the lower grades. 

On August 29, 1896, the Anderson Normal University, a private 
institution founded by W. M. Croan, was opened in the second and 
third stories of the Opera House block at the northeast corner of Main 
and Eleventh streets, in the city of Anderson. The institution started 
off in a rather pretentious manner, as may be seen by the following 
faculty and list of subjects to be taught: W. M. Croan, president; 
George H. Colbert, higher mathematics and astronomy ; J. C. Black, 
pedagogy; J. P. Mullin, language; Lottie N. Mullin, literature; J. Good- 
win Perkins, principal commercial department; E. E. Copple, geography 
and mathematics; W. C. Rousch, chemistry and pharmacy; Ellsworth 
L. McCain, penmanship; Charles Nelson, musical director; Laura Quick, 
elocution and delsarte ; Grace S. Langell, voice culture ; James F. 
Wysong, conductor of band and orchestra ; Louis J. Weichman, short- 
hand and typewriting ; Kenneth M. Burr, military science ; John E. 
Wiley, law ; Margaret Beachley, drawing and fine art. No appeal to 
the general public for financial aid was made, the aim of the founder 
being to make the school self sustaining. The expenses, however, of 
maintaining such an institution were greater than the income and after 



182 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

a short and somewhat precarious career it succumbed to the inevitable. 
The Anderson Business College, located on the third floor of the 
Decker building at the southwest corner of Teatli and Meridian streets, 
was formed in 190'4, by the purchase and consolidation of the Bliss Busi- 
ness University and the Anderson Business School, two institutions that 
had been previously established. It is now a branch of the Indiana 
Business College, which maintains schools of a commercial character in 
thirteen of the principal cities of the state. The Anderson school is 
under the management of Prof. J. Phillips. 

Parochial schools are maintained by the Catholic church at Anderson, 
Alexandria and Elwood. The first pai'ochial school at Anderson was 
taught in '1858 by Mrs. Maggie Ryan. After the completion of the 
present Catholic church the old edifice was converted into a schoolhouse 
and the school is in charge of the Sisters of the Holy Cross. At Elwood 
St. Joseph's parish has recently erected a school building at a cost of 
some $50,000. It is one of the most modern schoolhouses in the county 
and an ornament to the city of Elw.ood. 

The Press 

"As a factor in the educational development of any community the 
newspaper plays an important part. The first newspaper published in 
the county was the Federal Union, which was started in 1834 by T. J. 
Langdon, said to have been the oldest printer in Anderson. He was 
assisted by Charles D. Henderson in the editorial work, but after a few 
months the paper was suspended. Shortly after that Charles D. 
Henderson began the publication of the Western Telegraph and was 
fortunate enough to secure some of the legal printing, which enabled 
him to continue in business until about 1838, when he was forced to 
suspend the publication. 

In 1840 Dr. Thomas Sims established the Atheneum, which, as its 
name indicates, was devoted to literature and the sciences, rather than 
to the news of the day. Dr. Sims was a clever writer and something of 
an enthusiast on the subject of phrenology. After a time the public 
tired of his dissertations upon this and kindred subjects and the 
Atheneum died for want of patronage. 

Joseph G. Jones w^as the next journalistic knight to enter the lists 
in Madison county, which he did soon after Dr. Sims retired from the 
field by the establishment of the Whig Eagle. This paper was an ardent 
supporter of the principles of the Whig party and in the campaign of 
1844 carried the banner of Henry Clay. In the spring of 1846 Mr. 
Jones removed his printing office to Indianapolis, leaving Madison 
county without a newspaper until Gardner Goldsmith began the publi- 
cation of the Madison County Journal, which was also an exponent of 
"Whig principles. The existence of this paper was brief. 

John Q. and William L. Howell, who had been running a paper in 
Marion, Indiana, removed their office to Anderson in 1848 and com- 
menced the publication of the True Democrat. Peter II. Lemon was 
employed as editor and in 1849 the paper was purchased by Jlr. Lemon 
and Dr. Townsend Ryan, who changed the name to the Wecllij Demo- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 183 

crat. It was an unswerving advocate of Democratic principles, and as 
that party was then in power in the county, it was a surprise to many 
that the paper was suspended in 1850. Mr. Lemon said it "died of a 
broken heart." 

Not long after the suspension of the Democrat Dr. James W. Men- 
denhall, who has been described as "a young man of some ability but 
of little experience," commenced the publication of the Anderson 
Gazette. Under Mendenhall's management it was neutral in polities, 
but it was purchased by J. F. Henry, who made it a Democratic organ. 
Henry was assisted in the editorial work by Colonel Thomas N. Stilwell. 
About 1855 it passed into the hands of Charles I. Barker and soon after- 
ward expired. 

About this time W. H. H. Lewis founded the Madison County 
Republican, a paper which advocated the doctrines of the old Whig 
party and later the R-epublican party. Subsequently the name was 
changed to the Central Indianian, with John Patterson as editor, but it 
went the way of its predecessors. 

Thomas W. and Ira H. Cook began the publication of the Democratic 
Standard in 1855. On January 1, 1858, Thomas W. Cook retired from 
the paper, having sold it to Charles I. Barker, who conducted it until 
1863, when he disposed of it to Calvin C. Moricle, of White county, 
Indiana. Mr. Moricle edited and published the paper for about one 
year, when he was succeeded by 0. C. Willitts. Afterward, F. M. 
Randall published the paper for a short time, with E. V. Long as 
editor, when the propert.y was purchased by W. E. Cook and A. S. 
McCallister. These gentlemen published the Standard until the fall 
of 1866, when they sold it to Fleming T. Luse, of Warsaw, Indiana. 
Mr. Luse continued the publication of the paper until it was consolidated 
with the Anderson Democrat, under the editorial management of M. Y. 
Todysman, when the name Standard disappeared. Mr. Todysman sold 
the Democrat to William R. Brownlee in the fall of 1877. Brownlee 
in turn sold it to Glasco Brothers, which resulted in the consolidation 
of the paper with the Renew, under the name of the Review-Democrat. 
It was not long, however, until the first part of the name was dropped 
and the paper continued as the Democrat. 

In 1863, in the midst of the Civil war, H. J. Brown launched the 
Loyal American as the organ of the Republican party in Madison 
county. He remained as editor and publisher until in 1865, when he 
was appointed postmaster at Anderson. John C. Hanson then took 
charge and issued a few numbers, when the publication was suspended. 

The Democracy of Fleming T. Luse, who purchased the Standard in 
1866, was not of the type to suit the radical leaders of his party. As a 
result of this condition a stock company was formed in 1867 and the 
Anderson Plain Dealer appeared. Under the editorial management 
of Edwin P. Schlater and W. E. Cook it soon came to be recognized as 
the party organ in the county. In 1868 George D. Farrar, of Green- 
ville, Ohio, purchased the Plain Dealer and conducted it until 1871, 
when he sold it to W^illiam C. Fleming. ]Mr. Fleming published the 
paper until 1873, when he sold to Charles L. Zahm, who published it 
but a short time, when he was siicceeded by Todysman & Pyle. Thomp- 
son & Mvers also conducted the Plain Dealer for a short time. 



184 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

The first daily paper in Anderson, however, and also the first in 
Madison county, was the Bulletin, which made its firat appearance on 
March 25, 1885. It was started by Dory Biddle, James W. Knight and 
Charles R. Craven. Knight and Craven were practical printers, who 
had been thrown out of employment by the consolidation of the Demo- 
crat and the Review a short time before. The Anderson Review was 
started by George Winter in 1880 and conducted by him as a weekly 
for about three years, when George Ross and Thomas P. Harris bought 
a controlling interest and adopted a Democratic policy. W. S. Diven 
soon after purchased an interest and had charge of the editorial policy 
until the paper was merged into the Democrat in the latter part of 
1884. On the afternoon of March 15, 1885, Biddle, Knight and Craven 
were sitting in George Winter's printing office in the Odd Fellows' 
building, wHen Craven siiggested that they start a daily paper. The 
following Monday Craven and Knight went to Elwood and bought the 
outfit of an old printing office there, shipped it to Anderson, established 
an office in the basement room in the northwest corner of the court- 
house, where the first number of the Daily Bulletin was "struck off" 
on the afternoon of March 25, 1885, as above stated. Dory Biddle was 
editor and Knight and Craven were the business managers and com- 
positors. It is said the three men had exhausted their combined capital 
of $27.00 before the paper was ready to go to press, and that John L. 
Forkner went security for the paper bill for the first week, which 
amounted to $7.40. This puny infant thrived from the start and in a 
short time the Bulletin was on a paying basis. When natural gas was 
discovered in the county, this paper was one of the most influential 
factors in advertising the advantages to be derived and in bringing new 
manufacturing establishments into the county. On September 1, 1907, 
the Bulletin was consolidated with the Democrat, but is still published 
as an afternoon daily under the old name. 

In the summer of 1868 John 0. Hardesty purchased the material 
of the old Loyal American and began the publication of the Anderson 
Herald. Hardesty has been described as a "live wire journalist," and 
as his advent into Anderson was right in the midst of a political cam- 
paign he soon found an opportunity to do some active work for the 
Republican cause. In looking over the annual statement of the receipts 
and disbursements of the county, he found a total of $37,000 — not 
much for a county like Madison, but the way he played up those figures 
before the taxpayers was a caution. The only expenditure for improve- 
ments on public buildings was a small sum for a new window shutter 
on the courthouse, but Hardesty referred to it as the $37,000 window 
shutter, had a picture of it made and ran it in his paper through the 
entire campaign. His paper was known as the "Red Hot" Herald, and 
while he did not defeat the Democratic county ticket at that election, he 
paved the way for the election of a majority of the Republican candi- 
dates for county office in 1870. 

In the fall of 1872 Stephen Metcalf purchased a one-half interest in 
the Herald and in August of the following year purchased Mr. Har- 
desty 's interest, becoming sole owner. Mr. Metcalf made substantial 
improvements in the mechanical department, including the purchase of 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 183 

a new press. Various changes in ownership and management occurred 
during the next fifteen years, W. M. and Caleb H. Kinnard, George 
]\IcKeown, Charles H. Ewmg and Mr. Metcalf all holding an interest in 
the paper at different times. In April, 1888, A. A. Small became the 
owner, but in the fall of the same year sold the office and good will to 
H. G. Doggett. Chase Brothers soon after that became the owners and 
publishers. They disposed of the paper to J. H. Lewis, who in turn sold 
it to J. Q. Donnel, a man of considerable ability, but as he was not always 
in accord with his party he lost both prestige and patronage, and in 
1895 sold out to Wallace B. Campbell. In the meantime several at- 
tempts had been made to establish a daily edition, but all were unsuc- 
cessful until the present morning Herald was started in April, 1887. 
The Herald is now published every morning, except Monday, by the 
Herald Publishing Company and is the oldest Republican paper in 
Madison county. 

George Winter, who has been mentioned as the founder of the 
Anderson Revieiv, was also interested in other newspaper ventures, 
among which were the Eveniiig Star, the Daily Review and the Satur- 
day Neivs. The first two were forced to suspend and the last was 
absorbed by the Anderson Democrat in 1887, when Mr. Winter went to 
Washington to accept a place as printer in the government printing 
office. He died in Washington in 1889. He was a fine printer but lacked 
executive ability. 

Pendleton was the second town in the county to boast a newspaper. 
In 1870 T. B. Deem came from Knightstown, Henry county, and started 
the Pendleton Register, a weekly Republican paper. Accounts vary as 
to the ultimate fate of the Register, one authority stating that it was 
conducted at Pendleton until 1876, when it was removed to Greenfield, 
and. another says the office was purchased by C. B. Caddy in 1878 and 
the name of the paper changed to the Pendleton Republican. 

The Pendleton Enterprise was started in the spring of 1871 by B. 
Gregory, but after a precarious career of nine months it gave up the 
ghost. In 1896 Robert E. Maranville began the publication of the 
Pendleton Record, which was devoted chiefly to the interests of farmer 
and stock raiser. Subsequently he acquired the Pendleton Republican, 
but both the Record and the Republican have passed out of existence 
and the only paper now published in Pendleton is the Times. It was 
founded in 1901 and is published on Friday of each week. Will E. 
Witmer is the present editor and proprietor. 

The first paper published in Elwood was the Review, which was 
established by George Winter in the early spring of 1877. It was short- 
lived and in 1880 Roy Hannah, S. T. Legg and Allen Wilson formed 
a stock company and commenced the publication of the Free Press, 
with Mr. Hannah as editor and manager. Some time later another 
paper called the Review was launched by L. H. Emmons, who sold out 
to A. W. Ross in 1888. The following year A. J. Behymer bought and 
consolidated the Free Press and Recicw and continued the publication 
under the former name. M. H. Geyer & Son later purchased the paper, 
but after a short time sold it to Jesse IMellet, who started a daily edition 
in 1892. The paper is now owned by A. D. MofiEett, who published the 



3.86 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Fixe Press every Thursday as a weekly and an afternoon daily called 
the Record, which is issued every day except Suodaj-. 

The first number of the Elwood Leader made its appearance on 
March 19, 1891, bearing the name of W. J. Spruce as editor and pro- 
prietor. E. E. Fornshell issued the fii-st number of the Elwood Daily 
Call on November 11:, 1891, and on February 1, 1894, these two papers 
were consolidated under the name of the Call-Leader. This paper is 
now published every afternoon except Sunday by Fonisliell, Carpenter 
& Fornshell, and a weekly edition is issued every Thursda.v. 

In 1877 Joseph Fenimore established the AUxandrM Bee, the first 
paper in Alexandria, but it seeins the Bcc stung the founder, as after 
a few months it expired for want of patronage. Eight years later, 
in 1885, T.'A. French started the Alexandria Times and announced his 
intention to make the paper a success and boom the town. It seems 
that a paper called the Tribune was started iii Alexandria a little later, 
as the Times-Tribune dat^s its existence from 1894. It is issued every 
afternoon except Sunday, R. M. Yelvington being the present publisher. 

The Alexandria Record was established by Moore & Myers in 1892. 
The following year Harry E. i\Ianor bought the paper and converted 
it into a Republican organ. Weekly and daily editions were issued 
for a time, but the paper is no longer in existence. 

On September 25, 1893, the first number of the Alexandria Press 
was issued by C. F. & C. H. Meyer. It has had a successful career, is 
Democratic in politics, but is one of the best local papers in the county 
outside of Anderson. It is issued on Monday, Wednesday' and Friday 
of each week, the Friday issue being a weekly edition intended for 
rural circulation. 

In November. 1895, George B. IMiekler commenced the publication 
of the Gas Belt Xeics at Alexandria. It was a weekly, published every 
Friday, and was devoted to the industrial interests of the gas belt, par- 
ticularly Alexandria and the immediate vicinity. With the failure of 
the gas supply the mi.ssion of the paper was ended and it was .suspended. 

The first paper in Summitville was started by a young man named 
Pinkerton, but little of its history can be learned. In 1888 the Sum- 
mitville Times was started by A. J. Wertz, who had formerly been con- 
nected with the Anderson Bulletin, but it was short-lived. George P. 
Louiso licgan the publication of the Summitville Wave in 1890. It was 
independent in politics, well edited, and soon built up a circulation that 
made it a profitable venture. In 1902 the Wave and the North Madison 
Democrat were jiurchased and consolidated by L. P. Moore under the 
name of the Summitville Reporter. In the fall of 1906 this paper was 
sold to AV. A. Wimmer, who in June, 1913, disposed of it to F. D. 
Durham, the present proprietor. 

The Frankton Leader was established by E. A. Kemp in 1890. It 
has been superseded by the Frankton Critic, which was founded in 1901 
and is issued every Thursday by the Smith Printing Company. The 
Lapel Xeivs was established in 1891 and is now owned and edited by 
Lawrence E. Fair. In 1909 the Call of the Moose, a fraternal monthly 
devoted to the interest of the Loval Order of ]\Ioose. was established in 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 187 

Anderson, and the Gospel Trumpet, a religious periodical, was started 
in Anderson in 1906. E. E. Byrum is the editor. 

Public Libraries 

Madison county has four Carnegie libraries, located at Anderson, 
Elwood, Alexandria and Pendleton. The first movement for the estab- 
lishment of a public library in Anderson originated in duly, 1879, when 
Stephen Metcalf circulated a petition for stock subscriptions for that 
purpose. On August 29, 1879, a meeting was held at the office of John 
F. Wildman to decide upon a definite plan for the organization of a 
library association. Those present at that meeting were John W. 
Pence, John E. Corwin, W. T. Durbin, Stephen Metcalf, C. S. Burr, 
J. F. Wildman, Jonas Stewart, W. R. Myers, Edgar Henderson, W. S. 
Diven, M. A. Chipman, C. D. Thompson, George W. Shreeve, E. P. 
Schlater, Thomas B. Orr, Paul Fitzgerald, James W. Sansberry, L. J. 
Burr, H. C. Ryan, Zimri Iloekett, H. E. Jones, J. N. Study, William 
Suman, I. D. Bosworth, Amzi W. Thomas, James Mohan, George W. 
Kessler, G. AV. Brown and G. D. Searle. 

Subscriptions amounting to $270 were reported by Mr. Metcalf and 
an association was organized with John W. Pence, W. T. Durbin, 
Stephen Metcalf, J. F. Wildman, Garrett W. Brown, Jonas Stewart and 
E. P. Schlater as a board of directors. The library was opened on 
November 8, 1879, in the office of Amzi W. Thomas, on the north side 
of the public square, with 374 volumes. In February, 1882, it was 
removed to the office of Walker & Walker. Until October, 1885, the 
library was kept open but one day each week to give patrons an oppor- 
tunity to exchange books. About that time a Young Men's Christian 
Association was organized in Anderson and offered to assume the man- 
agement of the library. The offer was accepted by the directors and 
the library was removed to "Reeve's art gallery," on the west side of 
the public square. The Y^oung Men's Christian Association did not 
last long and the books went back to the board of directors. For about 
a year the books were stored away and the library was then reopened 
in the office of Judge Chipman, where it remained until in 1889. 

Late in the year 1888 eight young men organized a club, with 
Claude S. Burr as president, and Charles Platter as secretary and treas- 
urer. This club held its meetings in the Robinson & Lovett block, on 
the north side of the public square. Its members secured a majority 
of the shares of the old library stock, took control of the books and 
removed them to the club rooms. Donations were received about this 
time from various persons that brought the number of volumes up to 
650. 

On February 12, 1889, the Anderson Reading Room and Library 
Association was incorporated with the following board of directors: 
John W. Lovett, John F. MeClure (then mayor), Stephen Metcalf, 
Martha "V. Underbill, John E. Canaday, Mattie V. Berg and Mrs. E. B. 
Goodykoontz. These directors, in connection with the club above men- 
tioned, continued in control of the library until the spring of 1891, 
when a proposition was made to the city to take charge of the books 



188 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 



and established a city library. On May 11, 1891, the city council resolved 
"That the books, papers, furniture and effects of the Anderson Reading 
Room and Library Association be accepted by the city of Anderson, in 
accordance with the action of said association transferring said prop- 
erty to the city, and that the siune be hereafter maintained as a city 
library. ' ' 

Anderson now had a city library, but had no place to put it. The 
books were removed to the Newsom block and ^Marcus Kilburnc was 
installed as librarian. He was soon after succeeded by Anna B. JMyers. 
In April, 1898, the library was removed to the Masonic Temple on ]\Ieri- 
dian street. In the meantime a tax had been levied for the support of 
the library and the purchase of new books. By this method the library 
was increased until it became evident that the quarters in the Masonic 




Anderson Public Libb^vbt 



Temple would soon become too small and in 1901 M. JI. Dunlap, then 
mayor of Anderson, ^\Tote to Andrew Carnegie, asking for a con- 
tribution that would enable the city to erect a library building. Mr. 
Carnegie was at that time in Europe, but the following year the mayor 
wrote again and this time was successful in securing the promise of a 
donation of $50,000, on the condition that the city would furnish a suit- 
able site and appropriate $5,000 annually for the support of the institu- 
tion. 

These conditions were complied with, the lot at the northeast 
corner of Tenth and Jackson streets was purchased for $17,400, and 
work on the building was soon afterward commenced. It was completed 
in the spring of 1905 and was formally dedicated with appropriate 
ceremonies at the Central Christian church on the evening of April 20, 
1905, the dedicatory address being made by M. M. Dunlap and the 
building accepted for the city by Mayor John L. Porkner. The total 



HISTORY OF JIADISON COUNTY 189 

cost of the grounds, buildings and furnishings was $72,200. Miss Kath- 
erine A. Chipman is the lil)rariaii and Miss Carrie E. Lake, assistant. 
The library now nuinbei-s about twenty-two thousand volumes and is 
one of the points of interest in the eity of Anderson. 

The following extract conefrning the Elwood public library is taken 
from a little booklet issued by the Library Association: "The Elwood 
Public Library had its inception in 1898 in the thought of Mrs. A. D. 
Moft'ett and has been brought to its present status of usefulness and 
efficiency by the Elwood Library Association. 

"The association iiad its origin in a committee, composed of Mrs. 
Moffett, i\Irs. D. G. Evans, Dr. H. !\L Brown, Rev. L. C. Howe and 
Rev. George Chandler, which was appointed in October, 1898, by Mr. 
J. T. Alexander, of Greensburg, Indiana, to select a book list for a small 
subscription library, owned by the International Library Association, 
installed by Mr. Alexander in Room No. 1, of the building at the cor- 
ner of South B and Ander.son streets, then known as the Fitz Williams 
building. 

"The committee met at the library room and pursuant to the sug- 
gestion of Mrs. Moffett, that a free public library be established, the 
librarian, Mrs. Eva Gilmore, was instructed to send postal cards to 
twenty persons, inviting them to a meeting at the library room, to 
confer with the committee upon the feasibility of the plan. In response 
to this invitation Mr. George HaJ^les, Mr. W. S. James, Mr. A. H. 
McKenzie and Mr. and Mrs. H. F. Willkie met with the committee 
November 26, 1898, and it was decided to solicit subscriptions at $10 
a share to a fund of $1,000 for the establishment of a free public library. 

"January 10, 1899, sufficient funds having been subscribed to insure 
the fulfillment of the plan, a mass meeting was held in Odd Fellows' 
hall and a temporary organization was effected with Mr. F. N. Simmons 
as chairman, and Mrs. H. F. Willkie as secretary. Mr. H. P. Willkie 
was authorized to draft articles of incorporation and secure a charter. 

"January 25, 1899, the charter having been obtained,, and the 
required fund being guaranteed by suliscriptions, the permanent organi- 
zation was effected in Odd Fellows' hall by the election of a board of 
fifteen directors for a period of one year." 

Popular interest in the movement to establish a public library was 
manifested in the subscriptions to the stock. Among the subscribers 
and contributors were most of the leading professional and business 
men of Elwood, a number of lodges and trades unions, Sunday school 
classes and the children of the public schools. . In April, 1899, the 
library was opened in a small room at 1414 Main street, with 1,150 
volumes, twelve magazines in the reading room department, and Mrs. 
Eva Gilmore in charge as librarian. In June, 1899, the library was 
turned over to the city and a tax was levied by the city council for its sup- 
port. The following spring the library was removed to the new city 
hall building. In 1901, at the solicitation of the Women's Club, the 
American Tin Plat* Company made a donation of $1,000. 

In December. 1901 Andrew Carnegie, in response to a communication 
from the librarian and secretary of the association, Mrs. F. L. Saylor, 
offered to donate $25,000 for the erection of a building, provided the 



190 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

city would furnish a site and levy an annual tax equal to 10 per cent. 
of the gift. The proposition was accepted, a further gift of $5,000 was 
received from Mr. Carnegie in 1903, and on June 1, 1904, the building 
was dedicated and opened to the public. In the meantime Mrs. Hannah 
B. Leeds had given the library $500 and D. G. Reed had donated $100 
as an endowment fund for a men's room in the library building. 

In June, 1909, library privileges were extended to all the residents 
of Pipe Creek township, and about a month after this action was taken 
a branch library was opened at Frankton. J. L. Clauser was president 
of the board in 1913 ; Mrs. IM. E. King, secretary, and Miss Henriette L. 
Seranton was librarian. 

Some efforts were made to establish a public library in Alexandria 
in the closing years of the last century, but they were unsuccessful. 




Elwood Public Librabt 

The present library association was organized in 1901 and soon after it 
was chartered steps were taken to secure the asistance of Mr. Carnegie 
in the erection of a suitable building. A donation was promised under 
the usual conditions that an appropriate site be furnished and an annual 
tax equal to 10 per cent, of the donation be levied by the city council 
for the library's support. A lot was accordingly purchased at the cor- 
ner of East Church and Wayne streets, the council levied a tax that 
would bring in about $1,400 annually, and Mr. Carnegie sent in his 
donation of $12,000, which was subsequently increased by a supple- 
mentary gift of $2,000. The building, a neat little structure, was 
opened to the public in 1904 and in 1913 the library numbered over 
five thousand volumes. 

The boEird of directors of the Alexandria Library Association for 
the year 1913 was as foUows: Dr. F. G. Keller, president; Rev. G. A. 
Little, vice-president; Mrs. Minnie Malone, secretarj-; Rev. F. P. Faust, 
pastor of St. Mary's Catholic church; E. P. McMahan, representing 
Monroe township ; A. L. Custer, superintendent of the public schools ; 
Mrs. F; C. Jones and W. H. May, the last named being an ex officio 
director, by virtue of his office of township trustee. Miss Zada Carr 
is the librarian and Miss Bessie Bertsche, assistant. 



HISTORY OF :MADIS0N COUNTY 



191 



A library association was organized at Pendleton on November 8, 
1877. Dr. 0. W. Brownbaek was elected president and James W. Hard- 
man, secretary. Articles of association and a code of by-laws were 
adopted and it was decided to solicit subscriptions to a capital stock of 
$1,000, divided into two hundred shares of .$5 each. Subscriptions 
amounting to $110, or twentj-two shares, were made at the meeting and 
the work of soliciting was commenced. J. B. Lewis, AY. F. Morris, O. 
W. Brownbaek, Charles E. Goodrich and Benjamin Rogers were elected 
directors to serve until the annual meeting of the stockholders as pro- 
vided for in the articles of association. Among the stockholders were 
Hervey Craven, A. W. Cook. B. F. Aiman, G. A. Phipps, J. R. Silver, 
J. F. Silver. Isaac P. Rinewalt, F. M. Hardy, AY. R. Kinnard, S. F. and 
J. L. Thomas, J. W., H. F. and \V. H. Lewis, and a number of others 




Pendleton Public Library 



whose names cannot be ascertained. The library was established iu 
what was known as the Red Ribbon reading room in the Commercial 
block, but the records of the old association appear to have been lost 
and the history of the library cannot be obtained. 

The present public library in Pendleton was first conceived by Mrs. 
Sarah Skillen Cook and her ideas were carried into effect by an organ- 
ization known as the Independent Social Club, Mrs. Cook being aided 
by Mrs. Ida Parsons, Thomas M. Hardy, Sr., and her club associates in 
the establishment of a circulating library of their own, supported by 
contributions. The library was kept in Tank's drug store, but as inter- 
est in the work increased it soon became evident that more commodious 
quarters would have to be secured. A mass meeting was therefore 
called at the Methodist Episcopal church in the early part of 1910, to 
discuss "ways and means" of making the library a permanent institu- 
tion. Thomas il." Hardy, Sr., offered to donate a lot on East State 



192 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

street, near the high school building, if money could be raised for the 
erection of a building. This fact was made knowTi to ]\Ir. Carnegie, who 
offered to donate $8,000, if the town board would guarantee an annual 
fund of $800 for the support of the library. His proposition was 
accepted and a tax levied in accordance therewith, and on March 1, 
1912, the building was fonnally dedicated. Jacob P. Dunn, of the state 
library commission was present and delivered the principal address. 
Major Henry Post, Grand Army of the Republic, presented the library 
with eighty-four volumes of war history, the Saturday Club gave 110 
volumes, the churches also contributed a number of volumes, and 
on March 4, 1912, the library was opened to the public, with Miss 
Margaret Wade, as librainan. The library now numbers about 2,200 
volumes. 

In addition to the public libraries above described, every public 
school in the county has a small library composed of works of reference, 
history and travel, and the books prescribed by the young people's 
reading circle, supplementary to the regular course of study in the com- 
mon schools. It is impossible, in the absence of official reports, to give 
the number of volumes in these school libraries, but Professor James W. 
Frazier, county superintendent, estimates that there are ten thousand 
volumes in the township schools alone. There are probably as many 
more in the school libraries in the cities and incorporated towns. 

With school property valued at over $1,100,000; with more than a 
quarter of a million dollars expended annually in teachers' salaries; 
with almost a score of well-edited local newspapers; with four public 
libraries housed in buildings erected especially for their accommoda- 
tion, and some twenty thousand volumes in the libraries of the public 
schools, the reader may see that the educational development of Madi- 
son county has been at least equal to that of the other counties of the 
state. As a rule, the teachers employed in the public schools are men 
and women of inherent natural ability, supplemented by training for 
their work, and many of them hold teachers' licenses of the highest 
grade. The parents generally believe in education, newspapers and 
magazines find their way into a majority of the homes, the school and 
public libraries are well patronized by the students in the public 
schools, and everything points to a still higher educational standard in 
the county in the future. 



i 



CHAPTER XII 

BENCH AND BAR 

First Seat of Justice — Early Courts and Pioneer Judges — Char- 
acter OP THE Early Lawyers — Sketches of Judges and Promi- 
nent Attorneys — The Superior Court — Incidents in Connec- 
tion With Legal Practice. 

Contributed by Frank P. Foster, October, 1913 

When Madison county was organized in 1823, its seat of government 
was located at Pendleton and kept there until 1828, when it was moved 
to Anderson. The liret housing of its court in this city, or town as it 
then was, though that was less than a century ago, links the dawn of 
our courts with a cherished romance of the period, for our first court- 
house was a log cabin which had been built and inhabited by the good 
Indian, Chief Anderson, and his son. 

At the beginning of our judicial needs, the statutes made provisions 
for a circuit court which has continued down to the present, and bids 
fair for a long life yet. Now and then at different dates other tribunals 
have sprung into existence, but most of them, some after a considerable 
period, others in a few brief years, following their creation were cut 
short and are no more. The jurisdiction of these additional courts was 
not so comprehensive as tliat of the circuit court. 

The probate court which flourished from 1829 to 1852 had to do 
simply with such matters as are now addressed to the probate side of 
the circuit court. James Scott was its fii-st judge and held his office for 
more than ten years and until 1841, when W. H. ]Mershon rose to the 
same honor wore it during a like period and until 1851 when J. N. 
Starkey succeeded him only to lose his office the next year when the 
court was abolished. 

With the disestablishment of the probate court, a court of common 
pleas was brought into existence and was retained until 1873, when 
the legislature compelled it to go the way of the former inferior tribunal. 
The district of this court was composed of the counties of Madison, 
Hancock and Henrj^ And the attorneys elected to fill the office of 
judge while it lasted were as follows beginning with the first and nam- 
ing them in the order of their service : David S. Gooding of Hancock 
county, Richard Lake of IMadison, William Grose of Henrj', E. B. Mar- 
tindale of Henry, David S. Gooding, again elected in 1862, William R. 
West of Madison and Robert L. Polk of Henry. 

Vol. I , 3 

193 



194 HISTORY OF AIADISON COUNTY 

And the attorneys who prosecuted the pleas of the state in this court 
were from first to last naming them in the order of their service : 
James W. Sansberiy, W. R. Hough, Calvin D. Thompson, William P. 
Wallace, Joseph W'. Worl and Washington Saunders. 

The only bench in the county which in importance may properly be 
classed with that of the circuit court is our superior court organized 
in 1895. Aside from criminal and probate cases, over which it has no 
power, its jurisdiction is co-equal and co-extensive with that of the 
circuit court in all civil causes. 

The superior court of Madison county has proved itself of great 
value. Its beginning took on a happy cast from the splendid adminis- 
tration which it received through the ability of William S. Piven, its 
first judge, appointed to the position by the governor of the state imme- 
diately upon the passage of the act creating the court. He brought 
to the discharge of his duties all the essential requisites of a successful 
nisi prius court-industry, impartiality, a keen sense of honor and the 
mental power to grasp readily the force of testimony and the law's 
reasons. 

The confidence of the public in this court continues. The three 
terms inaugurated since that of Judge Diven closed have enlisted the 
conscientious labors of Henry C. Ryan, Cassius M. Gi'eenlee and Clar- 
ence H. Austin, the present incxunbeut, respectively in the order 
named. And their deliberations and decisions have aided in securing 
for this tribunal the high respect of the bar and of litigants, and a 
bright place on the pages of our judicial history. 

Referring again to the circuit court we behold a long line of judges 
who have from time to time been summoned to its sendee. At the time 
of its creation and for many years following that, two associate judges 
were called to sit with the circuit judge in the trial of causes. This 
form of procedure lasted until 1852. Then it was changed, and ever 
since then the circuit judge has presided alone. 

The names of those occupying this position from the birth of the 
county down to 1852, are William W. Wick, Miles C. Eggleston, Bethel 
F. Morris, William W. Wick (second term), James Jlorrison, David 
Kilgore, and Jeremiah Smith. And the associate judges who served 
during the same period were : Samuel Holliday, Adam Winsell, 
Andrew Jackson, Charles Mitchell, William Prigg, Abram Thomas, 
Uriah Van Pelt, David Pickard, George Millspaugh, J. W. Walker 
and Eli Hodson. And the names of the circuit judges since 1852 are: 
Stephen Major, Joseph S. Buckles, Henry A. Brouse, John Davis, James 
'Brien, W^inburn R. Pierse, Hervey Craven, Eli B. Goodykoontz, David 
N. Moss, Marcellus A. Chipman, Alfred Ellison, John F." McClure, 
Charles K. Bagot. 

This court in Madison county, owing to its long life, coeval almost 
with that of the state, and the high and faithful character of its func- 
tions deserves in this connection more than a mere mention of its 
duration or its honored names. Those of an earlier period with few 
exceptions were chosen from the counties with which Madison at differ- 
ent times was framed into judicial circuits, and naturally were not so 
well known to us as those who were elevated to that station from our 






HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 195 

very midst, which of course took place as populations grew denser and 
the circuits in consequence dwindled in area. This process has advanced 
until Madison county has become a circuit to itself. The judges of the 
old circuits, however, were men of exalted characters and deserve as 
they are sure to retain the respect and gratitude of all who have inher- 
ited the safe and sane conditions of a society to which they definitely 
contributed by their care and efforts in the administration of justice. 
The record of the Madison circuit court can not be truly traced in terms 
other than those of praise. No one of its many members was ever 
impeached nor so much as threatened with such a proceeding. It has 
never been charged or believed upon reliable authority that any one 
of them was ever moved or tempted in his official action by corrupt con- 
siderations. The people of the county can not too often recall the 
debt of gratitude they owe to their clean and upright judges. Think 
of the thousands of controvereies they have heard and helped to settle. 
It seems but little short of marvelous that through all the quarrels of 
neighbors and the fierce litigation that has marked our local history, 
we should yet have settled down to the quiet order of the present, so 
that all fair minded men now looking back over the work of the courts 
may say, "well done." Can the general public or the litigants directly 
effected do less than declare the integrity and intelligence of the Madi- 
son county courts? 

To some of the men who have served upon the circuit bench in recent 
times there attaches a special interest, both from the inherent traits of 
their characters and from the volume and importance of the questions 
which they were called upon to try and determine. 

At the conclusion of a certain trial before the Honorable Ilervey 
Craven wherein the defendant had been fined, his attorney in a com- 
plaining tone remarked that the judgment was rather severe. To this 
the judge replied, "Well, damn him, he shot my dog." 

Again, when a woman of none too savory a reputation for chastity 
had appeared at the bar for trial upon a charge which emphasized her 
unfortunate weakness, the judge after a composed but complete survey 
of the court room, turned to the sheriff and inquired why it was that 

Dr. and Mr. , and a number of well known 

citizens, naming them, were not present. None of these gentlemen had 
any connection with the case, but the judge knowing their relish of 
the testimony usually elicited at such trials, thought it worth while to 
inquire in open court for them. 

But who looking back a generation does not delight to honor the 
"rough and ready" manner of Judge Craven, by which he enlivened 
the administration of justice? And though somewhat eccentric in his 
notions of procedure and the etiquette of the court room, no one 
questioned his integrity or that he possessed a fearless love of justice 
or the courage to open for it a highway to the true goal when weighty 
issues were at stake. 

The disposition to encourage a compromise of pending litigation has 
increased notably during the present generation. This may be the 
ease in various counties of the state. But whether such is a fact or 
not, it is so in Madison county. And the spirit of compromise was given 



196 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

its most distinctive opportuuity when Eli B. Goodykoontz succeeded 
Judge Craven on the bench in 1880. Judge Goodykoontz had never 
exhibited the extreme qualities of a militant, even as a practitioner. 
He came nearer to being what is generally understood as an office law- 
yer. And while he was unquestionably a good pleader and sound law- 
yer, as may be supposed from his long partnei-ships with two giants of 
the local bar, that first with John Davis, who subsequently became 
judge, and that afterward with the late James W. Sansberry, he did 
not enjoy participation in the fierce conflicts of the form. Hence, as 
was but natural when he came to preside as the judge of the circuit 
bench, it was his habit as it was his happy privilege, in cases prom- 
ising but meager results at the end of long drawn out struggles, to sug- 
gest to attorneys for plaitiffs and defendants a settlement without trial. 
In many instances his advice was followed. And soon the resort to 
mutual settlements without the intervention of judge or jury became 
almost common, except in the weightier cases where differences were 
radical or of such a nature that the tribunal provided by the statute, 
as aften happens, was the most expedient, the cheapest and the best 
that could be invoked for the determination of the dispute. But Judge 
Goodykoontz was a man of the purest morals, the highest integrity, and 
with his firm grasp of legal principles, he was a positive aid in the con- 
duct of the court, and his widespread and healthful influence for honor- 
able practice at the bar had a justification in all that he did and stood 
for. 

Marcellus A. Chipman came to the bench in 1888. He was the 
absolute antithesis, both of Judge Moss his immediate predecessor and 
of Judge Goodykoontz who had preceded Judge Moss, in his attitude 
toward pleading and practice. They cared hardly at all for form, if 
only results might be reached. Judge Chipman was more lawyer like. 
Trained to make issues by regular and logical steps, he adhered to that 
method always. And nothing delighted him more than a well worded, 
clean cut, logical presentation of an issue on paper. To him came 
exquisite delight to weigh the argument of counsel as revealed in sharp 
incisions of keen retort or in the heavy proof of authority piled on 
authority. He fell nothing short of the kindly men who had gone 
before him in his hope to see justice prevail. He had all patience, and 
"would listen to an advocate old or young as long as he cared to write 
or talk in support of his position. But he seemed to think that when a 
party had committed his grievance to the court, it should be threshed 
out through the processes there provided. And so with the circumspec- 
tion of the clear headed pleader, with the promptness of the faithful 
public servant, with the fairness of the just judge, he welcomed the 
formation of the issues to a finish and all the conflict that those joining 
them might produce until judgment was rendered. This requirement 
of the court too was a good lesson to those practicing before it. The 
advantage of well reasoned statements and carefully prepared papers 
were readily recognized by all members of the bar. And there is no 
doubt that many, especially the younger lawyers, have experienced 
great help in the fondness of Judge Chipman for correct pleading and 
for all the finer practices of the profession. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 197 

Alfred Ellison was chosen circuit judge by the electors of the county 
in 1890, being at the time but thirty-six years of age, probably the 
youngest candidate ever elevated to that position in this county. He 
had then been engaged in the practice of his profession but a few 
years, and there were not lacking those in the campaign who expressed 
their doubts of his ability to discharge the duties of the office to which 
he aspired. But the fact soon dawned and to the gi'eat gratification of 
his friends, that he was fully master of the new situation. During the 
first four years of his term there were more causes disposed of by 
him each term than ever found their way to a trial calendar in a single 
term in any court in this county before or since. Hundreds of these 
causes involved large sums and important interests. But the judge 
did not shirk the mountain of labor which thus piled up before him. 
Day after day he held court through terms practically unending, for 
when the statutory time arrived for a new term to commence the old 
one was still holding on. Besides this, night sessions of the court were 
not uncommon. Ten o'clock found court in session many nights. And 
upon a few occasions the jury was instructed by Judge Ellison after the 
clock in the tower had struck the solemn hour of midnight. The work 
was more than one judge should have been required to do. And finally 
to relieve the overworked court and to facilitate the disposition of cases 
the movement began, which resulted in the establishment of the supe- 
rior court in the latter part of his term. Very few, only three or four 
of the judgments rendered by Judge Ellison and appealed to the 
supreme court were reversed. And he never met with a reversal in 
the higher courts from his instructions to a jury. 

The characteristic bearing of Judge Ellison upon the bench was dis- 
tinctly courteous, and his uniform kindness and ease of manner toward 
the several members of the bar served to make him popular. And all 
remembering his industry, his integrity, and his kindly disposition, 
retain for him" their admiration and good will. 

The success of Judge Ellison had made it plain that the younger as 
well as the older lawyers were fit for the bench. And so as one of this 
class had done so well, the thought was natural that another might be 
tried. It was in this conviction that the people called John F. McClur'i 
to try his hand. He was just rounding to the maturity of his mental 
powers when elected judge in 1896. And endowed with a conquering 
greediness for the toil that runs a question down, he delved into the 
principles of law and the details of evidence in so thorough a fashion 
that although he may have seemed to be slow as he plodded, it was plain 
w^hen he had concluded his finding and judgment that he was reaUy 
rapid, for then the whole fabric of the case stood revealed and its atmos- 
phere cleared in his complete consideration and exposition of the 
same. His re-election to a second term was an indorsement of his first. 
And during the whole of his twelve years upon the bench he performed 
a prodigious amount of labor, through which with admirable judicial 
poise and earnest manner uniquely underlaid with a fine sparkle and 
relish of quiet wit, he won and retains the deep appreciation of the bar 
and public. 

It may be that the merits of Charles K. Bagot as judge of the Madi- 



198 HISTORY OF JIADISON COUNTY 

son circuit court can not now be so truly measured or appreciated as 
they may when his entire career in such capacity shall have dropped 
into the golden mould of time. But his work has gone far enough 
already to warrant an assertion of its success, as it has a general belief 
that he will leave behind him a judicial record of exceptional worth and 
ability. 

He had engaged for many years in an active practice in the courts 
when called to preside in this one. He possessed a rare knowledge of 
the law and of the rules of proceedure, which he has carried and applied 
in the best and most conscientious way to his work upon the bench. Lay- 
ing asid,e the partiality which the attorney naturally takes on for his 
client, he assumes in his high position the impartiality and reserve which 
are found only in the trusted arbiter of litigants. And his unfailing 
evenness of temper and genial disposition, together with his recognized 
understanding of the law fit him well for his varied work as judge in 
questions of probate, in civil and criminal causes. 

And passing now from the bench in this narrative to the bar of Madi- 
son county, one realizes more fully still the difficulty of attempting a 
sketch at once truthful and of interest concerning an institution and 
the numerous individuals composing it, whose lives and labors are in- 
wrought all told with a hundred years of human controversy. 

But while the task looms doubtful of complete success, it is not with- 
out attractiveness. There is so much of variety, of effort and of inspira- 
tion connected with the character and history of our bar that a real 
pleasure fills the minds as it soars in survey of the noblest of its past and 
dwells on the precious lessons that have flowed thence to the present. 

There is a glory in the very simplicity and naturalness by which law- 
yers practicing before a court come into association. They do not 
arrive by any assignment. They have no "Union." They stand there 
at the call of human brotherhood, obedient to the needs and rights of 
clients. Money is not the main moving cause. Fees are charged and 
paid, but they are only incidental to the work. They are absolutely 
requisite now and then of course. But the compelling magnet which 
draws men to this profession is the burning thought of fame and of 
service to one 's fellows and to society. 

Lawyers laboring always in a situation that would enable them to 
form the most rigid combine to monopolize employment and fix charges, 
do not choose to exercise such advantage. The field is left always open. 
Every attorney remains free to serve whom and to charge what he 
pleases. In .this also he consults his client, and the compensation is 
largely a mutual matter between them. This is the most honorable 
relation between employer and employed in the world. The fee may 
be thousands, it may be nothing, but all the same the attorney has the 
consciousness of having done his duty and of having satisfied his client. 
He has come into this notion of his service by tradition and by impulse. 
If he has studied the ethics of his profession, he knows that in a way he 
is a public servant and that upon him rests a duty to aid the ends of 
justice, although in particular calls upon his time and talent there may 
be no pay, while on the other hand he has the right to handsome com- 
pensation for intense thought and devotion to the dearest or most valu- 
able interests of another. 






HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 199 

Could character actuated and developed under such ideals be other- 
wise than strong ? Could living sustained in such a pursuit be anything 
but noble ? The lawyer may not often enough reflect upon the value or 
the extent of his influence. It is sure that he rarely boasts of it. But his 
quiet conduct exerted with a fair understanding of what is just and 
what is practical in his community is a steadying, leavening force that 
has no equal man for man in any other calling. 

The legal profession attracts to its pursuits men of brains. There 
are such in almost every county seat in the United States, who are able, 
should the opportunity offer, to preside with credit in the highest courts 
of their state or country. The most of this modest talent receives no 
public notice. It does not need nor long for that, for it is a reserved 
and latent force and a pleasure to itself and to those it serves in a 
private and effective way. 

Moreover, here is found exceptional honesty and the trust that fol- 
lows it. In business enterprises generally a mortgage or binding con- 
tract is executed to secure performance. With all, the lawyer's word is 
better than a bond. The deepest secrets and sums without limit repose 
absolutely on his judgment and in his keeping. The wrongs wrought by 
dishonorable practice on the part of members of the Madison county bar, 
could any be found, would make but a bagatelle compared with the 
mass of that which is square and upright. Realizing this, it is easy to 
understand the uniform courtesy and good feeling that prevails among 
practitioners here, where envy and ill will have but little place. But 
hope each for the other and faith that the greatest success wall follow 
each individual as he adheres nearest to an open and honest struggle is 
the sentiment which animates the members, and is well nigh universal 
among them. 

The Madison County Bar Association was organized in January, 
1892, with Howell D. Thompson as president; Edward D. Reardon, sec- 
retary, and E. B. Mc^Iahan, treasurer. Mr. Thompson served until his 
death, when Frank P. Foster was chosen as his successor and still holds 
the position. Upon the removal of Mr. Reardon to Indianapolis, 
Frederick Van Nuys was selected as secretary and still serves in that 
capacity, and Mr. MclMahan continues to discharge the duties of treas- 
urer. All these positions are merely formal, for the purpose of the 
association is purely social. It has no stated meetings ; it has formulated 
neither a constitution nor by-laws. Its members assemble only when 
called upon to attend the last sad rites of a stricken one, or on the occa- 
sion of a banquet or other social function. But even in this unwritten 
and informal character, the members of the bar have come to regard 
their association as something more than nominal and are ever ready 
to lend their presence and aid to its invitations and directions. 

It would not be worth while, perhaps, if it were proper at all, to com- 
ment here upon living members of the bar, since sketches of them, or 
many of them, will doubtless appear in biographical notices, elsewhere in 
this volume. But it may be helpful to collect, which is done, at the 
foot of this article, a roster of the practicing attorneys in our court from 
the beginning to the present. 

Something also may be said of some of those who have passed to the 



200 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

"bourne from which no traveler returns," members of the Madison 
county bar, who in one way or another, now and then in a manner very 
simple and in other instances quite ^ave, but generally in such a fash- 
ion as to leave an impression with their fellows and upon the community 
that history hastens to collect and hold for posterity to whom its recital 
may be of use and interest in after years. 

As a mere mark of wide spread circumstance, the earliest period of 
the Madison county bar is the farthest famed of any in its entire record. 
A few of its first members were governors, and others United States 
senators: James B. Ray became governor of Indiana in 1823. To the 
same station in 1843 rose James Whitcomb, who was later advanced to 
the senate of the United States. Oliver H. Smith, a profound lawyer 
and a happy writer, whose "Early Indiana Trials and Sketches," will 
last with the state's literature, was elected a United States senator in 
1836. 

Smith, prior to the time he became senator, and Ray, while governor, 
bore conspicuous parts, though in a very different capacity in one of the 
most remarkable lawsuits that was ever prosecuted in this county or in 
the United States. It nlay be worth while here to recall the fact that 
Madison county's trial of widest note and importance took place but 
one year after the organization of the county. 

It was in the spring of 1824, that a party of Seneca Indians — two 
men, three squaws and four children — encamped on the east side of Fall 
creek, about eight miles above Pendleton. They were peaceable and came 
to hunt and trap. They had been there a week, when in the evening 
seated about their blazing fagots wholly unsuspicious of harm, they 
were visited by five white men of the neighborhood — Harper, Sawyer, 
Hudson, Bridge and a son of Bridge, aged eighteen. They enticed the 
male Indians from the camp on a pretext of having them help in hunt- 
ing some lost horses, and shot them, then returned and killed the squaws 
and both boys and the two little girls. Harper fled and made good his 
escape. The others were arrested and held for trial. News of the crime 
flew as if on the "wings of the wind." Soon it was known in every 
wigwam and war council of the powerful Senecas. The settlers then but 
sparse were greatly alarmed, lest the deed v.'ould call the redskins to 
retaliate.^' And the white folks of that day knew what a campaign of 
the tribes for vengeance meant. And all were astir. But notice of this 
foul murder was taken by others also. It had the attention of John 
Johnson, Indian agent at Piqua, Ohio. And he and others visited all 
the Indian tribes and promised them that the government would punish 
the offenders, and obtained from them consent to make no hostile move 
until there had been time for the law to act. The war department at 
Washington also was on edge. A national policy and great interests 
were at stake. And the secretary of war was quick to weigh the gravity 
of the situation. The preparation for and conduct of that trial were 
directed from the capital of the nation. The secretary of war employed 
United States Senator James Noble to make an argument in the case, 
authorizing him at the same time to fee an assistant for the same pur- 
pose. Calvin Fletcher then a young man, and a brilliant lawyer, was 
the prosecuting attorney. An array of able counsel, some of them 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 201 

from Ohio, appeared for the defense. Hudson was tried first. He was 
convicted and hanged. Several Seneca Indians, relatives of the victims, 
were present at the hanging. The other three defendants were tried, 
convicted and sentenced to the gallows. Sawyer and the elder Bridge 
paid the extreme penalty. The younger Bridge was on the scaffold and 
the noose was around his neck. He was but a stripling, and much 
sympathy had been expressed for him. The governor had considered a 
petition for his pardon. And an incident of his action on this serves 
strongly to reveal a trait that was prominent in Governor Ray. He was 
fond of impressing others with his importance. He was, it is related 
on good authority, eccentric and vain. He did not hesitate to make a 
spectacular exhibition of himself in order to draw the attention of the 
public to himself. And to this young man in his awful hour and before 
the vast concourse of people gathered about him, the governor chose not 
to send his message by a courier, nor to approach the scene in solemn 
and dignified bearing, such as would seem to have been suitable to that 
occasion, but to ride his steed furiously into the expectant crowd just 
in time to stay the fatal drop, dismount, ascend to the scaffold and 
address the quivering culprit thus : 

"Young man, do you know who now stands before you?" 

"No sir," said the dejected boy. 

"Well sir, it is time that you should know. There are, sir, but two 
beings in the great universe who can save you from death ; one is the 
great God of Heaven, and the other is James Brown Ray, governor of 
Indiana, who now stands before you. Here is your pardon. Go sir. 
and sin no more!" ^ 

This case was remarkable not alone for its atrocity and for the able 
and illustrious counsel engaged in it. It stood out no less clearly for 
the absolute faithfulness of the local and national officers and attorneys 
in the execution of the law for the expiration of the crime committed upon 
those helpless children of the forest. And it was the first instance in 
America of a white man suffering the death penalty under the law for 
murdering an Indian. - 

Richard K. Benson who practiced here in the seventies, and Charles 
Nation who continued to do so until some time in the eighties, though 
they did nothing so far as the records run to call forth particular com- 
ment, each held a certain personal relation to which interest has 
attached. For the former was the brother of Luther Benson, the 
eloquent temperance advocate noted in his day throughout the land, 
while the latter was the son of a former marriage of the husband of 
Carrie Nation, who in campaigning against the liquor traffic a decade or 
two ago, won as her sobriquet, "The Hatchet." 

One of the attorneys who came to the Madison county bar in the 
first decade of its history was Robert Newell Williams, a man of extra- 
ordinary versatility in the general business and industrial life of the 
community. For he was not only a lawyer, but a skilful accountant, 
a successful politician and a captain of industry. Through the seventy 

' Stories of Indiana, Maurice Thompson, p. 196. 

2 Early Indiana Trials and Sketches, Oliver H. Smith, p. 57. 



202 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

years allotted to him, his life unrolled like a ribbon of beanty and com- 
pleteness. He was bom in 1800 at Elizabeth City, North Carolina. And 
migrating from there when he had an-ived at the age of sixteen with his 
parents traveling in a wagon drawn by one ox, he halted with them in 
Montgomery county, Ohio, near Dayton. During the succeeding twelve 
years, young Robert labored principally at making and mending shoes 
and harness, steamboating and at teaching school in his adopted county, 
and in Darke and Preble counties, Ohio. While residing near Dayton, 
he made a trip from Cincinnati to New Orleans by boat. On arriving at 
Cincinnati on his return and being in a hurry to reach home, he walked 
the entire distance from Cincinnati to his home, a distance of 55 miles 
between daylight and dark of one day. But it was in 1828 that his 
eyes first tell upon the light that shone over Andersontown. And here 
his services were soon in demand. There being but few^ men in the rural 
districts of those days, who could discharge the duties of public office, 
and no bar to the number of such positions one might occupy, he held 
the office of postmaster, county auditor, clerk and recorder, all at the 
same time. He represented his county two terms 1842-43 and 1847-8 
in the Indiana legislature. And when Anderson became a city, he was 
chosen without opposition to be its first mayor. Besides these offices, he 
served during the war as deputy revenue collector and as a clerk for 
the medical board, having charge of the physical examination of those 
drafted for military service. 

Mr. Williams had an aptitude also for handling large industrial proj- 
ects. He was one of the contractors who built the first railroad in 
Indiana, the old junction line extending from Indianapolis to Madison. 
And he undertook with the company that constructed what is now the 
Pan Handle Railroad to do a portion of their grading. He believed in 
the material as well as the political and educational development of his 
city and his name was synonymous with progress. Williams' addition 
to the south front and Williams' street, now Twelfth street, were named 
for him. 

The late Augustus M. Williams, the first white male child born in 
Anderson, was the son of Robert Newell Williams, and by whose liberal- 
ity and love of learning the son was afforded a classical education at 
Asbury University. And the late Addison D. Williams, also a lawyer 
and for many years the surveyor of Madison county, was his son. And 
there still reside in this city two of his grandsons, Drs. Charles F. and 
Lucian 0. Williams. 

The breadth and independence of his mind may be judged by his 
preferences in voting for presidents in the course of which he so favored 
John Quincy Adams, Jackson, Harrison, Fremont and Lincoln. And 
in all the varied relations of lawyer, public official and private citizen 
he sustained a charter of unquestionable integrity, and enjoyed the 
esteem and confidence of all who knew him. 

Another of the early legal lights was John Davis. He first saw the 
light of this world in Hagerstown, Maryland, in 1812. His father, when 
John was quite young, moved to Mount Vernon, Ohio, where he owned 
and operated large woolen mills. During this period the son attended 
Kenyon College at Gambler, Ohio. Later, he came westward and read 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 203 

law with John Elliott at Newcastle, Indiana. He settled in Anderson 
for the practice of his profession in 1835. Giving some attention to 
polities, he was elected to the state legislature in 1842 and again in 1852. 
In recognition of his legal attainments and titness, he was honored with 
the judgeship of the circuit court from 1865 to 1869, which was then 
held in Anderson, Noblesville, Kokonio and Tipton. 

Judge Davis was one of the strong lawyers of his time and enjoyed 
a large practice. Many of the well known attorneys who afterward 
came to the bar studied under him. Among these were Richard Lake, 
Eli B. Goodykoontz and William R. Myers. 

Judge Davis owned considerable of the land in and near town and he 
laid off into building lots several additions. Upon his retirement from 
the bench, he traveled extensively and journeyed to Europe. While at 
Acqui in Italy, he suffered from a stroke of paralysis, and returning 
thence to his home, he continued to reside in Anderson, one of its vener- 
able and most respected citizens until his death which occurred in 1875. 

In this connection, let us refer also to Richard Lake. He was bom 
in Knox county, Ohio, in 1825. At the age of nineteen he came to 
Anderson to visit his cousin, John Davis. This was the John Davis who 
afterward became judge and who was then practicing law in Ander- 
son. Young Lake liked the country here, liked his cousin, more than 
liked the sister of his cousin's wife, for two years after that he made 
her his wife, and thinking he would like to be a lawyer himself, he 
entered upon a course of study with such in view in the office of his 
cousin. 

Determined to make his education more complete he attended the 
Martinsburg Academy in 1847. The next year he was admitted to the 
Madison county bar, and in the following year to practice in the supreme 
court. 

His success was rapid, when once he had launched into the practice. 
Though not so close a student, perhaps, of the books as some of the old 
attorneys, he possessed a native strength in debate and judgment of 
human nature that made him a lion before the jury. His practice once 
extended throughout eastern and southern Indiana, and he rode the cir- 
cuits with the veterans of the bar. 

Judge Lake was the recipient of many public honors. He was the 
postmaster of Anderson by appointment from President Pierce. He 
served a term as judge of the court of common pleas. And he was elected 
to represent his county in the general assembly of 1862-1863. 

He was personally and as a citizen one of the finest of characters. 
Truthful, honest and square in all his dealings, he was large of heart 
and immense in his good cheer. And so he lived to the end of his life 
which came on the 22nd day of February, 1898, at his home on South 
Jackson street in the city of Anderson, surrounded by his aft'ectionate 
wife, sons and daughters. 

The career of James W. Sansberry looms large in the history of the 
Madison county bar, and is calculated to encourage worthy young men 
to high endeavor. Bom in Brown county, Ohio, he lost both his par- 
ents when he was but six years of age. A home was found for him with 
an uncle in Delaware county, Indiana. But he was fourteen years old 



204 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

before he received the advantages of any schooling. Then he went to the 
common schools, and in a few j'ears taught a country school. Follow- 
ing this he entered the Delaware Academy at which he made rapid prog- 
ress in his studies. In 1849, he went back to his birth place in Ohio and 
while there taught a term of school. Subsequently he returned to 
Muncie and began the study of law in the office of Joseph S. Buckles 
where by good conduct and close application to his books he gave prom- 
ise of the success which he subsequently achieved. There he made 
such favorable impression on his preceptor that when he first bid for 
law business, which he did in Anderson, 1851, the name of his mentor 
was coupled with his own, and his sign read, "Buckles & Sansberry. " 

Mr. Sansberry was at once aThard working lawyer and an eloquent 
advocate. Many of his jury speeches are remembered to have been 
among the most powerful ever delivered here. And his success at the 
bar both in the fate of his clients and in the remuneration which he 
earned was commensurate with his merits. And he died the wealthiest 
member our bar has ever been called upon to mourn. 

As some measure also of the range of Mr. Sansberry 's capacity, it 
may be pertinent to say, that he filled the office of prosecuting attorney 
from 1852 to 1856 having been reelected midway between these dates. 
In 1864 he served as a presidential elector on the ticket favoring Gen- 
eral McCIeUan. He served one term in the legislature of his state — the 
session of 1870-71. And he discharged these several duties with the 
high degree of talent and integrity which leaves with every citizen and 
constituent a feeling of pride and satisfaction. 

Mr. Sansberry passed away at the age of seventy-seven. But seven- 
teen years prior to that he had retired from active practice at the bar, 
thus exhibiting a rare exception to the rule. For when he was thus 
but sixty years of age in fine physical and mental condition and in the 
very plentitude of his practice, he chose to retire and live the remainder 
of his days the easy, quiet life among his neighbors and with his family, 
which he had fully earned and so deeply enjoyed to the very last. 

Another giant of those days was Milton S. Robinson. He was born 
in Ripley county, Indiana, April 20, 18.32, and reared there and in 
Decatur county. He began the practice of law at Anderson in 1851, 
and continued it until his death, July 28, 1892. But, like most men 
of his stamp and profession, public service broke some links in the chain 
of his prime pui"suit. Milton S. Robinson was a patriot. And when the 
bugle note of war sounded, he dropped his Blackstone and shouldered 
a musket. He went to the front and remained there till the war was 
over. He was mustered in as a lieutenant-colonel, but afterwai'd pro- 
moted to a colonelcy, frequently commanding a brigade. And in March, 
1865, he was brevetted brigadier-general for gallant services at Chick- 
amauga. Missionary Ridge and other great battles. 

And he had some political side lines too. He was a presidential 
elector on the Fremont ticket in 1856. He was only twent.v-four years 
old at that time. He was elected to the state senate in 1866, to con- 
gress in 1874 and again in 1876, and appointed a judge of the appellate 
court of Indiana, 1891. 

But it was as a lawyer perhaps, after all, that Colonel Robinson 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 205 

made liis deepest and finest impression on those who knew him. It 
would require a book to relate the trials and incidents which bear upon 
his work and conduct in the practice. But if the dominant note of his 
soul can be sounded in one word, we venture to say it was honesty. 
He was perfectly oblivious to the temptation for gain. He first satis- 
fied himself that his client was in the right before he would take his 
cause. And rather than retain a fee which he thought was excessive, 
he would insist on the return of all above what he considered just, 
although it maj' have been passed to his credit long prior with the client 
satisfied. 

In his family relations he was generous and above reproach. Always 
ready to open an opportunity to the young man and quick to extend a 
helping hand to his older comrades and associates, he had so lived 
that when he passed out from among his neighbors and friends, their 
name was legion whose hearts were bound to him like "hoops of steel." 

Howell D. Thompson, who at the time of his death, ^larch 14, 1901, 
had been in continuous practice longer than anj' member of the bar 
then living, was born in Center county, Pennsylvania, iMay 6, 1822. 
He spent his early boyhood days thei-e working upon his father's farm. 
Then he came west and while a young man attended Farmer's College 
in Cincinnati, Ohio, where he graduated in 1849. Afterward he taught 
school and found his way to the study of law in the office of Ilervey 
Ci'aveu at Pendleton. He was admitted to this bar in 1851 and shortly 
afterward admitted to practice in the Indiana supreme court and in 
the federal courts. 

He and AVinburu R. Pierse associated themselves together for the 
practice of their profession soon after they had finished their studies. 
And the firm of Piei-se & Thompson enjoyed a large practice in Ander- 
son until 1873, when by mutual consent it was dissolved. 

Mr. Thompson gave his time and attention more exclusively to his 
profession probably than any other attorney at this bar. No office or 
other business ever drew him away, except that of school examiner 
which he held for two years. He clung to his desk with a rare devotion. 
Night, almost as regularly as day, found him there. He prided him- 
self on his fine collection of law books. And his library, rich in its 
store of elementary texts, contained among its varied choice reports, 
besides those of his own state, the New York court of appeals, John- 
son's Equity Reports, the Ohio State Reports, the Michigan Reports, 
the Minnesota Reports and a set of the North Eastern Reporter. 

Mr. Thompson was wonderfully methodical in his practice and in 
all his habits and work about his office. As an instance of this may 
be cited his custom of writing down in narrative form a history of every 
lawsuit in which he was ever engaged. He kept this up to the end of 
his life. lie had thus filled large journals with these records, all care- 
fully indexed, lie put down the names of the parties in full, the 
nature of the issues and all the data pertinent to the case. Much of 
this great labor seemed to be for nothing. But in scores of instances 
attorneys and others looking for facts that had passed from the minds 
of men and from current soun-es of knowledge have found on the pages 
of his old records the information they sought. 



206 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

To the student who might be studying in his office, he was uni- 
formly kind and helpful. For the advancement of such he showed a 
genuine enthusiasm. He took up the course with the young man. He 
assigned him lessons. He came to the office, if more convenient, at 
night to hear him recite. He delighted in this manner to review the 
principles as laid down in Blackstone, Parsons, Chitty and Starkey. 
And it is needless perhaps to say that in doing so, lie supplemented 
what was brought out of the books with many oral illustrations from 
his own experience which made a deep and abiding impression on the 
mind of the learner. 

He was for many years and up to the date of his decease the presi- 
dent of the Madison County Bar Association. And although his health 
had become impaired during the" last few years of his life, his interest in 
the courts and in the attorneys never lagged. He was regularly in 
attendance on call days and always with the same cheerfulness and 
smile that had marked him in days of more rugged health. And when 
Howell D. Thompson passed the last time from the court room and from 
earth, which was shortly afterward, every attorney at the bar felt the 
loss of a friend. 

And speaking of Mr. Thompson it is but natural to refer to Win- 
bum R. Pierse, so intimately were they associated as students, as part- 
ners and as rivals at the bar. They were of about the same age, both 
studied together with Judge Craven, began the practice together as 
partners and each of them was engaged in active practice when death 
overtook them, which was hut a few years apart. 

But a business venture of considerable importance to this part of 
the country made a large hiatus in the legal career of Winburn R. 
Pierse. About 1873, he became interested in promoting the construc- 
tion of the Anderson & Lebanon Railroad, now the Central Indiana. 
He was one of its stockholders and to its development devoted much 
of his energy, time and means. In a financial way it proved a failure. 
And Judge Pierse like some of his associates in the enterprise was a 
heavy loser. And after several years spent in the furtherance of this 
laudible but costly undertaking, he returned to the work of his pro- 
fession. 

Judge Pierse was a brilliant lawyer. He had a good legal mind. 
And the versatility of his powers has often been the subject of remark. 
It has been the judgment of some lawyers well qualified to speak in this 
regard, that he was as well equipped in every way for the practice of 
law as any one who has ever appeared in our courts. 

He served two years upon the bench of the circuit court. But the 
major part of his time found him in the fierce conflicts of the court 
room. And the attorney whoever he might be, and in whatever kind 
of a cause they might be engaged, knew when Judge Pierse was on the 
other side, that he would have a fight on his hands. His success at the 
bar was great. Still he was a good loser. And when beaten took his 
defeat with the same ehivalrie grace which he wore in the hour of 
triumph. 

Oliver P. Stone studied law in Winchester, Randolph county, 
Indiana, and was there admitted to the bar. He came to Anderson in 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 207 

the '50s and practiced there for some time. He then turned his atten- 
tion to educational work and was for several years school examiner 
under the old law. He became a large real estate owner and at one 
time owned the property now known as "Lincoln Terrace," near the 
Catholic church, at the corner of Eleventh and Fletcher streets. Mr. 
Stone was a successful lawyer and as school examiner did much to pave 
the way for the present magnificent public school system of Madison 
county. His son, Frank L. Stone, is now a practicing physician of Pen- 
dleton. 

One of the most interesting among the patriarchs of the profession 
was DeWitt C. Chipman. He is not generally classed among the early 
practictioners, because he lived much longer than his brothers at the 
bar. He was born in the same year as James \V. Sansberry, and a 
year prior to the natal time of Richard Lake. But he lived until 
November 24, 1910. He came well down among the moderns with firm 
and elastic step. 

J\lr. Chipman was an older man than most people took him to be. 
Likewise, he is entitled to a higher rating as a lawyer than has gener- 
ally been accorded to him at this bar. The fact is he had passed the 
meridian of his power as a lawyer before he came to Anderson. But 
it is the province of history to credit one with all he may have done 
whenever or wherever it may have been. 

DeWitt C. Chipman lived in Noblesville nearly thirty years after 
he camd from New York in 181:1, and before he came to Anderson in 
1870. But he had received a good education at some of the recognized 
institutions of learning in New York before he came west. He began 
the practice with flattering prospects. He was elected prosecuting 
attorney in 1854 in his circuit comprising several counties, including that 
of Marion, where he met at that bar those brilliant young scions of their 
science, Benjamin Harrison and Jonathan W. Gordon. And so satis- 
factorily did he discharge his duties as the state's attorney, that he was 
retained as a deputy in the same place for ten years after the expira- 
tion of his own term, and during which time, the convictions accredited 
to him numbered nearly nine hundred. 

In the latter portion of his life he made a specialty of patent law, 
and he finallj^ drifted into this branch exclusively. He had undoubt- 
edly a greater practice in this field than any other attorney in this 
county. 

Mr. Chipman was the recipient of several political honors of which 
any one might be proud. He was the fii-st mayor of the city of Nobles- 
ville. He wa.s chosen to a seat in the legislature of 1857, and later he 
was made the collector of internal revenue in his district under a com- 
mission signed by Abraham Lincoln. 

John A. Harrison was a contemporary also of the above named 
Nestors. And in the days of his prime he was a foeman worthy the 
steel of any of them. He took up the law in the process of a natural 
development rather than from any set purpose in the start. He was a 
scholar, a mathematician, a civil engineer, a grammarian and acquainted 
with the Greek and Latin languages. He taught in the schools, but 
was induced to accept the office of justice of the peace and here his keen 



208 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

and versatile mind grasped the grandeurs of the law, and he resolved 
to pursue it. He served two terms, in 1862 and 1864, as prosecuting 
attorney. He was counsel for the Bee Line Railroad for twelve years. 
And he was retained in many cases of importance in this and other 
counties. He was profoundly versed in the lore of the law and gave to 
its practice his undivided attention. 

As an instance of his sagacity as an adviser, the following is recalled : 
A tax had been voted in several townships, to aid in the construction 
0^ the Cincinnati, Wabash & Michigan Railroad. Afterwards, however, 
this promotion became very unpopular, the tax payers in great num- 
bers had permitted the tax, to go delinquent and petitioned the auditor 
of the county not to advertise or seek to collect the tax. This official 
was uncertain as to the action he should take. He realized the feeling 
of his constituents. But he knew also that if he should act contrary 
to law, he would become liable on his bond and might suffer serious 
damages for his mistake. 

In this dilemma he consulted John A. Harrison who advised him to 
advertise the sale, and let the tax payers enjoin the collection. Thus the 
enraged tax payers could gain their point and the auditor would be 
shielded by the court's decree, whatever the final outcome might be. 
His counsel was followed. 

Coming now to a more recent epoch of the bar in this county, we 
find the name of Joseph T. Smith who was bom and grew to manhood 
in Boone township and came to the county seat about 1870. He was 
a careful, painstaking lawyer and enjoyed a large probate practice. He 
associated himself with Charles L. Henry under the firm name of 
Smith & Henry, and this continued for several years until 1878 when 
Mr. Smith moved to Manhattan, Kansas, where he died in 1907. 

Calvin D. Thompson was a well known young lawyer who showed 
forth at this bar in the seventies. He devoted himself largely to the 
criminal practice, and built up a numerous clientage. This however fell 
away in later years. His health becoming uncertain, he moved with 
his family to Indianapolis, Indiana, about 1881, and lived but a short 
time afterward. He was a man of the warmest heart, of open mind and 
generous impulses. He was survived by his faithful wife and daughter, 
well remembered by old Andersonians. 

One of the brightest young men who ever lived in Madison county 
was August S. McCallister, a son of one of this county's early inhab- 
itants, who figured in the political and social affairs of the community, 
highly respected and often honored by his fellow-men. Augustus S. 
McCallister was endowed by nature with language rarely possessed. He 
was a graduate of the Ann Arbor Law School and a member of the 
Madison county bar. In 1874 he was elected prosecuting attorney for 
the counties of Madison and Hamilton, but after serving for two years 
resigned. 

As an orator he never had a superior in the local field and was 
equaled only by the late Captain William R. Myers. Captain Myers 
was more dramatic in his oratorical flights and raised his audience to 
the fullest height, while McCallister was calm and deliberate, his 
eloquence coming from the depths of a soul enwrapped in his utterances 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 209 

and a heart that knew no boinuls of afl'ection. His voice was clear and 
melodious and touched the tender chords of human nature as his words 
fell upon the ears of his auditors. He was well versed in the political 
issues and was always in demand upon the hustings in his district. 

While attending the law school at Ann Arbor Mr. ilcCallister had 
an honor conferred upon him that he treasured as a pleasant memory 
through life. Hon. Stephen A. Douglas visited the city of Chicago, the 
students of the law school called upon him to pay their respects, and 
young McCallister was selected to make the address presenting the 
party of students. This is said to have been one of his finest oratorical 
eiforts. His address was much appreciated by Jlr. Douglas and ap- 
plauded by his classmates. 

^Ir. jMcCallister was a brilliant writer and to this talent may be 
attributed, to some extent, his abandoning the pursuit of law. He was 
a lover of political excitement and contributed to the local press many 
well written and sometimes scathing articles on the political situation. 
He was also for a time an editorial writer on the staff of the Anderson 
Standard, the columns of which during that period can tell better of 
his ability than any words of his biographer. Men of less intellectual 
caliber have tilled high places and many who were his inferiors in edu- 
cation and natural ability have been chosen to offices of trust and honor 
in his immediate surroundings. He was content with the things that 
were to be. He aspired to no political preferment, the only office he ever 
held having been thi-ust upon him. While he had his dislikes for some 
men, as all humankind possesses, they were not malicious. He could 
forgive and forget. His hand was as open as his heart and he was as 
generous towards the faults of others as he was in bestowing alms upon 
the poor. He gloried in espousing the cause of those whom he admired 
and was classed with his friends. His love for his fellow-man was deep- 
seated and the embers of affection for those he loved died only when 
the last spark of human life left his body, in the year 1881, in a lonely 
ward in a public hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, whither he had gone 
a few months before. 

Fulsome praise is often bestowed upon the unworthy and men who 
have no real claim to prominence are frequently eulogized because of 
surrounding inflxiences. This sketch is penned in remembrance of one 
who was worthy of all the good things that could be said of him, while 
drawing around him the drapery, hiding the faults to which he was 
heir. 

Leander M. Schwin was born in Monroe township, in this county, 
in 1847. He worked on his father's farm, and later attended the law 
school of Valparaiso University, being a graduate of its first law class in 
1881. He and E. B. McMahan immediately thereafter constituted a 
firm which engaged in the practice for two years at Alexandria, follow- 
ing which they came to Anderson. Here W. A. Kittinger .ioined them 
when their "shingle" read, "Kittinger, Schwin & McMahan." Mr. 
Mc]\Iahan withdrawing from the firm in 1887, the other two remained 
together until the death of Mr. Schwin. 

Mr. Schwin was endowed with a fine legal mind, and applied him- 
self closely to his work and with pronounced success. But being nat- 



210 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

urally of a frail constitution his health began to give way probably 
in 1890 or 1891. He spent the greater part of 1893 in Colorado, in an 
effort to build up his health, but without avail, and in November of 
that year while en route home, he breathed his last. And the Madison 
county bar had lost one of the gentlest, brightest and best equipped of 
its members. 

To the same period also belongs Ed\\dn P. Schlater, who when yet a 
young man in his teens, migrated from his native state of Pennsylvania 
to "Wayne county, Indiana, in 1856. He was engaged in work upon some 
of the public records, of that county when his skill which was great in 
that line, was noticed by no less a person than Thomas a. Hendricks, 
who recommended him to Col. William C. Fleming, clerk of the court 
in this county, and who was then in need of a deputy. 

Mr. Schlater came to Anderson in 1865 and became useful not only 
in the clerk's office, but from time to time in several of the other county 
offices in the keeping of the books and the transaction of the business 
connected with the same. And his expert knowledge and thorough 
familiarity with the county records became of incalculable value after 
the fire of 1880, which destroyed the old courthouse and burned, or 
partially burned, many of the records and papers then kept in it. But 
Mr. Schlater was able to identify and restore some of the more important 
of these documents which otherwise would have been a total loss. 

But the gifts of Edwin P. Schlater were not to be confined to the dry 
details of records and accounts. His mind took a wider range and it 
was no great while until he had proven himself to be an efficient statute 
lawyer. He began the practice of law in 1878. He was more familiar 
than any attorney of his time at this bar with the provisions and prac- 
tice relating to drainage, gravel roads and probate matters, and for 
many years he enjoyed an enviable and lucrative class of business along 
those lines. He was industrious, prompt to fill his engagements and 
strictly honest and reliable, and those traits combined with habits of 
social, moral and family faithfulness made him one of the best of 
Anderson's citizens. The year of his birth was 1840 and that of his 
death 1894. 

George M. Ballard arrived in Elwood from Belpre, Ohio, in the 
seventies. He lived and kept his office there many years for the prac- 
tice of law in this and adjoining counties. When the town of Elwood 
was changed into a city, Mr. Ballard became its first city attorney. In 
1886 he removed his residence to Anderson and opened a law office here. 
He was recognized as one of the strong lawyers of the bar when he 
came to the county seat and his business was soon all that he could take 
care of. He was the city attorney of Anderson during a term, also of 
the towns of Pendleton and Lapel. He was for many years solicitor for 
the Pan Handle Railway Company and for the Belt Railway Company 
of Anderson. But besides his corporation practice he appeared on one 
side or the other of many noted civil and criminal causes tried in Madi- 
Son and other counties. 

The triumphs of Mr. Ballard at the bar are worthy of recital owing 
to the simple fact, if upon no other ground, that he rose to his com- 
manding place there through the native strength and poise of his own 



HISTORY OF JVIADISON COUNTY 211 

« 
brain, unaided and alone, and without the preparation of a profes- 
sional or even a literary training. He felt the loss and need of these or 
at least thought he did, and often spoke of it with regret. But the ranks 
of the profession are sprinkled with disciples of the law who had 
enjoyed these advantages fully and who were yet but pigmies by the 
side of George M. Ballard as they opposed him in the actual conflicts 
of the trial and in his telling arguments before the jury. 

One instance of his sway in this regard is worthy of recall. It was 
his defen.se of jouug Overshiner on the charge of murder in the first 
degree. The probability of guilt on the statement of the case seemed 
probable. But the defendant was the son of a devoted friend of his 
counsel, and no labor was spared, no detail of evidence was left unsifted 
that would help or hurt his client. He traveled to distant states to take 
the depositions of witnesses whose testimony he needed. It was a defense 
prompted by the loyalty of friendship and not for any fee. The whole 
being and ambition of George M. Ballard at the time was wrapped up 
in this effort. The day for trial, after long delay and the complete 
readiness of Mr. Ballard, came on. The state was represented by able 
counsel. But the exhaustive preparedness of the defense, the relentless 
determination and above all the burning eloquence of Mr. Ballard 
poured forth upon the understandings of men direct from a soul wholly 
convinced of the innocence of his client and the righteousness of his 
cause could not be withstood, and the verdict could only be what it was, 
"not guilty." The return of that verdict, Mr. Ballard often said after- 
ward, was one of the happiest moments of his life. And it was an 
achievement worthy of such an expression and of a great legal battle. 

The chivalric demeanor, the courtesy and good cheer of George M. 
Ballard toward the members with whom he came in contact must ever 
remain in the memory of each among its happiest treasures. 

Captain William R. Myers was an honored member of the Madison 
county bar. He joined the ranks of this profession rather late in life. 
And his popularity among the people was such that, after doing so, 
he was spared but little time for the close work required at the lawyer's 
desk and in the courts. Still he was there long enough to definitely 
and meritoriously identify himself with the practitioners of the county, 
and to make it clear that he .belonged to the large school of attorneys 
who believed in the law as a science and in its employment for the help 
and good of individuals and communities. 

Captain Myers was bom in Ohio in 1836 and was brought by his 
parents to this county the same year. He had the advantages of a good 
education for those times. And after he had grown up and passed 
from the academy, he taught several terms of school. He served as the 
county surveyor for several years beginning with 1858. But he could 
not stay at home while the integrity ot the Union was in the balance. 
In September, 1861, he enlisted in Company G, Forty -seventh Indiana 
Infantry, and fought through the whole bitter struggle among the 
"bravest of the brave." 

Returning from the field of war. Captain Myers again became a 
teacher and for several years was at the head of the Anderson schools. 
After this he took up the study of law and served as prosecuting attor- 



212 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

ney in 1872 and 1873. He was elected to congress in 1878. After his 
term of service there and a brief interval of two years he was elected 
to the oflSce of secretary of state and reelected two years afterward. 
In 1892 he was called by the people to fill that office again, being the 
only person who has ever had three terms in the office of the secretary of 
state in Indiana. 

One of the remarks of pride which the partisans of Captain Myers 
make of him is that he would have been governor of his state had he 
not declined to stand for the nomination in 1892. And this is in all 
probability true, for it was generally understood that his party would 
give him the nomination without opposition should he desire it, and 
he had run ahead of his ticket in -every race he had made for popular 
suffrage. But he was suffering from the severe injuries which he had 
sustained in a wreck of the Big Pour train, on which he was a passenger, 
and he was afraid to hazard the strain and anxiety of a campaign and of 
public duties. Putting himself out of the race, Claude Matthews was 
placed at the head of the Democratic ticket, which was elected. 

Captain Myers was a forceful figure in politics. In his best days, it 
was difficult to find his equal on the stump. He was in demand in every 
locality of the state when a campaign was on, and his refreshing magical 
utterances hung and swayed his audience on every syllable. Daniel F. 
Mustard, his life long friend and an advocate of his merits as an orator 
insists that he did not exaggerate in once writing him up as the ' ' Cicero 
of the West." And the Hon. Charles E. Henry, in a happily worded 
tribute to him at the meeting of the bar on the occasion of his death, 
which occurred on April 10, 1907, among other things, said, "that 
William R. Myers had done more to make Anderson and Madison 
county known throughout the state of Indiana than any other man. ' ' 

Looking to the personal qualities of Captain Myers, one finds no 
lack of the desirable. Big of mien and big of heart, open-minded, 
candid, fair. Artless as a child and generous to a fault. But the mod- 
ern vocabulary is insufficient, except it borrows from the old, to fitly 
describe him, and his character may be best set forth in the words of the 
immortal poet of whom he was so fond and whose lines he so well inter- 
preted, 

"His life was gentle, and the elements 

So mixed in him that Nature might stand up 

And say to all the world, 'This was a man!' " 

Several others of the present generation of lawyers have gone out 
forever, among whom may be mentioned David W. Wood, who came 
to the bar in 1878, served as prosecuting attorney by election in 1884, 
and by appointment at the instance of the governor in 1889. He and 
William R. Myers were associated as partners at law for several years. 
In 1893 he formed a similar relation with Willis S. Ellis, which con- 
tinued to the death of Mr. Wood, on the 26th day of June, 1901. He 
enjoyed a good practice. He went about his work in a quiet way, and a 
superficial notice might have given the impression that he did not do 
much in his profession. But a thorough examination found him asso- 
ciated from term to term with some of the heaviest and best paying 
litigations. 



HISTORY OF JMADISON COUNTY 213 

Mr. Wood was one of the most companionable of men. Sunny by 
nature,, he took time and occasion to cultivate the jovial and joyous 
side of life. Neat in dress and tine in person, he carried an easy pass- 
port to every social function, and they were many, which he graced. 
His death, sudden and tragic, was a shock and a sorrow to the whole 
community, and to the bar a loss of that agreeable nature the touch of 
which indeed, "makes the whole world kin." 

The rise of Gilbert R. Call in his profession was rapid and remark- 
able. He was born near Elwood in 1866. But when sixteen years of age 
his father with his family sought a home in the hills of Arkansas. Gil- 
bert , however, not being satisfied to remain long in that region returned 
after two years to his boyhood haunts. He was without money, except 
such as he earned through his own exertions. He taught tive terms -of 
school in Tipton and Madison counties. Then he took up the study of 
law with Judge Cassius M. Greenlee in Elwood, where he made such 
progress that he was soon admitted to the bar and began the practice 
in 1888. It was but two years after he began that the Sheet and Tin Plate 
Company of his native city retained him to look after its legal interests 
in this and other counties. In 1906 he was engaged in active legal work 
for the United States Steel Corporation and for which service in the last 
year of his life, his salary was advanced to the sum of $700 per month. 
The emplojTnent of Mr. Call by both the above corporations had con- 
tinued from the time of his engagement until the date of his death, and 
with every probability, as those closely associated with him know, of 
still higher promotion in the service of his wealthy clients, had not the 
dread summons of the universal foe come to him at the early age of 
forty-two. He passed away on December 4, 1908, of abdominal inflam- 
mation following an operation for appendicitis. 

Edmond F. Daily is still remembered. He was another of the self- 
made disciples of the law. He was bom in the "back woods" of Bar- 
tholomew county. During his boyhood days, he worked hard at the 
usual routine tasks on his father's farm and attended the country 
school in the winter. In this way he gathered some insight of the com- 
mon branches, then he found his way to the Hartsville Academy, in 
attendance at which he made good use of his time and added to his 
store of knowledge. Following this he read law and was admitted to the 
bar at Shelbyville, Indiana, in 1883. He came to Anderson in 1885, 
from which time his progress in the practice was steady, until failing 
health checked his energies two or three years before his death, which 
occurred on September 17, 1910. 

Mr. DaDy has sometimes been referred to as a case lawyer. And 
certainly to the cases in which he became deeply interested, he made a 
great effort and showed no little skill in his examination of law and 
evidence for the support of his side of the controversy. 

But the most pleasant, perhaps the most impressive gift of Mr. 
Daily was his droll and unique humor. This he possessed in abundance, 
and by him was frequently given expression orally and with the pen in 
veins of such piquancy and surprise as to engulf his hearers into 
laughter and applause. His description of the forty-story building on 
the site of the courthouse in the Ixwm days was a fetching bit of ridic- 



214 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

uloufi imagination. And his picture of the slowness and hesitation by 
which the few country folks approached the place where once upon a 
time he was billed for a speech fell nothing short of that fine power 
which is able to turn a situation extremely embarassing iato one genu- 
inely funny. 

Among the brothers of the bar called by the "grim reaper" to final 
account in recent years, none presented a character more odd, per- 
haps, than that of John T. Ellis. 

He ?tood SLK feet three and one-half inches in his socks, and he often 
stood in them. He was slender ia build, and this only rendered more 
curious his habit while yet unmarried of leaving his hotel and visiting 
his office and business places on 4he way, before breakfast and before 
making his toilet. Often without donning a top shirt he would throw 
a coat over his undershirt and with this loosely buttoned would walk 
the streets undaunted. Yet he possessed a certain fastidiousness as to 
his dress, and indulged ia some very good clothes. In this indeed he 
exhibited another trait somewhat out of the ordinary, for he purchased 
most of his wearing apparel in England and Canada. He visited these 
countries frequently, £ind maintained that he was always able to get his 
"duds" through minus any custom duties. How he was able to do this 
and to make such voya.ges never ceased to puzzle the other members of 
the bar, but he went, that is certain. 

Mr. Ellis was bom ia 1856, came to Anderson about 1891, and died 
March 23, 1909. He was not overly industrious in the consultation of 
authority in the preparation of a cause which he might have in hand. 
But his agreeable social qualities put him on good terms with many of 
his fellow attorneys. He did iiot hesitate to utilize their knowledge, 
and when a legal question of difficulty confronted him, he would call 
upon one or more of his good lawyer friends and draw them out on his 
knotty poiats until he had gathered such information as he deemed 
sufficient. 

In general and current literature, he was well posted, and his con- 
versation, ready and enriched with its southern flavor, never failed to 
earn for him a hearty hearing. The loss of his genial, kindly presence 
has been keenly felt, while he is remembered with that warmth that is 
never lost to those who are kindly and genial. 

Yet another name belongs to this necrology— the name of one for 
whom there was such regard that it seemed he might have been living in 
.our midst a lifetime when the hour had come for him to say "Farewell." 
His residence, however, had been here since 1893 only, at which time 
he arrived, cheerfully took up and so pursued his work till the 3d day 
of July, 1910, when without a murmur he laid it down, though still in 
the meridian of his intellectual strength and usefulness. 

The bar and public appreciated the worth and service of Thomas 
Bagot from the start. And it is doubtful whether any one ever came 
into this community a stranger, as he did, who was more quickly or 
more fully received iato its coafidence than was he. Whether this was 
due more to the modest bearing which marked his manner, to the just 
and logical processes of his mind or to the deep sincerity of his faith 
in man and respect for his fellows, we do not kno^v. But all are aware 



HISTORY OF IVIADISON COUNTY 215 

to a certainty that the trust reposed in him was not misplaced. The 
early impressions of him but strengthened with the length of time. 
Each new acquaintance, each word with an old one, enlarged the treas- 
ury of his friendships. And in the light and warmth of these affections 
and of his whole career, its close could have come as it plainly did, only 
as a shock to every heart that held kinship with his. 

The life of Thomas Bagot was an active one, full of the hard strug- 
gles that bring self-reliance and usually accompany success. He was 
born in the city of Cincinnati, Ohio, August 19, 1851, but while yet a 
tender youth was taken by his parents to Ripley county, Indiana, 
whither they then moved for residence on a farm. Thomas then 
attended the public schools of his neighborhood. He easily mastered the 
branches there taught and some that were not found in the limited cur- 
riculum of the common schools in his day. Thus while yet a young man 
he was himself well qualified to teach, and he began to do so in the 
country schools. But a promotion was soon waiting for him. He was 
selected as principal of the school at the town of Canaan, Jefferson county 
at which he remained for several years. Then he was connected for a 
time with the Moore's Hill College where he became an instructor iu 
mathematics and conducted a Normal course. He served one term as 
county school surperintendent of Ripley county. And a glimpse at the 
breadth of his acquirements may be had also in the fact that he filled 
the office of surveyor during a term in his old county. But the measure 
of his learning in this particular may be better judged from the book 
entitled "Plane Surveying" of which he is the author. This work, first 
published in 1883, has passed through several editions, is consulted by 
students and is in wide use by civil engineers in active service. It is a 
model of directness and plain statement. Brushing aside the needless 
verbiage and involved propositions that had burdened the pages of 
former treaties on the subject, he fused in the light of an intelligent 
generalization a crisp brevity, and brought forth a much needed and 
practical text book. 

And besides the volume which he produced, other evidences abound 
of his literary taste. For he possessed a fine collection of books, includ- 
ing some rare ones and many by standard authors. With these through 
years of careful reading, he had cultivated a fond familiarity. And few 
were the important topics of learning with which he had not some his- 
torical acquaintance. 

From 1886 to 1893 Mr. Bagot engaged in the insurance business at 
Newcastle, Indiana. It was during this period that he met Miss Georgia 
Byers, a most gracious and estimable lady, who in 1896 became his mfe. 
In addition to his duties as an insurance agent at Newcastle he gave 
some attention, as he had even prior to that time, to the study of law. 
And when he settled in Anderson, he was ready to commence practice. 
His success was certain from the first, and his law business grew steadily 
on during all of his seventeen years at the bar, and which was, at the 
time he was obliged from failing health to give it up, in amount and 
character a splendid monument to his honorable and faithful devotion 
to his profession. 



216 HISTOKY OF MADISON COUNTY 

List op Attorneys Who Have Practiced at the JIadison County Bar 

Thomas C. Anthony, Clarence H. Austil, L. D. Addison, 0. A. Arm- 
field, Lot. Bloomfield, Hiram Brown, Joseph S. Buckles, Ovid Butler, 
Lueian Barbour, Nathan Brag, George M. Ballard, Guy Ballard, Perry 
Behymer, Andrew J. Behymer, David L. Bishop, Richard Broadbent, 
John Beeler, Thomas Bagot, Charles Bagot, E. S. Boyer, Blaine H. 
Ball, William S. Beeson, Sparks L. Brooks, Arthur Beckman, Joseph 
Cox, William Carpenter, Franklin Corwin, Hervey Craven, T. C. S. 
Cooper, DeWitt C. Chipman, Marcellus A. Chipman, E. B. Chamness, 
Albert C. Carver, Albert E. Carver, Bartlett H. Campbell, Gilbert R. 
CaU, Edward R. Call, Arthur C. Call, Kenneth L. Call, Jacob L. Crouse, 
Charles Clevenger, Patrick J. Casey, John Davis, Byron H. Dyson, 
William S. Diven, Albert Diven, Edmvind F. Daily, Morey M. Dmilap, 
A. L. Doss, Samuel Deadman, Miles C. Eggleston, Joseph E. Elliott, 
Floyd S. Ellison, Alfred Ellison, William F. Edwards, James H. 
Edwards, WilUs S. EUis, John T. ElUs, William Eldridge, Calvin 
Fletcher, Cyrus Finch, James Forsee, Frank P. Foster, D. H. Fernandes, 
Sam C. Forkner, James M. Farlow, Morris E. Fitzgerald, Joe G. Field, 
Wade H. Free, James Gilmore, Harvey Grigg, William Garver, Lemuel 
Gooding, Eli B. Goodykoontz, Cassius M. Greenlee, Elbert S. Griffin, 
William Herod, C. D. Henderson, Abram A. Hammond, Mason Hughes, 
John A. Harrison, S. W. Hill, Charles L: Henry, J. W. Hardman, James 
M. Hundley, Edgar H. Hendee, Nicholas Harper, Edward J. Hall, 
George E. Haynes, Paul Haynes, Blanchard J. Home, Lewelyan B. 
Jackson, William H. Jones, Dee R. Jones, Ancel Jones, William H. 
Johns, Samuel Johnson, David Kilgore, Alfred Kilgore, Obed Kilgore, 
William A. Kittinger, Sanford M. Keltner, Lewis E. Kimberlin, Frank 
Kimball, Elbert E. Kidwell, Richard Lake, Jolin W. Lovett, Frank A. 
Littleton, Isaac A. Loeb, Earnest B. Lane, William 0. Lee, Addison 
Mayo, William R. Morris, Bethnel F. Morris, James Morrison, W. H. 
Mershon, David Moss, Allen Makepeace, Simeon C. Martindale, William 
R. Myers, Linfleld Myers, Eli P. Myers, Samuel B. Moore, Frank 
Mathews, James A. May, Lawrence V. Mays, Carl Marrow, Loring 
Mellette, Providence McCorry, Augustus S. McCallister. J. H. MeCon- 
Bell, John F. McClure, E. B. McI\Iahan, J. B. Mclntire, Robert McLean, 
James Noble, David Nation, Charles Nation, William O'Brien, Thomas V. 
Orr, William R. O'Neil, Philip B. O'Neil, William J. Peaslee, Joseph 
F. Polk, Winburn R. Pierse, J. W. Perkins, Luther F. Pence, Myron 
H. Post, William Quarles, James B. Ray, Martin M. Ray, Reuben A. 
Riley, James Rariden, Humphrey Robinson, Jacob Robbins, Milton S. 
Robinson, Ward L. Roach, Henry C. Ryan, Marc Ryan, Edward D. Rear- 
don, Christian Y. Rook, Austin Retherford, L. A. Rizer, John H. Scott, 
James Scott, Jeremiah Smith, Oliver H. Smith, D. Lord Smith, Seth 
Smith, Philip Sweetzer, Isaac Scearce, Earl S. Stone, Oliver P. Stone, 
James W. Sansberry, Edwin P. Schlater, Albert A. Small, Jesse C. Shu- 
man, William A. Swindell. William A. Spring, W. S. Shelton, John Shan- 
non, Daniel W. Scanlon, Charles T. Sansberry, Glenda B. Slayraaker, Hor- 
ace C. Stilwell, Carmon N. Sells, Charles H. Test, Howell D. Thompson, 
Calvin D. Thompson, Amzi W. Thomas, John R. Thomburg, Mark P. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 217 

Turner, John C. Teegarden, James A. Van Osdol, Albert H. Vestal, 
James W. Vermillion, Frederick Van Nuys, Daniel B. Wick, William 
W. Wick, James Whitcomb, John M. Wallace, David Wallace, Edgar 
C. Wilson,, Thomas D. Walpole, Robert N. Williams, Addison D. Wil- 
liams, William R. West, Francis A. Walker, David W. Wood, John E. 
Wiley, Herman F. Wilkie, Robert F. Wilkie, Wendell Wilkie, E. M. 
Welker, Simpn Yandes, William G. Zerface. 



CHAPTER XIII 

THE MEDICAL PROFESSION 

The Pioneer Doct»b — His General Character and Method op 
Treating Disease — His Standing in the Community — Balzac's 
Tribute to the Country Doctor — Sketches of Early Madison 
County Physicians — Medical Societies — Their History — Physi- 
cians IN the Army — Pension Examiners — List of Registered 
Physicians. 

One of the most useful individuals in a new settlement is the physi- 
cian, though the life of the pioneer doctor is not all sunshine and 
roses. About the only inducement to a young physician to locate in a 
frontier community, was the hope that he might "grow up with the 
country." When the first physicians came to Madison county the 
region was sparsely settled, no roads were opened and calls had to be 
made on horseback, through the woods, the doctor frequently riding 
long distances to visit his patients, who were scattered over a wide 
expanse of territory. Money was rare in the frontier settlements and 
the doctor often received his fee in fresh pork or cordwood. Some- 
times he received no fee at all, but this condition of affairs did not deter 
him from doing his duty and ministering to the sick. Viewed in the 
light of modem medical progress, the old-time doctor might be consid- 
ered a ' ' back number. ' ' There were no drug stores to fill prescriptions, 
so he carried his stock of medicines about with him in a pair of pill- 
bags — a contrivance composed of two leather boxes, with compartments 
for a number of viaJs ; these boxes were connected with a broad strap 
that was thrown over the rear of the saddle. Many times the early doc- 
tor was not a graduate of a medical college, having acquired his pro- 
fessional training by "reading" with some other physician. No X-ray 
machine, or other costly or elaborate apparatus, graced his office. His 
principal surgical instruments were the lancet, for letting blood, and the 
turnkey, for extracting teeth, for the doctor was dentist as well as 
physician. In his stock of drugs calomel, quinine and Dover's powders 
were standard remedies, and every doctor knew the formula for making 
' ' Cook 's pills. ' ' He had a wholesome contempt for germs and microbes 
and frequently went about his business without considering whether he 
was in an antiseptic condition or not. There was generally one redeem- 
ing feature about the early physician. He did not assume to know it 
all and as his business prospered he attempted to keep pace with the 
times by attending a medical college somewhere, the bett' to qualify 

218 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 219 

himself for his chosen calling. Ilis patrons looked upon him as a friend, 
as well as a professional adviser, and on the occasion of his visits to 
their homes the best piece of fried chicken or the largest piece of pie 
found its way to his plate. 

In his travels about the settlement he heard all the latest gossip, 
knew what was passing in the minds of the citizens, and this gave him 
an opportunity to serve his neighbore in some public capacity. A list of 
county officers shows that the doctor has often been called upon to dis- 
charge the duties of some local official, to represent his constituents in 
the state legislature, or even in the halls of congress. It is quite prob- 
able that as many male children in the United States have been named 
for the family physician as for the country's great warriors or states- 
men. The great French novelist, Honore de Balzac, pays a tribute to 
the country doctor when he says : " It is not without reason that people 
speak collectively of tHe priest, the lawyer and the doctor as 'men of 
the black robe' — so the saying goes. The tirst heals the wounds of the 
soul, the second those of the purse, and the third those of the body. 
They represent the three principal elements necessary to the existence of 
society — conscience, property and health." 

The first physician to locate in Madison county, of whoin any definite 
information 'can be obtained, was Dr. Lewis Bordwell, who established 
himself at Pendleton about the time the county was organized. He 
remained there but two or three years, when he removed to Iowa, where 
he practiced his profession until his death. Dr. Bordwell has been 
described as a genial gentleman of pleasing personality. He had the 
failing of "looking upon the wine when it was re"d," and sometimes, 
when under the "influence," was wont to boast of his success as a 
physician, declaring that he had never lost a patient. 

. He was succeeded by Drs. John L. and Corydon Richmond. Dr. 
John L. Richmond was bom in Massachusetts in 1785, studied njedicine 
and Ijegan practice at Newton, Ohio, where he performed what was 
probably the first recorded Cesarean operation in the United States. 
About 1832 he located at Pendleton, where he was also pastor of a 
Baptist church. A few years later he removed to Indianapolis and prac- 
ticed there until 1842. In that year he received a paralytic stroke, when 
he retired from practice and removed to Covington, Indiana, where he 
died. 

Corydon Richmond was a son of the above and was bom in New 
York state in 1808. At the age of twenty-four he graduated at the Ohio 
Medical College and began practice in Pendleton. Later he practiced in 
Indianapolis for a few years and in 1844 located in Howard county, 
Indiana. In 1863 he became assistant surgeon in a military hospital at 
Nashville, Tennessee, but at the close of the war returned to Howard 
county, where he passed the remainder of his life. 

In 1833 Dr. Madison G. Walker located in Pendleton, where he prac- 
ticed for nearly thirty years. He was a native of what is now West 
Virginia. In 1862 he retired from practice and about twelve years 
later removed to Jlissouri. When Frederick Douglass was assailed by a 
mob in 1843, Dr. Walker rescued him. in which he was assisted by Dr. 
Edwin B. Pussell, who had settled in Pendleton a few years before. A 



220 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

little after Drs. Walker and Fussell came Drs. John II. and Ward Cook, 
natives of Tennessee. 

Dr. John H. Cook was a graduate of the medical department of the 
University of Louisville and was one of the early specialists in diseases 
of the eye and ear. In the treatment of cases of this character he was 
frequently called to some of the larger cities. He loved debate, was a 
fluent speaker, and in 1836 was elected to represent Madison county in 
the legislature. 

Dr. "Ward Cook made the journey from Tennessee on horseback. He 
had previously studied medicine in his native state and soon after com- 
ing to Pendleton was examined and licensed to practice in Indiana, his 
license bearing date of October 20, 1832. Three years later he went to 
Red Sulphur Springs, Virginia, where he practiced until 1849. In the 
meantime he attended the Cincinnati College of Medicine where he was 
graduated in 1839. In the spring of 1849 he returned to Pendleton, and 
there resided until his death. He was actively engaged in the practice 
of his profession for over sixty years and was a contributor to some of 
the leading medical journals. 

The first physician to locate in Anderson was a Doctor Burt. Little 
can be learned concerning him, but it is supposed that he was Dr. Dickin- 
son Burt, who was the first physician in Delaware county, locating there 
about the time that county was organized. He came to Anderson about 
1826 or 1827 and is said to have been also a school teacher. 

In 1828 a Doctor Pegg located in Andereon and practiced there for 
about two years, wh^n he was succeeded by Doctor Ruddell, who remained 
there for about seven years, when he removed to Marion county. Neither 
of these physicians have left much of their records in the county, and 
little is known of them except what is here stated. 

Dr. Henry Wyman, a native of New York state, began practice in 
Anderson in 1831 and soon came to be recognized as a leader in his pro- 
fession. His practice extended to all parts of the county and even to 
adjoining counties. In connection vnth his professional work he was 
also editor of a local newspaper. In 1864 he removed to Blissfield, Michi- 
gan, where he died in 1892. In 1837 and 1838 he was elected to the legis- 
lature from Madison county. 

Other early physicians in Anderson were Dr. E. R. Roe, Dr. Andrew 
Robb and a Dr. Carmean, but little can be learned concerning them or 
their work. 

Dr. Townsend Ryan was born at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 1813. 
Upon arriving at his majority he went to Hamilton, Ohio, and embarked 
in mercantile pursuit and was also interested in canal transportation 
between that city and Cincinnati. The panic of 1837 left him practically 
stranded. He then entered Jefferson Medical College, of Philadelphia, 
and upon receiving his degree from that institution he located at Lewis- 
viUe, Henry county, Indiana. In 1842 he came to Anderson, where he 
continued in practice for a quarter of a century. He represented Madi- 
son county in the legislature in 1848, was one of the first vice-presidents 
of the Indiana State Medical Society when it was organized in 1849, 
and was lieutenant-colonel and colonel of the Thirty-fourth Indiana 
Infantry in the Civil war. After the war he engaged in railroad build- 



HISTORY OF ]yL\DISON COUNTY 221 

ingr, in which he lost a second fortune, and then returned to the practice 
of medicine. 

Dr. John Hunt, a native of Wayne county, Indiana, began the prac- 
tice of medicine in Iluntsville in 1839. Some years later he removed to 
Anderson and still later to a farm in Lafayette township. He had a 
large practice in each of these localities and became a power in politics. 
It has been said that he could dictate the nominations made by the Demo^ 
cratic party for all the offices in Madison county. He served as state 
senator for iladison and Hancock counties in 1851-53 and in 1860 was 
elected county treasurer. He died at Springdale, Arkansas, July 23, 
1895. 

His brother, William A. Hunt, was also a physician of prominence, 
in the county in his day. He was a small boy when the family settled 
at HuDtsville. He attended Starling Medical College, Columbus, Ohio, 
and began practice on a farm about four miles north of Anderson. In 
1868 he removed to Anderson, where he first engaged in the drug busi- 
ness, but soon resumed practice, in which he continued until within a 
few days of his death. He was president of the old county medical 
society during the entire period of its existence and was a writer on mis- 
cellaneous subjects of more than ordinary ability. 

Dr. John W. Westerfield was born in Preble county, Ohio, June 1, 
1816, and came with his parents to Payette county, Indiana, in 1828. 
He studied medicine in Rushville and in 1839 settled in Madison county. 
He owned the first drug store ever established in Anderson and practiced 
his profession there for many years. His death occurred on September 
29, 1895. In early life he was a Methodist, but later espoused the cause 
of the Spiritualists, and at the time of his death was president of the 
state association, a position he had held from the time the association 
was first organized. 

Dr. W. P. Briekley was one of the early physicians of the county. 
He first settled in Fall Creek township, where he practiced for several 
years. Then attracted by the inducements offered in the West, he went 
to Iowa. A few years later he returned to Madison county and opened 
an office in Anderson, where his son, Eugene T. Briekley, is now engaged 
in the drug business. Doctor Briekley is remembered by old-timers as a 
popular and successful physician. 

Dr. Thomas N. Jones located in Anderson a few years before the 
beginning of the Civil war, having previously practiced in Hancock 
county and at Pendleton. He served as assistant surgeon of the Second 
Indiana Cavalry and later as surgeon of the One Hundred and Thirtieth 
Infantry in the Civil war. He was a successful physician, always man- 
aged to secure the confidence of his patients, and stood high in the 
esteem of his brother practitioners. He was twice elected to the state 
legislature— in 1872 and 1874. He died in 1875. 

Contemporary with Dr. Jones was Dr. George F. Chittenden, who 
began practice in Anderson in 1858, as a partner of Dr. John Hunt. 
In the spring of 1861 he entered the army as assistant surgeon of the 
Sixteenth Indiana Infantry and upon the reorganization of the regi- 
ment a year later was made surgeon. Subsequently he served as brigade 
surgeon, medical director of the Fourth Division, Thirteenth Army 



222 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Corps, and at the siege of Vieksburg was inspector and director of that 
corps. In 1868 he was elected to the legislature for the district composed 
of the counties of Madison and Henry, and in 1873 was appointed one of 
the directors of the Central Insane Asylum, a position he held for eight 
years. 

Other Anderson physicians of prominence in days gone by were 
Noah L. Wickersham, Benjamin P. Spann, Chauncey S. Burr, D. M. 
Carter, Oscar Ardery, Zimri Hockett, William J. Fairfield, Jesse P. 
Crainpton, Dewitt Jordan, Luther B. Terrill, E. H. Menefee, L. P. 
Ballenger, William Suman, Thomas J. McClenahan and Joseph F. Bran- 
don. The last named practiced for several years at Perkinsville and 
after removing to Anderson engaged in the drug business. Dr. Wick- 
ersham practiced for thirty-five years in Anderson and was a poet of 
considerable ability. Dr. Spann was a native of Jefferson county, 
Indiana, located at Anderson in the fall of 1860 and continued in prac- 
tice there for thirty-four years. He was a member of the state, county 
and American medical associations. Dr. Burr was born in Middletown, 
Indiana, in 1840, graduated in medicine in 1865 and practiced for fif- 
teen years in Anderson, ten years in Mitchell, South Dakota, and four- 
teen years in Chicago, where he died in 1905. Dr. Carter was a mem- 
ber of the first Madison County Medical Society and was for a time 
its treasurer. After several years successful practice in Anderson he 
went to Randolph county and died there. Little is known of Drs. 
Ardery, Ballenger and Jordan. Dr. Hockett was one of the most emi- 
nent and successful physicians in the county in his day and enjoyed 
a large practice. His son is now a practicing physician of Anderson. 
Dr. McClenahan, a promising young physician, died at an early age, 
before he had an opportunity to establish his reputation. Dr. Fairfield 
practiced twenty years in Anderson. He was a finely educated man, a 
graduate of Bellevue Medical College of New York, and was a "chalk 
talk" lecturer — a talent he often employed in addressing medical socie- 
ties. In 1907 he removed to Delta, Colorado. Dr. Crampton was a 
native of Ohio. He located at Anderson in 1852 and practiced there for 
fourteen years, being part of the time engaged in the drug business. 
Dr. Terrill was bom in Missouri, graduated at the Medical College of 
Ohio, practiced for a while in Cincinnati, located in Anderson in 1895 
and died in 1910. He was a skilful surgeon and while in Anderson was 
surgeon for the American Steel and Wire Company. Dr. Menefee came 
to Anderson about 1860 and was secretary of the old medical society 
from 1862 to 1867. He was a native of Virginia. Dr. Suman was a 
native of Madison county and practiced there for thirty-eight years, 
twenty-two of which he was located in Anderson and the other sixteen 
in Frankton. 

As early as 1828 a Dr. Henry located at Chesterfield and not long 
after a Dr. Kynett also settled there. Drs. Balingall and Preston, of 
Middletown, also made visits to the settlers about Chesterfield, though 
neither of them were ever located in Madison county. Early in the '30s 
Dr. George W. Godwin began practice at Chesterfield, but a little later 
removed to Yorktown, Delaware county. Dr. David Dunham settled on 
a farm a short distance northwest of Chesterfield in 1834 and in 1847 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 223 

a Dr. Davis located there. These were the pioneer physicians of Union 
township. 

One of the first physicians in the county was Dr. William Goodell, 
who located in Jackson township, on the site of the present village of 
Halford, in 1825. He did not remain long and little is known of his 
career as a physician. Absalom Paris also practiced in that neighbor- 
hood at an early date. He died in 1870. 

In the old village of Prosperity was Dr. WiUiam Paris, who came 
to Madison county in 1825. He was both physician and preacher. He 
was succeeded at Prosperity by Dr. Joseph Saunders, who practiced in 
the county for twenty-five years, and who was the first president of the 
Madison County Farmers' Insurance Company. 

At Huntsville the first physician was a Dr. McCain, who was also a 
merchant. 'Following him came Dr. John Hunt, previously mentioned, 
and Dr. Joseph Weeks, who began his professional career there but later 
removed to Mechaniesburg, Henry county. 

In 1840 a number of physicians came to the county. Dr. John Horn 
located at New Columbus (Ovid) and was the first physician in that 
village; two brothers, Drs. James and John Barrett, settled at Fishers- 
burg; later in the year Dr. William Kynett also located there; Dr. 
Thomas Douglass located at Perkinsville, and Dr. Robert Douglass where 
the city of Elwood now stands. About this time a Dr. McNear located 
.at the old village of Moonville, in Richland township. Doctor Horn 
remained at Ovid but a short time, going to Middletown and later to 
Yorktown. He was succeeded by Dr. Hildreth in 1842, Dr. W. B. Bair 
in 1844, and during the next few years Drs. Clark, Smiley and Barry all 
located there. 

Dr. W. F. Spence established himself in practice at Alexandria in 
1839— the first physician in that town. In 1842 Dr. John W. Perry 
came and for a time was in partnership with Dr. Spence. Dr. Spence 
later removed to Jonesboro, Grant county, where he died. Another early 
physician in Alexandria was Dr. Cyrus Westerfield and not long after- 
ward came Dr. David Perry. A few years later Drs. S. B. and Leonard 
Harriman located in Alexandria. The former afterward removed to 
Richmond, Indiana, and the later to Sterling, Kansas. Both are now 
deceased. 

Dr. Robert Douglass was the first man to practice medicine in what 
is now the city of Elwood, having located there twelve years before 
the town was laid out. Sometime in the '40s Dr. J. i\I. Dehority located 
in that vicinity and engaged in the general practice of m.edicine. He 
accumulated a fortune and during the last fifteen years of his life was 
engaged in the banking business. Dr. John Beck and his son Thomas 
were also practicing physicians of Elwood. Dr. Beniah T. Callaway 
first began practice in Alexandria in 1849, but a year later removed to 
Elwood, where he practiced for thirty-nine years. He was also inter- 
ested in banking operations. 

The first physician at Frankton was Dr. John M. Laughlin, who 
located there in 1854. He died not long afterward and his widow mar- 
ried Dr. Philip Patterson. Other eai-ly physicians here were Dr. Reuben 
Harvey, Dr. W. M. Sharp and a Dr. *f oung. Since their day a number 
of physicians have practiced in Frankton. 



224 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Dr. Thomas Benton Forkner, son of Micajah and Elizabeth Allen 
Forkner, was born in Liberty township, Henry county, Indiana, in 1840. 
He studied medicine with the late Dr. Magann, of Hagerstown, who 
served as surgeon of an Indiana regiment in the Civil war, and in 1862 
graduated at the Eclectic Medical College of Cincinnati. The following 
spring he began practice at Clark's Station (now Florida), in Madison 
county, where he continued until 1865, when he removed to Anderson 
and practiced there until his death, which occurred in October, 1869. 

Dr. Cyrus Graul located at Summitville in 1867, about the time the 
toWn was laid out, and three years later Dr. C. V. Garrell located there. 
Other physicians who practiced at Summitville during the latter part of 
the last century were Samuel Brunt, John Wright, W. V. McMahan, 
M. L. Cranfill and T. J. Clark. Dr. William J. Morgan practiced at 
Oilman from 1870 to 1880. He was a charter member of- the present 
Madison County Medical Society. He died on October 13, 1896. 

Dr. Stanley W. Edwins, who has practiced his profession at various 
places in the county, is a native of New Orleans, Louisiana, where he 
was born in 1836, of Huguenot ancestry. After graduating in medicine 
he practiced in the South until the breaking out of the Civil war, when 
he came to Indiana and located iirst in Randolph county. In 1865 he 
came to Madison county. He was one of the first trustees of Frankton 
when that town was incorporated, but later removed to Elwood, where 
he has built up a large and lucrative practice. He is a member of the 
board of United State pension examiners and is one of the best known 
physicians in the county. In 1878 he was elected to represent Madison 
county in the legislature. 

MedicaIi Societies 

The first medical society in the county had its beginning in a meeting 
held on November 1, 1862, in Anderson. Physicians present were Town- 
send Ryan, William A. Hunt, N. L. Wickersham, Henry Wyman, B. F. 
Spann, William Suman, J. F. Brandon, E. H. Menefee, Philip Patter- 
son, D. M. Carter and W. B. Bair. Dr. Wyman was elected to preside 
and Dr. Menefee was chosen secretary. A constitution and by-laws were 
adopted and the name of Madison County Medical Association was given 
the new organization. At one time this association numbered twenty- 
eight members. The last meeting of which there is any record, was held 
on April 29, 1867. Dr. William A. Hunt served as president and Dr. 
E. H. Menefee as secretary during the entire history of the association. 
Dr. W. B. Bair was elected treasurer at the organization meeting, but 
died six months later and Dr. D. M. Carter was elected to the vacancy. 

Harden 's History of Madison County mentions a medical society, 
which was organized at Pendleton in October, 1873. At the first meet- 
ing Drs. Ward Cook, 0. W. Brownback, T. G. Mitchell, J. II. Harter and 
W. H. Lewis were present. Dr. Cook was chosen temporary president 
and Dr. Lewis temporary secretary. Invitations were sent to all regular 
physicians in the county to meet at Pendleton on Thursday, November 
13, 1873. At that meeting the society completed its organization with 
thirteen members, viz. : Drs. Ward Cook, 0. W. Brownback, T. G. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 225 

Mitchell and J. H. Harter, Pendleton ; B. L. Pussell and W. P. Harter, 
Markleville ; Hiram Dnncan, Simeon Yancey, S. A. Troy, J. M. Jones 
and T. K. Saunders, Fortville; J. M. Fisher, H. G. Fisher and Daniel 
Cook, Fishersburg; W. H. Lewis, Huntsville; and D. H. Myers, New 
Columbus. Dr. Hiram Duncan was elected president ; W. H. Lewis, 
secretary; J. II. Harter, treasurer; Ward Cook, 0. W. Brownback and 
Simeon Yancey, censore. The constitution provided for semi-annual 
meetings — on the Tuesdaj- after the second IMonday in May and Novem- 
ber. A few members were added at subse(iuent meetings, but in time 
the interest waned and the society died of inanition. 

On the last day of Augxist, 1875, the following physicians met at the 
office of Dr. Chauncey S. Burr, in Anderson, and organized the present 
county medical society : John W. Perry, B. F. Spann, Jonas Stewart, 
V. V. Adamson, Walter H. Lewis, Oliver Broadhurst, George P. Chit- 
tenden, N. L. Wickersham, W. V. McMahan, Joseph Saunders, WiUiam 
J. Morgan, James E. Inlow, Daniel W. Cottrell, Cyrenius Free, Chauncey 
S. Burr, J. T. Sullivan, Jeptha Dillon, William Suman, William A. 
Hunt, J. M. Littler and H. E. Jones. 

These twenty-one doctors constituted the charter membership of the 
society. A constitution and code of by-laws were adopted and the fol- 
lowing officers were elected : John W. Perry, president ; W. A. Hunt, 
vice-president ; Jonas Stewart, secretary ; C. S. Burr, treasurer ; W. H. 
Lewis, B. P. Spann and John T. Sullivan, censors. Since the organ- 
ization of the society the membership has been increased until it includes 
practically all of the physicians of the county who take a proper interest 
in the uplifting of their profession. Following is a list of the presidents 
of the society, with the year in which each was elected : John W. Perry, 
1875 ; Ward Cook, 1877 ; George F. Chittenden, 1878 ; William A. Hunt, 
1879; N. L. Wickei-sham, 1880; Jonas Stewart, 1881; Samuel P. Brunt, 
1882; Horace E. Jones, 1883; B. F. Spann, 1884; William Suman, 1885; 
John W. Hunt, 1886 ; I. N. Van IMatre, 1887 ; John W. Cook, 1888 ; N. L. 
Wickersham, 1890; W. J. Fairtield, 1891; John B. Fattic, 1892; Benja- 
min H. Perce, 1893; F. P. Nourse, 1895; John W. Cook, 1896; A. W. 
Tobias, 1897; W. W. Kneale, 1898; 0. W. Brownback, 1899; G. A. 
Whitledge, 1900 ; J. W. Covertson, 1901 ; A. E. Otto, 1902 ; J. M. Littler, 
1903; William M. Garretson, 1904; Etta Charles, 1905; T. O. Armfield, 
1906; P. G. Keller, 1907; L. E. Alexander, 1908; L. 0. Williams, 1909; 
W. A. Bovden, 1910; J. E. Hall, 1911; P. F. Mendenhall, 1912; M. A. 
Austin, 1913. 

In many respects the secretary is a more important officer than the 
president, as upon him devolves the duty of keeping the records and 
notifying the members of any irapoFtant measure to come before the 
society. It is therefore deemed appropriate to include a list of the secre- 
taries. In this list the names occur in the order in which the secretaries 
served: E. H. Menefee (secretary of the old society), Jonas Stewart, 
Horace E. Jones, Charles E. Diven, William M. Garretson, W. N. Horn, 
William Suman, Fred J. Hodges, John B. Fattic, E. W. Chittenden, 
W. W. Kneale, G. A. Whitledge, A. W. Collins, 0. E. McWilliams, Lee 
Hunt, M. A. Austin, Thomas M. Jones, B. H. Cook, S. C. Newlin, Etta 
Charles. 



226 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

The officers of the society for the year 1913 were: M. A. Austin, 
president; S. C. Nevvlin, vice-president; Etta Charles, secretary and 
treasurer; 0. W. Brownback, L. P. Schmaus, F. F. ilendenhall, censors. 

The following named physicians of Madison county served in the 
Civil war, 1861-65, though at the time of their service some of them 
were not residents of the county : George F. Chittenden, surgeon Six- 
teenth Indiana Infantry and afterward iuspector and director of the 
Thirteenth Army Corps ; John C. CuUen, assistant surgeon. Sixteenth 
Indiana Infantry, promoted to surgeon; Thomas N. Jones, assistant 
surgeon Second Indiana Cavalry and surgeon One Hundred and Thir- 
tieth Indiana Infantry ; Townsead Ryan, surgeon Fifty-fourth Indiana 
infantry and colonel of the Thirty-fourth : C. S. Burr, surgeon of a 
regiment of colored troops ; Simeon B. Harriman, assistant surgeon 
Thirty-fourth Indiana Infantry ; Teeumseh Kilgore, assistant surgeon 
Eighty-fourth Indiana Infantry and surgeon Thirteenth Cavalry ; Stan- 
ley W. Edwins, assistant surgeon One Hundred and Twenty-fourth 
Indiana Infantry ; Benjamin H. Perce, in the ranks and as hospital 
steward ; Horace E. Jones, in the ranks and later a lieutenant in the 
United States navy ; Jacob H. Harter, in the ranks ; Jonas Stewart, in 
the ranks and as corporal in the Eighth Ohio Cavalry. 

At different times the following physicians of the county have been 
called to serve upon the board of United States examining surgeons for 
pensions : George F. Chittenden. John C. Cullen, Jonas Stewart, Charles 
N. Branch, John B. Fattic and Benjamin H. Perce, of Anderson ; Stan- 
ley W. Edwins, of Elwood ; and F. G. Keller, of Alexandria. The pro- 
fession has also been well represented in the matter of holding county 
offices or serving as members of the state legislature. 

Registered Physicians, 1912 

The subjoined list of Madison county physicians is taken from the 
last report of the Indiana State Board of Medical Registration, for the 
year ending on September 30, 1912: 

Anderson — Charles L. Armington, John C. Armington, Maynard A. 
Austin, Wilber A. Boyden. E. E. Brock, George F. Chittenden, Edgar 
W. Chittenden, Albert W. Collins, Ernest M. Conrad. David M. Comer, 
Benjamin H. Cook. James L. Cummins. Charles E. Diven. John B, Fattic, 
Henry W. Gante, J. J. Graham. John H. Hammond. George II. Hockett, 
William N. Horn, Lee F. Hunt, M. V. Hunt, Horace E. Jones, Thomas 
]\I. Jones, W. W. Kneale. John H. Lail, James A. Long, Oscar E. Mc- 
Williams, Doris Meister, Uberto H. Merson, Isaiah Miley, Weir M. Miley, 
Albert W. jMiller, Elizabeth Mille^r, J. O. Morrison, Stanley C. Newli'n, 
Samuel C. Norris, Thomas J. O 'Neill, Benjamin H. Perce, ]\Ioses A. Rush, 
Albert H. Sears, Glen V. Sigler, Nancy E. Snodgrass, Jonas Stewart, 
James McC. St-oddard, Silas J. Stottlemyer, Julius R. Tracy, Harley E. 
Ward, G. A. Whitledge, Lucian 0. Williams, Samuel C. Wilson, Noah S. 
Wood. 

Elwood — John D. Armfield. Tilman 0. Armfield, Julius C. Blume, 
Carol C. Cotton, Charles G. Dick, George W. Eddingfield, S. W. Edwins, 
Ester M. Griffin, W. H. Hoppenrath, Nathaniel H. Manring, Franklin 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 227 

W. Mendenhall, II. L. Miller, Luther A. Mott, G. V. Newcomer, M. L. 
Ploughe, Chandler P. Runyau, Daniel Sigler, A. W. Tobias, E. L. 
Wiggins. 

Alexandria — Edmund J. Beardsley, Oliver S. Coffin, John J. Gib- 
son, Joseph E. Hall, Frank G. Keller, A. B. JMereer, A. E. Otto, Augustus 
R. Schaefer, Leonard F. Schmau.ss, C. D. Schurtz. 

Pendleton — L. E. Alexander, Orlando W. Brownbaek, John W. Cook, 
Horace C. Martindale, William R. Sparks, Frank L. Stone. 

Summitville — Winser Austin, Etta Charles, J. D. Garr, Seth H. 
Irwin, Lewis F. Mobley, F. W. White, John W. White. 

Miscellaneous — Paul Armstrong and Amos B. Ballard, Oilman ; Eilan 
V. Boram, Benjamin L. Petro and Charles M. Smethers, Marklevillej 
Charles E. Conway, William M. Garretson and Virgil G. McDonald, Per- 
kinsville ; Joel Cook, Orestes; John W. Covertson, W. J. PVench and J. L. 
W. Peck, Frankton; John T. Newhouse, Chesterfield; John I. Rinne and 
Thomas J. Stephenson, Lapel ; William P. Scott, Linwood. 



CHAPTER XIV 

CHURCH HISTORY 

Moravian Missions — Monument — The Methodists — The Baptists — 
Friends or Quakers — United Brethren — Roman Catholics — 
Christians or Disciples — New Light Christians — The Lutherans 
— The Universalists — Protestant Episcopal Church — Churqh 
op God — Congregationalists — Spiritualists — Their Camp Grounds 
AT Chesterfield — List op Churches in the Cities. 

No doubt the first religious establishment in what is now Madison 
county \^s the old Moravian mission on the White river, a short dis- 
tance above the city of Anderson. About the close of May, 1801, John 
P. Kluge and his wife, accompanied by Abraham Luckenbach, a young 
man of twenty-four years, came from Goshen, Pennsylvania, where they 
had passed the winter with the missionary Zeisberger, learning the 
Delaware language, with a view to establishing a mission somewhere 
in Indiana. With them came two Delaware Indians — Thomas and 
Joshua — who had been converted to the Christian religion. This little 
party first stopped at the Indian village on the White river, opposite the 
present city of Mimcie, where it was proposed to establish the mission, 
but the Indians, although they received the missionaries in a friendly 
manlier, pointed out a place for them to settle, some distance down the 
river, near the village of Kikthawenund, or Chief Anderson. 

The place where this mission was located was called by the Indians 
Wah-pi-mins-kink, or place of the Chestnut Tree, a large tree of that 
variety standing near the center of section 17, about two miles east of 
Anderson. Here the missionaries were welcomed by the Delaware chiefs 
and, after living in bark huts during the summer, erected a substan- 
tial log cabin for a permanent residence, into which they moved in 
November, 1801. They made slow progress in their work of converting 
the Indians, owing to a general distrust of and opposition to the whites. 
In March, 1806, Lukenbach and Joshua went to the Indian villages on 
the Mississinewa in search of a new location and soon after their return 
to Anderson Joshua was charged with being a witch and was killed by 
an Indian with a tomahawk. 

Joshua was killed on St. Patrick's day — March 17, 1806 — and soon 
after that the missionaries decided to ask the Moravian authorities at 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, for permission to abandon the mission. A 
messenger was accordingly sent to Bethlehem and Kluge and his com- 
panions waited through the summer, annoyed at times by .runken and 

228 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 229 

meddlesome Indians. Early in September the messenger returned bear- 
ing the permission for the missionaries to return to Pennsylvania and 
on September 16, 1806, they left the mission on the White river never 
to return. The cabin erected by them remained standing for several 
years and when the first settlers came to ]Madison county, about 1820 
or 1821, they assumed that this cabin had been erected for a fort, be- 
cause it was so much more substantial than the Indian structures that 
had been erected in the vicinity by the Little Munsees after the de- 
parture of the missionaries. Traces of this settlement could be seen 
for many years, but the plow of civilization has at last destroyed them, 
and the old Moravian mission is little more than a tradition. 

In the fall of 1912 the chapter of the Daughters of the American 
Revolution at Anderson decided to mark the site of the mission with 
an appropriate monument, and began a canvass for funds. The monu- 
ment was unveiled on Sunday, June 1, 1913, Jacob P. Dunn, of Indian- 
apolis, delivering the dedicatory address. Arthur W. Brady made a 
short address, Mrs. Arthur W. Brady spoke on behalf of the Daughters 
of the Revolution, and the presentation speech was made by Mrs. Henry 
Durbin. A special guest on this occasion was Jliss Alice Kluge, of 
Hope, Indiana, whose father was the first white child born in Madison 
county, having been born at the old misson, and whose grandfather was 
killed by the Indians in 1806, not far from where the monument stands. 
The inscription on the monument is as follows: 

In Commemoration of 

The Moravian Missions 

To the Indians 

Maintained on White River 

South of This Spot, 1801-1806, 

Erected by 

Kikthawenund Chapter 

Daughters of the American 

Revolution, 

1913 

The Methodists 

To this denomination belongs the honor of being the first to estab- 
lish a regular religious organization in the county of Madison. Serv- 
ices were held by itinerant Methodist ministers at the house of Elias 
HoUingsworth, at Pendleton, as early as 1821, but no attempt was 
made to found a church until in 1823, when Thomas M. Pendleton, his 
wife and daughter, Mrs. Thomas McCartney, Mrs. Samuel Holliday, 
Elias HoUingsworth and his wife, Samuel Hundley and wife, James 
Scott and wife, and perhaps a few others, residing near the falls of 
Fall creek, met and organized what was afterward known as the Pen- 
dleton Methodist Episcopal church. For about nine years meetings were 
held at the houses of the members. On April 28, 1832, Thomas M. 
Pendleton and wife deeded to the trustees of the church the north half 
of lot No. 32, upon which a log house of worship was erected. In 1839 



230 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

this house was torn down and a frame structure with a seating capacity 
of about six hundred was erected at a cost of $1,800. At the time it 
was dedicated it was the finest church edifice in the county. In 1877 
it was enlarged and remodeled and was used by the congregation until 
the erection of the present handsome brick and stone house in 1905, at 
a cost of about $15,000. Among the early pastors of this congregation 
were James Havens, Edwin Ray, J. H. Hull and W. H. Goode, all of 
whom afterward became prominent in the annals of Methodism. 

As early as 1824 the few Methodists living in the vicinity of Per- 
kinsville organized a class, with Benoni Freel as leader. The first 
sermon preached here was by Rev. James Reeder. For some time the 
little congregation held services in a log school house about half way 
between Halford and Perkinsville, but with the coming of more set- 
tlers the church grew in membership and about 1848 a brick house of 
worship was erected in Perkinsville. It continued to be the home of 
the congregation until 1888, when it was replaced by a larger and more 
pretentious edifice. This was the first church organization in Jackson 
township. 

A few Methodists living in Green township, among whom were 
Samuel Gibson and wife, John ]\Iarsh and wife, James D. Hardy and 
William McCarty, organized a class in the fall of 1825 that afterward 
became the Mount Carmel church. Meetings were held in residences, 
school houses, etc., until 1848, when a house of worship was erected on 
the farm of Henry Manifold, a short distance northeast of the present 
town of Ingalls, where James Jones donated a small tract of ground for 
the Mount Carmel cemetery in 1862. 

The next Methodist church to be organized in the county was in the 
town of Anderson in 1827. Prior to that time meetings had been held 
in private residences, particularly the homes of Collins Tharp and 
William Curtis. Among the first members were Collins Tharp and 
wife, William Curtis and wife, Mr. and Mrs. Enoch Donahue, Mr. and 
Mrs. Merrill, Henry Russell, Mrs. Harpold and Matilda Shannon. In 
1839 Collins Tharp donated the congregation a piece of ground imme- 
diately west of Delaware street, between what are now Eleventh and 
Twelfth streets, for a church site and cemetery. Soon after that work 
was commenced upon a house of worship there, but it was never fully 
completed. Meetings were held there, however, for several years, when 
the property was sold to J. E. D, Smith, who used the unfinished struc- 
ture as a carpenter shop until it was destroyed by fire. 

After the sale of this place to Mr. Smith, the congregation met in 
the school house and other places until 1849, when two lots were pur- 
chased of Robert N. Williams on the northeast corner of Eleventh and 
Meridian streets, where a frame house was erected, at a cost of $1,200. 
About 1869 the IMethodist congregation purchased a lot at the southeast 
corner of Eleventh and Meridian, opposite the old frame church and 
where the Union Building now stands, where they commenced the 
erection of a large and commodious brick edifice. This church was 
ccrmpleted in 1871, when the old frame house was sold to David W. 
Swank, who removed it to the corner of Ninth and Meridian streets, 
where it was used as a business house until destroyed by fire in the sum- 



HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 231 

mer of 1886. In time ileridian street became a business street and the 
Methodist con^egation sold the property and purchased a new location 
at the southwest corner of Jackson and Twelfth streets, where the pres- 
ent commodious and imposing house of woi-ship was erected in 1900, 
at a cost of some $50,000. This church is known as_ the First Metho- 
dist Episcopal church of Anderson. Since it was organized in 1827 three 
other congregations of this denomination have been established in the 
city — one on Noble street, Grace church, on Fourteenth street near 
Cedar, and one in North Anderson — and missions are maintained in 
the additions of Shadeland and Hazelwood. 

According to Harden 's History of IMadison County, a Methodist, 
society was formed at Fishersburg in 1827 and for a time met in pri- , 
vate houses. Then a small log church was erected and used until 1834, 
when it was replaced by a larger one, also a log house, and this was sup- 
planted by a frame buildnig in 1853, at a cost of $1,600. Among the 
early ministers at this church were a Rev. Mr. Miller, W. C. Smith, 
Lucien Berrj' and James Scott. 

About the j-ear 1831 ]\Ianlj' Richards, Joseph Carter, Andrew Bragg, 
Jacob and John Lambord, John Russe-ll, James W. Manifold and a few 
other members of the Methodist faith organized a society at the old 
village of Menden, in Fall Creek township, known as the Antioch 
Methodist Episcopal church. Rev. J. N. Elsbury and Asa Beck were the 
first ministers. In 1842 a small frame house of worship was built, and 
it was used until 1868, when it became unsafe and a new one was 
erected about a quarter of a mile northeast, at a cost of $3,000. After 
the decline of Menden the church remained and meetings are still held 
here, though the congregation has lost many of its members by death 
and removals. 

What is known as the Busby Meetiftg House was located on the south 
bank of Lick creek, on the Warrington pike. A Methodist society was 
organized in this neighborhood in 1835 and the house was erected soon 
afterward. In 1865 the church was abandoned, the members uniting 
with other congregations. 

In the fall of 1836 James Hollingsworth and wife, Mrs. George 
Mustard, and William Lower and wife met at the house of the last 
named and organized themselves into a Methodist society, or class, the 
first religious organization of any kind in Lafayette township. The 
class grew in numbers, but no effort was made to erect a house of wor- 
ship until 1855, when a frame structure was built where the village of 
Florida now stands, at a cost of $1,700. Among the early ministers 
were Revs. D. F. Strite, John Leach, J. W. Bradbury and John R. 
Tansey. The trustees of this church have always been liberal and have 
allowed other denominations to use the house, when such occupation 
did not interfere with the regular services of the congregation. 

The first church in Pipe Creek township was a Methodist society, 
which was formed at the residence of Reuben Kelly, a short distance 
east of the present town of Frankton, in the summer of 1836. The first 
members were Reuben Kelly, William Taylor, John Chamness, Jacob 
Speck. Amos Goff. Joseph Miller and their wives, and perhaps a few 
others. At first this congregation was a part of the Anderson circuit 



232 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

and the first preachers were the circuit riders. Among them were 
Hezekiah Smith, J. F. Stiles and J. C. Bradshaw, whose names are 
well remembered by old-timers. In 1867 the society removed to Frank- 
ton, where a comfortable house of worship was erected, and where the 
church is still located. 

Mount Tabor Methodist church was organized in the northwestern 
part of Monroe township in 1838. The members first held their meet- 
ings in private houses, then in school houses until 1850, when a church 
was erected at cost of about $1,200. Samuel McMahan, David Osborn, 
Wright Smith, David Austin and wife and Louisa McMahan were 
among the first members. James Havens, Hezekiah Smith and John 
Hull were some of the first preachers. After a number of years this 
church was abandoned, the members associating with other convenient 
Methodist congregations. 

About 1840, a Methodist church was organized in the town of Alex- 
andria. In 1845 the first house of worship was erected and was used 
by the congregation until 1873, when a new structure was commenced. 
It was completed early in the year 1876 and was dedicated on June 
6th of that year. The cost of this edifice was about $7,200. This build- 
ing, which stands at the corner of North Canal and Broadway streets, 
has since been remodeled and added to, in order to provide better ac- 
commodations for the growing congregation. At the time this church 
was organized it was a part of the Pendleton circuit, but later was 
transferred to the Anderson circuit, where it continued until the Alex- 
andria circuit was organized. The congregation was the first to be 
organized in Alexandria. 

About two and a half miles west of Pendleton, on the Noblesville 
pike, is the Pleasant Valley Methodist church, which was the outgrowth 
of a class formed by Elder Donaldson in 1841, at the house of Samuel 
Dobson. In 1852 Mr. Dobson removed to Iowa, after which the meet- 
ings were held at the house of Andrew ShankUn until 1865, when a 
frame church was erected on the farm of George A. Williamson, just 
west of Foster's branch. Previous to the erection of this house the 
class had been regarded as a branch of the church at Pendleton. 

In 1851 a Methodist society was organized at the house of Aaron 
Taflfe, in Boone township, by Rev. William Boyden. Seven members at 
that time united to form the church and Wright Smith was chosen class- 
leader. Not long after that he built a log church at his own expense. 
This building was afterward sold to the township for a school house and 
a frame church was erected. In 1853 a Sunday school was organized, 
with Wright Smith as superintendent. Owing to the activity of Mr. 
Smith in promoting the welfare of this congregation, the church was 
named "Smith's Chapel." It is located on section 21, a short dis- 
tance north of Duck creek. 

A class was organized by the few Methodists living in the locality, 
at school house No. 5, Jlonroe township, about two miles east of Alex- 
andria, in 1854. It was known as the Manuering class and was a 
branch of the Methodist church at Alexandria. No house of worship 
was ever built and after some years the class disbanded, though at one 
time it numbered about seventy members. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 233 

The Markleville Methodist Episcopal church was organized about 
1850 and meetings were held at the residences of Stephen Norman and 
Ralph Williams, and later in an old log house. In 1856 a neat frame 
house of worship .was erected, at a cost of $1,400, a short distance 
south of the town, where services are still held. 

Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal church is located on section 
8, in the northwestern part of Richland township. A few j'ears before 
the beginning of the Civil war a few Methodists living in that neigh- 
borhood began holding meetings in the Holston school house. In 1860 
a neat frame house, with a seating capacity of about four hundred, waa 
erected, at a cost of $1,200. A Methodist congregation had been organ-, 
ized in this township as early as 1832 by Elias Hollingsworth and 
Joseph Barnes, near the Union township line. In December, 1832, 
Joseph Barnes donated an acre and a half of ground in the southwest 
quarter of section 28 for a church site, and soon afterward a log house 
of worship was erected, taking the name of Asbury Chapel. In 1870 
a new frame church was built on the northeast corner of section 29, on 
the south bank of Killbuek creek, at a cost of $1,500, and was dedicated 
by Rev. Dr. Bowman, president of Ashbury (now DePauw) University, 
on September 13, 1870. 

In the fall of 1861 Rev. R. A. Newton organized a Methodist society 
with twelve members at the Minnick school house, in Duck Creek 
township. Five years later a small house of worship was erected by John 
Reel on the f arm.of G. H. Harting. It was known as ' ' Reel 's Chapel ' ' and 
was used by the Methodists and New Lights alternately for many years. 

Rev. John Pierce, Robert Goodin and a few others organized a 
Methodist church at Chesterfield in 1870 and the following year a 
house of worship was erected. For some time services were held every 
two weeks, but the congregation did not prosper and the church was 
finally dropped from the circuit. 

The first camp meeting in the county was held by the Methodist 
Episcopal denomination in 1832, about three miles southwest of Pen- 
dleton, on the farm known as the Samuel Hundley place. Rev. James 
Havens and other Methodist ministers were in attendance. The meet- 
ing was pronounced a success and similar gatherings were held there 
annually for many years, usually in the later summer or early autumn. 

On the farm of "J. R. Holston, near the Wesley Chapel above de- 
scribed, was the Wesleyan Camp Meeting Association grounds, where 
camp meetings were held by the Methodists for many years prior to 
1880 and were largely attended. After that the interest waned and in 
a few years the meetings were discontinued. 

The First Methodist Episcopal church of Elwood was organized not 
long after the to-svn was laid out in 1853. The present house of wor- 
ship, one of the finest in the city, is located at the corner of North A 
and Anderson streets, directly opposite the postoffice building. It was 
erected in 1899, at a cost of about $30,000. 

There are also Methodist Episcopal churches at Lapel and Sum- 
mitville, where the congregations are in a healthy condition and own 
handsome church edifices. 

Rev. James Puekett organized the First Methodist Protestant church 



234 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

of Elwood, with fourteen members, about 1865. Ten years later the 
membership had increased to about sixty and a house of worship was 
erected at a cost of $1,000. This was probably the first society of this 
denomination in the county. The present place of worship is on South 
D street, near Anderson, where a comfortable frame house has been 
erected for the use of the church and the Sunday school. 

On April 17, 1866, a Methodist Protestant church was organized 
at Hamilton, Jackson township, by Rev. Elias Wilson. For several 
years meetings were held in the school house or at the homes of the 
members, but in 1879 a frame house was erected in Hamilton, at a cost 
of $1,000, for the use of the congregation, which then numbered about 
thirty-five members. This building was dedicated on October 19, 1879, 
by Rev. J. H. Luse, president of the Indiana conference. A Sunday 
school was organized about the time the new church was built. 

Since the organization of these two ^Methodist Protestant churches, 
a congregation of that denomination has been formed in the city of 
Anderson. The house of worship is at the corner of Fifth and Locust 
streets. 

In iladison county there are three colored Methodist churches — 
two in Anderson and one in Alexandria. In 1873 the colored Method- 
ists of Anderson organized what is known as the Second Methodist 
Episcopal church. Not long after it was formed a small frame build- 
ing, located at 1125 Delaware street, was purchased for the use of the 
congregation and meetings are still held there regularlj^ 

Allen Chapel, African Methodist Episcopal church, was organized 
in 1890. For about six years meetings were held in such places as 
could be obtained, but in 1896 the membership had increased to about 
thirty and steps were taken to build a house of worship. A lot on the 
corner of Sixteenth and Sheridan streets was secured and a neat frame 
house erected thereon. It is considered one of the prettiest small church 
buildings in the city. 

Shortly after the discovery of natural gas, the colored Methodists 
of Alexandria got together and formed themselves into a congregation. 
Meetings were held at the comer of West and John streets for several 
years, but recently the congregation has purchased the brick church 
edifice formerly used by the Baptists, located at the corner of Berry 
and Black streets. 

The Baptists 

After the Methodists, this denomination was the next to establish 
itself in Madison county. Two Baptist churches were organized in the 
year 1830 — one in Pendleton and the other near New Columbus, in 
Adams township. 

Among the first members of the Pendleton Baptist church were 
Nathaniel P. Richmond, J. L. Richmond, Martin Brown and their wives, 
Elizabeth Irish and Susannah Richmond. Nathaniel Richmond was the 
first preacher. In 1834 a church building thirty-two by forty feet was 
erected. It was used by the congregation until about 1854, when a 
larger house was built, at a cost of $1,400. A few years later, while 
Rev. Mr. Wedge was pastor and P. R. Maul was clerk, a dissension arose 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 235 

between these two persons that finally split the congregation in twain 
"by a Maul and Wedg:e," as it has been expressed in a sort of jest. 
The church, unable to continue its career successfully, sold its house 
of worship to the F'rieuds, most of the members transferring their 
allegiance to the Baptist church at Anderson. 

The Adajns township congregation was organized about the same 
time as the one at Pendleton. For a while meetings were held at the 
residences of Caleb Riddle and Ira Davis. New members came in 
gradually, and in 1834 a small house of worship was built about half a 
mile south of New Columbus. Among the early preachers here were 
Nathaniel Richmond, Morgan McQuary, \V. A. Thompson and William 
Judd. A small cemetery was laid out near the church, where some of 
the Adams township pioneers found their last resting place. This 
church, known as the "Pewee Baptist Church," held meetings reg- 
ularly for over forty years, but about 1875 it began to wane in strength 
and influence. After that meetings were held at irregular intervals 
for some time and then ceased altogether. 

In 1834 a few Baptists met at the house of Mrs. Rebecca Collier, 
about a mile and a half southeast of the present town of Markleville, 
and organized a church, with thirteen members. There is some diversity 
of opinion as to when the first building was erected by this congrega- 
tion. Harden says a house was built in 1837, at a cost of about $500, 
and other authorities state that it was built in 1852. All agree, how- 
ever, that it was twenty-four by thirty-six feet in size. In 1872 this 
house was torn down and a new one of larger dimensions erected, at 
a cost of $2,800. In both instances J. F. Collier gave the ground upon 
which the church building was erected, the new house being about half 
a mile north of the old one. It was dedicated by Rev. Joseph M. Brown, 
of Indianapolis, October 3, 1872, and is known as the Union Baptist 
church. 

The Bethel Baptist church, located three miles north of Markle- 
ville, was organized about 1836. Until 1853 meetings were held in the 
school house near that point, but in that year a frame house of worship 
was erected, at a cost of $1,000. James F. Collier was the first pastor. 
The first trustees were Jackson Judd, James Ellison and Silby Clark. 
About 1862 a division arose that destroyed the usefulness of the church 
and some years later a denomination known as the Church of God 
came into possession of the house. 

On June 18, 1842, the Little Killbuck Old School Baptist church 
was organized at the residence of Moses Maynard, with ten members. 
Rev. W. A. Thompson was the first pastor. In 1844 a log church was 
built on the farm of Christopher Maynard, near the southern boundary 
of Richland township. At the regular meeting in July, 1871, a dif- 
ference of opinion occurred \ipon some doctrinal point, which resulted 
in several members withdrawing and taking with them the church rec- 
ords. This faction held meetings in the school house until a council of 
the neighboring churches decided the other side to be the regular 
church. But the mischief had been done. After a precarious existence 
of a few years the congregation ceased to hold meetings and the church 
went down. 



236 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

In 1843 Rev. Nathaniel Richmond organized a Baptist church at 
Fishersburg, where a small house of worship was erected the next 
year. Mr. Richmond acted as pastor for some time, but the congrega- 
tion was never strong enough numerically to carry the burden of organ- 
ization and after about twenty years it gave up the effort. 

John W. Forrest founded the village of Forrestville, on the north- 
west quarter of Section 21, Boone township, in 1850, and about three 
years later a Baptist church was organized there. Mr. Forrest, who 
was a local preacher of that denomination, officiated at the organiza- 
tion, but Rev. James Smith is said to have been the first regular pastor. 
In 1857 a neat frame church was erected, at a cost of about $1,400. It 
stood upon Mr. Forrest's farm and was known as "Forrest Chapel." 
After several years the society became disorganized. 

A congregation known as the Mount Pisgah Baptist church was or- 
ganized in Monroe township in 1856, about four miles northeast of 
Alexandria, by Rev. John W. Forrest. No church was ever erected, 
the meetings being held in school house No. 6. The society was never 
very strong and after about twenty yeai-s it was abandoned, the mem- 
bers afSliating with other convenient Baptist churches. 

Four miles northwest of Alexandria and a mile east of the old vil- 
lage of Osceola, the Lilly Creek Baptist church was established in 1858, 
though meetings had been held in that neighborhood as early as 1852. 
The first pastor was Rev. James E. Ellison. On May 2, 1868, the church 
was reorganized and in 1871 a frame church building was erected at 
a cost of about $1,000. It was dedicated on the first Sunday in August 
of that year. 

Through the efforts and influence of J. B. Anderson, a Baptist 
church was established at Chesterfield in 1869, with Rev. J. C. Skin- 
ner as pastor. Regular services were held for four or five years, but no 
house of worship was ever erected. Then, weary of the struggle for 
existence, the little flock disbanded, the members uniting with the Bap- 
tist church at Anderson. 

It may seem strange that no Baptist church was organized at the 
county seat for nearly fifty years after the erection of Madison county, 
but such is the case. On October 23, 1871, a number of members of 
this denomination residing in Anderson, in conference with members 
of the Baptist congregations at Pendleton and Chesterfield, organized 
the First Baptist church of Anderson. On January 2, 1872, the Ches- 
terfield church was consolidated with the new organization, and it was 
followed on the 23d of the same month by the Baptists of Pendleton. 
On October 19, 1872, the building committee appointed by the chiirch 
purchased of the trustees of the Presbyterian congregation their house 
of worship on Meridian street for $2,000. Previous to the sale of this 
property the Presbyterians had borrowed $1,000 from the state school 
fund and placed a mortgage upon their church. This mortgage was 
assumed by the Baptists. At that time the Baptist congregation num- 
bered about thirty members, none of whom could be called wealthy, and 
after holding meetings for some time in the building they were unable 
to pay the mortgage. The building was therefore sold by the state to 
satisfy the loan made to the Presbyterians some years before. This 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 237 

church occupied the lot upon which the Hurst block now stands, on the 
west side of Meridian street, between Tenth and Eleventh. In 1890 the 
Baptist church was reorganized by Rev. J. W. Porter. During the 
next three years meetings were held in Oriental hall and such other 
places as could be conveniently secured for the purpose, but in 1893 
a lot at the corner of Fourteenth and Lincoln streets was purchased, 
upon which was erected a house of worship. It was not completed for 
nearly three j^ears after work on it was commenced. In May, 1896, 
the building was formally dedicated and since that time the church has 
been prosperous, ranking today among the strongest religious organiza- 
tions in the city. 

Zion Baptist church, about two miles north of Summitville, was 
organized in February, 1874, with Rev. J. J. Laugdon as the first pastor. 
In 1878 a frame house of worship was erected, at a cost of about $700. 
This church is located on section 17, a short distance east of the Mich- 
igan division of the Big Four Railroad. 

The Baptist church at Alexandria was organized on December 23, 
1895, and for some time held meetings in the Red Men's hall. As the 
society grew in strength it was not long until a small house of worship 
was erected at the corner of Berry and Black streets. This building 
was recently sold to the colored Methodists and the Baptists bought the 
old Congregational church edifice at the corner of West Church and 
Canal streets, where they have a comfortable home. 

One of the strongest Baptist churches in the county is the First 
Baptist church of Elwood. It was organized about twenty years ago 
and has been fairly prosperous ever since it -was established. In the 
summer of 1913 a new house of worship was erected by this congrega- 
tion at the corner of South D .and Anderson streets, which is regarded 
as one of the handsomest churches in the city. 

The first Baptist sermon in Van Buren township was preached at 
the house of Thomas Cartwright, a short distance south of Summit- 
ville, but the date of that meeting is veiled in uncertainty. Meetings 
were held from time to time after that, and the result was the organiza- 
tion of a Baptist church, which now has a fine brick building on East 
Mill street in the town of Summitville. The former house of worship 
occupied by this congregation was recently sold to the Dunkards. 

A colored Baptist society, numbering about thirty members, was 
organized in the city of Anderson in 1890. It is styled the Second 
Baptist church. After meeting in various places for some time, a lot 
at the corner of Eleventh and Sherman streets was purchased and a 
small hou.se of worship erected, where meetings have since been held 
regularly. 

German Baptists or Dunkards 

Probablj^ the first society of this denomination in Madison county 
was the one organized near Summitville at an early date, but no reli- 
able information concerning its early history is obtainable. For a 
number of years the congregation owned a one-fourth interest in the 
house of worship erected jointly by the Dunkards and Christians, or 
Disciples, on section 31, on the farm once o\vned by Thomas Cart- 



238 HISTORY OP MADISON COUNTY 

Wright. The outgrowth of this organization is the present Dunkard 
church of Summitville, which not long ago purchased the old Baptist 
church on East Mill street, one square east of the new Baptist church. 

In 1860 Elder George Hoover organized a Dunkard church about 
a mile north of Ovid, in Adams township. For several years meetings 
were held in the school house or at the homes of the members. In 1873 
a brick house of worship was erected near the north line of section 7, 
at a cost of $2,500. It was two stories in height, the upper floor being 
used as an auditorium and the basement exclusively for the celebration 
of the Holy Communion. At one time this congregation was large and 
prosperous, but it has been weakened by deaths and removals until reg- 
ular meetings are no longer held. 

A German Baptist society was organized in the western part of 
Green township in 1872 and soon afterward a house of worship was 
built on the farm of David Richards, near the southeast corner of sec- 
tion 21. This church is known as "Beech Grove Church," though it 
is sometimes called "Frey's Church," on account of the long services 
of Rev. Enoch Frey as assistant pastor. 

About 1890 a few members of this denomination in Anderson began 
holding meeting among themselves at their homes and in 1892 a small 
Dunkard church was erected on McKinley street, between Twenty-first 
and Twenty-second. The congregation is not strong, but the few mem- 
bers are zealous in support of their church. 

Fkiends or Quakers 

Among the early settlers in Fall Creek township were a few mem- 
bers of this peculiar sect. In May, 1834, Enos Adamson and his wife 
deeded to Hezekiah Morgan, William Hunt and Abraham Adamson, 
trustees for the Society of Friends, a tract of three acres in the south- 
west quarter of section 15, near the present village of Huntsville, for a 
consideration of fifteen dollars, the ground to be used as a church site and 
cemetery. Later in the year a society was formed at the house of 
Jonathan Thomas and in 1836 a small log meeting house was erected 
upon the ground purchased two years before. Jehu Middleton was the 
first regular preacher. The Pendleton society was a branch of the 
Milford monthly meeting until 1839, when it became an independent 
monthly meeting. In 1857 the society erected a frame house, at a cost 
of $800. For a time the Whitewater quarterly meeting was held once 
a year at this church, which was abandoned some years ago, so that 
there is now no regular place for holding meetings in the township, al- 
though a number of that belief still reside in the vicinity of Pendleton. 

On January 13, 1894, a few Friends in Anderson met and organized 
a society, under the leadership of Rev. W. S. Wooton. For a while the 
meetings were held in the second story of a frame building on West 
Tenth street. Then the residence at the northeast corner of Fourteenth 
street and Central avenue (206 East Fourteenth street) was purchased 
and converted into a meeting house. Two years after the organization 
of the society it numbered about one hundred members. It continued 
to gain in strength and in the summer of 1913 purchased the brick 



HISTORY OP^ MADISON COUNTY 239 

church formerly occupied by the Hope Congregational church, at the 
southeast corner of Tenth and Chase streets. The Friends also have a 
church in Lapel. 

United Brethren 

As early as 1835 the few members of the United Brethren faith liv- 
ing near Chesterfield organized a society and built a brick house of 
worship. Among the first members were Daniel and Brazleton Noland, 
John Suman, "William Dilts and their wives, J. C. Guston and Henry 
Russell. The last named was selected as class leader and a minister 
named Smith was the first pastor. The church erected by this little 
band stood on the tract now occupied by the county poor farm. A small 
graveyard adjoined the church, where some of Union township's pio- 
neers lie buried, among them Allen Makepeace, William Dilts and John 
Suman. This society has long since become extinct. 

Sometime in the eai-ly '40s a few believers in the doctrines of the 
United Brethren assembled at the house of Samuel Gentry, a short 
distance east of Perkinsville, and organized themselves into a congre- 
gation. William Parkins was one of- the moving spirits and was the 
tii-st preacher. He was frequently invited to other localities to conduct 
services and on one occasion walked eighteen miles to preach ;i funeral 
sermon. For about ten years meetings were held at the homes of the 
members or in the school house, but in 1852 the church became strong 
enough to justify the erection of a frame house of worship in Perkins- 
ville, at a cost of about .$1,000. Here the congregation worshiped for 
many years, and unless the house has been recentlj' torn down it is still 
standing. 

As early as 1836 a small society of United Brethren was organized 
in Hancock county, not far from the Madison county line, by Rev. 
David Storer. Meetings were at first held in a school house in Hancock 
county, but as most of the members lived in the vicinity of the old vil- 
lage of Menden, the first house of worship was erected there about 1844. 
The first preacher here was a man named Steward. At one time this 
society numbered about sixty members and was in a flourishing condi- 
tion, but it became so weak'ened in time that meetings were held irreg- 
ularly for awhile and then abandoned altogether. In the meantime a 
society had been organized in the town of Pendleton, where some of 
the Menden congregation renewed their membership in the church. 
The United Brethren church at Pendleton is a neat, substantial structure 
on the corner of John and High streets. 

In Duck Creek township the United Brethren organized the first 
religious society and built the first house of worship in 1852. When 
organized by Elder Samuel Purtee, the congregation numbered but 
eight members. Subsequently they united with a few New Light Chris- 
tians in the erection of the "Union Church." on the farm of W. F. 
Hollingsworth, in the southeast quarter of section 16. After a time 
the New Lights passed out of existence and left the United Brethren in 
control. 

Another old United Brethren church is located a short distance 
south of Summitville, in the old building formerly occupied by the 



240 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Diinkards and Disciples, but no reliable information concerning its 
early history has been found. Originally this house fronted in the op- 
posite direction, having been turned around when the road running past 
it was straightened so that it was on the other side of the building. 
The old graveyard here is upon ground donated by Thomas Cartwright, 
one of the pioneers 'f Van Buren township. 

The United Brethren church in the city of Anderson was organized 
in the fall of 1889 by Rev. J. T. Roberts, at Westerfield's hall, on North 
Main street, where ths meetings were at first held. In December, 1892, 
a small house of worship at the corner of Sansberry and Eleventh 
streets was dedicated, and here the congregation held services until the 
completion of their present handsome and commodious. ch.yirch, at the^ 
corner of Ninth street and Madison avenue. ,,,,. h^, i |, ., 

This denomination has a prosperous congregation and a handsome 
church building at Lapel, and the same may be said of Elwood. The 
church at Elwood is located at the comer of North H and Fourteenth 
streets. It is a substantial frame house, and,' while not protentious in 
appearance, furnishes the active and flourishing congregation with a 
comfortable home. What is known as Beech Grove church in Lafay- 
ette township was built by the United Brethren, but has not been used 
by them for years. There is also a church of this faith located ia what 
is known as the Innisdale addition at Alexandria. The congregation 
is small, but composed of earnest workers, and owns a neat frame house 
of worship. 

The Catholics 

While the Indiana Central canal was under construction in the lat- 
ter 'UOs, many of the men working upon it w^ere members of the Roman 
Catholic church. In order that they might have their spiritual needs 
properlv attended to, Fathers Frangois and Bacquelin visited the dif- 
ferent gangs of -workmen from Logansport to Anderson, celebrating 
mass in such places as could be obtained. The first mass in Anderson 
was said in a log tavern that stood at the southeast corner of Central 
avenue and Ninth street in 1837. Other pioneer priests followed them, 
saying mass in Anderson and in the Quinlan settlement on the prairie, 
southeast of the town, but it was twenty years before any attempt was 
made to organize a parish or establish a church. 

In 1857 Father Clark came as a missionary and for a few months 
celebrated mass in the courthouse. The following year he began the 
erection of a brick building, to be known as St. Mary's church, on the 
northeast corner of Eleventh and Fletcher streets, but it was not com- 
pleted until 1864, at which time Father McMahon was in charge. In 
January, 1866, he was succeeded by Father Crawley, who in May, 1870, 
started a movement for the erection of a new church. Accordingly, the 
lot just across the street, on the southeast corner of Eleventh and 
Fletcher streets, was purchased, the corner-stone of the new building 
was laid on July 4, 1875, and on May 29, 1877, it was dedicated. 

Rev. J. D. Mulcahey came to the parish in 1891 and found that the 
church building was too small to accommodate the Catholic families 
of the parish. After consultation with some of the leading Catholics, 



HISTORY OF .MADISON C'OCXTY 241 

it was decided to orwt a new eliurcli upon the site of the one that had 
been built in 1864, and wliit-h was tlien used as the paroehial school 
house. It was torn down, the corner-stone of the present building was 
laid on July 9, 1893, and on October 6, 1895, it was dedicated. The 
cost of this building was aliout .+41,000. 

Previous to 1860 nuiss was celebrated at irregular intervals in EI- 
wood by missionary priests, the tir.st ceremony of that character having 
been celebrated in the residence of John Huchanan. In 1860 Ehvood 
became a "station" and was regularly attended by Father McJIahon, 
then pastor at Andei'son. From 1865 to 1884 Ehvood was attended by 
Father Crawley and under his charge the station became a "mission." 
In February, 1880, Bernard Bauer and James Cornelius were given 
authority by Father Crawley to solicit and receive funds for the erec- 
tion of a church. The first church was a small brick structure, dedi- 
cated in the fall of 1881. It cost about $1,500. Eight years later the 
mission became a parish, under the name of St. Joseph's, and Rev. B. 
Biegel took charge as the first resident priest on Sunday, July 28, 1889. 

In 1892 the little church was enlarged to three times its former size, 
at a cost of $2,500, but it soon became evident that a new one was neces- 
sary. Father Biegel began the collection of funds for that purpose in 
1894, the corner-stone was laid on October 8, 1899, and the building 
was dedicated on July 14, 1901, by Right Rev. H. J. Alerding, Bishop 
of Fort "Wayne. The cost of the church, with its interior decorations, 
was $60,000. 

The Catholic church at Alexandria was first established as a station 
and was attended by the priests from Anderson. When St. Joseph's 
parish at Ehvood was established in 1889, Alexandria became a mission 
under the charge of Father Biegel, who held services there twice a 
month. Early in the '90s St. Mary's parish was organized and a resi- 
dent priest assigned to Alexandria. A few years later the present 
church, a commodious brick structure, was erected at the corner of 
Madison and Belmont streets. Rev. F. P. Faust is the present pastor. 



Christians or Disciples 

The first church of this denomination in Madison county, of which 
any record can be found, was organized at Frankton in 18-39, by Daniel 
Franklin, at the house of Elijah Ring. Among the thirty members, 
who were at that time enrolled, were Daniel and Joseph Frankli'i and 
their wives, Edmund Johnson and wife, Elijah Lawson and wi"', and 
^Ir. and ^Irs. Henry Plummer. About 1854 a majority of the inombers 
of this congregation transferred their membership to Ehvood. In 1859 
they came back and assisted in the reorganization of the Frankton 
church. A frame house of woi-ship was erected in 1867 and since that 
time regular meetings have been held. 

About 1840 a few Christians living in the northwestern part of 
iVIonroe township began holding meetings at their homes ana shortly 
afterward organized themselves into the Lilly Creek Christian church. 
Their first meeting place was a log house, where they held services until 

>..! I-IG 



242 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

1871, when a frame church was built on section 3, not far from the Boone 
township line. The house cost about $1,800. 

In 1848 a meeting was held at the Baptist church near New Columbus 
and a Christian societj' was organized with Andrew Bray, J. I. Seward, 
Jesse Van Winkle and Eli Hodson as elders. Meetings were held in 
the Baptist church, in school houses and elsewhere until 1852, when a 
frame house was erected near the southeast corner of section 15, about 
two and a half miles northeast of Markleville. This building was 
destroyed by fire about 1854, but another was soon afterward erected at 
a cost of $1,400. For many years this congregation flourished and then 
began to dwindle, owing to deaths, removals and other causes. Meet- 
ings finally ceased and the old house of worship was sold to Thornton 
Rector, who converted it into a residence. In its prosperous days, this 
church was known as "White Chapel." 

A Christian church was organized at Alexandria in 1852, with a 
small membership, although meetings had been held in the town for 
several years prior to that date. Among the early members were Jacob 
Cassell, Martha Cassell, Joseph Fenimore, John McMahan, Elizabeth 
Fitch and Aunt Betsy Perry. A house of worship was erected in 1853 
and used by the little congregation until about 1863, when it was de- 
clared unsafe and was abandoned. Some of the members then went to 
the Lilly Creek church and others to other societies, but in November, 
1875, the Alexandria church was reorganized by Rev. William McKen- 
sey and most of the former members came back. Since then the society 
has prospered and now owns a neat and substantial frame house of wor- 
ship at the comer of Berry and West streets. 

I New Hope Christian church, also called the Chambers church, was 
organized in 1854 with seven members, viz. : Hiram and John Chambers 
ajid their wives, Susan and Mary Chambers, and Nancy Scott. Not long 
after the organization, Hiram Chambers donated a small tract of 
ground near the south line of section 27, Richland township, for a 
church site. In 1869 a frame house was erected thereon at a cost of 
about $1,500. 

About 1857 Rev. Carey Harrison, a Christian minister of Hamil- 
ton county, came to Hamilton (now Halford) and held a "protracted 
meeting" in an old school house a short distance west of the village. 
At the close of the revival a Christian church was organized with about 
a dozen members. Elder Harrison continued to act as pastor for sev- 
eral years. No house of worship was ever erected by the society and 
about 1876 the meetings were discontinued. 

What is now the Central Christian church of Anderson had its 
beginning back in the '50s, when Elders Jameson and New, of Indian- 
apolis, came to Anderson as missionaries of the denomination. Serv- 
ices were held at the Chestnut Grove school house, a mile east of the 
"Crossing," and at other places until 1858, when a society was organ- 
ized. Among the pioneer members were Burket Eads, Joseph Sigler, 
John R. Stephenson, William Mustard and John Kindle. The first 
"house of worship was erected in 1861 at the northwest corner of ]\Iain 
and Thirteenth streets and the next year Rev. Joseph Franklin, of 
Covington, Kentucky, became pastor, a position he held for twelve 
years, during which time the membership increased to ovr one hun- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 243 

dred. The present handsome and coiumodious church edifice of this 
congregation, located at tlie northwest corner of Tenth and Jackson 
streets, was erected in 1899-1900. It cost about $45,000 and is one of 
the finest church buildings in Anderson. 

During the winter of 1859-60 Rev. George Newhouse, a Christian 
minister, visited Van Buren township and held services in Allen's school 
house, about a mile south of Summitville. James, Thomas and Ellen 
Hudson and Byron Vinson and wife were among the early members of 
this denomination to settle in that locality, and they were among the 
first members of the society that was organized by ilr. Newhouse. In 
1873 a frame house, thirty-two by forty-four feet, was erected about a 
mile south of Summitville, at a cost of about $1,500, and a Sunday 
school was organized. The Dunkards held a one-fourth interest in this 
house, but a few years ago both the Christians and Dunkards removed 
to the town of Summitville, turning the house over to the United 
Brethren. The Christian church building in Summitville is a neat 
frame structure and the society is in a flourishing condition. 

Four miles north of Pendleton, in the southeast corner of Stony 
Creek township, Forest Chapel Christian church was organized on 
June 10, 1860, with sixteen members. A frame house of worship was 
erected the next year, Rev. B. P. Gregory was installed as pastor, but 
the congregation did not prosper and about 1880 meetings were dis- 
continued. 

On May 9, 1869, Elder Jonathan Dipboye organized a Christian 
church at Elm Grove school house, in Lafayette township, with eleven 
members. Meetings were held at the Elm Grove school house and other 
places in the township until 1872, when a frame house of worship, cost- 
ing about $1,000, was erected on the farm of George D. Thompson, not 
far from the school house. 

The Christian church at Elwood was first organized about 1854. 
Before the congregation could erect a house of worship the Civil war 
came on and for several years the church languished. After the war 
the work was revived and the society took the name of the Main Street 
Christian church. The congregation now occupies a modern and com- 
modious house of worship, a handsome brick structure, at the corner 
of Main and Eighteenth streets, and is in a prosperous state both in 
membership and finances. The Holiness Christian church is located 
at No. 2209 Main street, where the society has a small frame church, 
and there is a Church of Christ located at the corner of North B and 
Twentieth streets. 

About 1876 the Baptists, Methodists and Christians of Adams 
township, especially those congregations near New Columbus, united 
in building a house of worship to be used by all three denominations 
alternately. This house stood a short distance of the village and was 
known as the "Union Church." It is no longer in existence. 

New Light Christians 

This denomination has never been very strong in Madison county. 
The Elm Grove church, above referred to, some years after its estab- 



244 HISTORY OF MADISON COLXTY 

lishment, became a New Light church. About twenty members of this 
sect formed a society in Duck Creek township and for awhile met with 
the United Brethren in the church on the Hollingsworth farm, or with 
the Methodists at "Reel Chapel," a building erected by John Reel, of 
the New Light congregation. North of Linwood is a small frame build- 
ing known as "Olivet" church, where a little band of the New Lights 
hold services, and there is a New Light church in what is known as 
Scott's addition to the city of Alexandria. 

The Lutherans 

As early as 1847 Lutheran ministers visited the few members of 
that faith living near Ovid and held services in the residences of some 
of the faithful. A few years later a society was organized, with "William 
Sanders, John Baker, John Mowery and wife and J. B. Cromer and 
wife as the firet members. Meetings were held in an old log school 
house until 1861, when a substantial frame house of worship was erected 
a short distance of the village. Never very strong in numbers, the con- 
gregation found it burdensome to support a regular pastor, and serv- 
ices have been held only at irregular intervals. 

At Anderson there are two Lutheran churches. St. John's Evan- 
gelical Lutheran church was organized on February 1, 1893, by Rev. 
W. J. Finck, the first meeting of the society being held in a small 
building on West Ninth street. Subsequently a lot at the comer of 
Chase and Fourteenth streets was purchased and a house of worship 
adequate to the needs of the congregation was erected. The German 
Evangelical Lutheran church was organized sometime after St. John's. 
It is an active growing congregation, M-hose place of worship is on Main 
street, between Twentieth and Twenty-first streets. 

At Elwood, St. John's Evangelical Lutheran church has a nice frame 
house of worship at the corner of North F and Fourteenth streets. The 
congregation here is harmonious and prosperous, although not large 
numerically. The Evangelical Liitheran church of Alexandria has been 
more fortunate in one respect than any other congregation in the county. 
It has a handsome brick house of worship at the corner of Black and West 
Washington streets that was erected by a wealthy New York lady and 
given to the Lutherans of Alexandria. 

The Presbyterians 

On September 4, 1851, Rev. Edward Schofield organized the First 
Presbyterian church of Anderson, with eleven members. For several 
years prior to that time ministers of this sect had visited Madison county 
at intervals and held services at the houses of the believers or in school 
houses. About three years after the society was organized a movement 
was started for the erection of a church. In 1855 a brick house, 36 by 
60 feet, was built on Meridian street, between Tenth and Eleventh, at a 
cost of $2,500. When the Baptist church was organized in 1872 this 
building was sold to the new society and the Presbyterians erected a 
handsome edifice on the southeast corner of Ninth and Jackson streets, 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 245 

where a lot had been donated by James Hazlett. This building is now 
owned by the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The present Presby- 
terian church, at the northeast corner of Ninth and Chase streets, was 
erected in 1904. It is a handsome brick building, witli tile roof and art 
glass windows, and is one of the most imposing buildings of its kind in 
the city of Anderson. 

A United Presbyterian church was organized at Alexandria on May 
4, 1893, and on the 1st of July following Rev. A. K. Straw was installed 
as pastor. Not long after that a regular Presbyterian church was 
established in that city and now has a cozy frame house of worship at 
the corner of Harrison and Broadway streets. The First Presbyterian 
church of Elwood was organized about the time that natural gas was 
discovered there, or soon afterward, and is now in a prosperous condition. 
Its house of worship is a good frame building located at the corner of 
South A and Eighteenth streets. 

The Universalist 

There are but two congregations of this denomination in the county — 
one at Pendleton and the other in Anderson. The Pendleton society 
was organized in Februarj^ 1859. The first meeting was held in Pendle- 
ton on the 6th. but the organization was etfected at Iluntsville on the 
20th of that month. Among the early members wei'e Joshua Crawford, 
John Tillson, James Cassiday, Lewis Cassiday, John Wert, John Houston, 
Isaac Busby and T. G. Mitchell. John Houston, John Tillson and David 
Bousman constituted the lirst board of trustees. ^Meetings were at first 
held in the second story of the seminary, the school house, or in residences, 
but before the close of the year a frame house with a seating capacity 
of about 400 was erected, at the cost of $2,500, on the corner of Main 
and Water streets. In 1895 the present building of brick, on the same 
site, was erected. It occupies the site of the old log court-house, where 
the Indian murderers were tried in 1824. A minister named Gibson 
was the first regular pastor, though the first Universalist sermon 
ever preached in Pendleton was delivered by Rev. R. B. Foster, of 
Indianapolis. 

The Anderson Universalist church is a comparatively new institution 
and as yet has not become strong enougli to erect a fine house of worship. 
The meeting place of this congregation is at 710 Jackson street. 

The Episcopali.\ns 

This denomination has churches at Anderson, Elwood and Alexandria. 
Trinity Episcopal church, of Anderson, was organized by Rev. J. H. 
McGlone, who began the work in 1890 and was the first rector after the 
church was established. Meetings were at first held in the Doxey Opera 
House until it was destroyed by fire, when a meeting place was found in 
the Olympic Theater. In time a lot was purchased at the corner of 
Thirteenth and School streets and in June, 1891, the corner-stone of the 
first Trinity church was laid. The building was completed in September 
of that year and meetings were held there until the erection of the present 
hand.some stone edifice on Delaware street, which was completed in 1910. 



346 IIISTOIJV OF .MADISON C'OIXTV 

St. Paul's Episcopal cliureh, at Alexandria, was organized in Decem- 
ber, 1805, l)y Kev. Francis C. Woodard. Meetings were held in halls, or 
other convenient places for awhile, but as the congregation gained in 
strength steps were taken to erect a church. The result is the cozy frame 
house of worship at the corner of p]ast Monroe and Harrison streets, 
where the meetings are now held regularly. 

St. Stephen's Protestant P^piscopal chui'ch, of Elwood, was organized 
about the same time as the one at Alexandria. This congregation now 
occupies a comfortable frame church edifice at the corner of North A and 
Eighteenth streets. 

Miscellaneous 

Mrs. Maria Woodworth, a trance evangelist, came to Anderson in the 
summer of 1886 and held meetings in a tent at the fair grounds. She 
made a number of converts and at the close of her meetings 106 persons 
were baptized into an organization called the ''Church of God." Soon 
after that a lot was purchased by the congregation, at the northeast 
corner of Fourteenth and Brown streets, where a house of worship was 
erected. It was dedicated in 1887 and the meetings of this peculiar scjt 
are still held there. 

Another church of the same faith was organized at Markleville in 
1887. A church was built and regular services were held for a time, 
but the interest waned and after about ten years the congregation was 
without a pastor. Some of the members of this society united with the 
church at Anderson. 

The Congregationalists have never been very strong in Madison 
county. Hope Congregational church, at Anderson, was organized on 
November 22, 1891, with eighteen members, and Rev. W. C. Gordon was 
the first pastor. For about a year meetings were held in the Olympic 
Theater and later in a building on Chase street. On August 16, 1894, the 
corner-stone of the brick edifice at the southeast corner of Tenth and 
Chase streets was laid anci the building was completed in September, 1895. 
For some reason the congregation did not prosper and in 1913 the house 
of worship was sold to the Friends. 

At Alexandria the eflPorts of the Congregationalists to establish a 
church met with a similar fate, the building they erected there being 
now owned and occupied by the^ Baptists. There are two congregations 
of this denomination now in the county — one on Pendleton avenue, in 
Anderson, and the other a Welsh Congregational church, Avhich has a 
neat frame house of worship at the corner of South P and Twenty-second 
streets, in the city of Elwood. 

On January 15, 1892, a Spiritualist societ.y was organized in Anderson. 
After holding meetings in dwellings for some time prior to that date, 
under the leadership of Dr. John Westerfteld, the organization was given 
an impetus at the beginning that resulted in the erection of a Spiritualist 
temple at northwest corner of Thirteenth street and ]\Iadison avenue 
before the close of the year 1892. 

Two years before tliis societ.y was organized the State Spiritualist 
Association purchased thirty acres of land just north of and ad.ioining 
Chesterfield for a camp ground. A large auditorium, wilh a seating 



IIISTOKY OF ilADlSON COUNT V 247 

capacity of about oOO, was built, tfie grounds were cleared of rubbish and 
undergrowth, several cottages were erected for the use of mediums or 
others who desire to sojourn on the grounds during the annual meeting, 
which is usually held in August. At these meetings Spiritualists come 
from all parts of the United States to consult with others of their belief 
and strengthen themselves in llie faith and doctrines of Spiritualism. 

In the ftiregoing, an etfort has been made to give a true and faithful 
account of the various religious organizations of the county since its 
organization. There are and have been some religious societies that are 
not mentioned, perhaps, because authentic information concerning them 
is not available. In closing this chapter it is deemed advisable to include 
a list of the church organizations in the three cities — Anderson, Elwood 
and Alexandria — as given in the last city directories. 

In Anderson. Allen Chapel, A. M. E., Sixteenth and Sheridan 
streets; Arrow Avenue Christian, Eighteenth and Arrow avenue; Central 
Christian, Tenth and Jackson ; East Lynn Christian, 2207 George street ; 
Christian Congregational, Pendleton avenue; Church of God, Fourteenth 
and Brown; First Baptist, Fourteenth and Lincoln; First Methodist 
Episcopal, Twelfth and Jackson ; First Jlethodist Protestant, Fifth and 
Locust ; First Presbyterian, Ninth and Chase ; First United Brethren, 
Ninth and IMadison avenue ; Friends, Tenth and Chase ; German Baptists, 
McKinley, between Twenty-first and Twenty-second ; (ierman Lutheran, 
Main, between Twenty and Twenty-first; Grace M. E., Fourteenth, 
between Cedar and Madison avenue; Holiness Christian, Twenty-fourth 
and Delaware ; Mission Alliance, Thirteenth and ]\Iain ; Noble Street M. 
E., 2332 Noble street; Park Place M. E., Seventh street, between Park 
and Central avenues; Second A. M. E., 1125 Delaware street; Second 
P>aptist (colored) Eleventh and Sherman; Seventh Day Adventists, 
Thirteenth near Hendricks; Spiritual Temple, Thirteenth and Madison; 
St. John's Lutheran, Fourteenth and Chase; St. Mary's Roman Catholic, 
Eleventh and Fletcher; Trinity Episcopal, Eleventh and Delaware; 
Universalist, 710 Jackson; Wesleyan ^I. E., 1209 West Ninth street. 

In Ehvood. First Baptist, South D and Anderson ; St. Joseph 's 
Roman Catholic, South A street ; Main Street Christian, IMain and 
Eighteenth; Holiness Chriatian, 220!) Main street; Welsh Congregational, 
South P and Twenty-second; St. John's Lutheran, North F and Four- 
teenth : First JMethodist Episcopal, North A and Anderson ; J"'irst Metho- 
dist Protestant, South D near Anderson ; First Presbyterian, South A 
and Eighteenth, United Brethren, North H and Fourteenth ; St. 
Stepiien's Episcopal, North A and Eighteenth; Church of Christ, North 
B and Twentieth. 

In Alexandria. First Baptist, West Church and Canal: Christian 
Science Society, Odd Fellows' hall; St. Paul's Episcopal, Monroe and 
Harrison; Evangelical Lutheran, Washington and Black; First Christian, 
Berry and West; First IMethodist Episcopal, Canal and Broadway; 
German Lutheran. Central avenue and Broadway; Joyce il. E. Chapel, 
Park avenue and Fifth, street; Colored ]\Iethodist Episcopal, Berry and 
liiack: Mission chureii, Harrison and Polk; New Light, Scott addition; 
United Brethren, Innisdale addition; St. Mary's Roman Catholi'>, Madi- 
son and Belmont ; First Presl)yterian, Harrison and Broadway. 



CHAPTER XV 

CHARITIES AND CEJIETERIES 

Early Methods of Caring for the Poor — Madison County's First 
PooRHousE — Later Poorhouses — The County Infirmary — Or- 
phans' Home — Associated Charities — St. John's Hospital — 
Sketch of its Founder — Country Graveyards by Townships — 
Groveland Cemetery at Pendleton — Odd Fellows' Cemetery 
at Alexandria— Park View — Elwood Cemetery — Gra\'e Rob- 
bery — Anderson Cemeteries — jMaplewood Association. 

In the early j'ears of Indiana's history the unfortunate poor were 
taken care of by the townships, each township having one or more ofBcers 
known as overseers of the poor. It was customary for these overseers 
to "farm out" tlie paupers under their charge. The results obtained 
by this method were not always humane, as the one who bought the 
services of a pauper was more frequently interested in "getting his 
money's worth" than in the welfare of his bond servant. To the credit 
of Madison county, it can be said that the practice never prevailed here 
to any great extent, though a few such cases are on record. The minutes 
of the county board for the January tenn in 1834 contain the following 
entry : 

"Now comes John Berry, one of the overseers of the poor of Ander- 
son township, and reports that, after due notice, he did, on the 11th day 
of December, 1833, farm out to Nathaniel Chapman, Lydia Passons, a 
pauper, for the tenn of one year for $11.75, he being the lowest bidder." 

About this time the first steps were taken to build a poorhouse for 
the county. At the May term in 1831 the commissioners received the 
report of Joseph Shannon, county agent, which was as follows : "To 
the honorable Board of Commissioners of Madison county, building of a 
bouse advertised on the 26th of Febniaiy and sold on the 7th day of 
April, 1834, to the lowest bidder, to wit': Jacob Shaul, for $20.00, he 
giving bond and approved security to have the poorhouse finished on or 
before the 5th day of ^May, on Section 15, northeast quarter, town 19, 
N. R. 7 E. Joseph Shannon, Agent." 

The report was approved by the board and the county aiulitor was 
ordered to draw a warrant for $20 in favor of Jacob Shaul for build- 
ing a poorhouse. This poorhouse was located on the road later known as 
the Fishersburg pike, about two miles of the public square in Anderson. 
On December 7, 1847, William Sparks, James Bell and Bazaliel Thomas, 
county commissioner, sold to John Davis the east half of .e northeast 

248 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 249 

quarter of section 15, to\«iship 19, range 7, for $400, the order stating 
that the tract thus transferred was the poor farm. 

Four years before that sale was made, the commissioners had pur- 
chased two acres of ground in what afterward became the South Park 
addition to the city of Anderson, the tract extending from JMain to Pearl 
streets, between Nineteenth and Twenty-third. John Renshaw, county 
agent, awarded to John Jordan a contract for the erection of a "county 
poor house, 20 by 30 feet square, two stories higli, with a stone chimney," 
for $100. This was an iiupruveinent over tlie $20 building 
erected in 1834, and with several additions and other improvements 
served the county as a home for the poor for over a quarter of a century. 

At the March term of the commissioners' court in 1853, Neal Hardy, 
William Sparks and Evan Ellis were appointed a special committee to 
examine farms for sale, report upon the prices for which they could be 
purchased, the character of the buildings thereon, and whether living 
water was plentiful upon such fanns, with a view to establishing the 
county poor farm in a new location. If this committee ever carried out 
the investigations for which it was appointed, the records do not show 
the fact, but it is probable that nothing was done, a.s the poorhouse in 
the south part of Andei*son continued in use until 1868. In that year 
it was sold and the commissioners purchased a farm in Richland town- 
ship of John Nelson and the paupers were removed there. In purchas- 
ing this farm an agreement was made with Mr. Nelson to act as super- 
intendent of the farm and keeper of the poor and he continued to act in 
that capacity until the board decided to purchase another farm, in a more 
desirable location, and erect a permanent poorhouse. This farm was 
afterward conveyed back to Mr. Nelson. 

At a special session of the commissioners, held on July 5, 1877, the 
board purchased of Berrj'man Shafer 212 acres of land in Union town- 
ship, about four miles east of Anderson, and there permanently estab- 
lished the county infirmary. At the time of purchase there was a large 
brick residence on the farm and this was converted into a residence for 
the .superintendent. Plans and specifications were advertised for, and on 
July 18, 1877, those submitted by Edwin May, an Indianapolis architect, 
were accepted. On September 3, 1877, the contract for the erection of 
a building was a\\ arded to William B. Wright, of Anderson, for $7,200. 
It was completed in January, 1878, when the paupers were removed to 
the new institution, which was placed under the charge of A. J. Ross as 
superintendent, his wife at the same time being appointed matron. Re- 
cent improvements have been made, which gives Sladison county one of 
the best infirmaries in the State of Indiana. 

Some feeble attempts were made to care for the orphans and friend- 
less children of the county prior to 1885, but it was not until March 6, 
1885, that any official action was taken I'V the board of county com- 
missioners. The records for that date contain the following entry : 

"It is ordered by the board that a home for the friendless and orphan 
children of Madison county, Indiana, be purchased and established at 
such place in said county as said board of commissioners may designate." 

On December 4, 1885, it was "ordered by the board that in all appli- 
cations for admission to the orphans' home, the application must be 



250 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

accompanied by the recommendation of the township trustee where the 
child resides that such child is a proper subject for relief in the county 
asylum. ' ' 

This was followed on December 8, 1885, by the appointment of a 
visiting committee, consisting of B. W. Scott, Mrs. Edward Roberts and 
Mrs. Leah M. Craven, though up to this time no home had been estab- 
lished. On March 17, 1886, Decatur Vandeventer and wife transfcred 
to the county of Madison ten acres in the west half of the northwest 
quarter, section 19, township 19, range 8, for a consideration of $1,000, 
as a site for an orphans' home. This tract is located in the southeast 
part of the city of Anderson, fronting east on Columbus avenue and 
north on Twenty-fifth street. In September after the purchase of the 
property Thomas J. Lyst was paid -$63 for building a cistern, the 
first improvement made by the county. The old residence was used as 
the "home," Mrs. Henry C. Brown, j\Irs. Allen Richwiue and H. J. 
Blacklidge were appointed a visiting committee, and Mrs. Celia Hockett 
was installed as matron. She resigned on December 18, 1886, and Mrs. 
Mary C. Robertson was appointed in her place. Mrs. Robertson remained 
as matron for several yeai-s. 

At first, the plan for caring for the children was to pay the matron 
so much daily for each inmate. The contract made with Mrs. Robert- 
son, when she first entered upon her duties, shows that she was to receive 
twenty-five cents per day for each child under her charge, for which she 
was to supply them with wholesome food and the necessary clothing, 
and to send them lO the most convenient public school, the commissioners 
to furnish the books and other necessary school supplies, and to pay 
the matron's salary quarterly. This system was continued until in 1901. 
Late in the year 1900 a movement was started to organize a Childrens' 
Home Association, the principal object of which should be the finding of 
permanent homes with good families for orphans, friendless or abandoned 
children. The organization was completed in January, 1901, when the 
county commissioners turned over the buildings and grounds of the 
orphans' home to the association, which assumed control of the institu- 
tion on February 1, 1901, and is still in charge. 

The present officers of the association are: ^Irs. "Wallace B. Campbell, 
president; Mrs. Isaac E. May, vice-president; Mrs. H. D. Webb, secre- 
tary ; Wallace B. Campbell, treasurer. W. A. Harris is the superintend- 
ent of the home and Mrs. W. A. Harris is matron. Since the association 
took charge of the home the commissioners have annually made an 
appropriatiozi for its support, Several essential improvements have been 
made in the property and the institution has been placed upon a more 
substantial foundation than under the old regime. From forty to sixty 
children have annually been placed in good homes, where they will be 
cared for and educated. None of the officers or members of the Chil- 
drens' Home Association receives a salary, their labors being given for 
the good of humanity, and through their systematic and unselfish work 
the orphans' home of Madison county has lieen improved in character 
until it will compare favorably with such institutions elsewhere. 

In the early part of 1903 there were a number of unemployed people 
in Anderson, many of whom were both able and willing to work, but were 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 251 

unable to find any reniuneralive oniployinent. These conditions led to 
the organization of the Associated Charities, which began its labors on 
May 7, I'M'.i, with the following officers : W. 11. Stanton, president; Mrs. 
George J. Manning, vice-president; ilrs. C. W. Ilooven, secretary; W. S. 
Poling, trea.surer; JMiss Anna Doan, general secretary. The plan and 
purpose of the organization is similar to those of organized charity work 
everywhere — to assist the worthy poor by giving them opportunities to 
find employment where it is [lossible to do so, rather than by dispensing 
eharit}' with a lavish and indiscriminate hand. 

Headquarters are maintained at 425 Union building, where the gen- 
eral secretary is in attendance every afternoon, except Sundaj'. Most 
of the work devolves upon the general secretary and in the ten years that 
have passed since the Associated Charities was first organized, this office 
has been held by four persons, viz : Miss Anna Doan, Miss Maud Prier, 
Miss Gertrude JlcCleery and Miss Leafy ]\I. Wharton. The last named 
has held the position since June, 1912. In September, 1913, the officers 
were : i\Irs. C. W. Hooven, president ; A. W. Brady, vice-president ; Mrs. 
G. A. Lambert, secretary; E. E. Luce, treasurer; Miss Leafy M. Whar- 
ton, general secretary; Earle Y'^oung,. chairman of the finance committee. 

Anderson has one charitable institution of which her citizens may 
well be proud, and that is St. John's Hospital, situated between Brown 
and Jackson streets, the grounds extending from Nineteenth to Twenty- 
second street. This hospital was made possH le by the generosity of 
"Uncle" John Ilickey, who on March 31, 1894, deeded the old Hickey 
homestead, occupying the above mentioned tract of ground, to "the 
trustees of the corporation of St. Mary's Academy, for the use and 
benefit of the Sisters of the Holy Cross." The ^^ed of convej^ance also 
contains the provision that if it should ever become necessary, for any 
reason, to sell the property the trustees shall invest the proceeds of 
such sale in other propert.y, within or adjacent to the city of Anderson. 
Immediately after the conveyance was made and the trustees came into 
possession of the property a hospital was opened in the old frame resi- 
dence. The next year a two-story brick building, 65 by 95 feet, was 
erected and ecpiipped with every modern hospital appliance for the treat- 
ment of diseases or the perfprmanee of surgical operations. This build- 
ing was so designed that it could be added to, should the occasion ever 
require, and in 1900 it was improved and extended, making the hospital 
one of the best in the state of Indiana. Although the institution is the 
property of and under control of the Catholic Sisters of the Holy 
Cross, many public spirited citizens of Anderson contributed to the 
building fund, confident in the belief that the hospital would be 
impartially managed. And this has been the case. Its doors and bene- 
fits are open to the afflicted, without regard to race, social condition or 
religious affiliation. 

John Ilickey, the founder of this institution, was a native of County 
Wicklow, Ireland. He came to Anderson in 1853 and there accumu- 
lated enough of this world's goods to give him a competence. In giv- 
ing the old homestead for a hospital site he might have perpetuated his 
name by a stipulation that the institution should bear the name of 
"Hickey Memorial Hospital," or some similar appellation. But this 



252 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

he did not do. He gave the ground to an organization of the church 
in which he had been reared, confident that the benefits of the hospital 
would be administered in that broad catholic spirit which has always 
been a distinguishing trait of hospitals of this character. ' ' Uncle 
John" Hickey, as he was affectionately called by his many friends, died 
a few years ago in Anderson. His familiar face is missed upon the 
streets of the city where he so long made his home, but the hospital 
he established is an enduring monument to his unselfishness and char- 
itable disposition. 

In the settlement of a new country, one institution that must be 
established, yet one that the settlers are loath to see make its appear- 
ance among them, ?s a burial place for the dead. Scattered over the 
county of Madison are a number of country graveyards, most of which 
have no special history. When the first death in a community would 




St. John's Hospital 

occur some one would donate a piece of ground for a burial place and 
this would be the begiiming of a cemetery. Frequently no deed of such 
a tract was made to trustees and entered upon the records. As the 
old settlers died or moved away these graveyards often fell into disuse, 
were neglected and in many instances only a trace of them remains. 
As far as possible a list of these country graveyards is given by town- 
ships, and where any one of them has a recorded history it is noted. 

In Adams township there is a small burial ground on section 10, 
near the northeast corner of the to\^^lship. The Gilmore cemetery, on 
section 17, was laid out in 1833, on ground donated for the purpose by 
Hugh Gilmore. His wife. Lucretia. died in February, 1833, and her 
remains were the first to be interred upon the tract set apart by her 
husband as consecrated ground for a neighborhood cemetery. On sec- 
tion 18 there are two cemeteries. One near the Lutheran church, near 
Ovid, and another a short distance further southwest, on the John S. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 253 

Davis farm. On section 20, on the south bank of Lick creek and about 
half a mile west of the Big Four Railroad, is another graveyard, and 
the Collier cemetery is situated on section 35, on land donated by J. 
F. Collier in 1836 as a burial place in connection with the Baptist 
church. Mr. Collier's son Amos, who died on January 3, 1836, was the 
first one to be buried in this cemetery. 

In Boone township the plat books show a cemetery on the old Dickey 
farm, near the center of section 10, and another on section 21, near the 
site of the old village of Forrestville, which was laid out in 1850. It 
is probable that this graveyard was estalilished about the same time. 

In the southern part of Duck Creek township, on the line between 
sections 2 and 35, is a cemetery that was evidently established at an 
early date, as is shown by the fact that when a public highway was 
established on the section line a detour was made to the southward 
around the graveyard to avoid disturbing the resting place of some of 
the old pioneers of the township. 

There are a number of burial places in Pall Creek township, where 
the first settlements in the county were made. As recorded in chapter 
V, the firet deaths in this township were those of a Mr. Martin and 
his wife, who were buried in one grave, near a large oak tree, in the 
western part of the present town of Pendleton, though no regular 
cemetery was ever established at that place. A short distance east of 
the village of Huntsville, near the center of section 15, is an old bury- 
ing ground, on what is known as the Aiman farm. Just a mile west of 
it, on section 16, is the old Falls cemetery, which is now controlled by 
the Grovelawn Cemetery Company. 

Samuel Irish donated a tract of ground here for burial purposes and 
the Palls Cemetery Association was organized on December 16, 1864, 
with Dr. M. G. Walker as president ; T. G. Mitchell, secretary ; J. 0. 
Hardy, treasurer; W. A. Baker and David Bowsman, directors. The 
cemetery established by this association is immediately south of the old 
Falls graveyard on the tract donated by Mr. Irish, on the northeast 
corner of the southwest quarter of section 16. 

The Grovelawn Cemetery Company was incorporated on July 25, 
1902, with a capital stock of $22,500. "Of this stock $7,500 is known as 
common stock and the remainder is preferred stock. Ample provisions 
are made in the articles of incorporation for the redemption and can- 
cellation of both the common and preferred stock of the company. 
Soon after being incorporated the company purchased fift.v-seven acres 
of land immediately across the Anderson pike from the old Palls ceme- 
tery. In an announcement by the company it is stated that "A satis- 
factory arrangement has been made with owners of lots in the old 
Falls cemeterj', in which there are no longer any lots for sale, whereby 
these old burying grounds, which are adjacent to the new grounds and 
onl.v separated from them by a highway, become a part of the grounds 
of the new a.ssociation and governed liy its rules. These old cemetery 
grounds compose about eight acres of land, and the grounds purchased 
by the new association fifty-seven acres, thus making sixty-five acres in 
all under the ownership and care of Grovelawn Cemetery Company. 
The needs of the community for burial purposes, it will therefore be 
seen, have been amply pi-ovided for for more than one hundred years." 



254 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

R. Ulrich, a landscape architect of national reputation, was engaged 
to prepare plans for the walks and drives through the grounds and 
make such suggestion as his knowledge and experience might dictate 
for otherwise beautifying the grounds. 

One thing has been done by the Grovelawn Cemetery Company that 
deserves especial commendation. Thomas M. Pendleton, the founder of 
the town that bears his name, was buried upon the farm he owned at 
the time of his death. The new company removed his remains from the 
neglected grave and reinterred them in a prominent place in the new 
cemetery, marked by a "beautiful monument purchased by voluntary 
contributions from persons who were pleased thus to honor his memory." 

The officers of the company in 1913 were : W. F. Morris, president ; 
J. Q. Reid, vice-president; W. H. Aiman, secretary; A. B. Taylor, 
treasurer. These officers and J. D. Kinnard constitute the executive 
committee and all are members of the board of trustees. The other 
trustees are C. L. Henry, "W. H. Lewis, D. J. Williams, 0. W. Brown- 
back, G. D. Barrett, Elmer Hester, T. il. Hardy, George P. Frank, 
George P. Longnecker and 0. H. Burdett. 

Another old country graveyard in Fall Creek township is situated 
in the southeast quarter of section 22, near the old Friends church 
established there many years ago, and still another is on the south 
bank of Lick creek, near the site of the old village of Menden. Here 
Ralph Williams, Mrs. Manly Richards and other Fall Creek township 
pioneers are buried. 

Pleasant Valley Methodist church, located in the northeastern part 
of Green township, was organized in 1841. In 1857 William A. Wil- 
liamson donated a tract of land near the church for burial purposes 
and this is known as Pleasant Valley cemetery. The first to be buried 
here was a little daughter of J. W. Ford, who died on March 30, 1858. 

Beech Grove cemetery was established in the latter part of the 
year 1871, when the German Baptists of Beech Grove church pur- 
chased two acres of ground from David Richards, in the southeast 
quarter of section 21, near the church, and set the tract apart as a 
graveyard in connection with their church. The first to be interred 
here was Washington Pettigrew, who died in the fall of 1872. 

At Mount Carmel Methodist church, near the present town of 
Ingalls, a cemetery was laid out in 1862 on land donated for the pur- 
pose by James Jones. In July of that year George Clayton, a private 
of the Second Indiana Cavalry, died while at home on furlough and 
his remains were the first to be interred in Mount Carmel cemetery. 
He was buried with military honors. 

On the Doty farm, about two miles west of Ingalls and not far from 
public school No. 1, in Green township, is a small graveyard where 
some of the early settlers of that locality are buried. 

Four country graveyards are marked on the plat books for Jack- 
near the southern border of section 13, which is the northeast corner 
son township. One is on the bank of a little tributary of Pipe creek, 
section of the township. The second is on the Foland farm, near Pipe 
creek and public school No. 3, in the northwest quarter of section 27. 
The third is situated on the south bank of White river, a short dis- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 255 

tanee southeast of Perkiiisville, and the fourth is about half a mile east 
of the little hamlet of Halford. 

When the Pan Handle Railroad was built through Lafayette town- 
ship in 1856, John Keller started "Keller's Station" about a mile and 
a half northwest of the present village of Florida. A little east of the 
station a graveyard was established on the southwest quarter of section 
15, where several of the early settlers are buried. Keller's Station did 
not long survive and the graveyard is now seldom u.sed, except by some 
family whose relatives were buried there at some period in the past. 

About four miles northeast of Alexandria, on the south bank of 
Pipe creek and in the southwest quarter of section 10 is a small ceme- 
tery that dates back to the settlement of that part of Monroe township. 
There is another little cemetery about a mile southeast of the old vil- 
lage of Osceola, on a small tributan' of Lilly creek. A third is located 
on section 22. a short distance southeast of Orestes, and near the north- 
west corner of the township is the old IMount Tabor cemetery, which 
was established in connection with Mount Tabor Methodist church, about 
1850. There is also a small graveyard, just east of the road running 
from Alexandria to Anderson, near the southern border of the town- 
ship. 

There is a small cemetery between Jackson and Monroe streets, just 
east of Harrison, in the city of Alexandria, though there have been 
no interments here for several years. In the early '70s Necessity lodge, 
No. 222, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Alexandria, realizing 
the need for a cemetery conducted on modern principles, purchased a 
tract of ground south of what is now Fourth street and east of Park 
avenue, laid out the walks and drives, and put the property in charge of 
a board of trustees composed of members of the lodge. Subsequently 
some additional ground was purchased, extending the cemetery south 
to Sixth street, and including in all about twenty-five acres. Burials in 
this cemeterj' are not confined to members of the order, but are open to 
the general public. This is the only cemetery in the county owned and 
managed by a fraternal organization and it is one of the prettiest in 
Madison county. 

On ^larch 13, 1908, the Park View Cemetery Association, of Alex- 
andria, was incorporated with JI. il. Walker, president; Harry M. 
Adams, vice-president ; Virgil S. Day, secretary, and Vernon H. Day, 
treasurer. The capital stock of the as.sociation was fixed at $5,000 and 
a tract of ten acres, immediately south of the Odd Fellows' Cemetery, 
was purchased and laid out for burial purposes. This is one of the 
newest cemeteries in the county, and while there have been but few 
burials so far, there is every prospect that it will become one of the most 
beautiful, as the association is exercising great care in looking after the 
grounds and keeping them in the best of condition. 

In Pipe Creek township there are two graveyards near Frankton — 
one south of the town, near the township line, and the other north of 
Pipe creek, not far from the Pan Handle Railroad. There is also a 
small cemetery on the Shell farm, in section 11, near the southern 
boundary of the township, and another in the northeast corner of the 
same section. Other old-time graveyards in this township are in the 



256 HISTOKY OF MADISON COUNTY 

west side of section 19, near the Big Branch ; near the center of section 
21, about a mile southwest of Elwood ; and in the southeast corner of 
section 30, about three-fourths of a mile north of Frankton. 

The Elwood Cemetery Association was incorporated in April, 1895, 
by Daniel King, Thomas Dehority, L. M. Good, Lewis Hefner and Dr. 
Daniel Sigler. On the bank of Duck creek, south of the Lake Erie & 
Western Railroad and extending from Tenth to Thirteenth streets, was 
an old graveyard that had been established soon after the town of 
Quincy was laid out in 1853. No one was responsible for its care 
except the persons whose relatives and friends were there interred and 
this voluntary service was not sufficient to prevent the place from 
becoming unsightly by being overrun with weeds and shrubbery. 
Moreover, the growth of Elwood from a small town to a city of con- 
siderable portions, after the discovery of natural gas, made it 
essential that a cemetery association be incorporated, with power to 
assume the management of the burial place. The old graveyard was 
therefore turned over to the association and in a short time presented a 
different appearance. 

The site of this cemetery is naturally pretty, and since the improve- 
ments made by the association it has become one of the handsomest 
"cities of the dead" in Madison county. In this cemetery is the vault 
or mausoleum erected by Dr. Stanley W. Edwins, which is considered to 
be the finest in the county. It is built of dressed Indiana, oolitic lime- 
stone, is elevated above the adjacent driveway and is approached by a 
flight of six stone steps. Inside the structure are marble sarcophagi, 
stone vases and urns for flowers, etc. This tomb was erected by Doctor 
Edwins in memory of his daughter, Mrs. Flora M. Howe, whose remains 
are therein deposited. The cost of the vault was about $4,000. There 
are also a number of fine moniunents in the Elwood Cemetery, most of 
which have been erected since the organization of the association. 

In 1891 Bishop M. E. Campion, of the Fort Wayne diocese, con- 
secrated a tract of five acres of ground one and a half miles southwest 
of Elwood for a cemetery for St. Joseph's parish of the Catholic church. 
Since the establishment of this cemetery about four hundred and fifty 
bodies have been there interred. According to the custom of the Cath- 
olic church it is under the care of a sexton, who keeps it in order, and it 
is one of the really pretty burial places of the county. 

The plat books of Kichland township show three graveyards, all of 
which were established years ago. The first is in section 5, near the 
northern boundary; the second is at the cross-roads on the southern 
line of section 11, and less than a mile west of the Delaware county 
line ; and the third is in the northwest quarter of section 19, a short 
distance southeast of the old village of Prosperity. 

Two miles northeast of Fishersburg, on the road running to Ander- 
son, is an old graveyard, where a number of the pioneers of Stony 
Creek township are buried. Near the southern line of section 28, a 
short distance south of the town of Lapel and on the banks of Stony 
creek, is another cemetery, which is used by the people of Lapel and 
Fishersburg. 

On the county poor farm in section 10, Union township, is the "Pot- 



HISTORY OF AIADISON COUNTY 257 

ler's Field," where the inmates of the county infirmary who die while 
in that institution are buried. Other cemeteries in this township are 
located in the southeast quarter of section 23 and near the center of 
section 35. There is also a family burying ground on the old Clem 
farm near the west side of section 34. 

Only two cemeteries are shown on the plat of Van Buren township. 
One of these is located in the northwest quarter of section 17, a short 
distance west of the Michigan division of the Big Four Railroad and 
less than half a mile south of Zion church. The other is at the old 
Christian church about a mile south of Summitville. The ground for 
the latter was donated for a gi-aveyard by Thomas Cartwright soon 
after the township was settled. 

About half a mile southwest of the old Moss Island Mills, on the 
north side of the Perkinsville pike, is a small graveyard, which is one 
of the oldest in Anderson township. In the extreme southeast comer 
of section 22, near the line of the Union Traction Company and the 
road leading to Pendleton, is another old-time graveyard, and three 
miles south of Anderson, on the New Colimibus pike, is the Whetstone 
cemeterA-. This burial place aquired considerable notoriety in the early 
part of 1876, through the robbery of one of its graves. Mrs. Abner 
Brothers, a joiing and popular woman, who had been married but a 
short time, died early in the year and was buried here. On the night 
of January 14, 1876, John Stewart and Tunis Whetstone, returning 
home from a dance, upon approaching the cemetery noticed a team 
hitched to the fence, with two men not far from the bugg>-, and in the 
moonlight saw the nude corpse of a woman that had just been taken 
from the grave. They hurried to the residence of Dr. Railsback, a short 
distance north of the graveyard, and after arousing him started to alarm 
other persons living in the neighborhood. While they were thus en- 
gaged the two grave-robbers took the body and drove toward Anderson 
as fast as the horses could go. 

An investigation the next morning disclosed the fact that the body 
of Jlrs. Brothers was missing from the grave. Henry McDaniel, a 
brother-in-law of IMr. Brothers, and some of his friends hurried to 
Indianapolis, where they found the body in the dissecting room of one 
of the medical colleges. Suspicion pointed to a medical student that 
had been reading under Dr. Zimri Hockett, of Anderson, and it devel- 
oped in the investigation that the team and buggy used in carrying away 
the body belonged to Dr. Hockett. Marshal Daughert}^ went to Indian- 
apolis to arrest the student, who was then attending the college, but some 
of his friends warned him in time for him to make his escape. It was 
afterward learned that the intention was to take the body of a pauper 
named Taylor, who had recently been buried in the cemetery by the 
township trustee, and that the resurrectionists made a mistake in the 
grave. The student remained away from Madison county until the 
excitement died away, when he returned to Anderson. While the excite- 
ment was at its height some people were inclined to think that Dr. 
Hockett was connected with the robbery, but it was afterward made 
]>laiu that he was blameless, the body snatchers taking his team and 
bugj,'y without his knowledge or consent. 



258 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

At the March session in 1832 the county board "Ordered, that Wil- 
liam Curtis, agent of Madison county, for Andcrsontown, the seat of 
justice of said county, do make and execute to John Berry, in consider- 
ation of a certain lot of ground, by said Berry transferred, for the 
purpose of a burying ground, a deed for lots No. 15 and 16, in the south- 
east square ot Andcrsontown." 

Two years later, in January, 1834, the board again took action upon 
the subject of a burial place, the records of that session showing that 
it was "Ordered, That Joseph Shannon be, and he is hereby, appointed 
agent for the seat of justice of Madison county, and that he is hereby 
instructed to receive a good deed of John Berry for a burying ground, 
agreeably to said Berry's undertaking, and also to collect the amount 
of the donation subscribed thereon." 

The records do not show that a deed was ever executed by Berry, 
nor can the "amount of the donation subscribed thereon" be learned. 
This was the first cemetery at Anderson. It was located at the east end 
of Bolivar (now Tenth) street. In 1839 Collins Tharp donated a small 
tract of laud situated on the west side of Delaware street, between Elev- 
enth and Twelfth streets, as a site for a Methodist church and burial 
place. Most of the bodies buried iu the first cemetery were removed to 
the new one, but a few years after the Civil war the knoll upon which 
the old cemeter>' had been situated was removed by the Pan Handle 
Railroad Company and a number of human bones were found. These 
were loaded on the cars and hauled away, with the gravel which was 
being used as ballast along the line of the road. 

In 1863 the Anderson Cemeterj' Association was formed and a tract 
of ground north of the river was purchased as a site for a new place of 
sepulture. By this time the old Tharp graveyard was practically sur- 
rounded by residences and those buried there were removed to the new 
cemetery across the river. Some of the coziest residences in Anderson 
now occupy the ground that was formerly the Tharp gi-aveyard. 

St. Mary's cemetery was established by the Catholic church in 1867, 
when a tract of ground, a litle south of Twentieth street and extending 
from Brown to Lincoln streets, was purchased as the parish burial 
ground. A little later it was consecrated according to the ritual of the 
church and the first one to be buried here was Michael, the infant son 
of Mr. and ]\Irs. Michael Carmody. This cemetery is directly opposite 
St. Mary's hospital. 

Last but not least is the beautifid Maplewood cemetery, which lies 
just across the highway from the Anderson cemetery established iu 1863. 
Maplewood Cemetery Association was incorporated on February 17. 1'lir2 
The original trustees were George Lilly, John H. Terhune, AVilliam 
H. H. Quick, James J. Netterville, Thomas N. Stilwell, Albert A. Small, 
James A. Van Osdol, John L. Forkner, James Wellington, Willis S. 
Ellis, John P. Sears, George E. Nichol, Charles L. Henry, Dale J. Crit- 
tenberger and William H. Stanton. With the exception of jMessrs. 
Terhune, AVellington, Small and Sears, the original members still serve 
on the board. Terhune and Wellington are deceased. In 1913 the 
officers of the board were : George Lilly, president ; Will Surbaugh, sec- 
retary; George N. Nichol, treasurer. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 259 

Soon after the association was incorporated a tract of about 216 acres 
of ^ound, situated immediately east of the old Anderson cemetery, 
wa-s purchased and R. Ulrich, a landscape architect, of Brooklyn, New 
York, was engaged to lay out and plat a cemetery according to the most 
approved designs of modern times. Upon the grounds is a natural grove 
of about thirty-tive acres and in the open places some 800 trees have 
been planted. The work of improvement is still going on, the drive- 
ways are being macadamized, etc., and to this work lot owners are not 
asked to contribute, the entire cost being paid by the association. 

In 1907, when those having friends buried in the old cemetery across 
the road saw what the Maplewood Association was doing, a movement 
was started to have the old graveyard placed under the association's 
care. A fund of $10,000 was raised by subscription and paid to the asso- 
fiation in consideration of its assuming the perpetual care and control 
of the old cemetery, and a contract to this effect was consummated. The 
association then assumed control of the old cemetery, which is now 
known as West Maplewood, and began the work of clearing away the 
weeds and briers with which it was overrun. In the six years that have 
elapsed since that time the old cemeterj' has put on a new appearance. 

The Maplewood Association was not organized for profit. It was 
projected and maintained by men whose chief desire was to give to the 
people of Anderson and vicinity a burial ground of which they need 
not feel ashamed. It is the plan that, when the debts of the association 
are paid and the current operating expenses are provided for, the entire 
income shall be used in further improving and beautifying the grounds. 
The capital stock of the association is $75,000, of which $25,000 is com- 
mon and $50,000 preferred stock. Article III of the articles of incor- 
poration provides that "All funds of the corporation raised by the issu- 
ance of capital stock shall be used in the purchase and improvement of 
real estate acquired for cemetery purposes; and all funds arising from 
the sale of burial lots or burial permits shall be used to retire the capital 
stock as herein before provided, and in the improvement of the property 
of the corporation and in the acquisition of additional property and 
improvement thereof, all of which shall be used for cemetery purposes. 
It is specifically understood and agreed upon that and provided that all 
funds received by the corporation from the sale of burial lots and burial 
permits not required for the care and improvement of the cemetery 
property, the payment of necessary and proper expenses and the retire- 
ment of capital stock, as herein provided, shall be kept and used as a 
sacred fund for all time for the improving, ornamenting and caring for 
the cemetery property." 

Further on in the articles it is stipulated that the "provision regard- 
ing the funds of this corporation shall never be changed or modified, it 
being a fundamental principle upon which this corporation is organized 
that no profits shall inure therefrom to any person or persons, either 
by virtue of their being stockholders or owners of lots or burial per- 
mits under this corporation, save and except the dividends herein before 
specified to be paid on the preferred capital stock." 

Organized on this basis, if the plan is adhered to, there is no reason 
why the Maplewood cemetery at Anderson should not become one of the 



260 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

most beautiful in the state. The natural features are well adapted to 
the purpose and the work so far done justifies the prediction that the 
Maplewood Cemetery of the future will be still more attractive than it 
is at present. 

Much credit is due to William H. Stanton, the first president of the 
association, for the beautiful appointments of Maplewood cemetery. He 
visited a number of cities and studied their cemeteries, and with the 
knowledge thus gained he was able to pursue his work intelligently until 
he succeeded in laying the foundation of a plan that has made Maple- 
wood one of the beauty spots of Madison county. 



CHAPTER XVI 

SOCIETIES AND FRATERNITIES 

Agricultural Societies — Fair Associations and Fairs — Anderson 
Lyceum — Old Settlers' Association — The Patrons op Husbandry 
— Horse Thief Detective Association — The Masonic Fraternity 
— Independent Order of Odd Fellows — Knights of Pythias — Im- 
proved Order of Red Men — Grand Army of the Republic — A Liv- 
ing Flag — Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks — Loyal 
Order of Moose — Miscellaneous Lodges and Societies — Trades 
Unions — Daughters of the American Revolution. 

One of the first societies to be organized in Madison county was an 
agricultural society. In May,' 1835, the county commissioners ordered 
"That notice be given by posting up manuscript advertisements at 
Pendleton, Andersontown and New Columbus, that a meeting for the 
purpose of organizing an agricultural society in Madison county will be 
held at Andersontown on the last Saturday of May, instant, and that 
the sheriff be required to give said notice." 

No record of what was done at that meeting can be found, but it is 
quite probable that a society of some sort was organized, as the com- 
missioners records for March 7, 1837, contain the following entry: 
"Ordered by the board, that the sum of twenty-five dollars of the county 
funds of Madison county be, and the same is hereby, appropriated to 
the agricultural society of said county, which sum shall be audited by 
the clerk and paid by the county treasurer to the president of said 
society. ' ' 

The first fair in the county, so far as can be learned, was a private 
enterprise, projected by Archibald Parker and Joseph Barnes, and 
was given upon the public square in 1837. No admission fee was charged 
and no premiums were awarded except the red and blue ribbons. The 
next fair wa-s at Huntsville in 1839, but little can be ascertained con- 
cerning it. further than that William Roach, Isaac Busby, John H. Cook, 
Conrad Crossley and John J. Lewis were the active promoters of the fair. 

There is no record showing that the agricultural society of 1835 ever 
gave an exhibit of fann products. This society did not live long and in 
1850 a second society was organized with Dr. Townsend Ryan as pres- 
ident. The first fairs held by this society were on grounds at the west 
end of Tenth street, on what is now known as the Sansberry homestead. 
In June, 1862, William Crim, one of the county commissioners, was 
ordered by the board to purchase twelve acres of the Michael Ryaa 

261 



262 HISTOKY OF MADISON COUNTY 

land, near Anderson, "for the use of the Madison County Agricultural 
Society (Pair Ground), said purchase not to exceed $33 per acre." 
At the Septeml)er term following' Mr. Crim reported the purchase of 
lots Nos. 13 and 14, Thomas ^Moore's addition to the town of Anderson, 
each containing six acres, for the sum of .$406. The purchase was 
approved by the board and on the same day the lots were donated to the 
agricultural society, on condition that the society would fit up and 
properly maintain a fair ground upon the same. Failure to comply with 
the conditions imposed would cause the lots to revert to the county. 
In June, 1868, the society paid back to the county the purchase price 
of $406, with interest, and received a deed to the fair grounds. Lots 13 
and 14 of Moore addition were immediately north of pjighth street and 
west of the Michigan division of the Big Four Railroad, extending 
north to the vicinity of the present Third .street. They have since been 
subdivided and are now covered with comfortable homes. 

Under the act of February 20, 1867, the Pendleton Agricultural 
Society was organized at a meeting held in Judge Ilervey Craven's 
office on June 20, 1867, when a committee of ten was appointed to solicit 
stock subscriptions. On July 27, 1867, a second meeting was held and 
the articles of association were adopted. That same month the society 
purchased of W. V. Shanklin eighteen acres of ground for a fair ground. 
On February 8, 1868, J. H. Kinnard was elected president of the society ; 
E. Williams, secretary, and J. W. Bomgardner, treasurer. The first 
fair was held by this society in September, 1868, and annual exhibits 
were held thereafter until 1876, when the society was disbanded. 

In the meantime the Madison County Joint-Stock Agricultural 
Society had been organized in May, 1868, with "William Crim as pres- 
ident. Dr. Townsend Ryan, secretary, and John P. Barnes, treasurer. 
On the last day of that month a tract of ground a short distance of the 
old fair grounds was leased and the first fair was given by the society 
the following fall. A considerable sum of money was expended in mak- 
ing improvements upon the grounds and fairs were held annually until 
1890. The last thre? fairs preceding that year had not been well at- 
tended and the society underwent some financial reverses. The land in 
the meantime had increased in value, proceedings had been instituted 
for opening streets through the grounds, and in 1890 they were sub- 
divided into residence lots and the old joint-stock agricultural society 
passed out of existence. 

From 1892 to 1894 the North Anderson Driving Park Association 
held annual races on grounds m North Anderson. Of this association 
H. C. Ryan was president; C. K. McCullough, secretary; "W. T. Diu'bin, 
treasurer ; N. A. Free, superintendent. Large stables and a mile track 
were provided, but the races were not patronized as liberally as the asso- 
ciation had anticipated, the stockholders refused to meet the assess- 
ments, and the grounds were sold by order of the circuit court in 1894. 

The last fair ground established in the vicinity of Anderson was 
situated on the right bank of White river, at the east end of Ninth 
street. Fairs were held here for a few years, but they were not suc- 
cessful, owing to a general lack of interest, and the fair grounds were 
sold to the city of Anderson for a public park. This park was dedicated 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 263 

on .luly 4, 1913, and is known as "Foster Park." from the fact that the 
laiui was inirchasetl dnring the administration of Hon. Frank P. Foster 
as mayor. 

The Ehvood Driving I'ark and Fair Association wa.s organized on 
October 3, 1895, with C. C Dehority, P. T. O'Brien, D. G. Evans, M. J. 
Clancy, H. G. Ilarting and F. ^l. Ilarhit as the first board of directors. 
Fairs have been held here annually since that time and have been fairly 
well attentled. Horse, corn and poultry shows are given every year at 
Alexandria, Lapel and Pendleton. 

A society known as the Anderson Lyceum was organized in 185S 
for the purpose of discussing current topics and such questions as 
might come l>efore it. One of the questions debated soon after the 
society was organized was the "Kansas Question," which just then was 
attracting universal attention. Among the debaters were such men as 
Dr. Townsend Ryan, Neal C. MeCuUough, Thomas N. Stilwell, Milton S. 
Robinson. James 'M. Dickson, Thomas W. Cook and I. N. Terwilliger, 
all of whom were more or less prominent in pul)lic life in later years. 

Probably the first old settlers' meeting in the county was held at 
Pendleton in 1856. Among those who' participated were John ]Marklc, 
John H. Cook, Thomas Silver, Isaac Bushy, Conrad Crossley, Samuel D. 
Irish and Abel Johnson, all of whom have since passed to their reward. 
The next meeting of this character, of which there is any account, was 
held at Alexandria in July, 1873. It was attended by people from all 
parts of the county and by some from adjoining counties, and a general 
interest was awakened in the importance of perpetuating the history anrl 
traditions of pioneer days. The following year the old settlers of Mad- 
ison and Hamilton counties held a meeting near Perkinsville. Other 
meetings were held at various places during the next twenty years, but 
it was not until July 16, 1894, that st*ps were taken to form a perma- 
nent Old Settlers' Aasociation. On that date a meeting called by Sam- 
uel Harden, Rufus H. Williams and others a.ssembled for the purpose. 
John L. Forkner presided at the meeting and William P. Newman acted 
as secretary. In the organization of the association Francis Watkins was 
elected president and a vice-president was cho.sen from each township 
in the count.v. The first meeting held under the auspices of the associa- 
tion v.as in Ruddle's grove on August 30, 1894. It was largely attended 
and John H. Terhune, then major of Anderson, welcomed the visitors 
in an appropriate address. A number of speeches were made by old 
residents, among whom were J. M. Farlow, Dr. Ward Cook, James 
Hollingsworth, Charles Fisher, James W. Sansberry, Samuel Myers, 
and David S. Gooding. Since then meetings have been held every year 
and a record of the proceedings of the association has been kept. This 
record contains many interesting facts concerning the manners and 
customs of pioneer days and some day it will prove a veritable mine of 
information to the historian. The last meeting of the association was 
held at ilounds Park, near Anderson, Sunday, August 10, 1913. 

In the early '70s an organization called the Patrons of Husbandry 
came into existence and in a short time spread over the entire country. 
It might lie called a union of farmei's, whose objects were to secure bet- 
ter prices for their products and better transportation rates on rail- 



264 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

roads. One of the cardinal principles was to do away with the middle- 
man as far as possible and buy directly from the manufacturer. To 
carry out this principle cooperative stores were established by the order 
in a number of towns and cities. Local societies were called granges, 
and the members of the orgranization soon came to be known as Grangers. 
The first grange in Madison county of which any definite account can be 
gathered, was Normal Grange, No. 218, which was organized on July 3, 
1873, with F. M. Wood as master and A. E. Swain as secretary. Dageon 
Grange, No. 348, was organized on July 12, 1873, with thirty-three 
charter members; P. S. Baker, master; !M. H. Ilannon, secretary. On 
August 8, 1873, a grange was organized at Osceola, axid on the 28th of 
the same month Manring Grange, No. 357, was organized at the Man- 
ring schoolhouse in Monroe township, with thirty-five charter members. 
Jesse Hall was elected master and N. H. Manring, secretai^y. Richland 
Grange, No. 464, was organized at the College Corner schoolhouse in 
Richland township, with David Croan as master and Jonathan Dillon as 
secretary. Charity Grange, No. 588, was organized on October 6, 1873, 
with J. S. Guysinger as master and Lenox Gooding as secretary. Two 
days later Fishersburg Grange, No. 554, was organized with Harvey 
Gwinn as master and Harrison Quick as secretary. On the 9th Adams 
Grange, No. 590, so named from the township in which it was located, 
was organized with fifteen charter membens, but the membership in- 
creased rapidly and before the close of the year was over fifty. Ander- 
son Grange, No. 520, received its chai-ter on October 10, 1873, with 
twenty charter members, but the names of the first master and secretary 
cannot be learned. On October 12, 1873, Markleville Grange, No. 625, 
was organized by William G. Lewis, of Grant county, Indiana, who was 
one of the regular organizers of the order and assisted in the establish- 
ment of most of the Madison county granges. Pleasant Grove Grange, 
No. 495, was organized on October 21, 1874, with twenty-one charter 
members. Buttonwood Grange No. 891, was organized on November 6, 
1873, with sixteen charter members. Boston Grange, No. 1122, was 
organized on December 23, 1873, with J. R. Boston as master and 
J. L. Fussell as secretary. Huntsville Grange, No. 1166, was organized 
on January 9, 1874, with thirteen charter members. Richmond Chapel 
Grange, No. 1167, was organized on Januarj' 13, 1874, and there were 
also granges organized in Union and Fall Creek townships about the 
same time, or a little before. They were known as Union Grange, No. 
422, and Fall Creek Grange, No. 544, but nothing of their history can 
be ascertained. 

There were a few other granges established in the county and by 
the close of the year 1874 it was estimated that over 1,200 Madison 
county farmers were members of the order. It was not long until design- 
ing men gained admission to the Grange and began using it to further 
their political ambitions, so that the usefulness of the organization was 
destroyed. There is no doubt, however, that the agitation begun in the 
Grange movement, as it was called, has been responsible for much oi 
the subsequent legislation regarding freight and passenger rates on 
railroads. Women were eligible to membership and held ofSces in the 
local granges. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 265 

Some years ago a Horse Thief Detective Association was organized 
in the state of Kansas for the purpose of running down horse thieves, 
thefts of tliat character being of common occurrence. Other states took 
up the idea and a National Horse Thief Detective Association was the 
result. Bankers and merchants were admitted to membership and a 
robbery or burglary committed against one of the members soon enlists 
the aid of the entire association in the effort to apprehend the offender. 
Several branches of this association have teen established in Madison 
county. They are Central, No. 40; Jackson Township, No. 46; Pleas- 
ant Grove, No. 74; Lilly Creek, No. 88; Alexandria, No. 114; Frankton, 
No. 132 ; Scatterfield, No. 136 ; Monroe TowTiship, No. 141 ; Good In- 
tent, No. 159 ; Elwood, No. 173 ; Lapel, No. 175, and Anderson, No. 210. 

The Masonic Fraternity 

The Masonic fraternity was the tirst of the charitable or benevolent 
secret societies to establish a lodge in Madison county. On January 29, 
1841, nine Masons met at Pendleton to consider the question of applying 
to the grand master for a dispensation to organize a lodge in that village. 
These nine men, who afterward became the original members of the 
lodge, were John H. Cook, James L. Bell, Thomas Adamson, Archibald 
Cooney, Henry Wyman, Samuel D. Irish, William H. Mershou, "William 
Roach and Thomas Silver. All signed a petition to the grand master 
for a dispensation, which was granted, and on February 10, 1841, the 
lodge was formally instituted. On May 15, 1841, Bernard Thomas 
received in this lodge the degree of Entered Apprentice, being the first 
man to be initiated into Masonry in Madison county. The first officers 
of the lodge were James L. Bell, worshipful master ; William H. Mer 
shon, senior warden ; Samuel D. Irish, junior warden ; John H. Cook, 
secretary ; Thomas Silver, treasurer ; Joseph Chittwood, senior deacon ; 
Thomas Adamson, junior deacon; William Roach, tiler. 

This lodge continued under dispensation until May 24, 1842, when 
it received a charter from the grand lodge as Madison Lodge, No. 44, 
and on June 17,' 1842, it was formally instituted under the charter by 
Thomas Silver, who was appointed a special deputy for the purpose. 
Meetings were at first held in the second story of a dwelling owned by 
John H. Cook, but in 1853 a Masonic hall was built by the lodge. After 
many years this building was torn down and the present Masonic Temple 
was erected in 1892 on the same lot, situated on the west side of State 
street. It is three stories in heiglit and cost about $8,000 in the begin- 
ning, but improvements costing $1,100 were later added. On December 
31, 1912, the lodge reported 124 members, to which additions are con- 
stantly being made by the initiation of new members. In 1913 Ray 
0. Golder was worshipful master of the lodge, and George A. Phipps 
was secretary. 

Chesterfield Lodge, No. 53, was chartered on May 27, 1844, with 
G. W. Ballingal, worshipful master; G. W. Godwin, senior warden-, 
Edward M. Farland, jimior warden. This lodge met in the hall over the 
school room for about thirty years, when it became so weakened by 
death and removal of members that it surrendered its charter in May, 
1875. 



266 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Mount Moriah Lodge, No. 77, at Anderson, was organized under a 
dispensation on May 23, 1848, and received a charter on June 1, 1849. 
It was instituted in one of the second story rooms of the old courthouse, 
with Henry Wyman, woi-shipful master; Adam Reed, senior warden; 
Robert Wooster, junior warden ; Richard Lake, secretary ; G. T. Hoover, 
treasurer; Townsend Ryan, senior deacon; Burkett Eads, junior deacon. 

Lodge meetings were held in the courthouse for awhile, when a room 
was secured on the third floor of the old United States Hotel. It appears 
that the traditional "peace and harmony" did not prevail in the lodge 
after a few years, and in January, 1855, the charter was surrendered. A 
few months later a petition signed by twenty-eight Masons was pre- 
sented to the grand lodge, praying for a restoration of the charter, and 
on June 23, 1855, the petition was granted and the lodge was reorgan- 
ized with the original name and number. From that time until the 
completion of the Masonic Temple in 1896, j\Iount Moriah Lodge held 
meetings in various places, the last meeting place being in the old 
Union hall at the southeast comer of Eighth and Main streets. Regular 
meetings are now held in the temple on the second and fourth Mon- 
days of each month. In 1913 Henry W. Gante, Jr., was worshipful 
master, and George W. Bickford, secretary. This lodge now uxunbers 
about four hundred members. 

Anderson Lodge, No. 114, was granted a dispensation on September 
16, 1865, when a number of members withdrew from Mount Moriah and 
formed the new lodge. This was not the result of any dissension, but 
merely due to the fact that the membership of Mount Jloriah had becoine 
so large that it was considered the part of wisdom to found a new one. 
On May 20, 1866, the lodge received a charter, taking the number 114 
from LTnity Lodge, of Perrysville, which had surrendered its charter. 
The first officers under the charter were H. J. Blacklidge, worshipful 
master ; J. W. Smith, senior warden ; W. Mitchell, junior warden. For 
some years the lodge held meeting in the same hall as Mount Moriah, 
when the two lodges were consolidated. 

The corner-stone of the Masonic Temple at Anderson was laid on 
May 21, 1895, by J. A. Thompson, according to the rites of the order, 
and on March 23, 1896, the building was formally dedicated. It is 
located on the east side of Meridian street, between Tenth and Eleventh, 
in the business district of the city and is one of the finest Masonic Temples 
in the state. The ground floor is divided into business rooms, the front 
of the second floor consists of several nice suites of offices, in the rear of 
which is a club room and banquet hall, and the third floor is used exclu- 
sively for lodge purposes. The front of the building is of Indiana oolitic 
limestone and presents a handsome appearance. The total cost of the 
temple was about $40,000. 

Ovid Lodge, No. 164, was instituted at New Columbus (now Ovid) 
under a charter dated May 24, 1854, with fourteen charter members and 
the following officers: B. W. Cooper, worshipful master; Joseph Peden, 
senior warden; "William Malone, junior warden. For about six years 
the meetings of the lodge were held in the second story of a log building 
on the west side of the village, but on July 14, 1860, a new lodge room 
was dedicated by Joseph Eastman, William Roach and others who were 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



267 



deputized by the grand lodge ofificers for the occasion. After the cere- 
mony of dedication the members of the lodge and their guests joined in 
an open air dinner, after which a number of short addresses were made 
by those present. The charter nieinbers of tliis lodge all came from old 
-Madison Lodge at Pendleton. On December 31, 1912, the lodge reported 
thirty-five members. Emmor AVilliams was the woi-shipful master for 
1913, and Loren Stohler was the secretary. 

Quincy Lodge. No. 230, located at Elwood, was organized under a 
charter dated I\Iay 25. 1858, having passed tlirough the customary period 




RL^soNic Temple, Anderson 

of probation under a dispensation. The first officers under the charter 
were: Andrew J. Griffith, worshipful master; J. M. Dehority, senior 
warden; David Barton, .junior warden. At the close of the year 1912 
the lodge numbered 345 members. 0. D. Hinshaw and George W. 
Osbom were the woi-shipful master and secretary, respectively, for the 
year 1913. Quincy Lodge has a comfortable home and is in a prosperous 
condition. Regular meetings are held on the first and third Tuesdays 
of each month. 

Alexandria Lodge, No. 235, was organized under a dispensation dated 
October 3, 1856, and received a charter bearing the same date as that of 



268 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Quincy Lodge — May 25, 1858. The first officers of the lodge were R. H. 
Hannah, worshipful master; John Cobiira, senior warden ; Moses Harris, 
junior warden. The first hall owned by this lodge was 20 by 60 feet. 
It now owiis tlie third floor of the large brick building at the northeast 
corner of John and Harrison streets, where regular meetings are held 
on the first and third Tuesdays of each month. In 1913 Blaine H. Ball 
was the worshipful master, and Frank E. Henshaw was the secretary. 
Alexandria Lodge has about two hundred members. 

A Masonic lodge was organized at Perkinsville on June 3, 1858, under 
dispensation, and on May 25, 1859, it received a charter as Perkinsville 
Lodge, No. 247. At one time the lodge numbered over sixty members 
and owned a well furnished liall, but reverses came and it finally sur- 
rendered its charter. 

Frankton Lodge, No. 290, received its charter on May 27, 1863, with 
A. G. Tomlinson as worshipful master; William R. Stoker, senior 
warden ; Lafayette Osbom, junior warden. The writer has been unable 
to learn the history of this lodge, but it evidently has undergone a re- 
organization of some kind, as the Masonic lodge at Frankton now bears 
the number 607. The lodge has a comfortable, well equipped hall and 
the secretary's report to the grand lodge for the year ending on Decem- 
ber 31, 1912, showed sixty -one members. Regular meetings are held on 
the first and third Fridays of each month. In 1913 Wayne L. Hobbs was 
worshipful master and Elmer E. Carter was secretary. 

Rural Lodge, No. 324, at Markleville, received its charter from tho 
grand lodge on May 24, 1864, and was regularly organized with ten 
charter members and the following officers: John Justice, woi-shipful 
master ; John Boram, senior warden ; P. L. Seward, junior warden. 
Meetings were at first held in the second story of Samuel Harden 's 
dwelling and later over a shoe shop and in the second story of Hardy 
& Lewis' store building. In March, 1879, the lodge surrendered its 
charter, most of the members uniting with the lodge at Ovid. A few 
years ago Markleville Lodge, No. 629, obtained a charter from tlie grand 
lodge, and on December 31, 1912, reported forty members. For the year 
1913 Lundy Seward was worshipful master and Frank Barnett was sec- 
retary. Following the old Masonic tradition, this lodge holds its regular 
meetings on "Thursday before the full moon." 

A dispensation was granted to twelve Masons living in the vicinity 
of Fishersburg, in September, 1875, to organize a lodge in that village. 
No charter was ever obtained and in May, 1877, the lodge surrendered its 
records and furniture to the grand lodge. 

Lapel Lodge, No. 625, located in the town of that name, is one of the 
youngest Masonic lodges in the county, but its membership is composed 
of men who believe in the tenets of the order and consequently is in a- 
prosperous condition. The membership is small — only thit-ty-nine on 
December 31, 1913 — but constantly growing. Regular meetings are held 
on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month. In 1913 Herbert 
Bates was worshipful master and Willard H. Thomas was secretary. 

Fellowship Lodge, No. 681, which meets on the first and third Fridays 
of each month in the Masonic Temple at Anderson, received its charter 
on May 24, 1911. The worshipful master for 1913 was Edward Podmore 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 269 

and the secretary was U. L. Millspaugh. The lodge has about fifty 
members. 

The youngest ^lasonic lodge in the county is located at Summitville. 
It was first organized under a dispensation granted on July 6, 1912, 
with Rol>ert B. Given as worshipful master ; Glen Lawrence, senior 
warden ; Samuel B. Oilman, junior warden. A charter was granted by 
the grand lodge which met in Indianapolis in May, 1913, when the lodge 
was officially designated Summitville Lodge, No. 691. At the close of 
the year 1912 the lodge reported twenty-one members. The master and 
secretary for 1913 were respectively Robert B. Given and Carl L. Iliff. 
In the summer of that year a new building was erected just south of the 
bank, and the lodge acquired an interest in it by adding a story for 
lodge purposes, thus cwning its own meeting place. 

There are four Masonic chapters in the county, located at Pendleton, 
Anderson, Alexandria and Elwood. Pendleton Chapter, No. 51, Royal 
Arch Masons, is the oldest in the county. It was organized about the 
close of the Civil war and holds its regular meetings on the third Friday 
of each month. Anderson Chapter, No. 52, was organized in 1866 and 
meets on the first Monday of each month. Alexandria Chapter, No. 
99, holds its regular meetings on the second Thursday of each month, 
and the meetings of Elwood Chapter, 109, are held every Thursday 
evening. All four of these chapters are prosperous and number among 
their members some of the best citizens of the towns in which they are 
situated. 

Councils of the Royal and Select Masons are located at Pendleton, 
Anderson and Alexandria, and there is one commandery of Knights 
Templar, which is at Anderson. This commandery was organized on 
April 29, 1885, and holds its regular meetings on the third Thursday 
of each month. 

The Order of the Eastern Star, a degree that is open to the wives 
and daughters of Master Masons, has chapters at Elwood, Pendleton, 
Anderson and Alexandria. Elwood Chapter, No. 71, meets on the sec- 
ond and fourth Wednesdays of each month; Pendleton Chapter, No. 
138, meets on the same dates; Anderson Chapter, No. 154, holds its 
meetings on the fiist and third Tuesdays, and Alexandria Chapter, No. 
179, meets on the first and third Fridays. 

The Odd Fellows 

This benevolent order originated in England in the latter part of 
the eighteenth century. In 1812 delegates from the lodges about Man- 
chester met in that city and organized the "Manchester Unity, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellow^s. " Thomas Wildey and another Odd 
Fellow came from England in 1818 and the next year organized a lodge 
at Baltimore, Maryland, receiving their charter from the I\Ianchester 
Unity. On February 1, 1820, Washington Lodge and the Grand Lodge 
of Maryland was organized and a few years later the order in this 
country severed its relationship with the Manshester Unity. 

The first Odd Fellows' lodge in Madison county was instituted at 
Pendleton on September 11, 1850, as Pendleton Lodge, No. 88. The 



270 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



first officers were G. W. IJailey, noble grand ; James Beck, vice-grand ; 
W. N. Lummis, secretary ; George Brown, treasurer. For some time the 
lodge held its meetings in the ilasonic hall, where it was organized, 
but in 1880 the trustees purchased a lot and in January, 1891, the Odd 
Fellows' hall was dedicated with the customary rites of the order. At 
the close of the year 1912 this lodge reported 282 members. Harry 
Stevens was then noble gi-and and S. B. McKee was secretary. 

Anderson Lodge, No. 131, the second in the county, was instituted 
on April 18, 1853, in the room occupied by the Sons of Temperance in 
the old courthouse. The first officers were : G. R. Diven, noble grand ; 
R. N. Clark, vice-grand; A. ]\I. Williams secretary; William Wilson, 
treasurer. Meetings were at first held in the room where the lodge was 
organized, but in 1854 a room was secured on the third floor of the old 




I. O. 0. F. Building 



United States Hotel, at the southwest comer of Ninth and Main streets. 
In 1867 an agreement was made with the owner of the lot at the north- 
west corner of Ninth and Meridian streets, by which the third story 
of a new building was added by the Odd Fellows for a lodge room. 
This hall was destroyed by the gi-eat fire of jMay 17, 1875, but was 
rebuilt. When the Presbyterians built their new church the old one at 
the southeast corner of Ninth and Jackson streets was purchased by 
the Odd Fellows. The building was remodeled, a new front added, and 
here the lodge has one of the most comfortable and best arranged fra- 
ternal buildings in the state. The lodge now numl>ers about five hun- 
dred membere. In the grand lodge report for 1912 the name of Brice 
Dille appears as noble grand and C. W\ Benbow as secretary. 

The next Odd Fellows' lodge to be established in the county was 
Quincy Lodge, No. 200, which was instituted at Elwood (then Quincy) 
on July 30, 1858, with twelve charter members and the following officers : 



HISTORY OP" MADISON COUNTY 271 

Culpepper Lee, noble grand; John B. Frazier, vice-grand; B. T. Call- 
away, secretary- ; Mark Simmons, treasurer. This lodge now has a mem- 
bership of about four hundred and owns one of the best halls in the 
county. Koy F. Mossy was noble grand and Ephraim Remmcl was sec- 
retary at the end of the year 1912. 

Perkinsville Lodge. No. 207, was instituted on May 18, 1859. A 
comfortable hall was later acquired by the lodge and meetings were 
held regularly on Tuesday evening of each week for a number of years. 
Then a decline set in. Some of the members moved away, others died, 
and about 1885 the lodge surrendered its charter. 

On November 21, 1860, Necessity Ijodge, No. 222, was instituted at 
Alexandria with ten charter members and the following officers : Cy- 
renius Free, noble grand ; John Hea^y, vice-grand ; R. H. Cree, secre- 
tary; S. B. Harriman, treasurer. The lodge now owns a substantial 
three story brick building on West Church street and has about 240 
members. Michael Furst was noble grand and I. S. Kelly secretary 
when the last gi'and lodge report was issued in 1912. This is the only 
fraternal society in IMadi.son county that owns a cemetery, an account 
of which may be found in the preceding chapter. 

An Odd Fellows' lodge was instituted at Fishei-sburg in the spring 
of 1875 with eight charter membei-s, A. J. Fisher, noble grand; H. G. 
Fisher, vice-grand: George Dunham, secretary. Five years later the 
lodge numbered thirteen members, but it never prospered and after 
struggling along for a few years more it surrendered its charter. 

Summitville Lodge, No. 475, was organized on Decemlier 14, 1875, 
with fifteen charter members. S. Fenimore was the first noble grand , 
Thomas J. Clark, vice-grand; L. S. Williams, secretary; E. Runyan, 
treasurer. In 1892 a building was erected by the lodge, which now 
numbers nearly 150 members. At the close of the year 1912 Lemuel 
Dickerson was noble grand and A. F. Kaufman was secretary. 

Other Odd Fellows' lodges in the county, with the membership and 
principal officere at the close of the year 1912, were Frankton, No. 711, 
John Hartley, noble grand. Dolph Meltzer, secretarv-, 109 members; 
Gilman, No. 745, William E. Smith, noble grand, J. M. Morgan, secre- 
tary, 54 members; Active (located at Anderson), No. 746, A. J. Dowe, 
noble grand, H. F. Wright, secretary, 260 members ; Chesterfield, No. 
786, R. C. Hall, noble grand, J. M. Heath, secretary, 68 members; 
Linwood, No. 793, H. C. Warren, noble grand, R. S. Thompson, sec- 
retary, 97 members: Lapel, No. 805, Albert Russell, noble grand, Perle.y 
Schultz, secretarj', 106 members. All these lodges are in good condition 
and some of them own their own buildings. In connection with each 
lodge, except the one at Gilman, has been organized a lodge of the 
Daughters of Rebekah, a society to which the wives and daughters of 
Odd Fellows are eligible. 

Sinai Encampment, No. 54, located at Pendleton, was organized on 
March 12. 1857. and is the oldest encampment in the county. On May 
21, 1867, Star Encampment, No. 84, was instituted at Andei-son. Since 
then the following encampments have been established in the county. 
Elwood, No. 168; Alexandria, No. 212; Frankton, No. 9,11; Gilman, 
No. 322; Activity (at Anderson), No. 331; Lapel, No. 335. 



272 HISTORY OF MADISON COUiNTY 

Within the Odd Fellows is a uniformed organization known as the 
Patriarclis Militant, the local branches of which are called cantons. 
Three cantons have been organized in Madison county, viz: Anderson, 
No. 3 ; Elwood, No. 33 ; and one at Alexandria. Anderson Canton was 
organized in 1883 by Dr. Horace E. Jones, who drilled them so thor- 
oughly that in a contest at Indianapolis in May, 1884, on the old state 
fair grounds, they easily won first prize. Upon their return to Ander- 
son the members of the drill team were given a banquet at the Doxey 
House. A band composed of members of the order accompanied the 
canton to Columbus, Ohio, at a later date, and here the drill team again 
won first prize and the band, under the leadership of Dallas K. Elliott, 
one of the best cornet players in the country, was awarded a medal. 
In 1886 the canton again took third prize at St. Paul, Minnesota. 

Elwood Canton had for a drill master Captain Nett Nuzum, under 
whose instruction the drill team became so efficient that it won several 
prizes in the latter '80s. In September, 189], at St. Louis, Missouri, 
Captain Nuzum entered his team into a competitive drill contest with the 
leading cantons of the country and carried off first honors. 

Knights op Pytbias 

On Februarj' 15, 1864, Justus H. Rathbone, Robert A. Champion, 
William H. and David L. Burnett, and Edward S. Kimball, five govern- 
ment clerks at Washington, D. C, met and listened to the ritual of a 
new secret order that had been prepared by Mr. Rathbone. As the basis 
of the ritual was the friendship of Damon and Pythias, the new order 
was named the Knights of Pythias and on February 19, 1864, Washing- 
ton Lodge, No. 1, was formally organized. A few weeks later Franklin 
Lodge, No. 2, was instituted, and early in April the grand lodge was 
organized at Washington. Just at that time the country was in the 
throes of civil war and the order made slow progress. On May 1, 1866, 
Franklin Lodge was the only one in existence. It was used as a nucleus, 
around which the organization was strengthened, new lodges multiplied 
and on August 5, 1870, the supreme lodge was incorporated by act of 
congress. Since then the order has prospered and has been extended 
into every state in the union, as well as to foreign lands. 

The first Knights of Pythias lodge in Madison county was Ander- 
son Lodge, No. 106, which was instituted on January 19, 1883, with 
twenty-one charter members. On November 23, 1894, this lodge dedi- 
cated a hall on the third floor of the Donnelly block on Meridian street 
between Twelfth and Thirteenth streets, the third story of that building 
being owned by the lodge. According to the last available report of the 
grand lodge, Anderson Lodge had 188 members at the end of the year 
1912, when F. E. Neal was chancellor commander and W. A. Boy den 
was keeper of the records and seal. The regular meetings of this lodge 
are held on Tuesday evening of each week. 

Elwood Lodge, No. 166, the second in the county, was instituted on 
March 31, 1887. It is now the strongest and wealthiest lodge in the 
county, having a membership of nearly four hundred and owning real 
estate valued at $18,000. Regular meetings are held on Wednesday 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 273 

evenings. John AV. Grimes, of this lodge, was the deputy grand chan- 
cellor in 1912 for the Tenth district, composed of the counties of Hamil- 
ton, Tipton, iladison and Delaware. At the same time Claude Wright 
was chancellor commander of the lodge and L. AI. Gross was keeper of 
the records and seal. 

Sicilian Lodge, No. 234, located at Pendleton, was organized on 
December 19, 1889. It now has a membership of about 225 and owns 
real estate valued at $10,000. The lodge meets every Tuesday evening. 

Frankton Lodge, No. :ilo, was instituted on April 30, 1891, and now 
has over one hundred and fifty members. It owns real estate valued 
at $1,800 and is in a prosperous condition. Regular meetings are held 
on Thursday evenings. 

Alexandria Lodge, No. 335, was instituted on December 3, 1891, 
and now owns real estate worth $4,000. The membership ,is about two 
hundred and fifty and tlie regular meeting night is Tuesday of each 
week. In the last grand lodge report the name of Will F. Schmitz ap- 
pears as chancellor commander and that of W. C. Stewart as keeper of 
the records and seal. In 1912 Blaine H. Ball of this lodge was a member 
of the grand lodge committee on constitution and by-laws. 

On May 5, 1892, Gas Belt Lodge, No. 362, was instituted at Summit- 
ville. It now has alx)ut one hundred and seventy members and owns 
real estate valued at $2,100. W^ednesday evening of each week is the 
time for regular meetings. Ludie Warner was chancellor commander at 
the close of 1912, and R. B. Givens was keeper of the records and seal. 

Lapel Lodge, No. 386, was instituted on April 6, 1893, and now has 
about one hundred and twenty-five members. Regular meetings are 
held on Monday evenings. 

Banner Lodge, No. 416, located at Anderson, was instituted on April 
17, 1895, ^nth eighty charter members, many of whom had withdrawn 
from Anderson Lodge for the purpose of organizing a new one. In 
1912 the lodge reported 231 members and is constantly adding new ones 
to the list. Its regular meeting night is Thursday. J. C. Shuman was 
chancellor commander and A. L. Jacobs was keeper of the records and 
seal when the last grand lodge report was issued. 

Orestes Lodge, No. 471, a'hd Markleville Lodge, No. 479, are the two 
j'oungest lodges in the county. The former was instituted on May 29, 
1899, and the latter on Februarj^ 16, 1900. Orestes Lodge owns real 
estate valued at $1,800 and has about eighty members. It meets every 
Thursday evening. Markleville Lodge has over fifty members and owns 
real estate worth $500. Friday evening of each week is the time for 
holding regular meetings. 

The lodges at Pendleton, Anderson and Elwood have companies of 
the Uniform Rank, and in connection with all the principal lodges are 
temples of the Pythian Sisters, the ladies' degree of the order. The 
oldest and strongest of these temples are the ones at Anderson, Elwood 
and Alexandria. 

Improved Order of Red Men 

This order claims an unbroken succession from the Sons of Liberty, 
a patriotic order at the time of the American Revolution. It was mem- 



[^!S'*0' 






V^«»«*,- "V^*^ ">r-<^*^''' 






HISTORY OF JIADISON COUNTY 275 

bers of the Sons of Liberty, disguised as Indians, who destroyed the tea 
rather than pay the unjust tax, and this incident was made use of when 
the Improved Order of Red Men was reorganized at Baltimore in 1835. 
The local lodges or societies are called tribes and the principal officers 
of the tribe bear Indian titles, such as sachem, prophet and sagamore. 
There are three degrees — Adoption, Warrior and Chief — for the men, 
and a degree called the Daughters of Pocahontas for the wives, daugh- 
ters and sisters of the male members. There are also a uniformed rank 
and a subordinate degree called the Haymakers. During the decade 
ending in 1910 the order paid out in the United States over $6,000,000 
for relief, burial expenses and the support of vvidows and orphans. 

The first society of this order to be organized in ]\Iadison county was 
Ononga Tribe, No. 50, which was instituted at Anderson in 1874. For 
about three years its growth was slow and then a large number of 
members came in. Two other tribes were later organized from Ononga, 
viz. : Mingo and Kamala. The former was instituted on October 19, 
1892, but has been discontinued, the members uniting with the other 
tribes. Kamala Tribe, No. 157, was instituted on October 18, 1893. 
Both Ononga and Kamala tribes are in flourishing condition and are 
two of the strongest fraternal societies in Anderson. Each has an 
organization of Haymakers. 

After the organization of Ononga Tribe at Anderson, the next to be 
established was Mashingomisha Tribe, No. 110, at Alexandria. This 
tribe meets every Friday evening and the Mashingomisha Haymakers 
on the first and third Wednesdays of each month. 

Seneca Tribe, No. 113, located at Elwood, was the next organization 
of Red Men in the county. This tribe owns a handsome building and 
is one of the strongest tribes financially in Madison county. Regular 
meetings are held on Tuesday evenings and the Seneca Haymakers hold 
meetings on Friday evenings. 

Oconee Tribe, No. 159, was instituted at Pendleton on November 26, 
1892. Meetings are held every Wednesday evening. Subsequently the 
Oconee Haymakers were organized and they hold meetings on alternate 
Monday evenings. 

Neoskaleta Tribe, No. l4^, was organized at Summitville in the sum- 
mer of 1892, and Onaway Tribe, located at Lapel, was instituted about 
the same time. Both these tril)es are in prosperous condition. 

The councils of the Daughters of Pocahontas in the county are as 
follows : Wyoming, No. 49, at Elwood ; Oconee, No. 78, at Pendleton ; 
Tahoma, No. 82, at Anderson ; Kamala, No. 124, at Anderson ; and 
Winona, No. 143, at Alexandria. 

Grand Army of the Republic 

The Grand Army of the Republic is an organization of volunteer 
soldiers who served in the war of 1861-65. It was founded soon after 
the close of the war, but for the first fifteen years of its existence was 
of rather slow growth. About 1880 there came a revival and during 
the next decade the order spread to every state in the union. The pur- 
poses of the order are to collect and preserve war relics and records, 



276 HISTORY OF MADISON COUxNTY 

maintain fraternal relations, and assist needy comrades. The local 
organizations are called posts. The strongest post in Madison county, 
though not the oldest, is Slajor May Post, No. 244, at Anderson. It was 
organized on September 18, 1883, with seventy-one charter members. 
For several years it met in various halls about the city, but in 1895 
arrangements were made with Major Charles T. Doxey to provide a 
permanent home in a building at the northwest comer of Ninth street 
and Central avenue. This hall was completed in May, 1896, and the 
post met there for some time. It now has quarters in a room in the 
courthouse basement. The present membership is about 150. A few 
years ago an Anderson photographer (Mr. Clark) made pictures of 
nearly all the members of this post and arranged them in a group, which 
is here presented that the reader may see the type of men Madison 
county furnished to the country's defenders in 1861. 

Beginning at the upper left hand corner and reading from left to 
right, the members of this post are as follows: 

Top Row — William A. Kindle, John Madison, Cornelius Moore, J. 

A. Mahan, A. H. Workman, William L. Jones, John F. W. Meyers, C. 
C. Johnson, Slavin Graham, Adam Fath, John Cather, George T. Pen- 
niston, Henry Clark, H. J. Stein, Vincent Carroll, C. P. G. Austin. 

Second Row — D. P. Maynard, M. L. Patton, A. J. Applegate, W. H. 
H. Quick, M. G. Watkins, Jacob Harter, John S. Handy, WiUiam F. 
Branson, John H. Harrison, John W. Cherington, John B. Swart, 
Joshua Kirk, Noah H. Randall, Alfred Brown, James Murphey. 

Third Row — John S. Steel, Dempsy Waggy, George Nichol, Jacob 
Koehler, John H. Terhune, George Mathes, James L. Webb, James 
Clark, Enoch Alexander, B. L. Pickering, Theodore Zion, D. F. Mus- 
tard, William Hubbard, John W. Goff, H. E. Jones, James W. Streets. 

Fourth Row — D. A. Taylor, WiUiam A. Craven, Robert P. Brickley, 
George W. Hackleman, Isaac Foland, Jacob Ellis, John Reynolds, Elias 
Falknor, William Mahoney, James Redd, Stephen Metcalf, Samuel Mc- 
Nutt, William B. Miller, E. W. Clifford, Henry Kessler. 

Fifth Row — William Keiser, Samuel Hicks, John C. Kiight, 
Joseph Poor, Jonas Stewart, WiUiam Callahan, Jesse Forkner, Alansing 
Lamaster, Henry T. Denius, Moses C. White, Melville B. Cox, Peter 

B. Millspaugh, Samuel Todd, Jacob Mays, Samuel Longnecker, Daniel 
Stewart. 

Sixth Row — Samuel Van Pelt, Thomas L. Brooks, William Dayton, 

C. S. Fifer, John Baker, Robert Dorste, William W. CUfford, Robert B. 
Mason, B. B. Campbell, Henry Mitchell, Hiram H. Palmer, George W. 
Shreeve, Joseph Brown, William Venemon, John A. Cook. 

Seventh Row — Thomas Foland, James Gwinn, John Umensetter, 
Stephen Price, James Kenroy, W. T. Durbin, Henry C. Durbin, H. H. 
Durbin, Ezra Her, John P. Parson, John Hoover, George E. Springer, 
John A. Gains, Samuel C. Miller, Abner G. Clark, John Titherington. 

Eighth Row — 0. L. Shaul, John McCurley, D. B. Davis, John Run- 
yan, James T. Knowland, A. I. Makepeace, Isaac Wood, L. D. Crawley, 
B. H. Perse, Joseph R. Cravens, Thomas Talmage, James G. Jeffers, 
W. B. Carroll, Henry Vinyard, E. R. Cheney. 

Ninth Row — A. D. Ethel, Daniels Rhoads, John W. Lovett, John 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



277 



Besom, Warren L. Coot§, F. M. Van Pelt, S. G. Bevelheimer, Edmund 
Johnson, Jerome J. Musser, Gambrel Little, John F. Wilson, George F. 
Ethel, Thomas Paxton, George W. Lawson, William L. Lundy, W. R. 
Myers. 

Tenth Eow— John W. Riley, Samuel Wolf, J. B. Howard, J. C. 
Mathews, John Turner, John F. Thompson, Samuel A. Towell, Pennell 
M. Keepers, Henry Ray, Carl Broanenberg, Joseph A. Studebaker, 
John J. Muldowii, Lafe J. Burr, John Featherstone, Amos McGuire. 

This post was named in honor of Isaac M. May, who was mustered 
into the volunteer service of the United States on July 29, 1861, as 
captain of Company A, Nineteenth Indiana Infantry, was promoted to 
major of the regiment and was killed at the battle of Gainesville, Vir- 




LiviNG Flag 



ginia, August 28, 1862. In connection with the post is the Women's 
Relief Corps, No. 70, which was organized in 1887, and which meets on 
the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. 

Elwood Post. No. 61, was one of the first to be organized in this 
section of the state. It was at one time also one of the strongest, but 
the scythe of time has cut down many of the old veterans comprising its 
membership. Meetings of this post are held on alternate Saturday 
afternoons. Elwood Women's Relief Corps, No. 117, meets on alternate 
Monday afternoons. 

Major Henry Post, No. 230, located at Pendleton, was organized on 
August 28, 1883, and was named in honor of ]\Iajor Samuel Henry, who 
entered the service as captain of Company B, Eighty-ninth Indiana 



278 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Infantry, in August, 1862, and was murdered in cold blood by guer- 
rillas near Greenton, Missouri, November 1, 1864. 

Lew Taylor Post, No. 243, at Alexandria, was established in the 
summer of 1883. Its meetings are held on the second and fourth Tues- 
days of each month, in the afternoon, and the Alexandria Women's 
Relief Corps, No. 200, meets on alternate Thursdays. 

Hiram G. Fisher Post, located at Lapel, was named in honor of a 
Madison county boy who was commissioned captain of the Fishersburg 
Union Guards in the summer of 1861 and later entered the volxmteer 
service as first lieutenant of Company E, Thirty-fourth Indiana 
Infantry. 

One of the most notable events in the history of Anderson was the 
entertainment of the state encampment of the Grand Army of the 
Republic in May, 1903, when the citizens of the city expended over 
$7,000 in caring for members of this patriotic order. A feature of the 
encampment was a living flag, composed of Anderson school children, 
placed upyon an inclined scaffolding reaching from the sidewalk to the 
roof of the courthouse and facing on Eighth street. The idea originated 
with Captain Jerome J. Musser, of Major INIay Post, who had charge of 
the erection of the scaffolding, and the children who participated in 
forming the national colors were under the guidance of Prof. John W. 
Carr, then superintendent of the Anderson public schools. No other 
city in Indiana has ever attempted to rival this demonstration and at 
each subsequent state encampment the "living flag of Anderson" has 
been a topic for conversation. 

The order known as the Sons of Veterans is represented in Madison 
county by R. L. Leeson Camp, No. 305, at Elwood, and J. P. Condo 
Camp, No. 364, at Alexandria. Major Doxey Camp was organized at 
Anderson some years ago, but it has lapsed into a state of inactivity. 

Loyal Order of Moose 

This order was first established at Louisville, Kentucky, in 1888, 
and for a few years enjoyed a fair growth, reaching a total of thirty 
lodges and a membership of five thousand. Then came a decline and in 
1907 there were but three lodges and less than three hundred members. 
About that time James J. Davis, of Anderson, undertook the work of 
reorganizing and building up the order. He associated with him Rod- 
ney H. Brandon, then the presiding officer of Anderson Lodge, No. 1, 
the first to be instituted under the new regime. In 1908 Mr. Brandon 
was elected supreme secretary and the offices of the supreme lodge were 
removed to Anderson. On September 30, 1913, the order showed a 
total of 1,425 subordinate lodges, with a total membership of over five 
hundred thousand. Recently the supreme lodge has purchased one 
thousand acres of fine land near Aurora, Illinois, where the order is 
erecting a vocational school for the children of members and a home for 
dependents, both young and old. The two Moose lodges in Madison 
county are located at Anderson and Elwood. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUXTY 



279 



The Elks 

The Benevolent and Protective Order of KIks had its foundation in 
a elul) organized in New York soon after the close of the Civil war, 
when a number of ""good fellows" were in the habit of meeting at some 
suitable plaee to beguile the evening with singing songs, telling stories, 
etc. At first the elub, the plan of which was originated by a young 
Englishman named Charles S. Vivian, was known as the "Jolly Corks." 
By 1868 the membership had increased to such proportions that it was 
decided to establish a secret order. A committee was appointed to select 
a name. Upon visiting Barnum's museum the committee saw an elk and 
learned something of the animal's habits, which inspired them to select 
the name of Elks for the new society. The motto of the order is : " The 
faults of our brethren we write upon the sands; their virtues upon the 




Elks' Home, Anderson 



tablets of love and memory." As there is no state grand lodge, the 
work of obtaining information concerning the individual lodges is some- 
what difficult. 

Anderson Lodge, No. 209, was instituted on June 30, 1891, with 
thirty-one charter members, in the Odd Fellows' hall, and the ceremony 
of institution was followed by a banquet at the Doxey Music hall. The 
lodge now owns an equity in the building at the northwest corner of 
Main and ?]leventh streets, where the members have well appointed 
club and lodge i-ooms on the third floor. From the memliership of 
Anderson Lodge have been formed Elwood Lodge, No. 368, and Alex- 
andria Lodge, No. 478. The former has club rooms in the second 
story of the building formerly occupied by the First National Bank, 
and the latter has its headquarters in the Alexandria Opera House 
building. All three of the Madison county lodges are in prosperous 
condition. 



280 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Miscellaneous 

The?-e are in the county several orders represented in the principal 
cities and towns, of which it was impossible to get detailed information. 
So far as possible a list of these lodges is given below, together with 
any historical infor:nation that could be procured. 

Pendleton Grove, No. 20, United Ancient Order of Druids, was 
organized on April 5, 1895. A grove or lodge of this order was organ- 
ized at Anderson on July 22, 1896, but after a short existence it sur- 
rendered its charter. Subsequently it was revived as Progress Grove, 
No. 27, and is now in fairly prosperous shape. 

The Woodmen of the "World are represented by "White Oak Camp, 
No. 29, at Lapel; Hemlock Camp, No. 18, at Anderson, the regular 
meetings of which are held on Tuesday evenings; Hemlock Grove, No. 
5, "Woodmen's Circle, which meets on alternate Friday afternoons; 
Elwood Camp, No. 95, and "Woodmen's Circle, No. 51, at Elwood, the 
former of which holds meetings on Wednesday and the latter on Friday 
evenings. 

The Modern Woodmen of America camps are as follows : Oak Leaf, 
No. 3690, at Anderson ; Elwood, No. 4416 ; Alexandria, No. 5976 ; Pen- 
dleton, No. 14,374. The Anderson camp holds meetings on Monday 
evenings, the Elwood camp on Wednesday evenings, the Alexandria 
camp on Tuesday evenings, and the Pendleton camp on Friday even- 
ings. Allied to this order are the Royal Neighbors of America. The 
camps and times of regular meetings are as follows: Anderson, No. 
2607, Fridays; Elwood, No. 3812, first and third Tuesdays of each 
month; Jewel Camp, No. 5976, Alexandria, Mondajs. 

In the Knights of the Maccabees the lodges of the men are called 
tents and the Ladies of the Maccabees meet in hives. This order is 
represented by Tent No. 39, and Hive No. 62, at Anderson; Elwood 
Tent, No. 60, and Hive No. 66, at Elwood; Alexandria Tent, No. 112, 
and Hive No. 61, at Alexandria. 

Anderson Aerie, No. 174, Fraternal Order of Eagles, meets every 
Thursday evening; Elwood Aerie, No. 201, on Wednesdays, and Invinc- 
ible Aerie, No. 1771, of Alexandria, on Wednesday evenings. 

Hazelwood Court, Ancient Order of Foresters, was instituted in the 
early '90s and holds its meetings at Kirkliam's hall, Hazelwood. The 
Improved Order of Foresters is represented by Court Quincy, No. 62, 
Court Elwood, No. 1097, and Court Madison, No. 4968, all at Elwood; 
Court Anderson, No. 3110, and White River Court, No. 1094, at Ander- 
son. 

The Tribe of Ben Hur is represented by three courts or lodges in 
the city of Anderson, viz. : Isis Court, No. 32, which meets on Tuesday 
evenings, and Iderned Court, No. 26, and Amrah Court, No. 30, which 
meet on call of the officers. 

Several societies closely connected with the Catholic church have 
been organized at Anderson and Elwood. The principal ones are Ander- 
son Council, No. 563, Knights of Columbus, and the Elwood Council of 
the same order, both of which hold meetings on Tuesday evenings; 
Anderson Council, No. 646, Catholic Knights of America, which was 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 281 

organized in 1893 ; Cardinal Manning Council, No. 376, of the Catholic 
Benevolent Legion, at Elwood; Court St. Joseph, No. 1120, Catholic 
Order of Foresters, at Elwood; the Federated Catholic Clubs of 
Elwood; and the Anderson and Elwood divisions of the Ancient Order 
of Hibernians. 

Anderson Castle, No. 4, Knights of the Golden Eagle, was organized 
on January 18, 1890, with sixty-eight charter members. Two years 
later was organized Hope Temple, No. 3, Ladies of the Golden Eagle, 
and still later were organized the Anderson Commandery, Uniform 
Rank, and the Supreme Order of Wise Guys, Anderson Retreat, No. 1, 
an organization intended to promote the welfare of the Knights of the 
Golden Eagle. 

The Knights and Ladies of Honor have lodges at Anderson and 
Alexandria; the Yeoman at Anderson and Elwood; the Supreme Lodge, 
Camels of the World is located in Anderson; and the Junior Order 
American Mechanics at Anderson and Pendleton. Other lodges or 
societies are the Pathfinders, No. 7, at Anderson; the Daughters of 
Liberty, at Elwood; the Sons of St. George, at Anderson and Elwood; 
Post 0, Travelers' Protective Association, which meets once a month 
at the Grand Hotel in Anderson ; United Comjnercial Travelers, No. 182, 
at Anderson ; the United Order of the Golden Cross, at Elwood ; the 
Protected Home Circle, at Andei-son ; Nest No. 84, of the Orioles, at 
Anderson; Elwood Nest, No. 66, and Anderson Nest, No. 84, Order of 
Owls; the Knights and Ladies of Columbia, No. 115, at Elwood; the 
Equitable Aid Union and the National Union, of Anderson, and Eureka 
Court, No. 259, also of Anderson. The Order of Plowmen have but one 
organization in the county — Elwood Council, No. 14. Anderson Lodge, 
No. 5, Order of Lincoln, was organized on September 22, 1896, with 
thirty charter members. The only Knights of Honor lodge in the county 
of which there is any record was organized at Anderson on May 18, 
1875, and during the next twenty yeai-s paid out nearly $25,000 in 
benefits. 

Among the labor organizations of Anderson, Elwood and Alexandria 
may be mentioned the unions of stationery engineers, tjqDesetters, glass- 
workers, sheet metal workers, bricklayers, carpenters, painters and 
decorators, iron molders, electrical workers, stage employees, barbers, 
plumbers, musicians, electric railway employees, brewery workers, tai- 
lors, retail clerks, file workers, cigar makers, tin plate workers and a 
few others, most of which are associated with the Madison County Fed- 
eration of Labor. The trades union came with the discovery of natural 
gas and has remained after the supply of gas failed, but it is worthy of 
note that Anderson has never been disturbed by any serious strike, and 
the same is true of Alexandria and Elwood. 

On January 30, 1909, Kikthawenund Chapter, Daughters of the 
American Revolution, was organized at Anderson with Mrs. John W. 
Lovett, regent; Mrs. H. C. Durbin, vice-regent; Mrs. Andrew Ellis, 
recording secretary ; Miss Kate Chipman, corresponding secretary ; 
Mrs. S. E. Young, treasurer; Mrs. I. E. May, historian. This chapter 
was named for tlie old Delaware Indian chief whose wigwam once stood 
where the city of Anderson is now situated. 



CHAPTER XVII 

MILITARY HISTORY 

Madison County in the War With Mexico — The Civil War — Loyal 
Spirit op ths Citizens — Meeting at the Courthouse — The First 
Company From Madison County — Rosters op the Various Com- 
panies — Historical Sketches of the Regiments in Which They 
Serv-ed — Cavalry' and Artillery Organizations — Spanish- Ameri- 
can War — jMadison County Represented in Two Regiments. 

It has been said that war brings an element of patriotism that can- 
not be developed by any other means. However that may be, the sons 
of Madison county have never been backward in responding to the coun- 
try 's call for volunteers in time of need. The county had been organ- 
ized but twenty-three years when the nation became involved in a war 
with Mexico over the annexation of Texas to the United States. Formal 
declaration of war was made by the Congress on May 11, 1846, and 
almost immediately afterward came a call for troops. Under that call 
Indiana sent out two regiments — the First and Second Volunteer In- 
fantry — in each of which were a number of Madison county men, but 
in the absence of the muster rolls it is impossible to tell just how many 
or who they were. 

A second call was made by President Polk in May, 1847, when a com- 
pany was organized at Marion, Grant county, composed of volunteers 
from that county and Madison. John M. Wallace, of Marion, was 
commissioned captain of the company, which marched to Indianapolis, 
via Anderson, and reported to the state authorities that it was ready for 
service. From Indianapolis the company proceeded by rail to Madison, 
thence down the Ohio river by steamboat to Jeffersonville, where it went 
into camp. On the last day of May it was mustered into the United 
States service and assigned to the Fourth Indiana Volunteer Infantry as 
Company A. This regiment, commanded by Colonel Willis A. Gorman, 
left Jeffersonville early in June by steamer bound for New Orleans 
and upon arriving there ordered to Brazos Santiago, near the mouth 
of the Rio Grande. It then marched about 160 miles up that river 
and remained there for nearly a month, when it returned to the mouth 
of the river. Soon after that it embarked on a vessel for Vera Cruz, 
where it was attached to the brigade commanded by General Joseph Lane. 
On September 19, 1847, General Lane left Vera Cruz to go to the relief 
of Colonel Childs at Puebla, whei-e there was a hospital filled with sick 
and wounded American soldiers threatened bj' the Mexican General 
Santa Anna. 

282 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 283 

At the battle of Huamantla, October 9, 1847, Colonel GorinaQ came 
up to the support of the United States cavalry just in time to turn 
defeat into victory, and after the capture of the city his regiment was 
stationed at the arsenal. A few days later the Fourth Indiana led the 
advance in the assault on Puebla, which resulted in another victory, 
and Colonel Childs' garrison of sick and disabled soldiers was rescued 
from a perilous position. From that time until the close of the war the 
Fourth was on duty and was engaged in a number of skirmishes with 
the enemy. On December 19, 1847, it joined the main body of the army 
under General Winfield Scott, in the city of Mexico, where it remained 
on guard duty until orders came on June 1, 1848, to return hoine. The 
regiment marched to Vera Cruz, sailed from that city for New Orleans, 
then proceeded by steamboat up the Mississippi and Ohio rivers to 
Madison, Indiana, where it was mustered out on July 20, 1848. 

The members of Captain "Wallace's company who enlisted from 
Madison county were : Nineveh Berry, commissary of subsistence ; 
Joseph Hunt, corporal; Reuben Stephenson, drummer; Levi Brewer, 
Jacob Booser, William Collis, John Dedman, Thomas Dillon, Alexander 
Greenlee, Solomon Harpold, John Hicks, Levi Kuowlton, Benjamin 
Moore, James Moore, Samuel Moore, Isaac Rheubart, Jacob Spucher, 
David Vanasdell, privates. John Dedman died at Perote, Mexico, 
December 11, 1847, and Thomas Dillon died at Puebla on March 28, 
1848. Jacob Spucher was discharged at New Orleans on June 15, 1848, 
for disability, and the other men were mustered out with the company 
at iMadison. 

During the quarter of a century that followed the war with Mex- 
ico, a number of veterans who had served in that conflict settled' in 
Madison county. On November 14, 1874, a number of these veterans 
met at the auditor's office in the courthouse at Anderson and made 
preparations to attend the convention of the surviving soldiers of the 
Mexican war at Indianapolis on January 7 and 8, 1875, "and unite 
with them in an appeal to a generous country and patriotic Congress 
and executive, to add the names of the surviving soldiers in the Mexican 
war to the list of pensioners, to the end that the Nation's bounty may 
be extended to all, who, by' their deeds of noble daring have contributed 
to maintain the rights and uphold the honor of our country either at 
home or abroad." 

Eight of the fourteen townships in the county were represented in 
the meeting as follows : Adams, John Probasco ; Anderson, Nineveh 
Berry and W. J. Philpot; Boone, Micajah Francis; Duck Creek, J. R. 
Morris and S. T. Tetrick; Fall Creek, H. P. Shaffer, John Hicks and 
Brady ; Jackson, John Ilendren ; Pipe Creek, R. P. Moler, Bran- 
nock and James Ripley and Robert P. Garretson ; Union. Levi Brewer. 
A glance at these names discloses the fact that Nineveh Berry and Levi 
Brewer were the only ones credited to Madison county at the time of 
the war. the others having become residents at a later date. 

The CniL "War 

From the time of the Missouri Compromise in 1820 to the election of 
Abraham Lincoln to the presidency of the United States in I860, the 



284 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

slavery question was a "bone of contention" in nearly every session of 
the national congress. During the political campaign of 1860 threats 
were frequently made by some of the slave states that, if Mr. Lincobi 
were elected, they would withdraw from the luiion. South Carolina 
carried out this threat on December 20, 1860, when he^- state convention 
passed an ordinance of secession. Mississippi seceded on January 9, 
1861 ; Florida, January 10th ; Alabama, January 11th ; Georgia, Janu- 
ary 19th; Louisiana, January 26th, and Texas, February 1st. Hence, 
when Mr. Lincoln was inaugurated on Llarch 4, 1861, he found seven 
states already in rebellion against his authority. Arkansas, North Caro- 
lina, Tennessee and Virginia subsequently passed ordinances of seces- 
sion. 

Early in the year 1861, Major Robert Anderson, who was in command 
of the defenses in Charleston harbor, removed his garrison from Fort 
Moultrie to Fort Sumter, in order to be in a stronger position in ease an 
attack were made. The secessionists looked upon this as a hostile move- 
ment and began the erection of batteries with a view to the reduction of 
the fort. On January 9, 1861, the steamer Star of the West, an unarmed 
vessel bearing supplies to Major Anderson, was fired upon and forced 
to turn back. Officially, the Civil war dates from this incident, but the 
general public was not thoroughly aroused to the gravity of the situation 
until three months later. 

At half past four o'clock on the morning of April 12, 1861, the first 
shot of the Civil war, as popularly understood, was directed against the 
solid walls of Fort Sumter. A constant cannonading was kept up until 
the 14th, when the garrison was permitted to retire from the fort with 
the honors of war, saluting the flag before it was hauled down. Major 
Anderson capitulated on Sunday, and on Monday, April 15, 1861, Pres- 
ident Lincoln issued a call for 75,000 volunteers to preserve the union 
and suppress the rebellion. 

All over the north, when the telegraph flashed the news that Fort 
Sumter had been fired upon, the excitement was intense. On Saturday 
evening, April 13th, two days before the call for troops was issued, a 
mass meeting was held at the courthouse in Anderson to consider the 
situation. Speeches were made by Dr. To\rasend Ryan, Colonel Milton 
S. Robinson, Robert D. Traster, Joseph Buckles, of Muncie, then circuit 
judge, and others, all expressing the same opinion — that the national 
administration should be upheld at all hazards. Political differences 
were forgotten in the general indignation at the insult offered to the 
flag. In an hour's time every man present who was eligible for military 
duty — and some who were not eligible — volunteered his services, in case 
they were necessary, to preserve the union. Altogether, 186 men volun- 
teered, a company was at once organized and W. R. ]\Iyers was elected 
captain, but declined in favor of Hiram T. Vaudevender. 

Eighth Infantry 

On Tuesday, April 16th, Governor Oliver P. Morton issued liis call 
for volunteers to fill the state's quota of the 75,000 troops called for 
by the president. The next day Captain Vandevender tendered the gov- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 285 

ernor a full company of one hundred men, which was accepted, and on 
the 22nd was mustered into the United States service for three months 
as Company E, Eighth Indiana Infantry, with Hiram T. Vandevender, 
captain ; John T. Robinson, first lieutenant ; James Fergrus, second lieu- 
tenant; John D. Johnson, first sergeant; William T. Ryan, James A. 
Giles and William H. Miller, sergeants; Francis McKahan, Andrew H. 
Rockenfield, George H. Dula and Ephraim Doll, corporals; Andrew 
Kramer and David Kilgore, musicians, and the following privates: 

Washington Alderman, Benjamin F. Allen, Jloses Andrews, William 
Atkins, Joseph Beck, Robert Brickley, George Clutter, Thomas Cum- 
mings, Benjamin Curtis, George W. Davis, Madison Davis, William H. 
Dunham, Hampton Ellis, Edmund Ferris, Henry C. Godwin, Richard 
J. Hall, John Hardin, Jacob H. HuUabaugh, Nathan B. Hawhey, Lewis 
K. Helvie, Samuel Henry, Michael Housman, David Hurlburt, John H. 
Hunt, James M. Irish, Oliver Irish, James H. Lewark, William H. 
Martin, Thomas JIadden, Charles A. Maul, Corydon W. Maul, John C. 
McCallister, George W. McGraw, James W. McGraw, Michael McGuire, 
Thomas McGuire, Joseph McKinnon, Andrew H. Melross, William B. 
Mershon, John Moore, Abraham Nicholas, Thomas Orr, Joseph W. Par- 
son, John Polk, Nathan Prather, Elisha J. Puckett, Joseph W. Redding, 
Jonathan B. Rinavalt, Enoch M. Roach, William Scott, Smith D. Shan- 
non, William H. Shelly, Jesse W. Shiner, John A. Shiner, Mathias 
Snelson, Augustus Teague, Albert A. Titherington, John D. Tithering- 
ton, William H. H. Vernon, Henry Vinyard, Adolphus Walden, Miner 
Walden, George Walker, John Wyman. 

The regiment, commanded by Colonel William P. Benton, remained 
in camp at Indianapolis, engaged in drilling, etc., until the 19th of June, 
when it was ordered to western Virginia and on the 22nd went into 
camp near Clarksburg. Here it was assigned to a brigade commanded 
by General William S. Rosecrans and moved to Buckhannon. On July 
11, 1861, it was engaged at Rich Mountain, where Joseph Beck was 
killed in a charge upon the enemy's position. On July 24th it was 
ordered back to Indianapolis, where it arrived four days later, and on 
August 6, 1861, was mustered out. 

After the three months' campaign the regiment was reorganized 
under its old commander — Colonel William P. Benton — and on Septem- 
ber 5, 1861, was mustered into the United States service at Indianapolis 
for three years "or during the war." At different times during this 
service, the regiment bore upon its muster rolls the names of 139 Madi- 
son county boys. James K. Bigelow was made a.ssLstant surgeon ; Wat- 
son Adams, Joseph Geik, William F. Fisher and Jacob H. Kinsey were 
members of Company A ; Alfred Painter, Alfred and Avery Riggs and 
James Williams ser^'cd in Company E ; John A. Gunckle, John Lloyd 
and Jasper Rutherford, in Company F ; John N. Elder, Elijah Fiant, 
Alexander Hale, Charles Kelly, John Kelly, William B. Pruett and 
David N. Robinson, in Company I. 

In the reorganization Captain Vandevender's company became Com- 
pany K, the i-oster of which at the time of muster in on September 5, 
1861, was as follows : Hiram T. Vandevender, captain ; Lorenzo D. 
McAllister, first lieutenant; Geoi;'e H. Dula, second lieutenant; John 



286 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

H. Hieks, first sergeant; Hampton Ellis, Lewis K. Helvie, Robert Fry, 
James Poindexter, sergeants ; Andrew Melross, John J. Pence, James 6. 
McCaJIister, Thomas W. Huston, John M. Hunt, Charles Lawsou, Dan- 
iel R. Hurlburt, Abram V. Nash, corporals; Corydon McCallister and 
Andrew F. Kramer, musicians; George W. Ileagy, wagoner. 

Privates — James Alderman, David Anshoot, Philip Anshoot, George 
Anshoot, William Atkins, William Baker, Ezra Basicker, James Black, 
William H. Bowers, Robert A. Bi-own, Abijah W. Chatman, Samuel 
Clark, William Conde, Abner V. Crosley, Simon Cummings, Thomas 
Cummings, Isaiah Daniels, George W. Dennis, Larkin E. Dula, Franklin 
Eastman, Job Gardner, iladison George, John Giles, Marion Graham, 
Simon Gregory, Clinton J. Guthery, Benjamin Hair, Jeremiah Hicks, 
Samuel Hicks, David Huston, Joseph L. Huston, William 6. Huston, 
William H. Huston, Pliilip Jones, John Jones, Philip Keller, Joseph 
Lanaham, Edward Lewark, Francis M. Lewark, James Lewark, Albert 
E. Lemon, John Lyons, Sanford Mathews, George K. Maul, John T. 
Mansfield, William H. McCallister, Robert J. McCallister, John W. Mc- 
Carthey, William S. McCarthey, James McCabe, George Mowery, John 
A. Neal, McDonald Perdue, Frederick Perget, Henry Perkins, George 
Poor, Peter Priliman, Daniel Roberts, Reason Sargeaut, Charles A. Sav- 
age, William Scott, William E. Scott, IsaiaJi Sharits, James Shawver, 
John Smith, Lawson Spencer, Anderson Stevenson, Samuel Tibbitts, 
Christopher Wall, Adolphus Walden, Minor J. Walden, Wiford Wean, 
Henry Webb, Williams Wert, Ambrose Whitecotton, Owen Williamson, 
David J. Williamson, Franklin Williamson, Marion Wood, Henry S. 
Wyman, Charles W. Wynn, Ransom Young. 

Recruits — John Baker, Lewis Cannon, John A. Fesler, James A. 
Giles, John H. Gilmore, Noah C. Haines, John Harman, John B. Hus- 
ton, Jeremiah Jenkins, John Lowe, William M. McCallister, Thomas 
McCormac, James McGuire, George McCullough, Charles McCallister, 
Joel Manning, James D. Roberts, James C. Shaw, Joseph. Scott, David 
Werts. 

On September 10, 1861, the regiment left Indianapolis for St. Louis, 
where it was assigned to the command of General Fremont. It took 
part in pursuit of General Price as far as Cross Hollows, Arkansas, was 
engaged with the enemy at Pea Ridge, and in March, 1863, joined Gen- 
eral Grant's army at Milliken's Bend, Louisiana, In the campaign 
against Vicksburg it fought at Port Gibson, Champion's Hill, Black 
River Bridge and a number of minor engagements. As part of General 
McClemand's corps it was engagred in the assault on the works at Vicks- 
burg, where Captain Vandevender was fatally wounded, his death oc- 
curring on May 23, 1863, Lieutenant McAllister being promoted to the 
command of the company. After the surrender of Vicksburg, the 
Eighth was ordered to join General Banks in Louisiana and operated 
in that state and Texas until in August, 1864, when it was ordered to 
Virginia. There it was assigned to the Nineteenth eoi-ps, which was 
part of General Sheridan's army in the Shenandoah Valley campaign. 
The regiment took part in the battles of the Opequan, Fisher's Hill and 
Cedar Creek and in January, was transferred to Savannah, Georgiet, 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 287 

where it remained on post and guard duty until ordered home. It was 
mustered out at Indianapolis on September 17, 1865. 

Eleventh Infantry 

George W. Lewis was a private in Company D, Ninth Infantry, and 
the Eleventh Infantry received forty-one recruits from Madison county 
in March, 1865. They were distributed to the various companies as fol- 
lows: Company D, Benjamin Elliott and Jacob Payne; Company E, 
Isaac Beeman, Samuel Beeman, Francis M. Boyden, Myron J. Boyden, 
Jesse A. Brumley, William Bamett, Lewis Brown, Samuel S. Dewitt, Se- 
bastian E. Douglass, John Fisher, John G. Foland, Nelson Foland, 
Greenberry L. Freeman, Preslej' O. Garnis, John S. Hougham, Ensley 
Hoover, Enos Hoover, William W. Miller, D. C. Marvin, John W. 
Myrick, William Neese, John Richwine, William H. Rollins, Samuel 
Shultz, Nathan F. Young; Company F, John G. Bamett, Michael 
Dougherty, William Kurtz, Asa T. Lewis, Hugh J. Pippin, John B. 
Clark; Company H, Harvey Clark, Noah B. Evans, Thornton Wilson; 
Company K, Calvin G. Crampton, Charles H. Davis, Timothy Sullivan. 
Three recruits — William H. Harding, Frank Somers and William T. 
Smith — were not regularlj' assigned to any company. During the en- 
tire service of these men they were engaged in guard duty at Balti- 
more, Maryland. 

Twelfth Infantry 

Madison county was well represented in the Twelfth Infantry dur- 
ing its first term of enlistment for one year, and when the regiment was 
reorganized for the three years' service, in the summer of 1862, a large 
part of Company G was recruited in Madison county. Of this company 
James Huston was Captain; Robert Alfont, second lieutenant (promoted 
to captain after the death of Captain Huston from disease contracted 
while a prisoner of war) ; Ralph Cooper, first sergeant (promoted to 
first lieutenant) : Richard J. Waterman and Thomas S. Huston, ser- 
geants; John H. Hiday, Zachariah Kinnamon and John H. Cottrell, 
corporals; Richard Alfont, Reuben M. Alfont, John W. Alexander, 
Thomas B. Bannon, Henry Borchording, Benjamin Copper, Nathaniel 
Copper, William Doty, Charles V. Harding, John Humphries, Joseph 
Huston, James Jordan, George W. Kelly, James N. Kinnamon, Levi M. 
Kinnamon, James McGuire, Ralph McGuire, John McVey, Lewis Mi- 
chael, James Moulden, William H. ]\Ioulden, William T. Moulden, 
Edward Pauley, George W. Piper, Mark Phillips, Isaac Ridenour, 
Vantly Rumler, Amos Rush, Daniel Rush, Thomas M. Rush, Thomas 
Steel, Amos Wilson, James Wilson and Daniel T. Wynn, privates. 

Recruits — George Dunham, Franklin Hooker, Peter B. Leunen, Wil- 
liam Thomas and Joseph B. Wiseman. 

Moses D. Gage, a JIadison county man, was chaplain of the regi- 
ment, and the following members of Company K were also from thia 
county : David T. Brooks, William Connell, Thomas D. Denny, John 
Engle, Charles Faulkner (corporal), Alexander Ford, Alexander Hor- 



288 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

ton, Jacob Kirk, Martin Linden, Robert "VV. McCallister, Nicholas Miller 
(sergeant), James 'Riley, Elijah E. Stephens, Quiucy A. Whitten. 

The regiment was mustered into the United States service at Indian- 
apolis on August 17, 1862, for three years, and on the 30th of that 
month was in the battle of Richmond, Kentucky, where it lost 173 in 
killed and wounded. Among the latter was Colonel William H. Link, 
commanding the regiment, who died on September 20, 1862. Nearly 
the entire regiment was captured and after being exchanged joined the 
army under General Grant in Mississippi. It participated in the cam- 
paign against Vicksburg, was at the battle of of Jackson, Mississippi, 
and then accompanied General Sherman to Chattanooga to relieve Gen- 
eral Thomas, who was there besieged by the Confederates under General 
Bragg. At the battle of Missionary Ridge, November 25, 1863, the 
Twelfth lost sixty-two in killed and wounded. In 1864 it was with 
Sherman on the Atlanta campaign and later participated in the cele- 
brated "march to the sea." Then, up through the Carolinas, taking 
part in numerous engagements, it marched via Richmond to Washing 
ton, where it was in the grand review of May 24, 1865, after which it 
was ordered to Indianapolis. There it was mustered out on June 14, 
1865, with the exception of some recruits and drafted men, whose term. 
of enlistment had not expired, and who were transferred to other regi- 
ments. 

Sixteenth Infantry 

Dr. George P. Chittenden was assistant surgeon of the Sixteenth 
Indiana Infantry during the regiment's one year's service, and when it 
was reorganized for the three years' service he was appointed surgeon. 
George F. Williams, another Madison county man, was quartermaster 
of this regiment, having been promoted to that position from quarter- 
master-sergeant. 

In the reorganized Sixteenth the following Madison county men en- 
listed in Company A: Eli Adams, Solomon Armfield, Solomon Bond, 
Ziba Darlington, Solomon F. Hardy, Thomas M. Hardy, Charles James, 
Joseph James, Davis Morton and George F. Williams. 

Company K was recruited in Madison county. The roster of this 
company was as follows : Charles T. Doxey, captain ; Edward 0. Doxey, 
first lieutenant; Oliver C. Davis, second lieutenant (promoted from first 
sergeant) ; John C. Blackmore, Clark P. Slade, Albert C. Davis, ser- 
geants; Elisha J. Puckett, James Watkins, George W. Jennings, Wil- 
liam A. Jennings, Culpepper Lee, Sylvanus Vanhom, Henry Wolfe 
and Milton Dove, corporals ; James T. McCardle and William Rans- 
bottom, musicians; Jesse Harris, wagoner. 

Privates — Corb Adams, James W. Alderman, Jerry Ashbj^ Samuel 
Bath, Daniel W. Bettis, Paschal Bradley, George W. Brown, Richard 
Burden, Joseph N. Carpenter, Lorenzo D. Carter, Anthony Chamness, 
George W. Chapin, Thomas J. Clark, William W. Clifford, Benton Cole, 
Jason L. Cunningham, Jonathan Davis, Christopher J. Daze, Joseph 
Dickey, George W. Dove, Montgomery Dowois, Thomas Downs, William 
Doxey, Michael Doyle, Thomas J. Edwards, Joseph Foreman, Smith 
Godwin, Harvey Hamilton, David N. Harris, Hezekiah Hart, William 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 289 

Hart, John Harvey, John Hughes, Collins Jones, John Kaufman, 
Michael Kelly, Edward Lippold, Patrick McCullough, Joseph L. Mc- 
Kinnon, Lewis ^IcQuilliau, Daniel Mahoney, Isaac Minnick, Thomas 
Murray, John W. Newton, William O'Brien, Michael O'Rourke, Isaiah 
J. Osborn, Jeremiah Painter, James R. Parris, Oliver T. Parris, James 
Parsons, William T. Perrj-, Alexander Pickard, Robert Ransbottom, 
William B. Reed, Samuel Remmick, Samuel B. Richart, Henry Rigsby, 
James Rigsby, William L. Rigsby, John Roan, Zachariah Smart, Frank 
Smith, Willis Speany, George Stoker, John B. Taylor (promoted to sec- 
ond lieutenant), Albert A. Titherington, Lewis H. Titherington, Robert 
Titherington, John Troj', Stephen A. Williamson, John H. Woods, Josiah 
W^orth. 

Like the Twelfth, the Sixteenth Infantry was at first mustered into 
service for one year. It was mustered out on May 14, 1862, and imme- 
diately began the work of reorganizing for the three years' service. 
Under command of Colonel Thomas J. Lucas it was mustered in on 
August 19, 1S62, and the same day started for Kentucky to repel the 
invasion of that state by the Confederates under General Kirby Smith. 
At the battle of Richmond, Kentucky, August 30, 1862, the regiment 
lost 175 in killed and wounded and about five hundred in captured or 
missing. The prisoners were paroled and on October 1, 1862, all sur- 
viving members of the command reported at Camp Morton, Indianapo- 
lis, where the regiment was reorganized, enough recruits coming in to 
bring the strength up to the proper quota. The recruits in Company K 
were: Stephen Corwin, Benjamin Cavins, Pendleton Claud, Charles 
Dinwiddle, James R. Ellison, Peter Emmett, Francis Glardon, James 
S. Kimberly, Jacob Kribs, John Lee, Abner J. Luck, William Mason, 
John W, Moore, Lewis Moore, James Sellers, William Seymour, Frank- 
lin Slim, Joseph Westlake and James Ward. There were also six Madi- 
son county boys added to the regiment but appear on the records aa 
"unassigned." They were Timothy Akers, John Dunley, William Mad- 
sagin, Aaron Weston, Jeremiah and James Wilson. 

On November 26. 1862, the regiment was again ordered to the front 
and joined General Sherman's forces at Memphis, Tennessee. It was 
the first regiment to enter the enemy's works at Arkansas Post when 
that place surrendered on January 11, 1863, after which it assisted in 
the construction of the famous canal around Vicksburg. It was in 
numerous engagements around Vicksburg and participated in the siege 
of that city, losing sixty men in killed and wounded during the siege. 
After the fall of Vicksburg and the battle of Jackson, the Sixteenth 
was sent to Louisiana and took part in General Banks' Red River cam- 
paign in the early part of 1864, protecting the rear of the army on the 
retreat to New Orleans. It remained in Louisiana, engaged in various 
lines of duty, until June 30, 1865, when it was mustered out at New 
Orleans, the men proceeding to Indianapolis, where they drew their 
final pay and were discharged. 

Seventeenth Infantry 

During its term of service, this regiment bore upon its muster rolls 
tlie I'jiines of one hundred and forty men from the county of Madison. 

Tol. 1— 1» 



290 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Company G was recruited in the county and was mustered in with the 
regiment for three years, at Indianapolis, June 12, 1861, under com- 
mand of Col. John T. Wilder. At the time it entered the service the 
officers of the company were as follows : 

Robert C. Reid, captain ; Ethan M. Allen, first lieutenant ; Hiram J. 
Daniels, second lieutenant ; John W. Ryan, first sergeant ; David T. W. 
Peterman, Francis JI. Van Pelt, Emery W. Clifford, James DeM. Taylor, 
sergeants ; John H. Wagner, William H. Benefiel, ^Milton P. Layman, 
Charles M. Murphy, Charles Gustin, James E. Cook, corporals; Isaac 
C. Shai-p and W^illiam W. Smith, musicians; Robert W. Reid, wagoner. 

Privates — John R. Allsup, John W^. Allsup, William Banks, Seth 
G. Bams, Joseph Bloom, Nathaniel Bowers, John T. Boyd, Jack Bren- 
naman, Matthew Cane, Thomas Cantwell, Sanford Casebolt, Jacob 
Childers, John Childs, William H. Connor, Daniel Daniels, James M. 
Daniels, Hiram EUiott, Elijah Evans, William S. Evans, John T. 
Fisher, James Gillaspie, Richard S. Gossett, Martin D. Hamilton, 
Michael D. Hammonds, Hiram Harcum, Nicholas Heldt, James T. 
(Hight, George P. Hopper, James Hoover, John Hoover, James Hub- 
bard, Elijah B. Hullinger, James Jenkins, George T. Johnston, William 
R. Jones, Francis M. Knight, George Kokoanider, Patrick Lamb, Jacob 
Lott, John G. McKinney, James McLaughlin, James P. McMillen, Silas 
McMillen, Judson L. Mann, Thomas Mann, W^illiam Meddee, Benjamin 
Miller, Thomas J. Miller, William C. Miller, Charles W. Murphy, John 
E. Murphy, William H. Myers, John Ober, Thomas Oliver, Levi M. 
Overman, Ernest Phillips, James Ripley, John Schnider, Charles 
Schraufer, Martin L. Scott, George D. Simpson, Andrew J. Skinner, 
Samuel B. Smith, James IM. Stapleton, Samuel Streets, Henry Stultz, 
Charles D. Sullivan, Tipton Tait, Franz Taraska, David A. Taylor, 
George W. Wagner, Newton M. Ward, He;iry C. Webb, Daniel Weddell, 
Noah S. Weddell, Michael Weldt, Lewis M. West, Frederick Wigle, 
Isaac Willitt, Thomas Wilson, John Woods, William Wright, Fred- 
erick Zehe. 

Arduous ser\'iee decimated the ranks of the company until it became 
necessary to add almost as many recruits as there were names upon 
the original muster roll. The recruits added at various times were 
as follows : William A. Akers, Henry Baker, Sidney Barton, William 
Bassett, Aaron Bunnell, John Burr, William Chapman, Abraham 
Charles, Alfred Clendenin, Luther F. Clifford, Madison Cox, Elijah 
Curry, Abel Davenport, Theodore Ellis, George L. Evans, Albert G. 
Gunckel, William Hiser, Martin Holt, Albert Hoover. William Huff- 
man, Thomas Hughes, Nelson Hunter, Joseph Hurst, William Ingram, 
Conrad Leatherman, Beam Lockman, Jacob ]\Iartin, James A. Martin, 
Edward Maxwell, Samuel B. ]\IcDonald, Ransom McKibbin, Jason S. 
McMullen, William E. Menifee, Michael Miller, Ransom P. ]Moler, Jor- 
dan Ooten, John Osbom, Isaac N. Proctor, John Quillian, Alexander 
Reynolds, Samuel Ritter, Noah Roach, John B. Rucker, John C. Scrog- 
gins, John Shawhan, John Shea, Elias Shook, Thomas J. Smith. Charles 
J. Stewart, David Stewart, Joseph Stephens, Andrew J. Summa, Elijah 
Sutphin, Joseph A. Swope. There were also a few Madison county 
recruits that were unassigned to any company. 



HISTORY OF MAUISON COUNTY 291 

On July 1, 1861, the regiment left Indianapolis for Virginia. It 
was part of General Reynolds' command at the battle of Greenbrier and 
in November was ordered to join General Buell at Louisville, Kentucky. 
For a while it was in Nelson's division, but in February, 1862, was 
assigned to General Wood's division, with which it marched to Pitts- 
burg Landing, but being in the rear did not reach the field of Shiloh 
until after the battle was over. During the remainder of the year 1862 
it was on duty in Tennessee, ^lississippi and Alabama and was fre- 
quently engaged with the enemy. On February 12, 1862, Colonel 
Wilder received ordei's to mount his regiment by "confiscating horses 
belonging to the inhabitants of the country," and from that time until 
April 1, 1863, the men were engaged in expeditions to secure horses, 
acquiring great skill in finding horses that had been concealed. After 
being mounted the Seventeenth was constantly employed on scouting 
expeditious and in May the men were armed with Spencer rifles. At 
Hoover's Gap, Colonel "Wilder, without waiting for orders, attacked 
the enemy, and though outnumbered five to one held his position until 
reinforced, when the Confederates were driven from their position. 
After the battle of Chickamauga, in which the regiment took part, 
it remained in the vicinity of Chattanooga until the last day of Novem- 
ber, when Wilder was ordered to the relief of General Burnside at 
Knoxville. There it charged through the enemy's lines that surrounded 
the Union troops. In Januarj-, 1864, the regiment became a veteran 
organization by reenlistment and after the veteran furlough joined 
General Sherman for the Atlanta campaign. It formed part of General 
Wilson's command in the famous raid through Alabama and Georgia in 
the early part of 1865. From I\Iay 22d to August 8, 1865, it was on 
post duty at iMacon, Georgia, and on the latter date was mustered out 
of service. The men reached Indianapolis on the 16th of August and 
Avere there finally discharged. 

Nineteenth Infantry 

Company A of this regiment was organized in Anderson by Capt. 
Isaac M. May. A number of the men came from Delaware county and 
for some reason not plain the company is credited to that county in 
the adjutant-general's report. The complete muster roll of the com- 
pany at the time of muster-in was as follows : 

Isaac M. May, captain ; James L. Kilgore, first lieutenant ; Alonzo 
I. Jlakepeace, second lieutenant; Charles T. DOxey, first sergeant (pro- 
moted to second lieutenant of Company I) ; Charles H. Davis, Julius 
Voit. Oliver C. Davis. Adam Gisse, sergeants; Jonathan Tower, James 
I\I. ]\Iitchell, Tilman A. Snelson, Asahel Burris, George W. Curleaux, 
(leorge W\ Gibson, Charles E. Watkins and George W. Dove, corporals; 
Thomas C. O'Neal and Oscar W. Ray, musicians: Bryant Taylor, wag- 
oner. Captain ]\Ia.v was promoted to major and Lieutenant Makepeace 
became captain, Lieutenant Kilgore having resigned soon after the regi- 
ment was mustered in. Sergeants Voit and Gisse each served as second 
lieutenant of the company at some period of its service and Sergeant 
Oliver C. Davis was made second lieutenant of Companj' K, Sixteenth 



292 HISTORY OF MADISON COL'XTV 

Infantry. Major May Post, Grand Army of the Republic, at Anderson, 
is named in honor of the first captain of this company. 

Privates — William H. Abbott, Isaac Adams, Daniel Adams, Charles 
A. Anderson, John Andis, Jesse 0. Banyon, George Banner, Ephraim 
Bartholomew, Edmund F. Bevelheimer, George Bevelheimer, John B. 
Blake, Hiram Brady, John A. Brown, Elisha Burris, Jacob Burris, John 
P. Burke, Henry Carr, Henry D. Comer, George W. Conger, Josiah 
Cruise, Christopher C. Crummel, John Dyer, George Elliott, Matthew 
Elliott, David Ellison, Caleb Francis, George Garrison, James Gates, 
Lewis Gauguin, Andrew L. Gibson, Elkanah M. Gibson, John Gilmore, 
Morris Gilmore, Thomas Hackett, George Hall, Lewis Harris, George 
Harberstrop, John Hawk, George P. Helvie, Samuel Hensley, John C. 
Hiatt, Henry Hume, Andrew J. Johnson, George Johnson, Thomas 
Jones, Gideon Kennedy, John A. Kindle, Andrew Laibley, Caleb Lamb, 
Bradley Landrey, Thomas Loller, Patrick Lynch, John McCollin, Chris- 
topher McGregor, James McGinnis, Sleasman Meeker, William H. H. 
Miller, James L. Mitchell, William Morgan, William Newton, Peter 
Nimrick, Michael O'Rourke, Alvarion Osborne, Eli Pearsoll, Dominick 
Pickell, Peter Poor, Stephen D. Pugett. William Rigsby, Augustus 
H. Rohrer, Albert Six, Barney Six, Henry Smith, Thomas A. Smith, 
Peter Spangler, James N. Stewart, Jesse W. Stitley, John H. Surber, 
George Terwilliger, John Udri, Peter Worth, Charles Wykoff, Jacob M. 
Wysong and John C. Young. 

Subsequently the following recruits from Madison county were added 
to the company: James M. Abbott, Enoch Adams, Stephen Adams, 
Jacob Bolen, Araasa H. Brown, Clinton A. Burke, Simeon J. Clem, 
Levi Dove, Henry Duross, Ephraim B. Eager, Thomas Fletcher, Daniel 
Hoppis, Zenas M. Kinnaman, William A. Kendall, James Leamy, John 
McGregor, Elias Modlin, Archy H. Peak, Jesse Parson, Seth C. Peden, 
John Pitman, Nathaniel Rigsby, Joseph D. Smith, John D. Titherington 
and John J. Tucker. 

Several members of the regimental band were from Madison county. 
Those known to have been from this county were James L. Bell, William 
Cole, Oliver and Volney B. Irish, John Pyle, John W. Beem, Samuel D. 
Vanpelt and Byron Scribner. In addition to the members of the band 
and Compaxiy A the following recruits from the county were added 
to Company E : Bartley A. Bose, William J. Branson, John P. Helvie, 
William Helvie, Jasper Hoppis, James Love, Oliver Love, John W. 
Modlin and David Turner. 

The Nineteenth was, mustered into service at Indianapoljs on July 
29, 1861, with Solomon Meredith as colonel. Eleven daj's later it joined 
the Army of the Potomac at Washington and from that time until 
mustered out it was almost constantly on the firing line, being a part 
of the famous "Iron Brigade." Among the engagements in which it 
participated were Gainesville, Manassas Junction, South Mountain, An- 
tietam, FredericksbTirg, Gettysburg, the various actions of the ^lino 
Run compaign, and most of the battles of the campaign from the Rapi- 
dan to the James in 1864. Major May was killed at the battle of Gaines- 
ville, AiTgust 28, 1862, where the regiment lost one hundred and eighty- 
seven in killed and wounded, and his body was never recovered, though 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY ' 293 

his widow aiui frit'iuls made diligent search for his remains. The two 
soldiers who buried him were l)oth killed and no trace of his last resting 
place was left. Captain ilakepeaee eonimanded Company A at Gettys- 
burg, where he was captured. He was contined tirst at Libby prison 
and later at Salisbury, North Carolina. Twice he succeeded in making 
his escape from prison, but each time was recaptured. He is now a 
resident of Anderson. On July 28, 1864, those of the Nineteenth whose 
time had expired were mustered out anVl the three hundred and three 
veterans and recruits were consolidated with the Twentieth Infantry, 
which was mustered out on July 12, 1865. 

Thirtt-fourth Infantry 

Madison county was well represented in tliis regiment, which was 
organized at Camp Stilwell, Anderson, where it was mustered in on 
September 16, 1861, for three years, with Asbury Steele as colonel. 
Among the regimental officers were the following Madison county men : 
Townsend R.yan, lieutenant-colonel (afterward surgeon of the Fifty- 
fourth Indiana infantry); John W. Ryan, adjutant; Thomas N. Stil- 
well, quartermaster; Francis A. Griswold, chaplain; Simeon B. Harri- 
man, assistant surgeon ; Benjamin B. Campbell, quartermaster sergeant, 
promoted quartermaster and captain of Company H ; Nineveh Berry, 
commissary sergeant ; James M. Berry, hospital steward. 

The regimental band was also composed of Madison and Grant 
countj' musicians, viz. : George W. Aumach, William J. Bourk, Christian 
S., Clinton M., and Reuben H. Burley, Eli A. Collins, George B. Ed- 
monds. Charles P. Hedrick, Edwin C. Hun-y, Allen Ja(|ua, Charles A. 
Jones, James G. I\lcllhenny, Horace B. and Samuel D. RIakepeace, Har- 
vey S. iMarks, Charles B. Northrop, Franklin H. Pilcher, Silas A. Pulse, 
Henry Reid, John J. Shalfer, Elijah D. R. Stout, Albert Thomas and 
James C. Wood, all of whom were mustered out on August 21, 1862, by 
order of the war department. 

In Company C the following privates came from iladison county: 
Jonathan D. Ayers, John F. Beecher, Charles Compton, John H. Groves, 
Isaac H. Hamilton, Francis B. Howe, Thomas Kelsey, James Kline, 
Alanson Palmer, William II. Sale, John M. Smith. The recruits added 
to this company later were David Divilbiss, George W. Fox and Nathan 
W. Rogers. 

Company D was a Madison county company, with the exception of 
a few men. Of this company Jonathan Jones, of Alexandria, was cap- 
tain ; Samuel Henry, of Pendleton, first lieutenant ; Columbus W. Moore, 
of Summit\'ille. first sergeant ; Joshua L. Fussell, Orin L. Walker and 
Joseph ^r. Irwin, sergeants: p]noch E. McMahon, Isaac P. Jones, Francis 
A. Tomlinson and David K. Carver, corporals. 

Privates — John Adams, Benjamin F. Allen, Jona. P. Allen, James 
Archer. Andrew J. Barricks, Ephraim Clark, William A. Craven, James 
M. Cunningham, John D. Ellis, John R. Gambriel, Jacob Gipe, John W. 
Goul, George H. Henderson. Robert Jackson, Samuel Jackson, Elias 
James, William L. Johnson, ^lorris H. Jones, John W. Kinnaman, Wes- 
ley Kitchen, John W. Lewark, Byram Love, John W. JIcMuUen, 



294 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Ambrose Manning, David M. Moore, James A. Noble, John L. Pickard, 
Joseph G. Pickard, Nathaniel W. Pickard, George Poore, John H. Poore, 
Joseph Poore, Nathan Prather, John A. Reid, John Reeves, Benjamin F. 
Rogers, Joseph Rumler, Allison J. Ryan, Thomas Ryan, John R. Sexton, 
Elijah Stover, Charles S. Suffield, William R. Teague, Levi Thompson, 
Theodore S. Walker, Nicholas Whal^n. 

Recruits— Thomas P. Ballard, Thomas M. Bell, George W. Biddle, 
Godfrey Bohrer, Edward Christopher, George W. Cartwright, Josiah 
Cartwright, Andrew J. Cassell, John P. Condo, William B. Davis, 
^quilla Day, Andrew J. Flemming, John Griffee, Oliver Griffee, William 
A. Hughs, Augustine King, Daniel F. Lee, Hillary W. G. Lee, Ezekiel 
Manning, Boze Murphy, John Norris, William Norris, Lewis M. Painter, 
Benjamin F. Piper, James E. Price, Robert Pugh, James H. Ricketson, 
Byron Scribner, Enoch Sexton, Mark A. Starr, James Windsor, Daniel 
Windsor and William Young. 

The greater part of Company E, Thirty-fourth Infantry, was re- 
cruited in the western tier of Madison county townships. Francis M. 
Hunter, of Duck Creek township, was commissioned captain ; Hiram G. 
Fisher, of Fishersburg, first lieutenant ; Francis M. Boyden, of Perkins- 
ville, second lieutenant. The sergeants of the company -were John E. 
Markle (promoted to captain of Company K), Charles Blake and 
William H. H. Quick. The corporals were Warren Cole, Robert S. 
Benefiel, Sanford W. Newland, John W. Foland, Daniel F. Ham, Ben- 
jamin F. Wise, John W. Brattain and John H. Moore. William E. 
Kurtz and John W. Newland enlisted as musicians. 

Privates— William Abney, Andrew Anderson, Charles Apgar, George 
W. Baxter, James M. Beck, Isham Benefiel, Benjamin A. Bereman, David 
F. Boyden, Jonathan Brattain, William R. Brown, Yardman Brown, 
George W. Bums, Jackson Cartey, George W. Cochran, William Con- 
rad, Thomas K. Cox. Barnette Dewitt, Edward Doty, Addison Dwig- 
gins, William Dwiggins, Stephen C. Falconburg, Isaac P. Foland, 
W^illiam L. R. Garner, Enos Gross, Jacob Gross, Harvey Gross, Harvey 
Gwinu, John C. Gwiun, Franklin Hanley, John A. Harman, George 
W. Hosier, Milligan Hosier, Benjamin Huffman, George Huffman, Jas- 
per Huffman, William Jerrell, Robert M. Kidwell, Thomas B. Legg, 
Samuel Lee, John T. McConneha, John W. IMaguire, Oliver F. Martin, 
Joseph Miller, William N. Miller, William Mills, Jabez E. Miner, Wil- 
liam Moore, William P. Moulder, Robert A. Niekum, Jefferson Olvey, 
James H. Patterson, Elijah W. Piersol, Leonard F. Reddick, Lewis F. 
Reader, William Richwine, Jesse Schuyler, Isaac Sears, John Shaw, 
Thomas Shaw, William A. Sheward, Jeremiah Simpson, Harvey Sloan, 
Calvin W. Studley, Datus E. Studley, William Stokes, Joseph Waymire, 
John Webb, Benjamin F. Wise (promoted corporal), Andrew D. 
Wood, David Woodyard, William Young. 

Recruits — John Buay, Samuel M. Beck, Jonathan Brattain, Isaac 
Brokaw, James Brown, George W. Foland, Francis Hosier, Joseph 
Holfier, Samuel B. Larue, Joseph Lee, Joseph Simpson, William Shaw, 
Daniel E. Valentine, Wilson Weddington, Joel Zeak. Eight men served 
as privates in Company F, viz. : C. D. Boone, John P. Davis, Charles 
Guinnup, Abram Hatfield, Jacob Maj's, William Stanley, John Thomp- 
son and Daniel B. Williams. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 295 

On October 16, 1861, the Thirty-fourth left Anderson for Louisville, 
Kentucky, where it remained in Camp Wickliffe until February 14, 
1862, when it received orders to reinforce General Grant, who was 
then engaged in the reduction of Fort Donelson. The fort surrendered 
before the regiment reached tliere and it was ordered to Cairo, Illinois, 
where it joined the expedition against New Madrid, Missouri. In that 
movement it plaj'ed a conspicuous part, then assisted in the capture of 
Fort Pillow, was then in Arkansas until April. 1863, when it joined 
General Grant for the campaign against Vicksburg. It was in action 
at Port Gibson, Champion's Hill, during the siege of Vicksburg, at Jack- 
son, Jlississippi, and after the fall of Vicksburg was ordered to Louisi- 
ana. To this regiment belongs the honor of having taken part in the 
last battle of the Civil war— at Palmetto Ranche, Texas, May 13, 1865. 
This action occurred not far from the old battlefield of Palo Alto. The 
union troops were attacked by a superior force of the enemy, armed 
with artillery, and forced to fall back toward Brownsville. Companies 
B and E of the Thirty-fourth Indiana covered the retreat and were cut 
off from the main body and captured. In the engagement the regiment 
lost eighty-two men in killed, wounded and prisoners. John J. Williams, 
usuallj' referred to by his comrades as "Jeff" Williams, a private of 
Company B, wlio enlisted from Ja^' county, was killed at Palmetto 
Ranche and is said to have been the last man killed in battle in the 
Civil war. His portrait hangs in the hall of Major ]\Iay Post, G. A. R., 
at Anderson and is pointed out to visitors by membere of the regiment. 
The Thirty-fourth was one of the very last of the volunteer regirnenta 
to be mustered out, which was done at Brownsville, Texas, February 3, 
1866, and fifteen days later the men received their final pay and dis- 
charge at Indianapolis. 

In this regiment Elmer B. Warner was captain of Company I for 
awhile, and James McDerman, Enos Miller and Daniel F. Mustard 
served a.*: privates in the same company. 

Forty-seventh Infantry 

This regiment was partially formed at Camp Stilwell, Anderson, but 
the organization was completed at Indianapolis, where the regiment 
was mustered in by companies from December 9 to 13, 1861. James 
R. Slack, of Huntington, was commissioned colonel ; Milton S. Robin- 
son, lieutenant-colonel; George Nichol, quartermaster; Peter H. Lemon, 
commissary sergeant. The last three of the above named officers were 
from ]\Iadison county. 

Company G was recruited in Madison county and was mustered in 
with John T. Robin.son as captain ; John F. Eglin, first lieutenant ; Wil- 
liam R. Myers, second lieutenant (both lieutenants were promoted to 
captain through changes in the official roster of the company) ; Mc- 
Clure H. Bryant, Henry Vinyard (promoted first lieutenant), Joseph 
McMullen. sergeants; Jacob E. Waymire, ]\Iathlas Snelson, David E. 
Clem, John M. Caster and Frederick Rent, corjjorals; John M. Hankey 
and Harrison Jackson, musicians; John Wyman, wagoner. 



296 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Privates — Samuel Anderson, Daniel Ashby, William S. Beard, 
Johnson Benetiel, Hugh Berryman, Willett E. Bird, William AV. Bod- 
kins, William Brown, Moses Cannon, Thomas Cannon, William Carroll, 
Sylvester Clary, Andrew Cloud, Abraham Cook, John P. Cornelius, 
Peter Costello, Doctor B. Davis, jMarion Davis, Meredith Davis, 
Nathaniel Davis, Bartholomew Ellis, Edmund Ferris, William Hard- 
castle, Jacob Harris, Arch A. Hattill, Joseph Hensley, Henry Hinckle, 
Reuben Hodgson, Isaac Holloway, Doi-sey jM. Hour, William Ingram, 
Owen Jan-ett, Albert Jay, John Keller, John H. Lee, Hugh C. Lust, 
James B. Mabbitt, William A. Maynard, John Miller, Justice Morse, 
Michael Odam, Joseph Phillips, William H. H. Phillips, John Prilli- 
man, Wilson Ralph, George W. Reeder, George W. Riley, Martin Sines, 
George A. Smith, Oliver Smith, Andrew Stanley, David T. Suffield, 
Jacob Trump, J. Watkins, William H. Watkins, John Whitaker, Wil- 
liam E. White, Joseph Wier, George W. Williamson, Jeffei-son William- 
son. Four recruits were added to the company later, viz : Adam Per- 
kins, Orange L. Shaw, Amos Stanley and William Trombla. 

In Company H George Sloan held the rank of sergeant and the fol- 
lowing Madison county boys were mustered in as privates : Moses Chap- 
man, Albert A. Manning, William Z. Manning, Jonathan Nave, William 
Sailer, Albert Sloan, Milton Sloan. The recruits added to this com- 
pany were : Joseph Creviston, William H. Lain, John and Joseph Lit- 
tle, Andrew J. and Francis M. Sale, George B. Strather, Sewell D. 
Walker and James Wallace. 

Peter Carey was promoted to the second lieutenancy of Company 
K, and in the same company Presley E. Jackson held the rank of cor- 
poral. 

The Forty-seventh left Indianapolis on December 16, 1861, for Bards- 
town, Kentucky, and it remained in that state until the following Feb- 
ruary, when it was ordered to join General Pope at Commerce, Missouri, 
for the movement against New Madrid and Island No. 10. Protn that 
time to December, 1863, it was with the Thirty-fourth, an account of 
v/hich regiment has been given. In December, 1863, the Forty-seventh 
was assigned to the Department of the Gulf and formed part of General 
Banks' army in the Red River campaign of 1864. In March, 1865, it 
was ordered to Mobile to take part in the siege of that city and distin- 
guished itself in the assault on Spanish Fort (April 8th), when that 
stronghold surrendered. It was then sent back to Louisiana and re- 
mained in that state until mustered out on October 23, 1865. 

Seventy-fifth Inp.vntry 

When this regiment was mustered into service on August 19, 1862, 
John M. Petit was colonel, but in October his health became so impaired 
that he was forced to resign and Milton S. Robinson, lieutenant-colonel 
of the Forty-seventh, was commissioned to succeed him. Joseph F. 
Johnston and Levi S. Sa.ylor, two Madison county boys, enlisted as 
privates in Company E and the latter was killed at Chickamauga, Sep- 
tember 19, 1863. 



HISTORY OF IVLiDISON COUNTY 297 

Compaxiy G of this regiment was recruited in Madison county and 
was officered at the time of muster in as follows: Joseph T. Smith, cap- 
tain; John B. Frazer, tirst lieutenant; William L. Philpott, second lieu- 
tenant; William J. Hilligoss, George M. Overehiner, Joel W. McMahon, 
John W. Channiess, sergeants; Royson T. Boyden, George H. Hilligoss, 
Stephen iletcalf, Daniel H. Clymer, James Reeder, James E. Powell, 
Luther C. Harman, corporals; Simpson Carpenter, wagoner. 

Privates — Robert A. Bartlett, Edward O. Bowden, John A. Briggs, 
Thomas Briggs, Andrew G. Burress, Solomon C. Call, Francis N. Child- 
ers, Elman Clary, George W. Custer, Courtland Doau, Cyrus Dwiggins, 
Jacob Eaker, Charles Everling, George 0. Everling, ilichael Gillespie, 
John A. Haueker, Francis j\I. Helm, David E. Hillis, George Hillis, 
Chauncey Hosier, Thomas H. D. Hosier, George Hulse, Clement Ingram, 
Wiley Ingi-am, Martin Jackson, John R. Jarrett, Joseph W. Jarrett, Wil- 
liam Johnson, John E. Keller, George Lawson, Henderson Lawson, 
Elijah Lewark, Henry C. Lyst, Samuel Lyst, Thomas J. Lyst, John D. 
McKee, Robert jMcKinney, James McMahan, Samuel S. McMahan, Wil- 
liam W. McMahan, William Mather, James M. Miner, Lewis Moler, Ben- 
jamin F. Mounts, Jackson Needham, John W. Nelson, James M. Over- 
shiner, George W. O'Neal, Emanuel Owen, George W^. Owen, Thomas L. 
Patterson, George T. Penniston, Chapman Perkins, Isaac H. Perkins, 
James R. Perry, Jacob Petei"s, Silas G. Piper, George W. Rains, G. W. 
Riley, John Robbins, Albert J. Ross, John Simmons, John Simpson, Noah 
Sloan, Wright Smith, James Snedeker, William Snow, John Stan, Asel 
Stansberry, Jesse W. Stillej-, David T. Thompson, Grisby Tracy, John 
W. Tranbarger, David W^aymire, Washington Waymire. John U. Wilson. 

In Company I, Joseph Gwin enlisted as corporal and was promoted to 
first lieutenant ; John Abner was the company wagoner, and the follow- 
ing privates enlisted from Madison county : Samuel Bach, Artemus Bid- 
die, Joseph Brittinham, Thomas W. Eaton, Moses Good, Elisha Hollo- 
way, Jesse Holloway, Abram R. Lilley, Henry P. Michael, Elijah Morse, 
John W. Non-is, Charles Rowles, Jonas 0. Smithers, Elias Summers, 
Frederick Swigert, Jesriel W^een, Wesley S. White, Hiram Wykoff. 

The early service of the Seventy-fifth was in Kentucky and Tennessee. 
On January 5, 1863, it marched to Murfreesboro, where it was assigned 
to Reynolds' division of the Fourteenth army corps, and in June follow- 
ing was an active factor in the TuUahoma campaign. It was then en- 
gaged in the various maneuvers preceding the great battle of Chicka- 
mauga, where it lost ninety-eight in killed and wounded in the first day's 
fighting and in the second day's fighting it lost fifty-three. In Novem- 
ber following it was engaged in the "charge without orders" upon the 
Confederate position on Missionary Ridge, and the next day pursued the 
retreating enemy to Ringgold, Georgia. It was engaged in nearly all 
the principal engagements of the Atlanta campaign in 1864, and was 
one of the regiments that followed Sherman in the celebrated march to 
the sea. Then followed the campaign through the Carolinas, the sur- 
render of General Joseph E. Johnston, the march to Washington, via 
Richmond, and the grand review. The regiment was mustered out at 
Washington on June 8, 1865, except a few veterans and recruits, whose 



298 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

time had not expired, and these were consolidated with the Forty-see- 
ond Indiana Infantry, which was mustered out at Louisville, Kentucky, 
July 21, 1865. 

Eighty-ninth Infantry 

Company B of this regiment was recruited in Madison county and 
when rriustered into the United States service at Indianapolis on August 
28, 1862, was officered as follows : Saniuel Henry, captain ; Elijah Wil- 
liams, firet lieutenant ; Jonathan W. Zeublin, second lieutenant ; Andrew 
J. Scott, Moses D. Gage, Benjamin F. Bowsman, Preston L. Brown, ser- 
geants ; George 11. Brown, George AV. AVaitnian, Amos J. Davis, Wil- 
liam English, George Rinewalt, Joseph M. Rogers, James H. Smither 
and William J. iluUen, coi-porals; William II. Bolinger and William H. 
Pardue, musicians; Davis Daily, wagoner. 

Privates — John W. H. Alden, George R. Anderson, Thomas Ander- 
son, Robert Baily, John A. Baker, Philip Baker, William Baughman, 
William B. Beach, William J. Beard, Philip Becker, Jacob Bogart, Allen 
Bond, Edmund Brown, William G. Bi-own, Charles A. Bunker. Rollin 
S. Carroll, Samuel Castle, Lawrence Craven, Samuel W. Craven, Andrew 
Crossley, Henry Crossley, Jacob Delawter, John E. Delawter, Charles 
R. Eastman, W. AV. Ellsworth, Robert Galbraith, Jacob Given, John AV. 
Goul, Thomas L. Grass. Leonidas Helvie, George W. Ifert, A'irgil P. 
Irish, Francis M. Jackson, George Jackson, Stephen J. Jackson, Thomas 
B. Jackson, Davis James. Andrew J. Jarrett, James W. Jarrett, Davis 
Jones, Tillman H. Kellum, John Kesler, Elijah E. Koons, AVilliam D. F. 
Lane, Elyphus LefSngwell, Orange Lemon, Charles H. McCarthy, Madi- 
son Mingle, William S. Mingle, John ^Morris, Thomas H. B. Norris, 
Samuel Pavey, William H. Prater, James AI. Price, Henry Schuyler, 
John A. Sears, Jefferson Seybert, James II. Seybert, Lorenzo D. Sey- 
bert. Newel B. Shaul, Richard A. Shaul, James M. Small, John A. 
Smithers, AA^'illiam H. Snell, Sr., AVilliam H. Snell, Jr., Christian Snyder, 
Addison W. Stephenson, William H. Stouder, Jonathan P. Swope, Wil- 
liam H. Taylor, Gustavus A. Tilson, Samuel Todd, John Welty, John 
Whiteeotton, Oliver Whitecotton, Allen W. Williams, Thomas W. A. 
Wilson, Frank AVright. Fountain B. Wylie, Harvey H. Wylie, Madison 
A. Wylie. Thoma.s G. AVylie. 

Recruits — Elmore B. Crump, .John Ebert, Andrew Fifer, Jehiel T. 
Harder. William Ifert, William F. Jarrett, Paul C. Jones, Philip G. 
Jones, George A. Nicholson, John A. Reed and Simon C. Thomas. 

Immediately upon lieing mustered in, the regiment left Indianapolis 
under command of Colonel Charles D. Murray, with Judge Hei^^'ey 
Craven, of Pendleton, as lieutenant-colonel. Captain Henry, of Com- 
pany B, was promoted to maj6r and Lieutenant W^illiams was made 
captain. After a short stay at Louisville the Eighty-ninth was assigned 
to Colonel Wilder 's command, which was engaged in guarding the 
Green river bridge on the Louisville & Nashville railroad. On Septem- 
ber 14, 1862, the regiment received its bapti.sm of fire in the battle of 
Munfordsville. Two days later the enemy made another attack on the 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 299 

garrison and the regiment lost two killed and several wounded. On 
that day the gan-ison surrendered to a vastly superior force and the 
men were paroled. Upon being exchanged they assembled at Indian- 
apolis on October 27, 1862, and moved at once to ilemphis, Tennessee, 
where the regiment remained on duty until in January, 1864. It was 
with General Sherman on the Meridian expedition, after which it was 
ordered to Louisiana, as part of General A. J. Smith's command, and 
remained in that state, being freciuently engaged with the enemy, until 
ordered to Vicksburg in May. From that time to February, 1865, the 
regiment was in numerous battles and skirmishes in Mississippi, Mis- 
souri and Tennessee, ilajor Henry was killed by guerrillas near Green- 
ton, Missouri, November 1, 1864. In I\lareh, 1865, it was ordered -to 
Mobile and there assisted in the capture of Spanish Fort. It was then 
on duty at Montgomery and Mobile until July 19, 1865, when it was 
mustered out and the men returned to their homes. 

One Hundred and First Infantry 

Upon the muster rolls of this regiment the name of John Hendren 
appears as a recruit in Company C. In Company D were Elmore T. 
Montgomery, first sergeant; Thomas Shannon, corporal, and the follow- 
ing privates: Andrew J. Applegatc, David L. Boyden, Wilson P. Car- 
penter, Jonathan Corey, Spencer Dewitt, John W. Etsler, Elias Foland, 
Joseph Foland, Thomas Foland, Martin Griffith, Albert Hadley, John 
Hollingsworth, John R. House, Alexander McClintock, John Miller, Silas 
Pearsol, Smith D. Shannon, George D. Sheets, Jolm Showan, Sebron 
Wheeler. 

Company E was raised in Madison county. The official roster of this 
company at the time it was mustered into service was as follows: Josiah 
Sparks,"captain; Frederick Cartwright, finst lieutenant; David Richart, 
second lieutenant: Joseph F. Lenfesty, first sergeant; John C. Mont- 
gomery, George W. Lowthen, Jonathan T. Taylor, John W. Smithurst, 
James E. Cook, William ]Moore, corporals; Wylie Bird and Thomas W. 
Cook, musicians. • 

Privates — John S. Barton, Joshua Barton, William N. Barton, Isaac 
Bayles, Joel W. Bicknell, Benjamin Black, John M. Black, William 
Blymer, Richard H. Brotliers, Elijah L. Brown, James C. Browni, Wil- 
liam M. Brown, Jesse JI. Cook, Solomon Creek, Andrew Davis, Cliarles 
Davis, Enoch Davis, Lewis Dean, Calvin Dobson, Isaac Ellison. Henry 
Fenimore, John II. Fuller, William B. Fuller, AVilliam H. H. Gipe, 
Oliver Griffey, David Harris. William Helm, Andrew C. Himiller, 
Ephraim Howell, Rolla F. Howell, James Hughes, Thomas Hughes, 
Thomas James, William Laird, Peter Lavin, William E. McDaniel, 
Thomas J. Me:\Iullen, Andrew J. Mann, John :Mann, Richard J. Man- 
ning, Solomon T. Montgomery. Rufus Otiinger, George W. Perry, 
Andei-son Powei-s, Cliarles L. Powers, William ]\I. Price, Samuel Prit- 
chard, f^rancis I\I. Sloan, Jacob Smith, John J. Smith, Elijah Stanley, 
Josiah Stanley, George W. Timmons, John Yost, William A. Zeak. 

In Company G of this regiment Lafayette ^Messier enlisted as a 



300 HISTORY OF MADISON COIXTV 

sergeant and was promoted to first lieutenant, and the following Madi- 
son county boys served as privates: William Holloway, Robert F. 
Lynch, James iliUer, Israel Messier, John W. Nedrow, Isaac Price, 
Chai-les Sloan and Joseph Whitwright. 

This regiment was recruited at Wabash and was mustered in on 
September 7, 1862, with William Garver as colonel. Its first service 
was in Kentucky, repelling the invasion of General Kirby Smith, after 
which it was assigned to the duty of guarding the Green river bridge on 
the Louisville & Xasliville Railroad until December, 1862, when it was 
sent in pursuit of General Morgan, who was then raiding Kentucky. 
In January, 1863, it was assigned to the same brigade and division in 
the Fourteenth Army Corps as the Seventy-fifth Indiana Infantry, and 
its subsequent historj' is identical with that of the Seventy -fifth. It was 
mustei'ed out at Louisville, Kentucky, June 19, 1865. 

One Hundred and Fifth Infantry 

A considerable portion of Company H in this regiment came from 
Madison county. Nicholas Anderson, Jonathan Brattan, Godfrey Ilass, 
O. B. Shaul and Daniel Valentine held the rank of sergeant ; Jesse 
Smithers and Alfred Valentine were corporals ; William Wendle was one 
of the company musicians, and the following served as privates: Theo- 
dore Baker, Newton M. Baldwin, Joseph Bock, Anderson Bolinger, 
Elijah Bolinger, Henry BoUnger, Andrew Brattan, Samuel Brattan, 
William Brovra, Alexander Burditt, William Everett, John Ford, John 
Hedrick. James Kerr, John ^McClese, Henry Elaine, Martin Otlinger, 
Wilber Shaul, Eli Smithers, George Smithei-s, Henry Smithers, James 
Smithers, William Smithers, R. L. Snider, Abraham Swigert, Frederick 
Swigert, Samuel Taylor, Eli Thomas, James Valentine, John Valentine, 
Maberrj' W^elchel, Wesley W'hite and Burwell Williamson. Dennis 
McCarty served in Company B, ajid John II. McCoy and John Maler 
in Company K. 

This regiment was one of those known as "Minute Men," and was in 
sei-vice only a short time during the jMorgan raid in the sununer of 
1863. It was commanded by Colonel Kline G. Shryock. In the One 
Hundred and Tenth, also an organization of "Minute ilen," there were 
three companies from IMadison county, viz. : Company C, Benjamin 
Sebrell, captain; Ephraim B. Doll, first lieutenant; Josiah Sparks, 
second lieutenant. Company G, Warrington B. Roberts, captain ; John 
W. Obrist, first lieutenant; H. B. Makepeace, second lieutenant. Com- 
pany I, Isaac P. Rinewalt, captain ; Voluey B. Irisli, first lieutenant ; 
J. Reese Rinewalt, second lieutenant. In the absence of the muster 
rolls it is impossible to give a complete list of the men. The service 
of the regiment was the same as that of the One Hmidred and Fifth, 
and it was commanded by Colonel Graham N. Fitch. 

One Hundred and Thirtieth Infantry 

This regiment was organized at Kokomo and was mustered into 
service on March 12, 1864, with Charles S. Parrish as colonel. Dr. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COrXTV 801 

Thomas X. Jones, of Anderson, was appointed surgeon, and Dr. Braxton 
Baker, also a Madison county physician, assistant surgeon. Company 
B was recruited in iladison county. Its official roster at the time of 
muster in was as follows: Ephraini B. Doll, captain; William H. 
Mayes, fii-st lieutenant; John ;\1. Hunt, second lieutenant; William D. 
Noble, first sergeant; William P. Watkins, sergeant; James E. Noble, 
Lewis Hubbard, John Kesling, John S. Sellers, Lewis C. Maye, Labin 
Tunis, Francis M. Lewark, corporals; David Harris and John A. 
Moore, nmsiciaus. 

Privates — Corbin Adams, Isaac Adams, ]\Ioses Adams, Albert Arm- 
strong, Joseph Atwell, Eli Baldwin, Ne\\i:on M. Baldwin, Gilbert Bel- 
ville, Spencer G. Bevelheimcr, William Black, Samuel Bowei-s, Ezra 
Bradrick, Abner Brothers, Alfred Brown, Joseph Clark, Elias Creamer, 
Joseph Davidson, John Dyer, William H. Earls, Jacob P. Ellis, W^esley 
Ellsworth, James England, James F. England, James Fifer, George 
Gaddis, James P. Garrett, Sylvester George, Allen Gustin, Samuel 
Gustiu, Stephen S. Hall, Samuel Harpold, George Jenkins, Gabriel 
Little, Dennis McCarty, Esta A. Makepeace, Francis M. G. Melton, 
William iloler, John 'Bryant, Thomas II. O'Neal, William R. Parish, 
John Paul, Ezra Pickering, Jacob M. Plow, Henry Rains, William D. 
Rains, David Ranck, Charles A. Rausch, Jacob Rector, James Roach, 
George D. Samuels, Levi Sanders, Stephen N. Sargeant, James Shay, 
Charles II. Smith, Lero.y Smith, Levi Smith, John D. Smithson, Judah 

B. Smithson, James Sneed, George Sullivan, Henry H. Thompson, John 
Tokley, Lewis D. Tucker, John Tomlinson, Elijah lyra, Philip Vaiide- 
vender, Dempsey Wagg\', William Waggy, Perry Watkins, William 
Webb, Isaac Wood, Joshua Wood. 

Samuel Jones was a corporal in Company H and Dr. Braxton Baker, 
who was promoted to assistant surgeon, was first enrolled as a private 
in that company. The gi-eater part of Company K was recruited in 
Madison county. In the latter company William M. O'Banion and John 
Starr were sergeants; Jlilton Crowell, George W. Newhouse and Henry 
King, corporals; R. K. Cunningham, musician; and the following wera 

Privates — Enos Baker, John S. Barton, Joshua Barton, Orville P. 
Baydan, Isaac T. Bird, Robert W. Bird, George W. Black, Daniel P. 
Buck, Frederick Cartwright (i)romoted to fir.st lieutenant), Owen D. 
Colvin, John W. Creamer, William Creamer, William T. Cunningham, 
Horton J. Dobson, William H. J. Fleener, Henry Gardner, John C. 
George, George Godwin, Sylvanus Gordon, Elbert Harrison, David A. 
Hendrix. Davidson L. Ilendrix, Wesley B. Ilollingsworth, Leonard 
Ingram. Franklin Johnson, i\Iiltoii Johnson. Lemon Jones, Spicer Jones, 
John H. Kearns. Eli D. Kelly. William J. Kelly, Thomas Kendal, James 

C. King, Peter Z. T. Lane. Quinton Laydon. William B. Linder, John 
Lindley. Caleb ^McCoy, John II. McCoy, William JIathes, James .Miller, 
John ^loler, Stephen Nnrman, John Powell, Philip Raeder, James T. 
Rav. Lewis Rix, William Sinclair. Asburv C. Starr, Lewis Taylor, Alvah 
II. Vickey. Philip Waggy, John T. Wells. George H. Widner, Z. T. 
Williamson. Miles F. Wood. Daniel D. Word, Zenas J. Wright. 

For the fii'st six weeks of its service, the One Hundred and Thirtieth 
was on duty in Tennessee, but on ^lay 3, 1864. it joined General Sher- 



302 HISTORY OF MADISON COIXTY 

mail's army for the Atlanta c-ampaigii. It wa.s engaged at Rocky 
Face Ridge, Resaca, Lost ^Mountain, Kciiesaw Mountain, IVachtree Creek, 
the battle of July 22, 1864, and after the surrender of that city the 
regiment, forming part of tiie Twenty-third corps, came back to Nash- 
ville, where it was engaged with the Confederate Army under Oenera! 
Hood on December Ifi-IG, 1864. Early in 1865 orders were received 
to move to Washington, D. C, whence it was sent to North Carolina, 
and it was present at the surrender of General Joseph E. Johnston. 
From April to December, 1865, it was on guard at Charlotte, North 
Carolina. It left that place on December 2, 1865, and on the 13th 
reached Indianapolis, where the men received their final paj' and dis- 
charge. 

In connection with the organization of this regiment, a pleasant little 
incident occurred while it was in camp at Kokomo. Colonel Thomas 
N. Stilwell, of Anderson, had been very busy during the earlier years 
of the war in raising troops, and was an important factor in the organi- 
zation of the One Hundred and Thirtieth. In his relations with the 
men his conduct was such as to win their esteem and confidence, and 
as a token of their regard the officers of the One Hundred and Thirtieth 
and the One Hundred and Thirty-first "chipped in" and purchased a 
$400 gold watch, which was presented to Colonel Stilwell. The pres- 
entation speech was made by Captain Edgar Henderson, a former resi- 
dent of Anderson, and was approjiiuately responded to by the recipient. 

MiSCELL.iNEOUS INFANTRY REGIMENTS 

In the foregoing pages only those regiments have been mentioned in 
which Madison county furnished a whole, or a considerable part of a 
company. There were a number of Madison county men scattered 
through other infantry regiments, and as far as it has been possible 
to obtain the names of these men, they are included in the following 
list: 

Thirteenth — Wallace Allen, Jeremiah Baxter, Jacob Beidler, Merritt 
S. Bicknell, Nathan J. Blowers, Spencer H. Buck, John Carpenter, 
James Cox, James M. Davis, Thomas iM. Donahoo (corporal), Daniel 
Edw^ards, John R. Fitzgerald, Samuel Howard, Robert Hughes, Thomas 
Hughes and Geoi-ge Pugh were all members of Company I, and William 
Gos.sett was a musician in Company H. 

Thirty-third — John Cassell, Joseph A. Davis, William A. Edsou and 
John Hughes served as privates in Company E. 

Fortieth — William H. Pyle was quartermaster of this regiment, 
Frank Hardy was a private in Company A, and John S. and Thomas 
Welsh ill Company l!. 

Forty-second — On the muster rolls of Company I of this regiment 
appear the names of Samuel Brattan, ^Martin L. Otlinger, Abraham 
Swigert and James Valentine. 

Fifty-seventh — Wesley W. Seward was a sergeant, Samuel Ham and 
Dewitt C. iMarkle, corporals, and Jeremiah Gray, James Gilmore, George 
W. Ham, Jacob Ham, William J. Ham, Joseph Huston, Thomas B. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 303 

Seward and Jeremiah Sullivan were privates in Company F. This regi- 
ment was sometimes called the Methodist regiment, because its first 
colonel, John W. T. McMullen. and the lieutenant-colonel, Franklin A. 
Hardin, were Ixith ^lethodist ministers, and a large number of the men 
were members of that church. It served through the Atlanta campaign 
and then returned to Nashville with General Thomas. 

Fifty-eighth — In Company ¥j of this regiment were John Black, 
Alfred Haskins, Jacob Smith, James Stephenson, William M. Price, 
and Jashua W. Williamson ; and in Compan.y G were Robert F. Lynch, 
Lsaac ilessler, James A. IMiller, John W. Nedrow, Isaac Price, Charles 
Sloan and Joseph Whit right. 

Fifty-ninth — Only two .Madison county men appear in this regi- 
ment — Addison Conklin and William Haflick — both of whom were 
recruits in Compaii.y F. 

Sixty-ninth — In Company H Samuel Hardin and William H. Huston 
were corporals and the following were privates: Josiah Blake, Carroll 
C. Bronnenberg, William Bronnenberg, William C. Clark, William B. 
Hankins, William N. Hankins and John Waggoner. 

Eighty-fourth — In this regiment John Gensler, Samuel Lamar, Jolui 
W. Shroyer and Granville ]\I. Walden were privates in Company D. 
These men were transferred to the Veteran Resei'\'e Corps in September, 
1863. 

Ninety-ninth — Twelve Madison county men served as privates in 
Company B of this regiment, viz. : Daniel Bolen, John M. Harlin, 
Samuel H. Harlin, Edward P. Johnson, Jacob H. Julions, John G. 
Keller, Logan H. Layne, Henry Mullen, Robert ]\Iullen, Christopher C. 
Troy, Clark W. and James W. Wright. In Company H was Levi 
Brewer, a veteran of the ]\Iexican war and a Madison count3' man, 
but as he enlisted in Indianapolis he is credited to Marion county. 

One Hundred and Thirty-fifth — This was one of the "One Hundred 
Days'' regiments. In Company F were Elliott and Hiram Waymire, 
who enlisted from Madison county. 

One Hundred and Thirty-sixth — Company D of this regiment con- 
tained fifteen men from Madison count.y, viz. : Henry Anderson, John 
Anderson, Isaac Beaman, Thomas J. Boggs, Henry B. Cole, Spencer L. 
Dewitt, Sebastian E. Douglas, John S. Houghan, Edward G. Huffman, 
Jesse Schuyler, Michael Schuyler, Jesse Schrackengast, John W. Wise, 
David B. Yale and George W. Young. The service of the regiment was 
for one hundred days. 

One Hundred and Fortieth — (one year's service). Christian H. 
Runkle was a corporal in Company C and in the same company were 
Privates William F. Baker, Elijah Beck, John L. Langley, James Payne, 
Edwin D. Sweetzer, Lewis W. Thomas, Isaac B. Wood and Daniel M. 
Zedeker. In Company H were Privates Elbert Cooper, Joseph W. 
Franklin, Jolni Griffith, Joseph G. Gustin. Granville Pearson, Alfred 
Pence, Peter Vanmeter. 

One Hundred and Forty-second — John S. Neese was a corporal in 
Company I, and in the same company John Anderson, Robert M. Brown, 
David W. Hosier. Andrew J. MeClintock, Henn' Wise and Alexander 



304 HISTORY OF MADISON COLWTV 

Wise, privates. This regiment was recruited for the one year's service. 

One Hundred and Forty-fourth — This was also a one-year regiment. 
Upon its rolls appear but two Madison county men — John B. Blandford 
and Henry Smith — both of whom were privates in Company K. 

One Hundred and Forty-seventh — ^Madison county was better repre- 
sented in this than in any other of the one-year regiments, a large 
part of Company F having been recruited in the county. Of this 
company George W. Dennis was tiret sergeant; Madison Watkins and 
John F. Henrj-, sergeants; Andrew Younce, Jeptha Ballenger, Jesse 
Forkner and Samuel T. AVilson, corporals, and the following were 
privates: George W. Blazer, William H. Brown, John Cannon, James 
P. Carroll, Leander Carty, Lewas Carty, Patrick Crook, Lewis Dean, 
Allen Delph, James M. Fidler, George W. Hackleman, John Hamilton, 
John Harris, William W. Kersey, John Madden, John C. Matthews, 
Philip Mills, John Saunders, David Sehrackengast, James Seybert, 
Curtis Six, Charles R. Y'^alker, James T. Wall, Benjamin Ward, Marion 
Webb and William W. Whitehead. 

One Hundred and Forty -ninth — In Company C of this regiment were 
six privates from Madison county, to wit: Elisha J. Baldon, Samuel 
Baldon, John Hamriek, John C. Hart, Joseph W. McDonald, John C. 
Nelson. 

One Hundred and Fifty-third — In this regiment the only man cred- 
ited to Madison county was George W. Thorn, who was first lieutenant 
of Company K. 

One Hundred and Fifty-fourth —William Brown was commissioned 
second lieutenant of Company I, in which the follovring privates were 
credited to Madison county : George Bear, Wesley Call, Richard Clark, 
Daniel W. Hadley, Richard Harris, David C. Hawk, William R, HoUo- 
well, William F. Lee, William B. Moulden, Harrison H. Pratt, Isaac 
W. Pemster, George Robinett, Leander M. Scheeau, Andrew J. Sullivan, 
Daniel I. Sullivan, John T. Sullivan, Hezekiah and Wilson T. Tinieblood. 

One Hundred and Fifty-fifth — This was the last of the one-year regi- 
ments. In Company F were Charles Adams, Isaac Hopper, Harrison 
Hyfield, Andrew A. Kaufman and Elba Musick. 

Fifth Cavalry 

This was the Nineteenth Indiana Regiment in the order of formation. 
It was organized late in the year 1862, with Felix W. Graham as 
colonel, and was sent to the front in detachments. A portion of Com- 
pany K was recruited in Madison county. Of tliis company Alansou 
E. Russell, of Pendleton, was second lieutenant ; David C. Johnson, 
sergeant, Philemon E. J. Mills, corporal, and the following served as 
privates : Richard M. Andrew, Charles A. Bates, John Buser, James W. 
Combs, James W. Cook, William E. Crain, Ross Crossley, George W. 
Cummins, Perry C. Cummins, Simon Cummins, Madison Davis, Thomas 
L. B. Hayes, Darius R. Huston, Samuel C. Huston, William Landphire, 
Oliver H. IMorse, Albert Newman, James Pa.vne, Junius C. Samuels, 
John W. Short, Harper W. Smith. Isaac Thurston, Madison Watkins. 
In Company I was one Jladison county man — Isaac S. Harger. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 305 

In March, 1868, the several companies ot the regiment was con- 
centrated at Glasgow, Kentucky, and for the remainder of their service 
the men almost lived in the saddle, scouting, skirmishing and foraging 
in Kentucky and Tennessee. It was with General Stoneman on the raid 
to the rear of Atlanta and was mustered out on June 16, 1865. 

Eighth C.walry 

Originally this regiment was an infantry organization and was known 
as the Thirty-ninth Infantry. It was mustered in as such on August 
29, 1861, with Thomas J. Harrison as colonel, and continued as infantry 
until April, 1863, when the men were furnished horses and the regi- 
ment served as mounted infantry until the 15th of the following 
October, when Companies L aiid M were added, bringing it up to the 
standard of a full cavalry regiment. It was then reorganized as the 
Eighth Cavalry. Madison county was represented in Companies A, B, 
E, G, I, L and M. 

Company A — Upon the muster rolls of this company were the names 
of six privates from Madison county — Thomas J. Adair, Thomas J. 
Clevenger, Leroy S. Fallis, William E. Mayo, John H. Poor and 
Augustus Simington. 

Company B — In this company were Privates John A. Applegate, 
George W. Hosier, George W. Lamar, Jolin Landers, James M. Teeters, 
Uriah Vermillion. John A. Applegate was promoted to company quarter- 
master sergeant. 

Company E — Fifteen Madison county men enlisted in this company, 
viz. : William Aldridge, John E. Boyer (sergeant, promoted to captain), 
John Cook, Joshua Fisher, Samuel Fisher, William Foland, Noah W. 
Hall, David McCoy, Ephraim Nicholson, James Nicholson, James A. 
Nicholson (promoted second lieutenant), William P. Nicholson, Andrew 
T. Welchel, John Welchel and Jacob Worts. 

Company G — Only two names of Madison county men appear upon 
the rolls of this company — William C. Antrim and James R. Hanshaw. 

Company I — In this company were eleven privates — Reuben B. 
Aldrich, Martin Bectwith, Scott Cole, Abraham Eshelman, Jacob Eshel- 
man, Robert S. PaiLssett, Allen Fisher, Stewart Fisher, Samuel Lanum, 
Edward C. Stephenson and Job Swain. The last named was promoted 
to sergeant. 

Company L — This company contained more Madison county men 
than any other in the regiment. They were Privates William L. Barker, 
Travis M. Bowers, John A. Bowsman, George I. Burr, RoUin Carroll, 
Addison Fisher, George FLsher, Thomas L. Fisher (promoted to com- 
missary sergeant), Nathan Fuller, William Gearhardt, James Gwinn, 
George Hai-pold, Jacob M. Harpold, Stephen John, Henry Johnson, 
Lewis Klepfer, James W. McGraw, William P. Miller, Amos Ratcliffe, 
Joseph Shebo, Madison Teeters, Mathers Tobin, Samuel WeLsh, Samuel 
Wolf and Jacob M. Wysong. 

Company H — In th'" company were Robert A. Armfield, William H. 
Bradley, Thomas Camel, Thomas Casto, Orlando Ellis. Carna Parsons, 



306 HISTORY OF MADiSOX COIXTV 

Frank Rector, Richard B. Slietterl^-, Andrew Shettcrly, John A. Smith 
and William B. Tinker. 

After being reorganized as a cavalry regijiient, the command was 
engaged in courier duty about Chattanooga until the spring of 1864. 
It took part in tlie Rousseau raid into Alabauui, the Atlanta campaign, 
the i\lcC'ook i-aid around Atlanta, ami then followed Shernuin to the 
sea and up through the Carolinas. It was mustered out in North 
Carolina on 'hily 20, 1865, and tlie men were finally discharged at 
Indianapolis on the 2nd of August. 

Artillery Service 

Madison county was represented in two batteries of light artillery. 
In the Second Battery were Robert Brickley, John Hardin (promoted 
to second lieutenant), James M. Irish, Samuel Johnson, Alexander Y. 
Johnson, ilathias Jones, Lewis Koeniger, John B. Lewis, Valentine 
McNeer, Charles A. Maul, Corydon W. J\Iaul, George W. Measer, "William 
W. Roberts, George W. Swain and Charles Vandevender. This battery 
served in Missouri and Arkansas and was in a number of spirited 
engagements with the enemy, including the battles of Cane Hill, Prairie 
Grove, Buffalo Mountain, Poisoned Spring, Marks' Mills and Jenkins' 
Ferry. Late in 1864 it was sent to Tennessee, where it joined the army 
under General Thomas and took part in the battle of Nashville. It was 
mustered out at Indianapolis on July 3, 1865. 

In the Eighteenth Battery were Samuel B. Agnew, Albert Allen, 
William Black, Francis M. Evans, Harvey W. Hubbard, John Johns, 
John D. Johnson (promoted to second lieutenant), Ezra Loyd, William 
L. M'cAninch, Abram S. McCorkle, George S. McMuUen (promoted to 
sergeant), John R. Malcolm and Joel H. Wood. This battery was 
mustered in at Indianapolis on August 24, 1862, with Eli Lilly as 
captain. Until the spring of 1864 it was in Kentucky and Tennessee. 
It was in the battles at Hoover's Gap, Chickamauga, and a number of 
minor actions, and during the Atlanta campaign was in action almost 
daily. After the fall of Atlanta it returned to Tennessee and it formed 
part of General Wilson's command in the famous raid through Alabama 
and Georgia. It w^as mustered out at Indianapolis on June 30, 1865. 

(Note — lu the foregoing muster rolls it is probable that some of the names 
are misspelled, but as they are copied from the reports of the adjutant-general, 
it was deemed advisable not to attempt an_y corrections.) 

Under the provisions of the act passed at the special session of the 
legislature in 1861, "for the organization and regulation of the Indiana 
militia," ten companies of the "Indiana Legion" were formed in iladi- 
son county. They were the Foster's Branch Guards, organized June 
10, 1861, Burwell Williamson, captain; Alfont Guards, organized June 
24, 1861, John Patterson, captain; Fisherburg Union Guards, organized 
June 24, 1861, H. G. Fisher, captain; Perkinsville Grays, organized June 
28, 1861, H. G. Fisher, captain; Green Township Rangers, organized 
September 11, 1862, William Nickleson, captain; Home Guards (Pendle- 
ton), organized July 18, 1863, Isaac P. Rinewalt, captain; Morton 



]iisToi;v OF :.[.\i)is()x corxTV .jo? 

Xoblps, organi/.cil July 2'), hsG:! A. J. Ilutl'iiian, captain; Alt'out Guards 
Xo. 2, organizeil July 2."), ISlii!, Warriiiglou CI. Roberts, i-aptaiii ; Waus- 
lield Guards, organized August 1, 186:i, Epliraiiu ]i. Doll, eaptain ; 
Alexaiulria (iuards, organized August 8, ISii'.i, Jonathan Jones, captain. 
These companies were never called into the field, but a large number 
of their members enlisted in other companies and were mustered into the 
service of the I'nited States. 

AVhile the "Boys in Blue" were at the front, the county authorities 
and loyal citizens at home were not unmindful of the country's defenders 
and the neces-sities of their families. In September, 1861, the commis- 
sioneis ajipropriated .'i<200 for the purclia.se of lumber to be used in 
fitting up a camp for the ai'conunodntion of a regiment being organized 
at Andei'son, the mone.v being made payable to Thomas X. Stihvell, 
conunissary. At the same session the sum of $300 was appropriated for 
the I'elief of soldiers' families and the trustees of the several townships 
were instructed to look after such families and see that their wants 
were relieved. In August, 1862. at a special session of the commis- 
sioners' court, it was ordered that "an allowance of one dollar per week 
be made to each soldier's wife or widowed mother, and fifty cents to 
each child under ten years of age," the disbui-sements to be made by the 
township trustees. A month later the board ordered a tax levy of ten 
cents on each .flOO worth of property in the county to provide a fund 
for the relief of soldiers' families. This order and the one preceding 
it remained in force until the war was over. 

A special session of the commissioners was held in November, 1863, 
when it was ordered that each volunteer credited to Madison county be 
paid fifty dollars bounty when he produced the certificate of the muster- 
ing officer and presented it to the county auditor, and fifty dollars more 
at the expiration of his service. To raise the money for this purpose 
a levy of twenty-five cents on each $100 worth of property was ordered. 
Up to June. 1864, the county treasurer had received for military pur- 
poses $10,812.97, and had disbursed $10,700. 

When the call for 300,000 men was made by the president in 186-4, 
the commissioners of Madison county, in order to fill the quota, ordered 
the payment of a bounty of $400 "to each volunteer or drafted man," 
and at the same time authorized a bond issue of $200,000. Altogether, 
the amount of money exjjended by the county for bounties and in the 
relief of soldiers' families was $354,940. This can be ascertained from 
the records, but the amount given by private citizens in their individual 
capacity will never be known. 'Slany a sack of flour, many a basket of 
groceries, many a bundle of school books, found their way in an unosten- 
tatious manner to the home of .some soldier's wife, that her children 
might be fed and enabled to attend .school. If the value of all these 
donations could be ascertained it would doul)tles,s aggregate more than 
the official appropriations of the county. And it is greatly to the credit 
of the noble women, whose husliands were engaged in fighting the battles 
of their country, that :l.ey were not too proud to accept these olferings 
of charity. E\en cast off clothing was accepted without the feeling 
that it was a reflection upon their poverty, but rather a grateful recog- 
nition on the part of some loyal neighbor of the .sacrifice they had made 



308 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

in sending the ones they loved best to preserve the institutions the 
Revolutionary forefathers established. 

Spanish-American War 

For four centuries after the discovery of America, Cuba was a 
dependency of Spain. In 1850 Narcisso Lopez planned an expedition 
for the liberation of the islanders, but it failed. Four years later the 
Cuban junta in New York organized a movement upon a larger scale, 
but news reached Spain and the undertaking was "nipped in the bud." 
In 1868 there was a general uprising among the Cubans, which was 
followed by a ten j'ears' war, during which Spain sent over 100,000 
troops to the island. At the end of that war the debt of $200,000,000 
was saddled upon the Cubans and this soon started another revolution. 
The Cubans moved slowly, however, and it was not until February, 
1895, that an open insurrection broke out in the provinces of Santiago, 
Santa Clara and Matanzas. Within sixty dajs 50,000 Spanish troops 
were in Cuba, under command of General Campos. He was superseded 
by General Weyler, whose cruelties aroused the indignation of the 
civilized world and forced the Spanish government to send General 
Blanco to take his place. 

In the meantime legislatures and political conventions in the United 
States had passed resolutions asking this government to recognize the 
belligerent rights, if not the independence of Cuba. About ten o'clock 
on the evening of February 15, 1898, the United States battleship Maine, 
then lying at anchor in the harbor of Havana, was blown up and a 
number of her crew were killed. This brought the excitement in the 
United States to fever heat, and on April 11, 1898, President McKinley 
sent a special message to Congress asking for authority to intervene in 
behalf of the Cubans. On the 20th Congress passed a resolution, which 
was approved by the president the same day, recognizing the inde- 
pendence of Cuba and demanding that Spain withdraw all claims to 
and authority over the island. On the 25th war was formally declared 
by Congress, though two days before the president had declared the 
ports of Cuba in a state of blockade and called for 125,000 volunteers 
to enforce the resolution of Congress. 

Late on the afternoon of April 25, 1898, Governor James A. Mount 
received a telegram from the secretary of war announcing that Indiana's 
quota of the 125,000 troops would be four regiments of infantry and 
two light batteries. The telegram also stated that it was the president's 
wish "that the regiments of the National Guard or state militia shall 
be used as far as their numbers will permit, for the reason that they 
are armed, equipped and drilled." 

Instead of four regiments, the state raised five, which were numbered 
to begin where the Civil war numbers left off. The Indiana regiments 
recruited for the Spanish-American war were therefore the 157th, 158th, 
159th, 160th and 161st. Company I of the One Hundred and Sixtieth 
was originally Company I of the Fourth Regiment, Indiana National 
Guard. In this company were a number of Elwood men. Alexander 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



309 



Dillon held the rank of corporal and the following served as privates: 
John J. Altmeyer, Nalzo Andrews, Walter Barbo, William Brothers, 
Cullodin Coyle, Edward Douglass, Harry Douglass, Edward E. Garret- 
son, William Henderson, William Kennedy, Oustave Kappahan, Francis 
Kramer, Peter W. Lamb, George Martin, Walter Napier, Peter Peal, 
Richard G. Smith, RoUa Thurman. 

Company L of this regiment was organized at Anderson and was 
composed chiefly of the old members of Company C, Fourth Regiment, 




Opficeks Company L., 160th I. V. I. 



Indiana National Guard. When mustered into the United States service 
with the regiment, the company roster was as follows: Kenneth M. 
Burr, captain; John B. Collins, first lieutenant; George C. Sausser, 
second lieutenant; Herbert C. Brunt, first sergeant; Robert H. Antrim, 
quartermaster sergeant ; John J. Ellis, Lee C. Newsom, George H. 
Durhin, Chauncey O. Towell, sergeants; Claude S. Burr, Dorr S. 
Worden, John A. Ross, D;:vid V Martin, Howard F. Henry, Robert N. 
Nichols, corporals; John L. Hopper, Roscoe Cook, musicians; Thomas 
M, Dee, wagoner; William Neft, artificer. 



310 IIISTOKV Ol-" .MADISON (■()rXT\' 

Privates— Howard .M. Akhvd. Carl (1. ISailcy, .r.iscpli V . l^akur, 
George lieasoii, George A. UeclitoUlt, Frank M. licnliow, Cliarles 15oyd, 
George W. Bond, Jr., William II. iJromaii, Clay M. Brown, Israel Brown, 
Harry Bush, ('laude A. Carpenter, P^ghert E. Carpenter, Clement C. 
Cole, Bert J. Cooper, Harry W. Criill, William J. Cumberledge, IJucl 
E. Davenport, Herman J3ietricli, P^nos J. Diinbai', Edward Eaton, 
Chester R. Falknor, Oliver Fickle, Henry II. Fischer, Charles Fisher, 
James A. Fountain, Levi Garrison, ^lorris A. Hallenbcek, Ethel L. 
Hinegar, Volney M. Hunt, Jr., Edward M. Inelenrock, John F. Keieher, 
Elmo Kellar, Henry M. Kendric, John Keorper, Omer Lawson, John 
T. Lay, Frank ^I. Levy, Oscar Lindstrom. Butler Livesay, Lewis F. 
Loch, William P. Lycan, Jetferson T. ]\Iartin. Byron iledskar, Wilford 
W. ^lingle. James Miller, Bert R. iloon, Harry Moore, Clarence B. 
Mourer, Robert Murphv, James 0. Pattie, Othello Roach, Harrv Rosen- 
field, Charles iM. Shatter, Joseph H. Smith, Charles E. Tharp, Harry 
Thomas, William H. Wagoner, Charles G. Weger, Lowell C. William- 
son, William Williamson, Frank ]M. Wilson, Robert L. Wilson. 

Recruits — Charles l^idwell, Jesse Bonhomme, Isaac Bosworth, John 
W. Coburn, Elmer W. Cummings, Manford Denney, Francis Evans, 
Harry Z. Griffith, Harry C. Hawkins, John S. Hayes, Roy S. Jeffers, 
Frank Keckler, William Mansfield, Robert McConnell, Howard ]\Ioulden, 
Bert Munyon, Louis E. Radway, Amos Ricketts, Arthur Rhonemus, 
Clarence B. Seybert, William B. Sine, Jr., Thomas C. Smith, John 
Stark, Rolla C. Trees, Lee W'eger, Richard Welsh, Oscar Wynn. 

These recruits were made necessary because for some reason about 
twenty-five of the original company were rejected by the mustering 
officer for different causes, whereupon Captain Burr telegraphed a 
friend in Anderson to recruit twenty-five additional men. A recruiting 
office was opened in John Keener 's cigar store, on Meridian street, and 
in less than half an hour the quota was full. An amusing incident 
occurred in connection with the recruiting. Among those who came 
forward to offer their services was a young man known as "Splinks" 
Myers, an employee of the American Wire and Steel Company, who had 
been married but a few days before. After he had signed the roll, the 
recruiting officer asked Myers if he had sent word to his wife. "Hell, 
no," answered Splinks, "she'll see it in the paper in the morning." 
Upon arriving at Indianapolis Splinks expressed his disappointment 
because the recruits were not met by a band and escort, refused to be 
sworn in, and beat the recruiting officer back to Anderson. That ended 
his military career. 

The One Hundred and Sixtieth was mustered into the United States 
service on ;\Iay 12, 1808, and proceeded directly to Camp Thomas, at 
Chickamauga Park, Georgia, where it remained until July 28th, when 
it went to Newport News, Virginia. In August it was transferred to 
Camp Hamilton, Lexington, Kentucky, and in November to Columbus, 
Georgia. On January 15, 1899, it was ordered to Matanzas, Cuba, and 
remained there until the following March, when it returned to the 
United States and was nuistered out at Savannah, Georgia. April 25, 
1899. Captain Burr continued in the service, was appointed major in 
the ri'iiiilnr ai'iiiy and assigned to duty in the Philippine Islands, 



HISTORY OF MADISON COl XTV 311 

The armory of tlie old Ooinpaiiy C, Fouith National Guard, ia 
located at the eoriier of Ninth street aud Central avenue, Anderson, 
The company was called out by Governor Matthews at the time of the 
great strike iu the coal fields and impressed everybody by its soldierly 
conduct. At the beginning of the movement to Cuba in January, 1899, 
Sergeant Lee Newsoin and Sister Benita, for several years connected 
with St. John's Hospital at Antlerson, were especially honored l)y being 
sent in advance to arrange the ho.spital service. 

Winfield T. Durbin, of Anderson, was conuiiissioned colonel of the 
One Hundred and Sixt\-first Regiment, and John R. Brunt, also of 
Anderson, was appointed quartermaster. This regiment was mustered 
in on Jul.y 15, 1898, and was assigned to the Seventh Corps, commanded 
by General Fitzhugh Lee. On December 13, 1898, it left Savannah, 
Georgia, for Havana, and remained on duty in Cuba until the follow- 
ing March, when it returned to Savannah and was there mustered out on 
April 30, 1899. Iu 1900 Colonel Durbin was elected governor of 
Indiana. 



CHAPTER XVIII 

CRIMES AND CASUALTIES 

Murder of the Indians in 1824 — The Abbott Mystery — Killing of 
Tharp and Escape of Cox — Murder op Daniel Hoppis by Milton 
White — The Dale-Traster Affair — Mysterious Murder of Albert 
Mawson — Disappearance of Susan Nelson — Shooting op Bene- 
FiEL by Davis — Charles Kynett Shot by the City Marshal — Kill- 
ing op McLelland Streets — McCullough Shot by Welsh— Kill- 
ing OF Albert Hawkins — Historic Fires in Anderson, Elwood, 
Alexandria, Frankton and Summitvidle — Some Great Storms — 
Floods op 1847, 1875, 1884, 1904 and 1913. 

Scarcely had the county of Madison been organized and her civil 
and legal machinery been placed in working order, when a crime was 
committed within her borders that filled the people of the frontier settle- 
ments with both fear and indignation. Although the lands had been 
ceded to the United States by the Indians, there were but few white 
settlers as yet within what is now Madison county, game was plentiful, 
and occasionally small parties of the natives would return to their former 
hunting grounds in quest of meat and peltries. Early in the spring 
of 1824 a party of Senecas, consisting of two men, three squaws and 
four children, came into the county and encamped on Fall creek, about 
two miies above the present village of Ovid, in a dense fprest filled 
with game. Some alarm was felt by the few white settlers in that 
locality at the establishment of an Indian encampment so near their 
homes, but the Indians were friendly and showed no inclination to 
commit depredations of any character against the person or property 
of their white neighbors. The two Indian men were called Ludlow 
and Mingo, the former said to have been so named for Stephen Ludlow, 
of Lawrenceburg, Indiana. 

After they had been in their camp for about a week five white men — 
Thomas Harper, Andrew Sawyer, John Bridge, John T. Bridge and 
James Hudson — visited the Indians, pretending to have lost their horses, 
and asking Ludlow and Mingo to assist in finding them. The Indians 
readily consented and when a short distance from the camp Harper shot 
Ludlow and Hudson shot Mingo, both men being killed instantly. The 
white men then returned to the camp, where Sawyer shot one of the 
squaws. Bridge, Sr., another and Bridge, Jr., the third. The four chil- 
dren — two boys about ten years old and two girls still y .nger — were 

312 



I 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 



313 



wantonly murdered, after which the camp was robbed of everything 
of value. 

When news of this atrocious crime spread through the settlements, 
the people were terrified, fearing other Indians would come in to avenge 
their slaughtered kinsmen, and that their retaliatory vengeance would 
be meted out without discrimination. An account of the affair was 
sent to the war department by the Indian agent at Piqua, Ohio, with 
the result that Colonel Johnston and William Conner visited all the 
Indian tribes and promised them that the government would punish 
the murderers. This had a salutary effect upon the situation, the 
Indians accepting the promise and the settlei-s becoming less afraid 
of a massacre. 

Immediately after the murder Harper went to Ohio and was never 
taken into custody. The other four men were arrested and lodged in 
the log jail at Pendleton, where they were tried and convicted. Hudson 




Abbott Cabin 



was tried at the October term of court in 1824, and was hanged on 
December 1, 1824. The other three were tried in May, 1825. All were 
found guilty and sentenced to be lianged on the first Friday in June. 
Andrew Sawj^er and the elder Bridge were executed according to the 
sentence, but the younger Bridge was pardoned on the scaffold by 
Governor James B. Ray, who was present at the execution. This was 
the first, and is perhaps the only instance in the history of American 
jurisprudence, where white men were legally executed for the killing 
of Indians. 

About the year 1830 a man named Abbott, with his wife and two 
grown sons, came from Kentucky and settled near the White river, a 
short distance west of where the ]\Ioss Island mills were built a few 
years later. The cabin occupied by this family stood upon the north side 
of the old Strawtown road and occasionally some traveler would spend 



314 IIISTURV OK :\1AI)1S0X CUl XTV 

thf night tlunt'. It was no uiicoimuoii oc-L-urreiK-e' lor the eldtT Ai.liott 
and his two sons to make trips away Ironi home and l)e absent for two 
or three weeks at a time, hut no one ever learned the reason for these 
journeys. While not absolutely unsociable, they were very reticent about 
their affaii-s, and in a new country, where every one knew all that was 
goiniT on in the neighborhood, this caused the Abbotts to be looked upon 
as untrustworthy. 

In the suunuer of 18;^2, a man from Ohio reached the Abbott cabin 
late in the afternoon and sought a night's lodging. He was traveling 
by easy stages, looking at lands on his way. with a view to I'emoving his 
family to a new home, provided a suitable location could be found. 
Before leaving his home in Ohio he announced his intention to return 
within si.K weeks. About two weeks after that time had expired his 
relatives sent out a searching party. He was traced without difficulty to 
the Abbott cabin, whose inmates admitted that he had stopped there, but 
stated that the next morning he had proceeded on his w-ay westward. 
In(iuiries west of that point failed to elicit any information of the 
missing man and the searchers returned to Ohio. 

Not long after that the body of a strange man was found floating 
in the White river a short distance below the Abbott home. No one 
could identify the remains, and the generally accepted theory was that the 
unfortunate individual was some passing stranger who had accidentally 
fallen into the river. There were some who refused to concur in this 
opinion ar.i intimated foul play. "While the puzzle was still unsolved 
the Abbotts disappeared one night without leaving any hint of their 
destination. Their flight in this mysterious manner was regarded by 
many as a confession of guilt and strengthened the belief that the body 
found in the river was that of the Ohio land hunter, who had been 
murdered by the Abbotts for his money. In time the cabin acquired the 
reputation of being haunted and many people avoided it after night- 
fall. The Abbotts were never heard of again. 

A peculiar homicide, with an equally peculiar aftermath, was com- 
mitted on Thanksgiving day in 1847 at a distillery a little West of the 
mounds and about two and a half miles from Anderson. A shooting 
match had been arranged and among those in attendance were two 
young men named Tharp and Cox, between whom there was ill feeling. 
Tharp was the larger and w-as inclined to play the part of a bully in 
his treatment of Cox. The latter had several times moved away to avoid 
Tharp 's insolence, but at last "forbearance ceased to be a virtue." 
Snatching a rifle from one of the bystanders, he brought the barrel 
down upon Tharp "s head with such force as to fracture the skull, caus- 
ing almost instant death. Cox crossed the river to his home, about a 
mile away, but the next morning he was arrested and lodged in jail 
at Andei-son. At the next meeting of the grand jury an indictment for 
murder was returned. 

Cox had many friends who took the view that he had acted in self 
defense, or at least had been provoked to make the assault. Knowing 
that the old log jail was nut in^'ulnerable. some of these friends 
detennined to effect his release rather than to permit him to stand trial. 
Five men were in the secret. In visiting Cox in jail these men managed 



IIISTOKV OF .MADISON C'OrXTV 



;ii5 



to fluile till' watchful i'\i' ol' Slicrill' .loliii II. Diivis long enough to take 
an impression of the loek in heeswa.K. A ke.v was made, secretly tested 
ami founil to work. A nigiit was ti;en seh-etetl for the release of the 
prisoner and about an hour before midnight, when everything was still, 
the live men ([uietly approached the jail, one of them leading Cox's horse, 
which had been freshly shod for the occasion. While four stood on 
watch, the fifth noiselessly unlocked the door and Cox came out. A few 
minutes hurried conversation in muffled tones and he mounts his horse, 
turns his head westward and sets out on his journey toward freedom. 
Pursuit was made as far as Logansport, where all trace of the fugitive 
was lost. There were then no telegraphs, telephones, nor even fast mail 




^Iii.Tox White 



routes in the West, and tlie api)reliension of a fleeing person under 
the ban of the law was a much more difificult matter than at the present 
time. The exact manner of Cox's escape was not kno\vn until long 
afterward. Some twenty-five years later a citizen of Madison county 
happened to meet Cox in northern Wisconsin, but no effort was ever made 
to bring him back for l:ial. 

Upon the morning of April 8, 1867, Daniel lloppis, a farmer living 
about three miles south of Anderson, mi.ssed some meat from his smoke- 
house and noticed tracks leading to\v:ird the dwelling of Milton AVliite. 



316 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

Accompanied by a neighbor, a Mr. Swearingen, Hoppis started for 
Anderson to secure a search warrant, but the two men met White 
before reaching the city. After a short conversation between the sus- 
pected man and Swearingen, the former agreed to permit Hoppis to 
search his premises without the formality of a warrant and the two men 
started together for White's house, Mr. Swearingen returning to his 
home. 

When Mr. Hoppis failed to return home either for dinner or supper, 
his wife informed some of the neighbors of his prolonged absence. In 
the meantime the story of the stolen meat had been circulated and White 
was at once suspected of knowing something of the missing man's 
whereabouts. Accordingly a number of citizens called at White 's house 
to make inquiries. White was asleep, but upon being aroused denied 
all knowledge of Hoppis. He was kept under sui-veillance, however, 
until daylight the next morning, when he was forced to join the party 
in search of the man he was accused of having killed. In a little ravine 
running through a small piece of woods, near the road known as the 
east New Columbus pike and about two miles from Anderson, was found 
the body of Hoppis. Near by was a sassafras club about four feet 
long, bearing hair and clots of blood, showing plainly that it was the 
weapon that had been used. This was near the place where Hoppis 
and White had last been seen together by Patrick Allen. White was 
given a preliminary hearing before Justice of the Peace Schlater and 
was bound over to the circuit court. At the next term of court he was 
tried, found guilty and sentenced to be hanged on September 20, 1867, 
but a respite was granted until the 1st of November by Governor Baker, 
to give him an opportunity to consider a petition for the commutation 
of the sentence to life imprisonment. Upon considering all phases of 
the case the governor declined to interfere, and on Friday, November 1, 
1867, White was forced to pay the penalty of his crime upon the scaffold. 
This was one of the most brutal murders that ever occurred in the State 
of Indiana. Daniel Hoppis was a kind-hearted, inoffensive citizen, 
industrious and devoted to his family, and vnthout an enemy in the 
world. It is quite probable that if White had returned the stolen 
meat he would never have been prosecuted for the theft. 

Later in the same month (April, 1867) William Traster was killed 
by Granville Dale, but this traged.y was of a far different character. 
At that time Robert and William Traster were the proprietors of the 
Moss Island Mills. They had many friends and their mills were a 
favorite resort for fishing and picnic parties. One Sunday, late in 
April, a number of Anderson men, among whom were Captain Ethan 
Allen, R. C. Reed and ex-Sheriff Benjamin Sebrell, went to the mills on a 
fishing excursion, intending to take dinner with the Trasters. They 
took along something to drink and Granville Dale, who was in the 
employ of the millers as a teamster, took a little too much. When the 
call came for dinner, Dale was attending to the horses. A slight con- 
troversy arose between him and William Traster and the latter made a 
move as though he was going to inflict some personal chastisement upon 
Dale. Although fuddled by drink, Dale realized that he was no match 



HISTORY OF ]MADISON COUNTY 317 

for his employer in strength. Seizing a stone about the size of a goose 
egg, he hurled it with all his might at Traster, striking him upon the 
head and fracturing the skull. The fishing party carried the injured 
man to the house, but he died soon after being struck, all efforts to 
restore him being futile. Dale gave himself up to the sheriff, admitted 
his guilt and at the succeeding term of court was sentenced to seven 
years in the penitentiary for manslaughter. He served his time and 
afterward was employed as cab driver for several years in Indianapolis. 
He always spoke of Ids act with regret, as the man he killed was his 
best friend. Both were under the influence of liquor at the time. Had 
they been sober the deed would in all probability not have been committed. 

On October 21, 187-4, the body of Albert Mawson was found in an 
abandoned well on the Mawson farm, about three miles southeast of 
Anderson, with the front teeth knocked in, the jaw-bone broken and the 
side of the head crushed. A rope was around the neck, blood stains could 
be seen upon the boards around the mouth of the well, and for several 
rods across the field to south were evidences that a heavy body of some 
kind had been dragged toward the well. Coroner Maynard was sum- 
moned and when the body, in a nude condition, was taken from the 
well it was seen that decomposition had set in, indicating that the young 
man had been dead for some time. His mother, a widow, told a somewhat 
incoherent story about her son 's disappearance some time before. Investi- 
gation developed the fact that she had had some trouble with another 
son, and while this disagreement was at its height Mrs. Mawson deeded 
her farm to Albert, her youngest child, saying that she had some hopes 
of his becoming a useful man, while the other son was inclined to be a 
spendthrift. 

Subsequently Albert became rather reckless in his habits and showed 
a disposition to stray away from home. At one time he found a position 
as brakeman with a railroad company and this displeased his mother, 
who wanted him to remain at home. Suspicion pointed to her as her 
son's murderer, the motive being to regain possession of the lands she 
had deeded to him. After the hearing before the coroner she was arrested 
and placed in jail to await the action of the grand jury. The verdict of 
the coroner's jury was that "Albert Mawson came to his death by a 
blow intiictod \\ith an axe or some other hard substance, in the hands 
of Nancy Mawson (his mother), which the jury finds to be the cause of 
the death of the victim." 

This verdict was rendered on October 21, 1874, and four days later 
Mrs. ]\rawson ended her life in jail by taking arsenic, having secreted 
a (|uantity of that drug in her clothing prior to her arrest. The scene 
of this tragedy was not far from the place where Milton White had 
murdered Daniel Hoppis seven years before. 

A shocking crime, and one that awakened wide-spread interest in 
Madison county, occurred in the early autumn of 1883. That was the 
killing of Rusan Nelson, widow of William Nelson and a member of the 
well known Rronnenbers' family, though the murder was committed near 
Terre Haute, in Vigo efnnty On Siptt-mher 7, 18S3, ilrs. Nelson called 
at the Aniler.son postoffice and left an order for her mail to be forwarded 
to Kansas City, ^Missouri. Later in the day she told the drayman who 



318 HISTORY OK MADISON (OrXTV 

took her trunk to the IVvj. Four station that she was going to visit her 
son, Jasper Nelson, who had written to her that lie was seriously ill. 
Her absence was notieed by her friends and aeqnaintances, but none 
could tell whither she had gone. 

In October, James Porter, while hunting in a piece of timber about 
three miles southwest of Terre Haute, discovered his dog carrying a 
human skull in his moutli and upon searching the neighliorhood found 
the body of a woman concealed in the shrubbery. The coroner of Vigo 
eountj^ was at once notified and held an inquest. Physicians agreed that 
the woman had been dead for sevei'al weeks, but the body could not 
be identified. Some days later an insurance policy issued by Bain & 
Harris, of Anderson, upon the household goods of Susan Nelson, was 
found near the place. The policy was torn and lilood-stained, but it 
furnished a clue to the identity of the woman. A detectivvj visited Ander- 
son and in company with Marshal Coburn went to the house where Mrs. 
Nelson formerly lived, on North Main street. Here they found a letter 
from her son, bearing the postmark of Brazil, Indiana, and dated August 
23, 1883, only about two weeks before she left Anderson. 

People who knew Jasper Nelson knew that he was something of a 
spendthrift, but that he had great influence over his mother. As Brazil 
is only sixteen miles east of Terre Haute the theory was fonned by 
the detective that he had persuaded his mother to visit him and had 
tried to get money from her. Whether he succeeded in this or not, he 
had murdered her and then made his escape. He was found at Cape 
Girardeau, Missouri, and arrested upon suspicion, but was acquitted. 

About the time young Nelson was tried, Perry Manis, a former 
preacher who resided near Frankton, was noticed to be rather flush with 
ready money — an unusual condition for him — and it was remembered 
that he had left his home about the time of Mrs. Nelson's departure. An 
investigation was started and soon a witness was found who had over- 
heard a conversation between Manis and the murdered woman, in which 
it was agreed to go to Kansas City and open a boarding house. Manis was 
arrested for the murder and taken to Terre Haute for trial. There he 
was identified by witnesses who had seen him and Mrs. Nelson together, 
and in the trial it developed that he had hired a buggy and driven 
away with the woman, but had returned without her. He was therefore 
convicted of murder in the first degree and sentenced to a life term 
in the penitentiary. In the trial William A. Kittinger, of Anderson, 
assisted the prosecuting attorney of Vigo county and rendered valuable 
service in securing the conviction of Manis. 

An affray occurred in Anderson on the evening of August 7, 1890, 
that resulted in the wounding of John Davis and the death of James 
Benefiel, a young man who had been rather fond of Mrs. Davis before 
her marriage. On the date named Benefiel and a j'oung man named 
Edward Brown called at the Davis home on old South Noble street.' 
Finding no one at home they entered the house and carried away among 
other things a revolver belonging to Davis. While they were lingering in 
the neighborhood, apparently waiting for the return of the family, 
Davis came home and seeing that things had been disturbed went out to 
find an officer. Failing in this he borrowed a revolver from a friend and 



HISTORY OF .MADISON COUNTY :n9 

again went home, entering the house by the back way. In the meantime 
Mrs. Davis and her mother had returned and Benefiel insisted that ^Ire. 
Davis come down to the gate. She at first refused, but finally stepped 
out in the yard and asked him wliat he wanted. His reply was that he 
had been sent by officers to search tlie house, but did not say what for 
or upon whose complaint the search was to be made. 

Mrs. Davis then went back in the house and told her husband, who 
went to the door and ordered Benefiel and his companion to leave the 
place. Benefiel turned as if to depart, but after taking a few steps 
turned suddenly and fired, the ball taking effect in Davis' right side. 
Davis had at one time been a soldier in the regular army and while in 
service on the western frontier won a reputation of a marksman. lie 
promptly responded to Benefiers sliot, the bullet entering the head just 
below the left eye and passing through the skull. Benefiel never recov- 
ered consciousness and died about 6 : 30 the next morning. The coroner's 
jury that investigated the case found a verdict justifying Davis in his 
course and he was not arrested. The parents of young Benefiel lived at 
Elvvood and were respected people, though he had formed bad associa- 
tions and acquired reckless habits. 

A few months later, December 28, 1890, Charles Kynett was shot and 
killed by Edward Downey, then city marshal of Anderson. Kynett was 
on one of his periodical sprees and started a disturbance at the old 
Rozelle House, at the comer of Eleventh and Main streets, when the 
marshal was called upon to arrest him. When the officer told Kynett 
to behave himself the latter, instead of obeying assaulted Downey, who 
several times ordered him to stop or trouble wouJd ensue. Finally the 
aggressor became so violent in his demonstrations that the marshal drew 
his revolver and fired one shot, which struck a vital part and Kynett 
died shortly afterward. The marshal surrendered himself to the authori- 
ties, but the coroner's jury brought in a verdict that the shooting was 
justified and in self-defense. Kynett was a laborer and when not in his 
cups was an average citizen, but when drinking he was inclined to be 
boisterous and (|uarrelsome. Marshal Downey expressed his regret at 
the unfortunate incident a»d it i.s said was much relieved when his 
term as marshal expired. 

As a result of a quarrel among neighbors, in which several families 
were involved. John !Moriarty shot McLelland Streets at the corner of 
Main and Ninth streets, in the city of Anderson, about ten o'clock on 
the morning of April 10, 1898. The report of the pistol attracted a 
crowd and Edward King took Moriarty into custody until the arrival of 
the officers. The general impression was that Moriarty. who ordinarily 
was a peaceable man and law-abiding citizen, had lost his reason over 
the trivial affairs that led up to the shooting, and it is said was never 
the same afterward. He w-as arrested and placed in jail, where he 
managed to commit suicide on June 16, 1893, by hanging himself to the 
bedstead in his cell. Little was known of Streets, who had been a resident 
of the city but a short time, and the sympathies of the community were 
generally with the fanulv of Moriarty. 

About 1894 the boom wnich followed the discovery of natural gas 
was at its height. Just as the so-called "sporting element" is attracted 



320 HISTORY OF ilADISON COUNTY 

to rich mining camps, so the same class of people is drawn to cities 
that are enjoying a period of industrial activity, in the hope of garner- 
ing some ' ' easy money. ' ' At the time mentioned Anderson had a number 
of saloons with wine rooms attached and on ilay 26, 1894, a young man 
known as "Dote" McCulIough was Ivilled in one of these places, con- 
ducted by a man named Welsh, on North Main street. It seems that 
young McCullough had become enamored of a certain Laura Skidmore, 
a woman of questionable reputation, and upon the evening of May 
26th he entered the wine rooms at Welsh's place to find her in the com- 
pany of another man. He immediately began making threats of what he 
would (Jo to the couple, when Dora Welsh came in and ordered him out of 
the place. McCullough went, but in about five minutes came back with 
a revolver in his hand and declared he would kill Welsh, at whom he 
leveled his gun. Welsh sprang toward the j'oaug man and strilck down 
his arm just as he fired, the ball taking effect in Welsli's thigh. The two 
then clinched, but Welsh managed to draw his own revolver, broke awa}- 
and fii-ed suddenly, the bullet crashing through McCullough 's head, kill- 
ing him almost instantlj'. 

Welsh was taken in charge by the police, the coroner was notified 
and the usual inquest in such cases was held over the body of the slain 
man. At the preliminary hearing Welsh was acquitted on the grounds 
that he acted in self-defense. The incident had a salutary effect upon 
Anderson, inasmuch as it brought about a better enforcement of law 
and rid the city of some of its undesirable characters. 

During the four score and ten years that have passed since the 
county of Madison was first organized, a number of homicides, cold- 
blooded murders, or brawls in which one or more of the participants 
met death have occurred within her borders. Yet it is true that her 
people, as a rule, have been no more turbulent nor less law-abiding than 
those of other counties. To describe in detail aU these unfortunate 
events would require a volume, and the above cases liave been selected 
because they were of unusually heinous character or surrounded by an 
atmosphere of mystery that made them more than a "nine days' 
wonder. ' ' 

On the evening of July 9, 1913, at the little town of Ingalls, a hom- 
icide occurred that attracted far more than ordinary attention on 
account of the prominence of the parties engaged. Some time before 
that an election had been held in Green township under the local option 
law and the people had voted that no intoxicating liquors should be 
sold in the township. As is always the case, this mandate of the people, 
as well as the law, was disregarded and liquors were sold. Early in 
June, 1913, Constable Albert Hawkins, of Anderson, conducted a raid 
on the hotel of Ingalls and confiscated a quantity of liquor and the 
fixtures. W. W". Brown, proprietor of the hotel and trustee of Green 
township, naturally did not feel kindly toward the constable. In the 
meantime Hawkins went to a hospital in Indianapolis, where he under- 
went an operation. It is thought that on his way back to his home in 
Anderson from the hospital he stopped off at Ingalls on the evening 
of July 9, 1913. Town :Marshal Manifold stated that he met the con- 



HISTORY OF iMADISON COUNTY 321 

stable that evening and that Hawkins told him he was there on business, 
but did not expect to make any arrests. 

About 10:30 that evening, according to newspaper accounts of the 
affair, the body of Hawkins was found lying in the street in front of 
Alfont's store, a short distance south of the Union Traction line. Ear- 
lier in the evening he had been standing in front of the hotel, but had 
gone up the street and for an hour l)efore the finding of his body had 
not been seen. At 10 :10 an interurban car arrived at Ingalls from 
Indianapolis and four young men — Raymond Higgs, Fred Piper, George 
Kuhn and Lester Copeland — who had been spending the evening at 
Fortville, alighted from the car. Some of them afterward stated that 
when they stepped from the car they noticed three men in front of 
the hotel who appeared to be quarreling. A little while later Fred 
Piper, while on his way home, heard a man gi'oaning. He hurried to 
the home of J. M. Roberts and told him that some man up the street 
was hurt, perhaps killed. Mr. Roberts, who had not yet retired, started 
toward the spot and on the way met Marshal Manifold. About one hun- 
dred feet south of the Union Traction line, at a dark spot in front of Al- 
font's store, they found the body of Albert Hawkins. An artery in the 
neck had been severed and blood was still issuing from the wound, al- 
though the man was dead. There was also a gash about an inch and a 
half in length on his right side. 

Coroner Albright, Sheriff Black and one of his deputies left Ander- 
son on the 11 :15 car for Ingalls and arrived there before the body had 
been disturbed. The oiBcers went to work on a clue and soon ascer- 
tained that the two men suspected were still in Ingalls. The sheriff 
summoned Prosecutor Shuman by telephone and that officer, accom- 
panied by Deputy Sheriff Ambrose, hurried to Ingalls in an automobile. 
All trains were watched, the house of one of the citizens, in which the 
men were supposed to be hiding, was surrounded and every precaution 
taken to prevent any one from leaving or entering the town without 
being observed and identified. Notwithstanding all these measures, 
Trustee Brown and liis son, William, Jr., twenty-seven years of age, 
managed to elude the vigilance of the officers and at one o'clock on the 
morning of the 10th arrived at the county jail in Anderson and gave 
themselves up to the turnkey. The young man stated that he had killed 
Albert Hawkins and was locked up, the father waiting in the office of 
the jail for the officers to return. Sheriff Black received word at Green- 
field, whitKer he had gone in the effort to intercept Brown and his son, 
that they were at the Madison county jail, and hurried back to Ander- 
son. While waiting for the sheriff' 's arrival the elder Brown gave out 
the following statement, which was published in the Anderson Herald of 
that date: 

"T was in Fortville last evening and returned to Ingalls on the 10 
o'clock traction car. "WTien I stepped from the car, my boy. William, 
was sitting in front of the hotel crying. When I asked him what was 
the trouble, he told me that Constable Hawkins, of Anderson. wa.s going 
to kill him. The bn\ is a little hard of h. aring and pasily angered. 
He told me that he had met Hawkins last evening in Phillips' grocery, 
in the north end of Ingalls, and at that time Hawkins showed a revolver 

Vol. I— Jl 



322 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

and told the boy that he was in Ingalls watching, and was going to kill 
some one before leaving. Hawkins and my son had some words and all 
evening Hawkins seemed to be looking for trouble. Late in the even- 
ing my son and I started home and Hawkins followed us across the 
street. Thej' had a few words in the middle of the street and Hawkins 
still followed us. In front of Alfont's store they mi.xed and it was 
t?hen that Hawkins started to draw a gun on my son and William cut at 
Hawkins, stabbing him in the neck. ]My son did it in self-defense, hav- 
ing been followed by Hawkins all evening and threatened many times." 

The case against Brown and his son at this writing is still pending. 
Soon after his being confined in the jail, Mr. Brown's bondsmen asked 
to be released, but he filed a new bond and is still trustee of Green town- 
ship, transacting much of the township business in jail, or in some of 
the county offices, where he is taken under guard for the purpose. 

On the night of November 12, 1851, the buildings on the south side 
of the public square in Anderson were destroyed by fire. The fire 
originated in the frame building at the southeast corner of the square 
occupied by Sherman & Wolf as a fanning mill factory. It was dis- 
covered shortly after midnight and was supposed to have been of in- 
cendiary oi-igin. Nest to Sherman & Wolf's place was a small frame 
cottage, at that time unoccupied. The next building was a three-story 
frame, in the lower story of which was Joseph Fulton's clothing store. 
Next to that \ras the shop of Adam Reed, a hatter, and the next build- 
ing was the general store of Dr. Towns-end Ryan. Then came the 
Myers House, a two-story log ctructure owned and occupied by "Uncle 
Billy" Myers as a tavei-n, and just back of it, fronting on Meridian 
street, was a livery stable. All these buildings, with a lot of personal 
propertj^ contained in them at the time, were totally destroyed and the 
loss fell entirely upon the owners, as no insurance companies were at 
that time represented in .Vnderson. The entire population turned out 
and did all that could be done to check the ravages of the flames, but the 
facilities for fire fighting were of the most primitive character and all 
their efforts were without avail. Three men — William R. O'Neil, Seth 
Smith and James Kindle — while trying to save their effects were so 
seriously affected by inhaling the heated air that they died within a 
short time after the fire. 

In November, 1866, an old frame livery barn on Main street, between 
Ninth and Tenth streets, caught fire about 9 o'clock in the evening 
and in a short time was wrapped in flames. The loft was, filled with 
hay and straw, which burned furiously, and it was with difficulty that 
the horses and vehicles were saved. The United States hotel on the cor- 
ner and the Ross house were near the burning building and were in 
imminent danger. In fact it looked for a time as though the entire block 
was doomed. Anderson had been incorporated as a city only the year 
before and no fire department had as yet been organized. No effort 
was made to save the burning barn, but Captain W. R. Myers, Major 
C. T. Doxey and Joseph Piekard organized the citizens into a "bucket 
brigade" and directed a systematic work in saving the adjacent build- 
ings. Many of the women brought out their bedclothes, which were 
saturated with water and spread over the roofs. Piekard 's hands and 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 323 

face were so badly burned during liis figlit against this fire that he car- 
ried the scars throufrh life. Tiirough the heroic efforts of the people 
a heavy property loss was averted. 

On December 14, 1871, the plant of the Anderson Foundry and Ma- 
chine A\ orks was destroyed by tire, but the plant was in such an isolated 
I)Osition that no danger to other buildings was feared. The works were 
soon rebuilt on a larger scale than before the fire. 

One of the most disastrous fii'es in Anderson started al;out midnight 
on ]May 17, 1875, near the middle of tlie lilock on the west side of the 
public square and spread in ])oth directions. Tlie Odd Fellows' build- 
ing, at the southwest corner of Ninth and Meridian streets, was the only 
really substantial building- on that side of the square, the others being 
cheap frame structures that furnished excellent food for the flames. An 
alarm was sounded, tlie peoide turned outand in a short time the bucket 
brigade was in action. A line was formed from the pulilic well to the 
blazing buildings and buckets of water were passed from hand to hand 
as rapidly as they could be filled at the pump. Those not thus engaged 
were busy in the effort to save some of the goods in the various mer- 
cantile houses along the street. Among those who suffered the lieaviest 
losses by this conflagration were : Nichol, King & ^Makepeace, hardware 
dealers on the ground floor of the Odd Ft Hows' building; the Anderson 
Democrat, on the second floor of the same building; the law offices of 
Calvin D. Thompson and Sansberry & Goodykoontz, on the same floor 
as the Democrat office; Fdiss' confectionery store; the shoe stores of 
L. ]M. Cox and Ryan & Broadbeck; the American Express Company, 
and the bakery of George Daich. The Dunocrat lost not only the ma- 
terials of the printing office, but also the files of the paper and other 
valuable propertj'. 

A smart lireeze was blowing at the time and this carried sparks 
and embers some distance to the southwest, threatening the destiiiction 
of that section of the city. Carpets were quickly torn from the floors, 
bedclothing was taken from the beds, and the.se were saturated with 
water and spread over the i-oofs, thus preventing the spread of the 
flames. Holes were burned in many of the quilts and carpets, liut the 
homes were saved. 

The Doxey Opera House on Meridian street, one of the most impos- 
ine private edifices in Anderson at that time, was totally destroyed by 
fire on the night of Novemlier 14. 1884. It is thouglit that the fire orig- 
inated in the rear part of Hurst's livery stable, immediately south of 
the theater. Anderson was without an adequate fire department and a 
telegram was sent to Indianapolis asking for assistance. The authorities 
of that city started an engine and a supply of hose on a special train 
for Anderson and had reached Brightwood, when a second message 
was sent countermanding the request, the fire by that time having gained 
sucli headway that no assistance would be of any benefit. A theatrical 
company had .iust concluded a performance when the fire was discovered 
and the members of this company rendered efficient service in saving 
some of the interior furnishings, though practically everything con- 
nected with the theater perished in the flames. 

Directly after the fire L. J. Burr, H. J. Bronnenberg and others 



324 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

joined with j\Iajor Doxey in rebuilding the opera house, a stock com- 
pany being formed for tlie purpose, with ilajor Doxey at the head. 
Subsequently he purchased tlie stock of his associates and became the 
sole proprietor of the theater. Although the second building was not 
quite as elaborate as the former one, it was one of the finest opera houses 
in central Indiana, outside of Indianapolis. It was opened to the pub- 
lic on the evening of November IS, 1885, and for more than eight years 
was Anderson's chief place of amusement. On the night of ilarch 30, 
1893, the second building was burned. The origin of the lire on this 
occasion is not definitely known, but it was thought to have been started 
by a gas jet which was left burning near some of the draperies of the 
stage. With the loss of this building Major Doxey gave up the idea of 
providing a theater for the people of Anderson. He according!}- sold 
the property to Louis Loeb and A. J. Brunt, who rebuilt it as a busi- 
ness block. 

On the morning of July 13, 1886, tire broke out in a row of wooden 
buildings at the corner of Ninth and ileridian streets at an earlj- hour, 
before many people were on the streets. The fire was first discovered m 
the grocery of Irey brothers by a night watchman named Wolf, who im- 
mediately gave the alarm. Before the tire could be checked the gro- 
cery in which it started, the millinery store of Miss Carrie Dodd, the 
meat market belonging to the Rhoads brothers, Jlinor Barett's shoe 
store, the United States express office, and the agricultural warehouse 
of B. P. Alford were totally destroyed. It is said that about two weeks 
before the fire a pile of shavings saturated with kerosene was found in 
the basement under the grocery and many believe the fire to have been 
of incendiary origin. The buildings burned were the property of Hes- 
ter Neely. who rebuilt some of them and others were rebuilt under leases. 

The old Adams block at the corner of Eighth and Main streets, one 
of the landmarks of Anderson, was completely destroj'ed by fire on the 
morning of August 16, 1888. It was built by Robert Adams in 1867- 
68 and at the time of its erection was one of the best business blocks in 
the city. The fire was discovered about four o'clock in the morning 
by Randle Biddle, a night watchman, who immediately turned in an 
alarm. Anderson now had a fire department, but for some reason it 
was slow in responding on this occasion, and when it arrived the fire 
was beyond control. Attention was therefore turned to saving the ad- 
joining buildings, in which the department was successful. A dry 
goods store on the ground floor, the offices of Judge Lake and "William 
Roach and the rooms occupied by Benjamin Roadcap, Joseph Carr and 
Samuel Sykes on the second floor, and the cigar factory of Purcell & 
Ehli on the third floor suffered practically a total loss. There were also 
a grocery and barber shop on the ground floor that were considerably 
damaged. 

Captain Frederick Tykle, of Middletown, the owner of the building 
at the time of the fire, offered the property to his son-in-law, John H. 
Terhune, if he would erect a building upon the site. The offer was 
accepted and Mr. Terhune built the When block, which was destroyed 
by an explosion of natural gas some years later, and the Phoenix block 
was then erected upon the corner. It is still standing. 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 325 

The burning of the Boring-IIannah block, on the north side of the 
public square in Anderson, December 7, 1890, is of historic interest, 
because the Daily Bulletin office occupied the entire second floor of the 
building. James W. Knight, one of the owners of the paper, was sleep- 
ing in the building and gave the alarm. The fire originated in the base- 
ment in the bakery of William Williams, and was started by a burning 
gas jet. Mr. Knight, knowing that two young men employed by Wil- 
liams roomed on the main floor, aroused them just in the nick of time 
to save their lives. The greatest loss fell upon the owners of the build- 
ing, R. H. Hannah, of Alexandria, and James W. Sansberry, of An- 
derson, the Bulletin Com])any, .Mr. Williams and W. S. Shirk, who had 
a jewelry store in the block. The newspaper and Mr. Williams were 
amply protected by insurance, but the files of the paper can never be 
replaced. The publishers showed their enterprise by getting out their 
regular daily edition, the publishers of other papers coming to their 
assistance by tendering the use of their presses. A new building was 
immediately erected upon the site. 

About six o'clock on the evening of March 1, 1893, Mrs. J. 0. Hard- 
esty heard the crackling of flames, and upon looking out of her window 
discovered that the Olympic theater building, only a few feet distant, 
was on tire. A. J. Jones, the hardware man, noticed the fire about the 
same time and sent in a still alarm. The department responded promptly 
and then began one of the most strenuous fights ever experienced by 
that organization. At the time the building was occupied by the Colum- 
bia Rifles as an armory. Private John Hopper, a member of the com- 
pany, afterward reported that he had left the armory only about fifteen 
minutes before the fire was discovered by Mrs. Hardesty, but that 
before his departure he had turned all gas jets down low enough to be 
perfectly safe, as he thought. As the fire originated under the stage, 
it was difficult for the department to reach it, and for nearly two hours 
they battled with the flames before they were extinguished. The build- 
ing was a wreck and the military company lost most of its arras and 
equipments. 

There have been a number of other fires in Anderson besides the ones 
already enumerated. Perhaps the most noted of these were the burn- 
ing of Conrad & Mathes' wagon shop in June, 1867; the destruction 
of the old hotel known as the "Junction House" on February 23, 
1868; the heading factory of C. T. Doxey & Company on Januarj' 3, 
1873 ; the Adams heading factory at the junction of the Big Four and 
Pan Handle railroads on September 5, 1887 : the Fisher snath and 
cradle factory on Februaiy 19, 1888; and the destruction of the Amer- 
ican Wire Nail Works on March 13, 1890. 

The Junetion House stood at the crossing of the Big Four and Pan 
Handle railroads and was a stopping place for all through trains, to 
give passengers an opportunity to get something to eat. That was before 
the days of dining cars, and the old hotel at the Anderson junction was 
well known to the traveling public. H. L. Searle was the proprietor 
for several years and uiider Ms management the house won a high repu- 
tation. It M'as never renuilt. 

The American W^ire Nail Company sustained a heavy loss by the 



326 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

burning of the mills, the insurance of $50,000 not being sufficient to 
replace the buildings tuid machinery destroyed. In this emergency the 
Anderson Board of Trade and some of the liberally inclined citizens 
came forward with otters of assistance and in a short time the mills 
were rebuilt on a larger scale than before the fire. 

Several disastrous fires have occurred in the city of Elwood. On 
the morning of September 18, 1872, the large flour and saw mills of 
John T. Adair caught tire about three o'clock, or a little before, arid 
were entirely consumed, although the "bucket brigade" responded 
promptly and worked heroically to save the mills. The total loss was 
in the neighborhood of $20)000, all of which fell upon Mr. Adair, as he 
carried no insurance. This loss fell so heavily that he never fully re- 
gained his former financial status, and it is said to have destroyed in 
vsome measure his usefulness as a business man. 

Another flour mill in Elwood, operated by Newton House, was de- 
stroyed by a boiler explosion about 7 o'clock a. ni., January 4, 1887. 
This explosion was caused in a peculiar manner. The evening before, 
when the mill was stopped for the day, the engineer, Dell Lyst, drew 
off some of the water from the boiler, intending to clean it out the next 
morning. That morning he was delayed in getting to his work and 
when he arrived at the mill he found that Joseph Redd, the miller, had 
already fired up. An examination disclosed the fact that the pumps 
were frozen and the two men set to work to thaw them out. A portion 
of the flues in the boiler were above the surface of the water and as 
soon as the pumps were started the cold water injected into the boiler 
struck the heated flues and was instantly converted into steam and the 
boiler exploded with terrific force, instantly killing both Lyst and Redd. 
George Redd was severely injured, but finally recovered. The mill, 
which cost about .$17,000, was a complete wreck, but it was rebuilt on 
a smaller scale by Mr. House. Several houses in the immediate vicinity 
were more or less damaged by the flying debris. One piece of the boiler 
weighting about two hundred pounds was thrown nearly two squares and 
crashed through the roof of a blacksmith shop. 

Abraham and Simon Sklute, two Hungarians, were arrested as in- 
cendiaries at Elwood early in February, 1890, charged with burning 
a store in order to get the insurance. The building in which the store 
was located belonged to Simon Sklute, who was also the proprietor of 
the store, Abraham being merely an employee. The fire occurred about 
4 o'clock a. m., February 1, 1890, and as the town had no fire depart- 
ment it was a work of some magnitude to prevent a wholesale destruc- 
tion of property. After the fire was extinguished the excited populace 
repaired to the boarding-house where the Sklutes were stopping threat- 
ened to lynch them. The charge was openly made that the two men 
had fired the building, but finally wise counsel was heeded by the ex- 
cited mob and the law was permitted to take its course. The two men 
were arrested on the charge of arson, given a preliminarj' hearing before 
"Ward L. Roach, justice of the peace, and were bound over to the cir- 
cuit court, where they were acquitted. In the trial the only evidence 
against them was that of a man who saw two men, whom he took to be 
the defendants, going toward the store about three hours before the fire 



( 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 327 

was discovered. Although the men were acquitted by a "jury of their 
peers," many people about Ehvood still believe them to be guilty. 

The large plate glass works at Ehvood were damaged to the extent 
of $60,000 by a fire on the night of June 25, 1891, an account of which 
is given in Chapter IX. About 8 o'clock a. m., Pebruai'y 12, 1895, the 
building known as the Heck block in Elwood was wrecked by an ex- 
plosion of natural gas that had accumulated under the floor of the room 
occupied by the Elwood Trust Comjiany. The explosion was of such 
force that it shattered windows in tiic buildings near by, blew doors off 
the hinges and did considerable damage to other property. The Heck 
block was a new building, two stories in height, the first floor being used 
for business purposes and the second for the city offices. Three men — 
Messrs. Graham, Telbs and ^Miller — were in the trust company's room 
when the explosion occurred. ^Miller's right leg was broken in three 
places, but the other two were only slightly injured. The building was 
damaged to the extent of about $2.0(10 and a stock of goods in one of 
the rooms was damaged much more, but was covered by insurance. Mr. 
Heck rebuilt the block immediately, making it larger and better than 
the original. 

About midnight on December 6, 1891, the people of Alexandria were 
aroused from their slumbers by an alarm of fire, which started in the 
jewelry store of Scott Pauly, and before the "bucket brigade" could 
check the progress of the flames the buildings between Church and 
"Washington streets on Harrison were entirely consumed. The business 
houses destroyed by this fire were John AViggins' restaurant, Layne's 
shoe store, the store of the Alexandria Fruit Company, John A. Gra- 
ham's saloon. Fred Cartwright's grocery, Manlove & Buckley's hard- 
ware store, A. Bertsche's harness shop, Patterson's restaurant and the 
saloons of John Dwyer, H. P. Williams, George Kelley and Edward 
Eccles. 

Another disastrous fire in Alexandria occurred on the night of Jan- 
\iary 21, 1S93. It started in a frame building on the west side of Har- 
rison street, in which were the postoffice and J. C. Clayton's grocery. 
The fire was soon communicated to the adjoining buildings, but was 
cheeked by tearing away a frame building at the corner of the alley 
between Church and "Wood streets, occupied by Rupert & Stockton's 
restaurant. A water supplj' was obtained in a novel manner. The in- 
tense heat from the burning building melted the snow in the streets 
and by building dams across the gutters a supply of water was secured 
with which to fight the fire. These two fires led to the establishment 
of the Alexandria fire department, an account of which will be found in 
Chapter VIII. • 

About 11 o'clock p. m., March 31, 1894, the barber shop of Harrell 
& Pyle and the express office on the comer of Canal street were wrecked 
by an explosion of natural gas. The ruins immediately caught fire and 
for a time it looked as though a large part of the city must inevitably 
be destroyed. At the time of the explosion seven men were in the bar- 
ber shop, waiting for meir Sunday shave, and four of them were burned 
to death before they could be rescued. They were Oren Ball. Jesse D. 
Harrell, Charles Hoover and Harry Boyer. Hiram Hurd was also 



328 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

caught in the fallen timbers, but was rescued after several unsuccessful 
efforts had been made. 

The Alexandria Plate Glass Works were partially destroyed by fire 
on September 17, 1895, the loss in property being considerable. At that 
time Major C. T. Doxey was president of the company and with his 
characteristic energy he immediately began the work of rebuilding the 
plant in a more substantial and elaborate manner than before the iirf. 
After it was rebuilt it was one of the largest and best equipped plate 
glass factories in Indiana. 

Among the minor fires that have occurred in Alexandria may be 
mentioned the destruction of the Fred Miller Company's cold storage 
building and barns, the burning of the Indianapolis Brewing Com- 
pany's cold storage house, and also the office and cold storage plant of 
the Terre Haute Brewing Companj', all within a few weeks of each 
other in the spring of 1894. The first of these fires was on April 6th, 
the second on May 28th and the third on June 4th. As the buildings 
were all depositories for beer and other malt liquors, many people at- 
tributed the fires to incendiarism. 

The little town of Frankton has been especially unfortunate in the 
matter of fires. The town was laid out in March, 1853, and one night 
in November, 1854, a new store building just erected by Quick & Murphy 
was discovered to be on fire. In the building was a large stock of gen- 
eral merchandise, the postoffice and the railroad ticket ofSce, and every- 
thing was a total loss. It seems that Isaac Sigler and John Ravy had a 
short time before that opened a saloon in the little village. Some time 
before the fire they had been arrested for tearing up a railroad switch 
at Frankton. Sigler gave bail but Ravy, unable to furnish the required 
bond, was committed to jail. In the course of the transaction they both 
became incen.sed at Quick & ]\Iurphy and it was believed that they had 
fired the store to get even. They were arrested and tried for arson, 
but the evidence was not sufficient to secure a conviction. Subsequently 
both men were convicted of robbing Atherton's store at Frankton. Ravy 
made his escape, but afterward fell from a railroad bridge and was 
killed, and Sigler died in the penitentiary. 

A fire that destroyed a number of buildings in the business section 
of Frankton started in William Waples' stable about 5:30 a. m., Octo- 
ber 3, 1877, and was thought to have originated through the careless- 
ness of some men playing cards in the haymow. Next to Waples' stable 
on the south was that of J. W. Phillips, which was soon on fire. From 
this stable the flames reached the drug store of John A. Howard and from 
there the fire spread to the Dvviggins block, in which were the post- 
office and James McLean's grocery. North of the Dwiggins block was 
the Suman building, in which were Kimmerling's drug store and the 
dry goods store of J. & W. Townsend. Next to this was Hurst Brothers' 
hardware store. All these buildings were burned to the ground and 
several horses were lost in the burning stables. In one of the buildings 
was the Masonic lodge, which lost all its furniture and records. The 
Odd Fellows were more fortunate, as they managed to save their effects. 
Some plundering was done during the fire, but the people were so intent 
on trying to save the tovm that the looters were allowed to go unmo- 



HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 329 

lested. Very little breeze was stirring and this probably enabled the 
citizens to hold the tire within Iwunds. Had a high wind sprung up 
Frankton would doubtless have been 'wiped off the map." 

A man named ^McDonald began the erection of a building in Frank- 
ton in August, 1S90, and announced his intention of opening a saloon 
in the town. Before the building was completed it was destroyed by fire. 
As there was no fire about the place, it was the general opinion that the 
destruction of the building was due to the work of an incendiary, but 
no clue to the identity of the offender was ever obtained. 

Summitvillc's first great fire occurred on ilarch 27, 1885, when the 
office of Dr. Judd Swallow and the stores of R. A. Menefee & Company 
and Aquilla Moore were totally destroyed, together with all their 
contents. The fire was first discovered in the east end of Moore's store 
about 3 o'clock a. m. and in a short time it was communicated to the 
other buildings. The people turned out and rendered all the assistance 
possible, but within an hour the three buildings were in ashes. By 
good management the flames were confined to them and the adjoining 
buildings were saved. The total loss was about $7,000, part of which 
was covered by insurance. 

A little more than four years later — August 23, 1889 — a fire started 
in the hardware store of E. B. Vinson, at Summitville, about 11 o'clock 
p. ra. and within a short time the building was a mass of flames. Adjoin- 
ing Vinson's establishment was the millinery store of Marj' E. Wertz, 
which was also destroyed, and considerable damage was done to the 
Vinson residence. The loss in this fire was about $4,000, but was par- 
tiall.v covered by insui-ance. 

Several destructive storms have visited Madison county at various 
periods of its historj'. The first of which there is any account was in 
1828, when a tornado struck the county about three and a half miles 
south of Anderson. As it passed through the woods it left a path 
about half a mile in width, in which but few trees remained standing. 
This path was long known among the settlers as the "Fallen Timber." 
As the country- was not then thickly settled, no damage of consequence 
was done to property or person. 

In 1843 a great storm ^egan its destructive work about four miles 
northwest of Pendleton, passed eastward through the dense timber tract 
known as the "Dismal." then followed the ridge south of Anderson and 
spent its force near the present crossing of the Big Four and Pan 
Handle railroads. All along the ridge large trees were uprooted and 
in many places the little mounds thus formed can still be seen. 

Ten years later, June 2, 1853. a violent storm crossed the western 
boundary of the county a little south of Perkinsville and followed a 
course east and noriheast almost entirely across the county. The sec- 
ond story of Daniel Wise"s brick residence was torn away, his barn and 
other outbuildings were seriou-sly damaged, and alx)ut two miles further 
north a house, in which Clarkson Snyder, James Cusack and a boy had 
taken shelter, was blown down and the inmates were all badl.v hurt. 
Just south of the present village of Florida some men were at work 
upon the grade for the Pan Handle railroad when they saw the storm 
coming and took shelter in a log house. They had been inside but a few 



330 HISTORY OF MADISON COUNTY 

minutes, when the house was demolished by the wind, but none of the 
men was injured. One man who caught hold of a sapling, to prevent 
his being blown away, was somewhat bruised, but his injuries were not 
serious. 

The town of Cicero, Hamilton county, was almost completely 
destroyed by a storm on June 14, 1880. After wrecking that town the 
tornado passed on eastward, entering Madison county near Perkins- 
ville, and following the general direction of the storm of 1853. Again 
the Daniel Wise residence was unroofed and otherwise damaged and 
again it was rebuilt by Mr. Wise's widow. Trees were blown down, 
fences scattered to the four winds and growing crops were seriously 
damaged. It is said that bolts of dry goods and other things from the 
s