(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "The history of Main Street United Methodist Church, Greenwood, South Carolina"

[ L U. I L 






i^-^yi^-v ■ ^^v- <---«?3=fffi?5'- ■=■ - / 'Sc "?'-ir5i.r-f*5ij 




''S« 



ft 




DUKE 

UNIVERSITY 
LIBRARIES 



Gift Of 



The Reverend Harry R. Mays 



The History of 

Main Street 
United Methodist Church 

Greenwood, South Carolina 




Interior of Main Street United Methodist Church decorated for 
Christmas. 



The History of 

Main Street 
United Methodist Church 

Greenwood, South CaroHna 



Harry R. Mays 



Providence House Publishers 
Franklin, Tennessee 



Copyright 1992 

Main Steet United Methodist Church 

Greenwood, South Carolina 

All rights reserved. Written permission must be 
secured from the publisher to use or reproduce 
any part of this book, except for brief quotations 
in critical reviews and articles. 

Printed in the Uruted States of America. 

ISBN 1-881576-09-4 



Published by 

Providence House Publishers 

Custom Commuiucations Publishing 

PO. Box 158, Franklin, Tennessee 37065. 



DEDICATED 

TO THE MORE THAN 

7,000 PERSONS 

WHO SINCE 1858 HAVE BEEN MEMBERS 

OF THE CONGREGATION KNOWN AS 

GREENWOOD METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH 

MAIN STREET METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH 

MAIN STREET METHODIST CHURCH 

AND 

MAIN STREET UNITED METHODIST CHURCH 



Contents 




Preface 
1 In the Beginning 


9 
15 


2 Organizing in God's Name 


22 


3 War Time 


33 


4 Reconstruction 


39 


5 Coming of Age 


48 


6 Growing Pains 


57 


7 The Second Building 


67 


8 Hosting Annual Conference 


79 


9 Getting a College 


85 


10 Choosing a Name 


93 


11 Another New Building 


100 


12 Post War Woes 


110 


13 The Great Depression 


122 


14 Hope Ahead 


127 


15 More War Years 


136 


16 Decades of Change 


148 


17 Still Building 


167 


18 Toward Tomorrow 


182 


Appendices 




Appendix I Register of Members 


197 


Appendix II Ministers 


203 


Appendix III Veterans of World Wars 


213 


Bibliography 


217 


Index 


220 



Preface 



This book is an effort to describe how more than seven 
thousand persons over a century and a quarter related together 
as a congregation. In the biblical Book of Acts such congregation- 
al members are referred to as saints. It seems quite proper to use 
that same term for members of this congregation. The result 
would be a subtitle that reads, "The Acts of the Saints Who Are 
Main Street Church." 

Persons relating to their God and Savior are the warp and 
woof of congregational life, but local records generally report 
church life in broad strokes. How precious it would be to know 
the faith story of those seven thousand "Main Streeters," but 
such facts are generally available only at some point of controver- 
sy. Let one example suffice. 

Some years ago a book entitled The Stained Glass Jungle 
became popular in Methodist Church circles. The story was a fic- 
tionalized tale of a young pastor learning his way through the 
traditional power structure of a Methodist Annual Conference. A 
copy of the book was ordered for the library of Main Street 
Church, but the book was never reported available for congrega- 
tional reading. Finally the truth was revealed. Two self-appointed 
censors had taken the book and carefully supervised its burning 
in the furnace used to heat the church building. "It is too naughty 
to read," was the censors' explanation. There have been a few 
such unholy acts like the above by some would-be saints, but the 
church records tend to generalize at these points. Forgiveness is a 
congregational virtue to be praised and appreciated, even if it 



10 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



bends the way history is ultimately presented in church records. 

Fortunately sources beyond available church records pro- 
vide considerable breadth to the Main Street story. The 
Bibliography gives an indication of these sources. 

Many have helped in this project. Herbert Hucks, 
Archivist for the South Carolina United Methodist Annual 
Conference, accumulated archival sources that provided invalu- 
able and, in some cases, unique information. Hucks also suggest- 
ed avenues of inquiry that made the search for information from 
the past much easier. No amount of thanks is sufficient for his 
assistance in the search for the Main Street Church story. 

The staffs of the South Caroliniana Library of the 
University of South Carolina and the Greenwood Public Library 
were helpful, patient, and capable as they provided high levels of 
skill in assisting in research. 

At Main Street Church there were helpers too. C. J. Lupo, 
Jr., and Carlos O. Gardner, Jr., both Senior Pastors during the 
writing of this book, offered unequivocal support. Jan Marshall, 
Assistant to the Pastor, was especially helpful in making available 
the oldest church records. Betsy Stockman Wood, Chair of the 
History Committee, has in many ways helped and supported as 
the congregation's official representative in this project. In a real 
sense this is her book, too, because she has shared in so many 
decisions and has been the guide in the process that stretched 
from the seeking of a writer to the printing and sale of the book. 
To the members of the History Committee, Hennie Cox, Lalia 
Huguley, Bettye Kinard, Becky Melton, Gee Poe, Clara Rodgers, 
and Nettie Spraker, go thanks for their continued support. That 
Committee is preserving much from the past that could have 
been lost to hasty and unthinking clean-up campaigns. 

One Main Street Church member has made a very signifi- 
cant contribution to the overall presentation of the text. Dr. Mary 
Lynn Polk of the Lander College English faculty provided her 
editorial skill to enhance the readability of the text. How can one 
thank her enough? 

Both Andrew Miller, President, and Mary Wheeler, 



Harry R. Mays 1 1 



Managing Editor, at Providence House, the publishers of this 
book, helped in many ways to bring this project to completion. 
They enabled one who had never attempted to publish anything 
to move with confidence through the process. They were patient 
yet professional, as the book in your hands is clear evidence. 

Tom Hutto of Hutto Photography was the dependable 
one who advised, criticized, and ultimately produced the photo- 
graphic prints used in this book. His cooperative spirit was price- 
less. 

Very special appreciation goes to Harriet Anderson Mays. 
She struggled to computerize the writings and re-writings of the 
text. All along she helped in the textual construction and acted as 
a conceptual sounding board in the search to make the often dry 
bones of history take on the flesh of a human story. In all of this 
her patience endured when others would have shot the writer. 

As you read this book and discover errors, mark those 
against the author. One word of caution. Most local church 
records are hand-written. Not every item is written legibly, and it 
is not unusual to have misspelled words. Names are especially 
vulnerable to error, and initials are suspect at times. If you doubt 
the presentation of a name, your doubt may be justified. What 
you doubt, however, is the form in which some long-dead secre- 
tary wrote for the record. '^Blessed are the merciful." 

If you read this book and are inspired, it is the strength of 
"the people called Methodists" who are Main Street Church. If 
you read this book and are amazed at what the congregation has 
accomplished since 1858, that is evidence of the power of God, 
the guidance of the Lord of the Church, and the presence of the 
Holy Spirit in the midst of the life of this congregation that con- 
tinues to do its faith in Greenwood. 



Harry R. Mays 

Heritage Hills 

Greenwood, South Carolina 

Good Friday 1992 



"The only way to look into the future 
is to stand on the shoulders of the past.' 
— author unknown 



Chapter 1 

In the Beginning 



The year was 1858 and the village of Greenwood had 
fewer than three hundred residents. The year before the 
Legislature of South Carolina had granted to the village a charter 
of incorporation. In 1852 the Qiarleston and Columbia Railroad 
had reached Greenwood, tying the village to both Greenville and 
Columbia. Although small and still struggling to survive. 
Greenwood felt it was at the very edge of great things. 

Records indicate that in 1823 James Pert had built a log 
house on the site that would become Greenwood. The following 
year John McGehee also erected a log house in the vicinity of 
Pert's, and the McGehees used their log house as a summer 
home. John McGehee was an attorney who, with his young bride, 
lived in Cambridge, the village that pre-dated modern Ninety 
Six. Community wisdom in Cambridge was that it was not a 
healthy place to live during the summer heat because of the mos- 
quitoes and malaria (which no one at the time saw as a single 
problem). The McGehee family was but the first of several 
Cambridge families who chose to summer on the comparatively 
high ground around Pert's house. Although the McGehees 
moved to Horida in 1829, the community they had led into exis- 
tence continued to expand slowly as a year-round village. In 1837 
a post office had been established and was assigned the name 



15 



16 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



"Woodville." In 1850 the name of the post office was changed to 
"Greenwood," recognizing the name that Mrs. McGehee had 
selected for their summer home a quarter-century earlier. 

Greenwood in 1858 was little more than a collection of a 
few residences, one or two crossroads businesses that could best 
be labeled "general stores," and a tiny railroad station. It was still 
forty years before Greenwood County would be formed out of 
parts of the old Abbeville District. To understand the way 
Methodism came to Greenwood readers should note something 
of the historical background of the area. 

In colonial South Carolina the overwhelming majority of 
the population lived near the coastline. To the seaboard settlers 
the 'l3ack country" began not many miles inland, and the "up- 
country" above the Fall Line was considered to be the wild fron- 
tier and Indian territory. Early contacts with the Cherokee 
Indians in the lower Piedmont were made by traders who went 
among the Indians to swap cloth, beads, firearms, gunpowder, 
and liquor in exchange for animal pelts. This lucrative business 
enticed a handful of hardy families to settle in what became 
known as the Ninety Six District. By the 1730s a few dozen white 
families were scattered across the huge area bounded by the 
Saluda River on the east, the Savannah River on the west, a line 
to the north along the lower boundary of what is now Anderson 
County, and a line to the south along the lower boundaries of 
today's Saluda and Edgefield Counties. When Robert Goudy 
opened his log cabin trading post at Ninety Six in the early 1750s, 
he had no close neighlx)rs, white or Indian. 

Over the next two decades Indian-white relations in what 
became known as the Ninety Six Judicial District were sometimes 
good and on occasion dangerous. In 1755 the Cherokee Nation 
ceded much of the lower Piedmont to the royal colony of South 
Carolina along a line generally following the lower boundary of 
toda/s Anderson County. Not, however, until after the American 
Revolution did most would-be settlers feel comfortable living in 
the area and not fearing Indian attacks. As the 1760s and early 
1770s passed, the number of permanent residents grew. Men and 



Hariy R. Mays 17 



women from Ireland, Scotland, Germany, and the colonies north 
of the Carolinas began to seek the good farm land that was 
known to be available near what later became the town of Ninety 
Six. At the end of the American Revolution in 1782 a near flood 
of immigrants began to pour into what would one day be 
Greenwood County. 

Because of communication and travel difficulties, most of 
the immigration into the up-country of South Carolina came 
down the Great Wagon Road that led from Philadelphia south- 
westward through the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia into the 
Piedmont Carolinas. As Alfred Glaze Smith, Jr., points out, "A 
thick belt of swamps made connections with the coastal areas 
extremely difficult, and communications with Philadelphia, 
though much further in distance, was no further in time." Thus, 
growing crops for sale or export was impractical. These settlers, 
therefore, at first farmed only to produce crops that would sup- 
port them and their families. It was a couple of decades into the 
nineteenth century before short staple cotton became the domi- 
nant cash crop for the up-state of that era. Likewise, the develop- 
ment of some form of river traffic was necessary before exports of 
any kind could be developed above the Fall Line. Consequently, 
the Piedmont of South Carolina developed a character and atti- 
tudes that were foreign to those of families that had been resi- 
dents along the coastline before the Piedmont began to be devel- 
oped. 

Methodism came into the up-state of South Carolina 
along that Great Wagon Road as settlers brought with them the 
basic religious ideas of John Wesley and the hymns of his brother 
Charles. No records exist to identify either the first Methodists or 
the first circuit-riding pastors in the Greenwood area. Evidence 
does exist of occasional visits by Methodist pastors like James 
Foster, who came into the Piedmont in the 1760s and 1770s. 
Certainly by the time the Methodist Episcopal Church was orga- 
nized in Baltimore at the Christmas Conference of 1784 unnamed 
Methodist traveling preachers had begun riding circuits that 
included parts of the Ninety Six District. 



18 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



A.H. Mitchell, then rector of the school at Cokesbury, 
wrote in 1838 that Thomas Humphries had formed between fifty 
and sixty years earlier a Methodist Society at what would become 
known as the Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal Church. That 
would have meant that this Society (or congregation) at 
Tabernacle Church dated from the period between 1778 and 1788. 
The Journal of Bishop Francis Asbury, the first church-wide 
leader of American Methodism, reveals that on November 24, 
1800, he visited the home of George Conner and preached that 
evening in "Conner's Meeting House." (This would have been 
located along the modem highway 254 and about a mile south of 
the present Park Seed Company.) The next day Bishop Asbury 
and his traveling companion, Richard Whatcoat, continued their 
trip on horseback southward to visit Hugh Porter, a Methodist 
Local Preacher, who lived near the present Rehoboth Methodist 
church in lower Greenwood County. 

Three weeks later Asbury and Whatcoat returned to 
George Conner's, and there, on December 16, 1800, a C^arterly 
Conference was held for the Bush River Circuit. The Bush River 
Circuit at that time encompassed all of what was then called 
Abbeville District as well as territory to the east of the Saluda 
River. Records do not indicate how many preaching places and 
how many buildings like Conner's Chapel existed, but Asbury 
admits that "there were at that time few Methodists, the most 
populous settlements being composed of Presbyterians." It 
would not have been unusual for the Bush River Circuit to have 
had a hundred or more preaching appointments scattered over a 
trail two or three hundred miles long. Asbury, who traveled 
through all of the original thirteen colonies on horseback, 
observed that Abbeville District, which then stretched from the 
Savannah to the Saluda Rivers, "had the best land of any county 
in the State." Nine years later, in January of 1809, Bishop Asbury 
again rode through Abbeville District and stopped at George 
Conner's to enjoy the hospitality of this early Methodist layman. 
Asbury notes in his journal, "At Conner's Chapel I spoke on 
Thursday. After the sermon I ordained John Stone a local deacon." 



Hariy R. Mays 19 



Conner's Chapel is described as nothing more than a one-room 
log cabin set in a small clearing on land owned by Conner. 

By 1820 the name of Conner's Chapel (or Meeting House) 
had been changed to the Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and a growdng congregation was developing at this site just a 
couple of miles north of present-day Greenwood. In that year 
Stephen Olin arrived to establish a school at Tabernacle Church. 
(Public schools were not a part of the South Carolina scene until 
close to the end of the nineteenth century.) Olin, a graduate of 
Middlebury College in Vermont, was hired to organize 
Tabernacle Academy. He remained at the Academy for four years 
and then left to become a minister in the South Carolina 
Methodist Annual Conference. His work as a minister was short- 
lived; ill health forced him to leave what was called the "travel- 
ing ministry," and he became a well-known college professor and 
president, first at Randolph-Macon College in Virginia, and later 
at Wesleyan University in Connecticut. A few years after Olin's 
departure, the Tabernacle Academy was closed. Most of the near- 
by residents and church members had moved two miles north- 
ward to the planned community first known as Mount Ariel and 
later as Cokesbury. 

The Cokesbury community was described by E. Don 
Herd, Jr., as a "planned town where the residents hoped to estab- 
lish the {perfect community." Cokesbury Academy became well 
known all across South Carolina as it trained and produced some 
of the political, religious, and business leaders of the state in the 
last half of the nineteenth century. It was not until the early twen- 
tieth century that efforts to operate this church-related academy 
were finally halted. Accurate calculation of the effect of this edu- 
cational effort is not possible, but, measured against many 
schools and academies that flourished and then died in the nine- 
teenth century up-country of South Carolina, Tabernacle 
Academy and Cokesbury Academy or Conference School were 
among the leaders. 

By the end of the Civil War the community that once had 
supported Tabernacle Church had disappeared, and the building 



20 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



TO ABBEVILLE 



SITE OF SECOND AND __ 
THIRD BUILDINGS D 

LOGAN STREET 
(Later Main Street) 



FIRST PARSONAGE 



TO NEW MARKET 



GREENWOOD IN 1858 



not to scale 



SITE OF 

FIR ST BUILD ING 

METHODIST 
CEMETERY 

(a traditional site) 
I THE CHAPEL (?) 



TO COKESBURY 

FIRST NAMED 

BROADWAY 

OR BROAD STREET, 

THEN CHURCH STREET, 

MAIN STREET, 

AND NOW EAST 

CAMBRIDGE STREET 



TO CAMBRIDGE 
(NINETY SIX) 



Hany R. Mays 21 



stood abandoned and decaying. In 1873 the trustees of the 
Greenwood Circuit decided that the building that had housed the 
congregation of Tabernacle Church should be dismantled and the 
lumber used in erecting a parsonage for the pastor of the Circuit 
in the town of Greenwood. This house, which stands on the north 
side of the 400 block of East Cambridge Street, is a direct tie that 
links Main Street Church to its antecedents and the historical past 
out of which it arose. 



Chapter 2 

Organizing in God's Name 



It was in 1850 that the Post Office named Woodville offi- 
cially was renamed Greenwood. At the time Greenwood was no 
more than a village of a few residences scattered along the road 
that connected Abbeville with Cambridge and the village near 
that other crossroads now known as Ninety Six. Near the center 
of the village was the Baptist-related Fuller Institute for Girls 
located near the old Methodist Cemetery on today's Cambridge 
Avenue. At the eastern end of town was located the Hodges 
Institute, a Presbyterian-related school for boys. About midway 
between the two schools was a building known locally as "the 
chapel." According to CM. Calhoun, the chapel was located at 
the comer of today's Cokesbury and East Cambridge Streets, or 
"near McClintock's store on Broadway," and was no more than a 
single room building erected as a public meeting hall for the vil- 
lage. Any preacher who rode into town on horseback, whether he 
was Baptist, Methodist or Presbyterian, could gather a group for 
a preaching service at the chapel. Here various school-related 
meetings and other community gatherings were also held. It was 
in the chapel, for example, that the strategy was planned that 
brought the Columbia to Greenville Railroad through Greenwood 
in 1852 instead of along the more direct route by way of the town 
of Laurens. 



22 



Harry R. Mays 23 



The census records of 1850 suggest the composition of the 
community of Greenwood at that time. There were five carpen- 
ters, one of whom was a free black man, a brick and stone mason, 
and a cabinet maker. There was a confectioner, a boot and shoe 
maker, a tailor, a coachmaker, and some crewmen related to the 
railroad. There were only three merchants, indicating that the vil- 
lage business district was very small. Two physicians and two 
druggists represented the medical community. Also three med- 
ical students were serving apprenticeships under a local physi- 
cian as they trained to become qualified doctors of medicine. In 
the area loosely referred to as the Greenwood Post Office in the 
census records, some 334 free persons lived, including one free 
black couple and their four free children; apparently this was the 
family of the free black carpenter. The two clergymen in town, 
one Baptist and one Presbyterian, and a couple of teachers, were 
related to the schools. Except for farm owners and four overseers, 
no other occupations were mentioned among the citizens. 

The village of Greenwood in 1850 could claim no orga- 
nized churches. The Presbyterians worshipped at "the Rock" 
Church; Baptists traveled to nearby Mount Moriah Church, while 
the Methodists generally attended worship at Mount Lebanon 
Church, Tabernacle Church, or Tranquil Church. All of these con- 
gregations were less than an hour's ride from the village by 
horseback or a horse-drawn vehicle. 

About 1850 the Methodists of Abbeville, Cokesbury, 
Ninety Six, and Greenwood developed a campground just off 
Deadfall Road at the bridge crossing Little John's Creek. There 
annual camp meetings were conducted for more than a decade. 
Families planned for months in order to enjoy the two or three 
weeks of camp meeting time. The meals served were delicious, 
according to all reports, and convivial socializing (and courting) 
was enjoyed as much as the well-filled schedules of preaching by 
any number of visiting clergymen. Visiting politicians were more 
numerous than the preachers, for the campgrounds were looked 
upon as a fertile place for those soliciting votes. 

By 1857 there was sufficient growth around the village of 



24 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Greenwood to justify its incorporation. The chapel was used as 
the theoretical center of the town, and a circle with a one-mile 
radius was drawn to establish the boundary of Greenwood. The 
1860 census suggests the growth of the population in and around 
the new town. A seamstress, a silversmith, and a tinner had 
added their skills. A blacksmith, a harness maker and his appren- 
tice, a coach maker, a coach painter, and four wagonmakers tell of 
a new industry that had arisen to bolster the town's growing rep- 
utation for progress. The number of merchants, traders, and ped- 
dlers had quadrupled in number to twelve since the last census. 
An "inventor /merchant," S.L. Bonds, was enjoying a varied 
career that is an untold story of a native genius. Seven physicians 
and a dentist were serving the health needs as Greenwood devel- 
oped a primitive medical community of its own. A hotel-keeper 
and a boarding house operator demonstrated the evolution of a 
need to house transient peddlers and other business travelers 
brought to Greenwood by the railroad. For a town of just about 
three hundred persons, free and slave. Greenwood was growing. 
On December 21, 1857, the South Carolina Legislature voted to 
present a charter of incorporation to this growing community. 

No records are known to exist that relate precise details 
about the moment of organization of the Greenwood Methodist 
Church, as Main Street Methodist Church was first named. From 
cherished traditions and from some known facts about the ways 
of circuit-riding Methodist preachers at that time, however, some 
general details about the congregation's origin may be presumed. 

William H. Lawton, pastor-in-charge of the Ninety Six 
Circuit, was the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, representa- 
tive in the birth of organized Methodism in the village of 
Greenwood. A native of what is now Hampton County, South 
Carolina, Lawton had grown up in a "home of culture and 
wealth." At the time of his death in 1893 his friend, J. Thomas 
Pate, wrote in Lawton's memoir for the South Carolina Annual 
Conference Journal, "His father was one of the most cultured, 
influential and wealthy men of the lower section of the State. His 
piety was of the purest type. Upon his children — especially 



Harry R. Mays 25 



William — he made an indelible impression." Educated at 
Randolph Macon College in Virginia, William Lawton had 
brought his bride from Virginia to South Carolina where he went 
into business with his father. Seeking a new purpose for his life, 
Lawton left South Carolina to settle in Rorida. There Bishop 
James O. Andrew, a family friend, helped the then thirty-year-old 
Lawton to respond to a spiritual call to the Methodist ministry, a 
call Lawton had encountered and was denying. Returning to 
South Carolina, Lawton was sorely tried by the unexpected death 
of his wife and the grief that followed. 

Overcoming his grief, Lawton joined the South Carolina 
Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in 
1852. After serving appointments to the Barnwell, Orangeburg, 
and Cypress Circuits, he arrived in the Greenwood area in 1858 
to serve the newly established Ninety Six Circuit. The churches of 
this circuit were Asbury, Bethel, Bethlehem, Ebenezer, Kinards, 
Rehoboth, Salem, Tabernacle, and Tranquil. 

As the son of a wealthy low-country planter, Lawton was 
a man of considerable wealth. Today he would be considered a 
multi-millionaire. However, William Lawton and his second 
wife, Ann, whom he had met and married while serving in 
Orangeburg, made no pretense of wealth as they lived in the fru- 
gal fashion typical of the Methodist circuit-riding pastors of that 
era. Nevertheless, as the census enumerator knew, in 1860 
William H. Lawton appears to have been possibly the wealthiest 
person in the Greenwood community. 

Decades later, when Lawton was superannuated (retired), 
he and his wife moved to a home they established north of 
Ninety Six near the Saluda River. There they were living when 
Lawton died in 1893. In his period of retirement the Lawtons vis- 
ited Greenvjood many times, and he preached on several occa- 
sions at the Greenwood Methodist Church. 

There is no argument that William Lawton was the orga- 
luzing pastor of the Greenwood Methodist Church. There is sug- 
gestive evidence, however, that Colin Murchison and his imme- 
diate predecessors serving the Abbeville Circuit prior to 1858 had 



26 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



begun work that bore fruit under Lawton's pastorate. During the 
first seventy-five years of Methodism's life in America, circuits 
were ridden on horseback six days a week; Monday was the day 
generally reserved for the preachers to prepare for their grueling 
activities. By 1857 the Abbeville Circuit had more than thirty 
churches and preaching places to be routinely visited by the pas- 
tor of the circuit. Preaching places were locations where no 
church building or organized congregation existed but where the 
circuit-riding pastor regularly visited to conduct worship ser- 
vices. Although these were not considered to be formally orga- 
nized local churches, those who faithfully attended worship ser- 
vices at the preaching places were considered to be members of 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Consequently, Lawton 
was building upon a spiritual foundation already laid by 
Murchison and others in the Greenwood village area prior to 
1858. 

When the Abbeville Circuit was divided at the 1857 ses- 
sion of Annual Conference, three circuits resulted: the Cokesbury 
Circuit, the Ninety Six Circuit , and the Abbeville Circuit. Each of 
these circuits had about ten regular preaching appointments. In 
this division of the huge Abbeville Circuit both William Lawton 
and John Carlisle came to Greenwood to live. Thus Lawton was 
on the scene to organize what for fifty years would be known as 
the Greenwood Methodist Church. Carlisle was serving the 
Cokesbury Circuit. 

That the new congregation of Methodists used ''the 
chapel" for their regular worship services is a valid assumption. 
These services, however, were not necessarily held weekly or 
even on Sunday. Scheduling was a complicated matter for the cir- 
cuit riders, and congregations were delighted to welcome their 
pastor whenever he could come. 

Tradition declares that William Lawton met with seven 
women to organize and charter the Greenwood Methodist 
Church. Those seven were listed by Charles in his 1958 historical 
statement concerning Main Street Methodist Church: Mrs. L.D. 
Merriman, Mrs. Eliza Turpin, Miss Anna Turpin, Mrs. Elizabeth 



Hany R. Mays 27 



Byrd, Mrs. R.H. Mounts, Mrs. Milton Osborne, and Mrs. Mary D. 
Bailey. George C. Hodges, an early leader of the congregation, 
lists the first members as Mr. L.D. Merriman, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Byrd, Mrs. Eliza Turpin, Mrs. R.H. Mounce [sic], Mrs. Milton 
Osborne, Miss Anna Turpin, and Mrs. Mary D. Bailey. James F. 
Davis, another equally early member, insisted that the first mem- 
bership in the congregation included the seven women listed by 
Charles and three men: L.D. Merriman, R.A. Bailey, and Milton 
Osborne. Davis wrote, "I saw this in the 'minute book' which my 
successor lost." S.H. McGhee, another old-timer in the congrega- 
tion, was certain that the list should not contain the name of Mrs. 
Elizabeth Byrd but should include the name of Mrs. A. St. Claire 
Lee, and he, too, spelled the Mounts name "Mounce." All of 
these lists can be found published in either the Greenwood news- 
papers or the Southern Christian Advocate, and the author of each 
list claims it to be authoritative. 

Which of the above lists is absolutely correct there is no 
way to confirm, since no records exist of the membership until 
1889. Because the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, did not 
permit women to be Stewards or Trustees or Sunday School 
Superintendents in a local church until well into the twentieth 
century, however, it is difficult to understand how an all-women 
congregation could have been organized in 1858. 

Men were involved in the earliest days of the Greenwood 
Methodist Church. Captain J.R. Tarrant, for example, was the first 
Superintendent of the Sunday School. Also, James A. Bailey was, 
until his death in 1871, the first treasurer of the church as well as 
the secretary of the church conference. One must keep in mind 
the fact that, to the Methodists of the mid-nineteenth century, the 
definition of "charter member" was not so specific as is that term 
in the late twentieth century. The example of Eliza Turpin and her 
daughter, Anna, is a case in point. The Turpins did not move to 
Greenwood from Cokesbury until after the death of Mrs. 
Turpin's Methodist minister husband in April of 1859. The names 
of those two women, however, are included in every charter 
membership list. This demonstrates the impossibility of imposing 



28 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



current definitions upon what was an accepted practice more 
than a century ago. 

The tradition that seven women could have been the 
leaders in the beginning of organized Methodism in Greenwood 
startles many who are familiar with the attitudes of the Old South 
toward women. Forgotten by such doubters is the fact that tradi- 
tions generally are based upon some elements of fact. Could it 
have been that those ladies were the nucleus around which 
William Lawton was able to organize a congregation in 
Greenwood? Were they able to encourage their husbands and 
other men in the community and lead these men to support what 
became the Greenwood Methodist Church? George C. Hodges, as 
mentioned earlier, was a leader in Methodist circles almost from 
the beginning of the congregation. Writing in 1897 in the South 
Carolina Methodist Advocate, he accepted the tradition as general- 
ly factual. By the time Hodges wrote, all of the organizing mem- 
bers as well as their pastor of that earliest date had "passed over 
the river to the heavenly land of promise." He commented, "God 
buries his workmen, but carries on his work." Hodges had 
known all of the earliest persons involved in the organization of 
Greenwood Methodist Church. It is quite possible that seven 
women constituted one of the "classes" that were an integral part 
of organized Methodism from the beginning of the denomination 
until almost the twentieth century. The "class meeting" was a 
venerable Wesleyan idea in which a small group met weekly for 
spiritual examination and group support. One needs to remem- 
ber, however, that there is no correlation whatsoever between a 
Sunday School Qass in 1858 or any other date and a "class meet- 
ing." Under the guidance of their class leader, who may well 
have been their pastor, it would have been quite normal for the 
"class" to cooperate with others in the vicinity to bring into being 
the Greenwood Methodist Church. When one understands the 
history of John Wesley's concept of the "class meeting," it is easy 
to visualize how from just such a close knit, spiritually alive and 
motivated group, the need for an organized Methodist Church in 
Greenwood was first perceived. 



Harry R. Mays 



29 




Dqnction of the first building of the Greenwood Methodist Church 
based upon a sketch in a notebook of Mrs. C. W. Tribble. (Artist: 
Virginia Wiggins) 

In his Index-Journal column, "On the Road," Harry Legare 
Watson recorded some insights into the lives of early Greenwood 
Methodist Church personalities. Mary Hodges Bailey (Mrs. 
Samuel A.) was married to one of the partners of the post-Civil 
War Greenwood mercantile firm of Bailey, Hodges and Company. 
Mary Hodges Bailey was a native of nearby Cokesbury. She had 
been baptised Mary Ann Dorothy Hodges, the child of Samuel 
Anderson Hodges and Mary Conner Hodges. Her mother was a 
descendant of George Conner, the friend of Bishop Francis 
Asbury. 

Eliza Byrd was the wife of Captain Thomas B. Byrd, a 
large land owner. The Byrds lived in the vicinity of the village of 
Woodville or Greenwood for more than two decades, and 
Captain Byrd had been the second postmaster when the village 



30 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



was still known as Woodville. Their home in Greenwood was 
located where today's Elm Court is situated, and they had the 
first 'liouse of public entertainment," or hotel, in Greenwood. 

Mrs. L.D. Merrimon, a Clinkscales before marriage, was 
the wife of a long-time Greenwood merchant. Otherwise, her life 
and that of her husband are not a matter of record. 

Rebecca Redmond Mounce was married to Robert H. 
Mounce, and they were both originally from Laurens County. 
Robert Mounce was an expert tailor, and a family tradition indi- 
cates that at one time he was associated with Andrew Johnson, 
also a tailor, who later became the seventeenth president of the 
United States of America. Some records indicate that the 
"Mounce" name should properly be spelled "Mounts." 

Mrs. Milton Osborne's identity is completely tied up in 
that of her husband who operated a harness and saddle shop and 
who served as the fourth postmaster of Greenwood. With the 
arrival of the railroad in Greenwood in 1852 the Osbomes moved 
their place of business to "The Square," as the future downtown 
of Greenwood was known growing up around the depot of the 
Columbia and Greenville Railroad. 

Eliza Turpin was the widow of Alfred Bell Turpin, a 
Methodist minister who was a member of the faculty of 
Cokesbury Conference School at the time of his death. Soon after 
Turpin's death on April 17, 1859, Mrs. Turpin and her family 
moved to a home located on land where the Citizen's Trust 
Company is located at the corners of North Main Street and 
Beaudrot Street. 

Annie E. Turpin, the daughter of Eliza Turpin and Alfred 
Bell Turpin, moved from Cokesbury to Greenwood with her 
mother after her father's death. On E)ecember 15, 1859, she was 
married to Dr. Franklin Ramsey Calhoun, and the couple moved 
to Cartersville, Georgia, where they made their permanent home. 

Ella B. Hodges, the youngest sister of Mary Hodges 
Bailey, is included in S.H. McGhee's list of charter members of 
the Greenwood Methodist Church. If not a charter member, she 
was surely numbered among the earliest of the congregation's 



Harry R. Mays 31 



members. She later married A. St. Claire Lee; they continued to 
reside in Greenwood and were stalwart members of the 
Greenwood Methodist Church. 

By 1860 the Greenwood Methodists felt there was suffi- 
cient growth and strength to justify planning for a permanent 
house of worship. On Broadway, now known as Cambridge 
Avenue, the building once used to house the Fuller Institute for 
Girls was a part of the estate of Albert Waller. For the price of 
$1,005 the Greenwood Methodist Church purchased this brick 
building and 2.25 acres of adjacent land. They quickly set about 
converting the school building into a place for divine worship. 
One of the first gifts received by the congregation was a 
mahogany sofa, covered with red velvet, that was contributed by 
a Mrs. Morgan. The sofa was used for decades to provide seating 
for the clergy behind the pulpit. Soon a cemetery was established 
using some of the land available. It appears that Dr. George 
Spires, who died in 1861, was the first to be interred in the 
Methodist Cemetery. 

One of the long remembered events from the earliest 
days of Greenwood Methodist Church was the great revival 
preached in 1860 by Manning Brown. This event saw thirty-five 
persons converted and twelve added to the church membership 
roll. At the time of the completion of the second building in 1897, 
John T. Parks related that he and James A. Bailey, another of the 
stalwarts of the faith in the congregation's earliest days, were 
among those added to the church roll at the time of that revival. 

At the 1860 Annual Conference the Greenwood 
Methodist Church was transferred from the Ninety Six Circuit to 
the Cokesbury Circuit. The new pastor of the two-year-old con- 
gregation thus became John Mason Carlisle, already a resident of 
Greenwood. Carlisle, with his wife, Elizabeth, had five children 
at that time whose ages ranged from one to nine years. A native 
of Fairfield County, South Carolina, Carlisle was a graduate of 
the Cokesbury Conference School. He had served as a pastor for 
four years, and then after a few years of teaching and three years 
as president of the Holston Conference Female College in 



32 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Asheville, North Carolina, Carlisle had re-entered the ministry of 
South Carolina Methodism. He was appointed to the Cokesbury 
Circuit at the same time Lawton was appointed to the Ninety Six 
Circuit. Both men had parsonages in Greenwood. Of Carlisle one 
who knew him well reported, 'It was good preaching to see him 
walk the streets of our town." It would be Carlisle's pastoral 
responsibility to assist the people of Greenwood Methodist 
Church as they dealt with the impending upheaval known as the 
Civil War or the War Between the States. 



Chapter 3 

War Time 



Life in Greenwood, in the Old South, and indeed in all of 
the United States began to change dramatically and quickly, 
when, on December 20, 1860, a secession document was signed 
by delegates to a convention representing the citizens of South 
Carolina. After that act events sped with an accelerating pace 
toward a war between the states. The South Carolina militia fired 
upon the United States naval ship "Star of the West" on January 
9, 1861, in the Charleston Harbor. This prevented relief supplies 
from reaching Fort Sumter, a part of the harbor defenses for the 
port. Soon afterward the Confederate States of America was 
formed by South Carolina and other seceding states after frantic 
peace efforts failed in early 1861. On April 12, 1861, Confederate 
artillery fired upon beleaguered Fort Sumter, and the next day 
the fort was surrendered by the Federal troops. Impending war 
now became awful reality. After the first battle at Manassas, 
Virginia, on Sunday, July 21, 1861, the word of the death and 
wounding of more than five thousand soldiers. North and South, 
warned people in Greenwood of the high cost of warfare yet to 
be waged. 

Certainly a high point in the excitement created by the 
war, as experienced in Greenwood, was that day in 1861 when 
John Mason Carlisle, by that time the pastor of the Greenwood 



33 



34 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Methodist Church and the other congregations on the Ninety Six 
Circuit, acting on behalf of the town, presented a flag of the new 
Confederate nation to the Secession Guards. This military unit, 
commanded by Captain W.W. Ferryman, had been recruited from 
the general area of Greenwood. S.H. McGhee relates that the 
Guards were preparing to board a train that was to transport the 
men to the war zone. In a ceremony at the railroad station, com- 
plete with the usual patriotic speeches, Carlisle handed the flag, 
made by Greenwood women, to the unif s flag bearer, S.D. Bond. 
The Secession Guards were destined to become a company in one 
of the Regiments of the South Carolina Volunteers. Carlisle would 
later serve as a chaplain of that Regiment for two tours of duty. 

When Carlisle left Greenwood to serve as a chaplain in 
the Army of the Confederate States of America, the Greenwood 
Methodist Church was fortunate to have available the pastoral 
services of Doctor Samuel Barksdale Jones. Bom in Charleston, 
South Carolina, in 1828, Jones was a graduate of the South 
Carolina Military Academy (the Citadel). He had joined the 
Methodist Conference in 1854 as a traveling preacher, but from 
1862 to 1867 he was listed as a supernumerary residing in 
Greenwood. This meant that for some reason Jones could not 
"travel" during that time on a pastoral circuit. Jones' first wife, 
Emma Caf)ers, had died soon after their marriage, and his second 
wife, Charlotte Elizabeth Power, was from the Abbeville District. 
This relationship probably explains their living in Greenwood, 
but it does not explain why Jones had been given the supernu- 
merary relationship. When Jones was able to return to the travel- 
ing ministry, he was asked to become president of the Columbia 
Female College, a position he was to hold twice after leaving 
Greenwood. Jones was a leader of South Carolina Methodism in 
the decades after the Civil War, and Greenwood Methodists con- 
sidered themselves most fortunate to have him available to assist 
them when Carlisle was serving as a chaplain in their nation's 
military service. 

While war took the center of attention for everyone in 
Greenwood, the members of the Greenwood Methodist Church 



Harry R. Mays 35 



continued to expand their congregational activities. In 1861 a 
Sunday School was organized under the superintendency of 
Captain J.R. Tarrant. Since the congregation owned no musical 
instrument at that time, tradition declares that Tarrant played his 
flute to accompany the singing at both Sunday School and at 
worship times. Longtime member James R Davis, who was a 
church member at that time, has written in the South Carolina 
Methodist Advocate of November 12, 1943, "J.R. Tarrant leading 
the tunes by the use of a flute is a myth. It was C.N. Averill, a 
refugee from Charleston during the Confederate War, a great 
song leader, who did use the flute." The baptism of the child of 
Mrs. Anna Calhoun, the first time this sacrament was adminis- 
tered before the congregation, was another small sign of the con- 
gregation's move toward maturity. 

A walk through the old Methodist Cemetery on 
Cambridge Avenue reveals some of the human agony that faced 
the Greenwood Methodists during the Civil War. The cemetery 
contains marked graves or memorials for six men who died as 
soldiers in the Confederate Army. The grave of S.T. Donnelly 
indicates that he was a private of Company E, the Second Rifle 
Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers. He died December 17, 

1863, at the age of 19 years, "A humble Christian and a brave sol- 
dier." Markers are set to the memory of two who apparently 
were brothers: James Charles Lawton was "killed in battle at 
Farmville, Virginia, April 4, 1864"; the marker for J. Mikell 
Lawton remembers one who died in Greenwood on June 6, 1864, 
at the age of 21 years, "of disease contracted in the Army of 
Northern Virginia." That marker is a reminder that the armies 
North and South actually lost more soldiers to disease in the 
American Civil War than to actual battle casualties. The two 
Lawton men appear to have been sons of the William O. 
Lawtons. The marker for Lieutenant R.S. Cobb, Company C, 
Sixth Regiment, South Carolina Volunteers, indicates that he was 
killed in battle near Armstrong's Mill, Virginia, on October 1, 

1864. No information is available on the number of men from the 
membership of Greenwood Methodist Church who volunteered 



36 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



for military service in the Confederate Army. Markers at twenty- 
five graves in the Methodist Cemetery and at sixty-four graves in 
Magnolia Cemetery, Greenwood's other old community burial 
ground, suggest the level of the patriotic fervor of the time in this 
village of less than 400 white citizens. 

Two graves in the cemetery provide mysteries for which 
no one has an answer in the late twentieth century. Lieutenant 
J.H. Blow of the Confederate Army "died in Greenwood on May 
26, 1865." The marker placed by "his friends" states that he was 
"A brave soldier. A humble Christian. He rests far from the home 
of his youth." How did Blow come to die in Greenwood? What 
circumstances surrounded his death? Who was he? Just as there 
is no knowledge concerning Blow, there is a deeper mystery at a 
marker that simply chronicles this fact as listed in the cemetery 
inventory: "A Confederate Soldier with no name. 1861 - 1865. In 
service." As with all unknown soldiers, the questions pile up as 
one wonders. Who was he? Where was his home? How did he 
come to Greenwood? How did he die? No records or traditions 
exist to explain these graves in Greenwood's old Methodist 
Cemetery. 

One more grave marker speaks to a side of warfare that is 
easily forgotten by those who think that all battle casualties are 
among the armed forces. "Sacred to the memory of Margaret W 
Mikell, widow of Dr. Aeneas M. Mikell of James Island, South 
Carolina." The marker says that she "died in Greenwood on the 
twentieth of September, 1864, while a refugee from home in con- 
sequence of the Confederate War." Fifty-year-old Margaret 
Mikell, like many others, sought a safe refuge inland from the 
threats that resulted from the warfare swirling around her home 
and community. Since Greenwood was the choice of many more 
like Mrs. Mikell, the reader can only wonder what part the 
Greenwood Methodists played in giving refuge and care to those 
who fled to the interior of South Carolina seeking safety during 
the Civil War. 

In other less somber, but nonetheless obvious, ways those 
living in Greenwood were reminded of the economic and social 



Hany R. Mays 37 



upheaval that accompanied the war years in the early 1860s. 
There was great difficulty in obtaining food, cloth for making 
clothes, medicine, and other items considered basic and essential. 
Mail from the soldiers fighting far off battles told of the boredom 
of waiting, and the fearsome and devastating experiences of com- 
bat, as well as the shortages of food and equipment for warfare. 
All in all, the personal experiences of those war years were most 
difficult for those who were the membership of the Greenwood 
Methodist Church. 

Despite the hardships, stories tell of many acts of com- 
passion and generosity among the people called Methodists in 
that era. Mary Neal Baker, in her study of the economic history of 
the Abbeville District from 1860 to 1875, relates that the ordinary 
soldiers of the Confederate Army, the privates in the ranks, gen- 
erally owned no slaves. Their families, therefore, could not pro- 
duce enough food to feed themselves; consequently, near starva- 
tion was commonplace for the families of these humble soldiers. 
Like probably every other Southern community. Greenwood had 
its Soldiers' Aid Society in which the Methodist women were 
very active. The Society offered money and food to assist the 
neighborhood families of the Confederate soldiers in need. Out 
of this common sharing of the suffering created by warfare, a 
new sense of community began to develop that would help 
Greenwood adjust to new ways of living after the surrender of 
General Robert E. Lee's Army of Northern Virginia at 
Appomattox Court House on April 9, 1865. 

Greenwood Methodist Church had an additional lesson 
in denominational polity during these turbulent war years. As 
has been noted, at the Annual Conference session meeting in 
Columbia in December of 1860, J.M. Carlisle had been appointed 
to the Ninety Six Circuit and was the pastor of Greenwood 
Methodist Church until the 1863 Annual Conference, when L.M. 
Little, a native of Catawba County, North Carolina, was appoint- 
ed the pastor of the Ninety Six Circuit for one year. He was fol- 
lowed by W.P. Mouzon, who was pastor of the Cokesbury Circuit 
to which the Greenwood Methodist Church had been transferred 



38 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



at the beginning of the 1864 Annual Conference year. Such fre- 
quent pastoral changes were normal in that era of Methodism, 
and the congregation in Greenwood expected and accepted an 
almost annual turnover of pastoral leadership. It was Mouzon, 
then, who was the pastor of the Greenwood Methodist Church as 
the disheartened veterans of the Confederate Army drifted back 
home and, with their families, entered that difficult period in 
Southern history called "Reconstruction." 



Chapter 4 

Reconstruction 



Both the records and the recollections of the South's 
Reconstruction era indicate a decade of chaotic economic, politi- 
cal, and social life which affected every aspect of southern living 
and the institutions surrounding that life. No battles had been 
fought in the vicinity of Greenwood. Nevertheless, the fact that 
Confederate President Jefferson Davis' party, fleeing from 
doomed Richmond, had passed through Cokesbury on its way to 
Abbeville on May 1 and 2, 1865, had brought the attention of the 
Federal troops upon the area. Except for an occasional visit by 
troops passing through the town, however, no mention is made 
of any permanent presence of occupying forces in Greenwood. 
Fortunately, at that time the community was too insignificant to 
warrant much attention from the Federal troops or even from the 
Radical state government in Columbia. 

Veterans of the Confederate Army returning to their 
hometown of Greenwood found everyone struggling to achieve 
normality. Food was in very short supply until the summer of 
1866. Then gardens began to produce enough for individual fam- 
ilies, and some produce was available to sell. Two terrible eco- 
nomic shocks to the southern economy were felt by every citizen, 
including the recently freed slaves. All Coiifederate currency was 
worthless, as were all of the Cor\federate government bonds in 



39 



40 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



which so many patriotic supporters of the "The Lost Cause" had 
invested. At the same time, the freeing of the slaves had removed 
one of the items of value with which southern personal wealth 
had up to that time been calculated. 

Nevertheless, it was in 1866, under the pastorate of W.R 
Mouzon, that the Greenwood Methodists were able to obtain a 
pump organ to supply music for their congregational worship 
and for the Sunday School. Such obvious dedication to the life of 
the church makes one wish that more were known of the story of 
sacrifice and devotion that moved through the Methodist people 
of Greenwood at that time. 

Greenwood's struggle to achieve normalcy began to 
attain results early in the Reconstruction period. In 1866 an 
express agency was opened at the railroad station, reminding the 
citizens of their good fortune in having railroad service to con- 
nect them with many other communities in the reunited nation. 
In 1867 the mail routes were restored, and by 1871 telegraph ser- 
vice was available. Possibly one of the best signs of Greenwood's 
move toward normality is the insight that survives from several 
sources. Within a year after the end of hostilities two race tracks 
were in operation in Greenwood. One was on the farm of Richard 
Griffin and the other on "Thomas Wier's place." Horse racing 
was back! CM. Calhoun assures us that "small stakes would be 
put up, much whiskey drank, and fist fights were innumerable." 
We can only imagine the sermons that the preachers in 
Greenwood must have delivered as they thundered against such 
conduct! 

One of the difficulties facing the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, and particularly the Greenwood Methodist 
Church, was the place of the former slaves who had been church 
members. To the question, "What shall be done to promote the 
religious interests of the colored people?" the 1866 Book of 
Discipline for Southern Methodism answered with the recognition 
that most of the colored people were choosing separate congrega- 
tions. 

A tantalizing question relates to the possible presence of 



Hany R. Mays 41 



slaves among the early membership of Greenwood Methodist 
Church in its formative years. Records from the Annual 
Conference Journals give hints that cannot be overlooked. Of the 
993 church members in the churches of the Ninety Six Circuit in 
1858, 654 were slaves. Two years later the report of the Ninety Six 
Circuit showed that 562 of the 786 members of the churches of 
the Circuit were slaves. No membership reports exist for the next 
four war years. In 1866, however, the membership report from 
the Cokesbury Circuit, of which the Greenwood Church was then 
a part, showed a total membership of 1034 of which 472 were col- 
ored persons. The report for 1867 notes a slight increase in the 
white membership while the colored membership showed a 
decrease to 312. That same year a Ninety Six Colored Circuit was 
reported with 150 members. By the next year, 1868, the 
Cokesbury Circuit reported that only 50 colored persons 
remained on the membership rolls of the churches of the circuit. 
That year both a Greenwood Colored Circuit and a Ninety Six 
Colored Circuit were reported as part of the Cokesbury District. 
At the same time no colored members were reported from the 
Cokesbury Circuit, and this remained true for as long as colored 
members were reported in the Annual Conference records. 

Although the above information does not confirm slave 
or colored members of the Greenwood Methodist Church in the 
first decade of its congregational life, it would only be surprising 
to discover that such memberships did not exist. The position of 
the Methodists of the South was that the local churches had a 
grave responsibility to care for the souls and the spiritual welfare 
of the slaves and the other colored people around them. A con- 
cern of the first Cokesbury District Conference in September 1867 
illustrates that this concern did not end with the freeing of the 
slaves in 1865. 

At that District Conference J.T. Kilgo, pastor of the 
Cokesbury Circuit, of which the Greenwood Church was a part, 
was asked to lead a discussion of "the relationship of the colored 
people to our church and the best means of continuing that rela- 
tionship." After lengthy debate it was decided that the churches 



42 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



"will heartily cooperate with the PE (Presiding Elder) and 
preachers of this District to carry out the Discipline in reference to 
the colored people and will do all in our power with the help of 
God to advance their spiritual interests." No further reference is 
made in the District Conference records relating to this matter. 
Readers can only surmise that the colored people chose to sever 
all ties with their former church relationships in and around 
Greenwood and in the rest of the District. 

Except for property deeds, no local church records exist 
for the Greenwood Methodist Church until 1889. The pastors' 
reports to the Cokesbury District Conference, held annually 
beginning in 1867, however, provide precious insights into the 
life of the Greenwood Methodist Church. With eight churches on 
the Cokesbury Circuit in 1867, the pastor had a rather full sched- 
ule of preaching appointments to fill as well as home visits to 
make and meetings to attend in order to fulfill the role expected 
of the pastor. The Circuit would have seen the pastor riding on 
horseback in an area from Stony Point and Coronaca to Rehoboth 
and Bethel, as well as Donalds and Cokesbury, and of course 
Greenwood. One pastor could report concerning the Circuit, "we 
move harmoniously," while admitting, "Class meetings have 
gone into little prayer meetings." Southern Methodism was 
changing and the Greenwood Methodist Church was caught up 
in that change. 

At the 1870 Cokesbury District Conference, the 
Cokesbury Circuit's and Greenwood Church's pastor J.J. Mood 
reported, "Our parsonage is comfortable, but not quite paid for." 
Up until that year the parsonages of both the Ninety Six Circuit 
and the Cokesbury Circuit, although located in Greenwood, had 
apparently been rented housing. At the end of 1870 the 
Greenwood Methodist Church was transferred to the newly 
formed and more compact Greenwood Circuit, which at once set 
about to build a parsonage for the pastor. 

As indicated earlier, the old Tabernacle Church building 
had been abandoned about the end of the Civil War because all of 
its members had transferred either to the Cokesbury Church or to 



Harry R. Mays 43 



the Greenwood Church. The Cokesbury District Trustees allowed 
the Tabernacle building to be dismantled and the salvaged tim- 
bers to be used in constructing a parsonage for the Greenwood 
Circuit. This new house, completed in 1871 and valued at $1^00, 
was on what was then known as Broadway. It was used as the 
home of the Greenwood Circuit pastor, and when the circuit was 
disbanded the property was sold. In 1931 S.H. McGhee reported 
that it was then the residence of Dr. Fitz Lee. 

The newly formed Greenwood Circuit was composed of 
six churches and two additional preaching places. The preaching 
places were visited twice a month and were located at Stony 
Point and Deadfall. The churches were Greenwood, Bethlehem, 
Asbury, Tranquil, Mt. Lebanon, and St. Paul's in Ninety Six. That 
year, 1871, the building of the Greenwood congregation was 
extensively renovated at a cost of more than $1,000. In that era 
this was a handsome sum, especially considering the overall 
financial situation in the Abbeville District and in the South in 
general. 

At the 1872 Cokesbury District Conference William 
Hutto, pastor of the Greenwood Circuit and the Greenwood 
Church, reported that the Sacrament of Holy Communion was 
observed quarterly and that he had found "no use of ardent spir- 
its; none attended circuses, dances, etc." Hutto reported that 
there were six organized Sunday Schools and that two of these 
"continued during the winter." This was considered a significant 
achievement in those days of poor roads and flimsy buildings. 
Hutto reported 525 members on the circuit and set a value of 
$5,000 for the six church buildings. He also reported an interest- 
ing twelve "social meetings per month." "Social meetings" were 
at that time defined as prayer meetings, love feasts, class meet- 
ings, and other regular church meetings other than that time of 
congregational worship that involved preaching. Nothing in the 
modern sense of "social" was involved. 

The 1875 Cokesbury District Conference was held at the 
Greenwood Church. By then the size of the Greenwood Circuit had 
been reduced to just five churches, and J.M. Murray, the pastor. 



44 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



reported that four of these churches 'liave stoves/' This gives 
some indication of the primitive conditions that persisted well 
into the late nineteenth century around Greenwood. At the con- 
clusion of that District Conference, which lasted several days 
including a weekend, a resolution of thanks was adopted to 
express appreciation to some of the pastors in Greenwood who 
had invited visiting Methodist clergy to preach to community 
congregations. The thanks was tendered to the pastors of the 
Baptist, Presbyterian, and Wesleyan Coloured Methodist 
Churches for the use of their houses of worship on the Sabbath. 

In 1878 R.D. Smart reported at the District Conference 
that the Greenwood Circuit was composed of eight churches with 
a combined membership of "about 500 on the circuit." To one 
unfamiliar with South Carolina Methodist history in the latter 
half of the nineteenth century the frequent shifting and changing 
in the comf)osition of the circuits may be perplexing. Many fac- 
tors were involved in this process of matching preachers and 
churches. The bishop presiding at the Annual Conference session 
was responsible for making all pastoral appointments and for 
deciding the make-up of each clergyman's pastoral responsibility. 
The apparent instability in the composition of the circuits to 
which the preachers were appointed to serve from year to year 
was not irrational. The bishop making the pastoral appointments 
did not necessarily have any familiarity with South Carolina. 
Nevertheless, he decided upon the make-up of each clergyman's 
pastoral responsibility. In these decisions the bishop received the 
advice of the Presiding Elders. There was a Presiding Elder to 
oversee the work of the churches in each District within the 
Aimual Conference. 

This small group knew how many preachers were avail- 
able for appointment. They also had to estimate the ability of a 
given grouping of churches to support a pastor, to provide a par- 
sonage, and to be able to pay a share in the upkeep of the organi- 
zation of the denomination at the state and national level. The 
group also had to judge whether an adequate or overwhelming 
work load had been arranged for each pastor. There were still 



Hariy R. Mays 45 



more factors to be considered. Was the area swampy, mountain- 
ous, or well tilled farm land? What was the condition of the 
roads, bridges, and, where no bridges existed, fords' If the 
weather was inclement, could the preacher make his rounds on 
schedule? As a consequence of all of this, every year the bishop 
was faced with the task of searching for the best and most equi- 
table appomtments for each of the preachers and the individual 
churches. 

In 1879, when J.A. Porter came to serve the Greenwood 
Circuit, he was responsible for four churches. Besides the fast 
growing Greenwood Church he preached at Tranquil, Bethlehem 
and Asbury Churches. He reported that the congregations each 
had acceptable buildings and that there was "a parsonage in 
good condition and tolerably furnished." This reduction in the 
size of the Greenwood Circuit was a tacit indication of the 
increasing demands of the growing Greenwood Church. 

It was Porter who, on October 5, 1879, led in the organi- 
zahon of a Woman's Foreign Missionary Society for Greenwood's 
congregation. Writing in 1928, Mrs. Helen Bourne reported that 
the Society was organized with eighteen members. She listed 

T^^'^iTu "^^'^ ^' ^''- ^•^- ^°8^^^' M'-s- LD. Merrimon, Mrs. 
J M Oldham, Mrs. J.M. Greene, Mrs. J.F. Davis, Mrs. Emma 
Waller, Mrs. R.W Major, Mrs. WA. Clyde, Mrs. Kate Medlock, 
and Mrs. Ella Cobb. Listed as the first officers were Mrs. Mary 
Greene, President, Mrs. J.M. Oldham and Mrs. WE. Anderson 
Vice Presidents, Mrs. Cad G. Waller, Corresponding Secretary 
Miss Ella Cobb, Recording Secretary, and Mrs. J.F. Davis 
Treasurer. The General Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, had authorized the Woman's Foreign Missionary 
bociety just a few months earlier, and this means that the 
Greenwood Church organization was among the earliest in South 
Carolina. 

Mrs. Bourne reported, "The cause of missions was not 
popular in those days and the women were met with discourage- 
ment and indifference. The work was new There were no inter- 
esting bulletins or literahire sent out to inform the women of the 



46 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



needs in foreign fields. The ten cents dues a month were hard to 
collect, and often ice-cream suppers and lectures were had to sup- 
plement these gifts/' 

Two women's organizations existed in the early history of 
Greenwood Methodist Church prior to the Woman's Foreign 
Missionary Society. Little is known, however, about their local 
activities beyond the general information available about all such 
groups. At the Cokesbury District Conferences in the late 1860s 
and early 1870s the pastors mention "the good work of the 
Ladies' Parsonage Aid Society." As the name implies, this group 
of women was responsible for keeping the parsonage supplied 
with the necessities, such as furniture, bedding, and the basic 
kitchen utensils. The pastor's family arrived with little more than 
their personal clothing, a few boxes of books, and possibly some 
precious items such as family portraits and an heirloom or two. 
Everything else needed by the pastor's family to live in the par- 
sonage, except food, was the responsibility of the Parsonage Aid 
Society. 

The other women's organization, "The King's 
Daughters," is only mentioned as the donor of a large stained 
glass window installed in the second church building. The King's 
Daughters was an interdenominational organization of Protestant 
church women who covenanted to participate in definite spiritual 
exercises daily and to perform at least one "act of Christian chari- 
ty" each day. First organized in New York City, the King's 
Daughters provided nineteenth century women with a support 
group of spiritually alert friends in the Faith. Although acting 
independently of any denomination. The King's Daughters was a 
recognized force for goodness in every congregation where the 
women were organized. The Parsonage Aid Society and The 
King's Daughters offered women opportunities for service and a 
community of like-minded friends interested in the welfare of the 
Lord's Church and the development of faithful Christian women. 

At the 1879 Cokesbury District Conference J. A. Porter 
reported concerning Greenwood Methodism, "The membership 
is devoted to the church." But he added that there is "not as 



47 Hariy R. Mays 



much religious life as formerly. None profess entire sanctification, 
though many have decided convictions as to the duty and privi- 
lege of seeking the spiritual life. There are no class meetings but 
there is much improvement in the duty of family prayer. There is 
a good prayer meeting in the church." The Sunday School was 
"in inspiring condition/' and the finances "are in a healthy condi- 
tion." Looking back it is obvious that times were changing for 
Southern Methodism. 



Chapter 5 

Coming of Age 



By 1880 it appears that Greenwood had generally moved 
beyond the harsh days of the defeat of the Confederacy and the 
upheavals resulting from Reconstruction. The town itself had 
grown to about 1,000 residents. This was the year that the Ninety 
Six Circuit was dissolved and the Greenwood Circuit formed 
with four churches. Greenwood, Lebanon, Ninety Six, and Salem, 
all served by W.C. Power who lived in the parsonage in 
Greenwood. 

At the mid-year meeting of the Cokesbury District 
Conference Power reported the total membership of the 
Greenwood Circuit to be 363 persons. All four of the congrega- 
tions were of a similar size; Salem Church had 92 members, 
Lebanon Church had 93 members. Ninety Six Church had 96 
members, and Greenwood Church had 92 members. That year 
the four churches were to pay their pastor a salary of $l/)50 and 
were faithfully fulfilling their promise. The pastor was very 
appreciative of the overall support he was receiving from the four 
congregations. 

When the Cokesbury District Conference met in July 
1881, Power, now in his second year as the pastor of the 
Greenwood Circuit, reported that the spiritual condition of the 
four churches was ''healthful," and he added that the finances 



48 



Harry R. Mays 49 



were likewise in a "healthy condition." During the meeting of the 
District Conference it was noted that the nation's president, 
James A. Garfield, was lingering between life and death. Garfield 
had been shot by a disappointed office-seeker and lived ten 
weeks before succumbing to his wound. Power "mentioned the 
severe affliction of the president and moved that the District 
Conference pray for President Garfield and that the secretary of 
the Conference communicate to Mrs. Garfield the sympathy of 
the Conference." This is one of those rare times when the church 
records give any indication of events beyond the narrow scope of 
local church life and interests. 

At the 1881 session of Annual Conference the usual pas- 
toral change took place. The newly appointed pastor-in-charge 
was Robert Newton Wells, a native of Summerton, South 
Carolina, who, during the Civil War had served as a Chaplain in 
the Army of the Confederacy. After his military service he had 
attended Wofford College, graduated from the University of 
South Carolina, and in 1870 had become a member of the clergy 
of the South Carolina Annual Conference. 

In 1882 the town of Greenwood celebrated the comple- 
tion of its second railroad connection. For several years convicts 
from the State Penitentiary had been employed by a local compa- 
ny in little better than slave conditions to do the actual construc- 
tion work. The cost for this labor to the company had consisted of 
the price of meals and clothing for the convicts and a reimburse- 
ment to the State of South Carolina at a cost of $3.00 per month 
per convict. Generally about 100 convicts were employed as the 
railroad was being constructed. There is no record of the actual 
cost in terms of the convicts who died during the construction, 
but it may have been higher than a hundred deaths per year. The 
railroad was a part of the Charleston and Western Carolina 
Railway System, and it renewed the commercial relations 
between Augusta, Georgia, and Greenwood that had been grow- 
ing in the decades just before the arrival of the first railroad 
through Greenwood. 

As has been mentioned before, the make-up of the circuits 



50 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



in South Carolina Methodism in the nineteenth century was in an 
almost constant state of adjustment. In 1884 the Greenwood 
Circuit consisted of Asbury Church, Bethlehem Church, Tranquil 
Church, and the Greenwood Church. Each of these churches had 
an active Sunday School, and there were two additional Sunday 
Schools in locations as yet not served by an organized congrega- 
tion. Altogether these six Sunday Schools claimed "345 scholars," 
and the pastor, William Anson Rogers, could proudly report that 
five of the Sunday Schools 'lived through the winter." Rogers 
reported that there were "stoves in all of the churches" on the cir- 
cuit, a claim that many of the pastors could not match. 

Rogers had been bom in Bishopville, South Carolina, and 
attended Washington College in Virginia in 1867 when General 
Robert E. Lee was the college president. The next year Rogers 
transferred to Wofford College. Rogers enjoyed telling that he 
arrived at Wofford with a letter of commendation from Lee him- 
self. Graduating from Wofford College in 1872, Rogers at once 
joined the clergy ranks of the South Carolina Annual Conference. 
Four years later he married Annie Anderson of Alabama. 

In the pastor's report to the Cokesbury District 
Conference of 1884 it was noted that the Greenwood congrega- 
tion had "a large brick church but it needs some repairs." 
Assurances were given that the needed repairs were scheduled to 
be completed before the close of 1884. At the same District 
Conference the decision was made to move the District 
Parsonage, the home of the Presiding Elder of the EHstrict, away 
from Cokesbury, where it had been located for 54 years. The 
enabling resolution for the move faced the fact that "the location 
of the District Parsonage in the town of Cokesbury is exceedingly 
inconvenient both to the Presiding Elder and the officials of the 
District." The EHstrict Parsonage in Cokesbury, because of its "age 
and condition will necessitate extensive and costly repairs." The 
resolution continued, "[The] sense of the District Conference is 
that the railroad and other facilities in Greenwood make that 
town the most suitable place for the location of our District 
Parsonage." The Methodists of Greenwood were extremely 



Harry R. Mays 51 



gratified with this recognition of the growing importance of their 
town within the circles of Methodist leadership. 

Greenwood Methodists reported with pride that year that 
"three of our girls are at Columbia Female College and one of our 
young men is at Wofford." The congregation was also delighted 
to report that their Woman's Foreign Missionary Society was one 
of only six in the Cokesbury District that was ''in good working 
condition." 

By the middle of the 1880s the pastor of the Greenwood 
Circuit/ W.A. Rogers, was realistically reporting that "class meet- 
ings have become passe, as have love feasts." For several more 
years, the records indicate that the pastors dutifully appointed 
"class leaders" despite the absence of classes to be held. Love 
feasts were another matter. The love feast was an early Methodist 
ritual taken with little modification from the Moravians. It was 
not related at all to the Sacrament of Holy Communion, which 
emphasized the work of Christ in human salvation. The love 
feast was observed at stated times on every nineteenth century 
circuit until about the 1880s. The service began with a simple 
congregational meal of bread and water as a token of good will. 
Then the church leadership, clergy and lay, made statements of 
"light and love on the things of God, specially as related to per- 
sonal experience," explains Bishop Holland N. McTyeire in his 
History of Methodism. By the time Greenwood Methodist Church 
was organized, the love feasts had ceased to be instructional and 
had become times for personal testimonials. In this latter phase 
the love feast soon lost popularity as "too much pious bragging" 
became the norm. This obvious shift away from traditional 
Methodist practices of the past century was a subtle admission 
that Episcopal Methodism was no unchanging monolith, and 
that the local churches, too, reflected this Methodist genius to 
adjust to current realities. 

At the 1886 Cokesbury District Conference Rogers was 
able to report that the Greenwood Circuit has "a new parsonage 
well furnished by the room plan." What the term "room plan" 
meant is a mystery a century after its use. The new house for the 



52 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Greenwood Circuit pastor had been built and furnished at a cost 
of $1300; all but $400 of this cost had been paid, and "by the fall 
we expect that this debt will be paid," the pastor assured the 
District Conference. This was typical of church finances as long as 
Methodists of South Carolina depended upon agriculture for 
their principal income. In the fall, after crops were harvested, it 
was expected that debts private and church-related would be sat- 
isfied. The pastor also reported that the "four houses of worship 
need repairs and [are] not as comfortable as they might be." 
Nevertheless, he could report that 80% of the membership 
attended the preaching services and 90% "attend the Lord's 
Supper." Such averages would be unbelievable in almost any 
congregation in the last decade of the twentieth century! 

The Cokesbury District Conference of 1886 went on 
record as "desirous of building the District Parsonage in 
Greenwood without encumbering the District with debt." 
Although authorized two years earlier, no work had begun on 
the new parsonage. R.W. Major, a member of the Greenwood 
Church and treasurer of the building project, gave a report on the 
rather dismal financial response of the various churches in the 
District to the call for funds for the construction of the new home 
for the Presiding Elder. 

An interesting part of Rogers' report to the District 
Conference was the observation that the people of Greenwood 
saw the need for churches to be organized in the Buck Level and 
Deadfall areas. Apparently this possible extension of 
Methodism's ministry into these communities evoked no 
response from the leadership of the District or the Annual 
Conference. It may have been that there were "preaching places" 
already active in these two localities, but this cannot be proved. 

Although church fellowship halls were a twentieth centu- 
ry innovation, Methodists in the nineteenth century must have 
enjoyed one another's company more than records indicate. In 
the Greenwood Tribune of November 18, 1886, the following was 
reported: "The Methodists will hold their annual Missionary Fair 
in Waller's Hall tomorrow evening at 7 1/2 o'clock. In addition to 



Hariy R. Mays 53 



the fair an elegant supper will be served; everybody is expected 
to go and go hungry. There will be much that is pleasant to eat 
and beautiful to see." 

That year, 1886, the Greenwood Methodist Church decid- 
ed to make their building "more attractive and usable for wor- 
ship and for Sunday School." Unfortunately, there is no record of 
what work was involved in this second renovation of the former 
Fuller Institute building. The work was done at a cost in excess of 
$1,000, and for that sum considerable renovating could have been 
done. This is probably why the extant drawing of that church 
building looks so much like a building that was erected as a place 
of worship. The use of new doors and windows, for example, 
would quickly change the outward appearance of the building, 
and interior work could accomplish equally dramatic changes in 
appearance and usage. 

The District Parsonage located in Cokesbury had been 
sold some time prior to mid-summer of 1887, and Greenwood 
Church's R.W. Major reported that "the money was safely invest- 
ed at 10 percent per annum." A new Parsonage Building 
Committee for the Cokesbury District Parsonage was authorized; 
it was composed of three men from the Greenwood Church: R.W. 
Major, H.F. Fuller and V.R. Hinton. These three were instructed to 
build the parsonage for not more than $1^00 and "the money on 
hand be used to purchase a lot" with the remainder of that sum 
being used to "improve the lot." 

Greenwood had received Frederick Auld as their new 
pastor at the preceding Annual Conference. A native of Laurens, 
South Carolina, Auld had been, in 1834 after the death of his 
father, apprenticed to learn "the mechanics trade." In 1858 he 
began his pastoral service in the South Carolina Annual 
Conference. During the Civil War he served as a chaplain for the 
24th South Carolina Regiment. He was married to Emma 
Zimmerman of Newberry, South Carolina. At the Cokesbury 
District Conference Auld was pleased to report that there were 
four very satisfactory houses of worship on the circuit and that 
there were five Sunday Schools. He added that the Sunday 



54 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Schools ''do not suspend/' This meant that the Sunday Schools 
did not close during winter. Generally in rural areas it was the 
custom for Sunday Schools to close down from late November to 
early March. Auld could likewise report, "We have no opposition 
to missions." At that time many advocated that all of the work of 
the churches should be aimed within the congregation and its 
immediate surrounding community instead of focusing attention 
on foreign fields. 

Certainly 1888 proved to be a landmark year for the 
development of the town of Greenwood. The opening of the 
Greenwood Bank with J.K. Durst as president and James W. 
Greene as cashier was especially significant. Greenwood could 
now begin to develop as a financial center. At the same time, 
behind the scenes, work was begun that would soon bear fruit in 
the first textile factory in town. Greenwood was beginning to 
assume the appearance of more than just an over-sized village. 

For the Greenwood Methodist Church 1888 was impor- 
tant also, especially for the women of the church. The ladies of 
the church were hostesses for the first state-wide meeting of any 
kind to be held in Greenwood when they entertained the tenth 
meeting of the Annual Conference Woman's Foreign Missionary 
Society. The local newspaper commented most favorably con- 
cerning the ability of the local ladies to organize and carry out 
such an undertaking. Editorially the newspaper saw this kind of 
action on the part of the Methodist women as the first of many 
endeavors to spread the word across South Carolina that 
Greenwood was a progressive and attractive place to live and 
work. 

Mrs. J.W. Humbert of Lyons, South Carolina, the presi- 
dent of the Conference Woman's Foreign Missionary Society, 
reported on the Annual Meeting in the South Carolina Methodist 
Advocate. The meeting had been held June 23-26, 1888. She wrote 
that the sessions were held "in the bright clean brick church 
which owed its attractive appearance to the energetic ladies of 
the congregation who had recently had it overhauled and neatly 
trimmed." (The pastor would later report that this work had cost 



Hany R. Mays 55 



in excess of $1,200.) Mrs. Humbert reported, "Sixty-two delegates 
and many visitors made this the largest of our annual meetings." 
The program included a sermon by Bishop W.W. Duncan on 
Sunday morning, Jur\e 24, and a mass meeting during the after- 
noon addressed by Mrs. Humbert, Mrs. Bishop William M. 
Wightman, and Bishop Duncan. A Tenth Anniversary meeting 
was held at 8:00 P.M. Sunday everting. The music for the various 
meetings on the program was provided by vocalists, an organ, 
and a comet and contributed much to the various services, Mrs. 
Humbert reported. 

Mrs. Humbert's report closed declaring, 'The cordial 
welcome and hospitable entertainment of the warm-hearted peo- 
ple of Greenwood made the meeting an enjoyable occasion. The 
hospitality of the Greenwood friends was unbounded, and every 
delegate and visitor was delighted with the beautiful town." 
Those who came to Greenwood to attend the Annual Meeting 
were housed and fed in the homes of the families of the congre- 
gation and in other homes in Greenwood. The town was highly 
pleased with this very first venture into the field of hosting con- 
ventions and other large-scale meetings. "The ladies of the 
Methodist Church have led the way for us," extolled a newspa- 
per reporter at the close of the Annual Meeting. 

For a group no larger than the membership of the 
Greenwood Church to extend an invitation to host a state-wide 
meeting indicates that many friends of the Methodist women 
must have cooperated. These were the days when those attend- 
ing church meetings were invited into the homes of the town's 
residents, as mentioned above, for meals and the use of "the 
guest bedrooms of the town." Auld was justly proud to make his 
report to the Cokesbury District Conference. After relating the 
experiences of the women he added that the circuit parsonage 
had undergone considerable repair and that only "about $400 
was owed" and that "this will soon be paid for." R.W. Major 
reported that all five of the circuit's Sunday Schools were "dis- 
tinctly Methodist." By this he meant that the Methodist plan for 
organizing Sunday Schools was followed and that only literature 



56 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was used by the 
Sunday School teachers and scholars. 

At the opening of the 1889 Annual Conference year the 
Greenwood Circuit was again reconstructed. A "Greenwood 
Station" appointment was formed consisting of the Greenwood 
Church and Tranquil Church. A third Sunday School called 
Briarwood was the responsibility of Tranquil Church. The new 
pastor-in-charge, John Marcellus Steadman, reported that the 
Greenwood Church had received 29 new members "by letter" 
and 18 by "profession of faith" in the first six months of his pas- 
torate. 

Greenwood Methodist Church and the town of 
Greenwood were definitely on the move. The Greenwood Cotton 
Mill was organized by William C. Durst in 1889 with a planned 
capacity of 10,000 spindles. The Greenwood Methodists that year 
subscribed $500 to the Wofford Endowment Fund, the total to be 
paid within five years. Local church finances had begun to op)er- 
ate on the "assessment plan," R.W. Major reported to the 
Cokesbury District Conference. This plan was based upon the 
idea that the leaders of the local church would meet and deter- 
mine how much as a minimum each family was expected to con- 
tribute to the church over the ensuing year. These were the days 
when such a regimented fiscal plan was considered acceptable to 
the people called Methodists. 

As the Greenwood Station began to organize, the trustees 
reported with some embarrassment that the copy of the legal title 
of the Greenwood Church property had been "misplaced" by the 
former trustees. J.T. Park was appointed a committee of one to 
obtain a replacement from the Court House in Abbeville. At the 
same time the Greenwood Methodists began to realize that 
growth meant a challenge that the next decade would place 
before the congregation. 



Chapter 6 

Growing Pains 



In the United States that decade just preceding the twen- 
tieth century is often called "the gay nineties." In the Piedmont of 
the Carolinas those ten years saw unprecedented change and 
growth taking place, and Greenwood Methodist Church was 
caught up in all of the excitement of that unusual decade. Church 
membership in 1890 was 152, and its facilities were crowded and 
impractical to use despite two extensive renovation programs in 
the past fifteen years. The church building on Broadway (or what 
had become known to many as Church Street) was no longer sat- 
isfying the congregational needs. In the 1890s church member- 
ship would more than double to a few more than 300 members. 
By 1898 the congregation would have constructed and be enjoy- 
ing a debt free edifice ''built in the Elizabethan style," and the 
building would be "richly and elegantly furnished," according to 
newspaper accounts at the time. But the move from the congre- 
gation's first to its second "church home" came only after great 
sacrifice and determination on the part of the congregation. This 
was possibly the most significant ten years in the life of the 
Greenwood Methodist Church. 

There are some local records dating from 1889, and 
insights into the day-to-day life of the congregation now become 
available. A listing, for example, of the members of the Quarterly 



57 



58 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Conference gives the names of recognized church leaders. 
Because the Greenwood Station appointment still included 
Tranquil Church as a second preaching and pastoral responsibili- 
ty, some of the names are of persons who did not attend the town 
church, but a century later it is difficult to separate the leaders of 
the two congregations. For the record, below is listed the 
Quarterly Conference membership of "Greenwood Station" for 
1889: 

G.W. Davis, Local Preacher 

R.W. Major, Sunday School Superintendent, Steward, 

and Church and Parsonage Trustee 
J.F. Davis, Recording Secretary, and Church and 

Parsonage Trustee 
J.T. Medlock, Greenwood Church Secretary 
C.G. Waller, Church and Parsonage Trustee 
S.G. Major, Church Trustee 
G.W. Rampey, Church Trustee and Steward 
A.A. Gage, Church Trustee and Steward 
J.W. Pinson, Church Trustee 
J.B. Sample, Church and Parsonage Trustee 
L.M. Moore, Class Leader 
J.T. Park, Class Leader 
J.R. Golden, Class Leader 
G.C. Hodges, Class Leader 

As indicated earlier, there were no longer active ''classes" in the 
Greenwood Methodist Church organization, but four men of the 
church were designated to lead these non-existent groups. 
Probably this was the convenient way at that time to recognize 
and utilize the leadership of more church members. The listing of 
G.W. Davis as "Local Preacher" is a reminder of a clergy category 
no longer utilized in Methodism. A Local Preacher was a lay per- 
son who was authorized by the Charge Quarterly Conference to 
assist the preacher in charge. Local Preachers were especially use- 
ful when they conducted worship services on multiple church 



Harry R. Mays 59 



circuits or charges where it was impossible for the pastor in 
charge to visit all of the churches on a given Sunday. As the size 
of the circuits became increasingly smaller along with the avail- 
ability of automobiles, and as more station appointments (single 
churches) were developed, the need for Local Preachers gradual- 
ly disappeared. (In late 20th century United Methodism the Lay 
Speaker program has provided a somewhat similar opportunity 
for lay assistance to appointed pastors in the conduct of worship 
services.) 

The Greenwood Station pastor from 1889 to 1891 was a 
bachelor, Robert Edgar Stackhouse, a native of Marion County, 
South Carolina, and a graduate of the State Normal College of 
the University of Nashville, Tennessee. After teaching school for 
three years he had become a Methodist pastor in 1888. His fresh 
enthusiasm must have excited the congregation. 

At the 1891 Cokesbury District Conference Stackhouse 
included in his repxjrt a statement that indicates his "fresh enthu- 
siasm" may have been less than appreciated by some in the con- 
gregation. He stated that a group "in the Greenwood congrega- 
tion have been dancing, but it is hoped that this can be adjusted 
without exhorting to the extremities of the law." Later the pastor 
added that "no other disorderly conduct has been noted." Here is 
the first hint that the conservative Methodist attitude toward the 
rules of everyday social conduct was beginning to change as 
"worldliness" came to a community that had considered itself 
above the frivolities enjoyed in certain other nearby towns and 
cities. 

The fact that the Greenwood Methodists did not report 
any church trials to the Cokesbury District Conference seems to 
have disturbed some nearby congregations as well as the 
Presiding Elders. The truth appears to be that those who were 
Methodists in Greenwood were a tolerant group when it came to 
matters of "disorderly conduct." Nevertheless, their pastors 
agreed with the Reverend P. F. Kilgo's evaluation in 1892: "These 
are noble men and women at the Greenwood Church. They work 
for the church and are a great help to the pastor." 



60 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



When the Greenwood Station appointment had been cre- 
ated, the membership of the Greenwood Methodist Church had 
purchased the ownership shares of the other churches who had, 
together with the Greenwood Church, built and paid for the 
Greenwood Circuit Parsonage. The Greenwood Church Trustees 
could report that all members had been repaid who had loaned 
money to make that purchase possible. The church owed just 
$216 to the Cokesbury Circuit, which had owned a small interest 
in the parsonage because one of its churches had at one time been 
a part of the Greenwood Circuit and had contributed to the cost 
of the house originally. Such complicated financial problems were 
typical in this period of frequent realignments of the Methodist 
circuits. As the Greenwood Church planned its relocation, a pre- 
liminary act had been to sell the Methodist Cemetery to a group 
incorporated as The Old Greenwood (^emetery Association. The 
trustees could report to the congregation that a right-of-way had 
been sold to The Old Greenwood Cemetery Association so that 
there would be access to the burying ground from what was then 
called Main Street or Church Street and today is known as 
Cambridge Street. 

Even as there is perceptible change in the Church's life, 
one can note that the town of Greenwood was also beginning to 
grow and change at an accelerated pace. As a railroad hub, the 
number of trains arriving and departing daily led the Greenwood 
Tribune to editorialize that the town was fast becoming ''the 
Atlanta of South Carolina." William Durst's cotton factory was 
leading the way as the town moved to become a "textile manu- 
facturing center," the editorial continued. With three banks now 
in operation. Greenwood felt that it was on the way to becoming 
a leading city in the state and hopefully in the Southeast as well. 

In 1891, however. Greenwood had problems that compli- 
cated life for the Greenwood Methodists. Stackhouse observed 
that "children do not seem to dread rain and mud as much as 
their parents." He was concerned about the low attendance of 
adults at both Sunday School and worship time when there was 
inclement weather. The culprit, he felt, was more "the road" than 



Hany R. Mays 61 



the rain. Since all of the streets in Greenwood were as yet 
unpaved, the mud that developed after rain or snow had fallen 
quickly discouraged would-be worshipers. The truth was that 
Greenwood Methodist Church could only be reached by 
unpaved streets, and Stackhouse dared to point this out to the 
congregation and to the town's leadership; not everyone appreci- 
ated his frankness. 

At the Third Quarterly Conference, held on June 12, 1891, 
the Local Preacher's License of A.J. Cauthen, Jr., was renewed, 
but to the congregation the most important action that day was 
that "on motion, authority was given the membership of 
Greenwood to erect a new church building." F.F. Dunbar, G.C. 
Hodges and R.W. Major were appointed a committee "to move 
forward in the work." Later the pastor observed, "The 
Greenwood Congregation has by the act of the Church 
Conference inaugurated a movement to build a new church. The 
location of our present building puts us to a great disadvantage 
and fifty years of progress is believed to be hinged on the present 
move. A very desirable location will be donated and fifty-five 
hundred dollars are now in subscription, which with the old 
church and lot, will erect a building creditable to the congrega- 
tion." For the first time the congregation would have the experi- 
ence of planning a proper building to house its activities. 

Stackhouse would also report to the Cokesbury District 
Conference, with deep pride in the community, that "a grade 
school will be established in Greenwood in September and this is 
regarded as the best thing to have happened to the educational 
interests of the community." A number of private schools had 
operated in Greenwood and earlier Woodville. The life span of 
such schools, however, generally depended upon some one 
dynamic personality who never seemed to stay in Greenwood for 
more than a few years. The advent of public schools at least gave 
a promise of educational permanence. 

For several years the Cokesbury District Conference had 
fretted over the fact that the churches of the District had not sup- 
ported with sufficient money the move to erect a parsonage for 



62 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



the Presiding Elder in Greenwood. At last, in the fall of 1891, con- 
struction began on this long delayed project. This fit well into the 
dreams of progress for a greater Greenwood Methodist Church 
and a greater City of Greenwood. The local Granite City Land 
Company in some of its promotional material for 1891 pro- 
claimed Greenwood as "a city of 2,500 wide-awake citizens of the 
railroad center and El Dorado of the Sunny South." Such was the 
lavish dreaming of the developing city in which the Greenwood 
Methodist Church was located. 

As Stackhouse prepared to leave Greenwood for another 
appointment at the Annual Conference of 1892, he knew that 
Tranquil Church was to be returned to the Greenwood Circuit for 
pastoral leadership. This meant that the Greenwood Church 
would finally stand alone as the sole responsibility of its full-time 
pastor. Greenwood Church now had "a graded Sunday School" 
with almost 175 scholars. Mr. and Mrs. C. G. Waller had con- 
tributed land "in a more convenient part of the town" on which 
to erect a new church building, and as Stackhouse saw it, ''the 
people are fully alive in the missionary work; especially is this so 
as to the Women and their juvenile work." 

The new pastor for the Greenwood Methodist Church, 
P.R Kilgo, came to a town that was celebrating the arrival of the 
Georgia, Carolina, and Northern Railroad. To some of the 
Greenwood Methodists, Kilgo was already familiar since he had 
been born in Cokesbury when his father, J.T. Kilgo, had served 
the Cokesbury Circuit, of which the Greenwood Church was then 
a part. Kilgo found the Greenwood Church organizing to erect 
their proposed new church building. On Monday, November 23, 
1891, the cornerstone for the building had been laid with the 
Presiding Elder, W.D. Kirkland, officiating. The Finance 
Committee for the construction consisted of F.F. Dunbar, L.M. 
Moore, J.F. Davis, Dr. R.B. Epting (a Lutheran) and F. C. Greene (a 
Presbyterian). Everything seemed in readiness for the 
Greenwood Church to move into a new phase of its congrega- 
tional life. 

As Kilgo and his wife, the former Nettie Bethea of Marion 



Hany R. Mays 



63 




Second building of Greenwood Methodist Church. (Artist: Virginia 
Wiggins) 

County, South Carolina, became acquainted with life in 
Greenwood two interesting events took place. A complaint was 
brought against one of the church trustees who had been absent 
without a good reason from the Third Quarterly Conference of 
1892. No record states that a church trial took place, but this was 
a dramatic departure from the live-and-let-live attitude toward 
church discipline in the past. About the same time the 
Presbyterian Congregation decided to build themselves a new 
church building across Logan Street from the Methodists' new 
location. In the newspaper report of this decision it was stressed 
that the Presbyterians would not begin their building until they 
had "all of the money needed to erect and equip their proposed 
building." Was there some sarcasm here aimed at the 
Methodists? 

In the meantime work began on the new Methodist 
Church building. In the files of the Church Trustees is a bill from 



64 History of hAain Street United Methodist Church 



Dunbar and Mays, dated February 9, 1892, for 70300 bricks fur- 
nished at a cost of $6 per thousand or a total of $425. This bill was 
paid on February 20, 1892, by notes from G.C. Hodges, J.R Davis, 
D.A.P. Jordan, J.K. Medlock, L.D. Merrimon, and A.A. Gage, 
according to a notation in the Trustee's records. Three months 
later, on May 13, 1892, the Trustees were granted a loan from the 
Board of Church Extension of the Methodist Episcopal Qiurch, 
South. Signing as Trustees were C.G. Waller, J.F. Davis, S.G. 
Major, L.M. Moore, J.B. Lamper, J.T. Parks, G.W. Rampey, P. 
Mickler, and A.A. Gage. This loan was to be repaid at the rate of 
$300 per annum, but it was actually satisfied on April 8, 1896. 

At the 1893 Annual Conference Kilgo received a new 
appointment, and the Greenwood Methodist Church received 
William Henry Hodges as its new pastor. Hodges and his wife, 
the former Alma Elise Kennedy, had lived the two prior years in 
Spokane, Washington, where he had served a Methodist congre- 
gation. The biographical data for Hodges in Twentieth Century 
Sketches notes, "When he reached Greenwood the walls of the 
new Methodist church were up, but work on the church had 
stopped for some time." During the year work was recom- 
menced, and before Conference the congregation worshiped in 
the new edifice, though the building was far from completed and 
a large debt was owed. The contract for a new parsonage was 
also let that year. 

Records of the Trustees show that on September 26, 1893, 
'Trustees and Building Committee of the M.E.C. parsonage met 
at City Bank. G.C. Hodges elected chairman. PL. Stucky, Sec. The 
Chrm then stated object of meeting was to decide on plan of 
house and settle exterior. Members present were G.C. Hodges, J.R 
Davis, S.G. Major, L.M. Moore, J.B. Sample, J.R Keller, PL. Stucky 
It was resolved to build of wood and plans were then freely dis- 
cussed as to building. The following committee was then elected 
to build the parsonage: J. Frank Keller, PL. Stucky, S.G. Major. 
The Building Committee was then made the canvassing commit- 
tee to raise what money was necessary. To be built without debt, 
and put on comer on line with church. PL. Stucky , Secy." 



Hany R. Mays 65 



A well was dug for the parsonage at a cost of $15 by J.H. 
South and Company of New Market. Cook and Greenwood of 
Greenwood "received $203.55 for supplies on parsonage build- 
ing." A statement from D.C. DuPree, Drugs, Paints and 
Stationery, dated November 1, 1893, reveals some of the prices 
for material paid at that time: 

10 gals wood filler $ 21.00 

1/2 gal turpentine .20 

2 lbs putty .10 

sandpaper .05 

5 gals Hand ai 7.50 

During December of 1893 the Southern Art Glass 
Company of Atlanta, Georgia, installed special windows in the 
church building. One triple window honored Bishop William 
Wightman; this window cost $158.65. The cost included $6 for 
installation and $2.65 for freight charges. Other windows were 
contributed by various families and one group of women in the 
church. The donors and the cost of the windows were as follows: 

L.M. Moore $ 33.80 

Wm Greene 38.50 

Major 54.40 

Waller 158.65 

Keller 110.39 

Epting 27.40 

King's Daughters 55.40 

There were also four art glass windows installed in the Sunday 
School area. With the windows installed the congregation could 
then use their building for worship even though pews and the 
furnace were not yet installed and other items remained to be 
purchased. Painting and plastering also had not been completed. 
More happened in Greenwood in 1893 than the arrival of 
a new Methodist preacher and continued work on the new 



66 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Methodist church building. Possibly the most significant commu- 
nity fact in 1893 was the development, adjacent to the 
Greenwood Cotton Factory, of the first community for the "facto- 
ry operatives/' Twenty-five dwellings were erected as homes for 
the families of workers who had generally moved from the rural 
areas nearby to accept employment at the cotton factory. The pro- 
vision of these "dwellings for the workers" would account for 
some of the increasingly fast growth in Greenwood's population. 
Although Hodges' pastorate was for just one year, and 
his successor, A. B. Watson, stayed in Greenwood only two years, 
these seem to have been two healing pastorates. Apparently the 
two years that Watson was in Greenwood were primarily spent 
raising money to pay some of the indebtedness that the congrega- 
tion had created. Unfortunately, at that time the pastor's report to 
Annual Conference and District Conference did not include sta- 
tistics, and so the precise amount of money raised in that two- 
year period is unknown. At the 1894 Annual Conference 
Frederick Auld, a former pastor, was superannuated and moved 
to Greenwood to live in retirement. Auld had been injured 
severely in a buggy accident and was never involved in commu- 
nity and church life; however, the family was warmly welcomed 
to town. From the records it is obvious that Mrs. Auld became 
increasingly active in the life of the congregation. Watson would 
report to the Cokesbury District Conference that the Greenwood 
congregation provided him and his family "an excellent parson- 
age." He confessed, however, in the same report that "fifteen per- 
cent of the membership neglect public worship." The Greenwood 
Church was beginning to show signs of the realities that would 
bedevil all churches of all creeds in twentieth century 
Christendom. 



Chapter 7 

The Second Building 



When Artemas Briggs Watson was appointed the pastor 
of Greenwood Methodist Church at the Annual Conference of 

1894, he had been a minister for just five years but was 43 years 
of age. He and his wife moved into the new parsonage located on 
the northwest corner of the present church property facing East 
Cambridge Street. Watson came to Greenwood with his third 
wife, the former Amelia Bonneau Wightman. That same year the 
Cokesbury District Parsonage was finally completed at the corner 
of what is now the intersection of Elm Court and Cambridge 
Avenue. As the Presiding Elder, J.B. Campbell, moved into the 
new District Parsonage, Watson and his wife moved into a house 
that would be used as the parsonage for the Greenwood Church 
until 1948. These two new Methodist parsonages were a part of 
the evidence that Greenwood was growing in importance in the 
affairs of Abbeville County. (The political term "District" had 
been recently changed to "County") It was a reminder, too, that 
the importance of Cokesbury in South Carolina Methodism was 
fast entering an obscure past. 

When Watson moved to another pastorate at the end of 

1895, he was succeeded by a pastor who seemed to be the perfect 
match for the pastoral needs of the Greenwood Methodist 
Church. Marion Dargan was a native of Darlington, South 



67 



68 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



iwood. S. C 



-^^ ^-'•^Ht^ 




Second building of Greenwood Methodist Church as depicted on a 
contemporary post card. 




Interior of second building decorated for Easter Sunday. 



Harry R. Mays 69 



Carolina, and was thirty-nine years old when he and his wife, the 
former Anna Hicklin of Chester, South Carolina, and their chil- 
dren, Edina, Marion, Junior, and William, moved to Greenwood. 
For the two years just prior to his coming to Greenwood, Dargan 
had been the agent for Columbia Female College. In this capacity 
he had traveled across the state seeking financial support for the 
college. As a graduate in theology from Vanderbilt University, 
Dargan was one of the earlier pastors of Methodism in South 
Carolina with specific advanced training for ministry. Dargan 
had unusual abilities in business and in the organization and 
management of groups of people. He would later be lauded by 
Methodists and non-Methodists alike as the man who led the 
Greenwood Methodists to "accomplish near miracles" during his 
pastorate. 

The building program had been basically stagnant for 
more than two years when Dargan arrived in Greenwood. It was 
reported that the cornerstone had been sitting forlornly atop the 
uncompleted stonework that was part of the building's still-to- 
be-finished exterior. The major problem, Dargan discovered, was 
money. In order to complete the building a $2,500 debt had to be 
liquidated. At that time this sum represented a consolidation of 
several past debts that had developed as the congregation sought 
funds for day-to-day operations as well as sporadic construction. 
So long as this debt was outstanding, no work could be done on 
the partially completed structure. Under the last two pastors the 
debt had been reduced by about seven hundred dollars, but it 
was apparent that something drastic was needed to breathe new 
life into the congregation's desire for a new church building. It 
was at this point that Dargan's creativity and dynamic leadership 
came to the fore. 

After studying the Greenwood Church very carefully for 
about six weeks, Dargan developed a plan that he proposed to 
the congregation after a sermon on the first Sunday in March 
1896. An anonymous article in the Southern Christian Advocate 
reported the achievement. Using as his text, 'The love of Christ 
constraineth us" (II Corinthians 5:14), the pastor insisted that 



70 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



"the debt on this church is doing great damage to the cause of 
Christ. God sends his love and asks you to remove that debt, and 
to do it at once. Will you do it?" To continue to quote from our 
unknown reporter who was present that day, ''Many were con- 
vinced of the fact that it could be done - that it must be done. 
Brother Dargan said that this debt must be paid by April first, so 
as to present it to the Lord on Easter Sunday." Dargan's plan 
involved sending a letter "to each member or head of a family, 
asking that an enclosed note be filled out, signed and returned, 
payable April 1st." According to the reporter, all during March 
Dargan pointed the congregation toward that single goal. "He 
talked and preached giving all of the time." 

On the fifth Sunday in March not quite enough had been 
subscribed, but the deficiency was raised during the next week. 
On Easter Sunday Dargan had the pleasure of reporting to the 
congregation that the debt had been paid in full! "Brother Dargan 
led the charge; the congregation followed. The Lord of hosts was 
with us; no wonder that the victory perched upon our banners, 
for if God be for us, who can be against us?" The one who signed 
the report "Layman" added, "Who will not say that this is a won- 
derful achievement wrought out for us in our midst. How? In 
answer to prayer. This is the beginning of still better and greater 
things." 

A local newspaper reported on Thursday, May 28, 1896, 
"Excavation for the foundation of the new Methodist Church is 
now going on. The plans for the church are on hand and the con- 
tract has been let for the granite work. The church is to be in 
every way a modern structure. The main building will have a 
seating capacity of four hundred, and in addition there will be a 
Sunday School room with a seating capacity of 300 which will be 
connected with the church by folding doors." Actually what was 
happening was that at last the exterior work and interior finish- 
ing work had begun. Another newspaper article on June 4, 1896, 
editorialized under the title, "A Good Work Well Done," "Since 
taking charge of the Greenwood Methodist Church, the Reverend 
Mr. Dargan has done a work that cannot be too highly commended. 



Harry R. Mays 71 



A few months ago the church was laboring under a debt of some- 
thing more than $800. We are now informed that through the 
efforts of Mr. Dargan and his congregation the debt has been 
entirely wiped out." 

As the finishing work continued, orders soon were neces- 
sary for the interior furnishings. In February 1897 pews and 
chancel furniture, as well as 300 wooden folding chairs, were 
ordered from the E. H. Stafford plant in Benton Harbor, 
Michigan. A Seaboard Airline Railroad delivery ticket shows that 
seventeen bundles were needed to contain all of the folding 
chairs. This was soon followed by a delivery of pews, a commu- 
nion table, three pulpit chairs, two flower stands, and a pulpit, all 
purchased at a cost of $756. The pulpit and three pulpit chairs are 
still in use in the Cokesbury Chapel of the present church build- 
ing. The installation cost for the pews to seat four hundred wor- 
shipers was $10.85. J.M. Sproles of Greenwood installed the cen- 
tral heating system for $185. After a few months of use of the 
completed building it was decided that folding doors to separate 
the Sunday School room from the worship area needed to be 
installed. This led to an order for three rolling wooden partitions 
from James G. Wilson Company of New York City. These were 
delivered at a cost of $197.09. It was agreed by everyone that 
these partitions made the building much more usable. 

At the Greenwood Methodist Church more than a build- 
ing program was on the minds of the members of the congrega- 
tion. One example of this was a report in the Greenwood Index of 
October 1, 1896. The article reads, 'There was an interesting 
meeting at the Methodist Church Thursday evening, the occasion 
being a visit from Mrs. Wightman, President of the Woman's 
Foreign Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, and Mrs. J.P. Campbell, a returned missionary from China, 
where she has been faithfully laboring for the past nine years. 
Mrs. Wightman gave a short talk, setting forth the object and 
work accomplished by the society, which is now fifteen years old, 
has forty-six missionaries in the field, and an excellent training 
school in Kansas City. Mrs. Campbell followed with an excellent 



72 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



address on the subject of missionaries in China. Her description 
of the customs and conditions of the people and the progress 
which Christianity is making was interesting and encouraging. 
At the conclusion of the address a collection was taken to aid the 
work." 

In Greenwood in the 1890s there was obvious growing 
cooperation among the denominations with churches in town. 
The Index of March 19, 1896, reported that "Dr. Clifton of 
Abbeville delivered an able lecture at the Greenwood Methodist 
Church last Sunday evening. The pastors of the different church- 
es in Greenwood have inaugurated a plan by which they will fur- 
nish in turn a lecturer. They hope to have a lecture once each 
month." Another report in the Index for July 16, 1896, mentions 
that "no evening services were held at the Methodist and 
Presbyterian Churches last Sunday evening as the two congrega- 
tions accepted an invitation from the Baptist brethren to worship 
with them. A Dr. Ramsey from Charleston was preaching." And 
on October 8, 1896, the Index noted that the newly completed 
Episcopal Chapel, "a beautiful little wooden building," was con- 
secrated the past Sunday. This ended a more than decade-long 
period when the Episcopalians had held a monthly service of 
worship in the Greenwood Methodist Church building. An 
Episcopal priest would take the train ride to Greenwood from 
Greenville to conduct the service in the Methodist Church and 
return to his home the same evening. 

On May 14, 1896, the Index noted that "Dr. Leftwich of 
Nashville will begin a two week's evangelistic meeting at the 
Greenwood Methodist Church. He confines his morning series to 
one hour! He is a high class, educated preacher and does not 
belong to the guild of professional evangelists whose only stock 
in trade is abuse and opprobrious epithets. He has made a good 
impression here and gives promise of doing much good." 

During the 1890's weekly advertisements in the newspa- 
pers indicate that the following was the general schedule of 
events at Greenwood Methodist Church: 



Harry R. Mays 73 



Preaching 11:00 AM Sunday 

7:00 PM Sunday 
Sunday School 9:30 AM Sunday 

Children's Meeting 5:30 PM Sunday 

Church Conference Second Sunday after 

Preaching 
Stewards Monday after the first 

Sunday in the evening 
Woman's Missionary Meeting 4:00 PM First Friday 

The "Children's Meeting" was actually the meeting of the 
Epworth League that had been authorized by the General 
Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, in 1890. 
The purpose of the Epworth League was "to encourage and train 
young people in the careful and systematic study of the Word of 
God, the doctrine, polity and history of the Church, and good 
books generally. And after head and heart have been filled with 
living truth, the opportunity is afforded through the various 
meetings and efforts of the League to put into exercise all that has 
been received." Like its Youth Fellowship counterparts in today's 
church, this provided to the "young people" not only an 
opportunity for spiritual and intellectual activity but also some 
precious moments of socializing and the discovery of some of the 
meanings of boy-girl relationships. Reports of discussions of the 
Epworth League philosophy at the Cokesbury District 
Conferences reveal that some of the pastors and lay leaders felt 
that adequate and dependable chaperons were a crucial and 
absolute necessity for all of the "children's meetings." No specific 
reference is made to any particular local church in those reports. 
However, the new idea of such "children's meetings" for the 
youth and young adults was difficult for many adults to accept, 
even in the "gay nineties." The many who shared in the Epworth 
League at the Greenwood Methodist Church attested to the 
power of this innovation at a time of dramatic change in the way 
Americans were living. 



74 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



In October 1896 the Greenwood churches had become 
concerned about the spiritual life of those employed at the 
Greenwood Cotton Factory where there were 403 "factory opera- 
tives." A census revealed that of that number 88 were Baptist, 74 
were Methodist, and six were Presbyterian, or a total of 168 oper- 
atives were church members. The census further revealed that 
236 of the operatives' families were "Baptist inclined," 154 were 
"Methodist inclined," and 13 were 'Tresbyterian inclined." Since 
only about forty percent of the factory operatives were church 
members, the Methodists and Baptists both viewed the develop- 
ing mill communities as potential locations for new congrega- 
tions and certainly fertile spots for evangelization. That the facto- 
ry operatives and their families might be invited to the already 
established churches appears not to have been an issue and may 
not have even been suggested. Certainly no records have been 
found that invitations were extended to the factory operatives 
and their families by any of the established churches of any 
denomination. 

During the first half of the 1890s the membership of the 
Greenwood Methodist Church remained generally static at a few 
more than 225 members. The church took on a new burst of activ- 
ity, however, with the arrival of Marion Dargan. At the 1897 
Cokesbury District Conference Dargan could report that in the 
last eighteen months 60 new members had been received by cer- 
tificates of transfer, and 33 new members had been received on 
their profession of faith for a total of 93 additions and a net mem- 
bership of 275 persons. 

In their reports to the annual District Conference both the 
pastors and the lay delegates were expected to make comments 
on various aspects of the general life of the local church. The 
members of the Greenwood Methodist Church who officially 
attended the 1897 Cokesbury District Conference were listed in 
that hand-written Journal as follows: 

Marion Dargan, Pastor in Charge 
Frederick Auld, Superannuated 



Hariy R. Mays 75 



J.T. Miller, Lcxral Preacher 
G.C. Hodges 
J.E Davis 
L.M. Moore 

Dargan reported, "Our church is in good condition, better I think 
than formerly. We have one Woman's Society and one Juvenile 
Missior\ary Society. They are doing well. We have two Epworth 
Leagues, but they are not what they should be. We have five boys 
at Wofford, three girls at Columbia, four at Williamston, and two 
at Converse. We have about forty subscribers to the Advocate. The 
Sunday School is in fine working condition with one hundred 
and ninety-seven scholars enrolled. The envelope system is used 
for our finances. We do not have a good library." At this point the 
District Conference Secretary inserted, "Brother Hodges 
explained how it was they had no library. Said it was due to the 
removal of the church to a new location and the necessary 
expense of same." 

After the pastor had made his report to District 
Conference, "Brother G.C. Hodges, layman, said that the church 
was in good spiritual, working condition, and largely due to the 
self-sacrifice on the part of the membership." Almost laconically 
it was added, "Brother James Davis, layman, said he thought 
they were holding their own, and that there had been no occasion 
recently for the administration of discipline." By this latter 
expression he indicated that no church trials and expulsions had 
taken place recently. 

The force of change within the Greenwood Methodist 
Church was created by more than the desire for a new church 
building. The January 7, 1897, Index reported the death of R.W 
Major, "a steward in the Methodist Church for 30 years and the 
superintendent of the Sunday School at the Greenwood 
Methodist Church when he died." By the 1890s most of the earli- 
est members were already dead, and, as reported in the Southern 
Christian Advocate, "the memories of what had been evaporated 
with them." Major was followed by A.M. Ford as Sunday School 



76 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Superintendent, but within the year George C. Hodges had taken 
over this very important position in the local church life. 

The Greenwood Index of April 15, 1897, reported, "Our 
Methodist brethren have furrushed their new church with a fine 
new [red] carpet, elegant circular pews, and a very handsome set 
of pulpit furniture. Also, one hundred chairs have been added for 
use as the occasion demands. Take the Methodist Church all in 
all, outside and inside, it is an excellent and tastefully furnished 
structure of which the good and worthy Methodist people as well 
as the town should be proud." 

Later in 1897, in a souvenir edition of the Greenwood 
Journal that celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of the cit/s incor- 
poration, it was noted that the new Methodist Church "was built 
on the Elizabethan style; it is richly and handsomely furnished, 
and it has a seating capacity of more than 800. From its first orga- 
nization as a local circuit it has steadily increased in numbers to 
the present membership of 270." [Newspaper accounts of the 
seating capacity appear to be exaggerated.] 

The article continues, 'The Sabbath School has an average 
attendance of over 200. A visit to this magnificent structure dur- 
ing Sunday School hours enables one to view a magnificent spec- 
tacle — the noble work of teaching Christ and his works in its 
magr\ificence and active grandeur. The teachers are all devout in 
their work, so much so that its beloved superintendent, Mr. 
George C. Hodges, though a traveling man, manages to be on 
hand every Sunday." In another news item of June 24, 1897, it 
was noted, 'The Greenwood saints of all denominations wor- 
shiped with the Methodists last Sunday morning [June 20, 1897], 
the occasion being the dedication of the latter's elegant, comfort- 
able, and thoroughly completed new building. Bishop Duncan 
conducted the services morning and evening, and it goes without 
saying that the large audience was highly entertained and 
instructed by his discourses." 

As the Greenwood Methodists had prospered, so had the 
Baptist Church in Greenwood. The Index of November 11, 1897, 
detailed the community's excitement as the Baptists occupied 



Harry R. Mays 77 



their new building that had been erected on Logan Street just a 
block from the Methodists' new building. Close by was the lot, 
also on Logan Street, on which the Presbyterians would erect 
their new building as soon as they had in hand all of the money 
needed for the project. As was the town's custom, the day the 
Baptists celebrated the opening of their new building the 
Methodists and Presbyterians canceled their worship services to 
share in the Baptists' joy of accomplishment. 

The town of Greenwood was growing! One of the special 
evidences of this new growth was the beginning of a telephone 
system. On November 24, 1898, the Index could editorialize that 
"Greenwood has telephone service with all of the world." 
Elsewhere in that day's Index, however, a realistic appraisal of the 
telephone system mentioned that "a call to Spartanburg is not 
satisfactory yet." The explanation for this deficiency indicated a 
fault in some switching mechanism elsewhere; the Greenwood 
system was "premiere." 

A major step in the urbanization of Greenwood was the 
town's decision to "macadamize the streets," thus finally ending 
the muddy mess that developed every time there was rain or 
snow in the town. Of course, only the more important streets 
were paved, but even this was a giant step out of the mud. 
Greenwood also took pride in the fact that in 1896 the Grendel 
Mills had begun operations making cotton cloth, thereby adding 
sigi\ificantly to the strength of the town's industrial base. 

But a growing Greenwood had at least one unanticipated 
problem. Because the town had developed as a railroad center 
with dozens of trains coming and going every week, an acute 
problem with "tramps and hoboes" had developed. 

Vagrants would interrupt their travels as they stopped 
over in Greenwood to beg meals all through "the better neigh- 
borhoods of our fair city," the Index reported. After reporting the 
danger these tramps posed to the ladies of the town, the Index 
went on to report that through the Woman's Home Missionary 
Society of the Greenwood Methodist Church that congregation 
was offering food to these undesirable visitors. No further details 



78 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



are given, but this program by the Methodist women met a 
special town need that the police force could not solve because 
too few officers were available to turn back the beggars at the 
edge of the railroad yards. 

For the Greenwood Methodists, however, the real chal- 
lenge was ahead. At the 1897 Annual Conference session they 
had been asked by Bishop Duncan to host the Annual Conference 
session to be held in early December of 1898. The Index noted that 
''Spartanburg, Greenville, Chester and Orangeburg were in nomi- 
nation, but Greenwood 'got there' as in many other instances. Mr. 
George C. Hodges made an able and convincing speech before 
the Conference in favor of Greenwood as the next meeting place. 
Greenwood people were delighted at the news that the Reverend 
Marion Dargan would be their pastor for another year. He has 
shown great capacity as an organizer and developer. He will be a 
valuable factor in the handling of the Conference next fall." 



Chapter 8 

Hosting Annual Conference 



Even before the Greenwood Methodists had begun to 
enjoy their completed building, the impending task of hosting 
Annual Conference in December of 1898 demanded the congre- 
gation's full attention. Their first big problem was the fact that 
their new church building could not conveniently seat the many 
official and unofficial visitors to be expected for the occasion. 
There was the need to provide a large space that could be avail- 
able for both day and night sessions. There was the need to find 
housing for every visitor, and the town's hotel would not begin 
to accommodate the crowds that would be in town. The list of 
details, large and small, must have appeared nearly overwhelm- 
ing. 

However, the whole community of Greenwood seemed 
poised to come to the Methodists' assistance. The newly complet- 
ed Greenwood County Courthouse was placed at the disposal of 
the Methodist Annual Conference. The courtroom was "much 
larger and more convenient than the church" and could be light- 
ed by electric lights that had just become available in the town. It 
was reported to the congregation that "20 electric lights could be 
had for $4 f)er month." The church agreed to pay for the installa- 
tion the following December. "Brother Joe Major, County 
Supervisor, reported that the courthouse yard would be cleaned 



79 



80 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



by the county hands, also the rooms, etc., of the courthouse/' A 
reading of the list of more than 175 homes where visitors to 
Annual Conference were to be housed reveals that many of 
Greenwood's non-Methodists agreed to provide both meals and a 
place for weary Methodists to find some rest. 

In preparation for this experience of hosting Annual 
Conference several committees were organized to expedite the 
plans. Church records give us the names of persons who served 
on four basic committees to plan for Annual Conference. 

Publishing Committee L.M. Moore, S.H. McGhee, 

G.S. Huiett, W.G. Gambrell, 

J.S. Chipley 
Committee on Lights W.G. Gambrell 

Canvassing Committee L.M. Moore, C.G. Waller, 

G.C. Hodges, P.L. Shicky, 

A.A. Morris 
Transportation Committee Kennedy, Hoke, J.F. Davis 

The Greenwood Index lists the members of a Committee on 
Reception: T.H. Walker, Chairman, H.G. Hartzog, W.A. Clyde, 
N.E. Jenkins, S.G. Major, P.L. Stucky, W.R Stackhouse, Dr. R.B. 
Epting, L.M. Moore, J.F. Davis, and C.G. Waller. The Index lists 
three more hard-working committees: a Conference Executive 
Committee, a Committee on Arrangements, and a Committee on 
Correspondence. Nowhere, however, are the members of these 
committees listed. 

As the time for Annual Conference drew near an interest- 
ing admission appeared in the records of the local Church 
Conference. Preparation for the entertainment of Annual 
Conference was consuming the attention of the leaders of 
Greenwood Methodism. Both the stewards and the pastor report- 
ed in November 1898 that they were "short on collections" 
because of their involvement in preparing for Annual 
Conference. This is a reminder that house-to-house solicitation 
was the way church funds were generally secured in local 



Harry R. Mays 81 



Methodist Churches at that time. The pastor visited members to 
solicit the money to pay the "assessments" sent down to the local 
church by the Annual Conference. These funds went to pay items 
such as the salaries of the bishop and the presiding elders as well 
as to pay for other items related to the general work of Southern 
Methodism in missions and education. The stewards visited the 
membership to secure funds to operate the local church. A month 
later, on December 4, the pastor and the stewards could report 
that they had been able to make sufficient visits so that the 
Greenwood Methodist Church could report to Annual 
Conference that everything was "paid in full." At that same 
Church Conference an impromptu collection was taken to "pay 
off the debt on the rolling partitions in the church and for several 
minor claims." 

The Greenwood Index for Thursday, December 1, 1898, 
reported, 'The Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, will meet in Greenwood next week. There will be 
in attendance probably 500 people from all parts of the State. It 
will be a gathering embracing some of the noblest and some of 
the most intellectual men of the country. Greenwood has never 
before undertaken to entertain so large a body or one more thor- 
oughly representative. But every one who attends the conference 
will be taken care of. A favorable opinion on both sides is pre- 
dicted as a general result of the meeting." The article details some 
of the preliminary work accomplished by the Greenwood 
Methodists and concludes, "all arrangements are the best possi- 
ble." 

One interesting feature of that Index article is a listing of 
the homes in and around Greenwood where the visitors would 
be housed. In addition, the housing arrangements of all expected 
visitors are listed, providing the names of Southern Methodism's 
leadership in South Carolina as well as the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, at the close of the nineteenth century. Moreover, 
one can read a listing of most of the community leaders of 
Greenwood at the same time. 

An editorial in that same issue of the Index helps us 



82 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



understand the excitement that permeated all of Greenwood and 
the importance with which the community viewed the arrival of 
these Methodists. ''Bankers, capitalists, lawyers, doctors, farmers, 
business men of all sorts, and a few hundred preachers, will be 
our visitors for a week. Let the town put on its best holiday attire 
and the people put on their best and most pleasant manners. 
Some of the biggest men of the whole Methodist Church and 
some of the best men of the world will be here. This is a big thing 
for Greenwood, a great opportunity for the town, and a source of 
gratification for us all." 

The following week the issue of the Index dated 
Thursday, December 8, 1898, had centered on the front page a 
most cordial greeting to the Methodist visitors: "Gentlemen of the 
Conference, you are welcome to Greenwood. To have you in our 
city is an era in our history." The message then commented on 
the fact that Greenwood was "a young town with a short 
history." To emphasize the recent growth of the city it was point- 
ed out that "houses are where com fields were recently," and that 
many of the streets had been "fit habitation for rabbits and par- 
tridges ten years ago." 

Although the majority of the Conference work was yet to 
come, the Index reported that "the 113th session of the South 
Carolina Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, convened in the Court House Wednesday morning." It 
was pointed out that the newly completed courthouse was select- 
ed as "the best place for the Conference to hold sessions," and 
that "the hall has been fitted with electric lights and other conve- 
niences. The first exercise was the singing of the hymn, 'And Are 
We Yet Alive,' the Bishop lining ouf the verses as is the confer- 
ence custom. The older people present were reminded of other 
days and of sainted workers in Zion." The writer observed that 
"the connection men appeared in full force," and he was glad to 
report that there was "a good attendance of interested specta- 
tors." It was observed that Bishop William Wallace Duncan, who 
was presiding, "is a tower of strength in Southern Methodism. He 
is an erudite, affable gentleman, a gifted orator and a thorough 



Harry R. Mays 83 



parliamentarian/' The report of the first day's conference activi- 
ties closed with the report that the local Methodist Reception and 
Transportation Committee "met all trains on which members 
came and sent them to their appointed places in little time." It 
was claimed that such efficiency was "just typical of what 
Greenwood can do!" 

The next issue of the Index was dated December 15, 1898, 
the day after Annual Conference was completed. The evaluation 
was that the session had been "routine but never dull. Some 
quite interesting debates and first class tilts were had." Four of 
the five columns on the front page of the newspaper dealt with a 
lengthy report on the activities; on an inside page a listing of all 
of the Methodist pastors' appointments for the state consumed 
half of that page. In retrospect the newspaper reporter observed, 
"The people of Greenwood are glad that the conference met here. 
They enjoyed the presence of so many consecrated, intelligent 
people and the numerous opportunities the occasion afforded." It 
was pointed out that "during the Conference people of this com- 
munity had the pleasure of hearing several eminent ministers. 
Large crowds of people attended each service." On the Sunday 
during the Annual Conference session visiting Methodist preach- 
ers had been in the pulpits of Greenwood's Baptist and 
Presbyterian Churches as well as in the pulpits of three Black 
congregations and at the Connie Maxwell Orphanage. 

The newspaper was especially fascinated by the experi- 
ence when Bishop Wallace "read the appointments for the 
preachers." Before reading the appointments "the Bishop gave a 
pointed lecture and then began the time honored process about 
9:30 PM Monday night, December 12th." At the close of the read- 
ing, "Everybody wanted to congratulate the man who got a snug 
berth and everybody felt sorry for the plodding brother who got 
the sand hill, swamp or mountain circuit." 

As the visitors left Greenwood the Index pointed out, 
"The facility with which the conference members got in and out 
of the city proves that this is the gate city to South Carolina." 
And the final evaluation noted, "It is gratifying to know that so 



84 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



large a group of people carried to all parts of the State a favorable 
opinion of the place and the people/' 

When the final reckoning was made some months after 
the conclusion of Annual Conference, the Reception Committee 
discovered that it had some funds on hand. The church confer- 
ence decided that this cash should be "turned over to the Ladies 
Parsonage Aid Society." 

There was one sad note to the closing of Annual 
Conference. Marion Dargan had been appointed to be the 
Presiding Elder of the Florence District and would soon be mov- 
ing from Greenwood. "Rev. Dargan has been an earnest preacher, 
a faithful pastor, an unexcelled organizer, and a tireless worker in 
every good cause," the newspaper declared. A few days later the 
same writer in the Index noted that "Mr. Dargan's final sermon 
was full of feeling. Greenwood evidently has a deep hold on him. 
The other ministers of the city were present, there being services 
in no other church. The Greenwood Methodist Church was 
crowded." It was added, in good Methodist style, that the newly 
appointed pastor of the Greenwood Methodist Church, R. A. 
Child, "is a man of distinguished abilities, considered one of the 
foremost preachers of the Conference. He is a native of 
Greenwood County. His appointment to this charge is gratifying 
to the people generally." 

At a Church Conference on Sunday, December 18, 1898, 
the congregation made its official farewell in a resolution that 
was passed unanimously expressing "great regret at the sever- 
ance of our connections with our beloved pastor. Reverend 
Marion Dargan, who has been sent to another field by the recent 
Conference." EM. Sheridan, Secretary of the Church Conference, 
records that "the pastor responded feelingly, thanking the church 
for their kindness and consideration." 

In Marion Dargan's biographical statement in Twentieth 
Century Sketches it is noted that "at Greenwood a large church 
debt was paid during his pastorate, and money for seating and 
furnishing the church was also raised. In addition, the children 
raised enough money to paint the church." 



Chapter 9 

Getting a College 



Greenwood Methodist Church's new pastor, Rufus 
Alexander Child, was bom in Old Cambridge near Star Fort at 
Ninety Six and was considered almost a hometown boy by the 
people of Greenwood. Educated at Richmond College, Virginia, 
he had, after college, first practiced law for two years in Pickens, 
South Carolina, and then edited the Pickens Sentinel for several 
years. He also served one term as a Representative in the 
Legislature of South Carolina. In 1883 he had become a member 
of the Pickens Methodist Church, six years later felt the call to 
preach, and became a member of the clergy in 1889. After his first 
wife's death he had married Maggie A. Roper of Marlboro 
County, South Carolina, who moved with him to Greenwood. 

At the beginning of 1898 one of the frustrations faced at 
the Greenwood Methodist Church, as the members basked in the 
afterglow of their recent accomplishments, was the obvious fact 
that something was badly wrong with the heating system in their 
new building. At the Church Conference on February 27, 1899, 
the "trustees were instructed to look after the condition of the 
heating apparatus of the church and to have the same repaired." 
The precise nature of the problem is never mentioned, but this 
was a problem that continued to irritate the congregation for sev- 
eral more years. In the meantime. Child had taken up the work 



85 



86 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



where Dargan had left it. During Child's first year the Sunday 
School enrollment passed two hundred scholars, and the congre- 
gation's membership reached 301 souls. Thus, in the decade of 
the ''gay nineties," the membership of the Greenwood Methodist 
Church had doubled and the Sunday School enrollment had 
more than doubled. 

The decade that began with the year 1890 may have been 
the most exciting ten years in the history of Greenwood for those 
who called it "home." A comparison of the census records shows 
that the population of Greenwood grew by an astonishing 275 
percent in that decade. Calling itself the 'Tearl of the Piedmont," 
Greenwood was the fortunate focus of considerable business and 
industrial activity. The textile industry, which began with the 
1889 efforts of William Lowndes Durst to organize what later 
would become the Greenwood Mills, was indicative of the cre- 
ative changes that would take place in the community. At about 
the same time Durst's brother, J.K. Durst, was organizing the 
Bank of Greenwood. Other banks soon developed, providing a 
sense of fiscal stability to the community and helping to establish 
the town as a regional financial center. By 1900 fourteen mail 
trains and twelve passenger trains provided "quick mails, quick 
express, and quick trips" far beyond the Piedmont. There was a 
telephone system in town and "a long distance telephone office." 
The electric light plant was already in operation when the 1898 
Annual Conference met in Greenwood, and an "extensive mod- 
em sewer system" and "as fine a water system as there is in the 
South" had been installed by the progressive town's people. The 
Greenwood Methodist Church felt that it was a significant part of 
that community growth and progress. 

In 1900 Greenwood Methodist Church received as its pas- 
tor PL. Kirton. Preston Lafayette Kirton was born in Horry 
County, South Carolina, in 1867. He entered the South Carolina 
Conference in 1886 and in 1889 married Lilla Lee O'Brien of 
Walterboro, South Carolina. Kirton officiated at the wedding of 
Emma Green, a member of the congregation, to B. Rhett 
Tumipseed on Thursday, March 8, 1900. Just 18 years later the 



Hariy R. Mays 87 



Tumipseeds would return to Greenwood when he was appointed 
pastor of then Main Street Qiurch. While Kirton was the pastor 
in Greenwood a son, Preston L., Junior, died. When Kirton 
received a new appointment after his second year at the 
Greenwood Church, it was a move of just three blocks down 
Cambridge Street to the Cokesbury District Parsonage as he 
l>ecame the Presiding Elder of that District. At the same time 
WA. Massebaugh became pastor of the Greenwood Church and 
was the first pastor to serve for the then disciplinary limit of four 
years. 

For all of its progress, one dream remained unfulfilled for 
the town of Greenwood. It was anxious to become the home of a 
college that it could call its own. During the time that the 1898 
Annual Conference met in Greenwood, the town's leaders had 
heard the news that the Columbia Female College, owned by the 
South Carolina Methodists, needed to relocate from downtown 
Columbia if the college was to prosper. This sixty-year-old 
Methodist effort to educate young ladies was situated on a small 
parcel of land in the business district of Columbia, and there was 
no adjacent land available at the site for needed expansion. The 
leadership of Greenwood recruited the cooperation of the 
Greenwood Methodist Church in a well-organized effort to con- 
vince South Carolina Methodism to move its Female College to a 
site in Greenwood. 

A committee of fourteen citizens of Greenwood, many of 
them not Methodists, was formed to develop plans to lure the 
college to Greenwood. C.A.C. Waller was the chairman, and J.B. 
Wharton was the secretary. Other committee members were R.A. 
Childs, A. Rosenberg, J.K. Durst, J.B. Park, R.B. Epting, D.C. 
DuPre, George C. Hodges, F.B. Grier, J.T. Simmons, R.P. Blake, 
S.R. Evans and J.L. Andrews. These men had prepared a plan 
that included the promise of a significant sum of money when, at 
the 1901 Annual Conference, a resolution was adopted establish- 
ing an Annual Conference Committee to receive sealed bids from 
the communities that might be interested in providing a new site 
for the Female College. 



88 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



According to the Journal of the 1902 Annual Conference 
session, the proposition which Greenwood presented contained 
the promise of "$42,960 guaranteed absolutely/' This was by far 
the most generous offer received; however, proponents of the 
causes of Columbia, Laurens, Sumter, and Lexington joined 
forces to raise the point that a new charter would be necessary if 
the college were to be moved from Columbia. Although this was 
a minor point to the Greenwood supporters, by a margin of 108 
to 106, a motion to allow the college to be moved failed. Since this 
was a procedural vote, an additional vote was taken on a resolu- 
tion "fixing the location of the College in Columbia" which was 
then adopted by a vote of 120 to 94. R.A. Childs, on behalf of 
Greenwood, moved to make the vote unanimous. C.C. 
Featherstone, on behalf of Laurens, seconded that motion, and it 
carried. 

The effort to bring the Methodists' Female College from 
Columbia to Greenwood may have been thwarted, but the 
Greenwood Committee decided to try elsewhere to find 
Greenwood a college it could call its own. The Williamston 
Female Academy had been offered by its owners to the Methodist 
Annual Conference, and the gift had been accepted by the 
Annual Conference in session in Greenwood in 1898. Afterward 
it was discovered that the acceptance of this offer, without the 
permission of the General Board of Education of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, was in violation of the Discipline of the 
Church. The offer was later duly approved in 1901, and the 
Williamston Female Academy became an official part of the high- 
er education system of the South Carolina Methodists. The 
Greenwood Committee turned to this Academy as a source for 
the much desired college for the community. 

The Williamston Female Academy had been organized by 
Doctor Samuel Lander while he was serving as the Methodist 
pastor at the small Piedmont town that gave its name to the 
Academy. Cooperating persons shared some of their wealth and 
became shareholders in the institution. It was these shareholders 
who, as the Board of Trustees of the Williamston Female 



Harry R. Mays 89 



Academy, offered their property to the Methodist Annual 
Conference and later to the city of Greenwood. C.A.C. Waller, 
president of the Board of Trustees, offered the institution to the 
Greenwood Committee contingent upon its being relocated in 
Greenwood. An agreement was reached very quickly between 
the Academy and the Greenwood Committee. On January 14, 
1903, it was agreed that a new corporation would be organized 
with C.A.C. Waller of Greenwood as President, Dr. Samuel 
Lander of Williamston as a Director, and the following additional 
Directors, all from Greenwood: J.B. Park, R.B. Epting, J.L. 
Andrews, R.P. Blake, A. Rosenberg, J.T. Medlock, and R.M. 
Hayes. 

Among the promises made by the Greenwood 
Committee was the gift of a plot of land "not to exceed fifteen 
acres" and the erection of a "modem, up-to-date building costing 
not less than twenty-five thousand dollars, of sufficient capacity 
to accommodate no less than one hundred students." They also 
agreed to "purchase the laboratory, library, college and house- 
hold furniture and furnishings, cabinet of minerals and fossils, 
musical instruments, shelving, cases, equipments, etc., of the pre- 
sent institution from the owner or owners, at four thousand dol- 
lars." The title would then be located, like the college, in 
Greenwood, to provide for the education primarily of girls, "but 
with the privilege, if desired, and the management so deter- 
mines, for boys also." How happy the Greenwood Methodists 
and their Greenwood friends were to know, through Methodist 
Annual Conference action, "that this conference is sincerely 
grateful to the City of Greenwood and the vicinity for the fine 
property tendered to this body for the use of the Williamston 
Female College, and hereby accepts the same on condition that 
the debt be paid in the next two years." 

Greenwood had its college! The next task was to prepare 
for the opening of the college by the fall of the 1904-1905 academ- 
ic year. Work at the site was quickly begun, and by early 
September 1904 the construction was completed. The last major 
chore was to tidy up the site in preparation for the arrival of stu- 



90 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



dents. At a church conference held September 11, 1904, ''It was 
suggested that the members of the church aid the authorities of 
the Williamston Female College in cleaning up the buildings and 
grounds preparatory to the opening of the college." A number of 
members of Greenwood Methodist Church volunteered their ser- 
vices or agreed ''to send help to the college on the following 
Tuesday." The congregation also learned that even with its new 
facilities in readiness, space might be needed for certain college 
activities. Therefore, "the president of the college. Dr. Willson, 
was invited to select such portions of the church as he deemed 
best for use of the students." The Greenwood Methodist Church 
was pleased to share in the establishment of their college. 

During the summer of 1904 Dr. Samuel Lander had unex- 
pectedly died. This led to a decision by the Board of Trustees to 
rename the Williamston Female College as Lander College. It was 
with understandable pride that Greenwood could report to the 
Annual Conference that "Lander College has had a very success- 
ful year. The enrollment for 1904-1905, the first year in 
Greenwood, reached the gratifying number of 158 in literary 
work, to which must be added 20 special students." Six students 
had been graduated, and improvements on the handsome new 
college building and grounds were being steadily made. 'The 
popularity of Lander College is evidenced by the full dormitory 
and recitation rooms. There is no canvass made for students 
because of the lack for room for more than had applied." The 
necessity of another dormitory was already obvious to the 
College and the church. 

The effort to obtain a college for Greenwood was dramat- 
ic, but the life of Greenwood Methodist Church continued with 
strength and vigor amid all of the community excitement. One of 
the congregation's continuing problems was their almost new 
building. From the first day that cold weather arrived the "heat- 
ing apparatus" was unable to function properly. At the church 
conference of February 27, 1899, it was obvious to the worship- 
pers that something needed to be done to repair the heating sys- 
tem permanently. There are continuing notations in the records 



Hariy R. Mays 91 



concerning problems and complaints relating to the inadequate 
heating system. For example, on July 21, 1901, it was noted that 
"Brother Davis reported that the bills to repair the furnace, 
amounting to $25 to $30, had been presented and asked that 
arrangements be made to pay it/' Six months later, on January 12, 
1902, the pastor was requested ''to appoint a committee of seven 
to look after needed improvements to the church and the parson- 
age." 

Eighteen months later the congregation was informed 
that "some improvements have been made at the parsonage — 
some new furniture has been bought and sewerage put in; the 
cost was about $206." The matter of solving the church heating 
problem, however, required more than some simple repairs. At 
the church conference of August 21, 1904, 'The Board of Trustees 
reported that it would require about $800 to put in a new heating 
apparatus." The Trustees were authorized to act. The Church 
Conference also instructed the Board of Trustees that "our archi- 
tect is to be employed to draw plans for the heating arrange- 
ments and draw plans for remodeling the church so that the heat- 
ing arrangements would not conflict with additions to the 
church." The congregation was already facing the fact that their 
seven-year-old building was becoming crowded by the growth of 
the congregation. The Sunday School, through the presence of the 
Lander College students as well as the new members, had grown 
beyond anyone's dreams when the building was erected. 

With obvious shock, on September 4, 1904, "The Trustees 
reported that they had the church examined by an architect and 
that it would be impractical to enlarge the church." This led to 
the congregational decision that the "matter of enlarging the 
church be indefinitely postponed; but the Trustees are authorized 
to go on with the heating apparatus and install the same at once." 
The contract for the installation of a replacement furnace was 
quickly let, and, for the first winter since the congregation had 
entered their new building, worshippers were comfortable in 
cold weather during the winter of 1904-1905. 

At the church conference of May 14, 1905, "Brother S.H. 



92 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



McGhee presented on behalf of the Board of Trustees a plan for 
enlarging the seating capacity of the church." There was the usual 
spirited discussion, and then "G.C. Hodges moved, Capt. RS. 
Evans, seconded, 'Resolved - that the church conference approves 
the plan of repairs recommended by the Board of Trustees; that 
we refer the whole matter for speedy execution, with the right to 
make additions and alterations as their judgement may dictate." 
With "almost unanimous" support of the congregation, the 
Trustees implemented the plans. The records do not spell out 
what was actually involved; however the need for extensive 
work on the 1897 building is a clear reminder that Greenwood 
and the Greenwood Methodist Church were developing faster 
than even far-sighted leaders could envision. 



Chapter 10 

Choosing a Name 



Music was vital to the worship life of the congregation, 
and in 1905 Mrs. J.T. Medlock was appointed as the chairman of a 
con\mittee "to see the membership of the church" and solicit 
funds to pay for a new piano that had been purchased. Her com- 
mittee was successful, for the debt was paid in full within a few 
weeks of the committee's appointment. The growth of the con- 
gregation had created another musical problem. There were not 
enough hymnals available for good congregational singing. After 
discussion of the matter, "It was moved and carried that each 
member be urged to secure a Hymn Book and that the Trustees 
be requested to provide a sufficient supply for visitors and 
strangers." This idea quickly proved impractical and was set 
aside. A new congregational decision instructed that a sufficient 
number of hymn lx)oks be purchased for the congregation and 
visitors. At the church conference of October 21, 1906, the stew- 
ards reported that one hundred hymn books for the use of the 
congregation were on order. They also recommended "that a 
committee of three be appointed to take charge of the choir. 
Brother Hodges then moved that a committee of three be 
appointed by the pastor to select a pianist and a Director of the 
choir; and the entire reorganization of the Choir be left to this 



93 



94 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



committee and these two officers/' This suggestion was accepted, 
and three weeks later the committee could state that 'Trofessor 
Curry of the Music Committee reported that Mrs. Olin Auld had 
been elected Pianist, and Miss Faas, Directress, and that the other 
members of the choir would be appointed and notified this 
week." Latter-day Methodists might not appreciate such struc- 
tured control of the church's life, but this was typical of the disci- 
plined life of the people called Methodists in past generations. 

The general appearance of the church edifice was a con- 
tinuing concern of the congregation. The church lot had been 
paved shortly after the completion of the building, and then a 
committee composed of Mrs. Auld, Mrs. Green, G.C. Hodges and 
P.L. Stucky was appointed "to investigate whether ivy, or some 
other vine, should be planted about the church." Upon favorable 
recommendation by this committee, a group of members joined 
together to complete the landscaping of the church grounds. 
Electric lights were still a novelty in 1901 when, "on motion of 
Brother F.S. Evans, the Board of Trustees were instructed to ascer- 
tain the cost of lighting the church with electric lights." This pop- 
ular move was quickly accomplished and the use of gas lighting 
was abandoned. To the congregation this was one more modem 
step taken by this forward moving group of Methodists. 

One of the suggestions to every congregation of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was that a library be devel- 
oped containing appropriate books to be loaned as a service both 
to church members and to the community. This would provide 
the proper literature to "stimulate the minds and hearts of the 
people." During much of the 1890s at the Cokesbury District 
Conferences the pastors and delegates from Greenwood 
Methodist Church had reported that they had not begun to devel- 
op the church library because of the building program in 
progress. With the occupancy of the new building in 1897, the 
congregation turned to this task with its usual vigor. At the 1900 
District Conference "Brother Hodges reported that the library 
had now been enlarged to 400 volumes." Considering the fact 
that community libraries were even then exceedingly rare, such 



Harry R. Mays 95 



an accumulation of good books was greatly appreciated by many 
in Greenwood who were not Methodists. 

Local church finances were operated in a very different 
manner at the turn of the twentieth century compared to prac- 
tices in the 1990s. When the Church Trustees needed loans to 
finance their work, they turned to various sources including 
banks, wealthy members, and other persons of wealth in the 
community. A special source was the General Board of Church 
Extension in Nashville, Tennessee, at the headquarters of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South. This Board provided loan 
funds especially for congregations with church building projects. 
In the construction of the building in 1897, and again in the 
building completed in 1918, some Church Extension loan funds 
were utilized. From time to time the question would be raised at 
a Church Conference, ''How much do we owe?" At one time a 
special committee composed of J.S. Chipley, H.M. Graham, and 
J.G. Jenkins "was appointed to ascertain just how much the 
church owes." That time the committee reported that the church 
had "floating loans" amounting to three thousand dollars, which 
the congregation immediately set about to eliminate. 

One of the common methods to raise special church funds 
was to have a congregational meeting at which time the special 
need would be explained to those present. Then the lay leader 
would ask for volunteers who would give specific amounts of 
money. As persons responded to the plea, the sums pledged 
would become increasingly smaller. After everyone present had 
made some promise, the Stewards would then be delegated to 
visit those absent to receive their pledges. In this way money was 
raised to pay various debts incurred in the operation of the 
church. The most popular method of local church financing, how- 
ever, was the assessment system already mentioned. Usually 
someone like J.T. Medlock or later W.H. Nicholson would be 
recorded as having read out the assessments to the membership 
at the congregational meeting. In this way everyone in the con- 
gregation knew a great deal about the financial affairs of the 
church and the generosity or lack of generosity of individuals and 



96 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



families. Those who had not paid their assessments were remind- 
ed in a congregational meeting of their delinquency! 

All of this very open and very demanding financial plan- 
ning was a part of Methodism that had grown up with the 
denomination as its membership moved into the twentieth centu- 
ry. On Sunday, January 9, 1911, the stewards announced that, 
instead of the public announcement of the annual individual 
assessments, the membership would receive their notification by 
mail. With that announcement the whole fiscal program of the 
congregation began to move away from the time-honored meth- 
ods that had been acceptable to Methodists for so many decades 
in the past. The use of the individual offering envelope had been 
accepted for Sunday-by-Sunday contributions early in the twenti- 
eth century, and now more and more of the financial affairs of 
individuals became increasingly the knowledge of smaller and 
smaller numbers of the congregation's membership. 

Older members of the congregation in 1991 still remem- 
ber how, in the days of the Great Depression, the Stewards often 
made house-to-house calls among the membership in an effort to 
raise funds for the church when the congregational response fell 
short of the needs of the church's activities. 

One of the matters that seems to have concerned the pas- 
tors far more than the congregation was that, as the Greenwood 
Methodist Church moved into the twentieth century, it "had 
never been named." The name "Greenwood Methodist Church" 
did not seem to satisfy the pastors. This had been mentioned in 
the 1890s but nothing ever came of the matter. In 1901 P. L. Kirton 
"called attention to the fact that the church had never been 
named." A committee was to be appointed to suggest a name for 
the congregation, but no action ever developed from this effort. 
Finally, on Sunday, February 11, 1906, W. A. Kelly, the pastor, 
"called attention to the fact that the church had no name." After a 
general discussion at the day's church conference, a committee 
was appointed to make suggestions. Dr. James O. Willson, 
President of Lander College, George C. Hodges, James Davis, 
Mrs. R.B. Epting and Mrs. F.M. Sheridan were asked to compile a 



Harry R. Mays 97 



list of possible names for the church. On March 4, 1906, 'T)r. 
Willson reported that the committee suggested the following 
names from which the church could make a selection: First 
Methodist Church, Main Street Methodist Church, Stephen Olin 
Methodist Church, Grace Methodist Church, and Epworth 
Methodist Church/' The committee suggested that a selection be 
made the next Sunday by ballot, dropping the lowest after each 
ballot until a name was selected. This plan was approved. 

Some explanations are necessary concerning the suggest- 
ed names. The first building occupied by Greenwood Methodist 
Church had been located on the street originally known as 
"Broadway." That street was later renamed "Main" Street and 
after that "Church" Street. Finally the name "Cambridge" Street 
was selected. In the meantime the name "Main Street" had been 
applied to the downtown street that encompassed the railroad 
station and the business area that grew up around this installa- 
tion. A small street originally named "Logan" Street that ran 
between the Methodist and Presbyterian Church properties was 
renamed as a part of Main Street. 

The suggestion of the name "Stephen Olin" Church rec- 
ognized a man who was especially active in the early work of the 
Tabernacle School from 1820 to January 1824. Olin had then 
entered the traveling ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church 
and served a distinguished career as pastor, educator, and church 
leader. For some years he was president of Wesleyan College in 
Connecticut. That the name "Stephen Olin" was included in the 
list a half century after his death and more than seventy years 
after he had moved away from South Carolina indicates the 
appreciation still held for the man's influence in the Greenwood 
area. 

The suggestion of the name "Epworth" harked back to 
the small English village where the family of John Wesley lived 
during his childhood and youth. Methodists have always had a 
warm spot in their hearts for this precious site in the life of the 
denomination's spiritual father. 

On Sunday, March 11, 1906, the congregation of the 



98 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Greenwood Methodist Church, by standing votes, balloted on the 
five suggested names. The final ballot resulted in the selection of 
the name "Main Street Methodist Church/' By resolution that 
name was then made unanimous, and so, after forty-eight years, 
the congregation had officially selected a name. 

In the spring of 1907 Kelly brought to the attention of the 
congregation the possibility of supporting a "Foreign Pastor in 
Cuba or somewhere else." This suggestion captured the imagina- 
tion of the men of the congregation who had watched the grow- 
ing international awareness of the women of the church through 
the Women's Foreign Missionary Society. A committee of the men 
of the church made a study and suggested that "the male mem- 
bers of the church assume the support of a Foreign Pastor in 
Cuba, the selection of this pastor to be left to Bishop Candler." 
They suggested that a committee of seven men be appointed "to 
devise ways and means to raise funds for this purpose." The 
committee was appointed and quickly raised the necessary $750, 
and a delighted Bishop Asa Candler appointed the Reverend 
Lancaster, an American pastor serving in Cuba, to be the 
"Foreign Pastor of Main Street Church." This joyful relationship 
was to last for several years, and at least once, in September 1908, 
"our Cuban Pastor" visited the church. 

As late as the 1890s the pastors could report that ninety 
percent of the Greenwood Methodists would be present to 
receive the Sacrament of Holy Communion. A decade later the 
general attitude toward the Sacrament had begun to change. In 
the autumn of 1909, for example, a committee was appointed "to 
look into the cost of an individual communion set." The tradi- 
tional use of the common cup during the Sacrament of Holy 
Communion was becoming less acceptable to Southern 
Methodists. By the following January a recommendation was 
made that the church purchase the individual communion set, 
but some were not quite ready for this dramatic change. A month 
later, however, on Sunday, February 20, 1910, the opposition to 
the idea had been overcome, and the church voted to purchase an 
individual communion set. Eight months later "it was decided to 



Harry R.Mays 99 



hold Communion Services each Quarter instead of monthly/' By 
this act the church began a definite move away from an increas- 
ing number of traditions precious to past generations of church 
members. 

An action of the Church Conference of August 23, 1908, 
was indicative of another change in outlook in Southern 
Methodism. The local churches were becoming more highly orga- 
nized, and it was on that date that a group of men was elected 
"to work on the Laymen's Movement." The men selected were 
G.C. Hodges, Lay Leader, W.H. Nicholson, P.L. Sturkey, H.S. 
Morehead, J.B. Wharton, F.S. Evans, G.W. Hart and F.F. Wright. 
This movement was organized to promote "a closer alignment of 
the men of the Church with the missionary advance of the day." 
This interest in the mission work of the Church had a dual focus 
on the foreign and home mission fields. 



Chapter 11 

Another New Building 



As Greenwood became increasingly urbanized, the con- 
gregation realized that the problems of urbanization were begin- 
ning to appear in the growing community. The developing vil- 
lages associated with the textile industry created a need that the 
church leadership recognized as crucial. The Southern Christian 
Advocate reported that at a district meeting of the Woman's Home 
Missionary Society held at Main Street Church, May 13-15, 1910, 
"the magnitude and importance of the work of home missions" 
was stressed. One particularly important paper was read by Mrs. 
C. A. Deadwyler on the subject 'The Mill in My Town." After this 
paper was heard, "the Greenwood Auxiliary began to plan for a 
kindergarten at the Grendel Mill in their town. This is a great 
need that is felt in every cotton mill town in South Carolina." In 
modern terminology this was more properly a day care program 
rather than an actual kindergarten. The program begun by the 
Main Street Woman's Home Missionary Society lasted into the 
early 1930s. 

At this district meeting W. C. Kelly, a pastor from 
Newberry, had spoken on "Our Deaconess Work" and had 
"made it very plain that the deaconess and city missionary 
[workers] are an invaluable aid to the pastor in the mill town, 
city, and rural charges." After Kelly's presentation "a memorial to 



100 



Harry R. Mays 101 



the Laymen's Movement to provide funds for the maintenance of 
deaconesses in [the] Cokesbury District was presented by Mrs. J. 
W. Kilgo/' and the conference quickly passed it. This action helps 
us understand some of the background for an exciting develop- 
ment at the Church Conference on October 16, 1910. "Mr. 
Nicholson, leader of the Laymen's Committee, reported that the 
Committee recommended the employment of a deaconess to 
assist the pastor and the Committee on Home Mission Work with 
special reference to the Factory work." The pastor, J.W. Kilgo, 
then explained the work of the deaconess to the congregation. 
Everyone was enthusiastic in their support of the proposal. 
Several "mill villages" had been built around the outskirts of 
Greenwood to house the "factory operatives" of the city's grow- 
ing textile industry These people were often in need of various 
forms of assistance which the Woman's Home Missionary Society 
sought to provide. The proposal was that the money to support 
the deaconess project be turned over to the women and that this 
work be under their supervision. 

Organized in 1905, the deaconess work of Southern 
Methodism was composed of a small corps of trained, dedicated, 
and highly motivated women who served in communities, with- 
out pay, assisting in extending the helping arm of the Church in 
every way possible. The men pledged themselves to raise money 
to begin the project at the Laymen's meeting the next Sunday. 
Soon the congregation's request was formally forwarded to the 
Woman's Board of Home Missions in Nashville, Tennessee. It 
was not until a year later, however, that the Board of Home 
Missions could provide a deaconess to work in Greenwood. 

The deaconess who arrived in Greenwood to work 
among the needy was Miss Lucy Epps, a native of nearby 
Laurens, South Carolina. It was announced that "the church 
would be expected to raise about $40 per month to cover her 
expenses." On her first Sunday in Greenwood Miss Epps 
addressed the congregation at the evening service. This was 
another break with tradition as a woman stood at the pulpit to 
speak to the church! The Woman's Home Missionary Society had 



102 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



assumed the responsibility for providing the $40 per month 
which covered Miss Epps' room and board at the home of a 
church member and provided the money Miss Epps needed for 
the simplest necessities- Like all of the deaconesses of that era. 
Miss Epps wore a uniform that consisted of an ankle-length black 
dress and a bonnet made of the same cloth. For several years 
Miss Epps served in Greenwood and then was replaced by a Miss 
Hudson. It was not until the start of World War I in 1917 that the 
work of the deaconess was concluded in Greenwood. 

As Greenwood grew, both as a railroad center and a tex- 
tile manufacturing community, increasing demands were made 
upon the churches to respond to human needs. As early as 1893 
came the recognition that, with Greenwood's growth as a railroad 
hub, there was a steady increase in the vagrant population that 
drifted through town with the passage of railroad trains. 
Residents complained that these hobos were to be found wander- 
ing all over town in search of food and other assistance. The 
Greenwood Methodists assigned to the Woman's Home 
Missionary Society the task of helping these and all other needy 
{persons. Some of the women of the church could frequently be 
seen visiting in the mill villages to discover needs; the ladies also 
visited in those other sections of town where people had moved 
from the farms nearby in search of steady work at one of the 
town's industries. This activity meant that the Woman's Home 
Missionary Society had to become well organized to offer assis- 
tance with food, clothing, wood, and coal and even some medical 
supplies. This work continued unabated even with the arrival of 
the deaconess who actually enabled the Home Missionary Society 
to discover more and more needy families. 

The sight of the "Methodist helping woman," as Miss 
Epps was known among the needy, was quickly accepted in the 
homes of those living in the mill villages and in other low cost 
rental areas of Greenwood. Help was offered not only with physi- 
cal needs but also with the spiritual needs and with some of what 
would be known today as counseling. These were the times of ten 
and twelve-hour work days, and the labor of small children as 



Harry R. Mays 103 



young as eight years of age was not unusual in the mills and fac- 
tories. One can only marvel now at the breadth of the challenges 
the deaconess and the Home Missionary Society faced. 

The work of the Home Missionary Society received the 
approval of the Greenwood business and industrial community, 
and Miss Epps received hearty support both personally and 
financially from these community leaders. Those who lived in 
downtown Greenwood recognized the human needs that sur- 
rounded them, but few seemed spiritually equipped to move into 
those homes to bring assistance with dignity and compassion. 
That the members of the Woman's Home Missionary Society 
were so effective was a fact that many in the community spoke of 
with sincere appreciation. Surely some of the credit for the good 
human relations that Greenwood bragged about existing must 
have come from the work of the deaconess program and the 
activities of the Home Missionary Society. 

Christian education, especially through the Sunday 
School, took on increasing importance in the life of Greenwood 
Methodists as they entered the twentieth century. The building 
occupied in 1897 contained what was in its day a most generous 
space for the Sunday School. As the concepts of Sunday School 
teaching began to change dramatically, however, especially in the 
education of children and youth, the ideal situation called for 
individual rooms for classes divided by varying age groups. 
Since it was impossible to provide the needed separate rooms in 
the facility available, it was decided to achieve some separation 
by the use of a complex system of curtains. This did nothing to 
control the noise, according to those who still recall those cur- 
tained Sunday School cubicles; however, it did enable the teacher 
to work with a minimum of interruption from distracting move- 
ments outside the class area. This plan certainly must have been 
successful, for James A. Kilgo announced at the First Quarterly 
Conference for 1913 that "our Sunday School attained such a 
degree of excellence the past year that the Sunday School Board 
of the Conference ranked it with the five others worthy of special 
mention. The School is well organized, doing good work, and we 



104 Histon/ of Main Street United Methodist Church 



confidently expect greater results/' The clue to such success was 
the excellent corps of teachers. The teachers, mostly women 
according to Kilgo, prepared themselves extensively through 
training opportunities in Columbia by the Sunday School Board 
of the Conference, and the records show that the teachers also 
took advantage of the increasing programs available during the 
summer at Lake Junaluska, North Carolina. There the Southern 
Methodists were developing a center for training and spiritual 
growth. 

Indicative of the growing pains of the church's Sunday 
School program was the decision of the men's Wesley Class to 
erect a tent "back of the church so that this large and interesting 
class may be accommodated." At the Third Quarterly 
Conference of 1913 the announcement was made that the tent 
would be dedicated the next Sunday. As the pastor, L.P. McGee, 
observed in February 1914, 'The Church School is doing good 
under the circumstances." He pointed out the fine work being 
done in the educational area but declared that with a new church 
building and "modem equipment" the work could be done more 
effectively. 

In his History of South Carolina United Methodism Archie 
Vernon Huff, Jr., points out how easily church life can become 
politicized. This is most frequently recognized at the larger geo- 
graphical levels of church organizations. During the second 
decade of the twentieth century power struggles and acrimonious 
disputes developed between the up-country and the low-country 
of the state in Annual Conference affairs. So bitter was the contro- 
versy that in 1915 the Methodists of South Carolina formed the 
Upper South Carolina Conference and the South Carolina 
Conference. The dividing line ran generally from the southern 
boundary of Aiken County eastward just south of Columbia, then 
north of Camden and east of the Lancaster County line where it 
separates that county from Chesterfield County. In the newly 
organized Upper South Carolina Conference George C. Hodges 
was elected the Conference Lay Leader. 

Soon after Lander College began operation, the church 



Hany R. Mays 105 



had decided to operate a second Sunday School on the campus. 
This necessitated a dual set of top leaders, as is indicated by the 
announcement in 1915, for example, that W.H. Nicholson was 
Sunday School Superintendent and C.C. Featherstone his 
Assistant at the Main Street Church location while Dr. John O. 
Willson was Sunday School Superintendent and the Reverend 
R.O. Lawton his Assistant at the Lander College location. This 
dual Sunday School arrangement was necessary until a new 
building was erected and occupied in 1918. Such chaotic condi- 
tions were a challenge to the leadership of Main Street Church; 
however, their creativity and dedication always seemed to find 
solutions that might have deterred other congregations. The lead- 
ership appears to have been open always to the best ideas avail- 
able. For example, a Workers Council for the Sunday School was 
functioning in 1917, thus affording coordination among all of 
those from all age levels and interests in the educational pro- 
gram. The Sunday School was "organized and graded according 
to the highest standards of Southern Methodism" despite the dif- 
ficulties of a split site for the church's Sunday School and the less 
than ideal housing in the church building. 

It had been increasingly evident within a very few 
months after its occupancy in 1897 that the church building just 
completed was too small. Frustration with themselves as a con- 
gregation arose when no possible solution was discovered to 
enlarge or even practically alter the almost new building. Those 
who worshiped there at the corner of Main and Cambridge 
Streets knew that they must plan for a new and larger building 
far sooner than the congregation had anticipated that joyous day 
in 1897 when the building was occupied. At the Third Quarterly 
Conference, August 5, 1914, it was noted that "the Building 
Committee appointed by the pastor for our new church was read 
and approved by the Quarterly Conference." Members of the 
Committee were S.H. McGee, Chairman, G.W. Hart, Secretary- 
Treasurer, Dr. J.C. Harper, J.T Medlock, C.C. Featherstone, G.C. 
Hodges, Jr., A.C. Steadman, W.H. Nicholson, M.S. Chipley, H.A. 
Anderson and C.C. Wharton. Main Street Church could no 



106 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



longer delay the inevitable new building program. 

Over the next several months the Building Committee 
interviewed architects and finally selected H.H. Harrell of 
Bennettsville, South Carolina, to design the new church building. 
(A frequently cited local legend is that Harrell's Tudor Gothic 
design was based upon buildings he had studied in the English 
countryside. The legend is false; Harrell's wife points out that her 
husband never traveled outside the United States.) After the sum- 
mer of 1916 the general plans had been seen and approved by the 
congregation, and at a called Quarterly Conference on October 
19, 1916, the following was unanimously adopted: 'That the 
Trustees of Main Street Methodist Church, South, at Greenwood, 
S.C., or a majority of them, be and are hereby authorized and 
empowered to borrow the sum of Five Thousand ($5,000) dollars, 
and to execute a mortgage on the parsonage lot to secure pay- 
ment of the same." 

Now planning began in earnest, and by the next March 
the pastor could report to the Second Quarterly Conference, "The 
new church building is soon to be commenced." At the same time 
a committee consisting of Dr. John O. Willson, L.P. McGee, 
George C. Hodges and J.T. Medlock was appointed to prepare the 
articles to go into the cornerstone of the new church. Soon after 
this the time came to demolish the now obsolete building then 
just twenty years old. Congregational activities were moved to 
the Magnolia School where both Sunday School and Worship 
Services were conducted for the next eighteen months. The gener- 
al contractor for the construction was George L. Rounds, whose 
local company had an excellent reputation for workmanship. 

Church records for this period are scant; however one 
story from the construction period was confirmed in 1988. The 
plans developed by Harrell called for the church interior to have 
an altar-centered arrangement in keeping with the Gothic style. 
Instead of a central pulpit there would be both a pulpit and a 
lectern. The choir would be divided and facing an aisle leading to 
a centered altar standing against the back wall of the sanctuary. 
The woodwork surrounding the choir has always hinted at this 



Hany R. Mays 



107 




Third building of Main Street United Methodist Church. 
(Artist: Virginia Wiggins) 

possibility. The story goes that in early 1918 the congregation 
became aware that the pulpit would not be centered and this led 
to considerable acrimonious controversy. Apparently the solution 
to the controversy came after the congregation was invited to 
come one day, inspect the finish work that had already begun to 
take shape in the sanctuary, and then decide which way the final 
work would be developed. After a "noisy meeting," as one who 
was present described the session, the decision was made to com- 
plete the choir area with a pulpit at the center as it has appeared 
since the building has been in use. In 1988, while the organ con- 
sole was being relocated and some minor changes made in the 
choir's seating arrangement, C.J. Lupo, Jr., the pastor at that time, 
was able to examine the long hidden evidence that confirmed 
that the plans for the sanctuary area were altered in the midst of 
construction. This confirmation helped many understand the 
arrangement of the beautiful woodwork that surrounds the choir. 



108 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Construction during World War I was not easily accom- 
plished. The contractor could not obtain material at any steady or 
dependable rate. As a consequence, the pace of construction 
appeared to move very slowly for those anxious to leave behind 
Magnolia School and 'liave our own church again." Finally at the 
Fourth Quarterly Conference, Monday, November 11, 1918, the 
new pastor, B. Rhett Tumipseed, could declare, "We are planning 
to enter our new church next Sunday." The detail work was not 
all complete, the landscaping had not begun, and some other 
minor work was incomplete. However, the 725 members must 
have agreed with their leaders that this decision to move into the 
new building was wonderful and could not have been more time- 

The Index-Journal reported, 'The Church Building is one 
of the handsomest in the State, and it was pointed out that the 
cost is in excess of $70,000 and had required considerably more 
than a year to construct." The building that day "was crowded to 
overflowing," and the newspaper account added, "The new 
building is noted for its great Sunday School facilities, something 
which the former facility entirely lacked and the Sunday School 
officers are delighted over the change." According to the newspa- 
per the following was the order of worship used that day, 
Sunday, November 16, 1918: 

Etoxology 
Opening Chorus 

Hymn No. 78, "Holy, Holy, Hoi/' 
The Apostles Creed 
Prayer 
Chorus 

Responsive Reading, Psalm 84 
Gloria Patri 
New Testament Lesson 
Announcements 

Offertory: "The Lord Is My Shepherd" 

Mrs. McLaughlin 



Harry R. Mays 109 



Hymn No. 208, '1 Love Thy Kingdom, Lord" 

Sermon by Rev. B. Rhett Tumipseed 

Prayer 

Hymn No. 180, "All Hail the Power of Jesus' Name" 

Benediction 

According to the newspaper there were two soloists: Miss Agnes 
Alexander and Mrs. Louise McLaughlin. 

There were two significant reasons for thanksgiving that 
Sunday. The congregation was most grateful that World War I 
had ended and that they were using their new building for the 
first time. Surely God's mercy and love was felt in special ways 
that day. It is no wonder that the pastor could declare, "We 
believe that we are on the very eve of a great Religious 
Awakening." 

Not everything that happens at church is serious and 
somber. As any child is aware, amusing incidents during a wor- 
ship service can become uncontrollably hilarious. Soon after the 
new sanctuary was opened for use, one who was a child at the 
time recalls an unforgettable comic moment. An especially over- 
weight man arrived just as the worship service was to begin. He 
moved up one of the side aisles seeking an empty space where 
his portly body could be seated. He discovered a place on a pew 
that ends against one of the huge pillars. As he attempted to 
enter through the narrow space between the back of the next pew 
and the pillar, he found himself stuck. He could not extricate 
himself. Adding to his consternation was the realization that 
many in the congregation were watching the spectacle. Finally 
two ushers saw his plight and came to his rescue. One usher 
entered the pew from the center aisle to push the man while the 
other usher pulled at the man from the side aisle. With their com- 
bined effort the fat man was released. Many a child giggled and 
whispered about that scene. Seventy years later the retelling of 
the incident brings peals of laughter from anyone who remem- 
bers that special moment. 



Chapter 12 

Post War Woes 



Since the new building was not completed, the congrega- 
tion for several months had to deal with the presence of carpen- 
ters and painters working to finish the building project. Certain 
materials, not available in the wartime months, now became 
available. The climax came when the Organ Committee, com- 
posed of O.M. Tally, Chairman, W.H. Nicholson, C.C. Wharton 
and George Hart, reported that the pipe organ had been shipped. 
This good news was reported in the Southern Christian Advocate of 
January 23, 1919. The instrument had two manuals, incorporated 
pneumatic action, and "would cost about $5,000." The front or 
show pipes were the first to arrive to be installed. Built by the 
C.E. Morey Company of Ithaca, New York, the organ was 
installed before the summer and had been paid for by July 10, 
1919. 

With a continually growing membership, the congrega- 
tion found itself in need of careful organization in order to pro- 
vide better pastoral oversight. The pastor, B. Rhett Turnipseed, 
reported to the First Quarterly Conference of 1919 that there had 
been "a division of the membership according to territory, each 
division in charge of an appointed leader." This plan was report- 
ed to be working well. The Sunday School "was handicapped 
and disorganized owing to illness among teachers and pupils." 



110 



Harry R.Mays 111 



This is a hint of the lingering result of the influenza outbreaks 
that ravaged Greenwood and the whole world at that time. 
Nevertheless, Tumipseed could earnestly assure everyone that 
the congregation '1\as 'gone over the top' in our effort to reduce 
the debt on the new building. The pastor has never witnessed a 
greater manifestation of the Holy Spirit's presence." 

The church was continuing to support various mission 
needs in farflung locations around the world. A new church 
under construction in Brazil received a gift of $150; Armenian 
Relief was given $600, recognizing the horrors encountered by 
this small ethnic group in the Near East who were under terrible 
persecution from their neighbors, the Turks. The plight of French 
children orphaned by the recently ended Great War was remem- 
bered with gifts totaling $251.83. These mission gifts were special 
offerings of just the first quarter of the Conference Year of 1919. 

As an outgrowth of 1918 General Conference action, a 
Centenary Fund had been established to seek money to strength- 
en Southern Methodism's universities and colleges and to under- 
gird the mission program both national and foreign. The money 
was to be contributed over several years. Each congregation was 
expected to seek generous gifts and subscriptions. The total 
promised and contributed by the members of Main Street Church 
was an amazing $47,517. This sum was in addition to the pay- 
ment to reduce the church's building debt and its normal operat- 
ing budget. 

By the fall of 1919 the church leadership looked back 
upon an exciting and fruitful twelve months. The two Sunday 
Schools were organized "according to modern methods." 
Enrollment for the Sunday School continued to rise with the con- 
gregational membership's increase. "Some of our young people 
attended the Standard Training School held at Lander College" 
during the summer "and received Certificates of Credit. Some of 
our teachers have been in attendance upon the Junaluska 
School," Tunupseed reported. 

As the year closed Dr. John O. Willson, President of 
Lander College, proposed the following resolution to the Fourth 



112 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Quarterly Conference that was unanimously adopted: 'The 
Quarterly Conference of Main Street Methodist Church, South, is 
so grateful to our gracious Father for His mercies to our congre- 
gation that it hereby records our humble, sincere Thanksgiving to 
Him who has so kindly dealt with us during the year 1919. He 
has taken few from our midst. He has met us in our assemblies 
and poured His Spirit upon us. He has been full of compassion 
and Idndness in all ways all of the year." 

Main Street Church was host to Annual Conference for a 
second time when Bishop U.V.W. Darlington presided over the 
session that began on Tuesday, November 5, 1919, in Greenwood. 
The Index-Journal, in reporting on the Conference, declared 
"Methodism has no meeting house that excels the one in 
Greenwood in magnificence." Welcome to the Conference mem- 
bers was given by C.C. Featherstone on behalf of the congrega- 
tion, while Dr. John O. Willson, Lander College President, spoke 
for that institution. Among the items presented for consideration 
to the Annual Conference was a request by C.A.C. Waller and B. 
Rhett Tumipseed, both members of the Lander College Board of 
Trustees, asking that the churches aid the college in a planned 
expansion program. There was a pressing need for an additional 
dormitory as well as an administration building. The Chamber of 
Commerce of Greenwood had already raised $20,000 of the need- 
ed $60,000. During the Conference there was one nostalgic 
moment when W.A. Massebaugh, pastor of Main Street Church 
from 1902 to 1905, delivered the historical address. Compared to 
the excitement generated in Greenwood by the Annual 
Conference session of two decades earlier, one receives the clear 
impression that the city and the church both felt that a level of 
sophistication had been reached, and such meetings were no 
more than routine happenings for the city and the church. 

At the First Quarterly Conference of 1920 Turnipseed 
reported that the membership had reached 831 persons, and that 
same number was enrolled in the Sunday School. Special mission 
gifts indicated a continued widespread interest on the part of the 
congregation. Gifts were made to needs such as Armenian Relief 



Harry R.Mays 113 



and the growing needs of French orphans resulting from the 
Great War. The Textile Industrial Institute (which later would 
become Spartanburg Methodist College) received funds to assist 
in its program designed to enable youth from various "mill vil- 
lages" to receive training that would "open to them new horizons 
of opportunity." The Door of Hope, a home for unwed mothers 
located in Columbia, South Carolina, also received a congrega- 
tional gift. 

With its new facilities the congregation began to explore 
ways to use the building more efficiently in its weekly program- 
ing. "We have organized a training class for our officers and 
teachers of the Sunday School to meet weekly on Wednesday 
evening after the Prayer Meeting Service," the pastor reported to 
the Second Quarterly Conference. Later he added that "the 
church paid the way for a number of delegates to the State 
Epworth League Conference in Columbia," as the church encour- 
aged its youth to participate in such training programs beyond 
the local church. During December of 1920 Main Street Church 
hosted a special time for teacher training that brought significant 
out-of-town leaders to Greenwood, and this training was made 
available to all Methodist congregations in the nearby communi- 
ties. The future appeared especially bright for Main Street 
Church. 

A special expression of this newfound excitement was 
indicated in an item from the Southern Christian Advocate with a 
dateline of Greenwood, November 18, 1920. "Main Street 
Methodist Church has bought a handsome new Chalmers 
Touring Car for the use of the pastor. The car will be a part of the 
equipment of the parsonage. Rev. B. Rhett Tumipseed will be the 
one to christen the car and get the first year's use of it, and then it 
will be ready for the pastor-in-charge who succeeds him." 

The year 1921 proved to be the first of several years when 
Greenwood's economy, then tied closely to cotton farming and 
cotton fabrication, encountered challenging difficulties. At the 
Church Conference of February 12, 1922, "Brother Marvin 
Chipley stated that church finances were in bad shape and they 



114 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 




The waiting pews and the open door 
And joy in the dear Church Home once more. 
We are starting again on our service true, 
Andof course, dear friend, we are wanting you. 

Invitation to Revival Services and 
Homecoming Day in 1919. 

were without funds to meet current expenses. Bro. Joe Wharton, 
Treasurer of the Board of Stewards, also reported the same." Such 
a message was strange and new to the membership of the church, 
for the economic trends for the past quarter century had all been 
positive in and around Greenwood. 

This would prove to be the beginning of almost two 
decades of intense fiscal maneuvering to keep the church finan- 
cially solvent. At a Church Conference Sunday, November 19, 
1922, it was reported to the congregation that a note for $1,000 
with the Board of Church Extension of the Methodist Episcopal 



Harry R.Mays 115 



Church, South, was past due. "C.C. Featherstone and W.H. 
Nicholson made short talks immediately after which $1,032.50 
was subscribed to take care of the note." It is almost impossible 
from the information available to follow the many efforts on the 
part of the church's leadership in their sincere and often desper- 
ate efforts to satisfy the church's creditors. 

At a called Quarterly Conference on February 14, 1923, 
the Trustees were "authorized to negotiate a $20,000 loan with 
the Board of Church Extension to consolidate church indebted- 
ness." Two months later, at a Church Conference on Sunday, 
April 8, 1923, it was reported that "the budget called for about 
$13,000 while only about $8,000 had been pledged." Financial 
matters became so bad in Greenwood that on July 5, 1923, 1.B. 
Taylor loaned the church $1,500 to ward off creditors; over the 
next ten years the church could afford to pay only the interest 
due on this particular loan. In August 1923 an additional $5,000 
loan was received from the Board of Church Extension; the 
Trustees who negotiated this loan were H.G. Hartzog, S.H. 
McGhee, W.J. Moore, H.S. Morehead, G.C. Hodges, J.F. Davis, 
J.G. Jenkins, T.L. Taylor and A.P. Stockman. This particular note 
was satisfied February 18, 1930. 

Despite such desperate financial times in Greenwood, the 
Centenary Fund gifts had already amounted to $17,461.35 by 
October 1923. At a Church Conference on Sunday, October 21, 
1923, '7udge Featherstone made an earnest appeal to the mem- 
bers to pay up their assessments in full so that we could go to 
Conference, as heretofore, with a clean sheet." 

Lest it appear that the financial problems of Main Street 
Church were due to internal problems among congregational 
members, consider this from The Character of Quality: The Story of 
Greenwood Mills: "The post World War I economy was so chaotic 
that by 1920 the textile industry in particular was faced with a 
crisis." Out of that experience James C. Self, Sr., declared, "I 
believe that this was the worst time in my experience. I some- 
times thought we would have to close." With that evaluation 
from Greenwood's industrial leader, it is understandable why the 



116 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



church was facing fiscal difficulty. 

As the pastor, F.E. Dibble, departed for the 1924 session of 
Annual Conference, he boldly asserted that the immediate future 
promised better days. The Sunday School at Lander College 
numbered 205, while the Sunday School at the church had 960 
scholars. The 190 members of the Woman's Missionary Society 
had raised $1^42.50 for many mission projects. The congrega- 
tional membership was also increasing despite the financial woes 
of the time. In one three-month period that year 109 new mem- 
bers had been received. The pastor proudly reported that the 
church was alive and active. It was with obvious relief that 
Dibble could add that pledges and gifts had been received total- 
ing $5,000 to reduce the church's debts to $20,000, "where it can 
be worked off in degrees without any strain on the church." 

The latter half of the 1920s found Main Street Church 
somewhat less preoccupied with financial crises, although mat- 
ters of cash flow did plague the church from time to time. 
Quarterly Conference and Church Conference reports deal for the 
most part with routine church matters including financial reports. 
It is obvious that the last half of the 1920s offered a respite from 
constant financial problems. Life, however, never proved to be 
without unexpected and sometimes startling problems for Main 
Street Church. For example, in 1925 Dibble remarked at a Church 
Conference, 'The church should be proud of the work being done 
in her Sunday School. Our accommodations are unsatisfactory 
and inadequate, but the spirit of the officers and teachers is fine, 
and each department, so far as possible, is striving to meet the 
standards of the church." This remark was made just seven years 
after the new building had been occupied! With the increase in 
the membership, the Sunday School enrollment had grown sig- 
nificantly, and classroom space for some age groups was very 
crowded. Also, the Sunday School area had been designed using 
the Akron plan that was considered "state of the art" in pre- 
World War I church education circles. By the mid-1 920s new theo- 
ries of class arrangements for children and young people were 
being taught by denominational experts who urged churches to 



Harry R.Mays 117 



consider the ''most modem" space utilization. There is no record 
of the congregation's response to this evaluation of their new 
building. Dibble also reported at this time on a plan for the three 
summer months for union services on Sunday and Wednesday 
evenings that involved the memberships of the First Baptist 
Church, the First Presbyterian Church, and Main Street Church. 
"This joint effort has proven very popular" and continued in the 
summers of 1925 and 1926. 

The President of the Woman's Missionary Society, Mrs. 
J. P. Wharton, reported to the Fourth Quarterly Conference for 
1925 that the Junior Missionary Society, a project of the women, 
was "the only Junior Society in the Conference on the Roll of 
Honor." She added that the Woman's Missionary Society had 404 
members organized through six circles including a Business 
Women's Circle. The Junior Missionary Society involved many of 
the children of the church in a program designed to help acquaint 
the youngsters with the mission programs of Southern 
Methodism both in the United States and in many foreign coun- 
tries. 

The church's budget for the 1925 calendar year helps to 
explain the growth of the congregation's organization at this 
point in time: 

1925 BUDGET OF MAIN STREET CHURCH 

FOR CAUSES OUTSIDE THE CHURCH 



Presiding Elder's Salary 


$ 393 


District Work 


36 


Annual Conference Work 


U85 


General Church Work 


785 


On Centenary Fund Pledges 


373 


On Christian Education Pledges 


1,271 


For Superannuate Endowments 


800 


For Epworth Orphanage 


1,017 




6,060 



118 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



PASTOR'S SALARY 


3,060 


LOCAL EXPENSES OF THE CHURCH 




Sexton 


416 


Choir and Music 


700 


Stenography and Secretarial Work 


300 


Payment on Church Debts 


2,750 


Interest on Church Debts 


1,027 


Coal 


200 


Insurance 


194 


Lights and Water 


200 


Printing 


250 


Postage 


40 


Organ Upkeep 


100 


Repairs and Furnishings for Church 




and Parsonage 


600 


Extra for Overdraft 


148 


Small Incidentals and Miscellaneous 


18 


TOTAL FOR LOCAL CHURCH EXPENSE 


$6,143 


TOTAL ANTICIPATED EXPENDITURES FOR 





MAIN STREET CHURCH FOR 1925 $16,803 

Dibble reported to the First Quarterly Conference of 1926 
that the membership had reached 1,116, the Sunday School 
enrollment was 1,221, and the average attendance at Sunday 
School was about 650. The Sunday School continued to be a 
special source of pride for Main Street Church at that time. The 
Worker's Council for the Sunday School teachers met frequently, 
and those who staffed the various classes were encouraged to 
attend local instructional sessions. Many made week-long trips to 
Lake Junaluska, North Carolina, during the summer months to 
receive specialized instruction from some of Southern 
Methodism's Christian education experts. 

The Lander Sunday School was an unusual effort in reli- 
gious education. For almost as long as Lander College had exist- 



Harry K. Mays 119 



ed, the Sunday School there involved most of the residential stu- 
dents with faculty members as leaders. At one Quarterly 
Conference in 1926 it was reported, 'The Lander Sunday School 
uses neither the uniform nor the strictly graded material of 
Methodism. Text books are used." Those who recall attending 
these Sunday School classes while students at Lander College 
claim that these were some of the "teaching highlights" of their 
academic experience. At times even the college president shared 
in the teaching, and this especially impressed the students, who 
sensed the concern of the college leaders for the students. 

At the Fourth Quarterly Conference, October 18, 1926, the 
pastor mentioned that "nearly a thousand were present for 
Sunday School as we began a new year." Children and young 
people had been promoted and classes reorganized as usual, but 
the attendance number may well be the all-time record for 
Sunday School on any given day in the life of Main Street 
Church! 

Ehiring the early summer of 1927 the city of Greenwood 
conducted "a campaign in the interest of the Lander endow- 
ment." This resulted "in raising $8,000, much of this being given 
by the members of the church," reported the new pastor, W.B. 
Garrett. At that Quarterly Conference a committee composed of 
J.S. Andrews, Charles D. Blaylock, Joe P. Wharton, and George 
Hodges was directed to examine the records of the church's 
membership. They concluded that at least 114 names should be 
removed for various reasons, leaving a corrected membership 
roll of 1,092 persons. 

Garrett reported that 76 of the Sunday School teachers 
and workers received credits for work in the teacher training 
opportunities of 1927. He also was able to report a net gain of 103 
persons in the membership during 1927. Moreover, the church 
had assumed the support of a missionary, the Reverend Vavlav 
Vancura, a member of the South Georgia Annual Conference and 
a native of Czechoslovakia. "Brother Vancura has returned to his 
native land and is serving as a pastor [in Prague] and is a 
Presiding Elder." In the year of 1927 Garrett was delighted to 



120 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



report that the church had been able to reduce its debt by $6^50 
and "the church budget has been met with ease." 

During the years that Lander College was affiliated with 
South Carolina Methodism several Methodist ministers from the 
college's faculty and administration were, with their families, 
related to Main Street Church. For example, in the 1927-1928 aca- 
demic year nine ministers from Lander were members of the 
Main Street Quarterly Conference: F.L. Beaty, R.H. Bennett, J.C. 
Cunningham, J. A. Holland, R.O. Lawton, J.J. McConnell, C.F. 
Nesbitt, J.P. Patton, and L.M. Rivers. The presence of these clergy, 
as well as many other faculty members from Lander College, 
added much to the congregational life. 

In the early summer of 1928 "a new class composed of 
young men of the congregation" had been organized and met in 
the parsonage, the pastor reported. This led him to add, 'The 
Sunday School is crowded and under such circumstances it is not 
able to do the type of work that would otherwise be possible." 
Despite this problem he could observe that "the superintendent 
and other officers and teachers are faithful to duty and the work 
is being carried on in a fine way." Payments on pledges of $4,000 
to the Superannuate Endowment Fund to assist retired ministers 
were completed in 1928 with the last installment of $1,050.50. 
Year after year, despite local economic problems. Main Street 
Church maintained a tradition of paying in full its assessments 
and apportionments received from Annual Conference. 

Garrett reported that the commencement sermon for 
Bailey Military Institute was preached by him at the church in 
May of 1928. This prep school was a fixture for decades in 
Greenwood. Located at the site of the present Self Memorial 
Hospital, Bailey Military Institute served many young men as a 
boarding school that provided a high school education for its stu- 
dents in a military environment. 

At the Fourth Quarterly Conference of 1929 Garrett 
reported, "The women of the church are leading out in a move to 
build additional Sunday School equipment which is sorely needed. 
Several of the men of the church have expressed a willingness to 



Harry R. Mays 121 



help them in this undertaking, all of which is encouraging/' At 
this time a Building Committee was elected to plan for a new 
Sunday School building. Given "full power to act/' the commit- 
tee was expected to begin at once to develop plans for the much 
needed facility. The Committee was composed of W.H. 
Nicholson, I.C. Harrison, A.E. Taylor, C.W. Hollingsworth and 
I.T. Stone. At that time Mrs. T.H. Watson, president of the 
Woman's Missionary Society, reported that the women of the 
church had "collected $693.02 on the Sunday School Building in 
addition to raising $1^97.74 for mission causes." 



Chapter 13 

The Great Depression 



Probably very few people in Greenwood realized how 
drastically events on Wall Street in far off New York City on 
Tuesday, October 29, 1929, could affect life worldwide. As the 
"Great Depression" worsened through the ensuing winter and 
spring, unemployment, bank failures, and business and industri- 
al disasters created critical situations that quickly began to cause 
drastic changes in life in Greenwood and at Main Street 
Methodist Church. When E.R. Mason arrived as the new pastor 
just a few days after the stock market crash, confidence in the 
onward and upward climb of the national economy was obvious. 
In his report to the First Quarterly Conference of 1930 his state- 
ment that the Sunday School "is handicapped on account of the 
lack of an adequate building" is typical of the still viable confi- 
dence in what life had been up to this moment. Continuing in 
that vein. Mason declared, "We trust that in the not too distant 
future this great need will be met." He had not reckoned with the 
devastation to be wrought by the depression that was fast devel- 
oping. Not only would it be a decade before this building need 
could be met, but another pastor would also have an unfulfilled 
dream of the completion of the much needed educational space. 
Moreover, Ed Mason would {personally feel the effect of the eco- 
nomic upheaval in the congregation as his salary dropped from 



122 



Harry R. Mays \23 



$4,000 to $3,000 in the three years of his pastorate. 

The total funds reported as raised by Main Street Church 
to the 1930 Annual Conference was $14,494. The next year the 
report to Annual Conference was $13,678, and at the 1932 Annual 
Conference the total funds raised had dropped to a low of 
$11,450. By the following year, 1933, a slight increase in income 
enabled the church to report $11308 raised for all purposes. It 
appears that the the economic impact of the "Great Depression" 
was at its worst in Greenwood during the years of 1932 and 1933. 
The following chart gives an insight into the effect of the 
depressed economic conditions for the decade of the 1930s as 
reflected in the reports of Main Street Church to Annual 
Conference: 

REPORTS TO ANNUAL CONFERENCE 



Year 


Pastor's Salary 


Total Funds 


Debt 


1930 


$4,000 


$14,494 


$12,000 


1931 


4,000 


13,678 


12,000 


1932 


3,600 


11,450 


12,000 


1933 


3,000 


11308 


12,000 


1934 


3,000 


12390 


10,000 


1935 


3,000 


12,931 


8,000 


1936 


3,000 


12327 


7,000 


1937 


3,000 


12,045 


6300 


1938 


3,300 


13,645 


6,000 


1939 


3,300 


22,494 


-0- 


1940 


3,300 


12,447 


23/)00 



From this data it is obvious that in a decade of tumultuous eco- 
nomic suffering the sacrificial support of the congregation of 
Main Street Church is amazing even a half-century later. 

The previous year, 1930, while life seemed calm and sta- 
ble, the church had extended an invitation to the Annual 
Conference to meet in Greenwood the following year. The invita- 
tion was accepted and as a result the congregation of Main Street 
Church began the 1931 Annual Conference year knowing that it 



124 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



had a major undertaking before it. The congregation began at 
once the task of organizing to care for hundreds of visitors. This 
involved the usual challenge of finding homes where the pastors 
and lay delegates could be "hosted." Homes were needed where 
each visitor could be provided a bed on which to sleep and three 
meals during the week-long Conference Session. That sufficient 
homes for such entertainment were made available in the face of 
the community's economic problems speaks of the faithful sup- 
port of the congregation. Ed Mason observed, ''We come to the 
closing days of the Conference Year strong in the fact that our 
people and our church will meet all obligations in full. As host of 
the Annual Conference, we, the Church, trust that not only the 
presence of the Conference will be a blessing to us, but that we 
shall be able to render helpfulness to the Conference." At the con- 
clusion of the Conference its appreciation was gathered into a res- 
olution expressing thanks to those in Greenwood who provided 
hospitality and to the committees that had "worked so efficiently 
to make our stay in their midst so enjoyable." 

At the close of the 1932 Annual Conference Mason moved 
from Main Street Church to become the Presiding Elder of the 
Greenville District. The new pastor, Raymond L. Holroyd, came 
at the very depth of the depression. He realized that under the 
circumstances, little in the way of new programing could be 
implemented, and he also sensed that more than anything else 
the congregation needed a pastor who would move among them 
as a friend and fellow-sufferer. After he had been in Greenwood 
just three months, Holroyd repx)rted that he had visited in almost 
every home represented in the 1,300 membership, and he 
declared, "Since assuming the duties of this charge we have been 
handicapped by bad weather, the flu, and the devil. However, as 
we come to the First Quarterly Conference we are glad to report 
that the weather looks better, the flu epidemic is about passed, 
and we have the devil under control." One of Holroyd's local 
friends, reminiscing on the man's pastorate, remarked decades 
later, "Raymond had to fight more money battles than anyone 
now can believe. The people were as generous as they could be. 



Harry R. Mays 125 



but there seemed never to be enough money to meet every need. 
But bless him, he helped us survive and actually grow in many 
ways. He was the kind of leader we needed in those rough days. 
He had faith when the rest of us could only see black hopeless- 
ness." 

Money problems were a continuing plague for the church 
during the "depression days." Holroyd confessed to the 
Quarterly Conference on May 12, 1933, "With the exception of 
the finances we are able to report progress." At that same 
Quarterly Conference Andrew E. Taylor, Sunday School 
Superintendent, mentioned that a "dutch supper prepared by the 
ladies of the Missionary Society at twenty cents per plate, was 
served to the meeting of the Educational Council." This clearly 
indicates how inexpensive life appears to a reader decades later, 
but even the payment of two dimes for a meal was difficult for 
some to produce. Taylor reported that the Sunday School was 
operating on "a cash basis." No literature or supplies were 
ordered or authorized to be purchased unless the treasurer had 
the money on hand to pay the bill. This strict fiscal discipline had 
been adopted to avoid any chance of indebtedness by the Sunday 
School or the whole church, for that matter. It was necessary at 
this time to refinance the church's building debt; permission to 
do so was granted by the Quarterly Conference on March 23, 
1934. The reputation of the congregation made this $10,000 fiscal 
readjustment possible, but the truth was that both the church and 
the lender had no other choice. There simply was no way the 
church could pay more than $2,000 on the principal and also 
make a token interest payment at this time. At the January 24, 
1934, meeting the Board of Stewards was relieved to hear the 
announcement that Mrs. Mittie F. Collins had purchased one 
mortgage note for $1,000 and had then cancelled the obligation. 

It is amazing that, during the decade of the "Great 
Depression," the church was able to reduce its debt and to con- 
tinue to pay in full its conference assessments year after year. 
Despite the hopelessness that the depression generated, one pas- 
tor declared, "In the face of many temporal discouragements and 



126 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



adversities, the real heart of our church is standing TRUE!" 

At the 1934 meeting of the Annual Conference it was 
decided that the sessions should henceforth be ''self entertain- 
ing." By that it was meant that a committee of the Annual 
Conference would find a location where individuals would be 
housed in hotels or a convenient college campus if one was near- 
by. This experiment led to Greenwood being asked to host the 
1935 session of Annual Conference so that the dormitories at 
Lander College could be utilized for housing and the college din- 
ing room used to provide meals for those attending Annual 
Conference. This new plan made it much easier for the church to 
host Annual Conference, but there were still multitudes of details 
for various committees to handle expeditiously. At the close of 
the Annual Conference session appreciation was expressed to the 
pastor and to the congregation who had together produced "a 
cordial welcome and bestowed upon us such fine hospitality." 



Chapter 14 

Hope Ahead 



By 1936 signs were increasing that one day the "Great 
Depression" would be past history. Although money was certain- 
ly not flowing freely in Greenwood, more and more people were 
finding employment. This enabled the church to make a payment 
to its lending agency, an achievement that Raymond Holroyd, the 
pastor, announced with great pride. As the 1936 Annual 
Conference year came to a close, the congregation knew that 
under the rules of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, it 
could expect a new pastor. Lem E. Wiggins and his family moved 
into the church's parsonage, and his quick assessment was that it 
was time to begin actions that the depressed economy had made 
impossible even to contemplate. The debt of $7,000 seemed to 
worry everyone in the congregation, but the pastor realized that 
several other matters were also in need of attention. 

In 1919 the pipe organ had been installed to provide 
music for the congregation at worship, but very soon doubts had 
arisen about the quality of the instrument. Although there are 
occasional hints of this discontent, the first official recognition of 
a problem with the organ became a matter of record during a 
meeting of the Board of Stewards on December 12, 1937. At that 
time the stewards asked themselves, "Could we begin to accu- 
mulate an organ fund?" The nearly two decades of economic 



127 



128 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



problems in the Greenwood area had precluded such a question 
being seriously raised in that period of time. At the next meeting 
of the Board of Stewards, January 4, 1938, a committee was 
appointed "to look into the advisability of purchasing a new 
organ and setting up a fund for that purpose." The committee 
members named were: A. A. Taylor, J.G. Gambrell, C.W. 
Hollingsworth, I.T. Stone, A.S. Wilkerson and W.K. Charles, Ex 
Officio, as well as the pastor. Within a month the committee had 
developed sufficient information to present to the congregation 
on February 11, 1938, a plan that included a method of financing 
the purchase. 

The congregational response was immediate and gener- 
ous, and on April 29, 1938, sufficient funds were on hand so that 
the Board of Stewards could authorize the committee to place an 
order with the Moeller Organ Company of Hagerstown, 
Maryland. In a few weeks the Board of Stewards asked the com- 
mittee to add a set of chimes to the planned installation. It is a 
commentary on the economic times in the organ building indus- 
try that just fifteen weeks after the order had been placed the 
instrument had been installed. On Sunday evening, August 14, 
1938, Fred Howard Parker of the Columbia College faculty gave a 
dedicatory recital on the instrument. For this recital an honorari- 
um of $25 was given to Professor Parker. The Moeller instrument 
is still in use more than fifty years later, and aside from the nor- 
mal maintenance work has been trouble free. Indeed, it is expect- 
ed that this instrument will be in use into the indefinite future. At 
the close of 1938 the congregation heard the pastor report that it 
had already paid $2,268.06 on the cost of their new pipe organ. 
The gloom of the ''Great Depression" was beginning to lift. 

At a meeting of the Board of Stewards on January 6, 1939, 
a delegation from the Fellowship Class was on hand to present to 
the Board a problem faced by the Sunday School Class. Their 
spokesmen were the class president, Robert W. Smith, and the 
teacher, J.Douglas Featherstone. These two proved to be effective 
in their presentation of the problems the class faced as they tried 
to utilize their meeting space as a growing class. Before the Board 



Harry R. Mays 129 



adjourned that evening, it had been decided to appoint a "com- 
mittee to look into the matter of building or arranging more ade- 
quate quarters and equipment for the whole Sunday School." Two 
weeks later at a called meeting the Board of Stewards granted this 
committee the authority "to consult an architect as to plans for an 
addition." 

At the second Quarterly Conference of 1939 Lem Wiggins 
reported, "We are seriously considering the erection of an educa- 
tional building which is very much needed. A Committee is now 
at work raising a fund of $11 /KX) to liquidate the present indebted- 
ness on our church and parsonage property, with the intention of 
beginning immediately thereafter the erection of a new building. 
The new project depends upon the success met with securing 
funds sufficient to pay off the debt." The fund-raising effort was 
successful, for in just three months, at the next Quarterly 
Conference, it was announced that pledges had been received that 
would pay off the debt, and a building committee already func- 
tioning under the authority of the Board of Stewards needed the 
approval of the Quarterly Conference. The Building Committee 
elected that day, August 19, 1939, was composed of C.C. Wharton, 
A.E. Taylor, J.D. Featherstone, J.S. Andrews, J.B. Gambrell, C.W. 
Hollingsworth, W.K. Charles, and the pastor, L.E. Wiggins. 

While it may appear that Main Street Church's primary 
concern was finances and building, this is not borne out in the 
records. For example, at the Second Quarterly Conference of 1939 
the following "Resolution Regarding the Choir" was presented 
from a Committee representing the Church's Board of Stewards: 

In appreciation of the fine Christian service being 
rendered our church through the choir, we, a 
Committee of the Board of Stewards, wish to offer 
to the Quarterly Conference of the Church the fol- 
lowing resolution: 

First, That we extend to each member of the choir 
our sincere thanks for the beautiful Easter music 



130 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



rendered at the morning service last Sunday, and 
for the Cantata last Sunday night. 

Second, we commend the boys and girls who are 
taking part and helping in the choir. 

Third, we wish to thank you and a God-bless you 
to the organist and director, Mrs. Joe Wharton, 
and to each member of the choir — all of whom are 
serving without remuneration. 
Fourth, That a copy of this resolution be printed 
in the church bulletin. 

This resolution was unanimously adopted by a rising vote. 

The Sunday School continued to be a matter of justified 
congregational pride. Enrollment and attendance were gratifying, 
the pastor reported. The young people's work was encouraging, 
too, although the evening program of the Epworth League 
'Varies in attendance and interest." Concern for the missional 
needs beyond Greenwood likewise attracted considerable sup- 
port. One tiny indication of things to come was a gift for work 
''among the Marines stationed at Parris Island, South Carolina." 
Needs at home were not overlooked either. 

An ongoing program of the Christian Social Relations 
area of the Woman's Missionary Society involved members who 
"continue to instruct a Bible Class of negro women." There was 
constant surveillance of the community by the women to deter- 
mine if some local need could be met by church members. A typi- 
cal example involved assistance to a family whose thirteen- 
month-old daughter had died. 'Trovisions were carried to the 
family, burial clothes were provided for the baby, and sympathy 
shown by attendance at the funeral. Subsequent visits have been 
made to the family." Assistance was also given in aiding "a negro 
missionary auxiliary in organization." Such concern for commu- 
nity needs simply extended a congregational sense of compassion 
dating back to the very first years of the Church's life. 



Harry R. Mays 131 



On May 10, 1939, at a meeting in Kansas City, Missouri, 
representatives of three branches of Methodism in the United 
States of America met to unite "these bodies long divided." In 
1828 "a group of earnest and godly persons, largely moved by an 
insistence on lay representation, separated and became the 
Methodist Protestant Church/' Seventeen years later in 1844 
"there occurred another division, the cause being construed by 
some as the question of slavery; by others as a constitutional 
issue over the powers of the Episcopacy/' Out of this division 
came two denominations: The Methodist Episcopal Church and 
The Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The Methodist 
Episcopal Church generally served Methodists living north of the 
Mason-Dixon Line and a few locales in the South, especially in 
the mountains of Tennessee, West Virginia, and Kentucky. The 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, generally served the area 
below the Mason-Dixon Line. When the three denominations 
joined in what Methodists named "Unification," the result was 
The Methodist Church. Locally the first effect felt was the accep- 
tance of the new name that removed the words "Episcopal" and 
"South" from the denominational name. Common hymnals, pro- 
duced in 1912 and 1935 had helped significantly in bringing "the 
people called Methodists" together in peace and cooperative 
strength. 

There were other name changes as the result of 
Unification. The Board of Stewards became the Official Board. 
The Woman's Missionary Society became the Woman's Society of 
Christian Service. The Presiding Elder became the District 
Superintendent. Such name changes seem easily acceptable as 
they are read, but nearly two generations later newspaper obitu- 
aries can often be read that use these long obsolete terms to indi- 
cate lay participation in places of local leadership. 

During the summer of 1939 the programs for children 
and young people suffered a severe setback. On July 7, 1939, A.E. 
Taylor and J.B. Gambrell were instructed by the Board of 
Stewards "to consult Dr. Brodie of the health department in 
regard to handling the Polio situation — the Board thinking it 



132 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



advisable to discontinue children's classes in Sunday School until 
the danger from Polio has passed." Health authorities responded 
with a decision that the threat from infantile paralysis was so 
great that all non-adult programs should halt. All Greenwood 
area churches cooperated, even though this affected adult 
involvement since parents had to be with their children at home 
during Sunday School and worship times. The Sunday School 
teachers at Main Street Church instigated a program of visitation 
in the homes of all the children in their classes. Literature was 
delivered, interest maintained, and contacts kept open. By 
September, when the threat of the disease had waned, there was 
"an explosion of interest in Sunday School activities," the pastor 
reported. 

At the Fourth Quarterly Conference of 1939 Lem Wiggiris 
was delighted to point out that all pledges on the liquidation of 
the church's building debt had been paid in full. This enabled the 
church to remove the debts "on our church property, including 
the balance due on the pipe organ installed last year. The total 
amount raised was nearly $11,000." He continued, "The church 
accomplished a most praiseworthy task of wiping out this debt, 
and strange to say, it seems that it had the effect of making the 
other finances easier to raise. The stewards report the easiest time 
they have ever had in raising the budget. The church was formal- 
ly dedicated the night of Sunday, October 1, 1939, by Bishop 
Clare Purcell. Five former pastors of the church were present, and 
the occasion was of great uplift and inspiration. We believe that 
the church is more a unit than it has been for years, and we look 
forward to great things in the future." It would appear that in the 
hearts and minds of the congregation of Main Street Church the 
fears generated by "The Great Depression" were fading away. 
And for the first time since 1915 the church could report that it 
was not under any debt whatsoever. 

"A watchnight service on the last night of the year was 
well attended and those who came expressed themselves as 
greatly benefited," reported Lem Wiggins to the First Quarterly 
Conference of 1940. He added, "The plans for the new education- 



Harry R.Mays 133 



al building are being prepared by the architect. We hope therefore 
that by another session of Quarterly Conference we shall be able 
to report that actual construction has begun/' 

Since the organization of the first Epworth League in the 
1890s there was frequent difficulty in obtaining adult leaders for 
the church's work with what it called the young people. Wiggins, 
for instance, told the Second Quarterly Conference of 1940, "Our 
young people need very greatly a leader for their Epworth 
League activities." To point toward one solution to the problem 
of adult leadership for the youth, he gave the following informa- 
tion to the Third Quarterly Conference of 1940: "For the past two 
months we have employed as Director of Young People's Work 
for the church. Miss Martha Frances Morgan, and the experiment 
has been a great success. Two groups, young people and interme- 
diates, have been organized and are very much alive. Two play 
nights for young people have been held each week. We hope that 
the Board of Stewards may see their way clear to continue this 
work which we believe will mean much to the future of our 
church." The pastor was certainly a pace-setter for the churches 
in Greenwood and for South Carolina Methodism. 

With work nearing completion on the new educational 
building, it was recognized that preparations needed to be made 
to equip the new area. After considerable debate the Board of 
Stewards decided to ask that "the Woman's Auxiliary solicit the 
church membership for funds to equip the new building to the 
extent of $1,000." In less than two weeks the women had $900 in 
cash on hand and expected the remainder in a few days. At the 
first Quarterly Conference of 1941 the pastor reported that a 
"new boiler had been installed and the entire heating system for 
the church had been renovated at a cost of $23,000." He also 
noted, "The women have repainted the dining room and kitchen 
and had cabinets built in the kitchen." There was congregational 
rejoicing in the announcement that 'last Sunday, January 26th 
[1941] Bishop Watkins was with us and preached on the occasion 
of the opening of the new educational building." 

At the same time Wiggins confirmed that "Miss Frances 



134 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Hamilton of the Lander faculty has been hired as a part-time 
worker with the young people." His recommendation to the 
Board of Stewards a year earlier, suggesting the creation of a staff 
position for a worker with the young people, had been imple- 
mented. V\^thout fanfare Main Street Church was developing an 
increasingly complex congregational life requiring a professional 
and volunteer staff of increasing size. A Cub Scout pack had been 
organized in conjunction with the Boy Scout Troop. The Girl 
Scout Troop sponsored by the church was authorized to organize 
a Brownie Troop as an addition to its program. Mrs. J.M. Elliott, 
Woman's Society of Christian Service president, reported to the 
Quarterly Conference that, in addition to raising money to assist 
with congregational needs, the women had given $468 for mis- 
sion needs beyond the local community, had expended $198 for 
social service to help the needy, and had completed a long list of 
service projects within the community that required no funds but 
helped many persons. 

At the end of the college year in May 1941 Miss Hamilton 
had decided to leave Lander College and Greenwood, and Miss 
Jacinta Carnes of Columbia, South Carolina, a graduate of 
Columbia College, was hired to work with the young people for 
the summer at a salary of $65 per month. A few weeks later, at 
the Third Quarterly Conference, the pastor reported, "Jacinta has 
begun her work and has already won our young people." He 
added, "Next week we shall have our first experience with a 
Youth Caravan. Plans have been carefully made and we are look- 
ing forward to a week of rare privilege and benefit." A Youth 
Caravan was composed of four college students and an adult 
counselor who, as a team, visited in local churches during the 
summer on invitation. The team presented programs designed to 
improve the work of the local young people's group. Four years 
later Betty Wise, who shared this experience as a young person at 
Main Street Church, would serve as a Youth Caravan member 
working in the Memphis Conference of The Methodist Church. 
After Miss Games had worked with the young people through 
the summer, it was decided to offer her the position of Young 



Hany R. Mays 135 



People's Worker with a salary of $100 per month for the next 
year. The young people were delighted with this news. 

As Lem Wiggins spoke to the Fourth Quarterly 
Conference just a few days before the close of his fourth year as 
the pastor of Main Street Qiurch, he observed, ''We are leaving 
this church with a physical plant and equipment adequate to 
meet the requirements of such a congregation and an organiza- 
tion prepared to go on to greater achievements in the years 
ahead." As he looked back, he recalled that a long-term debt had 
been paid, the sanctuary had been dedicated, a new organ had 
been installed, a long desired educational building was a reality, 
and the heating system had been refurbished. The membership 
stood at a solid 1,147 persons; the rolls had been carefully scruti- 
nized to eliminate needless inflation of personless numbers and 
people long since moved away from Greenwood. The congrega- 
tion under Wiggins' leadership had become united, excited, and 
spiritually alive and active. The "Great Depression" was now 
only a memory. 



Chapter 15 

More War Years 



As anticipated, at the Annual Conference session held 
November 12-16, 1941, at Buncombe Street Church, Greenville, 
South Carolina, Bishop Walter T. Watkins appointed L.E. Wiggins 
to be the Superintendent of the Anderson District. At the same 
time the bishop appointed Fritz Chester Beach to be the pastor of 
Main Street Church. World events began to unfold with horrify- 
ing haste in just a few weeks after Beach's arrival. Many members 
of the church felt that if they had to have a new pastor it was 
most fortuitous that Fritz Beach should come their way at this 
time. 

Beach had been hastily ordained to both deacon's and 
elder's orders by Bishop John C. Kilgo in 1918 so that he could 
enter the United States Army as a chaplain during World War I. 
He served with the American Expeditionary Force in France and 
Germany from September 1918 to July 1919. It was this experi- 
ence that enabled Main Street Church's new pastor to be so effec- 
tive so quickly. 

The attack on Pearl Harbor by the Japanese Imperial 
Navy was occurring while Beach was leading the congregational 
worship during his second Sunday as the church's pastor! This 
event immediately involved the United States in World War II. 
Families became increasingly concerned about their sons and 



136 



Harry R. Mays 137 



daughters and various relatives and friends who were called to 
be members of the armed forces. The list of Main Street Church 
members serving in the various branches of the military num- 
bered at least 140 persons. Six of that number were killed in com- 
bat operations. 

Despite the demands and restrictions of a nation at war, 
members of Main Street Church sought to face life as it came 
day-by-day. The Sunday bulletin that announced the arrival of 
the Beach family at the church's parsonage also contained a plea 
for toys to be donated "to children who might otherwise have 
none for Christmas." At the First Quarterly Conference, January 
30, 1942, Beach reported, 'The parsonage has been renovated 
throughout. When the work is finished it will be comfortable and 
convenient. The necessary money is being supplied by the 
Woman's Society of Christian Service. We are indebted to them." 
Mrs. J.M. Elliott, Woman's Society president, added, "We are 
papering and painting the interior of our parsonage, something 
that is sorely needed to be done." 

As in the days of World War I, during World War II there 
were appeals for offerings to fund various war-related charities 
and projects such as for "victims of the war in other countries" 
and "work on behalf of our men in the camps in America." At 
the same time, as the war economy placed increasing restrictions 
on many purchases and repairs, more money was available to 
reduce the level of the church's debt. When L.E. Wiggins left 
Greenwood the church had a debt of $23,000; during EC. Beach's 
pastorate the debt would be reduced by two-thirds. 

One of the church-wide offerings of that period was for 
Race Relations Day. At the Second Quarterly Conference for 1942, 
Beach reported, "On Sunday, February 8, Race Relations Day was 
observed. A substantial offering for Negro education was made. 
It is highly gratifying that, among Christians at least, race preju- 
dice is being overcome." Related to this evaluation was the often 
reported work of the women of the church through their organi- 
zation to help their non-white neighbors with assistance ranging 
from leading Bible Studies to funding various Negro activities 



138 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



that reached out to the most disadvantaged of that race. From the 
time of the organization of Brewer Hospital to serve the non- 
white community, the white women of Greenwood had provided 
strong leadership and generous financial support for the medical 
center for the Negro citizens of the community. The Methodist 
women would report from time to time at Quarterly Conference 
of their work which contributed to improvements at Brewer 
Hospital. This work included refurbishing bed tables, sewing 
masks for the operating room personnel, making sheets and sur- 
gical suits for the surgery area, and visiting patients there and at 
the hospital for the white citizens. 

The spiritual life of the congregation took on added depth 
at this time. As the pastor commented, "It is not surprising that 
the war has brought added seriousness to life." Special services 
began to appear in the church calendar during Holy Week and 
during Advent. At the same time, the war began to have an effect 
upon membership and attendance numbers. As Beach observed 
at the end of his first year as the pastor, "Because Greenwood is 
not a defense area, we have had an unusually large number of 
removals this year." With about twelve percent of the congrega- 
tion in the Armed Forces, the absence of these persons and often 
of their families as well, meant painful reductions in attendance. 
There was a small military contingent stationed at the newly con- 
structed Greenwood Air Base. Through the months of its life the 
Air Base remained a challenge to Greenwood's churches that 
sought to reach out in fellowship to these "boys away from 
home." Weekend open houses with homemade refreshments and 
other social programs centered in the churches proved to be pop- 
ular with many of the airmen. 

Jacinta Carnes, who had been working with the young 
people for more than a year, was forced to resign for health rea- 
sons. At once a search was begun for a replacement for this popu- 
lar and effective young woman. After some months Miss Inez 
Torian, a native of Spartanburg, South Carolina, was employed 
"to work with the young people as Educational Secretary with a 
salary of $100 per month." 



Harry R. Mays 139 



In 1943 the Upper South Carolina Annual Conference, 
faced with gasoline rationing and other wartime travel restric- 
tions, as well as food rationing, turned once again to Greenwood 
and its excellent railroad connections and Lander College with its 
dormitories and dining hall, as the site for the Conference ses- 
sion. Commenting on this meeting, the Index-Journal editorial- 
ized the day before the Conference convened, "Lander College 
will be headquarters for the delegates. The Lander college stu- 
dent body moved out today and the members of the Upper South 
Carolina Conference will move in tomorrow. This holiday, a sub- 
stitute for a brief vacation at Thanksgiving, represents a conces- 
sion to wartime conditions that made it difficult to provide enter- 
tainment for the conference in homes, as customary." It was 
added in droll fashion, "The girls expect to find their rooms as 
immaculate as they left them. No cigar butts, if you please, and 
trash cans are in the hall." 

An editorial the next day formally welcomed the 
Methodists to town and pointed out that they had come to 
Greenwood in 1898, 1919, 1931 and 1935. Some months before, 
the Main Street women had hosted both the Annual Conference 
and Greenwood District meetings of the Woman's Society of 
Christian Service. This led the editor to wonder if Greenwood 
should not become the annual meeting place of all groups of 
Methodists of Upper South Carolina. The next year Dr. J.Marvin 
Rast, president of Lander College, would make that proposal to 
the Annual Conference. However, it would be twenty-nine years 
before such a plan was adopted. By then Lander College would 
no longer be Methodist-related, and Spartanburg and Wofford 
College would be the site chosen to implement the proposal 
made in 1944. 

A few moments after 1 AM on Sunday morning, April 16, 
1944, many in Greenwood awakened to what they thought might 
be an enemy air attack. During a strong thunderstorm a tornado, 
moving generally west to east, began a path of destruction near 
Connie Maxwell Orphanage that extended directly over the 
Greenwood Hospital and its Nurses' Home. The tornado then 



140 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



moved toward Ninety Six. In a matter of seconds every building 
in the tornado's direct path had its roof pulled away and many 
homes and small businesses were totally destroyed. Patients at 
the hospital, especially on the top floor, were injured by debris; 
one patient was killed by falling bricks while his son, seated 
beside the hospital bed, was not scratched. The operating room 
and all wards and rooms on the hospital's top floor were useless. 

Within moments the community began to rally to aid the 
survivors scattered about in the wreckage. For example. Main 
Street Church member Julian White commanded the Home 
Guard, a temporary replacement for the federalized National 
Guard. White's unit began a forty-eight hour tour of duty that 
saw them assist the police, work as rescue crews, and provide 
much needed manpower. The day after the storm had passed 
James C. Self announced that the Self Foundation would pay for 
the erection of a 100-bed hospital constructed of steel and con- 
crete "as soon as war conditions will permit such construction." 

A week later news of recovery efforts had been pushed 
off the newspaper's front page, but scores of families with homes 
demolished and over a hundred injured individuals remained. At 
least eight deaths were counted as a result of the storm. Faced 
with such widespread need, the women of Main Street Church 
reported through their president, Mrs. J.L. Sheridan, in typical 
understatement to the Quarterly Conference that "relief had been 
given tornado sufferers" in the form of "both pantry and house- 
hold" goods. Responding to Mrs. Sheridan's report, the pastor 
noted, "They always make us proud of our ladies!" 

The years of World War II caused the pastor to reflect in 
most of his reports to Quarterly Conference the somber feelings of 
the congregation. "The burden of the war is felt by all. Many have 
experienced keen grief because of it and others will. . . .The war 
has caused many of us to seek after God with a new zeal and to 
depend upon Him with a more childlike faith. . . .We face the 
future with coi\fidence remembering that He who marks the spar- 
row's fall will never put out of His sight one of His children. . . 
With many of our young men in combat service on the various 



Harry R. Mays 141 



fronts, we are thrust back upon God who alone is our help. By 
His grace we will not falter but will work, and wait, until in His 
own good time a righteous and lasting peace will come." 

In 1944 The Methodist Church retired the venerable term 
'The Epworth League" when referring to the church's work with 
those called "children" by many and "young people" by others. 
This name change recognized that children in their teenage years 
had come to resent being referred to as "children." A new term. 
The Methodist Youth Fellowship, designated young people from 
age thirteen to the time of graduation from high school. Those of 
college age, in the work force, or married, who were in the ages 
generally from eighteen to twenty-five years, were to be called 
"young adults." Within a decade all churches nationwide would 
face significant changes in attitude both by and toward youth. 

With travel limitations and construction restrictions, 
many of the traditional activities for the churches and the Annual 
Conference had to be restrained or even canceled. Youth 
Assembly, for example, normally conducted at Lander College by 
the Annual Conference, was "eliminated for the duration of the 
the war." This was a period when at the local level congregations 
were asked to raise funds for projects that could be completed 
"after the war." Main Street Church raised more than $2,000 dur- 
ing 1944 for such projects as a memorial chapel at Lake 
Junaluska, North Carolina, to remember Methodists killed in the 
war, a church building for patients at the South Carolina State 
Mental Hospital in Columbia, and a building replacement pro- 
gram projected for Epworth Orphanage in Columbia "as soon as 
the war is completed." Certainly the most significant funding 
campaign was the one to raise money for the Crusade for Christ. 
The goal of The Methodist Church was to raise $25,000,000 
nationwide; the assigned goal for Main Street Church was $4300. 
Locally that goal was raised to $5,000. The Crusade for Christ 
had been adopted at the 1944 General Conference and was to 
raise funds to be used for rehabilitation of war-torn areas of the 
world and to undergird an extensive foreign mission program 
"after the war." The program proved unusually popular. Main 



142 Histon/ of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Street Church met its local goal of $5,000 and from Methodism as 
a whole over $27,000,000 was contributed. 

For the second consecutive year, in 1944, Main Street 
Church and Lander College were asked to co-host the meeting of 
the Upper South Carolina Annual Conference. This time the local 
newspaper failed to give the Conference session front page cover- 
age. The announcement of the election of Franklin D. Roosevelt 
for a fourth term as President of the United States the day before 
the Annual Conference session consumed most of the newspa- 
per's front page. News from the European and Pacific war zones 
consumed the other front page space every day while the 
Conference was in session. Nevertheless, the news coverage of 
the Conference included a report that the City of Greenwood 
joined with Dr. J. Marvin Rast, Lander College president, in the 
suggestion that Greenwood be selected as the permanent meeting 
place of the Conference. Those attending Annual Conference 
were again using the facilities of Lander College for housing and 
meals. A high point of the Conference session, at least from a 
local viewpoint, was when 94-year-old James F. Davis, a member 
of Main Street Church since the 1860s, addressed the Annual 
Conference. The Index-Journal reported that he ''spoke of the long 
ago in the life of the local church. He was heard with rapt atten- 
tion and deep appreciation and was thanked by Bishop Clare 
Purcell for his presence and his message." 

For much of the next year the life of Main Street Church 
revolved around the growing awareness that the war was mov- 
ing toward a victory for America and its allies. Much of the con- 
gregational concentration was centered upon four specific areas 
of attention. Inez Torian was encouraged to develop programs for 
the young people to substitute for the Annual Conference pro- 
grams cancelled because of the wartime restrictions. Funds to 
complete the pledge to the Crusade for Christ were quickly 
raised. Plans for a general refurbishing of the church property 
began to surface in conversations looking toward life "after the 
war." The deliberate reduction of the church's debt from $23,000 
to $8,850 during Beach's pastorate indicates Greenwood's eco- 



Hany R. Mays 143 



nomic situation was changing rapidly. The congregation was well 
aware that life after the war would be far different from what had 
been experienced in the 1930s! 

With the celebration of V-E Day on May 8, 1945, and then 
V-J Day on September 2, 1945, Main Street Church and its mem- 
bers could offer their prayers of thanks "for peace at last." Now 
the frustrated dreams of four long war years began to unfold. For 
the church a portent of things to come was the organization of 
the Mason Class, taught by Mrs. E. R. Mason, the wife of the 
Greenwood District Superintendent. The Mason Class was a cou- 
ples class; young married couples were no longer satisfied with 
separate classes at Sunday School for husbands and wives. What 
some defended as "what had always been" was no longer accept- 
able in broad areas of local church life and American life as well. 

When Fritz Beach introduced his pastoral successor to the 
Board of Stewards of Main Street Church, everyone was excited 
that a man of such experience and distinction was to be the new 
pastor. William Louie Mullikin was a recognized scholar and 
leader who had served other large congregations in the Upper 
South Carolina Conference. He was coming to Main Street 
Church from the position of Executive Secretary of the Annual 
Conference's Board of Education. Apparently no one, including 
Mullikin's own family, was aware that his pastorate would be for 
but two tumultuous years and that his services would be sadly 
remembered as a time when the congregation was called upon to 
be patient, compassionate, understanding and kind to its pastor 
and his family. Mullikin soon developed evidences of severe 
mental illness. The consequence was that this may have been the 
time of the strongest test of the congregation's faith and the qual- 
ity of its lay leadership. 

As Fritz Beach's pastorate closed, discussion had begun 
vnth the hope that Bishop Edwin Holt Hughes could be persuad- 
ed to come to Greenwood and "preach for a protracted meeting." 
At the time Bishop Hughes was living in Washington, D.C., and 
the new pastor was asked to follow up on the plan and invite the 
bishop if a time could be arranged for a preaching visit. Mullikin 



144 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



obtained a prompt and positive reply. Bishop Hughes would be 
in Greenwood the following April 7-12, 1946. 

In the meantime some much needed repairs, postponed 
during the wartime restrictions, needed to be attended to by the 
congregation. Even the educational building, just five years old, 
was proving inadequate. The Board appointed a committee com- 
posed of W.C. Holroyd, J.G. Gambrell and A.P. Stockman to 
develop some way to "enlarge the area of the Beginners 
Department." A true "baby boom" had developed among the 
congregation's young families. 

The preaching of Bishop Hughes proved to be as attrac- 
tive and effective as anticipated. He became an overnight sensa- 
tion as the congregation and their friends filled the sanctuary to 
hear the sermons. Everyone was pleased and spiritually stimulat- 
ed by the visit of this good man. 

As the summer of 1946 began, the Fellowship Class 
offered to install exhaust fans around the church building in an 
effort to cool the sanctuary and other parts of the church. This 
offer was gladly accepted but proved to be less than satisfactory. 
Although air-conditioning was the solution, it was considered 
both impractical and cost prohibitive at that time. The debt of 
$8,850 remained, and it was hoped that could be significantly 
reduced before the repairs on the church building were complet- 
ed. However, this goal was postponed since $1,000 was owed on 
the pledge to the Methodist Center project at 1420 Lady Street in 
Columbia. 

At the Second Quarterly Conference, March 12, 1946, the 
District Superintendent, E.R. Mason, asked for the cooperation 
and leadership of Main Street Church in supporting a resolution 
designed to set in motion actions that would unite the two 
Methodist Armual Conferences in South Carolina that had sepa- 
rated in 1915. The reasons for that separation had been negated 
by the many changes in circumstances over the past three 
decades. The resolution was adopted, and a committee of three 
laymen of the congregation was appointed to "confer with lay- 
men of other Districts relative to one Conference in South 



Harry R. Mays 145 



Carolina/' Those appointed were W.K. Charles, W.C. Holroyd 
and J. P. Wharton. 

After that events moved swiftly. A meeting of the District 
Lay Leaders of the Upper South Carolina Conference and other 
interested laymen was held at Main Street Church on 
Wednesday, May 29, 1946, with Dr. James E. Ward, Conference 
Lay Leader, of Clemson, presiding. This meeting enthusiastically 
supported the idea of reunion, and soon a joint session with Lay 
Leaders of the South Carolina Conference was held in Columbia. 
This joint session also approved the idea of reunion, and plans 
were made to present the idea to the two Annual Conference ses- 
sions soon to meet. With the approval of the two Annual 
Conferences, permission was then sought at the Jurisdictional 
Conference for this reunion to take place. With that approval 
received, the Annual Conference session of 1947 was planned as 
the reuniting session. As W.K. Charles reports this significant 
state-wide move, ''After thirty-two years of separation, sparked 
by a resolution that had its incipiency in this church, the two 
Methodist Conferences in South Carolina were again united." 

Other events were taking place in the congregational life. 
One significant worship service planned by Louie Mullikin was a 
homecoming service for the veterans of World War II. On 
Etecember 22, 1946, Fritz Beach returned to deliver the sermon. 
Especially remembered were those from the congregation who 
had been killed in the recent war: Irvin V. Griffin, Jr., Clyde F. 
Henderson, Olin S. Munnerlyn, Jr., Cleveland M.Ouzts, John S. 
Payne and Henry M. Taylor. 

The Pastor, W.L. Mullikin, was not present for this ser- 
vice. At the Board meeting of November 14, 1946, it had been 
decided to grant the pastor a "60 to 90-day leave of absence." At 
the same time the evening and mid-week services were can- 
celled. During Mullikin's absence the District Sup>erintendent, Ed 
R. Mason, arranged for Dr. J. Marvin Rast, President of Lander 
College, and F.C. Owen, Administrative Assistant to the Lander 
College president, to provide emergency pastoral care and to 
conduct the Sunday morning worship services. At the February 



146 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



1947 meeting of the Board, "Dr. Mullikin expressed his apprecia- 
tion for all of the kindness and help during his illness and he is 
hoping in the near future to be able to resume all regular church 
services." 

Methodism in South Carolina in 1947 was prepared for 
the merger of the two conferences. However a difficult decision 
faced the Methodists of the state, and this involved both the City 
of Greenwood and Main Street Church. For some years it had 
been apparent that the 170,000 Methodists in South Carolina were 
not prepared to support financially Columbia, Lander and 
Wofford Colleges. A merger plan for the colleges was proposed 
where all three colleges would be consolidated on a centralized 
campus. Greenwood Methodists proposed that they "investigate 
the proposed merger to find out what should be done to keep 
Lander College in Greenwood." The membership of Main Street 
Church later donated money "for postage, etc., for the committee 
working in the interest of Lander College." At the same time a 
decision was made to defer paying off the church debt while "the 
Lander drive is in progress." The community was seeking funds 
to underwrite a plan for the City of Greenwood to accept title to 
Lander College and thereby sever the college's ties with 
Methodism. This transfer was accomplished and a forty-four- 
year-long unique relationship between Lander College and Main 
Street Church was formally ended. 

Once the Lander College decision was made final, the 
Board of Stewards turned to some repairs that W.K. Charles, 
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, indicated were emergency in 
nature and demanded immediate action. As a consequence, repair 
work began to eliminate problems in the foundation work and 
floor in the sanctuary and "in other important places in the 
church building." It was decided "to consult with the ladies on 
the matter of carpet for the auditorium or sanding the floor." 
After spirited debate on the ladies' recommendations as to the 
carpet color and the precise placement of the carpet, the board 
"finally agreed on dark red carpet to cover the front, rear and side 
aisles." At the time a loan was authorized to finance the work. 



Hany R. Mays 147 



As the conference year drew to a close, the congregation 
knew that it could expect a new pastor since Louie Mullikin had 
requested "lighter work/' The membership of the congregation 
had grown by 64 during Mullikin's pastorate in spite of the pas- 
tor's personal problems. A sense of readiness to move forward 
with great vigor filled the community of faith that was Main 
Street Church. 



Chapter 16 

Decades of Change 



Since Main Street Church had assumed such a crucial 
leadership role in the uniting of the two Annual Conferences of 
Methodism in South Carolina, it seemed fitting that its new pas- 
tor would be a representative of the reunion. The word had 
reached Greenwood even before Annual Conference that the new 
pastor would be John M. Shingler, who would come from a pas- 
torate at Bethel Church, Charleston, one year before the actual 
merger became effective. The Shinglers arrived as newlyweds; 
they had been married on Monday, October 27, 1947, just two 
days before the Upper South Carolina Annual Conference met in 
Spartanburg. 

Shingler, a native of Holly Hill, South Carolina, was a 
graduate of Emory University and the Candler School of 
Theology at Emory. His first wife had died some years earlier, 
and his bride was the former Elizabeth Withington of Charleston. 

The congregational life of Main Street Church had suf- 
fered greatly during the many months when Louie Mullikin's ill- 
ness had forced him to ignore the church's life and activities. The 
challenge before Shingler was to satisfy the spiritual hunger of 
the congregation for pastoral care and leadership. A clue to the 
rapid turnaround in the life of the congregation was its quick 
acceptance of the goal of $10,500 in the "Million Dollar 



148 



Harry R. Mays 149 



Campaign" just set in motion at the recent Annual Conference to 
aid Wofford and Columbia Colleges. Less than a year later the 
congregation agreed to assume the financial support of Bishop 
Cyrus Dawsey, a South Carolina native who for decades had 
been serving as a Methodist missionary in Brazil. 

At the Second Quarterly Conference of 1948 Shingler 
reported that Bishop Costen J. Harrell had preached at Main 
Street Church on Palm Sunday to an overflow congregation, 
another sign of the rejuvenated spirit of the congregation. At this 
Quarterly Conference the pastor pointed out in his report that 
within a very few years consideration must be given to a re-eval- 
uation of the church's buildings. He pointed out that a better 
located and much larger fellowship hall was a necessity for a 
congregation the size of Main Street Church. A new parsonage 
would be constructed and occupied during the succeeding 
months of 1948, so that on Sunday, December 19, 1948, an open 
house was celebrated with many in the congregation coming to 
view their pastor's new home on Blyth Avenue. It was during 
Shingler's pastorate that the property of Dr. R.C. Moore, adjoin- 
ing the church property on Main Street, was purchased at a cost 
of $20,000. This was the first step in accumulating the property 
necessary to provide the land upon which a future fellowship 
hall could be erected. 

At the First Quarterly Conference, January 5, 1949, the 
report of the Woman's Society of Christian Service shared some 
of the ongoing activities of this group. They had paid their 
pledge to the Conference Woman's Society of $1,500 and had con- 
tributed $300 as a special gift to provide scholarship support to a 
high school student in India who was preparing to become a 
school teacher. The women reported that in the past twelve 
months they had made 1,560 visits to shut-ins and to those hospi- 
talized, as well as to investigate potential needs in the communi- 
ty. Each month the Society provided a layette to the Welfare 
Department for a newborn baby. Providing occasional entertain- 
ment to the Lander students was routine, as were various provi- 
sions for supplies at Brewer Hospital. 



150 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



This period was a trying time for Main Street Church as it 
watched Lander College leave the control of South Carolina 
Methodism. For nearly fifty years Main Street Church had felt an 
unusual responsibility toward the college. After all, its members 
had provided a significant part of the leadership who succeeded 
in convincing Dr. Lander to relocate his college in Greenwood, 
and Main Street Church had been a continued source of generous 
financial support for the college. But the Annual Conference had 
seen the impossibility of continued efforts to support Lander as 
well as Wofford and Columbia Colleges. Littie did anyone realize 
at that time that ultimately Lander College, through its status as a 
part of the higher educational program of South Carolina, would 
become a far stronger college with a more adequate financial base 
and a student body that would number in the thousands. At the 
moment, however. Main Street Church could only grieve over its 
loss of a close affiliation with Lander College, a loss that could 
not be regained. 

By 1950 all indebtedness on the church's property had 
been eliminated, and this enabled the congregation to renovate 
completely the church's building and bring it up to the standards 
desired by the people. At the Board of Stewards meeting of 
September 6, 1950, Clarence G. Arnold suggested that "it might 
be well to elect some women to the Board of Stewards for the 
next year, and moved to recommend this to the Nominating 
Committee." This motion carried by voice vote, but no women 
were nominated. It would be several years before women became 
accepted for membership among the elected leadership of the 
highest circles at Main Street Church. 

The church staff was in a continual state of change as a 
result of a number of factors. In September 1949 Carolyn 
McCullough became Director of Youth Work; eighteen months 
later she had moved to another position in another city and no 
replacement was in sight. The first fulltime Church Secretary, 
Mrs. Irby Rodgers, was welcomed to the staff, but in another year 
she had accepted another position. Doris Partlow was then 
employed as the Church Secretary, and Mickey Stephens had 



Harry R.Mays 151 



come to Greenwood as Director of Christian Education. 

By late June 1950 the nation was involved in warfare in 
Korea. Main Street Church members were involved in the 
'ICorean Police Action," but no record exists of the church mem- 
bers who were in military service at that time. The only recorded 
mention of the Korean War is found in the reports of the 
Woman's Society of Christian Service. Several references were 
made to boxes of warm clothing for all ages, but particularly for 
women and babies, that had been sent to South Korea. 

During the summer of 1952 the Vacation Church School 
reported what may be the record enrollment of 201 for this popu- 
lar children's activity. In this decade women from the Woman's 
Society of Christian Service often taught special classes relating 
to foreign mission projects of the church. With such a large atten- 
dance those responsible for the Vacation Church School appreci- 
ated this assistance. 

At the Annual Conference session for 1951 John Shingler 
was appointed as the Greenwood District Superintendent, a 
move that changed his address by only a few blocks in the city. 
The new pastor for Main Street Church was James Foster Lupo 
who, like Shingler, was coming to Main Street Church from 
Bethel Church, Charleston. 

Like his recent predecessors, Lupo saw at once the need 
for more usable space for the congregation in its building com- 
plex. In July 1952, at a called Quarterly Conference, the church 
was authorized to borrow "not more than $52^)" The money 
was to be used to pay an indebtedness on the Moore property, 
and the remainder was to be used for "expansion of the Sunday 
School space." This expansion was designed to move certain 
walls in order to utilize better the existing space. By mid-1953 a 
large lot on Cambridge Street had been obtained from Dr. and 
Mrs. J.C. Scurry for use by the church for parking. At the same 
time a contract was let for a $35,000 addition to the Sunday 
School area. 

During 1954 residents of Greenwood began to realize that 
community life was changing and was far more complicated than 



152 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



some cared to believe. Life within the congregation of Main Street 
Church was reflecting reactions to changes that were pushing dif- 
ficult and often unpopular choices upon the congregation's lead- 
ership. In the late spring the need for a more complex church staff 
was met with the employment of Miriam Alewine as the church's 
Financial Secretary. Although some cherished the idea that only a 
pastor was required to keep the church office functioning, facts 
were proving otherwise. 

The presence of railroad trains moving through the city 
was creating numerous automobile traffic problems. These 
annoying delays in movement began to cause a significant shift 
in the public's thinking about railroads in Greenwood. This atti- 
tude reflected a complete reversal of public opinion from that of 
the past century. 

Another quickly rising problem centered upon the rela- 
tionships between the Black and White races in Greenwood, in 
South Carolina, and in the nation as a whole. The leadership of 
Main Street Church was cautious as it dealt with what could have 
been a very explosive problem. For example, at the 
Administrative Board meeting of September 7, 1954, a resolution 
was offered that would have placed the congregation squarely on 
the side of the maintenance of racial segregation and would have 
opposed all consideration of any effort to move toward the 
desegregation of any agency of Methodism. The Official Board 
listened to the resolution and heard a statement by William H. 
Nicholson, Jr., stating that he thought the resolution was out of 
order. A motion was made that the resolution be adopted, but 
there was no second. As a result, the resolution was accepted 
only as information. It was this level of maturity that would help 
the congregation to pass with some grace through the difficult 
days when "the race question" was on the minds of everyone. 

During the late summer and fall of 1954 an effort was 
begun to organize a new Methodist congregation somewhere in 
Greenwood. Two sites were under consideration. One site was on 
the Abbeville Highway on land that Mr. and Mrs. W.K. Charles, 
Sr., offered to contribute; the other site was in a developing area 



Hany R. Mays 



153 



off the Durst Avenue Extension on land that Mr. and Mrs. Abner 
Stockman agreed to make available. The Stockman site seemed to 
be the most promising at the time, and on Sunday, November 24, 

1954, interested persons met at the home of Mrs. A.P. Sample on 
Durst Avenue Extension. Out of this meeting came a decision to 
develop a new Methodist congregation. On Tuesday, February 1, 

1955, the new congregation was formally organized and selected 
the name of Lupo Methodist Church. 

While much of the congregational leadership's attention 
was focused on the organization of Lupo Church, the women of 
Main Street Church were concentrating on their role as hostess 
for the Annual Meeting of the Conference Woman's Society of 
Christian Service. Such large group meetings had become almost 




Junior Board of Stewards during the pastorate of J. Foster Lupo: 
Walter Marshall Jack Wells, Buddy Bledsoe, Fred Melton, Foster 
Culbreath, Casper Wiggins, Carl Bailey, Oscar Hipp, Bruce 
Higgenbotham, /. Foster Lupo, Alfred Timmerman, Wither Dickert, 
Albert Gambrell, Joe Jackson, Carroll Whatley, Hubert McCary, Jack 
Lazenby, Ken Flinchum, Francis Nicholson, Oscar Vincent, 
Jennings Campbell, John Thompson, Ray Whatley, Clyde Wise. 



154 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



routine for the membership of Main Street Church. No longer did 
these meetings of representatives from across the state and 
beyond elicit any interest on the part of the newspapers, either. 
Greenwood and its citizenry saw itself as a nice small city. 

On Worldwide Communion Sunday, October 13, 1955, a 
fourteen tray sterling silver communion service set was dedicated 
and first used. A gift from Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Featherstone, 
the communion set is a memorial to the Featherstones' parents, 
Mr. and Mrs. John Q. Smith and Judge and Mrs. C.C. 
Featherstone. With the receipt of this gift, the church offered its 
now extra communion service set to Lupo Church, where it 
remains in use. 

Early in 1956 Dr. Lupo was one of a select group of 
Methodist pastors from the United States who went to Cuba both 
to observe the work of the missionaries and to be short-term 
evangelists. When he returned, Lupo reported to the congrega- 
tion some of the needs that he had discovered. One congregation 
he mentioned was located in a small town and had no building in 
which to gather for worship. One of the youth of Main Street 
Church, David Stuart, responded with a gift of a dollar toward 
the cost of a building for that congregation. Using David's action 
as an example. Dr. Lupo challenged the congregation, and in a 
few days the necessary $800 to erect the church building had 
been contributed. The money was promptly sent to the bishop of 
The Methodist Church in Cuba, who soon replied that he and the 
Cuban congregation were delighted and overwhelmed by the 
generosity of the Greenwood congregation. Another letter soon 
followed reporting that the building had been constructed and 
was in use by the grateful Cuban Methodists. 

One of the interesting innovations of the mid-fifties in the 
church's life was what the Woman's Society of Christian Service 
named 'The Senior Roundtable." Designed for the older youth of 
the congregation. The Senior Roundtable met monthly for supper 
and Bible study. The program was funded by the women and 
proved to be so attractive that many adults begged to be allowed 
to come and share in the programs. 



Hany R.Mays 155 



At the Second Quarterly Conference of 1956 it was decid- 
ed to accept a goal of $9,000 to be part of a fund to help Columbia 
College erect a fine arts building and increase the salaries paid 
the faculty. At the same time, it was decided to raise money to 
assist Lupo Church in reducing its indebtedness. The following 
February the Board of Stewards received a letter from Lupo 
Church expressing thanks to the Main Street Church congrega- 
tion for the $5/)00 that had been contributed through this special 
effort. Columbia College also acknowledged with appreciation 
the gift of $9,000 that was the goal set for the support of that 
special need at the College. 

Main Street Church had continued to support the work 
of Bishop Cyrus Dawsey as a missionary in Brazil, but in 1957 
word was received that the Bishop was retiring and would no 
longer need financial support. It was then decided that Mr. and 
Mrs. Robert S. Davis, missionaries to Brazil, would receive the 
congregation's support, and a visit from the Davis family was 
soon scheduled. 

The first century of the congregation's life was about to 
close, and in anticipation of that milestone plans were begun for 
a celebration of the event. There was a desire to freshen up the 
church property and air condition the Sunday School rooms. At 
the Fourth Quarterly Conference, October 9, 1958, the pastor 
reported that the building improvement project had been com- 
pleted. All parts of the church building had been painted, many 
minor repairs had been completed, and air conditioning had 
been provided where needed. The cost had been "just over 
$26,000" and all was in readiness for the celebration of "a century 
of congregational life." 

At that Quarterly Conference Dr. Lupo had announced 
that he would not be returning after Annual Conference. His suc- 
cessor, was to be John Walter Johnson. The Johnsons arrived just 
in time to be caught up in the excitement of the final preparations 
for the congregation's centennial celebration. 

Sunday, December 21, 1958, was designated as the time to 
celebrate the one hundredth anniversary of the founding of the 



156 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Main Street Church congregation. Bishop Nolan B. Harmon was 
the preacher for the day. After lunch W.K. Charles, Sr., spoke on 
the church's century of service, and the presentation was so well 
received that it was later made available in printed form to the 
congregation. After Charles' address a reception was provided by 
the Woman's Society of Christian Service recognizing especially 
the special guests of the day as well as some of the oldest mem- 
bers of the congregation. It was announced that the Amuversary 
Fund, designed to pay for the refurbishing done in anticipation of 
the celebration, had received $29,531.78, and thus all expenses 
had been cared for "in typical Main Street fashion." 

Life in Greenwood was increasingly fast-paced, as the 
resignation of the Director of Christian Education, Myra Davis 
Phillips, reminded the congregation. The Chamber of Commerce 
was often speaking of "a new day in the life of Greenwood," and 
her departure was a graphic illustration of that "new day." The 
company for which Mrs. Davis' husband worked was transfer- 
ring him to another city. Greenwood was no longer a single 
industry city. After World War II the Greenwood Chamber of 
Commerce, working with the South Carolina State Development 
Board, and with the enthusiastic cooperation of James C. Self, had 
begun to seek the location of new industries within Greenwood 
County. Among the first new industries bringing new families to 
Greenwood were Monsanto Company, McGraw-Edison, Moore 
Business Forms, Park Davis and Company, and Neptune Meter 
Company. Main Street Church quickly learned to greet the new- 
comers and to welcome them into the congregational life. To 
embrace new residents as church members meant the recogni- 
tion, also, of the talents and leadership skills of these persons. 
The appearance of many new names among the church records 
attests to the strong contributions coming from the former 
strangers who quickly became "one of us." 

At the May 1961 meeting of the Official Board Walter 
Johnson announced that the installation of a "prayer phone" was 
complete and working. This was a bit of technology just then 
available in Greenwood that enabled the caller to receive a short 



Harry R. Mays 157 



recorded message of encouragement and spiritual guidance. The 
service immediately proved to be popular throughout the com- 
munity, and it was in use at all hours of the day and night. From 
the perspective of a few decades such an innovation seems com- 
monplace, but at the time of the installation the prayer phone 
was viewed as a preview of changes that might quickly come. 

At the Annual Conference of 1961 Samuel Rufus Glenn 
was appointed to be the pastor of Main Street Church. During 
Glenn's pastorate the concept of congregational involvement in 
the world mission of Methodism remained high. Mr. and Mrs. 
Robert Davis, missionaries to Brazil, were receiving annual sup- 
port through a $5,700 mission special gift. The continued support 
of Lupo Church resulted in a gift of $1,200 to assist in a debt 
reduction program. An Annual Conference drive to undergird 
the work of Columbia and Wofford Colleges resulted in another 
special gift of $3/)00 in 1961. 

The congregation decided in 1961 that, in addition to its 
normal budget, a concerted effort would be made to pay all 
indebtedness on the Church's property. The Quarterly 
Conference of October 1, 1963, reported for the record that the 
church debt of $21,587.26 had been paid in full. At the same 
Quarterly Conference W.K. Charles, Sr., shared with the 
Greenwood District Superintendent, W. Harry Chandler, the fact 
that there was "a strong sentiment in the church for the organiza- 
tion of a competitive church." This suggestion was followed in 
later months with plans that would lead to the organization of 
Saint Mark Methodist Church. 

Two actions by the church's Official Board in the sum- 
mer of 1963 indicated some of the issues affecting the lifestyle of 
"the people called Methodists" that were active in the communi- 
ty life in Greenwood. News that a Minit Food Store located near 
the church was seeking a permit to sell beer for consumption on 
the premises led to a quick decision to challenge the granting of 
that permit. The church's challenge was effective at the time, but 
within a few years this would no longer be a matter of congrega- 
tional concern. Such was the changing attitude typical of the fast 



158 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



paced transition of Greenwood's mores and public policies. 

The other issue proved more difficult to handle. The 
Official Board minutes of 1963 note that the ushers had requested 
on several occasions a "policy for the church to follow in case 
representatives from the colored race appear at a Sunday 




Administrative Board during the pastorate of J. Walter Johnson: 
Walter Marshall, Sr., W.K. Charles, Jr., Fred Melton, E.S. Sandel, Jr., 
Cecil Browning, Dr. Paul Massengill, Jack Wells, Clarence Arnold, 
John B. Harris, Gray Moore, Sr., Joe W. Darby, Walter Johnson, 
Ralph Jones, M.L. Murph, Jr., Whitfield Perry, Mabel Jones (Mrs. 
Ralph W.), J. Daniel Hammett, Joe E. Adams, Sr., J.C. Lomas, Mrs. 
W.A. Collins, W.D. Tinsley, Sr., Henry Booker, George McCarthy, 
W.H. Nicholson, Jr., Carrie Wallace (Mrs. B.C.), Ralph Norman, 
Rutledge Hammond, Dr. R.C. Bolen, Julian W. White, Fritz Chester 
Beach, John Shannon, Herman Harling, Earle Griffin, Jr., Albert C. 
Gambrell, Sr., Odell Duvall, Howard Mabry, Dr. Carl Bailey, Bruce 
Higgenbotham, J.L. Hollingsworth, Marshall Leaman, Dr. H.B. 
Odom, Frank Hollingsworth, Woodrow Wilson, Glen Hatfield, Foster 
Culbreath. 



Harry R. Mays 159 



Worship Service/' Finally, at the Board meeting of July 11, 1963, it 
was decided by a 32 to 10 vote that "in the event a person or per- 
sons from the colored race appear at Main Street Methodist 
Church to worship, our ushers be instructed to seat them in the 
right front balcony/' Those who recall this moment indicate that 
it was not generally considered that a satisfactory answer had 
been given to what was a growing community and national 
problem. Certainly one action at that time pointed up the chang- 
ing attitudes toward non-whites. Greenwood's Trinity Church, a 
small congregation that was a part of the all-Black Central 
Jurisdiction of The Methodist Church, was attempting to erect a 
new building. To help in this cause Main Street Church made a 
gift of $1,500 to the Building Fund. 

By 1964 the growing cost of living world-wide had forced 
the Board of Missions of The Methodist Church to increase the 
support of missionaries to $7,500 annually. Locally the church 
faced the gentle inflationary rise that would drive costs in ever 
upward moves for decades to come. At the same time, many 
families in the Greenwood community continued to need varied 
kinds of assistance. The Woman's Society of Christian Service, 
working with the Salvation Army, continued to reach out in 
efforts to help where it was possible. 

Many a member of Main Street Church over the years has 
looked up at the emptiness of the church's bell tower and longed 
to see a peal of bells installed. The Official Board 'looked into the 
purchase of a peal of bells for the bell tower" during the summer 
of 1964. However, at the Board meeting of October 2, 1964, a 
small bell was accepted as a free substitute. A gift from Douglas 
Featherstone, the bell "had been rung at Harper's Ferry on the 
Savannah River." The acceptance of this bell effectively ended the 
move to install a peal of bells. Featherstone later replaced this 
bell with a farm bell. Currently a third bell from a steam locomo- 
tive given by the Ernest McWatty family rings from the tower. 

The parking of automobiles of the Methodist and 
Presbyterian congregations on Sunday mornings along 
Cambridge, Grace and North Main Streets had become an 



160 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



increasingly irritating traffic problem. The churches suggested 
that the police department dispatch someone to assure the 
smooth flow of traffic, but both congregations knew that the only 
effective solution would be enlarged parking lots for both church- 
es. At the time, however, no nearby land was available for such 
much needed expansion. 

Responding to the suggestion that a "competitive congre- 
gation" be organized somewhere in the Greenwood area, the 
Greenwood District Superintendent, W. Harry Chandler, on 
October 8, 1964, asked the congregation's leaders to support a 
plan to establish a new congregation "in the Abbeville Highway 
area." By March of the following year the newly formed congre- 
gation was meeting at the American Legion building on Calhoun 
Avenue. At the September 1964 meeting of the Administrative 
Board it was announced that the new church would be located on 
a 4 1/3 acre site on the 72 Bypass and that the tentative name 
selected was Trinity Church. To follow through on its commit- 
ment of support for the new congregation. Main Street Church 
promised to contribute $5,000 each year for the next two years 
and to pay the interest on the church's debt in the third year. 

At the Annual Conference of 1965 Rufus Glenn was 
appointed to be the Superintendent of the Greenville District, and 
John Madison Younginer, Sr., came to Main Street Church as its 
pastor. One of the signs of the times over the past few years had 
been the increasingly poor attendance at the Sunday evening ser- 
vices. Only a decade earlier Dr. Lupo could report a nearly full 
church on Sunday evenings. To the surprise of no one, however, 
at the Administrative Board meeting of October 14, 1965, it was 
decided that "due to the small attendance at the evening service, 
this service has been discontinued." It was generally conceded 
that this was but another evidence of the changing lifestyle of the 
community, the nation, and the membership of Main Street 
Church. 

Soon after Younginer's arrival the church began to exam- 
ine seriously the recommendation that he and at least five former 
pastors had made concerning the urgent need to devise some 



Harry R.Mays 161 



way to provide a better fellowship hall, to meet some other needs 
in the Sunday School, and to furnish office space. The location of 
the fellowship hall in a basement was seen as a fire hazard, and 
the kitchen was sadly inadequate for the congregational needs. 
Situated in a basement under the pulpit and choir area of the 
sanctuary, the fellowship hall was generally recognized as "total- 
ly inadequate for a congregation of nearly 1^00 members." At its 
meeting on October 13, 1966, the Board agreed that the church 
must begin to plan for the expansion of its educational facilities 
and the increase of available space for the parking of the congre- 
gation's automobiles. Marguerite Stillwell, who had recently 
been employed as the church's Director of Christian Education, 
was asked to begin to accumulate data for the guidance of the 
church as it examined its future building needs. 

Since its construction in 1918 the room designed as a 
chapel had officially been nameless although used from time to 
time by various adult Sunday School classes. At the April 13, 
1967, meeting, the Administrative Board agreed that the name of 
the room should be "The Cokesbury Chapel." This recognized 
the two earliest American Methodist leaders, Francis Asbury and 
Thomas Coke. In addition to pulpit furniture from the second 
building of the congregation, the communion table was hand- 
made from lumber obtained from the Cokesbury School Building 
at nearby Cokesbury. 

At the beginning of the fall semester at Lander College in 
1966 several of the churches of the community, including Main 
Street Church, were operating a "coffee house" for the returning 
students. Coffee Houses were very popular at that time as places 
where older youth and young adults could gather for conversa- 
tion, music appreciation, dancing, dramatic readings of prose 
and poems, and the enjoyment of non-alcoholic beverages. Often 
cooperative coffee processors would provide coffee at a discount 
to assist Coffee Houses to operate. This is an example of the way 
in which the churches of Greenwood often worked cooperatively 
in seeking to help students of Lander College. 

Main Street Church had been assured that Jerry Cook 



162 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



would be appointed as the Associate Minister at the Annual 
Conference of 1965, and therefore a parsonage would be needed. 
As a temporary solution to Cook's need for housing a mobile 
home was obtained for his use. When, at the 1967 Annual 
Conference, Franklin B. Buie was appointed to succeed Jerry 
Cook, the Trustees led the congregation in deciding to purchase, 
at a cost of $19,000, a house in the Westgate Subdivision as a sec- 
ond parsonage. 

Subtle changes were beginning to be noticed in local atti- 
tudes in matters of race relations. One example was the Board's 
unanimous adoption of a recommendation of the church's 
Committee on Christian Social Concerns, chaired by Mrs. R.O. 
"Buddie" Lawton, that read, "That in the field of race relations 
we maintain lines of communications between the races through 
dialogue, mutual cooperation, and recognition of the dignity and 
worth of all men; and further, that a policy of equality of 
opportunity be practiced through church, school, business, and 







1 


pwt 


^'Mt 




1 


1 




-.Lm-- 




m 


^^^^^j 


^^H^ 


tfp^^^ 


^-^ 






1 


H 


h^"^ j^Ki^ 




<<^fl 


p> 


^HJUmH 


^^'CS ^^ 


^w^ 








1 


1 






m 


^ 




1 


' '^^^j 


1 


-J 












j 




^^hS 




1 1 mHI 


t^^^^m 


i f\ 


n 


§/ 


li 




^ i 




H 




HHV % 



Members of the Lola Smith Sunday School Class: Mrs. W.F. Gault, 
Ms. Jessie Ray, Miss Sue Arrington, Mrs. Lola Smith, Miss Leone 
Towles, Mrs. W.A. Teasley, Mrs. E.M. Loyless. 



Hariy R. Mays 



163 




Members of the Featherstone Sunday School Class: John Ledbetter, 
John Shannon, Julian White, Clarence Arnold, Irby Rodgers, George 
Zuspann, Gayle Poe, Lucius Hammett, Dillard Tribble, N.R. 
Whitener, Carl Hare, Lewis Gossett, M.L. Murph, Buck Lawson, 
A.L. Atkinson, Neal Welborn, A.B. Bagwell, Paul Garvin, John 
Shingler, Bruce Higgenbotham, Gene Still, Bill Sandel, George 
Counts, Ray Whatley, Neil Petty, Ned Birchmore, Frank Holroyd, 
Hayden Igleheart, Fred Melton, John Robinson, Bill Turnley, Hubert 
Starling, Bill Godsey, Walter Marshall, Mary Younginer, T.O. 
Copeland, Bryan White, Ruth Seal, Brooks Stuart, Tom Blair, Fritz 
Beach, Theron Underwood, Houston Odom, Bill Coffia, J.D. Stuart, 
Abner P. Stockman, Ned Nicholson, Hardin Camp, Frank White. 

government/' Soon afterwards the Board agreed that ''the jani- 
tors are privileged a place in the sanctuary during worship each 
Sunday and that they be available to the head usher if needed." 

During 1966 rumors began to circulate in Greenwood 
that a group of leaders from the business and medical communi- 
ty were anxious to develop an excellent nursing home for elderly 
persons in need of longterm care. After approaching other 
denominational groups and receiving no encouragement, the 



164 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



group asked the Greenwood District Superintendent, W. Harry 
Chandler, if the Methodists would be interested in their proposal. 
Chandler received the prompt support of Bishop Paul Hardin, Jr., 
and the Board of Hospitals and Homes of the Annual Conference. 
Negotiations began that culminated in the approval on June 8, 
1967, by the Annual Conference of a plan to develop the 
Greenwood Methodist Home. At the same time a statewide 
financial campaign was authorized through the churches to seek 
$500,000 for the Greenwood Home and $1,500,000 for the 
Orangeburg Methodist Home to expand facilities there. In 
August 1967 a nine-person Building Committee for the 
Greenwood project was authorized by the Board of Hospitals and 
Homes, and four were members of Main Street Church: Abner P. 
Stockman, Brooks S. Stuart, Bruce R. Sigmon, and Dr. W.A. 
Klauber. 

At the Official Board meeting of September 7, 1967, John 
Younginer commented that the local campaign effort on behalf of 
the Homes had already received pledges of $12,000 for the 
Greenwood Methodist Home. With a goal of $35,000, Main Street 
Church members pledged more than $37,000 for the Home. At 
the 1968 Annual Conference session Ted R. Morton, Jr., was 
appointed Director of the still undeveloped Home. During that 
year the Building Committee completed plans in anticipation of 
construction of the Nursing Center of the Greenwood Home. The 
first Board of Trustees for the Home was elected at the 1969 
Annual Conference and three members were from Main Street 
Church: Dr. William A. Klauber, Bruce R. Sigmon and Brooks S. 
Stuart. In the ensuing twenty years five other Main Street Church 
members have served on the Home's Board of Trustees. 

Construction on the Nursing Center at the Greenwood 
Methodist Home began during August 1969 and on May 2, 1971, 
the building was opened and dedicated free of debt. The 
$2300,000 building provided beds for 102 residents in private 
rooms. Main Street Church members were especially active and 
generous as the Home was being developed. The Douglas 
Featherstones contributed $50,000 as "seed money." This was 



Harry R. Mays 



165 




Lupo United Methodist Church sponsored by Main Street Church. 




Saint Mark United Methodist Church sponsored by Main Street 
Church. 



166 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



done so that at the 1%7 Annual Conference session it would be 
dear that the support of the Greenwood community in the project 
was genuine. Much of the total cost of the Home came from 
many friends in Greenwood as well as from foundations, local 
businesses and industries, and others outside the community 
solicited by Greenwood residents. The main lobby of the Nursing 
Center was decorated and furnished by the Women's Society of 
Christian Service and the Wesleyan Service Guild of Main Street 
Church. Since the first residents arrived on Thursday, May 19, 
1971, the Greenwood Methodist Home and Main Street Church 
have enjoyed an especially close relationship. Many church mem- 
bers have served in a variety of volunteer capacities. Women's 
circles share activities with the Nursing Center residents. The 
church staff and the choirs of the church cooperate in varied 
activities at the Home, and Sunday School classes give frequent 
special attention to the residents of the nursing facility. 



Chapter 17 

Stm Building 



For some time a Long Range Planning and Development 
Committee had been at work studying various possibilities for 
building and program expansion. Finally, at a Board meeting on 
March 14, 1968, Walter Roark made a motion: 'The Long Range 
Planning and Development Committee be named a Building 
Committee at Quarterly Conference, and that this new 
Committee be authorized to proceed to engage the services of an 
architect and engineer to develop the first phase of our needed 
building program." The Board's response was an enthusiastic 
unanimous vote of approval. It was also decided, again unani- 
mously, that consideration would be given to underground park- 
ing if more land did not become available. 

As soon as the Quarterly Conference gave its approval of 
the proposed building project, Allison Lee, AIA, accepted the 
invitation to be the architect. It was obvious that no plan was 
going to be developed that would be practical until more proper- 
ty contiguous to the present church property along Main Street 
became available. In the meantime, a parcel of land from the Lee 
family estate, located across Cambridge Street from the church, 
was offered for sale to the church. This property, with a footage 
of 152.84 feet along the street, was purchased at a cost of $30,000. 
Quickly more parking was made available; this greatly reduced 



167 



1 68 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



the parking problems for both the Methodist and Presbyterian 
congregations. The entire lot was paved and incorporated into an 
already existing parking area on Cambridge Street. 

Before any construction could begin, the Teasley Scout 
Hut had to be removed, and when the demolition occurred an 
adult Sunday School Qass found itself displaced. The class still 
retains a remembrance of its first meeting place in its name, 'The 
Hut Class." As the Scout Hut was being torn down, some of its 
doors, which had been purchased secondhand when the hut was 
built, were removed and donated for use in the restoration of the 
Cokesbury College building. 

John Miller, a member of the congregation and a student 
at the Duke Divinity School, requested endorsement by the con- 
gregation as a minister of The Methodist Church. At a Special 
Quarterly Conference on March 14, 1968, he received unanimous 
endorsement for Admission on Trial to the South Carolina 
Annual Conference. 

At the Board meeting of April 6, 1970, evidence of the 
continuing work of the Long Range Planning and Development 
Committee appeared. The Committee proposed that a kinder- 
garten program be developed. Preliminary study had convinced 
the Committee of the need for such a program since the public 
school system provided none. After discussion a study of the pos- 
sibility of providing a weekday kindergarten program through 
the church was authorized. A committee was named and given 
the responsibility of implementing this study. 

At the same Board meeting Mrs. R.O. Lawton reported on 
two matters she felt would be of interest to the church. First, she 
told of "a group of women organized as an interracial committee 
to discuss frankly existing local problems in race relations." She 
made it very clear that "the women are not satisfied with the 
slowness of change on the part of too many of the community's 
church, political, and educational leadership." This report was 
"received as information." 

Mrs. Lawton's second report dealt with a need on the 
part of the church to recognize the problems being faced by 



Harry R. Mays 169 



increasing numbers of veterans of the then five-year-old Vietnam 
War. She described some of the considerable emotional difficul- 
ties being encountered by veterans of this particular war. It was 
Mrs. Lawton's plea that eight Vietnam veterans in Greenwood 
"are trying to adapt themselves to living in society again/' and 
that "some of the men of our church invite them to meals or take 
them fishing." No record of the response she received exists, but 
those who knew Buddie Lawton understood how sincere and 
how persistent she was in expecting great things of her church 
and its members. 

The war in Vietnam became more personal to Main Street 
Church when it was announced that Bert Blomquist, a young 
man from the congregation serving in Vietnam, had communicat- 
ed his desire to enter the seminary upon his return from the war. 
He had decided to prepare himself for the ordained ministry of 
The Methodist Qiurch. Later the Board endorsed his enrollment 
at the Duke Divinity School in Durham, North Carolina. Soon 
after he entered the Duke Divinity School the Blomquist family 
moved from Greenwood, Bert Blomquist's church membership 
was transferred, and he became the responsibility of another 
church. 

Two merger events were taking place outside of 
Greenwood at this time that would have an impact upon Main 
Street Church. In 1968, just twenty-nine years after the formation 
of The Methodist Church by a three-church merger. The 
Evangelical and United Brethren Church and The Methodist 
Church merged to form The United Methodist Church. The 
major impact of this merger in Greenwood was the re-naming of 
a few parts of the local church's organizational structure: the 
Quarterly Conference was now the Charge Conference, the 
Official Board became known as the Administrative Board, a new 
organization known as the Council on Ministries was to assume 
the task of developing ways in which the congregation would do 
its work as a part of United Methodism. The Methodist Youth 
Fellowship was renamed The United Methodist Youth 
Fellowship. The Woman's Society of Christian Service was in 



170 Histon/ of Main Street United Methodist Church 



1968 given the name The Women's Society of Christian Service, 
and in 1972 this name was changed to United Methodist Women. 
Such name changes were an aggravation but thought to be neces- 
sary to achieve unity among the disparate parts of the new 
denomination. 

The second merger event involved potentially much 
more that could affect Main Street Church at some future date. 
On June 5, 1972, after five years of negotiating, the all- White 
South Carolina Annual Conference (1785), of which Main Street 
Church was a part, and the all-Black South Carolina Conference 
(1866) became the South Carolina Annual Conference. The two 
dates indicated the years in which the Annual Conferences had 
been organized. This merger ended the official separation by race 
of the United Methodists in South Carolina. It could also mean 
that a local church might have a pastor of either race, and it 
meant that individuals of either race might seek membership in 
any local congregation. 

In the spring of 1970 Dr. Younginer announced his plans 
to retire at the time of the next Annual Conference; he and his 
wife Mary would make their home in Greenwood. The new min- 
ister, James A. Merchant, Jr., came to a congregation ready and 
anxious to become involved in a complex building program and 
the development of a kindergarten program to serve the commu- 
nity. 

The need for additional land was essential before any 
construction could take place. At a Board meeting a few months 
before Merchant's arrival Dr. Casper Wiggins had declared the 
sentiments of the congregation, "We are boxed in at the present 
site due to the lack of foresight on the part of our forebears in 
obtaining property in the area when it was available. I hope the 
present and future generations will be more sensitive, perceptive, 
and willing to spend some money." 

Gray Moore resigned from the Chairmanship of the 
Building Committee to be free to bid on any projected work, and 
Walter Roark was appointed the new Chairman. The Committee 
was then reconstituted as follows: Miriam Alewine, Clarence 



Harry R. Mays 171 



Arnold, A.L. Atkinson, George Ballentine, John B. Harris, Lila 
Massengale, Henrietta Morton, Francis Nicholson, Richard 
Phelps, Fred Powell, Walter Roark, Jr., Kenneth Young, and 
Kenneth Flinchum, ex-officio as Chairman of the Committee on 
Education. 

In 1971 land adjacent to the Church's property on North 
Main Street became available to purchase. At a Church 
Conference on May 27, 1971, it was agreed that the Ernestor 
property be purchased. The final negotiated cost of the property 
was $48,000 with a gift of $25,000 toward that cost coming from 
the Self Foundation. The Building Committee could at last begin 
its work with the knowledge that sufficient land was available 
for the construction anticipated. 

While the Church was moving toward the beginning of 
its planned building project, the life of the congregation contin- 
ued to flourish. In January 1971 Lina Mae Leigh came to serve as 
Director of Christian Education. After an examination of the 
church's present building, the Board of Trustees informed the 
congregation that at least $35,000 was needed to repair the sanc- 
tuary roof, to replace much of the guttering, and to paint all of 
the exterior woodwork of the existing structure. 

The Kindergarten Study Committee had discovered that 
it would be the fall of 1971 at the earliest before a program could 
be put into operation. Some of the pre-operation requirements 
included the necessary certification documents, the development 
of a policy statement, a detailed cost study, development of 
teacher requirements, and the recruitment of qualified teachers. 
In the meantime a careful survey needed to be conducted to 
determine the interest of parents in such a program. The kinder- 
garten finally received Board authorization on July 26, 1972, to 
begin as a self-supporting adjunct to the church's Christian 
Education activities. The first phase was to involve the establish- 
ment of classes for three-and-four-year-old children with the five- 
year-old program to follow once the first two classes were orga- 
nized and operating. Named "The Cheerful Cherub 
Kindergarten," the program came to life in September 1972. 



172 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



The Building Committee moved swiftly once the Emestor 
property had been purchased. At a Church Conference on 
September 9, 1973, the congregation voted 255 to that the pro- 
posed building program should be implemented. On Etecember 
18, 1973, bids were received; the high bid was $724,988.55 and the 
low bid, by the G. E. Moore Company, was $673,157.16. The con- 
tract was signed on January 9, 1974, and site work began immedi- 
ately. The building was completed and occupied on July 13, 1975. 
The final cost was $635,957.16. A proposed elevator had been 
eliminated and some necessary storm drainage added to arrive at 
the final cost. 

While church meetings are notoriously dull and similar, 
there can be exceptions. The meeting of the Administrative Board 
on May 28, 1973, was certainly memorable for all present that 
evening. Board Chairman Clinton Ouzts called the meeting to 
order. After the invocation by the pastor, the acting secretary, 
Kenneth Young, began to read the minutes of the last meeting. 
Young was interrupted by the arrival of Edward Snead with the 
news that he had just heard on his car radio that a tornado had 
been sighted a few miles south of Greenwood and seemed to be 
heading for the city. This announcement led to a quick decision to 
move the meeting to the fellowship hall still situated in the base- 
ment under the choir area of the sanctuary. Once the meeting had 
been called to order in the new location, it was noted that some of 
the members had decided to go to their homes. The reading of 
the minutes was completed. It was announced that the ''ground 
breaking service" for the new building would be October 14, 
1973, at a Homecoming Day celebration. Other items of business 
demanding attention were quickly addressed. Then the minutes 
stated, 'There being no further business, and with a feeling that 
our community had been spared potential destruction from the 
tornado passing over our area, the meeting was adjourned." It 
was later learned that the tornado had gone through a part of the 
Ninety Six community causing extensive damage. 

Although the long-held rule of Methodist pastorates of no 
more than four year's duration had been removed from the Book 



Harry R. Mays 173 



of Discipline in the 1939 creation of The Methodist Church, Main 
Street Church generally continued to adhere to this concept. So it 
was that at Annual Conference, 1975, James Merchant was 
appointed pastor of First Church, Lancaster, and Harry R. Mays 
was appointed by Bishop Edward Tullis to the pastorate of Main 
Street Church. N. Keith Polk, Jr. was appointed to be the 
Associate Minister. Less than six weeks after their arrival, on July 
30, 1975, tragedy struck the church's organization. Clarence 
Arnold, Chairman of the Administrative Board, died unexpected- 
ly as a result of a heart attack. With his death Qinton Ouzts, the 
Board Vice-Chairman, became the new chairman. Gifts in memo- 
ry of Arnold received by the church were used to purchase fur- 
nishings for the soon-to-be-completed building. Later the 
library/conference room was dedicated to the memory of 
Clarence Gilbert Arnold. 

By midsummer work had been finished on the new 
building, and on August 24, 1975, the Service of Consecration 
was conducted. With the additional space available, the various 
groups within the church began to develop plans to utilize the 
opportunities offered by the facility. 

At the August 24, 1975, meeting of the Administrative 
Board Dr. James Cheezem proposed that the Cerebral Palsy Pre- 
school Program be allowed to use a portion of the vacated office 
space for a program for some six to eight small children. The 
Board gave its enthusiastic and unanimous consent for this pro- 
gram to be housed at Main Street Church. 

The congregation realized that until the large debt was 
eliminated, the church had to be careful to keep its financial mat- 
ters under close control. The continued generosity of the mem- 
bership, however, enabled the church to carry out its overall pro- 
gram unabated. Early in September 1975 a Church Conference 
authorized the debt limit to be increased to $525,000 in order to 
adjust for what were called "actual fund expectations." 

Later in September the Board, acting upon the recom- 
mendation of Richard Phelps, Chairman of the Commission on 
Christian Social Concerns, authorized the church's involvement 



174 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



in the re-settlement of a Vietnamese refugee family. The family 
assigned to Main Street Church consisted of Huong Van Hoang, 
the husband and father, Luy, his wife, and children Binh, Minh, 
Tam, Nam, and Dao. A temporary home was rented, furniture 
obtained, and household goods were solicited or purchased. The 
family quickly began to adjust to life in a strange land with a 
strange culture. A special highlight of the experiences with the 
Hoang family came in January 1978 when the brother of Hoang 
was welcomed as an additional refugee sponsored by the church. 
The brother had been one of the 'l3oat people" who fled from 
Vietnam after the United States Army was withdrawn from 
Vietnam. Met at the Greenville-Spartanburg airport by the Hoang 
family and several interested members of the church, Phuong 
Van Hoang was shocked but excited to be met by his brother as 
he stepped off the plane. Although Hoang had suggested that the 
church sponsor his brother, no word could be sent to the the 
brother through the refugee resettlement channels. Phuong Van 
Hoang had known from the time he left the refugee camp in 
Malaysia that he was to go to Greenwood, South Carolina, where 
a Methodist Church would be his sponsor. The presence of family 
members to welcome him was an unexpected delight. The 
Hoangs continued to live in Greenwood until May 1979, when 
they moved to Houston, Texas, where several Vietnamese friends 
had settled. 

A discovery early on the morning of Sunday, December 
29, 1975, shocked everyone who was aware of the close watch 
being kept on the congregation's financial affairs. The boiler used 
to heat the sanctuary and older Sunday School area had become 
unusable and could not be repaired. After hasty preparations in 
the new Fellowship Hall, Morning Worship was conducted there 
that day and for the next two Sundays. A replacement boiler was 
located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Greenwood Motor Lines 
dispatched a truck to bring the new boiler to Greenwood. As the 
congregation's financial leaders observed, this incident meant 
that the church began its new fiscal year with a budget that was 
already more than $7,500 out of balance. 



Hany R. Mays 175 



Early in 1976 the Finance Committee recommended to 
the Administrative Board that a new financial campaign should 
be scheduled. This campaign would seek pledges for the second 
installment of the debt reduction program. For this campaign it 
was decided that professional assistance was advisable, and the 
fund raising service of the National Board of Missions of the 
United Methodist Church was obtained. Dr. and Mrs. Alton 
Miller were assigned to come to Greenwood for several weeks to 
provide guidance. Under their leadership the campaign exceeded 
its goal by several thousand dollars to be given over a two year 
and seven month period, beginning April 1, 1976. 

During the summer of 1976 the Council on Ministries 
became concerned that some in the congregation were losing 
touch with their spiritual base. After discussion and study the 
Council developed the idea of a newsletter to be mailed frequent- 
ly to the congregation. In October the first monthly issue of what 
soon was named The Tie went out to every household. Among 
the items in that first issue was the announcement that Ruth 
Odom, Musette Wilkerson, Buddie Lawton, Robbie Harris, and 
Mary James Davis had been honored for five years of volunteer 
work at the Greenwood Methodist Home. By popular demand 
the volunteer editors decided after three months to produce The 
Tie weekly. 

In October 1976 the congregation was saddened to learn 
that Lina Mae Leigh, then Director of Christian Education, had 
resigned. She was moving to Columbia to be with her elderly 
mother who needed dedicated attention. With Mrs. Leigh's 
departure the Staff /Parish Committee turned to a Board-directed 
study of the replacement plan to follow. 

The Council on Ministries had made a survey during the 
winter of 1976-1977 asking the congregation to list their commu- 
r\ity concerns. One of the community needs noted was that in the 
mobile home parks scattered around Greenwood there were 
many children in need of adult oversight during much of the day. 
Many respondents noted that this need was especially true dur- 
ing the summer months. Working with the approval of the 



1 76 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Administrative Board, and using personnel made available 
through the Summer Investment Program of the Annual 
Conference, a program was developed to use the talents of a col- 
lege student. With the cooperation of two mobile home park 
owners, a six-week pilot program operated during the summer of 
1977. A worker was assigned and hundreds of children respond- 
ed to the programs she offered. Although the program was evalu- 
ated as completely successful, no follow-up was possible because 
the mobile home park owners chose not to cooperate after that 
first year. 

Another of the concerns of the congregation was that 
many of the members were absent from worship on any given 
Sunday. At the suggestion of the Membership and Evangelism 
Commission the Administrative Board approved a second 
Sunday Worship Service to be scheduled at 9 AM. This service 
increased the overall attendance by 15 percent by the end of the 
first year, and it was decided to continue the experiment on a 
year-to-year basis. 

In January 1978 the Commission on Christian Social 
Concerns became involved in a cooperative program with the St. 
Nicholas Speech and Hearing Center to provide movies with 
printed sub^titles for those with hearing impairment. The movies 
were shown in the church fellowship hall on a schedule that was 
convenient for those in Greenwood and nearby communities. It 
was not unusual to have families with hearing impaired persons 
to come from Anderson, Edgefield, Abbeville, and Laurens 
Counties. Volunteers from the congregation, especially the Drake 
Sunday School Class, were on hand to operate the movie equip- 
ment and to provide cold drinks and popcorn for those who 
responded to the program. The Speech and Hearing Center pro- 
vided the specially prepared current movies. All of this was at no 
cost to the viewers. 

Throughout the lifetime of the congregation, individuals 
have been sensitive to the needs of the congregation. On Sunday, 
December 18, 1977, two gifts of ceremonial flags were acknowl- 
edged. A flag of the United States of America was given in honor 



Harry K. Mays \77 



of Fred H. Alewine, Jr., by his children and grandchildren. A flag 
of the United Methodist Church was given in honor of William 
N. Bobo by the A.C. Byrd and I.B. Rodgers families. The congre- 
gation's response in accepting these gifts stated, "We accept these 
gifts to be guarded reverently as cherished additions to the place 
of worship of this congregation." Such also was the case when on 
Sunday, March 26, 1978, a marble baptismal font was received 
and dedicated. The font was the gift of Evelyn Simpson Irwin 
(Mrs. Harry P., Jr.) in memory of her parents, Jennie T. and Taylor 
R. Simpson. In acknowledging the gift of the font it was noted, 
'This gift will be appreciated by the membership of Main Street 
Church as long as the congregation is in existence." 

Other memorial gifts have been equally appreciated. 
Paraments for the communion table and pulpit were given "in 
loving memory of Frank Haden Edwards by his wife and sons 
and Mr. and Mrs. W.C. Edwards." A cross for the communion 
table was given "in loving memory of Joe Adams by Mrs. Joe 
Adams and their sons." An Advent wreath and brass candelabra 
were given "in loving memory of Lovick Winfield and Effie 
Seago Rivers by their daughter, Louise." Qara and Irby Rodgers 
gave the pulpit Bible in honor of their daughters. Sue Arrington 
and Laura Arrington Chovan presented the eternal light in mem- 
ory of their sisters, Frances Arrington Whitlock and Maude 
Arrington Green. At the family's request memorials received in 
memory of Edith Cogburn Ficklin were used to purchase the first 
two octaves of handbells. A decade later a set of children's hand- 
bells was given in memory of John Thomas Ficklin by his chil- 
dren. The silver baptismal pitcher was given in memory of Mrs. 
John Talbert by her sisters. The Tinsley Garden is a living memor- 
ial given by Margaret Tinsley in remembrance of her husband, 
William D. Tinsley. Such continued generosity has been a hall- 
mark of the congregation of Main Street Church. 

The entire congregation was aware of the high cost of the 
debt service necessary to pay for the new building. Despite these 
financial demands, John Sherrill, Chairman of the Finance 
Committee, reported to the Administrative Board at its May 1978 



178 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



meeting that ''the church's financial status is the best that it has 
been in the last five years." In the Board minutes of that year is a 
quote from an unnamed member: "If we study the Director of 
Christian Education situation long enough, we can save that 
salary money year after year as the pastors and the Council on 
Ministries do the work of the DCE." It appears that the emer- 
gency solution was acceptable to all concerned for several years. 
Such are the demands of necessity, the congregational leadership 
decided. 

A hundred years earlier there had been in Southern 
Methodism a strong campaign to erect suitable parsonages for 
every charge to which a pastor was appointed. Responding to 
that campaign, there was in Greenwood a group of women orga- 
nized as "The Parsonage Aid Society." The Society ceased to func- 
tion soon after 1900, but in the 1970s in South Carolina United 
Methodism a new wave of concern developed across the confer- 
ence to establish 'Tarsonage Standards." The Blyth Street parson- 
age had been evaluated by the Parsonage Committee and the 
Staff /Parish Committee, and the combined recommendation was 
that it was time to consider either a drastic remodeling program 
or a replacement of that house as a parsonage. At the moment the 
recommendation could only be received as information, for the 
budget of the church would not permit such action, however nec- 
essary it might seem to some. 

As Christmas 1977 approached, plans were developed to 
conduct a Moravian Love Feast as a part of the Advent obser- 
vance. The Love Feast centers upon a simple meal of a bun and 
strong coffee prepared with large amounts of milk and sugar and 
served to worshipers in the pews during a worship liturgy using 
traditional Moravian music and a candlelighting service. It was 
so well received that it was observed again the following year. 

Early in 1977 Main Street Church was reminded that 
events outside the control of the congregation could drastically 
affect church life. The supply of natural gas available for use in 
the southeastern United States had been severely diminished 
because of several weeks of unusually cold weather. As a result. 



Harry R. Mays 179 



the Greenwood Commission on Public Works sent out a plea for 
every measure possible to be undertaken to reduce the use of nat- 
ural gas for a few weeks. The pastors of Greenwood's First 
Baptist Church, First Presbyterian Church, and Main Street 
Church worked out a plan to utilize the facilities of the First 
Baptist Church, which was heated by fuel oil. In this way the 
Methodist and Presbyterian buildings, heated by natural gas, 
would not be used until the emergency had passed. The Sunday 
morning activities of each church were restricted, and all use of 
the Baptist building on Sunday mornings was placed on a very 
tight schedule. The three congregations joined in the conserva- 
tion program with enthusiastic support. As a result, more than 
two million cubic feet of natural gas was saved weekly. The 
Public Works Commission used this example as a way to drama- 
tize to the whole community the desperate situation faced by its 
customers. Everyone was delighted, however, when by mid- 
March the Commission declared that the emergency had passed 
allowing the three churches to return to familiar schedules in 
their own buildings. 

Under the leadership of Judge Francis Nicholson, in May 
1978, the Commission on Membership and Evangelism agreed to 
have Main Street Church participate in the "New World 
Mission." Selected congregations across the nation were chal- 
lenged to accept a worship leader from outside the United States 
who would come for a short preaching mission. The missioner 
assigned locally was Ivan Chetwynd, a British Methodist pastor. 
He had served for a time as a missionary in Kenya and was "on 
loan" from the British Methodist Church to a Methodist congre- 
gation on Bornholm Island in Denmark. Chetwynd's attractive 
personality and sincere style made his visit unusually well 
received and supported. 

Like other Methodist clergy. District Superintendents 
move at the discretion of the Bishop. At the 1978 Annual 
Conference James Gadsden came to Greenwood as the District 
Superintendent. Gadsden was an example of the process where- 
by the deliberate separation of the races was slowly beginning to 



1 80 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



disappear from American life. As the first Black Greenwood 
District Superintendent, Gadsden quickly proved his abilities 
both as a pastoral leader and as an administrator. The quiet work 
of several members of Main Street Church living in the Cherokee 
Hills sub-division where the District Parsonage was located made 
the transition of the families in the District Parsonage as unevent- 
ful as any other move in and out of that house. After the welcom- 
ing service and reception at Main Street Church involving many 
members from the congregation the Gadsdens settled into life as 
the family of the Greenwood District Superintendent. 

Generally a Sunday Morning Worship Service is pre- 
dictable , but at the early service on Christmas Eve 1978 the unex- 
pected burst upon the congregation. As the service progressed, 
the ushers in the narthex were confronted by two couples; the 
men were dressed in what appeared to be bathrobes with cloth 
wound around their heads in the fashion of Arabs. The women 
wore normal attire. The four declined to be seated, asking that 
they be allowed to "observe the service." As the time for 
announcements in the service arrived, the two men suddenly 
began to walk down the center aisle. The taller man led the way. 
He was followed by the second man who carried a pillow on 
which lay an open book, presumably a Bible. Interrupting Keith 
Polk, the spokesman proclaimed that he had a word from God for 
this congregation and for Greenwood. He began a recitation that 
contained a few Biblical phrases and a good deal of gibberish. 
After a moment an usher moved down the aisle, interrupted the 
speaker, and led the two interlopers back to the narthex. The four 
then quickly walked from the building. The police were notified 
of the visit to Main Street Church, and other Greenwood churches 
were alerted to the possibility of a repeat performance. The 
speaker was recognized by some of the worshipers as a "local 
boy" who had a reputation for using illicit drugs; it was suspect- 
ed that this might explain the visitation. Nevertheless, many 
wondered how it might have been if the visitors had been true 
prophets from God. 

At a called session of the Charge Conference on February 



Harry R.Mays 181 



22, 1979, the District Superintendent, Dr. Gadsden, asked the 
church to endorse Barrett Thomas Alewine as a candidate for the 
ordained ministry of the United Methodist Church. There was 
unanimous support for this request. In this action Alewine 
became the eighth person to enter the ordained ministry of 
Methodism from Main Street Church in what was then its 121st 
year of life. The others were Andrew Jackson Cauthen, Jr., John 
Robert Turner Major, Morris Keener Meadors, Melvin Kelly 
Medlock, William Wallace Fridy, Charles Ray Purdue, and John 
Teague Miller. 



Chapter 18 

Toward Tomorrow 



After another traditional four-year pastorate, Main Street 
Church awaited a new pastor. Needham Williamson was 
appointed at the 1979 Annual Conference by Bishop Edward 
Tullis. With his arrival it was decided that the Williamsons would 
reside temporarily at the Westgate parsonage since there was no 
Associate Minister appointed at that time. A decision then had to 
be made concerning the Blyth Avenue parsonage. Should that 
house be renovated or sold? After a thorough examination of the 
available options the Charge Conference on November 14, 1979, 
approved the sale of the Blyth Avenue house. A few weeks later, 
at a called Charge Conference, a new parsonage, located at 205 
Kenilworth Drive in the Canterbury subdivision, was authorized 
for the Senior Minister. It was announced that, with the funds 
received from the sale of the Blyth Avenue house and extra gifts 
of $38,000, the new parsonage was debt-free. 

While debating parsonage matters, the congregation also 
dealt with other concerns. A community-wide preaching mission 
named ''Key 79" was scheduled for September 16-20, 1979, by 
the Greenwood Ministerial Association. Services were held at 
Greenwood's First Baptist Church, the First Presbyterian Church, 
and Morris Chapel Baptist Church, as well as at the Ninety Six 
High School auditorium. Four guest preachers were invited: Dr. 



182 



Harry R.Mays 183 



Charles Allen, a United Methodist minister from Houston, Texas, 
Dr. Joseph Bethea, a United Methodist District Superintendent 
from Rockingham, North Carolina, Dr. John Redhead, a 
Presbyterian minister from Greensboro, North Carolina, and Dr. 
Alistair Walker, a Baptist minister from Spartanburg, South 
Carolina. Each of these preached at the four sites in rotation. On 
the fifth night everyone gathered at the Greenwood Civic Center 
where Dr. Robert Schuller, Reformed Church of America minister 
from California, was the preacher. The cooperation of so many 
varied congregations created an exciting moment of harmony 
and goodwill. 

Since Needham Williamson had no Associate Minister to 
assist him, he received permission to seek the part-time assis- 
tance of R. Bryce Herbert and John M. Shingler, both retired 
Methodist clergymen affiliated with Main Street Church. These 
two were to work especially in visitation among the church fam- 
ilies. This plan was utilized for several months until May 1980 
when Shingler asked to be relieved and Herbert became a part- 
time staff member as Minister for Visitation. When Lee Patrick 
McDonald joined the staff after the 1980 Annual Conference, she 
became Minister for Programs. In her second year of the Master 
of Divinity program at Candler School of Theology, Emory 
University, in Atlanta, she was married to Neal A. McDonald, Jr., 
pastor of the Zion-Sandy Springs Charge in Anderson County, 
South Carolina. Her schedule was a hectic blending of consider- 
able travel, seminary study, her work at Main Street Church, and 
family time to share with her husband. 

The year 1979 was good for Main Street Church as was 
the following year. Despite the purchase of a new parsonage for 
the Senior Minister and the overall close budgeting made neces- 
sary by the continuing cost of reducing the Building Fund debt, 
the year was closed out with all apportionments and bills paid. A 
$6,500 loan from a Sunday School Class made this possible 

In the spring of 1980 Dr. Steve Ackerman went to a 
remote section of Haiti for a two-week dental mission tour. Upon 
his return Dr. Ackerman reported that he had treated more than 



1 84 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



seven hundred patients in two weeks of arduous daily work. 

For some years concern had been voiced that the stained 
glass windows in the sanctuary might be damaged, either acci- 
dentally or in an act of vandalism. Because of the Tiffany glass 
used in the windows, church leaders had learned that the win- 
dows should be considered irreplaceable. To protect the glass a 
clear material was placed in frameworks outside the windows. 
This installation was completed in September 1981 and was soon 
debt-free. A by-product of this work was a significant saving in 
the cost of heating and cooling that area of the building. 

When Lee McDonald resigned from the staff in mid-sum- 
mer 1982 the church again began to search for a staff person who 
could assume responsibility for the church programing. Mary 
Teasley Unrue, granddaughter of Mrs. W.A. Teasley of the con- 
gregation, was transferred from the Trenton-McKendree Charge 
to be Associate Minister for Programing on the Church Staff 
effective October 1, 1982. 

In an effort to acquaint more members with the wide 
spectrum of missional involvement of United Methodism, many 
of the smaller apportionment items were made available to the 
Sunday School Classes as possible projects. This led to a widen- 
ing interest in the projects of United Methodist Volunteers in 
Mission. In the summer of 1984 a team of fourteen workers from 
the congregation volunteered to go to Bennettsville and McColl, 
South Carolina, to help with rebuilding efforts after a tornado 
damaged many homes in that area. Greg Shelley headed the team 
that consisted of Joe Chandler, Lynn Dukes, David Dumont, Bill 
Garrison, Adrienne Hutton, Rudy Powell, Richard Pinckney, 
Jesse Rice, Mike Unrue, Bill Wilkerson, Shannon Wilkerson, 
Glenn Williams, and Lawrence Williamson. 

The pastors were facing a growing need for assistance in 
counseling persons who sought the church's help in personal 
matters. In January 1984 a special counseling service was estab- 
lished with Sam Marcengill, a member of the congregation and a 
Staff Counselor at the Beckman Mental Health Center in 
Greenwood, as counselor. He was available at the church two 



Harry R. Mays 185 



evenings a week. Although a small fee was charged, based upon 
the individual's income, no one was refused assistance because of 
an inability to pay. The response was immediate and apprecia- 
tive; soon Marcengill was averaging thirty-five to forty sessions 
each month. 

One of the more emotional moments in a congregation's 
life comes when it must face the fact that a long-organized 
Sunday School Class can no longer function because of the death 
or illness of many class members. Such a fate was recognized 
when, in April 1985, the Lola Smith Sunday School Class decided 
to disband. Organized as a young ladies class during the somber 
days of World War I, the class was originally known as the 
Featherstone Ladies Class in honor of its teacher, the late Judge 
C.C. Featherstone. When Judge Featherstone died, Lola Smith 
became the teacher and soon the class was renamed to honor this 
fine lady who taught the class for several decades. The room 
occupied by the class was adjacent to the east transept of the 
sanctuary and is now used as a bride's room and as a family 
room preceding funerals. 

At the 1979 Annual Conference session a Pensions 
Crusade was approved that began in 1980 and closed with the 
Annual Conference session of 1985. Main Street Church was chal- 
lenged to accept a goal of $39,000. This amount was made a part 
of the budget rather than being the basis of an effort to raise 
funds by solicitation within the congregation. At the end of the 
crusade Main Street Church had raised a total of $41,141 includ- 
ing some special gifts. The Crusade money was used to reduce 
the unfunded liability of the Annual Conference for its clergy 
retirement program. 

At the 1985 Annual Conference Bishop Roy C. Clark 
appointed C.J. Lupo, Jr., as the pastor for Main Street Church 
with Mary Teasley Unrue continuing as Associate Minister. Since 
Lupo had served as the Greenwood District Superintendent from 
1974 to 1978, he and his wife Vera were welcomed as old friends. 

An indication of some of the changes taking place within 
United Methodism was the first maternity leave ever granted to a 



1 86 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 




First parsonage owned by Greenwood Methodist Church; it was built 
in 1871. 




Senior Minister's parsonage since 1980. 



Hany R. Mays 187 



Main Street pastor; on October 2, 1985, Mary Teasley Unrue gave 
birth to a daughter, Sara Wade. The congregation rejoiced with 
the parents in this special moment, another "first" for the 
Church. 

Remembering how the congregation had responded in 
the past, the Council on Ministries asked that a Moravian Love 
Feast again be made a part of the church's Advent celebration. 
Vera Lupo, who had headed the committee when the first 
Moravian Love Feast was celebrated in 1977, consented to help 
organize this special worship service. The congregation filled the 
sanctuary and continues to appreciate what is now an annual 
observance. 

William Bobo, who had been the church organist for 
more than thirty years, retired from that post on the last Sunday 
in January 1986. At his retirement ceremony a plaque recognizing 
his contribution to the church read in part: 

Praise we the great of heart and mind. 
Musicians sweetly gifted. 
Whose music like a mighty wind 
The souls of men uplifted. 

As a symbol of Bobo's retirement, the shoes he had worn while 
playing the organ were placed on permanent display in the 
church archives. 

For most of the life of Main Street Church, when funds 
were needed for maintenance and repairs of the church property, 
the congregation faced a special extra fundraising effort. The pas- 
tor suggested that a Foundation be established that could pro- 
duce funds to help in such a time of need. After some months of 
preliminary work, the Main Street United Methodist Church 
Foundation was organized in January 1986. This was an 
eleemosynary foundation, chartered by the Secretary of State of 
South Carolina, and was organized "for the purpose of receiving 
gifts and legacies, the earned income of which is to be used for 
the maintenance and improvement of the physical properties of 



188 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



the church." The Foundation began with $36,000 in assets, 
$25,000 being a gift from the estate of Christine and Douglas 
Featherstone, and two anonymous gifts of $6,000 and $5,000. 
Quite soon a legacy of $4,186.95 from the estate of Sadie Sheridan 
was received to be added to the Foundation's assets. After a peri- 
od when church members were invited to make gifts to the 
Foundation as Charter Members, on January 1, 1987, the 
Foundation had assets of $72,407. 

After a decade of fiscal struggles, in January 1985 the final 
payments were made on the debt incurred when the latest build- 
ing program of the church had taken place. As John Sherrill had 
characterized the situation when he was Chairman of the Finance 
Committee, "Until that debt is paid off we are destined to have 
nervous Novembers and desperate Decembers as we attempt to 
raise sufficient funds to cover the debt payments, our congrega- 
tional operations, and the Annual Conference apportionments." 
The debt was now history, and on Sunday, June 1, 1986, a large 
Homecoming Day congregation witnessed a traditional "mort- 
gage burning." Now the congregation felt that it could turn to 
developing programs that had been wished for but had been 
financially impossible over the past decade. To the amazement of 
many, at the end of 1986 a surplus of $20,000 remained after 
every financial obligation of the congregation had been met. That 
balance was divided between a variety of worldwide special mis- 
sion projects and some local projects. 

At Annual Conference 1986, Mary Teasley Unrue received 
an appointment as Associate Minister at Aldersgate Church, 
Greenville, and Paul Frey was appointed as Main Street Church's 
new Associate Minister. He was to divide his time between 
studying at the School of Theology at Erskine College in Due 
West, South Carolina, and his work at Main Street Church. Until 
he completed seminary Frey was to give the youth of the church 
his special attention. 

As a way to encourage the congregation's knowledge of 
each other, during the summer of 1986 coffee, juice, and finger 
foods were made available in the fellowship hall each Sunday 



Harry R.Mays 189 



before Sunday School. This period proved to be so popular that 
by September the pre-Sunday School coffee time had been 
enlarged to a complete breakfast. Bob Harmon, the church's 
Director of Maintenance and an experienced chef, became 
responsible for the meal's preparation. The congregational 
response created a much appreciated time for fellowship among 
the members. 

During the summer of 1986 the air conditioning system 
for the sanctuary became an increasing maintenance problem. 
The system was designed to use huge quantities of water that 
was dumped into the city's storm drainage system after one time 
of use. Following a detailed analysis, the Trustees recommended 
that the system be replaced by one that did not require water. At 
the same time the Trustees were authorized to contract with the 
M.P. Moller Company of Hagerstown, Maryland, to rebuild the 
organ console and add several new organ stops that would place 
342 new pipes in the instrument. When the console was ready to 
be put in place, the choir loft had been rearranged in a configura- 
tion with the organist seated directly behind the preacher's seat 
enabling one person both to play the organ and to direct the choir 
if that was necessary. 

Greenwood citizens had become increasingly aware that 
the city had many of the so-called "street people," homeless indi- 
viduals often without any way to obtain adequate food to eat. 
Several of the Greenwood churches united their efforts in the 
summer of 1987 to provide at least a noon meal on weekdays for 
each unfortunate resident of the city. The Episcopal Church of the 
Resurrection volunteered to house the Soup Kitchen. Serving per- 
sonnel were drawn from volunteers representing many congre- 
gations including Main Street Church. Funds for the Soup 
Kitchen come from many sources including gifts from individu- 
als, Sunday School Classes, and the participating churches. 

At the end of December 1987 the Board of Trustees of the 
Main Street Church Foundation reported that the Foundation 
had ninety-eight charter members. Assets totaled $109,139.07. 
The Board of Trustees was not ready to allocate any funds at that 



190 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



time, preferring instead that the funds be allowed to earn more 
before any allocations began. 

Another Homecoming Day was observed in 1988 with Dr. 
Wallace Fridy, a son of the church now retired from the United 
Methodist ministry, as the guest preacher. A highlight of the cele- 
bration was a reunion of "The Travelers." While Lina Mae Leigh 
was the Director of Christian Education, she had organized a 
group of high school girls who sang the music of that day to the 
accompaniment of guitars. The members were now young career 
women, and some were married and mothers. The congregation 
enjoyed the presence of "The Travelers" almost as much as the 
members themselves. They were Martha Tinsley Beaudrot, 
Priscilla Gallegly Hackney, Nan Roark Harding, Kathy Cheezem 
Henderson, Christie Young Maund, Lisa Schulze Smith and Cile 
Kinard Williamson. The women of the congregation have con- 
tinued their tradition of involvement with mission projects in 
Greenwood and in far off places. Lois Elkin, for example, in 1988, 
went to Jacquimeyes, Dominican Republic, as the representative 
of Main Street Church to help conduct a Vacation Bible School in 
conjunction with a Volunteers in Mission project that was con- 
structing a church building for the Methodists in that small town. 
She worked through an interpreter to lead a daily program that 
involved more than a hundred children. She found it necessary to 
have a double session of the Bible School in order to accommo- 
date all of the interested children. 

Since 1878, when the Woman's Foreign Missionary 
Society was organized in South Carolina, twenty-three women 
have served as president of the Annual Conference women's 
organization. Three of those state-wide leaders have come from 
Main Street Church. Helen Bourne was twice elected to serve. In 
1928 Mrs. Alonzo Keller served for one year. At the 1988 Annual 
Meeting of the United Methodist Women, Harriet Mays became 
the third Main Street member to be elected the Conference presi- 
dent. 

This information highlights a frequently overlooked fact 
in the life of Main Street Church. Congregational members have 



Harry R. Mays 191 



often had significant roles in Annual Conference matters. At the 
1935 session of the Annual Conference W. C. Holroyd began a 
five year term of service as the Conference Treasurer and was 
responsible for the receiving and disbursing of all Annual 
Conference funds. George C. Hodges was three times a delegate 
to General Conference, C.C. Featherstone and W.K. Charles were 
each elected twice as delegates to General Conference, and 
Harriet A. Mays was elected once a delegate to General 
Conference. J. P. Wharton was three times a delegate to 
Jurisdictional Conference; W.H. Nicholson, Jr., was twice a dele- 
gate to Jurisdictional Conference, while W.K. Charles and E. Don 
Herd were each elected once as delegates to Jurisdictional 
Conference. Ann Drake and Harriet A. Mays were elected alter- 
nate delegates to Jurisdictional Conference. One pastor, C.J. 
Lupo, Jr., was elected a delegate to General Conference. All 
through the twentieth century members and pastors of Main 
Street Church have served with distinction as members of 
Boards, Commissions, and Committees of the larger parts of 
organized Methodism. 

EHiring Advent 1988 'The Hanging of the Greens," a dra- 
matic evening program involving the church's choirs and a large 
cast of workers, was introduced to the congregation by Paul and 
Ruth Ann Frey. At the conclusion of the evening's program, the 
decorations of the season had been put in place throughout the 
sanctuary. This program, combined with the observance of the 
Moravian Love Feast the following Sunday, made the Advent 
Season especially meaningful. The congregation now looks for- 
ward to this combination of programs to focus attention upon the 
meaning of Advent. 

For some years the Church Trustees had known of the 
need for the now seventy-year-old building's exterior to be 
cleaned and the mortar joints re-pointed. Because of the expense 
involved, this was a project that had been continually delayed. In 
1989 the Trustees of the Foundation advised the Church Trustees 
that funds could be provided for this most necessary work. In 
June 1989 the church's exterior was cleaned, repaired and given a 



192 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



sparkling, fresh appearance. 

Just after midnight, Friday, September 22, 1989, Hurricane 
Hugo came ashore between Charleston and Myrtle Beach causing 
damage in South Carolina estimated at several billion dollars. 
The Annual Conference Disaster Assistance Team began to devel- 
op programs to enable local churches to respond in many ways. 
A few days after the storm hit, for example, Fred and Miriam 
Alewine, Bill and Jeanette Godsey, and Mike and Zella Williams, 
went to Charleston to work with the American Red Cross in a 
door-to-door survey of the city's affected areas. George 
Ballentine, Sr., and James W. Wade went to St. George to do the 
same work for the Red Cross. They checked for damage, pre- 
pared written descriptions of what they saw, and made estimates 
of the repair costs. Responding to the news of one hurricane- 
stricken community, Joe Chandler carried a truckload of much 
needed ice and other emergency supplies to Summerville. Within 
the first week after the storm, the church had already sent $4,645 
to assist in purchasing relief supplies. After the first week, the 
church's response was blended into the Greenwood community 
response. This response involved collecting food and clothing, 
building supplies, and other emergency materials to be sent to 
various collection points in the area of the storm damage. A year 
later Volunteers in Mission teams were still being recruited, and 
youth, working through the Salkehatchie Summer Service pro- 
gram, were helping repair and rebuild homes damaged by the 
hurricane. 

During February 1990 Main Street Church eased into the 
computer age with the receipt of an anonymous gift of an 
IBM /PC that enabled the church office to handle all financial 
records, membership records, and church correspondence. 

The Greenwood Methodist Home had been growing in 
the last few years. In the spring of 1990 more than 150 persons 
had become residents of the Home's retirement community 
known as Heritage Hills. Since a large number of these new resi- 
dents were choosing Main Street Church as their church home in 
Greenwood, the Council on Ministries developed a program 



Harry R. Mays 193 



where the church furnished drivers from the congregation to 
operate the Home's bus and provide transportation to Sunday 
School and Morning Worship at Main Street Church and other 
churches in the community. 

When the sanctuary was completed in 1918, the plans 
included a glass screen to separate the narthex from the build- 
ing's nave. For some reason this screen was not installed. When 
Harry and Evelyn Irwin met with Dr. Lupo to discuss an appro- 
priate memorial for Dr. Irwin's parents, the pastor suggested this 
screen to them. The Irwins chose this memorial, and with the 
placement of stained glass a dramatic divider was created 
between the seated congregation and those entering the narthex. 
This beautiful gift is a memorial to Harry Penrose Irwin and Ruth 
B. Irwin. 

In the early spring of 1990, the C.J. Lupos surprised and 
shocked the congregation with the announcement that he would 
retire at the time of Annual Conference. When Bishop Joseph 
Bethea appointed the new pastor for Main Street Church, Carlos 
Owen Gardner, Jr., became the forty-seventh pastor of the congre- 
gation. It is to this pastor that the congregation now looks for 
leadership as the church and its members, in the traditional lan- 
guage of John Wesley, seek to "go on toward perfection." 

The Methodist appointment system for its pastors creates 
a convenient way to measure events within the life span of a con- 
gregation. When Methodism was transplanted to the American 
colonies, that process of frequently matching preachers and con- 
gregations became a vital and unique part of American 
Methodism. The first General Superintendent, or Bishop, as 
Francis Asbury preferred to be called, would annually decide in a 
dictatorial fashion where the preachers would be assigned for 
their pastoral duties in the coming year. This process resulted in 
the placing of unusual importance on Annual Conference in the 
eyes of local Methodist Churches and individual Methodist peo- 
ple. At Annual Conference time excitement builds as congrega- 
tions wonder who will be their new preacher. It is this succession 
of a congregation's preachers that has provided the framework 



194 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



for this history of Main Street Church. 

Each new pastor brings a particular blend of gifts and 
graces. These attributes merge with the aspirations of the congre- 
gation, providing for a significant interplay. This human experi- 
ence, combined with a recognition of the presence of God's Holy 
Spirit, makes a group of people into a true part of the Body of 
Christ. Surely this is basic and fundamental to all that this book 
has reported about the life of Main Street Church since 1858. 

Pastors come to serve congregations as fellow travelers 
on the journey of faith which John Wesley named ''going on 
toward perfection." This means that pastors, like all other 
Christians, can have all of the feelings and needs and hopes and 
fears known to congregational members. During Operation 
Desert Storm Douglas Gardner was among the United States mil- 
itary forces dispatched to Saudi Arabia. His father confessed in a 
sermon how effective the people of Main Street Church were in 
helping "persons who are hurting and suffering. You have been 





m] 












u 




i 


'^ ^h '' 




^"^tM^tk^hFyf ' 


-^ 


li?^'' 


1 


-ne:-- 


^ 


^* 


J 


'i-S' 




^^ 


^ 




1^^ 


V 




V 


jm 



The future of Main Street Church. Children's Time at Sunday 
Morning Worship. 



Harry R. Mays 195 



to me, to my wife Suzanne, and to our son God's people. You 
have enabled us to wait with hope. What a wonderful thing it is 
that you as a people of God do for us and for others in so many 
wonderful ways." To the congregation this is a simple statement 
of what it has sought to be since its organization. 

By God's grace Main Street Church will continue to 
thrive as people called Methodists respond to the Divine Call to 
"Come, follow me." The history of Main Street Church does not 
end at the close of this narrative. Carlos Gardner symbolizes a 
task to be accomplished that should never come to completion. 
As the Confirmation liturgy declares, 'The church is of God, and 
will be preserved to the end of time." So be it. Amen and Amen. 



Appendix I 

GREENWOOD METHODIST CHURCH 

REGISTER OF MEMBERS 

area 1900 

[NOTE: This membership roll was apparently compiled about 1898 and was in use until 
1901. TTie dates and spellings shown are as they appear in the record. Those names 
with no date beside them may have been (1) among the earliest members of the congre- 
gation or (2) among those for whom no correct date was known. Do not assume that 
condition (1) applies to a given name without a date.] 



NAME 



DATE RECEIVED 



NAME 



DATE RECEIVED 



Agnew, Jno. E. 
Agnew, Emma 
Anderson, Wesley 0. 
Anderson, Amanda E. 
Anderson, W. L. 
Anderson, Mrs. S. D. 
Anderson, Oscar 
Anderson, Mary 
Auk), Oland 
Aukj, Frederk^k 
AukJ, Mrs. Emma 
AuM, Mary L 
AuM, Man^in 
Andrews, Mrs. Emma 
Andrews, Simms 
Andrews, Lee 
Austin, W. G. 
Austin, Mrs. Nannie 
Austin, Lillian (Aldrick) 
Austin, James H. 
Austin, Wm Wade 
AukJ, Mrs. MatikJa 
Addis, J. Pk:kens 
Addis, Mary E. 
Addis, Lucy 0. (Cromer) 
Anderson, H. A. 



Oct. 23, 1887 
Oct. 23, 1887 



Nov. 1898 

Nov. 1898 

Nov. 1898 

Nov. 1898 

Jan. 19, 1889 

Jan. 19, 1889 

Sep. 19, 1894 

Sep. 19, 1894 

Sep. 19, 1894 

Mar. 29, 1891 

July 30, 1893 

July 30, 1893 

Dec. 24, 1891 

Dec. 24, 1891 

Dec. 24, 1891 

Dec. 24, 1891 

May 1896 

July 1884 

Jan. 15, 1899 

Jan. 15, 1899 

Jan. 15, 1899 

July 1899 



Alexander, Mrs. D. B. 

Brooks, J. P. 
Brooks, Mrs. Alice 
Brooks, D. Lemar 
Brooks, Jas C. 
Brooks, Nola 
Brooks, Jennie 
Boulware, Nannie H. 
Beacham, Jeff D. 
Beacham, Mrs. Adda 0. 
Blackwell, J. H. 
Blackwell, Mrs. M. L 
Boyd, H. B. 
Boyd, H. J. 
Boyd, Lillie 
Boyd, Gertrude 
Black, Mrs. E. J. 
Boswell, Mrs. M. A. 
Boswell, Ellis 
Boswell, Sallie 
Boswell, Minnie 
Bowers, Mrs. Ola 
Black, Sarah 
Blair, Mrs. Emma 
Beacham, Mirtle 



May 28, 1990 

Mar. 6, 1892 

Jan. 3, 1892 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Dec. 22, 1892 

May 14, 1893 

May 14, 1893 

Feb. 4, 1897 

Feb. 4, 1897 

Jan. 29, 1899 

Jan. 29, 1899 

Jan. 29. 1899 

Jan. 29, 1899 

Jan. 6, 1900 

Dec. 21, 1899 

Dec. 21, 1899 

Dec. 21, 1899 

Dec. 21, 1899 

Dec. 21. 1899 

Nov. 1900 

Jan. 15, 1901 

1901 



197 



198 



History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Beacham, Nellie 


Nov. 1901 


Chipley, Thos. J. 


Jan. 22, 1899 


Byrd,T.B. 


Nov. 1901 


Chipley, Isabella A. 


Jan. 22, 1899 


Byrd.S.S. 


Nov. 1901 


Cooper, Mattie A. 


Mar. 1899 


Byrd, R. W. 


Nov. 1901 


Cooper, Mary T. 


Mar. 1899 


Byrd, Lily 


Nov. 1901 


Cooper, Prissey (White, J. F.) Mar. 1 899 






Clay, John W. 


Apr. 1899 


Cobb, Mrs. Louisa A. 




Child, Mrs. Maggie A. 


Apr. 1899 


Cobb, Eula 


July 1884 


Child, Minnie 


Apr. 1899 


Cobb.McN 


Dec. 24, 1888 


Child, E. Earle 


Apr. 1899 


Cobb, Eugene E. 


Dec. 24, 1888 


Child. Lizzie 


Apr. 1899 


Cason, M. Alice 


Jan. 2, 1889 


Child, Eva B. 


Apr. 1899 


Cason, Minnie E. 


Mar. 2, 1890 


Conner, E. C. 


Mar. 1900 


Coleman, Mrs. L C. 


May 25, 1890 


Conner, Mrs. E. C. (Kate M 


.) Mar. 1900 


Coleman, Armand 


May 25, 1890 


Conner, Alice 


Mar. 1900 


Coleman, Wm D. 


Jan. 29, 1893 


Conner, Carrie Lou 


Mar. 1900 


Chipley, J. S. 


Jan. 1891 


Conner, Mrs. 


Nov. 12, 1900 


Chipley, Jno. 


Mar 29, 1891 


Cooper, Mattie 


June 1900 


Chipley, Mrs. Maggie 


Oct. 23, 1887 


Conner, J. M. 


Jan. 1,1901 


Chipley, Mrs. Bessie C. 


Mar. 19, 1893 


Cureton, R. H. 


Nov. 1901 


Chipley, Bessie B (Harris) 


Mar. 19, 1893 


Cureton, Mrs. M. B. 


Nov. 1901 


Chipley, Marion 


Sep. 4, 1893 






Chipley, Thos. 


Sep. 4, 1893 


Davis, Jas. F. 




Chipley, B. L. 


June 1896 


Davis, Mrs. Rosa S. 


Mar. 9, 1894 


Chipley, Mary Sue 


June 1896 


Darnell, H. M. 


Mar. 9, 1894 


Chipley, Robt Lee 


June 1896 


Darnell, Minnie (Mrs. Strunch)Mar. 9, 1894 


Chipley, Marvin 


June 1896 


Darnell, Annie 


Mar. 9, 1894 


Cobb, Mrs. Sudie B. 


Apr. 12, 1892 


Ducket, Mrs. M. E. 


Oct. 6, 1889 


Coleman, Richard G. 


Sep. 24, 1893 


Dargan, Mrs. A. H. 




Coleman, Mrs. Mamie 


Feb. 24, 1896 


Dorn, J. C. 


Jan. 15. 1899 


Clem, John H. 


May 3, 1896 


Davis, W. A. 


Jan. 20. 1901 


Clem, Mrs. L 


May 3, 1896 


Davis, Mrs. W. A. 


Jan. 20, 1901 


Clem, Rosa (Parkman) 


June 1896 


Dibble, Dr. E. M. 


1900 


Clem, Miss E. E. 


June 1896 






Coleman, L.M. 


June 1896 


Epting, Mrs. W. A. 


1896 


Coleman, Cora L 


June 1896 


Epting, Ethel 


June 1896 


Clyde, W. A. 


Nov. 28, 1897 


Evans, F. S. 


Oct. 4, 1901 


Clyde, Mrs. Ella M. 


1882 






Carter, C. P. 


Nov. 1898 


Forshe, Mrs. Eldora 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Carter, Mrs. Julia J. 


Nov. 1898 


Furgurson, J. W. 


1901 


Carter, Rosa 


Nov. 1898 


Furgurson, Mrs. M. J. 


1901 





Harry R. Mays 


199 






Harmon, Carrie Lou 


Jan. 1896 


Gaoe,A.A. 




Harmon, Maggie 


Jan. 1896 


Gage, Mrs. Emma 


Feb. 16, 1890 


Harmon. Geo. T. 


Jan. 1896 


Greene, Mrs. Mary L 




Hays. Mrs. Alma B. 


Jan. 1896 


Greene, Emma (Rev. B. R. 




Hardy, J. E. 


Nov. 1898 


Turnipseed) 


Oct. 23, 1887 


Hart, Geo. A. 


Nov. 1898 


Greene. Wightman 


Jan. 29. 1893 


Harper, Miss Sallie B. 


Nov. 1898 


Greene, Walter K. 


Jan. 29, 1893 


Hinton, J. R. 


July 18, 1899 


Green, Mrs. Hellen 


Nov. 12, 1892 


Hammond, G. C. 


Apr. 1900 


Golding, J. R. 




Hutchinson. Mrs. Annie 


1901 


Gambrell,W.G. 


Jan. 22. 1895 


Huiet, Miss Ida 




Gambrell, Hellen C. 


May. 1896 


Huiett, Miss Sarah 




Giles, Sue E. 


Oct. 1898 






Graham, N. M. 


Aug. 6, 1899 


Iter, Alonzo 


June 1896 


Graham, J. L. 


Aug. 6. 1899 


Her, Abbie 


June 1896 


Graham, Miss Providence 


Aug. 6, 1899 


Iter, W. B. 


June 1896 


Greene, Nellie 


1900 


Iter, Mrs. Susan 


June 1897 


Grant, R. A. 


1901 


Her. Heltena 


June 1897 


Grant, Mrs. R. A. 


1901 


Her, Isabella 


June 1897 


GrantldelleA. 


1901 






Gambrell, J. C. 


Nov. 1901 


Jester, D. W. 


Feb. 29, 1896 


Gambrell, Mrs. W. K. 


Nov. 1901 


Jester, Mrs. E. M. 


Feb. 29, 1896 


Goddord.J.E. 


Dec. 16. 1901 


Jester, M. A. 


Feb. 1897 






Jester, Sallie A. 


Feb. 1897 


Hodges, Geo. C. 




Jester, Jesste Bill 


Feb. 1897 


Hodges, Julia 


July 20, 1884 


Jester, Leonidae 


Feb. 1897 


Hodges, Gabriella 


Jan. 31, 1888 


Johnson, J. J. 


1899 


Hodges, Mrs. Geo. C. 


Nov. 13, 1892 


Jenkins, N. 0. 


Nov. 19, 1896 


Hodges, Hal W. 


Jan. 27, 1893 


Jenkins, Mrs. M. T. 


Nov. 19, 1896 


Hodges, Geo. C. Jr. 


Jan. 27, 1893 


Johnson, R. B. 




Hodges, Susie 


June 20, 1897 


Johnson, Mrs. Anna R. 




Hartzog, H. Graham 


Jan. 14, 1887 


Jenkins, J. G. 


Jan. 6, 1900 


Hartzog, Anna T. 


Jan. 14, 1887 


Jenkins, Mrs. L S. 


Jan. 6, 1900 


Huiet, Geo. F. 


Mar. 25, 1896 


Jenkins, Mrs. M.E. 


Jan. 6, 1896 


Huiet, Mrs. Alice 


Mar. 25, 1896 


Jester, Nina 


Nov. 1900 


Huiet, Jno. H. 


Nov. 1898 






Home, Geo. 


Feb. 22. 1896 


Keller, J. Frank 


Aug. 30. 1891 


Home, Mrs. S. L. 


Feb. 22, 1896 


Keller, Mrs. Dora 


Aug. 30, 1891 


Harmon, Mrs. M. L 


Jan. 1896 


Keller, Jas. F., Jr. 


June 1896 


Harmon, Lavinia 


Jan. 1896 


Kennerley, W. J. R. 


June 5, 1892 



200 



History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Kennerley, Julia C. 


July 30, 1893 


Morris, Susie 


Sept. 17, 1890 


Klim, Mrs. Lida A. 


May 1884 


Morris, Paul 


Feb. 26, 1893 


Kelly, Mrs. Susan 


Nov. 1898 


Morris, Rosa C. 


June 1896 


Kirton, L L 


Jan. 1900 


Miller. Rev. J. T. 


Dec. 11. 1892 


Kirton.W.O'B. 


Jan. 1900 


Miller, Mrs. Emma 


Dec. 11. 1892 






Miller, Eustace 


Dec. 11, 1892 


Langley, J. B. 


Feb. 22, 1896 


Miller, Lottie 


Dec. 11, 1892 


Langley, Mrs. J. 8. 


Feb. 22, 1896 


Miller, Norman 


Dec. 11, 1892 


Lott, Sam1 R. 


Jan. 1,1896 


Medlock, Sallie J. 


May 28. 1898 


Lent, Jessie 


Jan. 29, 1899 


Manley, M. E. 


Feb. 19. 1896 


Lot, William 


1898 


Manley, Mrs. Mary 


Feb. 19, 1896 






Manley, W. C. 


Nov. 16. 1896 


Major, S. G. 


1878 


Manley, M. G. 


Nov. 16, 1896 


M^r, Mrs. Matilda 


1878 


Manley, Marie 


Nov. 16, 1896 


Major, Eliza M. 


1878 


Manley, W. J. 


Nov. 16, 1896 


Major, Annie E. 


May 1884 


McCarthey, F. S. 


Jan. 1891 


Major, Nannie 1. 


May 1884 


McCarthey, Mrs. F. J. 


Feb. 11, 1896 


Major, Jno. M. 


Oct. 1888 


Milligan, Mrs. A. A. 


Jan. 10, 1896 


Major, Lou Ella 




McMillen,J.T. 


1898 


Major, Carlisle 




McKissick, Jno. E. 


Nov. 1898 


M^r, Robt. M. 


Jan. 1884 


Meriwether, Mrs. A. E. 


Nov. 1898 


M^r, Mary Lou 




Meriwether, W. A. 


Nov. 1898 


Major, Joe M. 


Sept. 1897 


McKellar, Mrs. Ida 


Oct. 1885 


Major, M.E. 


Sepl 1897 


Masters, J. D. 


Nov. 29, 1898 


Major,J.R.T. 


Sept. 1897 


Masters, Margaret H. 


Nov. 29, 1898 


Major, C. L. 


Sept. 1897 


Masters, Lillie 


Nov. 29, 1898 


McGhee, Miss Julia 




Masters, J. A. 


Nov. 29, 1898 


McGhee.S.H. 




Masters, M. L 


Nov. 29, 1898 


McGhee, Hellen 


Mar. 15, 1891 


McDowell, Mrs. Sdota 


Feb. 5, 1894 


McGhee, Frank 


Mar. 15, 1891 


Maxwell, Jno. L 


Jan. 10, 1899 


McGhee, Rutledge 


Jan. 29, 1893 


Maxwell, Nannie E. 


Jan. 10, 1899 


McGhee, Abner H. 


Feb. 26, 1893 


McKenzie, J. K. 


Jan. 15, 1899 


McGhee, Mary 


July 1897 


McKenzie, S. A. E. 


Jan. 15, 1899 


Medlock, Jas. T. 




Miller, Mrs. Florence 


Jan. 29, 1899 


Medlock, Mrs. Kate 




Meriwether, Wallen(?) 


March 1899 


Moore, Louis M. 


Jan. 10, 1889 


McKellar, Peter 


April 16, 1899 


Moore, Mrs. Emma B. 


Jan. 10, 1889 


McKellar, Nora V. 


April 16, 1899 


Murphy, Mrs. Susan 


May 18, 1889 


Manly, Laura E. 


June 22, 1899 


Morris, A. A. 


Sept. 17, 1890 


McKenzie, T. B. 


Jan. 15, 1900 


Morris, Mrs. Janie M. 


Sept. 17, 1890 


Morris, Udia(?) 


June 1900 





Harry 


R. Mays 


201 


Magiil, Bessie 


Nov. 1900 


Sample, Bouiware 




McCoy, J. W. 


Jan. 5, 1901 


Simmons, Jno. M. 




McCoy. Mrs. J. W. 


Jan. 5, 1901 


Sturkey, P. L 


Oct. 4, 1891 


Major, Lewis 


1901 


Sturkey, Mrs. Carrie S. 


Oct. 4, 1891 


Moore, Edwin 


1901 


Sturkey, Edgar L. 


Oct. 4, 1891 


McCarthy, Anderson 


1901 


Sturkey, Ethel 


Jan. 17, 1892 


Magiil, Mrs. D. H. 




Sturkey, Raymond D. 


Sept. 24, 1893 


Magiil, Kate 




South, J. H. 


Apr. 21, 1893 


Manly, Walter J. 




South, Mrs. Alice 


Apr. 21. 1893 






South, Christeen 


Sept. 24, 1893 


Ouzts, J. A. 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Seago, Jno. D. 


1897 


Ouzts, Kella L. 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Seago, Ella P. 


1897 


Ouzts, Eulala 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Stackhouse, W. F. 


1897 


Ouzts, Ernest 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Sheridan, F. M. 


1897 


Ouzts, Wilmer 


Feb. 5, 1894 


Sheridan, Mrs. T. P. 


1897 


Owens, Wister 


1896 


Sadler, Mrs. Eliza 


Nov. 1898 


Oxner, H. C. 


June 1,1896 


Sanders, Mrs. Annie 




Oxner, N. E. 


June 1,1896 


Sturkey, Alma 


1901 


Ouzts, Martha B. 


June 1,1896 






Ouzts, Volenea E. 


June 1,1896 


Turner, Mrs. Emma T. 




Ouzts, John 


June 1,1896 


Turner, Saml. S. 


Nov. 1890 






Turner, Mrs. Eunice 


Nov. 1890 


Pemt)erton, Mrs. Fannie 


Mar. 2, 1890 


Turner, Capers 


July 30, 1893 


Phillips, J. F. 


Jan. 18, 1900 


Turner, Runett M. 


June 1.1896 


Plummer 


June 1900 


Turnipseed, Mrs. M. T. 




Plummer, Mrs. 


June 1900 


Turnipseed, L. A. 




Pucket,W.S. 




Talbert, Mrs. Jas. 


Jan. 1900 


Rampy, Geo. W. 




Waller, Cadmus G. 




Rampy, Mrs. C. M. 


Dec. 29, 1890 


Waller, M. Emma 




Rampy, Mamie E. 


May 1884 


Waller, Coleman B. 


Mar. 1884 


Rushton, Miss Floride 


Nov. 1898 


Waller, Daisey 


Oct. 10, 1886 


Rhame, C. C. 


Mar. 26, 1899 


Walker, T.H. 


Aug. 15, 1886 


Rushton, David 


1901 


Walker, Ella C. 




Rushton, Shadie 


1901 


Wilkinson, Chars. E. 




Rushton, Theododa 


1901 


Wilkinson, Catherine L 








Wilkinson, Johnsie 


Mar.15,1891 


Sample, Jno. B. 




Wilkinson, Daisey 


Oct. 16, 1892 


Sample, J. Blane 




Watson, W. H. 


Jan. 19, 1889 


Sample, Mrs. Mary E. 




Watson, Anna R. 


Jan. 19, 1889 



202 



History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Watson, Thos. H. 
Watson, Matilda T. 
Watson, Jana B. 
Watson, Willie R. 
Watson, Alphius 
Watson, H. Shorter 
Ward, Mrs. Mary 
Ward, Jonas 
Watson, A. C. 
Watson, Mrs. R. E. 
Watson, Maud 
Watson, Fay 



Jan. 19, 1889 

Oct. 6, 1889 

Aug. 17, 1890 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Feb. 26, 1893 

Jan. 1894 

May 30, 1896 

May 30, 1896 

Dec. 1,1897 

Dec. 1,1897 

Dec. 1.1897 

Dec. 1,1897 



Wrigtit,W.T. 
Wtiitlock,W.H. 
Whitlock, Mrs. Nora 
Wilson, J. K. 
Wilson. Mrs. C.V. 
Wood, J. R. 
Wood. Mrs. J. R. 
Watson, Mrs. Thos. H. 
Watson, Mary G. 
Wharton, J. B. 
Wharton, Mrs. J. B. 
Wharton, Floride 



Jan. 29, 1899 

Jan. 29, 1899 

Jan. 29. 1899 

Jan. 15. 1900 

Jan. 15. 1900 

Dec. 21. 1899 

Dec. 21. 1899 

Feb. 1900 

Nov. 1900 

Nov. 1901 

Nov. 1901 

Nov. 1901 



Appendix II 

MINISTERS 

GREENWOOD METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH 1858 • 1908 

MAIN STREET METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH 1908 - 1939 

MAIN STREET METHODIST CHURCH 1939 - 1968 

MAIN STREET UNITED METHODIST CHURCH 1968 - 1992 



APPOINTMENT AND YEAR 
NINETY SIX CIRCUIT 



PASTOR IN CHARGE 



1858-1859 
1860-1862 



COKESBURY CIRCUIT 



William H. Lawton 
John Mason Carlisle 
Samuel Barskdale Jones, 
Supernumerary 



1863 



1864 



1865-1866 

1867-1868 

1869 

1870 

1871 

GREENWOOD CIRCUIT 



John Mason Carlisle 
Samuel Barksdale Jones, 
Supernumerary 
Lewis Manna Little 
Samuel Barksdale Jones, 
Supernumerary 
William Pledger Mouzon 
James T. Kilgo 
W. S. Black 
John A. Mood 
John Wesley Murray 



1872-1873 

1874-1875 

1876-1877 

1878 

1879 

1880-1881 

1882-1883 



William M. Hutto 
John Wesley Murray 
Robert Porter Franks 
Richard D. Smart 
John Alexander Porter 
William Carr Power 
Rot)ert Newton Wells 



203 



204 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



1 884 - 1 886 William Anson Rogers 

1887-1888 Frederick Auld 

1889 John Marcellus Steadman 

GREENWOOD STATION (with Tranquil Church) 

1 890 - 1 891 Robert Edgar Stackhouse 

1892 Pierce Fleming Kilgo 

GREENWOOD CHURCH 

1893 William Henry Hodges 

1 894 - 1 895 Artemas Briggs Watson 
1896-1898 Marion Dargan 

1 899 Rufus Alexander Child 

1 900 - 1 901 Preston Lafayette Kirton 

1 902 - 1 905 William Augustus Massebeau 

1 906 - 1 908 Melvin Bookman Kelly 

MAIN STREET CHURCH 

1909 Melvin Bookman Kelly 

1910-1913 James W. Kilgo 

1914-1917 Loring Price McGee 

1918-1921 Barnwell Rhett Tumipseed 

1922 Alexander Nelson Brunson 

1 922 - 1 926 Francis Eldon Dibble 

1 926 - 1 929 William Butler Garrett 

1 929 - 1 932 Edward Robert Mason 

1 932 - 1 936 Raymond Lee Holroyd 

1936 - 1941 Lemuel Edgar Wiggins 

1 941 - 1 945 Fritz Chester Beach 

1945-1947 William Louie Mullikin 

1 947 - 1 95 1 John Monroe Shingler 

1951 - 1957 James Foster Lupo 

1 957 - 1 961 John Walter Johnson 

1 961 - 1 965 Samuel Rufus Glenn 

1 965 - 1 970 John Madison Younginer, Sr. 

1 970 - 1 975 James Adelbert Merchant 

1975-1979 Harry Roy Mays 



Harry R.Mays 205 



1 979 - 1 985 Needham Rodgers Williamson 

1 985 - 1 989 Clinton Jones Lupo, Jr. 

1 989 - Carios Owen Gardner, Jr. 



NOTES: 

1 . Until the twentieth century, appointment years and calendar years coincided. 

2. Samuel Barksdale Jones served as interim pastor on two occasions when John 
Mason Carlisle served as a chaplain with Confederate Army troops. 

3. While William Louie Mullikin was ill during his pastorate, Dr. J. Marvin Rast and the 
Rev. Fred Colley Owen, President and Assistant to the President respectively at Lander 
College, provided both "pastoral and preaching service" for Main Street Church. 



Ministers 





W.H. Lawton 



J. M. Carlisle 



S. B. Jones 





L. M. Little 



W. P. Mouzon 



J.T.Kilgo 





W. S. Black 



J. A. Mood 



J. W. Murray 



Harry R. Mays 



207 



No Photo 
Avaiable 





W. M. Hutto 



R. P. Franks 



R. D. Smart 





J. A. Porter 



W. C. Power 



R. N. Wells 





W. A. Rogers 



F. Auld 



J. M. Steadman 



208 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 




R. E. Stackhouse 



P. F. Kilgo 



W. H. Hodges 





A. B. Watson 



M. Dargan 



R. A. Child 




P. L. Kirton 



W. A. Massebeau 



M. B. Kelly 



Harry R. Mays 



209 




J. W. Kilgo 




L. P. McGee 



B. R. Turnipseed 





A. N. Brunson 



F. E. Dibble 



W. B. Garrett 




E. R. Mason 



R. L. Holroyd 



L. E. Wiggins 



210 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 





F. C. Beach 



W. L. Mullikin J. M. Shingler 





J. F. Lupo 



J. W. Johnson 



S. R. Glenn 






J. M. Younginer, Sr. J. A. Merchant 



H. R. Mays 



Harry R. Mays 



211 





N. R. Williamson 



C. J. Lupo, Jr. 



C. 0. Gardner, Jr. 



ASSOCIATE MINISTERS 
UNDER APPOINTMEhTT BY THE BISHOP 



APPOINTMENT YEAR 



ASSOCIATE MINISTER 



1965-1966 
1967-1970 
1971-1972 
1973-1974 
1975-1978 
1980-1981 
1982-1985 
1986-1991 



Jerry 0. Cook 

Franklin B. Buie 

Rutledge Dantzler Sheridan, Jr. 

William H. Felder 

N. Keith Polk, Jr. 

Lee Patrick McDonald 

Mary Teasley Unrue 

Paul D. Prey 



Associate Ministers 



No Photo 
Available 





J. Cook 



F. B. Buie 



R. D. Sheridan, Jr. 





N. K. Polk, Jr. 



L. McDonald 




M. V. Teasley-Unrue 



P. D. Frey 



Appendix III 

VETERANS OF WORLD WARS 

Following are lists of members of Main Street Church who have served in two World 
Wars. No such lists of members who served in the Civil War, the Spanish American 
War, the Korean War, or the Vietnam War are available. 



World War I 



Edgar Alexander 
T. Loryea Alexander 
Bradford Arrington 
Hubard R. Ashmore 
C. A. Ballentine 
James C. Banister 
Frank Beacham 
Charles M. Biain 
Joseph M. Blain 
J. C. Bowen 
Horace Brinson 
Thomas Bullock 
Robert Chipley 
Earl Cobb 
Julian W. Coleman 
Karl Coleman 
Leiand Abney Coleman 
Whit Conneley 
Graham P. Curry 
Olin M. Dantzler 
Rev. Marion Dargan, Jr. 
William H. Dargan 
James 0. Duffie 
Howard Ellis 

John Douglas Featherstone 
Lionell Fouche 
Broadus Foy 
George W. Furqueron 
T. Benjamin Greneker 
George Harper 
Motte Hartzog 



James Furman Herbert 
Thomas Carlisle Herbert 
Rev. R. W. Humphries 
Clifford Jay 
William Kilgo Jay 
Joe G. Jenkins 
Ralph S. Jenkins 
John W. Jennings 
Alvin Jester 
Clyde D. Keller 
Harold S. Kennerly 
William Julian Kennerly 
Benjamin L. Kilgo 
Charles E. Klugh 
Dr. G. F. Klugh 
Charles F. B. Major 
Ira B. Major 
Dr. J. L. Marshall 
Eugene McDonald 
Archibald McMahan 
Robert T. Medlock 
S. Louis Major 
James Curtis Miller 
Gray E. Moore 
William A. Moore 
Edwin F. Moseley 
John Abney Payne 
Joel Pinson 
J. W. Scott, Jr. 
Hugo G. Sheridan 
Olin Shirley 



213 



214 



History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Walker Shirley 
Dr. John F. Simmons 
W. T. Spragens 
Joe Sprott 
Thomas T. Sprott 
George Sullivan 
H. P. Sutherlin 
James Teddards 
All)ert Lee Timmerman 
Bryce W. Tolbert 
J. C. Towles 
Samuel Turner 
Clyde Ward 
Willie Odell Ward 



A. C. Watson, Jr. 
Ray Watson 
Claude Welch 
Earie M. Wharton 
James P. Wharton 
Joe Pinson Wharton 
Whitfield Carlisle Wharton 
Leonard F. Whitlock 
R.H.Whitlock 
Charles Williams 
Talmage Wix 
Louis B. Wright 
*Frank Yates 
*Killed on Mexican Border 



World War II 



Effie Ariail Adams 
John C. Agnew, Jr. 
Sam A. Agnew, Jr. 
Herbert L. Allen 
William C. Alston, Jr. 
Hazel B. Anderson 
John McLaurin Appelt 
Charlie E. Ariail 
Eugene F. Arnold 
Richard E. Arnold 
John R. Ballentine 
George B. Beach 
Jerrold W. Beach 
John W. Bledsoe 
James P. Boulware, Jr. 
William Grier Bowers 
Elbert H. Bowie 
Cecil 0. Browning 
Samuel I. Buist, Jr. 
Carl Bulbck 
Robert M. Bullock 
Marion Leon Byrd 
Talmadge P. Callison 
Smith Hardin Camp 



William K. Charles, Jr. 
James Bradley Chiles 
Robert L. Chipley, Jr. 
Dacus E. Clark 
Lander M. Clegg 
Wiley L. Cronic 
Morton E. Davis 
Carl F. Dickert 
Wilbur Wesley Dickert 
James Madison Edwards 
Capers M. Gambrell 
Sue Gambrell 
William M. Gambrell 
James W. Gardner 
Clyde F. Gan-en, Jr. 
James H. Godfrey 
Gladstone Goggans, Jr. 
Paul Welch Goggans 
Joseph J. Greene 
James Carlisle Griffin 
*lrvin V. Griffin, Jr. 
John Ray Griffin 
Marvin Reynolds Griffin 
Frank J. Haddon, Jr. 



Harry R. Mays 



215 



Clement C. Hall, Jr. 
Herman Boyd Harting 
John B. Harris, Jr. 
Wesley B. Harris 
James F. Hatchell 
*Clyde Franklin Henderson 
William Eugene Henderson 
Furman P. Hipp 
Benjamin M. Hollingsworth, Jr. 
Chartes Walton Hollingsworth 
Egl)ert W. Hollingsworth 
Frank W. Hollingsworth 
Sarah Hollingsworth 
John H. Huiet 
Clifton Tyrah Jay, Jr. 
Leslie C. Jay 
John Raymond Jolly 
David Thomas Joyce 
John Wharton Keller 
Man/in A. Keller 
E. P. Latimer 
E. D. Law 
Jack Lawrence 
John M. Lawrence 
Rot)ert 0. Lawton, Jr. 
John William Ledt)etter 
Elliott M. Loyless, Jr. 
Herman W. Mabry, Jr. 
Thomas R. Major 
Benjamin F. Mart}ert 
Fred S. Martin 
John Allen Mason 
Andrew Cauthen Matthews 
James 0. Matthews, Jr. 
Ben R. Moye 
*Olin S. Munnerlyn, Jr. 
Wesley S. Murph 
Sam L. McCleskey, Jr. 
Henry D. McGhee 
Doris McKinney 



Henry E. McKinney, Jr. 
William Izlar McKinney 
W.T.McLeod 
J. Cecil McMahan 
S. E. McMillan 
Thomas Harold McNeill 
Benjamin E. Nicholson 
John C. Norris 
*aeveland M. Ouzts 
H. Graham Patton 
*John Saxon Payne 
J. Matthew Pinson 
Ernest Carlton Rabom 
L. Roy Rabom 
W. Curtis Reams 
Jack Rice, Jr. 
Walter Roy Ridlehuber 
Leonard Rykard 
Robert H. Rykard 
Clarence Thomas Scott 
James C. Self, Jr. 
Charles W. Smith 
Jack C. Smith 
Maryan H. Smith 
Edward K. Snead, Jr. 
Frank P. Stadler 
John T. Stone 
*Henry M. Taylor 
Thomas T. Taylor 
William Aaron Taylor 
Ralph W. Tharpe 
C. Y. Thomason, Jr. 
Herbert A. Thompson 
Heyward Earl Thompson 
William H. Timmerman, Jr. 
George Robert Towles 
Howard Towles 
Eddie M. Vaughn, Jr. 
John A. Walker 
J. B.Walker, Jr. 



21 6 Histoiy of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Richard H. Wallace M. Garrett Williams 

John A. Wells Elliott A. Williford 

W. Carlisle Wharton, Jr. Martin C. Wise. Jr. 

Julian W. White, Jr. Truman L. Witt 

Rol)ert W. White Sam M. Youngblood, Jr. 
Charles Lewis Williams 

Joseph Yates Williams * Gold Star Names 



Bibliography 

A. LOCAL CHURCH RECORDS 

Until 1889 no congregational records of consequence exist. As the church moved 
toward station status Church Conference, Quarterly Conference, and forms of expected 
church records are available. It is known that some older records were lost through a 
general lack of concern on the part of some in the church for the preservation of such 
documents. For example, George Hodges wrote in the Advocate tiefore the twentieth 
century that the lx)ok containing Church Conference reports from 1858 until atwut 1890 
had been lost through the carelessness of an unnamed church memt)er who failed to 
realize the value of this item. 

Nevertheless, it is fair to say that after 1890 a good supply of documentation from 
the church records was available for research. 

B. NEWSPAPERS EXAMINED 

Greenwood Times 

Greenwood Tribune 

Greenwood Light 

Greenwood Index 

Greenwood Journal 

Greenwood Index-Journal 

Edgefield Advertiser 

Abbeville Press and Banner 

Abbeville Independent Press 

Southern Christian Advocate 

South Carolina Methodist Advocate 

South Carolina United Methodist Advocate 

C. ANNUAL CONFERENCE JOURNALS 

Journals of the South Carolina Annual Conference, The Methodist Episcopal Church, 

South 
Journals of the Upper South Carolina Annual Conference, The Methodist Episcopal 

Church, South 
Journals of the Upper South Carolina Annual Conference, The Methodist Church 



217 



21 8 History of Main Street United Methodist Church 



Journals of the South Carolina Annual Conference, The Methodist Church 
Journals of the South Carolina Annual Conference, The United Methodist Church 

D. BOOKS OF DISCIPLINE 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, South 

The Methodist Church 

The United Methodist Church 

E. BOOKS OF METHODIST HISTORY 

Betts, A. D. History of South Carolina Metiiodism. The Advocate Press, 1952. 
Charles, W. K., Sr. History of Main Street Churcti, Greenwood. Soutti Carolina, 1858- 

1958. 1958. 
Chreitzburg, A. M. Early h4ethodism in the Carolinas. Publishing House of The Methodist 

Episcopal Church, South, 1897. 
Herd, E. Don,Jr. Mount Ariel— Cokesbury, South Carolina. A Biography of an Ufxx)untry 

Utopian Community. Volume I: Tat)ernacle-Mount Ariel, 1788-1834. Volume II: 

Cokesbury, 1835-1860. Volume III: Cokesbury, 1861-1918. 1979. 
Huff, Archie Vernon, Jr. History of South Carolina United Methodism. The Print Shop, 

1984. 
Potts, J. Manning, Editor. The Journal and Letters of Francis Asbury, (3 volumes). The 

Methodist Publishing House, 1958. 
Shipp, A. M. The History of Methodism in South Carolina. Southern Methodist 

Publishing House, 1884. 

F. GREENWOOD HISTORY BOOKS 

Calhoun, C. M. History of Greenwood. Index Job Print, No date. 
Calhoun, C. M. Uberty Dethroned. Index Job Print, 1903. 
Robinson, G. 0. The Character of Quality R. L. Bryan Company, 1964. 
Watson, Margaret. Greenwood County Sketches —Old Roads and Early Families. The 
Attic Press, 1982. 

G. OTHER SPECIALIZED TEXTS 

Baker, Mary Neal. The Economic History of Abbeville District, 1860-1876. (Unpublished 
thesis written in partial fulfillment of a Master of Arts Degree at the University 
of South Carolina.) 

Butler, Mrs. F.A. History of the Women's Foreign Missionary Society, The M.E. Church. 



Harry R. Mays 219 



South. 1904. 
Carlton, D. L. Mill and Town in South Carolina, 1880-1920. University of South Carolina 

Press, 1967. 
Smitti, Alfred Glaze, Jr. Economic Readjustment of an Old Cotton State: South Carolina. 

University of South Carolina Press, 1965. 
Stokes, Ftev. A. J. The Epiphany of Women. 1902. 

H. OTHER GREENWOOD HISTORICAL ITEMS 

'Our Old Roads." (A series of newspaper columns written by Harry Legare Watson and 
published between August 18, 1940, and Febnjary 4, 1950, in the Greenwood 
Index-Journal.) 

Cemetery Records of Greenwood Cemetery, East Cambridge Street, and Magnolia 

Cemetery, Magnolia Avenue, Greenwood, S.C. (An unpublished inventory pre- 
pared by the Old Ninety Six Genealogical Society, Greenwood, S. C.) 

First Annual Catalogue, 1848, Fuller Institute, Greenwood, S.C. 

Catalogue of Hodges Institute for 1858, Greenwood, S.C. 

I. OTHER DOCUMENTS 

The Cokesbury District Journal, The South Carolina Annual Conference, The Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, 1867-1897. (A manuscript record of the annual District 
Conference sessions.) 

Fifteen Reasons for Selecting Greenwood as the Site for Columbia College. (A brochure 
prepared during the effort to have Columbia College moved to Greenwood.) 



Index 



Abbeville Circuit 26 
Ackerman, Dr. Steve, 183 
Adams, Joe, 177 
Alewine, Barrett Thomas, 181 
Alewine.FredH..177,192 
Alewine, Miriam, 152, 170, 192 
Alexander, Agnes, 109 
Allen, Dr. Charles, 182,183 
Anderson, H. A., 105 
Anderson, Mrs. W.E, 45 
Andrews, J. L, 87,89 
Andrews.J.S.,119,129 
Annual Conference, 79, 81, 82, 83, 

112,126 
Annual Conference, entertainment 

of, 1898, 79-84; 1919, 112; 

1932, 124; 1935, 126; 1943, 

139:1944,142 
Annual Conference Woman's 

Foreign Missionary Sodety, 

entertainment of, 54-55 
Arnold, Clarence Gilbert, 150, 1 70- 

171,173 
Amngton,Sue, 177 
Asbury, Bishop Francis, 18, 29, 

161.193 
Atkinson, A.L, 171 
Auld, Frederick. 53, 54, 55, 66, 74 
AukJ, Mrs. Olin, 94 
Averill,C.N.,35 

B 

Bailey, James A., 27,31 

Bailey, Mary Hodges (Mrs. Samuel 

A.), 27, 29 
Bailey, R.A., 27 
Bailey Military Institute. 120 
Ballentine, George, Sr., 171, 192 
Beach, Fritz Chester, 136. 137, 

138,142,143,145 
Beaty, F.L,120 
Beaudrot, Martha Tinsley. 190 
Bennett, Dr. R.H., 120 
Bethea, Dr. Joseph, 183 



Bethea, Nettie. 62 

Blake.R.P.,87,89 

Blayk)ck, Charles D., 117 

Bkxnquist Bert 169 

Bk>w,J.H.,36 

Bobo, William, N., 177, 187 

Bourne. Mrs. Helen, 45. 190 

Brown, Manning, 31 

Buie, Franklin B., 162 

Byrd,A.C.,177 

Byrd, Mrs. Elizabeth (Eliza), 26, 27, 

29 
Byrd. Captain Thomas B.. 29-30 



Calhoun. Mrs. Anna, 35 
Calhoun, Dr. Franklin Ramsey, 30 
Campbell, J.B., 67 
Campbell, Mrs. J.P., 71 
Campground, the Methodist 23 
Candler, Bishop Asa. 98 
Cariisle, John Mason, 26, 31 . 32, 

33, 34, 37 
Games, Jacinta, 134, 138 
Cauthen, Andrew Jackson, Jr., 61, 

181 
Centenary Fund, 111,115 
Chandler,Joe,184,192 
Chandler, W.Harry, 157, 160, 164 
Chapel, the, 22, 24 
Charles, W.K.Sr.. 128. 129. 145. 

146,152,156,157,191 
Charies,Mrs.W.K.,Sr.,152 
Cheerful Chenjb Kindergarten, 171 
Cheezem, Dr. James, 1 73 
Chetwynd, Ivan, 1 79 
ChikJ, Rufus Alexander, 84, 85, 86, 

87.88 
Chipley,J.S.,80,95 
Chipley, Marvin S.. 105. 113 
Chovan. Laura Arrington. 1 77 
Church Extension, Board of, 64, 

114,115 
Church Extensbn, General Board 

of. 95 



Claric. Bishop Roy C, 185 
Class meetings, 28, 51 
Clyde. WA. 80 
Clyde, Mrs. W.A., 45 
Cobb. Eliza, 45 
Cobb.LtR.S.,35 
Coke, Thomas, 161 
Cokesbury (Mount Ariel), South 

Carolina, 19 
Cokesbury Chapel, 161 
Cokesbury Circuit 26, 31 , 32, 37, 

41,42.60 
Collins, Mrs. MittieF.. 125 
Columbia Female College. 34, 87 
Conner, George, 18 
Cook, Jerry, 161 
Cunningham, J.C, 120 

D 

Dargan, Anna Hicklin (Mrs. 

Marion), 69 
Dargan, Edina, 69 
Dargan, Marion, 67, 69, 70. 71, 74. 

78.84 
Dargan, Marion. Jr., 69 
Dargan, William, 69 
Dariington, Bishop U.V.W.. 112 
Davis, G.W., 58 
Davis, James F., 27, 35, 58, 62, 64, 

75,80,91,96,115,142 
Davis, Mrs. James F., 45 
Davis, Roberts., 155, 157 
Davis, Mrs. Robert 155, 157 
Dawsey, Bishop Cyms, 155 
Deaconess (Miss Lucy Epps), 101- 

103 
Deadwyler, Mrs. C.A., 100 
Dibble, F.E., 116, 117. 118 
Donnelly. S.T.. 35 
Drake, Ann, 191 

Drake Sunday School Class, 1 76 
Dukes, Lynn, 184 
Dumont David. 184 
Dunbar. F.F.. 61, 62 
Dunbar and Mays, 64 



220 



Duncan, Bishop William Wallace, 

55,82 
DuPre, D.C., 87 
DurstJ.K.,54,86,87 
Durst William C, 56, 60 
Durst, William Lowndes, 86 



Edfvards, Frank Haden, 1 77 

Elkin, Lois, 190 

Elliott, Mrs. J.M., 134, 137 

Episcopalians, 72 

Epps, Miss Lucy. 101-103 

Epting,Dr.R.B.,62.80,87,89 

Epting, Mrs. R.B., 96 

Epwortti League, 73, 75, 130, 133, 

141 
Evans.CaplF.S.,9294.99 
Evans, S.R., 87 



Featherstone, Judge C.C, 88, 105, 

112,115,154,185,191 
Feattierstone, Mrs.C.C.,154 
Featherstone, J. Douglas, 128, 

129,154,159,164,188 
Featherstone, Christine (Mrs. J. 

Douglas), 154, 188 
Fellowship Class, 144 
Ficklin, Edith Coglxifn, 177 
Ficklin, John Thomas, 177 
Rinchum, Kenneth, 171 
Ford, A.M., 75 
Foster, James, 17 
Frey, Paul, 188, 191 
Frey, Ruth Ann, 191 
Frkly, Dr. William Wallace, 181, 

190 
Fuller, H.F.. 53 
FullerlnstituteforGirls,22,31,53 



Gadsden, Dr. James, 179, 180, 

181 
Gage,A.A.,58,64 
Gaml)rell,J.B.,128.129,131,144 
Gambrell,W.G.,80 
Gardner, Carks, 195 



Gardner, Douglas, 194 

Gardner, Owen, Jr., 193 

Garfiekt James A., 48 

Garrett, W.B., 119 

Garrison, Bill, 184 

Glenn, Samuel Rufus, 157, 160 

Godsey, Bill, 192 

Godsey.Jeanette, 192 

Gokien,J.R..58 

Goudy, Robert 16 

Graham, H.M., 95 

Great Wagon Road, 17 

Green, Mrs., 94 

Green, Emma, 86 

Green, Maude Arrington, 177 

Greene, F.C., 62 

Greene, James W., 54 

Greene, Mrs. J.M., (Mary) 45 

Greenwood (South Carolina), 

growth of; to 1860, 15-22; post 

Civil War, 49, 54, 56, 86, 156 
Greenwood Air Base, 138 
Greenwood Circuit 42, 43, 45, 48, 

50,60 
Greenwood Colored Circuit 40-42 
Greenwood Methodist Home, 164, 

166,172,192 
Greenwood Station, 56 
Grier, RB., 87 
Griffin, Irvin v.. Jr., 145 

H 

Hackney, Priscilla Gallegly, 1 70 

Hamilton, Miss Frances, 133-134 

Hanging of the Greens, 191 

Hardin, Bishop Paul, Jr., 1W 

Harding, Nan Roark, 190 

Harmon, Bishop Nolan B., 156 

Harmon, Bob, 189 

Harper, Dr. J.C, 105 

Harrell,H.H.,106 

Harrell, Bishop Costen J., 149 

Harris, John B., 171 

Harrison, I.C., 121 

Hart George W., 99, 105, 110 

Hartzog,H.G.,80,115 

Hayes, R.M., 89 

Henderson, Clyde F, 145 



Henderson, Kathy Cheezem, 190 

Herbert R.Bryce, 183 

Herd, E. Don, Jr., 19, 191 

Hinton,V.R.,53 

Hoang,Binh,174 

Hoang,Dao,174 

Hoang, Huong Van, 174 

Hoang, Luy, 174 

Hoang, Minh, 174 

Hoang, Nam, 174 

Hoang, Phuong Van, 174 

Hoang, Tarn, 174 

Hodges, Alma Elise Kennedy 

(Mrs. William Henry), 64 
Hodges, Ella B., 30 
Hodges, George C, 27, 28, 58, 61 , 

64,75,76,78,80,87,92,93. 

94,96,99,104,105,106,115, 

119, 191 
Hodges, G.C., Jr., 105 
Hodges, Mary, 30 
Hodges, William Henry, 64 
Hoke, Mr., 80 
Holland, J.A., 120 
Hollingsworth,C.W.,121,127,128 
Holroyd, Raymond L, 124 
Holroyd, W.C, 144, 145, 191 
Horse Racing, 40 
Hughes, Bishop Edwin Holt 143, 

144 
Huiett G.S., 80 
Humbert J.W., 54 
Humbert Mrs, 55 
Hut Class, the, 168 
Hutton, Adrienne, 184 
Hutto, William, 43 

I 

Inwin, Evelyn Simpson, 177, 193 
Irwin, Harry, 193 



Jenkins, J.G., 95, 115 
Jenkins, N.E., 80 
Johnson, Andrew, 30 
Johnson, John Walter, 155, 156 
Jones, Dr. Samuel Barksdale, 34 
Jordan, D.A.P., 64 



221 



Junior Missionary Society, 1 1 7 
Juvenile Misssionary Society, 75, 
117 



Keller, Mrs. Alonzo, 190 

Keller, Mrs. J. FranK 64 

Kelly,W.A.,96,98 

Kelly, W.C, 100 

Kennedy, Mr., 80 

Kilgo,JamesA.,103,104 

Kilgo, Bishop John C, 136 

Kilgo,J.T.,62 

Kilgo, J.W., 101 

Kilgo, Mrs. J.W., 101 

Kilgo, Rev. P.F., 59, 62, 64 

King's Daughters, 46, 65 

Kirkland,W.D.,62 

Kirton, Uila Lee O'Brien (Mrs. P.L), 

86 
Kirton, Preston Lafayette, 86, 87, 

96 
Klauber, Dr. William A., 164 



Ladies' Parsonage Aid Society, 46, 

178 
Lamper, J.B., 64 
Lancaster, Rev., 98 
Lander, Dr. Samuel, 88, 89, 90 
LanderCollege,90,91,104,118, 

120,139,142,146,150,161 
Lawton, James Charles, 35 
Lawton, J. Mikell, 35 
Lawton, R.O.,105,120 
Lawton, Mrs. R.O. 'Buddie," 162, 

168 
Lawton. William H., 24, 25, 26, 28, 

32 
Laymen's Movement 99, 101 
Lee, Allison, 167 
Lee, A. St Claire, 31 
Lee, Mrs. A. St Claire, 27 
Leigh, UnaMae, 171, 175. 190 
Uttle, LM., 37 
Lola Smith Sunday School Class, 

185 
bve Feasts, 51 



Lupo,C.J.,Jr.,107,185,191 
Lupo. Dr. James Foster, 151 , 154, 

160,193 
Lupo, Vera, (Mrs. CJ., Jr.) 185, 187 
Lupo Methodist Church, 153, 154 

157 

M 

McConnell,Rev.J.J.,120 
McCullough, Carolyn, 150 
McDonald, Lee Patrick 183, 184 
McGee,LP.,104.106 
McGehee, John. 15-16 
McGhee. S.H.. 27, 30, 34, 43, 80, 

91-92,105,115 
McLaughlin, Mrs. Louise, 109 
McWatty, Ernest 159 
Main Street United Methodist 

Church Foundation, 187, 189, 

191 
Major, Joe, 79 

Major, John Robert Turner, 181 
Major, R.W.. 52, 53, 55, 56. 58. 61. 

75 
Major. Mrs. R.W., 45 
Major, S.G., 58, 64, 80 
Marcengill. Sam, 184-185 
Mason, E.R., 122, 144, 145 
Mason, Mrs. E.R., 143 
Mason Class, 143 
Masset)augh,W.A.,87,112 
Massengale, Lila, 171 
Maund, Christie Young, 190 
Mays, Ham'etA., 190, 191 
Mays, Harry R., 173 
Meadors, Morris Keener, 181 
Medlock,J.T.,58,89,93,95,105, 

106 
Medlock,J.K.,64 
Medlock, Mrs. Kate, 45 
Medlock,Melvin Kelly, 181 
Merchant James A., Jr., 170, 1 73 
Merriman. L.D., 27. 64 
Merriman, Mrs. LD., 26. 30, 45 
Methodist Church, The, 131 
MethodistYoulh Fellowship, 141 
Mikell, Margaret W., 36 
Mickler, P., 64 



Miller, John Teague, 75, 168, 181 

Missionary Fair, 52 

Mood,J.J.,42 

Moore, Gray, 170 

Moore, L.M., 58, 62, 64, 75, 80 

Moore, Dr. R.C., 149 

Moore, WJ., 115 

Moravian Love Feast 1 78, 187, 

191 
Moorehead,H.S.,99,115 
Morgan. Martha Frances, 133 
Morris, A.A., 80 
Morton, Henrietta, 171 
Mounce, [sic]; Mounts, Rebecca 

Redmond (Mrs Robert H.), 

27,30 
Mounce, Robert H., 30 
Mouzon,W.P.,37,38,40 
Mullikin, Dr. William Louie, 143, 

145,146,147,148 
Munnerlyn, Olin S., Jr., 145 
Murchison, Colin, 25 
Mun'ay,J.M.,43 

N 

Nesbitt C.F.,120 

Nicholson, Judge Francis, 171 . 

179 
Nicholson. W.H., 95, 99, 101, 105, 

110.115,121, 
Nicholson, William H., Jr.. 152, 

191 
Ninety Six Circuit 24, 25, 26, 31. 

32,37,41.48 
Ninety Six Colored Circuit 41 



Oldham. Mrs. J.M., 45 
Olin, Stephen. 19. 97 
Osborne. Milton. 27 
Osborne, Mrs. Milton, 27, 30 
Ouzts, Cleveland M., 145 
Ouzts, Clinton, 172, 173 
Owen, F.C., 145 



Park,J.B..87,89 
Parker, Fred Howard, 128 



222 



Parks, John 1.31.56,58. 64 
Parsonagfi Aid Society, the. 1 78 
Partkjw, Doris, 150 
Patton. J.P..120 
Payne, John S., 145 
Pert, James, 15 
Phelps, Richard, 171. 173 
Phillips, Myra Davis, 156 
Pinckney, Richard, 184 
Pinson,J.W.,58 
Polk, N.Keith, Jr.. 173 
Porter, JA, 45, 46 
Powell, Fred, 171 
Powell, Rudy. 184 
Power. W.C, 48, 49 
Purcell, Bishop Clare, 132,142 
Purdue, Charles Ray, 181 



Rampey, G.W., 58, 64 

Rast Dr. J. Marvin. 139. 142. 145 

Redhead, Dr. John. 183 

Rice, Jesse. 184 

Rivers, Effie Seago, 1 77 

Rivers,. L.M., 120 

Roark, Walter. 167. 170. 171 

Rodgers, Clara (Mrs. Irby B.), 150, 

177 
Rodgers, Irby B., 177 
Rogers, William Anson, 50, 51 . 52 
Rogers. Mrs. William Anson. 45 
Roosevelt, Franklin D., 142 
Roper, Maggie A.. 85 
Rosenberg. A.. 87. 89 
Rounds, George L. 106 



Saint Mark Methodist Church, 1 57 
Sample, Mrs. A.P.. 153 
Sample, J.B., 58, 64 
Schuller, Dr. Robert, 183 
Scurry. Mrs. J.C. 151 
Self. James C.Sr.. 11 5, 140. 156 
Shelley. Greg, 184 
Sheridan, F.M., 84 
Sheridan, Mrs. F.M.,96 
Sheridan, Sadie (Mrs. J.L), 140. 
188 



Sherrill. John. 177 
Shingler. John M.. 148. 183 
Sigmon, Bruce R., 164 
Simmons. J. T.. 87 
Slaves, 4042 
Smart, R.D., 44 
Smith, Lisa Schulze. 190 
Smith, John Q., 154 
Smith, Mrs. John a, 154 
Smith, Robert W., 128 
Snead, Edward, 172 
Social Meetings. 43 
Sokiers' Aid Society. 37 
South Carolina Annual 

Conference.1 91 5 division, 

104; 1947 reunion, 144-145 
Spires, Dr. George, 31 
Stackhouse, Robert Edgar, 59, 

60.61,62 
Stackhouse. W.F.. 80 
Steadman.A.C..105 
Steadman. John Marcellus, 56 
Stephens, Mickey. 150 
Stillwell. Marguerite, 161 
Stockman. Abner P.. 115. 144. 

153,164 
Stockman, Mrs. Abner P., 153 
Stone, I.T., 121, 128 
Stuart, Brooks S.. 164 
Stuart. Davki. 154 
Stucky. P.L, 64. 80, 94, 99 



Tabernacle Academy, 19 
Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal 

Church. 19. 21 
Talbert, Mrs. John, 177 
Tally, O.M., 110 
Tarrant, Capl J.R., 27, 35 
Taylor. A. A.. 128 
Taylor. AndrewE.. 121. 125. 129. 

131 
Taylor. Henry M.. 145 
Taylor. T.L.. 115 
Teasley.Mrs.W.A..184 
Teasley Scout Hut 168 
Tinsley, Margaret. 177 
Tinsley. William D., 177 



Torian, Inez, 138, 142 

Tullis, Bishop Eckard, 173, 182 

Tumipseed, Rev. B. Rhett, 86, 

108,109,110,111,112,113 
Tumipseed, Emma Green (Mrs. 

B. Rhett), 86 
Turpin, Alfred Bell, 30 
Turpin, Anna. 27 
Turpin. Annie E., 30 
Turpin. Biza, 26, 27. 30 

U 

United Methodist Church. The, 

169 
United Methodist Women, 1 70, 

190 
Unrue, Mary Teasley, 184, 185, 

187,188 
Unrue, Mike, 184 
Upper South Carolina Annual 

Conference, 104,139, 142 



Vancura,Rev.Vavlav, 119 
Vietnam War, 169 

W 

Wade, James W.. 192 
Walker, Dr. Alistair. 183 
Walker, T.H.. 80 
Wallace, Bishop, 83 
Waller. Albert, 31 
Waller. C.A.C.. 87, 89, 112 
Waller, Cad G.,58. 62. 64. 80 
Waller. Emma (Mrs. Cad G.). 45 
Ward, Dr. James E.. 145 
Watkins. Bishop Walter!. 133. 

136 
Watson. Amelia Bonneau 

Wightman (Mrs. A.B.). 67 
Watson. Artemas Briggs. 66. 67 
Watson. Harry Legare, 29 
Watson, Mrs. T.H., 121 
Wells. Robert Newton. 49 
Wesleyan Service Guild. 166 
Wesley. Charies. 17 
Wesley, John. 17. 97. 193 
Wharton. C.C, 105. 110. 129 



223 



Wharton. J.B., 87, 89 
Wharton, Mrs. J.P.. 117 
Wharton, Joe P., 114, 119, 145, 

191 
White, Julian, 140 
Whitlock, Frances Arrington, 177 
Wiggins, Dr. Casper, 170 
Wiggins, LemE, 127, 129. 132, 

133,135,136,137 
Wightman, Mrs. Bishop William M., 

55,71 
Wilkerson,A.S.,128 
Wilkerson, Bill, 184 
Wilkerson, Shannon, 184 
Williams, Glenn, 184 
Williams, Mike, 192 
Williamson, CileKinard, 190 
Williamson, Lawrence, 184 
Williamson, Needham, 182, 183 
Williamston Female Academy, 88 



Williamston Female College. 90 
Williams, Zella. 192 
Willson,Dr.JamesO.,96,97,106, 

111,112 
Winfield,Lovick.177 
Wise, Betty, 134 
Woman's Foreign Missionary 

Society, 45. 51, 71, 75. 98. 

116.117.121.130.131.190 
Woman's Home Missionary 

Society. 77, 100. 101. 103 
Woman's Society of Christian 

Sefvk».131.134.137,149, 

151,154,159 
Women's Society of Christian 

Service, 166, 170 
Women's Work. 

See Annual Conference 

Woman's Foreign Missionary 

Society; Juvenile Missionary 



Society; King's Daughters; 
Ladies' Parsonage Aki Society; 
United Methodist Women; 
Wesleyan Servk» Guikj; 
Woman's Foreign Missk)nary 
Society; Woman's Home 
Missionary Society; Woman's 
Society of Christian Service; 
Women's Society of Christian 
Servk^ 
Wright. F.F., 99 



Younginer, Dr. John Madison, Sr., 

160,164,170 
Young, Kenneth, 171, 172 



Zimmerman, Emma, 53 



224 



DEMCO 38-297 




D00582833T 




Y 



i. v 






• >* if 













.*' '^ 


". 


-■?^ 


<.■ 


-^ *w*^ 


■"' 1 • — 


^ 


■ '^ ^' y 


^^W 


t 


^S^ts 


V-^ 


Jn 


^ 'T-IJ 





ir'WV 



ISBN 1-881576-09-4 



-viTtr^Ti