(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Napa County, comprising an account of its ... topography, geology .. early settlements .."



V 




'*>%zK*^ ,0 







h <^^ %^ \ 



-^^^ -^/^m^.^ 






,V 






.-i^. 















^'-^ ^^ 






- ' ^°rZ 



<. 




o v^ ;£, 



-0 



^^-;^ 










^y V 






.<y 



o V 



.-^^ 



^., ^"^ .^:^>:'. 



^^^ \<^^ ^4M^^ \/^ y0^^ %^^^ :^i^ 






.^^ 



-^^ 



o 









^0' 









i44 






^' 






■^Jy 



\^ 



V^. 






V\ 



V 



<?>' 






^ 






-^-^ .V..r 










.0-7* ' i?%t4'x^v * 40 






r;.;ri' 




^^^; 






"^ .^' 



^, 






o 












^>7/r 



^^^^^^^^B/tf 




ipfI 1 




HIST 
NAPA 


O R Y o r 

COUNTY 



m 



OMPRISING an account of its geographical 
position and area; the origin of its name; 
topography, geology, springs, water courses and 
climate; township system; early settlements, 
with descriptions and scenes as viewed by the 
pioneers; the Indians; the discovery of gold 
and other minerals ; the progress of population 
and agriculture; the Mexican grants; principal 
homicides; incidents of settlements; elections 
and history of its cities and towns, churches 
and schools, secret societies, etc., etc.; as also a 
full and particular biography of its pioneers and 
principal inhabitants. 

r i 



ILLUSTRATED 



ENQUIRER PRINT 



OAKLAND, CALIFORNIA 
1901 



/I 






l\ 



/ 



,1-7^/ 



INTRODUCTION. 



More than one year has been employed in the 
labor incident to the appearance of this history. 
While the task was a difficult one In many re- 
spects, yet it is one filled with many beautiful 
memories. The kindness of the people, their help- 
fulness, and good cheer and the consciousness 
that this county is filled with a noble, brave, 
honest and prosperous people, cannot appear to 
any one clearer than the writer, whose fortune it 
was to visit every nook and corner of it. That its 
pages may be helpful to all Is my earnest wish 
and in parting I will ever pray that God's choic- 
est blessing may be upon the people of this fav- 
ored county. 

MRS. TILLIE KANAGA. 



In this volume we have employed every avail- 
able source from which we could secure reliable 
information, such as records, former histories, 
personal narrative, printed matter, etc., etc. It 
has been a great task to properly edit this work, 



one that required many weeks of close applica- 
tion and hard labor. That many things were 
omitted is true, as it was deemed inadvisable to 
load the volume with matter that had no place in 
the annals of the county's history. I would, 
however, be remiss in my duty, if, in closing, no 
mention was made of the compiler and business 
manager, Mrs. Tillie Kanaga. To her fidelity, in- 
telligence and zeal, is due the work of collecting 
the scattered material which required more than 
one year of unremitting toil — ^the hundred and 
one things essential to its success is due to her, 
to whom credit is now given. With no apology and 
no regrets other than those arising from errors 
and unavoidable omissions, this work is herewitli 
submitted to the people of Napa county. 

CAPTAIN W. F. WALLACE, 

Historian. 



History of Napa County, 
California. 



GeograpHical Location - Area — Xopog- 

rapKy — ClimatograpHy — Geology — 

Derivation of Name — AiVater 

Co\irses, Etc., Etc. 



NAPA COUNTY 

Is bounded on the north by Lake county, on the 
east by Yolo and Solano counties, on the south 
by Solano county and San Pablo bay, and on the 
west by Sonoma county, and is one of the small- 
est counties, but is highly favored by its location 
in one of the richest sections of California. 

THE AREA 

Of Napa county is about eight hundred and 
fifty square miles or five hundred thousand acres. 

THE TOPOGRAPHY. 

So varied and frequent are the changes in the 
topographical features of Napa county it would 
require a volume to note them at length. We 
find a line which marks the w^estern side of this 
county, passes along the ridge of a chain of moun- 
tains for the entire distance, on the east of which 
lies the famous Napa valley, extending from San 
Pablo bay on the south, to Mt. St Helena on tlie 
north, and varying from one mile in width in the 
north to five miles at the southern end. The 
slope of this range is frequently intersected by 
gulches, canyons, and small valleys, the only one 
worthy of note being Brown's vallev, which is a 



6 NAPA COUNTY. 

little gem embowered in the foot of the mountain. 
Several streams drain this range of mountains, 
flowing into the Napa river, the principal of 
which are Carneros, Dry and White Sulphur 
creeks. 

The lower end of Napa valley opens out fan- 
like to a wide expanse, but is low and flat tule 
land covered at high tide by the sea. 

In the center of the Napa valley there rises a 
hill almost approaching the dignity of a moun- 
tain, known as the Yountville hill, the remark- 
able feature of which is that it is equidistant 
from the north and south ends of the valley, and 
also from the east and west limits. 

Napa valley is a little more than thirty miles in 
length, being level and productive, is very desir- 
able for agricultural and horticultural purposes. 
A river of the same name flows throughout its en- 
tire length, and is navigable from the bay to 
Napa city. The ebb and flow of the tides being 
from three to eight feet, serves to drain the val- 
ley and destroy any malarial tendencies, keeping 
the river sweet and clean. 

The grand proportions of Mount St. Helena 
stand as a protecting guardian at the head or up- 
per end of the valley, nearly 5,000 feet high. The 
view of the valley from a favorable point on 
Mount St. Helena is like a glimpse into fairyland, 
and is a delight to the eye, which remains long in 
the memory. 

On the east side of Napa valley, a chain of 
mountains extends the entire length, which is 
broken into but by few streams, valleys or can- 
yons. Conn creek, about midway of the range, 
comes down through Conn valley, presenting a 
beautiful and picturesque aspect. Milliken and 
Rector canyons are the only ones south of Conn 
creek, while to the north are only gorges in the 



NAPA COUNTY. 7 

mountains. In this range of mountains there are 
some quite high peaks — among which are Bald 
peak, Atlas peak, Howell mountain, etc., etc. The 
height of these peaks range from two thousand 
to three thousand feet. This range forms a con- 
tinuation of the Mayacamas range, the two 
branches forming a V, with Mount St. Helena at 
the point of union and the extremities extending 
down the east and west sides of Napa valley. 

There are three roads leading out of Napa val- 
ley through this range of mountains, viz : the Ber- 
ryessa valley road, through a pass near the south- 
ern end of the range; the second to Conn valley, 
thence up the canyon into Chiles valley, while a 
third passes over Howell mountain; of these last 
two there are several branches leading to the 
same place. 

Passing over the Howell mountain grade, Pope 
valley is reached; this is a beautiful tract of quite 
level country, extending for about ten miles in a 
northwesterly and southeasterly direction, being 
from one to three miles in width. In the center of 
this valley, extending nearly the whole length of 
it, there is a high range of hills, dividing it into 
almost equal portions. This valley is drained by 
Pope creek, a stream of considerable size, whose 
waters empty into Putah creek, from thence into 
the bay of San Pablo. 

Passing over a low divide to the south of Pope 
valley, we come to Chiles valley, which is six 
miles long and about one to three miles in width; 
a beautiful and fertile spot, the upper end of 
which is drained by Conn creek, while the waters 
of the lower end empty into Putah creek. 

Pope and Chiles valleys are separated by a 
high range of mountains on their eastern side 
from Berryessa valley. 

Capelle valley is truly a lovely gem, and is 



8 NAPA COUNTY, 

f 

found by taking the road from Napa to Monti- 
cello; its size is small, being bounded by a moun- 
tain fringe. 

Farther on, the mountains spread apart and 
thus form the broad expanse known as Berry - 
essa valley, the second in size in Napa county. 
This valley is about ten miles long and from one 
to three miles wide, a rich and beautiful land. 
It is drained by the Putah creek, which here be- 
comes almost a river of swift flowing waters, es- 
pecially during the winter rains. The area of the 
watershed tributary to this stream is large as 
well as precipitous, so that in a short time after 
a rain storm has begun, the stream is at flood 
height and rushing with a wonderful velocity 
down the creek to the plains below. 

At the head of Berryessa valley is a narrow de- 
file in the mountains which extends to Knoxville, 
thence over a low divide to Lake county. Down 
this canyon there is a rapid mountain stream, 
carrying a large amount of water during the 
winter season, emptying into Putah creek. 

On the east of Berryessa valley is the abrupt 
range of the Blue Ridge, which rises to a great 
height, and forms the boundary line between 
Napa and Yolo counties, presenting an unbroken 
feurface for the whole distance, from the northern 
boundary of the former to the southern line of 
the latter, at which point Putah creek passes 
through a very narrow canyon which is named 
after the creek. 

Thus, we have, in a hasty manner, laid before 
the reader a comprehensive plan of the principal 
topograpliical features of this county, wliich, 
however, will be supplemented by a further de- 
scription under tlie head of Townships. 

There are but two systems of drainage in this 
county ;one, that of the Napa river and its tribu- 



NAPA COUNTY. 9 

taries and the other Putah creek and its tribu- 
taries. These two streams have to carry to the 
sea all the vast amount of water which falls upon 
nearly one thousand square miles of territory, 
the most of which is mountainous, and hence the 
w^ater is precipitated quickly into these outlets. 
Consider for a moment what a volume of water 
falls upon this area during any of the heavy 
storms of the winter season, when, as frequently 
is the case, more than four inches may have 

fallen. 

GEOLOGY. 

There is no more interesting a field in the State 
of California for the student of geology, than this 
county of Napa. The changes of the geological 
aspect of the country, in passing from one section 
to another, are very marked and remarkable. The 
rocks of the Silurian period are frequently found 
adjacent to those of the Tertiary, while boulders 
of lava and those formed of fossils are found to- 
gether. The mixed feature is shown in the soil 
which is also frequently spotted, which means 
that it is made up of two or more different kinds 
of soil, such as adobe with sandy loam and again 
argillaceous soil, many examples of which may 
be found in Pope valley. 

The evidence that volcanic action has been a 
great factor in shaping the surface of this county 
is given by the large number of extinct craters, 
as well as large deposits of lava, ashes, scoria, 
etc. Wherever one may travel in Napa county, 
on every hand will be seen the evidences of vol- 
canic action. These evidences are not uniform in 
any aspect, for in several different places may 
be found the rocks of recent formation near by 
those which were formed in the earliest period 
of the world's existence. 

If we glance over the county for evidence of 



10 NAPA COUNTY. 

the action of fire and what work it has ac- 
complished, we will find at the south end of the 
western slope of the mountains which fringe the 
eastern side of Napa valley, the rocks all are of 
volcanic formation, especially in the neighbor- 
hood of the Insane Asylum, the boulders are 
chiefly composed of honey-combed lava, which, 
V hen broken, presents all grades of material 
from the most compact, to loosely united particles 
and ranging from black to white in color. In the 
mountain back of the Asylum, there is a bed of 
lava rock, considerable of which was used in the 
construction of the Asylum. 

Farther north, to where the road crosses over 
the range to Berryessa, are extensive beds of 
ashes which have hardened into a porous rock, 
all of which are very interesting to a student of 
geology. 

. A feature which is considered remarkable 
about these rocks is that they present such a sim- 
ilarity to rocks of an aqueous formation as to al- 
most deceive the student, and to the casual ob- 
server would readily be taken for rocks of a water 
foi'mation. 

There are indications of petroleum in this vi- 
cinity, which would lead one to think that the 
substrata was sandstone of the early cretaceous 
period, but tlie strata has been so warped and 
twisted by the subsequent uplieaval of the moun- 
tains, into all manner of shapes, it is difficult to 
say with any degree of surety. There is a bluff 
of lava just north of the Soda Springs, on the 
un<ler side of which the action of the water has 
washed out a sort of a cavity which exposes the 
formation upon wliich it rests, and which is found 
to be a. metamorphic stratified stone of ancient 
formation. 

It is no uncommon thino- to see the lava rocks 



NAPA COUNTY. 11 

SO regularly and evenly stratified and separated 
perpendicularly, by suture caused by shrinking 
in cooling, that they present the appearance of 
building stone, shaped by human intelligence for 
a special purpose. This lava does not contain 
much of basalt or trap and is soft; is frequently 
found to be the best of building material. 

Farther to the north along the west side of the 
range, we find that the surface rock is all of a 'ol- 
canic formation, even to the very top of Mount 
St. Helena. Lava deposited in strata so evenly 
and undisturbed as to cause doubt to its identity, 
is to be seen on Howell mountain. This is found 
to be a soft, grayish lava and the deposit is re- 
markable for its evenness and regularity. 

North of Calistoga, a spur of the mountain puts 
out well into the valley. At this point begins the 
mineral belt of Napa county. 

At one time the mineral deposits of this county 
were supposed to be very rich, and it may be so 
until this day, but those who endeavored to ob- 
tain wealth from this source, have, to a large de- 
gree, turned their attention to other fields. 

When the volcanoes of this section were active, 
seams, dikes and rifts were left in the rocks, 
which were then exposed to the surface. In the 
lapse of time these spaces were filled up \vith 
silica, which crystalized into beautiful quartz, 
the most extensive ledge of which is that known 
as the Silverado, which is situated nearly on top 
of Mount St. Helena, on the south side. The vein 
was about thirty feet wide, extending entirely 
across the spur of the mountain, having a dip of 
about thirty degrees. This quartz was very lust- 
rous, sparkling like real diamonds in the sun- 
shine, but it was very porous, perhaps from the 
fact a great amount of gas was imprisoned in the 
silica at the time of its deposit. This quartz had 



12 NAPA COUNTY. 

nianj' shades of color, which added much to its 
beauty, the colors ranging through shades of 
black, green, yellow and red. The black coloring- 
was caused by the chlorides of silver, the red and 
yellow to the oxide of iron, all of which was re- 
markable and a great attraction owing to its 
beauty and also interest to the student of 
geology. 

That St. Helena Mountain has, at some time, 
been an active volcano, there is no doubt. Intel- 
ligent observation leads one to conclude that the 
whole range skirting the eastern side of Napa 
valley, has, at some past time, been a series of ac- 
tive volcanoes, which fact is proven by the univer- 
sal flow of the lava from the top of the ridge to 
the bottom, which is still plainly visible. That 
there are no traces of the craters from whence this 
lava flowed is explained by the lapse of time since 
these volcanoes were in a state of activity, during 
which the accumulated debris of the mountain 
top filled up the small cavity which was left 
when the force of the energy was only suflftcieut 
to raise the lava to the surface, so that in the 
course of time, the mountain top from which 
great rivers of lava flowed, presents only the or- 
dinary mountain crest. 

What long ages have passed since this lava 
flowed down the mountain-side, is illustrated by 
two prominent circumstances which we will not?. 
First, is the petrified forest, which has been over- 
run and buried by an overflow from some volcano, 
}>orhaps INIount St. Helena. That it might have 
been about the last of its eruptions is not improb- 
able, as many of the trees lie exposed upon the 
surface of the ground. Still ample time has 
passed since that, for them to become solid stone. 
Truly, "the mills of the gods grind slowly," and 
a thousand years are as a day with nature's 



NAPA COUNTY. 13 

plans. All of which has to be considered when 
geological phenomena are accounted for. 

The other grand agent in changing and modi- 
fying the surface of the earth is water, and we 
will give some idea of the importance and activ- 
ity of this factor. Improbable as it may seem, 
the falling of the rain upon the rocks of the 
mountain-sides continually wears them away, 
changing them much in appearance and size, hj 
reason of the carbonic acid,- it becomes charged 
with, while falling, which is able to decompose 
many kinds of rock. 

Frost is a powerful agent. Water finds its way 
into the fissures of the rocks, where it freezes and 
bursts them asunder, often sending the fragments 
headlong into the valley below, where they are 
taken up by the torrents of mountain streams, 
eventually finding their way to the river bed as 
smooth and nicely rounded boulders. 

On top of St. Helena there is a great pile of 
broken fragments of stone, which very much re- 
sembles the dump pile of a mine, which has been 
formed by this agency alone. Springs produce 
rapid and remarkable changes. Everyone is fam- 
iliar with the sediment that is deposited by the 
mineral springs in Napa and Lake counties. The 
heaviest deposit made by any springs in these 
two counties is to be seen at the soda springs 
on the ranch of Messrs. Priest. There a plateau 
of over an acre has been formed, varying in depth 
from a few feet to fifty, for the distance of over a 
mile. 

Rivers cut channels in the superficial accum- 
ulations, and through the solid rocks, and trans- 
port loose material to the valleys below, and into 
the water basins. Every mountain brook, during 
the flood seasons, bears with it much of the sub- 
stance along its banks down into the streams of 



14 NAPA COUNTY. 

the valleys and they in turn take it up and bear it 
to the rivers which finally dump it into the bay. 

All that section of country now designated as 
"tule lands," embraced in Sherman, Union, And- 
rus, Staten, Grand, Schoolcraft, and Brannon Is- 
lands, was once covered by deep water, and it has 
only been raised to its present altitude by long, 
continuous depositions of sediment by the 
streams which empty into it. Of these Cache 
and Putah creeks have played no small part, and 
much of the matter that is now lying in the sub- 
stratums of Schoolcraft Island were once a por- 
tion of the mountains of Napa county. We find 
an excellent example in the Napa river. All the 
tule land that lies between the city and the bay 
was once a handsome sheet of water. 

Waves produce geological changes, and the 
traces of their action may be seen on the western 
slope of the range to the east of Napa valley. In 
many places small caves have been hollowed out, 
and at one place near the Crystal Springs Hotel, 
northeast of the town of St. Helena a few miles, 
there is a cave over eighty feet in length, in a 
stratum of clay and shale. Along the present 
shore of the Pacific many such places can be 
found and are designated by the term "blow 
holes." 

Metals are only found in Napa county in the 
form of veins intersecting rocks or disseminated 
through them in grains and crystals. The miner- 
als of Napa county are not of any great value, 
nor are many engaged in mining. In fact the 
convulsions and cataclysms of nature have been 
such that the entire mineral belt is broken up and 
shattered, so that boring for oil is extra haz- 
ardous for those who w^ould risk their money in 
such a speculation. 



NAPA COUNTY. 15 

TIMBER OF NAPA COUNTY 

Is of no value as a lumber factor to-day, as 
what there were has all been logged off and the 
balance is only suitable for firewood. The shade 
trees planted and cultivated around the resi- 
dences of the citizens are beautiful and much ad- 
mired. 

SOILS. 

The soils of Napa county may be divided into 
five classes, viz: argillaceous, adobe, loam, lava 
and tule. The first named is the result of the de- 
composition of sandstones and shales. Ordinary 
it is not very productive, but is good for grasses 
and cereals, as much silica is required for the 
production of straw. Thus it will be noticed that 
Berryessa and Chiles valleys are pre-eminently 
adapted to the growing of grain, and it is owing 
to this quality of soil. The soil that we now find 
on the surface of the country is but the result of 
the decomposition of the underlying rocks. 
- Adobe soil is found in limestone sections and is 
found in Napa county in Berryessa valley on the 
west side of Putah creek, in spots all over (Whiles 
and Pope valleys, also in Browns valley and near 
the foot of St. Helena. It is a stiff, cold and dis- 
agreeable soil, hard to work. In the winter,, 
when wet, it is tenacious, and sticks to a plow- 
share so as to make the farmer despair, while in 
summer it is full of yawning cracks, too wide for 
comfort. Cereals thrive upon it, but it will be 
noticed that the straw is always short, but the 
berry is always plump and full. 

Loam is the best of soils and is found in the 
beautiful Napa valley. It is composed of the sed- 
imentary deposit which is washed down from the 
mountains, and is a rich, alluvium and is much 
sought after by the agriculturist. 



If. NAPA COUNTY. 

Tiile soil is composed of decaying vegetation, 
roots, sediment, guano and all else which may 
have been borne down upon the waters. This soil 
is found from Napa city southward, and along 
the margin of the bay. It is rich and productive, 
when not charged with too large a proportion of 
salt which is often the case from the overflow of 
the tides of the bay. 

Lava soil is produced by the decomposition of 
lava and other volcanic products and is generally 
of a red color from the oxide of iron, or white 
from ash, or green from decomposed serpentine, 
jt is claimed that it is superior for the growth of 
the grape vine. 

WATER COURSES. 

Napa river — This stream rises at the head of 
Napa valley, at the western foot of Mount St. 
Helena, and flows in a southeastern course and 
empties into Napa bay, an arm of the bay of San 
Pablo. It is navigable as far up as Napa city, at 
which point the rise and fall of the tide is about 
five feet. This is the outlet for all the drainage 
of the western portion of the county, and large 
amounts of water are discharged by it in a short 
time after a heavy storm. 

White Sulphur creek rises in the mountains 
west of the town of St. Helena and flows easterly 
into the Napa river. 

Conn creek— This stream rises in Chiles valley 
and flowing westerly through Conn valley, emp- 
ties into Napa river. It is a small creek but dis- 
charges quite a large quantity of water. 

Dry creek rises in the mountains west of 
Yountville, and as its name indicates, is almost 
dry in the summer. It empties into Napa river. 

Saco creek is a small stream rising in the 



NAPA COUNTY. IT 

mountains east of Napa Soda Springs, liows 
southeasterly into Napa river. 

Napa creek rises in the mountains northeast of 
Napa city and empties into the river at Napa 
city. It carries a large body of water and the 
city suffers most from its overflow in the stormy 
season. 

Soscol creek has its source in the mountains 
east of Thompson's place, flowing westerly, dis- 
charges into Napa river. 

Carneros creek— This is the last stream that 
empties into the Napa river. It rises in the range 
of mountains west of Napa city. 

Rector creek rises in the mountains northeast 
of Yountville, flows in a westerly direction into 
Conn creek. 

Putah creek has its source in the summits of 
Mounts Cobb and St. Helena in Lake county, 
flows southerly through Berryessa valley, then, 
turning easterly passes through Putah canyon to 
the plains of Solano county, where it empties into 
the Sacramento river. In the winter season it is 
a wild and fearful mountain torrent, assuming 
the proportions of a river. 

A few other creeks, valuable as drains to the 
locality, are the remainder of Napa county's water 
courses. 

CLIMATOGRAPHY. 

It seems somewhat a difficult task to describe 
all the beauties of the climate in Na^a county as 
it has so much to recommend it to humanity in 
all of its phases. Of course on this mundane 
sphere— Eden no longer exists— and some defects 
can be found by the captious in even the climate 
of Napa county. But the fact that large numbers 
of wealthy citizens, who are at liberty to choose 
from all the attractive places far and near where- 



18 NAPA COUNTY, 

in to pass their holidays, who choose the health 
giving resorts of Napa county in preference to all 
other, should have a certain weight. In the 
jnonth of November the rains of winter begin 
and frosts may be expected but are not common. 
The vegetation springs into a newness of life so 
that the entire face of the county assumes an 
emerald hue, presenting a prospect unexcelled 
anywhere. Then comes days of storm and dreari- 
ness, then days of sunshine and beauty, inter- 
spersed with each other, until spring-time comes. 
At last the days of sunshine are in the majority, 
and the flowers and buds begin to open about the 
first of April, and as the sun grows stronger, na- 
ture manifests greater activity, until the trees 
are full of bloom and promise of the fruitage to 
come later. Then early summer begins the most 
delightful days of all the year. Days of royal 
splendor to Napa valley, with a profusion of fruit 
and flower which make a picture to delight the 
eye and inspire the soul of those whose lots are 
cast in such a blooming Eden. The long summer 
days are now upon us, the warmth of the sun is 
just what it should be, to ripen the harvest and 
mature the fruit. The daily breeze from the bay 
tempers the heat to a refreshing degree, while 
the nights are rightly described as harbingers of 
rest. The boats and trains come laden daily with 
the holiday visitors who disperse among the 
mountain resorts to enjoy a relaxation from the 
business grind of a city life. 

Then comes autumn, field and orchard loaded 
with a goodly harvest to repay the care and toil 
of the farmers. 

No melancholy day comes here in the fall, all 
is pleasant as the sun gradually tends southward 
and the days grow shorter, up until the storm 
season arrives. What more could one ask in this 



NAPA COUNTY. 19 

life than a home under such delightful auspices. 
Yet, while there are some shadows on the picture, 
it is necessary it should be so, for were it other- 
wise we could not comprehend the advantages 
we enjo}^ But all in all the lights are far in the 
ascendency of the shadows at the end of the year, 
When a retrospect is had, the latter pass into 
such utter insignificance that they are lost sight 
of altogether. 

DERIVATION OF NAPA. 

The word Napa is of Indian origin and was ap- 
plied to a village, or in fact a collection of any- 
thing where it embodied the idea of numbers. 
Thus, Hoo La Nappo signifies white village. Ha 
be Nappo, rocky village, and Kai-Nappo, wood o:* 
wooden village or wooden town, as known to the 
Anglo-Saxon of this day. The once famous tribe 
that lived in this beautiful valley known as the 
Pomo are gone, and the white man's farm now 
occupies the site where Indian tepees once stood. 
Their descendants, however, are to be found in 
large numbers in Lake county, and not a few are 
to be found in Mendocino, Humboldt and Shasta 
counties. In proof of this assertion we cite the 
fact that many Indian words once used in and 
extant only in Napa county, are entwined in the 
vocabulary of the tribes now living in the four 
counties above named, but are not met with to 
any extent in any other part of the country, or 
among any tribe of Indians. It is also a histor- 
ical fact, known among these people that when 
driven from Napa county by the white settlers, 
the copper colored sons of nature moved north 
and pursued the chase in the thickly wooded 
counties herein named. In early days the Indians 
had much to say about the vast army of fish that 
occupied the waters of Napa county and espec- 



20 NAPA COUNTY. 

ially the hordes of salmon that filled the Napa 
river, being as plentiful then as they are now in 
similar rivers in Alaska. As a result the Indians, 
in large numbers, collected in the vicinity of the 
salt water river of the Napa valley, where they 
could easily secure a ready supply of fish which 
is well known to be their favorite article of food. 
Here was applied the name Fish village, or Fish 
town, or (Nappo) village or large collection to 
indicate numbers or quantity. Hence the name 
Napa sprang into life, and is changed to the ex- 
tent only of putting an a where the o once held 
its sway, and for probable economy in time, our 
energetic ancestors probably dropped one of the 
to them useless "p's" and, up from the verbage 
of the Indian Nappo we have the purified Eng- 
lish-American "Napa." 

INDIANS OF NAPA COUNTY. 

In 1829 Kit Carson, the famous hunter, visited 
California on a hunting expedition and traversed 
its borders and explored its rich lands, camped 
in its lovely valleys, and from interviews pub- 
lished by him at the time we are told that this 
country was thickly populated, with bands of 
roaming Indians. Many of the interior tribes 
were continually at war, but as the coast was ap- 
proached the tribes that then inhabited its border 
were for the most part orderly and inclined to 
live at peace. This inclination of the coast In- 
dians to indolence and indifference to encroach- 
ment was, in the main, due to the mildness of the 
climate and the ease with which they could 
secure a living. Their diet consisted of crabs, 
oysters, clams, fish and venison, any one of which 
was procured with but very little effort. In the 
colder and northwestern portion of the State, 
where these children of nature were ruthlessly 



NAPA COUNTY. 21 

pinched between the sharp extremes of heat and 
cold, and where they were often hungry and for 
days without food, their tempers became ruftled, 
their look vicious and minds sullen and fretful. 
Here art, shrewdness, cunning and deceit ruled 
their feverish passion and when occasion called 
for it they fought with the courage of brave men, 
but in war as in peace, they were sour and un- 
sociable, and but little reliance could be placed 
on their word in counsel or under a flag of truce, 
as witnessed by their conduct in the Modoc war 
in S. E. Oregon and N. E. California, when Gen- 
eral Canby was killed. 

It is presumed by historians that a pestilence of 
some character visited the country between 1830 
and 1850, as Carson, who again visited this coun- 
try in 1859 tells us that there were at the latter 
date hundreds, where on his former visit thous- 
ands of Indians were dwelling within the confines 
of this State. The character of the early Indian 
was typical of his race. Small in stature, flat 
head, dark copper-colored, swarthy, long black 
hair and beardless. They were deficient in the 
courage and intrepidity of the Sioux and on the 
other hand never descended to the low, shirking, 
villainous life that marked the true Digger In- 
dian. 

The Napa Indians, with few exceptions, were 
migratory in nature and seldom remained long 
in one place, but the tribe that was among us 
when the gold seekers came were the start toward 
settlement. This condition was forced on 
them by the country being blocked and taken up 
by white settlers. No adequate estimate can be 
made of their numbers, but in later years we have 
a better idea of the cloud of dark swarthy people 
that once lived in beautiful Napa county. George 
C. Yount savs that in 1831 there were at least 



2a NAPA COUNTY. 

3,000 Indians within , the boundaries of this 
county. As late as 1856 they made the night ring 
with their revelry in and around Napa city and 
when they could secure the means to buy whisky 
got deadly drunk. Both men and women were 
addicted to this habit. During Sundays and on 
Indian festive days, they came on the streets of 
Napa city in great numbers. While a few of the 
tribe remained at the tepee the remaining con- 
tingent roamed the streets, back alleys and into 
back yards picking up refuse scraps, tin cans, old 
shoes and cast off clothing, etc. During the 
winter season they perched themselves on the 
south side of the accessible houses and there slept 
or basked in the sunshine undisturbed by either 
dog or man. 

In 1845 these wanderers commenced to linger 
around the large rancherias where they could in- 
dulge their limited desire for work, when it was 
offered them. On the Caymus rancho lived be- 
tween four and five hundred. Nearly six hundred 
on Salvador rancho, over one thousand at Soscol, 
while Bale, ITiguero, Juarez and other ranchos 
were lined about with numbers that run into the 
hundreds. 

About 1840, the Mayacomas tribe dwelt near 
Calistoga. The Napa Indians dwelt on the land 
between Napa river and Napa creek. The word 
Napa in the Indian vernacular is said to signify 
fish. The old settlers bear out this statement 
which is supported by the fact that in the 
northern tribes, many of Avhom are yet found in 
Siskiyou and Humboldt counties, the word Napa 
is yet used to signify fish. 

The Soscol tribe resided on the Soscol grant, 
and here they lived in large numbers, and in early 
days was the scene of marked social activity. In 
examining the many volumes of history devoted 



NAPA COUNTY. 23 

to early times, we found several books in Eastern 
libraries, and two volumes written by an English- 
man named Kelly, all of which, though not 
known, and probably never read in this county, 
yet are full of fact, incident and description of 
early life in Napa county, as well as other por- 
tions of the Golden State. 

DIGGER INDIANS. 

Many writers give to the California Indian the 
name of Diggers, but this is an injustice, as the 
element deserving that name always swarmed 
thick along the east coast of the Sierras in 
Nevada, while it is true that many of them 
pressed over the western slopes of that great 
range. "But the early tribes, while in many re- 
spects were far below the average Indian, yet it 
is equally true that they have not stained the 
annals of this State with pages of crime and 
war, with sidelights of murder, scalping, thievery 
and lawlessness." 

They are gone, and in their place is the white 
man, with only here and there a lone brother or 
sister who must know that in a few more years 
the last trace of this once powerful people will 
have perished from the earth and not even a stone 
or monument will mark their last resting place. 

Let it not be forgotten that the hillsides of 
Napa county are mellowed with the ashes of her 
early children, and we should not dismiss their 
memory as unworthy of history, or remembrance. 
They were rude, uncouth, uneducated and in the 
battle of books fell before the sickle of the civiliz- 
er. But they loved and hated, trusted and tleceiv- 
ed, toiled, struggled, hoped as we do. They saw the 
stream of time strewn with the wrecks of their 
fondest treasures. They worshiped the same God 
though in nature's roofless temple, in a wa}' that 



24 NAPA COUNTY. 

I 

we know not of save that in all of mystery they 
behold their Cod. Kneeling at the foot of the 
telegraph poles, worshiping the sound of the 
wires when trilled by the winds, so 
back of all their coarse features and rough 
clothes, was a desire to kneel before the cross 
and worship Him who spoke as never man did 
speak. In conversing with some of the oldest In- 
dian settlers in the north part of our State, the 
writer learned many incidents that were full of 
human interest, and no one in all this land is 
more alive to their helpless condition and social 
ostracism than they are, and upon every head is 
felt the heavy hand of authority, which is none 
the less hard, even though it is made by the 
humblest white man that sits begging at our 
gates. 

MEXICAN GRANTS. 
THE CAYMUS GRANT. 
The first grant of land ever made by the Mexican 
government, in what is known as Napa county, 
was made to that great pioneer of 1831, George 
0. Yount. He was the first white man to live in 
Napa county and the first whose foot had pressed 
the virgin soil of this lovely valley. This grant 
comprised two square leagues, situated in the 
heart of the valley, just east of where Yountville 
now stands, and was granted by Nicolas Gutier 
rez, March 23d, 1836, and was confirmed by the 
Board of Land Commissioners, February' 8th 
1853, and the United States (N)urts in 1855. 
This grant contained eleven thousand, eight hun- 
dred and fourteen and fifty-two one-hundredth 
acres. 

THE ENTRE NAPA RANCHO. 

This tract of land lay where Napa city now 
stands, and the grant was ceded to Nicolas Hi- 



NAPA COUNTY. 25 

guerra by Manuel Chico, May 9tli, 1836. The 
claim to eighty and forty-eight-hundredths acres 
of this grant was made before the Board of Land 
Commissioners by Nathan Coombs, March 3d, 

1853, and that body confirmed his title April 11th, 

1854, and was confirmed by the United States 
Courts, March 2d, 1857. 

RANCHO EL RINCON DE LOS CARNEROS. 

This tract of land lay to the westward of Napa 
city, and came up to where a portion of the city 
now^ stands. This was a part of the Entre Napa 
Rancho and was ceded by the same authority to 
the same person, but the claim to this part was 
filed before the Board of Land Commissioners by 
Julius Martin, September 4th, 1852, and was re- 
jected by the Board, September 19th, 1854. The 
decree of the Board was reversed September 2d, 

1856. This is a part of the Entre Napa Rancho, 
and was bounded on the east by the Napa river, 
on the west by the Arroyo de los Carneros. The 
Court confirmed the title to this grant May ^oth, 

1857, and it contains two thousand, five hundred 
and fifty-seven and sixty-eight-hundredths acres. 

THE NAPA RANCHO. 

Salvador Vallejo and his wife Maria de la Luz 
Carrillo Vallejo, filed their claim before the 
Board of Land Commissioners, March 3d, 1853, 
for a title to the tracts of land known as Francas 
and Jolapa, containing three thousand and twen- 
ty acres, more or less, being a part of the Napa 
Rancho, granted to Salvador Vallejo, February 
21st, 1838, by Juan B. Alvarado, Governor ad in- 
terim of Upper California, and approved by the 
Departmental Assembly September 23d, 1838. 
The claim was confirmed by the Board, November 
7th, 1854, and confirmed by the Court February 



2C NAPA COUNTY. 

23d, 1857. Mrs. A^allejo's interest in this grant 
was conveyed to her by Narciso Eamires, May 
12th, 1851, and it covered three thousand, one 
hundred and seventy-eight and ninety-three-hun- 
dredths acres. 

JULIUS K. ROSE. 

Julius K. Eose filed a claim before the Board 
of Land Commissioners, March 2d, 1853, for five 
hundred and ninety-four and eight^^-three-hun- 
dredths acres of the Napa Eancho. His claim 
was confirmed by the Board, December 13th, 
1853, and the title confirmed by the Court, March 
2d, 1857. It contained three hundred and twen- 
ty and fifty-five-hundredths acres. 

THE YAJOME. 

This tract of land was granted to Damaso An- 
tonio Eodriguez, March 16th, 1841, by Juan B. 
Alvarado, then Constitutional Governor of the 
Department of California, and approved by the 
Departmental Assembly, May 18th, 1841. Claim 
to this land w^as filed by Salvador Vallejo before 
the Board of Land Commissioners, April 20th, 

1852, and the Board confirmed it February 21st, 

1853. The Court confirmed title to it February 
9th, 1857. It contained one and a half leagues or 
six thousand, six hundred and fifty-eight-h in- 
dredths acres. 

THE LOCOALLOMI EANCHO. 

This grant was made to Julien Pope, Septem- 
ber 30th, 1841, by Manuel Jimeno, Acting Gover- 
nor of California and embraced two leagues, or 
eight thousand, eight hundred and seventy-two 
and seventy-three-hundredths acres. The heirs of 
Pope filed their claim to the grant before the 



NAPA COUNTY. 2Z 

Board of Land Commissioners, March 2d, 1853, 
and on August 1st, 1854, the Board confirmed 
their title to it. The Court also confirmed the 
same on August 25th, 1856. This land was locat- 
ed in what is now known as Pope valley. 

THE TULUCAY EANCHO. 

This tract of land lies east of Napa city, and 
was granted to Cayetano Juarez by Manuel Jim- 
eno, October 26th, 1841, and approved by the De- 
partmental Assembly, June 16th, 1845. The 
claim to this land was filed with the Board of 
Land Commissioners, March 23d, 1852 and con- 
firmed by the Board, April 11th, 1853, and the 
Court, February 25th, 1856. The rancho contain- 
ed two leagues, or eight thousand, eight hundred 
and sixty-five and fifty-eight-hundredths acres. 

KANCHO MALLACOMES, OR MURISTULY 
PLAN DE AQUA CALIENTE. 

This was a four league grant, which was made 
to Jose Santos Berryessa, October 14th, 1843, by 
Manuel Micheltoreno. The claim to the tract was 
filed before the Board of Land Commissioners, 
February 20th, 1852, and was confirmed by them 
June 27th, 1854, and by the Courts, March 24thj 
1856. This rancho contained seventeen thousaud, 
seven hundred and forty-two and seventy -two-hun- 
dredths acres, and was situated at the head of 
Napa valley aud included the jDresent site of Cal- 



istoga. 



RANCHO DE LA JOTE. 



This grant of land was made by Manuel Mich- 
eltoreno to George C. Yount, October 23d, 1843, 
said grant to be one square league of land situat- 
ed in Napa valley. April 5th, 1852, he filed his 
petition with the Board of Land Commissioners. 



28 NAPA COUNTY. 

October 21st, 1853, the Board rejected the claim. 
The claimant took an appeal before the District 
Court of the United States for the Northern Dis- 
trict of California, for hearing, and it was ordered 
that the decree of the Land Commissioners be re- 
versed and that the claimant be given a valid title 
to one league and no more. This contained four 
thousand and four hundred and fifty-three and 
eighty-four-hundredths acres. 

LAS PUTAS RANCHO. 

This enormous grant of land, comprising eight 
leagues or thirty-five thousand, five hundred and 
fifteen and eighty-two-hundredths acres, is situat- 
ed in and covers the most of Berry essa valley. It 
was granted to Jose Jesus Berryessa and Sisto 
Berryessa by Manuel Micheltoreno, November 
3d, 1843. The wives of the grantees, Maria Anas- 
tasia Higuerra de Berryessa and Maria Nicolosa 
Uiguerra de Berryessa as claimants, filed their 
petition before the Board of Land Commissioners 
May 21st, 1852. Their claim was confirmed by the 
Board, September 6th, 1854 and by the Courts, 
August ]3th, 185.5. 

THE HUICHICA RANCHO. 

This grant was made to Jacob P. Leese in two 
parcels, as follows: First, for two leagues of land 
issued by Manuel Jimeno, October 24th, 1841; 
second, for three and one-half leagues additional, 
issued by Manuel Micheltoreno, July 6th, 1846. 
The title was confirmed by the Board of Land 
Comiiiissionors, A])ril 18tli, 1853, and by the 
Court, April 22d, 1856. It contained eighteen 
thousand, seven hundred and four and four-hun- 
dredths acres and was situated to the southwest 
of Napa city. 




GEORGE G. YOUNT, 

Pioneer. 



NAPA COUNTY. 29 

THE CATACULA RANCHO. 

Is located in Chiles valley, and was granted to 
Colonel J. B. Chiles, by Manuel Michel toreno, Xo- 
vember 9th, 1844; filed, April 21st, 1852, and con- 
firmed November 4th, 1853, and was confirmed by 
the Court, August 13th, 1855. It comprised two 
leagues, or eight thousand, five hundred and fifty- 
five and seventy-two-hundredths acres. 

THE CHIMILES RANCHO. 

This grant was made to Ygnacio Berryessa by 
Pio Pico, May 2d, 1842. William Gordon and 
Nathan Coombs as claimants filed their petition 
before the Board of Land Commissioners, April 
28th, 1852, and the claim was confirmed Anril 
11th, 1853; confirmed by the Court, July 27 :h, 
1857. It comprised four leagues, or seventeen 
thousand, seven hundred and sixty-two and foi*ty- 
four hundredths acres. 

THE CAYNE HUMANA RANCHO. 

This tract of land comprised the whole of Napa 
valley lying north of the Caymus Rancho, and was 
granted to Dr. E. T. Bale. It has gone through all 
the legal processes and a patent has been granted. 

GENERAL HISTORY AND SETTLEMENT. 

George C. Yount, an American, was the first 
settler in Napa county. He arrived in February, 
1831. He had as a guide a 3'oung man by the name 
of Guy F. Flynn, who afterwards became a settler 
in this county, but at what date is unknown. But 
it seems to be a fact that Flynn visited Napa 
county in 1825, and obtained the knowledge of the 
country that enabled him to act as a guide to Mr. 
Yount. It is also known that Flynn did revisit 
this valley and locate permanently, for in 1872 he 



^0 NAPA COUNTY. 

(lied in a little old house among the Indians near 
yn\ni city. Mr. Yount followed trapping and 
hunting for a time and in 1836 he built the first 
log house ever erected in California by an Amer- 
ican. It was eighteen feet square below, with an 
upper story twenty-two feet square, in which 
there were port-holes, through which to defend 
himself from the Indians, with which the valley 
fairly swarmed. He obtained the grant to the 
Caymus rancho and lived there until his death, 
which occurred on October 5th, 1865. 

Next in order comes Don Cayetano Juarez, wlio 
came into the valley as a permanent settler in 1840 
although he had stock in the valley as early as 
1837. In 1840 he built a small adobe house on 
Tulucay rancho and brought his family from So- 
noma. 

Nicolas Higuerra, sometimes called Jose Hi- 
guerra, who came in and settled on the banks of 
Napa creek, about one half mile from its mouth. 
Here he built a wicker house, which he plastered 
Avith mud on the outside and covered witli a 
ihatch of tule grass, here he raised a large family, 
two daughters of which were married b}^ the Ber- 
ryessas of the valley of that name. 

In 1839, Dr. E. T. Bale, an Englishman, obtain- 
ed a grant to the Oorne Humana rancho, and set- 
tled there. He married a sister of General Val- 
lejo and lived on his immense estate, which in- 
cluded all of Napa valley north of Caymus 
rancho, until his death in 1850. 

Salvador Vallejo, on September 21st, 1838, ob- 
tained a grant to the Napa rancho, and subse- 
((uently erected a large adobe house, northwest of 
Napa, some three miles, but his home was in 
Sonoma. 

In 1843, Jose Jesus and Sisto Berryessa ob- 
tained a grant to the Las Putas rancho and after- 



NAPA COUNTY. 31 

wards located upon it. He built a large adobe 
house which went to ruin; a second one was built, 
a portion of which is still standing on the estate 
of Abraham Clark. 

In 1840, E. Barnett came to the valley and re- 
mained with Mr. Yount till 1843, when he settled 
in Pope valley. 

In 1843 William (or Julien) Pope obtained a 
grant to the rancho Locoallomi and moved his 
family upon it where he shortly afterwards lost 
his life by accident. He and William Gordon had 
come to this coast by way of Mexico in which 
country Pope had married a native wife. She 
subsequently married the pioneer mentioned 
above, E. Barnett, who lived in Pope valley, until 
about 1862. 

In 1844, William Baldridge arrived at Napa 
Embarcadero, and thence he proceeded to Yount- 
ville and was last living at Oakville. 

Bartlett Vines, a son-in-law of Yount, crossed 
the plains with him, and came to Napa in 1844 on 
board of Captain Sutter's schooner "Sacramento." 
To the Vines family w^as born the first white child 
in Napa county, and some claim it was the first 
white child born in California, but as this ques- 
tion remains unsettled, the honor lies between the 
Vines family of Napa county, the Julius Martin 
family of Santa Clara county, w^ho crossed the 
plains with Baldridge and Vines, and the James 
Gregson family of Sonoma county. 

Colonel J. B. Chiles, who first came to Califor- 
nia in 1841, came again in 1843 and located in 
Chiles valley in 1844. With this party came also 
Miss Elizabeth Yount, daughter of the old pion- 
eer, who, in 1849 was married to John C. Davis. 

In 1845, John York, John Grigsby, William 
Hudson, Harrison Pierce, David Hudson, Ben- 
jamin Dewell, William Elliott and sons, William 



32 NAPA COUNTY. 

Fowler, Sr., Henry Fowler, William Fowler, Jr., 
Calvin C. Griffith, Harvey Porterfield and William 
Hargrave came in and settled in diiferent por- 
tions of the county. 

When Mr. York arrived in the valley in 1845, 
he found the following settlers in the county: Ben 
Kelsey lived on the place now owned by Peter 
Teal, which was then the property of Ralph Kil- 
burn. This was about one mile south of the pres- 
ent site of Calistoga. Next to him, and on what is 
now the George Tucker place, E. Barnett was 
living, who afterwards married the widow Pope. 
Sam Kelsey lived at the place where Bale's mill 
now stands, with his wife and two children, liis 
wife being among the first, if not the first woman 
who came overland to California. 

At this time (1845), Ralph Kilburn had begun 
the erection of a saw mill on Napa river, just 
northeast of Krug's wine cellar, and for this work 
was to receive from Dr. Bale three-quarters of a 
league of land. Dr. Edward Bale, then lived in 
an adobe house, 60x20 in size, situated near the 
foothills, west of Pine station. The next settler 
was George C. Yount, who also lived in an adobe 
house, near the present site of the mill property 
of F. W. Ellis. The next place was the Salvador 
Vallejo estate, on which there was three adobes, 
one at the site of Barth wine cellar, one at the 
Francas, and one on the opposite side of the river. 

Nicholas Higuerra had an adobe at the Patch- 
ett place; Cayetano Juarez had an adobe between 
Napa and the Asylum; General Vallejo ha<i an 
adobe on the Soscol rancho, where he kept a few 
of his retainers. The Pope family were living in 
the valley of that name; the Berryessas in the 
valley of that name and Colonel Chiles and Will- 
iam Baldridge in Chiles valley; Peter Storm was 
living on the Kilburn place at that time; Nathan 



NAPA COUNTY. S3 

Coombs cam* to Napa township during that year. 

When Mr. York arrived in Napa county lie pro- 
ceeded at once to the vicinity of Galistoga, then 
known as Aguas Caliente, as did William Hudson; 
William Elliott also spent the first winter here. 
Of the young men who came over the mountains 
with Mr. York, Benjamin Dewell, John (Jibbs, 
H. Sanders, William Ford, B. Fowier, ail settled 
in the county. David Hudson's first house at 
Calistoga, built in the fall of 1845, was a cabin 
constructed of little round logs, daubed with mud 
and covered with shakes; Mr. York constructed 
his cabin out of slabs and covered it with shakes, 
it was 10x12 in size. 

In 1846, Enoch Cyrus and family, William H. 
Nash and family, John S. Stark and family, Col. 
M. D. Ritchie and family, Chas. Hopper and fami- 
ly, F. E. Kellogg and family and John Cyrus 
came into the county. In 1847 the Bale mill was 
complete and John York drew the first logs to it 
from the adjacent hills. It was during this year 
that the first celebration of our natal day occur- 
red. The place of meeting was under an immense 
oak at the mouth of Rector canyon. The families 
of York, Hudson, Bale, Vines, Yount, Rector and 
Grigsby, were present, and a good social time was 
generally had. During the day singing was in- 
dulged in, and the grand strains of the "Star 
Spangled Banner" echoed through the hills and 
up the canyon for the first time. It will be re- 
membered that California was yet a part of Mex- 
ico and the celebration on foreign soil was rather 
incongruous, but prophetic. Among the settlers 
that came in in 1847 were William Edgerton, who 
settled in Chiles valley, J. W., S. J., R. P., and C 
W. Tucker, who settled near Calistoga. 

In 1849 came Peter D. Baily, George Linn, 
Turner G. Baxter and James H. McCorcle. 



34 NAPA COUNTY. 

In 1850, J. H. Seawell, William Dinning and 
William A. Haskins, in Hot Springs township; 
Leonard Tully and J. S. Trubodj, in Yount; F. T. 
Grigsby, T. F. Kaney, H. Amesbury, E. G. Yonng, 
and Jesse Grigsby, in Napa. In 1851, William 
Locker and T. Grigsby, to Yount; P. G. Gesford, 
Hot Springs; J. H. Howland, Napa. 

In 1852, A. W. Norton, John M. Davis, John T. 
Smith, Napa; Mathew Vann, John Lawler, Hot 
Springs; P. T. and G. W. Teale, Hot Springs; \V. 
S. Jacks, Napa. In 1853, M. A. Elgin, J. G. Ran- 
dall, B. Little, Wm. Middleton, Chas. Robinson, 
C. H. Allen, H. Goodrich, H. A. Pellet and W. A. 
Fisher, Napa. In 1854, Joel Barnett, and John M. 
Kister, Hot Springs; Robert Miller, Jesse Barnett, 
Knox; R. F. Lane, Knox; J. Watson, Napa. In 
1855, Connelly Conn, Yount; W. E. Anderson, 
Napa. There are many other pioneers whose 
names will be found mentioned elsewhere, that 
are omitted here. 

The reader is referred to the township histories 
and to the biographical department for further 
names. Of course, it is impossible at this late 
date, to make the list complete, but we have it as 
full as it is possible to make it. 

We will now take up the principal events 
which have occurred in the history of Napa 
county and record them in the order as they hap- 
pened. 

As early as 1841, John Rose and John C. Davis 
built a schooner and launched it from a point of 
land just above the stone bridge on First street. 
This must have been a small affair, probably not 
much larger than a whale boat. In 1845, they 
built a barge which was used as a trading boat 
in all the bay inlets. In 1847, they constructed a 
sawmill for Salvador Vallejo on the east side of 



NAPA COUNTY. 35 

iNapa river, about seven miles above town. The 
site is still visible. 

Among the early pioneers who came over the 
unknown and untraveled desert and mountains 
to California, in 1846, was ex-Governor Lilburn 
W. Boggs. In those days it will be remembered, 
that California was a Mexican province, and it 
was necessary for an American citizen to have a 
passport from his government to secure his safe 
passage through the country. The passport given 
to Governor Boggs was as follows: 

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. 
To all to whom these presents shal) come, Greet- 
ing: 

No. 951. 
I, the undersigned. Secretary of State of the 
United States of America, hereby request all 
whom it may concern to permit, safely and freely 
to pass, Lilburn W. Boggs, wife and eight child- 
ren, a citizen of the United States, and in case of 
need to give him all lawful aid and protection. 
Given under my hand and the impression of the 
seal of the Department of State, 
at the city of Washington, the 
25th day of April, A. D. 1846, in 
the seventieth year of the Independence of the 
United States. 

(Signed:) JAMES BUCHANAN. 

August 1st, 1849, an electioa was held at So- 
noma, in the Territory of California, at which 
James Cooper, John G. Kay, and Nathan Coombs 
acted as clerks. The poll list was certified to by H. 
W. Halleck, then Brevet Captain and Secretary 
of State. Ex-Governor Boggs, as First Alcalde, 
of the District of Sonoma, filed the following cer- 
tificate in regard to this election: 

Alcalde's office, Sonoma, August 21st, 1849. 



36 NAPA COUNTY. 

I, L. W. Boggs, First Alcalde of Sonoma, do 
hereby certify that the above returns are correct 
with the exception of the vote for First Alcalde, 
which office is not vacant. 

Given under my hand and seal in Sonoma, the 
2d day of August, 1849. 

(Signed:) L. W. BOGGS, 

First Alcalde. 

The vote certified to above was as follows: Fjr 
delegate to the Convention, Schoolcraft, 1; Steven 
Smith, 3; M. G. Vallejo, 4; Salvador Vallejo, 23; 
Eobert Semple, 32; John B. Frisby, 16; Lilburn 
W. Boggs, 34: James Clyman, 37; Jasper O'Far- 
rell, 38; Joel P. Walker, 65 and Bichard A. Mai- 
pin, 75. For Judge of the Superior Court, J. E. 
Brackett, 85. For Prefect, Charles C. Wilkins, 
45; William E. Taylor, 26; Jose Berryessa, 19 and 
John Cameron, 7. For First Alcalde, John G. 
Bay, 19; John A. Griffin, 5; George Yount, 3 and 
Peter Campbell, 1. For Second Alcalde, Balph 
Kilburn, 43. For Justices of the Peace, Peter 
Campbell, 28 and James Griffith, 14. For Sherilf, 
Israel Brockman, 86. 

The first record of the Alcalde's Court in Napa 
county is under date of October 20th, 1849, wh3-n 
the following proceedings Avere had: "Napa ral- 
ley, Territory of California, District of Sonoma. 
For Petty Larceny: And now comes the said par- 
ties, Charles L. Cady, appearing for the Territory 
of California, being ready for trial, a jury of six 
men were subpoenaed and sworn, viz: D. Q. 
Tucker, William Bussell, J. Brown, William 
Edgington, William Morgan and John Taylor, 

Case adjourned till 6 p. m. Parties and jury ap- 
peared, and after hearing, could not agree on a 
verdict. Case adjourned till 10 o'clock Sunday, 
21st October, 1849. Sunday, October 21st, 1849, 
parties appeared. Another jury subpoenaed and 



NAPA COUNTY. 37 

sworn, viz : H. Johnson, 0. Briggs, A. Gutherio, N. 
Kennedy, William Watson and I. Boles. N. Mc- 
Kimony, Constable or Sheriff and R. L. Kilburn, 
Alcalde. 

The next case recorded is under date of Novem- 
ber 8, 1849, and was a civil action, entitled: "Nich- 
olas Agara vs. Jarrus." The judgment rendered 
in the case was as follows: "Judgment is hereby 
rendered in favor of said Nicholas for damages, 
175.00, and for costs of the suit, also the further 
sum of 110.00, total, |85.00. On further proof, the 
said Jarrus has no property, and with his consent 
and the petition of said Nicholas, it is ordered 
that the said Jarrus work for said Nicholas, at 
wages to be agreed upon between them, at as high 
rate as Jarrus could obtain elsewhere, continu- 
ously from day to day until the said sum of $85.00 
is fully paid and satisfied." 

The District Attorney at this time was Joseph 
W. Brackett. 

In August, 1850, the Justice for Napa county 
was John S. Cripps, and in November of that year 
S. H. Sellers is found to hold that position. 
Charles P. Wilkins was Prefect in Sonoma in 
1849. 

Among the curiosities of the olden days, many 
of our readers may remember the pioneer carria,ge 
of this section, which was the property of General 
Vallejo. It was at one time the State carriage of 
the Duke of Wellington. General Vallejo pur- 
chased it in London in 1833, and brought it to Cal- 
ifornia shortly afterward. The driver rode on 
one of the horses. 

FIRST MARRIAGE LICENSE 

On record in Napa county was William Monroe 
to Nancy Morgan, issued June 2d, 1850, by Will- 
iam G. Canders. 



38 NAPA COUNTY. 

FIRST MORTGAGE RECORDED. 

Was Joseph D. Bristol to Warren P. Durbin on 
lot 2, Block 6, Napa city, the consideration being 
|2,000. (Two thousand dollars). Recorded June 
18th, 1851, Released, Nov. 13th, 1855. 

THE FIRST ELECTION HELD IN NAPA 
COUNTY 

After its organization was on the first Monday 
in April, 1850. The first deed recorded in Napa 
county is dated April 3d, 1850, and is from Nich- 
olas Higuera to John C Brown, and acknowl- 
edged before M. H. N. Kendig, Recorder. The 
second is dated Feby. 15th, 1850, from Nathm 
Coombs and Isabella, his wife, to Joseph Brack ,'tt 
and J. W. Brackett, of Napa valley. District of 
Sonoma, in the Northern Department of Califor- 
nia. The property conveyed was lot 3, in block 
5, Napa city, acknowledged before R. L. Kilburn, 
Alcalde, The next deed is dated November 29th, 
1848, from Nicholas Higuera to Joseph P. Thomp- 
son, acknowledged before L. W. Boggs, Alcalde 
of Sonoma. Another deed is dated October 18th, 
1845, from George Roch to Jacob P. Leese, con- 
veying the grant called Guenoco. It is in the 
Spanish language and acknowledged before Jose 
de la Rosa, seventh constitutional Alcalde of So- 
noma. As an illustration of the value of money 
in those early daj^s, we may mention that a mort- 
gage was given October 20th, 1850, from Jose S. 
Berryessa to W. R. Bradshaw for |1,000 at 10 per 
cent, interest per month. The principal and inter- 
est was paid in a few months. 

The first Grand Jury in Napa county compris- 
ed the following named gentlemen: Thomas 
Knight, Enoch Cyrus, William A. Haskin, Will- 
iam D. Dearing, George C. Yount, Joseph Green, 



NAPA COUNTY. 39 

George W. Moodie, Angus L. Boggs, Edward C. 
Cage, John Barbour, Anderson Farley, Horatio 
N. Amesbury, Lyman Chapman. The following 
persons were subpoenaed for this jury but did not 
put in an appearance: Thomas Hensley, Leonard 
Miller, Joseph Mount, Joseph White, Turner G. 
Baxter and Joseph Keed. The meeting of this 
jury was held August 4th, 1851. 

On the same date the following gentlemen were 
supoenaed, comprising the first Trial Jury in 
Napa county: Preston G. Gesford, Henry Boggs, 
William Baldridge, John Grigsby, Anson White, 
F. J. Benjamin, John Guthrie, Isaac McCoombs, 
and Edward McGarry. The following were ab- 
sent: William James, Em. A. d'Himicourt, Rob- 
ert Catherwood and John S. Cripps. 

In December, 1851, Edward H. Cage, better 
known as "Ned" Cage, w^as appointed to the posi- 
tion of Judge of the Plains, for the lower pre- 
cinct; and the Sheriff of the county was delegated 
to perform the same duties for the upper precinct. 
As that position and its duties are long since 
things of the past, a word of explanatir,n will not 
be out of place here. It will be remembered that 
in the early days everybody's cattle ran at large 
here, and as a matter of course, the bands got 
very promiscuously mixed up during the year. 
Once a year there vsas a general grand gathering 
up of all the cattle in the county, and the young 
stock was branded. This was called a rodeo, pro- 
nounced "rodero." It often occurred that dis- 
putes arose among the stockmen in regard to the 
ownership of the stock, and it was to arbitrate 
these matters that the Judge of the Plains was 
appointed. 

The first Board of Supervisors of Napa county 
convened December 6th, 1856, and was composed 
of the followins: members: John M. Hamilton, 



40 NAPA COUNTY. 

Florentine E. Kellogg and Jesse Whitton. J. M. 
Hamilton was chosen chairman of the Board. 

Pressley Thompson presented the first claim 
against the county, which was for building a 
bridge across Napa creek and the amount of the 
claim was |1,190.00. 

May 17th 1853, Napa river was declared to be 
a navigable stream by the Legislature, 

April 10th, 1855, the following act of the Legis- 
lature was approved: "The people of Napa coun- 
ty may levy a tax not to exceed one-half of one 
per cent., half of which is to be applied to the re- 
moval of snags from the Napa river, and the 
other half to the construction of a wagon road 
from Napa valley to Clear Lake \ia Pope and 
Coyote valleys. 

November 7th, 1855, the Board of Supervisors 
ordered that the Treasurer purchase a safe for the 
county not to cost more than |200. 

April 7th, 1856, the first school districts were 
organized in what is now Lake county, but then 
a portion of Napa county. They were two in 
number. 

May 19th, 1856, the Board of Supervisors issued 
an order for funding the county debt. The new 
bonds were to be of the denominations of |50, 
|100, and |500, and the rate of interest was to be 
10 per cent, per annum. 

The condition of the finances of the county in 
1856 is indicated by the following report of the 
Treasurer, rendered October 31st, of that year: 

Balance in County Fund |1,319.78 

Balance in Contingent Fund 171.82 

Balance in Road Fund 441.20 

Balance in Sinldng Fund 427.74 

Balance in School Fund 287.63 

Total on hand $2,651.17 



NAPA COUNTY. 41 

The indebtedness could not be ascertained at 
that time. 

Among the historical curiosities which have 
been unearthed in Napa county, we present the 
following copy of an old political poster, which 
was issued in 1856, as being of considerable in- 
terest: 

REPUBLICAN RALLY. 

"There will be a meeting of the Republican 
party at the Court house in Napa city on Satur- 
day, October 18th, 1856, at 2 p. m., to adopt such 
measures as will promote the success of Republi- 
can principles, and the triumph of the party. 
Trenor W. Parks, Esq., of San Francisco, will be 
present and will address the meeting. Let all 
come who are in favor of the immediate construc- 
tion of the (Central) Pacific Railroad; opposed to 
violence and bloodshed at the National Capital, 
and who believe that the truths of the Declara- 
tion of Independence are practical. 

"Come one ! Come all!!" (The following names 
were signed to the call):) C. Hartson, Dr. Henry, 
James Glasford, Thomas Knight, William Har- 
grave, S. Wing, William McDonald, J. M. Mans- 
field, Reese Smith, Seth Dunham, Isaac Allen, 
John Wilford, Jacob McCoombs, Levi Hardman, J. 
W. Osborne, Josiah Trubody, Isaac Pastelow, Dr. 
W. W. Stillwagon, J. McCoombs, George C. 
Yount, James Lefferts, A. L. Haven, Phil Howell, 
Chas. H. Allen, Ed. Chesebro, Silas Ritchie, John 
McCloud, Capt. L. T. Wilson, Dr. White, Capt. 
Clayton, William Fisher, Lyman Chapman, D. L. 
Cheeney, H. R. Curtis, L. G. Lillie, Israel Putnam, 
Benjamin McCoombs, A. C. Welch, John W^olf, 
Samuel Cook, James Blake, Stephen Broadhurst, 
S, J. Mount, Simon Loveland, James Record, 
Capt. Nichols, James Buckman, David Howell, 
Pierce Wiggins, William Lord, W. S. JackSj 



42 NAPA COUNTY. 

Joseph Baker, George F. Reeves, Henry Baker, 
William Sherman. 

The first move toward telegraphic connection 
ill Napa county was made in 1857. In November 
of that year we find that twenty-five shares of 
stock at flOO each had been subscribed towards 
constructing a line of telegraph from Napa to Yal- 
lejo. Only ten shares more were required to in- 
sure the success of the enterprise. February 13th, 
1858, the first meeting of the Napa and Vallejo 
Telegraph Companj^ was held and the folloM'ing 
officers were elected: President, James Lefferts; 
Vice-President, E. D. Hopkins; Treasurer, Rich- 
ard Budding; Secretary, Robert R. Pierpont; Di- 
rectors — G. N. Cornwall, W. H. James, Smith 
Brown, Henry Sage and Thomas Earl. Nothing 
further was done until 1859, on the 20th day of 
January of that year the first pole was set, and 
the line was soon after completed. 

NAPA AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

There was a small Agricultural Society organ- 
ized in 1854, but did not amount to much, there 
being only a small exhibition in a building in 
Napa city. 

October 17th, 1857, active measures were taken 
for the organization of an Agricultural Society in 
Napa county, and a meeting was called on that 
day of the citizens of the county to take the mat- 
ter under advisement. The convocation was or- 
ganized by calling J. W. Osborne to the chair and 
J. M. Dudley was chosen to act as Secretary. Hon. 
I'ulaski Jacks introduced the following resolu- 
tions: 

Resolved, That a committee of three citizens be 
a]>pointed to make preliminary arrangements in 
reference to holding a county Agricultural Show 
on or about the 5th of November next, said com- 



NAPA COUNTY, 4S 

mittee to make the necessary inquiries, and make 
report to this meeting by Wednesday next, the 
21st inst., at 2 o'clock p. m., and also report the 
probability of reorganizing the old society. The 
following gentlemen were appointed on that com- 
mittee: A. D. Pryal, B. Grimes and Thomas Earl. 

On motion of Mr. Ogden, it was resolved that a 
committee of three be appointed to devise means, 
and collect subscriptions necessary for incidental 
expenses. The following gentlemen were ap- 
pointed: Smith Brown, Major Easterbrook and 
George E. Goodman. 

In pursuance with the resolution above, an- 
other meeting was held October 21st, when the 
committee first mentioned above reported in fav- 
or of reorganizing the present Agricultural So- 
ciety, and, on motion, the report was adopted. 
The following officers were then elected: J. W. 
Osborne, President; George C. Yount, First Vice- 
President; Thomas H. Thompson, Second Vice- 
President; W. A. Haskins, Third Vice-President; 
L. T. Musick, Fourth Vice-President and Boon 
Fly, Fifth Vice-President; James McNeil, Corres- 
ponding Secretary; Kobert R. Pierpont, Record- 
ing Secretary; Thomas Earl, Treasurer, and R. C. 
Haile, Pulaski Jacks, L. F. Baker, James Horn- 
beck and Brice Grimes, Directors. 

The Board of Directors met at Napa on the 22d, 
when it was decided by the Board that an exhibi- 
tion of stock, farm, orchard, dairy, household and 
manufacturing products be held at Napa on the 
4th and 5th days of November next (1857), and 
that the following programme of exercises and 
amusements be adopted, viz: For Wednesday, the 
first day, there will be a. plowing match trial of 
teams on draft, ladies riding on horseback, and an 
address. 

For the second day a trial of road teams, gen- 



U NAPA COUNTY. 

tlemen riding and practicing with the lasso. The 
exhibition to close with a ball in the evening. Cer- 
tificates of membership may be had of the Treas- 
urer, Thomas Earl. Tickets for the ball were held 
at |3.00 each, and the ladies of Napa were re- 
quested to turn out and adorn the hall in which 
the ball was to be held. The success of the exhi- 
bition is unknown, and no mention is made of its 
repetition. 

February 1st, 1858, the following act of the 
Legislature was approved: 

The Board of Supervisors of Napa county shall 
levy a tax, not to exceed one-fourth of one per 
cent., for the purpose, of constructing a public 
road from the city of Napa, by way of Knights 
valley in Napa county, to the Russian river val- 
ley. Said road to pass up Napa valley on the west 
side of Napa creek, and also for the purpose of 
constructing a public road from Napa city, run- 
ning up the east side of Napa creek to Clear Lake 
by the way of Chiles canyon. 

In 1861, William Baldridge experimented on 
cotton growing in Napa valley; it did not do well, 
as the soil was evidently much better adapted to 
grapes than cotton. The credit of introducing 
the black locust tree on this coast belongs to Mr. 
Baldridge. The seed was sent him in 1845, and 
he planted it and from that came the stock now 
in California. 

^larch 3d, 1863, the Legislature passed an act 
providing for the levying of a tax of fifteen cents 
on the |100, in both Napa and Lake counties for 
the improvement of the road running through 
Chiles and Butts Canyons. 

August 11th, 1863, Charles Britton was hanged 
in Napa, which was the first execution that ever 
occurred in the city. 

September 7th, 1863, the Board of Supervisors 



NAPA COUNTY. 45 

of Napa county, by a special motion, added the 
word ''forever," to their order for a road from the 
Benicia road to Gordon valley, thus making it a 
"highway forever." We do not know that the or- 
der has ever been rescinded, nor do we know what 
effect it may have on the ages yet to come. 

December 24th, 1863, Samuel Brannan adver- 
tised for five hundred and seventy-five telegraph 
poles, with which to construct a line from Napa 
city to Calistoga. 

April 4th, 1864, the following act of the Legis- 
lature was approved: The Board of Supervisors 
of Napa county may levy a tax of twenty cents 
on each |100, in Napa county, for the purpose of 
purchasing fair grounds and constructing suit- 
able buildings thereon, for the use of any agricul- 
tural society now formed or that may be formed 
hereafter. Said tax to be levied whenever the San 
Pablo Bay District Agricultural and Mechanical 
Society is permanently located at Napa city; or 
whenever two hundred taxpayers of said county 
shall, in writing, petition said Board to make said 
levy. 

In 1864, Messrs. George N. and John Cornv/all 
planted a crop of tobacco near Napa which grew 
well. 

In 1864, the stage business between Napa city 
and Calistoga was in a flourishing condition, and 
was owned by Messrs. Brannan and Coombs, who 
ran a 24-passenger coach on it, Mr. Coombs also 
had a stage line between Napa city and Benicia. 

The condition of the county finances in August, 
1864, was as follows: 

Total Indebtedness |21,6T8.25 

Cash on Hand 3,964.09 

Balance of Debt |17,714.16 

The report of the Internal Kevenue oflicer 



46 NAPA COUNTY. 

shows that there were in Napa county, business 
subject to tax as follows: Ketail dealers, 12; re- 
tail liquor dealers, 6; butchers, 1; hotels, 5; dent- 
ist, 1; doctors, 4; lawyers, 4; pianos, 1; buggies, 3; 
and billiard tables, 1. 

PETROLEUM. 

Pursuant to a notice, a meeting of persons own- 
ing or interested in oil lands in Napa county w^as 
held at the office of G. W. Towle, in Napa city, on 
the 30th day of September, 1865, and adopted 
certain rules and regulations governing the same 
which were signed by E. N, Boynton as President, 
and I\. T. Montgomery as Secretary. 

The first discovery of petroleum in Napa county 
was made on May 15th, 1865. 

In July of the same year it was also discovered 
on Capt. Samuel D. Goodrich's place, about four 
miles northeast of Napa city. In May, 18G6, it 
was discovered at the head of Capelle valley, in 
fact evidences of petroleum have been found all 
over the county, but no paying quantities of it 
have been found. 

ASSASSINATION OF ABRAHAM LINCOLN. 

The principal event that occurred in the United 
States in 1865, was the murder of the head of the 
nation, Abraham Lincoln, by the fell assassin J. 
AVilkes Booth. This was a matter so fraught w ith 
interest to every citizen of the Union that we 
shall devote a portion of our space to a narration 
of the subject, giving the account as it appeared 
in the columns of the Napa County Register, un- 
der the date of April 22d, 1865, when it appeared 
^\ ith inverted column rules, or dressed in mourn- 
ing, and published the following in its editorial 
columns: 



NAPA COUNTY. 47 

"The nation is in mourning over the death of a 
good and great ruler. Abraham Lincoln is assas- 
sinated! Great horror and unspeakable anguish 
fills every loyal heart at this announcement. A 
week since the country was everywhere jubilant; 
the joyous roar of cannon rang over hill and 
through valley, proclaiming the fall of the rebel 
dynasty. But ere the smoke had ceased curling 
towards the heavens — while the echo of joyous 
salutes still vibrated upon the air, and before the 
cannon breech had fairly cooled — the terrible 
tidings that President Lincoln had fallen a victim 
to the assassin burst forth over the startled 
country, bowing many a head in anguish and 
sending a thrill of horror to the strongest heart. 
Lincoln, the crushed ruler of a free people — a 
second "Father of his Country" — launched into 
eternity without a second's warning — guilty of 
naught save a devotion to the country! "God 
grant it may not be true," was the prayer of all. 
But, alas for us! the telegraph performed its of- 
tice and tells us the terrible truth. 

"We read in history of ambitious chiefs and 
lulers having fallen by assassination; but the 
records of the dark ages — where crime and an- 
archy ran riot — furnish no parallel to this damn- 
able and atrocious act. The brain throbs and the 
heart grows faint as we meditate over the awful 
catastrophe. The deed was committed on the 
night of the 14th of April, in Ford's Theater, 
Washington. President Lincoln had consented to 
be present, although against his will, with his 
wife and son. His mind was occupied in devising 
ways and means for the speedy restoration of 
peace, and he preferred the Council Chamber, 
where he had spent the day, in deliberation with 
the Cabinet, to the opera house. But he took the 
fatal step, and there, in his private box^ with his 



48 NAPA COUNTY. 

familj, unconscious of harm, the assassin did the 
work. 

"Though shaken to our very center by the ter- 
rible and unexpected blow, the nation stands 
strong, and will travel on forever, shedding the 
light of our glory on all coming ages. Dark 
though our past may have been, our future is 
bright with promise of returning peace and pros- 
perity. But Americans never will, nor can 
they, forget this dark blot upon their country's 
history, however resplendent may be our future 
record; and, O, how bitter will be the anguish of 
those who are in anyway connected with or re- 
sponsible for the hellish act! What a weight of 
woe and lasting infamy will rest upon their child- 
ren and their children's children — the conscious- 
ness of their father's guilt in having sustained by 
word or deed the doings of traitors, North or 
South, whose acts have resulted in the death of 
President Lincoln." 

MASS MEETING. 

Pursuant to a notice, a large meeting of the cit- 
izens of Napa assembled at the Court house on 
Monday evening, the 17th, and made arrange- 
ments for appropriate funeral ceremonies on the 
following Wednesday, the day that Lincoln was 
buried. The meeting was called to order by A. 
J. Easterby and the following officers and com- 
mittees were appointed: President, Hon. Rob- 
ert Crouch; Secretary, A. A. Humewell; Vice 
Presidents, James Lefferts, Nathan Coombs, Geo. 
Fellows, Dr. W. W. Stillwater, J. H. Goodman, 
A. Wheeler, Smith Brown, E. S.Chesebro, N. A. 
Greene, J. F. Lambdin, J. H. Moran, J. M. Nichols, 
J. M. Carter, P. T. Montgomery, Henry Edgeing- 
ton, Rev. P. Deyaert, A. Y. Esterby, L. Bruck, A. 
Higbie, W. S. Turner, A. H. Humewell, Rev. W. 



NAPA COUNTY. 49 

J. McClay, Rev. P. V. Veeder. Committee on 
Resolutions: R. T. Montgomery, J. M. Carter and 
A. Higbie. Committee on Arrangements: N. 
Coombs, G. Fellows, J. H. Goodman, A. Wheel er, 
George E. Goodman, Smith Brown, A. A. Hume- 
well, E. S. Chesebro, N. A. Green, J. F. Lambdic, 
and J. H. Moran. 

RESOLUTIONS. 

Whereas, The causeless and unsuccessful as- 
sault which has been made by traitors in the re- 
volted States, and by their abettors everywhere, 
against the liberties of the American people and 
the lawful government of the United States, has 
culminated in the cowardly assassination of our 
revered Chief Magistrate, Abraham Lincoln, and 
the attempted murder of William H. Seward, the 
Secretary of State, therefore. 

Resolved, That the loyal citizens of Napa couu- 
ty recognize in this last desperate act of the un- 
scrupulous tools of traitors, new evidence of their 
barbarousness, and the character of the wretches 
who have so long made war against the govern- 
ment and Administration, and regard this atroci- 
ous murder as the legitimate fruits of the fiendish 
spirit of opposition which has appealed to the 
brute passions of the brute men. 

Resolved, That, in our view, the actual perpe- 
trators of this murder, unparalleled in American 
history, are less guilty than the traitors North as 
well as South, who have for the past four years 
fermented discord, denounced the officers of the 
government and incited treason; in that in our 
belief, the assassination of the President is to be 
attributed, not to a single murderer, but that a 
secret organization, whose members are to be 
found in every community, and which, either di- 
rectly or indirectly, or through its satellites, has 
been and still is actuated by the single purpose of 



50 NAPA COUNTY. 

destroying- the Government and securing success 
to the shxve-holders' rebellion. 

Eesolved, That the clemency and forbearance 
with which this class of traitors has been treat- 
ed by loyal citizens has been interpreted as evi- 
dence of cowardice and indifference, and embold- 
ered traitors and ruffians in our midst to continue 
their vile abuse of the Government and its officers, 
and this unchecked license to treasonable senti- 
ment has led to this crowning act of infamy — the 
murder of the President of the Eepublic. 

Resolved, That swift and severe punishment 
should be meted out to the authors and instru- 
ments of this hellish crime — a crime against the 
human race — as well as to all who justifv it, and 
that from this hour we will hold no man guiltless 
who shall approve the act or apologize for its 
perpetrators, but will heap upon any such, if de- 
tected in this community, the heavy indignation 
of a loyal people. 

Resolved, That as citizens of the American Re- 
public, we profoundly lament the loss of the great 
and good man who, through four terrible years of 
the rebellion, has conducted our national govern- 
ment with success and honor: That his untimely 
and violent death when just on the eve of return- 
ing peace, which his heart yearned for, and to- 
ward which the last energies of his life were de- 
voted—was a calamity, not only to the nation, 
but to civilization everywhere; that while we 
weep over his loss, our hearts are filled with 
thankfulness to the Giver of all good, that even 
thus far in the nation's life struggle. He hath 
vouchsafed to us the clear head, the pure heart, 
the firm will, and the unfaltering truth of Abra- 
ham Lincoln; that while in anguish we yield to 
the bitter consciousness that he has flown, and 
by the treacherous hand of an assassin, we rejoice 



NAPA COUNTY. 51 

in the knowledge that he leaves to the coming 
ages, a spotless record as a Christian and a pa- 
triot; that no words from living lips— no in- 
scriptions on sculptured marble can Ifitly set forth 
the greatness of the man, or declare the poignant 
sorrow of the nation that loved him and revered 
him, but the living and lasting record of his lofty 
patriotism shall be found in the heart of every 
man that has known opposition or learned the 
value of liberty. 

Resolved, That in view of this cowardly and 
atrocious attack upon the nation in the person of 
its executive head, and the lurking danger that 
threatens every loyal man, we pledge ourselves 
anew to devote our influence, our property, our 
lives, if need be, whenever and wherever they may 
be required, to maintain the entirety of the gov- 
ernment and punish traitors against its authority. 

Resolved, That on Wednesday next, the day of 
the obsequies of the President, we recommend 
that all business places be closed; that all flags 
and public and private buildings be draped in 
mourning; that a funeral oration be delivered on 
that day, with suitable religious services, and that 
the several military and fire companies, benevo- 
lent societies, public and private societies, and 
every man who feels the deep outrage which this 
terrible assassination inflicts upon him as a citi- 
zen, be invited to join in the funeral procession 
on that day and attend the public exercises. 

At a meeting of the Washington Light Battery, 
held at their armory, on Friday, the 21st, the fol- 
lowing preamble and resolutions were adopted: 

W^hereas, Abraham Lincoln, the beloved Pres- 
ident of a free people, has been basely assassinat- 
ed, while in the discharge of his official duties at 
the nation's capital, and, 

Whereas, While in his official career, in time of 



52 NAPA COUNTY. 

the rebellion and civil war, when the life of the 
nation was in peril, his wisdom and impartiality 
gave us confidence in his judgment and the final 
issue of the war, and while his patriotism and 
love of liberty gave full assurance of the advance- 
ment of the great question of this enlightened 
age, the extinction of human bondage, and. 

Whereas, His kindness and magnanimity gave 
us promise of a speedy and peaceful reunion with 
the nation's foes, therefore, be it 

Resolved, That we look upon his untimely end 
as a calamity, not alone to the nation, but to the 
lovers of freedom througliout the world. 

Resolved, That we cherish the principles he ad- 
vocated, and renew in this solemn hour our fidelity 
to the Union and its cause. 

Resolved, That the armory be dressed in mourn- 
ing for thirty days. 

E. M. BOYNTON, Secretary. 

OBSEQUIES OF THE PRESIDENT. 

No event ever drew such a concourse of people 
to Napa as the burial services of the Chief ]Magis- 
trate, Abraham Lincoln, on the day indicated in 
the resolutions above quoted. 

The procession was fnUj a half mile long and 
Avas led by the "Rangers," Capt. Lambdin; then 
followed the "Guard," Washingtion Light Battery, 
Pioneer Engine Company, citizens. Odd Fellows 
and Masons. The services were held in the Court 
house square, which was densely crowded by a 
sorrowful multitude, who had assembled to pay 
their last homage to the earthly remains of one of 
the greatest and best of men. After a touching 
and appropriate prayer by Rev. McGlay, Hon. 
Henry Edgerton delivered an oration, replete 
with wisd(»m, truth and pathos. Ilia words, witii 
a melancholy sadness fell upon the ears and 



NAPA COUNTY. 53 

touched the hearts of an attentive and tearful 
audience. Kev. Higbie delivered a benediction at 
the close of the ceremonies, after which Mr. East- 
erby came forward and requested the flag to be 
raised to full mast and invoked the blessing of 
Almighty God upon President Johnson. The day 
day was generally observed throughout, and 
the whole town being draped in mourning, gave 
it the solemnity due so great an occasion. 

The Franklin Lodge of Good Templars, No. 29, 
appointed V. J. Van Dorn, P. Prior and N. B. 
Gower a committee to draft suitable preamble 
and resolutions, which were adopted, as also did 
the Pioneer Engine Company of Napa. 

On the night of November 8th, 1865, the pris- 
oners in the County Jail, four in number, succeed- 
ed in making their escape. During the day the 
cells had been scrubbed out, and the prisoners 
were left in the corridor that night. They remov- 
ed a stone 10x20 inches in size, which allowed 
them to pass out easily. These stones were sup- 
posed to be dovetailed, so that they could not be 
removed, but this one did not seem to be. 

March 17th, 1866, an act of the Legislature was 
approved, giving to John Lawley the right to con- 
struct a turnpike road from Ed. Eboy's house in 
Napa county, through St. Helena canyon, and over 
the St. Helena range of mountains, to Siegler val- 
ley, in Lake county. 

April 2d, 1866, an act of the Legislature grant- 
ed to Dr. G. B. Crane, Dwight Spencer, Jesse 
Grigsby and R. B. Woodward, the right to con- 
struct a macadamized road from Napa to St. 
Helena. The matter was to be submitted to the 
people of the county. 

All old pioneers will well remember Ned Mc- 
Garry who served in the State Senate for several 
terms from this district. In December, 1877, he 



54 NAPA COUNTY. 

ended his earthly existence with a penknife, in 
the Occidental Hotel in San Francisco. 

HEALTHFUL CLIMATE OF NAPA COUNTY 

God, in His wisdom, has seen fit to create loca- 
tions which offer to the weak and sickly an 
asylum that baffles all the cunning devices of man 
to imitate it. Napa county is probably the health- 
iest county in the State of California, and this 
means much when we are not unmindful that ours 
is the State in all respects the healthiest in the 
union. The hills and mountains, sloping toward 
rich valleys; wide plains without a taint of malar- 
ia; ten months of sunshine; a thousand miles of 
sea coast with the strong Japan trade winds car- 
rying the strong salt air to every j)art of the 
State; the balmy air by day and cool, invigorat- 
ing nights, requiring blankets or comforters over 
the sleeper is a revelation compared to the fever- 
ish thirst and agony of the nights spent in the 
Eastern States, where the thermometer by nights 
holds its tyrannical sway with a register of 80 to 
100 at three and four o'clock in the morning. 

Such a thing as typhoid, malarial, or other fev- 
ers, due to an ague condition in the body is never 
heard of in this county. When people come here 
impregnated with malaria, this climate of match- 
less purity will drive it out. There is not a soli- 
tar}^ contagious or other disease incident to or 
growing out of the climatic conditions of this 
county, except measles, whooping cough, mumps 
and ordinary colds, the latter being so light as to 
hardl}^ deserve the name it bears. The writer 
spent the winter of 1881-2 in Georgia, Alabama, 
South Carolina and Florida, only the last named 
State bears any resemblance to our Golden State, 
the three former are variable and generally cold 
and raw, ice often forming to a thickness of two 



NAPA COUNTY. 55 

or three inches, the nights in summer were inso- 
lently hot and torrid, and we awoke at morninu: as 
weary as when w^e retired. In Florida the climate 
during December and January is almost perfect, 
but the other ten months are oppressively liot, 
and on February 1st, 1892, the glass was up to 
100 at Tampa, while it was 40 below zero at St. 
Paul, Minnesota. In summer the country from 
Pensacola to the everglades and from Cedar 
Keys to St. Augustine, is ravaged with fever, 
and one lady whom we met, when answering the 
inquiry of her being absolutely bald, replied that 
she had typhoid fever three times in five years, 
and withal she lived within the radius of one m le 
from the salt water of the Gulf of Mexico. This 
shows that the almost omnipotent power of salt 
water cannot combat the deadeningeffects of heat 
and the blighting paralysis of the tropics. Now, 
as Florida is the only State in the union to in any 
way compare with California in the softness of 'ts 
climate, and the golden beauty of days, let us ex- 
amine the chances for labor and the opportunity 
for making a living in the two States. In the 
former State we see all that is a symbol of pover- 
ty and financial distress. Cows, with rope harnes<^ 
attached to a rickety wagon, a steer and cow 
coupled together and driven in a two-wheeled 
cart, one chain tug, another of rope and another 
of leather, and a fourth a part of chain spliced on 
with rope. Sand dunes for farms; log houses, raz- 
or-backed hogs; a species of dwarf cows; the table 
forever spread with bacon and hominy fit only for 
the cold north, but on account of its cheapness 
always in evidence on every table in the State. 
The crops in Florida are oranges and sweet pota- 
toes; the former is always at a low ebb in price, 
and offers a poor remuneration for the work be- 
stowed on it. Were it not for the northern tourist 



56 NAPA COUNTY. 

the people of that State would be in absolute 
squalor. The money left bj the tourist in Florida 
amounts to at least seven-tenths of all of the re- 
sources of that State. Now, as to California, let 
it be understood at once that in point of wealth, it 
is one of the foremost in the union. Labor is al- 
ways in demand, and well paid, wages averaging 
from |25 to flOO per month; land averages in 
price from ten to one thousand dollars per acre; 
the wealth of the State runs high in the millions, 
with a variety of commodities that would stagger 
an Eastern man. Think of ten thousand acre 
wheat farjiis, and two hundred horses in active 
farm work; orange farms run on the line from 
live to thirty acres, some larger, but the majority 
of farms are small, and the whole southern por- 
tion of the State is a net work of orange and lem- 
on orchards, and the net price received for each 
year's crop, is so great that with long shipments 
and big freight bills, the emoluments to the 
farmer is the best and largest in the State when 
compared to other commodities. In the northern 
portion of California the soil is devoted to wheat, 
rye, oats, barley, corn, grapes, raisins, prunes, 
peaches, cherries, apricots and strawberries, and 
the yield is annually so large that it is the means 
of pouring millions of dollars annually in the 
pockets of the producers. Such a thing as crop 
failure in Xapa county for want of rain, or from 
otlier causes, due to climate, or weather, is never 
heard of. The county is honey-combed with rare 
opportunities for making money, and with East- 
ern men here with their thrift and splendid econ- 
omy, as much could be attained here in one year 
as could be secured in five in any part of the effete 
and worn out East. For instance, we have quick- 
silver mines to enlist the enterprise of the capital- 
ist; wonderful mineral springs, equal to any in 



NAPA COUNTY. 57 

Europe, not out-done by the Spa or Sprudel waters 
across the sea. Many of these springs could be 
purchased, advertised, and become a mecca, to- 
ward which thousands of invalids would turn for 
health in the magic healing of the waters. The 
culture of the grape will afford employment for 
thousands, and its reward rich and lasting. With- 
out enumerating, left me only mention, wheat, rye, 
oats, barley, prunes, cherries, apricots, berries, 
chickens, cattle, horses, stock raising, etc., and 
work with all its severe sides is a pleasure, when 
it can be performed under blue skies, in a balmy 
clime, when the air is resonant with the fragrance 
of sweet flowers. Let the Eastern man or wo- 
man not forget that, while the heads of nails in 
their dining rooms and kitchens are white from 
frost, caused by the cold without, and when they 
wade through the depths of white monotonous 
snow drifts, that here we sit in the depth of your 
winter by an open window and look out on a sea 
of flowers, the rose, daffodil, morning glory, hya- 
cinth, pansy and violet, all dressed in the gorg- 
eous richness of color, at the same time filling the 
air with their exhalations of sweet and intoxicat- 
ing odors. In addition to all these favors which 
heaven has lavished on this favored land, we have 
here the highest civilization, and in every walk or 
avenue is seen the features that make for good. 
Both church and school are the best, and from 
these homes of civilization go out daily the strong 
characters in men and women to grace any place 
or spot where they may call home. Both town 
and county is a lexicon of Christian homes, where 
purity and piety are as marked as it is in any 
Eastern county or State, and no one will be sad- 
dened by a change of residence from the Chris- 
tian communities of Maine, Ohio, or any other 
State for one here, on account of the anticipated 
loss of religious atmosphere. 



58 NAPA COUNTY. 

CLIMATE OF NAPA COUNTY. 

The following table, whicli is the record of tem- 
perature from April to December, 1867, will serve 
to indicate the general climate of the city: 



Month. 



April 15 

' 20-27 
" 28.... 
" 29 . . . 



May I 

" 2,3 

" 4-10... 

" II 

" 12 

" 13 

" 14-21.. .. 

" 22 

" 25-27.... 

" 28, 29, 30 

" 31 



June 



1-5 •• 
6.7.... 
8,9 .. 

10-14 . 

15-19. 

20 

21, 22 

23-25. 
26-29. • 



July 



X 

2, 3 

4. . 

5. ■• 
6.... 



8.... 
9-1 1. 
12, 13 

14, 15. 
16-18. 
21, 22 
23 . . . 
24-27. 
28, 29. 
30. .. 
31 ••• 



Decs. 



Min. Max. 



60 
60 
60 



60 
50 
62 

70 
80 

75 

65 
70 
70 

67 
60 
60 
60 
68 
65 
65 

65 
65 
65 
60 
80 

85 
78 
70 
66 
70 
70 
60 
64 

65 

67 

65 
70 



66 
90 
80 
60 

70 
6b 
80 
78 
74 
64 
60 
66 
76 
8 J 
86 

74 
80 
90 
70 
70 
76 
76 
80 
78 
79 

90 



103 

lOI 
lOI 

96 
80 
88 
80 
96 
70 
72 

75 
80 

84 

S2 



Month. 



August I 
2, 



3-5- •■ 
6 

7 

8 

10-13 • 
14-16. 
17, 18. 

19 

20, 21. 

22 

23, 24. 
25, 26. 
27, 28 
29 ... . 
30 ... . 
31- • ■ 



September i, 
3- 



4.... 
5--. 
6.7. 
8-11. 
12-14. 

15-17- 
18-21. 
22... . 
23-29. 



October 7 . . 

8, 9- 
10.. 
II.... 
21.. . 
" 31- . 



November 7-9.. 
'* 10, II. 

" 22-29. 

December i . . . . 

15- ■■■ 



Decs. 



Min. Max. 



64 
68 
65 
65 
70 
60 
70 
70 
68 
60 

65 
60 

65 
70 
62 
60 
70 
65 

65 
70 
68 
60 
58 
54 
54 
60 
70 

65 
60 

50 
55 
70 
70 
60 
60 



Frost 
60 

55 

50 
50 



75 
80 

75 
74 
86 

75 
85 
78 
80 
70 
80 
70 
80 

85 
70 

75 
80 

75 

75 
80 

75 
70 

75 
70 
66 

75 
90 
80 
70 

65 
72 
80 

75 
So 
70 

64 
70 
70 

62 
62 



o 

g; 


June 

July 

August 


S 
» 
■^ 


> 


o 


cr 


» 


1-1 


d 

n 
o 
n 

3 
o* 

■-I 


? 

•< 

n 

B 
cr 
f» 


September 
October... . 


o 

B 


s 1 






5 


M 
ON 






to 

bv 

4^ 


to 

bo 




Years 

1866-67 




M 


.t>. 


Ol 


o 


Oj 


a^ 


4:^ 




Days 


4:>. 
On 

8 








0^ 




ON 

4i 


CM 




VI 


Years 
1867-68 


2 1 


4^ 




\o 


to 


o 


^-4 

to 


00 


vj 


M M 


Dajs 


W 1 

On 






JO 

vJD 
4^ 




00 


o> 


vb 

4^^ 




b 

to 


Years 
1868-69 i 






Oo 


4^ 


vD 


Ol 


to 


l-H 


to 


M 


Days 


10 

M 




CTn 




bo 


4>. 

bo 

4^ 


4i> 

4^ 

O 


Ol 

IH 


to 

4^ 
Cn 


vb 

4^ 


Years 
1869-70 


^ 


M M 


OJ 


a\ 


^-1 


to 


VO 


VI 


(0 


to M 


Days 


*1 

00 
>o 


b 




to 

M 


bo 


On 
to 




to 

4i. 

oo 


•<i 

to 




Years 
1870-71 


■^ 


M M 


*- 


4^ 


^1 


::; 


v^t 


0^ 


4^ 


M 


Days 




b 


b 


M 

4^ 
00 


M 

'as 


M 


VO 


to 
to 


C^ 


o 


'Years 
1871-72 i 


0\ 




M 


CTn 


•VI 


VO 


o 


CTn 


00 


l-l 


Days 


O 






6i 


b 


Ol 


to 

b 
*>• 


vj 

NO 

C^J 


V^l 

4=> 


b 

CO 


Years 

1872-73 1 




„ 


.^^ 


4^ 


c!n 


00 


VO 


Oi 


M 


1 Days 1 


00 


^ 




00 




b 


00 
to 


vO 


•VI 


4i. 

VJl 


Years ; 
1873-74 


-4 

4i. 


1 H 


*^ 


as 




o 




VO 


C^J 


M M 


1 Day 


to 
4^ 




CO 




to 




CO 

On 


a 


00 
vb 


4^ 

vj 


Years 

1874-75 




1 Cn 


K> 




Vl 




M 


C/o 


vO 


VO tH 


1 Days 








IH 


00 

bo 

Ol 


VX 






CO 
bo 


M 

to 


Years 
1875-76 


CO 




o* 


Oi 


o 


^s 


.2 


vO 


M 


to 


1 Days 

Years 

1876-77 














•<I 






CO 

to to 














M 




to 


VJ 10 


1 Days 



ST" 


H 






f» 







0^ 




:z: 







^ 


^ 




p 


a 




n 


w 







p 




^^ 


cr" 












r» 




^ 


f» 



& 

5' 






CO 


5^ 




1 


;> 




vl 


1— 1 




FT 


!z! 




CO 


> 




0^ 


r" 




vJ 


r" 



(W 



TEMPERATURE. 



I RAINFAI,L FOR I9OO 



DATE 



January . . 
February . 
March .... 

April 

May 

June 

July 

August. . . . 
September 
October ... 
NoTember 
December 



MAXI- 
MUM. 



64 
72 
81 
80 
96 

94 

96 

106 

102 

91 
89 
63 



MINI- 
MUM 



33 

32 
36 

34 
38 
45 
51 
45 
40 
37 
38 
30 



49.6 
52 I 
56.6 

55.5 
62.8 
66.8 
68 8 
66.1 
64.5 
606 
57-2 
48.4 



2.84 

.41 
2.90 
1.60 

•31 

.00 

,00 

.10 

1.50 

6.33 

2.21 

18.20 inches 



f'or the last 
table we are 
indebted to Mr, 
Wm, Martin 
showing rain- 
fall of 1900. 



60 NAPA COUNTY. 

COUNTY INFIRMARY. 

In accordance with an act of the Legislature, 
approved April 18th, 1867, it was ordered by the 
Board of Supervisors, March 18th, 1868, that they 
proceed to establish an infirmary in Napa county. 
March 10, 1869, bids for the erection of buildings 
were advertised for, and April 13th, of that year, 
the contract was let to Beeby, Robinson & Son, 
for the sum of |81,218.55. The building was com- 
pleted August 2d, of the same year, and is located 
in a spacious tract of land to the southwest of 
Napa city, a short distance. 

In 1869 the following tax statistics were from 
the Assessor's books: 

Value of real estate in Napa County . . |2,538,089 
Value of personal property in Napa Co. 1,075,164 

Total 13,613,253 

Number of acres taxed, 211,131. 

State tax on above |35,115.87 

County tax on above 66,973 . 55 

Road poll tax collected 4,125 . 00 

Road district tax collected 9,050.00 

Dog tax collected 804 . 00 

Total tax collected |116,068.42 

OLD DEBT FUNDED. 

In accordance with an act of the Legislature, 
approved April 16th, 1880, the Board of Supervis- 
ors funded the debt of the county as follows: Rail- 
road debt of 1228,000, bearing interest of 10 per 
cent, to 6 per cent, payable June 30th, 1900; and 
the road district indebtedness of about |80,000, 
funde<l from 7 per cent, to 4^ per cent., payable 
;june 30th, 1890. 



: i NAPA COUNTY. 61 

RAILEOAD HISTORY. 

There is no subject more closely allied to the 
general history of Napa county than the railroad 
which extends through Napa valley, and for 
which the people have to pay but do not own. It 
is not within our province to comment on matters 
of this kind, but to give the facts as recorded in 
the press and records of the county, and leave the 
reader to draw his own conclusions. 

The first mention of a railroad enterprise of any 
kind in Napa county, is found under date of De- 
cember 26th, 1863, which states that a company 
has been organized in San Francisco for the pur- 
pose of constructing a railroad from Vallejo to 
Calistoga. No further mention is made of this 
company, and it is fair to presume that nothing 
more was ever done by it. 

In 1864 the ball for the Napa Valley Railroad 
was set to rolling. On January 9th, of that year, 
we find that subscription books to stock in this en- 
terprise were opened at the bank and the store of 
A. Y. Easterby & Co. 

March 26th of that year, Hon. Chancellor Hart- 
son introduced a bill before the Legislature pro- 
viding for the issuance of county bonds to the 
amount of |225,000 to aid the project. It was pro- 
vided that bonds should be issued at the rate of 
|10,000 per mile for the first five miles constructed 
and $5,000 for the remaining thirty-five on to Cal- 
istoga. This proposition was to be submitted to 
a vote of the people. It was argued that all the 
lands along the line of the road would be enhanc- 
ed in value at least ten per cent., and that would 
more than remunerate the added tax. 

April 4th, 1864, the Hartson bill was approved 
by the Governor and its provisions as finally pass- 
ed, were, in brief, as follows: The Board of Super- 



€2 



NAPA COUNTY. 



visors shall call a special election, to be held on 
the second Wednesday in May next (1864), to vote 
on the proposition of the taking of railroad stock 
by the county at the rate of |10,000 per mile for 
the first five miles, and |5,000 per mile for each 
mile thereafter. Two miles of the road must be 
completed before any money can be paid on it, 
and the bonds shall be of the denominations of 
§=10,000 and |5,000 each, and shall have coupons 
attached for interest, and the interest shall be 
payable on the second day of January of each 
year. A tax shall be levied not to exceed 25 cents 
on the flOO, for the purpose of raising a fund for 
the payment of said bonds, to be known as the 
Kailroad Fund. 

In accordance with the provisions of the above 
act an election was held May 11th, 18G4, which 
resulted as follows: 



NAME OF PRECINCT. 



Railroad | Majority 



No I Yes I No | Yes 



Gordon Valley 
Hot Springs . . 

INapa 

Yount .... . . 

St. Helena . . . 
Soscol 



Totals 168 4861211339 



23 
1 
47 
40 
36 
21 



2 


21! 


86 

or 


1 


49 




92 


1 
• • 1 


22 




— 


— 1" 



85 
188 

9 
56 

1 



After this election, and during the same month, 
the company was organized and elected the fol- 
lowing officers: President, C. Hartson; Vice-Pres- 
ident, A. Y. Easterby; Treasurer, Sam Brannan 
and Secretary A. A. Cohen. 

June 13th, 1864, the Board of Supervisors offi- 
cially complied with the requirements of the act 
of the Legislature of April 4th, 1864 and subscrib- 
ed to the stock of the railroad company for the 
county of Napa in the amount of $10,000 per mile 



NAPA COUNTY. 63 

for the first five miles completed and |5,000 per 
mile for each subsequent mile completed. 

Outside of the subscriptions of the county many 
private citizens subscribed very liberally toward 
the enterprise, agreeing also to donate a right of 
way sixty feet wide through their lands. These 
subscribers were as follows: S. Brannan, |3,000; 
A. A. Cohen, |3,000; II. B. Woodward, |3,000; C. 
Mayne, |3,000; C. Hartson, |2,000; N. Ooombs, 
$2,000; W. E. Garrison, |3,000; E. J. Weeks, 
$5,000; J. Graves, |2,000; T. Knight, |2,000; G. C. 
Yount, $2,000; S. Alstrom, $3,000; C. F. Lotti, 
$3,000; H. Barroilhet, $3,000; J. H. Goodman, 
$1,000; A. Y. Easterby, $1,000; J. Lawley, $1,000; 
Smith Brown, $1,000; C. S. Hastings, $1,000; G. 
W. Crowley, $1,000; George Fellows, $1,000; J. S. 
Trubody, $1,000; H. Fowler, $1,000; E. Stanley, 
$500; J. F. Lambdin, $500; C. H. Holmes, $500; 
R. Ellis, $100 and W. Hargrave $500. The follow- 
ing subscriptions were added: R. B. Woodward, 
$2,000; S. Brannan, $5,000; J. Trubody, $2,000, and 
sundry persons $3,000. 

The first ground was broken for the building of 
the railway on November 21st, 1864, a short dis- 
tance below Napa city. 

A tax of twenty-five cents on the $100 was lev- 
ied for 1864, by the Board of Supervisors in ac- 
cordance with the provisions of the railway bill. 

By January 10th, 1865, the road was completed 
as to the grading and track-laying, from Soscol to 
Napa city. It was built by Messrs. Patterson and 
Gray, for the sum of $32,000. The rolling stock, 
which had been ordered, consisted of two cars, 
with a capacity of 105 passengers and a pony 
engine. The track entered Napa city by the way 
of Main street, and was laid along that street to 
Third. Some of our readers will remember the 
old arrangement in regard to this. The rolling 



64 NAPA COUNTY, 

stock did not arrive until July 1st, 1865, and on 
the eleventh of that month the first train passed 
over the track. A collation was spread at the 
Revere house and free rides were given to all 
those who wished to embrace the opportunity. 
At the first annual election the following officers 
were chosen: President, A. Y. Easterby; Vice- 
President, E. B. Woodward; Secretary, A. Bad- 
lam, Jr.; Treasurer, S. Brannan; Directors, S. 
Branuau, A. Y. Easterby, C. Mayne, J. H. Good- 
man, J. Lawley, C. Hartson and E. B. Woodward. 

November 4th, 1865, a new locomotive was 
purchased to take the place of the "Pony," which 
had first been put on the road. The driving wheel 
was four and a half feet in diameter, and the cost 
of the engine was $9,000. It was named Napa 
city. 

The business done by this little railroad at that 
time may be gleaned from the folowing report, 
rendered December 31st, 1865, and covers the first 
six months of its existence: 
Receipts. 

Passengers |2,525 . 75 

Freight 2,213.63 

14,739.38 
Expenses. 

Fuel, oil, etc | 841.69 

Salaries 1,969.60 

12,811.20 

Total profits |1,928.09 

Average per month 321.35 

Which demonstrated the amount of interest the 
road was paying on the investment. The trains 
ran to Soscol, where connection was made with a 
steamer for San Francisco. 



NAPA COUNTY. 65 

In January, 1866, Mr. Hartson introduced a bill 
before the Legislature providing for tlie addition- 
al subscription by the county of Napa of 1 15,000 
per mile to the proposed railroad from Napa city 
to Calistoga. 

This met with great opposition and the follow- 
ing petition was signed quite extensively and sent 
to the State Senate: 

"To the Honorable House of Representatives of 
California: We, the undersigned citizens of Napa 
county, respectfully protest against any bill ap- 
propriating or in any manner using the money or 
credit of the county for the purpose of making or 
building a railroad from Napa city to Calistoga, 
or to or from any other place in said countv. The 
reasons for thus protesting are in point as follows: 
The road will not pay the expenses of running 
when completed, therefore every dollar subscribed 
or loaned by the county will be lost, and have to 
be collected by taxation from taxpayers, amount- 
ing to more than one-tenth of the assessable valu- 
ation of the whole county. It Avill not be of any 
practicable use to more than one-fifteenth of the 
agricultural lands of the count}^, and we believe 
not one-fourth of the people of the county will be 
benefited thereby; that the county is already 
deeply indebted for a subscription made to a road 
already constructed; that in consideration and in 
consequence of the present high taxation from 
various sources, it will place a burden too heavy 
to be borne, and that it will be a gross injustice 
to put a heavy tax on the whole for the benefit of 
the few." 

The above petition did not prevent the passage 
of the Hart son bill. It w^as approved January 25, 
1866. Its provisions were as follows: The Boar<l 
of Supervisors shall direct a special election 
to be held on the third Wednesday of February, 



66 NAPA COUNTY. 

1866, for the purpose of voting on the proposition 
of taking- stock in the railroad to the extent of 
110,000 per mile for each mile of the portion of 
the said road which is unfinished within the lim- 
its of the county of Napa. The Board may lev}^ a 
tax sufficient to pay the interest on the bonds; 
and in the year 1880, and every year thereafter, 
till all the bonds are paid, the Board may levy a 
tax not to exceed fifty cents on the |100 for the 
payment of the bonds. 

The passage of this bill fell like a bombshell 
upon the community. 

Every man who opposed the measure appointed 
himself a committee of one to secure votes against 
what they termed an outrage. On this subject the 
Register, under the date of February 17th, 1860, 
said: 

"Every voter in the country who values his home 
and property should turn out on Wednesday next 
(the 21st), and vote against the scheme which, if 
successful, will surely bring bankruptcy and ruin 
upon himself and family. By voting No upon the 
railroad bill he will discharge a duty required by 
every consideration of reason and justice toward 
himself and all who are dependent upon him. Let 
no lack of interest in the matter keep men from 
the polls or prevent them from working for the 
defeat of the iniquitous and burdensome measure. 
Its defeat will be worth more to every farmer 
than the entire value of his crops, and no fears of 
pecuniary loss by leaving work should cause any 
man to stay away from the polls on that day. Its 
friends are working for its success and having an 
abundance of means wherewith to control the 
vote of the floating population, will make close 
work, for us, even with our strength." 



NAPA COUNTY. 87 

When the day of election came, February 21st, 
1866, it was demonstrated that the people had all 
the railroad debt to carry that they desired, and 
that they would have no more, as will be seen by 
consulting the following vote: 



NAME OF PRECINCT 



Subsidy- 
Yes I No 



Majority- 
Yes I No 



St. Helena 

Calistoga 

Soscol 

Xapa city . . 

Cameras 

Gordon valley 

Las Putas 

Sebastopol 

Pope 

Totals 



115 

143 

25 

66 







66 

1 



416 



69 
3 
75 
636 
38 
43 
15 
94 
64 



1037 



46 i 

140 ! 



50 
570 
38 
43 
15 
28 
63 



1861807 



The votes of Cameras, Gordon valley and Pope 
precincts were rejected on the grounds that there 
were no evidences that the officers of election 
were sworn. This reduced the majority to 477, 
which was, all things considered, very conclusive. 

The railroad parties had gotten a backset at the 
above election, but that did not daunt them any. 
They set about a grander scheme than ever was 
foisted upon a people, and a bill was passed which 
provided that an election should be held for the 
purpose of deciding whether or not the railroad 
company should have donated to them, as a free 
gift, the entire amount of bonds that had been 
previously voted. About the same time a party 
sprang into existence who advocated the feasibil- 
ity of a macadamized road to Calistoga instead of 
a railroad. Finally the matter was settled in an 



6S NAPA COUNTY. 

election held September 5th, 1866, at which the 
proposition of a macadamized road and the dona- 
tion of the bonds to the railroad company v/ere 
both voted upon. The vote was as follows: 

I Macad- . Doaation 
j amized to 

NAMES OF PRECINCTS I Road | Railroad 

Yes I No ' Yes | No 



Napa .... 
Sebastopol 
St. Helena . 
Calistoga . . 
Pope valley 



Totals 



761192 



3 



82 



60 
82 
50 
18 



61|202 
54: 12 
73; 11 

541... 
. .1 IS 



402 241 ''243 



Majorities j . . |320| . . . i 2 

It will be seen by the above that the vote was 
not nearly as large as at the previous election, 
and that the railroad company only lacked three 
votes of having a majority. The people seemevl 
to realize that they would be swindled out of the 
bonds any way, so they might as well let them go 
by default. 

A new trouble now presented itself to the rail- 
road company. The Board of Supervisors refused 
to issue the bonds in accordance with the provis- 
ions of the act of the Legislature, and the vote of 
the people. A mandamus w^as served upon the 
Board to compel them to issue the bonds, which 
they contested and the matter was carried to the 
Supreme Court, which body decided that the 
Board must subscribe to the stock, wliich was ac- 
cordingly done to the amount of |194,000. The fol- 
lowing list will show the date of issuance, num- 
bers of the bonds issued and total amount issued 
on each several day: 



NAPA 


COUNTY. 


69 


Date. 


Number 


Total. 


October 15, 1886 


1-60 


1 30,000 


May 7, 1867 


61-171 


14,500 


June 4, 1867 


172-191 


10,000 


June 20, 1867 


192-211 


10,000 


July 3, 1867 


212-231 


10,000 


July 18, 1867 


232-251 


10,000 


August 15, 1867 


252-271 


10,000 


September 10, 1867 


272-291 


10,000 


December 10, 1867 


292-311 


10,000 


February 29, 1868 


312-331 


10,000 


May 20, 1868 


332-371 


20,000 


July 21, 1868 


372-411 


20,000 


August 24, 1868 


412-424 


6,500 


December 19, 1868 


425-468 


22,000 


January 14, 1869 


469-470 


1,000 


Total 




..$194,000 



In April, 1867, the work of constructing the 
road up the valley was begun with Calistoga as 
the objective point. September 2d, 1867, the rate 
of interest tax on railroad bonds was increased 
ten cents on the |100. In October, 1868, the road 
was completed to Calistoga, and a grand excur- 
sion was had. Samuel Brannan, with his charac- 
teristic hospitality, assumed the role of host upon 
the occasion and feasted everybody right royally. 

May 27th, 1869, the Napa Valley Railroad was 
sold to jMessrs. Rulofson & Ryder, for the sum of 
1500,000, which put the road under the manage- 
ment of the California Pacific. 

Capt. N. A. Green, who was the first conductor 
on the Napa Valley Railroad, was accidently kill- 
ed on the Western Pacific Railroad, October 28th, 
1869. 

January 1st, 1871, the right of way was granted 
to the railroad through Main street, Napa, but 
it was never used further than Third street. 



lit NAPA COUNTY. 

After the road was extended to Calistoga, trains 
used to run up to the depot, at the corner of 
Fourth and Main streets and then back down 
and strike the main track in the vicinity of the gas 
works, and then pass out through the western 
portion of town. January 4th, 1877, the change to 
the present route through East Napa was made, 
The entire length of road in the county is forty- 
one miles. 

COURT HOUSE. 

Napa county has had three Court houses. With 
the organization of the county in 1850, came, of 
course, the necessity for public buildings. At 
the December term of the Court of Sessions, a 
contract was let for the building of a Court house: 
"AVhich shall be 20x30 feet in size, erected of good 
substantial materials, with a corridor the whole 
lenglh, six feet wide, covered overhead by an ex- 
tension of the roof, the stairs to be in said corri- 
dor. Outside— The second story to be divided by a 
hall four feet wide, running through the center, 
and into four rooms, 10x13 each, all rooms to be 
ceiled, both walls and overhead; seven doors and 
fifteen windows; a plain desk and railing for the 
box, and six benches, each eight feet long.-' 

This building was located on the northwest cor- 
ner of Coombs and Second streets, just west of the 
Ilevere house, and was a small two-story building, 
innocent of plastering, with court room below and 
Clerk's office above. Persons sentenced for a long 
time were confined in the adobe jail at Sonoma, 
while petty offenders were placed in the upper 
rooms of the Court house. The court room was 
often used as a place of worship, also for itiner- 
ant lecturers, jugglers, etc. 

Among the first acts of the legislature in ref- 
erence to Napa county, is the following: ^'The 



NAPA COUNTY. 71 

Court of Sessions may levy a tax not to exceed 
one-fourth of one per cent, for the purpose of 
building a Court house."' 

The subsequent history of the building is thus 
recorded in the Register: "The fire on Monday, 
August 25th, 1875, destroyed a historic building. 
This structure was the first Court house in Napa. 
It was an old two-story frame building which was 
framed in the East, and brought around the Horn 
in 1849 by a Mr. Ely, (afterwards an attorney in 
San Francisco), and bought by the county for 
county purposes. It did its duty in this capacity 
until about 1855, having the Clerk's and perhaps 
other offices in it, and also apartments for petty 
malefactors, who were chained down to the floor. 
AVhen the county sold it, C. Hartsou bought it and 
moved to where it stood when it was destroyed. 
The building was 20x40 and had a mate which 
was built in the East and came to this county 
with it." This building was then the residence of 
R. Peddle, on the east side of Main street. 

The matter of a new Court house began to agi- 
tate the minds of the people in 1855, as by that 
time the old building had become inadequate in 
all respects, and the want of a jail was keenly felt. 
Accordingly bids were advertised for, and on Au- 
gust 11th, 1855, the Board of Supervisors accepted 
the bid of Messrs. Webb & Kincade of San Fran- 
cisco, for the sum of |19,480. This action did not 
seem to meet with the approval of the people, and 
on the 31st of the same month the Board rescind- 
ed their action in the matter and submitted it to 
a vote of the people, at the following general elec- 
tion, which occurred September 7th of that year. 

There is nothing on record to show w^hat the der 
cision of the voters was at that election in refer- 
ence to the matter. We find, however, that on 
April 8th, 1858, the Board of Supervisors received 



72 NAPA COUNTY. 

a remonstrance signed by the citizens of Yount 
township, against the erection of a Court house 
and jail. 

A Court liouse, however, had to be built, for f he 
old one would not longer answer the purpose. 
Therefore, we find on May 5th, 1856, despite ihe 
remonstrance, the follow^ing gentlemen were ap- 
pointed by the County Judge for the purpose of 
selecting and appraising a site for the new county 
building: R. M. Hill, Riley Gregg and Cxeorg*^ X. 
Cornwall. They decided that the location shoul 1 
be the same as was then occupied by the Court 
house and that the building should be built so 
that the center of the building should be on .he 
center of the lot east and west, and the front of 
the building on the center of the lot north and 
south, the building to front to the north. 

The corner stone of this building was laid with 
appropriate ceremonies by the Masonic fraternity, 
in the presence of a large number of the citizens 
of Napa. On the side of the stone was the following- 
inscription: "Laid July 29, A. D. 1856, A. L. 5856, 
by W.H.Howard, Grand Past Master of Masons for 
California.''' When this building was torn down to 
give idace for a new structure in 1878, the con- 
tents of the stone were removed They wei'.' 
found to be a number of time blackened and mil 
dewed pamphlets and newspapers and several 
coins. It was a wonder that the newspapers were 
So well preserved as they were, as there was no 
lining to the cavity in the stone. Some of the pa- 
pers were almost rotied, but by careful handling 
could be read. The coins were one three-dollar 
gold piece, one fl.OO issued 1856, a silver half and 
quai'ter dollar of the same date, two dimes and 
one 3-cent piece. 

The jail cells were made of boiler iron, three- 
sixteenths of an inch thick, well riveted together, 




Napa County Court H< 



NAPA COUNTY. 73 

the top to be punched with half-inch holes, six of 
them to the square foot. The doors were grated 
and securely hinged, the floor of the jail was of 
brick, laid edgewise and cemented. 

Originally the jail occupied two-thirds of the 
lower floor. All the offices on the lower floor, 
except those of the Sheriff and Clerk, were con- 
structed five years afterwards. The whole of the 
second story has been again and again remodeled. 
The cupola was originally at the east end of 
the building instead of the center where it was 
when torn down. Probably no other building un- 
derwent so many costly changes as did this one. 
It is stated by the local newspapers that from 
^50,000 to 160,000 was expended on this building 
from first to last. The original cost was |30,T40 
and it as completed and occupied by the Board of 
Supervisors December 16th, 1856. The Court 
house plaza was occupied by Lawley and Lefferts 
as a lumber yard during 1855. After the erection 
of the county buildings, the Supervisors contract- 
ed with John H. Waterson to construct a fence 
around it for .$572. In 1857, A. D. Pryal took the 
contract for grading the grounds and planting 
shrubbery, the expense of which was paid 
partly by the Supervisors, .|200, and by subscrip- 
tions from the citizens, |300. In 1871, the Board 
of Supervisors adopted the following resolution: 
"That any permanent repairs on the old Court 
house will be unwise and inexpedient and a waste 
of the public money." Shortly afterwards the 
Judge deemed the building unsafe so that he re- 
fused to hold court in it any longer. Strange as 
it may seem two years expired before any action 
was taken. Finally on April 6th, 1876, the follow- 
ing resolution was adopted by the Board: 
"That the Board think it advisable to build a new 
Court house and jail for the accommodation of 



74 NAPA COUNTY. 

Napa county." Deweese, KobiDSon, Mecklenberg 
and Safely voting for, and Ink and Harris against 
the adoption of the resolution. Still two more 
;years passed before bids were asked for, and it 
was not until June 25th, 1878, that the contract 
was let on plans drawn by Ira Gilchrist, to John 
Cox, for the sum of |50,990. 

The old Court house was sold to D. Ross for 
.^400. The bonds for the new Court house were 
placed on the market August, 1878 and sold for 6^ 
l>er cent, premium to F. H. Woods. 

The corner stone to the new building was laid 
vSeptember 21st, 1878, by the Masonic fraternity, 
to the number of eighty, headed by the Napa 
brass band. The majority of those in line were 
the members of Yount Lodge, No. 12 of Napa city. 
There were also delegations from the Lodges at 
St. Helena and Calistoga. The distinguished 
Masons from abroad were: Dr. J. M. Brown, Most 
Worshipful Grand Master and J. W. Shafer, 
Grand Lecturer. The assemblage was called to 
order by F. E. Johnson, W. M. of Yount Lodge, 
who stated that before the exercises would beirin 
J. W. Brayton would photograph the scene, which 
was soon done. The platform was filled by ladies 
and members of the Masonic Order. The exer- 
( ises were opened by a Masonic hymn to the tune 
of "America," which was rendered by the choir, 
consisting of J. A. Keller, organist; Mrs. Richard 
Wylie, soprano; Mrs. Dennis Spencer, contralto; 
l*rof. W. A. Packard, tenor and C. B. Stone, bass. 
The oration was by Dr. J. M. Brown, M. W. G. M. 
of the Grand Lodge of California, which was brief 
and appropriate. 

At the close of the oration there was music by 
the choir and then the laying of the corner stone, 
a beautiful and impressive ceremony. 



r NAPA COUNTY. 78 

The inscription on the stone was as follows: 
Laid, July 29, 1856. 
Relaid, September 21, 1878. 

The contents of the metal box deposited in the 
corner stone were of the usual character, together 
with all which was removed from the former 
stone. 

The building was completed and accepted by 
the Board of Supervisors on February 17th, 1879. 
All the brick used in the construction of the (Jourt 
house and jail was made at the old brick yards on 
the Sonoma road. The dimensions of the house 
are 95x86 feet, the outer walls are sixteen inches 
thick and are held together by iron rods iirmly 
imbedded in the foundation and extending to the 
plate on top of the walls. The jail is 58x30 feet 
outside, the walls being bound together with iron 
bands, renders them very solid. The outer walls 
were coated with Rosendale cement, adding much 
to the beauty of the building. The cornice is of 
galvanized iron. 

The jail is eight feet from the Court house, on 
the Brown street side, and is connected with it by 
a small hallway, the entrance of which is securely 
guarded by iron doors. The floor beneath the low- 
er cells was first prepared by putting in earth live 
feet deep, being thoroughly tamped, over which 
was put two feet of concrete, which became as 
solid as a rock, over this after the cells wew com- 
pleted, was put a thick coat of asphaltum. The 
jail contains twenty-two cells and is well lighted, 
well ventilated and contains every convenience. 

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF NAPA COUNTY 

ORGANIZATION OF THE COUNTY. 

Prior to the first partition of the State into 
counties, the section now known as Napa had b.?en 
included in the district of Sonoma, a division 



76 NAPA COUNTY. 

which originated with the Mexican authorities 
during their power and that included all the coun- 
ties now lying west of the Sacramento river, be- 
tween the Bay of San Francisco, and the Oregon 
line; it had not been interfered with on the oc- 
casion of American rule, but retained the official 
designation given it by the Spaniards. 

In accordance with Section 14, of Article XII, 
of the Constitution, it was provided that the State 
be divided into counties and Senatorial and As- 
sembly Districts, and at the first session of the 
Legislature, whicli opened at San Jose, December 
15, 1849, there was passed, and approved Febru- 
ary 8, 1850, "An Act subdividing the State into 
counties and establishing the seats of justice 
therein," which directed that the boundary lines 
of Napa county should be as follows: 

Commencing in the Napa river at the mouth of 
Soscol creek, and running up said creek to the 
point of said creek nearest to the range of moun- 
tains dividing Napa, valley from Suisun valley; 
thence in a direct line to the nearest point of said 
range; thence along the summit of said range 
northwesterly to its northern extremity; thence 
due north to the fortieth ])arallel of north lati- 
tude; thence due west twenty miles; thence south- 
westerly to the nearest point of the range of moun- 
tains dividing Napa valley from Sonoma valley; 
thence southwesterly along said range of moun- 
tains to its termination in Carnero mountain; 
thence in a direct line to the nearest point of Car- 
nero creek; thence down said creek to its junction 
with Napa river; thence to the place of beginning. 
The seat of justice shall be Napa city. 

It will be seen that the t<'rritory embraced in 
the above boundaries included all of what is now 
known as Lake county. There were no changes in 
these lines until April 10, 1852, when an act of 



NAPA COUNTY. 77 

the Legislature defined the boundaries of Napa 
county as follows: 

Commencing in Napa river at the mouth of Sos- 
col creek, and running up said creek to the point 
of said creek nearest to the range of mountains 
dividing Napa valley from Suisun valley; thence 
in a direct line to the nearest point of said range; 
thence in a northerly direction to the east side of 
Chimiles or Corral valley; thence in a direct line 
to the east side of Berryessa valley to the north- 
ern end of said valley; thence in a northwesterly 
direction to tlie outlet of Clear Lake; thence up 
the middle of said lake to its head; thence in a 
westerly direction to the northeast corner of So- 
noma county; thence south along the easterly line 
of said county to the place of beginning. 

The boundary lines were not destined to remain 
for any length of time the same, for on the fourth 
day of April, 1855, we find that there was an act 
passed by the Legislature to amend the above act 
so as to make it read as follows: 

Commencing at a point on the Guichica creek 
where the said creek empties into San Pablo bay; 
thence running in a direct line due east to the top 
of the ridge of mountains dividing Napa valley 
from Suisun valley; thence in a northerly direc- 
tion along the top of said mountains to a point 
parallel with the southern boundary of the ranch 
known as the Chimiles Eancho; thence easterly 
along said line to the top of the mountains known 
as the Vaca mountains, which divide the Vaca 
valley from the Chimiles Rancho; thence nortli- 
erly along the top of the main ridge of said Vaca 
mountains to the Putah creek; thence northerly 
across said creek to the top of the mountains di- 
viding Berryessa valley from Sacramento valley; 
thence northerly along the top of said ridge to the 
outlet of Clear lake; thence easterly to the top of 



7S NAPA COUNTY. 

the mountains dividing Clear Lalve valley from 
Sacramento valley; thence northerly along the 
top of said mountains to the head of Clear lake; 
thence westerly to the top of the mountains that 
divide Clear lake valley from the Russian river 
^ alley ; thence along the top of said mountains to 
a point on the top of said mountains one mile east 
of the boundary line of the rancho known as 
Fitche's Rancho on the Russian river; thence in a 
direct line southerly to the westerly branch of the 
head waters of the Guichica creek; thence wester- 
ly to the top of the main ridge that divides Guich- 
ica valley from Sonoma valley; thence in a south- 
erly direction along said dividing ridge to the tule 
bordering on San Pablo bay; thence southerly to 
the center of Guichica creek; thence following 
the center of said creek to its mouth, the place of 
beginning. The county seat shall be Napa city. 

The boundary lines of Napa county re- 
mained as above described for some time, 
but there was considerable effort made by 
the Solano county people to change them, 
on account of some trouble growing otit of 
the fact that the people had been assessed and 
taxed by Napa county that were residents of So- 
lano cotint3^; the facts were the parties who had 
thus paid their taxes into Napa county evidently 
were more desirotis of living in Napa county than 
Solano county. This trouble caused constant irri- 
tation and the feeling got so high that members 
of the Legislature saw that something had to be 
done to quiet the feeling of animosity that was 
being fostered between the sister counties. Ac- 
cordingly a commission was appointed to arbi- 
trate^ in the matter. Judge Warmcastle, of Contra 
Costa county; Hon. William S. Wells, of Solano 
county; and Judge J. B. ITorrell, of Napa county, 
composed this commission. When they came to in- 



NAPA COUNTY. 79 

vestigate they found the disputed territory right- 
fully belonged to Solano county, but the citizens 
were unanimous in their desire to live in Napa 
county. Taking all this into consideration, they 
awarded to Solano county the amount of taxes 
which had been collected by Napa county ind 
also the costs of the commission. The ILrst 
amount was |1,1T5.00 and the costs were between 
three and four hundred dollars, making a total of 
$1,500, Napa county had to pay Solano. The Com- 
mission then awarded the disputed territory to 
Napa county, about twenty thousand acres, mak- 
ing a very cheap purchase of some very valuable 
land for Napa county. 

As stated above, the boundaries of Napa county 
originally included all of the territory now known 
as Lake county. In 1861, the organization of Lake 
county and its boundaries were completed and 
changed the boundaries of Napa as follows: 

Commencing at the southeast corner of Mendo- 
cino county; thence running in an easterly direc- 
tion along the dividing ridge between Russian liv- 
er and Knights valley on the west, and Clear lake 
and Loconoma valleys on the east, to the high- 
est point of Mount St. Helena; thence easterly to 
the most northern point of Las Putas 
ranch (known as the Berryessa ranch); thence 
easterly in a direct line to a point where 
the second standard line (United States 
survey) crosses the line dividing Yolo and 
Napa counties; thence northerly along the highest 
ridge of mountains dividing the waters of the Sac- 
ramento on the east, and Berryessa on the west, 
until it intersects the line dividing Yolo and 
Colusa counties; thence along the main ridge of 
mountains dividing the waters of Long valley on 
the east, and Clear lake on the west; thence up 
said ridge to the sumndt of the Coast range; 



80 NAPA COUNTY. 

thence along the summit of Hulls mountain; 
thence west in a direct line, to Mount St. Hedson; 
thence southerly on the ridge dividing the Rus- 
sian river on the west and Clear lake on the east, 
to the place of beginning. 

March 8, 1872, an act of the Legislature was ap- 
proved which established the dividing line be- 
tween Lake and Napa counties, much to the ad- 
vantage of Napa, as follows: The northern 
boundary line of Napa county and the south- 
eastern boundarj^ line of Lake county shall 
commence at the highest point of Mount St. 
Helena; thence running in an easterly direction 
along the present boundary line between said 
counties to the Butts canyon road; thence north- 
easterly, in a. direct line to the junction of Jericho 
and Putah creeks; thence up Jericho creek to the 
junction of Hunting creek, to a large pile of rocks 
on the southeast side of the county road, at the 
lower and most easterly end of Hunting valley; 
thence in a straight line in the direction of the in- 
tersection of Bear and Cache creeks to the county 
line of Yolo county; thence along the line of Yolo 
county in a southeasterly direction to the present 
line dividing Yolo and Napa counties. 

This act further provided thait the Board of Su- 
pervisors of Napa county should order paid the 
claim of Lake county for the sum of |3,500, and 
that the Auditor of said county of Napa should 
draw a warrant for the sum on the Treasurer of 
said county, payable from the general fund, and 
that the Treasurer of Napa county should pay the 
same. Thus it will be seen that for the small sum 
of |3,500, Napa county had a whole township, in- 
cluding tlie village of Knoxville and the lleding- 
ion and other mines added to her territory. 

But the good luck of Napa county did not end 
there, for in the month of May, 1872, it was dis- 



NAPA COUNTY. 81 

covered that the dividing line between Napa and 
Sonoma counties, had not been properly located 
in many respects, and that Napa county was en- 
titled to the taxes on a. large portion of property 
hitherto assessed in Sonoma county, including a 
large share of the Bueua Vista vineyard, amount- 
ing in all in value to -125,000 or more. 

The Court of Sessions was composed of the 
County Judge and two associates who vrere 
chosen by the duh' elected and qualified Justices 
of the Peace of the county from their number. Th<? 
judicial jurisdiction of the Court of Sessions ex 
tended to cases of assault, assault and battery^ 
breaking of the peace, riot, affray, and petit lar- 
ceny, and over all misdemeanors punishable by 
fine not to exceed $500, or imprisonment not to 
exceed three months or both. 

From the organization of the county until the 
year 1852, its affairs were controlled by the Court 
of Sessions, but on "Slivy 2d of that year an a,ct 
was passed entitled "An act to create a Board of 
Supervisors in the counties of this State, and to 
define their duties and povrers," which is contain- 
ed in the ninth section of this act as follows : The 
Board of Supervisors shall have power 
and jurisdiction in their respective «'0un- 
ties — First: To make orders respecting the 
property of their county, in conformity with 
any law of this State, and to care for and 
preserve such property. Second: To examine, 
settle, and allow all accounts legally charge- 
able against the county, and to levy for the pur- 
poses prescribed by law, such amount of taxes on 
the assessed value of real and personal property 
in the county, as may be authorized by law: 
Provided, the salary of the County Judge need not 
be audited by the Board; but the Auditor shall, 
on the first judicial day of each month, draw his 



M NAPA COUNTY. 

warrant on the County Treasurer in favor of the 
County Judge as salary for the month preceding. 
Third: To examine and audit the accounts of all 
officers having the care, management, coUectioD 
and disbursement of any money belonging to the 
county, or appropriated b}^ law, or otherwise, for 
its use and benefit. Fourth: To lay out, control 
and manage public roads, turnpikes, ferries, and 
bridges within the county, in all cases where the 
law does not prohibit such jurisdiction, and to 
make such orders as may be requisite and neces- 
sary to carry its control and management into 
effect. Fifth : To take care of and provide for the 
indigent sick of the county. Sixth : To divide the 
county into townships and to change the divisions 
of the same and to create new townships, as the 
convenience of the county may require. Seventh : 
To establish and change election precincts, and 
1o appoint inspectors and judges of election. 
Eighth: To control and manage the property, real 
and personal, belonging to the county, and to re- 
ceive by donation any property for the use and 
benefit of the country. Ninth: To lease or to pur- 
chase any real or personal property necessary for 
the benefit of the county; provided, no purchase 
of real property shall be made unless the value of 
the same be previously estimated by three disin- 
terested persons, to be appointed for that purpose 
by the County Judge. Tenth: To sell at public 
auction, at the Court house of the county, after at. 
least 30 days' previous public notice, and cause 
to be conveyed, any property belonging to the 
county, appropriating the proceeds to the use of 
the same. Eleventh: To cause to be erected and 
furnished, a Court house, jail, and such other pub- 
lic buildings as may be necessary, and to keep the 
same in repair; provided, that the contract for 
building the Court house, jail, and such other 



NAPA COUNTY. tS 

public buildings, be let out at least after thirty 
days' previous public notice, in each case, of a 
readiness to receive proposals therefor, to the low- 
est bidder, who will give good and sufficient se- 
curity for the completion of any contract which 
he may make respecting the same; but no bid 
shall be accepted which the Board may deem too 
high. Twelfth: To control tlie prosecution and 
defense in all suits in which the county is a party. 
Thirteenth: To do and perform all such other acts 
and things as may be strictly necessary to the full 
discharge of the powers and jurisdiction conferred 
on the Board. 

In accordance with the provisions of the act 
organizing a Board of Supervisors, the Court of 
Sessions establish the following townships in 
Napa county with the boundaries herein set 
forth, on the sixth day of October, 1852: 

No. 1, NAPA TOWNSHIP. 

To comprise all that portion of Napa county 
lying south of a line commencing at a point on 
the western boundary of said county, directly 
west of the most westerly portion of Dry creek in 
said county; thence running due east to said 
creek; thence down tlie middle of said creek to 
its mouth; and thence due east to the eastern 
boundary of said county. 

No. 2, YOUNT TOWNSHIP. 

To comprise all that portion of Napa county 
between the northern boundary of Napa township 
and a line running due east and west across 
said county so as to pass through the center of 
Hudson's Sulphur Springs in Napa valley. 

No. 3, HOT SPRINGS TOWNSHIP. 
To comprise and include all that portion of said 



S4 NAPA COUNTY. 

county not included in either of the foregoing 
townships as described. 

The election precincts of Napa county were es- 
tablished on the same date by the Court of c^es- 
sions as follows: 

The townships of Napa and Yount shall each 
constitute one electoral precinct, and the town- 
ship of Hot Springs shall constitute two electoral 
precincts, one of said precincts to comprise Pope 
valley, Coyote valley and Clear Lake valley, and 
to be called West Precinct; and the other precinct 
to comprise all the rest of the township; to be 
called East Precinct. 

After 1872 on account of changes in the bound- 
aries of the county an entirely new set of town- 
ship boundaries were established as follows: 

NAPA TOWNSHIP. 

Beginning at a point on the Sonoma county 
line due west of the source of a small creek on 
which was situated Fisk's saw mill; thence due 
east to the source of said creek ; thence down said 
creek to its mouth; thence down Dry creek to 
its mouth in Trubody's slough; thence southeast- 
erly to the top of the ridge west of Soda 
canyon; thence northerly along said ridge 
to the top of a sharp point on the south 
side of Hector canyon; thence northeasterly 
in a direct line, to a point on Tebipa or Capelle 
creek, one-half mile below the house of George 
Clark; thence east to the top of the mountain 
north of Capelle valley; thence southeasterly 
along the top of the ridge to the south end of said 
ridge near the head of Rag canyon; thence due 
east to the line between Napa and Solano coun- 
ties; thence northerly along said line to place of 
beginning. 



NAPA COUNTY. 85 

YOUNT TOWNSHIP. 

Beginning- ait a point on the Sonoma county 
line described as the beginning point of Napa 
township; thence northerly along said line to a 
point due west from the head of Dry creek; thence 
in a straight line to the middle of the bridge on 
the road across the slough, known as the Bale 
slough, near the residence of Thomas Chopson; 
thence in a direct line to the middle of Conn 
creek, in front of William Dinning's house; 
thence up the said creek to Chiles creek, aud up 
Chiles creek to Moore's creek, to the line of La 
Jota Bancho; thence along said line northerly to 
the line of Chiles Bancho; thence along the west- 
erly and northerly line of said ranclio, to corner 
number one of said rancho; thence northerly 
along the ridge west of Berryessa valley, to the 
old line between Lake and Napa counties; thence 
easterly along said line to the eastern boundary 
of Napa county; thence southerly along said line 
to the northeast corner of Napa township; thence 
along the northerly line of said township, to the 
place of beginning. 

HOT SPBINGS TOW^NSHIP. 
Beginning at a point on the western boundary 
line of Napa county, due west from the head of 
Dry creek; thence along the line of Yount town- 
ship northeasterly and northerly to the old line 
between Napa and Lake counties; thence west- 
erly along said line to the middle of Putah creek; 
thence up said creek to the present line between 
Napa and Lake counties; thence along said line 
southerly and westerly to the northwest corner of 
Napa county; thence southerly along said line to 
the northeast corner of Napa township; thence 
along the northerly line of said township, to the 
place of beginning. 



M NAPA COUNTY. 

KNOX TOWNSHIP. 

Beginning on the line between Napa and Lake 
counties, at a point about two miles in an easter- 
ly direction from the Mountain Mill House, and 
on the divide between Pope and Localliomi val- 
leys; thence southerly on said divide to the main 
divide between Pope and Napa valleys; thence 
along said divide south to Yount township line; 
thence along said line southeasterly to the iuter- 
Bection of Knox township line; thence along said 
line to Yolo county line; thence along said line 
northerly to Lake county line; thence westerly 
along the dividing line of Napa and Lake coun- 
ties to the point of beginning. 

The first meeting of the Board of Supervisors of 
Napa county was held December 6, 1852, and con- 
sisted of John M. Hamilton, Florentine E. Kel- 
logg, and Jesse W. Whitton. Mr. Hamilton was 
chosen chairman. Presley Thomjjson presented 
the first claim to the Board, being a bill for the 
construction of a bridge across Napa creek, the 
amount being |1190. 

August 9, 1855, the Board of Supervisors divid- 
ed the county into three supervisorial districts, as 
follows: Number one shall include Napa voting 
precincts. Number two shall include Yount and 
Berryessa voting precincts. Number three shall 
include Upper and Lower Lake, Hot Springs and 
Pope voting precincts. In 1858, Big valley pre- 
cinct was added to the third district. 

In 1874, the Board consisted of three members, 
but in accordance with an act of the Legislature, 
which was approved on February 25th, of that 
year, providing for the election of five Supervis- 
ors for Napa county and dividing the same in 



NAPA COUNTY. t7 

four Supervisors' districts the Board divided it 
as follows: 

The township of Napa shall constitute District 
Number One, and shall be entitled to two Super- 
visors. 

Yount township shall constitute District Num- 
ber Two and be entitled to one Supervisor. 

Hot Springs and Knox townships shall consti- 
tute two Supervisors' districts and shall be 
bounded and described as follows: The present 
boundaries of said townships shall be the boun- 
daries of the Supervisors' districts, except the 
line dividing said townships north and south, and 
the line dividing said Supervisors' districts north 
and south shall be the summit of the ridge divid- 
ing the waters that flow into Chiles valley, Pope 
valley and the creek know^n as the northwest trib- 
utary of Putah creek, to the northern boundary of 
Napa county. 

That portion of the above that includes and 
embraces the upper end of Napa valley, shall 
constitute District Number Three and be entitled 
to one Supervisor. 

That portion included in the above and embrac- 
ing Pope valley and Knoxville shall be and »'on- 
stitute District Number Four and be entitled to 
one Supervisor. 

We now come to the interesting part of this 
programme. There is nothing strange or curious 
so far. In accordance with above act a special 
election was held April 11, 1874, for the purpose 
of choosing Supervisors to serve as a Board under 
the new law. 

The result of this election was: First district, 
E. G. Young and B, James; Second district, A. F. 



8S NAPA COUNTY. 

Goodwin; Third district, A. Safely; Fourth dis- 
trict, T. H. Ink. The Board in office at the time 
of this election and who ordered it held, vv^ere 
Kobert Brownlee, F. W. Ellis, and Joseph Meck- 
linberg. After the election was decided, this 
Board granted to the newly elected Supervisors 
certificates of election, but, to the great surprise 
of the new Board, they refused to give up their 
office, holding that the law under which they 
were elected was post faoti. The matter looked 
serious for awhile, as both Boards were duly 
elected and qualified according to the laws of the 
State to serve at the same time and in the same 
capacity. The matter was formally submitted to 
the Legislature, and a special act was passed 
March 10, 1874, authorizing both Boards to act 
jointly and as one Board. Napa county was then 
blest (or otherwise) with the largest Board of Su- 
pervisors in the State of California, except the 
city of San Francisco, and perhaps Sacramento. 
The meetings of that double-header were marvels 
of astuteness, so contemporaries state. They 
agreed to disagree from the start and held flrndy 
to their "joint resolution." The Clerk of the 
Board, Mr. C. B. Seeley, contributed largely to the 
literature of the day by writing a series of pen 
pictures of the members in his well known caus- 
tic manner w^hich cut deep into the sensibilities 
of some of the members, but for this fact, we 
would be glad to reproduce them, for they are 
worthy of it. 

In 1853, 1855, 1858, 1859, 1863, and 1864, the 
Legislature passed laws changing the date of 
holding the District Court in Napa county. The 
Court was called the Court of Sessions and its 
functions were judicial and political. Eventually 



NAPA COUNTY. 89 

it was sifted down so the County Court performed 
the judicial part of the work and the Supervisors 
the political, so that the act approved April 1st, 
1864, the County Court was held on the first Mon- 
day of December and March, the third Monday 
in June and the first Monday in September. 

May 3, 1853, before there were any newspapers 
in Napa county, the Legislature designated the 
Sonoma Bulletin as the official organ in which all 
the legal advertisements should appear. 

May 17, 1853, the Legislature fixed the salary 
of the County Judge of Napa County at |2,000 per 
year and the salary of the Associate Judges at 
18.00 per day of service each. On February 7, 
1857, the salary of the Judge was cut to |1,000 per 
year. 

April 17, 1863, the office of Recorder was sepa- 
rated from the County Clerk who had been hith- 
erto ex-officio Recorder. 

February 29, 1864, the Treasurer was made ex- 
officio Tax Collector, in lieu of the Sheriff, who 
held that position previously. 

March 28, 1868, the business of collecting the 
taxes reverted to the Sheriff. 

POLITICAL HISTORY OF NAPA COUNTY. 

Previous to becoming a State and while yet a 
Mexican province, all the territory bounded by 
the Sacramento river on the east, Oregon on the 
north, the Bay of San Francisco on the south, and 
the ocean on the west, was designated as the 
District of Sonoma, and was divided into prefec- 
tures amenable to a grand Council at Sonoma. 
The present county of Napa was included in the 
District of Sonoma. The military ruled supreme 



M NAPA COUNTY. 

from 1846 and 1849, during which there was no 
eivil law. While the war lasted, California, as 
conquered province expected to be governed by 
the Commandant of the Department to which this 
section of the country belonged. But after peace 
had been declared, and the war was a thing of 
the past, and the succession of military governors 
vras not abated, the people, who had been in the 
habit of governing themselves, chafed that they 
should be deprived of their inalienable rights. 

The first civil officer in Sonoma was John Na>h, 
who was Alcalde of that district by a commission 
issued by order of General Kearney. This Chief 
Justice Nash, as he called himself, was a good 
natured, honest, but illiterate man, who was at 
length removed by the military because he re- 
fused to acknowledge that part of the govern- 
ment superior over the judicial branch. It was 
the celebrated hero General W. T. Sherman or old 
Tecump as the brave boys called him who fol- 
lowed him on his celebrated "march to the sea," 
Avho then was Lieutenant Sherman, who captured 
John Nash, who signed himself "Chief Justice of 
California," brought him before Governor Mason 
at Monterey, who reprimanded him and released 
him. Afterwards, when the rumors of gold 
rt'ached Sonoma, Squire Nash, (as he was called 
bv the people), was employed by a number of per- 
sons to go up to the reported gold fields and learn 
the truth of the situation and to return and report 
on the prospects of thus obtaining wealth. This 
Mas in the year 1848, and when he returned, he 
brought with him gold dust to the amount of 
1^837.00. He then went with a party of Sonoma 
miners to Morman Island and died there that 
winter. lie was succeeded in office by Lilburn \^^ 



NAPA COUNTY. SH 

Boggs, ex-Governor of Missouri; a man eminentlj 
capable of performing the functions of the posi- 
tion, as the records of his office, still extant in 
the County Clerk's office in Santa Kosa, will fully 
establish. 

General Persifer F. Smith, who assumed com- 
mand, arrived on the first steamship that reached 
San Francisco (February 28, 1849), and General 
Kiley, who succeeded him on April 12, 1849, would 
have made acceptable governors if the people 
could have discovered anywhere in the Constitu- 
tion that the President had power to govern a 
territory by a simple order to the General com- 
manding the military department. 

They felt that they had cause for complaint, 
but they were in truth too busy to nurse their 
grievances concerning this matter. To some ex- 
tent they formed civil government locally and had 
unimportant collisions with the military. But, 
busy as they were, and expecting to return home 
soon, they left public matters to be shaped at 
Washington. This was a wise course, for the ob- 
stacle that hindered Congress from giving them a 
legitimate and constitutional government was the 
then ever-present snag in the current of American 
politics, the author of most all of our troubles and 
the great source of all our woes, which before 
long a million of our best and bravest of our men, 
North and South had to die violent and bloody 
deaths to extinguish forever. The curse of 
human slavery. 

When it was found that Congress had adjourn- 
ed without providing a civil government for Cali- 
fornia, General Riley, by the advice of the Presi- 
dent and Secretaries of State and War, he said, 
issued a proclamation, which was at once a call 



92 NAPA COUNTY. 

for a convention and an official exposition of the 
Administration's theory of the anomalous rela- 
tions of California and the Union. He strove to 
rectify the impression that California was govern- 
ed bv the military, that had ceased with the ter- 
mination of hostilities; what remained was the 
civil government. These were vested in a Gover- 
nor, who received his appointment from the Su- 
preme Government, or in default of such appoint- 
ment, the office was vested in the military officer 
commanding the department, a secretary, depart- 
mental or territorial legislature, a superior court, 
wdth four judges, a prefect and sub-prefect and a 
judge of the first instance for each district, Al- 
caldes, local justices of the peace and town coun- 
cils. He moreover recommended the election of 
delegates to a convention to form a State consti- 
tution which, if sustained by the people, would 
be submitted to Congress for approval. A proc- 
lamation was issued in June, 1849, announcing 
an election to be held on August 1st, to appoint 
delegates to a general convention to form a. State 
constittition, and for filling the offices of Judge 
of the Superior Court, Prefects and sub-Prefe(;ts, 
and First Alcalde or Judge of the First Instance; 
such appointments to be made by General Riley 
after being voted for. The delegates elected to 
the convention from the District of Sonoma were 
General Vallejo, Joel Walker, R. Semple. L. W. 
Roggs was elected but did not attend. 

Tho manifesto calling the Constitutional con- 
vention divided the electoral divisions of the 
Stat(- into ten districts; each male inhabitant of 
the county of twenty-one years of age, could vote 
in the district of his residence, and the delegat3S 
so elected were called upon to meet at Monterey, 



[ NAPA COUNTY. n 

on September 1, 1849. The number of delegates 
was fixed at thirty-seven, five of whom were ap- 
pointed to San Francisco. 

As was resolved, the convention met at Monte- 
rey on the date set, Kobert Semple of Benicia, one 
of the delegates from the district of Sonoma, be- 
ing chosen President. The session lasted six 
weeks; and, notwithstanding an awkward scar- 
city of books of reference and other necessary 
aids, much labor was performed, while the dele- 
gates exhibited a marked degree of ability. In 
framing the original Constitution of California, 
slavery was forever prohibited within the juris- 
diction of the State. The boundary line question 
between Mexico and the United States was set at 
rest; provision for the morals and education of 
the people were made; a seal of the State was 
adopted with the motto Eureka, and many other 
matters discussed. 

We find that the "Superior Tribunal of Califor- 
nia," existed at Monterey in 1849; for, in Septem- 
ber of that year a "Tariff of fees for judicial offi- 
cers" was published, with the following order of 
Court: "That the several officers meutioued in 
this order shall be entitled to receive for their 
services in addition to their salaries, if any, the 
following fees and none others, until the further 
order of this court." Here followed a list of the 
fees to be paid the several officers of the civil 
courts. 

It has been noted 'that Stephen Cooper was a})- 
pointed Judge of the First Instance for the Dis- 
trict of Sonoma. He began his labors in that 
office October, 1849, as appears in the early rec- 
ords of that court as preserved in the office of 
County Clerk of Solano county. The record 
of one case, tried before Judge Cooper, is an 
instance of the prompt judgment obtained in 
1849: 



94 NAPA COUNTY. 

THE PEOPLE OF CALIFORNIA TERRITORY 
VS. GEORGE PALMER. 

And now comes the said people by right of their 
attorney, and the said defendant by Semple »& 
O'Melveny, and the prisoner having been arraign- 
ed on the indictment in this cause, plead not 
guilty. Thereupon a jury was chosen, selected 
and sworn, when, after hearing the evidence and 
arguments of counsel, returned into Court the fol- 
lowing verdict, to-wit: 

The jury in the case of Palmer, defendant, and 
the Territory of California, plaintiff, have found 
a verdict of guilty on both counts of the indict- 
ment, and sentenced him to receive the following 
punishment: 

On Saturday, the 24th day of November, to be 
conducted by the Sheriff to some public place and 
tliere receive on his back seventy-five lashes, with 
such a weapon as the Sheriff may deem fit, on 
each count, respectively, and to be banished from 
the District of Sonoma within twelve hours after 
whipping, under the penalty of receiving the 
same number of lashes for each and every day he 
remains in this district after the first whipping. 

(Signed) ALEXANDER RIDDELL, 

Foreman. 

It is therefore ordered by the Court, in accord- 
ance with the above verdict, that the foregoing 
sentence be carried into effect. 

The Constitution was duly framed, submitted 
to the people, and at the election held on the thir- 
tieth day of November, ratified by them, and 
adopted by a vote of twelve thousand and sixty- 
four for it, and eleven against it; there being be- 
sides, over twelve hundred ballots that were treat- 
ed as blanks, because of an informality in the 
printing. 



KAPA COUNTY. ^ 

We reproduce a copy of one of the tickets voted 
at that time. 

PEOPLE'S TICKET. 

For the Constitution. 

For Governor, 

Peter H. Burnett. 

For Lieutenant Grovernor, 

John McDougal. .^, 

For Representative in Congress, 

Edward Gilbert. 

George W. Wright. 

For State Senators, 

John Bidwell, Upper Sacramento, 

Murray Morrison, Sacramento City, 

Harding Biglow, Sacramento City, 

Gilbert A. Grant, Vernon. 

For Assembly, 

J. H. Cardwell, Sacramento City, 

John B. Cornwall, Sacramento City, 

John S. Fowler, Sacramento City, 

H. S. Lord, Upper Sacramento, 

Madison Waltham, Coloraa, 

W. B. Dickenson, Yuba, 
James Queen, South Fork, 
Arba K, Berry, Weaverville. 

The result of the election was: Peter H, Bur- 
nett, Govenor; John McDougal, Lieut.-Governor, 
and Edward Gilbert and George W^. Wright, sent 
to Congress. The District of Sonoma polled at 
this election but five hundred and fifty-two votes, 
four hundred and twenty-four were for Burnett. 
Of Representatives sent from Sonoma, General 
Vallejo went to the Senate, and J. L. Bradford 
and J. E. Bracket to the Assembly. 

Some difficulty would appear to have arisen at 
this election, for Mr. A. A. Thompson says: "Gen- 
eral Vallejo's seat was first given to James 
Spect, but on the 22d of December, the com- 



96 NAPA COUNTY. 

pany reported tbart the official returns from Lark- 
in's Ranch gave Spect but two votes instead of 
twenty-eight, a total of but one hundred and eigh- 
ty-one against General Vallejo's one hundred and 
ninety-one. Mr. Spect then gave up his seat to 
General Vallejo. 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF SOME OF 
THE EARLY LEGISLATORS. 

DAVID F. DOUGLASS. 
Born in Sumner county, Tennessee, Jan- 
uary 8th, 1821; went to Arkansas, 1836; on 
March 17, 1839, had a fight with Dr. William 
Howell, in which Howell was killed; imprisoned 
fourteen months; returned home 1842; immigrat- 
ed to Mississippi; moved west with the Choctaws 
as a clerk; left them for Texas in the winter of 
1845; war broke out; joined Hays' regiment from 
Mexico; immigrated to California, and arrived 
here as a wagoner in December, 1848. 

M. G. VALLEJO. 

Born in Monterey, Upper California, July 7, 
1807; commenced his military career as cadet, 
January 1, 1825. He served successively in the 
capacity of Lieutenant, Captain, Lieut-Colonel, 
and General Commandant of Upper California. 
In 1835 he went to Sonoma county and founded 
the town of Sonoma, giving land for the same. He 
was a member of the convention in 1849 and Sen- 
ator in 1850. 

ELCAN HEYDENFELDT. 

Born in Charleston, South Carolina, September 
15, 1821; immigrated to Alabama, 1841; to Louis- 
iana, 1844; to California in 1849; lawyer by pro- 
fession. 

PABLO DE LA GUERRA. 

Born in Santa Barbara, Upper California, No- 



NAPA COUNTY. 97 

vember 29, 1819; entered public service at nine- 
teen years of age, was appointed Administrator- 
General "de la rentas," which position he iield 
when California was taken by the American 
forces. From that time he lived a private life un- 
til he was named a member of the convennou 
which framed the Constitution of this State. 

S. E. WOODWORTH. 
Born in New York city, November 15, 1815, 
served as a. sailor, 1832; entered the navy June 
14, 1838; immigrated to California, across the 
plains, April, 1846; elected to the first Senate of 
California for term of two years. 

THOS. L. VERMEULE. 
Born June 11, 1814, in New Jersey; immigrated 
CO California, November 12, 1846; represented 
San Joaquin district in the Senate. Resigned. 

W. D. FAIR. 
Born in Virginia; came to California from Mis- 
sissippi in February, 1849; settled in Stockton as 
an attorney. 

ELISHA O. CROSBY. 
Left his native State, New York, for California, 
December 25, 1848, aged thirty-four; Senator from 
Sacramento district. 

D. C. BRODERICK. 
Born in Washington City, D. C, February 4, 
1818; left for New York, March, 1824; came to 
California April 7, 1849; killed in a duel. 

E. KIRBY CHAMBERLIN, M. D. 

President pro tem. of the Senate, from the dis- 
trict of San Diego. Born in Litchfield county. 
Conn., April 24, 1805; served as surgeon in the 
United States army during the war with Mexico; 
appointed surgeon to the Boundary Line Commis- 



98 NAPA COUNTY. 

sion, Februaiy 10, 1840; arrived in San Diego 
June 1st, 1819, and in San Jose December 11!, 
1849. 

J. BIDWELL. 
Born in New York, August 5, 1819; arrived in 
California, 1841. 

H. C. KOBINSON. 
Educated as a lawyer; arrived in California by 
the iirst steamship to enter the Golden Gate, the 
"California;" a native of Connecticut. 

BENJAMIN S. LIPPINCOTT. 

Born in New York; educated a merchant; arriv- 
ed in California, 1846; elected as Senator from 
San Joaquin for two years. 

On Saturday, December 15, 1849, the first Slate 
Legislature met at San Jose, E. Kirby Chamber- 
lin being elected President pro tem. of the Senate 
and Thomas J. White, Speaker of the Assembly. 

GEN. M. G. VALLEJO'S MEMOEIAK 

In the year 1850, Senator M. G. Vallejo became 
convinced that the capital of California should be 
established at a place which he desired to name 
Eureka, but which his colleagues, out of compli- 
ment to himself, suggested should be named Val- 
lejo. To this end the General addressed a memor- 
ial to the Senate, dated April 3, 1850, wherein he 
graphically pointed out the advantages possessed 
by the proposed site over the other places which 
claimed the honor. In this remarkable docu- 
ment, remarkable alike for its generosity of pur- 
pose as for its marvelous foresight, he proposed 
to grant twenty acres to the State, free of cost, 
for a State capitol and grounds, and one hundred 
and thirty-six acres more for other State l)uild- 
ings, to be apportioned in the following manner: 
Ten acres for the Governor's house and grounds; 



NAPA COUNTY. 99 

five acres for the oflSces of Treasurer, Comptroller, 
Secretary of Stiate, Surveyor-General and Attor- 
ney General, should the Commissioners de- 
termine that their offices should not be in the 
capitol building; one acre to State library and 
Translator's office, should it be determined to sep- 
arate them from the State house building; twenty 
acres for an orphan asylum; ten acres for a male 
charity hospital; ten acres for a female charity 
hospital; four acres for an asylum for the blind; 
four acres for a deaf and dumb asylum; twenty 
acres for a lunatic asylum; eight acres for four 
common schools; tw^enty acres for a State univer- 
sity; four acres for a State botanical garden and 
twenty acres for a State penitentiary. 

But with a munificence casting this already long 
list of grants into the shade, he further proposed 
to donate and pay over to the State, within two 
years after the acceptance of these propositions, 
the gigantic sum of |370,000, to be apportioned in 
the following manner. For the building of a 
State capitol, |125,000; for furnishing the same, 
f 10,000; for building of the Governor's house, 
110,000; for furnishing the same, |5,000; for the 
biiilding of the State library and translator's 
office, |5,000; for a State library, $5,000; for the 
building of the offices of the Secretary of State, 
Comptroller, Attorney General, Surveyor Gen- 
eral and Treasurer, should the Commissioners 
deem it proper to separate them from the State 
house, 120,000; for the building of an orphan 
asylum, |20,000; for the building of a female char 
ity hospital, |20,000; for the building of a male 
charity hospital, .|20,000; for the building of an 
asylum for the blind, |20,000; for the building of 
a deaf and dumb asylum, |20,000; for the build- 
ing of a State university, $20,000; for university 

library, |5,000; for scientific apparatus therefor, 



100 NAPA COUNTY. 

|5,000; for a chemical laboratory therefor, |3,000; 
for a mineral cabinet therefor, |3,000; for the 
building of four common school edifices, |10,000, 
for purchasing books for the same, |1,000; for the 
building of a lunatic asylum, $20,000; for a State 
penitentiary, |20,000; for a State botanical collec- 
tion, 13,000. 

In his memorial the General states, with much 
lucidity, his reasons for claiming the proud posi- 
tion for the place suggested as the proper side for 
the State capital. Mark the singleness of pur- 
pose with which he bases these claims: 

"Your memorialist with this simple proposition 
(namely, that in the event of the Government de- 
clining to accept his terms it should be put to a 
popular vote at the general election held in So- 
vember of that year — 1850), might stop here, did 
he not believe that his duty as a citizen of Cali- 
fornia required him to sa}^ thus much in addition 
— that he believes the location indicated is the 
most suitable for a permanent seat of governuieut 
for the great State of California, for the following 
reasons: That it is the true center of the State, 
the true center of commerce, the true center of 
population, the true center of travel; that, while 
the bay of San Francisco is acknowledged to be 
the first on earth, in point of extent and navigable 
capacities, already, throughout the length and 
breadth of the wide world, it is acknowledged to 
be the very center between Asiatic and European 
commerce. The largest ship that sails upon the 
broad seas can, within three hours, anchor at the 
wharves of tlie place which your memorialist pro- 
poses as your permanent seat of government. 
From this point, by steam navigation, there is a 
greater aggregate of mineral wealth within eight 
hours' steaming, than exists in the Union; besides 
from this point the great north and south rivers — 



NAPA COUNTY. 101 

San Joaquin and Sacramento — cut the State long- 
itudinally through the center, fringing the im- 
mense gold deposits on the one hand and untold 
mercury and other mineral resources on the other. 
From this point steam navigation extends along 
the Pacific Coast south to San Diego and north to 
the Oregon line, affording the quickest possible 
facilities for our sea coast population to reach the 
State Capitol in the fewest number of hours. 

This age it has been truly remarked, has merg- 
ed distance into time. In the operations of com- 
merce and the intercourse of mankind, to meas- 
ure miles by the rod is a piece of vandalism of a 
by-gone age; and that point which can be ap- 
proached from all parts of the State in the fewest 
number of hours, and at the cheapest cost, is the 
truest center. 

The location which your memorialist proposes 
as the permanent seat of government is certainly 
the point. 

Your memorialist most respectfully submits to 
your honorable body, whether there is not a 
ground of even still higher nationality? 

It is this: That at present, throughout the 
wide extent of our sister Atlantic States, but one 
sentiment seems to possess the entire people, and 
that is, to build in the shortest time possible, a 
railroad from the Mississippi to the bay of San 
Francisco, where its western terminns may meet 
a three weeks' steamer from China. Indeed, such 
is the overwhelming sentiment of the American 
people on this subject, that there is but little 
doubt to apprehend its early completion. Shall 
it be said, then, while the world is coveting oar 
possession of what all acknowledge to be the 
half-way house of the world's commerce— -the 
great bay of San Francisco — ^that the people of 



302 NAPA COUNTY. 

the rich possessions are so unmindful of its value 
as not to ornament her magnificent shores with 
a capital worthy of a great State?" 

Upon receipt of General Vallejo's memorial by 
the Senate, a committee composed of members 
who possessed a thorough knowledge of t^e 
county comprised in the above-quoted document, 
both geographically and topographically were di- 
rected to report for the information of the 
President, upon the advantages claimed for 
the location of the capital at the spot 
suggested in preference to others. The re- 
port in which the following words occur, 
was presented to the Senate on April 2, 
1850: "Your committee cannot dwell with too 
much warmth upon the magnificent propositions 
contained in the memorial of General Vallejo. 
They breathe throughout the spirit of an enlarg- 
ed mind and a sincere public benefactor,for which 
he deserves the thanks of his countrymen and the 
admiration of the world. Such a proposition 
looks more like the legacy of a mighty Emperor 
to his people than the free donation of a private 
planter to a great State, yet poor in public 
finance, but soon to be among the first of the 
earth," 

The report which was presented by Senator D. 
C. Broderick of San Francisco, goes on to point 
out the necessities which should govern the 
choice of a site for California's capital, recapitu- 
lates the advantages pointed out in the memorial, 
and finally recommends the acceptance of Gen- 
eral Vallejo's offer. This acceptance did not 
pass the Senate without some opposition and con- 
siderable delay; however, on Tuesday, February 
4th, 1851, a message was received from Governor 
Burnett, by his private Secretary, Mr. Ohr, in- 
forming the Senate, that he did this day sign .m 



NAPA COUNTY. 103 

act originating in the Senate, entitled "An Act 
to provide for the permanent location of the seat 
of government." In the meantime General 
V^allejo's bond had been accepted; his solvency 
was approved by a committee appointed by the 
Senate to inquire into that circumstance; the re- 
port of the commissioners sent to mark and lay 
out the tracts of land proposed to be donated was 
adopted, and on May 1st, 1851, the last session of 
the Legislature at San Jose was completed; but 
the archives were not moved to the new seat of 
government at Vallejo then, the want of which 
was the cause of much dissatisfaction among the 
members. 

The Legislature first sat at Vallejo on Janu- 
ary 5, 18-52, but there was wanting the attraction 
of society which would appear to be necessary 
to the seat of every central government. With 
these Sacramento abounded, from her proximity 
to the mines. The Assembly therefore, with a 
unanimity bordering on the marvelous, passed a 
bill to remove the session to that city; ball tick- 
ets and theater tickets being tendered to the 
members in reckless profusion. The bill was 
transferred to the Senate and bitterly fought by 
the Hons. Paul K. Hobbs and Phil. A. Roach. 
The removal was rejected by one vote. This 
was on a Saturday, but never was the proverb of 
"We know not what the morrow may bring 
forth,-' more fully brought to bear on any consid- 
eration. Senator Anderson, it is said, passed a 
sleepless night through the presence of unpleas- 
ant insects in his bed; on the Monday morning 
he moved a reconsideration of the bill. The 
alarm was sounded on every hand, and at 2 p. 
m. on January 12, 1852, the government and Leg- 
islature were finding its way to Sacramento by 
way of the Carquiuez straits. On March 7, 1852, 



104 NAPA COUNTY. 

a devastating flood overwhelmed Sacraniento, 
and where they had before feared contamination, 
they now feared drowning. 

The Legislature adjourned at Sacramento May 
4th, 1852, the next session to be held at Vallejo. 
On January 3, 1853, peripatetic government met 
again at Vallejo, whither had been moved in May 
the archives and State offices. Once more the 
spirit of jealousy was rampant; Sacramento 
could not with grace ask its removal thither 
again, but she worked with Benicia; the capital 
Avas once more on wheels and literally carted off 
to the town for the remaining portion of the ses- 
sion, when a bill was passed to fix the capital of 
the State at Sacramento, and thereafter clinched 
by large appropriations for building the present 
magnificent capitol there. The last sitting of the 
Legislature was held on February 4th, 1853, 
when it was resolved to meet at Benicia on the 
11th of the month. 

During the first session at San Jose but little 
was done beyond dividing the State into counties 
and organizing their governments. Mr. Hopkins, 
who with the Honorable George Pearce, had been 
appointed a committee to visit the capital in or- 
der to prevent if possible the establishment of a 
boundary line which would include the Sonoma 
valley in Napa county, was a resident lawyer cf 
Sonoma. On arrival at San Jose, the question of 
appointing a Judge for the Sonoma district was 
attracting attention, and the only candidate was 
W. B. Turner, who, though a gentleman of capa- 
bilities did not reside there, and probably had 
never visited the spot. Pearce proposed to Hop- 
kins to run for the oftice; he allowed himself to 
be put in nomination, and beat Turner, who knew 
not of opposition, just as he was putting forth his 
hand to seize the prize. The vote was unanimous 



NAPA COUNTY. 105 

for Hopkins, and Turner received some otlier dis- 
trict. Pearce went to San Jose to accomplish one 
object and obtained another, while Hopkins came 
back a full fledged Judge of a most important 
district. 

The State of California was admitted into the 
Union September 9th, 1850, and January 6, 1851, 
the second Legislature met at San Jose. Martin 
E. Cook at this session represented the eleventh 
Senatorial district, which was composed of the 
counties of Sonoma, Solano, Napa, Marin, Colusa, 
Yolo and Trinity, while in the Lower House 
Marin, Napa, Sonoma, and Solano were repre- 
sented by John Bradford and A. Stearns. 

September 3, 1851, the first Gubernatorial 
election was held under the new order of things, 
in this contest John Bigler received 23,774 votes, 
and P. B. Redding, his Whig opponent, received 
22,723 votes. 

From March 11th, 1851 to 1874 there were nu- 
merous acts passed by the Legislature placing 
Napa and adjoining counties in different judicial 
districts. There was nothing material in these 
changes only political, therefore the matter of 
their record w^ould hardly justify the time and 
space used for that purpose. 

The first general election in and for Napa 
county, was held April 1, 1850, with the following 
result: John S. Stark, County Judge; H. H. Law- 
rence, County Clerk; N. McKinney, Sheriff; II. 
L. Killburn, Treasurer; J. P. Walker, Assessoi'; J. 
E. Brown, Surveyor; B. F. E. Kellogg, Coroner. 
Of these J. P. Walker filed his bond first, hence 
his was the first official bond on record. 

At the general election in 1855, Ihe question of 
prohibition of liquors was submitted to the peo- 
ple, and the result in Napa county was: Prohibi- 



1«6 NAPA COUNTY. 

tion — yes, 198; Prohibition — no, 205. It will be 
seen from this that the temperance sentiment of 
the people even at that early day was not so far 
behind what it is now. In fact it is doubtful if 
the vote w^ould be so close if it were submitted to 
the people to-day. 

The vote for Governor at the election of 1855 
was as follows: for Governor, J. Bigler, 261; J. 
Nealy Johnson, 519, making a total vote of 780 in 
Napa county. At the election in 1863 the soldier 
vote was nineteen, showing that some of the cit- 
izens were battling for the maintenance of "Old 
Glory." 

In 1877 at a general election a large majority 
decided in favor of holding a convention to frame 
a new constitution for the State. During the 
next session of the Legislature a bill was passed 
providing for the election of ninety-two delegates 
from the State at large, not more than eight of 
whom should reside in any one congressional dis- 
trict. This election was held July 19, 1878. 
Hon. Robert Crouch was elected at this time to 
represent Napa county in this convention. The 
delegates convened in Sacramento City, Sept. 28, 
1878, and continued in session one hundred and 
seventy-live days, when the new constitution was 
submitted to the people for their approval. The 
day set for the vote was May 7, 1879, and was a 
close contest. Napa county only giving a majori- 
ty for the adoption of the new constitution of 
eighty-three. 

VITICULTURE IN NAPA COUNTY. 

It will probably always be a questicm, who v.as 
the first to introduce the foreign variety of vines 
into California. It is known that a Mr. Stock of 
San Jose, had several varieties growing on liis 



NAPA COUNTY. 107 

place as early as 1858, which he had received 
from his father, who resided in Germany. In 
1861 Dr. Crane of St. Helena purchased cuttings 
from the Stock vineyard at the rate of forty dol- 
lars per thousand. There was one variety which 
had no label, and Mr. Stock sold those cuttings 
at half price, and they proved to be the now cele- 
brated Riesling, and these cuttings were the tiist 
of that variety ever planted in Napa county. 

In 1861 Col. Haraszthy was appointed a com- 
missioner by the Governor of the State to visit the 
wine growing countries of Europe in the interest 
of that industry in California. The result of his 
visit to the old countries, was the importation of 
some three hundred different varieties of vines, 
many of which are yet great favorites with tlie 
vineyardists of the State, and from which are 
made the most valuable wines produced, Upon 
the return of Col. Haraszthy from Europe in 1802 
he was chosen resident of the State Agricultural 
Society. In 1863 he organized the Buena Vista 
Vinicultural Society to which he conveyed his 
four hundred acres of land in Sonoma. 

About this time he wrote a treatise on the cult- 
ure of the vine and the manufacture of wine, 
which was published by the State for gratuitous 
distribution. This publication, thtis generally 
circulated, called the attention not only of the 
citizens of the State, but the people of the world 
to California, as a wine producing country, and 
gave to that interest its first impulse. He had 
now given the matter a thorough test, and had 
proven beyond a doubt that wine making could 
and would be a success, and demonstrated that 
he knew more than any other citizen of the coun- 
ty about the subject, and took more interest in it 
than any one. 

In the winter of 1858, Col. Haraszthy planted 



108 NAPA COUNTY. 

about eighty thousand vines in a high tract of 
land, east of the town of Sonoma, since known 
as the Buena Vista vineyard, and the growth and 
progress of this venture was very closely watched 
by all interested in viticulture. The experiment 
succeeded beyond the most sanguine expectations 
of all, and was the beginning of a new epoch in 
the culture of grapes in California. About this 
period the securing of a wine finer in flavor, by 
means of the introduction of foreign varieties of 
grapes, began to be seriously canvassed. Con- 
noisseurs had given their dictum, that the native 
wines had not the excellence of the article pro- 
duced abroad. Stating that it was either too 
earthy or too fiery or too sour or too sweet and 
insipid. This was doubtless owing to, in a great 
measure, the rich quality of the soil, and the 
irrigation of the vine, to which may be added the 
lack of experience of the manufacturers, and the 
crude manner in which it was made. 

In 1861, Messrs. Haraszthy, Schell and Cil. 
Warren were appointed a committee, to iuquire 
and report upon the best means of promoting and 
improving the gro^^th of the vine in this State. 
The former visited Europe, as has been stated, 
the latter reported upon the condition of the in- 
terest in California, while jSIr. Schell gave a state- 
ment of the culture of the vine in the South 
American States. It is a noticeable fact, that 
the Europe;! n vari(^ties, introduced by Col. Har- 
aszthy at that time, held all their peculiar char- 
acteristics after being introduced here, losing 
nothing in any particular by the process of trans- 
planting. 

It is a very sim])le process to start a vineyard, 
and no great amount of capital is required. The 
land once purchased the vines may be planted. 



NAPA COUNTY. 10;) 

and half tJie time for the first three years will 
suffice to care for them, while the remainder «>f 
the time may be spent on the outside earning cur- 
rent expenses. At the end of three years a small 
return comes in from the vineyard, and at the end 
of six years the man has a property that is yield- 
ing from |100 to |200 per acre and, worth from 
|350 to 1500 per acre. 

The influence of climate is very great on the 
wine crop, and that climate which is the most 
even, dryest during the summer season, and es- 
pecially free from frost during the summer 
months, is the most desirable. The average rain- 
fall of Napa county is not far from tw^enty-four 
inches, while that of Malaga, Spain, is twenty - 
three inches. The mean temperature of Sacra- 
mento is about 67 degrees, while that of Malaga 
is about ()8 degrees, Madeira is 65 and Bordeaux 
is 57 degrees. It will thus be seen that much < f 
tiie climate of California is very similar to the 
best wine producing sections of the world. 

It had been demonstrated that the richest soil 
does not produce the fine quality of wine that the 
lighter grades do. True the vines are thriftier 
and the clusters larger and the yield of juice 
more, and now, if the wines are not graded close- 
ly they will sell for about the same price. But 
the time will come when the line of distincti )n 
will be carefully drawn between mountain and 
valley production and the preference will always 
be in favor of the mountain wine. 

On the subject of soils. Col. Haraszthy says: 
"When the planter resolves to plant a vineyard, 
he should determine whether he is planting to 
produce grapes for wine or for the fruit market. 
If for the former he must look for soil which is 
made by volcanic eruptions, containing red clay 
and soft rocks, which will decay by exposure to 



110 NAPA COUNTY. 

the air. The more magnesia, lime or chalk the 
soil contains the better. This kind of soil never 
cracks and keeps the moisture during the summer 
admirably. Such a soil Avill produce a wine that 
will keep good for fifty or one hundred years and 
improve annually; is not liable to get sour or 
when exposed to the air, after one ^ear old to get 
turbid and change color in the bottle or glass. 
For marketable table grapes, rich, black, gravelly 
or sandy loam, exceedingly rich and well ma- 
nured is the best." The total product of 1880 in 
Napa county of all kinds of wines was 2,857,250 
gallons. The yield has declined since that date 
by reason of the phylloxera pest which nearly de- 
stroyed the wine industry of France and for 
which that government offered 300,000 francs for 
an effectual and practical remedy, and which as 
yet has not been earned. The ravages of this in- 
sect have created universal alarm in Germany, 
Austria, Spain, Portugal and Italy. (Pronounced 
fillo-xee-ra, accent on second syllable.) 

MINES AND MINING. 

The only mines that have been profitable to 
the operators in Napa county have been the 
quicksilver mines. That there were a great 
many mines of immense value we do not doubt, 
but few if any stood the test of profitable work- 
ing except as stated above. 

The first mining excitement broke out in this 
country in the winter of 1858-59, and is thus 
graphically d(^scribed by Pvobert T. IMontgomery 
in Menefee's "Sketch Book." In the winter of 
1858-9, there arose an excitement really worthy 
of the "good times" in the mineral districts. All 
at once nobody could tell why, a great silver ex- 
citement arose, which permeated the whole com- 
munity. It was found by various parties that 



NAPA COUNTY. HI 

the mountains on the east side of the valley were 
full of silver ore of untold, because unknown, 
richness. Simultaneous with this good dis- 
covery, every unemployed man from Soscol to 
Calistoga turned prospector. Blankets and ba- 
con, beans and hard bread rose to a premium, 
and the hills were lighted at night with 
hundreds of campfires. Hammers and picks were 
in great demand, and there is ocular evidence 
even to this day that not a boulder nor a project- 
ing rock escaped the notice of the prospector. 
There was silver in Washoe, why not in Napa? It 
was a question of probabilities which was bound 
soon to harden into certainties. Indeed it was 
only a short time before silver prospects were 
possessed of a defined value. Claims were open- 
ed, companies formed and stock issued on a most 
liberal scale. Everything wore the color of the 
rose, as usual on such occasions there was great 
strife about claims. Some were "jumped" on the 
ground of some informality twice in the twenty- 
four hours. Heavy prices were paid for "choice" 
ground, and it is quite safe to say that our mount- 
ain sides and summits have never since borne 
such enormous valuation. It seems as if the 
whole country had been bitten by the mining tar- 
antulas. 

One man, whose name we withhold, in his per- 
ambulations in the profound canyons of Mount 
St. Helena, in company with his son, discovered a 
ledge of solid silver. As neither had brought 
blankets or grub, the old gentleman concluded to 
stand guard over the precious discovery during 
the night, while the son went down in the valley 
for those indispensable supplies. When the 
morning broke the old man was still at his post, 
shot gun in hand, but tired, sleepy and hungry. 
The son laden with food and other inner com- 



112 NAPA COUNTY. 

forts "toiled up the sloping steep,-' with his paok 
strapped on his back, and both father and son 
sat down in the gray of the morning by a hasti- 
ly lighted fire, to discuss their rude breakfast and 
the limitless wealth before them. It would not do 
to leave such an enormous property unguarded. 
It would be "jumped" in ten minutes, so the 
shot gun was transferred to the son, while 
the father, with an old pair of saddle bags 
stuffed to repletion with the "silver," de- 
scended the mountain. His mule soon 
brought him to Napa, the denizens of which 
town he was shortly to astonish with his 
discovery. He Avalked into the Reporter office, 
saddlebags in hand, opened the fastenings with 
an excellent smile but a trembling hand, when 
out fell some brilliant specimens of iron pyrites. 
Alas, that it should be told, but such was the 
scope of his great silver discovery. 

But the opinions of the unskilled were of no 
value. A regular assayer Avould of course tell a 
different story. And, we suppose on the princi- 
ple that the supply always et^uals the demaud, 
there was discovered in San Francisco large 
numbers of "assay offices" at which for the mod- 
erate price of |15, a certificate of quantitative an- 
alysis of anything from a brickbat to a lump of 
obsidian could be had, showing silver anywhere 
between |20 and |500 per ton. We were shown 
numbers of these certificates, and probably gave 
them all the credence they were entitled to. Tliere 
were a few individuals here who had understood 
from the beginning the character of the Avhole 
excitement. One of these, G. N. C. (presumably 
George N. Cornwell) was the recipient of a sam- 
ple of a very dark ore of something, and being 
fond of a joke, dissolved a two-bit piece in nitric 
acid, and added the resultant to the powdered 



NAPA COUNTY. 113 

ore. When the assayer's certificate got back 
there was an enormous excitement. The speci- 
men forwarded had yielded |428 to the ton. Of 
course, when the joke hatl been duly enjoyed, the 
secret was revealed, to the great disgust of tlie 
lucky proprietors. 

Judge John S. Stark, formerly sheriff of the 
County, had been away up the vallej^ on biisiuess 
in the muddiest part of winter, and on his way 
back met a fellow on his way to the "mines." 
"Have you been to the mines?" said the fellow. 
"Yes," answered the sheriff, "but everything is 
pretty nearly taken up — at least all the best 
claims." "But, d — n it,'' said the would-be pro- 
prietor, "isn't there anything left?" "Oh, yes;" 
returned the sheriff, "you might, perhaps, get in 
on some outside claim." Without waiting to 
make any reply, the fellow clapped spurs to his 
Rosinante, headed up the valley, and, as the, sher- 
iff declared, "In less than two minutes you 
couldn't see him for the mud he raised." 

The excitement lasted for several weeks, and 
grew better and better. Scores of men, laden 
with specimens, thronged the hotels and saloons, 
and nothing was talked of but "big strikes," and 
"astounding developments." A local assay office 
was started, for the miners could not wait the 
slow process of sending to San Francisco. 

It is probable that this local assayer, Mr. Frank 
MclNfahon (since engaged about the Knoxville 
mines), did more than any one man towards 
pricking the great bubble of the time. His as- 
says were less favorable than the imported arti- 
cle, and it came to pass that his customers were 
dissatisfied with the result of his experiments. 
Finally, as these threw a shade of doubt over tbe 
value of the argentiferous discoveries, some of the 



114 NAPA COUNTY. 

heavy operators concluded to consult some of the 
most skillful assayers of the city— men whose de- 
cisions were beyond the reach of suspicion, and 
whose reputations were above cavil or doubt. 
Several specimens, considered to be of the high- 
est value, were forwarded. 

The general disgust of claim-owners may be 
conceived when the formal certificates of assay 
were returned. Most specimens contained no 
silver at all, and the very best only a trace. Noth- 
ing of value had been discovered. Thereupon en- 
sued a sudden hegira of prospectors to the valley. 
The millionaires of a day left their rude camps 
in the mountains, and, with ragged breeches and 
boots out at the toes, subsided at once into de- 
spondency, and less exciting employments. The 
hotel and saloon keepers, say nothing of the edit- 
ors, proceeded to disencumber their premises of 
accumulated tons of specimens of all kinds of 
shiny rocks to be found within an area of thirty 
miles square, making quite a contribution to the 
paving material of the streets of Napa city. Thus 
subsided the great mining excitement. The re- 
sult was that a few were a little poorer, but many 
hundreds a great deal wiser than they hoped 
to be. 

Passing to a consideration of the mines wJiich 
have been developed and worked in Napa County, 
we find that quicksilver was first discovered in 
the Maycamas system of mountains by A. J. Bai- 
ley and J. Cyrus, in January, 1860. This discov- 
ery was made to the northwest of Calistoga, and 
near tlie Geyser Springs. When the rock Avas 
broken here the native metal appeared. 

It is stated that eight hundred men rushed into 
the new El Dorado at once and staked off chiims. 



NAPA COUNTY. U5 

In the May following Edward Evey and J. N. 
Bennett discovered a ledge of cinnabar iu 
Knights' Valley. Both of these discoveries were 
outside of the limits of Napa county, but were 
tributary to Mount St. Helena. 

The only mineral which has been discovered in 
paying quantities, in or near Napa County, is cin- 
nabar, which, when roasted, yields quicksilver, 
the vapor of which is condensed in a retort. The 
Phoenix Mining Company was a successful cor- 
poration eventually, after having considerable 
discouragement, which may have been for want 
of technical knowledge, for when an educated 
gentleman undertook the management, it was at 
once a financial success, but after costly improve- 
ments were added to increase the output, the 
price of the product dropped to so low a figure 
that the profit did not pay to exhaust the mine 
for the small margin above the cost. When the 
price of the mineral again goes up the manage- 
ment will again bring this mine to the top of th(» 
list of producers. 

The Redington Quicksilver mine is located in 
the northeastern portion of Napa county, about 
eighteen miles from Clear Lake. The story of its 
discovery is an illustration of how many deposits 
of valuable mineral has been discovered and also 
demonstrates what is called luck: "In 1860 a 
company of twelve was formed in Napa City for 
the purpose of prospecting for mines and miner- 
als, and two old pioneer prospectors, Seth Dun- 
ham and L. D. Jones, were sent out to examine 
Napa and adjacent couQties. What might be 
found was doubtful, but the company informally 
organized concluded to pay a small assessment 
per month each, in order to find out what might 



11« NAPA COUNTY. 

be the resources of the land. The prospectors 
were wont to bring in, about once a month, the 
results of their labor. The prevalent idea then 
was that silver abounded in the mountains of the 
county and accordingly all eyes were directed to 
the discovery of the ores of that metal. The 
company individually as well as the prospectors, 
were equally ignorant of mineralogy, and the 
'specimens' brought in, ranged from iron pyrites 
to bituminous shale, all of which was supposed to 
contain silver. Every newspaper office and hotel 
bar was replete with the samples of the wealth 
and value of the mineral resources of the county, 
all of which economically considered, were only 
inferior specimens of macadamizing stones- 
glistening but valueless. At last Messrs. Jones 
and Dunham, in their perambulations among the 
hills, struck a new road, then recently built be- 
tween Berr3^essa valley and Lower Lake, and, ou 
ascending a hill at the head of Sulphur canyou, 
just above the Elkhorn ranch, where the soil and 
rock had been removed to permit the passage of 
teams, discovered, on the upper side of the road, 
at the turning point, that the rocky point, partly 
removed by the road makers, was of a peculiar 
color and texture. Fragments broken off were 
very heavy and of a liver color. They were at 
once brought to town, and pronounced by the (Ex- 
perts of that time cinnabar. And such they 
proved. The first discovery led to the rich mine 
of which they were the indication. The ignorant 
workman who constructed the road had rolled 
down into the canyon below many tons of cinna- 
bar, which would have yielded from fifty to sixty 
per cent of metal." The products of this mine so 
discovered were as follows: 



NAPA COUNTY. 117 

Year*. Flasks. Pounds. 

1869 4,683 358,244 

1870 4,619 353,353 

1871 2,055 157,077 

1872 3,206 245,259 

1873 3,369 257,728 

1874 7,200 550,800 

1875 8,080 618,120 

1876 8,702 665,703 

1877 9,447 723,695 

1878 6,812 521,118 

1879 4,516 345,474 

1880 2,114 161,739 

Total 61,808 4,958,315 

The policy of the company is, at present, owing 
to the low prices of quicksilver, to employ barely 
enough men to pay the expense of keeping up the 
mine, without exhausting the ore bodies at so trif- 
ling a profit as can be realized at the present rul- 
ing prices of quicksilver. Should the price ad- 
vance the number of men would be augmented, 
and the former large production of the mine 
would soon be attained. 

THE NAPA CONSOLIDATED QUICKSILVER 

MINE 

Is another instance where a return was made for 
the money invested, but as a rule much more 
money has been put into silver mines than ever 
was taken out of them on the Pacific Coast, and 
then if we include all that has been worse than 
sunk in stock speculations we will have an 
amount that exceeds their yield more than one 
hundred per cent. How easy it is to get grand 
fortunes figured out on paper, but how very hard 
it is to get them realized. 



118 NAPA COUNTT. 

OAT HILL QUICKSILVEK MINE. 

This mine employs 150 Chinamen and 115 
white men, and is equipped with the best modern 
machinery. The mine is in some places 1,000 
feet deep. The main shaft is 300 feet deep, out 
of which the ore is hoisted by engines. The ele- 
vation of the mine is 2,000 feet abo^e sea lev^el. 

The little town which is created by the work- 
ing of this mine numbers about 350 people. 
There are no saloons, and the employes are in- 
dustrious and thrifty, living in pleasant homes; 
have a church and Sunday school is held every 
Sunday. 

The output of this mine is 450 flasks per month, 
containing 76^ pounds of quicksilver. 

There is one store kept by the company, but 
no whisky is sold; Wells-Fargo Express offlce and 
Postoffice. 

B. M. Newcomb is the superintendent of Oat 
Hill mine, and general superintendent of eight 
other mines. 

COAL MINES. 

There is no probability of there being any coal 
measures in Napa county, although here and 
there are outcroppings which look favorable. 
The convulsions of nature have been so violent 
that the crust of the earth is so shattered that 
the prospects for coal and oil in paying deposits 
are not promising. A half dozen coal companies 
with capital of from two to three millions of dol- 
lars have been formed, but nothing was ever ac- 
complished. 

Should the price of quicksilver advance to a 
dollar per pound, which is not impossible, we 
would soon see the mountains of Napa full of 
prospectors, and the busy hum of mining machin- 



NAPA COUNTY. 119 

erj would be heard all through them, for there 
are many mines which would pay well at that 
price. As to silver, time alone can tell what it^ 
will develop into. As to gold there is none, nor 
is there any coal. There is no reasonable liopr' 
that capital will be tempted to prove to the 
contrary. 

FIEST SCHOOL. 

The first school house in Napa county was built 
by William H. Nash, near Tucker creek above 
St. Helena, in 1849, in which a private school was 
taught by Mrs. Forbes, whose husband had per- 
ished with the Donner party in 184G. As late as 
J 854 there was not a public school in the county, 
although there was one or two private schools. 
In 1855 the first public school in the county was 
erected by subscription in Napa City. In LS57 
there were only 911 children in both Lake and 
Napa counties, which then were one. We give 
below the school census for 1858 and 1881, so the 
growth of the system may be comprehended. 

SUPERINTE?fDENTS OF SCHOOLS FOR NAPA COUNTY. 

1883 to 1887-J. L. Shearer. 

1887 to 1891-F. C. Huskie. 

1891 to 1895 --Anna E. Dixon. 

1895 to 1899- Kate Ames. 

1899 to 1903-John A. Imre. 

Board of Education 1901-J. L.Shearer of Napa, 
President; Jolm A. Imrie of Napa, Secretary; 
Agnes G. C. Erb of Napa; Elmer L. Cave, St. 
Helena; Dee T. Davis, Monticello. 

No. of teachers employed in 1900 were, 12 male, 
80 female. Value of school property, .f 133, 5 17. 
No. of pupils attending school in 1900, about 900, 



19* 



NAPA COUNTY. 



SCHOOL CENSUS FOR 1858 AND 1881. 



Districts, 



No. of 
Childreu. 



American Canon.. 

Atlas Peak 

Buchanan 

Bennett 

Berryessa 

Caueras 

Calistoga 

Chiles 

Cherry Valley 

Chiles Valley 

Conn Valley 

Capelle Valley 

Crystal Springs, . . 

Cinnabar 

Franklin 

Fosb Valley 

Gordon Valley. . . . 

Hardin 

Harmony 

Howard 

Howell Mountain. 

High Valley 

Jefferson 

Liberty 

Lodi 

Lone Tree . 

Mountain 

Napa 

Oak Grove 

Oak Knoll 



56 



30 



131 



27 
15 
97 
80 

63 
43 

235 
6b 
18 
16 
31 
25 
24 
47 
55 
22 
40 
25 
65 
64 
34 
15 
32 
56 
27 
19 
22 

978 
18 
41 



Districts. 



Oakville 

Pope Valley 

Putah " 

Redwood 

Soda Canyon 

Soscol 

Salvador 

Silverado 

■-pring Mountain. . . . 

St. Helena 

Sulphur Springs 

Summit 

Tucker 

Upper Pope Valley.. 

Vineland 

Wooden Valley 

Yount 

Zen Zen 

Fischer's School Ho. 

Brown's Valley 

Hot Springs No. i.. . 
Hot Springs No. 2.. . 
Hot Springs No. 3.. . 
Clear Lake No. i . . . . 
Clear Lake No. 2 . . . 

Monroe 

Squatter Valley 

Total 



No. of 
Children. 



43 



141 

57 

50 

89 

122 

33 
50 
38 



63 



903 



28 
16 

19 
22 

36 
40 
38 
25 
23 

334 
50 
25 
39 
32 

107 
10 

47 
II 



3202 



LIFE AND KOADS IN NAPA COUNTY. 

No State in the Union or conntj in any State 
has better wagon roads than this county. In the 
garden of the valleys of Napa, Pope, Chiles and 
Berryessa, such roads are seldom equaled ner- 
er surpassed. What would a. Board of County 
Commissioners in Ohio think of sprinkling their 
main public thoroughfares. Yet such is the case 
here, an eastern dream in western reality. "^Vheu 
this is told east of the Rockies the man will gaze 
in wonder on his neighbor's face— But here is life 
and comfort, from the lofty hills on either side 
the eye is carried into the valleys below, and 



NAPA COUNTY. 121 

under the soft sunshine and fields of green is mir- 
rored back to us like an emerald sea of marble 
sleeping without a wave. Such a sight will so 
transfix you that you can hear the beating of 
your own pulse. About your feet the languish- 
ing red rose and the bride-like hyacinth droop- 
ing as with shame. Beside the rock the ane- 
mone whose flushed cheeks of flame is caught in 
the golden embrace of the sun and its hour of 
noon is passing beautiful. From a hundred 
1 hroats swell up the notes of song, and lovely car- 
ols and the wind harping over the hills and reeds 
with dulcet strains, timbrel and harp. What an 
anthem of a myriad voices lifted in one mighty 
melody toward their Creator. In the spring this 
conclave of birds is seen and their million notes 
are heard on a thousand hills. The writer on 
many occasions has beheld sights beyond the 
power of the most graphic pen to portray. The 
spring time when sunny summer flings its rosy 
arms about the earth, the poppy each night get- 
ting its dewy freshness from hill and plain. 
Every jessamine and flower seems to have bor- 
rowed some of its loveliness from the rainbow. 
Here is the blush of the wild yellow^ rose and on 
its cheeks the kiss of the beaming morn— and by 
yonder prattling brook the water lily and in its 
folds a sunbeam got entangled and from the birds 
it gets its soft innocence— and from the water 
the efflorescent tear that trembles on its fair face. 
Now in climbing upward threading the weird 
line coiled like a vine about the mountain side we 
pass yawning chasms that coquette with death 
and haughty cliffs that look defiantly from the 
dizzy heights above. But upward we climb to- 
ward the eagle's home above the fog beyond the 
din of voices in the vale below. Into the sweet, 
soft fragrant air where gray cliffs and the levia- 



122 NAPA COUNTY. 

than crag look upon each other through the twi- 
light of ages, but voiceless, tongueless, uo 
word low spoke but eloquent in age for 
years hung about them and even centu- 
ries over them ^^ith grace, while time 
hung its drapery, ancient as the sun. What 
thoughts came o'er me when I remembered that 
on their cold brows Avas felt the kiss of a million 
mornings. But upward we climbed to the level 
of the summit where one of our neighbors had 
come many years before and his touch was seen 
in the magic of change. Tainted fences, waving 
grain fields, modern buildings, improvements 
everywhere. 

THE FRUIT INDUSTRY. 

One of the most profitable products in this 
country is the Prune, and the world does not pos- 
sess in all its markets a commodity so delectably 
rich as our prune fruit. In Chicago, New Or- 
leans and New York we found dried, withered 
prune parasites raised in Ohio and South Caroli- 
na with an unctuous label announcing "California 
I'runes." The fair name and great fame of our 
fruit is slandered and degraded to the world by 
the riot of dwarfish and shriveled fruits of the 
East contending for sale place and price under a 
label that is famous for the luscious sweetness 
and large full body of meat it contains. In St. 
I^ouis we heai'd the vendor crying "Fresh Napa 
county, California Grapes." To a question as to 
where they were groAvn, he confided in confi- 
dence^ that they were grown twenty miles fr<nn 
that L-itj. On the shelves of the grocery stores in 
Tampa, Florida, are "Sacramento Salmon." 
When examined we found them to be Alaslva 
steel heads. In Boston they sell I*orto Eico or- 
anges as Riverside, California, navels and the 



NAPA COUNTY. 123 

fraud is apparent when the sale is carried on 
three months before the California orange is in 
the market and while it yet hangs in its green 
state on the native tree. 

Speaking of the financial returns from prunes, 
we looked over a half dozen orchards where from 
three acres as high as seven hundred dollars was 
realized from the sale of its yearly product. 

One farm here with ten acres devoted to 
prunes will yield a better return than a quarter 
section in Ohio devoted to w^heat and corn. 

No county in this State is so well adapted to 
the culture of olives as ours. As it is, thousands 
of gallons of rich oil is rendered from this decidu- 
ous berry each year. This green pepper-like 
leafed tree, small, brisk, smart, handsome in ap- 
pearance; easily kept, enduring, hardy, it de- 
fies frost, resists cold, loves sunshine, never fails, 
responds to kindness, and readily influenced. 
Napa to-day has one hundred thousand acres 
of hill land ready to be cleared and 
planted to the olive. Here is an Eden for a 
thousand new homes, land that will respond to 
the farmer and give back a dual thrift in crop to 
the husbandman. We have no product yielding 
better and requiring less care than this sacred 
olive, and it will pour countless sums of money 
in the pockets of the homeseeker and bless his 
fireside, clothe his family, feed them, pay his 
taxes, furnish his house and place at every turn 
of the new home the appearance of contentnient, 
happiness, peace and plenty. 

PIONEERS. 

The Pioneers— In closing this chapter it is but 
proper we should pay a tribute to the brave pio- 
neers who led the van and sacrificed their com- 



1?< NAPA COUNTY. 

fort and often their lives in order that civiliza- 
tion should bless this land and their children 
should enjoy the fruits of their fathers' sacrifices. 
Heroic deeds do not seem so to the actors in the 
great drama of Pioneerism. It has been their lot 
to subdue the wilderness and change it into fields 
of golden grain. Toil and privation such as we 
would shrink from was their lot for many years. 
Poor houses or no houses at all, but a 
simple tent of Indian wickeup, sheltered 
them from the storm or inclement weather, 
the wild beasts of the woods their only 
visitors, except when troubled by thieving 
Indians; the game procured by the hunter 
their only meat and bread was many times a 
rarity. But all these conditions are now 
changed. The Indian ranchero is supplanted by 
beautiful villages and the war dance by the 
Christian church. The children's bow and arrow 
for the precious school books and at every mile 
post almost are to be seen the bulwarks of our 
liberty; the safeguards of our social life, the 
school house from which springs the American 
citizen who marches in the van of civilization 
abreast with the leading nations of the world. 
Pioneer mothers and fathers you have heard or 
will hear the universal verdict of "Well done," 
you have fought the battle bravely, now rest. 

NAPA TOWXSHIP. 

Geography.— Napa Township is bounded on the 
north by Yount Township, on the east and south 
by Solano county, on the west by Sonoma 
county. 

Topography.— The topograpliy of this town- 
ship is fully as varied as that of any of the other 
sections of Napa county. Beginning at the west- 



NAPA COUNTY. 1*6 

ern line, we find it on the summit of a range of 
mountains. Passing to the east, we come to the 
2\'apa valley, which in this township is much 
wider than in the others to the northward. It 
opens out into a broad open flat a few miles south 
of Napa City, which is covered with tules. Pass- 
ing on to the eastward, the remainder of the 
township is very rough and mountainous, having 
here and there small and fertile valleys inter- 
spersed amid the mountain peaks, such as Foss, 
Wild Horse, Capelle and others, 

Soil.— The soil is very rich and productive in 
the valleys and equally well adapted to the pro- 
duction of all classes of fruits, vegetables and 
cereals. The soil in the tule region is quite rich, 
and is very productive when there is not too 
much salt in the composition. The soil of the 
mountains is the common red detritus from vol- 
canic substances, and is well adapted to the 
growth of the vine. In Brown's valley the soil is 
adobe, having been formed by the decomposition 
of limestone, but there is enough sand mixed 
with it to make it friable, and fruits and vines 
do well in it; which is not common in that class 
of soil. 

Geology.— Beginning on the we«t side of the 
township we find that the mountains are formed 
mostly of sand and limestone of the Tertiary pe- 
riod. Passing to the mountains on the east side of 
the valley we find the great masses of volcanic 
ash and tufa deposited there upon the occasion of 
some mighty eruption, and gradually, through 
the action of ages, formed into solid rock, afford- 
ing much valuable stone for economical pur- 
poses. Farther eastward these mountains are 
still of volcanic origin. 

Climate.— The lower end of Napa Valley is 
open to the breezes which sweep inland from the 



126 NAPA COUNTY. 

sea (luring the summer months, and serve to 
lower the temperature to a remarkable degree. 
The wind is greatly modified in its force and tem- 
perature in passing over the warm surface of the 
land, and its effects are less and less felt as it 
penetrates inland. Probably the pleasante«t 
climate is found in and near Napa City. The sea 
breeze passing over the long stretch of level land, 
loses its roughness, and keeps down the summer 
heat and renders the winters mild. About Napa 
City the thermometer rarely gets above eighty 
degrees, although it has been in rare instances as 
high as one hundred and five degrees but for a 
short time only, the nights being cool and re- 
freshing. In winter ice is sometimes formed at 
night half an inch thick upon standing water. 
Snow is a great rarity in this part of the valley. 
None has fallen except in four or five instances 
during the past twenty years,and then only to the 
depth of a few inches. The surrounding mount- 
ains sometimes put on a snowy mantle for a few 
hours, but it soon disappears. The smaller val- 
leys being shut out from the sea breeze are hotter 
and colder than Napa valley. 

Products. — The products of this township are 
varied, extending to everything that can be 
grown in a genial and semi-tropic climate. 
Fruits and vines thrive in Brown's valley; cereals 
in tlie lieart of Napa valley in the southern por- 
tion of the township; vines, small fruits and cere- 
als in the mountains and mountain valleys, while 
vegetables grow everywhere. 

Timber.— This chajyter will be very short for 
there is no native timber left in this township 
and none at all except what has been planted 
thait is of any value. 

Early settlement.— To Don Cayetano Juarez 
belongs the honor of being the first settler in 



NAPA COUNTY. 127 

Napa Township, coming in as early as 1840, He 
had stock in the vicinity as early as 1837, but his 
family resided in Sonoma whither he went of 
nights. In 1840 he built the small adobe house 
still to be seen standing on the road near the asy- 
lum. Here he resided continuously, enjoying the 
fruits of a well spent life. He raised a large fam- 
ily of children. 

The next settler was Nicolas Higuerra, who 
came in and located permanently in 1840. He 
had a wicker house, on which was plastered a 
thick coat of mud, giving it the appearance of an 
adobe house at a distance. It was thatched with 
tule and grass,and was a small structure not more 
than twenty feet square. It was located on what 
is known at the Patchett place not a great dis- 
tance from the Calistoga avenue bridge. In 1847 
he constructed an adobe house to the westward 
of Napa City, which is still standing. But little 
concerning this old pioneer is known, except he 
was a Mexican and had a family, two of his 
daughters being married to the Berryessa broth- 
ers. 

Don Salvador Vallejo came in very early and 
erected an adobe house at the Francas and at the 
''Big Eanch," as it is also called. Both of these 
houses are yet in existence, the one at Francas 
is used as a residence. The one at the 
'■Big Ranch," now the property of G. Barth, is a 
very large one indeed, being about forty feet wide 
and nearly one hundred feet long and two stories 
high. It is now fast going to ruin and at a few 
years at most nothing will be left to mark the 
site but a mound of decaying debris. And so the 
old landmarks are passing away and the links 
which bind the present or American regime to 
the Spanish-Mexican or past, are disappeai'ing 



128 NAPA COUNTY. 

one by one, and will be but matters of legend and 
history. 

It is not known who w^as the first Ameriean- 
born settler in this township and it is not until 
1848 we can learn of any permanent settlers. 

In 1848, the following persons were in the 
township: John Trubody, George N. Cornwell, 
Harrison Pierce, Ealph Kilburn, William H. 
Nash, William Eussell, J. P. Thompson, John 
Custer, John Adams; in 1849, Peter D. Bailey, T. 
G. Burton; in 1850, Dr. W. W. Stillwagon, Thom- 
as Earl, P. D. Grigsby, T. F. Raney, H. N. Arms- 
bury, E. G. Young, Jesse Grigsby; in 1851, J. If. 
Rowland; in 1852, W. S. Jacks, A. W. Norton, 
John M. Davis, John T. Smith; in 1853, W. A. 
Elgin, J. G. Randall, B. Little, William Middle- 
ton, Charles Robinson, C. H. Allen, H. Goodrich, 
H. A. Pellet, W. A. Fisher; in 1854, Robert Miller, 
John W^atson, and in 1855 Wm. E. Anderson. Of 
course there were many others whose names have 
been forgotten by our informant, then there are 
others whose names will be found mentioned else- 
where in this work. 

NAPA CITY. 

To the visitor at Napa City to-day the state- 
ment that only one-half of a centurj^ ago the site 
of the now beautiful city was nothing but a wild- 
erness inhabited by none save the prowling beast 
of prey and the no more to be wished-for Indian 
is hardly credible; that length of time takes us 
back to 1848— the year in which the first house 
was built. Previous to this the site of the city 
was a field of wild oats. The original town site 
was planted in beans in 1847, the first touch of 
civilization that was felt by Napa. What a con- 
trast to the scene presented this evening. It is 
Wednesday and the weekly concert by the brass 



NAPA COUNTY. 129 

band is in progress. The beautiful court bouse 
yard, or rather square, is brilliantly lighted up 
by electricity. Hundreds of elegant carriages are 
standing around the square, in some of which are 
seated the occupants enjoying the music, while 
the square in the vicinity of the band-stand is a 
solid mass of citizens, but principally women and 
children, handsome, well dressed in bright sum- 
mer fabrics, while intelligence sits enthroaesl 
upon their smiling faces, the cool breezes from 
the sea fan the summer air, while the bright 
moon floods the whole with her silvery light. We 
ask, what could afford a greater contrast: civiliza- 
tion, Christianity and soap. 

In 1847 there was not a house in the county ex- 
cept a few adobes, occupied by Mexicans and a 
few hardy American pioneers, such as George C. 
Yount and Julian Pope, who had penetrated the 
mountain fastness which lay between the Missis- 
sippi river and the Pacific ocean and were glad to 
find a resting place from their journeyings in the 
sweet valleys of this quiet section. 

There was not a store, hotel, saloon, church, or 
school within the limits of the county. There 
were neither roads, bridges nor fences. There 
were no buildings except two adobe houses, one 
occupied by Nicolas Higuerra, and situated not 
far from the present Calistoga avenue bridge, and 
the other the residence of Don Cayetano Juarez 
on the Tulucay rancho. The former has disap- 
peared, while the latter remains as a tie binding 
the present to the far away past. The first vessel 
to arrive was General Sutter's schooner whicli in 
1844 sailed up to the Embarcadero de Napa for 
lime which he had purchased of Nicolas Hig- 
uerra. 

William Baldridge and others came to Napa 



130 NAPA COUNTY. 

valley from Sutter's Fort at that time on board 
the schooner. 

The first mention of what is now Napa City in 
a newspaper was made in an article in the Cali- 
fornian, then under the management of Brannau 
& Kimble, in 1848, in which it is stated that the 
ship "Malek Adhel" had passed up the Napa 
river, and found plenty of water to a certain point, 
and beyond that was the ''Embarcadero de Napa." 
Early in May, 1848, the first building was erected, 
which formed the nucleus around which the fjres- 
ent city has grown; it was a saloon 18x24 feet and 
built by Harrison Pierce. The building is still 
standing, in good condition near the river on the 
south side of Third street, and in the same en- 
closure with the "Shade House." The lumber for 
this building was sawed by Kalph Kilburn, Har- 
rison Pierce and William H. Nash at Bale & Kil- 
burn's mill two miles above St. Helena, and was 
hauled to Napa by William H. Nash. Six build- 
ings were framed the previous winter at this mill 
and shipped to Benicia and San Francisco. The 
town site was surveyed and laid out by Hon. Na- 
than Coombs in the spring of 1848, and the origin- 
al limits of the town only included the land lying 
between Brown street and the river and extend- 
ed six hundred yards from Napa creek to the 
steamboat landing. Captain John Grigsby and 
Nathan Coombs did the carpenter work on the 
new adobe house of Nicolas Higuerra, and took 
this tract of land for their work. Shortly after- 
wards Capt. Crigsby disposed of his interest to 
Nathan Coombs. They had a bond for a deed 
from FTigiierra, but when the final papers were 
made out Mr. Coombs purchased the additional 
tract known for several years as the commons. 

Since then several additioiis have been made 
to the town plot by various owners of land ad- 



NAPA COUNTY. 131 

joining it, among whom are Thompson, Briggs & 
Kussell, Hill, Hartson, Cornwall and Lawley. The 
the town was formerly divided into sections 
known as "Napa Alta" or Upper Napa, 
and "Napa Abajo," or Lower Napa. The 
latter consisted of Thompson's addition of 
over one hundred acres. The embarca- 

dero or landing was at the head of navigation, 
and the ford just above it determined the location 
of the town. There being no bridges in those 
days, the ford was a place of much importance, 
probably much more than the embarcadero. 

When Pierce came to erect his building, he got 
bewildered amid the forest of newly planted sur- 
veyor's stakes, and placed the structure in the 
middle of Main street. The effects of what the 
building was destined to contain, certainly seem- 
ed to have impressed themselves upon the projec- 
tor very forcibly, or he may have had a stock 
stored away under the wide spreading branches 
of a neighboring tree, and took occasion to visit 
it quite frequently to see if it was all there except 
the quantity which he himself imbibed, but be 
that as it may, the building was discovered to be 
in the middle of the street by Nicolas Higuerra 
and the proprietor, after the building had pro- 
gressed nearly to completion, the rafters only re- 
maining to be put on. It was then moved to its 
present site. 

During that year, 1848, Mr. John Trubody 
mowed almost the entire townsite which was cov- 
ered with a rank growth of wild oats, and sold 
the ]iay to the government. On the 6th of May 
gold was discovered, and by the time the Pioneer 
building was completed the news had reached the 
residents of this valley and on the 20th of the 
month a party comprising Harrison Pierce, Will- 
iam H. Nash, Ralph Kilburr, John Ivelley, 



132 NAPA COUNTY. 

Frank Kellogg, William McDonald, Hiram 
Acres and Benjamin Dewell, together with 
an old Indian, Guadalupe and his wife, 
who had been brought from Mexico by 
William Gordon and Julian Pope, left Napa fur 
the newly discovered gold fields, thus being about 
the first to arrive there. It will be thus seen that 
the newly contracted edifice was deserted even 
before it had been initiated into the mysteries of 
a saloon. 

Pierce remained in the mines during the sum- 
mer season, and that fall returned to Napa, to 
find his building just as he had left it, and he put 
in a stock of liquors and opened the "Empire Sa- 
loon," a place well remembered by all old pio- 
neers. The following summer it afforded accom- 
modations in the shape of lodgings, "square 
meals" of beef, hard bread and coffee at one dol- 
lar each. The first election in Napa was held in 
this building in 1849. It was subsequently oc- 
cupied for various purposes. E. T. Montgomery 
using it one time for a dwelling house. The old 
sign "Empire Saloon," was still visible in 1857. 

In 1849 a rude bridge was built across Napa 
creek, near the line of Brown street, which fell 
in the autumn of 1851, under the weight of a load 
of wheat belonging to J. W. Osborne, killing two 
horses. Another in its place was carried away 
by a freshet in the winter of 1852-3 and the drift 
and debris lodging against the trees, threw back 
the waters and flooded the town. Another bridge 
was thrown across the creek at First street the 
same year; as stated, there was a ford just 
above the head of navigation. There was a 
ford also near the foot of Second street, which 
was only passable at low tide. At high tide men 
swam their horses across. In the fall and winter 
of 1848-9 a ferry was established by William Bus- 



NAPA COUNTY. 133 

sell and a partner, at a point between Second and 
Third streets. In 1851, a toll bridge was built 
across the river just above the Vernon Mills, by 
J. B. Howell, who obtained a franchise from the 
Court of Sessions for the same. 

During the fall of 1848, and the following win- 
ter, other buildings, small temporary structures, 
half canvas, half redwood "shakes," were erect- 
ed. The first store was opened in 1848 by J. P. 
Thompson, in a building at the foot of Main street 
on the site of the Star warehouse. The next store 
was located on the tongue of land lying at the 
juncture of the river and the creek, and between 
the two streams, on the present site of China- 
town. In 1849, Messrs. Vallejo and Frisbie (Gen- 
eral Mariano Guadalupe Vallejo and General 
John C. Frisbie) had three stores; one in Napa, 
one in Benicia and one at Sonoma, in which 
George N. Cornwell was also interested, and had 
charge of the one in Napa, which was the store 
mentioned as being situated on the point between 
iNapa river and Napa creek. 

In the winter of 1848-9 there was another rash 
to the mines and nearly all the male i)opulation 
of the community proceeded to the "diggins"' to 
seek a fortune. Messrs. Cornwell and Thompson 
remained in charge of their respective stores, and 
a few old men who did not care to brave the hard- 
ships of a miner's life. 

Some idea of the fabulous prices which com- 
modities commanded at that time may be had 
when we state that lumber at the Capt. Stephen 
Smith mill at Bodega was worth |300 per thous- 
and. The freight to Sonoma was |80 per M. and 
it was brought thence by vessel at quite an addi- 
tional cost. Mr. Cornwell paid John Wooden in 
1849 |100 each for two stringers for a bridge, each 
sixty feet long. In that same year he fenced for- 



134 NAPA COUNTY. 

ty acres of barley, which was then growing on 
what is now known as "Cornw^alPs addition,'' 
with rails that cost him one dollar each. He paid 
|400 for threshing the barley in Mexican style, 
$400 for a fanning mill and |125 each for old 
fashioned cradles. He did well, however, by the 
venture, as he raised seventy bushels per acre 
and sold it at fifteen dollars per cental. The next 
store was erected by Capt. Brackett and E. L. Kil- 
burn, which was located on Main street, below 
the American Hotel, and will be remembered as 
the office of the Reporter in 1856, then published 
by Messrs. Montgomeiy & Cox. Within the next 
few years several other buildings were erected 
for business purposes, among them w^as Messrs. 
Hart & McGarry's on Main street, near the site 
of Messrs. Goodman's Bank. This structure was 
erected by Archibald Jesse, and was originally 
used as a dwelling. Jacob Higgins built a store 
on the southwest corner of Brown and First 
streets, now forming a part of the German Music 
Hall. On the northwest corner was the store 
owned and kept by J. Mount, and another sub- 
sequently by Angus Boggs, and afterwards by J. 
H. Howland. There was a dwelling house on 
Main street, which was used subsequently for 
mercantile purposes. 

There were two other stores on Main street, one 
on the southwest corner of Main and Second 
streets, and another on the northwest corner of 
the same stre<4s, occupied by Messrs. Penwell & 
Walker. The McCoombs building, on the north- 
west corner of Main and First streets, was occu- 
pied by 11. M. Hill, as a meat market, and for sev- 
eral years subsequently as a saloon. On the 
southeast corner was a blacksmith shop, presided 
over by Mr. Guthrie. Excepting a few buildings 
on Coombs street, there were but few dwellings 
previous to 1854, except mere shanties. 



NAPA COUNTY. 1S5 

The first of any considerable size or pretensions 
was the dwelling of Major John H. Seawell, 
which has since been remodeled, and is now one 
of the buildings connected with the Napa Ladies' 
Seminary. South of this street all was an open 
common, with here and there a shanty, down as 
far as Col. W. S. Jack's place on Jack's Point. 
The first warehouse was erected on the south side 
of First street, at the then steamboat landing, 
but it was carried away by the flood of the follow- 
ing winter. Another warehouse was put ujj in 
1850 by John Trubody, near the foot of Main 
street, on what is known as Short street, and di- 
rectly on the river's bank. This building was oc- 
cupied successively as a warehouse, store, saloon, 
jjostofiice, church,Magistrate's office and boarding 
house, and was still standing in 1871 as a relic 
and a remembrance of the early days. Another 
warehouse was erected by Angus L. Boggs in the 
spring of 1851, a block north on the same street. 

In consequence of the enormous price of labor 
and lumber in those early days, buildings already 
framed were often shipped to California, and 
some of these are still standing in Napa City. 
Three of them united formed Gregg & Seawall's 
store and now constitute the German Hotel, on 
the corner of Brown and First streets. The stone 
building so long occupied by Messrs. A. J. Easter- 
by Co., and the store opposite to it, which was de- 
stroyed by fire many years since, a portion of the 
old court house, the Napa Stable, the first build- 
ing erectied at Oak Knoll, a small store erected 
for Lawrence & Kimball and the building so long 
occupied by Mr. George N. Cornwell as a resi- 
dence on First street, were among these import- 
ed buildings. 

In 1851, the bark "Josephine," which had been 
in Moorehead's expedition to Gila, was purchased 



136 NAPA COUNTY. 

by George N. Cornwell, and Captain Chadwick 
sailed it up the Napa river to the embarcadeco for 
the modest sum of (?) one hundred dollars. The 
new proprietor proceeded to dismantle her, and 
house her over. She was then anchored to the 
bank of the river near the point of confluence 
with the creek, east of First street bridge, and for 
several years used as a wharf boat and storeship. 
She was ultimately sold to William A. Fisher, 
who used her for the same purpose. 

The population of Napa in those early days 
would have afforded a grand field for 
the student of human nature, as it was 
made up of a motley collection of sam- 
j)les of all nations under the sun. The 
new England Yankee elbowed the "Sydney 
duck," and the Chinaman and Nigger stood cheek 
by jowl with the Digger Indian. Napa was a 
favorite resort for miners in the winter, whether 
they were "flush" or "dead broke." The chief 
places of business were the saloons, and gold dust 
was the medium of exchange and gold scales 
stood upon every counter. Very little United 
States coin was in circulation, and as late as 1856 
the medium of exchange was either gold dust, for- 
eign coin, or a substitute for coin issued by the 
assay office of Kellogg & Humbert in San Fran- 
cisco. They issued gold pieces of five dollars, ten 
dollars, twenty dollars and fifty dollars, which 
were of full weight and equal fineness to the gov- 
ernment standard. These were everywhere ac- 
cepted as legal coin. All old settlers will re- 
member the fifty dollar "slug" as it was called, 
which were so common in those days. The French 
franc and the English shilling passed freely for 
a quarter of a dollar and the five franc piece for 
one dollar. No change was used smaller than a 
"bit" or a ten cent piece, and they were not reck- 



NAPA COUNTY. 137 

oned to be of much consequence. The prices of 
everything, especially labor, were enormous. 
Money was the only thing that was plentiful. 
Alas, how things have changed since then! Gam- 
bling was the most fashionable pursuit, and men 
of all classes were engaged in it. San Francisco 
saw itself repeated on a smaller scale in this em- 
bryotic city. Fights were of hourly occurrence, 
and practical jokes of all sorts were the order of 
the day. A more rollicking and reckless set of 
men were never seen. There were neither 
churches nor schools, and practically there was 
no law, each man being "a law unto himself," and 
very few had settled habits. The mass of these 
men had no family ties to hold them in check, and 
there were no places of public resort excepting 
bar-rooms, saloons and gambling houses. "It is 
not strange," said one who had passed through 
the ordeal, "that very many of the early pioneers 
contracted ruinous habits, causing the premature 
death of many and a life-long regret to those that 
survived. They lived in a fever of excitement, 
careless of the morrow and determined to enjoy 
the present at all hazards to the full." 

With the organization of the county in 1S51 
came the necessity of erecting a Court House, 
which was built on the corner of Coombs and 
Second streets, and was a small two-story struct- 
ure. The present Court House plaza was occu- 
pied by Lawley & Lefferts as a lumber yard in 
1 855. Previous to that it had long been a vacant 
lot covered with tar weed. In November, 1849, 
Captain Turner G. Baxter and Dr. Bracket ar- 
rived in Napa City and the Captain immediately 
embarked in the saloon and grocery business, 
which he followed until the spring of 1850, when 
he erected the "Valley House" on the site now oc- 



138 NAPA COUNTY. 

cupied by David Hass' book store, which he cou- 
ducted for a short time. 

The American Hotel was erected in 1850 by Na- 
than Coombs, Lyman Chapman and Samuel Starr, 
and the Napa Hotel by James Harbin in 1851. 
Several lodging houses and restaurants had pre- 
viously been opened as appendages to saloons. 
In addition to the hotels mentioned above, there 
were in 1854, a blacksmith shop on First street, 
near the corner of Main; a butcher shop on the 
corner kept by E. M. Hill, a restaurant just be- 
low, kept by H. Sanderson; a saloon just below it 
kept by J. M. Dudley, and a store kept by J, C. 
Penwell and A. B. Walker, on the present site of 
the Bank of Napa. On the east side of Main 
street were Charles Hoit's store, the= Shade House, 
and a few temporary buildings, mostly occupied 
as saloons and restaurants. Archibald Jesse 
built a dwelling, afterwards used by Messrs.Hunt 
& McGregor as a store. The building stood upon 
the present site of the Goodman & Co. Bank. 

Mr. George N. Cornwell, who came to Napa in 
1848, gives the following statement concerning 
what was here when he came, and the progress 
of the city for a year or two afterwards: "In 1847 
Nicolas Iliguerra erected a new adobe house, and 
Nathan Coombs and Capt. John Grigsby took the 
contract of making and putting on the shingles 
for which they received the tract of land which 
comprised the original town site. In the fall of 
that year, the services of Mr. James H. Hudsijeth, 
now of Green Valley, Sonoma county, wi-re 
brought into requisition, and the town plat was 
surveyed. The first building was a store erected 
by Southard & Sweezy, and it was located on the 
bank of the river, just in rear of Uncle Sam's wine 
cellar and vinegar house. This is tiie building 
spoken of above as being built by Harrison 



NAPA COUNTY. 13» 

Pierce, in fact Pierce had the house built but 
Southard & Sweezy did the work. 

The second building was also a store built by 
J. P. Thompson, and was located at the foot of 
Main street where the mill now stands. There was 
a building also where the "O. P. C." store now 
stands, on the corner of Main and Third streets. 
Archibald C. Jesse had a building on the corner 
of Second and Main streets, a little above where 
the Goodman Bank now stands, it was then used 
as a dwelling. A man by the name of Brown 
had a little building, now occupied as a saloon, 
on the northeast corner of Second and Main 
streets. All of these buildings were here 
in the fall of 1848. The next building 
was the Vallejo & Frisbie store, at the junction of 
the creek and river. Ralph Kilburn also con- 
structed a dwelling in the fall of 1848. There 
was a little saloon on the corner of Main and Sec- 
ond streets, on the site of the Bank of Napa, 
which was kept by two brothers by the name of 
Johnson. Either in the fall of 1848 or the spring 
of 1849, the McCoombs building was erected on 
the corner of First . and Main streets on 
the site of Alden & Co.'s store. The principal event 
of those days of pioneer life was the lynching of 
Hugh McCaully, an account of which will be 
found in the chapter on homicides. 

In 1850, N. McKimmey, afterwards sheriff of 
Napa county, had a ferryboat near the foot of 
Second street. Mr. Thomas Earl, who came in 
that year estimates the number of inhabitants at 
fifty, and the buildings at one dozen. The Napa 
House was then conducted by Frank Juarez. Mr. 
Earl was the first saddler in the place, and 
Charles Allen the first tinner. What is known as 
the "Lawley Addition," was purchased by Matt 
Harbin from Nicolas Higuerra, and in 1853 xMr. 



140 NAPA COUNTY. 

P^arl bought it from him and subsequently sold it 
to Mr. Lawley. A. W. Norton had a blacksmith 
shop in the place at that time. 

In the spring of 1855, the first brick building of 
any character was erected by John S. Robinson, 
and was a small dwelling house located in the 
western part of town, then really outside the city 
limits. Shortly after this Thomas Earl and Will- 
iam H. James united forces, and purchased brick 
in Sacramento and erected the first brick building 
in Napa for business purposes. ^Ir. Earl pur- 
chased the brick in Sacramento and they were 
shipped to Napa on board the schooner "Susan 
Owens." The building was located on the south- 
west corner of jNIain and First streets, where it 
still stands. Shortly afterwards, A. W. Norton 
erected a brick blacksmith shop; and the "Revere 
House," the second Court House, as well as some 
other business houses built in 1856, were all of 
brick. 

From 1849 to 1854 the population of the town 
increased very rapidly. During the latter year the 
place could boast of about four hundred people. 
As a matter of course, the business interests in- 
creased proportionately, and in all about forty 
buildings graced the town site with their pres- 
ence. 

In 1855 the first school house was erected and 
the first church built, the Presbyterian church 
being completed that year. The banks of the riv- 
er were covered with a dense growth of willows 
and alders. Tlie Indians at this time were about 
as numerous as the white people. 

J. P. Thompson laid out that portion of Napa 
city known as "Napa Abajo," in 1853. 

As late as 1856 very little effort had been made 
to improve the streets or highways, and both were 
almost impassable in the rainy season. There 



NAPA COUNTY. 141 

were only two places ou Main street where a per- 
son on foot could cross, one opposite the Ameri- 
can Hotel and the other nearly opposite the Napa 
House. The crossings were made with bundl3s 
of straw, thrown into the mud until the bottom 
was found. Woe unto the unlucky wight who 
got belated, and had too much tanglefoot aboard, 
for a single misstep would send him into the mud 
up to his waist, to flounder out as best he could. 
The streets in wet weather resembled mud canals 
rather than thoroughfares for men and horses. 
In the summer season they dried up and became 
solid enough, but were full of undulations, which 
to say the least, were not very gentle or regular 
in their formation. Owing to the traveling of 
heavy teams over them they soon became cut into 
great ruts, and canopied with intolerable clouds 
of dust through which people floundered over a 
strange mosaic of rubbish, cast off clothing, emp- 
ty bottles and sardine boxes. These were the 
days in which every man wore heavy boots, into 
the tops of which his pants were snugly stuffed. 
In the winter season these great boots were cover- 
ed with mud up to the very tops of them, while in 
the summer the w^earer floundered as helplessly in 
clouds of dust. Everybody laughed at these an- 
noyances, knowing that they were common to all 
and the usual concomitants of a new settlement 
in a wild and unoccupied country. 

On the fourth day of July, 1856, the first news- 
paper ever published in Napa City or Napa coun- 
ty made its appearance. It was a small sheet, 
under the proprietorship and editorial control of 
A. J. Cox, and it was named "Reporter." Eobert 
T. Montgomery was its first subscriber and did 
much in after years to shape and control its des- 
tinies. 

1856— Unfortunately, the Reporter was pub- 



V 



142 NAPA COUNTY. 

lished in those days tri-weekly, that is, thej pub- 
lished it one week and tried for another week to 
get it out again-while some explain that tri-week- 
ly means every three weeks, but be that as it may, 
the newspaper is a valuable index to the state of 
affairs in any community. There are extremely 
few "tri- weeklies,"' in that sense of the word, in a 
bright wide-awake, up to date business commu- 
nity. As a rule the newspaper is generally in ad- 
\ ance of all other enterprises in the process of ev- 
olution. The first bound number of this paper 
extant, is dated November 23, 1856, and is Vol- 
ume 1, No. 19 of the issue. 

To give an idea of the business interests of 
the place at that time below find a list of the ad- 
vertisers of that issue: 

L. J. Walker & Co., drugs, etc.; J. M. Dudley 
commission merchant and agent for Wells 
Fargo & Co.'s Express; — Eaton, M. D.; Earl & 
Parks, saddles and harness; Lawley & Leffertj 
general merchants; N. Lawrence and J. Butter 
field, general merchants; Gilmore & Taylor, Naps 
Hotel; A. Wegl & Co. (Yellow House), merchants 
Schultze & Co., Napa City Mills; Haller & Dorr 
furniture; B. Gims & Co., successors to A. L 
Boggs, warehouse and storage; John Strickland 
master of fast sailing sloop "Kiturah," plying b> 
tween Napa City and San Francisco; American 
Hotel, by Thomas Alker and Philip Hunsinger 
J. W. Smith, attorney at law and notary public 
for Napa County; S. B. Uncles, M. D.; L. Bruck 
notary public; -Tohnson Howell, attorney at lav 
Henry Edgerton, attorney at law and district at 
torney for Napa county; Robert R. Pierpont, at 
toruey at law; W. W. Stillwagon, M. D.; W. E 
Taylor, superintendent of schools; A. C. Latson 
brick for sale; Patrick O'Brien, tailor; H. San 
derson, restaurant; The elegant and fast steamer 



NAPA COUNTY. 143 

Guadalupe; Capt. P. F. Doling, having newly re- 
fitted, will leave Pacific sti'eet wharf, in San Fran- 
cisco for Napa and way places, on Tuesdays, 
Thursdays and Saturdays. 

MARKETS. 

The following prices current will show that the 
cost of many things in 185G were much in excess 
of the present rates: Flour, |9; wheat, $2 to 
12.30; barley, |2.18; oats, |2.20; sweet potatoes, 
3 1-2 cents per pound; onions, 6 cents; butter 50 
cents; eggs, 60 cents; chickens, |7 per doz.; corn, 
12.25; hay, |20; hams, 28 cents; coffee, 17 cents; 
sugar, 17 cents; rice, 16 cents; lard, 27 cents; syr- 
up, 11.25; dried apples, 16 cents; dried peaches, 
40 cents; bacon, 12 1-2 cents; mess pork, 25 cents; 
lumber, |40; shingles, |7.50 per M. 

1857— New Year's Day— The following descrip- 
tion of this occasion is taken from the Reporter, 
and the introduction is characteristic of the times 
in which it was written; Another year has rolled 
around, and every animate being is one year old- 
er than twelve months ago— a natural conclusion. 
All we have to say of 1856 is, good bye, old Mug- 
gins! many a hard tussle we have had together. 
You are defunct now, good bye, old Mug! On New 
Year's day in Napa, everybody became convivial, 
even Joseph D. and Captain V. P. hugged each 
other in the manner in which Damon and Pythias 
are supposed to have done. The first day of Jan- 
uary passed most pleasantly in Napa, for the peo- 
ple in this place are proverbially distinguished 
for sobriety (in a horn as big as that of Plenty). 
Mr. Fuller gave a ball on Thursday night, and 
Messrs. Baxter, Wolfe and "Uncle Tommy" and 
others, did the good thing, and everybody wished 
everybody a Happy New Year, long life, etc. We 
were in luck that day. A good looking young 



144 NAPA COUNTY. 

woman condescended to say: "I wish the printer 
much happiness." We touched our hat, and re- 
treated under a shower of egg-nog. Such was 
the day in Napa. 

TRIAL OF NED McGOWAN. 

One of the most interesting events of 1857 was 
the trial of the then famous Ned McGowan. 

All the old settlers of California will well re- 
member what a great excitement there was over 
the attempted capture of Ned McGowan, by a 
vigilance committee in San Francisco. In the 
course of time, after being hunted like a wild 
beast from house to tule, and from tule marshes 
to mountain fastnesses, receiving shelter and 
food at long intervals at the hands of God's min- 
istering angels — women, who let no man starve, 
no matter what his crimes might be — he came 
back to the city and demanded a trial at the bar 
of Justice. This was granted him, and on the 
29th day of May, 1857, his trial began in Napa 
City, with the following gentlemen on the jury: 
David Hudson, P. D. Bailey, R. C. Gilaspie, 
Charles McBride, George Ware, Thomas Twist, 
Ralph L. Kilburn, Harrison Hornback, and 
Charles Stillman. The jury was out only ten min- 
utes, when a verdict of not guilty was rendered. 

NAPA GUARDS. 

The first election of this military company oc- 
curred November 23, 1857, and resulted in the 
election of the following officers: Captain, F. S. 
Vaslit; first lieutenant J. Bell; second lieutenant 
A. J. Cox; third lieutenant, T. Moyer; surgeou, 
W. W. Stillwagon; quartermaster, J. Darnies; 
orderly sergeant, G. Dennison; second sergeant, 
C. H. Clark; third sergeant, G. Crawford; fourth 
sergeant, A. Raymond. 



NAPA COUNTY. 145 

I860— The Stone Bridge.— The stone bridge 
across Napa Iliver on First street was con- 
structed by Murphy. This bridge fell in 

during the flood of January, 1881, and a fine truss 
structure now spans the stream in its place. 

1861- — Good Templars. — Franklin Lodge, No. 
86, of this order, was in existence at this time, 
and the following officers were elected, April 1st, 
1861; Samuel Heald, W. C. T.; J. M. Hamilton, 
W. V. T.; J. Van Doren, W. S.; Miss L. A. Willett, 
W. T.; Martha C. Heald, W. F. S.; George W. F. 
Carter, W. M.; Rev. P. V. Veeder, W. Ch.; D. B. 
Magee, W. I. G.; R. T. Montgomery, W. O. G. 

1862 — Academy for Boys. — Rev. P. V. Veeder 
opened an academy for boys in March of this 
year. 

1863. — The Napa Register was launched upon 
the sea of journalism August 10th, of this year. 
It was a five column folio. Republican in politics^ 
and under the management and proprietorship 
of J. I. Howell. 

Hanging of Charles Brittian. — This execution 
was the crowning event of the year from a sensa- 
tional point of view. The drop fell at twenty min- 
utes past three, p. m., August 7th. The convict 
manifested the utmost indifference to his fate to 
the last moment, and obstinately refused all coun- 
sel from the priest who visited him. This was the 
first execution in Napa county. 

Sanitary and Soldiers' Relief. — During the war 
of the rebellion, quite an amount was raised in 
various ways in aid of the above-named objects. 
On Christmas eve., 1864, a fair and festival was 
held in Napa for the benefit of the former, which 
netted $516 in gold, equal to |700 in greenbacks, 
at that time. For the latter there was raised 
|100, equal to |140 in greenbacks. The Society 
also shipped at this time four boxes of goods for 



146 NAPA COUNTY. 

the Soldiers' Relief, and one for the Sanitary^ 
Commission. 

1864 — Napa Guard. — The annual election of 
officers for this organization in January, 1864, re- 
sulted as follows: Captain, E. S. Cheseboro; first 
lieutenant, Jacob Blumer; second lieutenant, E, 
Kimball; second brevet lieutenant, L. B. Kester; 
orderly sergeant, J. G. Norton; second sergeant, 
August Miller; third sergeant, Joseph Elliot; 

fourth sergeant, Imrie; fifth sergeant, D. 

Fairfield; first corporal, C. B. Walker; second 
corporal, T. J. Dewoody; third corporal, W. R. 
Cooper; fourth corporal, Oscar Steinback; treas- 
urer, E. S. Cheseboro; investigating committee, 
E. S. Cheseboro, J.Dukes, R. J. VanDoren,E. Kim- 
ball and E. S. Smith; auditing committee, W. R. 
Cooper, T. J. Dewoody and W. C. S. Smith; music 
committee, E. Kimball, J. Haskins, and M. Dorr. 

Artillery Company. — In 1864 Napa City boast- 
ed the only artillery company outside of San 
Francisco, in California. 

Napa City— A Reminiscence. — The following 
resume of Napa, as it appeared in 1854, was pub- 
lished in the Register of Feb. 27, 1864: "This 
town, by some aspiring genius of earlj^ days, mis- 
named Napa City, has passed through great 
changes during the past ten years. This city, ten 
years ago, did not contain over forty buildings, 
all of wood and mostly of the most primitive and 
slovenly style of architecture. The streets were 
just as nature made them, excepting the contin- 
ually increasing upper stratum of old hats, 
boots, broken bottles, and sardine boxes contrib- 
uted by the pioneers of our civilization. Wheeled 
vehicles, excepting for the transportation of 
heavy freight, were rare, almost all the travel- 
ing being done on horseback. It was a common 
sight to see over one hundred horses tied to the 



NAPA COUNTY. I47 

fence on First street on Saturday or Sunday, 
waiting to take their owners home at nightfall. 
Occasionally some hombre would get oblivious 
and leave his Rosinante with nothing but red- 
wood rail diet for twenty-four hours together. 
Small as the place was, Napa was one of the busi- 
est places in the State. A vast quantity of goods 
were sold at high prices. The credit system was 
next to universal, and seemed to work well, for 
most men were not only willing, but able to pay. 
The country around produced abundant crops of 
wheat, which sold from three to four cents per 
pound, cattle were worth five times their present 
price, and the cost of raising them was nominal, 
as one-half of the county was devoted to stock 
ranges. About one-half the farmers were squat- 
ters on other people's land, and so had neither 
purchase money nor taxes to pay, hence it was no 
wonder that money was plentiful — most every- 
body had a pocket full of silver, or some other 
California coinage,which came easy and went still 
more so. The floating population was much more 
numerous than at present. Scores of young men 
engaged in various pursuits, crowded the ho- 
tels. Among them were chaps of every shade 
of character, but the spirit of merriment pervad- 
ed them all. All manner of Jokes were perpe- 
trated, and fun was the uppermost object of one- 
half the population. They bucked ye tiger, 
drank freely, worked hard, enjoyed themselves 
hugely, and were ready for any semi-innocent 
piece of devilment. There was more real amuse- 
ment in a week then than in a year now. There 
was, at one time, in full blast, a lyceum, a read- 
ing room, a theatre, well attended, a company of 
minstrels, a band of music, an agricultural so- 
ciety, and a jockey club. Our streets were path- 
less in wet weather, but we floundered through 



14S NAPA COUNTY. 

them cheerfully, caring very little for mud. or, 
indeed, for anything else except present enjoy- 
ment. Digger Indians of both sexes used to sun 
themselves at the street corners by the score, in 
all the dignity of dirt and drunkenness. Churches 
we had none; schools only semi-occasionally. 
The Court House was but a wooden shanty, and 
we relied on other counties for jails." 

Earthquake. — Several shocks of earthquake 
have been felt at Napa, among the heaviest of 
which was that on the 12th of March, 1864. 

Freedman's Aid Fund. — The People of Napa 
City have always sustained a reputation for gen- 
erosity and liberality. No worthy charitable ob- 
ject was ever presented to their consideration, 
and allowed to be disappointed by a refusal to 
assist in such charity. May 28, 1864, a subscrip- 
tion of one hundred and forty dollars was raised 
at the Methodist Church in aid of the Freedman's 
Aid Fund. 

Contributions to the Christian Commission. — 
Asa further proof that the assertion made in 
the last paragraph is true, we have it to record, 
and with pleasure do we do it, that the total con- 
tributions to this most worthy object amounted 
to three thousand dollars on the 9th day of July, 
1864. George Fellows subscribed two hundred 
dollars, and several other citizens of Napa did as 
well. It will thus be seen that the fire of patriot- 
ism was burning brightly in the bosom of this 
people at the hour of the Nation's direst need. 

1867 — Gas. — Permission was given William 
Smith and others. May 11th of this year, to lay 
gas pipes in the streets of Napa. Nothing further 
was done about this matter until about De- 
cember 14th, when the Board of Supervisors is- 
sued an order locating the street lamps of Napa 
City as follows: One at each stone bridge, corner 



NAPA COUNTY. 149 

of Main and First streets, corner of First and 
Brown streets, corner of First and Randolph 
streets, corner of First and Coombs streets, corner 
of Second and Main streets, corner of Third and 
Main streets, corner of Third and Randolph 
streets, corner of the Methodist Church and Ran- 
dolph street. The gas company was to receive 
|9.00 per month each for supplying the lamps. 

1868. — Napa City as It was Then. — Under date 
of January 11th, of this year, the Register has the 
following: To say that Napa, one of the few promi- 
nent towns in the State that have from the first 
maintained a progressive and healthful growth, 
will be repeating a fact which is already known. 
Our citizens have felt a just pride in the usually 
thrifty appearance of the town, and of late have 
given another substantial proof of their enter- 
prise, by the introduction of gasworks, and liber- 
ally patronizing the enterprise. The stranger 
coming into our town after dark now finds a gen- 
erous gas lamp at nearly every corner, and one 
can hardly believe, though having witnessed the 
transformation, that the Napa of to-day, with its 
excellent and fine schools, churches and public 
buildings, its streets and shops lighted with gas, 
and its railroad facilities, to be the same hamlet 
of a half-dozen years ago. But because we have 
far advanced in modern improvements, and have 
outstripped some of our neighbors, we must not 
be idle while more remains to be done. Particu- 
larly what Napa now requires is some kind of a 
local government, some practical and economical 
plan that will answer all the purposes of incor- 
poration, without entailing the usual expenses of 
such. The population is becoming numerous 
enough to warrant this, and some system of street 
improvement is needed, that can be reached 
through a local government. Streets and side- 



150 NAPA COUNTY. 

walks are now allowed to become an abomination, 
because there is no help for it, but if property 
holders were compelled to improve their prem- 
ises as the same should be, the value of the prop- 
erty would be increased to such an extent as to 
more than balance the extra taxes.'* 

Incorporation. — Evidently the above article 
had the desired effect and set the ball in motion 
for incorporation in fine shape, for under the date 
of February 29th we find the following: "Several 
meetings have been held for the purpose of in- 
corporating the town of Napa, but for some cause 
no acceptable plan was hit upon. At one of these 
meetings there was a committee of three ap- 
pointed to draft a charter, but they could not 
agree, and the result was, that there were three 
reports brought in, one by each member of the 
committee. Some are in favor of incorporation 
under the general law, and others under a special 
act of the Legislature." 

1869 — Smallpox Epidemic. — Early in this year 
the smallpox broke out in "Spanishtown," in a 
virulent form, and had quite an extensive run. 
A sanitary committee was appointed, who took 
charge of the matter, and on the 20th of March 
made the following report: 

"To the Citizens of Napa: Your committee re- 
spectfully report that they have discharged the 
duties assigned them in such a manner as they 
trust will meet your approval. The total number 
of cases of smallpox in the county was 60, as fol- 
lows: 

Cases. Died. 

In Spanishtown, whites 6 1 

In Spanishtown, Spanish 46 7 

In Spanishtown, Indians 1 1 

In the Redwoods, whites 6 2 

In the hills east of town, Spanish. .^ ^ 

Total 60 11 



NAPA COUNTY. 



151 



"The total disbursements by the committee to 
date amount to |7,681.04. Bills yet to be paid 
will raise the sum in round numbers to |9,000.00." 

The following is the financial statement of the 
attending physician, Dr. W. W. Stillwagon: 



NAPA COUNTY. 



Dr. 

To cash paid for Sun- 
dries in Hospital. ... I213 oo 
To cash paid for Nurses 303 00 
To Medical Services.. . 1500 00 



Total $2016 00 



Cr. 

By cash from S mitary 

Committee I165 50 

By cash from Father 

De3'aert 5 00 

By cash from J. Mc- 

Kenzie 10 00 

By order General Fund, 

I922 EL 90 cents 829 00 

By order Indigent Fund 

(gold) 216 00 

By greenbacks, $216 at 

80 cents 172 80 

Balance 616 90 

Total |2oi6 00 



Actual amount received for services, |883.10. 

At a meeting of the citizens the following reso- 
lutions were unanimously passed: 

"Resolved, That, in the opinion of this meet- 
ing the above amount of |883.10 is inadequate 
remuneration for the invaluable services rend- 
ered the county by saving it from the dreadful 
scourge with which it has been threatened; 

"Resolved, therefore, That this meeting con- 
siders it inexpedient and illiberal to cut down the 
moderate charges of the physicians and nurses, to 
whose attention and skill this community is 
mainly indebted for its present immunity from 
disease. 

"Resolved, That the Board of Supervisors be 
respectfully requested to reconsider their action 
in the premises, and to pay the county indebted- 
ness to Dr. Stillwagon in full, he having been au- 
thorized by the Sanitary Committee at the urgent 



152 NAPA COUNTT. 

request of the citizens in mass meeting, to spare 
no expense in fighting the disease/*' 

1873. — The bridge across the river at Third 
street was completed this year at a cost of |9000. 
It is a draw-bridge, and a fine structure. 

Old Indian Graveyard. — In cutting the cross- 
ing of Franklin and Laurel streets, the workmen 
came upon the bones of over one hundred skele- 
tons, also a stone mortar, pestle, and other abor- 
iginal implements. The place had doubtless been 
a burial place of the aborigines. 

Records of Napa City. — The "Town of Napa 
City" was incorporated by a special act of the 
Legislature, approved March 23, 1872. From the 
minutes of the Board of Trustees we have com- 
piled the following: 

The first Board was composed of John Even, J. 
A. Jackson, T. F. Raney, Henry Fowler, and L. 
Bruck. The first meeting of the Board was held 
May 9th. The officers of the Board were: Chair- 
man, L. Bruck; Clerk, S. E. Smith, who was also 
Treasurer. 

May 10th, 1872, Trustee Raney introduced the 
following motion: "That the trustees of this 
corporation do not recognize the authority of any 
contracts made by the Board of Supervisors of 
Napa county for the supplying of gas for the town 
of Napa City after the organization of the corpor- 
ation." 

It will be remembered that the Board of Super- 
visors ordered street lamps to be erected at certain 
places, and that an order was also promulgated 
that the sum of nine dollars per month be paid 
to the gas company. The motion quoted above 
was the beginning of a war between the city 
and the gas company, which ultimately resulted 
in leaving the streets in darkness; and now the 
stranger arriving in the city after night is sur- 



NAPA COUNTY. 153 

I)rised to find a place of this size with gasworks 
within its limits, without a single light through- 
out its length and breadth. 

J. Even introduced the following motion May 
10th, 1872: "That the Board of Supervisors of 
Napa County be requested to turn over to this 
corporation the engine house, together with any 
other property paid for by the Napa City Im- 
provement funds." The Board of Supervisors 
complied with this request. 

The second Board of Trustees was composed 
of the same members as the first. The Chairman 
of the Board was T. F. Kaney; Clerk, J. C. Pier- 
son; Treasurer, C. Haller; City Marshal, Jesse 
Grigsby, and City Assessor, C. E. Comstock. 

. Sept. 29, 1873, a Babcock hook and ladder 
truck was purchased by the city, for which |950 
was paid. 

The city officers for 1874 were as follows : Trus- 
tees, George N. Cornwell, Z. W, Keyes, H. II. 
Knapp, Dr. W. W. Stillwagon, and C. H. Allen; 
Marshal, Thomas Earl; Clerk, John Kean; Chair- 
man of the Board, George N. Cornwell, and City 
Attorney, G. W. Towle. 

August 19, 1874, it was ordered by the Board 
that William P. Humphreys make a map and es- 
tablish grades for the streets of the town, and 
also establish a system of sewerage. The sum of 
|2,200 was the price agreed upon for this service. 

The officers were the same for 1875 as the year 
previous, except that S. E. Smith was Clerk and 
Treasurer. 

December 6th, 1875, the office of Chief of Police 
was filled by the vote of the Board, which result- 
ed in the choice of J. B. Walden. 

February 23d, 1876, J. C. Pierson was appoint- 
ed Clerk and Treasurer vice S. E. Smith, resigned. 

A law went into effect in 1876 by which three 



154 NAPA COUNTY. 

members of the old Board should hold over for 
one year. This was determined by lot, and C H. 
Allen, Geo. N. Cornwell, and Dr. W. W. Still- 
wagon were the ones chosen. 

The officers of the city for 1876 were : Trustees 
for the long term, Dr. Benjamin Shurtleff and T. 

F. Raney, and for the unexpired term of C. H. 
Allen, S. B. Wilson, and these, together with G. 
N. Cornwell and Dr. W. W. Stillwagon, formed 
the Board; Treasurer and Clerk, J. C. Pierson; 
Marshal and Assessor, Thomas Earl; Attorney, 
C. B. Towle; Chairman of the Board, Dr. Benja- 
min Shurtleff. 

For the celebration of the Centennial Anniver- 
sary of the United States, the Trustees appropri- 
ated the sum of |200. 

March 5, 1877, C. B. Seeley was appointed to 
the position of Clerk and Treasurer, and on the 
same date H. Fowler was appointed a member 
of the Board, vice G. N. Cornwell. 

The city officers for 1877 were: Trustees, (t. 
Barth, Jos. Henry, W. E. Cooper, Dr. Benj. Shurt- 
leff, and T. F. Raney; Chairman of the Board, Dr. 
Benj. Shurtleff; Marshal, W. H. Halliday; Clerk 
and Treasurer, J. N. Wallingford. 

The officers for 1878 were: Trustees, Dr. Benj. 
Shurtleff and J. H. Mallet, elected, and the hold- 
over members of the previous Board; Marshal, 
George Allen; Clerk and Treasurer, J. N. Wall- 
ingford; Attorney, G. W. Towle. 

The officers for 1879 were: Trustees — J. Henry, 
AV. R. Cooper, and Geo. Barth, elected; Marshal, 

G. W. Allen; Treasurer and Clerk, E. S. Gridley; 
Chairman of the Board, Dr. Shurtleff. 

The officers for 1880 were: Trustees — A. Samp- 
son and H. H. Knapp, elected; Marshal, G. W. 
Allen; Treasurer aud (Jlerk, J. N. Wallingford; 
Chairman of the Board, H. H. Knapp. 



NAPA COUNTY. 155 

The officers for 1881 were: Trustees — C. B. 
Seeley, Dr. E. Haun, and W. W. Thompson, 
elected; Treasurer and Clerk, T. F. Kaney. 

LEGISLATIVE ENACTMENTS. 

The following acts of the Legislature have ref- 
erence to Napa City, either specially or generally: 

Bridge Across the Napa Biver. — March 5, 1852, 
and act was passed to confirm the action of the 
Court of Sessions of Napa County in relation to 
granting a franchise to John B. Howell to erect 
and conduct a toll-bridge across the Napa River. 
We may state as a matter of history, that this 
bridge was subsequently purchased by the pri- 
vate contributions of the Napa people, and made 
a free bridge. Thomas Earl circulated the peti- 
tion, the late Hon. Nathan Coombs heading 
the list with |200. 

Wharf at Napa City.— March 9, 1857, a fran- 
chise was granted to Brice Grimes to construct 
a wharf at the foot of Fourth street, in Napa City, 
said franchise to continue for ten years from 
date. 

Animals at large in Napa City. — April 10, 
1862, the following Act was approved: From and 
after May 1st, 1862, it shall not be lawful for any 
horses, mules, cows or other horned cattle, goats 
or hogs, to run at large in the streets of Napa 
City. April 17, 1863, this act was so modified that 
any resident or householder in Napa City "may 
have and let run at large one cow, but he shall 
be responsible for all damage done by said cow." 

Napa City Improvements. — April 1st, 1864, the 
following Act was approved: The Board of 
Supervisors are hereby authorized and required 
at their next meeting, to levy a tax of half of one 
per cent on each |100 of the assessed value of all 
taxable property, both real and personal, in Napa 



156 NAPA COUNTY. 

City and all its additions, which money shall be 
under the control of the Board of Supervisors, for 
the purpose of constructing cisterns, for building 
a truck or engine house, for purchasing new hose 
for the engine, and for repairing the engine. The 
Board is authorized to construct one cistern in 
the Court House yard in Napa City, and pay for 
the same out of the County fund. 

January 24, 1870, an Act was passed as fol- 
lows: A sum not to exceed |2,500 shall be set 
aside by the Board of Supervisors, which shall 
be employed for the purpose of lighting the 
streets, and supplying the cisterns with water, 
and repairing the engine house. The Board may 
also establish the grade of the streets, and a sys- 
tem of drainage for Napa City. 

Incorporation of Napa City. — The Act incor- 
porating the "Town of Napa City" was approved 
March 23, 1872. February 24, 1874, the city was 
re-incorporated under the name of City of Napa, 
the boundaries remaining as before. The Board 
of Trustees was to be composed of five members, 
whose remuneration shall be one dollar per year; 
the pay of the other officers shall be such as 
the Board may decide upon. 

Street Railroad. — It is quite possible that but 
few of the citizens of Napa now remember that 
a franchise for a street railroad was ever granted, 
and it will be news to many of them. It is a fact 
that on March 8, 1872, a franchise vv as granted to 
H. F. Barker, J. Even, A. B. Walker, J. F. Zoll- 
ner, and E. N. Boynton to construct a railroad 
in Napa City, beginning at Main Street and run- 
ning on said street as far as practicable. 

ORDERS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS. 

Cisterns for Napa City. — September 22, 1864, 
an order of the Board authorizing cisterns con- 



NAPA COUNTY. 157 

strueted as follows: at the intersection of First 
and Brown streets, also at the intersection of Di- 
vision and Randolph streets, and at the south 
corner of the Court House square. 

Engine House. — The contract for erecting the 
engine house was let to William Richmond, May 
9, 1867, for the sum of |5,450.00. 

WATER FOR THE CITY. 

The City of Napa has a perfect system of water 
works, its large mains being filled from an under- 
ground stream two miles away, by means of 
mammoth steam pumps and a three-million gallon 
reservoir. The water comes into town with suf- 
ficient pressure to guarantee efficiency in the fire 
department, and the thorough flushing of sew- 
ers. The works are owned by a joint stock com- 
pany, in which citizens generally are interested. 

LIBRARY. 

The city supports a free library; also good 
reading rooms are connected with the library. 
The Council may levy a tax of 10 cents on the |100 
for library purposes. 

CHURCHES. 

In the early days of Napa, before there were 
any church edifices, there were several denomin- 
ations represented which held occasional services 
in the old Court House. Among these may be 
mentioned the Congregationalists, Cumberland 
Presbyterians, Universalists, and Unitarians. 

Originally any itinerant preacher who hap- 
pened along gave a sermon in the court room, and 
those who desired to hear him attended. Those 
were the good old days when the first man 
who arrived at the building would act as janitor, 
and take a broom and proceed to sweep the floor. 



15S NAPA COUNTY. 

usually covered with discarded quids of tobacco 
and cigar stumps. If the services were at night, 
each attendant would bring along a candle, and 
whatever was left of it, after the service was 
over, carried it back home. But a wonderful 
change has occurred since those primitive days, 
as will be seen by following the rise and progres- 
sion of the various churches in the pages of this 
history. 

Presbyterian Church. — In 1853, Eev. J. C. Her- 
ron was sent from Philadelphia to Napa Valley 
by the Board of Missionaries of the Presbyterian 
Church. Accompanied by his wife, he took up his 
residence with Col. M. D. Eitchie, then living at 
the head of the Valley, holding services when in 
Nai)a, in the old Court House, which formerly 
stood on the corner of Second and Coombs streets, 
just west of the Revere House, that building then 
serving as a hall of justice, a jail and church. 
The interior of the court room, as it appeared on 
the Sabbath, is thus vividly described by one of 
the members of the church, who worshiped 
there: 

"The inside appearance of the court room was 
rather sorry for a place of worship, especially 
Avlien the Court had been held there on the pre- 
ceding day. The furniture of the room consisted 
of narrow slabs placed on roughly-hewn logs, no 
work of a drawing knife or plane being visible, 
which were arranged around three sides of the 
room for seats. A plain board table and three or 
four rickety and uncushioned chairs, graced the 
center of the room, while in front of the judge's 
stand, on a slightly raised platform, stood a desk. 
'No carpet, no curtains, and no paint or finish of 
any kind, had been wasted on this public hall. 
No lamps, or even candle-sticks, were there — 
empty black bottles, that evidently had done duty 



NAPA COUNTY. 159 

in another capacity — were called into requisition, 
and held the melting tallow candles, not very 
erect sometimes, but nevertheless held them. It 
A\ as the custom for the first ajttendant, on arriv- 
ing, to procure a broom and sweep the room, and 
otherwise arrange for the comfort of the worship- 
ers, and it was not at all an uncommon thing for 
the timid ones of the congregation, during the 
service, to be annoyed by the rattling of chairs 
and other discordant sounds proceeding from the 
prisoners^ apartment." 

It was amid such surroundings that the Pres- 
byterian Church of Napa was formed in the fall 
of 1853. Mr. Herron and family moved to Napa, 
opened a school, and preached regularly, without 
any church organization, until January 19, 1855, 
when the Presbyterian Church was organized, 
with the following named persons as organi zing- 
members: J. M. Hamiton, W. S. Jacks, Hamlet 
ffacks, Mrs. Anna P. Hamilton, Mrs. Annie L. 
Jacks, Mrs. Kate A. Gilmore, Mrs. M. L. Ogden, 
Mrs. C. M. Herron, Mrs. Amelia W. Jacks, Miss 
S. A. Smith, and Miss S. A. Woodruff. They 
adopted as their code of faith and rule of practice 
the Westminster Confession of Faith. J. M. Ham- 
ilton was chosen as ruling elder, and J. M. Mans- 
field, James Lefferts, R. Pierpont, Fred Ogden, 
W. C. S, Smith as trustees. Rev. J. C. Herron svas 
engaged to fill the pulpit for one year at a salary 
of .f 600. He remained until January 17, 1858, re- 
ceiving enough during that time from his congre- 
gation and the Board of Missions to make his sal- 
ary amount to |1200 for the year. 

After a proposition being made in the fall of 
1857, to introduce instrumental music into the 
service, to which Mr. Herron made objection, it 
being contrary to the discipline of that branch of 
the Church to which he belonged, he offered his 



160 NAPA COUNTY. 

resignation, which was accepted Jaunary 17, 
1858. The church was without a steady pastor 
until May 9th of the same year, when Rev. P. V. 
Veeder, of Sacramento, was called, and began 
his pastorate on the 16th of that month. The so- 
ciety had, in the meantime, erected a comfortable 
house of worship on Randolph street, which was 
built by Mr. J. Howell in the winter of 1857-8, at 
a cost of three thousand six hundred dollars. 
Hon. N. Coombs donated the lot on which it was 
erected. 

In 1858 a debt was hanging over the church 
like an incubus, when the trustees assumed the 
debt, and assessed themselves one hundred and 
sixteen dollars each, and freed the church from 
all liability Mr. Veeder remained as pastor until 
July, 1865, when he removed to Ban Francisco 
to take charge of the City College there. Rev. 
Richard Wylie was the next incumbent, but ill- 
health compelled his retirement for a time, when 
his place was taken by Rev. James Wylie until 
his return on Nov. 17, 1871, when he resumed his 
duties. May 18,1864, the church was self support- 
ing. Of the original members, only one remains, 
Genl. W. S. Jacks. 

In 1874 the church was incorporated, and on 
May 30th plans for a new church were executed 
by Daley & Eisen, and adopted, and on July 9, 
1874, a contract for the new church building was 
let to J. W. Batchelor, of Vallejo. The corner- 
stone was laid August 20th on that year, with 
appropriate and interesting ceremonies. The 
contract price for the building was |17,375, and 
the painting cost |1,700. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church.— Rev. S. D. 
Simonds is said to have been the first Metho- 
dist preacher who visited and preached in 
Napa Valley. This was in 1851. In 1852 Rev. J. 



NAPA COUNTY. 161 

Brier was sent to this Valley by the Califoriiiau 
Conference, and was succeeded after the close of 
the year by Rev. E. A. Hazen. Napa Circuit then 
embraced the whole of Napa valley, Hiu.suu 
Valley, and much territory besides. Mr. Hazen 
collected money and built the first parsonage 
in Napa City. The house was erected on a lot 
given to the Methodist Episcopal Church by 
Mr. Nathan Coombs, and embraced what is 
now the corner of Second and IJandolph 
streets. This was afterwards sold and the pres- 
ent site purchased. Mr. Hazen was reappointed 
in 1854, the Conference being held in February. 
At that time worship was held in a building 
erected by the Cumberland Presbyterians, which 
was the first church house built in Napa City. It 
has been used as a paint shop, and still stands, a 
dingy relic of the early days of Napa. In 1855 
Revs. James Corwin and J. J. Cleveland were 
appointed to the Napa Circuit. The year folloAv- 
ing Mr. Corwin was reappointed, with Rev. Calvin 
Anderson as colleague. 

In 1857 Sonoma and Napa City were united 
and called Sonoma Circuit, with Rev. James 
Corwin in charge. During that year Mr. Corwin 
built a saw mill on what was known as the Kel- 
logg ranch, hauled his lumber to town and built 
the first Methodist Church house in Napa City, 
which was dedicated June, 1858. The Confer- 
ence was held this year in September, at which 
time Napa City was made a station, with Rev. Dr. 
Morrow in charge. In 1859 Rev. Wm. B. May 
was appointed preacher in charge. During that 
year a good parsonage was built. Mr. May was 
reappointed the following year, and he was fol- 
lowed by Rev. Nelson Reasoner. Rev. P. L. 
Haynes was appointed to succeed Mr. Rea^^ouer, 
and remained two vears. 



162 NAPA COUNTY. 

lu 1864 Rev. W. J. Maclay was appointed to 
Napa station. A few days after his arrival the 
parsonage caught fire from an adjoining building 
and was consumed, with its entire contents, in- 
cluding the church records. Mr. Maclay was ap- 
pointed to this charge for three successive years, 
during which time the present church house and 
parsonage was built at a cost of fifteen thousand 
dollars, on the site of the former building. The 
old church house was sold to the colored people 
and removed to its present position, and the pres- 
ent house dedicated in August, 1867. Kev. D. A. 
Dryden succeeded Mr. Maclay. In 1868, J. L. 
Trefren was appointed Mr. Dryden's successor, 
and was reappointed to the charge the year fol- 
lowing. He w^as followed by Kev. Wesley Den- 
nett for two years. Rev. T. S. Dann was ap- 
pointed Mr. Dennett's successor in 1872, and Sep- 
tember, 1873, Rev. S. Bowers was appointed. 
In September, 1874, Rev. W. R. Gober was sent to 
Napa and remained three years. In September, 
1877, Rev. E. S. Todd was detailed to this field 
until September, 1880, when Rev. A. J. Wells 
received the appointment. 

The first Methodist class ever organized in this 
city consisted of Mr. and Mrs. Stjuibb, Mrs. Judge 
Horrell, Mrs. Judge Hartson, Mrs. John Horrell, 
and Mrs. Dr. Stillwagon. 

The first Methodist Sunday school in Napa City 
was organized in 1858; Rev. Dr. Morrow superin- 
tendent, and Mrs. Judge Horrell assistant super- 
intendent. Mr. Morrow and Mrs. Horrell visited 
from house to house, and secured the attendance 
of twenty-one children on the day of organization. 
This number was largely increased before the 
end of the year. The following gentlemen have 
acted as superintendents: Rev. Dr. Morrow, J. 
E. Pond, D. Squibb, J. F. Lamdin, W. S. Turner, 



NAPA COUNTY. 163 

T. Smith, A. Taylor, Mr. Oliver, F. A. Sawyer, 
J. R. Coe, B. F. Sawyer, and W. C. Damon. 

Christ (Episcopal) Church. — The following 
historical sketch was kindly furnished by Rector 
Rev. W. Leacock: 

The parish of Christ Church was organized San- 
day, August 29th, 1858. A meeting was held with 
Rev. F. C. Ewer, of Grace Church, San Francisco, 
in the chair and Thos. P. Stoney as Secretary, and 
the following declaration signed: 

We, whose names are hereunto affixed being de- 
sirous of establishing the Protestant Episcopal 
Church in this place, do consent to be governed by 
the constitution of the Protestant Episcopal 
Church in the United States, and by the constitu- 
tion and canons of this diocese. R. D. Hopkins, 
James McNeil, E. B. Gibbs, R. T. Montgomery, J. 
B. Smith, A. Coles, Richard Budding, James Lef- 
ferts, C. M. Nichols, Thos. P. Stoney, C. W. Lang- 
don, A. I. Donzel, J. L. Egleston , C. B. Eaton, 
George Fairfield, Wells Kilburn. 

The first vestry was composed of Richard Dud- 
ding, R. D. Hopkins, Wardens; James Lefferts, 
Thos. P. Stoney, Wells Kilburn, James McNeil, 
R. T. Montgomery, Vestrymen. 

September 13, 1858, Bishop Kip gave his can- 
onical consent to the organization. At a regular 
meeting of the Vestry in September, 1858, the 
Rev. E. W. Hagar, was called as Rector, who en- 
tered upon his duties on Easter Sunday, 1859. Mr. 
Hagar resigned and Rev. Wm. Goodwin took 
charge of the parish in December, 1S59. On Feb- 
ruary 28th, 18G0, a building lot eighty feet square 
was purchased from Richard Dudding for the 
sum of |400, Messrs. Hopkins and Sterling, being 
appointed a building committee, reported a plan 
and specifications. The contract for building was 
given to John Horrell. 



164 NAPA COUNTY. 

The making of the pews was given to Messrs. 
White & Bradts; pulpit and altar to Barnes Bros. 
The building was ready for use in 1861. Eev. A. 
S. Nicholson, was Rector for a year and a half, till 
the summer of 1868. The Associate Mission and 
College Faculty of St. Augustine at Benicia, sup- 
plied services after Mr. Nicholson resigned. The 
summer of 1871, the Rev. William Leacock of 
Louisiana, after officiating for three months, took 
charge of the parish and following him as Rectors 
from 1874 to 1880, were the Rev. George D. Silli- 
man, Walter H. Moore and R. H. Kline. Novem- 
ber 1880, the Rev. W. Leacock assumed charge. 
The value of the church property at that time was 
—church, |3,000; lot, |1,000; school building, 
1800. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

This denomination was organized in Napa as 
the "Baptist Church of Napa," on the 18th day of 
August, 1860, with some eig-^hteen members. Rev. 
J. B. Morse, Pastor; John Lawley and L. W. Will- 
iams were chosen Deacons, and Lyman Chapman 
as Treasurer, and Thos. B. Coghill as Clerk. The 
brick church at the junction of Franklin street 
and College avenue, was then built. Rev. Morse 
was here six months when he was followed by 
Rev. Lyman Carpenter. This gentleman's pastor- 
ate extended over a period of four years. Rev, G. 
W. Ford, succeeded him in November, 1865, and 
served as pastor until 1873, when he resigned. 
Rev. J. E. Barnes took charge early in 1874. Dur- 
ing his pastorate there occurred a division in the 
church, one party with Rev. Barnes as leader, 
purchased the old Presbyterian building, and 
moved it to its present site, April 4, 1786; and it 
was dedicated as the First Baptist Church. In 
1876, Rev. Barnes was succeeded by Rev. J. A. 



NAPA COUNTY. 165 

Gray on February 2d, of that year. During his 
stay the original society was reunited as one body 
again, under the old name, he was succeeded the 
same year by Rev. H. A. Sawtille, when he receiv- 
ed a call from one of the Eastern States, and the 
pulpit was filled by H. H. Rhees of Southbridge, 
Alassachusetts. 

ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST (Catholic) CHURCH. 

On September 20th, 1856, the lot on which this 
church building now stands was donated to Bish- 
op Alemany by Geo. N. Cornwell. The old brick 
building was erected in 1858, and dedicated by 
Bishop Alemany, November 6th, 1859. The first 
pastor was the Rev. Father Rousche, assisted by 
Rev. Father Larkin. In June, I860. Rev. Father 
Deyaert took charge of the parish, and so remain- 
ed until his death, January 1st, 1876, at the age of 
58 years. He was a man much beloved by his 
parishioners and his death was greatly mourned 
by them. Through his labors the church was 
furnished and the lands adjoining owned by the 
church made into beautiful grounds. 

Rev. Father Mulville was the next pastor, and 
he was succeeded by Rev. Father M. D. Slattery, 
November 20th, 1877. 

On the 7th day of January, 1881, the new Cath- 
olic church in Napa City was begun under the su- 
pervision of Father Slattery. 

On March 1st, the corner stone was laid by 
Most Rev. Alemany, Bishop of this diocese, cele- 
brated by all the ritual which the Roman Catholic 
church uses on such occasions. 

NAPA AS A MANUFACTURING CENTER. 

Napa is destined to be one of the most import- 
ant manufacturing centers in the State. If the 
best of reasons cannot be assigned in support of 



166 NAPA COUNTT. 

this staJtement then let us be classed on the side of 
error. In the first place, the distance from San 
Francisco is only about forty miles. It has a splen- 
did railway service as well as a first class steamer 
line making daily trips to and from the metrop- 
olis. Freight service over these rail and water 
lines is so cheap that nothing is left to be de- 
sired from the most erratic pessimist. No better 
evidence can be adduced of Napa's advantages 
over San Francisco than to simply state that sev- 
eral of the large manufacturing institutions of 
the latter place have already made the change to 
the city of Napa. Among them are the Williams 
& Raymond Glove factory, employing about one 
hundred hands; Kast's Shoe factory is another of 
the big metropolitan concerns that have lately 
located here, bringing their machinery and a 
large force of trained factory men. Their pay 
roll will run above one hundred men. The wool- 
en mills; two large tanneries, planing mill, found- 
ry, machine shop; several large canneries; marble 
works, etc. These progressive! lines testify to the 
merits of this county as a center for various lines 
of industry. 

Now, why are the large concerns moving away 
from the metropolis? Two good reasons are 
known, eithc^r of which might bc^ sufUcient; one is 
'lower rents for employees and second, lower tax- 
ation for the employer. Third, cheap freight rates 
to the city over rail and water lines. Napa has 
no expensive institutions to support by over tax- 
ing her people or large industries. The city is 
economically managed, the officials are honest 
and in this way no exacting or needless drains are 
made on the City Treasurer whereby if a contrary 
condition of affairs existed, the city would be 
obliged to make its collecting policy a vigorous 
one and by imitating the bay city, drive her wage 



NAPA COUNTY. 167 

producers from her midst. Now that the way is 
broken, it will be no rash claim to state that in 
ten years more the county seat of this county will 
contain more than a dozen of the largest manu- 
facturing concerns on this coast in addition to 
those already located here. 

PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

Less than a third of a century ago there was not 
a public school in Napa county. Private schools 
were first organized, but the public system soon 
came into practical use. Among the private 
schools of those early days, the principal was the 
Napa Female Seminary, opened in October, 1857, 
by J. C. Herron. As late as March, 1862, we find 
the private school used exclusively. An academy 
for boys was conducted by Kev. P. V. Veeder. 
Since that time a great advance has been made 
in the public school system. 

THE CENTRAL SCHOOL BUILDINCx. 

This school was completed in 1870. The lower 
story contains two rooms 26x38, one recitation 
room 15x25, two cloak rooms 8x6 and a hall 
16x22. In this hall is a double stairway leading 
to the second story. There are also in this hall 
conveniences for washing. The second story is 
divided into two main school rooms, each 26x.38, 
with recitation and cloak rooms as on tht^ first 
floor. The ceiling of the first floor is fourteen feet 
high and that of the second story thirteen feet 
in the clear. On the center of the roof stands a 
cupola eleven feet square and sixteen feet high, 
upon which stands a bell tower six feet square 
and sixty-four feet above the ground. The total 
cost of this building was |12,600. 



168 NAPA COUNTY. 

THE SOUTH CENTRAL SCHOOL BUILDING. 

This is an elegant structure, costing |25,000, 
and was completed in 1889. 

This commodious structure contains ten rooms, 
and at present has on its rolls over 400 pupils. It 
is a monument to the enterprise and thrift of this 
grovring city and shows the esteem in which edu- 
cation is held by the people. 

THE NORTH PUBLIC SCHOOL BUILDING; 

Was completed in 1894, and is a credit to the 
city and county, and a compliment to the skill of 
the builders. It is two stories high and contain -j 
six large, airy rooms. The building is surround- 
ed by a park; the grounds are level and covered 
with a velvet green lawn. It is the most attrac- 
tive school ground in the city, and a fitting place 
to gather the children together to commence the 
impress of education on their young minds. 

THE NAPA HIGH SCHOOL 

Is now housed in the neat structure formerly 
the "Napa Seminary Building." 

It is surrounded by large, spacious grounds 
with sufficient isolation to warrant that security 
from disturbing noises, so necessary and import- 
ant to successful study. 

It contains three large rooms, well arranged 
to afford comfort and convenience for the prose- 
cution of study. The present attendance is eigh- 
ty scholars, which means that great interest is 
being given to higher education in Napa county. 

NAPA COLLEGIATE INSTITUTE 

Is beautifully situated in Napa city, on a high 
point of land, commanding a fine view of the 



NAPA COUNTY. 169 

town and surrounding country. The campus of 
live acres was purchased by Mr. A. H. Hamm, 
who erected the main building. The college 
building is a brick structure, four stories high, 
containing chapel, recitation rooms, dining room, 
and parlor, besides private rooms for the gentle- 
men boarders, all well supplied with conveniences 
for warming and ventilation. 

This school opened in 18fi0, with Mr, Hamm as 
proprietor and principal. A little less than a year 
after this, the Eev. W. S. Turner, A. M., a gradu- 
ate of Wesleyan University, purchased the prop- 
erty. For nearly seven years the school was pros- 
perous and had a good patronage. Mr. Turner^s 
arduous duties were too much for his strength, 
and he was compelled to seek a change of labor. 
He leased the school to Mr, Smith, who conducted 
it for about one year, after which it was closed for 
some time, until it w^as purchased by six citizens, 
viz: Hon. C. Hartson, G. Fellow^s, N. Coombs, \. 
AV. Norton, G. Linn, and H. Fowler. These gen- 
tlemen greatly imj^roved the building, added the 
porches, covered the walls with cement, and 
finished the fourth story. In August, 1870, it was 
purchased by the Calif ornian Annual Conference 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The Confer- 
ence elected a board of fifteen trustees, the ar- 
ticles of incorporation are dated November 22d, 
1870. 

In January of 1871, the school was opened with 
Professor T. C. George, A. M., as principal, with 
four assistants. Professor George acted as prin- 
cipal until June of 1874, when he resigned in or- 
der to rest and regain his health. The school 
prospered under his management, and was well 
patronized. 

Professor L. L. Hodgers, M. A., was next elected 
principal. During his administration of three 



170 NAPA COUNTY. 

years, two new buildings were erected, the prin- 
cipal's cottage and the ladies' hall. 

In July, of 1877, Professor A. E. Lasher, A. M., 
of New York State, was elected. During the va- 
cation of 1878, the buildings were refurnished 
and put in good order. A commercial department 
w^as organized, and a room on the first floor 
furnished for this department. During the va- 
cation of the next year extensive improvements 
were made in new buildings and repairs. The 
growling commercial department demanded more 
room, and a fine building for the use of the pri- 
mary department was erected. A fine gymnasium 
and tank house were built. Water pipes were 
laid to the different buildings, and on the Irout 
campus. Bath rooms w^ere also made in each of 
the buildings. In the spring of 1880, the grounds 
were tastefully laid out in drives, walks, grass 
plats, shrubs and flowers and to-day no grounds 
in the city are more attractive or inviting. The 
institute has a faculty of nine experienced teach- 
ers, each chosen with special reference to his de- 
partment. There are five regular courses of stu<ly 
and seven distinct departments. A diploma is 
given to students completing the course and pass- 
ing the examination. The school has a most ex- 
cellent library, which is read and used for daily 
reference. No school of similar grade on the coast 
has as much fine apparatus for illustrating the 
principles of the sciences. The first class gradu- 
ated in 1874, and each year the alumni has been 
increased. 

The institute was one of the first schools on the 
Coast to proclaim its belief in co-education. More 
than two thousand students have received in- 
struction in its halls since its opening. 



j^ NAPA COUNTY. 

THE NAPA LADIES' SEMINARY. 

Was established under the auspices of Miss 
Harris, and conducted by her as principal for a 
term of four years. After her resignation the 
school was conducted by Miss Maria S. McDonald, 
through whose untiring energy it increased year- 
ly in numbers from home and abroad. Miss ^Ic- 
Donald assumed the position in 1864 and con- 
ducted the institution for five years. After the 
death of Miss Maria S. McDonald, which occurred 
in 1869, her sister, Miss Sarah F. McDonald, as- 
sumed the active management and retained the 
same for ten years, when she was succeeded by 
her nephew, who resigned after two years, May 
25th, 1881. 

The Seminary was then taken charge of by Prof. 
D. W. Hanna, M. A., who, with his wife and 
daughter, have had large experience in this class 
of work In 1882, the year opened with a large in- 
creased attendance, about reaching the limit; the 
grounds are beautiful, having a large fountain in 
the front yard, bath rooms renewed and gas ex- 
tended throughout all the buildings, and every 
effort made to increase the efficiency of the school, 
which money can procure and brains can devise. 

The Napa Ladies' Seminary and Napa College 
have ceased to exist, though not for lack of sup- 
port, but for business reasons they were consol- 
idated with similar institutions at other points in 
this State. 

NEWSPAPER BIOGEAPHY. 

Under this head the Napa Daily Gazette pub- 
lished the following: "The first newspaper pub- 
lished in Napa city, was the Napa County Report- 
er, by A. J. Cox, in 1856. The next was the Week- 



172 NAPA COUNTY. 

ly Herald, in 1858, which ran but ai short time as 
a Democratic paper and then died. Next came 
the Napa Sun, a small weekly paper by A. J. Cox, 
in 1859, which lingered but a short time. In 18C1 
the Pacific Echo, published by Alex. Montgomery, 
came upon the stage. It was run as a Democratic 
paper of the secession caste of sentiment until the 
assassination of President Lincoln, when it wisely 
folded up its tent and quietly stole away. In 1883 
the Napa Eegister made its appearance, published 
by Horrell and Strong as a Eepublican paper. In 
1866, the Daily Reporter was started by Lank 
Higgins and Frank A. Leach; Higgins withdrew, 
leaving the management to Leach & Gregg, and 
they managed very successfully for about a year. 
They then sought a better field, and moved to 
Yallejo, and established the Chronicle. And last, 
but not least, comes the Daily ]Morning Gazette, 
an independent paper, started March 1st, 1870, by 
L. S. Barnes & Co., with W. J. Bowman, editor.'' 
The Register copies the above and then adds: 
"This biography is very well as far as it goes, but 
it is incomplete, as it omits the Napa Times, and 
to mention several newspaper men who have had 
quite as much to do with the papers of Napa 
county as the persons named, and perhaps a lit- 
tle more than either of them, or all of them put to- 
gether. It would seem to me that a newspaper 
biography of Napa county without the name of K. 
T. Montgomery and that of Mason D. Brownson, 
must be about as deficient as Ilamlet with the 
ghost left out, or Paradise Lost without the devil. 
These men liave probably i)erformed more news- 
paper head and hand work than all the rest com- 
bined. K. T. Montgomery became half owner of 
the Reporter in 1856, a few months after its estab- 
lishment by Mr. Cox. The paper was then a small 
affair of four columns. 



NAPA COUNTY. 17$ 

"The material consisted of four small fonts of 
type, (second hand): an old Washington haud 
press, whose platen was 14x17 inches; the whole 
scarcely more than a dray load, and the paper was 
in articulo mortis, without patronage or support. 
Indeed, it could hardly claim to be a fully es- 
tablished newspaper until the lirm of Montgom- 
ery & Cox purchased new material and enlarged 
the paper, began to publish it regularly instead 
of semi-occasional ly, and made it a newspaper 
instead of a sheet more than half full of dead ad- 
vertisements, which no one ever read or paid for. 
Not until February 1857, did the Keporter com- 
mand anything like a decent circulation or even 
make its expenses; from that time may be dated 
its prosperity and influence as a public journal. 

"In April, 1857, Lank Higgins began his ap- 
prenticeship under Montgomery & Cox, and re- 
mained in the office until 1860. On the (5th of 
September, 1858, Mr. Cox left the concern, and, 
in connection with Frank Farrell, since deceased, 
started the Napa City Semi- Weekly Sun, which 
was published less than six weeks. Mr. Cox re- 
moved to Sonoma county, which ended his exper- 
ience with Napa city journalism. Mr. Montgom- 
ery, in connection with M. D. Brownson, A. M. 
Parry and J. I. Horrell, as printers and co-edit- 
ors, continued to publish the Eeporter until Oc- 
tober, 1863, when it passed into the hands of Min- 
er & Higgins, and finally, the latter became sole 
proprietor. Mr. Brownson was connected with 
the paper for more than five years, and was recog- 
nized as an able contributor to its columns. In 
1870 he was still doing yeoman's service on the 
Daily Vallejo Chronicle. At the same date Mr. 
Parry was editor and publisher of the Independ- 
ent at Eureka, in Humboldt county." 



174 NAPA COUNTY. r. ^ 

THE NAPA REGISTER. 

The first number of the Napa Register was is- 
sued August 10th, 1863; J. I. Horrell was its foun- 
der. In October of the same year, L. Iloxie 
Strong became associated with Mr. Horrell in its 
publication. 

Death of the senior partner dissolved this firm, 
and January 2d, 1864, N. E. White (now and for 
many years on the editorial staff of the Sacra- 
mento Record-Union) bought an interest in "^he 
paper and R. T. Montgomery was installed as ed- 
itor. This management lasted until April 28th, 
1866, when Mr. Montgomery came into full pos- 
session of the property. He remained at the helm 
until November, 1867, when the paper was turned 
over to an association, Mr. Montgomery being re- 
tained as editor. In January, 1868, Mr. N. E. 
AAniite became again editor and proprietor. Three 
months later he turned the plant over to Mr. 
Montgomery and he sold the plant to R. D. Hop- 
kins and John M. Coghlan (later member of Con- 
gress), the business being conducted under the 
firm name of R. D. Hopkins & Co., until Octob3r 
29th, 1870, when G. M. Francis, its present pub- 
lisher, purchased Mr. Coghlan's half interest, 
shortly after enlarging the paper to 32 columns. 

February 10th, 1873, G. W. Henning, in like 
manner succeeded Mr. Hopkins as half owner. 

May 17th, 1873, Charles A. Gardner succeeded 
Mr. Henning; January 9th, 1875, Mr. Gardner 
sold to S. M. Tool; May 8th, 1875, Mr. Francis 
purchased Mr. Tool's interest and was alone in the 
management of the paper to December, 1876, 
when H. S. Spalding bought a half interest in the 
property. This partnership continued until Feb- 
ruary 1st, 1881, when Mr. Francis again became 
sole proprietor, and since that date has been edit- 



NAPA COUNTY. 

or and owner. The Register is, and always has 
been, a staunch Republican paper. It is issued 
from one of the best and most modern equipped 
offices in this State. 

THE DAILY REPORTER 

Was not the first daily paper issued in Napa 
city. The Napa Daily Advertiser was the first, 
started by R. T. Montgomery, on the 22d day of 
September, 1866; but the publisher had the saga- 
city to abandon it after two issues. The Reporter 
was the first paper published in Napa county, 
the first issue being on the 4th of July, 1856, by 
A. J. Cox; R. T. Montgomery became joint propri- 
etor the following December, and in February 
next, new material was bought. When the paper 
was first started Napa had neither business or 
population to support it. 

During the first six months it had a sickly ex- 
istence. It was a small sheet of four columns, 
with two pages constantly filled with dead adver- 
tisements. The subscription list in 1857 did not 
contain twenty paying subscribers. The office 
was a rickety old shanty about 18 feet square, 
next below the American Hotel on Main 
street, it was neither ceiled, plastered nor 
papered, and the floor was of rough lumber, 
with cracks an inch wide. In the roof was a large 
hole, apparently left for a flue or chimney, 
through which the rain descended in torrents. 
There were no windows, except a couple of sashes 
nailed securely to the wall. It was with great dif- 
ficulty in the winter, even when wood was obtain- 
able, thait the place could be kept warm enough 
to work in, and it often happened that wood could 
not be had at any price, in consequence of the 
horrible condition of the roads. In the winter of 
1856-7, the publisher paid |5.00 for as much as 



176 NAPA COUNTY. 

filled the box of a buggy. It was hauled less than 
twenty rods and the seller got "stalled" on Main 
street, buggy and horse sinking in the mud, and 
it cost him more in "treats" than the price of the 
wood to get the outfit on terra firma. The editor- 
ial lodging room was in the garret, and an iron 
bedstead and a few blankets comprised the entire 
furniture. 

The material was on a par with the building. 
It consisted, all told, of a Washington hand i)ress, 
foolscap size, with a platen 14x17 inches, on 
which the paper was printed, one page at a time. 
There was no jobbing outfit whatever. This press 
is now in the possession of the Sonoma Pioneers; 
was brought to San Francisco from Mexico, at 
the close of the war, and taken by Mr. Cox to So- 
noma, where it was used three years in printing 
the Sonoma Bulletin. He them moved it to Val- 
lejo, and in the fall of 1855, in connection with 
Dr. E. B. Eaton, published the Vallejo Bulletin 
for a few weeks. In June, 1856, he brought it to 
Napa, where the Reporter was printed on it until 
February, 1857, when a new press was purchased, 
and the office removed to the corner of Third and 
Main streets, where Hartson's brick building now 
stands. On the Gth of September, 1858, Mr. Cox 
left the Reporter, and in the division of the ma- 
terial, the old press fell to his share, and was used 
for three months by Cox & Farrell in publishing 
the Semi-Weekly Sun. Shortly afterwards Mr. 
Cox removed his office to Healdsburg and us3d 
the same press in printing the Review, of that 
place. Thence the press went to Lakeport, Lake 
county, and did service in printing one or two po- 
litical papers, each of which died a natural death. 
Probably its labors are now at an end, as in the 
hands of the Pioneer Association it will be kept 
as a relic of the olden times. 



;' NAPA COUNTY. 177 

Of this press, 11. T. Montgomery says: '-The 
writer (himself), has earued many a thousand dol- 
lars, and performed many a hard day's work iq)- 
on it, in the days of high prices, when very com- 
mon cards and bill-heads were three dollars per 
hundred, and small sheet posters were thirty <lol- 
lars per hundred." 

The Keporter was started as an independent 
paper, and took no part in politics until the great 
split occurred in the Democratic party on the 
Kansas question, when it became the advocate of 
the principles of Stephen A. Douglas. Mr. Mont- 
gomery, in connection with M. D. Brownson, 
A. M. Parry, and J. I. Horrell, continued to pub- 
lish the paper till October, 1863, it being under 
their management, a supporter of the Lincoln ad- 
ministration, and an advocate of the principles of 
the Union party. At this date it passed into the 
hands of Miner & Higgins, and finally into the 
hands of Lank Higgins alone. The political char- 
acter of the paper was changed and it became a 
vehement opposer of the Lincoln administration 
In the winter of 1870, it was sold to W. F. Hen- 
ning, who still continued it as a Democratic paper. 
In October, 1871, R. T. Montgomery purchased 
the establishment. Soon C. A. Menefee became a 
partner, and in August following, became sole 
proprietor. Shortly after this a half interest was 
Bold to A. A. R. Nutting, and the paper was pub- 
lished under the firm name of C. A. Menefee & 
Co. During this administration the Daily Report- 
er was established, and still continues to be is- 
Bued in the morning. 

In 1875, Captain G. W. Gift, purchased an in- 
terest in the paper and continued its management 
until he died in 1878. The paper was then con- 
ducted by his wife, with John Walden as editor 
and business manager and was very successful. 



178 NAPA COUNTY, 

There was also a fine job printing department 
connected with it. 

NAPA HERALD. 

In 1858 the Napa City Herald first made its ap- 
pearance. It was owned by a stock company, 
comprising the most influential Democrats in the 
county, and was a strong advocate of President 
Buchanan's administration and human slavery. 
J. D. Lillard, a young lawyer from Kentucky was 
its first editor. He was succeeded by Wm. H. 
Townes and Thomas J. Tucker, but it died for 
want of paitronage; the outfit then fell into the 
hands of Frank Farrell and J. Wallace Higgins, 
who tried to win out by calling it the Napa 
Times, but in a few months it passed out. 

THE ECHO. 

July 20th, 1861, Alexander Montgomery com- 
menced the publication of the Napa Echo, which 
opposed the administration of President Lincoln 
and every measure to subdue the Southern rebel- 
lion. It died the day after the assassination of 
President Lincoln. 

NAPA DAILY AND WEEKLY REGISTER. 

J. I. Horrell, on August 10, 1803, started the 
Napa Valley Register; in October L. Hoxie 
Strong became interested, but his death a few 
weeks later left the founder of the sheet in sole 
management; Januai-y 2, 1864, ^Ir N. E. White 
bought an interest and the named changed to 
Napa Register; on February 6th, AVhite became 
sole owner and R. T. Montgomery, editor; m 
April 28, 1866, Mr. Montgomery came into full 
possession and continued so until 1867, the office 
was turned over to an association, with Mr. 



NAPA COUNTY. 173 

Montgomery as editor; the association sold again 
to Mr. White and Mr. White to Mr. Montgomery, 
who sold out to K. D. Hopkins and John M. 
Coghlan, October 30, 1869; on October 29th, 1870, 
G. M. Francis purchased Mr. Coghlan's interest, 
the paper was then enlarged to thirty-two col- 
umns; G. W. Henning was purchaser of Hopkins' 
half interest, and May 17, 1873, Chas. A. Gardner 
bought Henning out, and he sold to S. M. Tool; 
May 8, 1875, Mr. Francis became sole owner. The 
]\egister started as a Republican paper and has 
ever advocated those principles and has been, as 
it is to this day, a credit to the enterprising own- 
er and the community it serves. 

ROBERT T. MONTGOMERY, 

The pioneer journalist of Napa city, was born 
in Richmond, Va. He was apprenticed to the 
printers' trade and followed it all his days, from 
the case to the tripod. In the latter position he 
was at his best, and in it he did a work in Napa 
city that will be hard to excel. His was a mas- 
sive mind, with a quick perception and good lang- 
uage; his expressions were chaste and his teach- 
ing always inculcated pure moral sentiments. 
He knew whait was meant by the term gentleman, 
and when himself was such. He came to California 
in 1853, and taught school until 1856, when he 
connected himself with the press. June 10, 1857, 
he was married to Miss Sarah B. Cox, sister of his 
partner. The paper was printed in red ink to 
commemorate that event. Poor Montgomery! No 
man was capable of holding higher or prouder 
position, social or intellectual than he, but none 
suffered themselves to fall lower. What a temper- 
ance lecture. The demon alcohol possessed him, 
and drove him from e^ory thing a man holds dear 
in this life, to a vagrant's death in the county^ 



^80 NAPA COUNTY. 

hospital, on the charity of the people who had 
seen him in all the glory of his intellectual man- 
hood. 



SECRET SOCIETIES. 

FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

Yount Lodge, No. 12, F. and A. M., was organ- 
ized January 24, 1851, with the following charter 
members: W. D. Deering, J. M. Small, M. T. Mc- 
Clellan, W. W. Stillwagon, George C. Yount, 
Joseph Mount, B. Vines, Thomas Chapman, J. M. 
Moody, M. H. N. Kendig. 

The oflQcers IT. D. were: W. D. Deering, W. M.; 
J. M. Small, S. W.; M. T. McClellan, J. W.; W. W. 
Stillwagon, Secretary, and George C. Yount 
Treasurer. Charter granted May 15th, 1851. 

The following named members have filled the 
position of W. M.: M. D. Deering, J. M. Small, J. 
H. Seawell, Wesley Vaughn, Ed. McGarry, J. M. 
Dudley, Robert Crouch, H. H. Knapp, W. B. Charl- 
ton, F. M. Hackett, T. J. Tucker, Ralph Ellis, Wm. 
Bradford, F. E. Johnson, C. R. Gritman, J. M. 
Crow, F. N. Giles, A. J. Hull, P. S. King, D. S. 
Kyser, N. Marble, and J. B. Stevens, P. G. M. 

In 1900, the lodge had 92 members. The names 
of the officers for 1900 are: E. Bonsall, W. M.; F. 
M. Williams, S. W.; W. A. Bailey, J. W.; E. D. 
Beard, Treasurer; I. J. Herron, Secretary; A.M. 
Macenaig, S. D.; J. W. Parker, J. D.; E. W. Hot- 
tel, Marshal; D. A. Dunlap, Steward; J. A. Cain, 
Steward; M. H. Davis, Tyler; Auditing Commit- 
tee: H. H. Knapp, G. W. Strohl and F. N. Giles. 



NAPA COUNTY. 181 

NAPA CHAPTER, R. A. M. 

Napa Chapter, No. 30, R. A. M., was organized 
U. D., November 10, 1860, with the following 
charter members: 

H. A. Gaston, H. H. Knapp, M. L. Haas, O. A. 
Peck, E. E. Harvey, W. B. May, D. Spencer, G. C. 
Yount, W. W. Stillwagon, and F. B. Gilmore. The 
first officers were: H. A. Gaston, H, P.; D. Spenc- 
er, K.; G. C. Yount, S.; H. H. Knapp, C. of H.; 
W. B. May, P. S.; M. L. Haas, R. A. K.; W. W. 
Stillwagon, G. M. of third Vail; F. B. Gilmore, 
G. M. of Second Vail. The following members 
have held the position of H. P .: H. A. Gaston, H. 
H. Knapp, P. G. H. P.; R. Crouch, R. Ellis, W. 
Bradford, C. 1\. Gritman. 

The following is the list of the officers for 1900, 
Napa Comiiiandery, No, 34, Knights Templar: 

Sir George Washington Strohl, Commander; 
Sir George Edmond Goodman, Generalissimo; 
Sir Bethuel Merritt Newcomb, Capt. General; Sir 
Henry Martin Meacham, Senior Warden; Sir 
Daniel Sterling Kyser, Junior Warden; Sir Alton 
Levant ^A'illiams, Prelate; Sir Theodore Roosevelt 
Parker, Recorder; Sir James Mason, Standard 
Bearer; Sir James Edgar Beard, Sword Bearer; 
Sir Eli Washington Hottel, W^ardeu; Sir Morrow- 
Henry Davis, Sentinel; Sir William Sewell Wells, 
First Guard; Sir Louis Napoleon Buttner, Second 
Guard; Sir Eli McYork, Third Guard. 

Number of members 39. 

INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS. 

NAPA LODGE, NO. 18, L O. O. F. 

Was organized November 26, 1853, with the 
following: charter members: J. D. Stetenius, 1). 



182 NAPA COUNTY. 

Mounett, Robert Hopkins, E. A. Hazen, J. H 
Watterson, D. C. Tripp. The list of N. G.'s so far 
obtainable is as follows: C. Pag^e, J. H. Watter 
son, G. N. Corn well, J. M. Dudley, J. M. Wilson 
T. Earl, K. D. Hopkins, J. Cosgrove, R. T. Mont 
gomery, J. Horrell, J. Butler, P, Huntsinger, \V 
H. Clark, A. B. Walker, G. N. Tuthill, J. Salmun 
son, J. C. Pierson, G. F. Deeves, L. M. Corwin, I 
Israelsky, W. W. Pendegast, J. N. Reynolds, W 
R. Brown, E. N. Boynton, C. B. Clifford, A. Samp 
son, R. N. Steere, A. G. Boggs, H. L. Amstutz 
Robert Clark, H. T. Barker, W. Laughlin, L. Chap 
man, Z. W. Keyes, D. R. McLennan, P. T. Gomer, 
H. Christiansen, C. Levansaler, E. W. Hottel. J 
:^. Wallingford, T. M. Moody, D. Smith, J. W 
W^ard, Jr.; J. A. Kane, J. F. Hottel, D. S. Reiser 
J. B. Newman. 

The lodge own a splendid two-story, brick 
building on Main street, which was erected in 
1877. The lot is 44x90, and cost |5,000. The 
building, 44x80, cost |12,000. The lower story is 
used for stores, and the upper one for lodge pur- 
poses. The lodge room is 36x50, with twenty-foot 
ceiling, and is handsomely furnished. 

LIVE OAK ENCAMPMENT, I. O. O. F., NO. 40 

Was organized April 29, 1879, with the follow- 
ing charter members: J. N. Reynolds, L. Chap- 
man, E. Biggs, A. B. Walker, E. N. Boynton, W. 
R. Brown, H. Christiansen, T. R. Parke, J. P. 
Clark. 

The first officers were: J. N. Reynolds, C. P.; \Y. 
R. Brown, H. B.; A. B. W^alker, S. W.; L. Chap- 
man, J. W.; E. N. Boynton, Scribe; E. Biggs, 
Trensiiior. The following members have served 
as C. P.: J. N. Reynolds, A. B. Walker, L. Chap- 
man, J. C. Pierson, E. N. Boynton, C. Pearch, J. 



NAPA COUNTY. ISIi 

O. Shafer, E. W. Hottel, C. Levansaler, Theo. 
Ellis, C. E. Keifer, J. F. Hottel, H. Christiausen, 
T. M. Moody, J. C. Rowley, F. Salmini, A. Miiller, 
G. Bustelli, E. Biggs. 

KNIGHTS OF HONOR. 

Napa Lodge, No. 1,897, K. of H.,. was organized 
November 28 , 1879, with the following charter 
members: J. H . Boke, F. L. Coombs, Levi 
Coombs, T. V. Chadbourne, T. H. Epley, L. H. 
Fowler, G. W. Eraser, C. R. Gritman, H. C. Ges- 
ford, Ed. Grogan, Z. W. Garfield, J. H. P. Gedge, 
E. Hamm, J. W. Hostetler, F. M. Hackett, B. C. 
Hartson, Wm. Imrie, H. Jansen, J. F. Laindiu, 
T. Lane, O. P. Meyers, F. A. McDonald, T. Mc- 
Bain, J. C. Noyes, T. R. Parker, I. N. Pearson, A. 
J. Raney, J. T. Smith, Geo. C. Shurtleff, M, L. 
Stillwagon, A. D. Stockford, J. P. Trubody, J. T. 
Vanderlip, J. W. Ward, Jr., C. M. Walker, G. A. 
AVright, W. West and J. N. Wallingford. 

INDEPENDENT ORDER of GOOD TEMPLARS 

Lodge No. 36, was in working order April, ISGl, 
with the following officers: Samuel Heald, W. O. 
T.; J. M. Hamilton, W. V. T.; V. J. Van Dorn, 
W. S.; Miss L. A. Willett, W. T.; Martha C. Heald, 
W. F. S.; G. W. Carter, W. M.; Rev. P. V. Veeder, 
W. Ch.; D. B. McGee, W. I. G.; and R. T. Mont- 
gomery, W. O. G. 

AQUA PURA LODGE, NO. Ill, I. O. G. T. 

W^as organized November 3, 1879, by Levy Le- 
land, Grand Lecturer, with the following charter 
members: James Mason, Ida Dennison, J. Moody, 
A. T. Stanley, F. Harris, Z. E. Rowell, S. R. Dick- 
ey, Flora L. Allen, E. H. Dennison, Millie Harris, 
M. Storey, O. Pye, J. Davis, A. Chapman, Mrs. 



184 NAPA COUNTY. 

Chapman, E. B. Todd, Stella Kerfoot, Margaret 
McCaskell, and J. A. White. 

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

Fidelity Lodge, No. 23, K. of P., was organized 
August Gth, 1873, with the following charter 
members : 

D. M. McClure, J. F. Pugh, J. Kean, II. M. 
Swain, W. Bradford, (J. Bustelli, S. Ileinertsen, 
C. A. Menefee, K. Gudmuudsen, H. Christiansen, 
E. Lane, J. S. Ilowlaud, C J. Carlsen, N. L. Niel- 
sen, W. Overdick, Iv. N. Steere, J. Musburger, L. 
N. Zubric, M. Begelspacher, A. MuUer, J. W. 
Sharp, It. 11. Daley, 1. Gilchrist, L. N. Parsons, 
G. W. Lawrence, F. M. Sherwood, J. J. Martin, L 
Fancher, E. Newfelder, VV. H. Parsons, and L. M. 
('orwin. 

ANCIENT ORDER UNITED WORKMEN. 

Fortuna Lodge, No. 13, A. O. U. W., was organ- 
ized December 21st, 1S77, with the following char- 
ter members: C. R. Gritman, J. W. Ward, Jr., E. 
H. Bragg, E. S. Gridley, E. P. Mitchell, A. D. 
Stockford, C. H. Wilson, D. A. Eraser, T. McBain, 
J. Mitchell, C. Stuart, and J. W. Hosteller. 

FRATERNAL BROTHERHOOD. 

Napa Lodge, No. 131, of the Fraternal Brother- 
hood, organized June 21st, 1900; meet first and 
thin] Thursdays of each month at Masonic 
Temple Hall. 

Fraternal insurance is of very ancient origin, 
but it is only within recent years that it has been 
developed upon a basis that guarantees stability. 
The age of exj)eriment has passed and co-opera- 
tive insurance is now so firmly and secui*ely es- 
tablished that failure is impossible. Profiting by 
the experience of other similar societies. 



&y 



3^ 



NAPA COUNTY. 185 

President, A. J. Kahn; Past President, Will- 
iam Harlan; Vice-President, Addie M. Powers; 
Chaplain, Augusta Collins; Secretary, Mary S. 
Boggs; Treasurer, Theo. F. Willsey; Medical Ex- 
aminer, Dr. A. J. Kahn; M. at A., Rosie Fisher: 
Sergt., James Fisher; I. D., Richard Schulz; O. 
D., Claud Harris. 



INDUSTRIES. 
SAWYER TANNING CO. 

The tannery business now conducted by the 
Sawyer Tannine,- Company-, was started in a 
small way, on the t^iti^ now occupied by the con- 
cern, by Frenc li A. Sawyer, hi 18(19. The follow- 
ing year R. F. Sawye:- joined liiin and in 1872 they 
associated v.itli them A. V\ . Norton, the firm 
name being B. F. Sawwer & Company. 

In 1879, B. F. Sawyer died and the following 
year the concern was reorganized under the same 
name and style with French A. Sawyer, A. W. 
Norton, S. E. Holden and Emanuel Manasee as 
partners. This partnership continued until 1886, 
when the business was incorporated under the 
name and style of the Sawyer Tanning Company, 
with S. E. Holden, President; Emanuel Manasee^ 
Vice President; A. W. Norton, Treasurer and L. 
J. Norton, Secretarj-. 

The business lias grown from a very small be- 
ginning, when only two or three men were em- 
ployed until the present time when its plant cov- 
ers a large part of three city blocks. 

Practically all of the leather produced by this 
concern is used for the manufacture of gloves, 
and one line of upper leather for shoes. The Cali- 
fornia and Coast trade of this company is quite ex- 
tensive, but a large proportion of its product is 



186 NAPA COUNTY. 

sold in the East. The present officers are: L. J. 
Norton, President; J. D. Jamison, Vice President; 
E. G. Manasse, Secretary and Treasurer. 

NAPA GAS AND ELECTRIC CO. 

This company was first incorporated under the 
name of Thompson Houston Co., in 1890, and was 
operated under this name until 1899, when a San 
Francisco company bought it out, when it was 
reorganized under the name of the Napa Ga.^, 
Light and Heat Company, both plants being now 
operated under the name of the Napa Gas and 
Electric Company. 

The plant consists of 245 K. W. Edison by-polar 
dynamos— one 50 light, 12,000 candle power T. H. 
arc light dynamo— which are operated or driven 
by one 200 horse power, Ball cross, compound en- 
gine, to which steam is supplied by two Atlas 
boilers of 80 h. p. each. The company have in op- 
eration fourteen miles of arch light lines, also 
eight miles of Edison 3-wire incandescent lights. 
Napa city is lighted with 35 arc lights, while the 
commercial and house lighting is accomplished 
by 800 incandesent and 35 long burning arc 
lights. 

The gas plant has a capacity of 50 M cubic feet. 
The city is supplied with 60 gas lamps for street 
lighting. The officers at present are: President, 
Thomas Addison, of San Francisco; Vice Presi- 
dent, J. L. Howard; Secretary and Treasurer, 
J. G. Whittington, all in San Francisco; Manager, 
O. E. Clark, Napa city. 

GOODMAN & CO., BANKEFvS (Inc.). 

Organized, 1858; incorporated, 1889; ca])i[al 
1300,000; George E. Goodman, President; H. P. 
Goodman, Vice President; E. S. Churchill, Cash- 
ier; J. E. Noyes, Assistant Cashier; G. E. Good 



NAPA COUNTY. l87 

maD, Jr., Teller; E. W. Churchill, Assistant Tel- 
ler. 

James H. Goodman, born in New York, 1820; 
came to Napa, 1850; died 1888. 

G. E. Goodman became partner in 1858, con- 
tinued until 1889, when the bank became an in- 
corporation. 

The present President was married in Napa, 
1858, to Miss Carrie A. Jacks. To this union the 
children, G. E. Goodman, Jr., 1868, and H. P. 
Goodman, 1860 were born in Napa. 

H. P. Goodman is married and has four child- 
ren, Claire, 15 years; Euth, 9 years; John, 7 years; 
George, 5 years. 

G. E. Goodman, Jr., was married in Napa in 
1890 to Miss Florence B. Millard, from which 
union there is one child, Marie, born in Napa, 
1883. 

The bank, in its early days occupied a small 
building next to the fine brick edifice in which it 
is now located. 

BANK OF NAPA. 

Organized September, 1871, with the following 
trustees: J. F. Zollmer, W. C. Wallace, C. Hart- 
son, E. Stanley, W. H. Nash, R. H. Sterling, E. 
L. Sullivan, A. B. Walker, W. W. Thompson, G. 
M. Fisher, R. B. Woodward, H. L. Davis, T. H. 
Thompson, I. N. Larimer, J. Lawley, D. McDon- 
ald, and D. L. Haas. At that time the following 
officers were elected: C. Hartson, President; W. C. 
Watson, Secretary and Cashier, and R. H. Stirl- 
ing, W. W. Thompson, and T. H. Thompson, 
Finance Committee. C. Hartson remained Presi- 
dent of the bank until January 1, 1880, when L. 
Lewton was chosen. W. C. Watson remained 
Cashier until January 1st, 1881, when R. C. Grit- 
man was elected. 



188 NAPA COUNTY. 

The capital stock at time of organization was 
$250,000, The elegant and substantial structure 
was erected 1872. Henry Brown Cashier. Capital 
stock paid in (1900) |175,000; surplus |72,000; S. 
M. ('hapnian, President. 

LAUNDKY OF SAM KEE. 

He was born in China; came to Napa about 
twenty years ago, and has been in the laundry 
business ever since. His laundry is situated on 
N. Main street. No. 58, next to the Kysers' furni- 
ture store. 

Sam Kee has the oldest established laundry in 
Napa county, and ever has given the greatest sat- 
isfaction to his patrons. Sam Kee is married, 
having a wife and one child in China. 

He gives employment to six other Chinamen 
in his laundry. The time is now rapidly ap- 
proaching when Sam Kee will be able to sell out 
his business and return to China with enough 
American dollars to enable him to live the life of 
a nobleman in his own land and at last lay his 
bones down in the sacred soil of the Celestial 
Kingdom. 

KEAL ESTATE AND INSURANCE CO. OF 
MOUNT & BOKE. 

This insurance agency was established in 1881, 
and is the oldest in the county and represents the 
mosit reliable English, German and American 
insurance companies. This firm is also the best 
posted real estate firm in the county, having the 
largest list of desirable properties for sale and 
rent. They also take full charge of properties for 
non-residents and make prompt remittances of 
funds. The senior member of the firm, T. N. 
Mount, has had considerable experi(mce as a rec- 
ord searcher, and has provided himself with what 




T. N. MOUNT, 

Napa. 



NAPA COUNTY. 1S9 

is known as a "Searcher's Portfolio Index," liav- 
ing been a resident of Napa, since 1857. In 1870 
he stood at the anvil and learned the blacksmith 
trade; on account of failing health turned to 
farming for three years. In 1878 he was elected 
Constable of Napa township and served for three 
years in that position, after which he entered his 
present business. Mr. Mount was born in Toledo, 
Ohio, August 12, 1840; came to California, 1853; 
he married Emma V. Jenkins, 1876, a native of 
Wisconsin; the children are Mable S., and John 
N., Edith E. is now her father's assistant in 
searching records; Mable is a graduate of Napa 
Business College and John N. is attending school 
as yet. 

GANTER & GANTER, PHOTOG RAPHE KS. 

This establishment is conducted b}^ two ladies, 
sisters, who have established a reputation for ar- 
tistic work which is recognized by the intelligence 
of the surrounding country. Their elegant and 
commodious parlors are situated on the ground 
floor, so there are no stairs to climb, and are 
furnished in a elegant manner, with all the acces- 
sories of a first class photographic parlor. I'p to 
about this time (1901), all places where photo- 
graphs were made, that is to say portraits, were 
called galleries on account of having to climb up 
to the roof of the house where the sky-light was 
in the operating room. Now, we are pleased to 
say, such is no longer the case, in this instance. 
The lady proprietors graduated in photography 
in San Francisco, to which city they came when 
quite young, with their parents from Wisconsin. 
A good photograph is a valuable possession, but 
a poor one absolutely worthless. Our advice is, 
when one does have a picture taken, to have the 



190 NAPA COUNTY. 

best, and to get that in Napa, and to go to Gant- 
er & Ganter. 

NAPA MARBLE WORKS. 

Messrs. Newman & Wing began in 1878, and 
are successful; in 1881, thej erected a new build- 
ing 28x40. The firm of Newman & Wing built 
over thirty stone bridges and culverts, besides a 
large number of vaults in the cemetery. Mr. 
Newman has recently (1901), returned frjm 
Europe where he has studied all the latest designs 
in marble stone cutting, also all descriptions of 
wreaths made of metal flowers. 

THE MISSES BEST MILLINERY PARLORS. 

The Misses Best have the choicest stock and the 
most fashionable millinery parlors in the cit^^ of 
Napa, and enjoy the select trade of the intelligent 
and fashion contained in the adjacent country. 
The Misses Best were born in Nevada, but have 
resided in the city of Napa for more than twenty 
years. 

THE PALACE STABLES. 

Were established in 1880, by Mr. Kelley, upon 
the present site, opposite the Palace Hotel, t>n 
Third street. These stables are now managed 
and owned by F. S. Parker, the popular, genial 
proprietor, who, for the last eight years past, has 
successfully conducted the business; more than 
fifteen head of fine spirited horses, well trained, 
are kept for the accommodation of patrons. Mr. 
Parker was born in Kansas; came to Napa in 
1892. In 1889 he married Clara Gamble, born in 
Ohio. The children are H. Stanley, 1892; E. 
Ruth, 1894. 




ffl 
a 
ffl 
Z 



E 



Is 



NAPA COUNTY. 191 

PALACE HOTEL. 

The leading hotel of Napa city has always been 
recognized as having the best accommodations 
for guests, containing 70 rooms with bath and all 
modern conveniences, beautiful, large dining 
room and an up-to-date bar and office, and has a 
reputation for a menu second to none throughout 
the State. 

This valuable property was bought in 1900, by 
George C. Trj^on, Sr., who was born in New York 
city, 1828, and died in Napa, March 9, 1901, and 
buried in Angels Camp, California. He was a 
member of the society of California Pioneers and 
was a progressive man during his lifetime, con- 
tinually devising some improvement in his hotel 
for the comfort and convenience of the guests. 

George C. Try on, Jr., has, since his father's 
death, succeeded to the management, and the 
traveling public may feel assured that every at- 
tention will be shown to every one who may pat- 
ronize the Palace. 

On March 5th, 1901, the Palace Hotel was pur- 
chased from the Tryon estate by Mr. A. Zeller, 
who is one of the most capable hotel keepers in 
the State, having had a large experience in the 
different parts of California; he is up-to-date in 
every particular, and has already made improve- 
ments greatly to the advantage of the hotel which 
his practical eye saw was necessary. He was 
born in Germany and emigrated to the United 
States in 1883; remaining in the East about one 
year, when he moved to California. He married 
Miss Marie Gatje, in San Francisco, in January, 
1889, and they have three children, Hertha, Hugo, 
and Earnest. 



192- NAPA COUNTY. 

CAREIAGE AND HARNESS REPOSITORY 
OF CHAS. & EDWARD J. WELTE. 

In 1880, the brother Charles, bought out the 
business of George Beebe, who was then in the 
harness business; in 1886, he added carriages to 
the rapidly increasing business; his brother, Ed- 
ward J., took an interest in the business, since 
which time the firm's name has been Welte Bros., 
and is now the largest business of its kind in the 
county. 

Mr. Charles Welte was born in Baltimore, Md,, 
in 1858; came to Napa county in 1880, where he 
began business. He married Miss Dadie Giles, a 
Napa county girl, in 1884. Edward J. Welte was 
born in California, 1860; came to Napa 1881. In 
1894 he married Miss Marble of Napa, but who 
was born in San Francisco. 

:MANIi FACTORIES. 

'Numerous thriving manufacturing enterprist^s 
line the Avater front, among which are three tan- 
neries, of glove, harness and shoe leather; a sh(ve 
factoiy, glove factory, woolen mill, planing mill. 
Hour mill, cannery, fruit driers, wineries and dis- 
tilleries. 

NAPA BOARD OF TRUSTEES. 

The Napa Board of Trustees for 1900 are: John 
A. Fuller, Mayor; E. W. Jaensch, C. B. Seeley, J. 
A. Cain, John T. Even, Richard Cuff. 

THE NAPA BUSINESS COLLEGE AND 
SC^TTOOL OF SHORTHAND. 

This enterprising and progressive institution, 
is located in the business center of Napa city, 
having a frontage of 75 feet on Main street. Its 
main hall is by far the largest school room in this 





John T. £!,■< 



J. A. Cain. 



C. B. Seeley. 

JOHN A. FULLER 

Mayor of Napa, and Councilmen. 
RicHard Cuff. 



EL. W. Joensch. 








0) 

c 

3 

(S 

a 

a 




NAPA COUNTY. 193 



city, is well lighted anfl ventilated, provided with 
modern furniture, desks and all the necessary ap- 
pliances and facilities for giving an actual, prac- 
tical business education. 

Here may be seen, both day and evening, a busy 
throng of ladies and gentlemen, vigorously prose- 
cuting their labors, fitting themselves for an ac- 
tive and successful business life. 

The college vvas organized a little more than 
six years ago and has steadily increased in effici- 
ency, popularity and attendance of students. Last 
year over 100 students were enrolled and the pres- 
ent year bids fair to outstrip all former records. 

Quite recently we had the pleasure of spending 
a profitable day at this institution which convinc- 
ed us of its merits and of the absolute necessity 
of a business education for young men and 
women. 

The many advantages of this school impressed 
me so favorably that we cannot resist giving our 
readers the benefits of our experience. There are 
two courses of study in the college. The business 
course and the shor-thand course. In the business 
course, bookkeeping, commercial arithmetic, 
commercial law, business grammar and corre- 
spondence, spelling and penmanship are taught. 
In the shorthand course, shorthand, typing, letter 
writing, legal forms, writing and spelling are 
taught. 

The business course consists of a theoretical 
and practical department. After the student 
understands the theory work sufficiently he is per- 
mitted to enter the actual business practice where 
he learns by doing business for himself. The 
practice in this department includes every possi- 
ble transaction that he would have in actual busi- 
ness. The drawing of all kinds of business docu- 



194 NAPA COUNTY. 

memts: notes, drafts, receipts, partnerships, deeds, 
leases and mortgages, checks, contracts, making 
loans, purchasing stocks, depositing, discounting, 
collecting and paying checks and notes, handling 
and counting his own money. I wish I might 
dwell upon the interesting features of this depart- 
ment and tell of the various offices where mer- 
chandise is bought and sold, where bankers hold 
forth and what they do, of the commission and 
express offices, the postoffice, real estate and the 
stock and brokerage offices, but space forbids. 

The shorthand and typewriting department 
interested us greatly. We cannot too forcibly 
impress upon the minds of our readers the neces- 
sity of a knowledge of shorthand in the twen- 
tieth century. The instruction in the Napa 
Business College in this important branch is en- 
tirely individual, until the pupil is far enough 
advanced to enter the dictation classes. The op- 
erating of the typewriter is a pleasant occupation, 
when one has acquired the speed. I could tell of 
the well-equipped printing office, where the Col- 
lege Gazette is printed, also all the documents 
and printed forms used in the business depart- 
ment, of the energetic teachers and of its bright 
and promising pupils, but time and space forbids. 
You are invited to call and inspect them for your- 
self. H. L. Gunn, A. M., is President, assisted by 
Mrs. Viunie MacLean, Vice President, and who 
is at the head of the shorthand department. The 
rates are low, being but |6 per month in either 
course. 

STEAMBOATS. 

Since 1850 steamboats have plied almost con- 
tinuously between Napa City and San Francisco. 
The first was the Dolphin, Capt. Turner G. Baxter, 
master; her first trip was in 1850. She was not 



NAPA COUNTY. 195 

much larger than a whaleboat, with a locomotive- 
boiler and her passengers had to "trim ship" very 
carefully to keep from upsetting. It is said, that 
when coming up the river, the captain, who was 
very tall, came in sight long before the smoke 
stack did. General W. S, Jacks still preserves 
the bell of the Dolphin as a relic. 

The next steamer was the "Jack Hays," which 
was run by Capt. Chadwick, who afterwards lost 
his life on the "Brother Jonathan." The "Hays" 
was brought around the Horn in pieces, in 1849 on 
board the bark "La Grange," and was shipped 
hence by a joint stock company of which -W. W. 
Wilkins of Bolinas, Marin county, was 'a partner. 
The steamboat was discharged from the vessel at 
Benicia, where she was put together, and was the 
lirst steamboat that ever made the trip from the 
latter place to Sacramento. Upon its completion 
it was called the "Commodore Jones," in honor of 
Commodore A p. Catesby Jones. Her builder so^n 
disposed of her, and her name was changed to 
"Jack Hays," under which she got herself quite 
a reputation. 

In 1856 the steamer "Anna Abernatha" was 
run in this trade by Captain Folger, In April, 
1857, the steamer "Sophia" was run to Napa by 
Captain P. F. Doling. The "Vaquero" was run at 
one time by Captain Baxter. The steamer "Ex- 
press" ran here for a number of years, and went 
to decay at the old Soscol wharf. In 1859 the 
steamer "Paul Pry" was on the route. She was a 
speedy affair, making the trip in three hours. In 
1864 the "Cleopatra" was run between Napa and 
Soscol in connection with the "Amelia," which 
ran from there to San Francisco. The steamers 
"Ellen" and "Emma" were in the trade in 1881. 
There have been other steamers but their names 
are now forootten. In 1900 the fine steamers Zin- 



196 NAPA COUNTY. 

fandel and the Napa City were still busy in the 
trade. 

THE FIRE DEPAETMENT. 

Pioneer Engine Company, No. 1, was organized 
in April, 1859, by the election of Robert Crouch, 
president; E. S. Cheseboro, foreman; J. H. Moran, 
assistant; J. W. Henneway, second assistant; 
Ilarvey Wilder, secretary; and B. F. Townsend, 
treasurer. The first trial of the engine was on 
the 6th of June, 1860. Since then a hook and 
ladder truck and eight Babcock Extinguishers 
have been purchased. The citizens realizing the 
need of better fire protection are agitating the 
question of a new company. It is the hope of all 
concerned that their ambition will be realized. 

NAPA STATE HOSPITAL FOR THE INSANE. 

With a view of providing for further accom- 
modations, for the care and treatment of the in- 
sane in this State, the Legislature at the session 
of 1869-70 passed an Act authorizing the appoint- 
ment of a Commissioner to visit the principal in- 
sane asylums of the United States and Europe for 
the purpose of obtaining all accessible and relia- 
ble information as to the management, the differ- 
ent modes of treatment and the statistics of in- 
sanity, especial attention being called to the asy- 
lums of Great Britain, Ireland, France and Ger- 
many. In jmrsuance to the provisions of the Act, 
Governor Haight appointed as such Commis- 
sioner Dr. E. T. Wilkins, who at once entered into 
the duties assigned to him; and during his investi- 
gations he visited one hundred and forty-nine in- 
sane asylums. Forty-five of these were in the 
United States, one in Canada, fifteen in Italy, 
three in Bavaria, seven in Austria, eleven in the 
German empire, two in Switzerland, thirteen in 



NAPA COUNTY. 197 

France, eight in Belgium, three in Holland, 
twenty-four in England, ten in Scotland and 
seven in Ireland. 

During these investigations a number of plans 
of asylums were procured, and from these the 
plans of the Xapa asylum were selected, Messrs. 
Wright & Sanders of San Francisco being the 
architects. The Commissioner made his report 
to the Governor, December 2, 1871, and on the 
27th day of March, 1872, an Act was approved 
providing for the appointment of a commission, 
to select a site for the erection of an institution 
for the care and treatment of the insane, and 
making an appropriation of |237,500 towards the 
erection of the building. 

In the spring of 1872 Governor Booth appoint- 
ed as the Commissioners to select the site of the 
proposed asylum, Judge C. H. Swift of Sacra- 
mento, Dr. G. A. Shurtleff of Stockton, and Dr. 
E. T. Wilkins, of Marysville; and on the 2d day of 
August of that year said Commissioners submit- 
ted their report to the Governor, having selected 
Napa as the site for the asylum. 

At the session of the Legislature of 1873-4, a 
further appropriation of |G00,000 was made for 
the completion of the asylum, but that sum being 
insufficient for the purpose, the Legislature of 
1875-6 made a further appropriation of ij?194,000. 

Section nine of the Act of March 27th, 1872, 
provided that the plans and specification of this 
asylum should be upon the basis of accommoda- 
tions for not exceeding five hundred patients at 
any one time. On the 31st day of May, 1878, there 
were five hundred and one patients in the asylum, 
and at the time of the meeting of the Legislature 
on the 5th day of January, 1880, the number had 
increased to eight hundred and eight, rendering 
it necessary that further accommodation be pro- 



198 NAPA COUNTY. 

vided. Consequently at that session of the Leg- 
islature an appropriation of |20,000 was made for 
the purpose of fitting up and furnishing the attics 
in the rear of the amusement hall and over the 
laundry building, which work has been complet- 
ed, giving accommodations for one hundred and 
eighty patients. 

At the session of the Legislature of 1881 a fur- 
ther appropriation of |18,000 was made for fitting 
up and furnishing the attics over the extreme 
north and south wings of the building for the ac- 
commodation of one hundred and for-ty-six pa- 
tients. 

The Asylum is locat-ed about one and a half 
miles southeast of Napa City. The building faces 
the west and consists of a central building with 
wings extending on each side exactly alike, the 
divisions for sexes being equal. The center 
building consists of the oflice, library, Superin- 
tendent's office, public sitting room, and officers' 
apartments. In the rear of which are the amuse- 
ment hall, drug store, trunk room, dining room, 
kitchen and storeroom. 

There are twelve wards on each side of the cen- 
ter building, besides one on the fourth floor, and 
one in the attic of the centei- building, two in the 
rear of the amusement hall and one over the 
laundrv' building. Each one of the wards, in-, 
eluded in tlie wings, are divided as follows: At- 
tendants" room, dining room, pantry, clothes 
room, bath-room, wash-room, closets, one dormi- 
tory intended for six beds, one room 10x10 in- 
tended for two beds, and thirt^een rooms 8x10, in- 
tended for one bed each, eveiy room being lighted 
by a large window. 

The corner stone of the building was laid in 
the month of of Miirch, 1873, and the first j^atient 
was admitted on the 15th day of November, 1875, 



NAPA COUNTY. 19,9 

since which time, up to the flrsft of July, 1881, two 
thousand niu-e hundred and fifty -five patients 
have been admitted. One thousand four hundred 
and forty-three have been discharged, four hun- 
dred and fifty-eight have died and thirty-three 
have escaped, leaving in the asylum one thousand 
and twenty-one patients. The officers of the asy- 
lum in 1881 were: Trustees, Benjamin Shurtlett, 
M. D., President; J. C. Martin, A. G. Boggs, F. E. 
Johnson and N. D. Rideout; Treasurer, C B. See- 
ley. Resident officers, E. T. Wilkins, resident 
physician; L. F. Dozier, assistant physician; F. 
W. Hatch, assistant physician; J. B. Stevens, sec- 
retary; J. M. Palmer, steward; J. T. Johnston, 
steward's clerk; Mrs. E. F. Avey, matron; John 
Hawkes, supervisor; Eliza Kennedy, supervisor- 
ess; George B. Walden, druggist; A. M. Gardner, 
medical superintendent for 1900. 

The hospital was built at a cost of |1,500,000, 
shelters over 1,400 inmates, and numbers upon 
its pay rolls some 200 attaches, a large propor- 
tion of whom are residents of Napa. The city re- 
ceives from this institution, in salaries of em- 
ployes alone, more than the county pays into the 
State Treasury for taxes. 

TULOCAY CEMETERY. 

On the 24th day of December, 1858, a meeting 
of the citizens of Napa was held for the purpose 
of providing a burial ground for the accommoda- 
tion of the public. James Lefferts called the 
meeting to order, and W. S. Jacks was chasen 
chairman and G. W. Towle, secretary. A com- 
mittee of five was appointed by the chairman to 
prepare a plan of organization of the Cemetery 
Association; to find out as to the quantity and 
price of ground that could be purchased; to sug- 
gest a plan of laying out the grounds; the proba- 



200 NAPA COT/NT Y. 

ble expense of doing so, and the expense of fenc- 
ing the proposed cemetery. The members of the 
committee appointed for this purpose were Will- 
iam H. James, C, W. Langdon, A. L. Boggs, N. 
Coombs and W. S. Jacks. The next meeting was 
to be held on the 28th of the same month, at 
which the committee appointed at the previous 
meeting made their report, which was adopted. 
A committee of three was appointed to solicit 
subscriptions to be applied to defray the expense 
of surveying and laying oft' burial lots, and other 
incidental expenses that might be incurred, pre- 
vious to the sale of lots. A committee of five was 
appointed to draft a constitution and by-laws; to 
report at the next meeting. This committee com- 
prised, J. Lawley, R. Dudding, — Hamilton, A. 
L. Boggs and J. Lefferts. The committee ap- 
pointed at the last meeting for the purpose of pre- 
paring a plan of organization, reported that they 
had consulted with Senor Don Cayetauo Juarez, 
the proprietor of land in the vicinity of Napa 
City, and that gentleman had generously offered 
to donate to the trustees, to be appointed for that 
purpose, a quantity of land suitable for a ceme- 
tery, the area of the whole amount to be twenty- 
five or thirty acres. 

The committee reoojnmended that, as soon as 
the ground was laid off into lots, and before the 
sale of any lots whatever, Don Cayetano Juarez 
be permitted to select a lot for a family burying- 
ground, and that a certificate of such location be 
presented to him gratuitously. They also stated 
that they had examined the land offered and 
deemed it well suited for the purposes contem- 
plated, said land being that known as the Tulocay 
Cemetery The committee also recommended 
that as a basis of franchise a subscription list be 
provided, in which a sum of money not to exceed 




H H. THOMPSON, 

City ClerK. 




OLIVfd h „, 



y Sur 



veyoi 





'°c'?:-;VoK„, 



FRANn GIBBS, 



CITY OFFICIALS OF NAPA. 



NAPA COUNTY. 201 

twenty-five dollars to each person be subscribed, 
to be applied in defraying the expenses of survey- 
ing, laying off burial lots and other incidentals; 
that the amount- subscribed be returned as soon 
as the funds are received from the sale of lots; 
also, that the persons subscribing elect five trus- 
tees to receive the deed, to be known as the 
"Trustees of the Napa County Cemetery Associa- 
tion." A ijortion of the cemetery was to be set 
apart for the use of the Catholic church, which 
was to be selected by Don Cayetano Juarez. The 
committee also recommended that the trustees 
procure a conveyance of the land, and that a sub- 
stantial fence be erected around the cemetery. A 
vote of thanks was then tendered to Don Cayetano 
Juarez for his generous gift. 

At the next meeting the committee on consti- 
tution and by-laws reported: the constitution pro- 
vided that the association be known as the "Tiil- 
ocay Cemeter}^ Association;" that the business be 
transacted by a board of five trustees to be elect- 
ed by the owners of the lots; that as soon as the 
lots were laid off a public sale of them take place, 
proceeds of sale to be applied to necessary expen- 
ses, which being paid, the balance of the mimey to 
be expended in ornamenting grounds and keep- 
ing them in repair. The trustees are to be resi- 
dents of Napa county. None of the officers to re- 
ceive a salary except the secretary, who on re- 
ceiving and filing a deed to a lot, shall receive a 
fee of fifty cents. The first board of trustees 
elected consisted of N. Coombs, A. L. Boggs, J. 
Lefferts, Smith Brown, and J. Lawley. Sixty-six 
persons subscribed in sums ranging from five dol- 
lars to twenty-five dollars, at the opening of the 
subscription lists. On the 9th of April, 1859, 
a public sale was held at the Cemetery grounds, 
the price of each lot being previously fixed at |1(). 



202 NAPA COUNTY. 

June 14, 1859, the stone wall which had been re- 
cently completed around the cemetery, was ac- 
cepted, said wall being one hundred and eleven 
and two-thirds rods long; and an order was 
drawn on the Treasurer for the sum of |558.75, be- 
ing at the rate of |5 per rod. The cemetery was 
surveyed by N. L. Squibb May 30, 1865. A. L. 
Boggs having removed from the county, J. F. 
Lamdin was elected trustee in his place, and 
George Fellows was elected in place of J. Leff- 
erts resigned. 

At a meeting of the ti'ustees held August 1st, 
1873, the President was authorized to convey to 
the Supervisors of Napa county the tract marked 
"Poor" on the plat of the cemetery. 

In the spring of 1877 a windmill was erected 
and a tank constructed to contain three thousand 
gallons, also laid 2,000 feet of pipe. The Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows purchased block 
one hundred and eleven for |237.50. The trus- 
tees in 1881 were A. G. Boggs, J. A. McClellan, 
W. C. S. Smith, G. Barth and Jesse Grigsby; T. F. 
Kaney, Secretary. 

ATLAS PEAK 

Is a charming resort excelled by few. The re- 
port of the "Committee on the establishment of 
a State Hospital for Consumptives," says: 

"This region, situated on the ridge of the Coast 
Range of mountains east of Napa Valley, has of 
late years attracted considernble attention, on ac- 
count of its equability of temperature, its freedom 
from fogs, or harsh winds, the dryness of the at- 
mosphere, and its supposed advantages as a resi- 
dence for the consumptive. Its elevation is about 
fifteen hundred feet; its mean winter tempera- 
ture is fifty degrees; its summer temperature is 



NAPA COUNTY. 203 

seventy-four degrees, and its mean annual relative 
humidity only forty-five per cent, or fifty-one in 
winter and thirty-nine in summer. It is within 12 
miles of the city of Napa, easily accessible from 
the entire central portion of the State and from 
the coast, and the soil is well suited to the culti- 
vation of grain, fruit and vegetables. The climate 
of this ridge is remarkable for its healthfulness; 
no malarial diseases are known there; there is (.n 
abundance of pure water; the atmosphere, 
though sometimes warm for a short period at 
noon, is never oppressive; the evenings are agree- 
ably cool and invigorating. The winters are 
mild, and excellent facilities for camp life and 
outdoor exercise at all seasons of the year. 

"Taking into consideration all the facts present- 
ed and when other things are equal, the relative 
accessibility of the different localities visited, the 
committee feel justified in awarding a prefereni-e 
to Atlas Peak." 

Messrs. A. V. Evans and J. W. Harker each 
have a fine place on Atlas Peak, and the former 
has grown some of the finest fruits and vegetables 
to be found in Napa county, while the latter has 
an excellent young vineyard, and proposes to 
plant very largely. The soil is very deep and rich, 
being composed of volcanic matter chiefly. There 
is an excellent mineral spring near the peak and 
others may be developed. The view from the 
Peak is unsurpassed, except from Mount St. Hel- 
ena. Many have already reaped the benefits of 
a sojourn at the place, and from year to year the 
number will increase, and we are sure we are not 
saying too much when we assert that it is des- 
tined to be one of the chief sanitariums of Cali- 
fornia. 



204 NAPA COUNTY. 

NAPA SODA SPRINGS. 

The early history of these springs is full of con- 
tention because of their possible value, but we do 
not think the recital of these troubles is of any 
value or even interest to the readers of this book 
except it might possibly be for the mention of an 
occasional pioneer whose name is almost certain- 
ly to be found elsewhere in this book. The con- 
test over this property was long, fierce and bitter, 
and it is the greatest wonder that somebody was 
not killed. Dr. Wood was shot at one night, so 
it is reported, and the torch was frequently ap- 
plied to the different improvements. 

The present improvements, which are elegant 
and substantial, have been placed there by Ool. 
Jackson. 

The most striking feature is the mammoth ro- 
tunda which is constructed of stone roughly 
hewn, and rests on the backbone of a ridge, which 
puts out from the mountain side. It is two 
stories high in front and four in the rear. The 
front of the building is a facade while the main 
part is circular. The entrance to the building 
is through a wide hallway which leads to the 
rear. On either side and adjoining the entrance 
are elegant rooms intended for the use of the at- 
tendants about the place. Beyond tliese we enter 
into the circuhir body of the building, on the outer 
edges of which are arranged eighty stalls, in 
which there are three thicknesses of floor. The 
upper one is of three inch plank, and the seams 
are pitched and calked as tight as the deck of a 
vessel. Near the center is a grate trap, the floor 
being so lai<l that there is a slight declivity to- 
AA-ards the trap. The mangers are self-feeders, 
the supply coming from above, where the feed is 
stored. Inside the stalls is a driveway, and inside 
of that is a bank for saddles, serving also to sep- 



NAPA COUNTY. 205 

arate the driveway from the central area which 
is designed for a receptacle for carriages. This 
bank has four openings at opposite sides for con- 
venience of ingress and egress. The upper story 
has the halls and rooms in front similar to the 
lower story. The space occupied below for stalls 
and driveway will here be utilized as a storeroom, 
while the inner circular jirea makes an excellent 
skating rink. The water from the roof is con- 
ducted in pipes to the sewers underneath the sta- 
ble and serves the purpose of flushing them out. 
We now descend to the first underground story, 
which is used principally for stable purposes. We 
descend again and find ourselves in the basement, 
which is designed to be a wine cellar. The natural 
declivity of the ground is such that the casks may 
be placed in tiers one above the other so that the 
wine may be drawn with a syphon from one to 
another without disturbing the casks at all. The 
painting and graining and all carpenter work 
about this building has been done with as much 
care and excellence as though it were a mansion 
for human beings of noble birth. The next 
brought to our notice is a large shed for the recep- 
tion of the teams of transient visitors. It is open 
to the north, but closed at the west, south and 
east, so that the horses are thoroughly protected 
from the winds and sun. Strong iron rods ex- 
tend from the posts downward and are anchored 
to large rocks at a depth of twenty feet. Next in 
order comes a stone building, containing three 
very large rooms which are elegantly furnishe<l, 
each having a fireplace, while the walls are 
adorned with handsome paintings. The next 
building contains the kitchen and dining room on 
the lower floor, which is on a level with the road 
on the west side of the buildings. We ascend an 
iron stairway and reach a greensward terrace, 



206 NAPA COUNTY. 

from which the upper rooms are entered, consist- 
ing of a dining room, reading room, etc. On the 
west side of this builiding there is a veranda from 
which one of the most beautiful landscape views 
in California may be had. The lower story of the 
next adjacent building is used for bottling pur- 
poses. As the water comes from the springs it is 
passed under a gasometer, and the gas is retained 
in that while the water passes on into a reservoir. 
A hydraulic engine operates a compound pump, 
which forces the waiter and gas together again, 
one suction pipe leading to the gasometer and one 
to the reservoir. The union is effected just be- 
yond the pump and is led into two copper cylin- 
ders each with a steam gauge to indicate the 
pressure of the gas, and a water gauge to show 
the amount of water. The gas remains so thor- 
oughly incorporated with the w^ater that no agi- 
tator is necessary in the cylinder as is often the 
case w^hen mineral water is being bottled. From 
the cylinders the water is conducted to the bot- 
tling machine, where a bottle is filled, corked and 
fastened with the patent wire cork fastener, and 
the amount that may be bottled in a day is wholly 
dependent upon the ability of the operator. In 
the upper story of the building is a pleasant suite 
of rooms, reached by the way of the terrace. 

To the north of this building and within a few 
yards are two of the soda springs from which 
drinking water is obtained. A neat brick shelter 
is erected over each of them, surmounted with a 
dome-shaped ventilator. Between the last build- 
ing and the first spring a wide stone stairway 
leads to the garden, in which will be found al- 
most everything that grows in a semi-tropical cli- 
mate. Oranges and lemons thrive well, as is 
evinced by the fruit laden trees to be seen there 
now. In the garden there is a spring that comes up 



NAPA COUNTY. 207 

through a fissure in the rock, just as nature left it. 
A basin has been scooped out as a receptacle for 
the water and the rock ledge has been hewn away 
so as to leave a raised block of solid stone con- 
taining the basin. 

The grounds are artistically arranged and flow- 
ers and shrubs grow in profusion. In the forks jf 
a great oak there is a platform with seats and a 
railing around it, which is known as "Lovers' Re- 
treat." It is reached by a stairway, and is an 
acoustic curiosity from the fact that the slightest 
sound about the place can be heard in it. If it 
were vice versa perhaps it might not be so named. 
Some of the cosiest seats afford a prospect most 
beautiful, comprehending in one view the foot 
hills just below, the wide expanse of Napa's most 
lovely valley, then the mountains beyond. Pierc- 
ing the sky stands the lofty proportions of Mt. 
Tamalpais, like a giant sentinel on the ocean bul- 
warks of the continent. 

The Club house, completed in 1881, is a para- 
gon of perfection. The building being of rustic 
stone work, presents a handsome appearance, 
standing as it does on an elevation commanding 
a view of the entire grounds. Wide steps lead up 
to an open tower which serves the double purpose 
of entry and portico. The outer corners are sup- 
ported by stone pillars. The hallway is capa- 
cious. Extending through the building to the 
left after entering, are the bar and the bowling 
alley which is eighty feet long. The balance of 
the space down stairs is devoted to the leisure 
hour, an apartment for ladies is reserved from 
among the number. The upper part of the build- 
ing is devoted to the accommodation of guests 
and every appointment about this building is as 
perfect as mechanical ingenuity can devise. Any 
one who could not have good health in this place. 



208 NAPA COUNTY. 

TV'Ould have reason to feel despondent and those 
who enjoy good health should be able to pass a 
very happy and pleasurable time during the sea- 
son at the Napa Soda Springs. 

THE NAPA SANATORIUM. 

This establishment has achieved a reputation 
second to none in California. The manager, F. J. 
Chapman has had a wonderful experience in mat- 
ters pertaining to such institutions. The house 
physician, S. E. Chapman has had a practice as 
varied and extensive as any one of his age could 
acquire, and is especially interested in electric 
therapeutics and massage, in connection with the 
restoration to health of chronic invalids. 

Dr. E. Z. Hennessey, surgeon at the Sanatorium, 
has a well established reputation as a skillful sur- 
geon. 

The Sanatorium is located in Napa, one of the 
most beautiful towns in northern California. The 
walks and drives are interesting and delightful, 
no resort on the Coast affords more diversity. 
Convalescents from sickness or surgical opera- 
tion will find this establishment all that could be 
desired, as every thing possible is done for the 
benefit and pleasure of our guests, making a home- 
like atmosphere, carefully avoiding all those fea- 
tures common to ordinary hospitals. 

The buildings are modern— beautiful within a id 
without— surrounded by spacious and attractive 
grounds; every room large and sunny. 

Static electricity, the great value of this ele- 
ment is demonstrated in this establishment, hav- 
ing the largest and most powerful static electric 
machine obtainable. This form of electricity 
tends to equalize the circulation of the blood and 
other fluids of the body, eliminating the waste 
matter of the muscular system; is wonderfully 




Napa Sanatorivim 




entrance to Hall 




Parlor 



r~i 




.2 

'u 


e 
a 




NAPA COUNTY. 209 

eflficacious in the treatment of neurasthenia, in- 
somnia, rlieumatism, i;out, etc. The bath and 
massage department is a special feature and no 
expense has been spared to obtain attendants 
having experience. It is unnecessary to expatiate 
upon the wonderful recuperative eifects of mas- 
so-hydro-electro therapeutics to those who have 
had experience in that line, and for those who 
have not, there is a pleasant surprise in store for 
them in this course of treatment. The special 
treatment for the promotion of flesh or the reduc- 
tion of obesity is safe, pleasant and effectual. 

Food and cooking is all that could be desired; 
the bill of fare being made to fit the patient, in- 
stead of the patient to the fare. 

This valley is absolutely free from malaria and 
those suffering from chronic malarial poisoning 
cannot do better than to put in a few weeks at 
this establishment. 

We desire to notify all thait the room is limited 
and that the rooms will not be crowded so as to 
make it uncomfortable for any of the guests, so 
make application in advance. Address, Napa 
Sanatorium, Napa, California; or Room 74 Col- 
umbia Building, No. 916 Market street, San 
Francisco, California. 

THE GEOKGE E. GOODMAN LIBRARY. 

May 2d, 1901, was the date on which the corner 
stone of the Goodman library building was laid 
with impressive ceremonies. 

The library is the generous gift of George E. 
Goodman. 

The presentation speech was made by John T. 
York, and the speech of acceptance was made by 
the Mayor, J. A. Fuller. Almost the entire popu- 
lation of the city, including the pupils of the pub- 
lic schools were in attendance, while between 



210 NAPA COUNTY. 

times beautiful music was rendered by the Napa 
Parlor band and the Apollo Glee club. It was a 
great day for Napa, in which the liberality of Mr. 
Goodman was lauded and the general public re- 
joiced that such grand advantages were made 
possible to them. 

The children sang "My Country 'Tis of Thee," 
and Eev. Richard Wylie pronounced the benedic- 
tion, after which the stores which had closed for 
the occasion, opened, the assemblage dispersed 
and the citizens returned to their daily business. 
The beautiful stone building is rapidly approach- 
ing completion under the supervision of architect 
Turton and will be a source of pride to the city as 
well as an ornament. 

The event of this great ceremony was the mag- 
nificent speech of the Honorable Mayor of Napa, 
J. A. Fuller, which frequently drew forth enthu- 
siastic cheers from the assemblage, and we would 
be only too glad to reproduce it word for word did 
space permit, as it was well worthy of preserva- 
tion, being composed of such noble, lofty and 
patriotic sentiments. At the conclusion of the 
speech. Mayor Fuller then proceeded to perform 
the ceremony of laying the corner stone. 



YOUNT TOWNSHIP. 



GEOGRAPHY. 



Yount township is bounded on the north by Hot 
Springs and Knox townships, on the east by Yolo 
and Solano counties, on the south by Napa town- 
ship and on the west by Sonoma county. 

TOPOGRAPHY. 

The topography of the township is varied, as is 
natural in a mountainous country. The western 







js- "C ji^t '-^> . ,$ ^"H 



Goodman Library, Napa 



NAPA COUNTY. 211 

boundary line is located on the summit of a range 
of mountains. Passing eastward we come to 
Napa valley, which is much wider in this township 
than in the one above. We then come to a range 
of mountains lying on the east side of the Napa 
valley and running parallel with it, but in this 
township it is intersected laterally by Conn valley 
and then we come to another range of mountains, 
on the east side of which lies Chiles valley, then 
east of this is another range of mountains east 
of which lies the broad and fertile Berryessa val- 
ley and the eastern boundary like the western lies 
along the summit of a mountain range. 

SOIL. 

The soil of this township is generally very good 
indeed. No better soil for the production of vege- 
tables, fruit or cereals, need be desired than can 
be found in the Napa, Chiles or Berryessa valleys. 

The soil of the first named valley is better 
adapted for fruit, perhaps, than for cereals, but 
that of the last named, is exceedingly well adapt- 
ed to the production of cereals, as is evidenced by 
the enormous crops of grain which are annually 
produced in that section. 

All the mountain land in this section is of that 
peculiar formation, which is so well adapted to 
the growth of the vine, and the time is not far dis- 
tant when extensive vineyards will cover all of 
those mountain sides. 

CLIMATE. 

The climate of this township is simply grand. 
In the Napa valley it is somewhat cooler in sum- 
mer than in Hot Springs township, as the trade 
winds have freer access to the lower end of the 
valley. In Chiles and Berryessa valleys, the days 
are somewhat warmer than in the Napa valley^ 



212 NAPA COUNTY. 

portion of the township, during the summer sea- 
son, but the nights are always cool and delightful. 

EAELY SETTLEMENT. 

To Yount township belongs the honor of having 
the first white settler that ever located in Napa 
county. That grand old pioneer of pioneers, Geo. 
C. Yount, who came into the valley in 1831 
and in 1836 built a small house on the tract of 
land afterwards granted to him and known as the 
Caymus Rancho. This was a peculiarly construct- 
ed house, being two storie^s high aud being built of 
logs. The lower story was about nine feet square 
and the upper one was about fourteen feet square. 
The lower part was used as a fort or blockhouj<e, 
while he lived in the upper part. At that time 
the valley and mountains were full of wild In- 
dians; and how he managed to escape all their at- 
tacks, and to live among them in that early day, 
is decidedly a mystery. He ti'eated them with 
uniform kindness, however, and soon had a band 
of friends about him who would fight harder for 
him than they would for themselves. 

It is not known who was the next settler affer 
George C. Yount, but in 1S49, the following per- 
sons lived in Napa valley within the limits of tliis 
township: Yount, of course, resided on the Cay- 
mus TJancho, and he had constructed a fine, large 
adobe house by this time. Bartlett Vines, a son- 
in-law of Yount, lived at the upper end of the 
township, and about one mile below Dr. E. T 
Bale's place. Fie lived on the west side of the 
valley, in a small redwood house. Charles Hopper 
lived on the opposite side of tlie valley from the 
Yount place. He had a family consisting of his 
wife, one boy and several girls. eTames Harbin, 
the locator of Harbin's Springs and father of 
Matt Harbin, lived about a half a mile below Hop- 



NAPA COUNTY. 213 

pers' place. He had a family consisting of a wife 
and several children, and they lived in a log 
house. The Groezinger estate comprised part of 
the Harbin place. Captain John Grigsby lived on 
the east side of the valley and on the west side of 
the river, and near it, and just about west of the 
-Napa Soda Springs. 

Passing over into Berry essa valley we find that 
the first settlers there were Jose Jesus Berryessa 
and Sisto Berryessa, two Spaniards, to whom this 
whole valley was granted in 18i3. This tract 
comprised eight leagues, and contained thirty-five 
thousand, five hundred and fifteen and eighty-two 
one hundredths acres. They built an adobe house 
there at a very early date, the remains of which 
could be seen in Mr. A. Clark's corral about 1881. 
It had been razed to the ground long before the 
Americans began to visit the valley, and its exis- 
tence was unknown until Mr. Clark discovered it 
when leveling down the hillock the debris had 
made. They erected another house, part of which 
is still standing, and in a good state of preserva- 
tion, near Mr. Clark's house. Here may be seen a 
grand contrast. On the one hand is the adobe 
house of the Spaniards, which was the best they 
had or desired to have. It was to them the ulti- 
matum of buildings. On the other hand, and in 
grand contrast to it, is the handsome, stately, and 
elegant mansion of Mr. Clark. The first the culmi- 
nating point of architecture of the Spanish regime 
and the latter is the height of American genius. 

The first settlers from the States in the valley, 
were Captain Hardin, John Adams, William 
Mooer, Edward Cage and Andrew Wester, all of 
whom came in before the grant was divided. Fol- 
lowing the adobes spoken of above, as being 



214 NAPA COUNTY. 

erected by Berryessa, there was one built by Mr. 
(Wester, which is still standing, and one put up by 
Captain Hardin. After the division of the grant 
K. C. Gillaspie erected the first house for J. H. 
Bostwick, and Ezra Peacock built the first house 
in Monticello. 

TOWNS. 

There were only two towns in this township, 
Yountville and Monticello. 

YOUNTVILLE. 

This place was originally known as Sebastopol, 
and it retained that name until May, 1867. The 
townsite w^as chosen on the south line of the Oay- 
mus grant and the name of Yountville was given 
to it, but a lot of houses were built outside of the 
limits of the gr«^nt and the people who lived in 
that portion of the town desired to have it called 
Sebastopol. This will account for the two names 
the place has had. The first place of business was 
a store which was erected in the town, 1855. In 
1856 the Sebastopol Exchange Hotel was erected 
by Davis Wise, and — Clayton built the hotel 
known as the White House. J. H. Robinson had 
a blacksmith shop in the place also, at that time. 
In 1856 W. B. Arnold built a store in the town. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

Was organized May 14th, 1874. Charles Hopper, 
Francis Clark, W. T. Ross, Eliza Rector, Rosa 
Mayfield, Elvy ('lark, C. Ross, V. E. Brown, Mar- 
tha Forrester, F. Fawver, Ann Boston, J. H. 
Patts, S. H. Hill, Louisa Hill, Wm. Upchurch, 
Thos. Johnson and wife, E. Griffin and Louisa 
Burkett were some of the first members. The 
church in July, 1881, numbered sixty members. 



NAPA COUNTY. 215 

CHKISTIAN CHUKCH. 

After the usual experience of pioneer churches, 
this one is in a verj^ prosperous condition, out of 
debt, and a flourishing Sunday school. Up to 1881 
one hundred and seventy persons have been re- 
ceived into membership. 

VETEKANS' HOME ASSOCIATION. 

This association was incorporated 1882. Dona- 
tions were received sufficient to buy 910 acres of 
land in Napa valley. The first building erected 
contained officers' living rooms, library, hospital, 
dining room, and kitchen. The dormitories were 
built in 1884. All honorably discharged soldiery 
of the Mexican and civil wars, who were in Alms- 
houses and County Hospitals, and Asylums of this 
State were then removed to this home, thus pre- 
pared for them. In 1884, forty-two soldiers were 
cared for; in 1885, eighty-one; in 1886, one hun- 
dred and twenty-nine; in 1899 there were eight 
hundred inmates. 

The buildings now number forty-five, all steam- 
heated and lit by electricity; water and sewer sys- 
tem complete. This home cares for the largest 
number of old soldiers except three, in the United 
States; those who have a larger number are: New 
York, Illinois and Ohio. The total cost amounts 
TO a total over |320,000, of which |60,000 was ap- 
l)Popriated by the State. 

The home has been donated by the association 
to the State. 

OFFICEES OF ASSOCIATION. 

Sidney J. Loop, President; S. W. Backus, Vice 
President; John Jay Scovill, Secretary; John C. 
Currier, Treasurer. 



216 NAPA COUNTY. 

OFFICIAL AND MEDICAL STAFF. 

Col. Geo. W. Walts, Commaudant; Capt. Chas. 
E. Graham, Adjt.; Capt. J. J, Lyon, Quarter- 
master; Thos. A. Keables, M. D., Surgeon-in- 
eharge; W. F. McAllister, M. D., Asst. Surgeon; 
A. E. Phelan (S. F.), Consulting Oculist and Aur- 
ist. 

MONTICELLO. 

To E. A. Peaiock belongs the lionor of biiilding 
the first house in the tovrn of Monticello, which 
he did in the fall of 1866. This was a dwelling 
house; B. F. Davis put up another dwelling house 
and also a blacksmith shop in the fall of 1866. 
The blacksmith shop was the first place of busi- 
ness in the town. In the spring of 1867, David 
Tally erected a hotel building, which was known 
as the Fitch hotel. In the same spring, I. N. Van 
Neys started a store. In the spring of 1868, Robt. 
Thompson built a hotel on the opposite side of the 

street from the Tally house. In 1867, Beebe 

started a blacksmith shop. 

The population in 1881 was about one hundred. 

The town is situated in the lower end of Berry- 
essa valley 27 miles from Napa; has a union 
church with a seating capacity of about 200 peo- 
ple, in which services are held every other Sun- 
day, and in the town are several secret, benevolent 
associations; the Sportsman's Association of 
Knox township and the "Mystic Workers of the 
World." 

The Justice is John Hunter; Constable, W. E. 
Meagher. 

There arc^ two general merchandise stores, one 
butcher shop, one saloon and one hotel, two black- 
smith shops, two wagonniaking shops, one harness 
shop, one boot and shoe making and repairing 
shop, one Chinese laundry, Wells-Fargo Express 




0) 
u 



X 



NAPA COUNTY. 217 

Co., postoffice, and last but not least one physician, 
L. K. Riley. 

The town has a good public school house and 
telephone. 

PUTAH CREEK BRIDGE. 

This bridge is the largest stone structure of its 
kind west of the Rocky mountains; it is 298 feet 
in length and cost |20,000. 

Since 1894, fourteen different bridges and a 
number of culverts have bf^en built by this county 
at a cost of not less than |55,000. 

The Putah creek bridge is on the Berryessa 
road leading to Xapa, about one and a half miles 
from Monticello. 

BERRYESSA VALLEY. 

As stated, this valley was named after the 
Berryessas, to whom it was granted by the Mexi- 
can government. It passed through several 
hands, the history of which is not now known, and 
linally, one Sholtz became proprietor, and he dis- 
posed of it to Messrs. J. H. Bostwick, John Law- 
ley and J. M. Hamilton. They decided to place it 
upon the market in 1866, and had it surveyed into 
sections for that purpose. In November, 1866, 
Abraham Clark brought the first load of lumber 
into the valley. There were over twelve hundred 
feet of lumber on the wagon, which he brought 
over the top of Wild Horse mountain with four 
horses. He was moving in from Sonoma and he 
concluded the road over the mountain was too 
rough, so he brought the next load, consisting of 
household goods, by way of Suisun valley. At 
that time there were living in the valley, S. Butt- 
off, J. Finnell, R. C. Gillaspie, McCall, H. 

Marshall, J. Coleman, J. Smittle, and Hough- 
ton. In 1867, the whole of the valley was taken 



218 NAPA COUNTY. 

up and the setitlers were more numerous than at 
the present time. 

The valley is about ten miles long and three 
miles wide, and had been converted from the wild 
pasture lands which the settlers found there in 
1866, to one massive field of waving grain. There 
were three adobe houses standing in the valley 
when the settlers came in, the largest was ninety 
feet long, twenty feet wide and contained five 
rooms, and was located on the A. Clark's place. 
One at Andrew Westen's place was sixty feet long 
and twenty feet wide. *^>^ op^ at Grigsby's place 
was smaller. 

CHILES VALLEY. 

This lovely little valley is high up in the moun- 
tains, lying between Berryessa and Napa valleys. 
It was named for Col. Joseph B. Chiles, who led 
a party of thirty daring men across the plains in 

1841, among whom was Charles Hopper, the Kel- 
seys and many others, mention of whom will be 
found elsewhere. Ben Kelsey's wife accompanied 
the party, and was thus the first white woman 
who ever came over the Sierra Nevada mountains 
into California. Col. Chiles visited the valley in 

1842, but the Catacula grant was not ceded to 
him until November 9th, 1844. His first house, 
which was the first house ever erected in the val- 
ley, was built that year, and was made of rough 
logs, and was 15x20 in size. It is still standing, 
but housed in to protect it from the weather. The 
Colonel guarded it with jealous care as a relic of 
bygone pioneer days. William Baldridge was at 
first a partner with him, and he built the mill in 
the valley in 1848. The valley is now very thick- 
ly settled, and with a very enterprising and intel- 
ligent class of men, who have done much to de- 
velop its resources. Col. Chiles was a vei'y large 
man, over six feet in height and of a commanding 



NAPA COUNTY. 219 

presence; he was born in Missouri; John Bidwell 
of the famous Chico Kancho, was one of his com- 
panions across the plains. 

CONN VALLEY. 

This is a lovely little dale lying to the east of 
Napa valley, and in the range of mountains which 
skirts the latter valley on the east. It is neither 
very wide or long, but is indeed, a charming 
place. It was named after John Conn, who came 
into it at an early day, somewhere back in the 
'40's. He was at one time very wealthy, owning a 
large tract of land and much stock, but the habit 
of intemperance made him a total wreck and of 
his fine estate as well. His last days were spent 
in the county hospital, and in May, 1864, the kind- 
ly hand of death removed him to (let us hope) 
brighter scenes. 

GORDON VALLEY. 

This is a small valley lying on the east side of 
Napa county, and was named after William Gor- 
don, a pioneer of 1843. Gordon first settled on 
Cache creek, and his place was one of the land 
marks of the county before and for several years 
after the discovery of gold. It is not now know n 
when he came to Gordon valley to reside, but cer- 
tainly at a very early day, as he was the first set- 
tler in it. He died in 1876, at his residence in 
Cobb valley. Lake county. Gordon valley is a rich 
and fertile section of the county and many most 
estimable citizens reside there. 

EEDWOOD FALLS. 

Among the natural curiosities of Napa county, 
probably none are more worthy of mention than 
these falls. They are romantically located about 
twelve miles from Napa, near the head of Mill or 



220 NAPA COUNTY. 

Napa creek, in the redwood belt of Napa county. 
Striking the stream a few hundred feet above the 
upper fall and following it down, we find oursels'es 
walking upon a solid body of stone, with a wall of 
rock rising perpendicularly on either side to a 
height reaching from ten to fifty feet and not more 
than five feet apart. This rocky chasm leads to 
the upper fall, which is a nearly perpendicular 
descent of fifty feet, and it must make a magni- 
ficent waterfall in the winter time when the 
stream is swollen by the season's rains. The rocky, 
precipitous walls tower high over the falls, and as 
one looks up and down from the head of the falls, 
he sees little but a clear cut rock forming the wall 
of the deep abyss. Retracing our steps, and mak- 
ing a detour down the line of the stream, its bed 
is reached at a point a few rods below the lowest 
of the three falls. This fall is some twenty feet in 
height, and its head is reached by a little hard 
climbing up a short circuitous path. We then 
find ourselves at the foot of the middle fall in the 
most picturesque little grotto imaginable, bound- 
ed by precipitous stone walls, apparently from 
thirty to one hundred feet in height. The middle 
fall makes a descent of some twenty-five feet per- 
pendicularly, and at the foot there is a pool some 
six feet across and nearly twenty feet in depth. A 
few square yards of solid rock constitute the floor 
of this rocky chamber. A visit to this romantic 
spot will repay anyone. 

JOHANNISBERG. 

This well known mountain summer resort is 
under the able management of that prince of ca- 
terers, Theo. Blanckenberg, Jr., and is situated in 
the midst of the Napa redwoods, 1200 feet above 
the sea level, at the foot of Mount Veeder, and is 
noted for its ('xliilarating air, attractive scenery. 




J3 

(0 

"c 

C 

(0 

X 




NAPA COUNTY. 221 

and several mineral springs, hunting and fishing, 
and swimming, there being a large lake on the 
premises, wherein patrons can enjoy bathing and 
boating. Johannisberg is only seven miles stag- 
ing from Oakville station, on the Napa and Calis- 
tioga railway branch of the S. P, Ey. Co. Patrons 
leaving San Francisco at 7:30 in the morning, can 
reach the resort at 12 m. over fine roads and beau- 
tiful scenery, making a very pleasant and delight- 
ful trip. The fare by stage from Oakville station 
being but 50 cents per person. 

The grounds contain over 300 acres, a fine vine- 
yard, orchard, iron, sulphur and magneisia springs; 
croquet grounds, lawn tennis and bowling alley, 
are provided for the amusement of the guests; 
dairy and vegetable garden on the grounds and 
large rose garden, all add to the attractiveness of 
this beautiful health resort. Many other features 
that tend to make life pleasant are for want of 
space, not mentioned. 

The rates are reasonable; single person, per 
day, |2.00; per week, flO.OO; special rates to large 
parties or persons desiring to make a stay of ►sev- 
eral weeks. Rooms for rent in cottages and tents, 
send for circulars. Address, Johannisberg Resort, 
Oakville, Napa county, California. 

SAMUEL SODA SPRINGS HEALTH RESORT. 

This place is said to be one of the finest health 
and pleasure resorts in Napa county, and the wa- 
ter is noted for many cures. The climate is un- 
surpassed. Fine trout fishing and deer hunting 
and small game in abundance. Hotel and grounds 
have been splendidly improved and are nightly 
illuminated by gas which is manufactured on the 
grounds. Billiard and club rooms, with the con- 
venience of daily mail and papers, also long dis- 
tance telephone. What more could be desired? 



222 NAPA COUNTY. 

The physician iu charge is a regular graduate iii 
mediciue, psychology and medical electricity, by, 
name, J. W. Huckins, M. D., M. E. 

Samuel Soda Springs was taken up as a govern- 
ment claim, originally, by one named E. C. 
Samuels, some twenty years ago, and became 
widely known all over the country for its wonder- 
ful medicinal properties, there being seven dif- 
ferent springs of medical virtue at this resort, 
both soda and sulphur, and large quantities of this 
water is shipped to all parts of Oalifornia to those 
who have become acquainted with its healthful 
properties. 

At this resort complete bottling works are oj)- 
erated by a water power. This machinery was 
made to order for this special purpose in Phila- 
delphia and contains all the latest patents and 
improvements up to date, the spring water being 
bottled at the springs and contains its own natur- 
al gas. Baths have been fitted up and improved 
with accommodations for hot as well as cold min- 
eral baths, most excellent for rheumatism. 

At these wonderful springs the management 
has accommodations for 125 guests to 150, in ho- 
tel and cottages, while there are tents and cabins 
to rent for those who desire or prefer them. A 
nice dance hall, large and spacious, beautiful cro- 
quet and lawn tennis grounds, while all around 
is the romantic mountain scenery. The vege- 
table and dairy are on the grounds, as is also a 
wonderful cold storage capable of containing 
about fifteen tons, the walls being lined with ice 
two feet thick will be ample to keep all the dain- 
ties fresh for the table. 

Tlie proprietor, G. R. Morris, purchased this 
property in 1891, and has since that time continu- 
ously labored to make this beautiful spot the peer 
of any resort in northern California. Mr. Morris 




Samuel Mineral 'Spring's. 



NAPA COUNTY. 223 

was born in Missouri, November 13, 1851, so lie 
may be said to be a young man. After consider- 
able trouble he chose this locality to enjoy his ex- 
istence and preserve his health. In 1873 he mar- 
ried Miss Maggie Bryan, who was born in Ken- 
tucky. Their children are Mary G., 1882; and 
William R., 1884, both born in Solano county. The 
children are now attending school in Alameda. 

WALTERS SPRINGS. 

Many marvelous cures have been effected by 
these waters and they are deservingly popular. 
Dyspepsia, rheumatism, asthma and certain heart 
diseases are cured. The waters have been analyzed 
and are known to contain soda, magnesia, iron 
and are heavily charged with carbonic acid gas. 
The scenery is beautiful and romantic and all en- 
joy a visit to these healthful waters. 

The manager, and half owner, of this celebrated 
health resort is Mrs. Laura Smittle. This resort 
contains three distinct springs which are said to 
contain more minerals than any other conducive 
to the cure of diseases of the bowels, liver, stom- 
ach and kidneys, especially the torpid and 
sluggish actions of these organs and is also valu- 
able as a tonic. There is a daily stage to St.Helena 
(20 miles), daily mail, papers and telephone. 

Improvements are continually going on and 
more are projected. The waters of these springs 
have been analyzed and all information can be ob- 
tained from the management. 

The leading physicians indorse these springs by 
sending such of their patients that suffer from 
chronic complaints, indicating the use of such 
remedies. The visitor may be sure of kind and 
considerate treatment as the management con- 
stantly endeavors to promote the comfort and 
well-being of all who visit this famous health 
resort. 



224 NAPA COUNTY. 

HOT SPRINGS TOWNSHIP. 
GEOGEAPHY. 

This township is bounded on the north by Lake 
county, on the east by Knox township, on the 
south by Yount township, and on the west by 
Sonoma county. 

TOPOGRAPHY. 

The topography of this township is very simple 
in its main features. In the center lies the beau- 
tiful Napa valley, skirted on either side by a high 
range of mountains. Piercing these ranges are a 
host of lateral valleys and canyons. Napa river 
runs through its entire length, affording an out- 
let for its water-shed. 

GEOLOGY. 

This township presents many interesting geo- 
logical features. The lava flows from Mt. St. 
Helena came out quite early in the earth's history, 
and the rocks formed under them are of very an- 
cient origin. There is a great deal of volcanic 
matter around St. Helena, of course, and all the 
adjacent mountains on both sides of Napa valley 
in this township. The action of ages, yes eras, 
has entirely obliterated all evidences of a. crater 
on the summit of St. Helena, but the lava and 
scoria which it vomited forth all over the face of 
the country is still visible on every hand. 

SOIL. 

The soil in the upper end of this township is 
generally quite good. It is a loam in most places 
near the center of the valley. It is largely made 
up of volcanic products and therefore is white or 
reddish. It is often cold and not veiy productive; 



NAPA COUNTY. 225. 

gets hard in the summer, and in the winter is rath- 
er impervious to water. South of the Lodi iant;h 
the soil assumes a different character, and be- 
comes warmer, lighter, more friable and more pro- 
ductive. Here the valley is mostly a rich loam, 
and is well adapted to all kinds of products. 
Flanking the foot hills the soil is of a gravelly na- 
ture, and of a volcanic formation, hence it is bet- 
ter adapted to the growth of grape vines. 

CLIMATE. 

The climate of this toAvnship is simply grand, 
being mild, Marm and gentle. At the upper end 
of the valley it gets quite warm during the sum- 
mer season, still the heat is not oppressive, the air 
being light and dry. Farther south, in the vicin- 
ity of St. Helena, the weather gets quite warm 
during the summer, but there is a breeze blowing, 
which seems to make one feel more comfortable 
than at Calistoga, although the thermometer may 
indicate the same degree of temperature. In all 
this section the nights are delightfully cool an<l 
refreshing. The north wind is the disagreeable 
feature and is like a sirocco, scorching and wither- 
ing, but fortunately the fiery north wind comes 
seldom, and only lasts a day or two. In the winter 
it gets quite cold at the upper end of the valley 
and snow is seen on the brow of Mt. St. Helena 
for many days during the season. It does not get 
cold enough to interfere with the growth of grape 
vines, and it is claimed that there is frost oftener 
at Napa than at Calistoga. 

There is what is known as the thermal belt 
about half way up the mountain sides, where it is 
much warmer than it is either in the valley below 
or on the mountain tops above; here figs, oranges 
and delicate flowers grow undisturbed by the cold 
of w inter. 



226 NAPA COUNTY. - 

PRODUCTS. ' 

The products of this township comprise fruits, 
vegetables, cereals, berries and grapes; the soil is 
especially adapted to the growth of the grape- 
vine. The wines produced in this district sitand at 
the head of the wine product of the world. Silver 
and quicksilver are found; cord-wood and tan 
bark are also exported. 

EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

To that hardy old pioneer, John York, belongs 
the honor of being the first white settler in Hot 
Springs township. On the 15th of April, LS45, 
he, with his wife and child, started overland for 
California. At Independence, Missouri, he join- 
ed a company of which the following were mem- 
bers: Benjamin Dew ell, now^ of Lake county, John 
Grigsby, Daniel Hudson, William Hudson, W. B. 
Elliott (deceased), William B. Ide, Mrs. Delaney 
and sons, Messrs. McDowell, Ford and John 
Brown. This company arrived at Sutter's fort in 
October of that year, under command of Captain 
John Grigsby. Later, that same fall, Mr. York, in 
company with Daniel and William Hudson and 
W. B. Elliott, came to Napa valley and stopped a 
few days at Yount's ranch. He then proceeded to 
Calistoga where he erected a cabin, which was 
the first building in that part of the country. He 
also put in the first crop of wheat ever sown in the 
vicinity of Calistoga, and north of Yount's place. 

We do not know if William B. Elliott went into 
Hot Springs township that fall or not, but he was 
there soon afterwards. He had a familj'^ consist- 
ing of his wife and several grown sons and 
daughters. The experience of this pioneer family 
would make an interesting book, if it were fully 
written up. While at Calistoga in that early day, 
with no neighbors but wild Indians, bears and 



NAPA COUNTY. 22T 

California lions, it was no uncommon thing for 
the wife and children to remain alone for days, 
while the father and older sons were away on 
hunting or other expeditions. They lived in a 
tent, which, of course, afforded no protection from 
the nightly intrusions of the grizzly. This brave 
woman was not the one to succumb to the raven- 
ous attacks of the huge monsters without adopt- 
ing some expedient to escape an encounter from 
them. At such times she would take the children 
and veritably roost in the trees, high above the 
reach of bruin. A scaffolding was prepared in the 
forks of a mammoth oak tree, and on this she 
would make her beds and she and the children 
would sleep safely, if not soundly. The bears 
would make nightly visits to the place and eat up 
every scrap that could be found. She did not 
fear the visit of the day time, for she could easily 
mount to her perch in the tree, and fetch his bear- 
ship to the ground with a well directed shot from 
the rifle, which she could handle as well as a man. 
Such was the life those pioneer women led, and 
all honor is their due for the noble courage they 
displayed in facing the dangers they did. 

Among the other early settlers in this township 
may be mentioned William Fowler and his sons, 
William Jr., and Henry, Avho came there in 1846, 
and purchased four thousand acres of the "Aqua 
Caliente" grant, William Hargrave, who was a 
partner with them in the stock which was put on 
the place, John Cyrus, F. E. Kellogg, R. P. Tucker, 
David Hudson, L. Keseberg, a survivor of the 
fated Donner party. Col, M, G. Eitchie, A, Jesse, 
William H. Nash, James Harbin, Enoch Cyrus, all 
of w hom came there in 184G. In 1847, S. J, Tucker, 
J, W. Tucker, and G. W. Tucker located about 
three miles south of Calistoga, In 1850, William 
Moore and William Dinning, and in 1852, Peter, 



228 NAPA COUNTY. 

Teal settled near Calistoga. Through the kind- 
ness of Messrs. J. H. McCord, John York and oth- 
ers, we are able to give the names and locations of 
all the settlers in this township in 1849. Begin- 
ning at the head of the valley, the first settler was 
John Cyrus, who lived in a log house about one 
and a half miles northwest of Calistoga, on the 
road leading to Knight's valley. He had a wife 
and six children. 

The next place was occupied by the Fowlers, 
William Sr., William Jr., and Henry and their as- 
sociate, William Hargrave. Theirs was a log 
house, and stood at the foot of the mountain west 
of Calistoga. Calvin Musgrove also lived on the 
premises with his wife. The next place was own- 
ed by Wells and Ralph Kilburn, and they lived 
about one mile south of Calistoga. They both had 
families and lived close together. 

William Nash was the next settler that we come 
to, passing down the valley, and his place was 
about half a mile aonth of Owsley's. He had a wife 
and fourteen children, and lived in a split board 
house. M. D. Ritchie lived a half mile south of 
Nash's place. He had a wife and five children, 
and lived in a log house. Reason Tucker lived 
across the road from Ritchie's place, in a. split red- 
wood house, he had a wife and three or four boys. 
Irvine Kellogg lived about a half mile south of 
Tucker's, in a frame house. He settled there in 
1846, and had a w ife and seven children. David 
Hudson lived uj) on the hills, about half a mile 
west of where the Berringer Brothers have their 
vineyard, and also owned the land on which it was 
planted. He had a wife and one child, now Judge 
Rodney Hudson, of Lake county. His house was 
built of split redwood and was located on the 
north side of Hudson creek. 

John York lived on the south side of Hudson 



NAPA COUNTY. 229 

creek, and further iu the hills. He had a wife and 
two or three boys, and lived in a split redwood 
house. Dr. Edward T. Bale was the last settler 
who lived in this township, going south, as we 
have done. He had an adobe house, about three 
miles south of where St. Helena stands now, and 
on what is still known as the Bale place. It is 
stated that he came to California in 1832, as a 
ship carpenter on a whaling vessel, which he de- 
serted. He was married to one of Nicolas Higuer- 
ra's daughters and died in 1850. He received a 
grant for the Rancho Carne Humana from the 
Mexican government, and did much to start ihe 
ball of improvement to rolling in Napa valley. 

Among other characters who floated to the 
surface in an early day in the vicinity of Calls- 
toga, wias Peter Storm. This old pioneer was 
born in Christiansend, Norway, in September, 
1799. When he was fourteen years of age, he left 
his home and followed the sea until he came to 
California in 1833, having traveled over many 
parts of the earth. His life in the early days of 
California was full of adventure. While he lived 
in this country, he followed hunting and trapping 
mostly in this and Lake and Mendocino counties. 
He was a member of the Bear Flag party, and 
many believed him to be the man who made the 
Bear flag, but such was not the fact. There is a 
flag in existence which is known as the Storm 
l?ear flag, which was made by him, but it was 
made several years after the occasion of using the 
first Bear flag, and was designed in imitation of 
the original, and was used on the occasion of a 
celebration of Admission Day in Napa or Sonoma 
counties. 

In November, 1873, Rev. Asa White of the Meth- 
odist church, died in Calistoga. He was the pio- 
neer preacher of California, coming here in 1849. 



230 NAPA COUNTY. 

He held his first services in a tent on Powell 
street, San Francisco, and he built the first Meth- 
odist church ever erected in that city, on Powell 
street. 

Col. M, D. Ritchie, came into the township in 
1850. He was born in Pennsylvania, April 19, 
1805; went thence to Indiana, at a very early day, 
and thence to Illinois, where he engaged in the 
Black Hawk w^ar, having command of a regiment 
during that time, hence his title of Colonel. In 
1846 he crossed the plains to California; there 
came with him in the same train liis son-in-law, 
Hon. John S. Stark, who was afterwards Sheriff 
and County Judge of Napa county. Col. Ritchie 
settled in Sonoma county, where he resided until 
1850, when he came to Napa county and located in 
Ritchie Canyon. He remained there until 1865, 
when he moved to Napa city, where he resided 
until August, 1874, when he died, being then in 
his seventieth year. He was a Justice of the 
Peace in Hot Springs township for several years, 
and was also an Associate Justice for Napa coun- 
ty at one time. 

TOWNS. 

The two principal towns in this township are 
Calistoga and St. Helena, both of which are love- 
ly, thriving places. 

ST. HELENA. 

St. Helena is the next subject to be taken under 
consideration. It is much larger than Calistoga, 
and next in size to Napa city, the largest town in 
the county. It is eighteen miles north of Napa 
and nine mih^s south of ("alistoga. 

Harry Still, an Englishman, purchased one iiun- 
dred acres of the Bale grant in 1852, which ex- 
tended from Sulphur creek to Madrona avenue. 



NAPA COUNTY. 231 

He put up a store in a shanty built of redwood 
splits; he also built a small house for a dwelling, 
composed of the same material. 

The store stood on the rear end of one of the lots 
the Palace hotel stands on. He foresaw that this 
being the heart of a rich agricultural section, that 
a flourishing town might gather around the nu- 
cleus of which his store might be the center. To 
be certain to give the place a good start, he made 
the liberal offer of a lot to those who would direct 
a building on it, and in 1885, Mr. John Kister 
erected two buildings on what is now the corner 
of Spring and Main streets. In one of these build- 
ings Mr. Kister kept a shoe store and a stock of 
leather in which he dealt, and the other was his 
dwelling. In 1855, A. Tainter built the first build- 
ing used as a hotel in the town, it was a small 
story and a half redwood building; in 1856 he sold 
out to Hiram Louderback. Shortly after H. Dick- 
son and John Howell put up and conducted a 
blacksmith shop. Robert Calderwood opened a 
wagon shop on the northeast corner of Spring and 
Main streets. 

The Englishman Still, dug the first well and 
Kister the second, and his was the first lot fenced 
with palings. 

In 1856, Christianson Turkeldsen built the first 
house on the east side of the street, and it was a 
good, substantial building. 

A. W. Elgin built a small store opposite the 
termination of Spring street, in which he conduct- 
ed business for some time. 

In 1858, David Fulton erected a story and a half 
building and opened the saddlery business. 

In the Spring of 1857, H. Dickson erected a 
dwelling house. 

Mr. Kister relates that Mr. Henry Still and VVm. 
Taylor named the town. A party was in Still's 



232 NAFa county. 

store one night discussing the naming of the town, 
and the name of St. Helena was suggested by 
these gentlemen and adopted by the entire party. 

In 1860 Tainter's hotel was destroyed by lira 

The first school house was erected in 1858, and 
was used until the erection of the present strut!- 
ture. The first church was erected by the Bap- 
tists in 1857. The second hotel was built by John 
Wolf, on the same site occupied by the former and 
met a similar fate, being destroyed by fire in 18615. 

In 1865, Mr. Ramperdahl completed the Nation- 
al Hotel, now the Van Tassel. In 1867, J. Vieh 
erected the large and commodious brick building, 
The St. Charles Hotel, now known as the Palace. 
In 1881, the Windsor Hotel was built by Mr. Al- 
strom. 

The town of St. Helena was incorporated March 
24th, 1876; on the second Monday in April, the 
first municipal election was held and the follow- 
ing officers were elected: Board of Trustees, David 
Cole, H. A. Pellet, D. O. Hunt, W. T. Simmons 
and G. C. Fountain; Treasurer and ex-officio Col- 
lector, D. B. Carver; Marshal and Assessor, J. H. 
Allison. The first meeting of the Board was held 
April 17th, at which time H. A, Pellet was chosen 
chairman, and Charles A. Gardner Clerk; N. M. 
Bonliam Attorney and M. G. King, Engineer. The 
city built a jail at a cost of |158, in June. The 
charter to the city was granted by a special act 
of the Legislature, is a well written document and 
well calculated to advance and develop the best 
interests of the town. Much work has been done 
under city management and the town has emerged 
from a country village into a beautiful city, with 
all the concomitants of civilization up-to-date. The 
Board of Trustees for 1900 are G. C. Fountain, 
Mayor; P. S. Grant, E. G. Schuneman, B. Bruck 
and H. G. Kamners. 




B. BRUCn 



p. S. GRANT 

G. C. FOUNTAIN 

Mayor of St. Helena, and Board of Trustees. 

E. G. SCHUNEMANN H. G. RAMNERS 



NAPA COUNTY. 23J 

St. Helena is an attractive town, beautifully lo- 
cated on the line of the Napa Valley railroad. It 
is a town of about 2,000 inhabitants, and has a 
large contributary population in the thickly settl- 
ed valley surrounding it. The rich surrounding 
valley is largely given up to vineyards of wine 
grapes and dotted with extensive wineries, in 
which hundreds of thousands of dollars are in- 
vested. 

The town is well kept and economically govern- 
ed; it has good streets and an excellent sewer 
system. The climate of this portion^p.f the valley 
will compare favorably with any section of the 
State for comfort and healthfulness. The educa- 
tional advantages offered are first class— a graded 
grammar school with six teachers doing thorough 
work, and a newly organized but thoroughly es- 
tablished High school offering superior advant- 
ages in this line to home-seekers. Six or seven re- 
ligious denominations own their church buildings 
here, and have prosperous congregations. A free 
public library is supported by the town and iH 
constantly being added to and extended in useful- 
ness. 

From a business point of view, St. Helena is 
well provided with enterprising representatives 
of nearly every branch of trade, comfortably hous- 
ed in substantial and commodious business 
blocks. 

St. Helena is the stage station for Aetna 
Springs, Samuel Springs, and the St. Helena Sai- 
itarium. The latter is located but three miles 
from town. 

Contributary to St. Helena are the productive 
grain farms of Conn, Chiles and Pope valleys, and 
the famous fruit orchards of Howell Mountain. 
The trade from these sections largely falls to the 



234 NAPA COUNTY. 

town, making it a busy and prosperous trade cen- 
ter. 

As a place of residence, no more delightful sec- 
tion can be found. The surroundings are pictures- 
que and attractive, the climate all that can be de- 
sired, and its proximity to San Francisco (two 
trains each way daily), rendering it an ideal spot 
for summer homes. Many wealthy residents of 
San Francisco and Oakland have chosen St. 
Helena and its immediate vicinity as a site for 
beautiful and expensive residences. 

BAPTIST CHURCH. 

In 1857, Hiram I.ouderback donated a lot for 
the purpose of a church site. John Cyrus, Henry 
Owsley, and David Fulton were the first Trustees. 
A suitable building was erected in 1872. The first 
record is dated 1850. Stephen Eiley was Modera- 
tor and James M. Case, Clerk. September 25th, 
1852, a business meeting was held and W. A. Rec- 
tor, was chosen Deacon, S. Riley, Moderator, and 
J. M. Case, Clerk. May 22d, 1853 at another busi- 
ness meeting it was agreed to send S. Riley, C. S. 
(irigsby, Thomas Lensley, Bradis Williamson and 
A. Rector to the Pacific Association. The follow- 
ing persons united with this church September 
10th, 1854: William Hudson, from Santa Rosa: 
Enoch ('yrus, by letter; Mrs. Cyrus, by letter; T. 
J. Porter, Henry Owsley, Mrs. Francis Owsley, 
Miss R. E. Owsley, by baptism; W. H. Pendleton, 
by letter; Lucinda York, William Rector, Mrs. 
Rector, Stephen Broaddus and Mrs. Broaddus. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

In the year 1853, the White Church was built on 
Father Tucker's farm, midway between Calistoga 
and St. Helena. The church took its name from 
the fact that it was the only painted church or 



NAPA COUNTY, 235 

house in Napa valley. The church building is 
valued at |2,500, and the parsonage at |600. 

CUMBERLAND PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH 

Was a building 40x70 and an elegant structure. 
On the 26th of July, 1873, an attempt was made to 
destroy the building by fire. That it was the work 
of an incendiary can not be doubted, for bags sat- 
urated with coal oil were fastened all the way up 
the belfry rope and then set fire. Fortunately l.he 
tire was discovered and put out before any great 
damage was done. But on February 15th, 187-1, 
the building was completely destroyed by fire, 
never to be rebuilt again by that body. They have 
no organization now in St. Helena. 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

Organized May 30th, 1874, with the following 
members: J. I. Logan, Mrs. U. J. Logan, J. Cleg- 
horn, Dr. C. F. A. Mitchell, Mrs. L. G. Mitchell, 
Mrs. Mary Green, L. Spear, Mrs. Eliza Spear, 
Mary A. Penwell, Mrs. Sophia Hunt, Miss Jennie 
Carson, R. F. Lane, Mrs. Elizabeth C. Lane, Phillip 
Elting, Mrs. Clarinda Mills, Mrs. Phoebe A. Wood- 
burry, and Miss Mamie Gluyas. Rev. James 
Mitchell presided. October, 1875, they began ':he 
erection of their handsome structure on the lot 
on which the Cumberland building had stood; it 
was dedicated on June 30, 1876. The building is 
34x52 in size and cost |4,000. 

SEVENTH DAY ADVENT CHURCH 

Was organized May 16th, 1874, by Elder J. N. 
Loughborough, with twenty members as follows: 
John Mavity, Amelia W. Mavity, James Creamer, 
Hannah Creamer, Emory J. Church, Millard 
Church, Hugh Hackney, Elizabeth Carter, Sarah 
J. Anthony, Sarah Spencer, Ruth C. Cruey, Mary 



236 NAPA COUNTY. 

Ann Stephenson, Anna Boyd, Margaret Cooper, 
Martha Hudson, Emily H. Wood, L. Thomson, 
James Barry, Samuel Jacks, Julia Jacks. They 
have a property valued at |2,000 and are free from 
debt. 

CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

About 1866, a building was erected here by Eev. 
Father Peter Deyaert. This answered the pur- 
pose until May 1877, when the present structure 
was begun under the supervision of Rev. M. Mul- 
ville. Rev. Father M. D. Slattery completed the 
building and it was dedicated March 28, 1878. It 
is 30x60 in size, and a very nice edifice, costing 
13,500. 

SCHOOLS. 

The first school in St. Helena was held in a 
small building erected for the purpose on the 
banks of York creek, near the site of Mr. Ewer's 
residence. About 1858, this building was moved 
1o near the center of the town and still used for 
school purposes. Since then a substantial struc- 
ture has been erected, and there are now four de- 
partments, which are under the supervision of a 
competent and efficient corps of instructors.. 

A beautiful two-story stone school house will be 
built this year (1001), and will be the finest in the 
county. 

FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 

St. Helena Lodge, No. 93, F. and A. M., was or- 
ganized at Yountville, U. D. November 24th, 1855, 
with the following charter members: S. Rosen- 
baum, J. W. Deering George C. Yount, J. M. 
Wright, J. J. May, S. S. Christman, William Bald- 
ridge, and J. R. Hazelton. The first officers U. D. 
were: S. Rosenbaum, W. M.; J. W. Deering, S. W.; 
George C. Yount, J. W.; J. M. Wright, Treasurer; 



c 



U 

a 

Z 



NAPA COUNTY. 237 

J. J. May, Secretary. The charter was granted 
May 8th, 1856, and the name of the lodge then was 
Oaymus. The lodge was moved from Yountvilh? 
to St. Helena, June 3, 1865, and the dispensation 
to change the name to St. Helena was granted. 
Just after receiving the charter the lodge erected 
a building and the hall was dedicated with 
appropriate ceremonies. The following gentlemen 
have been honored with the position of Worship- 
ful Master: S. Rosenbaum, J. J. May, Ed. Evey, 
Ed. L. Levy, George C. Yount, William H. Holli- 
day, James Allfrey, William J. Clayton, S. Mead, 
F. D. Evarts, John H. Allison, D. B. Carver, C. F. 
A. Mitchell and W. T. Simmons. 

INDEPENDENT OKDER OF ODD FELLOWS. 

St. Helena Lodge, No. 167, I. O. O. F., was or- 
ganized January 31, 1870, with the following 
charter members: Alexander Korns, S. C. Penwell, 
H. A. Pellet, John S. Adams, C. E. Davis, H. O. 
Wyman, and J. I. Logan. The first officers were: 
S. C. Penwell, N. G.; Alexander Korn, V. G.; J. 
S. Adams, Secretary, and C. E. Davis Treasurer. 

The following gentlemen have filled the posi- 
tion of Noble Grand: S. C. Penwell, H. A. Pellet, 
J. C. Adams, C. E. Davis, G. W. Montgomery, P. 
Hastie, J. Mavity, W. L. Wilson, J. K. Hall, W. xV. 
C. Smith, J. E. Straus, C. T. McEachran, J. S. Kis- 
ter, W. M. Morford, S. T. Hammond, F. E. Dick- 
inson, P. G. Hottel, W. W. Lyman and F. Pellet. 
The lodge is flourishing and they have a nicely 
furnished hall. 

INDEPENDENT ORDER GOOD TEMPLARS. 

St. Helena Lodge, No. 271, I. O. G. T., was or- 
ganized July 17, 1879, with the following charter 
members: Mrs. A. L. Spire, Mrs. A. A. Inman, 
Miss Allie Warren, Miss Jessie Elgin, Mrs. Mary 



238 NAPA COUNTY. 

Howell, Mrs. Glara D. Mills, Mrs. Minnie Van 
Deworker, Miss Kate McGeorge, Mrs. L. Cooper, 
Miss Florence Mills, J. E. Lawson, M. L. McCord, 
F. Mixon, W. H. Armes, B. F. Kittlewell, G. M. 
l^arder, E. Bussenius, W. A. Mackinder, Rev. Jas. 
Mitchell, Miss Lizzie Beach, Mrs. Elizabeth F. 
Beach, William F. S. McG^eorge, W. H. C. Reese, 
Miss Grant Elgin, Miss Annie Dixon, H. E. Con- 
ver, J. O'Brien, Miss Mary Cole, Miss L. Bennett, 
Miss Josie Risley and Rev. S. Kinsey. 

ANCIENT ORDER UNITED WORKMEN. 

Eureka Lodge, No. 15, A. O. U. W., was organ- 
ized December 31, 1877, with the following chart- 
er members: J. H. Allison, H. E. Alden, H. F. Mc- 
(^ormick, G. H. Brown, Chas. Young, H. J. Lew- 
elling, J. E. Straus, W. L. Phillips, H. A. Pellet, 
Theo. Van Tassell, L. W. Eby, J. N. Faulkenstein, 
T. Greer, J. Greer, W. W. Bradberry, George Lan- 
der, A. C. Ramphendahl, J. S. Fruits, O. C. Blaney, 
L. H. McGeorge, A. C. Simpson, G. W. Fisher, 
James McGee, and J. Hall. 

AMERICAN LEGION OF HONOR. 

St. Helena Council, No. 431, A. L. of H., was or- 
ganized February 17, 1881, with the following 
members: J. I. Logan, C. E. Davis, J. H. Allison, 
H. A. Merriam, Theo. Van Tassell, W. A. Mackin- 
der, J. E. Straus, J. C. Mixon, F. E. Meilenz, F. E. 
Dickenson, A. Patterson, James Cruey, Mrs. F. M. 
Woodward, Mrs. M. E. Mixon, James A. Allison, 
C. N. Hale, H. E. Alden, M. C. Cook, C. F. Rice, W. 
J. G. Davison, W. W. Lyman and C. H. Butler. 

FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

St. Helena Hose Company, No. 1, was organized 
August 28, 1878. The officers for that year were: 



NAPA COUNTY. 219 

J. Haskins, Foreman, and E. J. Levy, secretary. 
The appliances of the company consist of one hose 
cart, six hundred feet of hose, hooks, ladders, 
lanterns, axes, etc. There are ten hydrants in St. 
Helena; the head of water is sufficient to force a 
stream of water over the highest building. 

THE ST. HELENA STAR 

Is the leading paper of upper Napa valley. It 
was established in 1874 by Dewitt C. Lawrence, 
the first number being issued September 25th, of 
that year. The first copy off the press sold for |2(). 
Mr. Lawrence conducted the paper a little more 
than a year, when he sold out to Chas. A. Gard- 
ner, who looked after the destiny of the Star until 
March, 1883 (with the exception of about six 
months' lease to N. A. Morford) when W. A. Mac- 
kinder purchased a half interest. The firm of 
Gardner & Mackinder was at the helm ten 
months. January 1st, 1884, Mr. Gardner retired, 
leasing his interest in the paper to his partner. 
The first of the year, 1885, W. A. Mackinder pur- 
chased Mr. Gardner's interest and became sole 
owner, Mr. Mackinder conducted the paper suc- 
cessfully until October 1st, 1887, when it passed 
into the hands of Jesse H. Diingan, now of the 
Woodland I^Iail, and Frank B. Mackender, the 
present proprietor. Dungan & Mackinder at once 
improved the plant, and both being practical 
printers, were successful from the start. On Oc- 
tober 12th, 1891, Mr. Dungan sold his interest in 
the Star to F. B. Mackinder, who has ever since 
been the editor and sole proprietor. Mr. Mack- 
inder has given careful attention to every 
detail of the business and has always published 
a good, clean, newsy, local paper, zealously devot- 
ed to the best interests of Napa county. His 
efforts have been rewarded by liberal patronage 



240 NAPA county. 

and the Star has been very prosperous under his 
management. In February, 1900, Mr. Mackinder 
commenced the erection of a home for the Star. 
The building is of stone, one story in height and 
34x75 feet in size. It is centrally located and 
presents a handsome appearance. Every atten- 
tion was paid in the construction to conveniences 
for dispatching business, and nowhere in Cali- 
fornia will be found a better arranged or more 
modern printing office. The building was occu- 
pied June 1st, 1900, and has added one more to 
the achievements of the Star in its constant 
efforts to upbuild the town of St. Helena. Mr. 
Mackinder is always adding to his plant and 
never spares labor or expense in his efforts to give 
the people all the news. 

THE ST. HELENA SENTINEL 

Was started in November, 1894, by Lewis & 
Vallandingham. During the first year of its ex- 
istence it suffered the usual vicissitudes of a new 
country weekly, but at the end of that time the 
paper was purchased by Lee Fairchilds, the gifted 
orator and writer, who put a good bit of energy 
into the enterprise. 

In May, 1896, the plant was purchased by O. H. 
Blank, who has been connected with the paper 
ever since. 

The Sentinel is well known as a fearless and 
aggressive paper which never shirks a responsi- 
bility or hesitates in exposing matters inimical to 
the public good. 

This policy has caused a steady increase in cir- 
culation as well as a good name for reliability. 

It is edited and published by Blank & Heath, 
and is issued every Thursday. 



>IA , -. 



■^'*^ ^-'i 




NAPA COUNTY. 241 

TAPLIN BKO'S. CREAMERY. 

J. O. TAPLIN, JR., W. H. TAPLIN. 

This creamery is located on the Taplin ranch, 
two and a quarter miles from St. Helena, on Edge 
Hill road to Napa, and receives daily from 4,000 
to 6,000 pounds of milk, according to the season, 
but generally makes about 200 pounds of butter 
daily. The capacity of the churn is 375 gallons of 
cream. The separator and all other machinery is 
driven by steam power. The butter is shipped to 
Napa and St. Helena. This creamery has a fine 
reputation for a fine product and commands the 
highest prices on the market. 

The Taplin ranch was bought by J. O. Taplin, 
Sr., of Jerome Wade, in 1871. Mr. Taplin, Sr., 
was a Vermonter, born July 22, 1830; came to 
California in 1859, and settled in Napa county in 
1866. He died January 22, 1877. 

He married Louisa B. Hunt, January 10th, 1861. 
She was born in Massachusetts, 1834. Their 
children are Wm. H. Taplin, born in San Fran- 
cisco, 1864, and John O. Taplin, Jr., born in San 
Francisco, 1865; Clara C. Taplin (Mayfield), born 
in Napa county, 1868; Daniel O. Taplin, 1874. 

This ranch contains 275 acres, 138 being culti- 
vated. The principal business is dairy stock and 
the firm expects to milk 100 cows of their own in 
1902. W. H. Taplin married Clara A. Griffith, 

1887, at St. Helena. She was born in Santa Rosa, 
her children are Clara Louise, January 19th, 1887; 
AYilliam H., February 1st, 1892; Alice E., March 
4, 1894. 

J. O. Taplin, married Francis St. Ores, May 15, 

1888. She was born in Wisconsin. Their children 
are John A. Taplin, born February 4th, 1889; 
Laura M. Taplin, born November 8th, 1896; both 
born on Taplin ranch. 



242 NAPA COUNTY. ; 

ST. HELENA SANITARIUM. 

The founders of this health home when looking 
about for a location had in view, not only a place 
for beauty, but one possessing in the very largest 
sense the essentials that make for health. 

St. Helena and' its environs is not surpassed 
and seldom, if ever, equaled for health. Pure 
water, picturesque mountains, lovely valleys. The 
purity of the salt ocean, without its fogs and wind, 
a dozen more good things can be said about 
this locality. But one thing should not be omitt- 
ed and that is, the good sense exercised by the 
founders of this home in selecting a place com- 
bining so many needful things, all of which add 
so much to the prosperity and business side of its 
life. Without being personal we could name fifty 
places in this State where a similar institution 
would have been a flat failure from a business 
standpoint, simply because the doctors and 
nurses could not build up as fast as the unhealth- 
fulness of the climate tore down. Not to speak of 
many places that possess health-giving climates, 
but the outlook is so full of gloom and the scenery 
so depressing that no good could come up out of 
such a Nazareth. 

It must not be forgotten that in this county and 
but a few miles away, is located the site "selected 
for the State Hospital for Consumptives." True, 
the project was not carried out, but the truth is 
left to us, showing that after a two years' close 
investigation this county was put down as the 
ideal home. Its dry air, freedom from fog, gravel 
sub-soil, rolling country, pure water, freeness 
from every taint of malaria, or disease of any 
character or description. Now turning to the 
Sanitarium proper. Its main building is a com- 
modious, five story frame structure, with elevator, 
steam heat, electric light, electric bells and every 





iFi r 




NAPA COUNTY. 243 

modern conveuience. It contains over one hun- 
dred rooms. The main structure is flanked by 
many cottages, and near by is the gymnasium, 
chapel, natatorium, dormitories for nurses, etc. 

This successful institution is under the patron- 
age of the Adventists, and what more need be said 
when we are reminded that their sanitarium at 
Battle Creek, Michigan, is the largest of its kind 
in the world. These people seem educated to look 
not only after the spiritual needs but also the 
health of all people, and it is not saying too much 
to assure this pious and God fearing people that 
their work in all parts of our land is being won- 
derfully blessed, and one reason for this is the 
good they are doing in leading the whole world in 
pure health foods, and temperance coffees and 
table drinks. Our readers can see the scope of 
their business and wide influence for good, when 
assured that probably nine out of ten groceries 
in our Union carry on their shelves some article 
of pure food, manufactured by the Adventists at 
Battle Creek, Michigan, St. Helena, California, 
and many other places where they own similar 
establishments. God will own and bountifully 
bless any people or organization that has for its 
object the elevation of man, promotion of tem])er- 
ance and building up of health. Most creeds lose 
sight of the body in their anxiety to help the spir- 
itual nature of man. But it is the mission of this 
church to do both and we need only turn to the 
pages of history to learn how well they are suc- 
ceeding in their great work. 

Then, too, it must not be overlooked, that they 
have a corps of the very ablest surgeons and 
physicians, trained nurses and a large retinue of 
helpers and attendants. The doctors are broad, 
capable, scholarly, and experienced. Specialists 
are on hand at all times to meet any emergency; 



244 NAPA COUNTY. 

that may arise, and in looking over the ledgers, it 
is readily learned that they have successfully 
treated nearly every form of disease, and with 
marked success as will be, and is testified to by 
the thousands of happy people who have been 
cured at the "St. Helena Sanitarium." 

It is the hope of the writer, and the prayer of 
all good people that God's infinite blessing may 
continue to rest on this honored institution, and 
on all the good people connected with it and with 
the church to which it owes its existence. 

THE OLD BALE MILL. 

This old mill, an old relic of pioneer days, stands 
on the county road between St. Helena and Cal- 
istoga, in Napa valley. It was built by Dr. Ed- 
ward T. Bale, in 1846, an Englishman by birth. 
He came to California sometime in the 30's, mar- 
ried a Spanish wife and obtained from the Mexi- 
can Government a grant of tw^o leagues of land 
in the upper end of Napa valley. During the 
years 1844 to 1846, there was quite an emigration 
from the middle and western States, much of 
which settled in and around Napa valley. To some 
of these settlers Dr. Bale sold land, and with the 
proceeds built the mill. I crossed the plains 
in 1846 and came to Napa valley in 1847. This 
mill was running when I came here; I set- 
tled about a mile from the mill and here I have 
spent fifty-one years of my life. I cannot say 
who did the millwright w^ork, but F. E. 
Kellogg did the blacksmith work. The first over- 
shot wheel was twenty feet, but afterwards was 
enlarged to forty feet. The water was conveyed 
to the mill from a mountain stream by cutting 
redwood logs about fifteen or twenty feet long, 
and about two feet in diameter, forming troughs 
of them by hollowing them out so as to contain 




c 

ffl 

c 



NAPA COUNTY. 245 

the water; these were elevated on pins made of 
redwood rails and the ends of the logs nicely 
litted together, so that the water would flow to 
the wheel at the mill in the troughs thus arrang- 
ed. The cogs in the wheel were all made of wood, 
and while running made quite a racket. The 
millstones or burrs were taken out of the hill 
back of the mill and worked out by John Conn. 
The first miller was a man by the name of Harri- 
son Pierce. We raised the first crop of grain in 
Napa county in 1848, about fifteen acres; we 
hauled it all up in one pile, Spanish fashion, and 
built a fence around it in a circle, then drove in 
thirty or forty mustang horses, "wild as deer," 
then went in on horseback with a long whip and 
sent them around at the top of their speed until 
the straw was j)ulverized into chaff, then tossed 
it up with forks and shovels until the wind would 
blow away all the chaff and straw; then before 
taking the wheat to mill, put it into big troughs 
and filled them up with water, stirring the wheat 
until the grit and gravel had all settled to the 
bottom. We then took out the wheat and spread 
it out in the sun to dry, all of which operation oc- 
cupied two or three days to prepare a grist of 
wheat generally of ten bushels. 

During the summer of 1851, L. G. Lillie built a 
threshing machine at the Bale mill, and threshed 
all the grain in the neighborhood. We then 
thought we had made a great advance in civiliza- 
tion and were progressing rapidly. In November, 
1849, Dr. Bale died, and by his will the mill went 
to his oldest daughter, who rented or leased the 
mill from time to time to different parties until 
sometime in the 60's Ralph Ellis bought the mill, 
and he put in new machinery and an engine, and 
when the water was low, ran the mill by steam. 
After several years he sold the mill to the present 



24C NAPA COT/NTT. 

owner, W. W. Lyman. But the old Bale mill 
furnished flour for the inhabitants of upper Napa 
valley for more than twenty-five years, but has 
lain idle for many years past. The old water 
wheel, although much decayed, stands intact, 
covered with a foliage of ivy vine. I do not think 
the wheel has turned for at least twenty years. 

There are but few left at this time that know 
anything about the history of the old Bale mill, 
but it stands there a monument to the skill and 
industry of the men of the pioneer times in this 
county. 

Most of the photographers, when passing, stop 
and take a shot at the old mill. Should it acci- 
dentally take fire and burn down, one of the grand- 
est historical monuments of the early days in 
Napa county would be lost, and which never could 
be replaced, a calamity we hope may be averted 
for some time to come. 

G. W. TUCKER. 

Calistoga, May 1st, 1901. 

MOUNT ST. HELENA. 

At the head of Napa valley stands this majes- 
tic monarch of the Mayacamas mountains and a 
history of Napa county would not be complete 
without a mention of this most prominent portion 
of the landscape. Forty years ago a party of Rus- 
sians, under Commander Ratscheff, visited Mount 
Mayacamas, as it was called at that time, and 
upon the summit left a copper plate bearing an 
inscription in their own language. 

In 1853, this plate was discovered by Dr. T. A. 
Hylton, and a copy of it is preserved by Mrs. H. L. 
Weston of Petaluma. The metal slab is octagonal 
in shape and bears the following words in the 
Russian language: 



NAPA COUNTY. 247 

"Eussians, 1841, June. E. L. Voznisenski iii, E. 
L. Chernich." 

This inscription was referred to Mr. Charles 
Mitchell Grant, of Oakland, a gentleman long a 
resident in Siberia, who said: "iii means that Voz- 
nisenski is the third of the name in his family, the 
other two being still living, when he was born. 
Evidently two Russian sailors; the first is a Polish 
name, while the second name is common in Little 
Russia." 

The mountain was named St. Helena in honor 
of the Princess De Gagarin, the commander's 
beautiful wife, and in this connection a romantic 
incident has been related by General Vallejo. 
He said: "The beauty of this lady excited so ardent 
a passion in the heart of Prince Solano, Chief of 
all the Indians about Sonoma, that he formed a 
plan to capture by force or stratagem, the object 
of his love; and he might very likely have succeed- 
ed had I not heard of his intention in time to pre- 
vent it." 

The mountain is supposed to be an extinct vol- 
cano, from which was at one time poured the 
lava in which the petrified forest lies buried, to- 
gether with the range of basalt dividing the Peta- 
luma and Sonoma valleys, and there remains two 
summits, one of which is four hundred feet above 
the other. Viewed from different points the 
change in appearance is somewhat striking. 
Viewed from Santa Rosa, the shape is not unlike 
that of a huge elephant, while from Fulton, it is 
called the Giant in bed. From Litton Springs, 
the outlines resemble those of St. Peters at 
Rome. From Napa valley, St. Helena presents a 
gorgeous panorama of shifting colors with a cap 
of pearly gray; while from Diablo, it makes a 
magnificent long outline against the sky, like 
some lofty monument of ancient story. Like 



248 NAPA COUNTY. 

Diablo and Shasta, St. Helena is largely isolated 
from its surroundings, and is the presiding genius 
of the section in which it is located. 

CALISTOGA. 

Calistoga, the third town in size in the county, 
is the terminus of the railroad which traverses 
the entire length of Napa valley. It is 27 miles 
north of Napa. Here stages connect with the cars, 
carrying passengers farther north over Mt. St. 
Helena into Lake county. Calistoga is noted for its 
numerous springs of hot water, and for the gold 
and silver and quicksilver found in the mountains 
in its vicinity. 

It has become famous on account of its medi- 
cinal springs, its mining resources, fine scenery 
and lovely climate. To Samuel Brannan belongs 
the honor of being founder of the place. The fol- 
lowing biographical sketch of this gentleman is 
from Menefee's "Sketch Book." Samuel Brannan 
was born in Sa.co, Maine, in 1819; in 1833 he mov- 
ed to Lake county, Ohio, and learned the printing 
business. 

In 1859, Mr. Brannan came to Napa county 
and purchased of Capt. Ritchie, a square mile of 
land at Calistoga, on which tract are located the 
famous Hot Springs. Soon after he purchased 
other lands from Messrs. Fowler & Hargrave, till 
his landed possessions about Calistoga exceeded 
two thousand acres. It was his design to make 
this place, called by him "the Saratoga of the 
Pacific," a great watering place. His expendi- 
tures for buildings, laying off of grounds and 
other improvements at this place has probablj^ 
not been less than half a million dollars. Mr. 
Brannan has spared no efforts to make his chosen 
town of Calistoga and the whole upper part of the 
county prosperous. He has, since permanently 




ANTHONY HUBBS. WM. SPIERS. 

C. AV. ARMSTRONG, 
President and Board of Calistoga Trustees. 
A. D. ROGERS. M. A. MACLEAN. 



NAPA COUNTY. 249 

locating there, added largely to his landed pos- 
sessions, and has ever been liberal to actual set- 
tlers and those desiring to carry on trade and 
business, calculated to enhance the value of prop- 
erty by making the community more prosperous. 
The name, Calistoga, was given to the place by 
Mr. Brannan in the fall of 1867. It was his boast 
that he was going to make the place the Saratoga 
of California, so he spliced the names and called 
it Cal.(is)toga, the middle syllable for euphony. 
The place had previously been called Hot Springs 
by the few Americans, and Agua Caliente by the 
Spaniards. 

While Messrs. Gettleson & Friedberg may 
justly claim the priority of doing business in the 
town proper; a man named Woodward was the 
first to open a place of business in that part of the 
county. He had a small store and kept the ■ ^- 
office near the Fowler House, when the iv. 
gentlemen arrived there. 

Then the railroad reached the place and a num- 
ber of business places sprang into existence. At 
the time of the completion of the railroad there 
was a great excursion which brought up about 
three thousand people, and Mr. Brannan tendered 
the visitors a grand reception. J. M. Finley, an 
old miner, was the first to discover quicksilver in 
this section, and he located the Great Westei'n 
Quicksilver Mine, but as usual, the locator never 
reaped any benefit from his discovery, as he fell 
from a bridge and was drowned shortly after, dy- 
ing a poor man. The first hotel in the place was 
^uilt by Mr. Deloch, called the Mountain House. 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The Presbyterian church at Calistoga was or- 
ganized by Rev. Thomas Eraser, Synodical Ageat 
on the Pacific Coast for that denomination. The 



2B» NAPA COUNTY. 

organizing members were: A. Safely, Mrs. Mar- 
garet Safely, Miss I. G. Safely, Miss A. R. Safely, 
Thomas F. Towle, Mrs. Josephine Towle, J. I. 
liOgan, Mrs. IT. J. Logan, Mrs. Ann M. Fairfield, 
J. G. Eandall, M. Garnett, Mrs. Catherine A. Mc- 
Donald, Mrs. Lizzie McCrory, John McCausland, 
Mrs. Rachael E. McCausland, Mrs. Annis F. Wass, 
Miss Lizzie R. Wass, Gallen M. Fisher, Mrs. Susan 
F. Fisher, Miss Florence Fisher, John Wass, Mrs. 
Eliza A. Wass, J. R. Wright, Mrs. E. Wright, 
Austin J. Roberts, Mrs. Mary A. Tavor, Miss E. 
Tavor. June, 1873, Rev. James Mitchell took 
charge of the church in connection with the 
church in St. Helena. The building is 54x82, 
erected in 1872 and cost |3,000. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

In 1868, under the efforts of Rev. W. S. Bryant, 
the foundation of the church was laid in Calis- 
toga. Soon after the railroad company needed 
the lot and purchased it. Then Sam Brannau 
gave another lot, and in 1869 the church was com- 
pleted. The value of the church and lot is |1,0()0. 
The building will seat one hundred and fifty per- 
sons. The society in 1881 numbered sixty per- 
sons. The first Trustees were: William McDonnell, 
Peter Teale and Alonzo Hopkins. 

CALISTOGA SCHOOL. 

The building was erected in 1873, at a cost of 
$6,000, and is a model of neatness and good taste. 
There are two departments and in 1881 there was 
an attendance of two hundred and thirty. 

MAGNOLIA HOTEL. 
SPREEN & POWELL, PROPRIETORS. 

Since the year 1859, the Hot Mineral Springs of 
Calistoga, Napa county, Calif., have been wide- 










c 



NAPA COUNTY. »1 

ly known for the curative powers and an attrac- 
tive point of interest. This is nature's cure for 
rheumatism, gout, dyspepsia, and permanent 
cures by the natural hot mud baths are frequent. 
From time immemorial the Indians knew and 
availed themselves of this wonderful power to 
cure rheumatism and its kindred diseases. In a 
short article like this it is impossible to give any- 
thing like justice to this fine establishment, so 
those interested will send to the address above 
and obtain printed literature, giving all particu- 
lars concerning this great sanitarium. 

NEWSPAPERS OF CALISTOGA. 

The Tribune was the first to appear in 1871. In 
1873 the editor died and the paper also. 

In 1874 O. P. Hoddy bought the outfit and pub- 
lished the Weekly Free Press from the 18th of 
April of that year until Oct. 16, 1875, when the 
paper suspended and the plant moved to San 
Buenaventura, Ventura county. 

In 1876, J. H. Upton, on the 6th day of April, 
issued the first number of the W^eekly Calistogian, 
but he discontinued in four months and the plant 
was moved to Hollister, San Benito county. 

On the 21th of December, 1877, the first number 
of the Independent Calistogian was issued by J. 
L. Multer, who published a satisfactory paper and 
was well appreciated by the people. 

In 1892 he sold out to G. B. Douglass and I. N. 
Bennett, who named it Independent Calistogian, 
its politics being independent. In 1895 it was 
purchased by C. A. Carroll; its politics were 
changed to Republican and the name to the 
Weekly Calistogian. 

HOT SPRINGS. 

These springs are located at Calistoga, and were 
known to the Mexicans and Indians as the aguas 



252 NAPA COUNTY. 

caliente or hot water and were visited for their 
curative qualities. The springs are situated in 
the level valley and are surrounded, excej)t on the 
south side, by high and picturesque mountains. 
After the purchase of the property, Mr. Brannan 
commenced improvements at once, on a very large 
scale, intending, as he said, to make this the Sara- 
toga of the Pacific Coast. He set to work at once 
furnishing all the comforts necessary to make 
these springs the most attractive place of resort 
for tourists and invalids in the State. The main 
grounds belonging to the springs proper, consist 
of about one hundred acres, near the center of 
which stands a small hill, to which he gave the 
name of Mount Lincoln. On the summit he placed 
an observatory, from which a fine view of Cal's- 
toga and of the surrounding country could be ob- 
tained. On this hill he also put a reservoir, which 
held ninety thousand gallons, the supply of water 
for which he procured by a steam pump out of 
Napa river. 

At the foot of Mount Lincoln, on the western 
side, were the hotel's cottages, and pleasure 
grounds, as well as most of the springs. There 
were about twenty-five neat cottages on these 
grounds, for the accommodation of guests, and 
some were owned by private individuals. The 
grounds were laid out into walks and ornamented 
with choice selections of trees, flowers and shrub- 
bery. To the west lies the town of Calistoga and 
between the two passes the railroad. In the days 
of its full glory this was truly a grand place, up- 
on w^hich over three hundred thousand dollars 
were sunk. 

Tlie servants about the place were all liveried 
and moved about with a more consequential air 
than the guests themselves. Oil paintings valued 
at tliousands of dollars hung upon tlie walls of 



r NAPA COUNTY. 252 

the parlors. But the glory of the place has de- 
parted with Mr. Brannan, and in 1875, it could not 
be sold at private or public sale for any reason 
able figure at all, and since then it has changed 
hands several times at nominal figures compared 
with the amount of money invested there. 

The waters of the springs hold in solution, sul- 
phur, iron, magnesia, and various other chemical 
properties. Several years ago a hole was bored 
to the depth of seventy feet, when solid rook 
was struck and prevented further penetraiion, 
and water stood in this w^ell at the uniform tem- 
perature of 185 degrees. A Eussian steam bath 
was formed by having a bath room built over a 
spring having a temperature of 195 degrees with 
a contrivance to let the steam up into the room. 

There are a host of springs, each differing from 
the other; one of them has a small summer house 
built over it with the suggestive sign "The Devil's 
Kitchen," over the door. The water of this spring 
is highly charged with sulphuretted hydrogen 
and gives to this water a taste much resembling 
chicken broth, and with the addition of a little 
salt and pepper, is a good imitation of 8oup. 
Nearly every one samples a plate of bogus chicken 
soup. During the four months of 1872, from April 
1st to August 1st, guests to the number of three 
thousand and twenty registered at the Hot 
Springs Hotel. 

CLAY CAVE. 

Among the places of interest in this township, 
mention must be made of the Clay cave, which is 
situated about one mile from Crystal Springs. 
But little attention has been paid to it so far, al- 
though it has been explored to a depth of eight 
hundred feet, and numerous beautiful rooms dis- 
covered. 



554 NAPA COUNTY. 

PETRIFIED FOREST. 

Aside from the curious petrifications of whole 
trees, some as large as ten feet in diameter, the 
Petrified Forest has many attractions . Charles 
Evans, better known as Petrified Charley, lived 
there many years, the life of a hermit, busy fenc- 
ing, digging and clearing up the land. It is situ- 
ated on the range dividing Santa Rosa from Napa 
valley, among rounded hills, some of which are 
white with ash rock. 

Near the scene of the wonderful prostrate trees 
rises a sharp ridge with perpendicular walls of 
black tufa, crested with rock as white as chalk, 
apparently the remains of a crater where lava 
and ashes were belched forth with torrents of 
scalding water on the surrounding woods. Evi- 
dences of the fact are found in the piles of scoriae 
scattered about, and in the circamstance that 
nearly all the trees turned into stone lie north and 
south, as though they had only fallen in the 
throes of an earthquake, after ashes and rock had 
piled ten or fifteen feet around them. 

There are redwood trees yet growing there, 
showing that they have existed hundreds of 
thousands of years in this locality, and that our 
fears of their becoming extinct are groundless. 

Poor Petrified Charley (immortalized by Stev- 
enson in his "Silverado Squatters"), went to San 
Francisco about 1880 and fell down the stairs of 
the hotel, from the effects of which he died (what 
a fate for a man that had sailed every sea and un- 
dergone a thousand dangers), and the haunt on 
the mountain top which knew him so long will 
know him no more. The visitors of bygone days 
will remember the quaint genius which presided 
over the forest and the goat for which he was al- 
ways ready to beg tobacco. 



NAPA COUNTY. 2SS 

KNOX TOWNSHIP. 

GEOGRAPHY. i 

Knox township is bounded on the north by 
Lake county, on the east by Yolo county, on the 
south by Yount township, and on the west by Hot 
Springs township. The boundary of this town- 
ship is very crooked. 

TOPOGRAPHY. 

The surface of this township is very uneven. 
On the eastern boundary line we find ourselves on 
the summit of a large range of mountains; passing 
west, Sulphur canyon is reached, which is quite a 
little valley. We then come to a division of the 
range of mountains between which are several 
little mountains, such as Sanel. Passing over 
these mountains we come to Pope valley, which 
is a level, fertile section of ground, considerable 
in extent, reaching from Aetna Springs on the 
north, to Wardner's store on the south, a distance 
of six miles, and having a width of three miles. 
West of this lies the Howell mountain range, di- 
viding this townsliip from Hot Springs. One does 
not wish for a lovelier sight, than that to be had 
of Pope valley from the road over Howell moun- 
tain. ,^,, ,,. 

^OEOLOGYi*^ 

The ridge of mountains which forms the east- 
ern boundary is formed of tertian sandstone. The 
range of mountains immediately west of Knox- 
ville is composed of sand and limestone over 
which there is a thick coat of volcanic rock and 
serpentine. On the western side of this ridge the 
ontcroppings are all sand and limestone. There is 
a ledge of limestone which runs northeasterly and 
southwesterly entirely through this township and 
extends northward far into Lake county. Good 



356 NAPA COUNTY. 

lime has been found on Mr. G. Earth's place lu 
Sanel valley, which is on the ledge spoken of 
above. In the vicinity of the Oat Hill Mine, the 
entire formation is of tertian sandstone and the 
remarkable fact of cinnabar occurring in that 
rock is to be found in that mine. 

SOIL. 

The soil of this township is as varied as the 
kind of rock from which it is formed. Owing to 
this spotted character, it is almost impossible to 
get a tract of any considerable size of any one 
characteristic, but it is decomposed volcanic for- 
mation and adobe from decomposed limestone. 

CLIMATE. 

It is much warmer on an average in the sum- 
mer time than in Napa city, but about the same as 
the temperature in the upper end of the valley. 
Here the days are bright, the air fresh and light, 
while the nights are cool and refreshing. In the 
winter season it is much colder than in Napa city 
on account of the elevation and snow is not an un- 
common thing. Altogether it is hard to find a 
more congenial climate for health and comfort. 

PKODUCTS 

Are more diversified, as the mountain ranges 
admit of stock raising, as well as grain and fruit. 
Everything belonging to the temperate zone 
flourishes in this locality, vegetables and berries 
grow splendidly on the soils best suited to them. 

TIMBER 

The only timber left is fit for firewood and other 
economical purposes. The day of extensive lum- 
bering is over. The redwood of Howell mountain 



NAPA COUNTY. 257 

is nearly gone, therefore the chapter might an 
well close on this subject. 

EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

To Julian Pope belongs the honor of being the 
first white settler in this township, other than the 
Spanish-Mexicans. It is in evidence that, he 
was a visitor here before 1841, for in that year a 
grant was ceded to him by the Mexican govern- 
ment for that land known as Pope valley, and he 
without doubt had explored and was acquainted 
with its character before making the selection. 

Julian Pope was granted two leagues of land 
September 13, 1841, by Jimeno, acting Govern- 
or of California, and said grant was called the Lo- 
coallomi grant, and contained eight thousand, 
eight hundred and seventy-two acres. In 1843 he 
went to Pope valley and began the erection of a 
house and while hewing timber for it he accident- 
ally cut his leg, from the effects of which he dit^l 
in the latter part of that year. His wife was a, 
Californian and they had five children. William 
Barnett afterwards married Mrs. Pope and lived 
there for several years. An adobe house was built 
by Joseph Pope, and is still standing and is 
spoken of as the Pope adobe. This is calculated 
to mislead a stranger, who would naturally infer 
that the house was built by the man for whom the 
valley was named. The place where Julian Pope 
built his house was on the old Pope or Juan Bur- 
ton place. 

In 1854 Jesse Barnett, the son of the man who 
married Mrs. Pope, came to Pope valley and from 
him we get the list of settlers who were in Pope 
valley at that time. 

James Daley lived at the lower end of the val- 
ley, and had a family. Philander Hunt, a bachel- 
or, lived on the creek just above where Mr. Jesse 



2««. NAPA COUNTY. ^ 

Barnett resides. S. McWilliams, with his wife 
and children, lived where the Duvalls reside. 
John Newman, with his family, lived in the upper 
end of the valley. Thomas Anderson did live 
here but moved out of the valley by 1854. Joseph 
Halterman and Joshua Hardman, with their fam- 
ilies, were residents of the valley in 1854. Eobert 
Hardin's family came in with his brother in 1 85(3. 

KNOXVILLE 

Is a nice little village, with a triweekly stage 
for Napa city,— via Monticello. 

SPRINGS. 

The medical springs of California have a great 
future and deserve the attention they attract. 
Some bear a close resemblance to the most fam- 
ous springs of Europe, so that a. publication of 
the compared analytical tables of their solid con- 
tents is all that is necessary to prove their high 
value and the diffusion of this information 
through the Eastern States would attract thous- 
ands of invalids. 

AETNA SPRINGS. 

These springs are sixteen miles northeast of St. 
Belena, in Napa county, in a charming little val- 
ley at the northern extremity of Pope valley and 
separated therefrom by a range of low hills. 
There are two springs of considerable capacity 
that flow to the surface, and one large spring that 
discharges itself into a shaft one hundred and 
twenty-five feet below the surface. 

The spring that supplies the shaft and the bath 
house was discovered while mining for cinnabar, 
and is of a temperature of 106 degrees at the 
spring, and is so heavily charged with gas, the 
heat so great that the mining operations had to be 



NAPA COUNTY. 259 

abandoned. The two springs that flow to the sar- 
face are of a temperature of 98 degrees, blood 
heat, and contain fifty-eight cubic inches of car- 
bonic acid gas to the gallon. The lower spring 
contains more heat and gas. There are also two 
soda springs, which contain a considerable quan- 
tity of iron, about eighty rods from the thermal 
springs on the Aetna grounds. The valley in 
which these springs are located, has an elevation 
of one thousand feet, and is warm and dry, with 
the most picturesque and charming mountain 
scenery around. 

The waters are pleasant, purifying, exciting 
and exhilarating, and many assert that they are 
heavily charged with electricity. Although these 
springs have been known to and visited by white 
men for the past thirty years, no efforts were 
made to bring them into the notice of the public 
until 1878. 

In 1877 the proprietor, Hon. Chancellor Hart- 
son, decided to make the necessary arrangements 
for accommodating visitors and to throw the 
springs open to the public. Accordingly in that 
year Mr. W. H. Lidell took charge and began the 
erection of buildings, and from time to time their 
number has been increased in order to accommo- 
date the increasing flow of guests. 

Many cures have been effected by these waters 
and a trial of them costs little in time or money, 
and the trip is delightful. 



Biographies 



BIOGRAPHIES 



Our lives like pendulums swing from sun to sun, 
We weave the fabric till the thread is run. 
Some lives come up through sweeted joys to years, 
While others grieve and feel the tyranny of tears. 

Why strive for place, high rank and power, 
Or long to be the applauded hero of the hour ? 
Why not our journey take though slow we plod. 
To work in gladness and to walk with God? 



CHARLES W. ARMSTRONG 

Was born in Vancouver, Washington, Novem- 
ber 5th, 1859, and came to California at an early 
age, and has been a resident of Calistoga since 
1886, during which time he has been actively en- 
gaged in the drug business. Other enterprises of 
varied character have claimed a share of his at- 
tention. Being an active partisan he has given 
much time to politics; was appointed Postmas- 
ter in 1895 by President Cleveland and conducted 
the office for four years in a creditable manner. 
He was married in 1878, and again in 1900, and 
his family consists of his wife and a daughter by 
the former marriage. 

He was one of the first persons to recognize the 
possibilities of oil mining in northern California, 
and is the pioneer operator in that industry in this 
locality, having founded the Calistoga Oil and De- 
velopment Co. He has extensive and varied in- 
terests in oil lands, and is an officer and stock- 
holder in many oil companies. 

Since the building of the telephone lines in this 
vicinity he has been the manager of the Sunset 
and local companies. 



264 NAPA COUWTY. 

He is at the head of the town government, hav- 
ing been elected President of the Board of Town 
Trustees in April, 1900. 

Being of a progressive chai'acter and broad- 
minded in his ideas, he encourages the improve- 
ment and advancement of the town in every pos- 
sible way. 

ANTOINETTE AIKEN, 

Owner of Eancho de la Jota, was born in New 
York, 1835; came to California in 1877 and located 
on her rauch on Howell Mountain, 1884; this con- 
sists of 110 acres, of which 35 acres are in grain 
and orchard of apples, pears, almonds and other 
fruits; her children are Florence, William C, and 
Charles S., all born in Ohio. There are mineral 
springs of iron on the place. 

OLIVER H. BUCKMAN 

Was born in the State of Maryland, near Balti- 
more, December 14th, 1847. His parents were 
Quakers and belonged to a sect of which William 
Penn was a well known leader. 

In 1855, with his parents, he moved to Iowa, 
where he lived on a farm until the age of 25 years, 
after which he entered the State University of 
Iowa, from w^hich he graduated in 1876, in the de- 
partment of Civil Engineering. 

In 1877 he came to California and settled in 
Napa, where he has resided ever since. He has 
held the office of City Engineer of Napa since 1880, 
excepting a few months in the winter of 1880-7. 

He was County Surveyor of Napa county from 
January 1st, 1885 to January 1st, 1895, and since 
the last named date has been a deputy in the 
County Surveyor's office. His history since 1880 
speaks volumes in praise of his fitness and splen- 
«lid qualifications for the responsible place of En- 



NAPA COUNTY. 265 

gineer and Surveyor. He is still unmarried.. We 
hope he has still before him many years of use- 
fulness. 

R. J. BLOWER 

Was born in Wales in 1847; came to California 
in 1869 and moved to Napa county in 1870; in 
1875 he married Rosalie Ward, to whom has 
been born two children, Sumner J., 1877; Richard 
M., 1892. Mr. Blower's ranch is 2,500 feet above 
ihe sea level upon Howell Mountain; it is 156 
acres in extent, of which 30 acres is in cultiva- 
tion, althouj^h 100 acres can be plowed; he has a 
small vineyard, and 100 acres in orchard. The 
name is Blower's Mountain View. The scenery is 
perfect; on the top of Howell Mountain is a per- 
fect flat of 75 acres. The water is very good and 
healthy. 

CHARLES E. BELL 

Was born in Darien, Connecticut, February 
7th, 1827. He married Catherine J. Mills, Feb- 
ruary 15, 1857, in Connecticut. They crossed the 
plains in 1859 by wagon. When they reached 
Nevada the oldest son, Charles Humboldt, was 
born on the Humboldt river, aft|»r which he was 
named. The family finally came to San Francisco 
where Mr. Bell worked as a shipwright; then to 
Mare Island, where he worked for seven years 
while his family lived in Vallejo. 

In 1876 he moved to Bell's valley, situated at 
the base of Mount Howell on the west, a vale en- 
tirely surrounded by hills with a mountain 
stream running through the center. Of the 
children, Edward S, was born during a. sojourn 
in Trinity county, Oscar F. was born in San 
Francisco, Lillian May was born at Vallejo, is 
married to R. Miller, now of Sacramento. Thomas 
A. Bell was born in Vallejo, is now living in Napa 



an NAPA COUNTY. 

«ity and is District Attorney. Henry C. was lK)rn 
in Vallejo and has been in Alaska for three years. 
Evelyn Bell was born in Bell's valley, she is teach- 
ing school in Diamond Mountain District. B(4rs 
valley consists of 240 acres, 30 acres vineyard, 100 
walnut trees and small orchard. This place was 
first settled by Gesford, the father of Henry (Jes- 
ford, 1850. The Bell family came to Connectirut 
in 1640, and during the Revolutionary war both 
father and grandfather were taken prisoners by 
the British and confined in an old sugar ho\ise; 
grandfather was 90, in full possession of all Ids 
faculties; had six children, thirty eight grand- 
children and seventy-eight great grand children. 

B. BRUCK 

Was born in Napa city, September 7th, 1870; 
the youngest son of Louis Bruck and Loleta Bale, 
who was the daughter of the late Dr. E. T. Bale; 
she was one of the first settlers born in Napa val- 
ley. Mr. Bruck came to St. Helena, 1881, and has 
resided there since. He became Superintendent 
of Krug place in 1894, and still remains there. 
His father, Louis Bruck, was chosen chairman of 
the first Board of Trustees of Napa county. 

DOCTOR E. T. BALE. 

This gentleman was an English physician. Avho 
was born in London, England, 1811. He was 
wrecked on a British man-of-war, 1833, picked up 
by a whaler and landed on the Coast of Calif orida 
at Monterey. In 1838 he married a daughter of 
Mariano Soberanes, and Lolita Vallejo, a sister of 
the late General Vallejo. Dr. Bale received a 
large grant of land in Napa valley from the Mex- 
ican Government; in 1839 this grant included all 
of Napa valley, north of Bale slough. In 1843 
Dr. Bale settled in the valley; in 1845 he built a 




JOHN S. BRTANT, 

TaKen at tHe A-ge of 92 Years, May 20, 1901. 
Calistoga, Cal, 



NAPA COUNTY. iff 

mill in the valley on Napa creek, at the foot of the 
place now known as the Krug place, this was a 
saw mill. In 1846-47, he built the first flour mill 
in this county, the machinery was brought here 
by the way of China, at an enormous expense. 
The Bale adobe house and flour mill are in a fair 
state of preservation on this date (May, 1901). The 
adobe is now owned by Capt. Niebaum and the 
mill by W. W. Lyman; Dr. Bale died October 9th, 
1849, at the age of 38, leaving a wife and live 
children, of which three are now living, being 
Mrs. S. Bruck, Mariano and Ed. T. Bale. 

JOHN S. BRYANT, 

The oldest man now living in Napa county, is 
the father of Mrs. Martha A. Hubbs. He was 
born in Kentucky in 1809, and after some years 
in Missouri came to California in 1852, and for 
seven years last past he has lived in Calistoga. 
He has lived with his daughter since the death of 
his wife some fifteen years ago and notwithstand- 
ing his extreme age, 92 years, is in full possession 
of all his faculties and enjoys the daily papers. 

Mr. Bryant was a cabinet maker by trade and 
worked at gold mining. He has two children, 
three grand children and five great grand child- 
ren; all in California. 

F. BORREO 

Has been a successful merchant, having in an 
early day made some money mining in Virginia 
City, and on the Ruser river, Nevada. In 1806 he 
came to Napa county and engaged in merchandiz- 
ing and built up a nice business, he also farmed 
the old Crowey ranch of 110 acres, and also owned 
a number of other farms in Napa county. Mr. 
Borreo still works the "Bay View" vineyard, rais- 
ing olives, making olive oil, and in lesser degree, 



*68 NAPA COUNTY. 

grapes, fruit and grain. His sons meantime, un- 
der the firm name of Borreo Bros., conduct the 
mercantile business in the warehouse, selling hay, 
feed, wood, coal, etc. In 1865 F. Borreo married 
Marv^ Arata, a native of Italy. She died May 21 st, 
1886, in Napa county. They had five children, all 
born in Napa valley, except Josephine, who was 
born in Virginia city, Nevada. The others are 
Nellie, Mary, William and Ernest. 

AUGUST BERETTA. 

Born in Switzerland in 1850, came to Napa in 
1871, and located on the Alsip ranch, and has 230 
acres, of which 50 acres is grain land, orchard, 
etc.; has a fine wine cellar built. He is now en- 
gaged in raising stock principally, formerly he 
was in the wine business for tweuty-seven years 
and was also in the grocery and bakery business 
in St. Helena for two years. On this ranch was 
built John Conn's house, the first in Conn valley, 
and it stood about one hundred yards from what 
was then known as Conn Hollow creek. 

EDWARD F. BUBDICK. 

The first house in Conn valley was built on this 
ranch, but has since been torn down. The ranch 
consists of 240 acres, 100 being in cultivation, the 
products are grain and grapes. 

Mr. Burdick was born in 18(53; married Miss 
Olive Whales in 1886, she died in 1895. Their 
children were three in number, Edna M., 1889; 
Willie F., 1893; Olive L., 1894. In 1896 he mar- 
ried Mrs. Pedixmi, whose maiden name was Ma- 
tilda Musgrave. She came to Napa county in 
1884. The raising of fancy fowls is a specialty on 
this ranch. 



, NAPA COUNTY. 2«f 

f W. H. BROWN 

Is what might be termed the Village Black- 
smith, only our little city has progressed beyond 
the village period, but he is a general blacksmith, 
wagonmaker and repairer and sells all kinds of 
farming implements, wagons and buggies and 
has done so for the past ten years, having started 
in 1891. He was born in Sonoma county, Califor 
nia, and was married in Calistoga in 1889, to Miss 
Lillie Butler, who is also a native daughter, as he 
is a native son; she was born in Napa county. 
Their children are: Irma Lillie Brown, born in 
Calistoga, 1890; Lauren, 1892, and Frank Walton 
Brown, 1897. 

WILLIAM H. BRADLEY. 

Born in Napa county, 1867, and married Ireua 
Edgerton, 1890; who was born in Napa county, 
1869. Their children are: Roy E. Bradley, 1891, 
Napa county; Oakley Bradley, 1893; Pauline 
(Dorris) Bradley, 1898. Mr. Bradley Sr., is a 
great hunter and delights to hunt with the 
hounds. He is in San Bernardino county for his 
health. 

S. E. CHAPMAN, M. D. 

The doctor was born August 6th, 1847, in 
Cleveland, Ohio. At the early age of seventeen 
years he enlisted as a volunteer in the 124tti Ohio 
volunteer infantry in 1862, to serve his country in 
her hour of peril. After three years of bloody 
war and privation in the famous Army of the 
Cumberland, he was discharged at the end of the 
war. He at once entered Baldwin University at 
Berea, Ohio, and after completing a course in that 
institution of learning, he entered the Cleveland 
Homeopatliic College, from which he graduated 
in March 1874. He then began the practice of 
medicine in Perrysburg, Ohio. During March, 



AT* NAPA COUNTY. ! I' 

1S74, he married Miss Florence A, Boyer, of Clyde, 
O. While residing in Perrysburg, Miss Ivose Chap- 
man, his oldest daughter, was born, Sept. 2Tih, 
1875, and Miss Grace, July 24, 1877. After a res- 
idence of four years in that place he removed to 
California, 1877, locating in Forest Hill, Placer 
county, where he practiced medicine for twelve 
years, and Ida W. Chapman was born, June 24th, 
1879, when he removed to Watsonville, Santa 
Cruz county, and practiced for seven years: here 
two more children were born, Florence A., and 
i.ionel Brooks, February 27, 1893, After this a 
year was spent in San Francisco, but in 1895 
laryngeal and bronchial trouble necessitated an- 
other move and Napa was chosen, on account of 
its fine climate and other advantages. 

After having permanently located in Napa, in 
May, 1896, there was one son born here, S. E. 
Chapman, Jr., August 4th, 1898. 

The doctor is a member of the State Medical 
Board of Examiners in Insanity, also of the City 
Board of Health and contributes continually to 
the leading medical and literary publications. 

Dr. Chapman is the House Physician of the 
celebrated Napa Sanatorium, an institution which 
has a most favorable reputation throughout the 
State. 

JOHN CONN 

Was born in Ireland, 1807; came to Napa coun- 
ty in 1844, and settled in Conn valley which was 
named after him, and consisted of 6,000 acres of 
valley and mountain land, being a grant from the 
Mexican Government. 

John Conn and John Banchford were partners 
in 1844, and applied for a grant of land which 
was given settlers under the Mexican Govern- 
ment. The grant was made, but before the legal 



NAPA COUNTY. 3W. 

requirements were completed, war broke out be- 
tween the United States and Mexico, both of the 
claimants fought under the Bear Flag. This was 
in 1846. After the war, the land grant was yet 
incomplete, when Jack Ranchford died. He was 
a patriot and declared his only desire before he 
died was to see this beautiful land occupied by 
Ihe Americans and that he would live to see the 
stars and stripes wave over these mountains and 
valleys. He did live to see the flag raised amid 
much rejoicing, and the next morning he expired. 
The flag was raised September 10th, 1846. John 
Conn was a bachelor and the valley was named 
after him. The grant is now cut up into many 
beautiful farms and homes. 

CONNOLLY CONN. 

This settler was born in Ireland, 1832; came to 
iMapa in 1855, and bought 160 acres in 1859, in 
partnership with Frank Stratton. They extended 
their purchases until they owned nearly a thou- 
sand acres and made a business of raising stock, 
and opened a butcher shop in St. Helena to dis- 
pose of the product. In 1867 Frank Stratton died 
and Conn was then the owner of 960 acres; since 
he has sold 300 acres which left him 660 acres 
which comprises the ranch at present, about 250 
acres are in cultivation. There is a marble quarry 
on the ranch which has never been developed as 
yet. 

Mr. Conn married Mary McCall in 1864; she was 
born in Illinois, 1845. They had two children, 
Annie L., 1865, died in 1894 in Conn valley; Em- 
ma, 1868; married to George Hobson, 1886. Their 
children were five in number as follows: Iva L., 
1888; Grace, 1890; Myron, 1893; Roy 1896; George, 
1899. 



272 NAPA COUNTY. 

0. A. CARROLL, 

Editor and proprietor of the Weekly Calis- 
togian, was born at Noyo, in Mendocino county, 
California, April 11th, 1873. His father died 
when he had attained the age of two years, lie 
went to school at Mendocino City, where they had 
moved, and at the age of fourteen he became an 
apprentice for three years in the office of the Men- 
docino "Beacon," after which he served two years 
as foreman, after that he was editor for eighteen 
months, making a stay of seven years in 
said office. He was then connected with the news- 
papers of Ukiah until the first of 1895, when he 
made a trip East as far as Washington City, vis- 
iting the larger cities enroute, returning the same 
year to engage on the San Francisco "Chronicle," 
until the arrival of the linotype machines which 
displaced so many of the typographers. He then 
visited Calistoga and purchased the "Independent 
Calistogian," which had been established by J. L. 
Multer, who ably conducted this paper for fifteen 
years. When purchased by Mr. Carroll it was 
owned by I. N. Bennett and G. B. Douglass. Up to 
this time this paper had always been independent, 
as its name implied. This was changed by him in- 
to a Republican pajjer, and the name changed to 
the Weekly Calistogian. Under the able manage- 
ment of Mr. Carroll it became a newsy and attrac- 
tive sheet; the office much improved and equip- 
ment the best. On August 0, 189G, he married Miss 
Mertie Bennett, and on September 25th, 1899, a 
daughter came to gladden the home. Mr. Carroll 
is a native son and a member of the A. F. and A. 
M., standing high in the good opinion of the citi- 
zens of Napa valley. 

For many years Calistoga was considered quiet 
but for sometime past, and since Mr. Carroll's ad- 
vent, the town is lively, thrifty and a large 




C. A. CARROLL, 

Editor Calistogian, Calistoga. 



NAPA COUNTY. 273 

amount of business is now carried on. Much of 
this change in the town is due to the stirring ed- 
itorials and quiet booming of the town in the 
weekly paper. Mr. Carroll believes in building 
up a town, and he has done so in this instance. 

J. A. CAIN 

Was born February 24th, 1844, in East Tennes- 
see; w^as a trooper in Gen. Pleasanton's cavalry 
brigade during the civil war for the Union and 
served three years; came to California in 1866, 
and drove stage on the Idaho road for two years, 
he then came to Napa county and engaged in 
draying business which he has followed 
ever since. Mr. Cain was elected Councilman of 
Napa city in 1899, and which position he now 
holds (1901). He married Elva Grigsby, a daugh- 
ter of John Grigsby (one of the men who raised 
the Bear flag in Sonoma county); she was born 
and raised in Napa county. They have had two 
children, Ida and Laura, Ida is married to J. W. 
Lyons and Laura to Chas. Grady, both of Napa. 
Mr. Cain is quite an owner of city property as well 
as a nice farm of about 30 acres near the town. 

COLONEL JAMES CLYMAN. 

Many historical associations cluster around the 
'*01d Clyman Place," in Napa county. 

James Clyman, born 1794, was one of the early 
pioneers of California, having settled in Sonoma 
county in 1848, where he lived until 1861 when he 
and his family came to live in Napa county on 
what is known as the "Old Clyman Place." 

In 1848 Col. Clyman piloted a train of emigrants 
across the plains, the motive power being oxen. 
This was the occasion of his first arrival in Napa, 
then a small place of three or four adobe house* 



274 NAPA COUNTY. 

and one log cabin. Soon after this he left for the 
gold mines. (Among the emigrants were McCombs, 
Hardman and Broadhurst.) After meeting with 
modest success at the mines, Col. Clyman built a 
home in Sonoma county, where he lived until 1861, 
when he moved to Napa county, where he married 
in 1849, Hannah McCombs, a native of Ohio. The 
result of this union was the birth of the following 
children, all born in Napa county: Martha Cly- 
man, 1850, died in 1855; Mary J. Clyman, 1853, 
died in 1869; James L., 1854, died in 1863; Lydia 
A. and P. Lambert, twins, 1857, of which the lat- 
ter died in 1863. 

The good wife and mother mourned the death 
of her gallant husband in 1882, but she still re- 
sides on the old homestead, enjoying good health, 
nearly 70 years of age. 

KICHARD CUFF 

Was born in Ireland, March 18, 1846; emigrated 
to the United States, landing in New York in 1866 
where he worked in a store for two years. In 
1868 he came to San Francisco, from there to 
Napa county; engaged in farming and mining un- 
til 1876, when he engaged in the iivery business 
on Main street, until 1886, when he bought the 
Central Hotel, of which he is now proprietor, and 
is owner of considerable city property. He mar- 
ried May 15th, 1875, Miss Winnefred Duane; they 
had seven children of whom six are now living as 
follows: Thomas, Bridget, John, Winnefred, Mary 
and Lizzie. 

ALONZO C. CLARK. 

In 1848, Alonzo C. Clark was born in Ohio, and 
he moved in 1864, with his parents to Napa coun- 
ty and now resides on the old Buttoff place (be- 
longing to the Phelan estate), which consists of 



NAPA COUNTY. 27S 

690 acres, all of which is under cultivation ia 
grain and hay. 

In 1877 he married a native daughter of the 
Golden West in the person of Miss May Stafford 
at Berry essa; Miss Stafford was born in California 
in 1858. Their children are: Roy V. Clark, 1878; 
Clifford N., 1880; Ora O., 1882; Mallie E., 1883; 
Howard C, 1886; Irma A., 1889. 

REUBEN CLARK. 

The subject of this sketch crossed the plains 
with horse teams in company with his parents 
when he was but nine years of age, he having been 
born in 1855, in the State of Iowa, and arrived in 
California in 1864. In 1883, he married a native 
daughter, Miss C-ordelia Stovall and the result 
was the birth of the following children: Elmer 
R., February 26, 1884 and H. Foster, March 30th, 
1886; shortly after the birth of her second son the 
wife and mother died, June 1st, 1886. In 1898 
Mr. Clark married for his second wife. Miss Lulu 
Darner. Mr. Clark rents the ranch known as the 
"Adobe" which belongs to the Phelan estate and 
consists of 750 acres in grain, etc., and about 
3,500 acres in pasture, devoted to stock raising, 
consisting of 150 head of graded "short horn" 
cattle; 250 horses and 200 hogs; fine placer gold is 
found on this ranch, but not in paying quan- 
tities. 

Mr. Clark has been elected to the State Assemb- 
ly to represent the counties of Colusa and Teha- 
ma, from 1870 to 1874, when he returned to Beis 
ryessa valley in Napa county. 

R. W. CLAYTON 

Came to Napa county about 1880 and bought 
his ranch in 1898, which consists of 80 acres, all 



278 NAPA COUNTY. 

of which is in a high state of cultivation, includ- 
ing a vineyard of fifty acres. 

Mr. Clayton was born near the Napa county 
line, October 13, 1859, in Suisun valley. He found 
his wife about the same spot, for in 1880 he waci 
married there to Miss Elizabeth J. McKinley, a 
native of Napa county, and Gordon valley. Their 
children are: Pettis O., 1891 and Edna L., 1893, 

M. A. CHAMBLIN 

Is a son of Illinois, born in 1847; came to Napa 
county April, 1875 and bought a ranch consisting 
of eighteen acres on the St. Helena road, about a 
mile from the Postoffice, but within the corpora- 
tion; raising fruit, garden vegetables and chick- 
ens. He married Mattie R. Shoup, 1872, in Illin- 
ois where she was born; their children Chester 
W. Chamblin, born in Illinois; Lottie J. Chamblin, 
born in Napa county, Cal.; Ernest W. Chamblin, 
born in Calistoga, and Violet Chamblin, also born 
in Calistoga. Lottie J. married Rev. J. C. Bolster 
and is now living in Fairfield ; Ernest is attending 
school in San Jose. 

JAMES B. CLAYTON. 

A native son was born in Napa county, October 
28, 1865, and lives on the "Old Combs" ranch 
which contains 1,389 acres, only 300 acres being 
in cultivation, all in grain, except a small orchard 
the balance of the ranch is pasture land on which 
stock is raised, having from 300 to 400 head of cat- 
tle at one time. 

This place was the old home ranch of Nathan 
Combs. Mr. Clayton married Miss Emma Hulen, 
in Vacaville, Solano county, December 26, 1890; 
she was also a native daughter having been bom 
in Solano county, November 3, 1868. 

Their child is: Fay Allen, October 17, 1893. 



NAPA COUNTY. 277 

JOHN W. COLEMAN. 

Was born in the blue grass region of old Ken- 
tucky, in Versailles; came to California in 1853, 
and for some time was connected with the West- 
ern Union Telegraphic Co. The mines attracted 
his attention until 1881, when he bought the 
Lenose ranch in Napa county; for a time they 
lived in San Francisco and Oakland, but at the 
death of Mr. Coleman, the widow moved on to the 
ranch, making her home there. It is a very fine 
place, one mile from Monticello. Mrs. Coleman is 
said to be one of the wealthiest women in the 
county. 

K. C. CRUEY 

Was born in Ohio, 1825; came to California 
in 1852, working in the mines; in 1855 he came in- 
to Napa county and in 1865 he settled in Olive 
Nook, which ranch consisted of 160 acres of which 
30 are in grapes and olives, being located one mile 
from St. Helena on the Pope valley road. Mr. 
Cruey married Euth C. Epps of Conn valley, Napa 
county, 1860; she was born in Missouri. Mr. 
Cruey makes a specialty of raising chickens of the 
Leghorn breed, having about 700 hens. The in- 
cubators and brooders raise the young chicks on 
modern methods. 

D. J. CALLIZO 

Was born in France, 1855; emigrated to the 
United States, 1884; he arrived in Napa the same 
year; is manager of Mrs. Parrot's place, known 
as Mira valley; has been thus employed for nine 
years; his wife Gunenez Valdesca, was born in 
Spain; their children are: Salvadore Callizo, 1881; 
Julius, 1882; both born in France; Sylveria, born 
1887, in Napa county. Mr. Callizo owns a ranch, 
of his own on Spring mountain. 



278 NAPA COUNTY. J ! 

LOUIS COKTHAY 

Was born in Switzerland, 1830; married Cathe- 
rine Maria Rafferty, who was born in 1833; she 
died in 1892. 

Mr. Corthay had five children by his wife, three 
of whom are dead, and he died in 1890. The ranch 
was named after the owner and comprised 560 
acres, of which 150 acres was in grain and 23 in 
vineyard; two wine cellars are on the ranch, with 
a combined capacity of 150,000 gallons. 

The children, Louis D., 1863, died 1890; Emma 
E., 1865, died 1867; Chas. W., born 1868; George 
E. M., 1871; Henry M., 1874, died 1898. All these 
children were born in San Francisco. 

George E. M. Corthay took the ranch in 1893; 
married in 1895 Pauline Kraft, born in 1871 in 
California; two children, Emma, 1897; Pauline, 
1900, born in Conn valley. On this ranch stood 
the oldest hotel in the county and w^hich gave 
shelter to the travelers from Napa to Lake coun- 
ties, a part only now remains a "monument to 
old memories;" there are also found mineral 
springs, two sulphur and one iron and a sweet 
water spring which runs into a large cemented 
reservoir containing 10,000 gallons; large veins 
of chrome and magnesia abound; there is also a 
fine trout stream known as Goon creek which 
never dries uj), tiowing tlirougli th(^ place; the 
ranch is well timbered with oak and pine; a tine 
quality of wine, called Mountain Sweet wine is 
made on this ranch; this residence, built in 1885, 
is 55x60, of a Swiss design; line herds of Jersey 
and Holstine cattle dot the grazing lands. 

LOUISE CROCITAT 

Was born in France, 1854; purchased 
present liome and ranch, 1897, containing 218 
acres including 70 acres grain fiields; 10 acres of 








r 




NAPA COUNTY. 37» 

yineyard; has a wine cellar with a capacity for 
30,000 gallons; the rest of the land is past-ire 
land for stock raising; children by first husband: 
Adolph Millet, born in France, 1879; Marie, same 
1880; Germain, born on Atlantic ocean, 1882: Sec- 
ond husband's children: Jules Crochat, born in 
Kapa county, 1885; Leon Crochat, same, 1887; 
this lady also owns two ranches in Conn valley 
one of 140 acres the second haying 120 acres. 

JOHN AND LOVINA CYRUS. 

These two personages were the first pion- 
eers who located in Napa county, coming from 
the State of Illinois, arriying in this country in 
1846. 

Mrs. Lovina Cyrus was but twelye years of 
age when she crossed the plains with her parents 
who were with the unfortunate Donner party, 
who, when lost in the mountains sent out a forlorn 
hope to seek for relief, one of whom was her fath- 
er. This forlorn hope consisted of seyenteen per- 
sons, of which but six suryiyed to return Here 
on the mountains in a dreadful storm, when the 
snow was fifteen feet deep, Mrs. Graves her 
mother, died. 

John Cyrus crossed the plains just ahead of the 
Donner party, and by taking the old and well 
known route across the mountains, arrived 
alright without anything of special moment 
occurihg. On June 5th, 1855, they were married 
and settled on the Cyrus ranch which was a 200 
acre tract of the original Bale grant. They had 
five children, Henry E., James W., Mary A., 
Sarah G., and Elizabeth E. 

On December 5th, 1891, John Cyrus departed 
this life full of years and respected by all who 
knew him. 



280 j NAPA COT/NTY. "1 

CHRIS. CHRISTIAN 

Was born in Denmark, 1850, and emigrated 
to the United States 1859; arrived in California, 
1872 and settled in Napa county in 1881. He 
married Lovinia Hardman in 1885, who was born 
in Napa county in 1854. The children were Mar- 
tha Elizabeth, 1887; Maria Ann, 1892; Eltin R. 
Apperson, a son hy a former marriage was born 
in Napa county, 1879. Mr. Christian owns a 
ranch of 115 acres, of which 20 acres is equally 
divided betw^een orchard and vineyard, the bal- 
ance being pasture land for stock raising. 

W. O. CROFT 

Is a partner in the stock ranch; he was born 
in Wisconsin, 1870 and came to Napa county in 
1896. The same year he married Edith Oswald, 
who was born in Wisconsin also in 1878. Their 
children are: C. Virgil Croft, born in Napa coun- 
ty in 1897; Dunwood Croft, born in Napa county 
in 1899. 

E. DAFOE, 

Proprietor of Peacock Hotel, was born in Cana- 
da, 1838; arrived in California, 1869; he first set- 
tled in Sononm county for a period of six years 
and afterwards lived for 20 years, moving into 
Napa in 1894. His first wife was a Can- 
adian and died in 1876 in California. Mr. Dafoe 
is now married to Emily Ryther since 1882. The 
children are all by the first wife and born in Can- 
ada, except the last, Sarah, Hattie, Erastus aad 
Leon, born in Sonoma county in 1871. 

H. S. DEXTER. 

A native son of California, born August 29th, 
1861; was of the wholesale liquor house of Heath- 
cote & Dexter, San Francisco; came to Napa 



NAPA COUNTY. 281 

county 1885 and bought "La Lantern," vineyard, 
consisting of 200 acres, one half of which are 
planted in vines and prunes. There is a splendid 
residence on the place. Mr. Dexter married Jane 
Andrew Buckler of Baltimore, ^Maryland. 

LOUIS W. DUVALL 

The deceased was born in Tenessee, 1824, mar- 
ried Emma E. Butler, 1855, in Missouri. William 
Thomas Duvall was born to them while in Mis- 
souri, in 1850. In 1857 this couple, with their in- 
fant son, made the long journey across the plains 
with ox teams, arriving in Lake county where 
they only remained a few weeks, removing to 
Napa valley and shortly afterward to Pope valley 
■v\here the widow now resides. The children 
born in Napa county are John, 1859; Mary Ann, 
(Stanford), 1862; Robert Duvall, Josephine Du- 
vall, 1867; Alexander, 1870. The oldest child, W. 
T. Duvall, married Laura Walters, 1879; she died 
in 1881, leaving two children, Lawrence, born 
1880; Claude, 1881, both born in Napa county. 
Their father died in 1897, and the two boys are 
cared for by their grandmother. Mrs. Duvall owns 
her ranch of 500 acres, 100 of which is in grain, 
balance in pasture land on which she raises 
stock. 

JOHN F. EVEN 

Was born in Green valley. El Dorado county, 
California, September 29th, 1863, and came to 
Napa county with his parents in 1867. For six- 
teen years he has been a member of the firm of 
Zollner & Even. On April 1st, 1901, a deal was 
made whereby Mr. Even and his mother 
purchased the interest of Mr. Zollner, in the old 
established meat market. The new business as 
now carried on is known as Even & Even, whole- 



m NAPA COUNTY. 

»ale and retail butchers. Mr. Even was elected 
to the City Council of Napa in 1899 and is still 
serving in that capacity His sterling manhood 
and honorable way of dealing in all business af- 
fairs has for years commended him to the confi- 
dence of the people in every place and walk of life 
as well as when filling positions of trust; he has 
been faithful to the people and loyal to liis 
friends. Years are required to build up a gojd 
name and it is the only monument that is endur- 
ing for all time. 

T. H. EPLEY, 

Proprietor of "Cyprus Lawn Summer Resort," 
and fruit farm, which is in Brown valley, consists 
of fifty acres of which forty acres are in orchard 
and vineyard, was born in Washtenau county, 
Michigan; his parents were Harry K. and Rachel 
(Moe) Epley; the former still lives on the old 
home place; the latter died in 1885. 

Mr, Epley's father was a locomotive engineer 
and was so employed in 1840, when instead of 
steel rails, the track was strips of iron spiked on- 
to wooden stringers. Young Epley married Miss 
Mary E. Robinson, in Michigan, 1858 and moved 
west under the Pike Peak gold excitement and 
fought in the Piute Indian war, afterwards set up 
the first engine and sounded the first locomotive 
whistle in Nevada. He came to Napa in 1874 and 
after selling stationery for nine years bought and 
settled on his ranch. They have three chiklren 
living, Dora, a graduate of Napa Ladies' Semi- 
nary, Myrtle and Carl. 

ALBERT F. EISAN. 

Was born in Bath, Maine, 1855; came to Cali- 
fornia in 1868; married Jane Taylor of Oakland 
in that city; they moved to Napa county in 1895 
and bought a ranch of 160 acres; 60 acres are in 



NAPA COUNTY. 283 

cultivation, 30 acres of which is in vineyard and 
small orchard; balance hay land; there are tine 
magnesia springs on the ranch; Jersey and Dur- 
ham dairy stock is raised, besides fancy pigeons 
for sale. 

Their children's names and date of birth are as 
follows: Albert A., August 24, 1885; Ethel Jean, 
October 8, 1887; Frank Bray ton, June 23, 1890; 
Margarette, July 27, 1892; Kaymond Clarence, 
September 3, 1894; all the above were born in 
Oakland; James Henry, February 3, 1896 and 
Alexander Ward, June 30, 1898, were born on the 
ranch. 

A. V. EVANS. 

Cherry valley. New York, was the birth place 
of this pioneer; the date was March 15, 1833. He 
came to Napa in 1854 and owns 120 acres of land, 
40 acres of which are in a high state of cultiva- 
tion and on which is raised fruit, hay and grain. 
This place is on Atlas Peak and has an elevation 
of 1900 feet. Mr. Evans raised the first raspber- 
ries in Napa and makes a specialty of Bartlett 
pears. 

Mr. Evans was married to Miss Susie Colbnrn, 

This ranch was the place selected by the State 

Board of Health of California as possessing the 

greatest evenness of temperature except Camp 

Yerd, Arizona, which stands first. 

JOHN A. FULLER. 

The present Mayor of the city of Napa, Avas 
born on the east coast of England, in Lincoln- 
shire, September 12th, 1828; his first appearance 
in business was as an apprentice to the East In- 
dia company, whom he served in Bombay, India, 
and Australia After several voyages around the 
world he arrived in California and went to the 



284 NAPA COUNTY. 

gold mines in wliicli he worked for seventeen 
years, principally in Nevada county. In 186G he 
went to Alaska on the John L. Stephens, in com- 
I)any with the officers and soldiers under the com- 
mand of Jefferson C. Davis, arriving October 8th, 
1867, remaining there until the arrival of the U. 
S. S. Ossipee, bringing General L. H. Rousseau, 
U. S. A., who was sent as a commissioner to re- 
ceive Alaska from Russia and who was the first 
Governor of that territory. Our present Mayor 
(1901), was a witness to the drawing down of the 
Russian flag which had floated over the territory 
for more than eighty years, and the raising of the 
stars and stripes amid salvos of artillery. Alaska 
thus transferred became a territory of the United 
States for the price of |7,200,000. 

Here Mr. Fuller lived for seven years and has in 
his possession copies of the first newspaper ever 
written in Alaska and the first ever printed; the 
Sitka Times was the first written and the Alaska 
Times the first printed, and Mr. Fuller contributed 
the first poem printed in the first edition of that 
paper. He also witnessed a total eclipse of the 
sun at the head of the Lynn canal, from the obser- 
vatory erected by Prof. Geo. H. Davidson, in com- 
pany with W. H. Seward. 

In 1870, he had the honor to entertain Lady 
Jane Franklin and Miss Sophie Cracroft. He re- 
turned to California in 1872 and purchasing prop- 
erty of the late William O. Wallace, he settled in 
Napa for good. 

In 1884 he was elected City Trustee for one year. 
In 1885 he was defeated by two or three votes, but 
in 1886 he was re-elected and held the honorable 
position of President of the Board of City Trus- 
tees until 1897, when a new charter for the city 
was voted upon and in 1899 he was elected Mayor, 
which position he now holds. Mr. Fuller was mar- 



NAPA COUNTY. 2» 

ried in 1864 to Miss Kate Helmer of New York; 
she died in 1887. On March 21st, 1889 he married 
Miss Emma P. Waite of Vermont. 

During the exciting times in San Francisco in 
1850, Mr. Fuller was present, and the news that 
California had been admitted into the Union was 
received on October 18th of that year; he partici- 
pated in the raising of the stars and stripes in that 
city. Having just returned from the gold excite- 
ment on Frazier river in the Cariboo Mining Dis- 
trict of British Columbia, he was also present at 
the raising of the flag over Oregon as a newJy ad- 
mitted State into the Union in February, 1859. 

Bancroft's history of the Pacific Coast records 
him as being one of the first elected Councilmen 
for the town of Sitka, Alaska, and he was also 
elected Surveyor of that city in the fall of 1867, at 
the first municipal election and surveyed the lots 
that were given to the old employes of the Rus- 
sian Fur Company as a reward for their past serv- 
ices. At that time, as agent of the American-Rus- 
sian Commercial Company, he directed all of their 
operations in the fishing and lumber industries 
during the term of his stay in that country and 
shipped the first invoice of salmon to San Fran- 
cisco after the transfer. He also erected a circular 
saw mill which lessened the price of manufactur- 
ed lumber so that the poor were enabled to buy it 
and thus erect comfortable dwellings. All of the 
logs were purchased from the Indiang. who man- 
aged to keep the mill going, Mr. Fuller deal- 
ing with them in such a manner as to retain their 
good will and friendship. In 1869 he sawed 10,000 
feet of yellow cedar as a present to Governor Sew- 
ard to wainscoat his library in Auburn, New- 
York, who was at the time on a visit to Alaska. 
It seems that Mr. Fuller was capable of mastering 
circumstances and of winning out in good form 



2S6 NAPA COUNTY. 

and now in the quiet contentment of his home 
which is the acme of convenience and comfort, 
fashioned, framed and decorated by his own 
hands, adorned bj the curiosities picked up on his 
extensive travels and which would be considered 
a prize by any museum; he recalls the trials and 
dangers of bygone days, honored and respected 
by all, he awaits the summons which all must 
obey. 

GEORGE C. FOUNTAIN, 

Son of H. K. and Eliza D. P\iuntain, was born 
in Tompkinsville, Staten Island, on the 19th day 
of January, 1826. When sixteen years of age lie 
entered a mercantile firm as clerk, where he re- 
mained five years. In 1847 Mr. Fountain located 
in Wisconsin; returning home after a stay of two 
years. In 1850 he started from New York, via 
Panama, for San Francisco, arriving at the latter 
place in May, 1851. He soon after entered into 
the hay and grain trade and continued in that line 
until 1856. In the fall of 1870 he moved to Napa 
county and purchased fifty acres, where he now re- 
sides, the location being a charming one on the 
borders of St. Helena. He was married July 3d, 
1858, to Miss Sarah Sidgreaves, a native of St. 
Louis, Missouri. They have four children, Maggie, 
George, Bud and Alice. At the present time Mr. 
Fountain occupies the honorable place of Mayor 
of St. Helena, and no worthier man could be found 
in this lovely city to exercise this function than 
he. 

GEORGE M. FRANCIS 

Was born in Pontiac, Mich., May 28th, 1844. He 
lived on a farm and went to district sch6ol in his 
early boyhood. At the age of 14 he entered the 
Grant County Herald oflSce in Wisconsin, as an 
apprentice, and was foreman of that oflftce, when 




G. M. FRANCIS, 

ELditor of Register, Napa. 



NAPA COUNTY. SSf 

in August, 1862, he enlisted in Company C, 25tlii 
Wisconsin infantry, and served in the department 
of the West to the end of the war, being with 
Sherman on that General's famous march to the 
sea. His first newspaper was the Butler County 
(Iowa) Argus, which paper he started in 1865. The 
venture was not a paying one as he sold the plant 
and went to La Crosse, Wis., where he was con- 
nected with the Daily Republican three years, 
when in September, 1869, he came to California 
and settled in San Francisco. In that city he 
lived until August, 1870; he acquired an interest 
in the Register, a weekly paper published in 
Napa, M^hich paper he bought a few months later, 
and built up into a daily and weekly journal. He 
served as postmaster of Napa under President 
Arthur and again in April, 1898, entered upon the 
duties of postmaster under commission issued by 
President McKinley. While he has been active in 
politics and held various positions in that connee<^ 
tion, his heart is, and always has been, in journal- 
ism. His paper is his pride, and will be doubtless 
to the end of his life. 

June 14th, 1866, he married Miss Eliza H. Hor- 
ton, in Lancaster, Wisconsin. He has three child- 
ren, Mildred, Ethel and George H., the last named 
is a graduate of Stanford University, married and 
settled in Napa and associate editor of the Reg- 
ister. 

CHARLES HUGO FARMAN 

Was born in Linkoping, Sweden, June 5, 1861. 
When but eleven years of age he came to San 
Francisco, arriving there in 1872. For three years 
thereafter he pursued his studies in the public 
schools of the metropolis. When fifteen years of 
age he entered the ofiice of Dr. Birge and co n- 
menced the study of dentistry, and after several 
years of preparation entered the Dental College 



288 ' NAPA COUNTY. 

of the University of Michigan, where he graduated 
in 1890. In the spring of 1891, he located in Napa 
city, where he has resided ever since, pursuing 
meanwhile the practice of his profession. For 
years past he has enjoyed the distinction of being 
the foremost dentist in Napa county and one of 
the very best and most competent and skilled 
dentists in the State. Financial success has, from 
the start, attended his work. He is the owner of 
the Farman block, corner of First and Randolph 
streets, a splendid structure that was designed by 
Mr. Turten, the skilled architect. He also owns 
his own residence, which is one of the best in the 
county; the house is in the center of large, spac- 
ious grounds and is studded about with large 
evergreen and other beautiful trees. 

Dr. Farman married Miss Emma W. Shogren in 
1892; she is an accomplished and talented woman 
with scholarly inclinations and a strong leaning 
toward a literary life; a splendid help and assist- 
ant is she to her husband. They are a happy 
twain, with a home that is always full of sunshine. 
They are both devoutly religious and valued mem- 
bers of the Methodist church, within the circle of 
which they are very active in all church work. 
They have three children, Margaret Anna was 
born in 1894; John Shogren in 1896 and Philip 
Charles in 1899. 

GEO. L. FIRESTINE 

Was born in Canada in 1853, and emigrated to 
San Jose, Calif., in 1892. In this classical and 
prosy town he engaged in the grocery business, 
but after a short time sold out and removed to the 
present growing city of Napa and at once entered 
into the boot and shoe trade in which business he 
is still engaged. By attention to business, and 
being scrupulously honest in all business affairs, 




L 



Dr. Farman's Business BlocK, Napa 



NAPA COUNTY. 289 

lie has built up a large trade. Mrs. Firestine is 
gifted with a voice of great eompat-s and marvel- 
ous sweetness, and is one of the leading singers in 
the Methodist church choir. They are most esti- 
mable people and honored citizens of the cit}^ of 
their adoption. Mr, Firestine is a man of quiet 
demeanor and modest in the extreme. 

ARTHUR FRUS 

Was born in New Zealand, 18(17; came to Cal- 
ifornia 1872, and to Napa countj^ in 1898; owns a 
ranch of 40 acres, of which he has improved 10 
acres, devoted to grain, fruit and berries. 

He makes a specialty of raising pure bred chick- 
ens, of which he gives the preference to Minorcas 
and Plymouth Rocks; in 1889 he married Carrie 
Wai'n, in San Francisco, where she was born in 
1871. They have two children Edna R., 1893 and 
Rose, January 1st, 1900, both in Napa county. 

ISAAC FITCH. 

Clark county, Illinois, was the place of his birth, 
and April 11, 1846, the date; he came to Califor- 
nia in 1864 and arrived in Napa county in 1868. 

There he married a lady from the same county 
and State as himself, which I suppose brought 
them together somewhat. They now live on the 
first farm at the entrance to Wooden valley. He 
was roadmaster for seven years and clerk of 
school board for five years, which shows his neigh- 
bors had confidence in him to a degree. 

Mr. Fitch raises horses, cattle and hogs. They 
have had seven children born and still living, 
>Nancy E., 1872; Charles H., 1877; Isaac N., 1880; 
David B., 1882; Cleveland B., 1884; Sadie B., 1887; 
Edgar S., 1891. We cannot follow the lives of the 
children further than to say that Nancy gradual- 



290 NAPA COUNTY. 

ed out of the Napa High school, obtained a teach- 
er's certificate of the grammar grade and is a 
teacher in the public school in East Portland, Ore. 

FERDINAND FISCHER 

Was born in Switzerland in 1859, emigrated to 
California, 1887; settled in Napa county the same 
year; he has a nice place of 15 acres, half of which 
is in grapes and grain. When he first came to 
America he stayed a year in Washington, after- 
wards coming to Pope valley, where he has lived 
since. 

P. FOSTER 

Was born in Illinois, 1827; came to California 
1852, and settled on the Foster ranch 1898; there 
are 152 acres of which 50 acres are in crop, orch- 
ard and vineyard, balance pasture land; married 
Mary J. Foster in 1852, in Salt Lake; she was born 
in Illinois, 1837; the children of this couple are: 
Ida, 1862, born in California; Charles, born in 
1879, in Missouri; Hattie Foster, 1867 (died 1892), 
Carrie, 1874, born in Missouri; Luie Hancher was 
a grandchild, being the son of Ida Hancher, nee 
Foster. 

WILLIAM FARLEY 

Was born in Wooden valley, February 15, 1867, 
and has since that time lived there. He married 
Leonora Sweitzer in Napa, February 4, 1890; she 
was born in Sonoma county, 1870, and they have 
three children, Cleo Emil, 1891; Harvey Deuzil, 
1894 and a baby not yet named. 

Mr. and Mrs. Farley live on their own land and 
are independent, happy and content; the yield of 
their grain fields and orchards are ample to pro- 
Tide for all which they may wish for. 



11 




c. c. ross 

St. Helena 




PROF. H. L. GUNN 

Napa 



NAPA COUNTY. 291 

C. C. FOSS 

Was born in Albany, New York, December 10, 
1856; came to California when but two years of 
age with his parents; in 1886 he arrived in Napa 
county and located at Calistoga; Mr. Foss has 
been in business with his father in Healdsbur^-, 
who started the first stage line in 1863 and in 1882 
he was associated with his father, driving the 
stage when but sixteen years of age. Mr. C. C. 
Foss drives the daily stage to Geyser Springs; the 
stage is drawn by six horses, and is known as the 
Phenix route; a tourist trip over 26 miles of wild 
and beautiful mountain scenery. 

H. L. GUNN 

The President of the Napa Business College, is 
a native of Minnesota; came to California in 1869. 
He received a business education in Heald's Busi- 
ness College, San Francisco, and graduated from 
the University of the Pacific, receiving the degree 
of Ph. B., and three years later the degree 
of A. M. Most of his years have been spent in 
teaching. He taught one year in the public 
schools of Minnesota; after coming to Califor- 
nia he organized the commercial department in 
the University of the Pacific, teaching there three 
years; he then took up public school work, but be- 
fore his first year was completed he was elected 
principal of the commercial department of Napa 
College, which department he organized and di- 
rected for sixteen years. 

He held the responsible position of Financial 
Secretary of Napa College for ten years and has 
had more or less experience with the accounts of 
numerous business firms, and has served over six 
years as Deputy County Clerk of Napa county. In 
1894 he organized and established the Napa Busi- 



2S2 NAPA COUNTY. 

ness College, whicli has been a progressive and 
aggressive institution from the start and has suc- 
ceeded far beyond the most sanguine expectations 
and has splendid prospects for the future. 

PRESTON GREEN GESFORD. 

Among the foremost citizens of Napa county, 
was Preston Green Gesford, who came of pioneer 
stock. His father, who fought under General 
Jackson at the battle of New Orleans, emigrated 
from Virginia to Casey county, Kentucky, in 1802, 
where the subject of this sketch was born April 
IT, 1820. From there Mr. Gesford moved to Jack- 
sonville, Illinois, where he lived until manhood. 
On June 30, 1840, he was married to Louisa Jane 
William, then settled near Galena, Illinois, where 
he lived until the gold excitement of 1819. In the 
spring of that year, crossed the plains with an ox 
team to California, and settled in the upper Napa 
valley, near St. Helena. In the spring of 1850 he 
returned to Illinois for his family and brought 
them to California by the way of the Isthmus, ar- 
riving in San Francisco on the eighth day of Jan- 
uary, 1851, and continuously^ since that time and 
until his death, on the thirteenth day of Novem- 
ber, 1896, he was a resident of Napa county, hav- 
ing moved from St Helena to Napa city in 18.57, 
and there purchased a farm. His widow, hale and 
hear-ty, now aged 81 years, still resides upon the 
old homestead near Napa city, and there are still 
living seven of their children, all being residents 
of this State Mr. Gesford served on the first trial 
jury ever empanelled in Napa county. He took a 
deep interest in public affairs, but notwithstand- 
ing he was often solicited to become a candidate 
for oflfice he preferred private life to public sta- 
tion. He died as he lived, a good man. 




PRESTON GREEN GESFORD, 

April 19tH. 1590. Aged 70 Years. 



A 



i/ 



"^^'Tff.-f, 



Mk 



m^ 




HENRT C. GESrORD. 



NAPA COUNTY. 293 

HENRY C. GESFOKl) 

Is the youngest son of Preston G. Gesford, one 
of the earliest pioneers of Napa county, he waa 
born near St. Helena, June 19, 185G, and obtained 
his early education in the public schools of Napa 
city and afterward took an extended course in 
Napa College. After teaching two terms in the 
county, he attendeil the State Normal school at 
San Jose, where he graduated in 1876, after which 
he was elected Superintendent of Schools in Napa 
county, and held the office for two years. In 
1881 he graduated from the State University of 
Iowa, and then attended the law school of the 
University of Michigan, taking a two years' course 
in one and graduating therefrom in 1882. Upon 
graduation from the University of Michigan, he 
took up the practice of law in Napa city, and in 
1887, he represented Napa and Yolo counties in 
the State Senate, then the Ninth Senatorial dis- 
trict, and he represented Napa and Lake counties 
in the State Senate, then the Seventh Senatorial 
district during the sessions of 1893 and 1895. Mr. 
Gesford also served as District Attorney of Napa 
county during the years of 1891 and 1892. He is 
a man who stands high in fraternal circles, being 
Past Grand President of the N. S. G. W., in which 
order he takes great interest; is also a member of 
the Masonic fraternity and the 1. O. O. F. Mr. 
Gesford's home is in Napa city; his family consist.^ 
of a wife and a young daughter. At the bar Mr. 
Gesford occupies an eminent position, not only in 
his native county but throughout the State. 

P. S. GRANT 

Was born in San Francisco, December 1st, 1867; 
moved to St. Helena in 1873, where he attended 
school until 1886. In February he went to work 



294 NAPA COUNT y. 

as a fireman for the Southern Pacific Railway, and 
after a time was promoted to engineer; continued 
working on the railroad until June, 1894; he then 
came back to St. Helena and started a cyclery and 
machine shop in 1895 and has continued this busi- 
ness ever since that time.; was elected to office as 
City Trustee AjDril, 1898, and which he now holds 
and also is foreman of Hose Co. No 1. In 1891, 
April 15, he was married to Miss Mamie Hall, and 
their children are three girls, aged 9, 6, and 2 
years, respectively. 

WILLIAM GORDON 

Was the man Gordon valley Avas named after, 
for he bought and owned it in 1851. He was born 
in 1801, in Adams county, Ohio, and died in 1876, 
at Cobb valley. Lake county, California, at the ad- 
vanced age of 75 years. He was the father of nine 
children, of whom three are now living. It is 
readily seen he was one of the first American set- 
tlers in California. 

WILLIAM GORDON, JR. 

W^as born in New Mexico, February 29, 1833; 
came to California with his parents in 1840, and 
Gordon valley was named after his father. The 
subject of this sketch has a ranch of 1,200 acres, 
of which 200 are in grain and fruit; stock raising 
provides his income, principally horses, cattle and 
hogs. He married Julia Chapman in 18«)0, at 
Napa; she was born in Connecticut in 1840; (heir 
children are as follows: Safronia, 1861, who died 
1897; George, 1865; Frank L., 1867; William H., 
1872; Loretta, 1878. There are at Mr. Gordon's 
place many cui'ious Indian relics, also an Indian 
buiying ground. Frank L. Gordon lives with his 
father on the ranch; Mrs, Julia Chapman Gordon 



NAPA COUNTY. 295 

died in 1897, and Mr. Gordon married again in 
1898, October 30th, Miss Alice A. Gosling, in Ber- 
ryessa valley. 

JOSEPH GORDON 

Was born in New Mexico (Taos), December 5, 
1835; he has a ranch of 325 acres, of which 100 are 
in a high state of cultivation; balance being pas- 
ture land, and always has been a farmer and stock 
raiser. 

His wife is Ruth A. Glascock, of Woodland, 
California, where they were married, but her 
birthplace was Hannibal, Mo., and date 1842; she 
crossed the plains with her parents by means of 
horses and wagon. 

Mr. and Mrs. Gordon have had three children: 
James, Nellie and Joseph of whom Nellie alone 
survives. 

J. GRIMM, 

Proprietor of Grimm's vineyard and wine cellar, 
which was built in 1888, and has a capacit}' of 
140,000 oak cooperage; the land conlains 405 acres 
of which 75 acres are improved, 70 acres being in 
vines and five acres in orchard; in 1899 there was 
40,000 gallons of wine made here; there is also a 
distillery for the manufacture of brandy, also a 
bottling establishment; these goods generally are 
sold to the retail trade of San Francisco. 

NELSON GAUTHIER 

W^as born in Canada, 1833, emigrated to the 
United States, 1849; came to San Francisco, 1872; 
arrived at Napa Soda Springs 1876, working at 
the stonemason's trade; it was he who built Bell- 
view building at the springs, without help, except 
occasionally, and has done all the mason's work 
about the springs; he married Emily Kincade at 



2S6 NAPA COUNTY. : 

Yallejo in 1874, who was born in Kentucky, 1859; 
their children are Agnes Gauthier, 1876; Hattie, 
1879 (married Hewell.) 

LOUIS M. GIAUQUE, 

Born in Switzerland, 1835; came to California 
1840; to Napa county 1870; married Louisa Hohns 
1865; live children were born to them, Louis Ed- 
ward, 1867, Sacramento; William H., 1870; born 
same city; Mary, 1875, Napa county; Ida, 1879^ 
Napa county, George, 1882, Napa. Mr. L. M. 
(jiauque owns what is known as the old Sage 
ranch, located on the corner of Chiles canyon and 
consists of 160 acres. A fire destroyed their home 
in 1899; W. H., son of L. M. Giauque, married Etta 
Chinette, bom in Portland, Oregon, in 1880 and 
has one child, Elsie, born in 1898; he owns 40 acres 
of the old ranch. 

H. K. GliOTEGUTH 

Was born in Germany, May 11th, 1847; emigrat- 
ed to America when 10 years of age; settled in 
Illinois; started for California in 1859; came to 
Sacramento and from there to Napa county where 
he has lived ever since; owns a farm of 200 acres, 
of which 125 are in cultivation; has a small vine- 
yard, five acres of prunes, three acres of pears and 
raises cattle, horses and hogs; maiTied Alice 
young, 1886, she was born in Iowa; the children 
are Lelia BeUe, 1888; Edna May, 1890; Azelia 
Alice, 1893; Harry E., 1895; Virlee E., 1898; all 
born in Pope yalley. 

JACKSON GRIDLEY 

Was born in New York, 1832; settled in Napa 
county, 1852; in 1864 he bought the "Old Gridley 
Ranch" on Dry creek, where he died, 1882; ho 




SAMUEL E. HOLDEN 

Napa 



NAPA COUNTY. 297 

married Placida Hardman, 1855, who was born iu 
Jndiana^ 1840; the children are Jane A., Minnie; 
M., Etta M., Eugene J., Laura A., Reuben A. The 
widow still resides on the home place with her 
children Minnie, Reuben and Eugene. 

Jackson Gridley crossed the plains with an ox 
team and was the first person to introduce bees in 
Napa county; he obtained |100 for each swarm 
and ever enjoyed the presence of the humble but 
industrious bee. Minnie Gridley is married to Mr. 
West of Napa. 

SAMUEL E. HOLDEN 

Was born in West Concord, New Hampshire, 
February 3, 1845, nearly fifty-six years ago. Ver- 
ily, he has fallen with the sun still high. When 
the dark days of the civil conflict came on he was 
still a young man pursuing his studies in the New 
Hampshire Conference Seminary. Hearing the 
call of his country he laid aside his books and pat 
<jff his school garb for the soldier's rifle, and the 
''army blue," tramping, sleeping, fighting under 
the Stars and Stripes, an enlisted soldier of the 
Sixteenth New Hampshire Volunteers, serving 
the full term. After the "muster-out" he resumed 
his studies, graduating from Wesleyan Universi- 
ty, Middletown, Connecticut, in 18(50. He then 
studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1872. 
In the year of his graduation he married Miss 
Mary E. Taylor, of Saubornton, New Hampshire. 
In the spring of 1875 they came to California, and 
on April 11th were received on certificate into the 
Napa Church. On the 4th of the following month 
Mrs. Holden "died in peace." In 1879 Brother 
Holden was married to Miss Anna Smyth, of 
Mount Vernon, Iowa. She and three sons sur- 
vive him. One son, Robt. S., is getting his educa- 
tion in his father's Alma Mater. Harold and Phil- 



29S NAPA COUNTY. 

ip are at home in Napa, the former a student in 
the high school, the latter in the grammar school. 
One little girl, Gracie, preceded the father to the 
better land. For twenty-five years Brother Holden 
has been one of Napa's most prominent and pub- 
lic-spirited citizens. He has been extensively en- 
gaged in the manufacturing and tanning busi- 
ness. Twice he was elected a member of the City 
Council, and no more faithful, capable, upright 
servant ever sat on its board. His fellow towns- 
men speak of him with great respect, and tell of 
his interest in all that was for the city's welfare. 
During the stress of hard times a few years ag(i, 
for the sake of his employees and their families, 
he stood financially under business concerns that 
were run at a continuous loss. It was the pres- 
sure of many business cares and the attendant 
strain of numerous responsibilities that caused 
his physical breakdown about two years ago; and, 
although he seemed better at times, he made no 
permanent gain but gradually grew worse and 
weaker, until he entered into rest. If his useful- 
ness as a man and public citizen were measured 
by his business activities, his would be a life of 
much value. But he gave to his generation other 
varied and valued services that make his life of 
greater worth than had he simply been an ener- 
getic and successful business man. As President 
of the Board of Trustees of Napa College he did 
his best for the welfare of that institution. As a 
Trustee of the University of the Pacific he was 
not wanting in interest in its success. He was 
also a prominent and useful member of the Lay 
Association of the California Conference, Mr. 
Holden departed this life on December 31st, 1900 
—the last day of the twentieth century. "Immor- 
tality o'ersweeps all time, all tears, all pain, all 
fears, and peals like the eternal thunders of the 



NAPA COUNTY. 29^ 

deep into my ears this truth, 'thou liveth for- 
ever.' " 

E. D. HAM. 

E. D. Ham was born in Alabama in 1839; to- 
gether with his parents, moved to Arkansas in 
1854; here he worl^ed on his father's farm in sum- 
mer and attended school in winter. 

In 1857, entered Arkansas College, where he 
pursued a course of study, after which he took 
up the study of law, and in due course of time 
entered upon the practice of his profession. But 
his career at the bar was short, as the flames of 
rebellion had now broken out and this young 
spirit was one of the first to rally under the ilag 
in defense of its honor. 

The people of Napa County should be proud to 
honor a man who had the courage to leave the hot 
bed of disunion in the heart of the South, and go 
North, as Judge Ham did when but a young man, 
and on February 15th, 1862, joined the Union 
army under General Curtis. 

At the battle of Prairie Grove young Ham 
showed such bravery, coolness and good judgment 
that he was soon after made a major and was 
transferred to the staff of General John M. Scho- 
field, afterwards commander-in-chief of the United 
States army. On October 13th, 1862, General 
Schofield, at Cassville, issued his famous order 
directing all commanders in the Army of the 
Frontier to furnish Captain Ham, chief of scouts, 
with as many men as he might require at their 
hands. Any soldier will assure our readers that 
the bravest of the brave are selected and required 
for the position of scouts, as we have recently 
learned from the exploits of Colonel, now General, 
Punston in Cuba and the Philippine war. 



?00 NAPA COUNTY. 

Major Ham was undoubtedly one of the nervi- 
est, coolest and bravest men that ever faced death 
on any field. His selection as captain and chief 
of scouts is eloquent in its evidence of what was 
thought of him by the officers of the Civil War, 
most of whom are long since gone to their ftnal 
rest. In every place to which young Ham was 'ail- 
ed to act durng the war he did his duty well yes, 
nobly, and at the close of the war returned to 
private life and re-entered the field as a legal 
practitioner. 

In 1864, while Major Ham was serving with his 
regiment, his people at home elected him a State 
Senator for the countie^i of Benton and Madison, 
in the State of Arkansas, which place he held 
until 1865, and during this period was chairman 
of the Judiciary Committee, a fitting testimonial 
to his ability as a lawyer from the Legislature 
of that great State. 

In March, 1865, President Lincoln, in order to 
reward Major Ham in a slight degree for his dis- 
tinguished services on the field of battle, appoint- 
ed him United States District Attorney for Ar- 
kansas. In 1868 he was appointed Judge of the 
Circuit Court for the Fifth District of Arkansas 
and filled this place with credit and honor until 
April 1st, 1874, when he resigned to remove to 
California, and soon after settled at Napa, where 
he commenced the practice of law. In 1890 he was 
elected a Republican Superior Judge of Napa 
County. In 1806 he was re-elected, and is now fill- 
ing the position he has so long graced with his 
ability and integrity. He has a wife and three 
grown daughters. 

Through the judicious and enonomical man- 
agement of the court, over which he presides vast 
sums of money are saved each year to the people 
and county. His decisions are, with very few ex- 



NAPA COUNTY. 301 

ceptions, always sustained by the Supreme Court 
He is fair, honest, tender-hearted, a good father, 
kind neighbor, and good citizen, and probably the 
best judge Napa County ever had or ever will 
have. Long may he live. 

ANTHONY HUBBS 

Is a son of the late Colonel Paul K. Hubbs, 
and was born in Lyons, France, of American par- 
entage, April 4th, 1834. He was educated in the 
public schools of Brooklyn, N. Y., and Holems- 
burg. Pa., graduating from the grammar schools 
of the latter place at the age of 14 years. 

During the gold excitement of 1849 he came to 
California, Vvith his parents, around Cape Horn 
in the ship Susan G. Owens, from Philadelphia, 
arriving October 12th, 1849, after a passage of 158 
days. 

Soon after his arrival he obtained employment 
as roller boy in the office of the Alta Californian, 
where he remained until after the fire of May, 
1850, when the building and contents were en- 
tirely destroyed. He then went to the mines of 
El Dorado and Tuolumne counties and mined with 
^ arying success until 1852. He then came to Val- 
lejo, the then capital of the State. The Legisla- 
ture being in session he obtained a position as 
copyist in the office of the Governor, Bigler. In 
1854 he held a clerkship with General J. W. Den- 
ver, Secretary of State, at Sacramento, until ill 
health caused hira to resign and return to Solano 
County, where, in 1857, he was elected County 
Treasurer, and re-elected in 1859, holding this 
office two terms. In December, 18G6, he was ap- 
pointed license clerk by the Hon. Robert Watt, 
State Controller, and afterward promoted to the 
position of bookkeeper in the office of Controller, 
holding that position for four years. In 1876 he 



302 NAPA COUNTY. 

was re-appointed and held the same position under 
J. W. Mandeville and W. B. C. Brown, and also for 
a time by D. M. Kenfield and J. G. Drum. 

He afterwards served five years as navigation 
clerk and clerk of equipment stores at the Mare 
Island Navy Yard, being appointed by the Hon. 
AV. C. Whitne}^, Secretary of the Navy. 

On November 21, 1861, he was married at Fair- 
field, Solano County, to Miss Martha A. Bryant, 
of Suisun, They are the parents of five children, of 
whom three are now living. Coming to Calistoga 
in September, 1893, he bought the stationery, 
variety store and news depot of L. Haeckl, which 
business he is now engaged in conducting. He is 
a member of the Masonic Fraternity, the Ancient 
Order of United Workmen, and a past vice-presi- 
dent of the Vallejo Society of California Pioneers. 
In politics he is a life-long Democrat. 

His early ancestors on his father's side were 
Quakers, who came to America with William 
Penn in 1682. On his mother's side his grand- 
father. Captain Andrew Hedelius, served as an 
officer with Captain John Paul Jones on the ship 
Bon Homme Kichard, which captured the British 
ship Seraphis in that desperate naval battle off 
the British coast in 1779. 

Anthony Hubbs is now serving his second term 
as trustee of the town of Calistoga; in 1896 he was 
elected to serve four years; on September 5th, 
1899, he was made president of the board; on May 
1st, 1900, he was appointed to fill a vacancy for 
the unexpired term occasioned bv a resignation, 
and has been, and is now, (1901) the chairman of 
the finance committee 

GEORGE HEAD. 

This pioneer was born in 1837 of German par- 
ents. He learned the trade of manufacturing 



NAPA COUNTY. 303 

boots and shoes in New York. In the year 1858 
we find him in battle with Indians at Pyramid 
Lake in company with Benj. V. Hagan, sheriff, 
in which they lost one man. The Indians being in 
ambush, they left the job of subjecting the red- 
skins to the regular troops which soon came upon 
the scene. Geo. Head was the youngest volunteer 
in the company. In those days the volunteers that 
went out to fight the Indians had the pleasur.ir 
of furnishing their own horses, guns and amuni- 
tion, as well as food, blankets, etc. In 1863 George 
Head opened up the shoe store in Napa, and was 
always a successful merchant, and was the pioneer 
in that line in Napa City, having the oldest shoe 
store being the first. About five years ago he re- 
tired from business, his son George now being the 
manager. 

Mr. Head was married January 1st, 1860, at 
New Orleans Flat, Nevada county, to Miss Mary 
Miller, of St. Louis, and they had nine children, 
five boys and four girls, in the following order: 
Agnes, 1861, Nevada County; Charles, 1863, (died, 
1895); William, 1865; George, 1870; Pauline, 1871; 
Flora, 1873; Mabel, 1876; Floyd, 1883; Ralpli, 1887. 

M. M. HAAS 

Was born in Napa in 1871; attended grammar 
school and finished his education in Napa Busi- 
ness College. The business in which Mr. Haas 
is engaged is in stationery, books, toys and varie- 
ties, which business was established 35 years ago 
by Mr. Haas' father, Mr. D. L. Haas. The present 
owner has incorporated the business and is the 
manager and one of the largest stockholders. Mr. 
Haas married Miss Madeline Manser in Napa, 
November 24, 1899, and they have one child, 
Thelma, born in Napa, August 24, 1900. Mr. Haas 



204 NAPA COUNTY. 

is past president of Napa Parlor, N. S. G. W., and 
a member of the I. O. O. F. 

PROF. GEORGE HUSMAN 

Was born in Germany in 1827, and came to 
California in 1850; returned East, but came baik 
and settled in Napa County in 1876; mai'riei 
Louisa Kielmaun in Missouri in 1852. fc^he was 
born in Penns3iyania in 1836. 

The children born to this couple are as follows: 
Louisa, 1854; Amelia W., 1859; Geo. C., 1861; Jo- 
hanna C. and Josephine L., 1865; F, L., 1868; all 
born in Missouri. 

Geo. C. and F. Ia Husman run a ranch con- 
sisting- of 181 acres, of which 50 acres are vine- 
yard and 38 acres in grain, balance pasture and 
timber land. They liave a large stone wdne cel- 
lar with a capacity of 25,000 gallons. They have 
a fine stone building on the place and raise a va- 
riety of grapes, which are made into a variety of 
wines of high grade for family use. 

JOSEPH W. HARRIS. 

Joseph W. Harris is a native Californian, hav- 
ing been born in Napa County on the 18th of 
April, 1858, and, excepting about six years of his 
childhood, has always lived in tliis County. 

He owns a splendid ranch of 1,600 acr.^s, 
of which about 400 acres are sown to grain, the 
balance lai'gely being pasture land, on which are 
to be seen some fine specimens of Durham cattle, 
standard breeds of horses, hogs, etc. 

On this ranch are found great indications of 
coal oil, for the development of which a company 
has been formed for sinking wells, etc., and active 
operations will be made in 1901. Tn 1881 he mar- 
ried Henrietta (^lark, who was born in Iowa, on 
INovember 4th, 1860, and the children are as fol- 



03 



< 




NAPA COUNTY. 305 

lows: Lorenzo L., April 8, 1889; Clifford C, July 
]4, 1895; Electa E., Sept. 28th, 1896; Albert A., 
October 16, 1898. 

I. B. HARDMAN 

Is a native son, being born in Pope Valley, Napa 
County, in 1856. He owns his own place of 360 
acres, 40 being in grain, orchard and vineyard, 
balance in pasture land, on which stock is raised. 
A flock of full-blooded Minorca chickens is 
found here. Rebecca Ellen Hardman lives with 
her brother, I. B. Hardman. She was born in 1851 
in Napa County, where she has always lived. 

E. HOPPE. 

This man was one of the celebrated, but un- 
fortunate Donner party. He was born in Missouri 
in 1844, came to California in 1846, and his family 
came in 1886. He owns his fine ranch of 160 acres, 
of which he has 10 acres improved, and raises 
stock on balance. 

In 1880 he married Ida Caler, who was born in 
San Francisco in 1860. The children are three in 
number, Charles Edwin, 1883; Norma O., 1886, 
and John W., 1888, all born in San Francisco.' 

ELIZABETH HILL 

Was born in East Tennessee, 1815, and her hus- 
band, Wm. R. Hill, was born in 1814. He canie to 
.California in 1850, returned East, and again, in 
1854, went back to California, accompanied by 
his son, Thomas H. In 1856 Thomas returnedy 
and with his mother and her five children crossed 
the plains in 4 months and 22 days. 

While crossing Nebraska a band of hostile In- 
dians stole sixteen head of cattle and eight head 
of horses. Thomas Hill, her son, and some other 
young men pursued the Indians, endeavoring to 



306 NAPA COUNTY. 

recover their property. The Indians ambushed 
the young men, and when they came within shot 
opened fire upon them, two fell dead, one of whom 
was Thomas, the others escaped with wounds, 
and managed to return to the train. His mother 
said he was such a good boy, and it nearly broke 
her heart to see one she loved so dear lying dead 
and scalped, who but a few minutes ago was well 
and happy. But such is life on the plains. 

Mrs. Hill is the mother of Kant Hill, of Napa 
Soda Springs, and who is well-known throughout 
this county. Mrs. Hill had six children, three of 
whom are dead. When Mrs. Hill came to Napa 
City in 1856, it consisted of a small town of 
shanties. "There was no Catholic Church, no 
Court House, nor any good buildings." Mr. Will- 
iam Hill, her husband, died in Napa County Jan- 
uary 16, 1891. 

ALFRED C. HILL, 

Known as "Rant'' Hill, was born in Missouri, 
May 20, 1843. He crossed the plains and came to 
Napa in 1856, taking six months with ox 
teams to reach this place from Missouri. In the 
said train there were about 50 persons and 1000 
head of stock. After an adventurous life at stock 
herding and gold mining he finally settled down 
near Napa Soda Springs on a ranch, and has re- 
mained there ever since. 

Mr. Hill is now, and has been for 20 years past, 
foreman of the bottling works at Napa Soda 
Springs. He was married to Miss Lena Leon- 
hardt July 23, 1876. She was born in California 
in 1859. Their children are: Minnie L., May 6, 
1877; William C. Hill, Doc. 20, 1878; Angela Hill, 
May 4, 1883; Jessie Hill, May 5, 1887; Albert Hill, 
April 14, 1891. 

Mr. Hill's family moved to Napa from the Soda 



NAPA COUNTY. i " 307 

Springs in 1890, to enable the children to enjoy] 
the educational adantages of the city. 

CHARLES F. HOBSON 

Was born in 1866, and arrived in Napa County; 
in 1869; married Marie L. Gressot in Napa County 
in 1888. She was born in California in 1867. They 
have four children, born and named as follows: 
Iven L., 1889; Arthur M., 1890; Carrie A., 1893; 
Marshel F., 1896. 

This place was originally known as the Clag- 
horn ranch, owned by a relation of the former 
queen of Hawaii. There are 240 acres of which 
20 are in cultivation. A specialty is made on this 
place of fowls and turkeys. 

THERON INK 

Was born in the State of New York, and mar- 
ried Harriet Groodrich ; died in 1894 at St. Helena. 
The children born were May I. Ink and J. G. Ink. 
Mr. Theron Ink owned more than 10,000 acres in 
Napa County, and was engaged in stock raising. 

J. G. INK. 

Born in Marin County, California, 1872; came to 
Napa in 1874, and since that time has made his 
home here. He owns 600 acres, farms and raises 
stock, 80 acres being in cultivation. In 1895 he 
married Edith L. Sweitzer, who was born in Ber- 
ryessa valley in 1874. They have one child, The- 
ron Herbert, born on the Ink ranch, February 19, 
1898. 

E. W. JAENSCH 

Was born in Germany February 6th, 1837; emi- 
grated to the United States in 1863; came direct to 
Napa County and engaged for the first few years 
in farming and mining. In 1866 he opened a gen- 



308 ' NAPA COUNTY., 

era! mercliandise business on First street, near 
Main street, and from 1870 to 1880 he was engaged 
in the same business on the corner of First and 
Main streets. In 1880 he built a structure on the 
corner of First and Brown and moved his business 
into it, and in 1888 he sold out and retired from 
active business. Mr. Jaensch owns several busi- 
ness buildings in Napa City. In 1897 he was 
elected councilman, and still holds the same office. 
He married Miss Helen Schultz in 1879, in Lon- 
don, England. Their children consist of one son 
and two daughters, Cora and Elsie. The son, Ed- 
win, is a student in the University of California 
at Berkeley. 

COL. JOHN P. JACKSON, 

A native of Ohio, came to California in the six- 
ties. While in the East he resided in Covington, 
Kentucky, but practiced law across the river in 
Cincinnati, Ohio. This profession was followed 
for a period of fifteen years, during which time 
he took a very active part in the politics of both 
Ohio and Kentucky. 

While in the East he served as a Presdential 
elector and held many places of trust. In 18G4 he 
was nominated for Governor of Kentucky on the 
Republican ticket. He was tendered the place of 
first assistant Secretary of the Treasury under 
Grant's administration. He was also tendered 
the nomination of congressman in his Kentucky 
district, but declined, as he had contemplated 
going west. 

After settling here he built the California Pa- 
cific Railroad, and afterward became its presi- 
dent. He subsequently built the Stockton and Cop- 
peropolis road, and also the Stockton and Visalia 
Railroad. As an orator he was one of the best in 



NAPA COUNTY. ' 309 

the State. Under the administration of President 
McKinley he was made Collector of the Port of 
San Francisco. 

For many years past he has managed the Napa 
Soda Springs, from which source he received a 
large revenue by the sale of the water, which is 
bottled and shipped to all parts of the State. He 
was married to Miss Anna Hooper, a Kentucky 
belle, in 1857. They have nine children, seven 
boys and two girls. Nearly every child possesses 
in a large sense, the urbanity and kind disposi- 
tion of the father. A noble man, honored by all. 
In the winter of 1900-01, while undergoing an 
operation for gravel, he suddenly expired. His 
death was unexpected by his own family, and a 
great surprise to the people of the State. His gen- 
eral health was good up to the hour when he 
yielded himself to the mercy of the surgeons. 
His sudden death was a public calamity, and a 
great loss to this county. 

THOMAS JACKSON 

Was born in Ohio, in 1853; came to Napa 
County in 1855, and married Kansas Bonham in 
Napa County in 1880. There are seven children, 
Ade E., 1882; Reba L., 1884; Cora, 1886; Nancy J., 
1888; Martha L., 1891; Maggie A., 1893, and Amy 
E., 1897. 

This ranch is in Chiles Valley and comprises 
188 acres, of which 75 are in cultivation, includ- 
ing a small orchard. Mr. Jackson has been 
road-master for about 12 years, and is a super- 
visor for district No. 5, which commences in Conn 
Valley, going up Sage Canyon and through Chiles 
Valley. The altitude at the home of Mr. Jack- 
son is about 1000 feet. 

This is the only family having seven children, 



310 NAPA COUNTY. 

all of whom are girls, that could be found in Kapa 
Valley. 

THE OLD JACKSON KANCH 

Was a part of the Chiles Grant, bought in 1889 
by Dawson Jackson, and contains 388 acres, of 
which 100 acres are in cultivation, mostly grain, 
including orchard. 

In 1847 he married Josephine Gaffany, in Iowa. 
She was born in Ireland in 1830. Their children 
are as follows: Sarah Jackson Moore, born in Iowa 
1848; Mary Jackson Cathcart, born in Iowa, 1851; 
Thomas Jackson, born in Iowa, 1853; James Jack- 
son, born in Napa County, 1855; Charles Jackson, 
born in Napa County, 1857; Margaret Jackson 
Gilson, born in Napa County, 1860; Robert H. 
Jackson (died, 1864), born in Napa County,1862; 
Martha Jackson Raney, born in Napa County, 
1864; Eveline A. Jackson McLaughlin, born in 
[Napa County, 1866; Andrew Jackson (died, 1875), 
born in Napa County, 1873. 

James Jackson rents his mother's place. 

D. S. KYSER 

Came to Napa in 1875 and worked at the State 
Hospital. On October 14, 1876 the firm of J.Giles 
Furniture Company was formed, and Mr. Kyser 
was of this corporation, known to be the oldest 
and most complete furniture and undertaking es- 
tablishment in the county. The present location 
is known as the "Williams Block," situated on 
North Main street, next to the post office, and has 
a frontage of 80 feet. It presents a first class ap- 
pearance, besides having the largest display of 
up-to-date furniture, unequalled in any town out- 
side of San Francisco. 

October 14, 1876, Mr. Kyser married Nettie 
Giles, who was born in Boston, Mass., but who 



NAPA COUNTY. f :/' sn 

died in March, 1901, leaving three children, James, 
Frankie and Margie. Mr. Kyser was born in Penn- 
sylvania, April 9, 1852, and left his home for 
Napa, California, where he arrived August 1, 1875. 

PHILLIP KEENE. 

This gentleman was born in England in 1851, 
arriving in America in 1893, came direct to Napa 
County, where he purchased the Bungalow Fruit 
Eanch, principally devoted to prunes and peaches, 
and makes a specialty of fine chickens. 

He married an English girl, Mary E. Mason 
(who was born in 1853), in 1878, and the issue of 
the marriage were Ivy S., 1881; John, 1883; Kuby, 
1885; Warren, 1887; Maude, 1889; Eonald, 1892. 

KEV. ENSIGN H. KING. 

Thfis gallant old hero was born in 1838 in 
Pennsylvania and emigrated to California in 
1871, to Napa in 1883. He married Fidelia C. 
Wilson, of Ohio, in 1845. November 4, 1861, he 
enlisted in the Fifteenth regiment of Iowa Vol un- 
teers as a private, was promoted to first sergeant, 
again to second lieutenant, and again to first 
lieutenant, as adjutant, afterwards chaplain. 
During this time he participated in the following 
bloody battles for the preservation of the Union 
and our national life: Pittsburg Landing, or 
Shiloh; Corinth, Vicksburg, Atlanta, and marched 
M'ith Sherman to the sea— a glorious military 
career. 

Since these stirring scenes he has been an active 
minister of the gospel in the Methodist Church 
until 1888, since which time he has been superan- 
nuated. 

The children of his union with Miss Wilson 
are as follows: Percival S. King, 1866; Lyman 



212 NAPA COUNTY. 1 

M., 1869; George C, 1872, Mary M., 1874; Delia 
W., 1883, who died in California in 1889. 

Daughter Mary King graduated from Napa 
College in 1886, and has taught school from 1897 
to 1899. 

Pereival King was a member of the National 
Guard at the time of the great railroad strike- 
now attorney at law. Lyman is also practicing 
law. 

HENRY LANGE 

Is proprietor of the Grand Hotel in St. Helena, 
which contains thirty rooms, with good accommo- 
dations, large dining room, with good table de 
hote, free bus to and from the depot. The fact 
that this house has enjoyed a good patronage for 
the past twenty j^ears, demonstrates that the pub- 
lic are well pleased with the service obtained here. 

Mr. Lange is also the owner of Olive Hill vine- 
yard, situated near Zinfandel station, on the west 
side of Napa valley, and consists of twenty-one 
acres in vineyard, olives and orchard of assorted 
fruits. He also has a fine wine cellar, with a ca- 
pacity of 30,000 gallons and manufactures both 
white and red wines. 

Mr. Lange was born in Germany, and emigrat- 
ed to the United States in 1857, and came to Napa 
county in 1878, and settled on the ranch he still 
owns. Mr. Lange is one of the best posted men 
on viticulture, having had tweuty-three years 
experience, and having made as much as 80,000 
gallons of wine in one season, and gives it as his 
opinion that Napa county will lead in viticul- 
ture, and produce the best wines of any other 
county in the State, especially as to quality, as 
from past experience we know just what vines to 
plant. He has been Trustee of Vineland District 



m^ IRf^ 




HENRY LANGE, 

St. Helena. J 



NAPA COUNTY. 313 

for nine years, resigning to remove to St. Helena. 
He is also the agent for the German Hospital in 
San Francisco and one of St, Helena's most ener- 
getic business men. 

He married Sophia Huber in San Francisco, in 
1875; she was born in Germany; this couple have 
nine children, Charles, Carrie, Henry, Philip, 
Sophia, William, Henrietta, Chester and Eliza- 
beth. 

J. O. LEVA, 

Of Sage canyon, was born in Portugal, 1855; 
emigrated to California 1873; came to Napa coun- 
ty 1882; bought his ranch 1887. When he lirst 
visited this ranch on his way there he met a bear 
in the road, saw deer on the place and on the sur- 
rounding mountains. This was what was then 
known as the old J. Hall's place in Sage canyon, 
and is celebrated for the fine mountain stream 
which runs through the place, affording trout 
tishing. 

S. T. LAKE 

Was born in New York; came to Napa county 
1853 and settled on what is known as the Buhu- 
man Dairy ranch, which was then owned by S. 
T. Lake's father-in-law. He married Francis A. 
Mount, in New Jersey; their children are: Han- 
nah Lake, (died in Yallejo); Theodore, born in 
New Jersey, 1852; John, born in New Jersey, 
1851; Napa Lake, W\ H. Lake, Carrie Lake 
(married Boutcher); Amelia (married Stork); Lil- 
lian (married Belknap). W. H. Lake married Ora 
B. Horn, 1883, who was born 1864, in Napa coun- 
ty; their children are: Edith Lake, 1884; Edna 
Lake, 1887; Lola, 1893. 

Mr. Lake owns his own home and lives in iSapa 
city and works at the carpenter trade. 



214 NAPA COUNTY. 

I WALTER ADELBERT LEONARD 

Was born in Napa county on the old Leonard 
ranch; is now living on the John Martinelli ranch 
which contains 150 acres, all of which is under 
cultivation, including five acres of orchard. This 
citizen has always lived a farmer's life and enjoys 
it. In 1893 he married Miss Carrie Straube who 
was born in 1876, in Napa county. They have one 
child, Edna Irene Leonard, born 1894. 

CHARLES L. LEVANSALER 

Was born in Maine, 1845, and came to Califor- 
nia; he then left for Oregon, where he mined for 
gold on the John Days river three years; visited 
Portland in 1862, when it was a new town and one 
of the principal blocks in that city now could then 
have been purchased for a trifle. He returned to 
Napa in 1871 and engaged in the draying business 
in which he is still engaged, having associat- 
ed himself with the People's Express Company." 

He has been lessee and manager of the Napa 
Opera House for the past fifteen years. He mar- 
ried Mary Eggleston 1873, who was born in Napa 
and died there in 1888. Their children are: 
Joseph E., 1876; George, 1878; Mary Francis, 
1880; Hazel, 1882; Bover, 1885. In 1892 Mr. Lev- 
ansaler married Mrs. Lyettie Phelps, a native 
daughter; the chihlren by this marriage are: 
Edith, Olive and Russell J. 

FRANK BENNETT MACKINDER, 

Editor and proprietor of the St. Helena Star, 
was born in Young America, Washington county, 
AVisconsin, September 28, 1866. With his parents 
he came to California, when only three years old. 
The family made its home in Healdsburg, Sonoma 
county, a short time and then moved to Windsor^ 




r. B. MACniNDER, 

Elrditor of St. Helena Star. 



:' NAPA COUNTY. 315 

where the subject of this sketch attended the pub- 
lic school. When but fourteen years of age the 
serious illness of his father made it necessary for 
him to quit school and assist in the conduct and 
care of the large blacksmithing and wagonmak- 
ing business which had become too great a bur- 
den for an invalid to carry. He attended to near- 
ly every branch of the business and all his sjjare 
time worked at the blacksmith trade. When his 
parents later made an extended visit to the East 
he managed the entire business, although not yet 
sixteen years old. In 1884 the business was sold 
and the family moved to St. Helena, Napa county. 
Here the subject of this sketch, at the age of 17, 
entered the office of the St. Helena Star as an ap- 
prentice in the mechanical department. The 
work of the "devil," such as washing rollers and 
carrying papers, fell to his lot and his first salary 
was $10 per month. He gave such careful atten- 
tion to his duties that he was soon promoted. By 
diligent study and hard work he had in less than 
three years worked himself up to foreman of the 
office and was such when, at the age of 21 years 
he associated himself with J. H. Dungan, of 
Genoa, Nev., in the purchase of the Star. After a 
partnership of four years, Mr. Mackinder pur- 
chased Mr. Dungan's interest in the paper and has 
ever since conducted the business alone. As a 
newspaper man Mr. Mackinder has met with sig- 
nal success. He has never sought to build himself 
up by tearing others down, but by close attention 
to business and with the exercise of care in the 
conduct of his paper, he has built up a splendid 
business and has greatly prospered. He has al- 
ways been identified with every movement for the 
up-building of the town and county and is in 
every particular a part of the community in which 
he has so long resided. In 1900 he erected a hand- 



316 NAPA COUNTY. 

some stone building in the business center of 
town and. it now houses the Star, the postoffiee, 
and the W. A. Mac-kinder Co., real estate and in- 
surance agents. Mr. Mackinder has always taken 
a live interest in the affairs of the California Press 
Association and in 1900 was elected a member of 
the Executive Committee. In politics Mr, Mack- 
inder has always been an ardent Republican and 
an enthusiastic worker in the ranks. He has sev- 
eral times been selected as a delegate to the State 
conventions of his party and in 1898 was chair- 
man of the County Republican convention. In 
January, 1899, Mr. Mackinder was appointed by 
President McKinley, postmaster of St. Helena. 
He has fitted up a handsome office, one which 
postal inspectors pronounce a model in every re- 
spect. Mr. Mackinder is a self-made man in the 
fullest sense of the term and in all his undertak- 
ings has met with marked success. He was unit- 
ed in marriage to Miss Lucy Martin of Browns- 
ville, Illinois, October 30th, 1889. Their home is 
a pretty cottage on Oak avenue. 

W. A. MACKINDER. 

Willis Adelbert Mackinder, the well known 
real estate and insurance agent, of St. Helena, 
was born March 18th, ISfil, in Young America, 
Washington county, Wisconsin, and is the son 
of George Mackinder, now deceased. The family 
came to California in 1868 and settled at Windsor, 
Sonoma county, where his father engaged in the 
blacksmith and wagon making business. After 
spending his boyhood days in attendance at the 
public school in Windsor and later at the Acad- 
emy at Healdsburg, the subject of our sketch 
came to St. Helena in 1878, entering the private 
banking house of W. A. C. Smith, as a clerk. He 




\Sr. A. MACniNDER, 

St.' Helena. 



NAPA COUNTY. 317 

was with him one year, when he entered the em- 
ploy of Beringer Brothers, wine makers, as a 
bookkeeper, with whom he remained for a year 
and a half. For the succeeding two years he was 
with E. W. Woodward, the real estate dealer, dar- 
ing the "boom times" in Napa valley vineyards, 
and in 1883 he purchased a half interest with 
Chas. A. Gardner in the St. Helena Star; on Jan- 
uary 1st, 1884, he leased Mr. Gardner's interest in 
the Star and on the first of the succeeding year 
purchased this interest, becoming sole proprietor; 
on November first, 1887, he sold the paper, and 
since that time has devoted his energies exclusive- 
ly to the real estate and insurance business. Dur- 
ing this period he has been part of the time alone 
in the business and has for short periods been in 
partnership with others, but has always been 
looked upon as the dominant spirit in the busi- 
ness, and it is to his energies alone that the pres- 
ent large and important real estate and insurance 
agency owes its existence. In February 1900 Mr. 
Mackinder incorporated his business under the 
name of The W. A. Mackinder Co., with a capital 
of |10,Q00, of which corporation he is the Presi- 
dent and active business manager. His company 
has the largest insurance business (fire, life and 
accident), in the county, representing some twen- 
ty-five of the best fire insurance companies and 
being district agents for the Travelers' Insurance 
Co. (life and accident), of Hartford, Conn. Mr. 
Mackinder has been a Notary Public for fifteen 
years past and is also known as the leading auc- 
tioneer of the county. His firm makes a specialty 
of real estate and publishes for free distribution, 
a neat 8-page, illustrated paper the "Napa 
County Viticulturist," containing reliable infor- 
mation about the county and a list of property 



318 NAPA COUNTY. 

for sale. In municipal affairs Mr. Mackinder has 
served at different times as Town Clerk, School 
Trustee and Library Trustee; in politics he has 
always been an ardent and consistent Republi- 
can; has attended State and county conventions, 
served on State and County Central Committees 
and acted several times as chairman of county 
conventions. He is at present a member of the 
Union League Club of San Francisco. Mr. Mack- 
inder is an active and enthusiastic member of the 
order of Knights of Pythias, being a Past Chan- 
cellor and member of the Grand Lodge of that or- 
der. In April, 1885, Mr. Mackinder was married 
in Oakland, California to Miss Minnie Meredith; 
they have two daughters, Ruth and Irene and a 
son, Willis Mereditb. 

HON. J. M. MAYFIELD. 

This pioneer of Napa county was born in the 
State of Alabama, on July 3d, 1833, and came to 
California in 1859, settling in Napa county the 
same year. In 1862 he married Miss Rosalia 
Chapman, a native of Connecticut, where she was 
born in 1843 and the following issue was the re- 
sult of their union: Thomas E., June 9th, 1864; 
Samuel L., July 9th, 1866; Leonidas M., March 
8th, 1870; William E., February 7th, 1872; Lovina 
E., April 1st, 1875; Amy R., May 12th, 1880; Lilly 
A., June 30th, 1883. 

Mr. Mayfield is the owner of 296 acres of land 
in Napa valley; the home place consists of J6 
acres on which he has a good house and barn; of 
the land 85 acres are in grain, balance being 
mountain land. The Oakville ranch is all in grain 
and improved, and contains 200 acres. 

The right to the prefix Honorable, to his name 
was granted by the votes of the people of the dis- 



NAPA COUNTY. g^^ 

trict in which he has been so long an honored res- 
ident-having been elected to the membership of 
the State Legislature for the years 1877 and 1888; 
now surrounded by his children, he enjoys the 
evening of a well spent life still blessed by the 
companionship of the wife of his youth. What 
more in this life could one ask? 

M. A. MACLEAN. 

Marcus Alexander Maclean was born in San 
Pablo, Contra Costa county, California, Septem- 
ber 9th, 1860. He is of Scotch parentage, the old- 
est of a family of two boys and two girls. His 
father, W. S. Maclean, being one of the pioneer 
settlers of Contra Costa county. Mr. Maclean, Jr., 
worked on his father's farm until he was nineteen 
years of age, when he went on the railroad and 
has been in continuous service for over twenty- 
one years. For three years past he has been con- 
ductor of the passenger train in Napa valley. So 
popular is he with the public that he has friends 
by the hundreds. No more pleasant, agreeable 
or affable man is to be found in the employ of the 
S. P. R. R. Co. In October, 1884, he married Miss 
Eva Millington, a native of Alameda, and the 
daughter of James Millington, a pioneer of forty- 
nine. 

They have three children, Donald M., aged 12; 
Ernest K., aged 10, and Myrtle E., aged 4. 

In April, 1900, Mr. Maclean was elected Coun- 
cilman of the town of Calistoga and is now serv- 
ing in that capacity. It has no better friend or 
more earnest supporter than he. Our subject is a 
jolly good fellow, honest, trustworthy, a good 
husband, kind father and good citizen. May his 
shadow never grow less. 



320 NAPA COUNTY. 

CHRISTIAN MOSER 

Lives in Foss valley; was born in Germany, 
February 26th, 1836; came to the United States, 
1853, and to Napa 1870, and in September of the 
same year bought the ranch where he now resides. 
This property consists of 700 acres, of which 300 
are in grain and grapes. Mr. Moser's principal 
occupation is stock raising. In 1892 he was elect- 
ed Road Supervisor in his district and faithfully 
he has performed his duties as such. Mr. Moser 
was married to Georgia DeBurk, who died April 
24th, 1900. The children were Louisa, born 1867, 
died 1888; Henry, born 1871; Belle, 1873; Chris- 
tian, 1875; Lola, 1880. 

M. MAST 

Was born in Germany, in 1845; emigrated to 
the United States in 1865 and first lived in Minne- 
sota and then tried Ohio for two years, but in 
1867 arrived in California and settled in Napa 
county, after living in Yolo county for sixteen 
years. He owns 612 acres and has 280 acres in 
grain, a small orchard and vineyard. In 1872 be 
married Bertha Freitag while in Yolo county; 
she was born in Germany 1855; the children born 
of this union were Ernest F., 1874; Emma Pau- 
lina, 1875; Alfred, 1877; Mathias, 1879; Dorothea 
E., 1881; Hermann, 1883; Anna M., 1884; Caroline, 
1887; Bertha, 1889; Martin, 1891 and James D., 
1894. Ernest Mast is now bookkeeper for Norman 
Bros., in San Francisco; Mathias is attending a 
business college in San Francisco; Hermann is at- 
tending the Berkeley High school. 

C. D. MOONEY 

Was born in New York, 1861, and emigrated 
to Napa valley in 1879. The name of his ranch is 



NAPA COUNTY. 32i 

the Soda valley fruit farm. Mr. Mooney was for- 
merly engaged in the mercantile business in St 
Helena, but his health failed so he moved out on 
his ranch, where he enjoys perfect health. He is 
also the owner of Liberty fruit dryer about one 
and a half miles from Rutherford; has the latest 
improved machinery; all of his goods, the product 
of his dryer are sold in San Francisco. In 188t he 
married Anna McArrow by whom he had six 
children, A. Jennie, 1885; Charley, 1887; Milton, 
1889; Ray, 1892; Isabel, 1895; Tyrell, 1898. Mr. 
Mooney was deputy county assessor from 1895 to 
1899. There has been a magnesia deposit dis- 
covered on this ranch. A. Jennie the oldest daugh- 
ter, died April 7, 1898 in Soda valley and was 
buried in St. Helena; she was so well known and 
beloved that her funeral was the largest attended 
in St. Helena for a child. 

C. S. MARCUM 

Was born in Illinois, Jan. 29th, 1841, emigrat- 
ed to California in 1876 and settled in Sutter 
county where he engaged in farming for six years, 
after which he resided in Tulare, Santa Clara and 
Yuba counties. In 1885 he removed to Napa 
county and settled about three and a half miles 
east of Rutherford, where he owns a farm of 160 
acres. He is engaged specially in almond culture 
and has raised the finest quality of almonds to be 
found in the county. Mr. Marcum was married to 
Sarah Munger in 1867 and has one son Dewet 
Marcum. The subject of this sketch is a typical 
American of English descent, a man hale and 
hearty, one of the respected and honored residents 
of the county. 

THOMAS MARK 
Was born in Scotland, December 16th, 1861; 



322 NAPA COUNTY. 

emigrated to the United States and came on to 
Napa county, where he at once began working at 
his trade, that of a cooper. His work is all hand 
made and is greatly in demand, being shipped as 
far as New Orleans and New York. His specialty 
is hand made oaken packages for wine, such as 
5, 10, 25, and 50-gallon kegs and barrels; he em- 
ploys seven or eight men continually and turns 
out weekly from 200 to 300 pieces. 

JOHN MARTINILLI 

Has made Napa county his home since 1871 ; he 
married Katherine Nanoni in 1880, in San Fran- 
cisco; their children are: Silva, born July 14, 1881; 
Ida, August 20, 1882; John, September 8, 1884; 
Charles, September 2, 1886. He runs a fine ranch 
of 160 acres in upper Brown's valley which he has 
rented. He is principally engaged in stock 
raising. 

CONRAD MEYER 

Was born in Switzerland in 1847; emigrated to 
this country 1867, stopping at Toledo, Ohio, and 
in 1872 came on to California, and in 1879 settled 
in Napa county; lived in St. Helena for sixteen 
years and worked at the carpenters' trade; in 
1895 he came to Pope valley and settled in Ger- 
mantown, on a place of 32 acres, which is highly 
improved, having orchard and vineyard; he mar- 
ried Maria Keller in St. Helena in 1880; she was 
born in 1853 in Switzerland; their children were 
born as follows: Henry Meyer, 1881, in St. Helena; 
Emma, 1884, in Switzerland; Eda, 1888, in St. 
Helena; Maria E., 1893 and Herman C, in 1897, 
in St. Helena. 

WM. E. MEAGHER. 
This citizen was born in San Francisco, 1871; 



NAPA COUNTY. 323 

came to Napa county with his parents; he moved; 
to Berryessa valley and in 1896 opened up in the 
meat market business. He v^^as elected Constable 
of Knox tovv^nship and appointed under Sheriff; 
sered as such since 1898, under Sheriff Dunlap. 
In 1892 he married Ida MuUally, a native of Napa 
city, born in 1872; the children are William E., 
December 7th, 1896 and Gladys M., December 7th, 
1899. 

JOSEPH MITCHELL 

Conducts the only exclusive paint, wall paper 
and glass store in the county of Napa, which is 
situated at No. 55 North Main street. Joseph 
Mitchell was born in England, 1840; emigrated to 
this country in 1849, landing in Illinois; after a 
sojourn in Iowa, came to California and lived at 
Chlco for one year; came to Napa county in 1865 
where he engaged in wagonmaking. In 1892 Mr. 
Mitchell first started his store of Paints, glass and 
wall paper. He was married to Charlotte E. Web- 
ster, 1860; their children are: Minnie, Edward, 
and Katie E. The first named is married to 
J. E. Newman; the second helps his father in his 
business; the third and last, is now a teacher in 
Central Grammar school in Napa. 

W. F. MAECH. 

This gentleman was or is, the genial proprietor 
of the Villa Hotel at Rutherford and also of the 
livery and feed stables of -that thriving little 
town. 

The hotel is well fitted and furnished, contain- 
ing accommodations for about 25 persons. 
A good table is set and every care taken to suit 
the wishes of the guests. Under its present man- 
agement it is popular as a summer resort, for 
which it is well suited, both by the attractiveness 



324 NAPA COUNTY. 

of the house and the beauty and salubrity of this 
portion of Napa valley. Regular stages leave zhe 
house for Walters' Soda Springs and other moun- 
tain resorts. Its convenience of position to the 
railroad at Rutherford is not the least of recom- 
mendations, permitting easy access to the city. 
Mr. March is a native of Scotland county, Mis- 
souri, born May 3, 1849, but came to this county 
with his parents when but six years of age. His 
father, R. B. March, was engaged in mining at 
different times and also ran a livery stable at 
Elmira, Solano county, which he still owns, but 
now retired from active business, caring only for 
his orchard. He was assisted by his son, Mr. W. 
F. March, until the latter moved over into this 
county. It should be further stated, however, 
that the family resided for sometime in the earlier 
years in this valley, coming here in 1857, when 
Mr. March, Sr., carried on farming, so he is no 
stranger to the beauties and capabilities of this 
section. Mr. March was married at Rutherford 
in 1887, to Miss Mary Cavanaugh; they have one 
child, William Raymond March, born June 14th, 
1887, in Solano county, California. 

GEORGE S. McKENZIE 

Was born June 17, 1856, in Picton county, Nova 
Scotia; came to Napa county April 1879. 

He opened a carriage and wagon building es- 
tablishment in May, 1879, and conducted it until 
1885 when he bought out the general store of 
Thompson & Beard, which was a branch of their 
main store at Napa city. In 1893 he sold out his 
merchandise business to Cook & McKenzie; next 
year he was appointed Justice of the Peace for 
Knox township. After serving two years as jus- 
tice he was elected Sheriff of Napa county as a 
Republican and served to the satisfaction of the 




GEORGE McHENZlE. 



NAPA COUNTY. 325 

people for a period of ten years. At a convention 
of the Sheriffs of California he was elected to rep- 
resent that body before the State Legislature in 
the year 1897, to obtain necessary legislative ac- 
tion. 

Mr. McKeuzie married Alice M. Clark, May 1st, 
1894; she was born in Berryessa valley and died 
Oct. 2, 1899; the children born to them were: 
Harvey, accidentally killed when one year old; 
(i. Stanley, October 19, 1886, at Monticello; Cor- 
delia, February 2, 1890; Ethel A., June 12, 1891. 
Mr. McKenzie has taken up his residence in Napa 
city, expecting to remain there permanently. 

ALEXANDER McKENZIE. 

This citizen was born in Nova Scotia in 1840, 
and 1868 came direct to Napa county, California. 
In 1870 he opened a blacksmith shop in Monti- 
cello and resides principally in that town. Near 
Sugar Loaf mountain he has a valuable ranch of 
1()0 acres, especially so for its mineral prospects, 
but which as yet, remain undeveloped. The 
chrome iron croppings are good and also the pros- 
pects for a magnesia mine which it is expected 
will be developed in the near future. 

In 1869 the subject of this sketch was married 
to Miss Nancy K. Frazer, which lady was born in 
Nova Scotia, 1843; the fruits of the marriage 
were the following children: Bella, August 16th, 
1870; Charles N., October 31st, 1871; Roderick, 
May 26th, 1873; Nettie, January 17th, 1875; Abra- 
ham, September 23d, 1877; William T., Febru- 
ary 11th, 1880; Simon B., April 14th, 1882; Annie 
R., January 17th, 1884; Alexander Thomas, Jan- 
uary 27th, 1886; Frederick M., October 10th, 1887. 

PERRY E. McMILLEN. 
This respected resident was born in Missouri 



326 NAPA COUNTY. 

in 1853, and in the following year came to Cali- 
fornia. In 1892 be moved to Napa county and 
now resides in Conn valley. In 1878 he maiTied 
Miss Mary Coffman, the daughter of Alihue Coff- 
man, and old settler of Lake county. 

Mr. and Mrs. McMillen have seven children, all 
native sons and daughters; Walter was born in 
1879, Myrtle in 1880; Albert in 1882; Perry, in 
1885; Reuben, in 1888; Olive in 1893 and Hazel in 
1898. The oldest daughter, Myrtle is now the 
wife of Edward Richardson, they were married 
in 1898, and also reside in Conn valley. 

Every man has his favorite sport, and Mr. Mc. 
is no exception to the rulf. Hunting deer and 
bear and smaller game is the joy of his life. Boone, 
Carson or Crockett were at no time in their life 
better marksmen, or more successful in the chase. 
He has killed many deer, bear and elk and an 
evening spent under his hospitable roof listening 
to reminiscences of the gun and hound, both in 
Lake and Napa counties where he resided before 
coming to this county, is most enjoyable. 

Mr, M. is not rich in this world's goods, because 
his heart is too big and his impulse too generous. 
But no man for many miles around has lived a. 
happier life, or raised a better family of boys and 
girls; this is a fortune in itself. Men of generous 
impulse do not lay up fortunes for others to quar- 
rel over, but have the good sense To set a good 
table, rich with the necessaries and bounty of life. 
Such is the case here in this home, and nothing 
more creditable can be said of any man than is 
comprehended in the old adage: "His latch 
string always hangs out," a saying in all respects 
true both of Mr. M. and his good wife. He is the 
owner and inventor of a remedy, a part of which 
is composed of snake oil, and is one of the best 
repiedies in the world for rheumatism, sprains. 




C. H. NASH, 

MarsHal, Calisto^a. Cal. 



NAPA COUNTY. 327 

etc. It has a wide sale among many people in 
Lake and other counties, and if the merits of this 
remedy were generally known it would make its 
inventor a very rich man in a short time. Mr. ]\r. 
is now, and has been, engaged in farming since 
1873. 

JAMES McCAFFEEY 

Was born in 1850, on June 8th, in Ireland; emi- 
grated to the United States with his parents in 
1852, and settled in New York. In 1876 he came 
to San Francisco, California, and in 1879 took up 
his residence in Napa city. Mr. McCaffrey is a 
blacksmith making a specialty of horseshoeing; 
he also has a great taste for traveling and has 
made several extensive trips throughout the 
world. After visiting the different parts of the 
United States, he revisited the place of his birth 
and made a trip to China, returning again to Xapa 
in 1896 he reopened his former business; he has a 
reputation as a skillful mechanic and horseshoer. 

SAMUEL E. McNeill 

Was born in Illinois; came to California in 1857, 
and to Napa in 1896, and is now conducting a 
candy and ice cream factory; he also has a retail 
department on Brown street, No. 17. He married 
Miss Emma Stokes, in 1884, of San Francisco, 
and has two children, Charles Edgar, 1885, and 
Albert Earl, 1886, both born in Grass valley, Cal. 

CORNELIUS H. NASH 

Was born in Piatt county, Missouri, January 
13th, 1845; came with his parents to Napa valley^ 
California, in 1846 when they settled within three 
miles of Calistoga and engaged in farming. This 
young man served as a cowboy, and for many 
years was stage driver from Monterey to Lake 



5M NAPA COUNTY. 

county. Mr. Nash is now Marshal of Calistoga 
and has been for the past thirteen years, and was 
Constable for two years preceding the incorpora- 
tion of the town. Mr. Nash married Hester I. 
Hopkins, November 1st, 1867; she was born in 
Illinois; their children are five in number, Hattie 
May Nash Tamm (she was born in Calistoga, and 
married W. H. Tamm); Geo. Emmet Nash was 
born in Calistoga, May 22, 1870, and died Septem- 
ber 14, 1898; Emma Nash Tapping now lives in 
Sonora, California; Jason W. Nash was born in 
Hadin Hill mining camp, November 23, 1876; 
Frank E. Nash was born February 11, 1883. 

JAMES B. NEWMAN 

Was born in England in 1851; came to this 
country in 1872, landing in Baltimore; after a 
visit to Chicago he came on to Napa, where he 
was employed in the State hospital at Napa after 
which he opened business for himself near the 
cemetery, in 1873. In 1888 he married Minnie E. 
Mitchell in Napa, the place of her birth; their 
children are: Raymond W., 1892; Harold M., 1894, 
both born in Napa. 

P. H. PALMER. 

Philip Henry Palmer, whose portrait appears 
in this book, was born in Kentucky, on December 
8th, 1838. He was the son of Philip and Anna A. 
Palmer, honored residents of the old Blue Grass 
State, and possessed of those sterling qualities 
that have made the people and State famous. 
These characteristics have reappeai-ed in the sub- 
ject of this sketch, making him the possessor of 
enterprise, pluck and sterling integrity. 

In 1848, together with his parents, he moved 
to Johnson county, Missouri, where they resided 
for six years; about this time the East was filled 




p. H. PALMER. 

Pope "Valley. 



NAPA COUNTY. 329 

with glowing stories of the El Dorado toward the 
setting sun. The brave father and mother, both 
feeling the stirring impulse of the times, resolved 
to go west with the enterprising Easterners that 
made up the wagon trains across the plains, and 
after an era of exciting episodes such as surround- 
ed every caravan in that day, they arrived in Ne- 
vada city, October 6, 1850, and here they resided 
until 1852, when the family again moved to Sui- 
sun valley, Solano county, where they resided 
until 1867. However, Mr. Palmer, having arrived 
at an age of responsibility, divided his time be- 
tAveen the home of his parents and a farm near 
Fort Eoss, Sonoma county, where he was engaged 
in the stock business. On October 16th, 1867 he 
moved to liis presi^nt farm in Pope valley, a splen- 
did place, comprising over live hundred acres of 
good land. He was married August 9th 1865, to 
Miss Sarah E. Lewellyn, a most estimable lady, 
who was born in Harrison county, Indiana, on 
October 13th, 1841; this beloved companion of his 
early life died in 1897. 

In 1900 Mr. Palmer was married to Mrs. Ella 
Jackson, a pleasant and good lady, who enjoys 
the confidence and good will of all who know her. 
The marriage has been singularly fortunate, and 
their home life is a charming and happy one. 
Every community has its leading man, and this is 
verified in this instance. The writer learned from 
outside people that our subject is the wealthiest 
man in Pope valley, and one of its best and most 
honored citizens. He is also an ideal farmer in all 
respects, sociable, modest and of retiring disposi- 
tion, ever shrinking from public attention, and 
is always looking about for the humblest seat in 
the most obscure corner of the hall. One source 
of his success lies in the exercise of good judg- 
ment of what is the coming commodity to raise on 



33« NAPA COUNTY. 

the land, and the cereal or kind of stock likely to 
bring the best returns for the service rendered. 
Kentucky thrift and good taste crops out on all 
sides, as may be seen by a visit to this home, 
T\ here the house is always well painted and one 
of the best furnished from top to bottom that can 
be found in Napa county. Mr. Palmer is evident- 
ly of the belief that luxury and comfort is as much 
the privilege of a plain farmer as the prerogative 
of the merchant or banker, and he has carried 
this belief into practice, and will at least receive 
some of the benefit himself from the long years 
of toil to which he has been no stranger. The 
dates as herein set forth were given to us as they 
appear, but the facts as set forth herein are stated 
on the authority of others, and on personal ob- 
servation. He has long since realized that the 
only enduring monument is raised, not by a biog- 
raphy in a book, but such as is reared by a life 
of industry, honesty and uprightness. "To live in 
hearts we leave behind is not to die." 

ANTON NICHELINI, (Sage Canyon) 

Was born in Switzerland, 1862; came to Napa 
county, 1882; married Katherine Corda, 1890, at 
Santa Eosa, who was born in Switzerland in 1869; 
they have had six children, all born in Napa coun- 
ty, as follows: William, 1891; Joseph, 1893; Jose- 
phine, 1894; Emma, 1896; Ida, 1897, Rosa, 1899. 

Mr. Nichelini took up a Government claim in 
1884, and moved his family on to it in 1890, it com- 
prised 160 acres, and is known as the Nichelini 
ranch. He was the first Swiss settler in Chiles 
valley, and was here previous to any roads being 
graded or improvements had been made, so with 
brush, rocks, trees and rugged mountains the 
country was almost impassable, since which time 
he has seen the valley made to blossom like a rose 




T3 
(0 


a 
c 



c 

a 
U 



.' NAPA COUNTY. 831 

under the patient labor and skill of the early set- 
tlers. He also built the first wine cellar in Sage 
canyon and is a skilled wine maker. 

Mr. Nichelini has the prospects of two good 
mines on his place, one of copper, which assays 
$15 to the ton from crbppings; the other is chrome 
iron, which goes 50 per cent to the ton metal; 'le 
expects to develop these properties which are on 
his homestead. On account of the mineral depos- 
its, this farm is one of the most valuable in the 
county. Mr. Nichelini is in the prime of life, 
happy, contented, a kind father and husband, a 
good neighbor and a pleasant man to meet. 

THOMAS NEWTON, 

An Englishman by birth, 1869, came to Napa 
county in 1890 and located on the Dry creek roai, 
where he, with his brother, William Newton, 
owns Glen Dale, a ranch of 80 acres, of which 20 
are in cultivation, in almonds and prunes. He 
married Sarah Jackson in England in 1896, and 
they have two children, John born in England, 
and Mary Sawrey, on Dry creek, Napa county. 

WILLIAM NEWTON 

Was born in England, 1862; came to Napa 1889 
and settled on his present home of 80 acres, most 
of which is timber land; about 15 acres are in cul- 
tivation. He married Charlotte Eaton in 1891, in 
San Francisco; she was also born in England; 
they have one child, W^illiam Eaton Newton, May 
11th, 1900. 

MRS. LOUISA NOLL, 

The postmistress of Pope valley, was born in 
Germany, 1841; emigrated to the United States 
1866; came to California in 1869 and into Napa 
countv in 1892. Her husband, Joseph Noll, was 



332 NAPA COUNTY. 

born in Germany in 1833; emigrated to United 
States, 1849; to California, 1854, and settled in 
Napa count}^ 1892; maiTied Louisa Eberspacher 
in San Francisco 1880; he had two children by 
a former wife: Lillie, born 1876 and Adolph 1879. 
Joseph Noll owns a small place of 10 acres, most 
of which is in cultivation, orchard and garden. 

FRANK SUMNER PHILLIPS. 

This citizen first saw the light in Wisconsin, 
May 10th, 1858, and arrived in California in 1875, 
and in Napa county in 1875, making his home in 
Knoxville, driving team for a living. A year and a 
half later he came into Berryessa valley and farm- 
ed two years on Scribner's ranch, after which he 
bought the carpenter shop and blacksmith shop 
on the Knoxville mine road, which he operated 
for two years or more, when he sold out to Mr. 
Swift. Mr. Phillips then purchased twenty acres 
in a high state of cultivation and on this property 
he has his residence; he has other property, siich 
as a small 16 acre ranch in grain, near the stone 
bridge and an orchard of pears and prunes con- 
taining eight acres. 

At present Mr. Phillips is conducting the. car- 
penter and blacksmith business, and devoting his 
leisure time to looking after his farms. His wife 
was Chilo L. Walker, being married in Woodland 
in 1878; his wife's birthplace was New York, and 
the date May 19, 1849. 

J. J. PRIEST 

Was born in Ohio, 1826; died in Napa valley 
1897; he emigrated to California 1849, to Napa 
county 1863, and bought the ranch 1869. In 1862 
he married Sarah F. Foster in California; she was 
born in Illinois in 1848; they have had ten child- 
ren as follows: Katie, 1864; W. H., 1866; D. C, 




a 
-0 

c 

a 
If) 

'00 

C 
'u 

a 
(/) 

-a 





NAPA COUNTY. 333 

1867; James L., 1869; D. Q., 1871; Alonzo, 1874; 
Chas. H., 1877; Geo. L., 1879; Marion W., 1882; 
Eeuben F., 1884, of which two are dead, the old- 
est daughter Katie, 1883, and James L., 1893. D. 
C. Priest leases the farm from his mother and it 
comprises 747 acres of which 150 is under cultiva- 
tion. Priest Soda Springs is widely and favorably 
known; at the bottling establishment 50 cases of 
five dozen each are shipped daily; the altitude is 
900 feet; Priest Bros, also have a bottling works 
in St. Helena. 

JAMES H. PARR 

Was born in Canada, September 28th, 1840; em- 
igrated to the United States and finally located 
in Sacramento, California; here he married Mrs. 
Mary H. Lea, on June 6th, 1896; after some time 
they moved into Napa county and were so much 
pleased with its broad and fertile fields and its 
wonderful, healthful climate that they decided to 
make their home here, and Mrs. Parr homestead- 
ed the ranch known as Fair View Farm. 

This land was pre-empted by the following per- 
sons: Peter Fagin, Karl Kraus and Karl Klose on 
the 2d day of January 1865; patented in 1SG7; 
that portion of swamp land included in this farm 
was patented by Broadw^ell & Sanderson, October 
1886; the entire tract contains 1,275 acres and is 
homesteaded to Mrs. Parr and her children; Mrs. 
Parr came from England 1863 and lived in Sacra- 
mento until October 1897; James H. Parr came 
from Canada in 1869 and lived in Sacramento un- 
til the same date, October 1897, when he moved 
to Napa county to reside on this farm which is 
specially adapted to the raising of stock and dairy 
purposes, although 150 acres of grain is raised an- 
nually; poultry raising is successful. Mr. Parr 



334 NAPA COUNTY. 

writes: "We are in religion and faitti of the reor- 
ganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day 
Saints." 

S. W. POGUE 

Was born in Honolulu, U. S. A., in 1849, emi- 
grated to the State of California, Napa county, 
J 881; he lives on the John Allman ranch of 550 
acres, of which 40 acres are in grain, 20 acres in 
orchard and small vineyard, rest pasture and tim- 
ber land. S. Whitney, the grandfather of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, was a pioneer missionary to 
Honolulu in 1819, when it took seven or eight 
months to go from Boston to Honolulu and it was 
not until three years had passed that the relatives 
heard of their safe arrival. Mr. Pogue's mother 
was also born in Honolulu. 

ANTON ROSSI 

Was born in Switzerland, 1852; emigrated to 
the United States in 1871, arriving in New York 
in 1876. He arrived in Napa county and bought a 
ranch of 160 acres, of which 60 acres are in grapes 
and twenty acres in grain. He has a fine wine 
cellar capable of holding 75,000 gallons of wine. 
In 1900 Mr. Rossi made 15,000 gallons of wine. 

In 1879 he married Ida M. Bacon in Napa; she 
was born in Kansas, June 1st, 1861; their children 
are: Fred B. Rossi, born August 1, 1880; 
Charles L. Rossi, born October 31st, 1882, and 
Arthur, December 23, 1887. 

JAMES ROSEBERRY, 

Of Roseberiy farm, was born in Pennsylvania 
1836 and came to California in 1862, and to Napa 
county in 1885. In 1871, on January 1st, he mar- 
ried Emma Adamson who was born in Iowa, 1841 ; 
the children born to them are: Eva M., 1871; 



NAPA COUNTY. 336 

James W., 1874; Fred. T., 187G; Louis H., 1878; 
Ada E., 1880 (died in 1882); Martin G., 1884. 

This farm consists of 1,200 acres, of which there- 
are cultivated 300 acres, vineyard six acres, orch- 
ard, five acres, the balance is grain land. A tine 
trout stream passes through the farm; stock is 
raised on the pasture land, of which there are 900 
acres. 

EDWARD B. RICHARDSON 

Was born in England, 1849, and came to Napa 
in 1875; now lives on the Glendale ranch which 
consists of 1,500 acres, of which 200 are in culti- 
vation in grain, the balance is heavily timbered 
and is used for stock raising. In 1877 he married 
Mary S. Lumer; she died 1893; one child, George 
Price Richardson, born in Conn valley in 1884. 
In 1898 he married S. Myrtle and by her had one 
son, 1899, Edward Price Richardson. 

CALVIN REAMS 

First saw the light on January 26, 1833, in 
Knox county, Ohio; in 1853 he came to California 
and engaged in mining. Having visited Solano 
county, and sojourned in Lake county four years, 
he came to Napa county in 1869 and has sin ^e 
made his home in Napa. He married Louisa 
Henderson in Solano county in 1857. Miss Hen- 
derson was born in Indiana, March 11, 1837; their 
union was blessed with children as follows: 
James Manuel, Chas. A., Alice Maude, Luella, 
Ben. F., Sherman Rainey. 

The Calvin Reams ranch is partly in Napa and 
partly in Solano counties, 207 acres in Napa coun- 
ty which are divided into grain and pasture land. 
The balance of the land is in Solano county and is 
largely in fruit. Fine oranges are raised on this 
part of the ranch. Mrs. Reams relates how, in 
1853, she crossed the plains with her parents in 



336 NAPA COUNTY. 

wagons drawn by oxen. The names of her parents 
are Ebenezer Henderson and Cynthia Henderson, 
the latter lived with her daughter, Mrs. Reams, 
and reached the great age of 96 years, 5 months 
and 21 days; she was born in Louisiana and died 
in Napa county January 7th, 1900. 

JAMES WILLIAM REAMS 

Is from the Buckeye State, having been born 
in Ohio December 24th, 1837, and in 1875 came to 
California and in January, 1878, arrived and lo- 
cated on the ranch he now owns in Gordon valley. 
His orchard is not only one of the first, but one of 
the finest in the county, being rarely touched by 
frost. This ranch contains 310 acres, of which 70 
acres are in fruit, and lies at the junction of Sui- 
sun, Gordon and Wooden valleys. The quantity 
and variety of fruit and nuts raised here is won- 
derful, as frost seldom touches the trees in this 
vicinity almonds, oranges, prunes, cherries, figs, 
and apricots are the principal. 

In 1862 Mr. Reams married Martha J. Ralston 
in Illinois, but she also was born in Ohio, near 
Mt. Vernon. Their children are: Annie M., 1863; 
Theodore Osgood, 1868; Montezuma B., 1870 (died 
1884); Calvin U., 1872; James L. 1874); Daisy D., 
1877; Grace G. 1879; Stowman, 1883. 

W. J. RANEY. 

This native son of Napa county was born in 
Capell valley, August 19, 1860, and has always 
lived in Napa county; he is at present clerking in 
a store for J. Hunter, in Monticello, and has been 
for the past twenty years. He also has been dep- 
uty postmaster for sixteen years and postmaster 
for four years. He is also roadmaster for Monti- 
cello road district, and has been for six years past. 
Mr, Raney owns property in different parts of this 



NAPA COUNTY. 8J7 

State and is one of the directors of the Agricul- 
tural Associaition. 

B. F. REAMS 

Was born in Napa county, November 20, 1871, 
and has always continued to reside therein, but 
conducts business in both Napa and Solano coun- 
ties. His home is at present on the €oombs 
ranch, where he has about 400 acres seeded to 
grain; he also rents other farms in Solano county. 
Mr. Reams is Trustee of the Gordon valley school. 
He married Miss Mary Clark in Benicia, on April 
18th, 1892, where she was born October 6th, 1873. 

A. D. ROGERS 

Was born in the town of Hampton, Washing- 
ton county, N, Y. ; when but one year old the fam- 
ily moved to North Creek, New York, where Mr. 
Rogers resided until 1874, when he went to Iowa 
where he resided for nine years, working at the 
carpenter's trade. In 1877 he was married, and 
while living in Iowa taught school during the 
winter months. In 1883 he moved with his family 
to South Dakota, where he staid two years; he 
then moved to California, taking up his residence 
at Calistoga and has resided there ever since. 

JOHN A. ROTH 

Was born in Germany in 1843 and in 1860 emi- 
grated to California and came to Napa in 1873, 
where he has always lived a farmer's life. While 
in San Francisco he followed the butchers' trade 
and before leaving the city married Miss Autte C. 
Schmidt, 1868; she was born in Germany, 1848; 
their children are: Annie L., 1869; Henry W., 
1870; Charles J., 1871; Theresa, 1873; Augusta, 
1875; Caroline, 1877; Emma, 1879; Edwin H., 



338 NAPA COUNTY. 

1881; Alfred H., 1888; George H., 1891. John A. 
Roth lives on James D. Phelan's place of 100 
acres all of which is in a high state of cultivation, 
including orchard and vineyard. 

THOMAS GEORGE ROGERS 

Is a native of England, Kent county, born 
1818; came to California 1848 and to Napa county 
1849; at this time the Indians roved through the 
valley, there being no roads, nothing but Indian 
trails. The natives were peaceful, but would 
steal anything they could lay their hands on. Mr. 
Rogers came to this county in company with the 
Conn and Cook families. Conn valley was named 
after John Conn. 

Mr. Rogers was married to Mary Hanson Chord 
in Conn valley in 1881; she was born in 1835 at 
South Bend, Indiana. 

This ranch consists of 1,000 acres, 400 of which 
is cultivated laud devoted to grain and stock rais- 
ing. 

Mrs. Rogers had four children by her fir^t hus- 
band, Daniel Chord, as follows: Martha E. Chord 
(married Swartout), born in Napa, 1853; John P. 
Chord, 1855; Lydia A. Chord (married Tabor), 
born 1859, in Conn valley and Frank S. Chord, 
born 1863, same place. The grandchildren by 
Lydia Anne Chord Tabor were: Lizzie, 1885; Clara 
Irene, 1887, and Mable, 1890, all in x^onn valley. 

In 1849, when the family first came to Napa 
\ alley, large bands of Indians roamed through 
the valley on the trails, there being no roads, ex- 
cept one to Clear Lake, and although the Inclinns 
would steal everything they could carry, they 
were not bloodthirsty and were known as digger 
Indians. Frank S. Chord has always made his 
home on the Rogers' ranch and is a carpenter by 
trade, he married Gertrude Grigsby in 1895 at 




r. H. SANDERSON. 



NAPA COUNTY. 339 

Napa; their children, Raymond, born 1897 and 
Francis, 1S9S. 

CHAUNCEY B. SEELEY 

Was born in Kirkland, Ohio, Februaiy 11th, 
1835; moved to Indiana in ItSlO; was educated in 
the district schools and graduated from Delaney 
Academy of Newberg, Indiana, and was a school 
teacher previous to becoming a resident 
of California. In 1865 he was elected County 
Clerk of Napa county, which position he held for 
five consecutive terms. In 1879 he became asso- 
ciated with the late L. A, Bickford in conducting 
a banking business under the firm name of Seeley 
& Bickford, retiring from said firm in 1898. In 
1880 he was elected Secretary and Treasurer of 
the Napa State Asylum, a position which he now 
holds; was elected a member of the Board of 
Councilmen of Napa in 1895, re-elected in 1899, 
the second term of four years, not yet expired 
(1901). He is descended from Revolutionary stock, 
his grandfather, Jonathan Seeley, having been a 
soldier in the war of the Revolution. As a city 
ofiQcer Mr. Seeley has taken more than ordinary 
interest in the betterment of municipal affairs. 
The chief traits of character as viewed by the 
chronicler of events, and as seen in this man are 
integrity, and a high sense of honor, industry and 
the ability to meet life's emergencies as they 
arise; to perform a duty uncomplainingly, and 
leave behind the legacy of a well spent life. 
Though ascending in years, his life is not now 
filled with regrets. Virtue is its own reward. 

FRANK H. SANDERSON 

Was born in Herkimer county. State of Nevv 
York, on February 4th, 1857. He is the youngest 
son of Joseph and Marian Sanderson. On arriv- 



340 NAPA COUNTY. 

ing at the age of young manhood the subject of 
this sketch attended the Herkimer Grammar 
school, and later entered Fairfield Seminary, one 
of the oldest, and best institutions of learning in 
the State of New York. After a course of study 
in this school he entered the Utica Business Col- 
lege, where he graduated in 1877. 

Like most young men of enterprise and spirit, 
this young graduate was imbued with the desire 
to go west where a larger field was open before 
the young men about to enter on the duties of real 
life. With high hopes, but saddened heart he bid 
adieu to the loved ones at home and set his face 
toward the setting sun, and after a trip full of 
local interest, arrived in California on May 8th, 
1877. After his arrival on this Coast, he gave his 
attention to the teaching of penmanship for about 
one year. 

In April, 1878, he left for Wisconsin, and after 
a Sftay of some little time with a brother, near 
Madison, went to Janesville where he purchased 
an interest in the Janesville Business College, one 
of the most successful commercial colleges in the 
west. In the fall of the year 1880 Mr. S. sold out 
all his interest in the institution and returnevl 
once again to California. 

In March, of tbe year following, being 1881, our 
subject married Miss Ida Hobbs of Vallejo, the 
accomplished daughter of Isaac and Sarah Ilobbs, 
two of the oldest and most respected residents of 
Solano county. A few weeks after his marriage 
Mr. S. purchased the Berry House farm in Ameri- 
can canyon, northeast of Vallejo. After residing 
there with his young bride for two years, he pur- 
chased the Farmer & Rounds ranch, one mile 
west of the Berry farm. This tract consists of six 
hundred acres, and for richness and productive- 
ness, is not surpassed by any farm in the county. 




u 

ffl 
(?) 



a. 

(Ai 



NAPA county: S41 

For many years past he has devoted his atten- 
tion to raising blooded stock and his cows are not 
surpassed by any stock in the State.. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sanderson are surrounded by as 
agreeable and intei'esting a family of children as 
one would expect to see: Kalph and Harold are 
already grown to manhood, with DeWitt and 
Sadie at the half-way mark in life; with Marian 
and Alice still young and possessed of bright and 
happy faces, with as yet no knowledge of the 
cares of this world. All in all no brighter or hap- 
pier home can be found than here. Mr. Sander- 
son's nature is retiring and modest, always 
shrinking from notoriety, finding, as he always 
has, the chieftest joy to be with his family and in 
the quiet precincts of home. 

WILLIAM SPIERS 

Was born in Kentucky August 29th, 1853, af- 
terward lived in Missouri four years and in 1876 
came to Calistoga, Napa county; was first engag- 
ed in teaming and afterwards started into the 
livery business and became proprietor of several 
stage lines. 

He married Martha J. Simpson in San Fran- 
cisco in 1891; the children are James W., April 
26, 1892 and Mary G. Spiers, April 23, 1895; Al- 
den M. Spiers, January 25, 1899. Mr. Spiers has 
the following stage lines from Calistoga to Lake 
county; the stages are named as follows: Texas, 
California, Kentucky, Olympia, Oregon and 
Maine, each having a seating capacity of from ten 
to twenty passengers. He also has a large livery 
trade, having sixteen two-seaters, ten three-seat- 
ers, six mountain buggies, seventeen single bug- 
gies and about twelve other rigs, with 120 horses. 
The stable on Lincoln avenue is a large structure. 
The stage office is at the Magnolia Hotel and 



342 ' NAPA COUNTY. 

daily there are livelj scenes when the stages, per- 
haps five or six in number, some of them with as 
many as eight horses, are lined up in front of the 
hotel for the passengers and their baggage. When 
all are loaded then the whips crack and the spir- 
ited horses bound away on their way over the 
mountains to the various towns in Lake county. 

ALBERT WILLIAM SISSON, 

Born in San Francisco, 1872; came to Napa in 
1900; now lives in Brown valley; has a ranch of 
50 acres in grain and orchard; engaged in rais- 
ing fancy fowls. When he left the city he was a 
member of Sisson, Crocker & Co., and is now in- 
terested in other ranches and also a salmon can- 
nery in Alaska. 

EDWARD G. SCHUNEMANN 

Was born in San Francisco, December llth, 
1866; he removed to St, Helena in the year 1873, 
and has resided there ever since. He was elected 
to the office of Town Trustee, and is chairman of 
the Street Committee; this was his first public 
office. He is a graduate of Heald's Business Col- 
lege of San Francisco, in the year 1885, and is 
now in charge of the books and accounts of the 
Berringer Bros., a leading mercantile firm of St. 
Helena. 

H. SCHWARZ 

Was born in Germany, 1848, and came to Napa 
city in 1871 when he opened in the hai'dware and 
agricultural implement business, which he has 
conducted with signal success, having at the pres- 
ent time the largest business of that character in 
the county. His wife was Elizabeth Flieshman, 
also a native of the Empire of Germany, and they 
^re the parents of three fine young men who, by 



NAPA COUNTY. S41 

reason of their industry and business knowledge, 
are engaged with their father in managing tlie 
large and continually increasing business wnich 
he established twenty years ago. The boys were 
all born in Napa: William in 1875, David in 
1877, and Max in 1881. 

VINCENT C. SMITH 

Was born in England; came direct to Napa 
county and bought "Glen Olive," situated in the 
Harmony district, three and one-half miles from 
Napa city, and one mile directly east of the Napa 
State Hospital, on the Wild Horse valley road, 
and is 90 acres in extent, 10 of which are in olive 
trees. Mission and other varieties; the balance of 
the land is in pasture and hay land. 

Mr. Smith was the first in Napa county to en- 
gage in the manufacture of olive oil, with a guar- 
antee for its purity. The oil presses have a capa- 
city of one and one-half tons of olives and the 
product is clarified by a process which is a pecu- 
liar secret of Mr. Smith's, producing the most ele- 
gant of pure olive oil found on the market. The 
product of this place is sold in the different parts 
of California and in the East, being much in de- 
mand on account of its excc^llent flavor and abso- 
lute purity. 

Z. W. SMITH 

Is a Napa county pioneer born in Canada, 1839: 
came to the United States in 1845 and settled in 
Illinois in May, 1893, he came to Napa and settled 
on this place on the Dry Creek road, of about 80 
acres, a large portion of which is corn, grain and 
vineyard, orchard, etc. A sulphur spring is on 
this place. He married Helen M. Hurd, Deceiu- 
ber 28, 1868, who was born in Illinois, September 
5, 1849; their children are Elmer M., February, 
1871; Floris M., April 25, 1892. 



244 NAPA COUNTY. ! 

LEWIS SLINSEN 

Was born in the (lerman Empire, 1854; came 
to the United States in 1880, to California, 1886 
and to Napa county, 1894, and bought 40 acres, 
which he named the O. K. ranch; the elevation of 
which is 2,500 feet above the sea, lying on the 
southeast slope of Mt. Veeder. The land is being 
cleared for a vineyard, and at present six acres 
are planted to vines. 

ABRAHAM STAFFORD. 

This pioneer was born in England, 1828; emi- 
grated to the United States in 1837; arrived in 
California in 1852, and settled in Napa county in 
1870; he is the owner of Arcadian Heights, the 
name of his place, on the northern slope of Mt. 
Howell, about one and a half miles from Aetna, 
Springs. It consists of 150 acres, of which 40 
acres are in grapes, fruit and nuts, balance pas- 
ture land. 

In 1854 he married Mallie Padgett, in Indiana; 
she was born in Kentucky, 1838; the children of 
this couple are as follows: Ernest V., September 
29, 1855, place of birth, Nevada city, California; 
May v., February 28th, 1858, Chips Flat, Califor- 
nia; Laura O., January 16th, 1863, Nebraska; Lin- 
coln, May 25th, 1865, Nevada, Colorado; Ora J., 
October 25th, 1866, Brownville, Neb.; Gordon, 
January 13th, 1880, Colusa county, Calif. Ernest 
V. Stafford owns a ranch adjoining his father's. 
Mary V. married Alonzo Clark and lives in Berry- 
essa valley; Laura O. married Robert Ross and 
lives in San Francisco. Ora J. married C. R. 
Feathers, and lives on the home place. Mrs. Mal- 
lie Stafford is a correspondent of the St. Helena 
Star, Rural Press, San Francisco Bulletin, Call, 
Napa Journal and writes both poetry and prose; 




MRS. MARY H. SWEITZER, 

Monticello. 



NAPA COUNTY. 345 

took prize for best article on Berryessa valley 
offered by the San Francisco Call. Abraham. 
Stafford died in 1901. 

ERNEST V. STAFFORD 

Is the proprietor of "Mount Olive," the name of 
his ranch, which consists of 90 acres, 18 acres in 
grapes, olives, apples, prunes, peaches, almonds, 
chestnuts and other varieties of fruits. 

He is a son of Abraham and Mallie Stafford 
and on January 10th, 1898, he married Alice 
Wright, in Napa county; she was born in Missouri 
in 1869; Verbenia Josephine Stafford is their 
only child, born December 5th, 1898. 

Julia Ora Stafford, a sister to Ernest V., was 
married to Chas. R. Feathers, January 14, 1888; 
their children are Lorna, July 27, 1890; Mallie 
Stafford, May 11th, 1892; Zina M., April 3, 1894; 
Norval M., September 14th, 1897 and Evan Honor, 
December 20th, 1899. 

LOWERY SWEITZER. 

The above was another of the pioneers of 1849, 
having been born in Ohio, 1821. He arrived in 
Napa county in 18G5 and took up his residence on 
the ranch near the big bridge. On December 2d, 
1856, he married Mary E. Post in Contra Costa 
county, California. His life ended January 31st, 
1878. 

Mary E. Sweitzer, the widow of the above pion- 
eer, was born in New York, September 13th, 1834. 
She had two children, the eldest was Frank H. 
Sweitzer, born November 2, 1857, in Contra Costa 
and was accidentally killed by a snow slide, Jan. 
4th, 1893, in British Columbia. The second son, 
Chas. D. Sweitzer was also born in Contra Costa 
on February 18th, 1859, and is now living with 
his mother in Monticello. Mrs. Sweitzer own» 



34C NAPA COUNTY. 

good property in town, such as her residence and 
a block of 12 lots and a piece of land about 17 
acres, with a house, which is the oldest in chis 
city. 

Once while reading the San Francisco morning 
newspapers, Mrs. Sweitzer saw an account of two 
young men being caught in a snow slide in Brit- 
ish Columbia, and buried 150 feet deep in the 
snow, and to her horror one of the names was that 
of her oldest son Frank. The next spring his 
body was found by his brother and buried at the 
Freddy-Lee mine in the Kaslo-Slogan district. 

HENRY STOKES 

Was born in England, May 17, 1849; emigrated 
to New York, July 4th, 1871. In 1880 he started 
business in Chico, from thence he went to San 
Francisco, and in 1898 came to Napa city where 
he now resides. His place of business is No. 33 
Brown street, and his stock in trade consists of 
harness, saddles, carriage trimmings, robes, etc. 

JOSEPH SASSELLI, 
Postoffice Address, Chiles Valley. 

Was born in Switzerland 1858; arrived in Cali- 
fornia, 1888, and in Napa that same year. He 
married in Switzerland, Frederique Arnand, who 
was born there, 1879 was the date of marria<^e; 
the first four children were born in Switzerland, 
as follows: Victorine, 1880 (died in Napa county 
1898; Victor, 1881; Josephine, 1885 and Alfred, 
1888. The next three were born in Napa county, as 
folloAvs: Frank, 1890; Garibaldi, 1895 and McKin- 
ley, 1897. The place is known as Sasselli's ranch 
and contains 92 acres. Victorine Sasselli, tlie 
eldest daughter, was assassinated on the after- 
noon of March 16th, 1898, near Horse Shoe Bend 




H. stohes. 



NAPA COUNTY, 347 

in Sage canyon, by her would be lover, Julius 
Bheud. This misguided zealot had for sometime 
paid attention to this young lady, but at no time 
did he ever receive any encouragement that his 
suit was acceptable. The whole truth told in a 
laconic sentence was: "He was not her equal,'' 
and no one knew this better than the gifted young 
woman, for she was a genius of high order and 
possessed of talent rarely found, but always ap- 
preciated. On the fatal afternoon, while Mr. Sas- 
selli and his daughter were going home from Si. 
Helena, they met the discarded lover, v/ho during 
the day hired a livery rig in St. Helena and then 
driving to the Sasselli residence and not finding 
the daughter at home, he drove toward town on 
the Sage canyon road where he met Mr. Sasselli 
and Victorine in their buggy; after some talk, he 
induced the daughter to alight from her father's 
conveyance and take a seat beside him in his 
buggy, whereupon Bheud turned about and drove 
on passing Mr. Sasselli's carriage going in the 
direction of their home. When near Horse Shoe 
Bend he shot Victorine, who a short time after- 
wards died in the arms of Mrs. Nicholini. 

The murderer then shot himself, dying almost 
instantly. The following note was found address- 
ed to the dead girl's mother: 

Chiles Valley, March IG, 1898. 

Madame Sasselli: -I am writing to you for 
the purpose of demanding your pardon for the 
act that I have intention of doing. I would rather 
die with her than be separated from her. I love 
her too much to see ht^r in the arms of anoth.T. 

Yours devotedly, 
JULES BHEUD. 

The address of my parents; Mr. Jean Bheud, 
Macolin, Bienne Canton, Bern, Switzerland. 

This letter tells the story of the mad passion 



«48 NAPA COUNTY. 

that impelled Bheud to crush the life out of an 
innocent being. It may not be generally known, 
but it is nevertheless true that this young woman 
was probably one of the most intellectual and 
gifted personages that ever lived in this county. 
Some of her poetry and literary work has been 
examined by the writer, as well as by several 
other critics eminently able to judge of merit and 
excellence, and it has been the concensus of opin- 
ion that the poetry shows her to have had one of 
the brightest minds on this Coast, the verse 
equaling, if not surpassing that of Helen Hint 
Jackson, the most brilliant poet that this Coast 
has ever produced. 

JOHN M. STALLINGS, 
P. O. St. Helena, Calif. 

This settler lives on the Weston ranch, he was 
born in Indiana in 1846; came to California in 
1897, to Napa county in 1899; he married Willhel- 
mina Schuu, who was born in Indiana, 1844. They 
have eleven children as follows: Fanny, born in 
Indiana, 1872; William, 1874; Kate, 1876, both 
born in Indiana. The next three were born in 
Texas: Frank, 1878; John, 1880 and Fred, 1882; 
Charles was born in Washington, 1884; Ella was 
born in Texas, 1886; Iven, 1888; Ralph, 1890 and 
Lillie, 1892 — the last three were born in Oregon. 
This farm has 160 acres, of which 90 are in culti- 
vation, a specialty is made of white and brown 
leghorn chickens. 

WILLIAM THOMAS SWIFT. 

The subject of this sketch is a native son, he 
having been born in Sonoma county in 1859, and 
removed to Napa in 1875. Formerly he had a 
carpenter and blacksmith shop but now is farm- 



, • NAPA COUNTY. 3t9 

ing, being the owner of the celebrated Zem-Zem 
ranch, containing 1,260 aci^s, of which 100 acres 
are cultivated in hay for his stock. Mineral indi- 
cations of quicksilver are found on the stock 
ranch, also sulphur and salt springs. 

Mr. Swift is also a stockholder in the Rocky 
creek quicksilver mine which is said to be one )f 
the most promising prospects in the State and 
expects to be operated in full force the fall of 
1901. 

Mr. Swift resides in a comfortable home in Ber- 
ryessa valley, five miles from Monticello. He mar- 
ried Annie Laurie, 1881, who was born in 1862; 
the children are: Ethelyn Irene, 1883; Gladys 
Ferine, 1886; Marvin H., 1890; Juanita, 1893; Isa- 
bella E., 1895. 

ANDREW JACKSON SHARP 
Was born in Pope valley, Napa county, in 1863; 
now lives at Maple Knoll on Howell Mountain 
grade; the land is mostly timbered and is being 
gradually cleared and planted in vineyard and 
orchard; he married Francisca Workover in 1886; 
she was also born in Napa county, in 1866; thev 
have one child, Thomas Benton Sharp, born on 
Howell Mountain, in 1894. 

PETER E. STONNAN 
Was born in Germany in 1853. In 1872 he emi- 
grated to the United States and located in Buff- 
alo, New York for five years; in 1877 he came 
west to California and finally settled in Pope val- 
ley, Napa county, in 1894; that part of the valley 
known as Germantown; he owns a ranch of 100 
acres, of which 85 acres are improved, and on 
which he raises grain; he married Anna Brann in 
3894; she was born in Germany in 1863, but the 
following children were all born in Napa county: 



350 NAPA COUNTY. 

Peter P^ederick, 1894; Martin L., 1897; Carrie B., 
1898 and George Dewey, 1900. 

THOMAS L. SNIDER 

Was born in New York, September 5, 1834, and 
came to California in 1892; he has worked at har- 
nessmaking since 1853, except three years he 
served in the Union army during the war of the 
rebellion, when he enlisted in the 32d regiment, 
AVisconsin volunteer infanti'y, under Col. How- 
ard, and was under Sherman at the taking of At- 
lanta. July 14, 1866, he married Mary Clifford 
(Felch), and came to Napa county in 1892 and 
purchased his present home, where he continues 
to work at harnessmaking and boots and shoes. 
He is a son of Thomas Snider, the oldest man in 
Napa county. 

WILLIAM A. TRUBODY. 

William A. Trubody is the son of John and Jane 
Trubody, old and honored pioneers of this county, 
who arrived in California in the fall of 1847. The 
subject of this sketch was born in Lafayette 
county, Missouri, December 5th, 1839, and resided 
there until he came to this State in 1847 with his 
parents. When eleven years of age he returned 
East and for four years attended school at Mount 
Pleasant Academy, New York, after which he re- 
turned to this State and entered the University of 
the Pacific, near San Jose, where he took a com- 
plete course of study and then came to Napa 
county, where he then bought a half interest in 
184 acres of the farm he now owns. In 1867 he 
was elected Supervisor and filled the place for 
one term with great acceptance to the people. 
On November 17, 1868, he was married to Miss 
Laura Grigsby. They had the following children: 
George A., born September 22, 1871; Frank E., 



NAPA COUNTY. 351 

born November 8th, 1879; Clara, born October 30, 
1877; Mary, born 18G9, died 1873; Lulu E., born 
October 4, 1873; married Herbert Lawson in 1892 
and died in 1893; one child Lowell T. Lawson, was 
born in 1893 and now resides with its grandpar- 
ents. Our subject has of late years filled the 
office of Supervisor for the second term with 
credit and honor to himself and the fullest satis- 
faction to the people. On his retirement in the 
winter of 1900-1 he was banquetted by his col- 
leagues, who held him in high esteem. In every 
place of trust he has proven to be a man of the 
highest honor and sterling integrity, always faith- 
fully serving the people, with whom he was 
very popular. 

LUTHER M. TURTON, 

The architect, is an American, born iu Ne- 
braska in 1862; came to Napa in 1876, and at 
once established a reputation second to none as 
an architect. A few of the buildings designed by 
him will be here mentioned: The residences of E. 
11. Winship, J. 0. Noise, Joseph Swartz, Robt. 
Lamdin, the Central school building, North public 
school building, the Winship block and the resi- 
dent physicians' cottages on the grounds of the 
State Insane Asylum. 

The new Napa library building, now in course 
of construction, is the design of this master build- 
er, and when completed will be another monu- 
ment to his skill. 

It is well known that Mr. Turton could have 
made more money as architect, had he moved 
to San Francisco, but fidelity to home has kept 
him at his post. Mr. T. believes that Napa county 
is entitled to the best of everything and that 
skilled mechanics or professional men owe a duty 
to the place that started them in life, and if they^ 



3&S NAPA COUNTY. 

have ability or fitness that it is a duty to remain 
where good can be done for others, even though 
it does not bring so large a financial reward. 

Mr. Turton was married in 1878 to Miss Lillie 
A. Bell, a most estimable young lady, who was 
born in Canada in 1864. Both of these good peo- 
ple are prominent in Methodist denominational 
work and neither is so busy but what they ran 
find time to help the church. The enterprise, life 
and thrift of Methodism in Napa is due to a num- 
ber of faithful workers, and among them will be 
found the subjects of this biography. 

SAMUEL TURNER. 

Samuel Turner was an Englishman, having 
been born there in 1834; emigrated to California 
in 1872, arriving in Napa the same year and set- 
tled on a ranch of 137 acres now known as the 
Turner ranch, which is located on top of Howell 
mountain, and has six acres of vineyard, a small 
family orchard and about 20 acres grain. He 
married Mary Ann Sutton in England, 1869; she 
was born in 1846 and died in 1880, on Howell 
Mountain; they had two children, Beatrice and 
Samuel J., both born on Howell mountain, the 
first in 1875 and the second two years later. 
There is a celebrated spring in a canyon on the 
farm; Mr. Turner has been clerk of Howell Moun- 
tain school district since 1889 until this day 
(1901.) 

JOHN TOBIN. 

The Lipanta is the home of John Tobin, who 
was born in Michigan in 1843; came to California 
in 1875 and settled in Napa county in 1882. Mr. 
Tobin has a fine ranch of 100 acres, of which 20 
is in orchard and 75 in grain land; he raises some 
stock; has some timber land and a fine water sup- 
ply of great force; he married Mary Owens in 



NAPA COUNTY. 35f 

1871, in Kansas, and the children born there were: 
William, 1870; Charles, 1874: In California, Lu- 
lu, 1878 and Edward, 1880; Sarah was born on 
Howell mountain in 1884. This house is one of 
the oldest on the mountain, having been built 
over thirty yeai's ago. 

PETER TAIX 

Was born in France, 1857; came to Napa coun- 
ty in 1885. At San Francisco in 1888, he married 
Idel Motier; the children of this union are four, 
two girls and two boys, as follows: Peter Jr., 
1889; John, 1891; Felecie, 1893; Alice, 1895. Mr. 
Peter Taix was elected school trustee of Howell 
Mountain school district; he is employed by Bram 
& Chaix, proprietors of the Nouveau Medoc vin<v 
yard, containing 135 acres of vineyard, with a 
cellar of a capacity of 300,000 gallons, both red 
and white wine is made; the total acerage is 180 
acres; about 35,000 gallons of wine is made eacli 
year, some years more, some less. 

H. H. THOMPSON 

Was born in San Francisco, January 26, 1866; 
came to Napa with his parents in 1873 and set- 
tled on a ranch on the Vallejo and Napa road 
about three-quarters of a mile from the State 
asylum. Mr. Thompson has been city clerk of 
Napa since 1897 and has held other important 
and responsible positions. Mr. Thompson was ed- 
ucated in Oak Mound school in Napa city; he is 
a member of the Native Sons of the Golden West 
and also of the A. O. U. W. 

M. W. THOMAS 

Was born in Georgia in 1846; came to Califor- 
nia in 1854, where he lived 13 years in Yuba 
county; from there he moved to Colusa county 



354 NAPA COUNTY. 

where he married Edna Powell, 1870; she was 
born at Sacramento, Calif., in 1852. Mr. Thomas 
was city marshal in Sacramento for two years; in 
1879 he moved to Napa county, opened a general 
merchandise store and served as postmaster for 
eight years in Pope valley; their children were: 
Ruby, 1871 (married Sweitzer); Pearl, 1873 (mar- 
ried Gibbons), and Wade Hampton, 1876. Owns 
ranch of 250 acres, half grain and half pasture 
land, and carries about |3,000 stock in merchan- 
dise. 

NICOLOS F. THOMAS 

Was born in Maryland in 1837; emigrated to 
California in 1851; settled in Napa in 1868; mar- 
ried in 1872 to Miss Harriet Gillett, who was 
born in New York in 1838 and the children born 
to them were: N. S. Thomas, 1873; Harvey, 1877; 
Charles, 1880 (died 1891); Walter, 1884. Harvey 
Thomas married Miss Jacks, living in Napa coun- 
ty 1899. The subject of this sketch was formerly 
a miner and afterwards a cattleman, but since 
1894 has been in the grocery business. The 
ranch on which he formerly lived, on which all 
the children were born, is located eight miles east 
of Napa. For twenty-three years this was the 
family home. 

BEVERLY L. TALLMAN. 

This pioneer was born in Iowa, 1852; arrived in 
California in 1860, settling in Napa county, he de- 
parted this life in 1895. His wife was Lydia A. 
Clyman, whom he married in 1874; the children 
were: James H. Tallman, 1875; W. Lamar, 1876; 
L. Mable, 1879 (afterwards Mrs. Milton Van 
Auken; E. Clyde, 1883 and Philip T., in 1891, all 
of whom were born in Napa county. 

Mrs. Lydia A. Tallman, the widow of the sub- 




R 'P. Tucni:R. 



NAPA COUNTY. J55 

ject of this sketchy still resides on the old home 
place, which consists of 80 acres of grain, walnut 
and prune orchards. 

A. J. TOWNSEND 

Was born in Missouri in 1841; emigrated to 
California in 1857, to Napa county in 1863, and 
purchased Highland View ranch in 1893; this 
place has 83 acres, of which 30 acres are cultivat- 
ed in grain, orchard etc. This ranch is situated 
on the southeast side of Howell mountain, north 
of Conn valley, and is well timbered with fir and 
oak. 

In 1864 he married Mary A. Hooper, who also 
was born in Missouri in 1848. They have two 
children: James F., 1865; 8. Jackson, 1866, who 
married Allie B. Aldrich in 1890 and have five 
children, as follows: Gladys R., 1892; J. Earl, 
1894; William Jackson, 1895; Annie F., 1897, and 
Edgar J., 1898. 

R. P. TUCKER 

Came to California in 1846, to Napa county in 
1847, and settled on the Tucker ranch of two 
hundred acres. G. W. Tucker, the son of R. P. 
Tucker, was born in Ohio, 1831; came with his 
parents to California in 1846 and resides on the 
ranch, of which 140 acres are cultivated in grain. 
Mr. Tucker married in 1858, at the old mill place, 
Angelina Kellogg; she was born in Illinois in 
1837; children born to them were: Lila J., Mary L., 
Jessie E., Charles L., George Henry, Martha R., 
John A., Eda L.; Mary and Jessie are dead. Mr. 
Tucker afterwards married Mary Sprustou, of 
English birth; she died in 1887; children: Harry^ 
L. and Eugenia E. 



356 NAPA COUNTY. 



FRANCIS VARTY 



Was born in England, Dec. 25, 1837; came to 
the United States in 1863, and to Napa county in 
1880; has lived in Foss valley over twenty years. 

Mr. Varty owns, in partnership with Mrs. 
Dickey, about 2,300 acres, one hundred acres of 
which is in grain, 30 acres in vineyard and five 
acres in an orchard of assorted fruits. The bal- 
ance is used for pasture, on which are raised 
horses, cattle and hogs. Mr. Varty makes a spec- 
ialty of heavy draught horses. The partnership 
existing between Mr. Varty and Mrs. Dickey is 
explained when it is known that when 3- oung men 
Mr. Varty and Mr. Dickey, 30 years ago, were 
business partners and when Mr. Dickey died, the 
partnership was continued by Mrs. Dickey repre- 
senting her dead husband's interest. 

Mr. Varty was married in Sutter county, Calif., 
in 1875 to Miss Emily Dickey who was a native of 
California, and who died in Napa in 1894; the 
<-hildren, the result of this union were as follows : 
W. H. Varty, May 8th, 1874; Maud E., November 
6th, 1876 (died Feby. 8, 1898); Francis R., March 
14th, 1877; Cora R., December 29th, 1878; Daisy 
E., I)e(^ember 10, 1881; Nettie, November 17th, 
1883; May J., May 22d, 1886; Arthur H., May 
]4th, 1894 (died Feby. 22, 1899.) 

CHARLES H. VOLPER 
Was born in Switzerland in 1843; died in Napa 
county in 1893; came to California iu 1870 and to 
Napa county in 1871; married Marie Volper, also 
born in Switzerland in 1845; emigrated to Napa 
county in 1876; this couple had four children as 
follows: Jules E., 1S76; Charles C, 1883; Louis H., 
1886; Albert, 1888; all born in Coim valley. Mr. 
Volper was one of the partners of the Franco- 
Swiss ranch company and his farm was part of 






^.iMsmsmsm: 



m 



"m^ 







m. 



HON. OWEN WADE 

St. Helena 



NAPA COUNTY. 367 

that tract of land comprising 142 acres, one hun- 
dred acres of which is now in a high state of cul- 
tivation mostly being in grain. 

HON. OVYEN WADE. 

It is with pleasure we direct attention to the 
short biography of this sterling character and 
leader among men in his section, as it demon- 
strate the irrepressible nature of the American 
citizen. 

The subject of this sketch lived with his parents 
on a farm in Morgan county, Ohio, where he was^ 
born in 1831, and in the spring of 1852, joined a 
company of emigrants and crossed the plains 
with ox teams, arriving in the Willamette valley, 
Oregon, in October of that year. From 1853 to 
1861, he was engaged alternately in teaching 
school and mining in Oregon and Idaho. In 1804 
he was honored by being elected a member of the 
Oregon Legislature. On the 17th day of March, 
1865, he was further honored by being appointed 
liegistrar of the United States Land office at Ore- 
gon City, Oregon, by President Lincoln, which 
office he held until January, 1878, having been 
reappointed by President Johnson and twice by 
General Grant when President; he then resigned 
the office and visited his friends and connections 
in the East for the balance of 1878; the next year 
he came west and settled in St. Helena, Califor- 
nia, this was in 1879, and since that time he has 
had his continuous residence there engaged in 
agriculture. In 1883 he accepted the position as 
cashier of the Bank of St. Helena, and has held 
such ever since. In 1892 he was elected a member 
of the State Assembly and re-elected in 1894 and 
again in 1898, and still continues to enjoy life, 
and is honored by the love and esteem of all who 
have the privilege to know him. 



358 NAPA COUNTY. 

J. J. WALTERS 

Was born in North Carolina, August 3d, 1825; 
died March 16, 1898; he owned 2,200 acres of land 
of which 650 acres are under cultivation. This 
ranch contains rich magnesia deposits which have 
been worked for two years and also contains the 
famous Walters Mineral Springs. 

Stock raising is the principal occupation >n 
this ranch. 

Mr. Walters man-ied Mary J. Grogan on Oct. 
7th, 1850; she was born in Tennessee in 1838. 

The children of this union are: Eve Walters 
(married Giboney), born 1854 in Missouri; Alice 
Walters (married Overhulser),) born 1856 in j\e- 
braska; this child was born on the plains in a 
tent, as the family were crossing the plains on 
their way to California; she died November 3d, 
1892; Fannie Walters (married Duvall), born 
1858 in Napa county; Marcella Walters, born 
1860 in Napa county; Laura Walters (married 
Duvall) born 1862 in Napa county; she died in 
1882, in Pope valley; John L. Walters, born in 
Chiles valley, 1864; Olive B. Walters, born 1866 
in Pope valley; Mary E. Walters (married TulJy), 
born in 1868, Pope valley; Cora O. Walters (mar- 
ried Donovan), born in 1870, Pope valley; Jordan 
J. Walters, born in 1873, Pope valley. 

Neva Overhulser, granddaughter of Mrs. J. J. 
Walters, lives with her grandmother, was born 
in 1885. 

Mrs. J. J. Walters, on the 15th of March, 1901, 
went to St. Helena in perfect health and next 
morning at 7:30 was found dead in bed, having 
passed away in the night of heart failure. 

HANNAH WHITE 

Was born in Berrin county, Michigan, on Jan- 
uary 18th, 1839; she was the daughter of John 



NAPA COUNTTT. 359 

;Wooden and Elizabeth Smith Wooden; together 
with her parents, came to Napa county in 1848. 
The journey from the East was made across the 
plains with ox teams; the startling incidents and 
adventures of the journey wei'e one of the greit 
events of the day and these people whiled away 
hours in subsequent years by telling of this long, 
six months journey through heat and dust and 
months of patient travel in the white ships of the 
desert. However, after residing in Napa valley 
for two years, Mrs. White and her parents settled 
in Wooden valley in 1850. This pretty valley tak- 
ing its name from these early pioneers. 

John Wooden was born in 1807 and died 
in St. Helena, November 14th, 1887, after a career 
full of years and it is needless to say, honored by 
all who knew him. The subject of this sketch was 
married to Benjamin F. White in 1878. 

WIRT PENDAGAST WHITE. 

Wirt P. White is the son of Benjamin F. and 

Hannah White, and was born in Wooden valley, 

Napa county, on January 9th, 1879. His entire 

life has been spent on the farm, where he was 

born, except one year, 1886, when he resided in 

St. Helena. 

C. A. WE SCOTT 

Was born in New York in 1828, and arrived in 
Napa county in 1851. He had lost his health when 
engaged in mining and came to Napa endeavor- 
ing to regain it, the result was he was immediate- 
ly restored to perfect health. Mr. Wescott settled 
on his ranch in 1857 and was one of the very few 
pre-emption claims; it contains 160 acres, ol 
which 20 acres are in a fine state of cultivation, 
including a vineyard and orchard, the rest of the 
farm is used as a stock ranch. Mr. Wescott was 
deputy postmaster and postmaster for years in 



860 NAPA COUNTY. 

Chiles valley, and has been school trustee and 
also clerk of school district for the past twelve 
years; married Mary Clark in Napa in 1868; she 
"was born in 1851 in New York; they have three 
children: Kate L., 1882; Susie R., 1884; May L., 
1887; his oldest daughter died March, 1901. C. A. 
Wescott Avas the first settler and is now the old- 
est man in this valley; in his time a great hunter; 
he killed a bear of 1460 pounds; Indians were nu- 
merous when he first located in Chiles valley. 

THOMAS WORKOVEE 

Was born in Holland in 1837; emigrated to the 
United States with his parents in 1843 and locat- 
ed in St. Louis Mo.; he came to California in 1858 
and settled in Pope valley, Napa county, the same 
year and bought Mountain View ranch in 1868; 
it is situated on the northeast slope of Howell 
mountain, and consists of 320 acres; originally he 
sold largely so that the part remaining 
is but 74 acres of which 15 acres are 
in fruit. In 1864 he married Sarah Franklin in 
Pope valley; she was born in Missouri in 1845; 
they have had eight children of which three died. 
Those now living are as follows: Francisca, born 
1866; Conrad, 1869; Helena S., 1871; Stephen E., 
1879; Bertha A., 1890. 

W. G. WINKLER 

Was born in Cermany in 1869; came to Cali- 
fornia in 1889; settled in Napa county in 1893; 73 
acres in ranch, 20 acres in cultivation, as follows: 
6 acres vineyard and 14 in grain, with a small or- 
chard for family use. 

In 1866 he married Louisa Dietrich, a native of 
Illinois; their children are: Happy L. Winkler, 
1896 and William B., 1899, both in California. 
Freda Roessler, a child by a former marriage, was 



! ; NAPA COUNTY. 361 

born in 1883 in Kansas; on this place a specialty 
is made of black Minorca chickens, of which there 
are a great many raised. 

P. H. WALLACE 

Was born in California in 1852; owns a fine 
ranch of 320 acres, of which 300 are in cultivation, 
7 acres of vineyard; horses and cattle are raised 
on this ranch. Croppings of coal are found here 
of good quality. He married Ella Wallace Janu- 
ary, 1878, in Napa county; she was born in Mis- 
souri; the children are Koy W. Wallace; Edgar 
H. Wallace, Zaider A. Wallace, Volney H. Wal- 
lace, Luella Wallace and Francis E. Wallace. 

FRANK B. WAEREN 

Is a native of Napa county, born 1870; is a 
plumber by trade and now leases 2,200 acres and 
does a generl farming and stock raising, has 50 
head of cattle 10 horses and 125 hogs; he married 
Annie Boyde at St. Helena, Napa county in 1895; 
she was born in Napa county 1877; they have one 
child, Oliver Warren, 1896. 

THOMAS A. WASSUM. 

This pioneer settler of Napa county was born in 
Missouri in 1839 and emigrated to California in 
1852, arriving in Napa county in 1855. Mr. Was- 
sum is a successful man in his business, which 
is stock raising, which he conducts on the Palmer 
place of 320 acres, all pasture land located about 
two and one-half miles from Monticello; besides 
being the owner of this tract of land, he owns a 
ranch of 37 acres on which he raises grain ind 
also has a good house, orchard, etc., with bar)i 
and outbuildings. On the Palmer ranch rich 



382 NAPA COUNTY. '' - - — 

CToppings of iron are found. In addition to his 
farming and stock raising business Mr. Wass mi 
has been roadmaster of the district in which he 
lives, for a period of twelve years. Mr. Wassuni 
was married to Miss Amanda Stice in 1858 in 
Napa county; she was born in Missouri in 1842 
and the children which blessed this union are 
Charles H., 1854; John P., 1861; Sarah E., 1863 
Clarrissa, 1866; Thomas H., 1868; Jennie, 1871 
Jacob W., 1874; all born in Napa county. 

FOUNTAIN E. P. WRIGHT 

Was born in 1837 in Tennessee; died in Mis- 
souri September 27th, 1875; married Miss Ver- 
lenia Suggs 1858, who was born in Missouri 1842; 
the children of this union were: Martha J., born 
1859 (married Wm. Howeth); James A., 1862 
Hiram L., 1865; Laura B., 1867 (died 1874 in Mo.) 
Mary Alice Olive, 1869; (married Ernest Stafford) 
E. Barzilla, 1872. Hiram and E. Barzilla Wright 
live with their mother on the ranch which con- 
sists of 150 acres, including orchard of 6 acres of 
assorted fruits.. 

JOHN YORK 

Was one of the notable pioneers of Napa coun- 
ty; he was born in East Tennessee June5th 1820. 
was married to Lucinda Hudson September 5th, 
1841; she was born in Missouri June 20th, 1823; 
they crossed the plains in 1845 with their first 
child, William E. York and David was born ou 
the plains during the trip; he died in Napa coun- 
ty at the age of 25 years. W. E. York is still liv- 
ing in Napa county. 

John York and family arrived in Napa county 
in the fall of 1845 and have always lived here and 
are the oldest couple of pioneers yet living; they 
had ten children, of which 6 are now living, be- 




MR. and MRS. JOHN.YORIA. 

St. Helena. On THeir FiftietH "Weddine Anniversary. 
TaKen in tKe Dooryard of XHeir Home. 



NAPA COUNTY. 365 

sides the two mentioned above there are Heurj, 
Dec. 26, 1847; John A., April 18, 1850; Nancy, 
J. York, Aug. 12, 1852; P. S. York, Dec. 24, 1855; 
Charles, Mai-ch 3, 1858; Caswell, Nov. 14, 1860 
(died August 28th, 1894); Frank, Jan. 21, 1863 
(died Dec. 19, 1889); Nellie, Feb. 13, 1867 (died 
Dec. 28, 1884) ; all of the last mentioned were born 
in Napa county; there are 15 grand-children ind 
three great grand-children; the old folks are both 
;well and sprightly and able to work. The pres- 
ent year (1901), they will have been married six- 
ty years; they have lived on the old ranch since 
1848. John York, Sr., served in the war with 
Mexico, being one of the Bear flag party and he 
also carried the first stars and stripes in Califor- 
nia to Sutter's fort in Sacramento, and raised 
"old glory" for the first time after taking down 
the Bear flag. 

JOHN T. YORK 

Was born in St. Helena, Napa county, Calif )r- 
nia, March 26th, 1869, and wais educated in the 
grammar school of that place, Oak Mound school 
and Oakland High school, finally graduating at 
Hasting College of Law, with the degree of L. L. 
D., on June 28th, 1892; was admitted to the prac- 
tice of law in the State of California in 1891 and 
began in Napa in 1892; was law clerk in the office 
of Tilden & Tilden, San Francisco for four years; 
since 1895 Mr. York has held the office of City At- 
torney, and also has been Library Trustee; sin^'e 
1900 has been chairman. 

He is also Past Grand of Napa Lodge, I. O. O. 
F., and Past Chief Patriarch of Live Oak Encamp- 
ment. Mr. York has his law office in the Bank 
block on Brown and Second streets and was a law 
partner of Hon. Denis Spencer, from 1893 until 
his death. 



364 NAPA COUNTY. ' „. 

JOHN A. YOUNG 

Was born in Ohio, March 2, 1849 and came to 
Napa county in 1878; married Eliza A, Roberts in 
California in 1876; she was born in Iowa 1856; 
their children were William E., 1876; Thomas E., 
1879; Pierce J., 1882; Ethel A., 1886; Harrison T., 
1888; Clarence R, 1890; James N., Christmass, 
1893; Ernest F., 1886; Wylie C, 1898. Mr. Young 
lives on Dr. May Wells' place of 400 acres of 
which 275 acres are in cultivation, mostly grain 
land, with 6 acres of orchard. Black Minorca 
chickens are a specialty. Gold was found on this 
ranch in 1886, as also were salt springs. 

HENRY ZOELLER 

Was born in Germany 1838; emigrated to the 
United States in 1862, landing in New York; mar- 
ried Marcella Jahn in 1865 in New York city; 
came to Napa county in 1878, and bought their 
place near Calistoga on Napa creek, of 24 acres. 
During the life of Mr. Zoeller he owned about 52 
acres; Mrs. Zoeller was born in Germany in 1843; 
Mr. Zoeller, during his life was noted for his kind- 
ness to the poor and for his sympathy for those 
who were suffering, consequently was well belov- 
ed in both Napa and Sonoma counties, where he 
lived 30 years; they had three children, all died 
in infancy; they adopted four children from the 
Protestant Orphanage, two of whom are still liv- 
ing with the family, the other two having died. 













To San Franci-ico 46 miles 

To Sacramento 60 " 

To Calisto^a. 

To The Geysers 50 " 

To Napa Soda Spr'gs.. 7 " 



NAPA COUNTY. 365 



INDEX 



Page 

HISTORY OF NAPA COUNTY 5 

Geographical Situation and Area 5 

Topography 5 

Geology 9 

Soil 15 

Timber 15 

Water Courses 16 

Climatography 17 

Derivation of Name 19 

Indians 20 

MEXICAN GRANTS 24 

Caymus Grant 24 

Entre Napa Rancho 24 

Rancho El Rincon de los Carnetos 25 

Napa Rancho 25 

Julius K. Rose 26 

The Yajome 26 

Locoallom Ranch 26 

The Tulucay Rancho 27 

Rancho Mallacomes 27 

Rancho De I^a Jote 27 

Las Putas Rancho 28 

Huichica Rancho 28 

The Catacula Rancho 29 

The Chimiles Rancho , 29 

Cayne Humana Rancho 29 

GENERAL HISTORY AND SETTLEMENT 29 

Short Biographies of Early Settlers 29 

First Marriage License 37 

First Mortgage Recorded 38 

The First Election 38 

Finances of County 1856 40 

Republican Rally 41 

Napa Agricultural Society 42 

Finances of County 1864 45 

Petroleum Discovered 46 

Assassination of Abraham Lincoln 46 

Mass Meeting 48 

Resolutions 49 

Obsequies of the President 52 



366 NAPA COUNTY. 

HEALTHFUL CLIMATE OF NAPA COUNTY 54 

Rainfall and Temperature 58 

COUNTY INFIRMARY 60 

FINANCES OF COUNTY 1869 60 

RAILROAD HISTORY 61 

COURT HOUSE 70 

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY 75 

POLITICAL HISTORY 89 

Biographical Sketches of Early Legislators 96 

David F. Douglass 96 

M. G. Vallejo , 96 

Elcan Heydenfeldt 96 

Pablo de 1 a Guerra 96 

S. D. WoodvTorth 97 

i hos. L. Vermeule 97 

W. D. Fair 97 

Elisha O. Crosby 97 

D. C . Broderick 97 

J. Bidwell 98 

H. C. Robinson 98 

Benjamin S. Lippincott 98 

Gen. M. G. Vallejo's Memorial 98 

Legislative Meetings 103 

Admission of California as a State . 105 

VITICULTURE 106 

MINES AND MINING no 

Quicksilver, Gold, Coal, etc 117 

Oat Hill Quicksilver Mine 118 

THE FIRST SCHOOL 119 

Superintendents of Schools 1 19 

Board of Education 119 

Table of Scholars and Districts 120 

Life and Roads in Napa County 1 20 

THE FRUIT INDUSTRY 122 

THE PIONEERS 123 

NAPA TOWNSHIP 124 

Geography 124 

Topography 134 

Soil 125 

Geology 1 25 

Climate 125 

Products 126 

Early Settlemeot 126 

NAPA CITY 128 

1856 The Reporter was Started 141 

1857 Guards Organized 144 

i860 Stone Bridge Built across Napa River 145 

1861 Good Templars Organized 145 

1862 Academy for Boys Opened 145 

1863 Napa Register 145 

1864 Napa Guard's Election 146 

Early Reminiscence 146 

Earthquake 148 

Subscription Raised at Methodist Church 148 

1867 Gas Pipes Laid 148 

1868 Napa Incorporated 150 



NAPA COUNTY. 367 

1869 Smallpox Epidemic 150 

Old Indian Burial Ground 1 52 

Records 



152 

Legislative Enactments 155 

Engine House Built 157 

Water Supply 157 

Library 157 

Churches 157 

Presbyterian 158 

The Methodist Episcopal 160 

Christ (Episcopal) 163 

Baptist 164 

St. John the Baptist (Catholic) 165 

Manufacturing Cbnter 165 

PuBuc Schools 167 

Central School 167 

South Central 168 

North Public 168 

Napa High School 16S 

Napa Collegiate Institute 168 

Napa Ladies' Seminary 171 

Newspaper Biography 171 

The Reporter 171 

The Napa Register 174 

The Daily Reporter 175 

Napa Herald 178 ■ 

The Echo 178 

Daily and Weekly Register I7g 

Robert T. Montgomery . , , I7g 

Secret Societies 180 

Free and Accepted Masons 180 

Independent Order of Odd Fellows 181 

Knights of Honor 183 

Independent Order of Good Templars 183 

Knights of Pythias 184 

Ancient Order of United Workmen 184 

Fraternal Brotherhood 184 

Industries 185 

Sawyer Tanning Co 1 85 

Napa Gas and Electric Co ^. . .,r.,. .^. . . . . . . . 186 

Goodman & Co., Bankers * ij.;»s-.).r?j»^,.^^*,4..ii'..jS86 

Bank of Napa v'W- sIbH-I-AL^ ydT87 

Laundry of Sam Kee ^-z'^^H' tt-H • -jIJeSS 

Real Estate and Insurance .^.,. j88 

Ganter & Gauter .^':?.\ . "189 

Marble Works 'r-JlliVjrj'^^igo 

Best Millinery Parlors .'{'.-^. . .1 'tgo 

The Palace Stables ....,;....... 190 

The Palace Hotel r ; ; ;l : ; 191 

Carriage Repository iq2 

Manufactories 192 

Napa Board of Trustees -i^Ma 'I* ♦ • ^^^ 

Napa Business College ^.r^^^^.i^;..,,,^..^i92. 

Steamboats .^^ ,,. . ^ ,:^^^ .Jj, ^.V^ .; i.v^v^/,^4 ^ 

Fire Department .\,\i^-^f^iii. .s>PH.rtjiv ■i"?^^ 

Napa State Hospital Jiiri.n'.^jf'.'S,'n.\iiBJi<)6 



368 NAPA COUNTY. 

TULOCAY Cemktbry 199 

ATi,AS Peak 202 

Napa Soda Springs 204 

Thb Napa Sanatorium 208 

The Goodman Library 209 

YOUNT TOWNSHIP 210 

Geography, Topography, Soil 210 

Climate and Early Settlement 211 

Towns 214 

YouNTvii^LE 214 

Baptist Church 214 

Christian Church 215 

Veterans' Home 215 

MONTlCEIvI.0 216 

Putah Creek Bridge 217 

Berryessa Valley 217 

Chiles Valley 218 

Coun V-lley 219 

Gordon Valley. 219 

Redwood Falls 219 

Johannisberg. . 220 

Samuel Soda Springs 221 

Walters Spring 2 23 

HOT SPRINGS TOWNSHIP 224 

Geography, Geology, Soil, Climate 224 

Products and Early Settlement 226 

Towns 230 

St. Helena 230 

Baptist Church 234 

Methodist Episcopal Church.. 234 

Cumberland Presbyterian Church 235 

Presbyterian Church 235 

Seventh Day Advent Church 235 

Catholic Church 236 

Schools, 236 

Societies 236 

Fire Department 238 

Newspapers — Star and Sentinel 239 

Taplin Bros. Creamery 241 

St. Helena Sanitarium 242 

The Old Bale Mill 244 

Mt. St. Helena 246 

Calistog A 248 

Presbyterian Church 249 

M. E. Church 250 

School 250 

Magnolia Hotel 250 

Newspapers 251 

Hot Springs 251 

Clay Cave 253 

Petrified Forest 254 

KNOX TOWNSHIP 255 

Geography, Topography, Geology 255 

Soil, Climate, Products, Timber 256 

Early Settlement 257 

JEtna Springs 258 



NAPA COUNTY. 309 



BIOGRAPHIES 



Index. 

Armstrong, Charles W 263 

Aiken, Antoinette. 264 

Buckman, Oliver H 264 

Blower, R.J 265 

Bell, Charles E 265 

Bruck, B 266 

Bale, Dr. E. T 266 

Borreo, F 267 

Bryant, John S 267 

Beretta , August 268 

Burdick, Edward F 268 

Brown, W. H 269 

Bradley, William H 269 

Chapman , Dr. S. E 269 

Conn, John 270 

Conn, Connolly 271 

Carroll , C. A 272 

Cain, J. A 273 

Clvman, Colonel James .... 273 

CufF, Richard 274 

Clark, Alonz"> C 274 

Clark, Reuben 275 

Clayton, R. W 275 

Chamblin, M. A 276 

Clayton, James B 276 

Coleman, John W 277 

Cruey, R. C. 277 

Callizo, D. J ..... . 277 

Corthay, Louis 278 

Crochat, Louise 278 

Christian , Chris 280 

Croft, W. O 280 

Cyrus, John and Lovina 279 

Dexter, II. S , 280 

Dafoe, E 280 

Duvall , Louis W 281 

Even, John F 281 

Epley, T. H 282 

Eisan, Albert F 282 

Evans, A. V 283 

Fuller, Johu A 283 

Fountain , George C 286 

Francis, George M 286 

Farman, Charles Hugo 287 

Firestine, Geo. L 288 



370 NAPA COUNTY, 

Frus, Arthur 289 

Fitch, Isaac 289 

Fischer, Ferdinand 290 

Foster, P 290 

Farley, William 290 

Fo38, C. C 291 

Gunn, H. L 291 

Gesford, Preston Green 292 

Gesford, Hemry C 293 

Grant, P. S 293 

Gordon, William 294 

Gordon, William Jr 294 

Gordon, Joseph 295 

Grimm, J 295 

Gauthier, Nelson 295 

Gridley, Jackson 296 

Groteguth, H. K 296 

Giauque, lyouis M 296 

Holden, Samuel E 297 

Ham, E. D 299 

Hubbs, Anthony 301 

Head, George 302 

Haas, M. M 303 

Husman, Prof. George 304 

Harris, Joseph W 304 

Hardman, I. B 305 

Hoppe, E 305 

Hill, Elizabeth 305 

Hill, Alfred C 306 

Hobson, Charles F 307 

Ink, Theron 307 

Ink, J. G 307 

Jaensch, E. W 307 

Jackson, Col. John P 308 

Jackson, Thomas 309 

Jackson Ranch 310 

King, Rev. Ensign H 311 

Kyser, D. S 310 

Keene, Phillip 311 

Lange, Henry 312 

Leva, J. 313 

Lake, S. T 313 

Levansaler, Charles L 314 

Leonard, Walter Adelbert 314 

Mackinder, F. B 314 

Mackinder, W. A 316 

Mayfield, J. M ^ . . 318 

Maclean, M. A 319 

Moser, Christian 320 

Mast, M 320 

Mooney, CD 320 

Marcnm, C. S 321 

Mark , Thomas 321 

Martinilli, John 322 

Meyer, Conrad 322 

Meagher, Wm. E 322 



NAPA COUNtT. 371 

Mitchell, Joseph 323 

M«rch, W. F 323 

McKenzie, George S 324 

McKenzie, Alexander 325 

McMillen, Perry E 325 

McCaflFrey , James 327 

McNeill, Samuel E 327 

Nash, Cornelius H 327 

Newman , James B 328 

Nicheliri, Anton 330 

Newton, Thomas 331 

Newton , William , 331 

Noll, Mrs. Louisa 331 

Palmer, P. H 328 

Priest, J.J 332 

Phillips, F. S 332 

Parr, J. H 333 

Pogue, S. W 334 

Rossi, A 334 

Roseberry, J 334 

Richardson, E. B 335 

Reams, C 335 

Reams, J. W 336 

Reams, B. F 337 

Rogers, A. D 337 

Roth, J. A.. 337 

Raney, W. J 336 

Rogers, Thos. G 338 

Seeley, C. B 339 

Sanderson, F. H 339 

Spiers, W . , 341 

Schnnemann, E. G 342 

Schwarz, H 342 

Sisson, A. W 342 

Smith, V. C 343 

Smith, Z. W 343 

Slinsen, L 343 

StaflFord, A 344 

Stafford, E. V 344 

Sweitzer, L 345 

Stokes, H 345 

Sf-sselli, J 346 

Stallings, J. M 349 

Swift, W. T 349 

Sharp, A. J 348 

Stonnan, P E 349 

Snider, T. L 350 

Turton, L. M 351 

Trubody, W. A 350 

Turner, S 352 

Tobin, J 352 

Taix, P 353 

Thompson, H. H 353 

Thomas, M. W 353 

Thomas, N. F 354 

Tallman, B. L 354 

Townsend, A. G 355 

Tucker, R. P 355 



372 NAPA COUNTY. 

Varty, F 356 

Volper, C. H 356 

Wade, Owen 357 

Walters, J. J 358 

Wassum, T. A 361 

White, H 358 

White, W. P 359 

Wescott, C, A 359 

Workover, T 360 

Winkler, VV. G 360 

Wallace, P. H 361 

Warren, F. B 361 

Wright, F. E. P 362 

York, J 362 

York, J. T 363 

Young, J. A 364 

Zoeller, H 364 


















,\^ O. 



,0' 






,'* >^ "^^ '^i^J 



A- 






o 



^5* <^^^ %,^ ■ 






o V 











oV^^XK. 



/ -^^ "-^ 



^o V 



■i.^ 




c 



e-^J^'- O 



WW.' ^-^ 





o 



.0 -.-. 







A^^ 



'^'^: 



0'" 






v'^-^. 

-^^ % 



^. 




i^'' '^ ^'^ir¥^'V -^ 



v^ 




^. 



"^t-, <*^ 



: ^ov^ :<-^w,-^,: t^^^ ;. 



^°-'^. 







HO. 



.,-..,^^. 



^. 




<*, 












v> 



,v 






>P-^^ 



.^^ 



c 











A 




.-J^' 






A 





,-J^^ 



.-^q. 









-^ . - 



40, 



A 



V 



.f^ 



<>>. 






.4 9. 




^^--^, 





K^ 



4 ' -^ /'^ r»^ 



A 



^. 



. (*= 



,^ 



40, 







A 
















^-^j. 




■A Q^ 






LIBRARY OF CONGRESS 



I I'll I iIlM II lllllll . 

017 168 085 2