(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Northampton County [Pennsylvania] and the grand valley of the Lehigh under supervision and revision of William J. Heller, assisted by an advisory board of editors.."

THE NEW YOHK 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



A8T0«, LKNOX AND 
TlLDEti FOUNDATfONS 



o.. 





!2?i.^'l^■!>i.2wL ..v.J-j:;;^';---:-. . 



(^_X^^tiX^ C^l^^-e^ 



History of Northampton County 

[PENNSYLVANIA] 



and 



The Grand Vallev of the Lehio:h 



Under Supervision and Reznsion of 



WILLIAM J. HELLER 



Assisted by 
AN ADVISORY BOARD OF EDITORS 



VOLUME HI 



1920 
THE AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY 

BOSTON NEW YORK CHICAGO 



^iSs 



298 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

has been no radical changes in the successful methods of the past, modern 
methods and modern facilities are g'iven their full and proper place. Dr. 
Thaeler, the principal, is conducting the school along the best lines of educa- 
tional systems, and in his own personality and acquirement ranks with the 
many educators who have preceded him during the Hall's existence. He is a 
son of Samuel L. and Marie Louise (Gruhl) Thaeler, his parents residing at 
the time of their son's birth on the island of St. Christopher (or St. Kitts), 
one of the British West India islands, belonging to the Leeward group of the 
Lesser Antilles. 

Arthur David Thaeler was born in St. Christopher, British West Indies, 
October 21, 1871. He is a graduate of Nazareth Hall Alilitar}- Academy, 
class of 1886; and of the Moravian College, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, A.B., 
1890; B.D., 1892. From his ahna mater he received the D.D. degree in 1917. 
In 1892 he was ordained a minister of the Moravian church, and in that year 
was appointed assistant pastor of the Salem. North Carolina, congregation, 
and pastor of Calvar\- Church in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. From 
1901 until 1918 he was head pastor of the Moravian church in Bethlehem, 
resigning to accept appointment on April 15. 191S, to the principalship of 
Nazareth Hall Military Academy. He is a trustee of the ^Moravian College 
and Theological Seminary, his alma mater. He is independent in political action, 
a man of broad vision and public spirit, devoted to the work to which he 
has dedicated his life. 

Dr. Thaeler married. October 30. 1894, Ruth Caroline Schropp, of Beth- 
lehem, Pennsylvania, daughter of Abraham S. and Caroline (Guether) 
Schropp. Dr. and Mrs. Thaeler are the parents of five children, the two 
eldest born in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, the others in Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania: Louise, born December 12, 1895; Abraham S., born Novem-* 
her 19, 1898; Arthur David, Jr.. born October 12, 1902; Charles S.. born 
May 29. 1906; Caroline G., born June 18, 1913. 



ISAAC L. KRESSLER — Kresslers were living in Northampton county, 
Pennsx Ivania. at the time of the Revolution, and from the first settlement 
until the present members of the family have been men of prominence in 
their communities. Among the twentieth century representatives of the fam- 
ily who have won their vvay to important place in the business life of their 
communities, Isaac L. Kressler, cashier of the ^lerchants' National Bank of 
Bangor, must be named. He is a son of Jacob Kressler, of Upper^ Mount 
Bethel township, Northainpton county, and a grandson of Charles Kressler, 
of the same township. Charles Kressler was born, lived and died in Upper 
Mount Bethel, and there during his active business years plied the shoe- 
maker's trade. He married Susan Emery, and thev were the parents of eight 
children: Jacob, of further mention; Henry; Catherine, married Reuben 
LeBar. of Portland, Pennsylvania ; Elizabeth, married Daniel Richards, of 
Illinois: Christina, married Jacob Miller; Matilda, married Samuel Delp ; 
Susan, married Daniel Reichard ; Sarah, married Dr. Daniel Snyder, a prac- 
ticing physician, now of Scranton, Pennsylvania. 

Jacob Kressler was born in Upper Mount Bethel township, Northampton 
county, Pennsvlvania, and there passed his youth. When a young man he 
settled at Ackermanville, in the same county, and there for some years 
engaged in farming. Later he moved to Bangor, Pennsylvania, where he 
engaged in brick nianufacturing, being a pioneer in that business there. He 
prospered abundantly in his business enterprises, and in making his invest- 
ments he was partial to real estate, his holding at one time including all that 
section now known as North Bangor. This property he later sold to the 
John Brown Estate. He was one of the incorporators of the S. Flory Manu- 
facturing Company, of Bangor, and held his stock interest in that company 
until his death. In politics he was a Republican, taking an active part in 



ruaLlk, y^i-.Ai;Y 



AST' 'f,, i^^/^OS. AN D 

L 




dpen. 2Btlltam €. Foster 



BIOGRAPHICAL 299 

local affairs, sitting as a iiu-nibcr of tlic Horough Council and scrvin;:^ as a 
school director. He was a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and of the Bangor Evangelical Lutheran Church. Jacob Kressler married 
Anna M. Reimel, and thej' were the parents of six sons: William If., of 
Mount Bethel; Charles F., of Bangor; Edwin J., deceased; John W., of Dun- 
more, Pennsylvania; Jacob C, deceased; and Isaac L., of further mention. 

Isaac L. Kressler, youngest son of Jacob and .'\.nna M. (Reimel) Kressler, 
was born in Bangor, Pennsylvania, November 24, 18S6. He was educated in 
the public schools, and at tlie old Fredericksburg Academy, and during his 
years of minority was associated with his father in his business enter])rises. 
In 1887, having attained legal age he, in association with others, organized 
and incorporated the Merchants' National Bank of Bangor, Mr. Kressler enter- 
ing the service of the new institution as bookkeeper. He continued in that 
and in positions of increased responsibility until 191 5, when he was elected by 
the board of directors cashier of the bank, his j^rcsent position. He has proven 
the wisdom of this selection by administering the duties of his j>osition with 
rare skill and judgment, his ability, tact and ;icrsonality strengthening the 
influence of the bank with the people and winning with this confidence, 
friendship and good will. 

Mr. Kressler is a. member and a trustee of the First United Evangelical 
Church of Bangor, and ever since the organization of the local commandery 
of the Knights of Malta, he has been treasurer of that body. In his i)olilical 
faith he is a Prohibitionist. He married (first) Mary E. Long, who died 
November 30, 1916, daughter of Augustus R. and Sdrah B. (Paul) Long. 
They were the parents of two children: Edgar R., born May 16, 1900; and 
Sarah R., born Alay 30, 1908. Mr. Kressler married (second) in June, 1917, 
Flora B. (Buzzard) Ott, widow of Hiram Ott. The family residence is in 
Bangor, Pennsylvania. 



GEN. WILLIAM E. DOSTER— At eighty-two years of age and still 
practicing law, president of the Lehigh Valley National Bank of Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, and until recently a familiar figure on his high mettled horse, 
taking his daily horseback ride. General Doster could claim at least to be 
something out of the ordinary, if not an extraordinary man, as his friends 
will rightfully insist. He was a veteran lawyer and a veteran soldier, an 
author, financier, journalist and business man. His position as a lawyer was 
among the leaders learned in the law, and he was forceful, eloquent and very 
skillful in presentation. "Pennsylvania Reports" teem with cases which he 
has successfullv fought through the higher courts; although not all his legal 
battles were winning ones, his fame as an attorney often attracted retainers 
from the losing side of the controversy. He was of a family long and promi- 
nently identified with Bethlehem, tracing to Dr. Daniel Doster, the founder 
of the family, who landed in Philadelphia more than a century ago. 

The family is traced to Martin Doster, who left his home in Saxonv 
about 1650, and settled in Wiirtemberg, Germanv. He was the father of 
John Valentine Doster, born in 1667, at Niederhofen, near Heilbronn in Wiir- 
temberg, and there died in 1759. He married Susanna StoU, and they were 
the parents of John Philip Doster, born 1729, died 1781. He was for many 
years mayor of Niederhofen, a man of usefulness and influence. FIc married 
Rosina Maisenhaelder, and their seventh child was Dr. Daniel Doster, the 
founder of the family in Pennsylvania, and grandfather of Gen. William E. 
Doster, late of Bethlehem. 

Dr. Daniel Doster was born at Niederhofen in 1763. and died in Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania, in 1830. He came to Pennsylvania, landing at Philadelphia, 
January 11, 1817, and here founded a family, one branch known as the Lan- 
caster, another the Northampton branch, of which General Doster was repre- 
sentative. Dr. Daniel Doster married Marguerite Kepplcr, and located in 



300 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Philadelphia, first opening an office at No. 33 Coates street, but later moving 
to Lancaster, where he practiced his profession until his death. Dr. Doster 
had a son, Lewis, and a daughter, Elizabeth. She was born in 1800, mar- 
ried Charles Ortel, of Philadelphia, and died in 1843 without issue. 

Lewis Doster, son of the founder. Dr. Daniel Doster, was born at Nieder- 
hofen, Germany, July 26, 1796, and came to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, with 
the family in 1817. He remained in Philadelphia until 1826, then, at the 
request of the Moravian Society, came to Bethlehem to manage the society's 
woolen mill on Water street, which plant he afterward bought. He greatly 
extended the plant, which he named the Monocacy Woolen Mills, and con- 
tinued as their managing owner and head until his death in i860. His sons 
continued the operation of the plant for two years after their father's death, 
when it was destroyed by fire. This does not express the activity of Lewis 
Doster in an unlimited degree, for he was engaged also in the lumber busi- 
ness, as well as in other commercial enterprises, and he was recognized as 
the leading business man of Bethlehem. When Bethlehem was created a 
borough, he was chosen a member of the Bethlehem Guards, he having 
served in the German army. Lewis Doster married Pauline Louise Eggert, 
daughter of Matthew and Maria (Rupert) Eggert, granddaughter of Chris- 
tian Eggert, who came to Bethlehem in 1746, and a maternal granddaughter 
of Adam Rupert, of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Adam Rupert enlisted in 1776 
and served during the Revolution with the Tenth Regiment, Pennsylvania 
line, commanded by Colonel Hampton and Lieutenant-Colonel Hubbey, of 
Lancaster. After her father's death, Mrs. Maria (Rupert) Eggert received a 
warrant for lands situated in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, which property 
was awarded him for Revolutionary service. Matthew Eggert, father of Mrs. 
Lewis Doster, was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, in 1763, and died there 
in 1831. From 1792 until 1802 he was superintendent of the Single Brethren's 
House at Lititz, Pennsylvania, and taught at the Boys' School at Bethlehem, 
1808-14. He was a member of the building committee which in 1803 erected 
the famous Moravian church at Bethlehem, and he was a man of usefulness 
as long as he lived. At the time of his death. May 27, i860, Lewis and 
Pauline Louise (Eggert) Doster were the parents of eight children, none of 
whom arc living: i. Charles Edmund, born in 1829, died in 1864; a business 
man ; during the Civil War was quartermaster of the Thirty-fourth Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Infantry, Colonel All-right commanding. 2. Lewis L., born in 
1831, died in 1893; a lumber merchant of Philadelphia; married Emma, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Luckenbach, and left issue. 3. Herman Augustus, born in 1S33; 
married Emily, daughter of Dr. Charles Detwiller, and has two daughters living: 
Mrs. Pauline Facht, of Trenton, Pennsylvania ; and Elizabeth Lyman, widow 
of Frank Lyman, of Michigan. 4. Albert Theodore, born in 1835; married, 
in 1862, Harris Hill, of Summit Hill, Pennsylvania, and left issue. 5. Wil- 
liam E., whose long and useful life is the inspiration of this review. 6. Louise 
M., born in 1842, died in 1876; wife of George L. Baum, and left issuer 
7. Henry Edward, born 1844, died in 1877; a veteran of the Civil War, serv- 
ing as corporal in the One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Regiment, Pcnnyl- 
vania Volunteer Infantry, and on detached service in the office of his brother, 
William E.. recently deceased, in Washington, District of Columbia; he mar- 
ried Mary L. Ripple, of Scranton, and left issue. 8. Ellen B., born in 1851, 
died in 1863. Other children died prior to their father's decease. 

William E. Doster, seventh son of Lewis and Pauline Louise (Eggert) 
Doster, was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, January 8, 1837, and continued 
his residence in his native city, an active consulting lawyer and man of affairs 
until his death, which occurred July 2, 1919, aged eighty-two years and five 
months. Death followed a six weeks' illness, superinduced by an attack of 
influenza, from which he never recovered. He is survived by five cliildren: 
Mrs. John Knight, of New York City ; Wadsworth, of Torrington, Connecti- 



KIOGRAPIIICAL 301 

cut; Alexis, of Litchfield, Massachusetts; Mrs. B. E. Cole., of Bethlehem; 
and Mrs. J. R. Lowell Otis, of New York. 

William E. Dostcr, after early attendance at the Moravian Parochial 
School, now Moravian Preparatory School, entered Van Kirk Academy, ])ass- 
insj thence to Yale College, whence he was graduated A.B., class of 1857. H^ 
began the study of law under the direction of Andrew Rceder, the eminent 
lawyer of F.aston, Pennsylvania, later territorial governor of Kansas. He after- 
wards entered Harvard Law School, whence he was graduated LL.Tj. He 
completed legal study at Heidelberg, Germany, and Paris. France, then 
returned to Pennsylvania, and in 1861 was reading law in Philadel])hia. When 
war was declared between the States of the North and .South, he enlisted, 
and on August 15, 1861, was mustered into the service of his country as 
captain of Company A, Fourth Regiment, Pennsylvania Cavalry. The follow- 
ing October he was promoted to the rank of major, and in February, 1862, 
he was a])[)ointed jirovost-marshal of the District of Columbia to succeed 
Gen. Andrew Porter. This post included the command of a brigade of troops, 
also a flotilla on Chesapeake bay, and was held until earlv in the spring of 
1863, when he was ])romole(l to the rank of lieutenant-colonel, and returned 
to his regiment, the Fourth Pennsylvania Cavalry. He served with his regi- 
ment under Generals Averill. Stoneman. Pleasanton, Kilpatrick and Gregg, 
the famed cavalry leaders of the Army of the Potomac. He was engaged at 
disastrous Chancellorsville in command of the Second Brigade of the Third 
Division of the Cavalry Corps, and at Gettysburg was on the right under 
General Gregg. He resigned his command in 1864, and was honorably dis- 
charged and mustered out brevet brigadiei-general. He was admitted to the 
bar at Easton. Pennsylvania, but for one year practiced in Washington, Dis- 
trict of Columbia, engaged in trials before military commissions and courts- 
martial. He was engaged for the defence in the trial of the conspirators 
against the life of President Lincoln, and also defended Payne and Atzerott 
for their murderous attack on Secretary Seward. After these celebrated cases 
were disposed of. he returned to Pennsylvania, and until 1873 practiced law 
m Easton. He then went to his native and well loved Bethlehem, which 
afterwards was the seat of his practice and the scene of his professional and 
business triumphs. 

Learned in the law. skillful in its applications, loyal to a client's interest 
and an untiring worker, he was a formidable antagonist from his first entrance 
to the Pennsylvania bar, and as the years progressed he won high reputation 
as one of the most able lawyers. He gave especial attention to the law of 
corporations, and in that branch of the law he had no superiors at the North- 
amjiton bar. From 1867 to 1S79 he was register in bankruptcy for the 
Eleventh Congressional District, and for thirty-five years was counsel for 
the Bethlehem Iron (now Steel) Company, and for the Lehigh Coal & Navi- 
gation Company. Many other corporations were served during his half cen- 
tury at the Northampton bar. and man}' are the cases he successfully tried, 
manv are the large estates that he honorablj' administered, and many are 
the dififerences he has succeeded in having settled without recourse to law. 
He delivered a series of lectures at Lehigh University in 1879 by the request 
of the faculty. His subject was. "Practice in the County Courts of Pennsyl- 
vania." His fame rests upon his long and uniformlv successful practice in 
the courts of Northampton and adjoining counties, although he was for long a 
practitioner in all State and Federal courts of Pennsylvania, and in the 
United States Supreme Court. He always practiced alone, and as a trial 
lawyer he was ranked with the best in Pennsylvania. 

General Doster served his profession loyally and faithfully, but neverthe- 
less made several excursions into the business world with tangible result and 
lasting benefit. In 1867 he joined with David Godshalk and founded tiie 
Weekly Chronicle, which was later the Bethlehem Daily Times. In 1869 he 



302 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

joined with his brother, Herman A. Doster, in organizing the New Street 
Steel Bridge Company, of which he was president up to the time of his death, 
1869- 1919. In 1907 he was elected president of the Lehigh Valley National 
Bank, which office he held at the time of his death, and was also a director 
of the Minsi Trail Bridge Company. Real estate has long been his favorite 
investment, and Bethlehem with its surrounding farm lands was his favored 
locality. Ten fine farms were owned by him, and these farms are all named 
after the members of William Penn's family. 

Although a home-loving man. General Doster was a world-wide traveler, 
having crossed the Atlantic more than thirty times. Paris and the French 
people always held a strong appeal for him, and he suffered with them in 
their great trial from which they so triumphantly emerged, after more than 
four years of national martyrdom. Horseback riding was another of his 
favored recreations, and only his last severe illness caused him to forego his 
daily rides. He had a summer home in New Hampshire, which often claimed 
him, also a New York City dwelling and a farm on Long Island, and he has 
traveled extensively in his own America. 

His career at the bar precluded personal mterest in political affairs, and 
he never sought nor held aught but professional offices. In 1891 he delivered 
the Sesqui-Centennial oration at Bethlehem, but with that exception has de- 
clined the numerous invitations to act as orator of the day on occasions of 
popular celebrations. He was a Republican in politics, a member of the 
J. K. Taylor Post No. 182, Grand Army of the R'.')3ublic, and a member of 
the Lincoln Republican Association. His clubs were the Bethlehem, the 
Lehigh Country, and the Alpha Delta Phi. While provost-marshal, General 
Doster saw much of President Lincoln, whom he came to admire and rever- 
ence deeply. In 191 5 he published his book, "Reminiscences of the Civil War 
and of President Lincoln," a work alive with interest and teeming with 
intimate references to the great president whose cruel death caused a nation 
to mourn. He was a member of the legal societies, local, State and national, 
and had a well chosen library from which he gained his wide and comprehen- 
sive knowledge of the world history, languages and people, supplemented by 
his extensive travels. His life was wonderful in its length and usefulness, for 
he claimed no immunity on any account, but met every obligation that his 
position demanded, and was one of the men of today, not yesterday. 



WILLIAM DAVID LANDIS, PH.B.— Since embracing pedagogy as his 
jjrofcssion. Professor Landis has made rapid strides forward, and hardly yet 
in the prime of his splendid powers the future holds for him brilliant promise. 
He is a descendant of an ancient Bucks county family, his ancestor coming 
to America and the State of Pennsylvania shortly after William Penn. John 
Landis, the pioneer ancestor of this Landis branch, came to Pennsylvania 
from the borders of Switzerland about the year 1700, and located for a time 
in the neighborhood of Philadeljihia. He was accompanied to this country 
by Benjamin Landis, presumably his brother, who v/as a Mennonite minister, 
John Landis also being a member of that sect. Rev. Benjamin Landis later 
settled ill Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, where he has numerous descend- 
ants. John Landis followed the trend of Gennan emigration up the Schuylkill 
river and its tributaries, eventuall}' locating in Alilford township, Bucks 
county, Penns\lvania, where he purchased land in 1743. He died in 17.SO, 
leaving several sons and a widow, Anne, only two of his sons, however, Jacob 
and Samuel, being mentioned in his will. Jacob was made one of the two 
executors of the will, but the farm was left to Samuel, he to have possession 
when the youngest son should be nineteen years of age, "which will be 
in 1759.'' 

In 1762, Peter Landis, one of these sons, it is believed, was assessed £4 
in Uppei Saucon township, Lehigh county. His son, Jacob Landis, born 



BIOGRAPHICAL 303 

Januarv I, 1756, died June I, 1847, and was Iniried in the uld Mennonite 
Cemetery between Coopersliurs and Center \'allcy, in Lehigh county, as was 
also his wife, ]5arl)ara (Mayer) Landis, liorn in Ociol)er, 1759, died April 7, 
1844. They were living; in Lcnver Saucon township, Lehi<jh county, in 1790. 
David l.andis, grandfather of William D. Landis, of Northampton county and 
borough, was a substantial farmer of Bucks county, and born about 1810. 
He married Susan Jacoby, and they were the parents of eleven daur^^hters and 
two sons, all of whom reached adult years, a thirteenth child dying when 
j'oung. The older of the two sons was Da%id J. Landis, who is of funher 
mention. 

David J. Landis was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, in December, 
1850, and there grew to manhood, later settling in Northampton county, 
locating at Hcllertown, where he engaged in the green grocery business for 
several years. He then entered the employ of the government, and for several 
years was engaged in public work at South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, finally 
purchasing a farm near Hcllertown, where h? is living a quiet, retired life. 
Honesty and devotion to his family have ever been strong characteristics of 
the man, and he has won his place in county life in a fair and honorable man- 
ner. He is a Rejuiblican in politics and a mcmi^er of the Evangelical church 
of LTellertown. He married Elemina E. Ilillegass, born at Hcllertown, daugh- 
ter of David Hillegass, a one-time commissioner of Northampton county, and 
one of the well known Democrats of the county. Mrs. Landis is a member 
of the Evangelical church, a woman of strong Christian character. Mr. and 
Mrs. Landis are the parents of seven children, three daughters and four sons, 
to whom the parents gave all the educational advantages within their ])ower. 
William David, of further mention; Edgar S., who died August 10. IQ18, a 
well known educator and school su]5erintc'i(lent ; Carrie, married John Kress- 
ler, and resides near Ironville, Pennsylvania; Florence, married Harvey Ban- 
der, and resides at Hcllertown, Pennsylvania; Annie, married Clayton J. Judd. 
and resides at Hcllertown; Robert C, also an educator; Stanley B., who 
stands high in the same profession. 

William David Landis, eldest son of David ]. and Elemina E. (Hillegass) 
Landis, was born at Hcllertown, Pennsylvania, h'cbruary 24, 1876. He began 
his studies in the public schools and attended the Hcllertown and Lower 
Saucon township schools until their advantages were exhausted. He then 
entered the Keystone State Normal School at Kutztown, and continued his 
attendance there until graduated with the class of 1898. The following years 
were spent in post-graduate study at Kutztown State Normal, where he 
pursued a scientific course until graduation with the degree of M.S., class of 
1901. In 1917 he received from Muhlenberg College the degree Ph.B. These 
years were not devoted solidly to acquiring his own education, but from iSyi 
he taught in the county schools, his first position being at .Shimcrsvillc, where 
he taught for two school years, his compensation being thirty-two dollars 
monthly. His next school was at Wassergass, where his pay was increased 
to forty dollars; then came Lcithsville, two years; Emaus, in Lehigh county, 
where he was principal of the high school for four years. In 1905 he was 
appointed supervising principal of Northampton public schools. In 1907 the 
Board of Education created the office of superintendent of i)ublic schools for 
the borough of Northampton, and to that post called Mr. Landis. For ten 
years he has now filled that office, and how well he has filled it the splendid 
efficiencv of the schools must attest. Su])erintenfk'nt Landis has under his 
jurisdiction five schools employing forty-five teachers furnishing instruction 
dailjf to 1,651 pupils. WMiile he devotes himself unreservedly to his work, 
Mr. Landis is himself a student, not only of methods, theory' and practice, 
but is a personal student, belonging to classes, and is taking the non-resident 
graduate course at Albright College, Mycrstown, Pennsylvania, which, when 
comi)leted, will confer ui)on him the degree Master of Arts. Broad-minded, 



304 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

progressive, public-spirited and devoted to his profession, he is the ideal edu- 
cator, and will ijo far. He is in the forefront of every movement for the 
public '^ood. and his interest is deep in the borough and its institutions, with 
which he has been so long connected. 

Professor Landis was one of the incorporators and is a director of the 
Allen Trust Companj' of Northampton; is affiliated with Chapman I.odge, 
Free and Accepted Masons, of Northampton ; Siegfried Chapter^ Rojal Arch 
Masons, of which he is a past high priest ; Allen Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar, of Allentown ; and Lulu Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia, Pcnns> Ivania. He is a member of the Patriotic 
Sons of America, of Northampton ; both lodge and encampment of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows; of Rebekah Lodge, Order of the Eastern 
Star; and of the Evangelical church of HeMcrtown. 

CHARLES JENNINGS MONTAGUE— Now located in ample quarters 
at Nos. 237-239 Northampton street. Easton, Mr. Montague is head of a pros- 
perous business, the largest of its kind in the city of Easton. He has been 
connected with the book and stationery business since July 10, 1876, when, 
as a boy of thirteen, he entered the employ of William Alaxwcll, whom he 
succeeded in business at the latter's death, twenty-six : ears later. Forty-three 
years have elapsed since the boy entered the ^Maxwell store, and the changes 
iiave been man., but the love of books that distinguished the boy has not 
changed, and tlie veteran bookseller preserves that boyhood interest in spite 
of alf changes of time, method and environment. 

Charles ]. Montague is a descendant of Peter Montague, born in Boveny, 
Burnham, B'uckinghamshire, England, wdio, when eighteen years of age, 
tame from England to the American colonies, settling in Virginia, where he 
established a home and founded a family. He was a man of character and 
ability, and he expanded into a citizen of influence and usefulness. He aided 
in establishing the first church and the first school in the colony of Virginia, 
and w-as called to various positions of honor and responsibility. 

Peter Montague, the founder, was succeeded by his son Peter (2) Mon- 
tague, to whom he bequeathed large tracts of Virginia land located on the 
Rappahannock river. He was born in Nansemond county, Virginia, in 1631 
or 1632. He married Elizabeth Morris, and w^as succeeded by his son Peter 
(3) Montague in 1666, died in 1702. Peter (3) Montague was the father of 
Thomas J. Montague, whose second wife, Penelope, bore him a son, William. 

That William Alontague was born June 14, 1730, and lived in Middlesex 
county, Virginia, married Carhune Montague, daughter of Abraham Mon- 
tague, and had a son. William (2). 

William (2) Montague was born about 1756, served in the Revolutionary 
War, and was wounded in an engagement on Chesapeake bay. He married, 
January 14, 1790, Elizabeth Valentine, daughter of Edward Valentine, of 
Augusta county, Virginia, and lived near the village of Montague, Virginia. 
They were the' parents of a son, William Valentine Montague. 

W'illiam Valentine Montague, head of the seventh generation of the 
familv, was born September 3, 1797. married, in December, 1824, Mary Ann 
Barrack, and in 1828 moved to Norfolk county, Virginia, thence in 1829 to 
the town of Norfolk. His wife died September 24, 1840. and he married 
(second) Esther Hatton. a widow, and moved to Princess Anne county. He 
died in Norfolk, Virginia, in 1865, his wife surviving him but one year. 

Robert Valentine Montague, son of W^illiam Valentine Montague, and 
his first wife, Mary Ann Barrack, was born at Montague, Virginia, Septem- 
ber 28. 1827. He was a graduate of W^illiam and Mary College, and until 
the failure of his health in 1855, and his enforced removal to the North, he 
was active and prominent, filling several public positions. In 1855 he moved 
with his familv to New York Citv, and later to Easton, Pennsvlvania, where 



BIOGRAPHICAL 305 

he made his home until his death, April 4, 1866. He was assistant postmaster 
at I'^aston during most of his stay, and in that, as in other trusts, he worthily 
acquitted himself. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, a 
Republican in politics, and a man of high personal character. 

Mr. Montague married, in Virginia, June 28, 1847, Margaret Elizabeth 
Robertson, daugh'ter of John and Ann Robertson, of Princess Anne county, 
Virginia. They were the parents of ten children, the first three born in 
Virginia, the fourth in New York City, the others in Easton, Pennsylvania: 
Elizabeth Virginia, born in February, 1848, married Dr. E. L. Evans; Mary 
Lewis, born in February, 1850, died'May 14, 1894, wife of Prof. J. J. Hardy, 
of Lafayette College; Helen' Walker, born July 4, 1851, died June 22, 1871, 
wife of J. Wesley Evans; William Barrack, born April 17, 1854; Robert 
John, born December 25, 1856; Alice Josephine, born September 4, 1858; 
Harry Howard, born August 6, i860, died August 26, i860; Frank Leslie, 
born October 6, 1861 ; Charles Jennings, of further mention; Lelia Virginia, 
born September 22, 1865, married Frank E. Crater, of h'.aston. Mrs. Mar- 
garet E. Montague was a woman of strong character and amiable disposition, 
who, when left with limited means and a large family of children, gave her- 
self without limit to their service, kept them together, gave them each an 
excellent education and lived to see them all well establisiied in life and in 
homes of their own. She died h'eliruary 14, 1894, her youngest child then 
twenty-nine years of age. 

Charles Jennings Montague, youngest son and ninth child of Robert V. 
and Margaret E. (Robertson) Montague, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, 
October 26, 1863, and there >et resides, a substantial merchant. He was but 
three years of age when his father died, and at the age of twelve he left 
school to aid in the maintenance of the home. On July 10, 1876, he entered 
the employ of William Maxwell, and there he found not only congenial occu- 
pation and the means of increasing his educational equipment, but also a 
lifetime occupation. The Maxwell store was devoted to the sale of books and 
stationery, and while the work was close and confining, the lad had abundant 
opportunities for reading and study, his good sense leading him to improve 
them to the fullest extent. He formed a strong attachment for his elderly 
employer, and as Mr. Maxwell advanced him in rank and compensation the 
position was a very pleasant one. As Mr. Maxwell increased in _\ears, he 
leaned more heavily upon his assistant, and in time Mr. Montague was vir- 
tually managing the business. On January i, 1902, Mr. Maxwell having 
passed away, Mr. Montague purchased the business from the estate, and is 
still its able head. In 1907 he removed from the old location to more ade- 
quate and suitable quarters at Nos. 237-239 Northampton street, the larger 
store enabling him to carry larger and more varied stocks of books, stationery 
and kindred lines. The Montague store is the largest, best equipped and 
stocked bookstore in the city, and the building it occujiies is owned by its 
proprietor. He is one of Easton's substantial, enterprising citizens, and is 
held in high esteem for his manly, upright character, and his pleasing 
personality. 

Mr. Montague is a member of Easton Lodge No. 152, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Easton Chapter. Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; ?Iugli de Payen Commandery No. 19. Knights Tem])lar; 
Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Read- 
ing, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Montague married, June 7, 1888, Mary A. Siegfried, and they are the 
parents of four children : Charles Leslie ; Lelia Virginia, married Donald A. 
Geiser, of Easton, now an instructor at Germantown Academy. Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, and they are the parents of a daughter. Jane Montague Geiser; 
William Maxwell, died October 6, 1906; Louise, residing with her parents. 

N. H. BIOG.— 20 



3o6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

FRED ERASTUS WARD, M.D.— Immediately after his jjraduation in 
medicine in lytK), Dr. Ward went West and spent one year in hospital prac- 
tice in Wyoming. It was not until 1909, however, that he returned to his 
native Easton and began the general practice of his profession. During the 
years which have since intervened. Dr. Ward has won a high degree of public 
favor, and is numbered among the most skillful and successful 01 the younger 
generation of physicians. Dr. Ward is a grandson of Michael Ward, who for 
many years was proprietor of the historic "Bull's Head Tavern" on Third 
street, and one of the substantial men of his day. Michael Ward was the 
father of Benjamin Ward, born in Jacobsburg, Pennsylvania, who for many 
years was a merchant of Easton, Pennsylvania, where he took a prominent 
part in civic affairs, and aided in founding .St. Luke's Lutheran Church of 
that city. He married Permilla M. Plawk, and they are the parents of Fred 
E., whose career is herein traced. 

Dr. Fred E. Ward was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, November 10. 
1882. He finished public school study with graduation from high school, 
class of 1899. He spent two years at Lafayette College, but withdrew upon 
the completion of his sophomore > ear to begin professional study at Medico- 
Chirurgical Medical College of Philadelphia. He continued at Medico-Chi- 
rurgical College until graduated M.D. with the class of 1906, then for one 
year was resident physician at Wyoming General Hospital, Rock Springs, 
Wyoming. He returned to Pennsylvania in 1907, and located in Berwick, 
there remaining two }ears. In 1909 he took a post-graduate course at Har- 
vard Medical School, and the same year located permanently at Easton, the 
city of his birth, where he is well established in general practice. He is a 
member of the Northampton County Medical Society, the Pennsylvania 
Medical Societj', the American Medical Association, and the medical staff of 
Easton Hospital. 

Dr. Ward is a Republican in politics, and prior to the inauguration of the 
commission form of government in Easton was a member of Common Coun- 
cil. He is the present public school medical inspector, and gives close atten- 
tion to the duties of that office. He is a member of Knapp Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Pomp Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Hugh De Payen Commandery, Knights Templar ; Rajah 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; and in Scottish 
Rite Masonry has attained the thirty-second degree ; member of Tall Cedars 
of Lebanon, of which he was grand tall cedar for 1919, and a past senior and 
junior deputy. His religious affiliation is with St. Luke's Lutheran Church, 
his college fraternity, Phi Rho Sigma, his clubs the Pomfret and Northampton 
Republican. 

On April 2. 1907, Dr. Ward married Ruth B. Williams, daughter of Dr. 
Cyrenius and Margaret (Barndt) Williams. Mrs. Ward was born in Easton, 
and is a graduate of the city high school, is a member of the Ladies' Auxiliary 
of Easton Hospital, and is active in Red Cross, church and charitable work. 
Dr. and Mrs. Ward are the parents of four children: Frederick Williams, 
Robert Benjamin, Ruth Katherine and Jane Louise. 



RICHARD J. LIPPEY — With rented bench room and a capital of less 
than five dollars, Richard J. Lippey began business in Easton as an independ- 
ent patternmaker, a trade of which he is master. He offered his services to 
the trade as a maker of patterns, and to that oft'er there w^as instant response. 
So well has he pleased those who have availed themselves of his skill that the 
demand has necessitated frequent expansion, until he has today a plant invest- 
ment of about $20,000. and the distinction of operating the only exclusive 
l>attern-making shop in Northampton county. He is a grandson of James 
Lippev. an officer in the British army, who died in England about 1S57, and a 
son of Richard Lippey, born in 1848 on the Isle of Wight, an island and an 
administrative county of England in the English channel. 



I TiS i*2W YORK 



- -, I '^ -^ 



. AND 

I - V 



BIOGRAPHICAL 307 

Richard Lippey remained in Enp:land until attaining legal age, several 
years ot that period of his life having been spent in in the British navy. In 
1869 he came to the United States, locating in Glendon, a suburb of Easton, 
Pennsylvania. He there became a foundryman, and until the closing down 
of the Glendon Iron Works was a general foreman of the works. lie then 
entered the employ of the Ingersoll-Sargeant Drill Company, and was suc- 
cessively with that company, the Steriingvvorth Railway Su])ply Company, 
and the Phillipsburg plant of the Ingersoll-Rand Company. Richard Lippey 
married, in Cilendon, Pennsylvania, Agnes Jones, born in England in 1853, 
daughter of Aloses and Hannah Jones. She came with her parents to the 
United States when a girl of seventeen, settling with them in Glendon, where 
Moses Jones entered the employ of the Glendon Iron Works. Later he moved 
to Charlestown, Maine, where he died. His widow, Hannah, then returned to 
Pennsylvania, and at the age of ninety-six died in the city of Philadelphia. 
Moses and Hannah Jones were the parents of six children: Agnes, married 
Richard Lii)pey ; Jennie, married John Wellington, and resides in Strouds- 
burg, Pennsylvania ; Hannah, married Emanuel Chew, of Philadelphia ; Henry, 
married Tamelia George, of Easton, Pennsylvania, and now resides in Jersey 
City, New Jersey; Mary, died in Maine; Moses, died unmarried in Phila- 
delphia. 

Richard J. Lippey, son of Richard and Agnes (Jones) Lippey, was born 
in the village of Glendon, near Easton, July 12, 1875, and there grew to man- 
hood. He was educated in the public schools of Glendon, but he was only a 
boy when he began wage-earning at the Glendon Iron Works, where his first 
job was that of a boiler cleaner. He then served an apprenticeship of three 
years at cabinet-making under William E. Garis. the (iaris shops being on 
North Green street, Easton. After completing his apprenticeship he was in 
the employ of Lundy & Otto for three years, their shops at the corner of Bank 
and Church streets, their specialties clocks and high-grade furniture. In 1897, 
Mr. Lippey entered the employ of the Ingersoll-Rand Company, then known 
as the Ingersoll-Sargeant Drill Company. He was connected with the West 
Easton plant of the company, and there he took up pattern-making, serving a 
regular apprenticeship, although he was an expert woodworker and a journey- 
man cabinetmaker. He served three years with the Ingersoll Company as 
apprentice, then as a journeyman for two years, after which he was with the 
Easton Foundry & Machine Company as a journeyman patternmaker for 
three and one-half years. His next engagement was with Wilson Brothers, 
manufacturers of grinding mills, his connection with that firm continuing 
until May i, 1908, when Mr. Lippey began business under his own name. His 
I eginning was very modest, and his bench room was rented from Theodore 
Hester. He found patrons readily and soon he was in his own shop, a room 
24 by 30 feet, on Ferry street. He continued at Nos. 327-329 Ferry street 
until June 14, 1910, removing to Nos. 39-41 North Sitgreaves street, there 
occupying a space 34 by 55 feet. On November 7, 1912, he moved to his 
present quarters at^Nos. 16-28 South Sitgreaves street, with space 55 by 70 
feet, with a loft of the same dimensions for storage. He manufactures pat- 
tern's for foundries and mills, and his is the only job pattern shop in the 
countv. His business has grown to large proportions, the accuracy of his 
patterns having been thoroughly established, a fact which has won him the 
loyal support of those whose business success depends upon the excellence of 
the castings they turn out. His line covers a wide field, but his merit has 
•won him the confidence of manufacturers and pattern users. In addition to 
his private business, Mr. Lippey has a large interest in the Ouako Bottling 
Companv, of which he is president and general manager. The company 
manufactures soft drinks of great variety in their plant, which is located at 
the corner of Pine and West streets, Easton. 

Since 1899, Mr. Lippey has resided in Easton. He was a member of the 
First Methodist Church at Glendon, serving as secretary of the board of 



3o8 XORTHAMPTOX COUNTY 

trustees. His family hold membership with the South Presbyterian Church, 
taston. In politics he is a Republican, scrvinp^ his city at the present time 
(1918) as a member of the school board. He is a member of Dallas Lodge 
No. 396, Free and Accepted ^lasons; Easton Forest No. 35, Tall Cedars of 
Lebanon ; Lehicton Lodge No. 244, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; 
Easton Encampment No. 138, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Canton 
Lafaj'ette No. 22, Patriarchs Militant ; Charity Lodge No. 3, Daughters of 
Rebekah, for nine years its treasurer and degree master; Heraclius Sancto- 
rium. Oriental Order of Humility and Perfection ; Amana Lodge No. "JJ, 
Knights of Pythias; the Historical Society of Northampton county; the 
Rotary Club of Easton, Pennsylvania ; the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion of Easton, one of the most active members of the last-named organiza- 
tion. He has passed the chairs of the subordinate lodge of the Independent 
CJrder of Odd Fellows, the chairs of the Pennsylvania Grand Encampment 
of the order, and is senior ranking officer of the Department of Pennsylvania, 
and yet Brigade Commander, an office he will rehnquish to become depart- 
ment commander. He was appointed to the high honor of Supreme Slon- 
archas of the Oriental Order, and assumed office August 16, 1919. 

During the period of the United States' participation in the World War. 
Mr. Lippey took a leading part in various activities of the government and 
authorized relief organizations, his services especially valuable in the five 
Liberty Loan drives, and acknowledged by a gratifying letter of appreciation 
from the officials of the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia. His citizen- 
ship is progressive and disinterested, and his enthusiastic support is a depend- 
able factor in all enterprises for civic betterment. 

Mr. Lippey married, in Easton, December 27, 1900, Katie Ferguson, of 
that city. They are the parents of six children : Evelyn M., a high school 
student ; Kenneth E. ; Irene Ethel ; Florence, deceased ; Russell, deceased ; 
Grace Edith. The family home is a fine double dwelling, No. 1039 Lincoln 
avenue, which Mr. Lippey built in 1903. 



GEORGE BELFORD SHERRY— As proprietor and manager of the 
Easton Brass & Machine Works, Xos. 143-151 Ferry street, Easton, Mr. Sherry 
is reaping the benefit of former years of experience and study. He is complete 
master of his business, and to the practical knowledge gained in shop, foun- 
dry and mill, he adds the learning of books and technical college study. The 
Easton Brass & Machine Works deal in wrought iron pipe, fittings, valves, 
injectors, brass and bronze castings, there being little in the way of mill 
machine supplies the works cannot supply. Mr. Sherry established his plant 
in 1901, and has conducted it ver}- successfully until the present. 

He is a son of George Sherrj^ born in Sussex county. New Jersey, in 
t8i6, died in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. May 11, 1S93, a general contractor. 
George Sherry married Susanna Wilhelm, of Easton, born there in 1826, died 
!May 27, 1888. They were the parents of nine children, three of whom are 
living: Ira C, of Waukegan, Illinois, the oldest living Lehigh Valley con- 
ductor; George Belford, of Easton; Samuel, of Bethlehem. Georsrc Sherry 
was a son of John Sherry, who died at ]\Iauch Chunk, Pennsylvania. 

George Belford Sherrv^ was born at Hackelbernie, a small mining village 
near the city of Mauch Chunk, Pennsvlvania, February 5, 1858. His early 
years were passed in Hellertown, Northampton county. Pennsylvania. His 
first school teacher was Philip B. Lerch, a schoolmaster of the old school who 
spared not the rod. The school over which he ruled was held in an old brick 
one-room building, board benches for seats, and the equipment meagre. Later 
he attended a school in Bethlehem, taught by O. R. Wilt, who later becanie 
superintendent of public instruction for Northampton county. Later in life 
he met' Mr. Wilt (now deceased) and making himself known to the old 
schoolmaster, he recalled old times and whippings the older man had admin- 
istered. He asked Mr. Wilt how he would like to take him on. and was met 



BIOGRAPHICAL 309 

by the reply, "Nothing doing." Schooldays ended for the lad at the age of 
fifteen and business life began. His first position was as newsboy on the 
Lehigh \alley trains between Phillipsburg, New Jersc> , and Waverly, New 
York. He next was employed in the shops of the Bethlehem Iron Com- 
pany, coming under the personal management of John Fritz, then superin- 
tendent of the plant. In 1877 he left the Bethlehem Iron Company for the 
shops of the Lehigh Valley railroad in Easton, then under the then master 
mechanic, John I. Kinsey. He remained in the Lehigh shops until 1890, then 
assumed the management of the machine shop and foundry of Young & 
Slough, on Ferry street, Easton. From 1893 ""^il 1896 he was in the testing 
laboratory of Lafayette College under Prof. J. M. Porter. In 1896 he organ- 
ized the Easton b'oundry & Machine Com])any, of which he was general 
superintendent until 1901, when he established his present business under the 
trade name, Easton Brass & Machine Company, of which he is sole owner 
and general manager. He was formerly treasurer of the Easton Merchants' 
Ice Company; is a director in the Northampton Building & Loan Associa- 
tion; director of the Doyle & DaCosta Wire Company, of Easton; director 
of the Third Street Theatre Comijany and Northampton Amusement Com- 
pany, which operates the Star Theatre ; director of the City Ice Company ; 
treasurer of the Pure Distilled Water Ice Company; and director of Ouako 
Bottling Company, of Easton. 

In politics, Mr. ^herry is a Keimblican, and in 1905 was elected a member 
of Common Council from the Second Ward by an unusually large majority. 
He was baptized in 1865 by Bishop Potter, of New Jersey, in the faith of 
the Protestant Episcopal church, and is an attended of Trinity Episcopal 
Church in Easton. He is a member and past master of Dallas Lodge No. 396, 
Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp 
Council, Royal and Select Masters; Hugh De Payen Commandery, Knights 
Templar; Philadelphia Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite; Rajah 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the M\stic Shrine; Columbia Lodge 
No. 139, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Easton Eyrie No. iii. Frater- 
nal Order of Eagles ; Easton Council No. 984, Fraternal Patriarchs of 
America; Easton Board of Trade; Victor Drum Corps; and Pomfret Club. 

Mr. Sherry married (first), in Easton, June 2, 1882, Harriet Beidler, 
Rev. J. F. Shepperd, pastor of the Presbyterian church, officiating. Mrs. 
Sherry died August 28, 1889. Mr. Sherry married (second), September 18, 
1901, Emma Engler, daughter of John and Nellie Engler. They are the 
parents of a son, Rufus G., born in Easton, July 18, 1902. He was a student 
at Pennsylvania Military College, Chester, Pennslvania, Phillips Exeter 
Academy, now at New York Military College. Cornwall-on-Hudson. Mrs. 
Sherry is a member of the Episcopal church, is deeply interested in Red Cross 
work and other movements, charitable and philanthropic. 



HENRY IRVIN STAHR— Henry Irvin Stahr, pastor of the Christ Re- 
formed Church at Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, comes of a family long associated 
in clerical charge with the church. At least three generations ot the Stahi 
family have given members to the ministry. Mr. Stahr's father has been in 
the ministry for more than forty years, and a brother of his grandfather was 
pastor of a Pennsylvania church for almost three decades. 

Henry Irvin Stahr was born November 6, 1880, at Lockhaven, Clinton 
count}', Pennsylvania, and is the son of Isaac S. and Hannah Camilla (Apple- 
bach) Stahr. At least three generations of the Stahr family have resided in 
Pennsylvania; John Star, grandfather of Henry I. Stahr, was a public schoo' 
teacher in early life, and later a farmer, and a brother of his, Samuel Stahr, 
was for twenty-seven years pastor of the Durham Reformed Church, Durham, 
Pennsylvania. 

Isaac S. .Stahr, father of Henry I. Stahr, was born on May 23, 1845, and 
was a teacher in the public schools of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, for eleven 



3IO NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

years before he entered the Eastern Theological Seminary at Lancaster, 
Pennsylvania. He graduated in the class of 1877, and immediately secured 
appointment to the Lockhaven Keformed Charge, leaving there in 1884 to 
become pastor of the Oley Reformed Charge, and there he has remained ever 
since. That he is an able minister may be inferred by the fact that for thirtv- 
five years he has been held in one charge. His church at Oley is a prosperous 
one and in the richest farm section of Bucks county. He is still very activ, 
and much beloved in the community. Pie married Hannah Camilla, daughter 
of Henry and Sarah Jane (Ely) Applebach, of Applebachsville, Bucks county, 
Pennsylvania. Her father was born November 28, i8i8, and married August 
29, 1848. He was an enterprising man, and with his brother I^aul did much 
to develop the village of Applebachsville. The brothers dealt extensively in 
horses and cattle, and of course also farmed, purchasing in 1847 a tract of 
377 acres, upon which had been built, in 1837, one of the first country seats 
in the upjier end of Bucks county. In 1848 the brothers commenced the erec- 
tion of other buildings; they established a hostelry, and eventually a village 
grew up, chielly owing to their enterprise and energy. When a post-office 
was established there, the village was given the name of Applebachsville, in 
honor of its founders, and Henry Applebach became the first postmaster. His 
daughter, Hannah Camilla Applebach, mother of the Rev. Henry I. Stahr, 
was reared in the village. Eventually she graduated at the Moravian schools 
of Nazareth and Bethlehem, and later attended the College for Women, at 
Allentown, from which institution of the Reformed church she in due course 
graduated. She died July 2, 1915, and the following excerpt from an article 
regarding her published in one of the newspapers of the locality following 
her death, indicates the esteem in which she was held in the town 
in which she passed so many years of her life, as the wife of the Rev. Isaac 
S. Stahr. The article, in part, read: "If ever a woman testified by the whole 
of her life and devotion to the worth and strong influence for service anl 
blessing to Christian culture in family, church and school, the life of Mrs. 
Rev. Isaac S. Stahr, of Oley, Pennsylvania, was a beautiful testimony." She 
had been the wife of the Rev. Isaac S. Stahr for thirty-eight years, thev hav- 
ing been married on June 16, 1879, and for more than thirty years they had 
lived in Oley, where all of their children were reared. Of their five childre'\ 
four survive, namely : Sarah Jane, who married Charles L. Glase, of Oley, 
Pennsylvania; Mary Cornelia, who is unmarried, and is at present a teacher 
at the Reading High School, and is a graduate of Dickinson College; Camilla 
Belle, who is a graduate of Wilson College, and lives at home with her father , 
and Henry Irvin, the subject of this article. The other son, John Nevin, died 
in infancy. One other distinguished member of the Stahr family is the sub- 
ject's uncle. Dr. John S. Stahr, brother of Isaac S. He was the president of 
the Franklin and Marshall College from 1890 until 1912. He was a graduate 
of that institution, and throughout his academic life was a member of the 
college faculty, eventually becoming its president. 

Henry Irvin Stahr, son of the Rev. Isaac S. Stahr, received some of his 
academic education in the town of Oley, Pennsylvania. He attenrlcd the 
public schools of that place, and also took a preparatory course at Oley Acad- 
emy, an old established institution now defunct. In the fall of 1897 he entered 
the Franklin and Marshall College at Lancaster, Pennsylvania, graduating 
therefrom in 1901 with the degree A.B., when he had the distinction of being 
one of the honor men of his class. After leaving college, he became a prin- 
cipal in the Pine Grove Mills Public School, Pine Grove Mills, Pennslvania, 
where he remained for one year, then becoming a teacher in the Franklin and 
Marshall Academy Preparatory School. Two years later he entered the East- 
ern Theological Seminary, teaching also during the course. In 1908 he 
graduated therefrom, also with honors. In the following spring he proceeded 
to Cornell University for post-graduate work, and in the fall of 1910 was 
elected pastor of the Faith Reformed Church, Reading, Pennsylvania, being 



THE NEW YOKfv 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LF.XOX AND 
TILDKN FOUKDATtONS 






:x 



/ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 311 

ordaiiiL-d and installed in December, 1910. There he remained until he was 
called to his present church, in September, 1917. He is a man of fine prescn'-c 
and intellect, a powerful, convincing exponent of the Scriptures, and an 
active, able organizer. He is well regarded in Bethlehem, and the church is 
steadily growing. He is interested and active in the general work of the 
church, lie has taken active part and interest in civic and community work, 
the work incidental to War Loan and War Chest campaigns, is a member of 
Phi Sigma Kappa, and Lodge No. 43, Free and Accepted Masons, of Lan- 
caster, Pennsylvania. 

On February 2. 1914, at Boston, Massachusetts, Mr. Stahr married Alice 
Webb Stockwell, daughter of Stephen N. and Martha (Webb) Stockwell, of 
that city. Mrs. Stahr comes of an old New England family of Puritan an- 
cestry ; her father was a writer and newspaper editor of some note in New 
England. For many years he was editor of the Boston Journal. He was bom 
in Hardwick, Massachusetts, and died when his daughter, Alice W., was 
only a few months old. His wife, Martha (Wcbl)) Stockwell, was a native 
of Waldoboro, Maine, and died in 1915. There were two children of the mar- 
riage : Marie Louise, who is secretary to the president of Wcllcsley College, 
and Alice W., now Mrs. Stahr. Mrs. Stahr is a graduate of Wellesley Col- 
lege, and before her marriage was for a time a teacher in the private school 
of Miss Stahr, in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, which school was later amalga- 
mated with Lancaster College, the new school becoming the Shippen School 
for Girls, of which she became principal. To the Rev. and Mrs. Henry I. 
Stahr one child, a daughter, Sarah Louise, was born, whose birth date was 
April 21, 1917. Their home is at No. 359 East Broad street, Bethlehem. 



FRANK J. FENICLE— John Fcnicle, of Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania, married Mary Shireman, and settled on a farm near Nazareth, where 
their lives were passed and their thirteen children born. One of their sons, 
Ervin L. Fenicle, born in 1856, died in Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1909. Ervin 
L. grew to manhood at the home farm, was educated in the public school, 
and passed his years, fifty-three, in Northampton county. He married Susan 
Heckman, born in Moorestown. Northampton county, daughter of Jacob 
Heckman, a farmer, and one of a family of twenty-two children. Susan 
Heckman had three sisters, Catherine, Annie, and one who died young. 
Ervin L. and Susan (Heckman) Fenicle were the parents of an only child, 
Frank J. Fenicle, of Easton, Pennsylvania, proprietor of a dental laboratory 
at No. 427 Northampton street. 

Frank J. Fenicle was born at the home of his parents. Seventh and North- 
ampton streets, Easton, Pennsylvania, April 18, 1884. He attended the city 
public schools until fifteen years of age, then was employed in different 
occupations until going, when still a boy, with Dr. King, a dentist, with 
whom he remained three years. From Dr. King he went into the dental 
laboratory of R. C. Reimer, remaining with him eight years, and becoming a 
laboratory expert in dental work. He then opened a similar establishment 
under his own name, which he is successfully conducting at No. 429 North- 
ampton street, Easton. Mr. Fenicle is affiliated with Dallas Lodge No. 396, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Caldwell 
Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite; and Rajah Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine. In political action he is independent. Thomas Fenicle, 
an uncle of Frank J. Fenicle, was the first Republican ever elected to the 
office of sheriff in Northampton county. 

Mr. Fenicle married, in Easton, January 16, 1909, Leah Rikcr. of Easton, 
daughter of Frank P. and Elizabeth (Jones) Riker. Mr. and Mrs. Fenicle 
are "the parents of a son, Dale R. Mrs. Fenicle is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church. 

ELMER JESSE DECH, M.D.— Several generations of Dr. Dech's an- 
cestors have lived in Northampton county, all agriculturists, men of sub- 



312 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

stance and worth. With the present generation two of the sons of James 
Dech, of Bath, a retired farmer, embraced the study of medicine, this review 
dealing with the career of Dr. Elmer J. Dech, one of Easton's leading ph, si- 
cians, who established in the city in the year 1900. 

(I) The ancestor of the Dech family in Pennsylvania is John Dech, born 
in Germany, in 1720, who came to Pennsylvania in 1734. He worked out his 
passage money after his arrival, as did manj- others, but he later became 
prosi)erous, and for years resided at Sumneytt)\vn, Bucks county. Later he 
was attracted by reports from the newly created count.- of Northampton, 
came to this county, and settled near Bethlehem. 

(II) Jacob Dech, son of John Dech, the founder, was born in 1746, 
and died in 1S33. He lived in Forks township. He married Christina Best, 
sister of Conrad Best, and daughter of Jacob Best, of Williams township. 
He owned various tracts of farm land in Allen township, and was fairly 
well-to-do. In 1772 he bought and settled on the farm now owned by a 
descendant, George H. Dech, of Bath. During the Revolution he enlisted 
and performed militar)' dutv. Jacob and Christina (Best) Dech were the 
parents of five children: I. John, who later purchased the homestead; mar- 
ried Elizabeth Oberly. 2. Anna, married David Kemmerer. 3. Jacob (2), of 
further mention. 4. Elizabeth, married Christian Laubach. 5. Andrew, born 
in 1793, died in 1854; married Katherine Heller, born in 1790, died in 1866, a 
daughter of Joseph Heller, and great-granddaughter of Christopher Heller, 
who came to Pennsylvania in 1738, and the founder of Hellertown. Andrew 
Dech was the owner of a large farm near Schoenersville in Allen township. 

(III) Jacob (2) Dech, son of Jacob (i) Dech, was a farmer of East Allen 
township, Northampton county, and there lived and died, his burial place 
Hecktown. He married Mary Magdalen Oberly. and they were the parents 
of the following children; I. Jesse Reuben, of further mention. 2. Aaron, 
who died September 19, 1898, in his eightieth year, was a merchant of 
Farmersville ; he made frequent trips to Philadelphia with a four-horse team, 
taking heavy loads of produce to the city and bringing back merchandise 
for his store; from all around the people came to bring him money to deposit 
in Philadelphia banks, and frequently he carried large sums. 3. William, of 
Hanover. 4. Joseph, of East Allen township. 5. Stephen, of Bethlehem 
township. 6. Charles, of Lower Nazareth. 7. Thomas, who lived at Rising 
Sun. 

(IV) Jesse Reuben Dech, eldest son of Jacob (2) and Mary Magdalen 
(Oberlv) Dech, was born in East Allen township, Northampton county. He 
settled in Bath, Pennsylvania. He married a Miss Ritter, and reared a 
family including a son, James, of further mention. 

(V) James Dech. son of Jesse Reuben Dech, was born in East Allen 
township, and spent the active years of his life engaged in farming in North- 
ampton county, owning his own farm of one hundred acres, situated near 
Bath. He was a soldier of the Union during the Civil War, a member of 
the Reformed church, and is a man most highly esteemed. He married Anna 
L. Unganst. Children: Samaritan; Oscar J.; Harvey J., deceased; Sevilla. 
married Andrew Person; Elmer Jesse, of further mention; Mary L., married 
Jacob Danner; Schuyler H., a physician; and Palmer, deceased. 

(VI) Dr. Elmer Jesse Dech, son of James and Anna L. (Unganst) Dech, 
was born in Bath, Pennsylvania, April 24, 1871. He began his education in 
the public schools, passed to Lehigh Preparatory School, Bethlehem, studied 
pharmacy for one year, and in 1890 began the study of medicine under the 
preceptorship of Dr. Moore, of Philadelphia. Later he studied under Dr. 
Johnstonbaugh, of Bethlehem. He next entered the Eclectic Medical Insti- 
tute of Cincinnati, Ohio, whence he was graduated M.D., class of 1894. He 
at once began practice, locating in Pandora, Ohio, there remaining for six 
j-ears and establishing a good practice. In i8g6 he was elected coroner of 
I'utnam county, re-elected in 1899, serving until 1900, when he resigned, dis- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 313 

posed of his practice and returned to Pennsylvania. Before resuming' medical 
I)ractice, Dr. Dech pursued a course on i)ost-graduate study and work at the 
New York Polyclinic Hospital, then located in Kaston, where he has become 
well established as a physician of skill and honor. In 1915 he bought the 
residence property at Fourteenth and Northampton streets, one of Haston's 
most beautiful homes, and erectecf thereon a fireproof addition in which he 
has his offices, perfectly equipped with every medical or surgical aid to 
modern treatment of disease or injury. His abundant success is the logical 
outcome of thorough preparation, zeal and devotion to his chosen work, and 
a sincere desire to be of service to his fellow men. He has a most jileasing 
personality, coupled with a calm, serene nature which in itself soothes and 
brings hope to the suffering. He is a member of and president of the Eclectic 
Medical Society of Pennsylvania, and is highly esteemed as a physician. 
Other professional societies are: The Northam])ton County Medical Associa- 
tion, Pennsylvania State Society, American Medical Society, National Eclectic 
Medical Society. Through the medium of these societies and their publica- 
tions he keeps in close touch with the medical world, and all advance in 
treatment or operation. 

Dr. Dech has i)urchased the old Dech homestead in East Allen town- 
ship, and there he indulges to the utmost his love of the out-of-doors, and 
reverts to the calling of his borebears. He has always been an admirer of the 
trotter, and in the past has owned some of the best, although only for his own 
pleasure and personal driving. With the advent of the automobile he adopted 
the new steed, and is an ardent devotee of the motoring game. A day with 
rod and reel also appeals to him, and whenever possible he has a day in the 

woods. He is a member of Dallas Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 

Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council, Royal and Select Masters; 
Hugh Dc Payen Commandery, Knights Templar; Rajah Temple, of Reading, 
Pennsylvania; Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Easton Lodge, Independent Order of 
Odd h'ellows ; Amanda Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of which he is past chan- 
cellor; Easton Board of Trade; and the First Reformed Church. In politics 
he is a Democrat. 

Dr. Dech married, September 28, 1894, Lizzie H. Miller, daughter of 
Edwin and Caroline (Smith) Miller, of Bath. Mrs. Dech is active in Red 
Cross, church and charitable work. 



CHRISTIAN FLEMMING SANDT— The Sandts came to Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, in the long ago, the original settler in the county being 
Aclam Sandt, who took u\> a tract of three hundred and nineteen acres now- 
known as "Sandt's Eddy," for which he paid one hundred and sixty-five 
pounds sterling. It is believed that Adam Sandt was a native of Germany, as 
was John Sandt, who came in 1766, landing at Philadelphia on September 23, 
of that year. When the eldest of the sons of Adam Sandt (also Adam, born 
l)ecember 17, 1767, died September 28, 1835) was twenty-three years of age, 
the father purchased a tract of two hundred and twenty-three acres lying 
along Mud Run creek and adjoining his original three hundred and nineteen 
acres. At the time of the death of Adam .Sandt, Sr., April 7, 1793, he was 
possessed of both tracts, which eight years later were divided into "three 
parcels equal in quality and value," Adam, Jr., Michael and John each receiv- 
ing a portion. These three sons of Adam Sandt, the settler, are the ancestors 
of the Sandts of Northampton, John being the ancestor of Christian Flem- 
ming Sandt, the well known and prominent leather merchant of Easton. 

(II) John Sandt, son of Adam Sandt, Sr., born July 22. 1771, died May 4, 
1833. He received from his father that part of his holding Iving along Mud 
Run creek and extending to the Delaware river. To this he made large addi- 
tions, his wife, Magdalcna (Correll) Sandt, persuading him to purchase her 
father's farm when the latter died. At his death he owned six hundred and 
eighty-two acres, lying along both sides of Mud Run creek in the northern 



314 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

section of Forks township and in the southern part of Mount Bethel and 
Plainiield townships. He was the father of eleven stalwart sons, all born in 
the old "yellow house," now torn down, which stood on the present site of the 
hotel at Sandt's Eddy. Another landmark he left was the stone bridge across 
Alud Run creek, and he is credited with paving the way for the construction 
of the roadway along the Delaware river. When John Sandt died he had 
seventeen children, eighty-six grandchildren and two hundred great-grand- 
children. Besides his farming operations, he ran a saw-mill and conducted a 
hotel. John Sandt married Maria Magdalena Correll, born October lo, 1773, 
died January 10, 1848. His eleven sons were most of them exceptionally 
successful farmers, and their children have become eminent in law, the min- 
istry and business. Samuel, the youngest son, became a physician, as did 
several others of the family in the next generation, while four became minis- 
ters of the Lutheran church. The Sandts of the first generation were gener- 
ally Lutherans, the first Adam and his wife and sons communing in St. John's 
Lutheran Church, Easton, the congregation then worshipping in the Third 
Street Reformed Church. Adam Sandt and his wife were buried in the ceme- 
tery now the site of the Fourth Street school building, but they were later 
removed to Forks Church Cemetery, where most of the Sandts were buried, 
though quite a number rest in Easton Cemetery. 

(HI) Dr. Samuel Sandt, youngest of the eleven sons of John and Maria 
Magdalena (Correll) Sandt, was born at Sandt's Hotel at Sandt's Eddy, five 
miles north of Easton, Pennsylvania, November 15, 1815, and died in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, September i, 1902. He began his education in the Vanderveer 
School, and in youthful manhood made Easton his home, becoming clerk in 
the store owned by Michael Butz. In 1839 he entered Lafayette College: 
whence he was graduated A.B., then began the study of medicine under Dr. 
H. H. Abernathy, of Easton. Later he became a student in the medical 
department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated 
ALD., class of 1844. He at once located in Plainfield township, there prac- 
ticing until 1848, when he moved to Easton, there continuing in successful 
practice until his death. In 1855 he added a drug store to his business, con- 
ducting it until 1862, when he closed it up and went into the Union army. 
He received a surgeon's commission and was assigned to the Eighty-fifth 
Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, performing three years of ardu- 
ous field service with that organization and with the Sixty-second Regiment^ 
Ohio Volunteers. He rendered valued service under dangerous conditions, and 
gave loyal support to his country's cause. After the war closed, hc_ resumed 
practice in Easton. and continued active in professional work_ until shortly 
before his death, when a stroke of paralysis confined him to his home. Dr. 
Sandt was a skillful physician, a man of strong character, and ever held the 
highest esteem of his fellow men. He was a member of the Easton School 
Board and president of the board during a large part of his long term of 
public service. He was president of Northampton Medical Society, and was 
held in high regard by his brethren of the profession. He practiced his 
profession for fifty years in Northampton county, and when he "passed over," 
deep and genuine regret was everywhere expressed. 

Dr. Sandt married, December 23, 1845, Susan, daughter of Christian 
Flemming, of Easton. Thev were the parents of seven children : Christian 
Flemming, of further mention; Mary, died in igi8; Charles Albert, deceased; 
Elizabeth, died April i, 1903; Nettie; George F. ; and Clara, deceased. Mrs. 
Sandt died July 16, 1894. 

(IV) Christian Flemming Sandt, eldest son of Dr. Samuel and Susan 
(Flemming) Sandt, was born in the village of Belfast, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, January 15, 1847. He was educated in the public schools of 
Easton, his parents moving to that city in 1848. He finished his school years 
in 1864, then for four vears was employed by his grandfather, Christian 
Flemming, in his butchering operations, but at Mr. Fleniming's death in 1869, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 315 

the young man entered the employ of Jacob I'ralcy, a dealer in shoe findings, 
beginning as a clerk. He continued in Mr. Fraley's eni[)l()y for twenty years, 
lising to a confidential position in the business in which he ranked as an 
expert. In 1889, Mr. Sandt purchased the business, Mr. Fraley retiring, and 
until 1913 continued at the old location, No. 351 Northampton street, then 
removing to the present location, No. 461 Northampton street. Mr. Sandt is 
well known in the leather trade, his half century of connection with the one 
business in Easton having brought him into unusual prominence. He carries 
a full line of trunks, belting, etc. For many years he has been an active mem- 
ber of St. John's Lutheran Church, particularly interested in the Sunday 
school which he serves as a teacher and of which he has been treasurer for 
forty-eight years. In politics he is a l\e|)ublican. 

Mr. Sandt married (first) in Easton, in 1876, Elizabeth Hammond, of 
Easton, daughter of William Hammond. Mrs. Sandt died in 1879. In 1886, 
Mr. Sandt married (second) Anna Micke, daughter of Reuben P. Micke. 
Mrs. Sandt died in 191 1. 



LOUIS C. RICE — As president of the Easton Printing Company, of 
Easton, Penns} Ivania, Mr. Rice is in executive control of a corporation which 
he founded and has developed to a point wdiich entitles it to rank with the 
great strictly commercial ])rinting houses of the United States. Their plant 
located at the corner of Third and Washington streets, well equipped with the 
latest and best printing machinery, is known from coast to coast, and from 
literall}' all over the United States its business is drawn. The company was 
organized in 1914 by Louis C. Rice, Arthur J. Buss and Daniel Schroeder as a 
strictl}^ general commercial printing house. Soon they were reaching out 
into a wider field, until the wdiole country has become their field. The Beth- 
lehem Steel Corporation is one of their largest customers, wliile P)enney & 
Smith, of New York City, make large and incessant demands for labels. The 
list of houses, north, south, east and west, which draw upon the Easton 
Printing Company, is surprising, the two enumerated being only samples of 
the quality of the patronage the plant attracts. At this writing (October i, 
1918) the company is largely emplosed on government work, they being one 
of the many patriotic concerns whose resources were placed at the disposal 
of the national government for war purpose. 

Louis C. Rice, president and general manager of the Easton Printing 
Company, was born in Phoenixville, Chester county, Pennsylvania, Novem- 
ber 21, 1880, son of H. S. and Amelia (Breinig) Rice. He was educated in 
the public schools, and while yet a boy, learned the printer's trade in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania. For a time he was employed on the Allentown Critic, 
but later connected himself with a job printing establishment, and from that 
time has given himself to commercial printing only. Until 1914 he was in 
the employ of others, being manager of the National Printing Com]iany of 
Easton, until resigning to become head of the Easton Printing Company. 
He is thorough master of his business, knowing its every detail from the bot- 
tom up, a knowledge gained by personal contact as devil, journeyman printer, 
shop foreman, manager and proprietor. To technical skill he adds good 
business quality, and in his hands the future of the Easton Printing Company 
is secure. A man of genial nature and social qualities, Mr. Rice finds pleasure 
in the special features offered by the Masonic order, and is affiliated with 
Chapman Lodge No. 637, Free and Accepted Masons, of Northampton. Penn- 
sylvania, and with Easton Forest No. 35, Tall Cedars of Lebanon. His club 
is the Jacksonian, and his religious faith is Lutheran. 

Mr. Rice married (first) Bessie S. Buss, daughter of Mrs. Edmund J. 
Buss, of Easton. Mrs. Rice died April 11, 1917. leaving a son, Louis C. (2). 
Mr. Rice married (second), September 10, 1918, Jennie S., daughter of Edwin 
T. Michler, of Easton. 



3i6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

J. ELWOOD BIXLER — More than a century and a quarter ago, Chris- 
tian (2) Bixlcr L-stabUshed a jewelry business in the city of Easton, which he 
conducted successfully all of his after life, then was succeeded by his son, 
William Bixlcr, who in turn was succeeded by his son, J. Elwood Bixler, the 
present owner and head of the business, established in Easton by his grand- 
father in 1786. Christian (2) Bixler was a son of Christian Bixler. an exten- 
sive landowner of Berks county, Pennsylvania, living in Robeson township, 
where he was rated a man of considerable importance. Through the marriage 
of Christian (2) Bixler to Catherine Opp, one of the four daughters of John 
Jacob Opi5, descent is traced by J. Elwood Bixler from one of the old families 
of Easton and Northampton county, carrying back to pre-Revolutionary days. 
John Jacob Opp, father of Catherine Opp, was born in Chur-Paltz, Gcrmanj^ 
in the \ear 1740, came to the colony of Pennsylvania, and died in 1805. lie 
was appointed a commissioner of Northampton county June 22, 1776, to re- 
ceive bounty money to be paid to the three hundred and twenty-seven men 
who completed Northampton's first quota to the forces of the Flying Camp, 
as shown by the muster roll of Revolutionary militia. In addition to the sum 
of $981, he was also to exchange all saltpetre made in the county, this to be 
handed over to Capt. George Huber, to be used in the manufacture of gun- 
jiowder. John Jacob Opp became a large landowner in Easton, and by iiis 
wife, Anna Maria Hoffman, had four daughters, one of whom became the wife 
of Christian (2) Bixler, the founder of the jewelry business which has been 
in the Bixler family one hundred and thirty-three years, 1786-1919, under but 
three proprietors, the founder, his son and his grandson. 

Christian (2) Bixler was born in Robeson township, Berks county, Penn- 
sylvania, in 1763, and there learned the silversmith and jewelry trades, which 
included a knowledge of clock-making. In 1785 he located in Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, where he established a jewelry store, and during his after life was 
its managing head. He was a builder of that type of timepiece known as 
"Grandfather's Clock," and of fine silverware for the table. There are many 
of these old clocks to be found among the old families of Northampton bear- 
ing the name Christian Bixler, their value as reliable timekeepers not at all 
diminished by the fact that perhaps more than a century ago they were in 
the Bixler shop. 

In addition to this jewelry business. Christian Bixler erected and operated 
one of the first mills to be put in operation on the Delaware river in Easton, 
and owned considerable real estate. He and his wife loaned the village of 
Easton £700 sterling without interest in order that the hill might be retained, 
upon which the first stone schoolhouse in the village was built, Easton High 
School building now occupying the site. This loan was made necessary from 
the fact that the heirs of Mr. Penn claimed ownership of the hill, and by 
Christian Bixler's generous loan that beautiful site was preserved to the city 
tor public purposes and is so used until this day. In 1789, Christian (2) Bix- 
ler married Catherine Opp, and among their children was a son, William 
Bixler, of whom further. 

William Bixler was born in Easton, May 21, 1793, and there died, Feb- 
ruary 8, 1848. Upon arriving at suitable a.ge, he was taught the jeweler's 
trade by his father, and in time succeeded to its ownershij), continuing until 
his retirement in favor of his son. He married Sophia Tolan, who resided 
among the Quakers of Jenkintown, near Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, daughter 
of Hugh and Hannah (McDonald) Tolan. 

J. Elwood Bixler, son of William and Sophia (Tolan) Bixler, was born 
in Easton, Pennsylvania, February 26, 1848, his birthplace No. 317 North- 
amjiton street, then a double stone house. The original jewelry store site is 
now occupied by the Bush & Bull store. He was educated in the Easton 
public schools, and early in life was taught by his father the same trade and 
business he had inherited. He became an expert jeweler and in time suc- 
ceeded to the ownership of the business, continuing its active head until his 



TWE KEW YOJifC 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 




-<?<- U C'^^£^c>^ /S2^-z^^<?^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 317 

deatli at his home in Easton, June 12, i8gi. Mr. P.ixler was one of Easton's 
valued citizens, one who took active part and interest in all that pertained to 
the upbuilding- and improvement of his cit}'. He was one of the earliest and 
generous contributors to the Cliildren's Home, and in his will he gave the 
society the valuable property fronting on Ferry street through to Walnut 
street, five building lots in all. The original idea of the donor was that the 
property be used for kindergarten purposes, but it was used as a donation 
to the Children's Home for the benefit of destitute and homeless children. 
Tlie land donated had been in the family three generations, having been 
deeded by the Penn heirs to Christian (2) Bixler. He was a liberal con- 
tributor to the support of the I""irst Presbyterian Church of Easton, the family 
being attendants of that church. 

j. lUwood Bi.xler married, in Towanda, Pennsylvania, May 4, 1876, Emma 
Eilenberger, who survives him, daughter of Peter E. and RIarietta (.Smith) 
Eilenberger, he a son of Andrew lulenberger, of Monroe county, Pennsylvania. 
Marietta (Smith) Eilenberger was a daughter of Isaac Smith, a retired tobac- 
conist of Williamsburg, Pennsylvania, and his wife, Elizabeth Rymond. 
Isaac Smith was a grandson of Melchoir Smith, a Moravian missionar}- to 
the Indian Colony, and his wife, Catherine Margaret, who came to this coun- 
try with the first colony of Moravians on the shi]) Simfni)is, chartered by Count 
Zinzendorf about the year 1770, which settled in I'ethlehem, Pennsylvania. 
They had one son and one daughter. The son, John, married Mary M. 
Kreider, of Eititz, Pennsylvania, and from their union there were two sons, 
born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, one of whom was Isaac, who married 
Elizabeth Rymond, grandparents of Emma E. Bixler. Peter F. Eilenberger 
was born in Monroe county, Pennsylvania, May 30, 181 5, died in 1874. His 
wife died in Easton in 1889. He was a prominent Eastonian, county treas- 
urer in 1853, 'I'ld between i860 and 1866 represented Easton in the State 
Legislature. He was a warm friend of the Union cause and of the Union 
soldier, his efforts in their behalf being so greatly valued that as an apprecia- 
tion the men of 147th Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, presented him 
with a valuable cane. He was an official of the Western Union Telegra])h 
Company, and after every battle won by the Union army he caused a small 
Union flag to be displayed on every telegraph pole the company owned in 
Northamjjton countv. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bixler's two children both reside in Easton: i. William 
Opj) Bixler, educated in Easton public schools and the University of Penn- 
sylvania ; he married on June 12, 1901, Grace Ingersoll Simon, and they are the 
parents of four children: Hermina Simon, Grace Roberta, Elizabeth Telfair 
and William Townley. 2. Edith, married Henry B. Laubach, ;\^pril 30, 1007, 
and they have two children: Elwood Bixler and Marion Edith. 

Mr. Bixler, in his youthful manhood, was a member of the Easton Greys, 
holding the rank of sergeant. During the Molly Maguire troubles in Penn- 
sylvania, he was on duty with the Greys, and when laid at final rest his com- 
rades honored him with a military funeral. He was devoted to his home and 
family, a lover of music and art, a man genuinely respected by all wb.o knew 
liim in life, and deeply mourned at his death. 



DAVID STODDARD— When in 1886 David Stoddard located in Ban- 
gor, Pennsylvania, to engage in the slate business, he had already won high 
reputation as a machinist, an inventor and telephone expert of the city of 
Newark, New Jersey. In Bangor and other towns of the slate belt he has 
operated largely in the more than thirty years which have since passed, and 
as the present head and principal owner of the Albion Vein Slate Company. 
and other corporations, holds a position of eminence in his adopted town, lie 
is a son of John Stoddard, who came from England about 1850, married .'^arah 
Steckle, daughter of Mahlon and Dorothy Steckle, of Parsi]i[)an3', New Jer- 
sey, located in Newark, New Jersey, and there David Stoddard, their son, 
was born. 



3i8 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

David Stoddard was born in Newark, New Jersey, February 27, 1858, and 
there attended the public schools until twelve years of age. He then began 
helping his uncle, who was the owner of a retail milk business. Later lie 
established a milk route of his own, and for three years he operated quite 
profitably for a boy. He then began learning the machinist's trade with the 
Huntington Machine Company, continuing at their plant for five years, be- 
coming an expert worker in metal. His next employment was with the Domes- 
tic Sewing Machine Company of Newark, New Jersey, his service with them 
being as a machinist, but he also installed a system of water works for their 
plant. He next turned his attention to electricity, and among the results of 
his connection with the electrical business was the invention of a trap or 
device to prevent the burglarizing of safes, the device giving notice that the 
safe was being tampered with. This trap came into extensive use, particu- 
larly in the jewelry manufacturing district. He also gave a great deal of 
attention to the telephone, and was rated an expert in that business in its 
mechanical features, and was identified with the installing of the first tele- 
phone system in Newark. In June, 1886, Mr. Stoddard left Newark, and 
henceforth his business record is part of the history of the slate belt of 
Pennsylvania. 

On coming to Pennsylvania, Mr. Stoddard located in Bangor, North- 
ampton county, and in i8'88 he erected the first modern slate mill in that 
county. His introduction to the business community was as manager of the 
North Bangor Slate Company, a position he filled during the three years, 
18S6-89. The latter year saw the beginning of his partnership with John 
Bennett, a firm which, during its life of six years, 1889-95, leased and operated 
the New York slate quarries at North Bangor, Pennsylvania, very success- 
fully. In 1895. Mr. Soddard with G. W. Mackey organized the Bangor Star 
Slate Company, and for eighteen months maintained his interest in that com- 
pany, then selling out to Mr. Mackey. His next venture was at Danielsville, 
where he leased the slate producing propert\- known as the Big Quarry, and 
the slate mill known as the Hower Quarry Mill, conducting both enterprises, 
quarries and mills, for about five j-ears, when from lessee he became control- 
ling owner, so continuing for two years. He next invested in Pen Argyl slate 
properties by leasing the West Albion Mill, he then admitting his sons to a 
partnership, and operating as David Stoddard & Sons. The firm conducted 
both his Danielsville and Pen Argyl quarries and mills until 1914, when they 
withdrew from Danielsville, and then concentrated their attention upon the 
West Albion quarries. In 1907, Mr. Stoddard organized the Albion \'cin 
Slate Company, the firm D. Stoddard & Sons being the principal ov.ners of 
the stock of that corporation. Of that and other companies, David Stoddard 
is the executive head, his interests being very large. He has taken active 
interest in other than slate productions, being one of the founders and a direc- 
tor of the Bangor Building & Loan Association ; director of the Merchants' 
National Bank of Bangor for the past fourteen years ; and wdien the great fire 
swept away the plant of the Samuel Flory Manufacturing Company, he was 
one of a committee of six, appointed by the citizens of Bangor, who secured 
$150,000 to finance the re-establishment of the plant. The great war worked 
havoc with the slate industry as a whole, and in 1917 the Venders Slate 
Companj- was formed for the purpose of finding better methods of marketing 
the output of the quarries of Northampton county. Of that company, David 
Stoddard was elected president, a position he now holds, and through his 
efiforts he personally carried this business to Europe, establishing agencies 
in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France, Belgium, Australia, New Zea- 
land and South Africa, which has been of great value to their industry. He 
is a member of the Masonic order, and of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. In politics he is neutral. 

Mr. Stoddard married (first) Harriet IMaria Morse, daughter of John 
Morse, of Newark, New Jersey. Mrs. Stoddard died in 1887, leaving six 



BIOGRAPHICAL 319 

children : George ; Mabel, deceased ; Frank ; Clara, wife of Thomas Brinton, of 
Banpor; Harry ; and Nellie, wife of Dr. Piffley, a practicing dentist of Bangor, 
^Pennsylvania. Mr. Stoddard married (second) Elizabeth Ann Bennett, 
daughter of John Bennett, of Bangor. They are the parent.s of five children: 
Fred, Arthur, Elsie, died in 1909; F>eatrice M., and David (2) Stoddard. The 
family home is in Bangor, Pennsylvania. Mr. Stoddard has traveled 
extensively. 



ALLEN JOSEPH CLIFTON— A veteran in every sense, Mr. Clifton 
reviews a life of wonderful activity which includes three years of active mili- 
tary service with one of the hard-fighting Pennsylvania regiments of the 
Union army, thirty-seven years of continuous service with the Central Rail- 
road of New Jersey, and jiresent service as jury commissioner of Northampton 
county. He is a grandson of John Clifton, who came from Morristown, New 
Jersey, and died in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, in 1850. John Clifton married 
Gertrude Weygandt, who died in Easton in 1872. He established a boot and 
shoe business in Easton, which he conducted until his retirement. Mr. and 
Mrs. Clifton were the parents of six children, including a son Alexander J., 
father of Allen Joseph Clifton, of Easton, Civil War veteran and long-time 
valued citizen. 

Alexander J. Clifton died in Easton, Pennsylvania, March 8, 1868, after a 
life largely spent in the boot and shoe business. He married Sarah A. Nagle, 
of Allentown, Pennsylvania, who died in Easton, January i, 1906. They were 
the parents of nine children, including a son Allen Joseph. 

Allen Joseph Clifton was born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, October 21, 
1843, but in 1851 the family moved to Easton, which city is still his home. 
His education was begun in Allentown public schools, his first teacher a Mr. 
Slemmer. He continued his studies in Easton public schools, and also at- 
tended Wood Brothers' private school held in a room on the third floor of 
the building on Northampton street occupied by Grant's Clothing Store. 
Other private school teachers under whom he studied and yet recalls were: 
Robert Lehman, Newton Kirkpatrick, Patrick and Robert Potter, the latter 
afterward becoming congressman from a western State. Around most of 
these and other teachers, under whose instructions he sat, pleasant memories 
linger, but occasionally he fell under the wrath of a severe master and full 
toll was e.xacted for all delinquencies. He continued through junior year in 
high school, employing his out-of-school hours in selling papers on the street 
and working around the newspaper offices. He was in turn printer's ^ievil 
and reporter, working on the Easton Express under William Davis as proprietor. 
His father's shoe store was on Northampton street, the site now covered by 
the Laubach Department Store, and there Allen J. was employed as clerk for 
some time. Such were his occupations until September 10, 1861, when he 
enlisted as a private in Company B, Fifty-first Regiment, Pennsylvania Vol- 
unteer Infantry, Capt. F. W. Bell commanding Company B, Col. John F. 
Hartranft. He enlisted for a term of three years, which he fulfilled, receiving 
honorable discharge, October 9, 1864. His first service was with the Burn- 
side Expedition, his first battles being Roanoke Island, Newbern and South 
Mills. The Fifty-first Pennsylvania was then ordered to the Arm^/ of the 
Potomac under Gen. George B. McClellan, then fighting in the Peninsular 
campaign, but before reaching his destination was transferred to Fredericks- 
burg and sent up the Rappahannock to reinforce General Banks, but arrived 
too late to take part in the battle of Cedar Mountain. They retreated to 
Kelly's Ford on the Rappahannock river, and there engaged the Confederates. 
F'rom that time until the second battle of Bull Run he was engaged in many 
skirmishes, but in that battle the Fifty-first took active part. Mr. Clifton was 
also engaged at Chantilly, fought in part during a severe thunderstorm made 
memorable as costing the Union cause the lives of the gallant Gen. Philip 
Kearney and the brave General Stevens, Mr. Clifton witnessing the fall of 



320 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

General Stevens from liis horse when struck by the fatal l)ullet. He next 
spent some time in Ilarewood Hos])ital, Washington, then rejoined his regi- 
ment in camp at I'leasant Valley, Maryland, leaving the hosi>ital by stealth, 
the doctors not deeming him suliiciently recovered Irom his illness to return 
to his regiment. At Upperville, Virginia, he was detailed on provost guard to 
protect Christian Commission workers, then led by Clara Barton, known 
to the whole civilized world as the founder of the Red Cross Society-, his 
especial charge being Miss Barton's private wagon. At Fredericksburg he 
was wounded in the right forearm by a rifle-ball, being struck about the same 
time that his captain sustained mortal injury. Private Clifton went to the 
army hospital in Fredericksburg, where the surgeons wished to amputate, but 
he refused. He then crossed the river to the Lacey House, where Miss Barton 
herself bandaged his arm and finally got him to Trinity Church Hospital in 
Georgetown, District of Columbia. After recovering, he rejoined his regi- 
ment at Winchester, Kentucky, they being in ])ursuit of Morgan, the raider; 
thence to Vicksburg, Mississippi, where he took part in the historic siege of 
that city under General Grant, thence to Jackson, Mississippi, in pursuit of 
General Johnson, under General Sherman, later returning to Covington, Ken- 
tucky, thence to Camp Park and Crab Orchard. The regiment next crossed 
the Cumberland Mountains to Knoxville, Tennessee, and to Louden, Ten- 
nessee, meeting Longstreet's forces, which were marching north to rejoin 
General Lee's army. After the siege of Knoxville, followed the retreating of 
Confederates up through Greenville, and in the spring of 1864 the I''ifty-first 
was sent to Annapolis, Maryland, for reorganization of the Ninth Corps under 
General Burnside, there being but few of the original regiment left, eight 
hundred and twenty of the first, one thousand having dropped out, killed, 
wounded or missing. They were reviewed in Washington b\- President Lin- 
coln, and operated with the Army of the Potomac. They were sent to Ger- 
mania Ford, Virginia, and went into the battle of "the Wilderness, then on 
to Petersburg, which was but one continuous battle. At Spottsylvania Court 
House, Private Clifton was taken prisoner, but made a daring dash for liberty 
and escaped. On October 9, 1864, he was mustered out at Waldon Railroad. 

Upon returning to civil life. Mr. Clifton located at Oil City, Pennsylvania, 
and was engaged in the refining of coal oil until 1868, when he returned to 
his home in Easton. For a year or more he was conductor on the city horse 
railway cars, but on August i, 1869, he entered the emjiloy of the Central 
Railroad of New Jersey as car checker, and for thirty-seven },ears he con- 
tinued with that company, filling many intermediate positions up to general 
yard master. He then was connected with the inspection department of the 
Ingersoll Rand plant for a time, then was with the Lehigh & Hudson railroad 
a short period, afterward retiring until appointed jury commissioner for 
Northampton county in 1917 by Judge Stewart. At a later election he was 
elected for a full term, which expires in 1921. He is a member of Delaware 
Lodge No. 52, Free and Accepted Masons, of Phillipsburg. of which he is a 
past master; Eagle Chapter No. 30, Royal Arch Masons, also of Philliiisburg; 
Pomp Council No. 20. Royal and Select Masters; and Hugh de Payen Com- 
mandery No. 19, Knights Templar, of Easton. In 1868 and 1869 he was a 
member of Humane Fire Comjiany No. i, of Easton ; since December 30, i8g8, 
has been a member of Lafayette Post No. 217, Grand Army of the Republic, 
of Easton, of which he is now quartermaster; and was formerly member of 
and past commander of John G. Tolmie Post No. 50, of Phillipsburg, New 
Jersey. He is a lifelong member of the Republican party, and was reared in 
the faith of the Reformed church. 

Mr. Clifton married, in Easton, in 1868, Marv Alice Mettlcr, daughter of 
Jacob and Matilda (Osterstock) Mettlcr. Mrs. Clifton died March 29, 1906. 
Children: Sarah Mabel, married John Salzmann, and resided in Jersey Cit/, 
New Jersey; Annie L. ; Nellie B., married Fred Schwenk, and has two sons, 
Clifton F. and Paul J., the family home being in Easton; Martha Alice, died 
aged eight years; Paul Douglas, died in infancy. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 321 

GEORGE F. HELLICK— Wluii the llcllick Tea Company of Easton 
was incorporated in 190S, the founder placed it in the column of profit-sharing 
corporations, and it has been successfully operated on that basis from that 
lime until the present. The comjiany was founded in 1906 for the purpose of 
dealing in teas, coffees and grocers' sundries, and that line has been adhered 
to, the company operating within a fifty-mile radius from Easton as a centre. 
The business was founded by George E. Ilellick, who had his initial training 
in this highly specialized business with the Grand Union Tea Company in 
Easton. His management of the Ilellick Tea Company reflects nothing but 
credit ujjon his business quality and executive ability, the concern having 
met with abundant success during their ten years of corporate existence. 

The Ilellick family came to the United States from l""rance. the first 
Hellick locating in Pennsylvania, near what is now Newburg. Little further 
is known of him except that he left a son, Jacob Llellick, whose life was 
largely spent in Northamjjton county. Jacob Ilellick was a farmer and served 
his countr}' as a major, duly commissioned in the Mexican War. Both he 
and his wife, Catherine (Smith) Ilellick, were members of Hecktown Lutheran 
Church. The)' were the parents of eight children : Urbanus, Xerxes, of whom 
further; Washington, Jacob, Reuben. Stephen, Caroline, married a Mr. King; 
and Pnizabcth, who married a Mr. Walter. 

Xerxes Hellick, of the third generation in Pennsylvania, was born at the 
old homestead in Nazareth township, Northampton county, Penns\ Ivania, 
and passed his years, eighty-one, in his native county, a weaver by trade. In 
the intervals of trade occupation, he cultivated a small farm which he owned. 
He was a member of the Lutheran church, and a man well esteemed in his 
community. He married Sarah Handlong, and they were the parents of five 
children: Jeremiah; Elizabeth, widow of Monroe Steuber, of Nazareth, Penn- 
sylvania; Evan F., deceased; Andrew A., of further mention; Emma E., wife 
of Adam Sandt, of Northampton county. 

Andrew A. Hellick, son of Xerxes and Sarah (Handlong) Hellick, was 
born in Nazareth township, Northampton count}', Pennsylvania, in 1856. He 
married Ida Jones, both now living in Easton. 

George E. Hellick, son of Andrew A. and Ida (Jones) Hellick, was born in 
Forks township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, January i, 1880, and 
there attended the public schools until twelve years of age. He then began 
to provide for his own support and welfare, seeking employment with tha 
farmers, and for two years working at carriage painting as an apprentice. 
He came to the city of Easton in 1887, a lad of seventeen years, finding em- 
ployment with C. K. Williams & Company. His next position was with 
]-". Lehr & Sons, grocers, with whom he spent two years. The following 
two years were passed in another branch of the grocery business and in 
another city, J. A. Eberts, a wholesale grocer of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
securing his services for that period. His next change brought him into 
association with still another branch of business, and until 1906 he was in 
the employ of the Grand Union Tea Company. That special branch of the 
grocery business particularly appealed to him, and in 1906, after four years 
with the Grand Union, he established a similar business, which was incor- 
porated two years later as the Hellick Tea Company, of which Mr. Hellick is 
the managing head. The company store is located on Ferry street, adjoining 
the post-office, and there a prosperous business is transacted on a ])rofit- 
sharing plan, about thirtv people now being employed, although the begin- 
ring was very modest. The business reflects the genius of its founder, and is 
one of the substantial business enterprises of commercial Easton. 

While a worker from boyhood, Mr. Hellick has not slavishly devoted his 
life to its sordid side, but has sought expansion for his finer nature in books, 
social life and fraternal organizations. He is a member of that famed modern 
organization of business and professional men, the Rotary Club; is a member 
of the Northampton Historical Society ; Easton Board of Trade ; and the 

N H. BIGG.— 21 



322 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Young Men's Christian Association. He is affiliated with the Masonic order 
in Dallas Lodge No. 396, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter No. 173, 
Royal Arch Masons ; Pomp Council No. 20, Royal and Select Masters ; Hugh 
de Paycn Conimandcry No. 19, Knights Templar; and Rajah Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to that 
strongly social order, the Tall Cedars of Lebanon, and to the Easton Motor 
Association. In religious affiliation he is connected with Christ Lutheran 
Church. 

Mr. Hellick married, March 28, 1905, Mabel A. Siegfried, daughter of 
Zachariah and L_\dia Siegfried. They are the parents of a daughter, Alae 
Belle, and a son, George F. 



JAMES JOHN QUINEY, M.D.— When a boy, James John Quiney, 
father of Dr. James John Quiney, of Easton, Pennsylvania, came from his 
native Leamington, England, finding a home at Beverly, New Jersey. There 
he was educated and spent the earlier years of his life, finally moving to 
Camden, New Jersey, where he became a successful wholesale grocer. James 
J. Quinev was a son of Solomon and Charlotte Quiney, both of whom died 
in Beverly, New Jersey, their only American home. James J. Quiney mar- 
ried Amanda Hancock, daughter of Capt. Isaac and Elizabeth (Sutton) Han- 
cock, her father a sea captain and of a seafaring New Jersey family many 
generations back. 

Dr. James John Quiney, Jr., only child of James John and Amanda 
(Hancock) Quiney, was born in Camden, New Jersey, July 31, 1881. His 
father died when his son was but an infant, his widow yet surviving him 
and again married. The family moved to Cape May county. New Jersey, 
where the lad was educated in the public schools, and at South Jersey Insti- 
tute, Bridgeton, New Jersey. After deciding upon the medical profession, he 
entered Jefferson Medical College of Philadelphia, and received his M.D. from 
that old and famous institution of professional learning with the graduating 
class of 1903. He selected Easton, Pennsylvania, as a location, but before 
beginning private practice he served for one year as interne at Easton Hos- 
pital, opening private offices for the practice of his profession in 1904. He 
has conducted his practice, both as physician and surgeon, being skilled and 
capable in both branches of the profession. He has specialized to a certain 
extent in Roentgen Ray work, and is rated one of the highly skillful men of 
his profession. He is a member of the Northampton County Medical Society, 
Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association, Easton 
Medical Association. His standing is high both within and without his 
profession, and he has borne his full share of civic responsibility both as 
official and citizen. Dr. Quiney is an ex-president and an ex-secretary of the 
Northampton Medical Society, and present secretary of the Easton Medical 
Association; member of the staff of Easton Hospital, and a member of the 
Easton Board of Trade. He is an Independent in politics, and for nine years 
was Easton's health officer. He is a member of the Masonic order, holding 
membership in Easton Lodge No. 152, and Easton Chapter; and the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows : his clubs, the Pomfret and Kiwanis ; his 
college fraternity. Alpha Kappa Kappa. 

Dr. Quiney married, September 21, 1894, Pearl Anna Norton, daughter 
of Coleman and Anna Belle (Scull) Norton, of Cape May county. New Jer- 
sey. Mrs. Quiney is a member of the Women's Club, the Red Cross, the 
Navy League, and helpfully active in woman's work in civic affairs. Dr. and 
Mrs. Quinev are the parents of two children : Elizabeth Ingles and James 
John (2). 



MAURICE CLEMENS— Dr. Jacob Breckenbridge Clemens, father of 
Maurice Clemens, and son of James Wolfe and Eleanor (Sherrad) Clemens, 



ASTOR, LENOX AND 
riLOEN ?c. *-■« 



BIOGRAPHICAL 323 

was of Yirtiinia birth, but prior to his marriage in 1850, moved to Easton, 
Pcnnsj'lvania, where liis son Maurice was born. He completed his classical 
studies at \'irginia ]\lilitar\- Institute, then entered the medical department of 
the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated M.D. He con- 
tinued in the active general practice of medicine in Easton until his death, 
January 11, 1867. lie was an excellent physician and an expert entomologist, 
his entomologist collections, which he ])resented to the University of Penn- 
sylvania and to Lafayette College, being rare and valuable. In religious 
faith Dr. Clemens was an Episcopalian. He married Susan Burke Wagener, 
and they were the parents of four children : Mary W., deceased wife of 
George K. Sistarc; Harold, deceased; James B., a practicing physician of 
New York City ; and Maurice, of further mention. 

Susan Burke (Wagener) Clemens was a daughter of Hon. David and 
Mary (Knauss) Wagener, granddaughter of Judge Daniel and Eve (Opp) 
Wagener, and great-granddaughter of David Wagener, born in Silicia, Ger- 
many, May 24, 1736. David Wagener was brought from his native land, and 
on October 26, I "41, the family became residents of Worcester township in 
Philadelphia county, Pennsylvania. In manhood he moved to Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, where he became a man of influence, serving from 1791 
until his death in Easton, May g, 1796, as associate judge of Northam|(ton 
courts. He married Susannah Umsted, born I'^ebruary 2, 1734, died April 22, 
1819. They were members of the Lutheran church. 

Daniel Wagener, son of David and Susannah (Umsted) Wagener, was 
born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, near Doylestown, in the year 1766, and 
in 1777 was brought by his parents to Easton, where he lived until his death 
in 1842. He was identified with many interests of the city and county, en- 
gaged in milling and merchandising for a number of years.. His father built 
the large grist-mill on the east side of Bushkill creek in 1792; his father having 
built a similar mill on the opposite side of the creek in 1780. He took an 
active part in public affairs, and like his father served the, county of North- 
ampton, his term of office covering a period of thirty-nine years. He married, 
April 13, 1785, Eve Opp, and reared a family of three sons and two daughters. 

David D. Wagener, son of Judge Daniel and Eve (Opp) Wagener, was 
born in Easton, Pennsylvania, October 11, 1792, and died in Easton, October 
21, i860. After his years of educational training w^erc finished, he became 
his father's assistant in store and mill, and all his life was engaged in business 
affairs, although he took a deep interest in public affairs, was a leader of the 
Pennsylvania Democracy, and gave a great deal of his time to the public 
service, serving his district four terms in the national House of Representa- 
tives. From May 4, 1852, when he was elected president of the Easton Bank, 
until his death, October 21, i860, he guided the destinies of that institution, 
and left it one of the strong, financial institutions of the State. In 1828 he 
was elected a member of the Pennsylvania House of Assembly, serving in 
1829, 1830 and 1831, retiring upon his election to Congress in 1832. He was 
re-elected in 1834, 1836 and 1838, but upon the expiration of his fourth term 
in 1840, he retired from public life, and henceforth gave himself to his 
private business affairs. He was a trusted friend of General Jackson and of 
James A. Buchanan, and in a published estimate of his character, the Easton 
Argus of October 4, i860, said : 

He was not only a good man but a useful man. He was a kind and faithful friend, a 
safe counsellor, an indulgent and affectionate father, and an upright man in all relations 
of life. To the poor he was kind and liberal, and many a penniless beginner he started 
on his voyage to fight the battle of life, who has been cheered on by the kind assistance 
and good counsel of David D. Wagener. The possessor of an ample fortune, he was 
ever plain and "iimple in his habits, familiar and social in his intercourse with his fellow 
men, yet dignified in his bearing. He was a strictly upright man and scorned to do a 
dishonorable act in public or private life. He was constitutionally an honest man. and his 
word was as good as his bond. Few men have left behind them a brighter record or a 
more illustrious example than the Hon. David D. Wagener. 



324 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

^Ir. Wagener's connection with the Easton Union Guard is interestin.sr. 
He was elected captain of the Guard at its organization in 1816, and held 
that rank until its disbandment in 1829. In 1824 he led the Guard in the 
grand parade at Philadelphia, in connection with the reception to General 
Lafayette. He was the principal donor of the land upon which the county 
court house in Easton is built, and he was a liberal supporter of all good 
causes. He married Mary Knauss, and they were the parents of two sons 
and three daughters, including Susan Burke Wagener, born April 15, 1827, 
married, November 30, 1850, Dr. Jacob Breckenbridge Clemens, they the 
parents of Maurice Clemens, of Easton. 

Maurice Clemens was born in Easton, December 17, 1865, and there has 
spent his life. After public school attendance in Easton, he prepared for 
college at Chelterham Military College, at Elkins, Pennsylvania, 1880-84, 
then entered Lafayette College as a member of the class of 1888. He gave 
many years of hislife to the management of the family estate, and not until 
1907 did he give himself to a private business. Since 1907 he has conducted 
a general insurance and real estate business, and has made it a successful 
enterprise. Mr. Clemens early became an enlisted member of the Pennsjd- 
vania National Guard, and in 1898 he enlisted with his regiment for service 
in the Spanish-American War, but the command was not mustered into the 
United States service. On February 7, iqo2, he w^as elected captain of Com- 
pany 1, Thirteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania National Guard, and on Decem- 
ber 20' 1917, he was appointed captain of Company A, Second Regiment, 
Pennsylvania Reserve Militia, by Gov. William Sproul. Himself a talented 
musician, Mr. Clemens has always taken a deep interest in musical affairs, 
and all his life has been a student, teacher and leader. He studied under 
noted music masters of New York City, and as a leader of large choruses he 
is well known, and as a choral leader has more than a local reputation. He is 
a member of Easton Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter, 
Roj'al Arch Masons; Pomp Council, Royal and Select Masters; Hugh De 
Payen Commanderv, Knights Templar; Rajah Temple. Ancient Arabic Or- 
der Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks; Zeta Psi fraternity; the Pomfret Club; Northampton County 
Country Club; Trinity Episcopal Church of Easton; and in politics is a 

Democrat. , -• j 

Mr. Clemens married, February 10, 1906, Sue Pomp Maxwell, who died 

April 10, 1913. 

HARRY J. OSTERSTOCK— EDWARD L. OSTERSTOCK— The fam- 
ily name was brought to America bv Matthias Ostertag, who arrived m 
Philadelphia, September 13, 1749, and to Easton by Thomas Osterstock, 
born in 1750, died in 1773. He married Alary Elizabeth \\ olf. and had 
children: Leonard, Henrv, Mary-, Thomas; John and Elizabeth. This John 
is supposedly the great-grandfather of Harry J. and Edward L. Osterstock, 
who are era'ndsons of John Stephen and Rachel (Lawall) Osterstock. and 
sons of John Stephen and Man- Etta (Kichline) Osterstock. John Oster- 
stock died on his farm near Butztown, Pennsylvania, havmg settled there 
upon his arrival from Germany, in company with his brother Stephen, who 
settled in Forks township. , t ^ . . 1 

John S (2) Osterstock, father ot Harry J. and Edward L. Osterstock, 
was born in Butztown. a village of Northampton county, Pennsylvania, two 
miles from Freemansburg, July 3, 1846. He was educated m the public 
schools and began business life as clerk in the general store of William 
Lawall ' Later he established in business for himself as a hardware merchant 
at No -'•^ Centre Square. Easton. a location at which he conducted a success- 
fuf business for thirtv vears. He died in the full tide of business success 
December 31 1914 'He was a lifelong Democrat, a member of the l-irst 



BIOGRAPHICAL 325 

Reformed Church, Dallas Lodpe, Free and Accepted Masons, and the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men. tie married, in Easton, September 3, 1848, Mary- 
Etta Kichline, daugliter of Thomas and Anna Maria (Fraunfelter) Kichline. 
Mrs. Osterstock (hcd in Easton, March 28, 1896, leaviiif.^ five cliildren: Harry 
J., of further mention; Edward L., of further mentitjn ; Fanny, secretary to 
the princi])al of Easton Iliph School; Helen, a bookkeeper with her brother, 
Harry J.; lulith M., assistant to the registrar of Lafayette College. 

The Kichlines are one of the oldest families of Easton, the first of the 
name, Peter Kichline, coming prior to the Revolution. He was born in Ger- 
many, October 8, 1722, and died in Easton, November 27, 1789. He built the 
first grist-mill within the limits of the town of Easton, was a hotelkeeper, and 
rented his large room in his new house to the county commissioners for 
holding court, elections or other public business. Fleeing from a land of op- 
pression, he was among the first to espouse the cause of Liberty, and in 1774 
was elected a member of Northampton County Committee of Safety. He 
had jireviously served in the Indian War, and in the Revolution he was one 
of the hardest of fighters. He was a lieutenant of the Northampton Company, 
and at the Brooklyn fight was taken prisoner, but soon returned to his home 
and continued his efforts to advance the Colonial cause. He became a colonel 
of militia, was county commissioner, 1759, sheriff, 1762, member of Assembly, 
1774, and justice of the peace. His mill j^roperty on the Bushkill, back of 
Mount Jefferson, passed into the hands of his son, Andrew Kichline, and he 
spent his last year with his son, Peter Kichline, at his farm two miles north 
of Easton. 

Harry J. Osterstock was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, June 16, 1872. 
He was educated in the public schools, attending high school one year under 
Professor Sandt. When a boy, he began assisting his father in store work, 
and finally became his trusted assistant. When, on necember 31. 1914, John 
Stephen Osterstock passed away, his sons succeeded him, and the business 
is yet continued, Harry J. being the active head. The business is strictly 
hardware and allied lines, located at No. 22 Centre Square. Harry J. Oster- 
stock has won high and honorable standing as a business man. and thoroughly 
understands the hardware business, having come through all grades, from a 
boy's job to sole managing head. He is a member of Dallas Lodge No. 376, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton Chapter No. 52, Royal Arch Masons ; 
Pomp Council. Royal and Select Masters; Hugh De Payen Commandery, 
Knights Templar; Rajah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; Lehicton 
Lodge No. 244, Independent Order of Odd Fellows ; the Rotary Clul:), and in 
politics is an independent. He has served four years as a member of the 
City School Board, and is interested in the cause of good government. 

Mr. Osterstock married, in Portland, Pennsylvania, September 22, 1896, 
Daisy M. Dietrich, daughter of Jeremiah and Marv Dietrich. Mr. and Mrs. 
Osterstock have a son, John Stephen (3), born February 28, 1902, a graduate 
of Easton High School. 

Edward L. Osterstock was born in Easton, Pennsylvania. December 23, 
1877, the family home then being on Ferry street in the Sixth Ward. Lie was 
educated in the public schools of Easton, finishing with graduation from high 
school, class of 1895. He then entered Lafayette College, whence he was 
graduated in 1899. He began business life as a clerk in Easton National 
Bank, continuing until 1909, when he resigned and accepted his present posi- 
tion, superintendent of the Jackson Mills Emery Company of Easton. He 
has capably filled that position, and is one of Easton's far-siehted, progressive 
business men. He is a member and treasurer of the First Reformed Church, 
member of Dallas Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter. Roval 
Arch ATasons; Pomp Council. Royal and Select Masters; Hugh De Paven 
Commander-, Kniglits Templar; and Raiah Temple. Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is also a member of the Foresters of 
America, and in politics a Democrat. 



326 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

HARRY ULYSSES SHERMAN, M.D.— More than half a century ago, 
Dr. Austin Birchard Sherman was graduated from Jefferson College, Phila- 
delphia, and with his newly acquired degree of M.D. he located at Girardville, 
Schu_\lkill county, Pcnns} Ivania, there practicing until his death at the age 
of seventv-seven. He became not only one of the leading physicians, but 
also one of the most eminent surgeons of that section of Pennsylvania, and 
while living inspired his son, Dr. Harry U. Sherman, with his spirit of devo- 
tion to the medical profession, and with a desire to emulate the example of 
his honored father and give himself to the mission of alleviating the suffering 
of humanity. He, too, claims Jefferson College as his alma mater, and for a 
quarter of a century he has practiced the healing art, fifteen of those years 
in Easton, Pennsylvania, where he is a successful specialist in diseases of the 
nose and throat. 

Dr. Austin Birchard Sherman was born in Susquehanna county, Penn- 
sylvania, July 8, 1829, died in Girardville, Pennsylvania, December 10. 1906. 
He was a graduate of Jefferson College, class of 1855, and a lifelong general 
practitioner of Schuylkill county, and ever eminent as a surgeon. He married 
Belinda M. Boyer, born September 28, 1830, died February 4, 1917, daughter 
of Jacob and Mary (Dreisbach) Boyer, of Weaversville, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania. Dr. and Mrs. Sherman were the parents of three children: 
Hattie, died in infancy; Austin C, a leading attorney of Mahoney City. Penn- 
svlvania. who died August 4, 1917; and Harry Ulysses, of whom further. 

Dr. Harry Ulysses Sherman was born in Girardville. Pennsylvania. De- 
cember II, 1869. He there completed his public school education. He com- 
pleted studv at Fremont Seminary in 1887, then entered Jefferson Medical 
College, Philadelphia, whence he was graduated M.D., class of 1892. During 
the two following years he was interne, then house physician to St. Luke's 
Hospital, South Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, after which service he located for 
private practice in Mahonev City, Pennsylvania. He practiced there two 
years, then moved to New York City, where he was in practice eight years, 
this bringing him to 1903, the year of his removal to Easton, which has since 
been his home and the seat of his very successful practice. While earlier his 
practice was general in character, it is now confined to consultation on the 
special diseases of the nose and throat. He is a member of the local and 
State medical societies, Easton Young Men's Christian Association. Kiscoe 
Lod?e No. 708, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Lodge No. 121. Benevo- 
lent ^and Protective Order of Elks; and the Presbyterian church. He has 
devoted himself closelv to the duties of his exacting profession, but recrea- 
tion periods are not infrequent, and with rod and gun he finds his healthful 
out-of-door enjoyment. ,• , t 

Dr. Sherman married. June 6, 1896. Julia Keyes Mdler, who died June 

10, 1902. 

WILSON H. BOEHM— Now retired from active business, Wilson H. 
Boehm of Bethlehem. Pennsvlvania. reviews a long and busy life as farmers 
bov Bethlehem steel mill worker and truck farmer. He is a descendant of 
Re'v John Philip Boehm, the first Reformed minister m Pennsylvania, who 
owned lands in Northampton countv. although his own home was in Whitpain 
township, Montgomerv countv. this Northampton land was deeded to his 
eldest son, Anthonv William Boehm, before his father's death m 1749. but 
later in life Anthonv W. removed to Hellertown, where he built a house 
referred to as the "oldest" in Hellertown. Wilson H. Boehm is a son of 
Tames Monroe Boehm. son of Philip (2) Boehm, son of Philip (i) Boehm, 
son of Anthony William Boehm. son of Rev. John Philip Boehm, the founder 
of the familv in America. ^, ... ., . ^ , „ 

(I) Rev. John Philip Boehm was a son of Rev. Philip Lewis Boehm. a 
Reformed minister at Machenbuchen, near Hanan, a town of Prussia in Hesse- 



PUBLIC 

riLPKN fOU>iD^TlO*iS 



THE «fiw W»K 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

/.STOf^, LENQX AND : 
KOUKT3ATroNK 

L 




/Ui2^'-^ p. /J.^/, 



0-e//i,Jrly 




BIOGRAPHICAL 327 

Nassau, on the Kinzig river. He was born, it is believed, in the year 1683, 
came to Pcnns\lvania not later than 1720, and died in Ilellertown, Lehigh 
county, I'ennsyhania, April 29, 1749. Driven from his native land by perse- 
cution, he came to the land of the Penns, which had been heralded all over 
Europe as a home where freedom of religious thought was allowed. On his 
arrival, he located in Whitj^ain townshij), then in Philadel])hia, now in Mont- 
gomery county, in the neighborhood now marked by "Bochm's church." He 
was a man of education, and soon became a leader in his community, jiarticu- 
larly marked as a man of deep piety. There were no ordained ministers to 
minister to the spiritual needs of the Germans of that neighborhood in their 
own tongue, and they ajipealed to P>oehm, the pious schoolmaster, to act as 
their pastor in order that they might have the consolation of religion. He 
hesitated, for he was not an ordained minister of the Gospel, and believed it 
would be against church law and order. But finally he yielded to their tear- 
ful entreaties, and near the close of the year 1725 became the imordained 
pastor at Falckner's Swamp, Skip])ack and White Marsh. lie drew up a 
constitution for the government of these three congregations, which was 
undoubtedly the earliest form of discijiline adopted by the German Reformed 
congregations in .\merica. It was doctrinely soimd, and provided for all 
forms of services, ceremonies and government, that constituted the T)ure 
German Reformed doctrine according to the confession of faith of that church, 
and provided for the use of the Heidelberg catechism. 

In September, 1727, George Michael Weiss, an ordained minister, was 
sent to this country by the "Upper Consistory or Classis of the Palatinate." 
This at once brought on a conflict between ordained and unordained minis- 
terial authority, and the friends of John Philip Boehm sought advice from 
the Classis of Amsterdam (Holland). That body, after duly considering the 
matter, declared all the ministerial acts of John Philip Boehm to be valid, 
but further decreed that, "he must be ordained to the ministry according to 
ecclesiastical authority." He at once complied with the ruling of the 
Amsterdam Classis, and on November 23, 1729, John Philip Boehm was 
ordained, in New York, a minister of the Reformed church. ITe continued 
ministerial work in his own congregations and elsewhere in Pennsylvania. 
It was recorded that as early as 1734 he preached for the Reformed congre- 
gation in Philadelphia in a house rented jointly with the Lutheran congre- 
gation. On August I, 1746, Michael Schalter arrived in Penn.sylvania, hav- 
ing been sent bv the church in the fatherland as mission superintendent. 
Rev. Boehm heartily seconded the missionary effort, and made many jour- 
neys with Schalter, preaching, administering sacrament, and upbuilding 
congregations in various places. 

When John Philij) Boehm first began preaching, his own house in Whit- 
pain township was the meeting place. In 1740 he aided in erecting a small 
stone church which stood where the present Boehm's church now stands. 
There he [ireached, also in Philadelphia and Germantown until I747> when, 
at his own request, owing to the growing infirmities of old age, he was 
relieved by Rev. Michael Schalter, whom he solemnly installed as his suc- 
cessor. Henceforth his labors were confined to' a narrow circle. He served 
as stated clerk of the First German Reformed Synod held in Philadelphia in 
September, 1747, and continued zealous and fervid for the two years follow- 
ing when death overtook him at the home of his son, .\nthonv William, 
in Plellertnwn, Pcnnsvlvania. He was buried within the precincts of the 
church which he had helped to rear with his own hands, in W'hitpain town- 
ship, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. It is not known who preached 
the funeral sermon. Rev. Michael Schalter, the pastor, was absent on a 
missionary tour, but upon his return he preached a memorial sermon in 
which his friend and contemporary was warmly eulogized. This little 
"Boehm's church" which he founded, now has a membership of three 



328 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

hundred, and supports its own pastor. He acquired some three hundred 
acres of farm land in Montgomery county, and blessings both spiritual and 
material attended his life and work. The three hundred acres in Lehigh 
■were conveyed in 1747 by Rev. John Philip and Anna Maria Boehm to their 
eldest son, Anthony William Boehm, "for and in consideration of H:he 
natural love and affection which they have and do bear for and toward 
their son." 

John Philip Boehm married, in German}', Anna Maria Sherrer, and 
they were the parents of six children : Anthony William, of further men- 
tion ; Anna Maria, married Adam Moser; Sebina, married Ludwig Bitting; 
Elizabeth, married George Shamboh ; Maria Philippina, married Cornelius 
Dewees ; and John Philip, married, August 2, 1753, Anna Maria Yost. 

(H) Anthony William Boehm, son of John Philip Boehm, was born in 
Worms, Germany, April 27. 1714, and died at his farm in Upper Saucon 
township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. April 6, 1766. He received the 
farm in Upper Saucon tovi^nship from his father, and that with all else he 
acquired in the way of real estate passed to his onl\- son, Philip. , His wife, 
Hannah Philis Boehm, survived him with her only child, Philip. Anthony 
W. Boehm was buried in a private cemeterj' on his own farm. 

(HI) Philip Boehm, only son of Anthony William and Hannah Philis 
Boehm, was born at the homestead in Upper Saucon township, Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania, December 14, 1747, and died January 10, 1816. He 
was the first to dispose of any of the land first owned b}' Rev. John Philip 
Boehm, consequently he did not leave the family so well endowed with 
land as his predecessors, but he did leave a larger family, and from him 
sprang a numerous family. He was a man of more than ordinarv intelli- 
gence, owning considerable property in Upper Saucon township, then 
Northampton, now Lehigh county, and according to the tax list of 1782 for 
Lower Saucon township, Northampton county, he owned a tanyard, three 
horses, four cows, and four sheep. In 1779 he was assistant collector of 
taxes for Lower Saucon. and at an election held October 10, 1780, he was 
elected coroner of Northampton county. From 1779 to 1785 he is also 
described in the records as an inn keeper of Lower Saucon township. Philip 
(i) Boehm was also lieutenant-colonel of Colonel Guger's battalion of 
Northampton county militia, and from Colonial records. Volume XI, page 
279, this extract is taken : "On motion agreed that Philip Boehm be appointed 
paymaster of the ililitia of the County of Northampton." (Minutes of the 
Supreme Council. August 2"/, 1777.) There are many references to him in 
connection with the military affairs of the county, and although he sold much 
of the land inherited from his father, realizing Si2,ooo, he was not a wealthy 
man, probably being paid in Continental money, there being a tradition 
that he left a chest full of that worthless mone}-. He married Anna Barbara 
Schreiber, born November 2, 1747, who survived him sixteen years, dying 
October 10, 1832. By stipulation with the buyers she continued her resi- 
dence in the old home, a stone house, now standing on what is known as 
the Geissenger farm. Philip and Anna Barbara Boehm were both buried 
at Lower Saucon Reformed Church graveyard. They were the parents of 
eight children : Anthony, married Catherine Geissenger ; Philip, married 
Elizabeth Wasser : John, of whom further; David; Catherine, married 
Jacob Kramm ; Susanna, married Jacob Ochs ; Alary, married Jacob Haas ; 
and Elizabeth, married Jacob Miller. 

(IV) Philip (2) Boehm, second son of Philip (i) and Anna Barbara 
(Schreiber) Boehm, was born at the homestead. March 7, 1770, and died 
January 28, 1869. He was a farmer of Lower Saucon township, and there 
spent his life. He married Elizabeth Wasser. born August iS. 1781, died 
January 6, 1850. They were the parents of nine children: John Peter, mar- 
ried Anna Maria Orncr ; Thomas M., married Lucinda F. Hall ; James 



BIOGRAPHICAL 329 

Monroe, of further mention; Mar\', married Daniel Frey ; Sarah, mnrried 
Stcjjhen Balbert ; Polly, married George Stuber; Catherine, married George 
Ruth; Julianna, married Jesse Bellheimer; and Elizabeth, married George 
Henn. 

(V) James Monroe Boehm, third son of Philip (2) and Elizabeth 
(Wasser) Boehm, was born at the home farm in Lower Saucon township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, September 10, 1815, and died March 7, 
1891. He was a farmer all his life. He married, October 21, 1837, Maria 
Desh, born in Macungic township, Northampton county, November 8, 1816, 
died November 6, 1893. Both are buried in the churchyard of Lower Sau- 
con church. James M. and Maria (Desh) Boehm were the parents of seven 
children: i. Lucy A., born in Lower Saucon township, February 8, 1839; 
married, May 31, 1857, Charles Kichline. 2. Wilson XL, of further mention. 

3. Ellen E., born August i, 1842; married, August 3, 1861, Lawrence Hoflfert. 

4. Henry M., born March 20, 1847; married, August i, 1868, Saractta Ehrig 
and has children: Harvey P., Anna M., Wilson IL, Ammon A., Celeste M., 
Ellen S., Carrie I., and Milton W. 5. William A., born April 2, 1851 ; mar- 
ried, November 10. 1872, Mary A. Hillegass; children: Calvin J., Peter J., 
Edward R., Elwood J., Howard W., Steward A., Charles H., and Maria E. 
6. George W., born February 22, 1853; married, August 2, 1879, Isabella 
Young; children: William J. and Harry W. 7. Alfred J., whose sketch 
follows. 

(VI) Wilson H. Boehm, eldest son of James Monroe and Maria (Desh) 
Boehm, was born at the paternal farm in Lower Saucon township, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania. January 14, 1840. He attended the district 
school, and was his father's farm assistant until 1865, when he came to South 
Bethlehem and entered the emplov of the Bethlehem Iron Company, now 
the Bethlehem Steel Company. Lie continued in the employ of that com- 
pany for ten years, then, in 1875, purchased a farm in the Bethlehem section, 
and for twenty-five years, 1875-1900, operated it very profitably as a truck 
farm, marketing the products of his farm in Bethlehem. He retired in 1900, 
and is now (1919) enjoying the comforts and ease to which his life of active, 
intelligent farming richly entitles him. He has been a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows for fifty-one years, and of the Masonic Order 
for thirty-four j'ears. In the latter order he is a past master of Hellertown 
Lodge. He is a deacon of the Reformed church, and in politics is a Demo- 
crat. 

Mr. Boehm married. February 24, 1861, at Allentown. Pennsylvania, 
Louisa Ache, daughter of Michael and Louisa (Werling) Ache. Her father 
was a farmer of Lower Saucon township. Mrs. Boehm was born at the 
home farm, December 16, 1840, and after thirty-nine years of happy married 
life died at her home in Hellertown, June 6, 1900. Mr. Boehm resides in 
Hellertown, Pennsylvania, now a borough of Northampton county, of which 
town his ancestor, Anthony William pjoehm, was a resident and one of the 
founders. 

(VI) Alfred J. Boehm. youngest child and fifth son of James Monroe 
and Maria (Desh) Boehm, was born in Lower Saucon township, Northamp- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, November 23, 1859, and is now residing in Heller- 
town, a thriving borough of that township, situated in the fertile Saucon 
^'aIley. He was educated in the public schools, and after several years of 
farming and teaming became a resident of Hellertown, and is the Heller- 
town agent for the Caloric Pipeless Furnaces. He also conducts a general 
hauling business, and is active in business affairs. Mr. Boehm is a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red 
Men. the Junior Order of American Mechanics, and the Reformed church. 
In politics he is a Democrat, and for nine years served as a member of Heller- 
town Borough Council. 



330 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Mr. Boehm married, August 5, 1878, Tevilla S. Owens, born in Lower 
Saucon, January 11, 1861, died in Ilellertown, April 4, 191 1, daughter of 
Samuel and Lavina (Weaver) Owens, of Lower Saucon. Her father was 
born in Wales, Great Britain. Children: i. Flora C, born June 2, 1881 ; 
married, September 7, 1900, Harry J. Harvey, of Hellertown, who died Janu- 
ary 4, 1918; his widow now serves as postmaster of Hellertown; she has 
two children : Elroy Joseph and Wilbur Gladstone Harvey. 2. Jabez, a 
graduate of Franklin and iLiTshall College, of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 
class of 1904, and of Obcrlin Theological Seminary, 1907, now pastor of the 
Reformed church at Ouarrj-ville, Pennsylvania; he married Helen Connor, 
of Quarr\'ville, and has a son, Jabez, Jr. 3. Elizabeth, who died in 191 5, 
wife of Theodore Lamprose, of Norristown, Pennsylvania. 4. Ida Mae, mar- 
ried John Rodney Moffett, foreman of Machine No. 6, Bethlehem Steel W'orks. 
5. Norman. 6. Jennings, born September 19, 1900, now works for the Silvex 
Company, Hellertown; he married, November, 1918, Clarion Santee, of Hor- 
nell, New York. 



JAMES HENRY STAGEY— The Kendrick Cleaning and Dyeing Estab- 
lishment, located at Xo. 609 \\'alnut street. Fasten, was formerly known as 
the Berlin Cleaners and Dyers, btit when war was declared upon Germany 
by the United States the patriotic owners, James Henr>- Stacey and John R. 
Kendrick, brothers-in-law, hastened to eliminate a word which had become 
so distasteful to almost the entire world. Mr. Stacey had for many years 
prior to his engaging in the dyeing and cleaning business had ^vide experi- 
ence as a pottery worker, learning his trade in the Trenton, New Jersey, 
potteries, and then going to the Ohio pottery manufacturing section. 

He is a son of John Stacey, born in Eccleshall, a small town of Staf- 
fordshire, England, in 1842, who there learned the barber's trade, which 
he followed all his active years. He married, in Leek, Staffordshire, June i. 
1882, Harriet Deakin. born in Leek, March 24. 1864, and there the young 
couple resided until 1885, when they came to the United States, locating in 
Trenton. New Jersey. John Stace}' opened a shop on Perry street, and there 
continued in business until his death in 1892. He was a member of the 
Protestant Episcopal church, and is buried in Riverview Cemetcrj" at Tren- 
ton. John and Harriet (Deakin) Stacey were the parents of two sons, 
James Henry, of further mention ; and William Edward, both born in Tren- 
ton, New Jersey. William E. learned the watchmaker's trade, but enlisted, 
and has long been with the American Expeditionary Force in France. Pie 
married Cecelia Masker. Mrs. Harriet (Deakin) Stacej' survived her hus- 
band and married (second) James J. Bagnall. who died in January. 1909, 
leaving a son, Lawrence E. Bagnall. who is now a private of Company A, 
Sixtieth United States Infantry, with the American Expeditionary Force in 
France. 

James Henry Stacey, eldest son of John and Harriet (Deakin) Stacey. 
was born at the Perry street home of his parents in Trenton. New Jersey, 
October 9, 1884. He attended public school in Trenton until 1898. then be- 
came a potter's apprentice. Trenton being one of the principal manufactur- 
ing centers of the United States. H-e served an apprenticeship of fiva years, 
then for two years more remained in Trenton as a journeyman potter. Dur- 
ing this period, however, he had become interested in the subject of dyes 
and dveing, making this a matter of study and thought. But he continued 
his work as a pottery pressman in Trenton, New Jersey : Columbus. Ohio ; 
and Mannington, West Virginia; finally returning to Trenton, where he 
again worked in the potteries. In 1908 he opened a dyeing and cleaning 
shop in Trenton, but a year later moved his business to Phillipsburg, New 
Jersey, there remaining another year. In 1910 he formed a partnership 
with his brother-in-law, John R. Kendrick, and opened a cleaning and dye- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 331 

ing establishment which they oi)eratccl as The BerHn Cleaners and Dj'crs. 
This name was changed in 1917 to the Kendrick Dyeing and Cleaning Com- 
pany, and on August 12, 1918, Mr. Stacey became its i)roprietor through 
purchase of the partner's interest. He continues the business at No. 6og 
Walnut street, Easton, and has won a secure place in public regard as his 
abundant patronage testifies. He is a Democrat in politics, a member of 
the Protestant Episcojial church, and of the Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Stacey married, August 26, 1907, Edith M. Kendrick, born in Har- 
risburg, Pennsylvania, June 14, 1883, daughter of John and Marion R. (Bes- 
sonnett) Kendrick, and granddaughter of Thomas Kendrick, who was born, 
lived, and died in England. Marion Bessonett was a daughter of John 
Bessonnett, of Burlington, New Jersey, where his father died, leaving a fam- 
ily of eleven children. John Bessonett was a millwright, who ended his 
useful life in Phillipsburg, at the great age of eighty-eight years. The Bes- 
sonetts are of Erench ancestry, and in Colonial days a memlDer of the famliy 
kept the Bessonett Inn at Burlington, New Jersey, and was well known 
to travelers in New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. The old inn- 
keeper had two brothers in the Revolutionary War, and he ended his life in 
retirement at Bristol, Pennsvlvania. Mrs. lulith M. (Kendrick) Stacey grew 
to womanhood in Harrisburg, her education being obtained in Trenton pub- 
lic schools. She is a member of Christ Episcopal Church, Trenton. Mr. 
and Mrs. Stacey are the parents of three sons, Harold Kenneth, Howard 
Russell, and Francis Raymond Stacey. 



J. JAMES CONDRAN, M. D.— As head of Easton Department of Pub- 
lic Health, Dr. Condran brought to his task the aid of modern sanitary 
development and knowledge, and an enthusiasm and expert helpfulness which 
has made his administrati(jn of the department most satisfactory to the 
people and given Easton a high standard of health conditions. He has been 
engaged in the private practice of his profession in Easton since 191 1, and 
has been head of the public health department of the cit}^ since 1912. Dr. 
Condran is the only son of Jeremiah and Mary Jane (Kane) Condran. his 
father a retired silk manufacturer of Easton. His only sister, Josephine 
Condran. married W'illiam Kolb, of Easton. 

Dr. J. James Condran was born at Tobyhanna Mills. Monroe county, 
Pennsylvania, November 9, 1886. He was educated in Phillipsburg. New 
Jersey, public schools, finishing with high school graduation, class of 1906, 
and at Medico-Chirurgical Medical College, Philadelphia, there receiving 
his M.D., class of 1910. After graduation he accepted appointment as house 
surgeon to the General Hospital, Paterson, New Jersey, and at River Lawn 
Sanitarium, same city, but one year later resigned and in 191 1 returned to 
Easton where he at once began private practice. He was appointed and 
yet serves on the medical staff of Easton Plospital. is surgeon to the Stewart 
Silk Mills, Zehnder Brick Company, Gunning Silk Company, Schailile Bakery 
Company, is chief of the Easton branch of the Pennsylvania State Genito- 
urinary Dispensary, and from all these sources is kept very busy. In 1912 
he was appointed city health officer, reappointed in 1914, 1916, 1918, now- 
serving his fourth consecutive term of two years each. He is a member 
of the Northampton County Medical Society, Pennsylvania State IMedical 
Society. American Medical Association, Knights of Columbus, the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Pomfret Club, Spartan Club, St. Joseph's 
Roman Catholic Church, and is a Republican in politics. 

Dr. Condran married, April 9, iqi2. Alary Elizabeth Wohlback, and 
they are the parents of a daughter. Mary Louise, and a son, J. James, Jr. 



EARL M. SLACK— .Xs head of the Diehl & Slack Company, which he 
founded in Easton, Mr. Slack is reaping the benefits of his own skill and 



332 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

business enterprise, he having come to the city a young man and an electri- 
cian. That he has succeeded and won a place in the business life of his 
adopted city is greatly to his credit. He is a son of George j\I. and Amanda 
(Snyder) Slack. 

Earl M. Slack was born in Bangor, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
April 12, 1887. He was educated in Bangor public schools, and after gradua- 
tion from high school entered the employ of the Bangor Electric Light, Heat 
& Power Company, remaining there two years. The year following was 
spent with the Bethlehem Steel Company, in the electrical department. He 
next located in Easton, where he was emplo3'ed by local electric contractors 
until igo6, when he formed a partnership with Edward M. Diehl, of Easton, 
under the firm name, Diehl & Slack, electrical engineers and contractors. 
They began business at the corner of Tenth and Northampton streets, and 
in 1909 incorporated their business as the Diehl & Slack Company, Air. 
Diehl, jjresidcnt, Mr. Slack, secretary-treasurer. In 1914 Mr. Slack bought 
the Diehl stock, and has since been the executive head and manager. In 191 5 
the business headquarters of the company was again moved to No. 320 Ferry 
street, where a prosperous general electrical contracting and engineering 
business is conducted in Easton, Penns3"lvania, and Phillipsburg, New Jersey. 
The company carries a full line of electrical supplies and fixtures, and in all 
things keeps abreast of all electrical improvements and advancement. Mr. 
Slack is a Republican in politics, and is a member of the First Reformed 
Church of Easton, Pennsylvania. He is affiliated with Bangor Lodge No. 
1 106, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is highly regarded bj- 
his friends and business associates. 

Mr. Slack married, October 20, 1909, Bertha C. Shover, of Wind Gap, 
Pennsylvania, daughter of John Shover. They are the parents of a daughter, 
Arline Bertha. The family home is at No. 13 South Eleventh street. 



J. FREDERICK OSTERSTOCK— As manager of Easton's three lead- 
ing theatres. Mr. Osterstock is responsible to a large degree for the quality 
and quantity of theatrical entertainment furnished the people of the city. 
That the responsibility is well met is the consensus of Easton's opinion, and 
the degree of prosperity which has attended the operation of the theatres 
which he manages is the only other evidence needed to prove that as pur- 
veyor of entertainment to the public he is a success. Mr. Osterstock is a 
member of the seventh generation of the family founded in Pennsylvania by 
Matthias Osterstock, Sr.. who came to Philadelphia in 1749. 

J. Frederick Osterstock is a son of Joseph .Swift Osterstock, of Easton, 
a veteran of the Civil War, successful merchant and worthy citizen, nov/ 
gone to his reward. According to competent authority, the Osterstocks of 
Easton descend from Grav Friderick Zolr der Ostertag, who in 1315 lived 
at Tabingen in Wurtemberg. as per Schmidt's "History of the Palatine 
Counts of Zollern-hohenberg." Siegfriend Ostertag, a descendant of the 
above, lived in Stuttgart, in the same principality, in 1393. The two families 
noted in the vicinity in 1870 in a work of Heraldry by Rietstap, whose coat- 
of-arms denote a common origin, are as follows: Ostertag of Suabia (in- 
cluded now in Wiirtembcrg and Bavaria, capital, Augsburg), also Ostertag 
of Nordlingen. on the border between the two former states, whose coat-of- 
arms is as follows: D'azur a un agneau pascal d'argent, la tete entouree 
D'une aureole d'or, passant, sur une colline de sinople. Cimier, I'agneau pascal. 
Lambrequins ; d'or et d'azur. This being interpreted is : 

Arms — On a shield of blue with an Easter lamb of silver, the head surrounded with 
a halo of grold, walking on a hill of green. 

Crest — Easter lamb. Drapery: of gold and blue. 

(I) Matthias Ostertag, born in 1729, emigrated with his father, being more 
than seventeen when he arrived in this countr}-. The}- no doubt settled near 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 



AS-rOR. LKfJOXANB 



BIOGRAPHICAL 333 

Bethlehem, as a descendant bj- the n;inie of John was assessed there in 1794. 

(II) Thomas Osterstock, born in 1750, died in 1773, is believed to be a 
son of the above, althoii_e:h there are no records to substantiate it. lie lived 
in Forks township, immediately to the north of the city of Easton, and died 
intestate, as shown by the court recorder. The liond was fdcd June 21, 1773, 
indicatinji^ about the time of his death. His wife, Mary Eliz;djeth (Wolf) 
Osterstock, was named an administratrix. The settlement of the estate was 
made March 17, 1774. The children at that time were: Leonard, above four- 
teen; llenr}', Mary, 'Jliomas. John and Elizabeth. 

(III) Thomas (2) Osterstock, born about 1770, died about 1814. He 
was assessed in Forks townsliip in 1793, but does not a])pear in the list of 

17S6, nor is there will nor court record. His wife was Frederick, 

died at the age of ninet}'. Their children were : Henry, Jacob, Charles, a 
daughter, Mrs. Cramer; another daughter, Mrs. Racsner. 

(IV) Charles Osterstock, born July, 1806, died Februar}' 3, 1851, lived 
in Forks townshij). He married Elizabeth h'ocht, born December 11, 181 1, 
died June 16, 1855. Both are buried in Easton Cemetery. The\' had children: 
William Gould, Joseph Swift, Theodore, Emily (Kaufman) and Elizabeth 
(Swift). 

(V) William Gould Osterstock, born May 7, 1834, died Decemljcr 8, 
1866, lived in Easton, Pennsylvania, where he married Sophia Connelly, born 
April 9, 1840. He served through the entire Civil War as first sergeant, 
Fifty-first Penns3'lvania \'olunteers. He was wounded at Petersburg, Vir- 
ginia, and died soon after the war as a result. 

(V) Joseph Swift Osterstock, second son of Charles and Elizabeth 
(Focht) Osterstock, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, February 11, 1842, 
died in his native city, 1918. The house in which he .was born stood at the 
foot of the steps leading to Lafayette College, the Chemical Publishing Com- 
pany's building now occupying the site. He had little opportunity for school 
attendance, but that little was well improved, and by self-study he became 
well informed. He began his long career in business as a boy clerk with 
T. B. Curtis, tinware and stoves, whose place- of business was at the corner 
of Northampton and Sitgreaves streets, where he was a clerk for a number 
of years. He was appointed assistant postmaster of Easton under Postmaster 
James K. Dawes, his next business change being in 1872, when he succeeded 
Chidsey Brothers in the stove and housefurnishing business at No. 212 
Northampton street. There he continued in business for thirty-seven years, 
until 1909, when he retired. He was an aide business man, upright and pro- 
gressive, keeping up with the times and conducting his store along the best 
modern lines. He had an excellent memory, kept a concise record of events, 
and was an authority on local history. 

As a soldier of the Union, Mr. Osterstock compiled an honorable record 
and rose to the rank of second lieutenant. He first enlisted in Company D, 
One Hundred and Twenty-ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, and 
served nine months, his full term of enlistment. During that period he was 
engaged at the battles of Second Bull Run, Antictam, Kearncysville, Fred- 
ericksburg and Chanccllorsville. He enlisted a second time, immediately 
after the expiration of his first term, his next command being Company D, 
Twenty-seventh Regiment, Pennsylvania Emergency Regiment, Colonel 
Frick commanding the regiment, Capt. Joseph Oliver, the company. He 
became first sergeant of Company D, and as such was in a severe skirmish 
at Wrightsville, Pennsylvania, when the command, while resisting the inva- 
sion of the State by General Early, saved themselves by burning the bridge 
across the Susquehanna at Columbia, \\nien his second term of service 
expired, .Sergeant Osterstock again enlisted, his third command being with 
Company H. Two Hundred and Fourteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer 
Infantry, attaining with that regiment a second lieutenant's commission. His 



334 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

captain was Edward Kelly, of Easton. Lieutenant Osterstock served with the 
Two Hundred and Fourteenth Regiment until the close of the war, when he 
was honorably discharged and returned to his home in Easton. 

Lieutenant Osterstock was a member of the Military Order of the Loj-al 
Legion of the United States, Lafayette Post No. 217, Grand Army of the 
Republic, and for several years was an active member of the old Phoenix 
Fire Company, being its vice-president at the time that organization was 
disbanded, October 30, 1879. He was a leader of many of the large parades 
as chief marshal, and for many years he assisted in the alumni dinner at 
Lafayette College. He was elected a member of Easton's first Common 
Council, under the city charter of 1887, representing the First Ward. He 
took a seat in Council, April 4, 1887, and served until April i, 1889. He mar- 
ried Sarah Sheatz, who died October 26, 1914, leaving a son, J. Frederick. 
whose career is herein traced. 

(VI) J. Frederick Osterstock, son of Joseph Swift and Sarah (Sheatz) 
Osterstock, was born in Easton, Penns3lvania, May 21, 1884. He was edu- 
cated in the public schools of the city, prepared in Easton Academy, passing 
thence to Lafayette College, a member of the class of 1905. In college he 
was a leader in the musical circles. He was a member of Zeta Psi fraternity, 
and one of the well liked and popular men of his class. After graduation 
he located in Philadelphia, where for eighteen months he was associated with 
James B. Carson & Company, real estate operators, in their surveying and 
engineering department. The following two years he was engineer in charge 
of shop construction for the Pennsylvania railroad, then for three seasons 
was manager and musical director of a road theatrical company. At the 
expiration of his third season he returned to Easton to assume the manage- 
ment of the newly completed Orpheum Theatre, and in 1910 the Able Opera 
House was also placed under his capable direction as manager. He became 
well known as a successful manager, and in 1916 the Colonial was added to 
his list of theatres, he acting as the Easton manager of the Wilmer & \^in- 
cent incorporated interests. 

In addition to the foregoing responsibilities. Mr. Osterstock has during 
that period of theatrical management served as temporary manager of the 
Wilmer & Vincent interests in their new theatres in Richmond, Virginia, 
and Allentown, Pennsylvania. He is undeniably successful as an entertain- 
ment purveyor, and to his own musical talent and love of the theatre, coupled 
with an adhered-to policy of furnishing to the theatre-going public only high 
class, clean productions, his unusual success must be attributed. He is a 
member of Easton Board of Trade, the Kiwanis Club, and the Northampton 
Coimty Country Club, his politics. Republican, and his religious affiliation 
with Christ Lutheran Church. 



JAMES E. HAUCK — Three generations of this family have been inti- 
mately connected with Easton's business — William Hauck, of the long ago: 
Thomas N. Hauck, whose career was cut short at the age of twenty-nine, a 
traveling salesman; and James E. Hauck, of the present day, a well known 
electrical contractor, grandfather, father, and son. James E. Hauck is a son 
of Thomas N. and a grandson of William and Mary C. Hauck. William 
Hauck was a foundryman and merchant of Easton in the long ago, and 
operated his foundry in West Easton until it was destroyed by fire, after 
which he became a provision merchant, dealing in smoked meats. He built 
up a large business, and as a merchant ranked high. He served as a member 
of Easton Borough Council, and took an active part in all public afifairs. His 
wife, Mar^^ was a member of the ^Moravian church. They were the parents 
of three sons: Thomas N., James, and Cornelius, also of a daughter, Annie. 
Thomas N. Hauck was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1856, and there 
died in 1885, his life just in its beginning. He was a commercial salesman. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 335 

first witli the Hay Boot and Shoe Company of Easton, and later with Bixlcr & 
Correll. He was a man of good business ability, made many friends, and 
was greatly admired and loyal. He married Jennie Kinsey, daughter of 
Alonzo William Kinsey, who was born at Newport, Monmouthshire, Eng- 
land, Tuesday, November 25, 1817. He died at Braddock, Pennsylvania, 
Friday evening, T'ebruary 12, 1904. He married, January 19, 1841, Cecelia 
Cobb Jones, born at Denbigh, Denbighshire, North Wales, England, Febru- 
ary 17, 1824, died in Lehigh county, [Pennsylvania, June 29, 1864. On May 
21, 1883, he contracted a second marriage with Mrs. Mary E. Dinkey, at 
Braddock, Pennsylvania. Alonzo W. Kinsey was the son of Josiah and 
Jane Kinsey. He was reared by liis grandjiarents, William and Elizabeth 
Aston. Mr. Kinsey was the first chemist employed in the iron industry. 
This was at the Crane Iron Works, at Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, according 
to an article in the Irort Age of Februarj' 20, 1902. The article goes on to 
state that the time was so far back they could not give dates, but it was 
while Andrew Carnegie was working in Blackstack's factory, at $1.25 a week, 
also that Mr. Gayley, vice-president of the United States Steel Corporation, 
began his career as chemist for the Crane Iron Company as successor to 
Mr. Kinsey. Mr. Kinsey was also an inventor of ability, cannon and small 
arms his special field, although he had worked out a plan for a submarine 
boat. His second wife, Mrs. Dinkey, a widow, had a son, Alvin, later an 
important steel manufacturer, and one of her daughters became the wife of 
Charles Schwab, the great steel manufacturer. Mr. Schwab and Mr. Kinsey 
were often in consultation, the chemist being able to at times give the manu- 
facturer practical ideas which were found to be of value. Thomas N. and 
Jennie (Kinsey) Hauck were the parents of a family of five children: Thomas, 
now with the Bethlehem Steel Company, in the artillery dejiartment ; Flarry, 
now with a shi])building companj' in North Carolina : James E., of further 
mention ; William, now assistant auditor of the Bethlehem Steel Company ; 
Helen, died in infancy. Mrs. Jennie Kinsey Hauck survived her husband, 
and although young when left a widow with four sons, she used motherly 
love and tact, keeping her family together, giving them the advantage of a 
good education, now rejoicing in their success and prosperity, while they 
"rise up" and called her "blessed." 

James E. Hauck was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, September 20, 1882, 
and until fourteen years of age attended the public schools of the city. He 
then started out to win the battle of life, and as a beginning spent one \ear 
with the Hay Boot & Shoe Company, a firm with which his father had been 
connected. He was a printer's "devil" for the next three months, then found 
his life work in the electrical business. He was sixteen years of age when 
he entered the employ of the Edison Illuminating Company, and after that 
company went out of business he was successively in the employ of A. W. 
Leidy, G. Elliott Hill and E. D. Webber, all engaged in some form of elec- 
trical work. During the years so passed, the boy had become a man, the 
novice an expert electrical worker with faith in himself and an ambition 
which resistlessly imi)ellcd him forward. In November, IQ04, with a capital 
of less than one hundred dollars, he started in business for himself. From 
this small beginning has grown his present large electrical contracting and 
supply business, located on Bank street, Easton. Ten men are kept employed 
in electrical work exclusive of store and offi<5e force, and in his store a full 
line of supplies is carried, every need of the user of electricity being there 
met. He does not shrink from assuming any contract in his line no matter 
how large, and he has developed high standing among a desirable class of 
customers. 

Mr. Hauck has fairly won the honorable position he occupies among 
the business men of his native city, and can review his course from bovhood 
with a great deal of satisfaction. He is a member of Dallas Lodge No. 396, 



336 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Pomp 
Council, Royal and Select ^Masters; Hugh De Payen Commandery No. ig. 
Knights Templar; Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic 
Shrine, of Reading; the Tall Cedars of Lebanon; Lehicton Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows; and Easton Lodge No. 171, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. He is highly esteemed by his brethren of these 
orders, and takes active interest in their work. He is a member also of 
Easton Rotary Club. In politics he supports the Republican party, and is 
affiliated with Brainerd-Union Presbyterian Church. 

On June 10, 1906, Mr. Hauck married Sadie M. Zulauf, daughter of John 
H. and Georgianna Zulauf, and they are the parents of two sons: James 
Kenneth and John Henry. In 1913 Mr. Hauck erected a residence at No. 723 
Reeder street, on College Hill, Easton, which is now the family home. 



FRANK JACOB KESSLER, M.D.— When Dr. Kessler located in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, in 1895. he brought with him the experience gained 
during his two years as resident physician and senior assistant surgeon at 
St. Luke's Hospital, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, a position he won from eight 
aspirants after a severe competitive examination. In his quarter of a century 
practice in Easton he has won unqualified success, and ranks with the leading 
physicians and surgeons of the city. He is a son of Thomas Kessler, and a 
grandson of Philip Kessler, a prosperous Pennsylvania farmer. Thomas 
Kessler was born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, learned the trade 
of blacksmith in Easton, and there married and lived until 1858. He then 
moved to Bethlehem, where he opened a blacksmith's shop, which he long 
and succcssfullv conducted, also a carriage manufacturing business. He 
married Catherine Eva Roth, born in Whitehall, Lehigh county, Pennsyl- 
vania, daughter of Jacob Roth, a farmer. Thomas Kessler died in 1899, and 
his wife died in December, 1918. 

Dr. Frank Jacob Kessler, son of Thomas and Catherine Eva (Roth) 
Kessler, was born in Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, September 12, 1869. He 
there attended public schools until 1887, when he entered the employ of 
E. T. Meyers, a Bethlehem druggist. He remained with Mr. Meyers three 
3^ears, then began the study of medicine under the direction of Dr. A. C. 
Moyer. In the fall of 1890 he entered the medical department of the Univer- 
sitv of Pennsylvania, v.-hence he was graduated M.D., class of 1893. He then 
spent two years as resident physician and assistant surgeon in St. Luke's 
Hospital, gaining valuable experience, as St. Luke's was even then one of 
the large and finely equipped hospitals of the State. In the spring of 1895 
Dr. Kessler located in Easton, where he has been in continuous and success- 
ful practice for twenty-five years, 1893-1918. He has a large private clientele 
in addition to his institutional and corporation practice, and is also examiner 
for several of the leading life insurance companies. He is a member of the 
Northampton Medical Society, Pennsylvania State I\Iedical Society, and 
American Medical Association, his standing among his brethren of these 
societies being of the highest. Dr. Kessler is a Democrat in politics, served 
his citv four vears as a member of the Board of Education and member of 
the Board of Control. He is a member of Trinity Protestant Episcopal 
Church, and interested in many of the religious, political, business and chari- 
table organizations of the city. On February 20. 1895, Dr. Kessler married 
Bertha Atwater, daughter of Ledyard and Adelaide (Paret) Atwater, of 
Washington. District of Columbia, her father an employee of the United 
States Treasurv Department, and a granddaughter of Bishop William P. 
Paret, of Baltimore, diocese of Maryland and Washington. Mrs. Kessler is 
a member of the New Century Club of Easton, is president of the Ladies 
Auxiliarv of Trinitv Episcopal Church, and a leader in its charitable work. 
Dr. and Mrs. Kessler are the parents of five children : Nelson Thomas, now 



BIOGRAPTTICAL 



337 



overseas with the Hospital Corps in the United States Navy, worked up to 
first-chiss pharmacist mate, is a graduate of Easton High School, and was at 
school in State College, Pennsylvania; Emily Atwater, William Harvey, 
Donald Charles and Alilnor Paret. 



EDWIN A. BERKEY— In early Colonial days Peter P.erkey was a high 
sheriff of l)U(.ks cnuntw Pennsylvania, lie married a Miss Snyder from the 
village, which was the forerunner of llie now city of Allentown, and they 
were the parents of a large family. This is an ancient familj' name, in 
German Berkcy meaning hills, in French de la Barre, having the same meaning. 
Henry Berkey, a grandson of Sheriff Peter Berkcy, was born in Northamp- 
ton county, March 5, 1800, his parents settling in Mount Bethel township, 
whether upper or lower section not being clear. He married March 13, 1823, 
Julia Kcstor, born June 24, 1803, a sister of Moses Kestor, a well known 
resident of South Easton. Henry Berkey was a linen weaver and wool 
carder by occujiation, anil in his younger years operated a carding mill at 
I'licksvillc in Northampton county. Later he engaged in stock raising. 
Henry and Julia (Kestor) Berkey were the parents of five children: Mar- 
garet, married Joseph Garris, and died, aged ninety-one years, a resident of 
Easton; John, of whom further mention will be made; Levi Henry, who was 
a gold seeker of the '49 excitement, making the journey to California in 
1849, returning to Pennsylvania and again to California, where he died in 
1902; Elizabeth, died unmarried; Mary, unmarried, now at the age of eighty- 
five, a resident at the Old Ladies' Home in Easton. 

John, son of Henry Berkey, was born at the Mount Bethel township 
homestead, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, October 9, 1830, died in 
Easton, January 27, 1902. He grew up at the home farm, his father's assist- 
ant until 1850, when he left home, went to Bethlehem, and there learned, the 
bricklayer's trade. He continued a general mason worker for thirty-five 
years, then in 1885 retired, residing in Easton until his death at the age of 
seventy-two. He was a member of St. John's Lutheran Church, and a Re- 
publican in politics, serving in Easton Common Council and as ward assessor. 
He was a member of Easton Lodge, I'ree and Accepted Masons. He married 
Elizabeth Fritz, of Plainfield township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
born April 30, 1832, and there resided until her marriage. Her father, George 
Fritz, was a contracting stone mason, and erected many of the stone bridges 
of Northampton county. His death occurred at Scranton, Pennsylvania, 
while employed by the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western railroad. She 
was a member of St. John's Lutheran Church, and took an active part in 
church work. She died November 14, 1906, and both she and her husband 
were buried in Easton Cemetery. They were the parents of six children : 
I. Joseph H., a hotelkeeper at Seipsville, Pennsylvania, Northampton county. 
He married Alma Messinger. 2. Edwin A., of whom further mention will be 
made. 3. John F.. deceased. 4. Peter, died in 1863, very young. 5. William 
H., of Easton. 6. Charles PVederick, of Philadelphia, connected with the 
Lehigh Coal & Navigation Company. He married Grace .A.nen. 

Edwin A. Berkey, son of John and Elizabeth (Fritz) Berkey, was born 
in Easton, in what was then the west ward, now the eighth, October 19, 1860. 
He was educated in Easton public schools and in the private school taught 
by Reuben H. Trach. After leaving school he began learning the mason's 
trade under his father's instruction, and became an expert, succeeding to his 
father's business and conducting it until 1891. He then entered the service 
of the LTnited States government as letter carrier in Easton. and until 1903 
continued in that position. Failing health then compelled his resignation, 
and he purchased a farm in Bethlehem township, which he occupied and 
cultivated until 1913, when he returned to Easton, and for a time was,' out of 
business. Later he established in the real estate business, and does a general 
business in insurance. 



N. H. BIOG.— 2 



338 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

A Republican in politics, Mr. Berkey has always taken a deep interest 
in the affairs of his town. He was a member of the Easton Select Council, 
one term; in 1915 and 1917 he was the unsuccessful Republican candidate 
for comptroller of Northampton county, and since 1915 he has been clerk 
in the office of the board of county commissioners. He is a life member of 
Dallas Lodge No. 396, Free and Accepted Masons; also a member of Easton 
Chapter No. 173, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council No. 20, Royal and 
Select Masters ; Hugh De Payen Commandery No. 19, Knights Templar ; 
Lulu Temjile, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Philadelphia, having been 
made a noble in that temple in 1890. On Januarj- 19. 1918, he was appointed 
by Governor Brumbaugh, alderman of the Fifth Ward, Easton, Pennsylvania. 

Mr. Berkey married January 16, 1882, Emma R. Reed, daughter of 
John G. Reed, of Easton, now deceased. Both Mr. and Mrs. Berkey are 
members of St. John's Lutheran Church. They are the parents of two sons: 
Luther E., married Pearl Prout, has a daughter, Betty, and resides in New 
York; Thomas A., married Julia Ellicott, and has a daughter, Gladys, and a 
son, John Ellicott. They reside in Easton. Mr. Berkey resides at No. 47 
South Fourth street, with his office at No. 49 South Fourth street. 

CHARLES FREDERICK AND JOHN KURTZ— Beyond doubt two 
of the most enterprising and responsible citizens of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
and men whose extraordinary energies have been turned to the good of the 
community-at-large, are the brothers, Charles F. and John Kurtz, whose 
entire careers have been identified with this city and whose great successes 
of the past art but embryos of a series of still greater ones which are to 
mature in the future. The two brothers joined in Bethlehem, April 10, 1894. 
Their first venture was in the direction of their present great business. They 
opened a small plant for the manufacture of furniture at No. 324 South New 
street, later moving to the corner of Broadhead avenue and Third street. 
They adopted the motto, "Never say fail," from the first, and they have 
lived up to this difficult ideal with remarkable consistency. By dint of hard 
labor, indefatigable patience and intelligent resourcefulness they gradually 
expanded their business from its small beginnings until at the present time 
the firm of Kurtz Brothers is recognized as manufacturers of the finest tj'pe 
of interior cabinet woodwork office furniture and fixtures in existence, and 
their market is country-wide. About 1906 they purchased a piece of land on 
West Union street, and here erected a much larger plant, complete and mod- 
ern in every particular. They were forced to do this by the immense 
increase of their business, which had quite outgrown the original quarters. 
Since that time the growth has continued, and has in fact even accelerated 
its speed. Another achievement of the firm, which illustrates the perfect 
quality of the work, is the manufacture of office furniture and fixtures. The 
concern employs a large number of workmen, and by liberal and human© 
treatment of the employees has always maintained a merited friendlv rela- 
tionship with them. 

The Kurtz brothers have not by any means confined themselves to the 
development of their one great business, but like the men of enterprise that 
they are, they have seized everv opportunity offered in connection with the 
growth of the community of which they are valuable members. One very 
important venture that has turned out with the usual success of all that they 
attempt was the purcliase of a large tract of land located near their plant, 
which they improved and developed, and then erected there some eighty- 
three substantial houses, most of which they have sold. The building opera- 
tions alone amounted to $432,000. an investment well made. Another enter- 
prise, although still very new, which promises the same success, is the pur- 
chase of two old homesteads situated on East Broad street, and the erection 
there in 1918 of the Kurtz building, at the cost of $550,000. This: handsome 




CI)aric0 if. iaurt5 






* ! 



PUBLIC LIBHARY 

ASTOR. Li 
SULKEK FOUNDATIONS 







3101)11 Unvt^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 339 

edifice has a frontage on East Broad street of one hundred and twenty feet, 
and it is constructed of steel, concrete, granite, brick, terra cotta and glass, 
while the arch above the entrance of the theatre therein is made up of 
decorative copper work. There arc two entrances or lobbies, cast and west, 
each twenty-one feet wide, the former being that of the theatre and the 
latter to the other parts of the building. The theatre already referred to is 
one of the best equipped in this region, and is adapted to the presentation 
of any type of performance. On the same floor with the theatre are spaces 
for four stores, while above, occupying the entire second floor, is one of the 
most up-to-date restaurants in the State. There is one large room accommo- 
dating three hundred and fifty persons, measuring fifty-three feet six inches 
by ninety-six feet, the ceiling being fourteen feet six inches high. Besides, 
there is a smaller room accommodating one hundred and fifty people, and a 
number of private party dining-rooms seating twenty-four people each. 
These rooms are divided by removable partitions, which oi)en the whole into 
a large room in which five hundred and fifty persons can be seated. There 
are ladies' and gentlemen's parlors fitted with every modern equipment and 
convenience known for the comfort and ease of the patrons. The floor pn 
the east side of the dining-room is raised eighteen inches above the general 
level to accommodate the construction of the theatre ;on the floor below; and 
at the same time it makes a suitable i)lace for a speaker or orchestra to be 
stationed. Mr. Joseph Weiss, formerly of Hotel Astor, New York City, has 
the management of the restaurant and the building generally. While these 
undertakings claim much of the brothers' attention, it is still the original 
manufacturing business to which they devote most of their energies. The 
plant where their high grade goods are turned out does not consist of one 
building, but of seven, each devoted to some particular portion of the work; 
the finishing department being housed in one, the machine department in 
another, the kiln dry system in a third, while a tire bending and welding 
plant, a blacksmith shop, and a second machine shop have each separate 
quarters. In November, 1917, another building was added where boxes 
and commercial and government auto trucks and wheels are produced to 
meet the enhanced demand for these articles created by the late war. 

Charles Frederick Kurtz was born in Wurtemburg, in the town of Met- 
zingcn, August 13. 1872, a son of Carl Frederick and Barbara (Laib) Kurtz, 
and a grandson of Carl Frederick Kurtz, Sr. The latter was born October 
13, 1807. and was a successful manufacturer of woolen goods in that region. 
His fabrics were all woven on hand looms, and after a prosperous career 
he lived retired during the later part of his life. His parents continued to 
live in Metzingen, where Carl Frederick, Jr., was born, October 13, 1837. 
and it was in that same town that the early life of Charles Frederick Kurtz 
was spent. He attended the public schools of his native town, and imme- 
diatclv after graduating, at the age of seventeen years, came to the United 
States. Since that time he has identified himself completely with the life 
and ideals of his adopted land, and has become one of the most highly trusted 
and esteemed citizens of the Bethlehems. It was at South Bethlehem that 
he first made his home, securing employment with W. H. Lehr, of East 
Broad street, and remaining with him for eleven months. For two and one- 
half years following he worked for the concern of Fichter & Martin. He 
went to the citv of Paterson, New Jersey, in 1892. and resided there for 
two years. In 1894 he returned to Bethlehem, and that break of two years 
is the only one that he has made in his residence in this place since coming 
to America. On April to, 1894. Charles Frederick Kurtz became associated 
with his brother, John Kurtz, and from that time to the present thev have 
remained inseparable, whatever has been undertaken by the one has been 
undertaken by the other as a single enterprise. 

In addition to his business activities, Charles F. Kurtz is prominent in 



340 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

social and fraternal circles of the city, and is a member of a number of organi- 
zations here. He is affiliated with Bethlehem Lodge, Ancient Free and 
Accepted Masons; the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; 
and the Knights of Pythias of this city. He is also a member of Bethlehem 
Club, the Rotary Club, and the City Planning Commission. He is a director 
of the E. P. Wilbur Trust Company. He is very fond of nature and out- 
door life, but the great demands upon his time make it impossible for him 
to enjoy these things as much as he should like to do. He does find time, 
however, for the cultivation of his splendid rose beds, and he enjo\s, also, 
occasional trips in his motor car which he himself drives. He is very fond 
of music, but has not the time for any adequate development of the art. 
Indeed, he is quoted as saying that "it appears that my hobby really is work 
and nothing else," and this is to a great extent true, although with his broad 
mind and ready svmpathies, he keeps up his interest in all departments of 
life. 

Charles F. Kurtz married. September 28. igoS, Anna P. Walter, of 
Boston, Massachusetts, a daughter of Mrs. Matilda Walter, of that city. 
They have an adopted son, Richard Wagner, born April 15, 1912. The 
family are all members of the Lutheran church, and Mr. Kurtz is a trustee 
of St. Luke's Hospital at Bethlehem. In noting the rapid rise to promi- 
nence of some of the leaders of men, it often seems that such achievement 
was the result of powers above the normal, as we are acquainted with 
humanity in the average man, so easily, apparently, are obstacles over- 
come, and so completely does everj' factor seem to bend itself to the fore- 
ordained event. In the majority of cases, however, such appearances are 
entirely deceptive and the brilliant result is the outcome of eft'orts as unre- 
mitting and arduous as any within our experience. Such' in a large measure 
is true in the case of Charles F. Kurtz, whose name heads this brief appre- 
ciation, and whose reputation for success gained without the compromise 
of the highest ideals of honor and justice is second to none in this region. 
His rise to wealth and influence has doubtless been rapid, but it is the out- 
come of conscientious labor and consistent effort, labor and effort which 
in the early stages of his career doubtless felt discouragement such as we 
all feel at times. If this were not so, it would not be possible to explain 
the broad tolerance, the kindly human sympathy and understanding which 
he has displayed in all his intercourse with his fellowmen. However this 
may be, it is a well known fact to all who are fortunate in being able to 
claim his friendship, that as a man, Charles F. Kurtz possesses all the funda- 
mental virtues, that he lives up to the best standard of ethics in all the rela- 
tions of his life, that he is a conscientious worker, a public-spirited citizen, 
a devoted husband, and a faithful and loyal friend. 

John Kurtz was born May 21, 1874, in Metzingen, Wurtemburg, Ger- 
many. He attended the public schools there for eight years, and took a 
three years' technical training in the night schools, taking courses in draft- 
ing and designing. At the age of fourteen years, he entered upon an appren- 
ticeship to the cabinet maker's trade, after which he went to Switzerland 
and later to Vienna and other Austrian cities, visiting also various other 
European countries while working at his trade, and at the same time observ- 
ing the waj^s of the world. Thus he prepared himself to carry out a plan 
made by himself and his brother, Charles F., when they were but small boys, 
to come to America. As boys they had looked over factories and said, 
"We will have one like that of our own some day." Building a town was 
also one of their boyhood dreams. A perusal of the story of their successes 
in the former venture, and the fact that while thev have not built a town but 
a very substantial section of a large city proves again that fact is some- 
times stranger than fiction. In September, 1893. John Kurtz sailed for 
America and arrived in South Bethlehem, October i. In association with 



BIOGRAPHICAL 341 

his brother he immediately set about plans to cnj:;:agc in business, and on 
April 10, 1894, the firm of Kurtz Brothers began in a small way. On A])ril 
10, 1919, was the twenty-fifth anniversary of one of the county's first manu-. 
facturing organizations, and also a quarter of a century of valuable citizen- 
ship rc[)rescnted in Charles F. and John Kurtz. John Kurtz is a member 
of the Masonic Order, Zinzendorf Cha])tcr, Royal Arch Masons; Bethlehem 
Council, No. 36, Royal and .Select Masters; pjethlehem Commandcry, Knights 
Templar; Rajah Tem])lc of Reading; Knights of Pythias; Independent Order 
of Odd I'ellow.s; and Protective and Bent^volent Order of Elks, No. 190. 
He is a member also of the Bethlehem Club, of this city. In affairs of 
national importance, he is a Republican, but in local politics he is independ- 
ent, preferring to sui)])ort men and issues most worthy and best suited to the 
develo]imcnt of his acloptcd city. Like his brother, Charles F., he is a mem- 
ber of the Lutheran church. 

John Kurtz married, Ajiril 30, 1898, Anna Schreib, a native of North 
Germain . She came to America when a child of five years of age, and was 
educated and grew to womanhood in the city of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 
John Kurtz is fond of the great world of out-of-doors, and enjoys especially 
vacations of motorings. Hard work, thorough technical training, honest 
dealing and a policy of delivering a little better work than the strict terms 
of the contract demanded have been responsible for the building up of the 
great business of Charles F. and John Kurtz, and the establishment of its 
greatest single asset, "good will." 



MARVIN LE GRANDE FRITCHMAN^Marvin Le Grande Fritch- 
man, a prominent business man and influential citizen of Frcemansburg, 
Pennsylvania, is a native of the town of South Bethlehem, in this State, where 
his birth occurred December 29, 1S91. He is a member of a family which 
has resided in this State for a number of generations, his great-great-grand- 
father having been a native of Germany, and a pioneer settler of Pennsyl- 
vania. 

This immigrant ancestor came to America before the Revolution, and 
his son, William Fritchman, was instrumental in the construction of the 
Lehigh canal, and became its first superintendent. His son, Peter Fritch- 
man, the grandfather of the Mr. Fritchman of this sketch, lived in this region, 
and after completing a course in the high school was himself a teacher in 
the public educational institutions for a number of years. He afterwards 
became a clerk in a mercantile line of business, and eventually went mto 
business for himself as a contractor. He erected several large bridges for 
the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company and put up the Northampton county 
prison at Easton. 

William Bion Fritchman, son of Peter Fritchman, and father of Marvin 
Le Grande Fritchman, is a prominent citizen of this community, and at 
present serving his second term as postmaster of Frcemansburg, under the 
Wilson administration. He also served during the two administrations of 
Grover Cleveland, and has been very prominent in local affairs. He is a 
member of the Town Council and has served on the School Board and in 
several other capacities at various times. He is a staunch Democrat in 
politics, and is one of the leaders of his party hereabouts. William Biou 
Fritchman has been twice married, the first time to Belle F. Snyder, a 
daughter of Mrs. Anna M. Snyder, of this place, by whom he had the fol- 
lowing children: Calanthe L., Paul A., and W. Bion, Jr. He married 
(second) Millie N. A. Ochs. a daught'er of Tighlman Ochs, of Allentown, 
Pennsylvania, by whom he had the following children : Marvin Le Grande, 
with whose career we are here especially concerned, Emily Margaret, Leon 
A., and Harold D. 

Marvin Le Grande Fritchman passed but the first few } ears of his life 



342 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

at South Bethlehem, where he was born, his family then removing to Free- 
mansburg, which place has since remained his home. It was here that he 
attended the public schools, graduating from the Freemansburg High School 
with the class of 1906. He completed his schooling at the Allentown Pre- 
paratorj- School in igo8, and in the fall of that year entered Lehigh Univer- 
sity, where he took up the courses in chemistry. In 1910 jMr. Fritchman 
accepted a position in the office of the Bethlehem Steel Compan\-, but left 
this place a little later to take up the duties of assistant chemist with the 
Pennsylvania Cement Company, of Bath, Pennsylvania. Unfortunately, 
however, his health failed at about this time and he was compelled to resign. 
With the intention of finding some work which would keep him more in 
the open air, ]\Ir. Fritchman, shortly after his resignation, entered the office 
of the Globe Publishing Company of Bethlehem, as a reporter, and served 
that concern in this capacity for about seven years. His health having 
been practically restored in that time, he became associated with the Bethle- 
hem Steel Company and is at present serving that concern in charge of the 
drop forging order department. For a young man of his age, Mr. Fritch- 
man has already made a very considerable position for himself, not only with 
the company that he is directly connected with, but in the business circles 
of Bethlehem and Freemansburg, and is regarded in both places as a very 
progressive and capable business man. Mr. Fritchman has alwavs taken a 
lively interest in politics, and has played no small part in public affairs, hav- 
ing served in several local offices here. For two years he served as bor- 
ough auditor, and is now holding his third term on the county committee 
of the Democratic party. In 1915 he was elected justice of the peace by the 
citizens of Freemansburg. Like his- father he is a staunch Democrat, and 
ardently devoted to the principles and policies of his party. He is also a 
well known member of several orders and similar orp-anizations here, and is 
affiliated especially with the Masonic order and the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. Mr. Fritchman is a Lutheran in his religious belief, and has 
for many years been a member of Christ Church of this denomination at 
Freemansburg. 

Marvin Lc Grande Fritchman was united in marriage, January 27, 1916, 
at Philadelphia, with Maude E. Getter, a daughter of Irvin and Elizabeth 
(Herger) Getter, old and highly respected residents of this place. Mr. and 
Mrs. Fritchman are the parents of one child, Marvin Le Grande, Jr., born 
January 29, 1917. 



GEORGE CHASE MACAN— Nearly a century ago George C. Macan 

left his home in Scotland and came to the United States, finding a home in 
W'ilmington, Delaware, where his descendant, George Chase Macan, of 
Easton, was born, son of William Alexander Macan, also born in Wilming- 
ton. During the greater part of his life W'illiam A. Macan was engaged as 
a distributor of a pipe covering material, and now is vice-president of the 
Ehret Magnesia Manufacturing Company, of Valley Forge, Pennsylvania. 
He married Katurah Turner, and they were the parents of George C. Macan. 
George C. Macan was born November i, 1877, and was educated in the 
public schools of Philadelphia. Swarthmore Preparatory School, and at Drexel 
Institute in the same city. He began business life as a clerk with A. P. 
Swayer & Company, of Philadelphia, later became a salesman, and was so 
engaged until 1896 when he located in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, and 
there started the machinerj- and supply business under the firm name, Macan, 
Jr., & Huntington. That business he successfully conducted in Wilkes- 
Barre until 1902, when he sold out and came to Easton, Pennsylvania, here 
establishing in the mill supply business under the firm name, Macan, Jr., 
Company, and in 1907 incorporated his business as The Macan Jr. Com- 
pany, of which he is president and manager. The business of the company 



/..lunni'i 1 



ASTOK. LEN 




J/k-^ s. ^Jx.2£<^ i^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 343 

is one ag'Sjrcsjating' one-half million dollars annually, and is principally mill 
and electrical supplies, machinery and electrical construction work. Mr. 
Macan has grown with his business, and is one of the strong men of the 
city from both a manufacturing and business standpoint. He is highly 
regarded in the trade, highly esteemed socially, and is a patriotic, progres- 
sive citizen. He is a member of the Engineers' Club of Phikidcljihia, Easton 
Board of Trade, the Rotary Club, Lodge, Chapter, Council and Consistory 
of the Masonic order, the Shrine of Reading, Sons of Delaware, College Hill 
Presbyterian Church, and is a Republican in political faith. 

Mr. Macan married (first) 1903, Ruth Ellen Struthcrs, of Wilkes-Barre, 
Pennsylvania, daughter of Cameron and Ruth (Barnes) Struthers. Mrs. 
Macan died in igi2, leaving a son, Cameron Alexander. Mr. Macan mar- 
ried (second) June, 1914, Helen ^\'orman Arny, daughter of Louis W. and 
Linette (Worman) Arny, of Philadelphia, Pcnnsyh^inia, her father a promi- 
nent leather manufacturer of Philadeli)hia. Mrs. Macan is a graduate of 
Bryn Mawr College, is interested in Red Cross and social work, and is treas- 
urer of the Intcr-Collegiatc Association. .She served for a time on the fac- 
ulty of St. Timothy School, Catonsville, Maryland. Mr. and Mrs. Macan 
are the parents of a daughter, Linette Arny. 



EDWIN E. EICHLIN— As an optometrist, Mr. Eichlin has taken rank 
with the rising yotmg business men of Easton, a city of which he is a native 
son. His family has long been seated in Pennsylvania, his father, Charles 
E. Eichlin, having been born on his father's farm in Forks township, a son 
of Plenry Eichlin, also born in Northam])ton county. Charles E. Eichlin 
married Ella Serfoss, daughter of Peter Serfoss, also of an old county family. 

Edwin E. Eichlin was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, August 25, 1884. 
Pie attended the public schools of Palmer township, later completed a course 
of study at Wood's Business College of Easton, and then entered Phila- 
delphia Optometrical College, whence he was graduated, class of 1905. For 
two and a half years after graduation he practiced his profession in New- 
port, Kentucky, then returned to Easton, where he is now well established 
and rated among the leaders of the profession in that city. He takes an 
active part in civic affairs, is a member of Easton Board of Trade ; Easton 
Rotary Club; Easton Lodge No. 152, Free and .Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter 
No. 173, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council No. 20; Hugh de Payen Com- 
mandery No. 19. Knights Templar; Rajah Temple, Ancient Accepted Order No- 
bles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member of the Lehigh Valley Optical So- 
ciety, Pennsylvania State Optical and the American Optical societies. He 
is also af^liated with the Knights of Pythias, the Young Men's Christian 
Association, is a Republican in politics, and a communicant of St. John's 
Lutheran Church. 

Mr. Eichlin married, October 20, 1914, Margaret Walters, daughter of 
Jacob and Emma (Ricker) Walters, of Easton. Mrs. Eichlin is an accom- 
plished vocalist and active in church work, also social and charitable work. 
They are the parents of a son, Edwin E., Jr. 



HARRY C. FISLER, M.D.— .A native son of Easton. where he has 
risen to honorable position as a physician and surgeon. Dr. Fislcr traces 
descent from Swedish ancestors, who settled in what became known as 
Fislerville, but is now Clayton, Gloucester county, New Jersey, where some 
of the name yet reside. There his father, Samuel L. Fisler, was born, he 
whose name is a cherished memory in Easton, more particularly in Lafavette 
College circles, for from 1869 until his resignation in 1907, Samuel Fisler 
was the faithful secretary-treasurer of the college, which was also his alma 
mater. The debt Lafayette owes Mr. Fisler is a great and lasting one, for as 
superintendent of grounds and buildings from 1869, he was in charge of 



344 NORTIIA.MPTOX COUNTY 

laying out and beautifying- the college cami)us, and under him Pardee Hall 
was built and later rebuilt after the fire ofiS^g. Most of the college build- 
ings were erected under his supervision. 

Samuel L. Fisler was born in Clayton, Gloucester county, New Jersey, 
in 1S36, one of a family of three. He prepared for college at the Edgehill 
School, and at Academia, both in the State of New Jersey, and in each of 
which he was an assistant teacher. He graduated with the honorary ora- 
tion, A.M., Lafayette, class of 1861, and from that year until 1865 he taught 
school at Towanda, Pennsylvania. Failing health then compelled him^to 
abandon plans for a professional life, and from 1865 to 1869 he was super- 
intendent of lumber manufacturing at Bear Creek, "Pennyslvania. In 1869 
he was appointed superintendent of grounds and buildings at Lafayette 
College, and in 1873 "as elected treasurer. He held that ofSce until resign- 
ing in 1907, a year prior to his death. He was an influential Republican, an 
eloquent and effective campaign orator, and for many vears was the usual 
presiding officer at important political meetings in Easton. He served for 
one term as postmaster of Easton, appointed under President Benjamin Har- 
rison's administration. He was a member of the First Presbvterian Church, 
and for many years was superintendent of the Sunday school. He was the 
first president of the Easton Young Men's Christian Association. Mr. Fis- 
ler married Emily, daughter of John Stewart, that branch of the Stewart 
familx- of Easton being written at length in this work. Samuel L. and 
Emily (Stewart) Fisler were the parents of three children: Laura, died at 
the age of nine years ; Harry C. of further mention ; and Frank, died in infancy 

Harry C. Fisler was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, May 8, 1873. He 
is a graduate of Easton Academy, class of 1888; Lafavette College, A.B., 
class of 1892, and of the medical department of the University of "Pennsyl- 
yania, M D., class of 1895. He spent three years, 1895-98, m practice 'at 
Merchantville, New Jersey, then located in Easton. where he is well estab- 
lished in the confidence and loyal esteem of a large clientele. He specializes 
in diseases of children, but conducts a general practice as well. He is a 
member of the medical staff of Easton Hospital, surgeon to the Northampton 
Traction Company, and the B. & H. Simon Silk Company, and is affiliated 
with his professional brethren in membership in the Northampton County 
Medical. Easton Medical. Lehigh Valley Medical, Pennsylvania State Med'- 
ical societies, and is a member of the American Medical' Association. His 
clubs are the Pomfret and Northampton County Country. His college fra- 
ternity is Delta Kappa Epsilon. 

Dr. Fisler married, October 28. 1896, Hattie Mann, born in Easton, 
daughter of Levi H. and Lenora (Kern) Mann. Dr. and Mrs. Fisler are 
the parents of three daughters: Emily Stewart, Helen M., and Kathrvn 
Elizabeth. The family are attendants of Olivet Presbyterian Church, Dr. 
Fisler serving as elder. While in college. Dr. Fisler took a deep interest in 
athletics and excelled in track team work. He made the college track team, 
and at a one hundred yards sprint to half a mile run was invincible. His 
present recreations are less strenuous, tennis and trap shooting being his 
favorites. 



EDWIN H. STEINMETZ— The Steinmetz family is of German origin, 
many generations, however, having been native to Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania. George Steinmetz was a farmer of Moore township, in that 
county, a Lutheran in religion, and a Whi? in politics. He married Chris- 
tina Leiffht, and has sons: Samuel, of whom further; Solomon, George, 
Aaron. Joseph William; also daughters: Christina, May, Sarah, Lvdia, and 
Sophia. 

_ Samuel Steinmetz. the eldest son of Georsre and Christina (Leight) 
Steinmetz, was the father of James and grandfather of Edwin H. Steinmetz, 



BIOGRAI'IIICAL 345 

both of Bangor, Pennsylvania, the father there establishing' the bakcrj' which 
is now owned and o])erated by the son. Samuel Steinmetz was born near 
Cherry Hill, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and spent his life in that 
section of the county. lie married and had children: Gideon, of Colo- 
rado; William; James; Edwin, of further mention; Elizabeth, married Sam- 
uel Menncr; Fietta. married Henry Clcwell. 

James Steinmetz was born, in 1844, in Bushkill townshi]), Northampton 
county, died in l!an,<;or, Pennsylvania, in 1909. He spent his youth and early 
manhood in Bushkill townshij), engaged as a farmer there, and later operated 
a grist mill for some years at Aluta, Pennsylvania. In 1888 he located in 
Bangor, and established a bakery which he successfully managed until the 
end of his life, twenty-one years later. He was a member of the Evangelical 
Lutheran Church, and the Indc])endent Order of Odd Fellows; a Republican 
in politics, serving as school director and tax assessor. He married Sarah 
Drumheller, daughter of Philip and Lydia (Burgur) Drumheller. They 
were the parents of seven children : Wilson, Oliver, deceased ; Edwin H., 
of whom further; Howard L. of Bangor; Alice, married Elmer Breidingcr; 
Sybilla, married (firsts Ayres Lomirou, (second) W. S. Smith, of Bangor; 
and Sarah, married \\'alter Stocher. 

Edwin H. Steinmetz was born in Bushkill township, Northamj^iton 
count}', Pennsylvania, January 12, 1S70, and was educated in the jniblic 
school. Pearly in life he began learning the baker's trade with Richard S. 
Shaffer of Bath, Pennsylvania, and there remained until his father oi^ened 
his baker}- in I'angor, in 1888. He then went into the Bangor bakery and 
continued in that business until about 1904, when he formed a partnership 
with Jacob I'"riedman. and under the firm name, Friedman iH: Steinmetz. con- 
ducted a clothing business for four years, a disastrous fire then sweeping 
their business away. In 1907, upon the death of his father, the son suc- 
ceeded him in the bakery, and has since continued the business founded in 
Bangor, thirty years ago, 1888-1918. The original plant has been greatly 
enlarged, and in connection with the baking department Mr. Steinmetz has 
one of the finest stores in Bangor. In 1917 the Never Break Products Com- 
pany was formed, ilr. Steinmetz being the prime mover, and they manu- 
facture the steel emergenc}' brakes for automobiles; the output is found to 
be a valuable accessory to the automobile world. He is a director of the 
Bangor Trust Company ; member of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, the 
Knights of Malta, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Steinmetz married Ida Faulstick, daughter of Samuel and Hester 
(Gowen) Faulstick. They are the i)arents of two children: Lulu M., mar- 
ried Matthew Walsh ; and Rnscoe Lester, who enlisted December 12, 1917, 
and was in the service of his country overseas with Three Hundred and 
Seventy-fifth Aerial Squadron; mustered out June 21, 1919, and is now assist- 
ing his father in the business. 



EDWARD LESLIE KNAUSS— This descendant of one of the oldest 
of Nortliamjiton's families traces his descent from Ludwig Knauss, who 
came from Titelheim, Wetteraira, in the Palatinate, in 1723, and settled first 
at Whitcmarsh, Montgomery county. Pennsylvania, later with his sons. 
.Sebastian H. and Johannes Ilcinrich Knauss. he located at Emmaus. founded 
by the Moravians in 1732. Ludwig Knauss married, in Germany, Anna 
Margaret Gorlach, and raised a large family. 

(II) Their son, Sebastian Heinrich Knauss, born in the Palatinate, near 
Manheim, Germany, October 6, 1714, came with his parents to Pennsylvania 
in 1723. He married, January i. 1741. Anna C. Transue, who came from the 
same district in Germany in 1730. He was a farmer and wheelwright, learn- 
ing his trade under Henrv Antes in Montgomerv county, and through him 
becoming familiar with the Moravians and their work. Soon after 1741, 



346 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

when the Moravian missionaries were making converts to their failh in 
various parts of Pennsylvania, he became deeply impressed, and later in life 
left the Reformed church and joined what was then known as the Society 
of the Brethren. He was one of the founders of Emmaus in 1741, and of a 
church there, and with others walked from Emmaus to Bethlehem, over 
the Indian trail and there established a separate church. He and Jacob 
Ehrcnhard formally donated one hundred and two acres of land for the 
building thereon of a Moravian village, this including a site for church and 
school. The village was surveyed and laid out in 1757, and in 1761 officially 
received its name Emmaus, which has since become Emaus. He was a 
steward of the church at Emaus until his death, February 26, 1777. His 
wife, a daughter of Abraham and Elizabeth (jMunster) Transue, died in 
Emaus, June 26, 1799. Sebastian H. and Anna C. (Transue) Knauss were 
the parents of thirteen children, all of whom were married at the time of the 
death of Mrs. Anna C. (Transue) Knauss, June 26, 1799. They had ninety- 
one grandchildren born, of whom seventy-three were living, and thirty-six 
great-grandchildren had been born to her, all but four of whom were living. 
It is imjjossible to follow the lines of these thirteen children, but the eighth 
child, Jacob Knauss, was undoubtedly the great-grandfather of Edward Les- 
lie Knauss, of Easton. 

(HI) Jacob Knauss was born June 26, 1757. He was a farmer. He 
married Rosina Corr. 

(IV) Harrison Knauss, grandfather of Edward Leslie Knauss, of Easton, 
was born about the year 17QO, in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. About 1847 
he located at Bath, Northampton county, as a retired farmer, he having 
owned and cultivated a farm at Cherryville, Northampton county. He died 
at the great age of ninety-eight years. For thirty years preceding his death 
he sat in total darkness, but one week prior to his death his sight was re- 
stored and he again looked upon the faces of loved ones who had passed 
from his view thirty years before, he having been totally blind for that 
period. He was a member of the Reformed church. He married a Miss 
Russell, of English parentage, and they were the parents of four children : 
Harrison, of further mention; John, who settled in the West; Benjamin, who 
also settled in the West ; George, a widely known inventor and investigator, 
and expert mechanic, operating a mechanical laboratory at Rittersville. 

(V) Harrison (2) Knauss. eldest son of Harrison (i) and (Russell) 
Knauss. was born at the home farm in Cherryville, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, about the year 1832, and there spent the first fifteen years of 
his life. In 1847 his parents moved to Bath, in the same county, and there 
he learned the machinist's trade, and later, as a member of the firm of Smock 
& Knauss, he engaged in business at Bath, dealing in agricultural implements 
and kindred lines until 1899. He then sold his interest to his partner and 
moved to Easton, where he spent the last six years of his life in retirement, 
dving in 1005. Pie was a member of the Reformed church, and in politics 
a Republican. He is buried at Bath, which had been his home all his active 
years, 1S47-99. Harrison Knauss married Harriet Sherman, daughter of 
Charles .Sherman. 

(YD Edward Leslie Knauss, son of Harrison (2) and Harriet (Sher- 
man) Knauss, was born at Bath. Pennsylvania, August 3. 1861. He was edu- 
cated in Bath public schools, primary, grammar and high, and at Lafayette 
College, where he completed the freshman year. He then spent several 
years at Bethlehem. Pennsjdvania. with a Mr. Gurnet, a merchant tailor, and 
after becnminsr thoroughly familiar with that business located in Easton, 
where with John Heil as a partner he opened a merchant tailoring estab- 
lishment. Their shops were in what is now the Studio for two vears, when 
the firm dissolved, Mr. Knauss purchasing the entire interest. For twenty- 
eight years he continued in business as a merchant tailor, then in 1914 sold 



BIOGRAPHICAL 347 

out, and for two years was not actively enjjagcd in any business, j^fivinp;' him- 
self well earned relaxation. lie then accejjted his present ])osition, travel- 
ing salesman for the Mobile Oil Com])any of Philadelphia. Mr. Knauss is 
a l\ei)ublican in politics, a member of Third Street Reformed Church; Dallas 
Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; the Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; 
Pom]) Council, Royal and Select Masters ; the Commandery, Knights 
Templar; the Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He was a charter 
member of the Lodge of Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and in 
all these bodies retains a lively interest. 

]\Ir. Knauss married, in Bath, Eleanor Jane Batholomew, born in Easton, 
May 15, 1861, daughter of William and Jane (.Stuart) liatholomew. Mr. and 
Mrs. Knauss are the parents of a son, Stuart Russell, born in I'ath, Penn- 
sylvania, June 26, 1884. He was a student at Nazareth Hall, Military Acad- 
emy, Easton Academy, Lcrch's Preparatory School, later under Professor 
Charles Lerch, then entered Lafayette College. In 1909 he entered the Art 
Students League of New York City, spending one year as an art student, 
then returning to Easton, where for five years he was engaged as a draughts- 
man with Williams Michler, architect. lie then was w'ith the engineering 
corps of the Lehigh ^"alley Railroad for eighteen months, after which he 
associated himself with the Cameron Pump Works, New York City, as 
marine pum]) draughtsman, a position he is now most satisfactorily filling. 



GEORGE H. WISE — From an early period in the development of the 
Lehigh \'alle}-, ancestors of George H. Wise, of Bangor, Pennsylvania, have 
been identified with the development of that section, particularly active in 
the lumber business. The first representative of the familj' in Northampton 
county was John Weiss, who moved from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, at an 
early date, the German ancestor, Weiss, now anglicised as Wise, there 
settling upon his first coming. John Weiss owned a small farm between 
Portland and the Delaware W^ater Gap, the exact location being known as 
Slateford. In addition to cultivating his farm, he engaged in boating, and 
rafting lumber on the Delaware river. He there lived a quiet, peaceful life, 
and had been greatly respected in his community. He married a Miss 
LeBar, of French parentage, and they were the parents of a large family, 
including sons: Charles, Reuben, Jesse, David, Micajah, and George H., 
wdio is the grandfather of George H. Wise. 

George H. Weiss, son of John Weiss, was born near Portland, Penn- 
sylvania, and there educated in the public schools. He early became a lum- 
berman, and finally engaged in business for himself, conducting for many 
years a lumber business of large proportions. He made Portland his head- 
quarters, and there built a large saw mill and converted into lumber the logs 
cut in the northern part of the State and in New York, which were rafted to 
his mill on the waters of the Delaware. After the plentiful supply of timber 
began to diminish, j\lr. Wise engaged in the lime business, establishing kilns 
at Portland, and becoming a large dealer. He prospered in both enterprises, 
and was one of the influential and substantial men of his town. He took 
active part in public afifairs, and for a term was burgess of Portland. He 
married Susan Yetter, and they were the parents of a large family, including 
sons: Joseph H., of Portland. Pennsylvania; Lewis Reuben, also of Port- 
land. Pennsylvania ; Hiram, a real estate dealer in Easton ; Frank S., of whom 
further: Clark C. of Bangor; also daughters: Rosanna, Alice, and Hannah; 
these children all marrying. 

Frank S. Wise, son of CJeorge H. and Susan (Yetter) Wise, was born in 
Portland, Pennsylvania, February 3, 1862, and there attended the public 
schools. When school years were over he at once became associated with 
his father in the lumber business, beginning in the saw mill at Portland. He 
remained in Portland with his father until 1884, then moved to Bangor, where 



348 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

he soon afterward, in connection with his brotliers, Clark C. and Joseph, 
formed a partnership and invested in a 5,000 acre tract of timber land located 
in Clearfield county, Pennsylvania ; a devastating forest lire swept their tract, 
causing a severe loss to the brothers, which they estimated at $40,000. Pre- 
viously, in 1881, three of these brothers, Reuben, Joseph and Hiram, had 
opened a lumber yard in Bangor, Pennsylvania, under the firm name. Wise 
Brothers. That business, in 1886, had been acquired by Clark C. Wise, who 
conducted it alone until i8go, adding to the lumber yard a planing mill. 
After the fire, which put him temporarily out of business, Frank S. Wise 
joined his brother, Clark C, in Bangor, and in 1891 was admitted to a part- 
nership in the business, both lumber yard and planing mill. They jointly 
conducted the business in Bangor until 1901, when Frank S. purchased his 
brother's interest and became sole owner. The planing mill had been 
destroyed by fire the previous year, causing a severe loss, and in 1902 Mr. 
Wise replaced this loss with a modern planing mill, ecjuipped with the newest 
and best working machinery. He still continues a successful lumber and 
planing mill business, and in addition to the Bangor plant has lumber inter- 
ests in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, and in West Virginia. His entire life 
from boj'hood has been given to the lumber business, and wdiile he has per- 
haps met with more than his due share of misfortune from the fire fiend, not 
only calm, cool judgment was necessary, but courage and fortitude of the 
highest order were required in such times of financial stress and storm. 
But trials of his mettle but developed that strong, reliant business man, and 
he won substantial success. Frank S. Wise married, in 1881, Clara A. Sny- 
der, born in Bangor, Pennsylvania, daughter of Jacob A. and Rebecca 
(Albert) Snyder, the Snj-ders an old county family. Mr. and Mrs. Wise 
are the parents of twelve children: George H., of further mention; Samuel 
J., Sadie M., married George Pritchard, of Bangor; Fred F., Margaret E., 
Mildred, Grace, deceased; Helen, deceased; Frank S. (2), Ronald S., Clare, 
and Barbara. 

George H. Wise, eldest son of Frank S. and Clara A. (Snyder) Wise, 
and grandson of George H. Wise, was born in Bangor, Penns} Ivania, Feb- 
ruary 18, 1881. After public school courses in Bangor, and a special course 
in Pierce's Business College, of Philadelphia, he began business life under his 
father's direction in his Bangor lumber business. He continued in that line 
for several years, acquiring familiarity w^ith mercantile and financial meth- 
ods, this experience gained under so capable an instructor freely equipping 
him for the place in the business life of his town which he was destined 
to fill. In 1906 he saw the benefit that would be derived from the establish- 
ment of an additional financial institution to the general business interest 
of the community, and that year effected the organization of the Bangor 
Trust Company, in association with George M. Slack. A. A. Seem and Wil- 
liam H. Smith. Mr. Wise was elected treasurer of the company, and most 
ably fills that position. He is also secretary of the Bangor Silk Knitting 
Company, and treasurer of the Bangor Electric Company. 

In politics Mr. Wise is a Republican, takes a deep interest in public 
affairs, and bears his share of civic burdens. He has served Bangor as 
auditor, and school director, his present position being that of borough 
treasurer. He is a member of the Masonic order, and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, one of the founders of the last named order, and 
in 1908 w-as a member of the building committee in charge of the construc- 
tion of the Elks Home. 

Mr. Wise married Ada Mosser, daughter of Alfred W. and Catharine 
Mosser; and they are the parents of three children: Thelma, Naida, and 
Frank. The familv home is at Bangor, Pennsvlvania. 



ORVILLE DEWEY AYERS— When a young man, just past his ma- 
jority, Orville D. Ayers entered the employ of Losey & Company, and 



PUBLIC Lie 



I aSTOK. lknox akd 

...K FOU»JDAT[a»«« j 

I. 
I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 349 

although more than thirty years have since elapsed, the connection still 
exists. The firm has become the corporation, and the salesman of 1887 has 
since 1904 been its executive head. Loscy i!<: Company, Incorporated, is 
one of the largest heavy hardware, machine and machine tools and mill sup- 
ply houses in the Easton section, and supplies an army of customers. 

Mr. Ayers is a descendant of David Avers, of Scotch descent, who owned 
a section of land near Richmond in Northampton county, Pcnns\lvania, 
which he cleared and u[)on \\hich he built a house that was much finer and 
more modern than any other in that section. That house has never been 
owned outside the family, antl so well was it built that it is }et used as a 
residence by a descendant of the l:>uilder. David Aj'ers also built and oper- 
ated a mill in these early days, and continued its ojieration as long as he 
lived, then was succeeded by his son, Moses Aycrs. and he by his son. David 
(2) Ayers, he bj' his son, David (3) Ayers, and he by his son, Da\i(l I'rinton 
Ayers, owner and proprietor of the Belvidere Mills. 

(I) David Ayers, the founder, was a devout Presbyterian, a justice of 
the peace for Lower Mt. Bethel township, and a man highly regarded for his 
sterling character and sound common sense. David Ayers had two sons, 
David and Moses, the former going West and Moses remaining at the farm 
in Mt. Bethel. 

(II) Moses Ayers, son of David Ayers, inherited the homestead, o])erated 
the mill, and being a shrewd, ])ractical man of business, prospered abund- 
antly, and was held in high regard. He was a devoted Presbyterian, like 
his father, and worthily filled his place in church and town. Moses Ayers 
married a Miss Britton, and they were the parents of five sons and four 
daughters: Levi, who went West; David (2), of further mention ; Nathaniel ; 
Moses, who inherited about one hundred acres of his grandfather's original 
farm; Rev. Samuel, a minister of the Presbyterian church; Jane, Betsey, 
Peggy and Sarah. 

(III) David (2) Ayers, son of Moses Ayers, was born at the homestead 
about the year 1810, and always lived in that locality. He continued the old 
mill in commission, married, and passed his years in usefulness, being suc- 
ceeded by his son, Robert Britton, of further mention. 

(IV) Robert Britton Ayers, son of David (2) Ayers, .became a miller 
and mill owner, operating the Belvidere Mills in the days when Durham 
boats on the Delaware lormcd the chief means of freight transportation 
between the Forks of the Delaware and Philadelphia. Pie, in company 
with a Mr. Borton, built a section of the Delaware, Lackawanna & West- 
ern Railroad between Manunka Chunk and Delaware bridge, but after its 
completion returned to the milling business. He owned mills at Harmony 
and Carpcntervillc, New Jersey, and in the last named village was living 
at the time of his death. He married Louisa Bainbridge Pierson. daughter 
of Charles and Margaret (Cline) Pierson. They were the parents of two 
daughters, both deceased, and of two sons, Charles Pierson, who is of ex- 
tended mention in this work, and Orville Dewey, of further mention. 

(V) Orville Dewey Ayers, youngest son of Robert Britton and Louisa 
Bainbridge (Pierson) Ayers, was born in Harmony, N. J., December 3, 1865. 
He obtained a public school education in the public schools of Carpenterville 
and Easton night school, finishing with a commercial course at Easton 
Business College. In 1887 he entered the employ of Losey & Company, 
dealers in heavy hardware, machinery and mill supplies, as a salesman, so 
continuing several years, and in the year 1900 the business was incorporated 
as Losey & Company. Mr. Ayers being chosen vice-president. He was 
elected president in 1904, and has since been the capable chief executive of 
the company. He is a member of the Easton Board of Trade, a member 
of lodge, chapter, council and commandery of the York Rite of Free . 
]\Iasonry, a Noble of Rajah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, is also an 



3SO NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Odd Fellow and an Elk, a member of the Young Men's Christian Associa- 
tion, an attendant of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics 
a Republican. 

Mr. Ayers married, June 15, 1898, Anna A. Pearson, daughter of Birge 
and Anna M. (Weaver) Pearson, of Easton. Mrs. Ayers is active in civic 
and church affairs, and was one of the city's most active women workers in 
the various war activities. Mr. and Mrs. Ayers are the parents of a son, 
Donald Pearson, born March 2, 1904, a high school student, class of 1922. 

Mr. Ayers is one of the substantial, progressive men of his city, deeply 
interested in civic and educational affairs. He has now served four years 
on Easton's Board of Education, member of the executive committee of 
buildings and grounds, and has given the closest attention to his duties. 
Fond of out-of-door recreations, hunting and fishing, he indulges his tastes 
at the preserves of the Maskenozha Fishing and Gun Club, of which he is 
a member. 



ELVIN A. WOLFE — Elvin A. Wolfe, vice-president, in charge of the 
Penn-Allen Cement Companj'. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, and one of the 
most prominent figures in industrial life of this region, is a native of the 
town of Coplay, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, where his birth occurred 
May 4, 1875. Mr. Wolfe is a son of Amos and Eliza (Leh) Wolfe, and is a 
member of one of the oldest pioneer families here. Mr. Wolfe's maternal 
grandfather was of Scotch-Irish ancestry and himself born in the North of 
Ireland, and he was one of the original emigrants from that part of the 
world that settled in Northampton county and his sons Amos, the father 
of the Mr. Wolfe of this sketch, and Jacob, and several other people became 
interested in coal mining here. The old homestead of the family came into 
the possession of one of the sons of Amos Wolfe, who, however, later dis- 
posed of it, so that it is no longer owned by the family. 

Amos Wolfe, the father of Elvin A. Wolfe, was engaged in the opera- 
tion of farming and was also employed by the Coplay Iron Company at 
Coplay, where for years he held the position of foreman. His death oc- 
curred at that place at the age of sixty-four. He married Eliza Leh, 
a daughter of Abram Leh, who owned the site of the old Bonniwell Cement 
Company and for many years operated a grist mill there. ^ilrs. Amos 
Wolfe survives her husband and now resides at Nazareth, at the age of 
eighty-six years. Amos Wolfe and his wife were the parents of eight chil- 
dren, five of whom survive, as follows : James, who is now employed in a 
machine foundry at Allentown : Oscar, who is connected with the Bethlehem 
Steel Company at South Bethlehem ; Hervey, who is employed as the gen- 
eral foreman of the Penn-Allen Cement Company plant at Nazareth ; Alfred, 
who is the owner of a hotel and meat market at South Bethlehem ; and Elvin 
A., with whose career we are here especially concerned. 

Elvin A. Wolfe obtained the elementary portion of his education at 
the Coplay public schools and was graduated from the high school there in 
1891. H!e then took a business course at a business school at Allentown, 
and after completing this, entered the office of Judge Harvey at Allentown, 
where he commenced reading law. Mr. Wolfe, however, soon came to the 
conclusion that he was more interested in the business and industrial life, 
and accordingly gave up the study of that profession and secured a position 
with the Coplay .Cement Company and began work in that mill in the month 
of April. 1893. For five years he remained with the concern and then from 
1898 to igoi he was associated with the American Mill, which was owned 
by a company emjiloycd in the same work. From 1901 to 1907 he worked 
with the Whitehall Cement Mill at Cementon, and rose to a high position 
there. Although he had begun in a comparatively humble capacity, Mr. 
Wolfe had demonstrated his value to his employers from the outset, and had 



BIOGRAPHICAL 351 

risen from the position of burner to that of foreman, then general foreman 
and finally assistant superintendent of the Whitehall plant. It was in IQ07 
that the Penn-Allen Cement Com])any ofl'crcd him the post of superintendent 
in their large works at Nazareth, which he accepted at once, and he has 
remained associated with this concern ever since. At the death of Mr. 
Yeag^er, vice-president of the concern, Mr. Wolfe was chosen to succeed him 
and has continued in charge of the plant under that title. It has l)cen due 
in a large measure to his grasp of practical affairs and his talents as an 
organizer that the company, during his management of it, has increased to 
double its former capacity and now cmjiloys about one hundred and ninety 
men in turning out its ])rodncts. The mill has also been practically rebuilt 
and is now c(|tii]iped entirely with an electric power plant, so that it is a 
completely modern and u])-to-date establishment. The farm in connection 
with tlie cement ])lant is also ojierated by this comjiany, which owns all the 
stock and employs an experienced overseer to superintend the work there. 
Mr. Wolfe is now justly regarded as one of the most caj^able business men 
in this community and enjoys the highest esteem and regard of all his fel- 
low-citizens who know him and admire him for the high standard of business 
ethics which he maintains in all his relations. In addition to liis business 
activities, Mr. Wolfe is keenly and actively interested in the general life of 
Nazareth and is a particularly ]irominent figure in fraternal circles here. He 
is very consjiicuous in the Masonic order and has taken the thirty-second 
degree in I-'ree Masonry, and is a member of Chapman Lodge, Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons ; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Easton Council, Royal 
and Select Masters; Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights Templar; 
the Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and 
Caldwell Consistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret. Mr. Wolfe 
is a RcjHiblican in ])olitics, but is quite unambitious for political preferment 
of any kind. 

Elvin A. Wolfe was united in marriage June 29, 1897, to Ella N. Spangler, 
a daughter of (George and Rebecca (Shafer) Spangler, old and highly re- 
spected residents of Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wolfe are the parents of two children : Arthur, born in 1902, and Royden, 
born in 1905. 



RALPH R. PITTENGER— A graduate of a school of embalming, and 
with many years of experience as an undertaker to guide him, Mr. Pittenger 
has gained high reputation as a funeral director. Sympathetic and cour- 
teous, he fills a most difficult task with unfailing tact, and leaves a pleasant 
memory amid scenes of sorrow and grief. He is a son of Edward S. Pit- 
tenger, a lead-contractor and builder of recent days, grandson of Peter 
Pittenger, a farmer and grocer, and a great-grandson of Garrett and Eliza- 
beth (Terryberry) Pittenger, of New Jersey. Peter Pittenger was a farmer 
of Northampton count}-, and also a merchant, conducting a grocery store 
in Easton, where he died at the age of eighty-five years. He married Maria 
George and they were the parents of a large family : P'dward S., of further 
mention ; Robert, of Bethlehem ; Irwin, of Wilson township ; Peter, of Wil- 
son township ; John, of Steubensville ; Thomas, of Easton ; Howard, deceased ; 
Annie, married Robert Eichlin, of Stcwartsville, New Jersey ; Clara, mar- 
ried John H. Sinclair, of Easton; and May, deceased. 

Edward Stewart Pittenger, eldest son of Peter and Maria (George) Pit- 
tenger, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania. July 23, 1854. and died at his 
home, 1000 Washington street, .September 10, 1918, after an illness of nine 
months. He was educated in the public schools of Easton, and later learned 
the builfkr's trade and became a contractor. He erected many residences 
and buildings in Easton and vicinity, and was one of the best known con- 
tractors and builders of the city. He was a prominent member of St. Mark's 



352 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Reformed Church, and in Free Masonry was affiHated with Dallas Lod^e, 
No. 396, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter, No. 173, Royal Arch 
Masons; Pomp Council, Royal and Select Masters; and Hugh de Payen 
Commandcry, No. 19, Knights Templar. He was also a member of Lehic'ton 
Lodge, and of Valley Union Encampment, Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. Edward S. Pittenger married Matilda Riedy, daughter of Gabriel and 
Mary (Wertman) Riedy, and paternal granddaughter of Abraham and Cath- 
erine Reidy. Mary (Wertman) Reidy was a daughter of Jacob and Bar- 
bara (Andrews) Wertman. The Reidy family were earlv settlers of Heidel- 
berg, Pennsylvania, the Wertmans at Andries, Pennsylvania, both families 
principally engaged as agriculturists. On both sides they were patriots, 
iMrs. Pittenger's great-grandfathers, Reidy and Wertman, both serving as 
soldiers in the Revolutionary Army. Mrs. Mary (Reidy) Pittenger survives 
her husband, and continues her residence at 1000 Washington street, where 
Mr. Pittenger had lived a retired life for some years. They are the parents 
of three sons : Ralph R., of further mention ; Paul S., a graduate of Mcdico- 
Chirurgical Medical College, Philadelphia, and is now connected with the 
H. K. Mulford Company, of that city ; Dr. Paul S. Pittenger, married Lela 
Welch ; Russell, formerly associated with his father in his building opera- 
tions, now connected with the Sun Shipbuilding Company, of Chester, Penn- 
sylvania, where he has charge of the department of interior. He married 
Marcella Garrison of Easton, and they arc the parents of three children: 
Arleyne, Armand and Edgar. 

Ralph R. Pittenger was born in Easton. Pennsylvania. June 11, 1880, 
and has always made that city his home. He was educated in the public 
schools of the city, and in business college, entering business life shortly 
after completing his school years. He obtained his first experience with 
the Baker & Adamson Chemical Com.pany of Easton, for eight years, con- 
tinuing in the employ of that company in a clerical capacity. He then 
formed an association with Zachariah Taylor, and under the firm name, 
Taylor & Pittenger, conducted an undertaking business in Easton for seven 
years. Upon the death of Mr. Taylor in 1912, Mr. Pittenger continued the 
business alone, locating at 54 North Third street, where he is thoroughlv 
furnished in every detail for the modern business of funeral directing. He 
is a graduate of Renard School of Embalming, and is a member of the Penn- 
sylvania Association of Funeral Directors. ]Mr. Pittenger is also intimately 
connected with silk manufacturing, and was one of the organizers of the 
Roehlen & Pittenger Silk Company, now the Roehlen-Pittenger Silk Com- 
pany, Inc., silk manufacturers with plant on Packer street. South Easton. 
That company capitalized at $50,000 conducts a successful business, em- 
ploying about thirty-five hands. Mr. Pittenger is secretary-treasurer of the 
company. 

He is a member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church ; Dallas Lodge. Free and 
Accepted Masons : Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Pomp Council, 
Royal and Select Masters; Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights Templar; 
Lehicton Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Washington Camp, 
Patriotic Sons of America; the Pomfret and Kiwanis clubs. 

Mr. Pittenger married. June 24, 191 5, Ella Kortz Rambo, daughter of 
George G. and Anna (Kortz) Rambo, of Easton. r^Ir. and Mrs. Pittenger 
are the parents of a son, Edward Stewart (2) Pittenger. 



GEORGE H. WELTY— George H. Welty, manager of the Nazareth 
Coal and Lumber Company, and one of the most prominent citizens of 
Nazareth, Pennsylvania, where he is identified with many of the most im- 
portant interests of the town, is a member of one of the oldest and most 
distinguished families in this region, which was founded here bv Philip 
Welty, who came originally from Switzerland and was one of the nine 



BIOGRAPHICAL 353 

brothers, eniigraiits lo this country togftliur with tiieir mother aljout the 
time of the Revolutionary War. The Welty family settled in Center county, 
Pennsylvania, and from this place as a center scattered gradually to many 
other parts of the State, Philip finally becoming a permanent resident of 
Northampton county. Another branch of the family became large slate pro- 
ducers in Monroe county and later at Piradford county, finally retiring to 
Reading, Pennsylvania, where it is still represented. The descendants of 
various of these nine brothers are now found all through Western Penn- 
sylvania as well as in many other States, and many of them have distin- 
guished themselves in different lines of occupation. Philip Welty was 
finally identified with Bushkill township, Northampton county, and now lies 
buried in the cemetery at Salem Church in Moore township where many 
other members of the family, including George and John Welty, repose. 
These Weltys were respectively grandfather and father of the George IT. 
W^'lty of this sketch. The former was born in Northamjiton county, and 
became a prominent man in the region. He erected the formerly well known 
iron works at Hockendau(|ua (now Catasauqua), which he operated with 
great success until his death at the age of sixty-two. His son, John Welty, 
was born in Northampton county, October 24, 1838, and died May 3, 1912, 
in Moore township, where his life had been passed from about 1867. He 
married ]\Iary A. Arner, and they were the parents of the following children : 
I. Emma; 2. Ellen, who became the wife of John P. Tatzinger, and died at 
Bethlehem at the age of fifty-two years. Her two sons recently served 
their nation in Comi)any C, 316th Regiment of Infantry, stationed at Camp 
Meade, and Company. No. 4, of the 13th Training Battalion, also at Camp 
I\Ieade. Their names arc. respectively, Robert, who was captain of his 
company, and was shot through and through by a machine gun, and was 
ten weeks in a French hospital. W'arren was gassed and possibly otherwise 
injured, and died in a hospital in France, October 5, 1918. 3. William, 
who is now engaged in business as a carpenter at Allentown. He married 
Bcnetta Jones, and their son was in the United States Service in France. 
4. Mary, who became the wife of Paul Gapp, of Nazareth. 5. George H., 
with whose career we are here especially concerned. 6. Minnie, who is the 
twin of George H. and is now the wife of Harry Hall, a prosperous farmer 
of Moore township. The elder Mrs. Welty resides with this daughter. 7. 
Eva. who became the wife of H. E. Venter, of Nazareth. 

George H. Welty was born May 29, 1877, at his father's home in North- 
ampton county. His early education was received at the local schools, and 
at the age of seventeen he entered the State Normal School at Stroudsburg, 
Pennsylvania. He supplemented his studies at the last named institution 
with a course at the Allentown Business College, at Allentown, where he 
I)repared himself for a commercial life and immediately afterwards secured 
a position as clerk in the general office of the Lehigh Valley railroad, at 
South Bethlehem. He continued working at that place imtil 1902 when 
he came to Nazareth, resigned from his former position and secured work 
as bookkeeper for two concerns — Asa Wunderly. dealer in lumber and 
coal, and the R. G. & W. J. Wunderly Company, which operated a planing 
mill in this region for about four years. In the year 1906 Mr. Welty formed 
a partnership with Mr. Charles Wunderly and the two gentlemen purchased 
the business of Asa Wunderly which they have since conducted together. 
Under their management the concern has come to be known as the Nazareth 
Coal & Lumber Company, and Mr. Welty and Mr. Wunderly are joint pro- 
prietors, the former acting as general manager of the business. This enter- 
prise has met with a notable success, and Mr. Welty has, since his purchase 
of it, devoted his entire attention to its affairs. Mr. Welty is also keenly 
interested in farming in this region of the State and is the owner of a 
splendid property consisting of one hundred twenty-five acres of land known 

N. n. BIOG.— 23 



354 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

as the Conrad Kocher farm, at Bushkill township. He does not attempt 
to run this farm himself, however, but it is at the present time in charj^e of 
a tenant. Mr. Welty has been exceeding-lj- active in public affairs, and has 
exhibited a most commendable spirit and energy in keeping- the interest of 
the community at large. At the present time he is a member of the Bor- 
ough Council, representing the third ward on that body and is the chairman 
of the lighting committee. In the latter capacity he has done a work of 
great value to the community, the system of lighting at the present time 
being a new one which was installed under his direction and is far more 
adequate than anj^thing that has preceded it. In politics Mr. Welty is a 
Democrat, and in religion he is a Lutheran, being a member of the official 
board of the church of that denomination at Nazareth. 

George H. Welty was united in marriage on Novem.ber 29, 1902. with 
Mary J. Hogan, a daughter of John and Sallie (Fehr) Hogan. Mr. Hogan 
was formerly a resident of Ireland and came to this country as a young 
man. He is remembered now in connection with the slate industry, mostl',' 
at Bangor, where he died about twenty years ago, and was buried in Ver- 
mont. 



MARCUS CHRISTMAN FETTER— Now that the boroughs of South 
Bethlehem, West Bethlehem and Bethlehem are incorporated into the city 
of Bethlehem, and have lost their municipal distinction, it is in order to 
recall the old days when the office of chief burgess was one of high distinc- 
tion, and the Borough Council a veritable Hall of Fame. West Bethlehem 
acquired distinctive borough government in 1888, and the first man elected 
to fill the office of chief burgess was Marcus C. Fetter, who held the office 
for three terms. The first chief executive of the borough has passed away, 
as has the office he held, but his memory is green in Bethlehem, where his 
life was principally passed. There he won high reputation as a man of 
clear judgment and fine business ability, a good friend and neighbor, a lov- 
ing and devoted husband. He was the last survivor of his immediate fam- 
ily, and when his useful life ended he was laid at rest in beautiful Nisky 
Hill Cemetery. He was of an ancient Moravian family, son of Herman 
Marcus Fetter, and grandson of Mark and Elizabeth (Harbach) Fetter, of 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

Herman Marcus Fetter was born in Bethlehem, June 2, 1814, and died 
March 29, 1876. After school days were over he learned the tinsmith's trade 
with C. L. Knauss, of Bethlehem, and later he established in business for 
himself at Hellertown, Pennsylvania. There he continued in business as a 
tinsmith, but later he bought the Hellertown Hotel and conducted both the 
hotel and his tinning business. Later he sold his tin shop and devoted him- 
self entirely to the management of the hotel. After selling out the Heller- 
town Hotel, he moved to South Bethlehem and for a time was in the lumber 
business with Boshek, Knauss & Companv, going thence to Freemansburg, 
Pennsylvania, where he was proprietor of the Swan Hotel for three years. 
He again returned to old South Bethlehem and became proprietor of the 
hotel which was known for many years as the Fetter Hotel. For twenty- 
two years Mr. Fetter was a resident of old South Bethlehem, but in June, 
1871, he retired from business. He was elected sheriff of Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1862, receiving his commission November 12 of that year. 
In October. 1870, he was elected representative to the Pennsylvania Legisla- 
ture from Lehigh county. He had friends all over the State, and was held 
in high esteem wherever known. He was big-hearted and generous, genial 
and kindlv. always ready and willing to relieve the needy at the first call. 
The following tribute appeared in an obituary notice: 




^'%. <a 




THE NEW ro«C : 
PUBLIC LIBHAK'f 



- ASTfiK. LKI 



-J 



BIOGRAPHICAL 355 

Nor further seek his virtues to disclose. 
Or draw his frailties from their dread abode, 
There they alike in trcnibliug hope repose. 
The bosom of his fathers and his God. 

No man was better known in the State or county, and none could be more hospitable 
and courteous, more cordial in his welcome of a visitor. It was said of him that, "He 
always said the best he could of everybody." 

Herman Marcus Fetter was a Moravian in religious faith, his father 
and mother being members of that faith, their iriarriage being contracted 
under the old Moravian custom of the elders of the congregation choosing 
by lot the young people who were to marry. He was a member of the 
Masonic order, an ardent Democrat, and a man of more than ordinary intel- 
ligence and character. lie married, Sepleniljer 3, 1839, Rev. Mr. Herman 
of the Moravian church officiating, Christianna Christman, of Lower Saucon 
township, and thoy were the parents of ten children, Marcus Christman, 
the eldest. 

Marcus Christman Fetter was born at Hellertown, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, August 6, 1841, and died at his home, Second street and Pros- 
pect avenue, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, May i, 1914. He was educated in 
the Moravian Parochial School, and after coiuplcting his English studies 
entered Philadeli)hia College of Pharmacy, pursuing the course to a fin- 
ish and being among the first graduates from that institution, now .so well 
known and Jiighly regarded. After becoming a registered pharmacist, he 
entered the ernploy oif Charles E. Eggert, of Philadelphia, and continued a 
clerk in liis employ for a period of eight years, including his time at the 
College of Phanuacv, which had been devoted to the drug business. At 
the death of his father, he withdrew from the business and succeeded to the 
ownership and management of the Fetter House in South Bethlehem, re- 
placing the old building in 1890 with a modern three-story hotel building 
erected on the site of the old one, Main street and Lehigh avenue. In 1887 
Mr. Fetter became executive and general manager of the George Uhl estate, 
a post he filled with great ability until his death in 1914. In 1888 he was 
elected the first burgess of West Bethlehem, and for three terms he admin- 
istered the affairs of the borough with fidelity and zeal. Like his father 
he was an ardent Democrat, but he never aspired to political office outside 
the local positions his friends were more anxious to give him than he was to 
accept. He took a deep interest in local affairs, and was one of the men whose 
progressiveness and public spirit placed the Bcthlehems in the position they 
today occupy. He was a member of Bethlehem Lodge No. 283, Free and 
Accepted Masons; Zinzendorf Chapter No. 216, Royal Arch Masons, and 
Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights Templar, the latter an Easton body. 
He was a member of the advisory board of Bethlehem Trust Company, and in 
his religious connection a Moravian. 

Mr. Fetter married, September 29, 1868, Amanda Getz, Rev. Lewis Hubner 
officiating. Mr. and Mrs. Fetter had no children of their own, but the beauti- 
ful home at Prospect and Second avenues, which he built in 1892, well knew 
the voice of children, four having been therein reared and treated as the chil- 
dren of the owners. These children are now: Mrs. William Bender (nee 
Getz), a cousin of Mrs. Fetter ; Fred Getz, a brother of Mrs. Bender ; Margaret 
Eberman. daughter of Rev. Clarence and Ida (Getz) Eberman, the latter a 
sister of Mrs. Fetter, the former a Moravian minister of Lancaster, Pennsvl- 
vania, who was left both fatherless and motherless; and Bertha Tallon, who 
married Norman Ludwig. who is now in the United States Army. Mrs. 
Ludwig again returned to Mrs. Fetter and the old home. Mrs. Fetter is a 
woman of womanly grace and charm, highly esteemed in the social circle in 
which she moves and abundant in good works. She is very active in the 
charitable and ladies' aid activities of the Moravian church. 



356 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

GEORGE B. GREEN — Now nearing octogenarian honors, George B. 
Green revic\\s a lonsj and active life spent mainly in his native Easton, which 
is 3^et his home. Without early educational training he started out to make 
his own way, and there has been no time in his life since the age of six years 
when he has been dependent upon anyone. He ran errands, set up pins, kept 
a hotel, ran a tenpin alley, drove a huckster wagon, drove a team, bought 
stock, and bv every honest means has fought his way. Together with four 
brothers he marched away in answer to President Lincoln's call, and his 
record as a soldier is one of honor. He comes from the old M. J. Green 
family, founded bv William Green, who came to America from England at 
the age of twenty'years and landed in Philadelphia. Later he was found on 
Long^ Island, New York, and there he married Joanna, daughter of John 
Reeder. About 1700 he moved to Ewing township, Mercer county, New 
Jersey, where he purchased three hundred and forty-five acres from Col. 
Daniel Coxe, the deed bearing date 1712. On this purchase he built the first 
brick house in Ewing township, and the west gable of that house yet bears 
in plain figures the date of erection, 1717, and the house is still owned in the 
family name. William Green became one of the first judges of Hunterdon 
county. New Jersev, and otherwise was prominent and useful. His grave- 
stone 'in Ewing church yard gives his death as in 1722. George B. is a son of 
Moses Green,"born in New Jersey, a farmer and teamster, who settled in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, after liis marriage to Sarah Schooley, and there died 
at the age of seventy-five years. 

George B. Green was born in Easton, September 26, 1839, the family 
home being on what is now Sixth street, just in the rear of the old Mount 
Vernon Hotel. He was never sent to school, but ran errands from the time 
he was six years of age, earning a few cents, and three weeks comprises all 
the time he ever spent in a schoolroom. The Butcher butcher shop was 
opposite his home, and there he spent a lot of his time getting his meats for 
his services around the shop. Later he set up pins, going on at eight o'clock 
and working until midnight, for a weekly wage of $1.50. He did other work 
and became a keen, self-reliant young man, living in Easton until his enlist- 
ment in the Union Armv in September, 1861. He went to the front a private 
of Capt. Seymour's Battery C, Fifth Regiment, United States Regular Army, 
and served "three vears, winning promotion to the rank of corporal, then to 
that of sergeant. In the same battery were three of his brothers, and a fourth 
brother served in another branch of the army, making five sons of one family 
who wore the blue in that trving period of our country's history. When his 
term of enlistment expired in September, 1864, George B. Green returned 

to Easton. . r 1 c -lj 1 

For eleven years after the war he was proprietor of the Star Hotel, 
Easton, and for the last seven vears of that period was owner of the property. 
He sold the property about 1876, and bought a bowling alley on Northampton 
street, the same one on which he formerly worked as pin boy. He ran those 
allevs'for four vears, then sold out and accepted a position on Easton's police 
force Seven vears later he resigned and bought the bowling alley under the 
Easton Trust 'Companv building, running that alley for several years. He 
followed several plans of earning a livelihood during the next few years, then 
eno-ao-ed in huckstering, drove a lumber wagon, and turned his hand to any- 
thino^ which promised to return a profit. About 1900 he began stock dealm.g, 
attending- sales in the countrv and purchasing cows, horses, sheep and hogs, 
or anvthmg in the live stock line for which he could later find a market 

Durin"- one of the furloughs which he spent in Easton while a soldier, 
Mr Green married in W^ashington, New Jersey, Eliazbcth Hoffman born in 
Easton in 1840, died there December 7, 1895, daughter of Henry Hoffman, 
then living near Belvidere, New Jersey. They established a home in Easton 
at once and the young husband returned to the army. The maintenance of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



357 



that home was always his first consideration, and in Easton the}' ever resided. 
Mr. Green is a member of Lafayette Post No. 17, Grand Army of the Republic, 
and of the Junior Order United American Mechanics. His political action is 
strictly independent. Children: Ferdinand, who died in i8g8; Anne, married 
(first) Thomas Carr, (second) Harry Shickp ; Sarah, married William Poff, 
of Easton ; and Frank, a resident of Easton. 



PAUL EDGAR SCHWARZ, M.D.— Dr. Schwarz was born in the city 
of Easton, July _•(), uScji, I'llih of the thirteen children of Paul G. and Anna 
(Voight) Schwarz. lie was educated in the Easton public schools, finishing 
and graduating with the high school class of 1909. lie entered Jefferson 
Medical College, and was graduated thence M.D., class of 1913. The same 
year he was appointed chief interne to Easton Hos])ital, and in IQ14 resigned 
to serve as ])hysician to the Pennsylvania State Sanitarium for Tuberculosis 
at Reading, there remaining eighteen months. In 1916 he returned to Easton, 
and has since been successfully engaged in ])ractice in his native city. He is 
a member of the medical staff of Easton Ilosjjital, and chief of the anesthetist 
department, also having his own private practice. He is a member of the 
Northamjiton County Medical Society, Lehigh Valley Medical Society, Penn- 
.sylvania State Medical Socict\', American Medical Association, and Easton 
Physicians' Protective Association. Dr. .Schwarz is a Republican in politics, 
member of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Northampton Rejiublican Club, 
Dallas Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, the Tall Cedars fif Lebanon, and is 
a patron of all hcallhful out-of-door sports. At college and in high school he 
took a leading part in athletics, and during his last two years at high school 
he was physical director of his class. 

Dr. Schwarz married, November 24, 1915, Mary Jane Baumer, daughter 
of George D. and Senia K. (Rutz) Baumer, of Easton, her father deceased, 
her mother a member of the prominent Butz family of Easton, descending 
from Peter Butz, who came from his native Switzerland to Pennsylvania in 
1730. Mrs. Schwarz is a graduate of Easton High School, class of 1912, 
member of the Ladies' Auxiliary, Easton Hospital, and active in charitable 
work. Dr. and Mrs. Schwarz are the parents of a daughter, Jane Baumer. 



EDWIN HULICK GLANZ— Of genial, lovable disposition, a delightful 
companion at all times, and the life of every circle in which he moved, Mr. 
Glanz added to these personal traits a fine business ability and a sincere 
desire to be of service to his fellow men. When the news of his passing was 
made known, regret was universally and freely expressed. Edwin H. Glanz 
was a son of Edwin Sherrer and Mary A. (Rinek) Glanz, and a grandson of 
Col. Charles and Elizabeth (Evans) Glanz, the latter the founder of the fam- 
ily in Easton. Col. Charles Glanz, son of Hcinrich Glanz, was born in Walke- 
reid, Germany, in 1826, died in Easton, Pennsjdvania, in 1880. He was edu- 
cated under private tutors, and at Blankerburg College, and in 1845 came to 
the United States, finally settling in Easton after short experiences in Phila- 
delphia and Pottsville. He became prominent and popular in Easton, and in 
1857 was appointed consul to Stettin, Germany, bv President Buchanan. He 
only remained at his post one year, then returned to Easton to care for his 
business interests. In 1859. Governor Packer commissioned him captain of 
the "Easton Jaegers," and at the outbreak of the Civil War in t86i he was 
one of the first to respond to the president's call for men. He was commis- 
sioned major of the Ninth Regiment. Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, by 
Governor Curtin, and in August, 1862, he began organizing Northampton's 
famous "Own." the One Hundred and Fifty-third Regiment, and in October, 
1862, was commissioned its colonel. The One Hundred and Fifty-third Regi- 
ment was attached to the Eleventh Army Corps, under Gen. Franz Siegel, 
saw hard service, and at Chancellorsville, Colonel Glanz was captured by the 



358 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

enemy. He was confined in Libby prison for a time, but finally was ex- 
changed, although sadly broken in health and unable to continue in the serv- 
ice. He returned to Easton, and in 1871 was appointed chief of the fire 
department. He was prominent in civic and business life until his death 
in 1880. 

Edwin Hulick Glanz was born in Easton, March 22, 1883, died at his 
home. No. 145 Bushkill street, in his native city, January 11, 1919. His 
mother, Mary Alice (Rinek) Glanz, married (second) James R. Zearfoss, who 
died January 11, 1919, she still continuing her residence in Easton. Edwin H. 
Glanz completed high school courses with graduation, class of 1900, then 
completed college preparation at Professor Lerch's School. He then entered 
Lafayette College, whence he was graduated C.E.. class of 1904. Following 
graduation he entered the employ of the Zearfoss & Hilliard Lumber Com- 
pany of Easton, and two years later (1906) he was elected secretary of the 
company. He was also president of the Delaware Ice Company, and had 
already gained an honorable position in the business world in which he 
moved. He made friends easily and always held them by the charm of his 
personality and the uprightness of his life. 

Mr. Glanz took an active and prominent part in all forms of war work 
and rendered efficient service in the several Liberty Loan, Red Cross, War 
Chest drives, and aided greatly in the campaigns to raise funds for the Easton 
Hospital. In politics he was a Democrat, and formerly was a member of the 
city committee representing the Second Ward. He was an active member of 
Christ Lutheran Church, member of the church council, and chairman of the 
music committee. He was a member of the Easton Board of Trade, the 
Rotary and Pomfret clubs, and Rho Chapter, Chi Phi fraternity (Lafavette). 

Mr. Glanz married. April 17, 1912, Anna M. Meeker, daughter of Charles 
W. and Elizabeth (Noll) IMeeker, of Easton. Mrs. Glanz survives her hus- 
band with two children, Mary Elizabeth and Frances Louise. 



REV. BERNARD J. SOMMER— From boyhood Father Sommer had a 
strong predilection for the priesthood, and there being no obstacles in the 
way, his education was begun and carried along with that end in view. He 
was a regularly ordained priest of the Roman Catholic church when he came 
to the United States, his first pastorate being the Church of the Holy Name 
in Dayton, Ohio, his present church being Our Lady of Hungary in North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, to which he came in 191 1. 

He is a son of John and Susanna Sommer, residents of Iglo, Hungary, 
and there Bernard j". Sommer was born May 17, 1864. He began his educa- 
tion in the parochial school, and later studied divinity at theological schools, 
finally being ordained by the bishop of the diocese a priest of the Roman 
Catholic church. He was in charge of churches in Hungary, and performed 
priestly duties in his native diocese until 1906, when he came to the United 
States, being then forty-two years of age. and highly recommended. He 
served his first church, the Holy Name, at Dayton, Ohio, as its pastor for two 
vears, the congregation of that church being principally Hungarian in birth 
or parentage. His work there was highly commended, but there being need 
for a man oi his talents and race in that great center of the anthracite coal 
mining industry in Pennsvlvania, Schuylkill county, he was transferred by 
Archbishop Ryan, of Philadelphia, to the church of Sheppton. There he min- 
istered to a congregation of mixed nationality for a short time, then was 
transferred to the church at McAdoo, a coal mining borough in Schuylkill 
county on the Lehigh Vallev railroad. After serving the church at McAdoo 
for one year. Father Sommer was transferred to a parish in Reading, Penn- 
sylvania, there remaining until iQii, when he was appointed pastor of the 
parish, Our Lady of Hungary, in Northampton, Pennsylvania, a village of 
Northampton county, on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, thirteen miles 
west of Easton. 




_sr 



» 1 1 . Mj» iiwi»i!»<wi|^«p^pMp«i^Ba>M<MB>!^Mti8^''* ^ w ' j f" " 







L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 359 

Northampton, a busy manufacturinqf center, with mills, quarries and 
breweries, offered a fruitful field for this earnest priest, and his work in the 
town has been fjreatly blessed. His predecessor had begun the erection of a 
church which Father Sommer has completed, and to the church property he 
has added the rectory, which formerly was a rented house. He has built a 
large parochial school building at a cost of $50,000, containing in addition 
to the schoolrooms a large hall for public use. Six teachers are employed 
in the grades and a kindergarten teacher cares for the begiimers. During 
the seven years he has been i)astor of Our Lady of Hungary parish, he has 
expended about $ioo,(Xx:) in new buildings, while si)iritual conditions in every 
dejjartment of the parish of two thousand souls have been most satisfactory. 
His is a Hungary parish largely, and upon the pastor as spiritual leader and 
adviser in material things a great responsibility rests. Sixteen societies or 
sodalities are maintained in splendid working order, including the Society of 
St. Peter and Paul for the men of Hungarian birth, and the Society of St. 
Joseph for men of Cicrman birth. Father Sommer is a man of progressive 
spirit and ideas, and is untiring in his zealous efforts for the ui)lift of his 
I)eople. 



TIMOTHY CLEMENTS— In faraway Manchester, England, both James 
Clements and his son, Timothy Clements, were born. The first named has 
long since gone to bis reward, while the son Timothy, although past the 
years allotted to man, "three score and ten," is yet a resident of Easton, 
Pennsylvania, well known and highly esteemed. They are a long lived race, 
James Clements living to the age of eighty, his wife to the age of ninety-four 
years. Father and son were skilled mechanics, the' former a machinist, the 
latter a moulder, a trade he followed actively for forty-two years. He is 
now living retired from all business, passing the evening of his life in con- 
tentment and ease. 

lames Clements was born in Manchester, England, and died in Easton, 
Pennsylvania, an octogenarian. He was a machinist, by trade, but for many 
years was a stationary engineer, preferring that occupation. He married 
Ellen Maxwell, in lingland, who survived him until ninety-four years was 
her span of life. They were the parents of eleven children, three of whom 
are yet living: Timothy, of further mention; James, blacksmith of Easton'; 
and William, a barber of Glendon, Pennsylvania. 

Timothy Clements was born in Manchester, England, April 10, 1844, and 
there at the age of nine years began at a boy's work in a cotton mill, wiping 
machinery, which was not at all suitable for so young a child. Under the 
English law he was obliged to attend school half of each day until twelve 
years of age, then it was permissible to keep children from school entirely. 
These half-day sessions comprised his only school opportunities, of such 
great account to his jiarents was the penny per daj' which he was paid when 
he first began these half-days as a wiper at the mill. He continued a mill 
worker as long as the family remained in Manchester, the removal to the 
United States being accomplished by the father, James Clements, in 1S53, he 
finding a location in Easton, Pennsylvania, and at once sending for his family. 
They came across the Atlantic in the lilnck Pjall liner Isaac Webb, a sailing 
ship, the father having crossed in the same vessel on her ]:)revious trip, 
only three months about intervening between the coming of the father 
and the arrival of his family. Seven weeks were spent in crossing, an acci- 
dent of the voyage yet well being remembered, a severe storm, when all 
passengers were kept below decks with no expectation that they would ever 
again see the light of day. After arriving in Easton, the lad Timothy was 
sent to school for a time, but soon found work in the ore mines at a wage of 
fifty cents daily, of which he took instant advantage. From the mines he 
went to the canal, driving a team of mules on the tow-path between Bucks 



36o NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Mountain and Jersey City, also driving- to Philadelphia at other times. Later 
he left the canal and became a tender to the water-wheels at the blast fur- 
naces, his father being- the engineer at the furnaces. He continued at that 
occupation until arriving at a suitable age to learn a trade, then entered the 
emplo}' of the Glendon Iron Works and began learning the machinist's trade. 
He served one year, then was transferred to the foundry department of the 
works, and for three years was an apprentice to the moulder's trade. As 
soon as he had attained the dignity of a journeyman he left Glendon, went 
to Hazelton, Pennsylvania, and spent seven years there and in other parts 
of the anthracite coal region. He then returned to Easton, entered the employ 
of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as a moulder in their Easton shops, 
but at the end of eight months returned to Hazelton, where he remained 
three years. In 1877 he again entered the foundry department of the Glendon 
Iron Works, remaining with that company until it closed its plant and went 
out of business. He then obtained employment with the Lehigh Valley 
Railroad Company as a moulder in their Easton shops, remaining there until 
they removed the foundry elsewhere. From that time until his retirement 
he was employed in various shojis including the Ingersoll-Rand, Young & 
Slough, on Ferry street, Easton, and the Roland Firtli shops at Phillipsburg. 
During this period he was stricken with a severe illness, and for two years 
was incapacitated. Upon his recovery he went to Dover, New Jersey, where 
he was employed as a moulder for seven years, after which he returned to 
Easton, where he is now living a retired life. He became a member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church at the age of twenty-one, and has always con- 
tinued in that faith. In politics he is a Republican. 

Mr. Clements married, in Hazelton, April 28, 1870, Elizabeth Griffith, of 
Jamesville, Pennsylvania, who died in Easton, December i, 1909. She was a 
devout Methodist, a woman of strong Christian character and home making 
attributes, greatly beloved by all who knew her. Mr. and Mrs. Clements 
were the parents of eight children: i. Herbert James. 2. Mary Elizabeth, 
married Joseph Graff, chief engineer of telegraph and telephones, Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western railroad, resides in Scranton, Penns^dvania ; three 
children, Pauline, Joseph and Mary E. 3. Walter John, of Easton, married 
and has two children, Walter and Hazel. 4. Thomas Henry, deceased, mar- 
ried and had one daughter, Dora. 5. Wilbert Timothy, of Jersey City, 
married Marie Trimmer. 6. Dora Ella, married Herbert Rice, of Easton. 
7. Leroy, deceased. 8. Laura, deceased. 



JAMES A. MORGENSTERN, M.D.--In 1869, Frederick Louis Morgen- 
stern came from Germany to the United States, aged twenty-four years. He 
was a skilled mechanic and became one of Easton's leading contractors and 
builders. He married Christina Schickley, and they are the parents of six 
children. Tames A., now a successful phvsician of Easton, being their fifth 
child. 

Dr. James A. Morgenstern was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, April 24, 
1881. He was educated in the public schools of the city and Lerch's Pre- 
paratory School. He then began his professional training at the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, Baltimore, Maryland, there continuing until gradu- 
ated M.D., class of 1907. He spent a year as interne in Baltimore City 
Hospital, and in 1908 began general medical practice in Easton. He is a 
member of the Northampton County Medical Society, Pennsylvania State 
Medical Society, American Medical Association, of which he is a fellow, and 
is very popular among his professional brethren. He holds the confidence and 
respect of his clientele, and is well established in public regard. In his col- 
lege years he was fond of athletics, especially football, and in his recreations 
his choice is for those out-of-door sports, his particular sports being hunting 
and fishing. Dr. Morgenstern is a Republican in politics, a member of 



ASTOH, LKHOX 



I 





^tU{y<^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 361 

Trinity Evan.cfclical Cluirch, Easton Board of Trade, Phi Chi fraternity, Fra- 
ternal Order of Eafi;les, and Loyal Order of Moose. 

Dr. Morgenstern married, December 26, 1912, Emily B. McCormick, daugh- 
ter of Thomas and Anna McCormick, of Easton. They are the parents of 
two children : Anna A. and Frederick Lewis. 



CLEMENT STEWART— Charles Stewart, the founder of this branch 
of the Stewart family in America, came from Scotland in 1720 and bought a 
farm near Red Hill in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. lie was a captain of 
Provincial troops in the French and Indian War. He died at Red Hill, May 
13, 1764, his birth in .Scotland bearing date of March 11, 1691. Charles (2) 
Stewart, his son, was born in Scotland, May g, 1716, and died at Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania, June 11, 1789. His son, Robert Stewart, born June 9, 1733, died 
in Warren, then Sussex county. New Jersey, July 22, 1809. He was a man 
of consequence, an elector, and member of the New Jersey General Assembly. 
He married Sarah Johnston. His son, Thomas Stewart, born March 19, 1752, 
died near Stewartsvillc, New Jersey, December 31, 1836. He was a large land 
owner, a surveyor, justice of the peace, judge of common pleas, a lieutenant 
in the Continental army, a man widely known and everywhere respected. He 
married, March 19, 1778, Rachael, daughter of William Dewees, of Mont- 
gomery county, Pennsylvania. His youngest son, John Stewart, married 
Elizabeth Green, and they were the parents of Clement Stewart, of Easton, 
who is of further mention. 

John Stewart, above mentioned, was born in Stewartsvillc, New Jersey, 
September 27, 1796. After public school courses in Stewartsvillc, he spent a 
few years as a student in an Easton private school, and then entered business 
life. He organized the firm Stewart & Company, manufacturers of wire, and 
continued the head of the firm until his death. He married Elizabeth Green, 
born in Easton, June 28, 1800, daughter of Benjamin and Elizabeth (Traill) 
Green, and a granddaughter of Robert Traill, a distinguished officer of the 
Continental army. His wife, Elizabeth (Grotz) Traill, is mentioned in his- 
tory as "one of the brave women of the Revolution." Elizabeth (Green) 
Stewart was a descendant of William Green, who came from England to 
America, a yotmg man of twenty, landing at Philadelphia, and about 1700 
settled near Trenton, New Jersey. There in 1712 he bought three hundred 
and twenty acres of farm land from Col. Daniel Coxe, and built the first brick 
house in Ewing township. He died in 1722, and is buried in Ewing 
churchyard. He married Joanna, daughter of John Reeder, and they 
were the parents of Richard Green, who married Mary, daughter of 
George Ely, of Trenton, New Jersey, son of Josiah Ely, who came from 
England, April 20, 1683, and bought four hundred acres, now the site of the 
city of Trenton. Richard and Mary (Ely) Green were the parents of Richard 
(2) Green, who married Phoebe Moore, daughter of Nathaniel and Joanna 
(Pruddcn) Moore. They were the parents of Benjamin Green, who married 
Elizabeth Traill, and they were the parents of Elizabeth (Green) Stewart, 
wife of John Stewart, and mother of Clement Stewart. 

This ancestry includes manv distinguished men. The Greens, being 
members of the Society of Friends, did not take part in the Revolution as 
soldiers,, yet were strongly on the Colonial side, and aided the cause of 
Independence b)' generous gifts of money and provisions for which the origi- 
nal receipts are in existence. When General Washington was preparing to 
cross the Delaware upon that fateful Christmas night he needed guides upon 
whose courage and fidelity he could rely. Among the three which he found 
to guide him from the Delaware to the British camp in Trenton was William 
Green, of Trenton, an uncle of Elizabeth (Green) Stewart. Rev. Peter 
Prudden, grandfather of Joanna (Prudden) Moore, was one of the noted men 
of Colonial times. He came from England with John Davenport and John 



362 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Harvard (for whom Harvard College is named), in 1739, and was one of the 
founders of New Haven, Connecticut, and one of the "Seven Pillars." In 
Memorial Hall at Hartford three clergymen were selected for a special remem- 
brance in a memorial window installed at the expense of the State, those 
three being Thomas Hooker, John Davenport and Peter Prudden. He was 
also a founder of Alilford, Connecticut, where a memorial tablet to him 
adorns the walls of the church, and on a memorial bridge over a beautiful 
stream in the town is a stone to his memory. His granddaughter Joanna, 
daughter of Rev. John Prudden, of Newark, married'Xathaniel Moore, son 
of Capt. Samuel Moore, a man prominent in military and civil life on Long 
Island, serving in the Indian wars and in many public offices. His son, 
Nathaniel, bought five hundred acres two miles from Pennington, Mercer- 
county, New Jersey, and there died September 6, 1759, aged seventy-two. He 
married Joanna Prudden, daughter of Rev. John Prudden, and granddaughter 
of Rev. Peter Prudden. 

Capt. Samuel Moore was a son of Rev. John ^Moore, of England, who 
settled first in New England, and later at Newtown. Long Island, in 16^2. 
He married Margaret, daughter of Edward Howell, of Marsh Gibbon, "of 
Buckinghamshire, England, who came with his family to Boston in 1639, 
was a land owner in Lynn, and in 1639-40 settled in Long Island. Capt. 
Samuel Moore, son of Rev. John and Margaret (Howell) Moore, married 
Mary Reed ; their son, Nathaniel Moore, married Joanna Prudden ; their 
daughter. Phoebe Moore, married Richard Green ; their son, Benjamin Green, 
married Elizabeth Traill; their daughter, Elizabeth Green, married John 
Stewart, and they were the parents of Clement Stewart, of Easton. 

Elizabeth (Traill) Green descended from George Traill, a cadet of the 
family of Traill of Blebo, Fifeshire, Scotland, who emigrated to the Orkney 
Islands when a young man. Robert Traill, the head of the family in America, 
was a son of Rev. Thomas and Sabilla (Grant) Traill, his mother a daughter 
of Rev. Alexander Grant, of South Ronalday. He came to Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania, in 1763, being then nineteen years of age. Not liking that city 
he moved to Easton, where he taught school, studied law, was an ardent 
patriot, major and quartermaster of Pennsylvania and New Jersey troops, 
and after peace came was sheriff and judge of Northampton county — in fact, 
held about every office within the gift of the people. He married, March 3, 
1774, Elizabeth Grotz, a woman of intelligence and energy, whose German 
thrift made her a true helpmate to her Scotch husband. Their daughter, 
Elizabeth Traill, married Benjamin Green, as stated. 

Another line of descent to Clement Stewart is from Edward Farmar and 
William Dewees. through Rachael Dewecs, wife of Thomas i^tewart, and 
daughter of William and Rachael (Farmar) Dewees. Edward Farmar was a 
son of Major Jaspar Farmar, of the British army, and a resident of Cork, 
Ireland. Major Farmar bought five thousand acres from the Penns, but 
before coming to Pennsylvania to settle upon the land he died. Edward 
Farmar came to Pennsylvania with many other members of his family when 
fourteen years of age. and became one of the prominent men of Pennsylvania. 
His settlement at Whitemarsh was known as Farmarstown. and his grist- 
mill on the Wissahickon had an extended reputation as early as 1713. He 
was a justice of the peace for Philadelphia county for fcrtv years, a member 
of the State Legislature from about 1710 to 1732, and for some time was 
county commissioner. Lie died November 3, 1745, and is buried in the 
churchward of St. Thomas Protestant Episcopal Church at Whitemarsh, 
where a monument stands to his memory. He married Rachael, maiden 
name unknown, and their daughter Rachael married W^illiam (2) Dewees, 
son of William (i) and Anna (Christiansen) Dewees. These Farmars held 
their estate at Easton Neston, Northampton county, England, in 1480. and 
were a prominent family, who later were granted estates in Cork and Tip- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 363 

perary, Ireland, and from that branch spranj:; Edward, father of Rachael 
(Farmar) Dcwees. One of the family, Lady Juliana Farmar, married Thomas 
Penn, who ordered the plan of Easton, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
the name Easton being from Easton Neston, the Farmar family seat in Eng- 
land, the county also in Pennsylvania being named from Northampton county 
in England. In naming ICaston streets, Thomas Penn used many family 
names : Second street was formerly I'armar street ; Third street v^-as Pomfret 
street; I'ourth street was Hamilton; and I'^ifth street was Juliana street. 

Rachael Farmar married William (2) Dcwees, of a famil\- believed to 
be identical with the D'Ewees, of French Huguenot descent, and famed in 
French history. In 1742, William Dewecs owned and operated a paper mill 
in the neighborhood of Germantown, Pennsylvania. He built a stone man- 
sion at Whitcmarsh, and on the gable end can be seen the initials W. D. R. 
He married Anna Christiansen, and they were the parents of William (2) 
Dewecs, who married Rachael I'^armar. One of the daughters of William (2) 
Dewees, Rachael, born in i/^o, died in 1816, married Thomas Stewart, then 
a lieutenant in the Continental army. One of the sons, William (3) Dewees, 
was a colonel, and when General Washington intrenched the army at Valley 
Forge, Colonel Dewees' family was residing there. The Valley Forge burned 
by the British in September, 1777, belonged to Colonel Dewecs. This, in 
brief, is the ancestry of Clement Stewart and reveals the fact that the Stew- 
arts, Farmars, Traills, Dewees, Elys, Howells, Greens and -Stewarts were 
men of character and force, ready with pen or sword to uphold the cause of 
liberty and the land they loved. All were rejjresented in the Colonial and 
Revolutionary wars, and Princeton College has been liberally endowed by 
two members of the Green family. 

Clement Stewart, son of John and Elizabeth (Green) Stewart, was born 
in Easton, Pennsylvania, November 25, 1842. He acquired his early educa- 
tion in the private schools conducted bj' Dr. Lehman and the Rev. Dr. Mc- 
Phail. and also studied under Professors Edsall Ferrict and R. B. Youngman, 
of Lafayette College. He was so well ]3reparcd that upon matriculation at 
Princeton he entered the sophomore class in 1862, and was graduated A.B., 
class of 1864. Following graduation he entered the emploj^ of Stewart & 
Company, manufacturers of wire, his father, John Stewart, being the capable 
head of that firm. The young man began at the bottom, but rose to the 
position of assistant superintendent after mastering the work of several 
departments of the business. He continued as assistant superintendent until 
1892, when he resigned after twenty-eight years of active connection with 
Stewart & Company, during which time he gave to the business his energy 
and devotion. In 1S89, Mr. Stewart was appointed assistant postmaster of 
Easton, and for seventeen ^ ears he held that position. Mr. Stewart, in 1863, 
enlisted in Company D. Thirty-eighth Regiment, Pennsylvania, known as 
the "Iron Regiment," recruited when Pennsylvania was invaded by the Con- 
federates. The regiment was mustered into the service in June, 1863. and 
honorably discharged August 7, 1863. He was for years a member of McKecn 
Post, Grand Army of the Republic, but later transferred to the staff of the 
national commander of the Grand Army of the Republic, for one year with 
the rank of colonel; was adjutant of McKcen Post six years, and officer of 
the day two years. In politics a Republican, he has always been actively 
interested in party success, and has served as a member of the School Board 
and Easton Town Council. Through his patriotic ancestry he gained admis-. 
sion to the Pennsylvania Society, Sons of the Revolution, and is a member 
of the American Institute of Mining Engineers, Dallas Lodge, Free and 
Accepted Masons of Easton, the McKinley Club. Cliosophic Society of 
Princeton, and to the Greek letter fraternity, Zeta Psi. He is also a member 
of the McKinley Club of Easton, and the Stewart Society of Edinburgh, 
Scotland. 



364 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Clement Stewart married, June 27, 1867, Harriet Heist Drinkhouse, 
daughter of Samuel and Maria (Tindall) Drinkhouse. Mrs. Stewart was born 
in Easton, was educated in Aladam Clement's school, and has always made 
Easton her home. Samuel Drinkhouse was born in Reading-, Pennsylvania, 
April 17, 1804, died January 24, 1904, a grandson of George Heist, who served 
as a private in the Sixth Pennsylvania Battalion in the Revolutionary War, 
commanded by Col. Joseph Heister, of Berks county, Pennsylvania. Samuel 
Drinkhouse left Reading, Pennsylvania, at the age of eighteen, with $800, 
intending to go to New York city. He stopped at Easton overnight and was 
so pleased with the city that he decided to remain. He invested his $800 in 
a hat factory, and as a manufacturer of hats acquired a fortune. When Gen- 
eral Lafayette visited the United States in 1824, Mr. Drinkhouse went with 
the Easton Rifles, of which he was a member, to call upon the great French- 
man, making the trip from Easton to Philadelphia in one da}^ in a Durham 
boat. Each member of the company was presented to General Lafayette 
and honored with a handgrasp. On their return, the Rifles visited another 
distinguished Frenchman, Jerome Bonaparte, then living at Bordentown, 
New Jersey. For many years Mr. Drinkhouse was a member of the Lutheran 
church, and was a man thoroughly respected and admired. He lived well 
into his hundredth year, but died January 24, 1904, his one hundredth birthday, 
had he lived, coming on the following April 17th. 

Clement and Harriet Heist (Drinkhouse) Stewart are the parents of a 
daughter and three sons: i. Marie, born May 9, 1868; married Bingham 
Hood Coryell, and has two children, Clement Stewart, first ("top") sergeant 
in the Quartermaster Department at Washington, District of Columbia, and 
Margaret Bingham. 2. Ralph Tindall, whose sketch follows. 3. Clarence 
Dudley, born January 11, 1873, died December 3, 1914; married June 11, 1907, 
Mrs. Clara M. (Evans) Arndt, widow of Dr. Oliver Arndt, of Easton; Clar- 
ence Dudley Stewart was educated in private schools in Easton; became a 
civil engineer and member of the R. T. and C. D. Stewart Contracting Com- 
pany ; he was a prominent business man of his city, popular socially and 
fraternally, affiliating with the Masonic Order and the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. 4. Rodney Long (see sketch on following page). All 
the brothers are civil engineers and contractors. 

Clement Stewart has devoted a great deal of time and research to his 
family lines, and has written a great deal which has been published. The 
work on "Families of the Lehigh Valley," published in 1905, contains many 
genealogies from his pen, which have been drawn upon by the writer for 
this review of his own life and ancestry. 



RALPH TINDALL STEWART—Ralph Tindall Stewart, clclest son of 
Clement and Harriet Heist (Drinkhouse) Stewart, was born in Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, January 27, 1870. After attendance at the Misses Swayie's School. 
Track Academy and Lerch Preparatory School, he entered Lafayette College, 
whence he was graduated C.E., class of 1890. He began professional engi- 
neering with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, going thence to the Berlin 
Bridge Company, of Berlin, Connecticut, and from the latter to the ShijTler 
Bridge Company of Pittsburgh, serving the two last named companies as cost 
engineer. After leaving Pittsburgh he was for a time in the employ of the 
Pottsville Iron & Steel Company of Pottsville, Pennsylvania, then returned to 
Easton, where, in 1895, in association with his brother, Clarence Dudley 
Stewart, now deceased, he organized the Keystone Construction Company, 
which later was incorporated as the R. T. and C. D. Stewart Contracting 
Company, Incorporated, civil engineers and contractors. Ralph T. Stewart 
was chosen the first president of the company, which has had a very success- 
ful career, the chief activity of the company, solving the engineering problems 
met with in the construction of large manufacturing plants and their later 



BIOGRAPHICAL 365 

construction. Reinforced concrete work has been a special problem solved 
succcsslull}' by the Stewart Brothers, and they having erected some of the 
largest plants in ICastoii, Pennsylvania, where that material was used. Mr. 
Stewart is also a director of the National Bag Company, and a man of recog- 
nized ability as both professional engineer and executive manager. For one 
year he served South Easton Borough as engineer, and he is a member of 
the Board of Trade, and Rotary' Club, but his tastes are all professional and 
he takes little part in ])ublic affairs. 

I'"rom college days, Mr. Stewart has been a devotee of athletic sports, 
and he now enjo\s the recreation of the out-of-doors, hunting and motoring 
particularly appealing to him, while a good horse or a well trained dog always 
attracts his more than passing notice. He is a member of the Masonic order, 
the Sons of Veterans, the Pomfret Club, the Zcta Psi fraternity, Brainerd 
Union Presbyterian Church, and politically is a Republican. 

From November 5, 1918, to May 26, 1919, Mr. Stewart was associated in 
civil capacity with the Ordnance Board, created by Congress to function in 
connection with and under the direction of the Ordnance Department, its 
members appointed by the Secretary of War, for the ap]Maisal of about nine 
thousand fnc hundred claims resulting from the great explosion at the Gil- 
lespie Loading Plant, October 4, 1918. Mr. Stewart was one of three out of 
sixty chosen as special appraiser, and bore much of the burden in the import- 
ant work of placing the value of destroyed jjroperty in and about Perth 
Amboy, New Jersey. At the conclusion of his services, he received a gratify- 
ing letter of commendation and ajipreciation of his work from the chairman 
of the board. 

Mr. Stewart married (first) November i, 1899, Margaret Graham Clark, 
daughter of John and Catherine (Cami)bcll) Clark, of Easton, both of Scotch 
ancestry. Mrs. Stewart died January 15, 1904, the mother of a son, Dudley 
Campbell, who died in infancy, and a daughter, Marie Stewart, now a high 
school student. He married (second) October 19, 1913, Sadie B., daughter 
of Allen and Frances (Burwell) Worthington, of Easton. Mr. and Mrs. 
Stewart are the parents of a son, Ralph Tindall (2), and a daughter, Elizabeth. 



RODNEY LONG STEWART— Rodney Long Stewart, youngest son of 
Clement and Harriet Heist (Drinkhouse) Stewart, was born in Easton. Penn- 
sylvania, January 13, 1881. He completed courses in the public schools with 
graduation from the high school in the class of 1899, then entered Lafayette 
College, being graduated C.E. in the class of 1903. After graduation he was 
for one year in the employ of the R. T. and C. D. Stewart Construction Com- 
pany, then becoming superintendent in charge of the construction of the 
South Side power plant of the Easton Power Company. Until June, 1907, he 
was engineer in charge of construction with the Edison Portland Cement 
Company, superintending the construction of one of the first reinforced con- 
crete power plants, reinforced concrete a method of building then in the first 
stages of its development. In June, 1907, he returned to the employ of the 
R. T. and C. D. Stewart Construction Company, remaining with the firm, of 
which he is now a member, for about eighteen months on general construc- 
tion work, then taking charge of the erection of the Hercules Plant at 
Stockertown, Pennsylvania. Lie subsequently became construction engineer 
for the Pennsylvania Salt Manufacturing Company at Philadelphia, where 
he erected a citric acid plant, a sulphuric acid plant, and several furnaces used 
in the industry. During the year and a half of his continuance in this posi- 
tion he made frequent trips to Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, to inspect furnaces 
being shipped to all parts of America and Europe. Afterward he went to 
Tennessee in the service of his brothers and erected the Clinchfield Portland 
Cement Company's plant at Kingsport, Tennessee, in the heart of a moun- 
tain wilderness. Returning to the employ of the Pennsylvania Salt Manu- 



366 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

facturing Companj-, he remained in Philadelphia until 1913. when he directed 
work on the Central Railroad at Scranton, Pennsylvania, in the interests of 
his brothers. Upon the death of C. D. Stewart, in December, 1914, he became 
a member of the firm of the R. T. and C. D. Stewart Construction Company 
in the office of secretary, which he fills at the present time (1919). He is a 
member of the Rotary Club, interested in the other business organizations of 
the city, and also belongs to the Sons of Veterans, the Zeta Psi fraternity, 
and the Brainerd Union Prcsb3'terian Church. His sports are those of the 
open, hunting and fishing his favorite recreations. 

Mr. Stewart married, September 2, 1903, Olive Reynolds, daughter of 
James R. and Sarah Ida (Tidybach) Reynolds, of Boston. Mrs. Stewart 
is a graduate of Easton High School, class of 1900, and is chairman of the 
membership committee of the Navy League, vice-chairman of the American- 
ization Committee of Northampton county, and a member of the Women's 
Committee of National Defense. She is interested and active in civic affairs, 
a loyal worker in the Red Cross and the church, and a strong friend of the 
Presbyterian Italian Mission Board of Easton. Mr. and Mrs. Stewart are 
the parents of a daughter, Harriet. 



JERK McCARTY— Jere McCarty was born in South Bethlehem forty- 
seven years ago, and has lived practicall\- his whole life in the Bethlehem dis- 
trict, and his life has earned him substantial respect from a great number of 
Bethlehem residents. That he has had the interest of the city at heart has 
been evidenced by his public work and the hours he has given to honorary 
tasks in the municipal government ; and that he has had the confidence of a 
majority of the electorate has been evidenced in his long continuance in 
public office, his record of public service including eleven years as councilman, 
three terms as county committeeman, and four years as the chairman of the 
Police Committee, during which he was instrumental in installing the Na- 
tional Police System in Bethlehem. That achievement may be considered to 
have been the most eventful in the public record of Mr. McCarty, and the 
one of greatest good to the city. 

Jere McCart}- was born August 29, 1872, at South Bethlehem. Penns^•l- 
vania, the son of Dennis and Anna (Donovan) McCarty. Both his parents 
were born in Ireland. They had eight children, three of whom are deceased. 
The living members of the family are : John, who is in the police department 
of the Bethlehem Steel Company, Redington, Pennsylvania ; Bridget, who 
married August Ryer, who died in 1893, she the mother of four children ; 
Lizzie, who married Pat Kaylor, since deceased ; Nellie, who married Thomas 
Burns, who is associated with the city government of Pittsburgh, at present 
connected with the treasurer's office, and previous to her marriage ]\Irs. Burns 
was a school teacher, a graduate of Stroudsburg Normal School ; and Jere, 
of whom further. 

After passing through the public schools of South Bethlehem, Jere 
McCarty followed the chief industry of the neighborhood, for more than 
twenty years working industriously in the steel plants of Bethlehem. A man 
of strong character, he soon interested himself actively in the civic affairs of 
the place, and his thoroughness and fellow-feeling soon brought him into 
public confidence and prominence. A Democrat of firm and staunch convic- 
tion, he early was brought into active participation in political movements, 
and his popularity among his fellow workers eventually brought him among 
the political leaders of the district. He has taken creditable and honorable 
part in many political campaigns, his following having weight in the decision 
of public issues. His record in civic office has been exemplary ; he was elected 
continuously for eleven years to the City Council ; was successful in three 
elections for county committeeman, and his manly attributes, his knowledge 
of the people and his integrity in public ofifice decided his colleagues in his 



BIOGRAPHICAL 367 

favor for the presidency of the Police Committee of Bethlehem ; he y^residcd 
as chairman for four years over the deliberations of that committee, being 
directly responsible for the introduction and installation of the police system 
before referred to herein. In 1917 he was particularly active in the Citv 
Council, advocating the early improvement of the city streets, and in 1918 he 
was approached by a strong faction of the county who sought to induce him 
to stand in the following November for the office of county commissioner. 

Like his father, who lived to the venerable age of eighty-four years, hav- 
ing been born in 181 1 and his decease not occurring until 1895, Jere McCarty 
is a devout member ol the Catholic church and substantial in his sujiport 
thereof. And like his father, who from the time of his coming to Northamji- 
ton county in 1831, until the year of his retirement. api)lied liimselE steadily 
and industriously to honest, manly labors in the district, Jere McCarty has 
throughout his long connection with the industrial life of Bethlehem applied 
himself manfully to a full man's work, his steady application to such bringing 
to him in course of time a fair return in profit. For twenty years he was a 
steel worker, and then acquired a hotel business, at which occuj^ation he has 
since continued, conducting a reputable hostelry and exerting a contr(jlling 
influence for good over the frailties of many of the weaker men who sought- 
its service. That he succeeded in giving good service and would not counte- 
nance excesses by the patrons of his house is indicated by his public record 
as a license holder. He is interested in fraternal work, and is particularly 
identified with the local branch of the Loyal Order of Moose. And this article 
would not do full justice to the public record of Mr. McCarty if it omitted 
to state that he has the distinction of having been the youngest man ever 
elected to the City Council. He has given unselfish and long labors to the 
city, and as cajitain of the Fifth Ward Consolidation Team worked enthusi- 
astically and notably to accomplish the consolidation of the two Bethlehem 
boroughs. 

On October 21, 1897, Mr. McCarty was married at Philipsburg, Penn- 
sylvania, to Annie Sullivan, daughter of Timothy and Mary Sullivan, both 
now deceased, of that place. They are the parents of four children: i. Anna, 
born December 27, 1898, at Bethlehem ; she is a graduate of the jjarochial 
school, and is an accomplished pianist. 2. Robert, born in Bethlehem, April 
15, icoi, and is now a trade apprentice at the Bethlehem Steel Works. 3. 
Vincent, born October 21, 1906, and still a student at the parochial school. 
4. John, born January 2, 1909. 



STEWART D. RITTER— Merchandising has been the business of both 
Stewart D. Ritter and his father, Benjamin F. Ritter, the latter, when a 
young man, opening the only general store in his neighborhood. In that 
store the son was instructed in business methods, and when he started busi- 
ness for himself he was in the same store as his father's successor. Benjamin 
F. Ritter was born at Santee Mills, Bethlehem township, Northampton 
county, Pennsj'lvania, December 20, 1822, died December 31, 1887. For a 
number of years he was proprietor of a general store at Butztown, Pennsyl- 
vania, then opened a store in Freemansburg, there conducting a general 
mercantile business for forty years. He was a Democrat in politics and held 
about every office in the borough. He was a man of intelligence and good 
judgment, upright in his life and held in the very highest esteem by his 
friends anrl neighbors of practically a lifetime. He was treasurer of the 
Lutheran church for many years, and for many more and at all times foremost 
in every good work, church or civic. He married Mary Ann, daughter of 
William Frankenfield. a farmer of Bethlehem township. Mrs. Ritter died 
November 11, 1893. Children : William B.. born April 27, 1854, died June 30, 
1884, in business with his father for many years, he married Belle Lawall, of 
Lower Nazareth township, and has a son, Harry L. ; Stewart D., of further 
mention. 



368 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Stewart D. Ritter was born in Freemansburg, Pennsylvania, June 20, 
1S59, and began his education, finishing at Bethlehem Preparatory School. 
He began business life in his father's general store in Freemansburg, and 
has been associated with that store as clerk, partner and owner for a long 
term of 3"ears, then changed to his present line of coal, wood, cement and 
builders' materials of other kinds. He has now an honorable place among 
Northampton merchants and is steadily increasing in both popularity and 
business prominence. He is a director of the Lehigh Valley National Bank, 
Bethlehem, Pennsjivania ; Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Compan}- of 
Northampton Count}-; Agricultural Society of Northampton County, and its 
vice-president, and is one of the active influential members of these boards 
of direction. 

In politics Mr. Ritter is a Democrat, and since 1893 has been treasurer 
of the Borough of Freemansburg; a school treasurer since 1908; a justice of 
the peace since 1893 (tw^enty-six years) ; and is a member of the Democratic 
county committee. For five years he was president of the Lutheran church 
of Freemansburg, succeeding his father ; and in fraternity, he is a member of 
Freemansburg Lodge of the Eagles and Red ^len. 

He married, November 13. 1884, Alice T., daughter of Adam Snyder, of 
Lehigh Gap, a retired farmer at the time of his death. j\lr. and Mrs. Ritter 
are the parents of a son, Chauncey S. Ritter, born October 31, 1893, a graduate 
of Muhlenberg College, class of 191 3, engaged in business until entering the 
United States Armv for service against Germany. 



JOSEPH A. HORNER — Trained in electrical engineering at Lehigh 
L'nivcrsitv, and for five -^ ears identified with that profession in the West, the 
relation of Joseph A. Horner to the cement industry of Pennsylvania is a 
connection that was formed at the instance of favorable opportunity and 
without the long preparation and consideration that usually accompanies the 
choice of a career. Hov.- mutually successful and profitable that connection 
has been is testified bj^ his present general managership of the Nazareth 
Cement Company, a prosperous and thriving concern, whose operations have 
been doubled during the twelve years he has been at its head. 

Joseph A. Horner is the son of Hugh and Jane (Hayes) Horner, and 
grandson of Robert Horner, and the old hom.e where his father spent the 
greater part of his life of seventy-four years is still in his possession. Hugh 
Horner was for many years an elder of the Presbyterian church of Weavers- 
ville. later filling the same office in the church at Bath, where he lived during 
his later years. His wife, Jane (Hayes) Horner, was a direct descendant of 
Capt. John Hayes, of Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, who rendered valuable 
service to the Colonial cause in the Revolutionarj^ War, and who erected and 
operated a stone and frame mill at Weaversville. which is still in active use. 
Children of Hugh and Jane (Haves) Horner: Robert, a retired dental sur- 
geon of Philadelphia, resides in Bath, Pennsylvania, unmarried ; Mary Jane, 
a resident of Germantown. Pennsylvania, unmarried ; John King, engaged in 
the grocery business in Philadelphia, unmarried ; and Joseph A., of whom 
further. 

Joseph A. Horner was born in the Scotch-Irish village in Allen township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania. November 25. 1866. After preparatory 
study he enrolled in electrical engineering at Lehigh University, and was 
graduated in the class of 1898, w^orking for one year in Philadelphia and then 
going West. He remained in the western part of the country for five years 
(for the greater part of that time engaged in professional work on electrical 
construction), then returned to Philadelphia, where he passed another vear. 
At the end of that time he became interested in real estate and building 
operations in his native county of Northampton, and in Allentown he platted 
a tract of one hundred and eighteen acres, known as Horner's Addition, which 



BIOGRAPHICAL 369 

he disposed of mainly to builders, allhouph he erected a number of resi- 
dences thereon. This operation was a most successful one, and the residen- 
tial section that he opened became a popular part of the cit\-. 

With the sale of three hundred and twenty acres of land to the Bath 
Portland Cement Company in 1904, iMr. Horner's connection with the cement 
industry began, for during his transactions with the officials of the company 
he became so interested in the i^roject that he lent it financial support and 
became a member of the board of directors. This position he retains to the 
present time, and the prosperous record of the company has amply justi- 
fied his early confidence in its future. Mr. Horner is a director of the 
Nazareth Cement Company, the oldest concern of its kind in the region, and 
to this company he has given the major part of his time and attention for 
the past twelve 3'ears, directing its operations as general manager and treas- 
urer. He holds a worthy place in the cement manufacturing industry, which 
is so important a ])art of the industrial life of the localit}', and lias administered 
the affairs of the Nazareth plant with an ability and fairness that has created 
a most satisfactory spirit of co-operation at a time when such a condition is 
unfortunately rare between employers and employed. Mr. Horner's execu- 
tive capacities have been impressed into service by his associates in connec- 
tion with the Bath Bank, of which he has been a director for twelve years, 
during the past six years serving as president. This is a substantial institu- 
tion that for many years has served the locality in an efficient, modern 
manner, and that has been of material aid to the business interests of the 
county. 

Joseph A. Horner married, in 1906. Caroline Jennie Blair, of Bath, Penn- 
sylvania, and they are the parents of Ruth Blair and Hugh. 



ROBERT L. GITTINGS, D.C.— Among the systems of "drugless heal- 
ing," chiropracticy has many followers, and of that particular school Dr. 
Robert L. Gittings, of Easton, is a leading practitioner, and he is demonstrat- 
ing most satisfactorilv to his clientele the value of the system he employs, a 
method of restoring health by manipulation of the spinal column. Dr. Git- 
tings is a son of Dr. William H. and Lula (Reed) Gittings, his father now 
a successful practitioner of chirojaracty at Allentown, Pennsylvania. Dr. 
W'illiam H. Gittings was born in Baltimore, Maryland, of an old family, and 
on the maternal side was descended from the Henry family of \'irginia, of 
which Patrick Henry was representative. Mrs. Lula (Reed) Gittings was 
born in St. Louis, TMissouri. the Reeds and their matern.al lines tracing to 
earliest days in New England Colonial history. 

Dr. Robert L. Gittings was born in Scranton, Pennsylvania. November 7, 
1892, and was educated in the public schools of W'ilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania. 
He completed his studies with graduation from high school, class of 1914, 
and then began professional study at Central Chiropractic College, Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, whence he was graduated D.C. He began practice in 
Pittsburgh, but soon removed to Allentown, Pennsylvania, where he was 
associated in practice with his lather until the latter part of 1918, when they 
opened ofifices in Easton with Dr. Robert L. Gittings in charge. Dr. Gittings 
is a m.ember of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Methodist Epis- 
copal church, and in politics is an independent. He is a devotee of out-of- 
door sports, shooting, fishing, swimming and boating particularly appealing 
to him. On his high school team in Wilkes-Barre he played right guard. 

Dr. Gittings married May i. 1916. Hazel Anita Coba, of Johnstown, 
Pennsylvania, who died December 21, 1917, leaving a daughter. Hazel Jean. 



CHARLES EDWIN SNYDER— From the age of twenty-one years, Mr. 
Snyder has been engaged in commercial life, his activities having taken a 
wide range both in varietv and location. He is now secretary and treasurer 



N. H. BIOG. 



370 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

of Kurtz Brothers, manufacturers and contractors of Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania, a position he has held since 1916. Charles E. Snyder is a son of Wil- 
liam H. Snyder, born August i, 1833, at Bangor, Pennsylvania, son of Charles 
K. Snyder, and great-grandson of Leonard Snyder, a farmer of Plainfield 
township in Northampton county, Pennsylvania. 

(I) Leonard Snyder married a Miss Abel, and they were the parents of 
four sons and two daughters : James, a blacksmith ; Charles K., grandfather 
of Charles E. Snyder; Leonard, Jr., a substantial farmer of Forks township 
in the same county; Joseph; Lena and Elizabeth, j\Irs. Henry Messenger 
and Mrs. Hazzard, respectively. The famil}- were highly esteemed members 
of their communities. 

(H) Charles K. Snyder, son of Leonard Snyder, was born in Plainfield 
township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, April 18, 1807. He early 
learned the blacksmith trade, and for several years had a shop at Ackerman- 
ville. He also owned and cultivated a farm of one hundred and forty acres 
in South Bangor, and in 1843 settled in what is now the borough of Bangor. 
He purchased an additional fifty acres situated east of the borough, on which 
later a valuable slate quarry was opened, which is still being worked. Mr. 
Snyder did not foresee the great development that was to follow the opening 
of the slate quarries, and passed his life oblivious of the wealth lying beneath 
his acres, wealth that came abundantly to later owners. He was a member 
of the Mennonite church, a man of industry and uprightness, highly esteemed. 
He married Barbara Ackerman, who was born February 8, 1807, at Acker- 
manville, a village named in honor of the Ackermans. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder 
were the parents of four children, the only survivor a son, William H., of 
further mention. Charles K. Snyder died November 7, 1871 ; his wife died 
June 4, 1882. 

(HI) William H. Snyder, son of Charles K. and Barbara (Ackerman) 
Snyder, was born at Ackermanville, Pennsylvania, August i, 1833, ^^rid there 
attended the public school until his twelfth year. In 1845 his family moved 
to Bangor, Pennsylvania, and there he finished his school life. He began his 
business life as his father's farm assistant, but later he began the manufac- 
ture of school slates, a business he continued for many years until his retire- 
ment. He is now living a quiet, retired life at his home, Broadway and 
Third street, Bangor, Pennsylvania. He has held many local offices, school 
director, election officer, town councilman and assessor, filling the fast named 
office for twelve years. He is a Republican in politics, a member of the 
Masonic order, and both he and his wife are members of the United Evan- 
gelical church. William H. Snyder married, October 25, 1856, Julia A. 
Miller, born in Bangor, who there died January 15, 1917. Mrs. Snyder was a 
daughter of Manasseh and Mary (La Bane) Miller, her mother a daughter of 
Daniel La Bane, one of northern Northampton's settlers. Manasseh Miller 
was a wheelwright by trade, a skilled workman and a man of education, at 
one time a teacher. Manasseh and Mary Miller were the parents of seven 
children, including Julia A., born in Upper Mount Bethel township in 1835, 
married William H. Snyder. Mr. and Mrs. Snyder were the parents of three 
children, two now living: Amanda, married George M. Slack, a merchant of 
Bangor, Pennsvlvania, now retired ; and Charles Edwin, of further mention. 
(IV) Charies Edwin Snyder, son of William H. and Julia A. (Miller) 
Snyder, v.-as born in Bangor, Penn.sylvania, August 28, 1859, and there at- 
tended public schools. From the Bangor schools he passed to the Pennsyl- 
vania State Normal School at Kutztown, and there qualified for a teacher's 
position. After graduation from State Normal he taught in the Bansror 
schools until attaining legal age, then entered mercantile life as clerk. His 
first position was with J. E. Long & Company, general merchants of Bangor, 
his term with that firm covering a period of three years. From Bangor he 
went to Allentown, Pennsvlvania. where for a number of years he was en- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 371 

gaged in the dry-goods business. In 18S5 he returned to Bangor and there 
he was a partner with his lather in slate manufacturing. In 1888 thev dis- 
solved, and Charles E. Snyder accepted a ])osition as bookkeeper witii the 
Bangor Slate Company. Two years later he was appointed superintendent 
and manager of the same company, holding that position for five years, until 
1895, in which year he located in -Shirley, Indiana, where with a partner, 
F. C. Grote, of Cincinnati, Ohio, he established a plant for the manufacture 
of chemicals, an enter])rise with which Mr. Snyder was connected until 1899. 
He had gained four years valuable exi)erience in chemical manufacture, and 
after leaving Shiile>- entered the employ of the Indiana Chemical Company 
at Fortville, Indiana, holding a responsible position with that company until 
1903, when he transferred his services to the Du Pont Powder Company at 
Bluffton, Indiana, as assistant manager. He remained with the powder com- 
pany but a short time, then accepted appointment as auditor of the Muncie, 
Plartford & Fort Wayne Railroad Company, with office headcpiarters at 
Eaton, Indiana. He remained in the auditor's office until 1906, when the 
road was consolidated with the Indiana Union Traction Company, Mr. 
Snyder then being transferred to the position of chief claim adjuster of the 
merged roads, with office headquarters at Anderson, Indiana. He only re- 
mained in the adjuster's office six months, then resigned and became general 
manager of Indiana Normal University at Muncie, Indiana. After conclud- 
ing his engagement with the university, he returned to Bangor, and was 
for a short time office manager for the Bangor Silk Mill Companv. In 1912 
he entered the employ of the Pennsylvania Utilities Company at Easton, 
Penns\ Ivania, but in July of the same year he became assistant treasurer of 
the Macan Junior Company, jobbers of mill supplies. He efficiently filled 
that position, as he had all others, until elected, December I, 1917, secretary- 
treasurer of the Kurtz Brothers Company, manufacturers and contractors 
of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

This wonderfuly extended and varied business experience has left Mr. 
Snyder thoroughly furnished, self-reliant and unafraid in the face of any 
emergency. That hard school of experience has toughened and trained every 
faculty to its highest efficiency, and he is yet but in the prime of his splendid 
powers. He resides in Easton, and there is deeply interested in the United 
Evangelical Church Sunday school and societies. Pie is superintendent of 
the Mission Sunday school, president of the Christian Endeavor Society, 
chorister of the Sunday school, and in IQ17 was president of the Northampton 
County Christian Endeavor Union. He is independent in political action, 
guiding his course with clear judgment, as difi'crent men and policies are 
presented for his consideration. He is a member of the fraternal order of 
Easton, Mystic Circle No. 2131, and was one of the charter members of 
Herd No. i. Loyal Order of Buffaloes, of Bangor, also serving for three 
years as trustee. 

Mr. Snyder married, October i, 1891, in Bethlehem, Mrs. Mary A. Martin, 
of Pen Argyl, Pennsvlvania. Mr. and Mrs. .Snyder are the parents of four 
children: i. Miriam O., born October 17, 1893. ~- Raymond C., born June 7, 
1899; an enlisted soldier of the United States, was with the American Expedi- 
tionary Forces in France, returned home on his twentieth birthday, after 
serving eighteen months, fifteen months in France, most of this time with 
the air defense at Camp Le Bourgct, France, designed to protect Paris frorn 
air raids. 3. Teressa C., born January i, 1901, a graduate of Easton High 
School, class of 1918. 4. Cleo E., born December 19, 1904. 



HENRY HARRIS GREINER— Since leaving the schoolroom, Henry 
H. Greiner has been connected with the retail jewelry business as apprentice, 
journeyman and merchant, being now Bethlehem's leading jeweler. He 
began in his native Lebanon, and there and in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, his 



372 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

entire life has been sjjent. He is a son of Henry B. Grciner, who for thirty- 
two years was a manufacturer and dealer in harness in Lebanon, Pennsyl- 
vania. He died March ii, 1907, in Bethlehem. He married Margaret A. 
Harris, who survives him, residing with her only child, Henry Ii., in Bethle- 
hem, Pennsylvania'. ', ■ 

Henry -Harris; Greiner was born in Lebanon, Pennsylvania, November 24, 
1879, '^^^ there obtained a good public school education. After leaving school 
he at once became a jeweler's apprentice, -and for four years he was under 
the instruction of J. C. Schmidt, who pronounced him a capable watchmaker 
at the end of his term of ap]3renticcship. He began his experience as a 
journeyman watchmaker with Caesar Spiegler, of Bethlehem, a well known 
jeweler, with whom he remained another four years, then on May i, 1904, 
began business in his own name. He has prospered abimdantly, and his fine 
jewelry stores with handsome furnishings and carefully selected stock are 
Bethlehem's most attractive and popular stores. On April i, 1916, he pur- 
chased the. building at No. 12 East Third street, Bethlehem, South Side, and 
there opened his second jewelry store. At this time he also bought the 
building, in which his Bethlehem store was located, and his investment in 
the two buildings, exclusive of stock, was over $40,000. On November 18, 
1918, he moved into still larger quarters in the new Kurtz building, and this 
magnificent store is one of the most beautifully equipped jewelry stores in 
Easton.iPennsylvania. • 

Mr. Greiner is affiliated with Bethlehem Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons ;'Zinzendorf Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Bethlehem Council. Royal 
and Select jMasters ; Bethlehem Commandery, Knights Templar ; and in the 
Scottish Rite has attained the thirty-second degree, being affiliated with 
Bloomsburg Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. He is also a noble 
of the Mystic Shrine, Rajah Temple, at Reading, Pennsylvania. Other fra- 
ternal orders with which he is affiliated are the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and Tall Cedars of- Lebanon, the latter of Easton. He is a member 
of the Rotary Club ; Owl Social Club; Yo Eddie Club of Bethlehem, the 
latter a clubformed to supply the local soldiers at the front with tobacco 
and other comforts, and was largely responsible for the reception and enter- 
tainment of Bethlehem's returning soldiers and sailors. He is a member of 
Salem Lutheran Church; the American Optical Society of Pittsburgh, Penn- 
sylvania; and Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce. He is also a member of 
Bethlehem Lodge No. 191, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Greiner married, June 29. 1904, at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Ida A. 
Sandt, of Bethlehem, da-ughter of John L. and Eliza S. (Rohn) Sandt, both 
parents deceased. They are the parents of a son, Henry Sandt, born April 18, 
1914. The familv home is at No. 71 East Broad street. Mr. Greiner has a 
farm of one hundred and sixtv-seven acres, located in Bethlehem township, 
and his interest in the upbuilding and cultivation of this property never 
wanes. It is, in fact, his present-day hobby. 



HENRY KRAEMER — Henry Kraemer, retired manufacturer of Naza- 
reth, Pennsylvania, mav almost be termed one of the pioneers of that borough ; 
certainly he mav be described as one of its pioneer manufacturers and also as 
perhaps' its leading manufacturer. His hosiery mill, which he established in 
1886, was the second industrv to be established in Nazareth, and only a few 
months after the first industry, a lace mill, owned by Sahnesbeli, had been 
started. At the time of his coming, Nazareth had a population of onlv about 
seven hundred, but is now a town of more than five thousand, a recognized 
industrial centre. 

Henry Kraemer was born in Berleburg, Westphalia, on I\Iarch 14, 1859. 
and came to the United States in 1878. Soon after landing he joined his uncle 
at Reading, Pennsylvania, where his uncle was prospering in independent 





'GUy;<H&f 



T'rii: >i;v-; Y^kK 
P'JBLi: LioHAHY 



ASTOH, LENOX ANO 

TJLDKW FOU*!DATtONii 

t L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 373 

business. Young- Kracnior soon familiarized himself with the details of the 
business, and remained as bookkeei)er in the employ of his relative for seven 
years. In 1886 he decided to venture into business for himself and removed 
to Nazareth for that purpose. His capital was only a few hundred dollars, 
but he was possessed of an optimistic s])irit and marked enterprise. He was 
also a man of the balance necessary to know full well the true value of a 
dollar. His enterprise, therefore, beg^an unostentatiously, bearing- right pro- 
portion to his capital, and so he built firmly. His first hosiery mill was estab- 
lished in an abandoned machine shop, and there being a good market he soon 
found steady emploj'ment for about forty people. Although his manufac- 
tured product found a ready and good market, it may be imagined that the 
business needed very close attention during its early years because of the 
smallness of his capital; it nevertheless went steadily ahead, and in a few 
years outgrew its original quarters. A second building was erected, and in 
1892 the number of persons who found steady employment in the mills of 
Mr. Kraemer had increased to one hundred and fifty. In that year fire de- 
stroyed the whole plant, buildings, machiner}' and stock thus becoming a total 
loss. However, earnest, indefatigable business apiilication and foresight had 
given Mr. Kraemer such protection that, coupled with excellent credit, he 
was able to rebuild his plant, and on a larger scale, without delay. Ver}- soon 
the plant was again in full operation, and had capacity for two htmdred 
employees. For twenty-five years Mr. Kraemer continued to give the closest 
application to the business and enjoyed consistent prosperity, and at the end 
of that time felt that he iiiight safely place some of the res])onsibility for the 
proper conduct of the mills tipon other shoulders. An incorporated comp.-iny 
was organized, in which Mr. Kraemer became the principal stockholder, and 
he held a directing hand by holding a seat on the board of the comi)an\-, btit 
the arrangement enabled him to pass most of the detail work of the factory 
onto others. The mill still stands as one of the leading industries of Nazaieth. 

Mr. Kraemer has always been ready to further with his financial support 
and administrative experience any worthy enterprise that held prosiiects of 
advancement for the borough. VVhen it was proposed' to develop the known 
cement deposits, Mr. Kraemer entered enthusiastically into the project, be- 
coming a substantial stockholder in the first enterprise, co-operating with 
the late Dr. Bachman and W. B. Shaffer. They supported the venture until 
its value had been fully demonstrated, by which time several such industries 
had been started, all enhancing the prosperity of Nazareth. Mr. Kraemer 
has never been by inclination a monopolist, and has been quite content in 
seeing others with whom he co-operated and aided being as well off as him- 
self. He has given financial assistance and advice to many a man whose 
industry might otherwise have failed to bring the full returns for earlier 
efforts, and he has thus steadily kept the town of his adoption in consistent 
healthy growth. And he interested himself in the civic affairs of the com- 
munity. For fifteen years continuously he sat on the school board, and during 
the period the steady growth of the place made essential extensions of the 
educational facilities necessary. That the board kept pace with the demand 
was in great measure due to the optimism and foresight of Mr. Kraemer and 
of others such as he who were his colleagues. For three years he consented 
to act as chief burgess of Nazareth, introducing many improvements during 
his period of office, stich as sewage and water systems, street lighting, police 
and fire departments. 

Although he is keenly interested in politics, Mr. Kraemer has never 
sotight office in national politics. He is a Democrat of unfaltering type, but 
has not had time to participate in natioiial campaigns. For five years, how- 
ever, he sat on the County Prison Board. 

Mr. Kraemer's home, which was erected twenty-two years ago, is pleas- 
antly situated on Centre square, in the heart of the town. His hospitality is 



374 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

so well known and so genuine, and Air. Kraemer has for so long been one of 
the leaders of the community, that it is perhaps not surprising to find Mr. 
Kracmer's home the centre and meeting place of a host of friends of long 
standing. Mr. Kraemer is a good sportsman, and the walls of his house are 
adorned by many specimens of the furred and feathered species that inhabit 
the wild, unfrequented parts of the State and have fallen to the gun of Mr. 
Kraemer and been admirably preserved by taxidermic skill. Mr. Kraemer 
has also during his active life been prominently identified with the local pro- 
ceedings of fraternal organizations; he is a master Mason and an Elk, and 
has given good support to the local lodges. 

Mr. Kraemer married (first), November i, 1883. at Reading, Pennsyl- 
vania. Anna Mack, of that place. She died in 1893, and Mr. Kraemer married 
(second), Anna Laura Mauger, of Pottstown, Pennsylvania. Mr. Kraemer 
has four children, all of whom were born to his first wife. They are: i. 
Louisa, unmarried, and lives at home. 2. Emma, unmarried and living at 
home. 3. Carl, unmarried, w-ho early enlisted in the L'nited States Army 
during the World War. 4. Will, unmarried, who is superintendent of a 
National Ash Plant at Stockerton, Pennsylvania. He served in the One 
Hundred and Forty-fifth United States Infantry, and saw active service in 
the Lorraine, and was wounded in action. 



LAFAYETTE STEUBEN GARNIER— The Garniers are an ancient 
French family of Normandy, Vendome being the home of several generations. 
The grandfather of Lafayette S. Gamier, merchant of Easton. \yas born in 
Vendome, and for many years drove an express route between Paris and Ven- 
dome, his team of Normandy horses always hitched in tandem style. When 
the vandal Prussians came he lost all his property, and he joined his son, 
Adrian B., in this country. He died in Rutherford. New Jersey. He had five 
children: Anatole. Alfred. Adrian B.. of further mention; Albert, a soldier of 
the Union, who died in the United States Soldiers' Home at Kearney. New 
Jersey; Augusta, came to the L'nited States and married. Albert Garnier, 
the famous French billiard expert, was a member of the same family, and the 
beautiful opera house in Paris was the design of another member, both second 
cousins of Lafa\ette S. Garnier, of Easton. 

Adrian Baptiste Garnier was born in Vendome, a city of France, capital 
of an arrondissement in the department of Loiret Cher, in 1830, and died in 
the village of Mount Bethel, Northampton county. Pennsylvania. September 
II, 1909. He was of Norman ancestry, and among his relatives was the 
famous French architect, Paul Garnier. the designer of many of the greatest 
of edifices in the French capital. He was a great traveler, and before reach- 
ing legal age had been to Africa and many European countries. In 1851 he 
came "to the United States, first locating in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, there 
meeting Rachel Ann Stier. who later became his wife. She was a daughter 
of Jacob Stier, who owned a large pottery in Upper Mount Bethel. North- 
ampton county. Pennsylvania, and the head of a large family, two of his sons 
becoming prominent in county politics. After his marriage. Mr. Garnier lost 
none of his desire for travel, and after establishing a home and profitable 
business in Elizabeth. New Jersey, is next found in the West, where gold 
was discovered in California. In the early sixties he went to Cuba, there 
becoming overseer of a plantation. After his return to the United States 
he became interested in oil well drilling, and at the time oil was discovered 
in the Parkersburg district of West Virginia, he was engaged by Colonel 
Glantz, an oil operator, to go to that field and drill. Mr. Garnier had learned 
the machinist's trade in France, and was a good, practical man in mechanical 
work. He continued in West Virginia as a contractor of oil well drilling, 
then removed to Quincv. Illinois, but after a few vears there he returned East, 
locating in Altoona, Pennsylvania. In 1880 he moved to Easton, Pennsyl- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 375 

vania, and established the business of A. B. Gamier & Son, stoves and hard- 
ware, No. iiS Northampton street, which is still conducted by his son. He 
continued active in the business until a few months before his death, but the 
desire for travel never left him and he made several visits to France during 
the last twenty years of his life. On one of these journeys he was an official 
interpreter at the Paris Exposition. He took an enthusiastic interest in all 
movements for Easton's improvement and upbuilding, and was one of the 
city's ardent champions. Several months prior to his death he expressed a 
desire to go into the country, a wish that was gratified by his long-time 
friends, Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Reichard, at whose home in Mount Bethel 
he died. 

Mr. Garnicr married a second wife, Mrs. Sarah (Weyganth) Miller. By 
his first wife he had a son, Lafayette Steuben, of further mention, and a 
daughter, Madeline, who during President Cleveland's administration was 
appointed a proofreader in the Post Office Deijartmcnt of the United States 
Government at Washington, and was in full charge of all parcel post readings. 
She was a fine linguist, speaker of several languages, and was acting inter- 
preter for the department. She continued in her position until her death, 
August 29, 1918. During her school life in France she was a classmate of a 
daughter of Lord John Russell, of England, also of a daughter of the King 
of Italy. Sarah Weyganth married (first). Dr. Miller, a brother of the 
"Poet of the Sierras," Joaquin Miller. Several years after his death, Mrs. 
Miller became the wife of Adrian B. Garnier, and at their home Joaquin 
Miller wrote "The Forty-Niners," one of his famous productions, his sister- 
in-law, Sarah (Miller) Garnicr, taking it down from his dictation. 

Lafayette Steuben Garnier, son of Adrain B. and Rachel Ann (Stier) 
Garnier, was born at Elizabeth, New Jersey, November 24, 1859. He there 
spent his youth, obtaining his education in the public schools and at St. 
Francis College, Loretto, Pennsylvania, spending three years at the last 
named institution. He then returned to the family home, which was then in 
Easton. He was then seventeen years of age, and as an entrance into busi- 
ness life became a clerk with Patterson Brothers, hardware dealers, at No. 
27 Park Row, New York City. That position gave him his liking and train- 
ing for the hardware business, and three years later he resigned, returned 
to Easton. and spent two years with H. M. Norton, hardware dealer at Second 
and Northampton streets. He then joined his father, they establishing a 
general hardware business under the firm name of A. B. Garnier. Ten years 
later the firm name became A. B. Garnicr & Son, so continuing until the 
father's death in 1909, when the name became A. B, Garnier's Son. Until 
the war with Germany, Mr. Garnier conducted a roofiing department in 
connection with his business, his present line being hardware, guns, ammuni- 
tions and sporting goods. The business still is located at No. 118 Northamp- 
ton street and has always been a prosperous one, and the Garniers, father 
and son, rated business men of the first quality. Lafayette S. Garnier is an 
ardent Democrat, a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and a man greatl\- liked and esteemed. 

Mr. Garnier married, in Easton. in 18R5. Catherine Fahl, born in Cressona, 
Pennsylvania, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Ann Fahl. Mr. and Mrs. 
Garnier are the parents of three children: i. Russell, born October 4, 1887; 
now associated in business with his father ; married Ruth Vanatta, and has a 
son, Lafayette Adrian. 2. Tunis Sanford, born in Easton, August 26, 1889; 
associated with his father. 3. Anna, born June 22, 1893, residing with her 
parents. 

REV. ALBERT M. KORVES— The youngest of seven children born to 
Albert and Agnes (Buckschulter) Korves, of the Altenlingen province of 
Hanover, Germany, Father Korves came to the United States upon attaining 



376 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

legal age, as did his brother, Rev. Bernard Korves, of Ludwig's Roman 
Catholic Church, Philadelphia. Another brother, also a priest, remained in 
Germany, and is now deceased. Another brother also came to the United 
States, Henry Korves, who is a contractor of South Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania. A sister became a nun of the Order of St. Francis. Albert Korves, 
the father, was a farmer, and gave his children all possible advantages vnider 
the conditions prevailing. 

Albert M. Korves was born March 23, 1859, and until i83o remained in 
his native land, there acquiring a good education in the State schools. In 
1880 he came to the United States, and later prepared for the priesthood at 
St. Vincent's College near Latrobe, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, 
there completing a classical course which was supplemented by courses in 
philosophy and theology at St. Charles Seminary, Overbrook, Penns\lvania. 
Both these institutions are famed schools of the Roman Catholic church. Pie 
was ordained a priest on Ma\- 23, 1891, and was assigned to St. Joseph's 
parish, Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, as assistant. After eighteen months at 
St. Joseph's he was transferred to the Church of the Holy Ghost, South 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, as assistant, and a year later to the Chvirch of 
St. John the Baptist, at Pottsville, Pennsylvania, where he remained as assist- 
ant pastor four and a half years. After a short term of service at St. Paul's 
Church. Reading, and a brief period as assistant pastor in charge of the 
Church of the Sacred Heart at Allentown, Pennsylvania, he was sent to St. 
Ludwig's of Philadelphia, where he served as assistant for three and a half 
years to his brother. Rev. Bernard Korves, ..vvdio was the permanent rector. 
From December, 1902, until Nov'elriber, 1911. he. was pastor of St. Bonifacius 
Church at St. Clair, Pennsylvania, therfe accomplishing a great deal for both 
the material and spiritual good of the parish. 

In November, 191 1, he. was installed pastor of St. Joseph's Church, 
Easton, and has since been the faithful, beloved, leader of that church. The 
church has been almost entirely rebuilt during his pastorate, and is con- 
sidered the finest in the countv. and equal to any in eastern Pennsylvania, 
outside the largest cities. St. Joseph's Cemetery was bought and improved 
under the direction of Father Korves, and a grammar school employing four 
teachers in the training of two hundred and twenty pupils from the two 
hundred and fifty families of the parish is maintained. The patriotic spirit 
of the parish runs high ; fifty-two men have gone from St. Joseph's into the 
United .States Army and Navy. F"ather Korves has won his way to thi? 
hearts of his people, and the spiritual life of the parish has kept apace v.'ith 
its temporal property. 



JAMES r.IILTON YEAKLE— On the home farm on the Nazareth road, 
one-half mile from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, James Milton Yeakle. the well 
known carriage manufacturer, was born. His father, Peter Yeakle, upon 
coming from Germany in 1830, settled in what was then called Smoketown. 
Peter Yeakle, a Bavarian by birth, married in German\-. where six of his 
children were born of that marriage, one of whom, Lizzie, wife of Joseph 
Yeagcr. of Allentown, Pennsjdvania, is yet living. He came to Pennsylvania 
in 1830, and married, second, in Bethlehem, Margaret Johanna Zobel, who 
was born in Germanv. They were the parents of the following children: 
Catherine, unmarried; James Milton, of further mention; Mary, married 
Ferdinando Yost, of Bethlehem. Peter Y'eakle was a farmer, and these chil- 
dren were born at the home farm near Bethlehem. 

James Milton Yeakle was born March 28. i860, and attended the public 
schools of Bethlehem and the Moravian Parochial School, his parents having 
moved to that town. He early bccfan working on the farm in vacation periods, 
and later devoted all his time to that occupation. He continued farming until 
he was twenty years of age, then became an apprentice to Henry Sillers, who 



-^C LIBRARY I 



BIOGRAPHICAL 377 

taught him the carriage builder's trade. For ten years after finishing his ap- 
prenticeship he continued to work at his trade as a journeyman, becoming an 
expert in carriage-making. I'^inallj^ he decided to use his skill and knowledge 
for his own benefit and, renting the shop on Broad street, Bethlehem, where 
he had learned his trade, he began business for himself. He prospered to 
such an extent that he built a new and modern carriage-building ])lant, into 
which he moved two years after beginning business for himself, which build- 
ing he still occupies. This plant, built on the rear of the lots fronting on 
Linden street, consists of two three-storied buildings, one 30 by 68 feet, the 
other 30 by 30 feet. On the front of the lot he has built a fine pressed brick 
front building, which is used by the Packard Motor Car Company as a sales 
and service station. As a manufacturer of carriages, Mr. Yeakle has won 
high reputation, and at his plant a great amount of high-class work is turned 
out. He understands the ])ractical side of liis business from the rough frame 
to the finished product, and his years of exiierience have developed wise 
management and executive ability. 

Not less prominent is he in public than in business life, for his service 
covered over eleven years as councilman and four years as burgess of Beth- 
lehem. He was the last burgess elected prior to the consolidation of the 
three Bethlehems into the city of Bethlehem, His term also witnessed the 
end of the discussion concerning the advisabilll\' of a "hill to hill" bridge to 
coiuiect Bethlehem with South Bethlehem and West Bethlehem. Burgess 
Yeakle was an ardent sui)porter of the j)lan from its inception, and his per- 
sistent advocacy was a helpful factor in its final adoption. The money needed 
to erect the viaduct is full}' subscribed, but it was thought wise to defer 
erection of the bridge until the edge of the great war should release more 
steel for structural purposes. That happy time has just arrived (November q, 
1918) and soon the long looked for improvement will become a fact. Mr. 
Yeakle is a member of the Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce, and has always 
been one of the men to aid with personal effort and means all movements for 
Bethlehem's improvement. He is a member of the Moravian church. In 
politics he is a Democrat. 

Mr. Yeakle married, June 11, iBgi, Fannie Irene Hummel, daughter of 
James R. and Elmina Hummel, of Bethlehem township, Northampton county, 
her father a substantial farmer of that section. Mr. and Mrs. Yeakle have 
no children. 



WILSON MACKEY SKINNER, D.D.S.— Since igo8 Dr. Skinner has 
been a practitioner of dental surgery in the city of Easton, coming to this 
city after an eight years' residence and professional connection in Phillips- 
burg, New Jersey, the place of his birth. Though his change of residence 
was from one State to another, it was not nearly so radical in its professional 
relations, for he remained within easy reach of the clientele of his earlier 
practice. 

Dr. Skinner is the son of Peter Wilson Skinner, born in 1844, who died 
in 1896, having been all of his life engaged in flour mill operations in New 
Jersev and the owner of the first roller process mill in that State. He was the 
son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Wilson) Skinner, the former a farmer of Car- 
penterville, New Jersey. Elizabeth (Wilson) Skinner was a daughter of 
Polly (Bryant) Wilson, a descendant of William Cullen Bryant. Peter Wil- 
son Skinner married Catherine Osmun, daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth 
Wilson (Mackey) Osmun. Joseph Osmun, born in 1804, died in 1872; mar- 
ried. 1826, Elizabeth Mackey, born 1802. died 1885, were Warren county. 
New Jersey, people. Elizabeth (Mackey) Osmun was a daughter of Jeremv 
and Magdalene (Titman) Mackey, born respectively 1774. 1779. died respec- 
tively, 1850, 1857, at Belvidere, New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Skinner were 
the parents of three children: Joseph Osmun, a lawyer of New York City, 



378 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

who for several years was assistant district attorney of that place; Jennie 
Lois, a teacher in the public schools of New York City; and Wilson Mackey. 

Dr. Wilson Mackej^ Skinner, son of Peter Wilson and Catherine (Osmun) 
Skinner, was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, July 9, 1878. There he at- 
tended the public schools, being graduated from the high school in the class 
of 1897, then choosing the dental profession 'as the field of his life work and 
entering the dental department of the Universit\- of Pennsylvania. Even 
before the endowment of the splendid Evans dental department at the Uni- 
versity, which is excelled b}' none in the country, the dental school at Penn- 
sylvania bore high reputation, and in igoo Dr. Skinner was graduated there- 
from. Plis professional practice began in that year, but he has ever been a 
tireless student, and few men have kept in closer touch with the advances 
and changes in their callings than has Dr. Skinner with all of the discoveries 
and improvements in dental surgery. He has taken post-graduate courses in 
orthodontia and the application of the X-Ray to dental surgery, and has added 
X-Ray machines to his Easton office equipment, being the first dental sur- 
geon in his city to make practical use of the relation of Roentgenology to 
liis profession. He graduated from the Williams School of Orthodontia, of 
Ithaca, New York. An enviably large clientele is silent testimony to his 
standing in the dental circles of the city, and among his fellow practitioners 
he is known as an able and talented surgeon, a firm supporter of the best 
ethics of the profession, and a strong believer in the value of the interchange 
of ideas and theories through the medium of professional organizations. Dr. 
Skinner holds membership in the Easton Dental Association, the Lehigh 
Valley Dental Association, the Susquehanna Dental Association, and, the 
Pennsylvania State and National associations. From 1900 until 190S he was 
in practice in his native city, in the latter year opening offices in the North- 
ampton National Bank building, of Easton, where he has since been located. 
His acquaintance in Easton is very large. He is a member of the Easton 
Board of Trade. 

Dr. Skinner is a music lover in the fullest sense of the word, for his 
kno'wledge of the musical classics is wide, and he is a vocalist of no mean 
ability, having for several years sung in the church choirs of Easton and 
Phillipsburg. Another avocation from which he derives great enjoyment is 
the study of Biblical literature. He is a member of the International Bible 
Students' Association, and follows closely the work of that organization. In 
political action he follows an entirely independent course, being allied with 
no party. His busy and useful life, which contains so much more of potential 
service to his fellows, has been directed by high ideals and the firm resolve 
that is necessary to convert worthy ideals into acts that benefit those with 
whom a man lives. 

Dr. Wilson Mackey Skinner married, April 15. 1903, Janet Bellemont, 
daughter of William and Ellen (Cousins) Speirs, who was born in Flawley, 
Pennsylvania. Pier parents were natives of Scotland, coming to the LTnited 
States in 1868, William Speirs being one of the pioneers in the silk manu- 
facturing industry in this country. He located in Paterson, which has since 
become so prominent in that industry, and there organized the company which 
first successfully manufactured broad silk. The horizontal warping mill, 
which revolutionized the silk weaving industry and which is now in every 
large mill in the world, was his invention, and before his death, which occurred 
in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. October 18, 1918. he saw the business of which he 
had had so large a vision grow and develop far beyond his most hopeful dreams. 
Mr. Speirs was prominent in many circles in Paterson. New Jersey, and was 
a past master of Orange Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons, of that place. 
Mrs. Skinner was reared in Paterson and Washington, New Jersey, and is a 
graduate of Blair Ilall, Blairstown, New Jersey. Mrs. Skinner shares the 
musical tastes of her husband, and is an active member of the Women's 



BIOGRAnilCAL 379 

Club, especially interested in the literary, dramatic and musical chapters. 
Dr. and Mrs. Skinner are the parents of three children : William Frederick, 
Joseph Osmun, and Robert Gordon. The family home is at No. 120 Parker 
avenue, Easton. their country home at Koxbury, New Jersey. 



FRED D. KUTZ — Now (summer of 1919) a candidate in the primaries 
for the Democratic nomination for the office of sheriff of Northampton 
county, Fred D. Kutz bids fair to receive the full sujiport of his ]nrty and 
that of his political and personal friends when the choice is finally made. He 
is a native son of Easton, his father, Daniel L. Kutz, now deceased, also born 
in 1837 in Northampton, his birthplace a farm not far from the city of Beth- 
lehem. He died in Easton in igo6. Daniel L. Kutz obtained his education in 
the district schools, but when a boy his parents moved to Easton, where the 
father enj^a^ed in the furniture business in what was later known as the Kutz 
buildino: on Northampton street, the site of the present Fox & Fulmcrs. 
Daniel L. Kutz. after finishing- school, began working in his father's furniture 
store and became thoroughly familiar with the business, and when it was 
finally closed out by the elder Mr. Kutz, Daniel L. and his brother John Kutz 
established a combined hardware and harness store business, also operating 
a carriage-building shop and a livery barn, the latter in the rear of their place 
of business on Church street. After the death of John Kutz, Daniel L. Kutz 
continued the business several years, finally retiring to a life of contented 
ease, which continued until his death at his home. No. 626 Ferry street, at the 
age of seventy-three. Daniel L. Kutz was a lifelong Democrat and a veteran 
of the Civil War. He served as a member of Easton's School Board for- 
several years, and was a member of the First Lutheran Church. He married 
Anna Griffith, of Easton, who died in Easton at No. 833 Walnut street, aged 
seventy-three \ears, daughter of Henry and Mary Griffith. Children : Fred D., 
of further mention; RTyra E., of Easton. 

Fred D. Kutz was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, November 11, 1871. and 
educated in the public schools. After school j^ears were over he began busi- 
ness life as a clerk, but later he entered the employ of the Lehigh Valley 
Railroad Company, remaining with the Lehigh for seventeen j-ears, holding 
various positions. After retiring from railroad employ he established in pri- 
vate business as a contractor of cement construction of various kinds, his 
business location, Easton. He is a Democrat in politics, and is slated as 
candidate for the party nomination for sheriff of Northampton county. He 
is a member of Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and 
the Jacksonian Club, and both he and his wife are member of Christ Lutheran 
Church. 

Mr. Kutz married, in Easton, September 7, 1893, Margaret E. Beers, 
daughter of John R. and Mary (Eckert) Beers, her father now alderman of 
Easton, representing the Sixth Ward, his life reviewed at length in this work. 
Mr. and. Mrs. Kutz are the parents of a daughter, Margaret A. 



WILLIAM JOSEPH HUMMEL— For ten years William Joseph Hummel 
has been engaged in independent business operations in Bethlehem, although 
his connection with the city and his participation in its industrial activity 
covers a much greater period of years. Mt. Hummel is a son of James R. 
Hummel, born at Hummel's Mill, Hanover township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, who for the past fifteen years (1919) has lived retired after a 
busy and active career as a farmer and bridge builder. James R. Hummel 
was a prominent figure in the life of his township and county during the 
years prior to his retirement, and filled practically every office of the town- 
ship, also serving a term as county commissioner. He retains his interest in 
the Lutheran church, in which he has been a devoted and lifelong worker. 
James R. Hummel married Eleima, daughter of William and Betsy Riegcl, 



38o NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

of Hellertown, Pennsylvania, and they had the following children : Fannie, 
married J. M. Yeakle (q.v.) ; Ella, married Elmer Heller, they the parents of 
two children ; Preston, engaged in the plumbing business in Bethlehem, mar- 
ried Amy Rietter, and they are the parents of seven children ; William Joseph, 
of whom further. 

William Joseph Hummel was born at Hummel's ]Mill, Hanover town- 
ship, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, [March, 1873. He attended the 
country school in the vicinit}' of his home, and early in life was apprenticed 
to the Bethlehem Fotmdry & Machine Company, serving for four years. Sub- 
sequently he was emplo3"ed by the Allentown Steel & Wire Company for 
two years, followed by seventeen years in the employ of the Bethlehem Steel 
Company in the capacity of foreman. His early and thorough training fitted 
him thoroughly for this responsible post, and his connection with the Beth- 
lehem Steel Company was one enjoyable and profitable. In 1909 he put into 
practice an idea he had pondered for some time, opening a small auto repair 
shop imder the name of the West Side Garage. The success that attended 
this venture is demonstrated bv the fact that his first building was but 10 by 
20 feet, while when he disposed of his business by sale he was proprietor of a 
garage that had a storage capacity of ninety cars. In June, 1917, Mr. Hum- 
mel purchased the Barber Transfer Line, a business of twenty-nine years 
standing, located at No. 20 East Market street, in 1918 building his own 
garage at his present address. Here he has a ca]iacity of sixteen cars, which 
he operates in a taxicab service in Bethlehem, also conducting a baggage 
transfer, and the prompt and courteous service rendered the Bethlehem public 
has gained for his business, which operates as the Bethlehem Transfer Com- 
pany, an enviable reputation. Mr. Hummel is a communicant of Trinity 
Lutheran Church, fraternizes with the Bethlehem Lodge of the Knights of 
Pj'thias. and is a strong Republican in political faith. For many years Mr. 
Hummel served on the Republican County Committee, for three years was 
assessor of Bethlehem, but now confines his political activity to general 
support of his party. 

Mr. Hummel married, April 30, igoo. Jennie, daughter of Carl and Ernes- 
tina Bleamer, her parents both natives of German\-, who, when young, made 
their homes in Easton, Pennsylvania. Children of William Joseph and Jennie 
(Bleamer) Hummel : Iva, Ernestine, Charles, James, Paul, died aged six 
years, and Betty Jane. 



TOBIAS B. CLAUSER — The business connection of Mr. Clauser with 
the town of Seidersville covers a period of more than forty years, and during 
that time he has grown into many and enjoyable intimate relations in that 
town, serving it in public office as far as his private affairs would permit and 
discharging at ever}' turn the duties of good citizenship. As postmaster and 
member of the board of education he has had opportunity to serve his fellows, 
and as a member of the official board of the Lutheran church he has worked 
diligently in behalf of his denomination and for the maintenance of a high 
moral standard in Seidersville. 

Mr. Clauser is a son of Daniel and Susan (Brumbach) Clauser, both of 
Berks county, Pennsylvania, where Daniel Clnuser was for thirty-five years a 
justice of the peace, his death occurring in 1878. They were the parents of 
fourteen children, of whom four, Daniel, Mallon. Simon and Tobias B.. sur- 
vive. Simon Clauser is a veteran of the Civil War. as were his brothers. 
Orlando and Levi, the last named gaining the rank of lieutenant. 

Tobias B. Clauser was born in Berks countv, Pennsylvania, May 17, 1856. 
He attended the public schools in the place of his birth, and at the age of 
fourteen years began his business career as a clerk in a store near his home, 
in which employ he continued for nine years. On October 20, 187S, Mr. 
Clauser assumed the management of the business he now owns, which had 



' — >'^. LE.VOX AND 




3]ciinc6 H. ^cl)Ooln> 




Jfcinnic i^. ^cl)oolcp 



PUB..: : . i;AKY 

I ASTOH. LKN'OX AND 



BIOGRAPHICAL 381 

formerly been the old established store of his father-in-law, Jacob Markle, 
the building having been erected and the store opened in 1858. Mr. Clauser 
has altered the building, and has become the head of a thriving business, 
receiving a generous patronage in the town because of a firmly established 
reinitation for absolute fairness in his dealings and for the uniform high 
quality of the goods he carries. His line is a general one, and his store enjoj.s 
the merited confidence of the communit3^ 

For twentj'-eight years Mr. Clauser was postmaster of Seidersvillc, re- 
ceiving his first apjiointment from President Cleveland, and filling that office 
until the Seidersvillc community came under the service of the South Bethle- 
hem office. Like his father, Mr. Clauser is a Democrat in politics, although 
he has never entered extensively into public life. For one term he was a 
school director, and has served as president and secretary of the local Board 
of Education. He fraternizes with the Loyal Order of Moose, belonging to 
the South Bethlehem Lodge, and for many \ cars he has been a deacon and 
elder of the Lutheran church, also filling the position of secretary of the 
church organization for one term. 

Mr. Clauser married, October 20, 1877, Julia, daughter of Jacob and 
Elizabeth (Harris) Markle, her father dying in 1878, aged sixty-one years, 
her mother's death occurring in September, 1900. Mrs. Clauser, the mother 
of four children, is an invalid. She bears her burden of physical infirmity 
with a patience and cheer that is the cx])ression of a Christian character of 
rare strength and beauty, and gave two sons to the service with an unfalter- 
ing patriotism. Children of ToI)ias B. and Julia (Markle) Clauser: i. Amy, 
born November 27, 1882, married Thomas C. Siegfried, an employee of the 
Bethlehem Steel Comi)any ; resides at Scidcrsville ; they are the parents of 
one son, Woodrow Thomas, named in honor of the president and vice-presi- 
dent of the nation. 2. George Grover, born May 9, 1885, named for President 
Grover Cleveland: an employee of the Bethlehem Steel jCompany ; married 
Anna Sutton, of Hellertown, and they are the parents, of three children. 

3. Raymond Jacob, born April 22, 1887; a soldier in the Lfnited States Army. 

4. Willis Edwin, born August 15, 1893. a soldier in the United States Army, 
served with the American Expeditionary Force in France. 



JAMES LOMASON SCHOOLEY— The SchoOleys of Warren countv. 
New Jersey, to which James Loniason Schooley belonged, sprang from John 
Schooley, who came from England to New Jersey in the year 1700. Some 
of his immediately descendants early settled in Burlington county, others 
settling at .Schoolej^'s mountain, a mountain ridge along the western border 
of Morris county. New Jersey, constituting a part of the Blue Ridge system. 
Schooley's mountain, the original home of the Schoolcys and which bears 
their name, became one of the famous mountain resorts of the country, the 
natural beauties, mineral springs and pure air, attracting visitors from near 
and far. There Jedediah Schooley. a grandson of John Schooley. lived, he 
the son of Joseph P. Schooley, born in the township of Greenwich, W^^rren 
county, New Jersey, April 17, 1785. Other members of the family settled 
in Greenwich and at Bloomsbury, and there James Lomason Schooley was 
born. The Lomason family, with whom the Schoolcys intermarried, has long 
been identified with the history of Warren county, the original settler being 
one Lambertson, who owned land on Scotts mountain. Lawrence Lomason, 
one of his grandsons, born in 1770, bought a farm near Broadwav, Warren 
county. New Jersey, in 1790, and there reared a large family, some of his 
descendants later settling in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. 

The Roseberry and Schooley families were united by the marriage of 
James L. Schooley to Fanny Roseberry, she a daughter of Joseph and Marv 
Louise (Leffler) Roseberry, and a descendant of John Roseberry, who set- 
tled in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, about 1740. Joseph Roseberry was a de- 



382 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

scendant of John and Margaret (Phillips) Roseberry, and was the son of 
Joseph and Sallic (Vannatta-Climer) Roseberry, the latter a Widow Climer. 
Joseph Roseberry, the father, was the owner of a large farm, also owned 
and operated a line of canal boats. Mrs. Joseph Roseberry, widow, now of 
Easton, Pennsylvania, was the daughter of Christopher and Margaret (Lova) 
Leffler, who resided near Harmony, New Jersey. Christopher Lefifler was 
the son of John Leffler, who with two brothers came to America from Ger- 
many. John Leffler settled in New Jersey, engaged in farming, became a 
large land owner, presenting to each of his eight sons a good farm. He 
also had two daughters. Pie lived to be over ninety years of age. John 
Roseberry owned fifteen hundred acres, including the site of Phillipsburg, 
his lands extending from Andover Furnace and Greensbridge to Marble 
mountain and nearly to Watertown. John Roseberry married Margaret 
Phillips, daughter of William Phillips, in whose honor Phillipsburg was 
named. W^illiam Phillips was a descendant of Rev. George Phillips, who 
arrived from England with Governor Winthrop, June 12, 1630, settled at 
Salem, and founded the Congregational church in America. Mary Louise 
Roseberry, mother of Fanny (Roseberry) Schooley, is yet a resident of 
Easton, Pennsylvania, and recently was present at a meeting in the newly 
completed Sunday school building of the First Methodist Episcopal Church, 
seated with her granddaughter, Florence May Schooley, daughter of James 
L. and Fanny (Roseberry) Schooley. The significance of this attendance 
was better understood later when the pastor. Dr. Ford, announced the gift 
of ten thousand dollars from Miss Schooley for the new Sunday school build- 
ing, also a handsome Weber grand piano. Dr. Ford spoke most feelingly of 
the care and Christian culture Miss Schooley had received through her grand- 
mother, and how they had been for years among the most loyal members of 
the church and Sunday school. Charles P. Ayers, president of the board, in 
accepting this gift, stated that the board of trustees had already taken action, 
and that a fine bronze tablet would be placed in a suitable position and that 
the building would be called the Florence May Schooley Bible School 
building. 

James Schooley, of the Warren county. New Jersey, branch, descending 
from lohn Schoolev, of Schooley's mountain, was a farmer of Greenwich 
town.ship, his farm located near i31oomsbury. He married Elizabeth Witte, 
also of a New Jersey family, and they were the parents of James Lomason 
Schoolev, to whose memory this review of an ancient and honorable family 
is dedicated. 

James Lomason Schooley was born at the home farm near Bloomsbury, 
Warren county. New Jersey, December 2, 1858, and died in Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, December 13. 1898. He grew to manhood at the home farm, obtain- 
ing a public school education, and in due time learning the carpenter's trade. 
About the year 1898 he located in Easton, Pennsylvania, but later in that 
same year he died. He was a well known contractor of New Jersey and 
Easton, was concerned in a great deal of railroad construction work in the 
line of his business, and erected many buildings in Easton, Phillipsburg and 
other towns. He was a man of high principle and sound judgment, and liked 
by all who knew him. being one of those men of action whose deeds speak 
louder than their words. 

Mr. Schooley married. I^anny Roseberry, born November 3, i8fio, in Phil- 
lipsburg. New j'ersev, daughter of Joseph and Marv Louise fl^effler) Rose- 
berrv. Thev were the parents of an only child, Florence May Schooley, of 
Easton. 



ADAM L. KOTZ. M.D. — Although still serving a limited office clientele. 
Dr. Kotz devotes himself largely to his duties as pathologist to Easton FIos- 
pital, Easton. a position he accepted in 1913. He came to the staff of Easton 




iflorcncc 5@. ^cl)oolcp 



THE^i^A 


iv*»;)(: 




pfJBLi:, l: 


r^fAKY 




AS-rr-h, ': 






WLtSK . 






« 


1 


J-, 



?{] 



-"-1.U. LibHARY 






. - - ■ ■ ,< 




3iosepl) IRosclicrrp 




£0arp IL. iRoGclicrrp 



TKE rtEvv yof . 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 

ASTOR, LF.V^X AXD 



BIOGRAPHICAL 383 

Hospital after twenty years association with St. Luke's Hospital as patholo- 
gist, his professional life having been spent in Easton, he coming to the city 
with his newly acquired degree M.D. in icS8r. He has won the honors of his 
profession through hard study and devoted interest, his desire to be of true 
service to his fellow men, and a thorough knowledge of the science to which 
he has devoted his life. He is a son of John H. and .Sarah (Yeisley) Kotz, 
his father a farmer of Forks township, and of ancient Northampton county 
family. 

Adam L. Kotz was born at Sandts City, Forks township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, March 17, 1856. His education, begun in country 
public schools, was continued at Trach's Academy, Easton, and at Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia, the last named conferring the degree M.D. 
upon her son at graduation, class of 1881. Upon receiving this high authority 
to practice medicine. Dr. Kotz located in Easton. April 25, 1881, began prac- 
tice, remaining seven years, until 188S. In that year he went abroad, and for 
one year pursued a course of intensive study and laboratory work in Vienna 
clinics under the highest instruction which those clinics afforded, specializing 
in pathology and bacteriology. In 1889 he returned to Easton and resumed 
practice. For twenty years he was pathologist to St. Luke's Hos])ital. and 
since 1913 has maintained the same relation to Easton Hospital, conducting a 
large private practice in connection with his hospital work, until in recent 
years only a restricted number of office i)aticnts arc cared for. His research 
work has been of inestimable value to medical science, and he has contributed 
largely to the literature of his profession through American and foreign medi- 
cal journals. Dr. Kotz is a member of the Northampton County Medical 
Societv, Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association, 
Pathological Society of Philadelphia, American Microscopical Society, and 
American Society for the Advancement of Science. He is one of the "old 
school" scholarly physicians to whom the ethics of the medical profession 
are a sacred trust, and is honored both by profession and laity. As a patholo- 
gist he has attained high rank, his reputation extending far beyond local and 
State limits. 

Dr. Kotz married, May 27, 1885, Susan C. Hay. Thev have no children; 



CHARLES FREDERICK AICHER— A native son of Easton, and senior 
member of the firm, Aicher Brothers, of that city, Charles F. Aicher is a 
representative of the energetic, progressive men who have constantly labored 
not more for personal gain than for the general welfare of their city. He 
is a son of Frederick and Magdalena (Fisher) Aicher, both born in Baden. 
Germany. Frederick Aicher coming to the United States when voung. his 
wife leaving Germany when a child of ten years. Frederick Aicher learned 
the shoemaker's trade, and until his death followed that trade in Easton. His 
father died during the passage from Europe, leaving his widow with four 
sons and two daughters. Frederick being the youngest and the last survivor, 
of the family. FTe married in Easton and there led a quiet, industrious life, 
his only interest outside his work and his family being the church, he being a 
very active member, servinsj on the committee in charge of the buildinn' of 
St. Joseph's Church. He died, aged eighty-six vears. Frederick and Mag- 
dalena (Fisher) Aicher were the parents of eleven children : Francis ; Joseph ; 
William, died in infancv; Andrew Albert, whose .sketch follows; Mary, mar- 
ried Albert Lerch ; ./^nnie, married Albert Schaefer; Joseph: Charles: Jennie, 
married John Paramour; Charles Frederick, of further mention :_ and Edward. 

Charles Frederick Aicher was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, Janiiary i, 
1868. He was educated in the schools of the city, parochial and public, and 
completed high school courses with the graduating class of 1887. then became 
a carpenter's apprentice, following that trade for three vears. In 1000 he 
first ensjaeed in the business he has conducted so successfully, Aicher Broth- 



384 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

ers being the largest firm of wholesale and retail wall-paper dealers and 
interior decorators in the county, and one of the largest in Eastern Pennsyl- 
vania. Their trade extends far beyond the city limits, and is built entirely 
upon the excellence of their work, quality of their merchandise and the fair, 
upright methods of transacting their business. Charles Frederick Aicher, 
senior member of the firm, is a member of the Easton Board of Trade, and 
one of the substantial, solid men of the city. He is a member of the Patriotic 
Order Sons of America, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and of 
St. John's Lutheran Church. Travel is his chief recreation, but business 
claims his almost exclusive attention, as its continual prosperity demands 
the same expert management that has made it one of Easton's most success- 
ful enterprises. In politics he is a Republican. 

Charles F. Aicher married, in May, 1886, Emily L. Hilborn, daughter of 
Charles and Mary (Trittenbach) Hilborn, of Easton, formerly of Slatington, 
Pennsylvania, where I\Irs. Aicher was born. They are the parents of seven 
sons: Ralph Frederick, associated with his father in business; Carl J., also 
engaged in the famil}- business ; Allen Chase, connected with the Aicher Broth- 
ers' business ; Frank, an accountant, enlisted in the United States Army, in 
the medical depot stationed at Washington, District of Columbia; Lee, died 
in 1916; William B., an inspector in the service of the Government; Walter 
D., in the medical depot of the United States Army, stationed at Washington, 
District of Columbia. 



ANDREW ALBERT AICHER— The business interests of the city of 
Easton have long felt the influence of the Aicher name, the particular line in 
which members of that family have engaged being wall-paper and interior 
decoration. 

Andrew Albert Aicher, son of Frederick and Magdalena (Fisher) Aicher, 
was born at the family home in Easton, No. 206 South Fourth street, and 
there he has ever since made his home. He attended public school until 
thirteen years of age, then began his lifelong connection with the wall-paper 
business, beginning as a paper-hanger apprentice. He served his time under 
Charles Crozet, and later worked as a journeyman with William H. Hazzard 
for several years. He made his first business venture in 1889, opening a 
wall-paper store at No. 102 South Third street, Easton, and from that year 
he has continued in the same business without a partner. For fifteen years, 
1889-1904. he continued business at his original location, then removed to 
No. 154 Northampton street, there remaining until 1909. when he sold out 
to Mast & Newmeyer. and he resumed business at his present location. No. 
3 Lane's court. On April i. 1020, ]\Ir. Aicher will have been connected with 
the wall-paper business as apprentice, journeyman and dealer for a full half- 
century, having begun a boy of thirteen in 1870. During that time he has 
fitted up and conducted three of the leading wall-paper stores of Easton, and 
is always alluded to in trade gatherings as the "father" of the wall-paper 
business in Easton. He is a man of energy and integrity, his reputation 
thoroughly established for fair dealing. 

Mr. Aicher married, in Easton, April 7. 1877, Jennie J. Frederick, of 
Bethlehem, born July 2, 1836, died February 20. 191 1. daughter of Jacob and 
Eliza Frederick. They were the parents of a son who died in infancy. An 
adopted child, Daisy Jennie, died aged fourteen years. She was born Octo- 
ber 10, 1884, died February 20. 1898. 

RICHARD M. JOHNSON— Richard ^L Johnson, a poor director of 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and a resident of Nazareth, was born in 
Lower Nazareth township. "September 13, 1846, son of Simon and Sarah 
(Sciple) Johnson. Simon Johnson was born in Palmer township, Pennsyl- 
vania, at Lower Nazareth," April 18, 1812, and his father, Martin Johnson, 




uLCemMt ^k. /^277^, 



';Uyf'i^^ 



THE NEW Yt/»;K 
PUBLIC LIHh'AKY 

Ati'IOH. LENOX AND 
WLDEN FOUNt: - 



BIOGRAPHICAL 385 

came when a younjjf man from Baden, Germany, and died here in 1846. 
Martin and his brother owned a farm of four hundred acres in Pahner, and 
later this tract was divided into four farms, Martin's farm, lying- south of 
Nazareth, bccominj? the homestead of this branch of the family. Martin 
Johnson married a Miss Knecht, of lUishkill township, who survived her 
husband thirty years. They were the parents of five children: Simon, of 
further mention; Susanna, married John Wagner; Livina, married Solomon 
Hummel; Sibina, married Samuel l'"air: and John, who died in Lower Naza- 
reth in 1890. 

Simon Johnson inherited the farm at .South Nazareth, and in 1838 settled 
there with his wife Sarah, a daughter of Henry Seiple, of Lower Nazareth. 
She died in 1885, aged sixty-eight years, and he in 1902, at ninety years of 
age. Their thirtv years of happy wedded life were spent at the homestead 
in South Nazareth. The tract of one hundred and two acres that Simon 
Johnson owned .so long became, under his management, one of the most 
fertile in the townshij)," and after his death Richard M. Johnson, acting as 
executor of his father's estate, sold it to William L. Shimer. Simon John.son 
served on the School Board for ten years, and was one of the staunch Demo- 
crats of his town. He was a member of the Dry Land Reformed Church, 
and both he and his wife are buried in the cemetery of the church lot. They 
were the parents of nine children, one dying young: Susan M., married 
James Jacoby, both deceased ; Sarah N., married Daniel Herman, both de- 
ceased ; Marietta, married George Rhodes, both deceased; Angelina, now 
widow of Samuel Seigel, a resident of Bethlehem ; Richard M., of further 
mention ; William H. J-, now an undertaker and funeral director of Easton ; 
Savannah, widow of Stephen Beck, and a resident of Bethlehem; Cyrus S., a 
teacher for years, and an insurance broker, now deceased. 

Richard M. Johnson grew to manhood at the home farm in South Naza-- 
reth, and early became its manager, and for twelve years aftier his marriage 
continued its operation. He then bought the hotel at the: Fair Grounds, 
which became known as "Johnson's Hotel:" Th'is'he Yui-n'ed into a popular 
cattle market, having commodious stables and, sheds. He continued largely 
interested in stock raising, buying, selling and shipping to all points for 
thirty years. His purchases were largely from the nearby farmers, but he 
was widely known and he never declined business even if it came from 
distant parts. Mr. Johnson gave up the hotel in 1894 and moved to a house 
within the borough. In 191 1 he was elected a member of the County Board 
of Poor Directors, and was treasurer of the board for eight years, and at 
present he is president of it. The poor farm consists of three hundred and 
twent3^-five acres, is in the western part of Nazareth township, is well equipped 
and a" modern institutiort, and it has all the latest improvements, which was 
largely due to Mr. Johnson's management. A herd of Holstein cattle, mostly 
selected by him, roam the farm pasture, and is considered one of the finest 
herds of Holsteins in Northampton county. Mr. Johnson is a member of the 
County Fair Association, and is interested in various enterprises. He is a 
shareholder in the Nazareth National Bank. He was a member of the Town 
Council of Nazareth. At his hotel propeftv he once maintained^ a shooting 
range well equipped for the sport, and the Johnson House "Shoots" was one of 
the well known gun clubs of its time and holds records in the commnnitv. On 
one occasion a party county convention was held at the Johnson House 
which was a well known political centre. He was a member of the North- 
ampton County Trap Club, a member of the Knights of Pythias, and attends 
St. John's Reformed Church. 

Richard M. Johnson married, in 1873, Emma Beck, born in Nazareth in 
1850, daughter of George and E^^thcr (Kochcr) Beck. George Beck was born 
in "Lower Nazareth, where he died aged eighty-one years, and his wife died 

N. H. BIGG.— 25 



386 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

here aged seventy-five years. Mrs. Emma (Beck) Johnson's paternal grand- 
father and mother were George and Elisabeth (March) Beck, old residents 
of this section. 



ELLSWORTH LINCOLN SIMMERS— Daniel Simmers, a Chester 
count}-, Penns^'lvania. farmer, married Julia Guest, and they were the parents 
of twelve children, Ellsworth Lincoln being the eleventh child. Two of the 
sons of Daniel Simmers served in the Civil War, Thomas and Robert. The 
father died in 1883, aged eighty-two years. 

Ellsworth Lincoln Simmers was born in Warwick township, Chester 
county, Pennsylvania, June 21, 1861, and there lived the first fifteen years of 
his life, attending the district school and aiding in farm labor. In 1876 he 
became clerk in a Phoenixville (Pennsylvania) general store owned by 
Frank Kramer, with whom he remained eighteen months. His next employ- 
ment was with the Philadelphia it Reading Express, continuing in that 
position eighteen months, receiving his pay in scrip part of the time, the 
panicky times of 1877 being on. He then went W'est, stopping for a time 
in Chicago and Omaha, finally settling in St. Joseph, Missouri, there being a 
passenger brakeman on the Kansas Citj', St. Joseph & Council Bluffs railroad 
running between Council Bluffs and Kansas City. After six months' rail- 
roading he resigned and entered the employ of Towers & Gudgel, stockmen 
and cattle raisers, with ranches near the Colorado State line on the Cimmeron 
river. Towers & Gudgel were at that time the largest cattle ranchers, owning 
sixty thousand head of cattle and five thousand horses. They shipped five 
thousand fat beeves to market each year, and were widely known in the 
cattle market. Mr. Simmers remained with this outfit for five 5'ears, going 
to Galveston, Texas, the second year in the interest of the firm, having the 
previous year been outside representative, looking up stray cattle. During 
the winter of 1882 he drove stages between Troehea and Tascosa on the 
Dodge City (Kansas) and Las \'egas (New Mexico) stage line. In 1883 he 
was with the drive of thirtv-three hundred steers which were brought seven 
hundred miles north from Texas on the hoof and turned out to graze on the 
plateau between the Canadian and Cimmeron rivers. In the spring of 18S4 
he was appointed by the company to gather all one and two-3-ear-old steers, 
and on June 21 started north from the Cimmeron river to his destination on 
the BigBeaver river in Montana, a distance of eleven hundred miles. Because 
of Texas fever among cattle that year the well beaten trails were not fol- 
lowed. On July 4 they crossed the Arkansas river, then went up the Big 
Sandy to Kit Carson, then a due northwesterly course across a country in 
which they did not meet a white person for eighteen days. The Burlington 
& Missouri railroad had just been completed to Denver, and the occasional 
smoke of a locomotive was a welcome sight. The drive ended safely on the 
Big Beaver in Montana, October 4, one hundred and ten days having been 
consumed on the way. The next winter, 1884, he returned to the old home in 
Chester county, Pennsylvania, but after a visit he returned West. Having 
become an expert cowboy and liking the work, he continued a foreman for 
the Triangle J. P. Company. In the spring of 1885, in the Little Missouri 
country, he was made captain of the "round up," covering one hundred and 
fifty miles of territory from the head of the river to Fort Buford, where the 
Little Missouri empties into the Yellowstone. There he met Colonel Roose- 
velt for the first time, the colonel having two small ranches in that section, 
the Elkhorn and Chimney Butte. This was in the section known as the Bad 
Lands, the area of those lands being entirely in North Dakota and Montana. 
Colonel Roosevelt was then absorbing his Western ranch training, and 
anxious to learn everything connected with ranching. Mr. Simmers was an 
expert with the lariat' having a record of roping sixty calves in an hour, this 
meaning that he "cut them out," roped, and threw them, and then applied 



BIOGRAPHICAL 387 

the heated brand. Colonel Roosevelt took many long rides with Mr. Simmers, 
and they became warm friends. 

Mr. Simmers remained with the Triantile Company imtil the cattle were 
shipped, then drove seven hundred head to Mandan, North Dakota, there 
entering the employ of the Marquis de Mores Ranch Company, the marquis 
being the well known French nobleman who was later killed in North Africa, 
it is supposed by Arabs. He had established an abattoir at Medora, North 
Dakota, and was in direct competition with the big packers of Omaha and 
Chicago. Through the inlluence of Colonel Roosevelt and Marquis dc Mores 
a school was started in Medora, the only available room being over a saloon, 
Mr. Simmers being prevailed upon to become the teacher. Dakota had not 
been divided into the States, North and South Dakota, and the same influ- 
ence which established the school organized a new county, of which Mr. 
Simmers was elected probate judge. The next fall Judge Simmers removed 
to Chicago, there oj^ening a saloon on Halstead street, but in November, 
1886, there was a strike period and he was soon put out of business. 

He was then employed to take a trainload of cattle from Chicago to 
Philadelphia, after which he became a road salesman for the Atlantic & 
Pacific Tea Company, and for thirteen years he covered South Jersey, Dela- 
ware and Eastern Pennsylvania in the interests of that company. In 1893 
he married, and on June i, igoo, he was appointed a member of the Phila- 
delphia & Reading Coal Company's police force, and was in active service 
during all the strikes in the anthracite region during the period 1900-07. He 
was promoted to the rank of lieutenant, and was in charge of the northern 
district of the Schuylkill coal region. In 1907 he resigned and was appointed 
by the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as captain of police and assigned 
to duty at Sa\ re, Pennsylvania. In Ajiril, 1910, he was transferred to Easton, 
Pennsylvania, with the same rank, and assigned to duty on the New Jersey 
& Lehigh division. He filled that position very acceptably until March 31, 
1916, when he resigned to enter the employ of the William Wharton, Jr., 
Company of Easton. His first work was assembling switches, then a 
time card system was installed, with Mr. Simmers as timekeeper. He 
held that position until January 8. 191 7, when he was appointed to the Easton 
police force with the rank of lieutenant and as city detective, a position 
which he yet holds (1919). Lieutenant Simmers is a member of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal church ; Mount Carmel Lodge No. 265, Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Philadelphia ; Shamokin Lodge No. 149, Patriotic Sons of America, 
and in politics is a Republican. 

Mr. Simmers married, in Shamokin. Pennsylvania, April 27, 1893, Carrie 
L. Roth, daughter of William C. and Dora (Bergstresser) Roth, of Shamokin. 
Children: Lena Lillian, married J. Wilson Harrison, of Easton; William 
Roth, was in the service of his country, serving as sergeant with Seventy- 
sixth Regiment. Field Artillery, with the Army of Occupation in Germany, 
stationed at Kottenheine. 

In the stirring events of the past two years Lieutenant Simmers has had 
a part, having acted as chief clerk to the Easton Draft Board by request of 
the Town and City Council ; while with the Philadelphia &: Reading Railroad 
Company he took a course in the Scranton International Correspondence 
School, and while with the same company he was assistant to Mr. Mauger, 
general passenger agent and guide to educational tours on the Reading sys- 
tem, having normal and high schools visiting Washington, District of 
Columbia. 



HARRY C. ZELLERS, D.D.S.— Harry C. Zellers was born at the Zellers 

homestead in Williams township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. April 
30, t886. He completed public school study with graduation from Easton 
High School, class of 1903. Several years were then spent in the emi)loy of 



388 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

his father, who was then register of wills for Northampton county, after 
which he entered the dental department of the University of Pennsylvania. 
Pie pursued study there until 1913, graduating D.D.S. with the class of 1913. 
Following the conferring of his degree, Dr. Zellers opened dental offices in 
Easton, and has in the years which have since elapsed gained high reputation 
as a skilled exponent of dental art. He is a member of several societies, 
including Psi Omega ; Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks ; and in politics is a Democrat. 

When the United States entered the World War in IQ17, Dr. Zellers 
volunteered for service in the United States Dental Reserve Corps, was com- 
missioned a lieutenant, but the armistice was signed before he was called 
into active service. 



REUBEN KOLB — Reuben Kolb is a well known figure in the life of 
Easton, Pennsylvania, with many of the local affairs, of which community 
he has been intimately associated for many years, and where he is at present 
engaged in the real estate and insurance business, is a native of Palmer 
township in this count3\ his birth taking place there February 15, 1837. Mr. 
Kolb is a son of John J- and Elizabeth (Stecker) Kolb. and a grandson of 
Leonard Kolb, a native of the town of Baan Brucken, Germany, where his 
death occurred in the year 1836 or 1837. The children of Leonard Kolb 
were as follows : Charles ; Elizabeth ; John J., who was the father of Reuben 
Kolb; and Jacob S., for a number of years was burgomaster of the town. 

John J. Kolb, born at Baden, Germany, in 1812, and came to the United 
States in order to avoid military service in his native land. He made the 
voyage on a sailing vessel from Havre, and landed at New York, September 
7, 1828, after a trip lasting forty-nine days. He was quite a young man at 
that time, and remained for a time in New Jersey, where he worked for a 
number of 3'ears. He had, however, relatives living in Williams township, 
in Northampton county, and after a time made his way to see them. Later 
he married Elizabeth Stecker, of Forks townsJiip, a daughter of Henry and 
Catherine (Lauchs) Stecker, and a granddaughter on the maternal side of a 
Revolutionar}' soldier. At the time of his marriage, the elder Mr. Kolb was 
working on a farm in Palmer township. Later he removed to Williams town- 
ship, where he died at the age of eighty- seven years. 

The birth of Reuben Kolb occurred in the old one-story log house situ- 
ated about three and one-half miles from Easton. There his earliest child- 
hood was spent, but when he was about three or four years of age his parents 
moved to the town of Easton, where he has since spent most of his life. It 
was after his parents* removal to Easton that Reuben Kolb began his school 
days, attending for this purpose the school held in a small building on Spring 
Garden street here. It is told of him that his first employment was given 
him at the age of four years, when a certain nearby neighbor, who was build- 
ing a stone wall, used the lad to help him get the stones for his structure. 
He continued his studies at the local schools for a number of years, and at 
the age of eighteen began teaching school at Forks township, nearby. 
The young man displayed unusual talent in this profession, and for six years 
continued to follow it. As a matter of fact, he might have made it his life's 
career had he not felt the patriotic call of duty and enlisted in the State 
militia, offering his services to his country during the great Civil War. Mr. 
Kolb secured a position in the office of the United States assessors, where he 
made himself so valuable that he was soon appointed to the position of 
assistant assessor, and held that office until the accession of Andrew Johnson 
to the presidency. About that time Mr. Kolb became acquainted with people 
living at Easton, who had invested in silver mines in Montana, and he was 
sent by them to that Western district in order to take active charge of their 
interests at the mines, fie remained there for about eighteen months, after 



TifK NEW YOAK 



L 




J^ ^(jhn^u4. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 389 

which he returned once more to Ihe I'-ast, and this time settled in Carbon 
county, where he took charj^c of a larji^e lumber tract near the town of White 
Haven, it beinp his duty to superintend the ojjeration of the saw-mills, stores, 
etc. Mr. Kolb continued thus engaged for a jjeriod of four years, when he 
returned to Easton, and here secured a position as bookkee])er at the Seitz 
Brewery, remaining with this concern for a similar period. Later Mr. Kolb 
was elected justice of the peace from the Second Ward of the city, and was 
later elected from the same district as alderman, fdlins; both positions to 
the eminent satisfaction of the community-at-large and to his own credit. 
Together he held these offices some twenty-six years, and thereafter was 
appointed notary public. He then engaged in the insurance business, to 
which he added also large real estate operations, so that he is now the pro- 
prietor of one of the largest businesses of this kind in the community. In 
his religious belief, Mr. Kolb is a Lutheran and attends St. John's Church of 
this denomination at Easton, and he is exceedingly- active in the work of his 
parish. Mr. Kolb has liberally supported the philanthropic undertakings of 
his church, and has been very active in the congregation, holding the office 
of elder there for thirty-two years. Mr. Kolb first attended Sunday school 
here in the year 1842, and afterwards at the age of eighteen became a teacher, 
continuing to act in this capacity until <]uite recently. He also taught a Bible 
class for about fifteen years, and was well known in religious circles through- 
out the region. Mr. Kolb is a member of the Republican party, and is a 
staunch supporter of its principles and policies. From early manhood he 
was associated with the local organization of his party, and although he came 
of an old Democratic family, he cast his first vote for Abraham Lincoln, and 
since that time has voted consistently for every Republican candidate in 
State affairs down to the time of Charles E. Hughes, in 1916. 

Reuben Kolb was united in marriage by the Rev. Smith Porter, of the 
Lutheran church at Forks township, in 1857, with Matilda Rader, of that 
place, a daughter of Paul and (Wolf) Rader, old and highly re- 
spected residents there. To Mr. and Mrs. Ivolb the following children have 
been born : William, who married Sojihia Brandt, by whom he had seven 
children, five of whom are now living ; Mary, who became the wife of Walter 
England, with whom she resides in Wilson township; Silas, who resides at 
Buslikill Park, and married Selina Gehringcr; Minnie, who became the wif^ 
of William George, of Philadelphia : Theodora, who became the wife of 
Alfred W. Wilmomte, a well known physician and the head of the Wisconsin 
State Home for the Feeble Minded at Chippewa Falls, in that State; and 
Edward, who died in early manhood. 



BARRY HOLME JONES— The period from 1899 to 1919. wdnich cov- 
ered the connection of Barry Holme Jones with the Bethlehem Steel Com- 
pany, witnessed the development of that company into one of the leading 
industrial enterprises of the world, anrl ]\Ir. Jones' ascent from a minor jiosi- 
tion to one of the most important official i)osts of this vast corporation, that 
of secretary anfl treasurer. During that period, in several positions, he came 
into contact with large numbers of the employees of the plant, and by his 
frank friendliness and simple democracy won a place in their regard that 
endured strong to the day of his death. He rose to a position of the most 
weighty responsibility in this company solely through the display of capacity 
for large affairs and the performance of work of signal value. His business 
vision and talents were his w-arrant of membership among leaders of the coun- 
try's industries, and the Bethlehem Steel Company and the business world 
sufifered severe loss in his death. 

Barry Holme Jones, son of Dr. Hiram Griffith and Annie (Fahncstock) 
Jones, was born in Evansville, Indiana, April q, 1874. Paternally he was of 
Welsh descent, and maternallv of Dutch descent. His mother w-as of the 



390 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

well known Fahnestock family, lonj:^ prominent in finance and industry in 
New York, and long prominent socially in both America and Europe. When 
he was a youth of eleven years of age, his mother brought the family to 
Bethlehem, the father deceased, and there he attended the Moravian Parochial 
School, whence he was graduated in 1890. In this year he entered Lehigh 
University, receiving at graduation in 1894 with high honors the degree of 
Bachelor of Science, having majored in metallurgy. For one year thereafter 
he served as instructor in the university, at the time pursuing post-graduate 
courses which won him a degree in Mining Engineering. His business expe- 
rience began as manager of the Bloomsburg Elevator Works, at Bloomsburg, 
and in 1899 he entered the employ of the Bethlehem Steel Company as 
superintendent of boilers. In the preparation of a statistical report in con- 
nection with Frederick \\'. Taylor, the well known efficiency expert, he dis- 
played such aptitude and ability in work of this nature that he was placed 
in a prominent position in the accounting department of the company. In 
this capacity he devised an inventory method that was used in the first com- 
plete and accurate inventory ever made of the Bethlehem Steel Company's 
properties, and it has proved adaptable to greatly increased operations to the 
extent that it forms the basis of the s\-stem now in use by the company. His 
appointment as auditor followed April i, 1902, and he placed his department 
on a splendidly accurate and smoothly running basis in a remarkably short 
period. 1 1 is advice and counsel were regarded as valuable aid by the com- 
pany officials, and in 1906 his extraordinary talents and ability were recog- 
nized in his election as director, and as secretary and treasurer. He served 
also in like capacities in the Bethlehem Steel Corporation and all of its sub- 
sidiary organizations. The expansion of the Bethlehem interests and the 
complex problems thej' presented never extended beyond the grasp of his 
business genius, nor fully plumbed the depths of his executive power. In the 
Bethlehem Steel Company, to which he devoted his life in business, he was 
known as an official far-seeing and capable to the last degree, a man who 
brought into business the charm of a gentle personality and the example of 
high character. He leaves a memorial in the company with wdiich he was 
so long associated, where his share in its growth, prosperity and strong 
stability is given abundant honor. He was a communicant of the Moravian 
church. He was a member of the Lawyers' Club of New York, Bethlehem 
Club, Lehigh Country Club, Northampton Count}' Country Club, and treas- 
urer of the Lehigh University Alumni Association. 

Barry Holme Jones married, May 30. iqi8, Mrs. Lillic (Fcnner) Drake, 
who with two daughters, Elizabeth and Kathryn, survive him. 



ALFRED CORNELIUS BETGE- Mr. Betge is a native of Bethlehem, 
educated in its public schools, and in that city has passed all of his active 
business career, being at the present time head of an undertaking and embalm- 
ing business long established and of excellent repute. He is prominent and 
active in the work of the ]\Ioravian church, of which he has been a lifelong 
member, and devotes himself earnestly and whole-heartedly to the various 
departments of church labor. Mr. Betge is a son of Gustav Betge. born in 
1810. died in 1884, who was a resident of the Moravian colony at Dresden, 
Germany, where he was educated and learned a trade, whence he came, after 
military service in the army of his native land, to the United States. He 
made the voyage in 1850 in one of the slow sailing vessels of the time, and 
settled first in Watertown, W^isconsin, two years afterward making his home 
in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, where he resided until his death. He is buried 
in the old Moravian Cemetery of that place. Gustav Betge married Pauline 
Graft', granddaugliter of Bishop Grafif. a notable figure in the history of the 
Moravian church in Saxony. Pauline Graff was born in the Moravian settle- 
ment at Gnadenfrei, Prussia. May 19. 1826. and died in Bethlehem, September 



BIOGRAPHICAL 391 

16, 1882, her husband, beside whom she is buried in the old Moravian Ceme- 
tery, surviving her two years. For two years, at Watertown, Wisconsin, she 
was in charge of a private school. Gustav and Pauline (Graff) Betge were 
the parents of five sons and four dauglitcrs, of whom the following .survive 
(1919) : Adoljih P., Agnes A., Alfred Cornelius, of whom further, and Fred- 
erick A. 

Alfred Cornelius I'ctge was horn in Hellili'lu'm, Pennsylvania, Se])tembcr 
2, 1864, and there attended the public school, finishing his studies in the Mora- 
vian Preparatory School. In 1891 he began work for William Walp, de- 
ceased, in funeral directing. This was an old established house, founded by 
Mr. Walp in 1866, Mr. Betge becoming sole owner in 1905, and continuing 
the business with the same success and on the same high ])!ane that has 
characterized it for more than half a century. Mr. Betge jnirsued stud\- in 
the College of Fmbalming, of Massachusetts, of which he is a graduate, class 
of 189C), and contributes the best of modern science to the service of his 
business, which, in its intimate and delicate relationship to the Bethlehem 
comnumity, has won such favorable reputation. Fie is a member of the 
Eastern Penns3dvania Fimeral Directors' Association and the National Fu- 
neral Directors' Association, and belongs also to the Bethlehem Chamber of 
Commerce. Mr. Betge was confirmed in the Moravian church in 1881 by 
Bishop Charles B. Shultz and was baptized by that dignitary, since that 
time devoting a large share of his time and labor to the furtherance of the 
work of his denomination. He is treasurer of the Home Mission Society of 
the church, vice-chairman of the pew collectors, and is a member of the Mora- 
vian Historical Society and the IMoravian Preparatory School Alumni Asso- 
ciation. He is also a life member of the Young Men's Missionary Society of 
the Moravian church. 

Alfred C. Betge married, April 21, 1908, S. Carrie McCammon, daughter 
of John and Elmira E. (Dech) McCammon. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania. Mr. 
McCammon was connected with educational work throughout his entire life, 
his death occurring in 1913 at the age of seventy-three years, and taught 
for a time in the schools of South Bethlehem, also serving Nazareth, Penn- 
sylvania, as principal of public schools. Elmira E. (Dech) McCammon died 
in 1884. Mrs. Alfred C. Betge was a member of the Alumni Association of 
the Moravian Seminary and College for Women, of Bethlehem. Mrs. Betge 
died December 14, 1918. 



CHARLES FRANKLIN SCHWARTZ— The two decades over which 
the contracting and building operations of Charles F. Schwartz extend have 
witnessed the development of his business from its first small beginnings to a 
position of leading prominence in Bethlehem and vicinit)'. Mr. Schwartz is at 
this time in active charge of all his operations and may view with justifiable 
pride the business that he has, through his own unaided effort, established so 
firmly. Exclusive of business houses and public buildings, Mr. Schwartz 
has to date (1919) erected more than fifteen hundred dwellings in the Beth- 
lehem locality, a notable record and an index of great usefulness to his com- 
munity. Mr. Schwartz is a son of William Henry Schwartz, born in Bethle- 
hem township, Northampton county, died in 1897, aged sixty-four years. His 
occupation was that of brickmaker, which he followed in Bethlehem, and he 
was a strong Democrat and a member of the Lutheran church. William H. 
Schwartz married Wilhelmina Smith, of lA'high county. Pennsylvania, who 
died in 1880, aged thirty-six years, and they were the parents of: Lizzie, 
married James Cook, of Jersey City. New Jersey; Amanda, married Charles 
^Tohn, an employee of the Bethlehem Steel Company, and has one daughter, 
Beulah : Charles Franklin, of whom further. 

Charles Franklin Schwartz was born in Bethlehem township. Northamp- 
ton county. Pennsylvania, October i. 1871, and until he was thirteen years 



392 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

of age attended the public schools of the township. Then, until 18S9, he 
worked on a farm, in that year becomins; apprenticed to his uncle. Amandas 
Schwartz, of Bethlehem, to learn the carpenter's trade. Remaining with 
his uncle for nine months he was afterward with Bishop & Fatzinger, of 
Bethlehem, for three years. His independent operations began in a modest 
manner in 1900, and as his capital and reputation became greater he gradually 
assumed more pretentious contracts, until at the present time he is a leading 
contractor and builder in that locality. Among the many notable contracts 
he has fulfilled was the remodeling of the Dryland Church, of Hecktown, 
Penns\ Ivania. an ancient structure erected more than a century ago, which 
he rebuilt into a handsome and modern church edifice. Many schools through- 
out the township are specimens of his work and in addition to many business 
houses he has built more than fifteen hundred dwellings. Mr. Schwartz has 
become the owner of a stone quarry, equipped with modern machinery capa- 
ble of extracting one hundred tons of stone a day. and he also owns a sand-pit 
that yields forty tons of fine sand a day. He utilizes four teams and a two- 
ton motor truck in his operations and owns none but well-bred draught 
horses, which are kept with scrupulous care. Mr. Schwartz is an ardent 
supporter of Democratic principles, and for fifteen years served as auditor of 
Bethlehem township. He is a member of the Lutheran church of Altoona, 
near Bethlehem, which he served for three years as deacon. 

Mr. Schwartz married, January 10, iSgi, I\Iary A. Mack, daughter of 
Levi and Elizabeth (Travel) Mack, of Bethlehem township, Northampton 
county, her father being drowned in 1862, her mother dying in 1909. Charles 
Franklin and Mary A. (Mack) Schwartz are the parents of: Clarence Levi, 
born March 17, 1893, served with the Engineers' Corps of the United States 
Army in the American Expeditionary Force in France ; Howard William, 
born October 5, 1896, employed as a carpenter by his father, a soldier in the 
United States Army ; Elmer Charles, born November 14, 1902, employed by 
his father. — 



WILLIAM HERMAN STUBER— In 1888, William H. Stuber, then a 
lad of fourteen years, entered the employ of the owner of a dry-goods store 
in Bethlehem, and in April, 1897, became the owner of the business. He has 
steadily progressed from that time, has enlarged and widened his field of 
operations and is one of the successful merchants of the city. He has worked 
practically alone in all these operations, financing the business and depending 
entirely upon his own efforts and judgment. He is a fine example of a self- 
made man and in his intercourse with his fellow men holds to a high standard 
of conduct. He is very energetic, progressive and public-spirited, always 
ready to aid in an}- movement for the civic good. He is a son of Jackson T. 
Stuber, born in Salisbury township. Lehigh count}-, November 18, 1847, and 
still active, although in 1917 he had the misfortune to lose his right hand. 
For forty-five years he has been an employee of the Bethlehem Steel Com- 
pany and has been placed upon the pension roll of the company, and is now 
filling a helper's position. Jackson T. Stuber married Anna Herman, daugh- 
ter of John Herman, of Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. They are the jiarents 
of four children : William Herman, of further mention ; Edward, died in 
infancy; Wallace J., in the employ of a wholesale dry-goods house in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, married ]\Iamie Burkhardt. of South Bethlehem ; Emma, 
married William E. Culin, of Allentown. a clerk in the accounting department 
of the Lehigh A^alley Railroad Company for twenty-five years, then trans- 
ferred his service to the Bethlehem Steel Company, they the parents of a 
son, Harold. 

William Herman Stuber was born in Salisbury township, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, September 29, 1874, and removed to Bethlehem when six 
years of age, there obtaining a public school education. When fourteen 



^^IC LIBRAHY 



R. LKNOX ANU 





1^ ^ /p<^d>'7-7^^'^^ 



^:r^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 393 

years of age he began his business Hfe, entering as a boy heli^cr in the store 
of whieh lie is now the owner and suecessful manager, lie beeamc pro])rietor 
in 1897, and from that \ car has steadily increased both his i^atronage and his 
store facilities. He specializes in dry-goods and is very poi)ular as a thor- 
oughly reliable up-to-date merchant and as a citizen of the best class. He is a 
part owner and treasurer of the Alacrity Knitting Mills of South Bethlehem. 
He has been interested in real estate development and built the National 
Biscuit Com])any building on Broadwa}-, and largely improved his private 
residence on the same street. He is a member of the Lutheran church, and for 
fifteen years has been active and useful as a luembcr of the Church Council. 
Every dei)artnicnt of the church activity commands his interest, and when 
the church building was enlarged and repaired recently, he was a member 
of the building committee of twelve in charge of the work. His interest also 
extended to the service flag presented to the church, Mr. Stuber being one 
of the leaders in that patriotic movement. He is a member of the South Side 
Business Men's Association, member of P>ethlehem Chamber of Commerce, 
was active in the "hill to hill" bridge campaign, and that for the consolidation 
of the boroughs into the city of Bethlehem. Genial and generous, he has 
taken special pleasure in helping those less fortunate in getting started 
toward success and useful citizenship. He is a Democrat in politics, a mem- 
ber of Stanley Goodwin Lodge No. 648, Free and Accepted Masons ; Bethle- 
hem Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, Knights of Malta, Knights of Pythias, and the Loyal 
Order of INIoose. 

Mr. Stuber married, Januar}- I, i8g6, Lovinia M. Gehringcr, daughter 
of Paul and Tavilla (Mauthhart) Gehringcr, of AUentown, Pennsylvania. 
Paul Gehringcr, a dealer in horses all his active life, died in May, 1918. Mrs. 
Stuber is active with her husband in church work and also in the work of the 
Red Cross. Mr. and Mrs. Stuber are the parents of two children: Beatrice 
T., born April 24, iScjS. and Bernadine A., born August 14, 1901. 



HARRY EDWARD McCORMICK, M.D.— Well established in a good 
practice in his native Easton, Dr. McCt)riuick has, in the years which have 
intervened since receiving his M.D. in iQii, fairly earned distinction as one of 
the leading young physicians and surgeons of Northampton county. He is a 
son of William Henry and Josephine (Goodyear) McCormick, of Easton. 

Harry E. McCormick w^as born in Easton, November 10, 1883, and here 
completed the public school courses of instruction with graduation from high 
school. He finished preparatory study at Easton Academy, then entered 
Medico-Chirurgical Medical College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, whence he 
was graduated M.D., class of 191 1. During his vacation periods he served 
as interne at Easton Hospital, and after graduation was also interne and 
later assistant surgeon to that institution. He maintained that connection 
until 1916, but from graduation in 191 1 he had been engaged in private prac- 
tice, first opening an office in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. In 1912 he removed 
his ofifice to Easton, and has there been in practice until the present, 1919, 
having built up a most gratifying medical and surgical clientele. In addition 
to his private practice, he is surgeon to the following corporations : Standard 
Process Steel Company, C. K. Williams & Company, Chipman Knitting 
Mills and Lehigh Valley Railway Company. Dr. McCormick keeps in inti- 
mate touch with everj^ ])hase of medicine and surgery through his numerous 
professional societies. He is a member of the Northampton County Medical 
Society, Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association, 
Fellow of the American Medical Association, member of Mann Orthopedic 
Society, the W. Frank Haehnlen Obstetrical Society; Ernest La Place Sur- 
gical Society, Fox Ojitholmological Society, George Meeker Bio-Clinic Society 
and Mann Orthopedic Society. He is a member of Easton Lodge No. 152, 



394 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; Association of Military Surgeons, United States Army ; Delaware 
Street Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics a Republican. Pie en- 
listed in the United States Regular Army Medical Corps during the recent 
war with Germany, was commissioned first lieutenant, and served for several 
months on the medical staff at Camp Grccnleaf. With the signing of the 
armistice and Germany's abject surrender of her navy and equipment, he 
was returned to civil life and his private practice. 

Dr. McCormick married, in Easton, August i8, 1914, Mary Elizabeth, 
daughter of Walter W. and Emma (Brown) Leyrer. 



JOHN O. BACHMAN — The records of the Bachmans trace their origin 
to Switzerland, early members of the family living in Luzerne. When Wil- 
liam Penn came to Pennsylvania, his private secretary was named Bachman, 
and in compensation for the work he performed two townships of land were 
deeded to him, known then as Upper and Lower Sagney, but later as Upper 
and Lower Saucon. Plistory also records the sale bj' Christian Beitler to 
Christian Bachman, June 20, 1751, of two hundred acres along Saucon creek, 
land originally deeded by John, Thomas and Richard Penn, July 23, 1744, 
to Christian Beitler. 

Christian Bachman was a miller and owned the mill property which 
many years later passed under control of Ehrhart & Brother. He married 
and reared a large family of sons: Abraham, John, George, Henry, Christian, 
Jacob, Joseph, .Solomon and Daniel. He also had a daughter Mary, who 
married" Christian Schuck. David Bachman, son of Christian Bachman, the 
miller, was the ancestor and great-grandfather of John O. Bachman, through 
Peter, son of David, John W., son of Peter, and John O., son of John W. 
Peter Bachman had three sons : John W., Charles and David. John W. 
Bachman was a farmer of Lower Saucon township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, but in early life learned and followed the carpenter's trade. 
He was a man of upright, honorable life, a member of the County Board of 
Supervisors and Township School Board, and interested in all town affairs. 
He married Lovena Overbeck, of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, they both 
being devout members of the Reformed church, he serving in official capacity. 
John W. Bachman died at his farm, in Lower Saucon in March, 1892, aged 
eighty-nine years, his wife preceding him to their last resting place in 1891. 
They were the parents of three sons: Peter, deceased; Titus O.. of Heller- 
town, Pennsylvania; and John O., of further mention. 

John O. Bachman, son of John W. and Lovina (Overbeck) Bachman, 
was born at the parental farm in Lower Saucon township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, September 21, 1854, and there his youth was spent. 
He attended the public schools of the district and grew up a well informed 
young man, a carpenter by trade, but later engaging in farming and becom- 
ing well known as one of the substantial farmers of the section. Pie fol- 
lowed carpentry for some years after leaving home, but finally settled on a 
farm of his own and there lived the quiet life of the prosperous agriculturist 
until 1897, when he entered official county life. In 1896 he was chosen war- 
den of Northampton county jail, and on January i, 1897 entered upon the 
duties of his office. He developed strong managerial quality, and during 
the seven years that he remained in office the affairs of the jail were conducted 
most humanely and justly, discipline was never better, and the voters of ths 
county were fully satisfied with their choice of a warden. He surrendered 
the office to his successor January I, 1904, and spent the following summer 
in the West, returning in 1905 to assume the duties of steward at the North- 
ampton county farm. Upon leaving this position he engaged in business as a 
contractor and builder, reverting to the business and trade in which he had 
engaged when a young man. ITntil 1914 he did a large amount of building 



BIOGR-^PHICAL 395 

in Northamijton county, chii-fl_v in l<^aston and South Bethlehem. Since 1914 
he has largely withdrawn from building operations and given his time to other 
lines of activity. During the year 1914 he formed a ])artnershii) with his 
son-in-law, W. II. Heil, and opened a flour and feed store at N(j. 144 South 
Third street, Easton, and has developed a very successful business at that 
location. He is a man of energy and ability, and in the varied relations in 
life which he has occupied, farmer, county official, contractor, builder and 
merchant, has won success and reputation. In his political faith, Mr. Bach- 
man is a Democrat of strength and influence, his voice a potent one in county 
party councils. He is a member of the Lutheran church, member of the 
Patriotic Order, Sons of America ; Hcllertown Lodge No. 563, Free and 
Accepted Masons ; and Bethlehem Chapter, Koyal Arch Masons. 

Mr. Bachman married, November 7, 1878, Mary ICllen King, born in 
1855. died October 20, 1916, daughter of Henry and Magdalena (Young) 
King. Mr. and Mrs. Bachman were parents of a daughter, Anna B., wife of 
W. H. Hcil, assistant cashier of the Easton National Bank. 



JOSEPH McGARR — The entire business career of Joseph McGarr has 
been jiassed in Betlileluin. his residence since he was brought as a boy from 
his English birthplace, and in this city he has labored from the age of twelve 
years, beginning under the i)rcssure of necessity and winning for himself 
independent position and reputation in the business that is now his field, real 
estate and insurance. He has been favored by no preference nor influence 
but, utilizing every opportunity that presented, he prepared himself for 
responsibilities, and by his determined application forced himself upward in 
the business world. Still a young man, he has come to a point in his career 
where he is able to select his fields of endeavor, and the record of his past 
gives promise of a future useful to his city. Mr. McGarr is the son of 
Samuel and Elizabeth J. (Holmes) McGarr, who were the ])arents of three 
children : Samuel, an inspector in the employ of the United States Govern- 
ment, stationed at the Bethlehem Steel Company's plant at Bethlehem; 
James, an officer in the United States Navy ; and Joseph. 

Joseph IMcGarr was born in the north of England, December 16, 1884, 
tb.e death of his parents occurring after the family came to the United States 
and when he was qtiitc young. As a boy he attended the public schools of 
Bethlehem, but the necessity of contributing to the family support caused 
him, at the age of twelve years, to begin work as a bobbin boy in a silk mill, 
where his daily wage was twenty-five cents. For three years he was em- 
ployed in this mill, then, appreciating the advantages of a trade, he became a 
machinist, for ten vears following that calling in the plant of the Bethlehem 
Steel Company. The advantages of business made their appeal to him, and 
he perfected himself in the knowledge necessary to successful dealing in 
real estate and insurance, opening an office for business in these lines on 
February 4, 1910. The nine years of his continuance in real estate and 
insurance dealings in Bethlehem have been vears of profit and experience to 
him, and the straightforward, open methods he employs in all his transactions 
have won him favor among his fellows and have gained him a clientele of 
impressive proportions. Mr. McGarr is independent in politics, and serves 
as a member of the Council of Fountain Hill township. He is a member of 
lodge, chapter and commandery in the Masonic order, his lodge No. 648, Free 
and Accepted Masons, of Bethlehem, and he also fraternizes with the Knights 
of Pythias, Bethlehem Lodge. He is a communicant of the Episcnjial church. 
He is a director of the People's Trust Company, a corporation he helped to 
organize, working diligently for its realization. 

Mr. McGarr married. July 18, 1906. Emma, daughter of Charles W. and 
Araminta Finady, of Bethlehem. Mrs. McGarr is a graduate of Pennsylvania 
State College and the Boston Conservatory, and is a prominent vocalist. 



396 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Mr. McGarr is also active in musical circles, and for a lon,^ time has been a 
member of church choirs. Mr. and Mrs. McGarr are the parents of Georgine 
Holmes, born May ii, 1907, and Charles W. F., born August 20, 1909. 

DANIEL PAUL CURRAN— In County Donegal, Ireland, Patrick James 
Curran was born and spent the first twenty years of his life, obtaining his 
education in the schools of the city of Dublin. In his twentieth year he 
came to the United States and settled in Easton on the South Side, where 
he is now living retired in his seventy-eighth year, having given the active 
years of his life to the iron and steel industry. He married Katherine Derry, 
born in Ireland, who died in 1917. aged seventy-three years, the mother of a 
family of thirteen children, Daniel P. being the fifth child. 

Daniel Paul Curran was born in Easton, South Side, July 28, 1873. an4 
there completed grammar school courses. He then attended Stevens Busi- 
ness College, Williamsport, Pennsylvania, after which he learned the barber's 
trade, and for twenty-two years he conducted his own shop in Easton. In 
the meantime he had made a close study of the art of embalming the dead, 
his instructor the very capable Joseph Kinney, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, a 
master of the art. In 1908, Mr. Curran opened a mortuary establishment in 
Easton and offered his services to the public as undertaker and funeral direc- 
tor, and he is today, eleven years later, head of the best organized undertaking 
business in the county. His equipment has been completely motorized, no 
horse-drawn vehicles having been used since 1916. Only the best and most 
modern methods of caring for the dead are employed, Mr. Curran keeping in 
close touch with every improved method and constantly seeking to improve 
his service through study and attendance upon clinics devoted to mortuary 
surgery. He is a member of the Funeral Directors' Association of Pennsyl- 
vania and New Jersey, National Funeral Directors' Association, Warren 
County (New Jersey) Funeral Directors' Association, Northampton Count}' 
Funeral Directors' Association, St. Bernard's Roman Catholic Church, 
Knights of Columbus, the Jacksonian Democratic Club, and a patron of the 
out-of-door sports, hunting, fishing and motoring. He was an original mem- 
ber of Company I, of the once famous Easton Guards, and served for two 
years as a member of the Hospital Unit of that organization. 

Mr. Curran married, October 15, 1894, Katherine Agnes O'Connor, daugh- 
ter of Hugh and Jane (Little) O'Connor, her father born in County Meath, 
Ireland, her mother born in Scotland. Mr. and Mrs. Curran are the parents 
of two sons and three daughters : Vincent De Paul, married Helen Sheetz, 
and they are the parents of a son. Vincent De Paul (2) ; Raymond Daniel, 
his father's assistant in the undertaking business ; Elizabeth Irene, Katherine 
Marie and Margaret Winifred. 



ANDREW M. WEINGARTNER— One of the handsomest and most 
comiiletely equipped buildings of its kind in the United States is the "Home" 
built by the Bethlehem Steel Company for its military band of one hundred 
men. This organization came into being about three and one-half years ago, 
and is under the direction of Andrew M. Weingartner, a musical director of 
large and varied experience. The band is composed of men employed in the 
offices and works of the Bethlehem Steel Company, and the movement is in 
the line of recreation rather than work, the band being a side issue to the 
men from a financial standpoint. 

The new building is essentially a combined club house and [)racticc hall, 
and the site chosen is a mile distant from the works and of ready access from 
all directions. Less than five hundred yards distant is the building in which 
a military band met one hundred and thirty \ears ago, which was perhaps 
the first ])ermanent organization of its kind in America. The building was 
turned over to the band in February, 1914, by Charles M. Schwab, who 




r J^^tSTM^im^,^. 



/2' /^ - /ff-v^-^ayiZZZc^ 



TSsfE -.lEW yuKK 
P'JBfJC LIBRARY 



j viLDKN fOUWDATICi^.H 



PUBLIC .,'Y 



ASTOR, LENOX AN L> 

»iLDKN FOUNDATICNS 

• L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 397 

founded and takes a close personal interest in this organization. The orp;ani- 
zation has met with great poi)ularity on all sides. A series of concerts has 
been given by the band to the emplo3'ees of the Bethlehem Steel Ctjmpany 
and their families, which were very well ]jatronized, a single concert having 
been attended by two thousand persons. In the summer-time these con- 
certs are given outdoors at various ]ioints in the community, which attract 
not only a large number of the company's employees, but many of the towns- 
people as well. In the winter-time they are held indoors. The movement 
has been a most popular one from the standpoint of welfare of the company's 
emi)loyees, and that the band has proved a source of pleasure to them is 
evidenced by the large attendance on every occasion. 

It is with this band and with the L-ehigh Symjihony Orchestra that Mr. 
Weingartncr has won much more than local fame as a leader an<l conductor. 
He has built up both band and orchestra from the initial organization and it 
is no exaggeration to say that l)oth have won national reputation. The fame 
of one is the fame of the other, for neither organization knows no other leader 
who confines himself to their upbuilding. 

Andrew M. Weingartner was born at Fiinfkirchen (Five Churches) (also 
Pecs), a town of Hungary, capital of the county of Haranya, one hundred and 
five miles from Budapest, October 15, 1872. This city existed in the time of 
the Romans, and at the close of the Aliddle Ages was the seat of a university. 
There he was educated in the common branches, but later he took courses in 
music and was graduated from Budapest and y\rad Conservatory. He became 
a skilled performer and leader, and when performing his j^ears of military duty 
was assistant director of the Fifty-second Regiment of Infantry, stationed 
at Budapest. In 1896 he came to the United States, and at once located in 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. His first position in Bethlehem was as a teacher 
at the head of the violin department at the Moravian Seminary and College 
for Women. He remained with that institution for eighteen years. During 
that period he also devoted himself to the practice of his profession and 
became interested in every department of the citv's musical life. As a teaclier 
of the violin he had few equals in the valley, but of late years he has had 
little time for private pupils. In 1907 he organized the Lehigh Valley Sym- 
phony Orchestra, later the Bethlehem Symphony Orchestra, an organization 
of sixty pieces, all local musicians, splendidly trained and still conducted by 
Professor Weingartner. The orchestra is enthusiastically supported by 
Charles M. Schwab and has won a secure place in the heart of music lovers. 
In loio he organized the Bethlehem Steel Band, which has grown to a \ve\] 
trained band of one hundred pieces, the performers all recruited from the 
plant of the Bethlehem .Steel Company, and the especial pride of that company. 

While these two organizations now take practically all his time. Professor 
Weingartner for four seasons was in charge of the music department of the 
Pennsylvania State Chautauqua Society at Mount Gretna. He has also been 
actively helpful in the many musical festivals of the Moravian church and 
identified with a great deal of the musical life of his city. He married, in 
October, 1898, at Bethlehem, Gertrude E. Ungerer, daughter of Jacob and 
Gertrude (Shoenen) LTngerer. of Bethlehem, her parents both deceased. They 
are the parents of a daughter, Hermine, married Howard H. McHosc, a gradu- 
ate of Cornell University, 1916, now a mechanical engineer in the employ of 
the Bethlehem Steel Company. They are the parents of a son, Lucius H. 
McHose, born May i, 1918. Mr. and Mrs. Weingartner are also the parents 
of a son, Andre R. Weingartner. now a student at the ]\Ioravian Preparatory 
School. 



LEVIN FRANCIS LEIBFRIED— Manufacturing operations, finance 
and real estate dealings were the forms of business that claimed the greater 
part of Mr. Leibfried's time and attention throughout his long life of seventy- 



398 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

six years, thirty-seven of which were spent in Bethlehem. He is remembered 
in this city as a man of af^fairs, of keen judgment and strong abihty, and as a 
citizen ready and wilHng to assume the responsibilities of citizenship. He 
was an active chvirchman, as is his wife, and all departments of the work of 
the Moravian church in this district — spiritual, educational and material — 
benefited through his devoted interest and loyal support. 

Mr. Leibfried was a son of John Christian and Harriet (Beitel) Leibfried, 
his father a native of Germany, who came to the United States in young 
manhood. He was master of the carriage builder's trade, and soon after 
settling in Nazareth, Pennsyh'ania, began the manufacture of fine carriages, 
wdiich for many years were noted for their excellence throughout eastern 
Pennsylvania. He continued the operation of his factory until the close of 
the Civil War, when the business was taken over by his sons, Henry and 
Levin F. John C. Leibfried was one of the solid, substantial members of 
the Nazareth community and a constant member of the Moravian church. 
Harriet (Beitel) Leibfried was a member of an old Northampton county 
family. She bore him five children, of whom Levin Francis was the fourth. 

Levin Francis Leibfried was born in Nazareth, Pennsylvania, April 23, 
1841, and died in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, July 5, 1917. He was a student 
in famous old Nazareth Hall, and learned the carriage builder's trade under 
his father's expert instruction, subsequently, with his brother Henry, suc- 
ceeding to the management of the factory. In 1880 he came to Bethlehem 
and became vice-president of the First National Bank of this city, an office 
he resigned in 1883. For many years he maintained a warehouse and show- 
room for the sale of the product of the Nazareth factory, and transacted a 
large business in this line. Early in his Bethlehem residence he was im- 
pressed with the opportunities in real estate in the city and vicinity, and 
until his death he was numbered among the important and influential 
operators of the district. Under the title, first of L. F. Leibfried and then 
as L. F. Leibfried & Son, with John Edward Leibfried, his son, as junior 
member of the firm, he was prominent in the upbuilding of some of the most 
popular residential districts in the western and northeastern sections of the 
city. He was a member of the Bethlehem Real Estate Board, and by his 
associates in real estate dealings and by the investing public he was regarded 
with esteem and confidence, reputation based upon a long career of adherence 
to the strictest principles of fair treatment. 

A member of the Moravian church from his youthful years, he was always 
an earnest worker in his congregation and in the larger work of the denomi- 
nation. He served for many years as a member of the finance and advisory 
boards of the church, was on various occasions a delegate to the synods, 
was a trustee of the Moravian Seminary, and was responsibly connected with 
the construction of the Moravian Theological Seminary. Civic as well as 
business and religious affairs shared in his interest. His position on the con- 
solidation of the boroughs and his support of the hill-to-hill bridge project 
were typical of his progressive, public-spirited attitude, and he was a depend- 
able factor in campaigns for municipal improvement. He was a member of 
the Bethlehem Club. 

Levin Francis Leibfried married, March 15, 1877, Martha Jane, daughter 
of John Edward and Ann Matilda (Greider) Luckenbach, of the pioneer 
Luckenbach family of Bethlehem. They were the parents of one son, John 
Edward (q.v.). 

Mrs. Leibfried is an active member of the Moravian church, vice-presi- 
dent of the Moravian Ladies' Sewing Society, famed for the rag dolls they 
make, sold for the benefit of home missions, and a member of the Moravian 
Union of King's Daughters. She is identified with all of the charitable work 
of the denomination, and untiring in her church work. 



.n IOC RATI IICAL 399 

JOHN EDWARD LEIBFRIED— Air. l.cilifried. since 1911 identified 
with real estate dealinj^s in Bethlehem and until the death of his father the 
partner of the elder Lcilifried, succeeds in worthy manner his honored father, 
whose career was productive of so much of benefit to the business interests 
of the locality and to the Moravian church, of which he was a member and a 
zealous worker in behalf of its different organizations. Mr. Leibfried is a 
grandson of John C. Leibfried, and his wife, Harriet (Beitel) Leibfried, both 
natives of Wiirtembcrg, Germany, whence they came to Northampton county, 
Pcnnsvlvania. There, in Xa/.areth township, was born Levin l-"., father of 
John Kdward Leibfried, March 23, 1841, and his death occurred July 5, 1917. 
He became the head of a large real estate and insurance business in Bethle- 
hem, and was prominent in numerous enterprises which have become sub- 
stantial industries and businesses of the locality. For many years he was a 
director and vice-president of the First National Bank of Bethlehem, and 
until the time of his death retained his interest in all of the afl'airs of the city. 
He was a devoted member of the ]\Toravian church and gave freely of his 
time and means in its service. He was a member of the several executive 
boards and for many years was a trustee of the Young Ladies' Seminary, of 
the church. Levin F. Leibfried married Martha J., daughter of John Edward 
Luck'cnbach-, of Bethlehem, who survives him. 

lohn Edward Leibfried was born in Nazareth, NorthamiJton count-. 
Pennsylvania, February 21, 1879, and after attendance at the Moravian Pre- 
paratory School of Bethlehem, he entered Lehigh University, majoring in 
chemistry and graduating in the class of 1900. For a time he was employed 
as a chemist with the Philadelphia & Reading Railway Company, afterward 
serving in the same capacity with the Phoenix Cement Company of Nazareth 
for three vears, 1hcn accepting a civil service appointment in the United 
States Reclamation Service at Denver, Colorado, filling the office for a period 
of five vears. Returning East in the summer of 191 1, he became his father's 
partner in real estate and insurance operations, a connection that continued 
until Mr. L. F. Leibfried's death in 1917. Mr. Leibfried is secretary and 
treasurer of the United Realty Company, secretary of the West Bethlehem 
Building iK: Loan Association, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and 
is a notary public. He has continued the business founded by his father, 
broadening its scope as the city has increased in importance as an industrial 
center, and holds important place in his line in Bethlehem. Tie is a Republi- 
can in political preference, an active worker in the Moravian church, and 
fraternizes with the Masonic order. 

Mr. Leibfried married, June 7, 1911, Louise, daughter of John Menefee, 
of Sedalia. Missouri, and they are the parents of: Mildred Louise, born 
August I, 1913; and Jane Marshall, born November 24, 1915. 

HENRY E. RICKSECKER — Two generations of this family have at- 
tained prominent position as musicians and merchants, Emanuel C. Rick- 
seeker and his son, Henry E. Ricksecker. both thorough musicians and able 
business men. Emanuel C. Ricksecker was born in Nazareth, Pennsylvania, 
in 1837, and died in Bethlehem in 1906. In 1844 the family moved to Boston, 
and there he obtained his schooling and his mu.sical training as a pupil of 
Zuch, the violinist, who was himself a pupil under the famous Davids. The 
young man became a violinist of note, and for some time was a member of 
Gilmorc's Boston Symphony Orchestra. After returning to Pennsvlvaniahe 
engaged in business' in Bethlehem as a dealer in musical instruments, special- 
izing in the best known makes of pianos. He was instrumental in founding 
Bethlehem's musical societies, was a member of the ever-famous Moravian 
choir, and was one of the main factors in the musical life of Bethlehem. He 
held a high certificate of excellence as a piano tuner issued him by Chickering 
& Son, and he was in the employ of that and other Boston musical instrument 



AOO NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

concerns. He retired from business in 1900, but all his life retained his inter- 
est in music, his life of definite value to the communitj', his influence whole- 
some, sweet and inspiring, his long labor to elevate the musical tone of his 
community endearing him to his friends of the town and to his brethren of 
the Moravian church. 

Emanuel C. Ricksecker married Ellen Marj- Kram. She survives her 
husband, a well preserved, active woman, now making her home with her 
son, Henry E. Mr. and Airs. Ricksecker were married when the bride was 
but sixteen years of age, they being attracted to each other by their mutual 
love and talent for music. Children : Florence A., married Dr. H. J. Laciar, 
of Bethlehem ; Fred K., a traveling salesman with headquarters in San 
Francisco, California, his line, pianos and pipe organs ; Hcnr}' E.. of further 
mention. 

Henry E. Ricksecker was born in the house in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
in which he now lives. March 27, 1869. He was educated in the Bethlehem 
public schools and IMoravian School, and began business life as a traveling 
salesman with the Sohmer Company of New York, piano manufacturers. The 
death of his father in 1906 made it necessary^ that he assume control of the 
Ricksecker Music Company-, which had been established nearlv half a cen- 
tury earlier, and from that time he has been its managing head. He carries 
the Sohmer, Kohler. Cam])bell and H. E. Ricksecker pianos, also a full line 
of musical instruments of varied kinds. He has developed a prosperous busi- 
ness, and is one of the highly esteemed men of his city. He inherits much 
of his father's musical genius, and is an accomplished pianist. Air. Rick- 
secker is a member of the National Association of Piano Merchants of 
America ; was responsible for the exhibit of pianos made by the Sohmer 
Company at the World's Fair held in Chicago in 1893. He is a member of 
Bethlehem Lodge No. 191, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Beth- 
lehem Chamber of Commerce; is treasurer of Lincoln Republican Club: and 
in religious faith an Episcopalian. 



EUGENE SAMUEL LEITH— One of the oldest villasjes in Lower Saucon 
townshi]), Northampton county. Pennsylvania, is Leithsville, named after the 
Leiths who lived in that vicinity and were long its principal owners. Leith, 
or Leyd, as it is spelled in the older records, is a Scotch name. Beniamin 
Reidel married a widow Leyd, from New Brunswick, who had a son Peter, 
a small boy when brought to Pennsylvania. He spoke no German at that 
time, but living in a German communitv, acquired the language. His wife, a 
daughter of Samuel Weaver, was of German descent, and they are the an- 
cestors of a large family of Leiths, many of whom are yet living in Lower 
Saucon today. Others have moved to different parts of the county, this 
review dealing with Eugene Samuel Leith, of Hellertown, Pennsylvania, son 
of Allan Pierson, son of Samuel, son of Peter, the founder of the family in 
Lower Saucon township. 

Samuel Leith was born in Leithsville, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 
in 1813, and spent his life as a farmer and merchant all his active years, and 
also took a deep and active interest in community affairs, being one of the 
progressive spirits found in every community who can always be relied upon 
to aid in every mo\'ement looking toward the public good. He became a 
Democrat, but would never accept any public ofifice in local service. He 
was a member of the Lutheran church and a man rich in the regard of his 
neighbors. He married Mary^ Ann Pierson. 

Allan Pierson Leith, son of Samuel and Mary Ann (Pierson) Leith, was 
born in Leithsville. Northampton county, Pennsylvania, March 3. i8a2. and 
was educated in the public schools. He grew to manhood at the home farm, 
and all his active rears was interested in agriculture and was one of the sub- 
stantial farmers of this section. In addition to his farm interests he was long 



TME NEW yo» 

PUBLIC LIBR/. 

ASTO«, LEiVOX AND 




Id. .^^cZ^.^ /U^^L^^^^ 



BIOGRAPIIICAL 401 

a mercliant of Leithsvillc, there owning and operating- a general store until 
the death of his wife in 1917, when he retired, and has since made his home 
with his only son, Eugene S. Leith, in Ilellertown. In 1891 he was elected 
justice of the peace, an office he filled until 1898. Like his father he was a 
man of upright life and public spirit, highly esteemed in the community in 
which three-quarters of a century of life was passed. Allen P. Leith married 
Clarissa llnher, born March 16, 1844, in Upper Milford, Bucks county, and 
died in Leithsville. December 23, 191 7. Mr. and Mrs. Leith were the i)arents 
of an only child. Eugene Samuel, of further mention. 

Eugene Samuel Leith was born in Leithsville, Northamjnon county, 
Pennsylvania, December 3, 1871, and there attended public schools. He fin- 
ished iiis studies at Springtown Academy in 1887, and from that year until 
iQio was associated with his father in a general mercantile business in Leiths- 
ville. In 1910 he purchased the general mercantile business owned by his 
uncle, Jacob B. Leith, in Plellertown, and has since devoted himself to its 
operation. lie has increased the business of his store until its volume exceeds 
that of any other store in Hellertown, and is rated one of the progressive, 
public-spirited and substantial merchants of Northampton county. He is also 
a director of the People's Trust Company of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. In 
Leithsville he was justice of the peace for several terms; is a member of 
Hellertown's School Board ; is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the 
Reformed church. He is a member of Hellertown Lodge, Free and Accepted 
Masons; Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and Knights of the Golden 
Eagle. 

Mr. Leith married. December 17, i8g6, Lelia K. Hess, daughter of Asher 
S. and Elizabeth D. (Kram) Hess, her father formerly a wholesale dealer in 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, now a traveling salesman, her mother deceased. 
Mr. and Mrs. Eugene S. Leith are the parents of a daughter, Clarissa Mar- 
garet Elizabeth Leith, born at Leithsville, April 24, 1903, a graduate of 
Hellertown High School, class of 1919. 

WILLIAM GILBERT TILLMAN, M.D.— When Dr. Tillman located in 
Easton in 1907 and began the practice of his profession, he did not come as a 
stranger, for his previous life had been spent in the city across the Delaware, 
Phillipsburg, and Easton was as familiar to him as his own city. The Till- 
mans, a family of builders, have long been seated in Phillipsburg, Dr. Tillman's 
grandfather, Peter Tillman, a pioneer contractor of that city, and later of 
Dover, New Jersey, where he died. Peter Tillman married Matilda Garrison, 
who yet survives him, aged eighty-seven years, a resident of Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania. They were the parents of George Washington Tillman, who 
for several years was a contractor and builder of Phillipsburg, but now a 
locomotive engineer in the employ of the Lehigh Valley railroad. He mar- 
ried Mahala Harrison, daughter of George and Abbie (Swartz) Harrison, of 
Milford, New Jersey. Thev are the parents of two sons: William Gilbert, 
of further mention, the youngest. 

Dr. William Gilbert' Tillman was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, De- 
cember 20. 1880. He was educated in Hackcttstown (New Jersey) i)ublic 
schools, finishing with high school graduation, class of 1897. He prepared 
for college at Hackettstown Centenary Collegiate Institute, whence he was 
graduated, class of 1900. He then entered Lafayette College, class of 1904, 
but at the close of his sophomore year withdrew to enter Medico-Chirurgical 
I^ledical College of Philadelphia, whence he was graduated M.D., class of 
1906. He spent a year as interne at Elizabeth (New Jersey) General Hos- 
pital, then in 1907 located in Easton and began the upbuilding of a private 
clientele. The vears have brought him recompense for his devotion to his 
profession, and he is firmly established in public confidence. Tie is a member 
of the Northampton Medical Society and for five years its secretary; member 

N. H. BIGG.— 26 



402 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

of the Physicians' Protective Association and its secretary since organization ; 
member of the Pennsylvania Medical Society, and of the American Medical 
Association. He holds the re.-^pect and reg'ard of his brethren of the profes- 
sion, and the perfect confidence of his large clientele. 

While in college, Dr. Tillman was active in athletics, particularly base- 
ball, being catcher of the Lafayette College team. He was assistant editor 
of the College Class Book at Medico-Chi, and took a deep interest in the 
societies of the college. Pie was a m.ember of the Wilson Township Board of 
Health for a number of years, and for two j-ears served on the Wilson School 
Board. Tn politics he is a Republican, and in religious faith affiliated with 
the Second Street Methodist Episcopal Church of Easton. He is a member 
of the Northampton County Republican Club ; secretarj' of the Easton ]\Iotor 
Association ; member of the Easton Board of Trade ; Phi Zeta fraternity ; 
Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; Dallas Lodge, Free 
and Accepted Masons; Rajah Temple (Reading), Ancient Arabic Order 
Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and in the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, 
Bloomsburg Consistory, has attained the thirty-second degree. 

Dr. Tillman married, April 7, 1917. Sadie Elizabeth Hillyer, who died 
October 7, 1918, a victim of the Spanish influenza epidemic in that year. She 
was a daughter of E. Chauncev Hillver. 



THOMAS JOSEPH REIDY— Thomas Joseph Reidy, treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the United Furniture Company of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
and a prominent and influential citizen of this community, is a native of 
County Kerry, Ireland, where his birth occurred January 6, 1879. He is the 
youngest of the six children of Thomas and Catherine (Deen) Reidy, both 
deceased, his father a general merchant and highway contractor during his 
active business life. The first twenty years of his life were spent in his native 
country, and in 1890 he journeyed to Cape Town, South Africa, in search of 
health, remaining there about four years. In 1903 he set sail from Ireland 
to the United States and landed on March 31, in that year. On April i, he 
applied for his first citizenship papers, and his naturalization was the quickest 
ever accomplished in the city of Brooklyn. The young man was exceedingly 
active and ambitious, and upon reaching this country at once sought employ- 
ment, a search which his alert manner and obvious intelligence made no 
difficult matter. He was employed in various concerns until the year 1908, 
when he became connected with his present company in a very humble capac- 
ity. He began at the bottom of the ladder and owes his advancement solely 
to his energy, industry and intelligence. He soon found himself in line for 
promotion, and he eventually became treasurer and general manager, offices 
he fills at the present time (1919). Since taking this responsible office the 
affairs of the concern have been largely entrusted to his capable hands, and 
he is regarded as one of the capable and far-seeing business men in this region. 
It was largely due to his eft'orts that the company was incorporated in 1909. 
He became the manager of the Bethlehem store in the same year, and in 
1913 was elected assistant treasurer. He and his associates then bought 
control of the company and he became treasurer and general manager thereof. 
In 1918 he bought out his associates and now owns the controlling interest in 
the stock of the concern. It has been his ambition, an ambition which he has 
admirably realized, to provide for Bethlehem the finest store of its kind in the 
region, and to this end he has spent all his energies and devoted his extraor- 
dinary business talents. 

Tklr. Reidy is an aggressive and enterprising man. and has exhibited a 
broad public spirit, which has won him the favor of the community-at-large. 
and his success has been achieved through a strict policv of fair dealing. He 
is a firm believer in the proposition that no permanent success can be gained 
without the foundation of character and honestv. He has made his motto 




:)/:. 







9 




<u^ 



-K<-J 



THE NEW \. 

PUBLIC lib: 

AS-rOK, LF.no>. 
¥iLDKN FOUNIj 
R 



BIOGRAPHICAL 403 

the phrase, "Nothing too good for Bethlehem." Through his strict adherence 
to the Golden Rule his business has grown with a remarkable degree of 
rapidity and to such an extent that he found his present store entirely too 
small, and early in 1918 purchased the ITofl'man building for the sum of one 
hundred thousand dollars. This transaction, the largest of its kind in the 
history of Bethlehem, attracted great and favorable comment, and it was a 
so'urce of genuine gratiiication to Mr. Reidy, as it revealed to him that his 
bankers, the E. P. Wilbur Trust Company, had recognized the healthy condi- 
tion of his company, and assisted generously in financing the transaction. 
The acquisition of this building ]5laces the United Furniture Company in the 
largest and most modern mercantile building in the city, and provides a plant 
large enough to take care of the further great ex])ansion which Mr. Reidy 
feels is in store for the comjiany. P.esidcs his business interests, Mr. Reidy 
has taken an active ])art in ])ublic affairs and the general life of the com- 
munity, and is at the jircsent time a member of a number of fraternal and 
social organizations, including the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
the Loyal Order of Moose, the Northampton and Rotary clubs, all of this 
place. He is an independent politically, and is a communicant of the Holy 
Infancy Catholic Church. Mr. Reidy is a devotee of all out-of-door sports, 
retaining a lively interest from his active participation in handball, football 
and track athletics during his school years. 

Mr. Reidy married, June 25, ic)i2, Clare B. Hamil, daughter of James and 
ElizalK'th (Piurns) Hamil, of Paterson, New Jersey, her father being now 
president of the LTnited Furniture Com]>any. They are the parents of one 
son, Thomas Joseph, Jr., born April 20, 1913. 



ASHER GARFIELD ABEL— The Abel family, of which Asher G. Abel, 
of Bangor, Pennsylvania, is representative, springs from Squire Jacob Abel, 
born in 1744, died in 1822. He came from Germany prior to the Revolution, 
and was a riverman familiar with the handling of the Durham boats so com- 
mon on the Delaware in that early period. He rendered patriotic service in 
gathering the flotilla which was used to transport the retreating American 
soldiers across the Delaware after the battles which forced Washington to 
retreat across New Jersey to Pennsylvania. He carried the mail from Easton 
to Philadelphia many times, the mailbags coming from the Eastern States 
and upper Hudson places over the old main road from Esopus to Van Cam- 
pen's Mills above the Water Gap. In 1787 he owned the ferry across the 
Delaware, and was one of the five men who, the same year, purchased Getter's 
Island of the Penns. He was the proprietor of a hotel at the "Point," and 
in 1788 his name appears as one of the large property owners of the town. 
For many years he was a justice of the peace, and for seventy-eight years 
continued a life of active usefulness. He left two sons, Jacob and John. 

John Abel, son of Squire Jacob Abel, was a riverman, who for several 
years was engaged in running Durham boats on the Delaware, until the 
opening of the canal, after which he ran regularly between Easton and Phila- 
delj)hia. Later, and for several years, he engaged in business as a grocer 
in Easton. On July 7, 1825. he was appointed by Governor Shulze a member 
of the commission to take measures for the improvement of navigation on the 
Delaware river. The act under which he was appointed bore date of March 
26, 182T, the first board consisting of Lewis S. Coryell, John Kirkbride and 
Jacob Shouse. In 1825 the last named commissioner resigned, Mr. Abel suc- 
ceeding him. For more than three years he served on the commission, accom- 
plishing a great deal in the way of river improvement. He married Catherine 
Bleckle\', and they were the parents of a large family. John Abel owned and 
cultivated a farm in Plainfield township, and there his son, Abraham Abel, 
was born. 

Abraham Abel was a farmer of Plainfield township, all his life owning 



404 NORTH AIM PTOX COUNTY 

and workinsj his own acres. He married Elizabeth Tecl, and they were the 
parents of: Louise, who married Charles Hood; Mary, who married Amandas 
Price ; and Emillious. 

Emillious Abel was born at the homestead in Plainficld township, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, August 5, 1842, died at his farm in Plainiield 
township, Januarj' i, 1913. In early manhood he was employed in the slate 
quarries, but later he became a farmer, so continuing until the end of his life. 
He was a Republican in politics, and for several years was a member of the 
School Board. On September 22, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Thirty- 
first Regiment, New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, and served out a ten months* 
term of enlistment. He was a member of Lafayette Post No. 217, Grand 
Army of the Republic, and in religious faith was affiliated with the Evangelical 
Association. Emillious Abel married Irene IMiller, daughter of John and 
Sarah Ann (McCann) Miller, of New Jersey, and they were the parents of 
nine children : Sarah Edith, now the widow of Simeon Hawke ; Emma E., wife 
of John H. Salt; Fanny Almira, wife of Wesley \V. Shover, both deceased; 
Amanda Helena, wife of Stewart Stackhouse ; Minnie May, widow of Joseph 
E. Heller; Edna Aravesta, wife of Frank Bitz ; Cora Bell, wife of Stewart 
Shook ; Bertha Louise, wife of Floyd C. Gold ; Asher Garfield, of further 
mention. The old farm upon which Emillious Abel lived and died and reared 
his family is located near Kesslervillc, and is yet owned in the family. 

Asher Garfield Abel was born at the homestead in Plainficld township, 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania-, October 25, 1880. He was educated in 
the district school. Pen Argj^l High School, Easton Academy, and the LTni- 
versity of Pennsylvania, but he did not complete his university course. He 
taught two terms at Edelman public school, then spent a year in New Jersey 
as teacher of the Parsippany School, then was for four terms in charge of the 
Plainfield township school. Fie next taught for four 3'ears in the grammar 
grades in Bangor, where he was acting principal for one of the schools. The 
following four years he was teacher of English in the Bangor High School, 
that ending his career as a pedagogue. His next position was as teller of the 
First National Bank of Bang'or, a post of duty he filled for about one year, 
then was elected cashier, his present position. He is financially interested 
in the Bangor Water Company, of which he is assistant manager ; is a director 
of the Blue Mountain Telephone & Telegraph Company: director of the Blue 
Mountain Shirt Company; member of the Pen Argyl Lodge No. 504, Free 
and Accepted Masons ; Bangor Chapter No. 274, Royal Arch ]\Iasons ; Hugh 
de Payen Commandery No. 19, Knights Templar; Rajah Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the ]\Iystic Shrine ; Bloomsburg Consistory, thirty- 
second degree. Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite; Bangor Lodge No. 1106, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Joel Searfoss Camp No. 273, Sons 
of Veterans (secretary six years) ; and in religious faith is affiliated with the 
Lutheran church of Bangor. 

Mr. Abel married Lucv .\nn L^hlcr, daughter of Amos C. and Catherine 
(Price) Uhler. Mr. and Mrs. Abel are the parents of a son, Asher Garfield (2). 



ESCHER C. YEAGER— On the old family homestead in Palmer town- 
ship, Northampton county. Pennsylvania, bought by his great-grandfather, 
Philip Yeager, from the Pcnns. Escher C. Yeager, now proprietor of the Na- 
tional Pharmacy, Easton, first saw the light. There Philip Yeager and his 
wife, a Miss Kocher, lived and reared a family of four sons and two daughters, 
one of these a child named Christian, who succeeded his father in the owner- 
ship of the homestead in Palmer township, and there spent his life. He mar- 
ried Elizabeth Walters, and thev were the parents of two sons: Aaron and 
John, also three daughters. This review deals with the son Aaron, and his 
son, Escher C. 

Aaron Yeager was born at the homestead in Palmer township, North- 



THE iVEW YC'^ 

PUBLIC LIB I,, 



ASTOH, LENOX ANO 




' ^y yC^Z^^I!c^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 405 

ampton cmiiity, rcniisylvania, in 1S35, died in 1904. His entire life, save the 
last four years, was spent at the home in which he was born, he becoming a 
substantial farmer. He was a Lutheran in relij:;ion and a Democrat in politics. 
He married Matilda Knecht, who survived him, and now, at the age of 
seventy-five, resides with her only child, Eschcr C. Yeaj^er. 

Escher C. Ycager was born at the homestead, October 12, 1866, and there 
spent the first fifteen years of his life. He attended the district public school 
and helped in farm work until i88t, when he bep^an his studies at Trach's 
Academy, in Easton, under R. H. Trach, there continuinfj two terms. His 
first teacher was a relative, Miss Mary Yeager. Professor Trach his last. In 
18S3 he entered the employ of the Messeni^er Manufacturing Company in the 
shipping department. He later ajiplied for a license to conduct a hotel at 
the old homestead, which was granted, and for seven years he continued in 
the hotel business. He then retired from this business and became a clerk 
in the office of the county recorder of deeds, holding that position for three 
years. He then served six years as deputy recorder of deeds, after which he 
was elected recorder for a term of four years. He was defeated for re-election, 
his party ticket, Democratic, going down in defeat that year. In 1912 he 
opened the National Pharmacy, located at the corner of Seventeenth and 
Washington streets, Easton, which he is still successfuly conducting. In 
addition to his service as recorder, Mr. Yeager was assessor of Palmer town- 
ship for three terms, and for twelve years was justice of the peace, resigning 
that office when elected recorder of deeds. He is a member of Easton Lodge, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; Easton Eyrie, Fraternal Order of 
Eagles, and the Patriotic Sons of America. 

Mr. Yeager married, in Easton, June 9, i88g. Annie J. King, daughter of 
George and Sophia King, of Easton. 

WILLIAM A. TITUS — According to a deed in the possession of Wil- 
liam Titus, of Easton, Pennsylvania, this branch of the family came to Easton 
about the year 1800, in the per.son of John Titus, an Englishman. This deed 
is dated 1802, and is made to John Titus, great-grandfather of William A. 
He seems to have owned considerable real estate in Easton, one of the hold- 
ings being the present site occupied by the H. G. Tombler Grocery Company, 
on Ferry street. Little is known of him further than the above, for he died 
at a comparatively early age. leaving two sons, one of whom, Lawrence, was 
the grandfather of William A. Titus, of Easton. John Titus married Cath- 
erine Bachman, born December 31, 1774, daughter of Abraham and Phoebe 
Bachman. Her father was born May 24, 1744, her mother, March 9, 1752. 

Lawrence Titus was born November 17, 1803, in Easton, Pennsylvania, 
and there spent his life, which covered nearly the entire nineteenth century, 
1803 to 1895. He was a millwright by trade, conducted a prosperous busi- 
ness, and during his active years played a prominent part in public life. He 
held the office of burgess, of Easton, and has gone down in history as the 
last man to hold that office, Easton becoming a chartered citv during his 
term as burgess. It was greatly desired by his fellow men that he be elected 
first luayor of the city, but the weight of years was upon him and the objec- 
tions of' his family overcame the importunities of his friends, and the honor 
went to another. He was a man of fine and imposing presence, very active 
and energetic, a good citizen and neighbor. He bore his years well, and 
after accomplishing fully ninctv-two years, passed to man's reward. In reli- 
gious faith he was a Uiiiversalist. Lawrence Titus married Ann Parker, of 
Bloomsburg, New^ Jersey. They were the parents of three sons, who grew 
to man's estate, and three daughters, as follows: John C, Marv A.. William, 
of whom further; Catherine, Sophia. George, and a son who died in infancy. 
John C. and George Titus were both successful business men. John C. was 
the owner of vessel property, then later moved to Chile and settled there. 



4o6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

where George was connected with the Chilean navy, and both prospered in 
their business enterprises 

William Titus, the third son of Lawrence and Ann (Parker) Titus, was 
born in Easton, Pennsylvania, Jul}' 31, 1828, and died at the age of forty-nine 
years. He learned the millwright trade under the direction of his father, and 
continued in that line of business activitj' until his death. He was a member 
of the church, and was a citizen of worth, but confined himself to his business 
affairs and took but little part in the city affairs. He married Sarah Ann 
Gra\-. who survives him and yet resides in Easton, now in her eighty-eighth 
5'ear and wonderfully active. She is a daughter of William H. and Christina 
(Reese) Gray. William and Sarah A. Titus were the parents of six sons and 
one daughter: Lawrence Parker, a railroad conductor, residing in New York 
City ; Belle R. ; Harry Grav, deceased ; William A., of whom further ; Frank, 
Charles H. and fldward H., all deceased. The aged mother. Miss Belle R. 
Titus and William A. Titus, all reside at the latter's home, which is located 
on Thirteenth and Bushkill streets. 

William A. Titus, son of William and Sarah A. (Gray) Titus, was born in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, September 13, 1856, and was educated in the public 
schools of the city. After completing his school years, he was engaged in 
business activities, varied in their nature, until the year 1880. when he formed 
an association with the H. G. Tombler Grocery Company, of Easton. a con- 
nection which has never been broken. He became the firm's purchasing agent 
in 1891, and in 1901 was admitted a partner. The firm became a corporation 
in 1907, Mr. Titus being vice-president of the company, but retains his posi- 
tion as head of the purchasing department. Early in igig. the H. G. Tombler 
Grocery Company merged with Eberts & Company, of Bethlehem, and the 
M. H. Strauss Company, of Allentown, Penns> Ivania, now trading under the 
corporate name of Davies. Strauss, Stauffer Company. Mr. Titus was one of 
the prime movers in bringing about the merger, and he is a director and one 
of the principal stockholders in the corporation. The company is a verj' 
large and successful one. dealing solely in groceries by wholesale, their sales- 
men covering territory within a radius of fift}- miles, with Easton as a center. 
While a man entirely devoted to business. ]\Ir. Titus indulges the social side 
of his nature in fraternal associations with his fellow men and is a member of 
various organizations, including the Knights of Pvthias and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks. In politics he is a Democrat : in religious pref- 
erence, a Presbyterian. 

Mr. Titus married, March 13, 1878. Rebecca \'an Norman, daughter of 
Isaac Van Norman, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Titus are 
the parents of three daughters and a son: Edna; Raymond, married Mame 
Unangst, and has a son, William ; Fannie, married John Rauschwendel, and 
has a son. John ; and Emily. This is but a brief record of five generations of 
the Titus family in Easton, the grandchildren of William A. Titus constituting 
the sixth generation. The heads of the first four generations are shown as 
men of strong business ability and progressive public spirit, each filling well 
the station in life to which they were: called. Their forbears furnish an 
example of inspiration to the present generations, and in their keeping the 
honor of the name is secure. 



CHAUNCEY A. REESE; — Now serving his third term as city engineer 
of Easton, Pennsylvania, Mr. Reese is rounding out a long term of service as 
public and private engineer, his public service also including a three years' 
term as county engineer. In official or professional capacity he has passed 
upon many of the great public and private improvements in Easton during 
the past quarter of a century, and as engineer and superintendent has both 
planned and superintended much of the construction. He was born in Phil- 
lipsburg, New Jersey, his father, Charles Reese, a substantial merchant of that 



BIOGRAPHICAL 407 

city for many years, he a son of Phili]) Reese, one of the old-time residents 
of Warren county, New Jersey. Phili]) Reese owned land and operated a 
line of river boats between Easton and Philadelphia. Charles Reese, while 
engasjed in merchandising in Philliiisburg, also taught school for several 
3'ears and took an active part in town affairs. lie died in Phillipsburg, aged 
eighty-one years. He married Mary Lesher, and they were the parents of 
Chaunccy A. Reese, of Easton. 

Chauncey A. l\cese was born in Phillipsbin-g, New Jersey, August 30, 
1869, and there completed public school education. lie finished his studies 
at Trach's Acadeni}-, Easton, Pennsylvania, and soon afterward began study 
under Marshall Young, a i)roniinent civil engineer of Easton. He continued 
study under Mr. Young and other instructors for some years, was in the 
engineering service of the Quaker Portland Cement Company, and with the 
Bath Portland Cement Company in the same capacity for four years, after 
which he established a private civil engineering business with offices in Easton. 
Until September, 1912, he was engaged in private practice with the exception 
of three years spent in the service of Northamiiton county as county engineer, 
and for a time his old precejjtor, Marshall Young, was associated with him. 
Since .'September, 1912, Mr. Reese has been engineer for the city of Easton, 
having been twice re-elected to that office. Many radical changes have been 
brought about through the efforts of the city engineer's office since Mr. Reese's 
induction into office ; street lighting, garbage disposal and street improvement 
are features which have been especially improved, and a sewage system is 
being planned which will be a long step forward when completed. Among the 
streets improved, those most noticeable are: Front street, from Bushkill 
Bridge to Spring Garden street ; Spring Garden street from Front to 
Fourth street ; Fifth street, from Ferry to Northampton street ; Northampton 
street, from Seventh to Fifteenth street; Lehigh street, from Fourth to Sit- 
greaves street. Sewers have been built from Bushkill street to McCartney 
street, from Mixsell street, from Monroe to Wayne avenue, and other less 
important sections have been completed. Mr. Reese is an active Republican, 
a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Kiwanis 
Club. 

Mr. Reese married, in August, 1895, Idella V. Heller, daughter of Thomas 
J. and Louisa Heller. The familj' home is No. 207 South Sixth street, Easton. 



JOHN MARSHALL YOUNG— For nearly a half a century Mr. Young 
has practiced his profession of civil and mechanical engineering in Easton, 
PennsA'lvania, beginning in 1871. He is a native of Easton, as was his father 
and grandfather, and traces descent on both sides to Colonial times, having 
had a number of ancestors actively engaged in the Revolution. The Youngs 
were manufacturers of rifles at that period, and made many of the rifles car- 
ried by the Continental soldiers during the eight years' struggle for inde- 
pendence. 

John Marshall Young is a grandson of Peter Young and his wife, Anna 
Kachlein, she being the daughter of Col. Peter Kachlein. Peter Young was 
married in 1808. He was the father of thirteen children. The father of John 
IMarshall Young was Henry Jacob Young, who for upwards of fifty years 
was connected with the firm of "^'oung &: Slough, and was one of the pro- 
prietors of the Eagle Foundry & Machine Company, located at the southeast 
corner of Ferry and Sitgreaves streets, in the city of Easton. Henry Jacob 
Young was born in Easton, in November, 1816. He married, January 27, 1842, 
Louisa Sherwood, who was born August 26, 1821, in German Valley, New 
Jersey, she being the daughter of Dr. Ebenezer Knapp and Elizabeth (Hon- 
nell) Sherwood. Dr. E. K. Sherwood was born in Connecticut, and was a 
graduate of Williams College. He was a grandson of Ebenezer Knapp, who 
took a very prominent part in the Revolutionary War. 



4o8 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

John Marshall Young was born in Easton, October 2, 1850. His prelimi- 
nary education was received in the public schools of Easton. He then entered 
Lafayette College, class of 1871. Upon leaving college in 1871, he at once 
began professional work under the late Peter Brady, a well known civil engi- 
neer. In 1873 he began business under his own name, and soon established a 
clientele among mining operators, railroad and canal builders, doing water 
supply, sanitary and general engineering practice. For about five years he 
was engineer for the borough of Easton, Phillipsburg, New Jersey, and the 
towns in other parts of the county. \\'hen the borough became a city he was 
its first city engineer. He was regularly elected county surveyor for two 
terms, and was engineer for the Board of County Commissioners for two 
terms. While serving in this capacity, he designed and built eighteen rein- 
forced concrete bridges for the county. Among these was the South Third 
street bridge over the Lehigh river in Easton, and was also in charge of the 
construction of the Broad street bridge in Bethlehem. He was the engineer 
and one of the originators of one of the three first electric passenger street 
railways in the United States, viz. : Lafayette Traction Company, afterwards 
the Penn Motor Company, and was president of said company up to the time 
of its sale to the Easton Transit Company, now part of the Lehigh Valley 
Traction Company's system. He was also the designer and engineer in 
charge of the construction of numerous water and gas plants, a great deal of 
his work having been done in other States than Pennsylvania. Mr. Young is a 
lifelong Republican. 

Mr. Young married, in Easton, October 7, 1880, Sarah Frances Lake, of 
Easton, daughter of Nelson and Nancy (Snyder) Lake, of a New Jersey fam- 
ily, originally belonging to the Society of Friends. Mr. and Mrs. Young are 
tlie parents of a son, Henry Sherwood Young, born at Easton, Januarv 2, 
1884. He was educated in the Easton public schools, attended Lafayette 
College in the class of 1905, and is now engaged in business in Philadelphia, 
Pennsylvania. On September 7, 1917, he married Ruth Norton Kiggins, of 
Elizabeth. New Jersey, daughter of Symmes C. and Annie (Norton) Kigf^ins. 



ROBERT D. BURKERT — After deciding to become an undertaker and 
funeral director, ]\Ir. Burkert took a full course at Eckel's College of Embalm- 
ing and Sanitary Science, and on June i, 1917. established business at No. 711 
Berwick street, Easton, South Side. He was the son of Daniel K. and Martha 
J. (Bowes) Burkert, his father a Lehigh Valley locomotive engineer. Daniel 
"K. Burkert was born in Schuylkill county. IMartha J. Bowes in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania. Prior to their marriage, she had been for several years 
a teacher in the county public school. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel K. Burkert are 
members, respectively, of St. Peter's Reformed Church and of the Second 
Methodist Episcopal' Church. Their home is at No. 744 Milton avenue, 
Easton. 

Robert D. Burkert was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, July 27, 1894, and 
died October 17. 1918. He attended the public schools of the city until com- 
pleting the grades, then took a business course at the Easton College of 
Business, there finishing his school work. The next three years were spent 
in the office service of the Edison Portland Cement Company, after which he 
entered the College of Embalming previously named, and there fitted himself 
for the undertaking business. He established himself in public favor arid 
met with nothing but encouragement during his two years in business in 
South Easton. 

He was a member of the Northampton County Funeral Directors' Asso- 
ciation ; Columbia Lodge No. 139, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; 

F. P. A. No. 597; ■ Camp No. 173, Patriotic Order Sons of 

America ; Lodge No. 3, Daughters of Rebekah ; Schubert Choral Society, 
and the Alumni Association of Eckel's College of Embalming. He was a 



-IC LIBRARY 



ASTn^^, LENOX AND 
TfLRKN FOUNDATfOfJs 

J. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 409 

mcrnber of the choir of St. Peter's Reformed Church, and an active worker 
in the Sunday school, teaching a chiss and serving as president of the South 
Heidelberg League of the church. 

A feature of Mr. Burkert's establishment, in addition to his modern 
equipment for caring for the dead, was his arrangements for conducting 
funerals from his own spacious parlors, where it was so desired. He fomid 
this a great convenience in many cases, and freely oftercd his rooms to all 
who desired them on such occasions. 



REUBEN STANLEY RAUB, M.D.~In 1907, when Dr. Reuben Stanley 
Raub began his i)ractice of medicine, he revived a title long and honorably 
borne by his grandfather, Dr. John W. Raub, ]:)orn in 179S, whose family home 
was on the Delaware river, north of Easton. Dr. John W. Raub was well 
known for his skill in the healing art, and won such fame in his profession 
that he was called to all ])arts of Northampton county, and frequentlv was 
sought in consultation far beyond its borders. He was a descendant of early 
forebears who settled on the Delaware, at what later became Raubsville, 
where they purchased land from John Penn, a ]jart of which has never since 
been out of the Raub name. Dr. John W. Raub married (second) Sarah 
Eberhart, and among their children was a son Jacob. 

(II) Jacob Raub, son of Dr. John W. and Sarah (Eberhart) Raub, was 
born at the family home on the Delaware, just north of Easton, in 1856, and 
is now living a retired life in the city in which his life has been S])cnt. After 
finishing his studies he learned the carpenter's trade, and in 187^ began con- 
tracting. He has to his credit over one thousand substantial Iniildings erected 
under his supervision in Easton and vicinity, including the Cottingham and 
Packer School buildings, the Moravian and Evangelical churches, and the 
Easton Silk Mill in South Easton. He was equally influential and prominent 
in jniblic affairs, serving as councilman continuously from 18S2 until 1892, 
serving as president of Select Council during the latter part of that period. 
In 1903 he was made a member of the Board of Control, and all his life he has 
been one of the men whose public spirit and progressiveness has been dis- 
played in every efi'ort made to advance Easton's interests. He married, in 
1876, Arevesta A. Arner, daughter of Reuben Arner. They were the parents 
of twelve children, of whom Reuben Stanley was the third son. 

(HI) Dr. Reuben Stanlev Raub, son of Jacob and Arevesta A. (Arner) 
Raub, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, October i, 1883. He obtained his 
preparatory- education in Easton public schools and Larch's Preparatory 
School, his classical education at Lafayette College, his professional training 
in the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, finishing with 
the degree M.D., class of 1903. The two following years were spent in service 
as interne and resident physician at Delaware Hospital, Wilmington, Dela- 
ware, and St. Christopher's Children's Hospital, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 
In 1907 he returned to Easton, where he has since been continuously engaged 
in the practice of his profession as a general practitioner, but devoting a large 
part of his time and skill to the treatment of diseases of children. He has 
fully demonstrated his professional ability, and is well established in the favor 
of a large clientele. He is a member of the Northampton County Medical 
Society, Pennsylvania State Medical Society, American Medical Association, 
and Guiteras Medical Society of the Universitv of Pennsylvania. Dr. Raub 
is a Democrat in politics, a member of the First Reformed Church, Delta 
Upsilon fraternitv. and Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. 

Dr. Raub married, September 10, 1914, Edwina A. Kugclman. daughter of 
Isaac and Mary (Taylor) Kugclman, of New York City. When at college 
Dr. Raub was prominent in athletics, playing on both football and baseball 
teams, nor has he lost his love for such sports. He is fond of fishing, hunting, 
motoring and all manly sports of the out-of-doors. 



410 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

GEORGE REUSS — A native son of Easton, Alderman George Reuss has 
there ])ursued his calling', cigarmaker, continuously all his active working 
years. The family is noted for steadfastness, old Eastonians easily recalling 
John Reuss, vi'ho for half a century made their shoes and kept therh in repair. 
He was the father of John Reuss, and the son inherits the good qualities of his 
sire. John Reuss, born in Germany, came to the United States at the age of 
twenty years, settled in Easton, and there kept a shoemaker's shop along the 
Delaware below the bridge. He died in Easton, aged eighty-eight. He mar- 
ried Barbara Lutz, born in Germany, who came to the United States at the 
age of twenty, and was married in Easton, where she died aged seventy years. 
Both were members of Zion Lutheran Church, John Reuss a Democrat. They 
were the parents of ten children: Joseph, now of Phillipsburg, New Jersey; 
Anna, married John Bowman, and resides in Easton ; William, a resident of 
Easton; Frank, deceased; Clementina, deceased wife of David Strickland; 
George, of further mention ; Catherine, married Edward Kippel, and both are 
deceased; Frank, of Connecticut; John, deceased; and Edward, deceased. 

George Reuss, son of John and Barbara (Lutz) Reuss, was born in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, March 23, 1S70. He attended the public schools until 
fourteen years of age, his first teacher. Miss Young, his last instructor, Jacob 
Weaver. His first employer was Rev. John Carey, a local preacher, under 
whom he learned cigar-making, a trade which he has followed for thirty years. 
As a boy he also was employed at the old lock factory, then operated by Mr. 
Shawkey, of New York City. He is a member of the Cigar Makers' tjnion 
and a man thoroughly respected as neighbor and citizen. Mr. Reuss is a 
Democrat in politics, and in 191 5 was elected a member of the Board of Alder- 
men for a term of six years. He has made a good record in that office and 
has added to the good opinion in which he was held. He is a member of the 
Evangelical church, and in fraternal relation is affiliated with the Junior Order 
of United American Mechanics, Patriotic Sons of America, and the Loyal 
Order of Moose. Mr. Reuss married, December 21, 1889. Ella Warner, born 
in Easton, in 1870, and educated in the public schools, daughter of Nicholas 
and ]\Iargaret (Baylor) Warner. Mr. and Mrs. Reuss are the parents of eight 
children: I. Florence, married Fred Hartford, and they are the parents of 
Ada, Marie, Olive and Miriam Hartford. 2. John Nicholas, born in 1892, 
joined the United States Army, April 27, 1918, trained six weeks at Camp Lee. 
then went overseas, serving with the American Expeditionarv Forces in 
France, a member of Company D. One Hundred and Forty-fifth Regiment of 
Infantry. 3. Mabel, residing at home. 4. Dorothy. 5-6. Edith and Ethel, 
twins, born in 191 1. 7. ^Margaret, died aged three years. 8. George Dewey, 
died aged three and a half years. 

JOHN J. MATTHES — A man who at the age of thirty-five years has 
risen to high official position in corporations like the Alpha Portland Cement 
Companv of Easton, Pennsylvania, certainly possesses unusual business qual- 
ity which, with the ripened judgment of maturer years, will place their pos- 
sessor in still higher positions in the business world. Mr. Matthes began 
business life as a clerk, but his rise quickly began, and step by step he rose 
to positions of responsibility and trust until reaching his present position, 
secretary-treasurer of the Alpha Portland Cement Company of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania. In that secure place he naturally attracted other corporation offers, 
and he has added to his official titles honors from several of them. There is 
in the United States an association of cement manufacturing companies which 
has been styled, "One of the most efficient trade organizations in the United 
States." To that association Mr. Matthes has been called as assistant-treas- 
urer, this giving him national reputation as an acknowledged financier of 

ability. 

John T. Matthes was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, February 20, 1884, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 411 

and there was educated in the public schools. At the aj^e of eig^hteen years 
he entered the employ of the Alpha Portland Cement Company of Itaston, 
Pennsylvania, as a clerk, and since that year, igo2, he has been continuously 
in the service of that corporation. I'rom general office clerk as a beginner 
he rose in rank in that department and was appointed auditor, and in that 
office he proved his ability for a better ])osition, his next o])])ortunity coming 
in iQii, when he was elected treasurer of the company, and again in March, 
1918, further responsibility and honor was awarded him b\- the dual position 
of secretary-treasurer. He is also secretary-treasurer of the Al])ha Portland 
Cement Company of Pennsylvania ; secretary-treasurer of the Catkskill Ce- 
ment Company; treasurer of Annville Stone Company; and assistant-treas- 
urer of Portland Cement Association. Me is a director of the Phillipsburg 
Trust Com])any, director of Building and Loan Association No. 5 "' IMiilliiis- 
burg, and is a member of the National y\ssociation of Credit Men. lie was 
verj" active in war work, serving on several committees connected with the 
Liberty Loan and war work drives. The details of the purchase of bonds by 
the various com]ianies of which he is financial head all added to his duties, 
but these burdens were gladly borne to aid in the one object for which the 
United States was striving. "Win the War." lie is first and finally a man of 
business, and his high position has been gained by knowing no other great 
interest than his business, giving close attention to the details of each de])art- 
mcnt with which he was connected, whether or not it fell within the circle 
of his prescribed dut\-. Optimistic and of buoyant siiirit, a man of systematic 
habits, he was always i)rei)ared for position "higher up," thus each step found 
him ready for it. He has not. however, given himself slavishly, but is careful 
that every side of his nature develops evenly, and he is a fine example of the 
modest, self-reliant, capable American business, than whom there is nothing 
finer. His recreations are those of the out-of-doors, golfing, motoring, fishing 
and athletics all appealing to him. He is a member of the Pomfret and 
Northamjiton clubs, is an independent in politics, placing principles above 
party allegiance. 



LeROY LEO WALTER— The family of which LeRoy L. Walter is 
representative settled in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, prior to the 
Revolution, and have long been prominent in Palmer township and in the city 
of Easton. LeRoy L. Walter is a son of Tilghman Walter, and a grandson 
of Aaron Walter, both residents of Palmer township, but both dying in Easton. 
Aaron Walter was a farmer of Palmer township, and there his son Tilghman 
was born about 1858. He died in Easton. He married Helen Herster, of 
Easton. who there died in March. 1914. The}' were the parents of the follow- 
ing children: Carrie. Oscar. Percx . Floyd. John. LeRoy L.. of further men- 
tion, and Noah. 

LeRoy L. Walter, son of Tilghman and Helen (Herster) Walter, was 
born in Easton, Pennsylvania. August i, 1884, his parents then residing in 
the First Ward. He began his school life under the instruction of a young 
teacher. Enos Walter, and until thirteen years of age attended public school. 
He then became a worker in the Simon Silk Mill, and for about seven years 
he continued with that corporation, connected with different departments. 
He then became a conductor on a city electric line, remained in that position 
two \-ears. then was employed at the Barnet House and other hotels for a 
period of about seven years. He then left Easton and was a clerk at the 
Marlborough-BIenheim. Atlantic City. New Jersey, for a season, and at the 
Ponce de Leon. St. Augustine. Florida. On November 4. 1910. he purchased 
the Mount A'ernon Hotel. Easton, Pennsylvania, and has been its proprietor 
from that date until the present (tqiq). He also was proprietor of the Paul 
Revere Hotel, at Revere. Pennsylvania, until its destruction bv fire. March 11, 
1918, having bought that property the preceding February 4. As soon as possi- 



412 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

ble he erected a new substantial stone building two and a half stories in height 
upon the same site, and now both hotels are operating under his ownership. 
Mr. Walter is a Republican in politics, and a member of the Roman Catholic 
church. He married, May i6, 1909, Helen Conroy, of Brooklyn, New York. 

HARRY NICHOLAS CROWDER— \\nicn a boy, Harry Nicholas 
Crowder, Sr., left his home in England and came to the United "States. In 
course of time he became a dry-goods merchant of New York City, a business 
in which he continued until 191 5, when he retired, joined his son in Easton, 
and died there in May, 1918, aged sixty-five years. He married Elizabeth 
Hettrick, who survives him, a resident of Brooklyn, New York. They were 
the parents of three children: Charles Frederick, of Allentown. Pennsylvania, 
vice-president of the Crowder Junior Company in Allentown ; Plarrv Nicholas, 
of further mention ; Grace Darling, married Victor Hansen, of Long Island, 
New York. 

Harrv Nicholas Crowder was born in Brooklyn, New York, July n, 1888. 
He was educated in Brooklyn ]niblic schools, finishing with graduation from 
Brooklyn Commercial High School, class of 1905. As soon as school days 
were over he entered the employ of the Crandall Packing Company, manu- 
facturers of steam specialties, and he is still that company's representative 
for the Crandall engine room specialties in Easton, Pennsylvania. In 1906, 
Mr. Crowder located in Easton. as representative of various Eastern manu- 
facturers, and began the upbuilding of the business which in 1912 he incor- 
porated as the Crowder Junior Companv, of which he was the first, and thus 
far (1919), the only president. Charles Frederick Crowder, his brother, being 
vice-president of the Allentown branch of the company. The business, elec- 
tric, steam and mill supplies, has had a solid as well as a rapid growth, its 
abundant success to be largely attributed to the business genius of its founder 
and executive manager. Mr. Crowder is a member of the Easton Board of 
Trade ; National Association of Steam Engineers ; Hill Grove Lodge No. 540, 
Free and Accepted Masons ; Evening Star Chapter, Royal Arch Masons : Pomp 
Council, Royal and Select Masters ; Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights 
Templar; Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mvs'tic Shrine; 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; is a Republican in national politics, 
but independent in local affairs. 

Mr. Crowder married. May 24, 1917, Jeannette Stryker, daughter of Wil- 
liam A. and Anna (Shields) Stryker, of Washington, New Jersey. Mrs. 
Crowder is a graduate of Chevy Chase Seminary, Washington, District of 
Columbia. They are the parents of a daughter, Anna Elizabeth. 



JAMES BARNARD NEAL— While Mr. Neal is a successful business 
man and a high official of important corporations, he is a scientist, an author- 
ity on ornithology, and a student of that equally fascinating study, oology. 
From boyhood the stud}' of mythologv and oology held especial interest for 
him, and during the course of his life he made a fine collection of North 
American birds numbering about twenty-five hundred specimens, which he 
has since presented to Lafayette College. He is a son of Edward and Mary 
(Linscott) Neal, of Jarrettown, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. 

James Barnard Neal was born in Jarrettown, Pennsylvania. Januarv i8j 
1870. He was educated in Friends Central School, Philadelphia, Knight's 
Sunnyside Academy, Ambler, Pennsylvania, and Pierce's Business College, 
Philadelphia, finishing with graduation from the last named institution in 
April, 1887. On April 9, 1888, he entered the employ of C. K. Williams & 
Company, of Easton, as bookkeeper, the Neal and Williams families having 
been friendly neighbors in Jarrettown before the removal of Joseph Thomp- 
son Williams and his sons to Easton. The business of C. K. Williams & 
Company is one of magnitude and many ramifications, but may be described 



Tah .•■iKW YOf<K 

?nH:.r :.;i3Rary 



TiLDEN FOUNDATIONS | 



BIOGRAPHICAL 413 

as a corporation mamifacturing special products and engaj^fed in the mining, 
importing and producing of raw materials used in the manufacture of crock- 
ery, glass and fine china. Mr. Neal continued as bookkeeper until advanced 
to the position of corres])ondcnt and office manager. He held that position 
until October 28, igof), when the l)usincss was incorporated as C. K. Williams 
& Coin])any, with Mr. Ncal as secretary of the company. The company has 
various subsidiaries in diiTerent ])arts of the country, and in the organ'z-.ation 
of these corporations Mr. Neal took an active part in addition to his duties 
with the parent company. He is vice-president of the Florida China Clay 
Company, secretary of the Easton Explosion Company, both subsidiary to 
C. K. Williams 6v: Company. 

]\Ir. Neal is a member of the Easton Board of Trade, the "S'oung Men's 
Christian Association, Easton Lodge and Easton Chapter, Masonic Order, the 
Methodist Ejiiscopal church, and in jjolitics a Republican. His clubs are the 
Pomfret and Northam])ton County Country, his recreations those of the open, 
particularly golf, motoring and fishing. His love of bird life and his deep 
knowledge thereof has been intense, and although his enthusiasm as a col- 
lector has waned, his love for those twin studies, ornithology and oology, is as 
great as ever and he delights in out-of-doors lifr, An entirely unrelated 
interest or fad, if you please, is a love for the antique in furniture and blue 
china, his collection of both showing his rare skill as a collector of the his- 
torically valuable in these art crafts. The antique in Oriental rugs has also 
attracted him, and in all he ranks as a connoisseur. 

Mr. Neal married, December 25, 1914, Helen, daughter of H. G. Shull, 
of Llartins Creek, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Neal is an active 
worker in the church, and rendered especially valuable service in the filling of 
Easton's war chest and in the various Liberty Loan drives, the team she led 
in the Fourth Liberty Loan being the most successful of all the teams com- 
posed entirely of women. Mr. and Mrs. Neal are the parents of two daugh- 
ters, Margaret Mary and Helen Jane. . 



JACOB BRODT ILLICK— This name, sornetimes spelled Illig, was 
brought to Northampton county by Rudolph Illick in 1730. The Illicks have 
chosen various channels of occupation — agriculture, educators, ministers and 
lawyers. They have held the name sacred for its honor and integrity. Ru- 
dolph Illick was the father of John Christopher Illick, a farmer of Northamp- 
ton county, who died in 1818, and was the father of three sons: Christopher 
(2) ; John Frederick, who settled in Williams township, Northampton county; 
and John, who settled in New York State, where some of his descendants now 
reside, including his daughter Elizabeth, the wife of John Florey. Chris- 
topher Illick settled on a farm in Copper Mount Bethel township, Northampton 
county. He was a cabinetmaker by trade, but a large part of his life was spent 
at his farm. He married a Susannah Brodt, and both died at the farm in 
Upper Mount Bethel township. Both were members of the Lutheran church, 
and he was an official of the then Centerville Church. Both lived tn an 
advanced age. 

Jacob Brodt Illick, son of Christo))her and Susannah (Brodt) Illick, was 
born at the home farm in Upper Mount Bethel township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, October 20, 1814, and died in California about 1880. 
He was educated in the district school, his attendance, like that of the aver- 
age farmer boy, being during the winter months only. He remained at the 
home farm until legal age, then left home and went to Belvidere, New Jersey, 
where he clerked in a store. Later he opened a store in Stockertown, North- 
ampton county. In 1849 he was caught in the mad rush for gold that began 
with the discovery of that precious metal in California. He sailed around the 
Horn, but at Valparaiso the vessel he was on had to put in for repairs, and 
it was a full year from the date of his departure from Pennsylvania before he 



414 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

arrived in San Francisco. He was with a company of young men from Phila- 
delphia who had formed a company, of which he was vice-president. Th*^ 
company was founded for mining operations, and he remained one of tfie 
officials for several years. Later he consolidated his interests with another 
Pcnnsylvanian, and together they o^vned valuable mining property. He re- 
mained in the gold fields several years, meeting with a fair degree of success, 
then, his health breaking down under the hard labor and exposure, he retired 
to a more congenial occupation in a more suitable climate. He conducted a 
ranch for several years before his death for the Caliveras Company in Cali- 
fornia. He died about 1880, and was buried in California. 

Mr. lUick married, in Easton, Cecelia Eva Probst, born in Forks town- 
ship, Northampton county, in 181 3, her parents moving to Easton in 1825. 
She died in Easton in 1887, and is buried in the Easton Cemetery. They were 
the parents of three children, of whom Mary Catherine Illick, of Easton, is 
the only survivor. Mrs. Illick was a daughter of Rev. John Augustus Probst, 
born in Saxony, Germany, who came to the United States at the age of nine- 
teen years, his parents both having died in Germany. He had been a student 
at the University of Leipzig, specializing in medicine. In Pennsylvania he 
began theological study under Rev. Charles Muhlenberg, of Lancaster, and 
later was ordained a minister of the Lutheran church. He was an able, devout 
man, and all his ministerial life was an untiring worker for the church he 
loved. He continued in the active ministry of the church until his death in 
Easton in 1844, having pastoral charge of the Forks, Centerville and Wil- 
liams township churches, serving but three churches during his thirty years 
in the ministry. Rev. John A. Probst, whilst a minister of a high order, was 
also deeply interested in civic and public affairs. By appointment of the 
governor, he filled the office of recorder of deeds of Northampton county, 
Pennsvlvania. He was a friend and co-worker of Thaddeus Stevens in his 
political activities. Rev. John A. Probst married, in York, Pennsylvania, 
Catherine Maria Weiscr, "daugliter of Samuel Weiser, who came to York 
from Wormelsdorf, Berks county, Pennsylvania. A son of Samuel, one Jacob 
Weiser, was a soldier in the War of 18 12. John Conrad Weiser was the 
founder of this family in Pennsylvania, he coming from the Rhine Palatinate 
in 1 710 with several of his then motherless children. He settled in Schoharie 
county. New York, and engaged in farming, his son, Conrad Weiscr, later 
settling in Berks county, Pennsylvania, and living for a time in Reading. 
Conrad became an Indian interpreter, serving the government in that and 
other important positions. He visited Easton at an early date, acting as inter- 
preter in treaty-making discussions between the white and red men. A daugh- 
ter of Conrad Weiser married the Rev. Henry Melchoir Muhlenberg, a pio- 
neer Lutheran minister in Pennsylvania. Rev. John A. Probst had a family 
of two sons and one daughter, the latter the wife of Jacob B. Illick, and 
mother of Mary Catherine Illick. His sons were: Emilias F., who was one 
of Easton's best known citizens, intellectual, ])leasing in manner and compan- 
ionable, who died in 1905, at the age of eighty-seven years; Dr. Franklin A., 
died in Easton at the age of twenty-five years, soon after engaging in practice. 

Mary Catherine Illick, only living child of Jacob Brodt and Cecelia Eva 
(Probst) Illick, continues her residence in Easton. She is a member of St. 
John's Lutheran Church, active in religious and charitable work. She is a 
member of the Northampton County Historical Society, a charter member of 
Easton Hospital, and at present, president of the board of trustees. She is 
interested also in the work of the Social Service League, of which she is a 
charter member, and most of the time since its organization has been an 
officer of the ^Missionary Society of St. John's Lutheran Church. From her 
eighteenth year she has been a teacher in the Sunday school. She is a mem- 
ber of the Women's Club, and is always ready to assist any and all things 
of a charitable nature. 



TME .WJiW YOrcK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOH, LKNOX AND 

VILDSN POUNnATIOMir 

« L 




The American H'STanrat Soaet 



Eng bu E € Wil'i'jiT-.-i '.>^rvm 



BIOGRAPHICAL 415 

HOWARD F. KOCH— -The ancestor of this branch of the Koch family 
was Aclani Koch, wlio arrived in Philadelphia from Germany, May 30, 1741, 
and settled in Wiiitehall township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, where his 
name is found on a tax list of 1762. His wife, Anna Maria, was born in 1701, 
and died in 1776. This branch of the family settled in Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, where Daniel Koch, a son of John and Susanna (Schnaljle) 
Koch, is now livin,sj a retired life at his farm near Easton. He is one of the 
successful farmers of the county, and all his life has been s])ent in that locality. 
Daniel Koch married Margaret Arner. They are the parents of a son, How- 
ard F., and a daughter, Lauranda S., wife of Andrew Wimmer, they the 
parents of a son, Howard L., and a daughter Alice. Mr. and Mrs. Wimmer 
reside at the home farm, Mr. Wimmer being employed in an Easton silk mill. 

Howard F. Koch, son of Daniel and Margaret (Arner) Koch, was born 
at the paternal farm in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, February 15, 
1868. He attended the district jjublic schools during his boyhood, later fin- 
ishing his studies at Easton Academy in I'^aston. On June 4, i8<S8, he entered 
the employ of Luckenl)ach iK; Krause, a firm which later became the J. S. 
Krause Hardware Com])any, Inc., this firm incorjiorating as such in igog. 
That business, originallj' conducted by J. Samuel Krause and Owen A. 
Luckenbach, became the sole property of J. Samuel Krause in 1889, and was 
conducted by him ])ersonally as the Krause Hardware Company until its in- 
corporation. The comjiany's store is located in Bethlehem, and is one of the 
solid, substantial business houses of the city. For twenty-one years prior to 
the incorjioration, Mr. Koch was connected with the business, attaining re- 
s])onsible jjosition. When the Inisiness was incorporated in 1909, he was 
chosen vice-iircsident and manager of the company, and is the practical man- 
aging head of the business. He is a business man of fine ability, energetic, 
honorable and upright. By nature a genial, attractive personality, he makes 
friends readily and has that happy faculty of making friends of mere acquaint- 
ances. He is a member of the Reformed church, is independent in his politi- 
cal belief, a member of the Bethlehem Rotary Club, and of the Bethlehem 
Club. He is first vice-president and member of the board of directors and 
organizer of the Citizens' Building iv Loan Association of Bethlehem. He is 
president of the Anti-Tuberculosis branch of the Associated Charities and a 
director of that organization. He was one of the original committee that 
organized and directed the Bethlehem War Chest, and was active in the war 
loan campaigns, and is also a director of the credit bureau of the Chamber 
of Commerce. 

Air. Koch married. Ai)ril 26, 1894, Julia A. Bond, daughter of Joseph H. 
and Sarah (Sterner) Bond, of Brodhcadsville, a village of Monroe county, 
twenty-two miles from Easton. The Koch family home is in Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania. 



SAMUEL LE ROY CAUM — His name, now best known in relation to 
real estate operations, Samuel Le Roy Caum, is a graduate engineer, a per- 
sonal friend and for some years a business associate of the great inventor, 
Mr. Edison. Mr. Caum was born at Altoona, Pennsylvania, the son of Ezra 
A. and Annie Elizabeth (Treese) Caum, May 22, 18S2. Ezra A. Caum died 
in 1914, being then sixty-three years of age. He had developed a successful 
and substantial wholesale ice cream business in Altoona, and his death came 
suddenly through becoming entangled in the machinery of his plant. His 
tragic death was a shock to his wnde circle of friends in Altoona, where the 
Caum family has been held in high esteem. After the death of her husband, 
Mrs. Caum took over the direction of the business, still keeping the factory 
in satisfactory operation, aided by two of her sons. The children of Ezra A. 
and Annie Elizalx'th (Treese) Caum were: i. Samuel Le Roy, of whom fur- 
ther. 2. Mary, who married Robert P. Graham, supervisor on the Pennsyl- 



4i6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

vania railroad at Barnesboro, Penns3ivania, to whom she bore two children : 
Janet and Robert. 3. Ezra Arthur, who assists his mother in the direction of 
the business in Altoona ; married Margaret Hughes, and has a son John. 
4. Wallace B., a successful restaurant proprietor in Altoona, married Char- 
lotte May, of Philadelphia. 5. Harry L., also employed in the ice cream 
factory ; married Mary Stable, of Altoona, and has one son, Edwin Le Roy. 

6. Thomas L., a draftsman in the Altoona shops of the Pennsylvania railroad. 

7. Frank L., died in infancy. 8. Elizabeth, attending college. 9. Martha, 
attending school. 

Samuel Le Roy Caum first attended the public schools of Altoona, Penn- 
sylvania, graduating from high school in the class of 1900. It was his father's 
desire that he have professional training, and the following fall he matriculated 
at Lehigh University in the engineering course, being graduated in 1904 with 
the degree of M.E. He took up professional work at once, and for five years 
was chief draftsman for the Edison Portland Cement Company of New Jer- 
sey, during his employment at that plant becoming a personal friend of the 
eminent inventor, Thomas A. Edison. In 1910, ]\Ir. Caum came to Bethlehem 
and opened an office in that city, specializing in real estate and insurance. He 
has since developed a prosperous business covering all lines of insurance, also 
building and loan operations. He is secretary of the Equitable Building & 
Loan Association, of the Industrial Building & Loan Association, and the 
South Bethlehem Building & Loan Association, and a member of the board 
of directors of each. He is secretary of the Citizens' Realty Company and a 
member of the board of director.^;, a director and executive committeeman 
of the South Bethlehem National Bank and vice-president of the Bethlehem 
Real Estate Board. 

Mr. Caum is an aggressive, active man of optimistic outlook, and has 
been successful in his line in Bethlehem. He has not been able to devote his 
entire time to real estate, as on several occasions he has been recalled in 
his professional capacity to undertake designing for the Thomas A. Edison 
Company, but he is popular among the business fraternity of the citv and 
wnth them will imdoubtedly share in Bethlehem's future development. He 
was active in all of the war work in which Bethlehem made such a splendid 
record, and in addition to supporting the numerous drives of the government 
and relief organizations assisted the Draft Board of District No. 3 through- 
out the war. He is a member of Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce, member 
and one of the board of directors of the South Side Business Association. Inde- 
pendent in political opinions, Mr. Caimi follows national affairs with keen in- 
terest. He has never participated in political work, but is enthusiastic in all 
that bears on the progress of the cit}', and is an interested member of the 
Rotar\' Club, one of Bethlehem's strongest and most eflective organizations 
of business men. Mr. Caum also belongs to the Bethlehem Club, and to all 
the Masonic bodies with the exception of the consistory. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Lulu Temple, Nobles of the ]\I\-stic Shrine, of Philadelphia, and 
also of Hobah Lodge No. 364. Knights of Pythias, of Bethlehem. Mr. Caum 
is a devotee of out-of-door recreation, especially motoring. He is a patron of 
all college sports, is a lover of m.usic, and for eight years has been director 
of St. Mark's Lutheran Church choir, and in college was active in college 
glee club work, and was leader and violinist in the Lehigh College Orchestra. 

On December 7, 1904, ^Tr. Caum married Elizabeth Beatrice, daughter of 
Andrew L. and Lucy C. (Rhoad) Cope, of Bethlehem, a sketch of whom 
follows. Mrs. Cope died July 20, 1919. Mr. and Mrs. Caum have an attrac- 
tive home on Prospect avenue. Both are members of the Lutheran church, 
contributors to its support with their time and means. The parents of Mrs. 
Caum were Lutherans of firm conviction. 



ANDREW LITZENBERGER COPE— First coming to Bethlehem as a 
teacher in the public schools, Andrew L. Cope soon found his real field of 





<r 



THE ,N£W YOHK 
PUBLIC LIB' ^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 417 

endeavor in real estate operations, and durinp the greater part of five decades 
filled a cons]:)icuous position in the business life of the city. His work was 
constructive in its physical aspect, and constructiveness was the keynote of 
his activity in every department of Bethlehem's life, business, civic, religious 
and i)hilanthropic. He was identified with the founding of many institutions 
that have stood the tests of time and changing conditions, and in every good 
work he was a deiiendable factor. In a life of great activity, abounding in 
helpful usefulness, two things stand out most clearly as monuments to his 
strong business judgment and to a generous, loving spirit of charity. These 
are, respectively, a leading ])art in the organization of three noted building 
and loan associations that have contributed heavily to the development of 
the city, and a lifelong and sincere friendshi]) for orphaned and cri])pled chil- 
dren that found perpetuation in his will. 

Andrew L. Cope, representative of a pioneer Bucks county family, was a 
son of Henry and Elizabeth (Litzcnberger) Cope, the youngest of ten chil- 
dren, as follows: Susanna. Amanda, Sarah, Amelia, Ephraim, Amos, Robert, 
Mahlon, Jeremiah and Andrew L. He was born in Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, March iq, 1847, and died in Bethlehem, January 8, 1919. He attended 
the public schools and completed his education in the Millersville State Nor- 
mal College, then came to Bethlehem as a teacher in the public schools. 
Impressed with the opportunities for real estate investments in Bethlehem, 
he soon engaged in dealings in that line and insurance, and throughout a 
long period of years ranked among the most prominent operators of the dis- 
trict. His work included building o]ierations, and large numbers of houses 
were erected on plats opened by him as residence sections. In addition to his 
private activities, he was the leading spirit in the organization of the South 
Bethlehem Building & Loan Association, the Industrial Building & Loan 
Association, and the Equitable Building & Loan Association, and during forty 
years as secretary of these important organizations he was in great measure 
responsible for their financial soundness and wide usefulness. Throughout 
this long period his grasp on the affairs of these associations was constant 
and thorough, and he was instrumental in aiding literally hundreds of fami- 
lies to ownership of their homes in financial security. In almost unprece- 
dented measure he held the confidence and esteem of the officials and stock- 
holders of these companies, and the administration of his ofUce was efficient 
and enthusiastically approved. Another business interest was the old Moun- 
tain Water Company, which supplied the South Side for many years, and of 
which he was the organizer. He was one of the charter members of the 
Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce and a firm believer in organizations that 
brought the business and industrial leaders of the city together in efTort for 
the welfare and prosperity of Bethlehem. 

Mr. Cope was a staiinch Democrat and was sought in council by his 
party leaders, but with the exception of his incumbency of the office of tax 
collector and a member of Council from 1877 to 1880 he never entered public 
life. Few men. however, worked more zealously in private capacity for the 
success of progressive measures and for the creation of a strong spirit of 
civic pride than Andrew L. Cope. He was one of the organizers and a charter 
member of St. ]\Iark's Lutheran Church, and for many years was a member of 
its official board. His supjrort of local charities was liberal and constant, and 
while his gifts and sympathies covered a large field he was particularly con- 
cerned with the welfare of unfortunate children, and he made provisions for 
them in his will, the Germantown Home for Orphaned and Crippled Children, 
the Topton Home for Crippled Children, and the Good Shepherd's Home of 
Allentown. Pennsvlvania. were all named as beneficiaries. He was a member 
and past chancellor of Hobah Lodge, Knights of Pythias. His life was one 
of devotion to high personal standards and of strict observance of duty. In 
business success and prosperity he exercised a careful stewardship that 

N. H. BIOG.— 27 



41 8 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

brought relief and comfort to man}', and his good works made him beloved 
of a large circle. 

Andrew L. Cope married Lucy Catherine, daughter of Charles and Eliza- 
beth (Bowers) Rhoad. They were the parents of one daughter, Elizabeth 
Beatrice, who married Samuel Le Roy Caum, whose sketch precedes this. 
Mrs. Cope died July 20, 1919. 



HENRY LEECH — Although a resident of the city of Easton since the 
3"ear 1888, a period of thirt\-one years, Recorder Lerch is a native of Forks 
township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, son of John M. Lerch, and 
grandson of John Lerch. The family dates back to the earliest period of the 
county. There is recorded in the first deed book, page 22, April 30, 1754, by 
Anthony Lerch, property in Lower Saucon township, price £18. John M. 
Lerch, a farmer of Forks township, married Anna C. Uhl^r, and they are the 
parents of HenTy Lerch, of Easton, present recorder of deeds for Northamp- 
ton county. 

Henry Lerch was born at the homestead in Forks township, April 3, 1872, 
and there passed the first sixteen years of his life. He was educated in the 
public schools of the district, and in the intervals of school life was employed 
on the home farm. He had little taste for agriculture, and when sixteen 
years of age left home and came to Easton, which has ever since been his 
home. He apprenticed himself to a carriage and sign painter, and after thor- 
oughly learning that trade followed it for many years, abandoning it only 
when elected to his present office. He was an expert in his business, and his 
services v,-cre always in demand. A Democrat in politics, Mr. Lerch from 
youthful manhood took a deep interest in political affairs, and \\as one of the 
young men of his ward who could always be relied upon for party service. 
This brought him to the notice of party leaders, and he became influential 
in his ward, the eighth. In 1906 he was chosen to represent that ward in 
the Common Council, and in 191 5 was the choice of his party for the county 
office, recorder of deeds, an important position he is most capably filling. He 
is a member of Dallas Lodge No. 396, Free and Accepted ]\Iasons, and Cald- 
well Consistory, Bloomsburg, Columbia county, Pennsylvania, Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite, in which he holds the thirty-second degree. He is a 
member also of Rajah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, Reading, Penn- 
.eylvania ; the Tall Cedars of Lebanon; the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, Lodge No. 121, Easton; the Loval Order of Moose, Lodge No. 45, 
Easton ; Jacksonian Democratic Club of Easton ; Palmer F'ire Company No. i ; 
Easton Motor Association ; Noble Order of Equines ; the Jacksonian Demo- 
cratic Club of Nazareth ; the Northampton Democratic Association of Beth- 
lehem, Concordia ]\Iaennerchor of Easton, and the Reformed church at I^orks, 
Pennsvlvania. 



WILLIAM JACOB KUEBLER— This branch of the Kuebler family 
was established in Pennsylvania in 1849 by Willibald Kuebler, who came 
from Baden, Germany, in that year, making a short stay in Philadelphia before 
making permanent settlement in Easton, Pennsylvania. Here he founded the 
\V. Kuebler Breweries, locating his first plant on a corner near the present 
circle. When larger and more commodious quarters Isecame a necessity, the 
present plant was erected, one of the largest in the county. He died in Easton, 
in July, 1898, aged seventy-two years. His father was a lumberman, operat- 
ing in that wooded portion of Germany known as the Black Forest. Willibald 
Kuebler married Mary C. Klusmeyer, who died August 10, 1912, aged seventy 
years, daughter of Christian Klusmeyer, a noted canal boat builder of his 
day. Willibald Kuebler was famed for his charities and was one of the ster- 
ling characters of his day. He left three sons and a daughter: William J., 
of whom further; Charles E., Frank A., and Mamie C, now the widow of 



TfcJt .'riiVV YtjfiK 



A.S'(0«. LEWOi aNO 
r.'LCP.N FCJ+iDATtONS 

L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 419 

Ralph Schertzinger. of Peekskill, New York. It is with the career of the 
eldest son, WiUiam J. Kuehler, one of Easton's business men, that this review 
particularly deals. 

William Jacob Kuebler was born in Kaston, Pennsylvania, August 30, 
1858. He was educated in Easton public schools and Nazareth Hall, a famous 
school of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, and early entered business life, becoming 
intimately associated with" his father in his enterprises. lie has won high 
standing in the commercial world and has very large business interests. He 
is head of the firm of W. Kuebler Sons; president of the Kuebler Foundries, 
Inc.; vice-president and director of the Northampton National Bank of 
Easton ; and is fmancially interested in many enterprises of lesser imi)ortance, 
but large in the aggregate. He is a man of clear brain and sound judgment, 
conservative but ])rogressivc, and ready with influence and capital to aid in 
any movement that promises to bring Easton into greater commercial imi)ort- 
ance. He is a member of the Board of Trade and of other business organiza- 
tions of the city, lending a hand wherever it is needed. 

Mr. Kuebler belongs to all bodies of the York Rite in Masonry, being 
affiliated with Easton T.odge, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter, 
Roval Arch Masons; Ponip Council, Royal and Select Masters; Hugh dc 
Paven Commandery. Knights Templar; and I\ajah Temple, Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine, the latter located in Reading, Pennsylvania, the other bodies 
all of Easton. He is a member of Phillii)sburg Lodge No. 395, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and the Pomfret Club. In politics he is a 
Democrat ; in religious preference he is a member of Zion Lutheran Church. 

He married, April 6, 1893, Alice Thume, daughter of Ferdinand and 
Sabina (Brader) Thume, of Easton, a woman active in church and in charity. 
Mr. and Mrs. Kuebler are the parents of two .sons, Karl Ferdinand and Donald 
Willibald. both born in Easton. Karl F. is now, September, 1918, in training 
at Camp Lee, for service at the front, in the United States Army in France. 
He was educated at Lafayette College. Donald W. is a student at Mercers- 
burg, Pennsylvania. 

MILTON FLORY — Milton Flory, who has been the head of the Flory 
milling business for almost forty years, was born in this part of Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, October 31, 1859. He was a son of Solomon and 
Susan (Bruch) Flory, both of whom were natives of Northampton county, 
but now both deceased. Solomon Flory, the father, was a butcher, and he 
conducted his business in Bangor, this State. He was engaged also in the 
slate business. He was a member of the Evangelical church. He and his 
wife, Susan (Bruch) Flory, were the parents of six children who grew to 
maturity. Of these children, Milton Flory, was next to the youngest. 

Milton Flory received his education in the public schools of his native 
locality. His first entrance into the business world was in the capacity of a 
teamster, in which jjosition he continued for a period of two years. He then 
engaged in the milling business, which has ever since been his occupation. 
When, in 1883, Solomon Flory turned over to his son Milton the flour mill 
established in' 1858 at Bangor, Pennsylvania, which had come into his pos- 
session some years later, he found a business of small proportion in compari- 
son with that which was transacted on the same mill site in after time. In 
1890 and in 1900 he enlarged, and each time equipped the plant with the best 
and most improved milling machinerv that the times afforded. Steam and 
water were both laid under contribution as power producing agencies; sev- 
enty-five pounds of steam and ninetv-five pounds of water were needed to 
produce the one hundred barrels of flour every twenty-four hours, the mill's 
capacity. A large local trade was created, for the product of the mill was of a 
superior quality. The balance of the mill's output was transported to points 
more distant, where the product's quality w-as equally as well appreciated. 



420 NORTHAMPTOX COUXTY 

iMr. Flory is one of the leading business men of Bangor, and he has always 
been ready and willing to assist in an^^thing for the public good. Besides his 
own private business interests, Mr. Flory occupies other positions of responsi- 
bility. He is director of the First Xational Bank of Bangor, the S. Florj^ 
Manufacturing Company and the Blue Water Consolidated Water Company. 
Mr. Flory married, in 1881, in Bangor, Martha Speer. of Bangor. They 
have four children, as follows: Harry; Helen, wife of George Gotshalk ; Lila ; 
Marian. Mr. and ^Irs. Flory are members of the Evangelical church, and 
have been active in the work of the church. 



COL. SAMUEL S. HORN— Scion of one of the useful, patriotic and 
influential families of Xorthampton county and the city of Easton, Col. 
Horn occupies prominent position in his own right, being present city con- 
troller, an office he has ably held for several years, elected both on partisan 
and non-partisan tickets. He is deepl}^ interested in military affairs, showing 
the martial strain peculiar to the Horns, is active in fraternity and club, and 
is a strong pillar of support to civic, patriotic or charitable public enterprises. 

The Horn family is one of the oldest in Easton and Northampton county, 
and for over a century and a half have been identified with Easton and its 
varied interests. In military affairs the Horns have been especiallj- promi- 
nent, and their patriotic devotion to country is worthy of special record. The 
statement is made that the Horn family is of German origin, and records 
show a number of this name arriving in this country in the late eighteenth 
century, but it appears from an old newspaper clipping that in 1731 Johi* 
Philip Horn, a Scotchman, landed in Philadelphia ; that later, two of his sons 
settled in Easton, and one of the latter had seven sons and a son-in-law in 
the Revolution. While this does not appear to be exactly correct, it evidently 
referred to Abraham Horn, Sr.. and his several sons who served in the War 
of 1812, Abraham Horn, Sr., probably a son of one of those two who settled 
in Easton. As earh- as 1755. Stephen and John Horn were residents of Easton, 
contributed in the work of building the first school house of the town, and 
were enlisted with the Provincials in guarding the town during the Indian 
troubles. 

Abraham Horn, Sr., must have been the son of one of these, as was 
probably Nicholas Horn, and there may have been other children, but little 
is known of the history of the writer except of the family of Abraham Horn, 
Sr., whose descendants have been identified in this section with local history. 
In the first census of the United States in 17QO, only the heads of the family 
were named, and names were sometimes spelled to agree with the taste of 
the census taker, but thirty families by the name of Horn are given. In 
Northampton county is given George Horn himself, one male under sixteen, 
and four females; John Horn himself, two males over sixteen, one male under 
sixteen. As .Abraham Horn, Sr., and Nicholas Horn are. recorded as serving 
in the Revolution, it is probable they were the "two males" over sixteen. 

Nicholas Horn is recorded in vol. 8, fifth series, Pennsylvania Archives, 
as being commissioned July 9, 1776, as captain of the Third Company. Penn- 
svlvania ]\Iilitia, commanded by Lieut. -Col. Peter Kechlein, and an abstract 
from the War Department shows his service as a private in George Jenkins' 
company. Second Pennsylvania Regiment, commanded successively by Major 
William Williams and Col. Henry Bicker; enlisted January 28, 1777, trans- 
ferred in 1778 to Capt. Joseph Howell's company, and discharged January i, 

1783- 

Abraham Horn, Sr., was born in Williams township, Northampton 

county. Pennsylvania, December 31, 1757. "Pennsylvania in the Revolution" 

records him as being appointed a sergeant January 5, 1776, in Col. Arthur St. 

Clair's second Pennsylvania battalion. Capt. Thomas Craig's company to 

November 25, 1776, and War Department records quote in abstract as follows: 



Tp !• 


,-iK\\' YOUK 


•?''••;.[ 


: LIBRARY 


AS^<^H 


. ;,f.N'oX AND 


VlLV&ti 


KOUt4DAT£ON.S 


* 





BIOGRAPHICAL 421 

Abraham Horn was sergeant in Capt. Thomas Craig's and Captain Biinncr's companies, 
Second (subsequently Third) Pennsylvania Regiment, commanded by C'ol. John Wood, and 
further that he was a drunnncr in Capt. Rol)ert Connelly's company. Fourth Pennsylvania 
Regiment, Continental forces, commanded by Colonel Cadwalladcr, from March 14, 1777, to 
January I, 1781. 

In llu' War nf iiSij, War 1 )r])artinent records show that he served as 
licuteiiant-C()k)iiel of I-'irst Riilemeii (Humphreys'), Pennsylvania Regiment, 
discharj^ed December 19, 1814. In connection with this, a little later refer- 
ence in this article shows the service of his sons and sons-in-law in the same 
war. In 1798, Abraham Morn, Sr., completed the first bridge over the Lehigh 
river at the foot of Pomfret (now South Third) street, Easton. It was a 
structure 22 by 280 feet, and through faulty design collapsed before it had, 
been oflicially acce])tcd, a complete loss to the builder. The "History of 
Easton" (ptotes him in 1807 as the proprietor of the "Golden Swan" Hotel, 
later known as the Swan, subsequently as the Stirling, and now Whillock Inn. 
He was the first president of the Humane Eire Com]iany when it was organ- 
ized in 1797, and otherwise prominent. Abraham Horn, Sr., married Susanna 
Hay, daughter of Melchoir and Susanna (Brotzman) Hay, and a grand- 
daughter of Malcolm Hay, the ancestor of the Hay family of Easton. By 
this marriage he had nine children: Abraham, Jr., John, Charles, Catherine, 
Melchoir Hay. .Samuel, Joseph, Susan Gertrude and W'illiam. He died May 
22, 1826, and with his wife is buried in St. John's Burying Ground, Easton. 

Abraham Horn, Jr., first son of Abraham Horn, Sr., was born April 4, 
1777, died May 3, 1839, and buried in Easton Cemetery. He served as captain 
in Humphreys' First Riflemen, in which his father was lieutenant-colonel. 
This company was raised to sixty men in one day, and on their departure 
were presented with colors by Miss Rosanna Beidleman. He was the seventh 
postmaster of Easton, appointed March 9. 1829, under President Jackson, and 
served ten years, during Jackson and Van Buren administrations, until his 
death. He was a carpenter and builder, a member of the Legislature, and 
either he or his father was county recorder from 1803 to 1809. After his death 
he was succeeded as postmaster by his son-in-law, Abraham Coryell, who 
served under Presidents Van Buren, Tyler and Polk. Mr. Coryell wa.s the 
father of Fannie Coryell, who so long conducted the circulating librarv so 
popular with Easton readers. 

John Horn, second son of Abraham Horn. Sr.. was born March 15. 1782, 
died May 19, 1851, and is buried at Tyrone, New York. He was a first lieu- 
tenant in Capt, Abraham Horn, Jr.'s, company (Humphreys' First Peimsyl- 
vania Riflemen) in the War of 1812. He married Elizabeth Lcidig, who is 
buried at Addison, New York. 

Charles Horn, third son of Abraham, Sr.. was born November 16, 1784, 
died March i, 1852, and with his wife, who was Elizabeth (Deshler) Horn, 
is buried in St. John's Burying Ground. In the War of 1812 he served in 
Capt. Peter Nungesser's company. Second (Bache's) Pennsylvania Light 
Infantry, as musician and drum major. He also was drum major in "Easton 
Union Guards," which was formed in 1816. 

Melchoir Hay Horn, fourth son of Abraham Horn, Sr., was born Decem- 
ber 29, I78r). and died May 3T, 1863. He married (first) Isabella Traill, daugh- 
ter of Robert Traill, by whom he had ten children; Sabilla, Robina, Robert 
Traill, John Jacob, Isabella Rosanna, Melchoir Hay, Jr., Enoch S. Clark, 
Sally Ann, Philij) Henry Mattes and Maria Louisa. Through this marriage 
comes the relationship to the Traills, Greens, Shipmans, Mattes, the Catasau- 
qua Horns and others. His second marriage was to Fredericka Cassler, and 
they were the parents of one son, William Penn. long a letter carrier in Easton, 
and fathfer of the present city controller. Samuel S. Florn. Melchoir Hay 
Horn was a sergeant in his father's companv of Humphre3-s' First Riflemen 
in the War of 1812, with his grandfather as lieutenant-colonel: a member of 
the "Easton Artillerists," 1821, and orderly sergeant of the "Easton Fenci- 



422 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

bles," in 1846. He served as county commissioner in the "thirties," and was 
burgess of Easton from 1842 until 1846. 

Samuel Horn, fifth son of Abraham Horn, Sr., was born March 17, i/QO. 
He was never married. He served in the War of 1812 as drummer in the 
Sixteenth United States Infantry, was drum major in the "Easton Artillerists," 
and in the Mexican War, at the age of fifty-seven, volunteered, entered the 
Second Pennsylvania Regiment under Capt. James Miller, and was in every 
engagement from Vera Cruz to the city of Mexico, where he remained until 
the treaty of peace was signed. The epitaph on his tombstone in the Easton 
Cemetery, in addition to his record, reads: 

Homeward bound, diseased and wan, the veteran drummer found 
Bedimmed his eye, his wasted form but totters o'er the ground. 
Death sped his arrow, and the deed released his soul 
For heaven. Adieu! Thy drum is hushed, thou'st beaten the last roll. 

Joseph Horn, sixth son of Abraham Horn, .Sr.. was born October 8, 1791, 
died May 21, 1871, and buried with his wife Catherine, in St. John's Burying 
Ground. From Joseph Horn comes the connection with the family of Dr. 
Evans. He was in his father's company in the War of 1812 as musician, and 
also held membership in the "Easton Union Guards" and the "Easton 
.\rtillcrists." 

William Horn, youngest son of .'\braham Horn, Sr., no available records 
as to his birth, was drowned in the Lehigh river on a Sunday while crossing 
on the ice, and his body was not recovered for several days. He served in the 
War of 1812 as a private in John Rawlin's company, of Lower Merion (First 
Battalion, Uhle's Riflemen). There is family data that he also served as 
adjutant in the same regiment as his grandfather, but no War Department 
records state this fact. 

Catherine Horn, daughter of Abraham Horn. Sr.. married a Rohn. from 
which comes the connection of the Rohn and Horn families. 

Susan Gertrude Horn, the other daughter, married Jacob Bossier, who 
was also a member of Capt. Abraham Horn. Jr.'s, company in the War of i8t2. 

The foregoing covers the family history of Abraham Horn, Sr. Of the 
family of Melchoir Hay Horn, Sr., who more lately have been interested in 
Easton history, Robert Traill Horn was prominently connected with the 
progress of Easton as the senior member of Horn, Steinmetz 8i Coinpany. 
prominent contractors and builders of their tiine. Robert T. Horn inarried 
Eleanor Odenwelder, connecting the Horn and Odenwclder families, and by 
his daughters the relationship to the Hartungs and that of John Bachman, 
of the Phillipsburg Bank, is established. 

Melchoir Hay Horn, Sr.'s, other sons. John J.. Melchoir, Enoch S., Clark 
and William Penn, were all Civil War veterans. John J. Horn entered the 
Union service as captain of Company E, Twelfth Pennsylvania Reserves; 
Melchoir, as colonel of the Thirty-eighth Pennsylvania Regiment ; and Wil- 
liam P., in the active service during the War between the States. Of Melchoir 
Hay Horn. Sr.'s, daughters. Sabilla married in the Shipman family. Robina 
into the ^'an Horn family, and Isabella in the Kurtz family. 

The military instinct still prevails in the Horn family. Robert T. Horn, 
son of Capt. John J. Horn and alwavs known as "Bob." was in service in 
the Easton Grays, and later in the Easton City Guard, successively known 
as Company E. Eleventh Pennsylvania National Guard, and Pennsylvania 
Infantry Company, Thirteenth Regiment, and the organization of which is 
now a "part of the Rainbow Division in France in the great World War. 
Removinrr from Easton. "Bob" has become quartermaster in the Pennsvlvania 
Reserve Militia, in which his son "Jack" is also serving. 

The present representative member of the family is Samuel S. Horn, who, 
while not in the militarv service, is generally known as "Colonel" Horn, hav- 
ing been active in local military work for inany years. His title conies as 



BIOGRAPHICAL 423 

the result of his activity in the or}janization of the Sons of Veterans, being' a 
past commander of the order in Pennsylvania, formerly tilled colonel, and 
also as commandinjj the res^inient of Sons of Veterans in the Lehi<jh Valley, 
which have maintained a military body for many years. ]\lan_>- of the boys 
now in service had preliminary training imder Colonel Horn prior to their 
entrance into State and National service. Colonel Horn was the original 
first sergeant of the Easton City Guard before it was sworn into service in 
hopes of active duty in the Spanish-American War, but owing to a slight 
physical defect at that time, and the examination being strict in view of 
probable National service, he was obliged to relinquish his desire for active 
militarj' service. 

Samuel S. Horn, grandson of Alelchoir Hay Horn, Sr., and his second 
wife. T'redericka (Casslcr) Horn, and son of William Penn and Mary (Trau- 
gcr) Horn, was born in the city of Easton, Pennsylvania, June 22, 1870, and 
was educated in the city schools. He early entered business life, has won his 
wav through var;, ing stations, and is the present capable secretary, director 
and manager of the T. T. Miller Hardware Company, a leading hardware 
cor]ioralion of Easton, located at Nos. 30-32 North I'^ourth street. He ranks 
higii among business men, and is one of the highly esteemed men of the 
hardware trade, widely known as one to be trusted and relied upon under 
all circumstances. 

.'\ Rcynililican in politics, Colonel Horn has always taken a deep interest 
in public affairs. In lyi 1 he was the nominee of his party for cit}^ controller, 
and was elected by a large majority. At the end of his first term of four 
years the commission form of government had gone into effect, and he be- 
came the nominee on a non-partisan ticket, passing the ordeal of the primaries 
and of the general polls without ojiposition, thus succeeding himself in the 
office. During his now seven years in the city controller's office he has 
wrought needed changes, and the system of municii)al records now in such 
satisfactory use may be largely attributed to his efforts to remedy the diffi- 
culties he found existing for those wishing to obtain authentic copies of 
records. In fraternal circles he is vvidel}' and favorably known. Ilis Masonic 
bodies are : Dallas Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons: Pomp Council, Royal and Select Masters; Hugh de 
Paycn Commandery, Knights Templar: IJloomsburg Consistory, Ancient Ac- 
cepted Scottish Rite, in which he holds the thirty-second degree; Rajah Tem- 
ple, Ancient Arabic Order nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and the Tall Cedars 
of Lebanon. In Odd Fellowship he is a member of Lehicton Lodge No. 244, 
and he also is affiliated with Easton Lodge, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks; the Patriotic Order Sons of America, Camp 407; Sons of Veterans, 
Cam]) No. 233; the Humane Fire Association; the Northampton Historical 
Society ; the Travelers' Protective Association ; Easton Motor Association ; 
and the Easton Board of Trade. Llis clubs are the Kiwanis and Riverside 
Canoe, of which he is president, and the McKinley Republican, of which he 
is treasurer. In this present world's crisis he is a member of the Northamp- 
ton County Committee of Public Safety and Pennsylvania Home Defense 
Police. 

Colonel Horn married, September 14, 18(53, Laura Mount, daughter of 
Abraham and Mary Ann (Allen) Mount. Colonel and Mvs. Horn are mem- 
bers of St. John's Lutheran Church, Easton. 



THE LAUBACH FAMILY— This large and honorable family claims as 
its common ancestor Christian Laubach. who, together with his wife, chil- 
dren and his father, Reinhart Laubach, aged seventy years, landed at Phila- 
deljjhia, September 16, 1738. Along in the same ship came Andrew Lerch 
and his two sons, Peter and Anthony. It is said that they were friends before 
departing for America; at least, they settled on adjoining tracts on Laubach's 



424 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

creek in Saucoii township, Northampton county. Soon after their arrival in 
1745, Christian Laubach erected a saw and grist-mill and added five adjoining 
tracts of land to the original homestead, some of which are still in possession 
of his descendants. He was a blacksmith by trade. The records of the Dur- 
ham furnace show that he had many castings made there, especially iron 
pots and kettles. 

Christian Laubach had been trained as a soldier in the German army. 
On August 29, 1755, he was appointed captain of the Saucon rangers, and 
was stationed at various times during the two following years at Rose Inn, 
Christian Springs, Gnadenthal IMill, and at the various blockhouses along 
the Blue mountains. A letter, read at the centenary of the Nazareth Inn, 
June 9, 1871, contains this reference to him: 

In this way, during the winter of 1755 and 1756, did the Rose exchange its character of 
an inn for that of a city of refuge. But it was also for a military post, and suffered from 
military- occupation. This occupation fell in the interval between the 26th of Xovcmber, 
1755, and the 20th of February, 1756. and some of its incidents are the following: In the 
evening of the aforesaid 26th of November, a company of Saucon rangers, in command of 
Capt. Christian Laubach, halted at the inn and bivouaced for the night. Having scoured 
the neighboring woods ne.xt day, on receiving intelligence of the enemy's presence in the 
gap of the mountain, they broke camp at dusk, and when the moon had risen, set out in 
pursuit. Meanwhile two detachments of mounted men had arrived. These failed to recog- 
nize any necessity for their presence, and having dined, departed. 

His son, John George Laubach, was a member of the company. The 
younger sons remained at home, conducting the farm, mills and the black- 
smith shop. Christian Laubach was born in Germany in 1699, and died on 
his homestead November 29, 1768; his wife, Susanna Catharine, was born in 
1705, and died ]\Iarch 12, 1770. They lie buried at the Lower Saucon Church, 
Northampton county. His will bears date, March 4, 1768. in which he says: 
"I bequeath unto my wife, Susanna Catharine, such household goods as she 
may desire, also the sum of six pounds sterling money annually ; the annual 
interest of 150 pounds, and a yearlj' allowance of 10 bushels of wheat, 5 
bushels of r\'e ;" unto his son, John George, he bequeathed the sum of 50 pounds ; 
to his daughter, Elizabeth, 30 pounds ; to his sons, Conrad and Frederick, all 
those messuages and tenements consisting of a grist-mill, saw-mill (situated 
on Laubach's creek), plantation, and five tracts of land, containing 215 acres, 
granted to him by a proprietary patent, bearing date, April 28, 1762, but 
subject to payments of certain sums of money, to wit: To his son, John 
George, 70 pounds ; to his son, Peter, 70 pounds. After the death of his wife 
the rest and residue of his eft'ects were to be divided in equal shares amongst 
his five sons. Christian Laubach was the father of si.x children: 

I. John George, born in the fatherland, November 11, 1729, and died 
October 19, 1802. He was a farmer. He was married to Elizabeth Yonson. 
They had issue* i. Susan, born November 7, 1757, died 1792. ii. John Michael, 
born November 28, 1759, died 1800; was married to Elizabeth Weidknccht, 
and had eight children, iii. John Adam, born August 23, 1761, died February 

2=;, 1828; was married to Bergcr, and had ten children, iv. John 

Christian, born June 30, 1762, died July 8, 1823; was married to Anna Mary 
Fritchey, and died at Danville, Pennsylvaiiia. leaving twelve children, v. Anna 
Maria, born October 21, 1764; was married to John Jacoby, and had seven 
children, vi. John, born December 23, 1766, died 1830; removed to Fishing 
Creek, Columbia county, vii. John Conrad, born March 3. 1768; was the 
father of three children: Catherine, Pamelia and Mary. viii. Anna Mar- 
gareth, born January 19, 1770, died March 29, 1856; was married to Dr. Peter 
Saylor, and had seven children, ix. Catharine, born February 26, 1772, died 
IMa}^ 22. 1837; was married to Daniel Weidknccht. x. John George, born 
March 3, 1774. di'cd January 3, 1863: was married to Elizabeth Riehl, and had 
nine children, xi. Walburg, born Februar}', 1776, died in infancy, xii. Elisa- 
beth, born April 10, 1779. died in infancy. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 425 

2. Johanna Elisabeth, born May 15, 1731, died July 22, 1814; was mar- 
ried to John Adam Kochcrt ; they resided in Lower Saucon township, and 
lie buried at Lower Saucon Church. No issue. 

3. Peter, born 1734, died 1818; was a blacksmith by trade. He was mar- 
ried to Catharine Kneplcy. About 1750 he removed to Allen township, near 
Kriedcrsville, where he conducted a farm and smithy. His family consisted 
of two sons and three dautjhters. Adam; and Peter, who married a Miss 
Stedler, and removed to Columbia county. Adam, born January 20, 1763, 
died February 28, 1847, obtained the old homestead, where he resided until 
his death. In addition to farming he conducted a blacksmith shoj). To him 
and his wife, Margaret (Newhart) Laubach, were born the following chil- 
dren: Peter and Joseph, see below. .Susanna, born April, 1789, died August, 
1826. Elizabeth, born March, 1793. Polly (Magdalena), born March 12, 1795, 
died May 6, 1854. aged fifty-nine years, one month, twenty-four days. She 
married Lorenz Schadt, born December 10, 1790, died October 4, 1855, had 
twelve children, and is buried at the Egypt Church, Lehigh county, Penn- 
sylvania. Adam, born March 19, 1797, died October 12, 1852, aged fifty-five 
years, six months and tw'enty-eight days; married (first), April 8, 1827, 
Susanna Snyder, born August 28, 1807, died January 18, 1838; he lived with 
her eight years and nine months; married (second), Abigail Oplinger, lived 
with her fifteen 3'ears, and is buried at .Stone Church, Allen townshi]). Cath- 
arine, born March, 1799, died April, 1844. Rebecca, born April, 1801, died 
September, 1828. Ljxlia, born July, 1803. John, born August 29, 1805. died 
March 9. 1882, aged seventy-six years, six months, ten days; married Cath- 
arine Lerch, born February 14, 1808, died December 22, 1883; buried at 
Howertown. William, born January 28, 1808, died October 25, 1859, aged 
fifty-one years, eight months, twenty-nine days ; married Sarah Siegfried, born 
December 17, 1808, died June 23, 1858. He had twelve children, and is 
buried at Stone Church. 

4. Christian Conrad, born November 24, 1737, died 1813. He married 
Catharine Houck. of Lower Saucon, cir. 1772. He removed to Allen township, 
near his brother Peter. Issue: Simon, Christian, Conrad, Adam, Catharine, 
Pamelia, Mary, Lillie, Susanna and Sally. 

5. Frederick, born May 16, 1744, and died April 7, 1797. He married 
Catharine Bitting, a daughter of Henry Bitting, of Upper Milford township, 
Lehigh county. She was a granddaughter of Henry Bitting, of Freinsheim, 
in the Palatinate. Before setting out for the New World he received a cer- 
tificate from the church and civil authorities. It is dated April 24. 1723. The 
church-book in his native parish contains the entries of the following chil- 
dren : Martin; Anna Sophia, born November 22, 1699; John Ludwig, 1702; 
Anna Katharine, March 9, 1704; Henrich, December 20, 1705; Anna Dorothea 
Elizabeth, March 7, 1708; Johan Peter, October 5, 1710; Justus, July 2, 1713; 
and Johanne Juliane. April 3, 1715. Henry Bitting was married to Katharine 
Reiss, and died December 3. 1747, leaving tw^o daughters: Catharine, married 
to Frederick Laubach ; and Magdalena, married to Adam Englebard ; the 
widow of the latter married Jacob Schacffcr. 

Mr. Laubach resided on the old homestead, and operated both the mills 
and the farm. Both Mr. and Mrs. Laubach lie buried in the Lower Saucon 
Cemeter}'. Five of their children reached majority : i. Rudolph, born April 13, 
1773, died November 9, 1853; married Maria Pluber. ii. Adam, mentioned 
later, iii. Margaret, born March 14, 1778; married Michael Lutz. iv. Fred- 
erick, born August 17, 1784, died ilay 17, 1851 ; married Catharine Jacoby. 
V. Susan E., born May 22, 1786, died October 8, 1868 ; married Jonas Ruch. 

6. Rheinhart, born 1748, died 1783; was married to Margarethe Bcidle- 
man. He conducted a farm about two miles southeast of Freemansburg. 
They had issue: i. John, born June 30, 1768, died May 9. 1840: married to 
Catharine Lerch. ii. Susan, iii. John George, born 1770, died 185 1 ; married 



426 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

to Maria Bahl. iv. Leonard, born April lo, 1776, died November i, 1855; 
married to Mary Thomas, v. Elisabeth, vi. Sarah, married to Daniel Weid- 
knecht. 

Adam Laubnch, born June 11. 1775, died November 2, 1811, son of Fred- 
erick and Catharine (Bittin.c;) Laubach, was married to Catharine Odenwellcr, 
born October 27, 1783, died April 21, 1867, a dau,c:hter of John and Elizabeth 
Odenweller, of Forks township. They resided in Lower Saiicon township, 
and had the following;- children : i. John, of whom further, ii. Jacob, born 
March 12, 1806, died August 31, 1807. iii. Elizabeth, born April 24, 1808, died 
February 9, 1890. iv. Jesse, born July 28, 1810, died December 28, 1893; was 
married to Maria Eliza Walter, born September 3. 1813, died August i, 1899, 
a daughter of George and Sarah (Schumacher) Walter, of Forks townshiii; 
they had issue: Elizabeth, George, Samuel, John, Adam, Amandus, Josiah, 
Sarah Ann, Marietta, William F. and Lewis Irwin. The widow, in 1822, was 
married to William Miller, by whom she had one son, William. 

John Laubach, son of Adam Laubach, born May 9, 1804, died December 
16, 1867. was married to Anna Walter, born March 28, 1803, died January 28, 
1884. They resided on a farm in Lower Nazareth township. Both were 
members of the Dryland congregation, where their remains lie buried. To 
them were born nine children : i. Adam, see below, ii. John, born Mav 16, 
1830, died July 25, 1891 ; married to Matilda Johnson, iii. Barnett, born 
August 30, 1832; married to Matilda Wagner, iv. William, born May 26, 
1835, died December 5, 1906 ; married to Sarah S. Knecht. v. Robert, born 
1837, died 1842. vi. Diana Elizabeth, born December 18, 1839; married (first) 
to Amandus Hellick, and (second) to Amandus Buss. vii. Richard, born 
March 6, 1842; married to Matilda Fenner. viii. Reuben, born September i, 
1844, died August 28, 1904; married to Sarah A. E. R. Kohler. ix. Mary 
Catherine, born November 20. 1846; married to John Henry Rohn. 

Peter Laubach, son of Adam Laubach, grandson of Peter Laubach, and 
great-grandson of Christian Laubach, was born in Allen township, August 24, 
1788. He resided on a farm near Howertown, and was a man of great activity. 
In addition to farming, he conducted a blacksmith shop, store, grist-mill, and 
engaged in contracting. He supplied large quantities of material used in 
the building of the Lehigh canal, including the lumber for the building of 
Schwartz's dam. The old Laubach's mill, which was assumed by Peter and 
Joseph Laubach. brothers, in 1822, remained in that ownership until 1857, 
when Peter Laubach died, and at the appraisement of his estate his son, 
Samuel Laubach, accepted the flour-mill, and he operated the mill until 1861, 
the year of his death, when his widow and four sons, Allen D., Edward H., 
Peter J., of the Northampton Brewing Company, and Samuel F., the coal 
merchant, assumed the management of the flour-mi'l, and became the Samuel 
Laubach Estate, of Laubachsville, Pennsylvania, now Northampton. In 1898 
the estate of Samuel Laubach sold the mill and interests to the Mauser Mill 
Company, large and heavy shippers of flour. Peter Laubach is still remem- 
bered in his community for his firmness and kindness. Fie was a faithful 
member of the Howertovvu Reformed Congregation, and contributed liberally 
to its support; and here his ashes and those of his good v.-ife rest. It v.-as 
at his house, April 30, 1833. that about sixteen of his neighbors gathered and 
that it was decided to erect a union church at Howertown. It is said that 
at that time the Laubachs owned forty per cent, of the land in Allen township. 
He died September 7, 1857, and his wife, Elisabeth (Neligh) Laubach, v.dio 
was born December 30, 1780. died April 2, 1871. To him and his good wife 
were born the following children : 

I. Joseph, born April 30. 1810. He was married to Phoebe Hess. He 
lived at Catasauqua. where he conducted a store and coal yard at Bicry's 
Ford, and was postmaster for many years. He had issue: William, i'"rank 
and lohn. , 



P.IOGRAPIIICAL 427 

2. John, born June 13, 1S12, died February 15, 1879; was married to 
Esther Biery, born April 19, J813, died February 18, 1873. They lived on a 
farm near Howcrtown, and their remains lie buried at Ilowertown. Thej^ 
had children: Mart^arct ; Stephen J.; Sarah, residint^ in Kansas, and son 
Owen, who died dminj^ the Civil \\ ar. 

3. Peter, born No\-ember 14, 1817. Kc obtained the old homestead. He 
removed to Maryland, frtnn whence he returned later, and died soon there- 
after. He married Amelia Becker, dautjhler of Rev. Dr. Jacob Becker, presi- 
dent of the Theological Seminary in 1-ancaster, Pennsylvania, and who .i^erved 
the congregations in Kreidersville, Schoenersville, Norristown and Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, and they were the parents of the following children, i. Dr. 
Amandus J., served in a volunteer company during the Civil War, and died 
at Fort Wayne, Indiana, and was twice married, the first time to Minnie, 
a daughter of the late Hon. Samuel McHose, who was the first mayor of 
Allentown. and the second time to a daughter of Robert I'^ Wright, Sr. ; his 
son. Gen. Howard Faubach, graduated from the United States Military 
Academy in i8go, now resides in Washington, District of Columbia, and has 
always been in the regular army. ii. Dr. George, who removed West and 
died. iii. Thomas, a merchant in Rochester, New York. iv. Malinda, married 
to George Baer, of Howerto^\■n. v. Peter, vi. Mary, Mrs. William Fandis, 
of Bath, Pennsylvania. 

4. Samuel, born in Allen township, January 10, 1821. He received his 
early training in the public schools, and as a young man was a clerk for 
his father in the niill. U])on his father's death he accepted the mill as a parf 
of his inheritance, and in ])artnership with his uncle, Hon. Joseph Faubach, 
continued until the time of his death, February 18, 1863. At the time of his 
death, though a comparatively young man, he was the most prominent man 
in the western part of Northampton county, and was given the complimentary 
nomination of the Republican party for the State Senate. He was one of 
the founders and the first directors of the Catasauqua National Bank. He 
served as deacon and elder in the I^owertown Reformed Congregation, where 
his remains lie buried. He was married to Lucy Fless, a daughter of David 
Hess, born October 18. 1784, died March 22, 1832, of Allen township, whose 
remains lie buried at Stone Church. To him and his wife were born the fol- 
lowing children: Allen D. ; Edward H.; Peter J.; Amanda E.. married to 
Rev. John F. DeT^ong, D.D. ; and Samuel F. 

5. Reuben, born October i. 1823, died, unmarried. July 13, 1843. 

6. Anna M., born November 28, 1825, died, unmarried, July 2, 1848. 

7. Adam, see below. 

8. Thomas, born December 13, 1830, was married to Amanda, a daughter 
of David BIcim, 1856. He pursued farming in Whitehall township, and later 
in Allen township, until 1886. when he removed to Bethlehem, where he died 
recently. They had issue: Clinton D., James F., Jane L., Mrs. A. P. Spengler, 
and Mary L., Mrs. H. O. Smith. 

9. Levina, born lOecember 13, 1832, died March i, 1838. 

10. Eliza, married to Aaron Bachman, of Lower Saucon. 

11. Sarah, married to Samuel Hess. 

12. Magdalena. married to Edward Schreiber. (See Schreiber family.) 
Joseph Laubach, son of Adam Laubach, was born April 30, i8to. He 

attended the local schools, and spent one vear at Easton Academy. In- 1830 
he entered into the emplovment of J. and M. Butz, millers and merchants at 
Easton. In 1839 he removed to Laubachsville, now Northampton, where he con- 
ducted a general store, coal and lumber yard, and grist-mill in partnership 
with his elder brother Peter. In 1840 he was elected county auditor and 
re-elected twice. During the years 1848-49 he served as State Representative, 
and in 1855 '^vns elected State Senator, and in both capacities he served with 
honor and distinction. He was known particularly for his honesty and integ- 
rity. In 1861 he was elected associate judge of Northampton count}- and twice 



428 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

re-elected. He was president of the Northampton Savings Bank until it was 
changed to a national bank, serving also in the latter institution in the same 
capacity for a period of one year, also the president of the Lehigh Valley 
Iron Works at Coplay, and for many j^ears president of the board of trustees 
of the Allentown College for Women. In 1870 he removed to Bethlehem, 
where he was actively engaged in various pursuits until the time of his death, 
November, 18S4. His remains lie buried at Howertown. To him and his 
wife, Eliza (Schwartz) Laubach, were born two daughters: Mrs. Dr. Horn- 
beck, and ]Mrs. Edward Klotz, son of Congressman Klotz, and a son James, 
who died in his fifteenth year. 

Edward H. Laubach, son of Samuel Laubach, was born September i, 
1852, at Laubachsville, now Northampton. He received his training in the pub- 
lic schools, Allentown Militarj^ Academy, Coopertown Seminary, and Frank- 
lin and Marshall College. After spending one and a half years at the latter 
institution, he returned home to manage his father's estate, which consisted 
of grist-mill, general store, coal and lumber 3^ard, post-office and considerable 
real estate. Though young in years, he was very successful in its manage- 
ment, and was assisted b}- his brother Peter J. At the age of twenty-two he 
was elected school director. This was the onlj' public office he served until 
1890, when he was elected State Senator, was re-elected in 1894, and served 
until the close of the session of 1897, when, his seat, having been contested, 
he was removed. Soon after reaching his majority he was elected county 
committeeman of the Democratic party, which position he occupied for many 
years. He was frequenth- chosen delegate to county and State conventions, 
and for four terms served as county chairman. His long service in politics, 
his wide experience, sound judgment and diplomacy made him an almost ideal 
legislator. After his senatorial career he devoted himself entirely to business, 
being associated with his brothers in the Laubach Company, of which he is 
the secretary. 

In 1876 he was married to Elisabeth Stewart, of Catasauqua. She died 
February 7, 1885. This union was blessed with three children: i. Samuel T., 
a graduate of Lehigh University ; emploj-ed as a mechanical engineer at Har- 
risburg, Pennsylvania; married to Mayme Wolfe, of Lewisburg; they have 
one son, Edward. 2. IMabel, a graduate of the Allentown College for Women ; 
married to Edward C. Nagel, a member of the Northampton county bar, and 
is the mother of three children: Elisabeth, Louise and James. 3. James 
Howard, a graduate of Lehigh University and West Point Military Academy ; 
is a lieutenant-colonel in the United States Army, was stationed in Italy, but 
has returned safely from this post; married to Edith Purcell, of Easton, and 
the}" are the parents of two children. 

Adam Laubach. son of Peter and Elisabeth (Neligh) Laubach, was born 
November 9, 1827, in Allen township. In his 5'outh he attended the public 
schools and as a young man he entered the office of his father's mill. In 1858 
he established a general store, coal j-ard, lumber yard, and sand depot at 
Siegfried for upwards of forty years, and served as school director for a period 
of fifteen years. He was a faithful member of the Howertown Reformed 
Congregation, and for many years the treasurer of the union congregation. 
It is recorded of him that he was "kindhearted, philanthropic and public 
spirited." Lie died from the injuries received in a runaway at Siegfried 
Station, June 26, 1903. 

Mr. Laubach was married (first) to Deborah Stofflet, on September 9, 
1849. This union was blessed with three children: i. Alfred P., see below. 
2. Thomas, who died in infancy. 3. Clara J., married to George H. Klep- 
pinger, wholesale grocer of Allentown. she the mother of four children: 
Bertha, married Rev. Paul Strodach. of Philadelphia; Emma, married Allen 
Van Nuyl. a wholesale grocer of Allentown ; Miriam, married Allen Wesle;/ 
Nagenbach, an attorney-at-law of Allentown ; and Capt. Samuel Kleppinger, 




V — --7^ 



TWE y.EW YiWvX 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



XSTflK. LKNC1X AND 
»(LDSK FOUWDaTCONS 

L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 429 

a graduate of Culver Military Academy of Culver, Indiana, who resides in a 
fine l)ungaio\v near AUentown ; he was a captain in the State Militia. Deborah 
Laubach died August 5, 1862, and was buried in Greenwood Cemetery, at the 
Ilowcrtown Church, being the first buried in the same. On February 22, 
1864, he entered into wedlock with Caroline Laury, a daughter of the Hon. 
David Laury (q.v.), who survives her husband and who although in her eighty- 
seventh year, is of exceptionally clear mind and remembers and recalls many 
incidents in the development of the Lehigh Valley. To her were born three 
children: i. Elizabeth, married to the Rev. George P. Stem, pastor of the 
Egy])t Reformed Church ; she is a graduate of the Allentown College for 
Women, and is register of Liberty Bell Chapter, Daughters of the American 
Revolution ; she is the mother of two children : i. Laur\-, a graduate of Lehigh 
Universit)', is in the employ of the New Jersey Zinc Company at Palmerton, 
Pennsylvania ; during the war he was in the chemical v^'arfare service, Wash- 
ington, District of Columliia ; he is married to Mamie IIclTclfingcr. ii. Caro- 
line, a senior at Hood College, Frederick, Maryland. 2. .Samuel, deceased. 
3. Minnie, v\-ho resides with her mother at tlie old homestead. 

Alfred P. Laubach, son of Adam and Deborah (Stofflet) Laubach, was 
born December K), 1S54. He was educated in the public schools. Weavers-: 
ville Academy, the Keystone State Normal School, and Lafayette College. 
He was associated with his father in the mercantile business at Siegfried, now 
Northampton, and later served as postmaster of Siegfried. In politics he is a 
Republican, and stands high in the council of the party. Pic served as county 
committeeman, and has been frequently chosen county and State delegate. 
In iSg6 he was elected county treasurer, being the first Rejiublican ever elected 
to that office in Northampton county. Upon the organization of the Cement 
National Bank of Siegfried in igoo, he was made a director, he served as vice- 
president from 1901 to 1903, as president, from 19044 to 1910, and since has 
been its trusted cashier. Under his conservative policy, and able leadership 
the bank has become an imjiortant factor not only of the financial life of 
Northam;)ton, but in all the Lehigh Valley. By his encouraging thrift among 
the young people, by the courteous and fair treatment- which the bank ever 
accords, and by the personal interest which is sliown.iby the bank in the 
business and welfare of its patrons, the bank has woti its way into the con- 
fidence of the people and has attracted large deposits. This bank in particu- 
lar contributed very largely to the success of the various Liberty Loan 
campaigns in Northampton during the World War. 

Mr. Laubach is a member of the Howertown Reformed Congregation, in 
which he has served as deacon, elder and trustee, and is treasurer of the 
joint consistory. Upon the death of his father he succeeded him as secretary 
and treasurer of the Cemetery Association. Fle is very fond of children, and 
was one of the prime movers and chief patrons of the pla\ground movement 
in Northam])ton. As a youth he accompanied his father to the battlefield of 
Gettysburg, and heard the immortal Aljraham Lincoln deliver that famous 
Gettysburg address. Mr. Laubach is the treasurer of Chapman Lodge No. 
637, Free and Accepted Masons. Though ]\Ir. Laubach is approaching three- 
score and ten, he is very active, not only in the interests of the bank but in 
whatever pertains to the welfare, uplift and happiness of his fellow men. 

In t8~8 he was united in marriage with Emma R. Bleckley, a daughter 
of \\'illiam and Rebecca (Harleman) Bleckley, of Bath, Pennsylvania. After 
sharing their joys and sorrows for forty years, she departed this life April 7, 
igi8. Their union was blessed with three children: i. Howard, who is en- 
gaged in the real estate and insurance business at Northampton, married 
to Stella Nace, and has two children, Catherine and Christine. 2. Irene, whose 
husband, the late Dr. Robert Follweiler, died January 26, 1913, leaving one 
son, Alfred David. 3. Helen, married to Dr. Mahlon G. Miller, who enjoys a 
large practice in Northampton, and they have one child, Harriet. 



430 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

LAURY FAMILY— Mrs. Caroline (Laury) Laubach, wife of Adam 
Laubach, of Siegfried, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, traced descent to 
Michael Laury, who descended in direct line from the house of Maxwellton, 
an illustrious family of Dumfrieshire, Scotland. His birthplace was on the 
picturesque River Neth. which joins Solway Firth, about ten miles south of 
the city of Dumfries, and from there he went to Germany for political rea- 
sons, his safety beins: endans:ered. At Wurtcmberg he married a Miss Gott- 
shalk, and with his bride came to Pennsylvania, arriving: in Philadelphia in 
1756, their first child, Godfrey Laury, being born in Philadelphia, November 
22, 1756, and there too their second son, John Laury, was born. 

Sometime after the birth of the second son, Michael Laury, with his wife 
and two sons, settled on Falls Creek, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. 
When the call came for soldiers to battle for the cause of Independence, 
Michael Laur}^ and his two sons, Godfrey and John, joined the Continental 
armv, Michael, who was then sixty years of age, giving as a reason that he 
was "homesick" for his two sons. All three fought in the battle of Mon- 
mouth in 1777. and there IMichael Laury was killed. He was buried in the 
cemetery at now Warrenville, Somerset county. New Jersey. His son God- 
frey was overcome by the heat on June 27, 1824, and died at Unionville 
Church before the arrival of his brother John, who was on his way to church 
at the time his brother was stricken. Godfrey Laury was buried at Union- 
ville Cemetery, his grave being decorated with a Daughters of American Revo- 
lution marker, placed there by Mrs. Caroline (Laury) Laubach, his great- 
granddaughter. 

David Laury was born at North Whitehall township, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, June i. 1805, and died at Laury Station, Pennsvlvania. Septem- 
ber 27, 1883. He was educated in the German tongue, but his school privi- 
leges were limited, and later, feeling the need of advancing his knowledge, he 
devoted his evenings to study, and while working as an apprentice at the 
blacksmith's trade he would have his book nearby. In this way he became a 
well informed man, and had not only the knowledge of books but a knowledge 
of men. He worked at his trade and on the farm until 1832. then moved to 
Slate Dam on the Lehigh river, where he engaged in merchandising with the 
firm Rupp & Shifferstein. Later they dissolved partnership. Mr. Laury con- 
tinuing the business under his own name. He next built a large grist-mill, 
which proved a most profitable enterprise. At one time, in company with 
James Newhard, he assumed the agency for the Union Slate Company of 
Baltimore, and in 1884 with James M. Porter, Samuel Taylor. Thomas Craig 
and Robert McDowell he engaged in slate quarrying at Kerns Mill, now 
Slatington. Pennsvlvania. He became locallv prominent, and when the build- 
ing of the Lehigh railroad was first agitated he stronglv supported the pro- 
ject, and helped to raise monev for the first survey. When the road was 
finally located, he donated ground for the station at Slate Dam, and when 
the road was opened in 1855 he was appointed express, freight, ticket and 
station agent at Laury's Station, so named in his honor. Slate Dam passing 
away. Laury's Station, a village on the Lehigh river, nine miles from Allen- 
town, possessed advantages as a summer resort, and as Mr. Laury was the 
principal land owner he built a hotel, and in time the village became a well 
known resort. He was also the pioneer of Laury's Island, on the Lehigh, a 
very popular picnic resort. In 1870 he was elected president of the North 
Whitehall Building & Loan Association, and for nine years he gave personal 
attention to its affairs. He continued station agent at Laury's as long as he 
lived, and kept close supervision of all his business afifairs. He was a man 
of keenly sagacious mind, honorable and upright, and very enterprising and 
enerfretic, knowing no such word as fail. 

Nor was he simplv a business man; on the contrary, he was closel-.- con- 
nected with matters political and wielded a strong influence. His interest in 




^atjid Haurp 



THE ;<h;w Y4 
PUBLIC LIBHAKY 



ASTOht. LKNOX AND 
TILDEN FOUHDATION.S | 



BIOGRAPHICAL 431 

politics beg'an in 1838 when, with seven other Democrats from Lehigh county, 
he attended a State Democratic convention at Ilarrisburg. That was known 
as the Yonng Men's Coiucntion, and a result was the nomination and election 
of David R. Porter. In 1846 he was nominated for the Legislature from the 
district formed by Carbon and Lehigh counties, but was defeated. In 1850 
he was again nominated by the Democracy and elected, serving four years. 
In 1856 he was a presidential elector, and cast his vote for James Buchanan 
at the meeting of the Electoral College at Harrisburg on December 3, of that 
year. In 1853 he had been aj^pointed postmaster of Laury's Station, and 
acted as such until 1861, when he was rea]ipointed by President Lincoln, and 
successively reappointed until his death, although an ardent Democrat and the 
administrations from President Lincoln continuously Republicrai. In 1865 he 
was elected justice of the peace for North Whitehall township, and in 1867 
he was appointed b}' the courts of Lehigh and Northampton counties to rep- 
resent the district in the Board of State Revenue Commissioners for adjusting 
the amount of taxation to be raised in the different sections of the State. In 
1868 he was elected associate judge of the courts of Lehigh county for a term 
of five years, and at its expiration was re-elected for a similar term, serving 
with distinction and honor. 

judge Laiu'v was a rejirescntative of the militia when such military 
organizations were important factors in every State government, and he held 
various commissions, beginning as captain and passing through all ranks to 
that of major-general. He cast his first presidential vote for Andrew Jackson, 
and was a leader in the Democratic party until his death. In 1838, with 
Robert McDowell, he established the Slate Quarry Sunday school, the first 
Sunday school in Lehigh county outside of Allentown. ' For years he was 
su])crintendent of the .St. John Lutheran Church Sunday school at Laury's 
Station, and was a member of the committee which built the church edifice. 
He was also associated with the Slate S5-stem of public education. 

Judge Laury married, August 12, 1827, Maria Kline,, daughter of Jacob 
Kline, of Louhill township, Lehigh county. Mrs. Laury die'd March 12, 1878, 
their married life covering a period somewhat in excess of half a century. 
Judge and Mrs. Laurj' were the parents of ten children : I\Iar}', married 
Thomas Newhard ; Plenry Kline; Caroline, married Adam Laubach ; Lewis 
Kline, deceased; Maria, married Dr. Stephen Ruch. of Elmira, New York; 
Josephine, married George F. Kimball; Leah, deceased; Rebecca, married 
Joseph Bibighaus; David John Jacob, deceased; Alexander Charles Peter, 
succeeded his father as postmaster and station agent at Laury's Station. 

The career of David Laurj' was one of usefulness, activity, honor and 
interest. There was probably no man of his time in Lehigh county whose 
influence in public alTairs was more widely extended or more beneficial. His 
intelligence, sagacity and force of character did much in moulding and shap- 
ing the Democratic party of the county, and for many years he gave the full 
force of his s]ilendid powers to advancing the principles of his party. He 
was a man of strong convictions, never hesitated between two opinions, and 
always courageously supported every principle he believed in. He supported 
his religious convictions as strongly as he did his political opinions, and 
during a long period in the public eye he was ever found faultless in honor, 
fearless in conduct, and stainless in reputation. 



THE ADAMS FAMILY — Among the earliest members of the Adams 
family who emigr.ntcd to .Vnierica were Henry Adams, of Braintrec, IMassa- 
chusetts, Robert Adams, of Oxford township. Philadelphia county, and Wal- 
ter Adams, his brother, all of whom it is said were descended from Lord 
John Ap Adams, son of Ap Adams, who "came out of the Marches" of Whales. 
Thomas Adams, brother of Henry Adams, of Braintree, Massachusetts, was 
one of the grantees named in the charter of Charles T in 1629. He was high 
sheriff and lord mavor of London. 



432 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

TTcnry Adams, with his eight sons, settled at Mount Wollaston, in Brain- 
tree, and Walter and Robert Adams were his brothers. It is thought, how- 
ever, that they came to this country at a later date. They settled in Penn- 
s}lvania and, like the majority of the early colonists of that State, Walter 
Adams was a Quaker. 

The earliest record of the English branch of the Adams family is that of 
John Ap Adams, of Charlton Adams, in Somersetshire, who married Eliza- 
beth, daughter and heiress to Lord Gowrney, of Beviston and Tidenham 
county, Gloucester, who was summoned to parliament as baron of the realm, 
1226 to 1307. In the upper part of a Gothic window on the southeast side of 
Tidenham Church, near Chopston, the name of John Ap Adams is still to be 
found, together with arms: Argent in a cross gules, five mullets or, of Lord 
Ap Adams. The design is probably executed on stained glass of great thick- 
ness and is in ]ierfect preservation. This church originally stood within the 
boundary of Wales, but at a later period the boundary line was changed so 
that it is now upon English soil. The arms and crest borne by the family 
are described as follows : 

Arms — Argent in a cross gules ; five mullets or, out of a ducal coronet a 
demi-lion. 

The legend is: Loyal au mart: and a motto commonjv used by this branch 
of the family is: Aspire, persevere and indulgence, all other. Sub cruce Veritas. 

The following is the line of the direct descent of the Adams family of 
the Lehigh \'alley. (i) Ap Adams "came out of the Marches" of Wales. Lords 
of the Marches Avere noblemen who in the early ages secured and inhabited 
the Marches of Wales and Scotland, living there as if they were petty kings, 
having their own private laws. These laws, however, were subsequently 
abolished. (2) Sir Ap Adam, knight, lord of Ap Adam, married Elizabeth, 
daughter of Lord Gowrney. (3) Sir Thomas Ap Adam. (4) William Ap 
Adam. (5) Sir John Ap Adam. (6) Thomas Ap Adam. (7) Sir John Ap 
Adam, knight. (8) Sir John Ap Adam, who was the first to attach the letter 
"s" to his name. (9) Roger Adams. (10) Thomas Adams. (11) John 
Adams. (12) John Adams. (13) Nicholas Adams. (14) Richard Adams. 
(15) W^illiams Adams. (16) Henry Adams, who is said to have emigrated 
about 1634. In February. 1641, he was granted forty acres of land near 
Boston, ot which Braintrcc is a part. His brothers were: Robert, Thomas 
arid Walter. The last named catne to America by way of the Barbadoes, 
West Indies, and after living there for a time took up his abode in Penn- 
sylvania. 

(i) W'alter Adams married Elizabeth . Their children were: 

Richard, Anne. W'illiam and Robert. Walter Adams was the brother of 
Robert Adams, of Oxford township, Philadelphia, who died in 1719, leaving 
no children ; he devised the estate of his nephews and nieces, the children 
of his brother Walter, and Elizabeth, his wife. 

(2) Richard Adams, of New Providence township, now Montgomery 
county, Pennsylvania, died in 1748. His first wife's name is not known. His 
second wife was Alice or Aishe W^ithers, and they were married in 1726. His 

children were as follows: Abraham, married Alse ; William, of 

Braken township, Lancaster county ; Isaac, of Coventry township, Chester 
coimty ; Susanna, married Conrad Custard, or Kistard ; Catharine, married 
John Morris ; Mary, married Israel Morris ; Margaret ; married Paul Cassel- 
berry; Elizabeth, married Thomas Bull; Ann, married Jacob Umstadt; Han- 
nah, married Owen Evans. 

(3) Abraham Adams died in 1738, and letters were granted to Rachel, his 
daughter, a spinster. There is mention of two children: Ann and Abigail. 

Walter Adams and his brother were brothers of Henry Adams, who came 
to New England and was a founder of the Adams family there, at Braintree, 
Massachusetts. W^alter, his son Richard, and his son Abraham were Quakers. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 433 

Conrad Custard, husband of Susanna Adams (daughter of Richard 
Adams), owned a larj^c tract of land innncdiately adjoining the tract surveyed 
to Ensign John Adams, of Nockamixon township, in 1763. 

John Adams and James Adams, possibly and probably brothers, lived in 
Nockamixon townshi]), Bucks county, Pennsylvania. There arc few records 
at Doylestown, Pennsylvania, which bear James Adams's signature. He was 
also an ensign in the Provincial Service, Associated Companies of Bucks 
County, in 1747. (See Colonial Records, vol. v., p. 209; also Pennsylvania 
Archives, second series, vol. ii, p. 505.) This was nine years before John 
Adams held a like commission in the Provincial Service in the Associated 
Companies of Bucks County. There is nothing to establish that James Adams 
and John Adams were related, neither can be found any data of their former 
residence or whose children they were. The only solution is that they were 
both possibly sons of Abraham Adams; the latter having died intestate, no 
list of his children is obtainable. The fact that John Adams held land adjoin- 
ing that of Conrad Custard is a jjossible solution, he having been raised by 
his Aunt .Susanna. 

Richard Adams, of Providence township, Philadcljihia, whose will is 
dated I'el)ruary i. 1747-4S, and ]irobated March 24, 1747-48, mentions son 
Abraham's children, Ann and .MMgail, then letters were granted to Abraham's 
daughter Rachel. There at once seems to be some discrepancy, which is 
most difficult to explain. 

James Adams's commission in the Pro\incial Service, as above stated, 
was dated in 1747, which tends to show that he might have been disinherited 
by his grandfather. Then again there is a possibility that James and John 
Adams arc one and the same man, but this is very doubtful, as their names 
are mentioned distinctly and separately in the old records. 

(I) John Adams, ensign. Provincial Service, of Nockamixon township, 
Bucks county, Pennsylvania, died in Nockamixon township. May 22, 1807, 
and was buried in the old Nockamixon church graveyard. He married Mary 

. His will, dated March 21, 1807, proved June 8 same year, is recorded 

in Will Book No. 7, p. 278, in the register of wills office, Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania. 

John Adams, of Nockamixon. served in the Provincial Service in 1756. 
He held a commission as ensign in one of the companies of the Associated 
Companies of Bucks County. (See Pennsylvania Archives, second series, 
vol. ii, p. 531.) Capt. William Ramsey was captain of the company in which 
John Adams served and held his commission as ensign in 1756, and was also 
from Nockamixon township, Bucks county. John Johnson was the lieutenant 
of the company. John Adams, of Nockamixon, and Mary, his wife, had the 
following children: Mary, Elizabeth. Margaret, George, Henry, John, of 
whom further; Jacob. George and Henry, sons of John Adams, of Nocka- 
mixon. served in the Nockamixon Company of Associators in I77.S- George 
was sergeant of the companv, and the son John was a soldier in the Continen- 
tal Army during the Revolutionary War. 

The first record that we have of John Adams, of Nockamixon, owning 
any land is a warrant that was granted March 26, 1754, to John Adams, 
for land in Nockamixon township, Bucks county, upon which a survey was 
returned for fifty-four acres and one hundred and thirteen perches. A patent 
for this same land was granted April 26, 1726, to Abraham Frvling. John 
Adams had some trouble with this land, for on May IQ. 1763. he entered a 
caveat against the acceptance of a survey made for Archibald ATerrin, which 
took in the above mentioned land and improvements. (See Pcnnsvlvania 
Archives, third series, vol. ii, p. 275.) The above land was surveyed by J. 
Hart, for which he gave a receipt, June 26, 1763, which is recorded in Doyles- 
town, Pennsylvania, in Deed Book No. 32, p. 169. This receipt also mentions 
the date of the wararnt, March 26, 1754. 

N. H. BIOG.— 28 



434 NORTHAIMPTON COUNTY 

(II) Tohn (2) Adams, private in Capt. Samuel Watson's company, of 
Durham township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, was a son of John (i) Adams, 
of Nockamixon township, Bucks county, Penns Ivania, born in Nockamixon 
township, November 3, 1759, died in Durham township, November 12, 1826. 
He married Christina Klinker, December 15, 1789, at the Tohickon German 
Reformed Church. Some time after the Revolutionary War he moved into 
Durham township, where he lived until his death. He is buried in the old 
Durham church graveyard. Christina Klinker, the wife of John Adams, 
of Durham, was born in Nockamixon tov.mship, October 2, 1747, and is buried 
in the old Durham church g-raveyard. She was the daughter of John and 
Mary Klinker, of Nockamixon township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 

John Adams, of Durham township, Bucks county," Pennsylvania, was a 
soldier in the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War. He served 
as a private in Capt. Samuel Watson's company of the Second Pennsylvania 
Battalion under Col. Arthur St. Clair. He enlisted February 12, 1776. (See 
Pennsylvania Archives, second series, vol. x, p. 98.) Several of the members 
of his' compan}- were from upper Bucks county. Captain Watson died at 
Three Rivers and was succeeded by Thomas L. Moore, who was promoted to 
major of the Ninth Regiment, May 12, 1779, and was succeeded as captain by 
John Henderson. The company was transferred or became part of the Third 
Battalion, Twelfth Regiment, July i, 177S, and thus became associated with 
other companies of Bucks coimtv. For his services he received frorn the 
State of Pennsylvania two hundred acres of "donation land" in Robinson 
township, Westmoreland county, Pennsylvania, which was returned for pat- 
ent, October 9, 1786. (Sec Pennsylvania Archives, third series, vol. vii, p. 723.) 
This land he sold to Hugh Hamill. November 4, 1786, for thirtv-seven (37) 
pounds and ten (10) shillings. The witnesses to this deed were Thomas Delap 
(Dunlap), John Donnell and Jacob Glassmyer, all residents of Nockamixon 
township at that date. (Recorder's office, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Deed 
Book No. D-47, p. 322.) John K. Adams, son of John Adams, of Durham^ 
was a soldier for some time during the War of 1812-14, private in Capt. John 
Dornblaser's companv. (Pennsvlvania Archives, second series, vol. xii, p. 105. ) 

Tohn Adams, of Durham, and Christina, his wife, had the following chil- 
dren": Elizabeth. Mary, Margaret, John K., Henry, of whom further; Jacob, 
Samuel. Susan, married Joseph Retschlin, and Daniel. 

John Adams, of Durham, was quite a large land owner. In 1706 he 
owned one hundred acres of land and a grist and saw-mill in Nockamixon 
township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. On April 20, 1799, he bought of 
Solomon Lightcap two hundred and sixtv-three acres of land. (Bucks County 
Deed Book No. 30, p. 310.) On April 11, 1808, he bought two tracts, one of 
one hundred and fiftv-five acres and the other of twelve acres. (Bucks 
County Deed Book No. 39, p. 135.) John Adams, of Durham, died without 
making a will. It is impossible to give the date when John Adams was mus- 
tered out of the service, for the muster rolls of the Twelfth Regnncnt have 
practically never been found. 

Tax list of Nockamixon township shows the holdings of John Adams, the 
father of the above John Adams, and his sons, George and Henrv, elder 
brothers of John. John Adams appears as a "single man" first m the year 
178s notwithstanding that he was of acre in 1780. He therefore served, m all 
probabilitv, up to about that date (1784-85) in the Twelfth Pennsvlvania Regi- 
ment. Capt. Samuel Watson's company records date to November 25, 1776, 

only. , Ti 1 • 

' (III) Henrv Adams, of Durham township, Bucks county, Pennsvlvania, 
son of John (2) Adams, was born in Durham township, June 17. 1806, died 
there December 15, i8-,8, and is buried in the old Durham church graveyard. 
He married Elizabeth Bitz. August 2S. 1828. at her home in Springfield town- 
ship Bucks county, Pennsvlvania. Elizabeth Bitz. of Durham, was born 



BIOGRAPHICAL 435 

September 18, iSii, in Sprinjjfield township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, and 
died March 28, 1878, in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. She was the daughter of 
John and Susan (Rief^cl) Bit/., of SpringfieUl, Bucks county, Pennsylvania. 
Henry Adams' will is recorded in Do lestown, Pennsylvania. It is dated 
April 28, 1838, and proved December 22, 1838. Henry Adams, of Dur- 
ham, and Elizabeth, his wife, had the following children: John, Hannah, 
Catharine, Samuel, of whom further. After the death of Henry Adams in 
1840, Elizabeth Bitz was married a second time to Christian K. Nicholas. She 
had no children by this union. Christian K. Nicholas was born in Nocka- 
mi.xon township, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, January 23. 1817, and died in 
Upper Saucon township, Lehigh counts', Pennsylvania, November 3, 1893, 
and was buried in Friedeiisville, November 7, 1893, and body removed to 
Nisky Hill Cemetery, Bethlehem, December 16, i8gg. 

(IV) Samuel Adams, of South Bethlehem, Northampton countv, Penn- 
sylvania, son of Henry Adams, of Durham township, Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, was born in Durham township, July 25, 1837, died in South Bethlehem, 
Pennsvlvania, February 22, 1902, and is buried at Nisky Hill Cemetery, Beth- 
lehem, Pennsylvania. He married Susie Weaver, September 14, 1865, at her 
home in Allentown, Pennsylvania. -Susie Weaver was born in Allentown, 
Pennsylvania, I\Iay 5, 1847. She was a daughter of Joseph and Salome 
Weaver, of Allentown, Pennsylvania. Samuel and Susie (Weaver) Adams 
had the following children: John, Joseph W., of whom further; Henry, of 
whom further ; and Susie. 

Samuel .A.dams, wdien quite a young man, started out in farming, and then 
in iron ore mining. He entered the employ of the Thomas Iron Company of 
Catasanqua, Pennsylvania, and was given charge of their mining interests. 
Mr. John Fritz induce<l him to come to Bethlehem and accept the position as 
his assistant in the Bethlehem Iron Company. Here he remained for nearly 
thirty years, and then had to resign on account of his health. He then organ- 
ized the Ponupo Mining & Transportation Company, Ltd., and went to San- 
tiago de Cuba as general manager of the Company. Here he bought a rail- 
road for the company, the Ferro-Carril de Santiago de Cuba, and became its 
president, and also built an extension to the railroad to connect with the 
company's manganese mines. He remained in Cuba with his family for over 
two years, when he resigned and returned North. He was in Cuba part of 
the year 1892, all of 1893. and part of 1894. After returning from Cuba he 
assisted in forming the ShefField Coal. Iron &■ Steel Company of Sheffield, 
Alabama. He stayed in Sheffield with his family one year, then sold out his 
interest and came North. While with the Sheffield Coal, Iron & Steel Com- 
pany he held the positions of general superintendent and assistant treasurer, 
and also director of the company. He then retired from active business and 
devoted himself to farming, having a tract of one hundred acres near Friedens- 
ville, Pennsylvania, about one hundred and thirty acres above Bingen, Penn- 
sylvania, and a tract of woodland along the Pennsylvania & Reading railroad 
of forty acres, above Bingen, Penns\lvania. He was also interested in and a 
director of the following companies at the time of his death : Ponupo Mining 
& Transportation Company, Cuban Mining Company, Jones & Bixler Manu- 
facturing Company, and South Bethlehem National Bank. 

(V) Joseph W. Adams, of South Bethlehem, Northampton countv, Penn- 
sylvania, son of Samuel Adams, was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Janu- 
ary ig, 1872. He married Reba Thomas, of Pittsburgh. Pennsylvania, daugh- 
ter of David J. and Susannah (Edwards) Thomas, of Pittsburgh, June 14, 
1899, at her home. Reba Thomas was born in Pittsburgh, November 11, 1877. 

Joseph W. Adams was educated at the Moravian Parochial School of 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the Hill School of Pottstown; Pennsylvania, and 
the Lehigh University of South Penns\lvania, where he joined the Delta 
Upsilon fraternity. Fle started to work in the drawing rooms of the Bethle- 



436 NORTHAMPTON COUXTY 

hem Iron Company. He went to Cuba with his father, and was treasurer of 
the Ferro-Carril de Santia.sjo de Cuba, 1892-93. He was in Alabama as assist- 
ant to the general superintendent of the Sheffield Coal, Iron & Steel Com- 
pany in 1895, and part of 1896. He returned home and took up his studies 
again at Lehigh University in metallurg>' and mineralogy, and then read law 
for over a year. In 1899 he and his brother Henry formed the Cuban ^Mining 
Company, and he was elected secretary and treasurer of the company, and 
also a director. He is connected with the following companies : Director and 
vice-president of the South Bethlehem National Bank ; director and president 
of La Paz Mining Company; director, secretary and treasurer of the Cuban 
Mining Company ; director and executive committeeman of Delaware Forge 
& Steel Company ; director and committeeman of Guerber Engineering Com- 
pany ; director of Lehigh Valley Cold Storage Company; director, secretary 
and treasurer of the Roepper ]\Iining Company ; director of Valentine Fibre 
Ware Company; acting trustee of the estate of Samuel Adams. He is a mem- 
ber of the following clubs and societies; Society of Colonial Wars in the 
State of New York ; Empire State Society ; Sons of the American Revolution ; 
Pennsylvania Society of Sons of the Revolution ; Pennsylvania German So- 
ciety; and the local town and country clubs; and of Masonic bodies: Bethle- 
hern Lodge, Zinzendorf Chapter, Bethlehem Council, Allen Commandery, 
Caldwell Consistory, and Rajah Temple. He is captain of commissary. Fourth 
Regiment Infantrv, National Guard of Pennsylvania. His children were: 
John, born January 23, 1901 ; David Samuel, born March 15, 1903. 

(V) Henry Adams, son of Samuel Adams, of South Bethlehem, North- 
ampton countv, Pennsvlvania. was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Novem- 
ber 2. 1873. He married Annette Talbot Belcher, of New London, Connecti- 
cut, Julv 9, 1902. _ 

Henry Adams, mining engineer, was educated at the Moravian Parochial 
Day School of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the Hill School of Pottstown, Penn- 
sylvania, and the Lehigh University of South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, where 
he joined the Delta Upsilon fraternity. He started to work with Thomas 
Edison at Edison, New Jersey. He went to Cuba, was assistant superintend- 
ent, and then superintendent of the Ferro-Carril de Santiago de Cuba. He 
went South to Alabama and was in charge of the coal and coke department 
of the Sheffield Coal. Iron & Steel Company at Jasper, Alabama. He went 
to Mexico and erected an electric light plant for the Mexican National rail- 
road, and then was supervisor of a division of that road. He resigned and was 
made constructing engineer for Turner Nunn & Company, of Mexico, with 
headquarters in Pueblo. In December of 1897 and January of 1898 he was 
in Cuba, in the city of Santiago and the surrounding country, and visited the 
insurgents several times. 

When war broke out with Spain in 1898 he raised the first company of 
volunteers in the State, with the assistance of Colonel Wilson and Captain 
Juett, of Bethlehem. He and his company were mustered into the United 
States service, and he received his commission as captain of volunteers on 
Julv 6. 1898. His companv was attached to the Ninth Pennsylvania Regi- 
ment. United States Volunteer Infantry, as Company K, to help complete 
the Third Battalion. The regiment was in the Third Division. Third Brigade 
First Armv Corps. Company K. of the Ninth Pennsylvania Regiment of 
United States Volunteer Infantry, is mentioned in the "Record of Events 
which mav be Necessarv or Useful for Future Reference at the W ar Depart- 
ment." this companv was organized in Tulv, 1898. at South Bethlehem, and 
mustered in at South' Bethlehem. Julv 6. 1898, which company left by rail 
for Chickamauga Park. Julv 7, 1898, arriving in camp, July 19. 1898. Re- 
mained in camp until Ausfust 26, 1898, when the company left by ^^^^ J<^J 
Camp Hamilton, Lexington. Kentuckv, arriving in camp, August 28. 1898. 
Left Camp Hamilton for regimental headquarters at Wilkes-Barre, Septem- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 437 

ber 19, 1898. Company left b\- rail for home station, September 20, 1898. 
arriving same clay, when company was verbally furloughed for thirty days. 

The above is taken from the muster-out roll of the company. The com- 
pany was mustered into service on July 6, i8g8, and was mustered out of the 
service October 29, 1898. It was the first volunteer company formed in the 
State of Pennsylvania, and was taken to help fill out the Third Battalion of 
the Ninth Pennsylvania Regiment. The other companies were Captain 
Green's, of Reading; Ca])tain Mercer's, of .Summit Hill, above Mauch Chunk; 
and Captain Moor's, of Towanda. 

On I'^riday evening, April 22, 1898, there was a meeting held in the Foun- 
tain Hill Ojiera House, and a call for volunteers made. These met in Doxon's 
Hall afterward, and elected Henry Adams, captain; Leighton N. D. Mixsell, 
first lieutenant; and Dick Enright, second lieutenant. Mr. Enright failed to 
pass his ph3sical examination and was re-elected. A. Alison Mitchell, of 
Wilkes-Barre, was appointed in his place. The South Bethlehem Market 
Hall was used as an armory by the company. 

Henry .-Vdams is a member of the Pennsylvania German Society, 1899; 
a member of the Society of Foreign Wars, Pennsylvania Commandery, 1899; 
general manager of the Cuban Mining Comjiany at Neuvitas, Cuba, 1899- 
1902, and the mines of this company were discovered by him; a member of 
the Empire State Society of the Sons of the American Revolution, and was 
presented a medal of honor by the society for service in the Spanish-American 
War ; and of Masonic bodies : Fernwood Lodge No. 543, Philadelphia, and 
Caldwell Consistory, thirty-second degree. He was vice-president and gen- 
eral manager of the San Domingo Exploration Company and San Domingo 
Southern Railway Company, San Domingo, R. D., West Indies, 1902. 



JOSEPH GEORGE WOODRING— As the leading exclusive hat dealer 
in Easton, Mr. Woodring is reaping the reward of a life of earnest, well 
directed business effort, and in civil life occupies equally honorable position. 
He is a descendant of French Huguenot ancestry, tlie earliest member of the 
line to come to America being Abraham Vautrin (the name in almost every 
instance having become Woodring in this country), a native of Finstingen, in 
Lorraine, who sailed from Rotterdam in the brigantine Richard and Elizabeth, 
commanded by Christopher Cl3'mer, arriving at Philadelphia, September 28, 
1733. Abraham Vautrin was accompanied by his wife and son, Hans Peter, 
aged nine years, and three daughters, the youngest of whom was two years 
old. One of these daughters, Maria Magdalena, became the wife of Paulus 
Balliet, representative of another ancient Huguenot line which endured ter- 
rible religious persecution, and the mother of Col. Stephen Balliet, the re- 
nowned soldier and statesman of the Lehigh Valley- 

The surname Vautrin fared badly on American soil, the records of the 
Egypt Reformed Church in old Whitehall township telling the storj' of the 
corruption of a good old French name. The name appears as early as the 
year 1227 on the Bann Roll of Metz, in Lorraine, and again in 1245, 1262 and 
1281 on the same roll, in which the bearers are shown to be persons of sub- 
stance and position. IVIany of the Huguenots of Lorraine were driven into 
exile, among them the ancestors of the Northampton county Vautrins (Wood- 
rings) settling in the Sovereignty of Saarwerden probably as early as the 
year 1600, possibly before that date. They made their home in the village of 
Kirberg in Lower Alsace, which they helped to found, and where, in 1632, 
Jean Vautrin was Maire. a position he held for several years thereafter. This 
Jean Vautrin was probably the father or grandfather of Johan Peter Vautrin, 
an elder of the Reformed church in Saarwerden, born in 1640, who was 
buried at Kirberg. April 12, 1713. Johan Peter Vautrin had a son Abraham, 
who married Katherine Brodt, daughter of Simon Brodt, a burgomcister of 
Lixheim, Lorraine, to whom a son was born, Abraham, who was baptized 



438 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

July II, i/OO, and who became the founder of the Vautrin or Woodring 
family in America. The Huguenots, when driven into exile, deprived in many 
instances of their wealth and competency, were, of necessity, compelled to 
work for a living in their places of refuge, among them many gentlemen and 
noblemen who were unaccustomed to manual labor. The Vautrins adoi)ted 
milling as a vocation. For generations they owned and operated grist-mills 
on the borders of Alsace and Lorraine; they built mills on the little streams 
flowing into the River Saar and on the Saar itself. Abraham \'autrin was the 
miller of Finstingen on the Saar, and his son, Abraham, who immigrated to 
America, became the miller at Hirschland. 

Of this line was Nicholas Woodring, a stone mason, living in Upper 
Nazareth. He was a member of the Reformed church, and is buried in Bath, 
Pennsylvania. He married a Miss Meixell, who bore him sons: Nichola.s, 
Philip, William, Jacob, John and Abraham. One of his daughters married a 
Moyer, another a Unangst. This review deals with Abraham, father of 
Joseph G. Woodring. 

Abraham Woodring was born in Upper Nazareth township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, January 14, 1823, and there died January 30, i88r. He 
was educated in the Moravian school at Bethlehem, and when quite young 
began teaching school. He taught in Bethlehem, Lower and Upper Nazareth 
townships, and continued an earnest, successful and well loved educator for 
forty years. A fine penman, his services were much in demand for engrossing 
and cop\ ing, he doing considerable work of that nature for the county at the 
court house in Easton. 

Abraham Woodring was one of the influential Democrats of Northamp- 
ton county, and under the old Constitution, prior to 1874, served as county 
commissioner. For twentj'-five years he was assessor of Upper Nazareth, his 
home township, and in many ways he served his community well. He and 
his large family were members of Dryland Reformed Church, he serving in 
official capacity and for a number of years acting as superintendent of the 
Sunday school. While his life was a comparatively short one. fifty-eight 
years, it was crowded with useful effort, and he left an impression upon his 
times which was beneficial. 

He married Leweina George, daughter of John and Susanna (Rader) 
George, of early Northampton families, the name perpetuated in the village 
of Georgetown, a locality in which the Georges were numerous. Mrs. Wood- 
ring was born April 10, 1824, died October 8, 191 1, surviving her husband 
thirty years. Abraham and Leweina Woodring were the parents of ten 
children, nine of whom reached adult years: Elmira. married Henry Koehler; 
Marv E., widow of William Schultz; William IL, a prominent stock farmer 
and lawyer, now engaged in real estate dealings in Allentown, married Mary 
E. Beck, their son, George B., now his father's partner ; Richard A. ; Alfred A. J 
Beniamin F. ; Emeline, married Dr. Edward Schnabel; Joseph George, of 
further mention ; Leweina, deceased, married Jonas Remaly ; Cora M., married 
George F. Fenner. 

Joseph George Woodring was born in the village of Georgetown, Upper 
Nazareth township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, November 11. 1865. 
youngest son of Abraham and Leweina (George) Woodring. He was edu- 
cated in the public school, Nazareth Grammar School, and the Westchester 
State Normal School, receiving from the last-named institution a teacher's 
license. He taught for several years in Upper and Lower Nazareth and in 
Saucon townships, continuing an educator until i8go. In that year he came 
to Easton and entered the employ of his brother, Richard A. Woodring, a 
merchant of Easton, dealing in hats and gentlemen's goods. He continued 
a clerk for his brother until 1895, when he bought out the business of Thomas 
Daib-, a hatter of South Third street, and for ten years he conducted busines.s 
at the same place. In 1905 he moved to the corner of Fourth and Northamp- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 439 

ton streets, the present location of the Northampton National Bank building, 
there remaining- until 1908, when he occupied his present quarters at Nos. 
247-249 East Northampton street. There he conducts a very large business, 
his being the only exclusive hat store in Easton and one of the largest in all 
Eastern Pennsylvania. The Woodring hat store is the exclusive distributing 
agency for Stetson hats, handling also the Bosalino hats from the famed 
Italian hatmakcr, and the Ward hats from the English hatter. Other styles 
and qualities bear Mr. Woodring's name, his private brands being many. He 
has developed a business qualitj' amounting to genius, and has won public 
confidence through a policy based upon "tjuality first" and undeviating adher- 
ence to the fairest business principles. 

Aside from the management of his private business, Mr. Woodring has in 
many wajs displayed his ])ublic spirit and interest in all that pertains to civic 
life. He has been a member of the Board of Trade since its organization, and 
fills a position on the member.^hip committee. He is a member of the Easton 
Rotary Club, the Paxinasa Auto Club, the Easton Motor Association, and is 
a contributing member of the Young Men's Christian Association. He serves 
the West Ward Building Association as a director, and is active in St. John's 
Lutheran Church. In politics he is a Democrat. He is a devotee of out-of- 
door life, his favored recreations being hunting and fishing. 

Mr. Woodring married, October 8, 1895, Elizabeth Brunner Transue, 
daughter of George Lambert and Deborah H. (Brunner) Transue, of an old 
French Pluguenot family. Mrs. Woodring was born in Easton, and educated 
in the public schools, being a resident of the city at the time of her marriage. 
Children: i. George Transue, born March 2, 1897; educated in the Easton 
grade and high schools, and Lafayette College, class of 1919, but left college 
to enter the Officers' Training Camp at Plattsburg; was commisisoned second 
lieutenant, September 16, 1918, assigned to duty as training officer at Camp 
Grant, Rockford, Illinois, and honorably discharged from service in December, 
1918; then returned to Lafayette College, whence he was graduated with a 
degree of Ph.B. in June, 1919. He is now in the employ of his father in 
the retail hat business, and promises to become his successor at some future 
day. 2. Joseph George, Jr., born March 17, igoo; in 1918 entered the Student 
Army Training Corjis at Lafayette College, com])leting his freshman year 
in June, 1919; now taking a business administration course at Pierce Busi- 
ness School. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 3. Carleton Transue, a graduate of 
Easton High School, class of IQ19, now a student in the forestry engineering 
department at Penn State College. 4. Elizabeth Transue, a student in Easton 
High School, class of 1922. 5. Earle Douglas, born I\Iarch 25, 1910. 

Mrs. Woodring traces descent from Abraham Transue, a French Hugue- 
not, who came to America in 1730, locating in Montgomery county, later 
settling in Bucks count}', and afterward coming to Northam|)ton county. The 
census of 1790 records as heads of families in Lower Smithfield township, 
Jacob, John and Melchoir Transue, the latter then married and head of a 
family. It was a descendant, Melchoir Transue, born in 1809, died in 1865, a 
carpenter and builder, who came to Easton in 1845 and opened a general 
store. He married Anna Lambert, a daughter of George Lambert, and they 
were the i)arents of seven children, including a son, George Lambert Transue, 
born April 21, 1839. He remained in Easton, acquiring his education, then in 
1857 went to Philadeljihia, there remaining in business vmtil 1870, when he 
returned to Easton. He was engaged in the grocery business until 1883, then 
was appointed superintendent of Easton Cemetery, a position he held for 
thirtv-one years, resigning in 1914, and retiring from business cares. In 1873 
he organized the West Ward Building .Association, the original members 
being a few of his personal friends. The association has now become a very 
imiiortant one, the annual amount of money collected from members and 
loaned for building purposes being in excess of three hundred and fifty thou- 



440 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

sand dollars. Mr. Transue served as secretary of the company, and for forty- 
three years ably guided its affairs. He married, December 29, 1863, in Phifa- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, Deborah H. Brunner, daughter of Manassa and Debo- 
rah (Hall) Brunner, descendant of an ancient Quaker family. She was born 
December 12, 1839, died November 3, 1914. Their daughter, Elizabeth Brun- 
ner Transue, married Joseph George Woodring, "the hatter," of Easton. 



THE McILHANEY FAMILY— The IMcIlhaney family is one of the 
oldest in Northampton county, being identified with its interests for over a 
century and a half. It is one of the few original Scotch-Irish families that 
have descendants still living in the county. Though it is not certain, the 
probability, however, is that the ancestor of the Mcllhaneys came originally 
from Milford in the County of Ulster, in the northern part of Ireland. There 
has been some question as to the original spelling of the name, but a cursory 
examination show that most of the members of the family spell it as above 
written. 

The first of the family to settle in Northampton county was William 
Mcllhaney, who came with the Ulster-Scot immigrants and settled, about 
1730, in the township of Lower Mount Bethel, known as Martins Creek settle- 
ment. We find by the records that in 1768 he possessed three hundred and 
seventy-three acres of land in two tracts, one of which, containing three hun- 
dred and forty-eight and one-half acres, was his homestead. He died intestate 
in 1773, leaving a wife, three daughters, and a son, James Mcllhaney, the 
heir-at-law. As the partition of the two tracts could not be made without 
prejudice, the court ordered a jury to make a just and true partition of the 
same value and appraise the real estate. The property was appraised at 
£615 9s., whereupon James Mcllhaney appeared in court and declared himself 
ready to accept the same, giving good securities. In the assessment list of 
taxables of Northampton county for 1780 he is assessed at £1,469, and the 
records show deeds for five hundred and three acres of land taken out bv him 
between 1768 and 1805. This big tract of land was situated in Lower Mount 
Bethel township, just across the Delaware river from Belvidere, New Jersey. 
It included an island in the river just north of the Belvidere Bridge, known 
up to 1840 as Mcllhaney 's Island. 

James Mcllhaney had a son William, who came in possession of a part 
of the original tract. The latter's son William was born in the old home- 
stead, September 9, 1799. Besides being engaged in agricultural pursuits, he 
followed the trade of tailor, and lived at what was known as the "Three 
Churches," near the Lower Mount Bethel Presbyterian Church. He served 
as postmaster at Martins Creek, under the administrations of Jackson, Van 
Buren. Harrison and Polk, after which he was elected Clerk of the Orphans' 
Court of Northampton county. He married Catherine Shultz, who was born 
May 5, 1805, and died March 14, 1864. William Mcllhaney died January 24, 
1881. The children of William and Catherine (Shultz) Mcllhaney were: i. 
Thomas M., born May 13, 1823, died December 15, 1885; for many years he 
was a prominent citizen and attorney of Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, serving 
for eighteen years as prothonotary of Monroe county ; at the time of his death 
he was president of the Stroudsburg National Bank. 2. Peter, born Decem- 
ber 12, 1824. was engaged in farming, and lived for many years in Lower 
Mount Bethel township. 3. James, born August 22, 1826, died January 25. 
1883; was engaged in teaching in Easton, Pennsylvania. 4. Hiram, born 
August 14, 1828. died May 19, 1886. 5;. Mary, born December 8, 1830, married 
Henry Rasley, died December 17. 1880. 6. Jane, born January 5, 1833, died 
Mav 24, i8qo. The two sisters lived during the greater part of their life on 
their father's homestead at the "Three Churches." 7. John M., of whom 
further. 8. William H.. born in 1840, and died in 1918, at Cornwall, New York. 

John M. Mcllhaney. son of William and Catherine (Shultz) Mcllhaney, 



r.IOCRAPIIICAL 441 

was born April 23, 1836. In i860 he became a resident of Bath, Pennsylvania, 
served as justice of the peace, notary, and was postmaster during; Cleveland's 
second administration. He died May 30, 1911, in Bath. He married Mary- 
Kinney, a native of Bclvidere, New Jersey, January 10, 1863. To this union 
six children were born : Jesse D., died in infancy : Asa K., of further mention ; 
Harry E.. Ella M., Anna C, and iM-ank T., who died young. 

Asa K. Mcllhaney, son of John M. and Mary (Kinney) McTlhaney, was 
born March 12, 1867, in Upper Nazareth township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, and for thirty years was a teacher. In reliKious affiliation he 
is a Presbyterian, lie married, at Bath, Pennsylvania, February 8, 1888, 
Maggie IL, daughter of Samuel E. and Harriet (Stout) Cole, and were the 
parents of three children: Samuel J., who died young; Ruth B., deceased, 
who married A. N. Cish ; and Marion F. 



CLARENCE A. WOLLE— One of the interesting and aggressive men 
in Bethklu-ni, Clarence A. Wulle, is of old Moravian stock, which has been 
identified lor a long period with the growth and development of that region 
of Pennsylvania. 

Clarence A. Wolle was born October 14, 1849, at Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania, the son of Augustus Wolle. Ilis father was born at Nazareth, Penn- 
sylvania, September 8, 1821, but shortly, with his parents, removed to and 
thereafter resided in Bethlehem, where he died August 11, 1878. His father 
was John Frederick Wolle, who was born at St. Croix, Danish West Indies 
(now the Virgin Islands), and was sent to Nazareth, Pennsylvania, by his 
Moravian missionary parents when he was but four years old. When Augus- 
tus Wolle was twenty-four }-cars of age (in 1845) he I>ought out the Moravian 
church store of which his father, John Frederick Wolle. for twenty-four 
years had been manager, the last of the Moravian storekeepers. Augustus 
Wolle was actively and successfully engaged in general store business until 
1870, and his career was a notable one, particularly in connection with the 
early history of organization of the Bethlehem Iron Company (1857-67) ; 
the introduction of machine made paper bags and the establishment of that 
industry (1852-72) ; in the roofing slate business, establishing The Chap- 
man Slate Company, and in large slate development in Pen Argyl, North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania (1865-73). 

The mother of Clarence A. Wolle was Cornelia E. (Leinbach) Wolle, 
born February 3, 1827, at Salem, North Carolina, also an old Moravian town. 
Her American immigrant ancestor, John Leinbach, came in 1720 from 
Alsace-Lorraine, and settled in Oley, near Reading, Pennsylvania, a Mora- 
vian settlement. The father of Cornelia E. Leinbach, Traugott Leinbach, 
was born and resided in Salem, North Carolina. He had married, Septem- 
ber 30, 179Q, Maria Theresa Lange, of Bethlehem. The children of Augus- 
tus and Cornelia E. Wolle were as follows: Emily (1846), married William 
S. Seiger, of Bethlehem, died in April, 1873; Francis (1848), a merchant in 
Bethlehem, now deceased; Clarence A. (1849), of whom the present bio- 
graphical sketch is written; Edward S. (1852), for forty years in the service 
of the Moravian church, and now pastor of the Fifth Moravian Church in 
the Bronx, New York City; Alice C. (1854), married the Rev. John H. 
Clewell, principal of the College for Women. Moravian Seminary, Bethle- 
hem: Eugenia (1857), married Rev. F. P. Wilde, for thirty-seven years in 
the Moravian Mission service at Bethabara, Jamaica, West Indies ; Edith 
(i860), married Edward J. Wessels, of New York; Grace (1864), unmar- 
ried, now residing with her brother, Edward S.. in New York, and prior to 
leaving Bethlehem she had been active in public, charitable work and had 
established, and for years, through her own energy in securing charitable 
co-operation, supported the Free Library of the Bethlehems ; George H. 
(1867), an electrical engineer, now residing in New York, married Mrs. 
Evelyn Williamson, and has two sons. Aubrey and Wood, both in the United 



442 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

States Navy; Elizabeth (1S70), married R. Morris Darrach, of Philadel- 
phia, where he died in 191 6, leaving one daughter, Elizabeth. 

Clarence A. Wolle was educated at the Moravian Parochial schools at 
Bethlehem, at Nazareth Hall, and at Lehigh University, specializing in chem- 
istry. He was a member of the first class, graduating therefrom in 1869, is 
now (1919) the last living representative of his class, and is a good type of 
the scholar of the past generation. After leaving college he entered his 
father's office, and for some years was active with him in the handling of 
numerous interests, together with those in the slate industry at Pen Argyl, 
Pennsvlvania. In 1878 and years following he was active with his uncle, 
Felix W. Leinbach, in the invention of the self-opening square paper bag 
and a pajier bag machine, in which enterprise they were most successful, 
permanently establishing this tucked square bag, which has become the 
most popular bag on the market. Up to the present time Mr. Wolle has 
devoted much energy, time and money in the development of a typographic 
machine which, by pressure, cuts type into solid type metal slugs, and by 
keyboard attachment prepares and sets the type into words in line length 
ready- for stenographer, electrotyping or the printer, the characters being 
perfect and a high speed product. 

Mr. Wolle has always taken much active interest in local real estate, 
his father having also been extensively interested in the same line. In 1857 
his father bought a tract of one hundred acres of south side farm land, and 
was considered very speculative to make such an investment. This land 
is now in the very heart of the., city of South Bethlehem, and has risen 
enormously in value. In 1883, when central station electric lighting plants 
were first being established, Mr. Wolle, whose business insight was of pro- 
gressive quality, took leading part with a few friends in the organization of 
the Bethlehem Electric Light Company, which is still in successful opera- 
tion. It is now leased to the Allentown Electric- Light Company. It has 
always been a prosperous corporation, and ha'd a notable career for twenty- 
three years under the management of Mr. Wolle and his brother George. 
In 188'g M. Wolle purchased an option on the original charter for an elec- 
tric street railwav — the .A.llentown-Bethlehem Street Railway — and also on 
the horse car line in Allentown, and secured the capital which organized and 
undertook the construction of the line forming the original basis for the 
organization of the Lehigh Valley Traction Company. In 1898-99 Mr. 
Wolle, assisted by his brother George, organized and financed the con- 
struction of the street railwaj^ between Bethlehem and Nazareth. This 
road was built, and in 1890-1900 was followed by the construction, under 
the same interests, of the Slate Belt Electric Street Railway, north from 
Nazareth to Wind Gap, Pen Argyl and Bangor, opening by easy communi- 
cation the cement and slate regions north. In the eighties JMr! Wolle was 
a member of Bethlehem Town Council ; was also a member and one of the 
organizers of the Christian Science church in this city; 

In December. 1890. Mr. Wolle was married to Clara M. King Evans, 
of Logan, Iowa ; her father was a well known Master Mason, and was 
]?rominent sociall3^ politically and charitably. Mrs. Wolle was a normal 
class student at Boston in 1887 of Mrs. Eddy, and has continued an active 
Christian Science teacher and practitioner. She is a popular, noteworthy 
woman, of fine and strong character. They have one child, Dorothy j. 
P.., born January 3, 1896, who was educated in the schools at Bethlehem, 
"•raduated with the degree of B.A. from the Moravian College for Women 
in 191 5, and then for three years attended the Leland Power's School of 
Expression in Boston, and was graduated from that institution in T918. 
On Tune 7. tqto, she was married at her home in Bethlehem to James .Mlyn 
Pentz. of Philadelphia, who is now engaged in the cotton textile industry. 
Soon after his return from naval service overseas in the World War (1919), 
he was awarded a gold medal for heroism. 



PUBLIC LIBRARY 



>^STO«, LENOX AND 




LOUIS A. SCHNEEBELl HON. G. A. SCHNEEBELI ELI IS SCHNEEBELI 

Member of the 59th Congress of the U. S. A. 

THREE GENERATION'S OF THE SCHNEEBELI FAMILY 
IN NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 



BIOGRAPHICAL 443 

GUSTAV ADOLPH SCHNEEBELI— A half a century apo Adolph 
and Amelia (Mngler) Schneebeli, natives of Switzerland, came to the United 
States from Germany, where thej' had been livinjj for a few years, bringing 
their son, G. A. Schneebeli, now one of Northampton's prosperous and emi- 
nent sons. The coming' of Adol])h and family was in 1864. lie lived one 
year in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and then went to Nazareth. His wife died 
in i8g8, leavincf the following- children: Gustav A., of further mention; 
Lizzie; Bertha; Max William; Robert Eugene; and Alexander Levin. Some 
years later the father retired from business. The family were members of the 
Moravian church, and on the paternal side, of Swiss ancestors. Adolph, the 
father, died in igo6. 

Gustav A. Schneebeli was born May 23, 1853, in Switzerland, and there 
began his education. He was still a boy when his parents came to the 
United States, and at a Moravian school in Nazareth, Northami:)ton county, 
Pennsylvania, he completed his studies. He began his wage-earning life in 
the coal region in the em])loy of Charles M. Dodson & Company, remaining 
with that comjiany for nine years. For five years subsequently he was a 
traveling salesman for Louis Kraemer & Company, Stony Creek Alills, Read- 
ing, Pa. With this experience he began business for himself in 1886, organizing 
with Louis F. Kraemer the Nazareth Waist Company, with headquarters at 
Nazareth, Pennsylvania. The business was begun in a small way, but the 
excellence of their product quickly attracted the attention of buyers, and 
enlargement soon became necessary. Quality was a cardinal principle of the 
firm and was strictly adhered to during the many } ears which Messrs. 
Kraemer and Schneebeli conducted the business. The plant grew from year 
to year, until finally three brick buildings were in use; the original twelve 
employees had grown to three hundred, and twelve hundred dozen garments 
were produced daily. Mr. Schneebeli was general manager of the company 
from its organization until 1906. and the growth and prosperous condition 
of the business speaks volumes in behalf of his ability in management. In 
1906, G. A. and 1\1. W. Schneebeli became owners of the business, which they 
incorporated under its former name, the Nazareth Waist Company. In 1914, 
G. A. Schneebeli sold his interest and retired. In 1903 he incorporated the 
G. A. Schneebeli Company for the manufacture of lace edgings. That com- 
pany, of which he later became sole owner, employs one hundred hands, and 
manufactures five hundred thousand yards of lace edgings dail\-. 

The founding and development of the Nazareth Waist Company but 
fairly introduced Mr. Schneebeli to the business world of his section, and in 
many other enterprises his business judgment and executive ability have been 
made manifest. He was one of the organizers of the First National Bank of 
Nazareth, was its vice-president, and is yet a director. In 1899 he, with eleven 
others, was instrumental in the building of the Bethlehem & Nazareth Electric 
railroad, was early connected with its management and long was its vice- 
president. In igoo the 'same twelve men w^ere again conspicuous in the 
building of the Slate Belt railroad, an electric line eighteen miles in length, 
extending from Nazareth to Bangor. He was the first president of that 
company, a post he ably filled until he was obliged to lessen his official respon- 
sibilities. He was also one of the organizers of the Nazareth Water Company, 
and of the Dexter Cement Company, being yet a director of the latter, and 
served the Nazareth Building & Loan Association as president. He was for 
years secretarj^ of the board of trustees of Nazareth Hall, a school for bovs 
foimded in 1743, and is now chairman of the board. In all things he is the 
public-spirited, progressive citizen, anxious to be of service to his fellow men, 
and a true son of the countrx' which adopted him in his j^outh. 

A Republican in jiolitics, Mr. Schneebeli was always active in part}' 
work and influential in party councils. In 1904 he was elected to Consfress 
from the Twenty-sixth Pennsylvania District, consisting of Northampton, 



444 NORTH AAIPTON COUNTY 

Carbon, Monroe and Pike counties, a district usually Democratic. He served 
durinsf the life of the Fifty-ninth Congress, "Uncle Joe" Cannon, speaker, and 
one of the bills he supported was the Pure Food Law, which protects the 
public from adulteration of food supply. He made many friends in Washing- 
ton, was a welcome guest at the White House, and intimate with many men 
of National fame. He is a member of the IMoravian church, and of the 
Masonic order, belonging to Blue Lodge, and to the various bodies of the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, in which he holds the thirty-second degree. 
He is also a member of Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the 
Mystic Shrine. 

Mr. Schneebeli married, in 1878, Carrie E. Schneider, of Loyal Oak, Ohio, 
and they are the parents of two sons : Ellis Clark, associated with his father 
in the firm, G. A. Schneebeli & Company, lace manufacturers; Louis F., who 
died, aged four years. IMr. Schneebeli has three grandsons, children of his 
son Ellis Clark, as follows : Louis. Adolph and Gustav Adolph. 

The following is dedicated to the Young Men's Christian Association of 
Nazareth, Pennsylvania, and recommended to the Young Men's Christian 
Association of Pennsylvania by the Hon. G. A. Schneebeli, of Nazareth, 
Pennsylvania : 

PENNSYLVANIA 
. (Tune America) 

Hail Pennsylvania ! 
Banner of States thou art, 
Thy name is great. 
Thy glory is renowned. 
Thy equal is not found ; 
Thou art the victor crowned. 
Hail Keystone State. 

When William Pcnn appeared, 

He on th\' domain reared 

Eternal fame. 

Fair dealt he with the free 

Red man of destiny; 

His precepts won for thee 

A glorious name. 

When galled by British yoke, 
And independence woke, 
Thy sons proved true. 
They to the rescue came 
And won undying fame. 
And glorified thy name 
For Freedom's cause. 

Hail Pennsylvania ! 
Fairest of States thou art. 
Thee we adore. 
To thee we'll faithful prove; 
A\'e pledge our sacred love 
To thee and God above 
For ever more. 

Copyrighted January 5, 1919. 

JOHN ANDREW MILLER— John A. Miller, whose active connection 
with numerous prominent and successful enterprises marks him as a inan 
of business ability and integrity, makes his home in Nazareth, where he is 
esteemed as a leading citizen, his public spirit in all matters pertaining to 
the welfare of the community-at-large serving to gain him the regard of 
his fellow townsmen. Socially, as in his business relations, he ranks high, 
and his career stands as an example of the success to be won in life by 
energfy combined with talent. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 445 

The Miller family is of German origin, the pioneer ancestor being John 
Miller, grandfather of John A. Miller, whose birth occurred in one of the 
Hessian provinces, where he resided until the year 1852, when he emigrated 
to the United States, locating in Baltimore, Maryland, where he was a pros- 
perous merchant. He was a Lutheran in religion, a Democrat in politics, 
and a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, lie married Mary 
Ashburn, a native of Germany, who bore him eight children, among whom 
was Conrad, of whom further. John Miller died in I'.lairstown, New Jersey. 

Conrad Miller, son of John and Mary (Ashburn) Miller, was born in 
Germany, October 20, 1H38. lie obtained a practical education under pri- 
vate tutors in his native land, and when fourteen years of age accompanied 
his parents to the United States. His first employment was in a brewing 
establishment, his remuneration being two dollars per month and board. 
Later he devoted his attention to merchandising in Baltimore, continuing 
along this line for six years, and for the following five years, during the 
Civil War period, served as quartermaster in Washington, District of Colum- 
bia, as an employee of the government. He then turned his attention to 
railroad contract work, and was for two years clerk and walking boss on 
the Metro[)olitan branch of the Baltimore iS: Ohio railroad. His next 
contract was on the Baltimore Shore Line in Ohio, and later he built twenty 
miles of the South Mountain road near Harrisburg, continuing his work in 
that line to Blairstown, Nev^' Jersey, and he constructed the Blairstown 
railroad to Delaware station for J. I. Blair in 1876. Two years later he 
built the Belvidere Water Works, and in the same 3'ear constructed the 
Bangor & Portland Railroad, a distance of eight miles, and was then elected 
its president and manager; in 1880 he continued its extension to Pen Argyl, 
and in the following year the road was com])Icted to Nazareth. In com- 
pany with J. I. Blair he invested to a large extent in the slate quarries, and 
from 1890 to 1898 he had charge of Mr. Blair's railroad and industrial inter- 
ests in the West. His prominence in various lines of business led to his 
appointment to positions of trust and responsibility, and he served in the 
capacity of president of the Bangor Union Quarry ; jiresident and treasurer 
of the United States Slate Quarry of Pen Argyl ; president and treasurer 
of the Albion Slate Company ; president of the Wind Gap and Alpha .Slate 
companies ; president of the Kansas City. Osceola & Southern Railroad in 
Missouri: president of the Chicago, Iowa & Dakota Railroad; president of 
Kansas City & Westport Belt Railroad; president and jjart owner of the 
Illuminating Gas Compan3% Slate Belt Telephone Company. Electric Light 
Company, Foundry and Machine Company; president of the Dexter Portland 
Cement Company ; director of the Northampton Cement Company, and of 
the Nazareth National Bank; and receiver for Jackson Brothers Slate Quarry, 
the Pen Argyl Slate Quarry, the Excelsior Slate Quarry, and the Diamond 
Slate Quarry. Mr. Rliller was a Presyterian in religion, a Re[)ublican in 
politics, and a member of Whitefield Lodge, No. 121. Free and Accepted 
Masons, of Nazareth, Pennsylvania. He married, August 31. 1869. .'\nna 
M. Werling, daughter of Andrew Werling, of Muncy. Pennsylvania. Chil- 
dren: John A., of further mention; Sarah Virginia, born March 25, 1874; 
Margaret Anna, born June 27, 1876. He died March 29, 1912. 

John A. Miller, son of Conrad and Anna M. (Werling) Miller, was born 
in Muncy, Lycoming county, Pennsylvania, September i, 1872. His edu- 
cation was acquired by attendance at boarding school, Blair Hall, New 
Jersey, and at Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, from which he was 
graduated in the class of 1895. He then went to Bangor, Pennsylvania, 
where he was engaged in the railroad contracting business until igoi, when 
he took up his residence in Nazareth, where he has since continued to reside. 
His business qualifications were soon recognized and appreciated, he being 
chosen to fill the important position of president of the Dexter Portland 
Cement Company of Nazareth, Pennsylvania ; the Clinchfield Portland 



446 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Cement Company of Kingsport. Tennessee ; the Albion Slate Company of 
Bangor, Pennsylvania ; the Pen Bangor Slate Company of Wind Gap, Penn- 
sylvania ; the Nazareth Foundry & Machine Company; the Dexter Con- 
crete Manufacturing Company; the Alpha Slate Compan}'; and is director 
of the Nazareth National Bank and the Atlantic Gas & Electric Company. 
He is also serving as chief burgess of Nazareth. He is a member of White- 
field Lodge, No. 121, Free and Accepted Masons, of Nazareth; Caldwell 
Consistory, of Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania; Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic 
Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of Reading. Pennsylvania ; and is a 
member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He holds mem- 
bership in the Pomfret Club at Easton. the Northampton Country Club, 
and is an attendant at the services of the German Reformed Church. He 
is a staunch Republican in politics. 

Mr. Miller married (first) IMary Alice Cope, of Nazareth, daughter of 
Dr. Thomas Cope, who bore him two children : Conrad C, and Mary Alice. 
She died February 15, 1901. On May 28. 1904, he married (second) Emily 
N. Moon, daughter of William W. J\Ioon of Easton. Pennsylvania. Child, 
John Andrew, Jr., born November 25, 1907. 



FRED RAYMOND DRAKE— Major Fred R. Drake is head of the f^rm 
of Drake & Company, one of the oldest wholesale grocery houses in the 
United States, and one of the largest in northeastern Pennsylvania. The 
business was started, in 1836. by his grandfather. John Drake, who in 1837 
admitted Derrick Hulick, under the firm name of Drake & Hulick. In 1857 
Samuel Drake, the eldest son of John Drake, entered the firm, which then be- 
came Drake. Hulick & Company, so continuing until the death of Derrick 
Hulick. in 1872. Winfield S. Hulick was then admitted to partnership, and 
the firm name was changed to J. Drake. Son & Company. On the death 
of John Drake, in 1873. the firm name became J. Drake's Son & Company. 
In 1877 Winfield S. Hulick retired and Howard Drake entered the firm, 
which then became J. Drake's Sons & Company. In 1889 Fred R. Drake 
entered the firm. In 1892 George G. Rambo became a partner. Though 
Samuel Drake died in 1893. the firm name remained unchanged until 1899, 
when it was changed to Drake & Company, its present title, with Fred R. 
Drake, Howard Drake and George G. Rambo comprising the firm. Howard 
Drake died in 1899. and four years later Jesse S. Carter, head of the credit 
department for many years, was admitted to the firm. In 191 1 George G. 
Rambo died, having been connected with the business from 1866 until his 
death, leaving Fred R. Drake and Jesse S. Carter, the surviving partners, 
comprising the firm at the present time (1919). 

(I) The family to which Fred R. Drake belongs was founded in New 
Hampshire during the seventeenth century, the American ancestor coming 
from Exeter in Devonshire. England. A branch settled on the banks of the 
Piscataway river near the present city of Railway, New Jersey, and from 
th-at line came Imla Drake, founder of this branch of the Drake family of 
Warren county. New Jersey, and Easton, Pennsylvania. Imla Drake, born 
May I, 1751, died January 3, 1826. He married Temperance McPherson. 
born October 15. 1750. died January 13. 1826. onh^ surviving her husband ten 
days. 

(II) Samuel Drake, son of Imla and Temperance (McPherson) Drake, 
was born April 26, 1774, and after his marriage located on a farm near 
Asbury, Warren county. New Jersey. He married. March 3, 1796, Cath- 
erine ITulshizer, born September 14. 1775, died March 17, 1853, daughter of 
John Martin Plulshizer. born January 8. 1747. died April 9. 1810, and his wife, 
Margaret (Mellick) Hulshizer, born August 20, 1757, died February 25, 1822. 
Samuel and Catherine (Hulshizer) Drake were the parents of five daughters 
and six sons: Rebecca, married (first) Joseph Osman. (second) Jesse Stewart; 
Margaret, married Thomas Moflet ; Sarah Jane, died in infancy ; John, of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 447 

further mention; Martin, married Sophia S. Meoinlcy, and moved to Dodge 
county, Wisconsin; Imhi, thed in infancy; l"emj)erance, married Luther Cal- 
vin Carter; Mary, died at the age of forty, unmarried; Samuel Stewart, 
married Susan Axford Vliet, and moved to Wisconsin; William, married 
Rachel Morgan Axford, and for many years resided in Hackettstown, New 
Jersey; David Andrew, married Lucy Bau. 

(III) John Drake, grandfather of Major I'rcd R. Drake, of Easton, 
eldest son of Samuel and Catherine (Hulshizer) Drake, was born at the 
home farm near Asbury, Warren county. New Jersey, December rg, i<So3, 
and died at liaston, Pennsylvania, April 28, 1873. He remained at the home- 
stead until twenty-five years of age, then removed to the village of Broad- 
way in the same county, there conducting a hotel and a small country store. 
He remained there three years, then for two years operated a saw mill and 
kept a store at Townsbury. Later he was a merchant at Branchville, New 
Jersey, until 1836, when he located in Easton. Pennsylvania, and inaugurated 
the business now conducted under the firm name, Drake & Company, now 
in the eighty-fourtli year of its existence. With Derrick Hulick as partner, 
first as retailers then as wholesalers, they gathered into the town of Easton 
the ]iroduce of the surrounding country, and shipped it to New York and 
Philadelphia by means of wagons and boats, this being before the era of 
railroads. While one partner managed the store and finances, the other 
partner traversed the surrounding country, this method resulting in their 
virtual control of the trade of a large section of the covmtry surrounding. John 
Drake, as head of the firm Drake. Wilson & Company, established a line of 
canal boats between Easton and Philadelphia. He was largely instrumental 
in the development of the iron trade of the Lehigh Valley, being one of the 
founders and first directors of the Thomas Iron Company and of the Carbon 
Iron Company, and was one of the five original owners of the Delaware Roll- 
ing Mill. He was a director of the Farmers and Mechanics Bank, later 
the First National, and in all ways sought to promote the progress of Easton. 
He was a Whig in his political faith, and when that party outlived its use- 
fulness and gave up the ghost he allied himself with its youthful but vigorous 
successor, the Republican party. 

John Drake married, September 23, 1827, Margaret Stewart, born Sep- 
tember 21. i8og. died in Easton. Pennsylvania, June 6. 1877, and with her 
husband was buried in the Easton Cemetery. She was the daughter of 
Samuel and Catherine (Carpenter) Stewart, and granddaughter of Thomas 
and Rachel (Dcwees) Stewart; Rachel Dewees was a daughter of William 
Dewees, of Valley Forge. Pennsylvania, and- Catherine Carpenter was a 
daughter of Balser Carpenter, of Sussex county. New Jersey. Samuel Stew- 
art and Catherine Carpenter were married. January 20. 1807. John and 
Margaret (Stewart) Drake were the parents of six sons and five daughters: 
Catherine, died in Easton. March 27, 1906: Samuel, of further mention; 
Thomas Stewart, a lifelong resident of Easton or vicinity, married Mary 
Ann Pyle; Ellen, married William Branlow Semple ; Sarah Stewart, died 
July 2, 1883, unmarried; Lewis Clewell, shipping agent for the Thomas Iron 
Company at New York for many years, died unmarried, 1883; Mary Car- 
penter, died at the age of twenty, in 1862. unmarried; Emily, married'james 
W'hitfield Wood, died 1919; Howard, born April 3, 1847. 'died suddenly at 
Watkins Glen, New York, July 7, 1899, a member "of the wholesale grocery 
firm of Drake & Company, married Annie L. Shouse ; Frank, connected for 
many years with the firm of J. Drake's Sons & Company, died, unmarried, 
1894; John, Jr.. with J. Drake Sons & Company, for a tim'e. died, unmarried, 
at Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, in 1880. 

(IV) Samuel (2) Drake, father of Major Fred R. Drake, and eldest son 
of John and Margaret (Stewart) Drake, was born in Broadway, Warren 
county. New Jersey. July 16, 1830. and died at Spring Lake, a summer resort 
on the New Jersey coast, June 29, 1893. He was but six years of age when 



448 KORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

his parents moved to Easton, Pennsylvania, and there his after life was 
spent. He was educated in the \'andeveer School in Easton, and in 1847 
entered business life under the guidance of his father, then senior member 
of the firm, Drake & Hulick. In 1857 he was admitted a partner, and 
through all the changes of firm name and personnel continued his interest, 
being the last surviving partner of the old firm. He was active in the firm 
until his death, having been connected therewith forty-six years and a 
partner thirty-six years. He was also a director of the First National Bank 
of Easton ; director and vice-president of the Thomas Iron Company and 
of the Edison Illuminating Company of Easton ; director of the Easton Trust 
Company ; and a manager of the Fire Insurance Company of Northampton 
county. ' In politics he was a Republican from the very organization of that 
party, but was strictly a business man, never seeking nor desiring public 
office. He was affiliated with the !kIasonic order and with the Second Pres- 
byterian Church. He passed away deeply mourned, a just man and loyal 
citizen. 

Samuel Drake married. January 16, 1862. Sarah Arndt, born June 30, 
1837, died June 14. 1884. daughter of Jacob and Sarah (Stewart) Arndt. of 
Greenwich township. Warren county. New Jersey. Samuel and Sarah 
(Arndt) Drake were the parents of four daughters and one son: Mary 
Virginia, born July 15. 1863, married, November 15. 1888; James Madison 
Porter, born May 10, 1864. and they are parents of one son, James Madison 
Porter 4th, born March 7, 1896; Fred Raymond, of further mention; Estelle, 
born 1867; died in infancy; Carrie Arndt. born April 30, 1869. married, Jan- 
uary 5, 1898, John Rice, son of Capt. George and Belle (Potts) Rice, of 
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, and are the parents of a daughter, Virginia, born 
August 8, 1899. and a son, John Rice, 2nd, born June 18, 1903; Laura Edna, 
born September 12, 1874. married. January 28. 1913. Edward Eldridge Swift, 
of Detroit, Michigan; they have one son, Edward Eldridge, Jr.. born Feb- 
■ ruary 25, 1918. 

(V) Fred Raymond Drake, only son of Samuel (2) and Sarah (Arndt) 
Drake, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania. June 12, 1863, and is now head of 
the wholesale grocery house, Drake & Company. He began his education 
in the public schools, continued it under private tutors, entered Lafayette 
College in 1882, and was graduated, Bachelor of Arts, class of 1886, receiv- 
ing his Master of Arts in 1889. He was a winner of the Shakespeare prize 
in his junior year, and was a commencement day speaker at graduation. 
In 1886 he became associated with Drake & Company, a firm established by 
his grandfather. John Drake, just half a century earlier, and with which his 
father, Samuel Drake, had been connected since 1847. I" 1S89 Fred R. 
Drake was admitted a partner and is now the directing head (1919). He is 
also director and vice-president of the Thomas Iron Company, which his 
grandfather aided in founding ; vice-president of the Northampton Trust 
Company ; vice-president of the Commonwealth Water and Light Company 
of New Jersey ; president of the Lakewood and Coast Water and Electric 
Company of New Jersey; from 1910 to 191 1 president of the Easton Board 
of Trade; from loio to 191 1 president of the National Wholesale Grocers' 
Association of the United States. 

Major Drake entered the military service of his State in 1898, when he 
organized a company for service in the Spanish-American War, which was 
sworn in as Company E, Eleventh Regiment, Provisional Guard. Pie was 
elected first lieutenant of the company, July 12, 1898, and promoted captain, 
September 27, 1898. The company was not called into National service, 
but in 1899 was transferred as Company I to the Thirteenth Regiment, 
Pennsylvania National Guard. Captain Drake served in that rank, com- 
m_anding Companies E and I from his election until his appointment as 
aide de camp, with the rank of captain, on the stafT of Brig. -Gen. J. P. S. 
Gobin. commander of the Third Brigade. Pennsvlvania National Guard. He 



BIOGRAPHICAL 449 

received his promotion to General Gobin's staff, December 5, 1900. Captain 
Drake brought his command up to a high standard of soldierly efficiency, 
and at each succeeding brigade inspection the com])any received the highest 
rating. In 1902 he served with the Third Brigade in the anthracite coal 
region, and was acting brigade quartermaster during a great part of the 
ninety-live days they were on duty. He was commissioned major, April 

3. 1906. 

As the record of his military service shows. Major Drake is not a slave 
to his business interests, important though they be. Still another side of 
his nature is revealed in his connection with the Easton Public Library, 
which he aided in founding. He serves as vice-president of its board of 
trustees, and is librarian of the Shakespeare Society of New York City. His 
literary tastes are further shown in his valuable private library, which 
includes several editions of his favorite Shakespeare. He is a member of 
the Pom fret Club of Easton, the Northampton Countrj' Club, of which he 
was one of the organizers, and of the University Club of New York. Polit- 
ically he is a Republican. While a student at Lafayette he became a mem- 
ber of Zeta Psi, and has ever retained his interest in that fraternity. In 
1891, at Providence, Rhode Island, he was elected a member of Ali)ha Sigma 
Alpha, and at Easton in i8q8 was elected a member of Phi Alpha (interna- 
tional president in 1898) and from 1895 to 1909 was a member of the Com- 
mittee of Patriarchs. He is also president of Tau Chapter Association of 
Zeta Psi, of Easton. 

Major Drake married, June 15, 1911, Pearce Kinkead Fox, of East 
Orange, New Jersey. They arc the parents of a daughter, Margaret 
Kinkead, born January i", 1914, and of a son, Frederick Raymond, Jr., born 
February 26. 1915. 

Major Drake's Arndt ancestry through his mother, Sarah (Arndt) 
Drake : Hans Arndt, "farmer and inhabitant of Weipen. District of Cos- 
Avick in the Electorate of Anhalt, Germany," had a son, Martin Arndt, who 
was, in 1678, a burgher of the town of Zerbst in the same Electorate. He 
married Maria Sager. daughter of Hans Sager, "of the Electoral body guard 
and a bur<rher of Zerbst. in 1687." They were parents of son, Martin C. Arndt. 

Martin Conrad Arndt, who, in October, 1678, received from the burgo- 
master and councilmen of the city of Zerbst a certificate of character show- 
ing that he was "born of good German blood and not Wendischen blood, 
and of an otherwise and honorable family, no man's bondsman nor a Lett" 
. . . "Therefore both on account of legitimate birth and origin and his 
conduct, he may be admitted to all corporate fraternities, guilds and asso- 
ciations, to have, to hold, and to use their privileges after the Accustomed." 
With this certificate he moved to the dukedom of Zweibrucken, Germany, 
married, nnd was succeeded by a son, Bernhardt Arndt. 

Bernhardt Arndt, born at Zweibrucken, Germany, married there Anna 
Maria Decker, daughter of Andreas Decker, of Coburn, in the dukedom of 
Zweibrucken, and settled at Baumholder in the adjoining canton of Lichten- 
berg. whence, in 1731. he emigrated with his family to Pennsylvania, and 
in 1739 was living in Salford township, now Montgomery county. 

Jacol-) Arndt, son of Bernhardt Arndt, w^as born at Baumholden, Lichten- 
berg. Germany, March 24, 1725. and was brought by his parents to Penn- 
sylvania in the ship Pennsylvania Mcrclwjit. arriving in Philadelphia. Septem- 
ber II. 173 1. He grew to manhood within the limits of the present Mont- 
gomf'rv county, but after his marriage he purchased a farm in Rockhill 
township. Bucks county, Pennsylvania, upon which he resided until 1760, 
when, in June, he bought a mill property and one hundred and fifty acres 
of farm Innd in Forks township. Northampton county. Pennsylvania, re- 
moved to his new purchase, and there died. August 3, 1805. His service to 
the Co'onial cause was extensive. He raised and was commissioned a cap- 
tain of provincial forces in Bucks county in 1756, a major in 1758, and saw 

N. H. BIOG.— 29 



450 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

conspicuous service in the French and Indian wars. He was in command 
of the important posts of Fort Allen, Fort Morris, Fort Augusta, and Fort 
Bedford, and after his removal to Northampton county was Colonial jus- 
tice, 1761 until 1775; member of the Committee of Pubfic Safety, 1774 until 
1777; Council of Safety, 1777; Supreme Executive Council, 1777 until 1780; 
captain of Forks Township Associated Company, 1775; delegate of the Con- 
stitutional Convention of 1776, and to the several provincial conventions of 
1775. 1776 and 1777. Major Jacob Arndt married Elizabeth Gieger, daugh- 
ter of Jacob Gieger, of New Hanover township in the same county, and his 
wife, Anna Mary, who. had recently emigrated from Germanv, where one 
of his sons was still living, at the death of his father, Jacob Gieger, in 1772. 
Among the children of Major Jacob Arndt was a son, Abraham. 

Abraham Arndt was born in Rockhill township, Bucks count}^ 
Pennsylvania. January 31, 1759, and died in Greenwich township, Warren 
county. New Jersey. December 2. 1845. He was a private in Northampton 
County Mihtia during the Revolution, and about 1785 married Ann Hann, 
daughter of William Hann (or Henn), of Morris county. New Jersey. She 
was born August 2, 1764, died April 15, 1843. Both Abraham and Ann are 
buried at St. James Lutheran Church in Greenwich township, as are their 
son Abraham, his wife Margaret, and grandson. Hart J. Arndt. 

Jacob Arndt, son of Abraham and Ann (Hann) Arndt, was born Sep- 
tember 2, 1788, and died in Greenwich township, Warren county, New Jer- 
sey, May 28, 1852. He married, Januarv 2S, 1817, Sarah Stewart, born O'cto- 
ber 26, 1801, died June 21, 1842, daughter of Robert and Mary Stewart. 
They were the parents of a daughter, Sarah. 

Sarah Arndt, born June 36, 1837, married, January 16, 1862, Samuel 
Drake, of previous mention, and came to Easton in that year. Their son, 
Fred Raymond Drake, is also of previous mention, his children being of 
the tenth recorded Arndt generation, and of the seventh generation in Penn- 
sylvania. 



WILLIAM CLAY MIDDAUGH D.D.S.— The record of the family of 
which Dr. :\Iiddaugh is a member was founded by Aert Anthonez Aliddagh, 
who came from Holland in 1661, and with his wife, Breekje Hansen (Bergeii)' 
Middagh, joined the Dutch church in Breuklin (now Brooklyn, New York), 
September 27, 1664., Breekje Hansen Bergen was the daughter of the first 
white child born in New Netherland, and granddaughter of John Tansen de 
Rapalje, a native of Rochelle, France, one of the Walloon founders of Brook- 
lyn in 1623. 

(II) jan Aertson Middagh, son of Aert Anthonez and Breekje Hansen 
(Bergen) Middagh, was baptized December 24, 1662. and his will was probated 
June 6, 1709. He married, June 4, 1690, Elizabeth De Potter Smit. 

(III) Pieter Middagh, son of Jan Aertson and Elizabeth De Potter (Smit) 
Middagh, was a member of the Provincial Council in 1758 (New Jersey Ar- 
chives, first series, vol. 17; Journal of Provincial Council, 1758, p. 161 and 
p. 295.) He married Marritje De Mott, daughter of Matthias and Maria 
(Brinkerhoiif) De Mott. 

(IV) Peter Aliddagh, son of Pieter and Marritje (De Mott) Middagh, 
was born in 1748 in Amwell, Hunterdon county. New Jersey, and died in 
1829. (Baptismal records of the Dutch Reformed Church of Re'adington, New 
Jersey.) He was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, enlisting in 1776, Fly- 
ing Camp, and becoming a sergeant, then first lieutenant, and finallv captain. 
Company Eight, Fifth Battalion. His name appears in the Pennsylvania 
Archives as Peter Meadouch (Pennsylvania Archives, fifth series, vol. viii, 
P- 38Q, p. 540; also vol. vii, p. 608-623.) He was executor of his father's will! 
which was made August 20, 1778, probated October 28. 1790, and recorded 
at Easton. (Will Book No. 2, p. too.) He married Mary Moody. He is 
buried in Lower Mount Bethel Cemeterv. 



THK NEW y^»^K 
PUBLfC LIBRARY 



A.STOH. L.fJ<OX AND 
WLDJEK FOUNDATIONS 



TUB NEW YOi 

™K, LE^f0X ANO 
'^ »='OUKDATION8 




'LllE (JI.D JOSEPH HORNER HOAIESTEAD. 

"Irish Settlement." 

Built 1790. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 451 

(V) Thomas Middagh, son of Peter and Mary (Moody) Middagh, was 
born in I-ower Mount Bethel. He married Rebecca Bitters, and both are 
buried in the old Lower Mount Bethel Cemetery. 

(VI) William Bitters Middautjh, son of Thomas and Rebecca (Bitters) 
Middagh, was born in Lower Mount Bethel, in 1816, and died at Easton, 
November 7, 1897. He was a farmer in his native county during the greater 
part of his life, retiring in his later years and living with his son, Robert A., 
in Easton. He married Mary Ayers, and with her is buried in the old Easton 
Cemetery. 

(VII) Robert Ayers Middaugh, son of William Bitters and Mary (Ayers) 
Middaugh, was born in Lower Mount Bethel, Sejjtember 12, 1845, died at 
Easton, April 7, 1914, and is buried in the old Easton Cemetery. After attend- 
ing schools in Easton and New York City, he began his business career as 
clerk in the book store of William Maxwell in Centre square, Easton. He 
then became employed in the office of the superintendent of the Warren 
Foundry & Machine Company. Later he represented Drake & Company of 
Easton, and Austin, Nichols & Company of New York, wholesale grocers, 
remaining with the last-named firm many years. Returning to Easton, he 
became agent for the Climax, Du Pont, and Hazard Powder Company, and 
at the time of his death was senior member of the firm of Middaugh & Beisel, 
insurance agents. Mr. Middaugh was a member of the Masonic order, Dallas 
Lodge, a past commander of Hugh de Payen Commandcry, Knights Templar. 
He was a Democrat in ]iolitics, and a Presbyterian in religious faith. lie 
married, in 1870, Ellen, daughter of George and Christina (Heil) Mutchler. 
Children of Robert Ayers and Ellen (Mutchler) Middaugh: William Clay, 
of whom further; Sallie R., married Charles S. Howell, and has two children, 
Robert M. and Charles S., Jr. 

(VIII) Dr. William Clay Middaugh, son of Robert Ayers and Ellen 
(Mutchler) Middaugh, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, September 11, 1871. 
He was graduated from the Easton High .School in 1890, and entered Lafay- 
ette College, class of 1894. Early in his course he left Lafayette and entered 
the dental department of the University of Pennsylvania, whence he was 
graduated with the degree D.D.S. in 1892. He at once opened offices in the 
Clemens building. No. 433 Northampton street, and there practiced for eleven 
years, moving in May, 1903, to the First National Bank building, where he 
has since remained. Dr. Middaugh is a charter member, was first vice-presi- 
dent, and is an ex-president of the Lehigh \'alley Dental Society; is ex- 
president (1914) of the Susquehanna Dental Society; member of the Penn- 
s\-lvania State Dental Society; the National Dental Association; the First 
District Dental Society of New York ; and the Stomatological Club of Phila- 
delphia. He is a member of the Supreme Chapter of the Delta Sigma Delta 
fraternity, and his social clubs are the Pomfret and the Northampton Coun- 
try. He is also a member of the Easton Anglers' Association and the Vic- 
tory Drummers. He is a member of the College Hill Presbyterian Church. 

Dr. Middaugh married, November 2. 1892, at Easton, Carrie Louise, 
daughter of William and Sarah (Raus) Sigman, and they are the parents of 
two children: Carl Sigman, born March 23, 1895; and Carolyn Louise, born 
December i, 1909. 



THE HORNER FAMILY— Known to the present day as the Irish 
settlement of Northampton county, this locality was settled in 1728 by a 
band of homeseekcrs of Scotch-Irish descent who, under the leadership of 
Col. Thomas Craig, came to the New World in search of the religious and 
social advantages that had been denied them in their old home. The original 
settlement on the west branch of the Forks of the Delaware was situated in 
Allen township, Northampton county, and extended from the Monocacy on 
the East to the Hockandauqua on the W^est. It included the Manor of 



452 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Charlton, a holding of fifteen hundred acres, in what is now East Allen, pat- 
ented in 17,^5 by Sir James Pag^e, of London, also the Manor of Fermor, or 
Drylands, which at that time constituted the unsurveyed lands not definitely 
described in Northampton county, jjranted to the Proprietaries in 1736. This 
settlement antedated the settling- of Easton eleven years, of Bethlehem thir- 
teen years, and of Nazareth fifteen years. There is no list of the names of the 
original band of Scotch-Irish, but from authentic authorities there were living 
at the Iri?h settlement the following: Thomas Craig and his son, William; 
James Craig, his sons Robert and James, and in his family was Thomas Reed 
and wife; John Boyd; Hugh Wilson and his sons Thomas, Samuel and 
Charles; Thomas Armstrong; Robert Ciregg; Jarnes I<Cing ; John McNair; 
John Walker; Robert Walker; James Ralston; John Hayes; Arthur Latti- 
more : Jpmes Lattimore; James Horner; James Iverr; and Samuel Brown. 

Of this James Elorner, ancestor of the Horner family in America, there 
is record in the Pennsylvania Archives of fifty acres and' thirty perches sold 
bv Thomas Penn to James Plorner. This property was located near the 
Hockandauqua creek, and' the transfer of the property was made prior to 
17^2. for in that ^ ear the lands in Allen township became vested in William 
Allen. 

Tames Horner, the immigrant, was born in Ireland in 171 1, and died in 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, 1793. He was one of the grand jurors 
in Northampton county, and took ah active part in the early affairs of the 
county. In the list of taxables for 1780 he is assessed at thirteen hundred and 
eighty pounds. His wife, Jane Horner, was born in 1713, and was killed by 
the Indians while on her way to a neighbor's home for some coals to light 
her morning fire. Her body lies at rest in the grave3'ard of the Allen Town- 
ship Presbvterian Church. The inscription on her tomb is as follows: "In 
memory of Jane, wife of James Horner, who suffered death by the hands of 
the savage Indians, October eighth, seventeen hundred and sixty-three, aged 
fifty 1 ears." The children of James and Jane Horner were: Hugh, John, 
Thomas, Sarah, Mary. Jarnes and Jane. The eldest of this family, Hugh, was 
born in Allen township. September 20, 1743. He married Elizabeth Wilson, 
a member of a family resident in Bucks county, Pennsylvania. Hugh Horner 
died in 1806. but was survived by his widow until 1835, when her death 
orriirrcd. aged eighty-seven 3'ears. The children of Hugh and Elizabeth 
(Wilson) Horner were: James H., Robert, William, Plugh, Jane, Elizabeth 
and Tudith. 

Joseph Plorner, a nephew of James Horner, the immigrant, was born in 
Ireland in 1740. He married Sarah Allison, his first cousin, whose father 
came to this country from Ireland at an earlier date than the Irish settlement. 
He came to America as a young man, and joined the Irish settlement in 
Northampton county. His wife died in 1820, his death occurring March 2, 
1835, near Bath, Pennsylvania. The children of Joseph and Sarah (Allison) 
Horner were: James J., Jane J., Hannah, John, Margaret,- Sarah, Samuel and 
Joseph, of whom further. 

Joseph (2) Horner, son of Joseph (i) and Sarah (Allison) Horner, was 
born on the Horner homestead in the Irish settlement, in 1790, and died at 
his home on an adioining farm, January 27, 1866. He attended the local 
schools, and added to his education by diligent reading of the best literature 
obtainable. He absorbed and retained his home teaching, was a keen ob- 
server of the current events of his time, and was interested in the Franklin 
Institute of Philadelphia, whose iournals he read regularlv. One of the habits 
of his vouth was the studv of all kinds of farm machinery, a subject on which 
he was extremely well informed. He became a successful farmer, operating a 
larp^e acreage of land until middle life, when he devoted himself to the care 
of his landed and other interests in the vicinity of Bath. He was a strong 
Whig, and throughout the Civil War, which came in the closing years of his 




c:p,^yi/ %<:>-7-^u^ 



THK NEW YWK 
^'•'•UZ LIBRARY 



I ASTOK. LKNOX AND 
»XLt»fcN FOUNDATiONS 



BIOGRAPHICAL 453 

life, he contributed generously of his time and means to the supi)ort of the 
Union cause, also leading in the relief work of that time. He was a man of 
gentle, kindly manner, who greatly preferred a quiet walk in life to public 
notice, and was loved by his many friends. His business judgment was 
excellent, and his advice was often sought by his associates. He was a devoted 
member of the congregation of the Presbyterian church, which had held 
some of its first services in the home of James Horner, ancestor of the Horner 
family, and served the Allen Township Presbyterian Church as treasurer. 
Throughout a long life he won the regard and res]K"ct of his community by a 
quiet performance of his duty, and the years of his active life were productive 
of good to his fellows. 

Joseph Horner married, in 1839, Margaret, daughter of John and Ann 
(Hays) Wilson, and they were the parents of two children: i. Sallie Ann, 
born in the Irish settlement in 1840; was educated in the schools of the settle- 
ment and Dr. Jacob Belle\ille's Roseland Seminary, of Hartsville, Bucks 
county, Pennsylvania; married Baxter B. McClure, of Brandywine Manor, 
Chester county, Pennsylvania; she died in 1917. 2. Jane, born in the Irish 
settlement in 1845; was educated in the ])rivatc schools at home, the Acad- 
emy at Weaversville, Pennsylvania, and Dr. McCluskey's Young Ladies' 
.Seminary of Philadelphia; she is a lady of refined tastes and culture, widely 
and affectionately known throughout the locality. 

(The Wilson Line) 

Hugh Wilson, great-grandfather of Mrs. Horner, was born in Ireland, in 
1689. and married Sarah Craig in his native land. He later came to America 
and settled in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, with the Irish settlement. 
In 1740 he operated a grist-mill on the Hockandauqua creek, and was one of 
the first justices in this count}'. A large tract of land, seven hundred and 
thirty-five acres, was granted him in Hanovertown under patents of March 7, 
1737, and March 29, 1738. The children of the marriage of Hugh and Sarah 
(Craig) Wilson were: Samuel, Charles, of whom further; Francis, James, 
Thomas, Marv, Margaret and Elizabeth. 

Charles Wilson was born in Ireland, in 1726, and died in the prime of 
life, in 1766, in Northampton county. Pennsylvania. He married Margaret 
McNair, a descendant of John McNair. They had the following family : Sarah, 
Hugh, Christiana, John, of whom further; and Margaret. 

John W'ilson married Ann Hays, of the Irish settlement, and thev had 
children: Charles, Jane, William, Margaret, married Joseph (2) Horner, 
John and Marv. 



THE SHIMER FAMILY— The first American ancestor of the American 
family, whose representatives are found in Northampton and Lehigh counties, 
Pennsylvania, and in W'arrcn county. New Jersey, was Jacob Scheimer. The 
name also appears on old records as Scheumer, Sheymer, Shymer, and in 
other forms. 

Though he settled among the Hollanders and married a woman of that 
nativity, Jacob .Scheimer was, according to his family belief and record, of 
German extraction. The exact date of his arrival in America, however, is 
unknown, but it was prior to 1722, and he settled in Germantown. He was 
naturalized in 1730. The earlv Germantown settlers are noted in historv for 
their high standard of character, education, refinement, and general thrift. 
They left their fatherland not only to better their worldly condition, but to 
secure freedom of worship in Pcnn's liberal province. Jacob Scheimer was 
born in 1679. as appears in a record in the old W^illiams township church 
book, which is as follows: "Anno 1757, der 17th September ist Jacob Scheimei" 
an der reformirten kirchen begraben worden, 78 yahr alt." The exact location 
of his grave is' unknown, for the slate tombstones placed over the graves of 



454 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

the early settlers of Lower Saucon have long since crumbled to dust. The 
date of Jacob Scheimer's removal from Germantown is not known, but we 
have record of his residence in Van Bebber's township in the county of 
Philadelphia about 1729, and in Skippack about 1734. About 1736 he re- 
moved to the uplands above Rcdin<^ton, and his property extended down to 
the Lehigh river (referred to in the old deeds as the West branch of the 
Delaware) and included the present site of Redington. Jacob Scheimer was 
a Lutheran, as are the majority of his descendants. He died in 1757, and 
his interesting will was probated October 15 of that year, and is now on file 
in the register's office in Philadelphia, where, though the will is clearly 
signed "Jacob Scheimer," written in German, it is indexed under the name 
of Jacob Shinor. Jacob Scheimer was married twice. His first wife was 
Margaret Papen, fourth daughter of Heivcrt Papen, one of the incorporators 
of Germantown. Her mother was Elizabeth (Rittcnhouse) Papen, only 
daughter of William Rittenhouse, the first paper manufacturer of An-.erica. 
The marriage probably took place between 1720 and 1722. The children of 
this marriage were: Abraham, Anthony, Mrs. Elizabeth Vickerson, Mary, 
who married Michael Shoemaker, Mrs. Catherine Young and Sarah. The 
eldest, Capt. Abraham Scheimer, settled in the ]\Iinisink country, near the 
headwaters of the Delaware, where he wedded Lena Westbroeck, in 1749. He 
became a noted leader and expert rifleman in the Lidian wars of that region. 
One of the histories of New Jersey states that he kept account of the Indians 
he killed by cutting notches in his rifle stock, and there are many traditions 
of his exploits with wild beasts and savages. He is the head of that branch of 
the family of which the region about Port Jervis, New York, is the ancestral 
home. Jacob Scheimer's ifirst wife died some time between 1728 and 173a. 
His second wife, Elizabeth, survived him. The children of this marriage 
were: Jacob, born 1734, died 1764; Conrad; Samuel; Edward, born 1741, 
died 1815; Peter; Isaac, born 1749, died 1838; and John. 

Isaac Shimer, son of Jacob Scheimer, was a sergeant in Captain Kich- 
lein's company in the War of the Revolution, and took part in the desperate 
conflict known as the battle of Long Island. He survived this engagement, 
but was taken prisoner and incarcerated for a time on an island, from which 
he made his escape by swimming. He was, however, discovered when not 
far distant from shore, and was fired upon while in the water, but managed 
to make his escape. 

The sons, Jacob (2) and Edward Shimer, are the ancestors of nearlv all 
of the representatives of the name in the Lehigh Valley. Jacob (2) Shimer, 
born in 1734, married Rosina Seip, who was born in Odcnwald, Hesse- 
Darmstadt, September 7, 1739, and died in 1822. In the spring of 1751, her 
eldest brother, IMelchoir Seip, emigrated to America, landing at Philadelphia 
on September 14. He settled in Lehigh county. Soon after Melchoir Seip's 
emigration, his father died, and the widow, with her adult son Peter, her 
thirteen-year-old daughter Rosina, and her eleven-year-old son Jacob, fol- 
lowed Melchoir Seip' to America. The ship on which they sailed reached 
Philadelphia on September 22, 1752. The mother, however, died and was 
buried at sea. Jacob and Rosina Shimer had three sons : Peter, John and 
Samuel. Peter, through his son John, is the ancestor of the Shimers of War- 
ren county, New Jersey. John Shimer founded Shimersville, Lehigh county, 
and is the ancestor of' the" families of that county, including the Allento^yn 
branch. It is to this branch that the late Dr. Jacob S. Shimer, of Philadelphia, 
the genealogist of the family, belonged. Samuel Shimer, the third son. is 
the ancestor of the Shimers who settled near Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
among whom was Gen. Conrad Shimer and other well knovi-n men. 

Jacob (2) Shimer died at the age of thirty years, and his tombstone is 
the oldest and most interesting in the old Saucon graveyard. In due time 
his widow Rosina married Edward Shimer, the brother of her first husband. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 455 

In 1775 Edward Shimer built the large stone house which is still standing 
in an excellent state of preservation on the old plantation above Rcdington, 
and now belongs to the heirs of the late B. I'rank Shimer. Little is known 
of Edward Shimer save that he was a prosperous farmer, a good Lutheran, 
serving as elder in his church, and a patriotic member of the committee of 
safety, representing Lower Saucon in the Revolution. For nearly one hun- 
dred years Edward and Rosina (Seip) Shimer have been resting side by 
side in the old orchard on the home place, under large marble slabs covered 
with German inscriptions, in a wall-enclosed burial ground. l"he children of 
this marriage were three sons and a daughter: Jacob, born 1767, died 1845; 
Isaac, born 1769, died 1838; a son that died in infancy, and Susanna, liorn 
1776, died 1863. The daughter, Susanna, married James Bingham, of Phila- 
delphia. After his death she became the wife of Dr. Peter Von Steuben, a 
skillfid physician and a most interesting character. Tradition has it that he 
was a court physician to George III, but fell from favor because of his 
sympathy with the colonists in America, then struggling for independence. 
He was a relative of Baron Von Steuben, who came to this country to assist 
in winning independence for the nation, and commanded a portion of the 
army with the rank of general. The children of Isaac Shimer were: Charles, 
Jesse, Thomas, Lydda and Sarah Shimer. 

Jacob (3) Shimer, a son of Edward Shimer, in 1801 built the large stone 
homestead near the Lehigh river about a mile below Frecmansburg. lie was 
a very successful agriculturist, and devised a method of farming by proper 
rotation of crops so exactly suited to the conditions of the soil that he was 
most successful in his work ; his land yielded as much as fifty bushels of 
wheat per acre, and this won him a first prize in a State competition of 
methods of farming. He married Elizabeth Bcil, or Beyl, who was born in 
1772, and died in 1857. She was the daughter of John Beil, a prominent 
citizen of Lower Saucon and a member of the committee of safety in the 
Revolution. The children of this marriage were: John, born 1792, died 1878; 
Joseph, born 1795, died 187S: Edward; Isaac, liorn 1709. died 1863: Jacob; 
"Elizabeth, born 1805, died 1899; Samuel, born 1807, died 1897; and Abraham, 
born 1809, died 1881. Of this family, John married Marj^ Schweitzer, and 
settled in the village of Shimersville, Northampton county. Joseph married 
Catherine Ilublcr, and made his home in Mount Bethel township, Northamp- 
ton county. Edward married Hannah Lerch, and made his home in Forks 
township of the same county. Jacob married Fayette Keck, and removed to 
Bath, Pennsyhania. Isaac married Kate Apple, ami establis'icd himself in 
Shimersville. Elizabeth married Michael Butz, and lived in Easton. Samuel 
married Anna Kuhns, and removed to Illinois. Abraham married Margaretta 
Johnston, and remained on the old homestead. 

The first five generations of the Shimers were almost without exception 
prosperous farmers, cultivating their own broad acres by the help of their 
stalwart sons and hired men, and living -in comfort and plenty, in large stone 
houses so characteristic of the German settlements of Pennsylvania. In 1812 
Jacob (3) Shimer built an oil and grist-mill at the mouth of the Saucon creek, 
and around this as a nucleus grew the village of Shimersville. ?Iis son John, 
in 1824, built a plant for fulling, dyeing ancl finishing cloth. In 1837 George 
Shimer, son of John Shimer, took charge of the mill and continued in the 
manufacturing business there until 1872. In 1875 the firm of Shimer & Com- 
pany began the operation of a foundry and machine shop at Shimersville. 
The business has grown to be a large and important one, and is now con- 
ducted by the firm of William Shimer's Son & Company. Among other 
members of the family prominent as manufacturers was the late Samuel J. 
Shimer, and associated with him earlier in his career was his brother, George 
J. Shimer, now deceased, sons of Abraham Shimer. The firm of S. J. Shimer 
& Sons now owns and operates an extensive plant situated at Milton, Penn- 



456 northa:\ipton county 

sylvania, employing manj' hundreds of men in the manufacture of cutter 
heads and woodworking machinery — the inventions of members of the firm. 
A large part of the plant is that of the Milton Manufacturing Companj^ 
'manufacturers of nuts, bolts, washers and refined iron. The members of the 
Shimer family in the sixth and seventh generations are now very numerous 
and widely scattered, and among them are many who have won success in 
various lines of business, manufacturing, and in the professions. 



JAMES REED RAY — James Keed Ray, responsible business man and 
well regarded resident of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, in which citj' he has 
been active since 1912, was born Alay 10, i88g, at Big Cove Tannery, Penn- 
sylvania. He is the son of a patriot who served the country well during 
the trying years of the Civil War. Elliott Ray, father of James R. Ray, 
though only eighteen years at the termination of the Civil War, had experi- 
enced more than three years of dangerous war campaigning, serving two 
enlistments, the first as a member of the One Hundred and Twenty-eighth 
Pennsylvania Volunteers, and the second with the Twenty-first Pennsyl- 
vania Cavalry. Some time after that eventful period of national service, 
Elliott Ray settled in McConnellsburg, Pennsylvania, where he acquired 
land and took to agricultural pursuits, and later in life became interested 
in a flour milling company. He was a member of the Lutheran church, 
and lived a life of noteworthy Christian integrity. His death occurred on 
May 14, 1904, and caused universal regret in the community in which he 
had lived so exemplary a life, and particularly to his large family. His 

wife was Agnes Charlotte, daughter of and Rebecca Commerer, 

and twelve children were born to them. Mr. Ray's mother is still alive, 
and still resides in ^McConnellsburg, surviving five of her children. The 
seven children now living are : Charles Merrit. who followed his father in 
agricultural pursuits in McConnellsburg, is married, and has three children; 
Sabber Eugene, a retired baker of same place, and father of five children, 
all living ; Elliot Lloyd, a McConnellsburg farmer, married, but without 
issue ; Henry, who is a land owner and agriculturist at Waynesboro, Penn- 
sylvania, married, and has three children; Nellie, who married (first) Henry 
Trible, of ^McConnellsburg, to whom she bore three children, and (second) 
Denton Everts, of Sharpe, Pennsylvania, a farmer of that place, no children 
having been born to the latter marriage ; Emma Nora, who married Walter 
Rotz, formerly of McConnellsburg, but now of Chambersburg, where he is 
an emplovee of the Cumberland Railroad, and by whom she became the 
mother of three children; and James Reed, of further mention. Of the 
deceased children of Elliott and Agnes Charlotte (Commerer) Ray, Rebecca 
was married to Weston Lake, of Big Cove Tannery, Pennsylvania. She 
died in 1903. leaving three children. 

James Reed Ray was educated in elementary grades in the public 
school of his native place, later proceeding to the Soldiers' Orphan Industrial 
School, at Scotland, Pennsylvania. He received about the equivalent of high 
school education, with particular attention to some branch of the trade. The 
death of his father occurred some time after he had been apprenticed to the 
tailoring trade at Scotland, Pennsjdvania, and it then became more necessary 
that he apply himself even more earnestly to the trade, so as to become self- 
supporting as early as possible. In 1908 he entered the John J. Mitchell 
Cutting School at New York, where, in one of the best schools of the East, 
he developed into a skilled cutter, and eventually became a merchant tailor, 
in independent business. It was in 1912 when he opened a tailoring estab- 
lishment in the city of Bethlehem, beginning in a humble and unostentatious 
way. His skill as a tailor, combined with good business aptitude, however, 
steadilv advanced him among an increasing circle of customers, and devel- 
oped his business in six years to such an extent that he had to transfer his 
business, in 1918, to the building he now occupies. He opened at his present 



BIOGRAPHICAL 457 

location on February 5, 1918, and there, in more commodious quarters and 
with mcreased stock, he was able to cater to the ever-increasing demands 
tor his workmanship. He now is conducting a very substantial and satis- 
factory business, and takes care that his stock, styles and everything per- 
taining to the business is up-to-date. 

iVlr. Ray has been too much engrossed in the development and demands 
of hi', own business to l)e able to give much of his time to public matters. 
He is a member of the Chamber of Commerce, and by political allegiance 
is a Rei)ublican, but has not been able to take active part. He is identified 
with some of the leading fraternal organizations, including the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
the Union Wheelmen of Bethlehem. Of the last-named he is financial secre- 
tary, and a member of the board of governors. His father's worthy National 
record lias also made him a member of the Sons of Veterans. Mr. Ray is a 
member of the Lutheran church, attending Grace Church of Bethlehem. 

Mr. Ray married, February 20, 1917, at Monessen, Pennsylvania, Louise 
Elizabeth, daughter of James Filson and Nellie (Mellott) Boore, of Bedford 
county, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Ray was well educated; she graduated at Ever- 
ett High School, and also at Slipjiery Rock Normal School, of Slip])ery Rock, 
Pennsylvania. For three years prior to her marriage she was a teacher in the 
public schools of Monessen, Pennsylvania. Both her parents are still living, 
and her father holds prominent place as a publicist in Bedford county. He 
is a very able man, and has been one of the leaders of the Republican party 
in that county for many years, and has held many local offices. Mr. and 
Mrs. Ray have one child, a son, James Edward, who was born at Bethlehem, 
March 11, igi8. 



REV. ANSELM MURN, O.F.M.— Rev. Murn's entire life has been de- 
voted to religious work as a pastor and missionary. Pie was born in Carniola, 
Jugoslavia, August 29, 1875, son of Frank and Josephine Murn, his father a 
farmer. He attended the local schools and gymnasium, and upon the com- 
pletion of his theological studies became a priest of the Order of Friars 
Minor. His present charge is St. Joseph's Catholic Slovenian Church, of 
Bethlehem, and his work among the foreign-born residents of the Bethlehem 
district is large and important. Rev, Murn is a member of the Carniolian 
Slovenian Catholic Union, the Croatian National Union, and the Knights of 
Columbus, and although lo- al in his Americanism is no less devoted in his 
s mpathy for his cotmtrymen in their native home, for whom so vigorous 
a fight has been waged by the forces of right in the council of nations. Rev. 
Murn's pastoral work in Bethlehem covers a period of six years. He organ- 
ized the congregation and built the second finest church of Slovenian Cath- 
olic people in America. 



CHARLES E. GOODENOUGH— Trained from youth in the line that 
he has made his major interest, Mr. Goodenough, as owner of the Goodenough 
Piano Company, of Bethlehem, is the head of one of the largest enterprises 
of its kind in this section of Pennsylvania. He is a son of William E. and 
Elizabeth (Cameron) Goodenough, and grandson of Ralph L. Goodenough. 
William E. Goodenough died in November, 1905, engaged in dealings in 
musical instruments at the time of his death. 

Charles E. Goodenough was born in Newark, New Jersey, May 25, 1885, 
and attended the public schools, grammar and high. In early manhood he 
beran to learn his present business, associated in various capacities in piano 
manufacturing with his uncle, Charles E. Cameron, owner of the Lauter 
Piano Company of Newark, New Jersey, until 1910. He came to Bethlehem 
in that year, and was employed with cousins in retail piano dealings, in 191 T 
becoming a member of the firm of the Cameron Piano Company, estab- 



458 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

lished b}' his relatives. In 1915 Mr. Goodenough purchased their interests, 
and since that time has conducted his operations independently as the Good- 
enough Piano Company, the business developing to such an extent that the 
old quarters at No. 73 South Main street were outgrown and a new location 
found at Nos. 532-536 Main street, which property Mr. Goodenough pur- 
chased and is the present home of the company. The Lauter, Davenport- 
Treac}% Milton, Weser, Schenke and other high grade manufactures of 
pianos are carried by the company, its stock including piano and player- 
pianos. Columbia Grafonolas, Pathephones and records, a large selection of 
sheet music and cabinets, benches, etc. It is widely and favorably known, 
and under ]\Ir. Goodenough 's able direction has become a vigorous, pros- 
perous business, supplying in a competent mannner a real need in the Beth- 
lehem community. Mr. Goodenough is a Republican in political belief, and 
fraternally is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He is a member of the Protestant Episcopal church. 

Mr. Goodenough married, in New York City, November 27, 1917, Flor- 
ence, daughter of George B. and Laura Jane Deemer. of Hellertown, Pennsvl- 
vania, her father a well known resident of that district. >.Irs. Goodenough, 
an only child, was graduated with honors from the Allentown College for 
Women, at Allentown, Pennsylvania, in the class of 1904. 



ELI SYLVESTER MANTZ, M.D.— In an old graveyard at New 
Tripoli, Lynn township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, is buried a man bear- 
ing the name, Jacob Mantz, born about 1740. The family is one of the oldest 
of that township, and has many spellings in the old records, Alance, Mans, 
Manse, and Jilantz- being the varied forms of spelling the name. From this 
family comes Dr. Eli Sylvester Mantz, who for eighteen years, 1901-ig, has 
been a successful practicing physician of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. Mantz is a great-grandson of Jacob Mantz, who appears on the tax 
list of 1812 as a property owner in Lynn township, Lehigli county. Jacob 
Mantz married Anna M. Wertman, of Lynn township, and they were the par- 
ents of an onl}^ child, Elias. born at the homestead. May i, 1814, died at this 
homestead in 1871. He was educated in the district school, and all his life- 
time was a resident of Lynn township. He married Anna, daughter of Peter 
George, of Lowhill township, Lehigh county, and they were the parents also 
of an only child, Phaon Wilson Mantz, father of Dr. Eli Sylvester Mantz, 
of Bethlehem. 

Phaon \Mlson Mantz was born at the old homestead in Lynn township, 
Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. June 9, 1843, and died August 21, 1917. He 
grew to manhood at his home residence, obtained his education in the public 
schools, and after completing his studies taught school for several years in 
several townships of Lehigh county. Later he bought a farm in Heidel- 
berg township, and soon afterwards opened a store at Saegersville. Lehigh 
county, sixteen miles from Allentown. He also owned a store at Slatedale, 
near Slatington, where he held interests in the slate industry. Pie was suc- 
cessful throughout his entire career, especialh' as a mcrchpnt and business 
man. He held several local offices, assessor and school director. He was a 
Republican in politics, and a man highly resyiected. On June 6. 1867, he 
married Senia Snyder, daughter of Stephen Snvder, of Saegersville, Penn- 
sylvania, both being members of the Reformed church. Mr. and Mrs. P. W. 
Mantz were the parents of four sons and a daughter: Eli Sylvester, of fur- 
ther mention ; Howard, married Flausa Bachman ; Ulysses, married Elizabeth 
Ziengenfus ; Tevillia, married Quincy A. Stettler, of Slatington ; Gillespie, died 
in infancy. 

Dr. Eli Sylvester Mantz, eldest son of Phaon Wilson and Senia CSny- 
der) Mantz, was born in Saegersville, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. Decem- 
ber 30, 1872. He there obtained his public school education. He was a stu- 



lUE NEW Yv«< 

pin-!' n ' 'PiJARY 



ASTClr<, Ur.Nl;X ANB 
« 1- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 459 

dent at Keystone State Normal School, then entered Ursinus College, l)ut the 
following year matriculated at Muhlenberg College, Allentown, Pennsylvania, 
and there comi)leted his literary education. Deciding upon the medical pro- 
fession, he selected his uncle, Dr. L. A. Snyder, of Ashland, Schuylkill county, 
as his tutor. Then he entered Hahnemann Medical College, Philadelphia, 
whence he was graduated an M.D., class of 1899. He received the Pennsyl- 
vania State medical diploma in June of the same year. Afterwards he took 
a post-graduate course at the Polytechnic College and Hospital, Philadcl]>hia, 
and in 1901 located in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and began the ])ractice of 
medicine and surgery. He has thoroughly endeared himself to Bethlehem- 
ities, and has a large practice among the substantial families of the city. His 
practice is general in character, and he ranks as one of the most skillful and 
honorable practitioners of his city. 

Dr. Mantz is a member of the American Institute of Homoeopathy, Penn- 
sylvania Homoeopathic Medical Society, the Lehigh Valley Plomoeopathic 
Medical Society, and in these societies has won the respect and esteem of his 
professional brethren. He is a member of the Bethlehem Club, the Univer- 
sity Club, and the Alpha Tau Omega fraternity. In religious affiliations 
he is a mend)er of Christ Reformed Church. 



JAMES A. G. MICKLEY— The traditions of this familv assert that orig- 
inally the Michelets were French Huguenots who fled from their native 
land to avoid persecution. In America they descend from Theobald Mech- 
ling, whose sons fought to preserve the liberties of their native land. The 
ship James Goodwill arrived in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, September 11, 1728, 
with about ninety natives of the Palatinate on board, one of them being 
Theobald Mechling, the founder of the Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, family 
of Mechling, and his brother Jacob. The Mechling brothers settled in Ger- 
mantown (Philadelphia) and there established a tannery. In 1734, Theobald 
Mechling obtained a grant of land, one hundred and seventy acres, in Lower 
Milford township, Northampton (now Lehigh) county, from Thomas and 
Richard Penn, proprietors of the province of Pennsylvania, the parchment 
establishing this grant yet being preserved in the family. Theobald Mech- 
ling moved his family to this grant and built a house near Hosenback, which 
is still standing. He was one of the founders of the old Lutheran church 
near Dillingersville, and his subscription of fifteen shillings to the pastor's 
salary made him one of the three largest contributors. He died in April, 
1765, and was buried with his wife, Anna Elizabeth, in the old graveyard near 
Dillingersville, which is still preserved, although the old church no longer 
exists. He had five sons : John Theobald, John Peter, John Jacob, Philip 
and Thomas. His daughters were : Anna Margaret and Anna Elizabeth. 
'J"he estate in Lower Milford township, valued at four hundred pounds, was 
left to his son Thomas, who had to pay the other heirs twenty-five pounds 
yearly until their shares amounting to two hundred and thirty-six pounds, 
thirteen shillings and four pence were discharged, and they all signed a deed 
of release dated January 23, 1773. All of these sons save Thomas later 
moved to Northumberland county, Pennsylvania, where a second Mechling 
family line was established, a Mechling family association now existing with 
more than two thousand members. This branch descends through the third 
son, John Jacob Mechling, born February 28, 1747, and his wife Katherine, 
who moved from Lehigh to Northumberland county, Pennsylvania. 

This John Jacob Mechling was a patriot of the Revolution, and was one 
of the men who, upon the approach of the British Army in 1777, took the 
Liberty Bell from its place in Independence Hall belfry in Philadelphia to 
Allentown. and secreted it in old Zion's Reformed Church to prevent its falling 
into the hands of the enemy. Thomas Mechling, youngest brother of John 
Jacob Mechling, was a lieutenant of Northampton county militia, and served 
m the Revolution ; John Theobald was an ensign and wounded at the battle 



46o NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

of Long Island; and Philip Mechling also served as an ensign. Thus, in the 
second generation, these sons oi the founder recompensed their native State 
for the kindness shown to their alien lather. John Jacob Mechling was the 
grandfather of Peter Mechling, who married Elizabeth Burkhalder, whose 
son Uavid Mickley, as the name irom now on is spelled, is still living at 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, aged ninety-two years, September 2, 1918. tie 
married Mary Frantz, who died in 1886, her husband having now survived 
her thirty-two years. They were the parents of eight children : Albert J., 
of further mention ; Amanda K.. Ellen J., Henry, Margaret, and three sons 
vkfho died young. 

Albert J. Mickley, eldest son of David and Mary (Frantz) Mickley, was 
born in North Whitehall township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and there 
spent the years of his youth in farming. Later he entered railroad employ, 
settled in Easton, Pennsylvania, where he died at his home. No. 803 Packer 
street. August 9, 1908, aged sixty years. He was a member of the Reformed 
church, and a man of honorable, upright life. He married, in Allentown, 
Emma R. Brader, who survives him, residing at the old home on Packer 
street. She is of the Methodist faith. They were the parents of four chil- 
dren: James A. G., of further mention; Irving, of Easton; Edgar D., resid- 
ing at home ; Mary Alice, deceased. 

James A. G. Mickley, eldest son of Albert J. and Emma R. (Brader) 
Mickley. was born in Allentown, Pennsylvania, on Chew street, October 17, 
1880. South Easton soon afterward became the family home, and there he 
was educated in the public schools. He first attended the old Webster school, 
his first teacher being J. Irving Snyder. He completed the grammar school 
grades and spent one year in high school, his last teacher, A. J. Le Bar, now 
supervising principal of Easton school. At the age of fifteen he left school 
and entered the employ of the R. H. Simon Silk Mill, first going to the 
spinning, then to the weaving department. Mill work did not appeal to him, 
and he apprenticed himself to the Ingersoll-Sergeant Drill Company, and for 
four years he served faithfully, acquiring the machinist's trade. After be- 
coming a journeyman machinist he remained with the Ingersoll-Sergeant 
Drill Company for eight years longer, going thence to the erecting shop of 
the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, in Easton, continuing with that com- 
pany until January 9, 1915. when he resigned to accept his present position, 
superintendent of Hays Cemetery in South Easton. He is a member of St. 
Peter's Reformed Church of South Easton, and since 1909 has held the office 
of treasurer, a post held by his honored father for twelve yeurs. He is also 
secretary of the church consistory, and active in the varied forms of church 
work. He is a member of Columbia Lodge No. 139, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows; secretary of Red Wing Tribe No. 170, Improved Order of Red 
Men; secretary of William Penn Chamber No. 30, Order of Knights of 
Friendship ; South Easton Council No. 590, Fraternal Patriotic Americans. 
He is a Republican in politics, and for five years served as a meml^er of 
Easton Common Council from the Twelfth Ward, has served on the election 
board several times, has been a delegate to county conventions, and was 
appointed alderman from the Twelfth Ward by Governor Brumbaugh to fill 
out the unexpired term of W. Ascher Mutchler, deceased. 

Mr. Mickley married, in Stewartsville, New Jersey, Flannah A. Cole. 
She is a member of St. Peter's Reformed Church, and like her husband inter- 
ested in many of the church activities. They were the parents of two daugh- 
ters : Emma Alice and Ruth Myrtle. 



FRANKLIN CHRISTIAN STOUT— In 1S57. Dr. Abram Stout retired 
from the practice of medicine in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and was succeeded 
by another Abram Stout, his nephew, whose preceptor he had been until 
admitting him as partner. The first Dr. Abraham Stout was a son of Isaac 
Stout, Sr., a farmer of Williams township, Northampton county, Pennsyl- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 461 

vania, until his death at the a^c of cicfhty years, and a grandson of Jacob 
Stout, a native of Hcssc-Darmstadt, Germany, who came to the United States, 
settled in Williams township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and 
founded a family. 

I'ranklin C. Stout, son of Dr. Ahram Stout, .q-randson of Isaac Stout, and 
great-grandson of Jacob Stout, the founder, was born in Graccland, Maryland, 
March 9, 1837, but when a child was brought to Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 
He was educated in the Moravian Parochial School at Bethlehem, and Naza- 
reth ITall. Nazareth, Pennsylvania, completing the courses of both institu- 
tions. He entered business I'fe in 1873 as an employee of the Beaver Brook 
Coal Compan. , and for forty-five '^ ears has been continuously in the service 
of that company, being now its treasurer. The old company name has 
ceased to exist, but the business which is now conducted as the Charles M. 
Dodson Coal Company is the same. Mr. Stout wa.s elected treasurer, having 
worked his way upward from the bottom. 

In 1862, Mr. Stout enlisted in Company C, One Hundred and Twcntj^- 
ninth Regiment, Volunteer Infantry, commanded by Colonel J. C. Frick. of 
Pottsvillc, and served nine months, seeing hard and active service. In 1863, 
when General I-ec invaded Pennsylvania, Mr. Stout recruited a company of 
ninety day men, to repel the invader, marching with them at the call, which 
reached him while in church. Before nightfall he had gathered his com- 
pany and was on his way with them to the front. lie has been very suc- 
cessful in all his business undertakings, and is one of Bethlehem's solid, sub- 
stantial, and highly esteemed citizens, and a devoted member of the Mora- 
vian church. 

Mr. Stout married, June 10, 1864. Clara O. ClcwcU, daughter of Philip 
Clewell, of Schoeneck, a Moravian settlement north of Nazareth, Pennsyl- 
vania. Children: i. Robert Paul, k'lled in an ex])Iosion at the Bethlehem 
Steel Company, he at that time being fortv-six years of age; he married Emma 
W. Walle, and they had two sons: i. Rnliert Paul, Jr., who served as first 
lieutenant in the United States army, in XA'orld War, participated in the bat- 
tle of Argonne P'orest, severely wounded in right shoulder and left arm, but 
after recovering was again in act've service, later being ass'gned to Paris, 
where he is attending the University of Serbonne, pursuing French and law 
courses; he is a graduate of Harvard, and a practicing attorney. , ii. Frank 
Walle, who served as second lieutenant in the United States armv, in World 
War, servin? at Fort Sheridan. Austin, Texas, and Galveston. Texas, where 
he was medical student drill officer; after the armistice returned to Austin, 
Texas, then was transferred to Holioken, New Jersey, from there was sent 
to Camp Merritt, where he was a receiving officer of men returning from over- 
seas service. 2. Louis F'rederick, died at the age of seven years. 



WILLIAM HENRY REPSHER— Now little more than past the prime 
of life, Mr. Repsher rev'ews a life of unusual activity eventualh- crowned with 
abundant success. William FI. Repsher was born at Butztown, Northampton 
coimty, Pennsylvania, midway between Easton and Bethlehem, December 3, 
i860, son of Joseph D. and Anna Matilda (Buss) Repsher. Joseph D. Rep- 
sher was born in Monroe county, Penns' Ivania ; his wife near Farmersville, 
Northampton county. In early da- s he was a boatman on the canal, but 
when war broke out between the States he enlisted in the Union armv, and 
on October 10. 1864, was killed at the batt'e of Cedar Creek in the Shenan- 
doah Valle" of ^'ir£rinia. He served under Gen. Philip Sheridan, .-md a valued 
memento in the family is a letter written the da" before he was killed. 

Josenh D. Repsher left three children, r^nd bv pluck and hard work the 
bereaved w'fe kept her family tofrether. The struggle was a hard one. and 
once she took the children to the countv infirmary and left them, coming 
the following Sunday to visit. She asked permission to take the children for 



462 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

a walk, and when out of sight hurried away, never bringing them back. The 
children were : William Henry, of whom further ; Samuel, who is 3'et a resi- 
dent of Bethlehem; Alary Etta, who married Joseph Kretzer, of Freemans- 
burg, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Repsher died in Bethlehem, aged forty-six years, 
a woman of rare devotion and force of character. 

William Henry Repsher was a lad of but six and one-half years when 
he began earning a few pennies daily to help his mother provide for the other 
children. He secured a job on the canal as a mule driver, and until he was 
seventeen years of age he was employed on the canal in some capacity. He 
grew up a strong, healthy lad, very industrious and of steady habits. He 
finally quit the canal and spent a year in farm work; then began learning 
the milling business at Freemansburg, Pennsylvania. He was to receive 
fifty dollars yearly with his board while learning, and for a time he held on 
to the place, but afterwards he went to South Bethlehem and entered the 
employ of the Bethlehem Iron Company. He worked for that company at 
various times, the pay then being one dollar and five cents daily for labor, 
and work not alwaj'S plentiful. He finally saved enough money to buy a 
team, which he at once put to work on the towpath of the canal. This was 
a common practice for team owners during the summer months, the teams 
being used for other purposes after the canal closed in the winter. From 
the canal the young man went to the railroad as a section hand, working 
first for the Lehigh Valley, then going to the New Jersey Central. He next 
was a rail driller at the Bethlehem Iron Works, then boated on the Morris 
and Essex canal for one season, then returned to the iron works. This 
brought him to the age of twenty-one years, and that year he located in 
Jersey Citv, and for a season boated on the Raritan canal across New Jersey 
to the Delaware, and on the Erie canal across New York from Albany to 
Buffalo. He then returned to Bethlehem, where he was employed in a brick 
yard, and was later hired by Mrs. M. B. Hoftls, of the Eagle Hotel, and while 
there embarked on a business venture which promised well but which resulted 
badly. Mrs. Hoffis financed the purchase of a bunch of hogs, Mr. Repsher 
agreeing to feed and market them for one-half the profits. But the hogs were 
attacked by a fatal disease, and there were no profits to divide. From the 
hotel he went to the zinc works, where he remained for one year, followed 
by four years as lineman with the Bethlehem Electric Light Company. 

Thevaried experiences through which he had passed had sharpened his 
wits and he was keenly alive to any opportunity. Occasion presented itself 
to him in Bethlehem, and while it looked small it was the foundation of his 
fortune and has only recently been abandoned. This was the gathering of 
ashes from all the houses he could get to give ashes to him at a weekly cost 
of ten cents. He secured a great number of patrons, bought a horse and 
wagon for the work, and did a profitable business. He expanded, hired help, 
and this led to contracts with the borough for the removal of garbage. This 
business grew into a profitable and important one, which he long continued. 
With his business well founded and profitable, he sought other lines of enter- 
prise, and about i8Sq established a coal and wood yard which he developed 
into a large and profitable retail coal and wood business. In this undertak- 
ing he was assisted by his sons, but thev went to the war at the call of their 
country, and in addition help became so difficult a problem that Mr. Repsher 
in April, iqi8, sold out his coal business and retired, having previously given 
up his garbage contracts. On February 6, IQIQ, he rebought the business 
on account of his three sons returning from the battlefields of France, and 
they now operate the same. 

Mr. Repsher has the right to review his career with pride, for he has 
won success from most discouraging circumstances, and today is one of the 
substantial men of his community.' He has been too much occupied with 
business to mingle in political affairs, but he has not been unmindful of his 



I 



TKE NEW YOiiK 
Pf^BLIC LIBRARY 

"H, LENOX ANt) 
-N POUNDATfONs 





5Ci<>»cea>£.^^^ 



RIOGRAPPIICAL 4^>3 

responsibilities as a good citizen. Me is a member of Holy Infancy Roman 
Catholic Church; the Fraternal Order of Eaj^^les, and the Loyal Order of 
Moose. He has won his success fairly, has wronged no man, and is well liked 
and respected. 

Mr. Repsher married (lirst) in November, 1884, Catherine Reagan, who 
died November 21, igo/, daughter of Patrick and Mary Reagan. They were 
the parents of thirteen children: i. Jose])h VV. 2. William, married Cath- 
erine Auer, and has three children: William Henry; Mary, married Adam 
Reiner; and Anna, married William Burns. 3. John Thomas, unmarried, 
was with the American Expeditionary I'^orces in France. 4. Thomas John, 
unmarried, served with the American Espeditionary Forces in France. 5. 
Robert J., was also in France. 6. Mary. 7. Catherine. 8. Agnes. 9. James. 10. 
William Flenry. 11. Helen. 12. Lizzie, deceased. 13. A boy who died in 
infancy. Mr. Repsher married (second), April 4, 1908, Bridget O'Horn, 
daughter of John and Margaret O'Horn, both of whom were born in Ireland 
and both deceased. Of second marriage seven children were born: Mildred, 
died at the age of one year; Margaret, Clement, Paul, Edward, Charles, and 
Wilfred. The family are all members of the Holy Infancy Roman Catholic 
Church. The family home is at No. 311 East I'-ourth street, and Mr. Repsher 
is exceedingly fond of that home and is deeply interested, as all parents are, 
in the welfare of his large family of sons and daughters. 



HENRY PRUNARET— As vice-president and manager of the John 11. 
Meyer Silk Mills Company, a corporation operating four mills, with its main 
office and two mills at Northampton, Mr. Prunaret occupies a leading posi- 
tion in the company and in the silk manufacturing business, the company's 
line being broad and fancy broad silks. His rise in the business has been 
phenomenal, considering the fact that he spent his first twenty-one years in 
another land, and not until 1879 did his American residence begin, and then 
several years were spent before he could rightly demonstrate his value. But 
he had been thoroughly trained in silk manufacture by his able father in his 
native France, and when the young man had acquired the English tongue 
and American customs he advanced rapidly to responsible position. He was 
born in Cevennes, an old district of France, formerly divided into Gevaudan. 
Velay, Vivarais and Cevennes proper, the last now chiefly included in the 
department of The Card. His father, Henry Prunaret, was a silk manufac- 
turer of Cevennes, who there lived and died. He married Henrietta Thcys- 
sier, and they were the parents of several children, one of whom, Henry, is 
the principal character dealt with in this review. 

Henry Prunaret was born November 21, 1859, and spent the years of his 
minority in his native Cevennes, France, acquiring an education and a good 
knowledge of silk manufacture. His education included courses in commer- 
cial and trade schools, and his knowledge of the silk-making was taught him 
in the silk manufacturing city of Lyons. France, and by his well informed 
father He came to the United States in 1879, not yet having reached legal 
age but well informed and capable. He arrived in New York City a com- 
plete stranger, totally ignorant of the language, but with a stout heart and 
the will to^conquer. He began as an of^ce clerk with the Poidebard Sdk 
Manufacturing Company of West Hoboken, New York, starting at twelve 
dollars weekly, rising through sheer merit and forceful personality through 
many promotions to' the position of assistant manager of the company He 
made no change in employer for twenty-five years but finallv in 1906 he 
resigned his position to accept a similar one with the Home Silk Manufac- 
turing Companv, of Haverstraw, New York. He most satisfactorily filled 
that Dosition foV three years, then yielded to the offers of his old employers, 
the Poidebard Silk Manufacturing Company, and returned to their emp oy, 
but as general manager. For five years he continued in that position, then 



464 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

again resigned to become general manager of the John H. Meyer Silk Mills 
Company, and moved his residence to Northampton, Pennsylvania, the seat 
ol the company's mill office and the location of their Mills No. i and j, the 
other iiills Nos. 3 and 4, being at Bloomsburg, New Jersey, and Weatherly, 
Pennsylvania. The New York office and salesrooms of the company are at 
Nos. 50-54 Union square. New York. The company bears the name of its 
founder and president, John H. Meyer, and is one of the most successful 
broad silk manufacturing companies of the State. Mr. Prunaret is also a mem- 
ber of the board of directors and vice-president of the company, his expert 
knowledge gained through a lifetime of practical connection with the silk 
business, rendering him an important factor in the company's success. He 
is general manager in Northampton, and has under his personal direction 1 
large number of operatives in whom he feels a genuine interest and who 
have for him the highest esteem. 

Genial in nature, and of attractive personality, he wins friends wherever 
known, while his genuine, manly character holds them to him as with bands 
of steel. He is interested in borough affairs and in borough institutions, his 
aid and advice given freely to further all projected improvements. He be- 
longs to lodge, chapter and commandery of the Masonic order, is a noble of 
the Mystic Shrine, a member of Zion Lutheran Church, and a Republican in 
politics. He reviews his American career with satisfaction, and his many 
friends are the best evidence that he is well appreciated and esteemed. 

j\Ir. Prunaret married (first) in 18S2. Julia Manson, born in France, who 
died without issue. He married (second).' in West Hoboken, New Jersey, in 
1808, Freda Schopman, of Hoboken, New Jersey, and they have two children: 
Henry (2), born in 1900, now a student of Lehigh College, Bethlehem, Penn- 
sylvania ; and Frances, born in 190S. 

ROY L. GEEHR — Eastern Pernsvlvpnia. the birthplace of Ro- L. 
Geehr, has also been the scene of his business activities, wHh the excep- 
tion of a short period spent in connection with the automobile industry in 
New York He is a son of Frank P. Geehr. who until his death in TQ02 was a 
prominent shoe merchant of Easton. Frank P. G^^ehr was born m 1840. and 
for the greater part of his life was identified with the busmess circles ot 
Easton He was a devoted member of the Reformed church, a member of 
the official board for twenty-seven years, in char-e of its choir until a year 
prior to his death, and between that church and his home he divided all of 
his time not required bv his large business. He was a member of the Junior 
Order of United American T^Iechanics and also of the Royal Arcanum. He 
married Emma Kilpatrick, of Freemansburg, Pennsvlvan-a. who survives him 
(iQig), a resident of Easton, at the famil • home. Frank P. and Emma Kd- 
patrick) Geehr were the parents of: Roy L., of whom further: Stnn'ey. born 
in 1881, associated with the Snyder Boot & Shoe Company ot Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, married Cora Koch, of Easton, and they are the parents of two 

^'"'"^Rov L Geehr was born in Freemansburc:. Pennsylvania. Fe^^^ry 0, 
1870 He attended school in Easton. gradnatinsr from Easton Hieh School 
in the class of 1807. after which he Pursued commercial studies m the same 
dtv For nine vears after the completion of his schoolinc:. Mr. Geehr was 
secretary to Herman Simon, a silk manufnctnr^r o Easton. then becomm«^ 
secretarv and assistant treasurer of the Mack Brothers MotorCumnnnv of 
Al entown. also serving this firm as nuditor. Th-s 1'-^«or connection contmned 
f'\^yo years after which Mr. Geehr accented the position of auditor of the 
Maxwell Bri'coe Company, automobile manufacturers, at Tarrytown.N.vv 
York where he remained until, after two years, faibncr heaHh comnji'M h-m 
to re;i^n In TO07 Mr. Geehr's present connection with the Leh-h Stor.P^e 
Compa;" o Beth ehem began, when he became secretary of the company. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 465 

Upon the death of Mr. Kratz in October, 1917, he succeeded to full manage- 
ment of the affairs of this prosperous concern, and has since continued as 
secretary and general manager of the company, i le has directed its inter- 
ests with the ability of experience and thorough knowledge, and during the 
two years of his administration the business has expanded along strong, 
progressive lines. In addition to his business activity, Mr. Gechr engages in 
farming and poultry raising on a large scale. He specializes in the produc- 
tion of fruit, raising some remarkably fine crops, while his chicken runs 
contain specimens of finely bred stock with excellent laying records. 

Mr. Geehr is, like his honored father, a student and lover of music, and 
both in Easton and Bethlehem has been active in musical circles. In Easton 
he led the choir of the Reformed church, while in his jiresent home he directs 
the music of the Sunday school. He fraternizes with the Masonic order, 
belonging to Solomon Lodge, of Tarrytown, New York, and he is a believer 
in Rci)ublican political principles. His business and personal interests have 
precluded his taking active part in public affairs. 

Roy L. Geehr married, in February, 1902, Jennie, daughter of Adam and 
Kate (Oyer) Christman, of Easton, Pennsylvania, her father a merchant of 
that city. Mr. and Mrs. Geehr are the parents of Donald E., born March 20, 
1903, a student in Bethlehem High School. In 1917, Mr. and Mrs. Geehr 
adopted a live-year-old daughter, Evangeline D. 



WILLIAM F. BECK — At his home two and one-half miles east of Naza- 
reth, in Lcjwer Nazareth township, and about five miles west of Centre square, 
Easton, on the Turnpike road, William F. Beck died January 22, 1919. He 
was a son of Henry J. and Adeline (Biery) Beck. 

Henry J. Beck was born March 7, 1821, and died April 13, 1882, his 
birthplace the farm which his great-grandfather had secured direct from the 
Fennsylvanians. That old farm has never been owned outside of the Beck 
family. Henry J. Beck was the son of George H. Beck, who was a son of 
John Beck, the first of the family to be born in the United States, and the 
latter a son of the emigrant ancestor. Each generation head, in turn, passed 
most of his life on the old farm, and when life's course was ended, were buried 
in the cemetery of the Hecktown Lutheran Church. Adeline (Biery) Beck 
was born in 1830 in Catasauqua, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and died in 
Lower Nazareth in 1894. 

George H. Beck was born in 1799. and died in 1880. His wife, Elizabeth 
(Johnson) Beck, died in 1876. They were the parents of nine sons and two 
daughters, all of whom grew to years of maturity : Henry J., Jacob, Simon P., 
William G., John. James, Charles. Samuel J., Stephen, Elizabeth and Salvina. 
All of this family married and passed to their reward after lives of usefulness. 

Henry J. Beck passed his life at the old farm, and there built a new resi- 
dence. He married, and his children were : William F., of further mention ; 
Alavesta C, married Milton A. Dech, who is now living retired at Bath, 
Pennsylvania; she died May 13, 1917; Alan, who died at the age of two years. 

^\'illiam F. Beck was born at the home farm in Lower Nazareth, Novem- 
ber 4, 1851. and there he spent the years, until 1873. ^^ '^^''^^ educated in 
district and private schools, and for four years taught school. He then 
became his father's assistant and eventually succeeded him in the ownership 
of the farm. Mr. Beck married. October 4, 1873, Sibylla M. Ehret, daughter 
of Joseph and Angelina (Vest) Ehret, who wa.s born on the Ehret home farm, 
where she still resides. Her father, Joseph Ehret, was born on the same 
farm, August 16, 1819, and there died June 22, 1907. His wife Angelina died 
October 2, 1899, aged seventy-two years, five months, twenty-six days. Jos- 
eph Ehret was a son of George and Margaret (Ritter) Ehret. George Ehret 
was born on the old Ehret farm, where he died in the fall of 1873, asred 
seventy-seven years, son of John Ehret. His wife Margaret survived him 

N. n. BIOG.— 30 



466 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

to the great age of ninety-five years and six months, and ended her long life 
at the Ehret farm in Lower Nazareth. 

In the spring of 1875, William F. Beck took charge of the Ehret home- 
stead farm and managed it for Joseph Ehret, his father-in-law, who at his 
death willed it to his only child, Sibylla M., wife of William F. Beck. This 
farm of one hundred and twenty-five acres is located in Lower Nazareth 
township, two and one-half miles from Nazareth square. The old buildings 
on the farm were erected by George H. Ehret in 1842. The present house 
was built in 1901 by Joseph Ehret, and stands on the opposite side of the 
road from the old farm house built in 1842. The old barn was built in 1836 
by George H. Ehret, who spent his last years at the old farm, as did his son 
Joseph. Mrs. William F. Beck later inherited the old Ehret farm from her 
father. Joseph Ehret served as poor director of Lower Nazareth and held 
other township offices. He was a Democrat in politics, and a member of the 
Hecktown Reformed Church. He also owned a farm of one hundred acres 
in Crystal Springs, which was sold to the Cement Company. Mrs. Beck 
inherited also, at the time of her husband's death, January 22, 1919, the one 
hundred and fort}' acre Beck homestead farm, about two miles distant from 
the old Ehret homestead, which is cultivated for her by a tenant farmer, her 
husband leaving this to her at the time of his death. 

Mr. Beck was a Democrat in politics, served on the School Board and as 
township auditor. In 1902 he was elected a member of the Pennsylvania 
House of Assembly, and in 1906 was again the successful candidate of his 
party for the Legislature, and during the 1907 session served on the Com- 
mittee of Agriculture. For years he was active in the County Fair Associa- 
tion, and was instrumental in securing State aid for the fair. He took an 
active part in securing the repeal of the law under which poor directors 
received increased salaries. Mr. Beck took part in several floor discussions 
and did valuable committee work. He served as delegate to several State 
conventions, and for nine years was a member of the State Board of Agri- 
culture, and for one year was its chairman. He was chairman of the North- 
ampton County Institute for nine years, and president of the County Agricul- 
tural Society seven years, having been active in the work of the last-named 
society for forty years. He was a member of the Lutheran church, his wife 
a member of the Reformed congregation. 

One child was born to Mr. and Mrs. Beck. Floyd W., born December 8, 
1877, died January 23, 1904, aged twenty-six years, one month, fifteen days; 
he was a student at Lafayette College, but his health failed and he returned 
to the farm; he married Minnie E. Schnable, who survived him. and mar- 
ried (second) Clarence P. Laubach, who now operates the old farm; they 
are the parents of two daughters: Marion M. Laubach, aged ten years; and 
Verna Laubach, who died at the age of one year. 



QUINTUS E. SNYDER — Ouintus E. Snyder, tax collector for the city 
of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, since 191 1, when he succeeded his father to the 
ofSce, comes of a family long associated with Northampton county, in its 
public and industrial affairs. The Snyder family in its various branches 
have been in Northampton county for at least three generations, and were 
among the pioneers of its development. 

Ouintus E. Snyder was born in South Bethlehem, February 6. 1869, 
the son of Stephen A. and Elizabeth (Gibbons) Snyder. His father. Stephen 
A. Snvder, was born in Northampton countv, in 1839, and lived a life full of 
activity in public affairs until 1911. He was in office until his death; was 
a Democrat of the staunch, unbending, old type, his firm character and polit- 
ical integrity bringing him many responsible offices during his lifetime. He 
was popular and highly regarded in his district, and was held_ in the office 
of assessor for twenty-five 3'ears, and for the last five years of his life he was 



BIOGRAPHICAL 467 

tax collector for the city. It is not known to the present chronicler whether 
Quintus E. Snyder comes of Revolutionary stock, or whether his immediate 
line holds veterans of national service during the Civil War, but through his 
wife his line is linked with that oi men who were soldiers of the Union dur- 
ing the Civil War. Two uncles of his wife, Charles E. Graves and John J. 
Graves, gave distinguished service during the struggle ; both were sharp- 
shooters, and both were slightly wounded. John J. Graves is now secrctarj- 
of the Grand Army of the Republic of New York State, and his son, Walter 
Ross Graves, is a senator of that State, being elected to the Senate after a 
long and notable term as assemblyman. The children of Stephen A. and 
Elizabeth ((jibbons) Snyder were: Susan E., who married William Osborne, 
of New York City, and has two children; Annie, who is unmarried, and lives 
in Bethlehem ; DeWitt, now of Ballston S])rings, New York State, who mar- 
ried Jcannette lU-rrick, of New York; Ida, who died in infancy; and Quintus 
E., of whom more hereafter. 

Quintus E. Snyder received his elementary education in the public 
schools of his native place, his parents afterwards sending him to Allcntown, 
Pennsylvania, for higher collegiate preparation in the Muhlenburg Prepara- 
tory School of that jilace. From that institution he eventually graduated, but 
then decided to terminate his school days, and enter business life without 
delay. He was of mechanical bent, and his father agreed to his being api^ren- 
ticed to engineering. .Some years later, he was given supervision of the engi- 
neering plant of H. W. Draper, of Albany, New York. There he remained 
for twelve years, returning then to Bethlehem to assist his aged father in 
the duties of the office of tax collector. As deputy tax collector he assisted 
his father until the latter's death, which occurred in 191 1. He was then 
offered the collectorship, and as such has since been part of the city admin- 
istration. Like his father, Quintus E. Snyder has always firmly adhered to 
the Democratic party in national politics, and on the election boards of his 
district has served the party well. He is also identified with many of the 
leading fraternal organizations; is an Elk, member of Lodge 1209, Bethlehem; 
is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, with which he be- 
came associated while at Albany, New York ; is a member of the Bethlehem 
lodge of Knights of Pythias ; and also of the Bethlehem Lodge, Loyal Order 
of Moose. Religiously, he is a member of the Lutheran church, attending 
St. Peter's Church at Bethlehem. 

Mr. Snyder married, February 11, 1890. at Albany, New York, Anna, 
daughter of John S. and Anna (Graves) Charter, of that place. Mrs. Sny- 
der was only an infant when her father died, but her mother is still living, and 
of late years has resided with her daughter and son-in-law in Bethlehem. 
The children of Quintus E. and Anna (Charter) Snyder are: i. Charles 
Stephen, born November 4, i8go; received an excellent education, passing 
through the common and ])reparatory schools and then entering Lehigh 
University, from which he was graduated in due course ; he entered the pro- 
fession of civil engineering with encouraging prospects, but the national call 
to arms in 1917 found him ready and eager to transfer his service and his 
technical knowledge to the nation ; he became a member of the Twenty-third 
United States Engineers, which was early in France, and bore the brunt of 
much of the earlier fighting; when last heard from he was a sergeant in 
Company C of that regiment, and although his regiment has been assigned 
to many of the more hazardous tasks at the front that have fallen within 
the scope of the work of the Engineer Corps, and his parents had many anx- 
ious moments of suspense during the terrific last one hundred davs of the 
war, it is believed that he was still alive when the fighting terminated in 
November. 2. Anna Evelyn, born July 22. 1893. at Albany, New York, mar- 
ried Henry R. Cox, also a graduate of Lehigh University, and now a respon- 
sible official of the Bethlehem Steel Company ; they live in Bethlehem, and 
a child, Evelyn A., was born to them on January 30, 1916. 



468 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

DR. FRANK J. EDELMAN— A veterinary surgeon, Dr. Edelman is 
widely known as one skilled in his profession, and in public life as the capable 
burgess of the borough of Bath, Pennsylvania, an office into which he was 
inducted in the spring of 1918. He is a son of William and Amelia Edelman, 
his father born in Nazareth, Pennsylvania, a farmer, member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, and a Republican in politics, who died in 1914. Elis 
widow, Amelia, survives him at the age of seventy-five years. Willliam and 
Amelia Edelman were the parents of four sons and six daughters, nine of these 
children \ et living: Ella, married a Mr. Rossmiller ; Sarah, married R. A. 
Freeman; Ida, married James Belong; Saville, married John Schlegel ; Ger- 
trude, married George Ludlum ; Florence, married Samuel H. Kunkel; How- 
ard, married Alice Lichtenwalter ; George; Frank J., of further mention; and 
Victor, married Mabel McAllister. 

Frank J. Edelman was born at the home farm near Nazareth, North- 
ampton count}^ Pennsylvania, July 24, 1879. He attended the district school, 
and a school in Bath, Pennsylvania, his teachers in the latter place being Asa 
Mcllhaney and George Humbert. At the age of sixteen, after obtaining his 
father's permission, he accompanied an older sister to Chicago, and there made 
his home and greatly improved his educational standing. After completing 
high school study he began the study of pharmacy and clerked in a drug 
store four years. He then entered a department of the Northwestern, Uni- 
versity of Chicago, whence he was graduated in pharmacy, 1900. He con- 
tinued a drug clerk in Chicago for ten years, then moved to North Dakota, 
and opened a drug store in Battineau. Later he conducted a drug store at 
Rollo, North Dakota, continuing until 191,3, when he returned to Chicago, and 
became a student in the Chicago Veterinary College. He was graduated 
D.V.M., class of igi6, and at once returned to his native State and opened 
an office in Bath, Northampton county, where he is now in successful prac- 
tice as a veterinarian. 

Dr. Edelman is a member of the ^Masonic order, affiliated with Dunseith 
Lodge, No. 99, North Dakota, until joining with Manoquesy Lodge, No. 413, 
Bath. Pennsylvania, by demit. Member of the Easton Forest, No. 35, 
Tall Cedars of Lebanon, and the American Veterinary iledical Association. 
Through the generosity of Edelmans in relieving the United Evangelical 
church of its debt by canceling a mortgage held against it, the church has 
since been known as the Edelman Memorial, and of that church Dr. Edelman 
is a member. He is a member of the Republican party, and he was elected 
burgess of Bath in 1918. 



RUSSELL J. MORRISON— .-Mthough established in business, and with 
a familv depending upon him, Russell J. Morrison, of Easton, answered his 
country's call, and from July 19, 1918, until honorably discharged December 
18, 1918, was in the United^ States naval service, stationed at Puget Sound 
Navy Yard, Washington, the base for the Pacific fleet of United States war 
vessels. He is an electrical contractor of Easton, a man of skill, with knowl- 
edge of electricity and its varied uses. He is a grandson of Samuel Morrison, 
who came from" Scotland, and in 1852 settled at Glendon, near Easton, 
Pennsylvania. 

John C. Morrison, son of Samuel ]Morrison. was born in Hokendauqua 
Peniisylvania, and was educated in the public schools of Coledale, his parents 
moving to these villages after their coming to Glendon. He was variously 
employed in his younger years, but finally he entered railroad employ and 
became a locomotive engineer, serving the Lehigh Valley railroad in that 
capacity for thirty-one years. He married Margaret Evans, daughter of 
John Evans, of Welsh birth and parentage. John Evans came to the United 
"States with his wife and eight children, in 1865, locating in Hazleton. Penn- 
sylvania. Mr. and Mrs. John C. Morrison were the parents of two children: 
Russell J., of further mention; and Florence S. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 4^9 

Russell J. Morrison, only son of John C. and Margaret (Evans) Morri- 
son, was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, June 21, 1889. He was educated in 
the public schools of Easton and Lehighlon, finishing in the Lehighton High 
School. At the age of sixteen years he began electrical work with the 
111 & 111 Company, continuing with that company for five years. In 1910 
he engaged in business for himself as an electrical contractor and dealer 
in electrical supplies, locating his store at No. 467 Northampton street. 
He found his venture a successful one, and in June, 1915, he moved to a 
better location at No. 646 Northampton street, where he continues at this 
date, 1919. He is a skilled electrician and fmds abundant demand for his 
services. Mr. Morrison enlisted in the United States Navy, July 19, 1918, and 
was at once assigned to duty at Puget Sound Navy Yard, VVashington, as 
an electrician with non-commissioned rank. He continued in the service 
there until mustered out, December iS, 1918, when he returned to Easton, 
reaching home on Christmas Day. The signing of the armistice cut short 
his naval service, but he performed every required duty, and had occasion 
recjuircd, the two millions of soldiers and sailors who did not have the oppor- 
tunity would have rivaled the deeds of their brethren who so gloriously met 
tlieir'foe on land and sea, in the waters beneath, and in the air above. After 
his return home, Mr. Morrison resumed business as electrical contractor and 
supply dealer. He is a member of Easton Lodge No. 152, Free and Accepted 
Masons ; Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Pomp Council, Royal and 
Select Masters; Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights Templar; Rajah 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. In politics he 
is an inde])endent voter, and in religious connection a member of the South 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Morrison married, in New York City, April 17, 1909, Nellie Rake, of 
Easton, daughter of George Rake, of Easton. 

MICHAEL ALOYSIUS McNAMARA— Eip-hty-six years ago, in 1833, 
Cornelius McNamara first saw the light of day in County Limerick, Ireland. 
About 1838, Elizabeth Dinan was born in County Clare, Ireland. This boy and 
girl, when young, came to the Unitel States, met in Easton, Pennsylvania, 
and were there married. The wife died in Bethlehem, leaving nine children; 
but Cornelius, the father, is still active, and in his appearance gives little 
evidence of the weight of years he is carrying. He is living in Bethlehem, 
long since retired from active duty, but during all the industrious years of 
his life he was a mechanic in the employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Com- 
pany. Children of Cornelius and Elizabeth (Dinan) McNamara: John, a 
railroad man until his death ; Patrick, a railroad employee until 1916, when 
he entered the employ of the Bethlehem Steel Company, married Sarah 
Maxvi/ell, and they are the parents of twelve children, eight of whom are 
living; Thomas, a railroad man all his life and for fourteen years a member 
of South Bethlehem borough council, married Mary McFadden, of Bethle- 
hem ; James, unmarried, a railroad employee all his life and a resident of 
Bethlehem; Dennis, a railroad man residing in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; 
Cornelius, unmarried, a resident of Bethlehem; Elizabeth, married John Mc- 
Fadden, manager in charge of the open hearth department of the Bethlehem 
Steel Company ; Robert, an employee of the Bethlehem Steel Company, mar- 
ried Almeda Snyder; Michael A., of further mention. 

Michael A. McNamara. son of Cornelius and Elizabeth (Dinan) McNa- 
mara, was born in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, February 16, 1877, and 
was educated in the public school. After leaving school he was emploved 
for one year with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, then for another 
year was with the Hall Signal Company. Realizing the value of a trade, he 
became an apprentice with the Bethlehem Steel Company, serving four years 
in the machine shops, then was employed for nine years as a machinist with 
the Bethlehem Foundry & Machine Company, afterwards retiring from his 



470 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

trade to accept an appointment as a letter carrier at the South Bethlehem 
post-office, and for eleven years filled that positon ; in May, 1917, he was 
appointed justice of the peace. In January, 191S, he was elected an alderman 
of the city of Bethlehem, an office he is still holding. 

While in the United States postal service, Mr. McNamara was a member 
of the National Association of Letter Carriers, and as a delegate attended 
national conventions held in Omaha. Nebraska; San Francisco, California: 
and Rochester, New York. He is a Democrat in politics, a member of Holy 
Infancy Roman Catholic Church, and is interested in athletic sports, contests 
of strength, skill or endurance, and very fond of hunting. In younger days 
he was a baseball and football player of note, and as a runner made creditable 
amateur records in the 100-yard dash, the 220, 440 and 880-yard runs. He 
has a collection of prizes won in such contests, some of them taken in promi- 
nent meets in competition with college men of note. He was also a well 
known local football coach, and as his splendid physique clearly proves, has 
always been a man of clean life. He has never used either tobacco or liquor, 
and his word to would-be athletes is "Touch not, taste not," either tobacco 
or liquor in any form. This is an athlete's advice to boys and young men, 
and not the advice of a reformer or a crank. Mr. McNamara was the 
organizer of the Pioneer Social & Athletic Club, which is now in the twen- 
tieth year of its life. 

In 1902, Mr. McNamara married Mary Conlin, daughter of Austin and 
Mary Conlin, of South Bethlehem. Mrs. McNamara died October 8, iqoS, 
leaving two sons: John, born October 13. 1902: and Austin, born April 30, 
1904. ''He married (second), in October, 1913, Catherine G. Cox. 

GEORGE HENRY WASHINGTON YOUNG— George H. W. Young 
Ion"- an honored business man and public official of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
was' born near W'eaversville. Northampton county, Pennsylvania, Septem- 
ber 29. 1853, and died in Bethlehem.. June 20, 1913. son of Reuben and Julia 
(Neligh) Young, his mother of English family. 

George H. W. Young was educated in the public schools and Weavers- 
ville Academy, then began his career by devoting three years to aiding others 
in their efforts to secure an education. After that period he abandoned 
teaching as a profession, came to Bethlehem, and entered the employ of his 
brother? Samuel Young, a merchant. He spent three years as a clerk with 
his brother, then, about 1877, purchased the business. For thirty-six years, 
until his death, Mr. Young continued his connection with the store which 
became one of the best known gentleman's centers in Bethlehem. He was 
an able business man, progressive and enterprising, always a leader. The 
business which he so successfully conducted for so long is still contmued by 
his estate. A resident of West Bethlehem he served that borough with zeal 
and public spirit. For several terms he was a member of the School Board, 
and in 1889 was elected burgess. He was re-elected for the succeeding term, 
and was solicited to accept a third election, but declined. He was a mem- 
ber of Grace Lutheran Church, Bethlehem, but later was one of the founders 
of Holy Trinitv Church in \\'est Bethlehem, a church which was first started 
as a mission. He took a deep interest in the church, and was always ready 
to lend a hand in aid of any good cause. He was a man of genial, friendly 
nature, and highlv esteemed for his sterling, manly character. 

Mr. Young married, Februarv 10. 1877, in Grace Lutheran Church, Rev. 
T B. Rath, officiating, Rebecca T. Berger, daughter of Daniel and Sarah 
(Kline) Berger. old and respected members of the Bethlehem community. 
Mrs Young survives her husband and continues her residence in Bethlehem. 
Children- i Ada M., residing with her mother. 2. Arthur Reuben, a grad- 
uate of Lehigh Universitv, C. E., class of 1901 ; a noted lacrosse player and 
holder of class honors as a student ; he married Christma MacArthur, and 



Thi:' >•£;*.' Ytr«u< 
PUBLIC LI3HARY 



ASTOf^, LENOX .A.NB 

TiLDEN FOUNDATIONS 

« L 



/^' 





'J^-r^ , 



BIOGRAPHICAL 47i 

they have three children: Helen C, John A., and Catherine R. 3. Helen 
A., married Fred A. Johnson, of New York. 4. Marian R., married Ralph 
A. Martin, a teacher of mathematics in high school, at Jersey City, New Jer- 
sey; they arc the parents of two sons: James A. and Robert Martin. 5. Beulah 
Irene, married Preston A. Lambert, a graduate of Lehigh University, now 
superintendent of a munition plant at Carpenter, Illinois; they have children: 
Dorothy A., i'reslon A. (3), and Edward A. Lambert. 

CHARLES P. AYERS— The Ayers family of Northampton county is one 
of the ancient landmarks of that section of now Upper and Lower Mount 
]5ethel townships, the founder a notable man whose Scotch ancestry is a 
guarantee of his strong, moral fibre, tenacity of purpose, and thriftiness. He 
settled in this county early in the eighteenth century. 

(I) This founder, David Ayers, owned a section of land in the vicinity 
of Richmond, Northampton county, which he cleared, and upon which he 
built a house that was much finer and more modern than anything in that 
section. That house, so well and substantially built, is yet the home of a 
descendant, nor has it ever been out of the family ownership. He also built 
a mill which he operated in those early days, that mill a great convenience, 
nay, a boon to the settlers thereabout. H^e operated the mill as long as he 
lived, then was succeeded by his son Moses, he in turn by his son David, and 
David by his son David Brinton Ayers, owner and proprietor of the Belvi- 
dere Mills. David Ayers, the founder, was a member of the Presbyterian 
church, a justice of the peace of flower Mount Bethel township, and a man 
of strong character, sound common sense, his standing in his community the 
very highest. He had two sons, David (2), who went to the Ohio country, 
and Moses, mentioned below. 

(II) Moses Ayers, son of David Ayers. remained at the homestead 
operated the mill, and spent his life on the Lower Mount Bethel farm, upon 
which he was born. He was a shrewd, practical man of business, widely 
known and as highly esteemed. Like his father, he was a Presbyterian, and 
right worthily he filled his place in both church and township. He married 
a Miss Britton, and they were the parents of five sons and four daughters: 
Levi, who made a home in the West; David, who succeeded his father as a 
miller and mill owner ; Nathaniel ; Moses, who owned nearly a hundred acres 
of his grandfather's original farm ; Rev. Samuel Ayers, a Presbyterian 
clergyman ; Jane, Betsey, Peggy and Sarah. 

(HI) David (2) Ayers, son of Moses Ayers, and grandson of David Ayers, 
the ]Moneer settler, farmer and miller of Lower Mount Bethel township, 
Northampton county, was born at the homestead about the year 1810, and 
always lived in that locality. lie continued the old mill, married, and passed 
a life of usefulness. Among his children was a son. Robert Britton, men- 
tioned below. 

(IV) Robert Britton Ayers, son of David (2) Ayers, was a miller and 
mill owner, operating the Relvidere mills in the days when the Durham 
boats on the Delaware formed the chief means of freight transportation be- 
tween the Forks of the Delaware and Philadelphia. When the Delaware, 
Lackawanna & Western railroad was building, he secured a contract for the 
section Iving between Manmika Chunk and the crossing of the Delaware at 
the Watergap. After its completion he returned to his old business, milling. 
He purchased and operated mills at Harmony and Carpenterville, New Jer- 
sey, his death occurring at the last-named village in 1878. Robert Britton 
Ayers married Louisa Bairdbridge Pierson, daughter of Charles and Mar- 
garet (Cline) Pierson. They were the parents of two daughters, both de- 
ceased, and two sons: Charles Pierson. mentioned below; and Orville Dewey, 
president of Losey & Company of Easton. 

(V) Charles Pierson Ayers, eldest son of Robert Britton and Louisa B. 



472 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

(Pierson) Avers, was born at Harmony, New Jersey, June 29, 1861. He was 
educated in the public schools, finishing with high school courses at the age 
of nineteen, and then he became an apprentice to the miller's trade, under 
Jacob Walter, then operating the first full roller process flour mill in the 
State of Pennsylvania, that mill located at Bushkill Park. In 1885 he came 
to Easton as superintendent of the newly reconstructed mill owned by Frank 
C. Williams, and for fifteen years that connection continued without interrup- 
tion. In the year 1900 he was appointed mill superintendent of the C. K. 
Williams Company, and for eighteen years that association has continued. 
He is a member of the Easton Board of Trade; the Kiwanis Club; the Young 
Men's Christian Association, also a member of its board of directors ; First 
Methodist Episcopal Church, member of its board of trustees; Lodge No. 
152, Free and Accepted Masons; Chapter No. 173, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp 
Council, Royal and Select Masters: Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights 
Templar ; Rajah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; in politics a Republi- 
can. He was active in the War Chest, Liberty Loans and Easton Hospital 
building fund campaigns, and aided all in his power to bring each campaign 
to a successful conclusion. 

Mr. Avers married, June i, 1889, Emma Cattman Williams, daughter of 
Joseph Thompson and Margaret Jane (Butler) Williams. Mrs. Ayers is a 
leader in church and charitable work, a director of the Easton Hospital, in- 
terested in children's welfare work, and a liberal friend of the Children's 
Home, active in Young Women's Christian Association work, and in the 
children's department of the First Methodist Church, of which she is a mem- 
ber. Mr. and Mrs. Ayers are the parents of three children: i. Ruth Naomi, 
married John O. Rinek, manager of the Crucible Steel Company of New 
Jersey, and has two children : John W. and Lorenz Ayres Rinek. 2. Lorenz 
Kneedler, a graduate of Easton High School, class of 1909; Lafayette Col- 
lege, department of chemistry, class of 1913; an employee of the C. K. Wil- 
liams Company until his enlistment in the United States aviation service ; 
trained at the Ground School at Columbus, Ohio, was then attached to the 
Royal Flying Corps (British), and received special training in aerial gun- 
nery and aerial observation work at Toronto and Camp Borden, Canada, and 
Hicks, Texas; he was commissioned first lieutenant and assigned as arma- 
ment of^cer of the Twenty-eighth American Aero Squadron ; he spent thir- 
teen months in France, and flew as an observer for a period of five months 
over the German lines, in the Flanders sector, while attached to No. 18 
Squadron, Royal Air Force (British) ; he was in many aerial engagement, 
and was officially credited with having shot down one German aircraft; the 
remainder of his time in France he acted as armament officer of No. 17 Aero 
Squadron (American), which squadron operated with the British Air Force 
from July, 1918, until the armistice was signed. 3. Joseph William, a student 
of Easton High School, class of 1922. 

JOHN WILLIAM FALVEY — John William Falvey, general manager 
of the General Supply and the Alpha Supply companies, is a grandson of 
John Falvey, of Countv Cork, Ireland, who came to this country with his 
family and located at Springfield, Massachusetts. His son, Dennis Falvev. 
was born in County Cork, Ireland, in 1836, and came to this country with his 
father at the age of fifteen years, and for severaJ years resided at Springfield, 
Massachusetts. Later he married and removed to Richmond, Virginia. In 
1864 he left there and coming North, located in Easton, Pennsylvania, where 
he became an iron mill worker, thus continuing until his death, December 
12, 1907. Dennis Falvey married Hannah Lynch, born in 1835, who yet 
survives him, a resident of Easton, in her eighty-fourth year. They were 
the parents of ten children, six of whom are living: Dennis ; John W., of fur- 
ther mention; Michael; Mary, v.-ife of John Dugan ; Catherine; and Ellen, 
wife of James A. Murray, of Columbus, Ohio. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 473 

John W. Falvey, third son of Dennis and Hannah (Lynch) Falvey, was 
born in Easlon, Pennsylvania, January 30, 1867, and was educated in the 
city public schools. He began business life in 1884 as a grocery clerk, so 
continuing until 18S9, from which time until 1904 he was engaged in the 
merchandise business for his own account. Having become interested in 
iniblic affairs, he was chosen to office. In February, 1898, he was elected 
auditor of the borough of South Easton, and served as auditor in the bor- 
ough until it was annexed to the city of Easton. In November, 1898, he 
was elected to the office of clerk of the County Commissioners of Northampton 
county and re-elected to the same ofifice in 1901 and served until the expiration 
of his term, December 31, 1904. April i. 1905, he became connected with the 
General Siqiply Company and established their business in Easton, and in 
1906 he established a branch of this company at Bethlehem. He is still con- 
nected with this companj- as its general manager and also general manager 
of the Alpha Supply Company, and he is an important factor in their suc- 
cessful operations. He is an active member of the Easton Board of Trade, 
and has served on various committees of the board and borne his full share 
of the work of the board. 

Although largely self-educated, he is a well-informed man and is one of 
Easton's earnest, patriotic citizens whose co-operation may always be relied 
upon in any j)rogressive movement. He is a member of St. Bernard's 
Roman Catholic Church, the Knights of Columbus, Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, and the Kiwanis Club. He was active in all war cam- 
paigns, having served on the four Liberty Loans, Red Cross, War Chest, 
^'oung Men's Christian Association, and manager of the Knights of Colum- 
bus War Campaign. He was elected secretarj^ of the War Camp Communit)' 
Service for providing amusement for the entertainment of the soldiers sta- 
tioned at Camp Lafayette. He was chairman of the Knights of Columbus 
Committee who furnished eleven high-class entertainments and four Wednes- 
day evening band concerts for the soldiers at Camp Lafayette. The con- 
certs were given through the kindness of the Ingersoll-Rand Band and the 
entertainments continued until halted by the influenza epidemic. In Novem- 
ber, 1918, when the United Activity Drive was in operation, he was appointed 
county rei)resentative for the Catholic War Council and did a large amount 
of work in bringing about Northampton county's share in this great work. 

Mr. Falvey married, November 18, 1900, Mary Ford, daughter of Michael 
and Catherine (Murray) Ford, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. Mrs. Falvey 
is active in charitable and patriotic work, and belongs to the various church 
and local societies engaged in such labors. Nothing is of too strenuous a 
nature for her to shrink from active participation, and her good deeds will 
long be remembered. She is president of the Daughters of St. Elizabeth of 
St. Bernard's Catholic Church, member of the Red Cross and Social Service 
League, and the Catholic Women's Alliance of America. Mr. and Mrs. 
Falvey are the parents of three daughters and a son: Mary IMadeline, a 
graduate of St. Bernard's School, class of 1918; John Gerald, Frances and 
Elizabeth. 



EDWIN H. MAST — As merchant, decorator and amusement purveyor, 
Mr. Mast, proprietor of the wall paper store. No. 8 South Second street, 
and formerly general manager of the Strand Theatre, Easton, is one of the 
well known and highly esteemed business men of Easton who have won for 
that city its enviable reputation. He is a son of William H. Mast, and grand- 
son of John W. Mast, and great-grandson of the founder of the family who 
came from Germany to Virginia, thence to Pennsylvania, settling in North- 
ampton county. John W. Mast was a resident of Allentown and Bethlehem, 
a member of the Lutheran church, and a member of the first congregation 
of that faith formed in Bethlehem. 



474 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

William H. Mast, son of John W. Mast, was born in Bethlehem, Penn- 
sylvania, and a resident there until his death in 1902, at the age of fifty-five 
\ ears. He was educated in the public schools, and was variously employed 
(luring his lifetime, being a shoemaker, a carpenter, and for a number of 
years an iron and steel worker. He was a man of industrious habits, a Demo- 
crat in politics, a Lutheran in religion, quiet, and home loving, having many 
friends. When President Lincoln called for men in 1861, Mr. Mast responded 
and served four years and three months, saw active service, and received 
four bayonet wounds in battle, having re-enlisted after his first three months. 
He married Mary Fretz, of Ouakertown, who died September 23, 1917, aged 
eight3'-three years. Both William H. and Mary (Fretz) Mast are buried in 
the Lutheran Cemeter\' at Bethlehem. They were the parents of five chil- 
dren : George W., now engaged in farming near Bethlehem ; Emily, married 
Jackson Fluck, of Bethlehem; Edwin H., of further mention; Cora, died in 
infancy : Charles F., who resides in the West. 

Edwin H. Mast, son of William H. and Mary (Fretz) Mast, was born in 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, July 24, 1871, and there spent the first twenty 
years of his life. He passed the grades and finished the first year high school 
years an iron and steel worker. He was a man of industrious habits, a Demo- 
hanger's trade. He became an expert interior decorator during the fourteen 
years in which he followed his trade as journeyman in Bethlehem and Easton, 
he not beginning business on his own account until 1904. He opened a wall- 
paper store at No. 154 Northampton street, Easton, in that year, and until 
1907 conducted a general paper-hanging and decorating business in connec- 
tion with that store. In the spring of 1907 his original partner sold out to 
John Neumeyer, and a year later Mr. Mast bought Mr. Neumeyer's interest 
and became sole owner. He continued business at the original location until 
April, 1917, then removed to his present location. No. 8 South Second street. 
with a warehouse at the corner of Third and Ferry streets. He has con- 
tinued in business very successfully until the present, his establishment 
being one of the best known and largely patronized of its kind in the city. 

In 191 5, Mr. Mast became interested in the motion picture business, and 
in addition to his private affairs was part owner and general manager of the 
Strand Theatre, a popular house of entertainment in Easton. He is a member 
of Dallas Lodge No. 396, Free and Accepted Masons : Van Dever Lodge No. 
1105, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Pomfret Club; Rotary Club; St. 
I'aul's Lutheran Church; and in politics is a lifelong Republican. During the 
period of the war, when the demand for munition workers exceeded the sup- 
ply, he "did his bit" by working for eight months in the Ingersoll-Rand plant 
at Phillipsburg. making shells for the United States Government. 

Mr. Mast married, in Allentown. Pennsjdvania, October 6. 1902, Laura 
Guth, daughter of Harrison and Marv Guth. of Allentown. 



WILLIAM FRANK FRICK— Reuben Frick, grandfather of William F. 
Frick, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, was a farmer of Rittersville, Pennsyl- 
vania, and there his son, Charles Frick. was born. Reuben was a war veteran 
and a man of industrious, upright life. Charles Frick was born at Ritters- 
ville, Pennsylvania, the log house in which he was born still standing on the 
old farm. He married Annie Krader, whose mother, Elizabeth Krader, is 
now living in Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, aged eighty-six years. Ch.irles and 
Annie (Krader) Frick are the parents of twelve children, six of whom are 
living: Preston C. a steel mill worker; Alfred E., in the silk business; Helen, 
married Daniel Whitmeyer, manager of the Mever-Heiberger store; Myrtle, 
residing with her parents; Florence, married ClifTord Miley, now serving in 
the United States Army; William F., of further mention. 

William F. Frick was born in Leithsville. Pennsvlvania, April 15. 1882, 
and was educated in the public schools of Bethlehem, finishing in high school. 



Thi; 




PUBLl 


. :.1D-1.\HY 


ASTOR 


LENOX AN 


tXLUEK 


FOUMDATtOMS 


> 


L 




ctviiuam LBr^jvy 



BIOGRAPHICAL 475 

He spent five years in the city of Philadelphia after leaving school, and 
learned the confectionery business, lie then returned to Bethlehem, where 
lor two years he was manager of the Meyer-Heiberger ice-cream business. 
In 1917 he came to his present location, No. 301 West I'road street, where 
he conducts a high grade confectionery business. Mr. Frick is a Democrat 
in politics, and a member of Holy Trinity Church, serving three years as a 
member of the church council, and also as a member of the building com- 
mittee. He is a member of Oppmanyhook Tribe, Improved Order of Red 
Men, and Eyrie No. 284, Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

Mr. Frick married, June 21, 1902, Marie F. Schuler, daughter of Jacob 
and Twilly (Roth) Schuler, of East Texas, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania. 
Jacob Schuler, an employee of the Bethlehem Steel Company for twenty 
years, died in 1916. Mr. and Mrs. Frick are the parents of a son, Charles 
Jacob I""rick, born in liethlehem, February I, 1905. During the Spanish- 
American War, Mr. Frick enlisted in the Ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania 
Volunteers, and was stationed at Chickamauga Park, Tennessee. At the 
close of the war he was mustered out at Lexington, Kentucky. 



FORREST FRANKLIN SPECK- -Grandson of an .Vmerican soldier 
who gave up his life at Vera Cruz during the Mexican War, Forrest Franklin 
Speck, contractor and builder of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, inherits a wealth 
of patriotic zeal and example which has inspired his entire life from boy- 
hood. His grandparents came from Saxony, bringing their son Jacob, a boy 
of six years, with them. The emigrant imliibed .American sentiment, and 
when the time came to give expression to his gratitude and love for the land 
which had given him home and opportunity, he enlisted under the flag he 
loved and marched away, never to return, his death occurring at almost the 
very beginning of the Mexican War, when General Scott landed his troops 
at Vera Cruz and began his series of victories which terminated in the cap- 
ture of the city of Mexico. He was one of the twelve thousand men who 
gathered near Vera Cruz, landing March 9, 1847. Upon an island opposite was 
a very strong fortress, the castle of San Juan de Ulloa, which the Mexicans 
regarded as invulnerable. General Scott invaded the city and fortress, and 
for fifteen days rained shot and shell upon the defenders. On March 29, 1847, 
five thousand Mexicans surrendered with the city of \'era Cruz and the 
fortress of San Juan de Ulloa, with five thousand pieces of artillery and vast 
quantities of munitions of war. The Mexican loss was one thousand killed 
and many wounded. The American loss under the fifteen days' siege was 
but eighty killed and wounded, and among those who gave up their lives was 
the elder Speck, father of Jacob Speck, and grandfather of the Speck brothers 
of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 

Jacob Sjieck, from his si.xth year, was a native of Bethlehem, and al- 
though left without a father's guiding hand and thrown upon his own re- 
sources, he was of sound material and developed into a fine example of 
honorable manhood. He engaged in the contracting and building business, 
following his natural mechanical instinct, and became superintendent for J. 
Stewart Allam, one of the leading contractors of the Lehigh Valley. Jacob 
Speck married Lydia Ann Yost, and they were the parents of fourteen 
children, this and the following sketch dealing with the careers of three of 
the sons, Forrest Franklin, who has been prominently identified with the 
building activities of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and to whose skill and ability 
some of the finest structures in the city stand as monuments ; Edgar Wallace 
and William Warren, also contractors and builders. 

Forrest Franklin Speck was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, January 
17, 1868. and during his half century of life has known no other permanent 
home. He attended public school until thirteen years of age, then for three 
years was errand boy and general utility clerk w^ith the dry-goods firm, then 



4/6 NORTHAMPTON COUXTY 

Riegel, Cortright & Solt. In 1S84, at the age of sixteen years, he began 
learning the carpenter trade with J. S. Allam, a contracting builder of the 
South Side, and for fourteen j-ears, as apprentice and journeyman, he fol- 
lowed the carpenter's trade. But he was ambitious of becoming a contractor 
himself, and in 1896 completed a special course of study with the American 
Correspondence School, March of that year marking the date of his entrance 
into the ranks of Bethlehem contracting builders. Nearly a quarter of a 
century has since elapsed, and he has been continuously in business during 
that entire period, each year making an advance in the good will and esteem 
of the building public, the proof being in evidence all over the c'lij. Count- 
less smaller buildings, residences and blocks for business purposes, have been 
erected, while among the larger and more important of the contracts which 
he has executed may be named the buildings of the Bethlehem Trust Com- 
pany, the Beck Decorating Company, the George W. Riegel store, Cox's 
ward at St. Luke's Hospital, and Comenus Hall at the Moravian College and 
Theological Seminary. These buildings attest not alone his skill as a builder, 
but his reliability, integrity and the sacredness in which he holds a contract. 
The Rice and Cole residences on Market street are but two of many fine resi- 
dences which he has built. The large plant of the Shimer Manufacturing 
Company, the Henry Erwin & Son paint factory and H. S. Snyder's group 
of farm buildings at the Green Pond Farm, Farmersville, Pennsylvania, stand 
as representations of his work. 

Progressive and public-spirited, Mr. Speck has kept in close touch with 
all modern improvement, and is one of the many men who are sought for in 
counsel. He was one of the leading spirits in the organization of the Master 
Building Association, of the Lehigh Valley ; served for nine years on the 
Bethlehem School Board, six j-ears of which he was secretary ; is a director 
of the Bethlehem Trust Company, which he aided in organizing ; belongs to 
the Lincoln Republican Association; is a member of the Bethlehem and Ro- 
tary clubs, and in the Masonic order holds all degrees of the Bethlehem 
bodies, Knights Templar and Xobles of the Alystic Shrine. He joined heart- 
ily with the supporters of the "hill to hill" bridge and the borough consolida- 
tion projects, and in the war drive he was an ardently enthusiastic worker. 
He is devoted to his business, but enjoys out-of-door pleasures, motoring 
and athletics, but in his own words his hobbies are "My work and my family." 
He has w^on honorable position in the community in which his life has been 
spent, and enjoys the esteem of all who know him. He is a member of the 
Lutheran church, and an independent in politics. 

Mr. Speck married, August 30, 1893, Ida L., daughter of John and Sarah 
(Gable) Grant, of Salfordville, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. They are 
the parents of seven children : Blanche G. ; Willard J., died aged eighteen 
months ; William Grant ; George Dewey, born in 1898, and named in honor of 
the hero of Manila bay ; Beatrice L., Frances E. and Archibald F. The elder 
sons are all associated with their father's business. 



EDGAR WALLACE AND WILLIAM WARREN SPECK— It is dif- 
ficult to separate the Speck brothers in the minds of Bethlehemites, for they 
have never been separated, being twins at birth, twins in their trade learning, 
and for many years twins or partners in their large and important building 
operations, for' like their honored father they are contactors and builders of 
high repute. 

Edgar Wallace and William Warren Speck, twin sons of Jacob and 
Lydia Ann (Yost) Speck, were born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, October 15, 
1871. They were educated in the public schools, then became apprentices 
under T- Stewart Allam. a contractor and builder of South Bethlehem, with 
whom "thev remained until his death. They then began contracting and build- 
ing under'the firm name Speck Brothers, and have developed a large building 



BIOGRAPHICAL 477 

business along the modern lines of real estate promotion. While their private 
contracts for dwellings, business houses, factory and municipal buildings are 
extensive, they are perhaps better known as the enterprising, progressive 
promoters of that addition to the city of Bethlehem known as the old fair 
grounds. That beautiful site and property they bought for fifty thousand 
dollars ($50,000), laid it out in streets and avenues, and thereon built several 
hundred residences which they sold on the easy payment plan, if buyer so 
desired. Their present operation is the development of the tract placed upon 
the market by the Melrose Land Company. Among the expensive residences 
which the Speck Brothers have built is that recently completed for M. J. 
Shimer, while the one hundred thousand dollar power plant for the Blue 
Ridge Traction Company, Danielsville, Pennsylvania, is another of their 
weightier contracts, others being twenty-two houses for the Bethlehem Steel 
Company, and the five-story addition to the E. P. Wilbur Trust Company 
building. They are owners of much valuable business, residential and farm 
property. 

Edgar Wallace Speck, in addition to his business interest aforemen- 
tioned, is a member of the Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce, the Bethlehem 
Real Estate Board, and the School Board ; director of the Lehigh Valley 
National Bank, the Bethlehem Securities Company, the Melrose Land Com- 
pany, the Bethlehem Cemetery Association, and president of the United Ceme- 
tery Association. lie is a Democrat in politics, and a member of the Salem 
Lutheran Church. ?Ie is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, the Knights of Pythias, and a past officer of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows. He married Emma Bender, daughter of Valentine and Eliza- 
beth Bender, and they are the parents of two children : Margaret and Robert. 

William Warren Speck also holds membership in the Bethlehem Cham- 
ber of Commerce, the Bethlehem Real Estate Board, the Bethlehem Cemetery 
Association, of which he is a director, and the Melrose Land Company, of 
which he is also a director. He has been a liberal supporter of St. Luke's 
Hospital, and of the Orphans' Home at Germantown, Philadelphia, con- 
nected with the Salem Lutheran Church, of which he is a member, serving 
in the choir since sixteen years of age, and for over twenty years as teacher 
of a class of boys in the Sunday school. He was active in all war activities, 
a liberal contributor to the War Chest and an investor in war loans. He 
is a Democrat in politics. He holds membership in the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, the Knights of Pythias, and the Knights of Malta. He 
married S. Olivia Bender, daughter of Valentine and Elizabeth Bender, a sister 
of Mrs. Edgar Wallace Speck. 

After the perusal of the foregoing, it will be plain why in a history of 
their native county these twin native sons should not be separated, but as 
their lives have been so closely interwoven by birth, business and marriage. 
so for all time should the published record of one be the record of the other 
They are men of worth both in substance and in character, worthy sons of a 
worthy sire. 



RICHARD N. M. SNYDER— While the family has many branches in 
every part of Pennsylvania, the Northampton county line, of which Richard 
N. M. Snyder, of Easton, is representative, was founded by Nicholas Snyder, 
who on December 9, 1774, bought of Abraham Frantz one hundred and six- 
teen acres of farm land lying in Lehigh township. Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania. There Nicholas Snyder lived and died, and famil)' tradition 
says that he is buried in St. Peter's churchyard at Cherryville. 

Richard N. M. Snyder's grandfather was Andrew Snyder, who served 
m the State Legislature, and was always active in public affairs. 

Richard N. M. Snyder's father was Herbert Snyder, who was born in 
Bethel township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, in 1861, son of a far- 



478 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

mer. Herbert Snyder was for twenty-five years a furniture dealer, one of 
Eastons' enterprising merchants and leading citizens, and was always active 
in public affairs. He married Mary Jane Miller, daughter of Richard N. 
Miller, and they were the parents of three children, Richard N. M., the eldest. 

Richard N. M. Snyder was born in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, iVIarch lo. 
1886, but the same year his parents moved to Easton, Pennsylvania, which 
city has ever since been his home. He completed public school courses of 
study wtih graduation from Easton High School, class of 1905, then entered 
Lafayette College. During these years he had developed musical talent of a 
high order and had studied under capable instructors. Deciding that his 
talent offered him best means of being of service to his fellow men, he has 
made music his profession and his life work. He organized Snyder's Orches- 
tra during his college days, and as its leader has ever continued its office to 
furnish ball and banquet music, in addition to their regular engagement at 
the Orpheum Theatre. The orchestra is a recognized part of Easton's musi- 
cal equipment, is well known and liberally patronized. Mr. Snyder is a mem- 
ber of Easton's Board of Trade and Rotary Club, and may always be relied 
upon to do his full share in all public movements. As a leader of band or 
orchestra he has no superiors in the city and personally he ranks high both 
as musician and citizen. He has attained the thirty-second degree in the 
Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Free Masonry, is a member of the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, and Phi Delta Theta, and his political 
bias is Democratic. 

Mr. Snyder married. May 4, 1917, Evelyn J. Case, daughter of Frank 
and Jennie (Paul) Case, of Easton. Mrs. Snyder is a graduate of Easton 
High School, class of 1907. 

ARTHUR B. KLEINHANS— For half a century the Ivleinhans' gardens 
•ind greenhouses located on the South Side have' been patronized by Easto- 
nians. The father, Hiram Kleinhans, founded and developed general truck 
and floral gardens, and when he passed away full of years and honors, the 
son, Arthur B. Kleinhans. succeeded to the management, and specialized in 
cut flowers. Arthur B. is a grandson of Jacob and Susan (Phiflfer) Klein- 
hans, both of whom were born in William township, Northampton county. 
Both branches of the family early settled in the county, great-grandfather 
Fhififer entering six hundred' acres of government land. Jacob Kleinhans was 
a tailor by trade, but was also a farmer and land owner of Williams township. 
He was a strong Democrat, and in religious faith a Lutheran. 

Hiram Kleinhans was born at the farm in Williams township. October :>o. 
1836, died at his home in South Easton in 1913, having filled well his station 
in life. He was educated in the district schools and spent his early life at 
the home farm. Starting out a farmer, he gradually drifted into market 
gardening and the growing of flowers. He was the owner of a sixty-acre 
farm in Williams township, but he gave his personal attention to the thirty 
acres in Seitzville that comprised his floral garden and market farm, which 
property, the Kleinhans' greenhouses, later became a part of the borough of 
South Easton and finally with South Easton was annexed to the city of 
Easton. For several months of the Civil War he served in the Union Army, 
but, becoming disabled, he was honorably discharged. He then returned 
home and started gardens for raising vegetables and flowers, and that busi- 
ness grew into one of large proportions in both departments. In tune, green- 
houses were added, and Kleinhans' greenhouses became a well established 
institution Mr. Kleinhans was one of Easton's pioneer florists, and he 
expanded with his business and became one of the really prominent men of 
his district He made his home on the South Side and was one of the potent 
factors in securing the legislation, adding Seitzville to the borough of South 
Easton and later in having South Easton annexed to the city of Easton. He 



TNE HEW YiMvK 

PUBLIC LIBR/'^^ 



ASTOR, LEf. 



J 



BIOGRAPHICAL '479 

served Northampton county two terms as commissioner and held many of 
the local offices under township rule. When his home became a part of 
South Maston, he served as member of the Borough Council and as burgess, 
the highest borough office. He was a wise leader, clear-headed and public- 
spirited, a man well known and highly esteemed. He worshijjped in St. 
I'aul's Lutheran Church, of which he was for a long time an active and official 
member, and in political faith was a Democrat. Hiram Klcinhans mar- 
ried Isabella Fossbiender, daughter of William Fossbiender, of Lower Mount 
Bethel township, who died in 1915, aged seventy-four years. They were 
the parents of twelve children: William H., a resident of Easton ; Emma P., 
married Frank Heinline, of Easton; Quintus, deceased; Hiram, deceased; 
Thomas O., a resident of Easton; Samuel IL, deceased, formerly connected 
with the Newport News (Virginia) Shipbuilding Company; Howard P., a 
lumber dealer, of Mayfield, Virginia; Frank B., deceased, formerly con- 
nected with the Carnegie Steel Works of l^ittsburgh, the author of several 
works on steel and steel construction which were considered as authority, 
and his death in the prime of youthful manhood, ended a life of brilliant prom- 
ise ; Susan, deceased; Arthur B., who is of further mention; James P., now 
with the Ingersoll Manufacturing Company; Jeanette Isabelle, widow of 
Harry Post, of Easton. 

Arthur B. Ivleinhans, tenth of the children of Hiram and Isabella (I-'oss- 
biender) Kleinhans, was born at the South Easton home of his parents, Janu- 
ary 6, 1878. He was educated in the public schools, and after completing 
his studies, became associated with his father, who was then a successful 
market gardener and florist. Arthur B. adopted the business as his own, and 
since 1904 has been located in South Easton in business for himself, being 
the present owner and proprietor of the Kleinhans greenhouses, and his 
father's successor. He now has 35,000 square feet under glass, devoted to the 
culture of popular flowers which are disposed of at retail, he making a spe- 
cialty of cut flowers. He has other business interests, but his great love is 
for his greenhouse business, a love of the flowers he grows going hand in 
hand with the business side of a florist's life. 

Mr. Kleinhans is independent in his political action and is a member of 
both the Jacksonian and McKinley clubs. He is a member of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows ; the Loyal Order of Moose ; the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. He is a member 
of St. Paul's Lutheran Church. His club is the Kiwanis. The Kleinhans 
greenhouses are located at I'vleinhans and Folk streets in South Easton, the 
store for the sale of cut flowers at No. 15 North Third street, Easton. 

ANDREW A. NEAVE — With a natural inclination for all things me- 
chanical, and with a genius for invention, it needed but the practical training 
to insure a career of success for Andrew A. Neave, now vice-president and 
manager of the Treadwell Engineering Company of Easton, Pennsylvania. 
With training came advancement and the acquisition of solid business prin- 
ciples which placed him among the leading young manufacturers of the 
country. He is a son of John W. and Ellen (Phinn) Neave. of Dundee, 
Scotland ; the father, an expert foundryman, came to the United States in 1868, 
was a foundry superintendent in Wilmington, Delav/are, and was holding that 
position at the time of his death, 1916. John W. Neave married Ellen Phinn, 
and they were the parents of seven children : John P., Helen, Elisabeth, 
William W., Andrew A., of whom further ; Charles J. and Ethel L. 

Andrew A. Neave was born in New Castle, Delaware, September i, 1878, 
and there obtained a good public school education, including the courses of 
the Manual Training School. He completed his school training at W^ilming- 
ton Technical Institute, taking the night courses during a period of three 
years, becoming skilled in mechanical engineering. ITe then spent four years 



48o NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

in practical shopwork as a machinist in Wilmington manufacturing plants, 
after which he located in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and there was engaged 
as a mechanical draughtsman at the Nesta Machine Company's plant, there 
remaining four years. From Pittsburgh he went to Canton, Ohio, having 
been appointed master mechanic of the United Steel Company of that place. 
He held the position of master mechanic one year, then returned to the 
Nesta Alachine Company, and for two years was sales engineer, tollowed by 
four years as chief engineer of the rolling mill department of the same cor- 
poration. Those seven years with the Nesta Machine Company brought him 
to the year 1913, and to the city of Easton. he coming to that city as chief 
engineer of the Treadwell Engineering Company. In 1915 he was made act- 
ing manager of the plant, and in 1916 was elected a member of the board of 
directors, vice-president of the company, and manager of the works. Under 
Mr. Neave's management this highly efficient manufacturing plant has been 
of great value to the United States Government in its shipbuilding activities, 
the Treadwell plant having produced a vast amount of vitally essential 
material. The record of the plant in each of the four Liberty Loan drives has 
been 100 per cent. 

While Mr. Neave stands high among the mdustrial leaders and is a 
skilled mechanic, he is active in social and civic affairs, taking a deep interest 
in community organizations and societies. He is a member of the Easton 
Board of Trade, the Rotary Club, the Engineers' Society of Pennsylvania, 
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, is affiliated with the jNLasonic 
order and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; his clubs, the Pom- 
fret, Bethlehem and Northampton County Country. In politics he is an Inde- 
pendent. He enjoys the sports of the out-of-doors, is fond of boating, is an 
ardent fisherman and an enthusiastic motorist. 

Mr. Neave married, December 25, 1905, Rosamond Chamberlain, daugh- 
ter of Azro and Alvira (Stone) Chamberlain, of South Newbury. \'ermont. 
Mr. and Mrs. Neave are the parents of four daughters: Helen Elizabeth, 
Marion C, Jeanette L. and Edith. ^ _ . .. 

NOAH DIETRICH— The Dietrichs of Pennsylvania spring from Wil- 
helm Emanuel Dietrich, born in Germany in 16S0. He had five sons, Casper, 
Elias, Jacob, Tohann and Philip, four of these coming to Pennsylvania and 
becoming heads of families. Casper, the eldest son. had three sons and a 
daughter, all of whom came to this country. Lancaster and Berks counties 
were the original localities in which the Dietrichs settled, and from there 
they branched out, making for themselves homes in surrounding counties, 
notably Northampton and Lehigh. The branch to which Noah Dietrich, of 
E,aston, belongs, settled in Forks township. Pennsylvania, his father, Benja- 
min Dietrich, a farmer of that township. Benjamin Dietrich married Anna 
Maria Lerch, and they were the parents of several sons and daughters. 

Noah Dietrich was born at the home farm in Forks township, Northamp- 
ton countv, Pennsvlvania, November 5, 1846. He grew up at the farm, and 
attended the district school. He then engaged in brick-making for ten years, 
1868-78, becoming United States ganger in 1878, a position he held in the 
internal revenue service for twenty-four years. He is now, and has been 
for several years, sealer of weights and measures for Northampton county. 
During the Civil War he served in the One Hundred and Fifty-third Regi- 
ment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and in the One Hundred and Ninety- 
sixthRegiment (Corn Exchange of Philadelphia). A Republican in politics, 
Mr. Dietrich served four years in Easton Select Council, and two years in 
Common Council. He is commander of Lafayette Post No. 217, Grand Army 
of the Republic, and served one term as commander of the Pennsylvania 
department of the Grand Army. He is a veteran member of the old Humane 
Engine Company of Easton's volunteer fire department, is affiliated with the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Loyal Order of Moose, his 
church membership, St. Peter's Lutheran, College Hill, Easton. 









■■'8 




iaet). 3ol)n DrUriio 



BIOGRAPHICAL 481 

Mr. Dietrich married, at Wilmington, Delaware, in 1868, Emily P. Cham- 
berlain, now deceased, daughter of David and Catherine Chamberlain. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dietrich are the parents of six children: Kate C, Grace C, Edward 
N., Herbert D., Bessie and Russell D. Dietrich. 

VERY REV. JOHN DARAIO, D.D.— At the solemn and impressive 
dedicatory services, conducted by ISishop McCort, of Philadelphia, consecrat- 
ing the new and beautiful Italian Catholic Church of St. Anthony of Padua 
in Easton, the bishop, in an address after the sermon, eulogized the work 
done by Father Daraio, the pastor of the church. He highly extolled the 
work performed by the pastor during the eighteen months in the jiarish, and 
expressed his complete surprise that he had been able to accomplish so much 
in so short a time, and bade the congregation not to forget that their pastor 
had done so much for them and for the cause of religion. To this eulogy of 
the ecclesiastic no exceptions can be taken, but the laymen viewing Father 
Daraio through secular eyes would give him equal credit for the work he has 
done in Easton, in educating the people in their duties as Americans and 
arousing their patriotism, and a sight long to be remembered in the city 
was a procession of two hundred members of the parish of St. Anthony of 
Padua, with Father Daraio at their head, marching to the polling places, 
September 12, 1918, to register and aid others in registering for selective 
service in obedience to the proclamation of President Wilson. The previous 
Sunday, Father Daraio preached forceful sermons at each Mass, impressing 
upon his congregation the importance of registering, and promising to meet 
them and to be at their disposal during the hours the polls were open. The 
large number who responded to the call was most gratifying to the authori- 
ties and to the good Father, whose heart is bound up in the temporal as well 
as the spiritual welfare of the people. 

Father Daraio came from a militant family; his grandfather, John 
Daraio, a soldier in the Italian patriotic army with Garabaldi, and a great- 
uncle was with Napoleon in Russia, serving on that great commander's staff, 
with the rank of general. Others of the family, past and present, uphold the 
family name in war, while others have distinguished themselves in the gentler 
art of peace. In his own right, however. Father Daraio stands without need 
of familv influence, being a man of highest culture, graceful powers of ora- 
tory, a learned theologian and an untiring worker. Returning to the patriotic 
work in Easton, it must be noticed that two hundred and sixty men have 
gone into the service of the United States and Italy from the parish of St. 
Anthony of Padua, much the largest representation sent by any Northamp- 
ton county church. This must be attributed to the untiring patriotic efforts 
of the good Father in impressing the hundreds of Italians who are serving 
in the United States and Italian armies from Easton. 

Dr. John Daraio was born in Tricarico, Italy, April 13, 1878. and there 
finished the course of study prescribed for the seminary. He then entered the 
University of Naples, whence he was graduated LL.D., and shortly afterward 
was ordained a priest. After the ordination in Naples, he went to Rome. 
He then went to Tricarico, where, by his bishop, he was appointed a professor 
in the seminary there, the same at which he had once been a student. For 
twelve years he continued as a professor in the seminary at Tricarico, teach- 
ing classes in Italian, Latin, history, geography and natural science. During 
that period he also exercised the functions of his priestly office and won high 
reputation as a pulpit orator and theologian. In Italy he preached in Rome, 
Naples, Genoa, Salerno, Pompeii, Taranto, Potenza, Reggio, Calabria and 
Siracusa, impressing his audiences deeply with his pleasing jjersonality and 
scholarly attainments. 

Dr. Daraio came to the parish of St. Anthony of Padua in October. 1914, 
having previously filled pulpits in New York, Brooklyn, Philadelphia and 

N. n. BIOG.— 31 



482 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Washington, impressing his audiences with the same feeling as lie had pre- 
viously in his own land. St. Anthony's was formerly a mission, dating from 
1909, in charge of Rev. A. Landolfi, who began the church structure, the 
cornerstone having been laid February 20, 1914. After his arrival. Father 
Daraio completed the church, which, with the rectory, involved an outlay of 
$23,000. The church was dedicated on Sunday, June 18, 1916, Bishop McCort 
also confirming a class of two hundred and thirty the same day. Father 
Daraio, at ten o'clock JMass, preached a sermon in Italian. He outlined to 
his congregation the work that had been performed b}' their help, and after 
congratulating them upon their loyalty, urged the importance of their remain- 
ing faithful, assuring them that by so doing even greater things were possi- 
ble for the future. During the week following the dedication of the church, 
Father Daraio received a vast number of letters exclusively congratulations 
and good wishes for the future ; among these was one from the Rt. Rev. 
Bishop Bonzano, Apostolic Delegate to the United States, who had hoped 
to attend the dedicatory services. 

Dr. Daraio is the founder of eight societies, six of them in his present 
parish, among them included : Confraternity of St. Anthony, Society for 
the Working Class, Circle of St. Louis, St. John, Holy Cross, Children of 
Mary and others. Outside his church, study and parochial work. Father 
Daraio is best known for his notable literary work, religious and scholastic. 
He is the author of : "History of Ancient Rome" ; "Greece and the People 
of the Orient"; "Brief Course of Philosophy"; "The Significance of all His- 
torical and Geographical Names of the Old and New Testament"; "St. An- 
thony, The Saint of the World" ; "Life of St. Vitale and Bishop of Turri" ; 
"Subsidiary Science of History"; "Chronology, Geography, Genealogy"; and 
nearly as many others, all of which have been published. 



ASHER W. BRINKER— Ulrich Brinker. the founder of this family in 
Pennsylvania, was born in Baden, Germany, and came to Pennsylvania with 
his wife, Apollonia (Beyer) Brinker. They were the parents of five sons, 
John George, Adam, John. John Jacob and Andrew, from whom come the 
various Brinker families of Northampton county, Pennsylvania. 

Asher W. Brinker, a descendant, was born September 16, 1S71, in 
Moorestown, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, fourteen miles northwest 
of Easton. He attended the public school until thirteen years of age, then 
became a wage earner. At the age of fifteen he was working for the 
farmers of the neighborhood, but later he became a factory worker, first in 
a rope walk, later in a shoe manufacturing plant, then for one year was 
employed at the Ingersoll plant in Easton. He then became proprietor of the 
Forest House, so continuing for nine years, selling out. then purchasing the 
Palmer House on Washington street, Easton. where he died July i, 1915. 
He was a member of the Lutheran church of Farmersville. a Democrat in 
politics, member of the Jacksonian Club, the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, Fraternal Order of Eagles, and the Palmer Fire Company. 

Mr. Brinker married, January 16. 1891. Mary A. Ealer, born in Easton. 
at the home of her parents on Washington street, daughter of George and 
Susanna (Hohn) Ealer. George Ealer was born in Bucks county, Pennsyl- 
vania, son of a farmer, and himself a farmer and quarryman. He married 
Susanna Hohn, born in Palmer township, Northampton coimty, and soon 
afterward located in Easton. where he now lives retired. Mrs. Brinker is 
their only child. Mr. and T^Irs. Brinker were the parents of a daughter, 
Nettie ^Larv Brinker, residing in Easton with her mother. 



RICHARD FREMONT PASCOE— As warden of the Northampton 
Countv Jail. Mr. Pascoe is compiling a wonderful record in the administra- 
tion of his office in regard to the treatment of the inmates. One feature of 




(yJi^iLy^-7^ .^C/^Ue:^r^ 



f / 



TKE «£VV 'iifHK 

PUBLIC LIBRARY 



IXLCKK FOUNDATIONli 



BIOGRAPHICAL 483 

his administration is the out-of-door work he; gives them at farm and other 
labor, this resulting in better health conditions and improved morale. What- 
ever the cause, it is a fact that no warden ever so won the confidence of his 
charges, and after release letters come from faraway points from many of 
the men who wish to keep in touch with their former warden, whom they 
regard as their friend. Kindness and justice have won him this affectionate 
respect, and the Northaini)ton jail furnishes an object lesson to those inter- 
ested in prison reform. 

Mr. Pascoe is a son of Richard W. Pascoe, who was born in Cornwall, 
England, and there grew to manhood, becoming an expert miner. About 1846 
he was sent to Scotland to oi^en up a copper deposit, and there he remained 
as superintendent of the mine until 1849. ]!e married, while in Scotland, 
Jessie MacDougall Campbell, and in 1S49 came to the United States, at- 
tracted no doubt by the rose-tinted stories of gold discoveries in California. 
He did not go to the gold mines, however, but meeting some coal operators 
in New York City he was prevailed upon by them to locate at Pottsville, 
Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, and act as mine foreman for the William 
Kaska Mine. There he remained for one year, then was sent by a group of 
New York cajMtalists to open up a copper mine on Michipicoten Island in the 
Lake Superior region. He successfully opened the mine and superintended 
its develojiment, then returned to Pottsville. His next large ojjeration was 
the opening of a zinc mine at Fricdensville for Joseph Wharton, a well known 
iron master, and J. Price Wetherell, both Philadeli)hia capitalists. He con- 
tinued superintendent of the zinc mine for several years, then accepted a com- 
mission from a syndicate to open up and operate a supposed gold deposit 
in South Carolina. This was in 1863, and while engaged in his work he was 
drafted into the Confederate Navy and stationed as a member of a gun crew 
on one of their war vessels. He served as a gunman until the close of the 
war in 1865. then returned North and was given his old position as superin- 
tendent of the Lehigh zinc mine at Fricdensville. Later he located in Beth- 
lehem and formed a connection with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company, 
holding with that company until his death in 1887, and laying at final rest 
in Nisky Hill Cemetery at Bethlehem. 

Richard W. Pascoe came alone to this country in 1849, but in 1850 sent for 
his wife, and until the southern experience she was the companion of all his 
moves. She was a Presbyterian in religion, he a Methodist, but creed never 
divided them. Her father. Col. Malcolm Campbell, was an officer in the 
I'Sritish Army, serving in India and elsewhere. He was of ar^cient Scottish 
family. Jessie M. (Campbell) Pascoe died in Easton. Pennsylvani'a, Novem- 
ber 17, 1905, the mother of nine children: i. Archibald Campb.ell MacDougall, 
who died at the age of fifty-six years; married Pauline Rhinehart. 2. John 
Henry, born in Schuylkill county. Pennsylvania, August 25, J8$t, died in 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, in 1909; he was president of the Blue Ridge Pow- 
der Company ; president of the Mahoning Foundry Facing Company, and a 
prominent business man of Allentown for many years; he married, in 1880, 
Annie L. Reinsmeth. 3. Mary, died young. 4. Sarah, died young. 5. Joseph 
W., of mention elsewhere in this work. 6. Richard Fremont, of further men- 
tion. 7. William, died in 1917 at Carlisle. Pennsylvania, aged fiftv-seven 
} ears ; he married Alice Cooper, of Coopersburg, Pennsylvania. 8. Thomas, 
died in boyhood. 9. Benjamin, died in boyhood. 

Richard Fremont Pascoe was born in Fricdensville, Lehigh county, 
Pennsylvania, and there grew to manhood. He attended the public schools 
there, his first teacher, Adam Markle. At the age of sixteen he left school to 
become a wage-earner, although he had employed his vacation period prior 
to that time driving a cart in the mine. He worked in the mines for some 
time after leaving school, but later he spent two terms at the Kutztown 
State Normal School. He then again engaged in mine work, but later deter- 
mined upon a trade and went to Reading, Pennsylvania, where he entered the 



484 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Scott Works Machine Shops and there learned the trade of machinist. At 
the end of four years apprenticeship he worked as a journeyman machinist 
in many of the States of the Union, serving in some shops as foreman. His 
last position as a machinist was with the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company 
in their Easton shops. Later he was appointed special officer or railroad de- 
tective, and assigned to duty which compelled him to cover the entire Lehigh 
system. He continued in that position until April i, 1916, when he resigned 
to accept appointment as warden of Northampton County Jail. In this posi- 
tion he has demonstrated remarkable fitness, and under his rule the jail is 
not a place of punishment but a reformatory institution where men are sent 
out to better ways of living. The small twenty-acre farm, which is leased 
by the county of Northampton, is utilized as part of the training system, and 
every day short-term men, and those whose terms are soon to expire, are to 
be seen at useful work and building up better bodies and cleaner minds. 

From youth Mr. Pascoe has been actively interested in politics, and has 
the distinction of being the first Republican to fill the position of warden of 
the Northampton jail. He was elected a member of Easton Common Council 
from the Tenth Ward, and was the first Republican to carry that ward, which 
was considered the banner Democratic district of the county. He was con- 
tinuously re-elected to Council until, when serving his fifth year, the city 
adopted the commission form of government, and the Council passed into the 
reahn of ancient history. He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. 

Mr. Pascoe married, in Easton, August 3, 1910, Mary Naomi Archer, 
daughter of Thomas E. and Mary A. Archer, of Easton. Mr. Pascoe, now 
in the full prime of his manhood, is wholly devoted to the work he has taken 
upon himself, and is rounding out a life filled with useful effort, and during 
its varied phases he has acquired a rich fund of experience which has taught 
him how to best deal with those committed to his care. 



BIRDIS I. SCHAFFER— In South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, the name 
Schaffer, is well known and honored. It first became prominent in that 
locality when Edward Schaffer, the pioneer undertaker of the town, out of 
all others in his section, was unafraid during the small-pox epidemic of 1872, 
and alone and without compensation buried three hundred and twenty vic- 
tims of that then dread disease. Edward Schaffer came to South Bethle- 
hem in 1865, and there died in 1905, but his memory will never die. He 
married Elizabeth Woodring, of Hellertown, Pennsylvania, sister of James 
T. Woodring, ex-district attorney of Northampton county. Mr. and Mrs. 
Schaft'er were the parents of nine children, six of whom are living. 

Birdis I. Schaffer, son of Edward and Elizabeth (Woodring) Schaffer, 
was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, July 23, 1873, and was educated in 
the public schools. After completing his studies he entered the employ of the 
Lehigh Valley Railroad Company in the telegraphic department. There he 
remained four years, and became an excellent operator. He next established 
a general insurance business in Bethlehem, and until May 19, 191 5, con- 
ducted a very successful agency. On May 19, 191 5. he was commissioned by 
Governor Brumbaugh, a justice of the peace. In the fall of the same year he 
was elected to the same position for a term of six years, and has since de- 
voted himself to the duties of that office. Squire Schaffer is a Democrat in 
his political faith and a member of the Reformed church. He is affilated with 
Bethlehem Lodge No. 191, Benevolent and Protective Order of .Elks ; and is 
one of the interested, progressive men of Bethlehem, who bear their full 
share of the civic burden and kept "the home fires burning" by actively 
supporting every war authority. 

He married August 5, T903, in New York City, Ellen Rehrig. daughter 
of Jefferson and Rachel Rehrig, of Allentown. Mr. and Mrs. Schaffer are 



BIOGRAPHICAL 485 

the parents of five children: Gladys Henrietta, Paul Roosevelt, Mitchell 
Walter, Woodrow Wilson and Ruth Dorothy. 



FRANKLIN HENRY BRUNNER— lleinrich Brunncr, born in Zines- 
ville, Alsace, France, June 4, 1739, was the ancestor of Franklin Henry Brun- 
ncr, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Alsace, then a province of France, was 
wrested from her by Germany in 1870 and has just been freed from German 
rule and occupied by allied armies (November, 1918) and will be legally 
restored to the F'rench people. Heinrich Brunner came to Pennsylvania in 
August, 1749, and for a time lived in Bethlehem, going thence to Nazareth in 
Northampton county. He became a well known builder and continued in ac- 
tive business until liis retirement a few years priors to his death, June 29, 
1818. He married on Ascension Day. May 20, 1773, Rosina Hartmann, daugh- 
ter of John George and Marie Christine (Baup) Hartmann, born in Salis- 
bury, Lehigh county, Peimsylvania, and they were the parents of eight 
children. The third child and eldest son was Christian Brunner, great- 
grandfather of Franklin H. Brunner. 

Christian Brunner was born in Gnadenthal, near Nazareth, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, December 25, 1776. He married and left a son Samuel 
Brunner. born in Nazareth, June 10, 1807, who married Charlotte Amelia 
Rudoiphi, daughter of Dr. John Frederick and So])hia I\udol|)hi. They were 
the parents of Christian Otto Brunner, born in Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, 
October 29, 1830, died Sei)tcnibcr 7, 191 1, the father of Franklin Henry 
Brunner. The Rudoiphi ancestor, Dr. John Frederick Rudoiphi, was the 
first medical missionary sent by the Moravian church to the East Indies, and 
in all these generations the family have been prominent in that sphere of 
life in which they moved. 

Christian Otto Brunner, son of Samuel and Charlotte Amelia (Rudoiphi) 
Brunner, was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, in the same house in which 
lie died at the age of eighty years, ten months and nine days, on September 7, 
191 1. He first attended the Moravian Parochial School, then became a stu- 
dent imder Ernest F. Bleck, who maintained a private school in Bethlehem 
for several years. After completing his studies he became clerk in the 
Taylor & Brock store, which later was owned by L. F. Beckel. In 1850 he 
went to Philadelphia, where he spent eighteen months as a salesman, holding 
two positions during that time. Pie then returned to Bethlehem and for 
the following five years was manager of the L. F. Beckel store. At about 
this time the ])roduction of anthracite coal was being taken seriously as a 
profitable business proposition, and "company" stores began to flourish. Mr. 
Brunner became manager of one of these "company" stories, and for a year 
was with Sharp, Weiss & Company, at Eckley, Pennsylvania, in that capacity. 
The next three years he spent in Bethlehem in the John Lerch store, then 
began his long and honorable term of service with the Bethlehem Iron 
Company, now the Bethlehem Steel Company. 

In i860, the Bethlehem Iron Company was organized, and under the 
management of John Fritz, attained to great heights of prosperity. From 
its Ijcginning he was connected with the company in office position, and was 
the first official of the company. When ground was to be broken for the con- 
struction of the first furnace, John Fritz gave Brunner the honor of handling 
the pick which turned the first earth for what was destined to become the 
greatest steel works on earth, the Bethlehem Steel Company's plant at Beth- 
lehem, Pennsylvania. Pie was a warm friend of John Fritz, and after both 
liad retired from all active connection with the company, they kept up the 
very pretty custom of observing the day upon which they first met by call- 
ing in the morning and returning the call in the afternoon. 

For fortv-one years Mr. Brunner remained in the company employ, fill- 
ing several subordinate positions until July, 1870, when he was elected treas- 



4-86 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

urer of the company, a post he filled until retirement in 1901. This long 
term of service was recognized by a reception tendered him in July, 1901, by 
the officers of the company, a testimonial to his more than forty years of 
faithful service. 

On March 28, 1847, he became a communicant of the Bethlehem congre- 
gation of the Moravian church by right of confirmation, and during the re- 
mainder of his life he was a member of that congregation ana active in 
church work. For ten years he taught in the Sunday school, was a member 
of the church school board for twenty years, represented the church as dele- 
gate to the provincial synods, was a member of the board of elders, 1S89- 
1909, member of the advisory finance board of the Northern province from 
1898-1911 ; was for thirty years a director of the Society of the Propagation 
of the Gospel among the Heathen, 18S1-1911; was treasurer of the Alaska 
Auxiliary Society from 1884, when the society was organized, until his death 
in 191 1 ; was treasurer of the Young Men's Missionary Society, from 1846 to 
1850; took an active interest in the Young Men's Christian Association, and 
in June, 1867, represented the society in the International Convention held in 
Montreal, Canada. From 1906 to 191 1 he was treasurer of the Charity 
Organization Society; was a member of the Pennsylvania Historical Society; 
and for many years was vice-president of the Moravian Historical Societv. 
Thus his life was passed, not an opportunity wasted, but every hour of his 
long life representing duty well performed. He retained all his faculties 
imtil the end, and just before he passed away he repeated these beautiful 
words from the "Book of Life": "Let me die the death of the righteous and 
let my last end be like his." 

Christian Otto Brunner married, August 9, 1859, Sabina Melinda ^lor- 
gan, of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, daughter of James Henry and Mary 
Magdalene (Kilker) Morgan. She died October 11, 1895, leaving a son, 
Franklin Henry, of further mention, and a daughter, Gertrude, wife of Albert 
Rau, of Bethlehem. 

Franklin Henry Brunner, only son of Christian Otto and Sabina Alelinda 
(Morgan) Brunner, was born October 8, i860, in Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, 
and there prepared for college in Moravian Parochial, now Moravian Pre- 
paratory School. He then entered Lehigh University, and was a member of 
the class of 1880. He began business life in the Bethlehem Post Oftice -lyl 
later was with the Bethlehem Steel Company, and for twenty-two years in 
the sales department of that company, ranking as assistant to the vice- 
president and manager of sales. In 1901 he resigned and was for a time 
with the Nazareth Foundry & Machine Company at Nazareth. From 1002 
up to October i, 1918, he was connected with the Guerber Engineering Com- 
pany, and was secretary of that important corporation for twelve years. 
Mr. IBrunner is at present occupied as manager of the Bethlehem agency of 
the Aetna Life Insurance Company of Hartford, Connecticut. 

Mr. Brunner is a member of the board of trustees of the Moravian Semi- 
nary and College for Women, and is vice-president of the executive com- 
mittee ; auditor of the Moravian Congregation in Bethlehem ; Moravian Pre- 
paratory School, and Moravian Poor Fund; vice-president of the Alaska 
Auxiliary Societv; life member of the Moravian Historical Society, member 
of Phi Delta Theta ; member of the Pennsylvania German Historical So- 
ciety; life member of the Young Men's Missionary Society of Bethlehem; 
is sacristan in the Moravian Congregation ; member of the Bethlehem Cham- 
ber of Commerce; and a member of the Pennsylvania State Chamber of 
Commerce. He is also a member of the advisory finance board of the North- 
ern province of the Moravian church. 

Mr Brunner married Benic^na Magdalene de Schwemitz. daughter of 
the Rt Rev Edmund de Schweinitz, a bishop of the Moravian church. Their 
one child Rev. Edmund de Schweinitz. married Mary Vogler, daughter of 



KRAHY 



A.STOR. LKNOX/.WO 




3iol)n Btngl)offcr 



rJOGRAPIITCAL 487 

Rev. William H. Vogler, a minister of the Moravian church. They are the 
parents of two sons : I'Ldwin de Schweinitz, and Wilford. 



FRANKLIN SUTTON— Born in the neighborins; county of Bucks, Mr. 
Sutton lias been a resident of 1 lellertown, Pennsylvania, since his ninth year, 
and on January i, 1918, was chosen chief burgess of the borough. He 
had j)reviously been postmaster of 1 lellertown for a term of ten years, 
and he was the first ])ostmaster of that borough to receive his appoint- 
ment from the president. Franklin is a son of Isaac Sutton, born in 
Springtown, New Jersey, September i, 1842, a furnace-maker all his active 
years, but now retired. He is a veteran of the Civil War, in which he 
served from Bull Run to Appomattox with Company A, One Hundred and 
Seventy-ninth Regiment, New York Highlanders, and was honorably dis- 
chargeti and mustered out at the end of the war, in 1865. It is said that 
Jacob Sutton, brother of Isaac, also a Union soldier, fired the last shot of 
the Civil War, and a leading New York newspaper investigated the story 
.ind wrote it up. Isaac Sutton married Mary Sherrer, born in fJucks county, 
Pennsylvania, in September, 1865, and in September, 191 5, they celebrated 
the golden anniversary of their wedding day. They are now, January, 1919, 
residing in Hellertowii, Pennsylvania, the parents of eleven children, seven 
of whom are living. 

Franklin Sutton was born in Durham, Bucks county, Pennsylvania, De- 
cember 25, 1868, and there spent the first nine years of his life. The family 
then moved to 1 lellertown, Northampton county, where he finished grammar 
school courses in the public schools. After leaving school he was clerk in a 
grocery store for some time, then for three years was employed in an iron 
works. He then learned the barber's trade, and in 1904 began business in 
Hellertown under his own name. From that year until the present (1919) 
he has continued in successful business, and his is the leading shop of the 
borough. For ten years, 1904 to 1914, he was postmaster of Hellertown, 
and in January, 1918, he took his seat as chief burgess of the borough. He 
is one of the leading men of the town, and his popularity is based upon a 
lifetime of ui)right, honorable living in the community which has thus hon- 
ored him. In jjolitics he is a Republican. His barber shop, at No. 318 Main 
street, is one of the finest appointed concerns of a place this size in Penn- 
sylvania. 

Mr. Sutton married. January i, 1895, Margaret Lambert, daughter of 
Ely and Lena (Marqued) Lambert, of Northampton. Mr. and Mrs. Sutton 
are the parents of two children: Marian, born December 18, 1895, a graduate 
of Hellertown High School; Russel F., born January 5. 1898. a graduate of 
Hellertown High School, Bethlehem Preparatory School, and is now a stu- 
dent at Lafayette College, class of 1921. 

JOHN RINGHOFFER— When John Ringhoffer, of Bethlehem. Penn- 
sylvania, first left his native Austria-Hungary in 1891. it was not to North, 
but to South America that he sailed, and in that country he lost all his pos- 
sessions and barely escaped with his life, coming as near being pronounced 
dead and hurried to cremation as was possible, and yet be saved. Brazil was 
then in a lawless, unsettled condition politically, and there was no redress 
for him through the process of law, but he was told that he could take the 
law into his own hands and either kill the parties who had drugged and 
robbed him, or be killed by them. He took the wiser course and left the 
country, returning to Germany. Three years after his first emigration he 
came to the United States, settled in Bethlehem, and there now resides, a 
prosperous dealer in real estate, his specialty, the purchase, improvement 
and sale of city property. Pie brought little to this country except his family, 
but by industry and thrift has won a substantial success. 



488 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

John Ringhoffer was born in Austria-Hungary, Alay 6, 1857, son of 
JacoD and Anna (Swheger) Ringhoffer, his father a farmer of German blood, 
his mother of P"rench parentage. He grew to manhood in his native land, 
there married, and in 1881, with his wife, daughter Alary, and other children 
emigrated to Brazil, South America, arriving rirst in Rio Janeiro, the capital, 
then went inland to Province Rio,' granted Deso!, Prolagua and Shohwere, 
but owing to the unsettled condition of the country at that time, there was 
little opportunity for business activity ; neither was life or property safe. They 
did not understand the language, and altogether had such trying experiences 
that Air. Ringhoffer decided to leave the country. He made his way to the 
coast, Rio Janeiro, and when they arrived, his family remained on board. Air. 
Ringhotler went into the city to purchase a ticket for the next steamer, to 
return to his native country. In the city of Rio Janeiro he was lured into a 
saloon, although not a drinking man, and was persuaded to drink something 
mild. That something was heavily drugged, and in that condition he was 
first robbed and then left. When found he was taken to a hospital, pro- 
nounced dead, and an order given to have the body at once prepared for 
cremation, that being the prevalent method of disposing of the dead in that 
city. Fearing they were moving too hastily, six hours' postponement of 
the cremation was ordered, and before that time had expired a German came 
in, and, recognizing a countryman, aided in reviving Air. Ringhoffer and 
restoring him to his family. In the meantime Airs. Ringhoffer had done all 
in her power, even to holding the ship for two days, while search was 
being made for her husband. When reunited, the family remained in the 
city, and he took a position, which he was oft'ered by the government, and 
worked until he had enough money to return home. Owing to the unhealthy 
climate, they buried three children in a short time. They returned to their 
former home via Africa, Italy and Belgium, then overland to their home. 

In 1894, Air. Ringhoff'er again became an emigrant, this time seeking a 
new home in the United States and locating in South Bethlehem. Pennsyl- 
vania. There he remained five years in the employ of the Bethlehem Iron 
Company, then moved to Passaic, New Jersey, where he resided two years, 
then returned to South Bethlehem, which has since been his home, l^rom 
the time of his return from New Jersey until 1906 he was ernployed in Alill 
No. 2 of the Bethlehem Steel plant, at good wages, from which he accumu- 
lated sufficient capital to purchase the old Alease farm and retire from the 
mill. For two years he cultivated the farm, then sold it. the property now 
being owned by" the street car company and used by that corporation for the 
site of car barns, residence lots and University Park. From the farm Air. 
Ringhoffer moved with his family to the property he had purchased and 
improved at the corner of North and Railroad streets. From that time he 
has made real estate operating his sole business, and has been very success- 
ful. He has bought with good judgment, and invariably his investments 
have been realized upon at a good profit. He is well known and respected 
in his community, and is highly regarded as an authority on real estate values. 

Air. Ringho'ffer married. 'in Austria-Hungary, January 25, 1881, Alaria 
Felenbeak, born in Nanas-Wessbrin. a town of Hungary in Wessbrin county, 
her birthplace near that of her husband. Airs. Ringhoffer was the daughter 
of S John and Anna Felenbeak, natives of Wessbrin county, a central county 
of Hungary rich in coin and cattle. She died in South Bethlehem, Penn- 
sylvania^ January 18, 1909, the mother of fourteen children, among whom 
were • i "Alarv. born in Austria-Hungary, and when six years of age was 
taken to Brazil bv her parents, and remembers well the trials and hardships 
of life in that country and of the return journey to Hungary. She was 
brouo-ht bv them aga'in to South Bethlehem, where she married and had 
three" children: Catherine. Johannes and Joseph, these children bearing the 
name Ringhoffer, the marriage not proving a happy one. The mother had 



BIOGRAPHICAL 489 

also resumed her maiden name, and is her father's housekeeper, also the 
capable proprietor of a grocery at No. 841 East Fourth street. South Beth- 
lehem, also the family home. She is a woman of good business ability, a 
hard worker and a devoted daughter. 2. John, married Anna Berkett. 
3. Anna, married Joseph Olexa. 4. George, unmarried. Nine children died 
in infancy, and Stephen died while the family was in Brazil. All are members 
of the Roman Catholic church. 



IRWIN P. RICHARDS-Coming from an old English family long 
seated in Northampton county, F'ennsylvania, Irwin P. Richards, the present 
sheriff of that county, lias reviewed an interest in the name which has been 
borne by men of eminence in many walks of life. Irwin P. is a grandson ot 
Joseph and Mary (Miller) Richards, he a grandson of the English founder 
of the family in this country. Joseph Richards was a farmer of Williams 
township, Northampton county, one of the substantial agriculturists of the 
township, and a devoted member of the Lutheran church. He married Mary 
Miller, and they were the parents of eleven children: Mary, Elizabeth, Susan, 
William, of further mention; John, Joseph, Charles, Jacob, Aaron, Henry, 
and a child who died young. 

William Richards, son of Jose])h and Mary (Miller) Richards, was born 
in \\'illiams township, and spent his life in Northampton county, dj'ing in 
1881, aged sixty-three years. For thirty-three years he was the proprietor 
of the Black Horse Tavern, located three miles south of Easton, on the 
Delaware river, a popular resort for Eastonians. He was a radical Republi- 
can, a member of the Lutheran church, and active in politics. He married 
Mary E. Moyer, who died in 1905, aged seventy-eight years, daughter of 
Samuel and Elizabeth (YcUis) Moyer. They were the parents of four sons 
and a daughter: Franklin, Charles, Joseph, Irwin, of further mention, and 
Annie. 

Irwin P. Richards, fourth and youngest son of William and Mary E. 
(Moyer) Richards, was born in Williams township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, June 9, 1864, and there obtained his early education. He later 
attended Trach's pay school in Easton. He conducted a livery business in 
Easton for thirty years, continviing until March, 1917; has had the contract 
for carrying the United States mails in Easton since 1913, and all his 
mature years has been a popular auctioneer, crying sales in city and country, 
far and near, a business which he still retains. In November, 1915. he was 
elected sheriff of Northampton county, an office he yet most efficiently fills 
at the present time (1918). 

Sheriff Richards is a Republican in politics, a member of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks ; the Fraternal Order of Eagles : tlie Loyal 
Order of Moose; the Improved Order of Red Men; United Order of Ameri- 
can Mechanics; and the Order of Equinis. All his life he has been interested 
and active in politics, one of the strong men of the party, faithful in times 
of stress and storm, as well as when the skies were bright. For eighteen 
years he was in the hotel business in Easton, and as an auctioneer he has a 
wide reputation. He possesses a pleasing personality, makes friends easily 
and is very popular. He married, March 27, 1884, Allavesta Seifcrt. daugh- 
ter of Levi and Emma D. (Keifer) Seifert. Mr. and Mrs. Richards are 
members of the Lutheran church, their home No. si South Fifth street. 



CLINTON HENRY SNYDER— At Secnsville. a post villarre^ of North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, in Allen township, Clinton Henry Snydi-^r has 
conducted a general store for the past quarter of a century, being one of the 
well known and successful merchants of his section of the country. His 
entire life has been spent in Allen township, his birth occurring in thnt part 
now known as East Allen township. Prior to embarking in commercial life, 



490 NORTH AxMPTON COUNTY 

he was a teacher in the public school, his teaching experience covering 
twenty-five terms. He was as successful as a teacher as he has been in 
business, and was one of the highly esteemed pedagogues of the district. 

Clinton Henry Snyder is a son of Peter Snyder, an old settler of Allen 
township, in that part known as East Allen, he then owning and cultivating 
a farm of one hundred and forty acres. He was also a well known stock- 
man, and conducted business very successfully until his death, just in the 
prime of life, aged forty-four years. He married Susanna Spangler, of Allen 
township, and they were the parents of four sons and four daughters, two 
of these children yet living: Susanna, wife of Thomas E. Koch, of Bethle- 
hem, Pennsylvania ; and Clinton Henry, of further mention. 

Clinton Henry Snyder was born at the East Allen township homestead, 
March 9, 1847, and here lived until his fourth year, when the death of his 
lather caused his mother to remove with her children to another part of the 
township. Clinton H. Snyder attended public school, and early in life learned 
the shoemaker's trade, but he craved further educational training and through 
his own efforts he accomplished a course at Schwartze Academy, Bethlehem, 
followed by study at Pennsylvania State Normal School at Ivutztown. After 
being licensed to teach, he secured and taught the Allen township school for 
two terms, then for twenty-three terms taught in East Allen township school. 
He continued teaching until 1893. then bought out a mercantile business at 
Seemsville in the same township, and has since continuously conducted a 
general store until the present, a period of twenty-five j-ears. Seemsville 
is but a small village, but is an important trading point, and with the various 
stock handled Mr. Snyder has a business of large volume, groceries, dry- 
goods, hardware, shoes and furnishings all being standard lines in which he 
deals. In 1916 he erected Iiis present store building, planning it from his 
experience and ideas of what a countr}^ store should be. In addition to being 
the leading store of the section, it is also the post office, ilr. Snyder having 
been postmaster for several years. He is a good business man, upright and 
energetic, holding his word as a bond and mindful of every obligation of 
good citizenship. Mr. Snyder is a Democrat in politics, is a member of the 
Reformed church, and for twenty years has been leader of the choir of St. 
Peter's Church at Seemsville, and is a teacher of the Sunday school. For 
riine years he was auditor of the township, and in all things is one of the men 
who can always be relied upon to "lend a hand.'" His fraternal order is the 
Fraternal Order of American Mechanics. 

Mr. Snyder married, in 1877, Emma C. daughter of John Koch. Mr. 
and Mrs. Snyder are the parents of two children: Clara "Susann:i. married 
Palmer E. Hess ; and Howard Calvin, died young. 



RAYMOND WARREN RAPP— Raymond Warren Rapp. one of the 
most successful and progressive business men of Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, 
where he is engaged in the business of manufacturing ice-cream, is a native 
of Bursonville, Bucks county, in this State. He is a son of George Jerome 
and Martha E. (Kohl) Rapp, being the only child born of this union. The 
Kohl family resided for many years in Bucks county, and came originally 
to this region from Germany. An uncle of Mr. Rapp, Thomas Rapp, lost 
his life at the battle of Gettysburg, and his maternal great-grandfather, 
Jacob Zigafoos, served in the Revolution. The early childhood of Mr. Rapp 
was spent at his native place, and later he attended the public school of 
Bethlehem, and graduated from the high school with the class of 1907. After 
the death of his father, his mother married a second time. Mr. John S. Ruth, 
who was engaged in the business of ice-cream manufacturing in Bethlehem 
for eighteen years. Thus it happened that young Mr. Rapp received an early 
training in the establishment of his stepfather and learned all- the details of 
this line of business. In the year 1914, upon the death of his stepfather, he 



TKE NHW y,>«K 
PUBLIC UBRARY 



•■/i-UKN FOUNDA'. 

r 




'^V^o^v\i.lVv:\\v>oLWa> 



BIOGRAPHICAL 491 

engaged in the same business on his own account, at first on a very small 
scale. However, from the outset his success was assured, and his establish- 
ment grew ra])idly in size, increasing to such an extent that it was necessary 
for him to build his present building to aiTord it adequate quarters. This 
building is a iiandsome brick structure, two stories in height, measuring 
40 by 50 feet in plan, and was completed in May, 1915. It is fully equipped 
with all the latest and most modern machinery for the production of ice- 
cream and has an output at the present time of over one hundred thousand 
gallons per year. The demand for Mr. Ivai>!)'s cream is increasing continually 
to such an extent that he is practically doubling his business every 3'ear. 

Mr. Rapp is a man typical of the best tyjje of our citizenship, jjrogressive 
and capable, and quick to seize every opportunity that offers itself. He 
feels keenly his responsibility to the community which patronizes him, and 
produces only the highest grade of goods for its consumption. Sanitation 
is a byword with him. Mr. Rapp uses four trucks; two one-half-ton and two 
one-ton trucks in the handling of his large business. Mr. Rapp is very active 
in the general life of the community and is prominently associated with 
many important movements undertaken for the welfare of the community- 
at-large. He is an Inde])endent in politics, but docs not take a very active 
part in political life. In his religious belief he is a member of the Reformed 
church, and he is also affilialctl with other important organizations, includ- 
ing the I'.ethlehem Chamber of Commerce, the local lodge of the Independent 
Order of Odd F"ellows, the Order of Patriotic Americans, and the Associa- 
tion of Ice Cream Manufacturers of Pennsylvania. 

Raymond Warren Rapp was united in marriage, March 11, 191 1, with 
Ruth M. Quier, a daughter of Allan and Sarah (Allan) Ouier, old and highly 
respected residents of North Bethlehem, where the former is still actively 
engaged in business and is in charge of the Bethlehem Steel tool room. 
Mr. and Mrs. Rapp are the parents of one daughter, Gweneldene Natalia, 
born March 26, 1914. 

CHARLES DANIEL FRIEBELY -Charles Daniel Friebely, one of 
the most energetic and successful business men of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
and an influential citizen here, is a native of Douglasville, Northampton county, 
Pennsjivania, where his birth occurred June 30, 1878. He is a great-grandson 
of Jacob Friebele, who came from Baden, Germany, in 1828, and settled in 
Pike county, in this State. His son. Christian Friebele, was a carpenter by 
trade, and became a well known figure in his adopted community. His son, 
Daniel William F"riebely, father of Charles Daniel Friebely, was born at 
Plainfield township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, April 28, i8s3, and 
established himself at South Bethlehem. Pennsylvania, in the insurance busi- 
ness in 1893. He was possessed of great business ability and developed a 
large business here. He became a justice of the peace, an office which he 
held up to the time of his death, which occurred April 14, 1898. He married, 
at Douglasville, Ellen Catherine Hoch, born in Moore township, Northamp- 
ton county, Pennsylvania. jMarch 29, 1856, who now lives in Soutli I^ethle- 
hem. They were the parents of three children, all of whom are now living, 
as follows: i. Harry E., the jiroprietor of a drug store on Chestnut Hill, 
Philadelphia, married Marguerite Huffman, by whom he has had three chil- 
dren : Howard, Richard and John. 2. Charles Daniel, with whose career we 
are here especially concerned. 3. Mary Matilda, who became the wife of 
George Fox, civil engineer. 

Charles Daniel Friebely spent but the first few years of his life at his 
native town of Douglasville, the family then removing to Bushkill Center. 
Northampton county, when he was about six years of age. He first attended 
•school at Jacobsburg, two miles from Bushkill Center. In 1887, however, 
the family came to South Bethlehem, and here he continued his education. 



492 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

attending the public schools of this city until he had reached the age of four- 
teen. He then abandoned his studies and learned the trade of printer, being 
employed by the JMoravian Publishing Company for three years. After com- 
pleting his apprenticeship he followed his trade of printer for two years at 
Allentown, and then for one year at Philadelphia. In 1897 he returned to 
Bethlehem, where he was employed by his father in the latter's insurance 
business up to the time of the elder man's death. Since then ]Mr. Friebely 
has conducted the business on his own account and, under his skillful and 
careful management, it has developed until it is one of the most important 
of its kind hereabouts. Mr. Friebely is a staunch Democrat in politics, and 
is keenly interested both in local and general issues, but his business calls 
tor so much of his time and attention that he has never cared to enter 
politics actively. He is a prominent figure in social and fraternal circles 
here, and is especially active in the Masonic order, being a member of H. 
Stanley Goodman Lodge No. 648, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons ; Ezra 
Chapter, Royal Arch Masons ; Bethlehem Council No. 36, Royal and Select 
Masters ; Bethlehem Commandery No. 90, Knights Templar ; Rajah Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; and the Caldwell Con- 
sistory, Sovereign Princes of the Royal Secret, in which he has taken the 
thirty-second degree in Free Masonry. He is also a member and a past 
commander of Damascus Commandery No. 50, Ancient and Illustrious Order 
Knights of ]Malta ; past grand of Wreath of Friendship Lodge No. 917, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows : a member of Ontario Tribe No. 280, Improved 
Order of Red Men; Hobah Lodge No. 267, Knights of Pythias; banker of 
South Bethlehem Camp No. 6940, Modern Woodmen of America : member of 
Universitv Camp G. F., and the Shrine Club. Mr. Friebely is a Lutheran in 
religious belief and is a member of St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church 
of this place. He has beeen very active in church v.-ork here, and has been 1 
teacher in the Sunday school for seventeen years. Mr. Friebely is particularly 
fond of music, and has sung for about five years in the famous Lehigh Uni- 
versity Choir conducted by Dr. Wolle, in the Packer Memorial Church at 
Lehigh University, taking' part in the Bach festivals several times, which 
have been given there for so many years. He is also keenly interested in the 
subject of postage stamps. 

Charles Daniel Friebely was united in marriage, November 12, 1901, at 
CofFeetown, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, with Anna ]May Huff, a 
native of New Jersey, and a daughter of Matthias S. and Mary (Nicholas) 
Huff, the former de'ceased. his death occurring August 30, 1913, and the 
latter now residing at Riegelsville. To Mr. and Mrs. Friebely the following 
children were born: Carl Daniel, July 4, 1903, now a student in the Bethlehem 
High School, and a member of the class of 1921 ; John HufT, August 23, 1904, 
died August 5. 1913. 

S. MORTON ZULICK — One of Easton's successful business men. Mr. 
Zulick, can review the past with satisfaction and approach the future with 
confidence. His success has been built upon the soundest of business prin- 
ciples and he is a leader amonsr the public-spirited, progressive business men 
of his city. He is a son of Charles B. and Susan (Arnold) Zulick, and a 
grandson of Anthony Zulick. the first music dealer in Easton, a gifted musi- 
cian and church organist. His store was located on Northampton street, 
where he built up agocd business and did much to advance musical culture 
amons the people. He married Jane Cummings, who came with him from 
Germanv to Philadelphia and hence to Easton, and thev were the parents of 
eight children who grew to adult years, namely: Thomas C, a one-time 
gelieral superintendent of the Reading Coal and Navigation Company ; Sam- 
uel N., a physician and veteran of the Civil War: William, connected with a 
bank in Philadelphia: Anna; Henry; Charles B.. of further mention; C. 
Meyer, two terms governor of Arizona ; Mary, married Thomas Rinek. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 493 

Charles B. Zulick succeeded his father in the music and Ijook store which 
he conducted until 1877. He then became general agent for the Philadelphia 
& Reading Coal Company. He served two terms in the Pennsylvania Legis- 
lature, and was prominent in city affairs. He married Susan, daughter of 
William and Mary Arnold, and they were the parents of twelve children: 
Carrie, Ida, Annie, Mamie, S. Morton, of further mention; Thomas C, a 
physician of Easton ; Jeimie; William; James, deceased; Charles, Adams, 
twin with Charles ; and Susan. 

S. Morton Zulick was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, September 25, 1866. 
He was educated in the public schools. He began his business career in 1883, 
while yet a schoolboy, by working as a clerk in the store of his uncle, Thomas 
Rinek, one of the founders of the Rinek Cordage Comjjany. After gradua- 
tion he continued in that employ, continuing until 1897, when under the (irm 
name, S. M. Zulick, he succeeded to tlie business of the wholesale and retail 
selling department of J. Rinek Sons. Mr. Zulick does a large business as a 
wholesale and retail dealer of cordage of many kinds, and sporting goods, 
and as wholesale distributors of the Plymouth Cordage Company products, 
which covers a wide field. It is one of the largest and oldest of cordage 
companies in the United States, and one of the few devoted exclusively to 
manufacturing cordage of the highest quality. Mr. Zulick is a member of the 
Easton Board of Trade. Easton Rotary Club, is a Democrat, and a member 
of the First Reformed Church, the church of his forefathers for two genera- 
tions, the chimes in the church tower being the gift of the Zulicks. Mr. 
Zulick is a patron of all out-of-door s])orts, and personally is fond of fishing, 
hunting and motoring. He is deeph' interested in civic affairs, and is one 
of the strong, reliable men of his city, willing at all times to aid in any 
forward movement. 

Mr. Zulick married. April 17, 1901, May B. Godley, daughter of Edwin 
G. Godley. 



CHARLES H. BUENNING— Under fifty thousand square feet of glass, 
Mr. Piucnning grows the many varieties of plants which he distributes to 
his retail trade, and the brilliantly hued cut flowers which are freshly deliv- 
ered to his store in Easton at the corner of Centre square. This business, 
now so prosperous, was begun in 1902 by Mr. Buenning with less than one- 
half that area under glass, his establishment at No. 1900 Lehigh street, 
Easton, now being one of the interesting sights of that section of the city. 
He is a son of Henry and Dora (Scheer) Buenning, of the province of 
Schleswig-Holstein. then a part of Denmark, but later taken by Germany, 
his father still living, his mother deceased. 

Charles II. lUienning was born in Schleswig-Holstein, February 4, 1872, 
there was educated, and there became a florist. In 1890 he came to the 
United States, and until 1894 was employed in New York city in different 
places, adding to his store of knowledge and becoming familiar with Ameri- 
can ways. In 1894 he removed to Easton, and the following year began in a 
small way the growing of flowers and vegetables for the Easton market. He 
grew with his opportunities, added little by little to the area of the gardens 
and greenhouses, until, in 1902. he established his present greenhouses at No. 
Tooo Lehigh street, twenty thousand square feet then being put under glass. 
He has continually expanded until his present large business, as grower and 
dealer, has resulted. He also operates a fifty-acre farm with peach orchards, 
lying between Easton and Bethlehem, which he owns, as he does two blocks 
of city lots in Wilson township, adjoining Easton. and his home on Lehigh 
street, which he built in 1902. He has prospered abundantly and may attrib- 
ute his success solely to his own skill as a florist, his industr}' and well 
proven business ability. 

He has taken the degrees of the Masonic order in both the York and 



494 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Scottish Rites up to and including the thirty-second, his affiHations being 
with Easton Lodge No. 152, Free and Accepted Masons; Easton Chapter No. 
173, Royal Arch JMasons ; Pomp Council No. 20, Royal and Select Masters; 
Hugh de Payen Commandery No. 19, Knights Templar ; Rajah Temple, 
Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine of Reading, Pennsylvania; 
and Caldwell Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rites of Bloomsburg, 
Pennsylvania. Other orders to which he belongs are the Tall Cedars of 
Lebanon, Pennsylvania ; Vanderveer Lodge No. 105, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; the War 
Gardens Club, the Rotary Club, and Zion's Lutheran Church, of which he is a 
member of the governing council. 

Mr. Buenning married, March 10, 1895, Augusta L., daughter of William 
and Augusta Schlasinger. They are the parents of four children: Minna, 
Henry, Herman and Carl. Henry and Herman were both with the American 
Army, Herman being trained at Camp Lafaj'ette, Easton, where he was one 
of the team of baseball, and Henry, trained at Pittsburgh University, with 
rank of corporal. 

ASHTON FAMILY — The first of the Ashtonj, or Ashetons, was Orme 
Fitz Edward, who settled at Ashton-under-Lyne, in Lancashire, England, in 
the early days of the Plantaganets, some time about 11 50. His great-great- 
grandson w-as Sir Robert de Assheton, vice-chamberlain of Edward III, and 
after the great English victories of Crecy and Poitiers he was made warden 
of the Cinques Portes, and admiral of the narrow seas. His great-great- 
great-grandson was Sir Ralph Assheton, knight baronet, lieutenant of the 
Tower of London under Edward IV, and vice-constable of Engfland. He 
married Margarey Barton, of IMiddleton, from whom his heirs derived great 
estates. Plis sons were Richard, who inherited his father's baronetcy in 
Lancashire, which is now extinct, and Ralph. The family which Ralph estab- 
lished is now among the landed gentry of Lancashire. Its estate is Downham 
Hall, near Chitteroe, twenty-eight miles from Manchester. 

It is quite clear that the various connections of the Ashtons in this 
country are offshoots of this great Lancashire family. Early in the history 
of Virginia the Ashtons had found their place, though the records are scanty 
and it is hard to tell what was the relation between the various settlers of 
the name. There was a Col. Peter Ashton, a burgess of Charles City county, 
Virginia, in 1656. Three years later he received two thousand acres in West- 
moreland county. His estate on the Potomac he called Chatterton. There 
was an estate named Chatterton in the Ashton family of Lancashire acquired 
by marriage in 1455. This fact practically establishes Peter's connection 
with the main branch. He willed his estate to his brother James, of Kirby 
Underwood, County Lincoln, and to his brother John he gave two thousand 
acres adjoining Chatterton. These two brothers probably came to this coun- 
try, although they were in England at that time. Peter Ashton was an asso- 
ciate of John Washington, the emigrant and founder of the family of George 
Washington. 

One Charles Ashton was living in Northumberland county, Virgmia, as 
early as 1660. He was a justice of the peace and captain of militia, and prob- 
ably close kin to Col. Peter Ashton. He married Isabella, and had a son 

named John. . , ^ ,t j 1 

John Ashton, son of Charles Ashton, married Grace Meese, and they 

had two sons : Henry and Charles. 

Henrv Ashton, son of John Ashton. was a colonel, a justice and a burgess. 
He married (first) Elizabeth Hardidge, and (second) Mary Watts. His son 
by his second wife was Henry, who married, in 1748, Jane Alexander. They 
had Henrv Alexander, a colonel, who married Mary Dent, and Henry A. and 
Mary had Plenry. of whom further; George; and Elizabeth, who married 
John H. Peyton. 



THE HKVV yu«K 

PUBLIC LfBRA" 



AtiXOH. LENOX A 
TfLDKN FOUK" 



J 






>z^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 495 

Henry Ashton, son of Henry A. and Mary (Dent) Ashton, was an officer 
in the War of 1812. He married Cecelia Brown Key. At the time of his 
death in 1834, he was a marshal in tlie Supreme Court. He had eight daugh- 
ters and one son, Henry, who died at the age of twenty-one in the United 
States Army. He did not marry. Tlie eight daughters married with the 
Bibbs of Kentucky, the Walkers, the Mills family, the Stuarts of Virginia, 
the Ramscys of North Carolina, and the Todds and Dents of Maryland. The 
eighth daughter, Cecelia, died in a nunnery. 

Charles Ashton, son of John Ashton, of Northumberland county, Vir- 
ginia, and brother of Henry Ashton, the colonel, justice and burgess, married 
(first) a Miss Burdett and (second) a Miss Hart. He had a son Charles, who 
married and had Burdett. John and Laurence, l^.urdett lived in Chestnut 
Hill, King George county, Virginia. He married Ann, daughter of .Xugustine 
Washington, and had Charles, Augustine Washington, I'urdctt, and two 
daughters. Burdett's brother. John, of Lebanon, Westmoreland county, Vir- 
ginia, married (first) Mary Watts and (second) Hannah W'est. He had one 
daughter, Sarah, who married Henry Washington, and one son, Laurence, 
who married Elizabeth Scott, and settled in Farquier county. This Mrs. 
Laurence (Scott) Ashton was "noted for her intelligence, beauty, vivacity, 
wit, courtly manners and dignity." 

Massachusetts also had its Ashtons. Samuel Ashton lived in Marblehcad 
in 1698. He married Mary Saudin in that year and had Ephraim, born in 
1700, Samuel, and two daughters. Ephraim was a fisherman and schoolmaster, 
and married Sarah Waldron. His children were Sam, a fisherman and 
mariner, who married Sarah Laskey ; Ephraim, a fisherman, who married 

Deliverance ; and John, who went to Beverly and married .Sarah 

Green. John and Sarah (Green) Ashton, of Beverly, had John. William Green. 
Betsey and Sally Green. 

Philadelphia was the American home of a goodly number of the earl)- 
Ashtons whose connection with the Lancashire family is quite obvious. 
Jonathan Assheton. of Philadelphia, was in fact born at Ashton-under-Lyne. 
"lie died in Philadelphia in 1727. In 1683 he came to that city, -where he was 
clerk of Christ Church. He married Hannah , and had Isaac, of Phila- 
delphia. Isaac had a son William, born in 1732, who married (first) Marion 
Catherine Easterly, and had George, lieutenant of the Ninth Company of 
Artillery of the Regiment of Philadelphia, a clergyman and professor of chem- 
istry. By his second wife, Sarah (Keen) Ashton, he had Samuel Keen Ashton, 
of Philadelphia, who married Caroline Malinda Smiley. 

Jonathan Ashton had a cousin, Robert Ashton, who came from Shipley 
county, Lancashire. He was a lawyer and the son of William Ashton. an 
attorncy-at-law and coroner of the county of Lancaster. William Ashton's 
wife was named Frances, and she was kin to William Penn. who was instru- 
mental in getting the Pennsylvania Ashtons to come to America. 

Robert Ashton was the recorder of the Colony. His first wife, whom he 

brought from England, was Margaret , and after her death he married. 

at Christ Church, Jane Elizabeth Falconier. They had William, who died in 
1723, a prominent man in the State. William Ashton married Elizabeth 
Merring from the Barbadoes, and had William, a lawyer. Robert, the 
recorder, had two other sons besides William — Robert and Ralph — who. with 
their brother, established the family throughout Pennsylvania The Ashtons 
in Pennsylvania have intermarried with the following families: Baker, Gayoso 
de Lemos (governor of Louisiana) Parrott. Pannill, W'ikofT. Claxton, Potts, 
Gardiner, Yocum and Humphreys. 

The arms of the family, which are borne with little variation by all of 
the name, are : Argent, a mullet sable pierced of the field. 



WALTER H. ASHTON — The modern mortuary establishment now con- 
ducted by Walter H. Ashton at No. 31 North Fourth street, Easton. is 



496 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

founded upon the business which William Keller began in 1847. A great por- 
tion ot the period the business has been in the Ashton name, Mr. Keller being 
succeeded by his son-in-law, Frank Ashton, who in turn was succeeded by 
his brother, E. Harris Ashton, and at his death in October, IQ09, Walter H. 
Ashton became the owner and proprietor. Ashton's Undertakingf Establish- 
ment, as now conducted, is provided with every modern aid to the proper 
care of the dead, and for the dignified observance of the last rites which 
can be paid them. If desired, services may be held in the large parlor 
attached, and every detail of funeral direction is properly attended to. Mr. 
Ashton has recently bought property in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, at No. 19 
West Broad street, at which a similar establishment has been opened, rival- 
ing Ashtons of Easton in its appointments and conveniences. 

Mr. Ashton is a son of Eli and Catherine (Duffield) Ashton of Phila- 
delphia, and a descendant of an old Eastern Pennsylvania family. The Duf- 
field family was founded in Pennsylvania by Benjamin Duffield, an English- 
man, who came over with William Penn. He married a daughter of William 
Watts, and they were the parents of thirteen children from whom sprang 
the Duffields of Pennsylvania. Catherine (Duffield) Ashton, mother of Wal- 
ter H. Ashton, was a daughter of Jesse Duffield, a descendant of Benjamin 
Duffield. 

Walter H. Ashton was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, ]\Iay 6, 1874, 
and educated in the public schools of that city and of Easton, Pennsylvania, 
he becoming a resident of the latter city when a lad of fourteen years. After 
completing his studies he was variously employed, finally becoming an under- 
taker, and thoroughly mastering the many details of that business, including 
embalming and modern methods of caring for the dead. He started in busi- 
ness for himself in Riegelsville. Pennsylvania, in 1906, and there continued 
until the death of his brother, E. H. Ashton, in 1909, when he returned to 
Easton and succeeded to the ownership of Ashton's Undertaking Establish- 
ment. In 191 3, Mr. Ashton purchased the present site of the establishment. 
No. 31 North Fourth street, and removed to his new quarters the same year, 
after a thorough refitting and alteration to bring it to the point of perfection 
he desired as a modernly complete mortuary establishment.^ He is the leader 
among funeral directors, and is highly esteemed as a citizen of worth. _ 

Mr. Ashton is widelv connected with the fraternal life of his city, being 
af^liated with Prosperitv Lodge. Free and Accepted Masons, of Riegelsville, 
Pennsvlvania ; Easton Chapter. Royal Arch ^Masons ; Pomp Council, Royal 
and Select Masters ; Plugh de Payen Commandery. Knights Templar, all of 
Easton; Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrme, 
of Reading; the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Junior Order of Ameri- 
can Mechanics; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks; all of Easton. His 
clubs are the Pomfret, Rotary and Kiwanis, his church affiliations with 
Trinitv Protestant Episcopal Church. . x , 

On April 29, 1897, Mr. Ashton married Anna, daughter of Jacob and 
Sarah Seipel. and thev are the parents of seven children: Catherine, Walter 
H., Jr., Frederick, Ea'rle, Frank and Henry Scott. A daughter Margaret is 
deceased. 

MARK C DEVLIN— Mark C. Devlin, well regarded and identified with 
the industrial and public affairs of the city of Bethlehem since early man- 
hood has been justice of the peace for six years, and has become active 
amoncr the leaders of the Democratic party of that city and district. He is a 
native'' of Bethlehem, born April 6. 1879, the son of Alexander and Mary 
(McCann) Devlin. Alexander Devlin, who was born in County Antrim. 
Ireland in 1846 came to America when onlv fourteen years of age. and is 
now one of the oldest living citizens of Bethlehem. His long life has been a 
vio-orous one, given almost wholly to steady industrious occupations at the 



BIOGRAPHICAL 497 

Bethlehem Steel Works; he began as a water boy, and is now enjoying a 
pension awarded him by the Bethlehem Steel Company because of his long 
and faithful service. lie is still hale and hearty, the natural outcome of a 
steady life, honest daily toil and good habits. His wife, Mary McCann, 
was of Irish descent, but was born in this country, at Freemansburg, Penn- 
sylvania. Her decease occurred in May of 1917, at Bethlehem, when she 
was then sixty years of age. She was a good mother, and she bore to her 
husband five children, all of whom are living. They arc: i. Kate, who was 
married to James McCreedy, an active and prosperous business man of 
Bethlehem ; they have two children, John and Mary. 2. Alexander, who is 
constable of the Fifth Ward; he married Mary Ilaniy, of Bethlehem, and 
they have two children. 3. Charles, who is a chemist in the employ of the 
United States Government. 4. Gerald, who during the war has been identi- 
fied with the United States Army as inspector. 5. Mark C, the subject of 
this article. 

Mark C. Devlin was educated in the ])ul)lic schools of Bethlehem, and 
having there received a good foundation in general academic knowledge, he 
decided to follow his father and become a wage-earner without further delay. 
He entered the employ of the Bethlehem Steel Com]«ny, learning the trade 
of machinist. As such he was associated with the Bethlehem Steel Company 
for sixteen years. 

He had, however, always been actively interested in politics, at least in 
furthering the policies of the Democratic party, and being by nature a likable 
man and good comrade, with an abundance of common sense and a logical 
forcible way of expressing his opinions, he grew in the respect of his fellow 
workers and the residents in general of his locality, and he was preferred 
by them for many offices in civic and political affairs. He was twice elected 
to the Democratic committee of the Fifth Ward; for six vears he served on 
the Board of Health of the city of Bethlehem ; and for a like period was a 
member of the Democratic executive committee. His popularity has been 
further evidenced by his elections to the office of justice of the peace. He was 
first elected in 1913, and has been re-elected, so that his commission does 
not expire until 1922. 

Fraternally, Mr. Devlin is afifiliated with the Loyal Order of JMoose, and 
is a member of the Bethlehem Lodge No. 535. In religious associations he is 
a devout and steady supporter of the Catholic church, and is active in its 
observances. And he takes much interest in the affairs of the Holy Name 
Society. 

On November 4, 1901, at the Church of Holy Infancy, Mr. Devlin was 
married to Mary Agnes, daughter of Dennis and Annie (Sweeney) Reagan, 
of Bethlehem. Mrs. Devlin's father, though sixtj^-two years of age, is still 
in almost constant work at the Bethlehem Steel Company; her mother died in 
October, igoi. Mr. Reagan for fourteen years was janitor of a Bethlehem 
school, a post held by election. Five children have been born to Mr. and 
Mrs. Mark C. Devlin. They are : James, who was born on March 5, 1903, at 
Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, and still attending school in Bet'ilehem; Anna, 
born January 19, T905: Gerald, who was born June 5, 1^07: Rose, who was 
born on January 10. 1912; and Mark, born May 26. 1914. The four last-named 
were all born in Bethlehem. 



JAMES McClelland HENTHORN— when a lad of twelve years of 
age, James M. Henthorn was taken by his parents from his native State, 
Wisconsin, to the State of Iowa, but after attaining legal age he came East 
and after a few months in Boston, Massachusetts, came to Easton, Pennsyl- 
ania, where, in 1903. he established the confectionery business with which 
his name has since been connected. He is a grandson of John Henthorn, 
and a son of James Henthorn, the latter born in Ohio in 1842, died February 

N. n. I'.IOG.— 32 



498 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

:ig, 1916, a farmer all his active years. He married Nancy Abel, who died 
February 6, 1916, the mother of ten children, of whom James JM. was the 
fourth. 

James M. Henthorn was born in Richland county, Wisconsin, July 4, 
1864, and there lived until 1876, when his parents moved to Butler county, 
Iowa. There he remained until 1885, acquiring his education in the excellent 
public schools for which Iowa is noted, and working for the farmers of the 
neighborhood when not employed at home. For a part of that period, how- 
ever, he was in the employ of an uncle, a nurseryman of Kearney, Nebraska. 
He continued in the West until 1894, then came to Boston, Massachusetts, 
where he spent six months, and afterwards located in Easton, Pennsylvania. 
Here he entered the employ of the Miller Furniture Store, and until 1903 was 
continuously in that line of business. He then established a lunch business. 
He still conducts the lunch business, and has conducted the refreshment con- 
cessions for the past ten or twelve years at Island Park. In 191 1 he opened 
up in confectionery, wholesale and retail, his jobbing business at one time 
being considerable. His place is located at No. 356 Northampton street. 
He has been very successful as a business man. For several years he has 
been president of the Easton Merchants' Ice Company, and has other inter- 
ests of importance. He is a member of Easton Board of Trade, and the 
Rotary Club ; a Democrat of independent tendencies, and a member of the 
Evangelical Lutheran Church. His fraternal orders are the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, and Woodmen of the World. 

Mr. Henthorn married, February 15, 1886, Emma C, daughter of Owen 
and Margaret (Kurtz) Gower, of Wisconsin, formerly of Pennsylvania. Mrs. 
Henthorn was one of the organizers, and is treasurer of the Easton branch 
of Mothers of 1917, also a member of the Red Cross. They are the parents 
of three children : Margaret, married Calvin Yonson, of Easton, and has 
daughters, Evelyn and Irma ; Roy Evarts, now his father's business asso- 
ciate, married Anna Wagner, and has children, Elwood, James and Marian ; 
James R., a soldier of the United States, served in Company H, Fifty-first 
Regiment of Artillery, with the American Expeditionary Forces in France. 
He was transferred to the Fifty-seventh, has been accorded three chevrons 
and a gold star, and served in the Verdun, St. Mihiel and other activities. 



J. WILSON HARRISON— Only child of Edgar and Cora (Wilson) Har- 
rison, and grandson of Jacob and Alice (Armstrong) Wilson, J. Wilson Harri- 
son comes from old Phillipsburg and Easton families now owner and pro- 
prietor of the foundry and iron business known as the Jacob Wilson Estate. 
Edgar Harrison was born in Phillipsburg, and with his wife, Cora (Wilson) 
Harrison, resides in Easton. 

J. Wilson Harrison was born in Easton, at the family home in Bushkill 
street. May 25, 1894. He passed all grades of the public schools, finishing 
with high school graduation, class of 1912. The two following years were 
spent at Lafayette College in special study in chemistry, after which he 
became manag'er of the estate left by his grandfather, Jacob Wilson, who 
died in Easton in 1906. Jacob Wilson founded his business in Easton nearly 
half a century ago; at first he made nothing but stoves at his foundry, but 
later did a ge'neral foundry jobbing business including castings of all kinds. 
Since Mr. Harrison has been in charge he has doubled his capacity of the 
plant, and during the progress of the war with Germany filled many govern- 
ment' contracts and has his plant well equipped to handle a large business. 
In politics Mr. Harrison is a Republican, and in religious faith is affiliated 
with the First Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of Easton Lodge 
No. m2, Free and Accepted Masons; the McKinley Club, and Chi Phi 

fraternitv. 

Mr. Harrison married, in Wilmington. Delaware. October 25, 1911, Lena 
Simmers, of Easton, daughter of Ellsworth J. and Carrie Simmers. 



TM 



PIJ 



/ISTOR, LKN." 
• (LniTN FOUK: 



BIOGRAPHICAL 499 

ROBERT FRANKLIN MICHAEL— The founder of this family in the 
United States came I'rom Ijcrmany when a young man and settled in North- 
ampton county, Pennsylvania, and there married a Miss Kreidler, of his own 
race. They were the parents of fourteen children, one of whom, William C. 
Michael, was the father of Robert F. Michael, a leading citizen of South 
Easton, Pennsylvania. Grandfather Michael was a weaver by trade, and 
reared his large family to habits of industry and thrift equalling his own. 
William C. Michael was born at the homestead near I'ath in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, August 24, 1849, and there attended iiublic school for a 
few winter terms. He was but a small boy when he began working for 
neighboring farmers during the summer months. After his marriage to 
Amelia Sandt, of Plainfield townshi]), Northam[)ton county, Pennsylvania, 
daughter of Joseph and Margaret (Felker) Sandt, he established a home in 
Plainfield township and there long resided. His first wife died in December, 
1899, and he married (second) a widow, Mrs. Shug, and now resides in 
Easton. Children, all by first marriage : Robert Franklin, of further men- 
lion ; Edgar, residing at home ; Floyd ; Annie, married Fletcher Blaizer, now 
a sergeant in the United States Army, was in training at Cam;) Dix. 

Robert I^Vanklin Michael, eldest of the children of William C. and Amelia 
(Sandt) Michael, was born in Plainfield township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, December 19, 1873. His boyhood was largely passed in what 
is now the Eighth Ward of the city of Easton, and there he attended public 
school until twelve years of age. He then became self-supporting, his first 
position being in the Simon Silk Mill, where he began at a wage of $3 weekly, 
which was soon increased to $4. There he remained three years, his wages 
going to his parents. He then began learning the carriage painter's trade 
with Albright & Company, their place of business tl\,en being at the corner 
of Fourth and Church streets. He served an apprenticeship of three years, 
then in September, 1893, at the close of the third year, he was laid ofT. He 
at once sought other employment, and until June, 1894, was a clerk with the 
grocery house, Taylor & Son. He then returned to the painting trade, being 
employed at engine shops of the Lehigh Valley railroad, in Easton. After 
fourteen years with the Lehigh, a favorable opportunity presented itself, and 
he entered another and far different field of activity. This change was 
effected by his purchase of the grocery business of the heirs of Irwine 
Brotymeen, a business which was established about 1880 by Brotymeen & 
Mutchler. That business Mr. Michael restored to a profitable basis and has 
successfully conducted it until the present. The store is located in Wilkes- 
Barre street, South Easton, at the corner of Iron, and there Mr. Michael 
has won a large and liberal patronage, dealing fairly with all and meeting 
the known wishes of his patrons so far as is humanly possible. He is a good 
business man. sound in judgment, and agreeable in his personality. He is a 
member of the Lutheran church, of which he is deacon, and further serves 
the congregation as chorister of the Sunday school. Like his father, he is 
a Democrat in politics, and for four years was a member of the Board of 
Education. He assisted in winding up the affairs of the city when going under 
the new commission form of government, and has always been loyal in citizen- 
ship. He is a member of Columbia Lodge No. 139, Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows ; Dallas Lodge No. 396, Free and Accepted Masons ; Easton 
Chapter No. 173, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council No.. 20, Royal and 
Select Masters; Hugh de Payen Commandery No. 19, Knights Templar; 
Rajah Temple, Ancient Arabic Order Nobles of the Alystic Shrine, of Read- 
ing, Pennsylvania ; Easton Forest No. 35, Tall Cedars of Lebanon : and 
Tatamy Council No. 159, Senior Order United .\merican Mechanics, in which 
he is senior mechanic. 

Mr. Michael married, November 18, 1897, the bride's brother, Rev. Wil- 
liam E. Roney performing the ceremony, Sarah A. Roney, born in Easton, 



500 NORTHAJVIPTOX COUNTY 

May 30, 1868, daughter of Joseph and Rebecca (Weaver) Roney, and sister 
of John Roney, whose career is traced elsewhere in this work. 'Sir. and ^Irs. 
Michael, with their family, reside in the old Roney homestead, No. 912 Ber- 
wick street. They are the parents of two sons : Joseph, a timekeeper at the 
Reddinsfton Fuse Plant, and Stanley William, in his first vear at hiHi school. 



RICHARD S. HAHN — For several years Mr. Hahn has been engaged in 
business in Easton as a tin and sheet iron worker, his present place of busi- 
ness. No. 236 Church street. He is a descendant of Philip Peter Hahn. v.-ho 
came from Germany in search of religious freedom. He settled in Plainfield 
township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, then became a prosperous 
farmer and head of a large family. He was a devout member of the German 
Reformed church, and founder of that faith in Plainfield township. Richard 
S. Hahn is a grandson of Richard Hahn, a farmer and wheelwright of Plain- 
field township, who there spent his entire life of seventy-five years. He 
married Sophia Bender, of the same township, and they were the parents of 
Alfred Hahn, father of Richard S. Hahn. 

Alfred Hahn was born in Plainfield township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, and there spent his 3-ears, sixty-two, a farmer. He married 
Lucy A. McCannon, daughter of Samuel McCannon, a farmer and carpenter 
of Upper Alount Bethel township, who was one of the progressive, prosper- 
ous men of his day. Mrs. Luc}- A. Hahn survives her husband, and is a 
resident of Easton, aged seventy-four years. Alfred and Lucy A. (McCannon) 
Hahn were the parents of three children : Richard S., of further mention ; 
Frederick, married Minnie Achenbach, and resides in Bangor ; and Robert C, 
who died at the age of sixteen years. 

Richard S. Hahn, eldest child of Alfred and Lucy A. (^IcCannon) Hahn, 
was born in Plainfield township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, Decem- 
ber II, 1S74. his birthplace, the Bruder farm, inherited through his maternal 
grandmother. He was educated in the public schools, his first teacher a 
young man, Ascher Sandt. He attended school and worked at the home 
farm until 1892, then began learning the tinner's trade, and that of a sheet 
iron worker as well. His employers were Stolz Brothers, of Easton, Penn- 
sylvania, and after his years of apprenticeship were over he remained with 
them as journeyman until twelve years had been spent in their employ. In 
1904 he began business under his own name, and as R. S. Hahn, tin and sheet 
iron worker. No. 236 Church street, conducts a prosperous business. Mr. 
Hahn is an elder of Grace Reformed Church, and a member of the Men's 
Bible Class of the church. He is affiliated with Lehicton Lodge No. 244, 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and Easton Lodge, Patriotic Order Sons 
of America ; his political faith Democratic. 

^Ir. Hahn married, in Easton, December 25, 1898, Ida Siegfried, daughter 
of Zachariah and Lydia (Meyers) Siegfried. They are the parents of five 
children : Lucy, a high school student : Samuel S., also in high school ; 
Richard F., Herman A. and Alfred Z. 



J. PAUL FELVER — One of Easton's attractive and prosperous busi- 
nesses is located at No. 36 North Third street, and is the continuation and 
modern development of the bakery established at No. 167 Northampton 
street, in 1889, by William S. Felver, now retired, father of J. Paul Felver, 
now owner and proprietor of Felver's Business House, No. 36 North Third 
street. The old business was a bakery and delicatessen store presided over 
by the elder Felver and his capable wife. Matilda, to whom much of the 
success of the business must be ascribed. With the retirement of the father, 
his son. J. Paul, became manager, and after the removal to the present loca- 
tion, the business lost its distinctive character, and is now a general business 
house with its old-time features supplemented by a soda fountain, candy and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 501 

cigar departments and tea room, all most attractively arranged for the com- 
furt and convenience of the patrons of the store, and without doubt the most 
elaborate and attractive place in Easton. He is a member of Delta Kappa 
Epsilon fraternity, and of the Kiwanis Club. 

William S. l""elver, the founder of the business, in addition to being a 
baker, was familiar with the business methods, and now, after a lifetime of 
honorable elTort is living a retired life in Easton. He married Matilda Paul, 
born in Northampton county, Pennsylvania, who died in Easton, in December, 
1917, a most capable business woman and true helpmeet. P>oth were mem- 
bers of the First Presbyterian Church, where Mr. Felver still continues the 
connection. 

J. Paul Felver was born in Easton, Pi-nnsylvania, May 21, 1885. He 
attended the Easton Academy, ]:)repared at Lawrenceville School in New 
Jersey, and completed his education at Lafayette College, class of 1909. For 
three years after leaving college he was engaged in theatrical ventures, then 
in 1912, associated himself in business with his father, and became his suc- 
cessor. He is a man of great energy, progressive and quick to grasp his 
opportunities. Felver's Business House is an excellent example of mod- 
ern business methods, and there Mr. Felver is demonstrating a fine business 
quality which will carry him far. 

J. Paul Felver married, January 14, 1913, Caroline Stanley, of Cincinnati, 
Ohio, and they are the parents of two children : Lela Hazel and Charles 
Stanley Felver. 

The maternal grandparents of Mr. Felver were William and Hannah 
(Heckman) Paul. William Paul was a miller by trade and the son of a 
miller. He built and o{)erated the old mill at Mount Bethel, in Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, having previously operated a mill in Easton. 



CHARLES CARSON SCHIRNER— In part of the territory now in- 
cluded in the city of Easton. grandfather Schirner roamed as a boy, his home 
on the hill now occupied by the public library. He came from Germany when a 
boy and in 1817 settled in that part of Easton on the Delaware river road 
locally known as Schirnertown. He kept a grocery for several years at the 
corner of Sixth and Northampton streets, Easton, his life closing in 1870 at 
the age of seventy-two. His wife died in i860. His son. Dr. John C. F. 
Schirner, was born in Easton, at the home in Schirnertown, on the Dela- 
ware river road, and was educated in the Vanderveer School. He studied 
medicine under Dr. Field, later entered the University of Pennsylvania, medi- 
cal department, whence he was graduated M.D. He specialized in surgerv, 
and after graduation located in Tamaqua, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, 
I850, where he died in i8g3, aged sixty-seven years. There were no hospitals 
near Tamaqua in those days, and he was obliged to act in surgical cases so 
frequently that he became famous as a most skillful surgeon. He married 
Ann M. Seip, of Durham township, Bucks county, daughter of William and 
Anna Seip. They were the parents of eight children. 

Charles Carson Schirner, son of Dr. John C. F. and Anna M. (Seip) 
Schirner, was born in Tamaqua. Schuylkill county. Pennsvlvania, September 
28, 1854, and was there educated in the public schools. After leaving school 
he chose the trade of pattern-maker as his life work, and after serving a 
long apprenticeship, went to Philadelphia where he spent ten years engaged 
at his trade. He then spent three years at Phoenixville as foreman of the 
pattern-making department of the Phoenix Bridge Company, remaining until 
after his marriage in 1895. He then moved to Easton. entering the employ 
of the Ingersoll-Rand Company as assistant foreman. Pie soongave up that 
position to return to pattern-making as a journeyman. Later he entered the 
employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad Company as pattern-maker, there 
winning the reputation of being the most skillful man at his trade who had 



502 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

ever been employed in that department of the shops. During the past four 
years, 1914-1918, Mr. Schirner has been engaged in the management of his 
own private real estate holdings in Easton, among which the Schirner build- 
ing is one of the most important. He erected that building at the corner 
of Sixth and Northampton streets in 1913-1914, with basement and first 
floor stores, with three stories arranged according to the modern system of 
tenement houses. He is an Independent in politics, and a man of high repu- 
tation as a citizen. 

Mr. Schirner married in Tamaqua, May 17, 1876, Anna M. Alspach, 
daughter of Philip Alspach. ^Mr. and Mrs. Schirner are the parents of three 
children: Clarence, married Miss Schwan, and resides in Easton; Clifford R., 
married Miss Wright, and resides in Hellertown ; Charles C. F., married, and 
resides in Phillipsburg, New Jersey. Three children, Guy P., Roy and John, 
are deceased. 



EUGENE ABRAHAM RAU — The drug business located in Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, from which Eugene A. Rau has recently retired, is one of the 
oldest establishments in the State. The record of this business dates to 
1743, when John Frederick Otto, a physician, came from Saxe-Meiningen, 
Germany, and in 1745 he opened the first apothecary establishment in Beth- 
lehem, which was under the control of the Moravian church. The location 
of the store was in the old Moravian Bell House until 1752, then the business 
was moved to a new stone building on Main street, next to the Moravian 
church, where it remained until 1845. I" that year a new drug store was 
erected by Simon Rau, on a site directly north of the old stone building. In 
1863, the stone building and the adjoining store, built by Simon Rau, were 
razed to make room for a residence and store, respectively, as shown by the 
way they stand in the present day. Thus it can be truthfully stated that the 
original apothecary of Bethlehem has been in the same location since 1752. Dr. 
Otto first conducted the business from 1745 to 1764; his brother. Dr. John Mat- 
thew Otto, from 1764 to 1786; from 1786 to 1790, Dr. Timothy Horsfield; 
from 1790 to 1889, Dr. Eberhart Freytag, and it was in 1796 that Dr. Freytag 
purchased the drug store, stock and buildings from the Moravian church; 
and in April, 1839, Simon Rau, who had been assistant for nine years, became 
owner of the business by purchase. 

For a number of years, Simon Rau conducted the business alone be- 
fore any other drug stores existed in Bethlehem, and he won the confi- 
dence of his townsmen and the surrounding country to a remarkable 
degree. In 1866 he admitted to a partnership his brother, David Rau, who 
was with his brother seventeen years as a clerk. At the same time David's 
son. Robert Rau, also was admittted, and the business then took the name 
it has borne for more than half a century, Simon Rau & Company. Robert 
Rau was not only a skilled druggist, but was also a musician of high order, 
who both arranged and composed music. He was gifted with a fine tenor 
voice, and was a member of the musical organizations of the Moravian 
church. His literary pursuits have left various valuable papers which have 
been read before the Moravian Historical Society, Pennsylvania Historical 
Society, Pennsylvania German Society, and he was one of the founders of 
the Bethlehem Club. He had a very afTable disposition, and in his business 
relations made many friends. 

In 1865, Eugene A. Rau, the last of the name to retain his connection 
with the biisiness, and son of Simon Rau. entered the store, but not until 
1870 was he admitted to a partnership. David Rau died in 1879, and ten 
years later, in 1889, Simon Rau retired. Robert and Eugene A. Rau, cousins. 
continued the business, and after the death of Robert Rau, in 1906. Eugene 
A. Rau continued the business with Charles N. Lochman, until April i, 1913. 
when Euo-ene A. Rau retired from the firm, and his stock interest was pur- 




^^^^^^s^^-^^c^ <^^5;a-<sc<- 



■j-rv 



ASTOK. LKNOX -AN L) 



TME ,VEW yo«K 
PURUC LIBRARY 



'-'NDATtONS 





l^.^^l'^^tiTlA^ 




BIOGRAPHICAL 503 

chased by Frank P. Miller, the old name bciiif,'' retained, a name it has borne 
since i8()t), a period of lilty-three years. Robert Rau, liugcnc A. Rau, Charles 
iSi. Lochnian and Frank P. Miller are all graduates of the Philadelphia Col- 
lege of Pharmacy, and all worked as clerks in the store prior to becoming 
partners. 'J'hey were not only skilled pharmacists, but were also good busi- 
ness men, and the store has always enjoyed a very high reputation. The Rau 
interest is now extinguished after a period of eighty-three years. Simon 
Rau entered as a clerk in 1830, as proprietor in 1839. David and Ivobert Rau 
became partners in i860. Eugene A. Rau became a partner in 1870, and the 
last of the name continued in the firm until April i, iqi^. 

Such, in brief, is the history of the oldest drug business in Bethlehem, 
Pennsylvania, and one in which most of the life story of Eugene A. Rau is 
interwoven. Under the old regime many preparations were made and sold 
in the store, which the busy pharmacist of today buys direct from the whole- 
saler or manufacturer, and many other changes could be noted, for the mod- 
ern drug store is a very difTcrent institution from the drug store of twenty- 
five years ago. The business is a monument to Simon Rau, his son, brother 
and nephew, and in all Pennsylvania it is not likely that there exists a busi- 
ness with such an interesting family attached thereto. 

Eugene Abraham Rau was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, July 22, 
1848, and has ever made that city his home. He is a son of Simon and Lucy 
Ann (Luckenbach) Rau, both deceased, his father, in addition to having 
been the first and leading druggist in Bethlehem, was also a citizen of high 
rejuite, serving as councilman and as treasurer of a number of societies of 
the Moravian church. Eugene A. Rau was educated in the Moravian Paro- 
chial School, early became associated with his honored father, and after 
graduation from the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy became his partner, 
and after a connection of forty-eight years, retired, April i, 1913. While the 
drug business has been the principal work of his life and all else was sub- 
ordinated to it for so many years, Mr. Rau has acquired other interests, and 
he is a learned botanist, well known for his work in connection with the 
flora of Northampton county. He is a member of a number of scientific 
societies, including the American Association for the Advancement of Sci- 
ences, New York Academy of Sciences, Torrey Botanical Club, Philadelphia 
Academy of Natural Sciences, and Sullivant Moss Society. He is secretary 
of the board of trustees of the Moravian Seminary and the College for 
Women, also treasurer of the Alumni Association Endowment Fund of that 
institution ; a vice-president of the Free Library of Bethlehem ; member of 
the Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce ; member of the Moravian Historical 
Society ; and of the Northampton County Historical Society ; treasurer of 
one of the Moravian church societies, and also treasurer of the Beth- 
lehem branch of the Dickens Fellowship. He is also a leading member of 
the Moravian church. In connection with his scientific and botanical re- 
search. Mr. Rau has prepared a number of papers and notices, the following 
being a partial list of subjects treated, and places of their publications: 
"Catalogue of North American Musci," Eugene A. Rau. A. B. Hervey, Taun- 
ton, Massachusetts, 1880, p. 52, octavo; "Additions to the Habitats of North 
American Sphagna," Botanical Gazette, IX-X, 26; "Helonias Bullata in North- 
ern New Jersey," Botanical Gazette, IX-X, 113; "List of Musci and Hepaticae 
Collected in Southern Colorado," by T. S. Brandegee, determined by E. A. 
Rau, Department of Interior, Washington, District of Columbia, June 6, 1876; 
"Revised and Augmented List of Sphagna, Musci and Plepaticae of New 
Jersey," final report of State Geologist, New Jersey, Vol. II, i88q; "Notes 
on the Flora of Northampton County, Pennsylvania," Torreys, Vol. XII, 
December, 1912. 

Eugene A. Rau married, April 3, 1888, Matilda Sophia Klose. daughter 
of John Gottlieb and Maria (Spencej Klose, both now deceased. Since retir- 



504 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

ing from business in 1913, Air. Rau has devoted himself to his botanical 
studies; his library and floriculture form the greatest enjoyment of hi 
retired life. He is a man of strong character and learning, very companion- 
able and friendly, and he is highly esteemed by a very large circle of friends. 



s 



CURTIS ATWOOD DAVIES— While the Pennsylvania State constabu- 
lary cannot compete in age nor tradition with the Northwest mounted police 
of Canada, it is an organization built up along the same lines, and since its 
comparatively recent organization has compiled a record of efficiency, cour- 
age, daring and personal merit equal to that of the older organization. From 
that body, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, secured Curtis Atwood Davics. now 
superintendent of the police department of the city and special agent for 
the United States Department of Justice. He is a native son of Pennsylvania, 
and as an officer of the law has won high and honorable standing. He is a 
son of Isaiah and Susan (Frederick) Davies, his father a merchant and 
respected citizen of Shamokin. Pennsylvania, his mother a daughter of 
Samuel Frederick, of Shamokin, a veteran of the Civil War. 

Curtis Atwood Davies was born in Shamokin, Pennsylvania, October 26. 
1884, and there completed grade and high school courses of study. In 1899 
his spirit of adventure led him to enlist in the United States regular army, 
and for six years he wore the uniform of a soldier of the United States, serv- 
ing in the Philippines, in China, and in Cuba, or wherever enemies of his 
country challenged. He received wounds during the march on Jolo in the 
Province of Panay, Southern Philippines, again at lUocos Norte, Northwest- 
ern Luzon, in the Philippines, and at Lagima de Ba}', a lake, the most beauti- 
ful in the southern part of Northern Luzon. In 1905 he was honorably dis- 
charged from the United States Army, and soon afterward he returned to 
Pennsylvania, rich in experience, and with his love of adventure thoroughly 
satisfied. From 1905 to 1907 he was in the employ of the Pennsylvania 
railroad as fireman, and during 190S was with the Pressed Steel Car Com- 
pany, as a special officer. The Pennsylvania State constabulary then made a 
strong appeal to his adventurous disposition, which had now begun to again 
assert itself, and, possessing at least one of the chief requisites for admission 
to that verj- select body of men, an honorable discharge from the United 
States Army, he applied for appointment. Upon close scrutiny he was found 
not lacking in any particular, and from 1908 until 1918 he was connected 
with the State police in charge of detective work. A history of the Penn- 
sylvania State police force will some day be written in full, and therein will 
appear a record devotion to duty even unto death, which has never been 
surpassed by any body of men. Air. Davies' record is a fine one. and these 
ten years constitute a period of hard and exhaustive work, done not for 
applause or gain, but because duty demanded that he give the State his very 
best. Among the captures he made were the Barnes brothers. Theodore 
Cohn, the platinum thief at the Bethlehem Steel Works, a case Mr. Davies 
went on at the personal request of Charles M. Schwab, and many, many others. 
After ten years of brilliant service on the State police force, Mr. Davies 
resigned to accept the position of superintendent of police of Bethlehem, an 
appointment made by Mayor Johnson, January 7, 1918. In his new position 
he has met the expectation of his friends, and is creating a record of effi- 
ciency in office which is well worthy of emulation by others entrusted with 
public duty. While with the State police he acted as special agent for the 
government, and in his present position he also is closely identified with the 
United States Department of Justice as special agent for Bethlehem and 
vicinity. He is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Shamo- 
kin, Pennsylvania, and is a Republican in politics. 

Superintendent Davies married, in 1910. at Pottsville. Mabel Agnes Kurtz. 
dauf^hter of Frank and Agnes (Smith) Kurtz. Mrs. Davies is a graduate 



BIOGRAPHICAL 505 

of the Pottsville High Scliool, and lias specialized in music. Both Mr. and 
Mrs. Davies arc members of the Methodist Iqiiscopal church. They are the 
parents of a daughter, Dorothy GodcharU-s, born .■\])ril 7, Kjir. 



CHARLES M. LUDWIG— hor forty-five years Charles M. Ludwig was 
identified with the Phillipsburg National Bank, beginning as messenger and 
reaching the cashier's desk as assistant cashier. His military service was 
with the Army of the Potomac for nine months, and under a second enlist- 
ment as a volunteer during the period of General Lee's invasion of Pennsyl- 
vania, under Capt. Jacol:) Hay. He is now retired from business cares, the 
house in wiiich he is living also the place of his birth. He is a son of Samuel 
Ludwig. and a grandson of John Ludwig and his wife, Elizabeth (Dingier) 
Ludwig. Por many years John Ludwig was toll taker and tender at the 
Northampton street bridge, across the Delaware, connecting Easton with 
Phillipsburg. They were the parents of six children: Samuel, of furtlier 
mention; Jlenry, Frank, Henrietta, Mar}' and Angelina. 

Samuel Ludwig was born in Easton, February 10, 1816, and there died, 
October 3, 1849. He obtained a good education, and after school years were 
ended learned the carriage builder's trade and conducted business in a plant 
which he erected at the corner of Fourth and Church streets, there continu- 
ing until his death. He married Ebejena Schmeeitzer, born June 15, 1818, in 
Easton, and there died April 27, 1895. Both were members of St. John's 
Lutlieran Church, Mrs. Ludwig a very active church worker, especially inter- 
ested in infant class work. Mr. and Mrs. Ludwig left children, the only sur- 
vivor being Charles M., the princi])al figure of this review. 

Charles M. Ludwig was born in the home in which he now resides. No. 
43 South Fifth street, Easton, May 4, 1842. He was educated in the public 
school, and was one of the first pupils to enter Easton High School. His 
first teacher in high school was Mr. Potter. After high school he spent a 
year at Gettysburg College, then pursued a commercial course in a Phila- 
delphia business college, and obtained a position. War soon broke out be- 
tween the North and South, and on August 11, 1862, he enlisted in Capt. 
Herbert Thomas's company. Col. Jacob Frick's One Hundred and Twenty- 
ninth Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was engaged at the second battle of 
Bull Run, Antictam and Fredericksburg, returning to Easton when his nine 
months' term of enlistment expired. When General Lee invaded Pennsyl- 
vania in 1863, Mr. Ludwig enlisted for three months' service in Capt. Jacob 
Hay's company, but was out but six weeks. He then returned home, and 
shortly afterward began his long connection with the Phillipsburg National 
Bank. He continued in the service of the bank for forty-five years, receiving 
several promotions, and in 1909 retired, holding the position of assistant 
cashier. Mr. Ludwig is a Republican in politics, a member of the First 
Reformed Church, and a member of Lafayette Post, Grand Army of the 
Republic. He served one term on the School Board of Easton. 

Mr. Ludwig married, in Easton, October 2T, 1880, Virginia E. Siegert, 
born November 22, 1840, died in Easton, October 20, 1903. Mrs. Ludwig was 
a member of the First Reformed Church and active in the work of her 
church. 



WILLIAM C. LAZARUS — The progenitor of the Lazarus family origi- 
nally settled in 'Northampton county, near Schoenersville, three miles north 
of Bethlehem. With the arrival of Martin, Peter and Jacob Lazarus in 
America. November 30, 1750, the American record of the branch of the family 
beo-ins. They left their German home, sailin,? on the ship Sandzcich. August 30, 
i"sO, and were nearly four months enroute. Martin Lazarus was the first known 
settler in Dryland, now known as Hanover township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, near Schoenersville, where he began farming on what is known 



5o6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

as the Lazarus homestead, approximately three hundred acres of land. In 
the same year he learned of the arrival of Christina Reichard, who also left 
her German home and landed in Philadelphia, and they married shortly after 
her arrival, and were the parents of six children, namely : Fredrick, Leonard, 
George, Elizabeth Shaffer, Daniel and Martin, Jr. George spent his life 
with his brother Daniel and his nephew George, and followed the blacksmith 
trade at the old homestead. The life work of Martin Lazarus was farming 
at Salisburj', near South Bethlehem, and he was buried in the Salisbury 
Church Cemetery. 

Daniel Lazarus, son of Martin and Christina (Reichard) Lazarus, was 
born at the old homestead, April lo, 1768, and died November 5, 1857. His 
life work was farming, he being the owner of the old homestead ; he divided 
it into two farms, and erected the original buildings. He was a Lutheran in 
religious belief, and a member of the Schoenersville Lutheran Church, which 
he served faithfully as an ofihcer. He married Elizabeth Paul, born April 18, 
1776, and died February 14, 1833; they were the parents of: Peter, who settled 
in Michigan; David, who made his home in Ohio; Jacob, who settled in 
Allentown ; Elizabeth, married Elias Houseknecht, settled in Ohio ; Christina, 
married a member of the Schmoyer family ; Daniel, Jr.. married a Miss Fox, 
and with her is buried in Kansas; Maria, married William Herbst ; Joseph, 
married a Miss Miller; Thomas, became the owner of one of the divided 
farms, and married Anna Maria Balliet; and George, of whom further. 

George Lazarus, son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Paul) Lazarus, was born 
November i, 1799, and died June 3, 1883. His calling was that of farmer, 
which he followed on the homestead. He was a Republican in politics, held 
the offices of school director and assessor of Hanover township, and in reli- 
gious faith was a Lutheran, serving the Schoenerville congregation as deacon, 
elder and trustee. He married Elizabeth Miller, daughter of Henry and 
Barbara Miller, and they were the parents of: i. Henry D.. of whom further. 
2. Reuben D., born March 17, 1838; became the owner of the Lazarus home- 
stead; married Belinda Scholl, and had two- children: John and Edward. 
■t,. Rev. George AL, born May 26, 1839, died January 31, 1874, as the result of 
an accident; married Amanda Dech. and had four sons: Rev. Jacob W. ; 
Newton, deceased ; Dr. George ]\L, and Rev. Luther D. ; the eldest and young- 
est followed their father's footsteps in the Lutheran ministry. 4. William M., 
born October 23, 1841 ; married Amanda Shuler, and had sons: Harry. Calvin, 
Morris and Howard. 5. Elizabeth, married Reuben Lerch, and had children : 
William, Emma and Ida. 

Henry D. Lazarus, son of George and Elizabeth (Miller) Lazarus, was 
born October 18, 1835. He married Sarah R., daughter of John and Julianne 
(Albright) Laubach, granddaughter of Leonard and Mary (Thomas) Lau- 
bach, and a direct descendant of Rheinhart Laubach, pioneer of Lower Sau- 
con. and a founder of one of the county's most numerous and prominent 
families. Leonard Laubach was born on the old Saucon homestead, April 10, 
1776, and followed farming, one mile west of Rittersville, along the Lehigh 
canal. In religious faith they were Reformed, and members of the Ritters- 
ville Reformed Church, and are buried in the cemetery adjoining the church. 
His son John was born January i, 1804, and died May i, 1856, the result of 
injuries suffered during the building of the old Lehigh canal. He also fol- 
lowed farming on his father's homestead. Sarah R. (Laubach) Lazarus died 
June II, 1886. Children of Henry D. and Sarah R. (Laubach) Lazarus: 
I. Albert, married Sarah R. Rother, and their child, Eva, married Dallas 
Semmel. principal of one of the Catasauqua schools. 2. Bertha E., married 
Frank Wisser, and upon her death was survived by three children : Samuel, 
Anna, now deceased, and Sallie. 3. William C, of whom further. 4. Franklin 
G. (q.'v.). 5. Victor J., married Kate M. Bleiler, and had children: Edna, mar- 
ried Warren Szweifie, Lillian, Elmer, and Howard, deceased. 6. Accjuila M., 



Tfc:, 


.,*< 


PUR 


ARY 


ASTOK, 


LKNOX AMO 


TILDEN FOUMDATIONit | 


K 


^ 1 



BIOGRAPHICAL 507 

married Eugene Bleiler, and had cliildreii : Charles, Erwin, Helen, Florence, 
Ralph and Clyde, deceased. 

William C. l^azanis, son of ilenry 13. and Sarah R. (Laubach) Lazarus, 
was born in Whitehall township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, January 11, 
1863. He attended the common schools, passing his youthful years on his 
fath.er's farm, and in 1880, a youth of seventeen years, began learning the 
harness-maker's trade at Becrsville, Northampton county. He moved to 
Bethlehem in 1S83, associating with Adam Brinker in the harness and leather 
goods business, and subsequently i)ecame a partner in the firm of Adam 
I'rinker tS: Company. In igi8 he withdrew from this firm and established in 
independent dealing at No. 339 Broadway, Bethlehem, where he has since 
continued one of the city's successful and prosperous merchants. He has 
found time from his personal affairs for i)articipation and leadership in the 
activities of the various business organizations of the city, and was one of 
the originators, a director, and for some years vice-president of the Business 
Men's Association of Bethlehem. For thirty-three years he has been inter- 
ested in the Industrial Building & Loan Association, has been a director for 
thirty years, and for the past fifteen years has been its president, having 
previously served in the vice-])resident's office. He is a member of the Beth- 
lehem Chamber of Commerce, and aided in the organization of the Commer- 
cial Real Estate Association and the closing up of its affairs after a niunbcr 
of houses had been built in Bethlehem. A citizen and merchant of standing, 
he has been numbered among Bethlehem's progressive citizens in civic affairs 
and has borne a part in the various movements that have been productive 
of good to the city, including the consolidation of the boroughs and the great 
hill-to-hill bridge ])roject. Like long generations of his ancestors, Mr. 
Lazarus is a Lutheran in religious faith,- and has served St. Mark's Church 
as deacon, trustee and elder, the last-named his ])rcsent church office. His 
fraternal affiliations are with the Masonic order, in which he holds the thirty- 
second degree, the Knights of Pythias, having served in all its chairs during 
the thirty-three years of his membership; the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and the Knights of Malta. Plis identification with all circles of the 
city's life, business, civic, religious and fraternal, has found him zealous for 
its welfare and diligent service, and he is highly regarded by his associates 
of trade, of the church, and of the lodge room. 

Mr. Lazarus married, September 20, 1900, Jennie E. Knappenberger, 
daughter of George and Amanda L. (Lacey) Knappenberger. They are the 
parents of one son, William C. Jr., born September 17, 1902, who was edu- 
cated in the Moravian Prejjaratory School and the Bethlehem Business Col- 
lege, and is now associated with his father's business. 



ARNON PERMIN MILLER— In numerous fields of activity members of 
the family of Miller, of which Arnon P. Miller is a present-day representa- 
tive, have been well known and have held respected position in Northampton 
coimty. This locality has been the scene of the business career of Mr. Miller, 
vice-president of the E. P. Wilbur Trust Company, of Bethlehem, and an 
official of numerous other corporations operating in varied lines in the region. 
He is a son of William Frederick Miller, and grandson of Abraham Miller, 
founder of the line of Saucon township. Northampton county. William 
I'rederick Miller was born in that township in February, 1832, and died in 
March, 1892. His wife was Diana Catherine Reichard, whose family had long 
been resident in the neighborhood of Schoenersville. 

Arnon P. ]\Iiller was born in Catnsauqua, Pennsylvania, November 7, 
1865, and removed to Bethlehem (South) in infancy. He attended the public 
schools, being graduated in the class of 1880 from high school, and then com- 
]ileted three and one-half years of the electrical engineering course at Lehigh 
University. Just before graduation he left college to become private secre- 
tary to Elisha Packer Wilbur, then president of the Lehigh Valley railroad, 



5o8 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

and for twelve years was associated with Mr. Wilbur in this connection. At 
the end of this period he began his present identification with the E. P. Wil- 
bur Trust Company as secretary of the company. His election as second 
vice-president followed, and in 191 1 he took up his present duties as first vice- 
president. His position in financial circles is an influential one. He was one 
of the organizers and the first vice-chairman of the Bethlehem Bankers' 
Association, an organization formed to facilitate the handling of government 
securities throughout the war and continued, when that need had passed, as a 
means of co-ordinating and stabilizing the city's financial affairs. Among 
his other important business interests are his responsibilities as secretary and 
treasurer of the Bethlehem City Water Company, president of the Industrial 
Limestone Company, secretary and treasurer of the Brown-Borhek Lumber 
Company, treasurer of the Mineral Spring Ice Company, secretary and treas- 
urer of the J. M. Degnan Company, and treasurer of the Bethlehem Bridge 
Commission. Mr. Miller was treasurer of the "bridge fund" from the begin- 
ning of the subscription campaign for the great hill-to-hill bridge, and that 
project had no more enthusiastic supporter than he. He has been on the 
progressive and liberal side of all civic questions and from a keen and public- 
spirited interest has given of his time and effort for the general good in the 
development of Bethlehem's possibilities. 

He is a communicant of the Reformed church. In political action he is 
an independent Republican. His fraternal afifiliations are with Allentown 
Lodge No. 30, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of which he is past 
exalted ruler, and he is a member of the Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce, 
the South Side Business Men's Association, and the Rotary Club, having been 
treasurer of the last-named organization since its formation. His clubs are 
the Manufacturers', of Philadelphia ; Bethlehem, Northampton, Lehigh Coun- 
try, Northampton County Country. He is also a member of the Pennsyl- 
vania Society of New York and the Lincoln Republican Association. Mr. 
Miller finds his most enjoyable relaxation from the press of business in golt 
and motoring, and he spends a part of each year at his summer home at 
Brielle, New Jersey, and his winter residence at Clearwater, Florida, where 
he has extensive orange and grape-fruit groves. 

Mr. Miller married, August 19, 1891, Cora May Lehr, daughter of Gen. 
Samuel D. and Elizabeth S. (Engleman) Lehr, of Allentown. Pennsylvania. 
General Lehr was a veteran of the Civil War, retiring from the service with 
the rank of captain, and for many years was conspicuously identified with 
the National Guard of Pennsylvania. He was a civil engineer by profession, 
and for many years served the city of Allentown in various capacities as city 
engineer, member of council and mayor, a man of unimpeachably high stand- 
ing and reputation. Mrs. Miller is interested in civic and charitable organiza- 
tions in Bethlehem, and was active in Red Cross work throughout the World 
War. Mr. and Mrs. Miller are the parents of: Margaret Louise, a graduate 
of the Moravian Seminary; Samuel Lehr, a student in the Bethlehem Pre- 
paratory School. 



ELDREDGE PACKER WILBUR— The present position of Mr. Wilbur 
in the widespread business and financial interests that have long been asso- 
ciated with the Wilbur name is one that he came to not solely through inheri- 
tance or favor of appointment, but by the route first of regular apprentice- 
ship to a trade and then a clerkship in the E. P. Wilbur Trust Company, 
founded by his father, who continued its executive head until his death. At 
this time (1919) Mr. Wilbur is second vice-president of the E. P. Wilbur 
Trust Companv, ofificially and financially interested in numerous business and 
industrial institutions throughout the Lehigh Valley, and is numbered among 
the citizens of Bethlehem to whose initiative, progressiveness, generosity and 
clear-sio-hted public spirit the uplift and substantial development of the city 
is due. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 509 

Member of the line of \\'ill)ur founded in Pennsylvania by Henry Wilbur, 
of Mystic, Connecticut, Mr. Wilbur is a son of Elisha Packer and Stella M. 
(Abbott) Wilbur, his father one of the strongest nien-of-aiTairs in Pennsyl- 
vania in a generation that jiroduced a number of men of great ability. 

i'^dredge V. Wilbur \vas born August 10, 1877, and as a youth attended 
the llaverlord Grammar School, of Ilaverford, Pennsylvania, the Lawrcnce- 
ville Preparatory School, of Lawrenceville, New Jersey, and the Berkley 
School, of New York City. Foregoing a college course in favor of ]M-actical 
technical training, he entered the machine shops of the Lehigh Valley railroad, 
of which his father was president, at Sayre, Pennsylvania, with the intention 
of learning railroading in its every department. For a year and a half he 
worked at the machinist's trade, then, in 1901, returned to Bethlehem and 
entered the E. P. Wilinir Trust Company in the capacity of clerk. Entrusted 
from time to time with heavier responsibilities, he became assistant treas- 
urer of the company, and in 1912 was elected to the second vice-presidency, 
an office he now fills. In addition to his official duties in this company, which 
represents such a vast amount of earnest thought and devoted labor in the 
name of Wilbur to have given it the high ])osition among the financial institu- 
tions of the State that it now occupies, Mr. Wilbur is engaged with many 
other business connections, among them the vice-presidency of the Mineral 
Spring Ice Company, and the second vice-presidency of the Sayre Land 
Company, the Sayre Water Company, and the J. M. Degnan Company, of all 
of which he is a director. 

Mr. W'ilbur is a jiarticipant in the activities of the Bethlehem Chamber 
of Commerce and the South Bethlehem Business Men's Association for a 
greater business and industrial city. He took leading part in the campaigns 
that placed Bethlehem prominently among the leaders in the various war 
interests of the government and relief organizations, and in the needs of 
every day, as well as in emergencies, has proved himself a faithful, unselfish 
friend of the charitable and social service institutions of the city. His social 
connections are with the Northampton, Bethlehem, Lehigh Country and 
Northampton County Country clubs, his fraternal affiliations with Bethlehem 
Lodge No. 191, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. Wilbur is 
fond of the out-of-doors and there he finds his recreation in gunning, fishing, 
motoring and golf. 

Mr. Wilbur married. May 27, IQ02, Lilian Linderman, daughter of Dr. 
Garrett B. and Frances (Evans) Linderman. Mrs. Wilbur, like lier husband, 
is intimately concerned with the welfare of charitable and civic institutions. 
She is a loyal supporter of St. Luke's Hospital, serving on its Women's 
Auxiliary, and during the World War served as president of the Bethlehem 
Chapter of the American Red Cross, which accomplished splendid results 
under her capable leadership during the years of the conflict. Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilbur are the parents of two sons: Donald Eldredge and .\rnold Jackson. 



J. UPTON MYERS— The line of Myers of which J. Upton Myers, of 
Bethlehem, is a member, was founded in America by Nicholas Myers, who 
with his wife and sons came from Amsterdam, Holland, in 1753. He located 
in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and ten years afterward purchased nine 
hundred acres of land in Adams county, moving to that county and locating 
near Round Hill in the vicinity of York Sulphur Springs. Plis children were : 
John ; Jacob, of whom further ; David, William, Ludwick, Nicholas. Jr.. Eliza- 
beth, Susan, Margaret J. and Mary. 

(II) Jacob Myers, son of Nicholas Myers, the founder, was born in 1760. 
He married Hannah Smith, and in 1796 moved to Conewago Mills, later to 
New Chester. He died aged eighty-five years, his wife's death occurring 
when she was seventy-five ; both are buried in the Bermudian Cemetery. 

(HI) Henry Myers, son of Jacob and Ilannah (Smith) Myers, was born 
April I, 1791, and died at New Chester, Pennsylvania, February 29, 1868. Pie 



5IO NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

was a man of prominent standing in his community, and in 1842 was elected 
to the State Legislature. He married, at the age of twenty-one years, a first 
cousin, Nancy Jameson, daughter of James Jameson, who married a daughter 
of David Myers. Children of Henry and Nancy (Jameson) Myers : Jacob A., 
of whom further ; Singleton, Henry Jameson, Ann E. J., Horatio Gates, 
David P. and William. 

(IV) Jacob A. Myers, son of Henry and Nancy (Jameson) Myers, was 
born in New Chester, Adams county, Pennsylvania. He became the owner 
of a farm on the Little Bermudian creek, and built and operated the Good 
Intent Woolen Factory. In 1855 he became associated with his brother-in- 
law, John B. McCreary, in coal mining, and with his wife and five children 
moved to the coal regions of Tremont, Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania. Here 
the family resided for one year, and then moved to Audenried, Carbon county, 
where the Honey Brook coal mines, of which he became owner, were situ- 
ated. In 1865 he retired from business, and the family located permanently in 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Jacob A. Myers married Sarah Ann DeardoriT, 
born at Deardorff's Mill, near Petersburg, Adams county, Pennsylvania, 
January i, 1821, daughter of John Deardorff and descendant of George Dear- 
dorl?, a German Tunker. who settled in Germantown in 1729, and became 
one of the organizers of the first Tunker (or Dunkard) church in that place. 
Jacob A. Myers died in September, 1865, the father of six children, who 
were educated in the Moravian schools and the local universities. 

(V) J. Upton Myers, son of Jacob A. and Sarah Ann (Deardorff) Myers, 
was born in Adams county, Pennsylvania, in October. 1853. He was educated 
in the Moravian schools and Bloomsburg Normal School. He has been an 
ardent sportsman, and spent many seasons hunting and fishing in the Rockies 
when the West was in its wilder and more romantic period. He is a member 
of the Bethlehem Club, the Northampton County Country Club, and was a 
member of the old Frohsinn, a singing society of male voices, which was an 
outstanding feature of Bethlehem life for many years. 

Mr. Myers married. May 23, 1900, Elizabeth Fetter Lehman, daughter 
of B. E. and Harriett Matilda (Fetter) Lehman, and they are the parents of 
one son, Richmond Elmore. 

Harriett Matilda Fetter was a daughter of Herman M. Fetter, known 
throughout this section of the State as "Sheriff" Fetter and as the genial 
landlord of the old Fetter's Hotel. He was a member of the Pennsylvania 
Legislature. The Fetter family is old in Pennsylvania, Jacob Fetter, the 
founder, having left his home in the Palatinate in 1729 to seek religious 
freedom in the New World. He allied himself with the Moravians when 
Count Zinzendorf established the settlement in Oley, Pennsylvania. A strong 
artistic feeling was the leading characteristic of this family, which numbered 
musicians and artists among its members in different generations. Peter (2) 
Fetter, son of Jacob (i) Fetter, was the first permanent resident of the family 
in Northampton county, where they have ever since resided. The Lehman 
family is also of Moravian ancestry, but did not come to Northampton county 
until "1832, when Ernest Ludwig Lehman arrived from Berlin and established 
in the business of coppersmith, the first in the Lehigh Valley. This little 
business developed into a brass foundry, and Bernhard E., son of Ernest Leh- 
man, took his father's place and became well known as the proprietor of the 
Lehigh Valley Brass Works, being succeeded, in his turn, by his son, John 
George Lehman. The Lehmans were intensely musical and were members 
of the old Bethlehem Philharmonic Society and Moravian Trombone Choir. 
Bernhard E. Lehman was a member of the Pennsylvania Historical Society 
and the Moravian Historical Society. His daughter, Elizabeth F. Myers, 
belongs to these societies, and to the Northampton County Historical Society, 
and has written papers upon various historical subjects for them. A book, 
"A Century of Moravian Sisters," was written by Mrs. Myers and published 
in 1918, and another is in preparation. Mrs. Myers is State chairman for 



BIOGRAPHICAL 511 

Pennsylvania of the Needlework Guild of America, and has served as vice- 
president of the Women's Club of Bethlehem, and secretary of the Bethlehem 
Chapter of the Red Cross. 



JOHN OWEN GRIFFITHS— John Owen Griffiths, secretary of the Yo 
Eddie Club, of I'ethlchem, an organization of patriotic purpose, has been 
corrimendably active in public affairs in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, during the 
years of war, and by his executive work for the club and his personal efforts 
in other activities of patriotic character has come prominently before the 
residents of that city, especially during the last two years. 

John Owen Griffiths was born in Wilkes-Barre, July 6, 1890, the son of 
Owen and l^lizabeth Jane (Davies) Griffiths, of that place. Owen Griffiths 
was born in England, but after his emigration therefrom settled in Wilkes- 
Barre, Pennsylvania, where he married and where two years after the birth 
of their son, John Owen, he died. His widow, I'liizabcth Jane (Davies) Grif- 
fiths, caqie to America when seventeen years of age. She is a native of 
Barmouth, Wales, and after the death of her husband, Owen Griffiths, she 
married again, her second husband being David Thomas Jones, also a native 
of Barmouth, Wales, but at the time of their marriage and since an employee 
of the Wilkes-Barre Coal Company. Six children were born to them, four 
girls and two boys, the boys, however, both dying in infancy. It was in the 
home of his mother and stepfather at Wilkes-Barre that John Owen Griffiths 
was reared. 

He was educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre, and eventually 
graduated from the Wilkes-Barre High School. Immediately after leaving 
school, he took on responsible work of an educational character, being mainly 
responsible for the direction of the Boys' Industrial School at Wilkes-Barre, 
an institution organized by Mrs. H. W. Palmer, of that city. For a time 
Mr. Griffiths was vice-president of the association, and liked his work among 
the boys. He is of active habits, and athletic inclinations; for five years he 
managed baseball and basketball teams in his home town. In February, 
1912, he removed to Bethlehem to take the management of a cigar store 
owned by A. H. Barhold ; later he opened a restaurant in Bethlehem for R. A. 
Kresge, and held the management of that restaurant until 1914. For a year 
thereafter Mr. Griffiths followed insurance, in the employ of the Prudential 
Insurance Company. In June, 1916, when this nation became involved with 
Mexico over the Villa raids into United States territory with resultant loss 
of life, John Owen Griffiths left for the Mexican border as a member of 
Company M, Fourth Regiment, Pennsylvania National Guard. He was on 
active service until January, 1917. Soon after he returned to Bethlehem he 
took over the management of the Bethlehem business of the United Cigar 
Store Company, continuing until January i, 1919, then he was made manager 
ot one of the finest billiard and bowling academies in Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania, for Kurtz Brothers. 

But it is in his connection with the activities of the Yo Eddie Club that 
he has come frequently before the people of Bethlehem since early in 1917. 
That club was organized during the Mexican campaign to keep the soldiers 
of the city supplied with tobacco and other comforts while on active service. 
Other similar clubs have arisen in different parts of the United States, but it 
is probable that the Bethlehem Club was one of the pioneers. It started 
with a membership of seven, and grew in its scope as well as its membership 
until, during the very much more extensive military operations the coun- 
try subsequently became a part of, the great World War, the club had a 
membership of two thousand five hundred and kept three thousand five hun- 
dred soldiers constantly supplied with tobacco, or with the money where- 
with they could purchase it. The funds came from many sources, and all by 
the ingenuity, talent and indefatigable efforts of the members of tlie Yo 



5^2 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Eddie Club, which organized minstrel shows, carnivals, games and in many 
other ways managed to keep the fund in being. When the troops returned 
from the ^Mexican border, the Bethlehem quota received a memorable wel- 
come, the Yo Eddie Club entertaining all of the local troops at a banquet, 
which was made possible by the profits of a previously given and very suc- 
cessful minstrel show. And, likewise, when the soldier boys left, under the 
Selective Service Law, to take part in the great European War, the Yo Eddie 
Club was active in maintaining a tobacco fund sufficient to constantly supply 
the soldiers while in camp or overseas. And when the sending of tobacco over- 
seas was forbidden, because of scarcity of cargo space, the club sent the men 
money orders of sufficient amount to enable them to buy the tobacco 
from the canteen. The Yo Eddie Club includes in its membership such 
nationally known men as Charles M. Schwab and ]Mayor Johnston, and 
was supported in its work by all the public bodies of Bethlehem, having 
the endorsement of the City Council and the Chamber of Commerce. Dur- 
ing its existence it has collected more than $80,000 for the cause, and that 
sum has been expended wholly in caring for and entertaining the sol- 
diers. Administration expenses were borne wholly by the club members, 
their motto being "One hundred per cent, for the boys." The largest 
shipment of tobacco sent by the club to France was valued at $1,300, but in 
many others ways the club cared for the Bethlehem soldiers. As secretary, 
much of the detail work of the club would fall to Mr. Griffiths' care, of neces- 
sity, but his participation in the work did not end with his secretarial duties : 
his services were in constant demand and readily given. He was deputed by 
Special Committee of Bethlehem to see that all Bethlehem boys leaving for 
military service left with the knowledge that the people of Bethlehem appre- 
ciated the service they w^ere to give, and he was also to supervise the ship- 
ments of tobacco. And later, in 1918, he was particularly active in securing 
for soldiers passing through the town a substantial meal, amountmg to a 
total of seventy-two thousand men. So that altogether it may be inferred 
that Mr. Griffiths has spent some useful years of public service since he came 
to Bethlehem. On Thanksgiving Day, 1918, the mothers and wives of forty- 
eight Bethlehem boys who had made the supreme sacrifice w-ere presented 
with baskets, and the needy ones also w-ith checks of ten to twenty-five dollars. 
The following Christmas the fatalities had reached seventy-one, and similar 
gifts to the heroes' mothers and wives were repeated. This club largely 
assum.ed the responsibility of reception and entertainment of the returned 
soldiers and sailors, and also provided the bronze "Bethlehem Medals of 
Honor" to all service men. and gold "Bethlehem Medals of Honor" to the 
wife or mother of each of the city's honored dead. 

Air. Griffiths is a Democrat, and fraternally belongs to the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, member of Lodge No. 78, Bethlehem, and Patriotic 
Order Sons of America. Camp No. 39. Religiously. Air. Griffiths is a Pres- 
bvterian. 

Mr. Griffiths married (first), March 25, 1912, Elizabeth, daughter of 
Thomas C. and Catherine Davies, but had the misfortune to lose his wife, 
the death of Mrs. Griffiths occurring on April q, 1918. There were two chil- 
dren born to the marriage: Lillian Anna. October 3. 1913. and Robert David, 
June 25, 1915. Mr. Grifiiths married (second). April 21. 1919, Florence E., 
daughter of Henry F. and the late Katie Brinkm.an, of Allentown. Penn- 
sylvania. 

HON. CHARLES BRODHEAD — The name brodhead is so intimately 
associated with the history of Northampton county that no record of her 
prominent citizens would be complete without extended mention of this dis- 
tinguished familv, which has contributed many men of influence in county, 
State and National affairs. This record is principally concerned with the 




(-^^e^yi^Zui^S-X.'-^TxijX.d) 



TUE MEW YU*K 

?'n^L!C library' 



ASTdK, LKNOX AND 
i tfCaEN FOUNDATIONS 
■ L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 513 

li/e and works of Charles Brodhcad, who, tliroughout a long life of four score 
years, ably upheld the traditions of a notable family and as lawyer, states- 
man, philanthropist and man-of-atTairs wrote notable chapters in its history. 
Daniel I'.rodhead, the founder of the family in America, was a captain 
in a regiment of English grenadiers, and came to the New World in the reign 
of King Charles II, with the expedition of Col. Richard Nicolls, wdiich effected 
the capture of New Amsterdam from the Dutch in 1664. The Dutch depend- 
encies on the Hudson river, including Eso!)us, Schenectady and I'ort Orange 
(Albany), were also surrendered to the British, and Capt. Daniel Brodhcad 
was assigned with his company to maintain peace and order at Esopus, with 
tile title of "Captain-General of the Esopus." He married Ann Tye, but it is 
not positively' known whether she accomjianied him on the expedition to 
America, or whether she subsequently joined him in Esopus. Among their 
several children were three sons, Daniel, Charles and Richard, names which 
continue in the family to the present. Captain Brodhead made his headquar- 
ters at Marbletown, a village near the Hudson, where he dispensed justice 
with a fair and impartial hand to his Dutch neighbors as well as to his Eng- 
lish followers. He died July 14, 1667. His widow, who survived him many 
years, in 1697 built a residence for herself and children, and it remained in 
possession of her descendants until i8go. Among the family possessions 
dating back to this early period is a pass given by the town authorities of 
Marbletown, Ulster county. New York, to Daniel Brodhcad, a grandson of the 
founder of the family, who was probably the first Brodhead to visit Pennsyl- 
vania. The document reads as follows : 

Ulster in the Province of New York. 
Mnttys Jcn.sen, Major Johannes Ifardenbcrgh and Captain John Rutsen, Justices of 
the Peace for the Cnnnty of Ulster, assigned, 

To all to whom these presents shall come, or may concern, greeting: \\'hcrcas, Daniel 
Brodhcad, son of Captain Charles Brodhcad, hath a purpose to Travell out of this Province 
of New York into the Provinces of New Jersey and Pennsylvania: 

These are to certifie that the said Daniel Brodhead hath been known unto us from 
the time of his nativity to this day, and during all the sd time has held himselfc as a True 
and Faithful Subject of our Sovcrc'cne Lord Kirg George' and his predecessors, and is 
of honest and good fame, name, credit and reputation, and we desire he may be greeted 
accordirgly. 

Given under our hands and seals in Kingston, this 12th day of Scptemlier. in the fifth 
year of His Majesty's reign Anno Domino, 1718. 

(Signed) Mattys Jansen, 
J. Haedenbergh, 
John Rutsen. 

Daniel Brodhead did not remain in Pennsylvania, but his cousin, Danie' 
Brodhead, son of Richard Brodhead, a brother of Capt. Charles Brodhead, 
mentioned above, moved to Pennsylvania about 1735, settling on what is 
now P.rodhead creek, near Stroudsburg, in what was then Bucks county, but 
is now a part of Monroe county. He laid out a town about a mile squai^e 
and named it Dansbury, a station on the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western 
railroad, and from him are descended all the Brodheads of Pennsylvania. 

The line of descent from the founder of the family came through Richard 
Brodhead and his wife, Magdalena Jensen. He was born in 1666, and died 
in 1758, while his wife died in 1707. Their only son, Daniel, who established 
the family in Pennsylvania, was born April 20, 1693. In 1726 he was a mer- 
chant in Albany, New York; a licensed Indian trader in 1730; and in 1737 or 
1738 he moved to Pennsylvania, where he built the town of Dansbury and 
established a mill and also a Moravian church. He was commissioned justice 
of the peace September 25, 1747, and died in Bethlehem, July 22, 1755. His 
wife was Hester Wyngart, and their children were: Thomas Garton, who 
was born in 1723, and died at sea; Garrett Lucas, born in 1724; Richard B., 
born in 1726; Ann Garton, born in 1727; Charles, born September 7. 1729; 
Garrett, born January 21, 1733; Daniel, of further mention; John; and Luke. 

N. H. BIGG.— 33 



514 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

One of the sons, Daniel Brodhead, born October 17, 1736, was colonel of 
the Eighth Pennsylvania Regiment in the Colonial Army during the Revolu- 
tion, and at its close, while colonel, commanding the western department, 
with headquarters in Pittsburgh, by special act of George Washington, and 
in the reorganization of the Pennsylvania troops was made colonel of the 
First Pennsylvania Regiment in the Continental establishment. He held 
several State offices, and when the new organization was formed in i/Sg, 
became the first surveyor-general of Pennsylvania, which office he held until 
his death at Milford, Pike county, in 1809. 

His brother, Garrett Brodhead, great-grandfather of Hon. Charles Brod- 
head, was also an officer in the Revolutionary War. He was born January 21, 
1733, and became a lieutenant, doing frontier service during the struggle for 
Independence. He married, March 15, 1759, Jane Davis, and their children 
were: John, born IMarch 3, 1766; Daniel; Richard, of further mention; 
George; Elizabeth, born in 1775; Rachel; and Samuel, born in 1779. 

Richard Brodhead, son of Garrett Brodhead, was born in 1771, and mar- 
ried Jane Drake. They were the parents of: Sarah, born in 1791 ; Garrett, 
born in December, 1793; William, born in 1795; Jane, born in 1797; Albert 
Gallatin, of further mention; Anna Maria, born February 14, 1801 ; Charles, 
born August 4, I805 ; Rachael ; Eliza ; Elizabeth ; and Richard. 

Albert Gallatin Brodhead, son of Richard Brodhead, was born in 1799, 
becoming a merchant of Conyngham, Pennsylvania, and in 1839 moving to 
Delaware, Pike county, where he purchased the old Brodhead homestead. Pfe 
attained prominent and influential position in public affairs, and several times 
served in the State Legislature. He married Ellen iMiddaugh, and their only 
child was Charles, of whom further. 

Charles Brodhead, son of Albert Gallatin and Ellen (Middaugh) Brod- 
head, was born at Conyngham, Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, August 4, 1824, 
and died in Bethlehem', Pennsylvania, December 31, 1904. Until he was four- 
teen years of age he attended the schools of Delaware, Pike county, then for 
two years was a student in an academic school at Stroudsburg, conducted by 
Ira Burrell Newman. In the spring of 1840 he went with Mr. Newman to a 
rewly established school at Dingman's High Falls, Pike county, where he 
finished his preparation for college. He matriculated at Lafayette College, 
of which the Rev. Dr. George Junkin was then the head, in November, 1S40, 
being graduated as a member of the class of 1844. He at once Dt-gan to read 
law in the office of his uncle, Richard Brodhead. then a member of Congress 
and afterward United States Senator from Pennsylvania, and while studying 
in this office attended the law school established at Philadelphia by David 

Hoffman. ^ , , „ ,, , r j 

Admitted to the bar at Easton, in 1846, Mr. Brodhead soon afterward 
beo-an his public service as sheriff's attorney, filling that office for three years, 
abandoning professional work to devote his time to real estate operations in 
Bethlehem His purchase of one hundred acres of Moravian farm land on 
the south side of the Lehigh in 1854, at the time the Lehigh Valley, the Cen- 
tral of New Jersey, and the North Pennsylvania railroads were running their 
lines in that direction, was characteristic of his wise, far-sighted business 
policv He laid out a large part of the present South Bethlehem and was 
one of the largest land owners of that locality, also owning considerable 




Davis then Secretarv of War, and United States Senator Richard Brodhead, 
to secure the establishment of a government foundry in that place. Although 
it failed at that time, the project was not abandoned, and future years wit- 
nessed the manufacture of large stores of government materia m Bethle- 
hem's mills and, during the World War, Bethlehem plants turned the tide of 



BIOGRAPHICAL 515 

victory toward the Allies. Charles Brodhead was the detcnnining influence 
in the location of the works of the Bethlehem Iron Com])any at South Beth- 
lehem, inducing Augustus Wolle to establish a projected enterprise in that 
place. Mr. WoUc had obtained a charter for an organization known as the 
Saucona Iron Company. Mr. Brodhead, becoming largely interested finan- 
cially in this proposition, as he had been in other activities of Mr. Wolle, 
successfully advocated the choice of South Bethlehem as its location and was 
the author of a sujiplement to the original charter, changing the name to the 
Bethlehem Rulling Mill & Iron Company, the parent of the present vast 
Bethlehem interests. 

Charles Brodhead was the dominating factor in many plans of progress 
and improvement in Bethlehem. The plan of the eleven hundred teet long 
bridge connecting Bethlehem and South Bethlehem was conceived by him, 
and he also led in the agitation for the Broad street bridge between Bethlehem 
and West Bethlehem. As a member of the Constitutional Convention of 
Pennsylvania in 1873, he wrote into that document several valuable clauses, 
whose worth has been ])roven by the tests of time and circumstances. One 
of these was the provision lov free telegraph lines, prohibiting the consolida- 
tion of parallel or competing lines, a strong safeguard against the monopolies 
that soon came into vogue. He also secured the enactment of the section 
which prohibits all officers and employees of railroad companies from being 
interested, directly or indirectly, in the furnishing of supplies and material 
for the corporations with which they are connected, or being interested in 
transportation lines or contracts for transportation. A third subject on which 
lie introduced and secured the adoption of regulations was the term of office 
of county treasurers, which was extended to three years, with re-election 
prohibited, a provision which had salutary effect. His legal training was 
valuable to him in this work, and to the delilierations of the convention he 
gave of the best of a keenly analytical mind, strong business acumen and 
devoted affection for his native State. 

Mr. Brodhead was the builder of the railroad that became the Lehigh & 
Lackawanna railroad, now the Lehigh <&: New England railroad, and served 
for many years as its president. The line, constructed through his energetic 
perseverance and determination, was built with the double purpose of serving 
the great slate region and of connecting points in the popular vacation coun- 
try nearby. The road was known among his associates during its construc- 
tion as "Charley Brodhead's Huckleberry Railroad," a sobriquet rising from 
the general interest always attending an enterprise of local importance. He 
served on the board of trustees of Lehigh University, and lent generous sup- 
port to those institutions whose object was the care of the unfortunate. His 
long life was productive of benefits that will endure, and during its course 
he held the high regard of men who, like himself, strove worthily in many 
fields. The rich talents that crowned his efforts with success were ever at 
the disposal of his fellows, though he would never enter public life, and his 
influence was always effectively used to further the forward and upward 
progress of his city and State. 

Charles Brodhead married, June i, 1858, Camilla M. Shimer, daughter of 
Gen. Conrad Shimer, an extensive farmer, prominent in military and political 
affairs in Northampton county, member of a family old in the locality, the 
name appearing on early records as Scheumer, Sheymer, Shymcr and in other 
terms. Children of Hon. Charles and Camilla M. (Shimer) Brodhead: Charles, 
born July 26, 1859, died May 18, i860; Kate Ellen, born May 15, I861, 
married Warren A. Wilbur (q.v.) ; and Albert, born September 26, 1867. 



JAMES RUSSELL DONNELLY— In the long ago. when three trains 
daily constituted the Lehigh Valley service to Easton, James Russell Don- 
nelly was conductor of one of those trains, having come to the operating 



5i6 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

department from the engineering corps. Later he became superintendent of 
the Lehigh and one of the best known men in the service of that road. He 
became a resident of Easton in 1866, and in 1869 located at No. 153 Ferry- 
street, that being his home until his death, thirty-four years afterward. He 
was a son of George (2) Donnelly, who came from Ireland with his parents. 
George and Mary (Maloney) Donnelly, political refugees from Ireland, they 
having taken part in the uprisings in 1790. George Donnelly fuuna a pieasmg 
location in Chester county, Pennsylvania, making permanent home in West 
Chester. 

George (2) Donnelly was but a young boy when brought to Chester 
count\% Pennsylvania, from Ireland, but he readily adopted American ways, 
obtained an education in West Chester schools, learned a trade, and became a 
noted builder of the olden time wooden bridges. One of the bridges he con- 
structed was that spanning the Schuylkill at Douglasville, Pennsylvania. He 
married Sarah Russell, of Douglasville, daughter of George Whittaker and 
Sarah (Reifsnyder) Russell, and they were the parents of an only child, 
James Russell Donnelly, to whom this review is dedicated. George '(2) Don- 
nelly died in West Chester, Pennsylvania, in 1835, six months after the birth 
of his son, James Russell. Mrs. Donnelly married (second), Peter Turner, 
and had children : Amos, Newton, and Annie, the last-named the wife of 
Frank Hallman, of Pottstown, Pennsylvania. 

James Russell Donnelly was born in West Chester, Chester county, 
Pennsylvania, October 29, 1834, and died in Easton, Pennsylvania, July 5, 
1903. After the death of his father, six months later, his mother returned to 
her father's home in Douglasville, and there the lad, James, lived until the 
age of sixteen years. He was educated tmder private teachers, and in 1S50 
was sent to his uncle, Peter Russell, rector of St. Mark's Protestant Episcopal 
Church at Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania, who placed him in a private school, 
and there his school years were finished. During these closing years of school 
life he went out with the Lehigh Valley railroad engineering parties during 
his summer vacation periods and when school was finished he became a per- 
manent member of the engineering department of that road. Robert H. 
Sayre was then chief engineer of the Lehigh, and when the road was under 
construction between Mauch Chunk and Easton, he made Mr. Donnelly his 
assistant chief engineer, a post he ably filled as long as he remained in that 
department of the Lehigh. He was finally transferred from the engineering 
corps to the operating department, and was appointed conductor of one of 
the three trains the Lehigh was then operating. He has advanced in rank 
several times, finally becoming general superintendent, a position he held until 
the year 1900, when he resigned, having been in the continuous employ of the 
Lehigh Valley railroad from his youth. He gained a high reputation among 
railway officials and was one of the men responsible for the placing of the 
Lehigh among the list of well operated railways of the United States. After 
resigning from the superintendent's office he retired to a well earned rest, and 
three years later was called to eternal rest. 

Constancy and. fidelity were two marked characteristics of his nature, 
and were displayed in every position he filled, either in business or civil life. 
He became a resident of Easton in 1866, and about 1870 was elected a member 
of the school board. He never lost the deep interest he then evinced in all 
matters pertaining to the operation of the public schools, and he held the 
office until his death more than a quarter of a century later. He was a devout 
churchman and for thirty-five years served Trinity Episcopal Church as ves- 
tryman, being in office when his final summons came. He was a Republican 
of the old school, but whenever his term on the school board exnired. he was 
re-elected without opposition, the opposite party supporting Mr. Donnelly 
as enthusiastically as his own party. He was a charter member of Dallas 
Lodo-e Free and Accepted Masons, of Easton, and was held in high regard 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



517 



by his brethren of the order. All these affiliations were continued faithfully 
as long as he lived, and he yielded to no man in loyalty or devotion to school, 
fraternity or church. 

Another characteristic prominently developed in Mr. Donnelly was his 
love of country and his readiness to offer even that last and highest sacrifice, 
his life. When l^residcnt Lincoln called upon the manhood of the North, 
West and East to rally to the colors in their defence, he enlisted with a 
company from RIauch Chunk, and went to the front as its first lieutenant. 
Commissioned by Governor Curtain, Company A, Thirty-fourth Regiment 
Infantry, on June 30, 1863. He saw active service and played well his part, 
returning from the war with a captain's commission. There he met every 
obligation of life, and of him it could be written: "Well done, good and 
faithful servant." 

Mr. Donnelly married at Mauch Chunk, I'cnnsylvania, October 9, i860, 
Sophia Johnson, of that town, who died December 26, 1905, daughter of 
Henry and Alary (Kintner) Johnson. In 1866 they moved to Kaston, making 
their home at No. 153 Ferry street, and there they resided in closest harmony 
until the bond was dissolved by the death of the husband, the wife following 
two years later. They rest side by side in Easton Cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. 
Donnelly were the parents of two sons, Joseph Henry and James I'lussell (2) ; 
and two daughters, Elizabeth and Sarah. Joseph Henry Donnelly is now a 
resident of ISrooklyn, New York, with the lUish Terminal Company, now 
operated by the United States Government. lie married Winifred Willis. 
James Russell (2) Donnelly, of Paterson, New Jersey, married Eloise Butz, 
and they have four children, sons: i. James Russell (3), married Catherine 
Mclnnerney. 2. Charles Douglas, was official photographer in the Signal Corps, 
American Expeditionary Forces, "Somewhere in France." He went over 
with the Rainbow Division, one of the two first official photographers sent 
over with Pershing's forces ; he was prostrated by shell shock and is now 
(September, 1918) recuperating in London. 3. Arthur B., is physical instruc- 
tor in the public schools of Rochester, New York; he married Marian 
Kubetka. 4. Richard Joseph, at home. Elizabeth and Sarah Donnelly, the 
only daughters of James Russell (i) and Sophia (Johnson) Donnelly, reside 
at the old home. No. 153 Ferry street, Easton, they never having known 
any other home. 

LOUIS HELLER — For many years an expert tinsmith and foreman of 
the Daniel Beach Shop in Easton, Louis Heller, through his mechanical skill 
and friendly, genial manner, made many warm friends both in a business and 
social way. He was of the Reading branch of the family founded in Penn- 
sylvania by Christopher Heller, who was born in Germany, in 1688, and came 
to Pennsylvania in 1738, arriving in Philadelphia with his six sons, September 
5, of that year. Joseph, the oldest son, never married, but the other five did, 
and reared large families. Johan Simon Heller, the second son, had sixteen 
children, four of whom, Jacob, John. Abraham and Simon, served in the 
Revolutionary War. Johan Michael Heller, the third son, became a very 
extensive land owner, was the founder of Hellertown. and there, in 1746, built 
a stone house, which is yet standing. He gave each of his children a farm 
containing several hundred acres, and lost very heavily through the deprecia- 
tion of currency during the Revolutionary War. But. nevertheless, his team 
was the first to leave the Saucon Valley loaded with provisions for Wash- 
ington's needy soldiers at Valley Forge. He was also a lieutenant in the army, 
and two of his sons were also in the service. 

From Christopher Heller, the founder, sprang Frederick Peter Heller, 
born in Reading, Pennsylvania, where he passed his entire life, dying when 
in good old age. He was a justice of the peace for many years, that being a 
vcrv important office in his day. He served in the last few years of the 



5i8 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Revolution, although very young. He married and was the father of eight 
children, the eldest being a son, George, a leading jeweler of Reading. They 
also had sons : John, Frederick, and Louis, the last-named being the principal 
character of this review. 

Louis Heller was born in Reading, Pennsylvania, in March, 1814, and 
died in Easton, Pennsylvania, in icSgo. He was baptized, as were his brothers 
and sisters, by Rev. Henry M. Muhlenburg, the patriarch of the Lutheran 
church in Pennsylvania. He was the youngest child of his parents, and was 
reared upon the farm lands now within Reading limits, but the Central Rail- 
road of New Jersey, when it entered Reading, needed to cross the Heller 
lands, and offered a reasonable price therefor. Frederick P. Heller, the 
father, was deeply opposed to having his lands crossed by the railroads, and 
fought it bitterly, but nevertheless had to succumb to the march of public 
improvement. It was then decided by the father that farming was no longer 
a suitable occupation for his youngest son, and it was thought wise that 
Louis be taught a trade. He was at once apprenticed to a tinsmith in Read- 
ing, became an expert workman, then when a young man he located in 
Easton, Pennsylvania, later returning to take unto himself a wife. Easton 
was ever afterward his home, and there he won an excellent reputation as 
business man and citizen. His residence was on Centre square, the lot being 
now the site of the National Meat Market. He was very proud of his home 
and his family, and was devoted in his care and solicitude for them. He was 
a lifelong member of the Lutheran church, and died in the faith. He became 
a Republican at the founding of the party, and was always an ardent sup- 
porter of its principles. 

Mr. Heller married, in Reading, Barbara Ann Stahle, born in 1815, daugh- 
ter of Capt. Joseph and Gertrude Stahle. He returned to Easton with his 
bride, and there they lived until the death of Mrs. Heller at their home on 
Ferrj' street, in I879. In youth she was a member of the Episcopal church, 
but after her marriage she united with the Lutheran, and worshipped with 
her husband. He survived her eleven years. They were the parents of ten 
children: i. IMaria Frederica, who for many years was engaged in the milli- 
nery business, at No. 135 Northampton street, where she died, December 12, 
1918. 2. Augustus Frederick, who died in the LTnited States Soldiers' Home 
at Hampton Roads, Virginia, in 191 7; he was first lieutenant of the One 
Hundred and Twenty-ninth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, en- 
tering the service on President Lincoln's first call in 1861, and going to the 
front with his regiment, under command of Colonel Yohe. Later he was 
captam of Company C, of another regiment, serving until the close of the 
war in 1865, being engaged in many of the most important battles of the war. 
He married Annie Crawford, of Easton, Pennsylvania. 3. George, now resid- 
ing in the old Heller homestead in Easton ; he engaged in the roofing busi- 
ness. 4. Alice, died young. 5. Isabelle, died young. 6. Daniel, died young. 
7. Matilda, married William H. Ryan, of Boston, they now residing in Allen- 
town, Pennsylvania, where Mr Ryan is engaged in business as a box manu- 
facturer. 8. Leonora, married William H. Seip, a merchant of Easton, he 
now deceased. Mrs. Seip survives her husband, a resident of Easton, the 
mother of eight children. 9. Anna Barbara, married Robert E. James, who 
for many years was president of the Easton Trust Company, and who died 
in Easton, November 10, 1913. 10. Louis (2). now and for the last nine 
years assistant treasurer of Easton : he married Elizabeth Stillgenbauer, and 
resides at the corner of Sixth and Northampton streets, Easton. 

HERBERT GROVER CLEVELAND HOFFERT— Lawrence Hoffert, 
a son of Daniel Hoffert, was a blacksmith of Hellertown, Pennsylvania, died 
in 1894. aged sixty. He married Ellen Elizabeth Boehm, a daughter of James 
M. and :\Iaria (Dech) Boehm, born August i, 1842, who died January 6, 1913. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 519 

They were the parents of five children who came to years of maturity, another 
child, a daughter Emma, dying in infancy. 'J"he living children (ujiq) are: 
George A., an engineer with the Bethlehem Steel Company, married Ellen 
Ruth, and has seven living children ; William T., employed as a steam crane 
operator at the Rethlchcm Steel Company, married Ida Adams, and has five 
children; Harry J., a merchant of siiop No. 2 of the Bethlehem Steel Com- 
pany, married Gertrude Hess, daughter of Colonel Edward Hess, and has a 
daughter Margaret; Maria, married William II. Frye, yard master of the 
Bethlehem Steel 'J'ransportation Yards, and he has five sons ; Herbert Grover 
Cleveland, of further mention. 

Herbert Grover Cleveland Hoffcrt was born in 1 lellertown, Northampton 
county, I'ennsylvania, September 3, 1884. He there attended public school, 
and finished his education in llellcrtown High School. In 1902 he began 
learning the machinist's trade with the P>ethlehem Steel Company. He re- 
mained with that com[)any as machinist until 1910, then began operating 
in coal production, and is now conducting a large and successful business as 
coal operator and contractor in association with S. D. Ritter, of Freemans- 
burg, Pennsylvania, and is also engaged in general contracting. I\Tr. Hoffert 
is a resident of North Hellcrtown, is a Democrat in i)olitics, active in public 
affairs. He is a member and past master of Hellcrtown Lodge, Free and 
Acce])ted Masons; Saucona Lodge, Independent Order of Odd I'Y'llows ; 
Hellcrtown Castle, Knights of the Golden Eagle ; Killatin Tribe, Improved 
Order of Red Men; and in religious affiliation is a Lutheran. 

Mr. HoiTert married, November 25, 1913, at Hellcrtown, Laura Mabel 
Raub, daughter of Jeremiah and Elizabeth (Moser) Raub. Mr. and Mrs. 
HoiTert were the parents of two children : Flora May, born September 6, 
1914; Catherine Ellen, born June 5, 1915. Mrs. HofTert died November 26, 
1919, aged thirtv-five vears, six months and four days. She was born May 22, 
1883. ' ' 

TILGHMAN REISS — Jesse Reiss, a substantial farmer of Lower Saucon 
townshij), Northampton county, Pennsylvania, died at the age of eighty-five, 
honored and respected. He married Susanna Koch, who died at the age of 
fort'y-five. They wtere the parents of : Tilghman, of further mention ; 
Matilda, married Joseph Morey, deceased; Mary Ann, married N. Bowler, 
deceased; Fayetta, died, unmarried, in 1914; James, died in 1918, married; 
Jeremiah, died in 1918, married. 

Tilghman Reiss was born in Lower Saucon township, Northampton 
county, IVnnsylvania, September 16, 1845, and like his father before him. has 
there sjient his life engaged in farming and teaming. He is active in business, 
and since 1913 has been township collector of taxes, elected by a very large 
vote. He is a Republican in politics, and a member of the Reformed church, 
serving six years as deacon. 

Mr. Reiss married (first) Lucinda B. Billheimer, who died, leaving five 
children: i. Clayton, an engineer at the Bethelhem Steel Works: married 
Anna Wimmer, who died leaving a daughter. 2. Ida, married William Eckert, 
a bloomer and roller at the Bethlehem Steel Works, and has eight children. 
3. Edward, a Bethlehem steel worker, married Laura Schick. 4. Susan, mar- 
ried Charles Steinman. 5. Lillian, married Benjamin Lambert, a forge worker 
in the Bethlehem SteelWorks, and has three children. Mr. Reiss married 
(second) Mrs. Lawrence Hoflfert. 

ROBERT ELDREDGE WILBUR— The connections of Mr. Wilbur in 
the industrial, business and financial circles of Bethlehem are with those insti- 
tutions whose part in the growth and upbuilding of the city has been import- 
ant and constant. With many of these the Wilbur name has been long identi- 
fied, and in a busy career embracing activity in manufacturing, banking. 



520 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

publishing and other fields of business he has ably upheld splendid family 
records and traditions. 

Son of Warren A. and Sallie P. (Lindermann) Wilbur, Robert Eldredge 
Wilbur was born in Bethlehem, July 17, 1881. He prepared for college at 
the Lawrenceville School, Lawrenceville, New Jersey, and Hill School, Potts- 
town, Pennsylvania, then entered Lehigh University, class of 1904. After 
taking two years in architectural courses in Harvard University, he returned 
to Bethlehem and at once engaged in business. The Bethlehem Foundry & 
Machine Company has occupied much of his time, and he is now (1919) 
assistant to the general manager of the plant. A strong, vigorous enterprise, 
this concern during the World War rendered valuable service in the supply 
of war materials for the United States and her allies. Vast quantities of 
powder-making machinery were produced by the company, and in its plant 
was made the first successfully operating apparatus for the extraction of 
nitric acid from the air, in the United States, as well as some of the earliest 
machinery for the manufacture of mustard and other gases used in v/arfare. 

From 1907 to 1919 Mr. Wilbur was vice-president of the Lehigh Valley 
National Bank, and was elected president to succeed Gen. William E. Doster 
in the latter year. His long and close association with the important affairs 
of the institution made his succession to the executive office but a slight 
change, and his election was received with wide favor within the sphere of 
the bank's influence and among the banking fraternity. Mr. Wilbur is a 
director and executive officer in the following : President of the Globe Pub- 
lishing Company, publishers of the Bethlehem Globe; president of the Citizens' 
Realty Company ; treasurer of the Packer Coal Company ; the same office in 
the Jefferson Coal Company ; and is a director of the Sayre National Bank, 
of Sayre, Pennsylvania. In the organizations of business men of the city, 
formed for the promotion of the mutual interests of the members and the 
advancement of the commercial and industrial prosperity of the locality, he 
has always taken prominent part, and is now president of the South Side 
Business Men's Association; president of the Bethlehem Rotary Club, 1919- 
20; and vice-president of the Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce. 

He holds the thirty-second degree in the iMasonic order, is a member of 
Bethlehem Commander}-. Bloomsburg Consistory; Rajah Temple, Nobles of 
the Mystic Shrine, of Reading, Pennsylvania ; and Allentown Lodge No. 30, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. His social organizations are the 
Northampton Club, the County Countrj' Club of Northampton County, the 
Lehigh Country Club, the Engineers' Club of New York, the Manufacturers' 
Club of Philadelphia, and the Livingston Club of Allentown. During his col- 
lege years he was elected to the Sigma Phi fraternity. Mr. Wilbur is a 
trustee and secretary of the executive committee of St. Luke's Hospital, in 
whose welfare he has long taken deep interest, and is a liberal patron of all 
local charities. He is a vestryman of the Protestant Episcoal pro-Cathedral 
Church of the Nativity. His recreation are those of the out-of-doors, gun- 
ning, fishing, automobiling and motor boating. His residence is in the Foun- 
tain Hill District, and his summer home is "Sylvan Island" of the Thousand 
Islands of the St. Lawrence. 

Mr. Wilbur married, February 11, 1905, Nina V3^se. daughter of j\lrs. 
Nina Morgan Vyse, of New York City. Mrs. Wilbur is interested in St. 
Luke's Hospital through the work of the Ladies' Aid Societ)-, and is a gener- 
ous friend of the Children's Home. Mr. and Mrs. Wilbur are the parents 
of Nina Ivatherine, Sallie Lindermann, Warren Abbott 2nd and Gladys Edith. 



JOHN GOSZTONYI — The career of John Gosztonyi is one of unusual 
interest. His was a life that well illustrated the success that can be wrought 
from great handicaps by the exercise of natural talents and a strong deter- 
mination to achieve. He came from his Hungarian home to seek his fortune 
in a new land, and after employment as a laborer entered mercantile lines, 



BIOGRAPHICAL 521 

then journalism, and subsequently became interpreter in the local courts. In 
this last capacity he realized the opportunity lor service to his fellow coun- 
trymen and other foreigners to whom American banking systems were a 
mystic maze, and while a resident of Phoenixville he laid the foundations of 
the banking business that has since been incorporated as a trust company 
and that is controlled by his family. He was a talented linguist, speaking 
six languages Hucntly and being able to understand and make himself under- 
stood in as many other dialects. Among the foreign population of Bethlehem 
he was regarded with esteem and respect, for he proved himself a true friend 
on many occasions, and all of his relations to the life of the city were marked 
by adherence to the highest aims of good citizenship. 

John Gosztonyi was born in Hungary, and in 1884 came to the United 
States. His first employment was in Plymouth, where he was employed 
in the mines, and because of his unfamiliarity with the language and 
customs his earnest labor brought him little profit. Subsequently he moved 
to Philadelphia, later going to Phoenixville, borrowing sufficient capital to 
open a general store. This enterprise was a prosperous one and when it was 
well under way he founded a Slav newspaper, Slovak V Amerika, conducting 
this journal in addition to his mercantile business for several years. The 
management of the Slovak V Amerika became a larger proposition than he 
felt able to maintain and he disposed of the paper, afterward, in 1892, selling 
his store in Phoenixville and moving to Bethlehem, where he opened another 
general store and continued the foreign exchange hanking business that he 
had begun in Phoenixville. The confidence reposed in him by the foreign born 
population led to his choice as interpreter for the Northampton County Court, 
for he was a linguist of extraordinary ability, his work as interpreter fre- 
quently carrying him to New York City, Easton, Norristown and West 
Chester. His banking business developed into the largest foreign exchange 
bank in the city, and after his death the institution that he had so strongly 
founded was continued under the able direction of his widow, Rozi Gosztonyi, 
as president, his sons, John J. and Rudolph E., vice-presidents, and W. W. 
Peters, formerly an official of the Maunch Chunk Trust Company and the 
Weatherley National Bank, as secretary and treasurer. In July, 1918, it was 
incorporated as a trust company, with large and substantial resources, and 
continues in responsible position as a leading financial center for Bethlehem's 
foreign population. 

Mr. Gosztonyi, three years after coming to Bethlehem, became the 
proprietor of the v»-ell known Lapicrre House, and during the ten years he 
operated this hostelry acquired for it excellent reputation as well as deriving 
therefrom a comfortable income. In all of his operations he applied himself 
diligently to his task, was quick to see and seize opportunities, and having 
done all that ambition and industry could accomplish was content with the 
rewards of a life of probity and uprightness. His death came suddenly in 
1905, and he received the tribute of sorrow from the many who knew him as a 
business man beyond reproach, a loyal friend and a loving husband and 
father. He married Rozi Tachovsky, who, since his death, has been the head 
of the banking business, the only woman bank president in Pennsylvania, 
up to this time. Mrs. Gosztonyi is a capable business woman and financier, 
and is almost as talented in languages as was her honored husband, being 
accomplished in five languages. She is a loyal friend of the churches and 
charitable institutions of the city, contributing gcnerous'y to their funds, and 
is particularly active in the Catholic Slavish church of Bethlehem. The five 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Gosztonyi were placed under the guardianship of 
their maternal uncle. Otto Tachovsky, upon Mr. Gosztonyi's death, a charge 
that continued until they attained legal age. Children of John and Rozi 
(Tachovsky) Gosztonyi: i. Charles Aloysius, of whom further. 2. John J., 
born in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, December 2, 1889; attended the public 
schools, later the Niagara University Preparatory School and the Buffalo 



522 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Medical School, now an official of the family banking house ; married 
Dorothy Bickel, of Sunbury, Pennsylvania. 3. Rudolph, born September 
20, 1891, an official of the bank; married Olga Payer, of McAdoo, Pennsyl- 
vania. 4. Rose E., born in September, 1897, educated in the parochial 
schools, St. Joseph's Academy, Chestnut Plill, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 
and shortly before the outbreak of the European War, in 1914, returned 
from studies in Bohemia, her mother's birthplace ; she married Harry E. 
Chapman, of Catasauqua, Penns_\ Ivania. 5. Julius, born May 22, 1901, a 
graduate of Fordham Preparatory School, of New York ; also connected 
with the bank. 

Charles Aloysius Gosztonyi was born in Phocnixville. Pennsylvania, in 
1888, and was educated in the public and parochial schools of Bethlehem, 
graduating from Central High School in the class of 1906. He was graduated 
M.JL. from Lehigh University in 1910, taking second scholastic honors in his 
class. Soon afterward he entered the physical laboratory of the Bethlehem 
Steel Company, eighteen months afterward being transferred to the armor 
plate machine shop, then becoming assistant foreman of the armor heat treat- 
ment department. In October, 1917, he became general foreman of the armor 
forging department, sixteen-inch guns then the specialty of that department. 
He is a musician, instrumental and vocal, of note, and for eighteen years 
was organist of the Slavish Catholic church of Bethlehem, serving without 
charge for eleven years. He is a member of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks and the Knights of Columbus, also of the Hungarian Sick and 
Beneficial Society. While a student at Lehigh University he married, June 
28, 1910, Mary Burton Dolan, of Bethlehem. They are the parents of two 
children : John (2) and Marie. John (2) is the first son born to a member 
of the Lehigh University, class of 1910, and was presented at birth with a 
loving cup by the members of the class, the cup; bearing this inscription : 
"Presented to John Gosztonyi, born April 15, 191 1, First Son of the Class of 
igio, Lehigh University." 

JOHN CHARLES MILLETT— At Eagle Bridge, a village ot Rensselaer 
county. New York, about twenty-three miles from Troy. John and Bridget 
(^Keyes) Millett were living at the time of the birth of their son, Henry 
Millett, father of John Charles Millett. manager of the S. S. Kresges Five & 
Ten Cent Store in Easton. John Millett died in Eagle Bridge, his widow 
then moving to Troy, where she died several years later. Flenry Millett also 
became a resident of Troy, and there yet resides, a roadmaster with the 
United Traction Company of that city. He married Margaret Ward, also 
born at Eagle Bridge, New York, daughter of Patrick Ward. They were the 
parents of three children: Mary, residing with her parents in Troy; John 
Charles, of further mention; Viola, residing at the family home in Troy. 

John Charles Millett. only son of Henry and Margaret (Ward) Alillett, 
was born in Troy, New York. July 29, 1892, and there attended the public 
school, finishing in high school. He began his business life with the S. S. 
Kresges Company in their Troy store and has never severed that connection. 
He began as a clerk, and until 191 5 has been associated with tne company in 
that capacity in stores in New York, Rhode Island. Missouri and Washington, 
District of Columbia. He had proved his ability in the different positions in 
which he had been placed, and in 191 5 was appointed general manager of the 
company's store at Easton, Pennsylvania. In that position, as in all others. 
Mr. Millett has "made good," and the Easton store stands high on the com- 
pany's roll of lionor. Mr. Millett is a member of St. Brainerd's Roman 
Catholic Church, Union Council No. 345, Knights of Columbus, and in politics 
an Independent. 

Mr. Millett married, in St. Louis, Missouri. Jime 27. 1914, Corinne Zim- 
merman, daughter of Theodore Zimmerman, of that city. Mr. and Mrs. 
Millett are the parents of two sons: John Charles (2), born February, 1916; 
and Donald H., born January, 1918. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 523 

THOMAS FRANCIS McGOVERN— I-Vom youth, Thomas F. McGovern, 
formerly ol Stuith Ili.'lhlehi;iii, was identified with the undertaking jjusiuess, 
and thoroughly fitting himself, became one of the leaders in his business. Me 
was a son of John McGovern, a hotel proprietor of South Bethlehem, who 
died March 17, 1912, in the hotel he had conducted for many years. He mar- 
ried Mary Dinan, also of South Bethlehem, and they were the parents of the 
following children: Thomas F., of further mention; Frank, a hotel ])ro]irietor, 
married Mary Brady, who died August cS, 1897; Agnes, residing at the South 
Bethlehem home ; and Delia, also at home. 

Thomas F. McGovern was born in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
October 31, 1871, died March 31, 1914. He was educated in the public schools, 
and after leaving school he became his father's assistant in the management 
of the Eagle Hotel, the first house of public entertainment opened in South 
Bethlehem. Pie later left the hotel business and began a connection with 
the undertaking business, which was only severed by his own death. He 
prepared for the business he had decided to follow by a course at the United 
States School of Embalming in New York City, graduating therefrom in June, 
1897. He opened an undertaking establishment in South I'ethlehem, begin- 
ning in a modest way, but constantly growing in public confidence, he 
eventually owning the largest mortuary business in South Bethlehem. He 
was well liked by all who knew him, and as a funeral director was a model 
of consideration and courtesy, and at funerals his imposing figure seemed to 
impart confidence and strength. In his political faith Mr. McGovern was a 
Democrat, and for several years held the office of director of the ]ioor. 
He was a member of Holy Infancy Roman Catholic Church, and in all the 
relations of civil, church and social life he was most careful and exact. His 
friends were legion and he was one of the most hospitable and charitable 
of men. He was i)ul.)lic-spirited and progressive, large physically, and equally 
broad-minded. He was a member of the Knights of Columbus, Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, and the Foresters of America. 

Mr. McGovern married, February 17, 1887, at Holy Infancy Church, 
Marcella L. Rodgers, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Brady) Rodgers, resi- 
dents of Bethlehem for half a century, her father a paving contractor and 
landscape gardener, one of his most noted landscapes being the grounds of 
Lehigh University, and he was one of the heroes of the Civil War. He died 
June 17, 1903, his wife dying July 21, 1914. Mr. and Mrs. Rodgers were the 
parents of Marcella L., widow of Thomas F. McGovern; Sister Mercedes, 
directress of Mount St. Mary's College, Plainfield, New Jersey, who cele- 
brated her silver jubilee as a sister September 24, 1918; Edward J., an under- 
taker of Allentown, Pennsylvania, married Elizabeth Doyle, of South Bethle- 
hem ; William M., a hotel proprietor, formerly coroner, and for eight years 
undertaker at Philliiisburg, New Jersey, married Genevieve Malarkey, of 
Easton, died October 30, igi8, a victim of the influenza epidemic; Elizabeth 
R., married Louis P. Vooz, who died October 2, 1907; Mary A., a graduate 
nurse, trained in St. Joseph's Hospital, Philadelphia, died June 18, 1911. 

Since the death of her husband, Mrs. McGovern has succeeded to the 
management of the business he left, and in her work has been greatly aided 
by her brother, Edward J. Rodgers, an undertaker of Allentown. She is a 
woman of strong business ability and agreeable personality, and is proving a 
ca])able, efficient manager of a difficult business. She has no children. 



WILLIAM JOHNSTON KRATZ— The forty-five years of Mr. Kratz's 
association with the city of Bethlehem were marked by useful and beneficial 
service in numerous fields of endeavor. He came to the city as a teacher in 
the public schools, and in his after career won position of honorable standing 
in business and in the civic and religious life of Bethlehem. When called 
into the public service as an official of the South Bethlehem borough, he gave 
the best of the sterling qualities that had brought him business success, and 



524 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

throughout a long and active life he was known as a man of high principle, 
broaa public spirit and sound, conservative business judgment. 

William Johnston Kratz was a son of Jesse and Catharine (Heistand) 
Kratz, and a descendant of a Switzerland family that has long been resident 
in Eastern Pennsylvania. He was born at New Britain, near Doylestown, 
Pennsylvania, December 5, 1846, and died in Behlehem, September 27, 1917. 
After attendance at the public schools and the Rev. Dr. Horns' Classical 
School at Ouakertown, he completed his studies at the Millersville State 
Normal Scliool, where he prepared for the teaching profession. In 1872 he 
was appointed to a position in the Bethlehem public schools and after a 
number of years spent in teaching, resigned to accept a position in the 
offices of the Lehigh Valley railroad. He was identified in building and loan 
operations with the late Andrew L. Cope, and for manv- years was treasurer 
of the Industrial Building & Loan Association, aiding in important measure 
in the promotion of home building in his adopted city. In 1900 ^Ir. Kratz 
formed a connection with the Lehigh \'alley Cold Storage Company, and 
until his death, in 1917, served as general manager and superintendent of 
this organization. 

Mr. Kratz was a Republican in political belief, and filled the ofSce of 
treasurer of South Bethlehem borough prior to the consolidation. All public 
works held his interest, and he was an enthusiastic prom.oter of public mar- 
kets, taking an active part in the development of the present excellent 
marketing facilities of Bethlehem. His support of a measure or a move- 
ment meant his earnest, loyal backing, and many worthy causes benefited 
through the enlistment of his aid. His fraternal affiliations were with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of P^-thias. He was a 
communicant of the Lutheran church. He was one of the organizers of St. 
Mark's Church of that denomination, a charter member, for many years 
deacon and member of the Church Council, and a generous contributor to 
the various departments of the church work. 

William J. Kratz married (first), September 23, 1873. Josephine Ritter, 
(second) January 4. 1898. Carrie Cope, daughter of Mahlon and Christiana 
Cope. There were two children of his first marriage : Cora Edith, born 
October 19, 1876. married John Laury, of Allentown. Pennsylvania; and 
Ruth Emma, born January- 10, 1882, married William Laury. of Allentown. 
Of his second marriage there was one daughter, Lucie Elizabeth, born Novem- 
ber 10. 1903. a student in the iloravian Preparatory School. 

HENRY HALLER MITCHELL — Paternally of Scotch-Irish family and 
early American ancestry, ilr. Mitchell, secretary and treasurer of the Gen- 
eral Crushed Stone Cornpany of Easton, Pennsylvania, possesses those quali- 
ties of self-reliance, loyalts^ and uprightness which marked that race to whom 
this countrv owes so much, the Scotch-Irish pioneer. He is a grandson of 
Rev. John '^ilitchell. an early ;Methodist minister of the State of Ohio, sta- 
tioned at :Mount Vernon, in that State, at the ti- ' ' e birth of William 
Mitchell, son of Rev. John and Ann (Ogden) Y. '?. man of versatile 
talents, one of the well known educators of his day. and a veteran ot the 
Civil \\'ar. holding a captain's commission. 

\\'illiam ^Mitchell was born in Mount Vernon. Ohio, in 1829. and died in 
Bismarck. North Dakota, in 1890. He was educated in the public schools, 
academy and college, and prior to the war between the States of the Union, 
vvas a teacher. He enlisted in the war, served as captain of the Ninety-sixth 
Regiment. Ohio \'olunteer Infantrj-, and at its close was honorably dis- 
charged. After the war he returned to Ohio, where he held several positions 
as an instructor of vouth and v.as for a time superintendent of Columbus. 
Ohio, public schools' In 1S80 he removed to the State of North Dakota, 
where he continued his professional career until his death. He located in 
Fargo, and there for a time practiced law, but during nearly his entire life 



BIOGRAPHICAL 525 

he taught in public school and academy. Me ranked very high among the 
educators of his State, and at the time of his death was superintendent of 
public instruction for the State of North Dakota. 

William Mitchell married Catherine Haller, daughter of Henry and Cath- 
erine (Spangler) Haller. Her father was born in NorthamjJton county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1802. Mrs. Catherine ^litchell was born in Union county, 
Pennsylvania, in 1829, but later her parents moved to Mount Vernon, Ohio, 
where she also resided for a time after her marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Mitchell 
were the parents of two sons and a daughter: Charles A., a graduate of 
Harvard University, class of '81, now principal of the Asheville School, at 
Asheville, North Carolina ; Henry Haller, of further mention ; Anna, married 
C. F. Scheinfurth, an architect of Cleveland, Ohio. 

Henry Haller Mitchell, second son of William and Catherme (Haller) 
Mitchell, was born at Mount Vernon, Ohio, August 10, 1859. He prepared 
for college in high school in Cleveland, Ohio, intending to enter Harvard, 
but his plans were overthrown by circumstances, and instead he entered the 
employ of the Merchants' Dispatch & Transportation Company, later enter- 
ing railroad service. In turn he was in the employ of the Big Four and the 
Nickel Plate railwaj' systems in their constructing departments ; with the 
Michigan & Ohio, in the operating department; with the Duluth, South 
Shore & Atlantic, in charge of purchases, leaving the last-named company 
in order to engage in mercantile business on his own account in Marquette, 
Michigan. He continued in Marquette until July, 1890, when he removed 
to New York City. From 1890 until 1898 he was engaged in the iron busi- 
ness as manufacturers' agent, was an official of two producing companies, 
and for a time was located in Cleveland, Ohio. In i8g8 he entered in the 
stone business with office in New York City, there remaining until 1901, when 
he located in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, with the General Crushed Stone 
Company, then of that city. Bethlehem continued the headquarters of the 
company until 191 1, when their general offices were removed to Easton, the 
present home of the compan}-. Air. Mitchell was elected secretary and treas- 
urer in 1902, and still continues in that office, also serving as a director of 
the company and as secretarj-, treasurer and director of the Amies Road 
Company. 

\\'hile he is an active and energetic business man fully meeting all the 
requirements of the positions he holds, Air. Mitchell has not neglected the 
finer side of life, but in club, fraternity and philanthropy manifests his 
interest in the things that are worth while. He has long been interested in 
boy welfare work, and individually in boys themselves. He has sided many 
boys to reach positions in which to develop, expand and prove their worth, 
boys who apparently were without hope, ambition or ability when he offered 
them a helping hand. It was largely through his interest and energy that 
the Boys' Club of Bethlehem was formed, an organization which has done 
much for the boys of that city. For several years, while a resident of Beth- 
lehem. Air. Alitchell was president of that club, but all his life he has had a 
special interest in friendless boys. He is a trustee of St. Luke's Hospital, 
at Bethlehem, chairman of the finance committee of the Trinity Episcopal 
Church of Easton. member of the Rotary. Pomfret and Northampton Coun- 
try clubs, and a charter member of the Bethlehem Club. He is an enthusi- 
astic supporter of the Visiting Nurses' Association, of which he is treasurer, 
and president of Easton Council, Boy Scouts. In his political preference 
he is a Republican. 

Air. Alitchell married, June 17, 1884. Stella Josephine Redington, daugh- 
ter of Joseph A. and Chloe (Lewis) Redington, of Cleveland. Ohio. Her 
father, a pioneer in the iron ore business, owned a line of steamers engaged 
in transporting ore from the Lake Superior mine district to Lake Erie ports. 
Airs. Alitcheir is a talented musician, active in philanthropic work, member 
of the Women's Club, chairman of the membership committee of Easton 



526 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Red Cross Chapter and of the Young Women's Christian Association, and 
for several years was president of the South Bethlehem Children's Home. 

CLARENCE N. ANDREWS — Clarence N. Andrews, general manager and 
managmg editor of the Free Press Publishing Company of Easton, was born 
in Ashboro, North Carolina, July 29, 1856, son of Clinton M. and Ellen M. 
(Butz) Andrews, his mother a daughter of Daniel W. and Elvira (Harnett) 
Butz, of Easton. Clinton M. Andrews, a student at Lafayette College, class 
of 1856, was a colonel in the Confederate Army, and in 1864 received a wound 
in action, from which his death occurred. After the death of her honored 
husband, Mrs. Andrew returned to her Easton home as soon as possible, 
bringing her son, their residence in Easton dating from 1866. 

Clarence N. Andrews, at the age of ten years, began his public school 
attendance, which was continued until 1872, when he was graduated from 
high school and entered Lafayette College. He was graduated from Lafay- 
ette, Ph.B. 1876, and a month later his mother passed away. After leaving 
college, he was for a time in the clerical employ of the Easton National 
Bank, and then began the study of law. That study was abandoned when a 
position as reporter opened to him, and in 1878 he became a member of the 
reportorial staff of the Easton Free Press, and during the more than forty 
years which have since elapsed he has been continuously in the service of that 
publication. 

In 1885, Mr. Andrews and Eugene W. Clifton became partners in the 
ownership of the Free Press, and as Andrews & Cliftbn continued its publication 
until the death of Mr. Clifton, in 1901. Mr. Andrews conducted the paper 
alone until 1893, when the Free Press Publishing Company was organized, 
that company being the owners and publishers from that date until the 
nresent, 1919. In 1904 Mr. Andrews was made general manager and manag- 
ing editor, and during the years which have followed, the Free Press has risen 
to and maintains the leadership among the afternoon papers of the Lehigh 
Valley. In 1898 Mr. Andrews was appointed postmaster of Easton, and for 
four and a half years he held that office. For a number of years he has been 
elder of College" Hill Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Andrews married Jennie O. Neiman, daughter of Daniel H. Neiman, 
of Easton, and they are the parents of five children: Edith, married Rev. 
Edward I. Campbell, of New Hartford, New York ; Marion, married Audley 
L. Mabon, of Indiana, Pennsylvania; Clarence D., sergeant of Company G, 
Three Hundred and Nineteenth Infantry, American Expeditionary Forces; 
leannette N., at home; a daughter, Elizabeth, died in her third year. 



JACOB T. JACOBY — When the Jacoby American ancestor first came to 
America he settled in New Jersey where there are many descendants. A 
branch later came to Pennsylvania, and for several generations Williams 
township in Northampton county has been the family seat. There John P. 
Jacoby, grandfather of Jacob T. Jacoby, chief of Easton's police force, lived 
and died. He was for many years toll-taker at the old Glendon bridge, and 
was a well known character of Williams township until his death at the age 
of eighty-one years. 

John P. was succeeded by his son, John Jacoby, who like his father was 
born, lived and died in Williams township. He died February 12, 1914, aged 
seventy-three years, a farmer during his active life. He married Martha 
Stout, who died March 28, 191 5. aged sixty years. She was born in Flem- 
ington. New Jersey, daughter of Plato and Mathilda Stout. Her father was a 
miller 'who for many years operated the Flemington mill, but later ran the 
Upper Walters mill on the Bushkill in Northampton county, Pennsylvania. 
Tohn and Martha Jacoby were the parents of nine children: Daniel, deceased; 
John; Plato; Jacob Thomas, of whom further; Philip; Fred; Mattie; Charles; 
and one who died in infancy. 






■r'>^. .--KNOX a;,. 
f^N Pf^rrHDATiONS 
L 




CUniliani ^, d^osncr 



BIOGRAPHICAL 5^7 

Jacob Thomas Jacoby, son of John and Martha (Stout) Jacoby, was 
born in Williams township, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, August 30, 
1876. After completing his studies in the public schools, he learned the 
machinist's trade, but he early became an expert ball player, and for years 
was a professional ball player. During his seventeen years as a professional 
player he played in the Atlantic, New York State, Tri State, Texas State, 
Connecticut State and Oil Region leagues, and was rated with' the best of 
those leagues in the position he played. In 1913 he retired from professional 
baseball and secured appointment to the Easton police force as a patrolman. 
Five years later, on April 6, 1918, he was promoted chief, and in that position 
is now serving with credit and efficiency. His promotion has been rapid, but 
based on merit, and the police department reflects the wisdom of his api>oint- 
ment. lie is a member of the McKinlcy Rei)ublican Club, and with his family 
is affiliated with St. John's Lutheran Church. 

Chief Jacoby married, June 20, 1896, Bertha Clay Horn, daughter of 
Frank P. and Mary Horn, of Easton. They are the parents of a son and a 
daughter : Frank Pierce Jacoby, a member of the Easton City Guards, now 
employed with the Ingersoll-Rand Company, of Easton; and Ethel May 
Jacoby, assistant city clerk of Easton. 

WILLIAM HENRY GOSNER— The business monument which William 
H. Cjosncr reared to his mcmovy in South I'.ethlehem, Pennsylvania, is the 
Lehigh Steam Laundry, which he founded, erected an appro])riate home for, 
and successfully conducted until his death. He left no sons to perjjetuate 
his name and continue the business, but he did leave a daughter, who suc- 
ceeded her father as head of the business and still conducts it. William H. 
Gosner was a son of David and Ann (Bachman) Gosner, of old Easton 
families, his father a farmer. 

William Henry Gosner was born in Easton, April 19, 1844, and died in 
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, July 17, 191 1. His mother died when her son was 
but eighteen months of age, and he was taken by a sister of Mr. Gosner's 
father, Polly Fulmer, of Durham township, who tenderly cared for him 
through the" perils of childhood, gave him educational advantages, and with 
her he lived until his marriage in 1866. He was the only child of his parents, 
but his father married a second wife, Mrs. Henry, and they were the parents 
of two sons: Howard and Edward, and of four daughters: Susan, Catherine, 
Amanda and Sarah Gosner. After leaving school, William H. Gosner drove 
a team hauling ore for the Durham Furnace for several years. He then 
moved to Bethlehem, near the Central railroad roundhouse, and there he built 
his first house. In Bethlehem he secured employment with the Bethlehem 
Iron Company as a rail straightener, and continued in the employ of that 
corporation for eighteen years. He was then possessed of sufficient capital 
to carry out a long formed plan, and he left the iron company, moved to 
Allentown, Pennsylvania, and there started a laundry in a small way. He 
remained in the laundry business in Allentown for seven years, amply prov- 
ing to his own satisfaction that he had made a wise choice of a business. He 
was, however, not satisfied with his location, and at the end of seven years 
he sold out and moved to Bethlehem, where he established the Lehigh Steam 
Laundry in a building rented from Mr. Skinner. Later he purchased a site 
and erected thereon the present building, and equipped it with every modern 
machine or aid to perfect laundering on a large scale. He then succeeded 
beyond his hopes, and at the time of his death between fifty and sixty hands, 
two motor trucks and five teams were needed to handle the business. 

Mr. Gosner married, April 14, 1866, Rebecca A. Wilson, who survives 
him. a resident of Bethlehem. Mrs. Gosner is a daughter of David Wilson, 
of Bucks county, Pennsylvania, her father a farmer and hotel-keeper, pro- 
prietor of the Revere Plotel three miles from Ferndale. Mr. and Mrs. Gosner 
were the parents of two children, one who died in infancy, and a daughter 



528 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Anna M., who married Fred W. Bohler, and upon the death of her father 
succeeded him as managing head of the Lehigh Steam Laundry. JMrs. Bohler 
resides with her widowed mother, Mrs. Gosner. She inherits her father's 
strong business talent and is a worthy successor. Mrs. Bohler succeeded to 
the business upon the death of her father in 1919, and h*er son was admitted 
to the business of the estate, and now takes an active part in the business. 
His name is Harrv E. R. Bohler, and his sketch follows. 



HARRY EDWARD RONALD BOHLER— Well known as the energetic 
proprietor of the Lehigh Steam Laundry, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Mr. 
Bohler has v/on many friends by his upright life and devotion to the business 
which he has built up from a small beginning. He is a son of Fred W. Bohler, 
born in Pottsville, Pennsylvania, who since the year 1897 has been residing 
in the Philippines, a construction contractor. Fred W. Bohler married Anna 
M. Gosner, and their only child, Harry E. R. Bohler, is one of the men of 
Bethlehem who have fairly won their way to public regard. 

Harry E. R. Bohler was born in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, August 
3, 1891, and there attended the public schools and IMoravian Preparatory 
School. Later he was a student at Westchester Normal School, then entered 
Bethlehem Preparatory School, finishing his studies there. In 1910 he 
entered the employ of William H. Gosner, proprietor of a laundry in Bethle- 
hem, with whom he remained until death claimed Mr. Gosner, in 1911. Mr. 
Bohler then became manager of the laundry, and so closely has he devoted 
himself to its upbuilding that the business transacted weekly has doubled in 
volume. The Lehigh Steam Laundry is located on New street, Bethlehem, 
South Side, and under its present management is a well equipped, modern 
establishment. Mr. Bohler has always been deeply interested in local mili- 
tary matters. In 1910 he joined the Sons of Veterans' Reserves, and on 
November 12, 1917, enlisted at Fort Slocum, New York; from the Officers' 
Training School at Yaphank, Long Island, he graduated April 16, 1918, and 
was appointed second lieutenant of infantrj'. United States Army; June i, 
T918, transferred to Camp Hancock, Georgia, as instructor in Officers' Train- 
ing School, machine gun division, and discharged December 13. 1918. He is 
also a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

Mr. Bohler married, in Bethlehem, January i, 1914, Flora Elizabeth 
Elliott, born in Bethlehem, March 31, 1892, daughter of James L. Elliott, a 
retired business man and ex-councilman of Bethlehem, South Side, and his 
wife, Agnes (Herman) Elliott, born in Nazareth, Pennsylvania. 



HOWARD D. BEYSHER — Since meeting with the accident which de- 
prived him of a limb, Air. Beysher has engaged in various business enter- 
prises both as an employee and proprietor, his present activity, Beysher's 
Taxi Service, located at No. 405 Broadway, South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, 
being a most prosperous and profitable one. He is a son of Cornelius Beysher, 
who died in September, 1916, aged sixty-six years, a pioneer of South Beth- 
lehem, who at the time of his death had been an invalid for ten years, after a 
life of activity as a contractor. He was a friend of John Fritz, of the 
Bethlehem Steel Company, a Democrat in politics, member of the School 
Board for eight years. Cornelius Beysher married Lucinda Ritter, daughter 
of Nathan Ritter, of Allentown. They were the parents of the following 
children : John W., now in the employ of the Bethlehem Steel Works, mar- 
ried Mamie Wagner, of Salisbury, Pennsylvania, and they are the parents of a 
daughter, Clair; Helen L., married John Tenney ; Howard D., of further 
mention. 

Howard D. Beysher was born in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. February 21, 
1881, and there educated in the public schools. His first position was as clerk 
in the Lerch & Rice department store, there remaining eighteen months 
when, in jumping from a moving train, June 18, 1899, he was so seriously 




:::^a^ c^)6^<:^7^^ 



PUBLIC l.^.....A 



ASTOK, LENOX 

• Lit :, « h-orj^DA 

L 



BIOGRAPHICAL 529 

injured tliat his left leg had to be amputated. After recovering from this 
serious accident he entered the clerical employ of the Lehigh Valley Railroad 
Comiiany, retaining that position four years, resigning to become proprietor of 
the Bellevue Hotel in South Bethlehem, which he had bought. After retiring 
from the mangement of the Bellevue, he spent three years in St. Louis, 
Missouri, as cashier in a manufacturing plant, then returned to Bethlehem. 
He started there the Wyandotte Pressing Club, conducting that enterprise 
four years before instituting Beysher's Taxi Service with the motto "Any- 
time to Anywhere." He has built up the service to a high level of efficiency, 
and has made it an institution of South Bethlehem with which this borough 
would very reluctantly part. He is a man of progressive, energetic nature, 
and whatever he does is well and promptly done. He is a member of Friend- 
ship Fraternal Order and the Loyal Order of Moose, is a Democrat in politics, 
and a member of the Lutheran church. 

Mr. Beysher married, June 21, 1905, at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Lotta 
Bougher, daughter of Martin ^V. and Alice (Zearfaus) Bougher, both living, 
lier father a retired ship chandler of Philadelphia. He has long been active 
ni the Republican party, was city councilman two terms, rei)resented his 
district in the State Legislature. He is now practically retired from public 
life, but has an office in the city department of weights and measures, and 
serves his ward as committeeman. 



JOHN L. SMITH— John L. Smith, proprietor of Smith's Cafe, Centre 
square, I'^aston, succeeded to the ownership of that business in 1913, and has 
developed a well regulated establishment, catering to the general public 
through both bar and dining room. The dining room is large and well patron- 
ized, the management giving especially good service. Mr. Smith was born 
in Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, and was there educated. Until reaching his 
majority he was engaged in farming, then opened a hotel in Schuylkill county, 
where he continued until coming to Easton, in 1900. He is a Democrat in 
politics, belongs to the Jacksonian Club, and to the Benevolent and Protec- 
tive Order of Elks, and has a host of friends. 

Mr. Smith married Eva C. Kuebler, daughter of Joseph 1-CuebIer, of 
Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Smith are members of Christ 
Lutheran Church. 



HENRY SHORT— John Short, of England, came to the United States 
in 1873 with his wife and seven children, finding a home in East Bangor, 
Norfiiampton county, Pennsylvania, where he was engaged in slate ([uarry- 
ing all the remainder of his active years. He and his family were members 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. Children, all of whom came with their 
parents to this country and lived in East Bangor : Sarah, married George H. 
Mutton; Mary A., married Samuel Baker; George, deceased; Alfred, de- 
ceased; Eliza: Hannah T., married George A. Manley; and Henry, of further 
mention. 

Plenry Short, son of John Short, was born in England in IS67, and in 
1873 was brought to East Bangor. Pennsylvania, by his parents. He attended 
public school until reaching a suitable age. then began working in the slate 
quarries with his father. He finally became assistant superintendent, a posi- 
tion he yet holds with the East Bangor Consolidated Slate Company, a cor- 
poration of which he is a director. He has won his way to a leading position 
among the business men of his city, and is highly regarded as citizen and 
business man. He is a director of the First National Bank of Bangor; director 
of the East Bangor Manufacturing Company ; director of the .Slate Belt 
Building & Loan Association : trustee of the Methodist Episcopal church of 
East Bangor ; member of the Knights of the Golden Eagle, No. 183. in which he 
has passed all the chairs, and is past grand of Bangor Lodge No. 661, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellow's. He is a Republican in politics, has served 

N. H. BiOG.— 34 



S30 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

on the School Board for eighteen years, three years in the Common Council, 
and in many minor offices. 

Mr. Short married Minnie Wilson, daughter of William and Susan (Bray) 
Wilson, and they are the parents of six children: Agnes M., born July 31, 
1897, a graduate of the East Bangor High School, class of 1914, of the East 
Stroudsburg State Normal School, and now a teacher in the East Bangor 
public school; Susan A., born March 9, 1900, a graduate of the East Bangor 
High School, class of 1916, and Churchman's Business College, now a stenog- 
rapher in the employ of the East Bangor Consolidated Slate Company; Celia 
W., born May 26, 1902, a graduate of the high school, class of 1919; Natalie J., 
born June 5, 1910; John M., born November 23, 1912; Alvis M., born Septem- 
ber 6, 1915. Mrs. Minnie (Wilson) Short died December 22, 1918. 

WILLIAM HENRY MILCHSACK— One of the most beautiful resi- 
dences in Nazareth, Pennsylvania, is occupied by William Henry Milchsack, 
a retired jewelry merchant. His home stands upon a rising knoll of ground, 
from which well kept lawns roll away in all directions. Hundreds of rare 
trees and shrubberies adorn the extensive grounds, and in the blooming 
season it is the Mecca of lovers of the beautiful in nature. 

Mr. Milchsack is very proud of his Revolutionary ancestr}', and justly 
so, for he springs from fine stock on both the paternal and maternal sides of 
his family. His great-grandfather, George Milchsack, served in the Ameri- 
can army of the Revolution during the troubled days of our War for Inde- 
pendence, in the Sixth Regiment, Pennsylvania Line. His great-great-grand- 
father was Heinrich Beitel, a famous Moravian missionary who for many 
years labored among the Arawack Indians of Berbice, at that time in Dutch 
Guiana, South America. 

The father of Mr. Milchsack was Henry Thomas Milchsack, of Bethle- 
hem, a merchant tailor and later proprietor of hotels at Lake Poponoming, 
Monroe county, Nazareth, and the Bethlehems. His mother was Ellen 
Agusta Beitel, of Nazareth, Pennsylvania. Their son, William Henry, was 
born in Bethlehem, March 28, i860. At the age of six he was sent to the 
Moravian Parochial School in his home town, continuing his studies there 
for eight years. Then he became a student at Nazareth Hall Military Acad- 
emy, at Nazareth, Pennsylvania, remaining there for two years, when he 
graduated in 1876. He is a member of the Nazareth Moravian Congregation. 
Mr. Milchsack was married on October 11, 1900, to Mrs. Mary A. Sproule 
Rankins, in Brooklyn, New York, a daughter of James and Mary Jane DeCue 
Sproule, of Brooklyn Heights, New York. She died July 8, 1907. On Octo- 
ber 3, 1912, at Buffalo. New York, he was married to Mrs. Isabelle Murray 
Reid, of Chicago, daughter of Hugh and Mary Murray, of Buffalo, New 
York. 

While taking no active jjart in ])olitics, Mr. Milchsack is a Republican. 
He is greatly interested in club and historical affairs, being a member of the 
Pennsylvania Society, Sons of the American Revolution; District of Columbia 
Society, Sons of the American Revolution ; the Moravian Historical Society, 
the Northampton County Historical and Genealogical Society, and Easton 
Motor Association. He is vice-president of the Nazareth Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association, and secretary and trustee of Nazareth Hall Military Acad- 
emy of Nazareth, Pennsylvania. 



HARRY W. REICHARD — As general road foreman of engineers with 
the Lehigh Valley railroad, Mr. Reichard is filling a ;)Osition for which his 
years of service in the operating department of the Lehigh fully qualifies 
him. He is a son of Robert T. Reichard, of No. 329 Bushkill street, who is a 
trainman in the Lehigh Valley railroad service, and a grandson of Thomas 
and Augusta Reichard, who were longtime residents of Quakertown, Penn- 
sylvania. Robert T. Reichard was born in Quakertown, and there spent his 



YHE 


•^EW YO*{K 


P'l-';.' 


^ '.'RRARY 


AS'I "n 


:.r:Nf'>. AN LI 


»:LbiK 


rCUKr:AT!CNS 



NEW YufctC 
PUBLIC L1B.RAKY 



APTOR, LF.N'ni 
TiLDEN FOi- 



-J 




MILCHSACK RESIDENCE 



BIOGRAPHICAL 531 

youth. He married Susan Bleam, of the same town, and they arc the parents 
of a son, Harry W. Reichard, of further mention, and a daughter, Ehzabeth, 
wife of Oscar Meeker, of Easton, their only child a son, Robert Meeker. 

Harrj' W. Reichard was born in Quakcrtown, Pennsylvania, December 
25, 1882, but soon after his birth his parents moved to Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania, and there he attended the public schools. Later Easton became the 
family home, and there the lad completed his studies at the age of seventeen 
years. From boyhood he had been in love with railroad life, and when the 
time came to make a choice of business for himself, he sought it with the 
Lehigh Valley railroad. His first position was with the automatic signal 
department of that road, and there he spent three and a half years. Froiri 
that position he was advanced to the position of locomotive fireman of the 
division between Jersey City and Sayre, Pennsylvania. At the end of four 
years in that capacity, he successfully passed a required examination and 
was advanced to the position of locomotive engineer and assigned to a run 
between Jersey City and Mauch Chunk, Pennsylvania. For several years 
he rode upon the right side of the cab, and in the intervals acted as assistant 
road foreman of engines. On August 4, 1918, his faithfulness to duty, his 
ability and his loyalty to the com]Kiny, brought him further promotion, and 
he was appointed to his present important post, general road foreman of 
engines. Mr. Reichard is a member of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engi- 
neers I Firemen's Loyal Protective Association ; Vandeveer Lodge, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows ; and is a Republican in politics, casting his 
first presidential vote for William McKinley. 

Mr. Reichard married, in Easton, September 14, 1910, Helen R. Hall, of 
Allentown, daughter of I^obert J. and Alice Mary (Shrader) Hall. Mr. and 
Mrs. Reichard are the parents of three children: Donald Harrison Hall, 
Kenneth Thomas and Jeanette Shrader. Mrs. I-ieichard is a member of St. 
John's Lutheran Church of Nazareth, Pennsylvania. 



ROBERT BENJAMIN LEWIS— Robert Benjamin Lewis, superintend- 
ent and general manager of the Phoenix Slate Company, Windgap, Penn- 
sylvania, w-as born January 10. 1886, at Fair Haven, Vermont, son of Benja- 
min and Catherine J. (Owens) Lewis. Benjamin Lewis was born in Bethesda, 
North Wales, on Christmas of 1850. His trade was the slate business, but 
for eleven years he was a partner in a mercantile store in Vermont, and since 
that time he has been retired. For a number of years he was treasurer and is 
now a trustee of the Welsh Congregational Church. He is a member of 
the Blue Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, Vermont, and belongs to the 
local Order of Foresters. Catherine J. Lewis, mother of Robert Benjamin 
Lewis, was born in Fair Haven, and is still in active life there. Benjamin 
and Catherine Lewis were the parents of three children: i. Harry B., born 
May 17, 1888, a salesman in Vermont: married Annie Francis of the same 
place. 2. Herbert Owen, born July 8. 1889; a bookkeeper in the plant of his 
brother, Robert Benjamin : married Gwendolan Thomas, of Fair Haven, and 
had two children: Edwin Herbert, born June 26, 1914, and Edith Elizabeth, 
born in December, 1915. 3. Robert Benjamin, of whom further. 

Robert Benjamin Lewis spent the early years of his life in his native 
Fair Haven, and was educated in the public schools there. For a short time 
he attended the high school, until it became necessary for him to leave and 
enter business. Later he completed his education at the Rutland Business 
College, in Rutland. Vermont, and year by year as he went along he strove 
to educate himself further. He began his business career as bookkeeper for 
Durick, Keenan & Company, slate manufacturers. In 1909 he was offered 
and accepted a similar position with his present concern, being promoted to 
his present important position in 1914. His father and grandfather were in 
the same business, so Robert B. Lewis was cradled in the trade of the slate 
quarry. In business he was very aggressive and active, as his success has 



532 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

sliown, and socially he is worthily popular. In politics he is a Republican, 
but has never aspired to office. He is a member of the Congregational church. 
At Utica, New York, July 19, 191 1, Robert Benjamin Lewis married 
Grace Alice Roberts, daughter of Isaac and Elizabeth (Jones) Roberts, of 
Utica, New York. She is a graduate of Utica Academy and the Teachers' 
Training School, and for several years was herself a teacher. Mr. and Mrs. 
Robert B. Lewis are the parents of two children: Miriam Elizabeth, born 
July 26, 1914; and Esther Catherine, born September 28, 1916. 



DAVID BURKE — In the year 1891, Air. Burke came to Bangor, Penn- 
sylvania, a young man of twenty-one years. Twenty-seven years have since 
intervened, and he has, during that period, won the regard and respect of his 
fellow men. When in 1914 a Democratic postmaster was to be appointed 
by President W'ilson, Mr. Burke was strongly endorsed for the position, and 
on May i, 1914, was duly commissioned and assumed tlie duties of the office, 
which he yet holds. He is the youngest son of Patrick Burke, born in Ire- 
land, who came to the United States in i860, and settled in Fair Haven, 
Vermont, where he died December 12, 1873. He married Annie Fitzpatrick, 
also born in Ireland, who came to the United States in 1856. They were 
the parents of five children: Catherine, married John Ryan, of Vermont; 
Mary, who died in 1906; Nellie, who married John Foley, of Fair Haven, 
\^ermont; Teresa, married Michael Bird, of Fair Haven; David, of further 
mention. 

David Burke was born in Fair Haven, Vermont, November 19, 1870, and 
there spent his youth, acquiring his education in the local schools. He was 
variously employed during his minor years, but in 1891 came to Bangor, in 
Northampton county, Pennsylvania, where he at once engaged in the struc- 
tural slate business. He continued in that business very successfully, but 
since May i, 1914, has been postmaster of Bangor. He is a member of the 
Roman Catholic church and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
of Bangor, and in his political faith is a Democrat. 

Mr. Burke married, in 1907, Carrie Heller, daughter of Aaron and Emma 
(Gruver) Heller. 

HENRY CLAY HOOVER— Henry C. Hoover, manager of the F. W. 
Woolworth store in Easton, Pennsylvania, was born in Lancaster, Pennsyl- 
vania, September 26, 1874, son of Henry C. and Violet (Trewitz) Hoover. 
His father, Henry C. Hoover, was long engaged in coach building, retiring 
in 1898, and is now residing with his son, Henry C. (2), in Easton. His wife, 
Violet, died in January, 1902, in Easton. Both were members of the Protes- 
tant Episcopal church and they were the parents of six children : John, 
deceased; William, a resident of Lancaster, Pennsylvania; Henry C, of fur- 
ther mention ; Alfred, manager of the Woolworth Five and Ten Cent Store 
in Camden, New Jersey. Two other children died in infancy. 

Henry C. Hoover spent his school years in the Lancaster public school 
until reaching the age of twelve, when he entered the employ of the Wool- 
worth Five and Ten Cent Store in Lancaster, and from that year, 1886, he 
has been continuously in the employ of that famed organization, the F. W. 
Woolworth Company. Seven years later, at the age of nineteen, he was 
made manager of the Lancaster store, and on February 2t, 1890. he located 
in Easton as manager of the Woolworth store in that city. \\'hen he first 
entered the Easton store he found it occupying a room 26 by 40 feet, the 
present room is 52 by no feet, and so firmly and well has he built up the 
business that the Easton store is one of the finest in the immense chain of 
Woolworth stores. His life service to the company has left him an employee, 
but he is one of the heavy stockholders of the company, and he gives execu- 
tive attention to company affairs. 

Mr. Hoover is a member of Dallas Lodge, Free and Accepted Masons; 




,:::f7y^/<=^-c, 




(Ttn^^Ay, 



1 rbih; .wiiW Yij*K 
' P'PUJC LIBRARY 



A.STfK, -KiNTX ANB 
TlLDiiN FOUKDATtONS 



c 



BIOGRAPHICAL 533 

Easton Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; Pomp Council, Royal and Select Mas- 
ters ; De Payen Commandery, Knights Templar ; Rajah Temple, Ancient 
Arabic Order Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and is a thirty-second degree 
member of Bloonisburg Consistory, Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite. He is 
also a member of the Tall Cedars of Lebanon, Pomfret Club, Rotary Club, 
Automobile Club, and of Grace Reformed Church. 

Mr. Hoover married, February 14, 1899, Bertha Mariner, daughter of 
Tobias Mariner. 'Hie Hoover home is at No. 144;^ Washington street, Easton, 
their summer home at Lake Hopatcong. 

Mr. Hoover enjoyed the close friendship and entire confidence of his 
v:hicf, Frank W. W'oolworth, now deceased, who made him a store manager 
while he lacked two years of being of legal age, being the youngest man 
ever made manager of a Woolworth store. He now has attained the opposite 
extreme, and is the oldest manager of a Woolworth store in point of years 
of service. He is a man of strong business ability, combined with a pleasing 
personality, and has a host of friends. 

ROBERT ASHER SCHAEFFER— Robert Ashcr Schaeffer, a partner in 
the L. W. Strock Company, of Rethlehem, Pennsylvania, was born March 26, 
1876. in the township of Moore, Northampton county, Pennsylvania. He is a 
son of Peter T. and Christiana (Bicchy) Schaeffer, neither of whom are now 
living. Peter T. Schacfifer was a farmer in his native Moore township until 
his retirement several years before his death, which occurred in March, 191 5. 
He was a member of the United Brethren. His wife, Christiana (Biechy) 
Schaeffer, mother of Robert Asher Schaeffer, was a daughter of Reuben and 
Mary ( Heine) Biechy. She died in i8g6, leaving three children, viz. : Ellen, wife 
of Harry Smith, a slater, of Pen Argyl, and they have eight children ; Martha, 
wife of Thomas Fehnel, a farmer in Bushkill Park, and they are the parents 
of three children ; Lizzie, wife of Harvey Bass, a farmer of Schoenersville, 
and they have five children. 

Robert A. Schaeffer is a self-made man; truly so, in every sense of the 
word. He received a thorough fundamental education in the public schools 
of Moore township, and at the age of fourteen years he became a clerk in a 
rural grocery store, continuing in that position for five years. A youth of 
nineteen, he then became transfer man in the freight depot of the Central 
railroad, and was soon transferred to car clerk, which office he occupied for 
five years. In 1900 he entered the employ of the L. W. Strock Company, and 
thirteen years later he advanced himself to a partnership in that concern, an 
office which he is now holding. 

Mr. Schaeffer is a member of the Blue Lodge of the Free and Accepted 
Masons, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and belongs also to the 
Patriots of America. On December 7, 1918, Mr. Schaeffer became a member 
of the Caldwell Consistory. He is, therefore, a thirty-second degree Mason. 
He is a member of the Moravian church, and serves on the board of trustees 
of that church. 

Mr. Schaeffer married, October 19, 1899, Lizzie J. Reinhard, daughter of 
Jeremiah D. and Elizabeth (Jacobs) Reinhard, of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. 
Jeremiah D. Reinhard was a stone cutter, and died in 1900, followed by his 
wife in 1905. Robert A. and Lizzie J. Schaeffer have two children : Hilda 
May, born May 10, 1900, a graduate of the public high school in 1917, now a 
stenographer for the Weston Dodson Company ; and Harry Joseph, born 
June I, 1903. 

HERBERT FRANKLIN JONES— Although Mr. Jones had no previous 
training for the business which he has conducted in Windgap since 1913, that 
fact has not operated against his success, and the pioneer garage which he 
opened in the year named has had a most prosperous career. He is a son of 
Joseph Amandus Jones, of Pennsylvania German descent, a quarryman still 



534 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

actively employed at his business. lie married Ellen Rebecca Gum, and they 
were the parents of five children, three of whom are living: Emma, wife of 
Heber Parsons Slater, of Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania; Pearl, wife of Clarence 
Repsher, a machinist; and Herbert Franklin, of further mention. 

Herbert Franklin Jones was born in Plainfield township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, July 8, 1880, and there was educated in the public 
schools. He began his business career as clerk in a country general store, so 
continuing for ten years. In 1913 he opened the pioneer garage in Windgap, 
an enterprise which has proved such a success that Mr. Jones still continues 
its owner and head. The garage, 30 by 120 feet, accommodates thirty-five 
cars, and in connection therewith Mr. Jones has a repair shop, also a full 
line of automobile accessories on sale. A Republican in politics, ]Mr. Jones 
gives little attention to public afJairs, but is entirely devoted to his business 
interests. In religious faith he is a Lutheran. 

Mr. Jones married. May 12, 1906, Eva Reinhart, of Albertus, Pennsyl- 
vania, daughter of Lesher and Laura (Reinhart) Reinhart. 



GEORGE SALTIS— In the town of Tilcik, County of Saros, Hungary, 
near the Galician border, George Saltis, now of South Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania, was born September 28, 1885. He was the son of John and Anna 
(Thomas) Saltis. His father was a farmer of Saros count3^ There George 
Saltis lived until eighteen years of age, attending school and assisting his 
father in farm work. In 1903 he left home to come to the United States, 
where a brother had been killed in the coal mines at Hazelton, Pennsylvania, 
in 1896. Other members of the family besides John had come to the United 
States, and all are now living in Bethlehem : Mary, married John Bucks ; 
Stephen ; Linden, married Anna Schmidt. Upon coming to the United States, 
George Saltis stopped for a time in New York City, but his brother Stephen 
and sister Mary were living in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and there he 
soon joined them. He was a very homesick boy for the first month, and had 
he been possessed of the means, there is little doubt but that he would have 
returned to his home in the Old World. 

His first work was with the Bethlehem Steel Company in the building 
department, where he remained eighteen months. He then left the mill, and 
for about five years was associated with his brother Stephen, who was pro- 
prietor of a meat market, garage and rendering plant. Fle is one of the 
prominent men of his nationality in Bethlehem, and has accumulated a con- 
siderable landed estate in addition to his business. He is a member of Beth- 
lehem Chamber of Commerce ; president of the Slavic Political Club ; presi- 
dent of Slavic Hall Association; member of the Church of the Sacred Heart; 
St. Stephen's Society; St. Peter's Society; Cirjd and Methodius Union Socor, 
and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

Mr. Saltis married Anna Shego, born in Austria-Hungary, a daughter of 
John and Anna (Hudy) Shego. They were the parents of four children: 
John, Rosa, George and Stephen. 



HENRY ZIEGENHORN— .^11 his years, from childhood to the time of 
his death, were spent in Easton. Pennsylvania, and nearly all those years he 
was engaged in merchant tailoring, he becoming an expert cutter and artistic 
designer. He was a son of Julius and Charlotte (Kasten) Ziegenhorn, both 
horn in Germany and there marrying. A little later they came to the United 
States, Julius then being twenty years of age and an experienced tailor. 
They located in Easton, where Mr. Ziegenhorn conducted a successful tailor- 
ing business and instructed his son in the business to which he finally suc- 
ceeded. He was one of the early business men of later Easton, and was 
highly regarded and respected. They were the parents of four daughters 
and a son Henry. 

Henry Ziegenhorn was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, May 28, 1855, and 




i^tnrp Zitc^tnlmn 



Tiii-: 


NEV; '«»K 


PIJ'^'J 


^ MBRARY 


ASTdK 


l^EN'Oi 


TILDEN 


FOLTKT' 



BIOGRAPHICAL 535 

there died September i8, 1908, a successful merchant and esteemed citizen. 
He wuis educated in the graded and high schools of the city, finishing at 
Trach Academy. His father was one of the well known merchant tailors 
of Easton, his shop being just south of the entrance of the Easton Trust 
Company. He learned the cutter's trade after deciding to make tailormg 
his life w(n-k, and he went to New York City, there completing his instruc- 
tion in cutting and designing under capable instructors. He was associated 
with his father in business until the hitter's death in 1881, then succeeded 
him, and until his own death in 1908 was head of a large and prosperous 
business. The old location was abandoned for a roomier location, Nos. 119- 
121 South Third street, and later he bought the property at No. 103 South 
Third street, to which he removed. There he continued in business the 
remainder of his life, which ended in its prime, he being but fifty-three years 
when his final summons came. He was a good business man, high principled 
and upright, demanding from and giving every man his just due. He took 
no part in iiolitical alTairs, but was devoted to his home and there found his 
great hajipiness. 

He was a member of the Masonic order, holding all degrees of the York 
Rite, including the Knight Templar degree, was a noble of the Mystic Shrine 
and a member of the Heptasophs. ile was a devoted member of Christ 
Lutheran Church, aiding liberally in church and charitable work. He con- 
fined himself closely to his own business, but made an exception in favor of 
real estate investments, and became the owner of several parcels of improved 
property, which he held for renting purpose, his tenants finding him a con- 
siderate and just landlord. Thus he went through life, meeting his obliga- 
tions as business man and citizen promptly and to the full. He was highly 
esteemed by all who knew him, and his acquaintance was very extensive. 

Mr. Ziegenhorn married, in Easton, Pennsylvania, October 3, 1880, the 
pastor of the Zion Lutheran Church officiating, Mary Kinney, born in Easton, 
October 29, 1859. She was educated in the public schools of Easton and 
Bethlehem Moravian Seminary, and is yet a resident of the city of her birth, 
her home at No. 214 Ferry street. Mr. and Mrs. Ziegenhorn were the par- 
ents of three daughters and two sons : Bessie, a graduate of Easton High 
School, class of 1910, and later for one year a teacher; Esther, married W. S. 
Mitman, of Easton, one of the instructors at the Easton High School; Ruth, 
married F. R. Kemmerer, of Easton, connected with the Easton Trust Com- 
pany ; Karl Albert, who succeeded his father in business, and was connected 
with the quartermaster department of the United States Army, stationed 
at Camp Lee, Virginia; William Hardy, a graduate of Easton High School, 
class of 1910, and of Pierce Business College, Philadelphia, now city sales 
manager with the Philadelphia Bag Company, married May HofTmier, of 
Easton, and they have a son, Karl Henry. 

Mrs. Mary (Kinney) Ziegenhorn is a daughter of Dr. William Hardy 
Kinney, who was born in Harmony, New Jersey, in 1837. and died in Denver. 
Colorado, in July, 1909. He was a son of John and Mary (Hardy) Kinney, 
of New Jersey. Dr. Kinney was a man of brilliant mind and scholarly 
attainment, broad in vision, correctly foreseeing coming events and decidedly 
of an inventive genius. He grew up at Harmony, and for several winters he 
walked the seven miles which lay between his home and the school which he 
attended in Phillipsburg. As he grew older his father gave him the use of a 
horse to bring him to school, and after completing his own studies he became 
a teacher. Later deciding upon the medical profession, he entered Jefferson 
Medical College, Philadelphia, and after receiving his M.D. located in Easton. 
where he practiced his profession and maintained a drug business on Third 
street. When the Civil War broke out he enlisted in the Union Army, but 
was assigned to duty as assistant surgeon of the Naval Hospital at New 
Orleans, when that city came into the hands of the Union forces. He served 
imtil the war closed, then returned to Easton, where he resumed his drug 



536 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

business. He rendered further public service in the treasury department at 
Washington, District of Columbia ; and as assistant postmaster at Easton. 
under James Alingle, postmaster. He spoke seven languages fluently, was a 
capable short-hand writer, one of the earliest to master stenography and 
telegraphy in Easton. He was a popular physician, and after closing out his 
practice and drug business in Easton, he accepted a position as purser and 
surgeon with the Garrison Line, running steamers between New York to 
Rio Janeiro, Brazil, South America. Later he filled a similar position with 
the ilallory Steamship Company. Finally he gave up the sea and became 
interested in gold mine investments, locating in Denver, Colorado, also act- 
ing as claim agent for the Denver & Rio Grande railroad. He was a member 
of the Presbyterian church, a member of the Masonic order, aiding in organ- 
izing one of the Easton lodges and becoming a charter member. He was an 
ardent lifelong Democrat, and in all things upright and honorable. 

Dr. Kinney married, in Easton, Catherine Caroline Menus, born in Easton 
in 1833, daughter of Helfrich and Elizabeth (Limeburner) Mebus, her par- 
ents born in Germany, her father bourghmaster of Marburg. After coming 
to the United States, Helfrich Mebus engaged in the shoe business in Easton, 
and there died. He was well known and highly respected. Dr. and ]Mrs. 
Kinney were the parents of three daughters and three sons : Mary, now 
widow of Henrj' Ziegenhorn, and residing in Easton, a highly esteemed ladj- ; 
William, a resident of Buffalo, New York; Louise, married Frank Brotzman, 
of California ; Frank, of Rochester. New York ; Kate, married Kenneth An- 
drews, of Denver, Colorado; Russell, a resident of New Orleans, Louisiana. 



ALBERT E. ANDERSON— Now chief of the fire fighting forces of his 
native city. Chief Anderson is daily proving the wisdom of his selection and 
appointment. He is a son of William and Emma (Kyle) Anderson, of 
South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and a grandson of Peter Anderson, a sea- 
man and a veteran of the Civil War, serving in the Navy. William Anderson 
also served for two years in the United States Navy during the Civil War. 

Albert E. Anderson was born in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, June 
18, 1878, and there was educated in the public schools. After completing his 
school years he entered the clerical employ of the Lehigh Vallc} Railroad 
Company, and for twenty-two years continued in that service at the main 
office ; and each jxar brought him increased responsibilities. He resigned 
his position in 1915, and for nineteen months was in the emplo}- of the Beth- 
lehem Steel Company. Then again he resigned, having been appointed by 
Mayor Johnston, chief of the Bethlehem Fire Department. The appoint- 
ment was made January 7, 1918. he having been a member of the Fire Depart- 
ment of the city since 1900. 

Chief Anderson is a member of the Keystone Fire Chiefs' Association : 
Pennsylvania State Firemen's Association ; the Four County Fire Associa- 
tion : the Knights of Pythias; and the Church of the Nativity; his political 
bias. Republican. He married in 1904, May Folke, of McClure, Pennsylvania. 



HAROLD S. VANNATTA— As treasurer of the Ashton Casket Com- 
pany, iVIr. Vannatta is associated officially with the corporation founded upon 
the business which he served in a clerical capacity while it was still under 
the control of Frank Ashton, as a firm. The business, however, dates much 
farther back, having been established by William Keller, who conducted it 
under his own name. He was succeeded by Frank Ashton, who continued 
its head until 1908, when he reorganized and incorporated as the Ashton 
Casket Company, of Easton. The present officials are: W. K. Spangen- 
berg, president ; H. S. Vannatta. secretary-treasurer and general manager. 
The company is capitalized at S75.000 and transacts a large business in East- 
ern Pennsylvania and New Jersey, as manufacturers of caskets and under- 



BIOGRAPHICAL 537 

taker's supi)lies. The plant of the company is located at Bank and Pine 
streets, Easton, where, for thirty-five years, the same business has flourished 
under capable manas^ement. 

Harold S.. Vannatla is a son of hrank and a fjrandson of Aaron Yannalta, 
blacksmiths of Lower Mt. Bethel township, Northampton county, Penn- 
sylvania, the father now, 1919, living a retired life at Martins Creek in the 
same county. I'Vank X'annatta learned the blacksmith's trade with his 
father, and for half a century followed that trade, owning his own shop. He 
married Belle Best, now also residing at Martins Creek, and they were the 
parents of two children, of whom Harold S. is the only living child. Air. 
and Mrs. Vannatta are memljcrs of the Lutheran church. 

Harold S. Vannatta was born in Northamjnon county, Pennsylvania, 
November iC, 1872. After completing a public school education, he entered 
business life as clerk in Rader's store in Easton, there remaining several 
years. His next position was with the Stewart wholesale dry goods store, 
he continuing in that employ until 1899, when he entered the employ of 
Frank Ashton, a manufacturer of caskets and undertakers' su]iplies, as book- 
keeper. He continued in that capacit)' until 1908, when he became one of 
the incorporators of the Ashton Casket Comjjan}-, was elected secretary- 
treasurer, and ai^pointed general manager of the company. Ten \ ears have 
since elapsed and he has proven the w'isdom of the selection, this business 
having prospered under his managing care. 

He is a member and a past master of Dallas Lodge, No. 396, Free and 
Accepted Masons of Easton ; is a companion and present scribe of Easton 
Clia])ter, No. 173, Royal Arch Masons ; member and principal conductor of 
Pomp Council, No. 20, Royal and Select Masters; a sir knight and general- 
issimo of Hugh de Payen Commandery, Knights Templar; and a noble of 
Rajah Temple, Nobles of the Mystic Shrine ; all Easton bodies except the 
last named, which is located at Reading, Pennsylvania. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Sons of Veterans through the military service of his father, a vet- 
eran of the Union Army. 

Mr. Vannatta married in 1890, Lizzie, daughter of Samuel Hutchinson, 
of Martins Creek, Pennsylvania. The family home is No. 1013 Bushkill 
street. Easton, Pennsylvania. Both Mr. and Mrs. Vannatta are members of 
St. Mark's Lutheran Church. 



SAMUEL H. MOSER — A prosperous manufacturer and dealer in 
candies, in Easton, Pennsylvania, Mr. Moser can review his life with satis- 
faction, for he left home at the age of fourteen years with no capital but 
courage and determination to succeed. This he has done, and he can truly 
claim to have been the architect of his own fortunes. His father, William 
Moser, of Belfast, Northampton county, Pennsylvania, was a mason by 
trade, also a landowner and farmer. He was a member of the Lutheran 
church, as was his wife, Catherine (Diehl) Moser. both passing their lives 
in Belfast section of Northampton county. They were the parents of two 
daughters and five sons : Maria, Louisa. Levi, William, Josiah, Isaac, and 
Samuel H. 

Samuel H. Moser, son of William and Catherine (Diehl) Moser. was 
born at Belfast. Northampton county, Pennsylvania, and atten-'ed the public 
schools of Belfast until fourteen years of age. He then left home without 
money, but quickly found employment, working first in a brick yard and 
later in a steel mill. Soon, however, he found more suitable employment, 
and for twelve years he was in the employ of Mr. Abel, the famous candy 
maker of Easton, who taught him candy making in all its forms, and in- 
structed him in business methods. About 1902. Mr. Moser entered into a 
partnership with John Steel, and for four years they engaged in the candy 
business as a firni. Mr. Moser, in 1904, bought his partner's interest, and 



538 NORTHAMPTOX COUNTY 

has since been in business alone as a candy manufacturer and wholesale and 
retail dealer in candies. He has built up a large business, his salesmen 
covering Eastern Pennsylvania and New Jerse}', on their regular trips. He 
is a member of the Odd Fellows, Red Men, Senior Order of Mechanics, 
Knights of the Golden Eagle, and Junior Order of ^Mechanics. 

Mr. Moser married Amy Margaret Unaugst, and they are the parents 
of three children: Milton R., born in Easton, 1892; Clyde E., born in 
Easton, 1895 ; Hilda B., born in Easton, 1897. All these children were edu- 
cated in the public and high schools of Easton. Mr. and Airs. Moser are 
members of the Lutheran church. 



WILSON E. BECK, sccretarj- of the Farmers' Union Mutual Fire In- 
surance Company of Pennsylvania, and a well regarded resident of Nazareth, 
belongs to one of the old Northampton county families, and has had connec- 
tion with the town of Nazareth for at least three generations. The grand 
ancester of the Beck family of Nazareth first came to Northampton county 
in 1751, settling for a time in Bethlehem, but eventually removed to Nazareth, 
where the family has since remained, and each generation has been of some 
prominence in the affairs of the town. The children of the earlier genera- 
tions were many, and the branches of the family spread to parts of the 
States of Pennsylvania, Illinois, Michigan and Kansas. The name appears 
on many town records, the local histories of settlements and counties of 
Penns} Ivania, et al., but the information is not sufficiently complete to enable 
the present chronicler to connect and place in proper authoritative genealogical 
order for this writing. (See genealogical table compiled by Miss Clara A. 
Beck, Norristown, Pennsylvania.) 

Wilson E. Beck, of Nazareth, was born in Nazareth, Pennsylvania. Octo- 
ber 9, 1858, the son of Jacob H. and Lydia A. (Nolf) Beck, and grandson of 
Jacob F. Beck, all of Nazareth. In the early j'ears of the family's associa- 
tion with Northampton county and with Nazareth, the branch to which this 
article directly belongs were butchers, makers and brewers, an industry cus- 
tomarih' followed in those days by leading families in country districts, the 
practice arising probably out of the recognition that hospitality and cheer 
were expected of them by passing travelers. Jacob F. Beck was a butcher 
maker and brewer; so also was his son, Jacob H., who was born in Nazareth, 
June 26, 1829, and died in that place December 22, 1901. Immediately prior 
to the Civil War, the butchering, malting and brewing business conducted by 
the Beck family w^as discontinued. During the period of the war he 
served as Assistant Internal Revenue Collector for Northampton county, 
and subsequently was almost continuously in public office. He was respected 
in Nazareth, and throughout Northampton county, for thirty-five years, he 
was a justice of the peace, a suft'iciently clear indication of his honorable 
standing among the people of his district. For twelve years prior to his 
death he was secretary of the Farmers' Union iMutual Fire Insurance Com- 
pany' ; and for many years he served as secretary and treasurer of the board 
of trustees of the Moravian Church, in the affairs of which he took earnest 
and active interest. 

His son, Wilson E., succeeded him to the secretaryship of the Fire In- 
surance Company at his death ; for tv^-o years prior to that, Wilson E. Beck 
had official connection with the company, having been treasurer and assist- 
ant secretarv since 1900. Wilson E. Beck has interested himself actively 
in public affairs sufficiently to consent to take public office. He was elected 
to the Board of County Commissioners, and as a conscientious man of sin- 
cere interest in the welfare of the county and town in which he was born 
and the history of which his family had so long a connection, he had certain 
definite ideas as to what projects would bring improvement to the district. 




Jky0^^, 



PUB LI 



BRARY 



astoh. lkncx and 



BIOGRAPHICAL 539 

but he discovered that the board was coiKkicted on the principle of party 
politics before civic interest, so that most of his plans for iniblic improve- 
ments were rendered impossible of consummation because of the opposition 
that met his proposals from the other members of the board. Conscciuently, 
at the end of his term as county commissioner, he felt that he would not 
ag'ain take public office under similar conditions, which stultified individual 
ctt'ort. 

Mr. Beck has for many years been prominently identified with Masonic 
bodies; he was initiated into Masonry in Kaston Lodge, No. 152, and was 
one of the founders of Whiteficld Lodfje, No. 622, at Nazareth, and for ei.e^ht 
years was its secretary. He has ]nissed through most q( the Masonic bodies, 
including' the Council, Cha[)ter, Commandcry, and is a life member of Cald- 
well Consistory at Bloomsburg, and a member of Lu Lu Shrine at Phila- 
delphia. 

In 1897 Mr. Beck was married to Mary A. Eck, of Alburtis, Lehigh 
county, Pennsylvania. They, however, have no children. 



GEORGE ELLIOTT TURNER— Like many other farmer boys in 
regions traversed by trunk line railroads, George E. Turner entered railroad 
service, believing that to be the surest and quickest way to break awav from 
the farm and reach a good position in the world outside. That he has suc- 
ceeded in his boyhood plans and desires is proven by the responsible position 
he holds, chief engineer of the Pennsylvania Utilities Company, with head- 
quarters at Easton, Pennsylvania, a city which has been his home since 
1912. He is of English descent, his grandfather, George Washington Turner, 
born in Virginia, coming North when a boy and settling in Chemung county. 
New York State. lie married a Miss Clark, of Irish descent, and they were 
the parents of six children: George Washington (2),, father of George E. 
Turner, of Easton ; Joseph R., Martha, Susan, Catherine^ and Tempy. 

George Washington (2) Turner was born in Chemung county. New 
York, where he engaged in farming until forty-five years of age, then became 
a hotel proprietor, and is now living retired in the city of Elmira, New York. 
He marrietl Mar\- Ellen Griggs, of Chemung county. New York, daughter of 
Elliott and Ellen Griggs. Mr. and Mrs. Turner were the parents of eight 
children : Adelaide, married Robert Boeitker, of Elmira, New York ; Mabel, 
married W. R. Smith, of San Francisco, California; George Elliott, of fur- 
ther mention; Elias R., of Elmira, New York, married Sarah Updike; Joseph 
R. ; Jennie Updike; David B., now an enlisted soldier, serving with the 
United States Marines; and Catherine A. 

George Elliott Turner, eldest son of George Washington (2) and Mary 
Ellen (Griggs) Turner, was born in the village of Jericho, Chemung county. 
New York. April 5, 1880, and there spent his youth, attending the district 
schools and helping on the farm. He left school at the age of fourteen, and 
during the next four years continued a farm worker, then at the age of 
eighteen started out to make his way in the world. He secured a position 
with the Lehigh Valley Railroad in the department of signals between Sayre, 
PennsAdvania, and Buffalo, New York, and for two }ears was in that employ, 
then for one year worked on a farm near Rochester, New York. From the 
farm he went to Elmira, New York, and for three years was there employed 
by the Street Car Company, in different capacities, in the car barn, as motor- 
man, conductor, and general repairman. For the next two years he was 
with the same company as electric light lineman, then was advanced to 
the position of general foreman at Elmira, holding that post for three years. 
From Elmira he went to Ncwburgh. New York, as construction foreman of 
a transmission line of the Central Hudson Gas & Electric Company, remain- 
ing there one vear. He spent the next eight months at Fitcliburg, Massa- 
chusetts, as chief patrolman of the Connecticut River Transmission Com- 



540 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

pany, then returned to the Central Hudson Gas & Electric Company at New- 
burg, remaining with that company as foreman of construction until 1912, 
in which year he became foreman of transmission and construction for the 
Pennsylvania Utilities Company, holding this until October, 1917, when 
he was promoted to the post of chief engineer, which he is now most efficient- 
ly filling. He has literally worked his way upward from the bottom of the 
ladder of success, and by sheer merit and worth has thus far ascended. He 
has come far for so young a man, and for him the future holds brilliant 
promise. He is a member of the Presbyterian church, is an ardent Demo- 
crat, holds fraternal membership in the Loyal Order of Moose, Lodge No. 
145: the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 121; Knights 
of Pythias, Manor Lodge; Noble Order of Equines Stable, No. i ; all Easton 
bodies of which Mr. Turner is a popular member. 

Mr. Turner married, in Elmira, New York, June 8, 1903, Elizabeth 
Brown, daughter of Mrs. Catherine (Brown) Lovejoy, of Elmira. 



PAUL TRUMBOWER— Paul Trumbower, who is the owner of a spa- 
cious and well equipped up-to-date garage in Hellertown, Pennsylvania, and 
is rapidly developing a substantial automobile business throughout North- 
ampton county for the "Dodge" car in which he specializes, comes of one 
of the pioneer families of Bucks county, Pennsylvania. PI is father was jus- 
tice of the peace in Bucks county for twenty-five years, and his grandfather 
held like office in the same county for forty-seven years. 

Paul Trumbower was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, April 2, 
1891, the son of Aaron R. Trumbower, and grandson of Henry T. Trum- 
bower, all of Bucks county, in the early history of which the family has promi- 
nent place. Henry T. Trumbower followed agriculture, tilling the ancestral 
acres. Pie was a man of strong character and undeviating uprightness, and 
held the respect of the community to such an extent that for forty-seven years 
he held the responsible post of justice of the peace. His son, Aaron R. Trum- 
bower, father of Paul Trumbower, was born May 27, 1857, and to an extent 
in early life followed agricultural pursuits. He is still alive, and has for manj" 
years been actively engaged in substantial lumber business. He also is partner 
with his son in the automobile enterprise now being developed. For twenty- 
five years Aaron R. Trumbower was justice of the peace in Bucks count}', and 
took a prominent part in the local activities of the Democratic party. 

Paul Trumbower was given a very good education, starting in the pub- 
lic school, and continuing in the high school, after graduating from which 
he took the collegiate course at Perkwaen Seminary. Entering industrial 
life, he served an apprenticeship of four years as machinist in the shops of 
the Bethlehem Steel Company. For eighteen months he was manager 
of the Ouakertown & Delaware River Railroad. In 191 5, attracted by the 
prospects of success in the automobile field, he bought the garage he now 
operates from S. L. Stevens. It is a splendid building of brick, two stories 
high, one hundred and thirty by forty-two feet, and is equipped wjth up-to- 
date tools, so that all repair work may be expeditiously executed. And the 
garage, which has capacity for twenty-five cars, is also used by Mr. Trum- 
bower in his new car business, he being the local representative for the 
"Dodge" car. Mr. Trumbower is an optimistic, active and aggressive man 
of business, and is succeeding well. His father also is interested in the auto- 
mobile business, although obviously at his age he could not be expected to 
take as aggressive a part in the business as does the younger partner. How- 
ever, between them, quite a promising business has been established. Paul 
Trumbower is. like his father, a Democrat, but he does not appear to have 
taken active part in politics. He has held no office, and probably finds that 
the demands of his own business take most of his time. Religiouslv, Mr. 
Trumbower is a Lutheran, and a supporter of the local church. Frater- 



THE NEV/ y^,,: 
PfJBLIC LKJKAKY 



ASTOR, I.EMOX AND 
WLDEN KOUNDaTL 



J 




Cl>irlcs ^. porter 



RIOGRAPHICAL 541 

nally, he is identified with the Ancient Order of Free and Accei)ted Masons, 
being a member of Saucon Lodge, No. 469. He also belongs to the Local 
Lodge of Modern Woodmen. 

On June 21, 1915, Paul Trumbower married Lottie, daughter of Titus 
and Mary Ruch, of Hellertown, a well known family of that place, whose 
record has been already written for inclusion elsewhere in tliis volume. Mr. 
and Mrs. Trumbower have one child, Titus, who was born March 28, 1917, at 
1 lellertown. 



ADOLPH FISCHER— Among the newcomers of Easton's florists, 
Adol]ih I'ischcr brought expert skill and knowledge to his American busi- 
ness, having been trained under the direction of his father, a leading florist. 
The Fischer establishment at Easton includes 35,000 square feet under glass 
at the greenhouses on Twenty-fourth street and Raler avenue, and a store 
for the sale of plants and cut flowers a No. 5 Center square. Adolph I'"ischcr, 
son of Conrad and Augusta (Pioeck) Fischer, was born at Pirna, on the river 
Elbe, Sa.Nony, Germany, januar)- 25, 1885, and there olitained a good edu- 
cation. He was taught the florist business most thoroughly by his father, 
and to that practical training he added the knowledge obtained from books 
on botany and the culture of plants and flowers. He remained with his 
father in his large floral gardens and greenhouses until igo8, becoming thor- 
oughly skilled both in flower culture and business methods, by which profit 
is derived from the products which skill and knowledge have caused to grow 
and bloom. In igo8 the younger Mr. Fisclier came to the United States, 
arranging that his passage across be paid for in laljor. He arrived in Phila- 
delpliia, and there spent four years, at the end of which jieriod he came to 
Easton. He was first employed by florists of the city, but gradualh' he 
built up a business of his own which he formally opened in 1915. He has 
won a generous patronage, and has prospered abundantly. 

Mr. I'ischcr married Sophia Grove Schanz, daughter. of Louis Schanz, of 
College Hill, Easton. She was born in Karlsruhe, Baden, Germany, and 
they are the parents of a son. Ludwig, who was educated in the Easton pub- 
lic schools and is now associated with his father in the floral business, having 
charge of the store. The family home is a part of the greenhouse property 
which Mr. Fischer purchased in 1915. Mr. and Mrs. Fischer are members 
of the Lutheran church. 



CHARLES A. PORTER— When the Rosendale Cement Company in 
l8g8 increased their plant at wliat was then Siegfried, now Northampton, 
Pennsylvania, by the addition of the Lawrence Portland Cement Comjiany, 
Charles A. Porter was sujierintendent of the comiiany's plant at Binnewater. 
New York, and appointed assistant superintendent of the Northampton 
branch. From that date he has been a resident of Northampton, and the 
present general superintendent of the company and its third vice-president. 
He is one of the best known of cement manufacturers in Eastern Pennsvl- 
vania. The Lawrence Portland Cement Company is one of the important 
units of the cement industry-, and during the twenty years Mr. Porter has 
been connected with the company in official capacity be has been one of the 
factors in its success. He is a son of Ishmael and Anna (Mullen) Porter, 
his father a well known brush manufacturer of Troy, New "^I'ork, where he 
died. His widow is now a resident of Northampton, Pennsylvania. 

Charles A. Porter was born in Troy, New York, October 25, 1867, and 
there attended public schools until beginning business with a brush manu- 
facturing concern. That did not particularly appeal to him, so he started 
clerking in a grocery at Troy, New York, continuing in that business for 
several years. In 1888 he began his connection with the cement industry 
as a laborer at the plant of the Lawrence Cement Company, there remain- 



542 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

ing ten years, rising to the position of superintendent of their plant at 
Binnewater, New York. In that position he demonstrated his ability as a 
manager of such abihty that in 1S98 he was transferred to Northampton, as 
assistant superintendent of the Lawrence Portland Cement Company, which 
the compan\' had acquired, and there he has since remained. Until igoi 
he held the position of assistant superintendent most satisfactorily, then was 
advanced to the general superintendency, and later was elected a member of 
the board of directors and chosen third vice-president. He is an authority 
on cement manufacture, and has literally worked his way from the bottom 
to the top. He is president of the Alliance Hollow Cement Block Company 
since it was incorporated in 1903, and a director of the Allen Trust Com- 
pany of Northampton. He has entered heartily unto the life of North- 
ampton, and since the outbreak of war with Germany has patriotically sup- 
ported every movement to aid in its vigorous prosecution. He is a member 
of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite of Free Masonr}-, holding the thirty- 
second degree ; belongs to the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks ; and 
in politics is a Republican. 

Mr. Porter married, in New Salem, New York, Almena Freer, of New 
Salem, a lady of education and refinement. They are the parents of a 
daughter, Irene, wife of Stanley Lamber, of Allentown, Pennsylvania, that 
city also now the home of the Porters. 



JOHN WILLIAM HARLE— John William Harle, of Easton, is a son 
of William (2) Harle, born in White House, New Jersey, and grandson of 
William (i) Harle, a wheelwright of Hunterdon county. New Jersey. Wil- 
liam (2) Harle was born in White House, New Jersey, in 1833, died in 
Phillipsburg, New Jersey, April 12, 1900. He was a mill worker and a 
farmer, employed for twenty years by Ephraim Stair. He married Sarah 
Ketchum, of New Hope, Pennsylvania, daughter of Samuel and Jane 
Ketchum. They were the parents of the following children: John William, 
of whom further ; James T., of Phillipsburg, New Jersey ; Alice, Mrs. C. A. 
Stephenson, of Hoboken ; Gertrude, Mrs. James Thorne, died in Phillips- 
burg; Emma, Mrs. Thomas Sovreign, died in Newark; Lillie, Mrs. Alfred 
Heath, died in Lambertsville, New Jersey; Ella, Mrs. Clififord Seip, died 
in Phillipsburg. 

John William Harle was born in Lambertsville, flunterdon county. New 
Jersey, January 9, 1854, and there spent the first twenty years of his life. 
He was the eldest of seven children, and at the age of eleven left school that 
he might contribute something to the family purse. Until nineteen years 
of age. he was employed in a flax mill, saw mills and as a team driver, his 
wages in the flax mill at first being $2.50 weekly. At the age of nineteen 
he began learning the carpenter's trade under the instruction of Cornelius 
Arnet, serving an apprenticeship of three years, but did not follow his trade 
as a builder, accepting employment in the planing mill owned by Ephraim 
Stair, and for tv.'enty-two years he operated a circular saw. For fourteen 
of those years he was employed by Searfoss & Steinmetz, of Easton. After 
twenty-two years inside working, he became an outside carpenter, so con- 
tinuing until 1917. when he bought his present business, furniture repairing, 
in shop at No. 3 North Seventh street, Easton. His residence is No. 675 
Spring Garden street, a double dwelling which Mr. Harle built and owns, 
he also owning two brick houses on Bushkill street. 

Mr. Harle married, in Phillipsburg, New Jersey, December 25, 1875, 
Annie Davis, daughter of Thomas and Mary Davis. They are both mem- 
bers of the Evangelical church, Mr. Harle a member of the Improved Order 
of Red Men. and the Royal Order of Buffalo. In politics he is a Republican. 



CHARLES MADDOCK — About 1845 there came to Glendon, now a 
borough of Northampton county, two miles from Easton, William Firmstone, 



TFK >fEW YQ^K 
PUBLIC LIBRARY 



ASTOK. LKNOX AHO 
VILDCN FOUK CATIONS 



BIOGRAPHICAL 543 

the founder of the Glcndon Iron Company, and with him came George Mad- 
dock, an Englishman, an expert in iron manufacture. lie was witli the 
Glcndon Iron Company from its beginning, and far from his English home 
wrought and labored until the end of his life. With him at the beginning 
of the Glendon Iron Company was Daniel Thomas, a Welshman. Both 
George Maddock and Daniel Thomas were the grandfathers of Charles Mad- 
dock of Easton. George Maddock had a son, Samuel Maddock, who was 
born in Burslem, a town of England, in County Stafford, and came to the 
United States with his father in 1845. Upon arriving at a suitable age he, 
too, became an employe of the Glendon Iron Com])any. Samuel Maddock 
married Elvira Thomas, born in Glendon, Pennsylvania, daughter of Daniel 
and Elizabeth (Evans) Thomas. Her father was born in Wales, and was 
connected with the Glendon Iron Company. Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Mad- 
dock were the parents of an only son, Charles Maddock, whose career is 
hereinafter traced, and a daughter, who died in childhood. 

Charles Maddock was born in Glcndon, NorlhamiUon county, Penn- 
sylvania, June 2, i8<')8. and was educated in the public schools of Easton, 
graduating with the high school class of 1885. Having a passion for and 
early displaying decided talent for music, he was given a musical educa- 
tion, and specialized in the study of the piano and pipe organ. Some of the 
instructors who led him through those days of hard working practice were: 
Dr. Mason and Dr. Carl, of New York City; Professor Knauss, of Easton; 
and Dr. Eredcrick Wolle, of Bethlehem; all wonderful musicians and deeply 
interested in their pupil. It was not imtil i8go that Mr. Maddock entered* 
the public field as a teacher, but his studio quickly became a noted musical 
center, and its prestige increased with the years. He has for nineteen years 
been organist of the Eirst Presbyterian Church of Easton, and at all times 
has classes to which he is imparting musical instruction on piano or pipe 
organ. He is a leader in Easton's musical circle, and has a large patronage 
from outside the city. 

Professor Maddock is a member of the National Association of Organists, 
is a member of the Rotary Club, and an elder of the Eirst Presbyterian 
Church of Easton. In politics he is an Independent Republican. He mar- 
ried, June 7, 1893, Mildred Burwell, daughter of Samuel and Fredericka 
(Boiler) Burwell, of Phillipsburg, New Jersey. Mrs. Maddock is a grad- 
uate of Phillipsburg High School, a worker of the Red Cross and church activ- 
ities, and a member of the Woman's Club. 



WILLIAM HENRY MOHR— In Bethlehem, the scene of his prepara- 
tory and technical education, William Henry Mohr has assumed responsible 
position in his profession, civil engineering, and now, as the superintendent 
of the Bethlehem Construction Company, holds place in his profession as 
an able, resourceful, and progressive engineer. Mr. Mohr's connection with 
this concern dates from Eebruary, 1917, when he began the discharge of his 
duties, first as chief engineer, and later as superintendent, a relationship that, 
filled with busy endeavor and accomplishment, has been mutually profitable 
and satisfactory. W^illiam Henry IMohr is a son of Henry K. and Mary 
(Moyer) Mohr. His father was born on a farm near Lansdale, Pennsyl- 
vania, and passed his life in farming; he is a communicant of the Baptist 
church, and now lives retired. Mary (Moyer) Mohr is a daughter of Levi 
Moyer, of Hellertown, Pennsylvania. Children of Henry K. and Mary 
(Moyer) Mohr: Raymond L., a graduate of Lehigh University in the 
class of 1917, now a mechanical engineer in the employ of the Bethlehem 
Steel Company ; Carrie, married Dr. William G. Moyer, a physician of 
Quakertown, Penns\lvania, now (1919) a lieutenant in the United States 
Armv. medical department, and has children : Stanley, Willard. Catherine, 
and William G., Jr.; Charlotte, married David Longacre, a farmer, of Spring- 



544 NORTH A^ilPTON COUNTY 

town, Pennsylvania; Helen, a graduate of the Ouakertown High School and 
the West Chester State Normal, now a school teacher of Quakertown, resid- 
ing at home; William Henry, of whom further. 

William Henry Mohr was born in Bucks county, Pennsylvania, July 24, 
i8go. and after attendance at the Quakertown High School he entered the 
Bethlehem Preparatory School, at the completion of his course in that insti- 
tution enrolling in the engineering department of Lehigh University. He 
was graduated in the class of 191 1, winning first honors in civil engineering, 
in which he took his degree. His first position was with the Lewis F. Shoe- 
maker Company, of Pottstown, Pennsylvania, where he was employed until 
February, 1917. On this date Mr. Mohr accepted the position of chief engi- 
neer, and in September, 1917, became the superintendent, his present posi- 
tion, with the Bethlehem Construction Company, of Bethlehem, a position 
he has since most capably filled. His interests are entirely in his professional 
work and in his family. He is a member of the Menonite church. 

]\Ir. Mohr married, November 22, 1913, Pearl Moyer, a graduate of the 
Ouakertown High School and the West Chester State Normal School, and for 
two years a teacher in public school. She is a daughter of Abraham G. and 
Hannah (Fretz) Moyer, her father a general merchant of Quakertown and 
prominent in local affairs. Mr. and j\Irs. Mohr are the parents of one 
daughter, Elizabeth, born September 3, 1914. 



WILLIAM W. FRUTCHEY— Now again settled on the old homestead 
and living in the house in which he was born, Mr. Frutchey is returning 
not only to the scenes but to the pursuits of his youth when, as his father's 
assistant, he tilled the acres he now owns. The Frutcheys came early to 
the Lehigh Valley, but from where there seems grave doubt, F'rance, Switzer- 
land and Germany all being claimed as the original home of the family 
according to the authority consulted. The family was seated in Saucon 
township as early as 1750, and Peter Frutchey was born there in 1776. \\'il- 
liam, Peter and IMaurice Frutchey settled in Upper Mount Bethel town- 
ship, where William died, April 11, 1843, aged sixty-nine. He owned eighty 
acres of fertile land, which he cultivated, and was a man highly respected in 
his community. He was a Democrat in politics, and both he and his wife 
loyal and devoted members of the Reformed church. He married Susan 
.A.llenburg. born about 1775, died September i, 1843, only surviving her 
husband a few months. They were the parents of sons: Jacob, John, Wil- 
liam, Matthias, Peter W., Christian, and a daughter, Susan, and three chil- 
dren who died in childhood. Descent is traced in this line through Mat- 
thias Frutchey,. the fourth son of William and Susan (Allenburg) Frutchey. 

Matthias Frutchey was born at the farm in ]Mount Bethel, Northampton 
county, Penns; Ivania, and there spent his }-outh. Later he learned the 
harnessmaker's trade and located at Richmond. Washington township, in 
his native county, there following his trade and operating his own nearby farm 
all his life. He married Catherine Reimer, and among their children was 
a son, Samuel. 

Samuel Frutchey. son of Matthias and Catherine (Rcimcr) Frutchey, 
was born at the home farm near Richmond, Northampton county, Pennsyl- 
vania, December 21, 1823. and there lived until 1849. engaged in farming. 
In 1849 he moved to Bangor, then called Ottsville, where he bought a farm, 
upon which he resided until his death. In addition to his farming opera- 
tions, he was engaged in butchering to a certain extent and was a veteri- 
narian of recognized ability. He died at his Bangor farm, January 21, 1S98. 
He married (first) Susanna Richard, and they were the parents of twelve 
children: Samuel, who died in infancy; Joseph H., died in infancy; John 
J. ; William W., of further mention ; Edward F. ; Irwin, died in infancv ; Mary 
E., married Daniel Stiles; Amanda E., married Florace J. IMiller; Emma S. ; 



BIOGRAPHICAL 545 

Valeria, deceased; Ann I\I., married A. J. Nagle ; Sarah Alice, died unmar- 
ried. Samuel Frutchey married (second) Christina Weiss, and they were 
the parents of four children: Violet, married Arlington La Bar; Flora May; 
Ruth, married Louis La Bar; and Jennie. 

William W. Frutchey, son of Samuel Frutchey and his first wife, 
Susanna Richard, was born at the home farm near Bangor, now the corner 
of Seventh street and Pennsylvania avenue, in the house in which he now 
resides, May 7, i860, lie attended the public schools, then remained at 
home, his father's assistant, until 1882, when he established a teaming busi- 
ness of his own in Bangor, wliich he conducted for three 3'ears. He then 
entered the employ of Henry Kern, a public truckman and street sprinkling 
contractor of New York City, with whom he was employed for eleven years. 
In 1893 he bought the business for himself and operated it for five j^ears, 
selling out and retiring from the street s])rinkling business in i8g8, but con- 
tinuing the trucking business until 1915, when he ])urchascd the homestead 
farm on which he was born, and returned to Bangor. lie has since then cul- 
tivated the old farm, and in connection with agriculture conducts a team- 
ing business. 

Mr. Frutchey married Mar}^ Elizabeth Peter, daughter of Carl and 
Elizabeth (Jostin) Peter, her parents both born in Germany. Mr. and Mrs. 
Frutchey are the parents of six children : Florence E., a graduate nurse of 
New York City ; Carl W., a graduate of high school in New York City, class 
of IQ17; Margaret E. S., a graduate of Bangor High School, class of 1919; 
Irene C, died in infancy; Marie A., a student in Bangor High School; and 
Ralph P. 



JESSE COLLINS KANE— When the Chipman Knitting Mills came to 
Easton the}- were soon followed by Jesse C. Kane, their present, capable 
superintendent, who had formerly been connected with that company in the 
Philadeli>hia plant. Air. Kane has since made his home in Easton, where he 
is well known and deeply respected. He is a grandson of James Kane, and 
a son of John L. Kane, both of whom were residents of Philadelphia. 

James Kane, a contractor of the city of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, hav- 
ing lost considerable money through bank failures, decided to leave the city 
and settle in Schuvlkill county, Pennsylvania, although Philadelphia had long 
been his home. His father came to Philadelphia from the north of Ireland 
prior to the Revolution, and fought in that war on the side of the Colonies. 
He married an English lady. James Kane, after leaving Philadelphia, located 
at Port Carbon, in Schuylkill county, Pennsylvania, and there died. John 
L. Kane, son of James Kane, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1828, 
and there died in 1914. He was a bricklayer by trade, a good mechanic and 
a good citizen. He married Rachael Collins, born in Philadelphia in 1836, 
and died there in 1914, daughter of Caleb and Annie Collins, her parents both 
members of the Society of Friends. Caleb Collins was a son of Caleb Col- 
lins, also a Quaker, who settled in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, after his arrival 
from England, he leaving his native land on account of the persecution 
Quakers were subjected to. John L. and Rachael (Collins) Kane were the 
parents of seven children: John, died at Port Carbon, Pennsylvania, aged 
nineteen years ; Anna, died aged seventeen years ; George, died aged nineteen 
years ; Christopher, died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, aged forty-eight years ; 
Jesse Collins, of further mention ; Carrie, married John Mair, of Philadelphia ; 
and Sarah, married Louis Zyers, of Collingwood, New Jersey. 

Jesse Collins Kane, youngest son of John L. and Rachael (Collins) Kane, 
was born at Port Carbon, Schuvlkill county, Pennsylvania, June 15, 1866, and 
in 1877 his parents moved to Philadelphia, where he was educated and grew 
to manhood. When thirteen years of age he began working, during his 
vacations from public school, in a comb factory in Philadelphia, and at the 

N. H. PIOG.— 35 



546 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

age of fifteen found employment in a hosiery mill operated b;, Wiiliam V. 
Gunn. He began in the hosiery mill as a general utility boy, and there re- 
mained for some time, gaining a familiar acquaintance with several depart- 
ments of the mill. From hosiery he passed to rug manufacture, being 
in the employ of the Bromley Rug Manufacturing Company until 1886. In 
that year he entered the employ of the Chipman Knitting Mills, beginning 
as a knitter in their Philadelphia plant. In 1896 he moved to Easton and 
was made foreman of the knitting department of the Easton plant, then 
newly organized. One building only was then completed, and that has since 
undergone many changes while others erected later have been greatly en- 
larged. The capacity of the mill in i8g6 was four hundred dozen daily, 
now the number of dozens manufactured is three thousand five hundred. 
Mr. Kane continued as foreman until 1913, then was advanced to the rank of 
superintendent of the Easton plant. He has thoroughly mastered every detail 
of the business he superintends, and has won his way to that responsible posi- 
tion from the bottom. Industry and energA^ have kept him constantly on the 
road to greater responsibility, and when promotion came he was ready and 
waiting his opportunity. Mr. Kane was reared in the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and is a Republican in his politics. Plis fraternal orders are the 
Loyal Order of Moose, and the Patriotic Order Sons of America. 

Mr. Kane married, in Philadelphia, ]\Iarch 13, 1899, Elizabeth Pichetty, 
of Philadelphia, daughter of Barclaj' and Mary Pichetty. 



OLIVER LA BAR — Before 1730 three brothers. Peter, Charles and 
Abraham LaBar, came from France to Pennsylvania, landing in Philadelphia. 
From there they made their way up the Delaware river to a point which 
they believed beyond the limits of civilization, and there located a tract of 
land and built a log cabin. The site of that cabin is now, less than two cen- 
turies later, about one-half mile south of the village of Slateford. These 
LaBars were the first to clear land north of the mouth of the Lehigh, but 
they became very friendly with the Indians, who furnished them needed 
articles and also taught them something of the Indian language. The LaBars 
all married, but finding other settlers coming in, they moved north of the 
Blue mountains, where they permanently settled. Several years later. George 
LaBar, a son of Peter, returned south of the mountain and settled near the 
LaBar log cabin built by his father and uncles. There he lived to the great 
age of one hundred and six years, his son George, however, dying in 1S74. 
aged one hundred and eleven years and nine months. There are many LaBar 
descendants living in Alount Bethel township, and north of the mountain in 
ivlonroe county. 

Oliver LaBar, Bangor's eminent citizen and leading business man, is a 
great-grandson of Isaac LaBar, born in Upper Mount Bethel township, where 
he later became a farmer and for some years proprietor of the old Slatington 
Hotel. This was in the olden times, when logs were rafted down the Dela- 
ware river, and in this work he also had a part. Isaac LaBar was a son of 
Peter LaBar, and was of the second generation of his family in Pennsylvania. 
Samuel LaBar, son of Isaac, and grandson of Peter LaBar, was born in 
Upper Mount Bethel, and there followed agriculture all his life. He was a 
man of enterprise, and when the First National Bank of Bangor was organ- 
ized, he was elected to a membership of the first board of directors. 

Reuben H. LaBar, son of Samuel LaBar, was born in Upper IMount 
Bethel township, and there devoted his life to agriculture. He had other 
interests, however, and when the First National Bank was chartered he was 
one of the original subscribers to the stock and served many years as a 
director. It is a matter of interest to know that the president of that bank, 
Oliver LaBar, is a son of Reuben H., and a grandson of Samuel, who was 
one of the first directors. 



PI 



/.STOK, LENOX AND 
TlLDtK i-OUWDATtOHS I 



._^J 




/r^z^AJ-' ^>u-z><^^^^^^^ 



BIOGRAPHICAL 547 

Reuben J I. L;il'>;ir married Catherine I'aff, and they were the parents 
of tliree children: Oliver, of further mention; Grace, married George Ward, 
of Easton, Pennsylvania ; and Laura, who died aged sixteen years. 

Oliver LaHar, only son of Reuben 11. and Catherine (Paff) LaBar, was 
born at the home farm in Upper Mount 15cthel township, Northampton 
county, Pennsylvania, May 2, 1808. Jie remained at the home farm, his 
father's assistant, until of legal age, then came to P)angor, where he entered 
the employ of the First National Bank as bookkeei)er. This was in 1889, 
and from that time his service has been continuous. He had obtained a good 
education in the district school, and he had still further improved himself 
by self-study, so that when he came to the bank he was fully equipped to fulfill 
all the requirements of his position. For six years he continued in the book- 
keeping dei)artment, then, in 1895, was appointed teller, a post he filled until 
1901, when he was chosen cashier. Six years were passed at the cashier's 
desk. In 1907 he was elected president of the bank that he entered fresh 
from the farm eighteen years earlier. This rapid rise from the bottom to 
the top of the ladder of banking success is the truest test of the quality of 
Mr. l.aBar's cajiabilities, and proves him to li:ivv been honorable, ambitious 
and deserving, else he could not have achieved the success he has. He is 
also president and a large stockholder of the Bangor Water Company ; organ- 
ized and is an ofTicer in the Rosato Water Company, and interested in the 
South Easton and l!lue Mountain Consolidated Water Company ; and assisted 
in organizing the Pennsylvania and Sterling Silk companies. He has other 
banking interests, and also interests in the slate quarrying companies of 
Bangor and vicinity. In politics he is a Democrat, and for the past four 
years, 1915-19, has been a member of the Board of Prison Inspectors. 

Mr. LaBar married Mary C. Miller, daughter of Isaac F. and Maria 
Hester Miller. Mr. and Mrs. LaBar are the parents of a son, Paul R. LaBar, 
now a student in the Bangor High School. 



FRANK J. GROMAN— When Reuben E. Groman came to South Beth- 
lehem about the >ear 1870, he was a skilled bricklayer, and shortly after his 
arrival he began business for himself as a contractor and brick manufacturer. 
He continued in business until his death in 1904, but the name is perpetuated 
in business circles by his three sons : Frank J., Thomas H. and Charles H. 
Groman, prominent building contractors of the city of Bethlehem, Pennsyl- 
vania. Reuben E. was a son of Charles, son of Samuel, son of Samuel (i) 
Groman, who was born in Lower Saucon township, Northampton county, 
Pennsylvania, of German parentage. He moved from Lower Saucon to the 
State of New York in 1835, and tliere continued farming operations until his 
retirement several years prior to his death at an advanced age. Samuel 
Groman married Maria Wagner, born July 28. 1778. died April 10, 1854, and 
was buried in the cemetery of the East Salisbury church in Lehigh county. 
They were the parents of seven children: Charles, Samuel (2), John, Jacob, 
Hannah, Mrs. Griesemer and Polly Meikel. Jacob, Hannah and Mrs. Griese- 
mer, with their families, moved to Wabash county, Illinois. John, the third 
son, lived in New Jersey, unmarried; Samuel (2) is the ancestor of the 
Gromans of Bethlehem. 

Samuel (2) Groman, second son of Samuel and Maria (Wagner) Groman, 
was a farmer of Lower Saucon township, Northampton county. He married 
Catherine Gangawere, and they were the parents of eight children: Charles, 
head of the next generation in this branch; John. David, Joseph, Solomon, 
Jacob, Elemira, married George Moyer ; and Catherine, who married Jere- 
miah Schwart. 

Charles Groman, eldest son of Samuel (2) and Catherine (Gangawere) 
Groman, was born at the homestead in Lower Saucon township, Northamp- 
ton county, Pennsylvania, October 5, 1805. His mature years were spent in 



548 NORTHAMPTON COUNTY 

Salisbury township, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, where he engaged in farm- 
ing until his death, August 30, 1877. He married Elizabeth Gangawere, born 
April 19, 1805, died jMarch i, 1877. They were both members of the East 
Salisbury church and were buried in the cemetery attached to that church. 
Charles and Elizabeth (Gangawere) Groman were the parents of eleven 
children: i. Sarah, born September 22, 1822, married Jacob Blank, who was 
killed in a railroad accident in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania ; they were the 
parents of ten children, one of them, Charles F. Blank, the prosperous miller 
of Sunbury, Penns3"lvania. 2. Maria, born January 14, 1828, married Charles 
Holman, of Allentown, and had four children : John, James, Anna and Oscar 
F. 3. William, born October 14, 1829, married Amelia Rhodes, of South 
Whitehall township, Lehigh county ; children : Oliver D. ; William ; Laura, 
married Rev. William Cope; and Alice, married Marcus Focht. 4. Reuben E., 
of further mention. 5. James A., born November 9, 1833, niarried Sophia 
Steiner, and they were the parents of seven children: Judge Clinton A., pre- 
siding judge of Lehigh county courts; James E. (2); Andora, married John 
P. Ouier ; Blanch E., married Robert Eck ; Emma, married William Delbert ; 
Wallace C. ; and Harry L. 6. Robert, born January 29, 1836, served in the 
Union Army during three years of the Civil War. 7. David, died young. 
8. Louisa, died young ; 9. Lovinia, married Reuben Schooll. 10. Amanda, mar- 
ried Henry S. Miller. 11. Clarissa, married Edward H. Buchecker. 

Reuben E. Groman, second son and fourth child of Charles and Elizabeth 
(Gangawere) Groman, was born at the homestead in Salisbury township, 
Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, November 27, 1831, died in South Bethlehem. 
Pennsylvania, SeptemlDcr 15, 1904, after an attack of typhoid fever which 
weakened his heart. His youth was spent at the home farm, and on arriving 
at a suitable age he left home and learned the bricklayer's trade. After becom- 
ing a master workman he engaged in contracting and brick manufacturing 
in Sal'sburx', located in South Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, and there from 1870 
until his death, thirty-four years later, he was engaged as a contractor. All his 
life he was an ardent, active Democrat, was elected a commissioner of North- 
ampton county in 1893, and was a member of the Reformed church. He be- 
came widely known through his contracting activities and public service, and 
wherever known he was genuinely respected and well liked. 

Reuben E. Groman married, in Allentown, Penns3dvania, May 29, 1852, 
Rev. ]\Ir. Sellers officiating, Rebecca Bush, of Catasauqua, Pennsylvania. 
They were the parents of three sons and seven daughters, one of the latter 
dying in infancy: Frank J., of further mention; Thomas Harvey, born Sep- 
tember 8, 1857, a sketch of whom follows ; Charles H., born January 23, 1862, 
a sketch of whom follows; Mary, married Edgar Sanborn; Lillian, deceased, 
married Charles Weiss; Elva, residing in Bethlehem; Mabel, deceased; Laura, 
deceased ; and Sarah deceased, married Milton Laufer. When the sons, Frank 
J., Thomas H. and Charles H., arrived at proper age, they learned the father's 
trade, helped in the brickyard, and finally, in 1880, the father and three sons 
became partners. Henceforth an extensive contracting and building business 
was transacted. In 1904 death removed the father, and together the sons 
operated until 1916, when Thomas PL retired to engage in private business. 
Frank J. and Charles H. continued the business which has been in the Groman 
name for nearly a half century. This firm has the distinction of having built 
the mammoth plant of the Ingersoll-Sargent Company at Easton, the largest 
building contract ever awarded in this district. They also built the filtration 
plant at the Bethlehem Water Works and the State Hospital at Rittersville, 
Pennsylvania, and on every hand are monuments to the skill and ability of 
this firm of builders, father and three sons. The site of the old brickyard 
established by Reuben E. Groman is now covered with handsome residences 
that the firm of Groman Brothers erected and sold. 

Frank J- Groman, eldest son of Reuben E. and Rebecca (Bush) Groman, 
was born at Allentown, Lehigh county, Pennsylvania, January 15, 1856, and 






■o 




l/Tc^ /^ ^^-sr^^^^^rt^" 



BIOGRAPHICAL 549 

there attended tlic pnlilic school. After the removal of his paren