(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of North Carolina"

/TVM 



T5 4 



VC 



ti/4-CMJ 




l • /TT'T-f /SJ-^-vT 1 



"V 



w 



A 






> 



^- 



£V 



V 



rV 



±J 




sk/2tfn) 



■■■■ 



L 




'm nop 



HISTORY 



OF 



NORTH CAROLINA 



VOLUME VI 

NORTH CAROLINA BIOGRAPHY 

BY SPECIAL STAFF OF WRITERS 



ILLUSTRATED 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

CHICAGO AND NEW YORK 

1919 



Copyright, 1919" 

BY 

THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Richard Joshua Reynolds. The life story of 
every man is bound up with that of the community 
of which he forms a part. His relation to its 
growth and development constitutes a vital part 
of his own record. This is peculiarly true in the 
case of the subject of this sketch, Richard Joshua 
Reynolds, whose personal history and business 
achievements have been inseparably linked with 
the city that for forty-three years has been his 
home, the center of his activities and the head- 
quarters of the great industry he has built up. 

Some cities are made great by circumstance. 
Situated at the mouth of a large navigable stream, 
or on a natural harbor, or on some great trunk line 
railway, cities grow even in spite of themselves. 
Other cities not so situated are made great by 
the courage, faith, perseverance and industry of 
their people. Winston-Salem belongs to the latter 
class. 

With a salubrious climate, located in the heart 
of the Piedmont section of North Carolina, in the 
center of a region famed for its tobacco, the 
Town of Winston forty years ago owed its claim 
to fame to the fact that it was the county seat of 
Forsyth County and to the circumstance that it 
was the twin of the old community of Salem, for 
a century the seat of the bishopric of the southern 
province of the Moravian Church and the site of 
the oldest school for girls in America. 

It was then served by a small branch of the 
Southern Railway, later a part of the great South- 
ern Railway System, far removed from any navi- 
gable waters or other seemingly natural advantages, 
and no man would then have been bold enough to 
prophesy that it was destined to become not only 
the largest, richest and most influential city in 
the state, but to become known throughout the 
world for its manufactured products. 

The story of the rise of this little country town 
to international fame is of thrilling and compelling 
interest, yet a history of its development is out 
of place here. Suffice it to say that its blankets, 
knit goods, cotton goods, wagons and furniture, to- 
gether with the products of its other varied in- 
dustries, are favorably known throughout this 
country, but all these sink into comparative in- 
significance beside its world famous tobacco 
products. 

R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company is not only 
the chief manufacturing establishment in this thriv- 
ing City of Winston-Salem, but it is the largest 
of its kind in the world, and because of it the 
city is known in many lands. Mr. Reynolds in- 
dividually began the business in the year 1875. 
It was a modest beginning, his first factory being 
a building 36 by 60 feet in size, his working cap- 
ital $5,100, and his first year's output 150.000 
pounds of manufactured tobacco. Today his com- 
pany's plant is housed in forty-three great modern 
buildings (a building for each year of his resi- 



dence in the city;, many of them concrete, cover- 
ing hundreds of thousands of square feet of floor 
space, equipped with every modern facility, ven- 
tilated and sanitary, and the 15,000 employes, if 
gathered together, could form a little city of 
their own. The authorized capital stock is now 
$40,000,000, which is a very conservative capital- 
ization. By comparison with other large com- 
panies in competition with it, it is very much 
under-capitalized. From his first year's output of 
150,000 pounds his guiding genius brought his 
company's sales in 1917 to $95,382,000, represent- 
ing over 100,000,000 pounds of manufactured 
goods. 

Much of this marvelous growth has occurred in 
the last ten years. In 1908 the company began 
to manufacture its now famous brand of smoking 
tobacco — Prince Albert. Shipments of the brand 
for the first year amounted to only 233,862 pounds, 
but before the close of the year 1917 over 600,000 
two ounce ' ' tidy red tins of P. A., " as it is 
popularly known, were being manufactured every 
'lay and the "Prince Albert Special," a train 
consisting of an average of thirty-five cars, was 
leaving Winston-Salem every night to begin dis- 
tribution of the company products throughout the 
commercial world. 

The brain that organized and developed this 
great enterprise is that of R. J. Reynolds, founder 
and president of the great company that bears his 
name. 

Mr. Reynolds' father, Hardin W. Reynolds, was 
the son of Abram David Reynolds, of Scotch-Irish 
and English ancestry, who moved when quite a 
young man from Pennsylvania to Patrick County, 
Virginia, where his son and grandson were born. 

Hardin W. Reynolds was a planter, cultivating 
tobacco on his large estate. He was also a manu- 
facturer of chewing tobacco and accumulated a 
comfortable fortune. 

On his mother's side Mr. Reynolds is of English 
stock. His maternal great-grandfather, Joshua 
Cox, immigrated to America from England in 
colonial days and saw service in the French and 
Indian wars. Later he became captain of a com- 
pany that espoused the cause of the colonies against 
the mother country in the war of independence. 
Nancy Cox Reynolds, the mother of the subject 
of this sketch, was born in Stokes County, North 
Carolina, where her father was a large land owner, 
and where she spent her girlhood days, only about 
thirty miles from the site of the city later made 
famous by the achievements of her son. 

Richard Joshua Reynolds was born in Patrick 
County, Virginia, July 20, 1850. As a boy he at- 
tended the neighborhood country schools, but early 
displayed a disposition to make his own way. His 
boyhood was similar to that of other boys reared 
on a farm in those days. He worked on the farm 
and then in his father's factory and began life 



Vol. VI— 1 



2 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



in earnest as a salesman. With a two-horse wagon 
load of plug chewing tobacco and $2 in cash, he 
started out on his first trip. It was thrilling 
enough to satisfy the ambition of any young fel- 
low because he was shut out from the main high- 
ways of trade by the tobacco blockaders, men who 
sought to avoid and did in fact avoid the pay- 
ment of government taxes on their tobacco. He 
therefore left the beaten paths and went into the 
wilds of a section of country that marks the 
corners of the states of Kentucky, Virginia and 
Tennessee, a country too wild and remote for even 
the blockader. There in the wilderness, one might 
say, ninety miles from a railroad, he disposed of 
his first load of tobacco, and returned to his home, 
with a new view of life, a stronger grip upon him- 
self, a determination to make good and with the 
beginnings of a knowledge of human nature that 
he^has developed and capitalized throughout his 
career. 

As a young man Mr. Eeynolds attended Emory 
and Henry College for a short time. Later he took 
a special business course at the Bryant and Strat- 
ton Business College, Baltimore, but' his real train- 
ing, knowledge and information were acquired in 
the school of experience. His mind was too active, 
the spirit too restless, to be content with the stu- 
dent 's life, the plodding, digging, confining study 
that makes what is known as a scholar. His very 
nature craved activity and, measured by his knowl- 
edge of men and the practical affairs of life, Mr. 
"Reynolds is a past master because he learned his 
lessons from contact with his fellowman. Few 
men of his generation possess keener powers of 
analysis, superior insight into human nature, or 
equal powers of concentration. 

Fortune did not smilingly knock at the door of 
this man. He literally stormed the citadel and 
the secret of his success is his ability to convert 
an apparent disadvantage into an advantage. He 
has the power, seemingly, to make capital out of 
what to a weaker man would be misfortune, and 
therein lies the thing that distinguishes him from, 
and ?ives him an advantage over, other men. 

With characteristic foresight he saw the strategic 
advantages in locating his plant at Winston-Salem, 
in the heart of the territory that would produce 
the tobacco he needed for his factories. This ad- 
vantage, however, was more than offset by the com- 
mercial isolation of the city. The story of how 
Mr. Reynolds and his associates overcame these 
difficulties and have made it a railroad center, a 
port of entry and export and the largest industrial 
center of the Carolinas reads like a romance. The 
way in which Mr. Reynolds meets a difficulty is 
strikingly illustrated in his handling of the prob- 
lem of transportation in those early days when 
Winston had only the one branch line of railroad 
and when that company seemed to be discriminat- 
ing against the growing town and in favor of 
the cities on the main line. At a meeting of the 
citizens called to act in this grave crisis of the 
city's life, Mr. Reynolds announced that he would 
establish a wagon train, a line of wagons, to haul 
all the freight of the city to the competitive con- 
nection, and do it at such rates that would put 
the branch line out of business. Having made up 
his mind what to do, he went quickly to work, but 
the railroad company, facing a situation that would 
spell ruin for its best branch line, as quickly 
changed its tariff from Winston. When asked, 
vpris after, if he really intended to carry out 
his threat, the flash of his bright eye and his 



brief characteristic ' ' sure ' ' left no room to doubt 
his sincerity. 

it was 111 these days of struggle with adverse 
conditions that the real secret of Mr. Reynolds' 
success began to disclose itself. His ability to 
reach a decision promptly, to act quickly and to 
back his judgment with all his worth give him a 
reputation among many of having almost an un- 
canny business intuition. But, as a matter of fact, 
he brings to bear upon every problem the powers 
of a mind trained in his business and an in- 
domitable will that enables him to concentrate 
every faculty upon the thing in hand. This was 
strikingly illustrated in the great crisis of his 
career when he was called upon to match his brain 
and skill against the best trained and most acute 
minds in the business. Things looked dark, but 
he believed there was a way out. For days and 
nights, almost without rest or food, he faced the 
task of thinking the thing out. When he and his 
business competitors met again he held the key 
to the situation. 

He is an untiring worker. For many years after 
amassing a fortune he was at his desk when the 
factory whistle blew and he was the last to leave 
at night. With the richest man in town at his 
desk hefore seven-thirty in the morning, the boys 
forgot how to loaf. It was a fast gait but it made 
Winston-Salem the largest and most substantial 
city in the Old North State and the same pace is 
keeping her well out in front. 

Th : s man, who knows every detail of his vast 
business, also has a rare knowledge of men, and 
has surrounded himself with able lieutenants. The 
organization has grown up from within. From the 
hundreds of young men who have been drawn 
from all parts of the country into the employ 
of the company, tho=e who have shown fidelity, 
efficiency and ability have been chosen for respon- 
sible positions. The man who hopes to be advanced 
by a pull soon falls by the wayside. Merit is the 
standard -by which each employe is measured, and 
every man knows, whatever his position may be, 
that the way to preferment is open if he measures 
im to the degree of fitness required. Thus one 
after another of the heads of the great depart- 
ments have r'sen from the ranks and they take a 
just pride in their success. 

R. J. Revnolds Tobacco Company has succeeded 
under the banner that best describes its founder 
When asked what he attributed it to. he instantly 
replied: "Fair play." He then referred to an 
incident in his early life by quoting advice from 
his father when he started out for himself: "A 
man who would lie for a dollar would steal a 
dollar." He will not tolerate any sort of mis- 
representation of goods and he never asks a price 
that will yield more than a fair profit. The simple 
rugged honesty of the man abhors deception. R. ,T. 
Reynolds is square. His motto, long before he 
grasred the higher ideals of a life of faith, was 
to so run his business as to demonstrate that n 
man can make money in these days of commercial- 
ism, and large sums of money, honestly and 
squarely. 

As a sound business policy, no representative 
of the company is allowed to knock a competitor. 
It is not the right way to do business and it is 
not the right way to get business. As stated above, 
misrepresentation of goods is not permitted and 
this applies to over-selling and over-praising. A 
business that is to continue and to grow must not 
sell its customers more of its products than thev 
need. Such over-selling makes a good month 's 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



showing but a poor record when measured by 
years. ' ' Keep your customers satisfied and help 
them make money. That is the way to increase 
your business," is one of Mr. Eeynolds' mottos. 
That it is true is best shown by the fact that 
his company's business grows and. grows rapidly 
every year. 

In politics Mr. Eeynolds is a democrat. He has 
not forgotten his early life in Virginia after the 
Civil war when conditions were hard and trying, 
those reconstruction days when he entered into 
the battle of life. 

He believes in education. He has done much 
for it, especially among the negro race in- his own 
state. But whatever school a boy attends he be- 
lieves that the best knowledge is acquired in the 
school of experience. He is putting his creed into 
practice with his own boys as they grow up. They 
must forget that they are heirs to millions and 
do their bit along with those who are dependent 
upon their labor for their daily bread. "A rich 
man's boy," he once said, "has only half a chance 
to make good, and I do not want my boys ham- 
pered by the money I have made. It is not fair 
to them. ' ' 

He carries this democratic spirit with him in 
his dealings with the thousands of men and women 
employed by his company. It is not saying too 
much to say that no man of Mr. Eeynolds' wealth 
is more accessible. No man, whatever his position 
in life, if he has anything worth while to say, is 
denied access to his office, but woe to the man, be 
he rich or poor, who wants to kill time by palaver, 
or to obtain favor by toadying. 

This man who has made so much money is him- 
self unspoiled by it. Other men have made money 
and felt that it could only be enjoyed in some 
foreign country or great city. Not so with the 
head of the great Eeynolds Company. He is 
essentially a home man. He knows all of his home 
people and they know him familiarly as "E. J." 
or "Dick Eeynolds." He knows his employes, 
they know him. He lives among them, he is in- 
terested in them, hence there are no labor strikes 
in his factories. Long ago provision was made for 
employes to buy stock, they are encouraged to be- 
come identified with and share in the benefits of 
the great business they have helped to build. The 
laborer is given a bonus for continued and effi- 
cient service and also given the same chance to 
buy stock as any one else who helps in the com- 
mon cause, so that today hundreds of men and 
women on the payrolls are interested in the com- 
pany 's success as representing a life 's investment. 
For some years this personal interest in the em- 
ployes has been manifested in the lunch counters 
and rest rooms scattered throughout the various 
factories. Three thousand operatives eat their 
daily lunch at these lunch counters, the food being 
prepared under close inspection, and served at 
cost, the average price of a noon-day meal of 
wholesome food being about 10 cents. 

Mr. Eeynolds is one of the very few rich men 
in America who believes that the burdens of the 
Government should fall heaviest upon those who 
benefit or profit most by its protection. He has 
for years been an or>en advocate of an income tax. 
He did not opnose the so-called excess profits tax, 
but he felt ap-qrieved at its inequalities that re- 
sulted in the imposition of a very heavy burden 
ur>nn his companv. while his competitors escaped 
w ; th a verv small amount. This was contrary to 
his idea of fair plav and he vigwouslv pointed 
out the law's inconsistency and was instrumental 



in securing regulations that help to equalize the 
oiudeu. uut tnrough it all he steadfastly ad- 
hered to his fundamental principle that tnose who 
can should pay, ouly contending that those who 
are able be required to pay in the same propor- 
tion. 

On February 27, 1905, Mr. Eeynolds was married 
to Miss Mary Katharine Smith, of Mount Airy, 
Surry County, North Carolina. This union has 
been blessed with tour children: Eiehard Joshua 
Eeynolds, Jr., Mary Katharine, Nancy Susan, and 
Zachary Smith. This happy family reside at 
Eeynolda, the Eeynolds country estate. It is lo- 
cated 2% miles west of the City of Winston-Salem, 
and embraces several hundred acres of valuable 
land, ideal in its natural beauty. In the fore- 
ground to the east lies the city, with its numerous 
factories, tall office buildings and church spires. 
On the near horizon to the west is the dome of 
Pilot Mountain while the outlines of the Blue 
Kidge close the sky line. 

Under the magic touch of Mrs. Eeynolds, the 
estate has become the garden spot of North Caro- 
lina, fertile, productive, beautiful. The manor 
house, which reminds one of some old English 
country place, faces the golf links, dotted with 
sheep and encircled by the native forest, while on 
the farther side the grounds slope away to Lake 
Katharine, a magnificent body of water nestling 
in the hills and winding in and out through the 
valley. To the left as one approaches the resi- 
dence is the Village of Eeynolda, with its beau- 
tiful church in the center, and just beyond lie 
the sunken gardens and greenhouses. Beyond these 
are the stables, dairies, and the quaint old smithery, 
the latter fronting on the concrete highway that 
runs through the village and connects it with the 
city. 

The transformation of these acres into a garden 
of perpetual beauty has been wrought under the 
personal supervision of the mistress of the manor, 
whose discriminating judgment and exquisite taste 
are manifest at every turn. To enter the home 
itself is to learn how modern science, architecture 
and art can be made to minister to comfort and 
beauty in the making of a home. For Eeynolda, 
with all its vast proportions and lavish expendi- 
tures, is a home and not a palace — a home where 
love reigns, and children are being reared in the 
fear of God for His service and that of the world. 

Col. J. Bryan Grimes. North Carolina takes 
a just pride in the sterling character of its men 
whom its citizens have called to high office. 
These officers with few exceptions have been rep- 
resentative of the best thought and cleanest prin- 
ciples of the Commonwealth. In 1900 her people 
elected as Secretary of State a man so young in, 
comparison with the usual ages to which men 
are selected for state offices that many feared 
for his success. But the newly elected secretary, 
Col. J. Bryan Grimes, in spite of his youth, soon 
set all apprehension at rest by the thoroughness, 
ability, and system with which he managed the 
office. The immense volume of manuscript laws, 
papers, mans, wills, grants, and historical docu- 
ments of all sorts which had accumulated for years 
in the offices, were promptly separated, classified, 
labeled, and filed in proper cabinets and a complete 
index of them all provided. Thus an immense 
volume of valuable reference matter was made 
instantly available for state and county officers, 
business men, and historical students. This was 
all done without interference with the regular 



4 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



business of the office. The voters of the state 
were not long in seeing that they had elected a 
most efficient man to office. Five successive elec- 
tions to the same office testify to their realiza- 
tion of this fact. 

Colonel Grimes, who is a son of General Bryan 
and Charlotte Emily Bryan Grimes, was born in 
Raleigh in June, 1868. On both his father's and 
his mother 'a side he is sprung from an ancestry 
of useful and honorable people. His father en- 
tered the Confederate service as major of the 
Fourth North Carolina Regiment. Before the 
war closed he had risen to the rank of major- 
general. This record at once attests his bravery, 
his powers of organization, his skill in handling 
men, and his capacity for field service. From the 
battle of Seven Pines, where he won his way 
to the hearts of his men, to Appomattox where 
he commanded the last organized charge on the 
Federal lines, he showed on every field in which 
he was engaged his courage and his mastery of 
the science of war. 

His son was reared on the family estates at 
Grimesland in Pitt County. There he learned to 
love country life and to feel a land owner 's inter- 
est in everything pertaining to farm life. After 
preparation for college in some of the state's best 
preparatory schools, he entered the University. 
Thence, to fit himself for business success, he 
took a course in Bryant and Stratton 's Business 
College in Baltimore. This training added to 
what he had received at the University has enabled 
him to manage affairs of business with system 
and easy efficiency. 

On. the death of his father, Colonel Grimes and 
his brother Col. Alston Grimes, he took charge of 
the family 's landed property and devoted himself 
to farming. He early became interested in affairs 
of state and was for some years a leader in the 
political and civic welfare of his county. In 1893 
Governor Elias Carr appointed him an aide-de- 
camp on his staff with the rank of colonel. In 
1900 the people, recognizing his growing useful- 
ness, elected him secretary of state. It is not too 
much to say that the state has never had a more 
capable and tireless worker in that office. 

Never losing his feeling for the people on the 
land, Colonel Grimes has been prominently con- 
nected with the organizations that were formed 
for the farmer 's welfare. As one of the conser- 
vative leaders of the Farmers ' Alliance, as a mem- 
ber of the Farmers' Union, of the State Grange, 
of the State Board of Agriculture, of the Execu- 
tive Committee of the State Agricultural Society, 
he has labored cheerfully and wisely in the rapid 
development of North Carolina's agricultural pos- 
sibilities. He was one of the organizers and after- 
wards president of the Tobacco Growers Associa- 
tion, and led that organization in its fight against 
the Tobacco Trust. 

As is natural in a man reared in a home in 
which state pride was zealously fostered, Colonel 
Grimes, since early youth, has been fond of his- 
torical study and has actively aided in the devel- 
opment of historical organizations. He aided in 
the formation of the State Literary and Historical 
Society, and for some years served on its Execu- 
tive Committee. He is chairman of the active 
State Historical Commission. He is president 
of the State Chapter of the Sons of the Revolu- 
tion. In addition he is a member of the Execu- 
tive Committee of the Trustees of the University 
of North Carolina. His social sympathies led to 
his joining the Masons, the Knights of Pythias 



and the Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics. 

Colonel Grimes ' love of history induced him, not 
only to collect an exceedingly valuable library on 
North Carolina history, but also to become a some- 
what regular writer on historical subjects. In 
L905 he published a volume entitled, "Notes on 
Colonial North Carolina. ' ' This book covers the 
period from 1700 to 1750. He is also the editor 
and compiler of "Abstract of North Carolina 
Wills ' ' and ' ' North Carolina Wills and Inven- 
tions. ' ' Besides these he has written many 
pamphlets and single articles on state history, and 
has often delivered historical addresses. 

Colonel Grimes has been married twice. In 
November, 1894, he married Mary Octavia, daugh- 
ter of Capt. J. J. Lau'ghinghouse. Mrs. Grimes 
died in December, 1899, and left one daughter, 
Helen Elise. In February, 1904, he married Eliza- 
beth F. Laughinghouse. Colonel and Mrs. Grimes 
have three sons, J. Bryan Grimes, Jr., Charles 
O 'Hagan Grimes, and Alston Grimes. 

William Alexander Hoke, a justice of the Su- 
preme Court, is in point of continuous service one 
•of the oldest jurists of North Carolina. He has 
been continuously on the bench either with the 
Superior Court or the Supreme Court for a quarter 
of a century. His is a splendid record both in 
public and private life. Few men have gained 
more honestly or completely the admiration of 
their fellow citizens and the honor that has come 
to him has been gained without animosity. 

Judge Hoke has spent his lifetime in North Caro- 
lina and since his admission to the bar nearly 
forty-five years ago has gained all the honors that 
able lawyers and men of high ideals most covet. 
He was born at Lincolnton, Lincoln County, where 
he still resides, October 25, 1851, a son of Col. 
John Franklin and Catherine Wilson (Alexander) 
Hoke. 

His early environment and advantages were in- 
fluenced and interfered with by the troubled con- 
ditions incident to the Civil war period. In the 
meantime he had attended private schools and 
after the war began the study of law under Chief 
Justice Richmond M. Pearson at Richmond Hill, 
North Carolina. Admitted to the bar in 1872, he 
was in practice at Shelby and Lincolnton until 
1891. Though he represented his home district in 
the Legislature in 1889, he has devoted himself 
more to his profession than to politics. As a law- 
yer he has gained reputation as an able counselor, 
and upright citizen, and has exemplified that char- 
acter which begets general confidence. With these 
qualifications he began his career on the bench as 
a judge of the Superior Court in 1891. With the 
ripe and mature experience of thirteen years on 
the Superior bench he was elected an associate 
justice of the Supreme Court in 1904, and was re- 
elected in 1912, his time expiring in 1920. 

In the opinions he has written and the decisions 
he has influenced the bench and bar of North 
Carolina will have a record for all time. It is 
permitted here to quote the words of a member of 
the bar who has long been familiar with Judge 
Hoke's activities and influence: "It may be 
questioned whether the Supreme Court Bench was 
ever occupied by a closer student than Judge Hoke. 
United with the varied phases of the written law 
which he has so well mastered is a strong store 
of common sense which manifests itself in his 
judicial opinions as well as in his daily walk of 
life. These qualifications, united with a cordiality 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



of manner -which bespeaks a friendship for man- 
kind, and with a character above reproach, have 
gained for him as many friends as there are good 
men in North Carolina." 

Judge Hoke is a member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati and is a communicant of the Episcopal 
Church. He married at Lincolnton December 16, 
1897, Miss Mary McBee. To this union has been 
born one daughter. 

Julian Shakespeare Carr. In the varied re- 
lationship of an honored soldier of the Confed- 
eracy, as a highly successful manufacturer and 
banker, a philanthropist and a leader in public 
life, it is indeed conspicuous praise when it was 
asserted of Gen. Julian S. Carr that he was one 
of the best beloved men in North Carolina, and 
that position in the affection of his home state 
is undiminished at the present writing. 

General Carr was born October 12, , 1845, at 
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, a son of John Wesley 
and Elizabeth Pannill (Bullock) . Carr. What his 
people lacked in wealth they made up in quali- 
ties of solid character and good social position, 
so that while General Carr had to begin his inde- 
pendent career when North Carolina and all the 
South was suffering extreme poverty of resources 
as a result of the war, he was well fitted by 
personal character and by inheritance to gain an 
honorable position in affairs. His earliest Ameri- 
can ancestor was John Carr, who was born in 
County Down, Ireland, in 1728, and settled in 
Virginia in Colonial times. During the war of 
the Bevolution he served as an ensign in the 
First Virginia Regiment. A still earlier genera- 
tion of the family contained Robert Carr, Earl 
of Somerset, and that distinguished member of 
the family accounts for the name of General 
Carr's handsome residence at Durham, Somerset 
Villa. John Wesley Carr, his father, was a mer- 
chant of Chapel Hill, a good business man, and 
in the early days was one of the three justices who 
composed the Court of Quarter Sessions for 
Orange County. That was a position of honor, to 
which only as a rule learned and able men were 
called. He was an active Methodist, and bore a 
high character for the unpretentious simplicity of 
his life a*nd his open handed hospitality. His 
wife, Elizabeth Pannill Bullock, was of the promi- 
nent family of that name in Granville County. 

General Carr was educated in village schools 
■at Chapel Hill and at the age of sixteen entered 
the University of North Carolina. He never fin- 
ished his course there, since the war had broken 
out before he enrolled as a student and in a 
year or so his own services were needed. He was 
a private in Company K of the Third North Caro- 
lina Cavalry, in Barringer's Brigade, Hamp- 
ton's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia. He made 
a creditable record as a soldier and when the war 
was over he returned to Chapel Hill and for a 
time was associated in business with his father. 
He then spent a year in Arkansas, but in 1870 
returned to North Carolina. 

For many years General Carr's distinctive posi- 
tion in North Carolina and the nation 's industrial 
affairs has been as president of the Bull Durham 
Tobacco Company. How he became interested in 
the tobacco industry and his part in developing 
what is perhaps the most famous tobacco manu- 
facturing and distributing organization in the 
world has been adequately told by Mr. S. A. Ashe 
in the Biographical History of North Carolina. 
That portion of the story is repeated here: 



' ' Soon after his return he was able to make 
the purchase, for $4,000, of a third interest in 
a tobacco partnership which W. T. Blackwell and 
J. R. Day were conducting at Durham. It was 
a small but prosperous business, with hardly any 
capital and no particular prospect of improve- 
ment. That was a day of small things in the 
industrial life of North Carolina. Durham itself 
consisted of only about a dozen houses, and 
excepting a few cotton factories that had sur- 
vived the war and a few small tobacco factories 
there were no industrial enterprises in the state. 
Manufacturing was a new business. Our people 
had not been trained to it, and those who had 
capital feared to embark in an untried field, espe- 
cially as money brought an interest of eighteen 
and twenty-four per cent. However, hopeful of 
the future, the firm of W. T. Blackwell & Com- 
pany, now reinforced by the quick apprehension 
of its junior member, pressed on their work. The 
financial management fell to the care of Mr. Carr, 
and so skillful was he that although he was often 
embarrassed because of insufficient capital, the 
business continued to expand, and after some 
years of hard struggle and persistent labor it be- 
came very profitable. And eventually, under the 
sagacious direction of its managers it grew to 
mammoth proportions, its unparalleled success be- 
ing both gratifying and astonishing to the people 
of the state. Mr. Carr desiring to still further 
expand, Mr. Blackwell sold his interest to him, 
as Mr. Day had done earlier, and the business was 
continued on still larger lines than ever before. 
The creation and successful management of such 
a vast business, no less than the income it gave, 
brought Mr. Carr a great reputation. He was by 
long odds the greatest business man who had up 
to that time ever been in the state, while his 
disposition to make donations to worthy objects 
and his frank, pleasant manners endeared him to 
the public. However, Mr. Carr found it to his 
interest to dispose of his factory, receiving for it 
a large fortune, and since then he has devoted his 
talents to other enterprises." 

One of the largest banks of North Carolina is 
the First National Bank of Durham, which has 
had a prosperous existence of nearly thirty years. 
General Carr has given much- of his time for years 
as president of this institution. He has also 
served as president of the Ormond Mining Com- 
pany and the Durham & Charlotte Railway, and 
as a director of the State University Railway. He 
has originated and had a helpful part in a large 
number of the enterprises which are at the 
foundation of the business prosperity of Durham. 

The means and time of his later years have 
been liberally bestowed upon various causes and 
institutions, both educational and philanthropic. 
He has long served as a member of the Board of 
Trustees of the University of North Carolina, and 
has also been a member of the Durham Board of 
Education and president of the North Carolina 
Children's Home Society. A prominent layman 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, lie was 
a delegate to the Ecumenical Methodist Confer- 
ence at London, and has also given liberally to 
other churches and church causes. To General 
Carr more than to any other individual belongs 
the credit for that saving assistance which tided 
Trinity College over its era of adversity and 
enabled it to grow great and strong as one of 
the finest educational institutions of the South. 
He and two other Methodist laymen agreed to 
conduct the college three years at a time when 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



the Methodist Conference felt compelled to aban- 
don the school, which was then located in Ran- 
dolph County. At .the end of the three years the 
burden of management still devolved upon the 
three self-constituted trustees, and when the 
other two withdrew General Carr assumed the 
entire burden. Later when the college was moved 
to Durham, he contributed $20,000 to pay for the 
fine grounds upon which the institution stands 
today. In a similar manner he headed a syndi- 
cate which restored and revived the fine Wom- 
an's School, Greensboro Female College, when 
that institution too was under the stress of hard 
financial circumstances. Both of these schools 
were institutions of Methodism, but General 
Carr 's beneficence has been impartially bestowed, 
and other institutions that acknowledge his gen- 
erosity are Wake Forest College, Davidson Col- 
lege, Elon College, St. Mary's College, the Bap- 
tist University for Women, while on the campus 
of the University of North Carolina, his alma 
mater, stands ' ' Carr Building ' ' in honor of its 
donor. 

At the outbreak of the Spanish-American war 
Durham furnished two companies, one white and 
the other colored. As there was some delay in 
the assignment of the colored company to its 
proper regiment, General Carr provided for their 
subsistence. To the regiment containing Dur- 
ham 's white company he gave continually of his 
constant care and his liberal means so that the 
army boys should never want for any comforts 
consistent with the army regulations and should 
suffer nothing from the neglect and lack of sys- 
tem which were in such flagrant evidence during 
that war period. While his care and money did 
so much to lighten the situation for the men 
actually at the front, it is said General Carr fur- 
ther sought every case of need in his home town 
and at his own expense defrayed bills of house 
rent, doctor's care and grocery expenses for both 
white and colored soldiers who needed such as- 
sistance. 

General Carr has been one of the most esteemed 
veterans of the war between the states, served 
many years as president of the Confederate Vet- 
eran Association of Xorth Carolina, and one of 
the institutions that has most regularly received 
his donations has been the Soldiers' Home. On 
the organization of the United Veteran Association 
of the Confederate States he was elected major 
general for the Xorth Carolina Division, and has 
filled that office every recurring year. 

A large part of these achievements and services 
might properly be described as his participation 
in public life. But something should also be 
said under the head of his political career. He 
has long been prominent in the party councils of 
the democratic party, and considering his high 
position and his merit it seems strange that the 
party has never been able to combine the time and 
place in honoring him as he has deserved. At 
times his own private business kept him from the 
responsibilities and cares of public office, and at 
other times General Carr gracefully yielded to 
party convenience and allowed the honors of can- 
didacy to go to others. He declined the nomina- 
tion of his party for governor in 1896. In 1900, 
in the National Convention at Kansas City, Gen- 
eral Carr received fourteen votes for the vice- 
presidency, his own state and the state of Idaho 
furnishing that graceful compliment. un the 
same year he was a candidate in his party for 
the office of United States senator, but retired 



from the race in order that the honor might be 
given to Hon. F. M. Simmons. General Carr has 
been a delegate at large to democratic national 
conventions fourteen times and has propably 
exerted as much influence in shaping the fortunes 
of the party within his home state as any other 
individual. General Carr is widely known through 
his public addresses and is a man of splendid 
literary tastes and the wide cultivation of the 
best in literature and art. 

One of the finest auguries of the wholesome- 
ness and soundness of American life has been 
the hearty co-operation of men of great business 
ability and experience with the war administra- 
tion and activities of the Government. Since 
America entered the war with Germany General 
Carr has in many ways rendered important serv- 
ices, and has practically abandoned his private 
interests and business affairs for this purpose. 
For some, months he was in active co-operation 
with Mr. Hoover working out the general plans 
for food regulation and conservation. More re- 
cently his services were directed to the benefit of 
the ship building board. General Carr is now 
absent most of the time from North Carolina and 
is one of the men of wealth and business and so- 
cial prestige who are giving all they have to the 
Government at this time of need. 

February 19, 1873, General Carr married Miss 
Nannie Graham Parrish. Her father, Col. D. C. 
Parrish, owned a beautiful country seat in the 
northern part of what was then Orange, now Dur- 
ham, County. General and Mrs. Carr became the 
parents of six children: Eliza Morehead, who 
became the wife of Henry Corwin Flower of 
Kansas City, Missouri; Lallah Rooke, wife of Wil- 
liam F. Patton of Pennsylvania; Julian S., Jr., 
who married Margaret Cannon, of Concord, North 
Carolina ; Albert Marvin ; Claiborne McDowell ; 
and Austin Heaton. 

William Holt Williamson. In the historic 
Holt homestead "Locust Grove," Alamance 
County, North Carolina, the home of his maternal 
ancestors for several generations, William Holt 
Williamson of Raleigh, North Carolina, was born, 
February 4, 1867. 

Michael Holt (who died about 1783), of the 
first generation of the family in North Carolina 
(and Mr. Williamson's great-great-great-grand- 
father) had made settlement here at an early date, 
and many of his descendants, including the subject- 
of this sketch, first saw the light of day from 
beneath this honored roof-tree; many of them in 
after years attaining distinction through nobility 
of character, unrivalled success in business and in 
the councils of the state and nation. 

Edwin Michael Holt (1807-1884) a great-grand- 
son of the first Michael Holt (and Mr. Williamson's 
grandfather) established the first cotton mills south 
of the Potomac River for the manufacture of 
colored cotton goods, becoming, vir f u..lly the 
founder of the colored cotton goods industry in 
the South. 

The war between the states was responsible 
for the scattering of many southern families 
and for the destruction of their records. To this 
calamity the Williamson family was not an excep- 
tion, though patient research has developed some 
interesting facts relative to several generations 
of the name and relative to the ancestry of the 
families into which the earlier Williamsons 
married. 

The first of the name to whom this branch 



-«*£ 





^^2^7, 




HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



of the Williamson family has been positively 
traced was Nathan Williamson (sometimes called 
Nathaniel) who was born (tradition says in Vir- 
ginia) probably about the year 1750 and who 
died in Caswell County, North Carolina, in the 
year 1839. 

The earliest recorded mention of Nathan Wil- 
liamson (thus far discovered) is on February 9, 
1780, on which date Henry Hays, of Guilford 
County, conveyed to the said Nathan William- 
son (who is described as "of Caswell County"), 
237 acres in Caswell County on both sides of County 
Line Creek. The price paid for the land was 
125 "specie of Virginia." (Caswell County 
Records, Deed Book "A," p. 563.) In October, 
1782, Nathan Williamson obtained by grant, from 
Alexander Martin, Governor of North Carolina, 
200 acres in Caswell County, on the waters of 
County Line Creek, and adjoining John Windsor, 
Jeremiah Williamson, and the said Nathan Wil- 
liamson (Ibid, Deed Book "B," p. 140). From 
all appearances, one is justified in the conclusion 
that Nathan Williamson followed the quiet life 
of a farmer, while from his will and the inven- 
tory of his estate one learns that he was quite 
a successful man for his time, judging from the 
real and personal estate of which he was pos- 
sessed; amons the latter a number of slaves. 

Nathan Wililamson married Sarah Swift. 
Mrs. Williamson was the daughter of William 
Swift, of Caswell County, a successful farmer 
and sheriff of the county in 1792 and 1793, and 
who had gone to Casweli County from Goochland 
County, Virginia. William Swift (who died in 
1808) was the son of the Rev. William Swift, a 
minister of the Church of England, who resided 
in Hanover County, Virginia, where he died in 
1734. 

Nathan and Sarah (Swift) Williamson had 
issue: George Williamson; Martha Williamson, 
who married in 1819, Caswell Tait; Elizabeth 
Williamson, who married in 1812, Samuel Smith; 
Frances Williamson, who married in 1799, Leon- 
ard Prather; Margaret Williamson, who married 
in 1808, Roger Simpson; John Williamson; Swift 
Williamson, who married in 1819, Mary Lea; 
Mary P. Williamson, who married in 1818, Robert 
S. Harris; Anthony Williamson, who married, in 
1818, Eliza K. Lea; Thomas Williamson, who 
married Frances Pannill Banks Farish; Nathan 
Williamson, who died unmarried; Sarah C. Wil- 
liamson, who married Mr. Moss. 

Thomas Williamson (son of Nathan and Sarah 
(Swift) Williamson) was born about the year 
1782 and died in 1848. He was an extensive 
planter and a large merchant. Mr. Williamson 
though frequently urged to enter political life, 
declined to do so, owing to a lofty ambition 
to excel in his business undertakings and feeling 
that success could not be obtained by any divi- 
sion of interests. He achieved marked success 
in the business world, amassing a comfortable 
fortune for the times in which he lived ; further- 
more, winning and holding the respect and friend- 
ship of all with whom he came in contact. 

Thomas Williamson (1782-1848) married 
Frances Pannill Banks Farish, of Chatham 
County, North Carolina, daughter of Thomas and 
Fannie (Banks) Farish. both of whom were na- 
tives of Virginia and .whose ancestors for genera- 
tions had been prominent in the life of that 
colony. Mrs. Williamson was descended from 
Adam Banks, who appears as a purchaser of land 
in Stafford County, in 1674; Thomas Pannill of 



old Rappahannock County, who died in 1677 ; 
Samuel Bayly, who resided at an early day in old 
Rappahannock County, dying in 1710, in Richmond 
County; and, from the Farishes, who settled at 
an early day in the Rappahannock Valley. Repre- 
sentatives of all these families moved from Tide- 
water to the Piedmont section of Virginia; the 
counties of Orange, Culpepper and Madison be- 
coming their homes; and from which, later, 
their descendants removed to Southern Virginia 
and to North Carolina. 

Thomas and Frances Pannill Banks (Farish) 
Williamson had issue: Anthony Swift William- 
son; Emily A. Williamson; Mary Elizabeth Wil- 
liamson; Thomas Farish Williamson; Lynn 
Banks Williamson; Virginia Frances Williamson; 
and James Nathaniel Williamson. 

James Nathaniel Williamson (the last above 
mentioned child) was born March 6, 1842, and was 
therefore but six years of age at the time of his 
father's death. His mother, Mrs. Frances Pannill 
Banks (Farish) Williamson, was a woman of 
markedly strong characteristics, and it was with 
great earnestness and enthusiasm that she turned, 
at the death of her husband, to the careful train- 
ing of her young family. Thomas Williamson 
had desired that his son, James Nathaniel Wil- 
liamson, should be educated along the most lib- 
eral lines, and to the execution of this plan Mrs. 
Williamson devoted great energy. 

James Nathaniel Williamson pursued his early 
studies in the well known preparatory school of 
Dr. Alexander Wilson, at Melville, Alamance 
County, who said of young Williamson that he 
was one of the "best in his classes." In 1860 
Mr. Williamson entered Davidson College, and at 
the age of nineteen years he responded to his 
native state's call to her sons to arms in the war 
between the states. He enlisted as member of 
the First Company raised in Caswell County — Com- 
pany "A," Thirteenth North Carolina Regiment. 
Following the fortunes of the Confederacy to the 
bitter end, he served in many of the greatest 
battles of the war and was twice wounded, re- 
ceiving his parol at Appomattox as captain of 
Company "F," Thirty-eighth North Carolina 
Regiment. Returning at the close of the war to 
his home farm Caswell County, and amidst the 
chaos that then reigned, Captain Williamson, with 
grim determination, undertook the reconstruction 
of a shattered fortune. With a few faithful 
negroes, who were formerly numbered among his 
negro property, he went to work, and it was not 
long before order began to emerge from chaos. 

Shortly after his return from the war, Cap- 
tain Williamson married, on September 5, 1865, 
Mary Elizabeth Holt daughter of Edwin Michael 
Holt, of Alamance County. The branch of the 
Holt family of North Carolina, which resides 
in Alamance County, is descended from Michael 
Holt, who came into the colony at an early day 
(supposedly from Virginia) and settled in what 
was afterwards Orange County, now Alamance. 
Michael Holt secured a large grant of land from 
the Earl of Granville. This land, to which many 
additions have been made, from time to time, is 
now covered by the towns of Graham and Bur- 
lington. , 

Michael Holt died about 1785. His son the 
second Michael Holt, had been one of the leaders 
for law and order, opposing the violent outrages 
of the Regulars prior to the Revolution, and he 
suffered much in consequence. He was slow in 
siding against the King, and, in the early days 



8 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



of the war period, was arrested and carried to 
Philadelphia, but was released upon the presenta- 
tion of the facts in the case. Though he did not 
enter the war, he did a noble part by the Army 
in providing for its sustenance. He was the 
father of five sons and five daughters. A son, 
Joseph, by his first wife, Margaret O 'Neill, moved 
to Kentucky. By his second wife, Jean Lockart, 
he had four sons and three daughters. Michael, 
the sixth of these seven children, was the father 
of Edwin Michael Holt. To the genius, industry 
and indomitable perseverance of this latter is 
due the founding of the Holt cotton mill business 
in North Carolina. 

Edwin M. Holt married Emily Farish and was 
the father of ten children, among them Mary " 
Elizabeth Holt, who married James Nathaniel 
Williamson. 

Mr. Holt's idea (which he shared with preced- 
ing generations) was that families whose inter- 
ests were in common, should remain together, and 
thus the husbands of his daughters became iden- 
tified with the Holt family in its large manufac- 
turing interests. In this spirit, Mr. Holt invited 
Captain Williamson to unite with him and his 
four sons in the manufacture of cotton goods, 
and Captain Williamson accepted the invitation. 

For several years after his marriage Captain 
Williamson made his home at Locust Grove in 
Alamance, but after the erection, near Graham, 
in the same county, of the Carolina Mills, in 
which he was a partner, he moved to that place, 
where he still resides. 

William Holt Williamson, of this sketch, is the 
son of James Nathaniel and Mary , Elizabeth 
(Holt) Williamson, and was born at Locust 
Grove, Alamance County, North Carolina, Feb- 
ruary 4, 1867. He was enrolled, in his seventh 
year, as a pupil in the school of the Bev. Archibald 
Currie, a school in which many prominent North 
Carolinians received their early education. After- 
wards, he attended Lynch 's Preparatory School, 
at High Point, and in 1882, entered Davidson Col- 
lege. He remained in college two years after 
finishing the sophomore course. Though quite 
young to leave college, the inclination to be at 
work, and filial affection, developed into an irre- 
sistible desire to be with, and a help to, his 
father, in the eqtton mills. After the great suc- 
cess of the Carolina Cotton Mills, on Haw Elver, 
Captain Williamson had built the Ossipee Cotton 
Mills in Alamance County, operating the latter 
in his own name. 

In June, 1884, in the Ossipee establishment, 
William Holt Williamson first began work on the 
very ' ' lowest rung of the ladder. ' ' For some- 
time he worked for but a nominal salary, which 
was gradually increased a§ his work became more 
effective and his ability was proved. On January 
1, 1888, he was admitted to partnership in the 
business with a one-seventh interest. Mr. Wil- 
liamson was then of age, and the firm name was 
changed to "J. N. Williamson and Son. ' ' In 

1891, James N. Williamson, Junior (a brother of 
William Holt Williamson) was admitted to mem- 
bership in the firm, and the former designation 
of "Son" became "Sons." Between 1888 and 

1892, the firm's business was highly successful; 
the colored cotton cloths becoming known through- 
out the United States by a constantly increasing 
trade. 

In 1892, William Holt Williamson, established 
the Pilot Cotton Mills, and began the erection of 
a plant in Ealeigh, which was finished and placed 



in operation in 1893. Associated with him in this 
undertaking were his father, James N. William- 
son, and his mother, Mrs. Mary E. Williamson, 
and later, his brother, James N. Williamson, Jr. 
In 1907, this business was incorporated under the 
name of the Pilot Cotton Mills Company, with 
William H. Williamson as president and treasurer, 
James Nathaniel Williamson, Jr., as vice president 
and A. V. D. Smith, as secretary. The Pilot Cot- 
ton Mills Company's plant contains 425 looms, 
about eleven thousand spindles, manufacturing 
about seven and a half million yards of cloth 
annually. The product of the Pilot Mills is 
known throughout the United States, while for 
exportation to the Philippines, South America 
and the West Indies, other fabrics are manu- 
factured. This mill has maintained a splendid 
record for ' ' working time, ' '' having operated 
about six thousand days in the twenty years up 
to January 1, 1915, an average of practically three 
hundred working days to the year. The enterprise 
of the Williamsons and Holts have given an 
impetus to the commercial life of the state, the 
fabrics of which they are manufacturers being 
known and used throughout the world. 

Mr. Williamson's interests are many and 
varied. He is president and treasurer of The 
Pilot Cotton Mills, at Ealeigh ; vice president of 
the James N. Williamson and Sons Company, 
operating the Ossipee and Hopedale Mills at Bur- 
lington; director of the Harriet Cotton Mills, at 
Henderson, and vice president and a director of 
the Merchants National Bank at Ealeigh. His 
interest in educational matters has led to his ac- 
cepting membership in the board of directors of 
the North Carolina State College of Agriculture 
and Engineering of Ealeigh. Mr. Williamson is 
a member of Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity, and 
was, at one time, a member of the Capital Club of 
Ealeigh, and a member of its board of governors. 
He was also a member of the late Southern So- 
ciety of New York. The Ealeigh Country Club, 
of which he was the president, when the club was 
first opened, was built under Mr. Williamson's 
supervision, and he is now a member of it. 

Mr. Williamson is a democrat in politics, and 
though not in sympathy with all of the policies 
of that party, still, as the platform of that party 
comes nearer than any other towards meeting 
with his political views, he has maintained affilia- 
tion therewith. He is an Episcopalian in religious 
affiliation, and a vestryman of Christ Chinch, 
Ealeigh, and a member and vice president of the 
Church Club of that parish. In accordance with 
a request of his employees in the Pilot Cotton 
Mills, and that he might fraternize with them, 
Mr. Williamson became a member of the Junior 
Order of the United American Mechanics. 

Mr. Williamson has a winter home in De Land, 
Florida, where he goes for much needed rest from 
business duties. He greatly enjoys outdoor life, 
and is a devotee of golf. Hunting and fishing are 
also among his pastimes. 

William Holt Williamson married, December 
1, 1897, Miss Sadie Saunders Tucker, daughter 
of Eufus S. and Florence Perkins Tucker, of 
Ealeigh, who was born November 28, 1872. Their 
children are Sadie Tucker, who died in infancy; 
William Holt, Jr., born December 5, 1903, and 
Sarah Tucker, born September 13, 1912. 

Mr. Williamson has the rare gift of clear and 
concise expression, and in no way could the actu- 
ating principles of his life be better described 
than by using his own words extracted from a 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



recent statement concerning himself and his 
business. 

He says : ' ' Since I was old enough to think 
on such subjects, I made up my mind to adopt a 
business career, following the work of my father, 
a cotton manufacturer. Upon entering upon the 
labors and duties connected with that business I 
endeavored to make the object of my life and 
work first to transact my business by honest 
dealings and then to conduct it with a view to 
the betterment of my fellow men, and for the 
upbuilding of the community in which I was 
located. 

' ' I have always endeavored to help my employ- 
ees by bettering their condition, mentally, mor- 
ally, physically and financially. In our mill stores 
we sold only the very best and absolutely pure 
groceries, even before the pure food laws were 
enacted. I have always believed in paying the 
best wages possible, also in providing comfort- 
able homes for the employees, and have aided 
them in the beautifying of their yards, encour- 
aged them in their gardening, and have looked to 
clean surroundings for them and to the provid- 
ing of pure drinking water. I felt that after I 
had provided honest work, a good, comfortable 
home and good surroundings in a healthy locality, 
had given them the best wages and their children 
an opportunity to receive an education, I had 
practically done my part by them. I might also 
add that I provided churches to aid the develop- 
ment of the moral and spiritual side of their 
nature. 

' ' The Pilot Mill Village is considered one of 
the neatest and most attractive in the State of 
North Carolina; the Mill school one of the best 
equipped in the country, and there is hearty co- 
operation among the teachers, scholars, parents 
and the management of the mill. The school has 
the best of teachers and has captured the silver 
cup for punctuality five years in succession. 

"While the prime object in running a busi- 
ness is to make money, I have always felt that 
there is something more to be gotten out of it 
than mere money and profit. While it must neces- 
sarily make money to be successful, and the 
money-making end cannot and must not be 
ignored, still, while this is being done I have felt 
it to be the duty of all employers to set a good 
example to their employees of thrift, honesty, 
industry, and sobriety, and also to let these 
people know that you feel an interest in them 
and have their welfare at heart. ' ' 

The Hall Family. America's rapid and won- 
derful development and the opulence of the 
country's resources are no doubt largely to blame 
for the lack of permanence in American families 
and homes. It is most rare and unusual to find the 
present generation enjoying the scenes and associa- 
tions of a community where the family took root 
more than a century before. While North Caro- 
lina has many of its old families there are very few 
whose lives have been lived out from generation 
to generation in one favored spot. 

There is one of the pleasant distinctions asso- 
rted with the Hall family of Dunlap, Iredell 
County. The present representative of the family 
is Dr. Eugenius Alexander Hall, who is now in his 
eightieth year, has recently rounded out a half 
century of service as a physician and surgeon, and 
is today living on land which his ancestors settled 
165 years ago and when the Carolinas were prov- 
inces of Great Britain. 



The house where he now resides in Bethany 
Township seven miles north of Statesville was the 
scene of his birth in 1839. He is a son of Hugh B. 
and Mary C. (Nisbet) Hall. His father was born 
on the homestead September 16, 1802, and died in 
1856. A teacher by profession, he was at the head 
of Ebenezer Academy which he founded in 1822 
and which he conducted for twenty-five years. This 
famous old school was near the Hall home, at 
Bethany Church, and like its predecessor, the Acad- 
emy of Sciences, founded by another noted mem- 
ber of the family, it attracted students from all 
over the South. Prof. Hugh R. Hall was a son 
of Alexander Hall. 

Doubtless the most noted member of this fam- 
ily was Dr. James Hall. Some reference to his 
life should be made, though for an adequate treat- 
ment the reader is referred to Foot's Sketches. 
Dr. James Hall was born at Carlisle, Pennsylvania, 
in 1744, of Scotch-Irish parentage. His father, 
James Hall the first, had emigrated from the North 
of Ireland to Pennsylvania, and from that province 
came to North Carolina with his family in 1752. 
Here he located what for many generations has 
been known as the Hall homestead, but was then 
in Rowan County. In 1856 James Hall bought from 
Earl Granville 600 acres of land on Fifth Creek, 
near the present Bethany Church. In 1761 he ob- 
tained a grant to 430 adjoining acres. In this then 
lonely spot of wilderness he built his cabin and 
settled near the creek south of the present resi- 
dence of Doctor Hall. James Hall, the pioneer, was 
the ancestor of more than sixty Presbyterian min- 
isters and about thirty ministers ' wives. His own 
family consisted of ten children. His church cer- 
tificate, now in the possession of Dr. E. A. Hall, 
bears date August 20, 1751, and was issued by 
Conawaga Church near Carlisle, Pennsylvania. 

Dr. James Hall was educated at Princeton under 
the presidency of Doctor Witherspoon. He became 
famous in three activities of life — as a teacher, a 
minister and a soldier in the Revolutionary war. 
His school, widely known as the College of Sciences, 
was first located at Clio, but was subsequently 
moved and established on the Hall homestead. It 
was established in what is now Iredell County 
about 1777 and was known as "Clio Nursery," but 
a year or two later Doctor Hall established at his 
own home the "Academy of Sciences. ' ' This 
famous school was continued for many years, and 
prior to the founding of the State University was 
considered the best scientific school in the state. 
It was a center of culture and the place of in- 
spiration and education for young people through- 
out this section of the state and students also came 
to it from the best families in nearly all the south- 
ern states. A large number of eminent men re- 
ceive their scientific education there besides numer- 
ous ministers who studied theology under Doctor 
Hall. Among these students were Governor An- 
drew Pickens of South Carolina, Israel Pickens, 
later governor of Alabama, Hon. Joseph Pearson 
of North Carolina, and Judge Williams of Ten- 
nessee. 

Doctor Hall founded a circulating library for 
his students, in a day when books were 1 scarce and 
expensive. He wrote his own grammar, issuing it 
in manuscript form in duplicate conies. In that 
time it was regarded as one of the best works of 
its kind. 

Dr. James Hall received his Bachelor's degree 
from Princeton College in 1774 in his thirty-first 
year. He was licensed to preach by the Presbytery 
of Orange in 1775. In April, 1778, lie was installed 



10 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



as pastor of the United Congregation of Fourth 
Creek, Concord and Bethany, these three churches 
being in the Concord Presbytery of North Caro- 
lina. Princeton, his alma mater, honored him with 
the degree Doctor of Divinity as did also the Uni- 
versity t of North Carolina. 

A full account of his actions as a Revolutionary 
soldier during the war against England would fill 
a volume. He was a most ardent and militant 
patriot and gave evidence of this in all his teaching 
and preaching. While he maintained his ministerial 
and educational work while the war was going on, 
on numerous occasions he went into active mili- 
tary service at the front line of battle. A company 
of cavalry being organized in Rowan County he 
was chosen its leader, and in 1779 led it on an 
expedition lasting several months into South Caro- 
lina. Later he went as chaplain with the American 
expedition sent to quell the Indians in the Cherokee 
country of Georgia. 

On his tombstone in Bethany Churchyard is the 
following inscription: "Beneath this stone are 
deposited the remains of Rev. James Hall, D. D., 
who departed this life July 25, 1826, in the 86th 
year of his age. For twelve years he sustained the 
office of pastor to the united congregations of 
Fourth Creek, Bethany and Concord, and for 
twenty-six years to that of Bethany alone. He was 
a man of science as well as piety; and for his ex- 
tensive labors in the cause of his Divine Master as 
well as for his great usefulness as a preceptor of 
youth, his memory is embalmed in the hearts of his 
people. ' ' 

Dr. E. A. Hall's career has been in keeping with 
the splendid traditions of this old family. He was 
educated in Ebenezer Academy, his father's school, 
and took up the study of medicine at Statesville 
under Doctor Long and Doctor Campbell. He 
finished his medical education in the University of 
Maryland, at Baltimore. 

Hon. James S. Manning. No name has more 
illustrious associations with the legal profession 
and the public life of North Carolina than Man- 
ning. Hundreds of men now prominent in the bar 
both in this state and elsewhere take pride in re- 
ferring to their association with or instruction un- 
der the late John Manning, LL. D., the founder of 
the law school of the University of North Carolina, 
for many years its dean and whose influence both 
in and out of school left its lasting impress for 
good upon the bar of the state. 

A son of this distinguished master of jurispru- 
dence is James S. Manning of Raleigh. James S. 
Manning has also found well merited distinction. 
He served for a time on the Supreme Bench of the 
state, is a former president of the North Carolina 
Bar Association, and more than thirty years' expe- 
rience have brought him to a first rank at the 
bar. 

He was born at Pittsboro, North Carolina, June 
1, 1859. He comes of a family of lawyers and 
statesmen, and his great-uncle was at one time 
chief justice of the Supreme Court of Louisiana. 
Judge Manning's mother was Louisa Jones (Hall) 
Manning, a grand-daughter of Judge John Hall 
of the North Carolina Supreme Court. 

Thus the dignity and responsibility of the legal 
profession were realized almost as a birthright by 
James S. Manning. For a third of a century he 
has devoted his energies to his profession, and is 
still as active in his work as at any time in his 
life. Mr. Manning has the qualities of a vigorous 
intellect, a fine physique due to early training and 



habits of strict moderation, and with these as a 
foundation experience and training have brought 
him some of the most coveted honors of profes- 
sional life. 

After the course of the Pittsboro schools he 
entered in 1875 the University of North Carolina, 
in the year that its work was first resumed after 
reconstruction days. He graduated in 1879, and 
for two and one-half years taught a private school 
in Pittsboro. Re-entering the university, he com- 
pleted the law course and in 1882 was licensed to 
practice. For thirty years Mr. Manning had his 
home and his office at Durham. In 1893 he asso- 
ciated with him Howard A. Foushee and their 
partnership continued until Judge Manning was 
appointed to the Supreme Court Bench in 1909. 
He was appointed to fill an unexpired term, and 
remained on the bench until January, 1911. To 
his work as a judge he brought an unusual breadth 
of experience and the seasoned maturity of judg- 
ment which is the highest mark of a lawyer, and 
during his brief service as supreme judge he wrote 
many important opinions, each one characterized 
by patient and painstaking research and forceful 
and logical reasoning. 

In 1911 Judge Manning became associated in 
practice with R. O. Everett, but in 1913 came to 
Raleigh and associated in practice with former 
Governor Kitchin. In 1916 Judge Manning was 
elected attorney general of North Carolina and 
is now serving the state in that office. 

He has played the role of public spirited citizen 
with no less efficiency and service than as a 
lawyer. In 1906 he was elected to the Legislature 
from Durham County and served as chairman of 
the Committee on Public Service Corporations. In 
1908 he became a member of the State Senate in 
which he was chairman of the Judiciary Committee. 
He has always been a loyal democrat and is a con- 
stant worker for the welfare of his home city and 
state. He has served as president of the Country 
Club, is a member of the Capital Club, the Mil- 
burnie Fishing Club, of the Chamber of Commerce, 
for many years has been a trustee of the State 
University, and is a communicant of Christ Epis- 
copal Church. 

In 1888 he married Miss Julia Cain of Hills- 
boro, North Carolina. They are the parents < f six 
children: John Hall, formerly a practicing 
attorney at Kinston, North Carolina, now captain 
Headquarters Company, One Hundred and Nine- 
teenth Infantry Regiment, U. S. A.; James S., Jr., 
who was in the cotton manufacturing business at 
Durham, now first lieutenant Headquarters Three 
Hundred and Twenty-second Infantry Regiment, 
U. S. A.; Frederick' C, C. A. C. Fort Caswell: 
Sterling of Raleigh; and Miss Julia Cain and 
Miss Anna Louise. 

James Ramsey Alexander, M. D. One of the 
most prominent physicans and sursreons of Char- 
lotte, and secretary and treasurer of the Presbyte- 
rian Hospital of that city, Dr. James Ramsey Al- 
exander belongs to what is probablv the most 
famous family in the history of Mecklenburg 
County, North Carolina. He is a son of William 
Davidson and Sue (Ramsey) Alexander, a grand- 
son of Robert Davidson Alexander, a great-grand- 
son of William Bain Alexander, and a great- 
great-grandson of John McKnitt Alexander, the 
leading spirit in the Mecklenburg Declaration of 
Independence. 

John McKnitt Alexander was secretary of the 
convention, May 20, 1775, at which the Mecklen- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



11 



burg Declaration was put forth, and had in his 
possession the original copy of this famous reso- 
lution, which was destroyed in the burning of 
his home, but which he afterward, with the ad- 
herence to actual facts and exact truth charac- 
teristic of his race, reproduced from memory and 
preserved in his own handwriting. A number of 
other members of the Alexander family, all rela- 
tives of more or less degree, were signers of the 
Mecklenburg Declaration, and their names appear 
on the Mecklenburg monument which was erected 
in 1898 in front of the Mecklenburg County Court- 
house. John McKnitt Alexander was born near 
Elkton, Cecil County, Maryland, the son of James 
Alexander, who was born in the North of Ireland 
of Scotch parents, came with his father, Joseph 
Alexander, to America about 1711, together with 
a number of other Alexanders, first settled in 
Pennsylvania, and finally moved to Maryland. 
James Alexander married the daughter of John 
McKnitt, and about the middle of the eighteenth 
century moved with his family to Mecklenburg 
County, North Carolina. John McKnitt Alexander 
was in the Revolutionary war, and piloted General 
Greene 's forces across the Catawba River at 
Cowan's Ford. 

The father of Doctor Alexander, Squire Wil- 
liam Davidson Alexander, who is now a magistrate 
of Charlotte, lived for a long number of years 
on his farm ten miles north of Charlotte, in Meck- 
lenburg County, but removed to Charlotte in more 
recent years. Mrs. Sue (Ramsey) Alexander, now 
deceased, was the daughter of the late Dr: J. G. 
M. Ramsey, of Tennessee, the noted historian of 
that state and author of the "Annals of Tennes- 
see, ' ' one of the accepted authorities of Tennes- 
see history. Among other features, these ' ' An- 
nals ' ' contain what is declared by historians to 
be the best and most authentic account of the 
battle of King's Mountain in the Revolutionary 
war. Doctor Ramsey was himself a grandson of 
John McKnitt Alexander, so that Doctor Alexan- 
der is a great-great-grandson of this historic fig- 
ure, both on his father 's and mother 's sides. Mrs. 
Alexander was born at the beautiful estate of 
the Ramsey 's near Knoxville, Tennessee, but soon 
after the breaking out of the Civil war came to 
Charlotte as a refugee and was here married. 

James Ramsey Alexander was born in 1870 on 
the Alexander farm, ten miles north of Char- 
lotte. He attended a private school, known as the 
Alexandria School, in Mecklenburg County, as 
well as Hopewell Academy, and after two years 
as a student at Davidson College received his 
medical education in the University of Maryland, 
from which institution he was graduated in 1894. 
He has been engaged in the practice of his pro- 
fession at Charlotte since that time and has stead- 
ily risen to a place of prominence. He is now 
secretary and treasurer of the Charlotte Presby- 
terian Hospital, and a member of the Mecklen- 
burg County Medical Society, the North Carolina 
Medical Society and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. 

Doctor Alexander married Miss Mary Johnston, 
daughter of John Johnston, of Gaston County, 
North Carolina, and to this union there have been 
born six children, namely: Laura Johnston, Mar- 
garet Barton, James Ramsey, Jr., John Johnston, 
Mary Helen and Davidson McKnitt. 

Henry Fries Shaffner is vice president of the 
Wachovia Bank & Trust Company of Winston- 
Salem, the largest and strongest bank in North 



Carolina and one of the largest in the South. He 
has been active in business affairs in Winston- 
Salem for thirty years. 

His own career is only part of the honorable rec- 
ord sustained by the Shaffner family in this sec- 
tion of North Carolina for over eighty years. Mr. 
Shaffner 's grandfather, Henry Shaffner, was bom 
in Canton Basle, Switzerland, March 28, 1798, was 
reared and educated in his native land, served an 
apprenticeship at the trade of potter, and in 1833 
immigrated to America, making the voyage on a 
sailing vessel. He soon located at Salem, North 
Carolina, where he became a manufacturer of 
earthen ware, pipes and other similar materials. 
He was a substantial business man in old Salem 
and lived there until his death. He bought and 
owned for many years the first house ever erected 
on the site of Salem, and his business was con- 
ducted in that location. This house stood on Lib- 
erty Street, and a tablet has been placed on its 
site commemorating its historic importance in the 
annals of the town. Henry Shaffner married 
Lavina Hauser. She was born in what is now 
Forsyth County, and her ancestors were among the 
pioneers there. After her death Henry Shaffner 
married Amelia Meinung. By the first marriage 
there were two children : Maria Elizabeth and John 
Francis. By the second marriage there were two 
daughters: Louisa Caroline and Sarah Elizabeth, 
both teachers in Salem Academy and College. 

The late Dr. John Francis Shaffner, father of 
the Winston-Salem banker, was a man whose per- 
sonal character and activities entitled him to nu- 
merous distinctions, and his name was always asso- 
ciated with the best in the civic and commercial 
affairs of Winston-Salem. From a memorial trib- 
ute found in the records of the Salem congrega- 
tion of the Moravian Church it is possible to 
give all the more important details of his life 
and experience. 

He was born at Salem July 14, 1838, and died 
there September 18, 1908, at the age of seventy 
years, two months and four days. He was bap- 
tized July 20, 1838, and on April 1, 1855, became 
a full member of the Moravian Church by the rite 
of confirmation, and four days later partook of the 
Holy Communion. His education was acquired in 
the Moravian schools in Salem and under private 
teachers, notably Mr. William Meinung, and his 
medical education at Jefferson Medical College 
at Philadelphia was completed with his graduation 
March 14, 1860. After graduating in Medicine 
he settled at Salem and took up practice. 

In 1861 Dr. Shaffner volunteered as a private in 
Company A, afterward Company D, Capt. A. H. 
Belo, Twenty-first Regiment North Carolina 
Troops. For a limited period he served as assist- 
ant surgeon with the Seventh, Twenty-first and 
Thirty-third regiments. He was promoted to sur- 
geon in the Confederate Army in March, 1862, and 
served in the field with the Fourth and Fifth regi- 
ments, North Carolina Troops, and as brigade 
surgeon of Branch's and Ramseur's brigades until 
the surrender of General Lee's army at Appomat- 
tox Court House, April 9, 1865. Thus for four 
years he was in the vortex of that mighty con- 
flict. 

The chronicler of the Fourth Regiment said: 
"Chief Surgeon J. F. Shaffner was a young man 
of splendid ability; a man of education and fine 
attainments and always faithful to the important 
tasks committed to him. ' ' The historian of the 
Thirty-third Regiment has this to say of him: 



12 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



"Our surgeons, Dr. J. F. Shaffner and John A. 
Vigal, were the kindest and best of men. They 
were ideal surgeons — capable, honest, firm, sym- 
pathetic, self sacrificing, courageous and unremit- 
ting in their attention to the sick and wounded, 
oftentimes exposing themselves to imminent peril 
in the discharge of their official duties. By such 
unflinching heroism and devotion to duty they won 
the undying gratitude of the entire command. ' ' 
Dr. Shaffner was once captured while attending 
some wounded men who had necessarily been left 
behind. He always cherished friendships formed 
during the four years of his army life and espe- 
cially in his last years showed the deepest interest 
;md sympathy in matters relating to the Confed- 
erate Veterans. He was a charter member of Nor- 
ileet Camp, U. C. V. 

After the war Dr. Shaffner resumed the practice 
of medicine in his native town, and in 1867 estab- 
lished a drug store there. He was a member of 
the North Carolina Medical Society, in 1872 was 
sent as a delegate to the American Medical Asso- 
ciation by the state society, and was the society's 
orator in 1877 and its president in 1880. For 
four years he was one of the seven members con- 
stituting the Medical Examining Board for the 
State of North Carolina. 

Active in the movement which resulted in the 
building of the Northwestern North Carolina Rail- 
way, he was elected a director of that company 
in 1870. At the time of his death he was vice 
president and director in the Winston-Salem Build- 
ing & Loan Association, having been connected 
with it since its organization. In various ways 
he was identified with business interests and his 
judgment was highly prized by his associates. He 
was the first president of the Salem Water Supply 
Company, and was officially connected therewith 
when its plant was transferred to the Town of 
Salem. He served the Town of Salem as commis- 
sioner and later as mayor from 1878 to 1884. He 
served several terms as a. member of the school 
board of the Salem Boys' School, and was a trus- 
tee of Salem congregation from 1878 to 1890, and 
for several years a member of the financial board 
of the province. He was, as this record shows, a 
gifted man, endowed with rare traits of mind 
and heart, lived an exemplary life in which he 
wronged no one and helped hundreds, and he 
numbered his personal friends by the score. 

On February 16, 1865, Dr. Shaffner married 
Caroline Louisa Fries. She was born in Salem, 
daughter of Francis and Lisetta (Vogler) Fries. 
Her mother was a daughter of John and Christina 
(Spach) Vogler. For many years John Vogler 
operated the only jewelry store in Salem. Dr. 
Shaffner was survived by his widow and four of 
their five children, and at the time of his death he 
also had seven living, grandchildren, one grandson 
having died before him. The four children who 
grew up were Henry Fries, William Francis, C. 
Lisetta and J. Francis, Jr. 

.Mr. Henry Fries Shaffner was born in Salem, 
September 19, 1867, and as a boy attended Mrs. 
Welfare's select school and the Salem Boys' 
School. In 1884 he entered the sophomore class 
of the University of North Carolina, and was grad- 
uated in 1887. From university, Mr. Shaffner 
returned home, had a brief experience ns clerk in 
his father 's drug store, and then took up the 
operation of the pottery originally established by 
his grandfather. 

In 1893 Mr. Shaffner became secretary and treas- 



urer of the Wachovia Loan & Trust Company. 
When this company was consolidated with the 
Wachovia National Bank in 1911, becoming the 
Wachovia Bank & Trust Company, he was chosen 
vice president of the new institution and has filled 
that office to the present time. While he gives all 
his time to the affairs of the bank, he has inter- 
ests in various manufacturing enterprises. For 
several years he was secretary and treasurer of the 
Salem Water Supply Company, and served several 
terms as a member of the Board of Commissioners 
of the Town of Salem, and was a member of the 
first board of aldermen of the consolidated City 
of Winston-Salem. He and his wife are active 
members of the Home Moravian Church, and he 
is a member and president of the central board of 
trustees of the Salem congregation. 

Mr. Shaffner w r as married in 1901 to Agnes Ger- 
trude Siewers. She was born in Salem, daugh- 
ter of Dr. Nathaniel and Eleanor Elizabeth (De 
Schweinitz) Siewers. Mr. and Mrs. Shaffner have 
four living children : Eleanor Caroline, Anna Paul- 
ina, Emil Nathaniel and Louis De Schweinitz. A 
fifth child, Henry Siewers, died in infancy. 

James Clinton Smoot, one of the leading busi- 
ness men of North Wilkesboro, has rendered his 
service and made his success in life largely by fol- 
lowing out the well established lines and channels 
through which his family for several generations 
back have expressed their genius for business and 
industry. The Smoots have been tanners for prob- 
ably a century or more, but the early generations 
had their business in Virginia. It was due to the 
enterprise of James Clinton Smoot and his two 
cousins, Henry and William B. Smoot, that Wilkes 
County, North Carolina, has been supplied with 
an important industry and one which has enabled 
that section to utilize many formerly waste products 
and convert them into profitable commodities. Thus 
these men have not only developed a large and 
profitable business but have brought forward the 
industrial development of Western North Caro- 
lina in one important and essential line. 

Mr. Smoot is a Virginian by birth, having been 
born at Alexandria on the Potomac River. His first 
American ancestor was a Hollander named William 
Smoote. This Hollander was owner of vessels en- 
gaged in the merchant marine service. From Hol- 
land he went to England and married Elizabeth 
Wood. In early colonial times they came to Amer- 
ica and were among the pioneers in Maryland. 
Their descendants are still found in various states. 

The grandfather of James Clinton Smoot was 
Charles C. Smoot, Sr., who was born in St. Mary's 
County, Maryland. He moved to Alexandria, Vir- 
ginia, and there in the early part of the last cen- 
tury established the tannery in 1820 which he 
operated the rest of his active career. He died 
in 1867. The name of his wife was Sarah Bryan, 
a lifelong resident of Virginia. 

Charles C. Smoot, Jr., who was born at Alex- 
andria, A'irginia, in 1826, became associated with 
his brother, John B., in the ownership of the tan- 
nery established by their fathers at Alexandria 
and continued the industry there for many years. 
The production of leather was an invaluable re- 
source in time of war as in peace, and the opera- 
tion of the tannery was a bigger service to the 
Confederate government than anything Charles C. 
Smoot could have done as a soldier in the field. 
For that reason he was exempt from military 
duty. His death occurred in 1884. He married 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



13 



Susan A. Smoot, who was born May 26, 1827, 
daughter of Hezekiah and granddaughter of Rev. 
Charles Smoot. She is still living, active and vig- 
orous, though on May 26, 1917, she celebrated her 
ninetieth birthday. Her family consists of one 
son and four daughters: James Clinton, Cora, 
Florence, Loula and Sue Ella. 

James Clinton Smoot attended school in Alex- 
andria, Virginia, and the Bethlehem Military Acad- 
emy near Warrington, Virginia. He also had a 
business course in a college at Washington, Dis- 
trict of Columbia. At an early age he became 
associated with his father in the tanning business, 
and was active head of the tannery at Alexandria 
until 1897. 

In the previous year, 1896, with his cousins, 
William B. and Henry Smoot, he established a tan- 
nery at North Wilkesboro. At first the capacity 
of the plant was 100 hides per day. It now handles 
250 per day. The importance of this industry 
lies in the fact that it furnishes a ready market 
for bark, which is essential in the tanning in- 
dustry. Up to that time tanbark had been a wasted 
product in Wilkes County. The gathering of this 
bark now affords an occupation at good wages to 
many men, and the bark itself brings in large 
revenues. 

Mr. Smoot married in 1861 Frank Elizabeth 
Wood. Their five children have been: Ida M., who 
died at an early age; Charles C, Sibyl H., Frances 
E., and James C, Jr. Charles C. married Rebecca 
Lloyd Uhler, and their four children are named 
Rebecca Lloyd, Frank C, Charles C. and Catherine. 
The daughter, Sibyl H., is the wife of Edward F. 
Finley, and they have two children named Julia 
Gwynn and Edward Smoot. 

Kenneth Ogden Burgwin, one of the able 
young lawyers of the Wilmington bar, was gradu- 
ated in the law department of the University of 
North Carolina in 1912, and in the same year 
located at Wilmington, where he has since ap- 
plied himself to the task of building up a general 
practice, and has already securely established him- 
self in the confidence of an important clientage. 
On the 1st of October, 1916, the partnership of 
McClaunny & Burgwin, attorneys at law, was 
formed. 

He was born in Edgecombe, North Carolina, 
March 23, 1890, a son of Hill and Susan (Nash) 
Burgwin. His father was also an attorney. 
Most of his early education he acquired in an 
Episcopal church school at Wayne, Pennsylvania, 
but returned to North Carolina and entered the 
State University for his academic training. He 
was graduated in the literary course in 1911, and 
the following year completed his law studies. He 
is a member of the North Carolina Bar Associa- 
tion, the Cape Fear Club, the North Carolina 
Yacht Club, the Cape Fear Country Club, the 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics and 
the Knights of Pythias. 

Bartholomew Figures Moore, one of the most 
gifted of North Carolina's lawyers during the 
middle period of the last century, was born in 
Halifax County January 20, 1801, and died at 
Raleigh November 27, i87S. His father, James 
Moore, was a noted soldier of the Revolution. He 
finished his education in 1820 in the State Univer- 
sity and studied law under Thomas N. Mann of 
Nash County. He began practice in that county 
in 1823 and about ten years later moved to a smail 
farm in Halifax County. He continued the dili- 



gent pursuit of his profession and served in the 
(State Legislature in 1836, 1810, 1842 and 1844. 
In 1848 Governor Graham appointed him attorney 
general of the state, an office he held by reelection 
until May, 1851. He resigned to become a mem- 
ber of the commission to revise the statute laws 
of the state. In 1848 he removed to Raleigh. 

He early secured his high reputation as an able 
and profound lawyer by the elaborate brief he 
prepared in the celebrated case of State vs. Will, 
a case which awakened profound interest through- 
out the country and settled the true relations be- 
tween master and slave in North Carolina. He 
was a whig in politics, and a bold and avowed 
Union man. After the war he was sought out and 
consulted by the President of the United States 
regarding reconstruction, and was a leading mem- 
ber of the State Convention to form a new con- 
stitution. But he vigorously opposed the policy 
of the Government to force negro suffrage upon 
the South, and was equally hostile to the military 
rule which was one of the most odious features of 
the reconstruction. 

As a lawyer and citizen his achievements and 
influence are excellently summarized in an editorial 
from the Raleigh Observer: "For years Mr. 
Moore has been revered as the father of the Bar 
in North Carolina, and dying, leaves behind him 
a reputation that will for all time to come be a 
priceless legacy, not only to the profession of 
which he was so long the head and front, but to 
the people of the entire state as well. There was 
never a man perhaps in North Carolina since tne 
days of tne great Willie Jones of Revolutionary 
fame, whose mere opinions carried more weight 
with them than did those of Mr. Moore, and yet 
in nearly fourscore years he was barely six years 
in political official position. It needed not official 
position, however, to give him weight or influence 
or standing with the people of North Carolina. 
His ability, his learning, his great legal acumen, 
his personal purity and his personal integrity, his 
sturdy candor, his unparalleled courage of opinion 
and unflinching devotion to the principles of civil 
liberty, gave him a stronger hold upon the respect 
and a warmer place in the affections of our people 
than any mere official position or political prom- 
inence could do. A devoted sou of North Carolina, 
»a never failing friend and liberal benefactor to 
her University, an uncompromising foe of govern- 
mental oppression in every shape, a profound 
jurist and a fearless patriot, the state may well 
place him high on the roll of her most illustrious 
dead. ' ' 

David Thomas Tayloe, M. D. Thirty-three 
years of devotion to his profession as a trained 
and capable physician and surgeon is the record 
of Dr. David T. Tayloe of Washington. Thirty- 
three years of his life given to the calling which 
he chose as his work when he entered upon his 
career in young manhood; three decades spent in 
the alleviation of the ills of mankind, is the work 
in which his talents and fitness apparently pre- 
destined him for success. His father and some of 
his uncles have made names in the same profes- 
sion, and now three sons of Dr. Tayloe 's are pre- 
paring to follow in his footsteps. 

Dr. Tayloe was born in Granville County, North 
Carolina, February 22, 1864, a son of Dr. David 
Thomas and Mary Elizabeth ( Grist j Tayloe. He 
was educated in the public schools in the Washing- 
ton Academy at Washington, also in private 
schools, and in 1882 entered the Belleview Hos- 



\i 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



pital Medical College of New York City, where 
Jie finished his work and obtained his degree in 
1885. In all the years since then he has conducted 
a general practice at Washington, more and more 
specializing in surgerj\ Only a few )ears have 
been allowed to pass in which he has not inter- 
rupted his practice for a few weeks or a few 
months in order to get in touch with the leaders 
of the profession, and he has attended clinics and 
post-graduate schools all over the country. For 
some time he did special laboratory and research 
work in the Carnegie Laboratory of New York 
City. He has done post-graduate work in Boston, 
Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Baltimore, has attended a 
number of clinics of the famous Mayo Brothers 
at Rochester, Minnesota, and has studied the meth- 
ods of such eminent surgeons as Dr. Crile of Cleve- 
land and the late Dr. Murphy of Chicago. 

Dr. Tayloe was one of the founders of the S. R. 
Fcwle Memorial Hospital at Washington and 
served as its superintendent several years. Since 
then he has built and equipped the Washington 
Hospital, a private institution thoroughly modern 
in every respect, which he manages with the assist- 
ance of* his brother, Dr. Joshua Tayloe. Dr. Tayloe 
is a member of the Beaufort County, North Caro- 
lina Tri-State, Seaboard and First District Med- 
ical Societies, and has served as president of all 
these organizations. For four years' he was a 
member of the North Carolina Surgical Club. Dr. 
Tayloe is a member of the Episcopal Church, and 
for four years was town commissioner of Wash- 
ington. 

December 22, 1894, he married Miss Atalia Cot- 
ton, daughter of General John Cotton, one of the 
distinguished citizens of Tarboro, North Carolina. 
Dr. and Mrs. Tayloe have five children: David 
Thomas, Jr., now a student of medicine in the 
University of Pennsylvania; Elizabeth, who at- 
tended Sweet Briar College, in Virginia; John 
Cotton, now serving in France; Joshua, who is 
studying medicine, and Athalia, who is now attend- 
ing St. Mary 's College at Raleigh. 

Jeff Deems Johnson. With all its wonderful 
and varied resources the security and prosperity 
of North Carolina rests permanently upon its 
agricultural products and their producers. Few 
men have taken a more enterprising lead in de- 
veloping farm lands and all the kindred business 
activities connected therewith than Jeff Deems 
Johnson of Garland in Sampson County. Mr. 
Johnson is credited with practically having built 
up two towns in his part of the state, has built 
railroads, has manufactured lumber on a large 
scale, and has always been an extensive merchant, 
but from first to last has pinned his faith in land 
and what it will produce. 

Mr. Johnson was born at the old Johnson home 
at Ingold in Sampson County in 1861, a son of 
Amos Neal and Ellen (Herring) Johnson. This 
is one of the old and prominent families of North 
Carolina and the possessors of the name have been 
noted for their strong, sturdy, honest, Godfearing 
characteristics. 

The first North Carolina settlement of the John- 
son family was in Pitt County. From the old 
home in that county three of the brothers joined 
the Revolutionary forces and gave good accounts 
of themselves in the battle for freedom. One of 
the3e Revolutionary soldiers was Solomon John- 
son, great-grandfather of Jeff D. Johnson. After 
the war Solomon moved to what is now Sampson 
County, settling at Clear Run on the Black River, 



eight miles below the present Town of Garland. 
One of his eight sons was Samuel Johnson, who 
when a young man moved to the present site of 
the Village of Ingold, four miles east of the 
Town of Garland. He bought land and estab- 
lished a home there and in that community the 
•Johnsons have lived continuously for a century 
or more. Samuel Johnson was a very able man, 
above the average of his day and time, highly 
successful in business and acquired large tracts 
of the rich land in and around Ingold. In ante- 
bellum days he owned about 100 slaves. 

Amos Neal Johnson was born on the old In- 
gold plantation in 1820. The house in which he 
was born is still standing and is owned and pre- 
served by the family for the historic sentiment 
that surrounds the place. He was the youngest 
son and inherited the old home. His was a long 
and useful career in -that community, and he 
died there in 1914 at the advanced age of ninety- 
four. His wife was a daughter of John Herring, 
representing another prominent Sampson County 
family. 

Jeffs Deems Johnson grew up on the old home- 
stead at Ingold. He was liberally educated, not 
only in the local schools but continuing in the 
Bingham Military School at Mebane under Col. 
Robert Bingham. At Bigham School he special- 
ized in surveying and civil engineering. That 
was his first serious occupation after leaving 
school ai*d at different times he has performed a 
great deal of work as surveyor and engineer, 
chiefly in his own interests. Mr. Johnson has 
been an extensive owner of timber lands, and in 
developing these he made use of his professional 
skill in the construction of several lumber rail- 
roads. For several years his name and capital 
have been identified with some of the very ex- 
tensive lumber mill operations of Eastern North 
Carolina. In order to furnish transportation of 
logs for his mills he built two tram railroads. 
Lumber manufacturing is still an important item 
in his business affairs, though it is not conducted 
on so extensive a scale as formerly. 

For a number of years after attaining his ma- 
jority Mr. Johnson's interests were centered at 
Ingold, where he established and carried on a 
successful mercantile business besides farming and 
lumbering. He practically built up the Village 
of Ingold. In former years he was both a manu- 
facturer of turpentine and other naval stores. 

About 1890 the Cape Fear & Yadkin Valley 
Railway was built through Sampson County, run- 
ning four miles west of Ingold. About that time 
Mr. Johnson laid out the Town of Garland on 
his lands adjoining the railroad, and four miles 
from his original home at Ingold. He then moved 
his home to Garland, and has been with that com- 
munity throughout its period of development. At 
Garland he established the J. D. Johnson mercan- 
tile business, which has continued to flourish and 
fill an important part in the life of the com- 
munity. 

The Johnson farming lands extend practically 
all the way westward from Garland to Ingold, 
comprising about 3,000 acres. The ownership of 
such extensive tracts constitute him one of the 
large planters of North Carolina. Cotton and 
corn have been his staple crops. His lands are 
situated in the midst of a region that has been 
noted for its productiveness in late years and 
lands have greatly increased in value. Mr. John- 
son has more than a local reputation as a stock- 
man. His herd consist of Red Polled cattle, 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



15 



headed by two registered bulls, and at this writ- 
ing he has about seventy of these fine cattle. His 
hogs consists of Essex sows crossed with Poland 
China boars, producing a breed which are the last 
word in pork production. In 1917 Mr. Johnson 
slaughtered over 10,000 pounds of meat. 

From every point of view such a man is highly 
valuable and useful to any community and state. 
To this fact all who know him testify. Mr. John- 
son is enterprising, progressive and public spir- 
ited, and his large resources enable him to do 
much for the community. He was mayor and 
magistrate of Garland for a long period of years. 
For many years he has also served as a steward 
of the Methodist Church at Ingold. 

Mr. Johnson married Miss Mary Lillie Wright, 
of Ingold, daughter of the late Capt. J. W. Wright, 
who commanded a company of Confederate troops 
in the war between the states. The ancestral rec- 
ord of the prominent Wright family is found on 
other pages. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have five 
children : James Wright, Mary Lillie, Jeff D., 
Mildred and Amos Neal Johnson. 

Hon. Samuel Parsons McConnell. A resident 
of Carthage, Moore County, since 1911, Hon. 
Samuel Parsons McConnell is one of the most dis- 
tinguished citizens of this part of North Caro- 
lina. For many years a prominent lawyer of 
Chicago, where he sat also on the circuit bench, 
and later general counsel and president of the 
George A. Fuller Construction Company, New 
York, his career prior to coming to Carthage was 
a decidedly active and interesting one, and since 
his locating here has been characterized by activi- 
ties in various directions which have added to the 
development of this beautiful section of the Sand- 
hill country, particularly in the management and 
operation of the Randolph & Cumberland Rail- 
road, with its large auxiliary land and industrial 
interests. 

Samuel Parsons McConnell was born near Spring- 
field, Sangamon County, Illinois, in 1850, a son 
of Gen. John and Elizabeth Carrington (Parsons) 
McConnell. His grandfather, James McConnell, 
was a native of Ballilesson, County Down, Ulster, 
Ireland, and came to America in the beginning of 
the nineteenth century, locating in New Jersey. 
There he established a manufactory for making 
gunpowder and supplied the American patriots 
with this article during the war with Great Britain, 
1812-14. The war at an end, he found the busi- 
ness unprofitable and accordingly disposed of his 
interests and moved to Madison County, New 
York, where he began agricultural operations. 
He remained in New York until 1830, in which 
year he removed to Illinois, and there purchased 
a farm three miles south of Springfield in Sanga- 
mon County. He was a pioneer in the cultivation 
of the prairies of Illinois and a demonstrator of 
the unexcelled richness and fertility of the upland 
prairies of the state. A man of more than ordi- 
nary prominence and influence in his day, he was 
a great friend of Abraham Lincoln and Stephen 
A. Douglas, perhaps more particularly the latter, 
who never came to Springfield without visiting Mr. 
McConnell 's home. James McConnell died in 1866, 
leaving for that time what was considered to be 
a large fortune. Edward McConnell, a direct an- 
cestor of Judge McConnell, was in command of 
the rebelling Irish at the time of "Bloody Mary," 
when as queen of England, she was carrying on 
her persecutions, and found his death in a hand- 



to-hand encounter with Sir William Sidney. Still 
another ancestor was an officer in the rebellion in 
which Lord Edward Fitzgerald and the noble Rob- 
ert Emmet took part. On his mother's side, also, 
Judge McConnell is of well-tried stock. His 
mother, whose maiden name was Elizabeth Carring- 
ton Parsons, was a member of an old English 
family which settled in Meriden, Connecticut, in 
1680, and her grandfather commanded a battery 
of ; artillery in the Revolutionary war. 

Gen. John McConnell, father of Judge McConnell, 
was born in Madison County, New ¥brk, and in 
1840 removed to Illinois with his parents, being at 
that time sixteen years of age. He was reared 
as a farmer and was given the best of instruc- 
tion in this direction by his father, who had been 
one of the founders of the Illinois State Agricul- 
tural Society, being president of the convention 
of 1852 which resulted in its organization. John 
McConnell was engaged with his father and 
brothers ill the farming and stock raising business 
until 1861, when he raised a company for the 
Third Illinois Cavalry, of which he was elected 
captain, and went into service in Southwest Mis- 
souri and Northwest Arkansas. He took part in 
some of the most important battles fought m that 
section and rose to the rank of major, and at the 
battle of Pea Ridge was highly commended for 
bravery by his commander, Gen. Granville M. 
Dodge. Some three months after leaving the Third 
Cavalry he was commissioned by Governor Yates 
as colonel of the Fifth Illinois Cavalry, and April 
9, 1865, was commissioned brigadier-general by 
Abraham Lincoln. The latter 's death, however, 
caused General McConnell 's commission to be 
signed by President Johnson. During the latter 
part of his service he was on duty in Texas, being 
finally mustered out in October, 1865. After the 
death of his father, and until 1879, he continued 
in the business of sheep raising and farming, being 
for a time the owner of extensive farms in Sanga- 
mon County, but in the year mentioned he turned 
his attention to the insurance business at Spring- 
field, where he died March 14, 1898. General Mc- 
Connell was a great friend and admirer of Presi- 
dent Lincoln. Judge McConnell recalls that at a 
great political celebration at Springfield in honor 
of President Lincoln 's first election, his father had 
a float on which was a log cabin and himself in 
the act of splitting a rail just as the float passed 
Mr. Lincoln 's reviewing stand. After the war 
General McConnell became a liberal republican 
and supported Horace Greeley in 1872. Later he 
became a democrat. 

Samuel Parsons McConnell attended private 
schools at Springfield and Lombard College at 
Galesburg, Illinois, from which latter institution 
he was graduated in 1871 with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts. He then studied law in the office 
of the famous old law firm of Stuart, Edwards & 
Brown at Springfield. Maj. John Todd Stuart of 
this firm was one of the notable lawyers and public 
characters of his day, a former law partner of 
Abraham Lincoln, a member of the State Senate, 
three times a member of Congress and the candi- 
date for governor of Illinois in 1860. Benjamin 
Stevenson Edwards, another member of this firm, 
was a son of Ninian Edwards, first governor of 
Illinois; was a delegate to the Constitutional Con- 
vention of 1862, was a candidate for Congress, and 
was Circuit Judge of the Springfield Circuit. 
Under such able preceptors the young student 
made rapid progress, and in December, 1872, was 



16 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



admitted to the bar. Judge McConnell has most 
interesting and lasting memories of Abraham Lin- 
coln. He recalls the stirring incidents of his two 
great political campaigns, and although then a 

11 boy was greatly impressed by the evident 
greatness of the man. As a young man in the law 
office above referred to he was given the honor, 

ther with Major Stuart and three other com- 
missioners officially designated by the State of 
Illinois tor that purpose, of attaching his sig- 
nature to the identification of the remains of the 

sident at the tine of their removal from their 
. nal burial place at Springfield to the site 

re they have ever since rested, the site of the 
great Lincoln monument. 

Judge McConnell was about twenty-two years of 
age when he moved from Springfield to Chicago, 
:, young man of ambition, energy and enterprise, 
whose training had been thorough and compre- 
hensive. After a short period of practicing alone 
he became a member of the firm of Crawford 
\- McConnell, and later organized the firm of Mc- 
Connell, Raymond & Rogers. His business pros- 
pered and he quickly obtained the reputation of 

4 a most capable and trustworthy attorney, 
winning equal eminence both as a consulting and 
trial lawyer. In 1889 he was elected judge 
of the Cook County (Illinois) Circuit Court, to fill 
the vacancy caused by the death of Judge W. 
K. McAllister, and served in that position until 
1894, when he resigned to give his attention to 
private practice. During his tenure of office he 
tried numerous noted cases, the most notorious of 
which, perhaps, was the famous Cronin murder 
trial, at which he was called upon to preside 
shortly after his election, although at that time 
he was one of the youngest members of the bench. 
At the time this was the most remarkable criminal 
trial that had ever taken place at Chicago, and 
has Ixen excelled by but few since there or else- 
where. It was peculiar as the alleged result of 
a conspiracy among the members of a secret or- 
ganization to remove one who had become ob- 
noxious, as well as for the deliberation with which 
it was perpetrated and the skill with which evi- 
dence of a crime had been concealed, until the 

■ very of the remains of the victim disclosed 
the fact that a brutal murder had been com- 
mitted. The evidence was practically circumstan- 
tial in its entirety, no part being conclusive, but 
taken as a whole it constituted an irrefragable 
chain of certainty and was a triumph of legal 
skill and acumen. In presiding over this case, 
Judge McConnell displayed the highest order of 
judicial ability, and the press, public, legal pro- 
fession and bench were unanimous in giving him 
praise for the dignity and expediency of his 
judicial labors and the justice, soundness and im- 
partiality of his decisions. He also had charge, 
as presiding judge, of a number of civil suits of 
great importance affecting corporations. 

When he retired from the bench Judge McConnell 
formed the firm of Tenney, McConnell & Coffeen, 
which soon became known as one of the foremost 
legal combinations of Chicago. A large general 
practice was done, the firm representing many of 
the biggest Chicago enterprises, private and cor- 
porate, and it was in the latter capacity that the 
splendid abilities of Judge McConnell were recog- 
nized by the George A. Fuller Construction Com- 
pany, by which he was retained as counsel. Soon 
thereafter he was made general counsel and vice 
president of the company, and in those capacities 



removed in 1900 to New York, the headquarters 
of the concern. He thus entered the class of the 
great corporation lawyers of the country. His 
unties, however, were not only legal, but adminis- 
trative of the affairs of this great company, which 
has built more great sky-scrapers and business 
structures than any other concern in the world. 
He conducted the business of this concern for 
■ral years at New York, and upon his retire- 
ment from that company was presented with a 
beautiful loving cup by his fellow-officials. While 
residing in New York he built and lived in a 
beautiful home near Peekskill on the Hudson, 
about thirty-rive miles north of New York. 

In 1911 Judge McConnell came to Carthage, 
Moore County, North Carolina, to take charge ol 
the affairs of the Randolph & Cumberland Rail- 
road, which had been built from Cameron to Car- 
thage, a distance of ten miles, and which has since 
been extended in a northwesterly direction to Mc- 
Connell on the Deep River in the northern part of 
Moore County. He established his home at Car- 
thage and has become a permanent resident of this 
wonderful section of the Sandhill country of North 
Carolina, and where he has a beautiful home on a 
hill which commands an inspiring view of this 
pine-clad region. His coming to North Carolina 
was brought about by his company having come 
into possession of most of the bonds and legal 
obligations of the Randolph & Cumberland Rail- 
road, and it was decided by his associates that 
Judge McConnell was the one best fitted to come 
here and take charge of the property and carry on 
its affairs. He has direct charge of the manage- 
ment and operation of the road and its auxiliary 
industries and land interests. A splendid water 
power site on Deep River near McConnell is a 
fine field for future industrial development, as well 
as are the great talc deposits in the same vicinity. 
There are also undeveloped coal resources along 
this line, as well as timber prospects. 

Judge McConnell is a most interesting person 
and his reminiscences are a source of never- 
ending entertainment to his friends and ac- 
quaintances, of whom there are a great concourse. 
Particularly is this true in regard to his connec- 
tion with politics and public affairs and his asso- 
ciation and friendship with the notable characters 
in Chicago and Illinois public life and politics. 
He has always been a democrat. He first became 
active in politics about 1895, and in that year pre- 
sided over the Democratic State Convention of 
Illinois, which declared for the remonitization of 
silver. He was not, however, a ' ' Free Silver ' ' man, 
but was against the extreme gold standard element 
of the party. He was a delegate to the Demo- 
cratic National Convention which nominated Wil- 
liam Jennings Bryan for the presidency in 1896. 
Prior to this he had been a great friend and ad- 
mirer of the late Gov. John P. Altgeld of Illinois 
and assisted in the management of his campaigns. 
He was a member of the committee which framed 
and had signed the petition for pardoning the con- 
demned anarchists, and this effort was successful 
to the extent § of the releasing of Fielden and 
Schwab. Judge McConnell enjoyed the personal 
acquaintance of every governor of Illinois from the 
time he left Springfield to go to Chicago until 
he removed his place of residence to New York, and 
it would be difficult to call the name of any 
prominent public character in Illinois beginning 
at that period whom he did not know and of 
whom he cannot talk about in a most interesting 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



17 



manner. He was on the ' ' inside ' ' of the always- 
interesting politics of Chicago and Illinois. 

Judge McConnell married Sarah Rogers Febru- 
ary 16, 1876. She was the daughter of Judge 
John G. Rogers, a distinguished jurist of Chicago, 
at one time on the circuit bench, and a great- 
granddaughter of Judge Crenshaw, who was chief 
justice of the Supreme Court of Kentucky. They 
had four children, of whom two survive: Julia, 
who is the wife of M. D. Follansbee, of Chicago, 
a very prominent attorney, former president of 
the Chicago Bar Association and now a director 
of the Erie Railroad and of the Metropolitan Life" 
Insurance Company, and Eleanor, who is suc- 
cessfully engaged in the practice of bacteriology 
at Chicago. 

James McConnell, son of Judge McConnell, 
achieved international fame, was one of the first 
heroes of the United States to give his life to 
the cause of the Allies, and his part has been 
claimed and recognized as belonging to the 
glorious annals of the Republic of France in the 
present war. He was born at Chicago, Illinois, 
March 14, 1887, attended private schools there, 
the Morristown Academy in New Jersey, Haver- 
ford College in Pennsylvania, and in 1909 grad- 
uated from the University of Virginia. For a year 
or so he was in business at New York in the auto- 
mobile business and connected with a large ad- 
vertising agency. In 1911 he went with his father 
to Carthage, North Carolina, and at once made 
himself at home among the people of the locality, 
by whom he was held in the highest esteem and 
regard and by whom he was affectionately called 
' ' Jim. ' ' He was land and industrial agent for the 
Randolph & Cumberland Railroad and took a very 
active part in the varied business and social affairs 
of Carthage. "When the European war broke out 
in 1914 he showed a very decided sympathy for 
Belgium and the cause of the Allies, and January, 
1915, found him in France a member of the Ameri- 
can Ambulance Corps. His bravery and general 
efficiency attracted the attention of the French 
officers and at their suggestion and following his 
own inclination he became a student in the flying 
corps and in a remarkably short space of time had 
qualified as an airman for the firing line. He was 
put into service and thereafter rapidly acquired 
distinction as an air fighter. He gained the rank 
of sergeant pilot in the French Flying Corps and 
had many glorious achievements to his credit and 
was sergeant of the Lafayette Escadrille when his 
rendezvous with death came in the summer of 
1917. He was awarded such cherished honors as 
the much coveted ' ' Croix de Guerre, ' ' a medal 
which bears the inscription "Aux Braves." Many 
Americans served as volunteers under the flag of 
France, and only a man of the highest courage and 
ability could have been singled out for such dis- 
tinctions as were bestowed upon James McConnell. 
A striking instance of this was afforded by the 
Associated Press Dispatch early in 1918, in which 
it was stated that the French Government desired 
to place a bronze tablet on the monument erected 
at Carthage, North Carolina, to James R. Mc- 
Connell, the American air-man who died for France. 
Ambassador Jusserand had notified, so the dis- 
patch said, Senator Overman, and the request was 
forwarded to Judge McConnell at Carthage. A 
monument is to be erected by the University of 
Virginia on the college campus. v 

Many thousands of Americans recall his bril- 



liant article "Flying for France," which was a 
feature of the November, 1916, number of the 
World's Work and now in book form. This ar- 
ticle was noticed and greatly appreciated by Jus- 
serand, the French Ambassador at Washington, 
who wrote a letter in regard to it to the great 
literary critic, John Jay Chapman, who in turn 
communicated to Judge McConnell under date of 
November 18, 1916, as follows: "What a won- 
derful article that is of your boy's in the Novem- 
ber number of World's Work. It has all the 
talent of Kipling without the faking that literary 
chaps throw in. I was just going to write to him 
and congratulate him when it occurred to me that 
I will write you instead. It is not often that a 
man has wielded both sword and pen as your 
boy does. I am delighted that he is still safe. 
This article of his is going to do a lot for this 
country. Yours sincerely, John Jay Chapman." 

Another distinguished tribute paid to this bril- 
liant American air-man was given in his home 
community when the Moore County Hospital at 
Eureka was named in his honor the James Mc- 
Connell Memorial Hospital. 

The present wife of Judge McConnell is Mrs. 
Mayo (Methot) McConnell, a native of Chicago, 
Illinois. They have three very interesting and 
talented children : Elizabeth, Mayo and John. 
Mrs. McConnell is president of the Women 's Club 
of Carthage and is prominent in such matters, 
being also chairman of the Women 's Committee 
of the Council of National Defense of Moore 
County. 

J. Giles Foushee. As one of the commissioners 
of Greensboro and present mayor pro tem the 
name of J. Giles Foushee is one of the most 
familiar in the citizenship of that community. 
Mr. Foushee has had a long and active career, 
has been identified with railroad construction and 
is also credited with much of the work which 
brought about the improved condition of the 
county highways of Guilford County. 

He represents a colonial family of North Caro- 
lina. His great-grandfather was a French Hugue- 
not and on coming to America in colonial times 
settled at Richmond, Virginia, where he spent 
the rest of his life. His son John Foushee, 
grandfather of the Greensboro citizen, was born at 
Richmond and when a young man came to North 
Carolina and bought land in the locality then 
known as Egypt, now Cumnock in Chatham County. 
It was his intention to mine coal, but after dis- 
covering that coal could not be produced in suffi 
ciently paying quantities to pay for the operations 
he directed the labor of his slaves and his facili- 
ties to farming and lived in that locality until 
his death. He married in Chatham County Jane 
May, who ^was a lifelong resident of the county. 
They had three sons, George, Marion and Giles. 
Marion moved to the State of Mississippi and 
bousrht a farm now included in the City of Okolona 
in Chickasaw County. The son Giles lived on the 
old homestead until after the war. 

George Foushee, father of J. Giles, was born in 
Chatham County on his father's plantation in 
1826. He became a man of large affairs, buying 
a plantation on Deep River in Chatham County. 
His land was underlaid with coal and he de- 
veloped some extensive mines, operating them in 
connection with his general farming. At one time 
he owned 100 slaves. So harmonious were the 



Vol. VI— 2 



18 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



relations between slave and master that he never 
employed the services of a white overseer, and left 
the direction of their work to one of their own 
number. These slaves were so attached to him that 
when freed they refused to leave the plantation 
and continued as tenant farmers and some of them 
are still there after more than fifty years. Dur- 
ing the war George Foushee was detailed to look 
after the widows and orphans and their families 
of soldiers and was also a buyer of supplies for 
the Confederate Government. At the close of the 
war he removed to Pittsboro, and lived retired 
in that town, the management of his farm being 
in the hands of his negro tenants. He died in 
1875. George Foushee married Sue Steadman. 
She was born near Pittsboro, daughter of Orren 
Steadman. while her maternal grandfather was 
John Johnson. She survived her husband many 
years and died in 1897. 

J. Giles Foushee, only child of his parents, was 
born on their plantation at Cumnock, Chatham 
County, and grew up in a home which favored the 
best development of his business and mental 
talents. He attended the Pittsboro schools and 
also the Horner Military Institute at Oxford. At 
the age of twenty-one Mr. Foushee removed to 
Raleigh and for four years was clerk in a cotton 
commission merchant's office. He then spent nine 
years as an independent merchant at Gulf in 
Chatham County. He left that business to join 
the construction department of the Durham & 
Charlotte Railroad, now the Norfolk & Southern, 
and on the completion of that line he was made 
auditor of the company and so remained until 
1900. He resigned as a railway official to move 
to Greensboro and take the superintendency of 
the construction of county highways. He was 
superintendent of road building in Guilford County 
until 123 miles of fine macadam road had been 
constructed. Mr. Foushee was elected in 1911 city 
commissioner of Greensboro and has been kept 
in office continuously by reelection. 

In 1880 he married Miss Annie Smith, who was 
born at Greensboro, daughter of Madison and Lou 
(Dick) Smith. Mr. and Mrs. Foushee 's children 
are Louise, George, J. Henry Smith, Eugene, Sue 
Steadman and John M. Louise is the wife of 
William J. Homey and her seven children, grand- 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Foushee, are named 
"William, Giles, Eobert, Julian, Jennie, Mary and 
Eugene. The son George married Nora Calhoun. 
J. Henry Smith married Nellie Holmes Pearson. 
Eugene married Flavia Holt, while Sue Steadman 
is the wife of J. J. Anderson. Mr. and Mrs. 
Foushee are charter members of the Presbyterian 
Church of the Covenant at Greensboro. He is 
an elder of the church and was the first superin- 
tendent of its Sunday school. Fraternally he is 
affiliated with Corinthian Lodge No. 342, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Greensboro Chapter 
No. 14, Royal Arch Masons, Ivanhoe Commandery 
No. 8, Knights Templars, Oasis Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine and Greensboro Lodge No. 80, 
Knights of Pythias. 

Charles David Kellenbergeb has been a resi- 
dent of North Carolina for the past ten years and 
is one of the men who have been attracted to this 
state by its unrivaled business opportunities and 
splendid resources. Mr. Kellenberger is an ex- 
perienced furniture manufacturer, and has been 
identified with one of the leading industries of 
that kind in Greensboro. 



He is of an old Pennsylvania family. He is a 
son of Lewis and Eliza (Zarfoss) Kellenberger, a 
grandson of John Kellenberger, 3rd, and great- 
grandson of John Kellenberger, 2nd, and great, 
great-grandson of John Kellenberger. The latter 
was born in Germany, and on coming to America 
settled in Adams County, Pennsylvania, where he 
owned a large tract of land between Hanover and 
Litt]estown_ His wife was a native of Ireland, 
by name Welsh. 

Charles D. Kellenberger had a good education 
as a preliminary to life "s experiences and achieve- 
ments. He attended Hanover Academy, the York 
County Academy, the Schissler Business Col- 
lege at Norristown, Pennsylvania, and graduated 
from Patrick 's Business College at York, Pennsyl- 
vania. For three years he was a successful teacher, 
and then became connected with the Long Fur- 
niture Company of Hanover, Pennsylvania. At 
the end of three years he resigned and went to the 
West York Furniture Manufacturing Company, 
York, Pennsylvania, with which he remained until 
1908. 

On coming to Greensboro Mr. Kellenberger took 
the position of secretary, treasurer and manager of 
the Standard Table Company, and has done much 
to develop the possibilities of this business and 
made it one of the successful and growing con- 
cerns of the city. In 1901 Mr. Kellenberger mar- 
ried Ella J. Stover. They have two children, Ruth 
and Charles David, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Kellenberger 
were reared in the Lutheran faith, and he was one 
of the organizers of the First Lutheran Church of 
Greensboro, a member of its building committee, 
and has been an elder and treasurer since organi- 
zation. He is also a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and the Travelers Protective Associa- 
tion, also the Young Men's Christian Association 
and the Country Club. 

i 
Jonathan Thomas Hooks. During a long 
and active career as a planter, banker, merchant 
and public official, Wayne County has had no 
stronger and more influential citizen and construc- 
tive factor in its affairs than Jonathan Thomas 
Hooks of Fremont. 

Fremont is his native town, where he was born 
September 30, 1855, a son of William and Peni- 
nah (Dew) Hooks. His father was a substantial 
planter and well known citizen, served as a colonel 
of militia before the war, and afterwards was 
judge of county court and a county commissioner. 
Jonathan Thomas Hooks was liberally educated 
in private schools. Up to the age of twenty-five 
he lived at home and worked as a farmer. He 
then entered the general merchandise business in 
partnership with his brother, W. R. Hooks, at 
Fremont, but after ten years he sold that and 
returned to the business of planting, which he 
still follows. Mr. Hooks has developed a large 
amount of land in Wayne County and owns 900 
acres variously employed in the planting opera- 
tions with which his name is most familiarly asso- 
ciated. In 1900 he was one of the organizers of 
the Bank of Fremont, and has been its president 
since organization. He is also president of the 
Fremont Oil Mill Company. Governor Aycock ap- 
pointed him a director of the State Penitentiary 
and he was on the board during 1903-04. For 
twenty years he served as a commissioner of Fre- 
mont, was chairman of the board of graded 
schools between ten and twelve years, and is now 
a member of the school board of Fremont. Mr. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



19 



Hooks was elected and served in the State Sen- 
ate of North Carolina during 1913-14. He is a 
member of the Primitive Baptist Church. 

Jasper Miller. The prosperity of nations as 
well as communities rests upon commerce, and 
buying and selling, meeting the demands of pro- 
ducer and consumer, and so regulating trade that 
injustice be on neither side and that progress and 
contentment result make up so large a portion of 
the world's activities and engage the best efforts 
of so many people that the merchant stands in 
the forefront among the world 's civilizing agencies. 
Merchandising, which includes the handling of 
commodities for the accommodation and needs of a 
community or a country, is a commercial relation 
absolutely necessary in the development of any 
section. In the cotton industry, which forms so 
great a part of the business activity of North 
Carolina, one of the leading merchants is Jasper 
N. Miller, of the firm of Jasper Miller & Son 
Company of Charlotte. 

Jasper Miller was born in Cleveland County, 
North Carolina, in 1855, being a son of Eli 
Alexander and Mahulda (Warlick) Miller, both of 
whom are now deceased. Both the Miller and 
Warlick families are old ones in Lincoln County 
and Cleveland County, the latter of which was 
formerly a part of Lincoln. Eli Alexander Miller 
was born on the old Miller homestead in what is 
now the eastern part of Cleveland County (for- 
merly Lincoln), about nine miles from the Town 
of Shelby. The grandfather of Jasper Miller, John 
Miller, was also born in that vicinity and was 
the son of David Miller, a Scotchman from Belfast, 
Ireland, who shortly before the Kevolutionary war 
had come to North Carolina by way of Charleston, 
South Carolina. On his mother's side, the War- 
lick's, Jasper Miller is of German ancestry. This 
family originated in Germany, from which country 
it immigrated to America and located in Penn- 
sylvania, and that branch of which Mr. Miller is 
a descendant later came through Virginia into 
North Carolina and settled in Lincoln County. 
That was about the year 1760. Mahulda (War- 
lick) Miller was born in that part of Lincoln 
County which is now Cleveland. Her father was 
David Warlick, and the latter was the son of 
Absalom Warlick, who is noted in history as hav- 
ing built the first cotton mill south of the Potomac 
River. It was located in the south part of the 
present boundary of Lincoln County, at Labora- 
tory, on the South Fork of the Catawba River. 
There has been a cotton mill at Laboratory ever 
since those days. Absalom Warlick had associated 
with him in the building of this mill Michael 
Schenck, the grandfather of Judge David Schenck. 
The firm name was Schenck & Warlick. Michael 
Schenck married Absalom Warlick 's eldest daugh- 
ter. Mrs. Miller, at the time of her marriage 
to Eli Alexander Miller, was a widow, her first 
husband having been Edward White Oates, member 
of a prominent pioneer family of Mecklenburg 
County, and a brother of the late Eobert M. 
Oates, who was the first president of the First 
National Bank of Charlotte. 

Jasper Miller was reared on the home place in 
Cleveland County and was educated in private 
schools and at Wake Forest University. At the 
age of eighteen years, in 1873, he came to Char- 
lotte and engaged in the cotton business. In 1878 
he went to Columbia, South Carolina, and in part- 



nership with his brother engaged in the cotton 
business in that city, under the firm name of 
Miller Brothers. This was the first firm in Colum- 
bia to engage in the cotton business on a large 
scale and was the means of starting Columbia on 
a career that eventually brought it to a position 
as the largest cotton center in South Carolina and 
one of the largest in the South, and, as a further 
result, in making it one of the great centers of 
cotton manufacturing in the Southland. When 
Miller Brothers first began business at Columbia 
the community was a poor, straggling and unim- 
portant small city, not yet awakened from the 
depression of the war between the states and the 
burning of the city during that struggle. This 
firm took the leading part in its rehabilitation, and 
eventually conducted a business amounting to 
millions of dollars annually and putting large 
sums of money in circulation in regular business 
channels. Also they were the leading boosters 
of the. city, finding time from their large business 
interests to give encouragement and support to 
movements for the public welfare and doing much 
to secure needed civic improvements and good of- 
ficial government. 

After an exceptionally successful career at 
Columbia, in 1901, Mr. Miller returned to Charlotte, 
where he established himself in business as a cot- 
ton merchant, under the firm style of Jasper Miller 
& Son Company. This is one of the important 
enterprises of Charlotte and has each year done 
an increasingly large business. As at Columbia, 
Mr. Miller has taken an active part in all move- 
ments which have added to the comfort and wel- 
fare of the people of the community, and has 
sought to aid other public-spirited citizens in se- 
curing improvements. 

In 1878 Mr. Miller was united in marriage with 
Miss Minnie F. Howell, of Charlotte, and they have 
five children : George Lawrence, who is associated 
in business with his father; Mrs. Harriet Watts; 
Mrs. Minnie Asbury; Miss Louise; and Stephen 
A. The offices of the Jasper Miller & Son Com- 
pany are located at No. 210 East Fifth Street. 
Stephen A. Miller is now a lieutenant in France. 
Mrs. Miller died September 18, 1915, and Mr. 
Miller married the second time. On June 20, 1918, 
Mrs. Cora Poindexter Penn, widow of the late 
Richard Haden Penn, a leading lawyer at Bu- 
chanan, Virginia, became his wife. 

Julius Isaac Foust. Hundreds of teachers as 
well as men and women in other practical walks 
of life are indebted for much of their early in- 
spiration and encouragement. as well as technical 
training to this forceful and able and widely 
known North Carolina educator. Mr. Foust for 
many years has been connected as professor and 
president with the North Carolina State Normal 
and Industrial College at Greensboro, and his 
record in general school work in the state covers 
a period of more than a quarter of a century. 

He was born at Graham, Alamance County, 
North Carolina, November 23, 1865, son of Thomas 
Carbry and Mary (Robbins) Foust. His pre- 
liminary education was acquired under private 
tutors, and entering the University of North Caro- 
lina he graduated Ph. B. in 1890. He also enjoys 
the honorary degree of LL. D. His abilities singu- 
larly qualified him for administrative school work, 
and in the course of his long and active career he 



20 



HIS TORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



has filled some very important positions. He was 
principal of schools at Goldsboro from 1890 to 
1891, was superintendent of schools of Wilson 
from 1891 to 1894, and from 1894 to 1902 was 
superintendent of the city schools of Goldsboro. 
In the latter year he accepted the chair of Pro- 
fessor of Pedagogy in the State Normal and In- 
dustrial College at Greensboro. For a period of 
sixteen years he has been in direct contact with 
a large body of the teaching profession in the 
state. 

In 1902 he was president of the North Carolina 
Association of School Superintendents, and in 
1904 was honored with the presidency of the 
North Carolina Teachers Assembly. He is also a 
member of the National Education Association 
and he and his wife are identified with the First 
Presbyterian church, which he has served as elder. 

November 22, 1892, Professor Foust married 
Sallie M. Price, of Wilson, North Carolina. She 
was born at Washington, North Carolina, daughter 
of Henry F. and Laura (Cordon) Price. They are 
the parents of two children: Henry Price and 
Mary Robbins. The daughter is a student of the 
State Normal and Industrial College. The son is 
an officer in the American National Army, being 
first lieutenant and at this writing is stationed 
at Camp Jackson". 

W. Thomas Parrott, M. D. To no profession 
are there open greater opportunities of human and 
social usefulness than to the practitioner of medi- 
cine. One of the able men of North Carolina who 
have utilized to a remarkable degree these oppor- 
tunities is Dr. W. Thomas Parrott of Kinston. Dr. 
Parrott is a leader in his profession and in cer- 
tain lines has few peers in the state. 

Dr. Parrott gave Kinston one of its noblest 
institutions, the Parrott Memorial Hospital, which 
he served as president for a number of years. He 
is a former president of the Seaboard Medical 
Society, and is one of the well known members of 
the Southern Medical Association, the Tri-State 
Medical Association, and the North Carolina State 
Medical Society. 

Dr. Parrott was born in Falling Creek Township 
of Lenoir County, September 11, 1875. He was a 
small boy when his father died, and he and his 
widowed mother removed to Kinston, where he 
attended the local schools in preparation for col- 
lege. In 1893 he entered the academic depart- 
ment of the State University, where he remained 
two years. Seeking an opportunity for self sup- 
port, he became clerk in a drug store, and from 
a practical knowledge of drugs and pharmacy the 
ambition grew upon him to become a physician. 
He spent three years in the drug store and then 
entered and graduated with the degree Ph. G. from 
the Maryland College of Pharmacy at Baltimore. 
A few months later he enrolled as a regular med- 
ical student in the University of Maryland. Dur- 
ing his summer vacations he practiced medicine 
with his brother. In order to have the opportuni- 
ties of a Southern clinical training he took his last 
course at Tulane University in Louisiana. While 
at New Orleans he gave special attention to the 
treatment of tropical and sub-tropical diseases, and 
during his active practice he has become more 
and more recognized as a specialist in tropical 
maladies. 

Dr. Parrott, when he graduated from Tulane 
University in the soring of 1899, was the young- 
est member of a class of one hundred and four- 
teen. Soon afterward he was granted a state 



license at the Ashevdle meeting of the State Board 
and began practice at Kinston. Dr. Parrott has 
since increased his general equipment and expe- 
rience by extended courses both at home and 
abroad. In 1900 he was in New York City and 
in 1902 went abroad, receiving a diploma for work 
in the London Polyclinic and taking special work 
at the Ormond Street Hospital for Children. At 
regular intervals since he has attended clinics and 
the schools of leading medical centers in this 
country. 

Doctor Parrott served for a time as superin- 
tendent of Health of Lenoir County, and was for- 
merly surgeon of the Second Regiment, North Caro- 
lina National Guard, with the rank of captain, and 
retired from the service with the rank of major. 
He is now surgeon of the Kinston Fire Depart- 
ment and surgeon for the Norfolk and Southern 
Railroad Company. He was instrumental in help- 
ing with the plan for the Robert Bruce McDaniel 
Memorial Hospital at Kinston and has always 
been generous of his time and ability in promoting 
such institutions and the preparation and equip- 
ment of others for hospital work. Doctor Parrott 
is a member of the Christian Church. He has 
written a number of articles which have been 
read before the North Carolina Medical Society 
and other medical associations. 

On March 15, 1916, he married Miss Jeannette 
Johnson, of Scotland County, North Carolina, 
daughter of Charles Johnson, a well known busi- 
ness man of that locality. Doctor and Mrs. Par- 
rott have one son, William Thomas Jr., born 
December 23, 1916. 

James Cowling McDiarmid. of Fayetteville, 
has been associated with different phases of 
the lumber industry in North Carolina for about 
twenty years. Since 1909 his connection has been 
with the Southern Timber & Lumber Company of 
Fayetteville, one of the largest organizations of 
its kind in the South. Mr. McDiarmid is sales 
manager. 

His own successful career is in keeping with 
the standards and merits of an ancestry which 
furnishes some of the interesting names and fam- 
ily associations of the Cape Fear section of North 
Carolina. The first of the McDiarmids in North 
Carolina was Rev. Angus McDiarmid, a Presbyte- 
rian minister who came from his native Scotland 
to North Carolina shortly before the Revolution- 
ary war. He was one of a group of brilliant 
Presbyterian clergymen, headed by Rev. James 
Campbell, who founded the Presbyterian Church 
in this colony or state. Rev. Angus McDiarmid 
was the fourth pastor of Old Bluff Church in 
Cumberland County. This church was founded 
in 1758, the same year that Barbecue and Long- 
street churches were founded. These three were 
the mother churches of Presbyterianism in North 
Carolina. Rev. Mr. McDiarmid also preached at 
Barbecue and Longstreet churches and it is in 
the Longstreet Churchyard that he is buried. He 
was a man of striking talents, learning and gen- 
ius, and was greatly beloved by all his people. 

For several generations the McDiarmid ances- 
tral home was "Ardnave, " at Manchester in Cum- 
berland County. It was in that old home that 
James Cowling McDiarmirl was born in 1876, 
and both his father and grandfather were natives 
of the same environment. The McDiarmids f 
up Ardnave only a few years ago. It is situated 
in the northwest part of Cumberland County on 
Lower Little River. Daniel McDiarmid, grand- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



21 



father of the Fayetteville business man, was born 
at Ardnave, and he was responsible for making 
this one of the great plantations of the Cape 
Fear section. When in his prime he owned be- 
tween 300 and 400 slaves and his fields produced 
whole cargoes of cotton. He was wealthy, influ- 
ential, and without effort commanded a position 
of leadership among his people. His remains are 
among those buried at the Longstreet Church. His 
wife was Ann Eliza Wright, member of the Wright 
and Gillespie families of Bladen County, whose 
names are closely interwoven with the early his- 
tory of Cape Fear. 

James Cowling McDiarmid is a son of Archi- 
bald Knox and Mattie (West) McDiarmid. His 
mother, who died in 1895, was born at Courtney 
in Grimes County, Texas, daughter of John S. 
and Rachel (Williams) West. Her mother, Ra- 
chel Williams, first married Archibald McDiar- 
mid, a brother of Daniel McDiarmid named 
above. Their home, ' ' Mount William, ' ' another 
of the old landmarks of Manchester, is now the 
site of Overhills, owned by Mr. Percy Rockefeller 
of New York. After Archibald McDiarmid 's 
death she married John S. West and they removed 
to Texas, locating at Courtney in Grimes County. 
It was during an extended visit Mattie West 
made from her home in Texas to North Carolina 
that she met and married Archibald Knox McDiar- 
mid, who was the nephew of her mother by the 
latter 's first marriage. 

Archibald Knox McDiarmid was born at Ard- 
nave in 1849, and lived there continuously until 
a few years ago, when he removed to the vicinity 
of Lumberton in Robeson County, where he is 
now engaged in farming and manufacturing lum- 
ber. 

James C. McDiarmid as a boy attended the lo- 
cal schools at Manchester and afterwards the Rock 
Hill Academy in South Carolina. Before taking 
up the lumber industry he was for several years 
in the railway service, being in the operating de- 
partment of the Atlantic Coast Line, first as a 
telegrapher and station agent and before he was 
twenty-one was assigned the responsibilities of 
train dispatcher. He left the railroad to enter 
the lumber business. 

Like his forebears, he is an active communi- 
cant of the Presbyterian Church and is a charter 
member and an elder in Highland Church of Fay- 
etteville. He was one of the petitioners for the 
forming of that church, which was organized and 
founded in 1911. 

Mr. McDiarmid married Miss Kate Robinson. 
Her father, Rev. C. W. Robinson, a prominent 
Presbyterian minister in North Carolina, is now 
pastor of the church at North Wilkesboro. She 
is a great-granddaughter of Rev. John Robinson, 
the first pastor, in 1800, of the Presbyterian 
Church in Fayetteville. He was both a preacher 
and a teacher, and is buried in Poplar Tent 
Churchyard in Cabarrus County. Mr. and Mrs. 
McDiarmid have four children, James C, Jr., 
Charles Eobinson, Katharine and Janie. 

Edward Leigh Best, superintendent of public 
instruction for Franklin County, chose educational 
work as a career while in the University of North 
Carolina, and has steadily pursued it with in- 
creasing responsibilities and honors for nearly fif- 
teen years. 

A son of Donald Edward and Frances (Jack- 
son) Best, two of the oldest families in Franklin 
and Granville counties. Edward L. Best was born 



in Franklin County August 30, 1883, was educated 
in district schools, the Mapleville Academy, and 
the University of North Carolina. He spent two 
summers in advanced studies in Columbia Uni- 
versity at New York. The administrative and 
executive duties of educational work have occu- 
pied him almost from the first. For two years 
he was principal of the Cedar Rock Academy and 
for eight years was principal of the Louisburg 
graded school system. Then in 1914 he was elected 
superintendent of public instruction for Franklin 
County and has carefully watched over and super- 
vised the schools of this county for the past three 
years and has brought about many important im- 
provements and reforms. Mr. Best is member 
of the North Carolina Teachers Assembly, director 
of the course of education in the Louisbury Fe- 
male College and a member of the summer school 
faculty of the State College. 

November 27, 1908, he married Miss Anna Rich- 
mond Malone, of Louisburg. Their two children 
are Mary Malone and Edward Leigh, Jr. 

John T. Burrtjs, M. D. Besides the capable 
service which he has rendered in the private activi- 
ties of the physician and surgeon, Doctor Burrus 
has contributed to High Point one of the institu- 
tions of which the citizens are most proud, the 
High Point Hospital, of which he is owner. 

The High Point Hospital was originally estab- 
lished as an institution by the State Council of the 
Junior Order of American Mechanics for the bene- 
fit of their members. Doctor Burrus bought the 
buildings and site, had the buildings remodeled, 
and then erected the present High Point Hospital 
on Boulevard Avenue. It is in every sense a 
modern and model hospital building, comparing 
favorably in point of equipment and facilities 
with the best hospitals in any state. It is of 
brick construction, two stories and basement, and 
the building and equipment represent an invest- 
ment of $30,000. Every item of the building 
construction was supervised with the idea of se- 
curing the highest standards of hospital arrange- 
ment. The building has steam heat and every 
other modern convenience. For individual patients 
there are twenty-five rooms and one open ward. 
In recent years the hospital has been well filled, 
affording its service to between forty and fifty 
patients. Those competent to judge say that the 
operating room is one of the most modern and 
complete in the South. The equipment includes 
the X-Ray and various other mechanical and elec- 
trical devices and various forms of baths. In fact 
it is not only a hospital in a general sense of 
the term, but is also a complete sanitarium. One 
of the most attractive features is the atmosphere 
of comfort and cheer about the hospital. Doctor 
Burrus maintains a thoroughly trained and effi- 
cient corps of nurses, assistants and orderlies. 
Nearly all his work is surgical, while his associate 
and assistant is Dr. Hugh McCain, in charge of 
internal medicine, laboratory and assistant in 
surgery. 

Doctor Burrus is a native of North Carolina, 
having been born in Surrey County in 1876. His 
parents, John G. and Bettie (Reece) Burrus, are 
still living in Surrey County. Doctor Burrus grew 
up in that county. After the completion of his 
high school course he entered Davidson College, 
where he took a combined course, graduating in 
1898. with the degree M. D. He then attended 
Baltimore Medical College, graduating in 1900 



22 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



and receiving the M. D. degree. In 1902 he grad- 
uated from Grant University, with the M. D. 
degree. After the Baltimore Medical and Uni- 
versity of Maryland merged he received a degree 
from the University of Maryland. Doctor Burrus 
also took post graduate work, completed a course 
in the Polyclinic, New York, and New York Post 
Graduate College; graduated from the Skin and 
Cancer -Hospital, New York City, has also studied 
abroad, and has specialized in surgery and gyne- 
cology since 1912. lie was commissioned major in 
the Medical Reserve Corps April 11, 1917, ordered 
to Fort Oglethorpe on June 1, 1917, was made chief 
of the Surgical Service at Base Hospital, Camp 
Beauregard, Louisiana, September 26, 1917, and 
was chief of the service until April 1, 1918, when 
he was promoted lieutenant-colonel of the Medical 
Corps, National Army and put in command of 
Base Hospital, Camp Beauregard. Few physicians 
in the state have had a more thorough and ex- 
tended course of clinical instruction and associa- 
tion with the great surgeons and physicians of 
the New and Old World. 

Doctor Burrus began the general practice of 
medicine at Jonesville in Yadkin County, North 
Carolina, and from there came to High Point, 
where his time has been almost entirely devoted 
to the upbuilding and maintenance of the High 
Point Hospital. 

Doctor Burrus is a member of the County and 
State Medical Societies, the Southern Medical As- 
sociation, the Tri State Medical Society and the 
American Medical Association, and is a member of 
the Clinical Congress of Surgeons. He is a Knight 
Templar and Scottish Rite Mason and a member 
of the Mystic Shrine. By his marriage to Miss 
Mary B. Atkins he has one daughter, Miss Iris 
Burrus. 

John L. Currie. In the death of John L. 
Currie, which occurred at his home in Carthage 
September 4, 1916, Moore County lost one of its 
most valuable and valued citizens. Mr. Currie 
exemplified many traits that are everywhere ac- 
cepted as the fundamentals of good citizenship, 
and for all his success in material affairs his life 
meant most for its sturdy and irreproachable char- 
acter. 

He was born November 4, 1861, three miles 
east of Carthage near Union Church, son of Neill 
P. and Jeannettee (Leach) Currie, both of whom 
were of Scotch ancestry. While of good family 
connections, he grew up in a period when the 
entire country was practically poverty stricken as 
a result of the devastations of war When he 
began to take the larger outlook on life, due to 
years of manhood, there were no industries or op- 
portunities within reach, and his early life had 
been one of constant toil. He and his brothers 
practically took care of the household, and it was 
as a result of overcoming obstacles that he was 
able to satisfy his ambitions for an education. 
He attended the famous Union Home School, and 
after finishing there was a teacher for a time. 
His old associates remember him in young man- 
hood as a youth of splendid appearance, and with 
fine character showing in every word and deed. 

He had capacity for leadership and was early 
drawn into politics, and the record he made is one 
that may be read with pride by all his descend- 
ants. The first political office he held was that 
of county surveyor, to which he was elected on 
the democratic ticket when still a very young 
man. In 1886, the county being at that time 



strongly republican, he was accorded the dem- 
ocratic nomination for sheriff against the repub- 
lican incumbent, William M. Black, a man who 
for years had been of powerful prestige and in- 
fluence in Moore County. The election resulted 
in the defeat of Mr. Currie, but that was the be- 
ginning of the overthrow of the republican ma- 
jority, and two years later, when he was renom- 
inated, he was elected, defeating Mr. Black for 
sheriff by a comfortable majority. The citizens 
of Moore County always regard with a great deal 
of satisfaction the splendid record made by John 
L. Currie as sheriff. He held that office four 
terms in succession, a period of eight years, and 
was a most popular as well as efficient officer. In 
1898 he was elected to the Lower House of the 
Legislature from Moore County. 

In a business way he was successfully identified 
from 1900 until his death with lumber manufac- 
turing at Carthage. He was also one of the 
founders and the principal owner of the Bismarck 
Hosiery Mill at Carthage. His later prosperity 
enabled him to accumulate a large amount of min- 
ing and other real estate in the county seat and 
county. Though he was only fifty-five years of 
age at the time of his death, he had achieved, 
from the humble beginnings which have been sug- 
gested, and with only the assets of good char- 
acter, a fine sense of honor and industry, a busi- 
ness position such as all might well envy. 

Mr. Currie built his home on the top of the 
hill at Carthage, on an elevation that overlooks 
the most beautiful expanse of surrounding country 
for many miles. This is the home of his family 
and one of the best in Moore County _ At the 
time of his death Mr. Currie was chairman of the 
Board of Road Commissioners of Carthage town- 
ship. 

In early boyhood he joined the Presbyterian 
Church, and his entire life was an expression of 
Christian principle. He was devoted to his church 
and Sunday school, served for many years as 
ruling elder of the church at Carthage, and was 
for about an equally long time superintendent of 
the Sunday school. To him more than to any 
other one person was due the building of the 
handsome new church edifice at Carthage. 

Mr. Currie married Miss Mary Belle Mclver, 
of Sanford, daughter of the late Daniel B. Mc- 
lver, of Moore County. Mrs. Currie and five 
children survive her honored husband, the children 
being Wilbur, William, Mary Lynn, John and 
Dwight. 

John C. Adams. Among the men whose activi- 
ties in various lines of endeavor have placed 
them in positions of prominence in their commun- 
ity few have had more useful lives than John C. 
Adams, whose interests and associations are par- 
ticularly identified with the interesting commun- 
ity of Linden in Cumberland County. He has 
lived there all his life, has been a successful 
planter, is a merchant, and while he shares the 
family characteristic of rather avoiding partici- 
pation in public life he has effectively upheld and 
loyally supported every movement and interest 
that involves the true and essential welfare of the 
community and its institutions. 

Mr. Adams was born at Linden in Cumberland 
County in 1866, a son of William Gaston and 
Sebra Ann (Parker) Adams. His grandfather 
was of English ancestry and an old time citizen 
of Johnston County, North Carolina, living near 
Four Oaks, where William Gaston Adams was 



m^^m^^m>^-^^- 




HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



23 



born. The latter when a young married man 
came to to what is now Linden in Cumberland 
County, establishing a home there some years 
before the war. He was employed as an over- 
seer on the plantation of John Smith and later 
had a plantation of his own on Lower Little 
River, less than a mile from the present Town of 
Linden. It was on that plantation that John C. 
Adams was born. The latter 's father made a 
creditable record as a soldier in the Confederacy, 
serving throughout the war. He and his wife 
were founders of the Methodist Church of their 
community and secured for its first pastor Eev. 
Mr. Avent from Chatham County. They remained 
loyal and devoted members of the congregation 
the rest of their days. 

One of their sons is Eev. G. T. Adams, presid- 
ing elder of the Elizabeth City District of the 
North Carolina Conference, and one of the best 
known and most popular ministers of the Metho- 
dist Church in North Carolina. Another son, Mr. 
B. B. Adams, is a wealthy merchant at Tour 
Oaks, the old home of the Adams family in John- 
ston County. This branch of the Adams family 
shows throughout the history of the various gen- 
erations the sturdiness of a most vigorous and 
wholesome race of people. Among the dominant 
characteristics have been a quiet, unobstentatious 
manner of living, wtih almost an aversion for 
politics or public life, but exhibition of valuable 
qualities in the building up of homes, in the pur- 
suit of business and in usefulness to their respec- 
tive communities. 

The town now known as Linden was formerly 
known as Little River Academy, the community 
getting its name from the famous old school that 
for many years was one of the most successful 
educational institutions of the state. Many young 
men who have since made their mark in the world 
attained their early instruction in Little River 
Academy. John C. Adams as a boy was a student 
there, and owed some of his most effective train- 
ing to Prof. Jesse McLean. After his educa- 
tion he himself taught school for a time, but his 
main occupation since young manhood has been 
farming. His home plantation is one of the larg- 
est and most profitable in this section of the state. 
It is characterized by the richness of the soil and 
productivity that have made the plantations on 
the Lower Little River famous for over a century. 
In 1890 Mr. Adams also engaged in the mercan- 
tile business at Linden, and carries a large stock 
of general merchandise and has made the busi- 
ness count as one of the most effective business 
services in that county. 

Mr. Adams ' home at Linden is a costly, beau- 
tiful and commodious modern residence, one of 
the finest country homes in that part of the state. 
He and his family are active members of the 
Methodist Church. Mrs. Adams before her mar- 
riage was Miss Rowena Darden, of Sampson 
County. They are the parents of nine children : 
D. Ernest; Lillian Bradshaw, wife of Mr. E. J. 
Macon; Cora, Mabel, Pearl, Rowena, Charles W., 
John C., Jr., and Josephine. 

Oscar Creech. The county superintendent of 
public instruction of Nash County, Oscar Creech, 
is singularly equipped by inclination, training and 
experience for the duties of the responsible posi- 
tion of which he has been the incumbent since 
April, 1914. During this time it has been his 
fortune to have realized many of his worthy 
ideals in regard to an elevation of the educational 



standards in his community, and the school system 
here has materially benefitted through his ener- 
getic labors and intelligent handling of the many 
problems which have presented themselves for solu- 
tion. Mr. Creech is; a native son of North 
Carolina, born February 3, 1886, his parents being 
Ransom Right and Henrietta (Sullivan) Creech, 
farming people for many years in Johnson County, 
where the family is well known and its members 
highly esteemed. 

Oscar Creech was reared in an agricultural at- 
mosphere, dividing his boyhood between attendance 
at the public schools of his native county and 
work upon the home farm, but it was not his in- 
tention to follow the farming vocation. He had 
decided upon a professional career, and after at- 
tending the high schools at Smithfield and Clayton, 
enrolled as a student at Wake Forest College, 
from which institution he was graduated in 1908 
after making a creditable record in his studies. For 
the four years that followed he served as prin- 
cipal of the high school at Castalia, this being 
succeeded by two years as superintendent of the 
Nashville graded schools, a position in which his 
work attracted much favorable attention and com- 
ment. He was recognized as acceptable timber for 
higher official positions, and in April, 1914, was 
elected to the office of county superintendent of 
public instruction of Nash. His labors in this post 
have left nothing to be desired, for he has not 
only proven thoroughly efficient, but conscientious 
and trustworthy as well, one in whom the people 
can feel their children's educational training is 
safely placed. His duties are by no means light, 
as he has the supervision of ninety-five schools in 
Nash County, and innumerable details must be 
continuously handled, while the superintendent has 
also labored earnestly to weld the whole system 
into a sound and compact body, working in unison 
and harmony, with progress and development in 
view as a goal. He is a member of the North 
Carolina State Teachers' Association, and among 
his professional brethren in the educational field 
is given high standing as an educator, executive 
and scholar. From boyhood Mr. Creech has been 
a member of the Baptist Church and much in- 
terested in religious work, and in June, 1915, was 
ordained a minister of the Baptist faith, and is now 
serving as pastor of the Nashville Baptist Church. 
He is fraternally affiliated with the Junior Order 
of United American Mechanics. 

Mr. Creech was united in marriage, August 21, 
1907, to Miss Mattie Louise Gulley, of Clayton, 
North Carolina, daughter of Marcus and Sophie 
( Ellis) Gulley, farming people of Johnston County. 
Of this union there are three children living: 
Orville Ransom, Leah Jessica and Oscar, Jr. Mr. 
and Mrs.' Creech have a pleasant home at Nash- 
ville, where they have numerous warm friends, and 
take part in the various social amenities of the 
community. 

Jonathan Havens has been a conspicuous fac- 
tor in the business and industrial upbuilding of 
Washington for many years. 

He was born in that city of North Carolina 
April 20, 1856, a son of Benjamin Franklin and 
Mary Elizabeth (Bonner) Havens. Prior to the 
war his father was an extensive ship owner and 
operated from thirty to forty boats in the coast- 
wise trade. The war came along and ruined his 
business, and thus Jonathan Havens grew up in 
somewhat straitened circumstances. He was edu- 



24 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



cated in private schools, and his first business 
enterprise was the construction of a Hour and feed 
mill with a capacity of 200 barrels per day. He 
is still owner of the business known as Havens 
Mills, one of the largest plants in eastern North 
Carolina for the manufacture of flour and other 
food stuffs. 

Since then his fruitful business enterprise has 
been rapidly expanding. In 1891 Mr. Havens 
established the Havens Oil Company, of which 
he is president, secretary and general manager. 
This piant has a capacity of forty tons of cotton- 
seed oil per day. He is also president of the 
Beaufort Iron Works, a ship building industry, 
employing twenty-five persons in the local shops. 
He has been president since its organization of 
the Bank of Washington, and is president of the 
Beaufort Farm Company, a corporation operating 
and developing farms. Mr. Havens was one of the 
organizers of the first Chamber of Commerce of 
Washington, and has served his home city as a 
member of the board of aldermen and also in 
the office of mayor. 

Joseph F. McKay, M. D. The medical profes- 
sion of North Carolina, not to mention a large 
portion of the general public, will regard any 
amount of space well used which is devoted to 
some record of the McKay family, representatives 
of three generations of which have been distin- 
guished in medical history. While the services 
of this long line of physicians have come to be 
pretty generally understood and appreciated among 
medical men throughout the state, the beneficiaries 
of those services for over eighty years have been 
chiefly in Harnett County. 

The McKays are descended from Highland 
Scotch who located in pioneer times in the Cape 
Fear district and constitute one of the best known 
Scotch names in that section. The founder of the 
family was Archibald McKay, who was born in 
Scotland and came to Wilmington, North Carolina, 
in the latter part of the eighteenth century, estab- 
lishing his home in Robeson County. The record 
of the family in connection with the medical pro- 
fession begins with one of his sons, Dr. John Mc- 
Kay, who was a man of special distinction, a 
scholar as well as a physician, and whose mental 
horizon was unbounded by every diverse field of 
knowledge. He was born in Robeson County, 
near old Floral College, graduated in medicine 
from the University of Maryland in 1823, and 
for several years practiced in Robeson County. 
He married in 1829 Miss Mary McNeill, and in 
the following year removed to Buies Creek in Har- 
lett County. From that year to the present time 
the people of that section have never been with- 
out the capable services of some member of the 
McKay family Dr. John McKay did his work 
in a comparatively pioneer era, enduring all the 
hardships and inconveniences connected with trav- 
eling far and wide to attend his patients scattered 
over the rural districts of several surrounding 
counties. On these rides he carried his medicines 
and also his surgical instruments, and most of 
these instruments are still carefully preserved by 
his grandson, Dr. Joseph F. McKay, of Buies 
Creek. 

The second generation of McKay physicians 
was the late Dr. John Archibald McKay, who died 
at the home of his son, Dr. J. F. McKay, in Buies 
Creek, October 25, 1917. He was born March 13, 
1830, at the home which had been established by 



his father on the old Raleigh and Fayetteville 
stage road in Neill's Creek Township, Harnett 
County, and only about two miles from the home 
v\here lie died. He attained the great age of 
eighty-seven years, seven months, twelve days. 
As a boy he attended the schools of his home 
community, and like his father his range of in- 
tellectual interests was remarkable. He was thor- 
oughly grounded in the classics and had the ideals 
and culture of a man of the old South. He matric- 
ulated in the University of North Carolina in 1S49 
and was graduated in the class of 1853. At the 
time of his death, so far as known, there was no 
other living survivor of that class. One of his 
class mates was his brother, D. McN. McKay. 
Dr. John A. McKay had been prepared for college 
at old Summerville Academy, near Lillington, un- 
der the direction of the famous Doctor Coiton. 
From the State University he entered the Medical 
College of the State of South Carolina at Charles- 
ton, where he was graduated in 1857. He almost 
immediately began practice at Buies Creek, as suc- 
cessor to nis father, and continued to respond to 
calls upon his services until a few years before his 
death. He was the oldest member of the medical 
profession in Harnett County. 

Of his character and attainments a local paper 
has spoken as follows: "No physician in tliis 
county or section of the state stood higher in his 
profession than Dr. John A. McKay. His su- 
perior knowledge was given unreservedly to benefit 
the people among whom he had been born and 
reared. He had a high conception of the obliga- 
tions resting upon a physician, and the ethical 
standard set by him has had a most wholesome 
influence upon the profession throughout this whole 
section. No man ever came in contact with Doctor 
McKay without being convinced that he was a 
man of superior intellect and learned not only 
in his profession but in almost everything that 
pertains to human knowledge." 

When a young man Dr. John A. McKay married 
Miss Christiana Foy, of Wilmington, North Caro- 
lina, who died iu 1880, the mother of five sons 
and two daughters. The living children are: 
Mary Isabelie, the widow of Dr. J. H. Crawford; 
Dr. J. F. McKay, John A. McKay, Rev. E. J. 
McKay, Mrs. Martin B. Williams, and D. McN. 
McKay. 

Dr. Joseph F. McKay, son of the late Dr. John 
A. McKay and grandson of Dr. Jmin McKay, was 
born at the old MeKay homestead at Buies Creek 
in 1861. His academic training was acquired in 
Lillington Academy, and his medical education in 
the Medical College of South Carolina at Charles- 
ton, where he graduated with the class of 1884, 
just twenty-seven years from the time his father 
haa gone forth from the same institution with 
his diploma. He returned home to relieve his 
father of some of the burdens of practice, and 
thus his work is a direct continuation of the serv- 
ice so long rendered by both his father and grand- 
father. Dr. McKay is a former president of the 
Harnett County Medical Society and also a mem- 
ber of the State and the Southern Medical as- 
sociations and Tri State Medical Association. 

Like his forefathers, Doctor McKay has always 
espoused the faith of the Presbyterian Church. He 
married Miss Mattie Rogers, of Lillington, North 
Carolina. They have four children : John A., now 
a student in the Johns Hopkins Medical School ; 
Mrs. Alton M. Cameron of Vass, North Carolina, 
Joseph Lister, and Martha. 





t/r Pu 




HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



25 



Leonard Oscar Hayes, M. D. A prominent 
physician of Fremont, where he has practiced 
medicine since 1899, Doctor Hayes has also given 
his time and energies to many of the movements 
and enterprises connected with the general wel- 
fare of the community, and has distinguished him- 
self alike by public spirited citizenship and by 
thorough -capacity and service in his profession. 

Doctor Hayes was born in Wilson County, North 
Carolina, September 8, 1871, a son of John and 
Elizabeth (Bass) Hayes. His father was a farmer, 
and it was on a farm that he himself spent his 
early life. His people were in a position to give 
him a liberal education, and besides the public 
schools he attended a military institute at Fre- 
mont, Trinity University at Old Trinity, and took 
his medical work in the University Medical Col- 
lege at Richmond, Virginia, where he was gradu- 
ated M. D. in May, 1897. For a year or more 
Doctor Hayes practiced in one of the smaller 
communities of North Carolina, but since Janu- 
ary, 1899, has been located at Fremont, and has 
acquired a large general practice. He is a mem- 
ber of the Wayne County, the Seaboard and the 
North Carolina Medical societies. 

For one year until he resigned he served in the 
office of coroner of Wilson County. He has been 
an alderman of Fremont, a member of the school 
board^ health officer, and is one of the three mem- 
bers of the executive committee of the road com- 
mission for Wayne County. Doctor Hayes has 
acquired a large amount of farming property, in- 
cluding about 700 acres, and so far as his pro- 
fessional interests permit he gives his supervision 
to its management and cultivation. He is a char- 
ter member of the Wilson Country Club, and is 
affiliated with the lodge and chapter of Masonry, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Knights of Pythias, and the Junior Order of Unit- 
ed American Mechanics. 

Doctor Hayes was first married January 9, 1898, 
to Miss Minnie Aycoek, of Fremont, daughter of 
Frank M. Aycoek. Five children were born to 
this marriage: John, Frank, Leonard Oscar, Jr., 
Elizabeth and William Benjamin. On May 6, 
1916, Doctor Hayes married Perrine Stover, of 
Heath Springs, South Carolina. Mrs. Hayes had 
been a teacher in the Fremont public schools for 
four years before her marriage. 

Walter Wellington Watt is a native of Meck- 
lenburg County and has called the City of 'Charlotte 
his home since 1880. Life and experience have 
brought him abundant opportunity, and few men 
have converted such opportunities into more prof- 
itable and successful results. In a business way 
Mr. Watt is known as president of the Southern 
Hardware Company, one of the largest concerns of 
its kind in the South, and has a host of business 
connections that make him well known over sev- 
eral states. 

A certain class of men ridicule the influence of 
ancestry, but all the notable careers of the ages 
and modern scientific investigations prove that 
"blood will tell." Mr. Watt never knew his 
father, a man of saintly character whose work as 
a minister of the gospel was completed before the 
great war and ten days before this son was born. 
But to the personal guidance and splendid in- 
fluences thrown around him during his youth Mr. 
Watt acknowledges a lasting and grateful debt to 
his mother, one of the truest and noblest old time 
southern gentlewomen that ever lived. 

His father, Rev. James Bell Watt, was born in 



Fairfield County, South Carolina, in 1820. He was 
the older of the two sons of James Watt and 
Margaret (Robb) Watt. He was educated at Due 
West, South Carolina, where he also studied for 
the ministry of the Associated Reformed Presby- 
terian Church. He was twice married, his first 
wife being Miss Margaret Bell, of Chester County, 
South Carolina. They had seven children, the two 
oldest Charles Bell Watt and Franklin William 
Watt, serving in the Confederate army. Franklin 
W. died in the service from wounds received at 
Gordonsville, Virginia, about 1862. Early in his 
ministry Rev. Mr. Watt moved to North Caro- 
lina, and for some years filled the pastorate of 
the Little Steele Creek Church of the Associated 
Reformed Presbyterians. While there his first 
wife died and he married Louisa Angelina Neal, 
youngest daughter of General William Henry and 
Hannah (Alexander) Neal of Little Steele Creek. 
About this time Mr. Watt severed his connection 
with the Associated Reformed Church on account 
of his divergent views with that church in the 
matter of restricted communion. He then joined 
the regular Presbyterian communion and was called 
to the pastorate of the Big Steele Creek Church. 
This is a historic and famous church in the 
Presbyterian denomination of North Carolina. He 
was pastor of the church until his death on Septem- 
ber 17, 1860, and is buried in the churchyard of 
that noted congregation. 

Through his mother Mr. Watt is descended from 
some of the oldest families of Mecklenburg County, 
including the Neals, the McCrearys, Griers and 
Alexanders. The Neal family was founded in 
America by Henry Neal, who came with Roger 
Williams to America and settled in Rhode Island, 
and later some of his descendants located in Penn- 
sylvania. The founder of the family in North 
Carolina was William Neal, of Scotch parentage, 
who came to Mecklenburg County from Pennsyl- 
vania some time between 1715 and 1725, and was 
one of the first white men in Mecklenburg County. 
A son of William Neal was the celebrated (.'apt. 
Henry Neal, great-great-grandfather o^ Mr. Watt 
in the maternal line. Capt. Henry Neal was born 
about 1734 in Lower Steele Creek Township of 
Mecklenburg County. He served as an officer of 
the Continental Line, commanding a company in 
the First North Carolina Troops. Through the 
services of this noted ancestor Mr. Watt has 
membership in the Society of the Cincinnati and is 
also a member of the Sons of the American Revolu- 
tion. Mr. Watt's mother was a granddaughter of 
Samuel Neal and her father, Gen. William Henry 
Neal, was prominent in the militia organization 
of North Carolina, a large planter and land owner, 
cotton manufacturer and a man of prominence in 
his day. 

Louisa Neal Watt, mother of Mr. Watt, sur- 
vived her husband more than half a century and 
died at the ripe old age of eighty-two. She was 
laid to rest beside her husband in the Big Steele 
Creek Churchyard in May, 1917. She was born 
at the Neal homestead near Catawba Rivr in the 
southwestern part of Steele Creek Township, known 
as Lower Steele Creek, December 6, 1835. She 
was only eighteen years of age at the time of her 
marriage to Rev. James Bell Watt. She was de- 
scended from men and women who were strong 
characters, and exemplified their characteristics in 
her own life. Once convinced of the righteousness 
of a cause, she never changed her mind. Righteous- 
ness was her watchword and she never compromised 



26 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



with evil. She was a strong, true and noble char- 
acter. Of the best Scotch-Irish Presbyterian stock, 
in every phase of her life she exemplified the 
highest type of her people. Beared in the East 
and with the comforts and generous living usual 
on the great plantations of the ante-bellum period, 
she had never known any sort of work until at 
the beginning of the great war she was left a 
widow with three small sons. Impoverished by 
the scourge of war, her indomitable spirit carried 
her" to the goal of her ambition to rear and 
educate her sons, and these three fine men are 
proof that she did her work nobly and well. Her 
sacrifices and her hardships of that time will never 
be known, since she never talked of them. Mrs. 
Watt, although strong with the strength that de- 
velops in the face of hardship and deprivations, 
was most womanly in the sweetest and gentlest 
of womanly ways. She was greatly beloved by all 
who were fortunate to be her friends and ac- 
quaintances. She was typically a southern lady, 
with all the graces, refinements and high intelli- 
gence that the name implies. In religious faith 
she was uncompromisingly Calvinistic. Born under 
the shadow of old Steel Creek Church, she lived 
her life according to the Confession of Faith and 
the Shorter Catechism, these with her Bible being 
her guide through life. She was never absent from 
church, and every cause of the church had a re- 
sponse from her mind, heart and purse. Her three 
sons, all of whom still survive, are: Dr. William 
Neal Watt of Austin, Texas; James Bell Watt 
of Steele Creek ; and Walter Wellington Watt of 
Charlotte. 

Walter Wellington Watt was born in Steele 
Creek Township, Mecklenburg County, September 
27, 1860. From what has been said of his mother 
it is needless to speak further of his boyhood 
environment. He was educated at the Steele Creek 
Academy and also at the famous Bingham Mili- 
tary Academy at Mebane, then under the manage- 
ment of Col. Robert Bingham. He graduated in 
the class of 1880 and at once took up the hard- 
ware business, which has been his chosen field of 
effort and the arena in which his powers and abil- 
ities have shown at their best. He acquired his 
preliminary experience in the hardware store of 
Kyle & Hammond at Charlotte, and several years 
later went to New York and acquired a detailed 
knowledge of the business with some of the larger 
retail and wholesale concerns. In the fall of 1888 
he gave up a position in New York City carry- 
ing a salary of $1,800 a year, and accepted a posi- 
tion of uncertain income with the Supplee Hard- 
ware Company of Philadelphia. His earnings in 
the new position were to be due entirely to the 
results he achieved as traveling representative in 
the South Atlantic States. Mr. W. W. Supplee, 
head of the business, shared the prevalent opinion 
that the South was a receding rather than an ad- 
vancing section. Mr. Watt thought otherwise. He 
had an abiding faith in the future of the South 
and made no secret of his conviction. More than 
that, he proved his faith by hazarding all upon 
the success of his undertaking. The first year he 
earned less than $1,000. The twelfth year he 
earned about $10,000, and the scope of the business 
has continued on an increasing scale during the 
remainder of the twenty-seven years he continued 
in relationship of southern sales manager. In con- 
sequence Mr. Supplee came to be one of the most 
zealous advocate^ and friends of the South, and 
frequently visited in the Carolinas. 

Besides the engrossing duties which took him 



so much of the time to other localities and other 
states Mr. Watt has energized and built up a chain 
of hardware stores throughout the two Carolinas. 
He became leading stockholder in 1908 and for a 
number of years has been president of the South- 
ern Hardware Company of Charlotte, is vice presi- 
dent of the Standard Hardware Company of Gas- 
tonia, president of the Rock Hill Supply Company, 
president of the Newberry Hardware Company, 
■president of the Horry Hardware Company of 
Conway, South Carolina, vice president of the 
Florence Hardware Company of Florence, South 
Carolina, vice president of the Marion Hardware 
Company of Marion, South Carolina, vice presi- 
dent of the Bennettsville Hardware Company and 
vice president of the Hartsville Hardware Com- 
pany. He is also president of the Hardware Fire 
Insurance Company of the Carolinas, having organ- 
ized the Retail Hardware Association of the two 
states which later formed the insurance company. 
He has also been and is national councillor for the 
Charlotte Chamber of Commerce. Fraternally he 
is a Master Mason. Mr. Watt married February 
18, 1903, Miss Elizabeth Reed of Savannah. 

Some of the broader significance of his life 
and activities is well told in an article which ap- 
peared in a Charlotte paper a few years ago, and 
which may properly conclude this sketch. 

' ' Extensive traveling, which has taken him into 
every state in the Union, have given Mr. Watt a 
variety of interests. He has made a study of 
politics and has a clear comprehension of how the 
game is played. He has a keen sense of justice 
that makes him the champion of the weak against 
the aggressions of the strong, and when he finds 
himself once enlisted ' in a fight where his prin- 
ciples are involved he does not know how to quit. 
Mindful of Mr. Watt's keen discontent with con- 
ditions that do not square with his ideas of jus- 
tice, the late Joseph P. Caldwell was wont to say 
jokingly in his presence, 'the only thing that 
keeps Walter Watt from being an anarchist is 
an income of $10,000 a year. ' 

"It was while traveling in the Northwest that 
Mr. Watt became interested in the subject of 
education. He observed that even the most poly- 
glot communities showed signs of progress and of 
more modern living than in his own native sec- 
tion. He began to analyze the situation why this 
should be so. The strain of blood was not bet- 
ter, nor anything like so good ; the climate was 
inferior, for here in North Carolina is one of the 
best in the world; the North Carolina soil is far 
superior. By a process of elimination he reached 
the conclusion that the difference lay in the educa- 
tion. The people of the Northwest were receiving 
practical vocational training, which brought the 
schoolroom life into close touch with the life out- 
side. Mr. Watt then became an advocate of voca- 
tional training. 

"As chairman of the Board of Education of 
Mecklenburg County — the only public office, by 
the way, which he ever consented to fill in all the 
years of his residence — Mr. Watt 's positions were 
always clearly defined. He stood for vocational 
training, and decided progress was made in this 
direction. He believed that the small outlying 
schools were being neglected in favor of the cen- 
tral strongly established schools and he made war 
on that tendency. He found the property of im- 
poverished widows assessed at sixty-six per cent 
of its value for taxation while highly valuable 
properties were assessed at sixteen per cent and 
he made war on that situation, demanding an 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



27 



equalization — not a blanket increase which merely 
increased the injustice — and was instrumental in 
adding $2,000,000 to the tax books before a halt 
was called. An increase of $6,000,000 had been 
expected as the result of the complete process. 
Under his leadership it has been authoritatively 
stated, Mecklenburg was the first county in the 
United States to provide an automobile for its 
superintendent of schools and now more than 100 
counties have followed suit. 

' ' Though now devoting himself entirely to his 
private concerns, Mr. Watt never for a moment 
loses touch with the sweep of current life. He 
knows what 's what. If anyone thinks otherwise, 
try him out. In combat he is a foeman worthy 
of any steel. As a progressive and aggressive fac- 
tor in the upbuilding of the community and state 
he is a dynamic force whose value is beyond com- 
putation. ' ' 

Alfred Julius Klutz. Greensboro has been the 
scene of Mr. Klutz's active independent career, 
and while he began life as a clerk and with only 
his individual resources to command, he has pros- 
pered and is an active official in two of the lead- 
ing drug houses of the city. 

Mr. Klutz was born on a farm in Providence 
Townshij) of Eowan County, North Carolina. His 
grandfather, William B. Klutz, was owner and op- 
erator of a plantation in Cabarrus County, and 
probably spent all his life there. William B. 
Klutz., Jr., who was born in that section of 
North Carolina, grew up in rural surroundings and 
was busily engaged in farming and planting when 
the war between the states broke out. He served 
as a Confederate soldier, and after the war re- 
moved to Rowan County, buying a plantation in 
Providence Township. That was the scene of his 
labors and activities the rest of his life. He died 
in 1881. He married Julia A. Ludwig, who was 
born in Cabarrus County, daughter of J. A. Lud- 
wig. There were four children in the family : 
George A., who died at the age of forty-two years; 
Jennie, who died aged thirty-nine, wife of John R. 
Crawford; Minnie B., who married Jacob Sowers; 
and Albert Julius. 

Mr. Klutz during his boyhood attended district 
school and had his higher advantages in the North 
Carolina College at Mount Pleasant. At the age 
of eighteen, having chosen a business career, he 
went to work as clerk in a drug store at Salis- 
bury, and three years later removed to Winston- 
Salem, where he continued clerking for about five 
years. 

He came to Greensboro to engage in business for 
himself and lias kept his affairs progressing until 
he is now secretary and treasurer of the Greens- 
boro Drug Company and of the Farris Klutz Drug 
Company. The latter company owns and operates 
the Greensboro Drug Store that is peculiarly a 
literary landmark. It was the store in which Sid- 
ney Porter clerked as a young man before he had 
earned place among the literary celebrities of the 
world under the name O. Henry. 

Mr. Klutz is an active member of the Merchants 
and Manufacturers Club and the Chamber of Com- 
merce, belongs to the Greensboro County Club 
and the Rotary Club, and is affiliated with Greens- 
boro Loda"e No. 602 of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks. He and his wife are active 
in the First Lutheran Church, and he has been a 
deacon in that church since it was organized. In 
1912 he married Miss Bessie Rankin. Mrs. Klutz 
was born in Guilford County, daughter of William 



C. and Julia A. Rankin. The three children of Mr. 
and Mrs. Klutz are named Dorothy, Julia Ann and 
Albert Julius, Jr. 

David Livingstone Ward, of Newbern, has given 
all his best years, his best talents, and his inter- 
est to the law, and largely due to this concentra- 
tion of purpose has gained a success that ranks 
him among the ablest members of the North Car- 
olina bar. 

Mr. Ward was born in Greene County, North 
Carolina, October 24, 1860, and represents a prom- 
inent old family of North Carolina — one that was 
settled iiere in colonial days. His grandfather, 
Josiah Ward, acquired an immense tract of land 
fionting on the Atlantic Ocean and extensively 
farmed it and was a man of power and influence 
in the locality g Mr. Ward is a son of Dr. David 
George Washington and Adelaide (Moye) Ward. 
His father was not only a physician with a large 
practice but owned a plantation, and before the 
war operated ' with slave labor. 

David L. Ward had a liberal education, despite 
the fact that his early childhood was spent m 
the period of devastation during and following the 
war. He attended Stantonsburg Academy in Wil- 
son County, under Dr. Joseph Foy, and from there 
entered Wake Forest College, where he was grad- 
uated A. B. in 1881. He pursued the study of 
law with Dick & Dillard, noted lawyers and law 
teachers at Greensboro, and was licensed to prac- 
tice in February, 1883, by Justices W. H. Smith, 
Thomas S. Ashe and Thomas Ruffin. of the Supreme 
Court. 

Mr. Ward began practice at Marshall in West- 
ern North Carolina, had his law office at Wilson 
one year, was associated for a time with Colonel 
Thomas S. Kenan, and then went west to San 
Francisco, California, where he was enjoying a 
large and lucrative law practice for eight' years. 
At the death of his parents he returned to North 
Carolina, and on March 1, 1894, located at New- 
bern, where he has practiced steadily for the past 
twenty-three years. Mr. Ward's ability and tal- 
ents are especially well displayed in the handling 
of civil cases, and a practice of great variety 
and importance in this branch has been given him. 

He served six years as county attorney of Craven 
County, resigning from the office in 1905 to enter 
the State Senate, to which he was elected in 1904. 
By appointment he served with the rank of colonel 
on the personal staff of Governor Glenn and also 
on the staff of Governor Kitchin. Governor 
Kitchin appointed him judge of the Superior Court 
of the third district, and while by nature and ex- 
perience well fitted for judicial duties he soon 
resigned his post in order to take up what is to 
him more congenial work, his private practice. 

Mr. Ward is a member and chairman of the 
executive board of the North Carolina Bar Asso- 
ciation, is former chairman of the judiciary com- 
mittee of the association, and belongs to the 
American Bat Association. He is affiliated with 
the Kappa Alpha college fraternity, is a Knight 
Templar Mason and a member of Sudan Temple of 
the Mystic Shrine. He also belongs to the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. Ward was 
married February 7, 1900, to Miss Carrie Louise 
Schollenberg, of Philadelphia. Pennsylvania. They 
have three children : Emily Curran, David Living- 
stone and Carrie Louise. 

Charles P. Parker. It is a highly grateful 
task to be able to record and estimate as fully 



28 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



as possible such splendid services as have been 
rendered to Bladen County by two members of the 
Parker family, father and son, the late William 
J. Parker and Charles P. Parker. It was in every 
sense fitting that a thriving and nourishing town 
just across the line from Bladen County in Samp- 
son County should be named Parkersburg to com- 
memorate "not only the business energy but also 
the civic prominence of the late William J. 
Parker. 

William J. Parker was born in Sampson 
Count v in L824. His father, Joel Parker, was a 
native of Virginia, while the grandfather was born 
in England. Several generations of the Parkers 
have lived in Sampson County. When twenty 
years old in 1844, William J. Parker left the old 
home in Sampson County and moved into Bladen 
County. He acquired just one acre of land at 
v\liat later became known as Cypress Creek, four 
miles west of the present Town of Parkersburg. 
Ill was at that time absolutely without financial 
resources, not even a dollar. It would be an in- 
teresting story to tell in detail how he went to 
work to make a home and place for himself in 
the world and how one by one those things he 
most desired came to him and how he earned the 
substantial gratitude of his fellow citizens and 
made a memory that will not soon perish. 

At his first location he spent all the rest of his 
days. His energy enabled him to acquire large 
and valuable tracts of land surrounding him, and 
he developed a plantation and prior to the war 
was a slave owner. During the war he had charge 
of the Confederate Home Guards in his vicinity 
and was postmaster of Cypress Creek and per- 
formed various other useful duties for the Con- 
federacy. In 1846 he engaged in the mercantile 
business, opening a stock of goods in a store near 
his residence in Cypress Creek. This business was 
burned out in 1858 and caused the loss of nearly 
all his accumulations. He refused to allow the 
misfortune to daunt him for a single moment. 
He went to work, regained all he had lost, and 
much more besides. In the era when the turpen- 
tine business was the great industry of North Car- 
olina he became one of the most extensive turpen- 
tine operators and was a manufacturer on a large 
scale of naval stores. His mercantile interests 
rapidly expanded, and in 1892, when the Cape 
Fear and Yadkin Valley Eailway was completed 
through this region, he established a store on 
the line four miles east of his old home in Samp- 
son County and thus inaugurated a village com- 
munity which was named in his honor Parkers- 
burg. 

For all that he accomplished in a business way 
his memory is most secure because of the inval- 
uable services he rendered the county as county 
commissioner for sixteen years following 1876. 
It was not characteristic of him to render official 
duty in a prefunctory manner and it was the ex- 
traordinary energy and financial acumen he 
brought to bear in redeeming Bladert County from 
hopeless bankruptcy that makes his official term 
so memorable. It will be recalled that North 
Carolina was redeemed from the carpet-bag regime 
by the election of 1876, when Vance was defeated 
as governor. At the same election William J. 
Parker was elected county commissioner of Bla- 
den County. He and his five colleagues after brief 
investigation discovered that the county's fiscal 
affairs were in an almost hopeless condition on 
account of several years of corruption and mis- 
rule following the war. They were confronted 



with a truly herculean task. William J. Parker 
put his whole heart in the work, and applied to 
it all the ability and good judgment that had 
made him a successful man in his own affairs. 
The county debt was over $40,U00. The county 's 
scrip was not worth the paper it was printed on. 
In 1878 he was made chairman of the board, and 
throughout his term of sixteen years was inde- 
fatigable in effort and resource to serve the county. 
The result, briefly stated, is that when he left 
office the county was out of debt, its credit was 
first class, and everybody then and since has said 
that William J. Parker deserves a monument for 
what he did for the county. 

The death of this splendid citizen occurred in 
1896. He had lived a life of intense usefulness 
and high purpose for fully half a century. Prior 
to the war he was a whig in politics. After that 
struggle he was a stanch and loyal democrat. He 
was very religious, a generous supporter of the 
church and its activities, and for a long period of 
years served as steward of the Methodist Episcopal 
pal Church, South. For a number of years be was 
chairman of the Joint Board of Finance of the 
North Carolina Conference, a position of responsi- 
bility that has never been filled by any other lay- 
man in this conference. Another church service 
which he performed many years was as Sunday 
school superintendent. In character he was 
stanch and true, possessed the courage of convic- 
tions, never compromised his principles for any 
consideration whatever, and proof of his stead- 
fastness is found in the fact that while he was 
county commissioner he did not allow personal 
friendships or neighborly relations to interfere 
with the exact performance of his duty. He was 
always willing to sacrifice temporary good will in 
order to insure the true welfare of the greatest 
number. All who knew him testified to his prc- 
gressiveness and enterprise and he is remembered 
as an advocate of good roads long Defore that 
movement was thoroughly inaugurated in the 
state. 

William J. Parker married Amanda J. Cromartie. 
She was the daughter of Patrick Cromartie, grand- 
daughter of John Cromartie, and great-grand- 
daughter of William Cromartie, who founded the 
Cromartie family of Bladen County in 1/65 and 
whose descendants have continued to live on the 
Cromartie land there to this day. The distin- 
guished position of this family in North Carolina 
history is described elsewhere in this publication. 

Whatever his other individual interests and 
activities have been, Charles P. Parker has always 
felt that life demanded of him more than anything 
else that he be true to the ideals and exam pi t of 
his honored father. The good people of Bladen 
County have many reasons to testify how worthily 
he has lived up to this ideal. He was his father's 
successor as a member of the Board of County 
Commissioners, beginning in 1891, and served the 
same length of time his father did, a period of 
sixteen years, ending in 1907. During fifteen 
years of this time he was chairman of the board, 
it was his constant aim to continue the good 
work of judicious administration of county affairs, 
and every new responsibility and emergency he 
tested by the wise precedence set by his father. 
It was during this administration that the new 
court house and jail were built at Elizabethtown, 
and much other permanent public works consum- 
mated and transacted. It is said that Mr. Parker 
made an ideal presiding officer for the board, dis- 
charging his duties with dignity and with as 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



29 



much dispatch as were justified by the importance 
of the matter in hand. In fact he seems to have 
had an especial talent for handling the responsi- 
bilities of county chairman. It was a work, 
furthermore which appealed to his taste and drew 
out of him his best business ability. The records 
set by him and his father, covering a period of 
thirty-two years, is undoubtedly one of the long- 
est as well as one of the most nearly ideal that 
can be found in any county of the state. 

Charles P. Parker was born in 1848, on the 
place where he has spent his entire life, the home 
which his father acquired in 1844. Charles P. 
Parker has the honor of being one of the youngest 
surviving veterans of the great war between the 
states. He served through the last three months 
of the war in 1865, as a private in Company I of 
the Second South Carolina Cavalry, being only 
seventeen years old at the time. 

Soon after the war he entered merchandizing 
under his father and continued this for nearly 
half a century. Under the old firm name of W. 
J. Parker & Son the business was continued at 
Cypress Creek and at Parkersburg until 1914, 
when Mr. Parker retired. For nearly half a 
century the firm supplied much of the general 
merchandise required and consumed over the large 
and prosperous agricultural section surrounding 
the stores. Since 1914 Mr. Parker has devo + ed 
his attention to his extensive farming interests, 
including the management of the eleven hundred 
acres of land at his home place, and is also post- 
master of Parkersburg. 

Mr. Parker married Miss Elizabeth Oneal 
Eichardson Smith. Mrs. Parker is a member of 
a very interesting and historic North Carolina 
family. Her parents were Rev. Alexander B. 
and Mary A. (Richardson) Smith of Anson 
County. Her father was a Methodist minister, 
prominent for many years in the North Carolina 
Conference and was the first president of old 
Carolina College, a denominational school at An- 
sonville. Mrs. Parker was born in Anson County. 
but was reared in Bladen County at the home of 
her uncle, Dr. John S. Richardson. 

Her Richardson ancestry goes back to the noted 
Colonel James Richardson, who was born at Ston- 
ington, Connecticut, and was a member of a fam- 
ily of wealthy merchants and ship owners. While 
traveling on one of his trading ships engaged in 
the English-West Indian trade he was wrecked 
off Cape Hatteras in 1776, and making his way 
to Newbern, North Carolina, determined to be- 
come a permanent citizen of the state. He soon 
afterwards settled in Bladen County on the Cape 
Fea,T River five miles below Elizabethtown. 
Colonel Richardson was a man of military record. 
He served with the British army in colonial times 
and commanded a regiment under Wolfe at the 
Battle of Quebec in the French and Indian war. 
Notwithstanding his former services to the Crown 
he was a loyal American patriot and during the 
Revolution was with the armies under General 
Greene in the South Carolina and North Car- 
olina campaigns. One of his cousins, Nathaniel 
Robinson, a member of the Provincial Congress 
from North Carolina, was shot by the tories. 
Col. James Richardson married Mrs. Elizabeth 
Oneal Purdie, widow of Hugh Purdie of Bladen 
County. Colonel Richardson developed and built 
one of the famous landmarks of Eastern North 
Carolina, known as "Harmony Hall." This is 
situated on the Cape Fear River twelve miles 
above Elizabethtown, and in ante-bellum days was 



one of the famous plantations, conspicuous for 
its beauty of situation and surroundings. In the 
course of generations its owner became Rev. 
Samuel Neal Richardson, maternal grandfather 
of Mrs. Parker. This grandfather was a dis- 
tinguished figure in the ministry of the Method- 
ist Episcopal Church, South, in North Carolina. 

Patrick Sidney Cromartie is a prominent 
planter of Bladen County in the same district 
where the Cromarties as a family have lived for 
more than a century and a half. He is a great- 
grandson of the original founder of the family in 
America, William Cromartie, whose interesting and 
romantic career is briefly sketched on other pages 
of this work. 

One of William Cromartie 's sons was Alexander 
Cromartie, whose share of the family estate was 
the plantation now occupied by his grandson 
Patrick Sidney, a son of Patrick L. Cromartie. 

Patrick L. Cromartie was born on that farm 
April 10, 1825, spent his life as a planter and died 
there September 7, 1897. He was in the Con- 
federate army during the war between the states. 
The grandfather, Alexander Cromartie, was born 
August 12. 1772, and his wife, Elizabeth Carr, was 
born in 1782. 

Partick L. Cromartie married Eleanor Faison, 
who died February 6, 1918. She was a member 
of that prominent Faison family of Sampson and 
Duplin counties, frequent references to which 
among the historic personages of eastern North 
Carolina are made throughout this publication. 

Patrick Sidney Cromartie was born in 1869. He 
grew up here and his life has been lived creditably 
in accordance with the ideals of his ancestors. His 
plantation comprises between 400 and 450 acres 
of fine land that characterizes this section of 
North Carolina, situated along the South River. 
The plantation adjoins that of Dr. R. S. Cro- 
martie, elsewhere mentioned in this publication, 
and is about 3% miles west of the Town of Gar- 
land in Sampson County. The Cromartie planta- 
tion, however, lives in Cypress Creek Township of 
Bladen County, along the banks of the South 
River. Mr. Cromartie has developed his land as a 
general farming proposition, and has a handsome 
as well as a valuable estate. Like all his ancestors 
before him, he is a member of the old South River 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Cromartie married Miss Rossie Page. She 
was born at Harrell 's Store in Sampson County, 
daughter of Evan and Marie Page. They have 
one daughter, Mary Elizabeth Cromartie. 

William G. Davis. The Dixie Fire Insurance 
Company of Greensboro is an institution with such 
resources and high standing among the insurance 
companies of the South that any official connec- 
tion therewith is in itself a badge of honor and 
an evidence of great business capacity and integ- 
rity. William G. Davis has been identified with 
the company for the past ten vears, and is its 
treasurer, and as such is one of the well known 
insurance men of the state. 

Mr. Davis was born on a farm belonging to his 
maternal grandfather located near Trinity in 
Randolph County, North Carolina. His great- 
grandfather once owned and operated a farm 
in Lenoir County. His grandfather, Mandell 
Davis, was born in Lenoir County and owned 
and occupied a plantation there. His death 
at the age of sixty-four was the result of an 
accident. He married Elizabeth Rouse, who prob- 



30 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



ably spent all her life in Lenoir County, and lived 
to the advanced age of eighty-four. Of their eight 
sons, seven served as Confederate soldiers. Their 
names were Samuel, James, Robert, William, 
Alonzo, John and Aleck. Of these Samuel and 
Aleck survive, while four of the brothers died in 
the service and one shortly after his return home. 

Aleck Davis, father of William G. was born in 
Lenoir County, grew up on a farm, and after his 
marriage began agricultural work in the upper 
edge of Duplin County. He enlisted from that 
locality and alter the close of the war resumed 
his business connections as a merchant at Mount 
Olive. Ee spenl his last years in that town. Aleck 
Davis married Carrie Kornegay, who was born 
in Lenoir County near the Wayne County line, 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Wade) Konre- 
gay. William Kornegay was a prominent business 
man and planter and for many years engaged in 
merchandising at White Hall in Lenoir County. 
He owned and operated several large plantations 
in different counties and also coal lands at San- 
ford. His residence throughout his life was in 
Lenoir County. He and his wife had four sons and 
one daughter, the sons being James, William, 
Robert and Albert. Mrs. Carrie Davis died at the 
age of thirty-four years. Aleck Davis married 
for his second wife Bettie Barrett. Of the first 
marriage there were four children, Jefferson, Eva, 
William G. and Lola. The father by his second 
wife had one daughter, Mayme. 

William G. Davis attended rural schools and 
graduated from the Laurinsburg High School. 
After two years of clerking in a mercantile house 
at Mount Olive he formed' a partnership with his 
uncle, Robert Kornegay, and they were extensive 
and well known general merchants at Mount Olive 
for a period of sixteen years. Having sold out his 
interests there. Mr. Davis in 1908 came to Greens- 
boro to take up the work of reserved clerk with the 
Dixie Fire Insurance Company. He rapidly ac- 
quired and assimilated knowledge of the insurance 
business and was advanced until in 1914 he was 
elected treasurer of the company. 

In 1892 he married Miss Maria F. Marable, 
who was born in Sampson County, daughter of 
Rev. B. F. and Octavia (Faison) Marable. Mr. 
and Mrs. Davis have one daughter, Virginia, now 
a student in the State Normal and Industrial Col- 
lege. Mr. and Mrs. Davis are members of the 
Presbyterian Church. He served as elder and 
deacon in the church at Mount Olive and at Greens- 
boro is a member of the First Presbyterian Church. 

Hon. Robert B. Redwine. One of the most 
forceful and energetic citizens of Union County, 
Hon. Roliert B. Red wine has steadfastly used his 
sterling legal talents in the furtherance of those 
movements which he has considered to be fqr the 
welfare of his community, incorporating the two 
characters of lawyer and citizen into a worthy and 
helpful personal combination which has been gen- 
erally accounted an example well worthy of emu- 
lation. Since 1891 he has been engaged in the 
practice of his profession at Monroe and has 
steadily risen to a commanding position among 
the legists of the county seat, where he is at 
present a member of the law firm of Red wine & 
Sikes. Both as a legislator and a private citizen 
he has been unsparing in contributing of his abili- 
ties in securing better legislation, and as a finan- 
cier his personal integrity has lent strength to 
local hanking conditions. 

Robert R. Red wine was born in 1860, in Union 



County, North Carolina, and is a son of the late 
Dr. T. W. and Mary A. (Clark) Redwine. The 
Redwine family is of German origin, the founders 
of the name in this country first settling in Penn- 
sylvania, while the branch to which Senator Red- 
wine belongs located in North Carolina a few years 
prior to the Revolutionary war. Dr. T. W. Red- 
wine was horn in Davidson County, North Caro- 
lina, April 18, 1827, and was given good educa- 
tional advantages, attending the best schools af- 
forded by that county. He read medicine at 
Mount Pleasant under Doctors Smith and Sted- 
man, and located at Samuel Howie's, in the wes- 
tern part of Union County, where in September, 
1846, he engaged upon a career in medicine that 
extended over a period of fifty-three years. When 
the Civil war broke out Doctor Redwine enlisted 
and went to the front as a Confederate soldier, 
and in September, 1861, was elected captain of 
Company F, Thirty-fifth Regiment, North Caro- 
lina Infantry. After a brave and meritorious 
service he returned to his practice at the close of 
the war, and in 1880 was honored by his fellow- 
practitioners by election to the presidency of the 
Union County Medical Society, an honor which 
evidences the high quality of his ability and his 
standing in medical circles. In 1875 he was a 
member of the Constitutional Convention, repre- 
senting Union County with great credit to himself 
and his constituents. He continued in active prac- 
tice until 1899, in which year he retired, and lived 
quietly at his home until his death in January, 
1911. While he was one of the leading citizens 
and physicians of his day and community in Union 
County, he was quiet and unassuming, not given to 
show, nor cherishing any ambitions for exalted 
public position, merely a skilled, learned and 
kindly physician, a sympathetic friend and a thor- 
ough gentleman of the old school. He married 
Miss Mary A. Clark, whose death occurred in 1889, 
and they became the parents of several children. 

Robert B. Redwine was reared on the farm of 
his father in Union County and attended the 
famous Bingham School of North Carolina, after 
leaving which he began the study of law under 
the preeeptorship of the late Dr. John Manning 
and Judge Shepherd, obtaining his license to prac- 
tice in 1889. The two legal teachers referred to 
were members of the faculty of the University of 
North Carolina, and after being admitted to the 
bar Mr. Redwine returned to the university for 
an optional literary and law course, which he pur- 
sued for about one year, receiving the degree of 
Bachelor of Laws from that institution. In 1891 
he began the practice of his profession at Monroe, 
the county seat of his native county, a practice he 
has pursued with eminent success ever since, and 
has won abundant prosperity in life, being one of 
the citizens of the county who are of large ma- 
terial resources. In 1895 he formed a law part- 
nership with the late Maj. David A. Covington, an 
association which continued until the latter 's death, 
and at present he is senior partner of the law 
firm of Redwine & Sikes. He has always enjoyed 
a large law practice, both civil and criminal, and 
has the absolute confidence of clients, whose in- 
terests he makes his own. Both in and out of the 
courthouse he is the personification of honor and 
integrity, standing unflinchingly by principle and 
truth as he sees them. 

Senator Redwine has rendered much public and 
useful service to his city, county and state. He 
served for some months as chairman of the board 
of county commissioners and as a member of the 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



31 



board of education. In the former position he was 
largely instrumental in inaugurating improvement 
in the county by working convicts on the county 
roads. He was secretary of the Democratic Union 
County Executive Committee in 1894 and carried 
on a successful campaign, and in 1895 was elected 
from his county as a member of the Lower House 
of the Legislature. In 1907 he was elected to rep- 
resent his district in the North Carolina State 
Senate, in which body, as in the Lower House, he 
acquitted himself with honor and distinction. Sen- 
ator Redwine was particularly active in advocat- 
ing more efficient laws for the government of penal 
affairs in the state, believing always that the 
state's prisoners as far as able should be made 
to work and to be as self-sustaining and as little 
expense to the state as possible. He was also an 
advocate of better laws for the care of the in- 
sane and other indigents, and of all laws for the 
moral betterment of the people at large. In local 
affairs Senator Redwine was instrumental in es- 
tablishing a city recorder 's office at Monroe, which 
has saved the county a great deal of money. He is 
contributing his share to educational advancement 
as a member of the board of trustees of the Uni- 
versity of North Carolina. Senator Redwine is 
well .known in banking circles as president of the 
Savings, Loan & Trust Company, which was or- 
ganized in 1903 and has had a successful career 
as a financial institution. He also organized the 
Lake Land and Lumber Company, which carried 
on a highly successful series of land operations 
in Florida. 

Senator Redwine was married in 1895 to Miss 
Sallie Wall McAlister, of Walltown, Anson County, 
North Carolina, and they have eight children: 
Sarah McAlister, a student at Randolph-Macon 
College, and active in educational work; and Mary 
Catharine, Robert B., Jr., Thomas Worth, John 
McAlister, Florence Stockhouse, Margaret Wall 
and Elizabeth Armentine Redwine. 

William Sloan. Garland is a town not more 
than thirty years old and reflects the riches and 
prosperity of one of the districts of most varied 
resources in Eastern North Carolina. One of 
the men whose work and interests have 1 een con- 
sistently identified with Garland from the begin- 
ning is Mr. William Sloan, a planter there before 
the town was laid out and continuously since 
1890 its postmaster and one of its chief 
merchants. 

Mr. Sloan 's career is interesting because of 
what he has accomplished and the influences he 
has directed towards the upbuilding of this com- 
munity, and also for prominent family connec- 
tions. The Sloans are an old and distinguished 
family in both Sampson and Duplin counties. His 
grandfather, Hon. Dickson Sloan, lived in Duplin 
County and represented that section in the Gen- 
eral Assembly for a number of years. Through 
his mother he was related to the well known 
Dickson family of North Carolina. Dickson 
Sloan married Catherine Bryan, descended from 
the noted Col. Needham Bryan, a branch of the 
ancestry described more in detail on other pages. 
Dickson Sloan 's home was originally in Duplin 
County and in what is now Taylor's Bridge 
Township in Sampson County. The old home 
was in the same community where the modern 
Delway stands. 

In that locality was born Dr. David Dickson 
Sloan, father of William Sloan. Dr. David 
Dickson was a lifelong country physician and 



planter. He left the ancestral home during the 
'40s and established the present Sloan place on 
the South River, a mile west of the Town of Gar- 
land in Sampson County. Dr. David Dickson 
Sloan married Harriet Cromartie, daughter of 
John Cromartie and granddaughter of William 
Cromartie, who founded the Cromartie family of 
Bladen County in 1765. The Cromartie lands 
are only three miles west of Garland. The story 
of the Cromartie family makes one of the most 
interesting chapters in North Carolina families 
and is related somewhat at length on other pages. 

At the home of his parents above noted in the 
town of Garland William Sloan was born in 1858, 
and has always kept his home in that one local- 
ity. Mr. Sloan has a fine body of land compris- 
ing about seven hundred acres in his home 
place, with about a hundred acres under culti- 
vation. He owns another farm of two hundred 
acres four miles below in Bladen County. While 
these are sufficient to constitute him one of the 
larger farmers of the county, much of his busi- 
ness has been in mercantile and naval stores 
business. He has one of the large stores in 
Garland, and the postoffice has been an adjunct 
of his business there for many years. 

Mr. Sloan married Miss Carrie Moore, daugh- 
ter of Charles Peyton and Margaret Maria (Rob- 
inson) Moore of Currie in what was originally 
New Hanover, now Pender County. She is a 
member of one of the historic Moore families 
whose name is perpetuated in the Moore 's Creek 
Battleground of Revolutionary fame. Charles 
Peyton Moore, her father, was a Confederate sol- 
dier in the war between the states. Mrs. Sloan's 
great-uncle, Col. John Sellars, was in command of 
a North Carolina regiment during the Revolution. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sloan 's commodious and beau- 
tiful home on the South River is noted for its 
cheer and hospitality. Their children were reared 
here and the friendly associations of their child- 
hood bring them back constantly to its inviting 
environment. Mr. and Mrs. Sloan have a highly 
educated and cultured family of seven children. 
Their names in order of age are Dr. William 
Henry Sloan, Mary Moore, Charles Austin, Carrie 
Bryan, David Dickson, Anna Belle and Elizabeth 
Wren Sloan. The older son, Dr. William Henry 
Sloan, graduated A. B. from Davidson College 
and in medicine from the University of Mary- 
land in 1915, and is in the Medical Reserve Corps 
of the United States Army and now in France. 
The second child, Mary Moore, is the wife of 
Dr. J. W. Farrar, of Kenansville, North Caro- 
lina. She was educated in Peace Institute at 
Raleigh, graduating in 1909. Charles Austin 
Sloan graduated from the University of 
North Carolina in 1915, and when this was 
written in April, 1918, he was in the officers' 
training camp at Camp Jackson, South Carolina. 
Carrie Bryan is the wife of Mr. J. O. Bowman, 
an educator, who is now located at Cranberry, 
center of the iron and copper mining industry 
in Western North Carolina. The son, David Dick- 
son, is a sophomore in the University of North 
Carolina and Anna Belle is a sophomore at Peace 
Institute. Mr. and Mrs. Sloan are members of 
the Presbyterian Church. 

Charles W. Peppleb, Ph. D., professor of 
Greek in Trinity College, is one of the prominent 
classical scholars of America, and both as teacher 
and author has done much for the cause of classi- 
cal education. 



32 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



He was born in Baltimore, Maryland, January 
16, 1872, son of Charles and Laura Virginia (God- 
man) Peppier. He early distinguished himself by 
pronounced intellectual ability and attainments. 
He was educated in the Baltimore public schools 
and in 1889, at the age of seventeen, was grad- 
uated from the Baltimore City College. The same 
year he entered the Johns Hopkins University. His 
progress through that institution was marked by 
his winning a Hopkins Scholarship for 1889-90 
and Eonorary Hopkins Scholarships for 1890-91 
and 1891-92, and in 1892 he was graduated with 
the A. B. degree. He was awarded University 
Scholarships for 1892-93 and 1893-94, and a Fel- 
lowship for 1895-96. He received the degree of 
Doctor of Philosophy from the Johns Hopkins 
in 1898. He is a member of the Johns Hopkins 
Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa. In 1902 Doctor 
Peppier was a student in the University of Berlin. 

Since his graduation in 1898 he has been teach- 
ing Greek in colleges: Prom 1898 to 1912 he was 
the "George I. Seney" professor of the Greek 
Language and Literature in Emory College, Ox- 
ford, Georgia, and since 1912 he has been profes- 
sor of Greek in Trinity College, Durham, North 
Carolina. 

Doctor Peppier 's work as an author includes 
the following: Comic Terminations in Aristoph- 
anes and the Comic Fragments, 1902; The 
Persians of Timotheus, 1904; The Termination- 
's, as Used by Aristophanes for Comic Effect, 
1910; The Sinai Manuscript of the Bible, 1912; 
New Greek Literature, 1914; The Suffix-?n-a. in 
Aristophanes, 1916; Comic Terminations in Aris- 
tophanes, Part IV, 1918; besides numerous book 
reviews in Classical Philology, The American 
Journal of Philology, The Classical "Weekly, The 
South Atlantic Quarterly, etc. 

Doctor Peppier is a member of various learned 
societies, including the American Philological As- 
sociation and the Classical Association of the 
Middle West and South. He was first vice presi- 
dent of the Classical Association of the Middle 
West and South in 1910-11, and was vice president 
for Georgia in 1908-12, and for South Carolina in 
1908-09. He is a democrat in politics and a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

On June 11, 1902, in Baltimore, Doctor Pepp- 
ier married Miss Edith Virginia Adams, daughter 
of Matthew W. and Laura Virginia (Brady) 
Adams. 

Archibald Fairley Patterson. Among the fine 
farms and country homes that give dignity and 
prestige to the rich section of North Carolina 
known as Scotland County, one is owned by Archi- 
bald Fairley Patterson of the Laurel Hill com- 
munity. Mr. Patterson comes by his vocation as a 
planter very naturally, that having been the worthy 
calling of his ancestors here for many generations 
and it is almost bred in the bone of the Patter- 
sons to be substantial and successful farmers as 
well as very bright ami honorable citizens. 

Mr. Patterson was born about three miles from 
his present home in 1S.17, a son of Dr. Archibald 
and Mary Anne (Fairley) Patterson. Dr. Arehi- 
bald Patterson, who was born in 1824 in the same 
locality where liis son now has his home, spent his 
life in a country enriched by the association of 
members of the Patterson and Fairley families 
from before the time of the Revolutionary war. 
Both families originated in Scotland. Dr. Patter- 
son graduated in medicine from the University of 
Pennsylvania and until the time of his death kept 



up his interest and work in that institution. He 
was one of the leading physicians of his day over a 
wide extended territory. His death came in the 
very prime of his usefulness on November 30, 1872. 
He was a leader in all good works, a man of ex- 
alted character, and though forty-five years have 
passed since his death his virtues are still recalled 
in the old community. He was an elder in Laurel 
Hill Presbyterian Church, as his son Archibald 
Fairley is today. This is one of the oldest and 
most historic churches in this section of the state. 
It lies almost within a stone 's throw of Archi- 
bald Fairley Patterson's home. The old church 
was in the direct pathway of the invading army 
of General Sherman during the war, and for a time 
was used by General Sherman as headquarters. 
The mother of Archibald Fairley Patterson waa 
Mary Anne Fairley, a daughter of Dr. Archibald 
Fairley. Her grandfather was Alexander Fairley, 
an historic character of this section of North Car- 
olina. Both the Fairleys and Pattersons are rep- 
resentatives of the best families of wealth and 
character who have lived here for over a hundred 
and fifty years and have made the Scotch country 
of Southwestern North Carolina the richest sec- 
tion of the state. Where these families settled 
was originally a part of Anson County, later of 
Richmond County, and now part of the newer 
county of Scotland. 

When Archibald Fairley Patterson was eighteen 
years of age he left his father 's old plantation and 
came to his present home about two miles away. 
The land he now cultivates is a part of the original 
Patterson estate. He began here as a planter, and 
that has been his sole occupation. His holdings 
have increased until he is now proprietor of about 
700 acres of the rich soil for which Scotland 
County is famous. In the territory around him 
may be found an agricultural class of unusual 
prosperity, especially in these days of high priced 
cotton. The Patterson plantation is known as 
Meichledale. It is in Laurel Hill Township, about 
4% miles north of Laurinburg, the county seat, 
and some distance from Laurel Hill, the local post- 
office. Mr. Patterson 's home is modern, equipped 
with conveniences and comforts, but also retains 
the air of fine hospitality typical of the old South. 
In front of the residence is a fine grove of trees 
which Mr. Patterson himself set out when a young 
man. 

Mr. Patterson married Miss Emily Elliott, who 
died in June. 1913. She was a sister of George D. 
Elliott and of Mrs. W. L. Williams of Linden, and 
many of the particulars of her family will be 
found on other pages. Mr. Patterson is the father 
of six children : Miss Jane Evans Patterson, a 
missionarv now in service in Cuba; Miss Mary 
Fairley Patterson. Mrs. Kate McMillan. Mrs. 
Eliza Shaw, Miss Emily and Miss Carolyn Patter- 
son. 

Charles Hoertel has been a factor in the 
manufacturing affairs of High Point for a num- 
ber of years and is an expert mirror maker. 

Mr. Hoertel was born in Alsace, son of William 
and Salome Hoertel, also natives of the same 
province and of pure French ancestry. William 
Hoertel came to the United States, but after a 
few years returned to his native land. Mr. Charles 
Hoertel 's only brother served several years in the 
French armv. 

Charles Hoertel was twelve years old when he 
came to this country with his father and grew to 
young manhood in New York City. He had at- 




I I \ 



Xyj^OOlu 



y v * ** ^ w vi 

1 WmuHWxW. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



33 



tended school regularly while in his native country, 
and also had some instruction in the public schools 
of New York City. When still a boy in years 
he entered the service of Ferd Ecker, the mirror 
manufacturer, and was in his employ in New York 
City and in 1904 came with Mr. Ecker to High 
Point, and has been actively identified with the 
Ecker interests in that city. He is also an in- 
terested principle in the High Point Art and 
Decorative Company. 

Mr. Hoertel is affiliated with Numa F. Eeid 
Lodge No. 344, Free and Accepted Masons, of 
which he is a past master, is past high priest of 
High Point Chapter No. 70, Royal Arch Masons, 
is past eminent commander of High Point Com- 
mandery No. 24, Knights Templars, and is also 
affiliated with Carolina Consistory No. 1 of the 
Scottish Rite and with Oasis Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine at Charlotte. Besides his Masonic connec- 
tions he is a member of High Point Lodge No. 
1255, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
He is an active member of the Commercial Club 
and is a member of the Lutheran Church. 

J 

Isaac A. Murchison. Whether in war or 
peace few families of North Carolina have fur- 
nished more men distinguished by substantial 
abilities that the Murchisons. Of the generation 
of the family that grew up before and during 
the war period one is Isaac A. Murchison, who 
for many years was a successful practicing law- 
yer at Fayetteville, but latterly has occupied him- 
self with the supervision of a plantation in Cum- 
berland County at Manchester, and resides at 
the noted old family home, "Holly Hill." 

Of the many beautiful country estates in 
North Carolina "Holly Hill" possesses features 
and associations that give it rare dignity and 
interest. It is located on the Lower Little River, 
along which stream in ante-bellum days were a 
number of the largest and most prosperous plan- 
tations of the state. It has been known as 
"Holly Hill" since the time of the grandfather 
of its present occupant. The name is due to 
the presence of a grove of magnificent holly 
trees, native to the soil and a conspicuous fea- 
ture, adding charm both summer and winter. 
The grandfather and father of the present owner 
did much to adorn nature in this respect by 
planting sycamore trees among the holly. These 
tall and stately examples of the classical plane 
tree are responsible for not a little of the air 
of fine dignity which surrounds the plantation. 

The founder of this old home in Cumberland 
County was Kenneth Murchison, grandfather of 
Isaac A. The latter is one of the few residents 
of North Carolina who can claim the relationship 
of grandson with a Revolutionary soldier sire. 
Kenneth Murchison was a native of Scotland, 
came to America as a young man a short time 
before the outbreak of the war for independence 
and settled in the northwest part of Cumberland 
County, twelve miles northwest of Fayetteville, 
where is now the village of Manchester. Soon 
afterward he ardently espoused the cause of 
the colonists and fought through several cam- 
paigns of the Revolution. He was a fine type 
of the sturdy Scot who settled the Cape Fear 
country and transmitted to his descendants a 
heritage of the highest character. He is buried 
an old Longstreet Presbyterian Church. This 
Revolutionary soldier married a Miss White. 

Duncan Murchison, one of the children of 
Kenneth Murchison, was born on the old Mur- 

Vol. VI— 3 



chison plantation or Holly Hill in 1801, and died 
there in 1870. He was not only a prominent 
planter but a very enterprising business man. 
At Manchester he established one of the first cot- 
ton mills in the state. It was founded almost at 
the same time with the establishment of the fa- 
mous Holt cotton mill in Alamance County. Be- 
sides supervising his large plantation Duncan 
Murchison conducted his cotton mill for several 
years before and also during the first years of 
the war. In the latter part of that war it was 
demolished and burned by Sherman's army. 
Sherman 's ' ' bummers ' ' in addition to this work 
of destruction also stripped and robbed the 
Murchison home of everything of value, and left 
that plantation and many others in the vicinity 
in a complete state of devastation. Duncan 
Murchison had great stores of rosin and tur- 
pentine on the place, besides hundreds of bales 
of cotton, all of which, if valued at prices that 
were current just after the war, were worth 
easily half a million dollars, and all of which 
went up in smoke and flame set by the ruthless 
soldiers of the invader. 

Duncan Murchison married Catharine Wright, 
daughter of Isaac Wrignt of Bladen County 
and a granddaughter of James Gillespie. Capt. 
James Gillespie was of such distinguished promi- 
nence in North Carolina that reference is else- 
where made to his name, but it is appropriate 
that some of the particulars of his career should 
here be stated. He was born in County Mona- 
ghan, Ireland, in 1746, came to North Carolina 
in early life, and enjoyed distinctions which have 
seldom been paid to any man of the state since 
his time. He was captain of the First Battalion, 
North Carolina Volunteers, in 1776, was member 
from Duplin County of the Provisional Con- 
gress at Halifax, North Carolina, in November, 
1776; member from Duplin County of the North 
Carolina General Assembly from 1779 to 1786; 
member from North Carolina of the 3rd, 4th, 5th, 
and 8th United States Congresses, and died at 
Washington, D. C, while a member of Congress, 
on January 11, 1805. He was a man of liberal 
education, having been trained in early life in 
the University of Dublin. Gillespie Street in 
Fayetteville was named in honor of this early 
North Carolina soldier and statesman. He mar- 
ried Dorcas Mumford, and one of their sons, 
Major David Gillespie, served with that rank in 
the War of 1812. 

Duncan Murchison had married for his first 
wife Miss Fannie Reid of Chatham County. The 
present residence of Holly Hill was built by 
Duncan Murchison in 1846. Both inside and 
out it has the beauty and attractiveness which 
are popularly associated with some of the finest 
old southern homes. As the tastes of the Mur- 
chison family have always run to that elegance 
which is most closely connected with simplicity, 
those qualities distinguish the furnishings and 
the atmosphere of the house today. The home 
contains a fine private library of about a thou- 
sand volumes and there are many interesting and 
valuable relics of ante-bellum days. 

Isaac A. Murchison was born in this attractive 
old home in 1850, and as he has never married he 
occupies it now jointly with his sister, Miss Lucy 
G. Murchison, who presides over its domestic 
management. Originally the Murchison family 
was a large one, comprising twelve children. Of 
these besides Isaac and his sister Miss Lucy there 
is another sister living, Mrs. Margaret McKay of 



34 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Lillington, widow of Rev. Dr. Xeill McKay, who 
became widely known as a Presbyterian minister. 
The oldest brother of Mr. Murchison, Col. John 
E. Murchison, was colonel of a North Car- 
olina regiment and was killed at the battle 
of Cold Harbor. The second oldest brother, 
the late Col. K. M. Murchison, also a Con- 
federate officer of distinction, commander of 
the Fifty-fourth North Carolina Infantry, after 
the war removed to Wilmington and gained 
a successful position in business and finance. He 
was founder of the Murchison National Bank, 
accumulated a fortune, and for many years prior 
to his death, which occurred at Wilmington in 
1904, made his home at New York City. There 
is still another brother, the late Capt. D. R. 
Murchison, also a Confederate officer, who for 
many years was successfully engaged in business 
at Wilmington. 

Isaac A. Murchison completed his education in 
Davidson College. He studied law and was 
licensed to practice about forty years ago. He 
had a career as a member of the bar at Fayette- 
ville for about twenty years, and for six years 
he was located in practice at Seattle, Washington. 
At Fayetteville he was senior member of the 
law firm of Murchison & Pope. As a lawyer 
Mr. Murchison was distinguished by those solid, 
qualities and abilities which have always marked 
the family history, and it was in reliance upon 
them that he depended for his success in his 
profession rather than upon more superficial 
brilliance that sometimes gives men of lesser 
merit a higher place in the world 's esti- 
mation. He was a member of the Legislature 
in 1885-1887. In 1909 Mr. Murchison retired 
from practice and returned to the old ancestral 
home at Manchester, where he finds an ample 
occupation year in and year out with the super- 
intendence of the plantation. Holly Hill com- 
prises about eight hundred acres and one of 
the principal crops today is cotton. 

Willis Nash Gregory. Among the energetic 
and progressive business men of Perquimans 
County, one who has won success and position 
by his resource, initiative and forceful personality 
is Willis Nash Gregory, general manager of the 
Eastern Cotton Oil Company. He was one of the 
organizers of this concern in 1906, and in enlarg- 
ing and expanding the enterprise his ambition and 
progressiveness have been equally balanced by 
sound judgment and careful direction, and largely 
to his abilities is due the fact that today this 
institution stands as one of the most reliable 
and substantial in its line, not only at Hertford, 
its home community, but throughout this part of 
the state. 

Mr. Gregory was born in Camden County, North 
Carolina, February 9, 1877, and is a son of Wiley 
Nash and Eliza Ann (Grimes) Gregory. His 
father was a substantial and highly respected 
business man of Camden County, engaged in the 
conduct of a general merchandise establishment; 
and the youth was given the advantages of* a good 
education, both general and business, first attend- 
ing the public schools, later the Elizabeth City 
Academy, and finally the Eastman Business Col- 
lege, where he took a thorough commercial course. 
This latter gave him the training necessary to 
secure a clerical position, and he accepted the post 
of bookkeeper with a lumber manufacturing con- 
cern located at Elizabeth City, with which he 
remained for two years. From that company he 



transferred his services to a corn and rice mill, 
also at Elizabeth City, where he remained seven 
years, and in 1905 he came to Hertford, which 
nas since been the scene of his operations and the 
tield of his success. Upon his arrival he became 
one of the organizers of the Hertford Cotton Oil 
Company, which within the period of one year 
had grown to such proportions that it was deemed 
advisable to reorganize. This was done and the 
style changed, so that the Eastern Cotton Oil Com- 
pany came into existence and has continued to be 
one of the city 's chief enterprises, having grown 
and progressed materially. At the time of the 
reorganization Mr. Gregory was placed in charge 
as general manager, and, as noted, has made a 
decided success in his official capacity. By the 
energy and zeal which he has manifested he has 
not only won an established place in the business 
world, but has also gained the confidence of his 
associates and the respect and esteem of the gen- 
eral public as well. It is but natural that Mr. 
Gregory should be chiefly interested in the organ- 
ization of which he has been one of the chief 
builders, but he is likewise active as an agricul- 
turist, having wisely invested a part of his capital 
in farming land, and now owns a farm of 250 
acres in Perquimans County v\hich is responding 
bountifully to the scientific treatment which its 
soil is receiving. As in his business operations, so 
in his farming Mr. Gregory is a believer in the use 
of modern methods and machinery. He is a, mem- 
ber of the local lodge of the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, in which he has numerous 
friends. 

Mr. Gregory was married March 2, 1898, to Miss 
Ethel Stone, of Fredericksburg, Virginia, and 
they are the parents of three bright and attractive 
children: Vivian, William Nash and Charles. 

Edward E. Mendenhall. In the person of 
Edward E. Mendenhall Greensboro has a citizen 
who has had an unusually interesting career as a 
salesman and business man. He is regarded among 
his contemporaries and associates as a master 
of the art of salesmanship. Mr. Mendenhall has 
had some local associations with business, but his 
career for the most part has been spent on the 
road as a commercial traveler, and thus his friend- 
ships and connections are widespread over the 
state, though for years he has regarded his home 
as Greensboro. 

Mr. Mendenhall is a lineal descendant of John 
Mendenhall of Mendenhall, England, who came to 
America in 1685, accompanied by his brother Ben- 
jamin and his sister Mary. He made his home at 
Concord, Pennsylvania, He married Mis Morris, 
daughter of George Morris of Pennsylvania. Their 
son Mordecai was the father of Thomas Menden- 
hall, great-great-grandfather of Edward E. Men- 
denhall. According to the best available informa- 
tion it was Thomas Mendenhall who established 
this branch of the family in Guilford County, 
North Carolina, where he settled in colonial times. 

His son Seth Mendenhall was a planter, owning 
and operating a plantation near the present site 
of High Point. He was reared in the faith of the 
Friends Church and had no sympathy with the 
institution of slavery. His son Roddick Menden- 
hall was born on the old plantation near High 
Point about 1800. He spent his life as a farmer. 
The maiden name of his wife was Elizabeth Pid- 
geon, who was born in the locality known as Col- 
fax in Guilford County, daughter of Charles 
Pidgeon, a planter and also a Friend in religion. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



35 



The father of Edward E. Mendenhall was Al- 
phonse Mendenhall, who was born on his father's 
plantation in 1836. He acquired a liberal educa- 
tion, finishing in the New Garden Boarding School, 
and in young manhood took up teaching as his 
profession. He followed this a number of years 
and part of the time was connected with the 
graded schools of Greensboro. From that city he 
removed to Randolph County. Early in life he 
was ordained a Quaker minister, but in Randolph 
County, in the absence of a Friends Church, he 
joined the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and 
was ordained a local preacher in that faith. Later 
he returned to Greensboro and spent here his last 
years, where he died in 1910. He married Cynthia 
Hardin, who was born near Tabernacle Church in 
1850, daughter of Peter F. and Elizabeth Hardin. 
She died in 1915, the mother of three children: 
Loren D., Edward E. and Percy. 

Edward E. Mendenhall, who thus inherited the 
sturdy traits of a long line of good and substan- 
tial people, was carefully trained at home and well 
educated. He attended the old Brick Hall at 
Archdale, and from there entered Trinity College 
at Durham. From college Mr. Mendenhall 
entered upon his active career as a commercial 
traveler. He left the road to engage in the whole- 
sale grocery business at Greensboro and High 
Point, and was in business in those two places for 
fifteen years. He then resumed his role as a com- 
mercial traveler and with headquarters at Greens- 
boro has traveled out over the state and this sec- 
tion of the South for a number of years. 

In 1896 Mr. Mendenhall married Ida Allred. 
She was born in Randolph County, daughter of 
William F. and Matilda (Green) Allred. Mr. and 
Mrs. Mendenhall have had the following chil- 
dren: "Walter L., who died at the age of sixteen; 
Marion H.; Evelyn; Helen; Margaret; Edward E., 
Jr.; Ruth; William F. and Charles Milton. 

Mr. Mendenhall and family are all members of 
the Ashboro Street Friends Church. In politics 
he is a republican and for years has been a keen 
student of political questions as affecting his state 
and community. As a party man he has been a 
delegate to various county, district and state con- 
ventions. He is affiliated with the Royal Arcanum, 
the Modern Woodmen of America and is also a 
member of Council No. 296 of the United Com- 
mercial Travelers. 

Jeremiah Simon Cox during a long and useful 
career has been farmer, financier, manufacturer 
and banker. He is one of the men responsible 
for the establishment and development of one of 
Greensboro 's most prominent banking institutions, 
the Greensboro Loan and Trust Company, of which 
he has been vice president since it was established 
in 1899. This company, capitalized at $200,000, 
with surplus of nearly a hundred thousand dollars, 
has deposits aggregating more than a million and 
a half dollars. 

Mr. Cox was born on a farm in Grant Township 
of Randolph County, North Carolina, in 1846. His 
father, Simon Cox, was born on the same farm. 
The grandfather was a farmer and planter, and 
probably spent all his life in North Carolina. 
Simon Cox grew up on a farm, succeeded to its 
ownership, and wa^ a successful farmer, aside from 
other important business interests outside of tilling 
the soil and managing its resources. He married 
Ruth Allen, who was born in Randolph County and 
died at the age of sixty-two. Her father, Dr. 
Joseph Allen, was a practising physician for many 



years. Her mother was Martha Allen. Simon 
Cox and wife were active members of the Society 
of Friends. They had five sons, named Joseph, 
Milton, Nathaniel, Samuel and Jeremiah S. 

Jeremiah S. Cox grew up on his father's farm, 
and the advantages supplied by the rural schools 
were supplemented by a course in what was then 
known as the New Garden Boarding School, now 
Guilford College. For a time he taught school, 
and after his marriage was superintendent of the 
New Garden Boarding School for two years, and 
since that time he has built an elegant modern 
dormitory at Guilford College, known as ' ' Cox 
Hall, ' ' which will accommodate about 100 stu- 
dents. Returning to Randolph County, he bought 
the Kemp Mills, consisting of flour, grist and 
saw mills, and operated that property for about 
five years. Selling out, he transferred his ener- 
gies to a farm in the north part of Randolph 
County, about twelve miles south of Greensboro. 

Mr. Cox has been a resident of Greensboro since 
1892. Prior to that time he had become in- 
terested in the Greensboro Manufacturing Com- 
pany, and he gave part of his time to the active 
management of its affairs for about four years. 
In 1899 he joined W. E. Allen and J. W. Fry in 
organizing the Greensboro Loan and Trust Com- 
pany. 

In 1870 Mr. Cox married Margaret D. Branson, 
who was born in Randolph County, daughter of 
Eli and Mary Branson. Mrs; Cox was engaged in ' 
teaching school before her marriage to Mr. Cox. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cox are members of the Friends 
Church. While a resident of Randolph County Mr. 
Cox served as public administrator eight years, 
and since coming to Greensboro he served a term 
on the county board of education. Mr. Cox has 
been a trustee of the Juvenile Protective Associa- 
tion for many years. The association has done 
a great deal in reclaiming juvenile delinquents. 
The record of the lives of those who have come 
from the humble walks of life and, by dint of 
their own effort have left their impress on society 
and the world is an incentive and inspiration to do 
our best for humanity. 

William L. Williams. A book might be 
written concerning the family, the home, the 
individual adventures and experiences and achieve- 
ments of William L. Williams of Linden, Cum- 
berland County. Such being true, it is obvious 
that a brief sketch can furnish only an outline 
and a suggestive comment upon the many matters 
which would properly command detailed atten- 
tion. Both Mr. Williams and his wife are mem- 
bers of very prominent and historic families in 
the state. Mr. Williams was born December 25, 
1843, on the Williams Plantation, "Hickory 
Lane," near Linden and has lived practically all 
his life wtihin sight of the homes of his honored 
ancestors. In this one locality the Williamses 
have lived generation after generation since about 
the year 1730. The Williamses are of Welsh 
origin and the North Carolina branch is de- 
scended from one of three brothers who came 
from Wales to America about 1650. One of 
these brothers settled in North Carolina, and the 
other two in Virginia, and Massachusetts. Wil- 
liam L. Williams is descended over a gap of four 
or five generations from Isaac Williams, one of 
whose brothers, Joseph Williams, was the pro- 
genitor of Governor Williams of North Car- 
olina. A son of Isaac Williams was Joel Wil- 
liams, and he in turn had a son Isaac, who was 



36 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



the great-grandfather of William L. This Isaac 
Williams married Rachel Smith, daughter of 
Alexander and Elizabeth (Whitfield) Smith and 
a granddaughter of Col. John Smith, one of the 
noted colonists of North Carolina. Through this 
family connection William L. Williams is de- 
scended from Needham and John Bryan of Isle 
of Wight, Virginia, a family that came to North 
Carolina in 1722 and gave to the colony and 
state some of its most distinguished figures. 

John C. Williams, son of Isaac and Rachel 
(Smith) Williams, was born and spent his entire 
life at ' ' Hickory Lane. ' ' He was an extensive 
planter and owned a large number of slaves. He 
was also a leader in politics and public affairs, 
and his influence was by no means confined to 
the immediate locality of his home. He served 
with credit both as a member of the State 
Senate and in the Lower House of the General 
Assembly. John C. Williams married Miss 
Martha Lane, with whom another prominent fam- 
ily is introduced into this article. Her father, 
Joel Lane, of Raleign, was the man responsi- 
ble for having the State Capitol permanently lo- 
cated at the city and he donated tiie ground upon 
which the capitol stands. 

' ' Locust Grove ' ' was the original title of the 
home of John C. Williams. This fine example of 
North Carolina country home lay just across 
, Little River from the present home of William 
L. Williams. It was in Harnett County, Little 
River being the dividing line between Harnett 
and Cumberland. Hickory Lane, the plantation on 
which Mr. W. L. Williams of this sketch now 
makes his home, derived its name from a beau- 
tiful lane of tall and slender hickory trees 
through which approach was made to the resi- 
dence. This title was bestowed upon the place 
by a delegation of prominent Fayetteville citi- 
zens who stopped < ff here for a visit on their 
way to Raleigh to give greeting to President 
Andrew Jackson, ' ' Old Hickory. ' ' 

"Locust Grove" was the birthplace of William 
L. Williams, Sr., who married Sarah McKellar. 
Mr. William L. Williams first mentioned above, 
son of these parents, now resides in the extreme 
northern part of Cumberland County on the 
Little River, two miles from the town of Linden 
on the Raleigh and Southport Railroad. Here 
he has a fine plantation devoted to all branches 
of agriculture and stock raising, with cotton as 
a principal crop. The plantations along this sec- 
tion of Little River have been famous for their 
productiveness for more than two centuries, and 
the present ' ' Hickory Lane ' ' maintains as al- 
ways a high place among these. 

Up to his seventeenth year William L. Wil- 
liams spent his life with the happiest of asso- 
ciations, in a peaceful and charming environ- 
ment, with good educational advantages and 
surrounded by all things that were calculated 
to inspire and bring to fruition the best qualities 
of his character. Then in the summer of 1861 
his peaceful routine was rudely interrupted, when 
he responded to the call of arms and at Fayette- 
ville volunteered for service in the Confederate 
army in Company A of the Fifth North Caro- 
lina Cavalry. This regiment was in William Fitz- 
hugh Lee 's Division. The company first did 
service in the eastern part of North Carolina as 
an independent company. In the fall of 1861 it 
went into Virginia and became a permanent part 
of the Fifth Cavalry. The regiment was a part 
of General J. E. B. Stuart's great cavalry organ- 



ization which gave General Lee some of Its- most 
tremendous power in many of the battles of Vir- 
ginia and of Gettysburg and whieh, after Gen- 
eral Stuart's death, was commanded by General 
Wade Hampton. 

However, the record of William L. Williams 
as a soldier cannot be followed by studying the 
activities and campaigns of the Fifth North Caro- 
lina Cavalry. From the beginning and through- 
out the war he was practically a ' ' free lance, ' ' 
engaged largely as a courier and scout under per- 
sonal orders of the higher commanding officers. 
For this reason and for a large part of the time 
he was on detached duty. Permission was 
granted him to come and go practically as he 
pleased and this was a privilege that exactly 
suited a youth of his pluck, independent .spirit 
and desire for adventure. In the days of war 
before the invention of telephone and before 
electricity had become a means of communication 
between the integral parts of battles lines, there 
was never a more daring and skillful horseman 
carrying messages from point to point than Wil- 
liam L. Williams. There was abundance of reason 
for his being known as one of the best riders in 
the Confederate army. His thrilling adventures 
and many narrow escapes from death alone would 
make up a long story. He ha I more than a dozen 
horses shot from under him, and though his 
saddle blanket became so riddled with bullets 
that it was barely recognizable as a blanket, his 
hat and his clothing were punctured by bullets, 
his body actually was never hit. It is not poetie 
justice so much as literal truthfulness that would 
justify his appropriation of the phrase "leading 
a charmed life. ' ' At Petersburg, while carrying 
a message for General Hampton from the lat- 
ter 's headquarters to a distant part of the Con- 
federate line, his daring and seeming disregard 
of danger in the face of the enemy, in plain 
view, were so conspicuous that be was cheered 
not only by the Confederate troops but by the 
enemy who witnessed his exploit. During Lee 's 
advance upon Gettysburg Mr. Williams was se- 
lected to guard with a -squad of men Ashby's 
Gap, one of the approaches to the Potomac. 
When the great battle was fought he was there 
with his regiment. Shortly before Lee T s surren- 
der he was at Appomattox, but foreseeing the 
calamity which was soon to overtake the gallant 
commander, he went to Greensboro, North Caro- 
lina, to join Johnston's army, but that section 
of the Confederate troops had also surrendered 
before he arrived. Thus it happened that he 
himself never surrendered. 

In the years following this military service Mr. 
Williams picked up one by one the threads of civil 
life and has been one of the substantial charac- 
ters in his part of the state. In 1888 he was 
elected state senator to represent the Sixteenth 
Senatorial District of Cumberland and Harnett 
counties and he served with credit and efficiency 
in the session of 1889. He was again elected to 
the same office in 1898 for the session of 1899. He 
is now and has been for some years a member of 
the county board of education for Cumberland 
County. 

In January, 1873, Mr. Williams married Mary 
Eliza Elliot, concerning whose iuteresting family 
and ancestry something more than passing men- 
tion must be made. First, however, a record should 
be made of Mr. and Mrs. Williams' own children. 
There are five of them. The oldest. Col. Alexander 
Elliot Williams, graduated from West Point Mili- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



37 



tary Academy in 1898, and as a young officer soon 
had his ability tested by actual service in the Phil- 
ippines, in China and in many parts of the United 
States. His special proficiency was soon rec- 
ognized, even while in the Philippines, as an ex- 
pert in the quartermaster's department, and since 
the war with Germany began he suggested and un- 
der authority of the war department organized and 
became quartermaster officer in charge of a new 
and important bureau in Washington which built 
up a great warehousing system for the food 
supply fof the army in this country and in 
Prance. To the duties of this great responsibil- 
ity he devoted some of the hardest work of his 
life, being on duty practically night and day. At 
the request of General Pershing he was sent to 
France, where he has charge of the largest base of 
supplies. The four other children of Mr. and 
Mrs. Williams are: William Lane, Jane Evans, 
Henrietta Williams and Capt. Henry Elliot Wil- 
liams. The recent war in which America has be- 
come involved gives Mr. Williams two sons with 
a military record. Capt. Henry Elliot until the 
war with Germany began was making a name for 
himself as a rising young lawyer at Fayetteville. 
He volunteered his services to the Government, 
and on account of his education and training in 
military schools passed the examination for offi- 
cer without attending the officers ' training camp. 
He was commissioned a captain. 

Mrs. Williams is a daughter of Col. Alexander 
and Jane (Evans) Elliot and is a granddaughter 
of George Elliot. George Elliot was born in Scot- 
land in 1753, and came to America about 1774, 
when a young man shortly before the Revolution- 
ary war. He located what for more than a cen- 
tur has been widely known as "Ellersley" 
Plantation in what is now Cumberland County, a 
splendid property now owned by Mrs. Pranklin Mc- 
Neill, a sister of Mrs. Williams. Mrs. Williams' 
grandfather, George Elliot, was a son of Henry 
of Peel, who in turn was a son of Henry of Peel, 
grandson of William of Thorbiskope, great-grand- 
son of John of Thorbiskope, and great-great- 
grandson of William of Marksdale. The line 
is still further traced back to the time of Wil- 
liam the Conqueror, and there are many other 
eminent members of the family. 

George Elliot married in 1790 Mary (Smith) 
Turner, daughter of Alexander and Elizabeth 
(Whitfield) Smith. Her grandfather, Col. John 
Smith, came to North Carolina from the Isle of 
Wight, Virginia, in 1740, and was a delegate to 
the Hillsboro Convention of 1775. 

Mrs. Williams' mother, Jane Evans, was a 
granddaughter of David Evans of Cumberland 
County. This David Evans was one of the signers 
of the Declaration of Independence promulgated 
at Fayetteville June 20, 1775. He was propri- 
etor of a grant of land given by King George. This 
land is situated about seven miles southeast of 
Fayetteville and has been continuously the prop- 
erty of the Evans family down to the present gen- 
eration. 

Walter G. Sheppard. The promising abilities 
shown during his earlier years in Trinity College 
have thoroughly justified the anticipations of his 
friends at that period since Walter C. Sheppard 
began the practice of law at Farmville, where he 
has already gained a success that entitles him to 
rank among the leading members of the bar of 
Pitt County. 

Mr. Sheppard is a native of Pitt County, and 



was left an orphan when a child. He spent four 
years in the Oxford Orphanage and then entered 
Trinity College, where he took the full literary 
course. This was followed by the full course of 
the law department, from which he was graduated 
in 1914 with the degree LL. B. While in college 
he won a medal as debater in the freshman class 
and another in the sophomore year, while in the 
junior year he won the Braxton Craven medal for 
the best undergraduate essay and as a senior won 
a $50 prize in the state intercollegiate contest at 
Raleigh. He was also winner of the Wiley-Gray 
medal for the best senior oration. With all these 
honors of studious activity he was prominent in 
the life of the student body in social and other 
affairs, was a member of the Glee Club, and man- 
aged the Trinity baseball team. 

On leaving college Mr. Sheppard began the prac- 
tice of law with R. H. Sykes of Durham, under the 
name Sykes & Sheppard. When Mr. Sykes was 
appointed attorney general Mr. Sheppard returned 
to his home town and has rapidly acquired a self- 
sustaining practice. He was instrumental in the 
organization of the Farmville Community Chamber 
of Commerce, and has accomplished much good 
for the town and vicinity. He is general secre- 
tary of the organization. 

Edwin Ruffin Harris. Half a century is a 
long time in the life and experiences of a single 
individual. Half a century ago Edwin Ruffiu 
Harris, who had shortly before served in the Con- 
federate army in the war between the states, began 
business at Reidsburg. He is the oldest individual 
merchant of the village, and, what is more, among 
all the adult population of that town when he went 
there, and most of whom he knew personally, not 
one is now left except himself. 

Mr. Harris was born on a farm in Reidsburg 
Township of Rockingham County November 17, 
1S44, a son of Edwin R. and Bethania (Shelton) 
Harris. His grandfather, Mastin Harris, was born 
in Mecklenburg County, Virginia. He grew up 
and married there. In 1822 there occurred one 
of the familiar migrations of that period. His 
household goods and farm implements were loaded 
onto wagons, one conveyance was reserved for his 
wife and six children, and several trusted slaves 
drove the cattle and other livestock. Thus by 
daily stages of a few miles they accomplished the 
journey from Virginia into North Carolina. 
Mastin Harris secured a tract of timbered land 
in the eastern part of Rockingham County, near 
the line of Caswell County. The lumber for his 
simple home was cut with a whip-saw. That home 
was fourteen miles east of Reidsville. With the 
aid of his slaves he had a number of acres of the 
wilderness converted into fields, ami with increas- 
ing prosperity he lived there until his death at the 
age of seventy-seven. Mastin Harris married 
Martha Ramey, who died at the age of seventy 
years. Both are buried in the family plot on the 
home farm. They were members of the Primitive 
Baptist Church. Edwin R. Harris, Sr., was ten 
years old when his parents came to North Caro- 
lina. After he was grown he bought land a mile 
and a half from Reidsville and was farming in 
that locality until 1853, when he went to Ruffin 
Township ahd bought another farm. That place 
drew upon his labors and energies for a number 
of years but his last days were spent among his 
children. He died at the age of seventy-eight. His 
wife attained the great age of ninety-eight. They 
were members of the Primitive Baptist Church. 



38 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Their eight children were named James M., Julius, 
Edwin Ruffin, Nannie M., Samuel S., Virginia, 
Lula and John M. It is a long lived and vigorous 
family, indicated by the fact that three sons and 
two daughters are still living. 

Edwin Ruffin Harris had his youthful experience 
divided between attending the district schools and 
helping on the home farm. Before he was twenty 
years of age he went into the Confederate army. 
In March, 1864, he enlisted in Company G of the 
Forty-fifth North Carolina Regiment and expe- 
rienced active and almost continuous fighting dur- 
ing the last year of the war. He was with Cox's 
Brigade during the last days of the great conflict, 
and was one of the last Confederate soldiers to 
fire a shot. On the morning of the final surrender 
he was one of the seventeen men who volunteered 
to protect a field piece in danger of capture. Fif- 
teen of these men were made prisoners, but Mr. 
Harris and a companion escaped. Upon learning 
of the surrender he asked permission of his captain 
to leave the ranks and attempt escape. The cap- 
tain told him to remain, and as he obeyed orders 
his name is on the official list of those "paroled at 
Appomattox. 

Hostilities ended, he returned home and the 
following summer assisted his father in making 
a crop. He also attended school three months, and 
in the spring of 1866 entered business as a dealer 
in leaf tobacco. In 1867 he came to Eeidsville and 
set up in the mercantile business on a modest scale. 
His store has continued to draw patronage from 
the surrounding country for half a century, but it 
is not alone as a business man that he has con- 
tributed to the welfare of his community. Mr. 
Harris was for six years a member of the board 
of town commissioners, and is now a member and 
lias served as president of the Reidsville Business 
Men's Association. He and his wife are active 
in the Primitive Baptist Church, and he is a senior 
deacon and clerk of the church and is moderator 
of the Upper County Line Association. 

In 1869 he married Miss Tecorah Gertrude Price. 
She was born in Rockingham County, a daughter 
of Herman and Araminta (Ferrell) Price. Mr. 
and Mrs. Harris have five children: Walter G., 
Samuel P., Blanche, Gertrude and Charles. Four 
of the children are now married. Blanche is the 
wife of John J. Nims and has two children, 
Edwin B. and Virginia Gertrude. Gertrude mar- 
ried Perry A. Sloan and has a son Perry, Jr. 

Rev. Edward F. Greex. When an air of pessi- 
mism seems to envelop in gloom many worthv 
enterprises in these modern days, it is cheering, 
encouraging and invigorating to look upon the 
marvelous work that is being quietlv but effec- 
tively carried on by Rev. Edward F. Green, presi- 
dent of the Carolina Collegiate & Agricultural 
Institute at Star, North Carolina. Through his 
philanthropy, wide and deep, are borne to the 
ocean of happy knowledge and lives of usefulness 
those frail human barks that otherwise would ever 
rest in the shadows and shallows or merelv dash 
futilely upon barren sands. His whole life lias 
been more or less devoted to educational work. 
but at no previous time has his success quite 
equaled his present great achievement, 

Edward F. Green was born in 1865, in the city 
of York, England. His parents were George G. 
and Mary (Milner) Green. For many years his 
father was a stock farmer and on his estates bred 
the fine sheep for which England is noted. The 
youth attended the public schools and remained 



with his parents until the age of twenty years, 
when he came to the United States. In 1885 he 
entered Wooster University, at Wooster, Ohio, 
where he pursued both academic and collegiate 
studies and subsequently took post graduate work 
in pedagogy. Graduating in 1893, in that same 
year he came to Concord, North Carolina, where 
he took charge of Sunderland Hall, a philan- 
thropic educational enterprise that had just started 
on its career of giving a practical education to 
worthy young women. He remained in charge of 
this school for three years, during which time 
he practically originated and organized the church 
and school work in connection with the Patterson 
Mills at that place, a form of welfare work in 
which Mr. Green was one of the pioneers in North 
Carolina, but has since been quite extensively taken 
up by the cotton mill owners in other parts of 
the state. 

Following his work here Mr. Green entered the 
theological seminary at Auburn, New York, from 
which he was graduated three years later with 
the degree of B. D. and subsequently received the 
degree of D. D. His first pastorate was at Oris- 
kany, New York, and one year later he went to 
the Pacific Coast and during the succeeding ten 
years held other pastorates, but during the larger 
part of that decade was college pastor connected 
with the Oregon Agricultural College at Corvallis, 
Oregon. While there he was also a student, not 
only taking the general agricultural courses but 
devoting study and experiment in bacteriology, 
biology and chemistry. 

In 1910 Doctor Green returned to North Caro- 
lina with plans matured for the founding and 
erecting of what has become the Carolina Collegiate 
and Agricultural Institute. He located at Star 
in Montgomery County, in the central part of 
the state, where he secured twenty-one acres of 
beautifully situated land, on which there is a 
fine growth of oak and other forest trees in their 
natural setting. The grounds forming the campus 
are being systematically improved after designs 
submitted by a landscape artist. Writing in the 
fall of 1917, Doctor Green has the main college 
building now completed, besides a handsome and 
commodious residence for himself on the college 
campus. The college building is a handsome 
brick structure consisting of two stories and base- 
ment, fashioned, especially in its interior ar- 
rangement, after the designs furnished by the 
Government for schools of this character. One 
is impressed with the idea of spaciousness and 
wide roominess in the building, while its perfect 
ventilation and modern lighting makes a whole- 
some and cheerful atmosphere. The main floor is 
given over to class rooms and a large hallway. 
On the second floor are additional class rooms, 
but the main feature of this floor is the auditorium 
with a large stage, as in a theater, this being 
flanked by class rooms that, on occasions of enter- 
tainments, may be used as dressing rooms. All 
these details of construction were carefully 
worked out. 

While this school officially has the backing of 
the Congregational Church, of which Doctor Green 
has been a member since 1910, it is in realitv 
his own private enterprise, having been built 
bv Doctor Green without a cent of financial aid 
from the church. He passes much time in the 
North and East in the interest of the school, and 
through his own personal worth and high char- 
acter has been able to secure substantial aid for 
the enterprise. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



39 



The Carolina. Collegiate & Agricultural Institute 
is intended, primarily, to benefit boys and girls, 
teaching and training them in vocational work 
so as to fit the boys for agricultural and other 
useful industrial pursuits and the girls for useful 
lines suitable for their sex. The school is lo- 
cated geographically in about the center of a 
large extent of country that has lain practically 
undeveloped agriculturally. It contains a large 
population and the children here have never had 
good educational advantages. In Doctor Green's 
school many grown students may be observed and 
a number who are married and heads of families 
themselves, and so eager are some of these students 
that they willingly begin in the first grade work 
and if possible remain through the twelfth. In 
1916 Doctor Green graduated two girls who had 
daily walked a distance of six miles for six years. 
It is gratifying to him that they are now attend- 
ing the Greensboro Normal School with the design 
of becoming teachers. As he reviews what has 
already been done his spirit must be refreshed. 
His reminiscences are exceedingly interesting, es- 
pecially when he recalls the boys who at different 
times have drifted in here from almost "nowhere" 
and after enjoying the advantages provided here, 
not the least of these being the example, advice 
and encouragement of Doctor Green, have gone 
out pretty well equipped for the useful and hon- 
orable lives they have led, in professions as well 
as industries. 

Doctor Green was married to Miss Florence 
M. McDowell, a lady with great musical talent 
who is a graduate of the Conservatory of Music 
of Wooster University. Mrs. Green is in full 
sympathy with her learned husband 'a philanthropic 
enterprise and assists through her musical gifts, 
having charge of both the vocal and instrumental 
music departments in the institute. Doctor and 
Mrs. Green have three children: Hubert, who is 
a graduate of Oberlin College, Ohio, and Isabel 
and Catherine, who take prominent part in the 
town 's pleasant social life. 

In October. 1917, at the annual meeting of the 
state synod of the Congregational Church of North 
Carolina, a great honor was conferred on Doctor 
Green when he was elected moderator of this gov- 
erning body. 

Rev. Dr. John Robinson. A figure of singular 
distinction in the early life of North Carolina 
was Rev. Dr. John Robinson, concerning whom 
much has been written and whose life and services 
deserve some memorial in this publication. The 
larger part of what follows is taken from 
"Foote's Sketches," with some additional data 
surmlied by Doctor Robinson 's descendants. 

He was born January 8, 1768, in the Sugar 
Creek community near Charlotte, and was old 
enough to be a witness of the scenes of the Rev- 
olutionary war. He was eifht vears of age when 
the famous Mecklenburg Declaration of Inde- 
pendence was promulgated at Charlotte, and at- 
tended the celebration connected with it in that 
city. The scenes of that celebration were indel- 
iblv impressed upon his boyish mind from the in- 
cident of an enthusiastic cheerer throwing his hat 
so high that alighted on a building and a pole had 
to be brought to get it down. Doctor Robinson 
often told this incident to his daughter Mary, 
from whose lips it was handed down to Dr. John 
Robinson Trwin. the eminent physician and sur- 
geon of Charlotte. 

While he was too young to engage in the bat- 



tles, Doctor Robinson's youthful memories re- 
ceived a vivid impression of the events of Revo- 
lutionary times and in his habit he recounted 
with spirit the things he had heard and seen when 
a child. The correctness of his memory and the 
facility of his recollection, especially where dates 
were concerned, Was remarkable. He trusted mem- 
ory and she was faithful to him to the last, bring- 
ing out her stores at his call with unabated celer- 
ity and precision. Unfortunately, it was because 
of this very retentive memory that he committed 
little of his knowledge to paper and left noth- 
ing of importance in manuscript. The author of 
' ' Foote 's Sketches ' ' records that the traditions 
gathered from him led to the compilation of facts 
published under that name. 

The parents of Dr. John Robinson lived in 
Sugar Creek Township and their graves are found 
near the center of the old graveyard. They were 
reputed eminently pious by their neighbors and 
were dovoted members of the church. Their care- 
ful training of their son in the nurture and ad- 
monition of the Lord, and their concern for his 
salvation were often spoken by him with grati- 
tude and reverence. His academic education was 
received partly in Charlotte under the tuition of 
Doctor Henderson, -who taught in the College 
Building, and partly in an academy taught by 
Mr. Archibald of Poplar Tent. His classical 
course was completed and his degree of A. B. 
conferred at Winnsboro, South Carolina, the seat 
of Mount Zion College. The title of D. D. was 
conferred by the University of his native state 
as a just tribute of respect for one who had done 
much for the moral and religious education of 
the rising generation. 

He was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of 
Orange April 4, 1793. Firm in his purpose, dig- 
nified in his deportment, courteous in his manner, 
commanding in his appearance, above the common 
stature and perfectly erect, of a spare, muscular 
frame, of great activity and personal courage, 
he went to preach the gospel of our Lord at the 
time when the flood of infidelity that swept over 
our land tried men 's souls. In Carolina and in 
Virginia he conducted revivals that brought a 
large company of young men safely and perma- 
nently within the folds of the church. 

In 1800 he accepted an invitation from the 
church in Fayetteville to become their resident 
minister. The smallness of the salary and the 
necessities of the youth induced him to open a 
classical school. He continued with the congre- 
gation a little more than a year; when, finding that 
the labors of the two offices were more than his 
constitution could bear, he left the congregation 
in December, 1801, and removed to Poplar Tent, 
the scene of part of the instructions of his early • 
life under Mr. Archibald. After remaining with 
the congregation of Poplar Tent about four years, 
preaching and conducting a classical school, which 
was commended by the Presbytery in 1803, he 
was induced by the earnest solicitation of the 
citizens of Fayetteville to return to that place, 
where about the beginning of 1806 he resumed 
his pastoral labors and his classical school. In 
these two offices he continued about three years. 
In the latter part of December, 1808, he returned 
to Poplar Tent and passed the remainder of his 
days. 

For many years Doctor Robinson carried on a 
classical school in Poplar Tent, at which were 
trained many of the leading men of a later gen- 
eration in that section of the state. The dig- 



40 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



nity, precision and kindness with which he pre- 
sided over his school are referred to with much 
affection by his pupils. A teacher himself, he 
favored every attempt to promote sacred learn- 
ing, and when about the year 1820 an effort was 
made to establish a college in Western Carolina 
he took an active part in the enterprise and 
mourned over its failure. 

Doctor Robinson was a lifelong and most in- 
timate friend of the late Rev. Dr. Robert Hall 
Morrison, who preached the funeral sermon over 
his beloved associate's body in the Poplar Tent 
Church. This sermon, on account of its elo- 
quence, its sublimity and classic elegance in tell- 
ing of the life and good works and virtues of the 
deceased, was printed in pamphlet form by spe- 
cial request. It is a model of funeral oration. 
Doctor Robinson and Doctor Morrison were closely 
associated in their efforts to found Davison Col- 
lege under the auspices of the Presbyterian 
Church, and after this institution was started in 
1837 Doctor Robinson was a member of the first 
board of trustees and for many years was presi- 
dent of the board. 

Some of his personal traits are thus told in 
' ' Foote 's Sketches : "As he advanced in years, 
his manners, always courteous, became more digni- 
fied and bland; a stranger would have thought he 
had adorned the drawing rooms of our cities in 
the beginning of the nineteenth century, a gentle- 
man of the old school of Nathaniel Macon. His 
kind manners expressed a kinder heart, that grew 
more tender as he advanced in years. It was 
impossible that a young minister should be in- 
troduced to him without loving him ; or love him 
long without reverencing him and catching from 
him a spirit to desire excellence for its own sake 
and for Christ. . 

"A guileless, affectionate simplicity attracted 
all to him in his advancing infirmities; and his 
departure seems less and less welcome to his peo- 
ple the nearer and more certain its approach. 
His habits of neatness in his person and dress 
continued through life. He had so fixed the habit 
of dressing himself becomingly that very seldom 
was he found unprepared to welcome a visitor, 
and yet the greatest simplicity always appeared 
in his garments and the manner in which he was 
attired. It is said of him in his more active days 
as a pleasant example of his attention to his fam- 
ily, that returning from a judicatory of the 
church, he lodged about seventeen miles from 
home. Rising at the dawn of day to reach home 
for his breakfast, he was observed to be particu- 
lar in adjusting his dress, and under some disad- 
vantage to be shaving himself with care. One of 
his fellow lodgers observed 'you need not delay 
to be so particular as you are only going home'; 
• with a polite bow the doctor replied, 'for that 
very reason I am particular.' " 

He never professed any great fondness for the 
pen, and had no manuscript to review in his old 
age. His infirmities prevented him from reading 
to any extent; and he was deprived of his excel- 
lent wife, Mary Baldwin, the mother of his chil- 
dren, in 1836, having lived in affection with her 
for more than forty years, having been united 
in marriage April 9, 1795. Yet he never appeared 
lonesome or repining while he was waiting upon 
God for his departure. His life was protracted in 
great feebleness until the 14th of December, 1843, 
when he fell asleep in Christ. His body was laid 
beside the remains of his wife in the burying 
ground near Poplar Tent Church. 



John Robinson Irwin, M. D., engaged forty 
years in the work and service of physician and 
surgeon, is one of the eminent professional names 
in North Carolina. Especially distinguished in 
the field of gynecology and abdominal surgery, 
besides the great private clientage he has served 
he has turned his experience and influence to good 
account as a teacher and lecturer and for the up- 
building of medical organizations and associa- 
tions and the creating and maintenance of the 
highest possible standards in professional work. 
His life has been a noteworthy approximation of 
the high ideals and principles he inherited from 
his ancestors, ancestors noted for their substan- 
tial character and their devotion to the great fun- 
damentals of life expressed through religion, mor- 
ality, education and the home and family. 

Doctor Irwin is a great-grandson of the fa- 
mous Gen. Robert Irwin of Steel Creek Township, 
Mecklenburg County. General Irwin was a signer 
of the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence, 
and as an officer of the North Carolina State 
Troops in the Revolution gave active service in 
both North and South Carolina. He was pro- 
moted from major to general, and had a distin- 
guished career not only as a soldier and officer 
but as a statesman as well. 

Gen. Robert Irwin was born in Steele Creek 
Township, his father, of Scotch-Irish descent, hav- 
ing come there from Pennsylvania, one of the orig- 
inal settlers of the township. In the War of the 
Revolution General Irwin was with Sumter in 
August, 1780, at the battle of Hanging Rock. 
In personal bravery and technical qualifications 
he was one of the outstanding officers of North 
Carolina in the war. He was also distinguished 
for his broad and generous manhood and his pop- 
ularity with all classes of people. He served as a 
member of the Provisional Congress at Halifax, 
North Carolina, in October, 1776, representing 
Mecklenburg County, his colleagues in that con- 
vention being Waighstill, Avery, Hezekiah Alex- 
ander and Zacheus Wilson. It was this body that 
formed the first State Constitution. General Ir- 
win was also a delegate with Gen. Joseph Graham 
as colleague to the conventions at Hillsboro and 
Fayetteville which considered the adoption of the 
Confederate Constitution. He was elected the 
first state senator from Mecklenburg County in 
1778, and by subsequent elections served in the 
sessions of 1779 to 1784 inclusive. He was an 
exemplar member of the old Steele Creek Pres- 
byterian Church, and his exalted character is 
happily described by the beautiful words of the 
inscription on his tombstone in Steele Creek ceme- 
tery, where he is buried. This inscription was 
placed there in loving memory by his friends and 
neighbors. 

The paternal grandfather of Doctor Irwin was 
William Irwin and the father was Batte Irwin. 
Batte Irwin was a large planter and slave owner 
of the ante-bellum days. His plantation six miles 
north of Charlotte on the Charlotte and David- 
son roads was one of the finest in this section of 
the state and one of the best from point of man- 
agement and administration. He was not only a 
planter, but was one of the early industrial cap- 
tains of his time, being a manufacturer of buggies 
and carriages. He was one of the pioneers in 
this line of manufacture in North Carolina. His 
plantation lay on one side of the road, while 
his blacksmith and woodworking shops were on 
the other. All the buildings on both sides were 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



41 



arranged symmetrically and gave the whole the 
appearance of a complete village. 

Doctor Irwin's mother was Mary Hayes (Rob- 
inson) Irwin. She was a daughter of the dis- 
tinguished Rev. Dr. John Robinson, eminent as a 
Presbyterian divine and scholar, whose career is 
made the subject of a special sketch on other pages 
of this work. 

Dr. John Robinson Irwin was born at the Ir- 
win plantation six miles north of Charlotte in 
(Mecklenburg County December 29, 1853. He 
was educated successively in the Johnson School 
for Boys at Mill Hill, at Poplar Tent Academy, 
and the Griffith School at Charlotte, and attended 
Davidson College. After two years of medical 
study under Dr. J. McKnitt Henderson, he en- 
tered the University of Maryland School of Med- 
icine in 1875 and received his degree from that 
institution in 1877. For one year he was clini- 
cal assistant in the University Hospital at Bal- 
timore. Doctor Irwin began practice at Croft, 
North Carolina, but at the end of fifteen years 
moved to Charlotte, from which city his reputa- 
tion as a specialist in gynecology and abdominal 
surgery has been spread over the state. 

For years he has been one of the leaders in 
medical education and of organization in the 
state. In 1902 he became a member of the fac- 
ulty of the old North Carolina Medical College, 
and for several years filled the chair of gynecology 
and abdominal surgery. Since 1901 he has been 
a member and vice president of the board of 
trustees of Charlotte College for Women, and 
is also a trustee of Davidson College, and gynecol- 
ogist, to the Presbyterian Hospital of Charlotte. 

He has exercised a great influence over the med- 
ical profession through his activities in various 
medical societies, including the Mecklenburg 
County, Ninth District, State, Tri-State, Southern 
and American Medical Associations. Again and 
again he has appeared before these different or- 
ganizations in the discussions of professional and 
technical subjects. Doctor Irwin is noted for 
his ability as a public speaker, has the graces of 
oratory as well as the matured convictions and 
thorough familiarity with a wide range of sub- 
jects. While it is not possible to mention even 
the titles of various addresses and papers on tech- 
nical subjects, mention should be made of an 
oration which he delivered before the North Car- 
olina Medical Society at its annual meeting June 
17, 1914, on the subject "Womanhood, From the 
Physician's Viewpoint," an address that was 
widely circulated and read and is of absorbing 
general interest as expressing the views of an 
eminent professional man. While the oration must 
be read as a whole to be appreciated, something 
of its style and spirit may be gathered from a 
few random sentences: "We hear much of the 
' feminine unrest ' now agitating the world. There 
may be — and certainly are — restless women. But 
so, one must believe, there always have been. Eve 
was restless, Judith, Helen and' Sappho, and those 
interesting women who lived in the French courts, 
the ones who helped the Pilgrim Fathers maintain 
themselves in their extremely narrow paths of 
righteousness, the ladies who gathered to sew 
things for the soldiers at the front in the time 
of the war between the States, and those others 
who have denounced their sisters for demanding 
the ballot. Restlessness is a trait of the species 
and has no sex, any more than love and jealousy 
and envy and a liking for power and fame have. 



' ' For this feminine unrest, let me suggest as a 
palliative, or perhaps, a cure, the renaissance of 
the home. Lectures on domestic science and home 
efficiency should be increased. Hand labor should 
be replaced by machinery, just as it has been 
in the factory, and domestic economy and domes- 
tic science schools should turn their attention to 
the practical side of work and emancipation from 
drudgery. Women should have the best and 
highest education they .can obtain ; and education 
involves care of the physical, culture of the intel- 
lectual, and direction of the moral and spiritual 
nature. I believe it is the duty of every woman 
to make of her own body the strongest, best ma- 
chine possible; and I believe that one of the great 
lessons to be taught the women of America today 
is care of themselves. My plea is for the higher 
morality and the holier womanhood and to em- 
phasize the preciousness of home, because the 
affections and emotions have greatest power within 
a narrow circle of intense personal attachment 
and interest. As their range is widened, their 
vividness is diminished. And while no one yet can 
tell what the distinctively womanly qualities of 
mind may do in the wide world, the ages have 
proved that these qualities are supremely adapted 
to the making of home. 

' ' There is no new woman. They are all iden- 
tically the same as Eve and Sarah and Ruth. They 
have the same natures, the same love of family 
and home, the same desire to be of use to others 
that women have always had. There is nothing 
greater in life than this great principle of help- 
fulness and service and love for others. It may 
be the world of home, it may be the schoolroom, 
it may be the ranks of fashionable society, or it 
may be the small country town, but her love and 
her service are needed and home making is the 
lifework for the majority of women." 

The presence of Doctor Irwin has meant much 
to the enlightened citizenship of Charlotte. He 
has interested himself in various business affairs, 
and has long been a member and elder of the 
Second Presbyterian Church. He married Miss 
Margaret Henrietta Henderson, daughter of Dr. 
J. McKnitt Henderson, of Croft. They are the 
parents of six children: Herbert, Mary, Hender- 
son, John, Batte and Julia Irwin. The daughter 
Mary is now the wife of Mr. W. H. Belk, of 
Charlotte, North Carolina's greatest merchant. 

William Garland Privette. One of the ac- 
complished school men of the state, William G. 
Privette, has attained exceptional scholarship 
qualifications and has rendered valuable service 
to the cause of education. He is now superin- 
tendent of public instruction of Beaufort County, 
with home at Washington. 

Mr. Privette was born in Iredell County, North 
Carolina, February 16, 1886. He is a son of 
Charles and Dorcas Elizabeth (Grose) Privette. 
His father was a farmer. Mr. Privette first at- 
tended the public schools, later the Yadkin Valley 
Institute, Wake Forest College, and since taking 
up his practical work as a teacher has attended 
special courses in the University of Chicago and 
Columbia University of New York. 

On leaving Lake Forest College Mr. Privette 
became principal of the Kinston High School, 
where he remained two years. In 1914 he was 
elected county superintendent of public instruc- 
tion of Beaufort County. He is a member of the 
North Carolina Teachers Association and the Na- 



42 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



tional Education Association, and is superintend- 
ent of the First Baptist Church Sunday School 
at Washington. 

June 26, 1913, he married Miss Inez Reynolds, 
of Hillsboro, North Carolina. They have one son, 
William Garland, Jr., born August 29, 1915. 

William Graham Shaw, M. D. Representing 
the third generation of the Shaw family to be 
well known in medical circles of Scotland County, 
Dr. William Graham Shaw, of Wagram, has prac- 
ticed his profession in this community for more 
than a quarter of a century. Incomplete indeed 
would be any history of North Carolina without 
distinctive mention of that large body of men who 
labor in the broad field of medical service. Some 
have chosen a particular path and some work 
under particular combinations of method, but all 
can be justly credited with scientific knowledge 
and a due regard for the preservation of the 
public health, together with a faithful devotion 
to their own patients that has, on occasion, been 
heroic. To the profession of medicine Doctor 
Shaw early devoted his energies, and after an 
honorable and successful practice of twenty-five 
years stands as a representative of all that is 
best and highest in this line of human endeavor. 

William Graham Shaw is a member of a very 
old and prominent family of Scotland and Rich- 
mond counties, and was born in 1868, in Spring 
Hill Township, Scotland (then Richmond) County, 
North Carolina, his parents being Doctor Daniel 
and Mary E. (Purcell) Shaw. His grandparents 
were Alexander and Sarah (Mcintosh) Shaw, the 
former of whom came from Scotland to North 
Carolina in the early part of the nineteenth cen- 
tury. He settled in that portion of the County of 
Richmond that now forms Scotland County, on a 
farm in Spring Hill Township, and there his 
descendants have lived continuously to the pres- 
ent time. Sarah Mcintosh was a member of an 
older Scotch family that had come here about the 
time of the Revolutionary war. There were three 
sons in the grandparents' family: Doctor Daniel; 
Maj. John D., of Rockingham, who was one of 
the notable lawyers of his day and generation; 
and Hon. Angus, an agriculturist and merchant 
of Maxton, who represented his district in the 
North Carolina Legislature. A brother of Alex- 
ander Shaw was Dr. Angus Shaw, who came to 
North Carolina at the same time as Alexander, 
and who became one of the prominent practic- 
ing physicians of Richmond County, thus making 
three generations of physicians in this family who 
have followed their profession in the same com- 
munity. 

Dr. Daniel Shaw was born in Spring Hill Town- 
ship in 1830, and early displayed a predilection 
for the medical profession. After some prepara- 
tion he entered Jefferson Medical College, from 
which he was graduated with his degree in 1855, 
and when he left the noted Philadelphia institu- 
tion returned to his home community and at once 
began practice. When the war between the states 
came on he did not go to the front, as the women 
and children needed his services at home, but in 
various ways the doctor contributed to the cause 
of the Gray. His practice extended over a period 
of more than a half century, dating from the 
time that he traveled all over the countryside 
mounted on his favorite horse, with his drugs, his 
herbs and his instruments in his saddle-bags. 
He belonged to the old-time type of physician 
who believed that it was their stern and un- 



swerving duty to minister to the ills of humanity 
regardless of station, careless of recompense. He 
became greatly beloved all over this part of the 
country, and when his death occurred, in 1906, 
there were left many to mourn him. With the 
passage of the years Doctor Shaw kept pace with 
the advancements made in his profession, but he 
never lost the kindly spirit, the love for humanity, 
that had characterized his earliest practice. His 
devotion to his calling was absolute and its ethics 
to him, inviolate. 

Doctor Shaw married Mary E. Purcell, who was 
born in Robeson County, North Carolina, and died 
at the family home in Spring Hill Township in 
1900. She was a daughter of Alexander Torrey 
and Harriet (Maclntyre) Purcell. Her great- 
grandfather, Malcolm Purcell emigrated from Ul- 
ster, North Ireland, about 1750 and settled in 
Cumberland County, North Carolina, where the 
City of Fayetteville now stands. The Purcells 
were of old Scotch stock and had left Scotland 
and had settled in the north of Ireland during 
the oppressive reign of King James. Alexander 
Torrey Purcell was the son of John Purcell. The 
wife of Alexander Torrey, Harriet Maclntyre, was 
the daughter of Rev. John Maclntyre. Concerning 
this pioneer Scotch Presbyterian preacher of North 
Carolina something more than passing mention 
should be made. He was remarkable both for his 
mental and physical strength. He came from 
Appin, Ayrshire, Scotland, to North Carolina, in 
1792, first settling in the western part of Cumber- 
land County and later in the northern part of 
what is now Hoke County. He acquired a large 
tract of land, 3,500 acres, and gave it the* name 
"New Garden." He lived to be one hundred and 
three years old. After he had celebrated his 
hundredth birthday he dedicated old Montpelier 
Church in what is now Hoke County. He re- 
tained his mental and physical powers almost 
perfectly until after he had passed the century 
mark and could easily read without glasses up to 
the time of his death. His work as a minister 
was largely as a missionary to the Indians and 
the pioneer settlers over a large expanse of terri- 
tory in both North and South Carolina. He woui.i 
preach at regular intervals at places far remote 
from each other. In those settlements that were 
entirely Scotch he would preach sermons in pure 
Gaelic as well as in English. It is said that he 
acquired a proficient knowledge of both Latin and 
Hebrew after he was thirty-five years of age. It 
was of such men that the Old Testament writer 
spoke when he said : ' ' There were giants in those 
da vs. " 

William Graham Shaw completed his academic 
education in the hisrh school in Spring Hill Town- 
shin, and began his medical studies under the 
preceptorship of his father. He had inherited the 
family love for the profession, in which he made 
rapid nro<rress. and eventually entered the Col- 
lege of Phvsicians and Surgeons at Baltimore, 
Marvland, from which he was graduated with the 
decree of Doctor of Medicine in 1892. At that 
time he returned immediately to Spring Hill Town- 
ship, and here has since been engaged in the 
practice of his profession, his home being in the 
old Shaw communitv. about two miles west of the 
present Town of Wagram. This is a new town 
which has grown to importance within the very 
few last years, and Doctor Snaw has taken a 
leading part in its upbuilding and development. 
After so Ions: and faithful performance of pro- 
fessional duties, during which he has ever upheld 





.£ JtL 



Cc^scf 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



43 



the standard of professional ethics, Doctor ShaF 
may feel somewhat gratified to know that he is 
held in high esteem by other members of the fra- 
ternity and that they number him with the ablest 
physicians in a community in which medical abil- 
ity has reached a high point. That this is true 
is shown in the fact that since 1908 Doctor Shaw 
has served in the capacity of president of the 
Scotland County Medical Society. In addition to 
caring for a large and representative practice he 
is much interested in all local affairs and is promi- 
nent as well in business circles, being vice presi- 
dent and a director of the Bank of Wagram and 
senior member of the firm of Shaw & MacLean, 
druggists. 

Doctor Shaw married Miss Mary C. Cooley, who 
was born in the Spring Hill community, a member 
of an old and well known family, and a daughter 
of James L. and Frances (Johnson) Cooley. To 
this union there have been born two children: 
Mary Elizabeth and William Graham, Jr. 

Hon. John Williamson McLauchlin. When 
it is considered that the majority of individuals 
never rise above the ordinary, but live out their 
lives in obscurity and, dying, are forgotten, a 
stronger realization is gained of the credit due 
those who have enriched their communities, bene- 
fited their associations, raised a higher standard 
for the generations to come and demonstrated the 
worth of individual endeaver. The aggressive, 
public-spirited men of any locality plan for the 
future as well as the present, and so shape the 
fortunes and the prosperity of their community. 
For many years Hon. John Williamson McLauch- 
lin has been accepted by all as a leader in all 
enterprises for the public good in that part of 
Cumberland County now included in Hoke County. 
In all business transactions he has been a man of 
prudence, safe and reliable, and his advice in re- 
gard to business transactions has been frequently 
sought and freely given. He has been liberal in 
his dealings and many men owe their start in life 
to his encouragement and financial aid. In public 
affairs he has been true to the confidence of his 
fellow-citizens, true to the needs of his state and 
true to himself. 

John Williamson McLauchlin was born in 1846, 
on the old home place of the McLauchlin family, 
located two miles east of Raeford, in what is now 
Hoke but then a part of Cumberland County, North 
Carolina, his parents being William and Mary 
(McRae) McLauchlin. He belongs to a very old 
and distinguished family among the early settlers 
of the section in which he lived. Philip McRae, 
his grandfather, and others of the same name and 
connection, were for the most part farmers and 
large land owners in that locality. John William- 
son was the youngest in a family of three brothers 
and one sister, the oldest brother, M. McR. Mc- 
Lauchlin, and the one next to him, Archibald 
Scott, were graduated from Davidson College about 
the time the war between the states began, when 
they entered the service, in which Archibald Scott 
lost his life early in the war, and the older, who 
was major of the Thirty-eighth North Carolina 
Regiment, was so severely wounded in the battle 
of Chancellorsville that he was not able to serve 
longer, but recovered sufficiently, however, to en- 
gage in teaching until his eightieth year. The next 
brother in age, William Christopher, served in the 
army also and is still living at Florala, Alabama, 
where he is extensively engaged in real estate, 
naval stores and lumber business. The one sister, 



Isabella, was a graduate of Floral College, North 
Carolina, at the age of sixteen and was married 
to Malcom Lamont. Her descendants are all mar- 
ried and living in North Carolina, New York City, 
and Texas. 

The paternal great-grandfather of this family 
of McLauchlins, whose name was John, was one 
of three brothers, the others being Daniel and 
Archibald, all of whom came to America from their 
native country, Scotland, prior to the Eevolution- 
ary war, or about 1770. He was married to Flora 
Munn before leaving Scotland and brought with 
him to America his children, Duncan, John, Archi- 
bald and Flora, and was himself killed at the 
battle of Guilford Court House near Greensboro 
during the Revolutionary Avar. Some of the Mc- 
Lauchlins moved to South Carolina, others to 
Florida. A descendant of one of these was the 
late Peter Stewart McLauchlin, the founder of the 
Charlotte Observer. Archibald McLauchlin, grand- 
father of John Williamson, had married Isabella 
Williamson, their children being John, William and 
Catherine, and had become the owner of the 
original McLauchlin home. William Williamson, 
the father of Isabella, had an interesting and ad- 
venturous career. He was a man of fine educa- 
tion, his home being in Glasgow, Scotland. Before 
leaving his native country he engaged in teaching 
English, Latin and Mathematics, first in private 
families and later in colleges, but when he had won 
the love of Catherine Campbell, the niece and 
adopted daughter of the Diike of Argyle, to the 
extent that she was willing to go with him to the 
ends of the earth and the proposed match proving 
unsatisfactory to the Duke on the ground that 
Williamson was only a teacher and not the owner 
of an estate, the married couple set sail for 
America and landed on the Island of Jamaica, 
where they remained for two years and afterwards, 
landing at Wilmington, came up the Cape Fear 
River to Campbellton, afterwards Fayetteville, 
where they located. Here William Williamson en- 
gaged in teaching while he was permitted to re- 
main in America, but when the subject of inde- 
pendence began to be agitated, the British sol- 
diers, after investigation, were heard to remark 
that man's head might overturn a government, and 
so Williamson and Rev. John McLeod, a Presby- 
terian minister, were taken under guard, carried 
to Wilmington and placed on a vessel to be de- 
ported to Scotland. Nothing more was ever known 
about the vessel after sailing and it was supposed 
to be lost at sea. 

Catherine (Campbell) Williamson and her two 
daughters were visiting friends near the McLauch- 
lin home twenty miles west from Fayetteville when 
the husband and father was taken to be seen by 
them no more. William Williamson left many in- 
teresting and valuable papers and documents which 
would now be of considerable historical value, but 
all were lost in the confusion of the times, except 
portions of a diary which he kept before leaving 
Scotland. 

John Williamson McLauchlin attended private 
schools near his home as opportunity afforded until 
he entered service in the war between the states 
in April, 1864, at which time he enlisted in a 
cavalry company, commanded by W. J. Strange of 
Fayetteville and in which he served until the war 
closed, when he resumed his studies and was grad- 
uated from Davidson College in 1874. 

After graduation, having borrowed money from 
an older brother to complete his education, he 
engaged in teaching for a number of years until 



44 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



his indebtedness was paid, after which he en- 
gaged in naval store and lumber business at his 
home and in South Carolina for several years. Mr. 
McLauchlin has always taken great interest in the 
cause of education, having served on the board of 
directors of Davidson College for a long time and 
on the board of directors of Flora Macdonald Col- 
lege since its organization and also in similar ca- 
pacity in his home town of Raeford. Mr. Mc- 
Lauchlin was married in 1905 to Miss Christiana 
McFadyen, who had given a considerable portion 
of her life to teaching, and, together, they have 
given liberally of their time and means in aiding 
worthy young people to secure an education. 

He has had much to do with the establishment 
and building of the little City of Raeford, where 
he is now interested as president of the McLauchlin 
Company and also of the Bank of Raeford and 
near which lie has considerable farming interests. 
Mr. McLauchlin was one of the leading spirits in 
the formation of Hoke County from portions of 
Cumberland and Robeson counties. He was sen- 
ator from Cumberland County when the new 
county was established in 1911, and had served 
as senator from Cumberland several times before. 

In public life and as a private citizen Mr. Mc- 
Lauchlin 's honesty and Christian integrity are 
above reproach. He has been for many years a 
member of the Presbyterian Church, the church 
of his fathers, and has served well as ruling elder 
and superintendent of Sabbath schools. 

Wiley Ckoom Rodman. A highly educated and 
successful lawyer of Washington, Wiley Croom 
Rodman has been in active practice since his ad- 
mission to the bar in 1901. He was formerly 
member of the firm Bragaw & Rodman, and is 
now connected with one of the leading firms of 
corporation and general lawyers at Washington, 
Small, Mac-Lean, Bragaw & Rodman. Mr. Rod- 
man has formed many influencial connections in 
his part of the state, and is one of the recognized 
leaders in the democratic party. 

He was born at Washington, North Carolina, 
May 28, 1879, a son of William Blount and Lu- 
cilla Dudley (Croom) Rodman. He acquired a 
liberal education. After the common schools he 
was a student from 1893 to 1895 in the Trinity 
School at Chocowinity, was in the University of 
North Carolina in 1895-96 and from 1899 to 1901 
was in the United States Military Academy. He 
has since put his military training to good ad- 
vantage as colonel of the Second Regiment, North 
Carolina National Guard. He studied law at the 
University of North Carolina, and began an ac- 
tive practice which soon led him to distinctions 
in public affairs. 

He served as county attorney of Beaufort 
County and is the present representative for that 
county in the State Legislature. He has been 
county chairman, member of the State Democratic 
Executive Committee, member of the Congres- 
sional Executive Committee of the First District, 
member of the First District Judicial Executive 
Committee and chairman of the Senatorial Execu- 
tive Committee of the Second District. He is 
also a school trustee in Washington. Mr. Rodman 
is affiliated with the Masons and the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the college so- 
cieties, Gorgon's Head, Delta Kappa Epsilon, 
Omega Nu Epsilon, and Pi Sigma. He is a mem- 
ber of the Episcopal Church. In 1902 he mar- 
ried Miss Theodora Grimes. They have two 
daughters and one son. 



Robert Newton Page. Eminent along many 
lines, Robert Newton Page is one of the distin- 
guished men of North Carolina, worthily bearing 
a name that both in the past and the present rep- 
resents the highest and best in American man- 
hood. 

Robert Newton Page was born at Cary in 
Wake County, North Carolina, October 26, 1859. 
His ancestors generations back were the Pages 
notable in the history of Virginia. His parents 
were Allison Francis and Frances (Raboteau) 
Page, and he was the second born in a family of 
five sons, all of whom have become prominent in 
some walk of life. The eldest, Walter Hines 
Page, early became interested in literary pursuits, 
became a member of the publishing firm of Dou- 
bleday, Page & Company and subsequently edi- 
tor of World 's Work, and now represents the 
United States as ambassador to Great Britain. 
The other sons, Robert N., Henry A., Junius R. 
and Frank, as they grew up became identified 
with their father in his numerous business en- 
terprises and at present they have mutual interests 
of magnitude in both Montgomery and Moore 
counties. 

Allison Francis (Frank) Page was born in 
Wake County, North Carolina, in 1824. He be- 
gan life as a pioneer woodsman and when but 
a youth rafted logs down the Cape Fear River 
from Fayetteville, in which place he was later 
engaged in a lumber manufacturing business. In 
the early '50s he moved to what is now the 
Town of Cary in Wake County, then but a vil- 
lage, and largely built up the place through 
his extensive milling and other enterprises and 
industries, and resided there for twenty-five 
years. In 1879 he moved to Aberdeen in Moore 
County, and there entered upon the great develop- 
ment work that included agricultural progress, 
lumber manufacturing and railroad building. At 
the time mentioned this section of the state was 
practically one vast pine forest. No agricultural 
progress worthy of the name had ever been at- 
tempted. His spirit of energy and enterprise 
was the means of bringing change and develop- 
ment throughout this section and among the en- 
during monuments that perpetuate his name is 
the railroad, now a part of the Norfolk & Southern 
system, known as the Aberdeen & Ashboro, with 
a branch line from Biscoe to Mount Gilead. For 
many years he devoted almost his entire time to 
the construction and operation of this road. In 
1898, however, he turned the road over to his 
sons and retired from active life, and they have 
carried on the enterprise ever since. 

At a very early age Robert Newton Page was 
taught by wise and judicious parents that indus- 
try bore an important part in acquiring both 
knowledge and substance. It was no task to ap- 
ply himself to study, for he loved books and had 
a catholic taste, and therefore passed very credit- 
ably through the local schools and subsequently 
the somewhat celebrated Bingham School at Me- 
bane, North Carolina. Then, as mentioned above, 
he became identified with his brothers in their 
father's many ambitious enterprises, which they 
assisted to success. At present his agricultural 
and stock interests in several counties are exten- 
sive as are also his railroad, lumbering and 
banking. 

It is in public life, however, that Mr. Page 
has made an indelible impression, because of his 
worth as a statesman, his honesty as a man and 
his loyalty as a patriotic American. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



45 



Mr. Page came to the front in political life in 
1890, when he was elected mayor of Aberdeen, 
in which office he served with the utmost use- 
fulness until 1898, devoting time, money and 
effort to the city's advantage, despite the claims 
of his many private interests. In 1901 he was 
elected representative from Montgomery County 
to the North Carolina General Assembly, and in 
1902 he was elected by the Seventh Congressional 
District as a member of the Fifty-eighth Con- 
gress, in which august body, through consecutive 
elections, he served for fourteen years. In 
1916 he notified his friends and constituents that 
the cares of public life were resting too heavily 
upon him and that he would not be a candidate 
for re-election. There were many who regretted 
to learn this, for Mr. Page has always been the 
type of public man that this nation needs, one 
who could bring to the duties of high position 
and grave responsibility a clear head, a clean 
heart, a strong arm and unbiased judgment. 

A business man by heritage and training, Mr. 
Page looked upon many of his responsibilities 
from a business man's standpoint, and when op- 
portunity was afforded his associates in commit- 
tees were impressed by the vigor of his work and 
the rapidity of his actions and the promptness 
of his decisions. On account of being a member 
of the minority party until 1910, Mr. Page 's work 
in Congress did not bring him any adequate com- 
mittee appointments, but with the change in the 
political complexion of the House he became a 
member of the appropriation committee, and con- 
tinued a member of this important committee 
until his retirement, at the end of the session in 
March, 1917. During the last four years of his 
service in Congress he was chairman of the sub- 
committee and had charge of the appropriations 
for the District of Columbia, these including those 
of the Capital city, and in this relation had charge 
of the annual expenditure of from twelve to 
fifteen million dollars. During the entire period 
of his work in Congress he made no spectacular 
display of his abilities or achievements, but with 
diplomacy, thorough business method and noble 
public spirit, served his people and government 
with an undivided heart. 

Mr. Page was married June 20, 1888, to Miss 
Flora Shaw, of Manly, North Carolina, and they 
have four children: Thaddeus S., Kichard E., 
Robert N., a lieutenant in the United States 
Army and Kate Raboteau Page. The older sons 
have built up a prosperous automobile business, 
while Richard E., a graduate of the A. & M. Col- 
lege, is engaged in farming and is an extensive 
breeder of Hereford cattle. 

During 1901, while in the State Legislature, Mr. 
Page was chairman of the committee on Insane 
Asylums, in which position he labored with great 
zeal and brought about many reforms. The allow- 
ances which he secured were only just and his 
work in this connection reflected credit upon him- 
self and the state. Officially and unofficially he 
has been identified with many other benevolent 
agencies and has contributed wisely and generously 
in support of numerous worthy enterprises of a 
charitable nature. For many years he has been 
chairman of the board of trustees of the Metho- 
dist Orphanage at Raleigh, North Carolina. From 
youth he has been a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, and no one who knows 
him well can believe that he has ever guided his 
life in any way apart from his profession of 
faith. Since 1902 Mr. Page has been vice presi- 



dent of the Aberdeen & Ashboro Railroad Com- 
pany, of which he had previously been treasurer 
for twelve years; from 1880 to 1888 he was in- 
terested in lumber manufacturing at Aberdeen, 
and from 1888 to 1900 was general manager of 
the Page Lumber Company of Aberdeen. His 
present home is at Biscoe and much of his time 
is devoted to the oversight of his many interests 
in this locality. Loyal and patriotic, his voice 
has been raised on many occasions since the 
United States entered the great World war, urg- 
ing his fellow citizens to gain a thorough under- 
standing of all that is at stake and to join him 
in every possible manner to afford encouragement 
and support to the United States Government. 

Robert Lee Bethune. In old Robeson and new 
Hoke County the name Bethune has been one of 
distinction for practical achievement and value of 
citizenship for many generations. A finer class of 
people exists nowhere than the North Carolina 
Scotch, and the Bethunes have their proper share 
of honors among this worthy race. 

A short time before the Revolutionary war 
Colin Bethune came from Scotland, and making 
settlement acquired land which was for many years 
the Bethune homestead in North Carolina. The 
old place is easily distinguished now, because 
it is the site of the state tuberculosis sanitarium, 
about ten miles west of Raeford in Hoke, but 
formerly Robeson County. A more beautiful bit 
of topography can hardly lie found in the entire 
state. Its selection for the tuberculosis sanitarium 
was based upon considerations of altitude, favor- 
able climatic conditions, pure water, and the gen- 
eral charm and beauty of the landscape con- 
stituting an almost ideal environment. 

A son of Colin Bethune was Hon. Lauchlin 
Bethune, who represented this district of North 
Carolina in Congress in the days when Andrew 
Jackson was President. He was a man of learn- 
ing and versatile ability, and his leadership meant 
much to the people of old Cumberland County. 

M. D. Bethune, a son of Lauchlin, was born at 
the old Bethune homestead in 1842, but now lives 
at Raeford and among other worthy features of 
his record is widely known as the founder of the 
famous Edinburg Farm. At the outset of his 
manhood, in 1861, he left his father's plantation 
in the month of April and enlisted at Fayette- 
ville with the Second North Carolina Cavalry. 
He was with Captain Strange 's command. His 
own service was continuous with the length of the 
war. He was in nearly all the greater battles of 
Lee 's army of Northern Virginia, including Gettys- 
burg. The war over, he returned to the old 
homestead above described and remained there 
until 1900. He had in the meantime bought a 
large body of agricultural land at Raeford, and 
there he established the Edinburg Farm. This is a 
notable agricultural enterprise and one of the 
largest and most profitably conducted farms in 
this part of the state. It consists of about 1,000 
acres, lying partly within the city limits of Rae- 
ford, and extending westward from the city. 

In late years Mr. M. D. Bethune has divided 
most of this land among his children, including 
his two sons Robert Lee and Luke. Luke Bethune 
is now active manager of the farm. Approximately 
500 acres are in cultivation, requiring about 
twenty-five plows and other equipment to cor- 
respond. Edinburg Farm has contributed no 
modest share to the crop of North Carolina cotton 
in recent years. 



46 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



M. D. Bethuue is a fine type of the old-time 
Southerner. He has a great fund of historical 
reminiscences, and is a most interesting gentle- 
man wliom everyone likes to have around. His 
wife, now deceased, was Margaret Jane Blue. 

.Robert Lee Bethuue, who represents the fourtu 
generation of this family in North Carolina, has 
nad a career of more than ordinary experience 
and service, and is now the popular register of 
deeds of Hoke County. 

He was born on the old Bethuue place above 
described in 1872, and while growing up there 
attended the local schools. In 1894 he went to 
Louisiana and for the next fourteen years was 
engaged in the turpentine industry in that state. 
On his return to his native state in 19U8 he be- 
came associated with his father and brother in 
the operation of the Edinburgh Farm, in which he 
still retained a large interest. 

Mr. Bethuue was one of the local citizens who 
did most to bring about the creation of the 
separate County of Hoke in 1911, and three years 
later, in 1914, his abilities were called to use 
in the office of register of deeds, and by re-election 
in 1916 he is still the incumbent. He has made 
a most capable administrative official. He has the 
faculty of combining utmost courtesy along with 
1 prompt and careful transaction of all his duties. 
Those who have business with his office discover 
that his official manner is the same with all, 
rich or poor, and uninfluenced by politics or any 
other conventional considerations. Mr. Bethune 
is himself a democrat. He worships as a Pres- 
byterian. He is married, his wife having been 
Miss Mattie MeDougald. 

Daxiel Hugh Shaw, of Scotland County, is 
doing much to sustain the proud position and 
record of North Carolina in the agricultural pro- 
duction of the nation. He is living in the same 
locality that has been dignified by his family for 
more than a century, and while the Shaws have 
been prominent in medicine, other professions, in 
polities and in business, some of them have always 
kept true to the original allegiance and have main- 
tained ties with the soil. 

Mr. Shaw represents one of the truly notable 
families of North Carolina. His grandparents 
were Alexander and Sarah (Mcintosh) Shaw. 
Alexander Shaw came from Scotland to Richmond 
County, North Carolina, in the early part of the 
nineteenth century, locating in what is now Spring 
Hill Township of Scotland County, where his 
grandson, Daniel Hugh Shaw, still lives. He mar- 
ried Sarah Mcintosh, member of an older Scotch 
family that had come to this locality in North 
Carolina about the time of the Revolutionary 
war. Alexander Shaw had a brother, Dr. Angus 
Shaw, who accompanied him to North Carolina, 
and for many years was a practicing physician in 
Richmond County. Among the children of Alex- 
ander and Sarah Shaw was Dr. Daniel Shaw, who 
practiced medicine in Scotland and Richmond 
counties for more than half a century, was a 
splendid type of the old time country doctor, and 
his work is today continued by his son Dr. William 
Graham Shaw of Wagram, thus making three suc- 
cessive generations in the medical profession in 
that one region. 

Daniel Hugh Shaw was born on the old Shaw 
plantation where he is still living in 1878, a son 
of Hon. Angus and Mary (McLean) Shaw, the 
former deceased and his mother still living. Hon. 
Angus Shaw was born at the Shaw homestead in 



1837. Besides his brother Dr. Daniel Shaw above 
mentioned he had another brother, Major John 
D. Shaw, who was a resident of Rockingham and 
one of the notable lawyers of the day. Angus 
.Shaw moved from the Shaw plantation in 1879 
to Maxton in Robeson County, where he engaged 
in the mercantile business. For two terms he rep- 
resented Robeson County in the State Legislature. 
He also made a creditable record as a Confed- 
erate soldier during the war and one feature of 
his record that will always stand to his credit was 
his participation in the defense of Fort Fisher, 
where the Confederate garrison withstood one of 
the most terrific bombardments of the entire war. 
He was captured with the fall of that fortress. 
When the war broke out Angus Shaw was a student 
at the University of North Carolina, and enlisted 
from the university and in later years a diploma 
of graduation was conferred upon him. He lived 
a long and useful life and died at Maxton, North 
Carolina, in 1910, at the age of seventy-three. His 
widow still lives at Maxton. 

Daniel Hugh Shaw was reared and educated at 
Maxton, but in 1903 returned to the Shaw planta- 
tion and has lived there happily ever since, and at 
the same time has carried on most profitable op- 
erations in general farming. He is one of the 
leading cotton producers of the county and has 
500 acres in his farm. This is land upon which 
his grandfather settled and where the Shaws have 
lived for over a century. The name of this beauti- 
ful homestead is "Brookbound Farm," located in 
Spring Hill Township in the northern part of Scot- 
land County, two miles south of Wagram and eight 
miles north of Laurinburg, the county seat. The 
Shaw place is a station on the Laurinburg & 
Southern Railway. 

Mr. Shaw built a fine home here in 1911, and 
now enjoys the comforts of one of the most at- 
tractive country estates in this part of North Car- 
olina, and in the midst of one of the richest agri- 
cultural sections. Mr. Shaw married Miss Eliza 
Patterson, daughter of a well known resident of 
Laurel Hill, A. F. Patterson, mentioned on other 
pages of this publication. 

James B. Grant. Few families in Onslaw 
County can claim longer residence than the 
Grants. Of English ancestry, the family was 
established in this section of North Carolina by 
John Grant about the close of the Revolutionary 
war. Since his time the Grants have been pros- 
perous planters and farmers and solid substantial 
citizens in that section of the eastern shore coun- 
try embraced in Onslaw County. John Grant mar- 
ried a Miss Lindsay. Among their children was 
Benjamin Lindsay Grant, who in turn was the 
father of Daniel Lindsay Grant. Daniel Lindsay 
Grant married Hettie Caroline Piner. One of 
their children is James B. Grant of Snead's 
Ferry, named at the beginning of this article. 

While some members of the different genera- 
tions have moved elsewhere and even to other 
states, most of them have prefered to make their 
homes in Onslaw County. Daniel L. Grant went 
out with an Onslow County regiment to do duty 
as a Confederate soldier and was in the war until 
the close. He died in 1894. He and his wife had 
six sons: Daniel, John Lindsay, Augustus M., 
Horace V., Wade H. and James B. Horace V. 
Crant served his county creditably as a member 
of the Lower House in the General Assembly. 
Several of them are farmers in the Snead 's Ferry 
community of Onslow County. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



47 



James B. Grant, who has followed the family 
vocation of farming and planting, has been one 
of the prominent men of the county, is a former 
county commissioner, and was born within a mile 
of where he now lives in Stump Sound Township 
in 1858. His home is two miles southwest of 
Snead's Ferry, and less than a mile distant from 
the house where he was born and where his father 
lived for many years. It was in the same com- 
munity that his grandfather and great-grandfa- 
ther lived. 

Mr. Grant grew upon a farm and has lived at 
his present place since reaching his majority. He 
has between 400 and 500 acres of good land, a 
small part of which is in cultivation, and has pros- 
pered by giving his attention to general farming. 

His progressive citizenship has been shown by 
his active advocacy of good schools, churches and 
good roads, and all the modern needs of a grow- 
ing community. The good roads movement makes 
a special appeal to his public spirit, and his in- 
dividual services in that direction have been of 
great value. Mr. Grant was at two different pe- 
riods a member of the board of county commis- 
sioners, first in 1893-94 and again in 1914-15. 
During the first term the board built the Onslow 
County Courthouse at Jacksonville, and during 
his second term the County Jail was constructed. 

Mr. Grant married Miss Bettie Dixon, member 
of another well known family of Onslow County. 
They have six living children : Hubert Leon, Percy 
Granville, Daniel Lindsay, James Stacey, Velma 
and Sterling Dixon. The son Daniel L. is now 
in the University of North Carolina, and Percy 
G. is a volunteer soldier now in France. 

The following is what was written of Percy 
Granville Grant by one of his fellow students in 
the ' ' Pine Burr ' ' the Buie 's Creek Academy An- 
nual : ' ' Although he does not claim any kinship 
to the great President and General Grant,- he 
has many of the qualities that made that patriot 
famous. He is the best typist in school. As a 
Spanish student he has made a. fine record. Pop- 
ular with both students and faculty, Grant made 
a place for himself in the class and school life 
to which others may well aspire." 

From the academy he went soon afterward to 
Canada and was employed in the office of a large 
lumber company when he volunteered in the Fif- 
teenth Regiment and was sent to France in Mav, 
1917. 

Earle Sumner Draper, landscape architect and 
city planner, located at Charlotte in 1915 as the 
southern representative of a well known northern 
landscape architect and city planner. Since estab- 
lishing his home and headquarters at Charlotte Mr. 
Draper has been employed in a large practice and 
is one of the few thoroughly qualified representa- 
tives of this comparatively new profession in the 
South and the pioneer professional landscape 
architect of the State of North Carolina. 
_ Early in the year 1917, realizing the possibilf- 
ties of the southern professional field and the fact 
that it could be best handled by a southern or- 
ganization, Mr. Draper severed his northern con- 
nections and gathered about him a capable or- 
ganization for southern work. His success in this 
field is best shown by the fact that hardly more 
than a year after the work of his own organiza- 
tion was started he had developed the largest 
organization in the South and was handling a 
greater volume of landscape work than any other 
professional landscape man in the South. Al- 



though his name and work have become familiar 
throughout North Carolina, his professional prac- 
tice- extends throughout the southern states. 

American life until the present century has been 
necessarily utilitarian in its purpose and in its 
activities. But with increased wealth and culture 
people and communities have more and more given 
attention to the beauty and artistic environment 
of their homes, and the practical realization of 
those ideals constitute the field of practice for 
the landscape architect. North Carolina is rapidly 
developing a wealthy and cultured class, who are 
constructing costly homes and developing fine 
estates, while cities and communities are paying 
attention to the preservation and planning of 
streets, parks, and those superficial improvements 
which are really so vitally connected with the pub- 
lie welfare. It is extremely fortunate that a man 
of such capabilities and splendid connections pro- 
fessionally and otherwise has chosen Charlotte as 
his home and headquarters. 

Soon after the entrance of the United States 
into the war on the side of the Allies, Mr. Draper 
determined that the work of his organization 
should be centered on work in keeping with the 
times. To that end his time has been largely de- 
voted to industrial developments — known in the 
South as mill villages. His work in planning and 
developing new mill villages and improving old 
mill villages throughout the southern states has 
been a large factor in the improvement of living 
conditions among the textile mill villages of the 
South. As most of the southern mills were work- 
ing on Government contracts, the direct result of 
this work in stabilizing labor conditions through 
the village improvements, making the employees 
more contented, has been to increase the war pro- 
duction of the textile workers. His work has been 
foremost in this field and although a comparatively 
young man Mr. Draper has attained a pre-eminent 
position in the South for this class of work. Sev- 
eral of his industrial developments have been 
featured in the leading textile magazines of the 
country. In December, 1917, Mr. Draper ad- 
dressed the Southern Textile Association at 
Greenville, South Carolina, on the subject of Mill 
Village Planning for Southern Mills." 

Mr. Draper is a native of Milford, Massachu- 
setts, and is a member and connection of the 
noted Draper family of Massachusetts. Mr. Dra- 
per 's great-grandfather brought the first spinning 
machine to this country, setting it up at Chelsea, 
Massachusetts, to make cardigan jackets. Another 
branch of the family under the name of the 
Draper Company of Hopedale are the largest 
manufacturers of textile machinery in the United 
States. One of its distinguished members is Gen. 
William F. Draper, who was a brigadier general 
in the Civil war, a congressman from Massachu- 
setts, and served as ambassador to Italy from 
1897 to 1900. Another is Eben Sumner Draper, 
former governor of Massachusetts. Gen. W. F. 
Draper was one of the first of the New England 
manufacturers to establish cotton mills in the 
South. For many years he built and equipped 
cotton mills in North Carolina and other southern 
states. Hi,s son, Arthur J. Draper, is one of the 
best known citizens of Charlotte where he is presi- 
dent of the Chadwick-Hoskins mill enterprises. 

Earle S. Draper was educated in the Massa- 
chusetts Agricultural College, of which he is a 
graduate in the department of landscape archi- 
tecture, witli the decree Bachelor of Science. 
After that he had valuable practical experience 



48 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



in his profession not only in his home state, 
but in the West, particularly in Ohio, where, he 
was connected with a prominent landscape archi- 
tect in Cleveland. His experience also led him 
into Canadian cities. He eventually became as- 
sociated with Dr. John Nolen of Cambridge, 
Massachusetts, finally severing this connection 
to follow his own work in the South. 

Mr. Draper since coming to North Carolina 
has done his most pretentious work in connection 
with Myers Park. This is one of the most beau- 
tiful urban residential sections in America. This 
claim is made advisedly, since experts in compar- 
ing such sections ranked it high among all similar 
districts in the United States. Mr. Draper be- 
came the landscape architect of this property 
and his work has already won wide appreciation. 
He also developed the landscape features of 
Winthrop College at Rock Hill, South Carolina, 
lias done the planning of Waterworks Park in 
Durham, was connected with the park and city 
planning of Kingsport, Tennessee, and much 
other municipal and real estate work. In his 
private practice he has planned and developed 
the beautification of grounds and parks for va- 
rious corporations, mostly textile mills, also for 
resort hotels, country estates and city and coun- 
try homes. There is hardly any section of the 
South where he has not been active in mill 
village development. Wherever landscape archi- 
tecture has received its proper appreciation in 
North Carolina, the name of Mr. Draper is fa- 
miliar, and his talents are already in demand to 
the limit of his professional time. 

In real estate work Mr. Draper has planned 
hundreds of acres of southern developments. 
The Eealty Magazine of New York published 
an article on "Development of Real Estate Sub- 
divisions," by Mr. Draper, illustrated with pic- 
tures of North Carolina developments. Mr. 
Draper is prominently identified with the civic 
life of Charlotte, having served as secretary of 
the City Planning Committee, of the Chamber of 
Commerce, a member of the Rotary Club and 
Charlotte Country Club and of Masonic bodies. 

Mr. Draper was married to Miss Norma Far- 
well of Turners Falls, Massachusetts, and they 
have one son, Frederic Farwell Draper. 

Evander M. Britt is member of the law firm 
Britt & Britt at Lumberton, a firm composed of 
young men but of fine abilities and with many 
solid achievements to their credit in the profes- 
sional and public affairs of their home county. 

Through several generations the name Britt has 
been honored and esteemed for its work and re- 
spectability in Robeson County. The Britts came 
originally from England, and some generations 
back the probability is the name was spelled 
Bright. There were three brothers who came to 
America, one of them settling in Virginia, an- 
other in Eastern Tennessee and the third in Robe- 
son County, North Carolina. The Robeson County 
settler arrived prior to the Revolutionary war, 
and thus for upwards of a century and a half the 
Britts have had their place and part in this 
county. The first home of the family was in a 
locality six or seven miles south of Lumberton, 
and so prominent was the family there that the 
township was named in their honor. In nearly 
all the generations they have been farmers and 
planters. 

Evander M. Britt was born in Britt Township 
of Robeson County, July 9, 1875, son of Samuel 



E. and Martha Victoria (Nance) Britt. His 
mother was a member of the well known Vance 
family of Bladen County. The paternal grand- 
father, Eeddin Britt, owned a large tract of 
land and many slaves before the war. Five of his 
sons gave valiant service in the Confederate Army, 
all of them going from Robeson County. Samuel 
E. Britt, who was born in 1848, lived in Britt 
Township until the early '80s, when he moved 
to his present home in Howellsville Township, 
about ten miles north of Lumberton. There he 
owns a good farm, and out of its resources he 
has made most commendable provisions for his 
family. He and his wife reared twelve children, 
and realized their cherished ambition to give 
them all a college education. This achievement 
should not be lightly passed over. Even in these 
prosperous times many farmers complain of in- 
ability to share in those things which are not 
fundamentally essential to existence. While the 
children of Samuel E. Britt were growing up the 
road of the agriculturist in North Carolina was 
a hard and thorny one, and all the more honor 
for that reason is due to the industry and self 
sacrificing labors of this old time Robeson 
County farmer and his wife. His home is at 
Ten Mile Church, of which he is a member. This 
is one of the historic Baptist churches of the 
state. 

Evander M. Britt grew up on his father 's farm 
in Howellsville Township, attended the country 
schools, and was a pupil in the Robeson Institute 
at Lumberton while it was under the direction of 
Prof. John Duckett. This was followed by both 
the literary and law courses of Wake Forest 
College, and he graduated A. B. in 1903 and 
received his degree in 1904. He was licensed to 
practice and took up his professional career at 
Lumberton in 1904, and since then has been 
eminently successful. He has shown excellent 
business ability as well as power to handle the 
law business of others, and has invested judi- 
ciously in some good farm lands in the vicinity 
of his old home in Howellsville Township, acquir- 
ing property that is constantly increasing in 
value. Since returning home from college he has 
made his influence count for the success of the 
democratic party, and has enjoyed a number of 
honors from his fellow democrats. He is now 
filling the important office of recorder of the 
district of nine townships, including Lumberton, 
and the work of that office was never in better 
hands. He is a member of the Baptist Church. 

Mr. Britt married Miss Dorothy Geneva Bow- 
man of Marion, McDowell County. They have one 
daughter, Janie Malloy Britt. 

The junior member of the firm of Britt & 
Britt is Mr. W. S. Britt, and they have been 
associated in practice since 1909. W. S. Britt 
is also a Wake Forest man, a graduate of the 
law class of 1908. He is a member of the Town 
Board of Audit and Finance and of the Lumber- 
ton School Board. He has alweys been interested 
in the subject of development of inland water- 
ways, and Governor Kitchin commissioned him a 
delegate from North Carolina to attend the 
sessions of the Atlantic Deep Water Conventions 
held at Richmond and in Washington. 

Another of the Britt brothers was the late 
Rev. D. C. Britt who attained distinction as a 
Baptist minister. 

John Robert Htggtns. There are men of broad 
vision and diversified gifts whose business sagacity 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



49 



seemingly amounts to genius. Under their initia- 
tive and management enterprises develop and 
undertakings prosper whether conditions seem 
favorable or otherwise. These men may and often 
do become real captains of industry and builders 
of great personal fortunes. When their talents are 
directed to public effort they are the strong forces 
that bring about results that set the car of prog- 
ress moving, and foresee and provide for the rough 
places on the political or commercial highway. 
Such men are reasonably rare, but a community 
that can lay claim to them may well feel proud 
and grateful. Among the fine citizenship of Golds- 
boro, North Carolina, there is no more able busi- 
ness man, honorable public official or esteemed 
resident than Hon. John Robert Higgins, mayor 
of this city. 

John R. Higgins was born at Madison, Madison 
County, Virginia, October 15, 1863. His parents 
were Dr. Henry Randolph and Ann Virginia (Sam- 
uel) Higgins, who came to Wilson County, North 
Carolina, in 1873. The youth had only public 
school advantages but probably became interested 
in drugs in his father 's home pharmacy. In 1888 
he came to Goldsboro and accepted a clerical posi- 
tion in a drug store, continuing his studies and 
serving in several stores until 1903, when he be- 
came a partner in a drug business and in 1904 
established the Higgins Drug Company. 

In the meanwhile Mr. Higgins had through pub- 
lic-spirited efforts in many directions secured the 
confidence and good will of the people and so uni- 
versal was the satisfaction over his election as 
treasurer of Goldsboro in 1895 that his re-election 
for four subsequent terms naturally followed. In 
1896 he took over the amusement business of the 
city as represented by the desire of the general 
public for first class theatrical attractions, and for 
sixteen years maintained a high standard of ex- 
cellence and made the theater at Goldsboro attrac- 
tive not only to residents of the city but to the 
nearby towns and villages. In many other ways 
he demonstrated thoughtfulness for the public wel- 
fare and no less desirable and beneficial because 
usually carried on according to the practical, com- 
mon sense business principles. 

In 1905 Mr. Higgins was elected a member of 
the City Council, and as alderman proved faithful 
to the interests of his ward, but consented to 
serve but the one term, his business at this time 
demanding much of his attention. In May, 1909, 
Mr. Higgins was elected mayor of Goldsboro and 
brought with him to this office a much needed at- 
mosphere of business. He found the city deeply 
in debt, public improvements at a standstill, money 
needed for public utilities and for the carrying 
on of the usual routine of business. The methods 
by which Mr. Higgins has changed all this during 
his continued tenure of office prove his business 
sagacity as indicated, and the banks looked askance 
at the city's paper in 1909 are now anxious to pro- 
cure it. Evidently there was great need for such 
a resourceful, upright, capable and fearless man 
as Mayor Higgins at the helm. No one can deny 
that he has worked as zealously and effectively for 
the city as he could have done for his private 
interests. He is a member of the Wayne County 
Board of Health and looks carefully after the 
duties of this office, being no man to accept re- 
sponsibilities and then evade them. Principles 
adopted in his rulings in the city court have added 
greatly to the city's treasury, and, while, having 
a sympathetic fellow feeling, he yet performed the 
duties of the city both fairly and fearlessly. 

Vol. VI— 4 



Mayor Higgins has a wide circle of personal 
friends and has numerous fraternal connections 
and stands high in various organizations. He has 
long been identified with the Odd Fellows and he 
is past councilor in the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics. He belongs also to the Elks 
and is both past chancellor and a member of the 
Grand Lodge of the Knights of Pythias, and i^ 
past sachem and ex-state deputy of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Red Men. He belongs to that 
wholesome class of American men who enjoy out- 
door life and finds intense enjoyment with his 
' ' rod and reel ' ' and in automobiling. He leads a 
busy, useful life, although without ostentation, and 
trusted by his fellow men he is conscious that their 
confidence is not misplaced. 

William Calhoun Fields, a member of a well 
known old family of Lenoir County, has earned 
in his own right a substantial position in business 
and civic affairs at Kinston. 

He was born at Kinston February 22, 1880, 
and is a son of the late William Council and Ag- 
nes (Pearce) Fields. His father was for many 
years a successful real estate dealer, a cotton 
broker and a broker in fertilizers and other kin- 
dred materials. 

The son was liberally educated, attending the 
famous Bingham Military School at Mebane, the 
Drury School at Fayetteville and the Oak Ridge 
Academy. On leaving school he took a part in his 
father's business, and after his father's death, on 
October 14, 1902, became sole manager and has 
continued it with increasing success to the present 
tim°. Mr. Fields was formerly a director of the 
National Bank of Kinston and is a director of 
the Orion Knitting Mills Company and the Caswell 
Cotton Mills. Wherever possible he has used his 
time and ability to help forward community proj- 
ects and is an active member of the Chamber of 
Commerce. He was formerly affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks. On April 
30, 1908, Mr. Fields married Elizabeth Gladys 
Tull, daughter of Dr. Henry Tull, of Kinston. 
Thev have one daughter, Frances, born Julv 29, 
1914. 

John L. Scott, Jr., has carried a heavy weight 
of business and civic responsibilities in his home 
city of Graham through a long period of years. 
As soon as his education was complete he entered 
cotton manufacturing business, and now for a 
number of years has been secretary and treasurer 
of the Sidney Cotton Mills at Graham, and is also 
president of the National Bank of Alamance. 
He is president of the board of directors of the 
North Carolina School for the Deaf. 

Mr. Scott was born at Graham, North Caro- 
lina. April 26, 1859, son of James Sidney and 
Bettie (Donnell) Scott. His father was a promi- 
nent merchant and cotton manufacturer. The 
son was educated in the private school conducted 
by Horner and Graves, and completed his educa- 
tion in Davidson College. 

Mr. Scott was elected to the State Senate of 
North Carolina in 1909, was re-elected in 1913, 
and besides the regular sessions was a member 
of the special session of 1914. He is a past 
master of Lodge No. 492, Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons, and is past grand chancellor of 
the Knights of Pythias and supreme representa- 
tive of that order. Religiously he is an elder of 
the Presbyterian Church. 



50 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



January 9, 1884, Mr. Scott married Fannie 
Logan Brady of Davidson, North Carolina. They 
are the parents of six children: Bess, wife of 
Charles W. Causey, superintendent of the Bogon 
Cotton Mills at Anderson, South Carolina; Bon 
E., vice president of the Sidney Cotton Mills, 
and now a major in the Twentieth Infantry, 
United States Army; lone, wife of Dr. J. M. 
Thompson, of Mebane, North Carolina; John, 
who is connected with the British-American To- 
bacco Company, stationed at Pekin, China; 
Blanche, at home; and Rebecca, wife of Farrior 
Powell, cashier of a bank at WMteville, North 
Carolina, 

Henry Paul Bilyeu, whose home is at South- 
ern Pines in Moore County, is one of the noted 
horticulturists of the state. His chief contnbu- 
tinn to that industry has been as a pioneer in 
establishing the dewberry as a profitable crop. 
Horticulture has been the business of the 
Bilyeu family for several generations. Henry 
Paul Bilyeu was born at Hightstown in Mercer 
County, New Jersey, in 1849. He is of French 
ancestry. His father, H. P. Bilyeu, was a 
New Jersey fruit grower. Mr. Bilyeu 's brother, 
S. G. Bilyeu, was long prominent jn New Jersey 
horticulture. He was especially noted for his 
peaches, propagated a number of new varieties of 
the peach, and perhaps the best known is the 
Bilyeu peach. 

Henry P. Bilyeu grew up on a fruit farm, 
and had considerable experience in the business in 
his native state. In 1874 he left his home in 
Mercer County, New Jersey, and came to North 
Carolina, locating at Ridgeway in Warren County. 
He was engaged in the business of fruit, growing 
there for fifteen years, but in 1890 he left 
Warren County and came to Moore County, locat- 
ing at what has since become the famous winter 
resort, Southern Pines. He was one of the pioneer 
setters there. 

On coming to Moore County Mr. Bilyeu bought 
twenty acres of land east of the town. This 
tract he later sold to the Country Club of South- 
ern Pines and it is now part of the famed South- 
ern Pines golf course. The estimated value of 
the land at present is a thousand dollars an acre. 
In 1903 Mr. Bilyeu bought the land that he has 
developed into his present magnificent farm, known 
far and wide especially among horticulturists as 
the Pine Knot Farm. It lies four miles west of 
Southern Pines, and contains about three hundred 
acres. Originally it was practically waste land, 
covered with pine timber. From that condition 
it has been converted under Mr. Bilyeu 's man- 
agement into one of the most beautiful farms in 
the state. During the berry growing season it 
has the appearance of a vast garden. His first 
task in developing the place was to clear a 
hundred sixty acres of the pine trees. Since then 
an additional hundred twenty-five acres have been 
cleared, making two hundred eighty-five acres 
available for cultivation. The entrance to this 
farm is through an avenue of arching pine and 
holly trees. These trees were transplanted for 
this particular purpose by Mr. Bilyeu. It is 
said to make the most beautiful entrance to any 
farm in North Carolina. The entire place has a 
picturesque setting and its transformation into 
a highly profitable and productive fruit farm 
has not been accompanied with corresponding loss 
of the beauty elements. His success as a horti- 



culturist attracted the attention of the Southern 
Bailroad Company, and for several years Mr. 
Bilyeu has been employed by that company in 
an advisory capacity to develop the fruit growing 
interests along the railroad lines. 

Mr. Bilyeu also has 
some time has been growing Delaware grapes, 
which he also introduced successfully into Moore 
County. The Pine Knot Farm also grows con- 
siderable quantities of wheat and peas, and he 
raises some fine Berkshire hogs and fancy fowls. 

Mr. Bilyeu married Miss Carrie Lee Poe, of 
Chatham County. She is a member of an 'old 
and distinguished family of North Carolina. One 
of the family was Dr. Clarence Poe, the noted 
agriculturist and agricultural writer. Mr. and 
Mrs. Bilyeu have six children: Lucile, H. P., Jr., 
who is now a member of the United States Army, 
Emily, Sadie Marguerite, Walter J. and Helen C. 

W. Steele Lowdermilk, of Rockingham, is an 
able member of the North Carolina bar, a leader 
of the Richmond County democracy, and a citi- 
zen who has impressed the force and straightfor- 
wardness of his character upon the community 
which has witnessed the development of his ca- 
reer. During the ten years of his practice at 
Rockingham he has met with a constantly increas- 
ing success, and his practice, largely of an im- 
portant character, carries him into all the courts, 
state and federal. 

Mr. Lowdermilk was born in 1882, in Rich- 
mond County, North Carolina, and is a son of Z. 
H. and Susan (Steele) Lowdermilk. His father 
was born in Randolph County, this state, and 
when a young man moved to Richmond County, 
settling in the upper part, where he was first en- 
gaged in farming and later turned his attention 
to mercantile pursuits. He remained in this coun- 
ty until 1892, when he went to Georgia and en- 
gaged in the turpentine business, and remained 
in that state until his death, which occurred in 
1895. The mother of W. Steele Lowdermilk was 
a daughter of the late Robert L. Steele, a mem- 
ber of the old and well-known Steele family of 
Richmond County, and whose name appears prom- 
inently on the pages of North Carolina's history. 
Robert L. Steele was a grandson of Robert John- 
son Steele, who was born at Carlisle, Cumberland 
County, England, and who, as a very young man, 
came to America as a soldier of the English 
army of Lord Cornwallis. He was badly wounded 
and 'left for dead on the field of the battle of the 
Brandywine, and there was picked up by a daugh- 
ter of Dr. Richard Grubbs, who noticed him as 
she was passing by in a carriage. She carried 
him to her home, where he was attended by Doc- 
tor Grubbs, who was a surgeon in the Continen- 
tal arniv. Afler the war he came to North Caro- 
lina, first locating in Granville County and after- 
ward removing to Montgomery County, where he 
died. He is buried, however, at .the old Steele 
burying ground at Steele's Mills in Richmond 
Ooimtv, to which locality his sons had removed. 
Robert L. Steele was a first cousin of the late 
Col. Walter Leak Steele, of Richmond County, 
who was a man of great prominence in public 
affairs in his day. He was before the war be- 
tween the states a member of the House of Com- 
mons of North Carolina, and of the State Sen- 
ate. He was principal secretary of the North 
Carolina Secession Convention in 1861; in 1872 
was an elector on the Greeley presidential ticket; 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



51 



in 1876 was elected to Congress, and in 1878 was 
re-elected thereto, serving in that body until 1881. 

W. Steele Lowdermilk was reared in Richmond 
County and attended Farmers' Institute, a pri- 
vate boarding school in Randolph County. Later 
he attended Trinity Park School at Durham, and 
Trinity College there, being graduated from the 
latter in 1904 with the degree of Bachelor of Arts, 
and completed his education by a two-year course 
in law at Trinity.' Admitted to the bar in 1906, 
he at once began the practice of his profession at 
Rockingham, and is now a successful lawyer of 
general practice in the county, state and Federal 
courts. Always interested in politics, he has con- 
sistently worked for the interests of the demo- 
cratic party, takes a prominent part in county 
and state matters, and is now chairman of the 
Richmond County Democratic Executive Commit- 
tee. He is a Mason and a member of the Metho- 
dist Church. 

Mr. Lowdermilk married Miss Amee Horan, a 
native of France, she having been born in Paris, 
and is a young woman of superior intellectual 
attainments, fine talents and education. One of 
her brothers is now serving in the great European 
war as a soldier of France, while a sister is a 
nurse connected with the French army. 

James Crawford Thomas. "With all its wealth 
of manufacturing and other lines of business, 
North Carolina is essentially an agricultural state, 
and those who by their achievements have become 
conspicuous leaders in that industry are by the 
same token men of prominence in the state. One 
of these whose position is one of easy rank in 
the first place is Mr. James Crawford Thomas, 
whose extensive farming interests lie in the vicin- 
ity of Raeford in Hoke County. Mr. Thomas 
besides farming is a banker and has done much 
to build up the new County of Hoke and its coun- 
ty seat Raeford. 

Mr. Thomas was born near Ellerbe Springs in 
Richmond County, North Carolina, in 1864. His 
lineage includes three well known families of 
North Carolina, Thomas, Covington and Roper. 
The Thomas name is of Welsh origin. In earlier 
generations the family boasted a coat of arms. 
This coat of arms indicates the sturdiness of 
character and personal bravery which were marked 
characteristics of its members. The Thomas an- 
cestors on coming to America first settled in 
South Carolina along the Great Pee Dee River. 
Thence they removed upward along that stream 
to what is now Richmond County, North Caro- 
lina, where they have had their home since prior 
to the Revolutionary war. 

Mr. Thomas is a grandson of James and Char- 
lotte (Roper) Thomas. Charlotte Roper was 
the daughter of Thomas Roper and a granddaugh- 
ter of Frederick Roper, who founded his family 
in North Carolina. A prominent member of this 
family in the present generation is Daniel Roper, 
who has been assistant postmaster general under 
the Wilson administration and is now a member 
of the Federal Tariff Commission. He was reared 
and spent his early life in Marlboro County, South 
Carolina. 

Mr. Thomas is a son of William Jackson and 
Mary Jane (Covington) Thomas, both now de- 
ceased. His father was a planter by occupation, 
served in the Confederate army throughout the 
war, and died in 1892. His wife, Mary Jane Cov- 
ington, was born in Richmond County, near Rock- 



ingham, and died at the home of her son James 
C. in December, 1915. The Covington represented 
some of the substantial interests of Richmond 
and Anson counties. Mrs. Mary Jane Thomas was 
the daughter of William H. Covington, and a de- 
scendant of that Covington family which settled 
in what is now Richmond County in 1732, being 
founded there by William and John Covington, 
both of whom are natives of England. 

James Crawford Thomas, who inherits many of 
the worthy characteristics of his forefathers, was 
educated in the famous private school of Professor 
Quakenbush at Laurinburg. On finishing school 
lie remained in Scotland County for several years 
engaged in farming, and in 1896 removed to his 
present location in what is now Hoke County, 
but then a part of Cumberland County. Some 
of the land included in his present estate he 
bought over twenty years ago. The Thomas home 
farm is two miles west of Raeford, county seat of 
Hoke County. It is situated on the Aberdeen 
and Raeford Road and on the Aberdeen and Rock- 
fish Railroad, and a switch track has been built 
for the accommodation of his farm. His main 
farm consists of 500 acres, 350 acres in cultiva- 
tion. He also has three other farms nearby, ag- 
gregating 300 acres. 

As an example of the highest class of farming 
enterprise there is none better than is illustrated 
on the land of Mr. Thomas. Not without reason 
he takes great pride in his establishment, and it is 
also an object of pride to the entire county. It 
is situated on the main traveled road, and is con- 
stantly being pointed out as one of the show 
places in this section of the state. Without ques- 
tion it is one of the finest farms in North 
Carolina. Its topography is such as to afford 
splendid drainage without the land verging on 
roughness. The quality of the soil is the sandy 
loam which is so characteristic of the sand hills 
section of North Carolina. It is apparently of al- 
most inexhaustible fertility and has a wide range 
of productiveness. Mr. Thomas has his staple 
crop in cotton, but also maintains a large acre- 
age in corn, wheat and some tobacco. This farm 
stands on its own basis and is not conducted as 
an adjunct to a successful career in other lines, 
and farming is and always has been Mr. Thomas' 
vocation and he has made wealth through that 
industry. On his farm he maintains a beautiful 
country home, situated in ideal surroundings. 

His various business interests, to which he has 
diverted considerable capital, have always been 
incidental to his main interest in life. Mr. 
Thomas is a half owner of the Johnson-Thomas 
Building, a substantial business block at Rae- 
ford, and is financially interested in other proper- 
ties in that thriving and fast growing little city. 
He has done all in his power to build up the 
county seat and was active in the organization 
of the new county of Hoke, formed from a part 
of Cumberland. He is a partner in the McLaugh- 
lin Company, conducting the largest mercantile 
house in the town, and is president of the Bank 
of Hoke. He has done something to assist every 
local industry and every worthy enterprise of 
Raeford. Mr. Thomas is now chairman of the 
board of county commissioners of Hoke County. 

Mr. Thomas married for his first wife Miss 
Anna Arena Benton, who was born near Wades- 
boro in Anson County and died some years ago. 
She was survived by throe children: Marshall W, 
James Benton Thomas and Mrs. Ina Lentz. Mr 



52 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Thomas married for his present wife Miss Lillie 
F. Lentz, of Stanley County. They have one son, 
Crawford Lentz. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Church. 

Edward Sanders Parker, Jr. Many solid 
ami substantial achievements are at the basis of 
Edward Sanders Parker's reputation as a lawyer 
at Graham, and his affiliations have all been hon- 
orable and straightforward and have brought him 
increasing reputation among the able lawyers and 
citizens of the state. 

Mr. Parker was born at Graham, North Caro- 
lina, March 1, 1871, son of Edward Sanders and 
Ellen Carolina Parker. His father was also a 
lawyer before him. The son was educated in the 
Oak Ridge Institute, and in 1894 graduated from 
the law department of the University of North 
Carolina. He has had more than twenty years 
experience as a member of the bar, and besides 
the general practice he has handled he has made 
some important connections with business affairs. 
He is connected with the Piedmont Railway and 
Electric Company, is a director of the National 
Bank of Alamance, the Alamance Loan &' Trust 
Company, the Piedmont Railway and Electric 
Company and is president of the Graham Water 
Company. 

Mr. Parker served three or four terms as 
mayor of Graham and has been chairman of the 
Public School Board since its organization. He 
is now and several times in the past has been 
chairman of the County Executive Committee of 
Alamance County, and is one of the most influen- 
tial leaders in the democratic party in that sec- 
tion of the state. Mr. Parker is affiliated with 
the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, is a Presbyterian and 
member of the M. & M. Club of Greensboro. June 
3, 1897, at Raleigh, he married Miss Mary E. 
Mebane, daughter of W. G. Mebane and grand- 
daughter of Giles Mebane, one of the most .dis- 
tinguished characters in North Carolina history and 
especially identified with the founding of Ala- 
mance County. Mr. and Mrs. Parker have one child, 
Caroline Mebane Parker, born in 1907. 

George Alexander Martin. One of Anson 
County's most flourishing towns is Morven. 
That it is a good town in a moral sense, a 
well ordered and regulated community, that it 
is a thriving place of trade and business and 
is developing on a solid foundation, is due to 
the genius and wisdom of George Alexander 
Martin as a town builder more than to any other 
individual factor. Mr. Martin is properly credited 
with having been the founder of the present town. 

Persons who have known him long say that 
Mr. Martin makes a success of anything he un- 
dertakes. While prosperity has come to him in 
generous measure, most of his undertakings have 
had something of a public character and public 
benefit, and have been intimately associated with 
the welfare of several communities. Mr. Martin 
is an extensive farmer, is a large land holder and 
dealer, is a banker and merchant, and has become 
widely known and influential as a campaign 
sneaker and leading democrat in his section of 
the state. 

His birthplace was just two miles east of the 
present Town of Morven, at Old Morven in Anson 
County, where he was born in 1857. a son of G. W. 
and Susan (Adams) Martin. His paternal an- 
cestry is Scotch. Many years before the Revo- 



lutionary war the Martins came to America and 
located at Roanoke Island, North Carolina, and 
later members of the family came to what is now 
Anson County. The Martins are related to the 
Wall and Leake families of what is now Richmond 
County but originally a part of Anson County. 
G. W. Martin was born at Blewett Palls, Anson 
County, on the Great Pedee River. In the early 
'40s he moved down the river about twelve miles 
to Old Morvan, a settlement that had been estab- 
lished by Scotch families. Two of the sons of 
G. W. Martin, both older than George A., were 
soldiers in the Confederate army. One, J. A. 
Martin, was killed at the battle of Petersburg. 
The other, W. T. Martin, was captured and con- 
fined in Elmira prison and as a result of the pri- 
vations and hardships he endured there he died 
soon after the war. 

Hundreds of Southern families will always recall 
with bitterness the Sherman invasion of the South. 
In a material sense hardly any one family in 
North Carolina suffered more from this raiding 
army than the Martins, but they hold no malice 
toward the northern people or Sherman's army. 
When Sherman 's army came up through North 
Carolina, General Kirkpatrick 's Division encamped 
at the Martin homestead at Old Morven. General 
Kirkpatrick took possession of the Martin resi- 
dence and homestead for his temporary head- 
quarters. Every building on the place except the 
house was burned during that occupancy. Up to 
that time G. W. Martin had been a large and 
affluent planter, and before the Federal troops 
came through Anson County, he had five hundred 
bales of cotton, six thousand bushels of corn and 
about thirty head of horses and mules. This 
property was confiscated by General Kirkpatrick, 
and when he and his raiders departed they took 
with them all the food, provisions and everything 
of possible value they could carry and had in 
the meantime destroyed and burned what could 
not be moved or used. The only thing left for 
the family was a quantity of shelled corn that 
had been scattered about the premises and had 
been trampled upon by the cavalry horses. This 
corn was carefully gathered up and ground into 
corn meal, and that was the family's sole sub- 
sistence for nearly two months. 

While the family was passing through this 
ordeal of war times George Alexander was about 
seven or eight years of age. On account of the 
ravages of the war and the reconstruction period 
that followed he was practically deprived of any 
school education. He was himself sensible of 
the advantages and need of intelligent training, 
and largely as a result of his ambition he carried 
on his studies by the light of a piue knot fire and 
laid a good ground work for a culture which he 
has continued by observation and study and ex- 
tensive reading all his life. His abundant suc- 
cess in life indicates that he has kept himself 
abreast of the times and has exercised the qual- 
ities of a mind of great natural vigor and of 
good common sense. 

For upwards of twenty-five years he continued 
to live on the old Martin place, and put in most 
of his time as a practical farmer. About 1886, 
when the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad was being 
built through the county, Mr. Martin recognized 
the special advantages and the possibilities of the 
future connected with a site two miles west of 
Old Morven through which the new railroad 
passed. At that time only three houses stood on 
the ground. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



53 



Mr. Martin as a result of his years of hard 
•work and thrifty accumulations had a cash cap- 
ital of about seven hundred dollars. i±e used 
six hundred dollars of this to purchase a hun- 
dred twenty-five acres of land at the new Town 
of xMorven. That was only the beginning of his 
extensive dealings and transactions in local real 
estate. His farm lands alone today, linked to- 
gether, extend from the east side around south 
to the west part of the town, covering a distance 
of two miles. It is all exceptionally fertde land. 
There is a single field of cotton comprising tnree 
hundred acres, and besides a large acreage is 
devoted to corn and other crops. In 1916 Mr. 
Martin turned his enterprise to fruit growing, 
and experimentally has set out about fifteen hun- 
dred apple trees. One of tiie most important 
purchases in this large estate was the Stubbs place, 
known as one of the finest farms on the edge of 
Morven. Mr. Martin paid five thousand dollars 
for it and it is now worth not less than eight 
thousand dollars. Later he paid twelve hundred 
dollars for the Dunn farm, and fifteen hundred 
dollars for the W. T. Martin estate, both of 
which have since greatly increased in value. For 
a portion of the Davis estate near Morven he paid 
a thousand dollars, and that property is now worth 
fully twice the amount. For the Cy Bennett 
.farm he paid four thousand dollars, and its vaiue 
is now over five thousand. The Kilgo farm, for 
which he paid a thousand dollars, has had offers 
of three thousand dollars recently. A part of 
Mr. Martin's lands lie on the waters of Mill 
Creek near the Great Pedee. Those who are in 
a position to judge say that Mr. Martin's property 
holdings at Morven and vicinity are now worth 
at least one hundred thousand dollars. 

His interests are not altogether local. He has 
long been interested in the mountain country of 
Western North Carolina, and owns a valuable 
farm in Allegheny County. This adjoins the land 
near Sparta and lies within a quarter of a mile 
of the famous mountain resort Koaring Gap. The 
farm is well watered. One spring runs twenty 
gallons per minute. The farm is located in the 
midst of one of the finest sections of the country 
for apple orchards, and the value of the land 
ranges from forty to fifty dollars per acre. 

Mr. Martin was by no means a speculator 
pure and simple when he invested in lands at 
Morven. His personal enterprise has been a large 
factor in the increased value of his holdings. Be- 
sides farming, he engaged in merchandising at 
the new town, also handles real estate, and before 
the establishment of* a regular bank he was en- 
trusted with the care of the money by his neigh- 
bors and ran a private banking house. In later 
years his efforts as a merchant have been confined 
chiefly to handling buggies and other vehicles. 
He is one of the chief cotton buyers on the local 
market. Mr. Martin was one of the founders of 
the Bank of Morven, a flourishing financial insti- 
tution with a capital stock of twenty thousand 
dollars, a surplus of twelve thousand dollars, 
and deposits running from one hundred to one 
hundred thirty thousand dollars. He is vice presi- 
dent and one of the large stockholders of the 
bank. The bank's record is very gratifying, 
since it has never lost a dollar and has never been 
compelled to sue a customer. 

Of that tract of land which comprised his 
first purchase at Morven and for which he paid 
six hundred dollars, Mr. Martin recently sold an 
eighth of an acre, a single town lot, for eight 



hundred dollars. Altogether he has sold about 
one nunured fifty lots in the town. South of 
tne Lne estabiisned tor that purpose he laid off 
and soid to colored people some seventy-five or 
eighty lots, and the colored population has re- 
mained in the soutn part of town, leaving the 
north part lor the wnite people. He gave the 
colored people lots for their .Baptist and Pres- 
byterian churches and their schoolhouse. Similar 
donations were made by him lor religious and 
educational purposes in the white section of the 
town, it is said that Mr. Martin has made more 
deeus to land than any otner citizen of Anson 
County. 

When he became a land holder at Morven there 
was one saloon doing business. In a very short 
tune he got ml of that local institution and in 
every deed which he has since executed a stipu- 
lation is written therein that if the land is ever 
used as a piace for selling liquor it snail auto- 
matically revert to the Martin estate. Conse- 
quently Morven has always been a dry town, and 
was so long before state prohibition went into 
effect. Morven has grown and prospered greatly. 
Tliere are now several brick business buildings, 
a brick schoolhouse that cost over ten thousand 
dollars, three substantial brick churches, and the 
other advantages and facilities of a modern 
town. Mr. Martin has proved very liberal and 
public spirited, and as the largest property owner 
nas been generous in the matter of voting taxes 
for school facilities and good roads. 

For twenty -five years Mr. Martin was a deacon 
in the Morven Presbyterian Church and in 1916 
was honored by being elected elder of the con- 
gregation. For two years he served as post- 
master. That- is almost the only public office he 
has ever held. Official honors have been urged 
upon him, but it has been a matter of policy to 
which he has strictly adhered to decline official 
places of distinction. He has often been asked to 
become democratic candidate for the Legislature 
and other offices. 

While not an office seeker, his influence in 
public affairs has been by no means constricted. 
He has done much in both local and state poli- 
tics, and is undoubtedly one of the most convinc- 
ing campaign speakers in North Carolina. He 
does this work for the good of the cause, never 
asks or expects reward from the party, and in- 
variably pays his personal expenses for campaign- 
ing, refusing any financial aid from the party 
managers. Mr. Martin did some specially success- 
ful work in the campaign of 1916. When it be- 
came known in the summer of 1916 that Con- 
gressman Page would retire, Mr. Martin at 
once got into the arena with his specially selected 
candidate, Hon. Lee D. Eobinson. Mr. Martin 
has been called the "political father" of the 
able and talented Mr. Eobinson, and had long 
favored him in the belief that he was a coming 
man in public life in North Carolina and the 
nation. He was influential in securing the nomi- 
nation of Mr. Robinson, and then went on a 
speaking tour in the interests of his young 
protege. His campaigning was especially effect- 
ive in the western counties of the district, the 
mountain district which is normally largely re- 
publican. The people from the mountains have 
always looked upon Mr. Martin as one of their 
own people, and they flocked to hear him in 
great numbers. His plain and simple, though 
forceful and tactful arguments, presented in a 
homely but attractive style, entirely devoid of 



54 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



bitterness or abuse, made hundreds of friends for 
himself and his candidate and Mr. Robinson was 
elected by a handsome majority and is now a 
member of Congress from the Seventh North 
Carolina District. 

Mr. Martin married for his first wife Miss 
Fannie Nivens, of Anson County. At her death 
she was survived by four children. Mr. Martin 
married for his present wife Mrs. Carrie Fearby 
of Winston-Salem.. Her son, Sam Fearby, is a 
well known newspaper man, now editor and pub- 
lisher of the Hickory Times. Mr. Martin 's chil- 
dren, all by his first marriage, are Earl Martin, 
Mrs. Grace Ham, George Martin and Mrs. Nina 
Copeland. Mr. Martin has always shown both in 
belief and practice a special friendliness for 
education, and in line with that practice he has 
given his own children the best of advantages. 
His son Earl is a graduate of the University of 
North Carolina. Grace graduated at the High 
School of Morven. George graduated at the Oak 
Ridge School, while Nina completed the course of 
the Morven High School, and attended the 
Winston-Salem Female College. 

William Prather Huttox. cashier of the 
South Greensboro branch of the American Ex- 
change National Bank, has devoted practically all 
the energies of his mature career to banking and 
other lines of commercial activity at Greensboro. 

He was born on a farm in the southern part of 
Guilford County and represents some of the old 
and honored names in the history of this locality. 
His great-grandfather, George Hutton, Sr.. was a 
native of England. Coming to North Carolina, he 
settled among the pioneers in what is now Guilford 
County and was busied with the management and 
cultivation of his farm the rest of his years. His 
son George Hutton, Jr., probably also a native of 
Guilford County, acquired some very extensive 
tracts of land and managed their cultivation witli 
the aid of his slaves. He was a member of the 
Methodist Church. His remains now rest in the 
Hutton burying ground in the eastern part of 
Guilford County. George, Jr., married Isabelle 
Gunn, who was of Scotch-Irish ancestry. Both she 
and her husband attained advanced age. 

James Hutton, son of George Hutton, Jr., and 
father of the Greensboro banker, was born in the 
eastern part of Guilford County May 10, 1806. 
Though reared on a farm he had a very good edu- 
cation and he followed his inclinations for rural 
life, succeeded to the ownership of his father's 
farm, and managed it productively for many years. 
He was a member of the State Militia and re- 
ceived the commission of major. He finally re- 
moved to Rutherford College in Burke County for 
the purpose of educating his children, and lived 
there until his death en November 5, 1876. 

The mother of his children was his second wife. 
Her maiden name was Mary C. Prather. She was 
born about a mile from Yancyville in Caswell 
County January 26, 1835, and is still living, mak- 
ing her home with her daughter. Her grandfather, 
"Leonard Prather, was probably born in Caswell 
County, and was a Presbyterian minister, holding 
pastorates at different places in the state. Leonard 
Prather married Frances Williamson, whose great- 
uncle was Hu. Williamson, a signer of the Constitu- 
tion of the United States. She was born in Cas- 
well County. Her mother's maiden name was 
■Swift, of the Swift family. Robert Richardson 
Prather, father of Mary C. Hutton, was born in 
Caswell County, North Carolina, in 1800. In early 



life he joined the Methodist Protestant Church, 
and took up that cause as a preacher. He had 
been liberally educated, and was a teacher before 
he entered the ministry. The ministry did not 
represent to him a gainful occupation and he 
owned and occupied for many years a fine farm 
of 300 acres six miles north of Greensboro. He 
died at that homestead in 1881. The maiden name 
of his wife and the maternal grandmother of 
William P. Hutton was Frances Lambeth. She 
was born ten miles east of Greensboro in Guilford 
County in 1806, daughter of Josiah and Elizabeth 
(Lofton) Lambeth. Frances Prather died August 
15, 1885. She reared thirteen children, named 
William G., Robert B., Frances Elizabeth, Anthony, 
Joseph, Mary Catherine, Sarah, Loveck Lambeth, 
Edna Lou, Virginia, John N., Emma and Valeria. 
Of this large family six were still living at the 
beginning of 1918, the youngest about seventy 
years old. 

Mr. and Mrs. James Hutton had three children: 
James Robert, William Prather and Frances Isa- 
belle. The daughter is the wife of Edmund L. 
Sides. 

William P. Hutton was educated at Rutherford 
College and High Point, and also had a course in 
the Smithdeal Business College at Greensboro. 
Having made definite choice of a commercial 
career, he was employed 9, few years as bookkeeper 
for the Wakefield Hardware Company, and for a 
time was in the mercantile business for himself as 
a general merchant. After that he was an insur- 
ance man until 1907, when he became connected 
with the South Greensboro branch of the American 
Exchange National Bank as bookkeeper, was 
promoted to teller and since 1912, as cashier, has 
given all his time to the management of the affairs 
of this highly prosperous institution. 

Mr. Hutton 's mother is one of the representa- 
tives of the old fashioned type of highly educated 
women in North Carolina. Though she began her 
education in the rural schools, she attended Sum- 
merfield Select School and High Point Seminary, 
and for several years before her marriage was a 
teacher. Her life has always been an inspiration 
to her children. < 

On October 15, 1908, William P. Hutton married 
Lovella Rook Coble. Mrs. Hutton is a native of 
Kansas, born at Marion in that state, and was 
educated at the Marion High School and the 
Kansas University. Her father, George C. Coble, 
was a native of North Carolina. He was the son 
of George Coble and Judith Theresa (Hanner) 
Coble, both old and well known families of Guil- 
ford County, whose ancestry dates back to the 
early settlers before the Revolutionary war. They 
were both members of the old Alamance Presby- 
terian Church and their remains lie in the church 
burying ground. 

George C. Coble, father of Mrs. Hutton, went 
to Kansas when a young man and was an early 
pioneer of Marion County, helping to organize the 
county and serving as first sheriff of the county. 
He passed through many hardships and trials dur- 
ing the Indian troubles of the early days and later 
became one of the prosperous farmers of the 
county, and is still loved and highly respected in 
the community where he lived for more than forty 
years. In 1868 he was married to Hannah A. 
Rook. To them were born four children, of whom 
two are living. T. E. Coble, of Blanehard, Wash- 
ington, and Mrs. W. P. Hutton, of Greensboro, 
North Carolina. Hannah Rook was also a Kansas 
pioneer, being one of the first school teachers of 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



55 



Marion County. She was born in Trumbull 
County, Ohio, the daughter of William B. Rook 
and Parmelia (Franklin) Rook. William B. Rook 
was a native of Trumbull County, Ohio, and served 
in the Civil war in the Forty-second Wisconsin 
Cavalry and was mustered out at the close of the 
war. Parmelia Franklin (Mrs. Hutton's maternal 
grandmother) was born in Chautauqua County, 
New York, and was the daughter of David Benja- 
min Franklin, who was a nephew of Benjamin 
Franklin, the American statesman and philosopher 
whose history is known to every American citizen. 
In 1905 Mrs. Hutton's father moved to the State 
of Washington and resided in Bellingham for some 
years, but is now at the home of his son in 
Blanehard, Washington, and is still a very active 
man at the age of seventy-eight years. 

Mr. and Mrs. Hutton are active members of the 
Spring Garden Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 
He is a member of its board of managers and is 
also affiliated with Greensboro Council No. 3, 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics. 

Teague & Dees. One of the best known law 
firms of Goldsboro is that of Teague & Dees. 
While it has been in existence only since 1914, 
the firm has acquired an extensive clientage and 
a reputation for thorough and energetic handling 
of the interests of their clients. Both partners 
are young and ambitious men, and both of them 
before entering the law had considerable experi- 
ence as teachers. 

Samuel Farris Teague was born at Fall Creek 
in Chatham County, North Carolina, July 24, 
1885, a son of Dr. Samuel E. and Sarah (Mof- 
fitt) Teague. His father was a physician. As 
a boy he attended the public schools, had aca- 
demic training, and finally entered the University 
of North Carolina, where he completed the aca- 
demic course and graduated A. B. in 1910. Dur- 
ing subsequent summer terms he studied law in 
the University of North Carolina, but the rest 
of the year was spent in teaching. He was prin- 
cipal of the Fremont public schools in 1910-11, 
was principal of the Goldsboro High School in 
1912-13. In 1914 he graduated LL. B. from the 
law department of the State University and at 
once engaged in general practice at Goldsboro, 
the firm of Teague & Dees being formed in the 
same year. 

Besides his professional interests Mr. Teague 
is vice president of Barfield-Baker Company, is a 
director in the Chamber of Commerce, and is su- 
perintendent of his home Sunday school. He is 
affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, the Jun- 
ior Order of United American Mechanics and 
the Woodmen of the World. On October 19, 
1916, he married Miss Lou Wilkins Norwood, 
daughter of George A. Norwood. 

William Archie Dees, of the law firm of Teague 
& Dees of Goldsboro, was born in Wayne County, 
North Carolina, November 5, 1877, a son of 
Charles Franklin and Lillie Ann (Smith) Dees. 
His father was a farmer and he spent his early 
life on the farm. 

He attended the public schools of Wayne 
County, the Fremont High School, the Academy, 
and continued his higher education in the Univer- 
sity of North Carolina, where he completed the 
liberal arts course in 1911. Like his partner he 
continued the study of law in the University dur- 
ing the summer time, and was admitted to the 
bar in August, 1913. In 1911-12 he taught school 
at Raeford, and from 1912 to 1914 was a teacher 



at Rowland, North Carolina. He then became 
a member of the firm of Teague & Dees. Mr. Dees 
was elected a representative to the State Legis- 
lature in 1916. Fraternally he is a member of 
the Masonic Order. 

Walter Eugene Sharpe. The business and 
profession of insurance demands for its success- 
ful performance some of the most exacting quali- 
ties of the human mind and energy and char- 
acter, and it is therefore generaDy true that a 
successful insurance man is also a very capable 
and public spirited citizen and a man whose 
presence means much to any community. It is 
this dual relationship which Walter Eugene 
Sharpe sustains to the old industrial and cotton 
mill town of Burlington, where he has been 
active in business life for the past ten or fif- 
teen years. 

Mr. Sharpe was born in Burlington November 
4, 1877, son of John William and Sallie (Al- 
bright) Sharpe. His father was a merchant. 
The son was well educated in the public schools 
and did his first work as a traveling salesman. 
He was on the road from 1899 and then entered 
the insurance field and in 1906 organized the 
Alamance Insurance and Real Estate Company, 
of which he has since been treasurer and gen- 
eral manager. This company has a capital stock 
of $30,000, has a surplus of $60,000, and is carry- 
ing a large share of the local business of real 
estate and loans. Mr. Sharpe is also a director 
of the Alamance Loan and Trust Company, is 
secretary and treasurer of the Alamance Home 
Builders Association, and is superintendent of 
agencies for the Southern Life and Trust Com- 
pany of Greensboro in the Piedmont District. 
Few men anywhere in the state have excelled him 
as a keen and resourceful director of insurance 
work. 

Outside of business his principal hobby is the 
good of his local community, and everything that 
means some additional advantage for Burlington 
is sure to command his utmost co-operation and 
good will. He is a member of the Board of 
Trustees of the graded school system and is 
chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church. He is also president of 
the North Carolina State Insurance Agents Or- 
ganization, an organization of fire insurance men. 

December 24, 1899, Mr. Sharpe married Sallie 
Fearington, of Bynum, North Carolina. They 
have four children, William Norman, Mildred 
Farrington, Walter Eugene, Jr., and Elouise. 

Charles S. Grayson, M. D. While his abil- 
ity as a physician and surgeon has kept his 
services in increasing demand at High Point, 
Dr. Grayson has also found time to interest him- 
self financially in several of the business enter- 
prises of that city, and is one of that group of 
citizens who have been responsible for the re- 
markable growth and development of this indus- 
trial center of the state. 

Dr. Grayson was born on a farm near Marion 
in McDowell County, North Carolina. His father, 
Beaty Grayson, was born in Rutherford County 
of this state, and his grandfather R-ev. Joseph 
Grayson, was a native of that county. His 
grandfather was very prominent in religious and 
public affairs, was a minister of the Missionary 
Baptist Church, and served as a moderator of 
the Green River Baptist Association. In 1872 
he was elected to represent McDowell County in 



56 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



the State Legislature. His last years were spent 
near Bridgewater, just over the county line in 
McDowell County. Rev. Joseph Grayson married 
Eliza Wilson, also a native of .Rutherford County. 

Beaty Grayson, father ol Dr. Grayson, was a 
soldier in the Confederate army. After the war 
he became a merchant at Marion and subsequently 
boughl a farm nearby and looked after its culti- 
vation until his deatli in 1885. He married Mar- 
garet Goforth, who was born in Rutherford County, 
daughter of J. C. and Eliza (Morris) Goforth, 
the former a native of Rutherford and the latter 
of McDowell County. Beaty Grayson and wife 
had eight children: Ella, John W., Hugh- C, 
Joseph M., Mary ]., Charles S., George H. and 
Albert W. 

Dr. Grayson from the district schools entered 
a preparatory school in the same neighborhood, 
and subsequently attended the University of 
Tennessee at Knoxville, where he took the scien- 
tific course. His medical studies were pursued 
in the George Washington University in the Dis- 
trict of Columbia, where he graduated with the 
(lass of 1906. He also spent a year as an in- 
terne in Washington Hospital, and began prac- 
tice at High Point. He has kept in close touch 
with advancing knowledge in the field of medi- 
cine, and has taken post-graduate work in Johns 
Hopkins and a special course in diseases of 
children at Harvard University Medical School, 
also did post-graduate work at The Lying In 
and Post Graduate Hospitals of New York. 
Dr. Grayson is a member of the Guilford County 
and North Carolina Medical societies, the South- 
ern Medical and American Medical Association. 
In addition to his large practice he is a director 
in the Bank of Commerce at High Point, and is a 
stockholder in several of the local industries. 

June 25, 1908, he married Miss Bertha Craw- 
ford, who was born in McDowell County, daughter 
of J. C. and Ella (Hemphill) Crawford. Dr. and 
Mrs. Grayson have one daughter, Margaret. Both 
are active members ' of the Baptist Church, which 
he has served as deacon. Fraternally he is affil- 
iated with Numa F. Reid Lodge No. 344, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Piedmont Camp No. 
62, Woodmen of the World, Guilford Camp No. 
13867, Modern Woodmen of America, High Point 
Lodge No. 1155, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, and Repeton Lodge No. 63 of tiie 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Samuel L. Davis, whose name is linked in 
important relationships with the wood and furni- 
ture manufacturing interests of High Point, has 
had a busy career of a quarter of a centruy, 
beginning as a teacher, and gradually developing 
the affairs that now occupy his time and energies 
at High Point. 

Mr. Davis was born on a farm in Tabernacle 
Township of Randolph County, North Carolina. 
His grandfather, Greenberry Davis, was a tenant 
farmer in Randolph County. Dougan Davis, father 
of the High Point business man, was born in 
Tabernacle Township, was reared and educated 
there, and came to military age while the war was 
in progress between the states. During the last 
two years of that struggle he wore the uniform of 
a Confederate soldier. When the war was over he 
entered business as a dealer in horses and cattle. 
He had much ability as a trader, and in connec- 
tion with this work he bought and developed a 
large farm. His home was on the farm until 
1892, when he came to High Point, buying city 



.property, and was one of the leading real estate 
dealers here until his death in 1911. He married 
Lucinda Hill, who died in 1917. She was also a 
native of Tabernacle Township of Randolph 
County. Her father was Riley Hill, and her 
mother a Miss Savage. Dougan Davis and wife 
had nine children, Samuel L., James, Cicero, 
Harvey, Mary, Hurly, Gertrude, John and Tersie. 

Samuel L. Davis grew up on his father's farm, 
but had very liberal opportunities in the way of 
schooling. From the district schools he entered 
Oak Ridge Institute, and from there became a 
student in the University of North Carolina, from 
which he was graduated in 1892. During the next 
two years he taught at Ingraham, Virginia, and 
for two years was an instructor in Oak Ridge 
Institute. From the profession of teaching he took 
up salesmanship as traveling representative for the 
Southern Chair Company. After two years he was 
called into the home office as general manager of 
the plant, and has been directing the affairs of this 
important corporation at High Point ever since. 
He is also president of the Samuel L. Davis Com- 
pany and is secretary and treasurer of the High 
Point Motor Company, is a director in the Bank of 
Commerce and has financial interests in a number 
of other local enterprises. 

In 1900 Mr. Davis married Claudia Holliday, 
who was born in Horry County, South Carolina, 
daughter of Joseph Holliday. They have one son, 
Samuel L., Jr., now a student in Bailey Military 
Institute in South Carolina. 

Mr. Davis is an active member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church South, while Mrs. Davis is a 
member of the Baptist denomination. Fraternally 
he is affiliated with Numa F. Reid Lodge No. 334, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, with the Royal 
Arch Chapter and Knight Templar Commandery at 
High Point, with Oasis Temple of the Mystic 
Shrine at Charlotte, and other affiliations are with 
High Point Lodge No. 208, Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks, Piedmont Camp No. 92, 
Woodmen of the World, and Guilford Council No. 
23, Junior Order of United American Mechanics. 

William Gilchrist has been a factor in the 
business life of Wilmington since he came as a 
young man of nineteen to the city in 1869 and 
found work in a wholesale dry goods house. In 
1886, as a result of his long and thorough ex- 
perience and his thrifty habits, he was able to 
engage in wholesale grocery business as a mem- 
ber of the firm of Smith & Gilchrist. In 1887 he 
took the general agency of the Acme Manufac- 
turing Company, and since January 1, 1908, has 
been president of this important North Carolina 
industry. 

William Gilchrist was born near Gilchrist 
Bridge, then in Richmond now Scotland County, 
North Carolina, April 8, 1850, a son of John and 
Effie (Fairley) Gilchrist. His father was a farmer, 
and it was on the farm that William Gilchrist 
spent his early life and there had his visions of 
a. rise to influence and success in the commercial 
field. 

In 1880 he married Miss Ella Lilly, of Wil- 
mington. They are the parents of three daugh- 
ters: Lilly, now Mrs. John Hunter Wood; Elea- 
nor, who married Thomas H. Wright; and Jennie 
Buchanan, at home with her parents. 

William Henry May is one of the important 
individual contributors to the many distinctions 
which Burlington enjoys as a center of the cotton 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



57 



milling industry of North Carolina. He is re- 
garded as an expert in many phases of cotton 
mill operation and the cotton business in general. 

Mr. May was born in Alamance County, North 
Carolina, March 11, 1875, son of Henry P. and 
Barbara Catherine (Clapp) May. His father was 
a contractor and builder for a number of years, 
and finally devoted all his attention to farming. 
William H. May was well educated, first in the 
public schools, then in Elon College. The foun- 
dation of his business experience came to him 
during the eight years he spent as a traveling 
salesman. Then in 1906 he accepted the position 
of assistant manager of the Daisy Hosiery Mills, 
and since 1912 has been secretary and treasurer 
of this well known Burlington Mill. Later he 
and his brother Benjamin Victor May organized 
the May Hosieiy Mills, in which he still has an 
active part. Mr. May is also secretary and 
treasurer of the National Dye Works. 

On August 8, 1906, he married Miss Emma 
Watkins Sharpe of Burlington. Their two chil- 
dren are William Henry, Jr., and John Sharpe 
May. Mr. May is a. deacon and is chairman of 
the Board of Trustees of the Presbyterian Church 
at Burlington. 

James Lawson Fleming. "Who saves his 
country, saves all things; and all things saved 
will bless him. 

"Who lets his country die, lets all things die; 
and all things dying curse him. ' ' 

A universal sorrow was cast over North Caro- 
lina on November 5, 1909, when the news was 
flashed over the wires that James L. Fleming 
was dead. On hearing this sad announcement 
the public realized that a premature close of an 
eventful career of public usefulness and honor 
had come to one of North Carolina's most loyal 
and best beloved sons. As a lawyer of great 
ability and enviable reputation he enjoyed a 
practice throughout the state equal to that of the 
most successful of his contemporaries. He was 
the author of the bill that created the Eastern 
Carolina Teachers Training School, and was a 
pioneer in the movement that resulted in its loca- 
tion at Greenville, his home town. As a public 
servant he was ever alert to the needs of his day 
and generation and the ardent supporter and cham- 
pion of all measures that promoted the general 
welfare of his people. 

James Lawson Fleming was born in Pitt 
County, on November 1, 1867, a son of Leonidas 
and Harriet Fleming, and had just passed his 
forty-second birthday when he met a sudden and 
tragic death in an automobile accident, in which 
was also killed a fellow attorney, Mr. Harry 
Skinner, Jr. 

Senator Fleming was the epitome of the old 
southern aristocracy— a man of genial manners, 
fearless initiative, and keen intellectual powers. 
He knew but one criterion and that was the 
voice of the people, whom he so ably served. His 
earlier days were spent on the farm, where in the 
great out of doors of American life he became 
imbued with the spirit and the traditions of his 
fathers, and learned, while in youth, that the 
qualities of self-reliance, integrity and of an 
unimpeachable character were the indispensable 
requisites of greatness that would yield permanent 
confidence and leadership among his people. 
These admirable qualities he possessed in no 
small measure, as was so forcibly illustrated by 
his career of public service. 



As a boy he attended the schools of his com- 
munity and was soon confronted with the prob- 
lems and disadvantages that the rural schools of 
his state then presented. The desire and ambition 
that he acquired while attending these schools to 
eliminate the difficulties confronting those who 
were eager to secure a liberal education later 
caused him, while a member of the Senate, to in- 
troduce a bill to establish the Eastern Carolina 
Teachers Training School, of which he was the 
father. He was prepared for college at the 
Greenville Academy that was conducted by Prof. 
W. H. Eagsdale, between whom there grew 
up a lifelong friendship and affection. He en- 
tered Wake Forest College, from which he was 
graduated with honors in 1889. After teaching 
school for one year he read law with the firm of 
Skinner and Latham, and then entered the Uni- 
versity Law School, where he completed his legal 
training and was admitted to the bar in 1892. 

Then began what later proved to be one of the 
most promising and most useful careers in the 
history of the state. At the time of Mr. Flem- 
ing's entrance upon his public life questions of 
very profound importance, embodying principles 
of suffrage, education and internal improvements, 
were confronting the people of the state and ab- 
sorbing their best energies and efforts. The 
stirring days of '98 recalled how vigorously the 
citizenship of the state was aroused. It was the 
beginning of a renaissance of political, educa- 
tional, and industrial activity that ushered in a 
new era in the life of the people. At such a 
momentous time as this, the keenest intellect, 
ablest statesmanship and the most efficient leader- 
ship that the state possessed were called into 
play. By his deliberate judgment, ability to 
read the rapidly transpiring events and translate 
them into the needs of the future, and his un- 
tiring devotion and patriotism to the principles 
he avowed, James L. Fleming rose to heights of 
prominence in his party and to a place of honor 
and distinction in the affairs of his state. This 
position he held with increasing confidence and 
esteem on the part of the people until the day 
of his death. 

For seventeen years his professional duties 
kept him very closely confined to his work. He 
enjoyed a very extensive practice in the Superior, 
Supreme and Federal courts of the land. At the 
time of his death he was being prominently men- 
tioned for very high political honors within the 
gift of the people. 

The crowning achievement of his career was the 
establishment of the Eastern Carolina Teachers 
Training School, which was a long cherished drean 
on his part. He was the author of the bill thai 
created it and was its strongest exponent and de- 
fender in the • Legislature. On more than oii6 
occasion Senator Fleming could be seen standing 
upon the floor of the Senate — at first all alone — 
defending the bill that he had introduced ami 
pleading the cause of those who aspired to be 
come teachers in the commonwealth of North 
Carolina. His first attempt to establish the 
school in 1905 was unsuccessful, but with renewed 
energy, enthusiasm and a purpose fully pledged 
to the accomplishment of his task, he launched a 
campaign in its behalf during the following two 
years that was typical of his characteristic inten- 
sity and zeal. By the time the Legislature met 
in 1907, to the Upper House of which he was 
returned, he had rallied to his aid the support of 
many of the most influential citizens of the state. 



58 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



The passage of the bill, however, was by no 
means yet assured. Long committee meetings, 
that lasted far into the hours of the early morn- 
ing, followed. Here again was afforded him the 
opportunity of demonstrating his exceptional 
qualities of leadership and ability to deal with 
the affairs of his people. The result of his efforts 
bear eloquent testimony to his ability, fidelity, 
and patriotism, for the closing days of the ses- 
sion, which will long be remembered by those who 
participated in it, registered the passage of his 
bill by a sate majority. The school was then a 
reality. 

The selection of a site for the school was 
left in the hands of a State Council, who decided 
that it should be located in the community that 
offered the strongest inducements to secure it. 
Senator Fleming immediately organized a cam- 
paign in its behalf in his own town and county. 
He and his co-laborers spared no effort in cre- 
ating active support and sentiment in its favor. 
With one hundred thousand dollars pledged for 
the purchase of a site and erection of buildings 
by the citizens of the county and township, the 
State Council awarded the decision to Pitt County 
and Greenville was selected for its site. A 
few weeks before the lamented death of Sen- 
ator Fleming the buildings were completed and 
the school was formally opened. It was indeed 
significant that he was allowed to witness the 
full realization of his ideal before he was called 
away. This noble institution stands today as a 
fitting climax to a life of illustrious service and a 
memorial appropriate of the matchless energy, 
foresight and leadership of Pitt County ? s beloved 
senator in his efforts to serve the generation of 
his day and those who in the years to come would 
fall heir to the achievements of their fathers. 

Mr. Fleming held many positions of public 
trust. He was senator from Pitt County for two 
successive terms ami was also mayor of Green- 
ville. In all his positions of public honor he left 
behind him an enviable record. 

From bis home he gathered the inspiration that 
made his career so brilliant and so successful. 
On .June 21, 1S99, he married Miss Lula White, 
daughter of Captain and Mrs. C. A. White. 
Three happy children completed the home ties 
of his family circle. 

Hosts of friends throughout the state, a large 
community in which he lived, and a home that 
suffered an irreparable loss mourned his lamented 
departure. A genial man, a statesman of the old 
school, an eloquent orator — North Carolina lost 
one of her most devoted and most illustrious 
sons. 

In the resolutions recorded in the archives of 
his district court, his fellow attorneys said: 

"As citizen, lawyer, and legislator James L. 
Fleming acted well and honorably his part; and 
in each and all of these relations he steadily grew 
in favor with his fellow men." 

Hon. Fred Jackson Coxe. In the county where 
he was born only forty years ago Fred Jackson 
Coxe has made a sterling reputation as an able 
lawyer and as a citizen who served his community 
well while a member of the State Senate. Mr. 
Coxe is a man of action, one who does large things 
in a large way, and is looked upon as one of the 
public leaders in his section of the state. 

He was born at Lilesville in Anson County, 
North Carolina, in 1877, a son of William Jack-on 
and Martha Jane (Barringer) Coxe. His father, 



now deceased, was a farmer and merchant and was 
of English descent. William J. Coxe was born in 
Anson County about four miles south of Lilesville, 
and after the war lived in the Town of Lilesville 
until his death in 1896. 

Senator Coxe's mother, who is still living, is 
descended from the historic Barringer family of 
North Carolina. The Barringers were of German 
origin, and the family was founded in America by 
John Paul Barringer, a native of Germany who 
came to Pennsylvania in 1743, and in 1746 located 
in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. He died 
in 1807. Both he and his descendants have been 
distinguished characters in North Carolina history. 
The pioneer was one of North Carolina *s Revolu- 
tionary soldiers. His son, General Paul Barringer, 
was an American general in the War of 1812. 
Gen. Paul Barringer had two sons, David Moreau 
Barringer and Gen. Rufus Barringer, both dis- 
tinguished in the life and service of the state. 
David Moreau Barringer represented North Caro- 
lina in Congress and was an ambassador to Spain, 
going to that country in 1849. Gen. Rufus Bar- 
ringer was a brilliant soldier and attained the 
rank of Brigadier General in the Confederate army. 
Edward Greene Lee Barringer, father of Mrs. 
William J. Coxe, was a member of the General 
Assembly for several terms and was a cousin of 
Rufus and David Moreau Barringer. 

Fred Jackson Coxe grew up at Lilesville, at- 
tended the public schools there, and took his 
higher education in the University of North Caro- 
lina. He was graduated in the literary department 
with the class of 1899, and in 1900 took his degree 
Bachelor of Laws from the law school of the 
University. On his admission to the bar Mr. Coxe 
began practice at Wadesboro, county seat of his 
native county, and has played a worthy part in his 
profession and in local affairs there for the past 
seventeen years. 

In 1904 he was elected state senator from his 
district embracing Anson County, and in the ses- 
sion of 1905, though a new member, he impressed 
his ability and judgment upon many of the im- 
portant decisions and measures of the State As- 
sembly. Since his term as senator he has given 
almost undivided attention to his large practice as 
a lawyer. He is now serving as a member of the 
Board of Trustees of the University of North 
Carolina. 

Senator Coxe is a brother of Thomas C. Coxe of 
Wadesboro, prominent in business affairs and in- 
terested in the lumber industry. Thomas Coxe has 
been a member of the State Legislature twice an'd 
is now a member of the Board of County Comis- 
sioners of Anson County. The brothers are both 
leaders in the democratic party in North Carolina. 

Fred J. Coxe- married Miss Elizabeth Dunlap. 
Hers is one of the prominent old time families of 
\nson County. Three children have been born to 
-heir marriage: Fred Jackson, Jr., Elizabeth 
Sheffield and John Barringci'. 

John McKay Byrd. One of the most pros- 
perous and rapidly growing little cities of Cen- 
tral North Carolina is the community of Coats, 
located in Harnett County. This thriving local- 
ity has taken on added activity recently, dating 
from the advent of the firm of J. M. Byrd & 
Company, which has infused new spirit into the 
people, contributed to the community's prestige 
as a manufacturing center, and in other ways 
given intentions of endeavoring to make the pres- 
ent prosperity permanent. At the head of this 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



59 



concern is found John McKay Byrd, ex-sheriff 
of Harnett County, formerly a well known busi- 
ness man and public figure of Lillington, but since 
January, 1918, a resident of Goats. 

J. McKay Byrd was born June 25, 1867, on 
a farm near Buie's Creek, Harnett County, North 
Carolina, being a son of Reddin and Elizabeth 
(Surles) Byrd, natives of Harnett County. This 
family came originally from Virginia to North 
Carolina and its members have lived in what is 
now the County for Harnett for more than 100 
years. Mr. Byrd was well born and grew up 
with an intelligent mind, a healthy body and a 
strong character, and even when a boy showed a 
fund of energy which, coupled with his ambition 
and determination, enabled him to lay a firm and 
substantial foundation upon which to build his 
structure of success. He was reared to agricul- 
tural pursuits and continued to be engaged therein 
practically without interruption in Hartnett 
County until 1909, when he went to Cashion, Ok- 
lahoma, and there interested himself extensively 
in the farming and livestock industries. In 1913 
he returned to Harnett County, where he began to 
give his entire attention to the livestock business 
at Lillington, but in 1914 was elected sheriff of 
the county and found that his duties needed all of 
his attention, so that he sold out his interests, 
which, even in that short time, had under his ex- 
cellent managership developed into large propor- 
tions. He remained as a resident of Lillington 
after the expiration of his term of office until 
January, 1918, at which time he removed with his 
family to Coats. Here, in partnership with N. T. 
Patterson, cashier of the Bank of Coats, he 
formed a business connection under the firm name 
of J. M. Byrd & Company and purchased several 
business industries at Coats, which is one of 
the wealthiest and most rapidly growing communi- 
ties of the county. These include the Coats Hos- 
iery Mill, the Coats Flour Mill, lumber mill and 
planing mill, and the cotton gin. As president 
of this firm Mr. Byrd is in active management of 
the important and growing industries. The hosiery 
manufactures half hose and is sharing in the 
general prosperity enjoyed by plants of this kind 
throughout the South, and it is the purpose of 
Mr. Byrd and his associate to make Coats a per- 
manently prosperous and thrifty industrial cen- 
ter, furnishing remunerative employment to many 
people and keeping active money in circulation. 
In connection with their manufacturing enter- 
prises, the partners cultivate about 100 acres of 
rich Harnett County soil, producing cotton and 
corn, thus adding further to their usefulness and 
benefit to the community, where their industries 
are commended and highly appreciated. 

In 1888 Mr. Byrd was married to Miss Anna 
Matthews, of Harnett, and to this union there 
have been born the following children : Ivan ; 
Mrs. Elsa Garton; Fred, who is in the United 
States Army; Ethel, Grace, Pauline and John M., 
Jr. While at Lillington Mr. Byrd was a deacon 
in the Baptist Church, and he now belongs to 
the church of that denomination at Coats. He 
has long been one of his county 's most influen- 
tial republicans, and on a number of occasions 
has been chosen by his fellow-citizens to repre- 
sent them in office of public importance. In 1894 
he came prominently before the people when he 
was elected county register of deeds, an office 
which he filled so satisfactorily that he was re- 
elected for a second term. It has always been 
a source of pride to Mr. Byrd that during his 



incumbency the county 's credit was rehabilitated. 
During the early '90s, and at the time when he 
hrst took office, Harnett County was deeply in 
debt, its script being hardly worth more than 
scraps of paper, but in the four years that he 
officiated much of the county 's indebtedness was 
paid off and the script rose to par in lieu. In 
1900 Mr. Byrd was the candidate of his party for 
the office of member of the State Legislature from 
his district, and although he ran against one of 
the strongest men in the opposing party, he was 
defeated for the office by but seventy-five votes. 
In 1914 he was elected sheriff of Harnett County, 
when his party returned to power in this local- 
ity, and his work in that office was of exceptional 
character, the new sheriff establishing a record 
that made this part of the state shunned by the 
law-breakers. He was particularly active in his 
campaign against the illicit whiskey men, and at 
the completion of his two-year term, which closed 
in 1916, it was found that he had closed in 
the neighborhood of forty unlaw! ul distilleries. 
Although a man who is strict in business affairs 
and unwavering in his stand for what he be- 
lieves to be right, sternly upholding his contracts 
and exrjecting others to do likewise, he is a man 
of pleasing personality and one who makes friend- 
ships easily and retains them indefinitely. A con- 
temporary writer says: "The same personal char- 
acteristics which bring him friends in political 
and private life attract to his business a large 
patronage. He has the respect, regard and con- 
fidence of his fellows, and easily ranks with the 
foremost of those men who are working for Hart- 
nett 's progress — moral and material." 

Alexander Martin Rankin, The initial point 
of activity in Mr. Rankin's career was as a rail- 
way brakeman with the Southern Bailway Com- 
pany. The years have brought him increasing 
responsibilities and a broadening scope of affairs, 
and he is one of the men of High Point looked 
to for leadership and the energy necessary to 
carry forward great undertakings to success. 

After one year as a brakeman he was made 
conductor, and continued in that capacity with 
the railway company until 1902. In the meantime 
he had become interested in furniture manufactur- 
ing at High Point. High Point is one of the 
greatest furniture centers of the South. In 1902 
Mr. Bankin resigned his position with the rail- 
road and organized the Bankin Coffin and Casket 
Company, of which he has since been one of the 
executive officers. He is also president of the 
Kearns Furniture Company, one of the largest of 
the many furniture factories at High Point and 
one of the most completely equipped factories 
of its kind in the South. Mr. Bankin is also a 
stockholder in the Highland Cotton Mills Com- 
pany, the High Point Hosiery Mill, the Crown 
Hosiery Mill, is vice president of the Bank of 
Commerce, and a director of the Morris Plan 
Bank of High Point. He was born on a planta- 
tion in Madison Township of Guilford County. 
In that locality the family have lived for about 
a century and a half. His great-grandparents, 
William and Jane (Chambers) Bankin, came 
from Pennsylvania to North Carolina about 1768, 
where William joined his brother John, who had 
previously located in Guilford County in 1764. 
Robert Rankin, father of William W., was born 
in Madison Township of Guilford County, and 
became an extensive land owner and planter. He 
was a lifelong resident of the county. He mar- 



60 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



ried Sarah Lee, a cousin of Gen. Kobert E. 
Lee and a daughter of Joshua Lee of the well 
known family of that name in Virginia. Robert 
Rankin died at the age of sixty-five and was 
survived several years by his wife. They had 
six children: John Calvin, William W., Albert, 
Greene, Jane and Emily. Greene died at the 
age of twenty-one. Jane became the wife of 
Archibald Bevill and Emily married W. D. Whar- 
ton. 

William W. Eankin, who was born in Guilford 
County in 1819, inherited land and slaves and was 
a successful and prosperous planter when the war 
broke upon the country. He entered the Confed- 
erate service in 1864 "and though then well past 
the age of military capacity was with the army 
until the close of the struggle. The freeing of 
his slaves swept away most of his capital, but 
with stubborn determination he faced the future, 
adapted himself to new conditions, and stayed 
with liis farm and managed it until his death at 
the age of ninety years. He married Louisa 
Elizabeth Roach, who was born on a plantation 
near Reidsville in Rockingham County, daughter 
of Alexander Martin and Mrs. (Young) Roach. 
She died at the age of seventy-five, having reared 
live sons: Thomas Franklin; John Roach, who died 
at the age of thirty-five; Alexander Martin; 
William Rufus, and James Albert. 

Alexander Martin Rankin had a district school 
education and also attended old Yadkin College. 
From school he entered upon his independent 
career at the age of nineteen in the role already 
mentioned. In 1894 Mr. Rankin married Miss 
Belle Reece, of Jamestown. She died three years 
later and her only child died in infancy. For 
his second wife Mr. Rankin married Lena May 
Blair, who was born in Asheboro, daughter of J. 
Addison and Martha (White) Blair. Mr. and 
Mrs. Rankin have four children: Margaret, Alex- 
ander Martin, Jr., Dorothy Lee and Robert Blair. 
Mr. Rankin's parents were active members of the 
Methodist Protestant Church and he has con- 
tinued loyal to the same faith. He is affiliated 
with the Knights of Pythias and with Guilford 
Council No. 23 Junior Order United American 
Mechanics. 

William Merritt Jones. M. D. Under the 
modern and model legislation providing for the 
efficient organization of public health systems for 
the state and its individual counties in North 
Carolina, the state has not only won an enviable 
reputation on this score among the other states 
of the Union, but different communities have 
been able to call to the important branch of 
service some of the most capable and talented 
physicians in the profession. The present 
"whole time" health officer of Guilford County 
is Dr. William Merritt Jones, a prominent and 
successful physician, with a wide range of ex- 
perience and a man of high attainments. In rec- 
ognition of these attainments the North Carolina 
State Medical Society has honored him with the 
office of treasurer. 

Doctor Jones was born at Cary in Wake County, 
North Carolina. Some interesting items concern- 
ing the Jones family ancestry are furnished by 
Miss Evelyn Jones of Cary, daughter of Adolphus 
Jones and granddaughter of Henry and Ann 
Jones. The pioneer of this branch of the fam- 
ily in North Carolina was Francis Jones, who 
married Betsy Ridley. Frances Jones is sup- 
posed to have been a native of Wales or of 



Welsh parentage. He lived in Halifax County, 
Virginia, before coming to Wake County, North 
Carolina. In this colony he bought land from 
Earl Granville, and the deed to that land bears 
date of March 24, 1743. The land is located 
on Crab Tree Creek about twelve miles west of 
Raleigh. Around the old Jones home a village 
grew up named Morrisville. From Francis Jones 
the line of descent is traced through his son, 
Nathaniel Jones, who married Ann Snigger, and 
their son, Henry Jones, married Ann Jones. Ann 
Jones was a daughter of Nathaniel and Millicent 
(Blanchard) Jones and granddaughter of Evan 
Jones. This was another branch of the family, 
and they located eight miles west of Raleigh, 
moving there from Yates County, North Carolina. 
A substantial frame house built by Nathaniel 
Jones prior to the Revolutionary war is still 
standing. The locality of that home is known 
as White Plains. Millicent Blanchard was the 
daughter of Benjamin Blanchard of Chowan 
County. 

A son of Henry and Ann Jones was Rufus 
Jones, grandfather of Doctor Jones. Rufus Jones 
was born in Wake County and for many years 
conducted a plantation bordering Crab Tree 
Creek four miles from Cary, having slaves to 
operate his fields prior to the war. During the 
war he served in the quartermaster 's department 
of the Confederate Army. He lived to the ad- 
vanced age of ninety years. The maiden name 
of his wife was Sarah Merritt, who attained the 
age of eighty years. They had six children: 
William Merritt, Lonnie J., Sallie, Sidney, Lulu 
and Lillie. 

William Merritt Jones, Sr., was born on the 
old Wake County plantation near Cary in 1851. 
He was educated in Horner 's Military Institute, 
and from that entered merchandising at Cary, 
and at the same time conducted his operations 
as a farmer. Latterly he became engaged in the 
manufacture of sash, door aud blinds at Cary, 
but in 1890 moved to Blacksburg, South Caro- 
lina, where he continued in the same line of busi- 
ness for two years and has since conducted a 
factory at Asheville, North Carolina. He mar- 
ried Lillie Haughton, who was born at Gulf in 
Chatham County, North Carolina, daughter of 
Lawrence and Mrs. (Harris) Haughton. Doctor 
Jones is the oldest of five children, the others 
1 eing Lawrence Haughton, Rufus Henry, Sarah 
and Hortense. 

Doctor Jones attended the public schools of 
Cary, Asheville and Ravenscroft, also the Sky- 
land Institute at Asheville, and had further 
preparation for college under private tutors. En- 
tering the medical department of the University 
of Maryland, he was graduated M. D. in 1903. 
After a year spent at Hopewell Junction, New 
York, he returned to North Carolina, practiced 
two years at Hendersonville, for six years had 
a general practice as a physician and surgeon at 
High Point, and was called from that practice 
to become health officer for Guilford County. 

Doctor Jones married in 1909 Jessie Burton, 
daughter of Dr. J. W. and Myra (English) Bur- 
ton. Mrs. Jones died in 1911. On May 20, 1913, 
he married Lala Mundy, who was born in Ca- 
tawba County, daughter of Warren and Fanny 
(Thompson) Mundy. Doctor and Mrs. Jones 
have two children, Frances and Hortense. Mrs. 
Jones is a member of the Daughters of the Amer- 
ican Revolution. Besides his official connection 
with the State Medical Society, Doctor Jones 




JYattEu & . &>l»*m 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



61 



is a member of the Guilford County Medical 
Society and is affiliated with Numa Eeid Lodge, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; High Point 
Chapter, Eoyal Arch Masons, and High Point 
Lodge No. 1155 of the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. 

Eugene Clyde Brooks is a scholar, literary 
worker and educator with an unusually wide range 
of interests and activities. For the past ten years 
he has been professor of history and science of 
education of Trinity College, Durham. 

Doctor Brooks was born in Greene County, North 
Oarolina. December 3, 1871, a son of Edward Jones 
and Martha. Eleanor (Brooks) Brooks. His father, 
a man of high standing in Greene County, served 
a member of the State Legislature in 1893, and for 
several years was on the County Board of Educa- 
tion. 

Eugene C. Brooks finished his literary education 
with the degree of Bachelor of Arts at Trinity 
College in 1894. During 1913-14 he did research 
work as Dean Scholar in Teachers College Colum- 
bia University, and in 1918 Davidson College 
conferred on him the honorary degree of Doctor 
of Literature. After leaving Trinity he was for 
three years engaged in newspaper work. In 1900 
he was principal of the Kinston High School, was 
superintendent of the Monroe City Schools from 
1900 to 1903, assistant to the State Superintendent 
of Public Instruction and secretary to the State 
Educational Campaign Committee during 1903-04, 
superintendent of the Goldsboro City Schools, 1904 
to 1907, and since 1907 has held the Chair of Edu- 
cation in Trinity College. ' 

In 1912-13 he was president of the State 
Teachers Assembly. He was the founder in 1906 
of North Carolina Education, the state teachers' 
magazine, and has since been its editor. In 1917 
the governor appointed him a member of the State 
Education Commission. Much of the propaganda 
of the last ten or fifteen years for the improving 
of education in North Carolina, especially as af- 
fecting the improvement of country schools, has 
been carried forward by Doctor Brooks. He has 
conducted many extension courses for teachers 
dealing especially with rural life problems and at 
the present time he has the rural teachers of two 
counties under his supervision. He has been 
lecturer on various subjects before summer schools 
and teachers associations in Virginia, North Caro- 
lina, South Carolina, Georgia and Tennessee. 

Of his more formal literary work, Doctor 
Brooks ' name appears as author of the following 
volumes : ' ' Story of Cotton ' ' and ' ' Story of 
Corn" both published by Band McNally & Com- 
pany. ' ' Woodrow Wilson As President, ' ' by Row, 
Peterson & Company. "North Carolina Poems," 
an anthology, published by ' ' North Carolina Educa- 
tion. " "Rural Life Day," bulletin issued by the 
IT. S. Commissioner of Education at Washington. 
He is also co-author of the following text books: 
North Carolina. Geography, Agricultural Arith- 
metic, History in Elementary Schools. 

Other important relations with the community 
and state have been as a member of the Board of 
Aldermen of Durham in 1913, one of the Board of 
Trustees of the Durham City Schools since 1914, 
a trustee of the Durham Public Library since 1911, 
member of the Executive Committee of the State 
Literary and Historical Association, 1917-18, state 
director of the National Education Association, 
1918, and vice president of the Building and Loan 
Association of Durham since 1916. Doctor Brooks 



is a democrat, a member of the Durham Rotary 
Club and the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

At Kernersville, North Carolina, in 1900, he 
married Ida Myrtle Sapp, daughter of N. W. Sapp. 
They have three children, Martha Eleanor, Eugene 
Clyde, Jr., and Sarah Voss Brooks. 

Julius Faison Thomson. Though his admis- 
sion to the North Carolina bar has been compara- 
tively recent, Julius F. Thomson lias found a 
creditable place as a lawyer and is looked upon 
as one of the most promising of the young attor- 
neys of the Goldsboro bar. 

He comes of an old North Carolina family. His 
birth occurred at Faison, North Carolina, Janu- 
ary 5, 1888. His mother 's family gave the name 
to the village. His parents were Willis A. and 
Laura (Faison) Thomson, his father having been 
a merchant and farmer. He grew up in a home 
of comforts and advantages, had instruction from 
a private tutor, afterwards attended the Univer- 
sity of North Carolina, was graduated in 1909 
from George Washington University at Washing- 
ton, D. C, and completed his professional stu- 
dies in the University of North Carolina in 1913. 
Mr. Thomson was admitted to the bar in Febru- 
ary of the latter year, and at once began general 
practice at Goldsboro. 

He is a member of the North Carolina Bar 
Association, the Algonquin Club, the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks, the Masonic Order, 
the Junior Order of United American Mechanics, 
the Kappa Sigma college fraternity, and of the 
Presbyterian Church. He is taking an influential 
part in politics as a democrat and is a member 
of the Wayne County Executive Committee. 

Joseph Green Dawson, of Kinston, is one 
of the best qualified of the younger members of 
the North Carolina bar, and since beginning 
practice has met the most sanguine expectations 
of his friends and those who have followed his 
career. 

Mr. Dawson was born at Newhern, North Caro- 
lina, January 15, 1888, a son of Adrian Becton 
and Ann Charlotte (Green) Dawson. His father 
was both a merchant and farmer in the Newbem 
district. . The son had ample advantages, and 
improved them to the full. He attended St. 
Paul 's School at Beaufort, North Carolina, the 
Horner's Military Institute, and from 1907 to 
1911 was a regular student in the University of 
North Carolina. He graduated from the acad- 
emic department in 1911, and after that was a 
teacher for three years. In the meantime ho 
carried on his law studies privately and also 
attended the summer law schools of the Uni- 
versity of North Carolina. Admitted to the liar 
in 1913. he began practice at Kinston, whore his 
name is already spoken with respect by his fel- 
low members of the bar. 

Besides his private practice he is serving as 
assistant recorder. Mr. Dawson lias membership 
in the North Carolina Bar Association and in 
polities is affiliated with the democratic party. 

Hon. Walter Leak Parsons, a former member 
of the State Senate, a lawyer by training and 
profession, but during his residence at Rocking- 
ham, Richmond County, where he has had his 
home for over a quarter of a century, most of his 
time and energies have been devoted to banking. 

His own attainments and achievements have 
been in keeping with the high quality of his 



62 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



ancestry. The authentic history of the Parsons 
family in South and North Carolina begins with 
his great-grandfather, Joseph Parsons. Of Eng- 
lish parentage, Joseph Parsons located on the 
Great Pee Dee Eiver near Cheraw, South Caro- 
lina, prior to the Eevolution. A well founded 
tradition runs to the effect that he was one of 
the Revolutionary patriots who served under Mari- 
on, the ' ' Swamp Pox. ' ' The old parish and 
court records of Cheraw District indicate that 
he was a man of substance and took a promi- 
nent part in the affairs of his time, particularly 
those relating to the struggle for independence 
from England. He was a parishioner of St. 
David's, the historic old Episcopal church at 
Cheraw. An entry in the old court records shows 
that he was a member of the petit jury in the 
November courts of 1774. The presiding judge 
of that session, stirred by his indignation against 
England and patriotism for the colonies, in charg- 
ing the jury departed somewhat from his official 
functions by including an appeal to the jury and 
all patriots to do all in their power to overthrow 
the power of the British dominion in the colonies. 
To this the members of the jury in a statement 
signed by all of them, in the form of a rejoinder 
to the judge's charge, pledged their every effort 
to bring about this consummation. This docu- 
ment, although brief, is couched in such excel- 
lent language and arranged in such masterly style 
that it easily takes rank with the best of the 
better known declarations of independence that 
emanated from the colonies before the break with 
England. 

About the close of the Eevolution Joseph Par- 
sons removing further up the Pee Dee River, 
located in Montgomery County, North Carolina. 
There he became first clerk of the court, a posi- 
tion he held a number of years. His name and 
rank (Captain) appears among the North Carolina 
Revolutionary Pensioners reported by secretary of 
state to Congress in 1835. See State Eecords, by 
Clark, Vol. 23, page 80. 

A son of this distinguished patriot was Rev. 
James Parsons, grandfather of the Rockingham 
banker. He was a minister of the Methodist 
Church, began his services early in life and con- 
tinued them actively until its close. He was or- 
dained a minister by Francis Asbury, the first 
bishop of the Methodist Church in America. Rev. 
James Parsons was born in 1795 in Montgomery 
County, North Carolina. In later life he moved 
to Sumter, South Carolina^ later to Alabama, and 
died in Mississippi in 1859. 

Rev. Hilliard Crawford Parsons, son of the 
above, followed in his father's footsteps, and 
though his life was comparatively brief he earned 
all the praise that could be meted out to the pio- 
neer gospel ministers of the last century. He 
was born at Sumter, South Carolina, in 1824, was 
reared there, and joined the South Carolina Con- 
ference of the Methodist Church in 1847. He 
continued active in the ministry until his death 
in 1866. His work was under the auspices of 
the old South Carolina Conference, which at the 
time embraced not only the churches in South 
Carolina but those in a number of adjoining 
counties in North Carolina, from Richmond County 
extending as far west as Cleveland County. Rev. 
Hilliard C. Parsons occupied pulpits all over this 
stretch of territory. He was an itinerant Metho- 
dist preacher, one of the finest and noblest of 
his type. His work was but the expression of his 
sincerity and nobility of character and exercised 



the widest influence for good upon the communi- 
ties where he served. Several years before his 
death he lived at Wadesboro, Anson County, North 
Carolina, and in later life he was presiding elder 
of the Charlotte and Shelby districts in this state. 

Rev. Hilliard C. Parsons married Cornelia 
Frances Leak. Her father, Walter Raleigh Leak, 
of Anson County, North Carolina, is well remem- 
bered as the man who established and was presi- 
dent of the old Bank of Wadesboro. This insti- 
tution was founded in 1852 and was the first in 
Wadesboro. It was one of the strongest and 
best conducted banks of North Carolina prior 
to the war. Walter Raleigh Leak belonged to 
that well known Leak family of Virginia which 
produced William Leak, who founded the name 
and lineage in North Carolina. Walter Leak, 
son of this William served throughout the Revo- 
lutionary war, and was the ancestor of the large 
and influential Leak family in the counties of 
Richmond and Anson. Walter Raleigh Leak was 
the son of William P. Leak, of Richmond County, 
who was a prominent figure in his time, and rep- 
resented the county in the State Legislature for 
many years. 

Walter Leak Parsons was born at Camden, 
South Carolina, in 1858, and during his youth 
his parents lived in the various localities where 
his father had his ministerial engagements. He 
was only eight years of age when his father 
died. He grew up principally at Wadesboro and 
completed his literary education at Wofford Col- 
lege at Spartansburg, South Carolina. His law 
studies were directed by Judge R. T. Bennett at 
Wadesboro, where he was admitted to the bar in 
1881. For ten years Mr. Parsons practiced law 
at Wadesboro and became one of the prominent 
attorneys of that circuit. Part of the time he 
was associated as a law partner with R. E. Little. 

Mr. Parsons has resided at Rockingham in Rich- 
mond County since 1891. On removing to Rock- 
ingham he took part in the organization of the 
Bank of Pee Dee, and has been identified wdth 
that institution ever since. For a number of years 
he was its cashier, and is now its president. Mr. 
Parsons has had no active law practice since com- 
ing to Richmond County. 

Outside of banking his name is most widely 
known because of his influence and activity in 
state politics. As a democrat he was elected a 
member of the Legislature from Anson County 
and served in the session of 1887. Richmond 
County also elected him a member of the Lower 
House in the session of 1907. In 1912 he was 
elected a member of the State Senate and was 
in that body during the session of 1913. Many 
of his friends urged him to become a candidate 
for Congress in 1914 and in 1916, but he declined 
to aspire to further political honors. During his 
terms in the Lower House and in the Senate he 
impressed his ability upon a varied legislative 
program. In the session of 1887 he introduced 
and had passed the first bill regulating the sale 
of seed cotton in North Carolina. In partisan 
politics his name is specially remembered as the 
permanent chairman of the noted state conven- 
tion at Charlotte which nominated Governor 
Kitchin. This convention was in continuous ses- 
sion from Wednesday until the following Mon- 
day, including night sessions, before a nomina- 
tion could be made. 

Mr. Parsons was married in 1882 to Mary 
Wall Leak, daughter of Thomas Crawford Leak 
and wife, Martha P. Wall, of Richmond County, 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



63 



North Carolina. Mrs. Parsons died in 1911, leav- 
ing as children of this marriage, Thomas Leak 
Parsons, Hilliard Crawford Parsons, Mrs. Mamie 
Leak Palmer, Mrs. Corneill Parsons Payne, Walter 
Leak Parsons, Jr., Jennie Wall Parsons, and 
Rosa Leak Parsons. 

In 1914 Mr. Parsons was married to Mrs. Lucre- 
tia West Litchford, of Ealeigh, North Carolina, 
widow of the late James O. Litchford and daugh- 
ter of Nicholas W. West and wife, Elizabeth 
Blake, of that city. 

David H. Collins has long been identified with 
the official and business life of Greensboro, was a 
merchant a number of years, and since 1903 has 
been busied with his duties as magistrate. 

He was born on a farm two miles east of Reids- 
ville in Rockingham County, North Carolina, a son 
of Robert Collins, a native of the same county, 
and grandson of William and Mary Collins. The 
Collins family is of Irish ancestry. William Col- 
lins was a farmer and, as far as known, a lifelong 
resident of Rockingham County. Robert Collins 
also spent his active years as a farmer, and late 
in life retired to Graham, where he died at the 
age of eighty-three. He married Susan Boyles, a 
daughter of John and Nancy Boyles, of Grayson 
County, Virginia. She died at the age of fifty-five 
years, having reared seven children, named John 
W., David H., Mary J., Robert J., James T., 
George W. and Emma. 

David H. Collins spent his boyhood on his 
father's farm. A rural school education was his 
chief equipment for life. The first school he ever 
attended was taught in a log cabin. The seats 
were made of rough slabs set up from the floor 
by wooden pins, while a broad board pinned at an 
incline to the wall served the larger scholars for a 
writing desk. While attending the limited terms 
of this school Mr. Collins also worked on his 
father's farm. 

At the age of twenty-one he went to Reidsville 
and gained valuable business experience by two 
years of clerking in Smith & Manley's general 
store. Removing to Danville, Virginia, he was 
district manager of the Singer Sewing Machine 
Company for about eight years. Resigning that 
work, he became chief of police of Martinsville, 
Virginia, for four years, then resumed his former 
position as district manager for the Singer Sewing 
Machine Company. He was soon transferred to 
Greensboro, where he acted as district manager for 
another three years. He then became a local 
grocery merchant two years, clerked in a shoe 
store for a year, and was then made manager of 
the shoe department of the Brown Belk Company 
of Greensboro. 

In 1903 Mr. Collins was elected a magistrate and 
has been continued in office by re-election and as a 
proof of his capable and efficient duties ever 
since. In 1910 he was also given the responsi- 
bilities of United States Commissioner, and also 
handles the business of that office. Mr. Collins is 
well known in fraternal affairs, being past exalted 
ruler of Greensboro Lodge No. 602, Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, past chancellor of 
Greensboro Lodge No. 80, Knights of Pythias, 
past sachem of Mineola Tribe of the Improved 
Order of Red Men. is a past officer of Greensboro 
Aerie No. 1966, Fraternal Order of Eagles, is a 
member of Greensboro Lodge No. 13 of the Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics, and a past 
dictator of the Loyal Order of Moose. He and 



his wife are members of the Westminster Presby- 
terian Church. 

In 1898 Judge Collins married Mrs. Berta 
(Worth) Boyd. Her grandfather was Dr. J. M. 
Worth of Greensboro, and her father, Col. Shubel 
Worth, commanded a Confederate regiment in the 
war between the states and was killed in battle 
during the last year of the war. Mrs. Collins by 
her first husband, Richard F. Boyd, has three 
children : Sallie, wife of Burton De Loss ; Eveline, 
who married W. T. Sweet; and Richard F. who is 
now a sergeant major in the National Army. 

James M. Parrott, M. D. Though his life be- 
gan on a plantation near Kinston and his profes- 
sional activities have largely connected him with 
that city, Doctor Parrott is one of North Caro- 
lina's physicians and surgeons whose work and 
attainments have attracted more than local rec- 
ognition. In fact his services have been of that 
quality which accords him almost international 
reputation. 

Doctor Parrott was born on the Parrott planta- 
tion six miles from Kinston January 7, 1874. a 
son of James M. and Elizabeth (Wates) Parrott. 
After the death of his father he and the other 
members of the family moved to Kinston to se- 
cure better educational advantages, and he at- 
tended the old graded school and the Kinston 
College under the direction of Doctor Lewis. Doe- 
tor Parrott had the best of training and had 
the native talent which enabled him to make the 
best of his advantages. While pursuing the 
classical course in Wake Forest College from 
1887 to 1891 he also took the special courses in 
chemistry and biology that were in the nature of 
preparatory medical studies. Returning to Kins- 
ton after graduating from Wake Forest, he spent 
nearly two years in study under a preceptor, fol- 
lowing which he was for one year in the Univer- 
sity of Maryland at Baltimore and then went south 
to Tulane University at New Orleans, where at 
the end of two years he graduated with high hon- 
ors in both medicine and surgery. As a result of 
competitive examinations he was appointed in- 
terne and ambulance surgeon and served in the 
hospitals of New Orleans for one year. When 
he took the examination before the State Medi- 
cal Society in 1895 he passed with an average of 
96, one of the highest averages over attained by 
any candidate for admission. 

Doctor Parrott began practice at Kinston, and 
in 1896 was elected health officer of Lenoir County. 
During the three years he spent in that office he 
successfully combated one of the most virulent 
epidemics of smallpox ever known in this sec- 
tion of the state. It was the ability he showed 
then which caused him to be selected by the med- 
ical department of the United States Army in 
1899 as a specialis in smallpox and yellow fever 
to take charge of the First Division Hospital in 
Havana, where he spent eight months in direct- 
ing the sanitary work carried on by the United 
States Government and as the result of which 
Havana became a model city in point of sanita- 
tion. 

The eyes of the world were fixed, as it were, 
upon the work of the medical corps in Cuba, and 
an effort was made to secure Doctor Parrott 'a 
services as surgeon with the Chinese Relief Ex- 
pedition in 1899. He declined the offer in re- 
spect to the wishes of his mother, and soon re- 
sumed practice at Kinston. On account of his 



64 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



work at Havana an agent of the Boer government 
during the South African war offered him a com- 
mission as a medical officer of the Nathal 
Division of the Boer army, but he was unable to 
accept because of his inability to obtain trans- 
portation through the rigid blockade of the Brit- 
ish navy. In 1904 Doctor Parrott was offered 
the position of surgeon to the National Demo- 
cratic Convention at St. Louis, but was unable 
to attend. At Kinston he maintains one of the 
best equipped offices in the state, and his quali- 
fications as an eye, ear, nose and throat special- 
fist and surgeon are regarded as second to none. 
He is one of the promoters of the Parrott Memo- 
rial Hospital at Kinston, which was dedicated in 
1906. 

Doctor Parrott has long been prominent in 
medical circles and organizations. In 1897 he 
was made chairman of the section on surgery and 
anatomy of the State Medical Society, in 1898 
was leader of debates for the society, in 1900 
became fourth vice president of the State Society 
and third vice president in 1901. In 1902 he be- 
came a member of the State Board of Examiners, 
and in 1904 was elected counselor for the Sec- 
ond Medical District. In 1912 he was elected 
president of the North Carolina Medical Society. 
In 1905 he was appointed a director of the asylum 
for the insane at Raleigh. Doctor Parrott has 
for many years been surgeon for the Atlantic and 
North Carolina Eailway, and also surgeon for the 
Atlantic Coast Line and was president of the 
A. C. L. Surgeon's Association in 1910. 

His abilities and qualifications have been con- 
tinually improving because he has kept himself 
in close touch with the activities of his profession 
both in his home state and elsewhere. He has 
taken a number of post-graduate courses in the 
hospitals of the principal cities, and in 1898 he 
spent six months in the hospitals of London and 
Edinburg. He is the author of numerous articles 
which have been published in medical journals, 
and some of these have opened up new lines of 
thought and practice and some of the principles 
advocated have been adopte,d in the general rou- 
tine of treatment. This was particularly true of 
his articles published under the titles "Continued 
Fevers of North Carolina," and "Malarial 
Haemo-Globin Neuria," the latter having been 
accepted by the profession as assisting materially 
in solving the problem of the yellow chill. Doc- 
tor Parrott in 1917 described "Amebic Conjunc- 
tivitis" — infections of conjunctiva by ameba from 
the mouth, and he designated this in the article, 
as amebic conjunctivitis. 

For fifteen years he has been a member of 
the trustees of Wake Forest College and is now 
president of this board. He is active in various 
war activities, a member of the State Executive 
Committee for War Savings Stamps and county 
chairman and member of the State and National 
Committee for the Council of Defense, etc. 

Charles Maxlt Filler is of an old and 
prominent family of Randolph county, but for 
a quarter of a century lias been in business at 
Lumberton in Robeson County. He has the larg- 
est vehicle and implement business in this section 
of the state, and has also dealt extensively in 
livestock. 

Mr. Fuller was born at the Fuller homstead 
on the Uwharrie River in Concord Township, 
Randolph County, in 1858, son of H. K. and 
Jane (Keerens) Fuller. His family relationship 



includes the Winstons, the Cooks, the Woods and 
others well known in the state. A member of 
the family is Judge Thomas Fuller. Other fam- 
ily connections are Judge Winston and Judge 
Wood of Raleigh, elsewhere mentioned in this 
publication. 

H. K. Fuller, father of Charles M., was also 
born at the old homestead in Randolph County, 
a place originally settled by Grandfather Henry 
Fuller. Earlier members of the family had lived 
near Louisburg in Franklin County. 

At this old home: tead and plantation Charles 
Manly Fuller grew to manhood and in that com- 
munity he lived until 1890. That year he moved 
to Lumberton and engaged in business. He has 
dealt extensively in livestock, particularly horses 
and mules, and has built up a vehicle and auto- 
mobile business far beyond the proportions which 
one would normally expect in a city and com- 
munity of this size. The business is conducted 
under the name of C. M. Fuller & Son. Mr. 
Fuller is one of the substantial and solid business 
men of this wealthy and growing city, and has 
shown himself public-spirited and generous in 
relationship to all the progressive movements 
undertaken in the community. 

Mr. Fuller married Miss Dora Coltraine, of 
Randolph County. The Coltraines are also a 
prominent name of the state, widely known in 
Greensboro and Guilford County. One member 
of the family is Mr. D. B. Coltraine, banker and 
cotton mill owner at Concord in Cabarrus County. 
Mr. and Mrs. Fuller are the parents of five 
children: Mrs. Jessie Crichton, John C. Fuller, 
Capt. David H. Fuller, Anna Neil and Epsie 
Fuller. 

A special paragraph should be devoted to 
Capt. David H. Fuller, one of the young men of 
North Carolina who have already achieved some 
of the distinctions of service in the present great 
war. He is a fine type of the man of college 
training now carrying the responsibilities of 
leadership as officer in the American army. He 
graduated from Trinity College with the highest 
honors, and stood equally high as a student in 
the law school of that ' college. The dean of 
the law school testified to his attainments and 
records in a most enthusiastic manner. From 
Trinity he entered Harvard Law School, where 
he snent one vear. and had already begun the 
practice of his profession at Lumberton with 
prosrects for a brilliant future as a lawver when 
war was declared against Germany. From the 
beginning he determined to serve his country to 
the best of his abilitv. and accordingly entered 
the officers' reserve training camp at Fort Ogle- 
thorpe. Georgia, where he did the work and car- 
ried the studies with a very high standing and 
was cranted his commission as second lieutenant. 
Tn January. 1918. he was stationed at Camp 
Jackson and had. been promoted to first lieuten- 
ant. When the Federal Insurance Law for sol- 
ders was put in force Lieutenant Fuller was 
pi ven charge of writing this insurance at Camp 
Jackson, and up to the first week of January, 
191 8, had sold eighty million dollars in insurance 
to the soldiers. 

Still other honors have come to him, and in 
February, 1918, announcement was made of his 
promotion to the rank of captain in the adjutant 
general 's department, so that he has had three 
commissions since leaving Fort Ogelthorpe train- 
ing camp in 'less than a year. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



65 



Judge William P. Ragan was the first judge 
of tlie Recorder's Court at High Point. That 
office was created when a new charter was granted 
to the city and the people of the community felt 
a special sense of satisfaction in giving the honor 
and responsibilities to a man so well known, so 
capable a lawyer, and so able in the handling of 
public affairs. 

Judge Ragan was born on a farm 2% miles 
south of High Point April 5, 1868, the fourth 
son of Amos and Martha (English) Ragan, the 
father being now deceased, while the mother is 
still living at the old homestead. The Ragan fam- 
ily is a very old and prominent one in the vicinity 
of High Point, including the three adjoining 
counties of Davidson, Guilford and Randolph. 
Amos Ragan was born in Davidson County but 
spent most of his lite in Guilford County, in the 
vicinity of High Point. He owned a large body 
of land and was very successful in farming it. 
The late John H. Reagan, of Texas, distinguished 
as the postmaster-general of the Confederacy and 
later for many years as a United States senator, 
was born in North Carolina and though his name 
was spelled slightly different was a member of 
this family. 

William P. Ragan spent his early life on the 
farm and attended public schools at Archdale and 
Springfield, not far from home, and in 1888 en- 
tered Guilford College. He was a student there 
for two years and then taught school at Bethany 
and Springfield. 

In matters of politics Judge Ragan has always 
been affiliated with the republican party. In 
1890 he was appointed assistant postmaster at 
High Point, and held that office about four 
years during Harrison's administration. In the 
spring of 1894 he left High Point and became 
a representative for the J. Van Lindley Nursery 
Company of Pomona, North Carolina, selling goods 
for this firm in the State of Alabama. In the fall 
of the same year he put into effect a resolution 
long maturing in his mind to become a lawyer. 
Entering the University of North Carolina, he 
took a preparatory course, and in 1895 was ap- 
pointed deputy clerk of the Superior Court at 
Greensboro, and while there studied law under 
Dick & Dillard. 

Judge Ragan was licensed to practice in Sep- 
tember, 1896. From 1897 until 1900 he was as- 
sociated in the law with Maj. Charles M. Sted- 
man of Greensboro, and practiced both in that 
city and at High Point. Judge Ragan has han- 
dled many cases of importance and interest and 
is well known for his legal ability in a number 
of districts in the state. 

In 1902 he was nominated for the State Senate 
by the Guilford County Republican Convention. 
He made a splendid campaign, led his ticket by 
about 500 votes, but was defeated. In 1910 he 
was appointed postmaster of High Point by Presi- 
dent Taft and he served as such about four years, 
bringing the administrative efficiency of the of- 
fice up to a standard which it had never before 
attained. In 1914 he was elected prosecuting at- 
torney for the city, and had under the change of 
charter become first judge of the Recorder's 
Court, serving in that capacity until he was ap- 
pointed postmaster. Judge Ragan while post- 
master was instrumental in the building of a 
fine Federal Building at High Point. He was 
elected mayor of High Point in the spring of 
1917, and is the present incumbent of the office. 
During his administration more good streets and 

Vol. VI «-5 



sidewalks have been built than in any similar 
time of its history. 

He owns one of the most beautiful homes of 
the city. He and his wife are the parents of 
three children: William P., Jr., Gilbert and Cam- 
eron. Judge Ragan is a member of the Quaker 
Church. 

Judge Alfred Moore, who distinguished himself 
as one of the Revolutionary patriots of North 
Carolina, and was at one time an associate justice 
of the Supreme Court of the United States, was 
born in Brunswick County May 21, 1755, son of 
Judge Maurice and Ann (Grange) Moore. He 
was descended from two very distinct lines, one 
that of an Irish rebel Roger Moore, leader of 
the Irish rebellion of 1641, and the other that of 
an English cavalier, Sir John Yamans. One of 
his forefathers was James Moore, governor of 
South Carolina in 1700. James Moore the second 
was also governor of South Carolina in 1720. 
Maurice Moore, father of Alfred, was one of the 
first permanent settlers of the Cape Fear country 
of North Carolina, and was one of the three judges 
of the province at the breaking out of the revolu- 
tion. 

Alfred Moore was sent to Boston to complete his 
education in 1764 and a few years later witnessed 
the arrival of the first British garrison in that 
city. September 1, 1775, while still under age, he 
was appointed a captain of the First North Caro- 
lina Regiment, and participated in that short 
and brilliant campaign which resulted in the de- 
feat of the British forces at Moore 's Creek in 
February, 1776. He was also with his company 
at Fort Moultrie in Charleston Harbor in June, 
1776. He resigned his commission March 8, 1777, 
but during the rest of the war did much to keep 
up patriotic resistance in North Carolina, and so 
influential was he that the enemy made every effort 
to kill or capture him and burned and completely 
destroyed his plantation property. He had begun 
the study of law under his illustrious father before 
the war. In 1782 the General Assembly of North 
Carolina, in grateful remembrances of his distin- 
guished services and in some part too compensate 
him for his losses and unselfish patriotism, ap- 
pointed him attorney general of the state to suc- 
ceed Judge Iredell, who had just resigned. He 
served as attorney general until 1790, when, in- 
dignant at what he considered an unconstitutional 
infringement upon his rights by the creation of 
the office of solicitor general, he resigned. 

"He had a mind of uncommon strength and a 
quickness of intellectual digestion that enabled 
him to master any science he strove to acquire. 
He was small in statute, scarce four feet, five 
inches in height, neat in dress, graceful in manner, 
but frail in body. He had a dark singularly pierc- 
ing eye, a clear sonorous voice, and those rare gifts 
of oratory that are born with a man and not ac- 
quired. Swift was his model, and his language 
was always plain, concise and pointed. A keen 
sense of humor, a brilliant wit, a biting tongue, a 
masterful logic, made him an adversary at the bar 
to be feared." 

He was a federalist in politics. In 1795 he was 
defeated for the Senate of the United States by 
one vote. In 1798 he was elected one of the judges 
of the state and took his seat upon the bench. 
In December, 1799, he was called to the seat upon 
the Supreme Bench of the United States made va- 
cant by the death of James Iredell. The only 
opinion he delivered during his four years with the 



66 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Federal Supreme Court was Bas v. Tingy 4 Vol. 
37. It is explained that after Marshall became 
chief justice the rule and practice was for the 
court to express its opinions practically without 
exception through the Chief Justice. 

Failing health compelled his retirement and he 
resigned in 1804 and died October 15, 1810. 

(See published address delivered by Junius 
Davis upon the presentation of the portrait of 
Judge Moore to the Supreme Court of North Caro- 
lina, in the publications of the North Carolina 
Society of the Sous of the Revolution). 

Hon. John A. Oates. To some individuals are 
given diversified talents, together with the abil- 
ity to utilize these gifts for the benefit not only 
of themselves but of humanity at large. Find- 
ing a broader and more prolific field in which to 
carry on their labors, such men are enabled to 
direct their efforts along diverging lines and there- 
Iiv reach a diversified class of men, and coming 
into close touch with such their own sympathies 
are broadened, their scope of usefulness widened 
and their own characters strengthened. Of the 
men of North Carolina who through high talents 
and energetic labors have contributed to the 
growth and development of their state and the 
lasting welfare of its people, few have accom- 
plished a greater work than has fallen to the 
lot of Hon. John A. Oates, of Fayetteville. He 
is a leading lawyer and a member of the North 
Carolina State Senate, and in both capacities 
has won distinction, but the position in which he 
has gained in the greatest degree the gratitude 
and commendation of the people is as the origina- 
tor of and for many years the leading spirit in 
the Anti-Saloon League of North Carolin?, a body 
which was chiefly instrumental in the ultimate 
securing of state-wide prohibition. 

Senator Oates was born in 1870, on his fa- 
ther 's farm in Sampson County, North Carolina, 
a son of John Alexander and Mary Jewell (Ash- 
ford) Oates, both of English ancestry and both 
now deceased. The Oates family of North Car- 
olina was founded in the eastern part of the 
state prior to the Revolutionary war and has pro- 
duced a number of prominent characters, some of 
whom have been and are leading and wealthy cit- 
izens of their several communities, particularly 
Charlotte and Asheville. John Alexander Oates, 
who was a lifelong farmer and carried on opera- 
tions in Sampson County, died in 1901. During 
the war between the states he served in the ca- 
pacity of sheriff of his county. 

John A. Oates was reared amid agricultural 
surroundings, and spent his boyhood much the 
same as other farmers' sons of his day and lo- 
cality. After attending the rural schools of his 
home community he went to Wake Forest Col- 
lege, paying his own way. He received the de- 
gree of Bachelor of Arts in 1895, and subsequently 
entered upon the study of law in the same insti- 
tution, being graduated in the law class of 1910. 
Prior to his taking up the law as a profession 
he had been for several years identified with jour- 
nalism, as editor of the North Carolina Baptist, a 
successful and influential denominational paper 
of 7,000 circulation published at Fayetteville. 
He began the practice of law in that city in 
1910, and within the short time that he has de- 
voted to his professional labors has become one 
of the leading legists of this part of the state, 
with a large and important practice in all the 
courts. In 1913 he was elected judge of the 



County. Court for Cumberland County. At this 
time lie is a member of the law firm of Oates & 
Herring, his partner being R, W. Herring, and 
the important matters of jurisprudence success- 
lully handled by this firm ma^e it one of the 
most formidable combinations to be found. The 
general election of 1916 found Mr. Oates a can- 
didate for the office of state senator from Cum- 
berland County, he having been nominated 
without opposition. He was elected by an over- 
whelming majority, to serve in the session which 
began in January, 1917. He has already shown 
himself a hard-working member ol that distin- 
guished body, being chairman of the important 
committee on public education. His past record 
makes it an assured fact that his constituents' 
interests, as well as those of his county and state, 
will profit through his legislative activities. Mr. 
Oates has for many years been a prominent mem- 
ber of the Baptist Church at Fayetteville, to the 
movements and work of which he has been a gen- 
erous contributor. 

In educational and religious lines, he has been 
very active, being superintendent of the Sun- 
day school of his church for more than twenty 
years; president of the uoard of trustees of Wake 
Forest College; president of the Baptist State 
Convention; founder and chairman of the execu- 
tive committee of the Baptist Seaside Assembly; 
trustees of the Dell School ; chairman of the 
board of trustees of the Fayetteville graded 
schools; for ten years chairman of the board of 
education of Cumberland County, and trustee of 
the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. 
But, as above noted, Senator Oates is perhaps 
most widely known and distinguished for his 
great work and leadership in the Anti-Saloon 
League of North Carolina,- of which he was the 
' ' father, ' ' he having brought about its organi- 
zation and for several years being the active sec- 
retary of the league. This organization forms 
an important chapter in the history of North 
Carolina, particularly as being the most vital of 
modern reform movements in the state and the 
one most directly affecting its welfare and pros- 
perity. The beginning of this movement may be 
outlined, briefly, as follows : In December, 1901, 
the Baptist State Convention met in the First 
Baptist Church of Winston, at which time Mr. 
Oates presented a resolution for the appointment 
of a committee on temperance by the convention. 
This resolution was duly passed and Mr. Oates 
was appointed chairman of the committee, and 
immediately wired to the Methodist Conference, 
which was in session at the same time, suggesting 
a similar committee for that denomination, which 
was favorably acted upon at once. He was also 
the means of having such committees appointed 
and set to work by other religious and social or- 
ganizations. Continuing to take the initiative in 
the movement, Mr. Oates invited representatives 
from the several religious denominations of the 
state to gather in a general convention at Raleigh. 
This meeting took place at the state capital in 
January or February of 1902, on which occasion 
the Anti-Saloon League of North Carolina was 
organized and Mr. Oates was elected the secre- 
tary. He then proceeded to mobilize a volunteer 
committee of 100 representative citizens all 
over the state, and with this organization as a 
foundation set actively to work in bringing about 
tli is most notable of. all reforms ever attempted 
in the history of the commonwealth, and which 
eventually led to the accomplishment of state- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



67 



wide prohibition. In the prosecution of the work 
of this organization during the term of his sec- 
retaryship Mr. Oates assumed all responsibility. 
In the early stage of the movement there was lit- 
erally not anything to be done that he did not 
do. His soul, his courage, his sanity, his enthu- 
siasm, won friends for the work. After the or- 
ganization was effected in its entirety and the 
work enlarged he continued to give of his best to 
the movement's success. His was for the most 
part an unheralded work, but it was far-reaching 
in its results and an unmixed blessing to thou- 
sands who but for that work would have known 
only the somber, and perhaps even the more 
tragic, aspects of life. And no one will attempt 
to disagree with the statement that the accom- 
plishment of this great enterprise has made North 
Carolina a greater state, bigger, better and more 
prosperous in every way, a pride to its citizens 
and a credit to the nation. He was chairman of 
the executive committee and manager of the state 
campaign for prohibition in 1908, when the state 
went dry by 44,198 majority. 

Mrs. Oates, a native of' North Carolina, was 
before her marriage Miss Emma Cain. 

John T. Rees has been one of the thriving 
business men of Greensboro for a considerable 
period of years, and is now head of one of the 
city 's most important industries, the El Eees 
So Cigar Company, manufacturers. 

Mr. Eees is a native of Greensboro, and is of 
old American stock, tracing his ancestry origi- 
nally back to Wales, where his great-grandfather, 
William Rees, Sr., was born and on coming to 
America settled in Pittsylvania County, Virginia, 
where he spent the rest of his days. He was 
the father of two sons, named William and 
Richard. William, Jr., was born in Pittsylvania 
County, Virginia, and in early youth learned the 
trade of blacksmith. In 1849 he brought his 
family to North Carolina, locating near Greens- 
boro, where he conducted a blacksmith shop and 
was an honored resident of that locality until 
his death at the advanced age of eighty-four. 
He married Sally Bryant, a native of Pittsyl- 
vania County, Virginia, and she died at the age 
of seventy-nine. Both were lifelong and faithful 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South. Their remains now rest in the Green 
Hill Cemetery. In their family were five sons, 
named William, Calvin, Samuel, John and 
Monroe. 

John T. Rees, Sr., father of the cigar manu- 
facturer of Greensboro, was born in Pittsylvania, 
Virginia, in 1836, and was about thirteen years 
old when the family came to North Carolina. At 
the age of twenty-one he went to Summerfield 
and clerked in a mercantile establishment there 
until after his marriage, when he returned to 
Greensboro and conducted the Planters' Hotel 
and also a livery and sales stable until his death 
at the age of thirty-nine. He married Lavinia 
Brim, who was born near Summerfield, North 
Carolina, daughter of Peter and Martha (San- 
ders) Brim. Her parents were natives of Guil- 
ford County. Mrs. Lavinia Rees died at the 
age of sixty-three. John T. Rees, Sr., was a 
Confederate soldier, and his early death was 
largely due to the fact that he was severely 
wounded while in the war and never fully re- 
covered from his injuries. He and his wife had 
three children, William Henry, Sallie and John T. 



The oldest, William Henry, was for fifteen years 
assistant postmaster of Greensboro, then for sev- 
eral years was a merchant of that city, and is 
still living in Greensboro. He married Alice 
Wolfe, a native of Virginia, and daughter of 
John M. and Mary (Brown) Wolfe. Tney have 
four children. Sallie Rees married James W. 
Eorbes and is the mother of three children. 

Mr. John T. Rees has spent nearly all his life 
at Greensboro. He was educated in the public 
schools theie, and one year at Oak Ridge Insti- 
tute. About his first regular employment was 
as floor boy in a tobacco warehouse, employed 
by J. F. Jordan and later by W. F. Cable. After 
auout one year in warehouses he went into the 
factory of J. JL. King, a chewing tobacco manu- 
facturer, was there two years, and then spent a 
year in the cigar factory of W. E. Bastine. 
These varied experiences gave him quite a thor- 
ough knowledge of the tobacco business in the 
difxerent departments and he then extended his 
knowledge to the general retail tobacco business 
by opening a cigar and tobacco store at Greens- 
boro, which he lias continued uninterruptedly to 
the present time. 

However, his big achievement was begun in 
August, 1913, when he established the El Rees 
So cigar factory. How successful this business 
has been can best be understood by the quota- 
tion of a few figures. In the month of 1915, 
following the establishment of the factory, its 
output was 240,000 El Rees So cigars. The cor- 
responding figures of output for subsequent years 
have been: 1914, 975,000; 1915, 2,445,000; 1916, 
7,889,000, and 1917, 15,000,000 cigars. The fac- 
tory is equipped with all modern appliances and 
implements, is thoroughly sanitary in its arrange- 
ments and facilities, and the popularity of the 
products is by no means confined to the home 
State of North Carolina. 

Mr. Rees married in September, 1909, Miss 
Ethel McDowell, daughter of J. C. McDowell, 
and member of a prominent family of North 
Carolina. Mr. and Mrs. Rees have one daughter, 
named Hazel. Mr. Rees is well known in busi- 
ness circles in Greensboro, is a member of the 
Chamber of Commerce, and is affiliated with the- 
Knights of the Maccabees and the Improved 
Order of Red Men. 

Asa Biggs, who before he was fifty years of 
age had filled nearly every office in the gift of 
the people of his state — including United States 
Senator, Judge of the District Federal Court,. 
Judge of the Supreme Court of the State — was 
born in Martin County, North Carolina, February 
4, 1811, and died at Norfolk, Virginia, March 6, 
1878. His father, Joseph Biggs, was a small 
merchant and preacher of the Primitive Baptist 
Church, and gave to his children all the elements 
of education to the extent of his ability. 

Asa Biggs attended Williamston Academy, 
which his father had helped to found in 1820. 
His physical and mental powers rapidly matured 
and at the age of fifteen he was giving a good 
account of himself in commercial affairs. His am- 
bition to become a real lawyer caused him to fore- 
go the attractions and profits of commercial life, 
and by reading and study at home he was qualified 
to practice law in July, 1831, when not yet twen- 
ty-one years of age. He soon had an extensive 
practice and one that paid him liberally according 
to the standards of the day. He was a man of 



68 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



utmost simplicity in tastes, and always lived well 
within the limits of his income. June 26, 1832, 
he married Miss Martha Elizabeth Andrews. One 
of his sons was Hon. J. Crawford Biggs, a former 
president of the North Carolina State Bar Asso- 
ciation. He and his brother Henry both became 
Confederate soldiers, the 'former attaining the 
rank of captain and Henry being killed at Appo- 
mattox the day before Lee surrendered. 

In early life Asa Biggs left the party of his 
forefathers and became a democrat. In* 1835 he 
was elected to the Constitutional Convention and 
was the youngest member of that body. He was 
chosen a member of the House of Commons in 1840 
ami 1842. During the campaign of 1842 he gave 
a striking illustration of his "courage and inde- 
pendence by refusing to treat the voters with 
liquor, which for years had been an unbroken 
custom in practically every election in the South. 
Contrary to the expectations of his friends and 
advisers his course proved a popular one and he 
was elected. In 1844, after a three cornered cam- 
paign, he was elected to the State Senate and in 
1845 was nominated for Congress, and after a 
remarkable campaign against one of the foremost 
whigs of the day was elected by a narrow margin. 
He went into the United States Congress when 
only thirty-four years of age, but quickly im- 
pressed his ability and was regarded as one of 
the leaders in the National Legislature. In 1847 
he was a candidate for re-election and then for the 
first time tasted political defeat. 

Asa Briggs shared with Judge B. F. Moore the 
credit for the great task of revising the statutes 
of North Carolina known as the Revised Code of 
1854. During that year lie was a member of the 
General Assembly, which owing to the failure of 
the previous Legislature to elect a United States 
Senator had the responsibility of electing two can- 
didates to represent North Carolina in that body. 
Without any solicitation on his part or active 
effort to influence the Legislature in any way he 
was chosen for the six year term, and became a 
member of the United States Senate at the age 
of forty-three. He was a leader in a number of 
debates involving the momentous questions of sla- 
very, and throughout expressed his decided con- 
victions as to state 's rights. Mr. Biggs resigned 
his seat in the United State Senate in 1858 to 
accept appointment from President Buchanan as 
judge of the United States District Court in North 
Carolina. This court, which had fallen into con- 
siderable disesteem through the age and ill health 
of its previous incumbent, Judge Biggs at once 
reorganized and made thoroughly efficient. He sent 
his letter of resignation to President Lincoln in 
April, 1861, and under the newly organized Con- 
federate Government was appointed and commis- 
sioned judge of the Confederate Government Dis- 
trict Court April 15, 1862. That office he held 
until the surrender of Lee at Appomattox. 

After the war Judge Biggs practiced for sev- 
eral years at Tarboro. In the spring of 1869 he 
was one of the signers of a document drawn up by 
a number of North Carolina lawyers as a protest 
against what they regarded as improper interfer- 
ence in political affairs by the judges of the Su- 
preme Court. Then followed the historic rule 
adopted by the Supreme Court calling upon the 
signers of the protest to show cause why they 
should not be attached for contempt and requir- 
ing that each protestant should duly apologize 
before being permitted to practice again in the 
court. Judge Biggs had signed the protest with 



characteristic deliberation and rather than accept 
the penalty imposed by the court voluntarily ex- 
patriated himself from the state and from its bar. 
Afterwards he wrote: "Nothing ever gave me 
more pain than my removal trom North Carolina 
in 1869. ' ' He moved to Norfolk, Virginia, taking 
up the practice of law anew when nearly sixty 
years of age, and remained there until his death 
nine years later. 

Jonx Washington Stewart is one of the fore- 
most capitalists and business directors at New- 
bern, from which city his interests extend to 
many outside corporations and enterprises. He 
has exhibited some of the real leadership in in- 
dustrial affairs and his success has been worthily 
and honorably won. His early life was not with- 
out struggle and overcoming of obstacles in order 
to develop his abilities. For some years he was 
a farmer and from the cultivation of the soil 
lie turned his energies to .larger and more im- 
portant interests. 

Mi-. Stewart was born in Craven County, North 
Carolina, March 25, 1853, and is a son of James 
and Jane Eleanor (Loftin) Stewart. His father 
was a substantial farmer in Craven County. On 
that farm Johu W. Stewart grew up, and while 
he attended the local schools his education has 
come chiefly from his individual initiative and 
effort. Reading and observation have supplied 
much that was never included in his school cur- 
riculum, aud his experience has been improved 
by extensive business dealings. He came to know 
the value of a dollar in early life. His activities 
were practically bounded by a farm until he was 
thirty years of age. 

From farming he became a stock buyer, and in 
a short time was operating on an extensive scale 
in the buying and selling of horses and mules. 
That business he continued for eighteen years. 
In the meantime he had invested and had become 
a stockholder in a number of companies. Mr. 
Stewart still retains some affection lor country 
life, and is owner of large tracts of timber and 
farm lands in Craven, Jones, Carteret, Pamlico, 
Beaufort and Pitt counties. He also has about 
2,500 acres of farm land under his direct man- 
agement and owns the Pecan Plantation and has 
done much to develop that magnificent estate. 
He is a fourth owner in the Ravens wood Planta- 
tion, comprising 18,500 acres. Mr. Stewart was 
a charter member and director of the Farmers & 
Merchants Bank before it failed through the 
cashier's defalcation. 

At the present time he is a director in the 
Newbern Banking and Trust Company, the Citi- 
zens Savings Bank & Trust Company, the Peoples 
Bank, and is a stockholder in the Bank of Dover 
and the Bank of Vanceboro. He is treasurer of 
the Sampson Grove Company at Boardman, Flor- 
ida; is secretary and treasurer of the Enterprise 
Brick and Tile Company of Newbern; is presi- 
dent of the Swift Creek Supply Company at 
Vanceboro; is president of the .Vanceboro Real 
Estate and Development Company; president of 
the Dover Lumber Company; and was one of the 
original stockholders and a director of the Dixie 
Fire Insurance Company of Greensboro, North 
Carolina. For the good of the community Mr. 
Strwart built and organized the Stewart Sani- 
tarium at Newbern. These connections speak for 
themselves as to Mr. Stewart 's broad and masterly 
identification with the larger commercial life of 
his section of the state. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



69 



He is also one of the capable members of the 
Newbern Chamber of Commerce. Fraternally he 
is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason, a 
Shriner, a member of the Odd Fellows, the Royal 
Arcanum, the Woodmen of the World and the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. In 
church affairs he has always been a loyal and 
supporting member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church and was on the building committee of the 
new edifice at Newbern. 

On April 8, 1880, he married Miss Sarah Cath- 
erine Wetherington, of Craven County, North 
Carolina. They are the parents of six children : 
Jane P., Sara Louise, Maude, Kathrine Wash- 
ington, Eleanor Grace and James Lee. 

Frank Kornegay Borden. The permanent 
benefits that may be conferred on a community 
through the knowledge, enterprise and public spirit 
of one man finds no better illustration than has 
been afforded by one of Goldboro 's best known 
and honored citizens, Frank K. Borden, scientist, 
manufacturer, banker and solid citizen. 

Frank K. Borden was born at Goldsboro, North 
Carolina, July 12, 1857. His parents were Ed- 
win Browning and Georgia C. (Whitfield) Bor- 
den, members of prominent old families of this 
state. Edwin B. Borden for many years was 
a banker in this city and made liberal provision 
for his son's education. The latter attended pri- 
vate schools in boyhood and then became a student 
in Horner 's and Graves ' Military Institute and 
completed his education in the University of 
North Carolina, from which he was graduated in 
1878. 

One of the most familiar sights of Mr. Bor- 
den 's boyhood, perhaps, was a cotton plantation, 
for cotton in Eastern North Carolina, as in other 
southern states, had long been a staple, and wher- 
ever land was under any cultivation to any ex- 
tent there would surely be found a ' ' patch o ' 
cotton. ' ' With a well trained mind and a natural 
scientific leaning, Mr. Borden at the beginning 
of his business career was led to study improved 
methods of cotton manufacturing and thus came 
to consider the economic side of the business in 
a new way. At that time, after the cotton was 
ginned in North Carolina, there remained the 
seeds, these, in ratio of weight being 2% or three 
to one of fiber. That Egypt and India had util- 
ized these seeds his reading had told him, but 
no effort had yet been made in Eastern North 
Carolina to convert cotton seed into oil, feed or 
other by-products. Mr. Borden could not foresee 
that he would live to see the day when the oil of 
the cotton seed should be one of the accepted 
food products, not as an adulterant but as a re- 
fined and purified, healthful nutrient. 

Having determined to be a pioneer in the de- 
veloping business at Goldsboro, Mr. Borden fully 
informed himself through travel and investigation 
in Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, Georgia and other 
cotton producing sections, and on his return to 
Goldsboro he secured an expert to construct him a 
mill wherein the oil could be expressed from the 
seed and the hulls and meal so prepared that no 
more fattening food could be provided for cattle, 
the further refuse being made into fertilizer. Like 
almost every other new venture, Mr. Borden found 
little recognition of success just at first, in fact, 
in order to give the farmers of Wayne County 
and adjacent sections an object lesson for their 
own benefit, he invested in cattle and fattened 



them on the new food. Long since cattle raisers 
all over have recognized the value of cotton seed 
meal but perhaps not all of them give due credit 
to Frank K. Borden for his enterprise, or re- 
member that he built the first mill of this kind 
in the eastern part of the state together with a 
fertilizer plant for use of cotton seed meal as an 
ammoniate. 

For twenty-one years Mr. Borden continued 
to operate this mill and then sold out to a cor- 
poration and for six years longer was manager 
for the new company. He did not retire then 
from the cotton business, however, but organized 
the Borden Manufacturing Company, of which 
he is president, which operates two cotton mills 
with 18,500 spindles, an important industrial en- 
terprise at Goldsboro. He is president of the 
Wayne National Bank and a director of the At- 
lantic Coast Line Railroad. He is on the board of 
directors of the Whitesville Lumber Company, and 
is a stockholder in all the manufacturing plants 
at Goldsboro. In financial circles his reputation is 
sound as vice president and a director of the 
Taisnot Banking Company. He organized the Bor- 
den Brick and Tile Company and built the plant 
along modern lines. In partnership with his 
brothers, John L. and E. B. Borden, Jr., he owns 
the handsome six-story brick Borden Building. 
He has managed all his business undertakings 
with good judgment and recognized business abil- 
ity, giving employment to large bodies of work- 
ers and thereby adding to the prosperity of Golds- 
lioro, and at the same time he has maintaiend dis- 
cipline with such firm kindness and even justice 
that his people recognize in him a friend as well 
as employer. 

Mr. Borden was married December 21, 1887, 
to Miss Sadie Jones, a native of Chatham, North 
Carolina, and the following children have been 
born to them: Frank Kennon, who was connected 
with the Borden Brick and Tile Company, but 
is now in the aviation service of the National 
army; Arnold, who died in infancy; Mildred; 
Julia; Edwin B., who is serving in the Navy; and 
Sarah. 

In civic government Mr. Borden 1 s interest and 
business talent have long been conspicuous. For 
a number of years he served the city as alderman 
and in the city council was chairman of the finance 
committee for a protracted period. He is one 
of the active members of the Algonquin Club. 

William White Griffin, after leaving high 
school, tested out his ambition and his capabili- 
ties by performing the duties of a messenger 
for the First National Bank of Elizabeth City, 
North Carolina. By steady persistence and a 
show of responsibility in every task he rose to 
assistant cashier, and in May, 1909, when a 
young man with considerable banking experi- 
ence to his credit, he removed to Newbern and 
was given the post of assistant cashier with the 
National Bank of Newbern. Since January, 1915, 
Mr. Griffin has been cashier of this institution. 

He was born in Elizabeth City, Nortli Caro- 
lina, October 1, 1883, a son of William Joseph 
and Camilla Cook (Vaughan) Griffin. His father 
was a respected and successful attorney at Eliza- 
beth City for many years and is now deceased. 
William W. Griffin had his education in the 
public schools of Elizabeth City, where he com- 
pleted the high school course. He is a thirty- 
second degree Scottish Rite Mason and Shriner, 



70 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



and is also affiliated with the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks and the Improved Order 
of Red Men. He is treasurer of Christ Episcopal 
Church at Newbern. 

Robert W. Palmer, M. D. Since graduating 
in medicine over a quarter of a century ago, 
Doctor Palmer has been giving his services to 
a large community in and around Gulf in Chatham 
County, where he was born and reared and where 1 
the Palmer family has been prominent for nearly 
two centuries. Doctor Palmer is in addition to 
being a skilled physician and surgeon a merchant 
and planter and one of the chief men of affairs 
in that locality. 

Many historic names are found in the Palmer 
family and their connections. The great-great- 
grandfather of Doctor Palmer was Col. Robert 
Palmer. He was an officer in the English army, 
having been granted extensive tracts of land by 
the Crown. He came to North Carolina at the 
head of a colony of English people and settled 
at the old Town of Bath on the eastern shore. 
There he erected the Episcopal Church, which is 
still standing and in the vault in the old church 
his wife, Margaret, is buried. He had returned to 
England and died in the mother country. He 
enjoyed unusual privileges from the English 
Crown and at his death left great estates. 

His son, Robert Palmer, great-grandfather of 
Doctor Palmer, was sent to England to be edu- 
cated in Oxford University. After reaching man- 
hood he moved westward and took up large tracts 
of land in what is now the extreme lower por- 
tion of Chatham County and some of the land in 
what is now Lee County. Much of that land is 
in the vicinity of the present Town of Gulf, where 
the Palmer family have lived since long before 
the Revolution. 

The grandfather of Doctor Palmer was Joseph 
Palmer. He married a Miss McQueen. Her 
brother, Hon. Hugh McQueen, of Chatham County, 
was one of the big men of the state in his day, 
a leading lawyer and influential in politics and 
public affairs. He was a native of Chatham 
County, son of a Scotchman, represented his coun- 
ty in both branches of the General Assembly for 
several terms, was member of the convention of 
1835, and was attorney-general of North Caro- 
lina in 1840. He resigned that high office in 1842 
to go to Texas, where he took a part in the 
struggles of the young republic, and after the 
admission of Texas to the Union in 1846 was in 
the war against Mexico. Texas honored him as 
one of its dominant early figures of the Bar. He 
died in that state. 

Another family connection that should be noted 
was the wife of Robert Palmer, second. She was 
a member of the Alston family, famous both in 
England and the colonies. The Alstons on com- 
ing to America settled upon an extensive tract of 
land at the "Horseshoe" on Deep River in the 
northeast part of Moore County, not far from the 
Town of Gulf. They made settlement there be- 
fore the Revolution. The wife of Robert Palmer, 
second, was also related to Col. Philip Alston, a 
patriotic American, who was attacked and fought 
a battle with David Fanning, a tory leader, at 
the Alston home on Deep River. That home is 
still standing and in a good state of preserva- 
tion, though its timbers show numerous bullet 
holes. 

Dr. Robert W. Palmer was born near Gulf, 
Chatham County, in 1863, and is of English de- 



scent through both his father and mother. His 
parents were Dr. Archibald W. and Ellen ( Cham- 
bers ) Palmer. His father, who died in 1892, was 
graduated from the Jefferson Medical College 
with the class of 1853. He took high honors in 
scholarship and all his life enjoyed the highest 
esteem and friendship of members of his class 
and faculty, some of whom were among the great- 
est medical authorities of their day. For up- 
wards of forty years he carried on a large country 
practice. He did the heavy work of the profefe- 
sion in the days of travel by horseback with medi- 
cines and surgical instruments carried in saddle 
bags. The calls for his skill came from widely 
scattered neighborhoods, and he almost wore him- 
self out in the profession. 

The home at which Dr. Robert Palmer was 
born was two miles from the Town of Gulf on 
the north side of Deep River. He spent his boy- 
hood days there and attended school under Pro- 
fessor Kelly of the old Union Home School in 
Moore County. He studied medicine in Baltimore 
College of Physicians and Surgeons in 1887 and 
1888, and later in Louisville Medical College and 
was graduated with the class of 1890. Since 
then he has taken a number of post-graduate 
courses in New York and other medical centers. 
He is a successful physician and surgeon of gen- 
eral practice and has had his home at Gulf for 
a quarter of a century. 

Doctor Palmer was one of the founders of the 
Central Carolina Hospital at Sanford. He is 
local surgeon for the Norfolk & Southern Rail- 
road, and is a member of the Chatham County and 
State Medical societies and the Tri-State Medical 
Association. For several years he has been en- 
gaged in the drug business at Gulf, and is ac- 
tively identified with farming and other local 
enterprises. Doctor Palnier is a member of the 
Presbyterian Church. 

He married Miss Edna Russell, a daughter of 
W. T. Russell, a veteran of the Civil war. She 
was reared in the same vicinity as her husband. 
They have six children: Mary Lacy, Archibald, 
Herbert, Catherine, Robert and Margaret. 

Hon. Neil Angus Sinclair. As a lawyer Mr. 
Sinclair has practiced at Fayetteville for more 
than a quarter of a century and has earned a 
justly high place in the profession. He was a 
school master before he entered the legal profes- 
sion, and his interest in educational affairs has 
been a continuing one. This interest has become 
productive of great good and substantial benefits 
to the school system of his community and to that 
of the state at large. Many people have come to 
look upon this Fayetteville lawyer as the most 
distinguished democrat in North Carolina. His 
political leadership has been more than a nominal 
and honorary one. He has given careful thought 
and study to the broader problems and questions 
affecting the state 's welfare, and in some lines, 
notably in prison reform and education, has done 
much to replace old and antiquated ideas and sys- 
tems with the methods approved by the humane 
thought of the present century. 

Mr. Sinclair is descended from some of those 
splendid Scotch families that from colonial times 
have dominated the region of the Cape Fear River. 
He was born near Fayetteville in Cumberland 
County in 1863, a son of Doctor Duncan and Effie 
( McEachern) Sinclair. His grandfather and 
great-grandfather were respectively Neil Sinclair 
ami Duncan Sinclair, both natives of Scotland, 




&s. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



71 



who came to Kobeson County, North Carolina, 
about 1800. Neil Sinclair was a child at the time. 
The late Dr. Duncan Sinclair, who died at his 
home in Roberson County in 1907, was born at the 
old Sinclair homestead near St. Paul in that 
county. He possessed quick intelligence, loyalty 
to conscience, and the sturdy character of the old 
Scotch gentleman. His life was notable for its 
splendid service as a physician and he was the 
kindly sympathetic and capable old time country 
doctor. He was a graduate of the medical school 
of the University of Maryland, gave all his best 
years to practice, and his work was largely done 
in the country districts. Shortly before the war 
he removed to the vicinity of Fayetteville in Cum- 
berland County, and during the war had his 
headquarters at Fayetteville. While not an enlisted 
man in the Confederate government, lie served 
the cause in the noble and humane duty of taking 
care of and administering to the ills of the 
wounded and sick soldiers. He made numerous 
journeys to Richmond and to the front and 
brought back wounded soldiers to Fayetteville, tak- 
ing care of them on the train and after their 
arrival in Fayetteville. Some time after the war 
he returned to his old home in Robeson County 
and continued his practice there until his life 
came to its peaceful close. His busy professional 
career did not allow him much time for public 
service, but in 1875 he was a member of the con- 
stitutional convention. 

Neil Angus Sinclair was reared in Robeson 
County, attended local schools and a private school 
at Laurinburg, under the direction of the noted 
Professor Quaekenbush, one of the most talented 
teachers of his time. For three years he was a 
student in the University of North Carolina at 
Chappel Hill. After his University career Mr. Sin- 
clair became a teacher in the graded schools at 
Fayetteville, and the second year he was made 
superintendent of the school system, succeeding 
Prof. A. Graham, who went from Fayetteville to 
take charge of the Charlotte schools. While teach- 
ing Mr. Sinclair studied law privately, and in 1890 
passed the examination and was admitted to the 
bar at Fayetteville. Beginning his professional 
career with thorough equipment, he has steadily 
gained in power and resourcefulness and for a 
number of years has ranked among the foremost 
at the bar of North Carolina. 

Mr. Sinclair served one or two terms as county 
superintendent of schools and then became chair- 
man of the county board of education. In the lat- 
ter capacity he was made a member of the board 
of trustees of the graded school svstem in Favette- 
ville. and is still filling that position. He is one 
of the men whose time and study have largely 
brought about the development and upbuilding of 
Fayetteville 's school system and the construction 
of adequate buildings and the installation of mod- 
ern equipment and facilities. For a time he was a 
member of the board of trustees of the University 
of North Carolina. 

Hundreds of people who know him not as a 
lawyer nor as a local citizen have a pleasing ac- 
quaintance with Mr. Sinclair's standing and force- 
ful nower as an orator. He is without doubt one 
of the most capable speakers in the public forum 
of the state today. For some twelve or fifteen 
years he has taken a prominent part in every 
state political campaign. His usefulness perhaps 
reached its climax during the state and national 
campaign of 1916. He was almost constantly en- 
gaged in making speeches throughout the state, 



and he rendered such effective aid in rolling up a 
handsome majority for the national ticket in North 
Carolina that President Wilson wrote him a per- 
sonal letter expressing his cordial appreciation of 
his services. During that campaign Mr. Sinclair 
was presidential elector at large for North Caro- 
lina, and thus had the pleasure of exercising the 
formal choice of Woodrow Wilson for a second 
term in the White House. Mr. Sinclair has served 
as a member of the State Democratic Executive 
Committee and the State Democratic Advisory 
Committee. 

Mr. Sinclair is an ex-state senator. He rep- 
resented Cumberland County in the State Senate 
in the session of 1905. During that session he was 
chairman of the committee which handled the 
perplexing problem involved in the disposition of 
the North Carolina bonds issued under the Con- 
federacy and at that time held by the State of 
South Dakota. As is well known, all the Confed- 
erate state bonds after the close of the war were 
automatically repudiated, and the private holders 
of such securities endeavored from time to time to 
realize something from them. However, the con- 
stitutional prohibition preventing a private citizen 
from suing a state shut off all recourse until the 
ingenious device was adopted of transferring 
certain of these securities issued originally by 
North Carolina to the State of South Dakota, 
which of course could bring suit against another 

of ofp 

However, the service of his senatorial career of 
greatest benefit to North Carolina from the hu- 
manitarian point of view and affording him most 
satisfaction was in connection with the matter 
of establishing a parole system for penitentiary 
prisoners. He drew up and was instrumental in 
having enacted in the law the bill providing the 
legal machinery, by which the governor may grant 
a conditional pardon to prisoners, this pardon to 
be made permanent conditioned upon the paroled 
displaying good behavior and good intentions, or 
to be revoked at the discretion of the proper state 
officials. Under the old system a comparatively 
innocent youth or young man might be sentenced 
to a long term in the pentitentiary or on the chain 
o-ano-, and the experience was practically certain to 
wreck his life, since no matter what Ins efforts 
toward reformation were there was no provision 
for his conditional pardon. Mr. Sinclair was in- 
strumental in bringing the State of North Carolina 
into line with those commonwealths which have 
been foremost in advocating prison reform and 
more humanitarian methods of dealing with con- 
victs. Mr. Sinclair has made a close study of penal 
institutions, and wherever possible has sought to 
abolish the medieval methods of punishment and 
crueltv Beginning in 1907, he served eight years 
as solicitor of the Superior Court of his district, 
and while in that position he took it upon himself 
to warn superintendents of chain gangs against 
excessive cruelty, and wherever such cases of 
cruelty were flagrant he exercised all his influence 
to secure the removal of such officials. 

While his activities and interests are so closely 
identified with the public and the state. Mr. Sin- 
Hair is devoted to the delights of home and family. 
His home is on Havmount. just within the western 
limits of Favetteville. Here he has a place or 
three acres, 'sufficiently large to enable him to 
indulge his fondness for country life. He has 
fruit trees, pecan trees, and has garden and poul- 
try. He thoroua-hlv enjoys the privacy and com- 
fort afforded by this home, and however strenuous 



72 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



his life may be on the outside he finds complete 
relaxation and rest when within his private 
precincts. 

Mrs. Sinclair was formerly Miss Augusta Worth. 
Her father, the late J. A. Worth, of Fayetteville, 
was a member of one of the most distinguished 
families of North Carolina. He was the youngest 
brother of Governor Jonathan Worth, and another 
brother, Dr. J. M. Worth, was at one time state 
treasurer of North Carolina. Mrs. Sinclair through 
her mother is connected with the Walker family, 
which has had a large and historic part in the 
state. Mr. and Mrs. Sinclair have three children: 
Kate Worth, wife of James E. Williamson; Effie, 
wife of Frederick F. Travis; and Miss Eunice 
Sinclair. 

Dan Hugh McLean. The Scotch are natural 
lovers of stirring times; they are born fighters, 
both for their rights and the liberties of other 
people, and if they cannot be in the fray on 
the physical field of battle they are quite apt 
to seek the arena of politics and public con- 
flirts. These remarks hold especially good as ap- 
plied to the careers of the McLeans of Harnett 
County, North Carolina — Col. Dan H. and his 
father, Gen. A. D. McLean. 

Before the Civil war General McLean was a 
noted educator, as well as a brigadier general 
of state militia. He was born near Lillington, 
Harnett County, and for years conducted a prepa- 
ratory school for boys at Summerville, his home 
being about 2% miles west of that village. He 
prepared boys for college, and at his institution 
many young men who afterward became promi- 
nent citizens received their schooling. During the 
war he held various civil offices under the Con- 
federacy, and was a member of the Legislature 
while Vance was governor. In 1880 he was a 
member of the State Senate, and died in 1882, 
at the age of seventy-five. Of pure Scotch an- 
cestry, he is said to have been descended from 
ancestors who came to North Carolina after the 
battle of Culloden, in 1746, by which the Scotch 
Jacobites, or supporters of the Stuarts, met a 
crushing defeat. Many of them immigrated to 
the American colonies at that time. 

Dan Hugh McLean was born at Summerville, 
near Lillington, in 1847, and attended his father's 
noted school. He was only fourteen at the out- 
break of the war between the states, and en- 
listed in the first company that went out from 
Harnett County, being attached to the Fifth North 
Carolina Volunteer Infantry, commanded by 
Colonel McKenney. So far as the records show, 
he was the youngest soldier to be actively engaged 
in the Confederate service. His first battle was 
at Yorktown, under General Magruder and Bell, 
and not loner afterward he was assigned to a bat- 
tery of artillery in Virginia under Colonel Poe. 
The youth served throughout the war in the army 
of Northern Virginia, and was in the battles of 
Chancellorsville, the Wilderness, Spottsylvania 
and Petersburg Crater and the final surrender of 
Appomattox. He acquitted himself with valor 
and with so much judgment that he became adju- 
tant of his company. As a tribute to these qual- 
ities in one so young he has always been called 
colonel. 

On account of the devastation that came with 
war and the disarrangement of all family and 
individual plans following it, Colonel McLean re- 
ceived no further education from regular insti- 
tutions of learning, but he has always been a 



close reader and a sound thinker, and his speech 
and manner carries with them an air of scholarly 
depth and distinction. His life-long association 
with able men has also brought him an ease of 
bearing and a broad and ready fund of informa- 
tion with which mere contact with books and col- 
leges would never have endowed him. Finally, 
his legal education has given him the intellectual 
and methodical training to solidify his other gifts. 

Colonel McLean studied law under the late 
William B. Wright, a leading attorney of Fay- 
etteville, and was licensed to practice at Lilling- 
ton, the county seat of Harnett County, in 1876. 
Since that year he has practiced constantly and 
successfully, and has also taken part in every cam- 
paign as an able and aggressive democrat. Noth- 
ing pleases him better than to have the odds 
against him ; for then he can prove the temper 
of his metal. Since the reconstruction period he 
had fought in many sensational contests, and the 
part he has taken in them would make highly in- 
teresting reading. His first political office was 
held in 1876, when he was a member of the Leg- 
islature. He was also elected in 1898, being one 
of those who brought North Carolina back into 
the democratic fold after the populist-fusion up- 
rising of the early '90s. In 1916 he was nomi- 
nated by his party for state senator, his district 
comprising Lee, Harnett, Sampson and Johnston 
counties. It was a district hopelessly republican, 
and he did not expect an election, but he had 
the satisfaction of reducing the republican ma- 
jority from 1,250 to less than 200, and of re- 
deeming his own county to the democracy. He 
has twice served as a presi dental elector — in 
1880 he represented his district on the Hancock 
ticket, and in 1900, with Hon. Lee Overman (pres- 
ent United States senator) he was chosen elector- 
at-largre from North Carolina on the Bryan ticket. 
All the indications and the facts show that he 
is highly honored and greatly beloved in his home 
town and county, and in the state of his na- 
tivity. 

Colonel McLean married Miss Mary McDou- 
gald, daughter of Neil McDougald and grand- 
daughter of Rev. Allen McDougald ; the last named 
a native of Scotland who came to North Carolina 
and became one of the noted Presbyterian divines 
of the state. In early years of his ministry, 
when there were still many of the Scotch settlers 
who spoke Gaelic, it was his custom to preach 
first a sermon in English and then a discourse in 
Gaelic. 

The Colonel and Mrs. McLean have two sons 
and two daughters. One of their sons, A. M. 
McLean, is a graduate of Wake Forest Law 
School, a young lawyer of prominence, and asso- 
ciated with his father in practice. John Tyler 
McLean is editor of the Age-Herald, the leading 
paper of Birmingham, Alabama. Another son, 
Dan Hugh, Jr., died in 1915, aged twenty-three. 
He was a young man of beautiful character, en- 
joying the esteem of all who knew him. 

David A. Hot t rton\ Two years ago David A. 
Houston had achieved a position as a business 
man and financier that made him known at least 
all over Union County, where he was cashier 
of the First National Bank of Monroe. His 
friends have always been greatly impressed by 
his integrity and energy, and have expressed no 
astonishment when new opportunities or promo- 
tions came to him. From the position of country 
banker Mr. Houston has recently been elevated 




'^^^^L^i^l , 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



73 



to one of the most responsible financial offices in 
the South, first as treasurer and then as presi- 
dent of the Federal Land Bank at Columbia, 
South Carolina, which operates for the states of 
North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia and 
Florida under the Eural Credits Act. In his 
position Mr. Houston has the direction and su- 
pervision of millions of dollars distributed 
through this bank as loans to southern farmers 
and land owners. 

Like many of the leading men of the country, 
Mr. Houston started upon his career as an edu- 
cator, and from that entered business and bank- 
ing. He is a well versed lawyer, and has been 
admitted to practice. He was born in 1871 at 
Monroe in Union County, son of Eobert V. and 
Lessie (Covington) Houston. His paternal grand- 
father, H. M. Houston, was the first clerk of the 
Superior Court of Union County, his maternal 
grandfather, Major D. A. Covington, being the 
second incumbent of that office. It is worthy of 
note as a remarkable coincidence that their 
grandson, in later years, was selected for the 
same honor. H. M. Houston was born in Union 
County and became a very prominent man of his 
day and a large landholder in Union County 
and at Monroe, his home being just northwest 
of the city. This branch of the Houston family 
is descended from the stock that produced the 
distinguished educator, Dr. David Franklin 
Houston, who was born in Union County, was 
president of the University of Texas, and of 
Washington University, St. Louis', Missouri, and 
who now occupies the position of secretary of 
agriculture in the cabinet of President Wilson. 

Eobert V. Houston, father of David A. 
Houston, was born in Union County in 1846, and 
grew up on the home plantation northwest of 
Monroe, where he was living at the outbreak of 
the war between the states. He was a mere lad 
at the time, but did his share in the support of 
the Confederacy as a member of the Home Guard 
Eeserves. A few years after the war he re- 
moved to the City of Monroe, where he passed 
the remainder of his life, his chief occupation 
being in looking after his large landed interests 
in the county and elsewhere, although he was 
also interested in several local business enter- 
prises. He always took a prominent and spir- 
ited part in the affairs of his city and county, 
and served for two or three terms as mayor of 
Monroe and as a member of the Legislature of 
the stnte, in both of which capacities he won 
distinction as a capable, energetic and honorable 
public servant. His death occurred in 1913, 
when he was sixtv-seven years of age, at which 
time the community lost one of its best and 
most highly honored citizens. Mr. Houston mar- 
ried Lessie Covington, a daughter of the late 
Mai. D. A. Covington, one of Union County's 
distinguished citizens and a gallant officer ' in 
the war between the states. He was the grand- 
father of Thomas W. Bickett, the present gov- 
ernor of North Carolina. 

^ David A. Houston received a thorough educa- 
tion in his youth, first attending the public 
schools of Monroe, and then entering- Trinity Col- 
lege from which old and distinguished institu- 
tion he was graduated with the degree of 
Bachelor of Arts in the class of 1891. Following 
this he taught for two vears at Trinity, where 
he occupied the chair of political science, and 
sub«equentlv was put in charge of the business 
education department of the institution. He had 



studied pharmacy, and after securing a state 
pharmaceutical license in 1895, established the 
Houston Pharmacy at Monroe, an establishment 
situated on the west side of Main Street. Here 
Mr. Houston built up a large and successful busi- 
ness, and through energy and industry, combined 
with courtesy, attracted a representative trade 
among the best families of the city. While still 
engaged in this business he became a candidate 
for the office of clerk of the Superior Court, of 
which office, as before noted, both his paternal 
and maternal grandfathers had been incumbents 
in former years. He was duly elected for a term 
of four years, beginning in 1906, and so well 
did he discharge his duties that in 1910 he was 
again the choice of his fellow-citizens for this 
office. After serving one year of his second 
term, however, he resigned from the position to 
assume the duties of cashier of the First Na- 
tional Bank of Monroe. This is one of the strong 
banks of Western North Carolina, with a capital 
of $100,000 and a surplus of over $25,000. It 
has behind it some of the leading moneyed men 
of this part of the state,. 

Prior to entering the court house, Mr. Houston 
had become interested in the study of law, not 
with the idea of adopting it as a profession but 
rather as a help to him in his business. While 
acting as clerk of the Superior Court of Union 
County he had many opportunities for protecting 
himself in legal matters, and was able to pass 
the examinations and secure his license to prac- 
tice. His legal attainments stand him in par- 
ticularly good stead in the banking business. 

Mr. Houston married Miss Berta Totten, who 
was born in Caswell County, North Carolina, 
daughter of Eobert Allen and Lottie (Eutlaud) 
Totten. They have six children : Hugh F., Euth, 
Berta Allen, David A., Jr., F. M. and Charlotte. 

Mrs. Houston has studied music and dramatic 
art under some of the best talent in this country 
and is well known in musical and literary circles. 
Whatever of success thus far in life has come 
to Mr. Houston, he does not fail to credit Mrs. 
Houston with her part in the inspiration. 

Eev. Paul n Barringer. Formerly an active 
minister of the Eeformed Church and now a 
cotton manufacturer, Eev. Paul Barringer, sec- 
retary, treasurer and manager of the Tuscarora 
cotton mill at Mount Pleasant, is a member of 
the distinguished Barringer family of North 
Carolina. His career has been one in which he 
has shown versatility, as well as courage in the 
face of obstacles. His entire training had been 
along the line of his profession and his religious 
work had absorbed his entire attention so that 
when he became afflicted with a misfortune that 
deprived him of his oratorical powers, he was 
forced to enter upon some business entirely strange 
to him. That he has since been so successful as 
a business man is indicative of his possession of 
abilities far beyond the ordinary. 

Eev. Paul Barringer was born in 1850, near 
Mount Pleasant, Cabarrus County, North Carolina, 
being a. son of John Daniel and Christina (Hahn) 
Barringer. His paternal grandfather was Paul 
Barringer, his great-grandfather, John Barringer, 
and his great-great grandfather, John Paul Bar- 
ringer, who founded the family in America. 
John Paul Barringer was born in the duchy of 
Wurttembury, Germany, in 1721. The family 
were originally French Huguenots, and several 
members left France about 1600, before the revo- 



74 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



cation of the Edict of Nantes, some of them 
going to England and some to Germany. John 
Paul Barringer left his native land and arrived 
at Philadelphia in 1743. There he was first 
married to Ann Eliza Eisman, and the young 
couple settled in the Wyoming Valley, and two 
children, Catherine and John, were born there. 
About 1753, during the time that a strong emi- 
gration had turned southward among the Ger- 
mans, this family came to North Carolina and 
settled in what is now Cabarrus County, on Dutch 
Buffalo Creek, about opposite the place where the 
founder afterward built his big home, "Poplar 
Grove. ' ' Just before the Revolutionary war, his 
first wife died, and in 1777 he again married, this 
time being united with Catharine Blackwelder. 
To this union there were born seven children, of 
whom Gen. Paul Barringer of the War of 1812 
was one. John Paul Barringer became a man of 
wealth and prominence in the early history of 
North Carolina. He was a Revolutionary patriot 
anil was a captain of Colonial Militia. During 
the war he was captured by the Tories and car- 
ried prisoner to Camden, .South Carolina, and was 
a prisoner there at the time of the battle of 
Camden. He was the leading spirit in the separa- 
tion of a new county from Mecklenburg and 
which was named Cabarrus County, this event 
taking place in 1792, and in 1793 was a member 
of the State Legislature from the new county. 
He accumulated a large estate and died at the 
age of eighty-six years, January 1, 1807, being 
laid to rest in the old Saint John's churchyard 
near Mount Pleasant. 

The son referred to above, Gen. Paul Barringer, 
was born at Poplar Grove in 1778. He received 
a classical education and at the age of twenty- 
one years settled at Concord, the county seat, 
and began a long and successful career as a 
merchant, planter and a man prominently con- 
nected with public affairs of North Carolina for 
forty -five years. He married Elizabeth Brandon, 
a member of another distinguished North Caro- 
lina family, and they reared nine children, the 
eldest ' of whom was Daniel Moreau Barringer, 
who became one of the nation's leading states- 
men and diplomats. The ninth son was Gen. 
Rufus Barringer of Civil war fame. Gen. Paul 
Barringer was commissioned by Governor Haw- 
kins a brigadier-general of volunteers in the War 
of 1812. He was a man of great public spirit, 
and among other things subscribed liberally to the 
building of the Raleigh & Gaston Railroad, the 
first in North Carolina, and to the building of the 
Concord Cotton Mill, a pioneer in what has since 
become one of the greatest industries of the 
South. His death occurred in 1844. 

Daniel Moreau Barringer, referred to in the 
foregoing, was the most distinguished of the 
name in public service, to which he devoted the 
best years of his life, to the practical exclusion of 
all private considerations. He was born at Pop- 
lar Grove. July 30, 1806. and was graduated from 
the University of North Carolina in 1826, fol- 
lowing which he studied law and began the prac- 
tice of that profession at Concord in 1828. He 
was elected to the Legislature in 1829. and in 183.") 
was elected a member of the convention which re- 
vised and amended the state constitution. Tn 1843 
he was elected to Congress from the Second Con- 
gressional District, and reelected in 1845 and 1847. 
In 1849 he declined a reelection and was then 
by President Taylor appointed minister to Spain, 



being subsequently reappointed to this post by 
President Fillmore. His services to his country, in 
Congress and as a foreign diplomat, were of the 
highest character and utmost usefulness. In 
Allen Thorndike' Rice's " Reminiscences of Abra- 
ham Lincoln, " he is referred to as one of the 
three or four most eloquent members of the House 
of Representatives when Mr. Lincoln first took his 
seat in Congress; and it is an interesting fact that 
Mr. Lincoln and Mr. Barringer subsequently be- 
came deskmates and firm friends. 

Gen. Rufus Barringer, another son of Gen. Paul 
Barringer, had a distinguished career as a lawyer 
and statesman before and after the Civil war, and 
as a brigadier general in the Confederate army. 
He died at his home at Charlotte in 1895. 

The old Barringer place, where Rev. Paul Bar- 
ringer was born, is two miles northeast of the 
Town of Mount Pleasant, on Dutch Buffalo Creek. 
The house in which he was born is still standing, 
being one of the landmarks of the community. In 
his youth he was granted the advantages of a good 
educational training, first attending the old North 
Carolina College at Mount Pleasant, also Catawba 
College, Newton, North Carolina, later going to 
Heidelberg College at Tiffin, Ohio. He was first 
married when a young man of twenty-three to Miss 
Mary J. Foil, and began farming, and after her 
death he resumed his studies at Catawba College. 
He finished his education after this and three years 
subsequent to her death he married her sister. Miss 
Alice E. Foil, who was the mother of all of his 
living children. Their names are as follows: 
Dr. G. R. Barringer, O. A., Katie Foil, Mary C, 
Lilly A., Herman and Ruth. Mrs. Barringer died 
in later years, and since then Mr. Barringer has 
married his present wife, who was Mrs. Margaret 
Alice (Cruse) Kluttz. 

Reverend Barringer had prepared in college for 
the ministry of the Reformed Church in the United 
States. His first pastorate was in what is known 
as the West Rowan charge, of which he became 
pastor in 1881, making his home at China Grove. 
He served that charge for about 12% years, and 
subsequently became pastor of the Concord and 
Gilead churches, the latter being three miles 
northeast of Concord, and which he served for 
about twenty-one years. He was compelled then 
to retire from the ministry because of a severe 
attack of ' ' speaker 's sore throat, ' ' and he then 
returned to Mount Pleasant and established his 
permanent home in this town, near his birthplace. 
While his previous business experience had been 
confined to looking after the financial interests of 
the churches of which he was pastor and of some 
moderate investments of his own, Mr. Barringer 
engaged in the cotton mill business, and soon was 
conversant therewith and making a success of it. 
He was elected president of the Kindley Cotton 
Mill, the first to be built at Mount Pleasant, it 
being established in 1897. Later he withdrew from 
this enterprise and became associated with Mr. J. 
W. Cannon, of Concord, in the building of the 
Tuscarora Cotton Mill at Mount Pleasant, which 
began operations in 1901, and of which Mr. Bar- 
ringer is secretary, treasurer and manager. This 
is a modern mill, equipped with 4,000 spindles and 
manufactures high-grade hosiery yarns. Mr. Bar- 
ringer organized the Barringer Manufacturing 
Company at Rockwell of which he was elected 
president, but now holds the position of director. 
He occunies a nrominent position in the business 
life of Mount Pleasant and is also active in the 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



75 



public life of the community, taking an energetic 
part in all movements that have been promoted to 
foster and add to the general welfare. 

Belk Brothers is a name that has made com- 
mercial history in North Carolina. Less than 
thirty years ago William H. Belk started a store 
in the Town of Monroe. This store had patron- 
age, the patronage increased, but the business was 
noteworthy chiefly as being the foundation of 
what William H. Belk and his brother, Dr. John 
M. Belk, who joined him- after a year or two, 
have built up during subsequent years. The en- 
terprise of Belk Brothers now extends over more 
than a dozen stores and they furnish their serv- 
ice and distribute goods to a dozen communities, 
including the largest city in the state, Charlotte. 

The Belk Brothers are natives of a historic 
community of the Carolinas. They and their 
family belong to the Waxhaw district of Union 
County. This district was once the home of the 
Catawba Indians, figured in the Revolutionary war, 
was the locality in which some of the earlier 
gold mines were exploited, and was also the home 
of a number of famous men. President Andrew 
Jackson was born there, and President James K. 
Polk's birthplace was not more than ten miles 
away, while close by, though over the state line in 
South Carolina, are the birthplace? of Hayne, 
Hampton and other great men in American history. 
This original Waxhaw settlement extended into 
Lancaster County, South Carolina, and in that 
region, so rich in history and in men and women 
of such sturdy character and achievements, the 
Belk brothers had their origin. 

William H. Belk was born in Lancaster County, 
South Carolina, not far from the present Town 
of Waxhaw, June 2, 1862. His brother, Dr. John 
M. Belk was born July 12, 1864. The founder 
of the Belk family in America was John Belk, who 
was born in Middleborough, England, and came 
about 1745 to North Carolina, being one of the 
early settlers in what is now Union County. He 
located in what was then Anson, later Mecklenburg, 
and is now in Buford Township of Union County. 
Some of the descendants of the original stock still 
live in Middleborough, and are among the intel- 
lectual and cultured people of that county. A 
leading firm of lawyers in Middleborough is 
Messrs. Belk, Cochrane & Belk. 

John Belk, founder of the family in America, 
had seven sons and daughters. Two of the sons, 
John and Darling Belk, moved across the line into 
South Carolina before the Revolutionary war, and 
both of them were soldiers in that struggle. John 
Belk of South Carolina had a son John, and Thomas 
Belk. son of the latter John, was father of Abel 
N. W. Belk. 

Abel Nelson Washington Belk, father of the 
Belk brothers, was born in Lancaster County, 
South Carolina, and was a successful planter. Al- 
though a non-combatant and living peacefully at 
home, he was wantonly killed in the last year of 
the war by marauding soldiers from Sherman's 
army. He married Miss Sarah N. Walkup. Her 
father, Robert Walkup, was born in the Waxhaw 
community during the Revolutionary war and her 
grandfather, Capt. James Walkup, served in the 
Continental line in the war against England. 
One of the smaller battles of the Revolution oc- 
curred at Walkup 's Mill, the home place of this 
family, not far from Waxhaw in what was then 
Mecklenburg Countv. One of Sarah Walkup 's 
brothers was Col. Samuel H. Walkup, who was 



colonel of the Forty-eighth North Carolina Infan- 
try during the war between the states. Sarah 
N. Walkup was born at Waxhaw in 1836 and 
after the death of Abel Belk she married John 
P. Simpson, who died in the summer of 1916. 
Mrs. Simpson now lives at Monroe. 

Some special mention should be made of another 
member of the Belk family. This was James Belk, 
a grandson of the original settler, John Belk. 
James was the son of Brittain Belk, who was killed 
by the Tories in the Revolutionary war. James 
Belk was born in 1765. He was with his father 
at Charlotte at the promulgation of the Meck- 
lenburg Declaration of Independence on May 20, 
1775. A century later he attended the centennial 
anniversary of that occasion at Charlotte in 1875, 
and perhaps such an experience was never enjoyed 
by any other man. He died in 1876, at the age 
of one hundred eleven. 

When the Belk brothers were boys they went 
to Monroe, the county seat of Union County, in 
1873. William H. Belk had his early commercial 
experience as clerk for B. D. Heath & Company. 
With a capital of only a few dollars he bought in 
1888 a small stock of goods and opened what was 
known as a " racket ' ' store. He put into this 
business qualities which make the successful mer- 
chant everywhere, and in 1889 established a 
branch store of the same kind at Chester, South 
Carolina, in partnership with A. W. Kluttz. In 
1890 his brother Dr. John M. Belk bought an inter- 
est in the store at Monroe. Doctor Belk is a grad- 
uate of the Medical School of the University of the 
City of New York with the class of 1887, and had 
in the meantime practiced for several years at 
Morven in Anson County. Both the brothers at 
that time possessed very limited means but had 
a good name and what they had done so far gave 
them greater credit than actual capital. In 1891 
they opened an additional store at Union, South 
Carolina, associated with R. P. Harry under the 
firm name Harry & Belk. 

In 1895 the Belk brothers had advanced so far 
in their mercantile enterprise that they were ready 
to invade Charlotte, the largest city in the state. 
There they established a department store occupy- 
ing a building with four large rooms. Though to 
some degree outsiders, their success in the rich and 
growing city was almost immediate, and from 
Charlotte they have since continued branching out 
and building up a noteworthy chain of stores. 
In 1899 they opened a department store at Greens- 
boro, and during the same year a store at Gas 
tonia. In 1902 they started a large store at Salis- 
bury and also a store in their old home community, 
the Town of Waxhaw. Since then Belk Brothers 
have established stores at Yorkville, South Caro- 
lina, Wilmington, Rockingham, Concord, Sanford, 
Raleigh, Winston-Salem and Kannapolis, making a 
totnl now of fifteen stores. 

Thus they have attained rank among the grout 
merchants of the South. Their firm name is an 
exact synonym of success, integrity and business 
credit. It was not dollars, but initiative, energy 
and faith that figured most prominently in the ex- 
pansion of the Belk enterprise. Each of the part- 
ners refused to be limited by material handicaps, 
lack of credit or other obstacles. Along with un- 
limited enthusiasm and energy they also possessed 
other qualities necessary for success. W. H. Belk 
has been called a born salesman, and he undoubt- 
edly has a renins for merchandising. From the 
time he sold his first goods he has exemplified 
the spirit of commercial service, and has exempli- 



76 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



fied that rule of commercial life that success is 
only a just reward for an adequate service deliv- 
ered. Some one has well said that stormproof 
character is at the foundation of the house of 
Belk. Material prosperity has been only an inci- 
dent of their business career. Doubtless they 
take even more pleasure and pride in the manner 
in which their business has been conducted. "Bet- 
ter than honors or wealth is an irreproachable 
name." 

Besides the large chain of retail mercantile 
establishments the Belk Brothers have been and 
are stockholders and in some cases officials of a 
number of other mercantile and manufacturing 
concerns. They are among the most prominent 
factors in the present great commercial and indus- 
trial development now going on in North Caro- 
lina. They have taken an active interest in public 
affairs and give generously of their time and 
means to church, to educational institutions and 
to worthy philanthropic enterprises. 

Dr. J. M. Belk maintains his home at Monroe. 
W. H. Belk, the senior member of the firm, resides 
and makes his headquarters at Charlotte, where 
for several years he has been one of the city offi- 
cials, and also serves on a number of boards and 
committees connected with educational and reli- 
gious institutions. 

Allen M. Shaw. To tell the story of Har- 
nett County, North Carolina, would not be possi- 
ble without bringing forward the names and 
activities of its old families, and none of these 
have been of more historic interest than that of 
Shaw, which came here in 1 7 7 •"> . While agricul- 
tural pursuits have always been important voca- 
tional activities in the family, its members have 
also been concerned in military and professional 
life, and in every generation the persistence of 
sturdy virtues, together with marked family fea- 
tures, have been notable. A very prominent mem- 
1 er of this old family today is found in Hon. 
Allen M. Shaw, auditor of Harnett County and 
one of Lillington 's leading citizens. 

Allen M. Shaw was born at Lillington, North 
Carolina, September 20, 1876. His parents were 
Maj. Benjamin F. and Adelaide (Marsh) Shaw. 
His great-grandparents, Daniel and Sarah Shaw, 
came from the Isle of Skye, Scotland, across the 
stormy sea and down the Atlantic Coast in one 
of the little sailing ships that ventured as far as 
North Carolina, in 177.1, and landed at Wilming- 
ton. Pleased with the genial climate and evi- 
dences of the prodigality of nature, so different 
from their native isle, they decided to establish 
;i permanent home in this beautiful section. In 
the same year they came up the Cape Fear River 
And located one mile northwest of McNeill's Ferry, 
in what is now Harnett County, and about five 
miles east of the present Town of Lillington. 
Perhaps the change was too great for the consti- 
tution of the first Daniel Shaw, accustomed all 
his life to a rugged land, for he lived but a short 
time after his arrival, but left a namesake son, 
lorn in the new home in the same year. Grand- 
father Daniel Shaw in later years moved to a 
nearby plantation, which is now the site of the 
Town of Coats, and it was on that place that the 
late Maj. Benjamin Franklin Shaw was born, 
April 30, 1827.' He died at his home in Lilling- 
ton August 1.'!, 1908, being in his eighty-first year. 
Two of his brothers, Washington and John Allen 
Shaw, went to Texas in early days and assisted 
in securing the independence of that state and 



later they served in the Mexican war. Their 
home was in the eastern part of the state, at Jef- 
ferson, where John Benjamin Shaw, a son of John 
Allen Shaw, is a leading merchant. 

The late Major Shaw was a man of note in 
Harnett County, where he spent his entire life. 
He was made the first clerk of the court for 
Harnett County at the time of its organization 
and served in that capacity for twenty-three years, 
including the period of the war between the 
st.ates, holding this position as a civil office un- 
der the Conlederacy. • Previous to the war he had 
been in the state militia with the rank of major. 
The first county seat was at old Summerville, 
but it retained this distinction only a short time, 
however, and then was permanently established 
at Lillington, when Major Shaw removed to this 
place, which remained his home throughout the 
rest of his life. His was the first residence built 
at Lillington, and the old structure remains a 
part of the present Shaw home, enlarged and 
modernized in later years. 

An interesting fact connected with Major 
Shaw 's life was that he was one of the first 
telegraphers in America, acquiring the art while 
still a very young man, when telegraphy may be 
said to have been in its infancy, and before he 
settled at Lillington was a telegraph operator on 
the first telegraph line that was constructed in 
North Carolina. After Major Shaw retired from 
the position of clerk of the Superior Court he 
became a member of the county board of com- 
missioners, on which he served for a number of 
years and was actively concerned in the duties 
of his position and with other responsibilities at 
the courthouse until 1904. He was widely known 
and greatly esteemed, knowing everybody and be- 
ing thoroughly familiar with every phase of the 
county's history and progress. He was often 
called upon for information that legal papers 
failed to reveal or prove, his integrity being such 
that his recollections would often be accepted 
when paper records were matters of doubt. Al- 
though never ^qualifying as a lawyer, he had a 
legal mind and his long period of official life had 
developed it so well that his friends often de- 
clared his opinions were as valuable as many 
evolved by their attorneys. 

Major Shaw married Adelaide Marsh, who be- 
longed to a prominent old family of Chatham 
County, where she was born. She was a daugh- 
ter of John Robert Marsh. Her great-grandfatner 
was Capt. William Marsh, who was an officer in 
the Revolutionary war. He was born in Virginia, 
in 1751, and came to Chatham County, North 
Carolina, before that war, and died there in 1854 
at the age of one hundred and three years. He 
was a man of large property, in lands and slaves, 
owning thousands of acres of land on the Haw and 
Deep rivers. He is described as a man of edu- 
cation, aristocratic taste and manner and of per- 
sonal dignity that the encroachments of extreme 
age did not diminish. He was the progenitor of 
a large family and it is estimated that there are 
at least 5,000 of his descendants in North Caro- 
lina, Georgia and Tennessee. 

Allen M. Shaw was educated in the schools of 
Lillington and at Summerville Academy, under 
Prof. G. T. Hodge, a graduate of the Univer- 
sity of Virginia. In 1908 he was elected regis- 
ter of deeds for Harnett County, and filled that 
office continuously until 1914, and in 1916 he 
was elected county auditor. Mr. Shaw has al- 
ways been a democrat in his political sentiments. 





:;? -£^ 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



77 



His valuable farm lies within the corporate lim- 
its of Lillington and is one of the line agricul- 
tural properties of the county. 

Mr. Shaw was married to Miss Emma Pegram, 
who was born in Harnett County and is a daugh- 
ter of Eev. John Pegram, a minister in the Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church and a brother of Professor 
Pegram of Trinity College. Mr. and Mrs. Shaw 
have had two children: Adelaide and Benjamin 
F., the daughter alone surviving. Mr. Shaw is a 
Eoyal Arch Mason, and he is a member of the 
Baptist Church. His interests have always been 
centered in this section of the country and at all 
times his efforts, both personal and in a public 
capacity, have proved his good citizenship and 
honorable intentions. 

Oscar Wallace Lane. It has not been so 
much through the accumulated experiences of 
many years as through an unusual concentration 
of effort that Oscar Wallace Lane has won a 
successful position in business. He is still a 
young man in his early thirties, and is looked 
upon as one of the best informed bankers of the 
city of Newbern. 

Mr. Lane was born in Princess Ann County, 
Virginia, January 3, 1884, and is a son of 
Fletcher L. and Elizabeth (Ownley) Lane. His 
father was a farmer. Mr. Lane had a public 
school education and early in life began to make 
his own opportunities. He learned telegraphy 
and spent seven years as a telegraph operator with 
the railroad company. He began his bookkeep- 
ing experience as bookkeeper in the Bank of 
Edenton, North Carolina, where he remained 
six years, part of the time as assistant cashier. 
Coming to Newbern, he was assistant cashier 
of the Newbern Banking and Trust Company 
until July, 1915, when he was elected to his 
present post as cashier of that highly successful 
and prosperous institution. 

Mr. Lane is a thirty-second degree Scottish 
Eite Mason, a member of Soudan Temple of 
the Mystic Shrine, is also affiliated with the Be- 
nevolent and Protective Order of Elks and is a 
working member in the Baptist church. He was 
married January 10, 1917, to Maude Munger, of 
Newbern. Her father, Chauncey Wilson Munger, 
is a well-known lumber manufacturer of New- 
bern. 

Hon. James P. Cook. An individual's value 
to his fellow citizens is not always measured by 
what he has won in the battle with the world, but 
rather by that which he contributes toward its 
advancement and betterment. Almost any man, 
given health and a fair share of ability, can earn 
money, many are able to hold what they have 
earned, and quite a few can invest it to advantage, 
but it is only given to a certain small percentage 
of large-hearted, great-minded men who have a 
love for humanity imbedded in their natures to 
respond promptly to the call of the higher things 
of life and to bestow upon the public that which 
will prove of lasting benefit to the majority. A 
worthy example of the last named class is found in 
the person of Hon. James P. Cook, of Concord, 
a business man, ex-state senator and originator 
and benefactor of the state institution known as 
the Stonewall Jackson Manual Training and In- 
dustrial School. 

James P. Cook was born at Mount Peasant, 
Cabarrus County, North Carolina, in 1863, being 
a son of Matthew and Mary (Costner) Cook, both 



of whom are deceased. His father was born in 
Baden, Germany, in 1810, and received a good 
education in the excellent schools of that country. 
In 1830, at the age of twenty years, he came to 
America and, looking for a section where he could 
locate among others of his countrymen, ascer 
tained that there were German settlements in 
Catawba, Lincoln and Cabarrus counties, North 
Carolina. He accordingly made his way by boat 
to Charleston, South Carolina, and from that point 
to that part of Lincoln County, North Carolina, 
that now lies in Gaston County. There, while still 
a very young man, he was united in marriage with 
Miss Mary Costner, daughter of Jonas and Susan 
(Hoffman) Costner, members of prominent early 
settled German families of that section of the 
state. In the early '30s, and soon after his mar- 
riage, Mr. Cook became a trader in clocks and 
cooking utensils, establishing for this business 
three trading points, one being located at Lincoln- 
ton, one at Mount Pleasant in Cabarrus County, 
and the other in the extreme western part of that 
county. This was of course at that time a thinly 
settled country and his goods were distributed to 
his patrons by wagon. With typical German 
thrift and determination he made a success of this 
enterprise and accordingly was enabled to discon- 
tinue the wagon trade and to establish himself 
in a permanent mercantile business at Mount 
Pleasant. This, too, proved highly successful and 
for a long number of years he was a prosperous 
and substantial merchant at that place. Many men 
attain to greatness in their careers; others lead 
a very quiet existence and when they pass from 
life leave the world little better for their having 
lived in it. The man who makes a record worth 
remembering is not necessarily he who wins the 
plaudits of the multitude, but the one above whose 
grave may be truly said: "Well done, good and 
faithful servant.'' The clearest conception of the 
late Matthew Cook is contained in the words, ' ' He 
was a very worthy man. ' ' From childhood he 
seemed to be animated by the desire to do well 
whatever he undertook, and his efforts were amply 
rewarded. Thus he made his name stand for much 
in his community and left a precious heritage to 
his children. Beginning with his earliest trading 
activities, he earned a reputation for the strictest 
honor and integrity, a reputation that he main- 
tained all his life; everybody knew that what- 
ever he told them, whether in regard to merchan- 
dise or business affairs or anything else, could be 
absolutely depended upon. Many of the old 
"grandfather" clocks that he sold in his earliest 
business experience are in old country homes 
throughout this section of North Carolina to this 
day and are greatly cherishered for their faithful 
time-keeping qualities and for their interest and 
value as mementos of pioneer days. Matthew 
Cook passed to his well-earned reward in 1894, 
when eighty-four years of age. He and his good 
wife had a family of five sons and five daughters; 
of these three sons and three daughters are still 
living. The second oldest son, Michael, joined the 
Confederate army and was killed at the battle 
of Cold Harbor* in 1864. Mr. and Mrs. Cook 
reared their children well and gave them all a 
good education, although the war and its after 
effects seriously crippled for a time the family 
fortunes. 

Mrs. Mary (Costner) Cook, as noted above, was 
a daughter of Jonas and Susan (Hoffman) Cost- 
ner, members of prominent old-time families of 
Lincoln County whose home was in that portion 



78 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



of Lincoln which has since become Gaston County. 
Jonas Costner was born in Lincoln County m 
1799, the son of Michael and Barbara (Rudisillj 
Costner. Michael Costner was the son of Jacou 
Costner and the grandson of Adam Costner, a 
native of Germany, who founded the family in 
North Carolina about 1750. Jacob Costner, about 
1753, received the first grant of land that is on 
record in the section now embraced in Lincoln, 
Gaston and Catawba counties. The maternal 
grandmother of James P. Cook, Susan (Hoffman) 
Costner, was born in 1804 and lived to be over 
ninety years of age. She was a daughter of John 
Hoffman, Sr., and the granddaughter of Jacob 
Hoffman, Sr., a native of Germany, who was the 
founder of the prominent Hoffman family of Lin- 
coln County, where he settled about 1750. James 
P. Cook's maternal great-grandfather, John Hoff- 
man, Sr., although only a boy of sixteen years 
when the Revolutionary war began, was an Ameri- 
can soldier. under Colonel Hambright at the battle 
of King 's Mountain. He married Margaret Hovis. 

James P. Cook was educated at North Carolina 
College (which afterward became the Mount 
Pleasant Collegiate Institute) in the preparatory 
and collegiate departments, and was graduated 
therefrom in the class of 1885. The next day 
after his graduation he went to the southern part 
of Cabarrus County and took charge of a country 
high school, where he taught for one year, and 
at the end of that time, at the request of the 
citizens of Concord, took charge of what was then 
known as the Boys' High School at Concord, in 
which capacity he remained for three years. He 
established his permanent home at Concord in 
1887 and three years later went into the news- 
paper business and established the Daily Standard, 
the first daily newspaper of that place and the 
only daily paper in North Carolina that was pub- 
lished in as small a town as Concord was at that 
time. This was a highly successful venture and 
paid him well financially, and in fact proved the 
foundation upon which have been established his 
present successful business enterprises and his 
ample resources. He conducted the Daily Standard 
until 1896, when, having received a good offer 
from an educational publishing concern, to which 
he desired to devote all his time, he sold out his 
interests and went on the road for the firm re- 
ferred to, although he continued to maintain his 
home &t Concord. He continued in the educational 
publishing business, with success and profit, for 
several years, but his present business interests 
are mainly in farms in Cabarrus County, etc., thus 
allowing him to devote all his active time to the 
philanthropic and uplift work which is such a 
great part of his life and which is described later 
on. 

In 1886, without Mr. Cook's knowledge and 
without notification in advance, he was elected 
county superintendent of schools of Cabarrus 
County. He held that position until 1896, when 
lie was elected chairman of the county board of 
education, and in the latter capacity he remained 
until 1912. In 1912 he was elected a member of 
the North Carolina State Senate, representing a 
senatorial district comprising Cabarrus and Meck- 
lenburg counties, the latter being the largest and 
wealthiest county in the state. He served in the 
regular session of 1913 and in the extra session 
of that body, and was chairman of the finance 
committee, which originated the new revenue bill. 
Chairman Cook demanded, and as a result of his 
efforts there was included in this bill, the pro- 



vision whereby corporations pay a graduated tax, 
that is, a small corporation pays a smaller tax, 
according to its capital, etc., tnan a larger one, 
instead of all corporation being assessed tne same 
amount regardless of size, which system had pre- 
\ ailed heretofore. The new law was particularly 
beneficial to the small cotton nulls which had 
suffered from discrimination under the old law. 
Mr. Cook was also a member of several otner 
committees and was second man on the educational 
committee and took an active interest in the gen- 
eral legislation of the state. Mr. Cook is secre- 
tary and treasurer of the North Carolina Rail- 
road, the railroad owned by the state. This is an 
appointive position that he holds under the gov- 
ernor, and to which he was appointed by former 
Governor Craig. 

A little incident that occurred during the time 
Mr. Cook was the editor of the Daily Standard 
had a great bearing on his subsequent life, and, 
as it has turned out, a great and beneficent in- 
fluence on the lives of many others and will con- 
tinue to have for countless years to come. In his 
rounds one day he noticed that a very poor and 
ill-reared boy of thirteen years, whom he had for- 
merly known in the country and in whom he had 
taken an interest, had, in the local court, been 
convicted of a petty theft and sentenced to work 
out a severe sentence in the chain gang. The 
thought of this weak, helpless boy, of such a ten- 
der age, and committing a trilling first offense, 
being compelled to carry a ball and chain with 
the lowest and most depraved negroes and crim- 
inals of every sort so inflamed his mind that 
he wrote and published in the Daily Standard a 
bitter, scathing editorial against such inequality 
of justice, filled with all the indignation that a 
man could find words to utter against such a re- 
volting procedure. This and subsequent editorials 
with which he followed it up, were the means of 
having the boy released. He did not stop with 
this, however, but continued a bold and vigorous 
agitation for reform in dealing with delinquent 
boys, a matter which up to that time had re- 
ceived not the least attention or consideration 
from the lawmakers of the state or, for that mat- 
ter, from the people generally. For this reason 
Mr. Cook's early efforts along this line met with 
but a slow response and scant sympathy and a 
coldness upon the part of the public that was dis- 
heartening. He kept on, however, with patience 
and perseverance, both as an editor as long as he 
was publisher of the paper, and afterward as a 
private citizen, in his efforts for modern juvenile 
reform, using his splendid ability and all the 
energy of a man mentally and physically alert to 
further the cause that had become, literally, a part 
of his life. Much of his work was done among 
legislators and state officials, and he gradually 
could see that his efforts were having the desired 
effect. It was not until 1907, however, that a 
legislature gathered at Raleigh that had the 
courage, wisdom and humanity to make a begin- 
ning in the desired legislation. In the session 
of that year an appropriation was made for the 
expense incidental to advertising for bids for a 
site and buildings for a state reform institution 
for boys. On September 3, 1907, Governor Glenn 
appointed a board of directors for the new insti- 
tution and at his request they met in the -Senate 
Chamber at Raleigh and organized, the board 
being composed of both men and women. At this 
first meeting Mr. Cook was elected chairman of 
the board and has continued in that capacity ever 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



79 



since. Upon advertising for bids, a number of 
Mr. Cook's friends got together at Concord and 
raised $10,000 to purchase a site for the new insti- 
tution at this place, thus having it located in his 
home city. This otter was immediately accepted, 
and by January, 1908, brick was being laid for 
the hist of the buildings. In Januady 12, 19U9, 
with two brick cottages completed, the new institu- 
tion was opened, there being one pupil received 
on the first day. 

It was at Mr. Cook 's suggestion that the new 
institution was named the Stonewall Jackson 
Manual Training and Industrial School. This was 
a happy thought, as it gave to the school the 
name of one of the South 's greatest and most 
beloved heroes — a name that would always com- 
mand respect and attention from all and in fact 
be a valuable asset to the school. The school 
is built on the cottage plan, all buildings being 
of brick, of substantial structure and artistic 
architectural appearance, making it one of the 
show places of Concord. Up to January, 1917, 
the capacity of the school had been ninety pupils; 
in that month another cottage was completed, 
bringing the capacity up to 120 boys. The site 
of the school is a beautiful elevation in the south- 
western part of Concord. 

While this institution is for the reformation 
of delinquent boys, it is a school in every sense 
of the word, all suggestions of a reformatory be- 
ing eliminated. The atmosphere of the place is 
continuously bright, cheerful and wholesome. 
There are no restraints. If a boy occasionally 
runs away, he usually comes back voluntarily. 
Kindness and patience, with just the necessary 
amount of firmness, are tactfully practiced. The 
superintendent and the teachers are the best to be 
secured. The idea is to build character and in- 
culcate good principles, while at the same time 
giving the boys useful education in academic 
branches and particularly in manual training, in- 
dustrial arts and agriculture. The institution is, 
of course, primarily for young boys just entering 
upon waywardness, those whose environments 
would naturally lead them into a life of crime 
if they were not taken in hand by such an institu- 
tion as this. In taking such boys from degrading 
environments and giving them a fair start toward 
useful manhood and citizenship, this institution 
is, it is needless to say, doing a work that will 
be of untold benefit to future generations. 

Mr. Cook, as chairman of the board of trustees 
of the school, of which all accord him the honor 
of being the "father," is quite naturally, and 
by his own choice, largely responsible for its con- 
duct and its continued success in the work for 
which it was designed. He devotes a great deal 
of this active time in furthering the interests of 
the school, and as a part of his services in this 
direction he publishes and edits under his own 
responsibility "The Uplift," a monthly journal 
devoted to the interests of the school and its 
attendants. The time spent by Mr. Cook in this 
noble philanthropic work could be devoted to 
labors which would bring him large emolument of 
a material sort, for his abilities are so well known 
that his services are constantly in demand and he 
could no doubt put his own price upon them. How- 
ever, he belongs to that all too small minority 
who are satisfied with having means commensurate 
with their needs, and whose unselfish spirit enables 
them to find the greatest possible satisfaction and 
reward in being of some service to the "other 
fellow, ' ' in bringing some measure of cheer and 



happiness to those who otherwise would not ex- 
perience it, in giving a chance in life to the un- 
fortunate, in making a blade of fresh, sturdy 
grass grow where before there had been but the 
withered, stunted stalk. 

Mr. Cook was married to Miss Margaret Jean- 
ette Norfleet, who was born in Nansemond County, 
Virginia, a daughter of Nathaniel G. and Mary E. 
(Darden) Norileet, and a member of a distin- 
guished .Revolutionary and Colonial Virginia fam- 
ily. On her mother 's side she is descended in 
direct line from Captain John Cowper of Vir- 
ginia, one of the famous naval heroes of the Revo- 
lution. He performed many brilliant feats as a 
naval commander, the last and most notable of 
which resulted in his tragic end. In command of 
the. brig Dolphi, having crew and, officers totaling 
seventy-five men, he set sail from Nansemond 
Creek, having first deliberately nailed his flag to 
the mast-head and declaring that he would never 
strike it to an enemy. He sailed through Hamp- 
ton Roads to Chesapeake Bay and the open sea, 
and after he had passed through Cape Henry into 
the ocean those who watched saw two other sails 
appear on the horizon. These, as it turned out, 
were British armed cruisers, each equal in size 
and equipment to the Dolphin. Captain Cowper, 
however, did not attempt to escape, but gave im- 
mediate mattle. After a long and terrific engage- 
ment the Dolphin disappeared beneath the waves 
and every soul on board perished. This eventful 
tragedy occurred late in the year 1779. In recent 
years it has been made the subject of an interest- 
ing article in the Southern Literary Messenger, 
and of a stirring poem entitled ' ' The Flag That 
Never Struck. ' ' 

Mr. and Mrs. Cook have no children. Mrs. 
Cook, like her husband, is deeply interested in 
uplift work at Concord and the vicinity, where 
there are large numbers of mill hands employed 
in the great cotton mills of this city and locality. 
Much of her work is done in conjunction with the 
Kings Daughters, of which she is the leader. Mr. 
Cook has for many years been a prominent member 
and official of Saint James Evangelical Lutheran 
Church at Concord. He is a member of the board 
of trustees of Mount Pleasant Collegiate Insti- 
tute, at Mount Pleasant, which is the synodical 
school of the North Carolina Synod of the Evan- 
gelical Lutheran Church". 

Ephraim Thomas Watson has won a substan- 
tial place in the legal profession in North Caro- 
lina, though he is one of the younger members 
of the bar. He began life on his own respon- 
sibility at an early age, sought his education while 
earning his own living, and is looked upon with 
respect due to his unusual qualifications and suc- 
cessful record in the community at Mount Olive, 
where he now practices. 

He was born in Wilson County, North Caro- 
lina, October 19, 1883, a son of Wiley and Nancy 
(Ricks) Watson. His people were farmers and he 
had a rural environment during his youth. Besides 
the country schools he attended Kenley Academy, 
and gained his first important experience and had 
his first regular occupation as a bookkeeper. While 
keening books during the dav he read law at home 
at night, and finally entered Wake Forest College 
in the law department, where he was graduated 
in 191.1. About the time he was admitted to the 
bar Mr. Watson was appointed register of deeds 
of Johnson County, an office he filled with the 
quiet capability characteristic of him until 1915. 



80 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



In that year he took the summer course in law at 
Columbia University in New York City, .and on 
returning to North Carolina began his active prac- 
tice at Mount Olive. For the past year, in part- 
nership with B. B. Granthan, he has also been en- 
gaged in the real estate business as well as in the 
practice of law. 

Mr. Watson is a democrat in polities, and is 
affiliated with the Masonic Order and the Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics. He was 
married December 18, 1912, to Miss May Mclnnis 
Tatum, daughter of Dr. A. Tatum. 

Col. Joseph Edward Eobinson. Distinguished 
in many fields and equally at home in ail, Col. 
Joseph Edward Robinson, founder and editor of 
the Daily Argus at Goldsboro, has long been one 
of the foremost men of Wayne County. He was 
brought to Goldsboro when one year old but was 
born in Lenoir County September 23, 1858. His 
parents were John and Margaret (Dillon) Robin- 
son, Loth of Irish birth. His father was college 
bred, having such classmates as Edward Cun- 
ningham, of Halifax, North Carolina, and Dr. 
William Hay, of Princeton, North Carolina, and 
prior to coming to Goldsboro, North Carolina, 
in 1847, had been a member of the faculty of 
St. Patrick's University at Dublin, Ireland. 

Joseph Edward Robinson had many advantages 
in early environment. Private tutors directed his 
early studies and afterward for seven years he 
had for preceptor a Catholic priest of the Domini- 
can order. In 1879 he was graduated from St. 
Charles College, Maryland, under the teaching or- 
der of the Sulpician fathers. 

Turning his attention then to the study of law, 
he found in one of his classmates a congenial 
friend, who afterward became well known to the 
state as Governor Aycock, with whom he was ad- 
mitted to the bar in 1881. The friendship formed 
in student days continued and in later years 
Governor Aycock appointed Joseph E. Robinson 
a member of his personal staff, with the rank 
of colonel. The law class to which Colonel Rob- 
inson belonged was an unusually brilliant one 
and aside from the colonel and Governor Aycock 
numbered Judge F. A. Daniels, Lieutenant-Gov- 
ernor F. D. Winston, Congressman John H. San- 
ace and Judge M. R. Allen. 

Colonel Robinson established himself in the 
practice of law at Goldsboro and within a few 
years had made a reputation for himself in the 
profession and had secured a substantial prac- 
tice. In the meanwhile he had shown the divers- 
ity of his talents by doing editorial work on 
the leading newspaper in Wayne County, a semi- 
weekly called the Goldsboro Messenger. Perhaps 
it is not too much to say that this editorial work 
opened the way for what may seem the special, 
among numerous others, talent, for journalism in 
North Carolina would have lost much had he ne- 
glected his natural leaning in this direction. 

Thirty-five years ago many cities of larger pop- 
ulation than was Goldsooro at that time had no 
daily newspaper. Along with many other new 
things it was looked upon almost as an unneces- 
sary modern invasion, but when Colonel Robinson 
took the matter in hand he soon proved that his 
daily issue was not a luxury but a necessity. He 
established the Daily Argus in April, 1885, and 
there has been no more uplifting element in the 
city's life than this daily journal. It is ably 
edited by a scholarly, conscientious man, one who 
is not afraid to speak the truth and to advocate 



reforms even in the face of adverse public opin- 
ion, as at times has been the duty he has imposed 
on himself. At the time Colonel Robinson founded 
the Argus, although no murmur was yet heard 
of the present great temperance wave sweeping 
the country, he came out flatly against license and 
made it plain that not one line could be bought 
at any price in the Argus by any of the thirty- 
one saloons then operating. Other crises have 
arrived but with equal firmness, although often 
to his business loss, Colonel Robinson has weath- 
ered them. He has always stood for the things 
that are right, whether expedient or not, and on 
such a foundation his business rests. 

For eighteen years Colonel Robinson has been 
chairman of the board of education of Wayne 
County and his influence has been particularly 
helpful in this connection. He is a trustee of 
the public library board and takes a personal in- 
terest in its councils and it is largely due to his 
efforts that this educative factor has become so 
important. On every hand one may learn of his 
public spirit, his conscientious effort, his support 
of worthy enterprises, and his liberal benefac- 
tions to charity. It was Colonel Robinson who 
inaugurated the ' ' Empty Stocking ' ' campaign at 
the Christmas season, a beautiful form of benevo- 
lence that has met with most generous returns. 

Colonel Robinson was married November 15, 
1893, to Miss Ada Clingman Humphrey, who is 
a daughter of the late Col. Lott W. Humphrey, 
of Goldsboro. 

Colonel Robinson is a member of St. Mary's 
Roman Catholic Church. 

The establishing and completing of the Golds- 
boro Hospital was a matter very close to Colonel 
Robinson's heart for* many years, he serving as 
secretary of the board of trustees from its incep- 
tion. His eloquent address on the opening of the 
hospital, March 5, 1912, not oidy was singularly 
appropriate and a piece of fine literature, but ex- 
emplified in every line the outlook a man seem- 
ingly immersed in business and mundane affairs 
may have in his inner consciousness. The biog- 
rapher laments that space forbids the quoting 
of the entire address, but a few lines of particu- 
lar beauty must be given. This quotation is ex- 
tracted from the middle of the oration: 

"It is a notable fact that this hospital, built 
by the people of Goldsboro and Wayne County, 
for the common weal of suffering humanity, is 
our first tangible expression of community effort. 
Is it not most creditable, therefore, and inspiring 
that this first common achievement has been ac- 
complished under the influence of the greatest of 
all virtues — charity? And surely such a people 
that thus give united expression to their noblest 
ideal are not lacking in righteousness. The peo- 
ple which go forward with the firm and abiding 
resolution to make for righteousness and to pos- 
sess and exercise charity will move onward with 
stately step and unfaltering trust to a destiny 
as grand, as enduring, as lofty, as sublime, real- 
izing in the eternities of God, who is from ever- 
lasting to everlasting, those beatific rewards that 
are promised to the pure of heart, the lovers of 
righteousness and the charitable. Such a people 
will engender and leave as an inheritance to their 
posterity the twofold qualities of greatness and 
strength — greatness in the possession of grand and 
heroic virtues, great in overcoming selfishness, 
great in purity of life, great in allegiance to 
truth and to lofty ideals, and strong in the power 
to exercise self control, without which neither in- 




tPX-.&^ztt 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



81 



dividuals nor communities ever accomplish 
much. ' ' 

Edmund Hines Gorham. Professional, busi- 
ness and civic honors have been accumulating 
rapidly for Mr. Gorham since he began his ca- 
reer as a lawyer at Morehead City in 1910, 
seven years ago. For a man who has reached 
the age of thirty, he carries perhaps as many 
responsibilities as any North Carolinian of those 
mature years, and his native state has much to 
expect of him in the future. 

Mr. Gorham was born at Wilson, North Caro- 
lina, August 12, 1886, a son of William 
Churchill and Lillie (Durham) Gorham. His 
father was both a merchant and farmer. As a 
boy Edmund H. Gorham attended the public 
schools and high school at Wilson and Oak Ridge 
Institute, and then entered the law department 
of the University of North Carolina. He was 
admitted to practice in February, 1910, and at 
once located at Morehead City. He handles a 
large general practice, and business interests 
have been making increasing demands upon his 
time and attention. He is vice president and 
solicitor of the Bank of Morehead City, is presi- 
dent of the Bogue Lumber Company, is president 
of the Star Fish Company, president of the 
Morehead City Hospital Company, president of the 
Sea Fisheries Company and vice-president of the 
North Carolina Shipbuilding Company. There 
are some honors which a young lawyer cannot 
consistently refuse when they are urged upon 
him, and Mr. Gorham during 1913-14 gave a very 
capable administration in the office of mayor of 
Morehead City. He is a democrat, but has little 
time outside of busines and the law for prac- 
tical politics. He is also a steward in the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Gorham was married October 26, 1910, to 
Miss Sarah Meadows of Newbern, North Caro- 
lina. They have two daughters: Jane Meadows 
Gorham and Annie Durham Gorham. 

William N. Everett, one of the ablest business 
men, farmers and civic leaders in Richmond 
County, is a son of the late Captain William Isaac 
Everett, whose career also deserves more than 
passing mention in any history of the state. 

The Everett family has been identified with 
Richmond County since pioneer times. Captain 
William Isaac Everett was born there January 3, 
1835, son of C. A. and Ann (Ewing) Everett, who 
were also natives of Richmond County. C. A. 
Everett was a planter, and close connection with 
the soil and with its activities has characterized 
every generation of the family. C. A. Everett was 
a leader in the Baptist Church, though his wife 
was a Methodist. He died in 1874, at the age of 
sixtv-seven, and his wife in 1872, aged fifty-two. 

The second in a family of seven children. Wil- 
liam Isaac Everett was educated primarily in 
Rockingham, and subsequently completed a course 
in civil engineering in the University of North 
Carolina. His active career covered more than 
half a century, beginning in 1853, at the age of 
eighteen, and continuing until his death at his 
home in Rockingham in 1911. For one year he 
clerked in a store, for about a year applied his 
energies to the old time art of photography, then 
was a school teacher, and when the war broke out 
in 1861 he was a civil engineer in the employ of 
the W. C. & R, Railroad. 

It was his experience and ability as an engineer 
Vol. n -6 



that made him most valuable to the cause of the 
Confederacy during the war. In May, 1861, he 
enlisted in Company D of the Twenty-third North 
Carolina Volunteer Infantry. For the first two 
years he served as orderly sergeant and as mem- 
ber of the engineer corps and quartermaster in 
the Twenty-third Regiment. In 1863 the War 
Department detailed him to complete the construc- 
tion of the railroad" from Wilmington to Char- 
lotte. In 1864 he was made roadmaster, and re- 
signed that position after the close of the war 
in 1866, when he was elected general superin- 
tendent and chief engineer of the road. He left 
the service of the railroad company in 1870 and 
for two years was a construction engineer. 
Nearly forty years before his death he established 
a mercantile business at Rockingham, and that 
business has been successfully continued to the 
present time. 

In 1887 Captain Everett was elected president 
of the Great Falls Manufacturing Company at 
Rockingham, and succeeded in making that one 
of the most important manufacturing enterprises 
of the city. He was also a director and stock- 
holder in the Pee Dee Manufacturing Company 
and the Roberdel Manufacturing Company. He 
was for many years a partner in the cotton com- 
mission house of Everett Brothers & Company of 
Norfolk, Virginia. 

Great as were his achievements in the com- 
mercial field, his services to his home state were 
even more important through his activities as a 
farmer and a pioneer in the building and main- 
tenance of good roads. For many years he con- 
ducted one of the largest farming estates in North 
Carolina. For years he talked and advocated, in 
season and out of season, the cause of good roads. 
He helped to build some of the pioneer high- 
ways when North Carolina was especially defi- 
cient in country roads, and his work in Rich- 
mond county inaugurated a movement which has 
accomplished such valuable results in subsequent 
years that the county now has the best roads of 
any similar section in the state. From 1879 to 
1890 he held the office of county commissioner, 
and through this office he carried on a very ef- 
fective campaign in behalf of improved high- 
ways. He was also for more than ten years a 
member of the city council of Rockingham and 
for two terms as mayor of the city, and in 1884 led 
his ticket and was elected a member of the State 
Senate from the Twenty-sixth District. Captain 
Everett was a broad minded democrat, served for 
many years as a trustee and steward in the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. South, was a member of 
the Masonic Order, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and of other societies and organiza- 
tions. He was a man of altruistic spirit, was 
deeply concerned in the welfare of his community 
and state, and set an example that may well be 
emulated by future g-enerations. It should not 
be forgotten that while he was a member of one 
of the best families of the state he started out 
comparatively poor and made his success through 
the energetic use of his individual talents and op- 
portunities. 

On Julv 15. 1863, Captain Everett married Miss 
Fannie H. LeGrand, daughter of James and 
Martha LeGrand, of Richmond County. Of the 
nine children born to the union, the six who 
reached maturity were: William N., Minnie L., 
who married H. C. Dockery, Anna, who married 
J. P. Little. James L„ John and Bessie F. 

William Nash Everett, who was born on his 



82 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



father's farm in Richmond County in 1864, has 
proved a very worthy successor of his honored 
sire, and has not only found but made for him- 
self an important place in the world's affairs. 

Educated in the public schools of Rockingham 
and the University of North Carolina, he spent 
some four or live years of his young manhood 
in the cotton commission house of Everett 
Brothers, Gibson & Company of Norfolk, Vir- 
ginia. That old firm, with which his father was 
also connected, is now out of existence. On re- 
turning to Rockingham he took active charge of 
the Everett mercantile interests at Rockingham, 
succeeding to the heavy responsibilities previously 
carried by his father, and has kept the family 
name continually associated with a broadening 
and enlarging scope of business effort. The 
Everett store was originally a house for the han- 
dling of general merchandise, but in later years 
the principal attention has been given to the 
hardware trade, and that now constitutes the 
main feature of the Everett mercantile business. 
Like his father, William N. Everett is one of 
North Carolina's leading farmers and also a 
leader in everything that pertains to the im- 
provement and advancement of rural life in his 
section of the state. He with his brothers owns 
and operates a splendid farm in Richmond county 
near Rockingham, and besides other crops he 
grows between 1,000 and 1,200 acres of cotton 
annually. It has been described as a " seventy- 
five horse farm, ' ' since that number of work 
animals are required for its operation. Mr. 
Everett has been succesful in farming on a large 
scale and according to modern scientific methods. 
His broad training and experience in mercantile 
affairs has caused him to introduce the same 
systematic management into the management of 
his fields and crops. 

Mr. Everett is chairman of the county board 
of education. In that capacity he gives his spe- 
cial interest and influence to the education and 
training of country boys and girls. As member 
of the county board he gave every possible assist- 
ance to the establishment of what is known as the 
Derby School in the northern part of the county. 
This rural school was named in honor of Roger 
A. Derby, who erected the building. Mr. Everett 's 
enthusiasm in supporting and assisting this school 
is more than justified. It is not only a school 
where the general educational branches are taught, 
but also trains its pupils in the manual and in- 
dustrial arts. Its efficiency, the results obtained 
and the value of the school as a means of uplift 
to the community, has made it one of the noted 
institutions of its kind in North Carolina. 

In the Legislature of 1917 he was the senator 
from the Twenty-first District. He has always 
been much interested in the university, and has 
been a member of the board of trustees for many 
years and chairman of the visiting committee 
since 1917. 

Among other business interests Mr. Everett is 
a vice president and director of the Bank of 
Pee Dee and the Richmond County Savings Bank 
and has financial connections with various business 
and industrial concerns. He married Miss Lena 
Payne, of Norfolk, Virginia. They are the par- 
ents of three children: "William N., Jr., Mrs. 
Isaac Spencer London, and Miss Mary Louise 
Everett. 

Rev. Hugh McLeod Blair, editor of the North 
Carolina Christian Advocate at Greensboro has 



been prominent as preacher, presiding elder, circuit 
rider and editor in the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, of this state for over thirty years. 
Both the church and the people have come to 
appreciate and set a high value upon his singular 
gilts and attainments. 

Rev. Mr. Blair was born on a farm in Little 
River Township, Caldwell County, North Carolina. 
He represents a family of colonial ancestry in the 
Carolinas. All the evidence points to the fact 
that the founder of the name in America was 
James Blair, a native of Wales, who on coming 
to America settled in Berks County, Pennsylvania, 
and spent the rest of his days there. His son, 
Colbert Blair, a native of Berks County, came to 
the colony of North Carolina about 1740. He was 
a pioneer in what was then Burke but is now 
Caldwell County, and in the locality known as 
Powelltown. Later he removed to a portion of 
Guilford County which is now Randolph County, 
but after some years returned to Burke County 
and spent his last days in Cedar Valley. He mar- 
ried Sarah Morgan, who was a near relative of 
Daniel Boone 's mother. 

John Blair, son of Colbert and grandfather of 
Rev. Hugh Blair, was born in what is Lenoir 
Township of Caldwell County, grew to manhood at 
the home of his parents in Guilford County, and 
soon after his marriage returned to Burke, now 
Caldwell County and bought land in Cedar Valley, 
where he was engaged in general farming until 
his death. John Blair married Frances Hill. 
Both were laid to rest in the Cedar Valley church- 
yard. 

Morgan Blair, father of Hugh M., was born in 
1812 in what is now Caldwell County, and as a 
youth learned the trade of wagon maker. He suc- 
ceeded to the ownership of the old homestead, es- 
tablished a shop upon it, and while busied with 
the building of wagons and general repair work, 
also superintended the operations of his planta- 
tions. He lived there until his death at the age 
of seventy-four in 1886. He married Elizabeth 
McLeod. She was born in Iredell County, North 
Carolina, daughter of John and Elizabeth McRae 
McLeod. Her parents were both natives of Suth- 
erland County, Scotland, and came to America 
directly after their marriage. Their voyage was 
made in a sailing vessel which encountered adverse 
winds and storms and delayed them nearly three 
months. Thev landed at Boston, but after a 
year came to North Carolina and located in Iredell 
County. John McLeod before his marriage had 
served in the Royal Army, and was honorably dis- 
charged. He brought his discharge papers to 
America and preserved them carefully until they 
were burned in a fire which destroyed his home. 
Mrs. Morgan Blair died in 1877, at the age of 
sixty years. She was the mother of ten children: 
Milton B., John C, Mary Ann, Sarah Jane, Nancy 
Elizabeth, William P., who died at the age of 
thirteen, Hartwell S., Hugh McLeod, Enos Hill 
and Emma Roena. 

Hugh McLeod Blair grew up on a farm and had 
rural school advantages, supplemented by attend- 
ance at Rutherford College, from which he gradu- 
ated B. S. in 1875, and later received the degree 
Master of Arts from the same institution. Before 
graduating, at the age of twenty-two. he had 
taught in the rural schools of Caldwell County. 
On leaving college he continued teaching, and for 
six years was in the high school at Hickory. In 
the meantime by careful study he had equipped 
himself for his chosen life work, and in 1883 en- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



83 



tered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South. He joined the North Carolina 
Conference, and for six years was preacher in cir- 
cuit work and for several years had regular as- 
signments. For four years he was presiding elder 
of the Mount Airy district. Mr. Blair in 1894 
was called to the editorship of the North Carolina 
Christian Advocate, but after one year resumed 
his post in the field as a minister. For four years 
he was stationed at Mount Airy, two years at 
Selby, and in 1901 was again called to the editor- 
ship of the North Carolina Christian Advocate at 
Greensboro. He has given that paper and the 
spread of its wholesome influence the best of his 
energies and abilities for over seventeen years. 

Mr. Blair married in 1878 Miss Effie Bell. She 
was born in Lincoln County, North Carolina, 
daughter of Robert and Jennie (Ramseur) Bell, 
and granddaughter of Archibald and Mary (Mc- 
Neely) Bell. Her maternal grandparents were 
David and Annie Ramseur, of a famous North 
Carolina family referred to in more detail on other 
pages of this publication. Mrs. Blair died in 1902, 
leaving one daughter, Eva Bell. In 1903 Mr. Blair 
married Laura A. Ramseur, who was also born in 
Lincoln County, daughter of George and Eliza 
(Warliek) Ramseur. 

The achievement of Mr. Blair 's lif ework is the 
recent completion of a constructive enterprise in 
which he had been able to secure for his church 
a splendid building and equipment as the per- 
manent home of the North Carolina Christian Ad- 
vocate. This building and plant is now valued at 
more than $40,000 and the Conference had here 
a paper permanently housed with a constantly 
growing circulation and influence, and also a grow- 
ing general printing business. After all these 
years, however, Mr. Blair still claims the heart of 
the loyal Methodist itinerant and stands ready 
each year for his marching orders. 

Elder James T. Coats. One of the newest in- 
corporated towns in the state, a flourishing cen- 
ter of business and home life in Harnett County, 
bears the name of the owner of the original farm 
land from which the village was carved, the pio- 
neer citizen of the locality, and a character upon 
whom such an honor is most fitly bestowed. 

Not long ago a local historian told the story 
of the origin of this village in the following 
words : ' ' Coats derives its name from the Coats 
family whose ancestral home is near the site of 
the present town and whose head is that fine 
Christian old gentleman, Elder J. T. Coats, a 
prominent leader of the Primitive Baptists of 
this section. If I remember correctly, Elder Coats 
conducted a store somewhere in the neighborhood 
several years after our old friend, the late la- 
mented John Angier, decided to extend his line 
to Dunn, and the place was then known as Coats; 
though that the little settlement would eventually 
become one of Harnett 's leading towns was never 
dreamed of at that time. After the railroad came 
the progressive people of the locality realized that 
here was an excellent site for a town whose pos- 
sibilties for future growth were unlimited, being 
backed by a large territory whose agricultural 
possibilities were unsurpassed though very scant- 
ily developed. First came a few merchants. These 
prospered, built nice homes, pioneered the Coats 
boom and paved the way for the real estate auc- 
tioneer. Its location is ideal, its streets are broad 
and well kept, its homes pretty and comfortable, 
its business buildings large, its several manufac- 



turing enterprises give employment to a large 
number of operatives, its public school facilities 
are ample, its churches embrace nearly every Prot- 
estant denomination and the people rank among 
the thriftiest, most industrious and intelligent of 
the state. ' ' 

James T. Coats was born in Grove Township 
of Johnston County, North Carolina, in 1847, a 
son of William Henry and Martha (Smith) Coats. 
His family is of English ancestry. It was founded 
in North Carolina from England about 115 years 
ago by Elder Coats ' great-grandfather, William 
Coats, who on coming to this state settled in 
Johnston County. Elder Coats ' grandfather, Wil- 
liam Coats, was born in that county. As a fam- 
ily they have always been planters and farmers. 

Elder Coats grew up on a farm and at the 
age of seventeen he and his twin brother, Wil- 
liam Benjamin Coats, now deceased, went into 
the Confederate army, joining Company C, Sec- 
ond North Carolina Junior Reserves. They served 
about a year, until the end of the war. For a 
time they were in Virginia, but most of the time 
in Eastern North Carolina. 

It was in 1875 that James T. Coats moved to 
Grove Township of Harnett County and bought 
for farming purposes something over 700 acres, 
on which he has lived ever since. Part of this 
land was utilized for the establishment of the 
Village of Coats, and thus he has the distinc- 
tion of being its first citizen. Coats is located 
on the Durham & Southern Railway. For several 
years after the town was started and after the rail- 
road was built Mr. Coats conducted a general 
country store, and this enterprise indicated an 
eligible point of location for a new town. 

For forty years he has been one of the leaders 
in the Primitive Baptist Church, of which he be- 
came a member in 1876. He was ordained as 
elder in 1882, and has been a regular minister 
since that time. At Coats he built at his own 
expense and donated to the congregation the 
Primitive Baptist Church Building, known as Gift 
Church. Besides his work as elder in this church 
he is also moderator of the Little River Primitive 
Baptist Association, which embraces twenty-one 
flourishing congregations. 

Elder Coats still owns a number of town lots 
and adjoining farming tracts, is a director of 
the Bank of Coats, and has given farms to each 
of his children. His life has exemplified so much 
sterling honor, integrity and personal lovableness 
that it is easy to account for the universal esteem 
in which he is held. 

Elder Coats married Miss Isabella Turlington, 
member of the old and prominent Turlington fam- 
ily of Harnett County, elsewhere referred to in this 
publication. Mr. and Mrs. Coats have six chil- 
dren: Robert Metzger, Andrew D., William 
Thomas, Carrie, Octavus and Ida. 

Andrew Columbus Huneycutt. In the de- 
gree that an individual proves the broadness and 
sincerity of his character and his sense of the 
responsibilities devolving upon him, both relative 
to his private interest and those of the public, 
does he achieve and deserve worth-while success. 
Without a sane, sound outlook upon life, no man 
can hope to produce upon others that impres- 
sion so desirable in order to establish permanent 
prosperity, a fact that some individuals never 
learn. Others recognize it from the start and 
their careers are filled with big accomplishments 
and public-spirited actions that lend themselves 



84 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



to producing the light in which the community 
regards such citizens. In this latter class is 
found Andrew Columbus Huneycutt, a leading 
member of the Stanly County Bar and one of the 
most public-spirited citizens of Albemarle. Still 
a young man, his achievements as a citizen have 
given him a foremost position among those who 
are accomplishing big things for their communi- 
ties and their fellow-men. 

Mr. Huneycutt was born in the western part 
of Stanly County, North Carolina, in 1882, and 
is a son of E. M. Huneycutt. His father, also 
a native of Stanly County, is still residing in 
this county, where he is the owner and operator 
of a farm, and is a Confederate veteran of the 
war between the states, in which he was a lieu- 
tenant of his company and at times acted in the 
capacity of captain. Andrew C. Huneycutt was 
reared on the home farm and received his eduea- 
sion in that year at Albemarle, the county seat 
College, finishing his law studies from the latter 
in 1904. He began the practice of his profes- 
sion in that year at Albermarle, the county seat 
of his native county. Mr. Huneycutt is a suc- 
cessful practitioner, with a representative prac- 
tice of general law business in all the courts, 
state and federal. While his practice has been 
large and important, demanding a great deal of 
his attention, he has always been found among 
the prominent forces of the young element that 
are accomplishing great things in bringing the 
great advantages and resources of Albemarle as 
an industrial city to the attention of the world. 
He is also of great activity in connection with 
other public-spirited enterprises of the city. 

One of the chief matters in which Mr. Huney- 
cutt takes a justifiable pride is his connection 
with the Albemarle Normal and Industrial In- 
stitute, of which he is secretary and treasurer 
and a member of its executive committee. This 
institution was established in 1893 by Miss 
Frances E. Ufford, of New Jersey, and Miss 
Helen J. Northrup, of Minnesota, and is .now 
under the control of a board of trustees elected 
by the Mecklenburg Presbytery. The aim of 
the institution is to prepare young women for 
the actual duties of life in the home, the church, 
the school and the busines world, or for entrance 
to higher institutions of learning; seeks to place 
within the reach of every worthy girl the op- 
portunity to obtain an education, and constantly 
endeavors to train for a larger service those who 
have been deprived of school advantages, and to 
do it at such a reasonable cost as to place it 
within the reach of all. While scholarship is 
an important requisite in the teacher, personal 
traits of character have an even more lasting 
effect upon the pupil, and the ladies of the 
faculty have been selected with a view to obtain- 
ing the very highest type of Christian woman- 
hood. The faculty at this time consists of Miss 
Frances E. Ufford, dean; Mrs. Elva C. Harris, 
superintendent ; Miss Eva Rupert, Bible and mis- 
sions; Miss Clara C. Giddings, history, English 
and literature; Miss Ruth Gill, English, science, 
mathematics and physical culture; Miss Isabel 
Grier, history, mathematics and English; Miss 
Mary Bangle, music; Miss Mary Melton, super- 
intendent of domestic department; L. Freeland 
Magruder, M. Ph., M. D., physiology and hy- 
giene; and Miss Elizabeth Hendricks, infirmary 
and practical sewing. As the chief aim of the 
institution is the development of Christian char- 
acter, the religious life of the student is an 



important feature. The student body maintains 
a Young Women 's Christian Association, a 
Young People's branch of the Woman's Chris- 
tian Temperance Union, and a Sabbath School. 
Discipline is strictly but kindly maintained. The 
school has an industrial department, two literary 
societies, a large library and a laundry, and 
lectures are regularly given. There are three 
courses of study, the preparatory, normal and 
college preparatory. The institution is practic- 
ally philanthropic, as the very low tuition fee 
of $100 pays a girl's expense for tuition, board, 
etc., for a full year, the object being, of course, 
to afford these advantages of the school to poor 
girls only, who could not secure them in any other 
way. They not alone receive literary education, 
but are thoroughly trained and instructed in all 
the arts of the household — cooking, sewing, laun- 
dering and everything that enters into the duties 
of the wife and mother. It is in reality the 
highest form of philanthropy and will result 
in more good to the human race than any other 
enterprise that could be thought of. 

Mr. Huneycutt has devoted a great deal of 
time to the success of this institution, and espe- 
cially, beginning in 1915, when the finances of 
the institute were lagging and its future seemed 
problematical, he went to work vigorously to 
arouse interest in the work and have the school 
brought to a point in standing where its benefi- 
cent career would be assured for the future. It 
was due to his efforts, in great measure, that 
this object was accomplished by the end of the 
summer of 1916. A campaign was carried on to 
raise money, with the result that $10,000 in cash 
was raised, in addition to a donation of a valua- 
ble tract of land, and with these encouraging 
results the building of a new $20,000 dormitory 
is assured, this having been the chief need of 
the institute up to this time. The institution 
is also now officially and strongly endorsed and 
backed by the Mecklenburg Presbytery . 

Mr. Huneycutt is a member and a deacon in 
the Presbyterian Church. He is worshipful mas- 
ter of the local Blue Lodge of Masons, and is 
variously active in the affairs of the city. He 
served two terms as mayor of Albemarle, and 
his excellent services did much to add to the 
city's improvements. Mr. Huneycutt married 
Miss Mary Efird, daughter of J. W. Efird, and 
niece of Mr. J. S. Efird, both of whom are 
wealthy and prominent business men of Albe- 
marle and leading factors in the cotton mill 
industry, they having been, with their father, the 
late I. P. Efird, the pioneers in cotton mill con- 
struction in Stanly County. Two children have 
been born to Mr. and Mrs. Huneycutt; Juanita 
and Vance Efird. 

Samuel A. Grier, M. D. A physician and 
surgeon greatly loved for his service "and sympa- 
thetic ministrations, Doctor Grier has been in 
active practice more than forty years, and a 
large part of the time in Cabarrus County. His 
present home is at Harrisburg in that county. 

Doctor Grier is of old and prominent pioneer 
ancestry of Mecklenburg County. In his family 
relationship are the names Grier, Barringer, Neal 
and Spratt, all of distinction in this part of the 
state for more than a century. 

The first of the Grier family in North Carolina 
was Doctor Grier 's paternal grandfather, Thomas 
Grier. The great-grandfather, James Grier, was a 
Scotchman, born in the north of Ireland, where 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



85 



some of the original family still live. James 
Grier came with his family and settled in Lan- 
caster County, Pennsylvania, in 1772. In 1780 he 
moved to North Carolina, first stopping in Steele 
Creek Township, Mecklenburg County. 

Thomas Grier was about eighteen years of age 
when, preceding his father, he came to North 
Carolina from Pennsylvania. The Revolutionary 
war was then in progress, and in 1778 he enlisted 
in Mecklenburg County and served as Commissary 
of Issues. He was a hue patriot, and did a worthy 
part toward the success of the Revolution. 
Toward the close of that war he went to South Car- 
olina, near Waxhaw, in what is now Union County, 
North Carolina. While there he accidentally met 
with his parents, who had leit their first location 
in Mecklenburg County not knowing where their 
son was. Subsequently all the family returned 
to Mecklenburg County and thereafter their home 
was in Steele Creek Township. 

Until the time of the war between the states 
the Griers were mostly planters by occupation. 
One notable exception was Dr. Samuel A. Grier, 
a physician. Grandfather Thomas Grier in his 
time was one of the chief land owners in Steele 
Creek Township. 

Thomas Grier married a Miss Spratt. Her fam- 
ily was one of special prominence. The first white 
child born in Mecklenburg County was a Spratt. 
Its members were also the first to cross the Yad- 
kin River into Western North Carolina. 

A nephew of the Revolutionary soldier Thomas 
Grier was General William Henry Neal, of Steele 
Creek Township, a man of great prominence in 
his day, a general of the North Carolina Militia 
and an extensive planter and land owner. He was 
the son of Samuel Neal and grandson of Captain 
Henry Neal, an officer of the Continental Line 
in the Revolutionary war. Captain Henry Neal 
was the son of William Neal, a Scotchman, who 
came to what is now Mecklenburg County, Penn- 
sylvania, some time between 1715 and 1725 and 
was thus one of the earliest settlers in that sec- 
tion of the state. 

Dr. Samuel A. Grier was born in Upper Steele 
Creek Township of Mecklenburg County in 1841, 
a son of Andrew and Margaret (Barringer) Grier. 
His mother was a sister of the late General Rufus 
Barringer, one of North Carolina's distinguished 
officers in the Confederate army. General Rufus 
was a son of General Paul Barringer. The history 
of this family appears elsewhere among the biogra- 
phies contained in this publication. It should also 
be noted that Doctor Grier 's grandfather, Thomas 
Grier, was one of the escorts who accompanied 
Lafayette when the great French general visited 
North Carolina in 1825. 

Thus Doctor Grier grew up among constant 
associations with honored family names and 
honored achievements. He acquired his early 
schooling at the old Melville School under the cele- 
brated Doctor Wilson of Alamance. Prior to the 
war he started the study of medicine under a 
private preceptor, Doctor Gregory, in Charlotte. 
These studies were interrupted by the outbreak 
of hostilities and at the very beginning he volun- 
teered, joining Company B of the First North 
Carolina Infantry. He and his comrades fought 
at Bethel, the first battle of the war. When his 
term of enlistment with this regiment expired he 
returned to Charlotte and joined a cavalry com- 
pany under Captain J. R. Irwin, attached to the 
Fifth North Carolina Regiment of Cavalry. This 
regiment was part of a brigade of cavalry com- 



manded by Gen. Rufus Barringer, Doctor Grier 's 
uncle. His first work with this organization was 
in the eastern part of the state, whence they 
went into Virginia. During the important cavalry 
engagement at Upperville, while Lee 's army was 
on tne way to Gettysburg, Doctor Grier was 
wounded by a bullet in the arm. On account of 
this disablement he did not take part in the sub- 
sequent three days' fighting. Later he rejoined 
his regiment, but on December 9, 1864, at Bell- 
held, Virginia, was again wounded. Toward the 
end of the war, on April 3, 1865, at Namozine 
Church, Virginia, he was captured, was taken to 
Washington, where he was quartered as a prisoner 
on the night that President Lincoln was assassin- 
ated, and from that city was removed to Johnson's 
Island in Lake Erie, where he remained until the 
following June or July, at which time he was re- 
leased and came home. 

For ten years or so after the war Doctor Grier 
gave most of his time to looking after his farm 
on Steele Creek Township. In the meantime he 
carried on his medical studies, and in 1876 began 
the regular practice of his profession at Lenoir 
in Caldwell County. For a number of years he 
had all the general practice he could attend to 
in the country districts of that county. Since 
1883 his home has been in Cabarrus County and 
here some of his most burdensome labors as a 
physician have been carried on. Until 1907 his 
home was at Rocky River, but at that date h'e 
moved to Harrisburg. His services as a physician 
have been of inestimable value to the people of 
all the surrounding country. He is one of the 
greatly esteemed professional men, possesses a 
fine genial presence, a kind and sympathetic heart. 
Like his ancestors, he is a member of the Presby- 
terian Church. 

In 1868 Doctor Grier married Miss Mary Jane 
Gilmer. Her father was a physician, Dr. James F. 
Gilmer, of Sugar Creek, Mecklenburg County. Mrs. 
Grier died in 1908, forty years after their mar- 
riage. The names of the living children are: 
Claudia L., who married Rev. J. N. Blain, and both 
are now serving as missionaries in China; Samuel 
Andrew, Jr., of Barium Springs; Elizabeth 
Esther, widow of C. N. G. Butt, of Charlotte; 
Margaret Barringer, wife of W. G. Hall, of States- 
ville; Miss Mary Gilmer Grier; Evelyn Altona, 
wife of George H. Richmond, of Concord; Lieu- 
tenant L. T. Grier, now with the National Army; 
and Miss Anna Burwell Grier. 

Littleton Tate Barber is a citizen of Guilford 
County, especially prominent at the present time 
as a member of the Board of County Commission- 
ers and long identified with the Gibsonville com- 
munity as a farmer and merchant. 

Mr. Barber was born in Washington Township 
of Guilford County, and his people have been 
worthily identified with the life and affairs of 
this state for upwards of a century. His great- 
grandfather, Joseph Barber, was born either in 
Scotland or in Ireland, of Scotch ancestry. After 
his marriage he brought his wife to America and 
they settled among the pioneers of Alamance 
County, North Carolina, where he secured land 
and improved it into a farm. That was the scene 
of his activities until his death. James T. Barber, 
grandfather of Littleton T., was born on a planta- 
tion bordering Stony Creek in Alamance County 
in 1825. From the scenes of his birth he moved 
to near the line of Guilford County, buying a 
farm, and its superintendence engaged a large 



86 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



part of his time and attention, though he was 
also a contractor for bridge building. He died 
when about seventy years old. His wife was 
Hepsey Kernodle, who was born in Alamance 
County. She died at the age of eighty-four, and 
reared five children, named John, David R., George, 
Jane and Margaret. David R. Barber was born in 
Washington Township of Guilford County in 1850, 
was reared on a farm, and several years after his 
marriage bought a place of his own in Alamance 
County. That farm he still occupies, and he has 
been one of the diligent and respected members 
of the community for years. He married Mary 
A. E. Michael, a native of Alamance County. Her 
parents were Peter and Margaret (Boone) Michael 
and her grandfather was David Michael. Peter 
Michael was a very prominent planter of Alamance 
County and a county commissioner for seventeen 
years. He cast the deciding vote for the first 
steel bridge built . in Alamance County. Mrs. 
Mary Barber died in 1891. 

Littleton Tate Barber had rural surroundings 
during his youth, was taught his first lessons in a 
country school, and afterwards attended for a time 
Elon College. After about three years as a teacher 
he satisfied his spirit of adventure by going into 
the northwestern country and taking up a home- 
stead in South Dakota. In what was then a bar- 
ren and bleak region he built a house, dug a well, 
broke and fenced part of the land, planted trees 
and lived the typical existence of a Dakota farmer 
until 1908. In that year he leased his land and 
returning to his native state entered the hardware 
business at Gibsonville. He has sold goods to a 
large community surrounding that village for the 
past ten years and he also conducts the farm he 
owns and occupies about two miles from the town. 

Mr. Barber was appointed a county commis- 
sioner of Guilford in 1916 to fill an unexpired 
term. He is affiliated with Tabasco Lodge, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, and Gibsonville Council 
of the Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics. He and his wife are active members of 
the Gibsonville Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, and he is on its board of stewards and su- 
perintendent of its Sunday School. In 1913 Mr. 
Barber married Bertha Jones, daughter of former 
Sheriff B. E. Jones. They have one daughter, 
Elizabeth. 

William Kilpatrick Lane was one of the most 
notable citizens of Wayne County during the 
middle period of the last century. He was born 
in Wayne County December 27, 1810, a son of 
Samson and Charity Lane, and he died at Golds- 
boro December 28, 1868, aged fifty-eight years 
and one day. For a number of years he followed 
the business of planting and was also state tax 
collector. 

In the files of the old Goldsboro Daily Messen- 
ger is recorded a tribute paid to him, and two 
paragraphs from that paper of half a century ago 
are herewith quoted: 

' ' He held many important public positions and 
acquitted himself with credit in all. He several 
times represented Wayne County in the Senate of 
the State Legislature. Was for many years clerk 
of the Superior Court. Was several times a candi- 
date for Congress in a district in which the party 
majority against him was so large and, though 
defeated, ran largely ahead of the strength of 
his own party. He was for a great while chair- 
man of the county court of this county, and it 
was universally admitted by the bar and the pub- 



lic that he had no superior as a presiding justice. 
He was one of the best and most correct and 
reliable business men in the state. 

' ' The death of such a man is a calamity to 
the state and particularly to this section in which 
he was so well known and so much honored and 
respected. He was a kind neighbor, an affection- 
ate husband and father, and a devoted and un- 
selfish friend. This feeble tribute to his memory 
is by one who long enjoyed his confidence and 
friendship and after his immediate family no 
one more sincerely regrets his death. ' ' 

He was twice married. His first wife, Susan 
Green, of Goldsboro, lived only a few years. June 
5, 1838, he married Penelope Munford, daughter 
of Bryan and Mary (Harrison) Munford. To this 
marriage were born the following children: Mary 
Olivia, who died unmarried; Bryan Alexander 
Lane, who died unmarried ; William Penn Lane, 
who married Harriet Cobb and is now deceased; 
Charity Maria Lane, who married Frank Glasgow 
Whitfield; Penelope Lane, deceased, who married 
Benjamin Brock; Sarah Elizabeth Lane, who mar- 
ried Hugh Humphrey and is deceased; Samson 
Lane, deceased; Virginia Louise Lane, and Susan 
Lane, who both died unmarried; and James and 
John Lane, twins. 

Charles Aycock Humphrey is one of the 
younger business men of Goldsboro, and comes 
of old and prominent family stock of North Car- 
olina. 

He was born in Wayne County, North Caro- 
lina, August 20, 1889, a sou of Hugh and Sarah 
Elizabeth (Lane) Humphrey. His father was a 
prominent man and at one time served as mag- 
istrate and United States Commissioner. Mr. 
Humphrey 's mother was a daughter of William 
K. Lane, whose career will be found on other 
pages. 

C. A. Humphrey had a public school education. 
As a young man he learned telegraphy, and was 
employed as a telegraph ojterator for several years. 
He now has a successful business, handling type- 
writers and supplies at Goldsboro. He is affiliated 
with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks 
and is a member of the Algonquin Club. On 
March 31, 1914, he married Miss Bessie Griffin 
Edwards, of Goldsboro. They have one daughter, 
Mary Elizabeth. 

Hon. George M. Rose. A life is valuable to 
the world both for its service and its character. 
On the score of service few men could desire a 
better record than that of George M. Rose, for 
half a century one of the foremost lawyers of the 
Fayetteville bar. Throughout a busy lifetime, be- 
ginning as a soldier in the war, various public 
honors and the widespread esteem of his fellow 
citizens attest the quality of his manhood and the 
breadth and uprightness of his character. 

Mr. Rose was born at Fayetteville June 5, 1846, 
son of John M. and Jane (McNeill) Rose. He is 
of Scotch ancestry on both sides. His grandfather, 
Duncan Rose, was during the decade of the '30s 
clerk of .the Superior Court of Person County. 
John M. Rose was born in Person County, and 
about 1840 moved to Fayetteville in Cumberland 
County. In the maternal line Mr. Rose is identi- 
fied with several families whose names are prom- 
inent in North Carolina history. His mother was 
born in Cumberland County, daughter of George 
McNeill. The wife of George McNeill was a sis- 
ter of Chief Justice Ruffin. Mrs. Jane McNeill 




y*j2^ /^^ 




HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



87 



Rose was a first cousin of James C. Dobbin of 
Cumberland County, who served as secretary of 
the navy in the cabinet of President .Fillmore. 
One of her brothers; Rev. George McNeill, Jr., 
was the first editor of the North Carolina Presby- 
terian, now the Presbyterian Standard. Another 
brother was Kev. James H. McNeill, who was 
colonel of the Fifth North Carolina Cavalry and 
was killed in action March 31, 1865. The family 
are also related to the Camerons and the de Roul- 
hacs of Hillsboro. 

George M. Rose was reared in Fayetteville, at- 
tending Donaldson Academy and from there en- 
tering Davidson College, where he was a student 
two years. From Davidson he went to Virginia 
Military Institute. He was one of the famous 
class ol young boys who went out from the school 
in 1864 and engaged in the battle of Newmarket. 
In the Confederate army Mr. Rose became adju- 
tant of the Sixty-sixth North Carolina Regiment. 
He surrendered at High Point, North Carolina, 
May 2, 1865. He was one of the youngest sol- 
diers and officers of the war between the states. 

The war over, he resumed his education in the 
University of North Carolina, finishing his lit- 
erary course and taking his law there under Judge 
Battle. He was graduated from the university in 
1867 and in the same year began practice at Fay- 
etteville. During the years that have followed 
Mr. Rose has attained distinctive leadership in 
the profession of North Carolina. In the famous 
campaign of 1876, when Vance and Suttle were 
rival candidates for governor, Mr. Rose was 
elected to the Legislature from Cumberland 
County. He thus took part in the restoration of 
the democratic party as the governing factor iu 
North Carolina. He was again a member of the 
Legislature in the session of 1881 and was speaker 
of the House in the session of 1883. 

Since that time he has not been a candidate 
for any public office but has devoted his time en- 
tirely to the active duties of a large general prac- 
tice. He is division counsel for the Atlantic Coast 
Line Railway, and was general counsel of the old 
Cape Fear and Yadkin Valley Railway prior to its 
incorporation into the Atlantic Coast Line Sys- 
tem. 

Mr. Rose married Augusta Jane Steel, and has 
the following children : Dr. A. S. Rose ; Charles 
G. Rose, who is a graduate of the University of 
North Carolina and law partner with his father, 
and served in the Legislature in 1911; Jennie, 
wife of Mr. B. A. Morgan, an attorney and banker 
of Greenville, South Carolina ; John M. and 
George M., cotton merchants at Charlotte; Thomas 
D. Rose, electrical engineer connected with the 
Consolidated Gas and Electric Company of Balti- 
more; and Miss Lucy Rose, who resides with her 
parents. 

Dr. A. S. Rose, oldest son of Mr. and Mrs. 
George M. Rose, was a highly accomplished and 
successful physician at Fayetteville and died Feb- 
ruary 15, 1918. He was born and reared in 
Fayetteville and was forty-five years old at the 
time of his death. His life and services were such 
as to deserve the following words that appeared 
in a Fayetteville paper at the time of his death: 
"From childhood he had shown those qualities 
which go to make a fine strong character — a high 
sense of honor, faithfulness to duty, kindness of 
heart, industry and energy, and a laudable ambi- 
tion. After graduation in the high schools, Doctor 
Rose entered the drug establishment in Fayette- 
ville of Mr. H. R. Home, where he became a thor- 



oughly equipped pharmacist. Later he entered the 
University College of Medicine in Richmond, Vir- 
ginia, and graduated and began practice at Fay- 
etteville in February, 1901. He built up an ex- 
tensive practice in the city and the surrounding 
country, and his large circle of patients trusted, 
esteemed and loved him, 'Doctor Rose' being a 
household name dear in many families. In his 
young manhood he was made a deacon in the 
First Presbyterian Church, was church treasurer 
and later chosen a ruling elder, which high church 
office he was holding at the time of his death. 
He was a member of the North Carolina State 
Medical Society, the American Medical Society, 
and the Cumberland Medical Society, being at one 
time president of the latter. ' ' 

Dr. A. S. Rose married Miss Jean Evans, of 
Cumberland County. She and three children sur- 
vive, Susan, Augustus S., Jr., and Jean. 

Callaghan Joseph McCarthy. The role of 
a dignified and public-spirited citizen has hardly 
been taken to better advantage by anyone at 
Newbern than by C. J. McCarthy, who has never 
been content merely to give a passive approval 
to public progress, but has been in the fore- 
front and in the thickest of every moment and 
enterprise that would secure a better and greater 
city. 

Mr. McCarthy is a native of Newbern, where 
he was born June 17, 1875, and is a son of 
Thomas Frances and Elizabeth (Colligan) 
McCarthy. His father has for many years been 
prominently identified with merchandising in 
Newbern, and has also been active in public af- 
fairs. For twenty years he represented the 
fourth ward in the City Council and for six years 
was city treasurer. 

C. J. McCarthy finished his education in the 
Newbern Academy, and has since been asso- 
ciated with his father in the grocery and supply 
business. Besides that connection, he is secre- 
tary, treasurer and general manager of the New- 
bern-Ghent Street Railway Company and of the 
Ghent Land Company, and is president of the 
Mathers Coal Company. 

The public work most closely associated with 
Mr. McCarthy's name, and for which he is given 
such high credit, was in behalf of street im- 
provement, and no one has done more to stimu- 
late that class of municipal advancement than 
he. He took his father 's place in the City Coun- 
cil as alderman from the fourth ward, and 
for six years was chairman of the street im- 
provement committee. As a result of the task 
he initiated in improving the streets, twenty-five 
miles of sidewalks have been built and eight 
miles of high-class street pavement. That would 
be a creditable achievement from any standpoint, 
but is all the more so because it was constructed 
without any extra tax to the citizens. For two 
years Mr. McCarthy acted as mayor pro tern 
and for four years held the office of mayor. 
While he was mayor he took the leading part in 
the celebration of Newbern 's Bi-Centennial. In 
recognition of his earnest and effective work 
for the city the municipality had placed in his 
honor a fountain. Mr. McCarthy is affiliated 
with the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks, the Woodmen of the World and the Im- 
proved Order of Red Men. 

Julius Transon, a retired and respected citizen 
of Winston-Salem, represents one of the oldest 



88 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



families who settled in this section of western 
North Carolina. 

Mr. Transon was born in Vienna Township of 
Forsyth County, January 1, 1832. His great- 
grandfather, Phillip Transon, was a native of 
France. He was a French Hugenot, and to escape 
the intolerable conditions existing in his native 
land he emigrated to Germany. He was married 
in Germany, but after a few years immigrated to 
America and settled in Pennsylvania. From there 
he came into North Carolina about 1760, locating 
at Bethania, where he followed his trade as a 
wagon maker until his death. 

The grandfather of Julius Transon was Abra- 
ham Transon, a native of Pennsylvania, though 
most of his lite was spent in Nortn Carolina. He 
likewise learned the trade of wagon maker and fol- 
lowed it at Bethania all his active years. He 
married a Miss Pfaff, who was a member of the 
family which founded the place called Pfafftown 
in Forsyth County. Phillip Transon, father of 
J ulius, was born at Bethania, also learned the 
trade of wagon maker and followed it at Pfaff, 
town, where he lived until his death at the age of 
seventy-nine. He married Mary Stoltz, who was 
born near Bethania, daughter of Jacob and Eva 
(Shultz) Stoltz. She died at the age of seventy- 
four. They reared eight children: Jonathan, 
Lydia, Ephraim, Alexander, Augustine, Jacob, 
Evan and Julius. 

Mr. Julius Transon spent his boyhood at a time 
when practically no free schools existed. His book 
instruction was acquired in a log building with the 
simplest of furniture and also with a very crude 
curriculum. He learned the trade which had been 
in the family for so long, became a wagon maker, 
and was working in that capacity when the war 
broke out. In 1862 he enlisted as a musician in 
the Salem Band and went to the front with the 
Twenty-sixth .Regiment. Though he was with the 
army until the close of hostilities, it chanced that 
he was home on a sick furlough when the war actu- 
ally closed. 

After the war Mr. Transon taught music and 
tuned pianos for upwards of thirty years, but 
finally resumed work in a wagon factory, and that 
was his occupation until he retired in 1914. On 
June 10, 1855, Mr. Transon married Julia Conrad. 
She was born in Lewisville Township of Forsyth 
County, daughter of Leonard and Rebecca (Lasth) 
Conrad. Mr. and Mrs. Transon reared six children, 
Stephen, Isabella, Mary, Caroline, Minnie and 
Fannie. 

Yancey Thomas Ormond, a prominent North 
Carolina lawyer, now located at Kinston, has had 
an active career of nearly forty years and has 
employed it for usefulness in the field of educa- 
tion, agriculture, the law, politics and the promo- 
tion of civic welfare. 

He was born in Green County, North Caro- 
lina, April 12, 1858, son of Thomas C. and Mar- 
garet A. (Edwards) Ormond. His people were 
substantial farmers in Green County. Mr. Or- 
mond was educated in the Carolina Male and Fe- 
male Academy in Green County, and in 1878 grad- 
uated from Trinity College at Old Trinity, 
Alamance County. After leaving college he taught 
school for a time but in the main was engaged 
in farming until 1892. For several years he was 
associated with his brother, Wilbur E. Ormond, as 
a teacher and as manager of the Burlington Acad- 
emy. While connected with that institution he 



read law under W. H. Carroll and in 1897 was 
admitted to the bar. 

Mr. Ormond has been in active practice at Kins- 
ton since 1897, and his clients a*tid the general 
public have in many ways shown their apprecia- 
tion of his dignity and ability as a professional 
man. 

While living in Green County Mr. Ormond was 
chairman of the county board of education, and 
became active in politics, serving as chairman of 
the Second Congressional District Committee. He 
was elected and served in the State Senate of 
North Carolina from 1907 to 1909, and during his 
term he did much to influence wise measures. He 
personally introduced a bill known as ' ' For Youth- 
ful Delinquents, ' ' and it was enacted into law. 
He also introduced a constitutional amendment 
regulating local legislation, and the provisions of 
his measure have since become law. 

Mr. Ormond is a member of the North Caro- 
lina Bar Association, and is affiliated with the 
Masons, the Knights of Pythias and the Knights 
of Harmony. He is one of the most prominent 
laymen in the Methodist Church, South, in North 
Carolina. He is chairman of the board of stew- 
ards of the Queen Street Church, is a former su- 
perintendent of the Sunday school and is still a 
teacher. He is district lay leader of the New- 
bern District, and also conference lay leader of 
the North Carolina Conference and is active in 
the lay leaders ' movement for the missionary cause. 

He was married in February, 1886, at the Dis- 
trict Parsonage at Goldsboro, North Carolina, to 
Eugenie Mann, daughter of Kev. J. M. Mann, of 
the North Carolina Conference of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South. Mr. and Mrs. Ormond 
have one living daughter, Pattie Eleanor, called 
Bonnie, who is now Mrs. Leroy' Turnage. Two 
of their children died in infancy, while Edward 
L. died at the age of nineteen, while attending 
Trinity College. 

Ashley Horne. A busy, eventful and useful 
career was that of the late Ashley Home, of Clay- 
ton, North Carolina. Through all the vicissi- 
tudes that marked the course of the Southern 
people during the last century he pursued unde- 
viatingly a carfter which brought him place among 
the foremost capitalists and directors of large 
business interests in the state, and placed him 
in the ranks of the men who built up and de- 
veloped North Carolina in the half century after 
the war. 

He was born on a farm March 27, 1841, a son 
of Benajah and Elizabeth (Tarboro) Horne. His 
father was a thrifty Scotch planter. As a boy 
Ashley began buying cattle on his father 's credit. 
He would drive these cattle to Raleigh, sell them 
there, and after paying all his bills usually came 
out with a margin of profit for himself. Thus 
even as a boy he showed a great deal of enter- 
prise and business judgment. He had only a fair 
schooling, such as most boys who grew up in the 
period before the war could obtain. 

With the outbreak of hostilities he enlisted in 
the Confederate army in 1861. At first he was 
assigned to duty in Company C of the Fifteenth 
North Carolina Regiment at Camp Holme. His 
older brother, Samuel, was a lieutenant in the 
Fifty-Third Regiment, and he was subsequently 
assigned to that, being a part of Grimes Brigade, 
Rhodes Division. With a brief exception his serv- 
ice was with Lee in Northern Virginia. He fought 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



89 



in many battles of the war, and was with Lee's 
shattered armies which withdrew from Richmond 
and finally surrendered at Appomattox. 

When he returned home he found that a por- 
tion of Sherman's army had occupied his father's 
plantation in the spring of 1865, and those troops 
had not left a single hoof of livestock nor so much 
as a rail on the entire plantation. He wasted no 
time in idle regrets, faced the difficult circum- 
stances as they were, and having accumulated a 
small capital of $300 he began buying tobacco in 
Virginia and selling it in Florida. That was his 
real start in life, and from it he made a name as 
one of the wealthiest farmers, merchants and 
manufacturers in North Carolina. 

The interests which engaged him in his later 
years are to be noted briefly as follows: Presi- 
dent of the Clayton Banking Company; president 
of the Clayton "Cotton Mills from 1900 until his 
death; president of the North Carolina Agricul- 
tural Society from 1903; president of the Capu- 
dine Chemical Company from February, 1904; 
vice president of the Caraleigh Phosphate and 
Fertilizer Works from 1890; director of the 
Raleigh Standard Oil Company from 1885; director 
of the Raleigh Commercial and Farmers Bank; 
director of the Caraleigh Cotton Mills; director 
of the Wilson Farmers Oil Company; director of 
the Seven Springs Security Company; director 
of the Eastern Life Insurance Company, and in 
many other important corporations. 

The death of this distinguished North Carolinan 
occurred in October, 1913. In the way of public 
service he served as a member of the State Senate 
in 1884-85. He was on the financial committee 
which established the Agricultural and Mechanical 
College near Ealeigh. He served from 1901 until 
his death as commander of the Colonel Walter 
Moore Camp of the United Confederate Veterans, 
and was formerly major on General Carr's Staff 
of State Associations of Confederate Veterans. 

Mr. Home married Cornelia Francis Lee, who 
became the mother of three children. He married 
for his second wife Bena Hasseltine Beckwith, by 
whom he had one daughter. Mrs. Ashley Home 
now occupies the fine old homestead at Clayton. 

Richard Berry Lane is one of the best-known 
men in public life in Craven County, which 
he is now serving for his third term as sheriff. He 
is as efficient as he is popular, and his work, 
whether in public office or in business affairs, 
has always been characterized by an earnest- 
ness and fidelity that has justified every promo- 
tion and honor he has received. 

Mr. Lane was born at Newbern, North Caro- 
lina, September 9, 1879, a son of William Bryan 
and Laura (Bryan) Lane. His father, who was 
a farmer, was also well known in public affairs, 
serving at one time as sheriff of Craven County 
and for six years sitting in the capital at 
Ealeigh as representative from the county. 

Richard B. Lane completed his education with 
a high school course. After that he worked as 
clerk in the offices of the Atlantic and North 
Carolina Railway Company for five years. He 
was soon in politics and since manhood has been 
active in democratic party affairs. From 1906 
to 1908 he served as register of deeds of Craven 
County. Following his official term in that of- 
fice he went back to the farm and cultivated 
his lands steadily for four years. In 1912 he 
was brought back to public office by . election 



as sheriff, and he was recently returned for a 
third consecutive term. 

Mr. Lane is affiliated with the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks, the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows, the Improved Order of Red 
Men, the Woodmen of the World and is active 
in the Presbyterian Church. On September 23, 
1903, he married Miss Hallie Connelly, of Ches- 
tertown, Maryland. 

Eli Walter Hill before responding to the call 
for duty in the army was a well established lawyer 
at Goldsboro. Mr. Hill had extensive experience 
in the newspaper field, in politics, and while study- 
ing law was connected with the Goldsboro post- 
office. 

He was born at Newport, North Carolina, April 
14, 1875, a son of Michael A. and Henrietta (San- 
ders) Hill. His father was a farmer and at one 
time held the office of sheriff of Cataret County. 

While his people were possessed of some means 
and he was reared in a good home, Mr. Hill found 
it wise to exert his efforts in his own behalf at an 
early age and has in every important sense been 
the architect of his own destiny. As a boy he 
attended the public schools, and from 1894 to 1897 
was a student in Trinity College. After leaving 
that institution he spent two years with the News 
and Dispatch as a practical newspaper man, and 
then came to Goldsboro and from 1901 to 1908 
served as money order clerk in the Goldsboro post- 
office. In the meantime he took up and studied so 
far as his opportunities permitted the law with 
W. C. Monroe. In 1907 he was admitted to the 
bar and after resigning his place in the postoffice 
he applied himself actively to the task of building 
up a practice, and succeeded beyond his fondest 
hopes. 

In 1908 Mr. Hill made a creditable campaign for 
election to Congress, but was on the republican 
ticket and went down to defeat before the normal 
majority. He is an active member of the Wayne 
County Bar Association. He and his family are 
members of St. Paul 's Methodist Episcopal church. 
On January 24, 1900, he married Miss Mamie 
Lindsay, of Beaufort, North Carolina, daughter of 
Thomas W. Lindsay. 

During the summer of 1917 Mr. Hill attended 
both training camps for officers at Fort Ogle- 
thorpe, and at the close of the second period of 
instruction in November was commissioned a sec- 
ond lieutenant. He was soon assigned to duty with 
the Seventeenth Machine Gun Battalion, and was 
stationed at Chickamauga Park, Georgia, prior to 
sailing for France, where at the time of publica- 
tion he is now on duty with his company in the 
American Expeditionary Forces. 

Elijah Thomas Atkinson. One of the lead- 
ing educators of Southeastern North Carolina for 
many years has been Elijah Thomas Atkinson, 
for the past twenty-five years county superin 
tendent of public instruction for Wayne County. 
This is his native county and he was born on his 
father's farm November 2, 1861. His parents 
wore William Francis and Charity E. (Cox) At- 
kinson. 

Instructed by private tutors until old enough to 
leave home, he had laid a sound foundation when 
he became a student in the King's Mountain 
School, where he had military as well as mental 
training. Later he entered Wake Forest College 
and in early manhood made plans for a medical 



90 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



career, subsequently spending two years of study 
m the medical department of Vanderbilt Uni- 
versity at Nashville, Tennessee. He then turned 
his attention to the educational field, and, finding 
it unexpectedly congenial, continued to teacn 
school and later became connected as an instructor 
with Bethel Academy, a well known educational 
institution in Duplin County, where he remained 
for eight years. 

In May, 1893, Mr. Atkinson was elected county 
superintendent of public instruction of Wayne 
County and assumed the duties of this position 
on June 5th following. He brought to this office 
a ripened mind and years of teaching experience, 
together with the deep interest which, in all sub- 
sequent affairs of his life, he has kept first and 
foremost. His devotion has been so marked and 
his efficiency so unmistakable that year after year 
he has been re-elected and probably is the oldest 
superintendent in point of years of service in the 
Southeastern North Carolina District Association 
of Superintendents of Public Instruction, of whicli 
he is a valued member. He belongs also to the 
North Carolina County Superintendents ' Asso- 
ciation, and to the Wayne County Teachers' Asso- 
ciation. He is one of the earnest men of his 
profession which, with changing conditions and 
population, finds itself face to face with educa- 
tional problems that their books alone cannot help 
them solve. Old educational methods that for- 
merly sufficed, such progressive and wide-awake 
men as Superintendent Atkinson, with ear attuned 
to the demands of the future, recognize must be 
changed to fit the times. Wayne County feels 
confident that in no way will the high standard 
set up by their superintendent ever be lowered but 
that on the other hand still more thorough and 
practical will the advantages be in the curriculum 
of the public schools in the future. 

In political affiliation Professor Atkinson has 
always been a democrat but has never been par- 
ticularly active, although willing at all times to 
acknowledge his convictions and give reason for 
upholding them. He is serving as secretary of 
the county board of health. Aside from his profes- 
sional memberships he belongs to no organization 
except the Junior Order of United American' Me- 
chanics. He was reared in the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church and belongs to St. Paul's at Golds- 
boro. 

Henry Carl Buchan. Some of the important 
problems connected with agricultural development 
in North Carolina have been and are being worked 
out on the extensive plantation near Aberdeen in 
Hoke County owned by the Jonathan Buchan 
estate. Henry Carl Buchan is a young planter 
of liberal education and highly specialized train- 
ing and is largely carrying out the thoughtful 
ideals and plans of his late father concerning the 
development of the present plantation. 

His father, Jonathan Buchan, who died in 1914, 
was born near Manly in Moore County in 1846, a 
son of Archibald Buchan, a native of Scotia ml. 
Archibald on coming to America in the '30s located 
three miles from the present Village of Manly in 
Moore County. Jonathan Buchan aside from the 
service he rendered as a boy in the Confederate 
army with a Moore County regiment gave all his 
active years to farming and planting. He was 
one of the prominent men in his part of the state. 
His county sent him once or twice as Representa- 
tive to the Lower House of the State Legislature, 
and he was extremely interested in public affairs 



of all kinds. One of the dominating ideals of his 
life was his strenuous, determined and implacable 
hostility to the liquor business. He became an 
advocate of prohibition in North Carolina long 
before the movement took on a popular character, 
and as such he bore the brunt of leadership for 
a number of years. He kejjt up the fight uncom- 
promisingly and aggressively until state wide 
prohibition was affected in 1907. He has been 
well characterized as a man without guile, with- 
out the slightest greed for money, enjoying always 
the good things and the wholesome pleasures of 
life, the companionship of his friends and was 
extremely devoted to his family and was beloved 
by all who knew him. He was of that fine type of 
character which seems to have almost passed away 
in this highly commercialized age. 

Twenty years before his death Jonathan Buchan 
acquired a large body of timbered land in the ex- 
treme southern end of Hoke County. While he 
always kept his home at Manly he grew up and 
cherished many ambitious plans and projects for 
the development of this property, hoping to make 
it a modern farm enterprise. He died before his 
ideas could be put into execution, but his son, 
Henry Carl Buchan, from close association with 
his father and natural sympathy with his plans, 
was inspired to carry them out and has worked 
faithfully and intelligently to this end. 

Henry Carl Buchan was born at his father's 
home at Manly in Moore County in 1888, son of 
Jonathan E. and Belle (Robertson) Buchan. He 
was for three years a student in the Agricultural 
and Mechanical College of North Carolina, and 
completed his technical education and received 
his degree in 1911 from the Alabama Polytechnic 
Institute. In the fall of the same year he lo- 
cated on the property which had been acquired by 
his father and has devoted the past seven years 
to its development. 

This plantation comprises 2,400 acres located on 
Drowning Creek in the extreme southern end of 
Hoke County, at a point where the four counties 
of Moore, Richmond, Scotland and Hoke converge. 
This is in the edge of the famous Sand Hills sec- 
tion of North Carolina, where so many remarkable 
results have been obtained in agricultural develop- 
ment within recent years. Mr. Buchan has car- 
ried out a systematic and well calculated scheme 
of development. Cotton, of course, is the staple 
money crop, and his plantation is one of the largest 
individual producers of that staple among several 
counties. The crop in 1917 was more than 200 
bales, the value of which represented a small 
fortune in itself. Mr. Buchan permits no hap- 
hazard cultivation in the handling of crops on 
his jdace. He is constantly studying to improve 
his methods and tactics. In 1917 on one piece 
of ground of eighteen acres, which was handled 
with special care, and on which 500 pounds of 
fertilizer was applied to the acre, the production 
of cotton reached twenty-five bales. Mr. Buchan 
has his plantation divided into farm units, so lo- 
cated as to be the most conveniently cultivated and 
superintended. Among other features of his culti- 
vation are some very fine patches of alfalfa, and 
he is one of the few successful growers of this 
legume in this part of the state. Mr. Buchan also 
has a very promising peach orchard of forty acres, 
containing over 5,000 trees. Most of the uncleared 
portion of the plantation contains valuable timber, 
which in itself is an asset. Mr. Buchan employs a 
large number of negro workers, and is a very effi- 
cient superintendent of labor, and while everyone 




^bh^cM 



C<^i 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



91 



is busy throughout the year, his workmen and ten- 
ants are a very contented and harmonious group. 
For all the success he has gained Mr. Buchan still 
remains a very young man, only thirty years old, 
and is therefore still at the beginning of his career. 
All observers predict a wonderful future for the 
Buchan plantation. Mr. Buchan married Miss 
Mary Godfrey, of Jonesboro, North Carolina, and 
they have one son, H. Carl, Jr. 

William Henry Harrison Cobb, M. D. There 
was hardly a more distinguished figure in the 
annals of North Carolina medicine during the 
last half century than Doctor Cobb, of Golds- 
boro. His life was full of professional honors 
and also those distinctions due to patriotic serv- 
ice as a soldier and to unusual personal talents 
and individual ability. 

He was born April 3, 1841, at Mount Auburn, 
in Wayne County, North Carolina, a son of 
William Donnell and Ann Spicer Cobb. He was 
of English and Dutch ancestry. His ancestors 
were among the early settlers of the New World. 
James Cobb came over in 1613 on the ship 
Treasurer from Holland. Another ancestor, John 
Martin Franks, came with other Germans in 
1732 to Newbern, North Carolina, and fixed his 
home on the Trent, twenty miles west of that 
city. His daughter, Susanna Franks, became 
the wife of William Heritage, who had settled 
at Kinston, North Carolina, and from their 
daughter and heiress, Elizabeth Heritage, who 
married Jesse Cobb, the Cobb family derived 
their wealth and lineage. 

Dr. W. H. H. Cobb attended the noted Bing- 
ham School at the Oakes and Colonel Tew's 
School at Hillsboro, North Carolina. He studied 
medicine both at the Universities of Virginia and 
Pennsylvania, and was graduated physician and 
surgeon from the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1861. 

His graduation almost coincided with the out- 
break of hostilities between the North and South. 
On returning home he enlisted as a private in 
the Confederate army, subsequently was pro- 
moted to lieutenant, and resigned that office to 
accept appointment as assistant surgeon of the 
Second North Carolina Begiment. At the close 
of the war he was assistant surgeon of the Twen- 
tieth Georgia Begiment. 

Doctor Cobb, after the trying four years of 
civil conflict, located for private practice as a 
physician and surgeon in Wayne County. From 
there he removed to Goldsboro, where he con- 
tinued his active work until his last illness. 
Both as a private citizen and as a physician, his 
work brought him into touch with the larger 
phases of state life and affairs. For three terms 
he served as alderman of the City of Goldsboro, 
was a director of the Atlantic and North Caro- 
lina Railroad Company, was surgeon for the At- 
lantic Coast Line Company, was state medical 
examiner for the Boyal Arcanum seventeen years, 
was district referee of the Mutual Benefit Life 
Insurance Company, and by appointment from 
the governor was delegate to the Pan-American 
Medical Congress at Washington, D. C. He was 
formerly a member of the State Board of Med- 
ical Examiners, vice-president North Carolina 
State Medical Society, president North Carolina 
State Medical Society, one of the founders of 
the Southern Surgical and Gynecological Society, 
an honorary fellow of the Tri-State Medical So- 
ciety, including the Carolinas and Virginia, of 



which he was twice president and had formerly 
been a member of the Americal Medical Asso- 
ciation. He served as Grand Dictator of the 
Knights of Honor. 

Doctor Cobb was an uncompromising demo- 
crat and loyally aided that party whenever pos- 
sible. He was a steward in St. Pauls Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South. On December 27, 1866, 
at Goldsboro, Doctor Cobb married Miss Hen- 
rietta Wright, daughter of Council Wright of 
Mississippi. There were four children: Dr. 
William H. Cobb, of Goldsboro; Mrs. Mariana 
Gareissen, Miss Nellie W. Cobb and Miss Leila 
M. Cobb. 

William Henry Cobb, M. D. Only son of the 
late Dr. W. H. H. Cobb, one of North Caro- 
lina's distinglished physicians, Dr. William 
Henry Cobb has proved a worthy successor of 
his honored father and for many years has en- 
joyed both professional distinction and success 
in Goldsboro. 

A native of Wayne County, he was born Feb- 
ruary 2, 1868, spent his youth in Goldsboro, 
where he attended the public schools, and began 
his medical studies in the University of Mary- 
land, but subsequently entered the Jefferson 
Medical College of Philadelphia, where he com- 
pleted the course in 1889. Since that year he 
has been in active practice at Goldsboro with 
the exception of three and a half years spent as 
assistant physician at the State Hospital at 
Raleigh. He led the class and stood first before 
the State Board of Medical Examiners of North 
Carolina in 1889 and received the Appleton prize 
for this distinction. 

He has been very active in public health work, 
having formerly served as county health officer 
and city physician. He is now surgeon for the 
Atlantic Coast Line Railway and is a member 
of the staff of physicians and surgeons of the 
Goldsboro Hospital. He is a member of the 
Wayne County and North Carolina State Med- 
ical Societies, is a director of the Wayne Na- 
tional Bank, belongs to the Masonic Order, the 
Algonquin Club and St. Paul Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, South. He is chairman of the Med- 
ical Advisory Board, Fourteenth District, State 
of North Carolina. 

Doctor Cobb was married November 15, 1893, 
to Miss Georgia Borden, of Goldsboro, daughter 
of William H. Borden. He has two sons : Wil- 
liam Borden, who recently graduated A. B. from 
the University of North Carolina, and is now 
serving his country in France in the gas de- 
fense division, and Donnell Brownrigg, a student 
in medicine in the University of North Carolina. 

John Henry Vernon is a lawyer at Burlington, 
and is enjoying a splendid practice. He was mem- 
ber of the Generaly Assembly of 1915, and chair- 
man of the County Democratic Executive Commit- 
tee, 1912-14. 

He was born at Winstead, North Carolina, in 
Person County, November 15, 1883, son of Charles 
R. and Corrina (Henry) Vernon. His father was 
at one time a successful teacher but spent most of 
his mature years in farming. John Henry Vernon 
spent his boyhood on a farm, attended district 
school, the Wake Forest High School, and com- 
pleted his education in Wake Forest College, from 
which he took his A. B. degree and later his LL. B. 
degree. He was admitted to the bar in 1906, at 
the age of twenty-two, and at once removed to Bur- 



92 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



lington to open his office. He has been engaged in 
a general practice and for several years has served 
as attorney for the City of Burlington and for 
Alamance County. He is a member in good stand- 
ing of the North Carolina Bar Association, is 
chairman of the board of deacons and superin- 
tendent of the Sunday school of the First Baptist 
Church, and is affiliated with the Masonic Order, 
Knights of Pythias, and Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics. 

December 28, 1909, he married Miss Sallie Cates, 
of Burlington. They have two children, John 
Henry, Jr., and Sarah Elizabeth. 

William Summey Coulter, Jr., who is junior part- 
ner of the law firm of Vernon & Coulter at Bur- 
lington, was born at Newton, North Carolina. 
August 28, 1886, son of John S. and Sarah Ann 
(Herman) Coulter. He was reared on a farm, 
attended country schools and Newton College, 
graduated A. B. from the University of North 
Carolina, and after finishing the work of the law 
department was admitted to the bar in February, 
1914. Since then he has been located at Burling- 
ton in general practice with Mr. Vernon. Mr. 
Coulter is affiliated with the Masonic Order. 

William Calvin Steele, M. D. With more than 
a quarter of a century of experience behind him, 
Doctor Steele has grown in capabilities and in 
esteem as a physician and surgeon steadily, and 
during the many years he has practiced at Mount 
Olive has made his profession a medium of a multi- 
tude of personal services to his fellow men. 

Doctor Steele was born in Mooresville, Iredell 
County, North Carolina, September 16, 1867, a 
son of Thomas Newton and Mary (Query) Steele. 
His father was a farmer, and Doctor Steele grew 
up on a farm. He attended the public schools in 
his native district and in Mooresville, and also 
had his higher literary training in Davidson Col- 
lege. The University of Maryland Medical De- 
partment has a number of capable representa- 
tives in the medical profession in North Carolina, 
and Doctor Steele was graduated from that school 
in 1891. He began practice with Dr. John R. 
Irwin in Mecklenburg County, where he remained 
two years, and for another two years he was in 
Cabarrus County. Since January, 1895, Doctor 
Steele has had his home and practice at Mount 
Olive. He handles a general practice and for a 
number of years he has had all that his time per- 
mits him to look after. He is local surgeon for 
the Atlantic Coast Line Railway, is a former 
county health officer and has been on the board 
of health of Wayne County for a number of years. 
He is a member of the North Carolina Medical 
Society, and the Tri-State Medical Society. Doctor 
Steele is a thirty-second degree Scottish Bite 
Mason and a Mystic Shriner. He is an elder and 
active worker in the Presbyterian Church. 

On December 7, 1898, Doctor Steele was mar- 
ried to Kate Southerland, of Mount Olive, daugh- 
ter of Bobert J. and Anna (Witherington) South- 
erland. Doctor and Mrs. Steele have three chil- 
dren: Mary Southerland, Wyeth Christian and 
Kate Wilhelmina. 

William Thomas Yelverton. Many times in 
the history of the world have the practical busi- 
ness man of a community proved a saving reserve 
in seasons of financial stringency or public calam- 
ity, and from that stable and sturdy class have, 
more than once, been called men to power who 
have proved invaluable to the nation. The busi- 
ness interests of Goldsboro cover almost every 



line of commercial trade, and to the energy, in- 
telligence and alert shrewdness of the men who 
have built up and still ably manage their pros- 
pering concerns the general public is much in- 
debted. Good judgment that includes intelligent 
foresight, commercial knowledge, reasonable in- 
dustry, and the recognition of the rights of com- 
petitors as well as customers make honorable 
business men, and in no part of the United States 
will more of these be found than in North Car- 
olina. Among the representative men of Golds- 
boro may be named William Thomas Yelverton, 
for many years identified with merchandising and 
since 1881 identified with the hardware line. 

William Thomas Yelverton was born Decem- 
ber 21, 1848, in Wayne County, North Carolina. 
His parents were George Teaberry and Edith 
(Farmer; Yelverton. The father was a planter 
and lived on his own estate until the close of 
his life. In this section when Wilbam T. Yelver- 
ton was a boy there were no public schools but 
there were many excellent private schools, often 
taught by college graduates, and these Mr. Yel- 
verton attended until he was old enough to put 
his acquired knowledge to practical use. 

Business life rather than agricultural pursuits 
interested Mr. Yelverton, and as proprietor of 
a country store he carried on a satisfactory busi- 
ness until 1874, in. which year he was elected 
clerk of the Superior Court. His acquaintance 
over the county was wide and his personal as well 
as political friends numerous, and he was twice 
re-elected to this office, at the close of his last 
term declining to serve again. The record of 
his official life is one of honorable efficiency. In 
1881 Mr. Yelverton embarked in the hardware 
business at Goldsboro, in which line he has ever 
since continued, carrying a complete stock in- 
eluding the old standards of the trade and new 
articles and devices that have proved desirable 
inventions. 

Mr. Yelverton was married April 18, 1872, to 
Miss Sarah Jane Sauls, of Wayne County, North 
Carolina, and they have five children, namely: 
Edgar Bayard, who is associated with his father 
in the hardware business; Paul, who is also in 
business with his father; Eugene Leslie, who is 
the third son in the business; Glennie, who is 
deceased ; and Emmor Harrison, who is in the 
government service. 

Mr. Yelverton has additional business inter- 
ests, being on the directing board of the National 
Bank of Goldsboro, and also of the Wayne Agri- 
cultural Works. For twelve years he has been 
a member of the Board of Education of Golds- 
boro and on many occasions has served on other 
civic boards of importance. He belongs to the 
Chamber of Commerce at Goldsboro, and has long 
been identified with the Masonic fraternity. As 
one of the older citizens he has been a witness 
of Goldsboro 's marvelous growth and in every 
way has done his part in promoting the same. He 
belongs to that noble class of men who recognize 
responsibility and is ever willing to co-operate 
in giving encouragement to laudable public en- 
terprises and to forward justifiable benevolent 
movements. 

J. Rankin Thomas is president of the Ameri- 
can Realty and Auction Company of Greensboro 
and a business man whose solid interests rep- 
resent and are the reflection of unusually varied 
accomplishments and abilities. 

Mr. Thomas was born on a farm in the north- 





^4 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



93 



east part of Guilford County, son of John W. 
and Fanny (Andrews) Thomas, grandson of 
John Thomas and on the maternal side of Jerry 
Andrews. His mother died in 1913. His father 
is now a retired resident of Greensboro. There 
were eleven children in the family, eight of 
whom are living: Eobert T., Capers E., Billy, 
J. Rankin, John C, Irving R., Ada and Mamie. 
Ada married Thomas L. McLean, secretary and 
treasurer of the Van Story Clothing Company, 
while Mamie is the wife of Ed Brockman. 

J. Rankin Thomas was reared and educated in 
Guilford County. As a youth he was trained in 
habits of industry and this, together with a 
resolute purpose, has carried him far in a busi- 
ness way. During his younger years he was 
engaged in general teaming and contracting. In 
1905 he began to give the most of his attention 
to real estate auctioneering and under his leader- 
ship his extensive interests in those lines have 
been concentrated in the organization of the 
American Realty and Auction Company, the busi- 
ness of which now extends to practically every 
state of the Union. The company not only sells 
on commission, but is ready at all times to in- 
vest in any proposition that offers the proper 
safeguards of security and income. Mr. Thomas 
is a premier in the auction field, and has those 
personal qualities as well as the sound business 
judgment which make for success in that pecul- 
iarly difficult vocation. 

"Were his business interests not so extensive 
in other ways, Mr. Thomas might be classed as 
one of the leading farmer citizens of North 
Carolina. He owns and occupies Springdale Farm 
on the High Point Road three miles from Greens- 
boro. This is a highly developed place, noted 
for its high average of general crop production, 
but especially as a home of thoroughbred regis- 
tered Poland China and Duroe hogs. 

Mr. Thomas has been twice married. His only 
son, Guy, is the son of his first wife, whose 
maiden name was Mattie Apple. Guy is now 
connected with the American Realty and Auction 
Company. Mr. Thomas' second wife was Mar- 
garet Young. 

Mr. Thomas is affiliated with Greensboro 
Council No. 3 of the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics, with Greensboro Lodge No. 
602, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
and Eno Tribe No. 61 of the Improved Order 
of Red Men. 

Robert N. Hadley is one of the live and enter- 
prising business men of Greensboro, and also spent 
a number of years as a teacher and educator in 
commercial lines. He held a number of responsible 
and important positions in this work. 

A native of North Carolina and of an old fam- 
ily here, he was born on a farm near Pittsboro in 
Chatham County. His grandfather, William P. 
Hadley, owned and operated a large estate in 
Chatham County and spent all his life there. He 
married Hannah McPherson, and both the grand- 
parents lived to be eighty-five years old. They 
were active members of the Methodist Protestant 
Church. 

"William C. Hadley, father of the Greensboro 
business man, was born on a farm at Hershey 
Mountain, Chatham County, in 1834. The out- 
break of the war between the states found him 
busily engaged as a farmer, but he gave up that 
vocation to enter the Confederate army and though 
wounded in battle was in service until the close 



of hostilities. He then resumed farming, and after 
a time moved from Pittsboro to Greene County, 
buying a farm and was engaged in its general 
operation until his death in 1880. He married- 
Emily Carter. She was born in Randolph County, 
daughter of Brice Carter, who afterwards moved 
from Randolph to Alamance County and lived on 
a farm there until his death. Mrs. Emily Hadley 
died in 1912, at the age of seventy-one. She reared 
three sons and two daughters named: Edgar, 
Rufus, Robert N., Maggie and Florence. 

Robert N. Hadley completed his public school 
education in the Siler City High School. Later 
he was a student of various commercial arts and 
methods in the Atlanta Business University at 
Yadkin College, at the Rome Business College, 
Rome, Georgia, and the Bryant & Stratton Busi- 
ness College at Baltimore. He also taught in the 
Atlanta Business University. For a time he had 
charge of the commercial department of the Lit- 
erary and Commercial Institute at Rochelle, 
Georgia. Later he was in Florida, as a teacher 
at Apvalachicola and Tampa, and for nine years 
was director of the commercial department of the 
University of Florida. 

After this long and active experience in com- 
mercial education Mr. Hadley finally resigned and 
coming to Greensboro organized the Columbia 
Laundry Company, of which he is secretary and 
treasurer. He has shown much capacity in build- 
ing up this business, and is now widely known 
among the laundrymen of the state. He is a mem- 
ber of the National Association of Laundrymen 
and of the American Association of Master Dyers 
and Dry Cleaners, also secretary and treasurer of 
the Goose Grease Company, and secretary and 
treasurer of the Hill Chemical Company. 

In 1898 Mr. Hadley married Miss Mary Peebles. 
She was born near Yadkin College in Davie County, 
North Carolina, daughter of Captain N. A. and 
Mary Lowe Peebles. Mr. and Mrs. Hadley are 
members of the First Presbyterian Church. He is 
also well known socially in Greensboro, is a mem- 
ber of the Rotary Club, Greensboro Lodge No. 
164, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Greens- 
boro Lodge No. 80. Knights of Pythias; and 
Greensboro Lodge No. 602 of the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks. 

Parran Jarboe, M. D. After an unusual wealth 
of training and experience acquired in some of the 
best institutions of the country Doctor Jarboe 
came to Greensboro a few years ago and has de- 
voted himself with steadily rising success to the 
practice of surgery and special diseases. He is 
accounted one of the leading members of the 
medical profession in North Carolina. 

Doctor Jarboe was born on a plantation near 
Leonardstown in St. Marys County, Maryland. He 
is descended from French Huguenot ancestors, who 
spelled the name Jarbeau. His great-grandfather, 
Mathew Jarboe, was probably a lifelong resident 
of St. Marys County. The grandfather, Mathew 
Jarboe, was born in that locality and owned and 
operated a plantation near Leonardstown. He 
owned a large number of slaves. That was his 
chief form of wealth and of course when the war 
came on and freed his negroes he was left prac- 
tically without means. During the war he fought 
as a Confederate soldier. After the war he man- 
aged to accommodate himself to new conditions 
and continued to superintend the plantation and 
make a living from the land until his death. 

Joseph Benedict Jarboe, father of Doctor Jar- 



94 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



boe, was born on the Maryland plantation and 
much of his youth was passed during the war 
times and his opportunities to acquire an educa- 
tion were consequently limited. He made for him- 
self a good business education, and inheriting a 
portion of his father's estate, has steadily occu- 
pied it ever since and is accounted one of the suc- 
cessful farmers and stock raisers of that vicinity. 
His chief farm product is tobacco. He married 
Mary Hazel, who was born in St. Marys County, 
daughter of Zachariah T. and Mary Ann Hazel. 
To their marriage were born seven children: Par- 
ran, Mae, Jennie, Matthew, Josiah Benedict, 
Eoberta and Elsie. 

Dr. Parran Jarboe spent his youth on his 
father 's farm. He acquired a primary education 
under private tutors and was prepared for college 
at St. Thomas' Academy. For three years he was 
a student in Loyola College at Baltimore, and 
from there entered Georgetown University in the 
District of Columbia, where he was graduated in 
the Medical Department with the class of 1905. 
Not content to go into active practice with merely 
his medical diploma, he then entered the Casualty 
Hospital at Washington, D. C. and was an interne 
there four years. During that time he had many 
increasing responsibilities, and handled a large 
share of the surgical and general medical work 
of the institution. 

With this preparation Doctor Jarboe came to 
Greensboro and has found here all the oppor- 
tunities he sought for his talents. Since locating 
at Greensboro he has spent six months in the New 
York Polyclinic. In 1907 Doctor Jarboe married 
Lucile Glenn, daughter of Hon. Harry and Mar- 
garet (Alexander) Peyton, of Mississippi. Doctor 
and Mrs. Jarboe have one daughter, named Mar- 
garet. 

Doctor Jarboe is surgeon at St. Leo 's Hospital 
at Greensboro and is also lecturer to St. Leo's 
Training School for Nurses and consulting sur- 
geon of Glenwood Paid Sanitarium. He is a 
member of the Guilford County Medical Society, 
the North Carolina Medical Society, the Southern 
District Medical Society, the Tri-State Medical 
Society and the American Medical Association, 
and so far as his duties have permitted has taken 
an active interest and been a regular attendant 
at the meetings of these ■ organizations. He also 
belongs to the Greensboro Country Club and the 
Merchants and Manufacturers Club. 

James William Black, vice president and gen- 
eral manager of the Caswell Cotton Mills at Kins- 
ton, has been identified with the cotton industry 
all his active career. He grew ur> in the atmos- 
phere, learned the business in all its technical 
details, and has built and superintended several 
important mills. 

He was born at Florence. Alabama, October 2, 
1865, a- son of William Francis and Priscilla 
(Dickinson) Black. His father was a manufac- 
turer of cotton and the son practically grew up 
in a cotton mill. He was liberally educated, at- 
tending both the public and private schools. 
After varied preliminary exnerience he went out 
to Denver. Colorado, in 1893. and was superin- 
tendent of the Cleveland Cotton Mills of that 
city. While there he also pursued a business 
course in a business college. 

In 1897 Mr. Black came to North Carolina, and 
became superintendent of the Louise Cotton Mills 
at Charlotte. He built those mills and operated 
them as superintendent until 1899. In that year 



he removed to Kinston, served as superintendent 
of the Kinston Cotton Mills until 1908 and then 
built the Caswell Cotton Mills, and since they 
were in operation has been vice president and 
general manager of the plant and the company. 
The Caswell Cotton Mills are spinners of high 
grade hosiery yarn and the industry is one of 
the most important in the City of Kinston. The 
other officers of the mills are: J. E. Hood, presi- 
dent; F. C. Dunn, treasurer; and L. M. LaRoque, 
secretary. 

Mr. Black is a vigorous member of the Cham- 
ber of Commerce and the Kinston Fair Associa- 
tion and has shown a public spirit in connection 
with every matter of local welfare. He is a mem- 
ber of the First Baptist Church, is affiliated with 
the lodge, Royal Arch Chapter and Knight Tem- 
plar Commandery and Mystic Shrine in Masonry, 
is eminent commander of the Knights Templar, 
is a past patriarch in the Encampment of the Odd 
Fellows, and also belongs to the Woodmen of the 
World. 

Mr. Black was first married to Miss Sadie 
Scott of the State of Maine. She died August 20, 
1888, leaving two children, Clovis McDonald, who 
is a graduate of the Agricultural and Mechanical 
College of Raleigh, and is now superintendent of 
the Borden Cotton Mills at Goldsboro; and Maie 
Ella, born July 2, 1888, now Mrs. James H. Lock- 
wood of Welch, West Virginia. 

On February 20, 1906, Mr. Black married Ennis 
Marquette, of Kinston. They have one child, 
James William, Jr., born February 23, 1907. 

John W. McGehee, M. D. A broad and valu- 
able service has been rendered the community 
of Reidsville since Doctor McGehee began practice 
there in 1905. He has steadily grown in favor 
as a capable and skillful physician and surgeon, 
and is also local surgeon for the Southern Rail- 
way Company and medical examiner for the 
Rockingham County Exemption Board. 

Doctor McGehee was born at Madison in Rock- 
ingham County, and is a grandson of H. J. 
McGehee, a native of Virginia, who came to 
Rockingham County many years ago and bought 
a farm a mile west of Madison. He was a mer- 
chant in Madison for many years. Henry J. 
McGehee, father of Doctor McGehee, was born 
in Virginia near Farmville, and considering the 
environment of his youth acquired a good edu- 
cation. On the outbreak of the war he enlisted 
in Company H of the Fifteenth North Carolina 
Infantry. He was witli that command and by 
faithful and soldierly conduct was promoted to 
the rank of captain. When the war was over 
he engaged in merchandising in Madison, and 
remained one of the active citizens of that com- 
munity until his death. He married Mary Eliza- 
beth Webster. Her father, Benjamin Webster, 
was a trader and in the days before railroads 
bought and sold large quantities of tobacco, 
traveling by wagon over South Carolina and 
Georgia. Henry J. McGehee and wife had nine 
children : Henry Webster, Irene, Richard Al- 
bert, Benjamin Franklin, Mattie, Sallie Foy, 
Nannie, Mary Elizabeth and John W. 

Dr. John W. McGehee was only three weeks 
old when his mother died and a year later his 
father passed away, and after that the maternal 
grandmother took charge of the home and reared 
the young children. Nevertheless^ he acquired 
and gained for himself liberal opportunities in 
the way of education. After leaving the Madi- 






HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



95 



son grade school he completed the course of the 
literary and commercial departments at Oak 
Ridge Institute, continued his work in the Uni- 
versity of North Carolina, and from there en- 
tered the medical department of the University 
of Maryland at Baltimore, where he was gradu- 
ated M. D. in 1904. The following year he spent 
as an interne in the University Hospital. Doctor 
McGehee located in Eeidsville in 1905 and has 
been busied with his practice ever since. He is a 
member of the Rockingham County, North Caro- 
lina State and Tri-State Medical Societies and 
the American Medical Association. He is also a 
member of the Masonic order, the Knights of 
Pythias and the Royal Arcanum. For two years 
he served as town commissioner. He is a member 
of the board of stewards and trustees of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, of which his wife 
is also a member. June 26, 1906, Doctor McGe- 
hee married Mary Olive Frayser of Arkansas. 
They have four children, Edna Earle, Mary 
Elizabeth, Louise Franklin and Henry Richard. 

Romulus Benton Blalock is member of Bla- 
lock Brothers, one of the largest firms in the 
general building profession and contracting line 
in Newbern and in that section of the state. 
Mr. Blalock had as basis for his business a 
thorough knowledge and experience in several 
building trades and has worked his way to a 
position of merit and success. 

He was born in "Wake County, North Caro- 
lina, January 31, 1S72, a son of John and 
Tabitha (Hunnicutt) Blalock. His father was a 
farmer, and while not a man of wealth, gave his 
children the best possible advantages at home 
and in school. R. B. Blalock attended the public 
schools and quite early in life began learning 
the trade of carpenter and also as a painter and 
decorator. He followed these lines until he took 
up building contracting in 1910 and has since 
devoted all his time and energies to that work. 
The firm of Blalock Brothers consists of R. L. 
and R. B. Blalock, and they maintain business 
headquarters both at Newbern and at Kinston. 
Their work is done all over that section of the 
state, and they have successfully handled a num- 
ber of large contracts. 

Mr. Blalock is a member of the North Caro- 
lina Builders Exchange. He is a past noble 
grand of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and also belongs to the Royal Arcanum. In poli- 
tics he is a democrat, and he is an active member 
and a former steward of the Centenary Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

On March 11, 1895, he married Miss Zimenia 
Wimberley, of Durham, North Carolina. They 
are the parents of four children: Corinne, Ade- 
laide Zimenia, Elsie and Romulus B. Blalock, Jr. 

Harry Scott Donnell. Among the men who 
figure prominently in mercantile affairs at Greens- 
boro one is Harry Scott Donnell, head of the well 
known men 's furnishing house of Donnell-Madearis 
Company. 

Mr. Donnell was born in Greensboro, and has 
a very interesting- ancestry that connects him with 
some of the early colonial families of the state. 
His American forefather was Thomas Donnell, 
who was born in Ireland between 1710 and 1715 
and grew up there and married Jane Latham. 
When they came to America they brought with 
them five or six children. As colonial settlers in 
North Carolina they located in that part of Orange 



County now included in Guilford County, and 
here spent the rest of their days. Altogether 
they reared nine sons and two daughters, named 
James, Hannah, John, William, Robert, Thomas, 
Andrew, George, Jane, Latham and Alexander. 
Alexander died young but all the others except 
William married and reared families. 

In the next generation the ancestor was Major 
John Donnell, who was commissioned a major of 
colonial troops in the Revolutionary war. Many 
of his descendants are members of the Sons and 
Daughters of the American Revolution. He mar- 
ried his first wife in Pennsylvania, Hannah Meek, 
and in North Carolina he married for his second 
wife Elizabeth Denny. Elizabeth Denny was the 
mother of Levi Donnell, of the next generation. 
Levi was born in Guilford County and, like his 
father, spent his active career as a planter and 
slave owner. He married Hannah Rankin, a 
native of Guilford County and daughter of Eob- 
ert Rankin and granddaughter of John Rankin. 
John Rankin came to North Carolina from Penn- 
sylvania in 1764, and settled in what is now Guil- 
ford County, buying a large tract of land in the 
eastern section of the county. In 1765 his brother 
William Rankin joined him and it is from these 
two brothers that the numerous and well known 
Rankius of the state are all descended. 

John Denny Donnell, a son of Levi and father 
of Harry Scott Donnell, was born on a plantation 
in the eastern part of Guilford County but chose 
for his career the business of contracting and 
building. He conducted business at Greensboro 
for a long period of years and died in that city 
November 25, 1895. He married Susan Bencini, 
who was born at Milton in Caswell County and 
died April 13, 1909. Eight of her children are still 
living : John, Jr. ; Bertha, wife of A. G. Alex- 
ander; William Calvin; James R. ; Thomas; 
George; Harry S. ; and Annie G., wife of Robert 
Tate. 

Harry Scott Donnell after attending the public 
schools of Greensboro went to work as clerk in a 
local grocery store. Soon afterward he trans- 
ferred his services to a men 's furnishings store 
and while there learned all the details of the busi- 
ness. This provided him the experience and in 
1907 he formed a partnership with J. J. Madearis, 
and as partners and business associates they have 
continued to the present time. In 1917 their 
flourishing enterprise was incorporated as the 
Donnell-Madearis Company, with Mr. Donnell as 
president. 

In 1908 Mr. Donnell married Edith Sanders. 
She was born in Georgia, daughter of John W. 
and Elizabeth (Allen) Sanders. Her mother was 
born in Ireland, was left an orphan in the care 
of her uncle, and with that relative came to 
America. Mr. and Mrs. Donnell have two chil- 
dren, Dorothy May and Harry Scott, Jr. Mr. and 
Mrs. Donnell are members of the First Presby- 
terian Church and he has been one of its deacons 
for ten years. Fraternally he is affiliated with 
Greensboro Lodge No. 80 of the Knights of 
Pythias, Greensboro Lodge No. 13, Junior Order 
United American Mechanics. 

Hugh P. McPherson. The name of this 
planter, merchant and county official of Moore 
County has traveled to many remote sections of 
the country, where his work and leadership in 
some phases of progressive agricultural and co- 
operative marketing have been greatly admired 
and appreciated. Mr. McPherson is one of the 



96 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



largest commercial fruit growers of the Cameron 
community, his specialty being dewberries. Cam- 
eron is the center of the famous dewberry district 
of North Carolina. Mr. McPherson was one of 
the pioneer growers of that fruit for commercial 
purposes, having been in the business since 1905. 
At the present time he has fifteen acres devoted 
to the crop and his net income for a single season 
from this branch of his farm has frequently run 
above $2,000. 

The dewberry industry at Cameron attracted 
the attention of the editors of The Country Gen- 
tleman a year or so ago, and one of their staff 
writers prepared an interesting description of the 
work done by the Moore County Fruit Growers 
Association, of which Mr. McPherson was the 
guiding spirit and the secretary. This organiza- 
tion was formed in 1904, fifteen growers consti- 
tuting its charter membership. The object of the 
association was to maintain a judicious control of 
distribution of shipments among the markets pur- 
chasing the berry, and to name a uniform wage 
for labor employed in harvesting the crop. Dur- 
ing the producing season in the month of June Mr. 
McPherson devotes most of his time to the super- 
vision of his own berry field and his responsibilities 
as secretary of the association. He keeps in daily 
if not hourly touch with the principal markets, 
and has arranged and systematized the shipments 
from the Cameron field with such success that the 
North Carolina berries usually command the high- 
est market price and the interests of the growers 
are correspondingly safeguarded. 

Mr. McPherson by no means places his entire 
dependence upon berry growing. He is widely 
known as a thoroughly good farmer, and his splen- 
did plantation, lying on the Carthage road a short 
distance west of and partly within the town limits 
of Cameron, is one of the best in Moore County 
for its varied productions of cotton, corn and 
grain, as well as berries and fruit. The cleared 
and. cultivated portions are kept in the finest state 
of fertility and productiveness. 

Mr. McPherson was born in Cumberland County, 
North Carolina, in 1859. Both the McPhersoiis 
and the McDuffies, his mother's family, are of 
the old Scotch race that has made such impressive 
marks upon the history and development of the 
Cape Fear section of North Carolina. Both his 
grandfathers were born in Scotland. Grandfather 
Hugh McPherson came to North Carolina when a 
young man, first locating near Carthage in Moore 
County, living for several years in Florida, but 
finally returning to North Carolina and locating 
in the extreme northwest part of Cumberland 
County. James D. McPherson, father of Hugh P., 
was born in Florida but grew up on the Cumber- 
land County farm. In 1874 he left that and 
moved to Moore County, locating about three miles 
southeast of Cameron. During the war he served 
in the cavalry branch of the Confederate army. 

Hugh P. McPherson after getting his education 
worked in the store of Muse Brothers, merchants, 
at Cameron, and later entered business for him- 
self. He was reared on a farm and first to last 
his main occupation and interests have been con- 
nected with agriculture. He is also a man of 
affairs, and for several years has held the posi- 
tion of chairman of the board of county com- 
missioners of Moore County. He is active' in the 
Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. McPherson married Miss Marv Leach, of 
the Camden community. After the death of her 
father her mother married the late Dr. Hector 



Turner, one of the prominent citizens of Moore 
County. Mr. and Mrs. McPherson have four chil- 
dren: Miss Kate, James A., Miss Lulu B. and 
Hugh Cone. The son James is a graduate of 
the Agricultural and Mechanical College of North 
Carolina, and is now in the aviation department 
of the United States army as an aeroplane mecha- 
nician. 

William Parett Love, D. C. What is known 
as a "new school" of the healing art, the science 
of chiropractic, is now officially recognized in 
North Carolina on an absolute equality with other 
schools. It is represented by a state examining 
board, and there is a large membership compris- 
ing the State Chiropractic Association of North 
Carolina. 

The secretary of the state examining board and 
treasurer of the State Chiropractic Association 
of North Carolina is Dr. William Parett Love of 
Charlotte. Doctor Love is a native of North 
Carolina and representative of a well known old 
time family of Cleveland County, a county famous 
for its prominent and historical characters. Doc- 
tor Love was born at Shelby in that county in 
1891, a son of William P. and Roberta Elizabeth 
(Brady) Love. His parents are both still living. 
The grandfather ' ' Jimmie ' ' Love, gave the land 
for the location of Shelby, the county seat of 
Cleveland. Doctor Love's father was a native 
of Shelby, but for a number of years has had 
his home at Spartanburg, South Carolina. 

Doctor Love was four years of age when the 
family removed to Spartanburg and he grew up 
in that city. He finished his literary education 
in the Boiling Springs Academy of Cleveland 
County and in the University of North Carolina. 
He studied for the Chiropractic profession in the 
Palmer School at Davenport, Iowa, and was grad- 
uated with his degree Doctor of Chiropractic in 
the class of 1915. 

It will not be out of place to indicate some of 
the fundamental principles of chiropractic. It 
is the philosophy of the cause of disease, and 
the science and art of being able to adjust it. 
The chiropractor begins with the assumption that 
the brain is the dynamo of life current, conveyed 
to all parts of the body through the spinal cord 
and nerves, and that disease is largely the result 
of obstructions in the transmission of this cur- 
rent. The chiropractor is therefore one who knows 
how to remove such pressure or cause of obstruc- 
tion, and the exercise of his art is to enable na- 
ture to restore health by opening up the vital 
lines of communication with the center of life 
energy and with practically no intervention from 
drugs. 

For a time Doctor Love nracticed at Morganton 
in Burke County, but on January 1, 1916, located 
permanently in Charlotte. This city afforded him 
a wider field and more opportunity for exercis- 
ing his high talent, and he now has attractive 
and well equipped offices in the Lalla Arcade on 
South Tryon Street. 

Doctor Love married Miss Rosalie Smith, of 
Greensboro, North Carolina. She is related to 
the Wharton and other well known families of 
that city. They have two children, William Whar- 
ton Love and Roberta Jeanette Love. 

Leontdas B. Williams. In a leading position 
on the roll of Guilford County's legists is found 
the name of Leonidas B. Williams, who of recent 
years has taken a more and more prominent part 




iy^y 






-t> 



a 4^2 



<^, t 



*«-^ 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



97 



in the legal controversies of his part of the state. 
He is a product of the farm, and was mature in 
years before he entered upon the regular practice 
of his profession, but within the comparatively 
short space of time that has elapsed since he tried 
his maiden case he has forged steadily to the fore- 
front, so that he has not alone won material re- 
ward but the confidence of the general public and 
the respect of his fellow-members in his calling. 

Mr. Williams is a native son of Union County, 
North Carolina, born February 6, 1876, his parents 
being J. B. and Mary E. (Knotts) Williams. His 
father was also born in Union County, but in the 
late '50s removed to Georgia, where he was living 
at the time the war broke out between the northern 
and southern states. At Thomasville, in that state, 
he enlisted in an infantry regiment, and continued 
to serve as a soldier wearing the Gray until peace 
was declared, when he returned to Union County, 
North Carolina, and here resumed his operations 
as a farmer. In the early '80s he removed with 
his family to Eichmond County in this state, where 
he continued his agricultural pursuits. His wife 
was a daughter of the late Col. John Knotts, who 
was a prominent figure in the history of North 
Carolina in ante-bellum days. She died in August, 
1904. 

Leonidas B. Williams was reared on the home 
farm in Eichmond County, and divided his boy- 
hood between assisting his father in the work of 
the homestead and attending the public schools. 
Later he pursued a course at Wake Forest College, 
and then took up the study of law, being licensed 
to practice in 1902. His first field of endeavor was 
in Eichmond County, being located at Hamlet for 
three years and at Buckingham, the county seat, 
for three years, and then for two years was tempo- 
rarily located at Charlotte, but in December, 1910, 
came to High Point to settle permanently, and this 
city has since been his home. Mr. Williams has 
gained a substantial standing at High Point, which 
is the great furniture manufacturing city of the 
South, and has been retained as counsel by a num- 
ber of the leading concerns in cases of importance. 
He is possessed of splendid talents as an attorney, 
and is particularly able as a forensic lawyer, being 
more at home and at his best as a trial lawyer 
in the court room than in any other capacity. He 
is an exceptionally fine pleader, and is unusually 
successful in jury trials. His public services ren- 
dered have been as attorney for the Town of Ham- 
let, as county attorney of Eichmond County and 
as city prosecutor for the City of High Point. 

Mr. Williams married Miss Ora Clyde Whittaker, 
of Eichmond County, and they have one daughter, 
Louise Jackson. 

Anson Mitchell Church. A venerable and 
highly respected citizen of Wilkes County, Anson 
Mitchell Church has been prominently identified 
with the development and advancement of the 
agricultural and mercantile interests of the county, 
and has served efficiently and acceptably in official 
capacities. A son of Alexander and Marv (Filer) 
Church, he was born December 29. 1837, in Wilkes 
County. Alexander Church was a hotel keeper in 
Wilkesboro for a number of years, and as "mehi 
host" was quite popular with the traveling pub- 
lic. He also served as sheriff of the county. He 
spent his last days in Wilkesboro. and his wife 
died after he did, in North Wilkesboro. 

Brought up in Wilkesboro, Anson Mitchell 
Church acquired his education in the public schools, 
and during the Civil War Was a member of the 
Vol. VI— 7 



Home Guards. At the time of his marriage he 
began farming in Wilkes County, but later became 
active in public affairs, serving as sheriff of the 
county, and as deputy collector of internal revenue. 
Mr. Church afterward embarked in mercantile 
business near Quary, but sold out there and opened 
a store in North Wilkesboro, where his sons were 
associated with him. In 1907, having accumu- 
lated a competency, Mr. Church retired from busi- 
ness pursuits, and in 1916 returned to his farm, 
situated six miles below North Wilkesboro, where 
he is enjoying to the utmost the fruits of his 
many years of toil. 

Mr. Church married first Susanna Eller, who 
was born November 2, 1836, a daughter of Ab- 
salom Eller. She died March 31, 1898, leaving 
eight children, as follows: Alice Virginia, wife of 
Noah Bobinett; Louise Cornelia married John Ivy 
Myers; Ellen Salenia married John Gragg; Mary 
Octavia, wife of Franklin Stafford; Eobert Lee; 
Thomas W.; William Harvey; and Beulah Lillian. 
Mr. Church married for his second wife Lillie 
Staley, and of their union five children have been 
born, namely: Aimer, Lola, Ansel, Eufus and 
Ennis. 

A member of the Baptist Church and an earnest 
and active worker in religions matters, he was a 
charter member of three churches of that denom- 
ination and a liberal contributor toward the erec- 
tion of five church buildings. 

John A. Williams, M. D. In addition to the 
letters indicating that he is a doctor of medicine, 
Doctor Williams is privileged to write the letters 
F. A. C. S. after his name, indicating that he 
enjoys the honor of membership and fellowship 
in the American College of Surgeons. Doctor Wil- 
liams is an accomplished and brilliant surgeon, and 
about twelve years ago, in order to have full scope 
for his work in that field, he removed to Greens- 
boro, from which city his reputation has spread 
to many distant points in the state. 

Doctor Williams was born at Leesburg in Cas- 
well County, North Carolina, and his family have 
been in North Carolina for several generations. 
His grandfather, William Williams, was a planter 
in Person County, where so far as known he spent 
all his life. James Pulliam Williams, father of 
Doctor Williams, was born in Person County, was 
reared on a farm, and was busied with that voca- 
tion when the war broke out between the states. 
• He and two of his brothers at once entered the 
Confederate army, and both brothers gave up their 
lives as sacrifice to the cause. He himself suffered 
many of the hardships of a soldier 's life, but 
came through the war with only such impairment 
of physical health and material means as nearly 
every volunteer had to experience. After the war 
he removed to Leesburg, where in addition to 
farming he became a manufacturer of tobacco. 
He died there at the age of forty-eight. He was 
thrice married. The only child of his first mar- 
riage was William K. For his third wife he 
married Catherine Scott Woods, who was born in 
Caswell County, daughter of Andy and Minerva 
(Eichmond) Woods. Her only brother, James Mon- 
roe Woods, lost his life in the Confederate army 
when only seventeen years of age. She died at 
the age of seventy-six, after rearing two sons, 
John Alexander and James W. James W. is a 
farmer in Caswell County. 

Dr. John A. Williams ntended the public schools 
of Leesburg and prepared for college under the 
tuition of a noted educator, Solomon Lee. He en- 



98 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



tered Wake Forest College, graduated Bachelor of 
Science, and from there entered the medical de- 
partment of the University of Virginia at Char- 
lottesville and completed the regular course and 
received his degree M. D. in 1895. 

One of the important factors of Doctor Williams ' 
success has been the long and thorough prepara- 
tion he made preliminary to beginning his actual 
practice. After leaving medical college he re- 
moved to New York City, was for a time an in- 
terne in the Polyclinic Hospital, and later was 
in the New York Infant Asylum at Mount Vernon. 
Altogether he put in five years of active work in 
various New York institutions. With this train- 
ing and experience he returned to his native state 
and was engaged in practice at Reidsville until 
1906, when he sought a larger field and removed 
to Greensboro. He now devotes his time almost 
exclusively to surgery. Doctor Williams is a former 
president of the Rockingham County Medical So- 
ciety, is also ex-president of the Guilford County 
Medical Society, and belongs to the North Caro- 
lina State Medical Society, the Tri-State Medical 
Society, the Southern Medical Society, and the 
American Medical Association. He is president 
of the Eighth District Medical Society at this 
writing. 

In 1908 he married Miss Susan Reese, daughter 
of J. M. and Alice M. Reese. Doctor and Mrs. 
Williams have two daughters, Frances and Cath- 
erine. Doctor Williams is member and vice presi- 
ident of the Guilford County Country Club, is a 
member of the Merchants and Manufacturers Club 
of Greensboro, and is affiliated with Greensboro 
Lodge No. 602, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks, and with the Knights of Pythias. 

Arden Winfield Taylor has been one of the 
active business men of Kinston for a number of 
years and is now filling with credit and an effici- 
ency highly pleasing to his constituency the office 
of sheriff of Lenoir County. 

Sheriff Taylor was born near Hookerton in 
Green County, North Carolina, January 4, 1876, 
a son of John Richard and Josephine Virginia 
(Wiggins) Taylor, substantial farming people 
of Green County. His father subsequently became 
an active Baptist minister. Mr. Taylor was edu- 
cated under private instruction. He laid the 
foundation of his business experience by clerk- 
ing for eight years in a general store,' and in 
1903 he set up in business on his own account 
at Institute, near LaGrange. He conducted his 
business there for seven years and on selling out 
in 1910 removed to Kinston and became associ- 
ated with J. T. Kennedy in purchasing a general 
stock of merchandise. In 1912 Mr. Taylor was 
elected sheriff of Lenoir County and his first 
four years were so satisfactory that he was again 
elected to the same office in 1916. He is affili- 
ated with the Masonic Order, the Knights of 
Pythias, the Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics, the Improved Order of Red Men and 
the Woodmen of the World. He has also been 
active in church affairs as a member of the 
Christian denomination and is a former deacon. 

On January 11, 1899, he married Miss Hattie 
Kennedy, of Institute, North Carolina. Four 
children have been born to them: William Ken- 
nedy, John Heber, Troy William and Ethel May. 

William Benjamin Blades. For many years 
one of North Carolina's most prominent lumber 
men and still a controlling factor in various cor- 



porations and industries, William Benjamin Blades 
came to this state from Virginia and Maryland, 
where his earlier business successes had been won. 
His home has been at Newbern for the past thirty 
years. 

Mr. Blades was born August 12, 1854, at Bishop- 
ville, Maryland, a son of Peter Clowes and Nancy 
(West) Blades. His father was a former sea 
captain, but subsequently retired to the land and 
followed merchandising and farming the rest of 
his active life. William B. Blades was well edu- 
cated in Bishopville College in Maryland. Enrly 
in his career he became associated with his brother 
J. B. Blades in merchandising in Virginia and in 
oyster planting along the coast of that state. In 
1876 he set up a mercantile establishment at 
Bishopville, Maryland, but in 1882 came to Bath, 
North Carolina, and from that time forward his 
interests were particularly identified with the lum- 
bering industry. In 1886 he removed to Newbern, 
and was one of the responsible factors for making 
that city an important center of lumber milling. 
When he sold his principal interests in the lumber 
field in 1906 he disposed of 200,000 acres of 
timber lands. 

Since then Mr. Blades has given his attention to 
various corporations and is vice president of the 
Newbern Banking & Trust Company, president of 
the Newbern Brick Company, president of the 
Beaufort Scrap & Oil Company, president of the 
Norfolk Realty Development Company, vice presi- 
dent of the Dixie Fire Insurance Companv, and 
was one of the principal contributors to the" build- 
ing of the handsome six story brick office structure 
at Newbern known as the Elks Building. Mr. 
Blades is affiliated with the Benevolent and Pro- 
tective Order of Elks and is also an Odd Fellow. 

In November, 1888, he married Amanda Carolina 
Collins, of Bishopville, Maryland. They have two 
children: Ivy, Mrs. C. O. Robinson, and William 
Benjamin, Jr. 

Caleb Davis Bradham has touched the life and 
affairs of his native state at many different points, 
and always with an enterprise, a vigor and en- 
thusiasm which have conferred substantial benefits 
on others than himself. 

Mr. Bradham is a member of one of the old 
and distinctive families of North Carolina, and 
his connections include some notable names. He 
was born in Duplin County May 27, 1867, a son 
of George Washington and* Julia (McCann) Brad- 
ham. His father was a manufacturer of naval 
stores. In the maternal line he is descended from 
Lieutenant John McCann, a gallant Revolutionary 
soldier who was killed at the battle of German- 
town, Pennsylvania, October 4. 1777. His ma- 
ternal grandmother was a Sheffield, a family that 
came to England and located in Duplin County, 
North Carolina, along with the McCanns. An- 
other paternal relationship was the Waller fam- 
ily, which was prominent in the Cape Fear section 
of North Carolina. The Bradhams were settlers in 
Onslow County, North Carolina, early in the 
eighteenth century. 

Caleb Davis Bradham was graduated from the 
Universitv of North Carolina in 1899, and subse- 
quently did post-praduate work in the University 
of Maryland. While many other interests have 
claimed his time and attention, his chief business 
has been as a druggist. He engaged in the drug 
business at Newbern in 1892. He is president of 
the Bradham Drug Company, and was originator 
and founder of the Pepsi-Cola Company in 1896, 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



99 



of which he has since been president. He is also 
vice president of the Peoples' Bank, and is one 
of the prominent members of the chamber of com- 
merce. 

Through his McCann ancestry he is a member of 
the Order of the Cincinnati. He was long promi- 
nent in the United States Naval Militia, was cap- 
tain of the North Carolina Naval Militia for four 
years, and was retired January 22, 1917, with the 
rank of real admiral. 

Mr. Bradham is helping forward the agricul- 
tural welfare of North Carolina and is interested 
in a farm consisting of 1,800 acres of land and has 
spent much time, study and money in making this 
a model farm, paying profits, not only to its 
owners but setting a good example of agricultural 
efficiency to the people at large. For six years Mr. 
Bradham served as chairman of the board of 
county commissioners. 

He is prominent in Masonry, having attained the 
thirty-second degree in the Scottish Rite; is past 
master of St. John's Lodge No. 10, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons; is past eminent commander 
of St. John's Commandery, Knights Templar, and 
is treasurer of Sudan Temple of the Mystic Shrine. 
He is also a past exalted ruler of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and is affiliated with 
the Improved Order of Red Men, the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows and the Woodmen of the 
"World. He is trustee of the Presbyterian Church 
at Newbern. Mr. Bradham is now chairman of 
the Eastern District Board of Exemptions. 

Mr. Bradham was married January 1, 1901, to 
Miss Charity Credle, of Newbern, daughter of 
B. C. Credle, now of Newbern and formerly reg- 
ister of deeds of Hyde County, North Carolina. 
Her mother was Mary Hatsel, of a prominent 
Huguenot family that came to North Carolina early 
in the seventeen hundreds and was descended from 
the noted John Rolf. Mr. and Mrs. Bradham have 
three children: Mary McCann, Caleb Darnell and 
George Washington. 

George W. Willcox is a son of the late Capt. 
George Willcox, who earned his rank and title by 
valiant service in the Confederate army, and is a 
descendant of English ancestors who first located 
in Pennsylvania and a number of years prior to 
the Revolutionary war one branch of the family 
came to North Carolina. 

The founder of the Willcoxes in this state was 
John Willcox, great-grandfather of George W. 
Willcox. He came from Philadelphia and first 
settled at Campbelltown (now Fayetteville). Later 
he moved to the northeast part of Moore County 
on Deep River, where the Willcoxes have lived 
ever since. John Willcox was a man of great en- 
terprise and one of the pioneers of the coal and 
iron industry. During the Revolutionary war 
large quantities of ammunition used by the Pa- 
triot American army were manufactured in his 
foundry at Gulf. 

The name George has been in three generations 
of the family. Capt. George Willcox was a son 
of George Willcox. Captain George, who might 
well be named as one of the foremost citizens of 
North Carolina in his time, was born June 17, 
1835, in the upper part of Moore County on Deep 
River, near the present Town of Carbonton. At 
the beginning of the war between the states he 
enlisted in Company H of the 26th North Caro- 
lina Regiment. When the regiment was reorgan- 
ized in the spring of 1862 he was elected second 
lieutenant of Company H and continued as such 



until the fall of 1864, when he was made captain 
of Company H in the 46th North Carolina Regi- 
ment, Cook's Brigade, Heth's Division, Hill's 
Corps, Army of Northern Virginia. Captain Will- 
cox was in all the battles in which his regiment 
was engaged during the war except Malvern Hill. 
He had all the qualities of the great soldier — 
faithfulness to duty, intrepidity and resourceful- 
ness in every emergency — and distinguished him- 
self on practically every battlefield. During the 
first day's fighting at Gettysburg he was badly 
wounded and captured, but was rescued and re- 
turned to his command in time to take part in 
the Battle of the Wilderness. In that battle he 
was again severely wounded by a bullet through 
his shoulder. His courage and spirit were quench- 
less, and after recovering he joined his regiment 
in the trenches around Petersburg. He was cap- 
tured in the action at Burgess Mill, October 27, 
1864, but again effected his escape from the enemy 
during the night and rejoined his comrades. 

For nearly half a century after the war he 
was equally successful and prominent as a planter 
and farmer and as a leader in affairs. He rep- 
resented Moore County in the Lower House of 
the Legislature in 1885-86 and was state senator 
in 1911-12, representing the counties of Moore 
and Randolph. He died in 1912. He was a man 
of such lofty character as to win the esteem 
and admiration of all, and at the same time much 
of his character was expressed in devotion to his 
family. He gave all his children excellent edu- 
cations. 

Capt. George Willcox married Isabelle Palmer, 
who is also deceased. She was a member of the 
well-known Palmer family, which has lived in 
Moore and Chatham counties from colonial times. 
Her ancestor, Col. Robert Palmer, an officer of the 
British army, came to America at the head of a 
colony of English people and settled them on large 
grants of land he had received from the Crown. 
His home was at Bath on the east shore. His son, 
Robert Palmer, second, moved to the Deep River 
section in the extreme southern part of Chatham 
County, adjoining Moore County, which has been 
the home of the Palmers ever since. 

The mother of Isabelle Palmer was a sister of 
Hon. Hugh McQueen, of Chatham County, noted as 
a lawyer, brilliant statesman, and one of the 
noblest representatives of Scotch ancestry of 
Chatham County, where he was born. He repre- 
sented his home county in both houses of the Gen- 
eral Assembly, was a member of the Constitutional 
Convention of 1835, and in 1840 became attorney- 
general of North Carolina. He resigned that office 
in 1842 and went to Texas, where he achieved no 
less distinction than he had enjoyed in his native 
state. He was a foremost member of the Texas 
bar and had also taken an active part in the strug- 
gles of the Texas republic against Mexico and in 
the Mexican war. 

George W. Willcox, who was born in 1882, near 
Carbonton in Moore County, where he now lives, 
is a planter occupying a farm and home that is 
one of the most interesting historically in the 
State of North Carolina. Some of his lands have 
been consecrated by the blood of heroes dating 
back to the days of the Revolution. 

Mr. Willcox was educated at the University of 
North Carolina, graduating with the class of 1903. 
He has always been a farmer, and some years 
ago he bought his present place, known as the 
Anderson-Jones farm and which was the original 
home of Col. Philip Allston, one of the most dis- 



100 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



tractive figures in the Colonial and Revolutionary 
history of this part of the state. 

The Allstons were a rich and powerful English 
family. Some years before the Revolution they 
settled in what is now the extreme northeast part 
of Moore County, at the "Horseshoe" of Deep 
River, so called from the horseshoe configuration 
of the stream at this place. Here Col. P. Allston 
built his home and carried on extensive training 
operations. The wealth and opulence of his plan- 
tation and the surrounding country attracted the 
greed of Capt. David Fanning, who, though a 
native American in Chatham, had become a Tory 
and joined the British forces at Wilmington under 
Colonel Craig. Fanning led his fellow Tories up 
through the Cape Fear country to the Philip 
Allston place in Moore County, where he was met 
and given battle by Colonel Allston and the few 
neighbors that could be hastily summoned. The 
defenders barricaded themselves in the Allston 
house, and a severe battle ensued for several hours. 
The Allston house, which is still standing and in 
a good state of preservation, furnishing a com- 
fortable as well as romantic home to George W. 
Willcox and family, has weathered the storms of 
nearly a hundred and fifty years. It is one of 
the most ancient and historic houses in the state. 
Historically it is known as ' ' the house in the 
Horseshoe. ' ' Bullet holes in the outside frame- 
work of the building are in evidence everywhere. 
It is a two-story frame structure of pleasing de- 
sign and much of the material, both for the ex- 
terior and interior finishing was brought from 
England. It exemplifies some of the best lines 
of old colonial architecture. For some years it 
was the home of Governor Benjamin Williams, 
who is buried nearby. Williams had come to the 
Allston place in 1797 and was elected governor 
of the state in 1799 and again chosen to the same 
office in 1807 and 1809. 

Mr. Willcox might consistently be called one of 
the leading general farmers and stock raisers in 
the state. His plantation consists of 1,267 acres, 
located four miles from Carbonton, two miles from 
Haw Branch station on the Norfolk and Southern 
Railroad, and in the same vicinity where the Will- 
coxes have lived for generations. 

While the plantation furnishes employment for 
all his energies and intelligence throughout the 
year, Mr. Willcox has not neglected a keen interest 
in public affairs. In the spring primary campaign 
of 1918 he was honored by Moore County people 
as their candidate for the Lower House of the 
Legislature. His place on the democratic ticket 
assures his election. Mr. Willcox is a member of 
the Euphronia Presbyterian Church, and his father 
was an elder of that church for many years. 
George W. Willcox married Miss Lulu McLeod, 
who was born and reared in South Carolina. They 
have three children : Jacob McLeod, Isabel and 
Clara Chase. 

J. Quince Gilkey. Though a resident of Mar- 
ion, McDowell County, most of his life J. Quince 
Gilkey in a business way is known over several 
states and is one of the most public spirited and 
prominent citizens of North Carolina. 

Born at Marion in 1874, Mr. Gilkey represents 
an old time family in Rutherford and McDowell 
counties. His great-grandfather, Robert Gilkey, 
with his brother William Gilkey came from Ire- 
land to North Carolina about the time of the 
Revolutionary war, first settling at Beatty 's Ford 



in Mecklenburg County. Their home and prop- 
city suffered much from the depredations of 
the Tories in that section of the state. Later 
they moved to Rutherford County. The old 
home place in that county was six miles north of 
Rutherfordton. The old Gilkey residence built 
in 180-4, a big house of log timbers, is still stand- 
ing. Mr. Gilkey 's grandfather, John Harvey Gil- 
key, was born there and reared his children in 
that community, nine sons and two daughters. 
They were a remarkably strong and vigorous fam- 
ily, and it is said that at no time was a doctor's 
service ever required by them. The only sur- 
vivor of these children is Squire Gus Gilkey of 
Marion, who has passed his eightieth year. 

J. Quince Gilkey is a son of Dr.* J. H. and 
Adella (Thomas) Gilkey, both now deceased. 
Doctor Gilkey was born in Rutherford County, 
studied medicine at the Jefferson Medical Col- 
lege of Philadelphia, and prior to the war began 
the practice of his profession at Marion in Mc- 
Dowell County. He was a splendid type of the 
old time physician, a man of great character and 
personality, and was always doing good, not only 
professionally but by his personal influence anil 
contact with the people whom he served. He 
continued the practice of medicine until his death 
in 1895. 

While growing up at Marion J. Quince Gilkey 
attended the local schools and then learned teleg- 
raphy. He was a telegraph operator for a time, 
but in 1897 became a salesman for the George W. 
Helme Company of New York, the noted snuff 
manufacturers. With that corporation he has been 
connected now for twenty years. He was on the 
road for some time, and was then made manager 
of the Helme Company for the states of North 
and South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia, an 
office that carries heavy responsibilities with it. 
He directs the sales of the company over this 
territory. His business headquarters are in the 
company 's offices in New York, but his personal 
residence has always been at Marion. 

His business ability and personal popularity 
have made him widely known throughout his 
home state and other states comprising his busi- 
ness territory. He is one of the public spirited 
citizens who have made Marion one of the livest 
industrial and commercial towns in Western North 
Carolina. One of his chief contributions to Mar- 
ion's prosperity has been in the furniture manu- 
facturing industry. He and his brother W. K. M. 
Gilkey are owners of the Penn Veneer Company, 
manufacturers of veneer. 

In local affairs he is chairman of the Marion 
County Highway Commission and chairman of 
the Board of School Trustees. In state affairs 
he is by appointment of the Governor a member 
of the board of directors of the North Carolina 
Railroad, the state owned railroad. He is a 
director of the First National Bank, one of the 
organizers and a director of the Building and 
Loan Association, and 'one of the organizers and 
a director of S. B. Penick & Company, one of the 
largest crude botanical drug manufacturers of 
the South. He is also president of the Marion 
Wholesale Grocery Company. 

Mr. Gilkey married Miss Sarah Durant Mc- 
Donald, daughter of John A. McDonald, of Mar- 
ion. Mrs. Gilkey is vice president of the North 
Carolina Division of the Daughters of the Con- 
federacy, is chairman of the Red Cross Committee 
for McDowell County and is otherwise actively 




THOMAS A. HUNTER 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



101 



a leader in civic and social affairs. They have 
three daughters: Elizabeth, Francis and Jean- 
nette. 

Hon. Jake F. Newell. To name this well 
known lawyer of Charlotte is to mention not only 
a member of one of the oldest families in the 
State of North Carolina, but one who is probably 
the foremost in influence and in resourceful ad- 
vocacy of the principles of the republican party 
in the state. It is probably not necessary to 
explain that Mr. Newell gets his republieauism 
' ' honestly, ' ' since his grandfather and the other 
Newells who lived in the days of the old whig 
party were prominent adherents of that doctrine. 
For eight years Mr. Newell was chairman of the 
Eepublican County Executive Committee of Meck- 
lenburg County, and has been a member of the 
Republican State Executive Committee for many 
years. Both in 1904 and in 1914 he was a candi- 
date of his party for Congress, and in 1908 was 
candidate for attorney general of North Caro- 
lina. He has fought through many hard cam- 
paigns. Mr. Newell is both a pleasing and force- 
ful speaker and campaign orator, and many North 
Carolinians appreciate his vigorous qualities as a 
leader in the minority party. He proved very 
useful to his party in the campaign of 1916, his 
personal popularity and his eloquence making him 
a vote winner. His home county of Mecklenburg 
had not more than 150 republican votes in 1900, 
while the normal vote given to that party now is 
around 1,500. 

Mr. Newell was born at the old Newell home- 
stead in the southern part of Cabarrus County, 
North Carolina. That home has continuously been 
in the ownership and possession of members of the 
Newell family through all the generations since 
his great-great-grandfather, Francis Newell, set- 
tled there as the first permanent white resident of 
the county. Members of the different generations 
since then have occupied the old farm, and it is 
now the home of William G. Newell, father of the 
Charlotte lawyer. Both were born there. 

Francis Newell came from County Down, Ire- 
land, and was one of four brothers who immi- 
grated to America and first located around York, 
Pennsylvania. Two of these brothers went south, 
one of them being Francis Newell. It was in 
1750 that he settled in what is now Cabarrus 
County. He acquired lands of great extent, since 
land was then plentiful and cheap. The old home 
farm where William G. Newell now lives consists 
of about 170 acres. In a country where rapid 
change is almost a predominant characteristic it 
is a remarkable tribute to the staying qualities 
of the Newell family that they have lived in one 
locality upwards of two centuries. 

When Francis Newell settled in Cabarrus County 
the only other inhabitants were Indians. A rather 
unusual story is told in connection with the ar- 
rival of the next or one of the very next white 
settlers in that section of the state. While out 
in the woods one day Francis Newell heard the 
sound of an ax, and following the direction of the 
sound he came unexpectedly upon a man named 
Spears. The curious part of the adventure was 
that Spears came from the same county in Ireland 
as the Newells, and though not aware of the 
presence of his fellow countryman had settled in 
practically the same locality only a short time be- 
fore meeting Francis Newell. 

Jake F. Newell 's great-grandfather was William 
H. Newell, and his paternal grandfather was John 



H. Newell, all of whom lived upon the Newell 
home. Jake F. Newell has the following brothers 
and sisters living: J. Clifton Newell, Richard 
E. Newell, Rev. W. A. Newell, Mrs. R. L. Rogers 
and Miss Mamie Newell. All of the Newells 
who were of proper age were Revolutionary 
patriots in the war of the Revolution, and the 
family also contributed a number of its members 
to the Confederate service in the war between the 
states. 

Jake F. Newell was reared on the old farm in 
Cabarrus County, attended the local schools, and 
at the University of North Carolina took special 
literary courses and pursued the study of law. 
Alter his admission to the bar he located in 
Charlotte in 1901, and has proved a very able 
and successful member of the bar. Associated 
with him in practice now is his brother J. Clitton 
Newell, who is a graduate of Wake Forest College, 
where he received both the academic degree and 
his course in law. 

Mr. Jake F. Newell is married, his wife having 
been formerly Miss Fannie Black, a native of 
Mecklenburg County. 

• William Houston Carroll is one of the 
honored members of the Burlington bar, and the 
dignities and success of the profession have come 
to him in generous measure during the thirty years 
he has practiced in that part of the state. 

Mr. Carroll was born near Kenansville, North 
Carolina, September 30, 1862, son of George Wash- 
ington and Mary W. (Houston) Carroll. Most 
of his boyhood days he spent on his father 's farm. 
His early education was supervised in private 
schools at Wallace, North Carolina, and in 1886 
he graduated A. B. from the University of North 
Carolina. The next two years he was busy with 
teaching, and then applied himself with such dili- 
gence and rapidity of concentration upon the study 
of law that he finished the required course of two 
years in a single year and was duly qualified and 
admitted to the bar in February^ 1889. Since 
then he has been engaged in handling the affairs 
of a general practice at Burlington, served for a 
number of years in the offices of city and county 
attorney, was elected a member of the Legislature 
in 1899, and was one of the organizers and attor- 
ney for the First National Bank of Burlington. 
He is a member in good standing of the North 
Carolina and American Bar Association, was for 
eighteen years past master of his Masonic Lodge, 
is affiliated with the Improved Order of Red Men 
and the Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics and belonged to Phi Delta Theta, a Greek 
letter fraternity, while in college. He and his 
family are members of the Christian Church. 

January 28, 1891, Mr. Carroll married Sarah 
Elizabeth Turrentine, member of one of the oldest 
and most prominent families of Alamance County. 
Her father, William H. Turrentine, was for many 
years engaged in the manufacture of railroad equip- 
ment. Mr. and Mrs. Carroll have three children: 
Edith Elizabeth, a student in Salem College in this 
state; Ella Rea, a teacher at Burlington; and 
Adrian Meredith, who spent one year in the Uni- 
versity of North Carolina, and was in the Virginia 
Military Institute before he volunteered for serv- 
ice in the Engineer Corps in the United States 
Army. 

Thomas Ai.son Hunter has had a role of in- 
creasing responsibilities in the business life and 
affairs of Greensboro for a quarter of a century 



102 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



and is closely identified with the management of 
several of that city's best known institutions. 

Mr. Hunter was born on a plantation in Clay 
Township of Guilford County, North Carolina. 
His grandfather, Samuel Hunter, was a planter, 
had slaves to operate his farm before the war, 
and spent his life largely in Clay Township. John 
C. Hunter, father of Thomas A., was born in Clay 
Township, a son of Samuel and Cynthia (Hardin) 
Hunter. The family for several generations have 
been prominent members of the Methodist Prot- 
estant Church. The grandparents were buried in 
the Tabernacle churchyard of that denomination. 
John C. Hunter acquired a very good education for 
his time, and for a number of years taught school. 
As a teacher he was exempt from military service 
during the period of the war between the states. 
He finally bought a farm in Clay Township and 
gave it his attention until his death at the age 
of fifty-nine. He married Dora Greeson, who was 
born in Clay Township, daughter of Gideon and 
Elizabeth (Rankin) Greeson and granddaughter of 
Thomas Greeson. Gideon Greeson was a farmer 
and cabinet maker by trade and probably spent all 
his life in Clay Township of Guilford County. 
Elizabeth Eankin was a daughter of Thomas 
Rankin, who in turn was a son of William Rankin. 
William Rankin came to North Carolina in 1765, 
joining his brother John, who had come the year 
before and settled in the eastern part of Guilford 
County. Mrs. Dora Hunter died at the age of 
sixty-three, the mother of four children, Henry, 
Thomas Alson, Samuel G., and Bessie. 

Thomas Alson Hunter as a boy attended rural 
schools near his father's home. He prepared for 
a business career by a commercial course at Oak 
Ridge Institute, and after a term or so as a 
teacher he found employment as clerk in a general 
store and subsequently was a salesman for J. W. 
Scott's wholesale house. In 1897 Mr. Hunter as- 
sisted in organizing the Hunter Manufacturing 
and Commission Company of Greensboro and New 
York. He was elected secretary and treasurer of 
this widely known concern, and gave it all his 
time and abilities until 1912. He still continues 
as secretary and treasurer but since 1912 has 
divided his time among other concerns. He is 
secretary and treasurer of the Pomona Mills, is 
president of the Sanford Mills and of the Deep 
River Mills at Randleman, North Carolina, is 
director of the Southern Life & Trust Company 
and director of the American Exchange Bank of 
Greensboro. All these enterprises have greatly 
benefited from his personal abilities and his judg- 
ment and they represent a solid success in the 
business world. 

Mr. Hunter was one of the organizers of the 
Greensboro Country Club. He is a member of 
the Merchants and Manufacturers Club of 
Greensboro, and he and his wife are both active 
in the Methodist Protestant Church, in which he 
has served as a member of the official board and 
for ten years was superintendent of the Sunday 
school. In 1892 Mr. Hunter married Miss Eu- 
genia Mclver, who was born in Moore County, 
North Carolina, daughter of Langston G. and 
Mary (Harrington) Mclver. She is a cousin of 
Dr. Charles D. Mclver. Mr. and Mrs. Hunter 
have four living children, Annie, Marion. Eugenia 
and Thomas A,, Jr. Their son John Mclver died 
at the age of seven years and Ruth died at the 
age of eight. 



John Ezekiel Hood. The success of John E. 
Hood, of Kinston, is due to his ability to adapt 
himself to the changing circumstances of com- 
mercial affairs, and his abilities have risen in 
proportion to his opportunities. His chief busi- 
ness pursuit through a long period of years has 
been as a druggist, but in the meantime he has 
extended his connections to many of the impor- 
tant financial and business organizations of his 
section of the state and elsewhere. 

Mr. Hood was born in Bentonville, Johnston 
County, North Carolina, June 26, 1867, a son of 
John C. and Martha (Young) Hood. His edu- 
cation in the public schools he supplemented by 
a course in the College of Pharmacy of Phila- 
delphia, Pennsylvania, during 1887-88. For sev- 
eral years he was in the drug business at Smith- 
field, North Carolina, but in 1893 removed to 
Kinston and his place of business in that city 
has been the chief one in its line for many years. 

Mr. Hood was one of the organizers of the 
Kinston Cotton Mills. He is vice president of 
the Lenoir Oil and Ice Company; is a director of 
the Chesterfield Manufacturing Company of 
Petersburg, Virginia ; is vice president of the 
National Bank of Kinston; president of the Cas- 
well Cotton Mills; president of the Carolina Land 
and Development Company; a director of the 
Eastern Carolina Drainage and Construction Com- 
pany. He is also active in the Chamber of Com- 
merce of Kinston, was formerly chairman of the 
Kinston Public School Board, and he and his 
family are members of the Queen Street Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

He was married October 16, 1895, to Miss 
Pauline Thornton, of Fayetteville, North Car- 
olina. They have a family of six children, named 
Richard Thornton, who is now in the Aviation 
Department of the United States Army, Martha 
Young, Pauline Prances, Julia Eleanor, John 
Ezekiel, Jr., and Roland Clare. 

Edwin Sanders Smith has had a successful 
career as a lawyer, has enjoyed a large and con- 
tinued practice in County, State and Federal 
courts, and has a place of secure prominence in 
both the bar and the good citizenship of Raeford, 
comity seat of Hoke County. 

Mr. Smith was born in Johnston County, North 
Carolina, in October, 1873. His people have been 
prominent in the Cape Fear and Little River 
section of North Carolina for several generations. 
His great-grandfather, John Smith, came from 
Virginia prior to the Revolutionary war and es- 
tablished a home near the junction of the Little 
River and Cape Fear, in what was then Cumberland 
County but is now the extreme southeastern part 
of Harnett County. Much of the large acreage of 
land which he appropriated and developed in that 
region is still owned by some of his descendants. 
His old house is also standing, one of the oldest 
places in this part of North Carolina, and it bears 
the scars of battle, many bullet holes showing in 
the timbers of the house. This region is still 
known as Smithville. On part of the original 
Smith land was fought the battle of Chicora, the 
last engagement in the war between the states. 
Nearby is the extinct Village of Averasboro, which 
at one time was of such importance that it con- 
tested among the cities of North Carolina for the 
honor of the state capital. John Smith, founder 
of the family, was a man of learning, dignity and 
wealth, and as a public leader his record appears 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



103 



in connection with a term as member of the North 
Carolina House of Commons. 

The grandfather of Edwin S. Smith of Kaeford 
was Farquhard Smith. Edwin Sanders Smith is 
a son of Dr. Farquhard Smith, who is still living, 
a retired resident of Dunn, North Carolina. Far- 
quhard Smith was born in 1839, and was one of 
seven brothers who saw service as Confederate 
soldiers during the war between the states. Fol- 
lowing the war he graduated from Medical College 
of South Carolina at Charleston in 1S69, practiced 
in Johnston County six or eight years, and then 
carried oil his professional work in Harnett County 
for over thirty years. He was one of the most 
beloved physicians in this part of the state. For 
a long period of years he represented the ideal 
country doctor of the highest class, one whose 
professional work was never commercialized, and 
who at the time he retired from practice is said 
to have accumulated fully $30,000 worth of ac- 
counts, the settlement of which he never exacted 
from his debtors. Now, in his eightieth year, 
he spends his time among his children and finds 
the greatest pleasure in recalling from his ex- 
perience many interesting reminiscences of both 
the old and the new South. 

His family lineage is interesting on both sides. 
His father. Farquhard Smith, married Sallie Slo- 
comb. Her grandmother was the famous Polly 
Slocomb of Bladen County, wife of the Revolu- 
tionary soldier Ezekiel Slocomb. Polly Slocomb 's 
name is prominent in North Carolina annals for 
deeds of heroism which she performed in the 
course of the struggle for independence. 

Dr. Farquhard Smith married Elizabeth San- 
ders, who is now deceased. She was a member of 
the prominent old Sanders family who at one time 
owned a large part of Johnston County. She 
died in 1904. 

Edwin Sanders Smith grew up in Harnett 
County, and attended Little River Academy, one 
of the noted schools of its day. He also spent four 
years in the University of North Carolina, grad- 
uating from the law school with the degree L3<. B. 
in IS'96. The fall of that yea* found him practic- 
ing law at Maxton in Robeson County, but in 
1901 he removed to Dunn in Harnett County. 
After two years he moved his office to the county 
seat at Lillington, and from there in 1914 came 
to Raeford, county seat of the newly established 
County of Hoke. Here he built a fine brick struc- 
ture opposite the courthouse, part of which he 
occupies for his law offices. Mr. Smith in addition 
to the burdens of a large law practice now has the 
responsibilities of the office of mayor of Raeford. 
He is a progressive and public spirited citizen of 
the wealthy and progressive Town of Raeford. 

He married Miss Mary McNair, of Rowland, 
Robeson County. At her death in April, 1914, 
she left four children. Nathaniel McNair, Mary 
Douglas, William Curtis and Francis. 

Robert Henley Whitehead is a cotton mill op- 
erator and hosiery manufacturer of varied and 
successful experience in different localities both 
North and South, and is now manager and 
founder of the Whitehead Hosiery Mills at Bur- 
lington, a large and important industry employ- 
ing 200 operatives and one of the chief industrial 
assets of the town. 

Mr. Whitehead was born at Rockmart, Georgia, 
August 25. 1876, son of William Andrew Jackson 
and Mollie (Henlev) Whitehead. His father was 
a merchant and also a shoe manufacturer. The 



son was educated in public schools and for a time 
was employed in a pharmacy. In 1900 he became 
a partner and manager of hosiery mills at Saddle 
River, New Jersey, remained there two years, and 
then returned south and at Rome, Georgia, estab- 
lished the Rome Hosiery Mills. Selling his inter- 
ests there in 1904 he came to Burlington, North 
Carolina, and was connected with the Burling- 
ton Hosiery Mills until 1909. In that year he 
organized the Whitehead Hosiery Mills, of which 
he has since been secretary, treasurer and man- 
ager. Mr. Whitehead is a Mason and is a vestry- 
man and treasurer of the Episcopal Church at 
Burlington. October 15, 1903, he married Miss 
Susan Andrews Thurston, of Boston, Massachu 
setts. 

Willard O. Bailes. Success comes not to the 
man who waits, but to the faithful toiler whose 
work is characterized by intelligence and force 
and who has the foresight and sagacity to know 
when, where and how to exert his energies. Thus 
it happens that only a comparatively small portion 
of those who enter the world's broad field of 
battle come off victors in the struggle for wealth 
and position. Some lack perseverance, others busi- 
ness sagacity, and still others are dilatory and 
negligent, but the record of Willard O. Bailes 
proves that he possesses all the requisite qualities 
necessary to cope with the complex conditions of 
the agricultural industry. He has resided on his 
present farm in Mecklenburg County for twenty- 
five years and is now accounted one of the pros- 
perous farmers of the community. 

Squire Bailes, as he is universally known, was 
born in York County, South Carolina, November 
1, 1868. and is a son of A. B. and Nancy Priscilla 
(Russell) Bailes. Mrs. Bailes, who has been dead 
for many years, was born in Mecklenburg County, 
North Carolina. A. B. Bailes was born in York 
County, South Carolina, and is still living at the 
advanced age of seventy-five years, his home ad- 
joining that of his son in Mecklenburg County. 
He is one of the most prominent farmers and 
heaviest landholders in this part of the state, 
has always been a successful man in the business 
of farming, and now owns about 1,500 acres of 
fine agricultural land, an exceedingly valuable 
piece of property. He served throughout the war 
as a member of a South Carolina regiment in the 
army of the Confederacy. In his home community 
he is a supporter of all progressive movements, 
and is a citizen whose support gives strength to 
all that makes for better and cleaner citizenship. 
The Bailes family, although their home is in 
Mecklenburg County, North Carolina, live only a 
short distance from the ancestral home, which al- 
most adjoins them just across the state line into 
York County, South' Carolina. Willard O. Bailes 
was born and reared in this community and has 
lived here all his life. He secured his education 
in the district schools, and was reared on a farm, 
and when he came to man's estate adopted agri- 
cultural work as his life's calling. He has directed 
his labors so well and has prosecuted them so 
faithfully that at the present time he is the owner 
of 306 acres of first-class agricultural land, beauti- 
fully situated, partly in Mecklenburg County, 
North Carolina, and partly in York County, 
South Carolina, a little more than a mile west of 
Pineville, on the Wright's Ferry Road leading 
from that place, and eleven miles due south of the 
City of Charlotte. This has been a paying farm 
for a long period of years, producing corn, cotton 



104 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



and other crops, with a broad pasturage for the 
grazing of large herds of well-fed and contented 
livestock, being particularly adapted to the latter 
department of farm work. It is well watered 
and well drained, possesses a fine set of modern 
buildings, and has improvements of the most up- 
to-date kind, Mr. Bailes being a progressive agri- 
culturist in every way. 

Squire Bailes was for many years a notary pub- 
lie for the State of South Carolina, and in such 
capacity married during sixteen years no less than 
3,500 couples, a record probably never equaled by 
a similar official in the country. The only way to 
account for his unexampled popularity as a 
' ' marrying squire ' ' is that early in his career in 
that office he won a reputation for his genial good 
nature and good humor at the wedding ceremonies, 
his kindly advice and wise counsel imparted to the 
young couples just starting out in life, his merry 
quips and sallies of wit, and the cheerful way he 
started them out upon their careers, making them 
hopeful and optimistic in regard to the future. 
It is said that nearly all of his marriages have 
turned out to be happy ones, and he frequently 
receives letters of appreciation to this effect from 
those whom he united in matrimony. He has al- 
ways been sincerely interested in young people; 
is a firm believer in early marriages ; and thorough- 
ly approves of people getting married young and 
married right. It may be well imagined, with the 
large number of weddings he performed, that his 
residence at the farm, where they took place, was 
busy nearly every day with these ceremonies. The 
young people came from all over the Carolinas 
and sometimes from distant states, and still Squire 
Bailes enjoys a wide reputation. His views on life 
and human conduct reveal much original philos- 
ophy. 

The first wife of Squire Bailes was Miss Ida 
Blankenship, and she was the mother of his son, 
Bussell Glenelg. After the death of his first wife 
he was married to the present Mrs. Bailes, who be- 
fore her marriage was Miss Sarah Bailes, a dis- 
tant relative. 

Squire Bailes is well known in the two Caro- 
linas. He is a man that appreciates friends and 
bears acquaintance with years in business trans- 
actions or otherwise. He is a broad-minded, sober 
and very generous-hearted man, and has the con- 
fidence of everybody; whatever he tells you he 
means. No wonder he has a wide circle of friends, 
he knows what it takes to make a man. He has 
proven himself skillful in any calling (being 
called a skillful jack of all trades) , particularly 
farming, in which he has been very successful. 
It is said that Squire Bailes and his father, At B. 
Bailes has given away, including securities, a 
fortune, which has seemed to make him none the 
less poor thereby. He has a good feeling for the 
poor and it is bred in him to be unselfish, very 
generous and big hearted. He is a man that is 
loved generally. 

Wiley Hopton Smith was one of the construc- 
tive business men of Goldsboro and his career was 
not less valuable as a citizen. He played the 
part allotted to him by destiny with a quiet 
courage and resourcefulness that makes his name 
one to be honored in the future. 

He was born in Wayne County, North Carolina, 
March 22, 1846, and his useful career came to a 
close at Goldsboro November 19, 1906. His par- 
ents were William Hopton and Tabitha (Bas- 
berry) Smith. His father in the years before the 



war owned large tracts of land and operated it 
with slave labor. The late Mr. Smith was largely 
self educated. He was only fifteen years of age 
when the war broke out, enlisted and served in 
the Confederate army and was chief ordnance 
sergeant at Fort Lee. He always took a deep 
interest in the old soldiers and served as commander 
of Thomas Bulfian Camp of Confederate Veterans 
and was also a major on the staff of ex-Gov. C. B. 
Aycock. 

He had his earliest business experience as 
clerk in a grocery store, and subsequently en- 
gaged in that line of business for himself. But 
his achievements in the commercial field were 
chiefly as a hardware man. For many years he 
was a member of the firm of Smith & Yelverton, 
hardware merchants, and he also organized the 
Wayne Agricultural Works, of which he was a 
large stockholder and was president of that con- 
cern until his death. He was also a director of 
the Atlantic and North Carolina Kailroad Com- 
pany. 

During the administration of Gov. Elias Carr, 
Mr. Smith served as a director of the North Car- 
olina State Penitentiary. He was a democrat, 
a member of the Primitive Baptist Church, and 
from whatever point of view his life may be 
regarded it was one of usefulness and honor. 

In March, 1870, in Sampson County, he mar- 
ried Miss Mary Elizabeth McArthur, daughter of 
John and Margaret (Sykes) McArthur. Her fa- 
ther came from Scotland and her mother was 
a Virginian. Four children were born to them: 
Margaret T., who married B. H. Griffin; Daisy 
Mc, who married E. G. Hines; William Hopton, 
who married Mary E. Poole; and Graves J. 
Smith, who is unmarried. 

Graves James Smith belongs to one of the 
old families in industrial and commercial affairs 
at Goldsboro, and is at the head of one of the 
largest commercial organizations in the city. 

He was born at Goldsboro October 27, 1884, 
and is a son of Wiley Hopton and Mary Eliza- 
beth (McArthur) Smith. His father was for 
many years a hardware merchant, was also a 
manufacturer, and organized and became presi- 
dent of the Wayne Agricultural Works at Golds- 
boro. 

Mr. G. J. Smith was educated in the public 
schools at Goldsboro and gained his first busi- 
ness experience as clerk in a hardware firm. In 
1911 he organized the Smith Hardware Company, 
Incorporated, and has since been its president. 

He is also vice president of the Wayne County 
Fair Association, is an active member of the Al- 
gonquin Club, and is affiliated with the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, the Junior 
Order of United American Mechanics and the 
Masonic Order. 

Eobert D. Caldwell. North Carolina is a very 
old state, and many citizens doubtless entertain 
that all the history was made years before their 
time. But history is making itself every day and 
some of the achievements of its records in recent 
years will loom vastly more important in the per- 
spective of the future than some of the events 
which are now honored with conspicuous places on 
the written record of the past. 

An achievement that will deserve the study and 
admiration of the future historian is the develop- 
ment, or transformation is a better word, of a 
quiet country village, one of the old and steady 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



105 



plodding communities of Eobeson County, into a 
modern center of industry, commerce and popula- 
tion. It is not the purpose of this sketch to tell 
in detail the story of this transformation of Lum- 
berton, and yet some of the mam facts must be 
given in order to interpret the career of one of 
the real history makers of modern times, Robert D. 
Caldwell, who is today probably Lumberton 's lead- 
ing merchant, manufacturer, financier and captain 
of industry, whose genius and foresight furnished 
the stimulating cause if not the resources by which 
Lumberton was changed in fifteen years from its 
humble role to one of the most promising cities 
of North Carolina. 

Robert D. Caldwell was born at Lumberton in 
Robeson County in 1859, and thus his efforts as a 
city builder have had the incentive of loyalty to 
his birthplace and home community in addition to 
other causes. He is a son of R. D. and Mary 
(Townsend) Caldwell. The Caldwells are Scotch- 
Irish people and have lived in Robeson County for 
upwards of 100 years. 

Mr. Caldwell was educated in the public schools 
of Lumberton, one of his teachers here being Prof. 
J. A. McAllister, and he also had the instruction 
of one of the greatest teachers of his time, Prof. 
Needham B. Cobb at Ansonville, North Carolina. 

Since young manhood Mr. Caldwell has been a 
merchant. The extent of his enterprise in this 
field entitled him to be called truly a merchant 
prince. For a number of years he was senior mem- 
ber of the firm Caldwell & Carlyle, but in 1912 
the firm of R. D. Caldwell & Son was incorporated. 
His active associate is his son Simeon F. Cald- 
well. It is a department store that would do credit 
to any city in North Carolina. It has been de- 
veloped as a result of years of practical experi- 
ence in supplying all the various needs of a farm- 
ing and industrial community and the success of 
the business is only an adequate reward of the 
quality of service rendered. The business really 
comprises a number of different stores or depart- 
ments and handles almost every commodity that 
could be described as merchandise. There are 
departments for clothing, dry goods, millinery, 
boots and shoes, hardware and stoves, furniture, 
automobile supplies and accessories, and this 
branch is the principal distributor in this section 
of the state for the International Harvester Com- 
pany's machinery. Another department is under- 
taking and undertakers' supplies. 

However, the building up of this enormous mer- 
cantile concern is only one and perhaps not the 
chief est of Mr. Caldwell's contributions to Lum- 
berton 's prosperity. Up to about the year 1890 
Lumberton had been struggling along like the 
ordinary country town with a population of less 
.than nine hundred, with no money-making enter- 
prises and no visible evidence of progress'or defi- 
nite ambition. The contrast between that time and 
more modern years was graphically pointed out by 
Mr. Caldwell himself in an article he furnished 
a local paper a few years ago. At that time he 
said the entire business of the one railroad was 
transacted in one warehouse, by one man as agent, 
who had to receive and deliver freight, sell pas- 
senger tickets, and perform his duties as telegraph 
operator. A more modern condition finds Lum- 
berton with three railroads, requiring twenty em- 
ployes and ten warehouses and an uptown tele- 
graph office. Mr. Caldwell called attention to some 
of the leading articles found in the stock in trade 
at the stores, prominent among which was "spun 
yarn" which was used as "warp" and filled out 



on spinning wheels in individual homes. Other 
commodities found in the stores were adamantine 
candles, while glass lamps and kerosene oil were 
just being introduced. Turpentine "dippers," 
' ' scrapers ' ' and ' ' hacks ' ' were on tne shelves of 
every store and in daily demand. At that time 
it was the exceptional store that carried a stock 
of goods to the value of ten thousand dollars, 
and the only industries in the county were the tur- 
pentine distilleries, which long since disappeared 
through the exhaustion of raw material. 

In those days Mr. Caldwell was not only a busy 
merchant, but was a student and observer. He 
was especially impressed by the fact that such 
citiee as Durham had risen from a similarly strug- 
gling and monotonous existence into prominence 
and prosperity as a result of the centralization 
of marketing and manufacturing facilities to take 
care of the tobacco grown in the district. He de- 
termined that Lumberton could be made just as 
advantageous a market for tobacco as Durham. 
He talked the matter over with friends, made a 
personal investigation of the tobacco industry at 
Wilson, North Carolina, and finally induced Mr. 
Robert Fossett, of Durham, a practical tobacco 
man, to come to Lumberton and take charge of 
a tobacco warehouse. Mr. Fossett thus became 
manager of the first tobacco warehouse ever erected 
in Robeson County for the sale of leaf tobacco. 
In the meantime the farmers around Lumberton 
had been encouraged and had accepted the advice 
to increase their acreage of tobacco, and thus the 
first stimulus was given to Lumberton business 
by opening up its tobacco market. 

Today the tobacco warehouse is by no means the 
biggest single industry of Lumberton. But it 
ranks first in importance as well as in time as the 
little industrial leaven which has stirred and stim- 
ulated the entire community to progressive endeav- 
ors and achievements in a business way. Out of 
the tobacco warehouse came the first bank of 
Robeson County, an increased acreage of cotton 
and other crops, later the establishment of cotton 
mills, the growth of a general commercial and 
industrial life, reconstruction of solid business and 
public buildings, modern municipal improvements, 
resulting in a present population of over five thou- 
sand and making Lumberton one of the richest 
cities of its size in the state. 

As already noted, while Robeson County now has 
seventeen or eighteen banks, there was not a single 
institution for the safeguarding of money and the 
performance of banking service at the period 
above described. When the farmers brought their 
tobacco to the warehouse they were paid in check, 
and Mr. Caldwell cashed most of these checks 
at his store. It was an accommodation that nat- 
urally suggested the idea and afforded the op- 
portunity for the establishment of a real bank. 
The situation was also brought to the notice of 
Robert L. and W. F. L. Steele, of Rockingham, 
who consulted with Mr. Caldwell on the matter, 
and with Judge T. A. McNeill. C. B. Townsend 
and other leading citizens. Thus the Bank of 
Lumberton was organized with a capital stock of 
$15,000, and with Judge McNeill as president. 
This bank is now the National Bank of Lumber- 
ton, with a capital stock of $100,000. with de- 
posits of about $600 000, and with A. W. McLean 
president and Mr. Caldwell vice president. 

The bank had hardly been started when capital 
besran to accumulate in Lumberton and a distinct 
spirit of growth and progress manifested itself. 
Mr. Caldwell was one of the men instrumental in 



106 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



directing this progress toward manufacturing en- 
terprises. He and Mr. A. W. McLean solicited 
subscriptions to the capital stock for a cotton mill, 
and succeeded in raising $75,000, with which t'/a 
first cotton mill in Robeson County was erected 
at Lumberton. That mill was built in 1890, and 
it is today the Lumberton Cotton Mills, of which 
Mr. Caldwell is president. The capital stock is 
now $175,000, and for over a quarter of a century 
the mill has been operated prosperously, has been 
again and again enlarged and improved, and has 
been a source of much wealth to the entire com- 
munity. In 1892 the Dresden Mill was built by 
practically the same company. Mr. Caldwell is 
also president of this milling company, capitalized 
at $200,000. These mills are at East Lumberton 
and are the center of a happy and prosperous mill 
community. 

An incident that furnishes a graphic illustration 
of the commercial growth which has been briefly 
outlined relates to the location of the original 
tobacco warehouse at the corner of Elm and Front 
streets. Up to that time this site had been occu- 
pied by Mr. Berry Godwin with a turpentine 
distillery. Mr. Godwin sold the land for $900 
for the use of the tobacco warehouse. R. D. and 
L. H. Caldwell took a third interest in this pur- 
chase. A year or so ago the same site sold for 
$9,000. 

No one has more enthusiastically and more sys- 
tematically given a support to all these varied 
enterprises as well as the general welfare of Lum- 
berton than Mr. Caldwell. With all the numerous 
cares of business, he has usually found time to re- 
spond to every appeal made upon his generosity 
and spirit of helpfulness in behalf of other in- 
stitutions. He is chairman of the Board of Edu- 
cation of Lumberton and is chairman of the 
School Board of East Lumberton, where a school 
is conducted for the benefit of the cotton mill 
district, employing four teachers. He lends his 
support generously to municipal improvements, 
good roads, is president of the Chamber of Com- 
merce and is owner of much valuable business and 
city real estate, besides extensive farm lands 
which it has been a matter of pride with him to 
develop to the highest state of productiveness. 

One of the finest honors that has been bestowed 
upon him and one which he has most appreciated 
was when, after faithful work as superintendent 
of the Sunday School of the First Baptist Church 
for twenty years, the church elected him superin- 
tendent for life. He has been superintendent of 
the First Baptist Church Sunday School since 1893. 
Mr. Caldwell married Sarah Dovie CarlyTe, 
daughter of S. C. Carlyle, of Lumberton. Mrs. 
Caldwell, who was educated at Oxford College, has 
been equally interested with her husband in many 
civic and social movements, and has served as 
president of the Civic Association of Lumberton. 
They are the parents of four children: Simeon F., 
business associate of his father; Robert D., Jr., 
now in his second year at Wake Forest College ; 
William E., a high school student at Lumberton, 
and Miss Anna Ruth Caldwell. The daughter 
is one of the talented young women of North 
Carolina, is a graduate of Meredith College at 
Raleigh, spent three years in the New England 
Conservatory of Music at Boston, and was a spe- 
cial student under Leland Powers, the great voice 
teacher. Miss Caldwell has a rich contralto voice, 
and her reputation as a vocalist has already spread 
beyond local limits. Music is her destined career. 



George A. Grimsley. Thousands of the most 
substantial business men in the South in securing 
for themselves protection through the service af- 
forded by the Jefferson Life Insurance Company 
of Greensboro have at the same time indicated 
their confidence in the integrity and ability of the 
personnel and executive direction of that company, 
the president of which is George A. Grimsley. Mr. 
Grimsley was formerly a successful educator in 
North Carolina, and left that profession to take 
up insurance work, and has achieved his present 
dignity through a thorough mastery of the funda- 
mentals of insurance organizations and administra- 
tion. 

Mr. Grimsley is a native of Olds Township of 
Greene County, North Carolina, and was born on 
a farm. He is of an old and prominent family 
of that section. His great-grandfather, Jethro 
Grimsley, was one of the pioneers of Greene 
County. The grandfather, John Grimsley, prob- 
ably spent all his life as a planter in that county. 
William Pope Grimsley, father of George A., was 
born in the same township of Greene County, was 
reared to agricultural pursuits and during the 
war between the states was in the Confederate 
army. He too evinced remarkable business ability, 
though he kept his sphere of activity in the rural 
districts. He inherited only a small tract of land 
from his father but made that the nucleus of a 
rapidly growing and expanding business as a 
farmer and land owner and in the course of time 
had 1,000 acres under his ownership and most of 
it thoroughly cultivated. He died in Greene 
County at the age of sixty-five years. William 
P. Grimsley married Mary Elizabeth Dixon. She 
was born in the same county of a prominent fam- 
ily of that name. She died at the early age of 
thirty -five, leaving children named John D., Cora 
Elizabeth, William C, Joseph E., George A. and 
Sally Augusta. 

George A. Grimsley had a district school educa- 
tion and prepared for college in the famous Bing- 
ham Military School at Mebane. His higher edu- 
cation was acquired in the University of Wash- 
ville at Nashville, Tennessee, where he graduated 
in 1888. Since leaving college he has had an 
active career, partly in educational work and 
partly in business covering thirty years. Imme- 
diately on his graduation from the University of 
Nashville he was elected superintendent of the 
Tarboro public schools, and successfully conducted 
the schools of that city until 1900. He resigned 
to become superintendent of the public schools 
of Greensboro, but in 1901 gave up his work in 
schools altogether to enter the life insurance busi- 
ness. That year he was elected secretary of the 
Security Life and Annuity Company. He applied 
himself to the insurance business with the en- 
thusiasm and diligence which in a few years suf- 
ficed to give him a place of recognized prominence 
in insurance circles throughout the South. In 1912 
the Security Life and Annuity Company and the 
Greensboro Life Insurance Company were consoli- 
dated with the Jefferson Life Insurance Company. 
In this larger organization a deserved tribute was 
paid to Mr. Grimsley by his election as president, 
and since then he has wisely directed the affairs 
of the company to still larger growth and pros- 
perity. 

At Kinston, North Carolina, he married Miss 
Cynthia Tull. who was born in Lenoir County, 
daughter of John and Cynthia (Dunn) Tull. Mr. 
and Mrs. Grimsley have two sons, Harry B. and 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



107 



William T. Both volunteered and are now in the 
service of the National Government. Harry is a 
second lieutenant in the Three Hundred Eighth 
Cavalry of the National Army, while William is 
a sergeant in Ambulance Company No. 321. Mr. 
and Mrs. Grimsley are members of. the First Pres- 
byterian Church of Greensboro, and he is one of 
the board of deacons. Fraternally he is affiliated 
with Greensboro Lodge No. 80, Knights of 
Pythias. 

I 
J. Claude Hedgpeth. The business associations 

by which Mr. Hedgpeth is best known at Greens- 
boro and over the state are as a cotton broker. 
He has been at different times affiliated with some 
of the larger cotton brokerage houses in the state, 
and is now at the head of an independent firm in 
Greensboro. Mr. Hedgpeth is well and favorably 
known both to the producers and the cotton buyers 
of the state. 

Though most of his active career has been spent 
in Greensboro, Mr. Hedgpeth was born at Hillsboro 
in Orange County, North Carolina. His great- 
grandfather, Jesse Hedgpeth, was, according to all 
accounts, a native of Virginia, and in pioneer 
times moved from that colony to North Carolina, 
buying a farm in Nash County. He died in Nash 
County at the venerable age of ninety-eight years. 
His wife, a Miss Lawrence, was a native of Eng- 
land and was brought to America by her parents 
in childhood. She was also long lived and passed 
away at the age of eighty-eight. They reared a 
family of seven sons and six daughters. 

Jesse A. Hedgpeth, grandfather of the Greens- 
boro business man, was born on a farm in Nash 
County. As a youth he did not possess a vigorous 
constitution and was advised by physicians to 
seek the higher climate of the mountains. He 
therefore located at Hillsboro, where he lived with 
an uncle. As there were no railroads through that 
section of North Carolina he walked all the dis- 
tance from the old home to his uncle 's. At Hills- 
boro he learned the trade of carriage builder, and 
after his marriage moved to Leesburg in Caswell 
County and established a wagon and carriage fac- 
tory. This was continued until after the war, 
when he returned to Hillsboro and for about 
twenty years was a local merchant and subse- 
quently followed the trade of cabinet making. 
Late in life he removed to Fayetteville, and died 
there at the age of seventy-four. He married 
Emeline Warren, daughter of Charles and Nancy 
(Berry) Warren, both of whom were life long 
residents of North Carolina. Mrs. Jesse A. Hedg- 
peth is still living at Fayetteville, eighty-eight 
years of age. She reared seven children, named 
James H.. Joseph T., Charles J.. Crawford L., 
Deerwood B., Eulah L. and Hardy L. The daugh- 
ter Emma died at the age of fourteen. 

Joseph T. Hedgpeth, father of J. Claude Hedg- 
peth, was born at Leesburg in Caswell County 
August 25, 1859. When a youth he went to work 
in a tobacco factory, learning all the details of 
that business. This experience opened the way for 
an independent business career and he was suc- 
cessively manufacturer of tobacco at Hillsboro and 
Durham. For two vears he was connected with a 
warehouse at Danville, Virginia, but in 1893 lo- 
cated at Greensboro, where he operated a ware- 
house until 1916. Since then he has been in the 
grocerv business. Joseph T. Hedgpeth married in 
1882 Bett^e B. Pleasants, who was born in Wake 
County, North Carolina, daughter of Alexander 
and Amelia (Rosemond) Pleasants. Her father 



moved from Wake County to Hillsboro and for a 
number of years was a merchant there and during 
the war served as assistant postmaster. Joseph 
T. Hedgpeth and wife have five children: J. 
Claude, Lorena P., Lillian N., Herman H. and 
Paul R. The parents are members of the Holy 
Trinity Episcopal Church at Greensboro. 

J. Claude Hedgpeth finished his early education 
in Alice Heartt's private school. He left school 
to learn the art of telegraphy in the offices of the 
Western Union Telegraph Company. For seven 
years he was a competent operator and train dis- 
patcher with the Southern Railway, assigned at 
different points, and resigned his position with 
that company to enter the cotton brokerage busi- 
ness. At first he was with the American Cotton 
Company, later with the firm of Lee & Cone. With 
the withdrawal of Mr. Lee he became a partner 
under the name Cone & Hedgpeth, and in 1910 Mr. 
Cone withdrew and the firm was reorganized as 
Hedgpeth & Rucker, his partner being P. C. 
Rucker. In 1918 Mr. Rucker withdrew, and the 
business, now grown to large and profitable pro- 
portions, is conducted as Hedgpeth & Company. 

Mr. Hedgpeth and wife are active members of 
the Holy Trinity Episcopal Church at Greensboro, 
and he is serving as one of its vestrymen and as 
church treasurer. In 1911 he married Miss Annie 
Lou Cates, who was born at Augusta, Georgia. 
Her father, James Micajah Cates, was born at 
Hamburg, South Carolina, and her mother, Marie 
Crenshaw, is a native of Marietta, Georgia, but 
was reared in Atlanta. Mr. and Mrs. Hedgpeth 
have two children, Sherwood and Marie. 

Henry Elias Shaw. With thirty years of 
active experience in the bar of North Carolina, 
Henry Elias Shaw has spent over twenty of them 
in Kinston. He has unquestioned rank among 
the ablest lawyers in this section of the state, and 
has applied himself successfully and faithfully 
to the discharge of a great volume of duties con- 
nected with the interests of his clients and the 
public at large. Another valuable service he 
has rendered was the part he took in establishing 
the graded school system of Kinston. 

He was born May 10, 1856, a son of Rev. 
Colin and Phoebe (Bannerman) Shaw. Both 
his father and mother were descended from some 
of the early Highland Scotch colonists of the 
Carolinas, and in the maternal line he is con- 
nected with the family of Sir Henry Campbell 
Bannerman. His father was a noted Presbyterian 
minister. 

Mr. Shaw was educated at home and under 
private teachers employed by his father. He 
also came under the instruction of Prof. R. E. 
Miller in Duplin County, and Solomon J. Faison 
of Sampson County. He read law privately, and 
in 1887 entered the law department of the Univer- 
sity of North Carolina. 

Admitted to the bar in September, 1888, Mr. 
Shaw began practice in Pender County, in 1889 
removed to La Grange, and since 1896 has handled 
his general practice at Kinston. In 1911 he was 
elected solicitor of the Fifth Judicial District, 
his present term expiring December 31, 1918. 

Mr. Shaw was married December 20, 1881, to 
Miss Virginia D. Powers, daughter of the late 
Col. John D. Powers, of Pender County, North 
Carolina. The children born to their marriage 
are: Phoebe, who was well educated and was a 
teacher in the public schools at the time of her 
death; Sallie Stewart, who was educated at Red 



108 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Springs, North Carolina, and is now the wife of 
Capt. W. F. Genheimer; Fannie Faison is Mrs. 
M. E. Harlan, of Virginia; Virginia Powers is 
teacher of the graded schools of Kinston; and 
the youngest is Mary Josephine. 

Mr. Shaw served as chairman of the Democratic 
Executive Committee in 1896, and is a former 
chairman of the board of electors of Lenoir 
County. The responsibility for the establishment 
of the first system of graded schools in Kinston 
is shared by him and Mr. Plato Collins. Mr. 
Shaw spent weeks before the Legislature in se- 
curing the necessary legislation for such schools 
both at Kinston and in other cities. After the 
schools were established he was elected one of the 
first trustees. 

His home at Kinston is known as Liberty Hill. 
He is a member of the Masonic Order, of the 
Scottish Society of America, and almost contin- 
uously since he was twenty years of age has 
served as an elder in the Presbyterian Church. 

Henry Tull, M. D. The career of Doctor Tull 
in Lenoir County has been distinguished by an 
unusual length, as well as by exceptional ability 
of service as a physician and surgeon. He began 
practice in that, his native county, over forty 
years ago, after completing his medical education 
in some of the finest schools of America. 

He has proved himself a valuable man to the 
community not only professionally but by varied 
and interesting relationships with the community 
welfare. He is bound by many ties to that locality 
and the community itself feels special pride in him 
as a citizen. 

He was born in Lenoir County January 4, 1855, 
the oldest son of John and Cynthia Ann (Dunn) 
Tull. His lather was for many years one of the 
largest farmers in Lenoir County. Doctor Tull 
during his youth had every encouragement and 
advantage, attending the schools of Kinston 
and being a graduate of the famous Bingham 
Military School, where he was graduated with 
the rank of first lieutenant. He pursued his med- 
ical studies first in Harvard Medical College and 
later in the University of Pennsylvania Medical 
Department, from which he was graduated M. D. 
in 1876. Steadily since that date he has practiced 
at Kinston, and has long stood at the head of his 
profession as a gynecologist and obstetrician. He 
is a member of the Lenoir County and North 
Carolina Medical societies and the American Med- 
ical Association. 

While for professional service alone he would 
rank as one of Lenoir County's first citizens, 
Doctor Tull has a strongly fortified position in 
the community, due to his public enterprise and 
material interests. He was one of the original 
promoters and for a number of years has been 
president of the Orion Knitting Mills and a di- 
rector of the Kinston Cotton Mills. Like his 
father, he is closely connected with the agricul- 
tural welfare of the county and owns 3,000 acres 
of farm land, devoted to cotton and tobacco. In 
1886 he built the Hotel Tull, the first brick hotel 
in Kinston, and immediately rebuilt it after it 
as destroyed by fire in 1895. By subsequent 
additions to the Hotel Tull, at the corner of Queen 
and Caswell streets, has become one of the largest 
and best equipped hotels in the state. He is 
vice president of the First National Bank and 
lias been president since its organization of the 
Kinston Building and Loan Association. 

His public service has been largely in his home 



county and has been notable for its effectiveness, 
whether through the agency of a public office 
or through the many interests which he controls. 
For a number of terms he represented his ward 
in the city council, and has been steadfastly an 
advocate of municipal ownership and a wise and 
efficient direction of public utilities. He brought 
about the establishment of the office of city clerk 
and a departmental system of city accounting, 
and supported various other reforms. 

In 1902 Doctor Tull was elected county com- 
missioner and selected as chairman of the board, 
an office he filled continuously for twelve years. 
Some of the wisest and best considered public 
improvements in the county were made during his 
administration. The county home was built in 
1904 under his direction, the court house and 
its offices were remodeled and newly equipped, and 
several modern steel and concrete bridges erected 
throughout the county. Doctor Tull is a member 
of the Masonic Order. 

He -was married in 1882 to Miss Myrtie Wooten, 
of Lenoir County. They reside in one of the 
handsomest homes of Kinston, on Caswell Street. 
Doctor and Mrs. Tull have three children : Eliza- 
beth Gladys, now Mrs. William C. Fields, of Kins- 
ton; Lottie, wife of Dr. James M. Parrott, of 
Kinston, and Henry, Jr., of Kinston. 

Charles C. Hudson. This is the brief story of 
a Greensboro business man who not many years 
age was working in an overall factory at twenty- 
five cents a day. That is the opening chapter of 
the story, and the final chapter as written to date 
finds him sole proprietor of a business whose out- 
put is valued at a million dollars a year. 

This business man of Greensboro is a native of 
Tennessee, born on a plantation twelve miles south 
of Franklin in Williamson County July 15, 1877. 
Some of his maternal relatives and family con- 
nections comprised a well known family of early 
days in Guilford County, North Carolina. His 
parents were Professor William A. and Annie 
(Tyre) Hudson. His paternal grandfather, Wil- 
liam A. Hudson, Sr., was a planter and probably 
a lifelong resident of Williamson County, Tennes- 
see. The maternal grandfather, John Tyre, was 
born near Pleasant Gardens of Guilford County, 
North Carolina, and moved from there to Tennes- 
see in the days before railroads spanned the moun- 
tains and when wagons and teams were the only 
means of conveyance from place to place. Mr. 
Tyre bought a plantation, lived in Tennessee a 
number of years, and finally returned to his native 
county, where the rest of his life was spent. 

Professor William A. Hudson was substantially 
educated in his youth, and was widely known over 
his section of Tennessee as an educator. He con- 
tinued teaching until his death at the early age 
of thirty-six. His widow subsequently married 
W. N. Graham, of Williamson County, and they 
now live in Nashville, Tennessee. By the first 
marriage the mother had four children, named 
Lola Blanche, who died at tin- age of twenty-one; 
Charles C. ; Clarence E.; and Homer T. 

Charles C. Hudson during his youth attended 
local public schools and assisted in performing 
the labors on the home plantation in Tennessee. 
He was twenty years of age when he came to 
Greensboro, North Carolina. Here soon after- 
ward he was put on the payroll of the local over- 
all factory. He began sewing buttons. This work 
commanded wages of twenty-five cents per day. 
The wage was not important, save as it furnished 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



109 



him bare means of subsistence and existence. The 
important part was the opportunity it gave him, 
which he was not slow to utilize, in mastering the 
technical and general business processes of an in- 
dustry in which he subsequently saw a future and 
realized it in a most remarkable way. He picked 
up knowledge rapidly and made himself pro- 
ficient in every branch of manufacture, sale and 
distribution of overalls. In 1910 the firm for 
which he worked stopped business, but he was only 
temporarily out of employment. He had in the 
meantime conserved his capital and had taken 
means to establish credit of his own and at once 
organized the Blue Bell Overall Company, of which 
he has since been sole proprietor. This business 
started with five people doing all the work. Eight 
years is a short time in which a business may 
develop to large and pretentious scope, but at 
the present time Mr. Hudson 's factory occupies 
a three-story building, furnishing nearly a half 
acre of floor space, and fitted with nearly all the 
modern appliances and machinery capable of pro- 
ducing the highest grade of overalls of all types 
and for all purposes. About 200 people find con- 
stant employment here and the business is one 
of the chief industries of Greensboro. 

Mr. Hudson married, January 2, 1902, Daisy 
Dean Huntt. She was born in Louisa County, 
Virginia, a daughter of John Wesley Huntt, of 
that county. Mr. and Mrs. Hudson have two chil- 
dren, Dorothy Dean and Charles C, Jr. The fam- 
ily are active members of the Centenary Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, of Greensboro in which 
Mr. Hudson has served on the various official 
boards. 

Mr. Hudson is a member of the executive com- 
mittee of the Young Men's Christian Association 
of Greensboro and a member of the board of the 
Young Women 's Christian Association. He is a 
member of the Merchants and Manufacturers Club, 
Commerce in 1917, is a member of the Rotary Club 
served as president of the Greensboro Chamber of 
of Greensboro and the Country Club, and frater- 
nally is affiliated with Greensboro Lodge No. 602, 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

William Guy Newby. The immensity of the 
lumber interests of Eastern North Carolina, if 
presented in aggregate, would be a stupendous 
financial document. Figuratively speaking, it is 
only within the last twenty or more years that 
this vast source of wealth has been more than 
tapped. The people of this country have, seem- 
ingly, not always been alive to their own interests, 
leaving undisturbed the natural resources close 
at hand, that other lands, perhaps, would have 
sequestered for national financial independence. 
It is true, however, that business acumen ap- 
proaching genius in some cases had to be brought 
to bear to open up the natural treasures of the 
United States in different sections. The great 
impetus given the lumber industry in Eastern 
North Carolina may be indirectly traced to the 
well directed, intelligent activities of men of a 
high order of business ability. In this connec- 
tion mention may be made to one of Hertford's 
prominent lumber men, William Guy. Newby, who 
is the senior member of the real estate firm of 
Newby & White, owners of vast tracts of land 
and important factors in the commercial life of 
this section. 

William Guy Newby was born at Hertford, 
North Carolina, October 17, 1877. His parents 
were Nathan and Frances Katherine (McMullan) 



Newby. Farming was his father's vocation and 
Perquimans County has been the family home 
for several generations. 

Hertford Academy for many years has afforded 
high class instruction to the youth of the city 
and there Mr. Newby received academic train- 
ing, after which he took a course in stenography 
in Eastman's Business College. Becoming an 
expert, he continued in the practice of this art 
for ten years, in the meanwhile attracting the 
attention of Hon. John H. Small, member of 
Congress from the First District, which resulted 
in his becoming Mr. Small's private secretary, 
in which intimate relation he remained for six 
years. 

Mr. Newby then turned his attention to farm- 
ing and became interested in lumber manufac- 
turing and later became associated with Carteret 
Lumber Company, of which he is secretary. Sub- 
sequently Mr. Newby extended the scope of his 
husiness activities and the real estate firm of 
Newby & White was founded. This firm handles 
vast tracts of farm land and owns a two-third 
interest in 20.000 acres of Eastern North Car- 
olina timber land. The operations of the firm 
are conducted on a large scale and their minor 
interests include many industries. The partners 
are men not only of rare business ability but taeir 
reputation for business integrity is unblemished. 

Mr. Newby was married June 21, 1911, to 
Elizabeth Brown Stokes, of Windsor, North Car- 
olina, ami they have two children: Jesse Taylor 
and William Guy, Jr. Mr. Newby is a member 
of the board of stewards in the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. In politics he is a democrat and 
formerly was one of the town commissioners, and 
he is treasurer of the Perquimans County Red 
Cross organization. 

Capt. Joseph B. Underwood. The late Capt. 
Joseph B. Underwood, father of Mrs. Henry M. 
Pemberton, was born in Sampson County, and 
spent all his life as a citizen of Fayetteville. He 
earned his captain's title as a brilliant and dash- 
ing officer in the Confederate army. Captain 
Underwood will be longest remembered because of 
his fame and achievements as an inventor. Inven- 
tion was with him practically a lifelong profession. 
The number of his inventions ran literally into 
the hundreds, and a complete record of them died 
with him. Quite a number of these devices helped 
to lighten the burdens of the world and improve 
the facilities of civilization, and there were several 
that may be briefly mentioned here. One of the 
most notable was a color printing press. It is 
recalled that when Captain Underwood went to 
New York with his color press and exhibited it 
to printers and publishers they looked upon it 
as a freak and probably thought of the inventor 
as a crank. That very press, however, was sub- 
sequently in use in New York, and now for many 
years the process of color printing has been rec- 
ognized as one of the greatest graphic arts. Cap- 
tain Underwood invented the cigarette-making 
machine, which had a tremendous effect on the 
tobacco industry of America. He also made the 
first slot machine, and that opened a field of me- 
chanical devices which is now almost unlimited 
and is applied in wonderfully varied ways. The 
slot machine patent was sold to Gen. J. S. Carr. 
He also invented a cotton planter and a number 
of labor-saving devices. One machine which was 
almost completed, but was unfinished at his death, 
was a cotton-picking machine. Besides the cigar- 



110 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



ette-making machine, he invented a tobacco-stem- 
ming machine, and both of these he sold to the 
great tobacco manufacturing corporations. Many 
other minor inventions related to the tobacco manu- 
facture. He also invented the darner for the 
sewing machine. Captain Underwood died at Fay- 
etteville in 1907, but his name will always be 
mentioned among the great American inventors of 
the past century. 

James Alexander Sextox, M. D. The follow- 
ing is one of those life stories that serve to en- 
rich the pages of North Carolina's history. His 
was a distinctive personality, a career of wonder- 
ful vitality and service, one inspired by high ideals, 
conscientious devotion to duty, and a faithfulness 
in all things that leaves a name long to be re- 
spected and honored. 

James Alexander Sexton was born near Lilling- 
ton, Haruett County, North Carolina, September 
24, 1844, and died in the same county January 7, 
1914. He was educated in the common schools 
then in existence. When a mere youth he volun- 
teered in the Confederate army, and no braver or 
more faithful boy ever left his home for the army. 
He could be relied upon in all the duties and 
dangers of a soldier and soon gained the love and 
esteem of the officers and men in his command. 
When the war was over he returned to his home 
in Harnett County and engaged in the ordinary 
pursuits of life, holding offices of trust in his 
county when only a mere boy. 

Later he studied medicine and was graduated 
with high honors from the University of Mary- 
land in 1872. He became a really great physi- 
cian. What distinguishes the great physician from 
the mass of practitioners and those who merely 
administer medicine is the power of insight and 
judgment which presents an analysis as perfect 
as human mind can make it of a patient's con- 
dition. Such an analysis is of course a prerequi- 
site of every physician 's action and advice, but 
it is when the analysis takes on the character of 
a broad and comprehensive survey of physical, 
pathological and psychic conditions that it truly 
amounts to diagnosis. Doctor Sexton was rated 
as one of the most noted diagnosticians of his 
time. He was endowed with clearness of vision, 
lucidity of thought, and thoroughness of judg- 
ment that made his opinions in his chosen profes- 
sion of the highest value. From his entrance into 
medical college his gift of diagnosis was a marvel 
to his confreres and in later life amounted to 
genius. After graduation he practiced his pro- 
fession for several years in Harnett County, later 
moving to Apex, North Carolina, and still later 
to Raleigh, where he practiced for over thirty 
years, making a reputation second to none. He 
was one of the most skilled surgeons of his day, 
and was also one of the first physicians in the 
South to use carbolic acid internally. 

The result of his intellect and industry fixed 
his status in the medical body of his city as a man 
of acknowledged ability, usefulness and uncom- 
mon skill. And he was always distinguished by 
sympathy, exhaustive research, precision, severe 
analysis and discrimination, unflagging interest 
toward the suffering. Fortunate indeed were the 
ipatients who called him in as their physician. If 
he had been content with ordinary practice, leav- 
ing the care to nurses, and had not labored so con- 
sistently and earnestly, going without relaxation 
from one patient to another, and concentrating 
his powers intensely upon them, his physical con- 



stitution, naturally strong, and with habits of 
life so simple, would have enabled him to pro- 
long his useiul medical career many years. Judged 
by his robust appearance at the close of the year 
19U1 he seemed as little likely as any one to fall 
a victim to overwork, but in that year failing 
health brought him the admonition that nature re- 
volted against the constant transgression of her 
laws. 

When nature began to revolt from lack of sleep 
and constant vigilance over his large circle of 
patients, he entered the lumber business in the 
fall of 1901. Moving to Fuquay Springs, he 
entered that business with Mr. T. B. Renalds, 
who assumed the active supervision. This partner- 
ship was ideal. Each man was a complement of 
the other. Doctor Sexton supplied initiative, 
courage to take great risk and a strong wid to 
combat obstacles, while Mr. Renalds possessed 
executive ability of high order. Together they 
built up a business in face of odds that meant 
defeat to many men. They bought Fuquay 
Springs and 2,000 acres of land from the proceeds 
of the lumber business, which is still carried on 
under the name J. A. Sexton Lumber Company at 
Harnett, to which town Doctor Sexton later re- 
moved and lived close to his childhood home at 
the time of his death. As a lumberman the work 
in the open, midst the sweet smelling pines, great- 
ly benefited him. The facility with which he could 
turn from one type of work to another wholly dif- 
ferent was one of his most notable gifts. 

It is only in rough outline that this sketch can 
note the original capacities and their develop- 
ment, the strong will power and intense devotion to 
work, the high moral qualities and principles, early 
struggles and final successes, the conflicts and 
triumphs that make up and fill out the well 
rounded career of Doctor Sexton. Mention might 
be made of the fact that he was educated in the 
common schools in the early days. But in the 
making of his career there were involved many 
other qualities, including patience and courage, 
toils and trials in overcoming early disadvantages, 
and a tremendous amount of physical and mental 
exertion in acquiring the splendid intellectual 
equipment which he exhibited. He read books for 
what he could get out of them that could be turned 
into practical account, and he studied men and 
things as well as books. His favorite pastime was 
literature, in which he showed talents as marked 
as in his chosen profession. Doctor Sexton con- 
tributed to the leading medical journals of his 
time. These sketches and his short verses are 
gems. Anything that he cared to remember he 
wrote in verse. His writings were a spontaneous 
expression of personal feelings, simple, direct, 
with always a tracery of correct English. Had 
his life heen less practically busy he would have 
been one of the sweet singers of the South. 

He was a strong man full of resources, conscious 
of his power, self reliant, and in self-help he put 
his chief dependence. He knew his own capacity 
for work, had faith in the strong fibre of his mind 
and body; and withal was very modest as to per- 
sonal vainglory and never sought public recog- 
nition in any way. He was essentially a practical 
man and reason in all things was his guide. Doctor 
Sexton did not practice his profession for financial 
gains. He had a positive aversion to sending bills 
to a patient who had suffered the tortures of the 
flesh. He made it a rule never to charge a widow 
or an orphan. One special object of his liberality 
was the Methodist Orphanage at Raleigh. He had 




/^XJ^C<^ 






HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



111 



his own standard of the proper conduct between 
man and man. That standard was founded on a 
sound morality, which he lived up to scrupulously 
and consistently. He was plain, direct and unos- 
tentatious rugged in his honesty as he was blunt 
in his address. He was often brusque, sometimes 
to his detriment, and he never affected the ac- 
complishments that did not belong to his nature. 

Doctor Sexton loved Fuquay Springs with a love 
begotten of the sacrifice he had made for it. His 
dream during his declining years was to make of 
its healing waters a place where the suffering 
might be benefited, and that the medicinal qual- 
ities of this wonderful water might be free to the 
needy. His dream was not fulfilled, but there was 
probably never a time in his later years when the 
project was altogether out of his mind. He gave 
very liberally to all improvements at Fuquay 
Springs. He donated the lots on which the Metho- 
dist and Baptist churches were built and con- 
tributed largely to their building. He gave a lot 
for the Presbyterian Church and also presented 
the town with ground for a cemetery. There were 
many other worthy objects that owed much to his 
liberality. In that and other communities, when 
the hour for his going struck a rude shock was 
felt, and the memory of his kindness and useful- 
ness is not likely soon to be dissipated. Those 
whose thoughts and affections still revert to him 
daily recall his greatness, rejoice for a heart that 
lavished its benefactions on the poor and suffering, 
and derive special satisfaction from the fact that 
he lived fully and then entered into ' ' an inher- 
itance incorruptible, undefiled and that faded not 
away. ' ' If his epitaph were limited to a single 
sentence in accord with his modest life work it 
would be, "A friend to the suffering. ' ' 

Coll H. Sexton, M. D. It is not possible to 
proportionate credit in exact measure to the vari- 
ous individuals who have been concerned in the 
upbuilding and enrichment of any particular 
community. It is generally known that the eastern 
section of Harnett County, particularly the region 
around Dunn, is today one of the richest parts of 
North Carolina and from the agricultural stand- 
point, and that point of development has been 
attained in comparatively recent years. No one 
would question the assertion that a considerable 
share of the personal credit for the improvement 
of the rural districts and their present high stand- 
ards and also the growth and development of 
Dunn as the market and civic center of this region 
belongs to Dr. Coll H. Sexton, who has been in 
the practice of medicine there almost from the 
time Dunn took its place as one of the stations 
along the main line of the Atlantic coast line. 

Doctor Sexton has doubtless responded to the 
urge of patriotic loyalty in some part of his exer- 
tions, since he is himself a native of Harnett Coun- 
ty, born four miles east of Lillington in 1856. 
His family connections are of the very best and 
the stanchest stock of North Carolina. His par- 
ents were William M. and Mary (McLean) Sex- 
ton. The Sextons are English, and on coming from 
their native land settled at Wilmington, North 
Carolina, and gradually extended throughout the 
Cape Fear region to Harnett and other counties. 
Doctor Sexton on his mother's side is of Scotch 
ancestry. His maternal grandmother was a Mc- 
Allister, a name famous in the Scotch history 
of Eastern North Carolina. One of the founders 
of this family was Colonel Alexander McAllister, 
whose name appears in frequent and honored asso- 



ciations with the colonial and revolutionary his- 
tory of the state. He served as an officer in the 
Eevolutionary War, and was one of the founders 
of the state government following the Declaration 
of Independence. 

Doctor Sexton grew up on his father's planta- 
tion in Harnett County. When the facilities of 
the local schools had been exhausted he took up the 
study of medicine under the late Dr. John McKay. 
Later he took the full medical course in the 
University of Maryland at Baltimore, where he 
graduated with the class of 1890. Only two years 
before a branch line of railway had been con- 
structed through Harnett County, now part of 
the main system of the Atlantic Coast Line, and 
Dunn had been established as a village. This 
community Doctor Sexton chose as his first prac- 
tice and has been there continuously for over 
twenty-five years, attending patiently and skill- 
fully to the needs of a large general practice, and 
throughout his part has been that of a construc- 
tive factor, building up and restoring sick bodies, 
spreading the ideals of preventive sanitary 
science, and also working side by side with other 
business men in promoting the interests of the 
city and surrounding country. 

Doctor Sexton is a director of the First National 
Bank of Dunn, but aside from his professional 
practice his interests are chiefly represented in 
extensive land holdings, some of which are the 
scene of model and intensive operations at farm- 
ing. One of his farms comprises 800 acres and 
is two miles east of Buie's Creek, another, also 
of 800 acres, is situated on the Raleigh-Fayette 
State Road between Buie's Creek and Lillington, 
and about four miles east of Lillington, 175 acres, 
is the old Sexton homestead. 

Doctor Sexton is a man of high standing in his 
profession and former president of the Harnett 
'"'ou^tv Medical Society. He is a deacon in the 
Presbyterian Church and in politics a democrat. 
In 1898 he mnrried Miss Irene McKay, daughter 
of Daniel McNeill McKay. Mrs. Sexton died in 
1900. 

Major L. Carson Sinclair, who has relations 
with a number of prominent characters in North 
Carolina history, is a thoroughly trained lawyer 
by profession, but gave up the law in order to 
give his whole time and energy to the business 
of furniture manufacturer at High Point in Guil- 
ford County, where he resides. Many of the 
older residents of North Carolina will welcome a 
notice in this connection of his distinguished 
father and grandfather, both of whom were in 
their time useful as well as distinguished citizens. 

Rev. John C. Sinclair, the grandfather, was born 
on the Island of Tyree, Argyleshire, Scotland, where 
his ancestors had lived for several generations, a 
strong and virile race of Scots. He possessed a 
fine mind and the courageous and direct character 
of his people. These natural qualifications wore 
improved by a most liberal education. He attended 
the University of Glassrow, the University of Edin- 
burg, and several theological seminaries of Scot- 
land. Rev. Mr. Sinclair married Miss Julia Mac- 
Lean, of another noted family of Scotland. Their 
marriage was celebrated by Rev. Alexander 
Fraser, a noted theologian and divine of the 
Scotch Presbyterian Church. Tn this connection 
it will not be out of place to mention the fact that 
the wife of Major L. C. Sinclair is a direct de- 
scendant of that noted Scotch theologian. 

In 1838 Rev. John C. Sinclair brought his wife 



112 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



and family to the American continent. His first 
location was at Pictou in Nova Scotia. Later he 
lived at Newburyport, Massachusetts. Still later 
he was at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and became 
minister of a Presbyterian Church in that city. 
Pittsburgh and vicinity is of course a noted strong- 
hold of Scotch Presbyteiianism. In 1858 Eev. Mr. 
Sinclair came to North Carolina as minister of his 
church, and was especially active in Cumberland 
County and in the Cape Fear section. He was a 
man of remarkable force, of deep piety and his 
convincing authority made him a power for good 
and in the constructive religious iniiuences of a 
large district. His scholarship equalled his re- 
ligious fervor. He preached to the Scotch Pres- 
byterians of this state not only in English but 
also in Gaelic. His first charge was Galatia in 
Cumberland County, where he installed a church in 
1859. From there he carried the Gospel to numer- 
ous other and often far distant communities. His 
name appears prominently in North Carolina his- 
tory, particularly in the history of the church. 
Late in life Rev. Mr. Sinclair removed to Wheel- 
ing, West Virginia, where one of his daughters 
lived, and he died there. 

During the period of the war and the years 
that followed North Carolina had hardly a more 
interesting figure, and certainly not one of more 
positive convictions and personal fearlessness and 
courage, than the late Col. Peter J. Sinclair, 
father of the High Point business man. Colonel 
Sinclair was born on the Island of Tyree, Argyle- 
shire, Scotland, in 1837, and was brought to 
America when a year old. Much of his early boy- 
hood was spent in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, where 
he attended school. His inclination was for com- 
mercial lines and as 'a boy he acquired considerable 
training as clerk in a local store. He acquired 
an expert knowledge of goods and salesmanship. 
When, a few years before the war, he came to 
Fayetteville, Cumberland County, North Carolina, 
he established a newspaper known as the North 
Carolinian and remained its editor until the break- 
ing out of the war. 

Though he had been in the South only a few 
years he readily threw his fortunes with his home 
state and volunteered his services to the Con- 
federacy. He went out as captain of Company A 
from Fayetteville in the Fifth North Carolina 
Regiment of Volunteers. This regiment was 
formed in the camp of instruction at Halifax, 
North Carolina, in July, 1861, and at the close 
of the same month took part in the great battle of 
Manassas or Bull Run. In the winter of 1861-62 
he was promoted to the rank of major. About 
that time his regiment was assigned to duty in 
Early's Brigade. He and his regiment won un- 
dving fame by gallant conduct at the battle of 
Williamsburg in May, 1862. Colonel Sinclair in 
that battle had a horse shot from under him, but 
he led his men in charge and counter charge and 
his regiment occupied the pivotal point in the 
battle. For his conspicuous bravery on that field 
he was promoted to lieutenant colonel in command 
of the regiment. He led it in the battle of Seven 
Pines and in the series of battles around Richmond 
while the regiment was part of the brigade com- 
manded bv General D. H. Hill. In December, 1862. 
Colonel Sinclair led his regiment into Maryland 
and stood with General Hill in the grand stand 
made at South Mountain, where this part of the 
Confederate armv saved the day and fought 
against heavy odds. It will be recalled that the 



Confederate forces were divided and made their 
stand against superior forces. 

Soon after the battles around South Mountain 
Colonel Sinclair resigned from his position in the 
army and returned to Fayetteville. It is due to 
his record as a soldier to speak briefly of the rea- 
sons which brought about his resignation. Even in 
the grim processes of warfare there are personal 
factors. Colonel Sinclair was not only a brave 
soldier but the independent spirit which made him 
the idol of his followers did not hesitate to ex- 
press his independent convictions on matters of 
public policy. Through his newspaper and in 
other ways he had criticised the administration of 
President Jefferson Davis. Such criticism could 
not be entirely forgotten even though his gallant 
personal services as a soldier entitled him to con- 
tinued promotion. Thus he was practically super- 
seded in the command of his regiment, and feeling 
that his further usefubiess in the army was ended 
or at least seriously handicapped he resigned his 
commission and returned to Fayetteville. 

His bold independent spirit was well illustrated 
during the two or three years of his residence at 
Fayetteville. He had resumed the editorship of 
the North Carolinian, and at the beginning of the 
reconstruction period he refused to be dismayed by 
the military domination which seized and paralyzed 
all civic activities. He sjjoke through his paper with 
the utmost frankness and candor his very unfavor- 
able and condemnatory views of the ^construction- 
ists. His utterances were often exceedingly bitter. 
Such was his personal character and ability, how- 
ever, that he was never brought to book for these 
utterances. His scathing attacks on reconstruction 
measures are still well remembered by old timers 
in Cumberland County and Fayetteville. 

As far back as history goes the Sinclair clan of 
Scotland and its representatives in America have 
produced men of fighting blood. One of Col. 
Peter J. Sinclair 's brothers was Col. James 
Sinclair. He was a Presbyterian minister and 
active in his work in North Carolina when the war 
broke out. He enlisted in the Fifth North Caro- 
lina Regiment, was made chaplain, but not being 
satisfied with the duties of that position, at the 
first battle of Manassas in July, 1861, he grasped 
a sword and got into the actual conflict. He 
assisted in rallying his regiment and acted with 
such conspicuous bravery that he was personally 
complimented by General Longstreet, who pre- 
sented him with a sword. A short time later Rev. 
James Sinclair was elected colonel of the Thirty- 
fifth North Carolina Infantry and thus became a 
fighting officer instead of a praying chaplain. 

After giving up the editorial management of 
the North Carolinian at Fayetteville, Col. P. J. 
Sinclair removed to Charlotte, where he was a mer- 
chant, and subsequently went to Gaston County 
and followed farming. While a young man at 
Pittsburg he studied law and he was licensed to 
practice in that profession. However, he did not 
avail himself of this profession until he removed 
to Marion, the county seat of McDowell County, 
in 1870. Thereafter he attained rank as one of 
the leading lawyers in North Carolina. He was 
especially strong as a lawyer in land and eject- 
ment cases. Through his work in that specialty 
he won wide renown. One of the notable land 
cases in which he was granted a decision was the 
famous case Dugaran vs. McKesson. This was de- 
cided by the North Carolina Supreme Court. 
Colonel Sinclair was general counsel for the old 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



113 



C. C. & C. Railroad, now part of the Southern 
System. He was twice married. At Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania, he married Miss Ellen Arthur, 
daughter of John Arthur of that city. She died 
at Fayetteville about the close of the war. In 
1874 at Marion, Colonel Sinclair married Miss 
Margaret Carson. She was a member of the well 
known Carson family of McDowell County, Nerth 
Carolina, and a daughter of the late J. L. Carson, 
a prominent farmer in the Pleasant Garden com- 
munity. 

Major L. Carson Sinclair was born at Marion, 
McDowell County, North Carolina, November 6 
1883, a son of Col. Peter J. and Margaret 
(Carson) Sinclair. His mother is still living. He 
was reared and educated at Marion, attending the 
public schools there and later the Agricultural and 
Mechanical College and the State University. 
Three months before attaining his majority Major 
Sinclair was licensed to practice law and was 
granted a special certificate for proficiency in the 
law course prescribed at the university. He began 
his career as a lawyer and as special counsel for 
the C. C. and C. Railway bought most of the 
right of way and passed on the titles to the road- 
bed of this railroad through North Carolina. 

On December 19, 1905, Major Sinclair married 
Miss Isla Myrtle Fraser, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. 
H. W. Eraser. 

In 1906, the year after his marriage, Major 
Sinclair removed to High Point and has since 
been actively associated with Mr. Eraser in the 
Myrtle Desk Company. Major Sinclair is now 
secretary and treasurer of this company, giving 
the enterprise his entire attention. He gains his 
title as a member of Governor Craig's staff with 
the rank of major. Major Sinclair has taken an 
active part in public affairs, has served on the 
Board of Aldermen and as secretary of the School 
Board. In 1915 he was elected exalted ruler of 
the High Point Lodge of Elks. In 1917 he was 
appointed district deputy of the Elks for North 
Carolina. 

Mr. and Mrs. Sinclair are the parents of three 
children: Carson Fraser, Henry MacLean and 
Ira Hayworth Sinclair. 

L. Macon Michaux, postmaster of Goldsboro, 
has had a long and active business career and 
for a number of years was president and general 
manager of the leading wholesale grocery estab- 
lishment. 

He was born in Franklin County, North Car- 
olina. September 27, 1856, a son of Rev. John L. 
and Sarah (Macon) Michaux. His father, who 
died at the age of seventy-three, was one of 
North Carolina's pioneer newspaper editors and 
publishers. He established the first daily paper 
at Goldsboro, called the Dailv Workman. Dur- 
ing the war he conducted the Messinger and Har- 
binger. In 1874 he established the Central Pro- 
testant, an organ of the Methodist Church, and 
was long active in behalf of that denomination. 

L. Macon Michaux was educated in private 
schools and in his father's printing houses. From 
1883 to 1910 he was a traveling salesman, and in 
the latter year became president of the whole- 
sale grocery business in Goldboro whose destinies 
he has since conducted with such creditable suc- 
cess and enerpy. Mr. Michaux was appointed 
postmaster of Goldsboro in 1913. 

He has long exercised a large influence in the 
democratic party in this state and among other 
positions of trust he has filled was that of direc- 
Vol. VI -8 



tor of the North Carolina Railway, having been 
appointed by Governor Aycock. 

Mr. Michaux was married in 1892 to Loulie 
Miller, daughter of Dr. John G. Miller. They 
are the parents of three children : Sarah Bcrden, 
Mary Louise and Edward Randolph. The son, 
who was a sergeant in the North Carolina Na- 
tional Guards, and has had one year in the Vir- 
ginia Military School, is a first lieutenant in the 
Sixtieth Regular Army and now at the front in 
France. The family are active members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. 

James Marshall Browning. In the develop- 
ment of Burlington during the last twenty years 
as one of the prominent mill centers of North Car- 
olina, one of the chief individual factors has been 
James Marshall Browning, who has served the 
cotton mill interests and the industrial and civic 
life of that community in many different capac- 
ities but always usefully and faithfully not only 
to his own success and advancement but to the wel- 
fare of all the interests and people whom his life 
has touched. 

Mr. Browning was born in Caswell County, 
North Carolina, May 10, 1861, son of William 
Porter and Susanna (Barnwell) Browning. His 
early life was spent on his father 's farm and he 
had to make the best of the somewhat restricted 
educational opportunities which prevailed in his 
section of the state in the years following the 
Civil war. He attended district schools and the 
Graham Normal Institute, but did not complete 
his education in Normal School until after he had 
reached the age of twenty-one. Most of his time 
prior to that was spent on a farm. For a short 
time he was in the leaf tobacco business and in 
1893 became identified with the cotton mill in- 
dustry. For five years he was shipping and bill- 
ing clerk for the Cone Export Commission Com- 
pany, and on coming to Burlington was first em- 
ployed by the Lakeside Cotton Mills as book- 
keeper, and then worked in a similar capacity for 
the Windsor Cotton Mills. In 1904, when this mill 
was sold out and was converted into the Belleview 
Cotton Mills, he remained as manager until 1908. 
After that he was secretary, treasurer and general 
manager of the Daisy Hosiery Mills at Burlington, 
and is still a director in that industry. His most 
active connection at present is as secretary, treas- 
urer and general manager of the Keystone Furnish- 
ing Mills at Burlington, a high class plant which 
he organized and established. He is also presi- 
dent of the Central Loan and Trust Company, 
vice president of the First National Bank, and 
president of the Southern Hosiery Mills. 

For six years Mr. Browning was chairman of the 
graded schools of Burlington, and performed a 
service of great value realizing some of the higher 
ideals of an improved educational system for his 
home city. He is a ruling elder of the Presby- 
terian Church and teaches the Bible class of the 
Sunday school, and is a past chancellor and past 
representative to Grand Lodge of the Knights of 
Pythias. > 

February 12, 1904, he married Miss Stella Cheat- 
ham, of Warren County, North Carolina. They 
have one son, James Marshall, Jr., born July 31, 
1907. 

William Reid Dalton, whose energies and abil- 
ities have commended him to the confidence of a 
large clientage as one of the leading lawyers of 
Rockingham County, is a member of that old and 



114 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



historic family of Daltons whose record runs 
through the annals of North Carolina from the 
period of early colonial settlement. The name 
' ' Dalton ' ' is Norman French and was originally 
"De Alton." 

He is a lineal descendant of Samuel Dalton. 
Samuel Dalton was born in Ireland of Scotch an- 
cestry and in early manhood came to America. 
For a time he lived near the home of the elder 
James Madison in Virginia, and had much to do 
with the family. Seeking a newer country, he 
went South to Georgia, and was located for a 
time on the present site of Savannah. It was 
not an altogether congenial location, since the 
country was unhealthy and Indians were trouble- 
some. He finally concluded to return to Virginia. 
He had nearly reached the Virginia state line, 
when he was overcome by the charm of the beauti- 
ful and healthy-looking country through which he 
was passing, and concluded to go no further. He 
located at the junction of the Mayo and Dan 
rivers, which is now in Rockingham County, 
North Carolina, and in the course of time acquired 
and developed some very extensive tracts of land 
in that vicinity and became the wealthiest man 
in all that region. His large, commodious frame 
house was built on a hill overlooking the Mayo 
River and the country beyond. He raised a very 
large family of children and lived there in patri- 
archal state until the advanced age of 106 years. 
He married a Ewel or a Galihee of Virginia. His 
son, Samuel Dalton, owned and occupied a planta- 
tion on Beaver Island, in Rockingham County, 
North Carolina, but his career was cut short at 
the early age of thirty years as the result of a 
snake bite. He possessed quite a snug little estate 
at his death. 

He left a son, Nicholas Dalton, who was born 
at the homestead on Beaver Island on April 4, 
1770, and who was the great-grandfather of Wil- 
liam Reid Dalton. Nicholas Dalton succeeded to 
the ownership of the old homestead on Beaver 
Island.' raised a large family of thirteen children 
(eight sons and five daughters), and became a 
successful farmer and was noted for the fine horses 
which he bred and trained. Handling horses was 
perhaps his chief enthusiasm. He also gained a 
reputation for much practical wisdom, served as 
magistrate for many years, and as a senior mem- 
ber of the justices he presided over the Rocking- 
ham County Court. He rendered his decisions 
with such sage wisdom that seldom was there a 
reversal. The bar of Rockingham County was 
then very strong, composed of the Yanceys, More- 
heads, Settles, Swains, Carrs, Grahams and Boy- 
dens. He married Rachel Hunter, daughter of 
Col. James Hunter, one of the interesting figures 
of Revolutionary times. He died in 1838, leaving 
a fine estate. 

The next generation is headed by Samuel Dal- 
ton, who was born May 14, 1794, and died June 
16. 1874. At one time he was engaged in mer- 
chandising at Germantown and later in Madison, 
North Carolina, and finally set up a tobacco fac- 
tory about three or four miles above the present 
site of Leakesville, North Carolina. He continued 
this business for a number of years. He became 
quite celebrated as a military man, and was elected 
bv the Legislature of North Carolina manager 
general of the Western Division of North Caro- 
lina. He married Mary Scales, a most charming 
and beautiful daughter of James Scales. She died 
in 1835, and for his second wife he married a 
Miss Clemens. The four children of his first wife 



were Mary, Lucy, Robert and James Samuel. By 
his second wife he had seven children, named 
Nicholas, Mattie, Rachel, Samuel, Henry, Sallie 
and Susan. He lived for a number of years on 
a farm in Pontotoc County, Mississippi, and after- 
wards moved to Aberdeen, Mississippi, where he 
resided until after the Civil war closed. 

The father of William Reid Dalton was James 
Samuel Dalton, who was born in Rockingham 
County August 1, 1835. As a boy he attended 
rural schools and also a school at Madison, and 
as soon as the North and South engaged in war 
he assisted in raising a company from Rocking- 
ham County for the Confederate army. It became 
Company G of the Forty-Fifth North Carolina 
Infantry, and he was commissioned its first lieu- 
tenant. His later services and splendid qualities 
as a soldier secured his promotion to the rank 
of captain. He was with the regiment until made 
a prisoner of war at the battle of the Wilderness 
and from that time until the close of hostilities 
was a captive at Fort Delaware. He returned 
home on parole and engaged in the manufacture 
of tobacco at Reidsville until his factory burned, 
after which he was a traveling salesman for a 
number of years. He died at Reidsville at the 
age of seventy-one years. He married Maggie 
Reid, who was born near Reidsville, North Caro- 
lina, a daughter of John Jackson Reid. She died 
on May 7, 1891. Their children were Maggie 
Reid, James, Jr., and William Reid. 

William Reid Dalton was born at Reidsville on 
July 20, 1884, attended the public schools there 
and also completed a course in the University of 
North Carolina. From college he took up active 
business as an insurance man, but finally in Janu- 
ary, 1909, returned to the university and studied 
law. On February 7, 1910, he was licensed to 
practice by the Supreme Court of the state and 
since that date has been achieving distinction 
as a member of the bar at Reidsville. Mr. Dalton 
is a trustee of the University of North Carolina, 
is a member of the Beta Theta Pi college fra- 
ternity, and he and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian Church, of which he is one of the 
deacons. On June 26, 1915, at Roanoke, Virginia, 
he married Emma Mebane Staples. She was born 
at Roanoke, a daughter of Abram P. and Sallie 
(Hunt) Staples. Mr. and Mrs. Dalton have one 
son, William Reid, Jr. 

Edgar Samuel Williamson Dameron, admitted 
to the bar ten years ago, has made himself a 
secure place in the profession and in the citizen- 
ship and varied interests of the community at 
Burlington, where he has been engaged in general 
practice. 

Mr. Dameron was born in Newtpn Grove, Samp- 
son County, North Carolina, July 27, 1878, son 
of L. L., a farmer, and Mary (Ward) Dameron. 
He was educated in the public schools, in Rayford 
Institute, and was a student of the Literary De- 
partment of the University of North Carolina 
from 1900 to 1904, graduating A. B. in the latter 
year. He continued his studies in the law de- 
partment of the State University, but in 1905 be- 
came a student secretary for the Y. M. C. A., and 
was employed in that work for about two years 
in Kentucky. He finished his course in the law 
department of the State University and was ad- 
mitted to the bar in February, 1907. Mr. Dam- 
eron made a brilliant record while at the State 
University. He was winner of the Wiley P. Man- 
gum medal, which is one of the prizes most eagerly 




2 u~l^ 



HISTORY OF NOETH CAROLINA 



115 



sought and contested for in the university by the 
literary students. In the spring of 1907, while 
in the law school, he was member of the success- 
ful debating team which won the intercollegiate 
debate with the University of Virginia. 

Since his admission to the bar Mr. Dameron has 
been located at Burlington. From 1910 to 1913 
he was attorney for the City of Burlington. He 
is a member of the board of stewards of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. June 10, 1914, Mr. 
Dameron married -Miss Lola J. Lasley, daughter 
of Dr. J. W. Lasley, of Burlington. 

H. E. Moskley. One of Kinston 's most sub- 
stantial and widely experienced business men is 
H. E. Moseley, whose interests have successfully 
been engaged in various lines, and he is now 
proprietor of a large hardware store in that city. 

Mr. Moseley was born in Lenois County, North 
Carolina, in 1861, was educated in public schools 
and had business training in the Eastman Busi- 
ness College at Poughkeepsie, New York. After 
an experience as a school teacher for one year 
he entered the dry goods house of S. H. Loftin 
and was continuously a factor in that firm 's suc- 
cess from 1882 to 1898. On leaving the Loftin 
establishment he engaged in the leaf tobacco trade 
until 1900, and then bought a half interest in 
the B. W. Canady & Company, hardware. He 
sold this, and in July, 1902, bought the hardware 
business of J. W. Collins, which he has since 
extended and developed by the liberal applica- 
tion of his sound wisdom and enterprise. 

During his long career in Kinston Mr. Moseley 
has served as an alderman and as city treasurer, 
and is a trustee of the North Carolina Christian 
Mission Convention Board. He is active in the 
affairs of the Christian Church. In July, 1898, 
he married Miss Jessie Harper of Kinston. 
Mrs. Moseley is now deceased and is survived by 
one daughter, Hortense. In August, 1909, Mr. 
Moseley was married to Miss Carrie J. Wooten, 
and there are three children by this marriage, 
Herbert E., Jr., Preston "Wooten and Mary Etta. 

'James Arthur Best began his career as an 
educator, was actively connected with school work 
for several years, but finally turned to merchan- 
dising and is a member of the leading general 
merchandise house of Fremont. 

He was born at Fremont, North Carolina, Janu- 
ary 26, 1878, a son of George Dallas and Flora 
(Crews) Best. His father has been a merchant 
at Fremont for a great many years. James A. 
Best attended the Fremont Academy and then en- 
tered Trinity University at Durham, where he 
took his bachelor's degree in 1900 and in 1902 the 
degree Master of Arts was conferred upon him. 
During 1900-01 Mr. Best taught school in Nash 
County, North Carolina, and for one year was an 
assistant instructor of history in Trinity College. 
He also taught in the Durham High School one 
year. 

After this varied experience he entered the gen- 
eral merchandise house of his father at Fremont, 
and since 1914 has been a member of the firm of 
George D. Best & Son. 

He is also treasurer of the board of trustees 
of the Fremont graded schools, and for the past 
twelve years has been superintendent of the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church, South, Sunday School. 

He was married in June, 1906, to Dora Dees, 
of Wayne County, daughter of John T. and Delia 



(Hooks) Dees. They have three children, Rudolph, 
Flora Crews and James Arthur, Jr. 

Sidney Reese Morrison is a Greensooro busi- 
ness man, but widely known all over this section 
of the state for his operations as a timber and 
lumber dealer. Mr. Morrison has had a wide and 
extensive experience in this business in all its 
phases. 

He comes of an old and prominent family of 
Iredell County and his own birth occurred on the 
old Morrison homestead in Bethany Township of 
that county. The history of the Morrisons in 
America goes back to the year 1730, when James 
Morrison of Fermanagh, Ireland, came and made 
settlement near Lancaster, Pennsylvania, where he 
spent the rest of his days. His four sons were 
named James, William, Andrew and Thomas. 

Of these, William, great-great-grandfather of 
the Greensboro business man, arrived in the wil- 
derness of North Carolina in the year 1750. His 
son, Andrew Morrison, next in line of the family, 
bought a tract of land from Earl Granville in 
what is now Bethany Township of Iredell County. 
This land comprised a grant from "His Most 
Excellent Majesty King George II." The deed 
conveying the land to Earl Granville was dated 
1761 and when Andrew Morrison bought the land 
the document was given to him and has been care- 
fully preserved through the successive generations 
and is now owned by Mr. Sidney R. Morrison of 
Greensboro. The part of the land which Andrew 
Morrison improved and where he lived and died 
has never passed out of the family possession and 
is now occupied by George Morrison, a brother of 
Sidney R. The first owner, Andrew Morrison, was 
succeeded in occupancy of the homestead by his 
son, Andrew, Jr., who spent his entire life there. 
Andrew, Jr., had three sons, named George Mil- 
ton, Rufus and William, but only George Milton 
grew to maturity. There were also four daughters, 
Mary, Bebecca, Sarah and Martha, but none of 
these ever married. 

George Milton Morrison was born on the old 
Iredell County homestead in 1813. He grew up 
in that environment and after succeeding to the 
ownership of the place engaged in general farm- 
ing. He was a man of prominence and influence 
in that locality and lived a very long and useful 
life. He died in 1899, at the age of eighty-six. 
The maiden name of his wife was Emeline Nichol- 
son, also a native of Iredell County. She died in 
1915, when past eighty years of age. Her six 
children were: Laura, who died at the age of 
twenty-two; Mattie, Florence, George, Sidney 
Reese and Effie. The parents were active members 
of the Bethany Presbyterian Church and for sev- 
eral years the father served on the official board. 

Sidney Beese Morrison had those advantages 
and opportunities during his youth which go with 
a family of old and substantial position. He at- 
tended school, assisted in the work of the farm 
and plantation, and at the age of twenty-one satis- 
fied his longing for adventure and new scenes by 
going southwest and spending three years as a 
cowboy and cattleman in Oklahoma and the Texas 
Panhandle. On returning to North Carolina he 
took charge of the old homestead farm, but four 
years later removed to Lenoir, where he was sales- 
man for the Wilson Lumber Company until 1910. 
In that year he engaged in the lumber business 
for himself at Hickory, and in 1914 moved his 
headquarters to Greensboro, from which point he 



116 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



conducts his business of buying standing timber 
and selling the finished product to furniture manu- 
facturers. Mr. Morrison is also vice president of 
the El Eeese So Cigar Company. 

He is well known in Masonry, most of his affilia- 
tions being at his former town of Hickory. He is 
a member of Hickory Lodge No. 343, Ancient 
Free and Accepted Masons, Hickory Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, Hickory Commandery No. 17, 
Knights Templar, and belongs to Oasis Temple of 
the Mystic Shrine at Charlotte. He is also a mem- 
ber of the Bethany Presbyterian Church back in 
his home county. 

Mr. Morrison has been twice married. His first 
wife was Octavia Waugh. She was born about two 
miles from Statesville, and died eleven months 
after their marriage. His second wife was Miss 
Blanche Smith, of Caldwell County, North Caro- 
lina. She died in 1906. 

Frank M. Weight, clerk of the Superior Court 
of Randolph County, is regarded as one of the 
most painstaking and careful public officials this 
county has ever had, and has proved himself 
capable in every relationship of life. For a num- 
ber of years Mr. Wright was a popular teacher 
in Randolph County but gave up that work to 
become superior court clerk. 

His birth occurred on a farm in Columbia Town- 
ship of Randolph County October 30, 1872, and his 
people have lived in this part of North Carolina 
for a century or more. His great-grandfather was 
Isaac Wright, also a native of Randolph County. 
His grandfather, Jacob Wright, was born in Co- 
lumbia Township and owned a plantation on Sandy 
Creek in Randolph County, which he operated 
with slave labor. Later he bought land in Colum- 
bia Township and there spent his last days. His 
wife was Annie Kivett, daughter of Jacob and 
Barbra (Cot toner) Kivett. The Kivetts were of 
Dutch ancestry. Grandmother Annie Wright de- 
serves a few words of special appreciation. Left 
a widow with five children to support, she did a 
noble part by them, superintended the farm, kept 
her family together until they were established in 
homes of their own and lived to be eighty years 
old. Her five sons were named George, Isaac, 
Jacob, Abram and John. 

John Wright, father of Frank M. Wright, was 
born in a log house in Columbia Township in 1851. 
He was a very small child when his father died. 
As soon as he was old enough he began helping 
his mother on the farm, and later as his brothers 
left home, two of them, Isaac and Abram, moving 
to Tennessee, he assumed all the responsibilities 
of the farm and also the care of his ageing mother. 
He had assisted in clearing some of the land and 
putting it into cultivation, and as his ways pros- 
pered he erected good buildings and lived there 
until his death in 1915. He first married Louise 
Burgess, who was born in Randolph County, daugh- 
ter of Franklin and Matilda (York) Burgess. Her 
maternal grandfather was Seymour York. Louise 
Wrip-ht died in 1881. leaving three children. Wes- 
ley M.. Frank M. and George P. John Wright 
married a second wife and by that union reared 
nine children. 

Frank M. Wright made the best of his oppor- 
tunities as a bov to acquire an education in the 
rural schools and also the high school at Ramseur. 
At the age of twenty-two he began teaching. The 
first term was taught at Hardin in Randolph 
County. After that he taught in other places, 



spending eight years as an instructor in Shiloh 
Academy. This position he resigned upon his elec- 
tion as clerk of the superior court in 1914. 

Mr. Wright is an affiliated member of the 
Masons, of the Odd Fellows and the Junior Order 
of United American Mechanics. He and his wife 
are members of the Christian Church. He mar- 
ried in 1900 Jane Webster, a native of Randolph 
County and daughter of Rev. J. A. and Martha 
( Foust) Webster. They have five children, Mable 
Clair, Thyra Lucile, Grace Marie, Bruce Webster 
and Marjorie Inez, all at home. 

William Franklin Evans, a prominent law- 
yer of Raleigh, but formerly of Greenville, was 
born in the latter city February 25. 1883, a son 
of W. F. Evans, Sr., and Annie M. (Sermons) 
Evans. 

Mr. Evans belongs to that class of men usually 
termed the "self made man.*' Eight years old 
when his father died, and the family being in 
very limited circumstances, the boy was sent 
to the Odd Fellows Orphan's Home at Goldsboro, 
North Carolina, to be reared and educated, and 
remained there until he was sixteen. At that 
age, equipped with a high school education, he 
set out to make a living for himself. Denied 
the opportunity of attending college, he became 
an inveterate student and by dint of hard study 
and the liberal use of midnight oil, obtained a 
fair substitute for a collegiate education. 

After working at different vocations, during 
which he taught school two years, he married 
Miss Eva Glenn Allen, daughter of a prominent 
planter of Pitt County. Engaging in the mer 
cantile business after marriage, Mr. Evans, not 
satisfied with his position in life, and working 
under the incentives of an early ambition, took 
up in spare time and during late evening hours 
the study of law and was admitted to the bar 
in 1908 at Greenville. Here he commenced the 
practice of his profession and met with signal 
success and early obtained a commanding posi- 
tion. In order to identify himself with the larger 
opportunities of the profession he moved in 
August, 1917, to Raleigh. 

Mr. Evans represented the Fifth Senatorial 
District in the General Assembly of 1913, and 
has for several vears been prominently identified 
with the Odd Fellows of the state. In 1914 he 
was elected to the office of grand master of the 
Grand Lodge — the highest honor which could 
be conferred upon him by the order in this state. 
He has served two years as grand representative 
to the Sovereign Grand Lodge, and is closely 
associated with every movement for the advance- 
ment and progress of Odd Fellowship in North 
Carolina. 

Hon. James Robert McLean. This is a name 
that adorned the annals of the North Carolina 
bar during the middle period of the last century 
and is associated not only with able performances 
as a lawyer, but leadership and ability in the 
public affairs of the state. 

A descendant of some of the substantial Scotch 
families of North Carolina, James Robert McLean 
was born at Enfield in Halifax Countv, September 
21, 1823, son of Levi H. and Rebecca Hilliard 
(Judge) McLean. His father was a well-known 
educator. He attended the Bingham School at 
Hillsboro. the Caldwell Institute at Greensboro, 
and studied law with Hon. John A. Gilmer, of 





^/z^. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



117 



Greensboro. He was licensed to practice in the 
county courts in 1844 and in the Superior Court 
in 1846. 

After a brief career in Guilford and adjoining 
counties, with home at Greensboro, Mr. McLean 
removed to Eockford, then the county seat of 
Surry County. He was elected to the Legislature 
to represent Surry County in 1850-51. Soon after- 
ward he returned to Greensboro and continued a 
highly successful practice there until the breaking 
out of the war. In the fall of 1861 he was elected 
to the Confederate Congress from the districts 
including Guilford, Davidson, Forsyth, Stokes, 
Eockingham, Caswell, Person and Alamance coun- 
ties. His service in the Confederate States Con- 
gress was from February 18, 1862, to February 
18, 1864. 

He was commissioned and served a short time 
as major in the Confederate army, being stationed 
at Wilmington and later in South Carolina. Prior 
to the war Major McLean had attained affluent 
circumstances, but on account of his heavy sacri- 
fices for the cause of the South and the loss of 
his slaves and other property he was so impover- 
ished that he had to begin practically anew when 
the war was over. He was still doing his best 
to stem the tide of adversity when death came 
upon him April 15, 1870. 

His place as a lawyer and man is well summed 
up in a tribute from a ' ' History of the Greensboro 
Bar" by Levi M. Scott: "Mr. McLean was a 
man of strong mind and brilliant intellect. He 
was fluent, ready and aggressive at the bar, and 
an able advocate. His was a legal mind and he 
naturally took to the law and chose it for his life 
work. He seemed always prepared and ready 
for the trial of his cases when they were called 
and soon understood the grounds of defense on 
which his opponents relied. He was very suc- 
cessful in his practice of the law. He was very 
companionable and full of good humor, anecdotes 
and fun, and delighted his friends with much 
spicy and interesting conversation in his leisure 
intervals. ' ' 

He married Narcissus Jane Unthank, who sur- 
vived him about two years. They had seven chil- 
dren, William, Robert, Edward E., Thomas I., 
Eufus H., Cora, who married C. M. Van Story, 
and Charles E. 

Thomas L. McLean, a business man whose in- 
terests have been of increasing importance in 
marking definite progress and achievement at 
Greensboro during the last twenty years, is a son 
of Hon. James Eobert and Narcissus Jane (Un- 
thank) McLean, special reference to his father's 
career being made on other pages. 

Mr. McLean was educated in Guilford College 
and left school to begin an active career of use- 
fulness as clerk in a general store at Ashboro. 
From there he went to Siler City and continued 
clerking until 1898, when he returned to Greens- 
boro and entered the service of the Van Story 
Clothing Company. He soon acquired a financial 
interest in the business and for the past ten 
years has been its secretary and treasurer and has 
done much to promote the prosperity of this well- 
known Greensboro commercial house. 

In 1907 Mr. McLean married Ada M. Thomas, 
who was born in Guilford County, daughter of 
John and Fannie (Andrews) Thomas. Mr. and 
Mrs. McLean have five children : Fannie Narcissus, 
Thomas Irving, Ada Margaret, Eobert William 
and J. C. McLean. Mrs. McLean is a member of 



the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Frater- 
nally Mr. McLean is affiliated with Greensboro 
Lodge No. 602, Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks ; Buena Vista Lodge No. 21, Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and Greensboro Lodge No. 
80, Knights of Pythias. 

Williams Spicer, M. D. While for a number of 
years Doctor Spicer practiced in the general field 
of medicine in Wayne County, he has during the 
past four years devoted all his time and energy 
to surgery, a department in which his natural 
talents and experience give him a place of special 
rank among North Carolina surgeons. He not 
only enjoys a large private practice but has 
recently given to Goldsboro a hospital which the 
people of that community regard as one of their 
most valuable institutions. 

Doctor Spicer was born at Goldsboro, North 
Carolina, May 7, 1878, a son of Dr. John Daniels 
and Emma Fredora (Williams) Spicer. He took 
up the same profession that his father had digni- 
fied, and after his education in Davidson College 
became a student in the Bellevue Hospital Medical 
College of New York City. While there he served 
one year as house physician, and after returning to 
North Carolina gave his time for fifteen years to 
general practice and surgery. Even at the begin- 
ning his special skill in surgery was recognized and 
the growing demands made upon him as a surgeon 
work as a general practitioner. In January, 1914, 
Doctor Spicer built Spicer 's Sanitarium, a fine 
modern hospital, with twenty-five beds and a 
nurses ' training school, in which the class usually 
averages ten. 

Doctor Spicer was formerly city and county 
physician and a member of the county board of 
health, and has always maintained active rela- 
tions with the local, state and national medical 
societies, and also belongs to the Seaboard Associa- 
tion of Surgeons. 

Doctor Spicer is a member of the Algonquin 
Club and the Benevolent and Protective Order of 
Elks. He married Miss Euth Gold, of Wilson, 
North Carolina. 

Lynn Banks Williamson is efficiently carry- 
ing many ' responsibilities in connection with the 
great cotton mill industry in Alamance County, 
and most of his experiences and industrial con- 
nections have been with the Holt & Williamson 
mills in and around Graham. 

Mr. Williamson was born in Caswell County, 
North Carolina, July 23, 1872, son of John Wil- 
liams and Virginia Frances (Williamson) William- 
son. His father was in the tobacco business. The 
son had a public school education, as a boy worked 
in a tobacco factory, and at the age of sixteen 
went into the cotton mills as a clerk, afterwards 
turning to the practical side of that industry, and 
has a thorough knowledge of both the technical 
and business details. Mr. Williamson is secre- 
tary-treasurer and general manager of the E. M. 
Holt Plaid Mills, is secretary-treasurer and gen- 
eral manager of the L. Banks Holt Manufacturing 
Company, and is also connected with the cotton 
mills known as the Oneida, Carolina, Belmont and 
Alamance. He is a director in the Alamance Loan 
and Trust Company. 

Mr. Williamson also takes a prominent and 
public s]iirited part in local and state affairs and 
is enrolled for war service as chairman of the 
county board of defense and food administration. 
He is also former alderman of Burlington. Mr. 



118 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Williamson and family reside at Graham, and he 
is deacon of the Presbyterian Church of that city. 
November 21, 1907, he married Eleanor Virginia 
Farish, of Caswell County. They have one child, 
Eleanor Virginia. 

Clarence Oettinger. Though only forty years 
from his birth, Clarence Oettinger has already 
accomplished those things which ambitious m.n 
strive to emulate. He is one of Lenoir County's 
most substantial and successful men. 

Mr. Oettinger was born at Kinston December 
14, 1876, a son of Abe and Bertha (Rosenthal; 
Oettinger. His father was a Kinston merchant. 
Clarence Oettinger attended a private school con- 
ducted by Morson & Denson at Raleigh and also 
had a business college course at Baltimore, Mary- 
land. Almost his first practical business experi- 
ence was as a telegraph operator, but he soon 
joined his father in the general merchandise busi- 
ness. Since 1907 he has been an active factor in 
the real estate and insurance field at Kinstou. 
Mr. Oettinger is secretary and treasurer of the 
Kinston Insurance & Realty Company; is secre- 
tary and treasurer of the Carolina Land and De- 
velopment Company; secretary and treasurer of 
the Mutual Building and Loan Association; sec- 
retary and treasurer of the Southern Drainage 
and Construction Company and a director of the 
Farmers and Merchants Bank at Kinston. With 
all these duties he still finds time to serve as 
auditor of Lenoir County and is a director of 
the Chamber of Commerce and the Kinston Fair 
Association. His only fraternal connection is 
with the Woodmen of the World. 

Mr. Oettinger was married August 10, 1904, 
to Miss Mamie Dawson, of Kinston, daughter of 
John H. Dawson. They have one child, Marion. 

Thomas Gardner Hyman. The city of New- 
bern has a group of as live, enterprising and 
successful business men as any community of its 
size in the State of North Carolina. One of these, 
and one of the controllers of the destiny of a 
number of business concerns, is Thomas Gardner 
Hyman, who has been identified with it for the 
greater part of his career. 

Mr. Hyman was born in New York City April 8, 
1870, a son of Theodore Ballard and Anna Capers 
(Gardner) Hyman, both North Carolinians. His 
father was an industrial executive, and for many 
years was identified with rice milling and the 
lumber industry. 

Thomas G. Hyman spent his early youth at 
Goldsboro, North Carolina, where he attended the 
high school. Later he was a student in Davidson 
College, and also had a business course at Bryant 
& Stratton Business College, Baltimore. 

For three years he was associated with his father 
in the lumber business; but in 1894 he moved to 
Newbern, buying- an interest in J. J. Disosway & 
Company 's machinery and mill supply business. 
In a few years he personally bought out this com- 
pany, and in 1897 he organized the Hyman Sup- 
ply Company of Newbern, of which he is presi- 
dent. This business grew rapidly under his man- 
agement, and soon he saw the necessity for larger 
fields, so he organized the Hyman Supply Com- 
pany of Wilmington, North Carolina, and this 
comnany, too, is making marked success under his 
guidance. 

Mr. Hyman also organized the Craven Foundry 
and Machine Company, of which he is secretary 
and treasurer. He is vice president of the Caro- 



lina Brick Company at Kinston, and president and 
organizer of the Newbern Ford Company. He also 
organized the Newbern Cotton Oil and Fertilizer 
Mills and remained with the institution for three 
years as secretary and treasurer. 

He was the first secretary of the Newbern 
Chamber of Commerce, and has filled the office of 
president and vice president of this organization. 
He has also been a member of the city council and 
is a director of the Atlantic and North Carolina 
Railroad. He belongs to the Sons of Confederate 
Veterans, is a trustee of the First Presbyterian 
Church, is a Knight Templar Mason and Shriner, 
and also belongs to the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fra- 
ternity and the Benevolent and Protective Order 
of Elks. He has been chairman of the Craven 
County exemption board since its organization. 

Mr. Hyman 's life has been a busy one, with his 
many business interests to demand his attention, 
but he has always found time to take active part 
in every undertaking for the good of his city, 
state or nation. 

To the charitable organizations of Newbern he is 
of inestimable value, being at all times ready to 
aid them financially or to give them wise counsel 
in the conduct of their affairs. 

His many acts of kindness are never known to 
the outside world, but one who knows him well 
has aptly said of him : ' ' The predominating char- 
acteristic of Thomas Gardner Hyman is his inces- 
sant desire to help those less fortunate than 
himself. ' ' 

Mr. Hyman was married May 1, 1892, to Miss 
Elizabeth Sloan of Greensboro, who died in Janu- 
ary, 1894, leaving one child, Elizabeth Sloan. On 
December 6, 1897, he married Harriett Bryan 
Lane, of Newbern. There is also one child of this 
union, Laura Bryan. 

Murdo Eugene Street, M. D. A physician, 
surgeon, planter and prominent resident of Moore 
County, the work of Doctor Street which is of 
most public interest was his connection and in- 
fluence in the founding and development of the 
State Sanatorium for Tuberculosis in Hoke County. 
It was the loss of a beloved brother that turned 
Doctor Street's energies and studies to methods 
for combating the white plague. His brother 
Dr. Charles Street, was graduated in medicine in 
1896 from the University College of Medicine at 
Richmond and died the same year he was grad- 
uated. This untimely death from tuberculosis led 
his brother to make a very thorough and exhaus- 
tive study and investigation of that disease. He 
read everything that was published on the sub- 
ject and is today' accounted one of the leading 
authorities on tuberculosis in the state. From 
grief over his personal loss he came to a broad 
realization of the fact that a tremendous waste 
of human life was going on which in many cases 
could be prevented by a sufficiently early diag- 
nosis and treatment, and he read numerous papers 
before the State Medical Society and different 
associations on this subject. 

A classmate in medical college of Dr. Charles 
Street was Dr. J. E. Brooks of Greensboro. They 
were furthermore attached by intimate ties of 
friendship, and the death was a deep personal 
sorrow also to Doctor Brooks. Thus Doctor 
Brooks and Doctor Street acquired a mutual sym- 
pathy and interest on the subject of tuberculosis, 
and they frequently discussed projects and plans 
for a state institution for tubercular patients. 
The result was that under Doctor Brooks' active 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



119 



leadership and Doctor Street's co-operation the 
present state sanatorium was established in Hoke 
County. 

At a critical period in its early history, when 
it was in danger of being neglected and possibly 
abandoned because of the vagaries of state politics, 
Doctor Street at a great sacrifice of his own prac- 
tice and his business interests at home went to the 
sanatorium and remained there more than a year 
in charge of its affairs. He managed it so effi- 
ciently, and at the same time exercised such in- 
fluence on educating the general public to a knowl- 
edge of the value of the sanatorium that he was 
enabled to secure a greatly increased appropria- 
tion from the State Legislature, and thencefor- 
ward it was on a basis of permanency as a state 
institution and has from time to time been af- 
forded larger facilities and means with which to 
uphold its high standard of usefulness. It is now 
recognized as one of the best institutions of its 
kind in the South and is the pride of all North 
Carolinians. 

Murdo Eugene Street, was born on the planta- 
tion where he now lives in 1866, son of Richard and 
Candace (Phillips) Street, both now deceased. 
His father was also born on the old Street planta- 
tion, which has been the home of this branch 
of the family since the latter part of the eigh- 
teenth century. The Street family is of English 
origin. Doctor Street's ancestors first settled in 
New Haven, Connecticut, in 1630. A later branch 
of the family moved to Virginia, where Doctor 
Street's grandfather, Richard Street, was born. 
Richard Street came to North Carolina between 
1790 and 1800. He married Ann McQueen, daugh- 
ter of Murdoch McQueen, a Scotch laird of great 
possessions who came to America in his own ship 
and established a colony of Scotch in North Car- 
olina. Ann McQueen was born in Scotland and 
was twelve years old when brought to America. 
Her brother, Hugh McQueen, whose name appears 
in the records of North Carolina as one of its 
early attorney-generals, left his profession in this 
state and went to Texas in 1835, joining the 
Americans in their war for independence. He 
served under Gen. Sam Houston and was killed 
in one of the battles of that struggle. 

Doctor Street 's mother was the daughter of 
Rev. Louis Phillips, a local Methodist minister. 
She was the niece of Rev. Charles H. Phillips, a 
regular minister of the North Carolina Conference. 
Her brother, the late Rev. B. C. Phillips, was also 
prominent in the Methodist Church and at the 
time of his death was pastor of the Trinity Metho- 
dist Church at Durham. 

During the war between the states Richard 
Street, father of Doctor Street, went out with the 
first company of volunteers from Moore County, 
under the command of Captain Martin. This com- 
pany became part of Vance 's famous regiment, 
the Twenty-sixth North Carolina. He served in 
the army with a creditable record throughout the 
war, beginning as first sergeant, and was soon 
made quartermaster of the regiment. 

The Street plantation where Doctor Street was 
born and where he now lives is on the Deep River 
in Deep River Township in the extreme north- 
eastern part of Moore County, a mile east of the 
present Village of Glendon on the Norfolk & 
Southern Railway. For years it has been one of 
the larsre centers of production of agricultural 
commodities in that section of the state and com- 
prises a landed area of about 1,500 acres. 

Doctor Street received his early education in 



the local schools and took his medical work in the 
Medical College of Virginia and the College of 
Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore. He was 
graduated from the latter institution in 1893 and 
has since been engaged in general practice in his 
home community at Glendon. He has taken 
numerous post-graduate courses in New York, 
Boston and Philadelphia, and his work in the gen- 
eral branches of the profession apart frum the 
service he rendered the Tuberculosis Sanatorium 
entitles him to high rank in the North Carolina 
medical fraternity. He is a member of the Moore 
County Medical Society, North Carolina Medical 
Society, Tri-State Medical Society, American Medi- 
cal Association and the National Association lor 
the Study and Prevention of Tuberculosis. In 
politics he is a democrat. Doctor Street married 
Miss Ollie Brewer of Chatham County. They are 
the parents of eight children. Helen, Lillian, Ida, 
Ruth, Flora, Murdo Eugene, Jr., Candace and 
Elizabeth. 

Doctor Street's latest idea is to free the chil- 
dren, both white and colored, of the South from 
the slavery of cotton production below legitimate 
cost. Various laws have freed them from the 
slavery of cotton manufacture, but the most cry- 
ing need is to free the children from producing 
cheap cotton. As an economic factor the very 
greatest drawback to the South today is working 
the women and children in cotton production. 
This inevitably keeps the wage scale so low that 
legitimate labor prices cannot be paid for cotton 
production, is the claim of Doctor Street. 

George F. Newman is one of the successful 
business men of Greensboro, and has lifted him- 
self through his own energies and talents to a 
successful position, though he began as a green 
country boy at wages that would hardly pay his 
board. 

Mr. Newman was born on a farm in Sumner 
Township of Guilford County, and is a great- 
grandson of Joseph Newman, a grandson of 
Hampton Newman, who was born in the same 
township, and a son of Junius H. Newman, who 
was born at the same locality in Guilford County 
in 1850. The grandfather bought a farm in Sum- 
ner Township and was a general farmer there until 
his death about 1853. He married Diana Hod- 
gin, also a native of Sumner Township. At the 
death of her husband she was left a widow with 
four small children, and she played a noble part 
in keeping them together, in superintending the 
activities of the farm and seeing that her children 
were educated and situated in good homes of their 
own. 

Junius H. Newman grew up on the home farm 
and finally succeeded to ownership of part of the 
estate. He still lives there, is in comfortable cir- 
cumstances, and has always made his lot that of 
an agriculturist. He married Anna Cordelia Swig- 
gett. She was born in Sumner Township, daugh- 
ter of George Washington and Martitia (Safright) 
Swiggett. They reared four children, three of 
whom are still living, George F., Henry L. and 
William O. 

Georsre F. Newman spent his early life on the 
farm, had a country school education, and was 
not yet nineteen years old when he left the country 
to become clerk in a grocery store at Greensboro. 
His employers valued his services at the beginning 
at $3.25 per we A k. He remained with them, srettmg 
experience, for a year and a half, and then took 
a more responsible position with the Southern Rail- 



120 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



road Company and was in the railroad service for 
seven years. During the latter part of that time 
he was cashier, in 19Uo he was elected secretary 
of the Greensboro Chamber of Commerce, but after 
two years resigned to organize tne .Newman Ma- 
chine Company, a local industry whicn he has 
brought to a high degree of success and has made 
one of tne important concerns of the city. He 
has always been active head and president of the 
company. 

In 1901 Mr. Newman married Nellie Pearl 
Smith, who was born in Guilford County, daugh- 
ter oi Sidney N. and Ellen Smith. Mr. and Mrs. 
Newman have a son, George F., Jr. The family 
are members of St. Andrews Episcopal Ciiurch at 
(ireensboro, in wnich Mr. Newman is a vestryman. 

William Bkice Stuart. Too often a man's 
uselulness and opportunity for service in the 
world are limited to his special vocation and 
business. Some few men break through the re- 
strictions that tie them to their daily tasks and 
express their talents and the results of their 
experience to the lasting good and benefit of their 
fellow men. 

A case in point is William Brice Stuart, man- 
ager of the Postal Telegraph Company at Char- 
lotte. Mr. Stuart is an old time as well as a 
modern telegrapher, and has been identified with 
the commercial phases of that business for many 
years. The scientific knowledge gained by many 
years of experience he has utilized in connection 
with his deep and sincere interest in his fellow 
man, by going on to the lecture platform, and 
has been heard as an entertainer and instructor 
in a large number of churches, Young Men 's Chris- 
tian Associations and schools throughout the state. 

Mr. Stuart was born at Winnsboro, Fairfield 
County, South Carolina, in 1869, son of James H. 
and Sarah (McAllester) Stuart, both now de- 
ceased. His father, a native of Scotland, was 
a graduate of several universities and became 
prominent as an educator and linguist. He taught 
in Glasgow, Liverpool, London and other British 
cities, and on coming to America located at 
Winnsboro, Fairfield County, South Carolina, 
where he continued teaching several years. Many 
people of middle age in that county went to 
school to him and have a grateful memory of 
this educator and scholar and express the highest 
appreciation of his talents and ability as well 
as his sterling and lofty character. 

William Brice Stuart grew up and received his 
education in Winnsboro. Like many uoys he 
had an early inclination for telegraphy, and with 
him it became the means of a permanent voca- 
tion. He learned the art in a local railroad 
office, and for several years was a telegrapher 
with railroad companies. He then went into the 
commercial telegraphy field and for over thirty 
years has been active in that line as operator, 
office manager and district manager. For twenty- 
three years he was with the Western Union Com- 
pany. His last position with that company was 
as manager of the office at Savannah, Georgia. 
He was also manager of the Athens, Macon and 
Atlanta offices of the Western Union in Georgia. 
Since transferring his services to the Postal Tele- 
graph and Cable Company he has been manager 
at Ashville and Raleigh, North Carolina, Colum- 
bia, South Carolina, and in 1916 came to Char- 
lotte, where he is manager of the Charlotte office 
and a large district embraced in the Charlotte 
territory. 



Mr. Stuart i-s a thoroughly practical and thor- 
oughly trained telegraph man. He learned the 
business years ago when the art was almost in 
its infancy, and has carried his knowledge up 
to the highest point of latest development in 
that field. He is also an expert in the highly 
specialized technique of wireless telegraphy. The 
romance and fascination of electricity have al- 
ways made a strong appeal to him and many 
years ago he was impressed by the religious 
phase of the art, or rather the usefulness of the 
electrical science as a means to illustrate relig- 
ious ideals and reality and demonstrableness of 
God. It was through this that he was brought 
into the lecture field, and under the auspices of 
the Young Men 's Christian Association and in 
conjunction with Mr. C. A. Brooks, a baritone 
singer, has delivered his lectures before Young 
Men 's Christian Associations in several of the 
South 's leading cities. His two chief lectures are 
' ' The Two Greatest Invisible Forces of God, Elec- 
trical and Spiritual Power, ' ' and ' ' Wire and Wire- 
less Messages by a Wireless Operator. ' ' Both lec- 
tures are illustrated by steroptican views rud a 
full equipment of telegraph instruments and de- 
vices, including telegraph, telephone, cable, wire- 
less, fire alarm, police and burglar alarm, signal 
service, messenger calls, and all purposes for 
which the telegraph is used. Merely as a little 
private philanthropy, Mr. Stuart has also lectured 
in all the schools of Charlotte, his chief subject in 
schools being ' ' The Uses and Abuses of Elec- 
tricity. ' ' 

Wherever these lectures have been delivered the 
comments of the press and the individual audi- 
tors have been exceedingly commendatory. It is 
permitted here to make just one extract from 
the Charlotte News, as follows: 

' ' During the past two weeks the school chil- 
dren of the city of Charlotte have been treated 
to an address on the uses and abuses of electric 
energy by W. B. Stuart of this city, in which 
many interesting and heretofore unknown facts 
about this unseen agency are being made known 
to the children. Mr. Stuart is a speaker of rare 
ability and his talk before the schools are edu- 



cational to a high degree. ' ' 



Another active interest of this very busy man 
who seems to exemplify the dynamic spirit of 
his special profession is as general chairman of 
the efficiency committee of the Trinity Methodist 
Church in Charlotte. It is largely through him 
that a committee has been vitalized and 
made an instrument of incalculable good to the 
church and the community. The chief purpose of 
the committee is to meet and welcome all visitors, 
newcomers or strangers in the city, invite them 
to the church, direct them to other churches if 
they so desire, give information and advice in re-, 
gard to getting located in homes, and, in brief, 
to be of genuine benefit to all people coming to 
the city whether as transients or home makers. 
Mr. Stuart possesses the kindly genial manner 
and other personal gifts which make him rarely 
fitted for this line of work. People always feel 
at home in his presence. To the work of the 
committee he gives his personal attention and does 
not allow it to be delegated to younger or less 
experienced men. 

Mr. Stuart also takes much interest in fra- 
ternal affairs. He is affiliated with Phalanx Lodge 
of Master Masons, Charlotte Chapter, Royal Arch 
Masons, with Mecklenburg Lodge Knights of 
Pythias, Fulton Lodge of the Independent Order 




W^. IqcxxJU,. 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



121 



of Odd Fellows, Hornet's Nest Camp of Wood- 
men of the World and Dilworth Council, Junior 
Order United American Mechanics. He is editor 
of the fraternal page of the Charlotte Observer, 
appearing in that paper each Sunday and one 
of its leading features. 

At Winnsboro, his native town, Mr. Stuart mar- 
ried Miss Mamie Ruff. Her father was Sheriff 
Ruff, of Fairfield County, a well-known citizen of 
that section. 

R. Hope Brison, though still in his thirties, has 
achieved a remarkable business success and his 
name stands significant of practical accomplish- 
ment in the city of Gastonia. Mr. Brison has built 
up a large and successful grocery house, and more 
recently has established a splendid artificial ice 
plant to the resources of the city. 

He was born at Clover in York County, South 
Carolina, in 1883, a son of William I, and Mollie 
(Jackson) Brison. They were natives of the same 
county. R. Hope Brison grew up and received his 
education at Clover. As a young boy he mastered 
the art of telegraphy, and his first practical em- 
ployment was as a railway operator. He was 
engaged in that service, stationed at various points 
along the Southern Railway, until 1902. In that 
year he located permanently at Gastonia. 

When Mr. Brison came to Gastonia he was still 
under age, but his spirit of enthusiasm and ear- 
nestness made up for the lack of maturity and 
experience. His first connection was with the firm 
of J. Flem Johnson & Company, wholesale grocers. 
The business appealed to him and drew out all his 
ambition and vigor and in a few years he had 
made himself a partner in the firm. Then in 1912 
he succeeded the J. Flem Johnson & Company and 
has since been in business for himself. The firm 
title is R. Hope Brison & Company, and that same 
firm name is associated with several lines of busi- 
ness conducted by him. The wholesale grocery 
house has been built up and now commands a trade 
over a large section of North Carolina. Under the 
same firm name is conducted a large coal yard on 
East Long Avenue in Gastonia. 

His largest and his newest interest is the ice 
plant, which was completed in May, 1917. The 
title of this business is also R. Hope Brison & 
Company. The plant is on East Franklin Street 
and is one of the most modern ice plants in the 
South. Mr. Brison constructed it at a coat, in- 
cluding building and equipment, of $30,000. The 
plant is housed in a substantial brick structure, 
with concrete floors and foundations, and the most 
improved ice manufacturing machinery secured 
from York, Pennsylvania, has been installed. En- 
gineers of thorough competence directed every 
phase of the installation. The ice is made from 
water taken from the city mains, filtered, boiled, 
reboiled, then distilled. Thus the product is of 
absolute purity, without taste or odor, and in ap- 
pearance as clear and smooth as the proverbial 
crystal. Unlike natural ice, the artificial product 
has a solidify of texture uniform throughout a 
block, and is therefore more lasting than natural 
ice. The plant has a thirty-ton daily capacity. 
The completion and successful inauguration of 
the plant is a fine tribute to the ability and pro- 
gressive spirit of Mr. Brison. 

The same spirit has been manifested by him 
in his relation to all other business and commu- 
nity affairs. He is a member of the Chamber of 
Commerce and Commercial Club, belongs to the 
Mystic Shrine and worships in the Presbyterian 
Church. He married Miss Delia Johnson, of Gas- 



tonia. Their three children are: Marion, Lillian 
and R. Hope, Jr. 

William Graham Carter is proprietor of Car- 
ter 's Mills, one of the most interesting and one of 
the most significant rural communities in North 
Carolina today. Mr. Carter, though he has spent 
practically all his life in this rather isolated com- 
munity, is truly a man of affairs, as much so as 
the big business men of Raleigh or Wilmington. 
He is planter, merchant, miller, a former county 
officer and a live and effective influence every 
day in the year for good schools, good roads, good 
churches and all other things that help realize the 
ideals of rural advancement. 

His birthplace is an interesting community of 
Randolph County long known as Moffett 's Mills, 
but even earlier as Carter's Mills. He was born 
there in 1862, while the war was raging between 
the North and the South. His parents were 
Stephen M. and Mary M. (Caviness) Carter. His 
mother was of the well known family of that 
name in the state, which has produced some prom- 
inent characters, particularly in the medical pro- 
fession. Stephen Carter was born and reared in 
Randolph County, a son of James Carter. The 
Carters are Scotch-Irish. Stephen Carter was a 
merchant and tanner, owning the Moffett 's Mills. 

The origin of the present locality known as 
Carter's Mills came about in 1856 when Alfred 
Brovver built a grist mill on Bear Creek in Moore 
County. In 1862 Stephen Carter traded his prop- 
erty in Randolph County for the mills in Moore 
County, and since that transaction the institution 
and the community has been known as Carter 's 
Mills. In the same year he brought his family 
here and the mill site and the land have since 
been in the Carter name. Stephen Carter died in 
1884. 

Thus William Graham Carter became a fixture 
at Carter's Mills the same year he was born. He 
grew up to a full appreciation of the romantic 
charm and beauty of this historic spot in Moore 
County, was well trained and educated at home, 
and at the age of twenty-two, on his father 's 
death, he became the responsible head of the fam- 
ily estate. For over thirty years he has consti- 
tuted much of the energy which has radiated into 
the enterprise of this locality. His public spirit 
is well indicated in the pride he takes in his con- 
nection with building up the school system of 
Sheffield Township. This township has more school 
children and more school houses than any other 
township in Moore County. It was Mr. Carter 
who led the movement and contributed most of 
the money for building the high school at Elise, 
now known as Hemp. This town is on the Nor- 
folk Southern Railroad, south of Carter's Mills. 
Mr. Carter has taken a similar part in establishing 
all the other schools in the township. Both as a 
school trustee and as a private citizen he lias 
given generously of his time, influence and money 
in building up the local educational system. For 
four years ending in 1917 he was county commis- 
sioner, and served the county most faithfully in 
that capacity. He has been postmaster at Car- 
ter 's Mills for over thirty years, and besides op- 
erating the mill conducts a mercantile business 
which is one of the important services of the 
community. 

For all his many varied interests doubtless his 
chief enthusiasm is farm development. He owns 
one of the very fine farms of this part of the 
state, comprising 300 acres. He is a farmer of the 



122 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



first rank and has brought his land to a high 
state of productivity through energetic manage- 
ment and modern and progressive methods. It 
is a source of great deal of satisfaction to him 
that he kept this farm during the poor years of 
agriculture and has lived to see the profession of 
farming exalted over everything else. 

Eecently a newspaper correspondent with more 
than ordinary insight and social vision wrote the 
story of Carter's Mills and some of the things 
he said are not only interesting but are historically 
significant and deserve repetition. The important 
features of that story are quoted as follows: 

Before the railroads came many prominent 
men foregathered under the big oak trees above 
the mill, including Governor Zeb Vance, and many 
other notables down to Governor Aycock. This 
was the focus of a big country for two or three 
generations. The Salem Eoad passed the mill, 
crossing the fort below the dam and climbing the 
high hills beyond. What a procession has fol- 
lowed that old Salem Eoad. Stage coach and mail, 
wagon train with goods from Fayetteville for the 
mountains, or wagon train with goods going down. 
Men afoot, men horseback, men in vehicles of all 
descriptions. Wagons coming to mill, the miller 
goinn- out with flour for the markets of the lower 
counties. 

The old order has changed. The railroad came 
and a town was begun at Elise. J. B. Lennig 
gave ground for a school and the Carters backed 
the proposition with money and work and 
Elise thrived on the reputation of the school, and 
the prospective railroad shops that were to be 
built and the mill and the turpentime stills. Then 
John B. Lennig sold his railroad and died, and 
the shops were abandoned by the new owners of 
the road, and Elise was made a postoffice, but 
its name was changed to Hemp. So Hemp is the 
railroad point and at Hemp is the Elise High 
School, still famous under the management of the 
Fayetteville Presbytery. The township has re- 
built all its primitive schoolhouses until it now 
has a dozen or so of the most modern rural school- 
houses in the state. Carter 's Mills is still the old 
flour mill on Bear Creek, with the miller listen- 
ing to the whir of the mill wheel as it grinds its 
grist, and the road crosses a modern bridge now 
instead of passing through the Ford. 

The story of Carter's Mills is instructive. It 
tells of a rural community until in the last few 
years isolated from markets, living in unpreten- 
tious existence in modest manner. With the 
changes and conditions comes a market easily 
reached, a market that takes for cash the various 
little and big things the community makes, and 
takes those products throughout the year. So 
there begins the interest in schools and roads 
and clothes and painted houses and well-bred live- 
stock, and better home equipment and books and 
papers. If you want to know what your state is 
doing, no matter what state it is, the place to 
look is not in Ealeigh or Charlotte or Peters- 
burg or Pittsburgh or Atlanta, but in Carter 's 
Mills or Hoorer 's Cross Eoads or Grape Vine 
Eidp-e. If the rural community is coming and 
prospering and building school houses and roads 
and buying books you know your state is coming. 
Carter's MiMs in the older day was a rather 
conservative neighborhood, on the old Salem Eoad 
tn he sure yet so far from the act : vities of hus- 
tling life that it seemed a slow community. The 
old or^er has chanered and without realizing it 
the neighborhood has stepped forward to a new 



plane. The future looks right promising for 
three or four reasons. To me the most important 
is that fact that here is a community of home 
owners. These people nearly all own the places 
they live on. The tenant is a rarity. That guar- 
antees a permanence and thoroughness of farm 
operation, and an adaptability of the farm to its 
opportunities. Then in addition to owning their 
farms these people enjoy the advantages of one 
of the best local markets in the whole United 
States, for Pinehurst and Southern Pines are 
willing to pay the price for the best that can be 
made. Carter's Mills possesses good soil, good 
climate, good market, a good way to get out on 
the motor trucks, developing schools, picturesque 
scenery, self sustaining farms with a steady prod- 
uct to sell steadily, a community of home owning 
farmers, crossing the line from the land of yester- 
day to the land of tomorrow. Here is a well 
grounded agriculture with all the conditions in 
its favor, including the power to grind its grain, 
and do the various other tasks for which power 
is essent'al in a rural community. 

Mr. Carter and family are all members of the 
Presbyterian Church. The Carter home now, as 
always, has been noted for its unstinted hospital- 
ity, and in many ways it is the social center of 
the neighborhood. Mr. and Mrs. Carter have 
reared an exceptionally fine family of chil- 
dren, all of whom have been given fine educations. 
Mr. Carter married Miss Maggie McLeod, who 
was born and reared near Carbonton on Deep 
Biver, and is a sister of Dr. G. McLeod of Car- 
thage. The children named in order of birth are 
Eoberta Lee, Walter S., Mamie Kate, Blanche, 
Pauline, Maggie, Grace, Virginia, William Graham, 
Jr., and Eobert Lee. The oldest, Eoberta Lee, is 
the wife of Eev. Grover C. Currie, of Walnut 
Bidge, Arkansas. Walter S. lives at Atkinson, 
North Carolina. Miss Mamie Kate is a talented 
teacher and Miss Blanche has charge of the can- 
ning demonstration and other conservation work 
in Pamlico County. Miss Pauline, now the wife of 
L. T. Edgerton, was a teacher in the Elise High 
School. 

Joseph D. Cox is secretary and treasurer of the 
J. Elwood Cox Manufacturing Company, one of the 
largest wood working establishments in North Car- 
olina, a business that has branch plants and offices 
in several other states. 

Mr. Cox is a native of High Point, where he was 
born in 1883, son of Joseph J. Cox, M. D., and 
grandson of Jonathan Eliott and Elizabeth (Hare) 
Cox. The lrstory of the earlier generations of the 
family is told on other pages of this publication. 
Joseph J. Cox was born in Perquimans County, 
North Carolina, in 1845. He acquired his lit- 
erary education in the New Garden Boarding 
School, attended medical lectures, and was event- 
ually graduated from Jefferson Medical CoPege 
at Philadelphia. He practiced at Guilford College 
until 1881, when he removed to High Point, and 
was a busy professional man of that city until 
1890. In the meantime he had become interested 
in the manufacture of furniture and on retiring 
from practice rave most of his time to his duties 
as secretary and treasurer of the Home Furniture 
Manufacturing Company, which later was merged 
with the Globe Manufacturing Company. He con- 
tinued as secretarv and treasurer of the latter cor- 
I ornt ; on until his death in 1903. Doctor Coz 
married Miry Dundas. who was born near Tnger- 
soll, Ontario, Canada, daughter of John and Sarah 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



123 



(Sackrider) Dundas. John Dundas was born in 
Ireland in 1811, son of John Dundas, Sr., who was 
of Scotch ancestry. The latter came to America, 
accompanied by his family, in 1822, and after a 
voyage on a sailing vessel lasting six weeks set- 
tled in Canada. Here John Dundas, Jr., grew to 
manhood, and then went into a comparatively un- 
settled district of Ontario, locating near Ingersoll 
in Middlesex County. He bought a tract of tim- 
bered land, hewed a farm out of the wilderness, 
and remained there a very successful farmer. He 
built a commodious brick house and other farm 
buildings, and was regarded as one of the most 
substantial citizens ot the locality. In 1874 he 
sold his property in Canada and came to North 
Carolina, buying a farm two miles from Guilford 
College. That was his home until his death in 
1892. John Dundas married Sarah Sackrider, who 
was born in Canada in 1818, daughter of Peter 
and Clara (Cornell) Sackrider, both natives of 
New York State. Peter Sackrider was of Dutch 
ancestry, and on taking his family to Canada set- 
tled at Norwich, where he spent the rest of his 
days. Mrs. Sarah Dundas died in 1902, the mother 
of ten children: Peter, Clara A., Mary, Phoebe 
Jane, Charles J., Edwin, Ellen, Marshall, Sarah 
Ann and Walter Scott. Of these, Phoebe, Charles 
and Edwin are now deceased. John Dundas and 
wife while living in Canada were Methodists, but 
after coming to North Carolina joined the Friends 
Church. 

Joseph D. Cox was reared and educated at High 
Point, attended Guilford College to complete his 
literary education, and on leaving school became 
associated with his uncle, J. Elwood Cox, and with 
increased years and experience has fitted into a 
place of responsibility as secretary and treasurer 
of the J. Elwood Cox Manufacturing Company, 
manufacturers of shuttle blocks, one of the largest 
firms of its kind in the United States. 

In 1906 Mr. Cox married Miss May Walton Bid- 
dick, who was born in Perquimans County, North 
Carolina, daughter of A. F. and Anna (Nicholson) 
Eiddick. The Eiddicks are of Virginia ancestry 
while the Nicholsons are pioneers of Perquimans 
County. The former were affiliated with the Meth- 
odist Church while the Nicholsons were Quakers. 
Mr. and Mrs. Cox have two sons, Joseph J. and 
J. Elwood. Mr. and Mrs. Cox are active members 
of the Friends Church at High Point and he is 
superintendent of the Sunday school. 

Thomas Vernon Moseley is a native of Le- 
noir County and since attaining manhood has 
found his years increasingly filled with absorb- 
ing and varied business interests. He is one of 
the first names to be mentioned in the group of 
progressive younger business men at Kinston. 

He was born in Lenoir County August 31, 1880, 
a son of Wylie Thomas and Martha Eleanor 
(Harder) Moseley. His father was a farmer, 
and the son grew up in the atmosphere of coun- 
try life. He was educated both in public and 
private schools and attended the business college 
at Columbus, Georgia. 

He utilized his business training by taking a 
posit ; on as stenographer with the Kinston Cot- 
ton Mills, and has been steadily identified with 
that corporation, beings now secretary and as- 
sistant general manager. 

Mr. Moselev is secretary and assistant general 
manager of the Chesterfield Manufacturing Com- 
pany of Peter u bur<T, Virginia; is acting 1 secretary 
and assistant general manager of the Orion Knit- 



ting Mills of Kinston and Beaufort, North Caro- 
lina, and is secretary of the Kinston Free Press 
Company. 

He has been exceedingly liberal of his time and 
means in the promotion of movements that have 
a broad and vital connection with the general 
welfare of his city. He was especially active in 
the Kinston Fair Association, was one of the 
promoters of the Caswell Training School, is sec- 
retary of the Christian Church Building Associa- 
tion, and is chief of the Kinston Fire Department. 
He is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias and 
is a trustee of the Christian Church. Politically 
Mr. Moseley is a democrat. 

Hon. George E. Hood. Interesting indeed are 
the stories which tell of advancement made by 
the overcoming of difficulties and the success that 
has rewarded earnest effort. The incidents may 
all interest, but it is admiration and pride that 
are aroused for the sterling qualities which have 
made these adventures true, for they insure future 
usefulness and promise further distinction. Sit- 
ting in the historic halls of the National Con- 
gress, equal to all and superior to many, is Hon. 
George E. Hood, one of Wayne County 's brilliant 
young statesmen who, in his forty years of life, 
has made more progress upward than nine-tenths 
of his fellow-men have encompassed throughout 
their entire lives. 

George E. Hood was born in Wayne County, 
North Carolina, January 25, 1875. His parents 
were Edward Bass and Edith (Bridgers) Hood, 
of Scotch and English ancestry. His boyhood 
was passed as an assistant on his father 's farm* 
in Wayne County during the summers and attend- 
ing the district school in the winter seasons, but 
when fifteen years old he accompanied his par- 
ents when they removed to Goldsboro. There, 
for a short time, he had educational advantages, 
but soon took up the work of a telegraph mes- 
senger boy and during the next two years learned 
to be an operator. That he had made an im- 
pression with the officials of the Western Union 
Company not only for efficiency but for relia- 
bility was proved by the company making him 
bookkeeper at Goldsboro. In 1893, when only 
eighteen years of age, he became assistant man- 
ager of the office at Goldsboro, and in 1894 he 
went with the Southern Railway Company as tele- 
graph operator and billing clerk. Thus far he 
had made his own way and had reached a posi- 
tion of responsibility, but his ambition was by 
no means satisfied. His work through the day 
was necessarily confining and had to be accurate. 
When release came in the evening, Mr. Hood did 
not allow himself to think of . recreation, even 
when his comrades urged his companionship. On 
the other hand, his lamp burned long into the 
night while he was poring over law books. The 
time came when he felt prepared to take his ex- 
aminations in the Supreme Court of North Caro- 
lina, and his admission to the bar followed on 
February 3, 1906. .His father, in the meanwhile, 
had been elected treasurer of Wayne County, but 
did not live to serve out his term, and when 
his death occurred iA 1898 his son, George E., 
was unanimously elected by the board of county 
commissioners to fill his place. 

This brought Mr. Hood prominently before the 
people and his administration of the office of 
treasurer confirmed the srood opinion already en- 
tertained and public, confidence was very definitely 
shown when in 1901 he was chosen to represent 



124 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Wayne County in the State Legislature. On his 
return from the first session at Raleigh he was 
elected mayor of Goldsboro, a signal honor en- 
tirely disproving the old saying that a prophet 
has no honor in his own country. Mr. Hood 
served as mayor of his city until 1907, and dur- 
ing this period Goldsboro made rapid progress. 
In the political councils of Wayne County he 
had become by this time a leading factor, and 
his democratic friends realized that the abilities 
of a self-reliant man, a student and scholar, 
one who had proved capable, wise and resourceful 
in every business or public position he had held, 
was of such value to party and country that 
further responsibilities might safely be placed 
upon him and additional honors be tendered him. 
In 1912 he was made presidential elector of the 
Third Congressional District, comprising the 
counties of Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Jones, Ons- 
low, Pamlico, Sampson and Wayne. In 1915 he 
was elected a member of the Sixty-fourth Na- 
tional Congress, receiving 8,620 votes, a majority 
of more than 2,000 votes over his opponent, Hon. 
B. H. Grumpier, who was a candidate on the re- 
publican-progressive ticket. Since taking his seat 
in the House of Representatives Mr. Hood has 
given a good account of himself as a member of 
house committees on census, immigration, nat- 
uralization and public buildings and grounds. 

Mr. Hood has been prominent in the North Caro- 
lina National Guard. From 1898 until 1905 he 
was captain of the Second Eegiment. On Novem- 
ber 23, 1905, he was promoted by Gen. R. B. 
Glenn to the rank of lieutenant-colonel, and was 
assistant general of ordinance. In 1909 he was 
retired with the rank of colonel. His long offi- 
cial connection with National Guard affairs has 
made him durnig the past year a valuable ad- 
visor in regard to military affairs. 

Mr. Hood was married September 23, 1903, to 
Miss Julia A. Flowers, and they have three chil- 
dren: Nannie Bridgers, George Ezekiel and 
Frances Elizabeth. With his family, Mr. 'Hood 
belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

In 1916 Mr. Hood was re-elected to Congress 
and as a member of that great body, confronted 
with many of the most serious public problems 
that have ever demanded wise deliberation, his 
hosts of friends in North Carolina believe he will 
distinguish himself still further and in achieving 
for himself will add luster to the Old North 
state and benefit the country at large. He has 
remembered his constituents in every way pos- 
sible for an honorable public man, and during 
his long absence in Washington has never per- 
mitted his interest in Goldsboro to lapse, her 
progress being just as dear to him as when he 
was one of the humble workers for his daily bread. 
He retains membership with the Wayne County 
Bar Association and the Goldsboro Chamber of 
Commerce. His fraternal connections are with 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Knights of Pythias, the Woodmen of the World 
and the Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics, of which last named* body he was state 
councillor in 1903-4, from 1905 being a member 
of the national supreme judiciary committee. 

Mr. Hood is a man of winning personality. 
Welcome is in his hearty hand clasp and spar- 
kling eye, and sincere are the words that come 
from his smiling mouth. Genial and friendly as 
he may be in social life and in affairs of legiti- 
mate business, his record shows that no coercion 
can ever make him countenance any measure that 



he does not believe to be right and honorable. 
The steadiness that marked him as a boy is still 
a characteristic. 

Lovit Hines. The manufacturing interests of 
the community lying adjacent to Kinston in Le- 
noir County have grown remarkably with the past 
several decades, and to successfully direct a profit- 
able business along any lme in the face of the 
keen present-day competition calls for abilities of 
more than an ordinary degree. 'One of the active 
men of business here at the present time, and who 
has successfully built up a large enterprise from 
small beginnings is Lovit Hines, secretary and 
treasurer of Hines Brothers Lumber Company, 
which is now one of the leading concerns of Kin- 
ston. 

Lovit Hines was born in Wayne County, North 
Carolina, January 23, 1852, a son of James Madi- 
son and Nancy (Thompson) Hines, native North 
Carolinians and well known planting people of 
Wayne County. Reared in a family where truth, 
integrity and industry were watchwords, Lovit 
Hines was educated in private schools, and when 
ready to enter upon his individual career was well 
prepared both in mind and body to fight his bat- 
tles with the world. The father moved to Lenoir 
County when the son was a year old, and his first 
ventures were of an agricultural character, and 
farming continued to be his occupation until the 
year 1884. At that time he began to turn his 
attention to the business in which he has since 
made such a decided success. As his initial enter- 
prise he rented a small sawmill, and his success 
in the operation of this diminutive plant en- 
couraged him to buy a small mill of his own. The 
business grew rapidly and in 1889 he took his 
brother, W. T. Hines, into partnership, this bemg 
the inception of the present firm. The brothers 
continued in business at Dover, North Carolina, 
until 1892, when Mr. Lovit Hines leased planing 
mills at Newbern. In the later part of that same 
year he formed a stock company with P. H. Pelli- 
tire and S. C. Hamilton, and purchased the plant 
of the old Greenville Land and Improvement Com- 
pany and incorporated the Greenville Lumber Com- 
pany, moving there in January, 1893. This plant 
was destroyed by fire in May, 1896. After the 
destruction by fire of the Greenville Lumber Com- 
pany 's plant in May, 1896, Mr. Hines was made 
receiver to settle the affairs of the old Greenville 
Lumber Company and that company was dissolved. 
He then came to Kinston and formed a new com- 
pany with his brother, W. T. Hines, and John T. 
and Henry C. Riley, of Philadelphia. The Rileys 
furnished the money to build the mill in Kinston 
and to buy a supply of standing timber. The busi- 
ness was incorporated under the firm name of 
Hines Brothers Lumber Company, with a capital 
of $12,000. As the business grew and the debt 
was paid off, it was found advisable to increase the 
capital, which was elevated to $20,000. Later this 
was made $50,000, still later $100,000, and finally 
at present, $200,000. The present officers of the 
concern are: H. C. Riley, president; W. T. Hines, 
vice president; and Lovit Hines, secretary and 
treasurer. This is now one of the large and suc- 
eessful mills of eastern North Carolina, having a 
capacity of 60,000 feet of lumber per day, and 
employing 300 men in mill and offices. This plant, 
which is modern in every particular, occupies four- 
teen acres of ground, and the company controls 
operations on 5,000 acres of property in fee simple, 
20,000 acres timber right. The greater part of 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



125 



Mr. Hines' attention is given to the management 
and operation of the mill, but he also has various 
other interests, and is a helpful factor in all 
movements that are making for the welfare of 
his community. 

Mr. Hines was married to Miss Mollie Jane 
Murphy, of Lenoir County, North Carolina, who 
died December 31, 1907, leaving seven children, as 
follows: Mary Pauline, who is the wife of Walter 
D. La Roque, postmaster of Kinston; Harvey Car- 
row, a wholesale merchant of Kinston; James M., 
who is a wholesale merchant of Greenville, North 
Carolina; Clara Louise, who is the wife of Oscar 
Green, of Kinston; Samuel Philip, who is a 
student of the Agricultural and Mechanical Col- 
lege, Raleigh, North Carolina; and Leah Ruth 
and Elizabeth, who are attending the graded school 
at Kinston. In September, 1908, Lovit Hines was 
married to Miss Polly Jones, of Kinston, and 
they have five children: William Grimsey, Willis, 
Robert Stancell, Lovit, Jr., and Charles Meadows. 

Arthur L. Ellison is a member of a family 
that for many years has been identified with the 
high class furniture manufacture at High Point. 
He was born in that towu, and his father, Julius 
F. Ellison, is one of the older residents of the 
community, having lived there since he was a 
boy and having witnessed its growth from a few 
hundred population to a city of upwards of 12,000 
and the' home of many of the most important 
industries of North Carolina. 

The family record goes back to the great-grand- 
father, Archibald Ellison, who spent all his life in 
the vicinity of Franklinville in Randolph County. 
He married Elizabeth Yerge, and they reared six 
children, named Joseph, Irwin, Eliza, Mary and 
Cynthia. Archibald Ellison was a very active 
Methodist and an exhorter of his church. 

Albert Ellison, who was born in Randolph 
County August 24, 1820, received a very good edu 
cation tor his day and all his life was a great 
reader and acquired an unusual range of informa- 
tion. As a youth he learned the trade of potter, 
and was making a good living for his family at 
that occupation when the war broke out. In 1862, 
when he was forty-two years of age, lie enlisted 
and went to the front with his regiment, and saw 
service in many hard fought campaigns. On April 
7, 1865, he was captured and was held as a prisoner 
of war at Point Lookout, Maryland, until the 13th 
of May following. He was then paroled and 
on returning home resumed work at his trade. He 
spent his last years at Greensboro. Albert Ellison 
married Mary Wilson, who was born in Chatham 
County, North Carolina, November 23, 1820. Her 
father, Micajah Wilson, was a shoemaker, and long 
before shoe making machinery was introduced made 
boots and shoes for a large trade. His father was 
a native of Prance and came to America in colonial 
times and was in the struggle for independence 
against Great Britain for seven years. Mrs. Mary 
(Wilson) Ellison died at Greensboro, November 5, 
1878. She was the mother of seven children, 
Charles Wesley, Julius F., Lycurgus L., Alphonso 
L., Roslyn, Louisa L. and Mary. 

Mr. Julius F. Ellison was born on a farm two 
miles east of Franklinville in Randolph County 
April 8, 1847. He is what might be called a 
natural mechanic. Apparently he needed no special 
training to enable him to handle tools accurately 
and skillfully. As a young man he learned the 
trade of wood turner, and was an expert in that 
line in both the manual processes and with ma- 
chinery. For over forty years he has worked as 



a carpenter, cabinet maker and wood turner, and 
in 1911 he formed a partnership with his son 
Arthur, giving High Point one of its local fac- 
tories for making high grade parlor furniture. 
Julius F. Ellison married October 12, 1869, Sarah 
Jane Charles, who was born in Guilford County 
January 2, 1840, daughter of Elijah and Kesiah 
(Raper) Charles, her grandfathers being John 
Charles and William Raper. Sarah Jane Ellison 
died leaving three children : Viola, Arthur and 
Mary. Viola married Berry R. Cross and had 
four children, named Esther, Valley, Livingston 
and Cevera. Mary died November 8, 1910. 

Arthur Ellison, who was reared and educated 
in High Point and for a number of years has been 
associated with his father in furniture manufac- 
ture, married Miss Bessie A. C. Whitesel. She 
was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, daugh- 
ter of Peter Asbury and Martha Alice (Jordan) 
Whitesel. Her paternal grandparents were Simon 
and Catherine (Andes) Whitesel, while her ma- 
ternal grandparents were James and Anna 
(Boon£) Jordan. The Whitesels are of German 
ancestry, while the Andes and Jordan families are 
English. Anna Boone was • a near relative of 
Daniel Boone. Mr. and Mrs. Ellison have one 
daughter, Sarah Alice Virginia. Mr. Ellison was 
reared in the faith of the Missionary Baptist 
Church, while Mrs. Ellison belongs to the Lutheran 
Church. 

Michael John Corbett, a resident of Wilming- 
ton for forty years, was born in County Water- 
ford, Ireland, August 4, 1857, son of John and 
Margaret (Brown) Corbett. His people were 
Irish farmers. The best available information de- 
scribes the Corbetts as descendants of the Nor- 
mans, and there have been Corbetts in one locality 
of Waterford County for a number of generations. 
There are three distinct branches of the family, one 
in Ireland, one in England and one in Scotland. 

Michael John Corbett was educated in the 
Christian Brothers School at Lismore, but left 
before graduation to engage in farming with his 
father. A few years later, in 1878, he came to 
America and was at first employed in Wilmington 
as clerk in a wholesale grain house. In partner- 
ship with the late Mr. W. I. Gore a wholesale 
provision and grain business was established in 
1881, and later Mr. Corbett became sole pro- 
prietor and in 1900 incorporated the Corbett Com- 
pany, commission merchants and manufacturers ' 
agents, now operating under a license from the 
United States Food Administration and handling 
meat, lard, flour, sugar, grain, mixed feed and 
other staple provisions. 

Mr. Corbett is president of the Corbett Com- 
pany, president of the Wilmington, Brunswick & 
Southern Railroad, vice president of the People's 
Savings Bank, a director in the Murchison Na- 
tional Bank, and a director in the Tide Water 
Power Company. For four years lie served as 
president of the Wilmington Chamber of Com- 
merce. 

Mr. Corbett has been one of the managing 
board of directors of the James Walker Memorial 
Hospital. He is a life member of the American 
Irish Historical Society and is vice president for 
the State of North Carolina. He is a member of 
the Cape Fear Club, Cape Fear Country Club, 
Carolina Yacht Club and in politics a democrat. 

January 16, 1884, at Wilmington, he married 
Mary Josephine Deans, daughter of James Ir- 
ving and Ellen (Geary) Deans. They have nine 



126 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



living children: Nellie, wife of Thomas Edward 
Brown, of Wilmington; Margaret and Madeline; 
Norah, wife of Maj. H. W. Stovall, of the United 
States Coast Artillery and now in France; Lieut. 
James Irving, of the National Naval Volunteers; 
John Dennen; Henry McQueen; William Iredell, 
and Kitty. 

Allie Howard Edgertox. Though he does not 
as yet number his years by the forties, Allie 
Howard Edgerton has attained some of the dis- 
tinctive positions in the industrial and commer- 
cial affairs of Goldsboro and is one of the fortu- 
nate, influential and successful men of that city. 

He was born at Fremont in Wayne County, 
North Carolina, October 28, 1877, being a son of 
James Bryant and Pattie Mae (Pool) Edgerton. 
His father was not only a farmer, but for many 
years was a general land agent and is connected 
with a number of business enterprises at Golds- 
boro. 

The son received his education in the private 
and public schools of Goldsboro, and in' 1807 
was graduated from the University of North Caro- 
lina. Thus his business career has been devel- 
oped during the nineteen years since he left the 
university. His first important connection was 
with the Enterprise Lumber Company, where he 
gained a very thorough and detailed knowledge 
of the lumber industry. From that company he 
promoted the organization of the Empire Manu- 
facturing Company, became its first general man- 
ager, and in 1913 was elected president. This is 
now one of the important industries that have 
their headquarters at Goldsboro. Mr. Edgerton 
still retains his place as a director in the Enter- 
prise Lumber Company. 

He served as alderman of his home city in 
1915-18. He is a member of the board of trus- 
tees of the city schools, is president of the Algon- 
quin Club, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, 
and is affiliated with the Order of Elks, the 
Knights of Pythias, the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows and the Sigma Chi. 

On January 6. 1904. Mr. Edgerton married 
Annie Belle Borden, of Goldsboro, daughter of 
Arnold Borden. Thev are the parents of four 
children : Arnold Borden, Catherine, Charles 
Newton and Rachel Humphill. 

Maj. George W. F. Harper. Soldier, merchant, 
banker, railroad builder, statesman and author, 
Maj. George W. F. Harper is Lenoir's most 
prominent citizen. He is a member of a distin- 
guished family of this section of North Carolina, 
associated intimately with its history, and iden- 
tified with the organization of Caldwell county 
and the founding of the town of Lenoir. The 
Harpers are of English ancestry, but the branch 
that came as colonists to America had previously 
been established in Londonderry, Ireland. 

George W. F. Harper was born at Fairfield, in 
what is now Caldwell County, North Carolina, near 
the site of the present town of Lenoir, in 1834. 
His parents were James and Caroline Ellen (Fin- 
ley) Harper, the latter of whom was born in 
Augusta County, Virginia. She was a daughter oi 
Samuel Finley, whose people had come from Lon- 
donderry, Ireland, to Virginia at an early day. 

James Harper was born in 1799. in Cumberland 
County, Pennsylvania. A tendency toward tuber- 
culosis developing in his youth, an open air life 
was prescribed and he started on an extensive trip 
on horseback that extended through the mountains 



of Kentucky and Tennessee, and as far south as 
Atlanta and Augusta, Georgia, and to Charleston, 
South Carolina. There he took a sailing vessel and 
returned north, and by the time he reached New 
York, felt thoroughly restored to health. In re- 
membering his pleasant travels, the beautiful 
scenery and equable climate of the South remained 
in his memory, and before long he decided to 
establish a permanent home there. In 1829 he 
located at Wilkesboro, in Wilkes County, North. 
Carolina, where he embarked in the mercantile 
business. In the early thirties he removed from 
Wilkesboro to a place he called Fairfield, about 
one mile west of the present Town of Lennir, sub- 
sequently donating land for the town site of Lenoir. 
For many years afterward he was the leading 
merchant in the new town, first engaging in the 
manufacture of leather in a small way, but later, 
in association with his son, George W. F. Harper, 
in a general mercantile line. He was a man of 
education and refinement, and as long as he lived 
espoused every cause that he believed would benefit 
Lenoir. He was one of the early magistrates and 
assisted in the formation of Caldwell County and 
founded the town, as above stated, through his 
donations of land and capital. He was one of the 
contributors to the fund to build Davenport Col- 
lege. James Harper was a man of strict integrity, 
kind and benevolent manner, and was the first 
elder of the Presbyterian Church at Lenoir, and 
in its little graveyard he was laid to rest in 1879. 
He is survived by but two sons — George W. F. 
Harper and Samuel Finley Harper, George W. F. 
being pres : dent of the Bank of Lenoir and promi- 
nent in many other enterprises. Lenoir was regu- 
larly organized as a town in 1842, the boundaries 
being small as compared with the present corpo- 
rate limite. In its name it preserves the memory 
of Gen. William Lenoir, an early celebrity. 

Associated with the late James Harper in many 
of his early enterprises here, was his nephew, the 
late Col James C. Harper. He was born near 
Gettysburg, in Adams County, Pennsylvania, in 
1819, a son of John Harper. In 1840 he joined his 
uncle, James Harper, in North Carolina, and it was 
he who In id out the Town of Lenoir and did much 
in a political way to make Lenoir the countv seat 
of Caldwell County. From 1866 to 1868 he was a 
member of the North Carolina State Legislature, 
and in 1870 was elected to the United States 
Congress, in which body he made a fine record. He 
was prominent in a number of important local 
industries, and founded the old cotton mill at Pat- 
terson, near Lenoir, in 1847, and was the senior 
member of the firm of Harper, Jones & Company 
that operated the mill for a number of years. He 
died at his home near Patterson, North Carolina, 
January 6, 1890. 

Col. James C. Harper married Louisa McDow- 
ell, a daughter of Athan McDowell, and a grand- 
daughter of General Charles and Grace (Greenlee) 
McDowell, both of Revolutionary fame in this 
state. Colonel Harper's daughter, Emma, became 
the wife of the late Clinton A. Cilley, who was a 
distinguished lawyer and judge in Caldwell County. 

To adequately portray in words the life history 
of Major Harper, would be telling the story of 
Lenoir, for he has been so closely identified with 
all its leading interests. During the war between 
the states he served with distinction, enlisting as a 
private in Company H, Fifty-eighth North Car- 
olina Infantry. The organization of this regiment 
was completed in Mitchell County, July 24, 1862, 
and became a part of a legion representing the 





J^fts^l^^J 



1709-1879 




G. W. F. HARPER AND GRANDSON LIEUT. JAMES ('. HARPER 



HISTORY OP NORTH CAROLINA 



127 



three arms of the service and was commanded by 
Col. John B. Palmer. Through soldierly qualities 
the private was successively promoted until he 
became Captain Harper, and in 1864 was promoted 
to the rank of major. At the battle of Resaca, 
Georgia, Major Harper was wounded in the leg, 
but subsequently returned to his command and 
was with General Johnson's army at the time of 
surrender, at Greensboro, North Carolina, in April, 
1865. In the "World war, now going on, Major 
Harper's grandson, James C. Harper, who is shown 
in the accompanying portrait with his grandfather, 
holds the rank of captain, and he expects soon to 
be fighting with the United States Army in France. 
George H. Bernhardt, another grandson, is in the 
United States Navy. 

After the Civil war closed, Major Harper ac- 
cepted its results and returned to peaceful pur- 
suits. He went into business at Lenoir, in part- 
nership with his father, under the firm name of 
J. Harper & Son, general merchants, beginning in 
a small wooden building, but afterward removing 
to the corner now occupied by the bank, which 
Major Harper established in 1894. This bank has 
been a potent factor in the town 's growth and 
development. Major Harper is still president of 
this oldest bank, the affairs of which he has care- 
fully and prosperously conducted for twenty-four 
years. 

Major Harper was one of the builders, and for 
the first few years of its existence was president 
of the Carolina & Northwestern Railroad, extend- 
ing from Chester, South Carolina, to Lenoir, North 
Carolina, which was Lenoir 's first and as yet is its 
only railroad. It was built originally as a narrow- 
guage railroad, but subsequently was changed to 
standard gauge. Major Harper was the managing 
official of this road, and it is recalled by all that he 
was universally popular, and was known as a rail- 
road man of superior tact and executive ability. He 
was large and liberal in his policies and under his 
management the road became a dividend-earning 
property. As a concession to local opinion at the 
time, it is remembered that he permitted no trains 
to be operated on Sunday. 

Although Major Harper has always taken an 
active interest in politics and public affairs, he but 
once consented to the use of his name as a can- 
didate for public office. He was elected a member 
of the North Carolina State Legislature, and 
served with marked ability and great public use- 
fulness in the session of 1881. On many occasions 
he has served on boards and commissions of a more 
or less public nature, and particularly in relation 
to benevolent movements and institutions. For a 
number of years he was one of the board of trustees 
of the Western North Carolina Hosnital, at Mor- 
'jfn'to'i. the construction work of which building was 
superintended by the late Col. James C. Harper. 

Major Harper was united in marriage with Miss 
Ella A. Rankin, who died in 1909, survived by two 
children. George Finley Harper, and Mrs. Ellen 
Harper Bernhardt. Mrs. Harper was a daughter of 
Rev. Jesse and Ann "Delight Rankin, and was 
a sister of the late Emma Lydia Rankin, who was 
widely known throughout the state as an accom- 
plished teacher, being for many years principal of 
the Kirkwood Home School for Girls. 

Miss Emma Lydia Rankin was a notable woman 
and her name deserves perpetuation along with 
those who generously and unselfishly have given 
of their talents to benefit others. She was born 
July 29, 1838, and died February 28, 1908. This 
gifted woman received from her parents, both of 



whom were teachers of wide reputation, the bene- 
fit of a thorough classical education. She made the 
training of the minds and hearts of young women 
her life work and she adorned the profession of 
her choice. She inherited from a pious ancestry a 
love for the Presbyterian Church, of which she 
was a devoted member for over three score years, 
and to her strenuous efforts and liberal contribu- 
tions, the church at Lenoir is greatly indebted. In 
1893 the fine brick manse was completed and the 
new church in 1903, which was followed by a gift 
of the large and valuable lot in front of the church. 
Miss Rankin was a member of the committee of 
the Vesper Reading Club of Lenoir that encouraged 
the plan which resulted in the opening of the 
Pioneer Library, which, from a small beginning 
grew with the years and, up to the era of the 
Carnegie libraries, was probably the largest town 
library in the state. For many years she was a 
moving spirit in this enterprise and during the 
last years of her life served as purchasing agent 
and librarian, a work for which she was partic- 
ularly well fitted. Her final active benevolent 
work was in aid of that noble charity, the Barium 
Springs Orphanage. Her pupils, from all over 
the state, loved and esteemed her, and everyone 
knew her to be just, kind, good and generously 
charitable. 

Perhaps no one is better qualified to write his- 
tory concerning Caldwell County than is Major 
Harper, and that so many valuable and inter- 
esting papers, relating particularly to the county 
in relation to the war period, have issued from 
his pen, is but another proof of his versatility. 
In association with Judge Walter Clark, of 
Raleigh, he published in 1910 the thrillingly inter- 
esting book entitled ' ' Caldwell County in the 
Great War." For that work, Major Harper wrote 
the chapters entitled: "North Carolina at Chicka- 
mauga, " "A War Time Furlough," "Kirk's Raid 
and Skirmish, ' ' and ' ' Sherman at Columbia. ' ' 
Another book compiled and published by Major 
Harper, is equally interesting and a valuable con- 
tribution to local history, and is entitled "Remi- 
niscences of Caldwell County in the Great War." 
While it has been, in large degree, a matter of 
love to assemble this mass of history, and a tender 
tribute to his old comrades in arms, it is remark- 
able that one so engrossed with large business 
affairs and with public and social demands con- 
stantly being made upon his strength and time, 
should have found the opportunity and the enthu- 
siasm to so carefully gather these records, and 
to present them so abounding with the vitality of 
youth, that they are equally acceptable to the 
passing and the present generation. 

Alexander S. Hanes was born to wealth and 
high social position, but has made his life count 
as a constructive factor in his home city of Wins- 
ton-Salem, and has recently given that section of 
North Carolina a distinctive new industry in the 
Hanes Rubber Company, of which he is president. 

His father, the late John Wesley Hanes, proved 
himself one of the ablest among those who built 
up and developed Winston-Salem as a commercial 
and industrial center during the last half century. 
He was born at Fulton in Davie County, North 
Carolina, February 3, 1850, and belonged to a 
family of Moravians who had come to this part 
of Western North Carolina during the Revolu- 
tionary war. He was a great-srrandson of Philip 
Hanes, whose father, Marcus Hanes, was a native 
of Germany and on coming to America established 



128 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



his home in York County, Pennsylvania. Marcus 
Hanes came to North Carolina in 1777, and be- 
came a member of the Moravian Colony, locating 
in South Pork Township near Old Salem. Marcus 
Hanes ' son Philip was the father of Joseph Hanes, 
who was born in what is now Forsyth County, 
February 2, 1784. Joseph Hanes was the father 
of Alexander Martin Hanes, who was born March 
5, 1809, and besides farming conducted the larg- 
est tannery in this section of the state. Alexan- 
der M. Hanes was married September 26, 1833, 
to Jane March, daughter of Col. Jacob and Mar- 
garet (Hinkle) March. The children of Alexan- 
der M. Hanes and wife were: Pauline, who died in 
girlhood ; Spencer J., who died as a result of 
wounds received in the trenches at Richmond; 
Mary M., who died in 1885, wife of H. X. Dwire; 
Jacob H., who enlisted at the beginning of the 
war in Company G of the Fourth North Carolina 
State Troops and was killed at the battle of Spott- 
sylvania May 12, 1864; William H., who died in 
early youth; George A., who enlisted in Company 
E of the Forty-second North Carolina Regiment 
and was killed near Gaines Mill, Virginia; Pleas- 
ant H., who is still living and was a Confederate 
soldier, surrendering with Lee at the close of the 
war; Catherine E., who lives in Winston-Salem; 
John W.; Philip, who died March 14, 1903; and 
Benjamin Franklin, who died August 24, 1904. 

The late John W. Hanes grew up on a farm. He 
became accustomed to its work and duties but his 
fondness for books caused him to devote all his 
leisure time to reading and study. He was a 
small boy when the war broke out, and his older 
brothers went into the ranks as soldiers and so 
far as his strength and capabilities permitted he 
took their place at home. When the father died 
his mother removed to Hickory Hill near Mocks- 
ville, and at the close of the war young Hanes 
entered Trinity College, where he made an excel- 
lent record as a student. On leaving college he 
returned to the farm in Davie County, but soon 
became associated with his brother, Pleasant H., 
who at that time was pushing a successful wagon 
tobacco trade in company with A. M. Booe, as to- 
bacco manufacturer of Mocksville. Subsequently 
the two brothers entered the field of tobacco man- 
ufacture on their own account, and located at 
Winston-Salem. In 1872 they built their first 
factory. It was small and had a limited output. 
Two partners joined them, Maj. T. J. Brown and 
P. N. Dulin. The latter soon died and in settling 
up his interests with his heirs the partners lost 
much of their active capital. The business soon 
recovered, and its next calamity was a fire which 
destroyed the factory. They had little insurance, 
and though still in debt they determined to con- 
tinue the business and while they were rebuild- 
ing at Winston-Salem they rented the old Zeke 
Jones factory at Greensboro, and manufactured in 
those quarters for a year. They were all able 
business men, possessed of great energy and their 
business prospered almost inevitably. The first 
factory was extended from time to time, and final- 
ly they constructed one of the largest and most 
modern establishments in the South. In 1893 
another fire destroyed the buildings and entailed 
severe loss upon the company. Again they re- 
built, better and on a larger scale than before, 
and the business went on from one stage of pros- 
perity to another until it became known through 
its products throughout the United States. This 
business, whose foundations were so carefully laid 
by the Hanes brothers years ago, is now part of 



the great R. J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, hav-. 
ing been purchased by that corporation at a prince- 
ly sum. 

On retiring from the business of tobacco man- 
ufacture John W. Hanes established a large and 
complete plant for making hosiery, known as the 
Shamrock Knitting Mills. That was a business 
which took his chief energies and time until his 
death. 

John W. Hanes earned a high place in busi- 
ness circles and his ability and resources were 
sought by outside corporations and also by the 
public in general. He was at one time president 
of the Roanoke and Southern Railroad, and was a 
director in banks and other corporations. He 
was at one time president of the Winston-Salem 
Chamber of Commerce and for years was on its 
executive board. 

December 2, 1879, John W. Hanes married Anna 
Hodgin, daughter of Stephen H. and Lucy Moir 
Hodgin of Winston-Salem. They became the par- 
ents of eight children. John W. Hanes was a 
democrat, and was for many years one of the most 
active members and liberal supporters of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church. The death of this 
honored citizen and business man occurred Sep- 
tember 22, 1903. 

Alexander S. Hanes, his son, is a native of Wins- 
ton-Salem, was educated in the local public schools, 
and prepared for college at Horner Military In- 
stitute at Oxford. He then became a student in 
the University of North Carolina, and left that 
institution to go to work in his father 's hosiery 
mills in the offices. He mastered the details of 
the business, finally became manager and held 
the office of president and treasurer of the Sham- 
rock Hosiery Mills Company until 1916. He then 
resigned the executive position in order to organ- 
ize the Hanes Rubber Company, and is now giving 
all his available time to this new and important 
industry. 

Mr. Hanes was married in 1906 to Marv Lee 
Robinson of Elizabeth City, daughter of Charles 
H. Robinson. They have three children : Elizabeth, 
Charles and Alexander, Jr. Mr. and Mrs. Hanes 
are members of the West End Methodist Church 
and he belongs to the Twin City and the Forsyth 
Country clubs. 

J. Wade Siler, a younger representative of 
the prominent family that founded the progres- 
sive little City of Siler City in Chatham County, 
has done much to upbuild and promote the com- 
mercial activities and improvement of that com- 
munity. 

Mr. Siler was born at Siler City in 1882. His 
grandfather, Samuel S. Siler, was born in Al- 
bright Township of Chatham County, where he 
owned a farm and where he was a planter with 
slave labor before the war. Before a railroad 
was built through this section of the county he 
bought some land and laid it out in lots now a 
part of Siler City. However, he never removed 
to the town but snent his days on the farm. Sam- 
uel Siler married Margaret Wood. Both lived 
to a good old age, ami she was an active member 
of the Methodist Protestant Church. 

Cincinnatus Siler. father of J. Wade Siler, was 
horn on a farm four miles from Siler City in 
1854. He was educated in the rural schools and 
was engaged in farming until 1879, when he re- 
moved to Siler City and engaged in .general mer- 
chandising. He was a merchant here until his 
dentli in 1884. He married Miss Brower, daughter 



HISTORY OP NORTH CAROLINA 



129 



of George Washington and Nellie (Kime) Brower, 
and granddaughter of Abraham and Lydia (Scott) 
Brower. Her maternal grandparents were David 
and Mrs. (Clapp) Kime. Mrs. Cincinnatus Siler 
is still living in Siler City. 

J. Wade Siler, an only child of his parents, was 
educated in Siler City and also in the Liberty 
Normal College. After leaving school he was en- 
gaged in the hardware business, then for six years 
wa*s interested in the High Point Bending and 
Chair Company, following which he took up and 
prosecuted actively the real estate business. In 
1914 Mr. Siler installed the electric light plant 
in this city, a property that he owns and which 
has done much to raise the standards of Siler 
City as a progressive community. 

In 1906 Mr. Siler married Berta Olivia Jor- 
dan. She was born at Siler City, daughter of Adol- 
phus C. Jordan, who was born in Matthews Town- 
ship of Chatham County, son of Harris and Win- 
nie (Lane) Jordan. His grandfathers were Wil- 
liam Jordan and John Lane. Adolphus C. Jor- 
dan was reared on a farm and after his marriage 
settled on the plantation of his father-in law, 
including a part of Siler City. He lived there 
until his death at the age of seventy years. He 
married Miss Cattie Matthews, who was born 
on the present site of Siler City, daughter of 
Capt. William Matthews. Captain Matthews was 
born in Randolph County, North Carolina, son of 
Thomas and Charity (Wood) Matthews. He was 
an only child, and after the death of his parents 
he sold the old farm and removed to Chatham Coun- 
ty and bought land a part of which is now included 
in Siler City. Before the railroad was built he 
kept a country store and the place was then 
known as Matthews Cross Roads. He lived in 
this community until his death at the age of sev- 
enty-nine. Captain Matthews married Margaret 
Cheek, a native of Randolph County and daugh- 
ter of Josiah and Jennie (Womble) Cheek. The 
wife of Captain Matthews died at the age of 
seventy-two. Mrs. Siler was one of six children: 
Eulalia, wife of Cadman Bray; Berta Olivia; Ed- 
ward T.; Elma, who married Rev. W. J. Bannon; 
Vivian; and Willie, wife of V. B. Elkin. After 
the death of his first wife Mr. Siler married her 
younger sister, Vivian. 

Norman Fanning Steppe, whose work as an 
educator has brought him high commendation 
and many responsibilities in North Carolina, 
where he is now county superintendent of schools 
for McDowell County, has also had an extensive 
business experience and for a man of his years 
his life has been unusually filled with service and 
accomplishment. 

He was born in Henderson County, North Caro- 
lina, August 27, 1882, a son of Rev. James G. and 
Martha (Steppe) Steppe. His father was a farmer 
and a local minister. The son gained his early 
education in public schools and the Blue Ridge 
Academy, and after leaving that institution went 
North, was at Cincinnati, Ohio one year and after 
that at Pittsburgh, where he was chiefly engaged 
in the coal business. Returning to his native 
state he entered the University of North Carolina, 
and prepared for his chosen career. After leaving 
university Mr. Steppe was for four years principal 
of the high school at Dysortville, North Carolina, 
was superintendent of schools at Old Fort for 
five years, and on July 1, 1917, was chosen county 
superintendent of schools for McDowell County. 

He is a member of the North Carolina Teachers ' 
VoL VI —9 



Assembly and of the Superintendents ' Association. 
Fraternally he is affiliated with the Masonic Order 
and the Junior Order of United American Me- 
chanics. 

February 16, 1911, Mr. Steppe married Miss 
Annie Laurie Fordham, of Sampson County, North 
Carolina. Four children have been born to their 
marriage : , Norman Fanning, Jr., Clarence Mad- 
drey, Ralph Montgomery and Annie Laurie. 

Philip Henry Booe was for many years one of 
the prominent business men of Forsyth County. 
As a member of the N. D. Sullivan Tobacco Com- 
pany at Walkertown, he was a factor in building 
up a large local industry, and some of his capable 
children have followed him in the same line of 
business. 

Mr. Booe was born in Davie County, North Caro- 
lina, a son of Alexander and Sarah (Clement) 
Booe. His great-grandfather was, it is thought, 
of German parentage or ancestry, and was a 
farmer spending his last years in Davie County. 
The grandfather, Philip Booe, was a farmer, own- 
ing and occupying a place near old Dutch Meet- 
ing House, where he and his wife Caroline both 
died. 

Alexander Booe, father of Philip H., was born 
five miles south of Mocksville near the old Dutch 
Meeting House on January 4, 1821. When he was 
a boy his father died and he went to live with his 
uncle, Ben March, on Dutchman Creek. He learned 
how to make tobacco, and after his marriage be- 
came a tobacco manufacturer at Mocksville. This 
industry was continued until after the war and 
then at Salisbury for a number of years. He 
finally sold his business and after that devoted 
his time to the management of his farm on Dutch- 
man 's Creek, though his home was in Mocksville. 
He died in March, 1895. 

December 19, 1843,. Alexander Booe married 
Sarah Clement. She was born on a farm near 
Mocksville, August 9, 1823, and died in 1889. 
Her grandfather, Henry Clement, was a native of 
Germany and an early settler in what is now Davie 
County, buying a large tract of land near Mocks- 
ville and cultivating it the rest of his years. Sarah 
Clement's father was Henry Clement, Jr., who was 
born on a farm about three miles east of Mocks- 
ville and for many years operated the old home 
plantation with slave labor. He married Rosa 
Sain, who survived him and both are buried in the 
Clement Cemetery. The children of Alexander 
Booe and wife were five in number, Philip, Sallie, 
Maggie, Alice and Ruth. Sallie married Philio 
Hanes and has seven children; Maggie is the wife 
of William W. Miller and has six daughters; Alice 
married T. W. Woodruff and has two children; 
Ruth is unmarried. 

Philip Henry Booe was well educated for his 
time and when a young man took up the manu- 
facture of tobacco. He was first a member of the 
firm of Booe, Payne & Lunn. For a time he was 
connected with the bank at Winston, but after his 
marriage became associated in business with his 
father-in-law at Walkertown. This relationship 
he continued until his death in 1912, at the age of 
fifty-nine. 

Mr. Booe married Sally Sullivan, daughter of 
Nathaniel D. and Elizabeth (Moir) Sullivan. Con- 
cerning her father, who was for so many years a 
leader in the tobacco manufacturing industry of 
Forsyth County, a more complete sketch appears 
on other pages. Her mother, Elizabeth Moir, was 
a daughter of Robert Moir, who was born at 



130 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



Forres, Scotland, September 15, 1796. When a 
young man he came to America and located at 
Leaksville in Eockingham County, North Carolina. 
There he acquired land, developed a plantation, 
had numerous slaves, and at the time of the Civil 
war owned about fitty negroes. Robert Moir mar- 
ried Elizabeth Perry Porter. She was born in 
Madison County, Virginia, May 10, 1801. The 
children of Robert Moir and wife were: Margaret, 
who married Berle Eoberts; Jeannette; Elizabeth, 
who married Nathaniel D. Sullivan; DeWitt Clin- 
ton, who died young; Penelope G., who married 
and died without children; Tabitha, who married 
Charles Ogburn; Lucy J., who became the wife of 
Stephen Hodgin; Robert Alexander, who married 
Sally Allen ; and James Stuart, who married Mel- 
vina Van Hay. 

Mrs. Philip H. Booe died in 1904. There are six 
living children, named Nathaniel Sullivan, Sarah 
Clement, Elizabeth Moir, Lucy Hodgin, Philip H. 
2d, and Alexander M. These sons and daughters 
occupy the old homestead at Walkertown. It is a 
commodious frame house, built in modern style 
and has the comforts and setting of a magnificent 
country seat, affording many advantages and most 
of the conveniences found in the best city homes. 
The son Nathaniel is now secretary and treasurer 
of the Nathaniel D. Sullivan Tobacco Manufac- 
turing Company. He is also secretary and treas- 
urer of the Inverness Cotton Mills Company at 
Winston-Salem. 

John McMillan McIver. The most successful 
lives in every generation have been those in which 
action and achievement have gone hand in hand 
with and been guided by a character of unim- 
peachable probity and honor. It is the character 
of the man as much as the incidents of his work 
that makes the career of John McMillan McIver 
of Gulf, Chatham County, so notable and worthy 
of inclusion in this publication. 

Mr. McIver, who has been merchant, planter, 
manufacturer and in early life an educator and 
always a leader in church, was born November 6, 
1838, near Carbonton in Moore County, close to 
the Chatham County boundary and within the 
bounds of the old Euphronia Presbyterian Church. 
His great-grandfather, Donald McIver, was one 
of three brothers who came to Scotland in 1772, 
two of them settling in North Carolina and the 
other in South Carolina. Mr. McIver 's father, 
Alexander McIver, was a farmer, and was an 
elder in the Euphronia Presbyterian Church. The 
maiden name of the mother was Ann Gordon, 
daughter of Langston Gordon, of Virginia. He is 
thus descended from a long line of Scotch an- 
cestors in the paternal line and is of English 
stock through his mother. 

Some years ago when Mr. McIver had attained 
a maturity of character and achievement an inter- 
esting sketch of his life was prepared by Mr. P. R. 
Law for publication, and what his biographer said 
concerning his early environment and youth is 
worth quoting not only as an individual interpre- 
tation but as a description of the conditions from 
which many great men have risen to eminence. 

There were but few environments better calcu- 
lated to form character than those found in the 
atmosphere among the hills of his birthplace where 
the parish schools hard by the kirk in the father- 
land had been transplanted and religiously fos- 
tered. He was born into that way of life which 
might be called in other lands the middle class, 
but happily in our country character and capacity 



make their own level. He was neither of the richest 
nor of the poorest, neither proud nor humble. He 
knew no hunger he was not sure of satisfying and 
no luxury which could enervate mind or body. His 
parents were sober, God-fearing people, intelligent 
and upright. Without pretension and without self- 
effacing, he grew up in the company of boys who 
worked on the farm like himself — wholesome, hon- 
est, self-respecting. They looked down on nobody, 
they never felt it possible they could be looked 
down upon. Their houses were the homes of 
probity, piety, patriotism. They learned from the 
inspiring traditions of their fathers and at the 
feet of teachers of sound Christianity and en- 
nobling patriotism the lessons of heroic and splen- 
did life which came down from the past. 

' ' His father died when he was only one year old. 
The loss was great; but his mother proved a wise 
and capable counsellor, and her care and training 
molded him into manly excellence. His earliest 
recollection of his mother was seeing her kneeling 
in prayer with her three little children around 
her. A comfortable patrimony fell to him from his 
father 's estate. In early life he had a strong de- 
sire for an education." His school training was 
begun in some of those local schools and academies 
which were part of the community established in 
North Carolina by descendants of the Scotch Pres- 
byterian pioneers. He attended Melville Academy 
in Alamance County, where he came under the in- 
struction of a celebrated teacher, Dr. Alexander 
Wilson. In 1858, in his twentieth year, he entered 
the State University, but left promptly in 1861 to 
enter the army. His service as a soldier was de- 
ferred on account of an attack of sickness, and 
he returned to the university for an interval and 
in 1862 graduated with the degree A. B. Imme- 
diately on terminating his university career he 
joined the cavalry company of Eev. James H. Mc- 
Neil, this company being made up mostly of de- 
scendants of Scotch Highlanders. He served in 
Eastern North Carolina until the opening of the 
Gettysburg campaign in 1863, when he was part 
of the Sixty-third North Carolina Regiment. He 
was all through the war and surrendered with his 
command at Appomattox in 1865. On every occa- 
sion and under every condition he was a brave 
and conscientious soldier. 

The war over, he became a school teacher, teach- 
ing at Buffalo Church in Moore County in 1865, 
and afterward continuing his work in Bladen 
County and at Waynesville in Haywood County. 
Some of his pupils afterward became prominent as 
officers of the state and have testified to his in- 
fluence upon them in the training of their char- 
acter as well as their minds. 

Mr. McIver established himself in business at 
Gulf in Chatham County in 1870. He has been a 
highly successful business man, but his success has 
not been due to speculation, but to a conservative, 
hard working and conscientiously rendered serv- 
ice, for which his prosperity has been only a modest 
reward. The basis of his business career has been 
flour milling, and he was one of the first in that 
section of the state to install a modern roller 
process mill. From milling he turned some of his 
proceeds into broad acres of fertile land and de- 
veloped it to excellent and productive farms, and 
has also been a director and stockholder in the 
Bank of Fayetteville, stockholder, director and vice 
president of the Sanford Cotton Mills, a stock- 
holder in the Columbia Manufacturing Company at 
Eamseur, and in the Elmira Cotton Mills at Bur- 
lington, and has enjoyed throughout the esteem 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



131 



of his business associates as a hard-headed, con- 
scientious and strictly honorable business man. A 
lawyer friend once said of him : " He is one man 
who never forgets his God in his business." 

His former biographer gave the following word 
picture of his character: "One who lives largely 
not for himself but for others; and whose pleas- 
ure and happiness consists to an exceptional de- 
gree in contributing to the happiness of others. A 
man of singularly sweet and amiable disposition 
and retiring in his habits, and yet, surprisingly, a 
successful business man even in this day of strenu- 
ous life and activity. One who can be depended 
upon at all times and never found wanting. Of 
martyr spirit to suffer at the stake for conscience's 
sake, and what he believed to be right. Ever ready 
to aid liberally in any and every movement in 
church or state for the good of his fellows." 

Mr. Mclver has always been a loyal democrat, 
though averse to holding office. He has been fond- 
est of home and of home influences and of those 
institutions which are a part of the religious and 
moral life of his community. His record as a 
churchman has been one of work and devoted serv- 
ice and most of his public honors have come in that 
field. He was one of the founders of his church 
at Gulf, was its first elder, and at one time con- 
stituted its session. The session never had any 
other clerk nor the Sunday school any other super- 
intendent. He has represented his church at the 
Presbytery, and has been its moderator, and twice 
has been elected commissioner to the General As- 
sembly. He was chairman of the committee in 
charge of the Elders and Deacons Institute, and 
was also one of the two ruling elders on the 
Synodical Committee in charge of the Twentieth 
Century Million Dollar Educational Fund. 

Mr. Mclver has six children, three the children of 
a former marriage to Miss Mattie Lee Morrison, 
of Asheville, and three the children of his present 
marriage to Miss Lois Anderson, of Davidson. 

Dal Floyd "Wooten. The record of Mr. Woo- 
ten as a business man and citizen at Kinston has 
been of sturdy upward progress and has been 
marked by increasing responsibilities in the busi- 
ness field and also by the capable performance of 
public duties. His family have been identified 
with Lenoir County for a long period of years, 
and his individual achievements have contributed 
additional dignity and prestige to the name. 

Mr. "Wooten was born in Lenoir County June 5, 
1866, a son of John Franklin and Mary (Chris- 
tian) Wooten. His father was for a long term 
of years a member of the Lenoir County bar. The 
son after completing his education in the Kinston 
Collegiate Institute chose more practical lines of 
effort than those followed by his father, and for 
seventeen years was a farmer. He was finally 
called to the county seat by appointment to the 
office of sheriff, which he filled with characteristic 
fidelity from 1902 to 1906. For a brief time he 
was connected with a general supply house and 
then became cashier of the First National Bank 
of Kinston. This post he still holds. He was 
also a director of the Kinston Cotton Mill, and 
is a member of the board of trustees and chair- 
man of the executive committee of Caswell Train- 
ing School and is on the finance committee of the 
Chamber of Commerce. Mr. Wooten is affiliated 
with the Masonic Order, the Woodmen of the 
World, and the Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics, the Knights of Pythias and the Knights 
of Harmony. He and his family are active in St. 



Mary's Episcopal Church at Kinston and he is a 
member of the vestry. 

Mr. Wooten was married December 26, 1888, to 
Miss Laura Pugh, of Wilmington, North Carolina. 
Eight children have been born into their house- 
hold, their names being Mary Catherine, Paul 
Deems, Floyd, Ray, Cecil W., Thelma, Dorothy 
and Alton. 

John Gilmer Dawson. A leading member of 
the bar at Kinston, North Carolina, and equally 
prominent in other directions, John Gilmer Daw- 
son is a member of a very prominent law firm 
of this city, which, in addition to large individual 
and firm interests, acts as attorneys for important 
banking and other corporations. Mr. Dawson is 
a member of an old and well-known family of 
North Carolina whose members have contributed 
in appreciable degree to the growth and develop- 
ment of the commonwealth and have been found 
in prominent positions in various avenues of hu- 
man endeavor. 

John Gilmer Dawson is a native son of the lo- 
cality in which he now resides, having been born 
April 19, 1882, in Lenoir County, North Caro- 
lina, a son of John Henry and Annie E. (Daly) 
Dawson. His great-grandparents were John and 
Sallie (Henning) Dawson and his grandparents, 
Thomas Henning and Hulda Truitt (Daniel) 
Dawson, all natives of North Carolina and all 
members of the agricultural class. They passed 
their lives in the peaceful pursuits of farming, 
reared their children to lives of honesty and in- 
dustry and, passing away, left their descendants 
the heritage of a good name and a legacy of 
example of God-fearing and useful lives. The 
grandparents had a family of nine sons and one 
daughter, and among these children was the sec- 
ond son, John Henry, who was born November 29, 
1848, in Lenoir County, where his parents had 
resided for some years. John Henry Dawson was 
given good educational advantages in his youth, 
being sent to private schools, and when he was 
ready to start on his independent career adopted 
farming for his life work, a vocation in which 
he had been trained in his youth and one to 
which his forebears had given their attention. 
For a long period he continued as a tiller of the 
soil in Lenoir County, and through native in- 
dustry and good management accumulated a hand- 
some property and became one of the substantial 
men of his community. So well did he labor, in 
fact, that he was able to retire from active pur- 
suits when he had reached the age of fifty years, 
and since that time has given his attention to 
other matters. Mr. Dawson has always been rec- 
ognized in his community as a man of sound 
worth, integrity and public spirit, the kind of a 
man needed for participation in public affairs as 
an official. He was the incumbent of a number 
of township offices prior to 1892, in which year, 
while he was still actively engaged in farming, 
he was elected county treasurer of Lenoir County. 
He served continuously in that office until 1896. 
and then retired for eight years, but in 1904 
was again the people's choice for this position. 
He has since been elected each two years, and is 
now the holder of the office, his present term 
expiring in 1918. He has given his county con- 
scientious and faithful service and has done much 
to assist in the financial betterment of Lenoir. 
Mr. Dawson has also served as magistrate two 
years, and is a deacon in the Primitive Baptist 
Church. He is highly esteemed throughout the 



132 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



community in which he has made his home for 
so many years and where has done so much to 
advance the prosperity and welfare of the people. 
Mr. Dawson was married November 30, 1871, to 
Miss Annie E. Daly, of Lenoir County, North 
Carolina, and to this union there have been born 
children as follows: Selma Anna, who is now 
Mrs. James S. Mehegan, of Tarboro, North Caro- 
lina; Henry Thomas, who is deceased; Alma 
Hulda, who is the wife of P. A. Hodges, of Kins- 
ton; Mamie Leona, who is the wife Clarence 
Oettinger, engaged in the real estate business at 
Kinston; Hannah Meniza, who is the wife of 
Fred L. Hart, of Suffolk, Virginia; John Gilmer, 
of this notice ; Wilber Truitt, also of Kinston ; 
Bessie Laura, who is the wife of Marshall E. 
Gray, of Kinston ; Roland, a daughter, who is 
now deceased; Martha Susan, who resides with 
her parents, and another child who died in infancy. 

John Gilmer Dawson was reared on his father's 
farm, on which he assisted in the work during 
the summer vacation periods, the remainder of 
his boyhood being passed in attending private 
schools. He was subsequently sent to high school, 
and, having expressed a liking for the law, 
became a student at the University of North 
Carolina, from the law department of which in- 
stitution he was duly graduated with his degree 
in 1908. In August of the same year he was 
admitted to the bar and almost immediately began 
practice at Kinston, and, as the people recognized 
his ability and earnestness, it was not long ere he 
had built up a good and prosperous practice. Mr. 
Dawson continued alone until August, 1915, when 
he became associated in a legal partnership with 
A. J. Loftin under the firm style of Loftin & 
Dawson, now recognized as one of the strong 
combinations of Lenoir County. The firm rep- 
resents in a legal way three banking houses and 
a number of large corporations and has been 
exceptionally successful in its handling of cases in 
all the courts. Mr. Dawson has served as city 
attornev of Kinston since 1910 and has taken 
care of the city 's legal business in a masterly 
manner. He belongs to the various organizations 
of his calling, including the North Carolina Bar 
Association and the American Bar Association, 
and holds a high place as a legist who respects 
the ethics of his calling. As a lawyer he has met 
with success, pursuing his profession quietly and 
industriously, and bringing to it the highest in- 
tellectual qualities and attributes of character. 
His individual practice has been notably hon- 
orable and as a member of his firm his name 
has given assurance, were this necessary, that no 
undue advantage would ever be taken of clients, 
whether powerful or indigent. As a business man 
Mr. Dawson has also been successful, and now 
has a number of important interests, these in- 
cluding connection with the Southern Drainage 
and Construction Company, of which corporation 
he is vice president, and the Carolina Land and 
Development Company, of which he is a member 
of the board of directors. He is interested in 
fraternal matters also, being a Knight Templar 
and Shriner Mason, and a member of the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, the Junior Order 
United American Mechanics, and the Kappa 
Sigma college fraternity. 

On November 23, 1911, Mr. Dawson was united 
in marriage with Miss Margaret Regina Weyher, 
of Kinston, North Carolina, and to this union 
there has come one child, Victor Weyher, who was 
born January 26, 1916. 



Andrew Jackson Loftin. In point of continu- 
ous service Andrew Jackson Loftin is one of the 
oldest members of the bar at Kinston. His pres- 
ent partner and active associate is Mr. John G. 
Dawson, and together they comprise one of the 
chief law firms in point of ability and extent of 
practice in Lenoir County. 

Mr. Loftin was born March 15, 1838, a son 
of William C. and Sallie (Moore) Loftin. His 
father was a man of prominence and was at one 
time clerk of the old county court and was at 
another time candidate for Congress. Andrew J. 
Loftin received his early education at Kinston 
and at Taylorsville, and studied law under Judge 
Pearson at Richmond Hill. Since his admission to 
the bar he has kept his attention almost undi- 
vided on his profession, has for many years ap- 
peared in cases of importance before the courts 
of Eastern North Carolina, and has gained pro- 
fessional esteem and the many rewards and hon- 
ors which belong to the lawyer as a forceful 
leader of public opinion. 

Mr. Loftin served at one time as mayor of 
Kinston and has always been a loyal democrat. 
He is a member of the Christian Church. He has 
been twice married. He was married December 1, 
1898, to his present wife, whose maiden name was 
Myrtie Best, of Wayne County. 

James Taylor Rieves, M. D., city physician of 
Greensboro, represents a family that has lived in 
North Carolina four generations and in his indi- 
vidual career has displayed qualities which raise a 
man above the ordinary in attainments and in 
power of service. 

Doctor Rieves was born on a plantation in Had- 
ley Township, Chatham County. His great-grand- 
parents came from England and settled in Chat- 
ham County. The grandfather, Reuben Rieves, 
was born in Chatham County, became a planter 
and probably spent all his life there. He married 
a Miss Kirk. 

George W. Rieves, father of Doctor Rieves, was 
born in Hadley Township, grew upon a farm and 
was busily engaged in this primary vocation when 
the war broke out. He soon afterward entered the 
Confederate army as a member of the Murchison 
Cavalry, and followed the flag of the South in 
many hard fought campaigns. Later he inherited 
a farm from his maternal grandfather in Hadley 
Township and that place was the scene of his 
industrious years until his death in 1892. He 
married Mary Crutchfield, who was born in Hadley 
Township of Chatham County, daughter of William 
and Mrs. (Terry) Crutchfield. Her grandfather 
was Thomas Crutchfield, a native of England and 
an early settler in Chatham County. The Terry 
family wei-e also pioneers of Chatham County who 
came from England. Mrs. George W. Rieves died 
in 1898, at the age of seventy-four years. She 
reared three sons, named Henry, Joseph John and 
James Taylor, and three daughters, named Luc- 
etta, Nancy and Jeanette Jane. The son Henry 
was a Confederate soldier and was killed at the 
battle of Gettysburg. 

James Taylor Rieves had only the opportunities 
of the rural schools during his boyhood. Later he 
attended school at Dalton Institute in Stokes 
County and finally took his course in medicine at 
the Louisville Medical College, where he was grad- 
uated in 1891. Doctor Rieves has been a hard 
working physician and surgeon for a quarter of a 
century. For ten years he practiced at Julian in 
Randolph County, but in 1901 removed to Greens- 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



133 



boro, where his services have won favor and in- 
creasing patronage. Doctor Rieves has always 
been a student and has taken post-graduate courses 
in Eichmond and the New York Polyclinic. He 
is a member in good standing of the Guilford 
County and the North Carolina State Medical 
Societies and the Southern Medical Society. He 
was appointed city physician of Greensboro in 
1917. 

Doctor Rieves married in 1890 Lettie C. Hardin, 
who was born near Pleasant Garden in Guilford 
County, a daughter of Charles and Mrs. (Coble) 
Hardin. Mrs. Rieves died in 1895, leaving two 
children, Zeb V., who died at the age of twelve 
years, and Callie, who is the wife of H. C. John- 
son and has a son named Henry C, Jr. Doctor 
Rieves married for his present wife Bettie Diviney, 
who was born at Julian in Randolph County, 
daughter of Samuel and Hannah Diviney. To this 
union have been born six children: Blanche, John 
P., Virginia Lee, Max, Dwight and Ruth. The 
daughter Blanche is the wife of J. C. Lassiter 
and Virginia married Claude Nowell. Doctor 
Rieves is affiliated with Greensboro Lodge No. 164 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and is 
a member of Council No. 13 of the Junior Order 
of United American Mechanics. 

Albert Hill King is a North Carolina edu- 
cator, a graduate of the State University thirteen 
years ago, 'and since then has been consecutively 
identified with school work. He is now superin- 
tendent of the graded school system of Burlington. 

He was born in Orange County, North Carolina, 
March 3, 1880, son of William Duncan and Espran 
(Neville) King. His father was a farmer of 
Orange County. While on the farm there Albert 
H. King attended district schools, later was a 
student in Wake Forest College a year, and in 
1905 finished his course in the University of North 
Carolina. He was teacher in Sharp Institute, 
Rockingham County, for a year and a half, until 
that school was burned. The next five years he 
was connected with the public schools of Greens- 
boro, having had charge of the high school there 
for three years, spent two years in schools at Ashe- 
ville, and in 1914 came to Burlington to become 
superintendent of the graded schools. The schools 
have twenty-seven teachers under their supervision, 
and an enrollment of 1,084 scholars. 

Mr. King has been a frequent attendant at con- 
ventions of the North Carolina Teachers Assembly. 
He is affiliated wtih the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics, also the Modern Woodmen, 
and is a deacon of the Baptist Church at Burling- 
ton. On June 26, 1907, he married Loula Wilson, 
of Madison, North Carolina, daughter of William 
T. and Susan Wilson. Her father is a farmer and 
tobacco grower. Mr. and Mrs. King have four 
children: Herman Hill, William Westervelt, Mary 
Margaret and Loula Lucile. 

Mr. King has given himself to the Young Men's 
Christian Association war work to do service in 
France for the period of the war. 

Edward McKee Goodwin. The best monument 
to the career of Edward McKee Goodwin is already 
standing, its usefulness to humanity largely the re- 
sult of his patient, self-sacrificing toil and planning 
and high ideals, but all of which was done without 
thought of personal glory. This is the North Caro- 
lina School for the Deaf at Morganton, of which 
he was the first superintendent and has been stead- 
ily connected therewith for twenty-four years. 



He was born near Raleigh in Wake County April 
12, 1859. His ancestors came from England to 
Jamestown, Virginia, in the seventeenth century. 
Some years ago the William and Mary College 
Quarterly Magazine had a supplement of about 
200 pages devoted exclusively to thg ' ' Good- 
win Families in America. ' ' Judge John S. Good- 
win said : ' ' The Goodwins were among the first of 
the English speaking people to come to America. 
The Goodwins have always been here, and it is still 
an open question whether the Goodwins or the 
Indians were the original inhabitants. ' ' So many 
were they who came over from England that they 
completely upset the "three brother" theory. 

Edward McKee Goodwin is a grandson of Wil- 
liam Henry Goodwin, who was born in 1765, and a 
son of Simeon Peace and Adelia (Yates) Goodwin. 
His parents lived on a farm near Raleigh and 
Superintendent Goodwin owes many of his habits of 
energy and industry to the influence of that early 
home. He was the sixth son in a family of seven 
boys and two girls. He and his youngest brother, 
Dr. Andrew W. Goodwin, of Raleigh, have always 
been to each other an inspiration and support. 
From his mother's family Mr. Goodwin inherited 
missionary tendencies. She was a kinswoman of 
Dr. Mathew T. Yates, the grand old missionary 
to China. Mr. Goodwin is quoted as saying: "To 
the ambition of my mother and her influence over 
my early life I gratefully owe whatever of success 
I may have had." Another source of inspiration 
was his reading of biography during his youth. 
In 1880, at the age of twenty-one, he joined the 
Tabernacle Baptist Church in Raleigh, and since 
then has been steadfastly devoted to Christian 
work. In 1889 he was a delegate to the World's 
Sunday School Convention held in London. By ap- 
pointment from Governor Fowle while abroad he 
was also state commissioner to the Paris Exposi- 
tion. Mr. Goodwin is a democrat and a member 
of the Masonic Order. 

His boyhood fell in the Civil war period, and 
consequently his school facilities were meager. He 
attended Love joy Academy at Raleigh and the 
Raleigh Male Academy. He has always expressed 
much gratitude for the encouragement and inspira- 
tion he received from Messrs. Fray and Morson 
at the head of the Raleigh Male Academy. From 
there he entered the State Normal College of the 
University of Nashville in 1882, and graduated 
with honors in 1884 as a licentiate of instruction. 
Later the University of Nashville conferred upon 
him the degree Master of Arts. 

After a year as superintendent of the Kinston 
graded schools Mr. Goodwin took up his real 
profession in life, as a teacher of the deaf. He 
began this work in the Institution for the Deaf and 
Dumb and Blind at Raleigh. A year later he went 
to the Iowa School for the Deaf at Council Bluffs, 
where he remained two years, and with that 
exception his great work has been done in his 
native state. He again taught at Raleigh, but was 
constantly working to secure better privileges for 
the deaf children of the state. 

After three years of untiring work he had the 
satisfaction of seeing the Legislature of 1891 
create and establish the North Carolina School for 
the Deaf. At the first meeting of the board of 
directors he was elected advisory superintendent, 
and in this capacity he drafted the first plans of 
the present building and from first to last has been 
the leading spirit in building up the school. In 
1894 he was formally elected superintendent and 



134 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



opened the school at Morganton in October of that 
year. 

Some years ago a professional opinion of his 
work was passed by Dr. Charles D. Melver in the 
following words: "As a man, as a teacher, and 
as a public official, Superintendent E. M<K. Good- 
win measures up to a high standard. In all its 
history the state has not had a more faithful pub- 
lic servant. His complete knowledge of the details 
of the work he superintends is remarkable. His 
professional ability is recognized throughout the 
country and under his inspiration and leadership 
there has been created and developed at Morgan- 
ton, North Carolina, an institution that does effi- 
cient service for our people and brings glory 
to the State." 

In 1905 the North Carolina School for the Deaf 
entertained the National Convention of Instructors 
of the Deaf, and the management of this conven- 
tion was a peculiar triumph to Superintendent 
Goodwin, who received the highest praise for look- 
ing after the details of the program and enter- 
tainment. This convention was attended by dele- 
gates from thirty -five states of the Union and 
some of the Canadian Provinces. As testimonial 
of their gratitude to Mr. Goodwin the latter was 
elected vice president at the conclusion of the 
convention. 

Mr. Goodwin was a member of the first board 
of directors of the State Normal College at Greens- 
boro. He has served a quarter of a century as a 
member of the board of directors of Meredith Col- 
lege at "Raleigh. In 1894 he married Miss Maude 
Fuller Broadaway, of Winston-Salem. Mrs. Good- 
win was a member of the first graduating class 
of the State Normal College at Greensboro and at 
the time of her marriage was a member of the 
faculty of the college. To their happy union have 
been born five children. The only son died in in- 
fancy. The daughters have been reared in a home 
marked by every influence of culture, religion and 
patriotism. 

In addition to this brief outline of his great 
work it is only a matter of justice to include a 
tribute paid Mr. Goodwin by one of his friends 
and a director of the institution at Morganton. 
This tribute is as follows: 

"My acquaintance with E. McK. Goodwin be- 
gan more than twenty years ago. It soon ripened 
into a friendship which has deepened as time 
passed. He was then just from college and had 
chosen teaching as his life work. I remember well 
, his enthusiasm and his devotion to the cause of 
education. I remember well his contagious buoy- 
ancy of spirit and his strong faith in the future 
of the state and in the approach of the advance 
guard of Universal education. 

' ' His success as a teacher did not surprise me. 
His thorough scholarship, his intense enthusiasm 
in his work, his magnetic personality all pointed 
unmistakably toward a successful career as a 
teacher. I do not think it a mere chance that led 
him to become a teacher of the deaf. I can 
understand that this unfortunate class of children 
appealed to one of his temperament, to his in- 
tense sympathy. But I believe something more 
than mere human sympathy led him to take up a 
work which neither in its pecuniary aspect nor yet 
in its results from a human standpoint is very 
attractive in this ultilitarian age. I believe it was 
a divine call, for teachers of children as well as 
teachers of men are called. His work as a teacher 
of the deaf was so successful that in the summer 
of 1891, when the school at Morganton was estab- 



lished, in accordance with legislative enactment he 
was, without his own previous knowledge, chosen 
as advisory superintendent to help build and plan 
it. That school stands today as a monument to his 
untiring industry, abiding faith in his work and 
splendid executive ability. In twenty years time 
on a hill on which had stood the virgin forest 
arose a school for the deaf so perfect in its equip- 
ment and appointments, so wise in its methods and 
management, and so thorough in its work as to 
attract the attention and win the applause of the 
whole country and to place itself easily abreast 
of the best schools of its kind in the world. And 
this institution is his best monument. But as the 
most beautiful flowers bloom amid quiet retreats 
and away from beaten paths, so the sweetest vir- 
tues are those which develop and shed their fra- 
grance in the circles of friendship and home. Pro- 
fessor Goodwin's best friends are those who know 
him best. He is faithful and true to his friends, 
generous to a fault, and when he errs 'he leans to 
virtue's side.' He, hates hypocrisy as only those 
who are true hate it. 

' His strength is as the strength of ten, 
Because his heart is pure. ' 

"He is always first and foremost in every good 
work in his community, a leader in his church, and 
easily a 'member of the Pretorian guard of the 
State.' " 

Walter Dunn LaRoque, who was born in Le- 
noir County, North Carolina, December 30, 1878, 
for a number of years has carried a heavy weight 
of business and civic responsibilities at Kinston, 
and is one of the successful citizens of that part of 
the state. 

Mr. LaRoque is a son of Walter Dunn and Anna 
(Mewborne) LaRoque. His father was a promi- 
nent livestock dealer, planter and merchant. The 
son began life with excellent advantages at home 
and in schooling, having attended private schools 
and the Agricultural and Mechanical College at 
Raleigh. As a preliminary course in business he 
was connected with a grocery house at Kinston, 
and later for three years was with the Hines 
Lumber Company. He finally took up general 
insurance, and since 1908 has handled both insur- 
ance and real estate. 

Mr. LaRoque is president of the Caswell Bank 
and Trust Company, director and secretary of the 
Caswell Cotton Mills, and with all his other in- 
terests has found time and inclination to serve 
the community. 

Local citizens remember with pride and satis- 
faction his efficient term as mayor of Kinston 
from 1907 to 1913. He had previously served as 
an alderman from 1903 to 1905. In 1914 Mr. La- 
Roque was appointed postmaster, and gives mucn 
of his time to the administration of that office- 
He is an ex-president of the Chamber of Commerce 
and a director of the Kinston Fair Association. 
Fraternally his affiliations are with the Masonic 
Order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Junior Order of United American Mechanics and 
the Woodmen of the World. 

On December 2, 1903. Mr. LaRoque married Miss 
Mamie Hines, of Kinston. They have four chil- 
dren: Marianna, Louise, Mamie Hines and Wal- 
ter Dunn, Jr. 

Robert Lee Blalock, head of the firm of Bla- 
lock Brothers, general contractors and builders, 



HISTORY OP NORTH CAROLINA 



135 



chose his vocation in life at an early age and 
by consistent hard work and study has built up 
a business hardly second to none in his section 
of the state. The firm now has offices both at 
Newbern and Kinston, and they have the facilities 
and the organization and capital for handling 
large and small contracts over a widely extended 
territory. Their specialty is heavy buildings, and 
they have done much re-enforced concrete work, 
though they also do all classes of building and 
construction in wood, brick, stone, concrete and 
steel. Mr. Blalock's business associate is his 
brother, E. B. Blalock. 

Eobert Lee Blalock was born in Johnston 
County, North Carolina, May 23, 1870, a son of 
John Hardy and Tabitha (Hunnicutt) Blalock. 
His parents were substantial farming people and 
his early life was spent on a farm. He was edu- 
cated in private schools. As a youth he learned 
the carpenter's trade and gradually broadened 
that trade into a profession as an architect and 
engineer. The transition from this to contracting 
and building was a gradual one. 

The firm of Blalock Brothers erected the Hunter 
Building, the Quinn & Miller Building, the Lewis 
schoolhouse, and many others in Kinston, includ- 
ing the H. C. Hines Building, the Central Ware- 
house and the Kinston Garage. At Newbern they 
drew the plans and built the Gaston Hotel Annex, 
the Newbern Iron Works and offices, the factory 
of E. H. and J. A. Meadows, the J. B. Blade pri- 
vate residence. They put up the Federal Furni- 
ture Company Building at Fayetteville, North 
Carolina; the Farmers' Training School at Vance- 
ville, the graded school building at Wilson, built 
additions to the Caswell Training School at Kins- 
ton, the Alfred W. Warren residence at Snow Hill, 
and the W. T. Carraway store at Snow Hill. 

Besides his building interests, Mr. Blalock owns 
a farm of 400 acres in North Carolina. He is a 
member of the North Carolina Builders ' Associa- 
tion. On December 2, 1896, he married Miss 
Flossie Estelle Sommerline, of Clinton, North 
Carolina. They have been blessed with a large 
family of children : Mattie Elizabeth, Robert 
Lee, Jr. ; Edward Killette, Clara Estelle, Charles 
Clarence, William Jefferson, Doris Mae, John 
Hardy, and one child, Irene, died at the age of 
four years and two months. 

William Mitchell Vaughn. Much of the 
business and public enterprise of the Town of 
Stokesdale in Guilford County revolves around the 
name and activities of William Mitchell Vaughn, 
merchant, banker and postmaster of that locality. 

He was born in Huntsville Township of Rock- 
ingham County, North Carolina. The family have 
been in this state for several generations. His 
grandfather, Mitchel Vaughn, was a planter and 
slave owner in Rockingham County, but the family 
records do not contain information as to the place 
or time of his birth. It is known that he had 
two brothers, John and Joseph, John removing to 
Tennessee about the beginning of the war while 
Joseph lived and died in Rockingham County. 
Grandfather Mitchel Vaughn married Ruth Carter. 
Both attained a good old age and reared eight 
children. Their sons were: Joseph Marion; 
Theodore, who removed to Tennessee; Elihu and 
Benjamin, both of whom spent their lives in Rock- 
ingham County. 

Joseph Marion Vaughn, father of the Stokes- 
dale business man, was born in Huntsville Town- 
ship of Rockingham County, grew up as a farmer, 



and inheriting a portion of his father 's estate 
was busily engaged in cultivating it when the 
war broke out between the states. He soon after- 
wards enlisted in the Confederate army, went away 
with his regiment to the front, and was in service 
until his final illness and death. His remains were 
laid to rest in Halifax County, North Carolina. 
He married Nancy Purdue, whose father, William 
Purdue, was a farmer and a respected citizen 
of Rockingham Comity. Nancy Vaughn by her 
first husband had two children, Ruth J. and Wil- 
liam Mitchel. She married for her second hus- 
band George Bullock, and she continued to live in 
Rockingham County until her death. By her sec- 
ond marriage she had four children, George B , 
Boyd, Marion and Martha. 

William M. Vaughn was only an infant when 
his father went to war. He grew up on the Rock- 
ingham County homestead, had the advantages of 
the local schools, and remained with the farm until 
reaching his majority. After that he was in the 
service of the Yadkin Valley Railroad in its con- 
struction department until 1890, when with the 
modest savings and capital he had accumulated he 
located at Stokesdale and embarked in business 
with a stock of general merchandise. His store 
has been continued and has broadened out until 
it supplies the standard and staple goods to a 
large surrounding community. Mr. Vaughn later 
bought a farm near the town, and operates that 
with the aid of tenants. When Stokesdale was in- 
corporated he was appointed by the Legislature 
one of the town commissioners, and has been kept 
continuously in that office by re-election. In April, 
1916, he was appointed postmaster of Stokesdale, 
and that is now one of his varied responsibilities 
in the life and affairs of the community. He was 
twice elected a magistrate, but refused to qualify 
for that office. He has been a director in the 
Stokesdale Commercial Bank since organized, and 
for several years was a member of the local school 
board. 

At the age of thirty Mr. Vaughn married Minnie 
White. She was born in Rockingham County, 
daughter of John and Mary (Walter) White. 
They have two daughters: Edna and Essie. The 
family are members of the Christian Church, in 
which Mr. Vaughn has served as elder. 

Hoy Taylor has given the best years of his life 
to educational work, and has done his part in 
improving and raising the standards of the edu- 
cational programme in his native state and is now 
in charge of the graded school system of Green- 
ville. 

Mr. Taylor was born at Boone. North Carolina, 
July 20, 1879, a son of substantial farming people, 
Leland L. and Sarah (Bumgarner) Taylor. As a 
boy he attended the country schools of his native 
county, and after determining his choice of a 
future vocation he entered the Appalachian Train- 
ing School at Boone. In 1906 he graduated from 
Trinity College at Durham. For several weeks 
each year in 1909. 1910. 1911 and 1912, he was a 
student in Columbia University of New York City, 
from which institution he holds the degree of 
Master of Arts. He also has a Master's diploma 
from Teachers College, New York. 

In 1906 07 Mr. Taylor was connected with the 
Cary Hich School, and for six years was principal 
of the Biscoe High School. In 1913 he came to 
his present post as superintendent of the graded 
schools of Greenville. The Greenville people take 
great pride in their fine graded schools, and the 



136 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



active supervision of them for the past four years 
has been in Mr. Taylor's hands. The enrollment 
in the local schools includes 800 white children and 
5'PO colored children. 

Mr. Taylor is a member of the North Carolina 
Teachers Assembly and the National Education 
Association, and is a member of the Masonic 
order. 

On August 8, 1913, he married Miss Lucy Cleone 
Liles, of Morven, North Carolina. They have two 
children: Henry Liles, born October 6, 1914, and 
Hoy, Jr., born December 30, 1916. 

Robert A. Morrow. In 1888 was formed the 
business of Heath, Morrow & Company, a grocery 
concern which had its chief capital in the am- 
bitions of its members. The records show that in 
that and the following several years the venture 
was fairly successful, and that in 1890 a branch 
was started at Monroe, the original stand having 
been at the Town of Waxhaw. From this modest 
start the concern has rapidly developed until its 
fame has spread over several states, and in 1916 
it is one of the most important industries of its 
kind in the Carolinas. It will be apparent to the 
merest layman that the personnel of this firm, now 
known as the Heath-Morrow Company at Union, 
and as Morrow Brothers & Heath Company at Al- 
bemarle, has been far above the ordinary in 
ability. The guiding spirit, the man who has 
brought this firm right to the forefront among 
the strenuous competition that has agitated this 
section's trade during the years of its existence, 
who has had the courage to grasp opportunities 
and the foresight to discern these opportunities 
when they have come, and who has made the most 
of them with a clear, cool and active mind, is 
Robert A. Morrow, who has gained and retained 
a place for himself among the business men of 
Western North Carolina. 

Mr. Morrow was born in Lancaster District, 
South Carolina, not far from his present home in 
the adjoining county in North Carolina, and is a 
son of James M. and Margaret Elizabeth (Cure- 
ton') Morrow. The Morrow family is of Scotch 
ancestry and its progenitors in America settled 
first in Pennsylvania, from whence thev removed 
some years prior to the Revolutionary war to 
Mecklenburg County, North Carolina. The imme- 
diate ancestors of Robert Morrow, his father, 
James M. Morrow, and his grandfather. Allen 
Morrow, were born in Lancaster County, the ad- 
joining county to Mecklenburg in South Carolina. 
The granduncle of Robert A. Morrow. Major 
Benjamin Morrow, was a native of Mecklenburg 
County. North Carolina, and lived there all his 
life. His home was for a long number of years 
at the Morrow plantation, a beautiful estate in 
the suburbs of Charlotte, which was later acquired 
by the father of John S. Myers and is now known 
as Mvers Park. Major Benjamin Morrow married 
the daughter of the late Governor Hawkins of 
North Carolina. 

Whf>n Robert A. Morrow was six years of age, 
in 1866. his father and family removed to Char- 
lotte, where for the following twelve years James 
M. Morrow was clerk of the superior court. Rob- 
ert A. Morrow grew up in the city, whore he en- 
joved ordinarv scholastic advantages in the public 
schools, but he was of an ambitious and indus- 
trious nature and longed to get his start that he 
might take his place among the business men of 
the city. Accordingly, when he was only twelve 



years old he secured his initiation to business life 
and business methods when he was given the posi- 
tion of messenger boy in the large commercial 
establishment of the late S. Wittowsky at Char- 
lotte. The lad was always anxious to please, 
showed fidelity to his employer 's interests, was 
agile and alert, and displayed a desire to learn 
every phase of the business. His conduct soon 
attracted the attention of his superiors, and from 
that time his faithfulness and industry won and 
held for him the lasting confidence of Mr. Wit- 
towsky, so that he was promoted from position to 
position until when he left the concern he was in 
the position of manager of the credit department. 

In 1888 Mr. Morrow was ready to embark in 
business on his own account, and selected as his 
field of endeavor Union County, which has since 
continued to be his home. He first located at the 
Town of Waxhaw, where he engaged in the mercan- 
tile business in partnership with his brother, J. M. 
Morrow, and B. D. and A. W. Heath. In 1890 
Robert A. Morrow came to Monroe, the county seat 
of Union County, and here took charge of the 
business of the firm which had been established 
at this place during the same year, although the 
original business was retained at Waxhaw. The 
name at that time was Heath, Morrow & Com- 
pany, but in 1893 Mr. B. D. Heath retired from the 
firm and the style was changed to the Heath- 
Morrow Company. Allen W. Heath has since died, 
but his name is retained in the firm at Monroe. In 
addition to the main establishment at Monroe they 
have a large house in the thriving City of Albe- 
marle, conducted under the name of Morrow 
Brothers & Heath Company. This is a large whole- 
sale grocery business, including the two houses, 
and is one of the largest and most important in 
the Carolinas. their trade extending over a large 
territorv in the two states. It is a bulwark of 
financial strength and responsibility and its large 
business has been built strictly upon honor and 
merit. 

Mr. Morrow is a director of the Icemorlee Cotton 
Mills, of the Everett Cotton Mills, the Jackson 
Cotton Mill, and the Bearskin Cotton Mills, all 
of Monroe. He is connected with the W. J. Rudge 
Company, the extensive book and- stationery house 
of Monroe, and a director of the Monroe Hard- 
ware Company, one of the largest concerns of its 
kind in the state. He is extensively interested in 
the banking business, being a director in the First 
National Bank of Monroe, the only national bank 
in Union County. It was established in 1907 and 
has a capital stock of 100.000, with surplus of 
$35,000, and resources of at least $750,000. He is 
president of the State Bank of Wingate, in Union 
County, which is doing an excellent business and 
has a high standing in banking circles of the state, 
and a director of the Savings Loan & Trust Com- 
pany of Monroe and of the Waxhaw Banking & 
Trust Company, Waxhaw, North Carolina. 

In political life Mr. Morrow has never been a 
candidate for elective office, but is a stanch demo- 
crat and takes an active interest in the affairs of 
his party. He is a member of the State Democratic 
Executive Committee: is a director of the Cham- 
ber 01 Commerce of Monroe; a trustee of Queen's 
College of Charlotte; and an elder in the Pres- 
byterian Church. Tt will be seen that his interests 
are large and varied and that he is in manv ways 
one of the prominent citizens of the state. He was 
appointed bv Secretary McAdoo chairman of the 
Union County War Savings Committee, allotted to 



HISTORY OP NORTH CAROLINA 



137 



raise $732,000 and at this date $700,000 has been 
raised and the balance will be forthcoming in 
thirty days. 

Mr. Morrow married Miss Carolina McKenzie, 
of Fayetteville, North Carolina, and they are the 
parents of five children, namely: James M., Jr., 
Eobert A., Jr., William A., Louise and Caroline. 

James M. Morrow, Jr., volunteered in the Avia- 
tion Department of the National Army and is now 
at Fort Sam Houston, Texas. 

James Fred Taylor. Only the successful man 
can touch the life of a community at so many vital 
points and with so much direct benefit and achieve- 
ment as James Fred Taylor has done in the City 
of Kinston. He has been a resident of that city 
for the past thirty years, and though he started 
life in nothing- higher than a clerkship in a coun- 
try store, he is now an officer or director in half 
a dozen or more large corporations and business 
concerns and also finds time to help forward com- 
munity projects. 

Mr. Taylor is a native of Lenoir County, where 
he was born September 8. 1864. His parents were 
Fred Green and Jane (Hooker) Taylor, substan- 
tial farming people of the county. Mr. Tavlor 
had his first instruction in private schools, after- 
wards in the Kinston Collegiate Institute, and 
the Kings Mountain High School under Capt. 
W. T. R. Bell. After leaving school he went to 
South Carolina and was clerk and bookkeeper in 
a general merchandise store for three years. Re- 
turning to Kinston in 1886, Mr. Taylor was for 
ten years in the brokerage business. He eventually 
closed out that business because of the demands 
made upon his time and attention by other larger 
affairs. 

In 1890 Mr. Taylor organized 'the Orion Knit- 
ting Mills, and has been secretary, treasurer and 
manager of this industry ever since. In 1898 he 
organized the Kinston Cotton Mill, was treasurer 
and manager until 1916, and since then has been 
also its president. He organized in 1903 the Ches- 
terfield Manufacturing Company, which luirchased 
a cotton mill, water power and farm two miles 
from Petersburg, Virginia, and it is now a flour- 
ishing industry. Mr. Taylor is its president and 
treasurer. He is a director of the First National 
Bank of Kinston and has been on the board 
since the bank was organized ; assisted in organ- 
izing in 1900 the Lenoir Oil and Ice Company, 
was elected the first president, but resigned after 
four years; is a director of the Kinston Insur- 
ance and Realtv Company; director of the Caro- 
lina Drainage and Construction Company, and the 
Carolina Land and Development Company; and 
• from 1908 to 1912 was president of the Kinston 
Good Government League. In 1914-15 Mr. Taylor 
was president of the Kinston Chamber of Com- 
merce, and is a director of the Kinston Fair As- 
sociation. He was formerly a director and vice 
president of the North State Life Insurance Com- 
pany. 

Mr. Taylor is one of those men who, with no 
more time than other men have, nevertheless serve 
well and effectively in many positions of respon- 
sibilty and trust. Outside of business he is de- 
voted to his home and is a deacon in the Chris- 
tian Church. He was married November 12, 1895, 
to Miss Fannie Murphey, of Kinston. Mrs. Tay- 
lor is a daughter of James L. and Nannie (Dixon) 
Murphey. They have two children : Fred Mur- 
phey and Margaret. 



Judge Jesse C. Sigmon. For a young man to 
ascend the bench of the County Court only three 
years after commencing practice certainly speaks 
well for his professional ability and his substantial 
personal character. That statement is literally 
true in the case of the present incumbent of the 
county bench, Jesse C. Sigmon, of Newton, 
Catawba County. His parents, Daniel Elias and 
Dorcas Emily (Rhodes) Sigmon, both live near the 
old homestead, about a mile and a half from 
Newton. 

The father, Daniel E. Sigmon, was born at the 
old homestead, where George A. Sigmon now lives, 
the antiquated log structure having been torn 
away. It is in the immediate vicinity of the place 
where he now resides, and he is the son of Jethro 
and Mary (Heavner) Sigmon, and the grandson of 
Barnett Sigmon. The Sigmon family is numerous 
and highly honored in Catawba County; in fact, 
the claim is made that there are more Sigmons in 
Catawba County than residents of any other family 
in the state. Jethro Sigmon was born in York 
County, Pennsylvania, and when a boy came with 
his father, Barnett Sigmon, in the late '30s, to the 
locality of the old homestead. The head of the 
family was of German parentage, and found many 
of his countrymen to co-operate with him in mak- 
ing Catawba County famous for its fine farms, 
live stock and dairies. His sons, Daniel E. and 
George Sigmon, ably upheld the traditional thrift 
and industry of the family, and are still widely 
known as proprietors of productive and beautiful 
farms and raisers of fine dairy stock. 

Judge Sigmon 's father has also been actively 
interested in the schools of the county and has 
served as superintendent of education. At present 
he is a member of the Board of County Commis- 
sioners. The mother is a member of the well 
known Rhodes family, prominent in both Catawba 
and Lincoln counties. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel E. Sig- 
mon are the parents of ten children, seven sons 
and three daughters. 

Jesse C. Sigmon, who was born near Newton, 
Catawba County, in 1885, received his preparatory 
education at Catawba College, Newton, and after- 
ward took a business course at Richmond, Virginia. 
During a few years following he was engaged in 
the railroad service in the following capacities: 
Clerk in the master mechanic 's office of the Chesa- 
peake & Ohio Railroad at Richmond ; in the super- 
intendent 's office at Clifton Forge, Virginia ; con- 
nected with the transportation department of the 
Atlantic Coast Line at Wilmington, North Caro- 
lina ; private secretary to the superintendent of 
that department, with headquarters at Florence, 
South Carolina; with the Florida East Coast Rail- 
road at St. Augustine, Florida, and with the Penn- 
sylvania Railroad at Washington, District of 
Columbia. He then assumed a position with the 
navy department of the Government, and while 
thus engaged pursued a law course at Georgetown 
University. 

While pursuing his course at Georgetown Uni- 
versity Judge Sigmon had unusual opportunities 
to receive instruction from some of the most 
distinguished lawyers and jurists in Washington. 
Large and valuable law libraries were also open 
to him, and the whole atmosphere at the national 
capital was calculated to broaden his outlook. He 
graduated in the class of 1912, solidly grounded 
in the law. and equipped at all points for substan- 
tial advancement. In 1913 he began law practice 
at Charlotte, North Carolina, but on September 



138 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



1, 1915, returned to his old home at Newton to 
locate permanently as a lawyer and citizen. About 
thirty days afterward he was appointed county 
solicitor for Catawba County. Among local cam- 
paigns during the year 1916 one of the hottest 
fought in North Carolina was in Catawba County. 
Mr. Sigmon received the republican nomination for 
judge of the County Court, and he at once started 
an aggressive propaganda both for his own election 
and in behalf of the entire republican ticket. That 
ticket was elected by majorities averaging around 
200. In a county which up to a few years ago was 
strongly democratic and in a general election 
where the tendency all over the country was 
strongly in behalf of the democratic national 
•candidate, the results attained in Catawba County, 
largely due, as well informed men agree, to the 
personality and the ability of Judge Sigmon, are 
outstanding facts in political history. Judge Sig- 
mon entered upon his duties as county judge in 
November, 1916. Possessing unusual legal talent, 
and with his strong hold upon popular esteem, 
Judge Sigmon 's continued success and future are 
assured. 

Like all his people, he is a communicant of the 
Lutheran Church and is president of the Luther 
League of the Western District of North Carolina. 

Rev. Michael A. Irwin, pastor of the flourishing 
Catholic Church at Newton Grove, Sampson 
County, has done much of the pioneer and organiz- 
ing work of his denomination in North Carolina, 
where from the time of its settlement members of 
the Catholic Church have been very few — and these 
principally people who moved into the state from 
elsewhere. The great leaders of the church in 
North Carolina have been Bishop England, who 
died bishop of Charleston ; Bishop Gibbons, at 
present the venerable Cardinal Gibbons, archbishop 
of Baltimore; and Bishop Leo Haid, at present 
the bishop of the state and abbot of Belmont 
Abbey. But our notice here concerns a localized 
work which began at Newton Grove about 1873 by 
the reception into the Catholic Church of Dr. John 
C. Monk, a prominent physician of that neighbor- 
hood who was baptized with the members of his 
family by Cardinal Gibbons in Wilmington that 
year. Doctor Monk was such a fine character and 
so universally respected that his conversion to the 
Catholic faith aroused great interest in his home 
county, Sampson, and from this original impetus 
about 800 people have finally been brought into 
the Catholic Church, of whom many have moved 
away, and of course, many are dead. But several 
hundred have always remained around Newton 
Grove and form the vigorous community at present 
under the charge of Father Irwin, who has had 
many zealous predecessors in the pastoral office 
at this point. 

Father Irwin was born at Portsmouth, Virginia. 
August 31, 1866. the eldest son of Cornelius and 
Cecilia Eliza (Hasty) Irwin. His father spent 
many years in the transportation business. Father 
Irwin was educated in private schools from the 
age of five to nine, and from nine to fourteen in 
parochial schools. Later he scent two years at 
Belmont Abbey College in North Carolina and one 
year in a business college in Philadelphia. He 
also received a fine musical education in youth, 
ami even yet. though a priest, is widely known as 
a skillful violinist. 

His earlv life was spent as a practical business 
man and he had the promise of a brilliant career 



in transportation circles. Several of his office 
mates eventually became prominent in the rail- 
road world, one, in particular, being vice president 
of a great system. Father Irwin's first venture 
in business was a junior clerkship with the Sea- 
board Air Line at Portsmouth, Virginia. Then, a 
little older, he held an important position jointly 
with two steamship companies, the Merchants and 
Miners Steamship Company of Norfolk, and the 
Potomac Steamboat Company of Washington, Dis- 
trict of Columbia. Afterward for several years he 
was the private secretary to the general manager 
of the Norfolk Southern Railroad. Again he was 
in the traffic department of the Chesapeake & Ohio 
Railroad at Newport News, and at their general 
offices at Richmond. Thence for five years he was 
connected with the traffic department of the Sea- 
board Air Line at its general offices at Norfolk 
and Portsmouth, Virginia. 

Feeling called to a more consecrated life, Father 
Irwin in 1896 took leave of the business world to 
take up his studies for the priesthood at Belmont 
Abbey, to which he returned after fourteen years ' 
absence, and where he was ordained a priest by 
Bishop Haid, June 10, 1900. His first ecclesiastical 
appointment was as a member of the Apostolate 
Company at Nazareth, near Raleigh, North Caro- 
lina, a society established there in 1898 by the 
Rev. Thomas F. Price, for general missionary and 
charitable enterprises. Father Irwin was one of 
the legal incorporators of this society and remained 
there on duty for three years and a half helping to 
build up the fine foundation of church, schools, 
orphanages and other works that are now so much 
in evidence there. 

In January, 1904, he was made pastor of St. 
Mark's Church at Newton Grove in Sampson Coun- 
ty. However, for two years after coming to New- 
ton Grove he still retained the office of missionary 
in charge of the growing Catholic Mission at Dur- 
ham, North Carolina, which he relinquished when 
it was able to support a resident priest. 

Father Irwin 's work at Newton Grove occu- 
pies an important position as the center of Cath- 
olic influence in that section of the state. The 
membership of his church, though not large, about 
425 at best, assumes a singular importance when 
it is kept in mind that it is drawn from a stock 
of native people who are by tradition and en- 
vironment unfavorable to the Catholic religion. 
Father Irwin has built numerous churches in his 
territory, including the parish church in Dunn, 
North Carolina, a new parish recently erected 
out of the Newton Grove territory, and mission 
churches at Clinton. Benson. Peacocks. Denningtown, 
Rosin Hill, Bentonville. Dobbersville and Bow- 
dentown. At Newton Grove he has enlarged the 
church proper, built a tower, constructed a new 
parish school, and dormitories for both boys and 
girls, and a new rectory. He now has a flourish- 
ing school with about 100 pupils. It was Father 
Irwin who brought the Dominican Sisters from 
New York to North Carolina as teachers, and 
there are now thirteen of these sisters connected 
with the management of Catholic parish schools 
in North Carolina. Father Irwin has now an 
assistant priest at Newton Grove to share in and 
lighten his heavy responsibilities. 

Hon. Powell W. Glidewell. It is not only 
the skill of the successful lawyer but also the 
character of a worthy citizen which have brought 
Mr. Glidewell into prominence in Rockingham 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



139 



County, where he has practiced law at Eeidsburg 
for a number of years and has enjoyed many 
honors at the hands of his fellow citizens. 

Mr. Glidewell was born on a farm in Meadows 
Township of Stokes County, North Carolina. His 
grandfather, John W. Glidewell, was a native of 
the same locality and owned and occupied a planta- 
tion there. Soon after the breaking out of the 
war between the states he entered the Confederate 
army and was soon on the front lines of action. 
In the battle of Spottsylvania Court House he lost 
his life and his death was a tragedy in more than 
one sense to the family he left behind him. He 
had married Martha Hicks, a native of Meadow 
Township, and at his death she was left a young 
widow with three children, named Caleb W., Min- 
erva and Nannie. The daughter Nannie died at 
the age of eighteen years and Minerva married 
Eeuben Brown. The mother of these children did 
her part by them while they were young, and she 
lived to the good old age of eighty-three. 

Rev. Caleb W. Glidewell, father of Powell W., 
was born in Meadows Township of Stokes County 
April 11, 1860, and was too young to remember 
anything of his soldier father. His boyhood was 
one of limited circumstances and opportunities, 
and he was early involved in the task of farm labor 
and assisting in the support of the family. Under 
the circumstances he could acquire little formal 
education. After reaching manhood he sold his 
interest in the homestead to his sister and then 
bought another place in the same neighborhood. 
In 1892 he was ordained a minister of the Mission- 
ary Baptist Church and for the past quarter of a 
century has held pastorates in different churches 
in Stokes and Rockingham counties. He now lives 
on the Judge Settle plantation in Mayo Township 
of Rockingham County. He married Amanda 
Rierson, who was born near Danbury in Stokes 
County, daughter of Hardin and Elizabeth (Red- 
dick) Rievson. Rev. Mr. Glidewell and wife reared 
six children: Powell W. ; Edith, wife of F. P. 
Newan. of Hillsboro; Lona; John C; Elizabeth, 
wife of W. H. Highfill, of Roanoke; and Minnie, 
wife of J. P. Doyle, of Las Animas, Colorado. 

Powell W. Glidewell attended rural schools dur- 
ing his youth, also had the excellent instruction 
of W. A. Flynt in the Dalton Institute, and was 
also a pupil of the Sandy Ridge High School in 
Stokes County. He took both his literary and law 
courses in Wake Forest College and in 1903 was 
admitted to practice. He did his first work in the 
law at Wentworth, but in 1906 removed to Reids- 
ville, where he has had his full share of the legal 
business in that district. 

Mr. Glidewell has always been a democrat. He 
served the city as prosecuting attorney and is now 
city solicitor, and among other clients is attorney 
for the First National Bank of Reidsville. He 
has been a member of the democratic county com- 
mittee, was presidential elector in 1908 and in 
1912, and in the latter year had the honor of voting 
for President Wilson. In 1918 he was named as 
the party candidate for state senator from his dis- 
trict. He is a member in good standing of the 
Rockingham County and North Carolina Bar As- 
sociations and is an active member of the Baptist 
Church, which he has served as clerk. 

August 1, 1904, Mr. Glidewell married Lillie 
Terry. She was born at Reidsville, a daughter of 
Jack and Mollie Terry. Her death occurred April 
3, 1918. Mrs. Glidewell left three children: Ethel 
and Elizabeth, twins; and Powell W., Jr. 



H. B. Hiatt, M. D. A physician and surgeon 
of High Point since 1911, Doctor Hiatt is a man of 
unusual attainments and interests in his profes- 
sion. He had some of the finest training and ex- 
perience that could be given in the greatest 
medical centers of America and has achieved no 
little prominence in his native state because of his 
special abilities and skill. He is a member of the 
American Society of Tropical Medicine, the Ameri- 
can Medical Association, the American Congress of 
Internal Medicine, and also belongs to the Guil- 
ford County and North Carolina State Medical 
Societies. 

Doctor Hiatt was born in Guilford County. He 
has a very interesting ancestry. The first American 
of the name was Christopher Hiatt, a native of 
Ireland. On coming to America in colonial times 
he lived in Maryland and from there moved to 
North Carolina and was a colonial settler in Guil- 
ford County, where he spent his last years. His 
son John Rufus Hiatt, great-grandfather of Doctor 
Hiatt was probably born in Maryland and after 
reaching manhood acquired large tracts of land 
and owned many slaves in Guilford County. 

The grandfather of Doctor Hiatt was Philander 
Hiatt, a native of Guilford County and also a 
farmer and planter. During the war he was in 
the Confederate Army and was severely wounded 
in one battle and never entirely recovered from the 
effects .of his experience. He married a Miss 
Knight, who survived him a few years. 

John Rufus Hiatt, father of Doctor Hiatt, was 
born in Guilford County, and as a young man 
began dealing in horses and livestock. About 1895 
he moved to Sampson County, and was engaged in 
farming there until his death at the age of fifty- 
four. His widow, a native of Guilford County, is 
now living in Sampson County. 

Only child of his parents, Doctor Hiatt had un- 
usually liberal opportunities for the training and 
perfection of his talents. He attended public 
schools. Colonel Drewrv's Military School at Fay- 
etteville, Horner's Military Institute at Oxford, 
and from there entered the University of North 
Carolina. His professional studies were trans- 
of Maryland at Baltimore, and after receiving his 
diploma he continued in post-graduate work in 
Johns Honkins University and also served as in- 
terne in the University and Bayview Hospital at 
Baltimore. 

Doctor Hiatt began his active practice at Clin- 
ton, North Carolina, where he remained two years, 
and was then located at Ashboro until he came 
to High Point in 1911. 

In 1907 he married Miss Kathleen Sadtler, a 
native of Baltimore. They have two children, 
Leora and Houston B. Doctor Hiatt is affiliated 
with Hiram Lode-e No. 98. Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Masons; Carolina Consistory No. 1 of the 
Scottish Rite; Lodge No. 1155 of the Benevolent 
and Protective Order of Elks and the Loyal Order 
of Moose. 

Oliver Hicks-Harrison Allen has been judge 
of the Superior Court in North Carolina for twen- 
ty years. He is now serving in his third consecu- 
tive term. It is probablv the longest continuous 
term ever held by a judge of that rank in the 
state. 

Though he has achieved such position and honor 
by the exercise of exceptional ability and by 
remarkable diligence, Judcre Allen represents a 
family that has long- enjoved prominence in the 
professional and public life of North Carolina. 



140 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



He was bora in Wake County March 20, 1850. 
His father, "William A. Allen, served with the rank 
of colonel in the Confederate army, and spent 
many years in the successful practice of law in 
Duplin County. He served as a member of the 
Legislature from Wake County in 1852, and after 
locating in Duplin County was elected to the 
State Senate. Judge Allen 's mother was Mariah 
G. Hieks, who was born in Granville County. 

Though the war and reconstruction occurred 
during his boyhood and youth. Judge Allen ac- 
quired a liberal education. In 1871 he graduated 
from Trinity College with the Bachelor of Arts 
degree, and in June, 1874, the degree of Master 
of Arts was conferred upon him, and he was soon 
afterward admitted to the bar. He first prac- 
ticed in Duplin County and later at Kinston. In 
a short time he was looked upon as a young law- 
yer of unusual powers and skill in the general 
practice of the law. At first he was associated 
with his father, and subsequently was with A. 
D. Ward in Duplin County and for a short time 
was associated with N. J. Eouse at Kinston. 

While he has always been keenly inter?sted in 
public events, his public honors have come to him 
chiefly within the line of his profession. He was 
elected and served as the first solicitor of the 
Inferior Court of Duplin County. On June 15, 
1885, Governor Scales appointed him solicitor of 
the Sixth Judicial District, and he was nomi- 
nated and elected to that office in 1886 and again 
in 1890. On December 10, 1896, Governor Elias 
Carr appointed Mr. Allen judge of the Superior 
Court to fill the unexpired term caused by the 
resignation of E. T. Boykin. The dignity and 
ability with which he presided over this court 
made him the logical candidate for regular elec- 
tion and confirmation by the people. He was 
nominated and elected in 1898 for the term of 
eight years, was re-elected in 1906, and in 1914 
received the third successive election for that 
high office. 

Prior to his judicial career Judge Allen had 
an active part in democratic polities, and at one 
time served as chairman of the Democratic Execu- 
tive Committee in Duplin County. He also served 
in that county as public school examiner. He is 
a Mason, has been junior and senior warden and 
master of Warren Lodge No. 101 at Kenansville, 
and is a member of the Society of the Cincinnati, 
his qualification for membership in that order be- 
ing as great-grandson of William Hicks, who was 
an officer in the Revolutionary army. Judge Al- 
len is a trustee and member of the board of stew- 
ards of the Methodist Church. 

On October 11, 1883, in Duplin County, he mar- 
ried Miss Sarah Moore, daughter of Dr. Matt 
Moore, of Duplin County. In her paternal ances- 
try Mrs. Allen is connected with the old Dixon 
family of Duplin County, and on her mother's side 
is related with the Middleton family. Judge and 
Mrs. Allen have the following children: Matt 
Hicks Allen; William A. Allen; Martha Moore 
Allen, who married B. S. Barnes of Maxton; Con- 
nor M. Allen, who is assistant attorney for the 
Federal Land Bank at Columbia; and Reynold 
T. Allen. Judge Allen has three sons in the 
war, Matt Hicks, major in the Judge Advocate's 
Department as Division Judge Advocate, Thirty- 
first Division, United States Army; William A., 
sergeant-major of the One Hundred and Thir- 
teenth Field Artillery, and Reynold T., first lieu- 
tenant of the Three Hundred and Twenty-first 
Infantry. 



Hon. Matthew Hicks Allen. A long and not- 
able list would be that including even a half cen- 
tury 's men of distinction in North Carolina, but 
a few lines would cover those who within a decade 
have achieved so much that their names are ' ' writ 
large ' ' in their state 's history. A name worthy of 
such prominence is that of Hon. Matthew Hicks 
Allen, lawyer and legislator, whose activities as 
well as his ability measures up with any man of 
his age who has ever been in the public life of the 
state. That he has chosen Goldsboro as his home 
is a matter of local pride, but Duplin County can 
claim his birth, at Kenansville, November 29, 
1884. His parents are Oliver Hicks Harrison and 
Sarah Cassandra (Moore) Allen. Senator Allen 
had early advantages, both social and educational. 
His boyhood preceptor was Dr. R. H. Lewis at 
Kinston, North Carolina, and from his school he 
entered Homers ' Military School, going from there 
to Trinity College and then to the University of 
North Carolina, and after being graduated from 
the law department with credit, was admitted to 
the bar. The selection of law as a career was an 
inheritance, to some degree, for his father, long a 
brilliant attorney, has been a judge on the Superior 
Court bench of the state for twenty years, and his 
uncle is one of the associate justices of the Su- 
preme Court of North Carolina. 

Mr. Allen entered into practice in August, 1906, 
as a member of the law firm of Simmons, Ward & 
Allen at Newbern, North Carolina, where he re- 
mained until 1910, when he came to Goldsboro and 
shortly afterward entered into partnership with 
John D. Langston, the firm name being then 
Langston & Allen. Subsequently, after the admis- 
sion of W. F. Taylor, the firm style became Lang- 
ston, Allen & Taylor, as at present. As a lawyer 
Mr. Allen rapidly made his way to the front rank 
and has been identified with litigation of much im- 
portance. At one time he devoted much attention 
to the prosecution of a suit before the Interstate 
Commerce Commission which has resulted in the 
reduction of the lumber rates from Eastern North 
Carolina to the northern and eastern markets, in- 
volving a saving of" several hundred thousand dol- 
lars annually to the lumber shippers of this state. 
Recently as the attorney for the Goldsboro Chamber 
of Commerce he instituted before the corporation 
commission a proceeding which resulted in the 
restoration of certain trains to active service be- 
tween Goldsboro and Greensboro, and in having 
sleeping car service established from Greensboro 
through Goldsboro to Beaufort, these changes be- 
ing of vital commercial importance to the cities 
mentioned. 

Senator Allen has been active in the ranks of the 
democratic party since early manhood. In 1915 
he was elected a member of the Legislature, and 
during his period in the House was a member of 
the judiciary, the finance, propositions and griev- 
ances, appropriations aud other committees, and as 
chairman of the judiciary, occupied a position of 
great legislative importance. In 1916 Mr. Allen 
was elected to the State Senate and was chairman 
of the Judiciary Committee of that body, and his 
usefulness as a legislator has still further added 
to his reputation as a public official and increased 
the confidence of his constituents, whose interests 
he has striven vigorously to conserve. 

Senator Allen is a member of the North Caro- 
lina Bar Association. He has long been identified 
with the leading fraternal organizations, is a 
Knight Templar Mason and a Shriner, is a past 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



141 



exalted ruler of the Elks, and belongs to the Odd 
Fellows and to the Junior Order of the United 
American Mechanics. On all public occasions he 
is solicited to speak, his fame as an orator not 
being confined to local circles and during political 
campaigns his services as a speaker are at a pre- 
mium. Personally Senator Allen is friendly and 
courteous and the number of his admirers and well 
wishers may almost be said to include all those 
who have been admitted to close companionship. 
He is a member of St. Paul 's Methodist Episcopal 
Church at Goldsboro. In May, 1917, he entered 
the Reserve Officers Training Camp at Fort Ogle- 
thorpe, Georgia, was commissioned a captain of 
Field Artillery in July, 1917, in December, 1917, 
was promoted to major in the Judge Advocate Gen- 
eral's Department and assigned to Camp Wheeler, 
near Macon, Georgia, as Division Judge Advocate, 
Thirty-first Division. 

Walter Frank Taylor, the junior member of the 
law firm of Langston, Allen & Taylor, was born 
in Duplin County, North Carolina, April 4, 1889. 
His parents are Luther and Ettie (Crow) Taylor. 
His father is a merchant and also engages in farm- 
ing. Mr. Taylor was educated in the Faison Male 
Academy at Faison, North Carolina, and the Uni- 
versity of North Carolina, completing his. academic 
course in 1911 and his law course in 1914. He en- 
tered into a general law practice at Goldsboro and 
became a member of the firm with which he is still 
connected. He belongs to the North Carolina Bar 
Association. 

In politics Mr. Taylor is a democrat. Frater- 
nally he is identified with the Masons and the 
Knights of Pythias and retains interest and mem- 
bership in his college societies, the Golden Fleece, 
the Phi Beta Kappa, the Tau Kappa, and is a 
member of the board of trustees of the Univer- 
sity of North Carolina. Mr. Taylor was carefully 
reared in the Methodist Episcopal faith and be 
longs to St. Paul 's Methodist Church at Goldsboro. 
He stands high in public esteem both personally 
and professionally. 

Alexander McNiel Blair, M. D. The con- 
genial climate of North Carolina has won for the 
state thousands of temporary residents from among 
the wealthy and prominent people of the North, 
and one of them who has long since come to regard 
North Carolina as his real home and the North 
only as a place of temporary sojourn is Dr. Alex- 
ander McNiel Blair of Southern Pines, Moore 
County. The state has no more accomplished spe- 
cialist of diagnosis and radiography than Doctor 
Blair, who is a man of real attainments and emi- 
nence in his profession. 

Doctor Blair was born at Buffalo, New York, 
July 30, 1873, son of James Currie and Margaret 
Buchanan (Foster) Blair. His parents were both 
born in Scotland. No doubt Doctor Blair feels 
more at home in this part of North Carolina be- 
cause of the presence here of many families who 
are descended from the blood of Scotland. Doctor 
Blair was educated in the grammar schools and the 
State Normal School of Buffalo, and acquired his 
medical education in the medical department of 
Niagara University at Buffalo. He received his 
degree and license to practice in 1897 from the 
medical department of the University of the State 
of New York. After graduation he took up the 
general practice of medicine in the City of Buffalo 
and there enjoyed one of the best practices of the 
younger men. 

In 1902 he went to Germany and became a 



special student of the famous Prof. H. Newton 
Heinnemann, specialist in heart and circulatory 
diseases at Bad-Nauheim. On his return to Buf- 
falo Doctor Blair resumed his practice, only di- 
rected along more special lines. 

On account of an earlier indication of failing 
health he came South in 1903, seeking a climate 
best suited to his individual needs. He selected as 
a temporary field the noted Sand Hills section of 
North Carolina, and located at Southern Pines in 
Moore County. This has for a number of years 
been one of the most popular and most widely 
patronized winter tourist resorts in the South. 
Here Doctor Blair has enjoyed a constantly grow- 
ing success. This success is largely due to his 
faithful, conscientious routine of skillful work. He 
is a man of untiring energy and apparently sel- 
dom has an idle moment. His offices at Southern 
Pines are at his home, but they represent in them- 
selves a completely equipped set of rooms such as 
are usually found only in large hospitals. They 
include a reception room, radiographic room, bac- 
teriological laboratory and treatment rooms. The 
laboratory and radiographic rooms have the most 
complete and modern equipment known to the 
technical branches of science. Competent observ- 
ers have pronounced the X-Ray apparatus owned 
by Doctor Blair without superior in the South. 
The work he does here not only for himself but 
for a large clientele of other physicians has 
brought him distinction as a specialist in diagnosis 
and radiography. With all due deference to the 
great surgeons and all around physicians, it is to 
be conceded that the ideal diagnostician is the 
highest culmination of the medical art. In diagno- 
sis Doctor Blair has attained enviable rank in 
his profession. At his offices he has on constant 
duty a secretary and a trained nurse and every 
detail of the work is carried out with the utmost 
accuracy. Much of his success is doubtless due to 
his insistence upon thoroughness and efficiency. 
He keeps elaborate records, files and card indexes 
so as to afford every available help to a complete 
record of each individual case. Doctor Blair has 
given his entire life and enthusiasm to his profes- 
•sion and has allowed no outside interests to 
intervene. 

During the summer from July until about 
October each year he continues his regular practice 
at his summer residence at Bethlehem, New Hamp- 
shire, in the White Mountains. Many of his North- 
ern patients seek him out in that retreat. From 
1904 to 1911 he spent the entire summers attend- 
ing lectures and clinics of the larger cities, includ- 
ing Baltimore, Philadelphia, New York, Boston, 
Chicago and Montreal. 

Doctor Blair has become an enthusiastic North 
Carolinian and is a friend and patron of the 
state's best institutions. He is a member of the 
Moore County Medical and North Carolina State 
Medical Societies, being a third vice president of 
the State Medical Society, also a member of the 
Tri-State Medical Society, Southern Medical Asso- 
ciation, American Medical Association and of the 
National Association for the Prevention of Tuber- 
culosis. 

Doctor Blair married Miss Josephyne C. Ander- 
son, of Buffalo, in 1899. They have one daughter, 
Helen Alice Blair, aged nine years. 

Wiley Hampton McGlamert, of Greensboro, is 
an old time railway man, but for the past five 
years has been using his resourcefulness and ex- 
perience to build up large and satisfying connec- 



142 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



tious as one of the distributors of Ford cars in 
this part of the state. 

Mr. MeGlamery was born on a farm in Wilkes 
County, North Carolina, a sou of William A. Me- 
Glamery, a native of the same locality aud grand- 
son of Jesse MeGlamery, who belonged to some of 
the early Scotch-Irish families that located in 
Western North Carolina. Mr. MeGlamery was a 
farmer and probably a lifelong resident of Wilkes 
County. William A. MeGlamery was reared and 
educated in his native county, lived there untd 
about 1895, when he sold his farm and other 
possessions and moved to Clay County. He con- 
tinued farming there a few years, and then went 
to West Asheville, where he has invested in real 
estate and where he continues to reside. He mar- 
ried Elvira Vannoy, a native of Wilkes County and 
daughter of Jesse Vannoy. They reared five chil- 
dren, named Cora, Wiley Hampton, Annie, Benja- 
min and Mack Vannoy. 

Wiley Hampton MeGlamery was educated in the 
district schools of Wilkes County. He also com- 
pleted a course in Hayesville College in Clay 
County, and soon after leaving school he went to 
work with the Southern Railway Company as as- 
sistant to the agent at Murphy in Cherokee County. 
Two years later he was assigned as a telegraph 
operator and clerk at Hendersonville, where he re- 
mained two years, and in October, 1902, came to 
Greensboro as assistant ticket agent for the com- 
pany. In 1907 he was transferred to Raleigh, but 
after nineteen months returned to Greensboro and 
continued in the Southern's service until 1912. 
In January, 1912, Mr. MeGlamery resigned from 
the railroad to engage in the automobile business. 
He has made many friends in Greensboro, has a 
large growing business, and is one of the leading 
distributors of Ford cars in the state. He is a 
member of the Merchants and Manufacturers Club, 
and he and his wife are members of the First 
Baptist Church. 

In September, 1904, he married Miss Annie 
Martin. She was born in Rockingham County, a 
daughter of John D. and Annie ^Dillardj Martin, 
both the Martins and Dillards being old families 
of the state. Mr. and Mrs. MeGlamery have two 
children, Wiley H,, Jr., and Dillard Martin. 

Hugh White McCain, M. D. An accomplished 
physician and surgeon, Doctor McCain, who has 
been a resident of High Point for seven years, is 
one of the best trained and most scientifically ex- 
pert men in his profession in the state. 

A native of North Carolina, he grew up in a 
rural district, attended graded schools at Waxhaw, 
prepared for college at Marshville Academy and 
from there entered the University of North Caro- 
lina, from which he graduated A. B. in 1906. He 
had specialized in science and for two years fol- 
lowing his graduation was a member of the Bio- 
logical staff of the state university. He also began 
the study of medicine there, but completed his 
medicnl training in Jefferson Medical College of 
Philadelphia, where he graduated in 1909. Even 
this thorough preparation did not satisfy him, 
and he remained two years longer at Philadelphia 
as an attendant in the Polyclinic Hospital. Doc- 
tor McCain located in High Point in 1911 and in 
addition to carrying on a general practice has 
been associated since 1914 with Dr. J. T. Burris 
and Dr. D. A. Stanton as proprietors and man- 
agers of the High Point Hospital. They bought 
this property from the Junior Order of United 
American Mechanics, and while it is not one of 



the larger hospitals it is conceded to be one of the 
best equipped institutions of tne kind in the state. 
Doctor -McCain is well known to the profession 
over the state and is a member of the Cuiiford 
Cuunty Medical Society, North Carolina and Tri- 
iState Medical Societies and the American Medical 
Association. 

He was born on a plantation in Jackson Town- 
ship, Union County, North Carolina. His grand- 
father, Hugh McCain, was of Scotch ancestry and 
probably a lile long resident of Union County. 
Col. William Johnson McCain, father of Doctor 
McCain, was a native of Union County and during 
the war was a colonel in the Confederate army. 
Much of the time was spent in detached duty re- 
cruiting and also in looking after deserters. He 
covered a large district extending from Richmond, 
Virginia, to Camden, South Carolina. After the 
war he bought a farm in Jackson Township, Union 
County, and became a man of large business affairs 
there. Besides supervising the cultivation of his 
farm he was a lumber manufacturer, at first operat- 
ing a mill by water power on Cain Creek, and later 
having a portable steam mill. He also had a grist 
and flour mill and cotton gin. His home was on 
his farm until his death at the age of fifty-nine. 
Colonel McCain married Mary Jane Walker, a 
native of Jackson Township and daughter of a 
planter. She is still living at Waxhaw, Union 
County. There were seven children: John Walker, 
Margaret (now deceased), George A., James E., 
William R., Laura J. and Hugh White. 

Doctor McCain married in 1912 Alma Cunning- 
ham. Mrs. McCain was born in Mecklenburg 
County, North Carolina, daughter of Oscar E. and 
Clara (Welborn) Cunningham. Dr. and Mrs. Mc- 
Cain have one daughter, Alma Virginia. They 
are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, and Doctor McCain is affiliated with Numa 
F. Reid Lodge No. 344, Ancient Free and Accented 
Masons, with the Royal Arch Chapter and Knights 
Templar Commandery. 

Charles Jerome Boland is one of the men who 
have risen to substantial position and dignity in 
the cotton mill industry in North Carolina. He 
was born on a farm, was educated in common 
schools and by diligence and close application 
worked his way from one responsibility to another. 

For eleven years he was superintendent of the 
Daisy Hosiery Mills, for three years was superin- 
tendent of tlie Sellers Hosiery Mills, and in 1913 
organized the Southern Hosiery Mills, with a fine 
equipped plant at Burlington. He is secretary and 
treasurer of the company and general manager of 
the business. He is also vice president of the 
Walker Hosiery Company of Burlington. 

Mr. Bolar.d was born in Alamance County, North 
Carolina, February 7, 1884, son of Augustus and 
Catherine (McClure) Boland. On December 21, 
1905. he married Miss Catherine Elizabeth Willis, 
of Alamance County, daughter of Frank P. Willis, 
a blacksmith by trade. Mr. and Mrs. Boland have 
three children. Howard, Willis Gray and Carlton 
Brown. Mr. Boland is a deacon in the Macedonia 
Lutheran Church of Burlington. 

Albert Hubbard Bangert, mayor of Newbern, 
has been prominently and successfully identified 
with that city for many years, and besides his real 
estate business he is practically interested in farm- 
ing and has done much to develop the agricultural 
interests of Craven County. 

Mr. Bangert was born in Newbern August 29, 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



143 



1873, a son of Sebastian and Caroline A. (Jacobs) 
Bangert. His father was for many years engaged 
in the baking business but eventually gave all his 
time and attention to real estate. 

Mayor Bangert had a public school education 
and was also educated in Trinity College at Dur- 
ham. He began his active career associated with 
his father in handling real estate, and is one of the 
best informed judges of realty values and farming 
opportunities in Newbern. Mr. Bangert personally 
owns 1,200 acres of land, and gives much of his 
time to the supervision of the fields and crops. 

He has also been prominent in local politics and 
for fourteen years represented the First Ward in 
the City Council. In 1913 he was elected mayor 
of the city and his first term called for a second, 
and he was re-elected in 1915. He gave the city a 
thoroughly progressive and efficient administration 
of affairs. He is chairman of the Craven County 
democratic committee. 

Mr. Bangert is a Knight Templar Mason and a 
member of Sudan Temple of the Mystic Shrine and 
is also affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective 
Order of Elks. His church is the Methodist Epis- 
copal. 

Eev. Archie Thompson Lindsay is owner and 
president of Linwood College near Gastonia in 
Gaston County and has been actively identified 
with North Carolina educational and church work 
for many years. He is a man of the loftiest 
Christian character, of high ideals in connection 
with school progress and uplift, and has given 
great usefulness and power to his exceptional tal- 
ents. 

Linwood College, of which he is now owner, is 
a school which has contributed to the cultural ad- 
vantages of this section of North Carolina for a 
great many years. It is located in a most beau- 
tiful and picturesque spot at the foot of Crow- 
der 's Mountain in Crowder's Mountain Township, 
six miles from Gastonia, the county seat, and five 
miles from the Town of King 's Mountain. 

The history of the school is briefly stated as 
follows: In 1883 Miss Emily C. Prudden, of Massa- 
chusetts, came to Gaston County, and at the place 
which for years had been known as all Healing 
Springs and had become noted as a health resort 
she founded a private school. A hotel for many 
years was maintained at the springs. For four 
years Miss Prudden continued at the head of the 
school. Subsequently Judge E. C. Jones, a wealthy 
citizen of Minneapolis, who had been coming to 
the All Healing Springs for his health, bought 
the hotel property and also the school. He placed 
in charge of the school as principal Mr. J. A. 
Hampton. The institution was continued under 
the name Jones Seminary, a school for girls, and 
continued about thirteen years. At the end of 
that time the school was leased from Judge Jones 
by the board of home missions of the Associate 
Reformed Presbyterian Church. Rev. A. G. Kirk- 
patriek was then in charge, and he continued the 
school 's president for about three years. In 
1902 the Rev. Mr. Lindsay leased the school from 
the board of home missions and took charge as 
principal and president. A little later he bought 
the building and grounds, and it has since been 
his own property and conducted as a private in- 
stitution. He then renamed the school Linwood 
College. 

Throughout. Mr. Lindsay has made it the policy 
of Linwood College to offer the best of educational 
training and positive Christian environment and 



influences to the young people in the school. It 
is also a school for people of limited means, and 
by its curriculum measures up to the name col- 
lege, since it is not strictly a preparatory or high 
school. Scholarship is emphasized, industry is re- 
warded and there is every encouragement to econ- 
omy and earnest, and thoughtful preparation for 
lives of duty and usefulness. Some of the fads 
and fancies and dissipation of private and fin- 
ishing schools is completely discouraged in this 
institution. Mr. Lindsay sustains a faculty se- 
lected with the greatest of care and including 
teachers of broad and thorough training and cul- 
ture and devoted to their special lines of work. 
Apart from the instruction offered Linwood Col- 
lege has an atmosphere which is ideal for young- 
women. The college is located in a place long 
noted as a health resort, and perhaps no better 
testimony to the healthfulness ot the locality could 
be found than that the school lias never had a 
case of serious illness or a death among the pu- 
pils. 

The school buildings at present comprise three 
large dormitories, a large recitation hall, the presi- 
dent 's residence and other minor buildings. Plans 
are contemplated for increased construction. The 
buildings, together with the beautiful and attrac- 
tive grounds, comprise a spacious and beautiful 
estate, representing a financial investment of over 
$90,000. The springs, formerly known as All 
Healing Springs, and famous for their curative 
properties, in themselves constitute a splendid re- 
source to this valuable property. There are four 
principal springs, one of sulphur, one of manga- 
nese, one of iron, and the all-healing spring, while 
another spring is of finest pure freestone drinking 
water. 

Mr. Lindsay for three years maintained a co- 
educational school, but at the close of the school 
year ending in the spring of 1917 the boys' de- 
partment was dropped, and it is now exclusively 
a school for young women. 

Archie Thompson Lindsay was born at Fayette- 
ville, Tennessee, in 1877, a son of John and Mary 
Frances (Sloan) Lindsay, the father now deceased. 
His parents were of Scotch ancestry and the 
Sloan and Lindsay families were early settlers 
in South Carolina. Mr. Lindsay 's paternal grand- 
father went from Abbeville, South Carolina, to 
Tennessee, in 1826. Though a native of Tennessee 
Mr. Lindsay was educated largely in South Caro- 
lina. He attended the public schools of Fayette- 
ville, and also Erskine College at Due West, South 
Carolina. He was graduated from Erskine with 
the degree A. B. in the class of 1898. and the fall 
and winter of 1898-99 he spent in Erskine Theo- 
logical Seminary. This is the ministerial school 
of the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. 
The school year of 1899-1900 he spent as a stu- 
dent in the theological seminary at Princeton. He 
also did general work in the university proper. 
While there he registered for the course in juris- 
prudence and political economy under Woodrow 
Wilson, then professor of that department, and 
also had work in literature under the eminent Doc- 
tor Van Dyke. 

As already noted, Mr. Lindsay came to Gas- 
ton County in 1901. Besides his work as an edu- 
cator he has been an active and beneficial factor 
in the public life of the county. He is now serv- 
ing as a member of the board of county commis- 
sioners, representing Crowder's Mountain Town- 
ship. He is a member and director of the Gaston 
Countv Chamber of Commerce. 



144 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



He is a regular minister of the Associate Re- 
formed Presbyterian Church, and for thirteen 
years was pastor of Pisgah Church near the col- 
lege. While not now a regular pastor, he conducts 
preaching services at the college every Sabbath. 
Mr. Lindsay married Miss Octavia Louise White- 
law, of Raleigh, North Carolina,. Her three chil- 
dren are Archie Eugene, William Ashley and Janet 
Louise. 

Graham Kenan has won an enviable place at 
the bar of Wilmington. For a number of years 
he has b'een associated in practice with Judge W. 
P. Stacy, who recently was elevated to the Superior 
Court Bench of the Eighth District. 

Mr. Kenan was born November 20, 1883, at 
the old family seat and plantation, Kenansville 
in Duplin County, North Carolina. His parents 
were James Graham and Annie (Hill) Kenan. His 
early home training was such as to encourage him 
in every resolution to make the best of his op- 
portunities, and besides the advantages of the 
public schools and the Horner Military School he 
pursued the regular course in the University of 
North Carolina, where he graduated from the 
literary department in 1904 and from the law 
department in 1905. Coming at once to Wil- 
mington, he engaged in the general practice of 
law with Mr., now Judge, W. P. Stacy. The firm 
were largely interested in corporation work and 
Mr. Kenan is attorney for a number of business 
enterprises and for the past two years has served 
as county attorney for New Hanover County. 

December 18, 1913, he married Miss Sarah Gra- 
ham Kenan, daughter of William Rand and Mary 
(Hargrave) Kenan, of Wilmington. Mr. Kenan 
is a member of the Cape Fear Country Club, the 
Cape Fear Club and the Carolina Yacht Club. He 
is also a member of the Board of Trustees of the 
University of North Carolina. 

William Pinckney Knight, M. D. Twenty- 
years a practicing physician and surgeon, Doctor 
Knight has been identified with several North 
Carolina communities, and his present home and 
the center of his widely radiated practice is White 
Oak Mills in Greensboro. 

Doctor Knight was born on a plantation in New 
Bethel Township of Rockingham County, North 
Carolina, and represents a family that has been 
in North Carolina for four generations. His great- 
grandfather was probably a native of Ireland, 
while his wife was of Scotch birth. The great- 
grandfather was a pioneer in Rockingham County. 
Most of the family records agree that grandfather 
Samuel Knight was born on the old plantation in 
Rockingham County, and he owned and occupied 
a good farm in New Bethel Township of that 
county and spent all his days as an agriculturist. 

Pinckney Knight, father of Doctor Knight, was 
born on the same farm as his son March 22, 1818. 
Reared to farming pursuits, he proceeded to the 
ownership of the plantation, and erected a com- 
plete set of buildings near the house in which 
ne was reared. At the outbreak of the war he 
gave up his business and family interests to enter 
the Confederate Army, and fought four years. At 
the close of the war he returned home and lived on 
the farm, engaged in its quiet routine of duties 
until his death at the age 'of seventy-four. He 
married Tabitha Williams, who was born in the 
same township as her husband, and died at the 
aere of f ortv-eight. She left ei^ht children : Lucy. 
Lindsey, Sallie, John Wesley, Olivia, Or a, William 



Pinckney and Minnie. All these are still living 
except Minnie. The father had three children by 
another marriage, named France, Cicero and 
Rufus, all still living. 

Doctor Knight received his first advantages in 
the rural schools of Rockingham County. He at- 
tended the Oak Ridge Seminary and finally entered 
the Baltimore Medical College, from which he was 
graduated M. D. in 1898. After a year of val- 
uable experience as an interne in the Maryland 
General Hospital he began practice at Saxapah 
in Alamance County, but seven months later re- 
moved to Haw River and was there 3% years. 
Since then he has been located at Greensboro at 
White Oak Mills. Doctor Knight enjoys fellow- 
ship with members of the profession in the Guil- 
ford County and North Carolina Medical Societies. 
He is a stockholder in the North State Milling 
Company. Fraternally he is affiliated with Lodge 
No. 552, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; 
Lodge No. 158, Knights of Pythias ; Buffalo Chap- 
ter No. 202, Junior Order of United American 
Mechanics; and White Oak Camp No. 304, Wood- 
men of the World. He and his wife are members 
of the Buffalo Presbyterian Church. 

Doctor Knight married in 1906 Miss Nellie 
Maude Hendrix. Mrs. Knight was born in Guil- 
ford County, daughter of William Julius and Mollie 
(Cannon) Hendrix. Doctor and Mrs. Knight have 
five children: William, Mildred, Helen, Holt and 
Margaret. 

Hon. Nathaniel Lindsay Eure. A lawyer of 
long and successful practice at Greensboro, Mr. 
Eure has shown much ability and leadership in 
public affairs, and is a former member of the 
Legislature from Guilford County. 

Mr. Eure was born on a plantation in Jackson 
Township, Nash County, North Carolina. His 
great-grandfather was one of the earliest lawyers 
of the North Carolina bar. His grandfather, 
Dempsey Eure, located in Wilson County and 
owned a plantation which was operated with the 
aid of slave labor. He spent his last years there. 
Alfred B. Eure, father of Nathaniel L., was born 
in 1808. Wilson County was probably his birth- 
place. He acquired a very good education, and 
in early life taught school. After his marriage 
he moved to Nash County, bought a plantation in 
Jackson Township, and prior to the war cultivated 
it with his slaves. He lived there until his death 
at the age of sixty-six. He was three times mar- 
ried. By these wives he had fourteen children. 
The third wife, Delilah Finch, whose father was 
Gaston Finch, was born in Nash County and died 
at the age of sixty-six. Her mother was Polly 
(Lindsay) Finch. Her grandfather, Clayborn 
Finch, began life poor but in time became an ex- 
tensive land owner and slave owner. Delilah Finch 
Eure was the mother of six children: Stephen E., 
Hilliard M., Frank F., James B., Delilah and Na- 
thaniel L. Three of the older sons of Alfred B. 
Eure, Gillian P., Elijah and Alfred, were soldiers 
in the Confederate army and the last two died 
while in service. 

Nathaniel L. Eure attended Stanhope and Mount 
Pleasant academies, Oak Ridge Institute, and for 
three years was in the literary department of Uni- 
versity College. North Carolina. He also studied 
law at the college, and in 1899 was licensed to 
practice. After two years at Nashville he came 
to Greensboro, and has been steadily gaining 
favor and many of the important rewards of the 
successful lawyer in this city. He served two 



HISTORY OlP NORTH CAROLINA 



145 



terms as judge of the Municipal Court, and repre- 
sented Guilford County in the Legislature in 
1915. 

In 1914 Judge Eure married Annie Elizabeth 
Preyer. Mrs. Eure was born in Cleveland, Ohio, 
daughter of Robert O. and Ellen (Yost) Preyer. 
Her paternal grandfather was a native of Ger- 
many, was well educated and was a man of con- 
siderable wealth. Her maternal grandfather, Rev. 
William Yost, also of Germany ancestry, is a min- 
ister of the Evangelical Church and is still active 
at the age of eighty-seven. Mr. and Mrs. Eure 
are members of the West Market Street Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Judge Eure is a member of its 
official board. He is prominent in the Junior Or- 
der of United American Mechanics, being a mem- 
ber of Greensboro Council No. 13, has served as 
chancellor, as chancellor of the State Council and 
as representative to the National Council. 

Lafayette Monroe Pharr, a retired resident of 
Wilkesboro, is a veteran Confederate soldier and 
has had a long and active career in this part of 
North Carolina. 

He was born on a farm a mile south of Rocky 
River Church in Cabarrus County, North Carolina, 
May 10, 1845. His grandfather, Robert Pharr, was 
a descendant of one of seven brothers, natives of 
Wales, who came to America in colonial times and 
whose descendants are now found in many states 
of the Union. Robert Pharr owned a plantation in 
Cabarrus County adjoining Rocky River and had 
slaves to cultivate his land. He married a Miss 
Kimons, and both lived to a good old age. 

Harvey Hugh Pharr, father of Lafayette M., 
was born also in Cabarrus County, in 1818, and 
became a fanner on land given him by his father. 
He added to its domain and remained a planter 
in his native county until his death at the age of 
fifty-five. He married Johanna Davis, who was 
born in the same county and died there at the age 
of fifty-three. Their three children were Lafayette 
M., Mary and Zimri. 

Lafayette M. Pharr grew up on the old farm 
and at the age of sixteen enlisted in Company H 
of the Seventh Regiment, North Carolina Troops. 
He saw some active service in the eastern part of 
the state, including the battle of Newbern. He 
then accompanied the regiment to Virginia, where 
on account of his youth and size he was discharged 
from the army. In the spring of 1862 he enlisted 
again, in Captain Dixon 's company of the Thirty- 
third North Carolina Troops, and saw another three 
months of active service in Virginia before he was 
given an honorable discharge. In 1863 he enlisted 
for the third time, now in Company C of the Tenth 
Battalion of Artillery, and was with that regiment 
in all of its movements until the close of the war. 
When hostilities ended he was stationed at High 
Point, North Carolina. 

After this meritorious service as a soldier Mr. 
Pharr engaged in farming on his father's land 
and in 1867 bought a place nearby. After a year 
his father gave him a plantation on Caldwell's 
Creek, but in 1870 he and his father exchanged 
farms and he returned to the old homestead, operat- 
ing it until 1889. He then sold out and removed 
to Wilkesboro, where he engaged in the livery busi- 
ness for a number of years. He also bought a 
farm near the town, but kept his home in the city. 
Mr. Pharr has done much to develop his land and 
on his mountain farm has an orchard of upwards 
of 600 trees. 



In 1868 he married Miss Lucretia Kirkpatrick. 
She was born on a farm adjoining the Pharr 
homestead, daughter of L. Curtis Kirkpatrick. 
Her death occurred in 1872. For his second wife 
Mr. Pharr married Flora Belle Welborn, who was 
born in Wilkesboro February 22, 1856, member of 
an old and prominent family. Her father was 
Elisha M. Welborn and her grandfather, Joseph 
Welborn, both natives of Randolph County. Mr. 
and Mrs. Pharr reared five children, named Lois 
Mabel, Welborn E., Renn Bynum, Lillian F. and 
Maude. The sons Welborn E. and Renn Bynum 
are now publishers of the Hustler, a semi-weekly 
paper at North Wilkesboro. Mr. Pharr is an 
active member and vice commander of his camp 
of United Confederate Veterans. 

Francis Clyde Dunn. Some men have it in 
them to develop their abilities in proportion to 
their opportunities and to grow in power with 
their years and increasing responsibilities. Such 
a man is Francis Clyde Dunn of Kinston. While 
a member of one of the good and substantia) 
families of Lenoir County, his early beginnings 
in commercial life were humble enough, and it 
was rather by the diligent application he made 
to his routine duties than to any influential con- 
nections that he rose to success and prominence. 

He was born at Kinston May 29, 1872. His 
parents were William Walter and Susan (Round- 
tree) Dunn and were farming people of Lenoir 
County. Mr. Dunn attended the public schools of 
Kinston and also the University of North Caro- 
lina, and after leaving college spent a year on a 
farm. Going to New York City, he sought oppor- 
tunity in the commercial life of the metropolis 
and was employed a year as a bookkeeper. On re- 
turning to Kinston he took a position with the 
Orion Knitting Mills, and was soon promoted to 
shipping clerk and then to bookkeeper. 

In 1898 Mr. Dunn was one of the organizers of 
the Kinston Cotton Mills and its first secretary. 
In 1901 he organized the Lenoir Oil and Ice Com- 
pany, and has since been secretary, treasurer and 
general manager and is now president of the com- 
pany. His interests have grown rapidly in the past 
fifteen years. In 1902 he became one of the or- 
ganizers of the Chesterfield Manufacturing Com- 
pany at Petersburg, Virginia, served six years as 
secretary and is still on its board of directors. He 
is a director of the Orion Knitting Mills, and was 
one of the two most active in the organization 
of the Caswell Cotton Mills of Kinston. This 
company was organized in 1907, and the plant is 
now one of Kinston 's best known industries. Mr. 
Dunn has been treasurer and a director of the 
mills since they were established. He is also 
a director of the Kinston Insurance and Realty 
Company, director of the Caswell Banking and 
Trust Company, president of the Kinston Fair 
Association, and a director of the Chamber of 
Commerce. Fraternally he has been very active 
in both Masonry and Odd Fellowship. He has 
membership in the Lodge, Chapter, Council and 
Commandery, and also the Mystic Shrine. He is 
a charter member of both the local lodge and 
encampment of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, is a past noble grand, ?md is past grand 
representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge. He 
and his family are members of the Christian 
Church. 

Mr. Dunn was married July 22. 1903, to Miss 
Ida Ellison of Washington, North Carolina. They 



Vol. VI -10 



146 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



have four children: Francis Ellison, Susan Eliza- 
beth, Isabelle Loeb and William Clyde. 

Benjamin Franklin Aycock, of Fremont, 
where he has recently taken up the practice of law 
and has distinguished himself thus early in his 
professional career, is a son of the late Benjamin 
Franklin Aycock, Sr., who was a prominent figure 
in North Carolina, serving ten years as state 
senator and as a member of the Corporation Com- 
mission from 1908 until his death on April 26, 
1910. Senator Aycock was also a farmer. He 
married Sallie Farmer, and to their union Benja- 
min Franklin Aycock, Jr., was born June 17, 1893. 

The latter was well educated in the grammar 
and high schools and entering the University of 
North Carolina he finished the academic course 
and graduated in 1914 and continued his studies 
in the law department. He was admitted to prac- 
tice in August, 1916, and has since been located 
at Fremont. At Fremont he was a member of 
the school board, is a member in good standing 
of the Wayne County and North Carolina Bar 
associations, and elected mayor of Fremont in 
May, 1917. He enlisted in the army in September, 
1917, and at present is serving at Camp Greene, 
North Carolina, in the Quartermaster Corps. 

M. Luther Matthews, M. D. While he re- 
sponded to the demands made upon him as a gen- 
eral practitioner in medicine and surgery for a 
number of years, Doctor Matthews since locating 
at Sanford in Lee County has given his exclusive 
attention to his specialty as a physician and sur- 
geon of the eye, ear, nose and throat. Doctor 
Matthews is one of the leading specialists of this 
kind in the state, and so ranks not only in his 
home community but among the profession gen- 
erally. 

Doctor Matthews was born at East Bend in 
Yadkin County, North Carolina, in 1874. son of 
Dr. Joseph M. and Mildred ("Davis) Matthews. 
The Matthews family has lived in Yadkin County 
for more than 100 years, and is of English 
origin. Dr. Joseph Matthews, who is now retired 
from active practice and lives at Cameron in 
Moore County, was born in Yadkin County in 1849. 
He is a graduate of the medical department of the 
University of Tennessee at Nashville, and after 
that practiced his profession for about twenty 
years at East Bend and for a period of ten years 
at Mount Pleasant in Cabarrus County. From 
Cabarrus County he came to Cameron. He was one 
of the early patrons and later the principal in 
charge of the old Union High School at East Bend. 
This was an historic educational institution of 
Western North Carolina, and a school that in its 
early years attracted students from all over the 
South. Dr. M. Luther Matthews himself was a 
student and a teacher in this school, so that the 
institution is one of peculiar interest and attach- 
ment to the Matthews family. 

Dr. Luther Matthews was reared at East Bend 
and from Union High School entered Trinity Col- 
lege, where he remained a student one year. Fol- 
lowing that he taught three years in Union High 
School and in the Wilkesboro Seminary, and event- 
ually entered the Medical College of Virginia at 
Richmond, where he spent two years, and finished 
his medical studies in the University of North 
Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he was graduated 
with the class of 1903. 

The next four years Doctor Matthews had a busy 
practice at his old home town of East Bend. In 



1907 he moved to Cameron in Moore County, and 
was soon established in a growing and profitable 
practice, which he continued until January 17, 
1918. At that date he came to Sanford in Lee 
County and has since offered his services only in 
his special line as an eye, ear, nose and throat 
specialist. For this branch of his proiession he 
had gradually been preparing himself by indi- 
vidual experience and also by post-graduate work 
at Tulane University in New Orleans and other 
medical centers. He is a member of the Lee and 
Moore Counties Medical Societies, the Medical So- 
ciety of North Carolina and the Americal Medical 
Association. 

Did he not enjoy such high rank in his profes- 
sion Doctor Matthews would be regarded as a 
highly useful citizen because of his interests as a 
farmer. He grew up on a farm, and he has trans- 
lated the experience of his boyhood into a perma- 
nent and abiding interest in all things agricul- 
tural. The success he has enjoyed as a physician 
has enabled him to take numerous opportunities to 
acquire good farms and farming lands. For some 
years past he has raised besides the staple crops 
of cotton from 300 to 500 bushels of corn yearly. 
In partnership with Mr. Poindexter he owns a 
farm of 523 acres in Lee County not far from Cam- 
eron, and they have in Moore County a farm of 
128 acres. Individually Doctor Matthews has a 
farm of 245% acres in Moore County and another 
tract of seventy-one acres and one of twenty-five 
acres close to Cameron. In encouraging and super- 
vising the productive enterprise on this land he 
is doing his part as a patriotic citizen. 

His success in his profession and the substantial 
resources he has accumulated in land and various 
business interests have been achieved through his 
own efforts, hard work and intelligence. Doctor 
Matthews began life with no money whatever, and 
paid all his expenses while in college. It was for 
this reason that he was not prepared for practice 
until nearly thirty years old. Doctor Matthews 
now owns valuable business and residence prop- 
erty in Cameron and at Sanford he has a home on 
what is called the best resident site in the city. 
He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and is a member of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, South. 

Doctor Matthews married Miss Ruth Huff, 
daughter of Mr. J. G. Huff of East Bend in Yad- 
kin County. They are the parents of four chil- 
dren : Ernestine, Olivia, Ellen and John Martin. 

Thomas Fletcher Bulla, superintendent of 
schools for Randolph County, has won a deservedly 
high place in educational affairs, and his work in 
directing and supervising the schools of Randolph 
County has received much commendation both at 
home and in other quarters of the state. 

His own personal career is a reflection of a very 
sturdy and splendid ancestry, his lineage running 
back into the colonial days of North Carolina. He 
is directly descended from Thomas Bulla, who was 
born in England and came to America, where he 
spent the rest of his years in Pennsylvania. He 
married a Quakeress in Pennsylvania, and a num- 
ber of generations of the family were identified 
with the Friends Church, and that religious con- 
nection no doubt influenced some of their migra- 
tions. Thomas Bulla, Jr., a son of the first Amer- 
ican of the name, was a native of Pennsylvania, 
and was a colonial settler in North Carolina. His 
location was in what afterwards became known 
as Browns Cross Roads, close to where Randolph 




>^./^^i^> 



HISTORY OP NORTH CAROLINA 



147 



County 's first courthouse was located. In that 
locality he was a man of industry and quiet lead- 
ership. He married Hester Widows, who survived 
him and late in life removed with a son to In- 
diana, where she spent her last years in Wayne 
County and died when upwards of ninety years 
of age. Her remains are buried in the family 
cemetery on the bank of the Elkhorn Eiver. 

Her son, Daniel Bulla, great-grandfather of 
Professor Bulla, was born in Pennsylvania in 1782. 
He succeeded to the ownership of the old Bulla 
homestead in Randolph County, but about 1834 
sold that and like many other North Carolina set- 
tlers of the time, especially Quakers, started for 
Indiana. In the absence of railroads he and his 
family made the journey with teams and wagons, 
carrying their household goods and other pos- 
sessions with them. After about a year in the 
Hoosier state he returned and bought back the 
homestead farm, where he was content to live the 
rest of his days. He was a man of good educa- 
tion for his time. This education has an interest- 
ing memorial in a diary which he kept as a record 
of his daily experiences during his trip to and from 
Indiana. In that book he chronicled the princi- 
pal events of the trip, telling of cost of provisions, 
weather conditions, state of roads, distance trav- 
eled each day, and many other items, all of which 
has not a little interest for his descendants. This 
cherished log of the family trip to Indiana is care- 
fully preserved by Professor Bulla. Daniel Bulla 
married Sally Cunningham. Both are at rest in 
the family cemetery in Back Creek Township of 
Randolph County. Their children were named 
Archibald, Alexander, Calvin, Chesterfield, Daniel, 
Alfred, Xantippe and Sarah. Archibald and Alex- 
ander both became physicians, the former holding 
various places of trust and responsibility in pub- 
lic life, while the latter practiced at Jackson Hill 
in Davidson County. 

Calvin Bulla, who represents the next generation 
of the family, was born in Back Creek Township 
of Randolph County in 1816. He acquired a farm 
in that township, and made it his home the rest 
of his days. He died at the age of fifty-five. He 
married Linda Wade, who was born in Back Creek 
Township, daughter of James and Mary (Milli- 
kan) Wade. She survived her husband many 
years, passing away at the age of eighty-four. 
Both were members of the Methodist Protestant 
Church. Their seven children were named Daniel 
Webster, Haywood, Benjamin Franklin, John M., 
Mary Jane, Parthenia and Louetta. 

Professor Bulla's father was Benjamin F. 
Bulla, who was born in Back Creek Township in 
1854. He occupies his father's homestead and 
for many years has lived there cultivating his 
crops and performing all the duties of the public 
spirited citizen. He married Harriet Ann Redding, 
who was born on a farm three miles west of Ash- 
boro. daughter of Thomas and Louisa (Steed) 
Redding and granddaughter of Jonathan Redding, 
who was a farmer and lifelong resident of Ran- 
dolph County and died at the age of eighty-six, 
while his wife passed away at eighty-two. Thomas 
and Louisa Redding had four children, named 
Harriet Ann, Martha J., William Franklin and 
Jennie. The children of Benjamin F. Bulla and 
wife bore the names Louetta, Mattie, T. Fletcher, 
William Ogburn, Franklin M., Calvin E., Mary 
Wade, Dewey C. and Kate. 

Thomas Fletcher Bulla has been directly asso- 
ciated nearly all his life with schools and institu- 
tions of learning either as a scholar or as a 
teacher. From rural schools he entered Liberty 



Normal at Liberty, North Carolina, and in 1911 
graduated from Guilford College. After leaving 
college he was for two years an instructor in the 
Woodland Academy in Wayne County, but in 

1913 was elected superintendent of schools in 
Randolph County, and has held that position by 
re-election ever since. He is a member of the 
North Carolyia Teachers' Association and in 1914- 
15 was secretary of the Randolph County Histori- 
cal Society. He is a member of the Methodist 
Protestant Church, while his wife is a Friend. In 

1914 Mr. Bulla joined the State Militia and was 
commissioned captain, but resigned in 1916. 

May 1, 1916, he married Miss Mary Lamb, a 
native of Guilford County and daughter of Shu- 
bel and Prudence Lamb. Mr. and Mrs. Bulla 
have one son, Thomas Fletcher, Jr. 

Oscar Carroll Daniels. One of the leading 
specialists in eye, ear, nose and throat in North 
Carolina is Doctor Daniels of Goldsboro. He took 
his general medical degree from the Medical Col- 
lege of Virginia in 1903, practiced along general 
lines for a number of years, but since coming to 
Goldsboro in July, 1913, has confined his attention 
to diseases of the eye, ear, nose and throat, in 
which he has won well deserved reputation as a 
specialist. Doc-tor Daniels did post-graduate work 
in the New York Post Graduate School in 1913 
and again in 1916. 

Doctor Daniels was born in Pamlico County, 
North Carolina, January 2, 1881, a son of Paul 
Jones and Mollie E. (Small) Daniels. His father 
was a farmer and Doctor Daniels grew up on the 
farm but had good advantages both of public and 
private schools. Before coming to Goldsboro he 
did general practice at Oriental in Pamlico 
County. 

He is a member of the Wayne County and State 
Medical Societies and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. At Goldsboro he is a member of the Al- 
gonquin Club. 

Doctor Daniels was married October 6, 1904, to 
Miss Jessie Holdeman, of Staunton, Virginia. 
They are the parents of one child, Oscar Carroll, 
Jr., born July 5, 1911. 

Hartwell S. Poole. One of the representa- 
tive men of Montgomery County, Hartwell S. 
Poole, farmer and banker, needs no formal intro- 
duction to the people of this section, for the whole 
of his busy life has been passed in his native 
section of the state. He was born about two miles 
southwest of Jackson Springs in Montgomery 
County, North Carolina, in 1862. His parents 
were Hartwell S. and Eliza (Harris) Poole, and 
his maternal grandfather was Roland Harris. Both 
families are old ones in the state and in earlier 
days were in affluent circumstances. The Pooles 
originated in England and came to Montgomery 
Comity from Virginia about 1815. After the death 
of the elder Hartwell S. Poole, the three children 
left fatherless were taken to the home of the grand- 
father. 

On account of the disorganized condition of the 
country and the paralysis of many of its indus- 
tries, Hartwell S. Poole in boyhood had fewer op- 
portunities and advantages than he was entitled to. 
His grandfather was a farmer and the youth 
learned the principles of agriculture on the home 
place and look interest in his work, having a 
natural inclination in that direction. Although his 
opportunities were meager, he was a young man of 
energy and enterprise and when he found him- 



148 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



self, at the age of twenty-six years, possessed 
of a capital of $100 he determined to venture it 
all in a farm of his own. In January, 1888, he 
invested this capital in twenty -seven acres on a 
high plateau in Montgomery County. The story 
of his progress is well worth telling. In 1889 he 
and his wife moved into a. little log hut on the 
property, taking with them several head of cattle 
and one mule, and that year Mr. Poole put up a 
barn. Through personal labor with a little help he 
cleared ten acres of his land and on this he planted 
cow peas, thus introducing the necessary nitrogen 
into the soil, and followed with corn and cotton, 
oats and wheat, but for three years reaped no 
real profit from his farm. In the meanwhile lie had 
the assistance of his admirable wife and under her 
care the garden and poultry yard supplied a large 
part of the food. Mr. Poole continued his scientific 
methods with his land and within three years he 
estimated that he had increased its value five times 
over. He kept wide awake to every opportunity 
to increase his income and found one source in 
' ' running turpentine. ' ' 

By this time Mr. Poole's hardest days were over 
and from then on until the present his farming op- 
erations have been important and profitable. He 
now owns 352 acres, which highly improved farm 
is situated eight miles from Candor, a little east 
of south and about half way between Jackson 
Springs and Norman, and it is valued at many 
thousands of dollars. Mr. Poole has been methodi- 
cal and scientific in his farming operations and 
his success is most gratifying. He still manages 
his farm industries but has widened his other 
activities and each day during business hours he 
may be found in the bank at Candor, of which he 
is cashier. He has become one of the substantial 
men of his county and in considering his well 
directed efforts all along the way one is forcibly 
impressed with the fact that in any career, indus- 
try, perseverance and sn open mind are most 
helpful factors. Mr. Poole is naturally regarded 
by his neighbors in the light of an expert and on 
all matters concerning soil production his advice is 
eagerly sought. He is farm demonstrator for 
three counties, Moore, Montgomery and Richmond, 
called the Sand Hill Section, and was appointed 
by the Federal Government. 

Mr. Poole was married to Miss Sarah McLeod, 
who is a daughter of John A. McLeod. of Mont- 
gomery County, a family well known and respected 
here that can trace a sturdy Scotch-Irish oriein. 
Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Poole, as follows: Clarence P., Julian H.. Clifton 
A.. Herbert G., Shelton P., Marshall O., Elma N., 
Melvin C. and Jeannette E. To the World war 
Mr. and Mrs. Poole have contributed three noble 
young men, a sacrifice laid on the altar of patri- 
otism. One of these, Julian H., is a second lieu- 
tenant, and another, Clifton A., is a sergeant in 
the medical corps in the United States army. Mr. 
and Mrs. Poole are members of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church. 

Maxcy Luther John. In the field of general 
law one of the most eminent fieures of the bar 
of Southern North Carolina during 1 the past quar- 
ter of a century is Mnxev Luther John of Laurin- 
burg - . Mr. John has fairlv earned his position in 
the law, and during twenty-five years of practice 
has been a faithful conserver of all the interests 
confided to his care and fine judgment, thus estab- 
lishing a career that is deserving of more than 
a temporary place in the history of the bar. His 



standing as a citizen is firm and broad and he has 
l>een a progressive and prominent factor in public 
life. 

Mr. John was born in 1866, in Marlboro County, 
South Carolina, and is a son of James Thomas 
and Margaret MacRea John, both now deceased. 
The great-grandfather of Maxcy L. John, Griffith 
John, was one of three brothers who came from 
their native Wales to America, first settling in 
Pennsylvania, from whence Griffith John and a 
brother went to Mecklenburg County, North Caro- 
lina, prior to the Revolutionary war. Later mem- 
bers of the family moved to Marlboro County, 
South Carolina, where, in 1825, was born Capt. 
James Thomas John, the father of Maxcy L. John. 
He was a son of Daniel and Mary (Spears) John, 
raid was a captain of militia in Marlboro County, 
but when the war between the states came on 
enlisted in the regular Confederate army as a 
private. He was in all branches of the service, 
first in the heavy artillery on the coast, then in 
the light artillery, and subsequently in the cavalry 
and infantry. At the close- of the war he had 
risen to the rank of lieutenant, and as such had 
acted in the capacity of captain of his company, 
and after his first service in the heavy artillery 
the remainder of his service was in Virginia. All 
of those who knew him in the army accorded him 
a high place as a brave and efficient soldier and 
officer. After the war, in 1866, he located in what 
is now Scotland County, then a part of Richmond 
County. North Carolina, not a great distance from 
his former home in Marlboro County, South Caro- 
lina. The place where he located is at what has 
since been known as John, which is now a station 
on the Atlantic Coast Line in the southeastern part 
of Scotland County. His wife's estate embraced 
a large body of unimproved land in that vicinity, 
and for the next few years Captain John was 
busily engaged in clearing and putting consider- 
able tracts of this rich land in cultivation. He 
became one of the largest and most successful 
farmers in this section of the state, and a man of 
wealth and influence, as well as a most valuable 
and valued citizen. He was particularly generous 
in the education of his children, who received the 
best of college and professional training. His 
death occurred in 1910. His wife, to whom he was 
married in 1856, was before her marriage Miss 
Margaret MacRae, a member of one of the old 
Scotch families of this section of North Carolina. 
Besides Maxcy Luther, the following sons were in 
the family: Dr. Peter John, of Laurinburg, a 
prominent physician and surgeon, a graduate of 
the University of North Carolina and of the medi- 
cal department of the University of Maryland, 
with extensive hospital experience; Hon. Henry 
M. John, of Lumber Bridge, North Carolina, a 
large farmer and an ex-member of the North 
Carolina Legislature; Rev. Dr. R. B. John, a 
Methodist minister, who has occupied a number of 
important positions as a minister and a presiding 
elder, and who on December 1, 1916, became presi- 
dent by unanimous choice of the Carolina College 
for Women, at Maxton ; and J. T. John, who lives 
at the old place at John Station and is a promi- 
nent farmer, merchant and millman. 

Maxcy Luther John was prepared for college at 
Laurinburg, in the famous school conducted by the 
late William Graham Quackenbush. and then en- 
tered the University of North Carolina, from 
which he was graduated with the degree of Bache- 
lor of Philosophy in 1888. Following this he 
taught school for three years and then took the law 
course in the University of North Carolina, grad- 




^7^-^/Vv^-?^^ 



HISTORY OF NORTH CAROLINA 



149 



uating in the law department in 1892. He began 
the practice of his profession that year at Laurin- 
burg and has continued to be one of the most 
successful lawyers in this part of the state and 
ranking with its leaders. He was very thorough 
as a student, and this characteristic has dominated 
the practice of his profession, his law library 
being one of the largest and most comprehensive 
to be found in this part of the state. Mr. John 
has been three times county superintendent of 
schools of Scotland County and three times mayor 
of Laurinburg. As mayor he was active in en- 
forcing the law and maintaining law and order, 
in encouraging civic betterment, as an exponent 
of clean and efficient government, and as a pro- 
moter of pubbc-spirited movements for the growth 
and development of the town. 

Mr. John married Miss Lila Hamilton Bell, of 
Mocksville, North Carolina, daughter of Dr. W. 
M. and (Martin) Bell, and grand- 
daughter of Dr. J. F. Martin, of Mocksville, a 
distinguished man of his day and one whose name 
appears prominently in the history of North Caro- 
lina. He was a surgeon in the Confederate service 
during the war between the states, and for several 
years was the head of a notable medical college 
at Mocksville. Mrs. John is also descended from 
Sallie Johnson Lanier, who was the half sister of 
the mother of George Washington. Mrs. John is 
a graduate of Peace Institute. She and Mr. John 
have three children: Prank Bell, Mary and Mar- 
garet MacRae John. 

Colonel L. W. Humphrey.- Of the names that 
meant most to the life and destiny of North Caro- 
lina during the last half of the nineteenth cen- 
tury that of Colonel L. W. Humphrey is one that 
deserves long and distinguished memory. He was 
a lawyer, a gallant soldier, a public leader of 
power, influence, broad views, disinterested mo- 
tives and noble patriotism. The name Humphrey 
means ' ' protector of the home. ' ' 

He was descended from old English ancestry. 
The Humphrey family is reputed to be of Danish 
origin, but intermarried with the Normans, and 
went to England with William the Conqueror. The 
family long flourished in Devonshire, England. 

The record of the family's settlement in Onslow 
County, North Carolina, has not been accurately 
kept. The county was represented in the Assembly 
of the state in 1812 by Lotte Humphrey and nine 
years later by W. D. Humphrey. Colonel Hum- 
phrey 's grandfather was Daniel W. Humphrey, 
while his father was Williams Humphrey. Wil- 
liams Humphrey had four sons and two daughters, 
Williams, Daniel, Indiana, Ann, Edgar and Lotte. 
Indiana Humphrey married Dr. John Shackelford 
of Greensboro, and their son John Williams 
Shackelford, was a member of Congress when he 
died January 18, 1883. Ann married Maj. George 
Ward of Jacksonville, North Carolina. 

Lotte Williams Humphrey, the youngest of these 
six children, was born at the home of his parents 
near Richlands in Onslow County June 30, 1830. 
With superior advantages in early life his train- 
ing brought out his best powers and capabilities. 
He early gave promise of his career of usefulness 
and public life, and in 1854 was elected as a 
democrat from Onslow County to the State House 
of Commons. In that House he was associated 
with many distinguished North Carolinians, and in 
the following session he voted for the constitu- 
tional amendment enlarging the electorate for 
mem hers of the Senate by removing the freehold 



requirement for qualification. At the same time 
another figure came into North Carolina's public 
life, Zebulon B. Vance, representing the whig 
party. Vance and Humphrey, representing differ- 
ent parties and different sections of the state, were 
for a long period of years opposing forces in state 
polities, and their relations developed many mat- 
ters of conflict and antagonism. After his first 
term Mr. Humphrey was re-elected without oppo- 
sition. 

In 1856 he married Miss Rebecca G. Bradley, 
daughter of Dr. John Bradley of Onslow County. 
He studied law under Chief Justice Richmond M. 
Pearson at Richmond Hill in Yadkin County. Re- 
ceiving his license in 1857-58, he opened his office 
and soon found himself engaged in a lucrative 
practice. 

In August, 1858, he was elected to the State 
Senate. In the Senate he became chairman of 
the committee on corporations, in charge of the 
charters of all cities and towns and incorporations 
of all railroads. He was also a member of the 
committee on the deaf and dumb asylum, and of 
the committee on public buildings. 

Amid the turmoil of politics in the year 1860 
Mr. Humphrey was again chosefh senator from his 
district. With his varied legislative experience he 
now was acknowledged as a leader in the Senate. 
He was again made chairman of the committee on 
corporations and was appointed chairman of the 
committee to investigate the charges against the 
management of the Atlantic and North Carolina 
Railroad. He stood with Governor Ellis in the 
latter 's recommendation that North Carolina 
should make adequate preparations for defense in 
view of probable hostilities between the North and 
South. He actively supported the proposition for 
a convention to consider the subject of secession, 
and gave his closest attention to all the grave 
questions that came before the Assembly during 
the year 1860. 

After returning from the special ses