(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of Northfield, New Hampshire, 1780-1905. In two parts with many biographical sketches and portraits; also pictures of public buildings and private residences"

m&&^ 









'ci 



li 



9'r4.Ka - 







.'^>ii;^c^ 






















^1^^ 



''-fi<>^^-^^^ 






""■•■^> 



a^.\ 












=y.fe 



f"^- 



rfv. 



'msr;^.^ 






:w 



ai->i< 



.^i.' 



?^c 



%^ 'r.2;;^^l'*W. ^^ 



3^^ ,. 



<l 






<Ly 




LUCY R. H. CROSS. 



History of Northfield 

NEW HAMPSHIRE 
1780-1905 

IN TWO PARTS 

WITH MANY 

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES AND PORTRAITS 

ALSO 

PICTURES OF PUBLIC BUILDINGS 

AND 

PRIVATE RESIDENCES 



PART I 

BY 

LUCY R. H. CROSS 



CONCORD, N. H. 

RuMFORD Printing Co. 
1905 . 






N~ 



a. 



INTRODUCTION. 



9 



The citizens of Northfield, at their annual meeting March, 
1904, were considering the matter of publishing a history of the 
tOAvn. Mr. Obe G. IMorrison was present and, with a letter in 
hand from Mr. E. G. Morrison of Lowell, tendered to the town 
an unconditional gift of $500 in which they equally shared. Fol- 
lowing this, the town voted to loan a committee chosen for the 
purpose the sum of $700, and thus the present volume was 
assured. 

A committee of 15, consisting of Major 0. C. Wyatt, Jeremiah 
E. Smith, 0. G. IMorrison, Mrs. E. G. Morrison, Gawn E. Gorrell, 
Mrs. Joseph Hill, Kate Forrest, A. B. Winslow, Anna E. Wyatt, 
W. S. Hills, Frank Shaw, Byron Shaw, Lewis Haines and Kate 
Hills was appointed. This committee organized, later, with 
Major Wyatt as chairman, Kate Forrest, secretary, and W. S. 
Hills, treasurer. Mr. Smith, I\Irs. Hills, G. E. Gorrell and Kate 
OJ Forrest, 0. G. and Mrs. E. G. Morrison were chosen for the 
•^, executive committee. Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross was unanimously 
chosen to prepare the history and other sub-connnittees named. 
Mr. Haines dying, his daughter, i\Iiss Ida Haines, was chosen to 
fill his place. A. B. Winslow being, unable to serve, his place 
was filled by Mrs. Alice Corliss. 

The work was at once entered upon with the expectation of 
issuing the book on the 125th anniversary of the organization of 
the town, June 17, 1905. This was later changed to Old Home 
Week, at- which time, though the work w^as unfinished, a good 
exhibit of the advance sheets and illustrations was made. 

The work received the hearty support of the whole town and 
both historian and the several committees have met nothing but 
generous interest and sympathy in the prosecution of their ardu- 
ous task. The publication, after suitable investigation, was 
awarded to the Rumford Printing Company of Concord, whose 
reputation was ample guaranty of prompt and satisfactory ser- 
vice. j\Iiss Kate F. Hills, whose death was a great loss to the 
' enterprise, was charged with the sale of the books and had the 
matter well in hand. It now appears fresh for the holidays, 
having had a very generous advance sale. 



5> 



AUTHOR'S PREFACE. 



The desire to perpetuate the noble deeds of one's forefathers 
is well-nigh universal. It is not limited to any society, nor is it 
peculiar to such peoples only as have a written language. 

The Indians, knowing nothing of letters, recounted, in their 
own peculiar ways, the exploits of their braves, and tradition 
did for them what history does for enlightened people. It has 
long been felt that those who love their homes and revere the 
memory of those gone before should arrange memorials of them 
in some way worthy of preservation. Hence the photographer's 
task and the painter's skill; hence the gravestone, state, county 
and national records; hence the well-worn leaves in the old 
family Bible, and numberless other schemes to hand down to 
posterity the story of well-used talents, opportunities, industry, 
energy and enterprise. 

It is the part of wisdom, too, that each generation should make 
its own record, leave its own reputation and its example as its 
own peculiar legacy to posterity, since it is no easy matter to 
enter into the labors of others and display them in proper spirit 
to men of other times and other modes of thought and conduct. 

The writing of a single family history may seem a simple 
affair. It was a happy thought of one, who knew whereof he 
spoke, that "The historian must needs launch his canoe on the 
wide stream of the present and persistently urge it up the stream 
to its primitive and distant sources." How tiresome a task at 
the best only such can know as have tried to breast the current 
and scale the fall. I will carry the figure no further; if one 
thinks the task an easy one he has but to make a single effort 
to be disillusioned. 

Prior to 1880, the year of our Centennial, the history of North- 
field lay scattered in the town record books, old deeds of property, 
records of the courts, the memories of aged people and the 
traditions handed down from the lips of the departed. To col- 
lect and arrange these has been to me a pleasant task, in spite of 
the delays of dilatory correspondents and mistakes that came 
unavoidably from the uncertain memories of the old. It has 
been my aim to record only reliable data and proven facts. 



vi author's preface. 

I have made little attempt at fine -writing or rhetorical em- 
bellishment, or to climb the heights on gradations of pompous 
climaxes, or to please the ear with successions of sweet and 
sonorous syllables. Doubtless important matters have been over- 
looked, but such has not been our aim. Personal feelings and 
prejudices have been laid aside and your historian and her faith- 
ful reviewers, to whom credit is equally due if this work 
possesses aught of value, have sought faithfully to discharge 
their whole duty, the most embarrassing part of which has 
been the suppression of facts that might wound the feelings of 
readers or hurt the reputation of our dear old town. It has 
been only in very general terms that opinions or facts, other 
than favorable, have been expressed. 

Recognition must be given, in behalf of the town and each of 
the committee personally, for the generous and unconditional 
gift of 0. G. and E. G. Morrison, which made this work possible. 
Your historian desires personally to acknowledge her indebted- 
ness of Prof. Lucian Hunt, our Centennial orator; to the val- 
uable work of Rev. ]M. T. Runnells, the Sanbornton historian, 
as well as the able histories of other and adjoining towns; also 
to the numberless friends scattered far and near, who have so 
promptly and sweetly given of their valuable time and knowl- 
edge. 

Our thanks are due especially to the several clergymen who, 
have contributed sketches of the churches of their denominations 
and to Prof. Ned Dearborn, who has given us the exhaustive and 
interesting paper on our birds. 

To such as have contributed to the embellishment of the work 
by placing their faces and their homes upon its pages, as well as 
to those who have enriched it by the detailed story of their own 
and the lives of others, our grateful thanks are hereby extended, 
and we will close with the hope that often, when pressed upon 
too heavily by the Present, this volume may take you in fancy to 
the still waters of the Past, to the shady paths where you loved 
to linger in other days with the dear ones here recorded. 

To the loved ones gone before; the "absent under all skies 
and in every clime"; to our kinsmen and kindred everywhere; 
in fact, to each and all, M'hether Northfield-born or reared, this 
book is lovingly dedicated by its author, 

Lucy R. H. Cross. 



TABLE OF CONTENTS. 



CHAPTER I. 

Pages 1-12. 

Historical : Name - — location — seven hills — rocks — clay — 
springs — lumber — rivers — water power — latitude — longitude — 
settlers — Indians — forts — Rumford Colony — jealousies — Captain 
Clough — scouts — petition for town — granted — first meeting — • 
boundaries — law suit — wild beasts — land ceded to Franklin — • 
same returned — other land ceded — Gospel lots — parsonage land — 
school lots — town contained 17,000 acres, or 27 square miles — 
early meetings — where held — town clerks — roads — ranges — 
bridges — vehicles used — better roads — new roads — Tilton bridge 
— Holmes bridge — "loer" bridge — Allard or Cross bridge — bar- 
gain with Winnipiseogee Paper Co. 

CHAPTER II. 

Pages 13-45. 

Ecclesiastical : Efforts to build meeting-house — material — 
location — delays — work begun — workmen — nails — ballusters — • 
raising — whole town — picnic dinner — cart load of bread — fish 
and potatoes — baked beans — New England rum — good time — 
running — leaping — wrestling — next day completed raising — in- 
side finish — painting — pews owned by individuals — Sunday ser- 
vices — ministers — sermons — choir — tything man — other churches 
- — house sold to the town — town meetings — sold to C. E. Tilton — 
removal — Baptists at Oak Hill — Elder Young — his early life — 
military man — preacher at Canterbury — Elder Harriman — Dr. 
Harper — Jeremiah Clough — meetings held in groves — barns — 
schoolhouses^ — Rev. John Chamberlain — ordained — ^threatened 
shower — later services — Sunday School — biography of Rev. John 
Chamberlain — Methodist Church — Rev. Martin Renter — Bates — 

The following intermingling of business and biography is for the purpose of 
affording greater variety and to scatter the illustrations more evenly throughout 
the work. 



Vlll CONTENTS. 

Dustin — early members baptized in Chestnut Pond — parsonage 
on Bay Hill — brick church built — Joseph Knowles — Josiah Am- 
brose — lObtli anniversary — 63 ministers — Eevs. W. D. Cass, 
George Storrs in 1835 mobbed in brick church — anti-slavery 
lecture — Rev. Silas Quimby — Congregational Church, 1823 — • 
original members — years of increase — removal to Sanbornton 
Bridge — offer of free lot — conditions — new church built — three 
friends — laying corner stone — name changed — later improve- 
ments — bequests — deacons — sketch of Rev. Liba Conant — 14 
years ' service — Lucas — Corser — worship at academy — moved 
to new church — new bell — Rev. Curtice — accused of preaching 
politics — resignation — council refused to dismiss — seven more 
years — Rev. Mr. Pratt — 50th anniversary — Rev. F. T. Perkins — 
afternoon service discontinued — nine years' service — death oc- 
curred at Burlington, Vt.— Rev. C. B. Strong — one year's service 
— Rev. C. C. Sampson — Bowdoin, 1873 — became pastor 1885 — 
sketch of Dr. Hoyt — present at 50th anniversary — delivered ad- 
dress — made donation — 75th anniversary, July 17, 1897 — old 
hymns— old members returned — Mrs. Cross gave address — Sun- 
day School — Ladies' Circle — Episcopal Church — when founded 
■ — ^why — first members — records lost — bought Methodist Church — 
families included — church organized — Dr. Herrick, rector — Eas- 
ter, 1873 — Consecration, 1875 — house sold to to^\^l — new one 
erected in Tilton — prosperous year — biography of Dr. Herrick — 
Union Church — first movement — association formed — funds 
transferred to Mr. C. E. Tilton — church begun by him — condi- 
tions accepted by town — money raised — work pledged — many 
names in trust deed — grove^ — dedication — given to town by Mr. 
Tilton — taken in charge by selectmen — Sunday services at once 
begun — Sunday School removed to it — preachers provided — 
special meetings — Catholic Mission in town hall — removed, later, 
to new church. 

CHAPTER III. 

Pages 46-62. 

Educational : Northfield social library — circulating — limited 
to members — kept in houses — some few books still left — North- 
field Improving Society — incorporated — object — constitution and 
by-laws — terms of membership — literary board — names of mem- 
bers — lists of books — librarian's reports — celebration in 1825 — 



CONTENTS. IX 

last meeting— Northfield Fraternal Library — Chase Free Library 
— 180 volumes for Union Church — other gifts — Hall Memorial 
Library — Mrs. Cunmiings' gift — cost $10,000 — when built — 
when dedicated — association formed — books given — Dr. Hall's 
portrait — schools — first houses — teachers — girls in summer only 
■ — -male teachers — no fires or windows — log houses — better houses 
— fireplaces — sometimes in private houses — names of teachers — 
teachers boarded round — academy- — superintendents of schools — - 
Liba Conant, first one — list of superintendents — women on board 
• — old customs — selling ashes — apparatus — dictionaries — New 
Hampshire Conference Seminary — first plans — name of project- 
ors — located at Plymouth — reconsidered — ^located at Northfield — - 
first building — school opened — cost of tuition — board — new 
teachers — close quarters — new house needed — funds raised — new 
charter — female college— degrees conferred — 360 students in 1857 
— list of graduates of seminary — list of graduates from female 
college — Union School District — formation — first officers — new 
house — building committee — funds — cost, etc. — board of educa- 
tion chosen — three schools — names of teachers — new building in 
1900^committees chosen — cost of house — male teachers — grad- 
uates received at seminary. 

CHxVPTER IV. 

Pages 63-67, 

Transportation : Roads — vehicles — improvements — stages — 
Peter Smart — post riders — relay horses — coming of railroad— 
]\Ir. Smith, the railroad builder — sketch — large contracts — Bos- 
ton, Concord & Montreal Railroad — chartered — surveyed — 
commenced — route changed — stock taken — road opened — decline 
of stock — losses — better times — ^financial — Tilton & Belmont Rail- 
road — no stock issued — when opened — Tilton & Franklin — how 
built — date of charter — three miles in Northfield. 

CHAPTER V. 

Pages 68-95. 

Military: First order — first militia law — Colonel Clough and 
his scouts — troublous times — association list — -120 names — form 
of pledge — roll of honor — names of officers — AVar of 1812 — 



X CONTENTS. 

names of soldiers — minute men — home guard — officials chosen — 
arms and uniforms- — close of war — new militia laws — IMay train- 
ings- — Mexican War — two soldiers — War of the Rebellion — pub- 
lic meetings — funds raised — bounties offered — substitutes secured 
• — enrollment — draft — names of volunteers — drafted men — sub- 
stitutes — list two — list three — ]\Iaj. 0. C. Wyatt — sketch — Span- 
ish War — three from Northfield. 

CHAPTER VI. 

Pages 96-105. 

Industries : Farming — sawmills — Cross Mill — rafting — plank 
— boards — laths — shingles — cooper 's wares — 'Jeremiah Cross — 
threshing machine — new buildings — Water Power Co. — Factory 
Village — mill at Sondogardy Pond — other mills on outlet — Davis, 
Piper & Plummer's shingle mill — Kendegeda Meadow ]\Iill — 
Glidden ]\Ieadow — J. E. Smith's lumber business — sketch — rail- 
road builder — Maplewood stables — farms — crops — brickmaking 
— near Granite ]\Iill — near Chestnut Pond — Warren L. Hill — 
Colonel Cofran — brick for first seminary — Cross' brick yard — 
clay exhausted — charcoal — wood for engines — business at the , 
Depot — Uncle Tucker — coal on Bean Hill — David Hill burned 
coal — Shuttle-maker Dow — Wedgewood made round tables — 
spinning wheels — flax-raising — sheep for wool — out of date in- 
dustries — Cross settlement on intervale — gristmills — fulling 
mills — jewelry — tanneries — smithies — eartheuAvare — crockery — 
flour mill — oil — plaster — sold out in 1805 — 200 acres bought by 
Abraham Plummer — other parts of town had cooper shops — 
potasheries — Industrial Club of 35 members — teamsters. 

CHAPTER VII. 

Pages 106-147. 

Centennial, June 19, 1880 : Plans to celebrate — money raised 
— committees appointed — J. E. Smith, president; 0. L. Cross, 
secretary; F. J. Eastman, treasurer — services arranged for — cir- 
culars sent out — long list of sub-committees — dinner planned — 
music — speeches — address by Lucian Hunt — poem by Mrs. Cross 
— many visitors — fine decorations — tables loaded — troop of horse 
^all at Hannaford's Grove at Northfield Depot — Captain Wy- 



CONTENTS. XI 

att spoke for soldier boys — letters from former residents — Fannie 
Eice — cornet solos — Mr. Hunt's address — Mrs. Cross' poem — per- 
sonal sketch and portrait of Professor Hunt. 

CHAPTER VIII. 

Pages 148-168. 

Professional : Thirty-seven born in town — five Dr. Dearborns 
and four Dr. Tebbetts — 18 lived in to\\ai, four women among the 
list — sketches of Dr. Hoyt, Nancy Gilman, Drs. Woodbury, Whid- 
den, A. B. Hall, Sam G. Dearborn, 0. J. Hall, Charles R. Gould, 
Daniel Whittier and Thomas Burton Dearborn. Lawyers : Seven 
born in Northfield — sketches of Hon. Asa P. Cate, Judge Lucien 
Clough, Oliver Lyford Cross, Col. W. A. Gile and Samuel War- 
ren Forrest. Ministers : Six born in town — sketch of Rev. B. A. 
Rogers. Teachers: Sketches of Joseph A. Gile and IMary Mar- 
garet Gile. Dentists: C. L. True, Edwin D. Forrest (supple- 
ment). 

CHAPTER IX. 

Pages 169-179. 

Miscellaneous : Burying grounds — private — neighborhood- 
public — oldest public one in town. Aqueduct : When chartered 
— when completed — hearing held — terms made — dam built — 
pipes laid — Hilly Brook — reservoir — capacity^ — length of pipe 
laid — highest pressure — future plans. Sewers : Leave granted to 
lay pipes, 1902 — sewer No. 1 — No. 2. Paupers and Criminals: 
Old customs — poor bid off for support — farm bought — home 
established — rules and regulations — names of overseers — contin- 
ued for 43 years — farm sold — poor supported at county farm — 
Merrimack County organized courts and Legislature met at Hop- 
kinton — extent of new county — resources. Post Office : Estab- 
lished at Centre — Depot — Tilton — names of postmasters — sketch 
of Daniel E. Hill — annexation to Tilton — petition to Legislature 
of 1901 — strenuous opposition- — committee appointed and hear- 
ings held — counsel secured — hard fought battle decided February 
27, 1902 — enthusiastic celebration. 



Xll CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER X. 

Pages 180-184. 

Casu^vlties : Dro^\Tiiiigs — fires — railroad accidents — damage 
by lightning — suicides — accidental deaths — death from hydro- 
phobia — carriage accidents — September gale — cold Friday — yel- 
low day — houses wrecked by falling trees. 

CHAPTER XI. 

Pages 185-196. 

Clubs and Societies-. Cornet Baud — Friendship Grange — 
when organized — charter members — Xorthfield town hall, home of 
the grange — first master — other officers — names of masters — one 
woman held the office — all other officers women— during this terra 
won the prize for excellent ritualistic work — degree staff of ladies 
formed — exemplified third degree at special meeting during 
Grange Fair — eight secretaries — 15 lecturerers — lOtli anniver- 
sary celebrated — appropriate services — many visitors present — 
grange erected kitchen in 1893 — more than twenty years of satis- 
factory existence — members died — Xew Hampshire State Grangi; 
Fair — first held in 1885 — 14 later — farmers' festivals — no objec- 
tional features — great crowds — fine speakers — good music — ■ 
Charles E. Tilton gave free use of grounds — assisted in many 
other ways — last fair — when held — sketch of C. E. Tilton — union 
picnics — held from 1875 to 1896 — great social events — public 
table — good speaking — Governor Head present — Gliiies family 
reunion on ]\It. Polly for 11 years — Charles Glines' sketch — 
Northfield Board of Health — when established — offices — regula- 
tions — Woman's Club — Xorthfield and Tilton Club — when organ- 
ized — first officers — object — business transacted — home talent 
first year — social meetings — teas — gentlemen's nights — names of 
presidents. 

CHAPTER XII. 

Pages 197-217. 

Attractions and Festvals : The island — early history and im- 
provements — early owners — ^bought by Mr. Tilton, 1865— bridge 
built — grounds beautified — summer house erected — Memorial 
Arch — copy of one at Rome— dimensions — inscriptions — Old 



CONTENTS. XIU 

Home Day, 1901 — circulars of invitation — festivities — many re- 
turning sons and daughters — E. J. Young, president of the day — 
speeches — music — collation — Old Home Day, 1905, and 125th an- 
niversary — preliminary arrangements — watch fires — Sunday ser- 
vices in old church — literary exercises — collation — historical ad- 
dress by Hon. James 0. Lyford — other speakers — evening recep- 
tion — ^many visitors — summer home of Freeman B. Shedd — beau- 
tiful views — fine grounds— many attractions — ' ' a place of beauty 
and a joy forever." 

CHAPTER XIII. 

Pages 218-223. 

The Story Teller : Indian legend — trouble with the Lindseys 
and Millses — stolen slaves — altercation — story of Old Cohas — 
Mother Blanchard surprised — John Cilley and the bear — the bear 
tree — bear dragged trap — story of Llillerites — ^Mother Wadleigh 
and the wildcats — ^fish stories — haunted houses — witches — snakes 
— Osgoodites — Sally Grover — last of sect. 

CHAPTER XIV. 

Pages 221-228. 

NoRTHFiELD FACTORY VILLAGE : Early settled — before 1800 — 
first dam- — Folsom's sawmill — carried away by freshet — Jere- 
miah Sanborn rebuilt road by river — canal to Daniell's Bridge — 
Sanborn Mill moved to Folsom site — Dam, No. 2 — Boston John 
Clark built it — also dam for K. 0. Peabody's paper mill — baker's 
cart — bought rags — Crane came to make paper — Daniel Herrick's 
ruse — ^business grew — moved, after some years, to other village — 
old building became a gristmill — Smithville Factory — called, 
"Yellow" Mill — -Yellow Row — old tavern — cotton mill — Smith's 
store — sold to Peabody Brothers — batting mill — strawboard mill 
— straw paper — sawmill on dam No. 3 — Dearborn Sanborn — 
Thomas Elkins — woolen mill — tontine— old schoolhouse — one 
house left — printing offices — one at Factory Village — made Bibles 
and testaments — one at old Whittier store and on on Bav Street. 



XIV CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER XV. 

Pages 229-235. 

Stores and Merchants: First store — moved to Bridge — 
owned by Ebenezer Blanchard, who removed to Salisbury, 
now Franklin — Glidden store at the old meeting-house — sold 
to Oilman — later, to Gerrish & Moore — removed to village — 
business all removed there — other stores — store at Depot — several 
owners — burned — palm leaf hats — berries, etc. — Isaac Whittier's 
store — post office — town clerk's office — drug store — hardware 
store — "seven nations" — Butterfield's store — sold to Sweatt — at 
Factory Village — hardware store by freight depot — many busi- 
ness men of Tilton residents of Northfield — sketches of business 
men. 

CHAPTER XVI. 

Pages 236-248. 

Mills and Manufacturers : First mill — fulling mill — carding 
mill — Stephen Chase & Son — sold to Jeremiah Tilton — Benjamin 
Chase removed to Lowell — sketch of Charles G. Chase — Jeremiah 
Tilton — satinets — Copp 's gristmill — shoddy mill above — James 
Earnshaw — Bailey mills — later, Granite JMill — new firm — new 
products — Kearsarge Woolen Co. — manufacturers not taxed — 
Adam S. Ballantyne — Richard Firth — Fletcher Brothers— Arch 
I\Iills— Charles Green— A. L. Hilton— sold to W. H. Carter & 
Parsons— bought Tilton Mill— 0. & E. INTorrison- sketch of 0. 
G. Morrison — sketch of E. G. Morrison — Elm ]Mills Woolen Co. — 
left Clark Mill— A. M. Dodge— steammill on cove— J. W. & C. 
Pease — boxes and builders' supplies — Jason Foss — Ray Firth — 
Tilton Hosiery Co. — G. E. Buell — Courtland Boynton — J. P. 
Osborne — Buell Brothers — Carter's JNIill — dress goods — amount 
produced — O. H. Tilton Hosiery Co. — business in South — amount 
produced — ^number of hands — sketch of Mr. Tilton— sketch of 
Hon. Elmer S. Tilton — Britain Manufacturing Co. — Francis B. 
Fay — new mill erected — leased in five years to 0. & E. IMorrison 
— machinery sold — Tilton Optical Co. — L. W. Bugbee, superin- 
tendent — spectacle lenses — goods produced. 



CONTENTS, XV 

CHAPTER XVII. 

Pages 249-293. 

Birds op Northpield : Water Birds — Divers — grebes — honied 
grebes — pied-billed grebe — loons — red-throated loon — auk — brun- 
nich murres — dovekie — swimmers — ^lierring gull — Bonaparte gull 
— ducks and geese — -saw-bills — American merganser — hooded 
merganser — ruddy duck — ring-necked duck — scaup duck — - 
greater scaup duck — white-winged scoter — buffle head — old 
squaw — American golden eye — black duck — mallard — blue- 
winged teal — wood duck — wild goose — brant goose. Herons — 
stake drivers — night heron — green heron — great blue heron. 
Rails — Virginia rail — sora rail — American coot. Sliore Birds — 
Sandpipers — snipe — Wilson snipe — lesser yellow-legs — greater 
yellow-legs — solitary sandpiper — spotted — pectoral — least — Bar- 
tramian sandpipers. Plovers — semipalmated plover. Land 
Birds — Ruffed grouse or partridge — bob white — pigeon — passen- 
ger pigeon — mourning dove — hawk — marsh hawk — osprey — bald 
eagle — red-tailed, red-shouldered and broad-winged hawks — gos- 
hawk — cooper and sharp-shinned hawks — sparrow, pigeon and 
duck hawks. Owls — great horned, long-eared, short-eared and 
screech owls — snowy owl — barred, Richardson, saw-whet and 
hawk owls — belted kingfisher — cuckoo — black-billed and yellow- 
billed cuckoo — woodpecker — arctic three-toed and American 
three-toed woodpecker — pileated, four-toed, hairy, downy, yel- 
low-bellied and red-headed woodpeckers — flickers — yellow ham- 
'mer — wood-wall — goatsucker — swift — humming bird group — ■ 
night-hawk — whippoorwill — chimney swift — ruby-throated hum- 
mingbird — ■ flycatcher — kingbird — great-crested flycatcher — 
pewee, or phoebe — wood pewee — olive-sided flycatcher — alder fly- 
catcher — yellow-bellied and the least flycatcher — horned lark — 
shore larks — jays — crows — blue and Canada jays — raven — bobo- 
link — cowbird and lironzed grackle — purple and rusty grackles 
— red-winged blackbird — Baltimore oriole or golden robin — ■ 
meadow lark — sparrows — pine grosbeak — purple finch — rose- 
breasted grosbeak — indigo bird — crossbills — red, white-winged, 
redpoll — siskin — American goldfinch. Terrestrial Species — 
Sparrows — snowflake — vesper — Savanna and Henslow sparrows 
• — song, Lincoln, fox, tree, field, grasshopper, swamp, white- 



XVI CONTENTS. 

throated, white-crowned sparrows — junco — towhee or chewink — 
scarlet tanager — swallows — purple Martin, cliff or eaves, barn, 
white-bellied, tree and bank swallows — cherry bird, or cedar wax- 
wdng — shrikes — northern and migrant shrikes — vireos — red-eyed, 
warbling, blue-headed and yellow-throated vireos — warblers — 
parula, yellow-rumped and Tennessee warblers, also Nashville, 
Wilson, pine, mourning, ]\Iaryland, Cape May, magnolia, Cana- 
dian and Blackburnian warblers^ — redstart — black poll — oven 
bird — various other species of pipits — mocking-birds — cat bird — 
brown thrasher — wrens, house and winter — creepers — nuthatch- 
ers — white- and red-breasted chickadees — kinglets— thrush — 
blue birds. 

PART II. 

Title Page. 

Introduction. 

Genealogies. (Pages 5 to 333.) Alphabetically arranged. 

Appendix. (Pages 335 to 349.) Charles Haines Ayers — Do- 
rinda Brown — Smith W. Cofran — Eugene Batchelder- — Capt. 
Thomas Clough — Edward Caskin — Edmund Douglass — Alvah 
Haggett — Mark Keasor — Sylvester Lambert — Joseph Thorp — 
Charles H. Crockett- — Joseph Greenwood — Joseph Ayers — 
Thomas Blanchard — Cyrus Bro^vn — Chase Coat of Arms — IMar- 
tin Courtney — Rev. Enoch Corser— John Davis — George H. 
Davis — ^Timothy Gleason — Moses Miller — Joseph Muzzey — Joel 
Phelps — Daniel Hills' wall — John Hills — Laroy Mowe — Rand — ' 
Joseph Sullivan Tilton — Joe R. Twombly. 

Additions and Corrections (Pages 349 to 350.) 

First Tax List. (Page 351.) 

Old Home Day, 1905. (Page 351.) 

Cry of the Human (Page 352.) 

Index to Part I. 

Index to Part II. 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



PART I. 




Lucy R. H. Cross ..... 


Frontispiece 


View from Winnepesaukee River, Looking East 


vii 


Proprietors' Map ..... 


4 


Map of T6wn 


7 


View in 1864 


. 10 


Rev. John Chamberlain .... 


. 23 


Northfield Town Hall .... 


. 26 


Rev. Marcelliis A. Herrick, D. D. . 


. 38 


Mrs. M. A. Herrick .... 


. 38 


Union Church ..... 


. 41 


Hall Memorial Library .... 


52 


Mary Hall Cummings .... 


52 


Pond Schoolhouse ..... 


. 54 


N. H. Conference Seminary and Female College 


; . . 57 


Graded School ..... 


. 61 


Tilton Seminary ..... 


62 


Warren H. Smith ..... 


. 64 


Major- Otis C. Wyatt . . . . 


. 92 


Jeremiah Cross ..... 


. 97 


Jeremiah Eastman Smith 


. 99 


Prof. Lucian Hunt .... 


. 145 


Dr. Enos Hoyt 


. 150 


Dr. Jeremiah Forrest Halls 


. 151 


Dr. Nancy Smith Gilman 


. 152 


Dr. Adino B. Hall .... 


. 153 


Hall Coat of Arms . . 


. 153 


Dr. Sam G. Dearborn .... 


. 154 


Dr. Obadiah J. Hall .... 


. 155 


Dr. Charles R. Gould .... 


. 157 


Dr. Daniel B. Whittier .... 


. 157 


Dr. Thomas Benton Dearborn 


. 158 


Dearborn Brothers .... 


. 159 


Hon. Asa P. Cate ..... 


. 160 



XVlll 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Hon. Lucien B. Clough . 

Col. William A. Gile . 

Samuel Warren Forrest 

Rev. Benjamin A. Rogers 

Mary ]\Iargaret Gile 

Luther H. Morrill . 

Daniel Emery Hill 

Charles Elliot Tilton 

Charles Glines 

The Island . 

Souvenir Group 

Memorial Arch 

James 0. Lyford 

Residence of P. B. Shedd 

Chase Coat of Arms 

Charles G. Chase . 

Richard Firth 

Obe G. Morrison . 

Mrs. Obe G. IMorrison 

Residence of Obe G. Morrison 

E. G. Morrison 

Mrs. E. G. Morrison 

Elm Mills . 

Carter's Mills 

Plant of George H. Tilton & Son Hosiery 

George Henry Tilton 

Hon. Elmer Stephen Tilton 

Optical Works 



Co. 



236, 



161 
163 
164 
166 
167 
176 
177 
191 
193 
197 
198 
198 
204 
214 
341 
237 
240 
242 
242 
242 
243 
243 
244 
245 
245 
246 
246 
247 



PART II. 

Charles Haines Ayers . 

Samuel Butler Brown . 

Stephen Chase Tavern . 

Thomas Stevens Clough 

William Henry Clough . 

Residence of the late William H. Clough 

Amos IMoody Cogswell . 

Benjamin F. Cofran 

Hannah Tebbetts Curry 



14 

30 
49 
60 
61 
61 
62 
64 
75 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



XIX 



John S. Dearborn . 

Mrs. John S. Dearborn . 

James Earnshaw . 

Cutting Follansby 

Jason Foss . 

Frank J. French . 

Benjamin F. Gale . 

Alfred A. Gile . 

Mrs. Alfred A. Gile 

Homestead of the late Alfred A. Gile 

James Glines 

Mrs. James Glines 

James Glines Homestead 

Residence of Gawn E. Gorrell 

Clongh Gorrell 

Mrs. Clongh Gorrell 

Gawn E. Gorrell . 

Obadiah Hall, Jr. . 

Parker Hannaford 

John Heath . 

Capt. David Hills Homestead 

Susannah Cole Hills 

Warren Smith Hills Family 

Frank Hills . 

Mrs. Joseph Hills' Residence 

Hon. Hiram Hodgdon . 

Deacon Joseph Hunkins 

Roy Thurston Kimball . 

Thomas W. Long . 

Addie Gorrell Long 

Morrill Moore 

Morrison Brothers 

Asa Osgood and Old Bill 

Mary French Phelps 

Abraham Waldron Rand 

lanthe Blanchard Rice . 

Fannie Rice . 

Enoch Rogers, Jr. . 

Robertson Arms and Crest, with Homestead 



89 
89 
101 
110 
119 
122 
124 
130 
130 
132 
144 
144 
144 
153 
154 
154 
154 
158 
166 
172 
175 
175 
179 
180 
182 
184 
188 
200 
211 
211 
230 
232 
244 
249 
258 
262 
263 
268 
273 



XX 



LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS. 



James P. Robertson 










274 


James L. Robertson and Mrs. Robertson . 






2741/2 


Hodgdon Family .... 






. 276 


Charles H. Robertson . . . . 








276 


Late Residence of Daniel Sanborn . 








278 


Byron Shaw .... 








287 


Mrs. Byron Shaw .... 








287 


Frank W. Shaw .... 








288 


Jeremiah Smith .... 








292 


Jeremiah Eastman Smith's Residence 








295 


Jeremiah Tilton's Residence . 








303 


Col. Jeremiah C. Tilton . 








. 303 


Alfred Edwin Tilton 


. 


. 






. 305 


Julia Batchelder Tilton 


, 








306 


Joseph Sullivan Tilton 










306 


John Clough Tebbetts 


. 






. 308 


Alfred Clifton Wyatt 


. 






. 330 


Smith W. Cofran . 


, 


• 


. 336 


Mark G. Keasor . 


, , 


, 






338 



BIOGRAPHIES. 



PART I. 










Ballantyne, Adam S. ...... . 240 


Gate, Asa P., Hon. 












160 


Chamberlain, John, Eev. 












23 


Chase, Charles G. . 












237 


Clough, Lneien B., Hon. 












161 


Cross, Jeremiah 












97 


Cross, Oliver L. 












162 


Dearborn, Sam G., M. D. 












154 


Dearborn, Thomas Benton, M. 


D. 










158 


Eastman, Franklin J. . 












232 


Firth, Richard 












240 


Forrest, Samuel Warren 












164 


Gile, Joseph . 












151 


Gile, Mary Margaret 












167 


Gile, William A., Hon. . 












163 


Gil man, Nancy Smith, M. D. 












151 


Glines, Charles C. . 












193 


Gould, Charles R., M. D. 












240 


Hall, Adino B., M. D. . 












153 


Hall, Jeremiah Forrest, M. D. 










# 


151 


Hall, Obadiah J., M. D. . 










T 


155 


Herrick, Marcellus A., D. D. 












38 


Hill, Joseph . 












232 


Hills, Daniel E. . . ' 












177 


Hoyt, Enos, M. D. 












150 


Hunt, Lucian, Prof. . ^ 












145 


Morrison, E. G. 












243 


Morrison, 0. G. . 












242 


Rogers, Benjamin A., Rev. 












166 


Smith, Jeremiah Eastman 












99 


Smith, Warren H. 












64 


Tilton, Charles Elliott . 












191 



XXll 



BIOGRAPHIES. 



Tilton, Elmer S., Hon. . 
Tilton, George H. . 
Tilton, Jeremiah . 
Wliidden, Parsons 
Whittier, Daniel B., M. D. 
Woodbury, Mark E. 



PART II. 



Ayers, Charles Haines . 
Cofran, Benjamin Franklin 
Cofran, Smith W. 
Cross, Arthur B. . 
Cross, Robert Lee . 
Foss, Jason . 
Follansby, Cutting 
Gile, Alfred A. . 
Hannaford, Parker 
Herrick, Charles . 
Herrick, Francis, Prof. 
Hazelton, William C. 
Hills, Frank 
Hodgdon, Hiram, Col. 
Morrill, Albro David, Prof. 
Rand, Abraham W. 
Rice, Ian the Blanchard 
Rice Family 
Robertson Family . 
Shaw, Frank W. . 
Smith, Jeremiah . 
Tilton, Alfred Edwin 
Tilton, Jeremiah C, Col. 
Tilton, Joseph Sullivan . 



246 
246 
238 
153 
157 
152 



14 
64 
336 
70 
71 
119 
109 
180 
166 
173 
174 
168 
180 
184 
235 
258 
262 
263 
273 
288 
292 
305 
303 
347 



CHAPTER I. 

HISTORICAL. 

There are many municipalities bearing the name of Northfield, 
and, though each lays claim to some particular attractiveness of 
location or embellishment, Northfield, New Hampshire, has many 
claims to consideration that no other can possess. 

Although far inland, beyond the sound of the breakers' roar, 
it hears on half its border the lap of sweet waters and the bustle 
of industry from a hundred water wheels. Like Rome, she sits 
on her "seven hills" and, if from her "throne of beauty" she 
may not rule the world, she has pretty effectually ruled herself 
for a century and a quarter. Bean Hill and Bay Hill greet the 
morning sun and pass it along to Arch Hill and Windfall for 
the noonday. Horse Hill and The Ledges uphold the dignity 
of its western slope, while last, but not least, lonely, but lovely, 
Oak Hill looks down on the shining Merrimack, a silver thread 
in a web of green, and on a varying expanse of intervale smiling 
with her wealth of noble elms. "Worcester and the Connecticut 
Valley alone are its rivals. 

There are indications, not to be ignored, that these peaks 
were once islands. Then our lovely Winnepesaukee, heedless 
of the call of the Pemigewasset, flowed straight through our 
borders. At what date, through barriers burst, she "followed 
the setting sun Franklinward" to join the sister stream and 
together lose themselves in our lovely IMerrimack, we know not. 
Only deep ravines, ditches, stranded boulders and our smiling 
Sondogardy, with Wolf Swamp below, remain as incontestable 
proof of her ancient track to the Merrimack on Canterbury inter- 
vale. 

Other indications, too, point to a time when volcanic force and 
arctic glacier ground and crushed; when boulders tumbled from 
mountain sides; when heat and frost, rain and atmosphere disin- 



A HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

tegrated and pulverized, and level stretches of field and forest 
became the fixed heritage of the coming tillers of its fruitful 
acres. These things exist and muteh'^ tell their story by their 
presence. 

Geologists might tell you of mica, schist, quartz and conglom- 
erates, but the first unlettered native saw in the white, cap rock 
of Bean Hill the suspicious gleam of gold. Enough, also, that 
the potter and brickmaker have never lacked the clay suited to 
their callings or the most primitive farmer lacked the rocks, big 
or little, for his mountain fence. 

Hemlock, chestnut, oak and pine, close by the forest streams, 
where the hum of the primitve sawmill was heard, mingled with 
the sound of the woodman's axe, furnished material for the 
settlers' homes and a score of useful trades. Hence came the 
fuel to counteract the frost of a thousand biting winters. 

The well-digger, too, has rarely ever failed to find the buried 
spring or stream for use of man and beast, and, though not 
naturally a farming town, the years, with their seedtime and 
harvest, have always brought their bounty to storehouse and 
barn; and the flocks and herds that graze on her many hills 
have been a source of wealth. 

And what shall we say of our lovely river, whose sjjarkling 
waters, seemingij' delighted at any hindrance, climb joyfully 
the ponderous water-wheel and laugh aloud at the discovery of 
their power. 

The 43d parallel of north latitude approaches it on the South 
and it lies midway between the sixth and seventh parallels of 
longitude, east from "Washington, and 69 and 70 West from 
Greenwich. The traveler going due East would find himself 
half round the world in Bordeaux, Genoa and the Crimea. 

BEGINNINGS. 

Northfield was set ofS from Canterbury June 19, 1780, and 
was incorporated by its present name because it comprised the 
north part of the town. In fact, the territory had long been 
called the north fields. 

Canterbury was granted to Eichard "Waldron and others in 
1727 and was incorporated in 1741. The Scotch-Irish from 
Londonderry took possession of its intervale in 1721. It was for 
a long time the extreme border town. 



HISTORICAL. 3 

The depredations of the Indians made a fort necessary and 
ever}^ man provided himself with suitable means of defense. 
Not only did the garrison and the few scattered settlers have 
to contend with wild beasts and the cruel Indian, but there was 
bitter jealousy between them and the Eumford colony just 
below. 

Canterbury was a New Hampshire settlement, incorporated 
by the New Hampshire government, while Eumford (Concord) 
was settled by Massachusetts people, and was incorporated by 
the "Great and General Court," which gave them little help 
and no protection. ^ 

They were angry because Canterbury was supplied with pro- 
visions and a competent force of troops for protection, and the 
feeling did not entirely die out until the brave soldiers of the 
two settlements had fought side by side in the many, fast-follow- 
ing wars. 

Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who was later well known in Kevolu- 
tionary history, was furnished with scouts, who made their 
headquarters at the fort, of which he was the commander, and 
who, with him, roamed the wooded acres bordering the two rivers 
and the north fields long before a settler dared choose a home 
away from the shelter of the fort. j\Iany of his muster-rolls are 
still in existence. In the spring of 1743 he had 20 men for 39 
days and on March 8 the House voted to pay him £16 12s. lOd. 
The next November he had six men, and in April and May seven 
men. On June 2, 171:4, the House voted to pay him £18 for "ye 
defense of the government. ' ' In anticipation of the Indian War 
in 1746, the garrison was strengthened and he had 11 scouts. 

Captain Clough went along the Winnepesaukee River as far 
as the "Great Pond," with a force of 19 men. The garrison 
furnished bread but their meat was supplied by the game in the 
forests through which they passed. Tradition says that there 
were often encounters with Indians and many proofs of their 
fierce hatred. It was through and through the forests bordering 
both rivers, on whose banks straggling bands of the St. Francis 
Indians built their wigwams and on whose waters they paddled 
their canoes, that the scouts passed, and from their ranks, tra- 
dition says, came the first settlers of the north fields at the close 
of the Indian War. 



4 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

They were set off from Canterbury in response to a petition 
from the inhabitants to the Legislature, in the following terms : 

' * State of N H, Rockingham ss 

"Canterbury Mar. 30 1780 

"The humble petition of ye Subscribers Inhabitants of ye 
North part of sd Canterbury to ye Honorable ye President and 
members of Council and house of Representatives of said State, 
we your Humble Petitioners Living at a great Distance from ye 
Center of the Towne Some of us nine or ten Miles and Conse- 
quently at a very great disadvantage in joining with them all 
Publick Town aff&irs, being encouraged Partly by our Li\ang 
in that Part of ye Town that was Laid out' for what was called 
ye upper Parish and Partly by ye Kind Reception our Request 
met with which we made to ye Town for a dismission but more 
particularly by our Confidence in your Honors desire to Pro- 
mote ye Happiness of every Part of ye State Humbly Pray that 
Honors would take our Case into your Serious Consideration 
and grant that we together with all those Live in sd Upper 
Part may be Erected and Incorporated into a body Politick and 
Corporate to have Continuance in ye Name of Northfield with 
all such Powers and Authorities Privileges Immunities and 
Franchises which other Parishes or Towns in this state in General 
hold Enjoy which your Petitions as in duty bound Shall forever 
pray 

' ' PETITIONES. 

"William Kenistou, John Cross, James Blanchard, Jona Wad- 
leigh, William Williams, Abner Miles, Jeremiah McDaniel, Ben- 
jamin Blanchard, Thos. Clough, Jun., Joseph Carr, Richard 
Blanchard, Simeon Sanborn, Thos. Gilman, Charles Glidden, 
John Dearborn, Joseph Levitt, William Forrest, Shubal Dear- 
born, Shubal Dearborn, Jun., Jacob Merrill, Aaron Stevens, Jun., 
Sam '1 Miles, John Forrest, Nath T Whitcher, Thos. Clough, Jacob 
Heath, George Hancock, John Simons, Joseph Hancock, Benjm n 
Collins, Abram Dearborn, Will'm Hancock, Nath'l Perkins, 
James Sid Perkins, Archelus Miles, Edward Blanchard, Aaron 
Stevens, Reuben Whitcher, Will'm Sanborn, John McDaniel,. 
Eben Kimball, Gideon Switt and Mathew Haines." 

This petition was granted and the northwest part of Can- 
terbury was set oft' and incorporated by the name of Northfield, 



&/^" 

.^^^'=. 



,?r;»' 




K^o^X^^ 









S? 












COPY OF PROPRIETORS' MAP. 

(The Held notes of the original aurvev which acoompanled the Proprietors- 
vault with the town records, transferred to tbe leJger which contains MP 



I the Proprietors' Map are to be found In the 
■hich contains Mrs. Cross' HIsforloal Records 



/^\ 



<."^.''«:. 



/ 



->x 



'>kS, 



HISTORICAL. 5 

and, in accordance with a vote of the town of Canterbury, passed 
March 18, 1779, which vote also pro\-ided that Capt. Josiah 
Miles, David Foster, Capt. Edward Blanchard and Ensign 
Archelus Miles be a committee to run a line of division. 

In October, 1780, Abial Foster of Canterbury made the fol- 
lowing return to the General Assembly : 

"Agreeable to the order of the Hon. ye General Assembly I 
notified a meeting of the Inhabitants of the Town of Xorthfield 
on the 17th day of July last past when they met and chose Town 
Officers as the Law directs. 

' ' Abial Foster. 

"Portsmouth, Oct. 30, 1780." 

The boundary line between Xorthfield and Canterbury lies 
south of Bean Hill and is nine miles and 126 rods in length. 

The ]\Ierrimaek and Winnepesaukee Rivers constituted its en- 
tire western and northern boundaries. There was a dispute 
about Gilmanton line and a vexatious lawsuit about the north 
end of it is recalled, as the court records are still preserved. 
While they do not give us the result of the litigation, they afford 
us some idea of the game and wild beasts then to be found in 
the forests, and the town in its early meetings oft'ered annually 
bounties on wolves, bears and wild cats. I\Ir. James Gibson, 
Josiah Miles and John Simonds were professional hunters and 
the latter paid for his farm at the Center, Mr. Hunt says, with 
the proceeds of a single season's hunting and trapping. 

The former testified, in the suit spoken of, regarding the pres- 
ence of moose in the vicinity of Coos and the Great Brook, and 
surrounding meadows. Being asked as to other game, he testified 
to the presence of beaver, sable, mink, muskrat and black cat. 
Bears, too, were so common that I\Iother Blanchard was on the 
constant watch, as her children played in the woods near her 
door. They were sometimes seen on Beau Hill and the encounter 
of John Cilley with an over-familiar one is told elsewhere. 

The variety of hill and plain, meadow and woodland, seemed 
wonderfully attractive and settlers came from far and near — 
from Concord and Bow; from Hampton, Lee and Newbury, 
Mass. ; from old Salisbury and Haverhill by families and neigh- 
borhoods. Bean and Bay Hills seemed most attractive, while 
the easy navigation of the Llerrimack, with its many locks, 



6 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

brought busy families to that location, where the first business 
houses of the town were established, as told elsewhere. 

In 1828, when the new town of Franklin was organized, a 
part of this territory was ceded to it. For some reason, not 
recorded, the union was not agreeable and the same territory was 
returned by an act of the Legislature o'f 1830, in the following 
terms : 

"Chapter 35, Page 319, A. D. 1830. 

"An Act to sever the Town of Franklin and annex a part of 
the same to Northfield. 

"Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in 
General Court convened, that that part of the town of Franklin 
in the County of jMerrimack which formerly belonged to and 
constituted a part of the town of Northfield in the County of 
Merrimack be, and the same hereby is severed from the town of 
Franklin and annexed to, and made a part of the town of North- 
field and all matters and things appertaining to that section 
of sd town of Franklin hereby annexed to sd town of Northfield, 
be and remain in the same state and condition as if the same had 
never been severed from sd town of Northfield. 

"Samuel C. Webster, 

Speaker. 
"Joseph Harper, 
President of the Senate. 
" Approved, July 3, 1830, 

]\Iathew Harvey, 

'^Governor of New Hampshire." 

This act contains certain provisions concerning taxes, use of 
money and officers serving out their terms, paupers, town debt, 
etc. 

In 1858, Charles Garland, Stephen Gerrish, Edward Leighton, 
Jonathan Elkins, Milton Gerrish, J. P. Sanborn and 46 others 
petitioned to the Honorable Senate and House of Representatives, 
in General Court convened, at their June session of that year, 
to be annexed to Franklin, using these w'ords : 

"The subscribers inhabitants and legal voters in the town of 
Northfield Avould respectfully represent that their convenience 
and interest would be much promoted by having that part of 
the town of Northfield which formerly belonged to the town 



T/LTON, 6 £ LKNAP 
CO. 






\ 












<^ 















jiS'j./i.Cofra.ny \^ -y 



'J^7''--S?,< 









•frs. CoTHns , 



.acWycctt ft. 






JT.STpi 






C:I>.Trenc. 



^ ^„ yyiTislt>^ 




-^ 



.^v 

- 



^ 






/\<r 









jKC, yivL'n rnen^ 



9i.rO^ 



>;;;fi^ 



^A^^^^\rCEM 















C 






y 



B> 



u 



J^' 



H 



r 






^^^ 



HISTORICAL. 7 

of Franklin together Avith such other additional territory as 
the Legislature in their wisdom direct be severed from said town 
of Northtield and annexed to said Town of Franklin and con- 
stitute a part thereof, and as in duty bound we will ever pray." 

The petition was dated April 2, 1858. Its prayer was granted 
and the act of annexation passed. The latter bore the signatures 
of N. B. Bryant, speaker of the House, Austin F. Pike, president 
of the Senate, and William Haile, governor. It was approved 
June 27, 1861. 

Another act of the Legislature of 1861 disannexed a part 
of the homestead farms of Samuel Heath and Edward Leighton 
from the town of Northtield and annexed the same to Franklin. 
It bears the signatures of Edward H. Kollins, speaker, Herman 
Foster, president of the Senate, and Nathaniel Berry, governor. 
It was approved June 27, 1861. 

For the various boundaries, see map. 

Northtield was surveyed and the lots granted long before 
1780. There were two divisions of 100-acre lots and much of 
the wooded section was laid out into smaller ones, said to contain 
40 acres, though, by actual measure, each size contained an 
excess of that quantity. They are, with hardly an exception, 
regularly laid out. (See Proprietors' map.) 

Canterbury had, at the start, set aside 1,000 acres for the sup- 
port of the gospel. These were early sold, so that, while this 
laud was all within the limits of Northtield, none of the benefits 
came to the new town. There were, however, two school lots, 
one of 100 acres and another of 40 acres, and a parsonage lot 
of 100 acres. 

The 1,000 acres began, according to the early records, "at the 
river called Merrimack at the N. W. corner of the hundred acre 
lot No 9 and extending up said river as the common land lies 
till the whole tract be completed." Only four of these lay on 
the Merrimack and five on the Winnepesaukee. No. 9 included 
the swamp at the mouth of the Kendegeda Brook and No. 10 the 
field north of Oscar P. Sanborn's. There were unassigned tracts 
called "Proprietors' Commons," or "Whome Lots," which the 
town sold to pay the surveyor's bill or to exchange for private 
land needed for highways. The parsonage lot was sold and the 
money is, after all these years, available for the purpose origin- 
ally designed. The school lots were sold and the avails used for 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

the first sehoolhouses. Northfield contains 17,000 acres or 27 
square miles and was in Eockingham County until 1823. 

EARLY TOWN MEETINGS. 

The first meetings of the new town were held in private houses 
and barns, as the weather allowed. James Simonds, at whose 
house the first one was held on Tuesday, November 21, 1780, 
was the first moderator, and Archelus Miles was the first clerk. 
Of these early gatherings, jMr. Hunt has given so full an account 
in his Centennial address, given in full in its appropriate place, 

1 will not speak of it further. 

It is not my purpose to give a full list of the recording clerks 
of the town. I wish to bear witness to the ease with which the 
records of the early days can be studied. In 1784 the first tax 
list was made and all accounts were set down in good form in 
pounds, shillings and pence. The elegant penmanship of JMaster 
Bowles is followed by that of Daniel Hills, and that veteran 
school teacher, INIaster Josiah Ambrose. Later we see the elegant 
hand of that fine teacher of the art, Charles ]\I. Glines, and then 
follow Bracket Ames, Henry T. and Charles F. Hills, Dr. Gould, 
Charles W. Tilton, Piper Dennis and E. E. Glines — a long list, 
ending with L. H. IMorrill, Elmer Gale and Harry Muzzey, 
making the records as legible as the printed page. 

ROADS. 

The early highways invariably followed the ranges. As no 
vehicles were used, a hill or two, or a dozen, were no obstacle. 
Eocks there Avere in abundance, as everywhere else, and a brook 
of quite pretentious size, with a log felled across it for pedes- 
trians, was quite in order. The first changes made in the line of 
improvement was when some enterprising settler would ex- 
change a more agreeable route for the range bordering on his 
farm. 

Sometimes the highways were made more passable by citizens, 
who would remove the trees for the fuel they afforded. Soon 
came the call for wider roads to avoid the drifting of the winter 
snow. This was sometimes provided for by a piece of the com- 
mon lands being given in return. 

It was not until the rush and hustle of busy life seized upon 
our ancestors that the shortest, quickest and easiest routes to 



HISTORICAL. 9 

clinrch, to store and to mill began to be agitated. The daily 
stage coach then began to wander anywhere between the third 
and fifth ranges and the town fathers were kept busy in ex- 
changing public ways for easier routes. Ofttimes it was for the 
advantage of a settler to have the stage pass his door and his 
land was freely given. "When the saddle gave way to the vehicle 
streams must be bridged and stones removed. Then came the 
law maldng towns responsible for dangerous highways, and 
vexatious suits added grave responsibilities. Every year brought 
added demands, until we have the present almost perfect system, 
with its road machinery and roller for the snow. The 3^-rod 
road from Kendegeda Brook to Sanbornton Bridge, across the 
plains, was opened in 1857. 

The petition for Bay Street from the "Ben Hill house to an 
elm tree on land of E. S. Wadleigh, " was dated September 3, 
1849. There was much opposition to this route and both sides 
secured eminent counsel. Hon. Franklin Pierce appeared for the 
defendants and Judge Asa Fowler for the petitioners, and legal 
proceedings were held. 

The road from Zion's Hill to the Grange Fair grounds was 
asked for in a petition, dated August 5, 1895. The petition was 
granted and the road built the same year. The land damage was 
only $266. 

The Sanborn turnpike, across the Giidden meadow, was for 
some years a private way. A company, consisting of Eufus 
Boynton, Olwin Dow, George F. Weeks and A. B. Wyatt, had 
the matter in charge. 

The road from Bay Street to Jeremiah Tilton's mill was 
ordered in 1830 and later took the name of Granite Street. 

BRIDGES. 

The first bridge over the Winnepesaukee was a little farther 
to the east than the present structure by the Optical Works. 
It was built in 1763. Three hundred pounds, old tender, were 
A'oted towards its construction. 

It must have been used for teams or horseback riders, as 
Nathaniel Burley, on his way from Canterbury to his new home 
in Sanbornton, took his family over it with horse and cows. 

]Mrs. Burley, says ]\Ir. Eunnells, rode on horseback with her 
two youngest children behind her. In front was a bag con- 
taining one and a half bushels of meal. Slung over the horse's 



10 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

back, saddle-fashion, was a strawbed tick, in which was the 
barnyard poultry. Holes had been cut in it for breathing places, 
out of which on either side their heads protruded. 

The father, with two older boys, followed on foot, driving- 
two cows. 

This was in 1767. A better bridge was built in 178-4, Canter- 
bury assisting. This was carried away by an ice freshet on Feb- 
ruary 12, 1824, together with dams and mills. 

It must have been replaced at once, as it was the only public 
means of crossing the river. The records say nothing of it. It 
was the scene of a frightful accident in 1839. Mr. Kunnells 
says: "A six-horse stage had just left the tavern opposite. When 
the horses were well on the bridge it fell without a moment's 
warning. The horses became detached and went with it into the 
water. Passengers riding on the top were thrown into the stream 
and floated down to the dam. None of them lost their lives, but 
only one of the horses w-as rescued." 

It was at once rebuilt and, with occasional repairs, remained 
until the present iron structure replaced it. 

When the new road from Kendegeda Brook to Tilton, across 
land of Capt. Isaac Glines and Col. Asa P. Cate, was opened in 
1857, a suspension wooden bridge was put across the river, close 
by the railroad bridge. 

Not many years later it parted in the middle from the weight 
of accumulated snow and ice and went down the stream. An- 
other wooden one, with a pier in the middle, took its place, and 
this was taken away to make room for the present iron structure. 

These fine iron bridges, which now span the river, were con- 
tracted for in November, 1881, at a cost of nearly $6,000. They 
were completed in April, 1882, the entire cost being $5,500, of 
which Hon. C. E. Tilton contributed $500 and was the pro- 
moter of the enterprise. The lower one cost $1,000 less than the 
upper one. 

The plate upon the elevated crosspiece over the entrance to 
the Northfield end of the upper bridge bears this inscription: 

Erected 1881 Pat Apr. 16 1878 

Corrogatecl Metal Co. Builders 

East Berlin Conu. 

James N. Forrest, 
Jasou Foss, 
Gawu E. Gorrell, 

Selectmen of Northfield. 



HISTORICAL. 11 



HOLMES BRIDGE. 



Tliere was also a wooden structure spauuing the river farther 
down stream by the old Holmes ]\Iill, now Tiltou ]\Iills. 

Mr. Joseph Dearborn says that the bridge was built by sub- 
scription. "My father," said he, "furnished lumber and labor. 
Mr. Philip Clough's farm extended south as far as the Colony 
road and east to Colonel Gate's, including all the old Seminary 
land and other land bordering on the river. His house stood 
near the old sawmill and was moved when the railroad ran di- 
rectly underneath it. This farm was bought by Mr. Holmes and 
he needed the dwelling for a boarding house. He laid out a 
3-rod road across the land where Park Street now runs and 
extended it to the Colony road, purchasing a narrow strip of 
Col. Simeon Cate for $100 to complete it. ' ' 

The road from his house, later owned by Hon. A. H. Tiltou, on 
the Franklin road, down to this bridge, over it and on down past 
the present fair grounds, was on his own land and was never a 
public highway, although he made a strenuous effort to make it 
the main traveled route to Canterbury by cutting straight to "the 
Hanuaford crossing, where the railroad runs. 

The court, on his petition, sent out a committee, there being- 
no county commissioners then. This committee refused to do it, 
as the town had lately extensively repaired the other road past 
the brick church. 

The Holmes bridge was not a durable structure. It became 
unsafe for want of repairs and was used only for pedestrians 
for some time. One end became loose and fell into the river and 
the other was pulled down. 

JEREMIAH TILTON'S BRIDGE. 

There was a bridge by the upper dam, with the north entrance 
east of the present box shop, and the south by Dea. Andrew 
Gilman's brickyard. This must have been the one spoken of by 
Mr. Runnells, but located lower down the river and which he 
says w^as not a substantial one, according to the boy's story of 
its teetering as he drove across it in 1822. It may have been a 
private affair and was used by the town while rebuilding the one 
destroyed by ice. It was damaged in some way and, perhaps, 
destroyed, as the records show a lawsuit by jMr. Tiltou for dam- 



12 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

ages in 1825. It was voted a year or two later "that the select- 
men pay him as much as they think best for use of his bridge." 

THE "lOER" bridge. 

The range road passing the Leighton farm originally ran 
straight to the river, over which was a bridge, which disappeared 
long ago and was never rebuilt. One committee of the town 
voted not to accept it and another one was chosen. I can give no 
further history, although a good story concerning it is told else- 
where. The road then was changed and access to Sanbornton 
obtained at the Sanborn l^ridge. 

THE CROSS bridge. 

The Allard bridge, later called the Cross bridge, was a short 
one, with wooden piers, until the Winnepiseogee Paper Company, 
through Warren F. Daniell, agent, desired to flow their surround- 
ing flats by raising the dam near it and an agreement was made 
with the town through their selectmen to allow them to raise it 
four feet higher, to make the middle pier of stone and to grade 
and raise the approaches. They were also to raise the Colony 
bridge and rebuild the abutments, maintaining both bridges for- 
ever from damage by water caused by raising the Cross dam. 

From time to time the little structures spanning our moun- 
tain brooks, so susceptible to spring freshets or a drenching storm, 
have yielded to a desire to "join the brimming river," but 
Northfield has been, with the exception of the flood of 1869, singu- 
larly free from expense attendant on replacing bridges. 



CHAPTER II. 

ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 

The early settlers of the town were not all godly men and 
women, bnt they were descendants of the Puritans and soon set 
themselves to erect chnrches and establish schools. 

At a town meeting, held the 6th of ]\Iarch, 1783, among other 
things, it was voted to "Build a house thurty By thirty-six for 
the good of the Paarish to be Built Between william williams 
and Sconduggody Brook Capt Blanchard Lieut Gliddon and 
Reuben witcher a Committee to Par Cix A Place to Build sd 
house. 
"Voted 

"Esq Gilman should have the Cear of Building sd House 
"Voted 

"To Raise Seventy Dolows toward Building sd hous" 

On the 2d of February, 1783, it had been voted, "To act 
upon the warrent in finding Bords, Shingil, Plank & Nails to 
finish of the meeting hous. 
"Voted 

"To Bid of the Boords five hundred at a bid and to be deliv- 
ered at the meetiug-hous by the 5th of March next" 

Five citizens agreed to furnish five hundred boards at 9s. 6d. 
each. 

Nine others were to furnish 520 foot boards at prices varying 
from 9s. 6d. to 13s. 6d. Ten also agreed to furnish "1000 
shingil" at 8s. Board nails were bid off at 6s. 6d. per thousand 
and "Shingil Nails" at 2s. 6d. and "Window froimes" at 2s. 
6d. "1 window fraim furnished by Lieut Liford of twenty 
four Squaires. " 

John McDaniel was to receive said lumber. 

The records show nothing further until April 7, 1786, when 
Lieutenant Glidden was chosen a ' ' Committee to enclose ye meet- 
ing hous and to floor and underpin ye soim" 



14 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

Then came delay. March 5, 1891, it was voted to "take sum 
]\Iethod to build a town house or meeting house." A committee 
was chosen for that purpose and consisted of "the former three 
to which W™ Forrieest ]\Ir. Thomas Cross Lieut John Cochran 
Esq Mathews and X. G. Sanborn" were added. 

They reported March 29 as follows : 

"jstiy foY iq build a house of a midling size 

'<2ndiy That the timber, bords, Shingles & Nails be Yendued 
off in small quantityes 

"Shuch men as shall bid off the Same on the Spot where 
there house is to be built, the timber is to be on the Spot by June 
1792 

"3'y The house is to be fraimed and Raised by the first of 
September of the same year 1792 

"4iy The house to be all boorded and floored and Shingled 
in the said month of Sept." 

June 7, 1791, the town voted to set the house at "the Cruch 
of the Roads where it Crosses the main Road about Eighty Rods 
below Esq Gilmans as the Road goes from Gilmanton to Salis- 
bury" 

In March, 1792, it was voted to raise no money to build a 
meeting-house. 

March 7, 1793, it was voted to build a meeting-house and 
Colonel Greeley, Esquire Harper and Captain McCrillis, all non- 
residents, were chosen to pitch upon a "small place where it 
should stand," and a new committee was appointed, only one 
of the old board. Captain Blanchard, being retained. 

March 28, 1793, the locating committee reported as follows: 

"We have carefully examined the situation of sd Parish and 
find the most convenient spot to be on Esq Charles Gliddens 
land near his gate a Little North of Capt Stephens Haines 
Dwelling House in sd ground we have set two stakes for the 
front of sd house or as near as is convenient." 

The report was signed by Samuel Greeley, David McCrillis and 
William Harper. 

The matter of location being settled, the work went steadily 
on. All the first-class workmen were from out of town. 

The nails were forged out by hand on the spot by a professional 
who came with forse and material. Grandfather Knowles turned 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 15 

the balusters and the corner stone was probably laid without 
ceremony. But the raising was a great event. It had been an- 
nounced for the second week in September and great prepara- 
tions had been made for a grand picnic dinner. Elder Crockett 
of Sanbornton was invited to make a prayer and to give a re- 
ligious tone to the occasion. The large granite blocks for the 
underpinning had been put in place and the sills were laid. 

Thus the ceremonies began ! Master Builder William Durgin 
stood on the southeast corner with a bottle of Ncav England rum in 
his hand. Filling a glass, he passed it to the good minister, after 
spilling some on the ground, and then to the dignitaries present. 
Tradition does not say at what stage of the proceedings the long 
and fervent prayer was offered, but it does say all drank their 
fill. It is safe to say that none of the workmen drank to excess, 
as it required strong arms and clear heads to swing the massive 
timbers to their place, and not the slightest accident marred 
the day's festivities. When the evening shadows fell the struc- 
ture was ready for the roof. The dense forest, east of the house, 
from whence the large beams and rafters had been taken, fur- 
nished an ideal place for the bountiful repast. An ox cart, 
filled with white and brown loaves, furnished by the good women 
of Bay Hill, had appeared in due time and, being driven to its 
place in the shade, required the strong arm of Capt. David 
Hills, supplemented by his limber ox-goad, to protect it from the 
hungry, fun-loving boys, who, no sooner routed from a rear at- 
tack, appeared in front, and so on in rapid alternation, while 
his good wife on horseback, with babe in arms, brought the kettle 
strapped behind, in which IMother Knowles was to prepare the 
fish and potato, which was to be the main dish of the feast. 

There were baked beans, of course, and various other dishes, 
familiar to our ancestors, all ready at the stated time. 

The morrow showed greater enthusiasm and larger numbers. 
The roof timbers were easily lifted to their places amid cheers 
and jokes from the lookers-on, and when the ridgepole was in 
place one nimble lad stood on his head upon it with his feet in 
the air. He had previously distinguished himself by being the 
first child born in the new town. Another bountiful feast was 
served in the grove and the barrel of New England rum, in the 
store building opposite, was again generously patronized. The 



16 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

afternoon was given np to sports of various kinds. Nimble-footed 
boys ran races up the hill and men with sacks of potatoes on 
their backs vied with each other in speed. They wrestled; 
climbed trees; lifted weights; and carried each other on their 
backs. Baseball, lawn tennis or golf had never been heard of, 
yet there was no lack of sport. Night came all too soon and all 
departed to their homes ; the master builder and his trained work- 
men rejoicing in a mechanical success; the religious men and 
women happy in being able to assist in establishing the preaching 
of the gospel in their newly-chosen home ; and the girls and 
boys sure they had had the one great time of their lives. 

A special meeting was called at the meeting-house on Decem- 
ber 2, 1793, to provide for finishing it. It was voted that the 
lime and finish material, except the glass, be struck off to the 
low^est bidder and that the work should be completed by the first 
day of October, 1794. 

The vote .to paint it is not recorded until March 9, 1800. 

There was probably no dedication, as the raising had exhausted 
all the sentiment, and, besides, the house was to serve a double 
purpose. Several special, as well as the annual town meeting, 
had been held in it before its completion. 

It did not follow the lines of modern architecture, with tower, 
gables, cornices and pillared entrances. It was plain, as you see 
it now in its severe outline and almost repulsive angularity, but 
it was after the then prevailing style and, if not a thing of 
beauty, was a joy for a long series of years. 

The selling of the pews began to be agitated in 1820 and 
eventually they were all owned by individuals. One sold at 
auction on April 8, 1807, was struck off to Enoch Rogers at 
$30.50. 

All denominations worshiped in it, as the town directed at the 
annual meeting, and for several years a certain sum of money 
was raised to hire preachers and a suitable person was chosen to 
expend it. In fact, in 1797, it was voted that "The selectmen 
supply the pulpit the ensuing year" and £30 was raised. 

Let us in imagination look in upon this little company of wor- 
shipers of the long ago. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 17 

SUNDAYS OF THE LONG AGO AT THE OLD MEETING-HOUSE. 

Let US go back to 1820. It is a bright Sunday morning in 
June. Breakfast and family worship are over. The cows are 
milked and driven to pasture led by old Brindle with her noisy 
bell. Cream-colored Jerseys and spotted Herefords were not 
then known. The chores are all done and everything made 
snug and safe, though the doors are guiltless of either bolts or 
bars, for the ubiquitous tramp has not yet begun his travels. 
We hastily don our home-woven garments and briskly take our 
departure on foot, while father, mother and the younger ones of 
our little flock are getting ready to follow on horseback. We 
are barefooted, of course (at least at the start), and soon fall 
in with others bound for the same shrine, until the highways and 
byways, leading north, south, east and west, are alive with 
coming worshipers. From out mysterious bundles come now 
carefully-kept morocco shoes and calfskin boots, which are has- 
tily put on by the wayside, and many a treasured silk dress is 
hastily donned at some neighbor's house nearby. There is no 
sweet-toned bell to ring out its call to worship or greet us as we 
arrive, and the solemn-faced minister must set his own pace as 
he passes slowly to his wonted place in the pulpit, beneath the 
large sounding-board. This was the only glimpse we had of the 
busy world and social life, and the greetings were cordial and 
honest. Up to the horse block, close by the door, they come. 
The sire, from his finely upholstered saddle, springs hastily down, 
thus displaying a saddle cloth that has grown beautiful under the 
skillful fingers of her, who now sits stately on the pillion with 
babe in arms, perhaps, and a rosy-cheeked lad or lassie clinging 
to her from behind. She slips proudly down, shakes out her 
rumpled dress, puts the children in shape, while the horse is 
led away to its hitching post. The older boys and girls have now 
arrived and all prepare for a dignified entrance. Did they care 
how they looked in these old times? W^here else did the styles 
have a chance to display themselves ? Who will criticize Mrs. So 
and So if she whispers into her neighbor's ear what her last 
web was colored with or how many yards of frocking she had 
woven the past week ? Next comes the latest bride and groom on 
their horses and elegant saddles, which formed a part of 
their marriage dower. How gallantly he helps her to alight, 



18 HISTORY OF KORTHFIELD. 

and, clad in their dainty bridal garments, they march pom- 
pously in. She is greeted with smiles and nods as he leads 
her to her first sitting in the family pew. And still they come — 
old Revolutionary uniforms, cocked hats, long waistcoats, knee 
breeches, silver shoe buckles and all. JMother's calash is rather 
large, but she thus shows she is well to do and can afford it, and, 
besides, there is every style of headgear that can be seen in 
a modern crowd. The square pews, like so many sheep pens, 
are filled and the doors shut and fastened, and only the heads 
of the taller ones are visible above the hea\y grills around the 
top. There are no cushions on the narrow plank seats that turn 
back on their hinges as the family rises, as they are bound to do 
during the long, long prayers, and let fall with most unseemly 
clatter when came the ever-welcome amen. 

The heavy plank seats in front of the double doors were used 
by the communicants when the Lord 's Supper was spread. They 
were quite like modern pews, save that they were longer, and in 
front sat the deacon in charge of that day's service, overhung 
by the swell front of the high pulpit above. But, listen, the 
minister rises and announces the opening hymn in this wise : "Let 
us sing to the praise of God from Watts' and Select Hymns No. 
120, long meter," which he does not read. Good Deacon Abbott 
now rises from his hiding place, ready to perform his stated 
duty. The chorister has already selected the tune and let us 
hope the choir has rehearsed it faithfully. The tuning fork is 
produced and the leader, biting it, rolls his eyes toward Heaven, 
sounds out his do, mi, sol, do, then turning to his choir, who 
lean towards him, he gives the keynote, which they sound out 
clear and loud. Now the lines are read by the deacon and sung 
by the choir until the usual number of verses are accomplished. 

They were not all simple tunes, for many a choice anthem was 
sung as a voluntary, in which the deacon had no part. The 
singers were expected to do duty on other occasions, and many 
a sad funeral was made doubly dolorous bj^ the misguided taste 
that could offer such comfort as came from the old hymn : 

"Hai'k, from the tombs a doleful sound 
My ears attend the cry, 
Ye living men, come view the ground 
Where you must shortly lie." 



ECCLESIASTiaVL. 19 

Then follows the long appeal to Heaven for all ranks and 
conditions of men, and especially for some stricken family, who 
have sent in a written request for the prayers of the church 
and congregation that their recent bereavement might be sancti- 
fied to their spiritual good. 

The elaborate sermon, in accordance with the prevailing cus- 
tom, is doctrinal and elaborates the accepted creed of the church. 
The minister spreads out his generous manuscript, announces 
his text, and gives the almost numberless divisions and subdi- 
visions that cluster in and around the theme. Each in turn is 
elaborated and proved and our well-nigh exhausted spirits are 
at last relieved by the trite announcement, "In view of this 
subject I remark first." These were often carried to eighthly, 
ninthly, lastly and finally. This was good old orthodox style, 
when sermons must be long to be in good form. But we do not 
go home even now. There is no Sunday School as yet and we 
sit in the shade behind the house and eat apples and the ginger- 
bread our mother so carefully provided, while the men gather 
about the grounds in groups, talk over the coming elections or 
discuss the weighty matters of national politics. The pastor is 
again seen wending his way to the pulpit and so again we enter. 
The service is an exact counterpart of the morning, save that 
the sermon is a practical one. Just before the benediction a 
clatter of hoofs is heard. The rider hastily dismounts and ap- 
pears at the open door. It is the "crier," perhaps the town 
clerk, who enters hastily and, with a loud voice, announces that 

marriage is intended between and , giving the 

full names. This "publishment" must be given in three differ- 
ent public places and so the rider is off again ere we recover our 
breath. Sometimes he prefaced the announcement with "Hear 
ye!" and gave the added order, "If any one knows any reason 
why this marriage should not take place, let him speak now or 
ever after keep silence. ' ' 

But we must not forget the tithingman. He, of course, is 
present with his ' ' rod, ' ' not unlike a modern fish pole in size and 
length, tapering to the end. His duty it is to preserve order, 
expel offenders and, passing from place to place in the front 
row of the gallery, reach down to the sleepers below and tap 
them on the head. The giggling girls and whispering boys are 



20 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

his especial charges, and those whose "eyes looked love to eyes 
that spoke again," and other misdirected eyes that peeped 
through Grandfather Knowles' balusters to some responsive ones 
in the nearest inclosure instead of looking straight to the min- 
ister, as they were in duty bound. 

But we must not forget our colored friends for whom the 
house had special privileges in shape of a narrow seat at the 
top of the flight of stairs leading to the gallery. Sampson and 
Pompey could occupy the allotted space in the east wing and 
Phyllis and Dinah the west. Let us hope the doors were always 
left open so the service could reach them, or that otherwise they 
were allowed to go within the sacred enclosure. 

But the end came at last, as the tired preacher closed his book 
and said, with uplifted hand, "Peace be with you all. Amen." 

The hungry and impatient horses, that have stamped and 
neighed for the last hour, now receive their burdens and gallop 
swiftly toward "pastures green." 

Sunday night is Lovers' Night! The Isaacs and Rebeccas 
linger a little behind. ' ' Home tonight ? " he whispers in a voice 
he thinks no one hears. She answers with a nod and a blush, 
and then they go their several ways, each and all satisfied that 
the day has been kept, if not in accord with the third com- 
mandment, at least according to customary usage. 

After the Congregationalists went to worship at the academy, 
this house was abandoned, except for business purposes and an 
occasional school exhibition. 

The first anniversary exercises of the Seminary were held 
here and w^ere attended by a great concourse. When the town 
bought the brick church for its business meetings, it fell into 
decay and was owned by several private individuals in turn, 
until purchased of Joseph Hill by Hon. C. E. Tilton and re- 
moved to the fair grounds, at great expense and trouble, by 
George L. Theobald of Concord. It was put in good repair and 
used as an exhibition hall. It seems most fitting that North- 
field's Old Home Day exercises should be held in it. 

FREEWILL BAPTIST CHURCH. 

This sketch begins very properly with the biography of Elder 
Winthrop Young, since Northfield and Canterbury were one 
when this sect was first established and very soon spread to the 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 21 

utmost western limits of the town on the INIerrimaek River 
intervale. 

He was born in Barrington in 1753. When about 22 years old 
he married the sister of Micajah Otis. Mr. Young's name appears 
with the latter 's among the nine petitioners from the Strafford 
Church to New Durham for help, after the Shaker delusion in 
1782, which wrecked whole churches. 

In 1787 he removed to Canterbury, where he was chosen cap- 
tain of the militia, and his tall, fine figure and courteous man- 
ners won him esteem and renown. 

In 1793 Rev. Benjamin Randall visited the town and baptized 
a number, and i\Ir. Young became deeply interested and zealous. 

In June, 1796, he was ordained pastor of the Free Baptist 
Church and entered upon a useful pastorate of 35 years. 

In 1798 he baptized 30 in Canterbury and in 1800 a remarkable 
religious interest sprang up in New Hampton, chiefly through 
his labors. Here he organized a church of 64 members and for 
eight months the work continued until 114 had been baptized 
and added to the church. 

Besides his regular duties at home, he held meetings regularly 
at the Oak Hill schoolhouse and Mr. Piper's barn. June, 1824, 
was a revival season and many converts were baptized by him in 
the river. He was often assisted by the Rev. John Harriman and, 
still later, by the Rev. Joseph Harper, J\I. D., and Elders Jere- 
miah and Joseph Clough, all of whom were ordained the same 
day in Canterbury. 

Elder Young established a church at the Oak Hill schoolhouse 
and a Sabbath School, which was maintained for many years. 
Many of the new comers to that region were Methodists and 
when the brick meeting-house was built, it proved more attractive 
than the unpretentious schoolroom and many were attracted to 
it and interest in the little society declined. 

Soon after the Adveutists and ]Methodists held services in 
groves and private houses during the summer months and the 
Sunday School was very regularly maintained. In 1822, at the 
age of 70, he was still in the work and baptized a number at 
Northfield in 1832. After a long life, spent in loving service 
for the ]\Iaster, he passed suddenly into the higher life on Jan- 
uary 6, 1832. Still the good cause did not languish. The Sun- 



22 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

day School flourished and meetings were held in suitable weather 
in Thomas Chase's grove, as the schoolhouse proved inadequate. 

Rev. John Chamberlain reorganized this church in 1858 and, 
under his care, it reached a membership of 40. (See por- 
trait and sketch.) He was ordained July -t in the woods by the 
Rev. J. B. Davis. A wonderful story is told by many partici- 
pants in that service, numbering some 1,500 people, of a won- 
derful instance of immediate answer to prayer. 

During the afternoon a shower developed in the west, increas- 
ing to alarming proportions. The crowd grew restless, as there 
was no shelter, and soon became greatly alarmed, as the storm 
was accompanied with deafening thunder. It crossed the river 
and the sound of the big drops rattled in the neighboring tree 
tops. 

Coming to the front of the platform, Mr. Chamberlain knelt 
with his face to the coming storm and never was a more fervent 
appeal made to "Him w^ho holds the winds and waters in his 
hand," than was there uttered. 

Suddenly, as the great drops came nearer, a sharp gust of 
wind turned the edges of the cloud aside and the storm passed 
to the North without a drop having fallen on the crowd. The 
effect was instant and a season of thanksgiving followed. i\Iany 
of those present call it a miracle to this day. 

After Mr. Chamberlain's departure to other fields of labor, 
the Bellniap Quarterly fleeting Association supplied preaching 
for one year, thus making the supply constant for a dozen 
years. 

From 1872 to 1883 Elders Higgins of Canterbury, Prescott 
and Hadley of Franklin, Rev. John Fogg and others, students 
from the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, furnished a con- 
stant supply. 

Mrs. James Thompson and Willie Keniston were active in 
reorganizing the Sunday School in 1875, and IMoses Batchelder 
served as its superintendent until his death. The old library 
was enlarged, an organ secured, and, on the completion of Union 
Church, moved to its present location and is still in a flourish- 
ing condition. 

The Baptist Church is now, as then, the only organization in 
that part of the towni and holds its services regularly and has 
largely, with the Methodists, conducted the Sunday School. 




REV. JOHN CHAMBERLAIN. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 23 

Dea. Charles H. Ayers (see portrait and sketch) was for 
many years its most faithful member and generous supporter. 

REV. JOHN CHAMBERLAIN. 
BY REV. FREDERICK L. WILEY. 

(See portrait.) 

"To be well born is better than to be born rich." Then, in the town 
of Loudon, state of New Hampshire, on the 27th of November, in the 
year of our Lord 1S21, John Chamberlain entered into a goodly heri- 
tage. His ancestry on both sides reach back through clearly marked 
lines to the colonial settlers of Massachusetts and Southern New 
Hampshire. They bore an honorable record in the affairs of both 
church and state. 

They were mostly sturdy farmers, but among them were representa- 
tives of all useful industries and professions. There were college men, 
doctors, clergymen, lawyers and statesmen. They were very patriotic 
and were active, both as soldiers and officers in all the historic wars 
for the establishment and defence of the American nation. 

John was the second of seven children born to Dea. John Abbott and 
Polly Clough Chamberlain. Judge Sylvester Dana, law partner of 
former president Franklin Pierce, in his memorial of Deacon Cham- 
berlain, spoke of him as: "An honest man in whom there was no 
guile; an intelligent man of sound judgment, who readily perceived 
both truth and error; a fearless man who dared sustain the right, 
however unpopular." These, with other sterling characteristics, were 
transmitted to the subject of this sketch and to his children. 

The education which John was able to glean from the district school 
was supplemented by courses at Pembroke Academy and New Hamp- 
ton Institution. He was an omnivorous reader, had a tenacious mem- 
ory and was a close observer of current events. The Free Baptist 
Church, the church of his parents, the church of his early religious 
associations, was the church of which he became a member at con- 
version. A long and severe struggle respecting his duty to preach 
the Lord's gospel eventuated in his ordination on July 4, 1858. The 
services were held in a beautiful grove near the Oak Hill school- 
house in Northfield and were witnessed by more than 1,500 people. 

The year following his ordination, Mr. Chamberlain traveled, as an 
evangelist, about 5,000 miles and preached on an average one sermon 
for each day. Near the close of 1859 he organized a church in Penacook, 
over which he settled; but when the national war broke out nearly 
all the male members followed him to the front and the church be- 
came extinct. His war record was unique and brilliant. He acted 
under a special commission from Governor Berry to care for the sick 
and wounded soldiers of New Hampshire. In this capacity he was not 
only a great help to disabled soldiers, but saved the state much treas- 
ure. 



24 ^ HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Among the pastorates held by Mr. Chamberlain were those at Pena- 
cook, Canterbury, Meredith Center, Meredith Oak Hill, Lisbon, Stark, 
Lower Gilmanton, West Salisbury, Canterbury Center and Northfield. 
From 1881 to 1890 he was chaplain of Merrimack County Almshouse 
where, in addition to general good work, he organized a Sunday 
School and established a library. 

Mr. Chamberlain had, to some extent, a poetic gift and composed 
several hymns which were copied into popular collections. These he 
sang with marked effect, notably "The Gospel Train." He was also 
gifted in prayer and used these, with other endowments, to profit in his 
evangelistic work. His sermons were well arranged, copiously illus- 
trated and were generally delivered with much pathos. 

His strong individuality made him seem to some a bit eccentric in 
methods and manners. But he was abundant in good works along all 
ordinary lines of ministerial effort and he did a work for humanity 
that but few of his brethren were furnished by nature and grace to 
accomplish. Exact statistics could not be found among his papers, but 
it is known that he officiated at a large number of weddings and 
funerals; that he baptized hundreds of converts and that scores of 
souls, converted under his evangelistic efforts, were gathered to church 
membership by other pastors. 

With the dawn of January 1, 1893, the liberated soul of John Cham- 
berlain went out from its Northfield home and vip to that city "whose 
builder and maker is God." After an impressive funeral sei'vice at 
the Northfield church, sustained by the Revs. J. Erskine, Lewis Mal- 
vern, Irving W. Coombs and Frederick L. Wiley, and the Masonic 
fraternity, the remains were borne to Bedford, N. H., for interment. 

On the 9th of May, 1848, Mr. ' Chamberlain was married to 
Amanda M. Johnson, who bequeathed him three children. Charles 
Judson is a prosperous citizen of Ponkapog, Mass; Mary C, now Mrs. 
Henry A. Aldrich, lives at Cambridge, Mass.; and Nellie B., now Mrs. 
William W. Darrah, resides at Dedham, Mass. These are all sur- 
rounded by happy families of their own. This wife and mother was 
called to her celestial reward July 22, 1867. Her successor, Irena 
Bachelder, was inducted into the family by marriage September 29, 
18G8, and presided over the household till its disruption by death. 
By a recent marriage she is now Mrs. Charles C. Noyes of Concord. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
BY REY. D. C. KNOWLES, D. D. 

In the spring of 1804 two Methodist preachers, Caleb Diistin 
and Lewis Bates, were appointed to the Bridgewater circuit. 

As they rode through the town of Northfield, they were im- 
pressed with the beauty of its hills and felt that "God ought to 
have a work in this region for them." 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 25 

They told the people they met who they were and that they 
would gladly hold religious services if they were desired aud 
if auy one would open his house and circulate the information. 

Deacon Jonathan Clough, a Baptist residing on Bay Hill, 
responded to their request and invited them to preach in his 
home. The house is still in existence, having been occupied 
through the century just closed by the descendants of the family, 
and being very recently sold by the widow of Wm. H. Clough. 

Eev. Lewis Bates, grandfather of ex-Governor Bates of Massa- 
chusetts, accepted the invitation and preached a sermon from 
the text, "I was a stranger and ye took me in." The people 
were deeply interested in the discourse of this faithful itinerant 
and requested further services, and Joseph Knowles, residing 
on Bay Hill nearby, offered his home for a second service, which 
was held two weeks later, Caleb Dustin preaching the sermon. 
A regular appointment was made for a meeting every two weeks. 

At one of these services, shortly after their beginning, the 
people were deeply moved by the earnest appeals of the preacher 
and several were converted. A class, consisting of Joseph 
Knowles and wife, Josiah Ambrose and wife, and four sisters, 
Susanna, Sarah, Hannah and Eunice Morse, was formed. Others 
were quickly added, among whom were Alice Glidden, Lottie 
Ellison, the mother of Benjamin F. Butler, and IMrs. Polly Wad- 
leigh Fullerton, later Mrs. Capt. Isaac Glines, mother of Mrs. 
William Clough, and thus was formed the nucleus of the INIetho- 
dist Episcopal Church of Northfield and Tilton. 

In 1805 Martin Ruter visited Northfield and baptized nine 
persons in the pond on Bay Hill, and in the spring of 1806 he 
was appointed by Bishop Hedding at the conference held in Ca- 
naan, the first regular pastor of the church, which had been or- 
ganized with a membership of 31 persons. 

A parsonage was built for him on Bay Hill, the foundations 
of which are still visible. By vote of the town he was permitted 
to cut wood from the parsonage lot for his own fire, "provided 
he leaves the fences in good order." 

The Methodists were also permitted to occupy occasionally 
the LTnion Church, now located on the Grange Fair ground, but 
some, not relishing their teachings, a discussion arose and the 
itinerants were content to make use of schoolhouses, private 



26 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

dwellings and barns for their services, until in due time a brick 
church was built for their exclusive use, which is now the town 
hall of Northfield. 

The church grew with amazing rapidity from conversions and 
the influx of new settlers. Among the latter was Chase Wyatt, 
an ardent ^Methodist from Sandown, whose descendants are still 
prominent factors in the church and community. The ministers 
were not embarrassed for lack of a church in which to preach, 
as they were equally at home in barns or forests. Their message 
of salvation was as large as space and they longed to have the 
whole world hear it. It is said that Lewis Bates once preached 
in the grove of Chase AVyatt and that his stentorian voice could 
be heard a mile away on Bay Hill. 

In 1814 Joseph Knowles, the first member and class leader, 
died in great triumph. At that time the membership had in- 
creased to 158 and their unity, zeal and faith had impressed the 
whole community. They exercised boundless hospitality toward 
one another and many homes were headquarters for the itiner- 
ants and the INIethodists of surrounding charges. Quarterly meet- 
ings were great events in their spiritual experiences and not in- 
frequently they gathered from far and near to enjoy their "love 
feasts" and to listen to their chief ministers. This unity and 
brotherliness impressed the people and the remark was not un- 
common, * ' See how these Christians love one another. ' ' 

In 1828, the new church edifice, now the Northfield town house, 
was erected and dedicated as a place of w'orship. 

In 1835 a parsonage was purchased and it is still used for that 
purpose. 

In 1841, Josiah Ambrose, one of the earliest and most influ- 
ential members, died. He was universally respected and loved 
for his solid worth, gentlemanly bearing and modest manliness. 
He had been for many years a teacher in the community and 
had won the love of his pupils. 

In 1856 the present house of worship, located in Tilton, was 
erected. The opposition to the transfer of the church home to 
another town was not serious and the inhabitants of Northfield 
soon accepted the change as for the best interests of the whole. 

A long list of pastors served the church through the century. 
At first they changed every year, and, later, every two or three 
years, but at the present time they are privileged to remain 




NORTHFIELD TOWN HALL. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 27 

during efficiency or until called away by the exigencies of the 
work. 

Of some of the 63 who so faithfully and ably filled the desk 
in the brick church and later in the adjoining town, it will be 
ni}^ duty to speak in this place. 

This church celebrated its 100th anniversary in June, 1905,. 
and from the able historical address of Eev. J. W. Adams I 
take, in part, the following regarding some of its best known 
preachers, who resided in Xorthfield: 

REV. MARTIN RUTER. 

Northfield was first recognized as one of the stations of the Metho- 
dist Conference in 1805 and Mr. Ruter was the first supply sent. 

The town records say tliat there was dissent from his doctrine by 
Gideon Sawyer and Jesse Cross and that soon after he and his fol- 
lowers abandoned the meeting-house, which they used alternately 
with other denominations^ and held services at the Bay Hill school- 
house and in William Knowles' barn. Their converts were baptized 
in Chestnut Pond. He baptized the first nine members whose names 
are given elsewhere. Dr. Adams, in his historical address at the Cen- 
tennial anniversary, says he was born at Charlestown, Mass., April 3,. 
1785. He joined the New York Conference in 1801. He remained in. 
Northfield for several years. Three children were born here. Sybil, 
the second daughter, was born July 15, 1810. He taught the Bay Hill 
school and had the superintendency of the others in 1809. He was 
presiding elder with his home here and represented the town in the 
Legislature of 1811. He became a learned man and was principal of 
Newmarket Academy and Augusta, Ga., College until 1833. From 
1834 to 1837 he was president of Alleghany College. Mr. Adams says 
"he was a man of a generous nature and of great natural abilities 
and that he bore the title of D. D." He died in Texas. May 16, 1838^ 
having gone there to preach to the destitute. 

REV. LEWIS BATES. 

Rev. Lewis Bates came to the New England Conference in 1806. 
He was born in 1780 and was a preacher while Mr. Ruter was presiding 
elder. Mr. Bates was a fine pulpit orator and often held services in the 
open air. His voice, Mr. Adams says, was "like the blast of an arch- 
angel's trumpet" and could be heard for long distances. He was a 
holy man and many converts followed his ministry. 

These were the two men of spiritual might whose voices first heralded 
the new evangel in Northfield. 

REV. WILLIAM D. CASS. 
Mr. Cass is not enrolled as a regular supply but is entitled to a 
place in Northfield history, as his wife was of the Knowles family, and 



28 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Still more for his great interest and labors in securing the Seminary for 
our town. He was a powerful man in whatever he undertook. He 
was a resident of Northfield in 1827 when the erection of the brick 
church was undertaken and mainly through his energy and push it 
was carried to completion and dedicated September 1, 1826. 

REV. GEORGE STORRS. 

Mr. Storrs, who filled the charge in 1829, was a man of great ability 
and Christian zeal. He had a great following and there were many 
converts. He was a powerful antislavery speaker and, attempting to 
deliver a lecture in the brick church, December 14, 1835, was dragged 
from his knees while in prayer, taken from the church and arrested as 
an idler and vagrant, going, a disorderly person, from place to place, 
etc. A hearing was held next day and he was acquitted, only to receive 
similar treatment at Pittsfield and elsewhere. A printed circular 
concerning the trial is still preserved. Judge Atkinson was the jus- 
tice and Dr. Hoyt one of the chief witnesses. (See Greeley's History 
of the Great Rebellion.) 

REV. SILAS QUIMBY. 

Mr. Quimby was preacher for the year 1855, which will be remem- 
bered as the beginning of the enterprise which took from us the only 
remaining church. 

The feeling against its removal was, however, not of long duration, 
.as recorded elsewhere, and the church, although outside our borders, 
has for more than a half century entered largely into the spiritual 
life of the town. 

These are but a few of the 62 devoted men who served the de- 
nomination in Northfield, the pioneers in point of time or the 
leaders in great emergencies, and who were residents here. 

NORTHFIELD CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 

Early in the spring of 1822 there was an organization formed, 
•called "The First Religions Society of Northfield," and $150 
was raised for preaching, but there are no records to show what 
denominations were included or how long the organization ex- 
isted in Northfield. 

In July of the same year the Rev. Abraham Bodwell of San- 
hornton, the Rev. Dr. Woods of Boscawen and the Rev. Asa 
McFarland of Concord were invited to consult with those who 
were desirous of forming a Congregational Church. After 
much deliberation it seemed advisable and an organization was 



ECCLESIASTICAL, 29» 

effected ou July IS, 1822. There were 16 original members,, 
namely : 

Elias Abbott and wife, Elizabeth; » 

Obadiah Hall and wife, Hannah; 

Obadiah Hall, Jr., and Avife, Hannah; 

Susanna Hancock; 

Jeremiah Hall; 

Kobert Forrest and wife, Sarah; 

Ebenezer Morrison and wife, Anna ; 

Mrs. Betsey Brown; 

Sally Dearborn; 

Dr. Enos Hoyt; 

Abagail Abbott. 

Dr. Wood preached the sermon and administered the sacrament 
on that occasion. 

Elias Abbott was chosen deacon and, a little later, Jeremiah 
Hall was similarly honored. 

"Within a year the membership was increased by six and a 
weekly prayer-meeting established, which has continued regu- 
larly to the present time. During the 1-1 years following, 90 
were added to its membership. 

They worshiped at the meeting-house when other denomina- 
tions were not using it. Often they met at the Centre school- 
house; sometimes at Bay Hill and, later, at the academy at 
Sanbornton Bridge. 

The farmers, it was claimed, could more easily go to the vil- 
lage, which was fast increasing in population, than the village 
people could go a mile on foot to the old meeting-house; so that 
when a new house of worship was anticipated its location was 
easily decided, and public worship was held in the old academy 
thereafter. 

A prominent citizen of Sanbornton Bridge, who did not sym- 
pathize with the antislavery movement, then coming to the 
front, offered a site free of cost provided the subject of Ameri- 
can slavery be forever excluded from its pulpit. 

There was not, however, any trouble in securing a site. 
Three small tracts were purchased, one given and the present 
site unanimously agreed upon. 

Four prominent men. Dr. Hoyt, William Follansby, Robert 



30 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Gray and Esq. Samuel Tilton, agreed to furnish one third of 
the cost and take their pay in pews. Others pledged themselves 
to purchase and the work was begun in IMay, 1838, by a force 
of workmen from Hopkinton. 

Pastor and people gathered among the timbers at the laying 
of the corner stone. Eev. Enoch Corser offered prayer. A 
choir, consisting of Deacon Hall, Hazen Cross, Dr. Hoyt, Miss 
Eliza Hall and Miss Sarah Tilton, rendered appropriate music. 
Five months later the pews were sold, the building paid for 
and dedicated free of debt. The whole cost, including fur- 
nishings, bell, etc., was $3,500. The bell, the only one for miles 
around, was furnished by the Ladies' Circle. 

Does my duty as historian stop here? Far from it. This 
church has been all through the subsequent years as much — nay 
more — a factor in the spiritual and social life of Northfield 
than when that handful of 16 original members gathered around 
the Lord's table for their first communion. 

It now took the name of "The Northfield and Sanbornton 
Bridge Congregational Church." 

In 1867 the building was raised and an under story put in. 
This improvement furnished a vestry and pastor's room, with 
stairs leading to the pulpit. A kitchen was also added. Mr. 
Bradbury T. Brown gratuitously furnished the lumber and 
Jeremiah C. Tilton had charge of the work. 

The gallery was rebuilt in 1882 and the organ placed behind 
the desk, new seats provided and the room frescoed. It was 
further improved in 1887 and the seating capacity greatly en- 
larged. The memorial room, fitted up by the late Selwin Pea- 
body in memory of his devoted wife, was dedicated January 20, 
1888. 

The church is now provided with modern improvements, in 
all of which the Northfield members have generously done their 
share. Of the 13 who have filled the office of deacon, 10 have 
been residents of Northfield, as were all the charter members 
of the church and 12 of the 20 Sunday School superintendents. 

Of the many bequests, those coming from Northfield friends 
have been in excess of those from others. Of the seven godly, 
earnest men, who have told the "old, old story" from this desk, 
four have dwelt within our borders and will be noticed herewith. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 31 

Only when the books are opened in the clearer vision of Heaven 
shall we be able to trace the dim lines and read how God 's provi- 
dence and grace have followed weak, human efforts and suppli- 
cations. 

REV. LIBA CONANT. 

Rev. John Turner was the first Congregational minister to preach 
in the old meeting-house and was followed by the Revs. Jotham and 
Samuel Sewall. 

Rev. Mr. Page of Salisbury fills the record until the coming of Rev. 
Liba Conant, when the church was organized in 1S22. He was or- 
dained May 29 1823. 

He is characterized by one, who long sat under his preaching, as "a 
small man with soft voice and gentle manners, one of the few of 
whom the world is not worthy." He was a graduate of Brown Uni- 
versity and this was his first charge. His salary was meager and his 
father, liking the arrangement, came to reside with him to assist in 
his support. 

He was especially happy in his marriage service and his house was 
the scene of numberless weddings. The temperance reform began 
during his pastorate and was, as elsewhere, the occasion of opposition 
and bitterness of feeling. The church passed a resolve "that no one 
be received as a member who trafficks in or manufactures ardent 
spirits and any member who begins to sell shall be disciplined." Mr. 
Conant and his family were greatly endeared to his people. 

Only seven came to the Lord's table at his first communion. At 
the last one there were 106. He retired in 1836, after 14 years of ser- 
vice. 

Hazel Lucas followed with one year's service and then came that 
strong, blunt, eloquent and thoroughly devoted man, 

REV. ENOCH CORSER. 

He was a graduate of Middlebury College in 1811. He had preached 
in Loudon 20 years and delighted especially to teach the fundamental 
doctrines of his belief. 

His sermons were models of method, running always to fifthly and 
sixthly, and his deductions also ran through divisions and subdivisions 
to lastly and finally. He had a powerful voice and tremendous muscle, 
which he sometimes used on the desk and Bible in his passages of 
Intense fervor. Sometimes he marshaled all his powers of invective 
against the wrong and his attacks were nothing short of storm and 
siege. It was during his pastorate that the church occupied its new 
house at Sanbornton Bridge. 

October 29, 1840, he informed his congregation that, whereas the 
members of the society had property worth $42,000, he could not con- 
tinue to preach longer for $350. He retired and died at Boscawen, 



32 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. ' 

after several other pastorates, in 18GS. Dr. Bouton said at his funeral 
that "he entered most heartily into all the great missionary, charitable 
and reformatory measures of the day, was a powerful advocate of 
temperance and that his sympathies were with the colored race in 
their bonds and with his country in her mighty coniiict with re- 
bellion." 

REV. CORBAN CURTICE. 

He was not a college graduate, but added to a good common school 
education a four-years' academic course and three of theological train- 
ing. His choice of the ministry as a profession was due to a painful 
misfortune when 21 years old. He was obliged for the rest of his life 
to go upon crutches. He gave his whole heart and life to his calling, 
so much so that we never thought but he was one of us, though neither 
his home nor church were within our borders. 

His frank, open face, as he rode through our byways and highways, 
smiling and bowing to all he met, was like a benediction, while the 
ardent clasp of his hand was a thing to be remembered. He was a 
temperance reformer and in full sympathy with the antislavery move- 
ment and intensely loyal to the republic during the rebellion and, as 
all advanced leaders of human thought, had to suffer for his loyalty to 
truth, to humanity and to God. 

He was accused of political preaching; many disaffected became 
identified with a new church then being formed, while others with- 
drew and withheld their support. His salary was in arrears and he 
resigned his charge. A council called to dismiss him refused to do so, 
alleging, as the report on the church records shows, that there had 
been no evidence presented that he had ever preached in the interest 
of any political party or for the advancements of its objects; that the 
imputation was really the result of an intolerant spirit entirely op- 
posed to the free and charitable spirit of the gospel of our divine Lord. 
He remained, many returned and confessed their error and seven more 
years were added to his term of service, making 27 years in all. 

He filled other pulpits for long or short intervals, but remained 
among his people until his death, February 19, 1881, aged 81 years. 

REV. THEODORE PRATT. 

On Mr. Curtice's retirement. May 1, 1870, Rev. Mr. Pratt followed 
with a pastorate of five years. He was emphatically a man of peace 
and by his preaching and work turned men's thoughts away from their 
contentions to things of higher import. 

The church was never in so good condition for special work as when 
Rev. Mr. Potter, the evangelist, came to assist the churches in a series 
of meetings which were productive of great good and brought many 
workers into the church. The fiftieth anniversary of the founding of 
the church occurred during his pastorate, to which in all its details he 
gave the most loving care and, though a stranger to the returning 



ECCLESIASTICAL. B3 

sons and daughters, tliey will ever remember the cordiality with which 
he welcomed them back. He removed to Orfordville in 1875. He, of 
all the past pastors, was present at the seventy-fifth anniversary. 

REV. FREDERIC T. PERKINS. 

He was a graduate of Yale and had taken an extended theological 
course. He was fully abreast of the times, simple and earnest in style, 
and by his genuine courtesy won the love and confidence of everyone 
he met. It was during the second year of his pastorate that the after- 
noon service was discontinued after some debate and opposition. 

He never quite enjoyed the practice of the congregation rising and 
facing about during the singing of the first and last hymns, and made 
several futile attempts at its discontinuance. One communion service, 
in the absence of the choir, they all smiled to find themselves solemnly 
regarding the organist's back. A little later, on a similar occasion, 
both choir and organist being absent, he very facetiously told them 
they could turn around and look at the organ if they wished. This 
settled the matter, and soon both choir and organ came to the front. 

After a service of nine years he removed to Burlington, Vt., in 1884, 
where he died nine years later. Mr. Perkins resided in Northfield a 
large part of the time. 

REV. C. B. STRONG. 

Mr. Strong was a graduate of Amherst College and later of Hartford 
Theological Seminary. He now resides in Harwinton, Conn. He re- 
sided in the newly-purchased parsonage on Park Street. His pastorate 
did not cover quite the year of 1885. He and his wife were fine singers 
and their love of sacred song rendered the weekly prayer-meetings 
greatly attractive. He also supplied the desk at Union Church often 
during his stay. 

REV. CASSANDER C. SAMPSON. 

Mr. Sampson came to the church from Pembroke. He was a grad- 
uate of Bowdoin College in 1873 and of Andover Theological Seminary 
in 1878. He, with the church, have just celebrated the twentieth anni- 
versary of his settlement and the good feeling and outspoken expres- 
sions of love and appreciation of his earnest efforts through so long a 
term of years are his best eulogy. Members and pastors of other 
churches united to do him honor. His influence over the young men 
and boys has been very salutary. 

In 1872 during the pastorate of Rev. Theodore Pratt, the 
church celebrated its fiftieth anniversary with appropriate ser- 
vices and ceremonies lasting three days, the other churches join- 
ing with it in the delightful festivities. Dr. Hoyt, then of 
4 



34 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Framingham, Mass., to whom more than any one else is ascribed 
the founding of the church, delivered an able address, full of 
tender reminiscences. At its close he presented the church with 
the sum of $300. He was then the only living charter member. 
( See portrait and sketch in Physicians of Northfield. ) 

Again, on July 17 and 18, 1897, the seventy-fifth anniversary 
was celebrated no less joyfully than the previous one. Arrange- 
ments were carefully made by the pastor, Rev. C. C. Sampson, 
and an able committee of the church, and the services will long 
be remembered. Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross, who united with the 
church in 1853, gave the historical address, which, with the other 
reports and papers, was issued in pamphlet form. Old-time 
hymns were sung, old friendships renewed and tender memories 
of those gone before recalled. 

THE ladies' circle. 

The Orthodox Female Charitable and Reading Society of 
Northfield and Sanbornton Bridge, now the Ladies' Circle, was 
organized in 1840 with Mrs. Abagail Hall, Mrs. Myra Tilton, 
Mrs. Grace R. Hoyt, Mrs. Fanny Whittier, Mrs. Nancy Tilton, 
Mrs. Persis Bodwell, Mrs. INIehitable Atkinson, Mrs. Sally H. 
Clisby, Mrs. Eliza Wingate, Miss Jane Corser, Mrs. Martha S. 
Baker, Miss Sarah Tilton, Miss S. Coleman and Miss E. A. 
Holmes as charter members. 

For many years it was the custom of the society to meet twice 
each month at the homes of its members in turn and, after de- 
votional exercises, while some younger members read aloud, the 
others were engaged in sewing, knitting and braiding hats. 

Work was often taken into the circle to be done at a fair price, 
and, with the money thus obtained, materials were purchased, 
from which garments were made and given to the needy or sold, 
the proceeds being used for improvements or repairs on the 
church building, or in assisting in the payment of the minister's 
salary, or for further missionary work. 

While its methods have changed with the years and a well- 
organized missionary society carries on this feature of the earlier 
work of the society, the policy of its founders is in the main 
maintained, and it is still the especial delight of the circle to 
make efficient and beautiful their church home. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 35 

The records of this society bear the names of scores of godly 
women who have faithfully labored for this church of God and 
for those "other sheep which are not of this fold." 

As, one by one, in the years gone by, these mothers in Israel 
have rested from their labors, they have bequeathed to the 
daughters the priceless legacy of unselfish devotion to the cause 
of Christ and humanity, and they, in turn, have zealously en- 
tered into their inheritance. 

THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN NORTHPIELD. 
BY REV. LUCIUS WATERMAN, D. D. 

(See picture.) 

The coming of the Episcopal Church into this town requires 
an introductory comment, and the comment may be illustrated 
by a story. In the year of grace, 1904, a certain judge in North 
Carolina was lamenting his lack of religious opportunity. "I 
can't go to the Episcopal Church," he said, "because it is full 

of radicals, and I can't go to the Presbyterian Church 

because it is full of rascals. The fact is, I have n 't any 

religious privileges whatever." Of his honor's testimony as to 
the Presbyterian Church, it is not for the present writer to 
judge. Of the Episcopal Church it may certainly be said that 
it has always been a refuge for the oppressed from what may be 
fairly enough described as "pulpit persecution." Its preachers 
have generally proclaimed the general principles of the gospel 
as they understood them, and left the practical application of 
those principles to burning questions of the day to the individual 
conscience. In Protestant pulpits pretty generally there has 
been a habit of making such burning questions a chief subject of 
preaching, assuming (somewhat roundly and roughly) that the 
people who did not take the preacher's side in those questions 
were utterly and inexcusably wrong, and then denouncing all 
those persons as either conscienceless knaves or pitiful cowards. 

The unfortunates so denounced don 't like it and they get into a 
habit of not going to church at all as the easiest refuge from the 
storm, or (and this has happened many, many times) they take 
shelter in going to the Episcopal Church, which thus, by its 
absolute avoidance of party, comes to be unduly identified in 
the public eye with the party that is least in fashion. Thus in 



36 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

North Carolina today, it is men who are trying forlornly to be 
Republicans or who are at any rate critics of the dominant 
policies of their state, who make the Episcopal Church conspic- 
uous by their large resort to it. Thus, on the other hand, in many 
a New England town, 45 or 50 years ago, it was Democrats, or 
men who, whatever their personal views about the right and 
wrong of slave-holding, really believed that it was not the duty 
of Northern men to break up a Southern institution at the cost 
of a great civil war, and also really believed (what their op- 
ponents were then loud in denying) that from a triumph of the 
more radical elements in the new Republican party, disruption or 
war would come, — it was such who conspicuously gave in their 
adhesion to the Episcopal Church, as ''the church which did not 
take sides," or even founded new societies of that body. 

It was this last that happened in Northfield. There were no 
communicant members of the Episcopal Church living in the 
town, and only two, Mr. and Mrs. James Earnshaw, English 
people, in the town of Sanbornton. Samuel B. Rogers had spent 
some years in a JMichigan town, where there w^as an Episcopal 
church, and had come to like its services and ways. He was the 
only man in the community that owned a prayer book Avhen the 
subject began to be discussed. Asa P. Cate had had some books 
sent him, inviting his attention to the claims of the Episcopal 
Church. From these two men the movement had its beginning. 
The book containing the records of the parish for its first 25 years 
has, most unhapply, been lost. Of the wicked carelessness that 
is responsible for such losses it is hard to speak in measured 
terms. Tradition preserves two curious stories. (1) At a meet- 
ing, held to consider the forming of a new ecclesiastical society, 
one man asked whether it was going to be quite fair to ask their 
wives and daughters — he seems to have assumed that the men 
would not be church members — to join a body so much spoken 
against. The one answer that really turned the scale was, "If 

it's good enough for Mrs. and Miss in Concord, 

it's good enough for any of our folks." The company present 
knew but little of the Episcopal Church, but what they knew 
of those two good Christian women was enough. Their church 
would do. (2) There must be a place for services and the brick 
building owned by the iMethodists was to be sold at auction. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 6 1 

These bold dissenters chose out two of their number to go and 
bid it in, carefully selecting two who would be least likely to 
be suspected of wanting it for a church. The ruse was success- 
ful,, and the new society acquired a desirable property for its 
start. But when the IMethodist brethren found that their 
church was to be a church again and not a blacksmith's shop or 
such like, they were very wroth and one of their leading men 
said that he wished that the old church had been burned doAvn, 
rather than to come to such a fate. 

In Bishop Chase's official journal for I860-- '61, we find the 
following entry: "December 6. I scarcely remember a more in- 
teresting visit than one I made, in company with the Rev. jNIr. 
Eames, to Sanbornton Bridge. We were hospitably entertained 
at the mansion of the Hon. Samuel Tilton, to whom, and his ex- 
cellent lady, I feel greatly indebted. In the evening ]\Ir. Eames 
read service and I preached to a large and attentive congregation. 
Responses exceedingly good; music very admirable indeed, even 
to chanting. Here is a most remarkable movement for the 
Church. Fifty families belonging to that beautiful village, 
which is partly in Sanbornton and partly in Northfield, had at 
the time of my visit decided for the Church, and twenty of the 
gentlemen had joined means and purchased of the jMethodists a 
good and substantial building of brick, which they proposed to 
remodel on a liberal scale, and in all respects adapt to our ser- 
vice. On the 5th of January, 1861, I received notice, through 
the Clerk, of the organization of a Parish, under the name of the 
Parish of Trinity Church, Sanbornton Bridge. Three days after 
this I was informed that the Rev. IMarcellus A. Herrick, of 
Woodstock, Vt., had been chosen Rector, and in due time I had 
the pleasure to learn that he had decided to accept the interesting 
charge. ' ' 

The Rev. Dr. Herrick was rector of the parish for nearly 15 
years, to his death on October 31, 1875. He was a man eminent 
in good learning and high character. In 1872 the parish bought 
land on the Tilton side of the river and erected the present 
church building of brick, which was first occupied on Easter 
Day, April 13, 1873, and consecrated on Tuesday, May 25, 1875, 
the annual convention of the diocese being held in the church on 
the next day. 



38 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The old building was sold to the town of Northfield for a 
town hall. 

Rectors of the parish, since Dr. Herrick's death, have been 
the Rev. Henry H. Haynes, a Tilton boy, 1877--'78 and 1883--'84; 
Lucius Waterman, 1878--'83; Isaac Peck, 1884--'85; W. B. T. 
Smith, 1886- '88; John D. Gilliland, 1889-1900; and W. Stanley 
Emery, the present holder of the office. 

The parish now owns a rectory, the gift of the late Mrs. Hamil- 
ton Tilton, and though "the little one" has not exactly "become 
a thousand," yet it is a substantial advance that Trinity Church 
has now (1904) 99 communicants, besides having given off a 
branch, St. Jude's Mission, Franklin, which reckons 60. more, 
and the energy and devotion of the present rector have created 
"the Tilton circuit," in which he reaches the astonishing num- 
ber of 25 towns with his pastoral ministrations. 

The first wardens were James Earnshaw and Jonathan W. 
Butterfield; the first clerk, C. C. Rogers; first treasurer, J. F. 
Taylor. Later wardens have been Asa P. Gate, Bradbury T. 
Brown, Arthur Smythe, Alfred A. Gile, William Fletcher, Amos 
H. Jones, Moses Garland, F. W. Fletcher, Simeon W. Smythe, 
Fred A. Clement, I. N. Boucher, John Fletcher and Frank A. 
Ross. 

REV. M. A. HBRRICK, D. D. 
(See portrait.) 

Marcellus Aurelius Herrick the fifth of seven children of Ebenezer 
and Mary (Nye) Herrick, and their first and only son who survived 
infancy, was born August 27, 1822, at Reading, Vt, and died November 
30, 1875, at Northfield. He was the sixth in descent from Joseph Her- 
rick of Salem, Mass., the son of Henry Herrick, who emigrated from 
Leicestershire, England, to Virginia early in the seventeenth century, 
and later settled at Salem. His father, a farmer and captain of the 
local militia, finally settled at Reading, where his children were born 
and where he died after a long illness when his son was a boy of 10. 

In his early home on a small isolated farm the boy grew up with a 
love for the soil and for nature which lasted all his life. The family 
physician, who had named him after two distinguished generals of the 
Roman state, early put before him the idea of becoming a doctor. He 
had a bright mind and great eagerness to learn, but necessity kept 
him on the farm, where he worked with characteristic energy. In 
fact, while trying to compete with one of the farm hands in the hay 
field he overtaxed his strength in such a way as to handicap him for 
life. His love of learning was unusual and seemed to be ingrained. Id 







cn^^ "^^pf- ±/ /^y/ 



7 




MRS. M. A. HERRICK. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 39 

those days, when there were no village libraries and cheap editions 
were scarce, it was a rare treat when a book found its way to his 
hands, and he was ever too ready to sacrifice his dinner in order to 
read a coveted volume. Later, some of these cherished books, like 
Rollin's "Ancient History," formed his first literary purchases, and the 
nucleus of his own library. 

In course of time this library, his pride and never-failing resource, 
became an unusual collection, consisting of the great classics of the 
world, mostly in the original, and of many rare works in theology, 
philosophy and history. It may be doubted if a larger or better selec- 
tion of books for such a purpose was ever made on smaller resources. 

From the farm, at the age of 15, he went to work in a broadcloth 
factory, and while thus engaged the wife of the superintendent earned 
his lifelong gratitude by her kindly interest and by giving him the 
intellectual food he craved. ^ It may have been at this factory that he 
acquired a taste for mechanics which was shown later in his skill with 
tools. He even learned the rudiments of the art of bookbinding and 
never allowed his beloved folios to become a "ragged regiment." Some 
of the bookcases in his study and some of the woodwork in the interior 
of his church at Tilton were the work of his own hands. 

In spite of discouragements, he still cherished the idea of becoming 
a doctor of medicine and, with this in view, he followed the usual 
course at that time of studying in the office of a physician, and was 
thus engaged for two years at Newburg, N. Y. Later, when a min- 
ister at Woodstock, Vt., he attended lectures at its medical college, and 
many outside of his own family had reason to be grateful for his prac- 
tical knowledge of medicine, his fearlessness in contagious disease and 
his skill and sympathy in nursing. 

His strong religious temperament soon outweighed all other interests 
and he resolved to devote himself to the Christian ministry, his early 
associations naturally leading him to the Methodist communion. Upon 
entering his first ministerial charge, he was married on June 4, 1844, 
to Hannah Andrews Putnam, daughter of Israel and Hannah (Andrews) 
Putnam, of Newbury, Vt, and later of Claremont, N. H. She proved 
a helpmeet, indeed, at a time when the life of a striving young minister 
of the gospel was specially hard, when food and clothing were prepared 
in the home, when comforts were few and the salaries of the country 
clergy did not exceed the wages of the day laborer. If frail in body, 
she was strong in spirit and equal to every task. Ever cheerful, 
thoughtful of others and given to hospitality, she was a rare type of 
the unselfish Christian, whose watchword, "Love is stronger than 
death," never failed. Devoted to the last breath to her family, for 
whom no sacrifice was too great, she outlived her husband 24 years, 
dying at the advanced age of 82, November 12, 1899. 

After much study and reflection, the Rev. Mr. Herrick decided to 
enter the ministry of the Episcopal Church, and on June 16, 1847, he 
was ordained a deacon, and the following year a priest, by the Rt. 



40 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Rev. Carlton Chase, bishop of New Hampshire. He soon became rector 
of St. James' parish, "Woodstock, Vt., where his three surviving children 
were born. The fourteen years spent in this place formed a period of 
large acquisition. The boy who had longed for a higher training in 
the schools became, through his own efforts in the school of life, a 
scholar of unusual attainments. He was especially proficient in Latin, 
acquiring what is rare even in these days of endowed universities, 
libraries and fellowships, the ability to read the language with ease 
and freedom. He was not a stranger in the literatures of six languages 
and, besides an extensive acquaintance with the classics of the English 
tongue, he had read most widely in the Latin and French authors; 
at the time of the Franco-Prussian War he took up with his accustomed 
persistence the study of German. 

In 1861 Mr. Herrick left Woodstock, Vt., with his family, in mid- 
winter, a season long remembered for its deep snows and unusual 
severity, and proceeded by stage and rail to Northfield, whei'e he had 
been invited to undertake the foundation of the parish, since known 
as Trinity Church. The present town hall of Northfield, formerly the 
Methodist house of worship, but then unused, was purchased and 
remodelled. In spite of the hard times, the parish attracted a number 
of devoted men and women. After the close of the Civil War plans 
were made to erect a new building in the village of Tilton. In this 
larger undertaking money, time and skill were generously contributed. 
The rector exercised a constant general supervision of the work, ob- 
tained gifts from outside and gave the half of his salary upon which 
he was dependent. The consecration of the new church on Easter Day, 
1873, was a great event in the history of the parish. Dr. Herrick, 
who had borne the brunt of the burden and who felt keenly the loss 
of the late Judge Cate, who had ever been to this parish as a "tower 
of strength," was near the close of bis earthly labors. After a long 
imprisonment in a darkened room, which a painful affection of the 
eyes had compelled him to undergo, he was suddenly attacked by acute 
peritonitis and on Sunday morning, November 30, 1875, just after his 
own church bell had sounded its summons, he entered into rest. 

Dr. Herrick served the diocese of New Hampshire as a member of 
its standing committee, as delegate to the general convention and as 
chaplain to the bishop. The degree of doctor of divinity was conferred 
on him by Hobart College of Geneva, N. Y. His sermons were thought 
out carefully and usually written at high speed, often at night. His 
congregations were always sure to hear some well-considered problem 
of religious life and thought treated in an original and convincing 
manner. He was a thinker, — upon many subjects in advance of his 
time, — to whom the intellectual life was bread and meat. He always 
spoke well, but hardly a scrap of his writing has been published and 
nothing in permanent form. This would have suited his own modest 
opinion of his talents, for it is doubtful if he ever considered himself 
a scholar at all. It may be said with truth that he lived a simple life 




M 
o 
P5 

o 

o 

I— I 
fa 

H 

O 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 41 

on the highest plane and that in the comparatively short period of 54 
years he achieved his chief ambitions of acquiring learning and of 
devoting himself to the good of his fellows. 

NORTHFIELD UNION CHURCH. 
(See picture.) 

For many years the people in the lower part of the town 
had no place but their schoolrooms for social and other meetings. 

In 1882 a movement was started by 0. L. Cross, Esq., to erect 
a building for a hall and church purposes, and an association 
was formed and solicitors for funds sent out. 

Mr. C. E. Tilton, on being asked to assist, offered on certain 
conditions to erect the house and asked that the sums pledged 
be made payable to him. 

His offer was at once accepted by the association, which voted 
to adjourn sine die, and a new subscription list was started. 

He asked that $700 in cash be placed to his credit and $200 in 
labor be pledged, and then issued the following circular to the 
town: 

COPY OF CIRCULAR. 

"Conditions on which it is proposed by Mr. C. E. Tilton to 
convey to the Town of Northfield the grounds, and a proposed 
Church at Northfield Depot : 

"Said Tilton proposes to convey to said Town the Lot and 
Church to be erected thereon with such other grounds in the im- 
mediate vicinity as may be included in said conveyance in trust 
and for the uses and purposes and upon the conditions as herein 
set forth and specified. 

' ' Said property shall be held by said ToAvn forever in trust and 
as church property exempt forever from taxation and not liable 
in any event for any indebtedness of said town. 

"The same shall be used by all Keligious Denominations on 
equal terms and in equal proportion as to time of occupation 
giving to each Denomination alternate Sundays if more than one 
desires to occupy it. 

"It may also be used at other times for any and all other pur- 
poses for which such a building may with propriety be occupied. 

"The persons, religious or other Societies occupying the same 
shall pay for such use and occupation such sum or sums from 



42 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

time to time as may be fixed upon by the Selectmen and which 
shall be in their judgment only sufficient to keep in a good state 
of repair said property, pay the insurance thereon and pay all 
the expenses of the care and supervision of said property and 
warming and lighting said buildings providing that the same 
shall be free for Sunday services the occupants to pay for warm- 
ing lighting and taking care of the church when so occupied. 

'iThe buildings shall be kept safely insured for their full 
value, and in the event of their destruction or damage by fire, 
any sum obtained on account of such insurance shall be expended 
under the direction of the Selectmen in replacing or repairing 
said buildings and placing the same in a condition equally as 
good as before such fire. 

' ' The schoolroom connected with said church may be used first 
for church purposes as a vestry, kitchen or ante-room, and when 
not in use for church purposes may be used for school purposes 
and upon the same terms as to pay therefor as are herein pro- 
vided in regard to said church. 

"The Selectmen shall appoint annually some suitable person 
residing near the same who shall have the care of said property ; 
see that it is not in any way misused or abused; shall have the 
power to let the same according to the conditions of this convey- 
ance and collect the rents therefor and under the direction of 
the Selectmen make such incidental repairs thereon as may be 
necessary to keep said property in a neat and tasteful state 
of repair. 

' ' In case any person or Religious Society or Denomination shall 
feel aggrieved at the decision of such agent in regard to the use 
or occupation of said property, appeal may be had to the Select- 
men whose decision made in accordance with the conditions of 
this conveyance shall be final and conclusive. 

"The names of all persons who shall contribute toward the 
expense of said buildings shall appear in the said ' Trust Deed. ' ' ' 

The town promptly voted to accept the conditions. 

The solicitors for funds met with generous responses and the 
sums specified were easily obtained. The trust deed contained 
nearly 90 names. The names, with amount and kind of aid 
furnished, is to be found on pages 271- '73 of the historical 
records of the town. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 43 

Mr. Tilton then bought the picnic grove, sharing equally with 
its owner, William G. Hannaford, in this gift, and, having se- 
cured plans, began the erection of a meeting-house on an adjoin- 
ing lot, which was largely the gift of 0. L. Cross, Esq., as well 
as the adjoining land containing a well and fruit trees, May, 
1883, with Leonard Conant in charge. The corner stone was 
laid on j\Iay 24 without ceremony. A sealed leaden casket was 
placed beneath it by Mrs. W. C. French. In this casket were 
inclosed the following: 

Copies of the Laconia Democrat, Merrimack Journal and 
Transcript, Independent Statesman and Manchester Union, each 
containing important letters relative to the enterprise; photo- 
graphs, with autographs, of Hon. Charles E. Tilton and His 
Excellency Governor Bell; and a copy of the Granite MontJdy, 
with portrait of Hon. Samuel Tilton. There was also inclosed 
a written sketch of the church enterprise, including the history 
of Union Church and Hall Association; transfer of funds, etc., 
by 0. L. Cross, Esq. ; copy of the conditions accepted by the 
town; its check list for 1883 and its town report; a copy of the 
New Hampsliire Register; a written sketch of Union Sunday 
School, prepared by Mrs. James Thompson ; a copy of the New 
Testament; Granite Monthlies containing Prof. Lucian Hunt's 
Centennial Address and Mrs. L. R. H. Cross' poem; Centennial 
card of invitation ; program ; napkin ; spoon and other souvenirs 
of the occasion ; memorial of President Garfield ; copy of the 
Boston Globe ; time-table of the B., C. & M. Railroad ; photograph 
of Judge Fowler; copy of the state ticket of both parties of the 
election of the previous year ; official package by Postmaster Sum- 
ner A. Dow; report of the Canterbury Fair for the previous 
year; and some small coins contributed by the workmen, F. G. 
Berry, master builder; A. L. Worthen, J. E. Dennis and Leavitt 
and Ford Sanborn. 

August found the little edifice finished and furnished. There 
were suitable outbuildings, bell, chandelier and lamps, with an 
adjoining room suitable for vestry, Sunday School, kitchen or 
dining room. 

August 21, at 2 p. m., the dedicatory service was held, a large 
crowd filling every inch of available space. Osborne Colby and 
C. J. Chamberlain acted as ushers. 



44 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 



Mr. Tilton, with guests, arrived promptly and, after an organ 
voluntary, in the following direct and business-like manner, 
presented the title deed and keys to James N. Forrest, Esq., 
chairman of the board of selectmen : 

"Selectmeii of Northfield: 

"In accordance with the understanding of the town you repre- 
sent, I am now prepared, in behalf of the contributors, to, de- 
liver to you the Trust Deed for this Union Church of Northfield. 
Gentlemen : In accepting this trust I hope you fully realize the 
responsibility and that your management of the same will be 
successful and equal to our expectations." 

Mr. Forrest happily responded, contrasting the old Northfield 
with the new and appropriately and feelingly thanking the donor 
in behalf of the town for the noble gift. 

Hon. L. R. ]\Iarsh of New York, law partner of the late Dan- 
iel "Webster and friend and guest of ]\Ir. Tilton, recited an 
original poem, in which he expressed his belief in the Christian 
religion and paid a compliment to his lifelong friend. 

The program was as follows : 



Doxology 

Invocation 

Music .... 

Scripture Lesson (Chron.) 

Dedicatory Prayer 

Sermon 

Dedication Hymn (original) 

Remarks by visiting clergymen. 

Benediction .... 



Choir and congregation. 

Rev. C. S. Nutter. 

Trinity Church choir. 

Rev. Henry H. Haynes. 

Rev. A. D. Smith. 

. Rev. Willis Hadley. 

Choir. 

Rev. A. D. Smith. 



The Sunday School, long held at Oak Hill schoolhouse, and 
wdiich will be reported elsewhere, moved at once to the new quar- 
ters with library, organ, etc., and a committee was appointed to 
arrange for regular services. The clergymen of Tilton, Franklin 
and Canterbury were secured for alternate Sunday afternoons 
and the following denominations were recognized : Freewill Bap- 
tists, Congregationalists, ]\Iethodists and Adventists, the Baptists 
alone having an organization. 

Sunday collections, personal gifts, the parsonage fund and 
the proceeds of an occasional entertainment furnished the neces- 
sary funds for pulpit supply. 



ECCLESIASTICAL. 45 

Messrs. Folger and Jackson of the State Young Men's Chris- 
tian Association conducted revival services for a week early in 
the winter of that year with good results and the little com- 
munity assumed its new duties with renewed courage and nothing 
lacking in zeal. It became also of great educational value and 
from time to time private schools, singing classes and lyceums 
were organized with a class of young people fully abreast with 
those of the more favored parts of the town. 

Losses by death and removal have often decreased the force 
of workers, but the work has not only been constant but equal 
in many lines to what its most earnest advocates hoped. 

Nearly a quarter of a century has passed and the original 
arrangements for support and supply are still in force. Preach- 
ers of the various denominations in the adjoining villages con- 
duct services alternately each Sunday afternoon and the Sun- 
day School, under Osborne Colby as superintendent, is still well 
attended. 

CHURCH OF THE ASSUMPTION — CATHOLIC. 

This church did not originate in Northfield, but for two years 
during the charge of Rev. Fr. Lambert worshiped in the town 
hall. It passed from thence to its new edifice on Chestnut 
Street, Tilton, under charge of Rev. Fr. Finan. 



CHAPTER III. 

EDUCATIONAL. 

LIBRARIES. 

About the year 1801 an association was formed under the name 
of "The Northiield Social Library." 

The Abbotts, Smiths, Hills, Halls, Dolloffs, Gilmans and prob- 
ably many other families were included. Sums of money were 
furnished by the members to purchase books, which were kept in 
the homes of the successive librarians in different parts of the 
town. It contained a few books of travel, some histories, several 
novels and various religious works. 

Its existence covered a period when few books were to be 
found in the homes and for many years it was generously patron- 
ized, and proved of inestimable value to those entitled to its 
privileges. There are still a few of these volumes to be found 
in the old homes. 

"northfield improving society for the promotion of useful 

knowledge. ' ' 

One of the most unique organizations I have ever seen bore 
the above title. It was located in Northfield and was authorized 
by an act of the Legislature in the year one thousand eight hun- 
dred and eighteen. 

It was enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in 
General Court convened, "that Peter Wadleigh, John Kezar, 
John Rogers, Jonathan Clough, Jr., Jeremiah Smith, James West 
& their associates, and such as may hereafter associate with 
them be, •and they hereby are incorporated and made a body pol- 
itic by the name and stile of the 'Northfield improving Society 
for the promotion of useful knowledge,' with continuance and 
succession forever, with all the powers and privileges incident 
to corporations of a similar nature, and may enjoin penalties of 
disfranchisement or fine not exceeding five dollars for each of- 
fence, and may purchase personal estate or may make and receive 



EDUCATIONAL. 47 

subscriptions grants and donations of the same for the benefit 
of said society to the amount of one thousand dollars." 

It was further enacted that the society meet at Northfield on 
the first Tuesday of January to choose necessary officers and 
that assessing and raising "monie" should be done at no other 
time. At this time, also, the society could make rules and by- 
laws for its government and regulations not repugnant to the 
constitution of the state. 

Peter Wadleigh and John Kezar were empowered to call the 
first meeting by giving personal notice to each member or posting 
a notice 15 days prior to said meeting, at which time all officers 
should be chosen and manner of subsequent meetings may be de- 
termined. 

In the House of Representatives, June 26, 1818, the above- 
mentioned bill, having had three several readings, was passed to 
be enacted and was sent to the Senate for concurrence, Mathew 
Harvey signing the bill as speaker. 

In the Senate, June 27, 1818, the bill was read a third time 
and enacted, being signed by Jona Harvey, president. 

The same day it was approved by the governor, William 
Plumer and Richard Bartlett, deputy secretary, attested to its 
being a true copy. 

The reception of members was also a matter of great form and 
dignity, as will be seen from the following: 

"Mr. Jonathan Clough jr recommends Wesley Knowles to 
be 21 years of age and declares upon honor that he is desirous 
of becoming a member of the society and if received will cheer- 
fuly obey all its regulations. 

"(Signed) Wesley Knov^les. 

"Northfield, Jan. 6, 1829." 

He, however, was denied a membership in this august body, 
as we find the following under date of June 5, 182'6 : 

"To the members of the Northfield Improving Society 
' ' Gentlemen 

"Being desirous of availing myself of the advantages re- 
sulting from membership in your Society I take this method of 
making known my request to become a member 

"Wesley Knowles. 



48 HISTORY OF NORTPIFIELD. 

"James B. Abbott 
"Att 

"William Gilmau" 
"This certifies that jNIr AVesley Knowles is a suitable candi- 
date for membership in the Northfield Improving- Society 

"William Oilman 
"James B. Abbott 
' ' Northfield June 5 1826 ' ' 

This probably settled the matter. 

Enos Hoyt and Benjamin Haines also certified to the fitness 
of ]\Ir. Gardner Barker to become a member. 

At the end of two years (1820), Nathan Wells, the president 
(probably), makes report that in looking over the transactions 
of the society ' ' nothing presents itself worthy of high commenda- 
tion. 

"No of volumes in Library 2-1 

" " " Acting members 8 

"Amt in Treasury $1.50 

"One volume has been added and it appears to have been 
carefully preserved from injury." 

He also suggests that the president and directory have power 
to organize a literary board, consisting of themselves and such 
others as may wish to associate with them in literary exercises. 

Another paper speaks of fines and assessments and initiation 
fees. The treasurer 's report in all shows the sum handled for the 
year to be $5.87%, with ISi/o cents in the treasury. Another 
annual report without date gives the volumes as 32, and member- 
ship 16, with 14 honorary members. 

January 6, 1826, the constitution and by-laws were amended 
and Article 10 made to read as follows: 

"It shall b.e the duty of every member of the Society before 
taking a book from the Library to give an obligation in legal 
form by which he is held in the sum of five dollars in case he 
fails to return the book to the society or pay the damage. & the 
Librarian shall not suffer a book to be taken from the Library 
in any other way ' ' 

The following bond is a copy of several among the records 
of the society: 



EDUCATIONAL. 49 

"Know all men by these presents that I Robert Gray of North- 
field in County of Merrimack & State of New Hampshire am 
held and firmly bound to the Improving Society for the promo- 
tion of useful knowledge in Northfield aforesaid County & State 
aforesaid in the sum of five dollars to be paid to the aforesaid 
Improving Society its agent or agents, to which payment well 
& truly to be made. I bind myself my heirs executors & ad- 
ministrators firmly by these presents, sealed with my seal and 
dated the Eleventh day of February in the year of our Lord 
one thousand eight hundred and thirty six — 
' ' The condition of this obligation is such that if the above named 
Eobert Grey shall pay or cause to be paid to the above named 
Improving Society its agent or agents the full sum of five dol- 
lars for each Book he shall refuse or neglect to return to the 
Library of the above named Improving Society within three 
months from the time of taking it then this obligation is void 
otherwise to remain in full force and virtue 
"Signed sealed & 
"delivered in presence 
"of us 

"Samuel G. Hannaford 

"Amos H. Morrison 

' ' ( Signed ) Robert Gray ' ' 

From the various papers I collect the following list of mem- 
bers : 

J. B. Tibbitts; 

Nathan Wells ; 

David Evans; 

Enos Hoyt; 

Liba Conant; 

Wesley Knowles; 

Robert Gray; 

Jonathan Clough, Jr. ; 

Daniel Hills; 

John W. Merrill; 

Thomas Lyf ord, Jr. ; 

John Kezer. 

From the same source I have also gathered the following list 
of books : 
5 



50 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Anecdotes, 8 vols.; 

Butler's Analogy; 

Whelpley 's Compendium ; 

Wonders of Creation, 2 vols.; 

Conversations on Chemistry ; 

Foster's Essays; 

Miranda's Expedition; 

History of England; 

Powers of Genius; 

History of Greece; 

Monthly Literary Journal; 

Logic, Duncan's; ■ . 

Logic, Watts ' ; 

Quarterly Magazine ; 

History of North and South America; 

New Hampshire Gazeteer; 

Stuart's Philosopher; 

Blair's Grammar of Philosophy; 

Conversations on Philosophy; 

Mason 's Self Knowledge ; 

History of the United States; 

History of the Late War; 

Life of Washington. 

The librarian's report is a model as to exactness, as every 
spot and rent in each book are given in detail. Thus, Mason's 
Self Knowledge, it is recorded, has spots on pages 20, 24, 35, 
etc., 26 in all, and a rent on page 7. 

I think we must conclude that this was a school for parliamen- 
tary drill as well as a library and debating club. 

This society, May 2, 1826, voted Nathan Wells, secretary pro 
tempore, and the members were questioned severally on the sub- 
jects of logic, grammar, geography and history. 

May 3, 1825, this society voted to celebrate the Fourth of July 
and committees were chosen to invite all singers who would per- 
form gratuitously and also to invite the Franklin Society of San- 
bornton by a letter missive to its secretary. It was also voted 
to post a notice at the meeting-house and at David Hazeltine's 
store 15 days previous, giving notice of an oration at 2 p. m. 

The record of the last meeting is dated January 4, 1842. 



EDUCATIONAL. 51 

NORTHFIELD FRATERNAL LIBRARY SOCIETY. 

November 28, 1840, an association was formed with the above 
name. James M. Forrest, Ephraim S. Wadleigh and Warren 
H. Smith were, with associates, charter members. 

The organization, though not so formal or pretentions as the 
Improving Society, in a lengthy preamble speaks of the posses- 
sion of minds capable of improvement and the design of the Cre- 
ator, who had so graciously bestowed them. It calls the time 
emphatically an age of literature and credits it with affording 
"literary blessings and privileges not enjoyed by any previous 
age. ' ' 

It had a constitution of seven articles and eight by-laws. The 
ancient record contains no list of books, officers or report of its 
continuance. 

CHASE FREE LIBRARY. 
(See portrait.) 

On the completion of Union Church, Charles G. Chase of Bos- 
ton gave a choice collection of 180 volumes for the free use of 
the people of Northfield Depot and vicinity. 

In a letter, accompanying the gift, he says: "These books 
may become the property of the church," thus passing to the 
town to be held in trust with the church on conditions elsewhere 
stated. 

Gardner Cook of Laconia generously donated material for a 
bookcase, which Almon Slader and "WiUiam G. Hannaford gra- 
tuitously made and painted. 

The volumes were neatly covered. 

The library was opened without ceremony. Volumes now and 
then have been donated by friends, among whom are Mrs. Chase, 
Mrs. William Gilman, Arthur Cross, Mrs. L. R. Cross, and, more 
recently, some 30 volumes by the patrons themselves. 

The past winter (1903- '04), on the solicitation of Arthur B. 
Cross of Concord, about 400 volumes from Senator Gallinger 
were put on the shelves, many of them being of general interest 
and some of them highly embellished. 

The various librarians have served without compensation and 
the volumes have been given out on Sunday. 



52 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

HALL MEMORIAL LIBRARY. 
(See portrait of donor.) 

In 1885 ]\Irs. John Cummings of Woburn, Mass., offered the 
town of Tilton and Northfield a library building, to cost $10,000 
if they wonld furnish a suitable lot. ]\Irs. Cummings further 
stated that the building would be a memorial to her husband, the 
late Bracket Hall, M. D., of Boston, a native of Northfield. 

The town promptly accepted the generous offer and elected 
Charles E. Tilton of Tilton and Adam S. Ballantyne of North- 
field as trustees to superintend the carrying out of the enterprise. 

In canvassing for a building lot there was no rivalry between 
the towns, the sole aim being to secure a suitable and accessible 
location. 

The first thought of all concerned turned to Deer Park, which 
was then the property of Mrs. Charles E. Tilton, She at once 
generously offered, not only to give the land, but to raise the 
grade and further adorn it. 

Trees were set out on the three sides and the fine piece of 
bronze statuary, representing a buck after Landseer, with gran- 
ite pedestal, inscribed ' ' 1885, ' ' was included in the gift. Perfect 
drainage was put in and an ample supply of water was secured. 

The following description of the structure is copied from the 
Boston Journal of August 6, 1887 : 

"The building is of fine brick, with ample trimmings of 
Springfield, Mass., sandstone and artistic terra-cotta ornamenta- 
tions. 

"The architecture is Queen Anne and the edifice consists of a 
main part facing the West and a right angle extension, one story 
and half in height, finished open and is surmounted with pitched 
roofs, slated and copper-crested. 

' ' The outside walls have numerous buttresses with windows of 
stained glass. It has a front of forty-two feet and a depth of 
sixty-three, with main and side entrances. 

"Beside the main entrance on the right is a tablet of sandstone 
sunk into the western wall, on which is cut an inscription setting 
forth the memorial character of the building. "Within the ap- 
pointments are perfect in detail and artistic without a fault. 

"The exterior as well as interior beauty combine to make the 
edifice a credit to the donor as well as to the towns to which it 
is given. The whole cost, exclusive of the lot, was about $10,500. " 



V: / ,.-, 








-%^3^ 





MARY HALL CUMMINGS. 



EDUCxYTIONAL. 53 

On its completiou it was deeded in trust to Hon. C. E. Tilton, 
A. S. Ballantyue and Mrs. Eliza Cofrau as a free public library 
for the two towns. 

An association was formed, composed of young men, on the 
12th of May, at which time by-laws were adopted and an agree- 
ment between the trustees and the association, as to the use and 
care of the building, entered into and the following officers 
chosen : 

Chairman, William P. Lang; clerk, Willie T. Ballantyne; 
trustees, Arthur T. Cass, W. B. Fellows, Rev. C. C. Sampson, 
Frank Hill and George S. Philbrick. Arthur T. Cass was chosen 
treasurer and L. F. Batchelder, librarian. 

Prominent citizens contributed $1,500 for books. This, with 
a further gift of nearly 1,000 books from Mrs. Cummin gs, fur- 
nished the library with 2,300 volumes at the start. A catalogue 
was prepared and the building was formally opened on Wednes- 
day, October 26, 1887. 

Dedicatory services were held at the ]\Iethodist Church, G ould 's 
Orchestra furnishing music. Rev. Luther Townsend, D. D., of 
Boston delivered a fine oration and Mrs. L. R. Cross an appro- 
priate poem. 

Rev. Dr. Knowles presented the thanks of the faculty and 
students of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, and Prof. 
Lucian Hunt, the lifelong friend of Dr. Hall, gave interesting 
reminiscences of their boyhood and school days. 

W. B. Fellows, at the close, in behalf of the trustees, invited all 
to come and get all the benefits possible from its use. 

Mrs. Cummings and Mr. and Mrs. Tilton were present and 
were accorded a rising vote of thanks. 

A fine portrait of Dr. Hall has since been placed on the walls. 

SCHOOLS. 

The records show that our ancestors had advanced ideas in all 
matters pertaining to education. In 1784, at a town meeting, 
with Edward Blanchard, moderator, the "Town voted to Raise 
Sixty Dolers in the Perduce of the country for Schooling for the 
present year one half in somer and the other half in the Winter." 
They also voted to "Keep a School the Present year and to Pay 
the School tax in Corn, Gran, & Neat Stock." The same was 



54 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

"voted" for several years, "the Perduee to be laid out in school- 
ing keeping open doors." 

In 1797 they voted "to build six school-houses. The first to 
stand near Crosses Mill brook (Oak Hill) the 2nd near Mr. Hodg- 
don's 3rd near the Meeting Hous. 4th on Bay Hill 5th on Bean 
Hill : 6th near Coos Brook. ' ' They redivided and renamed these 
in 1813. Again, in 1818, it was voted that "No. 2 should be 
called No. 3." In 1827 No. 9, the Smithville Factory Village Dis- 
trict, was formed from No. 5. The town voted in 1815 to give 
Districts Nos. 6 and 7 some assistance in building their school- 
houses. The entire school fund in 1800 was $300 ; in 1804, $400, 
and in 1811 "just what the Law points out." 

These schoolrooms were palaces compared with the first ones, 
which were built of logs, sometimes without a single pane of 
glass, as was the first one at Oak Hill; neither were there any 
means of warming them. Then came a better style with small 
windows, high up, on two sides, and a broad rock fireplace in 
the further end, with sloping floors. The buildings were square, 
with a little porch or entry in front. The schools were mostly 
kept in winter and only male teachers were employed, with the 
exception, perhaps, of Sally Thornton, who was both preacher and 
teacher and used to hold meetings in the log schoolhouse at the 
Center before the old meeting-house was built. 

There was no lack of teachers and ]\Iasters Bowles, Parkinson, 
Simons and Dudley Leavitt were residents of Northfield, while 
Masters Gleason and Sutton from Canterbury were often called 
to duty here, which consisted chiefly in teaching the big boys the 
three Es, "reading, riting and rithmatic," and in administering 
a certain amount of "thrashing" per term. They were paid for 
this service in 1790 in "wheat rye or Indian Corn, with wheat at 
6s. rye at 4s. & Corn at 3s. or in neat stock." 

The next change made provided advantages for the girls ; sum- 
mer schools were established and more districts organized. While 
houses were being erected, schools were often held in private 
houses and female teachers employed. About 1800 the following 
teachers were in service: Josiah Shirley, Polly Glidden, Nancy 
Parkinson, Edmund Dearborn, Parmelia Ellison, Betsey Forrest, 
Josiah Ambrose, Samuel Forrest and Kev. Llartin Renter, the 
latter in 1809. 




POND SCHOOLHOUSE. 



EDUCATION.Mi, 55 

Up to this period they very generally boarded around ; and the 
men made shoes or ran pewter spoons during the long evenings 
to compensate for board or to earn a little extra cash. The wo- 
men were expected to take along, as a part of their baggage, a 
spinning wheel and bundle of "rolls" or a quantity of yarn to 
weave into cloth in some friendly family, filling up the vacant 
moments by assisting the children of the family seated around 
the open fire with their evening tasks. These teachers were edu- 
cated by Rev. Martin Eeuter, Rev. William Patrick of Canter- 
bury and Rev. Liba Conant, the new minister. 

Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn established a school at Sanbornton 
Square, where some desiring privileges in advance of the district 
schools were enrolled in 1841, and we find the names of Adino 
B. Hall, James Henry, Frank and Laroy Cofran, Jeremiah Hana- 
ford, Benjamin A. Rogers, Henry B. Tibbetts and Sarah or Sally 
Rogers. This was Professor Sanborn's last term there, as he es- 
tablished a school at Sanbornton Bridge the same year, known 
far and near as the ' ' Old Academy. ' ' It was a celebrated school. 
He was a model educator and the female departments, under 
Miss Jewett, Emily and Julia Sargent, two lovely sisters from 
New London, furnished many finely educated lady teachers for 
Northfield. Since this time female teachers have been largely 
employed. 

The coming of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, 
which will be noted elsewhere, marks an epoch in the educational 
history of the town. 

SUPERINTENDENTS, 

In 1823 and '24 superintendents were first employed. Rev, 
Liba Conant was chosen and voted the sum of one dollar for 
each school. Rev. Martin Ruter also had charge one or more 
years. In 1826 "Mr. Conant was allowed the amount of his taxes 
for visiting the schools, the other two members of the Committee 
being expressly directed not to visit except in cases of diffi- 
culty." 

In 1833- '35 the town voted to dispense with the inspection of 
the schools, while in 1837 it was arranged that a ' ' Committee be 
allowed to visit schools so far as the individual districts should 
vote to that effect, the pay to come from the school money of 
the district visited." 



56 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

This matter seems to have been settled finally and a long list 
of educated superintendents are given, among whom are Dr. 
Hoyt, Asa P. Gate, Alfred Gile, Revs. Enoch Corser and Mar- 
cellus Herrick, James N. Forrest, Solon F. Hill and many others. 
Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross was in charge from 1879 to 1888, when 
the district system was abolished by act of the Legislature, and a 
board of education, consisting of three, placed in charge. She 
had filled the position eight years and was the first woman to 
hold that office. Since the adoption of the new plan one or more 
women have been continuously in the service and their presence 
there has been beneficial and entirely satisfactory. 

Before leaving the subject I wish to refer to some ancient cus- 
toms long followed, even in well-conducted schoolrooms. It was 
an unwritten law that the larger boys, in return for chopping 
the term's wood for the huge fireplace, should be allowed to sell 
the ashes at the close of the term and invest the proceeds in New 
England rum to be divided among the children, and a half holi- 
day or evening was given them. Some of the good Christian 
mothers deplored this custom and Mrs. Benjamin Winslow, being 
present once when backlog, forestick and all the betwixt and be- 
tween came rolling from the rocks in the big fireplace, said, 
nearly suffocated with the smoke that filled the room, " I 'd think 
they 'd better buy shovel and tongs than rum with the ashes." 
A neighbor, also a visitor, present, spoke up and said: "Let 'um 
have their rum; let 'um have it. It does 'um's much good as 
salt does sheep once in a while," and the shovel and tongs were 
not forthcoming that term. 

In another case Mr. S., who sent an apprentice boy to school, 
concluding it was not wise to have the boy present when the 
' * treat ' ' went round, decided to go himself and claim the boy 's 
share. The youngster was more than willing since a promised 
flogging must take place before he could stand in line for his 
treat. How great was the man's surprise, however, when good 
Master Gleason stood before him with stick in hand, with the re- 
mark : "You must take Jake's whipping if you take his rum," 
which he proceeded at once to administer. The old fellow always 
declared it was all right and cheap enough. 

It was quite the custom for the femals teachers to instruct 
the girls in sewing or knitting, and one overworked mother 



EDUCATIONAL. 57 

could see no reason why a man should not do the same. Accord- 
ingly, a well-started stocking was sent along in the dinner pail 
which, after the lessons were learned, was duly brought forth 
much to the teacher's dismay, who invariably directed the little 
girl, when applied to for orders as to what should be done next, 
to "narrer. " The next answer w^as the same, as was the next 
and the next. The w^ork went home that night to "stay" nar- 
rowed to a peak half way to the heel. 

SCHOOL APPARATUS. 

Until 1875 the schoolrooms of the town were entirely devoid 
of any of the modern helps or any maps, etc. In 1880, our "Cen- 
tennial Year," through the generosity of former pupils a copy 
of Webster's Unabridged Dictionary was placed in every school. 
The names of the donors accompanied each gift. The one at the 
Centre enrolled 100 names and Oak Hill, 115. John C. Tebbetts 
furnished one for No. 8 and the Curry family one for No. 4 
(Rand District). Hon. John H. Goodale gave each room, in 
memory of his talented wife, Celestia S. Mooney, a former pupil 
and teacher, sets of writing tablets. 

The next year, 1881, was a "red letter year" for the schools. 
Mr. John Mooney and John E. Forrest had left each a bequest 
for educational purposes and Dea. G. S. Abbott, with Messrs. 
Cass and Goodale, their executors, presented to the schools outline 
maps, dissected maps of New England, clocks, thermometers, 
globes, sinks, pitchers and basins, etc., numeral frames and other 
helps. Later, President Quimby offered prizes of tuition for ex- 
cellence in certain branches, and Mr. Charles Chase of Boston 
furnished valuable literature on temperance, morals, manners, 
cruelty to animals, etc. 

NEW HAMPSHIRE CONFERENCE SEMINARY AND FEMALE COLLEGE. 

(See cut.) 

The New Hampshire Methodist Conference originally included 
that portion of Vermont lying east of the Green Mountains. In 
184-1 this portion was set off by itself. Their Conference Sem- 
inary was at Newbury and the division left New Hampshire with- 
out one. At the next session of the Conference, held at Winches- 
ter, July, 1844, a committee of five was chosen to consider the pro- 



58 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

priety of establishing an institution and to select the most suit- 
able place. 

William D. Cass, J. Spaulding, John W. ]\Iowry, Samuel Kelley 
and ]\I. Newhall were chosen as that committee. Propositions 
were at once received from Newmarket, Plymouth and Northfield, 
and a committee of nine was chosen to consider these and other 
offers that might be received. 

This committee was also authorized in behalf of the Con- 
ference to enter into any arrangement necessary for the estab- 
lishment of a school to be under the patronage of the New Hamp- 
shire Conference, provided, "they do not involve it in pecuniary 
liabilities." Revs. Cass, Morey, Newhall, Kelley, Elisha Adams, 
L. D. Burrows, 0. C. Baker, J. Stevens and Eleazar Smith were 
chosen. 

The following year a report was made to the Conference that 
Plymouth had been selected as the location on certain conditions, 
with reference to the transfer of the "Old Academy" property 
there. Plymouth people failed to meet the conditions and the 
school was located at Northfield, the conditions being promptly 
met. 

Among the prominent men of' the town and the adjacent village 
of Sanbornton Bridge who were greatly interested were Hon. 
Asa P. Cate, Col. James Cofran, Hon. Samuel Tilton and Eev. W. 
D. Cass. The latter was chosen to solicit funds. Calls for money 
were promptly met and the building was commenced in April 
and the school opened for the fall term in 1845. 

There were no plans, contract or specifications, save that the 
house should be 70 feet long, 40 feet wide and two stories in 
height. Warren L. Hill made, and Colonel Cofran burned, the 
brick for it in the yard north of the Granite i\Iill. Darius Dock- 
ham was employed to do the woodwork and Isaac Bodwell to lay 
the brick. 

The institution was incorporated at its opening under the name 
of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. Rev. and Mrs. J. 
A. Adams and Dyer H. Sanborn, with Charles P. Ticknor, as 
teacher of penmanship, constituted the faculty for two terms. 

Mr. Chellis Sargent erected a commodious boarding house on 
an adjoining lot where the students were charged for board, wash- 
ing and lodging $1.25 per week and private families received them 
for $1.33. Tuition was only $3 for common English and $3.50 



EDUCATIONAL. 59 

for other branches. Rev. Richard S. Rust, with Miss Caroline 
Lane as preceptress, succeeded Mr. Adams in 1846. Prof. Dyer 
H. Sanborn, a popular educator and author of a work on English 
grammar and a treatise on normal teaching, was then conducting 
a prosperous school in the ' ' Old Academy ' ' across the river. He 
was asked to become one of the faculty and promptly accepted the 
offer. Other teachers were added as needed. Dr. Rust being 
chosen state commissioner of schools, to succeed Prof. Charles B. 
Haddock of Dartmouth College, gave prominence to the Sem- 
inary and brought a large number of advanced students. He 
held this office until his retirement from the school. 

John C. Clark succeeded him as principal. James E. Latimer 
became associated with him in 1851. President Clark retired in 

1852, leaving him at the head, which position he retained until 
1854, and was then succeeded by Rev. Calvin S. Harrington, 
who had been his able assistant for two years. 

In 1856 the large number of enrolled students made better ac- 
commodations necessary and plans for a new building were form- 
ulated. At the close of the summer term the old building was 
torn down and another begun. The main edifice was constructed 
after the style of the old one with an added story, which 
furnished a large audience room or hall. East and west wings, 
three stories in height, were added, and dormitories and boarding 
facilities were thus furnished under the same roof. 

A new charter with power to confer degrees was granted by 
the Legislature December 2, 1852. It was reported by Rev. Os- 
mon C. Baker and the trustees voted to accept it January 15, 

1853, and new courses of study were prepared. 

The College was united financially with the Seminary with the 
same board of trustees. Separate records were kept for some- 
time ; but later the title became ' ' The New Hampshire Con- 
ference Seminary and Female College." Rev. Dr. Harrington be- 
came president and Mrs. Eliza Chase Harrington, who had 
been the talented and efficient preceptress previous to her mar- 
riage, was placed at the head of the Female College. Professor 
Dixon, a former graduate and teacher, was retained as professor 
of mathematics with other specialists at the head of the various 
departments, and it was justly claimed that no university or col- 
lege had a better faculty. In 1857, 360 students were enrolled. 



60 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

I wish it were my duty to suitably eulogize those noble men 
and women who left such potent impressions for good on the girls 
and boys of Northfield, — that large army of teachers who, in our 
public schools, passed on the grand ideas of life and conduct that 
were so faithfully taught and lived within its walls. November 
7, 1862, the building was destroyed by fire and the site abandoned. 

The annual catalogues since then furnish all needed informa- 
tion. The school was a prominent factor in the life of Northfield 
for 17 years and its removal a great sorrow. 

The Seminary and Female College has bestowed its honors on 
the following young men and women, natives or residents of 
Northfield : 

Lucian Hunt, A. M., 1847; Luther C. Bean, M. D., 1847; 
George H. Clark, 1848; La Fayette Gate, M. D., 1850; Joseph 
Gile, A. M., 1853 ; Augustus B. Clark, 1854 ; Darius S. Dearborn, 
1855 ; Rev. Charles H. Hanaford, 1856 ; Abram Brown, A. B., 
1862; Lucien Knowles, 1863 ; John C. Tibbetts, 1867 ; Edward W. 
Cross, 1876; Frank W. Shaw, 1880; Alfred C. Wyatt, 1880; 
Charles W. Adams, 1880 ; Samuel W. Forrest, 1884 ; Charles F. 
Sanborn, M. D., 1889 ; Ernest Leavitt, 1889 ; Alvin B. Leavitt, 
1892 ; Harry Muzzey, 1895 ; Eay W. Firth, 1895 ; Fred Gardiner, 
1903 ; Roger Hill, 1904 ; Leon T. Powers, 1904. 

Martha D. Rand, 1847; Mary Y. Glidden, 1849; Cyminthia 
Foss, 1852 ; Omma 0. Howard, 1852 ; Julia M. Whitcher, 1853 ; 
Electa A. Clark, 1855; Mary J. Smith, 1856; Nancy Simonds, 
1856 ; Lizzie A. Chase, 1859 ; Annie M. Bro^vn, 1860 ; Sophie T. 
Curry, 1860 ; Josie B. Curry, 1860 ; Lucy R. Hill, 1860 ; Mattie 
A. Smith, 1860; Augusta M. Peabody, 1861; Dora L. Haines, 
1863 ; Hester A. R. Simonds, 1863 ; Augusta Simonds, 1865 ; 
Hannah Curry, 1867; Viola R. Kimball, 1867; Kate Scribner, 
1867; Anna Buzzell, 1869; Lizzie Herrick, 1869; Annie Chase, 
1870; Laura Chase, 1871; Abbie M. Sargent, 1871; Lucie K. 
Gile, 1872; Clara E. Smart, 1872; Myra A. Tilton, 1876; Helen 
L. Gerrish, 1878; Mary E. Adams, 1879; Bessie H. Morrill, 1880; 
Georgia A. Page, 1881 ; Kate Forrest, 1881 ; Josie Lang, 1883 ; 
Lizzie Page, 1885; Eva G. Hill, 1889; Josephine Emery, 1890; 
Mary Emery, 1890; Anna Gould, 1890; Ina M. Stevens, 1890; 
Georgia Bullock, 1892; Florence Hill, 1892; Bernice M. Buell, 
1893; Evelyn Hill, 1897; Laura M. Gardiner, 1898; Pearl M. 



EDUCATIONAL. 61 

Hill, 1899 ; Mary A. Pertliel, 1903 ; Ada L. Nelson, 1904 ; Flor- 
ence Shaw, 1905 ; Grace Crockett, 1905. 

]\Iany others, not completing courses, have had their lives deep- 
ened and broadened by longer or shorter terms of study and thus 
fitted for success. It has ever enjoyed a liberal patronage from 
Christian parents of every denomination and merited it, too, by 
a large and experienced board of instructors. Its high standard 
of scholarship, its excellent methods and its superior moral influ- 
ence have borne abundant fruit in its long list of authors, bankers, 
doctors, college professors, lawyers, judges and clergj^men. 

UNION SCHOOL DISTRICT. 
(See picture of Graded School.) 

Union district was formed by the union of Nos. 2 and 28 in 
Tilton and No. 10 in Northfield. The first ofiicers were appointed 
by the selectmen April 16, 1872. They were Messrs. Balcom and 
Garmon, A. S. Ballantyne and Samuel Tilton. There being a 
question as to the legality of the union a special act of the Legis- 
lature was granted. Pending this act a meeting was held May 
28, 1872, at the schoolhouse in District No. 28. Charles F. Hill 
was chosen clerk and W. S. Clark, Charles C. Kogers and Frank- 
lin J. Eastman, a committee to select a site, put in a foundation 
and superintend the erection of a new schoolhouse. 

A plan by Arthur Smith for a building costing $4,400 was ac- 
cepted and a sum of money, not exceeding $5,000, was raised to 
cover expense of building and site ; $3,000 of this was to be raised 
by taxation and the balance to be borrowed at a low rate of in- 
terest. A half acre of land on the Northfield side of the river 
was donated by Mr. Eastman and work began. 

In March, 1873, the building committee, having completed 
their duty, submitted the following report : 

Cost of house, $4,947.35; cost of well and pump, $183.38; 
total, $5,130.73. 

After the act of incorporation was granted, the legal voters 
met September 4, 1872, and chose a board of education as follows : 
Eev. Marcellus A. Herrick, Rev. Theodore C. Pratt, Eev. John 
B. Eobinson. 

Three schools were at once established and the first teachers 
employed were Miss Sargent and Miss Lizzie A. Chase, the latter 



62 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

remaining until 1880. From time to time new rooms were added 
and new teachers supplied until the schools numbered six and the 
possibilities of the house were exhausted. In 1900 it was de- 
cided to erect a new building. A. J. Pillsbury, Sidney Taylor 
and Arthur T. Cass were chosen a committee on finance ; Lewis 
Hoyt, Frank Hill, E. G-. Morrison, on construction. William 
Butterworth was architect and Daniel Page, builder. 

The appearance of the building was highly satisfactory and the 
committee reported a cost of $25,000. It was first occupied for 
the winter term of 1901 and its capacity and arrangement have 
proved eminently satisfactory. 

TEACHERS. 

Mr. George Clough of Warner, now of Boston, was the first 
male principal, followed by D. W. C. Durgin, Messrs. Smith, 
Rivard, Hulse and Seymour, the present principal, with six as- 
sistants. The female teachers have been largely graduates and 
trained in normal work. Mr. O. G. Morrison, Dr. C. L. True 
and Mrs. Charles Crockett constitute the present board. 

By a law passed in 1898 graduates of this and the other town 
schools may continue their studies free of tuition at Tilton Sem- 
inary, the town paying $40 per capita. The Seminary thus be- 
comes once more one of our institutions, taking the place of a 
high school. 




mm^ '^ 



K-f 



o 




I 
I 



CHAPTER IV. 

TRANSPORTATION. 

STAGES. 

The first settlers of Northfield traveled on horseback for many- 
years and heavy loads were moved from place to place in ox carts 
and on sleds in winter. Wheels came into use as soon as the 
roads were made suitable for them, and thus was established one 
of the most lucrative trades of our early settlers. Every black- 
smith's shop had a wheelwright's contingent. At first, wagon 
bodies were placed directly on the axles and were not found to be 
greatly conducive to comfort. This was followed by the thorough- 
brace, and every year added something to the comfort of the 
traveler, either in vehicle or road. I need not pursue the subject 
further. The post-rider early made his advent, and though he 
only passed through the towTi to Gilmanton by a single route, he 
was the important precursor of the present rural delivery man 
with his pouches bursting-full of tidings, good or ill, for nearly 
every inhabitant. It cost a dime, at least, and often more, to 
send a greeting to one's friends or to receive theirs in return. 

The year 1815 was long remembered, as it saw the first stage 
line established in the town. Peter Smart of Concord, who later 
married a Canterbury woman (see Smart genealogy), drove into 
town with a gorgeously painted stagecoach, cracking his long 
whip over the backs of two spirited horses. Mr, Ezekiel Moore, 
the post-rider, ceased his trips and mail bags were safely tucked 
away under the stage driver's seat. The stage was a move in 
the right direction and was often patronized for pleasure trips. 
Half a score could be crowded inside and the seats on the top 
were still more desirable. Peter Smart's yarns as he rattled 
along the main road and the consequent bursts of laughter made 
his passage the one event of the day. The children of the two 
schools on its route used to stop their play on its approach, line 
up by the roadside and make their "curtchy" as though it were 



64 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

the king's coach, and when the number of horses was increased to 
four, it was almost as good as going to the circus. Other drivers 
went along this line as Mr. Smart was needed for more difficult 
routes. The Winslows boarded the relay horses, as did Mr. 
Morrison at the Centre and the number of bundles passed 
out to the inhabitants along the route showed the coach to be 
something of a pedler's cart and a delivery wagon combined. 
Verbal messages were delivered and startling events chronicled, 
and what an old stage driver did not know was of little account. 
It made its last trip when the Boston, Concord & Montreal Rail- 
road was opened to Sanbornton Bridge, May 22, 1848, and was 
sincerely mourned. 

WARREN H. SMITH. 
(See portrait.) 

Wabben H. Smith began life as a farmer boy on his mother's farm. 
After his school days were over he began doing winter jobs on wood 
and lumber lots and soon drifted into a considerable business in this 
and other lines as a teamster. He married, November 8, 1844, Eliza- 
beth G. Glines (see Smith gen.) and had two sons. Mrs. Smith was 
one of Northfield's most estimable daughters, scholarly, refined and 
a true home-maker. She had been a teacher, was a fine singer, a 
social leader in the church and a queen in her home. 

Mr. Smith farmed for one year at the foot of Bean Hill, where his 
father and others of his family had started in life. He was energetic 
and tireless. The routine, the hard labor and slow returns of a 
farmer's life were not equal to his ambitions. The coming, a few 
years later, of the Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad and its con- 
struction offered an opening which he at once took advantage of. 

He was less than 30 years of age when his first contract was under- 
taken. He began work three miles below Sanbornton Bridge, at the 
Winslow crossing, and constructed in all, first and last, 64 miles of 
the Boston, Concord & Montreal road. Some of these were only 
gradings, some track laying, others both, and several included bridge 
and trestle work, and others included all these and many things be- 
sides. He, at the outset, removed his family to the Clough house, 
near the Holmes bridge and mill, where a large force of men were 
cared for, making strenuous days for the busy wife and her force of 
assistants. He purchased a home in the village and removed there 
in 1847. 

Larger contracts v/ere now undertaken, for his reputation as an ex- 
peditious and thorough builder was at its height. Jobs far and near 
were offered and often two separate jobs were in progress at the same 
time. He went in 1849 to a five-mile contract for the Manchester & 




WARREN H. SMITH. 



TRANSPORTATION, 65 

Lawrence Railroad and also carried the Passumpsic road to St. Johns- 
bury from Wells River in 1850. 

In 1853 he went to Connecticut for similar work on the Fishkill & 
Providence road with Thomas Clough and Joseph Rand as his trusted 
assistants. A contract in Tennessee was promptly despatched the 
following year. Then came 11 miles on the Suncook Valley Railroad 
and 15 on the Sugar River route; 25 miles from Cohasset to Duxbury, 
Mass.; 38 on the Montpelier & Wells River Railroad and nine and a 
half miles on the road through Franconia Notch. Nearly all these 
contracts included grading, track laying, masonry, bridges and trestles, 
and required large forces of men. This activity was in full force in 
1877, when he undertook 10 miles of narrow-gauge road from Profile 
House to Bethlehem, which he completed in one year, notwithstanding 
there was a mile of heavy grading. 

As one would suppose with so large a force of men and teams, 
every day was a day of adventure and hairbreadth escapes, although 
alcoholic liquors were never furnished and the exacting labor was 
accomplished on cold water and coffee. 

Mr. Smith removed his family to the ancestral home on Bay Hill in 
1874, and the farm became the rendezvous of his big teams of oxen 
and horses. A string of a dozen or two, going and coming, was no 
unusual sight. 

The pay for these extreme labors was sometimes paid in part, some- 
times entirely, in railroad stock, which did not always prove a bo- 
nanza — a gold brick rather than a gold mine. 

In 1867, while constructing the wooden bridge across the Pemige- 
wasset River at Hill, he came near losing his life by falling with the 
structure nearly 40 feet to the rocks below. A space between two 
boulders, large enough to bear up the timbers, which formed an arch 
above him, alone saved him from instant death. 

He recalls with great pleasure a scrimmage with the State of Ver- 
mont while building the bridge at Wells River, as the coming of his 
line into the state was greatly deplored by a rival line. In some of 
the encounters, stones, brickbats, spades and hoes were the missiles, 
and injunctions were issued and courts convened. Mr. Smith was 
victorious, however, after tiresome delays and expensive litigation, 
and the result was the settlement forever of the boundary line be- 
tween New Hampshire and Vermont, viz.: high-water mark on the 
Vermont shore. 

He was, until past middle life, too busy to attend much to local 
affairs, town business or politics. He has been allied with the Re- 
publican party since its formation and was a delegate to the Consti- 
tutional Convention in 1880. 

The death of his wife, October 10, 1898, the loss of the ancestral 
home by fire in 1904, coupled with the almost entire loss of hearing, 
are some of the misfortunes which attend the decline of his strenuous 
life. 



66 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

RAILROADS. 

The Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad was chartered De- 
cember 27, 1844, and the first contracts let in 1846. The first 
survey through the town was not followed in the construction. 
After crossing Kendegeda Brook on the plains, the proposed route 
bore to the east, and depots were located in the vicinity of Bay 
Street and the Granite Mills. This did not please the prominent 
men who desired a station in the village. 

Their wish was conceded to, and two deep cuts and two bridges 
were thus added to the cost of the construction. Zenas Clement, 
a lawyer, and one of the first directors, was then in business at 
Holmes, now Tilton Mills. Thomas Chase built the roadbed from 
Wolf Swamp to the main road crossing, Warren H. Smith the 
remaining distance in town, and it was opened to Sanbornton 
Bridge, May 22, 1848, with great rejoicing. All daj'' the citizens 
of the two towns were transported to Concord and back free of 
charge. A platform was erected near the Elm Mills Woolen 
Company's present site and speeches were delivered and cannon 
fired. It was Northfield's proudest day. 

John Mooney was local agent to secure funds and took a large 
amount of stock, as did John E. Forrest, Thomas Lyford, Thomas 
Chase, Capt. Isaac Glines, Col. Asa P. Cate, E. L. Wadleigh, Mr. 
and Mrs. William Gilman, Warren H. Smith and Jonathan and 
William H. Clough. Shares were $100 each and many invested 
their last hard-earned dollar in the enterprise, the whole cost of 
which was $2,850,000 to Woodsville. It is useless to enumerate 
here the causes of the depreciation of stock or subsequent losses 
and delays. The old common stock amounted to $459,600. The 
preferred stock of $800,000 paid 6 per cent, dividends from 1867 
until 1884, when it was leased June 1 to the Boston & Lowell road 
for 6 per cent, on preferred for 99 years and was run as the 
White Mountains Division of the Boston & Lowell until 1889. 
Later, it was leased to the Boston & ]\Iaine. No interest was paid 
the holders of the first stock for years and it became almost worth- 
less, selling as low as $5 a share with few buyers. 

It rallied somewhat, for various reasons, and in 1852 was 
quoted at $40 a share. ]\Iany well-to-do Northfield citizens were 
reduced almost to penury. This misfortune to the town is my 
excuse for dwelling thus at length on this topic. In 1897 it had 



TRANSPORTATION. 67 

reached par and commanded a large premium, being sold at 
$160, and I am unacquainted with present quotations. It is now 
a part of the great Boston & Maine system, which controls and 
operates 3,260 miles of road and represents a capital investment 
of about $204,000,000, with $38,000,000 as the gross receipts. It 
employs more than 25,000 men and the annual pay roll reaches 
nearly $15,000,000. Northfield men, young and old, have had all 
these years an added interest, not only in the line, but in the pay 
car, that has been a welcome monthly visitor, though the sums 
passed out in the little envelopes then would today cause a 
strike all along the line. It has all these years furnished em- 
ployment for large numbers of our citizens and a large market 
for wood and ties. Several of the most reliable conductors and 
firemen are residents of the town. 

TILTON & BELMONT RAILROAD. 

But a small part of Northfield is crossed by this road, which 
was chartered in 1883 and opened for business August 17, 1888, 
at a cost of $48,964.79. No stock was issued, as the expense was 
paid by the Concord & Montreal Eailroad. 

TILTON & FRANKLIN RAILROAD. 

It was first charted with the above name in April, 1887, and 
provided that if built by the Northern Railroad and Concord & 
Montreal it should be in operation by January 1, 1890, otherwise 
Charles E. Tilton, Franklin J. Eastman, Alfred E. Tilton, George 
S. Philbrick and others should be made a corporation empowered 
to build said road. The charter was amended July 30, 1889, the 
name changed to Franklin & Tilton Railroad and a new set of 
incorporators were named. These consisted of the directors of 
the Concord & Montreal road with the exception of A. W. Sullo- 
way, who was made an incorporator representing the Northern 
and Boston & Maine roads. These incorporators built the road 
at a cost of $250,000, paid jointly by the Boston & Maine for the 
Northern Railroad corporation. About three miles of the road 
lies within the limits of Northfield. 



CHAPTER V. 
MILITARY HISTORY. 

As the history of Northfield and Canterbury is identical until 
1780, I shall make use of the name Canterbury in the following 
record : 

New Hampshire was created by the king in council a separate 
government in 1679, under jurisdiction of a president and coun- 
cil. The first order issued to the province was to organize the 
militia. This was in the only charter ever granted to this prov- 
ince. 

President John Cutt was commissioned January 1, 1680, and 
the councillors January 22. In the president's commission was 
the following clause as to the needs and the organizing of a 
militia : 

''order 1. 

"And for ye better defence and security of all our loving sub- 
jects within the said Province of New Hampshire our further 
will and pleasure is, and we do hereby authorize, require and 
command ye said President and Council for the time being, in our 
name, and under the Seal appointed by us to be used, to give 
and issue forth commissions from time to time to such person and 
persons, whom they shall judge shall be best qualified for regu- 
lating and disciplining the Militia of our said Province : and for 
the arranging and mustering the inhabitants thereof and in- 
structing them how to bear arms. 

' ' And that care be taken that such good discipline be observed 
as ye said Council shall prescribe : 

"Yet if any invasion shall at any time be made, or other de- 
struction or annoyance, made or done by Indians or others upon 
or unto our good subjects inhabiting within ye said Province of 
New Hampshire. 

"We do by these presents, for us our heirs, and successors, 
declare, ordain and grant, that it shall and may be, lawful to 



MILITARY. ^9 

and for our said subjects so commissioned by our said Council 
from time to time, and at all times, for their special defense and 
safety, to encounter, expel, repel and resist by force of arms and 
all other fitting means whatever, all and every such person or 
persons, as shall at any time hereafter attempt or enterprise the 
destruction, invasion or annoyance of any of our said loving sub- 
jects, their plantations or estates. ' ' — Potter 's Military History of 
New Hampshire. 

The calling of an assembly within three months was provided 
for in this commission at Portsmouth or Strawberry Bank. 

FIRST MILITIA LAW. 

Adopting the principle that in time of peace a government 
should prepare for war, a military law was enacted by the As- 
sembly in 1718 and this was the first attempt at anything like a 
regular organization in the state. Heretofore it had all been left 
to the governor and council. 

It was under the new law that Colonel Clough and his scouts 
were sent out by Gov. Penning Wentworth to protect the Can- 
terbury settlers 1721- '46, as given in the chapter on Early Set- 
tlers, page 3. 

After the close of the Indian Wars the "north fields" were 
being settled and farms cleared. There w^as little time for mili- 
tary drill, only as the presence of game in the forests gave the 
boys an opportunity to learn the use of. firearms, and the stories 
of bloody encounters had created in them a deep-settled purpose 
to do likewise when opportunity ofi:ered. 

Then, too, they were not ignorant of the increasing oppressive 
acts of the mother country and their patriotism was at fever heat 
long before the news of Lexington and Boston Harbor reached 
them. Every man capable of doing military duty had long be- 
fore been singled out and the ' ' expected ' ' was eagerly awaited. 

It came in startling messages in 1775 "that Howe, Clinton and 
Burgoyne had landed in Boston and that British troops were 
arriving and that other parts of the country were actually en- 
gaged in war." 

Then came that wonderful paper called the "Association Test" 
to the selectmen of Canterbury, as to all New Hampshire towns, 
which I give in full. Also, another from the Continental Con- 
gress dated March 14, 1776. 



70 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 



After the close of the Seven Tears' War, and 1775, the Pro- 
vincial Legislature obliged every chartered town through its 
officers to keep on hand a supply of powder and flints ; a specified 
number of snowshoes and bullets and each town was directed to 
have a 'Larm List and each able-bodied man was to have a flint- 
lock musket, two spare flints, priming wire and brush. 

Later the 'Larm List became the Training Band. 

Prior to 1776 Captain Clough and Lieutenant Miles com- 
manded the men in the "north fields," and later, it is said, there 
were two companies in Northfield. 

ASSOCIATION TEST. 

"To the Selectmen of Canterbury 
"Colony of New Hampshire 
"In Committee of Safety 

"Apr. 12 1776 
"In order to carry the unwritten 'Resolve' of the Honorable 
Continental Congress into execution you are requested to desire 
all Males above twenty-one years of age (Lunaticks, Idiots, and 
Negroes excepted) to sign to the Declaration on this paper, and 
when so done to make return hereof together with the name or 
names of all who shall refuse to sign the same to the General 
Assembly or Committee of Safety of this Colony 

"M. Weare. Chairman" 
"In Congress Mar. 14 1776 Resolved, That it be recommended 
to the several Assemblies, Conventions & Councils, or Committees 
of Safety of the United States immediately to cause all Persons to 
be disarmed within their respective Colonies, who are notoriously 
disaffected to the cause of America or who have not associated, 
and refuse to associate to defend by arms the United Colonies 
against the hostile attempts of the British Fleets and Armies. 

' ' Charles Thompson Secretary ' ' 

The response from Canterbury was prompt and conclusive. 
One hundred and twenty names were at once placed below the 
following pledge : 

"In consequence of the above Resolution of the Hon. Conti- 
nental Congress and to show our determination in joining our 
American Bretheren and in defending the Lives, Liberties and 
Properties of the Inhabitants of the United Colonies. 



MILITARY. 71 

We, the Sultscrihers do hereby solemnly engage and promise 
that we will to the utmost of our Power, at the Risque of our 
Lives and Fortunes with Arms oppose the Hostile Proceedings of 
the British Fleets and Armies against the United American Col- 
onies. ' ' Of the 128 names the following 40 were from the "north 
fields": 

William Glines, Jr., Joshua Boienton, Richard Allison, Benja- 
min Blanchard, 3d., William Moore, Nathaniel Glines, John Mc- 
Donald, Nehemiah McDonald, Jonathan Gile, David Blanchard, 
Shubael Dearborn, Nathaniel Dearborn, Benjamin Blanchard, 
Richard Blanchard, Edward Blanchard, Nathaniel Whitcher, 
Reuben Whitcher, Ebenezer Kimball, William Simonds, Josiah 
Miles, John Hills, John Molony, Jesse Cross, John Cross, Stephen 
Cross, William Hancock, Reuben Kezar, Jacob Heath, John Roen, 
Nathaniel Perkins, John Gibson, Thomas Gibson, James Lind, 
Perkins, Peter Hanaford, Benjamin Collins, John Forrest, John 
Forrest, Jr., Gideon Sawyer, John Simons, Thomas Foss, Timothy 
Hills. 

Of the enrollment and equipment I cannot speak. It is known 
that some, when the news of Lexington reached the "north 
fields," left their ploughs in the furrows, mounted their horses 
in citizens' clothes, and went to fight the battles of their country. 
Many of them are enrolled in the following list, and all have a 
place with their families in genealogical order. 

Some of those whose names follow came to reside in town after 
the close of the war and are accordingly eligible to a place on our 

ROLL OF HONOR. 

Elias Abbott was with Colonel Bedel in Capt. James Osgood's 
Company of Rangers sent to Canada to fight the Indians in 1776. 

Abner Flanders went September, 1776, to reinforce the Con- 
tinental army under Capt. Benjamin Emery, to New York under 
Colonel Baldwin. He was credited to Haverhill when enlisted. 

Moses Danforth served in the Revolutionary War. 

Ezekiel Danforth also served in Canada and was killed at 
Bemis Heights. His widow was a pensioner. 

Henry Danforth served in the New Hampshire State Troops 
in 1780 and had been in Whitcomb's Rangers before he was 17 
years old. 



72 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

William Forrest was with Stark at Bunker Hill. 

Moses Cross was in Capt. James Shepard's company of Con- 
tinental line, Northern army. 

Samuel Goodwin was under Captain Calef, Colonel Wingate 
and, later, with Captain Salter in the artillery at Fort Wash- 
ington. He was with Capt. David Place November 5, 1775 ; at 
Seavey's Island and still later with Colonel Wingate at Ticon- 
deroga. 

Caleb Aldrich was with Colonel Reed and Captain Hinds at 
New York. 

Jesse Carr was in the Continental army. 

Charles Glidden had seen much service before the Revolu- 
tionary War. He was one of 20 who fought at Bunker Hill, then 
enrolled as First Lieutenant. 

Edward Dyer was under Capt. Ebenezer Webster in 1782 in 
the Ranger service in the upper part of the state. 

George Hancock's name appears on Train Band List. He en- 
listed and expected to go but was not called for. 

Joseph Hancock was a fifer in the Revolutionary army. 

Jacob Hancock was from Hampstead and came with Captain 
Blanchard to Salisbury Fort on his way to Canada in the French 
and Indian War. He served under Captain Mooney, was taken 
prisoner and sent to Louisburg; returned by way of Halifax in 
1758. He was killed at Bunker Hill. 

Abraham Brown was a drummer in the army three years and 
adjutant four years. 

Cornelius Ludlow was a Revolutionary soldier. 

Levi Morrill was enlisted from Epping; he moved to North- 
field later. 

John and Parker Cross were both at Bunker Hill. 

Thomas Cross was also in the service. Company or place not 
given. 

Theodore Brown was under Capt. Henry Elkins in Piscataqua 
Harbor. 

William Glines (called Miller Glines) left his mill and entered 
the service. (See Glines gen.) 

William Keniston was, when 16 years old, under Stark at Ben- 
nington. 

Jonathan Gilman (see gen.) was at Bunker Hill. 



MILITARY. 73 

Phineas Fletcher was at the surrender of Cornwallis at York- 
town and died on his way home, as no transportation was fur- 
nished. 

Lieutenant Lyford was educated in the school of war. He was 
appointed lieutenant in the year 1777 in Major Whitcomb's 
^'Core" of Rangers, and served until January, 1781, at which 
time General Washington ordered that the officers of said corps 
should retire on half pay for life. But Whitcomb ordered him to 
march to headquarters whereupon Lyford and Ms soldiers were 
mutinous, marched at once to North River and reported to Gen- 
eral Heald. He at once sent a memorial to the Legislature, June 
21, 1780, setting forth that he had been in the service in 1775 
and complaining of bad treatment. 

He must have been a trusted officer as Gen. Enoch Poor sent to 
headquarters the following from Ticonderoga (without date) : 

' ' Last evening we sent Lieut Lyford to Split Rock on a recon- 
aisance. Enemy there two schooners, seven armed Gondolas and 
a large no. of Batteaux. He heard guns some miles below and 
supposes whole army on way here. Send help. "We have only 
2240 men." 

Wednesday, February 9, 1780, the Legislature voted Lieut. 
Thomas Lyford of Whitcomb Rangers should receive from the 
treasury .$560 in part for deprivation of his wages. 

Richard Blanchard went with William Forrest to Bunker Hill, 
unenlisted, in citizens' clothes. 

Jonathan Wadleigh fought with his two brothers side by side 
at Bunker Hill. 

Others in the service were Abner Miles, Shubael Dearborn, 
Nathaniel Dearborn, Reuben Kezar, Nathaniel Perkins and Na- 
thaniel Perkins, Jr. The former died at Bunker Hill. William 
Bines and Joseph Glines and Lieut. Jonathan Heath also died 
there. There were 20 in all from the "north fields" at Bunker 
Hill. 

Samuel Rogers, William Rines, Joseph Clisby, John and 
Samuel Dinsmore, William Danford, Robert Forrest and others 
whose names are found in Part II of this work. 

Edward Blanchard was commissioned, September 5, 1775, by 
order of Mathew Thornton, governor, to be captain of the New 
Hampshire company in the Thirteenth Regiment of Militia of 
the Colony of New Hampshire. He was ordered to take instruc- 



74 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

tion from the Congress of said colony for the time being (in 
recess of Congress), or the Committee of Safety or any superior 
officer. Signed by Mathew Thornton, president; E, Thompson, 
secretary. Dated, Exeter, September 5, 1775. 

In 1790 these titles are attached to the following names on the 
tax list : 

Capt. Thomas Clough, Capt. Samuel Gilman, Col. Henry 
Gerrish, Lieut. Jacob Heath (and captain in 1796), Capt. 
Stephen Haines, Capt. Daniel Hills, Lieut. David Morrill, Lieut. 
James Perkins, Ensign William Sanborn, Capt. James Shepherd, 
Capt. Edward Blanchard, Lieut. Joseph Hancock, Adjt. and 
Capt. Samuel Gilman, Lieut. John Cochran, Capt. Stephen 
Haines, Lieut. Edmund Kezer, Col. Timothy Walker (non-resi- 
dent). Ensigns Nathan Colby and William Smith, Lieut. Reuben 
Blanchard, Lieut. David Hills, Capt. Mathew Sanborn. 

WAR OF 1812. 

After the return of the soldiers from the well-won victories 
of Yorktown, Stillwater and Saratoga, there were many who 
remained in the service and used to come out several times yearly 
for drill unless holding a surgeon 's certificate of disability. Those 
Avho had remained at home had not been idle and many joined 
voluntary companies for home protection and these were soon 
equipped and trained for future needs, though many deprecated 
the reopening of hostilities. When the British had made, in 
August, 1814, their attack on Washington and their fleets were 
seen along the New England coast, the old spirit of '76 was re- 
vived and the following from Northfield enlisted for the service, 
in Capt. Ed Puller's company, under Lieut.-Col. John Steele of 
Peterboro for 60d. : Benjamin Rollins, Samuel Carr, Jr., John 
Marden, Benjamin Morrill, Joseph Dalton, David Keniston, Jr., 
Ephraim Cross, Milton Gile, John Otis, Jonathan Gile, Galusha 
Glidden, Jerry Blanchard, Shubael Dearborn, Josiali Ambrose 
Woodbury, The latter was drafted, but only went to Ports- 
mouth. 

Asel Canfield, later a resident of Northfield, was in the British 
army in Canada. 

Ephraim Cross was not mustered in. 

Jonathan Gile was in the Fourth United States Regiment, 
Western Brigade, and was ordered to Vincennes. He was at the 
battle of Tippecanoe. He was drowmed. 



MILITARY. 75 

Jerry Blanchard 's record is unknown. 

Shubael Dearborn, who had fought in the Revolution, again 
enlisted, but was too old to go. His brother also enlisted but died 
before being mustered in. 

Caleb Aldrich went to New York under Colonel Reed and 
Captain Hinds. 

Benjamin Rollins was a musician under Col. John Steele of 
Peterboro and Capt. Ed Fuller. He was a pensioner. He en- 
listed for 60 days, September 28, 1814. 

Samuel Carr w^as in the same company for the same time. 

John Marden was mustered in September 28, 1814. 

Benjamin Morrill enlisted for 60 days in Capt. Ed Fuller's 
company under Colonel Steele. 

Joseph Dalton was mustered in September 28, 1814, for 60 
days. 

David Keniston, Jr., enlisted in the infantry and was always 
called the "infant." 

"ancient and honorable AMERICAN COMPANY," MINUTE MEN. 

This organization was in response to an order from the gov- 
ernor that each town should organize a company of soldiers. 

V^HEREAS 

"Some of the inhabitants of the town of Northfield who are 
exempted by the laws of New Hampshire from bearing arms, 
conceiving the times to be very alarming, hearing of horrid mur- 
ders being committed by the Indians on our frontiers, and also 
of the unjust treatment which we receive from the beligerants, 
namely England and France with respect to our commercial 
rights deem it a duty we owe to our revolutionary Heroes who 
spilt their blood to gain our independence, a duty we owe to our 
wives and children, and the warm attachment which we have for 
our Country (viz) the United States, to volunteer ourselves to 
be ready at short notice to repel the hostile foe and do also form 
ourselves into a company to be in future known by the ancient 
and honorable American company — and do pledge our honors to 
be under good discipline and be in subjection to our superior 
Officers which are to consist of one Coin, one Major, one Secre- 
tary, one Surgeon, one captain one Lieut one ensign 4 Sergents 
and 4 Corporals" 



76 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

"Each commissioned officer to be chosen by ballot or by the 
company marching along single file, and giving the name of the 
person he wishes for his officer, to a person placed to receive said 
names — and likewise to choose a committee to frame Laws and 
regulations for sd Company 

" It is the opinion of your committee that the present company 
know by the name of the Ancient and honorable American Com- 
pany should consist of one Captain one Lieutenant, one Ensign, 
4 Sargents and 4 Corporals and do so far do away the former 
bye Laws as to remove the field officers thinking them improper 
and unnecessary 

"Sept 30, 1804 

The signatures are as follows: 

"A. T. Clark, Jonathan Clough, B. Blanchard, J. Dearborn, 
J. Cross, Capt. Heath, W. Forrest, J. Rollins, Stept Colby, Israel 
Hodgdon, Moses Goodwin, Jona Sanborn, Stephen Chase, Thomas 
Lj'ford, Saml Dalton, S. Jewell, Lt 0. Hall, J. Gile, Saml Beede, 
J. Dearborn, And Gilman, F. Smith, Ab. Clough, Jno. Davis, J. 
Cilley, Jonathan Ayers, J. Smith, B. Jones, T. Clough, Abraham 
Brown, Isaac Glines, B. Whicher, Abraham Glines, Robert Evans, 
Simon Gilman, J. Ambrose, J. Glines; Sergts, Lieut. Hancock, 
1st Sargent, M. Goodwin, 2nd Sargent, J. Cilley, 3rd Sargent, T. 
Lyford, 4th Sargent; Corporals, J. Smith, B. Jones, T. Simonds, 
S. Chase." 

"Voted that the officers uniform themselves." 
Northfield, October, 1814. 

"This day by an entire Vote of the company they agreed to 
equip themselves and be ready for Military duty against the com- 
mon enemy at a minute's warning in defence of this State." 

' ' We the subscribers do Volunteer our services to the Commder 
in chief of the State of New Hampshire and do enge to equip our- 
selves for Military duty for defending ourselves against the com- 
mon enemy, and to be ready at a minute's warning." 

This document is signed by Jona Gilman, David Keniston, 
Timothy Hills, David Hills, Samuel Thompson, J. Molony, Cap- 
tain Clough, John Hills, Charles Glidden, Lieut. William Han- 
cock, F. Keniston, Jona Ayers, William Cross, Samuel Rogers. 

I have no record of the battles in which all this valor displayed 
itself but conclude that the "common enemy" was vanquished 



MILITARY. 77 

and the "hostile foe" was repelled and expelled, and that theii- 
diity to those Revolutionary heroes, who spilled their blood, was 
fully discharged. 

UNCLASSIFIED ITEMS. 

Timothy Hills was commissioned as ensign in the Tenth Com- 
pany in the Eleventh Regiment of militia, State of New Hamp- 
shire. 

John Taylor Oilman, Governor 

Sworn to before Daniel Hills, Justice of the Peace, September 

23, 1802. 

Another paper records the fact that he was asked to resign 
June 14, 1804, and his resignation was accepted by J. T. Gil- 
man, Captain General. 

Peter Wadleigh was chosen sergeant of this (Eleventh) regi- 
ment, as shown by the following : 

' ' To Peter Wadleigh Greeting 

"Chosen Sergt of 10th Co. 11th Regi and officers & soldiers 
are commanded to obey him as 1st Sergt. 
"Oct 7. 1811 

"Asa Robertson Commandant 
11th Regt 
"Rockingham ss 

"He took oath of allegiance and oath of office before Chas. 
M. Glidden Jr Justice Pease" 

He received the following order the year previous : 

"Sir: 

"The field officers of the Eleventh Regiment have agreed to 
meet at Aaron Austin's in Concord the first Monday in March 
next at ten oclo«k a. m. for the purpose of establishing some 
Rule for filling up the Light Infantry & Cavalry companies in 
said Regiment at which time and place I wish you to attend with 
your subaltern officers if it is convenient 

' ' From Yours &e 

"Asa Foster Jr" 

Another paper shows that Timothy Hills, gentleman, was con- 
stituted and appointed captain of Company 17 in the Voluntary 



78 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

Corps of Infantry. Signed, Jolin Taylor Oilman, Governor, 
October 28, 1814. (Note. — This date may be incorrect.) He 
received the following order September 25, 1811 : 

"battalion orders, 
''To Capt Timothy Hills 

"Pursuent to Regimental Orders to me transmitted, you are 
hereby ordered to appear with the company under your Comand 
Equipped with Arms & Accoutrements according to law for In- 
spection and review on Thurs. the tenth day of October next at 
eight oclock a. m. on the Parade ground near Austin's tavern 
in Concord and there waite further orders: You are further di- 
rected to make out two returns of your Company and hand one 
to the Inspector, the other to me when your Company is In- 
spected. 

''Signed Asa Foster 
"Majr Second Battalion 11th Regi 

"Canterbury Sept 25, 1811 

"N. B. You are desired to see that your soldiers have their 
Powder made into Cartridges before the day of Muster." 

The above papers show that Northfield citizens were not inac- 
tive in the great struggles for liberty and self-protection, while 
their neighbors were in active conflict with the enemy. They were 
found among others belonging to Col. Timothy Hills. 

MILITIA LAWS. 

After the close of the war, the general government, as well as 
the state Legislature organized or reorganized the militia laws 
and the Thirty-eighth Regiment was reorganized. It included all 
those eligible to military duty in Northfield, Canterbury and Lou- 
don. Asa P. Cate was colonel, Joseph Cofran, adjutant, and 
Hiram Cilley, second lieutenant. The latter had been a captain 
and quartermaster in the Tenth Regiment. 

The new law required a certain number of companies of in- 
fantry, one troop of cavalry and one gun. 

Northfield had two companies and the May trainings and 
militia musters were grand holidays. The expenses for these 
were paid by the towns and the state and the latter furnished 
arms. The last militia muster was held in 1847 ( ? ) and the offi- 



MILITARY. 79 

•cers' drills were continued for a few years after. When in 1861 
the War of the Rebellion was thrust upon us there was no citizen 
soldiery in Northfield. 

There were, however, three regular organized companies in 
the state, viz. : Lyndeborough Artillery, McCutcheon Guards of 
New London, Canaan Grenadiers. There was besides, the Amos- 
keag Veterans of Manchester, partly a voluntary organization. 

MEXICAN WAR. 

This war was fought with the regular army and no call for 
volunteers was made. There were but two natives of Northfield 
in service there: Joshua Smith, who died in Ohio on his way 
home, and Whitten Ludlow, who died at Corpus Christi. 

WAR OF THE REBELLION. 

Northfield was not free from the universal unrest and excite- 
ment that prevailed during the few years next preceding the out- 
break of the Civil War. The issues of the day were ardently dis- 
cussed in the highways and byways, the country stores and even 
the horse sheds on Sunday, and whilom worshipers took their 
accustomed places less intent on learning their duties to God 
than suggestions of their duties to their fellow men or to country. 
Nevertheless when the war had actually begun and the first call 
-of the president for assistance came, a special meeting was at 
once called by the officers of the town to see what action should 
be taken to fill its quota. The first action was to vote a bounty 
of $300 to all volunteers and the same to such, now in the service 
on short terms, as might re-enlist. Provided a draft was neces- 
sary, every drafted man should have a bounty of $300 and $30,- 
000 was appropriated for that purpose. 

Upon another call for troops another special meeting was called 
and it was voted to pay every enrolled man, provided he was 
drafted and furnished a substitute, the sum of $300. In case 
the Legislature should increase the sum the selectmen were 
ordered to do the same. Thirty thousand dollars was ordered 
raised to carry out this or any other vote. In 1864, $15,000 was 
voted and after several trials as to sum, $800 was voted to each 
volunteer or drafted man, town notes to be given where they 
would be accepted. 



80 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 

An enrollment was made of all between the ages of 18 and 36, 
which included 75 names, and those between 36 and 45 included 
38, a total of 113. The first list was furnished the government 
when the first draft was ordered and the following were drawn : 
Charles B. Osgood, Oliver L. Dearborn, Josiah H. Littlefield, 
Thomas Keniston, Frederick Keniston, Jason Foss, Sylvester W. 
Eaton, Aram Riley, Smith W. Glines, Jesse Moore, Richard 
Batchelder, Charles Henry Ayers, Albert Keniston, Thomas Ben- 
ton Clark, Enoch J. Dearborn, Benjamin S. Clay, Reuben S. 
Whicher, Wesley M. Glines, John G. Heath, William Woodbury, 
Daniel Sanborn, Jeremiah Lake, Hazen I. Batchelder — 23 in all. 
Several of these were for physical and other reasons exempt. 

At a special meeting, held April 16, 1864, the selectmen were 
empowered and directed to furnish substitutes for the drafted 
men. As the war progressed nearly every man capable of doing 
military duty, and some w^ho were not, volunteered for the service, 
as shown by the following list. 

The final action of the town provided for a bounty for one- 
year volunteers, $500 ; for two years, $800 ; and for three years, 
$1,200 each. 

The towns advanced the government bounty and the state 
gave $100. In 1864 the bounties aggregated $1,200. 

"our boys who wore the blue." 

The following lists include the names and record of servfce of 
the men who were mustered into the army of the United States in 
the War of the Rebellion under call of July 2, 1862, and subse- 
quent calls, and assigned to the quota of Northfield, and those 
who went prior to that date, as well as those who w^ere natives 
of the town and enlisted elsewhere. 

LIST I. 

Edmund Sanders ; Company F ; Second Regiment ; mustered in. 
August 15, 1864, for three months; re-enlisted for three years;' 
died of disease, March 7, 1865, at Laconia. 

Benjamin Hanaford ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; enlisted 
in 1861 for three years ; re-enlisted from Sanbornton, 1863 ; died 
of disease, March 18, 1864, at Beaufort, S. C. 

Israel C. HxVLL ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment for three 
years; mustered in, February 28, 1864; captured, August 16, 



MILITARY. 81 

1864, at Deep Bottom, Va. ; wounded January 15, 1865, at Fort 
Fisher, N. C. ; discharged June 12, 1865, at Beaufort, S. C. 

Richard Dearborn ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, August 30, 1862; captured, May 16, 1864, at Drury's Bluff, 
Va., with Hickman's Brigade; was at Andersonville 11 months 
and 21 days; paroled; discharged June 26, 1865; died at North- 
field, July 16, 1901. 

James S. Tilton ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, 
August 30, 1862, for three years ; mustered out as first sergeant, 
August 23, 1865. 

WiNTHROP Presby ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, August 30, 1862, for three years; killed July 27, 1864, near 
Petersburg, Va. 

James M. Danforth ; Company I, Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, August 30, 1862 ; killed August 16, 1864, at Deep Bottom, Va. 

Charles Smith was taken prisoner at Petersburg and died at 
Andersonville. 

George Davison served in the Thirteenth New Hampshire 
Volunteers. 

Bradbury Morrill served in the Twelfth Regiment. He was 
wounded in the wrist at Gettysburg. 

Aaron Veasey; Company D; Fourth Regiment; mustered in, 
August 28, 1862; discharged, June 16, 1865, at Fort Schuyler, 
N. Y. ; died at Amherst, June 21, 1904. 

Curtice Whittier ; Company D ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 3, 1862; discharged, June 15, 1865, at Raleigh, 
N. C. ; now resides at Meredith ; is a wool sorter. 

William Parsons (or Pearsons) ; Company D; Fourth Regi- 
ment; mustered in, August 30, 1862; discharged, disabled, July 
15, 1863, at Folly Island, S. C. ; he died at Northfield, December 
12, 1876. 

James S. Martin ; Company A ; Sixth Regiment ; mustered in, 
December 31, 1863 ; discharged, February 2, 1864, at Camp Nel- 
son, Ky. 

Thomas King; Company A; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
January 2, 1864; discharged, March 20, 1864, at Pittsburg, Pa. 

John Johnson; Company F; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
January 4, 1864; transferred to Camp Chase, Ohio, October 24, 
7 



82 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

1864, for Department of the Northwest, but not assigned to any 
regiment there; discharged August 30, 1865. 

Charles Marsh ; Company F ; Sixth Eegiment ; mustered in, 
January 5, 1864; discharged, disabled, August 26, 1864, at 
Philadelphia, Pa. 

JosiAH EoBBiNS; Company I; Sixth Regiment; mustered in, 
January 1, 1864; captured, October 1, 1864, at Poplar Springs 
Church, Va. ; released and mustered out, July 17, 1865. 

Frank Elson ; Company D ; Seventh Regiment ; mustered in, 
October 15, 1863; captured at Olustee, Fla., February 20, 1864; 
paroled December 24, 1864; reported on M. 0. roll, July 20, 

1865, as absent sick at Annapolis, Md. 

John McDaniel ; Company D ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered in, 
December 20, 1861 ; died of disease, March 29, 1863, at New Or- 
leans, La. 

John Presby ; Company D ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered in, 
December 20, 1861; appointed corporal; re-enlisted, January 4, 
1864; credited to Sanbornton; discharged, January 2, 1865, at 
Natchez, JMiss., as supernumerary non-commissioned officer. 

Gideon Coty ; Company C ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered in, 
January 4, 1865; assigned to Company C, Veterans' Battalion, 
April 30, 1865 ; mustered out, October 28, 1865. 

Thomas Gile, Jr. ; Company C ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered in, 
July 17, 1862; was at Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862; dis- 
charged, disabled, February 1, 1863, at Annapolis, Md. He died 
at Tilton, 1892. 

James Van Peabody ; Company C ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered 
in, August 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, January 26, 1864, at 
Concord. 

Walter F. Glines; Company C; Ninth Regiment; mustered 
in, August 13, 1862; transferred to Company I, Fifteenth Vet- 
erans' Relief Corps, April 1, 1865; discharged, July 8, 1865, at 
Springfield, 111. ; he died at West Concord, April, 1887. 

Alonzo F. Hoyt ; Company C ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered in, 
August 13, 1862 ; died of disease, January 1, 1865, at Falmouth, 
Va. 

Amos Kendall Copp served in the Eighth Regiment and was 
wounded at Port Hudson, May 10, 1862. 

Hiram Bradley Evans served in the Ninth Regiment and died 



MILITARY. 83 

in hospital, 1864, from a wound received in the Battle of the 
Wilderness. 

Herbert Goss Chase enlisted in the Ninth Regiment as a 
musician. 

Smith D. Corliss ; Company F ; Fifth Regiment ; died at Fal- 
mouth, Va., 1862; he retired on account of sielaiess and was 
stationed as a cook; he enlisted from Franklin. 

Charles F. Corliss served in the Second Regiment, Company 
F; he died at Washington, D. C, on his way to the front. 

Joseph Corliss served three years in Company F, Second 
Regiment. He died at Concord, on his way home. 

William H. Roberts ; Company K ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered 
in, August 15, 1862; transferred to invalid corps; assigned to 
Company E, Eighteenth V. R. C. ; discharged, June 24, at Wash- 
ington, D. C. 

Calvin W. Beck ; Company D ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, February 11, 1863, 
at Falmouth, Va. 

John Dalton ; Company D ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered in, 
September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, August 25, 1863, at 
Alexandria, Va. 

Ira T. Whitcher ; Company T> ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; discharged at Falmouth, Va., April 15, 
1863. 

George W. Niles; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
in, September 16, 1862; wounded, July 2, 1863, at Gettysburg, 
Pa. ; died at New York City, August 2, 1864. 

Joseph Bennett; Company — ; Ninth Regiment; died at 
Washington, D. C, as the result of wounds, January, 1863. 

Frank Braley ; Company F ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862 ; was at Falmouth, Va., December 12, 1862 ; 
mustered out, June 21, 1865. 

Cornelius BrxILEy ; Company F ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; wounded. May 3, 1863, at Chancellors- 
ville, Va. 

James C. Farley; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; mustered out, June 21, 1865. 

John Keniston; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; wounded at Chancellorsville, Va., May 



84 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

3, 1863 ; mustered out, December 13, 1863, at Falmouth, Va. ; died 
at Northfield, January 31, 1902. 

George Koberts; Company F; Twelfth Eegiment; mustered 
in, September 5, 1862; was at Chaucellorsville ; mustered out, 
January 21, 1865. 

Charles Woodw^\jid; Company F; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, September 5, 1862 ; mustered out, June 21, 1865. 

Byron K. Morrison; Company G; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, September 9, 1862; discharged, disabled, December 8, 
1862, at Washington, D. C. ; died, October 12, 1863. 

William Herrick or Bill Harriot ; Company D ; Eighth Regi- 
ment; mustered in, December 20, 1861; wounded, June 14, 1863, 
at Port Hudson, La. ; re-enlisted and was mustered in, January 4, 
1864; was transferred to Company A, Veterans' Battalion, 
Eighth New Hampshire Volunteers, January 1, 1865 ; mustered 
out, October 28, 1865 ; he died at Belmont, May 25, 1900. 

Charles W. Tilton enlisted May 1, 1861, and was elected 
second lieutenant of Capt. Jonathan Bagiey's company, June 12, 
1861; September 20, 1861, he was appointed second lieutenant; 
mustered out to date, September 18, 1861 ; resigned commission, 
January 16, 1862; re-enlisted in Company C, Ninth Regiment, 
July 17, 1862; appointed first lieutenant, August 10, 1862; 
wounded, September 17, 1862; resigned December 5, 1862. 

Ward Oilman served in the Twelfth Regiment. He was 
wounded at Chancellorsville by a bullet, one half of which was 
taken from his side and is in the possession of his son ; the other 
half could not be found. He received a second wound at Drury 's 
Bluffs from a bursting shell and was nearly blind for some years. 

Wallace Chase ; Company A ; Ninth Regiment ; mustered in, 
July 3, 1862; discharged, disabled, December 4, 1862, at Fal- 
mouth, Va. ; re-enlisted and credited to Durham, January 19, 
1864, and died of disease, January 5, 1865. 

Ervin a. Hurd ; Company D ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
in, October 11, 1862 ; mustered out, August 20, 1863. 

John W. Dov^nes ; Company C ; Eleventh Regiment ; mustered 
in, February 23, 1863 ; transferred to Company C, Sixth New 
Hampshire Volunteers, June 1, 1865 ; mustered out, July 17, 
1865. 

Fred Keniston ; Company F ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered in, 
September 14, 1864; discharged, June 21, 1865, at Baltimore, 



MILITARY. 85 

Md. ; died at Manchester, probably November 10, 1902; buried 
the 12th. 

Albert McDaniel; Company H; Fifteenth Eegiment; mus- 
tered in, October 11, 1862; mustered out and re-enlisted, Sep- 
tember 2, 1864, for one year in Company C, Heavy Artillery; 
mustered out, June 15, 1865; is now in Soldiers' Home, Togus, 
Me. 

Thomas G. Ames; Company H; Fifteenth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, October 11, 1862, as first sergeant ; died of disease, July 
20, 1863, at Port Hudson, La. 

EuFUS H. TiLTON ; Company D ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
in, November 11, 1862; discharged, August 20, 1863. 

John W. Piper; Company E; Sixteenth Regiment; mustered 
in, October 22, 1862, as musician ; mustered out, August 2, 1863 ; 
again mustered in, September 13, 1864, to Eighteenth Regiment, 
and mustered out, June 10, 1865. 

Albert Brown ; Company B ; Eighteenth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 15, 1864 ; mustered out, June 10, 1865. 

Arthur F. ]Merrill; Company D; Seventeenth Regiment; 
mustered in, September 21, 1864; mustered out, July 29, 1865; 
died at Providence, La., 1868. 

Samuel C. Fifield ; Veteran Reserve Corps ; mustered in, De- 
cember 19, 1863; discharged, November 13, 1864. 

DeWitt C. IMerrill served in Nineteenth (Mass.) Regiment 
and also in the navy for four years. 

Peter La Casey (sub.); Company D; First Cavalry; mus- 
tered in, April 30, 1864; appointed saddler, May 1, 1865; mus- 
tered out, July 15, 1865. 

George "W. Keyes; Company K; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
October 10, 1862 ; wounded, November 12, 1864, at Back Roads, 
Ya. ; appointed corporal, April 1, 1865 ; sergeant, July 1, 1865 ; 
mustered out, July 15, 1865 ; re-enlisted elsewhere. 

James B. Gold (sub.) ; Company L; First Cavalry; mustered 
in, December 31, 1863 ; deserted at Concord, February 21, 1864. 

John Morrow tsub.) ; Company L; First Cavalry; mustered 
in, December 31, 1863; deserted, February 28, 1864, at Concord. 

George Smith (sub.); Company L; First New Hampshire 
Cavalry ; mustered in, January 1, 1864 ; supposed to have deserted 
en route to join regiment ; no report at Washington, D. C. 



86 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Charles Smart; Company A; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
March 15, 1864; appointed sergeant, May 1, 1864; second lieu- 
tenant, July 10, 1865, but was mustered out as sergeant, July 
15, 1865. He was also in the First and Fifth New Hampshire 
Regiments, credited to other towns. Eesides at Peabody, Mass. 

William Craigue; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered in, 
April 30, 1864 ; discharged, May 11, 1865, at Concord. 

Asa Dart; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered in, April 
29, 1864; appointed company quartermaster-sergeant, March 1, 
1865; mustered out, July 15, 1865. 

LuciEN W. Knowles ; Company D ; First Cavalry ; mustered 
in, April 29, 1864; contracted fever in camp at Concord; died 
at Northfield, September 3, 1864. 

George Stark (sub.) ; Company D; First Cavalry; mustered 
in, April 29, 1864, and left for parts unknown, March 18, 1865, 
at ]\Iuddy Branch, Md. 

Charles H. Davis ; Company C ; Ninth Eegiment ; mustered 
in, July 29, 1862 ; discharged, June 10, 1865 ; served in the Wil- 
derness campaign; was at Falmouth, South Mountain, Freder- 
icksburg and Vicksburg, Miss. 

Hiram H. Cross; Company C; Heavy Artillery; mustered in 
for one year, September 2, 1864 ; mustered out, June 15, 1865. 

Albert Titcomb; Company Gr; Heavy Artillery; mustered in, 
September 6, 1864, for one year ; discharged, June 15, 1865. 

Joseph Mills Simonds; Company H; Heavy Artillery; mus- 
tered in, September 17, 1864, for one year; mustered out, June 
15, 1865. 

John Dinsmore ; Company L ; Hea\y Artillery ; mustered in, 
September 19, 1864; mustered out, June 15, 1865. 

Stephen Kenney (sub.) ; enlisted for three years as seaman; 
served on Vandalia and Desoto ; deserted, February 15, 1865, 
from receiving ship at Norfolk, Va. 

Clarence H. Abbott (sub.) ; enlisted for three years as sea- 
man; served on Vandalia and Tioga; deserted, July 13, 1866, 
from the Tioga. 

John Lyons (sub.) ; enlisted for four years as seaman; served 
on U. S. ship Colorado; deserted, March 19, 1865, at Brooklyn, 
N. Y. ; had served three previous terms as seaman and been hon- 
orably discharged. 



MILITARY. 87 

John Kelley (sub.) ; enlisted, September 13, 1864, for four 
years; deserted, September 19, 1864, at Portsmouth. 

Joseph Sweeney (sub.) ; enlisted, September 13, 1864, for 
four years and deserted, September 19, 1864, at Portsmouth. 

James McVey (sub.) ; enlisted, July 23, 1864, for four years; 
served on U. S. ship Vandalia; deserted, February 22, 1865, 
from the Vandalia. 

Abe Libby ; Company F ; First Regiment ; mustered in, INIay 
3, 1861, for three months ; mustered out, August 9, 1861 ; then 
enlisted in Company H, Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, Septem- 
ber 18, 1861; transferred to Company B, United States Ar- 
tillery, November 3, 1862; re-enlisted, February 2, 1864; dis- 
abled and discharged, November 12, 1864. 

Charles Stevens (sub.), (alias Francis Bently) ; Company 
F ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, August 20, 1863 ; discharged, 
August 23, 1865. 

Peter Hilton (sub.); Company A; Third Regiment; mus- 
tered in, August 20, 1863 ; severely wounded. May 13, 1864, at 
Drury's Bluff, Va. ; died of his wounds. May 31, 1864, at Point 
Lookout, Md. 

James Lynch (sub.); Company H; Fourth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, August 19, 1863 ; deserted. May 31, 1864, at Bermuda 
Hundred. 

Charles C. Cofran ; Company C ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 18, 1861, as corporal ; was drowned, June 30, 1862, 
at St. Augustine, Fla. 

Charles W. York; Martin Guards, New Hampshire Volun- 
teer Infantry; mustered in, July 25, 1864, for three months as 
corporal ; mustered out, September 16, 1864. He had served 
previously in the First New Hampshire Artillery. 

Abram L. Dearborn; Company B; Fourth Regiment; mus- 
'tered in, September 18, 1861 ; disabled and discharged, Septem- 
ber 15, 1863, at Beaufort, S. C. ; credited to Exeter. 

John Collins ; Company E ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered in, 
July 26, 1864; wounded by explosion of magazine at Fort Fisher, 
N. C. ; discharged, June 20, 1865, at Southville, N. C. 

George W. ClxVRK ; Company H ; Fourth Regiment ; mustered 
in, September 18, 1861; re-enlisted, February 20, 1864, and 
credited to Canterbury; mustered in, February 28, 1864; de- 
serted, October 13, 1864; reported, May 10, 1865, under presi- 



00 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

dent's proclamation and "vvas discharged, May 11, 1865, at Con- 
cord. 

The following natives of Northfield enlisted elsewhere: 

LIST II. 

Dr. Jeremiah F. Hall, credited to Wolfeborough, was ap- 
pointed surgeon of the Fifteenth Regiment, November 1, 1862, 
and went with it to Louisiana ; resigned, on account of ill health, 
January 19, 1863; May 6, 1863, was chosen surgeon of the 
First New Hampshire District, and served until the dissolution 
of the board, August 1, 1865; resided at Portsmouth, where he 
died, March 1, 1888. 

Horace B. Evans served in the Twelfth Massachusetts Regi- 
ment and died in hospital. May, 1864. 

N. IMartin Davis served in the Nineteenth United States Ar- 
tillery ; was in the Army of the Potomac ; was discharged and re- 
enlisted ; last discharge was dated June 6, 1877. 

Walter Tibbetts enlisted in Chicago in 1863. He was at 
Pittsburg Landing and has ever since been a helpless invalid. 

LuciEN Chase; Company A; Ninth Regiment; mustered in, 
July 3, 1862; died of disease, August 12, 1863, on hospital boat 
Tycoon on the Mississippi River. 

Asa Witham ; Company D ; Twelfth Regiment ; mustered in, 
September 5, 1862; discharged, disabled, August 25, 1863, at 
Alexandria, Va. ; died, February 7, 1898, at Laconia. 

Charles M. Dinsmore; Company I; Sixth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, December 11, 1861; died of disease, October 7, 1863, 
at Russellville, Ky. 

Joseph Dinsmore ; Company I ; Sixth Regiment ; mustered in, 
December 11, 1861; discharged, disabled, October 7, 1862, at 
Washington, D. C. ; burned to death in his room at Tilton, 
1889 (?). 

Charles L. Arlin ; Company D ; Eighth Regiment ; corporal ; 
mustered in, December 20, 1861, for three years; re-enlisted in 
Company A, Veterans' Battalion, August 16, 1865. 

Rev. John Chamberlain was sent by Governor Berry to look 
after New Hampshire men anywhere and everywhere, who were 
in the service. He was pensioned by special act of Congress. 
He died at Northfield, January 1, 1893. 



MILITARY. 89 

John Low Phelps ; Company C; Eleventh Regiment; was 
taken prisoner and died in Libby Prison, November 11, 1864. 

Erwin Girard Cate; sergeant; Company G; Twelfth Regi- 
ment; was wounded in the head at Cold Harbor; was also at 
Gettysburg. 

John G. Brown enlisted in the Twelfth Regiment a^d died at 
Fairmount, Va. 

Jesse Kezar served three years in the Eighth Regiment, New 
Hampshire Volunteers ; credited to Franklin. 

William Kezar ; Sixteenth Regiment; enlisted for nine 
months; died at .Concord on his return, August 29, 1863 ; credited 
to Franklin. 

Hiram Hodgdon; sutler of the Twelfth Regiment; credited to 
Ashland. 

Dr. Sam G. Dearborn; surgeon; Eighteenth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, December 25, 1861 ; resigned, August 19, 1862 ; ap- 
pointed surgeon of the Eighth Regiment, September 29, 1864, 
but declined the appointment. He was credited to Milford. 

William A. Gile ; Company E ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
in as sergeant, October 30, 1862, for one year; mustered out, 
August 30, 1863 ; re-enlisted and appointed captain in Company 
E, Eighteenth Regiment, October 1, 1864; re-enlisted in the 
United States colored troops. He was credited to Franklin. 

Frank A. Gile ; Company E ; Sixteenth Regiment ; mustered 
in, November 10, 1862, for one year; mustered out, August 20, 
1863 ; also credited to Franklin. 

George Whitcher ; Company F ; Eighth Regiment ; mustered 
in, December 20, 1861 ; deserted, January 20, 1862, at Man- 
Chester ; credited to Sanbornton. 

William C. Whittier enlisted, first, in the Fifth Massachu- 
setts for three months; re-enlisted for three years in Company 
D, First Massachusetts Cavalry; mustered in, September 17, 
1861 ; re-enlisted for the third time from Newton, Mass., on 
Captain Mead's staff and was one of his bodyguard. He once 
remained in his saddle for three weeks. He returned home worn 
out and died nine days later. 

Thomas Austin; Company K;. Ninth Regiment; mustered in, 
August 15, 1862; credited to Canterbury; wounded, September 
24, 1862, at South Mountain, Md. ; transferred to Company 156, 



90 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

Second Battalion, Veterans' Reserve Corps; discharged, July 15^ 
1865, at St. Louis, Mo. 

Dick Rogers; Company G; Fifteenth Regiment; mustered in, 
October 11, 1862; mustered out, August 13, 1863; credited to 
Loudon. 

George Jl. Clough ; Company C ; Eighth Illinois Cavalry • 
credited to Evanston, 111. ; died at Columbia College Hospital^ 
"Washington, D. C. 

Charles W. Clough ; credited to New Boston ; joined the regu- 
lar army under Gen. Joseph Hooker at Lookout Mountain; was 
retired on account of moon blindness. 

Henry L. Cram enlisted from Westfield, Mass., for three 
years. 

Joseph Perry; mustered in, July 27, 1864, as a marine for 
four years. (This name does not appear in the Adjutant-Gen- 
eral's list.) 

James Morrison; enlisted in the First United States Ar- 
tillery for three years; mustered in, September 26, 1863. (This 
name is not credited to any town on the records of the Adju- 
tant-General. ) 

Benjamin W. Clark ; Twelfth Regiment ; enlisted, September 
5, 1862; has also no place on state records. . 

Walter L. Bailey; drafted July 12, 1863; Company K; Six- 
teenth Massachusetts Regiment; transferred to the Eleventh 
Regiment, July 13, 1863; credited to Natick, Mass. 

Prop. Ralzo M. Manley; president of New Hampshire Con- 
ference Seminary; was commissioned chaplain of the Sixteenth 
Regiment and left, October 30, 1862. 

Obadiah Jackson Hall; surgeon; Thirty-third Regiment^ 
Ohio Volunteer Infantrj^; credited to Portsmouth, 0. 

Augustus Blodgett Clark ; enlisted in the Second New York 
as lieutenant and was later promoted to captain. 

Trueworthy Lougee ; enlisted at Laconia in the Twelfth New 
Hampshire Regiment. 

Thomas Benton Clark; enlisted from Chelsea, Mass., in 
Company L, Second Massachusetts Cavalry; mustered in, April 
15, 1864; transferred to Veterans' Relief Corps, January 1, 1865; 
drowned at Tilton, August 11, 1872. 

Charles C. Tibbetts; enlisted in the Northern army from 
Missouri and died of fever. 



MILIT.VRY. 91 

Orville F. Rogers, M. D.; assistant surgeon; One Hundred 
and Seventeenth United States Infantry, for three years. 

Selwin B. Peabody; entered the service in the Fortieth Massa- 
chusetts Regiment; was at the siege of Fort Wagner, Ten-Mile 
Run, Drury's Bluff, Petersburg Heights, Bermuda Hundred, 
Fair Oaks and the capture of Richmond. He was wounded at 
Petersburg. 

William C. Hazelton; enlisted as a private in the Eighth 
Illinois Cavalry and was soon after appointed orderly sergeant; 
three months later was chosen lieutenant and soon after com- 
missioned as captain; served in the Army of the Potomac and 
took part in 30 engagements ; was mustered out in 1865. 

Charles H. Carlton was in the regular army three years at 
Memphis, Tenn., as officers' clerk. 

Wells Follansby served in the First IMassachusetts Cavalry. 

Jonathan Pearson Sanborn; captain of Company E, Six- 
teenth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers ; credited to Frank- 
lin; was in Louisiana under General Banks and was also in the 
siege of Port Hudson. He marched his men into the place at 
its surrender, July 8, 1863. 

De Witt Clinton Sanborn; Second Regiment; credited to 
Franklin; was killed at the second battle of Bull Run, August 
29, 1862; was buried on the battlefield, as the enemy held the 
ground. 

David K. Nudd; Company 6; Fifteenth Regiment. 

William Kezar ; Sixteenth Regiment ; died, August 29, 1863 ; 
credited to Franklin. 

Charles Rogers enlisted in the Third Vermont Regiment. 

Frank Marshall Adams ; enlisted for four years as a marine 
on the Dixie ; later was on the cruisers, Helena and San Fran- 
cisco; re-enlisted, December 30, 1904; has been in eastern waters 
and visited the ports of China. 

Joseph Adams was in the regular army cavalry service in the 
Eleventh Regiment, United States Cavalry, at Des Moines; en- 
listed for three years; returned home and re-enlisted for a sec- 
ond term. 

Dlxi Crosby Hoyt; enlisted as private from Framingham, 
Mass., at the beginning of the war; was made assistant surgeon 
of the Massachusetts Heavy Artillery; later was post surgeon at 
Fort Warren, Fort Macon and Newborn, N. C, where he died. 



92 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Lyman Barker Evans; served in the Eighth Vermont Regi- 
ment and died in the hospital at Baton Rouge, La., September 
13, 1864. 

Hannan Piper; served in Company D, Fifteenth Regiment; 
was mustered out, January 18, 1865. 

Enos Alpheus Hoyt; assistant surgeon in the Thirty-fifth 
Massachusetts Regiment; was in North Carolina before Rich- 
mond and Petersburg, to the end of the war; was wounded and 
permanently disabled, but was, later, surgeon in Freedman's 
Bureau a year or two. 

Jefferson Rogers; credited to Loudon; Seventeenth Regi- 
ment, Heavy Artillery. 

Sylvanus Heath; surgeon; Illinois Regiment. 

Caleb Heath, a minor, enlisted without the leave of his 
parents, had charge of ambulances. 

Smith "W. Cofran (see portrait) ; enlisted in Company H, 
Twentieth Massachusetts Regiment, at the beginning of the war. 
He was in the Army of the Potomac and saw many hard-fought 
battles. He was with his regiment at Ball's Bluff and of his 
nine tent mates three were killed, three taken prisoners and two, 
with himself, escaped by swimming the Potomac River. He was 
under McClellan at Yorktown, Fair Oaks, Savage Station, "White 
Oak Swamp, Malvern Hill, during the seven days' battle. South 
Mountain and Antietam, where he was wounded by having his 
right thigh bone fractured. He was discharged eight months 
later. May, 1863. 

LIST III. 

The following men have become citizens of Northfield since the 
war: 

MAJ. OTIS 0. WYATT. 
(See portrait.) 

Otis Chase Wyatt ; born in Sanbornton, April 1, 1837 ; son of 
Nathan P. and Sally Clark Wyatt. Married in Manchester, 
June 12, 1859, Susan Maria, daughter of Vinicent and Susan 
Spinney Torr, who was born in Newmarket. He was in the meat 
business in Manchester and Hanover. He enlisted in the First 
Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry, April 25, 1861, 
in Company G. Discharged with the regiment, August 9. Re- 
enlisted into the New Hampshire Battalion of the First Rhode 




MAJ. O. C. WYATT. 



MILITARY. 93 

Island Cavalry, September 11, 1861. Promoted to first sergeant, 
December 17; to second lieutenant, August 4, 1862, by Governor 
Sprague of Rhode Island, for meritorious and gallant conduct 
in the battle of Front Royal; and to first lieutenant, January 
1, 1863. "With his regiment he took part in the battles of Front 
Royal, May 30; Cedar Mountain, August 9; Groveton, August 
29 ; second battle of Bull Run, August 30 ; Chantilly, September 
1; Hartwood Church, February 26, 1863; Kelly's Ford, March 
17 ; Brandy Station, June 9 ; Thorough Fare Gap, June 17, 1863 ; 
]\Iiddleburg Rapidan Station, Culpepper or White Sulphur 
Springs, October 12; Auburn and Bristol Station, October 14. 
Commissioned as captain of Troop B, First New Hampshire 
Cavalry, March 3, 1864. "With this regiment he took part in 
these engagements: White Oak Swamp, June 13, 1864; Wilson's 
Raid to the south of Petersburg, Va., June 22-July 1 ; Nottoway 
Court House, Va., June 23; Roanoke Station and High Bridge, 
June 25-26; Ream's Station, June 29; Back Roads, November 
11-12; Lacey's Springs, December 20-21; Waynesborough, 
March 2, 1865; Rude's Hill, Nort Fork Shenandoah or Mount 
Jackson, March 6-7. In the engagement at Back Roads, Va., 
November 12, 1864, while in command of the regiment, he was 
wounded in the face by a charge of buckshot. He was also 
wounded while in command of his regiment at Rude's Hill or 
Mount Jackson, March 6, 1865, and still carries the bullet. He 
is an active member of the New Hampshire Veterans' organiza- 
tion, in which he has held various offices. He was president of 
the association in 1890. In the Grand Army of the Republic he 
has held almost every office within the gift of his comrades, being 
commander of the Department of New Hampshire in 1887. 

He took up his residence on Zion's Hill, in this town, January 
1, 1866, where he has since resided as a farmer. In 1875 he and 
the late Jason Foss were elected special assessors who, with the 
selectmen, reappraised all the real estate in the town and 
equalized the valuation of the same for the purpose of a more 
equable taxation. November, 1878, he was elected first super- 
visor, which office he continued to hold until 1890. He was 
elected moderator in November, 1883, and has held that office to 
the present time. In November 6, 1894, he was elected represen- 
tative to the general court for 1895- '96. In March, 1897, he 
was elected selectman, which office he held four years and as a 



94 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

member of the board of selectmen was a most aggressive fightei 
to maintain the integrity of the town. November 4, 1902, he was 
elected a delegate to the convention to revise the constitution. 
He has served ten years as a member of the town school board. 
He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, having been made a 
Mason in Franklin Lodge, No. 6, Lebanon, in 1860. He is 3 
charter member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, in Tilton and is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church and of Friendship 
Grange, Patrons of Husbandry. 

Charles F. Buell; Company D; First Eegiment; enlisted, 
April 27, 1861, for three months ; mustered out, August 9, 1861 ; 
died at Northfield, February 3, 1904. 

Oscar P. Sanborn; Company D; Twelfth Regiment; mus- 
tered in, September 27, 1862 ; was in the Army of the Potomac 
at Fredericksburg and was wounded at Charlottesville; was 
taken prisoner and left on the field; was at field hospital one 
month and at Mansion House Hospital five months; was dis- 
charged November 18, 1863. 

David Elmer Buell ; enlisted from the Eighth Regiment as 
lieutenant for three years and was wounded at Port Hudson; 
died at Franklin, July 25, 1888. 

Jonas H. Dolley; enlisted in Biddeford, Me., 1862, in the 
Maine Heavy Artillery; spent a year in Fort McClary at Kittery 
as a member of the garrison; was discharged there after one 
year's service. 

Luther Cadue; served in Company E, Fifteenth Vermont 
Regiment; was at the battle of The Wilderness. He was dis- 
charged September 19, 1865. 

William Canfield ; Ninth New Hampshire Regiment. 

Theodore Brown. 

Charles H. Payson; enlisted, December 29, 1863, in Com- 
pany E, Sixth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers; was mus- 
tered out, August 25, 1865. He was in 15 hard-fought battles, 
among which were The Wilderness, Cold Harbor and Welden 
Railroad. (See gen.) 

Oliver Prescott LIorrison; enlisted in the Ninth Regiment; 
Company C ; was taken prisoner at Antietam, taken to Richmond 
and exchanged; was promoted to sergeant; was captured again 
at The Wilderness, May 10, 1864, and died at Andersonville, 
August 30, 1864. 



MILITARY. • 95 

Benjamin Gale; enlisted from Salisbury, September 2, 1862, 
in Company E, Sixteenth Eegiment; mustered in, October 23, 
1862, as sergeant ; served until August 20, 1863. 

RoscoE DoLLEY; enlisted in 1861 at Charlestown Navy Yard 
in the marine corps ; was put on board the Kearsarge as a gunner 
and helped sink the Alabama in Cherbourg Harbor. Returning 
to Boston, he was put on board another man-of-war, where he 
served until the expiration of his term. 

Samuel T. Holmes; served in Company H, Twenty-fifth 
Regiment, Connecticut Volunteers, under Gen. B. F. Butler and, 
later, under General Banks. 

Robert Martin ; enlisted when 40 years of age from Hill as a 
musician and was discharged, June 21, 1865, as a private. It was 
also his duty to care for the colonel's horses. 

George W. Balcom; enlisted in the Fourteenth Regiment, 
Connecticut Volunteers; served 27 months and saw many of the 
hardships and horrors of war. The date of his discharge, he says, 
was the happiest day of his life. 

The hardships of these struggles were not all borne by those 
who dwelt in the "tented field" or the many who met death, 
swift and sudden, on the bloody battlefield. Wives and children, 
aged fathers and mothers took up and bore so patiently the life 
work of their soldier braves and, 'mid tears and prayers, per- 
formed the most exhausting labors that their sons might preserve 
their birthright unimpaired. The dear old mother town, too, has 
never ceased to cherish those who returned burdened with 
wounds and the lifelong scars, which are more honorable than 
epaulet or badge. She proudly repeats their names and now 
hands them down on the pages of her history to other generations 
as her proudest legacy. 

SPANISH WAR. 

Three young men of Northfield parentage were in the Spanish 
War. 

Levi S. Dow enlisted from Concord in Company C and went 
to Chattanooga. He was absent six months. 

Elmer C. Lambert enlisted from Tilton in the regular army 
and was sent to the Philippines. 

Harry Upton Lougee enlisted from Lebanon, where he now 
resides. 



CHAPTER VI. 

INDUSTRIAL. 

EARLY INDUSTRIES. 

Farming, which is both the base and keystone which supports 
home and society, was, of course, the first employment of the 
early settlers. There were few farming tools and the work was 
done by oxen. Every one raised his own wheat, rye, flax and 
corn. To prepare these for use a large number of trades sprang 
up. 

First of all, the blacksmith must be located, for nothing could 
be done without axe and saw. Then, as said elsewhere, the wheel- 
wright's shop appeared in close proximity to the former. This 
was a trade, however, that required mechanical skill. Thus were 
sawmills established and mill wheels planted. This industry 
became more important as the years passed by. 

SAWMILLS. 

There was no brook in town of any size that did not furnish 
power for one, tw^o or three sawmills and five were driven by the 
water of the Winnepesaukee River. 

No trace exists of the one located on the land bought by the 
Hills, David and Timothy, in 1785, and now owned by Frank 
W. Shaw. The deed to them reserv6s a mill and mill yard and 
a drift road to it. They purchased the property of a Mr. Love- 
joy of Gilmanton, who was the second owner of Lot No. 15. (See 
Proprietors' Map.) 

No. 2. — Daniel Sanborn had a sawmill on the site of the present 
Tilton Hosiery Mill. He bought it of "Satchwel" Clark, as the 
records say. The power could be more profitably used and the 
mill was sold about 1772. 

No. 3.— Still further down, on the site of the Elm IMills Woolen 
Company, was a very ancient one, dating back to colonial times. 
Mr. Joseph Dearborn, who manufactured lumber there many 
years, says of it : "My father, born in 1783, used to go there with 




JEREMIAH CROSS. 



INDUSTEIAL. 97 

his father when a little boy. " It was here that Miller Glines and 
wife were hard at work at the breaking out of the Revolutionary- 
War. (See p. 152.) This was sold to the railroad and torn 
down. Mr. Samuel Martin was the last occupant. This grist 
mill underneath disappeared long, long ago. 

No. 4. — The fourth mill in town was always called the Cross 
Mill. The story of this enterprise is best told in the following 
sketch of Mr. Cross ' life : 

JEREMIAH CROSS. 

(See portrait.) 

Jeeemiah Cross was born at Salisbury, August 28, 1802. He was 
apprenticed at 18 years of age to John Clark, familiarly known as 
"Boston John," a builder of meeting-houses and other difficult jobs, 
especially water wheels and dams. Mr. Cross was to receive at 21 
years of age, as was the custom, a set of tools, and his father, $200. 
He could work nights for his clothes and spending money. He passed 
through this period and began business for himself in December, 
1824. He bought two acres of land on the Northleld end of the Clark 
dam and raised a sawmill in March, 1825. This, 10 years later, 
was burned and he found himself no better off financially than at the 
start, except that he had gained valuable experience and credit. He 
at once erected a new mill and entered upon a prosperous business, 
running night and day in the busy season for many years. He se- 
cured a landing at the mouth of the Winnepesaukee and constructed 
a wharf, where he built large rafts, on which the products of his mill 
were piled high and taken down the Merrimack through several locks 
to Lowell and thence thi'ough Middlesex Canal to Charlestown market. 
These loads consisted of boards, plank, laths, shingles, clapboards 
and staves, with large numbers of barrels and coopers' ware. This 
business he followed until the coming of the railroad or until the 
locks in the river were destroyed. 

He, later, enlarged his estate and added a threshing machine to his 
mill and had a large business with the farmers of all the surrounding 
towns. Often 30 loads of grain would stand awaiting their turn. He 
sold to the Lowell Land and "Water Power Company in 1841, taking a 
lease back, thus continuing the business as before. He then erected fine 
buildings on a nearby eminence and became an extensive farmer until 
his death. 

He held various offices in the town and was a lifelong Democrat, 
as well as a member of Meridian Lodge, A. F. and A. M. He married, 
November 12, 1828, Sarah Lyford of Pittsfield and had five children. 
He died at Northfield, August 11, 1872. She died at Rockport, Mass., 
November 19, 1882. (See Cross gen.) 



98 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

No. 5. — There was a very large mill at Factory Village, near 
where the hall now stands, and a large yard piled high with logs 
and finished products, extended to the canal and up to Smith 
Street. Samuel Haines was employed here many years. 

No. 6. — Thomas Clough, who bought two lots south and east of 
Sondogardy Pond, built a dam at its outlet and raised the pond 
sufficiently to furnish power for a mill which was in operation 
many years, as the hillsides were covered with valuable timber. I 
have no dates, but have often seen the wreckage of the dam. He 
had his pick of the undi\dded lands in payment for some service to 
the town and chose these lots, one of which was always called the 
"Clough Purchase." Further down the stream, where it crosses 
the first range or Oak Hill road, a mill had been early erected, 
which had either been destroyed by fire or had fallen to decay. 
This brook was known in turn as Cohas, Cross and Phillips, and 
here, in 1840, Capt. Moses Davis erected a mill, reported to have 
been unusually fine in all its appointments (see p. 81), which 
was run for many years by Thomas Piper, Sr., and Samuel 
Haines. Further down the stream was one operated by the 
Crosses. A shingle mill of the Plummer Brothers occupies 
nearly the same site. 

The Dolloff Brook, coming from Bean Hill, where John and 
Benjamin Rogers, sons of Dea. Samuel Rogers, located, furnished 
annually, power for a few months. The meadow, being needed 
for other purposes, was not flowed, and so furnished large crops 
of hay for the cheese dairy, for which this farm was noted. After 
uniting with the two other brooks in Scondoggady meadow it 
furnished power for the Glidden & Smith mill, and the one whose 
ruins are a part of the seal of Northfield today, called the Old 
Hills Mill. 

There were other mills in the eastern part of the town, one 
on what was called Tulliver Brook, and another and a chair 
manufactory on what was called the Great Brook, where Joseph 
Fellows was located, but these will suffice. Among the older 
mill men we must place Jeremiah Cross, as the largest mill man 
of his times and a leader in the business of rafting, although 
his cousins on the intervale had used the river for that purpose 
many years previous. 

Modern methods and portable steam mills have supplanted the 
old up-and-down saw and the dams have gone to ruin and the 




JEREMIAH EASTMAN SMITH. 



INDUSTRLVL. 99 

mills to decay. It would be far from the truth were I to say 
that the manufacture of lumber had ceased in the town. One 
has only to look at the immense piles that line our railroad or 
to visit the Smith meadow, on which is spread out such immense 
quantities of plank, boards and woodpiles at the present time. 
Jeremiah E. Smith, who carries on this great traffic, has large 
forests as yet untouched, awaiting the woodman 's axe. For other 
facts in connection with this business see subjoined portrait and 
sketch. 

JEREMIAH EASTMAN SMITH. 

It has been no easy task to assign Mr. Smith, his legitimate place in 
this work, since he has been a leader in so many great enterprises. 
But the fact of his present engagement in the manufacture of lumber 
products entitles him to this place. 

The subject of this sketch was Sanbornton-born, but Northfield-bred. 
Both his parents were natives of the town, who were dwelling tem- 
porarily over the river in a dwelling occupying the site of the present 
Jordan Hotel. They soon moved to the ancestral home on Bay Hill, 
where they remained until its destruction by fire in 1904. Mr. Smith 
received his education in the little red schoolhouse of the Bay Hill 
district, and the Seminary. 

He was early taught to love his country and' was a lad of ten when 
the Civil War commenced. The very flagstaff that now stands on the 
island was standing on the square in front of his home and was wont 
to bear aloft the Stars and Stripes, so dear to every Yankee boy's 
heart. What was his surprise to behold one morning the Confederate 
stars and bars floating aloft from its dizzy height. With disgust it 
was wrenched from its halyards, seized and, quick as a flash, borne 
to a place of hiding with a posse of rebel sympathizers close at his 
heels. His father received it through an open window and when the 
door was burst open it was nowhere to be seen. In fact, it never met 
the public gaze again until his noble, patriotic mother had, with skill- 
ful fingers, woven the cherished rag into a charming rug, one of the 
now cherished heirlooms of the family, and it now lies where it ever 
should have lain — trampled under foot. The story shows that for 
which he has ever been noted — a readiness in emergencies. 

Quite early in life he became associated with his father and brother 
In the construction of railroads. Among the lines, of which they were 
the contractors and builders, were the Suncook Valley, Old Colony, 
Montpelier & Wells River, Bradford & Claremont, Hillsboro & Peterboro 
and the Profile & Franconia Notch. 

He was for 25 years proprietor of the Maplewood Stables and stage 
line at Bethlehem, going there each summer with a large number of 
horses. His accommodating spirit and jovial manner made him very 
popular with the guests at this mountain resort. 

Previous to his Maplewood days, he was owner of the hotel and 



100 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

livery stable at Tilton, renting the former to J. F. Bryant and the 
latter to J. L. Loverin. In 1886 he sold both to Mr. Loverin. Mr. 
Smith has been nearly all his life a lumberman, but of late, more 
especially, have his operations been on a large scale. He is also a 
farmer and owns 1,200 acres of Northfield soil, cutting large quan- 
tities of hay and planting many fruitful acres. He is the largest tax- 
payer in town. 

Mr. Smith is, politically, a Republican and has been three times 
chosen by his party to represent Northfield in the Legislature. He 
went to the centennial celebration of the battle of Bennington with 
that body in 1877 and was again a member in 1880, our centennial year. 
He has been for 20 years a member of the Republican State Committee, 
is also an enthusiastic Odd Fellow and has been a member of Friend- 
ship Grange since its organization and, also, a Mason. 

In the midst of his many occupations and interests he has found 
time to cultivate the gentle art of music and plays with expression 
and skill almost every instrument from a "bottle organ" to the 
violin, on which he is especially proficient. 

Mr. Smith is a lover of good horses, particularly if they show speed, 
and has been the owner of many fine animals. 

BRICKMAKING. 

I find four places in Northfield where brick was formerly 
made. The first was located not far from the outlet of Chestnut 
Pond and was carried on by Jonathan Wadleigh. There are, 
along the brook leading to the reservoir, many indications of its 
locality, and family tradition says he moved from Bean Hill to 
the Morse place to be near his kilns. 

No. 2. — Dea. Andrew Oilman for many years manufactured 
brick in a small way near where the upper railroad bridge now is. 
But few cared to erect brick houses, so the demand for years was 
for chimneys alone. 

Warren L. Hill bought out the business about 1840, and here, 
with the assistance of Col. James Cofran, the brick for the first 
seminary was made. The business rapidly increased and some- 
times 200,000 a year were made. Samuel Eogers leased the 
yard later and made the brick for the second seminary. Some 
years later the railroad bought the entire locality and the busi- 
ness was abandoned. 

No. 3. — Charles and Hiram Cross also made brick near their 
home by the Hodgdon schoolhouse. Their trade was largely with 
Franklin and sometimes, when "striking," employed a dozen 
men. This business declined only when the clay for them was 
exhausted. 



INDUSTRIAL. 101 

No. 4. — Brick was also made by the Sawyers on the Gile farm 
at Bean Hill, but I have no facts or figures concerning it. 

CHARCOAL. 

There were extensive forests in the southern part of Northfield 
and the coming of the railroad to that section made a market for 
large quantities of wood, lumber and ties, which were shipped to 
other markets, and immense quantities stored constantly in a 
300-foot shed for use on the engines. Mr. Cogswell says he often 
surveyed 2,000 cords a day. 

Besides this, Deacon Ayers bought and burned into charcoal 
thousands of cords of pine and hardwood, which was shipped to 
Charlestown and Boston. (See Ayers gen.) 

Benjamin F. Brown continued this business several years, 
using a kiln made of brick close by the station. He found a 
market in Concord. A queer old fellow, named "Uncle" Tucker, 
had charge of this industry and not only owned the entire neigh- 
borhood but the railroad as well, and he and his car, old No. 26, 
always had the right of way. Did he want the pinch bar or any 
other tool in the shed, he would enter and politely ask "]\Ir. 
Waterhouse " ( ? ) for the loan of them and was very angry to be 
accused of stealing. He filled an important place, however, as 
when the kilns were filled and fired they needed his constant care 
until drawn. David Hill and other farmers who had wood lots in 
places difficult of access occasionally burned a sod kiln. Erastus 
Nudd, living on the south slope of Bean Hill, close by the Forrest 
Pond, continued the business for long years and many remember 
his large coal van as it made its weekly trips to the Concord 
foundries and blacksmiths' shops. 

HOME-MADE CLOTH. 

The home manufacture of cloth led to an extensive business 
in spinning wheels and looms and "Shuttle" Dow and "Father" 
Wedgewood were busy early and late, for every girl, as a part 
of her marriage outfit, must possess one of each. To provide for 
these the farmers must have large fields of flax and a certain 
number of sheep, not only for food but to furnish material for 
cloth. These two industries declined many years since, especially 
the former, and the latter in a large measure, until there is 
hardly a flock of sheep to be found in the limits of the town. 



102 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The coming of the factories, too, with their better products, 
brought a market for the wool and flax and a chance for the boys 
and girls to find lucrative employment, and no one mourned 
for the departure of the spinning wheel and loom from the homes 
of the overworked farmers' wives. As if the butter and cheese 
maldng, the drying of apples, storing away of quantities of 
food for the winter, the mending and making for the numerous 
household were not enough, a score of little trades came in to fill 
their every leisure moment, among which we find many that long 
since disappeared. 

Stephen Cross lived at Boscawen but several of his sons went 
across the river and established various kinds of business near 
the brook draining Sondogardy Pond. They carried on their 
business by rafts and boats, passing down the river. Here were 
established many kinds of business. There were a grist and 
fulling mill; jeweler's shop, where they manufactured gold 
beads; a tannery; a blacksmith shop, where scythes were made; 
and a shop or kiln where they manufactured lampblack. There 
was also a pottery where earthen-ware and crockery were made, 
fine clay being obtained across the river. The river soon washed 
out the supply and this trade had to be abandoned. Here was 
also a store and shoe shop. 

There was also a ferry across the river, in charge of Jesse, 
while Thomas was merchant and overseer of much of the busi- 
ness. They built the house owned many years by Thomas Piper 
and it was in good repair a century later. The shingles for it 
were home-made and were fastened to the roof with wooden pins. 
Thomas owned and ran the fiour, plaster and oil mills and the 
wooden ware shop. All these mills were running in 1811. He 
was one of the selectmen in 1790 and paid the largest tax in toAvn 
in 1796. 

Mr. Goodwin says the store and shops were the gathering 
places for the settlers for miles around, as the women came on 
horseback with their bundles of wool to be carded and their 
freshly-woven webs for the fulling mill. Thomas failed in 1806 
and was obliged to sell out his thriving little 'village to Thomas 
Thompson, Esq., and removed to Montreal, where he again con- 
tinued the same lines of business. Parker Noyes, brother of 
Paul, came into possession of this property in 1815 and sold 200 
acres of the land to Abraham Plummer in 1835. 



INDUSTRIAL, 103 



POTASH. 



The early settlers found it difficult to dispose of their wood and 
timber in clearing land for their farms and before the establish- 
ment of sawmills near at hand used to burn the immense trees 
on the land. Later, some enterprising settler started the manu- 
facture of potash and soon a half dozen were in full blast in 
different parts of the town. This industry flourished but a few 
years, as the big fireplaces of the increasing settlers furnished an 
ample market for surplus wood and the many sawmills disposed 
of the larger growth. This industry called for another and 
coopers were not wanting to furnish barrels for its storage. 

COOPERS. 

David Timothy and John Hills were coopers in Haverhill, 
Mass., before coming to Northfield. In fact, an abundance of 
oak was the secret of their coming. A little shop was attached 
to each of the early homes where the tap, tap of this industry 
was heard early and late. There were many in other and all 
parts of the town and this business continued until a later date, 
though it is entirely absent at the present time. 

TANNERIES. 

No. 1. — Very early in the settlement of the town Ebenezer ]\Ior- 
rison came from Sanbornton and established a tannery near the 
meeting-house at Northfield Centre, occupying the house just then 
erected by his brother-in-law, Robert Gray, a carpenter from 
Salem, jMass. A tavern was kept here and the good-sized barn 
afforded stabling for the relay horses used by Peter Smart, the 
veteran stage driver from Plymouth to Boston, of whom more is 
given elsewhere. 

The tannery sheds bordered the brook running through the 
field south of the house, and a thriving business was conducted 
until 1819 when he moved to the home of his father-in-law, 
Lieut. Thomas Lyford, on the West Hill, as it was called, where 
he conducted the business for many years. He then removed to 
Sanbornton Bridge, where, with his two sons, Liba C. and 
Ebenezer, he built a steam mill for the business on the south end 
of A. H. Tilton's upper dam, where Carter's Mill now stands. 
It was destroyed by fire after the business declined. 



104 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

No. 2. — Dea. Jeremiah Hall, a tanner, came from Canterbury to 
West Nortlifield, now Franklin, in 1801, and established a tan- 
nery on the place long owned by Jonathan Scribner and at pres- 
ent by John L. Kelley. Nine years later he removed to the bank 
of the Winnepesaukee, opposite Sanbornton Bridge. Here he 
continued for many years. The old "tenter-bars" along the 
river bank for years displayed hides in all stages of the process 
of leather making and were also used by his son-in-law, Benjamin 
Chase, who was a clothier nearby. The old bark house became 
unfit for use and, his home having been burned, he removed his 
business to the Morrison tannery. 

No. 3. — There was also a tannery at w^hat has long been called 
Kezar Corner, near the residence of Gawn E. Gorrell. It was 
conducted for long years by the Keysers, father and son. There 
was still another further to the east, carried on by Mr. Goodwin. 

No. 4. — ^New methods and patented devices were later adopted 
for the making of leather and the ease with which families came 
to be supplied wdth satisfactory foot wear caused the trade to fall 
into disuse and the half dozen tanneries of old Nortlifield have 
been for a score of years only a matter of memory. 

Many of the above not only tanned hides for the farmers for 
hire but purchased them and sold the dressed leather in Massa- 
chusetts markets. Northfield furnished an abundance of oak 
and hemlock bark. 

INDUSTRIAL CLUB. 

The young people of Northfield had a decided penchant for 
organization. Among others, one wdth the above name seems 
not unworthy of mention. Annually, after the labors of the 
harvest were over, the following class of young men used to go by 
twos, threes or dozens with tools on their shoulders to the quarries 
of Quincy to seek employment. Sometimes a sickly one w^ould 
make the trip by stage and take along the baggage for the rest. 
This half -organized club contained these names, mostly from the 
eastern section of the town : 

Mathew Whicher, Roby Sanborn, Joshua Smith, Joseph Smith, 
Mathew Sanborn, John Smith, Asa K. Osgood, Jeremiah Cofran, 
Andrew French, Henry Osgood, Jeremiah Rogers, William 
Evans, Albertus Atkins, Hiram Glines, Samuel Brown, John 
Eogers, John Brown, Chase Wyatt, Jeremiah Smith, Jr., Hiram 



INDUSTRIAL. 105 

Tibbetts, John. Colby, James Sanborn, Joseph Rand, Nathan 
Bean, Joseph M. G. Smith, Jeremiah Colby, Daniel Sanborn, 
William Gilman, Franklin Hannaforcl, John Hannaford, 
Ephraim Smith Wadleigh, M. Garvin. 

Of this number were several who served as teamsters in the 
quarries. 

There was also a large business in transporting goods for the 
merchants from Portsmouth and Boston, or, as they were gen- 
erally called, "down country," and there were many profes- 
sional teamsters. Among the latter were Chase "Wyatt, Hiram 
Glines and Samuel Forrest. Of this club several were unfor- 
tunate enough to lose an eye and most of them laid up for them- 
selves, not only a good round sum with which to begin life as 
farmers, but by their strenuous labors, an old age of decrepitude 
as well. 



CHAPTER VII. 

" NORTHFIBLD CENTENNIAL. 

Northfield completed one hundred years of corporate existence 
on June 19, 1880. The citizens of the town, having the event 
in mind, caused the following article to be inserted in the war- 
rant for the annual town meeting: 

"Art. VII. To see what action the town will take with refer- 
ence to celebrating the hundreth anniversary of its incorporation 
and appropriate money therefor." 

A committee was chosen, consisting of Jeremiah E. Smith, P. 
J. Eastman, W. C. French, B. F. Cofran and 0. L. Cross and 
one hundred dollars was voted to defray expenses. At the first 
meeting of this committee, March 27, 1880, Jeremiah E. Smith 
was chosen chairman, 0. L. Cross, secretary, and B. F. Cofran,^ 
treasurer. Mr. Cofran declining, F. J. Eastman was chosen to 
fill his place. It was voted to hold the celebration at Union picnic 
grove at Northfield Depot. Others were added to the committee 
as deemed necessary. Lucian Hunt, A. M., was secured as his- 
torian and Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross as poet. Circulars of invita- 
tion were sent to former citizens, good music was secured and a 
bountiful dinner was assured. 

COPY OP CIRCULAR. 
' ' NORTHFIELD CENTENNLVL. 

"The town of Northfield completes One Hundred Years of 
Corporate Existence on the 19th of June, 1880. 

"Conforming to a custom that has obtained favorable recog- 
nition; to the general desire of its Citizens; and in accordance 
with a Resolution adopted at its last Annual March Meeting its 
Centennial Anniversary will be Celebrated with proper ob- 
servances and appropriate ceremonies on the day above men- 
tioned. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 10 

''Present and Former Kesidents are cordially invited to par- 
ticipate. 

"J. E. Smith 



"0. L. Cross 
"P. J. Eastman 



Chairman 
Secretary 
Treasurer 



"Wm. C. French 
''James N. Forrest 
"Mrs. John S. Winslow 
"Mrs. William H. Clough 
"Mrs. Lowell M. French 
"Mrs. John S. Dearborn." 

the decoRxVting committee. 

Hiram Streeter, Esq., and Mrs. David Tebbetts, with a force 
of volunteers, met at the grove on June 18, erected booths and 
put in place numberless flags, streamers, mottoes, evergreen 
wreaths and flowers. Tables were set up and all made ready for 
the morrow. 

a red-letter day for NORTHFIELD. 

Visitors began to assemble before eight o'clock and before the 
first train deposited its crowd more than a thousand were on 
the grounds. The day was warm and beautiful, one of those 
Lowell had in mind when he asked, "What is so rare as a 
day in June?" Not a cloud was to be seen the livelong day. 
At noon the trains had brought large crowds and some 600 teams 
brought large numbers from the adjoining towns. At three 
o'clock good judges estimated the crowd as high as 4,000. 

Adam S. Ballantyne was president of the day and Jeremiah 
E. Smith, chief marshal. The Belknap Cornet Band was in at- 
tendance and by their music added greatly to the day's enjoy- 
ment. 

Daniel Barnard, Esq., at the risk of open censure, referred 
to his part in the wresting of a good-sized slice of the town 
and securing its annexation to Franklin. 

Mrs. Cross, superintendent of schools, had, by soliciting a 
small sum from the present and former pupils, secured suffi- 



108 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

cient to purchase a copy of Webster's Unabridged Dictionary 
for each schoolroom, eight in number. This presentation was 
one of the pleasant exercises of the day. They were received by 
James N. Forrest and delivered to the various schools. 

It is safe to say that nearly every one of the old families 
was represented on the occasion. Blanchard, Gerrish, Rogers, 
Gate, Hill, Glidden, Clough, Haines, Dearborn, Hancock, Foss, 
Brown, Winslow, Eastman, Smith, Hall, Hannaford, Cross, Ken- 
iston, Forrest, Chase, Gilman, Sa^^yer, Sanborn, Cofran, Co- 
nant, Hodgdon, Simonds, Glines, Gile, French and Wadleigh. 
The fullest delegations were from the Hall and Dearborn fam- 
ilies. Old friends met after years of separation and families 
were again reunited. The greetings were long spoken and 
heartfelt, as gray-haired men and women met as children and 
mingled once more in the dear old scenes of long ago. 

Rev. Liba Conant, who was to open the exercises, was too 
feeble to be present, and that duty was happily performed by 
the Rev. J. "W. Adams of Tilton. 

Miss Fannie Rice of Lowell, a descendant of the first settler, 
Blanchard, filled the woods with song and very graciously re- 
sponded to several recalls. Her masterly handling of the cornet 
called forth much enthusiasm and all will readily recall her 
pleasant rendering of ''Yankee Doodle," with variations, with 
the band and audience joining in the chorus. 

The fine historical address of Prof. Lucian Hunt of Falmouth, 
Mass., an old teacher and resident of the town, as well as the 
poem by Mrs. L. R. H. Cross, will be given heremth in full. 

Jhe Congregational Church of Northfield, later removed to 
Sanbornton Bridge, was represented by its pastor. Rev. Corban 
Curtice, as was the IMethodist Church by Rev. Mr. Adams. 

There were addresses from Hon. Jeremiah Forrest Hall, ]M. D., 
of Portsmouth, and Marshall P. Hall of Manchester. The 
former spoke feelingly of the good old times, particularly his 
school days, while the latter, from his long connection with the 
public schools, gave a fine talk to the school children. 

Mrs. Nancy Smith Gilman caused much merriment with her 
old-time stories. 

There were letters of regret and congratulation, read by 0. 
L. Cross, Esq., and speeches by distinguished visitors. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNLVL. 109 

Too much cannot be said of the collation. The large crowds 
were abundantly supplied and a table loaded with every deli- 
cacy was furnished for the special guests. After dinner exer- 
cises were again resumed, and a very able paper, by Maj. 0. C. 
Wyatt, paid a worthy tribute to those ' ' brave old Continentals, ' ' 
as they stood 

"In their ragged regimentals swerving not 
And in their frenzy fired the shot 
That echoed round the world." 

He also recalled the names of the boys who "wore the blue" at 
Gettysburg, Antietam and Richmond. 

The day came to a close all too soon. Trains took their loads 
to their homes. The voice of song, of martial music, laughter, 
cheers and chat died out in the evening air. Thanks had been 
extended to trooper and troops; to speaker and singer; to the 
lenders of colors and givers of flowers, and especially to the dear 
old mother town of Canterbury, w^ho sent her sons and daugh- 
ters in large number to honor us by their presence at our birth- 
day feast. 

The following report of the committee by Oliver L. Cross, Esq., 
was spread upon the records of the town, with treasurer's report 
annexed : 

''Ample contributions of food were obtained by the solicita- 
tion of the ladies who rendered timely and efficient aid from the 
beginning to the close' of the undertaking. Every call was re- 
sponded to on the part of our citizens to make the occasion a 
success. 

''That it was so is due to the hearty co-operation of our en- 
tire population after the time and place were definitely deter- 
mined. 

"Everything passed off pleasantly. There was neither dis- 
turbance nor accident throughout the day and with the excep- 
tion of dust which was everywhere universal nothing could have 
added to the enjoyment of the proceedings. 

"The literary part of services were of a high order especially 
the Address of Prof. Lucian Hunt and the Poem of Mrs. 0. L. 
Cross. 

"Hoping our successors will in 1980 celebrate the 2nd Centen- 
nial of our grand old town with the prosperity that now rests 



110 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

upon US transmitted with continuous increase we leave for them 
this record of the first." 

CENTENNIAL ADDRESS AT NORTHFIELD, NEW HAMPSHIRE. 
Delivered June 19, 1880. 

BY PKOF. LUCIAX HUNT. 

After an absence of many years, it is a pleasure not to be 
expressed in words that I am permitted to meet once more tliis 
great company of familiar faces, and on this bright June morn- 
ing to assist in some slight degree to celebrate Northfield's one 
hundreth birthday. 

And it is fitting that we should celebrate this. Ever since the 
peopling of the earth, has the custom prevailed of commemora- 
ting the eventful days of a country's, town's, or family's his- 
tory. 

To keep in remembrance past events, all modern nations have 
their festival days; the Greeks and Romans had their games; 
and the Jews, their Passover, their Feast of Tabernacles, and 
their Year of Jubilee. 

But America's great festival day is destined to be the Cen- 
tennial; both for our republic as a whole, and for its towns 
individually; for the Centennial commemorates the event most 
important in the history of each — its birth. This is not possible 
in the Old World, as the origin of every nation there is veiled 
in the dim and distant past. Not so with us. The exact day of 
every town's birth is known. Our great republic, the United 
States of America, was proclaimed a nation one hundi'ed and 
four years ago, on the 4th of July. Our little republic, which 
we call Northfield, was proclaimed a town just one hundred 
years ago today — that is, on the 19th of June, 1780. 

This event you resolved should not pass unobserved. And 
with you, to resolve was to perform. And the result is this 
grand, rousing, social reunion of the present and former inhabi- 
tants of the town, this great outpouring and commingling of 
good feeling and town patriotism, and this meeting of old 
friends and revival of past associations; and, in short, this com- 
ing together of your whole population — to bid farewell to the 
old century and to greet the new. 

"We welcome you, sons and daughters of Northfield, to this 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. Ill 

gathering of good will and old remembrances ! We welcome 
you in the name of the living present, and in memory of the 
deceased fathers! We welcome you, one and all, male and fe- 
male, young and old, from far and near, to this wedding of the 
past with the present! And may this reunion result in great 
good to our town and in a blessing to us all. 

Northfield is a century old today. And since we have reached 
this first centennial mile-stone of our town's history, let us 
pause a few hours this morning from that eager looking ahead, 
so characteristic of the Americans, and look hack — let us, I say, 
us of the fourth generation, look hack — over the heads of our 
fathers, our grandfathers, our great-grandfathers — not only to 
the event we are celebrating today — the act of incorporation — 
but twenty years beyond — to the first settlement in 1760, and 
render deserved honor to that hardy band of pioneers, who left 
friends and planted their families in the deep solitude of what 
was then a vast forest^not like the pleasant grove in which we 
are celebrating on this 19tli of June, but tall, dark, pathless, 
forbidding, and dangerous. 

Benjamin Blanchard is generally credited as being the founder 
of Northfield, though two years earlier Jonathan Heath is said 
to have built a log hut on the Gerrish intervale, which was once 
included within the limits of old Northfield, but now belongs 
to Franklin. However that may be, by common consent, 
Blanchard was among the first settlers within the present limits 
of the town. 

In 1760, he cut his way through an unbroken wilderness from 
an old fort in Canterbury, and settled on what is now known 
as Bay Hill. Blanchard was then forty-one years of age. His 
father, Edward Blanchard, was killed twenty-two years before 
by the Indians at the old Canterbury garrison. At this time, 
Benjamin is supposed to have had nine children. "For several 
years," says Mr. M. B. Goodwin of Franklin, "as far as I can 
learn, Benjamin Blanchard and family were the only settlers 
in Northfield. It is an interesting fact to state in this place, 
that the first Methodist church that existed on tliis continent 
was erected the same year in which Benjamin Blanchard erected 
his log house on Bay Hill— in 1760." He opened a clearing for 
himself on what is now the farm of Ephraim S. Wadleigh — 
his dwelling standing back of the orchard. 



112 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Blanehard's residence was a log house — then, and for many 
years after, the fashionable style of architecture among the 
pioneers of Bay Hill, and of the town generally. It was a con- 
venient style — not showy, but having a severe Doric simplicity, 
quite in keeping with the character of the early inhabitants. 
They were not capacious — containing but one, or at most, two 
rooms, and with the big families of those days, they must at 
times have furnished rather close quarters. But they were warm 
and cosy — easily constructed, for the timber was close at hand 
and a few days ' labor only was required to transform it into the 
settler's modest mansion. When the logs were squared by the 
axe, they formed a solid, massive structure, bidding defiance 
to winds, and proof against cold and the bullets of the savages, 
thus making at the same time comfortable homes and strong 
fortresses. There are worse homes, let me tell you, in the world 
even now, than the log hut. Compared with the mud hovels of 
many parts of Europe, and the board shanties of this country, 
it was a palace. 

Here, then, Blanchard lived for several years, cut off from 
mankind by many miles of intervening forest. We don't know, 
but we imagine, that a feeling of loneliness would creep over 
him sometimes, when he thought of his isolation from his fellow- 
man. Perhaps he thought occasionally, when the perils around 
him from beast and savage were greatest, and his struggle with 
primeval nature the fiercest, that he was leading rather a tough 
life. It would not be strange, if he had now and then his blue 
days, when discouraged and heart-sick, he was ready to give up, 
and retrace his steps back to the old Canterbury garrison. But 
of his feelings no record tells. He must have suffered privations 
we know — all settlers did in those times. Many a weary mile 
may he have trudged — a bag of corn on his back — perhaps even 
to Concord, or farther, in order to obtain a scanty supply of 
meal for the manufacture of an occasional bannock for his house- 
hold, or to thicken their porridge. Such groceries as sugar, tea, 
coffee, butter, cheese, and the like, we may believe, were rare 
visitors at his table, and wheaten bread an unknown .luxury to 
him and the little Blanchards. 

But after all, this picture has its bright side. If he hadn't 
beefsteak, he could get bear-steak, merely by burning a little 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 113 

powder. If biscuit was wanting, potatoes, such as new ground 
only can produce, supplied its place; while rabbits, deer, squir- 
rels, and partridges furnished many a delicious titbit. Besides, 
the Winnipiseogee — only a mile distant — teemed with millions 
of shad, and Skendugady, no doubt, was fairly alive with the 
delicious brook trout. 

After all, Blanchard was probably a happy man. His mode 
of life, we may suppose, gave him perfect health — he had the 
satisfaction of seeing his clearing growing broader every year, 
giving him more sunshine and blue sky overhead, and a greater 
extent of tillage land beneath; while as for loveliness, his little 
cabin was fairly running over with children, so that he might 
be as much puzzled where to bestow his imported young Can- 
terburyites, as w^as the famous old woman "who lived in a 
shoe." His home was all the dearer to him from its seclusion. 
He was decidedly a home body. He could n 't well be otherwise. 
You did n 't see him lounging about the stores, or taverns, or 
depots, or grog shops, after it was time for honest folks to be 
abed. Institutions for loafing were not yet invented. His nest, 
crowded with those nine Canterbury birds and their mother, 
required and received his presence and protection each night. 
And he kept good hours — retiring early, first taking care to rake 
up the coals, so as to find a bed of glowing embers in the morn- 
ing, for this was before the day of Lucifer matches, and the 
loss of fire would have been quite a serious misfortune. 

Well, in this way, the years came and went, and in process of 
time he began to have neighbors. The first to follow him was 
"William Williams, whose daughter, wadow of George Hancock, 
died at the residence of her son, William Hancock, in Canter- 
bury, January 14, 1860, aged one hundred years, eleven months, 
and four days. Let her be remembered as the oldest person that 
Northfield has as yet produced. We '11 see what the next century 
can do in that respect. ■ . 

Afterwards came Nathaniel and Eeuben Whicher, Capt. 
Samuel and Jonathan Gilman, and Linsey Perkins, and settled 
on the farm where Warren H. Smith, Esq., now resides. On the 
Perkins place, opposite Mr. Wadleigh's, was a hut used for 
school purposes. 

The first two children born in town were Aaron Collins and 



114 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Ezenezer Blancharci grandson of old Benjamin and Bridget 
Blanchard, whose birth took place in 1768. Ebenezer kept a 
hotel on the Wadleigh farm. His father, Edward, was a prom- 
inent man in town — twenty-five years a selectman, often moder- 
ator at town meetings, and served as a soldier throughout the 
Revolutionary War. The old people, Benjamin and Bridget, 
were buried on their farm. Years after, the old lady's grave- 
stone was found among some stones hauled to repair the well. 

The settlement had now so far increased that the mail route 
from Concord to Gilmanton Corner passed over Bay Hill. The 
first postrider was Ezekiel Moore, a native of Canterbury, 
Avhere his son. Col. Matthias M. Moore, still resides. He carried 
the mail from 1798 to 1812, and possibly a little later. This 
was the only regular means of communication the little settle- 
ment had with the great outside world, and old people used to 
tell his son, years after, with what intense anxiety they awaited 
the coming of the postman, his father. After I\Ir. Moore retired 
from the business, his neighbor, Mr. Tallent, a young man, 
whose death occurred but a few years ago, succeeded him. A 
post and box stood at the end of the lane on the Blanchard place 
for the reception of the papers deposited there by the mail car- 
rier. 

A little farther south, down by the Smith meadow, was a log 
hut, in which lived a Mr. Colby. His wife was a weaver, and for 
want of bars was accustomed to warp her webbs on the apple 
trees. It would be difficult to find such fruit on our modern 
apple trees, I reckon. 

Esquire Charles Glidden was a leading man in his day, who 
died in 1811, at the age of sixty-seven. Mrs. Jeremiah Smith, 
known to you so long, was his daughter. She died at the ripe age 
of ninety-one; and her husband, whose prosperous and useful 
life, three additional years would have rounded out to a century, 
after a union with her of seventy-three years, all which were 
passed on the old homestead, and having voted for every presi- 
dent from Washington to Lincoln, at last sunk to rest like a 
patriarch of old, crowned with length of days, and like a shock 
of corn, fully ripe. He left three children, viz. — Warren H. 
Smith, Esq., now leading the life of a prosperous farmer, and 
who maintains the honor of the patrimonial estate with becom- 
ing dignity in the old family mansion, which has been renovated. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 115 

modernized, improved, and beautified; Mrs. "William Oilman of 
Lexington, Mass. ; and Mrs. Miles Glidden, for many years a 
resident of Ohio. 

Mr. William Oilman, a hale and vigorous gentleman of about 
eighty, the most of his life a resident of Bay Hill, and his 
brother Charles, now in Illinois, are sons of Jonathan Oilman, 
who himself, or his father, was, I suppose, one of the original 
settlers. His great-grandfather on the mother's side, came from 
Lee, bought five hundred acres of wild land on and around Bay 
Hill, on which he settled his sons — Eeuben, Nathaniel, "William 
and Jonathan "Whicher — many of whose descendants are now 
in town. The grandfather of Mr. "Westley Knowles bought his 
farm of Nathaniel Whicher — paying for it, so the story goes, 
with a two-year-old heifer. 

Capt. Samuel Oilman, Joseph KnoAvles and Dr. Kezar were 
also among the first settlers on Bay Hill. 

The excellent and very pleasant farms at present owned and 
occupied by Messrs. Monroe and William Clough, were pur- 
chased from Capt. Samuel Oilman about the year 1802, by their 
grandfather, Mr. Jonathan Clough, who emigrated thither from 
Salisbury, Mass., and died in 1836, aged eighty-six, leaving the 
farms to his two sons, Jonathan and Samuel ; the former, the 
father of William; the latter, of Monroe. Could ambition exist 
at that early day and in such a small community ? Yes. ' The 
desire to excel is the same in all ages and places. Captain Oil- 
man built a barn — ^the first in town, the wonder of the neighbor- 
hood — which barn still stands on the old place. The owner of 
W. H. Smith's farm determined to surpass it, and the next year 
built a barn twenty-five feet longer. Whereupon Esquire Olid- 
den built another with a still further addition of twenty-five 
feet, and the contest ended. 

Another of the pioneers of Northfield was Jonathan Wad- 
leigh, who was a native of Kingston, N. H., served in the Revo- 
lutionary army, lived for a while at Bean Hill, settled on the 
south side of Bay Hill, on what was afterwards called the Am- 
brose Woodbury farm, and finally died in Oilmanton. He was 
the father of Judge Wadleigh, whose son, Ephraim S., still lives 
on the first opened farm in town ; and of Mrs. Capt. Isaac Olines, 
who, after having lived half a century or more at the Centre, 
returned to her father's homestead on Bay Hill (now in the 



116 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

possession of her son, Smith W. Glines), and died at the age of 
eighty-two, in the same room in which she was born. This much 
for Bay Hill. 

As to Bean Hill, I suppose it must have been twenty years 
later, or more, when Lieut. Charles Glidden moved thither from 
Nottingham, built a log hut, left his wife and two children and 
went into the Eevolutionary army. In his absence she tilled 
the soil, felled the trees and hauled her wood with the help of 
oxen.. After his return, he bought Nehemiah McDonald's farm 
near the old meeting-house. Mr. Glidden, his wife, and some 
of the children were buried on said farm. His wife was a 
Mills, and her mother, Alice Cilly. John Cilly, Eobert Evans, 
a Mr. Cofran (father of Col. James Cofran), Gideon Sawyer 
and brother, Solomon French and brother, were early settlers 
of this region; and William Smith, the grandfather of Warren 
Smith, who was moved from Old Hampton by Mr. Glidden. 
Perhaps his son, Jeremiah, came with him, as he left Old Hamp- 
ton, wdiere he was born, when a boy, and went to live in Canter- 
bury. 

In those early times, there was no house between Glidden 's 
and w^hat is now called the Rand schoolhouse — some two miles 
or more. Ensign Sanborn, whose wife was a Harvey, lived not 
far from there. He probably served in the army for a while. 

Mrs. William Oilman, to whom I am indebted for many of 
the above facts, relates that woods, wolves and bears were plenty 
in those times, and carriages very scarce ; so that when Esquire 
Samuel Forrest's mother died, her corpse was carried on a bier 
laid on poles between two horses to the graveyard by the brick 
meeting-house, some three or four miles distant. 

She further says that old General Dearborn drove the first 
double sleigh into Northfield on a visit to her grandfather. 

I have been able to learn but little of the pioneers and settle- 
ment of the Centre and Eastern parts of the town, with the 
exception of the Forrest family — a short account of which was 
furnished me by Llr. John Sanborn, which I give in nearly his 
own words. 

"AVi'lliam John Forrest came from Ireland when eighteen 
years of age, and died in Boston. Of his four sons, Robert 
settled in Canterbury, and the others in Northfield — John on 
the Leighton place, William in the Centre district, and James 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 117 

on the farm now owned by James N. Forrest, his grandson. 
Two of his daughters married Gibsons, and the other one, Mr. 
Clongh; and all settled in Northfield. William Forrest settled 
in the Centre district, or rather commenced clearing the timber 
in 1774, just before the War of the Revolution broke out. One 
day, while felling trees, he providentially escaped death by 
lightning, which completely demolished an ash tree, under which 
he had designed to take shelter. He enlisted in the war, and 
served his country with credit. He was the father of fourteen 
children, of whom thirteen lived to grow up, and all except one 
attended school near the old meeting-house." To this sketch 
Mr. James N. Forrest adds : ' ' My grandfather James came here — 
on the farm where I now live — in 1784, and subdued the forest, 
erected buildings, built roads, and left a worthy son to inherit 
his property, and do honor to his name. My father, who was an 
only son, named me for his father, and I have named one of my 
sons — Samuel — for him. How long the names will rotate, only 
the destiny of the family will reveal." I understand that this 
family has furnished more teachers and held more official posi- 
tions than any other in town. 

Oak Hill proper, I am informed,. was for the most part orig- 
inally in the possession of Obed Clough, who was succeeded by 
the French and Batchelder families. The latter are still repre- 
sented in that part of the town — among whom the best known 
face is that of "Uncle ]Moses," as he is familiarly called, still 
hale, vigorous, and whole-souled — one of the patriarchs of the 
town, showing to the younger generation what a life of tem- 
perance, industry, with a good conscience, can accomplish towards 
the attainment of old age. 

I quote from Mr. Goodwin again, who says, "Ensign San- 
born, Gideon Sawyer, the brothers Archelaus, Samuel and Abner 
Miles, John and Jeremiah McDaniel, Nathaniel and William 
Whicher, Capt. Thomas Clough, George and Joseph Hancock, 
and the four brothers by the name of Cross, w^ere in town 
very early." These, I suppose, mostly settled in the western 
part. "On the Crosses they had some verses running in this 
wise : 

Cooper Jess and Merchant Tom, 
Honest Parker and Farmer John. 



118 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

These Crosses had a sort of village down at their place on the 
intervale, opposite the Webster farm. They had a coopering es- 
tablishment, a store and a tavern there, and it was, in fact, a. 
business emporium for all that region." 

The first manufacturing in town w^as done on what was called 
the Cross Brook. Here, and near the Intervale and Oak Hill, 
were made earthen and wooden ware, lumber, jewelry, and es- 
pecially the old-fashioned gold beads. They had there a grist 
mill, a fulling mill, and carding machine — the first in use — a 
grocery, jeweler's shop and tailor's shop. The father of Mr. 
"William G. Hanaford had a shoe shop, and some one had a 
blacksmith — or what was then called a shoeing shop. In fact, 
almost every branch of industry was carried on there in the very 
first decade of the town's history. 

Steven Cross, the great-grandfather of 0. L. Cross, Esq., mar- 
ried Peggy Bowen and settled near Indian Bridge, and raised a 
family of thirteen children, who were all living when the youngest 
was forty years old. The oldest, Abraham, married Kuth Saw- 
yer, daughter of old Deacon Sawyer of Canterbury, who was a 
soldier in both the French and Revolutionary wars, and who 
had two sons killed at the surrender of Burgoyne, where the 
father was also a soldier. Deacon Sawyer owned the ferry two 
miles below the Cross ferry, and always attended to it himself 
to the last year of his life, he being within two months and 
three days of one hundred years at his death. He was the 
father of twenty-two children, twenty of whom grew up. Abra- 
ham Cross settled near his father Sawyer, and there Jeremiah 
was born in 1805 ; but the year before the family had settled on 
the Winnipiseogee and built a sawmill, ever after known as the 
Cross Mill. Jeremiah married Miss Sarah Lyford of Pittsfield, 
settled near the Cross Mill, and about thirty years ago built, on 
a beautiful elevation overlooking the mill, a fine mansion in 
which a few years since he died, leaving behind an enviable 
character for honor, integrity and business enterprise. He was 
buried with Masonic honors. 

Among the early settlers were also the names of William 
Kenniston and a Mr. Danforth. The latter was a soldier of the 
Revolution, and, having been wounded, always persisted in say- 
ing that he carried the ball still imbedded in his shoulder. The 
statement was not credited, however, till, years after his death, 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 119 

upon the removal of his remains, it was found that the old 
soldier was right, for there, firmly fixed, so that a hammer 
was required for its extrication, was found the bullet, embedded 
in the solid bone. 

The three Miles brothers came into toT\Ti in 1769 or 1770, and 
settled on one farm; lived on it six or seven years, then sold it 
to Eeuben Kimball of Concord in 1776. This farm has been 
kept in the Kimball name to the present time, Reuben giving 
it to his son, Benjamin, who sold it to his brother, David, whose 
descendants are still there. Reuben Kimball was a soldier of 
the Revolution and in the battle of Bunker Hill w^as hit by 
musket balls three times — once in the crown of his hat, once on 
the powder horn which hung at his side (which horn is now in 
the possession of the present occupant of the farm) and once in 
the leg, which wound never healed to the day of his death, June 
12, 1815. 

Well, Time whirls his wheel a little queerly sometimes. Now 
here is ]\Ir. J. A. Kimball, the last possessor of that farm, whose 
wife is a direct descendant of Abner Miles, the first possessor of 
said farm. Said Abner sold his right and title to the f-arm and 
cut off his descendants, heirs, assigns, etc., from all right, title, 
fee simple, forever and forever, when lo ! a descendant of his 
steps in and claims equal rights with the purchaser. And, what 
is still more strange, it is said to be the result of a suit — ^not a 
law suit — which terminated in her favor; and so the descend- 
ants of the seller and the descendants of the puuchaser both 
share equally in the blessings of said farm. 

Another excellent farm in western Northfield, which is as 
well cultivated as any upland farm in town, or perhaps in the 
county, is the one owned and occupied by Mr. John S. Dearborn, 
which was deeded to his grandfather, Shubael Dearborn, in 1779, 
just one hundred and one years ago, by his great-grandfather, 
who then lived on the Edmund Dearborn place. The deed is 
still preserved in the old family chest. Shubael was married 
in homespun, at twenty-six years of age, and commenced house- 
keeping without bed or crockery and in a house containing only 
one pane of glass. The story goes that he was taxed extra for 
the glass and for every smoke in the chimney. But frugality 
and industry overcame all obstacles in time, and Mr. Dearborn 
lived to see himself in comfortable circumstances, with a good 



120 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

house to shelter him, and well furnished for the time. He was 
obliged to haul his building material from Portsmouth with an 
ox team. He died at the age of fifty-eight. The farm has been 
in the family name ever since, passing from Shubael to his son 
of the same name, and thence to his son, the present possessor, 
John S. Dearborn. 

"The Intervale upon which the Crosses and Joseph Hancock 
settled (once a part of old Northfield, but now included within 
the limits of Franklin) is one of the largest and richest on the 
Merrimack. ' ' l£ here spreads out into a broad field of more than 
one hundred acres, level as a prairie, a sort of delta, or minia- 
ture Egypt, which is flowed in spring and fall, but never washed, 
as the water sets back upon the land through a channel con- 
necting with the Merrimack on the lower side. Portions of this 
have been mowed for nearly a century, and still produce from 
one to three tons per acre. Here Joseph Gerrish, Esq., settled 
in the year 1804. He was a native of Boscawen, born in 1784 — 
almost one hundred years ago — and was the son of Colonel 
Henry, and grandson of Capt. Steven Gerrish, one of the first 
settlers of Boscawen, and a native of Newbury, Mass. The great- 
grandfather of Steven (Capt. William) came from Bristol, Eng., 
to Newbury, where he settled in 1639 — removing thence to Bos- 
ton in 1687. 

Joseph Gerrish was a man of great shrewdness, business tact 
and enterprise, hospitable and genial. During the War of 1812 
he started a distillery here for the manufacture of potato whiskey, 
which he gave up on the return of peace, and turned his atten- 
tion more exclusively to farming, bought the George Hancock 
farm on an adjacent ridge, and thus enlarged his domains to 
ample size, with due proportions of upland for grazing, and in- 
tervale for tillage. Soon after, he removed his residence to the 
upland farm, where with convenient buildings, good horses, 
ample means, generous li\dng, and a family of thirteen children, 
he lived till his death in 1851, looked up to and respected as one 
of the most substantial farmers Northfield has produced. His 
wife was Susan Hancock of Northfield. After his death, his 
broad acres were divided among his three sons — INIilton, Leonard 
and Stephen ; the two former taking the intervale, the latter, the 
upland farm. ]\Iilton and Leonard still abide by their inheri- 
tance, and with full garners and contented spirits we presume 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 121 

they enjoy that peculiar happiness and health a farmer's life 
only can bring. Steven, however, after a few years of very 
successful farming, his house being destitute of children, grew 
lonely, we suppose, and migrated across the Merrimack, to try the 
charms of a- village life in "West Franklin, where he still re- 
sides. His place was bought by John Kelley, Esq., the present 
possessor, in whose experienced hands the farm bids fair to keep 
up its ancient reputation. 

This is the amount of our researches respecting Oak Hill and 
the west part. 

And now, having given this imperfect sketch of the first set- 
tlers and their acts during the first twenty years, and traced 
their families down as fully as our information would allow, 
it remains to exhibit them in their corporate capacity, beginning 
with their town meetings, and following with the great raising 
of the old meeting-house— a momentous event in its day, hardly 
to be equalled by a centennial in our time — but of these matters 
a few items must suffice for the present, as an extended account 
will be given of them in the History of Northfield, which it is 
proposed to prepare during the coming year. The following is 
a copy from their earliest 

' ' REIGHCORD OP MEETINGS, &C. : 

"At a meeting held in Northfield tuesday ye 21 — Nove'r 1780 

1 Voted Mr John Simons Moderator 

2 Voted to a Loav Mr Nathanil witchers acompt in Gifting 
ye in Corpration. 

3 Voted to Rais Monny to Buy a parrish Book 

4 V to Rais Nineteen hundred Dollars to Defray Parrish 
Chargis" 

SECOND MEETING. 

"At a Meeting held in Northfield on Tuesday ye first of March 
1781, at the hous of Mr John Simons 

1 Voted Capt Ednor Blanchard Moderator 

2nd Voted Arche Miles Clerk 

3rd Voted Reuben Witcher John IMcDaniel Thomas Clough 
Select Men 

4 Voted Ebenesor Kimbol Constobel 

5 Voted Joseph Car David Blanchard Charles Glidden Mat- 
thew hains & Peter hunniford Servayers of hy wais 



122 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

6 Voted Edward Blanchard David Morrison hog Refs. 

7 voted Aaron Stevens Sealer of Measur 

8 Voted the Select Men be a Committy to git the JMonny and 
Beef Cauld for By the Cort. 

9 voted to Raise Six thousand Dollars to Repir high ways in 
labonr at forty dollars per day. 

Said Meeting adjurned to the firs of Apr at two of the Clock 
in the After Noon at the Saim plais" 

The foregoing is a full record of the first two meetings after 
the town was incorporated. 

As to how the old meeting-house was raised by the whole 
town in convention assembled, how Master Bill Durgin framed 
it, and Elder Crocket blessed the enterprise, how libations 
were poured out and in, how the women cooked the dinner, how 
the Hill women of Bay Hill furnished the bread, and ]Mrs. 
Knowles and others prepared the fish, potatoes, etc., by the edge 
of the woods, and how races were run up the east hill by men 
with bags of grain on their shoulders, and other games; all this 
and much more we hope to place before our hearers in the not 
distant future, as the work is in the hands of one whose ancestor 
kept a complete diary of the proceedings of that eventful day. 

In this place, it will be appropriate, perhaps, to introduce a 
brief account of the churches of Northfield. 

The old meeting-house was originally free to all sects, but in 
later years was occupied exclusively by the Congregationalists, 
who abandoned it in 1841, since which it has been used only 
for town-meetings. 

In regard to common schools, the one remarkable fact is the 
strange diminution in the number of children attending them 
since earlier times. Why is it? The population of the town is 
now larger. This may be accounted for in various ways. First, 
the young people leave at an earlier age to obtain a more ad- 
vanced education in the higher schools; second, families are 
smaller; and third, the young grown-up people and young fam- 
ilies leave town. But of this last reason I will speak further, 
on. 

The first schoolhouses, of course, were made of logs, of which 
an example has been given on Bay Hill, and were generally 
private dwelling houses. Female teachers began to be employed 
about 1806, and were considered competent if they had mastered 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNL\L. • 123 

the first four rules in arithmetic. In illustration of the great 
advance made in female education since that time it is only 
necessary to point to the many young ladies graduating each 
year from our female colleges and other higher institutions, as has 
witnessed this week in the Seminary near by. 

The Bay Hill school, which formerly contained upwards of 
fifty pupils, has, during the past twenty years, often been re- 
duced to less than half a dozen. 

The Centre school in former days numbered sixty, sometimes 
reaching eighty. Here ]Mr. John E. Forrest, one of our oldest 
citizens, was accustomed to attend when a boy, one of whose 
duties was to carry for Master Gleason, who boarded at his 
father's, a bottle of cider each day. By mistake one morning 
he filled the bottle from the vinegar barrel. At the proper time, 
after the wear and tear of the morning hour. Master Gleason 
repaired to the closet where the cider was wont to be kept, and 
disposed of a stout dram before he discovered the mistake. 
Speechless with rage and Aanegar, he could only shake his fist 
in the face of the innocent cause of all this turmoil, at the same 
time giving such power of expression to his face as would have 
been highly applauded on the stage. Finally recovering his 
speech, he roared out the threat of a flogging to the rascal. 
Doubtless he wore a sour look the rest of the day. 

Other early teachers of the Centre were Master Morrill of 
Concord, Masters Bowles, Solomon Sutton of Canterbury, Josiah 
Ambrose of Northfield, Phinehas Thorn and Edmund Dearborn. 
Miss Morrill and Nancy Glidden were among the female teachers. 
The school now numbers from fifteen to twenty. 

In early times, the school in the Hodgdon district numbered 
from seventy to one hundred, and John Cate, an old teacher, 
took oath in a certain suit that he had one hundred and ten 
scholars. Now there are no scholars large enough to attend, and 
no school — one of the greatest changes in a school district that I 
have ever known. 

Among the oldest teachers were Masters Knapp, Parkinson, 
Meshech Cate, John Blanchard and Edmund Dearborn. It is 
related that Master Dearborn's mother used to follow her children 
to the schoolhouse, stick in hand, whenever they were unwilling 
to go, and as the result they all became excellent scholars. Think 
of that, ye who rely entirely on moral suasion ! Among the f e- 



124 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

male teachers were Nabby Abbott, Sally Hazelton and Esther 
Parkinson. Dudley Leavitt, the famous astronomer and almanac- 
maker, was the first to teach in that district after the building 
of a schoolhouse. At that time he lived at Bean Hill and boarded 
at home, walking to and from school each daj'. He wore slippers 
and once, when passing old Squire Lyford's, one of them slipped 
off, but he was so agile, he threw his foot into it again and passed 
on without stopping. He was tall and commanding in person, 
as were many of the Leavitts of those days. 

Now, having tarried so long among the early fathers, and 
gathered into one bundle the few items we could pick up here and 
there of their settlement, families, modes of life and manners of 
governing, let us in company glide downward two or three scores 
of years and saunter somewhere along the middle of the century, 
and strive to catch a glimpse of the financial situation and social 
life of our people at that period and then by a few short steps 
transfer ourselves to the present time. 

And first I would say, that from twenty-five to seventy-five 
years after the incorporation, the rural portion of the town 
appears to me to have been in its most prosperous state. Village 
life had not grown to such proportions then, the majority of 
farmers were in middle life, with iron frames, strong arms and 
stronger hearts, with stout boys ready to assist and plenty of 
them, with buxom girls in equal numbers, to card, spin, weave, 
help mother generally, and even to rake hay, when occasion 
called, so that those freshly-opened farms fairly laughed with 
harvests — filling the barns with hay to bursting and the garners 
with grain. The schoolhouses were crammed with great boys, 
littl^ boys, middling boys and girls ditto. Those were the golden 
days of the Northfield farmers. 

"Oft did the harvest to their sickle yield, 

Their furrow oft the stubborn glebe has broke. 

How jocund did they drive their teams afield. 

How bowed the woods beneath their sturdy stroke." 

Since then village life has gained and, as a consequence in con- 
nection wdth other causes, rural life has lost. 

In the second place, our fathers — and mothers, as well — seemed 
inclined to combine amusement and sociality with their daily 
labor more than their descendants of the present day. Instead 
of formal calls — now the fashion — the good housewife would 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 125 

often take her wheel and spend the long summer afternoon with 
a chatty neighbor in spinning — the whir of the w^heel keeping 
time to the wagging of the tongue, and which went faster would 
be hard to tell. 

There were the raisings, when a new house was to be erected, 
whether of logs or framed, when the men came from far and 
near, with the purpose of having a high time generally, and they 
generally had it. Then there w^ere the shooting matches, and 
wrestling matches, and apple parings, and quilting bees, sleigh- 
ride parties, and coasting parties. There were the spelling- 
schools, which were occasions of much interest, when the young 
people met, chose sides and strove to surpass each other in navi- 
gating the intricate mazes of English orthography. And there 
were social parties, w^hen the young men and women — often from 
fifty to a hundred in number — would gather at the house of some 
substantial farmer, where, before roaring fires, in spacious, old- 
fashioned rooms, warm and comfortable, though the w^eather 
might be zero without, they w^ould spend the all too swiftly pass- 
ing hours in lively chat, or in playing games, such as button, 
rolling the plate, Copenhagen, bean porridge, hot and cold, etc., 
and in singing and marching to the songs of "Oats, peas, beans, 
and barley grow," and "When the snow blows in the field," and 
"Arise, my true love," etc. 

0, those merry, jolly days — or rather evenings — of forty or 
fifty years ago, when girls and boys were as thick as grasshoppers 
in summer time ! 

A word about husking parties, once an important institution 
in these regions. When the days had begun to shorten and the 
nights to grow frosty, and the corn had been gathered and piled 
in huge heaps in the barns, instead of sitting solitary and alone 
for weeks, stripping the husks from the ears, the thrifty farmer 
would invite his neighbors, young and old, male and female, to a 
husking party and have his corn husked in a single night. And 
it was an invitation in most cases gladly accepted. The joke, and 
the laugh, and the song went round — and sometimes the cider. 
And the fortunate finder of the red ear had his reward ; while all 
were rewarded at the conclusion of the work with a bountiful 
meal, such as the farmers' wives of those days, and their daugh- 
ters, knew how to provide. At those supper tables the pumpkin 
pie usually held the place of honor. With its surface of a rich. 



126 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

golden color, deep, luscious, meltiiTg, with crispy circumference, 
no husking party was held to be complete without the pumpkin 
pie. 

I had designed to speak of the militia trainings, with their 
wonderful evolutions and equipments, and of the muster field, to 
which our Northfield warriors marched once in the year, and of a 
famous character always there found, by the name of Foster, 
whose continual repetition of ''yes'm, yes'm" gained him the 
nickname of "Yes'm" the country over, and whose war cry of 

"Crackers and honey, 
Cheap for the money," 

brought many a dollar to his cart, and many a meal of crackers, 
honey, gingerbread and oranges to the hungry crowd. But want 
of time forbids and an abler pen than mine would be required to 
do the subject justice. 

Coming down to the present time, a few statistics must suffice. 
On the Northfield side of Tilton village, cloth is manufactured 
to the value of $276,000 annually from two woolen mills. There 
are smaller mills besides, wheelwright shop, etc. There is a large 
graded school building there and over fifty dwelling houses. 

The Gazetteer of 1874 says the valuation of the productions of 
the town is $95,000 ; mechanical labor, $46,500 ; stocks and money 
at interest, $9,648 ; deposits in savings banks, $50,911 ; stock in 
trade, $6,425. There are nine schools in town, one of which is 
graded. 

By this we see that the manufactures are respectable and thej^ 
can be increased to an indefinite extent. But agriculture is the 
principal employment of the inhabitants, and they possess many 
fine farms under excellent cultivation. One or two facts 
will illustrate the fertility of the soil. The trunk of a pine tree 
for many years formed part of a highway fence below Mr. 
Clisby's, so large that steps were cut in it to assist in climbing 
over. And years ago there was another large pine tree cut near 
the old meeting-house. Mr. Hiram Glines, a citizen of the town, 
states that he once saw a pair of six-feet oxen driven upon the 
stump and turned around on it without stepping ofi^. 

Having thus presented a few outlines of the history, and slight 
sketches of the manners of the past, allow me a few words on the 
natural features of this town. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 127 

Northfield was originally a part of Canterbury, from which 
it was cut off by the act of incorporation in 1780. Military au- 
thorities say that mountains and rivers make the best defensive 
boundaries against invasion, and that, perhaps, was the reason 
why the boundary line was run over the summit of Bean Hill — 
over, I think, the topmost pinnacle — while a barrier was put be- 
tween the people and their neighbors on the north and w^est by 
the Merrimack and Winnipiseogee rivers. If such was the design, 
it was not a complete success, as is shown by the successive losses 
of territory the town has suffered. And it is said that many a 
fair daughter of the town has been lost to her parents for ever 
and aye by the daring of some marauding young man from across 
the border. 

Northfield has a diversified aspect. It has hill and vale, up- 
land and low plains, waving woods, smooth rolling fields, rich 
intervale and the craggy rock. At the first glance you would 
hardly imagine anything to be in common between this town 
and the metropolis of New England. But in one respect there 
is a resemblance, in which, however, we are deeidecily superior 
to the Hub. Boston was formerly called Tri-mountain, from the 
fact that it was built on three hills, and the name still survives 
in onp of their principal streets — Tremont. Now Northfield has 
just that number of hills — Bay, Bean and Oak — the least of 
which would surpass all the city's Tri-mountains gathered into 
one. Theirs, they say, are mountains, but mountains are so 
abundant up this way that we call ours hills. 

The surface of the town is dotted with gem-like ponds. Near 
]\Ir. Winslow's on the level plain is Sondogardy, blinking at each 
railroad train as it dashes by; and Chestnut, near the residence 
of Mr. Knowles, lies down deep in the bottom of a cavity, like 
the crater of a volcano. 

The principal rivers, I believe, w^holly within the limits of the 
town are the Skenduggardy (not Sondogardy — the Gazetteer is 
wrong) and the Cross Brook, which ought to be named Sondo- 
gardy, as it flows from the pond of that name, and without 
doubt was formerly so-called. The first named river is formed 
by the union of a branch flowing from Chestnut Pond with 
another from the heights of Bean Hill, and empties into the 
Winnipiseogee. It was once something of a manufacturing 
stream, as it carried two sawmills, and more anciently, by flow- 



128 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

age, manufactured the Smith and Thurston meadows, but of late 
it has given up the sawing and flowing business and seems only- 
solicitous to find its way to the Winnipiseogee, while its few trout 
lead a hard life in dodging the misguided anglers — who are 
often forced to retire from its banks, sadder, if not wiser men. 
Its sister river flows into the Merrimack, and was once noted for 
manufactures. Nor is Northfield devoid of scenic beauty. In- 
deed, I believe it stands pre-eminent in that respect, even among 
the towns of New Hampshire. The view from Bay Hill, in quiet, 
rural beauty, will compare favorably with anything of the kind 
it has been my good fortune to see. Before you on the north is 
spread the valley of the Winnipiseogee — with its lake of that 
name, that "Smile of the Great Spirit" — a sail over which Ed- 
ward Everett declared to be more charming than any he had ever 
taken over the lakes of Switzerland — and flowing from it, with a 
succession of bays and rapids, the river hastening forward to 
bathe your northern boundary and to meet her sister river on 
your western border. The valley is oval, and as you look over 
its longest diameter you see it walled around by Gunstock, Belk- 
nap, Ossipee, Red Hill and others, like giant warders, while 
farther away, peering over their heads, are Chocorua, Cardigan, 
Mount Washington, and his brothers, while directly w^est, on your 
left, Kearsarge raises its broad shoulders — the most symmetrical 
of mountains, as seen from that position. The whole Winni- 
piseogee valley probably was once filled by the waters of the 
lake — Bay Hill reaching over to and connecting with a similar 
elevation on the Sanbornton side — till worn down by the river, 
which drained the valley. Dividing, one branch passed on to 
Franklin, and the other through the middle of Northfield, making 
Oak Hill an island. Possibly a branch passed still further east 
converting Bean Hill into another island much larger. Thus 
Northfield probably once consisted merely of two island hill tops. 

From various parts of Bean Hill, though possibly not quite so 
beautiful, are views more extensive and well worth seeing. 

And Oak Hill with a patronizing air looks down on stalwart 
Franklin, which nestles under its shelter. 

Bean Hill is the highest elevation between this part of the 
valley and the Atlantic. Its shoulders support many a goodly 
farm, while the pinnacle is mostly bare rock, with stunted trees 
in the crevices. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. , 129 

The Winnipiseogee is said to fall two hundred and thirty-two 
feet before meeting the Pemigewasset. At the confluence of the 
two in Franklin, the united streams take the name of Merrimack, 
a river which is said to propel more machinery than any other 
in the world. A Gazetteer tells me that the original name was 
Merrymake — and a very appropriate term it would appear to be 
to all who have seen its waters. Others say it was named from 
jMerry Mac, a dweller on its banks ; while another authority says 
it is an Indian word and signifies a sturgeon. 

Wonderful stories were told by the fathers about the fish in 
our beautiful rivers. Not the lean, attenuated specimens of 
piscatory life now represented by degenerate dace, chubs and 
perch, with occasionally a lonely pickerel, but shad and salmon — 
fat, luscious and huge, and in such vast numbers at times as to 
blacken the river with their backs. And what was Angular in 
their habits was that though they migrated from the ocean 
through the whole length of the IMerrimack in company, yet, on 
reaching the fork of the two rivers at Franklin, they invariably 
separated, the shad passing up the Winnipiseogee to deposit their 
spawn in the lake, and the salmon up the Pemigewasset. Thus 
the inhabitants of one valley ate shad and those of the other, 
salmon. 

Northfield contains about twent-seven square miles or seven- 
teen thousand acres. She was formerly larger, but within the 
last quarter of a century she has suffered a considerable contrac- 
tion of her circumference, owing to the affectionate regard of 
her neighbors. She has become reduced — lost flesh. But for all 
this, she's a hale, healthy, active old lady today — for a centen- 
arian. 

But seriously, though our town be contracted in dimensions, it 
is a goodly town still. Its most picturesque, its most homelike, 
its most rural portions, its upland farms, its brooks, ponds, 
groves, and its three mountains yet remain to you. It is a beau- 
tiful town, and though small, one to be proud of. 

A greater loss, however, and one more to be deplored than 
that of territory, which your town has sustained, has been the 
constant drain for the last half century of your young men, 
notably of your young farmers, to the cities, and especially to the 
Far West. Some of your best lifeblood has been lost in this 
10 



130 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

way. Had all remained, and divided and subdivided your large 
farms into smaller ones, and emploj^ed on them the same energy 
they have applied elsewhere, what a garden Northfield would 
have been, and how your sehoolhouses would have been filled, 
in this year of 1880 ! 

There was in imagination, half a century ago, more than at 
present, I think, a halo — a romance — cast around the journey 
towards the setting sun. Men felt sure of fortune and fame the 
moment their feet should touch prairie land. The great "West 
was in their thoughts, in their talks, dreams, and even their 
sports. Why, I remember well, that one of the most popular 
songs we sung and to the music of which we marched with the 
greatest zest, in those gatherings of the young at the houses of the 
substantial farmers thirty or forty years ago, of which I have 
already spoken, was this: 

"Arise, my true love, and present me your hand, 
And we will travel to some far distant land. 
Where the girls card and spin, and the boys rake and mow. 
And we will settle on the banks of the pleasant 0-hi-o." 

Yes, many since that time have left Northfield and gone to 
the Ohio and bej^ond. And many more who remained had a 
desperate longing to travel the same road. Thousands were the 
influences operating, of course, but I have no doubt that even 
this little song to some extent quickened the impulses of your 
young men to desert this beautiful town, and travel to the 
level, monotonous, muddy, fever-stricken, homesick, strange, far- 
away expanses of the West. Yes, that was what they sung: 

"We will settle on the banks of the pleasant 0-hi-o!" 

But girls and boys, young men and maidens, don't 3'ou do it. 
Do n 't you settle on those banks, nor on the banks of any other 
Western river ! Do n 't put faith in the ' ' beautiful 0-hi-o ' ' — 
I 've seen it — as long as you have the beautiful ]\Ierrimack, spark- 
ling, rushing, full of life, compared with which the "beautiful 
0-hi-o" is nothing but a muddy, lazy canal, or ditch, good for 
navigation. For beauty, for purity, for exhilarating effect, give 
me, a thousand times give me, your Winnipiseogee ! Settle where 
there are healthful skies, pure air, sparkling streams. Settle in 
New England; settle in Northfield; or, what is better, remain 
settled there ! 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 131 

Happiness is what we are all in search of. And happiness de- 
pends, much more than we are aware, upon local attachment. 
And it is proverbial that local attachment is stronger in a moun- 
tainous country than in one of plains. The Swiss are said to be 
so afflicted with homesickness sometimes, when in foreign coun- 
tries, such a longing to see their mountains once more, that they 
commit suicide. Walter Scott said if he could n 't see the hills of 
Scotland once a year, he should die. Now a plain country has 
no power. On the priaries, everything is like everything else; 
there is no variety ; the farms are as like each other as two peas. 
Whereas, in a hill country like this, every farm has an individ- 
uality, a decided character, that distinguishes it from every other. 
Each man's farm is like no other man's farm. As we choose a 
friend, or a sweetheart, not because they are just like other 
people, but for the exact opposite — him because he is like no 
other man and her because she is like no other woman — so, in pro- 
cess of time a man becomes attached to his farm, especially if 
he has lived on it long enough to become acquainted with its 
peculiarities, because it is unlike any other man's farm. He ex- 
periences a home feeling when he visits the hillside pasture, sees 
an old acquaintance in every hollow, tree, brook, spring and even 
every rock of respectable size has an individuality and a charm 
for him, that in the course of a long life adds no small amount 
to the sum total of his happiness. Why, said a New Hampshire 
man to me in Iowa once, ' ' I would give half my farm to run my 
plough against a big rock." 

0, but this is nothing but sentiment ! some one says. Perhaps 
it is, but you will find that the most of our likes and dislikes 
are founded on sentiment. But grant that it is sentiment — noth- 
ing more and nothing worth, yet, if you look at the comparative 
profits simply of eastern and western farming, I surmise that 
you will not find the table of profit and loss to be so very much 
against the Northfielder — even on his upland farm, to say noth- 
ing of the intervales. Why, there are ten farms under mortgage 
at the West to one in the East. That tells the story of profit and 
loss. Much might also be said here of the mistake of leaving a 
country for a city life. But time is rapidly passing and I must 
hasten to a close. I will only say that the experience of the past 
five or six years has wrought a change in the minds of thousands 
on this subject. JMany a man during the past twelve months has 



132 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

left behind the din, the turmoil, the uncertainty of the city, and 
gone back to where he can be blessed with 

"The low of cattle, and song of birds, 
And health, and quiet, and loving words." 

And may this return tide long continue to flow upon the old 
homesteads. 

But not to the young men alone, but to the fathers of the town, 
allow me a word. I would say, take all means to improve your 
town. Make it desirable as a place of residence. You have good 
land, a strong soil, better, buch better than the average of New 
Hampshire land. Feed this soil. Beautify your farms. Make 
your homes pleasant and strive in all ways to stop this constant 
drain of your young men to the West, or to the cities. You 
have a beautiful town, as I have before said, varied, picturesque, 
and richly endowed with capacities for improvement. Increase 
its beauties. Adorn it in every conceivable way. And by so 
doing, not only increase the beauty but greatly enhance the 
market value of our town. Plant trees, make good roads, set out 
orchards, have trim gardens, ornament your grounds, make your 
houses neat, convenient and picturesque; in short, make every 
farm a paradise — for you can do it — with health, industry and 
taste. Set your faces as a flint in favor of morality and temper- 
ance throughout your borders — in every nook and corner of the 
town — among all classes, and especially among the young. Es- 
tablish a public library and lend a helping hand to every good 
work. What if all these should cost a little more money ? Money 
is of no value in itself, but for what it procures. Let it procure 
w^hat will give you enjoyment and improve and bless you and 
yours, your life long. See to it that your public schools are as 
good as they can be made. And when your children have grad- 
uated from the district schools, do n 't forget that what would do 
in your great-grandfather's days, would be totally insufficient 
now. Then man was cliiefly employed in subduing nature — in 
felling the trees and in establishing for himself a residence. Now 
times have changed. Knowledge is increased. Skilled labor and 
scientific learning give power to its possessor above all his fellows. 
A higher education is now required to keep us on a level with the 
general intelligence of the world. 

And glad am I to be able to say, that you fortunately have the 
means of obtaining this higher education at your very doors. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL, 133 

The New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College 
is a daughter of Northfield, whose birth took place on this side 
of the river thirty-five years ago. Many before me have ex- 
perienced her beneficial influence, and are nobler men and nobler 
women today from having come in contact with her moulding 
power. To be sure, she has moved out of town, but only across 
the border, to a brother hill facing the one she left, and, in fact, 
only the northerly part of the same hill, before the river wore 
a channel between. So that you can still claim her as a daugh- 
ter of Northfield, who has only stepped across the way. And 
long may she continue her influence, not only in Northfield and 
Tilton, but throughout New Hampshire, and even extend it to the 
remotest corners of New England. This subject of education, in 
connection with the prosperity of your town, or of any town, is 
no small thing. My life's work has been in this cause. Thirty 
years almost have I, in a humble way, stood in my place of 
teacher, and every year increases my conviction of its vast im- 
portance. For twelve j'ears nearly has it been my fortune to 
find a home in my present location on the seaboard. There, on 
many a prominent headland, you will notice that a lighthouse 
has been erected ; a lighthouse that shall send its beams far over 
the water to guide the mariner in the dark. In the fog, or the 
storm, or in the dim starlight, shaken by huge billows, or in the 
calm, that light gleams forth, and tells him where he is, and 
guides him in the right course. So may the New Hampshire 
Conference Seminary, seated on yonder headland, that beautiful 
headland, send forth the light of education all up and down the 
INIerrimack valley, and not stopping there, cross Kearsarge on 
the west and Bean Hill and Gunstock on the east, and extend its 
beams to the lake and the ocean, enlightening, guiding, blessing, 
as long as your three hills shall stand, or the Merrimack run. 

And finally, cultivate town patriotism. Love your towTi. Ren- 
der it more and more worthy of your love with each passing 
year. Teach your children to love it, and make it such that they 
must love it, ardently, devotedly, so that whether they sojourn 
within its limits or settle far away, or wander with no fixed abode, 
their native town will be the one bright, loved, home-like spot 
of all the earth. 

And, dear old Llother Northfield, who wearest thy centennial 
garments so well today, we, thy children, native and adopted, bid 



134 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

thee all hail ! May many and many a centennial be celebrated 
within thy borders. And may each anniversary find you farther 
advanced in prosperity and happiness and niorality than the 
last. "May your sons be as plants grown up in their youth; 
may your daughters be as cornerstones, polished after the simili- 
tude of a palace; may your garners be full, your oxen strong to 
labor; may there be no complaining in your streets; and may 
you be that happy people whose God is the Lord. ' ' And 

"O, our fathers' God! From out whose hand 
The centures fall like grains of sand, 
We meet to-day, united, free. 
And loyal to our land and Thee, 
To thank Thee for the century done, 
And trust Thee for the opening one. 

0, make Thou us through centuries long, 
In peace secure, in justice strong; 
And o'er our gift of freedom draw 
The safeguards of the righteous law. 
And, cast in some diviner mould. 
Let the new century surpass the old." 

NORTHFIELD. 

Poem Read at the Centennial of the Town of Northfield, N. H., 
June 19, 1S80. 

BY MRS. LUCY R. H. CROSS. 

One would suppose that, when a century dies, 
Some startling sign would flash upon the skies, 
Some meteor from its sphere in errant flight 
Would blaze in glory and go out in night, 
That conscious nature, in a storm of tears, 
Would pay due tribute to the dying years. 
But, no! the faithful sun to duty true 
Went down last night as it was wont to do; 
The crimson glory melted into gray, 
Just as it did upon our natal day, 
And fell the darkness over hill and plain, — 
The same old story, o'er and o'er again. 

Yet in the kitchens there was strange portent, 
And "savory steams" foretold some great event, 



NORTHPIELD CENTENNIAL. 135 

And busy housewives looked with fondest pride 
On culinary triumphs scattered wide. 
The boys had blacked their boots with strenuous care, 
The girls had got new ribbons for their hair, 
And even while the family prayers were said, 
Bright thoughts and fancies flitted through each head. 
To restless couches then they hied away, 
Tomorrow's sun would bring Centennial Day. 

Then Mother Northfield smoothed her apron down, 
Took off her specs and donned her Sunday gown, 
For one who years ago had chose to roam, — 
Had just returned to visit friends and home. 
I, 'neath her window, was eavesdropping then. 
And what I heard shall move my ready pen. 

At first, she led in pleasantry and chat, 

Conversed at ease of this, and then of that. 

Told him of all the younger girls and boys. 

Told him of all their prospects, all their joys, 

Spoke of the cares that filled the passing years. 

Then of the ' ' loved and lost ' ' with many tears. 

And so the talk assumed a serious tone, 

While she, w4th confidence before unknown, 

Drew up her chair and said : ' ' My dearest John, 

Thou truest of my sons and eldest born, 

Tomorrow we keep holiday; and not a trace of care 

Shall draw a furrow on my brow or cast a shadow there. 

I've many things, to you, I fain would tell 

And, since I ask it, guard each secret well ! 

■ I 've had great trials in my day, my son. 
It were a task to tell them every one ! 
My few rough acres brought me little gold. 
Sometimes the heat destroyed, sometimes the cold. 
Sometimes the summer's sky withheld the rain, 
And meager harvests brought us little gain. 
Three times, the heralds wild called us 'To arms!' 
Three times our hearts were filled with dire alarms, 
Three times o'er hearthstones fell the pall of grief, 



136 HISTORY OF NORTHFEELD. 

And but one thought could bring the least relief. 

Like Spartan mother, when her country's cause, 

Her treasured hearthstones, or her sacred laws, 

Called for her heart's blood, or her precious gold, 

The one, nor other, I could ne 'er withhold. 

Our prayers went with them, and in many a fight 

Stayed up the hands that fought for home and right. 

And, when returning with victorious arms, 

With loud acclaim we gave the well- won palms; 

And o'er the memory of our 'fallen brave,' 

Who sleep at home, or in a distant grave, 

We drop our grateful tears like April rain. 

And thank our God they perished not in vain. 

"You scarce remember, 'twas so long ago, 
Ere first my locks could show one trace of snow. 
When in my sixteenth summer it was said : 
'The son of man hath not to lay his head. 
A temple let us build, with outlines fair. 
Finish and furnish it, with loving care; 
Where valiant watchmen, ever on the tower 
Of Zion, to our hearts shall call the hour. 
And tell us of the night; and if the day 
With its bright dawn is near or far away.' 
Today it crumbles; all its former pride. 
Its beauty and its worth, are laid aside. 
Its winding stairways long have missed the feet 
And faces dear, we loved so w^ell to meet, 
And from the shattered sound-board resting high, 
The old-time voices still ate heard to sigh. 

"I dreamed last night; again it seemed to me 
I saw the structure as it used to be; 
From horse-block by the door, dismounting, came 
Full many a lofty sire and lovely dame. 
And children, perched behind by threes or twos, 
Marched in and filled again the ample pews. 
They wore the same quaint garments as of yore, 
With high-heeled shoes that clattered on the floor; 
With powdered wigs the older men were crowned, 
And every lass rejoiced in homespun gown. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 137 

"The old hand-stove in every pew was set, 
On which the toes of all the family met, 
And generous neighbors heaped their fireplace higher 
To furnish them with needed Sunday fire. 
The deacons from their seat 'neath pulpit, now, 
Read for the choir in accents strange and slow 
One line of good Old Hundred; then they sung 
Till every corner of the temple rung; 
Then waited for a second, and again 
Took up anew that ever sweet refrain, 
Till choir and deacons, to their duty true, 
The tune, by turns, had bravely struggled through. 

"The sermon long, and long the pra.yers they said. 
As all with reverence stood and bowed the head; 
Down with a clatter came the seatings, when 
The firm, set lips had reached at last, 'Amen.' 

' ' Thus worshipped sire and son for many a year ; 
Then ties grew weak that bound these brethren dear, 
New creeds and ways the worshippers divide, 
No longer in the pathway, side by side, 
They journeyed to the gates of endless day; 
Some sought the same bright goal in different way. 
For all of this, indeed, I little cared, 
A nice new edifice was then prepared. 
Part of the flock rejoiced in shepherd new, 
And blessings came to pulpit and to pew. 
That new brick church was long my best delight; 
On life's dark sea a trusty beacon light. 

* ' The other went, and so did this at last ; 
And then another came; another passed 
Beyond the river, where our loved ones go. 
Yet full in sight, to mock us in our woe. 
What hurt us most, they did not care to stay, — 
So winning were our neighbors o'er the way, — 
Till not one spire to Heaven points the way, 
To guide my people to the 'Realms of Day.' 



138 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

"And then came Mammon with his purse in hand, 
To buy a railroad through my precious land. 
With oily tongue, he told of dividend, 
Of stock and tariffs, stories without end. 
Said that Dame Fortune, if we scorned her now, 
"Would never come again, with sunnier brow; 
And so to make our fortune in a day, 
We took this sure, this expeditious way. 
We looked in vain for dividends to swell 
Our coffers; and we learned at last full well, 
That stocks are well enough in broker's hands, 
But a poor exchange for houses and for lands. 
But still, dear John, I wore no angry frown, 
'Twas good to have a railroad ^through the town, 
The whistle for the boys was very nice, 
But then we hought it at too dear a price. 

"And then, it grieved my heart full sore 
To miss the stage coach daily from my door. 
With smart, gay horses, and with driver Smart, 
They seemed like friends when we were called to part. 
Besides, the friendly postman called no more, 
But all our letters dropped at Tilton's door. 
And worse than this : those written home of late. 
Have even met with a more cruel fate; 
Back as 'Dead Letters' they are sent each day, 
'No such Post Office in the State,' they say. 

"And Jane and Susan and Mehetabel, 
And all the rest we loved so long and well, 
Say that forbearance is no virtue more, 
And never send a token to my door; 
Scold their old mother for her want of care. 
And make my burden harder still to bear. 

"Then came Squire Franklin; not the sage of old, 
The one who grasped the lightning in his hold. 
But a spruce young fellow, famed for legal lore 
And full of bows and smiles, approached my door; 
'My northwest pasture he would like to buy. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 139 

He hoped his suit I sure would not deny.' 

I quickly told him I could never sell, 

I loved each fruitful acre far too well ; 

That was my broadest and my richest field, 

That, of all else, my fairest harvests yield; 

That long ago I gave it all aAvay 

To children dear, that wished at home to stay; 

That they would ne'er consent to have me sell 

What we had prized together, long and well. 

Alack-the-day ! I know not how 'twas done, 

Each daughter fair, and every mother's son 

Turned from the rising to the setting sun 

And moved off, land and baggage, every one ! 

But still I lived, and still I got along; 

For Hope 'mid blackest woe still sings her song, 

And though for years I greatly was annoyed, 

I learned to bear, what I could not avoid. 

Another trouble followed soon, dear John, 

My heart still burneth w4th a deeper wrong. 

The Seminary ! best of all my joys ! 

The where to educate my girls and boys, 

On which I lotted with a fonder pride, 

Than all my other blessings far beside ! 

When yearly came the noble and the fair, 

I guarded them as with a mother's care. 

And when from out its walls by duty sent 

Forth to the world, on love's best errand bent, 

I almost thought them mine; and when to fame 

Familiar grew full many a cherished name, 

I looked upon each noble word and deed 

As treasures, stored against my hour of need 

Years passed away; and broader grew the walls, 

And more responded to my yearly calls. 

Wise men held council; wisdom, hand in hand 

With God and right, went forth to bless the land; 

Years, happy years, all fleeted far too fast, 

Of sweet security too full to last. 

I little dreamed of such untimely fall. 

Nor could I see the 'writing on the wall.' 

How shall I tell you of that dreadful hour. 



140 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

When beauty yielded to the spoiler's power, 
When ruin, blackness, woe, and bitter tears, 
Fell swiftly o'er the hope and pride of years. 
Oh ! how I prayed, that from the ruin there, 
Another shrine might rise, more grand and fair. 
But ah! dear John, when rose the Phenix fair, 
Its pinions sought to try the upper air. 
With many a flap and flutter sought the skies, 
And perched on yonder hill before my eyes. 

*'The children never call me mother, more. 
Since they departed to that further shore ; 
And the silvery ripple of our beauteous stream 
Has turned to wailing, mocks me in my dream ; 
Like death's -dark river now it rolls between 
Me and the staff on which my age did lean. 
With jealous eye, dear John, I can but look 
On her, who, one by one, my blessings took; 
Some gloomy twilight, I expect to see 
That Tilton ferryman come for ike rest of me. 

"And now of troubles let this be the last, 
We'll close the page and seal anew the past. 
I did not mean to pain you with my fears, 
Nor did I call you home to feast of tears ; 
I gave my blessing when you went away, 
I give another that you come today. 
I know the fruitful acres of the West, 
For those who till them, surely must be best. 
Today from South, and West, and everywhere, 
A thousand benedictions fill the air. 
I'm not a mother of her sons bereft, 
Of true and tried ones, I have many left; 
And when tomorrow's sun shall gild the skies. 
You'll find no tears within your mother's eyes." 

"Good night, dear boy," at length, she smiling said, 
Put out the light, and early went to bed. 
And so we turn from prelude, sad and long, 
And tune the harp for our 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 141 

CENTENNIAL SONG. 

Sing, brothers, sisters, sing exulting lays, 
With restless ardor your thanksgiving raise ; 
Let your rejoicings tell with what good cheer 
We hail the closing of our liundredtli year. 
Sweet Peace her full dominion sways the while, 
Waves her white banner, wears her fairest smile; 
Our well ploughed acres smile with harvest fair, 
The year's best blossoms load the summer air. 
And with familiar visage fresh and sweet. 
Prosperity is pouring treasures at our feet. 
Sing praises then, for gifts that prosper you. 
Sing for our homes, and their defenders true. 
Sing of the happy hours now far away, 
Sing of the century we complete today. 

The great events that filled these circling years, 
To count then e'en, as each in turn appears. 
Would far exceed the little hour I claim. 
I touch, and leave them; whisper but their name. 
In loftier language, easier verse than mine, 
Some readier pen shall tell to future time. 

Fair-browed Invention, though, presents her claim, 
And bids me give to song each honored name, 
As she with pride her children leadeth forth: 
' ' Behold my jewels ! each of priceless worth. ' ' 

First born and noblest, thousand-sinewed Steam, 
Whose vast achievements shame our wildest dream; 
Born of the rushing torrent, and the heat 
Of fierce volcanoes, when in wrath they meet; 
Whose advent to the busy mart of trade 
The world's resources at our feet has laid. 
On land and sea, and down to deepest mine 
We own its might, its power, almost divine. 
Postman and horse we buried long ago. 
The rattling coach became a thing too slow, 
And ere a century dies, we must prepare 
To walk the seas, and navigate the air. 



142 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

The forked Lightning, chained to do our ^Till, 
Speeds through the forest, leaps from hill to hill, 
And round the earth in lines of lustrous light, 
Counts space as nothing, in its magic flight. 
Bright flash a thousand fingers in the field. 
And startled earth her fairest harvests yield; 
No more with sweat of brow we till the plain, 
The wand of Progress turns it all to grain. 
Old "Winter, when the heat the summers bring, 
Slinks into corners, yet he still is king; 
Seated on icebergs, with his gelid cheer 
Dispenses coolness through the livelong year, 
With steam and furnace held in equipoise. 
Adds to our comforts, heightens all our joys. 

But why delay? the hours are passing on; 
And ere we think, our festal day is gone. 
Then let's devote the hours as fast they roll. 
Not all to "feast of reason" but to "flow of soul." 

All are not here, alas ; we know too well, 
Many are gone ; indeed, the numbers tell. 
The sad detainments of each absent heart, 
On festal days, is but a bitter part 
Of the unwritten history of such days ; 
Our guesses ne'er can penetrate the maze. 

What brings us here? why meet we thus today? 
Why come the loved from near and far away? 
Why beat the drums? why hang the banners out? 
Why wake the hills with many an answering shouts 
Why comes the aged leaning on his staff? 
And youth and middle age, with cheer and laugh ? 

To distant firesides came the summons sweet 

To meet once more, where friends and kindred meet ; 

And so today, with open hand and gates, 

Our Mother Northfield at her banquet waits. 

With face as fair and spirits just as gay, 

As when in sunny childhood's happy day 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 143 

Our childish eyes first scanned her genial face, 

Onr childish feet began life's weary race. 

On wings of love she sends a smile today 

To those, the unforgotten, far away. 

May those, who pain and weary suffering bear, 

Find "Balm in Gilead and physician there;" 

And such as pine and sigh in sorest need, 

God 's hand to them the ' ' Bread of Life ' ' shall feed. 

The breezes whisper many a cherished name 
Well known to love, indeed, if not to fame; 
And specter lips, from out the dusty grave. 
Ask of the legacies they dying gave. 
What of the birthright Freedom? prize it yet? 
That sun that rose 'in glory, has it set? 
What of the acres that we loved to till, 
Do sons, or grandsons, occupy them still? 
Hangs the old firelock o'er the mantle yet? 
Has tyrant's blood our trusty blade e'er wet? 
The family Bible old, that graced the stand, 
And bore the marks of many a toil-stained hand, 
Does love's pure light still gild its every page, — 
The guide of youth, the staff of faltering age? 

How crowd the questions; answer ye who dare. 
Whisper your thoughts upon the throbbing air, 
And dare to tell of one, in all this throng. 
Who has not sold some birthright for a song. 
Make new resolves; for these the hour demands, 
And wash in innocence your faithless hands. 

Now childhood, youth, manhood and age. 
Each in your turn my loving thoughts engage ; 
I fain would leave upon each mind and heart, 
Some lasting impress as we sadly part. 
Time passes. Youth should find no hours to weep, 
'T were better far that those be spent in sleep. 
Laugh, shout and drive away the coming cloud. 
Let not the future on your present crowd; 
The coming years may bring you sad surprise, 



l-i4 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

But bar the vision from your childish eyes. 

"Quaff Life's bright nectar from her mountain springs, 

And laugh beneath the rainbow of her wings." 

The launching ship knows naught of storm or gale, 

Knows not the uses of her mast or sail ; 

With glistening cordage and with streamers gay 

We sadly cut the cable, drift away 

To sterner things; to learning's dull routine, 

To days of study, sleepless nights betw^een. 

But learn of nature, she ne'er leads astray; 

Ne'er stop to question where she points the way; 

She has rare treasures for your questioning eye 

In caverns deep and on the mountain high. 

Learn to be thoughtful, then her features stern 

Shall with the glory of her Author burn; 

For through her mantling folds He deigns to show 

The only glimpse we catch of Him below. 

! Manhood strong, perplexed with cares and fears, 

How debt and credit fill your weary years ! 

You buy and sell, yet find the balance small. 

And think, if this, of human life life, is all ! 

Look to the red-leaved tablets of the soul. 

Scan every item, balance then the whole; 

Happy if one entry on the credit side 

Shall balance debtor column, long and wide; 

Yet spite of labor's routine, ever grant 

A tear to pity, and a hand to want. 

And now to those upon whose wrinkled face 

Age sits quiescent in her comely grace. 

Whose silver locks, the marks of well-spent years. 

Tell not of life's great harvest reaped in tears; 

Go o'er the summit bravely, ne'er look back 

To envy those who crowd along the track; 

Nor grieve, that time has brought too soon 

The evening coolness o'er the heat of noon. 

What though your humble graves shall bear no name 

Save what the eternal record shall proclaim, 




LUCIEN HUNT. 



, NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 145 

And tliougli yon mourn with tears your lowly lot, 
And stretch your hands for that which cometh not, 

Know that all beauty, all that wealth e'er gave, 

Ne'er can one heart the final trial save, 

For "paths of glory lead but to the grave." 

In parting, let a mother's blessing fall 
In benediction; '^ Peace he with you all." 

PROP. LUCIAN HUNT. 

(From Portland Board of Trade Journal, June, 1902.) 

(See portrait.) 

About a century since, there stood in the town of Woodbury, in 
northern Vermont, a tall and dense primeval forest of maple and cedar, 
sloping from a lofty ridge on the north for nearly a mile to the boun- 
dary line of Cabot on the south. 

Into this wilderness there emigrated, near the beginning of the 
last century, a mixed colony of old and young from Central New 
Hampshire, numbering, perhaps, 25 or 30 individuals, and among 
them came Anthony C. Hunt and wife, Mary, with their daughter, 
Sarah. 

On the above-mentioned northern ridge there towers an enormous 
perpendicular granite crag, several hundred feet in height. 

A few rods south of this Mr. Hunt raised his humblest of dwellings, 
built of rough logs, with the bark unpeeled and with the cracks and 
crevices stuffed with moss. Uneven stones of various sizes, dug from 
the ground, formed the fireplace and chimney, while the cellar was 
simply an unwalled hole in the ground. 

In this lowly abode the subject of our sketch. Prof. Lucian Hunt, 
was ushered into existence 80 years ago, on the 17th of January, 1822. 

Two or three years thereafter, a substantial framed house, nearby, 
took the place of the log cabin as a dwelling — said log cabin being 
then advanced to the dignity of a barn. 

Here, when about five years old, Lucian commenced his education 
in another log cabin, used as a schoolhouse, and at the same time 
took his primal initiation into the mysteries of his future vocation, 
by a thorough anointing with the oil of birch — in other words, was 
soundly whipped because he obstinately refused to read the alphabet. 

This seems a little amusing from the fact that one of Professor 
Hunt's strong points in after years was the teaching of reading. Few 
excelled him in that department at that time. It is a matter of fre- 
quent occurrence for him, when journeying, to be accosted by middle- 
aged men, his former pupils, with the remark: "Prof., all I ever knew 
about reading I learned from you." 
11 



146 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Prof. E. B. Andrews, former president of Brown University and, 
later, superintendent of schools in Chicago, and now president of a 
Western university, and who was under the instruction of Professor 
Hunt at Powers Institute, Bernardston, Mass., for a year or more, 
said not long since, at a public gathering of the alumni of that insti- 
tution, "I have a pretty extensive acquaintance with academies, high 
schools and colleges, and I can say with justice that I have never 
known one yet where the teaching of reading was carried to such 
perfection as it was in Powers Institute while under the charge of 
Professor Hunt." 

About four years after the framed house went up, his father and 
the family removed to what is now Tilton, in central New Hamp- 
shire. Here Lucian enjoyed much better educational advantages than 
in the thickly-wooded Woodbury country. He read through the Bible 
when eight years of age, made satisfactory progress in English 
branches, and when 15 commenced the study of Latin in the spring 
under the instruction of Rev. Enoch Corser, finished Virgil the follow- 
ing autumn and reviewed it during the evenings of the ensuing winter 
while teaching his first school at the age of 16. 

From this time he became a close student, receiving no pecuniary 
help from any quarter, but paying his way by teaching winters and 
earning what he could summers. One summer he went to Boston and 
drove a milk cart four months. The product of this, with that of his 
winter school, tided over what threatened to be a fearful dearth of 
pocket money, and carried him swimmingly through another year. 
In process of time, he received his degree at Wesleyan University of 
Middletown, Conn., and not long after commenced his life work — that of 
teaching. He was now on a level plane with the world — owing nothing 
and owning nothing — so that whatever he earned beyond his expenses 
was clear gain — no interest to pay, no debts to liquidate. 

His first five winter schools were taught in Northfield — two at Bay 
Hill and three at the Centre old meeting-house. The whole period of 
his teaching covered nearly 40 years. 

After having acquired the blessings of an education, a handsome 
competency and a life vocation. Professor Hunt added to these another 
blessing — a wife — a kind, prudent, benevolent. Christian wife — of one 
of the finest families in Standish, Me,— in short, a helpmeet in every 
sense of the word. 

Several years ago he gave up teaching and retired to a pleasant 
home in the beautiful village of Gorham, Me., where he passes his time 
in reading, writing, correspondence, pursuing certain favorite studies, 
and in rearranging, sifting, examining and introducing rare books into 
his valuable library. 

This is a collection of nearly 3,000 volumes of first-class works of 
standard literature — in the English, Latin, Greek, French and German 
languages, with many rare books which it would be hard to duplicate — 
all in large type, substantial bindings, and which forms, doubtless. 



NORTHFIELD CENTENNIAL. 147 

one of the choicest private libraries in the state. In this the professor 
declares he has enjoyed some of the happiest hours of his life. 

Professor Hunt has been trustee of the New Hampshire Conference 
Seminary, at Tilton, N. H., for 25 or 30 years, also, trustee of McCol- 
lum Institute, at Mont Vernon, N. H.; is trustee of the old Seminary 
and public library in Gorham, Me., and of various other institutions. 

He is a prudent financier, his investments have turned out success- 
fully and he now stands as one of the solid, substantial, moneyed men 
of Gorham. 

It may not be amiss to mention that as a public speaker or lecturer 
he stands deservedly high. When but 16 a grand celebration took 
place at Sanbornton, now Tilton, N. H. The principal event was the 
presentation of a beautiful silk flag to a military company, artistically 
worked by the ladies, who marched, white-robed, in long procession, 
and presented the colors to the soldiers drawn up in martial array. 
To Lucian was assigned the honor of receiving the flag and returning 
thanks in behalf of the company. His speech was published extensively 
in New Hampshire papers. 

He was the orator at the centennial celebration of Northfield, N. H., 
June 19, 1880, where he addressed an assembly of many thousands in 
the open air. His oration and illustrated sketch of his life were pub- 
lished in the Granite Monthly. We omit many other occasions of a 
similar nature, which might be adduced. 



CHAPTER VIII 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 



PHYSICIANS. 

NortMeld seems to have been a natural breeding place for 
doctors. There were two reasons for this. In the Dearborn and 
Hall families the " penchant^ ^ was hereditary; and many others, 
pupils of Dr. Hoyt, the fii'st, or among the first, physicians in 
town, were led to it by their acquaintance through him with the 
medical school at Hanover and the Crosbys, his brothers-in-law, 
there. 

The following list includes only those who were born in North- 
field: 



John Kezar, 1st, 
Richard Molony, 
James Abbott, 
Jonathan Dearborn, 
John Kezar, 2d, 
Hiram B. Tebbetts, 
Jeremiah F. Hall, 
Nancy Oilman, 
Henry Brown, 
Adino B. Hall, 
Sam G. Dearborn, 
Hiram Tebbetts, 2d, 
Samuel Roby Sanborn, 
Luther C. Bean, 
Alfred Gerrish, 
Samuel Curry, 
'John Mack Oilman, 
Nathan Tibbetts, 
Henry Tebbetts, 



Asa George Hoyt, 
George Henry Brown, 
Lafayette Cate, 
Obadiah J. Hall, 
Darius S. Dearborn, 
Thomas Benton Dearborn, 
Orville F. Rogers, 
Frank A. Gile, 
Charles H. Sanborn, 
Charles C. Tebbetts, 
Jonathan Dearborn, Jr.. 
Sjdvester Fellows, 
Enos Alpheus Hoyt, 
Jeremiah Hall, 
Jeremiah H. Lyford, 
Marguerite Dennis, 
Sylvanus Heath, 
Dixi Hoyt. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 149 

SECOND LIST. 

This last contains the names of other physicians who have 
lived or practised but were not born in Northfield : 

Enos Hoyt, Parsons Whidden, 

David M. Trecartin, Mark R. Woodbury, 

Alexander T. Clark, William P. Cross, 

John Clark, T. J. Sweatt, 

Joseph G. Ayers, Charles Kelley, 

Hiram B. Cross, Daniel B. Whittier, 

Charles R. Gould, Tolman, 

Biley Lyford, Freeman, 

Mathew Sanborn, Jr., Webber. 

This list would be incomplete were no mention made of Mother 
Martha True Clough (see Clough gen.), who came from Salis- 
bury, Mass., and had there been known as being possessed of a 
"charmed hand. " She brought with her the seeds for her medic- 
inal garden and some of her herbs are still growing wild on the 
farm. Her salves and bitters were knovfn to be of great value. 

Nancy Forrest Simonds was a midwife and had an extensive 
practice. There were other women who claimed the "gift of 
healing by the lajdng on of hands. ' ' Mrs. Abraham Brown had 
the gift, as did IMrs. Sarah Waldron Rand, a woman celebrated 
for her lovely character and disposition, who, it was said, never 
saw her entire family of 10 children together. 

A good story is told of her readiness in cases of emergency. 
She was a thrifty farmer 's wife and raised large flocks of turkeys. 
One night, to her surprise, but one or two of her large flock came 
home and, going to seek the cause, found a stray one here and 
there staggering along the way, while others reclined at length in 
the ditches by the roadside. An investigation followed and their 
"craws" were found to be bursting full of the meat from oak 
acorns. Not a moment was lost ; every crop was quickly emptied 
and both inside and outside deftly sewed up. The whole brood 
was given a soft, easily digested supper and early put to roost. 
None of them suffered any inconvenience from the surgery and 
were present in good form at the Thanksgiving roll-call. 



150 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

DR. ENOS HOYT. 
(See portrait.) 

Db. Exos Hott was born at Henniker, August 14, 1795, and was the 
youngest of 11 children. He was early trained to habits of self-re- 
liance, which developed a manhood of uncommon strength. 

He read medicine with Dr. Asa Crosby of Gilmanton and married 
his daughter. In 1821 he received the graduating honors of the medi- 
cal department of Dartmouth College. 

He first came to Northfield to attend the funeral of Dr. Clark, opened 
an office at once and succeeded to his practice. It was then the cus- 
tom for young medical students to be with older physicians and Dr. 
Hoyt had under his instruction and in his office 40 young men, who 
received medical degrees and stood well in the profession. 

Mrs. Hoyt (Grace Reed Crosby) was born at Sandwich, September 
29, 1802. They were married, October 24, 1822. She was a sweet-faced, 
social woman and she and her husband were members of the church 
choir. The whole family was a great addition to the social life of the 
town, which clustered about their sweet, cheerful, hospitable home. 

His practice was always large, but it was a lifelong principle with 
him to so arrange as to be in the house of God on the Sabbath and 
at all the regular services of the church, of which he was, more than 
any one else, the founder. The Congregationalists then worshiped 
at the old meeting-house and he lived in the house later occupied by 
John Mooney. It was erected by himself and here he conducted the 
first post office in town in 1835. When the new church was built at 
Sanbornton Bridge in 1838 he, who had been its generous supporter 
for 16 years, furnished more than a third of the funds required and 
took pews to that value. He was afterwards its deacon for a term of 
years. 

Thus he filled up the busy years, being greatly efficient in public 
affairs and serving the town as clerk and superintendent of its schools. 
He represented the town in the Legislatures of 1841 and 1842. He 
was president and secretary of the Center District and State Medical 
societies. 

He not only ministered to diseased bodies, wrote wills and settled 
estates, but woke in many a soul a belief in the resurrection and 
hope of eternal life. He removed from Northfield to Framingham, 
Mass., in 1846, and there he completed 54 years of medical practice. 

At the 50th anniversary of the Tilton and Northfield Church, July 
18, 1872, he, its only living charter member, returned and delivered an 
address which embodied its history for the half century, and with 
characteristic generosity made a donation of $300. 

He died, March 25, 1875, amid the tears of both rich and poor, to 
whom he had given many years of service, often without any or ade- 
quate compensation. The number and variety of the interests he 
managed to crowd into his life are a constant wonder to all who knew 
him. 




ENOS HOYT, M. D. 




HON. JEREMIAH F. HALL. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 151 

DR. JEREMIAH F. HALL. 
(See portrait.) 

Jkkemiah Forrest Hall received his early education at Sanbornton 
and Franklin academies. He graduated from Dartmouth Medical 
School in 1837 at the age of 21 years and settled at Wolfeborough, 
where he practised his profession 24 years. In 1862 he was commis- 
sioned surgeon of the Fifteenth New Hampshire Volunteers and ac- 
companied the regiment to Louisiana. He was obliged to resign the 
next year on account of ill health. May 6, 1863, he was appointed sur- 
geon of the first district of New Hampshire, and went to Portsmouth, 
where he remained until the dissolution of the board, August 1, 1865. 
He remained there and practised his profession until his death. He 
was a member of the State Medical Society and its president in 1872; 
was also a member and president of Carroll County Medical Society, 
and also an honorary member of Strafford County Medical Society. In 
1874 he was elected to the New Hampshire Senate and re-elected in 
1876. For 11 years he was director of the Lake National Bank at 
Wolfeborough and trustee of the Five Cent Savings Bank of the same 
place, and president of the board of trustees of Wolfeborough Academy. 
He was trustee of the Portsmouth Trust & Guarantee Company 11 
years, and was its president at the time of his decease. He served three 
complete terms of four years each as trustee of the New Hampshire 
Asylum for the Insane, and held that office at the time of his death. He 
was also alderman of the City of Portsmouth. He has published several 
valuable medical papers; one on "Hay Fever" (from which he suffered 
many years), which he read at Bethlehem in 1873. He also wrote 
poetry, and read a poem at the semi-annual gathering of the medical 
society (with ladies) at Centre Harbor in 1874. 

The following notice was printed in the Dartmouth Memoranda at 
the time of his death: 

"In the discharge of the duties of the many positions of responsibility 
and trust which Dr. Hall was called upon to fill, he showed rare 
financial and executive ability and the most scrupulous integrity. He 
stood at the head of his profession, and many families in Portsmouth 
will miss his ready skill and inspiring confidence. Although of a ner- 
vous temperament and afflicted for a long time by disease, he main- 
tained to the last the genial and hearty manner that characterized 
his life. He was one of those self-made men, so many of whom New 
Hampshire has delighted to honor as her sons, and whose place, when 
gone, cannot be easily filled." , 

DR. NANCY SMITH OILMAN. 

(See portrait.) 

Mrs. Naxcy Smith Gilma^t was born at Northfield, May 2, 1806. She 
married on her 21st birthday William Gilman of Northfield, who ap- 
peared in the midst of her Monday's washing and convinced her that 



152 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

it was a most suitable time for tlieir prospective marriage. Slie 
promptly arrayed herself in a calico dress and, in less time than it 
takes to write it, became Mrs. William Oilman in 1831. She was a 
natural teacher and had no need of being instructed in normal methods, 
and even while she acted the part of a farmer's wife found time for 
her large class of young children. Her methods were far in advance 
of the times and almost identical with those of the modern kindergar- 
ten. She devoted 20 years to this calling, some of them in Western 
schools of high grades. She then studied medicine at the Boston 
Female Medical College and practised more than 30 years. Her 
natural aptitude as a nurse, combined with her knowledge of medicine, 
called her into the strenuous life of the home during the last years 
of her parents' life and after their decease she performed the same 
tireless service for a sister who came from the West to share her 
ministrations in her home at Lexington, Mass. She was a woman of 
tremendous energy, an uncompromising, whole-souled champion of the 
antislavery cause, a lecturer of great force on social customs and vices, 
a daring advocate of woman's suffrage, and was for many years an 
officer of the New Hampshire State Woman's Suffrage Association, and 
was actively identified with that work in several states. She was 
always on the side of right and justice for all. Her husband nobly 
seconded all her efforts in these directions and they lived to celebrate 
their golden wedding at Lexington, Mass., in 1881. Possessed of a 
strong, brave, vigorous mind, she retained her youthful faculties to an 
unwonted degree. In a little poem, written on her 85th birthday, she 
says : 

"At eighty-five should we repent 

That life with us so far is spent? 

In looking backward does it seem 

We've done enough to tip the beam? 

May sweet faith whisper in our ear 

And say our sun is setting clear." 

Mrs. Oilman died at Roxbury, Mass., May 25, 1894. 

DR. MARK R. WOODBURY. 

Dk. Makk R. Woodbury came to Northfield from Rumney. His wife 
was a daughter of Dr. Burns of that place. None of their four children 
were born here. He was a skillful practitioner and, after a few years, 
returned to his former home. 

He bought the triangular piece of land at the entrance to Bay Street 
and moved to it with many yokes of oxen, the newly-erected home 
of the late Dai'ius Winslow for his residence. He sold it in 1853 to Dr. 
Parsons Whidden, who succeeded to his practice and resided there 
many y^ars. 




NANCY SMITH OILMAN, M. D. 




^n^^'byAEK-'Xcyd^- 



^J)^:^^^^^ 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 



153 



DR. PARSONS WHIDDEN. 

Parsons Whidden was the sixth child of Parsons and Hannah (Doe) 
Whidden. He was born in Canterbury, May 22, 1801; studied medicine 
with Dr. Enos Hoyt of Northfield; took his degree of M. D. at Dart- 
mouth Medical College in 1S3G, and soon after commenced practice 
in Danbury and Alexandria. He next practised in Pembroke. After a 
lew years he moved to Warner, remaining there several years. In 
1853 he returned to Northfield, purchasing the residence of Dr. Mark 
R. Woodbury at the foot of Bay Street, and succeeding to his prac- 
tice. A few months before his death he moved to Chichester, where 
he died, March 29, 18C9. He was deacon of the Northfield and San- 
bornton (now Tilton) Congregational Church many years. He mar- 
ried, January 31, 1832, Mary (Polly) P. Tilton of Sanbornton Bridge, 
who died in Northfield, October 5, 1875, aged ' 72 years, 10 months. 
They had one child, George Parsons Whidden, born July 3, 1845. 




DR. ADINO B. HALL. 

(See portrait.) 

Adixo B. Hall was born in Northfield October 
17, 1819. He was the son of Jeremiah and Han- 
nah Haines Hall and was the youngest of six 
children. He was a descendant, also, of Thomas 
Abbott of Concord, who kept a garrison near the 
present court house, and his father was a faithful 
deacon of the Congregational Church for 40 years. 
Dr. Hall was a pupil of the celebrated Dyer H. 
Sanborn at the "Square" and the "Old Academy." He read medicine 
with Dr. Enos Hoyt and graduated at Dartmouth Medical School. 

He located first at Kingston, but remained there only three years. 
He had won confidence, however, and during his life was often called 
there for critical cases, either in consultation or continuous practice. 
He was the first to allow the use of cold water in typhoid fever and 
gained great reputation and success in its use. He was never afraid 
of anything because it was new. He was also among the first to ad- 
minister ether. In 1852 he went abroad for study and for two years 
followed, in the hospitals at Paris, the most noted doctors and surgeons 
in the world. 

In the fall of 1854 Dr. Hall settled in Boston, where for 40 years 
he lived the active and self-denying life of a physician in full practice. 
He was a born doctor; his uncles, older brother and several cousins 
were doctors, and he was wont in his childish plays to visit imaginary 
patients. He was courageous, had good sense, great kindness of heart, 
a genial presence and unfailing courtesy. It was said that "He was 
a stranger to conceit." He was satisfied to be quietly and continually 
doing good and in receiving in turn the constant love and trust of a 
host of friends. It has been well said that "no one but a physician 



154 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

can know the toil of such a life and perhaps no one else can know 
such a reward." 

During the Civil War Dr. Hall was a volunteer surgeon in McClel- 
lan's army before Richmond, where, in 1S62, he contracted malarial 
fever in the swamps, from which he was never entirely free. He was 
for 25 years a councilor in the Massachusetts Medical Society and an 
active member of the Boston School Board for an equal time. He 
married, in 1864, Mary, eldest daughter of Rev. J. P. Cowles of Ips- 
wich, Mass. 

April 16, 1880, after several cases of severe labor, overheated and 
fasting, he suffered a chill and died of pneumonia five days later. His 
many friends, rich and poor, rallied around him in the most distressing 
anxiety and awaited some word of relief, which never came. He had 
been a generous friend to the poor and they showed their apprecation 
of it by their anxious faces and their tears. This trait of sympa- 
thetic benevolence was an inheritance from his mother, who was 
followed to her last resting place by a crowd of poor women she had 
befriended. 

A beautiful memorial to his memory by his devoted wife keeps both 
their memories green here in the town of his birth and early sojourn. 

DR. SAM G. DEARBORN. 

(See portrait.) 

Among the first settlers of Exeter, over two and a half centuries ago, 
was a family by the name of Dearborn. The descendants of this family 
are now to be found in every county of New Hampshire. Beginning 
at an early date, it is worthy of note that with the Dearborn family 
the practice of medicine has been a favorite occupation. In the last 
century Portsmouth, North Hampton, Seabrook and Nottingham had 
each a physician of marked reputation bearing the name, and today 
several among the abler physicians of the state are of the same descent. 

Sam Gerrish Dearborn, son of Edmund and Sarah Dearborn, was 
born in Northfield, August 10, 1827. His father was an honest, indus- 
trious farmer and his mother attended well to the duties of the house- 
hold. He was educated at the district school, the Sanbornton Academy 
and the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. 

He began the study of medicine with Dr. Woodbury at Sanbornton 
Bridge, in 1847, and graduated from the medical department of Dart- 
mouth College in November, 1849. After a few months' practice at 
East Tilton, in February, 1850, he opened an office at Mont Vernon, 
where he soon began to acquire a reputation as a skillful, safe and sa- 
gacious physician. 

In June, 1853, Dr. Dearborn removed to Milford, where he had al- 
ready gained some practice. For 20 years he had an increasing prac- 
tice, not only in Milford and adjoining towns, but patients frequently 
came from a considerable distance. Nashua being a railroad center. 
Dr. Dearborn removed there in May, 1873. His practice there was. 




SAM G. DEARBORN, M. D. 




OBADIAH J. HALL, M. D. 



profession^Uj men and women. 155 

perhaps, more extensive than that of any other physician in the state. 
A large proportion of his patients came from a distance, Grafton, Belk- 
nap and Coos counties furnishing a large number annually, and this 
the result of no advertising other than that of his successful treat- 
ment. 

During the Rebellion Dr. Dearborn, in 1861, served one year as sur- 
geon of the Eighth Regiment of New Hampshire Volunteers in Louisi- 
ana, and in the summer of 1SG3 he served in the same position for three 
months in the Army of the Potomac. 

In politics he was a Republican, and represented Milford two years 
in the state Legislature. Denominationally, he was associated with the 
Unitarian Church. 

On the 5th of December, 1854, he married Miss Henrietta Starrett of 
Mont Vernon, an educated and accomplished woman. The' two sons of 
this union, Frank A. and Sam S., are prominent practitioners in Nashua. 
The elder, Frank A., was born September 21, 1857, studied medicine at 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York, and graduated in 
1883. 

The younger son, Sam S., was born January 30, 1872, and is a grad- 
uate of Phillips Exeter Academy, Harvard College and the Harvard 
Medical School. 

Dr. Dearborn died May 8, 1903, after a short illness. He leaves one 
sister, Mrs. Jonathan Dearborn of Mt. Sterling, 111. 

DR. O. J. HALL. 
(See portrait.) 

Obadiah Jackson Hall was born at Northfield in 1826 and spent his 
boyhood on the homestead farm. Deciding early to study medicine 
and make its practice his life work, he studied first with his brother, 
Jeremiah, at Wolfeborough, and went, later, to Dartmouth College, 
where he graduated in 1850. 

He located first at Lancaster but, on account of the severity of the 
climate, removed to Wheelersburg, Scioto County, 0., in 1851. Two 
years later, after establishing a good business, he removed to Empire 
Furnace and, later, to Junior Furnace, where he labored nine years 
with little reward except the consciousness of having been true to 
duty. 

In December, 18G1, he took charge of the Thirty-third Regiment,' 
Ohio Volunteer Infantry, in the capacity of surgeon. On account of 
failing health he was obliged to leave his post of duty and return to 
practice. May 7, 1862, he married Mary Elizabeth Boynton of Laconia 
and removed to Portsmouth, O., where he lived and practised almost 
continuously until his last illness. He died May 30, 1868. 

His life, though short in years, was full of deeds that have lived 
in the hearts of those for whom he worked. He united with the church 
In early manhood and always lived in a sincere belief and trust in the 



156 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

teachings of the Master. He had not passed the golden milestone that 
marks the highest point in physical or mental existence, when he lay 
down by the wayside and fell into that dreamless sleep that kisses 
down his eyelids still. 

He was, at his death, vice-president of the Scioto County Medical 
Society and the tribute to his memory and worth before that body 
was heartfelt and touching. "While yet in love with life and rap- 
tured with the world he passed to silence and pathetic dust." 

After his death, Mrs. Hall entered the public schools of Portsmouth, 
and was a faithful and beloved teacher for 16 years. She died Septem- 
ber 1, 1889. They had two daughters. 

Bessie Mary Hall, elder daughter of Dr. O. J. and Mary Boynton 
Hall, was born in southern Ohio, but a short distance from the town 
which has always been her home. 

She was educated in the public schools of Portsmouth and graduated 
as valedictorian of her class. 

After graduation, she went to New Hampshire, remaining for a year 
among the granite hills. While in Manchester she became much in- 
terested in the subject of teaching, a vocation for which she had always 
liad a fondness. Returning there later she entered the training school 
for teachers, where she successfully completed the course of training 
in all classes of the work, from kindergarten to high school. She then 
returned to Ohio and entered the public schools of Portsmouth. She 
remained here for sometime as teacher in the grammar department, but 
not being satisfied with this and looking higher, she obtained leave 
of absence and entered Mt. Holyoke College at South Hadley, Mass., 
taking a special course preparatory to continuing her chosen work as 
teacher of the sciences. The time spent here proved invaluable to her 
and before the close of the second year she was called to the position of 
special teacher in the department of science in the high school from 
which she was graduated. 

She was devoted to her profession, enthusiastic, and thoroughly 
awake to all the best interests of her pupils; possessed in a marked 
degree the power of imparting knowledge; by nature a fine disci- 
plinarian, and of a most genial temperament. Possessing these quali- 
ties and with an ambition to reach the highest, she is a worthy ex- 
ample of those who play such an important part in the development 
of the world's good men and women. She is an earnest Christian and 
identified with the church in many ways, being a member of the First 
Presbyterian Church of Portsmouth and a teacher in its Sabbath 
School. She married, in 1900, Arthur Titus of Portsmouth and has two 
daughters. 

Grace Forrest Hall, younger of the two daughters of Dr. 0. J. Hall, 
spent her childhood in Portsmouth, 0., attending the public schools 
of that city. After being graduated she spent one year at home and 
then visited the East, where she remained one year, becoming ac- 
quainted with her relatives and friends. Her stay proved no less an 




CHARLES R. GOULD, M. D. 




DANIEL BRAINARD WHITTIER, M. D. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 157 

education that that obtained in the schooli-oom and had much to do with 
shaping and developing traits of character and independence which 
have since been prominent in her life. She went, on her return, to 
Willis College of Shorthand at Springfield, O., soon rising to foremost 
rank as an amanuensis and reporter of both journalistic and court 
proceedings. She remained in the college as first assistant teacher 
and reporter. She spends most of her time in Brooklyn, N. Y., and is 
engaged in her chosen profession. 

DR. CHARLES R. GOULD. 
(See portrait.) 

De. Chaeles R. Gothld was born at Antrim, December 28, 1841. He 
was educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Dart- 
mouth Medical School. He married, December 25, 1864, Mary S. Dun- 
bar and had three children. (See Genealogy, p. 154.) Besides an ex- 
tensive practice, he served the town as clerk, superintendent of schools 
and one of the board of education for Union District. His parents re- 
sided in his home and both died there, his father on December 2, 1874, 
and his mother, September 3, 1890. He is a fine musician and taught 
vocal music at the Seminary, as well as being the leader of Gould's 
orchestra. He was likewise leader of the choir of the Methodist 
Church for 14 years. He is surgeon at the Soldiers' Home and a mem- 
ber of the Tilton board of health. After many years' sojourn on Elm 
Street, he removed to School Street, Tilton, whence, after a short stay, 
he removed in 1896 to his newly-erected home on Prospect Street. 

He married (second) Mrs. Kate Russell Emons. He is a member 
of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and past master of St. Omar Chapter, 
Royal Arch Masons, Pythagorean Council of Laconia and Mount Horeb 
Commandery, Knights Templar and Malta, Concord. He is also a mem- 
ber of Harmony Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Tilton, and of the American 
Medical Association and New Hampshire Medical Society. 

DR. DANIEL BRAINARD WHITTIER. 

(See portrait.) 

The Whittier family removed to Northfield when the subject of this 
sketch was a young child. Here his early years were passed, receiving 
his education in the public schools and the New Hampshire Conference 
Seminary. In 1855 he went to Iowa, intending to make a permanent 
home, but returned after two and a half years and commenced the 
study of medicine in the office of W. B. Chamberlain, M. D., Keene. 
In 1859 he attended lectures at Harvard University and in 1861 removed 
to Fitchburg, Mass. During the winter of 1862~'63, he attended medi- 
cal lectures in the New York Homeopathic Medical College, from which 
institution he received a diploma. At the time of the Civil War he 
was anxious to serve his country in the field, but on account of the 
scanty recognition accorded homeopaths, abandoned the idea, render- 
ing service by sending a substitute. October 14, 1858, he was married 



158 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

to Mary Chamberlain and proved a loving husband and father. There 
was one daughter and two sons. 

Despite the prejudice against homeopathy mentioned above, Dr. Whit- 
tier attained great success in his profession through hard work and per- 
sonality singularly fitted for the practice of medicine. He was revered 
and beloved in the medical fraternity, being often sought for consul- 
tation. He was president of both County and State Medical societies, 
a member of the American Institute of Homeopathy, president of the 
Gynecological Society of Massachusetts and served on the board of 
consulting physicians and surgeons of the Westboro Insane Hospital. 
In 1894 he was appointed on the Massachusetts State Board of Regis- 
tration in Medicine for the term of five years. His death occurred 
April 15, 1895. 

He was possessed of no political ambitions, yet was intensely in- 
terested in all municipal and state and national affairs, and ever la- 
bored for the success of every good cause in the city where he resided. 
He was a member of the school committee and indefatigable in tem- 
perance work. There are men now living who owe largely their 
reformation and subsequent success to his timely aid and encourage- 
ment. He was a strong man in the Congregational Church and Sun- 
day School, — loyal, generous and earnest. The respect and confidence 
of the community was his, both as a practitioner and honorable Chris- 
tian gentleman. His benefactions were numberless and many could 
testify to his faithful attendance, unmindful of compensation. A man, 
modest and unassuming, ever the champion of the downtrodden; kind 
and sympathetic to the suffering and weak; a tower of strength in time 
of trouble. His memory is blessed. 

DR. THOMAS BENTON DEARBORN. 

(See portrait.) 

Db. Thomas Benton Dearborn was for 14 years a well-known prac- 
tising physician in Milford. He died at the age of 40 years and six 
months. He was a native of Northfield, a member of the famous fam- 
ily of physicians, being the youngest son of Edmund and Sarah Ger- 
rish Dearborn. He early commenced a classical course of study at the 
Seminary at Tilton. In 1855 he removed to Illinois with his brother 
and joined the preparatory department of the college at Jacksonville. 
He graduated at the State University of Indiana in 1861. While pros- 
ecuting his studies he engaged considerably in teaching and was em- 
ployed as principal of the high schools at Augusta and Carthage, 111. 
He studied medicine with his uncle. Dr. Jonathan Dearborn, at Mt. 
Sterling, 111., and also with his brothers, Drs. S. G. and H. G. Dear- 
born, then at Milford. After attending medical lectures at Burlington, 
Vt, and New York City, he entered the medical department of Dart- 
mouth College, where he graduated in 1864. He soon after associated 
himself in the practice of his profession with his brother in Milford 





^^^^7//^^^^,^ 




--^^^^^^ 





DEftRBORN BROTHERS. 

IHOMS BENIOK. «, D, JESSE JODSON, M, D. HENRY HALE, «. D. EDMUND GERRISH. «. D. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN, 159 

and pursued it with untiring devotion and eminent success until dis- 
abled by illness. His death occurred June 10, 1879. To professional 
skill he united the noble qualities of a true manhood. Those who knew 
him best, knew that in all his relations of life he was honorable, up- 
right and conscientious. 

He was trained in the faith of the old Democratic party, believed in 
its ideas and, though never obtrusive in an expression of his political 
views, he held them unswervingly and conformed his action thereto. 
He won and held a very high rank as physician and surgeon. Gifted 
by nature with keen perception and discriminating and acute in- 
tellect, he had educated himself thoroughly for his profession, and with 
a pressure of business appalling to one of less physical strength and 
application, he kept himself by continuous study fresh in its latest 
methods. He was a member of St. George Commandery, Knights Tem- 
plar, of Nashua, King Solomon Royal Arch Chapter of "Wilton, and 
Benevolent Lodge, No. 7, of Milford. 

On the 25th of September, 1873, he was married to Miss Kate L. 
Hutchinson, only daughter of the late Judson J. Hutchinson of the 
world-renowned Hutchinson family of singers. Their union was 
blessed with four children, all boys, and at the time of his death the 
youngest was but six weeks old and the oldest not five years. Now 
they have grown to manhood and with their mother reside at the 
old home in Milford. The boys have followed in their father's foot- 
steps and are all doctors. The two eldest are settled in Milford and 
are occupying the same rooms as offices that their father used many 
years ago. The two youngest sons are at present internes in hospitals. 
Their group picture appears on another page. They all belong to the 
Masonic fraternity, the four brothers having joined the Milford lodge 
together. They inherit the musical talent of their mother's family and 
for many years bore the name of the "Dearborn Male Quartette." (See 
group.) 

LAWYERS. 

Northfield has given birth to six who have chosen the practice 
of law for their life work, and three others have made their home 
here with office in Tilton Village, 

Hon. Asa P. Gate, Hon. William A. Gile, 

Augustus Clark, Samuel W. Forrest, 

Benjamin A. Rogers, Hon. Lucien B. Clough, 

Oliver L. Cross, Hon. James 0. Lyford. 
Hon. Francis A. Chase, 

Rev. B. A. Rogers afterwards became a c]erg;>^man. (See por- 
trait and sketch in Ministers of Northfield.) 



160 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

HON. A. P. GATE. 
(See portrait.) 

Asa Pipek Gate was born in that part of Sanbornton, which is now 
called Tilton Highlands, June 1, 1813, the son of Simeon and Lydia 
(Durgin) Gate. The Sanbornton town history is in error in saying 
that he was born in Northfield. His parents removed to this town 
when he was a small child. His ancestry can now be given more fully 
than in the volume just mentioned, Asa Piper 7 (Simeon, Jr., 6, Sim- 
eon, Sr., 5, James 4, James 3, Edward 2, James 1) Gate, the first of this 
family being found as a carpenter at Portsmouth in 1657. (See a recent 
pamphlet, "The Gate-Gates Family of New England.") 

The family were of Portsmouth, Greenland and Stratham before 
James 4 came to Sanbornton in 1767. 

The subject of this sketch was brought up in Northfield, attended 
the academies of Sanbornton Bridge, Sanbornton Square and Bos- 
cawen and afterwards read law with Judge George W. Nesmith of 
Franklin, beginning in December, 1834. He was admitted to the bar in 
August, 1838, and at once began practice at Sanbornton Bridge, making 
his home in Northfield for the rest of his life. 

He married, September 2, 1840, Glara, daughter of James and Abagail 
Ladd Proctor of Franklin, a lady of fine presence, of high standards, 
a fine contralto singer and devoted churchwoman. They had two 
children, Clara Morton and Abbie Josephine, wife of Rev. Lucius 
Waterman. The former, born May 30, 1841, was a graduate of Troy 
Female Seminary, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., class of 1862. The latter, Abbie, 
born October 3, 1849, was for years an accomplished teacher on the 
pianoforte. Dr. Waterman is rector of St. Thomas' Episcopal Ghurch 
at Hanover. 

Judge Gate lived a very quiet and simple life, a man wholly without 
self-seeking but crowned with the absolute confidence of the com- 
munity and much sought after for the holding of offices and trusts. 
Thus he was moderator at the town elections for all the years, with 
but two exceptions, from 1838 to 1874, the year of his death, and at 
seven presidential elections, first in 1844, and then consecutively from 
1852 to 1872. He was a representative from Northfield in the state 
Legislatures of 1839, 1840, 1864, 1865, 1866, a member of the state 
Senate in 1844 and 1845, and president of the Senate in the latter 
year. He was Democratic candidate for governor in 1858, 1859 and 
1860; county solicitor of Merrimack Gounty, 1845-'51; judge of pro- 
bate for the same county, 1871-74, resigning a few weeks before his 
death. He was also a railroad commissioner for three years, be- 
ginning from 1849, when railroad men were making their early 
struggles. He served in the state militia, reaching the rank of colonel; 
was a trustee of the New Hampshire Gonference Seminary and secre- 
tary of the board for some years; and president of the Gitizens' Na- 
tional Bank of Tilton from its organization in 1865. He was also one 
of the foremost founders and for years the chief helper of the Episcopal 




JUDGE ASA P. GATE. 




HON. LUCIEN BONAPARTE CLOUGH. 



PROFESSION^y:. MEN AND WOMEN. 161 

Church. His life was cut short by painful disease in his 61st year, the 
date of his death being December 12, 1874. 

Judge Gate was a man singularly respected and beloved. To give 
some little definiteness to this memorial, we add brief extracts from the 
address delivered at his funeral by the Rev. Dr. Herrick: 

"It is no small thing to have had such a life lived among us, so pure 
and blameless and above reproach; so graced with dignity and man- 
liness of character, and withal so Christian." 

"Think how as a lawyer he discouraged unnecessary litigation, and 
honestly set himself to compose differences, and to bring about an 
understanding between disagreeing parties. How he has labored, both 
by precept and example, to set forth peace and godly quietness in 
neighborhoods and families, and among all those with whom he had to 
do, and has his part in the blessing pronounced on the peace-makers!" 

"And finally, are not his deeds still with us, in some of their main 
results, at least? He was a man of deeds rather than of words. If 
he was reserved in speech, so much so as at times to appear reticent, 
yet he thought the more; and his thoughts were fruitful — productive 
seed-plots from which issued well-considered plans for the glory of 
God and the good of others." 

LUCIEN BONAPARTE CLOUGH. 

(See portrait.) 

Hox. LuciEx B. Clough, one of the pioneer citizens of Manchester and 
a highly respected lawyer, died July 28, 1895. He was born in North- 
field, April 17, 1823, a son of Joseph and Mehitable (Chase) Clough. 
His parents moved to Canterbury when he was quite young. He was 
a great-grandson of Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who commanded the first 
military company raised in that town for the Revolutionary War, while 
his father, Hon. Joseph Clough, was a member of the executive council 
in 1848 and 1849. He attended the Canterbury schools, Tilton Sem- 
inary and graduated from Dartmouth College in 1850. He taught 
school in his earlier days and in 1853 settled in Manchester, opening a 
law business which he continued until his death. He was judge of pro- 
bate for Hillsborough County from 1874 to 1876 and served many years 
as a trustee of the city library. 

Judge Clough was a born lawyer and a thorough gentleman of the 
old school. Many of his clients placed important trusts and estates 
in his hands, which were carefully and honestly managed year after 
year. He was exceedingly exact and conscientious in all his dealings. 
His word was as good as his bond. By his own sterling integrity he 
accumulated a handsome property. 

His insight in financial matters was remarkable. His years of ex- 
perience in probate matters made him generally sought after to ad- 
just business in banking and real estate lines. His reliability was 
never questioned; his rare judgment was always to be depended upon. 
He probably wrote more wills, deeds, leases and insurance policies 
12 



162 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

than any other lawyer in the city. He was a director of the Amoskeag 
National Bank and a trustee of the Amoskeag Savings Bank. He was 
clerk of the Manchester Gas Light Company many years and also con- 
ducted a large insurance business. 

Judge Clough was a man of rare literai-y attainment, having a 
strong taste for history. He was devoted to his family, constant in his 
support of the church with which he was identified, loyal to the state 
and city, true to his friends and affable to all. In a thoroughly 
straightforward, honest, manly way he won and held a place among 
the strong men who made Manchester what she was. After nearly 
40 years of well-directed activity, disease struck him down and im- 
posed upon others the duties he had discharged so faithfully and 
well. 

He married Maria Louise Dole at Augusta, Me., November 20, 1856. 
She was born at Alma, Me., January 29, 1834, and was the daughter of 
Albert Gallatin and Rebecca (Ford) Dole. Their children were: 
Rebecca Louise, born at Manchester, December 16, 1863, and Albert 
Lucien, born in the same city, June 24, 1869. The former married 
Sherman Leland Whipple at Manchester, December 27, 1893. He was 
born at New London, March 4, 1862. They have three children: Dor- 
othy, born at Quebec, Canada; Katharyn Carleton, born at Brookline, 
Mass.; and Sherman Leland, Jr., born in the same place. 

Albert Lucien married Sarah Hunt at Manchester, February 28, 1905. 
She was the daughter of Nathan Parker Hunt of that city. 

OLIVER LYFORD CROSS. 

Oliver L. Cross was born at Northfield June 11, 1836. His early 
life was spent on the farm and in his father's extensive lumber mill. 
He attended the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and fitted for 
college at Franklin Academy. He was graduated from Dartmouth in 
1862, having taught winters during his entire college and preparatory 
course. At graduation he had the class honor of delivering the farewell 
address to the president and faculty. In 1862 he was appointed re- 
cruiting agent for Northfield to fill up the town's quota of soldiers 
for the war, a position which he held until the last call was satisfied. 
He read law with Messrs. Pike and Barnard at Franklin and was ad- 
mitted to the New Hampshire bar April 6, 1865, and practised with the 
late Attorney-General Barnard one year. Most of the year 1866 was 
spent in travel in the South and West and, January 1, 1867, he located 
in Montgomery City, Mo., where he practised until 1873. He was 
city attorney from 1867 to 1870; mayor in 1870--'71; director and 
clerk of Masonic Hall Association from 1868 to 1872; and was also 
director and clerk of North Missouri Agricultural and Mechanical 
Association. 

He returned at his father's death to New Hampshire, where he en- 
gaged in farming, insurance and local law practice at Northfield until 
1893. He then removed to Concord. He is a Mason and Knight Tem- 
plar. 




HON. AV. A. GILE. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 163 

He married, November 16, 1866, Lucy R. Hill of Northfield and liad 
two sons and a daughter. (See Cross gen.) Mrs. Cross was a teacher 
for many years previous to her marriage. She graduated from New 
Hampshire Conference Female College in 1860 and had charge, as 
superintendent, of the schools of the town from 1S78 to 1886 and en- 
joys the honor of being chosen to write the history of her native town 
in 1904. (See Hill gen. and frontispiece.) 

COL. WILLIAM A. GILB. 
(See portrait.) 

William Augustus Gile, third son of Alfred A. Gile, was born in 
Northfield on his mother's 32d birthday, June 5, 1843. He was educated 
in the public schools and the nearby academies of Tilton and Frank- 
lin. He was much impressed with the district school system in which 
his father had been active for many yeai's as superintendent and had 
reconstructed at his own expense the Hodgdon schoolhouse at a cost of 
$300 without remuneration, save what his own and other children 
got in the added interest they felt in new surroundings and the in- 
creased love of the Noah Proctor and James N. Forrest style of ora- 
tory. The school was a mile and a half distant, the academy, three, 
and the Seminary, four miles. 

In 1862 he enlisted in the army and, with his younger brother, 
Frank, then but 17 years of age, was with General Banks at Louisiana, 
at the Achafalyer River and swamps. Many of the regiment died of 
disease there and both Mr. Gile and his brother returned in 1863, out 
of health from disease also contracted there. (See Boys in Blue.) 

He re-entered the army in October, 1864, as captain of Company E, 
Eighteenth New Hampshire Regiment. Before their departure for 
the front, his company visited Franklin, where he was presented by 
Judge Nesmith with his sword, who also reviewed the company, which 
Captain Gile commanded until the close of the war. He was assigned 
to the Army of the Potomac under General Meade, being soon de- 
tailed as a member of the general court martial of that division. 

He was with his company at the final assault on Fort Steadman in 
March, 1865, and at the capture of Petersburg by the Union army. 
He was discharged in June, 1865, and in August of the same year went 
to Texas with General Sheridan to expel the French from Mexico, 
which was accomplished without a conflict but with a show of force 
in the encampment of 30,000 black men on the shores of the Rio 
Grande and the gentle suggestion by the then secretary of state, Mr, 
Seward, "that the United States would not look with indifference upon 
the attempt to establish a monarchy upon the borders of this repub- 
lic," and in consequence Marshal Bajaine retired to France with his 
army of French soldiers, containing over 30,000 men. 

Upon the retirement of the French from Mexico, the army, of which 
Captain Gile was an officer, was disbanded and, in the fall of 1867, 
he returned home and entered the office of A. F. Pike and I. N. Blod- 



164 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

gett of Franklin as a student at law. From there, after a year's time, 
during which he attended court at the sessions in Merrimack County, 
he entered Harvard Law School and, after completing his studies, 
entered the profession in 18G9 as co-partner with Hon. "Whiting Gris- 
wold of Greenfield, Mass., where he continued to 'practice until 1871. 
He then went to Worcester and began the practice of law with Charles 
A. Merrill, Esq., his class and roommate at Harvard. From that date 
he has continued to practice his profession there and is called one 
of the ablest jury advocates of the "Worcester bar. 

He was married in 1873 to Clara A. Dewing and had two children: 
William W., now of New York City, and Minnie Helen, wife of Walter 
F. Woods, a lawyer of New York. He married (second), in 1878, 
Mary Greene Waitt and has three children: Alfred D. Gile, a cor- 
poral in the First Heavy Artillery in the Spanish War; Margaret, 
living at home; and Lawrence B., now in Clark College. 

Mr. Gile represented the City of Worcester in the Legislature of the 
commonwealth and was a member of the National Republican Conven- 
tion in 1888, going on the stump for Grant and Harrison. Colonel 
Gile was, also, for five years commander of the Worcester Conti- 
nentals and had, also, during that time the Putnam Phalanx of Hart- 
ford and the Amoskeag Veterans of Manchester. June 17 being the 
annual field day of the three commands, they met as a brigade on 
Bunker Hill day. Their last meeting was at Charlestown, June 17, 1895. 

SAMUEL WARREN FORREST. 
(See portrait.) 

Samuel Waeren Forkest was born July 8, 18G1, on the old farm in 
East Northfield, where his great-grandfather James lived, and where 
his grandfather Samuel and father, James Forrest, were born, lived 
and died. On this farm he spent the years of his early manhood, 
years filled with the toils that make up the farmer's life — the hoeing 
and haying, the ploughing, planting and reaping, which follow each 
other in ceaseless rotation through the changing seasons. A few weeks 
in each year were spent in the little schoolhouse on the corner, known 
as the Rand school, where, aided by a strong love of knowledge for its 
own sake, he mastered the rudiments of learning and laid a good 
foundation for future attainments. He was graduated from Tilton 
Seminary in June, 1884, the orator of his class. In September of that 
year he went West and spent two years of varied experience in Mis- 
souri and Kansas. 

After working for sometime in Kansas City, he pre-empted govern- 
ment land in Ness County, Kansas, built a sod house and lived the re- 
quired length of time on his quarter section. For several months he 
taught school in a sod dugout on the prairie and won the respect of a 
score or two of Western boys and girls. He had some exciting ad- 
ventures herding cattle, riding untrained horses and in encounters 




SAMUEL WARREN FORREST. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 165 

with Still more untrained human beings, and in the summer of 18S6 
gladly returned to the different civilization of the East. 

In January, 1887, he entered Boston University Law School, where 
he accomplished the work of three years in one and one half years, 
graduating in June, 1888, cum laude. He was admitted to practice in 
the highest court of Massachusetts in March, 1889. For four years 
he was with the law firm of Niles & Carr in Lynn and then opened an 
office in Boston, where he has ever since been in active practice. He 
was admitted to practice in the United States Circuit Court in 1894, 
and was appointed out of a dozen applicants master in chancery for 
Middlesex County in 1898, which office he still holds. He now oc- 
cupies a suite of three rooms in the Winthrop building and is busy 
with a constantly increasing practice. 

Mr. Forrest inherits a logical mind from his grandfather, Samuel 
Forrest, whose good judgment was often referred to by his fellow 
townsmen, and a certain legal acumen from his father, who was often 
called upon to give advice or to perform other legal duties. Some of 
the courage and persistency of his ancestors, who braved the difficulties 
and faced the dangers of the wilderness in the old home-seeking days, 
have come down to this son of the house of Forrest and, together with 
an individual determination, which cannot be daunted, and a belief 
that nothing is impossible to him who dares attempt, have helped him 
gain a foothold in the great city, where he is making a name and a 
place for himself in his profession. 

Mr. Forrest is a member of the Highland Club of Melrose, the New 
Hampshire Club, the Essex Bar Association and the Middlesex Bar 
Association. 

He married, October 29, 1890, Susie R. Paul of Boston and has one 
child, Helen Pauline, born May 20, 1893. They have a pleasant home 
at Melrose Highlands. 

CLERGYMEN. 

Many of the students of the New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
inary entered the ministry. Though they spent a long time 
among us, you will have to look in the alumni catalogue of that 
institution for their record. 

Six, who have had their birth in town, became clergymen and 
one, whose parents removed here during his childhood. 

Rev. B. A. Rogers (see subjoined sketch and portrait), Rev. 
John Clough Tebbetts and Rev. Sylvanus Dearborn were Epis- 
copalians. 

Revs. Jeremiah and Charles H. Hannaford, brothers, were 
Methodists. (See genealogies.) 

Revs. Oren Jerome Hancock and Samuel F. Lougee were Bap- 
tists. (See genealogies.) 



166 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

REV. BENJAMIN A. ROGERS. 
(See portrait.) 

Benjaiiix a. Rogers was born at Northfield September 15, 1823. He 
was carefully reared by his mother, who was left with a large farm 
and other interests when the subject of this sketch was but two years 
old. 

He was an apt scholar and his ambitions to become educated were 
carefully cherished by his resolute mother, who always sought the best 
for herself and hers. He was a pupil of Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn at 
the academy and became a teacher when a mere boy. He studied 
law and was admitted to the bar in 1846, beginning the practice of 
law at Gilmanton. 

He married (first) "Viola Rundlett of Sanboi-nton and had two chil- 
dren, both of whom died in infancy. Mrs. Rogers died June 27, 1850. 
He married (second) Addie Rundlett and had a son, Willie Knowles, 
and a daughter, Lucy Viola. The former removed South with his father 
and became a physician. He died in early manhood. The latter died, 
October 6, 1862, in infancy. Mrs. Rogers (second) died August 15, 
1862. He married (third) Jennie Brinsmade, and (fourth) Susan 
Pusey. 

Mr. Rogei's died at Houston Heights, Texas, March 15, 1904. She 
still resides there, as does his only living child, Mrs. Susan Rogers 
Tempest, and his two grandchildren, Susie Elizabeth, aged four, and 
Benjamin Tempest, aged nine years. 

In 1848 Mr. Rogers formed a partnership with the late Hon. Asa 
P. Gate and continued the practice of law until 1860, when, his health 
failing, he removed South, where he took clerical orders and entered 
the ministry of the Protestant Episcopal Ghurch in December, 1863. 
He was a distinguished and brilliant speaker and held important 
rectorships at Downington, Penn., Austin, Waco, Georgetown and 
Houston Heights, Tex. 

TEACHERS. 

JOSEPH GILE. 

Joseph, eldest son of Alfred A. and Lucinda M. Gile, was born at 
Pottsville, Penn., October 14, 1835. He removed to Northfield with his 
parents in 1841. He grew, even when a boy, to be a great lover of books 
and music, a taste he had small opportunities for gratifying. His 
father, an educated man, spared no pains to give his children all avail- 
able opportunities. He had a great desire to learn the languages and 
began the study of Latin at 12 years of age. 

His first academic work was at the Tyler Academy at Franklin and, 
later, at the Seminary at Tilton. He completed his preparatory course 
and entered the freshman class at Dartmouth in March, 1854, six 
months in advance, when 17 years of age. He went at once, on grad- 
uating to Clarence, N. Y., as principal of the high school, with his 




REV. B. A. ROGERS. 




MARY M. GILE. 



PROFESSIONAL MEN AND WOMEN. 167 

sister and several assistants. Two years later he took a similar po- 
sition at Warsaw, N. Y. Here he enjoyed the acquaintance and friend- 
ship of Governor Pattison, a brother of Mrs. Mark Baker of Tilton, 
his father's friend. An incre^e of salary lured him to Huntington, 
L. I., and, later, to Brooklyn, N. Y., and finally placed him at the 
head of the New Haven schools. Here he remained in various ca- 
pacities, as teacher, supervisor and business man, for 20 years. He 
visited European cities to study school methods and school archi- 
tecture. He had a great love of the beautiful and abroad and every- 
where collected works of art and vertu. His last teaching was as 
tutor for the sons of wealthy men who were fitting for special courses 
at Yale. 

He commenced the scientific study of music while at Hanover, but 
had little need of masters, as he inherited from his mother, a lovely 
German lady, a natural aptitude for it and made it a lifelong study 
and pleasure. 

In 1886 he returned to the homestead and continued its improve- 
ment and embellishment until his death. Walls were built, drains 
opened, trees planted, springs enlarged into ponds and water courses 
made lovely by masonry and rustic bridges, and all the various com- 
forts attached to a first-class country estate secured. Here he retired 
in 189G to spend his remaining life with his sisters in the quiet en- 
joyment of well-earned leisure. He died, after a short illness, August 
6, 1898. 

MARY MARGARET GILE. 
(See portrait.) 

Mary Margaret Gile was born at Northfield March 28, 1837,. and 
died at the homestead, unmarried, December 12, 1898. She was edu- 
cated in the common schools of Northfield, Franklin Academy and the 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary, and made teaching her life- 
work, in which she showed remarkable industry. Her worth is noted 
in the following from the Orange (N. J.) Woman's Club records and 
"New Hampshire Women," in both of which associations she took 
great delight: 

"Miss Mary Margaret Gile was well born and happily endowed. 
Family traditions increased this inheritance and her early life among 
the New Hampshire hills made it rich indeed. Her ancestors fought 
in the most noted battles of the Revolution. Her father, the late 
Alfred A. Gile, was a man of fine integrity, who held his children to 
strict account, both for their morals and their manners, while the 
quiet influence of the mother supplemented that of the father. After 
a thorough training in the schools of New Hampshire and Massachu- 
setts, Miss Gile entered upon her lifework as preceptress of the Clarence 
Academy at Clarence, N. Y., where she was associated with her brother, 
Joseph. She next became preceptress of the Warsaw Academy at War- 
saw, N. Y., where she remained nine years. In each of these positions 



168 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

she displayed that skill which has brought her such signal success. 
After short terms at Cleveland, Ohio, and Worcester, Mass., she began 
her work at East Orange, N. J., where she resided with her youngest 
brother. Dr. Francis A. Gile. Many a successful man and woman 
owes to Miss Gile the mental and mora? impetus received in the high 
school of this town. Here she closely identified herself with her sur- 
roundings, being an active member of Christ Church and its Sunday 
School, also of the Daughters of the Revolution, the Woman's Club 
of Orange, and the Auxiliary of the Y. M. C. A. Besides her articles 
for the newspaper and her essays, Miss Gile contributed an article en- 
titled, 'Individual Influence upon our Nation,' to the New Jersey scrap- 
book for the World's Fair. Her paper on the 'History of Education,' 
written for the school of pedagogy of the University of New York, re- 
ceived favorable comment from our best educators. She graduated 
from this university and may truly be considered one of the pi'o- 
gressive women of our time. Her personality was quiet but strong; 
her life, noble, true and effective." 



CHAPTER IX. 

MISCELLANEOUS. 

BURYING GROUNDS. 

Five generations of men and women, who were participants in 
the activities of Northfield, repose peacefully in its bosom, in its 
quiet enclosures. It was the prevailing custom in the early days 
to bury the dead amid the shade of the orchard or on some sunny 
hillside, near the scene of their activities. As the ancestral homes 
passed to the ownership of others, the plan was found to be un- 
wise and many were disinterred and taken to the larger public 
grounds. With the exception of possibly a half dozen places, this 
has been true of Northfield. A sizeable place in nearly every 
school district offers free lots to the surrounding families. Many 
desiring more pretentious beds for their last sleep have been laid 
to rest by the shore of the Winnipiseogee in Park Cemetery, 
Tilton. 

In 1809, Jonathan Clough, Benjamin Whitcher, Abraham 
Simons, Theo. Brown, Nathaniel Gilman, Josiah Ambrose, David 
Mason, Samuel Clough, Joseph Mann, Henrj^ Tebbetts, Jonathan 
Emerson, James Forrest, husbandmen ; Daniel Hills, Francis 
Smith, John Hills, Abraham Brown, Esq., Timothy Hills, gen- 
tlemen; and A. T. Clark, physician, bought of Stephen Chase, 
clothier, 25 square rods of land for a burying ground on the road 
leading from Canterbury to Sanbornton Bridge, said Chase re- 
serving an equal right with any of the said persons. The deed is 
signed by Stephen Chase and witnessed by "William Knowles, un- 
der date of January 17, 1809, the consideration being $5. This 
lot adjoined the one on which the Methodist Church was built 
in 1826 and is still knoAvn as the "Burying yard by the Brick 
Meeting house." It has been twice enlarged towards the west. 

The burial place on Oak Hill was a gift to the neighborhood 
from the French family. There is no expense except the charge 
for opening and closing graves and it is in care of Alpheus 
Keniston. 



170 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The little space surrounded by a stone wall, back of the old 
meeting-house, though, perhaps, never a public burial place, is 
possiblj^ the oldest one in town. The inscriptions on many of the 
stones were illegible 25 years ago. No one has been buried there 
since 1846. The Giles and Gliddens seem to have been the only 
families using it. A stone, marked October 10, 1782, shows the 
resting place of Rufus Gile. Esq. Charles Glidden died August 
11, 1811, and some of his family, including his wife, Alice, who 
died in 1825, aged 77, lie beside him. 

The Hoclgdon yard was on the farm of Joseph Cofran and he 
sold space as desired. It was a quiet, shady spot and a popular 
burial place. Very many of the first settlers lie there. 

The enclosure at the Abbott place, close by the Kezar Hills, 
was given by the Abbotts and Rogers and was kept in repair 
until both families were extinct. There is another on the farm of 
the Giles, in which a few Sawyers and many Cilleys and Giles are 
buried. 

The one at the Knowles place was never a public yard, al- 
though some other families buried their dead there. Further to 
the east are the Calef and Aldrich cemeteries. The Blanchards, 
the early settlers, Lindseys and Perkins, perhaps are buried in the 
Wadleigh orchard. Five graves are still plainly to be seen al- 
though there are no stones or dates. 

Several of the Cross family were buried by the brook on the 
intervale, some of whom have been recently washed out. The 
caskets in which these early settlers took their long rest were 
formed by hewing out a log and placing a similar one above it. 

The Williams yard, as well as the brook, were named by Will- 
iam Williams, who resided nearby. I cannot find any deeds to 
the lots and no one knows when or how it was established or who 
has any charge of it. It is one of the oldest in town. When the 
railroad passed through the toA\Ti, it cut off a part of it, and 
many bodies were moved further back into the enclosure and 
their location forgotten. The Muzzeys, buried there some years 
previous, were removed to an interior location to avoid the 
grading. There is also a yard near the residence of Mr. Gorrell, 
where the Cloughs, Gorrells and some of the Kezars are buried. 
Still farther east are two, called the Aldrich and Calef burying 
grounds. There are also two family yards on Bean Hill, known 
as the Cilley and Evans yards. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 171 

There is no public care of any of these grounds and many of 
them are hopelessly overrun by creeping, crawling forests. 

TILTON AND NORTHFIELD AQUEDUCT COMPANY. 

A charter was granted to an association, called the Tilton and 
Northfield Aqueduct Company by the Legislature of 1887. It was 
approved by Gov. C. H. Sawyer, June 21, 1887. The object 
was to secure pure drinking water for the village of Tilton, and 
Chestnut Pond was the desired supply. The capital stock was 
$18,000 and $9,000 in bonds, of which Hon. C. E. Tilton, J. J. 
and A. J. Pillsbury and Selwin B. Peabody were equal holders. 

A petition to the town of Northfield to lay pipes in the streets 
was considered and a hearing ordered for August 22, which was 
postponed to September 1, 1887. This petition was granted and 
an agreement entered into, whereby the town would use sufficient 
water for troughs, fires and flushing prospective sewers, etc., to 
cover the taxes on the plant for 10 years, Tilton concurring in a 
similar arrangement. 

Mr. S. J. Winslow of Pittsfield contracted to put in the plant 
under the immediate supervision of Messrs. Tilton and Pillsbury, 
and the work was begun at once. A 300-feet dam was built at 
the outlet of Chestnut Pond, sufficiently high to raise the water 
12 or 14 feet. This was done at a cost of $7,000. The water 
from this dam runs unrestrained one mile to a pool and is then 
piped to a reservoir holding 3,000,000 gallons, from which a 
10-inch pipe or main convej^s it across the fields along Bay and 
Ehn Streets to the bridge. It there divides. An eight-inch main 
crosses the river and runs through Main Street, uniting with a 
six-inch main running through Elm Street and over the lower 
bridge to a point of intersection opposite the railroad station, 
requiring in all eight miles of pipe. The descent from the reser- 
voir is 220 feet. The highest pressure is 112 pounds to the square 
inch at Tilton Mills. 

It was later found practicable to add a mountain stream to the 
supply. Accordingly Hilly Brook was piped one and one fourth 
miles to change its course, from which point it flows naturally 
into the pond. The w^ork was completed and water turned on, 
August 24, 1888. In 1904 the eight-inch pipe, bringing the 
water from the pond to the reservoir, was supplemented by a 10- 



172 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

inch cast-iron pipe, having in view an ample and satisfactory 
service. 

Still fnrther plans are now in progress for a greatly increased 
supply from the Forrest Pond in Canterbury, three and a half 
miles distant. It lies south of Bean Hill and is 280 feet higher 
than Chestnut Pond. The aqueduct strikes the Dolloff, or 
Rogers, Brook on its way, which is to be piped Math it. This 
brook, after receiving two or three tributaries in the Skendug- 
gody Meadow, is known as the Kendegeda Brook. 

NORTHFIELD SEWER. 

The selectmen were instructed at the annual meeting, March, 
1902, to construct a sewer if it should be petitioned for, and it 
was exempted from taxation. A petition followed and the work 
was begun the September following, by the Osgood Construction 
Company of Nashua, Arthur W. Dudley of Manchester, civil 
engineer ; 1,325 feet were laid on Park Street : 850 on Elm ; 700 
on Summer ; 900 on Bay ; 1,275 on Park, to Brook and to River ; 
1,150 on Vine Street; 325 on Holmes Avenue; total, 6,525 feet. 
A flush tank w^as placed at the head of every line and all appli- 
ances were Al. The deepest cut was 18 feet, under the railroad; 
the least, seven, with an average of 12 feet across fair ground. 
The entire cost was $6,699.26, all of which w^as borrowed at 3^2 
per cent, from the citizens of the town. Cost for entrance was 
$15 for single, $22 for double, house. 

Sewer No. 2. — The Howard Avenue sewer was laid in the 
autumn of 1903 by the selectmen, E. J. Young, Fred Scribner 
and C. L. True. It was 1,100 feet in length and cost $618.27. 
C. W. Sleeper, surveyor and civil engineer, made the survey. A 
line on Vine Street had been put in the previous year, extending 
from Oak Street to Holmes Avenue. 

PAUPERS AND CRIMIN.VLS. 

The care of the criminal class and the dependent poor of the 
town was a source of annoyance from the start. The third an- 
nual meeting voted to "take the Buzzel family into the cear of 
the town," and it was the custom for at least a dozen years to 
sell the maintenance of the poor at public vendue to the lowest 
bidder; the use of all and everything such a person possessed 
should be a part of the price paid. Very strenuous rules and 



MISCELLANEOUS. 173 

regulations were in force regarding their possessions, be they 
land, clothing, household furniture or daily labor. The town re- 
served the right to furnish medical attendance and in case of 
death, paid funeral charges. 

A single transaction must suffice. "Samuel Dinsmore was 
struck off: to Jacob Heath for $34, to be paid quarterly in produce 
at the Current market price, otherwise he should be paid in 
money at the end of the year, said Dinsmore to be considered in 
health and to be bound by indenture." Often, a dozen or more 
were thus provided for under varying conditions. Often, the 
whole number were kept in a single family and a large amount 
of work was accomplished by them. 

The town poor were thus sold at auction until 1824, when the 
selectmen purchased a farm at East Northfield of Nathaniel Gil- 
man and all were respectably housed there, though to say it was 
a humane movement is to put it too mildly, as the following rules 
and regulations must be implicitly observed by both overseer and 
pauper. 

A "house of correction" with dungeon was attached to it, and 
Josiah Woodbury, Horace Noyes, Simeon Gate, Thomas Chase, 
Benjamin Rogers, Daniel Austin and George Kezar were chosen 
"informers." Judge Peter Wadleigh drew the "Orders and 
Regulations," receiving therefor $3. 

"Section 1. There shall be a house of correction established in 
said town into which shall be committed as the law directs all per- 
sons found in said town of the following description viz. All 
rogues and vagabonds, lewd, idle or disorderly persons; persons 
going about begging, or using any subtle craft jugling or unlaw- 
ful games or plays ; or persons pretending to have knowledge in 
physiognomy or palmistry ; or such as pretend they can tell des- 
tinies or fortunes, or discover by any spells or magic art, where 
lost or stolen goods may be found; common pipers, fidlers, run- 
aways, stubborn children or servants, common drunkards, common 
night walkers, common railers or brawlers, such as neglect their 
calling or employments, mis-spend what they earn, and such as 
do not provide for themselves or for the support of their fam- 
ilies. 

"Section 2. All or any person that shall be adjudged by the 
proper authorities guilty of any of the offences aforesaid and 



174 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

sentenced to the house of correction shall be liable to be called 
up and set to work by the Superintendent of the House of Cor- 
rection at five oclock in the morning and employed until seven 
ocloek in the evening, from the 21st day of March to the 21st day 
of September, and from this date to the 21st day of March fol- 
lowing, called up at six oclock in the morning and employed until 
nine oclock in the evening , . . All males, at an}'- of the 
mechanical arts at farming, or husbandry or any kind of labor 
that males usually work at, and all females ... at spin- 
ning, weaving, knitting, sewing or housework as females usually 
perform unles unable on account of ill health, age or infirmity. ' ' 

There are certain other rules in regard to punishments, impris- 
onment in dungeon, etc., and strict rules governing every duty of 
superintendent, overseers, informers and reformers. These rules 
were modified and changed in 1840 and a new set adopted. 

David Hill, Samuel Dicey, David Brown, Nathan "Wells, Joseph 
Libby, Emanuel Forrest and George S. Tibbetts were some of the 
many superintendents employed for long or short terms. Poor 
people who were unable to pay their taxes were allowed to work 
them out at the poor farm. 

In 1867, on the erection of the new and commodious county 
farm home, pauper settlements were abolished and all the de- 
pendent poor and petty criminals cared for at Boscawen. The 
farm was sold to Benjamin Haines and James N. Forrest in 1866 
and Northfield, at the present time, has no town or county pauper 
and is, with a single exception, the only town in the county so 
fortunate in this respect. We have had no criminal in state 
prison for a long term of years and no licensed saloons. 

In 1875, the expense to the town for paupers was $1,056.56; 
in 1880, it Avas $600 ; in 1900, $135 ; and nothing in 1905. Some 
of these figures were the result of contagious epidemics. 

MERRIMACK COUNTY. 

Before Merrimack County was instituted, Northfield was in 
Hillsborough County and the great distance to the courts and 
court records made a change greatly to be desired. The first effort 
was in the line of establishing a half shire town for Upper Hills- 
borough. Hopkinton was selected and the Legislature met there 
for several years and the governors were inaugurated there. In 
1823, after much debate and delay, Merrimack County was 



MISCELLANEOUS. 175 

formed and Concord constituted the shire town. Judge Peter 
Wadleigh was the foremost man in the town in this matter and 
assisted largely in its establishment. It is the central county and 
is bounded by six of the others. It is 60 miles long from Dan- 
bury to Hooksett and 55 miles wide from Pittsfield to Newbury. 
It contains 505,000 acres. It then had a population of 33,000. 
Northfield had 277 polls, 287 horses, 367 cows, 202 sheep ; money 
on interest and in bank, $4,900; stock in trade, 57,580; mills and 
machinery, $88,900, and real estate, $437,590. This is in strange 
contrast to the count of 1786, probably the first ever made, of 
which the following is a true copy : 

"Northfield Apr. lltii ye:: 1786 
"This to sartify a greeable to an Act Past the 3: ye: 1786 a 
trew a Count of all the Males poles is 75 and the number of 
women and children 274 

William Perkins 1 
75 William Forrest / Selectmen'' 

274 Thomas Chase ) 

Increased, in 1880, to 46,300. Northfield had, in 1823, "1. 
meeting-house, eight school houses, six districts; no tavern; two 
stores ; five saw-mills, two clothing mills ; three carding mills and 
four tanneries." Its population, in 1820, was 1,304 and, in 1880, 
918, a rather uncertain increase. 

In 1833, the New Hampshire Register gives the following: 
"Two meeting-houses; three stores; one tavern; two doctors; no 
lawyer; one cotton factory; six sawmills; two grain mills; two 
fulling mills and two carding mills. Benjamin Ambrose Chase 
was representative to General Court and there were ten Justices 
of the Peace viz Thomas Chase, James Cofran, Benjamin Chase, 
Samuel Forrest, Charles Glidden, Obadiah Hall, Thomas Lyford, 
Jeremiah Smith, Jeremiah Tilton and Peter Wadleigh. " We 
find, for the year 1904, one church, one store, one doctor, no law- 
yer, no minister. 

post offices. 

The first postal facilities were afforded by post riders and, 
a little later, by the stage-drivers. Many old people remember 
when the postage to Boston was 16 cents, and beyond a specified 
distance was even more. 



176 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Dr. Enos Hoyt, soon after his arrival in to^\Ti, caused an office 
to be established at the Center and the letters were sorted while 
the relay horses for the stage were being led out. Bradbury Tib- 
betts served him as clerk. When the doctor moved nearer the 
village the office was retained by John Mooney, who purchased 
his house. It was later kept by Benjamin Brown until the com- 
ing of the cars to Tilton and the discontinuance of stages. 

It was then kept for some years at the store of Isaac Whittier, 
where the Northfield grocery store now stands. There was an- 
other over the river, kept by Archibald Clark for 20 consecutive 
years on the spot where it now is. These were finally united and 
we find John Taylor in charge in 1843, followed by Amos Jones 
in 1846 and Benjamin Colby in 1850. It had heretofore been 
kept in some store in the village. Carlos Clark was chosen in 
1853, the first Northfield resident to hold the office. 

He was followed by a short term with Bradbury INIorrill in 
charge. No other resident of the town held the position until the 
coming of Daniel Emery Hill, whose sketch and portrait are here 
subjoined. The office was moved to its present location during 
his term of service. The name was changed to Tilton post office 
in 1869. 

Major 0. C. Wyatt was the next from Northfield to hold the 
place. At present, Luther H. IMorrill, also from our town, with 
quarters greatly enlarged and improved, leaves nothing to be 
desired in the way of efficiency and promptness. ( See portrait. ) 

NORTHFIELD DEPOT POST OFFICE. 

Merrill M. IMoore was the first holder of this office. He was a 
trader and the mail was kept at his store. AVhen, later, the store 
was burned, the office was moved to the depot and kept by Amos 
M. Cogswell, who was also station agent. A store being built 
later by Leonard Gerrish, he was chosen to fill the office, from 
whom it passed to Charles Henry Ayers. After some years it 
was discontinued, but re-established in 1870 by Sumner A. Dow, 
who conducted it until his removal from town. It was then kept 
by William C. French for 16 years and has recently been dis- 
continued, since the region is now covered by two rural delivery 
routes. 




LUTHER H. MURK II. I.. 




DANIEL EMERY HILL. 



MISCELLANEOUS. 177 

DANIEL E. HILL. 
(See portrait.) 

Daniel Emery Hill, son of John Hill and Mahala Rollins, was born in 
Northfield, September 7, 1833. He came of Revolutionary stock and 
his ancestors were among the first settlers of the town, coming here 
from Salisbury, Mass., in 1780, and settling on Bay Hill. 

On the farm where his father was born Mr. Hill grew to boyhood 
and was educated in the town district schools and at the old academy, 
which then stood on Academy Hill, near the site of the seminary of 
today. 

In the year 1858 Mr. Hill was united in marriage to Mary Otis 
Young, daughter of Thomas J. and Ann Kimball Young, and great 
granddaughter of the Rev. Winthrop Young, for 35 years — from 179G 
to 1831 — pastor of the Free Baptist Church in Canterbury. 

In the ancestral home on Bay Hill the greater part of their married 
life was spent. For a few years Mr. Hill was connected with the bag- 
gage department of the Old Colony Railroad, when they resided in 
Boston. In 1889 Mr. F. B. Shedd of Lowell, Mass., purchased of Mr. 
Hill his estate on Bay Hill, for a summer residence. 

After an interval of four years, during which time Mr. and Mrs. Hill 
made an extended stay in California and claimed residence in Concord, 
they returned to Northfield and purchased of J. G. Davis the residence 
off Summer Street, where Mrs. Hill now lives. 

Mr. Hill passed away October 2, 1899, after a very brief illness, with 
heart disease. He was honored by his fellow-townsmen with many 
positions of public trust. For three terms he served Merrimack 
County as commissioner and for 10 years filled the office of postmaster 
of Northfield and Tilton. As a representative of the Republican party, 
of which he was a staunch supporter, Mr. Hill served his native town 
in the Legislature of 1897. For more than a score of years he was a 
devoted member of the Doric Lodge of Masons. 

ANNEXATION TO, TILTON. 

A "bill" was presented to the New Hampshire Legislature in 
1901 by citizens of Tilton and Northfield, asking that the "town 
of Northfield in the county of Merrimack be and hereby is severed 
from said county and annexed to the town of Tilton and made a 
part of Belknap County." 

Section two provided for all lawsuits then in progress. 

Section three provided for a just division regarding county 
debts; and other "sections," 12 in all, dealt with paupers, selling 
town house, schools and other matters of existing alliances, etc. 

This measure was backed by a petition of 45 legal voters, 10 
of whom were owners of real estate in Northfield and another 
13 



178 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

from the residents of Tilton, containing 93 names. A public 
meeting of the citizens of Northfield was held and the town 
authorized Messrs. 0. C. Wyatt and Frank Shaw, two of its 
selectmen, and a special committee of four, consisting of Albert 
C. Lord, W. S. Hill, Byron Shaw and Clarence "W. "Whicher, to 
vigorously oppose the measure. They were reinforced by a peti- 
tion containing the names of 215 legal voters and representing 
property to the value of $400,000. 

Northfield was asked to give up her name and corporate exist- 
ence and 17,000 acres of territory. Just what the consideration 
was is not given in the bill, unless it was given in article or section 
eight, which reads as follows: "All real and personal property, 
including all debts, uncollected taxes, claims and demands of 
every kind, now owned by and due to the said town of Northfield 
shall become the property of the town of Tilton as constituted by 
this Act but all moneys on hand belonging to said town of North- 
field and all money collected from outstanding claims, and money 
received from the sale of the Northfield town house, should it be 
voted to sell such house, after the payments of debts shall be 
expended in the territory comprising the town of Northfield as 
constituted prior to the passage of this Act towards constructing 
a system of sewers." 

Public meetings were called and private consultations held 
along the byways and highways. Legislative hearings, with 
Messrs. Jewett and Plumer of Laconia and Judge W. B. Fellows 
of Tilton as counsel for the petitioners and Judge Charles F. 
Stone of Laconia, Sargent & Niles of Concord, Hon. E. B. S. San- 
born and Barron Shirley as counsel for defendants, debated the 
case w^ith much warmth and spirit. The committee on towns 
struggled Avith the question week after week and finally submitted 
the bill February 21, 1902, in both majority and minority reports. 

A majority of seven recommended its passage under a new 
draft, which asked for the village portion of the town ouly, which 
contained 67 per cent, of the whole valuation and 16 miles of 
highway, leaving the balance of the town with 64 miles of high- 
way and 33 per cent, of valuation. 

The minority of five, consisting of Messrs. Melvin of Lyme, 
Whiting of Tamworth, Hicks of Colebrook, Jones of New Dur- 
ham and Andrews of Somersworth, in a report covering three 



MISCELLANEOUS. 179 

columns of newspaper print, strenuously opposed the passage of 
the bill in any form. 

After much debate, on February 27, 1902, it was declared inex- 
pedient to legislate by a vote of 275 to 33. The outcome caused 
great rejoicing and many of those who favored the change in the 
outset retracted their position long before the matter reached its 
final issue. 

A grand ratification meeting was held on the evening of jMarch 
7, 1902, and if the enthusiasm shown was any pledge of the love 
of the citizens for their dear old mother town, Northfield has 
reason to be proud of her sons and daughters. That she escaped 
so great a peril adds a keener joy to her Old Home Day festivities. 



CHAPTER X. 

CLIMATIC DISTURBANCES AND CASUALTIES. 

Our town has been wonderfully free from climatic disturbances 
such as have distressed the inhabitants of more favored localities, 
but a few of minor importance I have deemed worthy of notice. 
These will be given without chronological order or rank as to 
importance. 

In 1867 the farm buildings of John G. Brown were destroyed 
by fire, including one horse, several hogs and 17 head of cattle. 
Supposed to be of incendiary origin. 

James Batchelder, living on Coos Brook, is supposed to have 
fallen asleep on the bank while fishing and was drowned. 

January 19, 1876, Taylor & Parker's store, on the site of the 
present Northfield grocery company's store, with George Baker's 
printing office, were bu»ned. 

July 3, 1865, a railroad accident occurred near the Winslow 
crossing, whereby the engine, *'Paugus," and a large number of 
freight cars were completely wrecked and David Ferguson fatally 
scalded. An excursion to The Weirs the next day Avas cancelled, 
as the road w^as impassable. 

In the spring of 1857 a disastrous fire occurred at Northfield 
Depot. The w^ood shed, containing 400 cords of dry w^ood and 
many hundred cords outside, together with wood-sawing machin- 
ery and water tank, were totally destroyed. The fire ran through 
the field and woods for nearly a mile. 

All trains were delayed for 10 hours, the track being twisted 
so it was impassable. 

Two sad cases of drowning occurred among the students of the 
seminary, who were at first allowed sports on the AVinnepesaukee. 
A young man named Tebbetts was drowned at the "steep eddy" 
while bathing, and another named Wilkins was carried over the 



CASUALTIES. 181 

dam near the upper bridge with a boating party. All but one 
were rescued. 

"Tom Roby's train" was derailed near the Forrest crossing 
one intensely hot day, August, 1881 ( ?), by the spreading of the 
rails, and Patch Clifford received injuries from which he never 
fully recovered. 

Samuel T. Holmes' barn was demolished by a cyclone, June 28, 
1879. 

Samuel Sewall's house on Bay Street burned April 26, 1877, 
Doubtless an incendiary fire. 

July, 1852, Stockdale was fatally injured in a prema- 
ture blast in the cut below the village during the construction 
of the Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad. Levi Cross also 
received fatal injuries at the same place. 

Residence of Benjamin Glines struck by lightning, June 17, 
1898, but escaped destruction. It was burned April 28, 1901. 

Nat. Bean was frozen to death during a winter storm. 

Lightning destroyed the farm buildings of Deacon Gardiner 
S. Abbott, June, 1878. 

Alonzo Collins committed suicide by shooting, February 18, 
1886. 

The old tan shed on Elm Street, after having been demolished, 
took fire and was consumed. 

B. F. Cofran's residence was burned the same time. May 27, 
1875. Both caught from a fire across the river. Mr. and Mrs. 
Cofran were absent from home. 

George Mason was accidentally killed by falling from a load 
of wood on Bean Hill in 1870. He was teamster for Joseph Dear- 
born. 

Benjamin Glines' and J. B. Glover's house burned, July, 1879. 

Lightning struck the barn of Warren H. Smith, June, 1878. 

Horace Hicks was instantly killed by being caught in a revolv- 
ing belt in James Earnshaw's mill and horribly mutilated, in 
1863 (?). 

Fifield sat down astride a kitchen chair. His head 

dropped over the sharp ridge and caused his death by strangula- 
tion. He lived in East Northfield, near the Canterbury line. 

The tannery near Carter's mill was burned, January 15, 1876. 

Susan ]\Iaria, daughter of David Hills, was fatally burned by 
her clothing taking fire at an open fireplace, October 14, 1846. 



182 • HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The residence of E. S. Wadleigh was burned, April 22, 1881. 
The frame proved to be of white oak. 

Mrs. Mills of Concord died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. 
Charles Robertson, June, 1879, of hydrophobia. She had been 
bitten 18 months before. 

Miles Cate fell down the cellar stairs and broke his neck. 

Col. James Cofran's house was blown down while in the process 
of erection in 1854. 

]\Iassa H. Morey committed suicide in 1854 by hanging. 

One of the most serious losses to the town by fire was the burn- 
ing of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female Col- 
lege, November 7, 1862, during a storm of sleet. It was doubtless 
the work of an incendiary. The blaze started in the southeast 
corner of the east wing, third story, and progressed very slowly 
in the face of a high gale. The wreckage burned until Decem- 
ber 18. 

The David Hills house at the Center burned May 24, 1885 ; ac- 
cidental. 

"Willie Glines fell 25 feet from a staging on E. S. Wadleigh 's 
house and received but slight injuries, August 5, 1881. 

Thomas Benton Clark was found drowned near the lower high- 
way bridge, August 11, 1872. 

Sarah Cross was drowned while bathing in the Merrimack near 
the Orphans' Home. 

Mary Hall ]\Iorrison, aged two, was drowned in a tan pit in 
1825. 

Elizabeth Nudd was fatally burned from an outdoor fire, April 
11, 1864. 

Willis and Wallis Glines, twin brothers, were both fatally in- 
jured by the ears at nearly the same spot. The former, Decem- 
ber 27, 1899 ; the latter, September 4, 1886. 

The old home of Asa K. Osgood was burned after his death, 
July 25, 1900. 

The buildings on the Brigham place on the main road were 
burned. 

Willis Carroll was killed on the -railroad near the fair grounds, 
August 23, 1904. 

Charles Alonzo Gile was injuted in a carriage accident, Decem- 
ber 18, 1863, and died from its effects. 



CASUALTIES. 183 

The farm bnildings of Charles L. Barnard on Bean Hill were 
totally destroyed by fire, December 13, 1900. 

The Aldrich place was burned. This house was the scene of 
David Smith's death. He fell from the beams of the barn and 
broke his neck. 

Job Glines died alone in a small house opposite the Deacon 
Abbott home; found dead in the cellar. 

Thomas Chase's new house on Arch Hill burned, November, 
1855. 

Mrs. Maud Perry of Tilton killed on the summit while berry- 
ing. Thrown from her carriage, July, 1905. 

Child of John Cilley killed by a rolling stick of timber; away 
from home ; brought home at night. 

The residence of Jeremiah E. Smith on Bay Hill was destroyed 
by fire, June 18, 1904. 

Carlos Clark perished in a winter storm, January 3, 1861, on 
the hill south of the Arch. His body was not found until spring. 

The Beckler House was burned, June 21, 1875. 

Mrs. Mahala Evans was killed, October 17, 1852, by the cars as 
she was rescuing her daughter, a deaf mute, from the same peril, 
close by her door. 

Mrs. Almena Eiley's farm buildings burned with cattle and 
horses, June 5, 1903 ; a total loss. 

Tom Glover lived in the Job Glines house by the Abbott's at 
the foot of Kezar hills. He was found dead at the foot of the 
cellar stairs,- where he had apparently lain a long time. He was 
from Canterbury. 

The "great September gale" occurred the 23d of the month, 
1815. The roof was blown from the three-story house of Jolm 
Moloney, now owned by Miss Mary Foss, and one story was re- 
moved when repairs were made. 

What has always been called the Cold Friday occurred Feb- 
ruary 19, 1810, with the same fearful phenomenon here as else- 
where, though no human lives were lost. Cattle lay down shiv- 
ering in their stalls and were covered with hay, and faces and 
ears were frost-bitten everywhere. 

The 6th of September, 1881, was in Northfield, as elsewhere, 
so dark that lights were needed all day and has passed into his- 
tory as the Yellow Day. 



184 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

September 14, 1882, the residence of Daniel E. Hill was 
wrecked during a wind storm by the fall of an immense elm tree 
standing near it. 

The house of Mrs. 6. B. Lott was injured in a similar manner 
in 1904. 

Orlando Howe 's farm buildings burned in the summer of 1902. 

January 24, 1886, a beautiful rainbow was seen in the west at 
4.30 o'clock p. m. 

The stables of W. F. Daniells and Charles Kendrick at the fair 
grounds were destroyed by fire in 1903. 



CHAPTER XI. 

CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 

NORTHFIELD BRASS BAND. 

Al)out the year 1840 a band was organized in the west part of 
the town ; its purpose was to furnish music for the old-time train- 
ings and musters and to enliven the many gatherings of its mem- 
bers and their friends. Capt. William Plummer Cross, though 
not a musician himself, had charge of the business part of the 
club and was sent to purchase the needed instruments. Benson 
Hazelton, Rufus Manuel, William Plummer and the three Pipers 
made up its membership. They were expected to serenade every 
newly-married couple, near or far away. It existed until its 
members were scattered. We have no date of its dismember- 
ment. 

TILTON AND NORTHFIELD CORNET BAND. 

Ten years later, another band was organized at Sanbornton 
Bridge, under the tutelage of Alonzo Bond of Boston and Henry 
Meizner of Tilton. Solon Hill was leader and it became one of 
the best in the country. This eventually gave place to others, 
but Xorthfield and the contiguous towns seldom lack good talent 
that can be called' together on short notice. Mr. Tilton has 
several times encouraged some ambitious company by the gift of 
instruments and uniforms. There is no organization at the pres- 
ent time. 

FRIENDSHIP GRANGE. 
KATE FORREST. 

AVhen the north fields were cut off from Canterbury and be- 
came an independent township, the grange was a thing unknown. 
Most of the inhabitants of the new town were patrons of the 
ancient occupation of agriculture, but they did not realize their 
claim to ' ' precedence over royal dynasties and titles of nobility, ' ' 
and were content to call themselves simply farmers. 



186 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Xorthfield had reached the respectable age of fourscore years, 
when the order, "Patrons of Husbandry," was instituted in 1867 
and had traveled five years beyond the century milestone when 
the g-range idea was planted within its borders. Once having 
root, hoAvever, the new idea grew rapidly and on the night after 
Christmas in the year 1885 sent out a bud of promise which be- 
came a fruitful branch of the order, Patrons of Husbandry. The 
holiday season of peace and goodwill was a fitting time for the 
organization of a fraternal order, whose name should be called 
"Friendship," and whose work should be performed in "Faith, 
Hope and Charity." 

Friendship Grange started out with these 17 charter members : 
Jason Foss, James N. Forrest, Susan H. Foss, Obe G. Morrison, 
Morrill and Lovina Moore, Clarence W. "Whieher, Fannie J. 
Whicher, Mary W., Belle W. and Clyde A. Gile, Lowell M. and 
Amanda A. French, Joseph J. Prescott, Bertha A. French and 
Hiram H. and Sarah Cross. Of these, only 13 were present on 
that first evening, but if any feeling of superstition existed in 
the mind of any one it was not allowed to interfere with the w^ork 
in hand, and the organization was duly effected. 

Among the officials present on this occasion were Hon. Nahum 
J. Bachelder, then secretary of the State Grange, afterwards its 
master and, later, governor of New Hampshire ; Emri C. Hutchin- 
son of Milford; Alfred Colby of Tilton, and W. D. Tuttle of 
Andover. The first meeting was held in the old brick church, 
otherwise known as the Northfield town house and, since that 
night, as the home of the grange. 

Electricity had not then been introduced into the building and 
a few kerosene lamps and lanterns dimly lighted the large room 
and shone fitfully upon the earnest faces of the few embryo 
patrons gathered there. 

The voice of our future governor rose to the vaulted ceiling 
and mingled with the echoes of fervent exhortations and penny- 
royal hymns which had ascended in the old meeting days from the 
high-backed pews, standing in dark rows on either side of the 
room. Perhaps, the charges given by the future state secretary, 
IMr. Hutchinson, gained impressiveness from these echoes of the 
past and the influence of psalm and sermon may have inspired 
the efficiency with which these officers performed the duties of 
that difficult first year. 



CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 187 

The first master of Friendship Grange was Jason Foss, with 
Lowell M. French as overseer and James N. Forrest, lecturer; 
steward, Hiram H. Cross ; assistant steward, Clyde A. Gile ; chap- 
lain, Obe G. Morrison; treasurer, Clarance W. Whicher; secre- 
tary. Belle W. Gile ; gatekeeper, Morrill Moore ; Pomona, Amanda 
A. French; Flora, Fannie Whicher; and lady assistant steward, 
Lovina A. IMoore. 

George R. Locke was chosen master for the second year and 
Mr. Foss was re-elected for the third. Lowell M. French, Lucien 
F. Batchelder, Edwin D. Forrest, Arthur H. Hills, Ned 
Dearborn, Arthur P. Thomas, Ora G. Ladd, Frank J. Phelps, 
Arthur M. Lord, J. C. Flanders, with Arthur P. Thomas for 1904 
and 1905, have in succession filled the chair. Mrs. Maude W. Gil- 
man has been the only woman to hold the office, in 1899, and dur- 
ing her term of service the grange saw one of its most prosperous 
years. Her associate officers were all women and all, from the 
master down, took great pride in committing to memory the de- 
gree work of the order, which made it much more impressive than 
when read from the ritual. The only prize ever won by this 
grange for excellence in ritualistic work was during that year. 
A degree staff, also composed of ladies, was formed during Mrs. 
Gilman's administration and had the honor of exemplifying the 
third degree at a special meeting of the State Grange held in 
Tilton town hall during the Grange State Fair. 

Eight secretaries, all ladies but one and all residents of North- 
field but three, have handed down to the future the treasured 
records. 

Fifteen have filled the lecturer's chair, all of whom, with a 
single exception, have been or are noAV residents of our town. 
This office is no sinecure. Upon the faithful discharge of its 
duties depends in large measure the reputation and success of 
the grange. Programmes must be arranged to suit the tastes of 
all and to bring out the peculiar talent of the various members. 
Important subjects relating to home life, farm life, social life and 
the many burning questions of the hour must be discussed, essays 
written, declamations learned, grange papers, dramas and songs 
arranged for. If this order, and especially Friendship Grange, 
had done nothing more than help its youth to discover their own 
powers in some of these lines, it need never apologize for its ex- 
istence. 



188 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Its tenth anniversary, December 26, 1895, was an event to be 
remembered, not only for its inward cheer, but its outward gloom, 
the weather not only being unpropitious but unseasonable and 
unreasonable. Rain fell in torrents and the darkness of Erebus 
was as noonday compared with the blackness of the moonless 
night. The two neighboring granges invited were there, how- 
ever, and Hon. Warren F. Daniell of Franklin, John C. Morrison 
of Boscawen and James E. Shepard of New London. The for- 
mer contributed a humorous poem to the occasion and the others, 
addresses. The history of the organization for 10 years was 
given by Lucien F. Batchelder and some wise prophecies uttered 
by Miss Bullock, which have proved her a true prophet by since 
coming true. There was, too, a fine address by Worthy JMaster 
Ned Dearborn. 

August, 1893, the long-needed grange kitchen was completed 
and formally dedicated. Its acquisition was a great delight to 
those who had so patiently endured the discomforts and incon- 
venience of the old serving room. The town concurring and 
assisting, the old seats were replaced by suitable chairs, electric 
lights secured, water put in and a telephone installed. 

The installation of officers has often been made a public service 
and noted members of the State and National Granges have per- 
formed the duty. These occasions have always borne their fruit 
in new applications for membership. The occasional visits of the 
Pomona are seasons of abundant cheer and the return visits no 
less cordial, as sociability is one of the prime features of the order. 

During the 20 years of its life Friendship Grange has enrolled 
on its membership list many scores of names. Jeremiah E. Smith 
was the first candidate initiated and is still a member in good 
and regular standing. Some names are now enrolled as members 
of granges in other towns. 

The pages devoted to the memory of those whose faces are no 
longer seen among us bear many treasured names of those who 
obeyed the Great ]\Iaster of the Universe and have gone to join 
the great company whose work on earth is finished. 

Friendship Grange has passed two decades of existence. It 
has known vicissitudes — membership has fluctuated, interest has 
flagged and revived again with the changing seasons, its j^outhful 
enthusiasm has departed — but through shadow and sunshine it 



CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 189 

has kept to its course, has held its place in the community and 
fulfilled the promise of its beginning. 

"Oh! happy grange, thy joys are pure 
And free from taint of wrong, 
Thy social seasons cheer our hearts 
And make our spirits strong. 

"In Faith and Hope we wend our way 
From out thy sacred hall 
Thy teachings to exemplify 
With charity for all." 

N. H. GRANGE FAIR. 
COL. W. H. STINSON. 

In 1885 the New Hampshire Grange Fair Association was 
formed under the auspices of the Patrons of Husbandry for the 
encouragement of agriculture and its kindred branches of domes- 
tic industry in the state. 

The history of Northfield would be incomplete without mention 
being made of the series of 14 successful fairs held on the Frank- 
lin and Tilton Driving Park grounds ' under its auspices, made 
possible by the marked liberality and interest of the late Charles 
E. Tilton. These grounds, so admirably located, easily accessible 
by team or train, were fitted up with all necessary buildings and 
equipments to meet all the requirements of a first-class fair and 
its use freely donated to the grange organization. The first fair 
Avas held in September, 1886, and was a noted festival and went 
off: with great acclaim. It was a great event, both in exhibit and 
attendance. It was followed by 13 similar events, but the history 
of the first one will suffice. 

The novelty of an unadulterated farmer's fair was far reach- 
ing. Hon. Stilson Hutchins, on opening day, spoke for Mr. Til- 
ton, tendering the furnished grounds to the free use of the fair 
association, to which Col. W. H. Stinson, the president, responded, 
giving expression to the appreciation felt by the association and 
the grange at large for the remarkable evidence of his generosity 
and the interest he had taken in providing such a splendid oppor- 
tunity for the display of practical agriculture. The Manchester 
High School Cadets were present with full ranks during the fair 
and gave added attraction to the event. 



190 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Oil the second day Hon. ]\Ioody Currier, governor of the state, 
with his council and staff, accompanied by United States sen- 
ators, members of Congress, also candidates for governor and a 
large crowd of distinguished men from all the departments of 
the state and representatives of the National Grange with many 
lady guests, graced the exhibition by their presence. Air. and 
]\Irs. Tilton gave a reception and dinner at the Tilton mansion 
to a distinguished company at noon. Following this, under escort 
of the cadets, led by Kublee's Band, the invited guests were 
escorted to the fair grounds, where addresses were given by the 
governor and many others. In the evening the Tilton grounds 
and the charming village were brilliant with illumination; can- 
non boomed, red lights burned and those who witnessed the 
event will never forget its splendor. The displays of cattle, 
horses, sheep, swine, poultry and farm crops were marvels in 
quantity and qualit}^, while in the domestic department the ladies 
covered themselves with well-earned glory. 

The 13 following fairs were conducted with the same care 
and none of the objectionable features of other fairs which con- 
tributed so much to their unpopularity and discontinuance were 
allowed. They continued to be an annual festival, appreciated 
not alone by members of the grange but by agricultural people 
as well, and they acquired a truly enviable reputation. The 
best speakers in the state were often heard on its platform, not 
least among them being Hon. Napoleon Bryant, who was always 
warmly greeted not only for his pleasing speech and practical 
talk, but that he honored the town b}^ choosing one of its accom- 
plished daughters to preside over his home and rear his children. 
]\Iuch credit was also due the state president and his worthy as- 
sistant, who later became our honored governor, Hon. Nahum J. 
Bachelder, both of whom fostered in it the educational element 
and many speakers of national reputation gave eminent counsel 
at its gatherings. 

These were a succession of splendid festivals, well ordered and 
well patronized, the discontinuance of which, in 1900, was greatly 
regretted. Mr. Tilton was, from first to last, its generous pro- 
moter and we gladly give his portrait and sketch a place in con- 
nection with it. ♦ 




CHARLES ELLIOT TILTON. 



CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 191 

HON. CHARLES E. TILTON. 
(See portrait.) 

Mr. Tilton was a great grandson of Deacon Nathaniel, who came 
from Stratham, about 1771, to Sanbornton. His son, Jeremiah, erected 
the first public house on the site of the late Loverin Hotel and was 
Identified with all the improvements of the new country. He was a 
blacksmith and a busy man, as he believed in home manufactures. He 
was a Revolutionary soldier and had 11 children. His son, Samuel, 
married Myra Ames of Canterbury. She is remembered for her lovely 
character and nobility of mind, and her devotion as wife and mother. 

Charles Elliot Tilton, the subject of this sketch, was their youngest 
son, born September 14, 1827. He attended the public schools and at 
15 became a pupil of Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn and was later, for three 
years, at Norwich (Vt.) Military Academy, a discipline fitting him 
well for the strenuous life in store for him during the 30 years of 
intense devotion to business on the Pacific slope. 

He married Louisa Peabody, daughter of Jeremiah and Nancy Carter 
Tilton, January_ 11, 1856. They resided in her father's home until the 
erection of the elegant and spacious home on the heights across the 
river, in 1SC2 and '63. Much of this time he was engaged in extensive 
business elsewhere. Two of their three children were born there. 
(See genealogy, pages 304, 305.) 

He was offered a captain's commission on the breaking out of the 
Mexican War by Colonel Ransom, but declined it, owing to his parents' 
non-consent. 

His older brother, Alfred, had been for sometime a merchant in New 
York City, by whom he was employed for a season. He was not satis- 
fied with his position there, though prospects of promotion were offered 
and, leaving everything behind him, visited many of the West India 
Islands with a view to future business, and prospected the Amazon 
and Orinoco rivers in canoes with Indian guides, a feat then never 
before undertaken by white man. It was while prospecting in South 
America, at Caracas, Maracaybo and Panama, that the news of the dis- 
covery of gold in California reached him and he determined to hasten 
thither, as his travels had not been satisfactorily remunerative. He 
had, however, acquired a valuable knowledge of the Spanish tongue 
and joined a company of gold hunters from Vermont and was thus 
enabled to fill the place of purchaser of supplies from the natives. 

No transportation was to be had to San Francisco and he had not 
sufficient money to purchase a ticket. His brother's reputation in New 
York, however, secured one for him and, after great hardship and ex- 
posure, he arrived in San Francisco. 

Mr. Tilton became identified with many enterprises on the coast and 
frontier and helped open up the Columbia and Willamette rivers to 
navigation and was one of five to develop the Oregon Railway and 
Navigation Company. 



192 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

In ISGO he, with W. S. Ladd, his cousin by marriage and a native of 
Sanbornton Bridge, organized the first banlving-house in Portland, Ore., 
which acquired a national reputation. He retired from this in 1881. 
He was interested in several other banking houses and at the same 
time was engaged in transportation across the plains, furnishing large 
trains for all points and giving his personal attention to all the details. 
Every day was full of adventure, but, in spite of malaria, terrific 
storms and hostile Indians, he accomplished his youthful purpose, 
after which time he devoted his energies to the care of his large prop- 
erty and many interests elsewhere, but with home at Tilton, which 
was named in honor of the Tilton family. 

He made many improvements and his bounty recognized not only 
the needs of the village but the comfort of the whole, as well as their 
pleasure. His many benefactions to the town of Northfield will be 
noticed in detail in their proper place. 

UNION PICNIC ASSOCIATION. 

In the summer of 1875 Mrs. W. C. French and Willie Keniston 
invited a company of neighbors and friends to meet in a beautiful 
shady grove on the bluff east of the railroad station at Northfield 
Depot and there held a very enjoyable social gathering, inter- 
spersed with literary exercises, music and a bountiful collation. 

A place more easily accessible was chosen and another held 
later in the season, at which many were present from all parts 
of the town. A table 130 feet long liberally supplied and con- 
taining, as a ncAvspaper article reported, "90 loaves of frosted 
cake and other things in proportion," was one of the attractive 
features. There was also a brass band and a squadron of horse 
containing 25 saddles, and a rare literary treat. 

An association was then formed and the free use of the grove 
was granted by its owner, William G. Hannaford, and the neces- 
sary seats and stands erected. Their meetings were held there 
for many years in succession. Ministers, doctors, lawyers, gov- 
ernors and congressmen not infrequently occupied the platform 
and the speeches there made would have claimed attention in 
the halls of Congress. Home talent was also encouraged and 
prominence given to the public and Sunday schools. 

The third one held is especially deserving of mention, not only 
for the presence of Gov. Natt Head, but from the fact that 1,000 
plates were filled from a hundred-foot table. Laconia Band was- 
in attendance and was remembered with an enormous cake. 

Sometimes, for variety, basket lunches took the place of public 




CHARLES GLINES. 



CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 193 

tables and, later, the gatherings were discontinued every other 
year. The last one was held in 1896. The Glines reunions on 
Mount Polly took their place in a measure. Yet, Northfield union 
picnics are known far and near and were for 21 years a part of 
the life of the town and as such are deserving a place in her 
history. 

GLINES FAMILY REUNION. 

This family, one of the largest in town, has gathered for 11 
years on ]\Iount Polly, where, with other allied families, they 
have held an annual "feast of reason" and "flow of soul." 

The location, the pine grove as well as its nearness to the rail- 
roads, where trains have always stopped for their accommodation, 
renders it an ideal place for such gatherings, and the yearly col- 
lation is one of its attractive features and it is always eagerly 
looked forward to by the widely scattered families. 

Rev. Jeremiah S. Jewett and Hon. S. S. Jewett of Laconia are 
past presidents of the association and Mrs. J. R. Scales of Concord 
is secretary. The subjoined sketch and portrait of Mr. Charles 
Glines, coming too late for insertion in the family record, are 
gladly accorded a place here. 

CHARLES GLINES. 
(See portrait.) 

Charles Glines, youngest son of Job and Mary Dearborn Glines, was 
born May 24, 1820, on what is known as the Windfall, where he spent 
the early years of his life. He was employed for several years by the 
Boston, Concord & Montreal Railroad as a section hand, but the greater 
part of his life was spent in farming. 

In the spring of 1853 he purchased the Dea. John A. Chamberlain 
farm in Canterbury, to which he removed and upon which he spent the 
remainder of his life. October 12, 1853, he married Mary Ann Morse, 
daughter of Charles and Eunice Lake Morse of Canterbury. To them 
were born six children, the youngest only living to maturity. The 
loss of three children within a month during an epidemic in the spring 
of 1863 was to him a blow from which he never recovered. 

He was gifted with a keen eye for mechanical work and was indus- 
trious during his long life to a remarkable degree. He cared nothing 
for politics or public life, but held the respect of his fellow-townsmen 
for his honesty and uprightness. He took a keen interest in the 
town of his birth and was a constant and interested attendant at the 
Glines reunions on Mount Polly. In politics a Democrat, a member of 
the Free Baptist Church, an honored citizen, he passed away, October 
14 



194 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

20, 1902, and his remains were laid beside those of his wife and children 
in the Williams Cemetery. 

Leroy Arthur, youngest son of Charles and Mary Ann Glines, was 
born August 10, 1867. Married, October 9, 1900, Jessie P. Raymond of 
Boscawen. Their children are: Raymond, born October 3, 1901, Mary 
Eunice, born December 4, 1903. Although not active in politics, Mr. 
Glines has held many positions of trust within the gift of his feliow- 
townsmen. He was elected a deacon of the Congregational Church, of 
which he is a loyal member, in 1898, and he held the office continuously 
until the present (1905). He was secretary and treasurer of the Can- 
terbury and Boscawen Telephone Company from its beginning in 1896 
until the present year. At present he is engaged in the lumber business 
in addition to farming. 

BOARD OF HE.VLTH. 

Northfield established a board of health in 1886. Its duties 
are the same as those of similar organizations elsewhere, being 
defined by statute. Each branch is a part of the state board and 
amenable to it. At first the members were chosen by the citizens 
in annual meeting; later, in 1898, by a change in the law, they 
were appointed by the selectmen, one being appointed each year 
for a three years' term. The present members are J. E. Smith, 
George Morrison, with John Senter as chairman. He is com- 
pleting his tenth year of service. 

woman's club. 

Mrs. Croly, "Jenny June," debarred from the Press Club 
in New York City, when Charles Dickens was entertained by 
them, said, "Let the women have a club," and so the first one 
sprang into existence. Its declaration of principles was the occa- 
sion of sneers and abusive criticism and failure to obtain either 
sympathy or pity. Thus came "Sorosis" and, later, the "North- 
field and Tilton Woman's Club." If that was the beginning, 
this is not the end. A movement with such leaders as Julia Ward 
Howe, Mary A. Livermore, Elizabeth Peabody and Louisa Alcott 
could not long be unpopular. 

The first clubs had generally for their object the raising of 
funds for benevolent purposes and Merrimack County claims to 
have the earliest in America for any object, the "Female Cent 
Union, ' ' originated by Mrs. ]\IeFarland in Concord. It has now 
passed its centennary, has grown from a five-dollars income in 
1805 to $4,000 yearly. 



CLUBS AND SOCIETIES. 195 

When the war broke out Soldiers' Aid Societies and Christian 
Commissions developed a great power for good in many ways, so 
when there was no longer need of service in war, the energy devel- 
oped sought other fields of labor and other objects and the present 
century has come to be called the ' ' Woman 's Age, ' ' for the reason 
that she has come to the front as never before in the annals of 
history. A practical writer has said: "There have been notable 
women in all ages, women who have ruled empires and exerted a 
powerful influence on government; women who have led armies; 
or have stood high in literature, art and philanthropy, but it has 
been accomplished more by individual efi:ort than by the effort 
of many." A writer in the Chautauqua said: "America has 
reason to be proud of her women, and in every walk of life, in 
every human pursuit, in literature, science and art, in society, on 
the stage, in every field of human endeavor, American women 
have shown themselves the peers of American men." 

The Tilton and Northfield Woman's Club was organized No- 
vember 16, 1895, and is consequently 10 years of age. Of its 
33 charter members, 15 were residents of Northfield and thus its 
right to a place in her annals is assured. Its object was to estab- 
lish a social center for united thought and action and at the 
same time to investigate and discuss the many questions not only 
pertaining to the club but the whole community and the world 
at large. It swung into line with Mrs. Frances S. Spencer as 
president; Mrs. Mary E. Boynton as vice-president; Miss Lizzie 
M. Page as secretary ; Mrs. Sophia T. Rogers, treasurer, and Mrs. 
Kate C. Hill as auditor. The board of directors consisted of 
Mrs. Georgia L. Young, Mrs. M. D. R. Baker and Mary M. 
Emery. 

Its papers for the first year were all given by home talent and 
covered a wide range of subjects and were very meritorious. 
The social idea was made prominent and many happy occasions 
enjoyed. With increase of membership, outside talent was avail- 
able and the interest greatly increased. The executive committee 
arranged the programmes and sub-committees had charge of the 
meetings, thus bringing many into its working force. 

Its musicales have been appreciated and home talent generally 
encouraged, while "gentleman's night," with its added attraction 
of dainty costumes and toothsome lunches, has ever been loolced 



196 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

forward to by the younger members as their own especial occa- 
sion, and in spite of all this our mothers and sisters still continue 
to bake and wash, and nowhere will be found more shining ex- 
amples of domesticity. 

j\Irs. Alice Freese Durgin (recently deceased), Mrs. Kate C. 
Hill, Mrs. Ellen Crockett, Mrs. Georgia L. Young, Mrs. Hannah 
S. Philbrook, Miss Georgia Page, and Miss Lela G. Durgin have 
filled its chair with honor and profit to the club. As to results, 
it is acknowledged to have broken down many of the old walls 
of church and class prejudice and been the occasion of pleasant 
and profitable friendships, and is one of the agencies which is 
bringing in "the kingdom." 




CO 



CO 



CHAPTER XII. 

ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 

THE ISLxVND. 

One of the most pleasing ornaments of our town is the little 
island in the Winnepesaukee Eiver at the east of Main Street. 
It was at first of small size. In 1847 Solomon McNeil Wilson, 
relative of the Ingalls brothers, artists at Sanbornton Square, 
seeing possibilities in the location for a studio, engaged Warren 
H. Smith, who was then constructing the railroad through the 
deep cut in the village, to construct a temporary bridge or way 
across the river and deposit their superfluous grade there to the 
value of $50. This was done; but Mr. Wilson had then made 
other plans and, receiving no compensation, jMr. Smith took the 
land wliich he sold later to Jeremith Tilton. When it became, 
with the mill, the property of James Bailey, he constructed a 
cable bridge to it from the east shore and used it as a drying 
place for his cloth and, later, as a vegetable garden. When the 
canal to this mill was widened and deepened the superfluous soil 
was added to it and, later, a similar enlargement added still 
more to its size. 

Mr. Bailey sold it in 1865 to Hon. C. E. Tilton, who at first 
erected a w^ooden bridge, to be followed later by the present iron 
one. A bank wall was constructed around it, the surface raised 
and a fine summer house erected and other attractive features 
added. It has not only been a thing of beauty but a joy forever 
to those who have found a real place of rest in its coolness and 
shade. It is wholly within the limits of Northfield. The design 
for the summer house was taken from one at the Vienna Exposi- 
tion, plans being drawn on the spot while the "Bee Hive" on the 
top is d la Brigham Young. 



198 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

MEMORIAL ARCH. 
(See picture.) 

Tilton IMemorial Arch is a copy of the one erected in ancient 
Kome in the year 79 in honor of the Emperor Titns and is one 
of three similar structures leading from the Palatine Hill to 
the Coliseum at the foot of the hill. It was erected after his 
death to commemorate his conquest of Judea. Its ornamentation 
represents his victorious return and the spoils he brought are 
represented on it. 

Our arch is located on an eminence 150 feet above the river 
and commands a varied and extensive view. It is of hewn Con- 
cord granite, 55 feet high and 40 feet wide. Between the col- 
umns of the arch is a device in Scotch granite bearing up a Nu- 
midian lion, the pedestal and figure weighing 50 tons, which 
bears this inscription : 

Tilton 1883 

On each end of the keystone is also this inscription : 

"Memorial Arch of Tilton 1882" 

It was erected as a tribute to the memory of the Tilton family 
by their appreciative descendant, Hon. Charles E. Tilton. It 
stands in the midst of well-kept grounds, directly facing his late 
home across the river, and comprises a dozen acres and is illu- 
minated by four gas lamps of elaborate design. It is not only a 
constant joy to those living near it but it is visited by large num- 
bers of people from all parts of the country. The foundation 
extends 16 feet below the surface and is of the most perfect 
construction. The plan was made by the late Edward Dow of 
Concord and Leonard Conant had charge of the construction, 
with Daniel Donovan of Concord as expert stone-worker. 

old home day, 1901. 
(See group picture.) 

Northfield celebrated its first Old Home Day, Wednesday, 
August 21, 1901. The event had been anticipated and funds 
appropriated at its annual meeting. Circulars of invitation had 
been sent out bearing the following invitation : 

"The Northfield, N. H., Old Home Week Committee cordially 
invite you to unite with them in the observance of 




p 

o 

I— I 

o 




w 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 199 

Old Home Week, 

August 17 to August 24, 1901, 

and especially to be present at the public exercises in the Con- 
gregational Church (1794) at the fair grounds on Northfield Old 
Home Day, Wednesday, August 21. 

"Very respectfully, 

"Miss Kate Forrest, 
"Mrs. Carrie B. Morrison, 
"J. E. Smith, 
"0. C. Wyatt, 
"Frank French, 
"E. J. Young.'' 

One saw the sure promise of abundant success in names of 
those chosen to arrange the exercises of the day and the event 
more than fulfilled the promise. 

The response to this was gratifying and the presence of so 
many gave great satisfaction to those who had the matter in 
charge. 

The newspaper reporter said of the occasion : 

All roads led to the fair grounds on that day, and all the 
morning trains brought new visitors to swell the large number 
already shaking hands and recalling old times together. 

At half past ten the greater part of those present repaired to 
the old church, where the literary exercises were to take place. 
Here in this venerable structure, which has witnessed the chang- 
ing scenes of more than a century, w^ere gathered some who had 
seen it in its prime and worshipped beneath its roof; others to 
whom it was a new and novel sight, still others M'ho remembered 
it as the neglected and decaying structure where town meetings 
were held, and where the winds of winter held carnival. On this 
day, restored to something of its former glory, brightly decorated 
with streamers of red, white and blue, filled with happy faces, 
the old church looked as if it had found itself again and seemed 
entirely in keeping with the occasion. Above the ancient pulpit 
the face of the honored ex-Governor, Frank West Rollins, looked 
down benignly upon the people whom his happy thought had 
caused to assemble there. Decorations of golden-rod added to the 
brightness and beauty of the scene. When the president of the 
day called to order, he said that he disliked to break in upon the 



200 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

sociability of the occasion, but a long programme had been pre- 
pared, for which there was too little time. After a few appro- 
priate remarks, he announced as the first number a song by the 
Shaker ladies' quartette of Canterbury. The sweet-voiced sisters - 
rendered the "Old Oaken Bucket" and nothing could have been 
more timely. The Rev. C. C. Sampson was then called upon to 
offer prayer. He stood in the high pulpit and once more the old 
sounding-board echoed w^ords of devotion. 

Letters were read from Gov. Chester B. Jordan; Hon. Napo- 
leon B. Bryant, who was unable to be present on account of the 
celebration at Andover the same day; and from the Rev. B. A. 
Rogers of Houston, Tex., a son of Northfield, who sent a letter 
of interesting reminiscences in response to his invitation. Next 
came a solo by Mrs. Emma Carleton Parker of Franklin, whose 
mother sang in the choir of that very church in the years gone by. 
Mrs. Parker's song, "Home Again," was very appropriate and 
touching. 

The pavilion with its long tables, adorned with flowers, loaded 
with viands, and waited upon by a corps of ready and efficient 
attendants was the place toward which all turned during the in- 
termission, and here fully 300 people were entertained in a man- 
ner which appeared to be entirely satisfactory. If ' ' chatted food 
is half digested food," then this should not have been a dyspeptic- 
making occasion. The social spirit of the day was so fully in the 
ascendancy at this time that it was hard for the people to stop 
talking, and it was nearly two o'clock when the president again 
called to order. The church was thronged at this session and 
many were unable to gain entrance. Probably 600 people lis- 
tened to a part of the exercises and it is not too great an estimate 
to say that very nearly 1,000 people were on the grounds during 
the afternoon. A solo by Mrs. Alida Cogswell True very charm- 
ingly opened the programme, after which Prof. Craven Laycock of 
Dartmouth College was introduced as an adopted son of North- 
field (a son-in-law would, perhaps, be more appropriate), and 
spoke for a few minutes wittily and eloquently upon subjects 
near to every heart. Another selection by the Shakers was 
followed by the speaker of the day. Col. William A. Gile of Wor- 
cester, Mass., whose address was all it was expected to be — elo- 
quent, reminiscent, inspiring. Colonel Gile, who is one of the 
legal lights of his adopted state, was born in that part of North- 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 201 

field afterwards taken possession of by Franklin. He spoke of 
having cast his vote for town officers in the place where he was 
then speaking, and recalled some of the old town-meeting-day 
scenes. He drew a vivid picture of the district school of the olden 
time, as he experienced it in the Hodgdon district under the 
tuition of James N. Forrest. A eulogy upon the present govern- 
ment of the United States and some amusing stories composed 
part of this address, which we would gladly give in full did space 
permit. Mrs. Parker's sweet voice was heard again at this point, 
after which Hon. James 0. Lyford was called upon. He re- 
sponded in his usual happy manner and kept his audience pleased 
for 15 or 20 minutes. A violin solo by Mr. Bryant came next, 
and then Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross, Northfield's "poet-historian," 
was introduced. She mounted the pulpit stairs and stood where 
no woman would have been allowed to stand and speak 100 years 
ago. She read an original poem, descriptive of the old church in 
its palmy days, and then spoke for several minutes upon the sub- 
ject of home and its association. Quotations from the poets and 
original verses made her address beautiful and appropriate. Dr. 
Dearborn of Nashua, an aged man, spoke briefly. The exercises 
were fittingly closed with a selection by the Shaker quartette, 
"Tenting Tonight," which w^as encored. The company then 
separated with many expressions of satisfaction over the success 
of the day and the pleasure which it had afforded them, and on 
every side was heard the remark that Old Home Day would cer- 
tainly be repeated next year. 

The Tilton Cornet Band furnished music on the grounds. 

OLD HOME DAY. 190.5. 

Although the first Old Home Day in 1901 left nothing to be 
desired by way of attendance, cordiality or literary feast, the an- 
ticipated gathering in 1905 had a deeper significance, since it was 
to be in part a celebration. of the one hundred and twenty-fifth 
anniversary, postponed from the date of its organization, June 
17. The same loving and unanimous interest prevailed as on 
the former occasion, and the forces, under the leadership of 
Mrs. Ella Nelson, chairman of the woman's board, and Miss 
Mary E. Foss, secretary, with their able assistants, left nothing 
undone in the line of culinary triumphs and literary feast. Let 
it here be said that Northfield women are never found wanting 



202 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

when occasion calls. IMajor Wyatt, as presiding- officer of the 
day, and Messrs. Shaw, Hills, Chase, French and Robertson were 
eqnal to all other requirements, and the day — August 24 — arrived 
with no doubts and passed, leaving no regrets. 

The old church had been made beautiful with bunting and , 
flowers and the day was all that could be wished. It was hard to 
call the chatting crowd to silence for the well-arranged pro- 
gramme, much of which is herewith given. 

The Cecilia Quartette of Franklin ; the soloists, old and young ; 
with Kempl's Orchestra left nothing to be desired in the musical 
line. The short and graceful address of Col. Thomas Dearborn 
of Dover was well received. Mr. Dearborn has never before ad- 
dressed the gatherings of his native town. He took for his theme 
' ' Home, ' ' the foundation of all society, and ' ' neighborhood, ' ' the 
real center around which the world revolves. His thoughts were 
reminiscent and his words graceful and forceful. He made a 
happy allusion to the sentiment on the tombstone of one of New 
Hampshire 's most brilliant men, one wdio had raised himself from 
obscurity to be one of the leading jurists of the day, viz.: "The 
true touch-stone of civil liberty is not that all men are equal, but 
rather that every man may become the equal of any man if he 
can." Were we born equal, there would be no incentive. We 
must struggle to be equal and then for supremacy. The fact 
that one has fought to excel is sure to bring out what is best, and 
this is what the world calls success in life. He closed with the 
following sentiment : ' ' ]\ray the rising generation, to whom the 
future affairs of this old town will ere long be entrusted, ever 
maintain her honor and protect her boundary lines. ' ' 

Mrs. Nellie Oliver Shaw gave a semi-humorous paper, in which 
she addressed herself to the returning sons and daughters in the 
following graceful words : 

What a numerous family is gathered in response to Mother 
Northfield's invitation to celebrate her birthday; sons and 
daughters, sons-in-law and daughters-in-law, step-sons and daugh- 
ters and children by adoption ; also, the usual number of grand- 
children, all gathered with union of sentiment, resolved to make 
this a gala day which will linger in memory as one of the happiest 
occasions in our lifetime. It needed no beacon lights on the hills 
to guide the children home, though their appearance indicated 
good cheer and a hearty welcome to all. As we turned the key 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIV.U.S. 203 

in the door of our homes today, we fastened life 's cares all inside 
and came in the spirit of a troop of happy children, invited out 
for a play-day. 

Hands will be clasped today which have been severed for years 
and, as old friends meet, their thoughts instinctively fly to the 
home of childhood which, in many instances, has greatly changed 
in the passing years, yet the mental vision sees it the same as in 
the sweet long ago. In their hearts it is a spot where the sun- 
shine was brighter, the well-water cooler and the birds' carol 
sweeter than elsewhere. * * * 

If to bear life's burdens cheerfully, discharge its duties faith- 
fully, to be contented in the sphere in which the higher power 
has placed them, never beating against the bars, is to be great, 
this town has produced some noble women. The diploma with 
the seal of some famous institution transfixed is to be prized, 
certainly, as it certifies to the fidelity with which its owner has 
pursued a certain course of study, but it is of less value than the 
document, angel-recorded, which an illiterate w^oman sometimes 
earns, and on which our Lord has written, ' ' She hath done what 
she could." 

One hundred and twenty-five years old ! By no stretch of im- 
agination can we picture Northfield in its baby existence. The 
struggles to maintain the right of a township are all unknown to 
us, yet we appreciate all that our ancestors did to make this toT\Ti 
a desirable location for a home, and that it has many attractions 
is evident from the fact that other towns have petitioned for some 
of her fair lands and on several occasions she has responded with 
generosity. 

"While we would not give a melancholy shade to this happy day, 
it is prop^' to give a few thoughts to the loved friend* so recently 
called to rest ; also to those who once made sunshine in the homes 
of our childhood. On the bright shore of the Eternal River they 
wait for us and today we may wander, perhaps, to that Silent 
City where their hallowed dust reposes, as thus we muse : ' ' Oh, 
City of Rested Hearts and Folded Hands! Over against your 
walls no cares shall gather like an army with lances all unsheathed 
— for you no broken dreams, no vain regrets. Your inhabitants 
shall never say the day is long and I am weary, or the road is 

* Kate Hills. 



204 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

rough and my courage far spent, but in every sense their repose 
is true rest." 

i\Ir. Samuel Warren Forrest, one of Northfield 's returning sons, 
now master in chancery in Massachusetts, spoke on "Grit," not 
only of the sort which filled his shoes as he guided the plow be- 
tween the rocks on the home farm in East Northfield, but the 
grit, the intentness of purpose, which everybody must have to 
amount to anything in these days of fierce competition and stren- 
uous life. 

After a reminiscent speech by Hon. W. A. Gile of Worcester, 
IVIass., who was the orator of the day in 1901, and a timely paper 
from Prof. Lucian Hunt, came the eloquent address of Hon. 
James 0. Lyford, an able son of our mother Canterbury, who 
has on several previous festal occasions entertained and in- 
structed us. Mr. Lyford was for some years a factor in the 
business life of Northfield and always practically interested in 
her welfare. He has generously given it entire for publication 
and I earnestly commend its noble sentiments to the careful con- 
sideration of the boys and business men of the future. 

ADDRESS OF HON. JAMES O. LYFORD. 

Fellow Citizens of Northfield: 

I desire to express to you my deep appreciation, of your invi- 
tation to deliver the address at this anniversary. I can but regard 
it as the survival of that friendly interest so often shown to me 
by the people of Northfield in days that are past. It is now 
nearly a quarter of a century since I had neighborly association 
with the citizens of this town. At the time of my residence in this 
community, I could call by name most, if not all, of the citizens 
of Northfield. As I look about me today, I miss many familiar 
faces. They are the faces of those whose generous greeting and 
helpful spirit encouraged me in my undertakings. They and 
others who still survive were the friends of my youth and early 
manhood, and there is no friendship more dear. 

I should have preferred to appear here today as a former neigh- 
bor and friend and speak to you in a reminiscent vein, recalling 
incidents within the memory of many of us which contributed to 
the pleasure of our association. I should like to acknowledge 
my personal obligations to such men as your chairman, Otis C. 
Wyatt, to Jeremiah E. Smith, Charles P. Herrick, A. B. Winslow 




JAMES O. LYFORD. 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 205 

and others of the living, to James N. Forrest, Isaac Mooney, 
Franklin J. Eastman and their contemporaries who have passed 
away, and tell you how much their friendship meant to me in the 
past and how pleasant is the recollection of it in the present. As 
a practising lawyer, my first client was a respected citizen of this 
town. If I mistake not, I performed the last legal service he re- 
quired when I drew his will. His sincere regard for my welfare 
continued until his death. Another citizen of Northfield signed 
my first official bond, and there is no better evidence of friend- 
ship. From time to time others responded to calls of mine with 
a cheerfulness which admits of no misinterpretation. 

I should like to individualize and give a just estimate of the 
men of Northfield in my time, but any inadvertent omission would 
mar the tribute I wish to pay to all and which is justly due to all. 
They were men of character and purpose, strong in rugged hon- 
esty, clear in their conception of duty, public-spirited citizens, 
and an honor to any community. They were faithful to the 
trusts, public or private, given to their keeping. They had a 
pride in their town and managed its affairs with the same scru- 
pulous care that they did their own. As I think of the leading 
men of both Northfield and the mother town of Canterbury in 
those days, I am glad to acknowledge my indebtedness to the in- 
fluence they exerted by precept and example upon the young- 
men of the towns. 

This occasion commemorates the one hundred and twenty-fifth 
anniversary of the incorporation of Northfield as a separate 
municipality. The birth of this town preceded by a little more 
than a year the battle of Yorktown. Your history as a town, 
therefore, covers the period of our national development and 
growth as a people. The first settlers of Northfield gave freely 
of their blood and treasure to win our independence. They as- 
sisted in the _ formation of a federal governinent, and they and 
their descendants have participated in all the stirring events 
which have contributed to the glory and grandeur of the republic. 
Northfield, therefore, shares with the older New England com- 
munities the distinction of helping from the beginning in the 
building of a nation. Her sons and her daughters, at home and 
abroad, have had their part in that onward movement which 
brought these United States in a little more than a century from 
the weakest of governments to the greatest of world powers. 



206 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The spirit which prompted the republic to celebrate its cen- 
tennials is now moving the towns to appropriately observe their 
anniversaries. There is no greater service we can render town, 
state or nation than to commemorate the trials, the travail and the 
sacrifices out of which the republic was born. We shall not de- 
part far from the precepts of the fathers if we have constantly 
in mind their example. In the honor paid to the past comes in- 
struction for the present. 

This occasion, besides being an anniversary, marks the com- 
pletion of a narrative history of the town of Northfield. This 
work of preserving in permanent form the records of the town- 
ship, the achievements of its settlers and their descendants, the 
patriotism and civic virtue of its citizens, the important events 
interwoven with their lives, the story of their trials, tribulations 
and trumphs is a work of your initiative, being your tribute to 
the past and your contribution to the future. I congratulate you, 
citizens of Northfield, on the public spirit which has prompted 
and carried forward this undertaking, and I give you merited 
praise for the service you have rendered to posterity. 

It has been my privilege to read in advance of its publication 
a part of this narrative, and I gladly commend the excellent and 
conscientious work of the historian, Mrs. Lucy R. H. Cross. The 
writing of history is largely a labor of love, for there is seldom 
financial return adequate to the time consumed in its prepara- 
tion. With a fidelity born of an atfectionate regard for the town 
of Northfield and its people, Mrs. Cross has performed the duty 
you have assigned to her, and I confidently predict that your 
verdict on her stewardship will be, "Well done, good and faithful 
servant. ' ' 

If Northfield has given birth to no president, United States 
senator, governor or other eminent public man, she has at least 
produced her share of that type of citizens who in all crises form 
the strong bulwark of the republic. She can rightly boast of the 
number of her sturdy and patriotic sons. The war rolls of the 
United States, from the time of the Revolution to our last con- 
flict, testify to the patriotism of her people, while her progress 
in the arts of peace is evidence of the civic pride of her citizens. 
One distinguished citizen does not make a community, however 
much his fame may draw attention to the place of his nativity. 
A town or city stands for what the average intelligence and moral 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVxVLS. 207 

stamina of its people make it. As you read the histoiy of North- 
field, you will find that her people have borne their share of the 
public burdens, met every emergency with courage and fortitude, 
kept pace with the march of improvement and builded a little 
better with each succeeding generation. 

What is life after all but this, a rising on our dead selves to 
better things, a progress where the average man sees clearer, 
thinks more sanely, lives more righteously and is more charitable 
to his fellow men ? Says a writer of repute, ' ' The growing good 
of the world is partly dependent on unhistoric acts, and that 
things are not so ill with you and me as they might have been is 
half owing to the number of those who lived a faithful and hidden 
life and rest in unvisited tombs." The modern historian has 
recognized this in that he has written of the common people quite 
as much as of their leaders, bringing out strongly the influence 
of the people on the march of events. Lincoln had faith in the 
plain people and they never failed him in his hour of trial. 
Leaders who should have sustained him often wavered, but the 
intelligence and good sense of the people of the towns of which 
Northfield is a type, reasoning among themselves, decreed that he^ 
was right. Oftentimes the people have moved faster than the 
leaders, and throughout our history the influence of the "little 
republics of New England," as our towns are sometimes called, 
has shaped the destiny of the nation. 

There were two prominent citizens of Northfield to whose lives 
I wish briefly to refer. They were men whom I knew when a 
student at the seminary across the river but who had passed away 
before the time of my activity here. These men were Col. Asa P. 
Gate and the Rev. M. A. Herrick. Both lived the best part of 
their lives among the people of Northfield, one as a lawyer and 
public man, the other as a clergyman. 

Colonel Gate was the legal adviser of individuals and business 
interests for many miles about here. Although largely an office 
lawyer, his counsel was sought far and wide. Except that the 
transactions were not so large. Colonel Cate was confronted with 
the same problems that face a successful attorney in our large 
business centers. lie had opportunities to advise clients how they 
could keep within the letter of the law while avoiding its spirit, 
how to make money and yet avoid the consequences of wrong- 
doing. Such advice in the business world yields both direct and 



208 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

indirect returns to the constructive lawyer, for, beyond his fee, 
is his inside information for making investments. Yet no client 
ever received aid from Colonel Gate in any undertaking that de- 
frauded an unsuspecting public through sharp practice or sinis- 
ter methods. Beyond his duty to his client lay his duty to his 
fellow men. In every position of trust, and he held many, he was 
guided by a scrupulous honesty which secured and held the con- 
fidence of his fellow citizens. He prevented litigation ; he settled 
out of court the troubles of neighbors; he advised always the 
straight and narrow path, and all to his own financial detriment. 
Was his life a success ? Yes, in every sense of the word, for the 
whole community was the better for his having lived in it. His 
name will be remembered with gratitude long after the names of 
those more strikingly prominent are forgotten, or remembered 
only for the wrong they suffered to be done. 

Dr. Herrick came here to establish a parish of the Episcopal 
Church. Student and scholar, ripe in general information, 
possessing the respect of his associates in the ministry for his 
ability, his talents could have commanded a larger and more 
profitable field of labor. He chose, however, to abide with the 
people with whom his lot had been cast. "With a cheerful, hopeful 
spirit he accepted all the privations incident to a small and strug- 
gling parish. No word of discontent or complaint ever passed 
his lips. When the parish undertook to have a church of its own, 
half of his meagre salary was only a part of his contribution to 
the enterprise. This sacrifice on his part w^as not blazoned forth 
in the public press. It is even doubtful if it were known to all 
of his congregation, but I say to you that it counted more for 
righteousness than any millions of tainted money. Dr. Herrick 's 
life was an example of the simple life, yet no one can say that it 
was not full and complete even if it were circumscribed. 

It is such lives as those of Colonel Cate and Dr. Herrick that 
create and perpetuate a healthy public sentiment and transmit 
high ideals from generation to generation. Their labors are im- 
historie, and their tombs are utivisited, but the silent infiuence 
of their example is more potent for good than the recorded bene- 
factions of men who give from a dishonest exchequer. While we 
continue to have such' men, and they are not uncommon in our 
day, we need have no fear for the republic. 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 209 

The mother town of Canterbury and her daughter, Northfield, 
have had close association since their separation one hundred and 
twenty-five years ago. The similarity of names in the two towns 
indicates much connnon ancestry. With Canterbur}^ I was more 
intimately acquainted, as it was the home of my ancestors and 
for several years my place of residence. What I could say of the 
influential people of that town would be equally applicable to the 
influential people of Northfield. I recall many men and women 
of both towns, not conspicuous in public affairs, Mdiose well 
ordered lives, neighborly benefactions and constant sacrifice con- 
tributed in no small degree to the well-being of the community. 
Their daily deeds were no less heroic because unrecorded. They 
were the moral fibre of the towns in which they resided. They 
were the leaven of the whole loaf. Their silent influence reached 
out through succeeding generations. While it is impracticable to 
particularize their part in the constructive work of these towns, 
it was nevertheless as important in the aggregate as was that of 
those whose names adorn the pages of history. What New Eng- 
land is and has been she owes to the patient work of the fathers 
and mothers of such towns as Northfield and Canterbury, men 
and women whose uneventful careers were cheered by no public 
recognition, but who were content to reap reward in their gift 
to posterity of sons and daughters reared to lives of activity and 
usefulness. As we do honor to those whose lofty aspirations and 
great endeavors have evoked the plaudits of mankind, we should 
never be unmindful of that greater number, whose daily minis- 
trations, creating neither present nor posthumous fame, have 
given to the nation her highest type of citizenship. 

As you recall with me the men and women of such Northfield 
families of my time as the Abbotts, the Ayers, the Cofrans, the 
Cloughs, the Chases, the Currys, the Dearborns, the Eastmans, 
the Forrests, the Fletchers, the Fosses, the Giles, the Glineses, 
the Gorrells, the Herricks, the Hills, the Mooneys, the Philbricks, 
the Smiths, the Tibbetts, the Whitchers, the Winslows and the 
Wyatts, you will readily subscribe to their sterling worth and 
credit them with their part in the making of the town. The 
story of their lives is not recorded on the printed page, but they 
were the uplift of the connnunity. They freely gave that others 
might receive. The impress they made upon their time is felt 
even unto this day. 

15 



210 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Across the river from this town is Tilton Seminary. It was 
born on Northfield soil and cradled in its infancy and youth by 
the loving care of the people of this community. Few there are 
today who appreciate the work of the New England academies of 
the last century. Erected by the self-sacrifice of a pious people, 
representing the hopes and aspirations of some religious denom- 
ination, often without endowment, supported almost solely by the 
tuition of students, they sent forth in the world, not only well- 
trained scholars, but well-moulded men and women. Their in- 
fluence not only reached out to all parts of the country where the 
students settled, but it related back to the towns from which the 
students came They builded character. The young men and 
young women who went out from these institutions were inspired 
by lofty ideals. They represented the highest type of New Eng- 
land manhood and womanhood. They in turn helped to mould 
a healthy public opinion. Their influence is felt today as it 
spreads out here and there all over the land where the people 
are aroused to protest against public and private wrongs. If 
Northfield had done nothing more than start one of these acad- 
emies on its important career, more than one community, helped 
by the influence of Tilton Seminary, should hold the town in 
grateful remembrance. 

The history of no New England town is complete in the mere 
record of the achievements of its citizens. ]\Iost prodigally have 
they contributed their sons and daughters to the settlement and 
development of the vast area of this country beyond our New 
England boundaries. Fiske, the historian, says that the 26,000 
New Englanders of 1640 have increased in 250 years to 15,000,- 
000, or one fifth of the population of the United States at the 
time of this writing. William Stoughton, in his Election Sermon 
of 1688, said of the people of New England at that time, "God 
sifted a whole nation (England) that he might send choice grain 
into a wilderness." More than a century later another sifting 
came, that choice grain might be sent into the contiguous wilder- 
ness of the West. Northfield has had her share in this vast emi- 
gration, an emigration that has carried to the West, along with the 
bone and sinew of the East, the traditions and early teachings 
of New England. Today the New England conscience awakens 
as well in New York, Philadelphia, ]\Iissouri, Wisconsin and 
Colorado as it does in New Hampshire and ]\Iassachusetts. 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 211 

It is somewhat common in onr time to belittle the New England 
character and to condemn the stern attitude of our ancestors in 
meting out punishment to wrongdoers. It is true they were strict 
in their code of life, frowning with severity upon violations of 
the civil and the moral law, and little did they temper justice 
with mercy. Yet it is the survival of their rugged honesty, tem- 
pered as it is now by broader views of life, which in the present 
age constitutes the public conscience that is demanding the ex- 
posure and punishment of all forms of graft in political and 
business life. 

We have had of late revelations of wrongdoing startling in 
their character. Public servants holding responsible positions 
have been shown unfaithful to the trusts imposed upon them. 
Men successful in business, honored by the confidence of their 
fellow citizens, holding positions as trustees and directors in in- 
stitutions where are gathered the savings of the people, have 
proved unfaithful or criminally negligent in the discharge of 
their duty. A great insurance company, chartered for the benefit 
of the widow and orphan, under the management of men eminent 
in business and public life, has been exploited to enrich its lead- 
ing officers. Names once synonymous of business integrity and 
square dealing are now smirched with the taint of dishonor. 
Men prominent in the financial world have lent themselves to 
business projects which have robbed the public while enriching 
the promoters. A society newspaper in New York is involved 
in a scandal of blackmail to extort from the newly-rich of the 
metropolis large sums of money to give them standing in the 
social world or prevent the publication of scandal. From $500 
to $10,000 have been drawn from individuals ambitious for social 
distinction, and the publication of their names shows that it is 
not alone the unsophisticated countryman who is the victim of the 
bunco game. 

It is not a pleasant picture that is portrayed in the new^spapers 
and magazines of the mad rush for wealth and distinction and the 
methods employed to obtain them. The revelations would be 
discouraging were it not that the public conscience is quick to 
condemn and earnest that prosecution and punishment should 
follow WTongdoing. I speak in no pessimistic mood, for this old 
world wags much the same in all eras. Our past history is full 
of departures from the straight and narrow path. We are more 



212 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

conversant today with Avhat is going on about iis than were our 
ancestors, because of our greater facilities for obtaining informa- 
tion. There is not more evil in the world. We are simply more 
conscious of its existence. The duty and responsibility for cor- 
recting wrong, however, are no less pressing. 

In a republic like ours, the seat of all power and the tribunal 
of final resort for redressing wrong are the people. The stream 
will not rise higher than its source. Our government, national^ 
state and local, our code of business morals and our social fabric 
will be what the people make it. The homely maxims about 
honesty, industry, thrift, virtue and content, maxims which 
guided our New England ancestors, are as applicable today as 
they were a century ago. Among all that striking company who 
of late have been involved in irregular or illegitimate business 
transactions, what one would not today gladly exchange places 
with him who has led a simpler life ? 

We of this generation have witnessed great changes in the 
methods of doing business. The individual and the partnership 
are giving place to the corporation in all lines of activity. With 
the incorporated company we were already familiar, but the com- 
bining of corporations on a vast scale was both novel and start- 
ling. Fear was entertained that these large aggregations of capi- 
tal would monopolize industry, crush out competition and largely 
destroy individual initiative. To add to the alarm, investors in 
these mammoth undertakings met with large losses for the reason 
that the promised economies of production were not sufficient to 
pay dividends on watered stock. New problems for the American 
people to solve are the outgrowth of these changes of business 
methods, and a healthy public sentiment will contribute much 
to their correct solution. 

It would be as useless to protest against combination of in- 
dustry as to protest against the replacing of hard labor by ma- 
chinery. It is the trend of the times made necessary to meet 
changed conditions of civilization. It is, therefore, the evils that 
grow out of combination of industry that we have to fear and to 
correct. We have already seen that time and experience cure 
many defects. Like all progress, our advance in business methods 
has been marked by costly mistakes and wide individual suffer- 
ing. Where these have been the outcome of illegal acts, the full 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 213 

force of public opinion should be raised in condemnation and the 
power of the state invoked to punish. 

In dealing with these and other problems, our whole reliance 
should not be placed upon restraining statutes. The unwritten 
law, as it is called, the law which has its force in the public con- 
science and popular approval, is quite as potent at times as 
statutes in restraining individual ambition and greed. There 
may be no criminal law that will reach the directors of the 
Equitable Life Assurance Company for their misfeasance and 
malfeasance in office, but the public condemnation which has 
greeted the exposure of their acts of omission and commission 
will prevent for a season, at least, others following in their foot- 
steps. Graft of all kinds grows upon the easy toleration of the 
public. It required a bold and flagrant steal of millions to arouse 
the citizens of Philadelphia to the fact that their municipality 
was honeycombed with corruption. So strongly were the grafters 
intrenched, they were able for a time to openly defy the public. 
What is true of Philadelphia has been shown to be true of other 
municipalities. AVe cannot hope to entirely eradicate dishonesty 
in public and business life. Wrongdoing will probably continue 
until the end of the world, but we should be able to secure that 
alertness of the people which will demand frequent inquiry and 
that sensitiveness of the public to wrongdoing that will demand 
of all public and quasi-public officials a fuller integrity than that 
which just comes within the pale of the law. 

We have had a recent striking example of the force of public 
opinion in the election of Theodore Roosevelt to the presidency. 
Serving out the term of his predecessor, he provoked strong op- 
position, as all positive and earnest men do. Large financial 
interests were opposed to his nomination and election. The influ- 
ence they exerted was a power not to be despised. They had 
made and unmade public men. They were in close touch with the 
business pulse of the country. William J. Bryan had been de- 
feated twice because the business interests had been opposed to 
his election. Would not Roosevelt's fate be the same? 

The issue, however, did not come. It was shunted aside by the 
force of public opinion. The people believed in the honesty and 
courage of Roosevelt. He had taken them into his confidence. 
He was dealing in the open. There was no subterfuge, no evasion 



214 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

of responsibility. He miglit make mistakes. He might be wrong, 
but lie was doing the right as it was given him to understand it. 
His personality soon overshadowed the questions of the hour and 
Eoosevelt was elected by an unprecedented majority, not because 
that majority agreed upon the issues involved, but because all 
agreed upon him. His triumphant election is an instructive 
lesson in our politics. It is an encouragement to well-doing in 
public life. It is a reassurance that ' ' a government of the people, 
for the people and by the people shall not perish f roni the earth. ' ' 

Such gatherings as these have their public use as well as their 
social side. Here we renew old acquaintances and revive old as- 
sociations. Here we honor those virtues of our ancestors which 
contributed so much to the building of the town, the state and 
the nation. Here we recall their lives of industry, thrift and 
self-sacrifice. Here we are admonished by their precept and ex- 
ample. Here again is presented to us the picture of the New 
England community developing along the lines of frugality and 
content and sending out its offspring to people the waste places. 

What is the lesson of this day ? It is this. We should culti- 
vate a little more old-fashioned honesty and a little less toler- 
ance of success gained by sharp dealing, a little more of those 
homely attributes of the fathers and a little less love of display, a 
little more patience in working out the problems of life and a 
little less desire to overstep our neighbor, a little more of the 
simple life and a little less envy of the rich. If we would give 
force to our early instructions, if we would build a little better 
than those who have gone before, if we would have the future 
pay the tribute to us that we gladly pay to the past, we shall shirk 
no duty and evade no responsibility, but keep constantly in mind 
those things which are the foundation of true greatness, con- 
scientious endeavor and right living. 



SUMMER HOME OF F. B. SHEDD. 
' (See cut.) 

KATE FORREST. 

Beautiful for situation, crowning one of the summits of Bay 
Hill, overlooking a landscape of rare and varied charm, stands 
the summer home of Freeman B. Shedd of Lowell, Mass. 
In the middle eighties Mr. Shedd came to Northfield and pur- 




Q 
ft 

a 

02 

pq 
O 

ft 
Pi 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 215 

chased of Daniel E. Hill the farm formerly owned by Abra- 
ham Brown, Sr., where he erected a handsome modern house with 
generous windows and roomy porches, and painted it after the 
fashion of our grandfathers, a cheerful red, which contrasts 
pleasantly with the brilliant green tints of the surrounding 
foliage in summer and with the snowy whiteness of winter. 

The house is sufficiently removed from the highway to give an 
air of seclusion, which is emphasized by the symmetrical stone 
wall separating the grounds from the street. On the approach 
of a carriage a wide, white gate swings automatically between 
vine-covered posts and gives admission to the broad, graveled 
drive which sweeps in a graceful curve to the house. 

It is a beautiful picture which greets the eye on a fine summer 
morning. In the distance the mountains lift their purple and 
azure summits against the sky — in the east the Belknaps; on the 
west Ivearsarge ; in the north the Ossipees and Franconia, with 
Choeorua lifting its jagged peak between. Moosilauke nestles 
against the rugged slopes of Cardigan, and the Ragged mountains 
raise their sturdy summits on the Avestern horizon. Half hidden 
among the hills lies the great lake, a sparkling blue gem in the 
morning sunlight, and winding down from it, a silver ribbon 
amidst the green forests, flows the "Winnipiseogee past the spires 
and roofs of the distant city. At our feet lies the valley with 
its meadows and streams; beyond slopes upward the hillside, 
dotted with farmhouse, field and orchard. 

Near at hand, dew-spangled stretches of velvety green grass 
are broken here and there by ornamental beds and borders of 
brilliant flowers and choice shrubbery, while graceful trees in 
groups or standing in single majesty upon the lawn, wave their 
branches in greeting. It is to the trees that these spacious grounds 
owe much of their beauty. A few shade trees adorned the old 
farm and one or two of these remain. Others — graceful elms 
and stately maples — have been transplanted from river bank, 
roadside and pasture and have taken so kindly to their new sur- 
roundings that one might fancy they had grown where they stand. 
A grove of young trees near the highway is growing into a min- 
iature forest, where pine and spruce mingle their fragrance and 
where the birds and squirrels find a congenial home. This group 
comprises many choice varieties of both native and foreign ever- 



216 HISTORY OF NOETHFIELD. 

greens. Among them are the European larch, the oriental spruce, 
Eocky Mountain spruce, mountain ash, dwarf pine and Nord- 
man's fir, of which one specimen is vivid green in color and 
another is a fine shade of bine. It is interesting to note the 
points of difference and of similarity between the home-grown 
and the foreign varieties of the same species, and a lover of trees 
finds much to study and enjoy in this pretty grove and through- 
out the grounds. 

At one side of the lawn, near the coachman's pleasant cottage, 
is a grove of ancient oaks. Leading from this grove a road has 
been laid out, winding down the hill, which affords one the pleas- 
ure of a ride through the woods in the midst of woodsy sights 
and smells, where ferns grow among the moss-covered rocks; 
where majestic pines, a century old, wear their evergreen crowns 
far above the earth; where spreading shrub and creeping vine 
are permitted to grow in their own way and where the small wild 
denizens of the forest are un frightened by the sound of gun or 
woodman's axe. Branching from this is a road leading to the 
river and this wildwood drive is one of the most attractive 
features of the estate. 

The grounds and the drives of this fine place of Mr. Shedd's 
have been laid out, and are still carefully looked after, under the 
direction of the head farmer, who is also a landscape gardener 
of ability and experience. 

A visit to this estate would not be complete without a call at 
the barn where the horses and cattle are luxuriously sheltered. 
On the way we pass the tall water tower with its screen of sil- 
very poplars and drooping willows, cross a mowing field and 
skirt the garden with its rows of berry bushes. The barn has 
been remodeled and made more capacious until it is a really 
sybaritic home for the four-footed members of the family. The 
horses have polished finishings of South Caroline pine in their 
quarters and enjoy roomy box-stalls, furnished with every equine 
convenience. Beyond is a light and airj^ section where the cows 
take their comfort, each with her individual drinking cup before 
her, filled through pipes from an inexhaustible reservoir. At one 
end of the long barn a window looks out on the clean yard, with 
its high stone-posted fence, where the cattle take the air and chew 
the cud of eontentedness. Nearby a windmill, slowly turning on 



ATTRACTIONS AND FESTIVALS. 217 

its tall framework, lends a picturesque touch to the landscape, 
and in the distance, with a background of misty hills, lies the 
village in its valley beside the river, with its church spires and 
pleasant homes clustering among the trees. 

Mr. Shedd has added to his original purchase many of North- 
field's green acres, including the large adjoining farm, whose 
roomy, convenient dwelling house is the residence of the head 
farmer, while, on the opposite side of the road, are sunny pas- 
tures and dark woodlands and broad tields of waving grass or 
ripening grain and rustling corn, which belong to the estate. 
Trim fences and attractive roadsides add to the beauty of this fine 
estate, which, with its matchless environment, is an ornament to 
the town and a source of pride and pleasure to all citizens, 
scarcely less than to its fortunate owner and his family. 



CHAPTER XIII. 

THE STORY TELLER. 

A town history to be exactly in order, it is said, mnst have an 
Indian legend, a witch episode, a haunted house, a bear, fish and 
snake story. One or two of these your historian has been cog- 
nizant of or proven beyond a doubt; for the rest she has relied 
on the customary authority in such matters. 

Mrs. James Lindsey and Mrs. Josiah Miles, who lived on oppo- 
site sides of Skenduggody Meadow, were both owners of slaves. 
They were visited, in 1753, by the two Indians Plausaway and 
Sebattis. Mrs. Miles sold one of them a shirt and on his itn- 
dressing in her presence to put it on she noticed some small cords, 
called "Indian lines," wound about his body. She questioned 
him about their use and obtained an evasive answer. It was 
evident next morning, however, as they had each tied up and led 
away a slave in the night — Peer from the Mileses and Tom from 
the Lindseys. 

Peer returned after a few^ days to tell the story, but Tom was 
never seen. They came again the next year and being accused 
of the theft, told them boldly that slaves, were lawful booty, as 
they had never made a treaty with the English. It is said Mrs. 
Miles used her tongue pretty freely, threats were made and toma- 
hawks flourished and they told Mr. Miles if they ever met his 
wife, Elisabeth, again they would have her scalp. Matters looked 
threatening and Parson Walker of Concord was sent for, who 
took the Indians home with him. A court was there held before 
Joseph Blanchard, May 21, 1754, in which Mrs. Miles made depo- 
sition that the slaves stolen were worth $500 (old tender). 

A friendly Indian named Cohas occupied a little cabin in the 
olden time between the present home of John S. Winslow and the 
railroad. It was built between birch trees, one or either side, 
but nothing is said of family. He used to hunt and fish about 
Sondogardy Pond and its outlet was first named "Little Cohas 
Brook. ' ' 



THE STORY TELLER. 219 

Mother Blanchard was once surprised outside of Cauterbury 
Fort. The ludiaus giving chase, she, a corpulent woman, showed 
such skill in running that they stopped to laugh while she es- 
caped, cheered on by their cries of "porchue, purchuc," mean- 
ing woodchuck. 

BEAR STORIES. 

John Cilley, Jr., was once the victim of a serious encounter 
with a black bear on Bean Hill. Being told by his father one 
morning that Colonel Cof ran 's black dog was chasing their sheep 
in a pasture full in sight, he went to drive him away and, coming 
near them around a clump of bushes, found himself face to face 
with a bear. He lost no time in climbing a small tree near by, 
but not in time to evade the stroke of his paw as he ascended, 
which took off not only his stocking and shoe but nearly all the 
flesh from the knee down. It was years before the boy recovered 
from the fright. 

A bear caught on the upper ]\Ierrimack intervale dragged the 
trap through fields and over stone walls and even over the 
*'Loer" bridge spoken of elsewhere on the stringers. Hunters 
followed the trail and he was found near the Sanbornton moun- 
tains still dragging the trap. 

A large hemlock tree in the gully at the foot of the Kezar 
hills on the Bean Hill Road was for j^ears called the "Bear 
tree. ' ' On the level with the road Avas a row of branches form- 
ing a circle around it. Here a large black bear found a resting 
place and, being discovered, was promptly despatched. Mrs. 
Forrest Cross, whose father, Edmond Douglass, lived near, al- 
ways remembered her birthday as the day the bear was killed. 
The bear tree grew to be an inunense one and a few years since 
was cut for lumber by J. E. Smith and boards and plank of 
more than ordinary width made from the limbs. 

The following story has no historic value except as it recalls 
the exciting period in our town, as well as elsewhere, when the 
followers of William Miller were daily expecting the summary 
closing up of sublunary things : 

One of the most familiar sights of my childhood was a big blue, 
umbrella sailing across our pastures and fields. Under it was a 
little old woman called "Granny Byenton." She used to knit 



220 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

sale footings and take them to the store (let us say Whittier's, to 
have the story in the town), to buy snuff. Sometimes, perhaps, 
her supply would be exhausted before she had a pair finished; 
one, however, was all right, for her constantly recurring need 
was sure to promptly bring the mate. She was greatly troubled 
about the Millerites, who were trying, she thought, to bring the 
world to an end. One day, out of breath and thoroughly fright- 
ened, she rushed into the house to say, ' ' I hearn a gun go off, off 
in the woods, and I thought, I wished, I hoped gracious it killed 
every Millerite there was in the world. For, if they should bring 
the world to an end when I'm out alone, I should be scared 
almost to death." 

WILDCATS. 

Mother Wadleigh used, with a single female companion, to 
remain alone with her little ones, while her husband took his fre- 
quent trips for supplies to Portsmouth, and had some thrilling 
adventures with wild beasts. One night she utilized the winter 
fire to prepare meat for the needs of the morrow. A wildcat, 
attracted by the scent, was heard snarling about the log barn 
and, failing to find ingress there, was heard growling and climb- 
ing on the roof of the log cabin, the rock chimney of which hardly 
rose above the roof, the rod across which with the lug-pole and 
chain (they had no "cranes" then), were being pushed aside 
and birch bark fires were not equal to the occasion. In despera- 
tion the children w^ere snatched from their bed, the straw tick 
dragged out and soon the roaring straw proved too much for the 
frenzied animal, who made his retreat and was heard, howling 
with pain, far into the night and found dead next day near by. 

FISH STORY. 

This story is but the conclusion of one begun by Professor 
Hunt in his centennial address on page 129. The shad and 
salmon that used to arrive at Franklin annually the last of JNIay, 
where the former turned to the right and the latter to the left, 
was owing to the shad, being prompted by nature, desiring the 
warmer Avaters of the lake and the salmon the cooler mountain 
stream. After their progress was stopped by the building of the 
Sanborn and Eastman dams they laid for some days idle in the 



THE STORY TELLER. 221 

eiirreut and never again, after 1814, made their appearance. 
On tlie occasion of their last visit they were taken in large num- 
bers and their presence over Sunday was a matter of great con- 
cern to the good old Puritanic fathers of the town. The fish 
warden was called on duty and the many devices to evade his 
watchfulness furnished many a table far and near with a luscious 
Sunday dinner, and also furnished laughable stories and jokes 
for years afterwards. 

HAUNTED HOUSES. 

Northfield, so prolific in almost everything, has been unable 
to furnish a ghost story well authenticated. So, rather than be 
found wanting, we will drop into sentiment and say with Long- 
fellow that 

"All houses wherein men have lived and died 
Are haunted houses. Through the open doors 
The harmless phantoms on their errands glide 
With feet that make no sound upon the floor." 

Some two houses especially claim the designation. The present 
home of Deacon Abbott (though but few of its many occupants 
died there) has been the abode of so many families that it must 
enjoy a perpetual picnic. The Josiah Dearborn place has been 
the site of three or four houses and a large number of tenants 
and owners. I will quote further, not, however, with the view 
of disquieting any one's titles. 

"We have no title deeds to house or lands, 
Owners and occupants of earlier dates, 
From graves forgotten, stretch their dusty hands 
And hold in mortmain still their old estates." 

It is this very thought that gives such a charm to Old Home 
Day, home comings and the daydreams of young and old. 

WITCHES. 

Mrs. Cooper Clark, who lived near the Bean Hill schoolhoiise, 
was believed by the many pupils there to be possessed by evil 
spirits. She may have encouraged this belief to be free from 
their too frequent visits. 

Enoch Rogers, who performed the duty of chore-boy at Colonel 
Cofran's, once, when left alone to do the churning, fancied the 



222 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

churn contained a combination of willing cream and the unwill- 
ing spirit of the suspected neighbor; and the witch must be 
burned to death, according to an old-time superstition. He hur- 
ried to the barn, secured the "cops pin," and after making it 
red hot made repeated attempts to laud it in the churn, scarring 
it here and there in the process. He succeeded to his own dis- 
comfort, but Mother Clark suffered no inconvenience. There 
w^as no gilt-edged butter made at the Cofran farm that day. 

A family, which shall be nameless, living not far from Sken- 
dugoddy Meadow, had several insane members and in the olden 
time were said to have been bewitched. An older member who 
had the mania of drav/ing a wheelbarrow after him up and down 
the town, Avas once frightened by its touching his heels, ran amuck 
through the streets until the barrow was completely demolished. 

SNAKES. 

The vicinity of the Hodgdon schoolhouse has the reputation of 
being a good place for snakes, not of the kind, however, 

"That lie in the grass so prettily curled, 
Waiting to snake you out of the world." 

Some tw^o years since, Mr. Edward Cross captured about twenty 
black ones in an old well on his premises. A newspaper adver- 
tisement offered a good sum for some "varmints" for a snake 
charmer. Mr. Cross shut them up in the Hodgdon schoolhouse 
and notified the would-be purchaser. No answer came and after 
some delay they were all killed the day before the man arrived 
with the purchase money. 

OSGOODITES. 

The following was inadvertently omitted from the ecclesias- 
tical history of the town : 

We will not envy the sister town of Warner the honor of having 
given birth to Jacob Osgood, the originator and leader of a sect 
bearing his name, since Northfield claims the honor of being not 
only the birthplace, but death-place as well, of the last member 
of the clan. The membership in Northfield consisted of several 
of the Dolloffs, Asa Bean and the Grover family on the Wind- 
fall. Nancy Glidden, wife of Philip Clough, who lived near the 



THE STORY TELLER. 223 

site of the Elm Mills Woolen Co., was one of the sisters and meet- 
ings were often held at her house. The greater part of them, 
however, resided in Canterbury Borough and near the Emery 
sehoolhouse. 

They gained few members after the first. The fathers, Osgood, 
Ordway and Colby, used to make yearly visits and the Pond and 
Emery schoolhouses used to howl with their unseemly exhorta- 
tions. They were wont to expend the whole of their ragged and 
often vulgar vocabulary on the hireling ministers, doctors, law- 
yers, abolitionists and black republicans. They thanked the Lord 
for apples and hard cider and advocated drinking rum. They 
healed the sick by the laying on of hands, refused to vote or pay 
taxes. They did not approve of a fighting religion and so re- 
fused to "appear armed and equipped as the law directs with 
gun, knapsack, priming wire and brush" on training days, conse- 
quently they were arrested and their crops and cattle sold by the 
sheriff to pay the fines and taxes. 

They were honest and correct in their lives and some excellent 
people got entangled in their strange semi-savage Avorship and 
still maintained their purity of life, but their nocturnal gather- 
ings vfere the resort of the shabby crowd and of many whose 
tastes were vulgar. Many of their numbers, for lack of medical 
attendance, died prematurely and the Grover family on the 
Windfall remained alone for many years. No services were held 
for a long time previous to the death of Sally Grover, the last of 
the sect, September 5, 1897. They dressed in Quaker gray and 
strove in all possible ways to be unlike others. Peace to their 
ashes. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

NORTHFIELD FACTORY VILLAGE. 

Nortlifield Factory Village, later known as Smithville, was so 
distinct a part of the town, I have recorded it entirely separate 
from the other portion. It had great natural advantages and 
was early settled. Before 1800 a dam had been erected above 
the Sanborn Bridge, which was located somewhat farther up the 
stream. This dam was probably built by Mr. Folsom, of whom 
I can obtain no data save that he had a sawmill on the north 
end of it, which was carried dow^n the river by an ice freshet. 
Jeremiah Sanborn, who had come from Hampton in 1778, rebuilt 
on the Northfield side. There was a road by the river bank ex- 
tending quite a distance. A canal was cut through this road, 
later, from this dam to the Daniell's Bridge, on which several 
industries were located. This Sanborn sawmill was afterward 
removed to the site of the Folsom mill. 

Dam No. 2. — In 1821 Boston John Clark, who has been called 
an ' ' unlettered genius, ' ' who was, however, a born mechanic, built 
for Kendall 0. Peabody the next dam below, long known as the 
Aiken dam. He also erected a mill wdiere Mr. Peabody soon be- 
gan the manufacture of paper. Mr. Peabody had come from 
Peterborough a few years previous and established a bakery in 
the west village. He used to send out carts with his ginger- 
bread, crackers and cakes and among other things rags were legal 
tender. A large accumulation of these, first suggested a new 
business. Robert Crane, a professional paper maker, became as- 
sociated with him in the enterprise. 

A paper mill, the first in the country, had just been established 
at Exeter and Daniel Herrick, a born inventor, mechanic and 
skillful machinist, w^as sent there, clad in the garb of a Quaker, 
to study the machinery. He returned and built the machines for 
the new mill. The work prospered and the mill was greatly en- 
larged. After five years, it is said, Mr. Peabody, with his brother 
James L., and Isaac, the brother of Mr. Crane, bought seven 



NORTHFIELD FACTORY VDL,LAGE. 225 

acres of land and the water privilege attached to dam No. 3 (of 
which we shall speak hereafter) and with the addition of Jere- 
miah F. Daniel, removed the business to the Peabody village, 
where it has ever since been the leading industry of the town. 
The old paper mill became a gristmill, owned and run by Mr, 
Darling for many years. This site is now occupied by Stevens' 
mill. 

SMITHVILLE FACTORY OR YELLOW MILL. 

For many years a long stretch of waste land extended from the 
Sanborn Bridge down the river bank to the old stable and tavern 
kept long ago by a Mr. Hoyt and later by John H. Durgin. Next 
in line stood the Batting Mill and beyond, in the midst of a broad 
common was erected a cotton mill about 1821 by three Smith 
brothers and John Cavender, all of Peterborough. A store ex- 
tending out into the street was built and a row of four double 
boarding houses erected on the river bank which are still there. 
The canal lay in front of them, on which the new mill was built 
for the manufacture of cotton cloth. 

They were all painted yellow and in later years were known 
as the "Yaller Mill" and "Yaller Row." The grounds about 
were kept in fine condition, shade trees planted and a library 
established for the free use of their operatives and others for a 
nominal sum. This has ever since been in existence and was 
the precursor of the present Smith Library. A family named 
Annan, also of Peterborough, were engaged in the enterprise, 
all of whom were a power for good in the business, social and 
religious life of the little village. William Smitli died at Smith- 
ville ; Robert, who had studied law previous to coming to North- 
field, removed to St. Louis, Mo., and James, who married Persis 
Garland of Salisbury, also removed there and afterwards was 
honored by a seat in the United States Senate. 

The Peabody brothers afterwards owned this mill, which was 
used for various purposes until its destruction by fire in 1853. 

BATTING. 

Peter Goodnow was the proprietor of a mill in connection with 
the cotton cloth manufacture for the making of batting, of which 
Mr. John Lewis had charge. It continued after the mill ceased, 
to be used for cloth. 
16 



226 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

STRAW BOARD. 

Hiram Ilodgdon and John Gould made straw board in the 
counting room of the old cotton mill for a time. ]\Ir. Hodgdon 
sold to Mr. Gould, who, in turn, sold to J. F. and W. F. Daniell, 
who continued the business until the burning of the mill. 

STRAW PAPER. 

A. L. Fisher manufactured wrapping paper from straw in the 
ol^ batting mill. This business eventually passed to Peabody & 
Daniells. 

The history of the sawmill on the canal has been given else- 
where (see page 98), so we will pass on to Dam No. 3. 

The site now occupied by Sulloway's ]\Iill was early used for 
manufacturing purposes. Dearborn Sanborn built a dam here 
in 1818 and established his shingle mill. Thomas Elkins had a 
large sawmill on the Northfield end of it, where an immense busi- 
ness was done and large rafts taken down the river to better 
markets. 

WOOLEN MILL. 

It is said that Ebenezer Blanehard and Ebenezer Eastman had 
a woolen mill here, but no facts can be obtained. It probably 
antedated the Elkins sawmill. 

A double house stood next and then the open space to Rowe's 
store. The Carlton house is the only remaining dwelling and 
the blacksmith shop, long since modestly retired to the rear, 
and the cooper shop became the Marsh shoe store. The long 
building called the Tontine, with basement on the north side, 
was considered a fine house 75 years ago. Robert Crane built 
it when he came with his brother, Isaac, and others to begin 
the manufacture of paper. He occupied a part of it and James 
Lewis (see Mills), the other. After the departure of the Cranes 
it was used by the Welches as an extensive tailor's shop. It 
was removed when the Franklin and Tilton Railroad was built. 
None of the fine churches were built in 1858 and the dwellers 
there sought church and extended school privileges at Frank- 
lin Village. All south of Main Street was an open pasture, ex- 
tending to the south and east. On the south side of Central 
Street one has found nothing for many years but the little I'ed 
schoolhouse, where a school was established in 1827, formed from 



NORTHPIELD FACTORY VILLAGE. 227 

several other districts. Here all the children from the Leigh- 
ton, Cross, Gerrish, Heath, Hancock and Kezar families used 
to congregate and your historian, in 1851, and again in 1858, 
tried with varying success to urge some forty or fifty "tardy 
loiterers" up the rugged hill of science. This school was united 
with the one across Sanborn Bridge in 1858 and together occu- 
pied Lyceum Hall building. The old schoolhouse now does duty 
as a laundry and grain store. 

The Brockway and Carlton houses still exist in a changed con- 
dition, but the old-timer looking for familiar scenes would find 
but little in and around the railroad station and side hill to re- 
mind him of the old-time cow pasture and marsh land. A copy 
of the school register for 1851 is in existence, when Angeline T. 
Sweatt was teacher and every other name on the list was Kezar. 
(See gen.) 

PRINTING OFFICES. 

There vv^as a job printing office established long ago on the site 
of the Sulloway Mills. The style of the firm was Peabody, Dan- 
iells & Co. and the Co. was Eliphalet Ayer. They had quite a 
business in printing Bibles, testaments and Worcester spelling 
books. It is known that three of the Bibles are now in existence. 
The office was in a yellow shop on the left, a little below the 
entrance to the Daniell's Bridge. 

Charles F. Hill had a job printing office for many years, until 
his death in 1888, on Bay Street. He had a reputation for extra 
fine work. After his death the business was transferred to Tillon 
and became the property of H. A. Morse. 

Another office established by George W. Baker was in the 
upper story of the remodelled Whittier store, opposite the optical 
works. A shaft was extended underground from the dam across 
the street and thus power was obtained. It was destroyed by 
fire and never restored. 

TELEPHONES. 

The board of selectmen, March 11, 1903, voted the privilege to 
erect poles in the streets and highways of Northfield to the New 
England Telegraph and Telephone Company. Conditions were 
made and duly recorded on page 266 of the town records for that 
year. There are no country line exchanges in Northfield, except 
one on High Street. 



228 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

citizens' TELEPHONE COMPANY. 

This line came from Laconia and Henry Davis was first man- 
ager for Tilton and Northfield. Permission to erect poles has 
been granted from time to time, until all the farming districts 
have been covered. The first machine was installed during the 
autumn of 1895 or 1896 and they now number 115. The present 
manager is Harry W. Muzzey. 



CHAPTER XV. 
STORES AND MERCHANTS. 

The first store in Northfield was kept by Benjamin Blanchard 
at the Wadleig'h place on Bay Hill. This his son, Ebenezar, moved 
later to where the Northfield Grrocery Company's storehouse now 
stands and the brown house opposite was the home of his family. 
It is now the oldest dwelling in town. He opened a branch store 
soon after at Salisbury, now Franklin, and his business there 
increasing rapidly, sold out here to his clerk and removed to 
Salisbury, where he conducted much business till his death. 

Squire Charles Glidden and his son, Charles, perhaps the latter 
alone, erected a large store at the Center, opposite the old meet- 
ing-house, where a large business was conducted many years. 
(See page 139, part 2.) He sold out to John Mack Oilman, who 
was succeeded by Greenough McQuesten and John Kimball Wood- 
man, who remained but two years. ]\Iilton Gerrish and Jacob 
Moore purchased the house and business and removed both to 
Sanbornton Bridge. It was the first building occupying the cor- 
ner where the present town hall stands. 

Owing to the departure of nearly all the local industries from 
the Center to the "Bridge" (as it was called), the store opposite, 
built by Capt. Isaac Glines, was never occupied and some years 
later was sold and removed to become a dwelling house at the 
village. Later, a small store on the opposite corner was kept by 
Andrew Nudd with a small stock of groceries and tobacco. 

John Moloney had a small store in the side hill opposite Josiah 
Dearborn's, where some business and much political wire pulling 
was done. Votes for future delivery were legal tender, as he 
always had some coveted office in sight. Squire Glidden was his 
political rival and often Moloney's purchased votes went to elect 
his rival. Smarting under defeat, he once charged Mr. Glidden 
with a whole barrel of rum as the price of the stolen votes. 

NORTHFIELD DEPOT. 

A store was opened at this place about the time of the coming 
of the railroad. Amos C. Cogswell, Charles and Augustine 



230 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Ayers were some of the early traders. About 1850 Merrill Moore 
became manager of a large business here, making a specialty of 
palm leaf hats and berry picking in their season. This store 
flourished for many years until its destruction by fire. Oliver 
L. Cross, William Keniston, Frank Moore, Samuel Emery and 
Charles Sanborn have in later times conducted a varying business 
here. The store has, since Mr. Sanborn's death, been discontin- 
ued. William C. French and Sumner A. Dow carried on a con- 
siderable meat business until 1881, the latter sending 50 lambs 
and 200 chickens weekly to St. Paul 's School, Concord, 500 lambs 
coming in a single season from Grafton County. 

Isaac Whittier, about 1840, traded where the Northfield Gro- 
cery Store stands, in a long unpainted store with wooden shut- 
ters. His stock was the usual variety found in country stores. It 
was a slow business place until the coming of the post office there. 
He was town clerk some years and much town business was trans- 
acted there, taxes made and juries drawn. Noah Peabody and 
James Palmer traded there later and the store was reconstructed 
and refitted by Warren L. Hill, Esq. It was rented by J. F. 
Taylor and Eastman as a grocery store and, later, burned. The 
site was then occupied by a carriage and blacksmith shop until 
its present restoration as a grocery store. 

A drug store with offices above occupied the right hand 
entrance to the bridge, where James Brown kept the Seminary 
bookstore. Above was a dressmaking and millinery establish- 
ment, kept by Alice and Sarah Haines, and occupied later by 
Miss Proctor as the art studio of the seminary. 

Close by, William Follansby kept a dry goods and grocery 
store. He built the low one-story block, extending half the 
length of the ' ' beach, ' ' called the ' ' seven nations. ' ' 

Just east of this was the dwelling house and basement hard- 
ware and tin store of Charles Joseph Wadleigh. This place alone 
remains unchanged. 

butterfield's store. 

The first store at Factory Village was built and managed by 
the Smith brothers, who conducted and owned the "Yellow 
Mill." On their departure for St. Louis, William Butterfield of 

Andover succeeded to the business. It passed in time to 

Welch of Boston, who, with his Avife, conducted an extensive 



STORES AND MERCHANTS. 231 

tailoring business in the Tontine, occupying the whole of it. The 
store was burned in 1843 and rebuilt by John Sweatt, a good 
Democrat and business man, who looked well after Northfield's 
interest in that part of the town. (See Sweatt gen.) This 
store was standing when the boom came to the little village about 
1865 immediately after the war. 

Across the way was the one-story store of Jonathan Elkins, 
which, as his real estate business increased, passed to Nathaniel 
Rowe and still later to Charles Chase and Benjamin Gale, who 
kept a stock of general merchandise until the coming of the new 
industries and the removal of their store to make way for new 
buildings. 

RUSSELL BROTHERS. 

Willis and Orimal Russell were for a while in business at Fac- 
tory Village. They were the first promoters of the business of 
making palm leaf hats. They shipped the leaf in the rough had 
it split and bleached, as recorded elsewhere, and doubtless were 
proprietors of the mill, where the hats were pressed and finished. 
They eventually removed their business to Sanbornton Bridge 
and finally one or more of the several brothers became merchants 
in Canada. 

GREENWOOD & CROCKETT. 

Edward Caskin came to Northfield from Franklin Falls 
and erected the store on the river bank and purchased the adjoin- 
ing residence. He established a hardware and house-furnishing 
business, which he sold to Frank H. Merrill in 1884. After Mr. 
Merrill 's death it became the property of Joseph Greenwood, who 
had been connected with the business six years. The firm of 
Greemvood & Crockett was established in 1899. (See Crockett 
gen.) 

Nearly all the merchants of Tilton have been or are now 
residents of Northfield, among whom are both members of 
the firm of Philbrick & Hill, Charles P. Herrick, the late Frank- 
lin J. Eastman (whose biography by Hon. John M. Mitchell 
is subjoined), also W. A. Gardner, the late Joseph Hill, Fi- 
field Brothers, the late George F. Weeks, Batchelder Brothers, 
the late Cutting Follansbj^, Elmer R. Gale and Edwin J. Young, 
George H. Brown, the miller and grain merchant, Herbert Dolley 



232 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

of the firm of Phelps & Dolley, while the former is of Northfield 
parentage ; one of the tirm of Smith & Smith ; Muzzey Brothers ; 
Lord Brothers; Bayley & Kogers; Morrison Brothers, and the 
Bryants. In fact, it is hard to find a firm whose interests and 
business lives are not a part of Northfield history. 

JOSEPH HILL. 
(See residence.) 

Joseph Hill (see gen., page 182) deserves a place of honor among 
our merchants, not only that his term of service in that capacity cov- 
ered his whole life, but for the extent and variety of merchandise 
handled. He began as a grocer, to which was added from time to 
time hardware, dry goods, furniture and draperies, wood, coal, ice, 
wooden ware, farming tools, paints and oils, lime and cement; in fact, 
nearly every nameable article of barter or sale, and while some of 
these lines were dropped as opportunity offered or conditions made 
expedient, he kept a strong hold on his first ambition to be a first-class 
dealer in high grade groceries. 

His association with his brother, William P., in real estate and other 
holdings was long and mutually satisfactory and profitable and lasted 
40 years. 

FRANK HILLS. 

(See Hills gen. and portrait.) 

Mr. Hills, a native and for much of his life a resident of Northfield, 
has also been for more than thirty-four years a merchant. He began 
as clerk for Enoch G. Philbrick. After four years he purchased, with 
him, the interest of Joseph Hill in the grocery business. They con- 
tinued the same line of goods in the same place until 1882, when they 
purchased- the store and stock of the late Franklin J. Eastman and 
have ever since conducted a first-class grocery store in their present 
quarters, with one or two side lines. Mr. Philbrick's term of service 
covers an equal, if not longer, term. (See Philbrick gen.) 

CHARLES P. HERRICK. 

Mr. Herrick's term of service as druggist covers nearly thirty years, 
first as partner with Franklin J. Eastman, then clerk and, later, owner 
of the business of G. F. Stevens since 1883. (See Herrick gen.) 

FRANKLIN J. EASTMAN. 

Hon. John M. Mitchell. 

Among the men whose personality and influence were dominant in 
the life of the town for a number of years, during the period of its 
later development, was Franklin Jonathan Eastman, who came to 
Northfield from Littleton in 1SG7, purchasing an estate on Park Street, 
where he made his home with his family for a time, but disposed of the 



STORES AND MERCHANTS.' 233 

same, later, to occupy the fine residence wliiclx tie erected near ttie site 
of tlie present library building. 

Mr. Eastman was a native of "Vermont, a representative of that sturdy 
type of New England character, whose impress has been felt for good 
in developing and directing the business and public life of our most 
prosperous and progressive communities. Born in Danville, Vt., June 
10, 1818, a son of Jonathan and Sarah (Heath) Eastman, he was 
educated in the public schools and at Peacham Academy, Peacham, Vt.; 
and, after attaining his majority, he went to Littleton, where his older 
brothers, Ebenezer and Cyrus, were engaged in business as partners in 
an extensive general store, and entered the employ of the firm as a 
clerk, where he remained three or four years, then removing to Barnet, 
Vt., where he formed a partnership in trade with Robert Harvey, the 
leading merchant of the town, which continued about eight years, when 
he sold out and returned to Littleton and became a partner in the 
firm with his brothers, whose business had become one of the most 
extensive in northern New Hampshire. 

Although a thorough business man and earnestly devoted to the inter- 
ests of his firm, Mr. Eastman took an active part in public affairs, and 
entered into the political life of the community as an earnest and 
aggressive member of the Democratic party, with which he had been 
allied from youth. Even in the earlier period of his residence in Lit- 
tleton, he was found actively participating in tMe caucuses and conven- 
tions of his party, it being noted that he was a member of the Littleton 
delegation in the senatorial convention of 1841 at Franconia, when, for 
the first time, the nomination for senator from old District No. 12, the 
northern district of the state, which then embraced Coos, the northern 
half of Grafton and the upper part of Carroll counties, was secured for 
a resident of Littleton, in the person of Simeon B. Johnson. The year 
of his return to the town, 1852, was characterized by a particularly 
exciting political campaign, it being a presidential year and the Demo- 
cratic candidate for the chief magistracy of the nation being that favor- 
ite son of New Hampshire — Gen. Franklin Pierce. The first campaign 
club ever organized by the Democrats in the town was formed at that 
time and was known as the "Granite Club," Mr. Eastman being its 
president. So rapidly did he gain the confidence of his party, that in 
March following, 1853, he was its nominee for moderator and was 
elected. 

From this time forward there were close and exciting contests in 
Littleton politics and Franklin J. Eastman, his brother, the late Col. 
Cyrus Eastman, and Harry and George A. Bingham, who subsequently 
became noted throughout the state, were the active leaders on the 
Democratic side. In 1863, and again in 1864, Mr. Eastman was elected 
to represent the town in the Legislature as the colleague of Harry 
Bingham and it is safe to say that no town in the state was more ably 
or faithfully represented during these exciting times of our legislative 
history, in the midst of the war period when party spirit ran high. It 



234 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

was in 1863 that an extra session of the Legislature was held, in 
August, and many "war measures" were passed, including the soldiers 
voting law, allowing the soldiers of the state to vote in the field or 
wherever stationed and return to be made to the towns of their resi- 
dence, which measure the Democrats generally opposed as unconstitu- 
tional. Mr. Eastman and his colleague were, naturally, found opposing 
this measure. In both years of his legislative service Mr. Eastman was 
assigned to duty by the speaker, Hon. "William E. Chandler, upon the 
important committee on railroads and his judgment and sagacity were 
found of constant value in the worlt of the committee. 

Mr. Eastman, who, in 1858, had withdrawn from the old firm and 
established himself independently in business on Main Street, not only 
continued active in the mercantile and political life of the town, but 
also kept up the interest he had taken from the first, in all matters 
pertaining to its material development and progress, and the general 
welfare of the community. He was an active member of the fire com- 
pany, organized for the protection of the village property and largely 
composed of the business men of the place; was for a time a director 
in the White Mountains Railroad and was instrumental in the estab- 
lishment of a telegraph line, the first telegraph office being located in 
his store. 

He was also active in educational matters. He participated conspic- 
uously in the movement which resulted in the consolidation of the 
village school districts into a union district under the "Somersworth 
Act", and upon the organization of the district he was chosen a mem- 
ber of both the prudential and superintending committees. 

Soon after this Mr. Eastman disposed of his business and real estate 
interests in Littleton and in the following year took up his residence 
in Northfield, establishing himself in business in general trade on the 
Tilton side of the river, where he continued for many years, until final 
retirement sometime before his death, April 27, 1893. 

The measure of confidence and respect which he won for himself at 
once in the town of his adoption and the interest which he evinced in 
Its public affairs, is shown by the fact that at the next annual election, 
in March, 18G8, he was chosen to represent Northfield in the Legislature, 
his assignment that year being to the committee on elections. For 16 
successive years, from 1873 to 1888, inclusive, he held the responsible 
position of town treasurer and, while he was a model of promptness 
and accuracy in the discharge of his ordinary official duty, it is also 
safe to say that to his judgment and sagacity, as evinced by the sound 
practical suggestions in his annual reports, in his advice often sought 
by the selectmen in the management of town affairs and frankly given 
whenever occasion demanded at the annual town meetings, is due, in 
no small measure, the economical administration and financial pros- 
perity which the town enjoyed during this period. 

Here, as in Littleton, Mr. Eastman took an interest in all matters of 
public concern and it is noted that here he was an earnest supporter 
and, indeed, a prim.e mover of the project for the establishment of a 



STORES AND MERCHANTS. 235 

union school district, including the village portions of the towns of 
Northfield and Tilton, giving the land for the site of the first school- 
house, which also constitutes a part of the present lot. He also con- 
tributed the site for the Hall Memorial Library, giving the same in 
the name of his daughter, Mrs. Charles B. Tilton. He was prominent 
in the movement for the formal celebration of the one hundredth anni- 
versary^ of the settlement of the town, in 1883, being a member and 
treasurer of the committee of arrangements having the matter in 
charge. 

Mr. Eastman was a man of positive convictions and uncompromising 
fidelity thereto. He always had a reason for his position and was 
earnest and even aggressive in presenting the same whenever occasion 
required. He was an interesting conversationalist, a forcible speaker 
and a vigorous and graceful writer, as was shown by his interesting 
chapter of Littleton histoi'y, contributed on the occasion of the centen- 
nial of that town in 1884, his subject being, "The Relations of Littleton 
and Vermont." As a correspondent of The Laconia Democrat for a long 
series of years he not only presented the news from the vicinity in a 
lucid and comprehensive manner, but often discussed public questions 
with a clearness and cogency seldom surpassed by the professional jour- 
nalist. Conspicuous in his correspondence is found a description of 
the new town hall of Tilton, on its completion in 1880, published in 
The Democrat and reproduced in the Sanbornton town history. 

On November 25, 1841, Mr. Eastman was united in marriage with 
Lima H., daughter of Socrates and Mary (Bullock) Tuttle, of Barnet, 
Vt., born September 7, 1820, who died June 26, 1901. Her father was 
an uncle of the distinguished New Jersey lawyer of the same name, 
whose daughter became the wife of the late Garret A. Hobart, subse- 
quently vice-president of the United States. They had children as 
follows: 

1. Frank Tuttle, born in Littleton, September, 1842; died in Barnet, 
Vt, October 24, 1848. 

2. Alice Murray, born in Barnet, Vt., in 1845; died in Littleton, Feb- 
ruary 17, 1856. 

3. Lima J., born in Barnet, Vt., in 1846; married George H. Ellis of 
Newton, Mass. 

4. Edward Dana, born in Barnet, Vt., May, 1849; died in Barnet, Sep- 
tember 20, 1850. 

5. Edward F., born in Barnet, Vt., in 1851; died in Littleton, May 
9, 1863. 

6. Mary Adelia, born in Littleton, April 16, 1853; married Joshua P. 
Dennis of Tilton. 

7. Kate, born in Littleton in 1856; married Harvey Weeks; died in 
New Jersey in 1886. 

8. Elma Genieve, born in Littleton in 1859; married Charles E. Til- 
ton of Tilton, December 29, 1881. 

9. George W., born in Littleton, February 22, 1861; died April 27, 
1893. 






CHAPTER XVI. 

MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 

Stephen Chase was among the first to utilize 
water power in Northfield. Bradstreet Moody 
owned a dam across the Winnipiseogee on the 
north end of w^hich he had a variety of business. 
Mr. Chase brought down some of his flowage 
water and established a carding and fulling 
mill in 1798 which he conducted until his death. 
(See Chase gen.) He also kept tavern in the 
old house still standing at the entrance to Bay 
Street. (See cut.) He was engaged in much 
business and was a man of wealth. His daugh- 
ter, the wife of Archibald Clark, inherited the mill and water 
power and after occupying it a few years sold, in 1826, to Jere- 
miah Tilton. 

It may seem to us a queer custom, but the blankets in which 
the "rolls" were returned were invariably fastened with thorns. 
Mr. Chase, with an eye to future needs, planted thorn bushes on 
the waste land by the river bank. Mill, manufacturer, cards and 
rolls long since disappeared, but the thorn hedge, like "the evil 
that men do," lives after him to the discomfort and damage of 
the dwellers in the vicinity of Emery Street and Howard Avenue. 

CARDING AND FULLING MILL— BENJAMIN CHASE. 

After the sale of the mill by the upper dam and the death of 
Stephen Chase, his son, Benjamin, who had been associated Avith 
him, erected a carding and fulling mill w^here the optical works 
now stand. It was two stories in height and the carding was 
done in the upper story. Mr. Chase built and occupied the home 
of the late Hon. Asa P. Cate and was a man of inherited wealth 
and large business. He was a good story teller and great humor- 
ist. He was active in church work and a Sunday School teacher 
for years. 




CHARLES G. CHASE. 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 237 

This business declined after factories were established and 
cloth could be bought cheaper than manufactured at home. lie 
sold to j\Ioses jMorrill and removed to Lowell, ]Mass., where he 
spent the remainder of his life. The old building remained 
many years and finally burned. 

A sketch and portrait of his son, Charles G. Chase, may not 
be out of place here as he, in memory of his father, was the gen- 
erous giver of the Chase Free Library to Union Church at North- 
field Depot in 1883. (See page 51.) 

CHARLES GREENOUGH CHASE. 

(See portrait.) 

Charles Greenough, son of Benjamin and Hannah (Hall) Chase, was 
born at Northfield, July 5, 1827. He removed with his father to Lowell, 
Mass., when 14 years of age. He graduated from the Lowell High 
School and afterwards continued his education in Dracut, Mass. 

His first business relations were with the firm of Shapleigh & Kelsey 
of Boston, remaining with them until 1849, when the wholesale grocery 
firm of Peters, Chase & Co. was established. In 1860 this firm built a 
store at 22 Central Street and made a specialty of importing tea. In 
1879 the firm was dissolved and Mr. Chase retired from active business. 

Mr. Chase was connected with the Mercantile Library Association 
and was one of its most prominent members. He was for several years 
a trustee of Wheaton Seminary, also of the Homeopathic Hospital in 
Boston. He was at one time president of the Mason Regulator Com- 
pany. It was he who arranged with Hon. Edward Everett and some 
others for the special celebration of Washington's birthday and pre- 
sented the petition to the Legislature which made it a legal holiday. 
He was the devoted superintendent of the Sunday School of Harvard 
Church, Brookline, Mass., for 15 years. 

For seven years Mr. Chase resided at McLean Street and four years 
on Hancock Street, Boston. In November, 1870, he purchased a home 
in Brookline, which he occupied until his death. 

On the completion of Union Church, Northfield, Mr. Chase gave a 
library of 180 choice books, which has been a means of much pleasure 
as well as profit to its many patrons. From time to time he sent 
humane and temperance literature to the library and to the Northfield 
schools. He was the author of a sweet little idyl, "That Old Man and 
His Dream," written during a summer spent at the White Mountains. 

Mr. Chase was a man of sterling qualities. He was benevolent in 
disposition, unostentatious in his charities, and schools, hospitals and 
churches received his benefits when most needed, with rare discrimin- 
ation. 

He married Relief Judith McQuesten of Plymouth. He died very sud- 
denly on the train between Boston and his home in Brookline, Novem- 
ber 8, 1894. Mrs. Chase died May 6, 1901. 



238 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Children: Mary, born at Boston, Mass., December 7, 1855; died at 
Brookline, Mass., July 15, 1891. Charles Percy, born at Boston, March 
30, 1858; died at Boston, March 15, 1864. Walter Greenough, born at 
Boston May 30, 1859; graduate of Harvard University and Harvard 
Medical College. 

JEREMIAH TILTON. 

(See residence.) 

In 1826 Jeremiah Tilton, or as he was called, "Squire Jerry," bought 
the site and privilege where now stands the George H. Tilton hosiery 
mills of Mrs. Archibald Clark for $400. It was inherited from her 
father's estate, the late Stephen Chase's. There was a little mill on it, 
one story in height, one half of which served as a dwelling house. 
The work was carding wool into rolls and fulling and naping cloth 
that had been woven by hand in the homes around. 

Mr. Tilton soon put in a brick basement, added a few jacks and looms 
and put on the market his own style of goods, called satinets. He 
sold, later, to the Lake Company for $5,000' a part of his right, but 
reserved enough to always operate a certain amount of machinery. He 
removed his family, in 1830, to his newly-erected brick house. (See 
cut.) He married, December 9, 1816, Nancy Carter of Concord. 

His first start in business was made at Chase's Brook in Franklin, 
where he had a carding and fulling mill. In 1820 a freshet swept his 
mill down into the Pemigewasset, whereupon he sold the privilege and 
returned to Sanbornton Bridge and bought as stated above. Mr. Tilton 
was twice burned out and twice rebuilt, enlarging each time, and was 
associated for many years with his son, Jeremiah C. (see portrait), in 
the same business. In 1860 they sold to James Bailey of Lawrence 
and retired from business. 

He was an honest, upright man and a respected citizen. In politics 
he was a Whig and, later, a Republican and though living in a Demo- 
cratic town was often elected to office. Socially Mr. and Mrs. Tilton 
were large hearted, sincere and true. He represented the town in the 
Legislature of 1858. He died suddenly at the Bromfield House, Boston, 
January 23, 1863, aged 69. She survived 19 years, a woman of remarlv' 
able vigor and intelligence. 

COPP'S GRISTMILL. 

The old Morrill fulling mill was some years later replaced by 
a gristmill, where William Norton of Factory Village (now 
Franklin Falls) had charge of a prosperous business. The mill 
w^as the property of Mr. Copp. James Earnshaw had a shoddy 
mill in the second story and, later, added a few looms and con- 
tinued in business until the burning of the mill in 1867. Mr. 
Copp replaced this mill for Richard Firth. (See Elm ]\Iills.) 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 239 

MR. JAMES BAILEY. 

Mr. Bailey came to Northfield from Lawrence in 1860 and purchased 
the mill known as Jere Tilton's satinet mill and put out the same line 
of goods for one year. He then made army blue for the soldiers during 
the war. He then put in broad looms and began the manufacture of 
all-wool goods in variety and also made yarn. Black and white 
checked goods were his specialty, when he sold out, in 1865, to Messrs. 
Fletcher, Firth and Ballantyne. 

GRANITE MILLS. 

In 1865 John and William Fletcher, with Richard Firth and 
Adam S. Ballantyne of IMethuen, bought the Bailey Mill and 
continued the manufacture of many lines of woolen goods. Their 
business increased and soon after the mill was enlarged, another 
story added, improved motive power installed, more and broader 
looms added and the capacity of the plant doubled and many 
varieties of dress goods, blankets, etc., were made for 25 years. 

In 1871 Mr. Firth sold his interest to the other partners and 
took the newly-erected factory of Mr. Hazen Copp and gave it 
the name of Elm IMills. 

The Granite Mills, after a short ownership by Mr. Parsons 
and later by the Kearsarge Woolen Co., were sold, in 1891, to 
G. H. Tilton, the present owner. 

EXEMPTION FROM TAXATION. 

The citizens of Northfield have ever been generous with those 
who sought to establish new industries among them. In 1867 
they first voted to exempt from taxation for a term of 10 years 
the Granite jNIills, which had been enlarged with the view to in- 
creased business, since which time any and all new firms locating 
on our water front have been exempted for an equal term. In 
1880, Buell's Mill and business; in 1872, the Elm Mills; in 1895, 
the Britton Hosiery Co. and, later, W. H. Carter's w^oolen mill 
and Clark & Dodge's hosiery mill in 1889. To show the readi- 
ness of our citizens, the following from the records of the town 
is incontestible proof: 

"At a special meeting Oct 31. 1891 lasting just 46 minutes it 
was voted to exempt for ten years George H. Tilton's Hosiery 
Mill and machinery also the Kearsarge Woolen Co. & the capital 
stock and machinery of 0. and E. Morrison." 



240 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

ADAM S. BALLANTYNE. 

Mr. Ballantyne was born in Scotland, September 29, 1833, and came 
from Metliuen to Northfield in 18G5. He was, from the first, a loyal 
citizen of his adopted town and generously contributed to whatever 
had for its object the betterment of the community. 

He was a man of high moral standards and of more than ordinary 
mental ability; an earnest temperance advocate and assisted largely in 
freeing the village from saloons. Northfield honored herself in sending 
him to the Legislature of 1881 and in choosing him president of the 
day at her centennial anniversary. 

He united with the Congregational Church in 1867; has served as 
superintendent of its Sunday School, and been a generous contributor 
to its many lines of work. After a residence of 15 years in the brick 
house by the mill he removed to Tilton and since his retirement from, 
the Granite Mills has been employed in similar work at the Tilton 
Mills. He is a member of Doric Lodge, A. P. and A. M., a trustee of 
Hall Library and long a member of Union District board of education 
and president of lona Savings Bank. 

He married, December 7, 1865, Mittie Clough, daughter of Jeremiah 
and Nancy Carter Tilton. They have five children. (See Ballantyne 
gen.) 

ELM MILLS AND RICHARD FIRTH. 1824-1898. 
(See portrait.) 

The subject of this sketch, Richard Firth, who was so closely con- 
nected with Northfield welfare for more than a third of a century, 
was born in Dewsbury, Yorkshire County, Eng., on the tenth day of 
February, 1824. His parents were in very hymble circumstances and 
he was obliged to go to work, at the age of eight, in order to help sup- 
port the large family. When about 20 he resolved to go to America 
and after a long and stormy voyage landed in Boston, September 4, 
1844. I have often heard him relate that his only capital was a deter- 
mination to succeed and a robust constitution, for when his passage 
was paid there was little left in which to start life in a new country 
without friends or any situation in view. 

Mr. Firth secured work in the mill at Ballardvale, Mass., and grad- 
ually rose to positions of responsibility, when the gold discovery in 
California caused him to give up his situation and he accordingly 
sailed from Boston around the Horn and reached California at the 
height of the excitement, but his longing for mill life called him back 
after an absence of two years and soon after his return he married 
Agnes Morrison oj Ballardvale, who became his loving and efficient 
helpmate through life. Mrs. Fifth died in 1890 after prolonged suf- 
fering. 

In 1865, in company with A. S. Ballantyne and John and William 
Fletcher, he came to Northfield and opened the Granite Mill, so-called. 




RICHARD FIRTH. 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 241 

which mill they successfully operated for many years. Later, Mr. 
Firth severed his connection with the firm and began the manufacture 
of woolen goods in the white mill built by Hazen Copp, Esq., and now 
occupied by the Tilton Optical Company. This business Mr. Firth 
conducted to within a few years of his death and as a manufacturer 
he was eminently successful, and it is a matter of record that in all 
his dealing with labor he had no trouble or misunderstanding. 

Personally a very hard working man, at the mill early and late, with 
a knowledge of all departments such as few men possess, he inspired 
all by his energy and zeal. This success was only accomplished through 
many reverses, but his strong determination conquered all obstacles 
and I am sure the citizens of Northfield will uphold me when I say 
that he was one of her foremost captains of industry. 

Not of those who sound their own praise, but one of those who was 
content to work quietly, unassumingly and who have their reward in 
gaining the goal striven for through earnest, patient endeavor. As a 
citizen of the sister town of Tilton Mr. Firth was honored by being 
chosen selectman several times (under his term the upper iron bridge 
was built), and also as her representative to the Legislature in 18S1, 
as well as minor positions of trust. 

Although not a member, he was a constant attendant of the Con- 
gregational Church and has left a substantial token of his interest in 
the form of the Agnes Firth Memorial Fund, a perpetual legacy. The 
Tilton and Northfield Library was also remembered in his will, which 
shows how close he held the church and town of his adoption in his 
heart. 

Mr. Firth was also a generous contributor to all worthy objects and 
many people have been helped and encouraged in time of need by him 
in his quiet way. He departed this life October 7, 1898, after a short 
illness and was buried with full Masonic honors. His body lies at rest 
in the old South Cemetery in Andover, Mass., beside his faithful wife. 
A son, Ray W., of Newark, N. J., is his sole survivor. An adopted 
daughter, Mary Ella, died February 27, 1876, aged 13 years. 

In concluding this sketch it might be well to add that his reward in 
this life for a hard fought battle was the satisfaction that it had been 
achieved by upright dealing with all men and perseverance, an ex- 
ample v/e all would do well to copy. 

ARCH MILLS. 

Mr. Charles Green of England and A. L. Hilton of Maine, in 
1890, leased the Elm Mills of Richard Firth and changed the 
name to Arch Mills, where, with three sets of machinery and a 
force of 40 assistants, they made fine dress goods and cloakings. 
Their stay was short and the business passed to Mr. W. H. Carter 
and E. P. Parsons. The latter also purchased the Granite Mills, 
17 



242 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

where he manufactured doeskins and blankets. They remained 
less than a year, the Granite Mills Co. taking the upper mill and 
E. G. IMorrison, with Mr. Carter, the Arch Mills. This business 
passed, in 1892, to 0. & E. Morrison, who had just vacated the 
Clark & Dodge Mill, and at once restored its former name, "The 
Elm Mills." 

OBE G. MORRISON. 
(See portrait.) 

Northfield's greatest pride is in its citizenship; the men and women 
who go to make up the working force in its every day life and assure 
its present and future progress and solidity. A farmer's son may not 
have the softest place in the world, yet it often proves to be a good 
training-school. Mr. Morrison, the subject of this sketch, remained 
with his father on the farm until past 16 years of age, when he was 
employed one year at the home of C. B. Tilton. He then entered the 
Granite Mills at $1 a day as scourer of wool, passing from that, in 
course, through the various grades of the business until the whole 
routine was accomplished, some two years in all. He then passed to 
the Elm Mills, with Richard Firth, where he remained for 20 years, a 
good school, indeed, for a prospective manufacturer, as it gave him an 
insight into all the details of a successful business. 

In connection with this Mr. Morrison resided on and managed the 
homestead farm; tore down the old buildings and erected new ones 
and with pardonable pride set himself to making his surroundings 
second to none. Rocks were removed, grounds graded, fields leveled, 
orchard and shade trees planted, cattle and horses improved, a heavy 
mortgage lifted and all the conveniences attached to a well ordered 
estate secured. These were but a few of the many things accomplished 
in those busy years. The increase of the manufacturing interests, how- 
ever, made a change necessary. The farm was passed over to other 
members of the family and a home erected nearer the village. 

Mr. Morrison married, January 1, 1874, Mary Munsey of Gilford, and 
has one daughter, Edith, wife of Walter Booth, connected with the 
firm. They reside in the home and have a son, Howard Morrison 
Booth, born January 16, 1903. (See gen.) Mr. Morrison, though loaded 
with the many exacting details of every day business, finds time to 
devote to many other matters. He served the town as representative 
in 1S86 and has been one of its selectmen for several terms. Besides, 
he has served the educational interests of Union District as one of 
the board. He was one of the committee for the construction of the 
new Union graded schoolhouse and from his familiarity with and often 
personal encounters with fire has both experience and fitness for the 
position he holds at the head of the fire department. 

He united with the Congregational Church when 17 years of age and 




OBE G. MORRISON. 




MRS. OBE G. MORRISON. 




E. G. MORRISON. 




MRS. E. G. MORRISON. 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 243 

has since been actively identified with all its lines of Christian work 
and was for a long term superintendent of its Sunday School. His 
wife nobly seconds his labors in all these lines and they are both ever 
ready with sympathy and material aid to assist any one in trouble 
or in want. 

EDWIN G. MORRISON. 

(See portrait.) 

Edwin G. Morrison was born at Gilford in 1862 and after his father's 
death in 1863 remained there with his grandparents. He was educated 
in the public schools of Gilford, Union Graded School and a short time 
at Tilton Seminary. He had a practical turn and his education did 
not stop with his leaving school. He spent one year in California and 
on his return began his life work as a mill hand for Richard Firth, who 
sent him to assist in a mill at Ashland, of which Mr. Firth was part 
owner and proprietor. He became a close student of methods and 
every detail of the prosperous business in which every onward step 
was the result of proficiency in the one below. The work just suited 
him and into it he threw his whole energy and enthusiasm. 

He married, February 28, 1891, Carrie B. Glines of Northfield, who 
by her energy and devotion to his interests has done much to ensure 
success. She was for years his eificient bookkeeper and has rare exec- 
utive ability and a strong and pleasing personality. Her leadership 
of the arrangements of the Old Home celebration in 1901 clearly demon- 
strated her ability in larger matters than the management of her own 
household and her prompt and wise decisions make her a natural leader. 
Mr. and Mrs. Morrison are members of the Country Club, a social or- 
ganization of Lowell, and he is also of the Vesper Club of Tyngsboro 
Island. He is besides a member of the Home Market Club and a mem- 
ber of Friendship Grange. 

O. & E. MORRISON. ELM MILLS WOOLEN CO. 

In 1888 Mr. Morrison became a.ssociated with his nephew, Ed- 
win G. Llorrison and began the manufacture of shoddy on the 
Tilton end of the upper dam, where, M'ith a building and base- 
ment and less than half a dozen help, they conducted an increas- 
ing business until they were burned out, rebuilt and had a second 
loss within a year. They then occupied a part of the Clark Mill 
and with one card, one picker and one man they soon grew to fill 
the entire building and their output came to average 1,000 pounds 
daily. They here first used that wonderful product called wool 
extract, which completely revolutionized the business. They here 
suffered a third loss by fire and great loss of valuable material 
put in but a day previous. 



244 ■ HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

On the retirement of ]\Ir. Firth from the Elm Mills and the 
departure of Messrs. Green and Hilton and their successors, the 
Kearsarge Woolen Co., in 1892, IMessrs. 0. & E. Morrison bought 
the business and machinery, leased the building and began the 
manufacture of repellants and ladies' dress goods and cloakings. 
Busy, prosperous years followed. The mill was twice enlarged, 
until it became double its original dimensions, and many lines of 
goods produced. 

In 1898 they retired from the Elm jMills, taking the name with 
them, and leased the mill of the Britain Mfg. Co. on the lower 
dam. Here they erected other necessary buildings and have 
since manufactured exclusively woolen dress goods. Mr. E. G. 
Morrison, while remaining a joint owner and director in this 
business, in 1902 leased the Merrimack Mills at Lowell, where 
he conducts on an extensive scale the manufacture of the same 
line of goods. Their goods are sold exclusively by Derry, Miliken 
& Co., New York City. 

CLARK MILL. 

Jeremiah G. Clark of Franklin, in 1888, erected a brick mill, 
46 by 92, three stories in height near the Granite ]\Iill and on 
the same power. Here he began the manufacture of Shaker 
seamless hosiery. After a few months he received into partner- 
ship Arthur M. Dodge, who was engaged in the same business 
across the river. This mill, after the death of Mr. Clark a few 
years later and the removal of Mr. Dodge to Hampton, was taken 
by 0. & E. Morrison for the manufacture of shoddy, until their 
removal to the Elm Mills. It is now a part of the G. H. Tilton 
Hosiery Mills plant. 

STEAM MILL. 

John W. and Charles Pease came to Northfield from Meredith 
in 1887 and established the manufacture of builders' supplies 
and boxes on the cove at the foot of Howard Avenue. After a 
few years it passed to the ownership of James Copp and, later, 
to Jason Foss, and still later to Ray W. Firth. It was sold, in 
1897, to John S. York, who removed the business, in 1903, to a 
new shop near the fair grounds. The former site and buildings 
are now the property of C. L. True and a carriage repair and 
wheelwright shop has been established by Corson of Lebanon and 




CARTER'S MILLS. 




PLANT OF THE GEO. H. TILTON & SON HOSIERY CO. 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 245 

the adjoining building used as a paint shop by Mr. Carter of the 
same place. 

TILTON HOSIERY CO. 

The Tilton Hosiery Co. consisted of George E. Buell, presi- 
dent; Courtland Boynton, treasurer; James P. Osborne, Henry 
A. Buell and Charles F. Buell. They erected a mill, in 1880, on 
the south end of the upper Tilton dam, the site of the Morrison 
tannery, of 70 horse power. They commenced the manufacture 
of hosiery with two sets of machinery and their regular output 
became 100 dozen per day with 50 hands. The capacity of the 
mill was doubled in 1884 and fine grade machinery introduced. 
The output became 250 dozens daily and 120 hands were em- 
ployed. The business was closed out in 1895 and the cards and 
spinning machinery became the property of A. D. Carter. 

carter's mill. 
(See cut.) 

In 1899 Albert D. Carter of Lowell, Mass., purchased the Buell 
Hosiery Mill property and, together with E. G. IMorrison of the 
firm of 0. & E. Morrison, installed machinery for the manufac- 
ture of woolen goods of various grades and styles. They con- 
tinued in business together until 1902, when Mr. Carter pur- 
chased Mr. Morrison's interest. The property has since been 
improved and additional machinery added from time to time and 
is now equipped with five sets of cards and 40 broad looms, to- 
gether with spinning and finishing machinery. 

The output is about 35,000 yards of 54-incli goods monthly; 
about 50 hands are employed at the present time (1905) and 
the monthly pay roll approximates $2,500, with Albert S. Carter, 
superintendent. 

G. H. TILTON 'S HOSIERY MILL. 
(See group cut.) 

The Granite Mill and the adjoining mill of Clark and Dodge, 
with other contiguous property, became, in 1891, the property of 
G. H. Tilton & Son of Laconia. Their business is scattered in 
a number of states, with mills at Laconia, Tilton, Columbia, S. C, 
and Savannah, Ga., with main office in Northfield. They employ 
in all about 1,000 operatives. Their production is very large 



246 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

and is confined entirely to children's cotton hosiery of many 
styles and kinds. Their goods are sold throughout the whole 
United States. (See Tilton gen., page 307; also, portrait and 
sketch. ) 

GEORGE HENRY TILTON. 
(See portrait.) 

Mr. George Henry Tilton, the well known hosiery manufacturer of 
Laconia, Northfleld and elsewhere, was born in Dorchester, May 13, 
1845. He was the son of Joseph Sullivan Tilton, boi'n at East North- 
field in 1818. (See page 307, also supplement.) His early life was 
passed in California, returning with his parents in 1857. He was 
educated in the public schools and Gilford Academy. 

When the Civil War broke out he enlisted, September 14, 1861, in 
Company D (the Laconia company) of the Fourth New Hampshire 
Regiment of Volunteers and served three years. In the employ of his 
father he learned the details of the hosiery manufacturing industry, 
which business he for many years carried on at Laconia. In 1891 he 
purchased the Jeremiah Tilton Mills in Northfield, which he, with his 
son, Elmer S. Tilton, are running at the present time successfully, pro- 
ducing hosiery in large quantities and employing several hundred 
hands. They have also large manufacturing interests in the South. 

Mr. Tilton is a member of the New Hampshire Society of Colonial 
Wars; John L. Perley, Jr., Post, No. 37, G. A. R.; the New England 
Society of California Pioneers; and of Masonic fraternities as follows: 
Mt. Lebanon Lodge, A. F. and A. M.; Union Chapter, Pythagorian Coun- 
cil, and Pilgrim Commandery, K. T.; also a thirty-second degree Mason, 
being a member of Edward A. Raymond Consistory of Nashua. 

He was married at Laconia June 19, 1866, to Marietta, daughter of 
Osgood and Mary Lamprey Randlett of Upper Gilmanton (now Bel- 
mont), who died, August 15, 1874, leaving one son, Elmer S. Tilton. 
Mr. Tilton married (second), April 11, 1883, in Columbia, S. C, Calista 
E. Brown, daughter of David and Hannah Fox Brown of Sanbornton. 
Mrs. Tilton died October 9, 1901. He married (third) at San Jose, 
Cal., September 2, 1902, Julia Caroline Greene of San Mateo County. 
He resides at Laconia. 

ELMER STEPHEN TILTON. 
(See portrait.) 

Elmer Stephen Tilton, who is associated with his father in the manu- 
facture of hosiery in Northfield, was a graduate of Laconia High School, 
class of 1887. He retains his residence in Laconia and represented 
Ward Three in the Legislature of 1897-'98. He was also state senator 
for the Sixth District in 1903 and 1904. 

Fraternally Mr. Tilton is a member of the various Masonic frater- 
nities and of Mt. Belknap Lodge, No. 20, Knights of Pythias. He is a 




GEORGE HENRY TILTON. 




ELMER STEPHEN TILTON. 



MILLS AND MANUFACTURERS. 247 

past master of Mt. Lebanon Lodge, No. 32, A. F. and A. M., and past 
eminent commander of Pilgrim Commandery, Knights Templar. Mr. 
Tilton is a thirty-second degree Mason and member of Edward A. Ray- 
mond Consistory of Nashua and also a member of Aleppo Temple, 
Mystic Shrine, of Boston, Mass. He married, in 1892, Lillian G. Har- 
rington of Laconia and has three sons, Charles Henry, Elmer Har- 
rington and Kenneth Joseph. 

BRITAIN MANUFACTURING CO. 

Id 1893 Francis B. Fay came to Northfield from Cambridge, 
Mass., and erected a mill for the manufacture of hosiery on the 
lower dam. A building, first-class in all its details, was erected 
by D. M. Page, which was completed in 1894. The machinery 
was all imported and but a part of the power was ever devel- 
oped. The manufactured goods were fine hosiery. 

Mr. Fay had previously studied law and for various reasons 
gave up the business after five years and, leasing the mill to 
Messrs. 0. & E. Morrison, enlarged and fitted it for the manufac- 
ture of woolen dress goods, selling the hosiery machinery to A. 
L. Sulloway of Franklin Falls, and returned to the practice of 
law. 

TILTON OPTICAL COMPANY. 
(See cut.) 

This company was incorporated under the laws of the State of 
Maine in 1902 and acquired the property of the Lord Bros. Mfg. 
Co. It was exempted from taxation for a term of 10 years. It 
manufactures spectacle and eyeglass lenses. It is one of three 
similar manufactories in this country and the only one to sell to 
the retail trade. It has a capacity of 2,000 dozen pairs of spec- 
tacle lenses per week and employs 75 hands with a pay roll of 
about $40,000 annually. The work consumes about 25 tons of 
optical glass yearly, which is imported principally from Ger- 
many. 

Much of the automatic machinery is the invention and has been 
designed and built by Lucien W. Bugbee, who is also the man- 
ager of the plant, of which Dr. Seth W. Jones of Franklin is 
president and Arthur T. Cass is treasurer. More than 60,000 
different combinations of lenses are made. 

Martin Copeland & Co., of Providence, R. I., manufacturers 
of jewelry and fine spectacle and eyeglass frames, are largely 



248 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

interested in the business and handle the greater part of the 
product through their offices in New York, Chicago and Provi- 
dence. One of the three surface grinding machines used in the 
work is the largest of the kind in the world, being 85 feet long 
and weighing with its tools more than 40 tons. It has over 200 
spindles and operates on some 15,000 lenses simultaneously. 

The building has about 20,000 square feet of floor space, all of 
which is given up to the manufacture of optical goods. The sev- 
eral water-wheels deliver approximately 125 horse power, one 
machine alone requiring from 40 to 60. The buildings were for- 
merly used by the Elm Mills Woolen Co. and this water-power 
was one of the first in town to be developed. 



CHAPTER XVII. 

BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 

Ned Deakborx, D. Sc, 
Assistant Curator of Birds, Field Columbian Museum, Chicago, 111. 

No other class of animals attract so much popular attention as 
birds. And what wonder, for, in the elements of beauty in form 
and color, melodious songs and engaging ways, they are the peers 
of the animal kingdom. "We all love birds for what they are, 
and cherish them for what they do for us as esthetic and economic 
forces. Yet few people know by name a dozen birds, when, with 
a little attention, they might as well know a hundred. 

This chapter has been written with the hope that it will en- 
able, especially, such inquisitive boys and girls as see much of 
the woods and fields, yet have access to but few books, to learn 
the names of the birds that are familiar to their eyes and ears 
but are unknown because, to them, unnamed. 

All of the species mentioned have been seen in town or in the 
immediate vicinity by the writer or some other observer whom 
he considers trustworthy. The descriptions, though necessarily 
brief, touch diagnostic points, both as to families and species, 
and, with a little experience in observing birds, will prove suf- 
ficient. 

There is an evident relation between the habits of birds and 
their structure ; those of different habits differing also in makeup. 
Thus we may divide them according to general habits into two 
primary groups^ namely : Water Birds and Land Birds, each of 
which is well adapted for existence in its accepted element, but 
illy designed for surroundings that suit the other. Now while 
Water Birds and Land Birds, each group taken as a whole, pre- 
sent great contrasts, the constituents of either group when com- 
pared with one another show lesser contrasts in size, form, color 
or habits by which they in turn are differentiated. These con- 
trasts, then, large and little, are to be the basis of this review of 
the birds of Northfield. 



250 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

WATER BIRDS. 

Although the "Water Birds are adapted for aquatic living, their 
adaptations are several, and their appearances widely varied. 

The Divers. (Order, Pygopodes.) 
Here belong the grebes, loons and auks, which live on fish and 
other water creatures procured by diving. They agree in having 
narrow pointed bills and small wings, and in having their legs 
attached to the posterior end of the body, — the better for rapid 
swimming. 

The Grebe Family. (Podicipidae.) 

Grebes have very broad toes, with wide. Hat 
Wide, flat toes. nails, webbed together only at the base. The Hol- 
BOELL Grebe {Colymhus Jiolboellii) is a rare mi- 
grant. Its bill is as long as its head, and both jaws taper grad- 
ually to a sharp point. In spring it has a chestnut-red neck, but 
in the fall and winter it is gray, like all the other grebes in those 
seasons, but it may always be known by its superior size. Length, 
about 18 inches. The Horned Grebe {Colymhus aiiritus), also 
a scarce migrant, has a bill shorter than its head, thus differing 
from the last with which it agrees, however, in having both man- 
dibles gradually tapering to a point. It is named from having 
long feathers on each side of its head in spring, which fluff out, 
suggesting horns. Length, about 14 inches. The Pied-billed 
Grebe {Podilymhus podiceps) is similar in size to the last, but 
it may be distinguished at once by its bill, of which the upper 
mandible is arched toward the tip, making its contour quite un- 
like that of the lower mandible, and the tip of the bill rather 
obtuse. In spring it has a black bar across each side of the bill, 
whence its name. This grebe is less rare than the others and a 
possible breeder. Its nest is a floating structure of rushes and 
flags usually in a marsh. Length, 12 to 14 inches. 
The Loon Family. (Gaviidae.) 
Loons are large divers, having the three front 
Front toes full- -^q^,^ f^^n webbed. The Common Loon {Gavia im- 

we e . ac j^. -^ ^ summer resident on the lakes and an oc- 

gray or spotted. . 

Size large. casional visitor to our local waters. In sprmg 

and summer its head is dark green, its back is 
black, profusely marked with squarish spots of white, and its un- 
der parts are white. A collar of alternate black and white verti- 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 251 

cal stripes sinTOimds its neck. Fall and winter birds are plain 
gray above, but their large size affords an easy means of identifi- 
cation. Length, 33 inches or more. Nest on shore quite near 
water. The Eed-throated Loon {Gavia liimme) is a rarity, but 
it is to be expected at intervals as a fall migrant. Adults are 
ashy gray above, white beneath, and chestnut on the throat. 
Young specimens have gray backs with numerous small, round 
spots of white. Length, 30 inches or less. 

The Auk Family. (Alcidae.) 

The auks belong to the sea, and appear here only by accident 
or by an unusual and unexplainable tide of migration. They 
have webbed toes like the loons, but their backs are solid black 
and under parts clear white at all seasons. BRUNNteH Murres 
{TJria lomvia) appeared in the fall of 1900 on Lakes Winnepe- 
saukee and Winnisquam, and one specimen was picked up by the 
roadside on Bean Hill where it had fallen exhausted, unable to 
continue its flight. The entire upper parts of this murre, as it 
appears here, are black, excepting a narrow bar of white on the 
wings. Length, 16 to 19 inches. The Dovekie {Alle alle) has 
been found at various times in different portions of the state as 
far inland as this, and at least once in Merrimack County, so it 
must be considered a possibility here. Its appearance is prob- 
ably due to a heavy east or northeast storm, which carries the 
unwilling migrant away from its beloved ocean. It is colored 
like the last species, but it is only about 8y2 inches long. 

The Long-Winged Swimmers. (Order, Longipenncs.) 

This division is composed of the gulls and terns and a few 
allies. They feed on fish, aquatic insects and — the gulls at least — 
on floating garbage. Though their food is similar to that of the 
divers, their manner of hunting it, and consequently their struc- 
ture, are very different. These birds are to the sea what hawks 
and swifts and swallows are to the land. They hunt by flying 
hither and yon over the water ever on the lookout for a mouthful. 
Their webbed feet come into play only when food is captured or 
when there is need of rest. Large of wing, legs hung medially, 
feet webbed, usually seen flying — these are characteristics of the 
long-winged swimmers. They are abundant about the larger 



252 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

bodies of water but only appear here as stragglers from the sea, 
usually by way of the Merrimack River. 

The Herring GStULl {Larus argentatus) appears like a large 
white hawk flapping leisurely at some distance above the water 
which it scans for floating fish or garbage. Adults are pale blue 
on the back and white beneath. The tips of the wings as seen 
from below are black. The bill is about 2^4 inches long, rather 
deep and arched toward the end. Immature birds are gray all 
over. Length, about 2 feet; extent of wings, about 4^2 feet. 
The Bonaparte Gull (Larus philadelpJiia) is tiny as compared 
with the last species, being scarcely more than a foot in length. 
In breeding plumage the head is black; in autumn and winter 
it is white. The back is pale blue, the under parts are white and 
the tips of the wings are black. Adults have white tails, but 
immature specimens have a black band near the end, which is 
rounded, — a form so totally unlike the forked tails of the terns 
as to afford observers an easy clue for separating this species 
from the terns that are of a similar size. The Common Tern 
(Sterna hirundo) has longer, more pointed wings than the gulls, 
and consequently an easier manner of flying. Its bill is more 
slender and uniformly tapering to an acute point; and its tail 
is deeply forked. Its crown is black, back very pale blue, under 
parts white, base of bill and feet red. It dives from aloft and 
ascends again immediately to wing with its fish. Young birds 
have less black on the crown and paler bills and feet than adults. 
Length, 12 to 16 inches; extent, about 30 inches. 

Ducks and Geese. (Order, Anseres.) 

Ducks and geese are peculiar among our water birds in having 
their bills covered with a leathery skin, except at the tip, which 
bears a nail. But four ducks and one goose are common enough 
here to be well known. They are the black duck and the wood 
duck, which are here in spring and fall and occasionally in sum- 
mer, and the whistler and sheldrake which are found only be- 
tween late fall and early spring. Another duck, the hooded mer- 
ganser, is an occasional migrant spring and fall. The Canada 
goose is the only one ordinarily seen here. Several other ducks 
.and one other goose have been found either in town or in the 
vicinity on one or more occasions, and these will be included in 
our list, though they are but strays from other localities. 



BIRDS OP NORTHFIELD. 253 

The ducks are conveniently divided into two 

DUCKS "WITH pponps, one of which has a flap attached to the 

___. ^ ^DTTT-w hind toe, making it a quarter of an inch or more 

in width. The other group lacks this flap. We 

will consider first the group having the hind toe lobed. 

The mergansers are distinguished by nar- 
Saw-bills. row bills, each jaw bearing a row of tooth-like 

projections along each side, whence the name 
saw-bills, that is often applied to them. They are also called fish 
ducks because they subsist mainly upon fish. The American 
Merganser (Merganser americaniis) is the heaviest of our ducks. 
The head of the adult male is dark green, the fore part of the 
back is black, the rump and tail gray, the neck and much of the 
wings and underparts white. Females and young males have 
reddish brown heads with a moderate crest, gray backs and white 
bellies. Their saw-bills coupled with their large size render them 
unmistakable. The Hooded ]\Ierbanser (LopJiodytes cucullatus) 
is little compared with the last species. The high circular crest, 
brownish black, except for a conspicuous triangular area of white 
with its apex Behind the eye, makes the male a beautiful object. 
Both sexes are mainly black above and white beneath, with more 
or less chestnut vermiculated with narrow black lines along the 
sides. The head of the female and young male is brown without 
white, and the crest is small. Their saw-bills and small size are 
sufficient for their identification. There is still another mergan- 
ser, the red-breasted, found along the coast, but there is no record 
that it ever occurred in Merrimack County. 

Excepting the mergansers, all our ducks have 
Sides of bUI wide, flat bills. In this division of the ducks 

diverging, having the hind toe lobed, the bill is distinctly 
broader toward the tip than at the base. There 
are in it five species, all stragglers either from the ocean or the 
West. The Ruddy Duck {Erismatura jamaicensis) is character- 
ized by having the nail at the tip of its bill, as seen from above, 
not over an eighth of an inch wide. It is a small duck with a 
rather long, stiff tail and a bill that is much wider near the tip 
than at the base. The Ring-necked Duck (Ay thy a collaris) is 
of medium size, has the nail at the tip of the bill a quarter of an 
inch wide and a bluish, gray speculum on its wing. The male 



254 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

has head, neck, breast and back black, and round its neck a ring 
of chestnut, whence its name. The Lesser Scaup Duck {AytJiya 
affinis) has the nail at the tip of its bill a quarter of an inch wide 
like the last species, which it also resembles in size and habits, 
but it has a white speculum bordered outwardly by a band of 
dusky brown, which distinguishes it at once. The G-reater 
Scaup Duck {AytJnja ynarila) is an exact counterpart of the 
last in color, but it is larger and the nail at the tip of its bill is 
five-sixteenths of an inch w^ide. The White-winged Scoter 
{Oidemia deglandi) has the nail at the tip of its bill half an inch 
wide, and a white speculum without a margin of any other color 
on its wing. Except for this speculum and a small crescent of 
white at the rear corner of its eye, the male is black. The female 
is dusky, but easily determined by her speculum as above. 

A third division of the ducks with the hind 
Sides of bill ^^^ lobed has the sides of the bill converging 

converging, toward the tip. Of these, two are of rare occur- 
rence, while the third is a regular winter resident 
on the river. Both of the two rarities have the nostrils nearer 
the base of the bill than the tip. One of them, the Bufft,e Head 
{Charionctta albeola) has the nail at the tip of its bill three-six- 
teenth of an inch wide. This is the smallest duck that we have, 
its bill being only about an inch long. The other rarity, the Old 
Squaw {Harelda liyemaUs)— named for its scolding propensi- 
ties — has the nail at the tip of its bill five-sixteenths of an inch 
or more in width. The male has its middle tail feathers slender 
and six inches or more in length. The Whistler or American 
Golden-eye (Clangula clangula) has the nostrils nearer the tip 
than the base of the bill. The adult male has a deep green head 
with a large white spot in front of each eye. Females and im- 
mature males have brown heads without the white spot. The 
whistlers and the mergansers or sheldrakes, as they are often 
called, are our winter ducks. All of the ducks with the hind toe 
lobed are excellent divers. 

The ducks of this group have no flap or lobe on 

wm-uz-iT TT- A tlie hind toe, which is not over three-sixteenths of 
WITHOUT A . .' 1 1 • 

LOBE. ^^ \nch. wide. They may be called dabbling 

ducks, inasmuch as they are given to feeding in 

shallow water where they can reach the bottom without being 

completely submerged. Their food consists mainly of vegetable 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 255 

matter, such as seeds, roots, bulbs and foliage of aquatic plants. 
This group may also be subdivided according to the relative trend 
of the sides of the bill, one division having the sides of the bill 
slightly diverging from the base forward, while the other, con- 
taining the wood duck alone, has the sides of the bill converging. 
The first division is comprised of the black 
Sides of bill duck and mallard, both large ducks having bills 

inf ^ ^^"S- Qygj, three-fourths of an inch wide, and the blue- 
winged teal and green-winged teal, small ducks, 
having bills less than three-fourths of an inch in width. The 
Black Duck {Anas obscura) is an occasional breeder, but gen- 
erally only a migrant more common in spring. Its general dusky 
appearance and violet wing speculum bordered on each side by 
a black line, taken with the group characters mentioned above, 
are sufficient for its identification. The sexes are alike in color. 
The Mallard (Anas boscJtas), the progenitor of our common do- 
mestic ducks, is a rare visitor from the West. It is to be recog- 
nized by its violet wing speculum with a border consisting of a 
black line and a white line on each side. Both sexes have the 
same speculum though they differ decidedly in general color- 
ation. The male has the green head, white ring around its neck, 
dark chestnut breast, and curled rump plumes of the domestic 
duck, while the female is streaked all over, her feathers having 
dusky centers and buff edges. The teals are also rare visitors. 
The Blue-w^inged Teal (Querquedula discors), after the group 
and division are considered, is to be recognized at once by the 
large area of blue that covers the bend of the wing. The Green- 
winged Teal (Nettion carolinensis) has no blue whatever on the 
bend of the wing, though in size and contour it is similar to the 
last species. 

The Wood Duck {Aix sponsa) is the only 

Sides of bill species of the lobeless hind-toed ducks having the 

converging, sides of its bill converging toward the tip, and 

also the only one to have a crested head. The 

adult male is not surpassed in beauty by any duck in the world. 

It is an occasional breeder and a rather common migrant. 

The Wild Goose {Branta canadensis) is a common migrant. A 
character that distinguishes it from the next species is the large 
white area covering both cheeks and the throat. The Brant 



256 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Goose {Brania herncla) is much smaller than Uie wild goose. It 
usually has a small patch of white on each side of the neck, but 
none on the throat or cheeks. The only specimen ever seen in 
this locality was killed in November, about 1891, on the Winne- 
pesaukee Eiver between Tilton and Franklin Falls. 

We have finished the swimming birds and are now ready to 
consider those that follow the border lands between open water 
and dry ground — the waders. Wading birds have long legs, long 
toes, long necks and, as a rule, long bills. Three orders are repre- 
sented: herons, rails and sandpipers, which will be dealt with in 
turn. 

TgE Herons. (Order, Herodiones.) 

Herons are distinguished from rails by having the bill longer 
than the middle toe including its claw, and from sandpipers by 
their much larger size; and from both rails and sandpipers by 
having hard spear-like bills tapering gradually down to a sharp 
point, and by certain dense patches of short greasy feathers 
called powder-down tracts on the under parts of the body. The 
American Bittern {Botaurus lentiginosus) , better known as the 
Stake Driver, from the peculiar sound it makes during the breed- 
ing season, is a summer resident, coming quite early in spring 
and staying until October or November in the marshes along the 
river and about the ponds. The stake driver ordinarily stands 
15 or 18 inches high, and has a general coloration of buffy brown 
mottled and streaked with dusky, being quite different in color 
from the night heron — the only other species approaching it in 
size. When subjected to a close inspection, this bittern is seen to 
have a heavy black streak on each side of the throat, and its outer 
front toes shorter than the inner one. The nest is placed upon 
the ground in a marsh. The Night Heron {Nyciticorax nycti- 
corax naevus) is similar to the bittern in size but its outer front 
toe is longer than the inner one and it never has black on the 
sides of its throat. It is a rare straggler here, though it is lo- 
cally common near the coast. The adult has a black crown, deep 
green back, wings and tail gray, neck and under parts white. It 
is our handsomest heron. Young birds are gray streaked and 
spotted above with white, and white streaked with gray beneath. 
Its length is about two feet from bill to tail, and it stands about 
18 inches high. The Green Heron {Butorides virescens) is our 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 257 

smallest species, measuring 18 inches or less from bill to tail, and 
standing in ordinary posture from 8 to 10 inches in height. Its 
crown and back are green, whence its name. It is an occasional 
breeder but is far less common here than near the coast. Nest in 
trees. The Great Blue Heron (Ardea herodias) is conspicuous 
by its great size, standing from 3 to 5 feet high, according to 
attitude. Its upper parts are grayish blue, whence its name. 
It may occasionally breed here but there is no swamp sufficiently 
extensive, wet or heavily timbered to meet its usual requirements. 
Nest in tall trees. 

Rails and Coots. (Order, Paludicolae.) 

Such birds of this order as are found here differ from herons 
in having the bill shorter than the middle toe with claw, and in 
lacking powder-down tracts. They are also much smialler than the 
herons. They differ from sandpipers and plovers in having the 
spread wing rounded at the tip, the outer feather being shorter 
than the one next to it. Rails live among the tall reeds, flags 
and grass of meadows and wet marshes. They swim well though 
their feet are not webbed, and, when flushed from their hiding, 
fly with dangling legs a few rods only to drop again to cover. 
Two species have reported from this vicinity ; both are very rare. 
The Virginia Rail {Ballus virginiamis) has a bill one and one 
fourth inches long or more. Its back is streaked with black and 
brown, its breast is dark cinnamon and its length is from 8 to 
10 inches. It is only a migrant. The Sora or Carolina Rail 
(Porzana Carolina) has a bill less than an inch long. It is dark 
brown, streaked wdth white, above, and gray on the breast. 
Adults have the throat black, but on immature birds this area is 
white, merging gradually into the gray of the breast. Its size 
is similar to that of the Virginia rail. This species is also but a 
migrant. The American Coot {Fidica amcricana) is to be dis- 
tinguished from all other water birds of this region by its toes 
which have scalloped margins along each side, making it a very 
capable swimmer. The water, indeed, is its usual habitat. Its 
color is slate, paler below and tinged with olive above. It is a 
scarce migrant, though not so rare as the rails. Its length, bill 
to tail, is about 14 inches. 
18 



258 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The Shore Birds. (Order, Limicolae.) 

Typical, members of this order are the sandpipers and plovers 
which follow the shores and feed upon such worms and insect 
lavffi as abound there. They are much smaller than herons and 
their bills are weak and covered with a sensitive skin. They do 
not haunt reedy half -submerged marshes like the rails, and their 
flight is strong and swift without any dangling of legs such as 
rails show. 

The Sandpiper Family. {Scolopacidae.) 

Sandpipers have very slender bills, and all that occur here have 
four toes on each foot. Of the entire family, the Woodcock 
{Philohela minor) is most aberrant in structure and habit. Its 
bill is two and one half to tlu-ee inches long, being approximately 
a fourth of its entire length. Its eyes are set so near the top of 
its head that they are farther from the base of the bill than are 
its ears. The three outer wing feathers are shorter and much 
narrower than the fourth. It does not follow shores but pre- 
fers alder runs and corn fields, and even dry woods in autumn. 
The feathers of its back are black with gray or rusty edges, 
while beneath it is of an uniform cinnamon brown. It stands 
about 7 inches high. It is an occasional breeder here, nesting 
in the woods on the ground. The AVilson Snipe (Gallinago deli- 
cata) reminds one of the woodcock by having a very long bill in 
proportion to its size, and its eyes high set, though they are not 
so far back, being above the ears instead of behind them. Snipes 
are migrants found occasionally on the shore, but more often in 
the marshes. The bill is about two and one-half inches long and 
somewhat enlarged toward the tip, where are numerous pits con- 
taining nerves for feeling worms in the mud. The upper parts 
are black streaked with buff and white; the breast is mottled and 
the belly is white. It stands about 6 inches high. 

The Lesser Yellow-legs {Totanus flavipes) is named for its 
lemon-yellow legs, which are decidedly long for the size of the 
bird. The diagnostic character of this species are the yellow legs, 
the white rump narrowly barred with dusky, the tail feathers all 
showing bars and the length of the bill, which is about an inch 
and one-half. This bird is an uncommon migrant. It stands 
about 8 inches high. The Greater Yellow-legs {Totanus mela- 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 259 

noleucus) is practically a counterpart of the lesser yellow-legs in 
color, but it has a bill about two and one-fourth inches long, and 
is proportionately larger in other parts. It also is rt rare mi- 
grant. Height, about 10 inches. The Solitary Sandpiper (He- 
lodromus solitarius) has legs and bill olive green; tail, except two 
middle feathers, white with broad dusky bars. These two char- 
acters combined suffice to distinguish it from all other sandpipers 
found here. Other characters are : dark olive back, each feather 
having two or three small white spots along either edge; rump 
dusky; neck streaked; lower breast and belly white. Its bill is 
about an inch and an eighth in length and it stands about 6 inches 
high. It is a common migrant. 

The Spotted Sandpiper {Actitis macularia) is a common sum- 
mer resident along the river and about the ponds. Its legs and 
the base of the lower mandible are pale straw color, and only the 
outer tail feather shows even a trace of bars. The back is olive- 
brown, spring and summer specimens having each feather with 
one or two irregular bars of dusky. The under parts are white, 
heavily spotted in the breeding season, but immaculate in autumn. 
Its bill is an inch or slightly less in length, and it stands about 5 
inches high. Its nest is on the ground, usually within a few rods 
of the water. The Pectoral Sandpiper {Actodromas macidata) 
is a scarce migrant. None of its tail feathers show the slightest 
sig-n of a bar, but the outer one has a narrow edging of white. 
The feathers of the back are black with rusty edges ; the rump is 
dusky; the neck and breast are heavily streaked, in sharp con- 
trast to the clear, white chin and belly. Its bill is about an inch 
and one-eighth long, and stands about 6 inches high. The Least 
Sandpiper (Actodromas minutdla) is colored like the last species, 
but it is much smaller, being the smallest sandpiper in America. 
It is only a straggling migrant here, though common, spring and 
fall, along the coast. Its bill varies from three-fourths to fifteen- 
sixteenths of an inch, and its height is about 4 inches. 

The Bartramian Sandpiper (Barti^amia longicauda) more 
commonly called the Upland Plover, curiously enough avoids 
water, preferring high land. A few pairs breed regularly on 
Bean Hill and possibly elsewhere in town. It has all the struc- 
tural characters of a sandpiper, and is not a plover at all, as may 
be seen by comparison with characters of the next family. This 



260 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

is the only sandpiper found here that has the outer wing feather 
barred, white and dusk}^ Its bill is about an inch and one-fourth 
long and it stands about 8 inches high. 

The Plover Family. {Charadriiclae.) 

Plovers differ from sandpipers in having, as a rule, no hind 
toe, and a bill shorter than the head and smaller in the middle 
than toward the tip. Their habits, however, do not differ from 
those of the sandpipers. They resemble sandpipers in their 
general contour, their food habits and their manner of flying. The 
only plover that is known to visit this vicinity is the Ring-necked 
or Semipalmated Plover (Aegialites semipalmatus) . It is uni- 
formly huffish gray on the back and white on the forehead and 
underparts, except for a ring of black or dusky around the neck. 
It stands about 5 inches high and has a bill about half an inch 
long. 

LAND BIRDS. 

Although several of the so-called land birds live principally 
near water, as for example the kingfisher, none of them are fitted 
for wading or swimming or running over soft mud. The ground, 
the trees and the air have each a contingent from them. The 
ground birds have strong legs and feet and comparatively small 
wings. The tree birds have shorter legs and toes, better adapted 
for grasping branches, and larger wings for flitting from tree to 
tree in search of fruits and insects. The aerial species, like the 
swallows, have tiny legs and feet, but very long wings, capable of 
long- sustained flight. 

The Grouse Family. {Tetraonidae.) 

The grouse belong to the Gallinae, the same order as hens and 
turkeys. The Ruffed Grouse or Partridge (Bonasa unibellus) 
is too well known to need describing. The Quail or Bob White 
(Colinus virginianus) occasionally breeds here, but more often it 
is to be found as a solitary visitor, whistling its clear notes about 
the fields and open- pastures on summer mornings. Its whirring 
flight and makeup in form and color proclaim its relationship 
to the partridge, but it has no neck plumes, its legs are bare of 
feathers to the heel, and its weight is only about one-third that 



BIRDS OP NORTHFIELD. 261 

ot the partridge. The throat of the male is white ; of the female, 
brown. Length, about 9 inches. Nest on the ground. 

The Pigeons. (Columbidae.) 

The pigeons, which belong to order Coliimbae of world-wide 
distribution, are so much like the domestic breeds in form and 
habits that they do not need to have their family characters 
paraded here. The most striking difference between the two that 
have a place in this list and the tame blue pigeon is in their long, 
wedge-shaped tails, which give them a somewhat different con- 
tour. The Wild Pigeon or Passenger Pigeon (Ectopistes mi- 
gratorius) is about of the same weight as the tame pigeon. Its 
upper parts are grayish blue. Males have an irridescence on 
the sides of the neck, and a rich, purplish red breast. Females 
have less irridescence and grayer breasts. Length, about 16 
inches. This pigeon was formerly abundant, but it has disap- 
peared from New England and before many years will probably 
have vanished from the earth. The Mourning Dove (Zenaidura 
macroura) is rare in this section, though in the southeastern por- 
tion of the state it is fairly common. In shape and general color- 
ation it resembles the wild pigeon, but it weighs scarcely half as 
much and its breast is much paler. A small black spot just below 
each ear is a notable character. Length, about 12 inches. 

Hawks and Owls. (Order, Baptores.) 

To this order belong the carniverous birds, which catch their 
prey with their talons and are provided with hooked bills for 
tearing flesh. 

The Hawk Family. (Falconidae.) 

The hawks have no feathers on their feet, and their eyes are in 
planes oblique to the bill, which characters distinguish them from 
the owls. An even dozen, including the bald eagle, may be 
looked for, though two of them are very rare. 

The Marsh Hawk {Circus kudsonius) is a bird of the field. 
It courses to and fro close to the ground over fields and meadows, 
looking for mice and frogs. It is our only hawk having a white 
spot on the rump. Males are gray and females and young, 
brown. The average expanse of wings is about 40 inches. Nest 
on the ground. The Osprey or Fish Hawk {Pandion haUaeetus 



262 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

caroUnensis) lives entirely by fishing. It is not an uncommon 
visitor in spring and early fall along the river. It differs from 
the other hawks in having: the under parts entirely white, the 
soles of its feet as rough as coarse sandpaper — the better to hold 
fish — its outer toes capable of turning half way round to the 
hind toe, and extremely long, crooked wings, as seen in flight. 
Extent of spread wings, 5 feet or more. The Bald Eagle (Hali- 
aeetus leiicoceplialus) , which also depends upon fish for its main 
diet, may be seen each summer along the river. It is so much 
larger and blacker than any native hawk as to be unmistakable. 
The white head and tail are not acquired till the bird is several 
years old. It has never been known to nest in this region. Aver- 
age specimens are 7 feet across the wings. 

Of the hawks that look to the land for prey 
UPPER MAN- gjj(j spend most of their time in trees, six have 
OUT ANGU ' ^^^ cutting edge of the upper mandible undulat- 
LAR TOOTH. ^^S, but without any sharp notch or tooth, being 
in this respect like the three species already de- 
scribed, which are all easily recognizable by special characters. 
The individuals in this group of six are not so readily diagnosed, 
and it will, therefore, be convenient to make a further division 
into tw^o sub-groups of three each, according to the relation of 
the lengths of wing and tail, when there will be little difficulty 
in determining the name of any toothless-billed hawk that may 
come to hand. 

The hawks of this sub-group are the so-called 
Tail not more j^gj^ hawks. They are all summer residents. The 

, r if t Red-tau^ed Hawk (Buteo horealis) gets its name 

as long as folded 
wing from bend from the chestnut-red color of its tail. Its four 

to tip. outer wing feathers are abruptly narrowed on 

the inner web and are Avithout spots on the outer 
web. Young birds have the tail barred instead of clear chestnut- 
red. This hawk is occasionally seen in winter. Extent of wing, 
50 inches or more. Nest in trees. The Red-shouldered Hawk 
{Buteo lineatus) is the commonest member of this sub-group. It 
measures somewhat less than the last and weighs much less. It 
is readily distinguished from the red-tail at any age by spots of 
white or buff: on the outer webs of its four outer wing feathers, 
all of which, however, are abruptly narrowed on the inner web, 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 263 

as on the red-tail. The tail is barred at all ages, and the bend of 
the wing is covered with a more or less dense suffnsion of cinna- 
mon brown, whence the bird's name. Nest in trees. Both the 
red-tail and the red-shoulder have the habit of soaring in circles 
and crying kea, kea, kea. The Broad-winged Hawk (Buteo pla- 
typterus) is decidedly smaller than the other two, being scarcely 
more than 40 inches in extent, and is readily distinguishable from 
them by having only three outer wing feathers with inner webs 
abruptly narrowed. It is surprisingly tame for a hawk, but may 
usually be recognized at some distance by "wide dusky streaks 
running down each side of the chin from the corners of the 
mouth. It is an occasional breeder here, nesting in trees. 

The members of this sub-group have relatively 
Tail more than short wings and long tails, the better to make 
two thirds as quick turns in chasing flying birds, upon which 

ongas e o e they mainly feed. Out of the dozen hawks that 
wing from bend 
^Q ti are found here, these three are all that are not 

of more benefit than injury to man. These are 
the chicken hawks, which raid poultry yards regularly, while 
the other kinds do so only occasionally. Besides having the edge 
of the upper mandible undulating like the last sub-group, and 
agreeing among themselves in having short wings and long tails, 
these hawks have color features in common, so their final identifi- 
cation may rest on dimensions alone. Adults of each species are 
slate-blue above and the under side is barred — that is, the dark 
lines run crosswise the feathers. Specimens under a year old 
are brown — varying from a gray to a sooty tone — above, and 
streaked below, that is, having the dark lines running lengthwise 
the feathers. 

The Goshawk {Accipiter atricapillus) , a winter visitor as a 
rule, though a possible breeder, is the largest and handsomest of 
the lot. The colors of both young and adults are decidedly 
lighter than those of the two following species. Its folded wing 
is more than a foot in length. Nest in trees. The Cooper Hawk 
{Accipiter cooperi) is a summer resident. Its folded wing is 
from 9 to 11 inches long, and its tail is rounded at the end. The 
Sharp-shinned Hawk (Accipiter velox) bears a close resem- 
blance to the last in color, but it is smaller, measuring from bend 
to tip of wing only 7 to 8i^ inches. It is further distinguished 



264 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

by having a square tail. It is a common migrant and an occa- 
sional breeder. It is often called the pigeon hawk, but this term 
properly belongs to a member of the next group. 

The hawks having a tooth on each cutting edge 
UPPER MAN- of lY^^Q upper mandible near the tip are the fal- 

DIBLE WITH n^■u. . ^-u r. , , 

AN ANGU- eons. Ihis tooth, oi course, can only be made 

LAR TOOTH. ^^^^ when the bird is in hand, but then it is evi- 
dent at once. They differ, further, from other 
hawks of their size in having long and acutely pointed wings. 
There are .but three in this group and of these only one is com- 
mon. The Sparrov^ Hawk {Falco sparveriiis), our smallest 
hawk, is characterized by a prevailing color of cinnamon-brown 
above, and by two heavy stripes of black on each side of the face, 
both vertical, one in front of the eye and the other above the ear. 
It is a common migrant and ^n occasional breeder. It feeds 
mainly on insects. Its folded wing measures about 7 inches. 
Nests in holes in trees. The Pigeon Hawk {Falco columbariiis) 
is similar in size and coloring to a young sharp-shinned hawk, 
being ashy or sooty brown above and heavily streaked beneath, 
but its toothed bill distinguishes it at once in a close examination, 
and even at a distance its pointed wings and rapid flight serve 
to identify it to the practiced eye. It is a rare late spring and 
early fall migrant. Folded wing 7 to 8 inches.. The Duck 
Hawk (Falco peregrinus anatum) is a scarce summer resident 
in the mountainous portions of New Hampshire, and hence prob- 
ably occurs here as an occasional migrant. Adults are dark 
ashy gray above, whitish on the forehead and under parts, the lat- 
ter being barred with blackish, and conspicuously marked with 
black check areas. Young birds are sooty brown above and 
streaked beneath. In all stages the toothed bill and dimensions 
make the determination of a bird in the hand certain. Length 
of folded wing 13 to 14 inches. 

The Owl Family. (Biibonidae.) 

The owls differ from hawks in having their eyes directed for- 
ward, in their soft fluffy plumage, and in having their toes and 
legs feathered to the claws. We will review them in two groups : 
one having a tuft of feathers — popularly called horns — on each 
side of the crown of the head; the other without them. 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 265 

Of the horned owls, the Great Horned Owl 
"With horns. (Bubo virginianus) is the largest. Its length is 

about two feet and extent of wing four feet. Its 
€ggs are often laid in old crows' nests, usually in March. This 
is the only owl ordinarily injurious. All the rest are worthy of 
protection, as the number of mice they annually destroy is simply 
enormous. The Long-eared Owl {Asio wilsonianus) is rare. 
Its horns are about an inch high when erect. The feathers of its 
belly are both streaked down the middle and barred across with 
dusky. Its length is 15 inches and extent of wings 3 feet. Nest 
in trees, pines or hemlocks preferred. The Short-eared Owl 
{Asio accipitrimts) is a migrant, even rarer than the last, to which 
it is similar in size. Its horns are so short as to be easily over- 
looked, but they are evident when looked for. It is to be dis- 
tinguished from its long-eared relative by the difference in 
horns and by the absence of bars on its flanks and belly, the 
feathers being simply streaked. It is a marsh owl and usually 
spends the day in the meadows on the ground. The Screech 
Owl {Megascops asio) is the smallest of the horned group. It 
is one of the commoner species. For some unknown reason, some 
screech owls are reddish brown, while others are gray. In either 
case there is a mottling of black all over and an oblique bar of 
white on the shoulders. The presence of horns and the size of 
the bird, however, regardless of color, are sufficient for its iden- 
tification. Length, 10 inches or somewhat less; extent, about 20 
inches. Nest in hollow tree. The ear tufts or horns of owls be- 
longing to this group may lie so flat on the head as to pass un- 
noticed unless the feathers are ruffed up, when they become ap- 
parent. This ruffing process, then, is essential when one has an 
€wl in hand and wishes to ascertain its name. 

The owls of this group, excepting possibly the 
Without horns. snowy owl, show no horns by any sort of hand- 
ling. The Snowy Owl (Nyctea nyctea), as its 
name implies, is white and not to be mistaken for any other spe- 
cies. It is a rare visitor in cold weather from the north. The 
only specimen known to have actually been taken in town was 
killed on Bean Hill in November, 1893, by Frank Eobertson. 
This species prefers cleared land to the woods, resembling the 
short-eared owl in this respect. The snowy plumage of this owl 
is usually more or less spotted with dark brown. In size it equals 



266 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

the great horned owl. Probably the commonest owl we have is 
the Barred Owl {Syrnium varium), which is a resident, but 
more often seen in cold weather when there are visitors from 
farther north. It is ashy brown, barred with white above, and 
ashy gray, barred with white beneath. Length, about 18 inches ; 
extent of wings, about 40 inches. Nest usually in hollow trees. 
The KiCHARDSON Owl {Nyctala tengmalmi richardsoni) is a rare 
winter visitant. It is ash-brown, sparsely dotted with white, and 
has a yellow bill, which distinguishes it from the next, the only 
other small hornless owl in this region. Length, about 10 inches ; 
extent, 21 to 23 inches. The Saw- whet Owl {Nyctala acadica), 
a not uncommon species, is a tiny little fellow with a chocolate 
brown back, spotted with w^hite, and under parts white, streaked 
with brown. Its bill is black. Length, not over 10 inches and 
extent about 17 inches. Nest in hollow trees. The Hawk Owl 
(Surnia idula caparoch) is an uncommon winter visitor as a rule, 
though some years since a specimen was killed in Sanbornton in 
the breeding season. It is accustomed to hunt by daylight, and 
its contour is more slender than that of the other owls. It is 
dark brown, speckled with small spots of white above ; and closely 
barred with brow^n and white beneath. This is our only owl 
having its outer tail feathers an inch and a half shorter than 
those in the middle. Length, about 16 inches; extent, about 32 
inches. 

The Kingfisher and Cuckoos. (Order, Coccyges.) 

The members of this order belong mainly in the tropics. The 
species found here have well developed wings but w^eak legs. 
Though they fly well, most of their time is spent quietly perching 
in some favorite retreat. They never hunt for food on the 
ground, and never run about the trunks or branches of trees. 

The Kingfisher Family. (Alcedinidae.) 

The Belted Kingfisher {Ceryle alcyon), our sole representa- 
tive of the kingfisher family, feeds on fish which it catches in 
its bill by diving either from a perch over the water or from a 
momentary hovering flight above its quarry. Its feet are totally 
unfit for swimming, so it must rely upon its wings for progres- 
sion in water quite as much as it does in air. It is ashy blue 
above, and white beneath, with a bluish l^and across the chest. 



BIRDS OF NORTHPIELD. 267 

The female has also a band of chestnut across the belly. The 
bill, which is strong and tapering like a heron's, is about two 
inches long. The head is adorned with a large crest. Length 
about one foot. Nest in a hole in a sand bank. 

The Cuckoo Family. (Cuculidae.) 

The cuckoos are named after their well-known cry. They and 
the woodpeckers are our only birds having two toes directed 
backward and two forward. The cuckoos are brown above, white 
below, and have tails as long as their bodies. They frequent 
thickets and orchards, where they are especially useful as de- 
stroyers of hairy caterpillars. The Black-billed Cuckoo 
(Coccyzus erythrophthalmus) is the common species. Its bill is 
black and the under side of its tail is gray, with white tips. Its 
length is nearly a foot and its extent about 16 inches. Nest in 
small trees, usually pines. The Yellow-billed Cuckoo 
{Coccyzus americaniis) is a rather rare and probably irregular 
summer resident. The writer can vouch for but a single pair 
which he found in the Belmont meadows in June, 1897. It is 
like the last in size and general appearance, but all except the 
tip of its lower mandible is yellow and the three outer tail 
feathers are black beneath with white tips. Nest in trees. 

The Woodpeckers. (Order, Fici.) 

AVoodpeckers have only two toes directed forward. They have 
stiff tails to serve as supports in' climbing trees ; and all but one 
of our species have long cylindrical tongues. They all drill 
holes in trees for their nests. 

There are two species that are in a group by 
Three toes. themselves because they have only three toes on 

each foot, two in front and one behind. Both of 
these species have been taken in this vicinity, though, perhaps, 
not in this town. They are rare winter visitors from farther 
north. The Arctic Three-toed Woodpecker (Picoides arcticus) 
has its back entirely black. Its under parts are white, and its 
sides are black, barred Avith white. The crown of the male is 
yellow, that of the female being black like its back. Length 8 to 
9 inches. The American Three-toed Woodpecker {Picoides 
am£ricanus) is like the last in size and color, except that down 
the middle of its back is a white area cross-barred with black 
lines. 



268 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

• All the other woodpeckers have two toes on 

Four toes. each foot directed backward. The largest is the 

PiLEATED Woodpecker (Ceophloeus pileatus al- 
hieticola), nearly the size of a crow, with a high red crest on its 
head and the inner half of its wings white. This is a resident 
species, but it has become so scarce than not more than one or two 
are to be seen in a year. Its length is more than 15 inches. The 
Hairy Woodpecker {Dryobates villosus) is a fairly common resi- 
dent. Its body is entirely white beneath and there is a white 
area down the back and many white spots on the wings, otherwise 
the upper parts are black. The male has a red bar across the 
back of its head. Its length is about 9 inches. The Downy 
Woodpecker {Dryobates pubesccns mediamts) is a common resi- 
dent. In color it is practically like the last species, but it is de- 
cidedly smaller, being only 7 inches or less in length. The Yel- 
low-bellied Woodpecker [Sphyrapicus varius) is a fairly com- 
mon migrant and an occasional summer resident. It is slightly 
smaller than the hairy woodpecker and is distinguished from all 
of our woodpeckers by a lemon-yellow suffusion on its belly. 
The adult male has a red throat, and both sexes have a red crown 
and a large black spot on the breast. This is our only wood- 
pecker that is not an unmixed benefit to the farmer. The Red- 
headed Woodpecker {Melanerpes erythrocephalus) is a strag- 
gling visitor from the South or West. In size it resembles the 
hairy woodpecker. The inner half of its wings, the under side 
of its body and its rump are white. Its back is bluish black, and 
the head and neck of adults are crimson. The head and neck of 
young birds are a dull brownish gray, but they may be readily 
recognized by the white that covers the inner half of the vdng 
as in the adult. The Flicker, Yellow Hammer, Wood-Wall, 
or whatever name it may happen to bear in the household {Co- 
laptes auratus luteus) is a curious example of a bird that has 
adopted a mode of living unlike the rest of its tribe. It gets 
its living from the ground, and rarely pecks trees except for a 
nest. A large white spot on its rump, a black crescent on its 
breast, quills that show golden yellow beneath, and a band of red 
on its nape are its prominent color characteristics. Males have a 
black stripe on each side the lower jaw. Brown is the prevailing 
color of this species. It is a common summer resident. Its length 
is about one foot. 



birds of northfield. 269 

The Goatsucker — Swift — Hummingbird Group. 

(Order, Macrochires.) 

The members of this group are classed together on the strength 
of long, narrow wings and small, weak feet, so far as external 
characters are concerned. 

The Goatsuckers. (Caprhnulgidae.) 

These creatures of twilight and darkness have short, weak bills 
but enormous mouths suitable for catching flying insects. Their 
plumage is soft but otherwise they bear little resemblance to the 
owls which are the only other nocturnal family of birds that we 
have. The Night-hawk (Chordeiles virginianus) prefers 
cleared pasture land and sometimes ventures abroad by daylight. 
It is always to be recognized by the white spot near the middle 
of the outer half of each wing, which is readily seen as the bird 
flies. The male has a row of white spots across its tail near the 
end. Its length is about 9 inches and its extent 22 inches. It 
builds no nest, but lays its eggs upon the ground or a bare rock. 
The Whippoorwill {Antrostomus vociferus) resembles the night- 
hawk in size and general appearance, but it differs in being a 
bird of the woods, in having no white spot on its wings, in hav- 
ing a row of long, stiff bristles projecting out over the mouth, 
and in having its outer tail feathers broadly tipped with white. 
Its eggs are laid on the ground, without a nest, in the woods. 

The Swifts. (Micropodidae.) 

The Chimney Swift (Chaetura pelagica) is usually called the 
chimney swallow, but it is not a swallow at all. It never alights 
on a perch, being only able to hang to a wall. The tips of its 
long wings, when folded, reach far beyond the end of its tail, 
and each tail feather has a sharp spine at the end. In none of 
these features does the swift resemble the swallow. Further, it 
flies unlike a swallow and some of its internal structure is unlike 
that of a swallow, — in short, swifts and swallows are not even 
related. This species is nearly uniform sooty-black all over, 
though the under parts are paler than the upper. Its length is 
about 5 inches and extent about one foot. Its nest is glued by 
its saliva to the inside of a chimnev. 



270 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Hummingbirds. (Trochilidae.) 

Hummingbirds belong exclusively to the New World. There 
are about four hundred species, of which we have but one, the 
Ruby-throated Hummingbird {TrocJiilus cohtbris), the smallest 
and swiftest of our birds and the only one that can fly back- 
wards. The female has its tail white-tipped and lacks the ruby 
throat which is the male's chief ornament. 

The Perching Birds. (Order, Passeres.) 

To this order belong most of our common small birds. They 
all have three toes in front and one behind, which are on the 
same level and fully functional as clasping organs. 

The Flycatchers. {Tyranniclae.) 

The flycatchers are a group of nervous, irritable small birds, 
accustomed to perch on fences, mullein stocks, dead branches of 
trees and other exposed objects, where they can watch for flying 
insects, which they pursue, capture and bring back to their sta- 
tion to batter and devour. They are all characterized by wide 
and rather shallow bills of medium length. The upper mandible 
is flanked on each side by a row of stifl: bristles and slightly 
hooked at the tip. The better known members of the family 
characterize the whole lot. They rarely alight on the ground 
and never seek food by creeping or hopping about branches of 
trees. The Kingbird {Tyrannus tyrannus) was named in recog- 
nition of its fighting qualities, which are undaunted by anything 
in feathers from the eagle do\^^l. It nests in the scraggiest 
apple tree on the farm and it is the farmer's best ally against 
hawks and crows. Its upper parts are blackish gray, while its 
under parts and the tip of its tail are white. Its length is about 
8 inches and extent about 141/0. The Great-crested Fly- 
catcher (MyiarcJius crinitus) is a scarce summer resident of 
the taller hard-wood and mixed timber, where it nests in hollow 
trees. Its color characters are olive-brown above, ashy gray on 
throat and breast, pale yellow on the belly and chestnut-red on 
the inner webs of its tail feathers. Its length is nearly 9 inches 
and extent about 13. The Pewee or Phoebe (Sayornis phoehe) 
is the most familiar of the flycatchers, nesting in sheds, deserted 
houses or barn cellars, flirting its tail on the barn-yard fence 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 271 

and making cheery sounds all about the buildings. It usuallj^ 
rears two breeds of young each summer, to which it feeds thou- 
sands of harmful beetles. Its upper parts are pale clove-brown, 
darker on the head. The under parts are whitish in summer but 
tinged with yellow in the fall. Its entire bill is blackish. Its 
length is about 7 inches and extent about 11%. The Wood 
Pewee {Confopus virens), also named from its song, which is 
pe-e-ivee long drawled, is a fairly common summer resident, 
usually in the woods but occasionaly in orchards. It is smaller 
than the phoebe and darker above. It has two whitish bars on 
each wing, and its lower mandible is pale yellow. Its length is 
about 6 inches. Its nest is usually placed upon a horizontal 
branch and covered with lichens. The Olive-sided Flycatcher 
{Nuttallornis borealis) is a scarce summer resident, affecting 
dead-topped trees, generally in swamps or near water. It is 
dark olive above, similar to the last, white on the throat, belly 
and Hanks, and heavily shaded with olive on the sides. Its bill 
is black except the base of its lower mandible, which is pale. 
Length, 7 to 8 inches. Nest in high trees. The Alder Fly- 
catcher {Empidonax traillii alnorum) is confined to the prox- 
imity of water. It summers sparingly along the river and pos- 
sibly elsewhere. It is olive-brown above, rather lighter than the 
wood pewee, and whitish below, with a shade of olive-gray across 
the breast. Its under mandible is pale. Its length is nearly 6 
inches and extent about 9 inches. The Yellow^-bellied Fly- 
catcher (Emjjidonax flaviventris) is a scarce migrant. Its 
upper parts are olive-green, while its lower mandible, eye-rings, 
wing-bars and under parts are greenish yellow. Its size is like 
the last or slightly less. The Least Flycatcher {Empidonax 
mininuis) is a fidgety denison of orchards, crying ■che-bec, che- 
hec with upward jerks of the head that threaten dislocation. It 
is the smallest of our flycatchers, as its name implies. It is olive- 
gray above, with eye-rings, wing-bars and under parts white. 
Length about 5 inches and extent about 8 inches. Nest usually 
in an upright crotch. 

The Horned Larks. (Alaudidae.) 

The horned larks are essentially ground birds, though their 
wings are large and they are capable of long sustained flight. 



272 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

But one species is to be found here, the Horned or Shore Lark 
(Otocoris alpestris). It is a scarce visitor from the North, likely 
to appear any time between October and April. It feeds on the 
ground, chiefly on seeds of weeds, thus resembling a sparrow. 
Its conspicuous features are a large black spot on the breast^ 
another running from the bill under the eye to the cheek, a 
yellow chin, and a hind claw nearly straight and as long as the 
toe that bears it. Its upper parts are pinkish brown, streaked 
with dusky. Its length is about 7 inches and extent about 13. 

Jays and Crows. (Corvidae.) 

The Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata), a resident throughout the 
year, is well known. Its high cap and blue coat, trimmed with 
white, combine to make the bird as striking to the eye as its 
voice is to the ear. Its length is about 12 inches and extent about 
17. Its nest is usually placed in a thicket of small pines or hem- 
locks. The Canada Jay {Perisoreus Canadensis) has been re- 
ported from other parts of this county and is likely to appear 
here at intervals in cold weather. Its normal range is from the 
White Mountains northward. In size and proportions it is similar 
to the blue jay, from which, however, it differs decidedly in ap- 
pearance. It has no cap and is not blue, but smoky gray on the 
back, grayish white on the forehead and under parts, and very 
fluffy of feather, for withstanding any degree of cold. The 
Crow {Corvus hracJiyrliynclios) is a permanent resident, though 
few are to be found in winter. The Raven {Corvus corax prin- 
cipalis) is an extremely rare cold weather visitor anywhere in 
this state. One was killed several years ago in Canterbury. 
Ravens are black like crows, but much larger, measuring about 
2 feet in length and 4 feet in extent. 

The Troupial Family. (Icteridae.) 

This family, which includes the bobolink, blackbirds, meadow 
larks and orioles, is intermediate in some respects between the 
crows and sparrows. 

The Bobolink {Dolichonyx oryzivorus) is a common summer 
resident of fields. The male in his livery of black and white is 
sometimes called the skunk blackbird. The female is yellowish 
brown, streaked with black on the back and flanks. During the 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 273 

summer moult in August the male assumes the dress of the fe- 
male. They winter in South America, where they moult again. 
This time the males resume their summer dress, in which they 
come to us about the middle of May. Males are about 7i/4 inches 
long. Females are somewhat smaller. The nest is placed on the 
ground. The Cowbird {MolotJirus ate)') is seen near the village 
more often than elsewhere in this town. It is a common species 
there during the summer. The female is notorious for laying 
her eggs in the nests of other birds, to be hatched and brought 
up by foster parents. The male has a shiny black body and a 
brown head. Its length is nearly 8 inches. The female is slightly 
smaller and of a grayish brown color throughout. The Bronzed 
Grackle (Quiscala quiscula aeneus) is the largest of our black- 
birds. The head of the male varies from deep green to purple, 
and the color of its body is shining bronze. Its length is about 
one foot. The female is duller in color and somewhat smaller. 
Both sexes have long tails and yellow eyes. This species breeds 
regularly in certain pine trees in the village. The Purple 
GrRACKLE {Quiscola quiscula) is a geographical race of the 
last species that lives from southern Massachusetts to Georgia, 
east of the Alleghany Mountains. The only specimens known 
to have been seen in New Hampshire were taken by the writer 
in Nortlifield, September 13, 1902. This form differs from 
the bronzed grackle mainly in having the irridescent purple 
or green of the neck extending down over the shoulders either 
as solid color or as bars on a bronze ground. The Rijsty 
Grackle (Euphagus carolinus), named from the rusty aspect of 
its fall plumage, appears here in April and October. Spring 
birds are entirely black, but in fall the black is much obscured 
by rusty brown. This species also has light yellow eyes. The 
males are about 9 inches long, and the females slightly less. The 
Red-winged Blackbird {Agelaius plioeniceus) is an abundant 
summer resident of cat-tail marshes. The males are notable for 
their scarlet shoulder patches that are strikingly set off by their 
otherwise uniformly black dress. The females are dusky streaked 
with white above, and white heavily streaked with dusky be- 
neath. In the hand they show traces of red on the h^nd of the 
wing. Males are 8 to 9 inches long and females about an inch 
• shorter. The nest is built in a low bush or bunch of cat-tails, 
19 



274 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

usually in the middle of a pool. The Baltimore Oriole or 
Golden Robin (Icterus galbnla) makes its summer home in the 
elms of village and farmyard. Its brilliant color and curious 
hanging nest have brought it into general notice. The male has 
its head, neck and back black; rump, under parts and much of 
its tail, orange: wings, black, with two narrow bars of white. 
Its length is nearly 8 inches. The female is duller colored and 
smaller. The Meadow Lark {Sturnella magna) is a summer 
resident of moist fields, but very irregular in its distribution. Its 
underparts are yellow, with a black V on the breast. The 
feathers of the back are black with brown tips and buff edges. 
It feeds on the ground, but often delivers its plaintive song from 
a fence or tree top. Length of male, about IQi/o inches. The 
female is about an inch shorter. Nest on the ground. 

The Sparrow Family. {Frindillidae.) 

The spai-row family is made up of small birds, having thick 
conical bills with which they crush the seeds that form the major 
portion of their food, to the end that they may swallow the 
kernel and reject the hull. The greater number feed from the 
ground and spend most of their lives there. These have larger 
feet and longer legs than those that live mainly in trees and never 
run in the grass or scratch among fallen leaves. 

The arboreal species include the so-called gros- 

ARBOREAL beaks and finches. They all show more or less 

SPECIES, bright colors, in the adult plumage at least, in 

contrast to the sober browns and grays of the true 

sparrows, which are the terrestrial members of the family. 

Four species of this group of arboreal finches 
Depth of bill j^^^yg \^i]\^ SO robust that the depth at the base 

fr^m nostHH?^ ^^^^^^^ *^^^ distance from nostril to tip. They are 
jj the pine grosbeak, the purple finch, the rose- 

breasted grosbeak and the indigo bird. The 
Pine Grosbeak {Pinicola enucleator leucura) is a cold-weather 
visitor of irregular, but not rare, occurrence. Adult males are 
bright red, with dusky wings and tail, which have white edgings. 
Females are ashy gray, with rusty orange on crown and rump. 
Length, 8 to 9 inches. The Purple Finch {Carpodacus pui\ 
pureus) is a summer resident, much smaller than the last, though 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 275 

adult males are of a similar red color, but they have no white 
on wings or tail, and the back is streaked with duslr^. Fe- 
males and young males are olive-brown, streaked with dusky 
above, and white, heavily streaked with dusky beneath. This 
finch is a splendid singer, and is often heard in the tops of elms 
in May and early June, where it feeds on the buds and seeds of 
that tree. Length, about 6 inches. Nest in trees. The Rose- 
breasted Grosbeak (Zamelodia ludoviciana) is a scarce summer 
resident. The male is black above, excepting its rump and a 
large spot and two bars on each wing, which are white. The 
sides and belly are white, and the breast and wing linings are 
carmine. The female is coarsely streaked with olive-brown and 
buff above and white and olive-brown below. She has a broad 
stripe of white over each eye, and another down the middle of the 
crown. Her wing linings are saffron yellow. Length about 8 
inches. Nest in trees. The Indigo Bird {Cyanospiza cyanea) 
was named from the color of the male, which is deep blue above 
and below. The female is brown above and brownish white, ob- 
scurely streaked, beneath. The male is a persistent singer, even 
during the heat of a summer noon, when most birds are silent. 
Length about Si'o inches. Nest in low bushes. 

The crossbills present such anomalous bills as 
Crossbills. to set them at once apart, not only from all other 

members of their family, but also from all other 
birds. The upper mandible curves downward, while the lower 
curves upward, the two crossing at the tips like a pair of scissors. 
Neither of the two species have been known to breed here, though 
both are occasionally to be seen at any season. Their normal 
summer range is farther north. Thej^ usually frequent coniferous 
trees, but in May and June they come to the elms for their seeds. 
The male Red Crossbill {Loxia cuvirostra minor) has a dull 
red body, with dusky wings and tail. The female is olive, wdth a 
tinge of yellow on breast and rump. Neither sex has bars or 
spots of white. Length, about 6 inches. The White-winged 
Crossbill (Loxia leucoptera) is like the last in size and contour, 
but the male is rose-red, with black tail and wings, the latter 
having two wide bars of white. The female is olive, where the 
male is red. Her white wing-bars make her identity plain. Both 
species usually go in flocks. 



276 HISTORY OF NOETHFIELD, 

The third and last group of the arboreal finches 
Length 5 1-2 includes three small species easily recognizable 

inches or less. by color characters. The Redpoll (Acanthis lin- 
ai'ia) is a winter, visitor of irregular occurrence, 
abundant if found at all. It mainly affects the birches, though 
weed seeds attract it to the ground, when they are not covered 
with snow. Its back and flanks are buff streaked with dusky, 
crown shining red, chin black. Adult males have breast and 
rump pink. Length 5 to 5I/2 inches. The Siskin {Spinus pinus) 
is another winter comer at irregular intervals, many years going 
by without bringing a siskin ; then all at once they suddenly be- 
come common. When at last they do come some fall, they are as 
likely to stay through the next summer as to go away with win- 
ter. There is little doubt that they bred in to^\Ti during the 
summer of 1900. They feed on seeds of birches and conifers. 
The sexes are alike, buffy brown above and white beneath, every- 
where streaked with dusky. The bases of the wing quills are 
lemon-yellow — seen when the wing is spread but not otherwise. 
Length, about 4% inches. Nest usually in evergreen trees. The 
American Goldfinch (AstragalUnus tristis) is a common per- 
manent resident, though in its sober brown winter raiment it is 
not always recognized as the same jovial little bird in yellow 
and black that dines off dandelion and thistle tops in dooryard 
and highway. Males in summer are yellow, excepting crown, 
wings and tail, which are black. Females are dull yellow with 
dusky wings and tail. In winter both species are olive-brown 
above and paler beneath, with dusky tail and wings, the latter 
having two bars of white. Length about 4% inches. Nest in 
trees, usually maples. 

These three species are similar in size and habits. They all go 
in flocks and their notes have at least a family resemblance. 
But the redpoll is known by its red crown and black chin, the 
siskin by its pronounced streaked appearance, while the goldfinch 
in winter — the only season when its identity can possibly be mis- 
taken — has neither red crown, black chin, nor streaks, but two 
white bars on each wing. 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 277 

We will now take up that portion of the spar- 

TERRES- j.Q^y family which habitiiallv seeks food on the 

TRIAL 

cT^t7^Tcc. ground. Of these the Snowflake {Passenna 

nivalis), on account oi its striking colors, may be 

set apart by itself. It appears in flocks and only in winter. The 

under parts and middle of wings are white ; the upper parts are 

huffy and the tail and outer half of the wings are dusl^y. Length 

7 inches. 

The rest of this division will be reviewed in three sections 
according to the color pattern of their breasts: (1) those with 
breasts heavily streaked; (2) those of which the adults have 
breasts unstreaked and without any sharp color contrast be- 
yond a single spot or blotch; and (3) those without streaks but 
with a dark breast in abrupt contrast to a white belly. 

We have five sparrows with streaked breasts 
Breasts streaked, named and described as follows : the Vesper 
Sparrow {Fooecetes gramineus) , a common sum- 
mer resident of fields and pastures, is grayish-brown above, 
streaked with black from bill to rump. Each wing has a chestnut 
patch at the bend. The under parts are streaked on the breast 
and sides with dusky brown. Its middle tail feather is about 
equal in length to the outer one. Of the streaked grayish brown 
sparrows, this is the only one having the outer tail feather white. 
Length about 6 inches. Nest on the ground. The Savanna 
Sparrow {Passerculus sandivicliensis savanna) is a summer resi- 
dent occurring in similar situations as, though less commonly 
than, the last, which it resembles in general coloration, but differs 
in having a pale yellow stripe over each eye, no chestnut on the 
bend of the wing and no white feathers in its tail. Its breast is 
also more extensively streaked than the vesper sparrow 's and it is 
smaller. Length about 5% inches. Nest on the ground. 

The Hensi,ow Sparrow {Ammodramus henslowU) is a scarce 
summer resident in the Jeremiah E. Smith meadow and possibly 
elsewhere. Its streaks below are confined to the breast and sides, 
the throat and belly being unstreaked. Its back feathers are 
blackish at the end and margined all round with white. The 
ground color of the sides of the head and nape is light olive- 
green. Its tail feathers are narrowly acute at the tips. Length 
5 inches. Nest on the ground. 



278 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. » 

The Song Sparrow {Melospiza cinerea meloda) belongs to 
moist situations, where there are bushes, stone walls, rank weeds 
— anything to hide it. It is an abundant resident from March 
to November, being one of the earliest birds of spring, when not 
even a snow storm can quench its clear, sweet singing. Its 
upper parts are streaked with gray, rusty brown and black, 
the crown showing a gray median stripe. Below it is white 
streaked along the sides and across the breast with black, the 
streaks on the breast running together to make a blotch in the 
middle. Its outer tail feathers are a quarter-inch less than the 
middle ones. Length 6 to 7 inches. Nest on the ground or in a 
low bush or tussock. The Lincoln Sparrow {Melospiza lin- 
colnii) is a rare migrant or possible summer resident. Its upper 
parts are colored almost exactly like the song sparrow, but it 
differs below in having minute streaks on the throat as well as 
coarser streaks on the breast and sides and in a pronounced 
shade of buff across the breast, which bears no blotch of streaks 
run together. Its outer tail feathers are nearly a quarter-inch 
shorter than those in the middle. Length about 5I/2 inches. 
The Fox Sparrow {Passer ella iliaca) is a common migrant, 
most numerous in April and November, though it is not often 
seen unless one visits scrubby woods, especially sprout land. Its 
prevailing color above is rusty red, brightest on wings, rump 
and tail, the same color appearing below as streaks on a white 
ground. Length about 7 inches. 

The breasts of the young of this group are 
Breasts of adults more or less streaked for a few weeks after they 
unstreaked. leave the nest, but at all subsequent periods they 

show no marked color contrasts beyond an in- 
distinct spot of dusky in the middle of the breast, which occurs 
only in the tree sparrow. 

The Chipping Sparrow {Spizella socialis), which builds its 
frail, hair-lined nest in every orchard, is the most confiding 
and best known of its tribe. The bill of the adult is black, the 
crown chestnut, the back streaked w4th gray-brown and black, 
and the rump pure gray. A wide stripe of white extends from 
the bill back over each eye. The under parts are grayish white. 
The outer tail feather is an eighth-inch longer than those in the 
middle. None of the clear-breasted sparrows have any white 



BIRDS OF NORTHPIELD. 279 

tail feathers. Immature birds of this species have pale bills 
and streaked crowns. Length about 5I/2 inches. Nest always 
in trees or bushes. The Tree Sparrow {Spizella monticola) is 
a winter resident, most abundant in October, November, ]\Iarch 
and April. It resembles the chippy in having more or less chest- 
nut on the crown, a streaked back, gray rump, middle tail 
feathers slightly shorter than the rest, but it differs in having a 
blotch of duslvy in the middle of the breast, more conspicuous 
wing-bars of white, and the base of the lower mandible yellow. 
Length about 6% inches. The Field Sparrow {Spizella piisilla) 
is a common summer denizen of open pastures bearing patches 
of sweet fern or other low bushes, with here and there a boulder. 
In size it is like the chippy, but its entire bill is always pale, 
its back is more rusty and it has no white stripe over the eye, — 
that organ being in the middle of a circular patch of gray. 
The outer and middle tail feathers are of about equal length. 
Length about 5l^ inches. Nest in a low bush or on the ground 
beneath one. The Grasshopper Sparrow {Coturniculus cavan- 
narum passeriniis) is a scarce summer resident of fields and 
grazing lands. It has an insignificant song that has been likened 
to the stridulations of a grasshopper, whence its name. This 
species has a shade of buff across the breast, a dirty white 
stripe down the middle of the crown, j^ellow on the edge of 
the bend of the wing, and a tail composed of narrow, acute 
feathers so short that its outstretched feet reach beyond it. The 
feathers of the back are mainly black with brown tips and gray 
edges. Length about 5 inches. Nest on the ground. 

The Swamp Sparrow {Melospiza georgiana) is a common sum- 
mer resident of meadows and marshes, where water, tall grass 
and bushes are found together. In size and habits it resembles 
the song sparrow. Its back is a mahogany-brown, heavily striped 
with black, its wings and tail being of a clearer and richer brown 
than the striped area. The forehead of the male is black with a 
narrow median strip of gray, and the crown is chestnut, bordered 
on each side by a long stripe of gray above the eye. The crown 
of the female is narrowly striped, chestnut and black, with a 
narrow median line and wider lateral ones over each eye of gray. 
The chin and belly of both sexes are white, the breast being 
pale gray and the sides clear buffy brown. The outer tail 
feathers are nearly a quarter-inch shorter than those in the 



280 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

middle. Length 5i/o to 6 inches. Nest in a tuft of grass or low 
bush. The White-throated Sparrow {Zonotrichia albicollis) 
is an abundant migrant and a sparse summer resident in damp 
scrub land. Its upper parts are mahogany-brown, streaked across 
the shoulders with black. The crown of the adult male is black 
-with a median line of white. Females and young males have 
more or less of brown mixed with the black of the crown, and 
the median line is more gray or buff. The eyebrows and the 
edge of the bend of the wing are yellow. The chin is white in 
abrupt contrast to the gray of the breast. These characters with 
its large size make the identification of this sparrow easy. 
Length nearly 7 inches. Nest on the ground. The White- 
crowned Sparrow {Zonotricliia leucophrys) is a rather scarce 
migrant. It is similar to the white-throated sparrow in size and 
habits. It is gray, streaked with dusky brown across the 
shoulders, clear gray on the nape and breast, dull brown on 
rump, sides, tail and wings, — the latter having two white wing- 
bars — and white on chin and belly, merging into the gray of the 
breast without an abrupt contrast. The crown has a broad 
median stripe of white joined at the back by two narrow stripes 
of white running back from the eyes. The sides of the erown, 
between the median and lateral stripes of white, are black. 
Young birds lack the black and white on the crown, but they may 
be told at once from the white-throated sparrow by their gray 
aspect and the absence of yellow from eyebrows and edges of 
wings. Length 6i/^ to 7 inches. 

The two species that form this group have the 
Lower parts un- throat and breast dark and sharply defined by 
streaked, but contrast with the lower breast and belly which 

breast and belly g^,^ ^^,j^.^^ rj,j^g j^^^.^^ {Junco hyemoMs) is an 
in sharp contrast . 

as to color abundant migrant everywhere and a regular 

breeder in small numbers about the summit of 
Bean Hill. Its upper parts, throat, breast and sides are slate 
color, and its belly and outer tail feathers are white. Immature 
fall specimens have a brown or pinkish tinge over the slaty por- 
tions. Length 6 to Gi/o inches. Nest on the ground. The Tow- 
hee or Chewink {Pipilo erythropthalmus) , named for its ring- 
ing notes, is a common summer resident of bush pastures and 

Note.— The English Sparrow (Passer domesticus) is rarely seen outside the village, 
■where it is too well known to need a description. 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 281 

•"briar patches. The male has upper parts, throat and upper 
hreast, black; sides, chestnut'; and lower breast, belly, tijjs of 
three outer tail feathers and a small spot on each wing, white. 
The female differs from the male in being brown where he is 
"black. Length 71/4 to 8I/2 inches. Nest on the ground. 

The Tanagees. (Tanagridae.) 

The only member of this family having a place here is the 
Scarlet Tanager {Piranga erythromelas) , which is to be found 
scatteringly as a summer resident of the woods, usually where 
there are oak trees. The male in spring and summer has a 
scarlet body and black wings and tail. During its summer 
moult in August the scarlet is replaced by olive-green, in which 
livery the bird departs for its winter home. The female is 
always olive-green, with dusky wings and tail. Length, 7 to 
7^ inches. Nest in trees. 

The Swallows. {Hirundinidae.) 

This family is so well known that no general description is 
necessary. The Purple Martin (Progne subis) is our largest 
■species. Adult males are glossy bluish-black all over. Imma- 
ture males and females are duller steel-blue above, and more or 
less white below, streaked with dark gray. Length 7 inches or 
more; extent about 16. Nest in bird houses in colonies. The 
Cliff or Eaves Sw^allow (Petrocliclidon lunifrons) is easily 
distinguished from all other swallows by a large buff spot on its 
rump. Length 5 to 5I/2 inches and extent about one foot. Nest 
of mud, bowl-shaped, with a hole in the side, plastered up be- 
neath the eaves of a barn or along the cross timbers of a shed, 
almost invariably in colonies, closely set, many in a row. The 
Barn Swallow {ClieUdon eryfJirogastra) is characterized by a 
deeply-forked tail and a row of white spots across the tail near 
the end. The outer tail feathers are more than twice the length 
of those in the middle. Its back is steel-blue, under parts chest- 
nut, with a partial necklace of steel-blue across the breast. 
Length 6 to 7 inches. Extent about 13 inches. Nest on roof 
timbers of barn or shed; not in colonies. The "White-bellied 
or Tree Swallow (Iridoprocne bicolor) is lustrous steel- green 
above and pure white below. Length, about 6 inches; extent, 13. 
Nest in bird houses, a hollow tree or a hole in a building. Not 



282 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 

gregarious. The Bank SwALhow {Biparia riparia) is grayish 
brown above and white below, with a brown necklace across the 
chest. It is common only in the vicinity of sand banks suitable 
for drilling. It is highly gregarious. Length, 5 inches; extent^ 
10l^. Nest in a hole, drilled by the bird itself, in a sand bank. 

The Waxwings. (Avipelidae.) 

The Cherry Bird or Cedar Waxwing {Ampelis Cedrorum) 
is an ardent patron of cherry trees of all kinds when they are in 
fruit. Its salient points are a crested head, a strip of black from 
the bill backward around the eye, and a line of yellow across 
the tip of the tail. General coloration a rich purplish cinna- 
mon. Usually seen in flocks. Length 6 to 7 inches. Nest in 
trees, often in an apple tree. 

The Shkikes. {Laniidae.) 

The shrikes or butcher birds have bluish-gray backs, white 
underparts, black wings, with a large white spot and white 
edgings, a black tail with white tips of the feathers increasing 
outwardly, the outer one being mainly white, a black stripe on 
each side of the head, and the length of the tail about equal to 
the rest of the bird. The bill is hooked at the tip. The North- 
ern Shrike {Lanius borealis) comes in November and goes 
northward again in April. It is a solitary species usually seen 
on a fence or bare tree in fields or cleared pastures. Its breast 
is crossed by numerous fine wavy lines. It is not common. 
Length about 10 inches. The Migrant Shrike (Lanius Indo- 
vicianus migrans) is a scarce summer resident. It is not found 
here during the residence of the last species, from which it 
differs in being smaller, clearer white beneath and in having 
more black on the forehead. Length 8 to 9 inches. Nest in the 
scraggiest apple tree or thorn tree available. It has been found 
breeding here by G. Henry Davis of Tilton. 

The Vireo Family. (Yireonidae.) 

The vireos are the builders of the dainty cup-shaped nests of 
birch bark that we see, after the leaves are fallen, attached to 
forked twigs by the roadside. These nests are attached at the 
rim and hang down between the supporting twigs. Vireos live 
among the foliage of trees and are sweet, voluble and persistent 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 283^ 

singers. They are clad in sober grays above and white or yellow 
beneath, and present none of the striking color contrasts so 
noticeable on many of the warblers. Their bills are slightly 
hooked at the tip. They sing as they hunt, between mouthfuls 
as it were, the day through, instead of devoting their entire 
energy and attention to song for an hour or so morning and 
evening. The Red-eyed Vireo (Vireo olivaceus) is a common 
species everywhere in hard-wood trees, both in the woods and 
orchards and shade trees throughout the summer. Its crown is 
ashy gray, other upper parts plain olive, under parts white, and 
sides tinged with yellow. A white line, bordered above by a 
narrow black line, runs from the nostril back over each eye. 
Its iris is reddish brown, whence its name. Its wings are without 
bars. Length about 6 inches. The Warbling Vireo {Vireo gil- 
vus) is less common than the last in most places, yet in the vil- 
lage shade trees it is the prevailing vireo. It resembles the 
red-eye, being plain olive above, including crown, and white be- 
neath. There is an inconspicuous white line over the eye but no 
black. The wings are without bars. Length about 5 inches. 
The Blue-headed Vireo {Vireo solitarius) is a rather scarce 
summer resident, though common in migration. It comes by the 
last of April, and its intermittent singing among the leafless- 
boughs is then very noticeable. The top and sides of the head 
are ashy-blue, in sharp contrast with a white line from the bill 
to and around the eye, and the white throat. The back is green- 
ish "olive, the sides are pale yellow, and the under parts are 
white. There are two white bars on each wing. Length about 
5I/2 inches. The Yellow-throated Vireo {Vireo flauifrons) 
is a scarce migrant. Its head and shoulders are yellowish olive, 
gradually turning to gray on the back and rump, the throat and 
breast are clear yellow and the belly is white. There are twa 
bars of white on each wing. Length about 6 inches. 

The Warbleks. (Minotiltidae.) 

The warblers are a group of small arboreal birds, which are 
very active in searching among foliage of trees and shrubbery 
for insect prey, indifferent as vocalists, but, as a rule, with con- 
trasty color effects that are agreeable to the eye. They average 
smaller than the vireos and are more brightly colored. They are 
a large and rather confusing family of summer residents and 



:284 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

migrants. The males are more highly colored than the females, 
and are consequently more easily identified. It is often the case 
that females and young fall specimens are difficult to identify 
without adult males to compare them with. The grouping of 
this family as it appears below is based on the color of adult 
males in spring, which is the best season to study them. The 
first three are odd ones, not readily lending themselves to group- 
ing on a color basis. The Parula Warbler {Compsothlypis 
americana usnea) is a rather scarce summer resident usually 
found in mixed timber containing more or less hemlocks. The 
male has its upper parts blue with a yellow area between its 
•shoulders, and two white bars on each wing. Its throat is yel- 
low, bordered below by a collar of dusky and chestnut-brown; 
breast yellow; belly white. The female has a trace of the collar 
And is less sharply marked generally. Length, about 4I/2 inches. 
Nest made of loops of long stringy moss (usnea) in trees. 

The Myrtle or Yellow-rumped Warbler (Dendroica coro- 
nata) is to be recognized at all seasons by an arrangement of yel- 
low spots not found on any other bird of this region. One of 
these sj)ots is on its rump, one on its crown and one on each side 
of its breast. This species breeds sparingly on the summit of 
Bean Hill, and in October is abundant in orchards and pasture 
shrubbery. Length, about 5% inches. Nest usually in low 
:spruces. The Tennessee Warbler {Helminthopltila peregrina) 
is a very rare migrant. The adult male has the entire under 
part grayish white, crown and back of neck ash gray; up'per 
parts otherwise olive green ; a stripe of white over the eye. The 
female in spring is similar except for a suffusion of olive green 
over the head and under parts. All fall specimens are usually 
entirely olive-green above and pale greenish yellow below and 
in the stripe over the eye. Length, about 4% inches. 

The Nashville Warbler (Helminth opJiila ru- 

Under parts yel- hricapilla) is a common migrant, especially in 

low without dis- spring, and an occasional summer resident. The 

inc s rea s. male has its entire under parts greenish yellow. 

Back olive-green. , n , . . , ■ -, -,^ ,> -, 

A patch 01 chestnut is m the middle 01 the 

crown ; the sides and top of the head and neck are ash-gray ; ring 
around the eye white; back, wings and tail olive-green. The 
female lacks the chestnut patch on the crown, otherwise she is 



BIRDS OF NORTHPIELD. 285" 

like the male. Length, about 4l^ inches. Nest on the ground. 
The Wilson Warbler {Wilsonia pusilla) is a scarce migrant, 
passing this region in May and August. Its entire under parts 
are clear yellow and entire upper parts bright olive-green, ex- 
cepting the crown of the male, which is black. Length, about 
4% inches. The Pine Warbler (Dendroica vigorsii) is one of 
the earlier warblers to appear in spring, often coming the first, 
week in April. The adult male has under parts greenish yellow, 
except the belly, which is whitish. Its sides are faintly streaked 
with olive. Its upper parts are yellowish olive, except the wings 
and tail, which are dull olive gray, the wings having two bars of 
dingy white. Females vary from nearly as bright as males to 
dull olive gray all over. The song of this warbler is not dis- 
tinguishable from that of the chipping sparrow. It is frequently 
to be found in scattering pine trees. It is a scarce summer resi- 
dent. Length, 5X'2 'to 6 inches. Nest in trees. The ]\Iarylani> 
Yellow-throat {GeotJilypis triclias) is a common summer resi- 
dent of briar patches, hazel bushes and similar tangles, being^ 
unlike the general run of warblers in preferring a lowly station. 
The male is easily made out by the black mask across his face,, 
and his fussy note of alarm at the first glimpse of an intruder. 
The female lacks the black mask, but otherwise the sexes agree 
in having yellow throats and breasts, buff sides, white bellies, 
and olive-green upper parts. The song of the male, tve-chee- 
cJiee, ive-cliee-cliec, is quite pleasing. Length, about 5 inches. 
Nest on the ground. The Connecticut Warbler (Oporornis- 
agilis) is a scarce autumn migrant, rarely or never seen in spring. 
Its belly is always yellow. Fall specimens have the breast and 
throat olive-brown, and the upper parts entirely olive-green. 
Spring birds differ in having the breast olive and the head ashy 
above. A distinguishing character at all times is a white eye- 
ring. Length, 5I/2 inches. The IMourning Warbler ( Oporornis 
Philadelphia) breeds in the White Mountains and is likely to 
occur here in migration, though it is not actually known ever to 
have done so. The male is like that of the last species in size and 
general appearance, having the top of the head and back of the 
neck slate-gray, back olive-green and belly yellow, but its breast 
and throat feathers are black with gray tips, and there is no eye- 
ring. Females and young males have heads, throat and breast 



286 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

paler and more or less yellowish. The lack of an eye-ring is 
sufficient to distinguish them from similar specimens of the last 
species. 

Two species have under parts yellow narrowly 
Under parts yel- streaked with chestnut or cinnamon. The Yel- 

ith ch tn t ^^^ Warbler {Dendroica aestiva) is a common 
summer resident near ponds and streams. Both 
sexes appear at a little distance to be yellow all over. The female 
has the chestnut streaks obscure and sometimes wanting all 
together. Length, nearly 5 inches. Nest in bushes or small 
trees. The Yellow Palm "Warbler {Dendroica palmarum hy- 
pochrysea) is not uncommon as an early spring and late fall 
migrant. It is often seen on the ground and is noticeable on 
account of a habit of bobbing its tail. Its color characters, aside 
from those belonging to this group, are chestnut crown, yellow 
stripe over each eye, olive-brown back, and greenish yellow rump. 
Length, 514 inches. 

In this group of three are the warblers having 
Under parts yel- ^^le under parts yellow and more or less streaked 

'th bl k ^^^^ heavy lines of black. It is to be noted that 

the extent of the streaked area varies in different 
species. In the Cape May Warbler {Dendroica tigrina), a very 
rare migrant, the black streaks are on the throat, breast and 
sides, but do not run together to form a collar of black across 
the breast. The male has a black crown and chestnut cheeks. 
The sides of his neck are clear yellow, a stripe over each ej^e is 
yellow in front and chestnut behind. The feathers of the back 
are black with yellowish green edges, and the rump is yellow. 
The female is olive above, yellowish on the rump throat and 
breast, whitish on the sides, and under parts finely streaked with 
dusky. Length, 5 to 514 inches. The Magnolia Warbler {Den- 
droica maculosa), a rather scarce migrant, has no black streaks 
on the throat, but on the breast they form a collar, and along 
the sides they are heavy. The male has a gray crown, a stripe 
of white running from the eye backward, sides of head black, 
rump yellow, and a white bar across the tail occupying about the 
middle third of it, the basal and terminal thirds being black. 
The female is much duller colored, but she may be identified with 
certainty by the same white bar across the tail that the male has. 



BIRDS OF NORTHPIELD. 287 

Length, 4% to 5 inches. The Canadian Warbler (Wilsonia 
canadensis) has its black stripes confined to a "necklace" across 
the breast. Above it is uniformly gray except on the crown, 
where the feathers have black centers. Eye-ring and a spot 
on each side of the forehead yellow. Females have the neck- 
lace obscure, but otherwise they are like the males. This is a 
fairly common migrant and an occasional breeder. Length, 51/4 
to '0Y2 inches. Nest on the ground. 

The male Blackburnian Warbler (Deiidro- 
Throat solid *ca hlackburniae) is our only warbler having an 

orange, orange throat without streaks. The belly is pale 
yellow ; the sides are streaked with black ; crown 
black with an orange streak over each eye, and an orange spot 
in the middle ; back black narrowly streaked with whitish. The 
female has throat and line over each eye yellow, and back yel- 
lowish gray streaked with black. This species is not rare as a 
summer resident. Length, 514 to dYo inches. Nest in trees, fre- 
quently hemlocks. 

The males of three species have the throat en- 
Throat solid tirely black. The male American Eedstart 
black. (Setophaga ruticilla) has throat, breast and up- 
per parts black, sides and inner half of wings 
and inner half of tail orange. The female is olive above, whitish 
beneath and yellow where the male is orange. This species is a 
common summer resident. Length, 5 to 5i/^ inches. Nest in trees. 
The Black-throated Blue Warbler (Dendroica caerulescens) 
is a rather scarce migrant here, though it breeds on the Sanborn- 
ton mountains and possibly does so occasionally on Beau Hill. 
The male has the throat and sides of head and body black, the 
upper parts blue and the belly white. The bases of the outer 
wing feathers are wiiite. The female is whitish below and olive 
above. The tiny white spot at the base of her outer wing feath- 
ers is diagnostic, as no other warbler found here has it. Length, 
about 5 inches. Nest in a low bush. The Black- throated 
Green Warbler (Dendroica virens) is a common summer resi- 
dent of pine woods. The male has the throat and sides of breast 
black ; sides of head yellow, with a line of olive through the eye ; 
upper parts olive-green. The female is similar but duller col- 
ored. Length, about 5 inches. Nest in trees, usually pines. 



288 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Two species occur iu this category. Of these 

Under parts ^j^q BlaCK AND WhITE WARBIyEB (MinotUta va- 

white sharply • \ • • n • ^i 

k d th *"*^^ ■^^ ^ very common species, usually m the 

black. larger trees, where it creeps about the trunks and 

larger branches. The male is streaked black and 
white in about equal proportions above and on the breast. The 
female is similar to the male, but usually with less black streaks 
beneath. Length, about 5^4 inches. Nest on ground. The 
Black-poll Warbler (Dendroica striata) is one of the later 
warblers to appear in spring, usually passing here between the 
20th of May and the 10th of June. In spring it is seen oftener 
in orchards than in the woods. Fall migrants frequent pastures 
wdth scattering trees and patches of gray birches. Spring males 
have the under parts white with black streaks along the sides of 
the neck and body; crown entirely black; back streaked, black 
and gray; wings with two white bars. The spring female has 
the crown and back olive-green streaked with black ; under parts 
tinged with greenish yellow ; sides obscurely streaked with, dusky. 
Fall specimens are quite different, the under parts being yellow- 
ish with obscure olive streaks ; upper parts clear olive-green from, 
bill to tail, with dusky streaks down the back; wing-bars yellow- 
ish. Length, nearly 5I/2 inches. 

The tM^o species here included are large aber- 
Under parts rant warblers, noticeably different from the aver- 

white or yellow- ^gg warbler type. Both obtain their food from 
IS , s arp y ^^^^ ground, and have uniform brown backs. The 

streaked with "^ a • 

brown. OvENBiRD {Seiiirus aurocapillus) is a common 

summer resident. Its song — we-clie, ive-che, we- 
clie, we-clie, we-che, — in forceful crescendo, is almost ear split- 
ting at close range. It walks instead of hopping. It has a wide 
stripe of orange-brown over the crown, flanked on each side by 
a line of black; otherwise, its upper parts are a golden greenish 
brown. The sexes are alike. Length, about 6 inches. Its nest 
is a roofed structure, whence its name, placed on the ground. 
The Water-Thrush (Seiurus novehoi-acensis) is a citizen of 
swamps and the margins of ponds and streams. Its most notice- 
able characteristic is its incessantly bobbing tail. Its under parts 
are yellowish white, streaked on the throat, breast and sides with 
dark brown. Its upper parts are dark olive-brown. Over each 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 289 

eye extends a line of yellowish white. Length, abont 5% inches. 
Nest on the ground. 

The Chestnut-sided Warbler {Dendroica 
Sides chestnut ; pensylvanica) is a common summer resident, 
belly white or usually in scrub land and small woods of deeid- 

y w 1 e. nous trees. The male has the throat, breast and 

belly v/hite; sides chestnut; crown yellow; back streaked with 
black and pale yellow. The female is similar but duller. The 
Bay-breasted Warbler {Dendroica castanea) is a scarce mi- 
grant. The spring male is to be distinguished from the last 
species at a glance by its throat, which is chestnut, confluent 
with the same color on its sides, and by its crown, which, also, is 
chestnut. Its back is gray streaked with black. The spring- 
female is duller of color, but similar to the male. Young fall 
birds are only to be distinguished from young fall specimens of 
the black-poll warbler, already described, by a faint tinge of 
buff or pale chestnut on the sides. 

The Pipits. (Motacillidae.) 

As but one species of this family is to be found here, the ques- 
tion of characters may be referred to the description of the 
American Pipit {Antlius pensilvanicus) , which is but a mi- 
grant, most in evidence in the fall when corn is in the shock. 
Then it appears in flocks and is quite common in the harvested 
corn fields. It is less common in spring. Its most noticeable 
feature is an incessant jerking of the tail when it is alighted, 
and white outer tail feathers when on the wing. Above it is 
olive brown slightly streaked with dusky. A line over the eye, 
and the under parts are huffy. The hind claw is long and nearly 
straight, similar to that of the homed lark. The sexes are alike. 
Length, 6 14 to 7 inches. 

The Mockingbird Famili'. (Mimidae.) 

Although the true mockingbird does not occur here, it is repre- 
sented by two relatives, the catbird and brown thrasher, which 
abundantly attest the musical ability of the family. They are 
frequenters of thickets adjacent to grazing and tillage land, 
where insects, worms and berries are to be had, combined with a 
tangle to hide in. They all agree in having short, broad wings, 
and tails approximately as long as their bodies. The Catbird 
20 



290 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

{3Iinus carolinensis) is slate colored, darker above, lighter be- 
neath, with crown, wings and tail black. Sexes alike. It is a 
common summer resident. Length, 8I/2 to 9 inches. Nest in 
bushes. The Brown Thrasher {Toxostoma rufus) is rusty 
brown above, and whitish spotted with dark brown on the breast 
and sides. Sexes alike. This species is a common summer resi- 
dent, nesting usually in thorny bushes, though occasionally on 
the ground. Length, about 11 inches. 

The Wrens. (Troglodytidae.) 

The wrens are little snuff-brown birds, usually found about 
stone walls, brush heaps and similar lowly and obscure situa- 
tions. They are given to scolding, and not unfrequently cock their 
tails straight up in a very impudent fashion. The House Wren 
(Troglodytes aedon) is a scarce summer resident, generally speak- 
ing, though a pair or two usually breed somewhere about the 
village each year. The sexes are alike, snuff brown above, paler 
brown beneath, becoming nearly white on the bell.y, everywhere 
indistinctly barred with wavy lines of dusky. Length, 4% to 
51/4 inches. Nest in holes in trees and in nesting boxes. The 
"Winter Wren {Olhiorcliilus hiemalis) is a scarce migrant, but 
probably an occasional summer resident in secluded swamps. 
This species is usually found in tangly places in the woods. It 
is colored much like the house wren, being deep brown above, 
darkest on the head and brightest on the rump and paler beneath. 
The sides and flanks are strongly barred with dusky and whitish. 
It is decidedly smaller than the house wren, being only about 
4 inches long. Nest near the ground in crevices of stumps or 
fallen logs in swamps. 

The Creepeks. iCerthiidae.) 

The Brown Creeper {Certhia familiaris americana) is the 
little bird frequently seen in cold weather making its way by little 
hitches up the trunks of trees, examining every crevice for in- 
sects or their eggs. The creeper always begins at the bottom of 
a tree and works its way upward towards the top, from whence 
it flies diagonally downward to the butt of the next tree. Its 
back is dark brown streaked with whitish, becoming rusty brown 
on the rump. Its under parts are white. Its bill is slender and 
curved slightly downward, and its tail feathers are sharply 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 291 

pointed, being used as a pi'op, after the manner of a woodpecker's 
tail. The creeper is mainly migrant, but it is likely to be found 
breeding now and then. Length, about 5^2 inches. Nest in a 
hole in a tree or behind a splinter of bark. 

The Nuthatches. {Sitticlae.) 

The nuthatches are queer little birds, often seen climbing about 
the trunks and larger branches of trees in Avinter. Unlike the 
creeper, they are as often seen moving Avith their heads downward 
as upward, and they can run around the under side of a large 
limb as easily as a fly. Both species breed here sparingly. The 
male AVhite-breasted Nuthatch {Sitia carolinensis) has a 
grayish blue back, a black crown and white under parts. The 
female's crown is scarcely darker than her back, otherwise she is 
like the male. Length, Si/o to 6 inches. The nest is in a hole 
drilled in the dead portion of a tree. The Red-breasted Nut- 
hatch {Sitta canadensis) is colored above quite similarly to the 
last species, but its under parts are reddish brown. It is smaller 
than the last species, being only 4i/^ to 4% inches in length. It 
drills its own nest hole in decayed wood and daubs fresh pine 
pitch around the entrance. 

The Chickadees. (Paridae.) 

The Chickadee {Paras africapillus) is a well-known resident. 
The sexes are alike, the upper parts being gray, the crown and 
throat black, and the under parts white. Length, about 5 inches, 
of which the tail is about half. Nest in holes in decayed trees. 
It is a cheerful sight in midwinter to see a troop of these hardy 
little fellows making a circuit of the tree tops searching for their 
daily rations. In this season of scarcity they are always glad of 
bits of Avaste meat that may be put in the trees for them, and 
the farmer cannot find a surer income from charity of any sort 
than from Avhat he may thus bestow on these hungry birds that 
annually save him dollars b}^ their persistent warfare on insects. 
The IIuDSONiAN Chickadee (Parus liudsonicus) is a rare winter 
visitant from the White ^lountains. It is not actually known 
to have occurred here, but as it has been found elscAvhere in this 
county, and even so far south as Connecticut, it may reasonably 
be expected here. In size and appearance it is like the chicka- 
dee, but its back is pale olive-broAvn and its throat and croAvn are 
broAvn instead of black. 



292 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

The Kinglets. {Sylviidae.) 

The kinglets, so named from having a spot of bi-ight color on 
the crown, are tiny birds, smaller even than the warblers. They 
are excessively active in flitting from twig to twig, and are often 
seen hovering in the air for a moment beneath a leaf or a branch 
while inspecting the lower surface. They may be distinguished 
in the hand from the warblers by noting that the outer wing 
feather is less than half as long as the next one to it. The outer 
feather of a warbler's wing is always much more than half the 
length of the second feather. The Golden-crowned Kinglet 
{Eegulns satrapa) is olive-green above; wings and tail dusky 
edged with pale yellow ; and under parts whitish. The male has 
a patch of yellow containing a median stripe of orange on its 
crown. The female is similar, except that its crown patch is 
entirely yellow. This species is a common migrant and an occa- 
sional resident throughout the year. Length, about 4 inches. 
The nest, a pendant structure of green moss, is attached to a 
spruce branch neor the tip. The Ruby-crowned Kinglet {Keg- 
ulus calendula) is colored in general like the last named, but it 
has a white eye-ring, and the male has on its crown a triangular 
patch of red, which the female lacks. This species is only a mi- 
grant, appearing in April and early May, and again in Septem- 
ber and October. Length, nearly 4i/o inches. 

The Thrush Family. (Turdidae.) 

The most familiar member of the thrush family is the Robin 
(Merula migratoria) , which needs not to have either its appear- 
ance or habits recorded here. The woodland thrushes, which are 
less well-known, are like the robin in contour, but are quite dif- 
ferent from it in color and habitat, though they all closely re- 
semble each other. The Hermit Thrush {Hylocickla guttata 
pallasii) arrives from the South early in April and remains till 
November. It lives almost exclusively in the woods, often among 
evergreens, from whence, morning and evening, issues its clear, 
soul-stirring song. Its upper parts are olive-brown turning to 
tawny or rusty on the rump and tail; sides olive-gray; under 
parts buffy white, sharply spotted with dusky. Length, 7 to 7I/2 
inches. Nest on the ground. The WiLsoisr Thrush (HylocicJila 
fuscescens) is another summer resident of practically the same 



BIRDS OF NORTHFIELD. 293 

size and color pattern as the last, but its entire upper parts are 
tawny, the back and tail presenting- no contrast. It is also much 
less heavily spotted beneath than any of the other woodland 
thrushes. Its song is of the metallic quality that characterizes 
all its tribe, but it is not nearly so fine as that of the hermit. 
This species is more commonly found near water than on the 
hills. Nest on the ground or near it. The Olive-backed 
Thrush (Hylocichla ustulata swainsonii) is a migrant. Its up- 
per parts are uniform olive throughout ; sides olive-gray ; under 
parts buffy white spotted with dusky, much like the hermit. A 
yellowish eye-ring is a noticeable feature. This species may be 
looked for in May, August and September and possibly may be 
found here in the breeding season. Length, 6% to 7% inches. 
Nest in low tree. The Song Thrush {IlylocicJda mustelina) is 
a rare summer visitor. Its back is rusty brown, turning to olive 
on the rump and tail; sides and under parts white with many 
round spots of dusky. On a certain June morning I saw and 
heard sing one of these thrushes near the so-called ' ' Summit ' ' on 
the railroad. Length, 7l^ to 8 inches. Nest in a tree. The 
Bluebird {Sialia sialis) needs no description or encomium. It 
is one of the few birds that everybody knows and loves. No 
song is more cheering than that of the bluebird as it comes to us 
in spring, neither are any bird notes more doleful than those it 
utters while preparing to obey that mysterious impulse from 
within which commands it to leave us toward the end of autumn. 




r ^ 



a 



1 780- 1 905 



History of Northfield 



NEW HAMPSHIRE 



PART II 



GENEALOGIES 



BY 

LUCY R. H. CROSS 



Town histories have an inestimable value. Whenever 1 look at a 
row of these fat volumes, filled with the quaint, homely annals of the 
early settlers, intermixed with genealogies and portraits, enlivened witii 
anecdotes of the old-time raisings and muster parades, bursting with 
details of all kinds of events from Indian massacres to the controversy 
over introducing a sto\e into the meeting house: giving equal space to 
the biggest pumpkin raised in 1817 and the poor old hermit found frozen 
to death in his hut .... whenever I look at these repositories of 
humble items, dragnets of facts big and little, 1 feel that the greatness 
of America is bound up between their swollen covers. 

— Frances M. Abbott in ^'Granite Monthly." 



CONCORD, N. H. 

RuMFORD Printing Company 

1905 



INTRODUCTION. 



The genealogical arrangement here employed is so simple it 
needs no explanation. In bnt few cases does the record go back 
farther than the first of the name in town. The varied orthog- 
raphy of certain names has been noted, but no authority claimed. 

Where no town is mentioned as place of birth, etc., Northfield 
is to be understood, and the abbreviations "N. H." have been 
omitted. A mark of interrogation denotes uncertainty ( ?) ; "b." 
has been used for born; "m. " for married; "d. " for died, and 
■"dau." for daughter or daughters. 

It is not claimed that the names of all who served as soldiers 
in the several wars are here recorded. They have a chapter 
devoted to their enrollment. 

Ministers of the gospel, lawyers, physicians, senators, judges 
and others high in the military and civil service of the state and 
nation stand out in goodly numbers to ennoble and brighten the 
following pages with the record of their deeds and "words fitly 
spoken. ' ' To transmit these to those who shall come after us, and 
to show what the influence of our emigrating sons and daughters 
has been on other communities, has been a pleasant task and a 
source of pride and satisfaction, as the flattering story has come 
to us from all parts of the world. 



GENEALOGIES. 



ABBOTT I. 



Dea. Elias Abbott was b. in Concord, Oct. 24, 1757. Sept., 1783, m. 
Elizabeth Buswell, b. at Kingston, Sept. 4, 1761. They, with five chil- 
dren, came to N. in the spring of 1801 and bought one of the Leavitt 
farms, at the foot of Bean Hill, lot No. 24 of the original survey. He 
had served in Bedel's Regiment and went under Captain Osgood to fight 
the Indians in Canada. He was with his two neighbors, Lieutenants 
Lyford and Glidden, at the surrender of Fort William Henry. His 
name was put on the pension rolls, Dec. 15, 1830, and he drew $96 a 
year. He was a religious man and assisted in the formation of the 
Congregational Church in 1822, and was its first deacon, which office he 
held until old age. He d. at 90, May 19, 1847. She d. Jan. 25, 1832. 

Second Generation. 

Elias Abbott, b. at Concord, March 22, 1786. He spent most of his 
life with or near his father, who erected him a home on the farm. He 
m. (first) May 2, 1812, Lydia Sawyer, of N., b. July 23, 1784, and d. May 
14, 1826. They had four children. He m. (second) Aug. 29, 1826, Sarah 
Winslow, b. at Concord, Jan. 30, 1788; d. at N., Aug. 2, 1848; and had 
two daughters. He m. (third) Mrs. Elinor Rogers, May 22, 1853, and 
d. at N., Sept. 10, 1862. 

Abagail Abbott, b. at Concord in 1783; became, Feb., 1829, the second 
wife of Dea. Jeremiah Hall (see Hall gen.), and d. Aug. 25, 1864. 

Betsey Abbott, b. at Concord, 1789, and d. at N., March 29, 1847. She 
spent her whole life in loving care of her parents and outlived her 
father but ten days. 

James Buswell Abbott was for many years a popular teacher and 
later read medicine and graduated from Dartmouth Medical College in 
1825. M., Nov. 15, 1827, Nancy B. Rogers, his next door neighbor. At 
her death, ten years later, m. her sister, Elisabeth A. Rogers, who d. 
after five years. He practiced first at Canterbury as associate of the 
late Dr. Harper, and then for a time at Boscawen. He then took up 
his abode at Sanbornton Square as the successor of Dr. Hill, where he 
remained until his death 26 years later. In 1843, he m. for his third 
wife, Sarah, dau. of Joseph Gerrish of Boscawen, by whom he had four 
children, but one of whom survives. James B. d. at 22, just as he 
became associated with his father in business. Dr. Abbott found time 



6 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

in the midst of a busy practice to act as clerk of the town and to 
supervise tlie schools for 22 successive years, and was superintendent 
of the Sunday school 16 years. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Elias and Lydia Sawyer Abbott.) 

Gaedner Sawyer Abbott, b. Feb. 27, 1813, has spent his whole life in 
town and survives at the age of 92 years with faculties unimpaired, and 
is still interested in all that transpires. He was thrice married, (first) 
to Phebe Buswell of Bay Hill, who d. Sept. 3, 1856; (second) to Sarah 
Jane Buswell (pub.), Jan. B, 1857, who d. Feb. 23, 1860; (third) May, 
1864, to Mrs. Lydia Peters of Concord, who d. March 29, 1897. He has 
been a teacher of ability, a farmer and a trusted business man; was col- 
lector for the town for 13 years and selectman for five. He was also 
deacon of Northfleld and Tilton Congregational Church for 18 years, 
and its clerk until incapacitated by age. In 1878 his farm buildings 
were struck by lightning and burned, and he has since resided at the 
junction of the two Bay Hill I'oads. This house has perhaps been the 
home of more families than any other in town. 

Alfred S. Abbott, b. 1816; m., 1842, Susan Howe, and settled as a 
farmer in Canterbury. He d. there in 1888; she d. 1890. He was 
deacon of the Congregational Church for a long term of years. They 
had three children, but one of whom, Almira Willard, survives. 

Emily Buswell Abbott, m.. May 18, 1841, David Webber and removed 
to Starksboro. (See Webber gen.) 

Matilda Abbott, b. 1818; m. Barnard Currier of Concord and d. 1899. 
Several children lived to maturity and are widely scattered. 

(Children of Elias and Sarah Winslow Abbott.) 
Lydia S. Abbott, b. in 1827; m. Enoch Welch and removed to Ohio. 
Sarah W. Abbott, b. 1832; m. Philander Walsh and removed to the 
West, where she d., leaving five children. 



ABBOTT II. 

Moses Colby Abbott was b. at Ryegate, Vt., April 2, 1833. He m., 
March 3, 1855, Mary A. Regan of Rumney, b. in Boston, Aug. 11, 1830. 
She d. at Tilton, June 10, 1885. He m. (second) Mrs. Mary Palmer 
Brown of N., April 27, 1889, and resides at East N. He has been a 
blacksmith for more than fifty years; also a Methodist preacher and 
exhorter. They had three children. 

Second Generation. 

Austin Clarence Abbott, b. Feb. 7, 1856, at Plymouth; m., Feb. 23, 
1879, Nellie J. Dudley of Tilton. They now reside at Lynn, Mass., and 
have one child, Gladys M. 



GENEALOGIES. 7 

Frank Hazex Abbott, b. at Rumney, Sept. 4, 1857; m. Margaret Fer- 
ritter, and resides at Oakland, Me. They have one son, John F. 
Lucia Arabella Abbott, b. at Rumney, Sept. 4, 1S64. 



ABBOTT III. 

Jedeulah Abbott bought the Whidden farm on Bean Hill of Samuel 
Libby about 1876. He was a minister and, though never having a reg- 
ular charge, worked in the Lord's vineyard as opportunity offered, 
mended shoes and tilled his land. He often held services In the school- 
house and at "Worsted Church." 

Though not an educated man, he had a good voice, was a ready 
speaker and especially gifted in prayer. After his wife's death, April 
13, 1886, he removed to Goffstown, where he d. soon after. They are 
both buried in the cemetery by the town house. They cared for several 
homeless children, but had none of their own. 



ADAMS. 



Samuel Adams, b. at Chester, Feb. 10, 1828; m., April 25, 1853, Sarah 
A. Dunaven, b. at Enosburg, Vt, Nov. 10, 1833. They came to N. from 
Tilton, Jan. 4, 1882. He had been a farmer at Danbury, but was em- 
ployed later at the Tilton mills for 17 years. He served in the army 
(see Boys in Blue). They had seven children. 

Second Generation. 

Abbie Axxie Adams, b. at Haverhill, Mass., March 27, 1855; d. at 
Tilton, Sept. 1, 1876. 

Charles Egbert Adams, b. at Haverhill, July 27, 1858; m., Jan. 8, 
1879, Martha B. Jarvis of Tilton. He is a fireman at the Jackson Mfg. 
Co.'s works at Nashua, where they reside. They have three children, 
Joseph, Frank and Minnie B. 

Laura Emma Adams, b. at Haverhill, Jan.. 1860; m., May 19, 1885, 
Herbert Eastman, b. at Weare. He is an underwriter for an insurance 
company at Hartford, Conn., where they reside. They have two chil- 
dren, Herbert and Harold. 

Minnie Louise Adams, b. at Danbury, March 4, 1862; d. at Tilton, 
April 17, 1880. 

Sadie Louise Adams, b. at Danbury, Jan. 12, 1866; m., June 5, 1889, 
George W. Bettis, b. at Morrisville, Vt., June 2, 1867. He was station 
agent and later a machinist, at Ashland, where he now resides. They 
have three children, Marion, Helen F. and Margaret. 

Lettie May Adams, b. at Belmont, July 27, 1873, and d. there in 
infancy. 

Maria Frances Adams, b. at Danbury, July 27, 1887, and d. there. 



O HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Charles and Martha Jarvis Adams.) 
Joseph Egbert Adams, b. at Tilton, Nov. 29, 1879, enlisted in the reg- 
ular army for three years, then re-enlisted for the same term, and is 
now stationed at Des Moines, Iowa, in the Eleventh United States Cav- 
alry. 

Frank Marshall Adams, b. at Tilton, Dec. 13, 1882. He enlisted 
for four years as a marine on the ship Dixie, served his term and 
re-enlisted for another term on cruisers San Francisco and Helena. He 
m., Jan. 5, 1905, Josephine Roberts of Norfolk, Va. 

Minnie Bell Adams, b. at Tilton, Aug. 12, 1881; resides in the home. 



ALDRICH. 

Caleb Aldrich of Smithfield, R. I., came to N. from Hill (New Ches- 
ter) in 1822. Two children, b. in Smithfield, remained there, while one, 
Windsor, came to N. with his father and remained in East N. on the 
Sanborn farm. His sister, Harriet, also came to N. and Edwin, who 
removed West. Caleb died at Hill. 

Second Generation. 

Windsor Aldrich, b. in R. I., March 4, 1802; m. Abagail Sargent of 
Loudon, b. June 6, 1802 ( ?) . After her death at N., March 5, 1850, he 
m. Olive Jenness, Oct. 27, 1850. She d. at N., Feb. 24, 1867, and he m. 
(third) Mrs. Mary Downing of Ellsworth. He d. Sept. 21, 1871. She 
d. Aug. 27, 1887. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Windsor and Abagail Aldrich.) 
Sally Sargent Aldrich, b. at N., July 30, 1829; m. (pub.), Feb. 5, 
1849, Charles P. Ticknor, a teacher of penmanship at the New Hamp- 
shire Conference Seminai'y. He became a farmer at East N. and d. 
there, June 30, 1860. She m. (second) Charles Sanborn of Salisbury, 
Sept. 23, 1875. She had two children by first marriage. 

Charles Sargent Aldrich, b. at N., Sept. 8, 1834; m., Oct. 10, 1863, 
Emeline H. Jenness of Chichester, b. April 23, 1831, and d. May 17, 1869 
They had two children. 

Fourth Generation. 
(Children of Charles P. and Sally Ticknor.) 
Abbie Ticknor, b. at N., March 28, 1851; m. (first), Nov. 13, 1870, 
James H. Courser of Warner, a farmer. He d. Jan. 17, 1875. She m. 
(second) Arthur Tucker of Warner, Dec. 25, 1894, and had three chil- 
dren, James, Ralph and Katherine. 



GENEALOGIES. 9 

Bennte Tickxor, b. at N., Sept. 14, 1856; went when a boy to reside 
with Mrs. Blaisdell and goes by her name. He m., Sept. 11, 1SS7, Cinda 

E. Dow, and is a blaclvsmith in Pittsfield. 

(Cliildren of Charles and Emeline Aldrich.) 
Emma A. Aldrich, b. at N., Feb. 1, 1854; m., Nov. 18, 1869, George 

F. Rand of N. (See Rand gen.) She m. (second), Oct. 25, 1874, John 
H. Mead of Hill, who is employed by the Boston & Maine Railroad as 
section foreman. 

Sarah B. Aldrich, b. at N., June 23, 1860; d. unmarried at Franklin, 
March 23, 1879. 



ALLARD. 



Two brothers, Jonathan and Joseph Allard, came to N. in 1810, and 
bought the Clark and Moloney farm, afterwards the farm of Jeremiah 
dross. The former came from Londonderry and the latter from Sand- 
wich. Jonathan was first taxed in 1811, and Joseph in 1815, and James 
Madison in 1816. Joseph was a tailor by trade. He was very fastid- 
ious in dress and, in spite of being an inveterate snuff taker, was quite 
the "style" with body encased in corsets and surmounted with an ultra- 
fashionable highland plaid cloak. He m. Polly Robinson of Canter- 
bury, Jan. 25, 1812, and had two children. He d. at N., April 29, 1843. 

Second Generation. 

James Madison Allard must have been nearly of age when he came 
to N. He remained but a few years. 

Eliza Allard, m. Parkhurst and removed to Boston. 



ALLISON. 

The Allisons were among the early settlers in the north fields. Lot 
55 in the second division of 100 acre lots was laid out to the right of 
Joseph Allison. He came from Holderness and m. Sarah Haines, Aug. 
11, 1785. A sister, probably Betsey Allison, m. Edward Dyer, Sept. 
2, 1792. 

Second Generation. 

Richard Allisox inherited the lot in which Chestnut Pond is locateci 
He m. Susanna Smith. He removed later to French's mills in Canada. 
There were several children; I can find the name of but one. 

Mary Allisox, b. in Holderness; m. William Forrest. (See Forrest 
gen.) 

William Allisox was a blacksmith and lived in Canterbury. 

Third Generation. 
Anna Allisox, m. James Forrest, and lived and d. at East N., Oct., 
1809. She was 47 years of age. (See Forrest gen.) 



10 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

(Child of Richard and Susanna Smith Allison.) 
Charlotte Allisox, b. 1792, at N.; did not remove to Canada with 
her parents, but remained in the family of Squire Glidden. She was a 
noble Christian girl and devout Methodist, as was Mother Glidden. 
They were baptized in Chestnut Pond and were among the first of that 
sect in town. 

John Butler of Nottingham owned one-third of Governor Shute's 
reservation of 500 acres and used to send stock there for pasturage, 
coming often himself and calling on his old friend Squire Glidden. 
He fell in love with the busy Charlotte and when he returned from 
the funeral of his friend, Aug. 21, 1811, took her home as his wife. 
She was the mother of General B. F. Butler. 



AMBROSE. 

Dea. .Josiah Ambrose was b. at Concord, 1770, and built his little 
cabin beside the brook flowing from Chestnut Pond when the country 
around was a howling wilderness. He m. Mollie Morse, his next door 
neighbor, and when his little home was ready for the windows went 
on foot to Concord and returned with the outfit on his shoulders. It 
consisted of half a window. He was a farmer, teacher and business 
man generally. He represented the town in the Legislature of 1812, 
and held every other office in the gift of the town. He d. at Dalton, 
where he had gone on a visit to friends in 1840. His wife survived 
him until Nov. 9, 1857, and died at 90 years of age. A niece, Betsey 
Cotton of Boston, lived with her many years. They had no children. 



AMES. 

Dr. WiLiiiAM B. Ames came from Vermont to Sanbornton Bridge and 
d. there soon after, leaving a widow and seven children. The family 
came to N. about 1840. Mrs. Ames d. at N., Aug. 28, 1865, aged 71. 

Second Generation. 

Michael Ames was a prominent lawyer at St. Paul and d. there in 
1862. 

William B. Ames also resided at St. Paul, Minn., and d. there about 
1863. 

Angeline Ames, b. 1825; m.. May 21, 1849, Henry Whipple, a carpen- 
ter, of Concord, where he d. She d. at N., Jan. 20, 1868. 

Sarah R. Ames, b. 1830; m., Aug. 25, 1845, Charles Henry Morrison, 
of Concord, a cabinet maker and later in the employ of the Northern 
Railroad. They had three sons. She d. at Concord, March 21, 1874. 
Mr. Morrison was b. in Loudon in 1827. He went to Concord in 1850. 

Auroline Ames, d. at the age of 17. 

RoAxcY Ames, d. at the age of 15. 



GENEALOGIES. 11 

Lyman Bracket Ames bought the drug and bookstore of Dr. Spencer 
in June, 1861, and remained there until associated with Mr. Kelsea in 
Hills block in the same business in 1865. The same place is now 
occupied by C. P. Herrick. Mr. Ames sold to Tilton & Thorpe in 1870 
and removed to Pittsfield, where he d., Feb. 13, 1872. 

Mr. Ames served the town of N. as clerk six or seven years. After 
his removal from N. he was helpful in establishing the new town of 
Tilton and was its representative in the Legislatures of 1867--'68. He 
m. March 10, 1864, Ellen M. Shattuck of Nashua, and had four children. 

Third Generation. 

Mary Ellen Ames, b. Dec. 30, 1864; d., Aug. 28, 1865. 
Harry Bracket Ames, b. Oct. 6, 1866. 

Kate Shurtliff Ames, b. May 5, 1870; m., Jan. 18, 1894, John B. 
Grover. 

Louis Barton Ames, b. July 17, 1871. 



ANDREWS. 

Charles E. Andrews came from Boston to N. in 1900, June 20. He 
was b. at Portland, Me., Sept. 12, 1874; m., Dec. 7, 1898, Eva Leonard, 
b. at Chelsea, Mass., April 2, 1878. Mr. Andrews is foreman of the 
boarding room at G. H. Tilton's hosiery mill. They have one child, 
Edith Andrews, b. Dec. 17, 1900. They reside on Gale Avenue. 



ARLIN. 



Many families bearing this name formerly lived in town. It is said 
Esq. Thomas Chase brought the family here to be his servants, and 
servants they and their descendants remained to the last. The name 
dropped from the records years ago. 

Samuel Arlin owned real estate in 1833. Another family seemed to 
be fastidious in their choice of their children's names, as we find Har- 
rison, Anderson, Manderson and Lacy. 

Alice Arlin was one of the longest lived women b. in town. She 
was b. 1798; m., 1824, Jeremiah Dow of Canterbury, a Revolutionary 
soldier. He left home to see about a pension and never returned. They 
had one son, Jeremiah Dow, who lived in N. and d. at the age of 78. 
Later she m. John Hanson of Boscawen and d. there, aged 104. Three 
sons and a dau., Rhoda (see Dow gen.), children of John Arlin of Con- 
cord, also lived in town. 

Charles L. (see Glines H gen.) served in the Civil War, and d. at N., 
Dec. 20, 1896 (see Boys in Blue). 

Alonzo Arlin m. Lucretia Dearborn of N. and now resides in Tilton. 
They had six children, only two of whom are living, Ira T. and Everett. 
The former is blind, but has great skill in the use of tools. Everett is 
a machinist in Lakeport. 



12 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

ATKINSON. 

Silas Atkinson, b. at Boscawen, Dec. 20, 1781; was a miller there 
for some years and later in the same business at Union Bridge. 

He came to East N. and was a farmer on the Rand place, where he 
d. Sept. 29, 1837. He was a brother of Judge Daniel C. Atkinson of 
Sanbornton Bridge. But one of his seven children remained in town 
and none were born here. Horatio resides with his son Leroy at Tilton. 

After the death of Daniel and Mehitabel Tilton Atkinson, the former, 
April 5, 1842, and the latter, Nov. 12, 1814, their two daughters came 
to reside in the home of their aunt, Mrs. Dr. Parsons Whidden, in N. 
and a son. Napoleon Bonaparte, removed to Madison, Ga., where he d. 
July 12, 1904. 

Second Generation. 

AsENATH Atkinson, b. March 17, 1817; m., Nov. 19, 1840, John M. 
Whitcher of East N. and has since resided there. (See Whitcher gen.) 

Josephine Bonaparte Atkinson, b. at Sanbornton Bridge, Oct. 25, 
1835, was educated at Kimball Union Academy, and was from 1863 
to 1870 lady principal of Pinkerton Academy at Derry. She m. Jan. 
19, 1871, Hon. John H. Goodale of Nashua (see Mooney gen.), where 
she has resided since his death. She has one dau., Charlotte A. Good- 
ale, wife of Henry A. Kimball of Concord. A son, John Mooney Good- 
ale, d. in childhood. 

Chaelotte Atkinson, b. Dec. 29, 1837, was educated at N. H. Con- 
ference Seminary. She was a music teacher at Monticello, Ga., and 
later at Concord, being a pupil of the late J. H. Morey. She resided 
with her sister in Nashua some years until her marriage, Oct. 15, 
1895, to Hon. John Kimball of Concord, where they now reside. 



AUSTIN. 



Thomas Austin was an early settler on the banks of the Merrimack, 
on part of Gospel lot No. 1 and perhaps a part of No. 2, it being north 
and contiguous to the Cross settlement. He was a farmer and raised 
hops. James Robertson bought the farm and continued the business. 
(See Robertson gen.) He later lived with his daughter Sally on the 
north end of the homestead, where he died at the extreme old age of 
100 years and six months. Many of his friends called on his 100th 
anniversary, took his picture and in other ways marked the event. 
He d. May 11, 1867. A sister, Anna, m. Abel Bachelder of Oak Hill. 
(See Bachelder gen.) 

Second Generation. 

Sally Austin, b. Jan. 7, 1795; m., 1813, Robert Smith, b. at N., 1813. 
He d. Sept. 9, 1879. She d. at Manchester. They had three dau. (See 
Smith gen.) 



GENEALOGIES. IS 

Samuel Austin, b. Nov. 2, 1799. A deed is on record, whereby he 
conveyed to Richard Glines of Danville, Vt., in 1802, 32 acres of lot 
No. 8 for $200. This is land bordering on the Merrimack River below 
Hart Hill. He had a son, Daniel, who resides in Goffstown. 

Susan Austin, m. May 20, 1817, Hazen Batchelder of Loudon. 

Jeremiah Austin, b. Nov. 28, 1800; m., Nov. 20, 1823, Alice Simonds, 
b. Dec. 22, 1803, and d. Nov. 11, 1868. He d. at 81. They had three 
children. 

Jerusha Austin, b. April 29, 1803, d. in girlhood. 

Daniel Austin, b. Dec. 1, 1804, was drowned May 4, 1841. 

Third Generation. 

Mary Esther Austin, m. Daniel Beckman and removed to San- 
bornton. They had two children, Daniel and Maryetta. 

Henrietta Austin lived with her grandparents when she d. March 
25, 1847. 

Thomas Sijionds Austin, b. June 15, 1830; m., June 15, 185G, Alice 
Ludlow. He was a soldier in Civil War (see Boys in Blue). They 
had a dau., Henrietta, and son, Thomas, who resides at Franklin. 

I find also the following data that I am unable to classify: 

Sally Austin, m. Benaiah Farnum, Sept. 26, 1797. 

Rhoda Austin, dau. of Robert Austin, b. April, 1776. 

Benjamin Austin, m. Jane Foss, Dec. 7, 1817. 

Mary Austin, m. Joseph Sweatt, Nov. 20, 1823. 

Anna Austin, m. Asa Roberts, June 4, 1834. 

HusE Austin, m. Sally Dinsmore, 1830. 

Jane Austin, m. Daniel Morse, 1835. 

Annie Austin, d. Sept., 1848. 

Eliza Austin, m. David Morrill, Sept. 6, 1818. 

Olive Austin, m. Heath, May 11, 1789. 



AVERY. 



Daniel F. Avery, b. at Gilmanton, March 29, 1817; m. Mary 

A. Boswell, b. Aug. 9, 1840. They came to N. and purchased the "old 
red schoolhouse" at the corner of Hills and Summer streets and, re- 
moving it to Vine Street, made the house now owned and occupied by 
Cora F. Morrison. He was a machinist and d. at N. May 15, 1890. They 
had four children, but one b. here. She m. (second) Asa Lombard and 
removed to Franklin Falls, where she died Feb. 24, 1902. 

Second Generation. 

Lucy Bell Avery, b. at Union Bridge (East Tilton), June 29, 1861; 
m., Nov. 1, 1891, Payson R. Clay of Bast Andover. He is a farmer 
and has two children, Lena and Arthur. 



14 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Addie Buswell Avery, b. at Franklin, Jan. 25, 18G5; m., May 30, 1887, 
Lester H. Metcalf, b. at Lancaster, 18G1. He was a painter but later 
became an M. E. clergyman. 

May Stevens Avery, b. at Franklin, Dec. 25, 1870; m. Fred Weeks 
of N. and d. at Andover. She left one dau., Fannie. 

Charles Walter Aveky, b. at N., April 14, 1873, and d. at N., Jan. 27, 
1890. 



AYERS. 

CHARLES HAINES AYERS. 
(See portrait.) 

Charles Haines Ayers, b. June 15, 1815, in Canterbury, N. H., on a 
farm, several hundred acres of which were situated in N. and much 
of which has been in possession of the family since 1784; d.. May 10, 
1900. 

He was the son of Jonathan Ayers, Esq., and Hannah Haines Ayers, 
hoth of English descent, ancestors of prominence and among the 
early settlers of Kittery, Me., and Portsmouth, N. H., on his mother's 
side as early as 1635, his paternal grandmother, the granddaughter of 
Andrew Pepperell, brother and business partner of Lieut.-Gen. Sir 
William Pepperell, whose father, Col. William Pepperell, settled at 
Kittery, Me., in 1670. M., as first wife, Almira S. Gerrish, dau. of 
Joseph Gerrish and Susan Hancock Gerrish of N. Children: Joseph 
Gerrish, Susan Gerrish, Charles Henry, Ellen Maria, Jonathan and 
Benjamin Franklin. His second wife was Ellen M. Gerrish, a sister 
of his first wife. They had one child, Almira Josephine. 

He was a man of great energy and ability and for more than fifty 
years was one of the most prominent men in N. and Canterbury in 
social, religious and business affairs. When the railroad was built 
in 1848 he gave the company its right of way through his land and 
the large spring of water at Northfield Depot to induce it to locate 
a station there, of which he was several times the station agent, 
besides having very extensive dealing with the company in wood, 
fencing material, railroad ties and in the preparation of wood along 
the line for locomotives. Within a few miles of this station, when the 
railroad was opened, were magnificent forests of heavy timber. Pine 
trees from two to five feet in diameter were abundant, some being too 
large to be moved without being cut into sections, and others requiring 
twelve or more yoke of oxen to draw them to the river. Much of these 
forests was cut off in the course of a few years and shipped from N. 
depot. The magnitude of this business was great and Mr. Ayers took 
a very prominent part in it, cutting off yearly from his land several 
thousand cords of wood and much lumber, employing many hands. 
While in partnership two years with Thomas Clough of Canterbury 
their sales amounted to $80,000. At this time Mr. Ayers was pro- 




CHARLES H. AYERS. 



GENEALOGIES. 15 

prietor of a large country store and also operated several brick and coal 
kilns, both at the depot and on Bean Hill. 

During the last 25 years of his life he was chiefly occupied in the 
care of his very large farm, raising and extensively dealing in fine 
live stock, especially Devonshire cattle, obtaining many first premiums 
at the state agricultural fairs. 

Of a strong religious nature, he became early in life a deacon and 
one of the chief founders of the Free-will Baptist Church in Canter- 
bury and was intimately associated in church work with the late 
Hon. Joseph Harper, M. C, and with the Hon. Joseph Clough. Oc- 
casionally he occupied the pulpit himself with much ability. He 
took a chief part for many years in religious work on Oak Hill and 
entered heart and soul into everything connected with the Union 
Church at Northfield Depot from its very foundation, being a large 
contributor. 

One of great prominence in that church and long associated with 
him in church and Sunday school work states that he was ever ready 
to lend the helping hand and "was a wonderful promoter of good 
feeling among the various denominations worshiping together in the 
New House." 

He was noted for immense physical strength and was considered 
the strongest man connected with the Boston, Concord & Montreal 
Railroad. 

At the age of 74 he ably represented his town in the state Legisla- 
ture, two of his brothers having represented the town in the same 
capacity. 

He was a man of distinguished personal appearance, of great force 
of character, very generous in disposition, good to the poor and greatly 
esteemed by his neighbors. 

Second Generation. 

Joseph Gebrish Ayers, b. in Canterbury, N. H., Nov. 3, 1839, son of 
Charles H. Ayers and Almira S. Gerrish Ayers, was educated at New 
Hampton Institute, the University of Vermont and Columbia Uni- 
versity. 

He entered, from N., the 15th N. H. Volunteer Regiment in 1862, 
serving as second and first lieutenant until it was mustered out in 
1863. He was acting assistant surgeon, U. S. Army, from June to 
Oct., 1864, and acting assistant surgeon, U. S. Navy, from Dec, 1864, 
to Sept., 1866. He served continuously in the U. S. Navy as a medical 
officer since Oct. 8, 1866. His last service afloat was as fleet surgeon 
on the Asiatic station from 1895 to 1897. His last service on shore 
was as medical director in charge of the U. S. naval hospital, Boston, 
Mass., from 1898 to 1901. He was placed on the retired list of the U. 
S. Navy for age, Nov. 3, 1901, as medical director, U. S. N., with rank 
of rear admiral. 



16 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD, 

He m., July 11, 1884, Olinda Ann Austin, dau. of Rev. Alonzo E, 
Austin and Isabella J. Camp Austin of New York City. Their chil- 
dren were Joseph Gerrish and Charles Haines Austin. 

Chakles Hexry Ayers, b. in Canterbury, May 31, 1843, attended 
the town school and New Hampton Institute. In 1863, in company 
with Amos M. Cogswell, he was engaged in a general store at North- 
field Depot. He afterwards sold his interest in the store and engaged 
in' the wood and lumber business. At the same time he was station 
agent there. 

In 18G6 he went West and for 11 years was engaged in railroading. 
In 1877 he returned East and engaged in farming and in the lumber 
business with his father. In 1876 he m. Miss Martha Jane Day of 
McKeesport, Pa., to whom two children were born, Charles Haines 
Ayers, b. Aug. 8, 1878, who d. April 5, 1882, and Henry Day Ayers, 
b. July 14, 1882, at present a student in Boston University.* 



AYERS 11. 

JoxATHAX Ayers was b. at Portsmouth, Sept. 28, 1759. He m., Feb. 
18, 1785, Dorothy Dearing, b. March 27, 17G2. She was a grand- 
niece of Sir William Pepperell. They resided at Portsmouth until 
1798, when they came to live in N., where he was a farmer until his 
death, Nov. 19, 1839. She d. March 16, 1846. They had ten children. 
"He was a well educated, upright man of broad ideas, revered by his 
family and respected by his neighbors and townsmen, who honored 
themselves by sending him to represent the town in the Legislatures 
of 1805-'06-'07." Her granddaughters say: "She was a lady of re- 
finement, devoted to her family, unselfish and helpful to all in need." 

Second Generation. 

Polly B. Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, May 25, 1786; d. at Portsmouth, 
Nov. 24, 1796. 

Phebe Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, Dec. 15, 1787, d. at N., Jan. 5, 1804. 

Andrew D. Ayers, b. at Portsmouth, Nov. 17, 1789; m., 1821, Mary 
F. Kent, and removed to N. with his parents and resided on the home 
place until his removal to Greensboro, Vt., in 1848, where he died 
July, 1853. They had seven children, all b. in N. 

Sarah Pepperell Ayers, b. July 13, 1792; m. (pub.) June 1, 1831, 
John Sanborn of Franklin, where she resided till her death, Sept., 
1875. They had no children. 

John S. Ayers, b. Sept. 1, 1794, at Portsmouth; m., Feb. 15, 1818, 
Polly Cross of N., one of the 13 children of Jesse on the intervale. 
He lived at East N. until 1836, when he removed to Greensboro and 
later to Glover, Vt., where he d. Sept., 1880. They had eight chil- 
dren, all of whom resided in Vermont and the West, except the eldest 
daughter, Mrs. John Heath of Bristol. 

* other members of this family inadvertantly omitted are to be found elsewhere. 
See index. 



GENEALOGIES. 



17 



CiiAKLEs D. Ayers, t). at Portsmouth, Nov. 16, 1796; m. Olive John- 
son of Gilmanton and removed to Greensboro, Vt., where he was a 
merchant. They had five children. A daughter, who m. Benjamin 
French, lived in Concord and d. there in 1904, leaving a son Fred and 
dau. Marianna. 

Elihu D. Ayers, b. at N., May 21, 1799; m. Apphia Clark of Nichol- 
ville, N. Y., where they resided until his death in 1872. He was a 
merchant and had a family of seven, one of whom, Edmond B. Ayers, 
was killed in the War of the Rebellion. (See Boys in Blue.) 

Martin P. Ayers, b. at N., May 10, 1801; m. Hannah Johnson and 
lived in N. and vicinity for several years. They went to Ohio in 
1855. He d. in Pennsylvania in 1878. They had nine children, six of 
whom are now living. Frances O. Ayers m. Moses Eastman of East 
Concord and removed to California, where she d. 

William D. Ayers, b. at N., June 27, 1803; d. in N. Y.; unmarried. 

Statira M. Ayers, b. at N., Dec. 16, 1815; lived at the old home with 
her parents until 1840, then at Franklin until her sister's death, then 
for a time in Dakota and later in Washington. She was the last of the 
family and was called home in May, 1888. The homestead is now part 
of the farm of G. E. Gorrell. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Andrew and Mary Kent Ayers, all b. in N.) 

Sakah a. Ayers, b. May, 1822; d. in childhood. 

Joseph A. Ayers, b. June, 1824, was a machinist and d., unmarried, 
in Havana, Cuba, Oct., 1852. 

Henry M. Ayers, b. Oct. 1, 1826, remained in the home at Greensboro 
and still lives there at the age of 78; he never m. 

Lucy J. Ayers, b. Feb., 1830; m. Keniston of Vermont and 

d., June, 1900, leaving a son, Henry A. Keniston of Los Angeles, Cal. 

Mary C. Ayers, b. at N., July, 1834; m. (first) Thomas Card of New- 
market and had a son, Elmer E., of Spokane, Wash.; m. (second) Jasper 
Rollins of Hyde Park, Mass. 

Caroline A. Ayers, b. Oct., 1841, was for several years a teacher. 
Later she returned to the home where she resides with her brother, 
Henry, at Greensboro Bend, Vt. 



BALLANTYNE. 

Adam S. Ballantyne (see Granite Mills and Tilton gen.). 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 

James R. Ballantyne, b. Dec. 17, 1866; d. at Tilton, Sept. 15, 1885. 

Anna C. Ballantyne, b. Jan. 10, 1868; m., June 26, 1895, Franklin 
Downes, b. at Machias, Me. They reside at Lynn, where he is a shoe 
manufacturer. 

2 



18 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

WiixiE TiLTox Ballax-tyne, b. May 10, 18G9, resides at Tilton. 

John Scott Ballantyne, b. Jan. 15, 1873; m., Nov. 16, 1904, Emma 
Emerson. He is employed at Tilton with residence at East Tilton. 

Kate I. Ballantyne, b. June 10, 1S75. 

Arthur Scott Ballantyxe, b. Sept. 30, 1877; m.. May 7, 1899, Edna 
James, and resides in Lynn, Mass. They have two daus., Katherine 
and Virginia. 



BATCHELDER I. 

Abel Batchelder, b. June 7, 1772, came to N. from Loudon and lo- 
cated near the present Oak Hill schoolhouse. He m., June 20, 1810. 
Anna Austin and had three sons. He d. at Alexandria, Feb. 27, 18G6. 
M. (second), Sarah Sanborn, b. Sept. 3, 17GS. They had nine children. 
Only one of the sons i^emained in N. Four of his sons m. four Davis 
sisters. 

Second Generation. 

Moses Batchelder came with his parents. He was b. at Loudon, Dec. 
26, 1798. He had a twin brother, Richard, who d. May 3, 1800, aged 
one and a half years. He first bought the David Davis place near the 
river but sold it later to Rev. Mr. Kidder and bought the farm of 
Abraham Heath on the top of Oak Hill and spent the rest of his life 
there. He was a progressive and prosperous farmer. He m., March 
21, 1824, Mary Fox Davis and had a son and daughter. After her 
death, Aug. 22, 1868, he m., Jan. 6, 1869, Sally B. Davis, her sister. 

He was a zealous Methodist and a powerful exhorter and was super- 
intendent of Union Sunday school for many years. He was a mili- 
tary man and rose from the ranks to be lieutenant-colonel in the state 
militia. He d. Oct. 12, 1881. 

Third Generation. 

Richard N. S. Batchelder, b. Sept. 2, 1833; m., June 1, 1856, Lizzie 
Brown of Canterbury, b. May 6, 1836, and d. Oct. 19, 1866. They had 
one daughter. March 2, 1866, he m. (second) Mary Farrar of Laconia 
and had a dau. and two sons. He returned to his father's homestead 
after a few years at Tilton and Laconia, where he spent the remainder 
of his life. y 

He taught school for some years; then was a mill hand and, lastly, 
a farmer, making a specialty of raising fruit, poultry and vegetables. 
He was a Methodist and, like his father, superintendent of Union 
Sunday school. 

He was fatally injured, while directing a force of volunteer workmen, 
by falling from the roof of Union Church on Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 
24, 1898. She then with her children removed to Hovv-ard Avenue, 
near Tilton, where she still resides. 



GENEALOGIES. 



19 



Irene Batchelder, b. Oct. 30, 1844; m., 1862, Rev. John Chamberlain. 
(See Chamberlain gen.) After his death she resided at the home 
on Oak Hill until her marriage in March, 1901, to Charles Noyes of 
Concord, with a summer home at Woodstock. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Child of Richard and Mary Brown Batchelder.) 

Mary E. Batchelder, b. at N., Oct. 28, 1857; m. Frank Bennett of 
Hillsborough Bridge and d. there Nov., 1881. 

(Children of Richard and Mary Farrar Batchelder.) 

Lizzie A. Batchelder, b. at Laconia, Aug. 22, 1872; m., June 28, 1895, 
George F. Fisher of Boscawen. They reside on Howard Avenue. 

Willis M. Batchelder, b. at Hillsborough, April 3, 1S7G, is employed 
in Philbrick & Hills' store. 

Clarence R. Batchelder, b. at Hillsborough, Feb. 10, 1879, is em- 
ployed in store of W. A. Gardner at Tilton. 



BATCHELDER II. 

Hazen Batchelder's ancestors came from England in 1630 and 
spread rapidly throughout New England. He was b. at Loudon in 
1794 and settled in N. on the banks of the Merrimack river, on a 
part of the Austin estate. He m.. May 20, 1817, Susan Austin. He 
was a good carpenter and farmer. They had five dau. and two sons. 
He took long journeys on foot. Even after 90 years of age he could 
not stop to ride and it was said he would take long tramps after a 
hard day's work just to "stretch his legs." 

Susan Batchelder, b. March 6, 1820; m. (pub.) Oct. 9, 1855, Ira 
Blaisdell of Salisbury Beach. He was a house builder and farmer 
on the main road near the Pond schoolhouse, where he d. April 17, 
1853, leaving three children. She m. (second) Cyrus Glines. (See 
Glines and Blaisdell gen.) 

Lasura d. in early womanhood. 

Abiah Batchelder m. John W. Piper, May 12, 1851. (See Piper gen.) 

Julia Batchelder m. Ebenezer Philbrook and resided on Oak Hill 
and later at Franklin Falls, where he d., leaving two sons, Albee 
and Walter. She now resides at Watertown, Mass. Mr. Philbrook's 
first wife was a dau. of Kinsley Batchelder. 

Malinda Batchelder, m., April 25, 1848, Andrew Allison of Boston, 
Mass., where she d. 

John Batchelder, b. 1830; m. Almira Worsley of Swanzey. He 
removed to Keene in 1862, where he was employed by the Humphrey 
Mfg. Co., builders of water wheels, until 1897. He d. while on a 
visit to Coloi'ado June 10, 1898. They have one dau., Mrs. Mary P. 
W. Carlton. 



20 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

•Melissa Batcheldeb m. Elias Sargent of Vergennes, Vt., and resided 
at Fitchburg, Mass., where he is now an engineer on the Fltchburg 
& Wilmington R. R. 

She d. at Nashua en route for home. 

They had one son, who is also an engineer on the same railroad. 



BATCHELDER III. 

Sarah Leavitt Batcheldeb came to N. in 1905 from Manchester. 
She was the wife of Jeremiah Batchelder of Loudon, who d. there, 
Sept. 13, 1888. They had six children. Mrs. Batchelder resides with 
her son on Bay St. 

Second Generation. 

Lizzie N. Batcheldeb, b. at Loudon, 1871; m., May 7, 1893, at Lou- 
don Ridge, Ellery Jefts, b. 18G9. He is a carpenter. They reside in 
Lynn, Mass., and have one child. 

WiLLiAir Batchelder came to N. in 1901 from Loudon. He m., 1900, 
Georgie Wright of Gilmanton and resides on Gale Ave. They have 
two children, Victor, b. 1901, and Helen, b. 1902. They are about to 
erect a home on Bay St. He is employed by the Tilton Optical Co. 

Jay Clifford Batchelder, b. at Loudon, June 5, 1878; graduated 
from Gilmanton Academy, class of 1901. He remained on the farm 
two years, removing in 1903 to N. He has purchased the residence 
lately erected by A. H. Hough on Bay Street. He is employed 
at the Tilton Optical Works. He is a member of Friendship Grange 
and of Harmony Lodge, L 0. 0. F., of Tilton. 



BALCOM. 

Mrs. Jaxe Balcom came to N. from Newfound Lake. She had for- 
merly lived in Lowell, Mass., where her husband was a conductor 
on the Stony Brook R. R. and was accidentally killed in 1844. She 
was employed as a dresser in A. H. Tilton's woolen mills. She re- 
sides in Tilton. 

Second Generation, 

Geobge W. Balcom, b. at Lowell, May 31, 1847; m., Sept. 5, 1870, 
Mary Ella Chase, b. at N., Oct. 1, 1851. He has charge of the card- 
ing department of Tilton Mills. He served in the Civil War (see 
Boys in Blue). They have a son and dau. and one died in infancy. 
They now reside on Prospect Street, Tilton. 

Third Generation. 

(B. at N.) 
Frank Grant Balcom, b. Nov. 4, 1872; m., June 28, 1904, Delphia 



GENEALOGIES. 21 

Louise Verrill, b. in Alexandria, June 6, 1876. He was employed five 
years by W. A. Gardner, grocer at Tilton, and now by the postoffice 
department of Medford, Mass., where they reside. 

Mary Ellex Balcoji, b. April 23, 1874; m., Feb 4, 1902, Charles 
T. Walker, b. at Boston, May 31, 1872. He was employed for several 
years as clerk by S. W. Taylor and is now with Bayley & Rogers in 
the same capacity. They reside at Tilton. 



BAYLEY. 



George C. Bayley, b. at Plymouth, Jan. 17, 1859, came to N. from 
Tilton in 1899. He m., 1899, Annie F. Thomas, b. at St. David's, N. B., 
1879. He is of the firm of Bayley & Rogers, grocers, of Tilton, N. H. 
He was with his father on the farm and clerk in his meat and pro- 
vision store until 1S83, when he entered the employ of J. F. Taylor, 
and after his death continued with S. W. Taylor until his retire- 
ment, when he purchased the business in 1904. Mr. Bayley is a 
member of Olive Branch Lodge, No. 16, A. F. and A. M., of Plymouth, 
Pemigewasset Chapter, and Mt. Horeb Commandery, Knights Templar, 
of Concord. They have a dau. Catherine S., b. at N., Sept. 22, 1900. 



BARNARD. 

Charles Barnard, b. at Bridgewater, Nov. 12, 1860; m., at Plymouth, 
April 26, 1884, Anna E. Kidder, b. at Goffstown. They came to N., 
Oct. 20, 1897. He bought the Cofran place on Bean Hill of Charles 
Weeks, who then removed to Tilton. Dec. 13, 1900, his commodious 
farm buildings were destroyed by fire. He rebuilt the following year, 
living meanwhile at the home of the late Timothy Hills. Only two 
of their six children were b. in N. Mr. Barnard is serving a second 
term on the N. board of education. 

Second Generation. 
Ralph, Paul, Arthur, Ruth Barnard, b. at Bridgewater. 
Burton Barnard, b. at N., Nov. 17, 1897. 
HiLDRETH Barnard, b. at N., 1900. 



BEAN. 



Hezekiah Bean came to N. from Belmont and purchased the farm 
of Moses Garland at the Centre. He m. Mary Copp of Gilmanton. 
They had one son, John Wesley, b. at Belmont, who d. in childhood. 
Mr. Bean sold his farm in 1872 to Francis Stevens, removed nearer 
the village and built the house on Park Street, now owned by Jonas 
Dolley, where he d. May 8, 1874. Mrs. Bean d. April 24, 1879. Each 



22 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

d. at 64 years of age and are buried in Parlv cemetery. Tliey were 
devoted Methodists and left a liberal bequest to Tilton Seminary. 



BECKLER. 



Daniel W. Beckler came to N. from Boston, Mass., in March, 1871. 
He was b. at Monmouth, Me. His family consisted of a wife and 
one child, Flora, who was b. at Boston, Mass. He was an extensive 
dealer in lumber, having a large wharf where the lumber was un- 
loaded from steamers. He was also a contractor and builder. He 
purchased the W. H. Cilley place and other real estate of an agent 
in Boston and made of it a summer home and stock farm. He was 
a lover of good horses and often had 17 or 18 thoroughbreds. He 
lived at N. about six years when he sold to a Mr. Stetson of Boston. 
Albert C. Lord purchased the "Matthew Whitcher place" of Mr. Stetson 
in 1874. Mr. Beckler then removed to Boston, where he conducted 
a livery business for several years, finally going West. 

Mary Beckler, sister of the above, m. Everard G. Powers, who 
came with Mr. Beckler from Boston and was his foreman and farmer. 
June 21, 1875, he removed to Tilton when the buildings were burned. 
He m. (second) Helen F. Clifford, and carried on a trucking business 
for several years. He is now foreman of G. H. Tilton's box shop. 
He has one dau., Cora, b. at Boston. 



BENITEZ. 

Francisco Benitez was b. in Cadiz, Spain, April 1, 1822. When 
he was ten years old a sea captain from Marblehead, Mass., spent 
a while in the home and the boy desired to accompany him to America. 

The father gave his unwilling consent only on condition that he 
would bring him back on his next trip, a promise he could not keep 
as the boy was not to be found when the ship sailed. He wrote his 
parents several letters but finally no answers came. He was an apt 
scholar and commenced his education at 15 and even took the higher 
branches and took care of himself. He m. in Middletown, Mass., April 
6, 1845, Hannah Merrill of Holderness, where he remained six years. 
In 1851 he purchased a farm in Laconia and later resided at Rip- 
ton, Vt., and Sanbornton Bays, owning two farms. These he sold 
and came to East N., where he lived a number of years. He was 
divorced and m. Mrs. Elizabeth Bailey, returning to Sanbornton, near 
his daughter, where he d. Dec. 16, 1892. She d. Aug., 1894. 

Second Generation. 

Mary Archer Lora Benitez, b. at Middletown, April 5, 1846; m., 
first, Day and had one son, Harry F. Day, who was adopted 



GENEALOGIES. 23 

by his grandfather in 1872 and took his name (Benitez). She m. 

(second) Wescott and has one son. They reside in Sanbornton. 

Frat^cisco Hadley, b. at Middletown, Mass., April 15, 1850; d. in 
Danvers, Mass., Aug. 18, 1899, leaving a wife and dau. 



BLAISDELL. 



Ira Blaisdell was b. at Goffstown, Sept. 30, 1815. He m.. May 2, 
1841, at Manchester, Susan Batchelder of N., b. March 6, 1820. He came 
to N. and lived for a time on the Slader farm but purchased later 
of Joseph Dearborn the place now owned by the heirs of John Watson, 
and erected new buildings thereon. He was a farmer and carpenter 
and had a family of three. He d. April 10, 1853. She later m. 
Cyrus Glines of N. and d. Feb. 3, 18CG. (See Glines gen.) 

Second Generation. 

Malixda Wilson Blaisdell, b. May 28, 1843; m., Nov. 2G, 1867, 
Byron Tobie of Manchester, where they at first resided, coming later 
to Franklin. He was paymaster for the Winnepesaukee Paper Co. for 
26 years. He has now a store at Hill and a farm at Profile Falls. 

Mrs. Tobie is agent for the S. P. C. A., with home on Prospect Hill, 
Franklin Falls. 

Julia F. Blaisdell, m., 1870, Loren Bryant of Newton, Mass., and 
has always lived at Franklin Falls. He has been employed by the 
International Paper Co. for a quarter of a century. 

Albert J. Blaisdell, b. Thursday, May 18, 1848; m., 1868, Angle 
Bartlett of Hill and remained for a while at Franklin, removing in 
1880 to Hyde Park, Mass. He is a frescoer and decorative art painter 
in and around Boston. They had three children, but one of whom 
survives, Mrs. Bertha Moon of New York city, who is employed in 
tapestry painting. A son d. at Boston University at the age of 'iQ. 



BLANCHARD. 



Edward Blanchard, 1st., was one of the men furnished by the 
state for scouting purposes under Capt. Jeremiah Clough, who kept the 
old fort at Canterbury (see Military Sketch). His wife was Bridget, 
of Scotch-Irish descent. He was killed by the Indians about 1738 
and Bridget, his wife, who once was surprised and taken captive 
while out after the cows, eluded her captors and showed such fleet- 
ness in running, even though a very corpulent woman, that they 
stopped their pursuit and shook their sides with laughter while she 
safely arrived at the fort. 

Their son Benjamin went up from the fort to the north fields in 
1760, through the unbroken forest to the foot of Bay Hill to the farm 



24 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

later owned by Judge Peter Wadleigh, and made a clearing for his 
cabin, and there later brought his wife, Bridget Fitzgerald, and nine 
children. He was then 41 years old. He paid for his farm partly in 
services as surveyor in running the boundary and $750 in furs. Of 
this home and their pioneer life Mr. Hunt gives a glowing picture else- 
where. 

She d. and was buried in the orchard close by a tree that was known 
to succeeding generations as the "Granny Tree." He d. at the home 
of his son Edward on the Byron Shaw place but was buried here 
and the exact spot was for many years unknown. When the present 
Wadleigh house was built the stone was found in digging the cellar. 

This farm fell to his son Edward, who sold to Lieut. Charles Glidden 
in 1805 for $2,000. 

Mr. Blanchard was a man of great industry and mechanical skill. 
He spent much of his time as an old man in whittling. He wore 
pantaloons patched with woodchuck skins to protect them from wear 
and he seemed a patriarch with his ihick white hair hanging down 
long over his shoulders. He had a brother or uncle Joseph, an officer 
in the French and Indian War, who, in 1754, marched 600 men up to 
Salisbury Fort, now the site of the Orphans' Home, and thence 
through the wilderness to Crown Point and Canada. He had another 
brother who kept a hotel in Concord in 1785, who directed the Hills 
to Bay Hill when they came up from Haverhill seeking new homes. 

RicHAED Blanchakd, Called "Old Sergeant," was possibly a brother 
of Benjamin, although I have nothing but hearsay for authority. He 
lived near Range No. 3 on the east slope of Zion's Hill. He m., for his 
second wife, Handcock, dau. of Jacob, and had many chil- 
dren. Sally d. Aug., 1849, Billy and Jerry, the younger ones, were 
known to many yet living, while a dau. of Sally, named Ruth, m. 
Oilman Bennett of Hill, Dec. 16, 1S49, and d., the last owner of 
the old home. The old graveyard in the orchard has a curious variety 
of tombstones and inscriptions. Richard was a Revolutionary soldier 
and left his plow in the furrow and went unenlisted with William 
Forrest to overtake the "Patriots" on the way to Bunker Hill. They 
came back, harvested their crops and then enlisted for the war. 

Second Generation. 

Elizabeth Blanchard m. Wm. Glines and lived in the north fields 
near the Canterbury line. (See Glines gen.) He was a Revolutionary 
soldier and had many children. 

Richard Blanchard, 1st, (son of Benjamin and Bridget Fitzgerald) 
m. Polly Webster and lived on the "River Road," (probably the first 
range). After his death she m. Lieut. Thomas Clough. 

Edward Blanchard, who succeeded to the homestead, was a man 
of commanding character and influence in the town, being one of the 
selectmen of N. for 20 years. His wife was Azuba Kezar of Scot- 



GENEALOGIES. 



25 



land, one of the early emigrants to Londonderry. They had nine 
sons and one daughter, all of whom settled in town. 

He built the Daniel Blanchard house, now the "Farms," and brought 
the seeds for the apple trees from Hampstead. These trees have fur- 
nished generous crops for more than three-quarters of a century. 

His possessions, besides the 150 acres of homestead, comprised the 
farms of Abraham Brown, Jason Foss, the Gile farm and a part of the 
estate held for many years by Thomas Chase, Esq. 

He settled all his married children around him and made a home 
for his father (the first settler) in his old age. 

He, with his wife and six children, are buried in the Hodgdon 
burying ground. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Edward and Azuba Kezar Blanchard.) 

Ebenezer Blanchard, son of Benjamin, opened a store on Bay Hill 
at the homestead. In 1789 he sold out to Squire Glidden. 

He m. Sarah Smith of Windham, Nov., 1794. He was b. June 12, 
17G8, she on March 7, 1774. 

They had six children, all b. at Bay Hill. He moved his store 
to Sanbornton Bridge, close by the end of the bridge. Quarters soon 
became too small, for "Squire Blanchard was a thrifty man," so he 
purchased the brown house that is still standing at an age of over 
100 years, the property of W. S. Hill, and business and family found 
shelter under the same roof. Soon after a larger store was erected 
where Morrill & Co.'s storehouse stands. Here he left his business to 
a partner and bought the "Old Joe Noyes place" at Salisbury, now 
Franklin. Here he lived and traded, Mr. Goodwin says, 40 years. 

He d. in 1847. None of the children located in N. In 1820, when 
the Franklin Congregational Church was being built, he gave the site 
and took a large number of pews, and was called the "Father of the 
enterprise." His dau. Isabella became Mrs. James "West of Concord, 
who later dwelt many years in the home, caring for her mother in her 
•declining years, and lived to extreme age. Alice, wife of Kendall 
O. Peabody, Mrs. Stephen Kendrick and Edward and Ebenezer, Jr., 
all lived and d. at Franklin. 

Richard Blanchard, 2d., m., April 10, 180G, Hannah, dau. of Daniel 
Hills, and had a dau. Hannah. 

His father had given him the Brown place and erected on it a two- 
story double house, which is still in a good state of preservation 
and is now owned by Byron Shaw, Esq. He had just moved there 
to care for his father when he died very suddenly of spotted fever in 
1806. His brother Reuben d. at the same time, and the wife of 
Richard, heart-broken, the same year. 

It is said that the poor old father cried out, "My staff is broken; 
my all is gone," and, refusing to be comforted, died the next day. 



26 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

David Blanciiard left home one winter day with Simon Gilman, 
fox hunting. A snow storm came up and drove Mr. Gilmau home. 
Blanchard went on and never returned. He was found later on the 
windfall, sitting by the trunk of a tree, frozen, about a mile from 
Sondogardy Pond. There was an old superstition that the blood 
would start in a corpse if its murderer's hand was laid upon it. 
No one thought Mr. Oilman was in any way responsible for his death 
but at the family's request he went willingly and laid his hand upon 
him, but with no result, of course. 

James Blanchard inherited half the paternal acres but sold to 
his brother George and soon after died of consumption. 

George Blanchard, b. 1791, sold his entire estate to Daniel and 
went to live with his sister, Mrs. Chase, where he d. Oct., 1S50. 

Lieut. RErsEN Blanchard received his share, what was for manj^ 
years the Joseph and Alfred Oile farm. He was a blacksmith and 
later removed to Maine, after selling out to Daniel. He m., July 29,. 
1792, Peace Hodgdon of N., and (second) Judith Hancock, Nov. 11, 1797. 
He returned home five years later, and died of consumption. 

Daniel Blanchard. now owning all his brothers' estates, moved his 
house, previously erected near the Shaw house, to the spot where 
the Oile residence now stands, and later went to live on the home- 
stead and there resided to the end of his life. He m. (first) Esther 
Parkinson of Canterbury, by whom he had four children. 

She was killed in a carriage accident on the hill south of the 
Streeter place. May 29, 1823. He m. (second) Nancy, sister of his for- 
mer wife, and had two children. Mr. Blanchard d. Nov. 5, 18G5, aged 
86. She d. at Lowell, Mass., April 3, 1880, aged 91. 

Elizabeth Blanchard, b. at N., m. Thomas Chase of Newbury. (See 
Chase gen.) 

John Blanchard was an eminent school teacher in Philadelphia. 
But little is known of him except the fact that his grateful pupils 
erected a monument to his memory- He never married. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Child of Richard and Hannah Hill Blanchard.) 
Narcissa Blanchard, b. 180G, was orphaned by the death of her 
father and mother the same year. She m., Sept. 26, 1822, Daniel 
Herrick of N. Factory Village. (See Herrick gen.) 

(Children of Daniel and Esther Parkinson Blanchard.) 
Letitia Blanchard, b. at N., m., Sept. 5, 1840, John Holt of Lowell, 
Mass., where they resided and both died. They had two children, 
Mrs. Esther Hyland of Lowell and Janet Holt of Lowell. 
Janette Blanchard resided in Lowell and never married. 
Daniel J. and Sylvan died unmarried. 

(Children of Daniel and Nancy Parkinson Blanchard.) 
JopiN L Blanchard, b. Jan. 29, 1826. He went to California when 



GENEALOGIES. 27 

a young man and remained until old age, returning in Oct., 1896, to 
the old home, where he d. April 25, 1903. With his death the name 
disappears from the records of the town. 

Ianthe Bi.anchard, b. at N. Aug. 10, 1824; m. Jan., 1850, Edward C. 
Rice (see Rice gen. and portrait). 

Note. — Master Parkinson came from New York City. He was a grad- 
uate of Nassau Hall and was carefully trained by his parents to become 
a minister, but he could not accept the doctrine of the decrees. After 
he graduated he drifted into New England, first as a schoolmaster 
and then going to war, later turning to farming in Francestown, 
where he m. He was no farmer and went back to the schools as a 
classic teacher for more than a third of a century. 



BOSWORTH. 

Walter Bosworth came from Litchfield, Me., to N. in 1899. He was 
b. there in 1874 and m. Luthia Bubier, July 16, 1895; b. at Gardiner, 
Me., in 1878. 

Mr. Bosworth is a carpenter and resides on Arch St. They have 
three children. 

Second Generation. 

WiLSox Bosworth, b. at Litchfield, Me., May 19, 1896. 
Raymoxd Henry Bosworth, b. in N., April 19, 1901. 
Chester Bosworth, b. March 31, 1905. 



BOYNTON. 



Courtland Boyxton came to N. in 1874 and purchased a home, at the 
corner of Elm and Arch Streets. He was connected with C. T. Almy 
in the manufacture of cotton yarn, silesia and fine sheeting in the 
Winnisquam mill at Tilton. The business proved unprofitable and 
was abandoned in 1884. Mr. Boynton was next superintendent and 
part owner in the Buell hosiery mill in N. He was a prominent citizen 
and a trustee of lona Savings bank. 

He erected a new home in Tilton in 1876 on the Franklin road. 
Mrs. Boynton was an artist of worth and occasionally appeared in 
public as a lecturer of pleasing address and literary merit. 

They removed to Dorchester, Mass., where she d. Jan. 30, 1898. She 
had been previously m. and had two sons, William and Arthur Frost. 
The former is a member of the firm of Nichols & Frost, Fitchburg, 
Mass., and the latter is of Boston, Mass. Mr. and Mrs. Boynton had 
a dau. Zilla, b. at N. in 1875 and d. Aug. 12, 1875. He was secretary 
of Doric Lodge of A. F. and A. M. 



*2S HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

BOWLES. 

William Bowles was one of the earliest teachers in town. He had 
a home north of the Clisby place, of which the cellar is now plainly- 
visible. Just below stood the immense pine that was felled for a 
fence and lay its long length up the hill. Regardless of any value as 
wood and timber, it was allowed to decay with the years and some of 
its substance must still be in sight. It was said that a yoke of oxen 
was driven on the stump and had plenty of room to turn around. This 
was the region of great trees, and several stood east of the meeting 
house. 

Master Bowles was a fine penman and much of his work is to be 
seen on the early "Prizel lists" and cash accounts of the town, and 
he was a useful man generally. 



BRALEY. 



Alexandek Braley came to N. from Danbury. He m. Mrs. Phebe 
Glines Ludlow and had a family of two sons and a daughter. Mrs. 
Braley d. July 24, 187G. 

Second Generation. 

Cornelius Ludlow Braley, b. at Canterbury; m. (first) Pamelia Col- 
lins; m. (second) Flora Batney, b. at Alexandria. He served in the 
Civil "War (see Boys in Blue). They had four children, three girls 
and a boy. Mr. Braley received a pension. He removed to Wilmot 
and later to Meredith, where he d. 

Frank Braley, b. at N. ; m. Mary Avery of Plymouth, and had 
five children. He also served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue). 
He d. at Lakeport. 

Pamelia Braley, b. at N., m., March 20, 1868, Oliver Grover, and 
had two daughters. She m. (second) Alonzo York and removed to 
Lakeport. He d. Jan., 1902. She now resides in Franklin with her 
daughter, Mrs. Sydney Home. 



BRIGHAM. 



Paul Brigham, b. 1812, came from Vermont and bought the Ben- 
jamin Hannaford farm on the main road. They were elderly people 
and childless and came to be near their relatives, the Colbys, on the 
Canterbury intervale. He farmed here several years and d. Feb. 19, 
1884. Mrs. Brigham afterwards sold and went to live at Leonard 
Colby's, where she d. The place then passed to the ownership of 
George C. Hurlburt and the buildings were burned in 1886. 



GENEALOGIES. 29 

BROWN I. 

' David Bro\v>- was b. at Pittsfield, July 17, 1810, and m. (first) Rlioda 
Mason of Chichester, who d. at N. in 1875. He m. (second) Marinda 
Stewart Canfield of Franklin Falls, May 1, 1876. 

He bought his first home east of the Cofran place on Bean Hill. 
The house was later occupied by Joshua Ordway and James Goodwin 
and was finally sold to William Woodbury, torn down and removed. 
Mr. Brown was later overseer of the town farm for ten years. 

On Oct. 29, 1842, he purchased 75 acres of land and a small house 
(the Knowles place) further down the hill and enlarged and reno- 
vated the buildings until none more convenient could be found in 
town. He also added land as opportunity offered. He was a man 
of great endurance, a Quaker in belief and always true to his con- 
victions. He d. July 4, 1902. Mrs. Brown d. April 9, 1905, aged 67. 
They had one child. 

Second Generation. 

Ada J. Browx, b. at N., April 10, 1877; m., Dec. 24, 1904, Herbert 
Laroy Cram. After a brief course at the graded school and Tilton 
Seminary she assumed, after her father's death, the management of 
the farm. 



BROWN II. 



Abrahaji Brcwx, b. May 8, 1753; came to the north fields of Can- 
terbury prior to 1780 from Epping and bought original lot No. IS, 
now owned by Freeman B. Shedd. His early ancestry cannot be 
traced owing to the destruction of Epping records, but they were of 
English descent. He m. Mary Butler, b. March 30, 1760. Her father, 
Rev. Benjamin Butler, was a graduate of Harvard College and her 
mother, Dorcas Abbott, was from Andover, Mass. Many of their 
descendants held places of honor in state and nation. Mr. Brown m. in 
1776. He served three years in the Revolutionary War as drummer 
and four as an adjutant. He d. at N. May 8, 1824. She survived him 
22 years. They had ten children. 

Second Generation. 

Polly Browx, b. March 13, 1777; m. John Hills, b. at Haverhill, 
Mass. (See Hills gen.) 

Sally Browx, b. at Epping, Feb. 17, 1779; d. at N., Dec. 9, 1849. 

Haxnah Browx, b. at N., Dec. 9, 1791; d. March 15, 1859. She m., 
Sept. 29, 1817, Jeremiah Forrest of Canterbury Borough and resided 
there until his death, Aug. 9, 1845, when she went with her family to 
Illinois. She d. at Cottage Hill, March 15, 1859. They had five chil- 
dren, all of whom resided in the West. 

Phebe Brow^x, b. at N., June 7, 1796, and d. at East Andover, May 
28, 1852. / 



30 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Benjamin Butler Browx, b. at N., April 19, 1800; m., Dec. 30, 1824, 
Phebe Gale of Sanbornton. He was a shoemaker at the Centre for 
many years. She d. there Feb., 1845. They had seven children. He 
m. (second) Mary Sanborn, Feb. 4, 1855, and resided at East Andover, 
-where both d. He, Feb. 4, 1867. 

DoKCAs Brown, b. at N., April 5, 17S5; m., 1807, Enoch Osgood of 
Salisbury, Mass., who removed to Salisbury, N. H., in 1790 and d. there 
in 1832, aged GO. They had a family of eight. The family moved to 
East Andover in 1835, w^here she d. in 1861. 

Abraham BROw^^-, b. at N., Sept. 1, 1787; m., Dec. 31, 1808, Betsey 
Forrest of Canterbury Borough. They resided at first on Bay Hill, 
going later Avith his father to the newly erected home of Richard 
Blanchard, now the Byron Shaw farm. He inherited this farm on 
liis father's death and spent his life there. He had five children. 
He d. June 8, 1861. She d. Dec. 27, ISGO. 

He was a thrifty farmer and dealer in cattle, which he drove to 
Brighton for many years. He represented the town in the Legis- 
latures of 1835 and 1836. He was a trusted friend of President Franklin 
Pierce and declined an appointment to the deputy marshalship under 
liis administration. He filled many town offices. Mrs. Brown, living 
in the early days of our republic, was one of the few women well in- 
formed in national affairs and was a "woman of faculty" in its most 
Taried sense. 

Cl.\rissa Brown, b. March 30, 1804; m., Jan. 24, 1824, Edward Chase. 
She d. at Meredith June 1, 1825, leaving one dau. 

Henry Butler Brown, b. at N., July 4, 1802; read medicine with 
Dr. Crosby of Hanover and graduated in 1827. He m., Jan. 24, 1829, 
Laura Ticknor of Lebanon and settled in Hartford, Vt. In 1857 he re- 
moved to Rockford, 111. Mrs. Brown d. there Dec. 20, 1867. He again 
m., and d. at Big Rapids, Mich., Dec. 13, 1872. They had two sons 
and two dau., Darwin, a physician of Big Rapids, and Finley, a 
business man in Chicago, Mrs. Kate Bronson of Big Rapids and Mrs. 
Davis of Chicago. There are 14 of the next generation. 

Third Generation, 

(Children of Abraham and Betsey Forrest Brown.) 
(B. at N.) 

Harrison Butler Brown, b. Nov. 10, 1809; m. Ham-iet Chase. (See 
Chase gen.) They purchased the Glidden farm -at the Centre, of 
Dudley Varney, and the place soon became famous for big oxen and 
large crops of corn. They had two sons and a dau. He d. Sept. 30, 
1870. She d. July 31, 1896. He was a man of influence but declined 
public ofiice. 

Samuel Butler Brown (see portrait), b. Dec. 12, 1813; m., Nov. 6, 
1837, Lydia Leighton of N., b. July 9, 1814. He inherited the homestead 
and his father's democracy. He held several times over all the offices in 
the gift of the town and was its representative in 1861-'62. They had 




SAMUEL BUTLER BROWN. 



GENEALOGIES. 31 

five children. He d. Aug. 18, 1870. The farm then passed to the own- 
ership of Byron Shaw. 

Mary Butler Brown, b. Nov. 11, 1817; m., March 12, 1837, Thomas 
Chase, b. at N., Sept., 1810. (See Chase gen.) She d. April 12, 187G. 

Climena Bkowx, b. March 12, 1819; m., April 17, 1837, Joseph Mor- 
rill of Canterbury. He was widely known as the "apple-tree man." 
Their home was a model of thrift, from which they dispensed bounty 
to all in need. They had three children. She d. 1876. He d., Nov. 1, 
1895. 

Susan M. Brown, b. Nov. 27, 1822; m.. May 10, 1849, Napoleon B. 
Bryant of Andover, who became a lawyer of note at Concord, Boston, 
and elsewhere. She d. in Boston, May 16, 1874; he at East Andover, 
Jan., 1902. They had eight children, three of whom survive. 

(Children of Benjamin and Phebe Gale Brown.) 

Henry Brown, b. in Sanbornton, Sept. 21, 1825, read medicine with 
Dr. F. B. Brown at Hartford, Vt., and went in 1849 to California, passing 
"around the Cape," where he m. Mrs. Cordelia Myers. They had a 
son, Frank R. Brown, now living on the island of Unga, Alaska, and a 
dau., Mrs. Phebe Rhodes of Victoria, B. C. They each have children. 

Stephen Gale Brown, b. at Sanbornton, Sept. 28, 1827; d. at Sut- 
ter's Fort, Cal., in 1849. 

Benjamin Franklin Brown, b. at Nottingham, Oct. 27, 1831; m. 
Phebe Sanborn of Canterbury, April 5, 1855, who was b. Oct. 12, 1836. 
He was a man of great enterprise and varied business and resided at 
Tilton, Boston and later at Concord, where he d., Aug. 18, 1899. They 
had four dau. She resides in the home at Concord. 

Mary Ann Brown, b. at Nottingham, Aug. 23, 1833; has resided for 
many years in Andover. 

Charles G. Brown, b. in Hartland, Vt., Dec. 11, 1835; d. in Bristol, 
1885. 

George G. Brown, b. at N., Oct. 10, 1837; m. (first) Ada Reed of 
Claremont; m. (second) Nellie Prescott of Bristol, and (third) Mrs. 
Etta Shaw of Tilton. He has two dau., Mrs. George Cavis of Bristol 
and Mrs. George H. Davis of Tilton. 

Mr. Brown resided many years at Bristol and is now a miller and 
dealer in grain and feed at Tilton, and a prominent business man. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Harrison and Harriet Chase Brown.) 

(B. at N.) 

Albert Abram Brown, b. Dec. 14, 1834; m. (first), Dec, 1857, Sylvinia 

A. Tallant, b. at Canterbury, Oct. 13, 1839. She d. at East Concord, 

March 16, 1862. M. (second), Jan. 18, 1866, Sarah Amanda Moore. 

He is a farmer and resides at Penacook. They have three children. 

Mary Elizabeth Brown, b. Jan. 28, 1838; m. William C. French, 
b. at N., Jan. 1, 1835. (See French gen.) 



32 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Laroy Reubex Browx, b. at N., 1S40, remained on the homestead 
and cared for his mother in her extreme age. He m., March 14, 1870, 
Sarah G. Glines and had three children, all of whom d. in 1877 within 
three days. He d. at Litchfield, Me., Aug., 1903. 

(Children of Samuel and Lydia Leighton Brown.) 

AixxiE M. Bkown, b. at N., Dec. 31, 1838; m. Joseph G. Lyford, Dec. 
17, 1866, b. at N., July 8, 1830, and removed to Iowa. She was a grad- 
uate of the N. H. Conference Seminary, class of 1860, and was an ener- 
getic teacher. (See Lyford gen.) 

Albert Brown, b. at N., Aug. 21, 1840; served in Co. B, 18th Regi- 
ment, N. H. Vols.; m. Ellen Leighton and has since resided in Canter- 
bury. He is a successful farmer and raises horses. He has one son, 
Herbert (see Boys in Blue). 

Laura Browx, b. at N., Nov. 14, 1843; d. at N., Oct. 18, 1857. 

Mary C. Browx, b. at N., June 17, 1847; m. John B. Morrill of West 
Newton, Mass. He d. in 1882. 

Her mother resides with her. She has a son, Lyman, of Waltham, 
and dau.. Bertha. 

Lyman Brown, b. at N., July 24, 1849. He sold the home farm to 
Byron Shaw and removed to Nebraska, where he has since lived 
and where he is a grain dealer. M. Elizabeth Davis of Wilton, la. He 
has two dau., Edna and Winnifred. • 



BROWN III. 

John Brown came to Bean Hill about 1845 and purchased the Evans 
farm. They were from Farmiugton or vicinity. Mrs. Brown was 
Sarah Olive Nutter. They had no children and after his death she 
returned to her former home, selling to Lewis Haines. The place 
is now occupied by Charles C. Hayes. Mrs. Brown will be remembered 
by passers by as having the finest old-fashioned flower garden in the 
country. Mr. Brown d., 1863 or 1864. 



BROWN IV. 



John G. Brown, b. 1803, came to N. from Woodstock. He was in 
the War of the Rebellion (see Boys in Blue) and d. at Fairmount, 
Va., Nov. 16, 1874. He m. Mary Downing of Ellsworth, who after- 
wards became the wife of Moses Abbott. (See Abbott gen.) 

Second Generation. 

John J. Browx, b. at Woodstock, May 6, 1857; m. Florence Jeffrey 
at Woodstock, 1879, b. at Kennebunkport, Me., June 28, 1863. He came 
to N. from Somersworth. They had seven children. 



GENEALOGIES. 33 

Third Generation. 
Mary M. Browx, b. Oct. 23, 1880; m. Arthur Matthews of Colebrook. 
They reside at Gilmanton. 

Florence B. Brown, b. Dec. 5, 1888; m. Bert Smith. 
Luther M. Browx, b. March 29, 1892. 
John A. Brown, b. Feb. 1, 1894. 
Three other children d. in infancy. 



BROWN V. 

Theodore Brown, b. at Hampton, Oct 30, 1757, came to N. from 
Chichester in 1803 and purchased three farms from the 500 acres, 
reserved for Governor Shute. 

He had previously served in the Revolutionary War under Capt. 
Henry Elkins in Piscataqua Harbor. 

He had eight children. His wife was Sarah Gile of Haverhill, Mass. 
She d. Oct. 30, 1827. 

Second Generation. 

Asa GrLE Brown, b. at Chichester, 1783; m. Agnes Manson and re- 
moved to Vermont. They had six children, none of whom survive. 
He d. Sept. 23, 1857. 

Samuel Brown, b. July 12, 1786, at Hampton; m. (first) Abra Bart- 
lett, b. Jan. 10, 1790. They had five children. They resided some 
3''ears in Gilmanton, where she d. He then m. (second) Mary Runnells 
and had two children, b. in Gilmanton. He then returned to N., where 
three more were b. and where he d. Aug. 2, 1837. Seven of his ten 
children settled, after a long residence in N., in and around Provi- 
dence, R. I. 

Theodore Brown, Jr., b. at Hampton, Nov. 25, 1793; m. Ruth Col- 
lins. His two oldest children, William and Martha Jane, were b. in 
N. He removed to Wisconsin in 1846 and d. there March 27, 1863, 
leaving a large family of children and grandchildren. 

Sarah Brown, m. James Palmer and lived in Vermont, and later in 
Ohio. 

Mary Brown, m. Joseph Bunker, b. 1791; had children and d. in 
Starksboro, Vt. 

Mathew Nealy Brown, m. Nancy Hall, and resided first in Loudon 
and later in Concord, and had three sons. 

Nancy Moulton Brown, b. Nov. 19, 1799; m. Josiah Philbrook Brown 
of Sanbornton and settled in Wentworth, where they d. within a few 
weeks of each other in April, 1877. They were the parents of Brad- 
bury T. and Mary Ann, wife of Lyman Conant and mother of Maud 
Conant Oilman of Howard Ave. Another dau. is Mrs. Dorinda Web- 
ster of Fall River, Mass. 

John Gile Brown, b. 1803; m. Rebecca Whittemore of Boston, Mass. 
He inherited his father's estate in N., where he remained till his 
3 



34 HISTORY OP NORTHPIELD. 

death, Nov. 16, 1874. She d. Feb. 17. 1901. His buildings were burned 
in 18G7 (see Casualties) and rebuilt the following year. This farm 
is now occupied by George Dias. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Samuel and [second wife] Mary Runnells Brown.) 

Joseph Bartlett Brown, b. in N., June 11, 1809. 

Theodore Brown, 2d, d. in N., unmarried. 

Henry Tibbetts Brown, b. 1818 in N.; d. in 1897, leaving three sons 
and a dau. with good property. 

He erected the monument to his ancestry in the enclosure by the 
town house. He d. in Providence, where he had lived many years. 

Abra Ann Brown, b. Feb. 3, 1823, in Gilmanton. She m. Daniel 
Clemence and still resides at Providence at 82. 

(All went to Providence.) 

Harriet Brown, b. Oct. 24, 1826, in Gilmanton; m. Christopher 
Morey. 

Mary Brown, b. Feb. 28, 1828; m. Capron of Providence, R. I., 

a silversmith. 

Frances Brown, b. at N., Jan. 24, 1831; m. N. B. Horton of the firm 
of Horton & Son, now Horton & Heminway. They had two children. 

Mehitable Brown, b. March 28. 1833, in N.; m. Heath. She 

now resides with her dau. at Greenwood, Mass. 

Abbie Brown, b. at N., May 24, 1835; m. Capron, brother of 

her sister's husband and is associated with the latter as silver re- 
finers in Providence. 



BRYANT. 

Charles D. Bryant, b. at Dover, 1822; m., Nov. 27, 1842, Meriba 
Cotton, who was b. at Cotton Hill, Belmont, in 1822. He was a farmer 
and came to East N. in 1870 and resided on the Miles Gate farm 
until his death, Dec. 28, 1891. Mrs. Bryant now resides at Tilton with 
her son. They had seven children. 

Second Generation. 

Charles A. Bryant, b. at Dover, Nov. 11, 1843; m. Sarah Willey, 
and has two children; resides at Belmont. 

Emma F. Bryant, b. at Laconia, Nov. 15, 1846; m. (first), George 
Dow, b. at Ashland. They had one dau., Etta B. She m. (second) 
Reuben Hoyt of Lowell and resides at Belmont. 

John Fred Bryant, b. at Laconia, Feb. 5, 1850, was for 17 years 
the popular landlord of Loverin hotel at Tilton and later traveling 
salesman for E. W. Hoyt & Co. and C. L Hood of Lowell, Mass. He 
is now of the firm of Bryant Bros., dealers in meat and provisions 
at Tilton, where he resides. 



GENE.VLOGIES. 35 

George Bryant, b. at Belmont; m. Belinda Bean of Belmont, where 
they reside. They have sevea children. 

Willie Bryant, b. at Belmont, Oct. 9, 1855; m. Lora Smith of Bos- 
cawen. They reside at Belmont and have one child. 

Edwin H. Bryant, b. at Belmont, June 30, 1857; m. Flora Dow of 
Moultonborough, July 12, 1876. Mr. Bryant was in the meat business 
at Belmont and is now of the firm of Bryant Bros, at Tilton. They 
have two children, Helen R. and Maurice. The former is a member of 
the senior class of 1905 at Tilton Seminary. 

Mary Etta Bryant, b. July 14, 1859; d. at Belmont at the age of 
four years. 



BUELL I. 

Charles F. Buell, b. at Newport, Oct. 28, 1842; m., Sept. 16, 1863, 
Emma J. Colby, and had two children. She d., 1880. He m. (second) 
Julia Tucker of Andover. He was with his brother In the hosiery 
business many years at N. and had previously been employed in the 
Aiken Mills at Franklin as an overseer. 

He served in the Civil War in First Regiment N. H. Vols, (see Boys 
in Blue), and was active in G. A. R. circles, being once commander. He 
d., Feb. 3, 1904, falling of heart trouble on the street near his home. 



BUELL II. 

Annie Spaulding Buell was a native of Sutton. Her husband, David 
Elmer Buell, was b. in Lempster. He enlisted at the beginning of the 
Civil War for three years (see Boys in Blue). They were m. at Frank- 
lin, Nov. 24, 1868, and had two dau. b. there. He d. July 25, 1888. She 
now resides on Howard Avenue. 

Second Generation. 

Bernice Maud Buell, b. Sept. 10, 1874; m., Sept. 13, 1899, Josiah 
David Burley, a graduate of Pennsylvania Dental College, and lives at 
Methuen, Mass. Mrs. Burley graduated from the Tilton Seminary 
music department and went abroad to pursue the same study in Ger- 
many. 

Mildred Peavey Buell, b. July 24, 1879; resided in N. until her mar- 
riage, Jan. 1, 1905, to William R. Brown of Plymouth. They reside in 
Bristol. She was a graduate of Plymouth Normal School and taught 
several years. 



BURLEIGH. 

George K. Burleigh was b. at Webster Place, Franklin, May 15, 1864. 
He m., Aug. 4, 1889, Minnie, dau. of Gen. J. M. Clough of New London, 
b. at Greenfield, Mass., Nov. 10, 1868. He was for several years a 



36 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

jeweler at Tilton, with home in N. He is now a machinist at the Tilton 
Optical Works. 

Second Generation. 
Elizabeth Cornelia Burleigh, b. at Tilton, April 27, 1890. She is 
a student of Tilton Seminary. 



BULLOCK. 

Elisha Bullock and family came to N. from Alexandria June 30, 
1887. He conducted a large boarding house on Elm Street until Jan. 
1, 1894, when he bought the residence of the late Archibald Clark, 
where he d. three years later. Mrs. Bullock, with her dau., still resides 
there. 

Second Generation. 

Abbie Bullock, b. at Alexandria, Sept. 1, 1871, is a popular dress- 
maker and seamstress. 

Georgia A. But^lock, b. at Alexandria, Dec. 29, 1873; graduated at 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class of 
1892. She took later a post-graduate course at New Hampshire Normal 
School, and passed the state teachers' examinations in Aug., 1897. She 
has been since 1893 a teacher in Union graded school. 



BUSWELL. 

James Buswell came to N. from Plainfield about 1810. He was b. 
in Bow, where he m. Mary Clough. He d. in 3 835, and was buried on 
the farm. His wife survived him twenty-five years. They had a. 
family of eleven girls, nine of whom grew to womanhood and all but 
one married. Their first home was near the Bay Hill schoolhouse; 
later they removed near the home of their daughter, Mrs. Abbott, at 
the foot of the Kezar Hills on the Bean Hill Road. 

Second Generation. 

Abagail Buswell, b. 1813; m. Rufus Sargent of Newburyport, Mass., 
and had two children. 

Zilpha Buswell, b. at N., 1815; d. of consumption in early woman- 
hood, Sept. 16, 1840. 

Phebe Buswell, b. at N., 1817; m. Gardner S. Abbott. (See Abbott 
gen.) 

Lydia Buswell, b. 1820; m. George French, 2d, familiarly known as 
"Little George," and had a son, James. (See French gen.) 

Nancy Buswell, b. Sept., 1822; m. George French, 1st, of Oak Hill, 
always called "Big George." (See French gen.) 

Elizabeth Buswell, b. Dec, 1824; m. Frank Phelps of N., and re- 
moved to Danvers, Mass. (See Phelps gen.) 



GENEALOGIES. 37 

Saeah Jane, b. 1826; was second wife of Dea. Gardner S. Abbott. 
(See Abbott gen.) 

Harriet Buswell, b. June 26, 1828; m. Amos Frye of Hopkinton, and 
d. there in 189 — . She was a friend to all in trouble, especially to her 
kindred and many of them shared her home when health failed them, 
to whom she gave the most loving care. Her husband also shared in 
all her good works, as she in his. Not one of the Buswell name re- 
mains in town. 



BUZZELL. 



Walker Buzzell's name appears on the tax lists in 1793 and drops 
from it in 1824. I am unable to locate the old home. He m. Betsey 
Oilman, March 15, 1792. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 

Oilman Buzzell, b. May 18, 1795. 

Stephen Buzzell, b. June 20, 1797. 

Charles Oilman Buzzell, b. Nov. 14, 1801; m. Harriet Oilman of N. 
They erected the present residence of Dea. O. S. Abbott, but later 
went West, where he d. She survives at the age of 91 (1905) in Chi- 
cago, 111. 



CALEF. 

Jeremiah Calef, b. May 5, 1772; was son of Jeremiah Calef of Exeter, 
In 1841 he settled on the Batchelder place in N. on the Shaker Road, 
and d. there Feb. 23, 1855; m., Sept. 13, 1805, Nancy Osgood, who d. 
March 10, 1824. He m. (second) Sally Eastman, Sept. 2, 1829; she d. 
Aug. 26, 1850, at N. 

Secd*id Generation. 

Infant, who d. Sept. 4, 1814. 

James Osgood Calef, b. Aug. 5, 1806; d. in Loudon, April 24, 1835. 

Samuel Prescott Calef, b. June 5, 1808; learned the tanner's and 
currier's trade, carrying on the same in Charlestown, Mass. Later 
was a farmer at Loudon Ridge, where he m. Oct. 18, 1835, Mehitable 
Drew; m. (second), Mrs. Martha Coburn, May 31, 1877, and took up 
his abode at Sanbornton Square. Was chosen town treasurer in 1879, 
and d. suddenly at New Hampton, July, 1885. 

Mary Ann Calef, b. Sept., 1812; d., Aug. 31, 1816. 

Arthur Benjamin, b. June 30, 1825; son of second wife; graduated 
at Wesleyan University in 1851, and was admitted to the bar in 1852. 
He was clerk of all the courts of Middlesex County, Conn., for seven 
years; state treasurer, 1855"'56, then postmaster of Middletown, Conn., 
lS61-'69. He was recorder, city attorney, councilman and alderman of 



38 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

the city; a trustee of Wesleyan University from 1S62 to his death, Aug. 
17, 1900. He was also delegate to the Republican conventions of 1860 
and 1864. He m. March 21, 1853, Hannah Woodman of Canterbury, b. 
at Nashua, Dec. 31, 1827; she d. in 1891. 

Abagail Eastman Calef, b. at N., Feb. 26, 1827; d. July 4, 1829. 

Jeremiah Calef, Jr., b. Dec. 13, 1830; d. Nov. 18, 1892. 

Ebenezer Barker Calef, b. Aug. 11, 1832; m., April 16, 1853, Urania 
Dalton of N., b. Dec. 18, 1833. He was a farmer on the homestead 
where she now resides. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Arthur B. and Hannah Woodman Calef, b. at Mid- 
dletown, Conn.) 

Jeremiah Francis Calef, b. Oct. 14, 1855; graduate of Wesleyan Uni- 
versity. He received the degree of M. D. from Yale College in 1880. 

Arthcjb Benjamin Calef, Jr., b. Feb. 20, 1859; member of Wesleyan 
University, class of 1882; now Judge Calef of Middletown, Conn. 

Samuel Prescott Calef, b. Jan. 25, 1862. 

Edward Baker Calef, b. Nov. 8, 1864. 

(Children of Ebenezer and Urania Dalton Calef.) 
Sarah Ann Calef, b. Nov. 28, 1854; m., Aug. 5, 1875, George W. Cor- 
liss. (See Corliss gen.) 

Mary Eldora Calef, b. July 15, 1857; d. Oct. 3, 1895. 
Charles Henry Calef, b. Dec. 22, 1864; d. Aug. 15, 1880. 



CANFIELD. 

Asel Canfield was b. in England and his wife, Mary, in Scotland. 
They came to America soon after their marriage and settled near St. 
Albans. Here Asel, Jr., was b. in 1795. The father later went to a 
place, which now bears his name, in Ontario, Canada. He served in 
the British Army in the 1812 war. His son left home on peace being 
declared and worked on the, Erie Canal. He m. in 1823, Sophronia 
Jones of Woodstock, and after a stay at Broomfield, N. Y., came to 
Woodstock, where she d. He m. (second) Nancy Blake of Thornton, 
dau. of Isaac Blake, a Revolutionary soldier. Later they removed to 
Littleton and, in 1849, to N. She d. there Sept., 1869. He returned 
and d: at Thornton, March 10, 1881. 

Second Generation. 

Sophronia A. Canfield (first wife), b. at Broomfield, N. Y.; m. Allan 
Hart at Lowell, Mass. She d. at Pittsfield, Me., Sept. 6, 1854, leaving 
two children, who have since d. 

Jerusha W. Canfield, b. June 5, 1831, at Littleton; m., March 27, 
1850, Daniel Sewall of N., where two children were b. (See Sewall gen.) 
She m. (second) Smith Hancock of N., and had three children. (See 
Hancock gen.) She resides in Franklin. 



GENEALOGIES. 39 

Mary H. Canfield, b. Aug. 13, 1S33, at Littleton; m., Feb., 1848, Waite 
Brown of Boscawen, and had three children. They resided at N., 
where both d. 

JoHX W. Canfield, b. May 7, 1836, at Littleton; m. Abbie Willis of 
Franklin, April 4, 1854, and had one dau., Emma, now m. and living in 
Washington, D. C. Mr. Canfield d. in N., 1859. 

AsEL N. Caivfield, b. July 7, 1839, at Littleton; m. Harriet Bartlett 
in N. in 1861, and had two children. Rev. Edward J., b. May, 1864; is 
pastor of the M. E. church of Piermont and has two sons. Nelson and 
William. Harriet Canfield d. in 1896, and he m. (second) Mrs. Ellen 
Butterfield of Thornton. They now live in Sutton, Vt. 

WnxiAM A. Canfield, b. in Thornton, June 10, 1841; m. Miranda 
Stewart, 1860. Enlisted in Ninth Regiment (see Boys in Blue). They 
had one son, William, now deceased. He m. (second) Fannie Wood, 
and now lives in Rochester, N. Y. 



CARLTON. 

John G. Caklton was b. at Derry; m., 1839, Almira French of N., 
b., 1818, Feb. 4, and went to the Factory Village to reside, where they 
spent the remainder of their lives and both d., he in 1887, she, 1886. 
He went to learn the trade of blacksmith at 13 years of age and served 
seven years. He then spent a while at Wilton (Mass.) Academy. 

She was educated at a young ladies' school at Claremont and taught 
three years at the Center. She was a fine needlewoman and excellent 
singer. 

Second Generation. 

Charles Henry Carlton, b. at Tilton and d. at five years. 

Helen Maria Carlton, b. at Factory Village, July 13, 1845; m. (first), 
Hiram Ingalls, and had a dau. now the wife of Oliver George of Pitts- 
field; m. (second), Henry W. Lowe of Colebrook, who entered the 
regular army as lieutenant and was killed on board a man-of-war in 
southern waters during the Civil War. She m. (third) Henry P. 
Newton of Portland, Me., where they have resided since 1875. She 
inherited musical talent and became a fine concert singer. 

Charles Henry Carlton, b. 1850; attended Franklin Academy and 
New Hampshire Conference Seminary. He later took a course of in- 
struction at Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College at Boston. He d. 
April 27, 1896, at N. (See Boys in Blue.) 

Emma J. Carlton, b. 1854, inherited musical talent and had a thor- 
ough education in both vocal and instrumental music. She has been 
for forty years a singer in church choirs and a member of several 
ladies' quartettes. She m., 1894, Fred Parker of Taunton, Mass., and 
has one dau., Marion, now a member of the Franklin High School. 

Arabella Florence Carlton, b. 1857; m. James T. Ayles of Frank- 
lin. She has sung much in churches and clubs. They have a son, 
Harry A., shipper for the Emerson Piano Co. He and his mother 



40 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

are connected with Trinity Church branch choir of Soutli Boston, 
where they reside. 



CARR. 

Jesse Carr lived on Bean Hill. The place was later owned by Rev. 
Benjamin Bishop and Jacob Webber. Mr. Joseph Kimball bought the 
place and removed the buildings. Mr. Carr was in the Continental 
army in the Revolution and was put on the pension roll under act of 
June 7, 1832, and drew $96 a year. He m. Jane Dustin and had four 
children. 

Second Generation. 

James Carr, b. 180Q; m., April 5, 1837, Jane Dinsmore of N. (See 
Dinsmore gen.) They had one dau., Clarinda, b. April 11, 1833. She 
m. (first) (pub. May 5, 1851), Jeremiah Lock; m. (second), James 
Raith, who d. March 26, 1891. She resides on Danforth Hill. 

Moses Carr, b. 1802; m. Phebe Ann Chapman of Sanborn ton, Jan. 
22, 1827. They had two children. 

Ruth Carr, b. 1804; m., Nov. 4, 1838, Philip Keniston of N., and re- 
moved to Campton, where both d. 

Mary Carr, b. 1806; m., Sept. 16, 1839, Moses Evans of N. (See Evans 
gen.) She d., Aug. 12, 1851. He d. Jan. 15, 1855. 

Samuel Carr, b. at N.; m. Hannah Foster of Canterbury. They had 
two sons, Foster and French and an adopted dau., Drusilla, who m. 
Isaiah Akely. Mr. Carr d. at Concord. She m. (second) Thomas 
Simonds. (See Simonds gen.) 



GATE I. 



Simeon Cate was b. in Sanbornton, July 23, 1790. He was the 
grandson of James, who came from Epping before Jan., 1768, and 
built a log house in the Wyatt district, now Franklin. He m. Lydia, 
dau. of Lieut. John Durgin. Mr. Cate bought what was known as the 
Oilman Hotel, then on the site of the present home of Josiah Dear- 
born, of Ebenezer Blanchard, which he sold to Dr. Hoyt. 

He resided at the Clisby place, near the old meeting-house, until 
1820, when he bought the place at the entrance of the Colony road 
of Dr. Isaac Glines, removed the buildings to the Colony and erected a 
new home, where he lived until his death, Nov. 13, 1835. She d. March 
22, 1881. They had nine children. Mr. Cate was colonel of militia 
and was deputy sheriff at the time of his death. 

Second Generation. 

(All b. at N. ) 
Asa Piper Cate (see portrait and sketch). 

Caroline Nelson Gate, b. Feb. 14, 1815; m., June 2, 1842, Rev. 
Charles Smith of the Methodist Conference. He filled many important 



GENEALOGIES. 



41 



charges, in which she was his ever-devoted assistant. She d. at 
Oreat Falls, Nov. 22, 1853, leaving two sons, Charles and George. 
The former served in the Civil War, was taken prisoner at Petersburg, 
Va., sent to Andersonville, became insane and d. there. The latter 
was a graduate of Wesleyan University and a lawyer in Boston, but 
d. in early manhood. 

Abby Piper Cate, b. Nov. 17, 1818; m., July 4, 1844, Jeremiah Chad- 
wick of Boscawen, and d. there, March 18, 1859. They had two sons, 
George and Asa Cate, the latter now living in Franklin. 

Daniel Rogers Cate, b. 1820; m. and removed to California, where 
he was a farmer. He had two sons. 

Eastman, b. 1822, and Lafayette, b. 1825, d. in childhood on the 
same day. 

Thomas Jefferson Cate, b. ^1827; m., July 11, 1853, Laura Hoyt of 
Lakeport. He d. at Lakeport ten days later. She d., Nov. 25, 1854. 

Lafayette Cate, b. 1830, was educated at New Hampshire Conference 
Seminary. He read medicine with Dr. Mark R. Woodbury and began 
practice with Dr. Tolman, a fellow student, in California. He m. (first) 
Abby Edmonds of California and had one son; m. (second) Martha 
Ann Smith of Sanbornton Bridge, in 1863. They were many years 
at Quincy but now reside at Adin, Modoc Co., Cal., and had four 
•children; but two survive. 

Lydia Cate, b. 1833; m. (first) John Root and resided in American 
Valley, Cal.; m. (second) William Schlatter and has recently d. there. 



CATE II. 

Jonathan Cate. b. in Loudon, 1786, came to N. from Vermont in 
Feb., 1822, after having resided in Canterbury two years, and pur- 
chased a farm on the south side of the road over Oak Hill, a short 
■distance above the brook and the ancient sawmill that stood close 
to the road. They moved into a dilapidated one-story two-room cot- 
tage and occupied it eight or ten years. A new house was then erected, 
the farm furnishing the timber for it, it being sawed out at the little 
mill below. It took nearly a score of men to put it into shape for 
occupancy and must have been quite a pretentious affair. Here he 
resided more than 25 years. He m. (first) (pub Sept. 4, 1808), Char- 
lotte Blanchard, b. 1793 and d., Feb. 3, 1847, and was buried at the 
Hodgdon cemetery. He m. (second), 1848, Hannah Foster, widow of 
the late Samuel Carr of N. He d. May 2, 1850, and was buried in his 
father's burial lot at Loudon. 

Second Generation. 

Alice Cate, b. Feb., 1809, and d. at N., Nov. 25, 1834. 

Susan Cate, m. John Bachelder of Warren and d. 1884. She had 
two sons, Charles, who d. 1902, and John Wesley. 

Mary Ann Cate. m. Samuel Lees of Chicopee, Mass., Aug. 2, 1846. 
After his death she m. Amasa Holden of Billerica, Mass., and d. 1899. 



42 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Nancy Gate m. Albert Dunning. They lived and d. in West Spring- 
field, Mass., and were buried in Chicopee, he in 18S6, she in 1S90. A 
son d. at four years of age and a dau. at seven. 

John Wesley Gate d. Oct. 8, 1850. 

Mescheck Gate, b. March 12, 1812; m. Mrs. Hannah Noyes Parker^ 
who d. June 15, 1888. They had three dau. of whom but one sur- 
vives. 

Mr. Gate m. (second) Mary Wallace Holt, who d. at Manchester,, 
where he now resides, in 1897. He says: "At my father's death I 
sold out the farm to William Hannaford, Benjamin Kennison, Joseph 
Dearborn and others, and I now reside on Webster St., Manchester. 
Am almost 92 years old and am about to start on a ten-days' trip to 
Alton Bay camp-meeting." 

Mr. Gate was well educated and was one of the popular teachers 
of his time. He d. at Manchester, April, 1905. 



GATE III. 



Miles H. Gate came to East N. from Loudon about 1842. He was 
b. 1809; m. Dolly Sargent of Loudon and had a family of four chil- 
dren, all b. in N. They were farmers, but after Mr. Gate's death,. 
Dec. 6, 1857, they removed to Tilton, where the sons conducted a livery 
stable. He collected the N. taxes in 1847. Mrs. Gate removed to Ne- 
braska. 

Second Generation. 

Susan Gate, m., Nov., 1859, Horace Oilman of N. They removed ta 
Pierce, Neb. 

John Gate, m.. May 1, 1873, Mary Eliza Gonner, b. at Sanbornton 
Bridge, Sept. 16, 1845. After her death. May 27, 1875, and the de- 
struction of their stable by fire he removed to the West. 

Benjamin G. Gate, b. 1853; m., July 6, 1873, Ella Robinson of Oil- 
ford, b. 1856. They also removed West. 

Samuel Gate removed to the West with his mother and brothers. 



GATE IV. 

Albert John Gate (called Jerusalem) was a farmer in.N. from 1850 
till his death, Oct. 24, 1887. He lived on a part of the old Kezar 
farm on the Shaker road. He was b. Dec. 3, 1813, and m., Aug. 23, 1839, 
Sally A. Gawley, and had five children. One, Sarah L., d. in infancy, 
Feb. 19, 1852. 

Second Generation. 

Ekwin Oirakd Gate, b. March 14, 1841; m. Harriet Hale Whitney of 
New London and is a farmer in Boscawen. 

Martha Jane Gate, b. May 3, 1843; m. William Blaisdell Smith, a 
fai'mer of Loudon. 



GEXEALOGIES. 43. 

IsMEXA Eaton Gate, b. Dec. 6, 1847; m. Henry Cram, May 17, 1870. 
(See Cram gen.) 
Maey Ella Cate, b. Jan. 4, 1858; d. Nov. 1, 1901. 



COFRAN. 

JoHx CoFEAx and his wife, Eliza Gilman, came from Pembroke to 
Canterbury and took up their abode near the Shakers, where slie had 
a twin sister. 

His stay, it is said, was cut short by the great desire of his wife 
to become a Shakeress. He, greatly disgusted, "pulled up stakes" and 
went to Nottingham. After several years, deeming it safe to return, 
he bought land on Bean Hill and built his house on one of the most 
sightly spots in town. His deed bears the date 1787 and the consider- 
ation is given in pounds, shillings and pence. 

They had five children. 

Second Generation. 

(B. in Pembroke.) 

Sally Cofrax, b. ; m., March 20, 1805, John Rogers, a neigh- 
bor, and had a family of four. (See Rogers gen.) 

James Cofkax, b. May 24, 1782; m., Dec, 1806, Ruth Hersey, b. Dec. 
2, 1788. Mr. Cofran was a thrifty farmer on the homestead till past 
middle life and raised fatted steers in his mountain pastures for the 
Brighton market. Later in life he removed to Sanbornton Bridge and 
resided near the railroad station. He soon after erected a new home 
on the site occupied by his son, B. F. Cofran, where he spent the 
remainder of his life. He was interested in all public matters and 
especially interested in the erection of the first seminary, for which 
he burned the brick. He also dealt largely in wool. He d. April 27, 
1861. She d. Dec. 25, 1873. They had eight children. He represented 
N. in the Legislatures of 1822--'23. 

Israel Cofran, b. April 3, 1780; m., March 2, 1806, Betsey Hersey 
of Sanbornton, and resided on the Maloney place near the Hodgdon 
schoolhouse. They had eight children. He d. Sept. 21, 1844. She d. 
March 5, 1824. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of James and Ruth Hersey Cofran.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Jerejiiah Cofrax, b. Feb. 18, 1807; m., Feb. 26, 1835, Phebe Morrill, 
b. at Canterbury, July 20, 1813, and lived on the place now owned by 
the Smith Morrill heirs, where he d. Oct. 27, 1863. She d. June 23, 
1891. They had four children. 

Sally H. Cofrax, b. May 9, 1808; m., Dec. 31, 1834, Capt. Winthrop 
Young of Meredith. They had two dau., Lizzie and Fannie. Mrs. 
Young m. (second) Joseph Bartlett of Nottingham. She d. March 29, 
1894. 



44 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

Joseph Albert Cofkax, b. Sept. 28, 1814, resided on the homestead; 
m., Sept. 14, 1836, Almira Cofran, who d. Feb. 6, 1870. He d. Feb. 1, 
1896. They had four children. 

Mary Dearborn Cofran, b. April 21, ISIG; m. Frank Way of Derby, 
Vt., and lived in Missouri, where he d., leaving one son, Clarence 
Way, who resides in Andover, Mass., where Mrs. Way resides. 

Charles Crosby Cofran, b. Sept. 16, 1819; d. at five years. 

James Hersey Cofran, b. June 21, 1823; d. by drowning at Bos- 
cawen, Aug. 18, 1841. 

John L. Cofran, b. Dec. 17, 1810; m. of Baltimore, Md., where 

he lived, and d., March, 1862. He had six children, Ruth, Henrietta, 
James, Frank, Leroy and George. 

Elizabeth A. Cofran, b. Aug. 18, 1812; m., Dec. 21, 1833, Benjamin 
Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) She d. June 9, 1871. 

Almira Cofran, b. May 11, 1814; m. Joseph Cofran. He inherited 
the homestead and both d. there, he, Jan. 30, 1896, she, Feb. 6, 1870. 

They had four children. 

James H. Cofran, b. Jan. 3, 1818; m., May 28, 1840, Eliza B. Hall, 
b. at N., July 12, 1817. They remained many years on the home- 
stead, where he d., Feb. 16, 1868. She removed later near Tilton, 
where she d. July 11, 1898. Mr. Cofran dealt largely in cattle and 
held the office of selectman at the time of his death. They had four 
children. 

Benjamin Franklin Cofran, b. Dec. 9, 1819. (See portrait and 
sketch.) 

Laroy Cofran, b. Jan. 9, 1826; went to Baltimore, Md., and helped 
survey the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. He was station agent at 
Grafton, W. Va. Later he dealt extensively in lumber. He m. Mar- 
celina Boone Keyes, who survived him some years. He d. Aug. 16, 1892. 

(Children of Israel and Nancy Hersey Cofran.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Eliza Gilman Cofran, b. Oct. 4, 1807; m. John L. Hall of N., d. Dec. 
14, 1849, leaving six children. (See Hall gen.) 

Martha Cofran, b. April 29, 1808, resided with friends in Not- 
tingham and later with her niece near Tilton, where she d., 1901. 

Cyrene Cofran, b. Jan. 5, 1811; m. Joseph Sanborn of Ashland and 
d., Dec. 15, 1869, in Ashland. They had six children. 

Maria Silvia, b. Nov. 9, 1812; d., Aug. 28, 1861, at N. 

Peter Cofran, m. Rebecca Hoagg (pub.), Oct. 20, 1798. He lived and 
d. in Wheelock, Vt., and had a large family. 

Joseph Cofran, m. Pamelia Whitcher and resided in Concord. They 
had eight children. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Jeremiah and Phebe Morrill Cofran.) 
(All b. at N.) 
Caroline Augusta Cofran, b. April 24, 1836; m., Oct. 13, 1860, 



GENEALOGIES. 45 

Joseph Hunkins of Sanborn ton, and they have three children (see 
Hunkins gen.). Mr. Hunkins is a farmer and a trusted officer of the 
town, having been tax collector for many years. He is a deacon of 
the Congregational Church and has served the Sunday-school as its 
superintendent. 

Emily A. Cofrax, b. Feb. 15, 1838; m., April 4, 1866, George G. 
Morrison of Allston, Mass. They had one child, Sadie A., wife of 
Charles Smith, who d. July 3, 1903. 

Smith W. Cofkax, b. Jan. 15, 1840; m. Marcelina Wanzer, June 2, 
1872. Children, Jessie, Jay and Eugene. (See portrait.) 

Scott M. Cofran, b. April 16, 1847; m., Aug. 24, 1870, Mary Burgin. 
and has two dau. They reside near Boston, Mass. 

(Children of Joseph and Almira Cofran.) 
(B. at N.) 

Aura Axx Cofean, b. Sept. 30, 1838; m. Orrin Ford and resided in 
Boston, where she d. Dec. 25, 1879. He d. Oct. 3, 1892. 

Jacob Cofrax d. in childhood. 

James Cofran, m. Lucy Hunt and removed to Providence, R. I., 
where he d., leaving three sons, Charles, Harry and Fred. 

Fannie L. Cofean, b. April 23, 1857, left the home after her parents* 
death and went to reside near Tilton, where she d., the last of the 
family, July 8, 1903. 

(Children of James and Eliza Hall Cofran.) 
(B. at N.) 

Charles Chase Cofrax, b. March 11, 1841, was drowned at St. 
Augustine, Fla., June 13, 1862 (see Boys in Blue). 

Helen Eliza Cofran, b. June 5, 1843; m., Sept. 7, 1865, Warren 
Smith Hills of N. (see Hills gen.). 

Mary Frances Cofran. b. April 9, 1851, resides in Boston and is 
a clerk in the postoffice. She has traveled abroad, visiting London, 
Paris and Dublin, and is one of the Daughters of the American Revo- 
lution. 

Frank Adixo Cofrax, b. Feb. 11, 1853; m., June 1, 1876, Martha 
Graham of Peacham, Vt. He was manager of the Twin Mountain 
House for many years and later of the Fiske House at "Whitefield. 
He was a prominent politician and an elector for New Hampshire in 
1888 of the Presidential Convention. He d. at Whitefield, Aug. 15, 1896. 



CADUE. 

Luther Cadue, b. at St. Almanac, Canada, 1847, Nov. 2; m. Mary 
Lambert, b. at St. Emma, Canada, Oct. 21, 1842. 

They came to N. from Johnson, Vt., in 1886 and resided several 
years on Summer St. They had five children but two of whom re- 
side in N. Mr. Cadue was a soldier in the Civil War (see Boys in 
Blue). They now reside in Tilton. 



46 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

Second Generation, 

Selixa Mart Cadue, b. at Johnson, Vt, Sept. 2, 1869; m., Jan. 1, 1889, 
Otto F. Perthel and they have two children. (See Perthel gen.) 

Levi F. Cadue, b. at Johnson, Vt., July 26, 1873; m., Dec. 15, 1897, 
Ina N. Moore, b. at Tilton, 1877. He is a blacksmith with shop in 
Tilton and residence in N. 



CARR. 

Hazex Caer came to N. about 1832, as his name then appears first 
on tax list. He was a native of Sweden and a seafaring man. He was 
by trade a mason and plasterer. He m. Sally Dolloff of N. and d. at 
N. April 18, 1840. They had two children and resided in the Daniel 
Hill house on Bay Hill. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 

Nancy Lougee Caer, b. May 6, 1820; m., April 18, 1840, William H. 
H. Dalton, b. Sept. 21, 1816. They resided in Belmont. He d. there 
Oct. 27, 1870. She d. in 1882. No children. 

Caroline Peabody Carr, b. Nov. 18, 1822; m., Jan. 14, 1840, James F. 
Kimball, b. at Gilmanton, June 13, 1823. They resided at Belmont, 
where she d. July 22, 1870. They had six children. 

Third Generation. 

But one of this family resided in N. 

Amoretta Kimball, b. at Belmont March 25, 1847; m., Aug. 24, 1864, 
John Andre Kimball of N. (See Kimball gen.) 



CHAPMAN. 



Irvin W. Chapman, b. at Brooklyn, Conn., April 6, 1853; m., Dec. 24, 
1891, Fannie E. Bassett, b. at Brooklyn, Conn., Nov. 28, 1858. Mr. 
Chapman was employed by James H. Bowditch of Boston during the 
summers of 1889-'90--'91 as landscape gardener. During the fall of the 
last-named year he entered the employ of F. B. Shedd at his summer 
home in N. as foreman and farmer. They have three children, Leroy 
M., b. 1893; Paul W., b. 1895; and Linwood P., b. 1897. 



CHAMBERLAIN. 

Rev. John Chamberlain was b. in Loudon. (See Ministers of N. with 
portrait.) 

Second Generation. 
Mary Caroline Chamberlain, b. at N. Oct. 4, 1854; m. Harry Aldrich 
and resides at Cambridge, Mass. He is commercial traveler for Hano- 



GENEALOGIES. 



47 



ver Cracker Company. They have two sons, Harry and Lucius. The 
lormer, a graduate of Harvard College, is employed at Boston Public 
Library. The latter is now a student of Harvard College. 

Charles Judson Chamberlain, b. at Canterbury Jan. 12, 1855; m., 
Dec. 24, 1898, Etta Heath of Canterbury. He resides at Hoosic Driving 
Park club house as manager. He was for many years a farmer and 
Ijreeder of horses at Oak Hill. He served as a selectman of the town 
and member of its board of education. He was census enumerator for 
the town of Stark in 1880 and the town of N. for 1890. Mrs. Chamber- 
lain was for many years a faithful and popular teacher in the schools 
of N. and elsewhere. 

Nelly B. Chamberlain, b. Oct. 15, 1867, at Franklin Falls; m. William 
Darrah of Bedford. They reside at Readville, Mass., and have five 
children. Henry is a proprietor of a milk route at Manchester; Ella is 
a teacher at Monson, Mass.; Frank is employed by the golf club at 
Readville, Mass.; Arthur is a hardware dealer, and Ruth is still in the 
home. 



COGSWELL. 

William McCrillis Cogswell was b. at Canterbury, July 31, 1842, and 
came to N. in 1888. He located on Howard Ave. and built one of the 
first houses there. He is a carpenter and builder. He m. Nov. 24, 1869, 
Alice Kelley of Milwaukee, Wis., and they have two children. He has 
served the town as one of its board of selectmen and was active in 
laying out Emery and widening Bay Street, and in constructing the 
sewer. 

Second Generation. 

Warner Badger Cogswell, b. at Canterbury Sept. 1, 1871; m., May 8, 
1895, Cora Tucker of Ashland, where they reside, and he conducts a 
prosperous store. 

Alida May Cogswell, b. at Canterbury May 2, 1873; m.. May 2, 1894, 
Charles L. True of Tilton. (See True gen.) 



CHASE I. 



Thomas Chase was a descendant of Aquilla, one of four brothers who 
came to America from England in 1630. He came from Newbury to N. 
when young. He married Elizabeth, only daughter of Capt. Edward 
Blanchard, in 1797. (See Blanchard gen.) Mr. Chase was intending to 
locate in Canada, but Mr. Blanchard gave him a large tract of land as 
an inducement for him to settle in N. Trees were felled in the un- 
broken forest, a home and barns were built and he became a prosperous 
farmer. He added to the original farm till he possessed at least 400 
acres with many outlaying tracts. He was a man of great energy and 



48 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

perseverance and became one of the wealthiest men in N. He was a 
religions man and a Freewill Baptist in belief. 

The original home was burned and a new one erected a little further 
north, where S. B. Chase now resides. Daniel Huse and his son-in-law, 
Morrill Moore, lived there many years. Mr. Chase d. June 25, 1849, 
from injuries received in falling from a loaded wagon. She d. May 11, 
1871, aged 90 years. 

Two of his three sons settled on the home farm several years before 
his death. 

Second Generation. 
(B. at N.) 

Edward Chase, m. (first) Clara Brown (see Brown gen.), and resided 
at Lake Village and later in Meredith, where he had fulling and grain 
mills. They had a dau. Clara, who d. at 19. He m. (second) Hannah 
Blake of Meredith and had two children, Thomas, who was an extensive 
mine owner in Utah, where he d., and John, a druggist at Laconia. He 
m. (third) Mary Piper of Sanbornton. They resided first at Meredith, 
then at Sanbornton Bridge, where both d., he on March 4, 18G3. She 
then m. William Pitts Whidden. (See Whidden gen.) 

JoHx B. Chase m. Feb. 21, 1830, Mary Jane Ayers of Canterbury, 
He was a farmer on a part of the home farm. They had three children. 
He d. April 10, 1844; she d. June 27, 1850. 

Almiea Chase, m. Richard Smith of Hopkinton and had six children. 

Azuba Chase, m., 1825, Asa Burleigh of Boscawen. She resided 
mostly in Thornton. They had ten children. 

Harriet Chase, b. July 6, 1807; m. Harrison Brown of N. (See Brown 
gen.) 

Thomas Chase, Jr., b. Sept. 10, 1810; m., March 12, 1837, Mary Butler 
Brown, b. 181G. (See Brown gen.) He built the brick house now 
owned by "William C. French, and resided there until 1854. Mr. Chase 
was a contractor and builder of several miles of the Boston, Concord & 
Montreal Railroad. Later he built a fine residence on Arch Hill, which 
was burned the following year and rebuilt in 1S5G. Mr. Chase spent 
much of his time in the West and d. at Casa Grande, Ariz., March 
3, 1881. They had four children. She d. April 12, 1876. The Forrest 
family historian speaks of her as "scholarly, unselfish, refined, lovely 
to look upon, and of remarkable spirit and vivacity." 

Ann Chase, m. (first), (pub.) Jan. 11, 1835, Jesse Hancock (see Han- 
cock gen.), and had two children. He d. in 1841, March 4. She m, 
(second) Jonathan Scribner of Salisbury, 1843. (See Scribner gen.) 

Third Generation. 
(Children of John and Eliza Ayers Chase.) 

Eliza Chase went, after her parents' death, with her brother and 
sister to reside at Sanbornton Bridge. She was a student at the New 
Hampshire Conference Seminary. She d. of typhoid fever at 19. 




OLD CHASE TAVERN. 



GENEALOGIES. 



49 



Mary Chase, m. Rev. Charles Smith, a Baptist clergyman, and re- 
sided at Wolfeborough at the time of her death. They had three chil- 
dren. 

Charles Chase d. at Haverhill, Mass. 

(Children of Thomas and Mary Brown Chase.) 

Lal-ra Brown Chase, b. Dec. 26, 1S37; m., Jan. 8, 1862, William F. 
Jones of Durham, b. June 5, 1818. 

Mr. Jones was an extensive farmer and politician, holding many 
offices in town and state. He d. Feb. 3, 1898. They had two dau., 
Mrs. Mary Cutter of Fall River, Mass., and Mrs. Elizabeth Fowler of 
Jamaica Plain, Mass. The latter has a son, Harrison Fowler, Jr. 

Lizzie A. Chase, b. Oct. 11, 1840, graduated from New Hampshire 
Conference Seminary, class of 1859. She was a teacher many years in 
Melrose, Mass., Durham and Union graded school at N. She m. June 
28, 1880, Joseph Hill of Tilton, b. at Mont Vernon, June 16, 1834. He 
d. at N. April 18, 1890. (See Hill gen.) 

Maky Ella Chase, b. Oct. 1, 1851; m., Aug., 1870, George W. Balcom. 
(See Balcom gen.) 

Frank Butler Chase, b. Aug., 1853; d. Sept., 1854. 



CHASE II. 

Stephen Chase was the foremost man in N. in its early history. In 
1798 he erected a fulling mill, where the Granite Mill now stands. 
There was but a single cotton mill in the state when, in 1816, he bought 
the old cotton-mill erected by Mr. Gushing in 1814. The cotton was 
sent up in 100 lb. bags and sent out into the farmers' families to have 
the seeds removed, as there were no cotton gins, at 4 or 5 cents a pound. 
He bought all the river front from the old brick yard to the land used 
for the first seminary, extending well up to Bay Hill. The brick 
church, Arch Hill and the homestead of Hon. Asa P. Gate were included. 
His son Benjamin, on arriving at manhood, was associated with him 
and put in a carding machine. A fulling mill with carding machine 
was later built close by the bridge where the optical works now stand. 
This, later run by Moses Morrill, was burned, and a grist mill took its 
place. Mr. Chase also kept a tavern at the house still standing at the 
north entrance to Bay Street. The deeds to the farms taken by many 
of the early settlers in this part of the town bear the name of Stephen 
Chase. 

Bradstreet Moody had a dam across the river from the Chase mill 
and an oil mill and other buildings, Stephen Chase went further 
up the river on his own land and cut a canal down to his fulling 
mill (now Granite Mill). Mr. Moody, feeling aggrieved, commenced a 
suit for flowage damage. Mr. Goodwin, in an article in the Merrimack 
Journal, says Chase was a good fighter and so was Moody. The case 
went, after years of expensive strife, against Moody, forming one of 
4 



50 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

the disasters which clouded a promising career. After the death of 
Mr. Chase, his son Benjamin carried on the business until his removal 
to Lov/ell, when it became the property of Archibald S. Clark, whose 
wife was Priscilla Chase. In 1820 Mr. Clark sold out to Jeremiah Til- 
ton. (See Tilton gen.) 

Mr. Chase m. Mrs. Abagail Ambrose, whose maiden name was Oilman. 
She d. Nov. 13, 1833. He d. April 21, 1817. He was a man respected 
and honored and represented the town in the Legislatures in 1803-'04-- 
'0S--'09. 

Second Generation. 
(B. at N.) 

Mehitable Chase, b. April 7, 1795; m., May 1, 1817, Elder Joseph 
Clough of Canterbury, b. there Feb. 1, 1795. They had 12 children, 
three of whom d. in infancy. But three survive, Obadiah, a literary 
man of New York City, and Albert and Mary in the home that has never 
changed ownership. During a temporary sojourn of Mr. and Mrs. 
Clough in N. a son, Lucien B., was b. (See portrait and sketch.) 

Priscilla Gllman Chase, b. Aug. 6, 1796; m., Sept. 9, 1819, Archibald 
S. Clark of N., b. at Dunbarton April 21, 1796. She d. at N. May 11, 
1871. He d. May 2, 1877. Had six children. (See Clark gen.) 

Benjamin Ambbose Chase, b. April 3, 1798; m., June 21, 1820, Hannah 
Hall, b. at Canterbury. He succeeded to his father's business. He rep- 
resented the town in 1831~'32. He removed to Lowell in 1840, where he 
was a manufacturer. They had two children. 

Abagail Woodman Chase, b. Dec. 5, 1799; m., Dec. 26, 1823, Alvah 
McQuesten, b. at Plymouth March 3, 1797, where they afterward resided. 
They had six children, Relief Judith, Abby Chase, Alvah Aretas, Benja- 
min Chase and Garaphelia. 

Myea Chase, b. Dec. 14, 1801; m. Greenough McQuesten and resided 
at N., Fisherville and Concord. He was for many years a bookkeeper 
for Concord Railroad shops. (See McQuesten gen.) 

John Langdon Chase, b. Dec. 29, 1803. He m. and had a family. Re- 
moved to Illinois. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Benjamin and Hannah Hall Chase.) 

Priscilla Clark Chase, b. Jan. 14, 1825; m., Feb. 19, 1851, B. F. 
Cofran, b. at N. (See Cofran gen.) 

Charles Greenough Chase, b. July 5, 1827 (see portrait and sketch). 



CHASE III. 



Hon. Francis R. Chase was b. in Gilmanton in 1818, the son of Jona- 
than and Fanny Moody Chase. He m. Dec. 19, 1843, Huldah Perley 
Fessenden of Fryeburg, Me. They had five children. Mr. Chase read 
law in the office of Judge Dana of Fryeburg, Me., and first practiced 



GENEALOGIES. 51 

law in Conway. He removed from the latter place to N. in 1866, and 
bought the Joseph Peabody house on Bay Street and d. there 10 years 
later. He represented the town in the Legislature of 1872 and was 
active in the establishment of the New Hampshire Agricultural College 
at Durham. He had previously been a member from Conway and was 
speaker of the house in 1854. 

Second Generation. 

Allan Jasper Chase, b. at Conway in 1844, Dec. 3; m., 1868, Emma 
Loring and resides in Maiden, Mass., and is one of the firm of Chase, 
Parker & Co., heavy hardware and carriage supplies, Boston, Mass. He 
never lived in N. 

Anna Taylor Chase, b. at Conway May 20, 1849; m. Henry Augustus 
Bush and resides at 97 Cedar Park, Melrose, Mass. She was a gradu- 
ate of New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class 
of 1870. She has been for a long time interested in the work of 
Woman's Clubs and is president of the New Hampshire Daughters' Club 
of Boston and vice-president of the Massachusetts Federation of 
Woman's Clubs and one of the trustees of the Melrose Public Library. 
Mr. Bush is senior warden of Melrose parish. Both are active in church 
work. 

Laxjra Elizabeth Chase, b. at Conway Aug 16, 1851; was also a grad- 
uate of New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Female College, class 
of 1871; now a resident of Cedar Park, Melrose, Mass. 

Jonathan Taylor Chase, b. 1854; m., in 1881, Sophie Cram, who d. 
in 1882. He m. (second) Laura Price. He resides at 24 Cedar Park, 
Melrose, and is also of the firm of Chase, Parker & Co. 

Adaline Folso:m Chase, b. 1859; now resides with her sister at 97 
Cedar Park, Melrose. 



CHASE IV. 

Joseph Chase was b. at Deerfield May 8, 1834; m., Nov. 24, 1853, Ann 
Dearborn Chase of Deerfield. He was a shoemaker and farmer until 
his removal to N. in 1896. He is now employed as janitor at Union 
graded school. They have three sons and a dau. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at Deerfield.) 

George F. Chase, b. May 21, 1855; m., Dec. 29, 1883, Nellie Susan 
Morrison of N. After a few years' residence on Park Street and later 
on the Hills farm, they removed to their present location, her early 
home, where with fine buildings and up-to-date surroundings they are 
general farmers with summer boarders, dairying and fruit raising for 
specialties. 



52 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

J. LaRoy Chase, b. Marcli 30, 1S57; was employed at Lord Bros.' 
Optical Works. He d. July 21, 1889. 

Aloxzo W. Chase, b. May 13, 1859; resides with his parents on Vine 
Street and is foreman of finishing room at Elm Mills Woolen Co. 

Luther H. Chase, b. June 8, 1861; resides in Deerfield and is a 
fai-mer and blacksmith. 

Elizabeth D. Chase, b. Aug. 20, 18G3; m., April 2G, 1886, Robert 
Hunkins of Plaistow. He is a stationary engineer. They have three 
children, Warren C, Gladys A. and Florence E., twins. 



CHASE V. 



Fraxklin BRo\yNE Chase, b. at Hopkinton Dec. 9, 1844; m., Nov. 13, 
1867, Anna Abbott Runnells, b. at Concord, May 1, 1844. They resided 
at Contoocook 12 years previous to coming to the Clark Road, Tilton 
Highlands, where they lived 14 years. They came to the Timothy Hill 
place, N., in 1902. He was a teacher in his youth and is still a sur- 
veyor and farmer, a good story teller and won renown as color bearer 
in the famous "troop of horse" on N.'s Centennial Day. 

Second Generation. 

Samuel Ambrose Chase, b. at Contoocook Feb. 1, 1872; d. there Dec. 
6, 1877. 

Reginald Albertine Chase, b. at Franklin Feb. 12, 1883; m., March 
2, 1904, Ethel Florence Hamilton, b. at Wolfeborough Nov. 4, 1883. He 
resides at N. and is employed at the Tilton Optical Co. manufactory. 



CHASE VI. 

Samuel B. Chase came to N. from Franklin in 1903, having pur- 
chased the farm of the late Morrill Moore. They are chiefly occupied 
with dairying and have a choice herd of registered Jerseys. They have 
five children. Mr. Chase m. (second) Emma Randall of Canterbury. 

Second Generation. 

Harry Chase resides at Concord, where he is employed as a 
machinist. 

Grace Chase is a teacher in Franklin. 

Ella, Marion and Ned, children of the second wife, remain in the 
home. 



CILLEY. 



John Cilley came to N. from Nottingham. His wife was Hannah 
Elliot, b. there March 4, 1768. She d. in N. in 1852. He was the son 
of Cutting Cilley, who came to spend his last years at his son's home 



GENEALOGIES. 53 

on Bean Hill. They had 14 children, all but one b. in Nottingham. The 
original home disappeared long ago and the one now occupied by Frank 
Robertson was the family dwelling place until the erection of the new 
buildings of Hiram Cilley. He was an officer in the state militia. 
Mother Cilley, in spite of her strenuous life, lived to be 90 years of 
age, dying Oct. 10, 1853. He was a noted horse trainer. This farm is 
now owned by Andrew Shirley. 

Second Generation. 

Polly Cilley, m. late in life Jacob Webber and removed to Starks- 
borough, where they kept hotel many years. Mr. "Webber had a son 
David by a former marriage, who m. Emily Abbot, a neighbor, and 
removed with his father. 

Joseph Cilley. 

Martha Cilley, m. March 13, 1812, Jesse Rogers of N. and had a 
family of seven. (See Rogers gen.) 

John Cilley, b. Sept. 14, 1814; m., Jan. 7, 1835, Betsey, dau. of Daniel 
Hills, b. May 26, 1814, and removed to Columbia and had six children. 
Mr. Cilley's boyhood encounter with a black bear on Bean Hill is told 
elsewhere. 

Abxer Cilley and another brother removed to Northwood. 

Lydia Cilley. 

Jonathan E. Cilley m. May, 1S2G, Eliza Taylor of Sanborntcn. He 
v.as a dealer in meat and live stock in Massachusetts. They both d. 
m New Hampton. He had a son Dr. 0. G. Cilley of Cambridge Street, 
Boston, Mass. 

SoPHKONiA Cilley. 

Naomi Cilley m. Joseph Currier of Belmont. 

Daniel Cilley removed to Maine when a young man. 

William P. Cilley. 

James Cilley inherited a part of the homestead and erected new 
buildings, but sold later to Hiram. He m. May 10, 1827, Irene Rand of 
N. He removed to Boston, where she d. Nov. 7, 1852. 

Hiram Cilley m., Jan. 28, 1830, Nancy (Ann) Greenough Kimball of 
Canterbury, b. Dec. 10, 1813. He was many years an up-to-date farmer 
with good stock and ample means. Later in life he purchased the brick 
house erected by S. B. Rogers by the town house, now owned by J. E. 
Smith, and d. there Oct. 15, 1877. She survived until Dec. 8, 1888. 
They had two sons and two dau. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of John and Betsey Hill Cilley.) 
(B. at Columbia.) 
Mary Ann Cilley, b. Sept. 14, 1814; m., Jan. 7, 1835, Barker Hills of 
N. (See Hills gen.) 

Sarah Jane Cilley, b. Feb. 6, 1S3S; m. Jacob Sanborn of Franklin 
and had eight children. 



54 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Susan Cilxey, Lydia and Hannah, I have no record of. 

John Cilley, b. at N. May 9, 1833; m., Oct. 28, 1855, Maria Hibbard, 
b. Sept. 20, 1833, and d. at Columbia May 3, 1897. They had four chil- 
dren b. in Columbia and now living there. 

(Children of Hiram and Ann Kimball Cilley.) 
(B. at N.) 

Jeeemiah Kimball Cilley, b. Dec. 12, 1831. He has a son Leon H., 
proprietor of the Maplewood House, Bethlehem. 

CosA Hall Cilley, b. Aug. 1, 1834; m., Jan. 2, 1853, Marcus Lawrence 
and resided at Plymouth. They had one son, Willie Lawrence. She d. 
at N. Jan. 9, 1871. 

Henky Cilley, b. at N. May 2, 1839; m. Ellen "Wilder of Leominster, 
Mass., and resided some years in Boston, where he was a gas manufac- 
turer. Later was engaged in immense engineering operations in the 
construction of railroads in South America. The story of his successes 
and undertaking is simply marvelous, including the invention of a 
submarine torpedo boat and a new quality of ammunition; and a series 
of dangerous missions under government contract, which won him the 
title of colonel and large wealth. In 1865 he returned to his native 
town, bought and renovated the home of B. A. Rogers, and intended to 
quietly pass his remaining years there, but the excitement of great 
enterprises lured him again to busy life, and he returned to Chili only 
to encounter civil war, treachery, colossal schemes abandoned by fail- 
ure of existing government to fulfil pledges, sickness and the death of 
Colonel Meiggs, his partner. He d. at Lima, Peru, of a severe con- 
gestion of the brain, 1877. 

They had nvo sons, one now a teacher in Massachusetts Institute of 
Technology. He sold his N. home in 1871 to Daniel W. Beckler of Bos- 
ton. (See Beckler gen.) 

Sarah Frances Cilley, b. April 25, 1851; m., Jan. 17, 1872, Charles 
F. Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) 



CLISBY. 

Joseph Clisby, b. at "West Concord in 1802; came to N. in 1826. He 
had lived with Hon. Richard Bradley seven years and then served an 
apprenticeship at the blacksmith's trade four years and four months. 
He says: "My last schooling was under Judge George "W. Nesmith in 
the old schoolhouse at North State Street, Concord." M., 1828, Sally 
Hill (see Hill gen.) and bought place of Simeon Gate, who moved 
nearer the village. He repaired the house and built a blacksmith shop 
and continued business until 1863, when compelled by ill health to 
abandon it. His father, Joseph, a soldier of the Revolutionary "War 
and a pensioner, with his wife, came to live and die with them. He d. 
in 1855, and she d. Feb. 12, 1855. 



GENEALOGIES. 



55 



Mr. Clisby had a great memory and kept a record of current events 
for many years, some of which have been of great service in the com- 
pilation of these pages. She d. Nov. 15, 1S83. He d. June 24, 1894, 
aged nearly 92. 

Second Generation. 

Mandana Clisby, b. at N. March 4, 1830; m., Oct. 30, 1851, Pascal 
Jacques of Sanbornton and went to his father's to reside. She was 
musical and long sang in church choirs. After the death of her hus- 
band she removed to Tilton, where she d., the last survivor of her 
family. They had a dau., Carrie Ida, who d. in girlhood, June 24, 
1890. Mrs. Jacques d. Dec. 24, 1902. 

Maria D. Clisby was b. at N. Nov. 13, 1836; m., Oct. 19, 1859, Walter 
Sanborn of Sanbornton. She was a faithful teacher at Laconia and 
elsewhere for several years. She d. May 25, 1877. 

Sarah Corser Clisby, b. at N. Sept. 16, 1839; m., July 12, 1864, Rich- 
ard D. Goodwin of Boston, Mass., where she was a fine choir singer for 
several years. They had a son Harry, now a professor of Boston School 
of Technology, and a dau. Florence. Mrs. Goodwin d. in Boston March 
30, 1876. 

Clara Ann Clisby, b. at N. Aug. 8, 1843; m., Sept. 13, 1864, Oscar P. 
Sanborn. (See Sanborn gen.) 



CLARK I. 



Fred N. Clark came to N. from Warren, Oct. 3, 1892. He was b. 
at Vineland, N. J., Sept. 19, 1870. He m., on his 25th birthday, 1895, 
Emma J., dau. of Myron and Philena Houghton Southwick,. b. at 
Bombay, N. Y., Dec. 24, 1874. He is assistant postmaster at the Tilton 
and Northfield office. They reside on Vine St. and have one dau.. 
Vera Rose, b. Jan. 21, 1903. 



CLARK II. 



William B. Clark, b. at Ossipee, April 19, 1824, was a son of Rev. 
Mahew Clark, who conducted the religious services at the raising of 
the old meeting-house. He m. (first), July 4, 1844, Mary H. D. Clark, 
b. Nov. 25, 1825, in Sanbornton, and had two children. She d. Sept., 
1853. He m., 1853, Eliza A. Wilson, b. at Bridgewater, Vt, 1825, and 
had two children. He m. (third) Arianna Hoyt of Candia, b. 1828. 
They came to N. Oct. 8, 1878, and purchased the farm of Morrill Moore 
at the foot of Bean Hill and with a choice herd of Jersey cows made 
gilt-edged butter for wealthy families in Boston. He has since been 
known as "Butter Clark." Mrs. Clark d. here, March 6, 1900. He m. 
(fourth), in 1900, Mrs Betsey J. Buswell, b. at Meredith, Nov. 14, 1832. 
He removed to East Tilton, where they now reside. 



56 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Second Generation. 

(Children of William and Mary Clark.) 

LrcT Ann Clark, b. at Sanbornton, Jan. 12, 1S47; m. William W. 
Marston of Vermont. They now reside at Fitchburg, Mass. 

WiLLiAivr Taylok Clark, b. .at Manchester, Sept. 18, 1850; m. Rosa 
Bell Waldron. He was a carpenter but resided with his father on 
the fai-m in N. He is now of East Norton, Mass. 

(Children of William and Eliza Wilson Clark.) 

Oscae Walter Clark, b. at Manchester, 1857; d. at Stoddard, 18G2. 
Anna Eliza Clark, b. at Stoddard, 18G4; d. at N., Oct. 28, 1882. 



CLARK III. 

Dr. Alexander Tracy Clark, son of John, b. at Londonderry, July S, 
1769; m. Sarah Stinson of Dunbarton, b. 1778. They came to N. about 
1802 and he practised his profession. 

He was a student of Dr. Ebenezer Lerned of Hopkinton. He erected 
a two-story house on the site of Elmer Gale's newly-erected home. 
Years later it was moved across the river. He was a fine physician 
and a fellow of the New Hampshire Medical Society in 1816. They had 
six children. An unfortunate controversy with a neighbor led to his un- 
timely death by poison, March 11, 1821. He was a representative in 
1815-'16. 

Second Generation. 

Archibald Stinson Clark, b. at Dunbarton, April 21, 1796; m. Pris- 
cilla Oilman Chase, Sept. 9, 1819. He was first a clerk In Aaron 
Woodman's store at the Centre and in 1S18 began trade for himself 
where the town hall, Tilton, now stands. He was burned out here in 
1828 and again in 1838. After 1838 they resided in N., where she d. 
May 11, 1871. He was in business over 40 years and d. May 2, 1877. 
They were the parents of nine children, two of whom d. in childhood. 
He was clerk of the town and represented it in the Legislature of 
1843"'44. He was also postmaster at Sanbornton Bridge. 

Dr. John Clark, b. at Dunbarton, Feb. 13, 1798, read medicine with 
his father and graduated at Dartmouth College in 1823 and practised 
in Sutton. M., June 3, 1823, Abagail H. B. Taylor of N. He d. Nov. 
29, 1831, and she, Oct. 23, 1836. They had four children. Sarah A. m. 
Joseph W. Kimball. Nathan T. lived in California and owned quick- 
silver mines. Helen L. m. Walter Ingalls of Sanbornton. 

Nancy Clark, b. June 17, 1801; d. in Nashua, Oct. 12, 1877, unmarried. 

Thomas Jefferson Clark, b. at N. in 1803; m., Dec, 1826, Abagail 
M. Thomas and resided in N., where he d., May, 1827. She d. at Rox- 
bury, Mass., 1848. 



GENExVLOGIES. 



57 



Daniel Atkixsox Clark, b. Jan., 1S13; studied law with Judge 
Nesmith of Franklin. He was a teacher in Alabama and a lawyer at 
Louisburg, Ark., where he d. 

Third Generation. 
(Children of Archibald and Priscilla Chase Clark.) 

Carlos De Oxis Clark, b. Nov. 12, 1821, in Sanbornton; m. Rhoda 
Flanders of Warner. He was a clerk in Sutton, New London and San- 
bornton Bridge, where he d., Jan. 3, ISGl, perishing in a snow storm 
on Arch Hill. He was clerk of the town several years and the sixth 
to hold the office of postmaster at Sanbornton Bridge. Mrs. Clark d. 
March 26, 1SS7, aged 73. 

Valeria McQuestex Clark, b. at Sanbornton, March 8, 1824; m., 
Jan. 16, 1845, Horace Brown of Sanbornton. He traded at Clark's 
Corner. Later he kept hotels in Haverhill and Boston, Mass., and then 
engaged in the lumber trade in v/estern New York. 

He is supposed to have perished in a storm on the lakes. 

They had two children, Ella Archie and George Henry. The former 
was for many years a popular teacher. She m., Jan. 21, 1875, Jeremiah 

L. Fogg of Manchester, where they reside. A son, Harry, aged , 

was killed by falling from a moving team. A dau., Mrs. Edith Hodgkins, 
survives. 

The latter, Dr. George Brov\-n, after his graduation became the 
successor of Dr. Wight of Gilmanton. He was a skilful practitioner, 
a valuable officer of the town and twice served it in the Legislature. 
He d., , 1904, leaving one son. His aged mother survives. 

Augustus Blodgett Clark, b. at Sanbornton, Aug. 1, 1834, was edu- 
cated at New Hampshire Conference Seminary and Dartmouth College. 
He studied law with Judge George W. Nesmith of Franklin and at Low- 
ell. He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and returned and 
practised law in New York City. He m. Anna Swartout of New York. 

Thomas Bextox Clark, b. at Sanbornton, March 23, 1838, served 
in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue). He was employed at the woolen 
mills as a spinner and was found drov^^ned in the Winnipiseogee River 
Aug. 11, 1872. 

Otis Story Clark, b. at N., June 28, 1840. He studied dentistry in 
New York and practised in Richmond. He was engaged later in the 
sewing machine business in Boston, Mass. 

Electa W., d. at six years of age. 

George Hexry Clark, b. at N., Dec. 2, 1828, was an iron merchant 
on Broadway, New York. He resides in Brooklyn and m., April 25, 
1855, Mary E. Pierce of Lawrence, Mass., and had four children. 

Electa Abby Clark, b. in Sanbornton, May 11, 1832; d. in N., Nov. 
22, 1865. 



CLARK IV. 

James M. Clark, b. at Dorchester in 1794; m., March 10, 1813, Hannah 
Weeks of Sanbornton, b. Sept., 1784. He was first taxed in N. in 1836. 



58 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

He established his home on the highest available point on Bean Hill. 
He was a cooper by trade. He d. July 7, 1862, she, Nov. 12, 1870. They 
had one son. 

Second Generation. 
Joseph C. Clark, b. at N., 1819; m. (first), Dec. 21, 1841, Julia 
Veasey and had two sons, Charles and Lyman, ;who removed to the 
"West. She d. July 8, 1844. He m. (second) Caroline G. Rines, who 
d. March 14, 1899. He d. 23 years previous. He also was a cooper 
and was always called "Jo Noggin." 



CLIFFORD. 

Tristram R. Clifford resided at East N. across the road from the 
head of Chestnut Pond. He was a farmer and was first taxed in 1835. 
He built the house, which was later removed and is now the residence 
of Gawn E. Gorrell. The land became the property of James N. Forrest. 
They removed to East Tilton, where both d. at a ripe old age. His 
mother d. at his home in N. at 91 years of age, June 28, 1858. His 
father, William Clifford, d. IS years previous. This was the home of 
the Allison family. 



CLOUGH. 

Philip, oldest child of Obadiah and Sarah Clough, was one of the 
first settlers in the north-fields of Canterbury. He was b. in Canter- 
bury, Sept. 15, 1779. He was a brother of Jeremiah, Obadiah, Joseph 
and Thomas. 

He m. Nancy M. Glidden, dau. of Esquire Charles, March 12, 1807, 
who received as her marriage portion a large tract of land bordering 
on the river, extending from the home of Colonel Cate to the Colony 
and including a mill where the Elm Mills now stand. 

An old house nearby had to be removed, as the railroad track passed 
directly underneath it. Mr. Clough used to run the mill but sold 
before his death in part to Nathaniel Holmes, who in turn sold to 
the "Water Power Co.," the railroad and the seminary. Mr. Clough's 
wife was an Osgoodite and meetings of that sect were often held at his 
house. He d. in Sanbornton Sept. 10, 1823, and was buried at Franklin. 

Nancy M. (Glidden) Clough was b. May 25, 1785; d. July 29, 1841. 

Second Generation. 
Abner, b. Dec. 21, 1807; d. April 12, 1853; m. Olive Lefever, March 

4, 1838. 

Mary A., b. May 23, 1809; m. Jesse Young, May 10, 1835. 

Charles G., b. Sept. 15, 1811; d. Sept. 1, 1836. 

Emily C, b. April 6, 1813; d. Dec. 3, 1867; m. Allan Strong, July 

5, 1845. 



GENEALOGIES. 59' 

Sarah E., b. Sept. 4, 1815; m. Jacob Hurd, April 11, 1837. 
Alice G., b. Sept. 28, 1820; d. June 18, 1887; m. Dr. Camillus Hall, 
Nov. 22, 1838. 



CLOUGH II. 

Samuel Clough, b. at Salisbury, Mass., April 24, 1714; m. Sarah 
Dow, b. Feb., 1708. She d. at Gilmanton. He d. at N. Nov. 22, 1778. 
They had seven children. 

Second Generation. 

Jonathan Clough, b. at Salisbury, Mass., June 6, 1750, resided there 
in 1795, as he was collector of taxes for the "West Parish" that year 
and left soon after to settle near his brother, who had previously 
moved to Gilmanton. He spent the night on his way at Bay Hill and,, 
learning that the farm of Nathaniel Whitcher, where he was stopping, 
was for sale, bought it. His wife was Martha True of Salisbury, Mass., 
b. Feb. 20, 1752, and they had two sons and two dau. She d. Sept. 
9, 1825. Another brother went to Alton. 

Third Generation. 

(All b. in Salisbury.) 

Samuel Clough, b. Nov. 8, 1778; m. Jane Perry Whicher, who was b. 
Feb. 6, 1787, and d. Aug. 12, 1818. They had four children. He m. 
(second), Dec. 31, 1818, Nancy Mathes of Canterbury, b. May 29, 1787, 
and had five children. He purchased the farm of Daniel Hills at his 
death in 1816 and this, with other land secured from time to time, 
constituted an extensive farm. He d. Sept. 28, 1848. She d. Feb. 3, 
1S74. 

Sally Clough, b. Feb. 12, 1781; d. Feb. 9, 1783. 

Sarah Clough, b. April 27, 1784; m., Jan. 28, 1813, Ebenezer E. Dar- 
ling, and removed to Bristol in 1835. They had one child, Jonathan C, 
who d. Sept. 9, 1864. Mrs. Darling d. June 9, 1820. He d. April 5, 1875. 

Jonathan Clough, b. March 8, 1790; m. (first), Nov. 21, 1811, Nancy 
Gilman, b. Jan. 30, 1791, and d. May 14, 1821. He inherited his father's 
farm, where he spent the remainder of his life, a faithful member 
of the Methodist Church. They had four children. He m. (second), 
Jan. 4, 1822, Sophia Woodbury of N. and had five children. He d. July 
6, 1850. She d. May 11, 1877. 

Fourth Generation. 
(Children of Samuel and Jane Whicher Clough.) 

Altmira Clough, b. May 2, 1808, went West and d. in the family of 
her cousin, Emily Wheeler, unmarried. 

John Langdon Clough, b. June 24, 1810, went to Wilmar, Minn., and 
d. suddenly while returning from dining with a neighbor, Nov. 14, 
1893. 



60 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Martha Jane Clough, b. Jan. 3, 1815; d. Dec. 12, 1874; m. Ransom 
Clough, her cousin, and resided at Arlington Heights, 111. He d. at 
Palatine, 111. 

Mary Clough, b. March 4, 1817; d. April 22, 1818. 

(Children of Samuel and Nancy Mathes Clough.) 

Maey Clough, 2d., b. Oct. 3, 1819; m., 1843, Charles Kendall of Nashua. 
She d. March 30, 1845. One child d. in infancy. 

James Monroe Clough, b. March 27, 1821. He inherited the home- 
stead and became an extensive and well-to-do farmer. He was injured 
while removing snow from a roof by falling on a lilac stub which 
punctured his foot and a week later he d. of lockjaw, Feb. 21, 1886. 

Samuel Adams Clough, b. Jan. 2, 1823; d. Sept. 27, 1833. 

Thomas Stevens Clough, b. May 23, 1825; m., July 6, 1851, Electa 
C Glines. (See Glines gen.) He was well educated and taught several 
winters. He was employed during the construction of the B., C. and 
M. Railroad as paymaster and superintendent of culverts and stone- 
work. 

He was the first Republican representative sent to the Legislature 
from N. in 1855. He moved to Mendota, 111., in March, 1856, where he 
was an extensive farmer. Later he was a traveling salesman for a 
New York house. In 1875 he removed to Paw Paw, where he resided 
until his death, June 5,. 1892. They had a son, Thomas S., Jr., and a 
dau., Mrs. Geo. E. Hyde. 

Cynthia Ann Clough, b. Dec. 5, 1827; m., April 15, 1853, Daniel 
Adams Hills. (See Hills gen.) 

(Children of Jonathan and Nancy Oilman Clough.) 
(B. at N.) 

Ransom Forrest Clough, b. Oct. 4, 1812. He studied the higher 
mathematics with Dudley Leavitt, the almanac maker. He, with his 
sister and cousin, went West in a big emigrant wagon, being sis 
weeks on the way. They settled at Elk Grove, 111., in 1836, when 
Chicago was only a village. He was a surveyor for the growing city. 
He m., Dec. 24, 1840, Martha Jane Clough (dau. of Samuel) and had 
six children. He m. (second) Hannah Boyce Clough, widow of his 
half brother. She was b. in Londonderry, March 8, 1831. 

John True Clough, b. Feb. 5, 1814; d. at Kettle Creek, Ga., Jan. 14, 
1849, where he went in 1837. They had five children. His wife was 
Lurania E. Miller of Waresboro. They were m. Jan. 2, 1845. 

Emily Clough, b. Dec. 24, 1815; m., Dec. 21, 1840, Ephraim Bartlett 
Wheeler of Littleton. They lived at Arlington Heights, 111. She d. 
Jan. 6, 1894. They had eleven children. 

He d. June 2, 1885. He and his son Irving were at work in their 
shop during a thunder shower. A tree nearby was struck and the 
room filled with sulphurous gas, which suffocated him and he d. in a 
few moments. 

Jeremiah S. Clough, b. Jan. 19, 1819, removed to Illinois in 1854, 




THOMAS STEVENS OLOUGH. 




I— I 

K 

pq 

O 
Q 

GC 

O 

M 
O 

o 

1-5 
O 




WILLIAM H. CLOUGH. 



GENEALOGIES. 61 

where lie m. Dorcas Elvira Peck. He d. at Arlington Heights June 12, 
1887. They had three children. 

(Children of Jonathan and Sophia Woodbury Clough.) 

William Henry Clough, b. Oct. 15, 1823; m. Oct. 15, 1852, Laura 
Porter Glines. (See portrait.) He was employed on the railroad 
some years as engineer. After his father's death he bought the home 
from his brother Warren and remained a prosperous farmer until his 
death, July 1, 1895. This place remained until recently in the possession 
of Mrs. Clough and in the name for more than 100 years — one of the 
most beautiful places in New Hampshire. (See illustration.) The im- 
mense elm tree in front of the home was set out in 1812 and the others 
about 1850. 

Mr. and Mrs. Clough were people of artistic tastes and their home 
abounded in beautiful and rare furnishings. Mr. Clough represented 
the town in the Legislature in 1886 and served on the committee on 
agriculture. Mrs. Clough still resides in town. 

Nancy Oilman Clough, b. Aug. 9, 1825; m., Nov. 7, 1855, John S. 
Parsons of Rochester, where she still resides. He d. March 21, 1894. 
They had two children, Addie Florence, with whom she resides, and 
a son, Charles W., who d. Dec. 22, 1903. Mrs. Parsons was one of the 
first enrolled students at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary, 
where he later became a student. 

Joseph Wareen Clough, b. Jan. 3, 1828; m., June 3, 1852, Hannah 
Jane Boyce of Londonderry and settled in Evanston, III., where he d. 
Oct. 29, 1862, leaving one son, Harry L., now a real estate dealer in 
Chicago. 

Charles Wesley Clough, b. Dec. 28, 1832, was a soldier In the Civil 
War (see Boys in Blue), was disabled, and later was a farmer in New 
Boston, where he d., Aug. 5, 1884, unmarried. 

RuFus George Clough, b. Jan. 31, 1837, went to Evanston, III., in 
1855. He enlisted, Sept. 9, 1861, in the Eighth Illinois Cavalry (see 
Boys in Blue) and d. in hospital at Washington, D. C, May 23, 1862, 
and was buried at Arlington Heights, D. C. 

There is no one of the name remaining in town and but few of the 
line, though there are many elsewhere. 



CLOUGH III. 



William Clough came to N. from Barnstead. He owned the farm 
later owned by William French and still later known as the Lyford 
Morrison place. After some years he returned to his native town. 

They had no children, but made a home for a nephew of Mr. Clough 
and also a niece of Mrs. Clough, Martha J. T. Carr, who became the 
wife of \villiam Evans of Pittsfield. (See Evans gen.) The nephew, 
William H. Clough, was the principal of the Rumford School in Con- 
cord and later registrar of deeds for Merrimack County. They had a 
dau. Ida, now the wife of West. 



•62 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

CRAM. 

Heket L. Cram, b. at Westfield, Mass., Nov., 1843; m., Ismena E. 
•Gate (see Gate gen.), b. Dec. 6, 1847. He was a soldier in the Civil 
War (see Boys in Blue). They had one child. 

Second Generation. 

Herbert Leroy Gram, b. at N. Sept. 2, 1872, and resided with his 
-mother on the homestead. He m., Dec. 24, 1904, Ada J. Brown, and 
moved to her home on Bean Hill. 



COLBY. 

JosiAH Colby, b. at Sandown; m., Oct. 23, 1819, Sally French of East 
'N., where they resided and had a family of four. They removed later 
to Factory Village, now Belmont, where she d. He m. (second) Betsey 
Gross of West N. 

Mr. Colby's grandfather was a soldier and was sent as one of a detail 
to rebuild a stockade fort at Hinsdale for Colonel Hinsdale. He was 
captured by Indians and taken to Canada, where he was adopted by a 
■squaw because he resembled her dead son. 

She was greatly enraged, however, to find he carried a pocket 
Bible. The priest was sent for and the book taken from him and he 
was sold as a slave at Montreal. He at once purchased his freedom 
and returned to his home. 

Second Generation. 

Mart Jane Colby, the youngest dau., went with her father to the 
Ephraim Cross place, where she resided until her marriage, May 29, 
1850, to Daniel Clay, when she removed to Sanbornton Bridge, where 
she d., leaving one son, Myron. (See Davis gen.) Mr. Clay d. Aug. 6, 
1900. He had previously m. (second) Mrs. Colby. Myron now re- 
sides in Brooklyn, N. Y. 



AMOS M. COGSWELL. 

Amos Moody Cogswell (see portrait) was b. at Canterbury Uplands, 
July 14, 1825; m., Dec. 1, 1853, Hannah A. Ames, b. at Canterbury, Dec. 17, 
1825. He remained with his father on the farm until his majority and 
then followed various pursuits until 1S55, when he entered the employ 
of the B., C. & M. Railroad as station agent at N., where he resided 
during the War of the Rebellion. It was a time of great activity 
there as the Concord Railroad was buying and shipping large quan- 
tities of wood, all of which he surveyed and shipped. Some of his 
day's work surveying covered more than 2,000 cords. He was also in 
the same capacity at Wentworth, where lie lost his right leg in an 



1^ ^■^^ 0^ 


Ir^^^ 


i 


i\.'"f 


L 



AMOS MOODY COGSWELL. 



GENEALOGIES. 63 

accident. He was one of the selectmen in N. three years and treasurer 
for two. He was also superintendent of schools. He was appointed 
justice of the peace at 2S and held a commission ever afterwards. 
After 30 years' service for the railroad he opened a real estate office 
at Lakeport, where he d., July, 1903. Mrs. Cogswell d. at Lakeport, 
July, 1904. They have a dau., Marianna, a teacher in Wellesley Col- 
lege. 



COLLINS. 

Aaron Collins was the first of the name in town, where he dis- 
tinguished himself by being the first child born here. He is next 
heard from as standing on his head on the ridgepole of the meeting- 
house on the day of the raising. He m. Sally Dearborn and had a 
family of one and perhaps more. 

Second Generation. 

Benjamin Collins, b. at N., 1802; m. Abagail Glines and lived on 
the Colony. They had five sons. She d. July 17, 1882, aged SO. He 
d. Nov. 15, 1889, aged 87. 

Third Generation. 

(All b. at N.) 

Benjamin Collins, Jb., b. 1831; m., Jan. 7, 1848, Alice Cross, b. 1830. 
They had a family of ten. She d. April 24, 1871. He m. (second) 
Jane Murphy and resided near Tilton. He d. at Boscawen, 1888. 

John Collins, b. Oct. 24, 1831; m. Grace Dearborn and had three 
dau. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) He was 
a painter and d. Jan. 3, 1903. She d. at Northwood. 

George Collins, b. 1841; m. Mrs. Mary E. Marsh, April 26, 1868; He 
bought part of the Glines farm at the Center, selling it later to Joseph 
Prescott. 

Charles Collins now resides on the Bean Hill road, owning a small 
tract of land. 

Frank B. Collins, b. 1851; m., Feb. 28, 1896, Fanny Jondro, b. at 
North Hudson, N. Y. Their home on the Forrest road was burned in 
1904. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Benjamin and Alice Cross Collins.) 

Mary, Willie, Alonzo, Abra Ann and Frank all d. in the home be- 
fore middle life, unmarried. 

Harry Collins, b. 1865; m., June 15, 1890, Annie F. Davis of Bath. 
He is employed by the railroad, with residence at Plymouth. 

LiLLA Collins m. and removed to Andover. 

John Coixins changed his name to John Henry and resides near the 
Centre. 



64 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

B. F. COFRAN. 

(See portrait.) 

Benjamin F. Cofkan was b., Dec. 19, 1819, in N., and d. Oct. 6, 1903. 
He' lived on Bean Hill until Dec, 1S49, moving from there to Lake 
Village. In the spring of 1862 he removed to N. near what is now 
Tilton village. He was m. to Priscilla C. Chase, Feb. 19, 1850, by the 
Rev. Corban C. Curtice. He suffered the loss of his buildings by fire 
May 27, 1875, and rebuilt the following fall. He was a successful cattle 
dealer and farmer. In politics he was a Democrat, decided in his views 
and acted up to the full standard of his convictions. The same qual- 
ities shown in his private business were conspicuous when he was called 
by the citizens to the administration of town matters. He was a member 
of the school committee, selectman, and filled other offices for various 
and continued terms. His advice and counsel were sought and he was 
often selected as an administrator, guardian and for other weighty 
trusts. He was elected representative to the state Legislature in 1873-- 
'74 and was chairman of the committee on agriculture the latter year. 
He had ever a great interest in passing events and was one of the few 
to put them on record. His note book has been of great assistance in the 
preparation of this work, as he had a complete list of the deaths 
occurring in town from 1840 to 189 S. 



CONANT. 

Dea. Peter Coxant came to N. in 1823. His son, Liba Conant, had 
just accepted the pastorate of the newly-organized Congregational 
Church and his salary being small the records say: "His father offered 
to make up what was lacking for his support." 

He was a farmer and lived first on the Simonds place and later on 
the Bean Hill road. He was b. Aug. 3, 1753, and d. at N., May 22, 1825. 
His wife, Jane, b. 1759, d. at Hebron, May 17, 1846. He is buried in the 
enclosure by the Town house. % 

Second Generation. 

LiBA CoNANT, b. at Bridgewater, Mass; fitted for the ministry at 
Brown University, graduating in 1823. He was ordained the same 
year at N. He m., Oct., 1820, Deborah Leach, also of Bridgewater. 
They had three dau. and a son, Henry, who d. at seven. They re- 
mained at N. 14 years, going then to Canaan and later to Orford, 
where both d. (See Ministers of N.) 

Third Generation. 

Elizabeth J. Conant, b. at N. Nov. 13, 1824; m. Lucius Wilson Ham- 
mond, a merchant of Bristol. They had two children, Ella Calley, 
who resides in Denver, and George H., who d. in Bristol. Mrs. Ham- 
mond d. at Bristol, July 23, 1882. 




BENJAMIN F. COFRAN. 



GENEALOGIES. 65 

Saeah Ann Conant, b. at N. Feb. 8, 1827; m. Joseph H. Keyes of 
Massachusetts. They had a son, Joseph Everett, who resides in Hebron. 
Mr. Keyes d. in Hebron, Dec. 5, 1898. She d., in Bristol, March 26, 1882. 

Ellen McAllister Conant, b. at N., Oct. 19, 1833; m., Oct. 11, 1853, 
David Everett Willard of Orford. He was a merchant there until 
1882, when he removed to Concord, where he resided until his death, 
Jan 17, 1895. She d. Nov. 6, 1903. They had four children: Ellen 
Augusta of Concord; Everett Wheeler of Toledo, 0.; Sarah Rebecca, 
who d., 1881, and Stedman of Boston, Mass. 



COOK. 

John Brown Cook was first taxed in N. in 1833. He bought the 
farm now owned by Frank Shaw and, being past middle life, only 
farmed in a small way. He m. ( first) Sarah Taylor of Epping, who d. 
May, 1858, at Lynnfield, Mass. They had nine children, none of whom 
were b. in town. Mrs. Cook d. at N. He m. (second) Mrs. Bean of 
Freedom, Me. She d. in 1868. He m. (third) Mrs. Ordway of Saugus, 
Mass. He remained in town 15 years, and d. at Lynnfield, Mass., in 
1887. 

Second Generation. 

Rebecca Cook d. in infancy at Exeter. 

LoviNA N. Cook m. Charles Proctor of Biddeford, Me., and d. there, 
June, 1885. 

Harriet B. Cook d. at N. of typhoid fever, Aug. 15, 1848, aged 21 
years. 

Rebecca Cook, b. 1824; d. at N. Sept. 12, 1846. 

Daniel P. Cook was killed by a stationary engine at Wakefield, Mass., 
1885. He m. Sarah Reed of Lynnfield, Mass. 

David Cook, d. May, 1862, at Lynnfield, Mass. 

Sarah Coffin Cook, m. T. A. Parsons of Wakefield, Mass., and has 
kindly assisted the author to the family data. 

Otis Cook, m. Judith Hardy of Freedom, Me., and d. at Woburn, 
Mass., in 1873. 

Manfred Cook m. Mary Ellen Wiley of Lynnfield, Mass., and d., 1875, 
at Woburn, Mass. 

Mrs. Cook and two dau. are buried in the yard by the town house at 
N. 



COPP I. 

John Copp, b. 1792, came to N. from Sanbornton and bought or built 
a house on Whicher Hill, where F. B. Shedd's residence now stands. 
He m., Sept. 18, 1822, Ruhama Rollins of Sanbornton, b. 1797, and 
had a son and a dau. Mrs. Copp d. at Belmont Oct. 10, 1872. He d. 
Oct. 3, 1873. 
5 



66 HISTORY OF XORTPIFIELD. 

Second Generation. 

EvELiXA Copp, b. June 28, 1827; m., June 18, 1850, John C. Foster 
of Belmont, where they resided. They had four children, Orrin W., 
Laura E., Flora A. and Sarah H. Mrs. Foster d. March 28, 1860. 

John Copp, b. Sept. 15, 1831; m., and d. at N. Jan. 27, 1860, leaving 
one dau., AUie G., who resided at Wakefield, Mass. 



COPP 11. 

Amos Kimball Copp was b. at Oilman ton Nov. 18, 1833; m., March 
20, 1851, Julia Ann Evans of N. He was a carpenter; served in the 
Civil War, credited to Loudon (see Boys in Blue). They came to N. 
in 1890 and bought the sash and blind shop built by Pease Bros, and 
later the Sanborn Shaw place, where she now resides in feeble health. 
He d. July 16, 1892. They had no children. She had three brothers 
and four brothers-in-law in the army of the Rebellion. 



COPP III. 

Simeon Copp, b. at Gilmanton May 22, 1S15; m. Betsey 0. Currier and 
lived on Drew Hill, where he was a farmer. He d. there. They had 
three children. She removed to N. about 1865 and erected a home on 
Park St., and the children became students at the seminary. They 
were all members of the Methodist Church. She m. (second). Deacon 
George C. Lancaster. (See Lancaster gen.) 

Second Generation, 

Timothy Copp, b. 1847; d. at N. March 31, 1877. 

Carrie May Copp, b. at Gilmanton, 1848; d. at N. July 16, 1870. 

Abbie Copp, b. 1857; d. at N. Jan. 14, 1878'. 



CORLISS. 

GoRRELL Corliss came from Meredith in 1854 to the Osgood place. 
He was b. at Meredith, March 6, 1810; m., Dec. 14, 1834, Mary Smith 
of Meredith, b. Sept. 25, 1815. They had seven children. He m. 
(second), Nov., 1854, Lucy Morrill, b. Dec. 22, 1808. He d. Oct. 27, 
1873. She d. Feb. 12, 1877. 

Second Generation. 

Smith D. Corliss, b. March 16, 1836; d. at Yarmouth, Va. (See Boys 
in Blue.) 
Maky E. Corliss, b. Sept. 26, 1837. 
Charles F. Corliss, b. Oct. 16, 1839; d. in infancy. 
George W. Corliss, b. Feb. 22, 1842. 



GENEALOGIES. 67 

Charles F. Corliss, d., 1861, at Washington, D. C, on his way to the 
seat of war. (See Boys in Blue.) 

Martha J. Corliss, b. Jan. IS, 1S46; date of death unknown. 

Ellen Corliss, b. Feb. 19, 1847; d. Sept., 1888. 

George W. Corliss, b. Feb. .22, 1S42; m. Sarah A., dau. of Ebenezer 
and Urania Dalton Calef. (See Calef gen.) They had three children. 

Third Generation. 

Amos Laroy Corliss, b. Dec. 4, 1872; d. Dec. 2, 1875. 

Arthur Henry Corliss, b. Aug. 8, 1874; in., Dec. 9, 1903, Alice G. 
Shaw of N., b. Jan. 9, 1879. (See Shaw gen.) Mrs. Corliss graduated 
from New Hampton Literary Institute, class of 1895, and was a popu- 
lar teacher until her marriage. Mr. Corliss is a farmer on the home- 
stead of his father at East N., and road commissioner, in 1905. 

Harvey W. Corliss, b. April 18, 1880. 



CORBETT. 

Charles A. Corbett came to N. from Wilton in 1896. He was b. at 
Limerick, Me., Aug. 26, 1845. He m., Jan. 5, 1867, Mary A. Ransom, 
who was b. at Randolph, Mass., June 11, 1846. He was an overseer 
at the Elm Woolen Mills for eight years but later found employment 
at Lakeport, but still resides at N., where they have a fine home on Park 
St. They have two children. 

Second Generation. 

William E. Corbett, b. at East Rochester Dec. 28, 1867; m. Delia 
Conners of Wilton. He is a carder by trade and now resides at East 
Rochester. They have -three children. 

Mary E. Corbett, b. at East Rochester, April 15, 1870; m. Elmer 
L. Cleveland of Newport, Vt. He is a farmer and teamster. They 
reside at Concord. 



CRAWFORD. 



William J. Crawford came to N. in 1887 from Glasgow, Scotland, 
where he was b. in 1866, and m. Letitia G. Miller of Glasgow. They 
had four sons. He was a carpenter and by industry and economy 
secured a home on Park St. They moved to Readville, Mass., in 1902, 
but still retain their property in town. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 
Sammy Crawford, b. 1888. 
William J. Crawford, Jr., b. Dec. 14, 1893. 
Edwin R. Crawford, b. Jan. 19, 1896. 
Robert Cra^vford, b. 1898. . , 



68 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

CROSS I. 

Doubtless all of the name in Merrimack County are descendants of 
Stephen, who came from Newbury, Mass., to "Conteucook" (Boscawen), 
and bought land of Samuel and Elizabeth Emery Jan. 25, 1750. This 
deed is duly recorded on page 325, vol. 39, of the old land records. 

There is a second, dated May 24, 1768, and a third to a mill right in 
Boscawen, and others covering original lots Nos. 1, 9, 10, 16, 15, 174, 
15, 22. He is recorded as a shipwright and a deed, or right, from 
King and Queen, William and Mary, gives him a right to cut trees in 
New England for masts. 

He m. Hannah Guild or Gile and some of their children remained 
in Newbury and Haverhill when they came to N. In 1785 John, 
Thomas, Jesse, were taxed, as were John, Jr., and Thomas, Jr. He 
m. (second), Hannah Marsh and had a son Ephraim (see) and dau. 
Hannah. He and Hannah Gile Cross, it is said, are buried at the 
Williams Cemetery. 

His second wife, and dau. Betsey, after his death, went to reside in 
Northern New Hampshire with her brother. Colonel Johnson. 

His sons, John, Parker, Jesse, Thomas, became the founders of the 
"Cross Settlement," the first business houses in town (see Early 
Business) on the Merrimack intervale. 

Epiiraim, the youngest, was a lifelong resident in N., as was Will- 
iam (see), son of Jesse, who had 13 children. Several of these follow 
in regular genealogical order. 

Thomas and Moses Cross were in the Revolutionary War. John and 
Parker were at Bunker Hill. 

Stephen Cross, for many years a tailor at Sanbornton Bridge, was 
a son of the original Stephen. 

Hannah Cross, youngest dau., m., Nov. 20, 1808, Daniel Mitchell of 
Andover. 

Phebe Cross (perhaps her sister) m. Israel Walker of Boston. 



CROSS 11. 

ABRAH.AM Cross was b. in Salisbury June 11, 1775; m.. Jan. 21, 1800, 
Ruth Sawyer of Canterbury, whose father, Dea. Francis Sawyer, kept 
a ferry two miles below the Ci'oss settlement. He had a family of 20 
children, all but two of whom lived to maturity. He was in the French 
and Revolutionary Wars and had two sons killed in the battle when 
Burgoyne surrendered, and was there himself. Mr. Sawyer d. at 99 
years, 9 months and 27 days, and ran his ferry boat to the last year 
of his life. Mr. Cross resided near Deacon Sawyer for eight years 
then he settled on the Winnipiseogee at what has ever since been 
known as Cross' Mills. He erected a sawmill and small house on the 
Sanbornton side in 1804. The water passed down to it in a canal or 
flume on the north side of the dam which he built. It was several 
rods below the present one. The mill and house were below the pulp 
mill. John Clark owned one half the right. Mr. Cross sold out to 



GENEALOGIES. 69 

Satchwell Clark; lived later in Holderness and d. at N., Sept. 24, 1S53. 
She d. April 15, 1S6S. They had nine children. 

Second Generation. 

Eunice Cross, b. at Canterbury Oct. 2, 1800; m., Oct. 17, 1832, 
Nathan Currier, a farmer of Methuen, where they spent their lives. 
"While on a visit to Tilton she d. of pneumonia Oct. 15, 1874. 

They had two sons, Joseph, who d. at Bloomington, 111., and S. E. 
D. Currier of Roxbury, Mass. 

Jekejiiah Cross. (See portrait and sketch.) 

Hiram Cross, b. at Sanborn ton Sept. 15, 1804; m., Aug. 28, 1832, 
Lydia Robie. He was a carpenter and resided in Plymouth. They 
had one son. Mr. Cross d. at N. Nov. 7, 1874. She lives with her son 
and is past 90 years of age. 

Sarah C. Cross, b. at Salisbury Oct. 23, 1806; m., Oct. 17, 1832, 
Joseph Benson of Kittery, Me. He was employed for many years at 
Colt's armory at Hartford, Conn., and was an inventor of various useful 
appliances as well as a skilful worker in metals. Later he erected a 
home in South Boston, where she d., 1888. He reached extreme age 
and d. at Jamaica Plain 1899. 

LrcixDA Cross, b. Feb. 21, 1809; m., 1836, Rufus Colby, a dealer in 
hats and furs in Boston, Mass. She d. June 21, 1840. 

Judith Maria Cross, b. Sept. 14, 1811; m. (first), Albert Rodliff of 
Lowell, Mass., and had one dau., Isadore Dow of Waterville, Me. She 
m. (second), Silas L. Ashley of West Springfield, Mass., and had a 
dau., Clara Gilbert of Boston. She d. Dec. 10, 1850. 

Clara Cross, b. Feb. 19, 1814; d. at 11 years. 

William Plummer Cross, b. at Sanbornton July 4, 1816; m., Aug. 31, 
1844, Ann Forrest of N., b. Oct. 19, 1823. He studied medicine while 
employed in his brother's sawmill and practised as an old school phy- 
sician in Wisconsin and Chicopee, Mass. Later he studied with Dr. 
Paine of Albany, N. Y., and graduated at the Cleveland, O., Homeo- 
pathic Medical College in 1853. He was in practice many years in 
Nantucket, where he gained wealth and reputation. In 1860 he 
took up his abode in South Boston, where he practised until his 
death in 1888 and where his family now reside. Dr. Cross was a 
Mason and an Odd Fellow and was prominent in the Dorchester St. 
M. E. church and president of its board of trustees. He was in early 
life a military man and was captain in the Thirty-eighth Regiment New 
Hampshire Militia. They have one dau., Dr. Grace E. Cross, who, a 
graduate of Boston University, succeeded to her father's extensive prac- 
tice. Two other children d. in infancy. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Jeremiah and Sarah Lyford Cross.) 
(B. at N.) 
Clara Axn Cross, b. Nov. 25, 1830; m., Dec. 7, 1853, George W. Fitts, 
a carpenter, and resided in Franklin, where both d. He d. Oct. 2, 



70 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

1859. She d. Feb. 11, 1872. They had one son, George W. Fitts, Jr., 
now of Chichester. He has one dau., Clara. 

Oliver Lyfoed Cross, b. Nov. 4, 1831; d. in infancy. 

Oliver Lyford Cross, 2nd., b. June 11, 1836; m., Nov. 16, 1866, Lucy 
R. Hill of N. (See Lawyers of N.) 

Sarah Bexsox Cross, b. Oct. 20, 1839; m., June 30, 1873, James G. 
Jenkins of Eliot, Me. He was a farmer and carpenter at Roekport, 
Mass. He d. at Dover. She resides at Randolph, Mass. 

Daniel J. Cross, b. at N. May 26, 1849, was educated at New Hamp- 
shire Conference Seminary. He was for some years clerk in the 
grocery store of Bond & Winch, South Boston, later buying the busi- 
ness, which he continued until his health failed. He m. Georgianna 
Mace of Napoleonville, La. They had two children, Clarence and Vira, 
both of Boston, Mass. Mr. Cross d. at Revere March 25, 1899. 

Mrs. Cross m. (second), Dea. John Hood of South Boston, Mass. 

(Child of Hiram and Lydia Robie Cross.) 
Hiram Bliss Cross, b. July 9, 1833, read medicine at Harvard Med- 
ical School and Homeopathic Medical College, Cleveland, 0., grad- 
uating in 1866. He practised five years at South Boston and since 
1871 at Jamaica Plain, Mass. His skillful and gentle ministrations in 
the sick room have endeared him to a large class of patrons. He has 
been twice m. (first), to Hattie McKenzie, who d. Oct. 16, 1859; (sec- 
ond), to Emily L. Haskins of Concord, June 20, 1871. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Oliver and Lucy Hill Cross.) 

ARTHUR BENSON CROSS. 

Arthur B. Cross, b. at Montgomery City, Mo., May 31, 1868; m., Sept. 
12, 1895, Nellie E. Searles, b. at Andover, Dec. 20, 1866. He learned 
the printer's trade with the Republican Press Association of Concord, 
N. H., followed by three years in charge of their stereotyping depart- 
ment. In 1892, he was sent by the firm to St. Louis to secure appara- 
tus for a photo-engraving plant and to learn the business, since which 
time until his death, Jan. 22, 1905, he was in charge of the art depart- 
ment of the Rumford Printing Co. His biographer says: "Through all 
his years of study, toil and advancement he never rendered any other 
service than the very best his body and mind were capable of. His 
mind was keenly scientific in its bent and although self-educated be- 
yond the point where his studies at Tilton Seminary had terminated, 
few persons of collegiate training were better informed than he upon 
the branches of chemistry and physics, of which he was most fond. 
He grasped intuitively many phases of science which are unfolded to 
most minds only after long and careful research. 

"One had never to apologize for him or make excuses for him because 
of habits, tastes or traits. It was natural for him to be manly and 
true and these qualifications in others were the foundations upon which 
he liked to build his friendships. He was particularly interested in all 
movements that applied the great truths of the gospel. 



GENEALOGIES. 71 

"Besides being an earnest membei' of the Congregational Church and 
serving its Sunday School as its superintendent for several years, he 
was a loyal Christian Bndeavorer, and for a term the state president. 
He was also a working member of the Y. M. C. A., serving all with the 
same devotion and cheerful service that characterized his short but 
intensely useful life." 

ROBERT LEE CROSS. 

RoBEKT Lee Cross was b. at Montgomery City, Mo., Jan. 26, 1872. He 
spent his boyhood in the home at Northfield Depot and attended the 
public schools and Tilton Seminary. He learned the printer's trade at 
Tilton and Concord and excelled in artistic work; later, was connected 
with both the Republican and Democratic Press associations of Con- 
cord, which place was his home after 1SS9. He was business manager 
of the Merrimack Journal of Franklin in 1892. He held various posi- 
tions in social and religious organizations. As a member of the South 
Congregational Church and leader in the Society of Christian Endeavor, 
he was ever on duty and these labors occupied a large share of his 
thought and attention. 

Companionable and friendly, steadfast and sincere, his character had 
Impressed itself in helpful, uplifting ways on all about him. He gave 
no half-hearted service to anything he undertook. Though hardly at- 
taining his majority, he had accomplished more than most could do in 
a much longer life. Uniformly cheerful, his joyful service attested the 
genuineness of the motives that governed his life. He passed to the 
higher life with hardly a moment's warning, Aug. 24, 1893. 

Evelyn Montgomery Cross, b. at N. Jan. 6, 1875, graduated from the 
Concord High School in 1894 and taught two years following. In 1896 
she took a two years' course of normal kindergarten work and was 
kindergartner in the Boston Summer School, later conducting private 
classes at Concord. She m. Charles J. Van Cor of Boston, Sept. 19, 
1902. They reside at Somerville, Mass. 



CROSS III. 

Ephraim Cross was the son of Stephen and Hannah Marsh Cross. 
He was b. on the Intervale about 1785 and m. Sally Keniston and 
resided on a third of her father's homestead, the latter dividing his 
estate among his three daughters, who were settled almost within 
sight of each other and the home (see Keniston gen.) on the Leighton 
road, now called High St. 

Mr. Cross was a farmer and had four dau. and twin sons, who d. in 
Infancy. He d. Sept. 21, 1849. She d. 31 years later while at her 
daughter's in "Warner on a visit. 

Second Generation. 

Betsey Cross remained in the home. She m. Josiah Colby of San- 
bornton when both were nearly 70 years old. He came to live at her 
home and d. there at 90. She m. (second), Hiram Gould of Franklin. 
She d. at 89. 



72 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Harriet Cross m., Dec. 24, 1849, Rufiis Page of Warner, where botb 
d. They had four dau., Mrs. Addie Bly of Bradford, Malinda Roby, 
Sarah Peck and Mrs. Emma Gage, the three last of Warner. 

Mart Cross m., Nov. 22, 1846, Henry Johnson of Warner. She cared 
for her mother in her extreme age. 

Naxcy Cross m., 1818, David Davis of Warner. 



CROSS IV. 

William Cross, b. at N. March 29, 1790; m., Feb. 11, 1811, Ruth, 
dau. of David Keniston, b. Nov. 7, 1792. They spent their whole lives 
on the farm near the Ledges and there reared a family of 11 chil- 
dren. He d. Feb. 6, 1879. She d. Jan. 15, 1888. It is said that he 
never missed the annual town meeting. 

Second Generation. 

Jane Cross, b. July 31, 1811; m. Joseph Locke of Sanbornton. They 
moved to Minnesota after a few years at Boscawen. They had six 
children, three of whom d. in childhood. After the death of Mr. 
Locke she returned to her home, where she d. Sept., 1878. 

Sally Cross, b. March 18, 1813; d., March 3, 1837. 

Statira Cross, b. May 9, 1815; m., Aug. 31, 1846, Frederick Collins 
of Goffstown. Mrs. Collins d. at N. March, 1897. 

Fidelia Cross, b. Oct. 3, 1817; m., March 9, 1840, Franklin Burnham 
of Concord. They had two dau., Clara, wife of Dr. Warren Gordon 
of Ogunquit, Me., and Mrs. Mary Knowles of Northwood, neither of 
whom survive. Mr. Burnham still resides at Concord at 95 years of 
age. 

Betsey Cross, b. Dec. 13, 1819; m., Sept. 28, 1846, William Roby of 
Merrimack. (See Roby gen.) 

Martha Cross, b. March 25, 1822, was a tailoress, going from house 
to house for many years. She later resided with her sister in Clarks- 
ville, where she d. in 1881. 

Charles C. Cross, b. March 15, 1824; m. (pub.), Aug. 20, 1853, Re- 
becca Wyatt of Franklin and had a son and dau. He resided on or 
near the home farm and for some years manufactured brick from a 
clay bank on the premises. 

William K. Cross, b. Oct. 29, 1826, and d. at 11 years. 

Hiram H. Cross, b. Jan. 22, 1829; m., Nov. 6, 1856, Mrs. Sally Presby, 
b. at N. April 18, 1827. He went to California in 1851, returning after 
two years. He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and has 
since farmed extensively in N. and Andover. He has been a famous 
builder of "stone-wall" for F. B. Shedd and elsewhere. They have 
four children. 

Ruth Cross, b. May 4, 1832; m. Edmund Young of Clarksville and 
had four children. She d. in 1893. He d. in 1872. A son, Willis, and 
dau., Martha, reside in West Stewartstown. 

Clarissa Cross, b. Aug. 31, 1836; d. at two years. 



GENEALOGIES. 



73 



Third Generation. 

(Children of Charles C. and Rebecca Wyatt Cross.) 
(B. at N.) 

Edwakd Wyatt Cross, b. Aug. 22, 1857; m., Oct. 1, 1889, Annie 
Stewart of Danbury. Mr. Cross bought the Joseph Cofran place, 
where they reside. They have three sons, Walter Edward, b. 1890; 
Clarence Vivian, b. 1893; Merton Stewart, b. 1896. 

Mary W. Cross, b. 1884, graduated at Bates College, Lewiston, Me., 
and is now a teacher at Plymouth, Mass., where her mother resides. 

(Children of Hiram and Sally Presby Cross.) 
(B. at N.) 

Emily Jane Cross, b. Aug. 12, 1857; m., 1875, Fred Aiken of Franklin 
Falls and had two children. She m. (second), Peter Kroger. 

WiLLiAii Frederic Cross, b. May 23, 1859; m. Wiggin of San- 

bornton. They reside in Lowell, Mass. 

GEO Jerome Cross, b. Dec. 20, 1861; m., Oct. 6, 1899, Maud Emerson. 
He resides with his parents on the farm and has one child. 

Ruth Abbie Cross, b. May 24, 1867; m., Nov. 1, 1890, Frank C. Fol- 
som, a painter and paperhanger. They reside on Park St. 



CROSS V. 



Jonathan Cross, b. at Canterbury; m. Betsey, dau. of John Forrest, 
and lived on and owned the homestead, which they sold to Mr. Leighton 
in 1817. He had one son and perhaps other children. 

Second Generation. 

Jonathan Forrest Cross, b. ISOO; m. Betsey Douglass and had eight 
children. They resided on the main road, where he was a farmer. 
He d. June, 1848. 

Third Generation. 
(B. at N.) 

DiANTHA Cross m. Jonathan Smith and went to Groton, where they 
resided many years. 

Joseph M. Cross, b. 1826; m., 1849, Clarissa Moore of N. and resided 
on the Bean Hill road. They had 10 children. He was a farmer on 
the Rogers homestead, where he d., March 9, 1901. She d. June 12, 
1877. 

Jefferson Cross went West and m. a woman of Scotch parentage and 
had 10 children. 

John Cross m., 1853, Adaline Riley of East N., where she was b. 
1834. She d. June 22, 1858. He is buried with the Riley family. 



74 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Alonzo Cross m., Feb. 19, 1S62, Mrs. John Cross, his sister-in-law. 
She d. and he remarried and resides at Groton. He has one son, Lester. 

Alice Cross, b. 1S30; m., 1S50, Benjamin Collins. (See Collins gen.) 

Sarah Cross was drowned in the Merrimack River Aug., 1846. 

William Henry Cross m. Harriet Prescott of Franklin, b. Nov. 19, 
1845, and had one dau., Ella M., b. Dec. 31, 1866, who m. Dana Wood- 
ward and resides at Franklin Falls. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Joseph and Clara Moore Cross.) 
(B. at N.) 

Fraxk Cross, b. Dec. 4, 1850; m., Jan. 15, 1880, Ellen Fogerty of 
Boston. He is a general farmer and resides on Oak St. 

Clara Cross, b. 1853; d., May 4, 1860. 

Sarah Cross, b. 1855; m. Frank Corser of Webster, where they re- 
side and Mr. Corser has employment in a sawmill. 

Albert Cross, b. 1857, resides on the home place on the Bean Hill 
road. 

Feed H. Cross, b. Dec. 6, 1859; m., Jan. 22, 1890, Ida M. Downing, 
b. at Lakeport, 1873. He is a coarse stone worker and resides on 
Arch St. They have two sons. 

Warrex Cross, b. 1862; d., Nov. 10, 1867. 

Maria Cross, d. Feb. 20, 1865, aged three days. 

Flora M. Cross, b. 1867; m. (first), Nov. 3, 1883, Porter M. Hay- 
ward. (See Hay ward gen.) They had two children. She m. (second), 
Jan. 10, 1899, Albert A. Carr of Gilmanton. He is a farmer and they 
reside on the Joseph Smith farm on the Bean Hill road. 

Charles Cross, b. 1869, resides at Webster. 

Walter B. Cross, b. 1872; m., March 19, 1892, Abbie B. Chase of 
Webster, b. 1875. He resides in the home with his brother and has 
two children. 

Fifth generation. 

(Children of Fred H. and Ida M. Downing Cross. 

Earl F. Cross, b. Sept. 4, 1892. 
Lawrence R. Cross, b. March 30, 1894. 

(Children of Walter B. and Abbie B. Chase Cross.) 

Frank Cross, b. Feb. 8, 1893. 

Ruby Cross, b. at Webster Sept., 1895. 



CUNNINGHAM. 



ARTnim F. Cunningham was b. March 11, 1855, at Hogansburg, N. 
Y. He m., Sept. 1, 1886, Amelia Richards, b. April 11, 1854, at 
Helena, N. Y., and had three children. 




HANNAH TIBBETTS CURRY. 



GENEALOGIES. 75 

He was an ice dealer in Boston for 10 years and continued the 
same business at N. in 1S91. He is a police officer. 

Second Generation. 

Arthur Austin CuxxiNGHAii and Julia Alice Cuniv'ixgham, twins, 
b. at Charlestown, Mass., April 10, 1889, are both, members of the 
Sophomore class of Tilton Seminary. 

Raymond A. Cunxixghaji, b. at N. Nov. 3, 1892. 



CURRY. 

Robert Curry was b. in Canterbury April 30, 1757. He was the son 
of William Curi'y of Londonderry, who came from the north of Ireland 
and m. Nancy McFarland. Robert m. Olive Heath, b. in Canterbury 
Feb. 7, 1771. They were farmers near the Gilmanton line. He d. 
there Jan. 20, 1S29. She d. Aug. 24, 1855. They had nine children. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 

Nancy Curry, b. June 2, 1796; d. at Franklin, July 29, 1860. 

John Curry, b. 1798; m. (first), Dec. 22, 1822, Betsey Clough of N. 
and was a farmer at "Tin Corner." She d. June 12, 1856. He m. 
(second), Aug. 25, 1857, Mrs. Sarah Plummer Goodrich of N., and later 
returned to N. and resided on Bay St. while erecting the home on 
School St., Tilton, where he d. She still resides in the home at an ad- 
vanced age. 

He represented Sanbornton in the Legislature in 1S40--'41 and was 
one of its selectmen for two terms. He had three children. 

Benjamin Curry, b. Jan. 30, 1800; m. Hannah Tibbetts, b. at N., Feb. 
27, 1809. He remained on his father's homestead where their 10 chil- 
dren were b. Mr. Curry d. June 22, 1852. She removed to the At- 
kinson house at Tilton four years later, which was destroyed by fire in 
1875. She rebuilt in 1876 and d. there Dec. 4, 1898. Her sweet cor- 
diality made her home a social center and "her children rise up and 
eall her blessed." (See portrait.) 

Susan Curry, b. at N. April 20, 1802; m., May, 1848, Daniel Burleigh 
of Sanbornton as his fourth wife. He d. Nov. 2, 1855. She survived 
many years and d. Dec. 23, 1885. 

Samuel Curry, b. April 10, 1804, was a physician at Alton but re- 
turned home in failing health and d. Feb. 9, 1829. 

Joseph Batchelder Curry was b. at N. March 10, 1807. He taught 
for many years in Rhode Island and later m. Joanna Sheldon and 
became a farmer in 1877 at Edmundston, N. Y. He had four children; 
two sons d. in childhood. 

William McFarland Curry, b. at N. Jan. 29, 1810, was a teacher in 
Ohio, where he contracted fever and ague, which terminated in con- 
sumption, of which he d. June 19, 1833. 



76 * HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

' Olive Curry, b. Dec. 6, 1811; m. George S. Tibbetts of N. She d. 
Oct. 19, 1872. They had five children, two of whom d. in childhood. 
(See Tibbetts gen.) 

Thomas Curry, b. June 17, 1815, resided first in Lowell and after- 
wards in Westford, Mass. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Benjamin and Hannah Tibbetts Curry.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Maby Elizabeth Curry, b. Dec. 26, 1829; m.. May 3, 1853, David 
Larue Clifford, a shoemaker and teamster at Tilton, where she d. 
Jan. 2, 1892. He d. at Franklin Sept. 10, 1896. They had two dau., 
Mrs. Helen Davis of Tilton and Mrs. Georgia Stone of Whitman, Mass. 

John Williams Curry, b. Sept. 12, 1832. He went to California in. 
1853, where he d. March 8, 1857. 

Olive Augusta Curry, b. Sept. 7, 1834; d., Nov. 18, 1846. 

Frances Susan Curry, b. May 31, 1836; m., Dec. 1, 1858, Dr. George 
Ezra Spencer of Belmont, who d. at Hanover Jan. 6, 1866. She was 
educated at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and taught be- 
fore her marriage and after his death. She remained in the home 
until her mother's death and now resides in Tilton. She has traveled 
abroad and is prominent in church, social and club circles, being the 
first president of the Northfield and Tilton Woman's Club. 

Sophia Tibbetts Curry, b. March 27, 1838; m., Aug. 27, 1860, Charles 
C. Rogers, a lawyer of Sanbornton Bridge. (See Rogers gen.) She 
was a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference Female College and 
a popular teacher. They had five sons, two of whom were buried the 
same day, Feb. 28, 1873. Mrs. Rogers was a faithful friend, an ideal 
mother and a devoted Christian woman. She d. at Tilton Nov. 26, 1896. 

Georgianna Bradley Curry and Josephine Bradbury Curry, b. June 
27, 1841. The former d. in early womanhood, March 22, 1861. 

Josephine Bradbury Curry m., June 3, 1868, Joseph Board of Ches- 
ter, N. Y. She was a graduate of the New Hampshire Conference 
Female College, class of 1860. She was a teacher at Santiago, Cuba, 
and Chester, N. Y., where she d. March, 1869. She had one child, who' 
d. in infancy. 

Annette Carroll Curry and Arabella Clough Curry, b. Aug. 11, 
1845. 

Annette m. (first), Samuel B Noyes of Meredith, March 15, 1866. 
He d. in Tilton Jan. 15, 1870, leaving one son, Harry L. Noyes, a grad- 
uate of the Boston, Mass., School of Technology, and now at Niagara 
Falls in the employ of the American Carbide Co. He removes soon, 
to Chicago, 111. 

She m. (second), Clinton S. Mason of Tamworth. They reside in 
Boone, la., where he has been a merchant for many years. They have 
two dau. and a son. Frances Mason was a graduate of Tilton Seminary, 
taking a post-graduate course at Wellesley and Pratt Institute, Brook- 
lyn, N. Y. Katherine S. Mason graduated at Lasalle Female Seminary 



GENEALOGIES. 77 

and m. Harold J. Coupland, a civil engineer, who was accidentally 
killed in 1902 at Alabama, where he was surveying a railroad route. 
She m. (second), June 27, 1905, Prof. Fernald of Columbia University, 
St. Louis, Mo. Howard C. Mason was a student at Harvard Law 
School and is now in business in Boston. 

Arabella C. Curry m., July 12, 1865, Enoch George Rogers, b. at 
Columbia Dec. 16, 1830. Mr. and Mrs. Rogers are prominent in local 
and state granges. He was for five years Master and both are seventh 
degree members. He was for some years engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits and the manufacture of starch. They were both teachers in 
early life. They have traveled extensively and spent several winters 
in California. 

Hanxah Augusta Curry, b. July 15, 1848, was a graduate of the New 
Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1867. She m., Nov. 3, 
1870, Joseph Board of Chester, N. Y., her brother-in-law. They still 
reside there and had a family of five, but three of whom survive. 
(Children of John and Betsey Clough Curry.) 

Electa A. Curry, b. Oct. 17, 1823; m. (first), Sept., 1840, Perkins 
Connor of Sanbornton Bridge, where he was a merchant tailor and 
where he d. Oct. 2, 1841. She m. (second), March 2, 1843, Rufus G. 
L. Bartlett, also a tailor of Sanbornton Bridge. They had three chil- 
dren. He d. Jan. 23, 1871. She d. May 2, 1866. 

Thomas Clough Curry, b. in N. June 2, 1827. He was the second 
postmaster in the Tilton and Northfield office, being appointed Jan. 20, 
1841. He d. at the home of his sister at Sanbornton Dec. 3, 1872. 

Mary Jane Curry, b. in Sanbornton Nov. 20, 1830; m., Jan. 4, 1856, 
Thomas Warren Taylor of Sanbornton "Square," b. July 7, 1824. Both 
d. there. He was a prosperous farmer and made a specialty of Here- 
ford stock. 



DALTON. 

Samuel Daltox was b. July 29, 1757, in Londonderry. His father, 
John, came from the north of Ireland. 

Samuel was a Revolutionary soldier four years and two months. 
He was only 16 at his first enlistment. 

He returned home and, having blistered his hands chopping wood, 
concluded that a soldier's life was more agreeable and re-enlisted for 
four years more. 

About 1793 he settled as a farmer in N. His lirst wife was Polly 
Merrick of Hampstead. She d. July 18, 1820, leaving 11 children. 
He m. (second), Rachel Gile Wadleigh and had a son and dau. He 
d. in Upper Gilmanton Jan., 1837. 

Second Generation. 

Joseph Merrick Dalton, b. Jan. 3, 1794, was a stone worker at San- 
"bornton Bridge. He m. Nov., 1821, Statira Smith. He d. there July 
3, 1838. She d. Aug. 31, 1860. They had six children. 



78 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Caleb Stevens Dalton, b. June 12, 1796. He was a blacksmith at 
Stewartstown, where he m. Lucette Chandler. He d. April, 1849, 
leaving seven children. 

Samuel Dalton, Jk., b. Feb. 17, 1799, removed to Gilmanton, where 
he was a farmer and where he d. in 1S35. He m. Mary Lyford. They 
had no children. 

AB.S0L0M Dalton, b. July 31, 1802; m., Dec. 11, 1828, Harriet B. 
Aldrich. He was a stone cutter in many of the largest quarries in 
New England. He resided a while in Sanbornton. After 15 years he 
returned to N. and was a farmer for 30 years until his death, Oct. 22, 
1885. She d. June 11, 1873. They had seven children. 

Maky Dalton, b. Jan. 22, 1804; m., 1S62, Porter of Danvers, 

Mass., a tanner. 

John Dalton, b. Aug. 13, 1806; m., Oct. 16, 1832, Narcissa Jane 
Nudd and lived in Sanbornton. He was a stone cutter and was a cap- 
tain in the militia. He served also in the War of the Rebellion (See 
Boys in Blue), Co. D, Twelfth Regiment. They had three children. He 
d. Dec. 9, 1865. 

Joshua Little Dalton, b. April 19, 1809; m. Mary Evans and re- 
moved to Belmont. They had three sons. 

Raxso-M Smith Dalton, b. Dec. 1, 1811; d., 1819. 

Elbkidge Gerry Dalton, b. May 30, 1814, was three times m., first to 
Fannie Gordon of New Hampton, Aug. 21, 1839. She d. 1856 and he m. 
(second), Oct. 18, 1857, Sarah Elizabeth Ambler. She d. Dec. 11, 1858. 
He m. (third), Aug. 2, 1861. He had six children. 

He was a scholar and teacher at Exeter High School and Chester, 
Pa. Later he was a student and professor in a medical school at 
Philadelphia, Pa., and still later was a practicing physician in Cin- 
cinnati, 0. 

William Henry Harrison Dalton, b. Sept. 2, 1816; m. Nancy Lougee 
Carr, dau. of Hazen Carr, and resided in Belmont, where he d. Oct. 
27, 1870. 

Sarah A. Dalton, b. Nov. 24, 1826, was the second wife of Benja- 
min D. Cilley of Kingston, where she d. in 1859. They had two chil- 
dren. 

Lorenzo Dow Dalton, b. Feb. 4, 1S2S; d., Oct. 16, 1847. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Absolom and Harriet Aldrich Dalton.) 

Henry Quimby Dalton, b. Dec. 20, 1829; m., Dec. 9, 1850, Mrs. 
Sarah L. Weston and conducted a fine summer hotel at East Tilton. 
He d. Feb. 19, 1903, leaving one dau. 

Ransom Smith Dalton, b. Oct. 31, 1831; d., Dec. 8, 1879. 

Urania Dalton, b. Dec. 18, 1833; m., April 16, 1853, Ebenezer B. 
Calef of N., a farmer on the paternal acres. She d. June 11, 1905. (See 
Calef gen.) 

Samuel Dalton, b. Dec. 28, 1836; d., Feb. 18, 1837. 



GENEALOGIES. 79 

Mary A. Dajlton, b. Jan. 13, 1840; d., March 24, 1866. 

Jacob P. D.^ton, b. July 10, 1843; d., July 19, 1844. 

George Washington Dalton, b. April 20, 1847, lived on the home- 
stead. He m., July 24, 1870, Nellie Prescott of Belmont. He m. 
(second), 1S73, Mary Jane Stewart of Warren. He d. Nov. 3, 1873. 



DANFORTH I. 



Moses Danforth came from Sanbornton and m. Mehitable Stevens 
of N. He had served in the Revolutionary War and was a good 
fighter. He was a source of annoyance wherever he appeared and the 
town at one annual meeting voted that if he did harm to any one, 
such person should have the privilege of whipping him to his heart's 
content. He had seven children. The date of his death is not on 
record but is well remembered as the occasion of great excitement on 
account of the stealing of his remains by medical students, of which 
the court records by Judge Wadleigh are still in the possession of 
his granddaughter. He was an ox teamster and was never seen 
without his goad. 

Second Generation. 

MosES Danforth m. Apphia Blanchard and resided at Cross' Mills. 
They had one son. She d. Dec. 20, 1863. He probably d. at East Con- 
cord, as he lived there in 1878. 

Phixeas Danforth removed to Canterbury. 

EzEKiEL Danforth was a valuable farm hand. He m. Mary Ann 
Twombly of Gilmanton and had a large family, several of whom had 
an impediment in their speech, as did the mother. They removed to 
Belmont. 

Eliza Danforth m. John Danforth, a farmer and teamster of N. 
They removed to Concord. He d. there 1S66 and she in 1868. 

Third Generation. 

(Son of Moses and Apphia Danforth.) 

Ja:\ies Danforth, b. at N.; m. Lucretia Austin of N. and had two 
sons Oliver and Weston. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in 
Blue.) 



DANFORTH II. 



Henry Danforth, brother of Moses (first), was, when 17 years of age 
in 1780, with the New Hampshire state troops. He had been with 
Whitcomb's Rangers and seen desperate service. He m. Betsey Han- 
cock of N. and lived at Factory Village. He d. Feb. 21, 1830. She d. 
Oct. 24, 1854. He always claimed he carried a bullet in his shoulder, 
received in battle, and at her burial he was disinterred and the mis- 



•80 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

sile found lodged in his collar bone. His brother, Ezekiel 1st, was 
with him and fell at Bemis Heights. His widow, a pensioner, lived 
to be 100 years of age, and d. at Plymouth. 

Mehitable, dau. of Henry, b. Nov. 20, 1804; m. Jonathan Kezar, a 
cooper of Factory Village, afterwards a noted builder of stone wall. 
(See Kezar gen.) They had 11 children. 

Note. Others of the name often were residents of the town, viz. 
Jane, Susan and Nancy. 



DAVIS L 



Jonathan Davis, b. Sept. 17, 1773; m. Marian , b. Jan. 10, 

1780. He was a shoemaker and had a shop (and house perhaps) just 
opposite the Hodgdon burying yard, fully a century ago. It is said 
they had 16 children. He d. at North Benton Feb. 27, 1843. She d. at 
Andover May 6, 1S2S. 

Second Generation. 

Nathan B. Davis, b. Oct. 18, 1798. He d. at East Haverhill Jan. 8, 
1864. 

Maey Fox Davis, b. Jan. 25, 1801; m., March 21, 1824. Moses Batch- 
elder of N. (See Batchelder gen.) 

Sally B. Davis, b. Feb. 26, 1810; m., Jan. 6, 1869, Moses Batchelder 
(the above), her deceased sister'^ husband. (See Batchelder gen.) 

Irene Davis, b. Sept. 14, 1821; m., March 5, 1842, David Phelps of 
N. (See Phelps gen.) 

David Davis, b. Oct. 18, 1814; m., June 18, 1842, Mary B. Phelps. 
He was a farmer on the bank of the Merrimack River and d. there 
Nov. 21, 1878. The locality is now called "Pocketville." They had 
two sons and three dau., two of whom d. in childhood. She d. at 
Park St., N., Feb. 28, 1901. 

Note. Other data concerning this family will be found in Supple- 
ment. 

Third Generation. 

Charles Davis, b. Dec. 15, 1842; m. Martha Yeaton of Lakeport and 
had a dau., Edna, who m. Myron Clay of Tilton and d. there 1903, and 
Frank M., who m. Eva Reed and resides in Tilton. He m. (second), 
Mrs. Alice Messer Webber. They reside in Tilton. 

George E. Davis, b. Nov. 2, 1849; m. Mary Randall of Canterbury 
and had six children, two of whom d. in infancy and two of whom 
reside in N. 

Sarah E. Davis, b. Oct. 20, 1856; m., Oct. 20, 1880, John Senter. 
(See Senter gen.) 



DAVIS II. 

Moses Davis, b. at Loudon, 1796, was the son of Jonathan and Han- 
nah Gerrish Davis. He was a Revolutionary pensioner and d. at 84. 



GENEALOGIES. 81 

Captatx Moses, b. Feb. 20, 1797, came to Oak Hill in 1S40. His wife 
was Polly Ingalls of Canterbury, b. 1807, and d. Sept. 3, 1890. 

The brook draining Sondogard pond was called Cohas, Cross and 
Philips in succession. This, as it descended to the Merrimack, fur- 
nished power for a sawmill erected close by the road (the Cross mills 
and shops were below) very early in the life of the town, which had 
either fallen into decay or been destroyed by fire. Mr. Davis built a 
hew one, which was raised July 4, 1840, and furnished a long-remem- 
bered holiday, with plenty of liquid nourishment, as was the custom 
of the times. He was a millwright and carpenter and the mechanism 
was so perfect that his daughter often used to take his place as saw- 
yer. His flowage rights covered the time from Sept. 20 to May 20 of 
each year. This right, together with the mill, he sold in 1855 to Sam- 
uel Haines and Thomas Piper and removed to Concord. 

But two of his seven children were born in N. 

Second Generation. 

Theodore Geertsh Davis, b. in Canterbury in 1829; m. Apphia Maria 
Bartlett of N., b. 1831. She was the only surviving child of Nathan 
Bartlett and inherited the home. Twin sons were b. there. After 
her death. May 31, 1879, the sons removed to Concord and Mr. Davis 
to Tilton. He now resides at Franklin. 

Arthur L. Davis, b. at Loudon, 1830, is a noted architect, builder and 
contractor in all parts of the country, with headquarters at Laconia. 
He m. (first), Lucy Smith and had a dau., Clara. He m. (second), 
Susan Smith of N., and (third), Jennie Collins of Gilford. 

Frances Aman^da Davis, b. at Loudon April 29, 1833; m., 1852, 
William Keniston of N. (See Keniston gen.) and had five sons. 

Martin Van Buren Davis, b. at Loudon Sept., 1836, is now a ma- 
chinist of Concord. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in 
Blue.) He m. (first), Sarah Wilson of Pembroke, and m. (second), 
Mrs. Lucy Bernard Gile of Meriden. 

Mart A. Davis, b. at Canterbury July 4, 1839; m. (first), George 
Thompson of Lowell; (second), William H. Colburn of Nashua, 
where she now resides. 

Warrex a. Davis, b. at N. July 7, 1844; m. Annie Jones and resided 
for many years in Concord. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys 
in Blue.) He is now an inmate of the Soldiers' Home, Tilton. He 
has three children in Concord, Fannie, Vallie, Henry K. 

Walter Davis, b. at N. Sept. 6, 1856; m. Ella Plastridge of Concord. 
He is a machinist, carpenter and stone cutter at Concord and, now, 
engineer for the New England Granite Works. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Theodore G. and Apphia Bartlett Davis.) 

Lauren G. T. Davis, b. at N. Jan. 12, 1858; m., July 22, 1882, Lellan 
M. L. Dow (See Dow gen.) of N. They reside at Concord, where he is 
6 



82 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

messenger for the B. & M. R. R. They have a son, Allan, and a dau., 
Mary Lake Davis. The former m. May 9, 1904, Bertha Waddell of 
Haverhill. 

Lyman B. W. Davis, twin brother of above, m., March, 1887, Lena 
Tilton of Franklin, where he resides. He is a machinist at the needle 
shop. They have one dau., Florence. 

Two sisters, Helen 1st and 2d, d. in infancy. 



DAVIS III. 



George E. Davis purchased the Joseph Kimball place on Bean Hill 
in April, 18G8. He was b. at Acworth April 30, 1839. He m. (first), 
March 5, 1868, Hester A. R. Simonds of N. (See Simonds gen.) 
After her death, June 8, 1885, he m. his brother's widow, Mrs. Ella 
Eaton Davis of Franklin Falls, Feb. 9, 1886. Mr. Davis is a busy up- 
to-date farmer. They have one child. Mrs. Davis had one dau. by 
her previous marriage. 

Second Generation. 
(Dau. of William and Ella Eaton Davis.) 

LiLLA E. Davis, b. at Franklin Falls, Oct. 11, 1877; m., March 16, 
1898, Albert E. Moorhouse of Tilton and resides at the home. They 
have two dau., Blanche, b. 1899, and Doris, b. 1903. 

(Child of George and Ella Eaton Davis.) 

NiXA G. Davis, b. Feb. 6, 1888; m., March 9, 1904, Albert B. Shaw, 
b. 1878. They have recently purchased the Robert Smith farm on 
the bank of the Merrimack. (See Shaw gen.) 



DAWSON. 

Joseph Dawsox was b. at Meltham, Yorkshire, Eng., in 1800. He m. 
and had 11 children. After several visits to America, in 1857 Mr. 
Dawson brought his family, which consisted of three sons and two 
dau., to N. He d. Aug. 16, 1860, and is buried at Park Cemetery in 
Tilton. His family removed in 1865 to Liberty, Mo. 

Second Generation. 

Sarah Axx Dawsox, b. at Meltham, Eng.; m., 1843, James Earnshaw. 
(See Earnshaw gen.) 

Grace Dawsox, now Mrs. Grace Turpin, resides at Liberty, Mo. 

Eliza Dawsox. 

Bexjamix Dawsox came to N. with his father, m. and had several 
children. Barlow, Tirzah Ann, Lester and Kay. One child d. Oct. 17, 
1861, aged one year. 

George Dawsox, b. at Meltham, Eng., April 18, 1836; m., Feb. 25, 
1858, Sarah C. Buswell, b. Oct. 15, 1839. He was in the Civil War 



GENEALOGIES. 83 

(See Boys in Blue) and later was a railroad employee at Lathrop, Mo. 
They had four children, Mary Hannah, Joseph A., Georgia and William. 

James Dawsox. 

Frank Dawson, d. Dec. 9, 1874. 



DEARBORN. 

Shubael Dearborn, cordwainer, son of Cornet Jonathan, b., 1719; 
m., March 25, 1750, Sarah, dau. of James Fogg of Hampton, b. 1731. 
They lived on what was called the Coffin place in Hampton until 1770, 
when they moved to the north fields of Canterbury. Eight of his chil- 
dren were born in Hampton and one in N. He bought the farm where 
his nephew, Edmund Dearborn, afterwai'd lived, for his homestead, 
with broad acres to the north and west. He also owned land on and 
around Bay St. in 1793, which he sold to Joseph Hancock for three 
pounds. He was a soldier in King George's War and went under Sir 
William Pepperell and was one of the 3,000 men in the expedition to 
Louisburg. At the close of the war he returned home, bringing with 
him a French musket which he said he "gobbled up" at Louisburg and 
used until the war was over. 

Second Generation. 

Nathaniel Dearborn, b. March 24, 1751; m. Hannah Godfrey of 
Hampton and had six children. They came to the north fields some 
years later and settled near his father. He d. in 181S. 

Shubael Dearborn, Jr., b. July 12, 1753; m., 1779, Ruth Leavitt of 
Hampton, fixing the fact, perhaps, that the Leavitts came from the 
same place. They were m. in homespun and began housekeeping in a 
house with but a single pane of glass. A few years later he built a 
new house, drawing all the materials, save frame boards and shingles, 
from Portsmouth with an ox team. They had two sons. Mr. Deai'- 
born was 22 years old when the Revolutionary War broke out. His 
father, too old to go, brought his French musket, bright and in good 
order, and, putting it into his hands, told him to use it for his 
country and, should he live to return, to bring it back in good order. 
The son obeyed; went through the war and brought back the musket 
good as new. It later went into the service in 1812 in the hands of 
Benjamin Glines, the father of Mrs. Shubael Dearborn. (See Glines 
gen.) The gun came back and is now in the possession of Shubael 
Dearborn of Concord, IGO years after its capture. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dearborn lived to a ripe old age. He d. Feb. 19, 1802. 
She d. April 19, 1854. 

John Dearborn, b. Oct. 31, 1755; m., Aug. 26, 1799, Mary (Polly) 
Kezar, b. 1760, and had a family of eight children. They built a 
house similar to those of his brothers, in 1793, on adjoining land and 
these were the finest residences in town. He d. Jan. 10, 1S17, and his 
wife soon after 



84 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Elizabeth (Betsey) Deakborn, b. Oct. 16, 1758; m. David Kenis- 
ton of N. (See Keniston gen.) and had a son and four dau. She d. 
1832. 

Abraham Dearborn, b. May 24, 1761; m. Polly Sanborn and removed 
to Wheelock, Vt., about 1783. He sold three lots of land to Phineas 
Fletcher, viz., one half of 100-acre lot 191. Lot 12 and one half acre 
he bought of his brother Jonathan on Dearborn road. The deeds are 
dated 1809. He d. 1816. Mrs. Fletcher was the dau. of Josiah Miles. 
Mr. Fletcher was at Yorktown when Burgoyne surrendered. 

Jo:n*athan Dearborn, b. Oct. 26, 1763; m. Mary Hodgdon, b. Aug. 
19, 1764. They had four children and lived on the homestead, though 
he inherited only one half acre of it, which he sold to his brother 
Abraham. He d. June 7, 1818. She d. May 6, 1816. 

Mercy De.\rborn, b. April 26, 1766; m. John Bohonan and moved to 
Vermont and d. in 1827. 

Sarah Dearborn, b. 1770; m. John Clay and removed to "Wilmot. 
They had four children. She d. in 1820. 

Mary Dearborn, b. May 22, 1774; baptized June 26; m. Job Glines 
of Canterbury and had four sons. (See Glines gen.) All but two of 
the brothers settled on fine farms which their father gave them or aided 
them in buying around the old homestead, and the locality was called 
"Dearborn Hill." She d. in 1846. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Nathaniel and Hannah Godfrey Dearborn.) 

James Dearborn, b. Sept. 11, 1786; m. Polly Arlin and had two sons 
and a dau. 

Nancy Dearborn, b. Dec. 31, 1788; m. John Clay. 

David Dearborn, b. May 20, 1802. 

Daniel Dearborn, b. 1803; m. Jane, dau. of Richard (Old Sergeant) 
Blanchard, and had 14 children. 

William Dearborn, b. Aug. 1, 1805. 

(Children of Shubael and Ruth Leavitt Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 
.Jonathan Dearborn, b. 1781, was rocked in a sap trough for a 
cradle. He m. Elizabeth Keniston of N., b. 1783, and had seven chil- 
dren. He was a surveyor and civil engineer. He also furnished pro- 
visions for the town poor. He d. July 16, 1852. She d. Oct. 30, 1866. 
Shubael Dearborn, Jr., b. 1783; m. (first), Nancy Dearborn, June 
1811, and had one dau. She d. Dec. 15, 1815. He m. (second), 1817, 
Sally Glines and had a family of eight. He d. Feb. 1, 1869. She d. 
July 27, 1883. 

(Children of John and Mary Kezar Dearborn.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Ruth Dearborn, b. June 2, 1781; m., May 27, 1813, Joseph Pallett, 
and d. in 1820. 



GENEALOGIES. 85 

Joiix Dearborx, Jr., b. April 25, 17S3; m., July, 1811, Charlotte James, 
b. 1791. He lived near his brothers on the home farm and had seven 
children. He d. in 1869 and his wife Oct. G, 1873. 

George Dearborx, b. Dec. IS, 1785, and d. at Durham in 1819, unmar- 
ried. 

Nancy Dearborx, b. Dec. 2, 1787; d. at Durham in 1S19. 

Ebexezer Dearborx, b. March 29, 1790, was a physician and practiced 
at New Durham Ridge. 

Sali.y Dearborx, b. March 12, 1794; m. Fred Chase of Canterbury 
and d. in 1818. 

Polly Dearborx, b. Jan. 27, 1797; d., Nov., 1817. 

Abraham Dearborx, b. Nov. 6, 1799; m., Nov. 29, 1821, Polly (Mary) 
Sanborn of Canterbury. They had two sons and a dau. He was a 
farmer on the paternal acres. He d. in 1832 and she d. Jan. 13, 1S8S. 

(Children of Jonathan and Mary Hodgdon Dearborn.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Edmuxd Dearborn, b. Oct. 18, 1789; m., June 8, 1821, Sally Ger- 
rish of N., b. July 20, 1796. They spent their lives on the original 
Dearborn farm and had a family of five children. He d. at Elkhorn, 
111., Oct. 19, 1S45. She d. Jan. 11, 1849. Mr. Dearborn was a fine 
scholar and one of the old-time schoolmasters. This farm was for 
some years after owned by Cutting Follansby. 

Shubael Dearborx, b. Jan. 4, 1792; d., March 16, 1797. 

MiTTiE Dearborn, b. 1798; d., Feb. 24, 1855; unmarried. 

Jonathan Dearborn, b. July 15, 1802; m. Jane Gerrish of N., b. 
July 20, 1798, and moved to Illinois. He was a graduate of Brown 
University and later read medicine and was a lifelong practitioner at 
Mt. Sterling 111. He m. (second), Hannah D. Morrill of Concord, 
who d. March 15, 1875. Mr. Dearborn was a member of the A. F. and 
A. M. of high rank. 

(Children of Abraham and Sanborn Dearborn.) 

Hazen Dearborn always lived at Wheelock, Vt. 

Nancy Dearborn, b. at Wheelock, Vt., Dec. 31, 1788; came to N. and 
became the wife of William Forrest. (See Forrest gen.) There were 
perhaps other children but am unable to trace them. 

Fourth Generation. 
(Children of James and Polly Arlin Dearborn.) 

Charles Dearborn m. Whicher. 

Harriet Dearborx m. Charles Keniston. (See Keniston gen.) 

James Dearborx, Jr., m. Weeks and had four sons. 

Betsey Deaeborx, b. 1805; m. Alexander T. C. Glines. (See Glines 
gen.) 

Hazex Dearborx, b. April 7, 1820; m. Mrs. Betsey Glines Heath, b. 
July 18, 1812. 



86 HISTORY OF XORTHFIELD. 

(Children of Daniel and Jane Blanchard Dearborn.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Wedstek Dearborn, b. Jan. 10, ISOS; m., 1S27, Abagail (Nabby) 
Dinsmore. They had two sons. 

Tristram Dearborn, b. Dec. 24, 1809; m. Betsey Glover of Canterbury 
and moved there. They had a son and dau. 

Daniel Dearborn, Jr., b. 1814; m. Lillian English, b. 1816, and al- 
ways lived in N. He built a house on Park St., where they resided 
for many years. She d. Aug., 1SS7. He d. Dec. 6, 1891. 

Narcissa Dearborn m. Nelson Greene and resided at Stonington, 
Mass. 

Jane Dearborn never married. 

Abagail Dearborn m. George Nason of Maine and lived in Boston, 
Mass., where she d. He then returned to his native state. 

Ebenezer Dearborn m., Nov., 1844, Abagail Collins and lived in East 
Medway, Mass. 

Almira Dearborn, b. June 22, 1824; m., July 11, 1844, Jonathan M. 
Johnson of N. (See Johnson gen.) 

Jere:\[iah Dearborn m. Clarissa Jones of Maine. They resided at 
Medway, Mass., where both d. 

Elizabeth Dearborn, twin of the above, m. Dea. John Bell of Wo- 
burn, Mass. They were extensive farmers. After his death she went 
to reside with her dau. at Lynn. They had five children. 

Charlotte Dearborn (the first) d. in infancy and Charlotte (the 
second), m. John Colvin and resided in East Medway. 

Samuel Dearborn went from home and m.; but little was known of 
him. He was killed in a railroad accident near Boston, Mass. 

Grace Hoyt Dearborn m. (first), John Collins of N. (See Collins 
gen.) and had three dau., one of whom, Ida R., d. June 3, 1864. Mrs. 
Collins m. (second), John Henry. (See Collins gen.) She d. at 
Northwood. 

(Children of Jonathan and Elizabeth Keniston Dearborn.) 

(All b. at N.) 

David Dearborn b. April 14, 1804, was the oldest of nine children. 
He m. Nancy Clay of Wilmot and resided on the paternal acres. He 
erected a new house close by the old one and later they moved West and 
made a home with their son for several years, then returning to the 
homestead, where they d. He d. Nov. 3, 1889. She d. Nov. 23, 1892. 

Ruth Dearborn, b. July 21, 1805; m. Jonathan Clay of Wilmot and 
lived and d. there. 

Shubael Dearborn, 3d., b. Nov. 8, 1807; m. (pub.), March 7, 1836, 
Martha Jane Gorrell, b. 1815 at East N., where they resided. He was a 
blacksmith and farmer. They had one dau., Arianna, who m. Arthur T. 
Merrill and d. March 6, 1868, aged 25 years. She had two children. 
(See Merrill gen.) Mr. Dearborn d. March 30, 1870. She d. May 27, 
1873. 



GENEALOGIES. 87 

Eliza Deakborx, b. April 20, ISll; ni., Oct. 13, 1836, Sullivan Heath 
and moved to Clarkson, N. Y., and later to Illinois. 

Cyxthia Dearborx, b. Feb. 19, 1817; m., Dec, 1836, Elliot Rogers 
and lived in Hebron. (See Rogers gen.) 

Emily Dearborx, b. July 29, 1820; m., 1845, Warren Wheeler of 
Boston, Mass. They have two children. 

JoxATHAN Dearborx, b. Nov. 14, 1822; m. Martha Clay and lived at 
East Tilton. They had five children. He d. Sept. 25, 1894. 

(Children of Edmund and Sarah Gerrish Dearborn.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Mary Jaxe Dearborn, b. March 16, 1823; m., April 24, 1849, Lorenzo 
D. Bartlett, M. D. After his death and that of her dau., Martha J., 
Aug. 31, 1854, she moved to Henry, 111., where she was active in church 
and Sunday-school work until past 80 years of age. She d. May 5, 1904. 

Two sons, Stephen and Edmund, d. in childhood. 

Sa:^i Gerkish Dearborn (see portrait and sketch), b. Aug. 10, 1827; 
m., Nov. 5, 1854, Henrietta Sterritt. b. at Mont Vernon, Sept. 29, 1834. 
They had two sons, Frank and Sam, who succeeded to their father's 
practice at Nashua (see Physicians of N.) ; and a dau., who d. in child- 
hood. Mrs. Dearborn d. June 29, 1893. He d. May 8, 1903. 

Martha Kexdrick Dearborx, b. May 8, 1833; m., July 3, 1854, Jona- 
than Dearborn, M. D., of Mt. Sterling, 111. They have seven children, 
all but one being a physician or a physician's wife. Dr. Dearborn 
celebrated his 79th birthday Sept. 29, 1904. 

Hexry G. Dearborx, M. D., b. Sept. IS, 1835. He went West and 
read medicine with his brother-in-law at Mt. Sterling and graduated 
at St. Louis. He practised for many years at Henry, 111., coming 
later to assist his brother Sam at Nashua, where he d. June 10, 
1886. His will provided for the fine monument erected to the memory 
of his family in the Hodgdon burying ground. 

Bextox H. Dearborx, b. Sept. 25, 1838; m., Sept. 25, 1873, Kate L. 
Hutchinson of Milford and had a family of four sons. (See portrait 
and sketch, also Physicians of N.) 

(Child of Dr. Jonathan and Jane Gerrish Dearborn.) 

Db. Joxathan Dearborn, b. at Mt. Sterling, 111., 1828; m., July 3, 
1854, Martha K. Dearborn of N. and has always resided there. (See 
Martha Dearborn gen.) 

(Children of John and Charlotte James Dearborn.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Nancy Dearborn, b. Jan. 16, 1812; m. Jones and d. Feb. 29, 

1880. 

Ebenezer Dearborn, b. Nov. 12, 1814; d. at N. March 6, 1817. 
Enoch Dearborx, b. Nov. 14, 1818; d., Jan. 19, 1879. 



OO HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Joseph Dearborn, b. Nov. 14, 1S18, twin brother of the above; m., 
April 3, 1842, Mary Y. Philbrick of Sanbornton and lived as a farmer 
on the Bradstreet Moody farm, owned by her father at his death. 
They had six children. Mrs. Dearborn d. Nov. 23, 1879. He was a man 
of much business, was a good scholar and was for many years a 
teacher. He was commissioner for Belknap County in 1878 and a 
member of the Legislature from Tilton in 1S63~'64. He m. (second), 
Mrs. Fred Chase of Canterbury, where he now resides. None of the 
children were b. or reside in N. 

Ruth Dearborn, b. Nov. 3, 1823; m.. May 19, 1S60, Joseph Lang of 
Sanbornton and lived on the home place. They have a son and dau. 
(See Lang gen.) 

Irene Dearborn, b. July 15, 1831; d. at two years of age. 

Horatio Dearborn, b. Jan. 26, 1S37; d. at two years of age. 

(Children of Abraham and Polly Sanborn Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 

Maky a. Dearborn, b. Oct. 2, 1822; m., Nov. 15, 1843, Jeremiah Hayes. 
They were the first couple m. by Rev. Corban Curtice. They moved to 
the West where both d. They had two dau., Flora Luretta, and Ellen 
resided with her grandmother in N. 

Phebe Dearborn, b. Sept. 5, 1826; d., April 27, 1828. 

Sylvanus S. Dearborn, b. Sept. 15, 1830; m., April 17, 1861, Mary 
E. Keif of New York City. He was educated at the New Hampshire 
Conference Seminary and was a graduate of Dartmouth College, class 
of 1855. He read law and established himself at New York City. He 
later studied for the ministry and became an Episcopalian minister, 
having charge of a parish two years at Clermont, N. Y. His health 
failing, he went abroad and a storm while crossing the English Channel 
caused a severe hemorrhage. He returned at once and d. at New 

York City in 1867. She m. (second), Herve and since his 

death has spent much of her time abroad with residence at Monte 
Carlo. 

Abram Dearborn, b. 1832, was a lifelong invalid. He was scholarly 
and often wrote children's stories for publication. He d. Dec. 31, 1893. 

(Children of Shubael and Nancy Dearborn Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 
Mary Dearborn, b. July 29, 1811; m. (pub.), March 12, 1855, Stephen 
Haines, and moved to SheflSeld, Vt. After his death she returned to 
N., where she d. Sept. 25, 1887. 

(Children by [second] wife, Sally Glines Dearborn.) 
Charlotte Dearborn, b. April 12, ISIS, was employed at Peabody & 
Daniel's paper mill for many years, then m. David Fowler and moved to 
Hill, where she d. April IS, 1844. 

Statira Dearborn, b. Aug. 4, 1820; m. (pub.), Feb. 21, 1848, E. G, 
Kingsbury, and resided in Bristol, where she d. Feb. 14, 1901. They 
had two children, Annie, b. 1852, who resides in N., and Oren, b. 1851. 




JOHN S. DEARBORN. 




MRS. JOHN S. DEARBORN. 



GENEALOGIES. 89 

Abra Ann Dearborn, b. April 28, 1823; m. David Fowler, her brother- 
in-law, of Hill, and d. there Nov. 24, 18G0. 

John S. Dearborn, b. Sept. 8, 1824; m., 1850, Mrs. Hannah Haines 
Winslow. (See Winslow gen.) He inherited the farm of his grand- 
father, and was a prosperous farmer on Dearborn Hill. His health 
failing, they moved to Dover, where he d. in 1896. They had two sons. 
Mrs. Dearborn was an ideal farmer's wife and, though now well past 
SO, retains that sprightliness which was her youthful characteristic. 
:She resides at Exeter. 

JosiAH Dearborn, b. Oct. 22, 1830; m., Oct. 10, 1858, Sarah M. Haines 
of N. (See Haines gen.) They reside on Summer St.; are practical 
and successful farmers. In church matters sympathize with the Meth- 
odists; are enthusiastic grangers. They have one son. 

Harriet Dearborn, b. Nov. 27, 1826; m., Nov. 28, 1848, Daniel Clay 
of Tilton, and I'esided there until his health failed. He then went to 
California, where he d. in 1858, and is buried at Lone Mountain Ceme- 
tery, three miles from San Francisco. Two children d. in infancy. 
She d. at Tilton Oct. 9, 1872. 

Benjamin Franklin Dearborn, b. May 30, 1833; m., Aug., 1S60, Ann 
Lewis of Franklin. They resided at Franklin Falls, where he d. Jan. 
3, 1892. They have three children. She m. (second), John R. Scales 
of Concord, where she now resides. 

Eliza Dearborn, b. May 28, 1837; d., Aug. 7, 1850. 

Fifth Generation. 

(Children of Hazen and Betty Glines Heath Dearborn.) 

Caroline Dearborn, b. March 7, 1841; m. (first), Henry Witham of 
Aroostook, Me., and had a dau., Eldora; m. (second), Charles Collins. 
(See Collins Gen.) Resides in Nashua. 

LucRETiA Dearborn, b. April IS, 1842; m., Aug. 21, 1858, Alonzo Arlin 
of N. and has two sons, Everett of Lakeport and Ira of Tilton. The 
latter is blind, but handles tools and does all kinds of work. 

Charles Dearborn, b. Nov. 29, 1849; m., Nov. 27, 1869, Harriet Lover- 
ing. He has always lived in town, is a farmer and carpenter and has 
10 children. 

Georgl\nna Dearborn, b. April 29, 1853; m. (first), Darius Glines, 
and had one child. He d. Sept. 23, 1872. (See Glines gen.) M. (sec- 
ond), James Maginnis and resides at Tyngsboro, Mass. Have three 
•children. 

George Henry Dearborn, b. April 30, 1855; resides at Franklin. 

(Children of Webster and Abagail [Nabby] Dinsmore Dearborn.) 

(All b. in N.) 

Richard S. Dearborn, b. March 7, .1828; m., Nov. 9, 1848, Laura A. 
Dinsmore (see Dinsmore gen.), and had a family of seven children. 
He served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue), and d., July 16, 1901. 
She d., April 26, 1896. 



90 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

WoRSTER Dearborx m. Mary Presby, May 14, 1849, and d., 1853^ 
They had three sons; Worster Dearborn, who was an engineer on the 
White Mountains Division of the B. & M. R. R., and was killed in an 
accident, Nov. 27, 1886. He m. Nellie Pickard of Canterbury and had 
one dau., Ethel. John, who d. of smallpox at Gilford. Richard, who 
is now employed by the B. & M. Railroad and resides at Woodsville. 

(Children of Tristram and Betsey Glover Dearborn.) 

Mary Dearborx, b. at Canterbury; resides on the home place. 
John Dearborn, b. at Canterbury; he was killed on the railroad. 

(Children of David and Nancy Clay Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 

Darius S. Dearborn, b. 1834; m. . He was a teacher in the 

West some years. He read medicine with Dr. Luther Knight of Frank- 
lin and graduated from New York Medical School. He first practised 
in Brookline, later at Milford, where he now has an extensive practice. 
Mrs. Dearborn d. in 1900. 

Oliver Dearborn, b. Jan. 19, 183G; m., Nov. 14, 1863, Josephine Hosley 
of Manchester. He remained some years on the home farm, then 
moved to Manchester and later to Denver, Col. They have one dau., 
Mrs. B. S. Wilson of Harrisburg, Col. Mrs. Dearborn d., Dec. 31, 1881. 
He still resides at Denver. 

(Children of B. Frank and Ann Lewis Dearborn.) 

Fred Lewis Dearborn, b. in N. July 10, 1861; went to New Mexico- 
in 1882 with two cousins to herd cattle. He now resides at Carlsbad; 
m., . 



Mary Dearborn, b. at Franklin Nov. 13, 1847; m., June, 1893, C. W. 
Pike of Newport, where they reside. She was a teacher in the various 
districts of Franklin before her marriage. 

Shubael Dearborn, b. at Franklin Sept. 30, 1876; graduated from 
Franklin High School, class of 1883. He resides at Concord and is in 
the employ of the B. & M. R. R. 

(Children of John and Hannah Haines Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 
Mark W. Dearborn, b. 1851; m. Elva Manson of Maiden, Mass., and 
has two children, Ethel, b. 1878, Henry, b. 1881. Mr. Dearborn is a re- 
tired merchant and resides at Maiden, Mass. 

Thoiias H. Dearborn, b. 1860; m. Mary French of Exeter. He is a 
dry goods merchant at Dover. He is a rising politician and was a mem- 
ber of Governor Bachelder's staff. They have three children, Ruth;. 
Thomas A. and Elmer. 

(Child of Josiah and Sarah Haines Dearborn.) 

Ned Dearborn, b. at Alton 1865; m., June 13, 1S94, Helen Josephine 
Hills of N. (See Hills gen.) He graduated at Gilmanton Academy, 



GENEALOGIES. 91 

ISSl; at Dartmouth College, 1SS5; and State Agricultural College, 
1901, as doctor of sciences. Mr. Dearborn is assistant curator of birds 
in Fields Columbian Museum at Chicago, 111. They have a son, Clintori,^ 
b. at N. Sept. 17, 1S97, and Helen Josephine, b. Jan. 1, 1S99, at Durham. 

Sixth Generation. 

(Children of Charles and Harriet Lovering Dearborn.) 
(B. at N.) 

Charles Hexry, Jr., b. Jan. 28, 1876; m., Oct. 7, 1901, Ella M. Pike. 
He is a spinner at Elm Mills. Has one child, Florence R. 

Leojtora Dearborn, b. Feb. 7, 1S7S; m., Nov. 24, 1898, Porter M. Hay- 
ward. (See Hayward gen.) 

Axx Elizabeth Deaeborx, b. Oct. 26, 1879; m., June 20, 1896, Charles 
E. Hayward. (See Hayward gen.) 

Geokgie Belle Dearborn, b. Nov. 30, 1S81; m., July 26, 1899, Charles 
Flanders, a farmer at Newport, P. Q. They had two sons, Eddie and 
Ervil C, and dau., Florence. 

Betsey Ann, b. 1883; Caroline E. b. 1884; Stella F., b. 1887; Daisy 
E., b. 1889; >RED J., b. 1891; Mary Ann, b. 1894, still reside in the 
home. 

(Children of Richard and Laura A. Dinsmore Dearborn.) 

Ada Dearborn, b. March 15, 1850; m. James Young of Prince Edward 
Island and r.esides at Willimantic, Conn. He is proprietor of a hotel. 
They have two children, Laura L. and Frank. 

Richard Dearborn, Jr., b. March 28, 1852, better known as "Long 
Rich," is probably the tallest man in town. He is a farm hand and 
resides in the home. He has in his possession a large powder horn 
carried by his great-uncle, "Jerry" Blanchard, in the 1812 war, who had 
a queer fancy of cutting in rude sketch on it the figure of every animal 
killed with his gun. It is a queer picture of bear, fox, squirrel, snake, 
tortoise and many varieties of birds, and has other and varied embel- 
ishments. 

Edwin Dearborn, b. 1855; d., May 19, 1885. 

Laura Rosella Dearborn, b. Feb. 14, 1854; m., 1887 (?), George 
Bean, and had one dau., Emma. Mr. Bean is a farmer and they reside 
on the Alvah Hannaford place. 

Nellie A. Dearborn, b. Jan. 1, 1860; m., Aug. 24, 1895, Nelson Minor 
b. at Fairfax, Vt., 1856 (second wife). 

Emaia E. Dearborn, b. April 21, 1862; m. John Frink of Winchester, 
Mass. They reside at Brompfon's Falls, P. Q. 

Clara A. Dearborn, b. March 30, 1858, resides on the homestead on 
the Main road. She has one son, Arthur. 



DENNIS. 

Joshua Dennis came to N. from Sanbornton about 1872. He was b. 
at Salem, Mass. Nov. 23, 1846, he m. Elizabeth H. Hersey, a teacher. 



92 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 



Mr. Runnells says, of high literary attainments and decided merit. 
Mr. Dennis was a carpenter by trade but carried on his farm until his 
father's death. They had one son, Joshua Piper. Mrs. Dennis d. April 
29, 1881, at Manchester. He d. at N. April 22, 1897. 

Second Generation. 

Joshua Pipek Dennis, b. Aug. 20, 1S4S; m. Mary Adelia Eastman, b. 
at Littleton, and had three children. 

Mr. Dennis traded for a while in Belmont and later was a commercial 
traveler for firms in Worcester, Mass., and Cincinnati, 0. He was 
also a clerk in various stores at Tilton for several years and was like- 
wise a druggist, being connected with C. P. Herrick as clerk. He was 
a fine scribe and served the town as clerk for a term of years. 

Blanche Marguerite Dennis, b. Dec. 16, 1873. She was educated 
at the New Hampshire Conference Seminary and a convent at Dor- 
chester, Mass. Later she read medicine and is now practising her pro- 
fession in New York City. 

Alice Eldridge Dennis, b. Sept. 3, 1877. She was educated at a con- 
vent at Dorchester, Mass. She went to Manchester with the family 
and there married. 

Rodert Dennis, b. at N. Jan. 24, 1882; m., 

We have not been able to obtain further data of this family. 



BIAS, 

George W. Dias, b. 1874 at Plymouth; m., March 9, 1898, Mrs. Nellie 
Downing Copp of N. He came to N. in 1902 and bought with his 
brother Charles the John G. Brown farm, the latter making it his sum- 
mer home only. He is a farmer and carriage painter. They have 
recently moved to Tilton where they are proprietors of Hotel Jordan. 
(See Downing gen.) 

Second Generation. 
(Childi'en of George and Nellie Copp Dias.) 

Harold A. Dias, b. at Tilton Feb. 3, 1902. 
Howard W., b. at N. April 7, 1904. 



DICEY. 

Samlt:l Dicey's name appears first on the tax list in 1837. He m. 
Mary Gale of Belmont and was a farmer on the Thomas Fellows place 
in East N. He was superintendent of the poor house for three sep- 
arate terms. They had two dau. He sold in 1865 to Charles Payson 
and removed to Belmont, where he d. 

Second Generation. 
Celestia Dicey m. William McClary and removed West. 
Mary Dicey removed to Belmont and d. there in 1903. 



GENEALOGIES. 93 

DICKEY. 

Robert Dickey was the owner of a tract of land on the Gilmanton 
line on Coos Brook. He was taxed in town first in 1807. They later 
had a home in the Gilman pasture near the reservoir, as there are 
the remnants of an old cellar and the locality has long been known 
as Dickey Hill. He was probably a brickbaaker and there are rem- 
nants of his occupation scattered about. Nearby is another aban- 
doned site known by the name of the French place. Mr. Samuel 
Clough bought and removed the buildings and a part of the present 
home of William C. Hill was once the home of a family who have 
left no trace upon the records or soil save a few bushy apple trees 
and the scarcely visible cellar hole and well. 



DINSMORE. 

John and Samuel Dinsjiore, brothers, came to N. from Windham, 
where both were b., the latter in 1756. They were sons of Francis 
and Betsey Mitchell Dinsmore. They both served in the Revolutionary 
War. John was one of General Washington's body-guard. He was for 
many years a pensioner and lived with his maiden sister Betsey at Ed- 
mund Dearborn's, where both d. and were buried in the little enclosure 
on the farm. He d. May, 1847. 

Samuel entered the army at 19 years of age and served through the 
war. He was a pensioner at $96 a year. Jeremiah Smith was his 
guardian. He d. at his son's, Jan., 1846, and is buried at the Williams 
burying yard. 

He m. Oct., 1799, Dolly, twin sister of Dr. Isaac Glines, who survived 
him seven years. 

He went to Quebec with General Arnold. They had eight children. 

Second Generation. 

Polly Dixsmore m. Edmund Douglass, an educated Scotchman and 
a former schoolrhaster, who had become reduced in means and morals. 
They lived wherever he could find employment as a farmhand. They 
had one dau. (See Douglass gen.) Mrs. Douglass d. Aug. 24, 1853. 

John Dinsmore m., July 19, 1826, Fanny Foss, b. at N. 1804. They 
lived on the main road and both d. there; she, Jan. 17, 1890, aged 85; 
he, Jan. 4, 1S73. They had four children. 

Nabby Dinsmore ra. (first), Webster Dearborn and had two sons, 

Richard and Wooster. She m. (second), Sanborn, and m. (third), 

Knowles. She d. at N. Centre Jan. 17, 1878. (See Dearborn gen.) 

Sally Dinsmore m. Huse Austin, 1830, and d. at Hill. 

Betsey Dinsmore m. John Glover and lived in Canterbury. She d. 
the last day of the year, which occurred on Saturday, the 31st day of 
the month. 

Mary Jane Dinsmore, b. ; m., April 2, 1837, James Carr of 

N. (See Carr gen.) She m. (second), Albion Ash, who was b. at 
Franklin, 1824, and d. at N. May 25, 1904. 



94 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Nancy Dinsmore m., Jan. 10, 1848, Abel Goodrich and removed to 
New York. 

Joseph Dixsmore m., Dec. 6, 1840, Martha Austin, his niece. They 
had five children. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
He was burned to death with his house at Tilton in 18S9. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of John and Fanny Foss Dinsmore.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Wilson Dixsmore, m., July 24, 1852, Charlotte Mills of Manchester 
and resided there. He was a member of the police force for many 
years. He was a cabinet maker by trade. He returned to N. after 
the death of his wife and child, where he d. Nov. 5, 1865. 

John H. Dinsmore m. Sarah Brown of Newport and resided on the 
home place. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 

He used his $1,000 bounty to pay off the mortgage on his father's 
larm before he left. He was physically a fine specimen of manhood; 
was captain of police at Manchester; and went with the Amoskeag 
Veterans to Washington to do escort duty. He returned home after 
his father's death and was a farmer on the homestead. They had six 
children. He d. Jan. 23, 1901, at the home of his dau. on Park St., 
aged 73. Mrs. Dinsmore, an invalid for many years, d. there Feb. 2, 
1902, aged 71. 

Laura Ann Dinsjiore m. Richard Dearborn of N., her cousin, and 
always resided on the main road. (See Dearborn gen., also Boys in 
Blue.) 

Alpheus Dinsmore m. Dulcina Converse of Providence, R. I., and 
resides at Worcester, Mass. 

(Children of Joseph and Martha Austin Dinsmore.) 
(All b. at N.) 
Dorothy M. Dinsmore, b. 1S40; m. William Herrick, a soldier in the 
€ivil War. (See Boys in Blue.) She resides in Derry. 

Charles M. Dinsmore served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 
He d. at Russellville, Ky., Oct. 7, 1S63. 

James Dinsmore m. and resides at Contoocook. They received the 
premium offered for triplet babies at one of the State Grange fairs. 
Samuel Dinsmore m. and resides at Derry, as does a younger sister, 
Diana. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of John and Sarah Brown Dinsmore.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Ida G. M. Dinsmore, b. Aug. 2, 1854; m., Nov. 27, 1873, Ward San- 
■born; m. (second), Nov. 5, 1889, Charles Heath of N. and resides on 
Park St. She has one child, John S., b. July 4, 1891. 

Olin a. Dinsmore, b. March 28, 1859; m., July 24, 1881, Josie 



GENEALOGIES. 95 

Boucher of Tilton and they have four children. He is a natural me- 
■chanic and musician and is a machinist in Dracut, Mass. 

Eva DiNSMORE, b. Sept. 18, 1861; d., Aug. 27, 1865. 

LiLLA D. DiNSMOKE, b. Sept. 25, 1863; d., Aug. 25, 1865. 

Elmer V. Dinsmoke, b. Aug. 18, 1869, resides with his sister on Parle 
■St. He has some literary talent and contributes to the news columns 
■of the Laconia Democrat (Tilton items). 

Fifth Generation. 

(Children of Olin and Josie Boucher Dinsmore.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Alpheus C. Dixsmore, b. March 3, 1885; m., Dec. 5, 1903, Helen E. 
•Sleeper of East Boston, where they reside. 
Eva B. Dinsmore, b. Aug. 31, 1887. 
Ida a. Dinsmore, b. Dec. 9, 1890. 
Rose B. Dinsmore, b. Oct. 25, 1894. 
They all reside at Wales Centre, N. Y. 



DOCKHAM. 

Charles E. Dockham came to N. in 1897 He was b. at Laconia, 
Oct. 30, 1853; m., July 14, 1872, Ellen Creighton, b. at Danville, Vt, 
Oct. 23, 1854. He is assistant foreman in the cardroom at the Tilton 
Woolen Mills, where he has been employed for 14 years. They have 
three children. 

Second Generation. 

Ralph E. Dockham, b. at Laconia, July 1, 1882, is employed at the 
Tilton Woolen Mills and resides on Arch St. 

Etta E. Dockham, b. at Fitzwilliam July 21, 1883; m., Nov. 14, 
1904, George H. Jewell, b. at Laconia April 4, 1876. He is employed 
^t G. H. Tilton's hosiery mill and resides on Park St. 

Ethel Laura Dockham, b. at Tilton, June 23, 1872. 



DOLLY I. 

Jonas H. Dolly came to N. from Tilton in 1879 and purchased the 
residence of the late Hezekiah Bean on Park St. He was b in Gray, 
Me., Sept. 16, 1842; m., 1865, Eunicg A. Sweatt of Belmont, b. Dec. 
.26, 1842. 

He was boss weaver for A. H. Tilton's mills. They had five chil- 
dren. He served in the Civil War. (See Boys in Blue.) 

Second Generation. 
Walter D. Dolly, b. Feb. 23, 1870; d., in infancy. 
Alice J. Dolly, b. April 12, 1872; m., June 14, 1899, George S. 



96 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 



Hinkley and resided for a time in Concord. Later he removed to La- 
conia. He is a moulder by trade. She conducted a millinery and 
dressmaking business previous to her marriage. They have a dau., 
Eunice H. 

Heebekt H. Dolly, b. Dec. 6, 1873; m., April 14, 1896, Lutie Johnson 
of East Tilton. He resides on Park St. and is a member of the firm 
of Phelps & Dolly, grocers, at Tilton. 

E. Etta Dolly, b. Feb. 6, 1876; d., Oct. 27, 1895. 

Jonas W. Dolly, b. May 26, 1880; d., Feb. 10, 1899. 



DOLLY IL 

RoscoE G. Dolly, b. at Gray, Me., July 28, 1837; m., March 9, 1883, 
Julia C. Sweatt, b. July 16, 1848. He served in the Civil War as gun- 
ner on the Rear surge. He was at his post when she sank the Ala- 
tama in Cheborg Harbor. He is now overseer of weaving. (See 
Boys in Blue.) 

Second Generation. 

Nellie F. Dolly, b. at Manchester July 6, 1872; m., March 17, 1894, 
Ernest E. Nelson of Tilton. They have one child, Myrtle. ^ 

Florence M. Dolly, b. at Suncook Oct. 16, 1874; m. Oral Batchel- 
der. They lived in N., where she d. Feb. 23, 1902. They had two 
children, Althea and Roscoe D. 



DOLLOFF. 



The Dolloffs were of Russian ancestry. Christopher, the emigrant, 
settled at Exeter and Abner came to Canterbury in 1763. 

David Dolloff lived south of the Rogers farms, completely shut in 
by forests. He erected here a new house and m. in 1785 Elizabeth 
Miles, the widow of Phineas Fletcher, who d. on his way home after 
the surrender of Cornv>^allis. Her parents, Josiah and Elizabeth Miles, 
were the nearest neighbors, nearly a mile distant. They had 10 chil- 
dren, as are duly recorded. Elizabeth and Mary d. the same week in 
1787 and ten years later Jesse 1st and Miriam 1st d. the same day. 

Mr. Dolloff went to live, in his old age, with his dau. in East N. 
He was long a cripple, being confined to his chair, but was regularly 
chosen tithing man. He was a great reader and a close patron of 
the Northfield social library about 1800. 

Hannah Dolloff m. David Lougee of Loudon and resided there. 
They had two dau., who m. brothers, James and Nathaniel Sanborn. 

Sally Dolloff m. Hazen Carr of N. (See Carr gen.) 

David Dolloff, b. 1791; m. Sally Bean. They had six children, but 
two living to maturity. She d. at 83 years of age. 

Abagail Dolloff m. Joseph Marden and resided at Lowell. Both, 
lived to extreme age. 



GENEALOGIES. 97 

Jesse Dolmff, 2d., b. 1794; m., 1825, Nancy Crockett of Meredith. 
He was accidentally killed in New York City, leaving a wife and 
child who survived but a few years. He was a fine singer. 

MiKiAji DoLLOFF, 2d., twln sister of the above, was a celebrated 
weaver and lived in Canterbury Borough. She was an Osgoodite. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of David and Sally Bean Dolloff.) 

Mary Dolloff m. Stephen Neal and was the mother of David Dol- 
loff Neal, the celebrated artist of Munich. 

Elizabeth Dolloff m. Almon Slader of Acworth, b. 1818, and re- 
sided on the Main road, near the Canterbury line. She was very artis- 
tic in her tastes and was a woman of faculty. He was a house builder. 
She d. at N. 1897. He d. at the home of his dau. in Lowell 1901. 
They had one dau., who m. "Walter F. Glines in 1861, and (second), 
Henry W. Leach of Lowell, Mass. (See Glines gen.) 



DOW I. 

Jereiiiah Dow, b. at Holderness Jan. 1, 1826; m. Lucretia Ann Glines, 
b. June 22, 1831. They had eight children. He was a more than 
ordinary farmer's man and was employed for years by Jeremiah Smith. 
He d. March 23, 1895. 

Second Generation. 

(B. at N.) 

Alexander Clark Dow, b. Nov. 25, 1848; m. (first), 1864, Joanna 
Dearborn of N. He m. (second), 1868, Rhoda Arlin of Concord, b. 
Sept. 2, 1840. She was reared by the Enfield Shakers, and d. Oct. 11, 
1869. He m. (third), Sarah A. Smith of Orange, Vt., Jan. 15, 1870. 
She d. at N. July 17, 1871. He m. (fourth), Susan Brocklebanks of 
Plainfield, May 22, 1872. He m. (fifth), July, 1884, Mrs. Josephine 
H. Clark of Franklin, who d. April 3, 1889, and Dec. 12, 1889, he m., 
for his sixth, Mrs. Amoretta Kimball. (See Kimball gen.) He d. at 
the home on Bean Hill road, Aug. 26, 1896. He had two children, who 
d. in infancy. 

Frank Hayes Dow, b. 1852; m., Feb. 26, 1898, Hannah Bruce, b. at 
Northfield, Vt. He is a farmer at East N. 

Herberi Gerry Dow, b. Jan. 9, 1854; m., 1880, Lizzie Herbert of 
Franklin. They have one child. 

Byron Kendrick Dow, b. April 23, 1857; m. (first). Lulu Reed of 
Canterbury. They had one child. He m. (second), Mary Monahan of 
Melrose, Mass. 

Jerry Smith Dow, b. Nov. 6, 1859; m., 1881, Nellie Maynard of 
Franklin, b. at Reading, Vt., April 6, 1S6S. They reside in the family 
settlement, called "Dowtown." 
7 



98 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Joanna Morse Dow, b. Aug. 23, 1SG7; d. at 10 years. 

Elizabeth Ann Dow, b. Nov. 20, 1871; m., March 25, 1893, Charles 
H. Folger of Lowell, Mass. They reside with her mother at N. and 
have two children, one of whom d. in infancy. 

Myktil Estelle Dow, b. May 22, 1872; d. at five years. 

Third Generation. 

(Child of Jerry S. 'and Nellie Maynard Dow.) 

Mektie May Dow, b. July 2, 1884; m., 1903, Frank A. Brace. They 
reside at Tilton and have two children. He is employed by the Elm 
Mills Woolen Co. 

(Child of Herbert and Lizzie Herbert Dow.) 

Eenest Gerry Dow, b. Nov. 4, 1881; m., Jan. 24, 1905, Mildred Pres- 
cott of Laconia, where they live. 

(Child of Byron and Lulu Reed Dow.) 

Ethel Vara Dow d. in inrancy, June 26, 1881. 

/ (Children of Charles and Elizabeth Dow Folger.) 

(B. at N.) 

Wilfred Folger d. in infancy March 20, 1876. 
Archie Leonard Folger, b. Aug. 22, 1898. 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Frank and Mertie May Dow Brace.) 

Twins, Leonard Francis Brace and Marion Estelle Brace, b. March 
6, 1904. 



DOW II. 



Mescheck Dow lived near the Gilmanton line in East N. and there 
manufactured shuttles and linen wheels, for which he is remembered 
and received the name, "Old Shuttle Dow." A stream of water near his 
home formerly was called "Tulliver Brook" and near-by was the 
height called the^ Pinnacle. 

He lived in town but a few years. 



DOW III. 

Sumner Adams Dow was b. at New Hampton. April 24, 1834, he 
m. Maria Gordon of New Hampton and resided in various parts of N. 
nearly all his life. He was a butcher and dealer in meat for many 
years at N. Depot, where he was postmaster for 11 years. He moved 
to Concord in 1885 and was for several years proprietor of a railroad 
boarding-house, doing a grocery business in connection with it. He 



GENEALOGIES. 99 

was of Revolutionary descent and went to Bennington Anniversary as 
a guest of the state. Later tie had a store on Munroe St. Mrs. Dow d. 
at N. April 22, 18S2. He d. at Concord July 27, 1903. They had seven 
children, one of whom d. in infancy. 

Second Generation. 

Electa A. Dow, b. at New Hampton April 8, 1857; m., April, 1874, 
Whitten Ludlow of N. (See Ludlow gen.) 

Lellan M. L. Dow, b. at Canterbury Nov. 25, 1862; m., July 22, ISSO, 
Lauren Davis of N. (See Davis gen.) 

Charles S. Dow, b at Canterbury Jan., 1865; m., July, 1889, Lizzie 
Hoyt of Canaan, and resides in Concord. He is employed at Ford & 
Kimball's foundry as engineer and has one dau., Anna. 

LxjKA Amanda Dow, b. at Tilton Aug. 20, 1868; m., Oct. 22, 1886, 
Elmer Young, an employee of the Boston & Maine Railroad. They 
reside in Concord and have four children. 

Guy Dow, b. at N. Oct. 11, 1872; m., Dec, 1894, Ida Colby of Man- 
chester. He is a railroad engineer and a sportsman df the rod and 
gun. He resides at Woodsville and has two children. 

Levi S. Dow, b. at N. Sept. 8, 1876; m., Sept., 1903, Isabel Bailey. 
He is also an engineer on the railroad. He was a soldier in the Spanish 
War, being a member of Co. C, and was absent six months. 



DOWNING I. 

Hexey M. Downing came to N. from Belmont in 1891. He was b. at 
Hopkinton March 31, 1859; m., July 27, 1878, Nettie E. Gilman, b. at 
Lakeport April 26, 1863. He was a carder and spinner for several 
years and later was in the meat and provision business at Belmont. 
He d. at N. Jan. 12, 1894. She is a music teacher and a fine soprano 
singer. She resides on Park St. They had one child. 

Second Generation. 

Harky C. Downing, b. at Belmont May 31, 1880; m., in 1899, Frances 
V. Fifield, b. at Franklin in 1879. They had one child, Maitland F., 
b. at Tilton Aug. 1, 1900. Mrs. Downing d. Aug. 12, 1900. He is em- 
ployed as an electrician at Boston, Mass. 



DOWNING II. 

Edgar O. Downing, b. at Ellsworth June 8, 1851; m., March 24, 1871, 
Emma E. Stewart, b. at Warren Jan. 20, 1850. They came to N. in 
the spring of 1871. He was a farmer and lived on the Windsor Aldrich 
place. After the destruction of their buildings by fire they came to the 
village, where they have since conducted a boarding-house on Elm St. 
They have three children. 



too HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD, 

Second Generation. 

Mabel P. Downing, b. April 29, 1S72; m. Warren S. Nudd. (See 
Nudd gen.) 

Bessie H. Downing, b. Sept. 15, 1874; m. (first), April 12, 1892, 
Amos Reynolds, who was b. at Warren July 25, 1870, and d. at N. Oct. 
22, 1892. She m. (second). May 23, 1894, George W. Blanchard, b. at 
Hinsdale Nov. 25, 1872. They have four children and reside at Ken- 
sington, Conn. 

Wesley L. Downing, b. Feb. 9, 1881; d., Jan. 7, 1897. 



DOWNING III. 

James T. Downing was b. at Ellsworth May 10, 1843; m., Sept. 17, 
1865, Abbie F. Palmer, b. at Hopkinton Jan. 7, 1845. He came to N. 
in 1880 and bought a part of the Henry Tibbetts farm. They had sis 
children. He is a farmer. 

Second Generation. 

Bessie A. Downing, b. Jan. 2, 1867, at Ellsworth; m.. May 16, 1SS9, 
Charles H. Payson, b. July 22, 1863, at Raymond. (See Payson gen.) 

Nellie E. Downing, b. Feb. 22, 1869, at Hopkinton; m.. May 13, 1SS9, 
Irving W. Copp and resided at Tilton, where he d. April 13, 1893. 
They had two children, Irving James, d. at six years, and Bertha F., 
b. May 21, 1893. She m. (second), 1898, George W. Dias, b. at Ply- 
mouth, 1874. They now reside at Tilton, where they are proprietors 
of Hotel Jordan, and have two children. (See Dias gen.) 

Walter Fred Downing, b. at Ellsworth June 26, 1871; 'd., Sept. 5, 
1871. 

Clara May Downing, b. Sept. 17, 1873 at Lakeport; d., Nov. 21, 
1873. 

Cora B. Downing, b. at Gilford Jan. IS, 1877; m., April 14, 1897, 
Francis Cass of Canterbury, where they reside, and have four children, 
Lorenzo, Jimmy, Nathaniel and . 

Susie F. Downing, b. at Tilton; m., Dec. 2, 1S96, Francis P. Crane of 
Warren. They have three children and one d. in infancy, Abbie L., 
Walter C. and Mary E. 

Infant, b. Sept. 26, 1895; d., Oct. 26, 1895. 

INA May Downing, b. Dec. 23, 1897; m.. May 4, 1905, Benjamin F. 
Gile, b. April 28, 1867, at Hanover. 

Jaiies a. Downing, b. at N. April 7, 1891. 



DURGIN. 



Henry Wilber Durgin came to N. from Tilton Nov. 12, 1887. He was 
b. at Sanborn ton Jan. 11, 1839; m., Jan. 6, 1872, Susan E. Farnum, b. 
at Hill March 24, 1844. He has been employed at Tilton most of the 




JAMES EARNSHAW. 



GENEALOGIES. 101 

time for 43 years, formerly at A. H. Tilton's mill and later at the Tilton 
Woolen Mills. 

He built a house on Park St., where Mrs. Durgin d. Dec. 21, 1903. 
He now resides in Tilton. 



BUTTON. 

Eeastus E. Duttox, b. 1S55 at Hardwick, Vt.; m., Jan. 1, 1S76, Mrs. 
Hannah Munsey Morrison of Gilford. Mr. Button was a farmer. He 
came to Tilton in 1893 and to N. in 1895. He is employed by the Elm 
Mills Woolen Company as shipper. 

They resided on Bay St. until they occupied their newly-purchased 
home on Winter St., Tilton, in 1904. She had one child by her former 
marriage, Edwin G. Morrison. (See Morrison gen.) They are mem- 
bers of the Congregational Church, of which he has been a deacon 
and is active in all its lines of work. He is also a member of Doric 
Lodge of A. F. and A. M. 



DYER. 

Samuel Dyer, b. 1765 in Andover, was the first settler in the north- 
east corner of N., on a part of the Governor Shute reservation. He 
m. Lucretia Evans and had seven children. He is first taxed in 1817. 
He d. here Oct. 5, 1819. She d. Sept. 23, 1866, in Methuen. But two 
children remained in town and but four were born here. 

Second Generation. 

Sally Dyer, b. Oct. 30, ISIO; m., March 9, 1834, Ebenezer Hall of 
N., a tanner who resided at the corner of Granite and Bay Sts., oppo- 
site the Chase tavern. (See Hall gen.) 

Betsey Dyer, b. at N. Dec. 18, 1812; m. George P. Wightman April 
25, 1834, a farmer of Bozrahville, Conn., and had two sons, George 
Evans, who served in the Civil War and three years in the United 
States army, and Henry Dyer Wightman, who d. at three. 

Aaron Woodmax Dyer d. at two years. 

Mary Ann Dyer, b. April 5, 1817; m. Daniel T. Morrison and re- 
sided in Methuen, where she d. July 12, 1879. They had three chil- 
dren, Fred T., Mary A. and Daniel W. The two latter d. in infancy. 

Samuel Dyer, Jr., and another son d. aged two years. 



EARNSHAW. 



James Earnshaw, b. at Thongsbridge, Yorkshire, England, June 5, 
1822; m., 1843, Sarah Anne Dawson of Meltham, England. He was a 
woolen manufacturer. He came to America in 1848 to Peacedale, R. I., 
and took charge of the Hazard woolen mill. His family joined him in 
Jan., 1849. 



102 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

After seven years they moved to Sanbornton Bridge, where he took 
in 1856 the necessary step to become a citizen of the United States. 

In 1861 he came to N., where Mrs. Earnshaw d. Nov. 25, 1864, and is 
buried at Park Cemetery. 

His mill (see picture) was destroyed by fire in 1867 and he went to 
Dover, Ky., where Mr. Baker of Tilton had a woolen mill, which he was 
obliged by failing eyesight to sell. It was bought in part by Mr. Earn- 
shaw, who removed his family there in July, 1868, where they have 
since resided. 

He was a member of Doric Lodge, No. 78, A. P. and A. M. He d. at 
Dover, Ky., Aug. 24, 1895. His four sons are also Masons. 

Second Generation. 

Frederick Williaji Earxshaw, b. at Meltham, England, July 21, 
1845; m., 1876, Anna D. McMillan of Dover, Ky. They had seven chil- 
dren, four of whom are living: James, Guy Everett, Sarah Lucile and 
Nancy Catherine of Jackson, Tenn. 

Elizabeth Earxshaw, b. at Meltham, England, Jan. 16, 1848; m., 
1875, W. B. McMillan of Dover, Ky., where they now reside. 

Ltdia Axn Earxshaw, b. at Peacedale, R. I., Dec. 29, 1849. She re- 
sides at Dover, Ky. 

Lucy Grace Earnshaw, b. May 1, 1851; m., Oct., 1876, J. J. McMil- 
lan of Dover, Ky., at Pomroy, 0. She d. at Dover Aug. 27, 1887. They 
had five children, two of whom reside at Dover, Ethel B. and Anna 
May. 

Mary Emily Earxshaw, b. Jan. 26, 1853; m. Oscar Hanna of Dover, 
Ky., at Pomroy, 0. They had 10 children, seven of whom are living. 
She resides at Bellevue, Ky. The children are: Clara D., Duke Ells- 
worth, Oscar "Watson, Lucile Elizabeth, Delia May, Blanche Augusta 
and Marguferite. 

JoHX Allen Earnshaw, b. May 6, 1854, at Allenton, R. I.; m., in 
1885, Mary R. Smith of Dover, Ky., and had three children. 

One son, Francis "Watson, resides at Cincinnati, 0. 

David James Earnshaw, b. Jan. 15, 1857, at Tilton; d., at Dover, Ky., 
Dec. 16, 1888. 

Hiram "W. Earnshaw, b. Nov. 13, 1858, at Tilton; m. Mary T. Powers 
Nov., 1889, and had five children, three of whom, "William Frazie, 
Hiram Powers and David Thomas, reside at Memphis, Tenn. 

Joe Henry Earnshaw, b. at N. Oct. 11, 1862; m., Oct., 1887, Delia 
Webb of Middleport, O. They had one dau., Elizabeth "Webb, now of 
Columbus, O. 

George Ellsworth Earnshaw, b. Nov. 8, 1864, at N.; d., April 18, 
1865. 

Note. These facts are written by Ethel McMillen, a granddaughter of 
James Earnshaw and a great-granddaughter of Joseph Dawson. 



GENEALOGIES. 103 

ELLIOTT. 

Charles P. Elliott, b. at Penacook, 1S57; m. Florence G. Chase, b. 
April 14, 18G5, at Boston, Mass. They came to N. from Belmont. 
He was previously a farmer at Canterbury and is now employed at 
the grain mill of Brown & Boucher. 

They have seven children. 

Second Generation. 

(All b. at Canterbury.) 

Ernest D. Elliott b. May 16, 1885, is employed at the pulp mill at 
East Tilton. 

Eva B. Elliott, b. April 2, 1887, is employed at the Tilton Optical 
Works. 

Alfred C. Elliott, b. July 22, 1889, is learning a machinist's trade at 
Garrick's. 

Mart L. Elliott, b. Jan. 4, 1891; d., Sept. 25, 1891. 

Harry E. Elliott, b. Sept. 6, 1893. 

Gladys B. Elliott, b. Nov. 12, 1894. 



ELKINS. 

Jonathan Elkins was a lifelong resident of Factory Village, now 
Franklin Falls. He inherited a large tract of land south of the 
present Central St. Much of this he sold when new industries were 
established and new homes thus called for. 

He sold his store to Nathaniel Rowe and erected a new home near 
the junction of the rivers and gave his attention to farming. He m. 
Clara Fisher of St. Johnsbury, Vt., and had four children. After his 
death she removed to Hampton and none of the family are now resi- 
dents at Franklin Falls. The Elkins home is now owned by Frank 
M. Edmunds. 



EMERY I. 



MiTTiE Chase Clough (see Stephen Chase gen.), b. at Canterbury 
Nov. 6, 1832; m., Jan. 27, 1868, Samuel Louis Emery, b. at Canterbury 
June 17, 1827. They resided at Canterbury and various places in the 
West. 

He d. at Canterbury Sept. 10, 1873. Mrs. Emery came to N. with 
their three dau. and erected a home on the hill overlooking the vil- 
lage from the East and on land belonging to her grandfather, Stephen 
Chase, as early as 1775 and which had never passed from ownership in 
the family. She d. there Dec. 28, 1900. She was a teacher previous to 
her marriage, in Canterbury, N. and Concord. She was educated at 
Tilton and Bradford, Mass. 



104 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

Second Generation. 

Maey Maud Emery, b. at Chenoa, 111., Feb. 9, 1SG9, was educated at 
the New Hampshire Conference Female College, graduating in 1S90. 
She then took a special course at Radcliffe in the languages. She has 
since taught but is at present in the home. 

Abbie Josephine Emery, b. July 23, 1870, at Canterbury, graduated 
at the New Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1890. 
Later she was a student at the Massachusetts Normal Art School. 

She is now teaching in the Bristol High School. 

MiTTiE Louise, b. at Peoria, 111., Jan. 4, 1872, graduated from the 
New Hampshire Conference Female College, class of 1891, and is at 
present teaching at Laconia. She graduated from the Emerson School 
of Oratory in 1897. 



EMERY II. 

Samuel Emery came to N. from Rumney and established a grocery 
store at N. Depot, purchasing the business of Frank H. Moore. 
He bought the Sumner Dow home, where Mrs. Emery d. April 1, 1897. 
He sold later to Charles Sanborn and removed from town. He m. 
(second), June 27, 1897, Amelia Ambler of Brighton, Mass. 



EVANS I. 



Robert Evans, b. at Strafford March 3, 1775, came to N. about 1798 
and bought the farm of John Brown on the sunrise side of Bean Hill. 
He m. Elizabeth Clough of Strafford and had a family of six. He d. 
March 13, 1844. She d. Nov. 25, 184S. 

Second Generation. 

David Evaxs, b. Jan. 20, 1798; m. Louisa Smith Dec. 6, 1825. (See 
Smith gen.) 

They lived for some years at the Ordway place on Bean Hill, where 
two dau. were born. They removed later to East N., where he d. 
April 3, 1836. Mrs. Evans later m. Sanborn Shaw of Salisbury and 
removed there. (See Shaw gen.) 

Betsey Evans, b. April, 1800; m. (pub), April 10, 1842, John Kenney 
of Barnstead. Both d. same day of pneumonia and were buried in the 
same grave. 

Polly Evans, b. Oct. 30, 1802. 

Sally Evans, b. April 26, 1804; m. Abel Hyde of Columbia. 

William C. Evans, b. at N. June 5, 1811; m., June 11, 1S40, Martha 
J. T. Carr of Loudon. He learned the carpenter's trade when a boy 
of Dea. John Mathes of Canterbury and mastered all its details. He 
went to Boston in 1831 to work at his trade. Being a great lover of 
music and having a fine voice he became a pupil of the iate Lowell 



GENEALOGIES. 105 

Mason and was a choir leader at the North Bennett and Russell Sts. 
Churches and after his return to New Hampshire taught singing 
schools in N., Canterbury and Pittsfield. Prof. B. B. Davis, late of 
Concord, took his first lessons in vocal music of him. In 1S39 he settled 
at Barnstead and later removed to Pittsfield, where he remained until 
his death 30 years later. He united with the Methodist Church at 17 
years of age and was a generous supporter of public worship. 

He was a prominent Mason, a member of Corinthian Lodge, and for 
many years was its chaplain. They had four children, two of whom 
reside at Pittsfield. 

Maktha Evans, b. March 9, 1S13. 

Mahala Evaxs, b. Aug. IS, 1S14; m., Feb. 14, 1S42, Lyford C. Hill of 
Belmont. 

Joseph Evans, b. June 10, 1815. 

James M. Evans, b. Aug. 10, ISIS; m. Rebecca Bean Durgin of San- 
bornton and removed West. Both d. at Lodi, 111. They had three 
sons, two of whom were killed in the Civil War. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of David and Louisa Smith Evans.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Haeriet Ann Evans, b. Sept. 13, 1826; d., March 3, 1828. 

Ann Louisa Evans, b. March 28, 182S; m. Elbridge Shaw of Salis- 
bury. She was previous to her marriage a teacher in Lawrence, Mass. 
They had a son and four dau. She d. at Salisbury in 1893. He d. there 
nine days later. (See Shaw gen.) 

Jane Evans, b. Oct. 29, 1830; d., June 23, 1834. 

Adaline Evans, b. Aug. 1, 1832; m. Harry Shaw of Salisbury. He 
removed to Hills St., N., in 1859. She was a teacher for some years. 
(See Shaw gen.) 

Ella Jane Evans, b. Aug. 31, 1834; d., June 23, 1835. 



EVANS II. 



MosEs Evans, b. 1812; m. Mary Jane Carr and had two children. 
They resided on what was known as "Lovers' Lane." She d. and he 
m. (second), Betsey Hills. (See Hills gen.) This house was the par- 
sonage for the first Methodist ministers. It was torn down and re- 
moved. He d. Jan. 15, 1855. 

Second Generation. 

Mary Evans, after her father's death, resided with her guardian, 
Dea. Noah Peabody. She suffered an attack of smallpox and was re- 
moved to the old home, which was reserved for similar purposes for 

some years. She m. Stevens of Wellesley, Mass., and has two 

children, Anna and . 

Orin Evans d. at Boston. He m. and had two dau. 



106 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

EVANS III. 

JoHx Evans, b. March 20, 1S02, always lived in N. He m., July 4, 
1822, Mehitable Thurston of Gilmanton, b. Aug. 22, 1809. She was 
killed by the cars close by her home Oct. 17, 1852, as she was trying to 
save her deaf dau. He m. (second), Laura Willey of Canterbury and 
d. July 10, 1876. They had 11 children. 

Second Generation. 

Ltdia Thurston Evaxs, b. Oct. 22, 1822; m., Nov. 17, 1842, Cyrus 
Woodruff Lord. (See Lord gen.) 

Lyman Barker Evans, b. Feb. 4, 1827; m., Feb. 6, 1856, Sarah Cor- 
sall, b. at Mongonue, New Zealand, Feb. 3, 1836. He was captain of the 
whale ship Arctic of Fairhaven, Mass., and was drowned in the In- 
dian Ocean, Jan., 1857. His body was recovered and buried at Mon- 
gonue, New Zealand. They had one son. She m., 18G3, John G. Heath 
of Raymond. (See Heath gen., with portrait.) 

Julia Ann Evans, b. Feb. 26, 1829; m., March 20, 1852, Amos K. 
Copp. (See Copp gen.) 

Mary Frances Evans, b. March 16, 1S31; d. in infancy. 

LucRETiA Ann Evans, "b. May 14, 1833; d., Sept., 1842. 

Gardiner Thurston Evans, b. Nov. 20, 1835; d., at sea, Sept., 1853. 

Mary Frances Evans, b. March 10, 1837; d., Feb. 7, 1855. 

Hiram Bradbury Evans and Horace Bradbury Evans, twins, b. 
March 22, 1841. 

The former served in the Civil War (see Boys in Blue) and d. in 
1864. The latter served in the Twelfth Massachusetts Regiment and 
d. in hospital May, 1864. 

Mahala Etta Evans, b. April 16, 1843; m., June, 1861, Herbert Goss 
Chase, b. at Cabot, Vt., April 4, 1841, an optician in Fitchburg, Mass. 
He served in the Ninth Regiment, New Hampshire Volunteers, as mu- 
sician. They have one son, Herbert. 



FELLOWS. 



Two brothers, Joseph and Thomas, sons of Joseph Fellows of Gil- 
manton, were residents of N. 

Joseph Fellows, 2d., b. Dec. 19, 1794; m. Sylvia Sanborn, b. Jan. 2, 
1795. He was a farmer until his removal to Laconia. Later he re- 
turned to Upper Gilmanton, built a nice house and invested in the mills 
there. Reverses came and the loss of his property caused his death. 
The location took his name and was called Fellows' Mills until changed 
to Belmont. His N. home was bought by Ransom Ladd, demolished 
and rebuilt at Laconia. 

Thoiias Fellows, b. Oct. 27, 1802; m. (first), Sally F. Mudgett and 
bought the Busiel farm in the southeast corner of N. in 1840. They 
had two sons. She d. April 25, 1S54. He m. (second), Sylvia T. 



GENEALOGIES. 107 

Mudgett of Belmont and had one son. He was captain of the state 
militia and d. June 24, 1876, and his wife d. Dec. 4, 1889. Tliis home 
was destroyed by fire in 1878. 

Second Generation. 

(Children of Joseph and Sylvia Sanborn Fellows.) 

Caroline A. Fellows, b. Feb., 1823; d., Jan. 24, 1840. 

Lyman B. Fellows, b. May 27, 1819; m. Harriet Merrill and had three 
children. 

He m. (second), Mrs. Lovina Glines French Sept. 1, 1868. He d. at 
N. April 20, 1885. (See French gen.) 

Mr. Fellows got his title from the fire department in Laconia, of 
which he was captain. 

(Children of Thomas and Sally Mudgett Fellows.) 

Sylvester Fellows, b. at N., was educated at Gilmanton Academy. 
He read medicine and graduated from Dartmouth Medical School in 
1855. He m. in Connecticut and, going West, settled near Milwaukee 
in 1856. Later he was at Wells, Minn., until 1S95, when he went to 
Floral, Fla, v/here he d. in 1902, leaving three daughters, two in Florida 
and one in Minnesota. 

George Fellows learned the machinist's trade in Canada. He was a 
steamboat engiifeer on the St. Lawrence River. He now lives at St. 
Petersburg, Fla., and is unmarried. 

(Child of Thomas and Sylvia Mudgett Fellows.) 

Frank Fellows, b. at N.; m., Aug. 16, 1878, Ellen Amanda Nudd and 
resides on the homestead. He has twice suffered the loss of his home 
by fire, in 1878 and again in 1892. 

He is a farmer and carpenter and has one dau., Mrs. Mary G. Clifford 
of Concord. 

Third Generation. 
(Children of Lyman and Harriet Merrill Fellows.) 

Joseph A. Fellow^s, b. April 2, 1842; m. Mary Fernald and had one 
son. She d. April, 1890. He m. (second), Julia Frances Allen, who d. 
Nov. 6, 1904. He was employed for some years by J. F. Taylor as clerk 
and then removed West. They had one son, Frank Fernald Fellows. 

Lunette Fellows, b. May 3, 1851; m. (first), Theodore Thompson, 
and (second), Gerrish Sanborn of Salisbury, where they reside. 



FIFIELD. 



Nathaniel Fifield, Jr., came to N. from Stanstead, P. Q., in 1896. 
He was born at Salisbury Point, nov/ Amesbury, Mass., Oct. 4, 1836. 
He m., 1864, Martha J. Sargent, b. at Littleton April 2, 1847. He is an 



108 



HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 



upholsterer and carriage trimmer. They reside on Vine St. and have 
three children. 

Second Generation. 

Chakles Eddy Fifield, b. at Stanstead April 23, 1S65; m., June 25, 
1896, Anna E. Gordon, b. at Boston, Mass., Sept. 25, 1SC9. He is of the 
firm of C. E. & F. H. Fifield, meats and provisions. He resides on Oak 
St They have one dau., Virginia E., b. 1901. 

Geoege Albeet Fifield, b. at Stanstead Dec. 15, 1867; d. at five. 

Feank H. Fifield, b. Aug. IS, 1S70; of the firm of C. E. & F. H. Fi- 
field. (See above.) 



FLETCHER. 

John and Williah Fletcheb, brothers, came from Ballardvale, Mass., 
in 1865 and with the Messrs. Firth and Balantyne bought the Bailey 
Mills, changed the name to Granite Mills and began the manufacture 
of various grades of woolen goods. Mr. Fletcher bought the resi- 
dence of Noah Peabody on Bay St., where they lived 2S years, selling 
to George W. Weeks Sept., 1893. They then removed to Park St., 
where she d. Jan. 11, 1902. They were Episcopalians, in which chui'ch 
he has been the efficient organist and choir master coijtinuously since 
his residence here. He was previously, and has always been, a music 
teacher and now conducts a music store with residence in Tiltou. He 
is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and was its second 
Master. He is also a Knight Templar, being a member of Mt. Horeb 
Commandery, Concord. 

He was b. at Halifax, Yorkshire, England, April 6, 1825; m. Bath- 
sheba Schofield, b. at Halifax April 18, 1826. They had four chil- 
dren, one of whom d. in infancy. 

William Fletcher, his brother, took up his abode in the Chase tav- 
ern house at the entrance of Bay St., where a child, Thomas E., was b. 
Later he bought the Lyford house on Pleasant St., Tilton, where he 
d. July 1, 1876, aged 52. They had five sons b. in America and three 
dau. born in England previous to coming to America. Mrs. Fletcher 
d. Jan. 26, 1892. 

Second Generation. 

(Children of John and Bathsheba Fletcher.) 

Ada Fletcher, b. at Halifax, England, Jan. 9, 1847, was educated at 
the New Hampshire Conference Seminary. She m., Nov. 21, 1867, Felix 
G. Haines and returned to Ballardvale. They had six children, one 
of whom, Florence, d. at her grandfather's at N. Nov. 12, ISSl. The 
other children are: Sadie, Millie, Fletcher and Grace. Mr. Haines is, 
a grocer. 



GENEALOGIES. 109 

Fraxk W. Fletcher, b. at Ballardvale Sept. 7, 1850, was employed 
in various capacities in his father's mill. He was a music teacher for 
some years. He is a member of Doric Lodge, A. F. and A. M., and was 
a charter member of Harmony Lodge, L 0. 0. F. He is also a K. of 
P. He is a social favorite, with varied talents. He has been since the 
sale of the Granite Mills employed at Franklin Falls as wool sorter. 

Nellie Fletcher, b. at Trenton, N. J., June S, 1852; m. John Stark 
and resides at Ballardvale, where he is a dealer in meats and pro- 
visions. They have seven children: Mattie, Willie, Ada, George, Frank, 
Jennie and Fred. 

(Child of William and Elizabeth Kent Fletcher.) 
THOiiAS Fletcher, b. in N. 1860; m. Winnie Farrington of Tilton and 
resides in Concord. He was postmaster at Tilton during President 
Cleveland's second term. He is a postal clerk on the Portsmouth Rail- 
road. Other children b. in Tilton are George, John, Charles and Will- 
iam P., who d. at Tilton Feb. 3, 1903. 



FOLLANSBY. 

WILLIAM FOLLANSBY. 

The Follansbys came from Normandy to England with William the 
Conqueror in 1066. A descendant, Thomas, came to America from 
Derbyshire in 1642. William, the subject of this sketch, was a son of 
Benjamin, and was b. in Hill, N. B., in 1802, and d. at Belmont, N. 
H., in 1849. He first started in business in Holderness, N. H., when 
about 20 years old, where he opened a country store, which he suc- 
cessfully carried on and while there built several houses. He moved 
to Sanbornton Bridge about 1834. He was a man of remarkable 
energy and his arrival gave a new impetus to business of various 
kinds, and it has been said that the little village dated its period of 
growth with the advent of William Follansby, and that he added more 
buildings than he found there. After various places of business and 
abode across the river, he erected on the Northfield side the long low 
building which stood for half a century on what is now called "The 
Beach," and bore the classic name of "Seven Nations." One section of 
it housed his family and one his store. He was one of the first to en- 
gage in the palm leaf hat traffic and furnished employment to large 
numbers of women and girls. When the plans for the new Congrega- 
tional Church were agitated Dr. Enos Hoyt and Hon. Samuel Tilton, 
at his suggestion furnished with him the necessary funds and took 
their pay in pews, which they sold later, and largely by his push the 
enterprise was promptly carried through. He was also the owner of 
various tracts of land in the town as shown by the old tax lists. He 
was a generous, kind-hearted man and although sharp at a trade he 
never refused aid to any one in need. He was m. three times, first 
to Persis Wells of Holderness. By this marriage there were three 



110 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

children, Cutting, Caroline and Peabody M. His second wife was 
Ruth Wells, a sister of the first, and by this marriage there were 
three children. Wells, Joey D. and Daniel. His third wife was Mary 
Sweatt-Ladd of Upper Gilmanton, a niece of the late Elder Peter 
Clark, a noted Baptist minister, and by this marriage one child, Will- 
iam H. C, was born. 



CUTTING FOLLANSBY. 

Cutting Follansbt (see portrait) was b. at Hill July 4, 1822. He 
was educated in the common schools and at Plymouth Academy until 
1849, when he went to the California gold fields, where he remained 
four years. 

Returning he farmed some years and also traded in a store erected 
by his father where Hill's Block now stands, dealing in dry goods and 
groceries, and had a large traffic in palm leaf hats. He m. before go- 
ing to California, Jan. 1, 1847, Alice A. Haynes of N. and had one son, 
Charles H., b. at N. Oct. 24, 1847. In 1856 he became a trader at Hold- 
erness, now Ashland, where, with Hiram Hodgdon, he conducted a 
prosperous business for more than 20 years. 

In 1873 he removed to Barre, Mass., and, purchasing a large store 
and handsome residence, commenced trade as Cutting Follansby & Son. 
He d. Sept. 14, 1875. He was a man of sterling qualities, truthful, 
honest and upright. He was highly esteemed by those familiar with 
him for the remarkable assiduity and frugality observed in his busi- 
ness as well as his integrity of character and beneficence to all in need 
and especially to the Christian Church. 

Thus he won large success and many strong friends. 

His home was in N. many years, where he was a large real estate 
owner. Mrs. Follansby still resides in N. 

His son continued his father's business in Barre some years and is 
now connected with the banks there. He m. Mary, dau. of President 
Meservey of the New Hampton Literary Institute, and has a dau., 
Alice. Mrs. Follansby d. 1887. He m. (second), 1889, Minnie Kendall. 



FORREST I. 

William Forrest, 1st., was of Irish, and his wife, Dubia Forrest, of 
Scotch, descent. They came to America in 1744, bringing three sons 
and two dau., Margarett, Robert, John, William and Nancy. Both lived 
and d. in Boston. John Forrest, 2d., was the first of the name to 
settle in N. He was b. in Ireland in 1726. He, with his brother Will- 
iam, 2d, and two sisters, after a short stay in Boston, passed on to 
Londonderry, where they remained some time. Securing a grant of 
land on Canterbury intervale the children, with a single exception, 
took up their abode on the banks of the Merrimack opposite Boscawen 
Plain and erected a fort. Robert d. in Boston. His wife, Betsey Ful- 




CUTTING FOLLANSBEE. 



GENEALOGIES. Ill 

ton Forrest, after her second marriage to William Love, came also to 
Canterbury. The fear of hostile Indians subsiding, they scattered and 
John came to the north fields and purchased the Leighton farm near 
Franklin Falls. He had been a soldier in the French and Indian 
AVars. He m. Elinor Gipson, 1740, b. at Canterbury 172S, d. Jan. 10, 
1814, in N. They had nine children. 

William Forrest, 2d., brother of John, according to the Canterbury 
records, m. Letty Mann of the north fields and had a family of seven: 
Jane, b. 1753; Mary, 1755; Robert, 1757; Letty, 1760; Anna, 17C2; 
Margret, 1765, and d., 1766. 

I find no further record save that Robert served in the Revolutionary 
War and was credited to Loudon. 

Betsey Forrest was probably the wife of Jonathan Cross, son of 
Jesse, father of Forrest Cross, as Jonathan and Betsey Forrest Cross 
sold her father's farm to Mr. Leighton a few years later, as the deed 
records. They were m. Jan. 4, 179S. (See Cross gen.) 

Second Generation. 
(Children of John and Elinor Gibson Forrest.) 

John Forrest was a soldier in the French W^ar and was called 
"Soldier John." He m. Sarah Gibson of Canterbury, Dec. 29, 1778, 
and resided there. 

Elisor Forrest m. Jeremiah Gibson Nov. 2, 1776. He was a soldier 
in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment. He entered the service at 25 
years of age. (See Gipson or Gibson.) 

William Forrest, b. 1753 at Canterbury Fort; m. Sarah Ellison, b. 
1758, d. Jan. 10, 1802, by whom he had 11 children. He began in 
1774 a settlement near N. Centre. He cleared a few acres and the 
next year sowed his grain and left for the war. He was wounded at 
Bunker Hill and suffered from sickness, but lived to return, and took 
up his life work, farming. For 60 years in succession he planted his 
own corn. He was a staunch Democrat, as were all his sons and 
grandsons. He was never absent from the annual town meeting but 
once. 

He m. (second), Sally Simonds, b. 1771, of N., who d. Feb. 20, 1850, 
and by whom he had three sons. He d. March 5, 1840, with less than 
one hour's sickness, leaving 14 children, 41 grandchildren and 12 great- 
grandchildren. He was a pensioner. 

Ajjna Forrest m. James Gibson Nov. 21, 1776, and d. Oct. IS, 1783. 
He was the son of James, who was a scout along the Pemigewasset 
and branches, under Lieutenant Miles. He was also in the Revolu- 
tionary War in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment, and d. March 3, 1825. 

Jaxe Forrest, b. in Canterbury Fort; m. James Gipson, nephew of the 
above. They had several children — Rodney, Nancy and perhaps others. 
She d. Jan. 11, 1819. 

Lydia Forrest, b. at Canterbury Fort 1762; d. there March 9, 1835. 
She m. Thomas Clough of Loudon. They resided at East N. They had 
s, dau., Sally, who m. Gawn A. Gorrell. 



112 HISTORY OP NORTHFIELD. 

Agnes Forrest, b. at Canterbury Fort; m. Moses Randall and had one 
daii., Agnes. 

Robert Forrest, b. in Canterbury Fort, m. Sarah McDonald of N. 
and removed to the farm occupied many years by the late James Chase 
in Canterbury. They had three children, John, Sarah and Susan. 
They removed later to West N., where both d. He d. Oct. 2, 1844. She 
d. April 6, 1852. 

Jajies Forrest, b. in Canterbury, 17G5, came to N., 17S4. In 1785 he 
took possession of the farm in East N. still owned by his descendants. 
There were few roads and he reached it by a bridle path from the Bay 
Hill road. His wife, Anna Ellison, dau. of Richard Ellison, to whom 
lot No. 55 was originally granted, d. in 1809, leaving a son, Samuel. 
He m. (second), Mrs. Peggy Cross Sanborn, Aug. 14, 1815, by whom 
he had a dau., Alvira, who m., in 1852, Silas Jones of Charlestown, 
Mass., and d. in 1894. They had a son, Dexter Forrest Jones, of 
Waltham, Mass. Mr. Forrest d. Oct. 16, 1843. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of "William and Sarah Ellison Forrest and Sally Simonds 

Forrest. ) 

Nancy Forrest, b. at N. 1769; m., Sept. 27, 1811, Abraham Simonds 
of N., d. May 26, 1815. They had one child, Joseph M. (See Simonds 
gen.) 

Sally Forrest, b. at N.; m. Simon Oilman and resided at 

West N. She d. June 5, 1851. Their children were: Stephen, Joseph, 
Sally m. Thomas Lyford, Nancy m. John Kent. (See Oilman gen.) 

William Forrest, b. March 21, 1784, always lived in N.; m. Nancy 
Dearborn (see Dearborn gen.) and had a family of nine children. 
His farm was a part of the original homestead. He d. May 25, 1864. 
She d. June 1, 1849. 

Betsey Forrest, b. at Northfield, 1790; m. Jonathan Randall Aug. 1, 
1814, and went to Canterbury to live; d., Jan. 31, 1872, and he d. May 
15, 1870. Children: Nanc5^ b. 1815, d. Sept. 8, 1839; Serena, b. 1817, d. 
Oct. 15, 1844; Miles, b. Dec. 20, 1818; Sally G., b. Jan. 20, 1821, d. 
March 4, 1903; Mary Jane, b. 1824, d. Oct. 4, 1872; Lucretia M., b. Sept. 
10, 1826, m. Dixie Hall of N., Nov. 14, 1848 (see Hall gen.); Eliza, b. 
Nov. 23, 1830, d. May 16, 1902; Emily F., b. 1832, d. Sept. 24, 1848. 

Polly Forrest (4), b. 1791, was the second wife of Chellis Sargent, 
b. July 8, 1800; m., Sept. 10, 1838. They lived at Tilton, where she d. 
Nov. 13, 1872. She was a woman of great energy and good judgment 
and a helpmeet, indeed, to her husband, who by industry accumulated 
a competency which was cheerfully and generously given for the sup- 
port of the Methodist Church and many other good works. In the 
early years of the New Hampshire Conference Seminary they were 
both indefatigable in their efforts for the upbuilding of the school, 
giving liberally of their money and time. He was killed by a moving 
train, Feb. 7, 1887. 



GENEALOGIES. 113 

Jane and Statiea Forrest m. the Gile brothers, Abel and Thomas, 
both of N. (See Gile gen.) 

John B. Forrest, b. 1796; always resided in N. He purchased one 
acre of land and built the house opposite the old Center schoolhouse, 
but later, selling out, built the farm buildings on the Forrest road, 
just below his father's farm, of which he inherited a part. Squire 
Glidden had built, in his ambition to excel his neighbors, a barn on 
the Moore place on Bean Hill road, too large by far for the needs of 
the place. The west end of this was purchased by Mr. Forrest and 
removed to his new farm. He m., Jan. 1, 1826, Marcia Eastman of 
Salisbury, and had a family of four. She was b. 1804; d., Dec. 9, 1871. 
He outlived all his family, and d. Oct. 8, 1881. 

Joseph Forrest, b. in N. 1785; d., 1810. 

Jacob Forrest, b. 1788; m., in 1820, Lydia Tuttle, b. May 31, 1798, 
and moved to a farm in Danville, Vt. He d. June 13, 1843; she lived 
until Feb. 17, 1879. Children: Samuel, b. Dec. 20, 1823; m., 1855. Will- 
iam, b. March 3, 1825; d., May 12, 1866. Curtis, b. Nov. 23, 1827; m. 
Flora Stocker of Danville, Vt., Nov. 2, 1877. Sarah Jane, b. Aug. 24, 

1829; m. Taylor, March 1, 1852. John, b. 1831; d. when three 

weeks old. John B., b. Jan. 4, 1834. Joseph Sargent, b. May 6, 1836; 
m., 1868. Jacob, b. Sept, 16, 1839. 

Charles G. Forrest, b. Oct. 16, 1806; m., Dec. 2, 1833, Mrs. Sally 
Folsom Mead, b. Oct. 9, 1807, and had three dau. and one son. He 
lived on the "Gile place," now owned by Otis C. Wyatt, until 1854, 
when he went to New London for the education of his children, after- 
ward settling in Tilton, where he d. March 30, 1882. He was a man 
of firm religious principles and convictions, and at his death one of 
the three oldest members of the Congregational Church, having united 
in 1826. Mrs. Forrest d. Dec. 15, 1893. She had two dau. by her pre- 
vious marriage, b. in N., M. Octavia Sleeper, b. Oct. 25, 1827; d. in 
Oakland, Cal., March 10, 1901; Olivia A. Mead McKie, b. in N. Oct. 15, 
1830. She now resides in Lone Oak, Texas, 

Ellison and James M., youngest sons of William, inherited the 
homestead, where they lived until after the death of their parents. 
In the fall of 1850 they left N. for Wisconsin, and settled on a farm 
in Fort Winnebago. Ellison Forrest, b. in N. Aug. 11, 1808; d. in 
Fort Winnebago. James M. Forrest, b. in N. June 10, 1812; d. June 
4, 1884; m. (first), Almira Ames of Canterbury, Aug. 23, 1841, b. 
1816; d., Oct. 2, 1848. They had three children. M. (second), Laura 
Waters of Stratford, March 22, 1849; m. (third), Matilda Abbott of N., 
Nov. 20, 1851; m. (fourth), Susan H. Sargent of Sanbornton Bridge, 
May 1, 1856. She resides at Portage, Wis. 

(Child of James and Annie Ellison Forrest.) 

(B. at N.) 

Samuel Forrest, b. May 19, 1786; m., Jan., 1821, Agnes Randall of 
North Conway, b. Aug. 22, 1800. They had five children. He occupied 

S 



114 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

his father's farm at East N. and was a prominent citizen of the town 
and filled many places of trust. He represented the town in the Leg- 
islature of 1826--'27. 

(Children of Robert and Sarah McDonald Forrest.) 

John Forrest, called "Master John," was b. at Canterbury, 1797; m., 
1821, Sarah Gale of Alexandria, b. 1800. They resided in N. and had 
a family of eight. He was educated at Pembroke and was a noted 
teacher in Canterbury and surrounding towns and was one of the most 
learned men of the times, a good penman and excelled in mathematics. 
He d. at N., March 10, 1840. She m. (second), , and d. at Brush- 
ton, N. Y., in 1886. 

Sarah Forrest, b. at Canterbury, 1801; m., 1824, Rev. John Paige 
of Bristol, N. H., where they resided some years, going later to Neosha 
Rapids, Kansas, where both d. at good old age. They had a family 
of seven. 

Susan Forrest, b. at Canterbury, 1804; m., Dec. 6, 1825, Geo. Han- 
cock of N., b. 1800. They resided at first on what is called the Hicks 
lot; later, they built a house across the way where they lived, and he 
d., July 3, 1867, leaving a son, Horace, and a dau., Mrs. Alvira H. Rob- 
inson of Sanbornton, with whom Mrs. Hancock lived and d., Sept. 22, 
1878. (See Hancock gen.) 

Fourth Generation, 
(Children of William and Nancy Dearborn Forrest.) 

LucixDA Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 27, 1808; m., Nov., 1849, Charles 
Lord, and resided at the Center, where she d., March 27, 1854. 

Emanuel S. Forrest, b. in N. April 3, 1810; removed in youth to 
Stewartstown ; m. Mary Edwards; returned to N. and had charge of 
the town farm for a term of years, but d. in Stewartstown, Feb. 11, 
1877. Children: George, Sarah Jane, Osman Baker, Martha Ann, Ellen 
M., Joseph Sullivan. 

Joseph E. Forrest, b. Dec. 31, 1811; d., Dec. 27, 1835. 

Sarah Forrest, b. at N. Sept. 8, 1814; m. Clough Gorrell of East N. 
(See Gorrell gen.) She d. Dec. 19, 1888. 

Nancy Forrest, b. at N. Feb. 25, 1817; d., Jan. 28, 1842. 

Jane L. Forrest, b. at N. May 3, 1819; m. Henry E. Wiggin, and 
moved to Colebrook; d., Nov. 19, 1895. He d. March 10, 1898. They 
had three children, Charles S., Mrs. Abbie A. Shattuck, Mrs. Carrie J. 
Tibbitts, b. April 23, 1857, d.. May 23, 1905. 

Jacob Forrest, b. at N. Oct. 17, 1821. He went to California in the 
1849 excitement, with Charles E. Tilton and, after securing a fortune, 
started on his return on the Central America, which foundered in a 
gale in the Gulf of Mexico, Sept. 12, 1857. 

Martha E. Forrest, b. in N. Sept. 10, 1824; m. J. Sullivan Sanborn, 
July 3, 1851, and went to Dorchester, Mass., to live. She d. Oct. 22, 
1854, at her husband's father's in N. Child, George S., b. in N. March 



GENEALOGIES. 115 

23, 1852, and d., Aug. 23, 1870, at his father's home, in Redwood City, 
Cal. 

AiNDREw Jacksox Forrest, b. in N. Oct. 21, 1827; inherited the home 
farm. He went to California and there d., Dec. 23, 1863. He was dis- 
tinguished as being the tallest man in town. He m. Eliza Dearborn 
of Columbia, May 20, 1853. Children: Lell W. Forrest, b. in N. Dec. 
17, 1854; d., Aug. 20, 1856. Lillie Forrest, b. in N. Sept. 10, 1855; m. 
Rev. T. B. Hopkins of California, Jan. 29, 1874; child, Laura Branch 
Hopkins, b. May 25, 1876. 

(Children of John E. and Marcia Eastman Forrest.) 

Marcia Axx Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 8, 1828; m., Dec. 8, 1852, Rev. 
Albert Ethridge of Sandwich, b. Jan. 19, 1829, and went to Marseilles, 
ni., where she d., April 30, 1874. Children: Carrie Maria Ethridge, b. 
June 10, 1869; d., April 8, 1870. Lenora E. Ethridge, b. Dec. 2, 1854; 
m., Sept. 26, 1876, Dr. C. A. Weirick of Chicago, b. in Liverpool, Pa., 
Sept. 29, 1852; she d. July 20, 1888; children, Albert John, b. Dec. 
19, 1877, Mabel Ethridge, b. Sept. 28, 1881. Marcia Ethridge, b. Jan. 17, 
1860; d.. May 14, 1877. 

AxFRED Forrest, b. in N. 1831; d., April 6, 1847. 

Caroline E. Forrest, b. in N. 1835; d., Jan. 4, 1858. She was edu- 
cated at Gilmanton Academy and Tilton Seminary. She was a fine 
writer and a devoted Christian. 

Edwin Eastman Forrest, b. at N. Aug. 16, 1840. He resided in 
Rio Vista, Cal., about fifteen years and d. in Colton, Cal., May 1, 1878. 
At his request his body was brought home for interment in the family 
lot in Park Cemetery, Tilton. 

(Children of Charles G. and Sally Folsom Forrest.) 

Almeda M. Forrest, b. Nov. 2, 1836; m., April 27, 1868, George A. 
Newhall of Boston, where she d. July 26, 1889. Children: Forrest E. 
Newhall, veterinary surgeon, Augusta, Ga.,.b. Nov. 11, 1869; m., Aug. 
21, 1901, Mollie B. Johnston; children, Almeda Frances and Sadie Fol- 
som. Guy Folsom Newhall, b. April 14, 1871; resides in Boston; for 
the past nine years on the reportorial staff of the Boston Globe. 

HoNORiA Adelaide Forrest, b. July 13, 1839; resides in Tilton, where 
she has exemplified the art of home-making in its truest sense. 

M. Josaphexe Forrest, b. March 29, 1843; she devotes much time to 
portraiture and teaching of painting, in her home in Tilton. 

G. Frank Decatur Forrest, b. Oct. 15, 1846; was a florist in Win- 
chester, Mass., where he d., July 11, 1869. 

(Children of James M. and Almira Ames Forrest.) 

Adelaide Eliza Forrest, b. in N. July 26, 1843; m., June 7, 1871, Jo- 
seph E. Wells, b. March 22, 1842; d., June 24, 1904. He was one of the 
leading business men of Portage, Wis. Children: Mary Almira, b. July 
14, 1872; m. George Harrington of Oshkosh, Wis., Oct. 11, 1904. Cora 
Ardelia, b. June 14, 1874; m. Edward J. Bullock, July 12, 1904, and 



116 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

resides in Chicago, 111. Maud Susan, b. Sept. 22, 1876. Josephine Ade- 
laide, b. Feb. 5, 1880. 

GusTAVus Ames Forrest, b. in N. Aug. 21, 1845; m., Dec. 18, 1871, 
Esther A. Krus. He is a prominent lawyer at Manitowoc, Wis. Chil- 
dren: Louise, b. Dec. 16, 1872; d., Jan. 31, 1873. James Madison, b. Feb. 
16, 1874. Harry Gustavus, b. April 25, 1875. Maud Susan, b. Aug. 3, 
1876; d., Sept. 17, 1876. Josephine Adelaide, b. June 10, 1879; m., July, 
1903, Key Davis of Manitowoc. Mamie Almira, b. March 20, 1884. 

Susan S. Forrest, b. in N. June 9, 1847; m., March 4, 1874, J. 
Oviatt, M. D.; d. in Wyocena, Wis., March 15, 1876. Child, b. March 
9, 1876; d., Sept. 1, 1876. 

(Children of John [fourth] and Sarah Gale Forrest.) 

Eliza Jane Forrest, b. at Charlestown, Mass., Jan., 1821; d. at San- 
bornton, 1842. 

AxNiE Wilkinson Forrest, b. at Canterbury, Oct. 19, 1823; m., Sept. 
20, 1840, Dr. William Plummer Cross of N., b. at Sanbornton, July 4, 
1816. (See Cross gen.) 

Philip Clough Forrest, b. at N. Feb., 1825; d. in Baraboo, Wis.; m., 
1846, Mary Braley of Lowell, Mass. They had two sons and a dau. 

Charlotte Forrest, b. at N. 1827; d., at Bristol, 1846. 

John Forrest, b. at N. 1830. He lived in California seven years; 
then settled in Minnesota. Both he and his dife d. there. 

Joseph Forrest, b. at N. 1832; resided at Pleasant Valley, Minn. He 
bought a large tract of land and laid out the town and gave it its 
name. He d. there. 

Robert Forrest, b. at N. 1834. He lived in Boston; was a dealer 
in real estate. He then removed to St. Louis, Mo., and was a sign dec- 
orator. M. Lu Forsyth and had two sons, Charlie and Robert, who d. 
in infancy of cholera. Mr. Forrest d. at the same time, 1867. She sur- 
vived a few years. 

Sarah Jane Forrest, b. at N. 1837; m., 1867, Aldis Boyce of Dicldn- 
son, N. Y. He d. July, 1903. Mr. and Mrs. Boyce were both deaf 
mutes. She v/as educated at New York City in the famous institution 
of Dr. Gallaudet; Superintendent, Dr. Peat. He was educated at Hart- 
ford, Conn. 

(Children of Samuel and Agnes Randall Forrest.) 

Anne Ellison Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 3, 1821; was for some years a 
teacher, but has spent much of her life in caring for her aged mother, 
her brother's family and an invalid sister, Martha. They reside on 
the home place. 

Susan Knight Forrest, b. at N. Nov. 2, 1S23; m. Samuel B. Rogers 
of N. She was also a teacher. They had three sons. (See Rogers 
gen.) 

LaFayette Forrest, oldest son of Samuel, b. at N. June 29, 1825; m., 
June, 1852, Sarah Varney of Augusta, Me., and had six children, Agnes, 



GENEALOGIES. 117 

Mary Langdon, John Dempster, James Pike, Annie Ellison and Grace. 
He graduated from New Hampton Institution, 1S45, and was a teacher 
in the schools of Concord, Natick, Mass., and Bangor, Me. He then 
took up mercantile life in Bangor, where he d. Dec, 1897. 

James Nathamel Forrest, b. at N. July 12, 1827; m. Mary Augusta 
Eaton of Jay, Me., June 28, 1858, and had a family of five. Mr. Forrest 
was a teacher of ability and a trusted business man of the town; was 
selectman' several years; represented the town in the Legislature of 
1867; was superintendent of schools under the district system, 1870, 
and afterwards member of the board of education. He d. Jan. 16, 1892. 
She d. April 2.5, 1874. 

Martha Randall Forrest, b. Oct. 1, 1831. 

Fifth Generation. 
(Children of James N. and Mary Augusta Eaton Forrest.) 

Kate Forrest, b. June 12, 1859; graduated from Tilton Seminary 
June 17, 1882. Taught several terms in N. For the past five years 
bookkeeper in the office of the Franklin Journal-Transcript. 

Samuel Warre.v Forrest, b. July 8, 1861; m., Oct. 29. 1900, Susie R. 
Paul of Boston, Mass. (See Lawyers of N., portrait and sketch.) 

Freddie Forrest, b. Aug. 15, 1863; d., Sept. 3, 1864. 

Edwix David Forrest, b. Sept. 2, 1865; m., June 29, 1898, in Cam- 
bridge, Vt., Alfaretta Boomhower, b. Jan. 18, 1873. Graduated from 
Pennsylvania College of Dental Surgery in 1897; has practised in Cam- 
bridge, Vt., and in Denver, Col., and at present is practising in Tilton, 
a member of the dental firm. True & Forrest. 

Annie Ruth Forrest, b. at N. June 8, 1872; m., Feb. 8, 1899, Daniel 
Gardner Stark of Montrose, Penn. She studied kindergartning in Exe- 
ter, and for two years before her marriage had a private kindergarten 
in New Bedford, Mass. She now resides in Waverly, N. Y., where Mr. 
Stark is secretary of the Hall & Lyon Furniture Co. 



FOSS. 

What is now Oak Hill was formerly Foss Hill. Three brothers owned 
all the land from the Cross (now Philips) Brook to the Canterbury 
line. 

Robert Foss lived near the burying ground in the Hannaford pasture 
as the remains of a cellar are now plainly seen. He was a soldier of 
the Revolutionary War and d. at N. about 1834. He had six children, 
and his wife was Bean. 

Isaac Foss, b. 1770; m. Joanna Willey, Oct. 2, 1792, and (second), 
Mary Nudd, Aug., 1826. He d. in 1854. I can find but four children. 

Thomas Foss lived near the Canterbury line on original lot No. 11, 
as he deeded 50 acres of it to his son, Thomas, Jr. 



118 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

Second Generation. 

(Children of Robert and Bean Foss.) 

Martha Foss, b. 1785, called Patty, lived on the Windfall Road. She 
d. March 16, 1859, unmarried. 

Abagaix Foss, b. in 1811; m. John B. Glover of Canterbury and had 
five children. 

Love Foss, b. April 6, 1781; m., March 23, 1806, Ebenezer Glover, 
and had seven children. She lived to be more than 104 years old, and 
d., 1885; children resided in Canterbury. 

Mary Foss, m. Stephen Haines, Jr., son of Capt. Stephen and brother 
of Thomas, and had five children; none resided in N. 

Nathaniel Foss, b. at N. Feb. 23, 1774; m., Dec. 2, 1820, Polly Kenis- 
ton, and had a family of six. He resided, first, on the Windfall Road, 
going later to a farm near the Ledges, adjoining her sister's, where 
they reared their family, and both d., he, Oct. 27, 1854; she, March 28, 
1863. 

Charlotte Foss, b. 1805; m. Jonathan McDaniel of Canterbury and 
had one dau. (See McDaniel gen.) She d. Dec. 6, 1868. 

(Children of Thomas Foss.) 

(All b. at N.) 

Pbiscilla Foss, b. July 22, 1772. 
Nathakhsl Foss, b. Nov. 4, 1774. 

Sarah Foss, b. Nov. 18, 1781; m., Aug. 12, 1810, Amos Hanaford of 
Canterbury. 

(Children of Isaac and Joanna Willey Foss.) 

EzEKiEL Foss m., Dec. 24, 1824, Sally Austin and had a son, Erastus. 
Moses Foss, date of birth unknown. He m. and had two sons, Ste- 
phen and Ebenezer. The latter m., Dec. 26, 1782, Sarah Hoyt. 
Jenny Foss m., Dec. 7, 1817, Benjamin Austin. 
Fannie Foss m. John Dinsmore of N. (See Dinsmore gen.) 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Nathaniel and Polly Keniston Foss.) 
(All b. at N.) 

Cyrene Foss, b. April 1, 1821; d., Nov. 2, 1821. 

Cymintha Foss, b. March 24, 1827; m., autumn, 1860, John Wallace 
of Hillsboro, N. B. She was a graduate of the New Hampshire Con- 
ference Seminary, class of 1852, and a popular teacher. She d. Jan. 2, 
1865. Mr. Wallace d. Jan. 2, 1896, leaving a son, John, and dau., Mrs. 
Mary Gross. 

Almeda Foss, b. April 25, 1827; d. at Concord in 1891. She m., April 
11, 1854, Samuel Page of Warner, b. 1820. He was a farmer and drover, 
a man of enterprise and public spirit and active member of the Meth- 
odist Church. He d. May 8, 1878, of diphtheria, aged 58; a son, Sammy, 




JASON FOSS. 



GENEALOGIES. 119 

d. 10 days previous and another, Lucien, three days later. Mrs. 
Page was entirely devoid of hearing for many years, but with wonder- 
ful fortitude and energy kept her interest in passing events and useful- 
ness in her home. They had five children. They resided some years 
in Warner, later in Tilton on the Gale place. Three children survive, 
Mrs. Charles Boardman of Concord, Mrs, Nora LaBelle and Herman of 
Sanborntou. 

DiAXA Foss, b. Aug. 2, 1S31; ra.. May 5, 1S61, Norris Weeks of San- 
bornton, b. May 5, 1829. They have a son, Herman N. and two dau., 
Mrs. Fidelia F. Hill and Mary Bell, all of Sanbornton. 

JASON FOSS. 
(See portrait.) 

Jasox Foss was b. in N. April 4, 1834, and was a lifelong resident. 
He possessed more than ordinary good judgment and much executive 
ability. These traits were early recognized by his fellow-townsmen, 
who repeatedly called him to fill places of responsibility, and his faith- 
ful discharge of duty placed him for long terms among the officers of 
the town. He was also honored with more important trusts, being sent 
to the Legislature, 1888-'S9, and was also interested in the industrial 
prosperity of the town. After a long residence on the paternal acres 
he bought the George Hancock place on High St., repaired and enlarged 
the buildings, and for a time combined a wood and lumber business 
with general farming. 

He removed, in 1884, near the village where, with less exhaustive 
work, he filled up the passing years. He pui'chased the Pease Mill and 
manufactured finish lumber and builders' supplies, and was un- 
disputed authority in all matters pertaining to lumber and wood, and 
was often called upon as an expert in these matters. 

He m., May 28, 1871, Susan H. Hill, and their home has always dis- 
pensed the most unbounded hospitality, as she possessed that rare 
natiire that delighted in service. Her name was the synonym for all 
that is womanly and good and the memory of her charity and kindness 
of heart will ever remain with those who knew her. Mr. Foss was 
one of the charter members of Friendship Grange and its first master, 
and both were prominent in its working force. He was a member of 
the board of selectmen and a trustee of lona Savings Bank at the time 
of his death. Mr. and Mrs. Foss both d. of pneumonia Feb., 1903, 
within a few days. Their only child, Mary Evelyn, retains and re- 
mains in the home. 

Fidelia Foss, b. Aug. 29, 1836; remained after her mother's death, 
the faithful care-taker of the home. She m., 1888, Robert Rowe of 
Newport, and d. there Aug. 13, 1901. He d. Feb., 1902. 

Fourth Generation. 
Mary Evelyn Foss, b. at N. April 19, 1874, took preparatory course 
at Tilton Seminary and graduated at State Normal School in 1897. 
She has since been a teacher in Tilton and Northfleld graded school. 



120 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

FRENCH I. 

Solomon French came to N. from Candia and settled near Chestnut 
Pond. He m., Dec. 23, 1792, Hannah Smith, a neighbor, and had three 
dau. He m. a second time and had five children, four sons and one 
dau. A brother of Solomon m. Sarah Smith, sister to his wife, Hannah. 

Second Generation. 

(Children of Solomon and Hannah Smith French.) 
(B. at N.) 

Sally Fke.xch, b. 1795; m. Josiah Colby of Sandown, Oct. 23, 1819. 
They resided in East N. and had four children. They removed later 
to Belmont, where he d. (See Colby gen.) She m. (second), Ephraim 
Cross of West N. (See Cross gen.) 

Nicholas French m., March 23, 1853, Lovina Glines (see dines 
gen.), and resided on the Rand place near the schoolhouse. They had 
one dau. He d. July 16, 1861. She m. (second), Capt. Lyman Fellows, 
who d. April 20, 1885. She now resides at Laconia. 

Solomon French, Jr., b. at N. and d. at Bristol. 

Ruth French m. Leavitt of Meredith. 

(Children of Solomon and second wife.) 

Andrew French, b. March 20, 1807; m., Dec. 28, 1835, Nancy Good- 
win, b. at N. Feb. 15, 1811. Both d. at East N. He, Oct. 26, 1883; she. 
May 24, 1885. They had two sons. 

Hannah S. French. 

Mart A. French m., Feb. 1, 1838, Joseph Rand of N. (See Rand 
gen.) 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Andrew and Nancy Goodwin French.) 
(B. in N.) 

Lowell Mason French, b. at East N. June 12, 1837; m., Nov. 13, 1SG2, 
Amanda A. Gile and had six children. (See Gile gen.) Mr. French 
inherited the paternal acres, which he successfully tilled for many 
years. Compelled by failing health, he removed near the village in 
March, 1895. He was often called to fill town offices and was one of 
its selectmen in 1886, 1888, 1889 and 1901, and was justice of the 
peace for five years. Mr. and Mrs. French were charter members of 
Friendship Grange; have each held many of its offices. 

John Augustus French, b. at N. Oct. 21, 1848, and d. at the home, 
18G7. 

(Child of Nicholas and Lovina Glines French.) 

Ellen M. French, b. April 17, 1854; m., April 15, 1885, George F. 
McKenney of Laconia, where they now reside. They had one child, 
Harry Clifton, who d. July 23, 1S87, aged three months. 



GENEALOGIES. 121 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Lowell and Amanda Gile French.) 
(B. in N.) 

Chablks Alonzo French, b. Jan. 21, 1864; m., June 27, 1895, Arlinnia 
M. Hill of Tilton, where they reside. Thej' have three children, Leo 
€., Willie W. and Gust A. 

Bertha Alice French, b. Oct. 20, 1866; m., Dec. 20, 1893, Arthur A. 
Stevens of Franklin. They reside at N. He is a house builder. Mrs. 
.Stevens was educated at Tilton Seminary and was a teacher in N. 
schools until her marriage. 

Mabel Edna French, b. May 3, 1871; m.. May 24, 1899, Arthur J. 
Roy, a druggist, of Tilton. They reside on Bay St. They have one 
dau., Doris V. 

William Woodbury French, b. July 17, 1872; m., Oct. 24, 1894, Ellg 
A. Morrison. He d. very suddenly Aug. 21, 1897. He was a farmer 
on the homestead. 

Flora Gertrude French, b. May 19, 1878; m., June 8, 1899, Alfred 
Booth of Tilton. 

Minnie Lawrence French, b. Nov. 16, 1880. 



FRENCH 11. 

William French and two sisters came to N. from Sanbornton before 
their majority, about 1832. Their two guardians, Bradbury Morrison 
and Jeremiah Sanborn, purchased the farm now owned by George 
Chase, of Moses and Betsey French Cross, Dec. 26, 1809. Mr. French 
on attaining his majority, bought 25 acres of William Clough of Barn- 
stead, which is described as a "part of the Lindsey lot adjoining Sken- 
duggody Meadow." He m., in 1833, Susan Capen of Holden, Vt., and 
had one son. He d. April, 1839. She m. (second), Lyford Morrison. 
(See Morrison gen.) 

Second Generation. 

William C. French, b. at N. Jan. 1, 1S35; m., Nov., 1859, Mary Elisa- 
beth Brown, b. Jan. 28, 1838. (See Brown gen.) 

They resided on Park St. and later he became station agent at N. De- 
pot, where he remained for 30 years. He was one of the board of select- 
men for five years; collector for two, and was representative in 1858 
and 1866. He dealt much in cattle, and was postmaster 16 years. Mrs. 
French was his accountant and telegrapher and a business woman 
generally. They removed to the Chase farm on High St., where she 
-d. 1897. They had four children, two of whom d. in infancy. 

Third Generation. 

Nellie Susan French, b. July 19, 1864; m. Harold W. Cameron and 
d. at Maiden, Mass., 1895. They had one son, Carl Stewart Cameron, 
b. 1894, at Boston, Mass. 



122 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Harry Brown French, b. Dec. 7, 1865; m., 1888, Jeanette Seaver of 
Hillsborough Bridge, where he had charge of the railroad station. 
They had one dau. He has been for a term of years at Vancouver, B. 
C, and San Diego, Cal. He m. (second), Winnifred Gear. He is en- 
gaged in hotel business in Los Angeles. 

Willie P. French, b. at N. in 1881 ; d. in 1884. 

Fourth Generation. 
Marion V. French, b. at Hillsborough, 1890, resides at Vancouver. 



FRENCH III. 



Peter French was a native of Salisbury, Mass., b. in 1787; m., 1818^ 
Lydia Starbird of Strafford Bow Lake, b. March 19, 1793. He had been 
on a sailing vessel as sailor and was over 30 years of age. They 
first settled in Loudon. In 1828, they came to N. and bought the John 
Stevens farm and settled near His sister, Mrs. Benjamin Winslow. 
They spent their lives and d. there. He, Oct. 30, 1857; she, Jan. 15,. 
1869. She was a resolute woman, a fine singer and member of the 
newly formed Congregational Church and member of its choir. They 
had two children. 

Second Generation. 

AL5IIRA S. French, b. at Loudon Feb. 4, 1818; m., 1839, John G. Carl- 
ton of Derry. (See Carlton gen.) 

Cyrus Tucker French, b. at Loudon Jan. 25, 1826; completed his 
education at the old academy and at New Hampshire Conference Sem- 
inary under Prof. Dyer H. Sanborn, and was a skilful player of sev- 
eral instruments and a good singer. He was leader of the choir many 
years. He also served as clerk of the town. He m., Dec. 7, 1848, Mary, 
dau. of Nathaniel Herrick of Factory Village. He has always resided 
on the homestead and since her death, Oct. 12, 1899, has lived alone. 



FRENCH IV. 



Frank J. French (see portrait) came from Concord to N. in 1880 and 
purchased the Demore Wyatt farm at the head of Skenduggody Meadow, 
He was b. at Gilmanton in 1855 and m. Nettie M., dau. of Rev. John G, 
Munsey, Aug. 16, 1879. They carry on a milk farm with nearly a score 
of cows. Before coming to N. he was for eight years an overseer in the 
workshops of New Hampshire state prison. He is a Mason, member 
of Doric Lodge, St. Omer Chapter, of Franklin, and Mt. Horeb Com- 
mandery, Knights Templar, of Concord. They are Free Baptists in 
belief, but worship with Congregational Church. Mrs. French was edu- 
cated at Lebanon Female Seminary. He represented N. in the mem- 
orable Legislature of 1901. They have one son. 




FRANK J. FRENCH. 



GENEALOGIES. 123 



Second Generation. 



Harold Munsey French, b. at N. Dec. 31, 18S4; graduated from New 
Hampton Literary Institute, class of 1905. 



FRENCH V. 



JoHx W. French, b. at Cliichester Nov. 3, 1862; m., April 6, 1892, 
Mary S. Jones, b. at Canterbury Nov. 17, 1866. They came to N. Aug. 
11, 1899. He is a farmer and resides on the Thomas Lyford place on 
Zion's Hill. They are connected with the Northfield Grocery Co. and 
Mr. French has served the town as one of its auditors. They had three 
children. 

Second Generation. 

Lloyd R. French, b. at Laconia Aug. 15, 1895; d. at N. Aug. 20, 1902. 
Hazel Ardele French, b. at Laconia 1898. 
Ruth Bv-elyn French, b. at N. March 28, 1901. 



FRENCH VI. 

George French, called "Big George," owned the farm on Oak Hill 
adjoining his Uncle George and cousin of the same name. He m. Nancy 
Buswell, b. at N., 1820, and had eight children. This farm was sold to 
Rev. John Chamberlain and they went to reside with a sister, Mrs. Amos 
Frye of Hopkinton, where both d. and were brought to Oak Hill for 
burial. 

Second Generation. 
(All b. at N.) 

RoxiE Jane French, b. 1848; m. Aurelius Dyer of Penacook and d. 
at N. April 26, 1875. They had a son, Willie, who d. in childhood. 

RuFus French, b. 1S49, was fatally injured by falling backward from 
a moving wagon, Nov. 29, 1856. 

Hannah French m. Orville Cummings and resides at Worcester, 
Mass. 

Ella French, d. at 12, and Sarah at 20. 

Clara French resides in the home of her uncle at Hopkinton. 

Lizzie French, m. Herman Sanborn and resides in Manchester; has 
two children. 



FRENCH VII. 



George E. French, b. 1781; came to Oak Hill, N., about 1806, from 
Billerica, Mass. He had a family of four. He d. April 29, 1862; his 
wife, Dec. 8, 1855, aged 73. They were general farmers and devoted 
Methodists. 



124 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

Second Generation. 

Mary French, b. May 16, ISOG; m. Joseph Brown of Canterbury as 
his second wife. 

Anna French, b. Dec. 31, 1810. 

George French, Jr., called "Little George," b. Dec. 9, 1815; m. Lydia 
Buswell, b. at N., 1820. They had one son, James H. Buswell, who d. 
in boyhood April 2S, 1857. They gave a home to several orphan chil- 
dren and were unselfish Christian people. Mrs. French, after his 
death, April 26, 1874, sold the farm to Daniel Drown and removed to 
Tilton, where she d. May 4, 1883. Mr. Drown d. at Oak Hill May 31, 
1881, and his family moved to Webster. 

Hannah French, b. March 24, 1818; m. Osgood Foster and removed 
to Canterbury. 

Martha French, b. Sept. 10, 1820; m. Hammond of Bristol. 

Note. — This family gave the little burying ground at Oak Hill for a 
free neighborhood burial place and the entire family are buried there. 



GALE. 

Benjamin Gale, b. at Fairfax. Vt., Dec. 21, 1833; m. (first), Nov. 1, 
1864, Mrs. Julia A. Calef of Salisbury, b. Aug. 15, 1835, who d. May 3, 
1866. He m. (second), Oct. 31, 1867, Hattie F. Weeks of Gilford, b. 
June 11, 1842. He was in the Civil War at the age of 29. (See Boys in 
Blue.) Later he traded at Franklin Falls. They had seven children, 
four of whom d. in infancy. Mr. Gale came to N. in 1881 and bought 
the Thurston place on the Bean Hill road. He w^as employed as dyer 
at the Buell Mills until his death in 1894. He served as selectman 
and member of school board three years. She d. July 26, 1902. 

Second Generation. 

Elmer R. Gale, b. at Franklin Falls July 15, 1875; m., Aug. 5, 1901, 
Florence M. Clark of Tilton. He was in the dry goods trade at Tilton 
for several years, being a member of the firm of Gale & Horner, at 
present Elmer R. Gale, and was clerk of the town three years. He has 
lately erected a house on Summer St., near the town hall. 

Ernest F. Gale, b. at Franklin Falls March 31, 1879; m., Dec. 25, 
1902, Sadie F. Ward of Rochester, where he resides and is employed 
by the Rochester Beef Co. They have one child, Marjory Harriet, b. 
March 4, 1905. 

Grace E. Gale, b .at N. Aug. 30, 1882; now resides with Mrs. George 
F. Weeks on Bay St., and is employed by the Ideal Manufacturing Co. 



GARVIN. 



Chauncy Garvin came to N. in 1853. He m., Dec. 31, 1832, Sally 
Tibbetts, b. Jan. 1, 1801. He was a coarse stone-worker. They had 




BENJAMIN F. GALE. 



GENEALOGIES. 125 

three children, one, William, d. young. The home was at the corner 
of Fish St. and the Wedgewood road. She d. Sept. G, 1875, and he, 
Sept. 27, 1883. They are buried by the town house. 

Second Generation. 

Martha A. Garvin, b. May 21, 1838; m., Nov. 19, 18G0, James Kennard 
of Manchester, where she d. Jan. 18, 1904. 

Sarah Jane Garvin, b. Oct. 10, 1840; d., Dec. 31, 1843. The Garvin 
homestead is now owned by Mrs. Mary E. FoUett. 



GARLAND I. 



Charles Garland, b. at Salisbury, came to N. Factory Village about 
1835; m., Nov. 24, 1841, Mrs. Jane Morrison, widow of John Lowe San- 
born. He was bookkeeper in the Franklin Mills and a deacon of the 
Christian Church. They had four children, all of whom went West 
except Charles F., who was drowned at 15 years of age, and John L. 
He d. at Godfrey, HI., March 11, 1879, but was buried in Franklin Ceme- 
tery. She d. at Hampton Beach Aug. 15, 1880. He sold to John Carl- 
ton in 1859. The house was originally built in the Kezar garden before 
the Gerrish road was opened. 



GARLAND II. 



Moses Garland, who spent his early life with the Shakers, came to 
N. in 1849 and purchased the farm of Elisha Lougee. Renouncing his 
early belief, he m. Mary E. Kingsbury of Newton, Mass. They had one 
dau., Fannie, who resides at the home in Tilton, which her father 
bought when he sold his farm to Hezekiah Bean of Upper Gilmanton. 
Mr. Garland was sexton of Park Cemetery for many years and d. in 
1888. Mrs. Garland was an invalid for many years and d. Nov. 4, 1891. 



GARDNER. 



Alfred A. Gardner was b. at Bedford, Mass., May 29, 1823; m., Jan. 
1, 1846, Laura Cheney, b. at Londonderry Dec. 13, 1826. Mrs. Gardner 
d. Aug. 23, 1869. He d. May 10, 1877. They resided at N. Factory 
Village, now Franklin Falls. 

Second Generation. 

Orison H. Gardner, b. at Manchester Sept. 1, 1846, and d. Feb. 3, 
1903. 

Ida Lisette Gardner, b. at Manchester Aug. 18, 1849, and d. Oct. 26, 
1854. 

loLA Laurette Gardner, b. at Manchester Aug. 19, 1851. 



126 HISTORY OF NORTHPIELD. 

William Alberto Gaednee, b. at Franklin Aug. 26, 1853; m., Jan. 20, 
1876, Isabelle Adams of Franklin and had two children. He came to 
N. in 1887 and established a grocery store in Tilton. He represented 
the town in the Legislature of 1899 and has held the office of treasurer 
in Union School District many years. After 14 years' residence on 
Elm St., N., he removed to Tilton in 1899. 

C.\BEiE Belle Gardner, b. at Fi'anklin Dec. 3, 1855. 

Third Generation. 

Lauea Mat Gardner, b. at Franklin May 9, 1899; m., Jan. 1, 10t)3, 
Willis Horner of Tilton and they have one dau., Isabelle, b. Sept. 20, 
1904. He was for several years a meriaber of the firm of Gale & Horner, 
dry goods. They reside at Thornton. 

Fred Alberto Gardner, b. at Franklin July 16, 1883, after a course 
at Tilton Seminary, graduated in the class of 1904. The following year 
he entered the State Agricultural College at Durham. He was a page 
in the New Hampshire Legislature at the session of 1901. 



GATES. 



Oscar Gates came from Lebanon and bought the Gibson place of 
Ira Oliver. He m. Nettie Hoyt of Lebanon and, after some years of 
farming here, sold to Walter Heath and bought the Rogers farm on 
Bean Hill road. In 1898 he removed to Salisbury. The place is now 
owned by Nelson Duval. 



GERRISH. 



Joseph Gerrish, b. March 7, 1777, was the son of Colonel Henry and 
grandson of Captain Stephen. He settled in N. in 1804 on the Merri- 
mack River opposite the farm of the late Daniel Webster and was an 
extensive farmer and dealer in real estate. Paul Gerrish v,-as granted 
the 100-acre lot No. 176 and this was a part of his farm. He m. (pub.), 
July 11, 1811, Susan Hancock, b. July 13, 1791, and d. Nov., 1849. It is 
said of his father that "he was one of the first settlers in Boscawen and 
had all the qualities to make him a leader in any community." His 
wife was Elizabeth, sister of Rev. William Patrick of Canterbury. 
They had seven sons and four dau., and lived to see them well settled. 
Joseph Gerrish d. May 25, 1851. They had 13 children. 

Second Generation. 
(All b. at N.) 

Absolom Gerrish, b. June 22, 1809, removed to Elkhorn, 111., where 

lie lived and d. He m., June 5, 1837, . She d. Sept. 2, 1874. 

Milton Geeeish, b. Nov. 29, 1812; m. Olive Dimick of Hartford, Vt., 



GENEALOGIES. 127 

and lived on an intervale farm just south of his father's. In early life 
he, with his brother-in-law, conducted an extensive dry goods business 
at Sanbornton Bridge, and were burned out at the "corner," and he 
returned to the farm, although he was never wholly a farmer. He was 
an insurance agent and dealt largely in wool and hides. He became 
a man of wealth. They had three children. He d. Nov. 24, 1885. Of 
their three children, two sons, Frank M. and Charles, constituted the 
firm of Gerrish Bros., tanners, at Manchester for years and the dau., 
Clara, became the wife of Dr. Boutwell of Manchester. 

Cyxthia a'. Gerrish, b. Feb. 8, 1813; m., Sept. 7, 1835, Jacob Moore 
of Canterbury. They removed to Grysville, 111., in 1849. They had 
five children. 

Almira Gerrish, b. March 13, 1815; m., Oct. 4, 1838, Charles H. 
Ayers of Canterbury. (See Ayers gen.) She d. Feb. 23, 1854. 

Louisa Gerrish, b. Jan. 28, 1817; m., March 19, 1845, Dea. Nathan B. 
Stearns of Lebanon. She d. Dec. 29, 1848. 

LuciEX Gerrish, b. Feb. 8, 1819; m., Oct. 13, 1846, Mary Dimiek of 
Hartford, Vt., and had one dau., Sarah. He resided at Tilton, where 
he conducted a livery and sale stable, and d. there July 26, 1859. 

Stephen Gerrish, b. Nov. 29, 1821; m., 1855, Mrs. Alice Hammond of 
Franklin. He occupied the homestead many years but removed to 
Franklin and engaged in the grocery trade and later had a sale and 
livery stable. He d. Sept. 5, 1888. Mrs. Gerrish d. Aug. 20, 1896. 

Leonard Gerrish, b. June 11, 1823; m. Emily Gerrish of Boscawen 
and had two dau. He was an extensive farmer on a part of the home 
farm and erected a fine house. He combined many kinds of business 
with agriculture. He was a dealer in horses and carriages and was 
also a lumberman. Losses followed and he confined himself to farming 
alone some years before his death, which occurred Oct. 8, 1893. Mrs. 
Gerrish d. May 27, 1879. 

Susan Gerrish, b. July 25, 1825; m., Jan. 27, 1852, Dr. Luther C. Bean. 
They settled at Penacook and later removed to Chicago. She d. at 
Lebanon Sept. 3, 1869. They had two sons and a dau., Charles, William 
and Susan Alice. Only the dau. survives. 

Joseph Gerrish, b. May 2, 1827, is now located at Rochester, Minn. 

Alfred A. Gerrish, b. July 4, 1829, was a graduate of Dartmouth 
College and Medical School. He was also a private pupil of Dr. Charles 
H. Peaslee of Hanover. He graduated March 3, 1853. He located first 
at Mt. Vernon. In 1865 he went to Lowell, Ind., where he remained 
until his death July, 1903. Aside from professional prominence he 
v.-as a public-spirited citizen, always to be found on the side of tem- 
perance and education. 

Carlos Gerrish, b. April 17, 1831, went overland to California in 1852. 

Ellen M. Gereish, b. Oct. 19, 1833; m., Oct. 15, 1854, Charles H. 
Ayers of Canterbury and had one dau. (See Ayers gen.) 



128 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of Leonard and Emily Gerrish.) 

Josephine M. Gerrish, b. Oct. 17, 1851; m. Thompson Perkins of 
Boston. They reside in Middleboro, Mass. 

Helen L. Gerrish, b. Aug. G, 1858, resides at Franklin Falls. 



GIBSON or GIPSON. 

The wife of John Forrest, who came from Canterbury to live on 
the Leighton farm, was Elinor Gipson of Canterbury. They were m. in 
Canterbury and had nine children. 

Their dau., Elinor, m. Jeremiah Gibson Nov. 21, 1776, and he at once 
went to war. He was then 25 years of age. Her sister, Anna Forrest, 
m. James Gibson, who was a nephew of the above-named Jeremiah, and 
d. Oct. 18, 1783. He was a son of James, who is on record as a scout 
along the Pemigewasset and its branches under Lieutenant Miles. He 
was in the War of the Revolution, in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment, 
and d. March 3, 1825. They had a son, James, who m. Jane Forrest, 
and had 10 children. She d. Jan. 11, 1819. 

Second Generation. 

Polly (Mary) Gibson, b. in Canterbury; m. William Hancock, and 
resided in N. They had seven children. 

Agnes Gibson, b. in N. Aug. 15, 1791; m. Moses Heath in 1816. (See 
Heath gen.) 

Nancy Gibson, b. July 25, 1796, in Sanbornton; resided with her 
brother, Samuel, and d. at Franklin. 

Betsey Gibson d. in infancy. 

Rodney Gibson, b. April 8, 1799; m. Martha Hancock, b. 1796. They 
were farmers and lived below Hodgdon Hill, where she d. April 7, 
1858. He went to reside with his son, Charles, near Portage City, 
Wis. 

Samuel Gibson, b. Dec, 1806; d., June 9, 1873. 

Jeremiah Gibson, b. Sept. 8, 1814; d., Dec, 1845. 

Ebenezer Gibson m. and lived in Concord for several years and later 
moved to California. 

Benjamin F. Gibson became a physician and resided in Indiana. 

James Gibson went to California and d. there. 



GILE, GUILE or GUILD. 

Jonathan Gile, b. 1740, came to the north fields of Canterbury and 
was employed at the Cross settlement. He bought many tracts of land, 
some 400 acres in all, covered by no less than eight deeds. He estab- 
lished his family on half of 100-acre lot 194, bought of Peter Hanaford 



GENEALOGIES. 129 

with dwelling house and barn for £108. The deed is dated Jan. 10, 
1782. The farm is now owned by Albert Titcomb. Probably all his 
10 children were b. there. His wife was Sarah Sherburn, whom he 
m. in 1773. He d. 1817. She d. in 1815, and they are both buried in 
the Williams burying ground. He was a soldier in the French and 
Indian War and also in the Revolution. (See Revolutionary Soldiers.) 

Second Generation. 

Rachel Gile, b. May 3, 1781; m., July, 1808, Thomas Wadleigh of N. 
He was private secretary and body-guard of Lieutenant Glidden. (See 
Wadleigh gen.) After his death she m. (second), Samuel Dalton. 
(See Dalton gen.) 

Abel Gile, b. May 16, 1787; m., 1814, Statira Forrest and removed 
to Danville, Vt. His brother, James, also lived there. 

Thomas Ghle, b. Sept. 2, 1789; m., Jan., 1818, Jane Forrest and bought 
the farm of Gideon Sawyer on Bean Hill. They set out in life with 
small means but good courage and fertile acres. After a long and 
useful life they rest in the little enclosure opposite the home. Mrs. Gile 
d. in 1856. He d. in 1869. They had two sons, one of whom d. at 25, 
unmarried. 

ExocH Gile, b. May 23, 1794; m., 1816, Polly Lyford of N., b. 1798. 
They resided on a part of the homestead and were farmers. They had 
two dau. and a son, Rufus, who d. in childhood. Mrs. Gile d. April 
24, 1854. He d. Jan. 6, 1871. 

Sarah Gile, b. June 22, 1783; m. (pub.), Oct. 9, 1808, John Pearson 
Sanborn of East N., b. Sept. 25, 1794. He was a farmer in Palo, HI., and 
d. there May 30, 1870. 

Capt. Jonathan Gile, Jr., b. Jan. 22, 1779; m. Hannah Haines of N. 
He was a soldier in the War of 1812, serving in the Fourth United 
States Regiment, Western Brigade, and was at the Battle of Tippecanoe. 
He was a captain of artillery and was drowned. They had one dau. 

Joseph Gile, b. June 22, 1785; m. Polly Greenough of Canterbury. 
He was a farmer and bought a part of his father's estate next west, and 
erected buildings, which he soon sold to Joseph Marden, and moved 
over the Ledges, where he located on the western half of lots 176 and 
177 of the original survey, then owned by Daniel Blanchard. He added 
to this from time to time. The buildings were located on a slope over- 
looking the Merrimack Valley. (See Gile Homestead.) They had 
three sons and two dau. Mr. Gile d. Feb. 22, 1828. She d. June 28, 
1863. They are buried at the Hodgdon Cemetery. 

Amos Gile, b. May 5, 1795; m., May 26, 1819, Mehitable Forrest of 
Canterbury, b. July 28, 1791. He inherited one half of the paternal 
acres, which he tilled until 1841 when he sold to Hiram Glines and 
moved to Canaan, where he d. 28 years later. She d. Aug. 20, 1S49. 
He was twice m. They reared a family of eight. 



130 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Betsey Gile, b. July 11, 1798; m. (first) (pub.), Feb. 11, 1821, Jona- 
than Glines and had one son. (See Glines gen.) Later she m. Allison 
McDaniel. (See McDaniel gen.) 

Third Generation. 
(Child of Jonathan and Hannah Haines Gile.) 

Hanxah Gile, b. Feb. 6, 1805; m., Oct. 15, 1828, Sidney Forrest of 
Canterbury, who first established a home on Range 4 by the Rogers 
meadow. His ambitions were larger than his rocky farm and he soon 
removed West This house was moved to Sanbornton Bridge and was a 
part of the Deacon Hall house by the tannery. Mr. Forrest after many 
years returned to Belmont, where he d. in 1871. She d. July 14, 1891. 
They had a family of seven, all b. at Porter, O., except one b. at N., who 
d. in infancy. (See Forrest gen.) 

(Children of Joseph and Polly Greenough Gile.) 

(All b. at N.) 

ALFRED A. GILE. 

(See portrait.) 

Alfred Arousirs Gile was b. at N. Oct. 9, 1807, and d. at the home- 
stead, which was then a part of Franklin, Oct. 31, 1882. He m., 1833, 
Mary Lucinda Kern, b. at Pottsville, Pa., June 5, 1811, and d. at 
Franklin Dec. 12, 1880. They are buried at Franklin. Mr. Gile was, 
although a farmer, thoughtful in his work and was self-educated far 
in advance of the point where his school work terminated. He was an 
exhaustive and discriminating reader and became familiar with the 
classics in middle life. He was greatly interested in local affairs and 
as superintendent of schools took a deep interest in not only the in- 
tellectual but the physical betterment of the young and was especially 
qualified for this work. He was chairman of the board of selectmen 
from 1848 to 1852. The homestead overlooking the Merrimack, the 
Webster place, now the Orphans' Home, commanded also a fine view 
of Kearsarge and Ragged Mountain and is one of the most attractive 
in the state (see view), and the well-appointed home has been oc- 
cupied by some of the family for many years and kept until 1904, for 
over a century, in the Gile name. 

Mary Flagg Gile, b. 1810; m., about 1840, John F. Barr of Danvers, 
where they lived and d., he in 1872, she in 1888. A gift to Union Church 
in memory of her brother, Alfred A. Gile, and a bequest to the Tilton 
and Northfield Congregational Church keep her in grateful remem- 
brance. They had no children. 

Thomas Gile, b. 1814, was a farmer and on the breaking out of the 
Civil War followed the example of his uncle and grandfather. (See 
Boys in Blue.) 

Abagail Greenough Gile, b. 1818; m. Emery Batchelder of Loudon, 
and d. in 1885. 




ALFRED A. GILE. 




MRS. ALFRED GILE. 



GENEALOGIES. 131 

(Children of Thomas and Jane Forrest Gile.) 
(B. at N.) 

William Forrest Gile, b. April 3, 1S20; d., unmarried, May 15, 1845. 

Charles Aloxzo Gile, b. July 21, 1822; m. Mary J. Woodbury of N. 
and resided on the home place. They were energetic, prosperous farm- 
ers and had two sons and two dau. Mr. Gile d. in 1863, the result of 
being thrown from his carriage three days previous. Mrs. Gile still re- 
mains in the home. 

(Children of Enoch and Polly Lyford Gile.) 
(B. at N.) 

Sarah Sherburn Gile, b. Aug., 1817; m., 1835, Lyman P. Lawrence 
of Boston and had a son, Laroy P., now of Ocean Spray, Mass., and 
dau., Ellen S. 

Hanxah Lyford Gile, b. Sept. 13, 1829; m., Jan. 15, 1855, Asa Lom- 
bard, a merchant of Boston, now of Reading, Mass. They have three 
children, Nellie, Willard and Mary. 

(Children of Amos and Mehitable Forrest Gile.) 
(All b. at N.) 

William Forrest Gile, b. June 17, 1820; m., Dec. 1, 1842, Mary Leeds 
of Canaan and had one dau., Helen. Mrs. Gile d. May 13, 1846. He m. 
(second), Harriet Lee of Hartland, Vt., and had a son and dau. He 
moved to Manly, la. 

Dorothy Caroline Gile, b. April 23, 1S22; m., 1842, Alvah Gilman of 
Canaan. They had two sons, Sidney, who d. in 1866, and Horatio of 
Hood's Farms at Derry, and one dau., Aurilla, wife of Charles J. Rand 
of Loudon. Mr. Gilman was in youth captain of infantry in the New 
Hampshire Militia. He served as a nine-months' volunteer in the Civil 
War, was promoted for merit and was a corporal in Company F, Fif- 
teenth Regiment. He d. of malaria at Baton Rouge, La., June 3, 1863, 
just as he was to be discharged. 

Hannah Forrest Gile, b. June 26, 1824; m. (first), Isaac Hanscomb 
of Hanover. They had one son, Charles Forrest, now of Johnstown 
Centre, Wis. She m. (second), Dea. Washington Clark of Franklin 
Falls, Jan., 1874, and d. March 21, 1876. 

Mary Ann Gile, b. Jan. 28, 1826; m., July 7, 1851, Rev. Nathan 
Jones, a Free Baptist minister at Hanover, Canaan and elsewhere. 

He was also a manufacturer of hammers at Canaan, always preach- 
ing on the Sabbath, without pay, until the last ten years of his life 
at Campton, where he d. June 13, 1894. Mrs. Jones was a teacher 
previous to her marriage and was her husband's faithful and worthy 
assistant in his church work. She resides with her only child, Arden 
F., at Concord. 

Lucy C. Gile, b. Nov. 8, 1830; d., at Canaan, in 1857. 

Maria F. Gile, b. Nov. 2, 1834; m., Nov. 12, 1857, Ira L. Gile of En- 



132 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

field. He was injured by a fall and d. a year later. She m. (second), 
John Worthen, now of Escondida, Cal. She d. at Enfield Aug. 27, 1877. 
Joseph Hexky Gile, b. June 27, 1837, remained on the farm until his 
enlistment in the Seventh New Hampshire Regiment and went to Fer- 
nandina. He was at Fort Wagner. His last letter spoke of the coming 
attack; he was never heard from. (See Boys in Blue.) 

Fourth Generation. 

(Children of Alfred and Mary Kern Gile.) 

(B. at N.) 

Joseph Gile, b. Oct. 14, 1S35. (See Teachers of N.) 

Mary Margaret Gile, b. March 28, 1837. (See portrait and sketch. 
Teachers of N.) 

Peter Kern Gile, b. Jan. 14, 1839; m., 1885, Olive A. Wadleigh of N. 
He resided in and carried on the homestead for many years, retiring 
on account of ill health. He bought in 1903 the Wadleigh homestead, 
where he now resides. He has been a specialist in fruit raising, often 
harvesting 3,000 bushels of choice fruit a year. 

Emma Matilda Gile, b. Jan. 25, 1841, was educated at the New Hamp- 
shire Conference Seminary and was a teacher for some years previous 
to her marriage to John A. Brown of Philadelphia, Pa. After a resi- 
dence at Greely, Col., she returned to the home and remained until its 
sale. She has one son, Alfred Brown. They reside at Franklin Falls. 

William Augustus Gile, b. June 5, 1843. (See portrait and sketch in 
Lawyers of N.) 

Francis Alfred Gile, b. July 19, 1845, served in the Civil War. (See 
Boys in Blue.) He m., July 9, 1870, Ann C. Gilmore of Jersey City. 
He taught penmanship, studied medicine and graduated at New York, 
where he first went into practice. He is now a physician at Orange. 
N. J. 

Helen C. Gile d. at six years of age. 

Lucia K. Gile, b. May 22, 1852, graduated at the New Hampshire 
Conference Seminary, class of 1872. She later studied elocution at the 
Boston School of Oratory. She m. Edward F. Fassett and for a while 
resided at Kansas City, Mo., and later at Portland, Me. She has four 
sons and a daughter, viz. : Francis, Wallace, Willard, who d. at six years, 
Malcom, Alice and Harold. 

(Children of Alonzo and Mary Woodbury Gile.) 

Amanda A. Gile, b. March 12, 1846; m., Nov. 12, 1861, Lowell M. 
French, a prosperous farmer of East N. They removed — his health 
failing — to Park St., in the spring of 1895. They are enthusiastic 
Grangers. They have six children. (See French gen.) 

Belle Woodbury Gile, b. May 25, 1852, was a teacher for a long term 
of years. She m., Dec. 5, 1893, Frank Robertson of N. (See Robertson 
gen.) 




I— I 

o 

Q 

H 

1-1 

H 

[^ 



GENEALOGIES. 133 

Cliff Foebest Gile, b. Aug. 15, 1856; m., May 22, 1883, M. Etta Hills 
of N., b. July 21, 1854. He had for several years a wheat ranch in Cali- 
fornia. He returned and purchased a grain mill at Newport, where 
they reside. They have one child, Leland Warren, b. Dec. 11, 1883. 
Mr. Gile has held various town offices and is a K. of P. 

Clyde Aiibbose Gile, b. March 6, 1860; m., Sept. 18, 1895, Mary A. 
Robertson of N., b. Aug. 9, 1868. They reside on the paternal acres and 
are general farmers. They are members of Friendship Grange and 
have three children: Evelyn Ruby, b. 1898; Stanley Clyde, b. 1901; and 
Alonzo Robertson, b. 1904. 

Mr. Gile was a charter member of Friendship Grange and has taken 
premiums for meritorious exhibits at the annual fairs, not the least 
being for the handsomest baby. Miss Evelyn. 



OILMAN I. 

Jonathan Gilmax was b. at Exeter Dec. 5, 1761. His father, Samuel, 
is said to have been a sailor from the coast of Maine. He bought 500 
acres around Chestnut Pond. Jonathan m., Sept. 3, 1790, Sarah TVIiit- 
cher, b. May 20, 1774, and settled in N. in 1789. He had been a Revo- 
lutionary soldier and was at Bunker Hill. They had 14 children. 

Mr. Gilman was a trusted business man of the town. He d. Nov. 25, 
1847. She d. April 4, 1855. 

Second Generation. 

(All b. at N.) 

NAxcr GiLiiAX, b. Jan. 3, 1791; m., May 14, 1820, Jonathan Clough. 
(See Clough gen.) 

JosiAH GiLMAX d., in infancy, Dec, 1792. 

Betsey Gilmax, b. May 30, 1794; m. (pub.), June 20, 1814, Stephen 
Haines of West N. 

Sally Giliiax, b. July 17, 1796; m., June 19, 1814, King L. Hills, and 
removed to Sheffield, Vt. After his death, Dec. 22, 1863, she removed 
to the West. (See Hills gen.) She d. April 4, 1900. 

JOHX Taylob Gilsiax, b. Aug. 30, 179S; m. Betsey Rogers, b. July 1, 
1804, and removed to Columbia, where she d. in 1888. They had four 
children: Betsey, Jonathan, John and Sarah. He d. Jan. 11, 1882. 

William Gilmax, b. Feb. 15, 1801; m., 1831, Nancy Smith. They 
were farmers in various places in town and also in the West. Later 
in life they moved to Lexington, Mass., where they celebrated in 1881 
her 70th birthday and golden wedding. (See Smith gen.) 

Maby W. Gilmax, b. July 25, 1803; m., Sept. 3, 1820, John Annis of 
Dunbarton. They removed to Columbia, where he was a farmer. 

Jaxe W. Gilmax, b. Nov. 6, 1S05; m. Wesley Knowles and resided 
on his father's homestead. (See Knowles gen.) She d. Sept. 20, 
1859. 



134 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Hakriet Oilman, b. Feb. 6, 1811; m. Charles, son of Walker Buzzell, 
and built the house now occupied by Deacon Abbott. After some years 
they removed to Annawan, 111., where he d. Mr. Buzzell was a clothier 
for Benjamin Chase in his early life. She lives in Chicago at an ex- 
treme age. 

Charles W. Giljian, b. Aug. 6, 1815; m. Olive Ann Whitcher. They 
resided on the homestead and had a son and dau., who removed to the 
West with their parents in 1856. Mrs. Oilman, 1st, d. Aug., 1S4S. He 
m. (second), Nancy Til ton of Meredith. 

The farm was sold Jan. 29, 1856, to Thomas Poor of Thornton. (See 
Poor gen.) 

Harrison Oilman, b. May 30, 1818, d., in early manhood, unmarried, 
Aug. 19, 1834. 



OILMAN II. 

Andrew Oilman, b. 1762, came from Oilford and was a brickmaker. 
He carried on a mill near the present Oranite Mill for some years and 
d. there Oct. 16, 1842. He was a Free Baptist deacon. 

Second Generation. 

Nathaniel Oilman, b. April 1, 1793, in Oilford, was a farmer on 
what became later the town farm. He removed later to the corner of 
the Sanborn road in Tilton near the Shaker Bridge, where he man- 
ufactured sleighs. He m. (first), Sally Smith of Oilford, who d. May 
17, 1840. He m. (second), Aug. IS, 1842, Sally Philbrook, who d. June 
4, 1865. He d. April 6, 1869. He had 10 children but two of whom 
resided in N. 

Third Generation. 

Deborah Oilman, b. March, 1816; m., Oct. 4, 1840, David C. Tebbetts 
of Oilmanton. She d. 1850. (See Tebbetts gen.) 

Harriet Oilman, b. April 2, 1818; resided at Meredith; unmarried. 

Alice Oilman d. at her father's, aged 31; unmarried. 

Maria J. Oilman, b. May 25, 1822; m., Feb. 6, 1850, Aaron Veasey of 
N. (See Veasey gen.) 

Alfred Cogswell Oilman, b. Jan. 7, 1824; m. Hannah Mahoney, and 
resided in Charlestown, Mass. 

Almira Oilman, b. May 20, 1829; m., Feb., 1867, Oeorge W. Riley 
of N. (See Riley gen.) 

Ebenezer Smith Oilman, b. Aug. 8, 1831; d., April 8, 1861. 

Daniel Smith Oilman, b. Jan. 8, 1835; worked at Brooklyn, N. Y.; 
served in the Fifteenth Regiment; m.. May 31, 1861, Abby Young. He 
had three children. 



GENEALOGIES- 135 

OILMAN III. 

SiMox GiLiiAx, b. 1771, lived on the Fred Flanders place in the part 
of N. ceded to Franklin. He was a farmer and m., Dec. 12, 1796, Nancy 
Forrest, dau. of William, 4th, and had three children. 

Second Generation. 

Sally Oilman, b. at N. Dec. 18, 1802; m., Dec. 18, 1825, Thomas Dear- 
born Lyford of N. (See Lyford gen.) 

Nancy Oilman, b. at N.; m., Nov. 1, 1826, John Kent of N. 

Joseph Oilman, b. at N., 1809; m. Mrs. Liirana Oilman, his brother's 
widow. They had two sons, Horace and Stephen, 2d., who resided in 
the West. The latter is a manufacturer in Davenport, la. 

Stephen Oilman, b. at N., 1814; m. (pub.), April 20, 1836, Lurana 
Ooodwin of East N. He d. Feb., 1845. She m. (second), (see above). 

John Mack Oilman was a trader at the old meeting-house and it was 
at his store that the exhumed body of Moses Danforth was taken. 
(See story elsewhere.) He fled to the West and returned but once for 
a short visit. 



OILMAN IV. 

Frank Augustus Oilman came to N. from Tilton in 1894. He was 
b. in Canterbury April 29, 1864; m., Feb. 15, 1889, Maud W. Conant of 
Canterbury. They resided in Tilton some years, coming later to their 
newly-erected home on Howard Ave. Mr. Oilman is a mason, builder 
and contractor and is a member of Harmony Lodge, I. O. 0. F. Mrs. 
Oilman was educated at Lynn, Mass., and taught in Chichester, Can- 
terbury and Vershire, Vt, and is a Past Master of Friendship Orange. 
They have one dau.. Marguerite. 



OILMAN V. 

Waed E. Oilman, son of Joshua, b. at Oilford Sept., 1824; m. Eliza 
Dorr of Dover, b. 1822. He was a carpenter and came to N. in 1850 
from Lawrence. They had three sons. He was in the Civil War. (See 
Boys in Blue.) She d. Sept. 16, 1861. He d. at N. Feb. 6, 1898. 

Second Oeneration. 

John Everett Oilman, b. at Lawrence, Mass., Dec. 25, 1848; m., Ori- 
anna J. Nudd of Canterbury, July, 1873. They have resided in N., 
where he was a stone mason and general farm hand; now living in 
Tilton. They had a family of 13; only seven survive. 

Samuel C. Oilman, b. at N. Nov. 25, 1851; m. (first), Melissa J, 
Piper (see Piper gen.); m. (second), Mrs. Caroline Hancock Tebbetts 
Dec 14, 1897. She d. Jan. 23, 1904. He still resides at the home on 
Bay St. and is employed at O. H. Tilton's hosiery mill. 



136 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Albert H. Gilmax, b. at Sanbornton Nov. 5. 1854; m., Dec. 12, 1878, 
Eva Olena Shaw, b. at Canterbury March 24, 1854. He is foreman in 
the case room at G. H. Tilton's mill and resides on Hills St. 

Third Generation. 

(Children of John E. and Orianna Nudd Gilman.) 

Twins, b. April 6, 1876; d., in infancy. 

Chakles Everett Gilmax, b. at Canterbury April 19, 1878, is a weaver 
employed by the Elm Mills Manufacturing Co 

Willie Olin Gilmax, b. at Belmont May 11, 1880; m. Eva M. Straw of 
Franklin April, 1901. They have two children and reside at Tilton. 
He is a weaver at Carter's Mills. 

Fred Leox Gilman, b. at N. May 10, 1882, is a general farm hand. 

Cora May Gilman, b. 1884; John, b. 1887; Ella and Ellon, twins, b. 
1889, and Leon, b. 1894, reside with their parents. 

(Child of A. H. and Eva Shaw Gilman.) 

Ward Eugene Gilman, b. at Canterbury, N. H., Oct. 22, 1879, resides 
with his parents and is employed at G H. Tilton's hosiery mill. 



GILMAN VI. 

LxTTHER C. Gilman came to N. in 1889. He was b. in Sanbornton 
July 12, 1851; m., Sept. 17, 1887, Annie Ramsey, b. April 9, 1862, at 
Caspar, Fife, Scotland. They resided on Gale Ave. until their removal 
to their new home in Tilton. 

They have one dau. His grandfather and great-grandfather were 
both drowned in Sanbornton Bay in nearly the same spot, and his 
father was killed by the cars near by. 

Second Generation. 
Janet Maud Gilman, b. at Tilton March 3, 1889, is a student at Til- 
ton Seminary. 



GLIDDEN. 



Charles Glidden was one of the most unique characters among the 
early settlers of N. He was born in Maine in 1744 and became a sailor 
boy. In the deed to the first land purchased in town he is called mari- 
ner, in another husbandman and, still later, Charles Glidden, gentleman. 

He served as a boy in the French and Indian War and was at the 
taking of Quebec by General Wolfe in 1759 and with General Amherst 
at the taking of Montreal in 1760 at 16 years of age. 

He was at the second siege of Louisburg, it is said, and was one 
of the 22 who signed a memorial to the "Honorable Assembly of His 
Majesty's Province of New Hampshire," complaining "that their food 



GENEALOGIES. 137 

was insuflBcient; that they were kept on duty often for 24 hours in 
constant 'hassards' and hardships with no hot meat and no fruit." 
They also called the officers "tyrants" and their commissary a "griping 
oppressor" and ask to be heard. The petition was considered by the 
•council and a bounty of 50 shillings voted to every volunteer at Louis- 
iDurg in addition to former bounty. Another Charles Glidden was at the 
first siege in 1745, a relative, perhaps, as they were both from Notting- 
liam. 

It is not known what year he came to the north fields but his oldest 
daughter was b. here in 1769. His wife was Alice Mills. In 1775 his 
name appears as lieutenant in Col. Jeremiah Clough's regiment in the 
Revolutionary War, and five years later it appears on the "Larm List," 
with Benjamin Blanchard, Ensign Arcnilus Miles, John Cross, Gideon 
Leavitt, Capt. Edward Blanchard and two "William Kenistons, each 
enlisting for three months in the "Continental Sarvice." These men 
were his neighbors and some of them had been with him at Louisburg 
and Quebec. 

During his absence in the wars, his wife, nothing daunted by the 
greatest hardships, added to her stock of fuel by going to the deep 
woods with her team of steers, felling the trees herself, hauling them 
home and, with the aid of the children, preparing them for the huge 
fireplace. She often added to the stock of family provisions by the 
skilful use of the old flintlock gun, for the woods were full of game. 

His soldier life being at an end, he returned to his bleak and infertile 
acres, located far up on the foothills of Bean Hill, close by the dense 
forest that sloped down to Chestnut Pond. He chose this site probably 
on account of its proximity to water power at the outlet of the pond 
and the heavily timbered forest. 

He cleared each summer a few acres of cold, barren land and during 
the long winters used to make frequent trips to Portsmouth with ox 
team for family supplies, doing many an errand on his way for his 
neighbor Wadleigh and others along the route. These days of absence 
were lonely and long for the wife left behind with a single female com- 
panion and the little ones about her knees. But she filled the hours 
solid with work. The log barn housed the live stock filled to the doors, 
while aloft, or on the stack outside, was the fodder that she must 
distribute to them at daybreak and again at night by the aid of the old 
tin, barn lantern. 

It required steady nerves to remain composed when wild beasts 
prowled about the cabin at night or were so hungry as to steal about 
by daylight. This is no fancy sketch. Stories have come down to us of 
"Adventures that would make the stoutest quaver and the warmest 
blood run cold or, like the tale of Hamlet's ghost, make 'each individual 
hair to stand on end.' " 

Mr. Glidden left his upland farm in 1787 and bought the farm of 
Jeremiah McDonald (or Daniel) and at once launched forth into num- 
berless enterprises. He erected house after house and had a personal 



138 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

grudge against any one who dared to build a larger barn than any of 
his, or was elected to any town office. His public life, as regards 
Northfield, began when he signed the petition for the new town in 1780. 
The first office he held was "survayer of by wais," to which he was 
chosen the next March, 17S1. The next year he was chosen "con- 
stabel," and the next, one of the "sessors." In fact, it is hard to find 
any annual meeting in which he was not chosen to fill one or more 
offices, varying from putting in the large blocks of stone .underpinning 
for the meeting-house and laying the immense sills to turning the key 
and sweeping the house, often at the surprising figure of ten cents "a 
time," and when competition grew fierce would generously keep the 
key "for nothing." 

The big "hemlock broom" must have necessitated a trip each time 
to the woods and the labored manufacture of stick and string must have 
left but little profit to so busy a man as Charles Glidden. 

There was more profitable and honorable service along with this, 
however. He was sent in 1788 to the convention at Exeter, when the 
state adopted the Federal constitution, and he had been appointed 
justice of the peace in April, 1787. Northfield honored the mother- 
town by sending a citizen of Canterbury as its first representative, so, 
in fact. Lieutenant Glidden was the first from the town in 17S5. In 
the Journal of the House from June 1 to June 23, 1785, when he repre- 
sented both towns, his name appears no less than 37 times. He was 
chosen one of a committee on numberless petitions; some dozen others 
were sent up by him. He held this office for five years. 

He was now getting to be a man of means and had rare business 
ability. Beginning at Skendugoddy Brook he owned Lot 9, the parson- 
age, and 7 and 9 and, across the range, Lots 1, 2, 3 and 4, extending 
from the old meeting-house to the Canterbury line. Besides his exten- 
sive farms, he was a stock dealer, renting out lai'ge flocks and herds 
to the new settlers. For a sheep he required yearly a pound of wool or 
to double every four years, and for the use of a cow he was to receive 
one every four years. At his death the rented stock was returned, and, 
coming from Moultonborough and Meredith, as well as the nearer 
towns, the highways were full of them and on being collected they 
filled a four-acre field. 

He d. in 1811, so his tombstone records, aged 67 years. The Glidden 
family burying ground is at the Centre in the field back of the present 
schoolhouse. 

Second Generation. 

Mart Glidden, b. 1769; m. Rev. Daniel Young and removed to Ohio, 
where she d. 

JoHx Glidden, b. 1772 and d. 1794. He was nine years old when his 
brother, Galusha, went to war and was nearly heart-broken because 
he was not allowed to go. 

Alice Glidden, b. 1774; m. (first), William Smith, Jr., and had three 



GENEALOGIES. 139 

sons. (See Smith gen.) She m. (second), Nov. 18, 1802, Judge Peter 
Wadleigh and had one son. (See Wadleigh gen.) 

Betty Glidden, b. 1778; m., 1796, Jeremiah Smith, b. at Old Hampton 
in 1770 and d. at N. in 1867. They had four sons and one dau. (See 
Smith gen.) (Portrait.) 

Charles Gliddex, Jr., b. at N.; m., June 28, 1802, Ruth Hall (see Hall 
gen.), and had seven sons. He lived on the homestead with his father 
and shared in many of his enterprises. He was a man of ability and 
prominent in local affairs and served the town as representative in the 
Legislatures of 1818 and 1819. He erected a store by the old meeting- 
house and was seemingly a prosperous merchant with the usual variety 
found in country stores and piled high on his counters were webs of 
homemade cloth, table linen, coverlets, boxes of home dipped candles, 
pyramids of loaf sugar, while below were long rows of barrels of New 
England rum, West India molasses and whale oil. 

He had large resources and could give unlimited credit to such as 
would pledge land, crops or cattle and in numberless cases he came to 
be the owner of whole farms, which went to feed the owner's appetite 
for hard cider, rum and tobacco; but, like many a man of more sagacity, 
he was unable to manage so many interests and financial ruin was the 
result. He removed to Ohio in 1831. It is said they started due West 
with an ox team with all their worldly possessions, getting as far as 
Salisbury South Road the first day. They succeeded in reaching there 
after a tiresome journey. Both d. there years after and their children 
and descendants still reside in and around Portsmouth. 

Nancy Glidden, b. 1785; m. Philip Clough of Canterbury and lived 
near the Holmes bridge and sawmill, which Mrs. Clough received from 
her father as a wedding gift. This was always known as the Hancock 
Mill. (See Hancock gen.) Their home, located near, had to be removed 
when the railroad track was built directly underneath it. Mr. and 
Mrs. Clough owned all the land bordering on the river from Colonel 
Gate's, which became later the property of Nathaniel Holmes, and later 
of his dau., whose husband, Zenas Clement, sold to the Seminary and 
the railroad. 

Mrs. Clough m. (second), Rev. Daniel Young, her brother-in-law. He 
was a Methodist minister and his appearance at the brick church called 
out a large congregation. At the close the wedding took place. He 
was a man of business capacity and established the first furnace at 
Portsmouth, Ohio, and later two others known as Junior furnace and 
Franklin. He had a large family and abundant means. He was suc- 
ceeded by his nephew, Jefferson Glidden. 

Polly Glidden, b. at N.; m. Daniel Young, 2d., and had six children. 

Third Generation. 
(Children of Charles, Jr., and Ruth Hall Glidden.) 
John Glidden, b. at N. 1802. 



140 HISTORY OF NORTHFIELD. 

Charles Mills Gliddex, b. 1S04; m. Alice Smith and had four chil- 
dren. They were farmers at the foot of Bean Hill and later at her 
fa