(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "A history of northwest Missouri"

Gc 

977.8 

W67h 

v.3 

1339457 



GENEALOGY COLLECTION 



ALLEN COUNTY PUBLIC LIBRARY 



3 1833 01053 5620 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyofnorthwe03will 



A HISTORY Of 

NORTHWEST MISSOURI 



EDITED BY 

WALTER WILLIAMS 



Assisted By 
Advisory and Contributing Editors 



WITH ILLUSTRATIONS 



IN THREE VOLUMES 



VOLUME III 



THE LEWIS PUBLISHING COMPANY 

CHICAGO NEW YORK 

1915 




^ 



-^C^u-ty 



<?-*-&> 



1339457 

HISTORY OF NORTHWEST 
MISSOURI 



Charles D. Zook. As a merchant and banker Mr. Zook has been 
identified with Oregon most of his life. He has been successful in busi- 
ness to the degree that he is now rated as one of the wealthiest men in 
Holt County. In many ways he has shown his public spirit in com- 
munity affairs, and as a banker and lender of money has often assisted 
individuals in their struggles to gain a home. It is only expressing one 
phase of his general local reputation to say that Charley Zook, as he is 
familiarly called by his friends, has never yet foreclosed a mortgage. 
While Mr. Zook does business on thorough business principles, he has 
at the same time endeared himself to many personal friends by his aid 
to them when they needed assistance. His father and uncle were pio- 
neers in business affairs in Northwest Missouri, and few names have 
more important associations with large business and financial manage- 
ment in this section of the state than Zook. 

Levi Zook, father of Charles D., came from Marion County, Ohio, 
to Northwest Missouri in 1842, only five years after the Platte Purchase. 
He possessed a fair education, but most of it was acquired as a result of 
his individual study. Levi Zook was the son of G. F. and Annie 
(Forney) Zook. In 1850 Levi Zook engaged in the general merchandise 
business with his brother William, who a number of years later died in 
St. Joseph, Missouri. At the end of five years Levi Zook retired from 
the firm, owing to poor health, and later went into business with Hiram 
Patterson for six years under the name of Zook & Patterson. From 
1857 until 1861 their establishment was located at Forest City, Missouri, 
then moving to Mills County, Iowa, where they closed out in 1862. In 
1864 he reopened business in Oregon, with Jonas Lehmar, and business 
was continued until 1869. In 1867 Levi Zook opened a private bank, 
the first financial institution in Holt County. This bank had its quarters 
in the front end of the store, and was conducted as Zook & Scott, bankers. 
Levi Zook again retired on account of poor health, and on re-entering 
banking business was associated with Robert Montgomery, under the 
name Zook & Montgomery. The firm dissolved in 1875. In 1881 
Levi Zook superintended the construction of the courthouse at Oregon. 
He was a man of great business ability, possessed a judgment and 
character which made him a leader in every community, and left an 
honored name. During the war he was a strong L'nion man, assisted in 
raising volunteers, though his own health did not permit active service. 
He was affiliated with Forest City Lodge No. 214, A. F. & A. M., and 
was an active member of the Presbyterian Church. Levi Zook was 
married November 3, 1859, to Minnie Van Lunen, who was born in 
Prussia, and was brought in childhood to Pennsylvania. She died 
November 2, 1864, and her husband passed away in April, 1895. 

Charles D. Zook was born at Oregon July 24, 1860, was educated in 
his native town, attended the University of Missouri during 1879-80. 
and then started a mercantile store in Atchison County for himself. 
Later he was a member of the banking firm of Zook & Thomas at Mound 
City, sold his interests there and engaged in the wholesale boot and shoe 

1295 



1296 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

business at Kansas City from 1885 to 1890, and since that time has been 
chiefly identified with his banking business at Oregon. This is one of the 
oldest banking institutions of Northwest Missouri, and under his individ- 
ual management has in many ways proved its service and its standing in 
the county. The bank is now conducted under the name of Zook & 
Roecker, with Mr. Zook as president. Its cashier for many years was the 
late Albert Roecker, one of the prominent men of Holt County. Beside 
his position as a banker, Mr. Zook is one of the principal stockholders in 
the wholesale dry goods business at Omaha conducted under the name 
Byrne & Hanmer Dry Goods Company. 

Mr. Zook was married February 19, 1884, to Emma Curry, daughter 
of James and Mary M. Curry. They have one daughter, Mary, the wife 
of Dr. S. B. Hibbard of Kansas City. In politics Mr. Zook is a democrat, 
but his activities have never been in seeking office for himself, but 
always for the benefit of the party organization and for local betterment. 
He was on the democratic state committee one term, and has found many 
opportunities to exercise his business prominence for the good of his 
home locality. In 1911 Mr. Zook was appointed superintendent of the 
rebuilding of the Holt County Courthouse, a work that was accomplished 
in a thoroughly creditable manner, to the satisfaction of the County 
Court and the public in general. His broad interest in public affairs has 
found a special subject in the public schools, and for a number of years 
he served as member of the school board. 

R. E. Seaton. A man of unquestioned ability and integrity, R. E. 
Seaton occupies a position of prominence among the leading manu- 
facturers of Clinton County, being manager of the Noremae Chemical 
Company, at Cameron, one of the largest manufacturing plants of the 
kind in Northwestern Missouri. This enterprising company has estab- 
lished a substantial business in the manufacture of household remedies, 
extracts, spices, and all kinds of stock remedies and food. During the 
ten years the company has been located at Cameron, the products of its 
plant have been successfully used in relieving the suffering and helping 
the sick, throughout Missouri and adjoining states, while through the 
timely use of its stock remedies and food thousands of blooded cattle, 
horses and hogs have been saved from death, and their owners from 
great financial losses. • One hundred different articles are made in the 
plant, the greater number of which are of medicinal value in the treat- 
ment of diseases to which human flesh is heir, or those which afflict 
cattle, horses, hogs, poultry and sheep. The plant, which is 45 by 85 
feet, and well equipped for manufacturing purposes, is located at the 
corner of Third and Walnut streets. The company, which is wide-awake 
and progressive, employs traveling salesmen who, with team and wagons, 
cover all of the territory of Northwestern Missouri and Nebraska. 

R. E. Seaton was born in Perrin, Clinton County, Missouri, in 1884, 
a son of Thomas B. Seaton, a native of the same county. He is of early 
pioneer ancestry, his grandfather. John R. Seaton, and his great grand- 
father, Solomon Seaton, having migrated from their native state, Ten- 
nessee, to Missouri at a very early day, becoming pioneers of Clinton 
County. Thomas B. Seaton, a life-long resident of Clinton County, 
married Alice Potter, also a native of Clinton County. For many years 
R. E. Seaton was traveling salesman for the company of which he is 
now manager, having Nebraska as his special territory, with the ^thriving 
city of Ord as his headquarters. 

Mr. Seaton married, at the age of twenty-three years, in De Kalb 
County, Missouri, Miss Bertha Smith, a daughter of Rev. F. A. Smith, 
and into their pleasant home three children have been born, namely: 
Thomas 0., Ruth P., and Helen. Mr. and Mrs. Seaton are both members 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1297 

of the Methodist Episcopal Church and contribute liberally towards its 
support. 

J. E. Park. Conspicuous among the leading stockmen of Northwest 
Missouri is J. E. Park, of Cameron, proprietor of the Park Stock Farm, 
and an extensive dealer in imported and home-bred Percherons. As a 
man and a citizen he is held in high repute, and by his excellent character 
and straightforward business dealings he has won the esteem and con- 
fidence of the general public, and built up an extremely large and lucra- 
tive patronage, everything he says regarding his stock being as he 
represents, and his prices being ever right. He was born on a farm 
in Clinton County, Missouri, in 1859. His father, William Park, was 
a native of Clay County, but after his marriage settled in Clinton 
County, where he devoted his energies to the improvement of a farm. 
During the Civil war he served as a soldier in the Confederate army. He 
married Jane Hall, and of their children two are now living in Cali- 
fornia; one son, William, resides at Mulhall, Oklahoma; and J. E. is 
the subject of this brief sketch. 

Brought up on the home farm, J. E. Park obtained a good common 
school education, and an excellent training in the habits of truth, 
honesty and justice. Finding the life of a farmer congenial to his tastes, 
he decided to devote his time and attentions to the independent occupa- 
tion to which he was reared, and in which he had gained some experience. 
Turning his attention more especially to stock breeding and growing. Mr. 
Park, in 1889, bought twenty acres of land adjoining the City of 
Cameron, and has here established one of the finest stock barns in 
Clinton County. His first purchase was a native bred registered Per- 
cheron, four years old, and weighing 2,100 pounds. Meeting with much 
success in his venture, Mr. Park gradually enlarged his operations, and 
now has in his stables some of the finest Percheron stallions and jacks 
to be found in the country, and also a valuable bunch of high-class jacks 
and jennets, 14% to 16 hands high, with plenty of bone and quality. 
His Percheron stallion, "Merton," weighing 2.200 pounds, is one of the 
best to be found in the State of Missouri, and would be eligible for stock 
shows in any state of the Union. Another important member of Mr. 
Park's stables is a beautiful dapple grey stallion, "Waterloo." that is 
worthy of a place among the prize winners of any state. The quality of 
his horses, Kentucky jacks and jennets, and their low prices, sell them 
very readily, the buyers being sure of a safe guarantee when trading 
with Mr. Park. He has dealt with people from all of the Central and 
Western states, doing thousands of dollars worth of business, and in- 
variably winning friends with each deal. 

Mr. Park married, November 6, 1884, Miss Frances Harlan, a daughter 
of Price Harlan. Politically Mr. Park is identified with the democratic 
party ; fraternally he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
and Mrs. Park to the Daughters of Rebekah ; religiously both Mr. and 
Mrs. Park are "members of the Christian Church. 

John C. Van Trump. One and one-half miles south of the attractive 
little town of Millville, Ray County, in Grape Grove Township, is situ- 
ated the well improved homestead farm of Mr. Van Trump, who is one 
of the representative agriculturists and stock growers of the county, 
who is imbued with progressiveness and marked civic liberality and whose 
circle of friends is coincident with that of his acquaintances. 

Mr. Van Tramp finds a due mede of satisfaction in reverting to the 
historic Old Dominion commonwealth as the place of his nativity and 
he is a scion of one of the old families of Virginia, the lineage on the 
paternal side being remotely traced back to staunch Holland-Dutch 
stock. Mr. Van Tramp was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, on 



1298 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

the 7th of March, 1852, and is a son of Reuben and Diana (Carnes) Van 
Trump, both likewise natives of Rockingham County, where the former 
was born November 24, 1826, and the latter on the 27th of May, 1828. 
Of the six children three died in infancy and of those who attained to 
years of maturity John C, of this review, is the eldest; Americus V. and 
Medisia Belle are likewise residents of Ray County, Missouri, and the 
latter is the widow of Marshall Hyder. In 1854, when the subject of 
this sketch was about two years of age, his parents removed from Vir- 
ginia to Wayne County, Indiana, and shortly afterward they established 
their residence in Rochester Township, Fulton County, that state, where 
the father continued to be actively identified with agricultural pursuits 
until 1875. He then came to Ray County, Missouri, and established his 
home on a farm near Russellville, but in 1884 he sold his property and 
removed to the northwestern part of the county, near Lawson, where he 
continued as a substantial and honored representative of the agricul- 
tural industry until his death, on the 1st of October, 1888, his loved and 
devoted wife having been summoned to the life eternal on the 23d of 
November, 1883. He was a lifelong democrat in his political adherency 
and he was actively affiliated with the Odd Fellows' fraternity, the 
precepts of which he exemplified in his worthy and successful life. 

John C. Van Trump was reared and educated in the State of Indiana, 
where he duly availed himself of the advantages of the public schools 
of Fulton County and where he gained practical experience in connec- 
tion with the activities of the home farm. He remained at the parental 
home until the time of his marriage, in 1888, he having been about 
twenty years of age at the time of the family removal from Indiana to 
Ray County, Missouri. After his marriage Mr. Van Trump engaged 
in farming near Lawson, and in 1891 he purchased his present fine farm, 
which comprises 150 acres and upon which he has made many excellent 
improvements, the entire appearance of the place giving distinctive 
evidence of thrift and prosperity. He is giving special attention to the 
raising of horses and jacks, as well as Duroc Jersey swine, and he is 
recognized as one of the broad-minded and progressive agriculturists and 
stock-raisers of the county. He redeemed his farm from a run-down 
condition, as it had been greatly neglected prior to the time when he 
purchased the property, and he now has the satisfaction of knowing 
that he has one of the valuable farms of the county and that much of 
its improvement and embellishment has been due to his own well ordered 
industry and up-to-date policies. 

In politics Mr. Van Trump is a staunch adherent of the democratic 
party and in the autumn of 1906 he was given definite assurance of 
public esteem in his home county, in that he was elected presiding judge 
of the County Court, a position of which he continued the incumbent for 
four years, having assumed his official prerogatives in January, 1907. 
Within his term of office was completed the first permanent bridge work 
in Ray County, the construction being of concrete, and another important 
and gratifying work completed in his regime was the building of the 
substantial and attractive county home for poor at Richmond. Mr. 
Van Trump is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
and is an elder of the Christian Church at Millville, his wife and children 
likewise being zealous members of this church. 

On the 23d of December, 1888. Mr. Van Trump wedded Miss Mary 
Cummins, who was born on a farm near Knoxville, Ray County, Missouri, 
on the 12th of July, 1862, and who is a daughter of Artemas Ward 
Cummins and Lucy (Watson) Cummins, the father having been born 
in Ohio on the 15th of November, 1841. and the mother having been 
born in Tennessee, July 25, 1834. Mrs. Van Trump is the second eldest 
of the six surviving children, there having been eight children in the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1299 

family. Eliza A. is the wife of Laban Daus, of Yale, Oklahoma ; Thomas 
A. is a resident of Coffeyville, Kansas; Sarah E. is the wife of James 
Cavender, of Holt, Clay County, Missouri ; Laura remains at the parental 
home ; and Florence is the wife of Lee Clark, of Lathrop, Clinton County, 
this state. Mr. Cummins was a child of two years at the time of his 
parents removal from Ohio to Missouri, in 1843, and the family home 
was established on a farm near Knoxville, Ray County, where he was 
reared to manhood and where he wedded Miss Lucy Watson. In 1861, 
when but eighteen years of age, he enlisted for service as a soldier in the 
Union army, and he continued in active service until the close of the 
great Civil war. He took part in numerous engagements and in one of 
the same he received a severe wound in the thigh. In 1880 he removed to 
Lathrop, Clinton County, where he has since lived retired and where 
he and his devoted wife are enjoying the fruits of former years of 
earnest endeavor. Mr. and Mrs. Van Trump have shown signal appre- 
ciation of the value of education, in that they have given to each of 
their four children the best possible advantages, the three elder children 
all being graduates of Western College at Odessa, Lafayette County, 
Missouri, and the younger of the two daughters having completed a 
course in the school for the blind that is maintained in the City of St. 
Louis. Ruby E., who was born November 27, 1889, is now a successful 
and popular teacher in the public schools of her native state; Sidney 
K. likewise is proving an able representative of the pedagogic profession ; 
Charles W., who was born November 22, 1894, remains at the parental 
home, as does also Laura C. B., who was born March 14, 1897. 

Charles E. Rush. The connection of Charles E. Rush with library 
work began with his college days in 1902, and he has since that time been 
continuously identified with library work, either in a public or private 
capacity. He has gone into the work with an enthusiasm that has made 
him one of the most successful and sought after librarians in the state, 
and he has been at the head of the St. Joseph Public Library since 1910. 

Mr. Rush was born at Fairmount, Indiana, on March 23, 1885, and 
is a son of Reverend Nixon and Louisa (Winslow) Rush. Both parents 
were Quakers, of North Carolina ancestry. The^ paternal grandsire of 
Mr. Rush was a slave holder in North Carolina, but he became early 
convinced of the error of owning human property, so that in 1830 he 
freed his slaves and moved north to Indiana, where the family has since 
been established. The father of Mr. Rush is a Quaker minister, who 
added farming to his ministerial activities and became one of the most 
useful men in his community. 

Charles E. Rush was educated in the common schools of the Town 
of Fairmount and at the Fairmount Friends Academy. He had his 
A. B. degree from Earlham College in 1905, after which he entered the 
Library Summer School at Madison, Wisconsin, of which he is a graduate, 
and received the degree of B. L. S. from the New York State Library 
School at Albany in 1908. He planned a career as librarian when he 
was a boy, and so arranged his studies from his college days. He was 
a student-assistant in the library at Earlham College in Richmond, 
Indiana, from 1903 to 1905, and served a year as an assistant at the 
Wisconsin University Library at Madison in 1905 and 1906. He was an 
assistant in the Free Public Library in Newark, New Jersey, in 1907, 
and in 1907 and 1908 was engaged as a special cataloguer in the Pruyn 
Private Library in Albany, New York. In 1908 he became librarian 
of the Public Library at Jackson, Michigan, and two years later he came 
to St. Joseph to assume the duties of librarian of the public library here, 
where he has continued his work successfully and with all satisfaction 
to the public and to the board of library directors. 



1300 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Mr. Rush is a member of the American Library Association and of the 
Missouri Library Association, serving as vice president of the latter 
organization in 1912 and as president in 1913. As one who is deeply 
interested in civic and social work, Mr. Rush is concerned in making 
the library a thing of practical value in the community, not alone for 
the young readers and students, but for the laboring man. the busy 
merchant and business man of every order. He has prepared a number 
of pamphlets and magazine articles bearing upon the splendid possibili- 
ties that are to be found from a more intimate knowledge of the ' ' people 's 
university, ' ' among them might be mentioned ' ' Library Publicity, ' ' " The 
Man in the Yards," and "Two Books a Year for My Child." His 
"Reading List for the Boy Scouts of America" was the first library 
pamphlet published on the subject and it has been well received 
wherever it has been shown. 

Mr. Rush is an active member of the St. Joseph Commerce Club 
and in 1912 was chairman of the luncheon and entertainment com- 
mittee. In 1913 he was a member of the art and publicity committees 
of the club, and has been active in the work of the organization in 
varied ways. 

In 1910 Mr. Rush was married to Miss R. Lionne Adsit, a daughter 
of Rev. Spenser M. Adsit, of Albany, New York, who is a Presbyterian 
minister. Mrs. Rush is a graduate of Vassar College, ,at Poughkeepsie, 
New York, class of 1906, receiving the degree of A. B., and is also 
a graduate of the New York State Library School at Albany, class of 
1908, with the degree of B. L. S. She spent two years as chief of the 
information department in the Public Library at Washington. D. C, 
prior to her marriage. 

In 1911 Mrs. Rush was president of the Federation of Women's Clubs 
of St. Joseph, Missouri, and since that time has been a member of the 
executive committee of the Federation. She is active in the church 
work of the First Presbyterian Church of St. Joseph, of which she is a 
member, and is president of the Kings Daughters Society, an auxiliary 
organization of the church. She is one of the prominent women of the 
city and takes a leading place in the representative social club and civic 
activities of the city. 

Benjamin H. Carter. Noteworthy among the little group of 
Cameron people that are rendering the Government active and able 
service is Benjamin H. Carter, rural mail carrier on Route 3. He was 
born, October 8, 1857, on the parental homestead in Platte County. Mis- 
souri, of Scotch-Irish descent. Benjamin H. Carter, Sr., his father, 
was born and reared in Kentucky. He came to Missouri in 1814, spent 
one year in Clay County, and in 1857, in pioneer days, located in Platte 
County. Choosing the occupation of a farmer, he was engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits until his death, at the age of seventy-three years. A man 
of integrity, upright and fair in all his dealings, he won the confidence 
of the community in which he resided for so many years, and though 
during the Civil war his sympathies were with the Union men his own 
life was such that he was never molested, and he was enabled on one or 
two occasions to save the lives of others. He was a republican in politics. 
He married Melinda A. Vermillion, and of their eight children two 
daughters are living in Platte County, one son resides in El Paso, Texas, 
and another son, L. O. Carter, is a prominent lawyer of Kansas City, 
where he has served a judge of bankruptcy. 

Benjamin H. Carter, the special subject of this sketch, grew to man- 
hood on his father's farm in Platte County, acquiring his early educa- 
tion in the public schools. He became familiar with farm work while 
young, and still owns a good farm. In 1902 he was appointed rural 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1301 

mail carrier on Route 6 from Cameron, and continued on that route for 
six years. He was then transferred to Route 3, which covers 25% miles 
to the southwest from Cameron, and in the discharge of his duties he 
travels annually a distance of approximately eight thousand miles. He 
has carried the mail on foot, on horseback, in cart or carriage, but now 
owns and uses an automobile whenever the roads, which are usually good, 
permit. He has a pleasant home at 221 West Cornhill Street, in a 
desirable part of the town, and there he and his family enjoy the comforts 
of life. 

Mr. Carter married, in 1880, Miss Permelia S. Frazer, a daughter 
of George Frazer, of Platte County, and into their household two children 
have been born, Ruth J. and James B. Ruth J. Carter was educated in 
the Wesleyan College at Cameron and became a successful and popular 
teacher. She was appointed rural mail carrier and served on Rural 
Route 1 for nine months and is now her father's deputy or substitute. 
James B. Clark is a clerk in the Cameron Postoffice, also a graduate of 
Missouri Wesleyan College Business Department and of Lincoln-Jefferson 
University of Law, Hammond, Ind. He married Miss Grace English, 
and they have one son, Raymond English Carter. 

Religiously Mr. Carter is an active member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, in which he has served as class leader and steward and as 
superintendent of the Sunday school. Fraternally he belongs to the 
Order of Masons. 

John Costin. With all of honor and consistency may be entered in 
this publication a tribute to the venerable pioneer citizen whose name 
introduces this paragraph and who has maintained his home in Worth 
County for a period of virtually sixty years. He has passed the eightieth 
milestone on the journey of life, has ordered his course on a high plane 
of integrity and honor, has achieved worthy success through his own 
efforts, and has at all times stood exponent of the most loyal and worthy 
citizenship. He has served in various offices of public trust within the 
long years of his residence in Worth County, and also has the distinc- 
tion of being one of the gallant citizens of Missouri who went forth in 
defense of the Union in the Civil war. A man of deep piety, of strong 
and noble nature and of utmost tolerance and kindliness, Mr. Costin 
has made his life count for good in all its relations and is well worthy 
of the unqualified confidence and affection that are accorded him by all 
who know him, so that he may recall in gracious retrospect the incidents 
of an earnest and useful life now that its shadows begin to steal gently 
from the golden west. 

John Costin was born in Jefferson County, Kentucky, on the 18th 
of September, 1830, and is a scion of sterling pioneer families of that 
fine old commonwealth, within whose borders were born his parents, 
Lewis and Catherine (Smock) Costin. both of whom passed the closing 
period of their lives in the State of Indiana. In the year 1813. when the 
subject of this review was a lad of about thirteen years, the family 
removed from Kentucky to Owen County, Indiana, where the father pur- 
chased a tract of wild land and instituted the reclamation of a farm. 
John Costin. owing to the vicissitudes and conditions of time and place, 
received most meager educational advantages in his boyhood and youth, 
but fully has he profited through self-discipline and association with the 
practical affairs of life, with the result that he is a man of broad mental 
ken and mature judgment. As a mere boy Mr. Costin gained close 
fellowship with toil, in connection with the work of the home farm, and 
he became also a wage-earner when he was but eight years old, modest 
recompense being given him for the work of cutting cornstalks for 
neighbors near the old home in Kentucky. 



1302 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

At the age of twenty years Mr. Costin made his first independent 
investment, by purchasing a tract of land in Decatur County, Iowa. On 
this place he remained only one year, at the expiration of which, in 1855, 
he came to Worth County, Missouri, which has represented his home 
during the long intervening years. Here he purchased 160 acres of 
swamp land, and he applied himself to the arduous work of providing a 
proper system of drainage and to bringing the land under effective 
cultivation. On his originally uninviting farm he eventually produced 
very fine crops of wheat, corn and other cereals, and with increasing 
prosperity he added to his landed estate from time to time, until he is 
now the owner of a fine demesne of 1,000 acres, in sections 13, 65 and 32, 
Worth Township. 

In 1860, while still giving careful supervision to his farm, Mr. Costin 
established a general store at West Point, the nucleus of the village now 
known as Oxford. He sold this store and business eleven months later, 
and thereafter he continued successfully in the mercantile trade, by 
establishing, in turn, stores at Grant City, Worth and Smithton. He 
eventually disposed of each of these establishments, the one at Worth 
having been sold to his son, Nicholas F., who still continues the enterprise 
and who is known as one of the successful business men of Worth County, 
individual record concerning him being given on other pages of this 
work. 

In response to President Lincoln's first call for volunteers to aid in 
maintaining the integrity of the Union, Mr. Costin enlisted as a member 
of a regiment largely recruited in Worth and adjoining counties, and 
after serving about thirteen months, principally in Missouri and Arkan- 
sas, he received his honorable discharge. In politics Mr. Costin has ever 
been arrayed as a staunch supporter of the cause of the democratic party, 
and he has been called upon to serve in various positions of local public 
trust. In 1864 he served as treasurer of Worth County and in 1868 
he was elected county sheriff and collector, to which dual office he was 
elected in 1870, so that he served, and with marked ability, for four 
consecutive years, later having been the incumbent of the office of county 
coroner. He also served for a number of years as a member of the 
school board of his district, and his influence and aid have at all times 
been given in the furtherance of measures tending to conserve the educa- 
tional, moral and general civic welfare of the community, in later years 
his zeal having been specially notable in connection with the promotion 
of the good roads movement in this section of the state. Mr. Costin 
and his gracious wife are most zealous and devout members of the 
Christian Church, in which he is now an elder of the church at Worth, 
his service having previously ibeen given for a number of years in the 
position of deacon. 

At Greenup, Cumberland County, Illinois, in the year 1852, was 
solemnized the marriage of Mr. Costin to Miss Louisa Asher, daughter 
of Lewis and Alice (Brown) Asher, who were residents of Illinois at 
the time of their death, Mrs. Costin having been born in Warren 
County, Indiana, on the 24th of August, 1835. Mr. and Mrs. Costin 
became the parents of five children, concerning whom brief record is 
given in conclusion of this review : John D., who was born March 4, 1877, 
and who wedded Miss Leora Barnes, of Worth County, is one of the 
prosperous farmers of this county; Nicholas F. is engaged in business 
at Worth and is the subject of an individual sketch on other pages of 
this volume ; Martha Jane, who died in December, 1896, was the wife of 
James Martin, who is a representative farmer of Worth County, and she 
is survived by three children, Zula May, Gettis and Maggie Vera. The 
second daughter, Florence, born in 1864* is the wife of Reuben Swain, and 
they live in Nodaway County and have had three children, Arthur, 





%d, ^J^y^KT 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1303 

Minnie and Blanche, but Arthur died in 1913. Zula May, youngest of 
the children of Mr. and Mrs. Costin, was born March 27, 1873, and is the 
wife of Ira Wells, engaged in farming near Ravenswood, Nodaway 
County, and they have one son, Darl Ford. 

Nicholas F. Costin. Bearing a name that has been most honorably 
and prominently linked with the history of Worth County for more than 
half a century, Mr. Costin is in every sense upholding the high prestige 
of his patronymic and is numbered among the progressive merchants 
and loyal and enterprising citizens of his native county, where he is 
engaged in the general merchandise business in the Village of Worth, 
as successor of his honored father, John Costin, concerning whom con- 
sistent and more specific mention is made on other pages of this publi- 
cation, so that further review of the family history is not demanded in 
the present connection. 

Nicholas Ford Costin was born on the old homestead farm, in Middle- 
fork Township, Worth County, Missouri, on the 25th of December, 1878, 
so that he became a right welcome Christmas guest in the family home, 
as the youngest of the four children. The public schools afforded to Mr. 
Costin his early educational advantages, and this discipline was supple- 
mented by a course in the Gem City Business College, in which he was 
graduated in 1896. 'In pursuance of higher academic training he 
entered Stenbury College, in 1892, prior to taking his course in the 
business college, and he there pursued the normal or teacher's curriculum 
until 1894, when he returned to his home and became actively associated 
with the work and management of the farm. In the same year also he 
became his father's coadjutor in establishing the general store at Worth, 
and he continued as his father's partner in the business until 1910, since 
which time he has been the sole proprietor. He has brought to bear most 
progressive policies and has made his store effective in service, with a 
stock carefully selected to meet the demands of the trade and with 
punctilious care to fair and honorable treatment of all patrons. On the 
11th of October, 1913, Mr. Costin removed from his original building to 
new and more eligible quarters in an adjoining building, the second 
floor of which is nicely fitted up as a village opera house or theater. 

Mr. Costin has strong vantage-place in the confidence and esteem of 
the people of his native county, and it may legitimately be said that here 
his circle of friends is limited only by that of his acquaintances. At the 
county seat he is affiliated with Grant City Lodge No. 66, Ancient Free 
and Accepted Masons, besides which he holds membership in the adjunct 
organization, the Order of the Eastern Star, and is a member of Worth 
Lodge No. 614, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In politics he is 
unswerving in his support and advocacy of the cause of the democratic 
party and he has served as clerk of various elections held in the county. 

On February 22, 1903, Mr. Costin was married to Miss Adella Mc- 
Cray, who was born in Nodaway County and who is a daughter of 
James A. and Amanda E. (Mullen) McCray, whose fine homestead farm 
is situated near Gilman City, Daviess County, where they have resided 
for many years, Mr. McCray being a prominent democrat of that county 
and having served as its sheriff. Mrs. Costin completed special course 
in literature and music at Grand River College, and is a woman whose 
gracious personality makes her a favorite in the social life of her home 
community. Here both she and her husband are affiliated .with Hall of 
Sunshine Chapter No. 222, Order of the Eastern Star, and she is eligible 
likewise for membership in the Society of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. Mr.' and Mrs. Costin have no children. 

John S. Smith. There is no financial institution in Northwest 
Missouri which more thoroughly deserves and enjoys to a greater degree 



1304 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

the confidence of the community which it serves than the Holt County 
Bank, at Mound City, which has had a long and prosperous career of 
more than thirty years. The bank was organized in February, 1880, by 
Hugh Montgomery, Albert Roecker and Robert Montgomery. Its first 
president was Robert Montgomery, and its first cashier was Hugh Mont- 
gomery. This bank began as a small private institution, started more for 
the convenience of a limited patronage than as a general public utility, 
and its growth has been in proportion to the development of the com- 
munity and the constantly growing patronage voluntarily accorded it. 
Its first location was in the rear of the William Hoblitzell store, now 
the Wehrli store, subsequently it was moved to the corner where the 
Riffe & Company's store is now located, and after that building burned 
was moved to its present location. 

It is an axiom that the strength of any banking institution depends 
upon the personnel of the men behind it and in its organization. To an 
important degree the success of the Holt County Bank has been due to 
Mr. John S. Smith, who is now serving as its president, and was its 
cashier from 1887 to 1900, when promoted to his present office. 

John S. Smith has made a typical American success. He started life 
as a section hand and has risen to leadership in his community, both 
as a banker and citizen. His father was killeS during the Civil war, 
and his widowed mother had six small children dependent upon her. 
In such conditions it was necessary for the son John early to take up 
work that would help support the household, and all the education he 
received was acquired by self study during the meager opportunities of 
hard labor. 

John S. Smith was born in Holt County, April 11, 1855, a son of 
Moses and Sarah Louise (Currier) Smith. Diligence, ambition and 
integrity have been tne characteristic features of Mr. Smith's career. 
He worked only a few years as a common laborer, then found employ- 
ment in a hardware store in Mound City, from that got into the lumber 
business, and had a small independent establishment of his own. The 
people of this community from the first had recognized his thorough 
integrity in all his dealings, and as he was prosperous himself and a 
man of rare judgment, many found it convenient to intrust him with 
the task of looking after their financial surplus. In this way Mr. Smith 
was led to engage in banking in a small way, and his institution was 
one of the constituent elements in the formation of the Holt County 
Bank. From the position of cashier in that institution he was promoted 
to the presidency, and is the owner of most of the stock in the bank. 
His nephew, B. P. Smith, was for several years cashier, and is now vice 
president, while the present cashier is B. H. Watson. 

Besides his interest as a banker, Mr. Smith is the owner of a thousand 
acres of land in the vicinity of Mound City, and is easily one of the 
most substantial citizens of that section. He also has extensive business 
interests in Kansas, Colorado and other states. He has attained thirty- 
two degrees in Scottish Rite Masonry and is affiliated with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Woodmen of the World. His 
chief public service has been as a member of the school board, and for 
more than thirty years he has served as its president. Since he began as 
a business man at Mound City no enterprise affecting the welfare of 
the community has been advanced without his loyal support and fre- 
quent cooperation. He is a well-known citizen in Northwest Missouri, 
and particularly in banking circles of this section of the state. 

Mr. Smith was married July 19, 1874, to Miss Mary N. Denmark, 
who was born at Black River Falls, Wisconsin. To their marriage have 
been born nine children, and the four still living are: Bertha B., at 
home ; Charles C, who married Margaret Corsant and lives in Mound 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1305 

City, engaged in the oil producing business, operating chiefly in the 
Oklahoma fields ; Helen H. is the wife of C. T. Hall, assistant cashier of 
the Holt County Bank; and Colene, a student in Rockford College at 
Rockford, Illinois. 

Millard Fillmore Stipes. This Jamesport editor and publisher has 
lived actively and usefully in Northwest Missouri forty-five years, at 
first as a teacher and surveyor, and close on to thirty years in journalism. 
A newspaper man is also in an important sense a public man, and Mr. 
Stipes has in addition given much time to the formal duties of office 
in his city and state. 

Millard Fillmore Stipes is a lineal descendant, twelfth in line, from 
Sir Edward, Lord North, the first baron of that name, created by Henry 
VIII of England. Capt, George North, an officer in the Pennsylvania 
line during the American Revolution, who fought so valiantly against 
his kinsman, the British premier, was the great-grandfather of the Mis- 
souri editor. 

Mr. Stipes was born at the old Cruzen home in Saline County, Mis- 
souri, November 12, 1851. Growing up on his father's farm, he attended 
district school near by except for a year or so during the Civil war, and 
during 1867-68 was a student in the Miami Male and Female Institute, 
a private school conducted by John C. Hamner, A. M., of Virginia. In 
the spring of 1869 his parents removed to a new home in Carroll County, 
and he began work on a farm and as a surveyor, a calling he had learned 
under the instruction of Professor Hamner. For two years he was 
deputy county surveyor, and in January, 1870, began teaching, his regu- 
lar occupation for the next fifteen winters and for about half of the 
intervening summers. Mr. Stipes was a student in the Kirksville Normal 
during the spring and summer of 1873 and again in 1874. His teaching 
was chiefly in the country districts of Carroll and Saline counties, but 
for three years, 1880 to 1883, he was at the head of the graded schools in 
Norborne, and at Jamesport the following year and at Jameson the next, 
all in Missouri. 

On January 1, 1885, Mr. Stipes took charge of the Jameson Reporter, 
which he edited and published until September 1, 1886, when he pur- 
chased the Jamesport Gazette, of which he has been editor and publisher 
continuously to the present writing. Few members of the profession 
in Northwest Missouri have held an editor's chair with one paper for a 
longer time. 

AVhile not a professional politician, Mr. Stipes has for a number of 
years been interested in politics and the problems of government. In 
1892 he represented his county in the democratic state convention at 
Sedalia and again at Kansas City in 1894, and has often been called to 
preside over democratic county and local conventions. By appointment 
from Governor Folk, he served four years, February 1, 1907, to February 
1, 1911. as a member of the board of control of the State Industrial Home 
for Girls at Chillicothe, and during that time was treasurer of the institu- 
tion. In his home city Mr. Stipes served for twenty-one years on the 
school board, all the time as president or secretary. 

December 28, 1881, he married Emma Lee Kieffer, at the home of 
her parents near Miami. Her death occurred April 22, 1891, and one 
child survives, Mrs. Opal Arnold. He married Amy Louise Ried, June 
6. 1893, at the home of her parents in Kirkwood, Missouri. Three 
children were born to them, two of whom, Ruth and Florence, survive. 

Soper J. Tatjl. One of the comparatively young men in Clay 
County citizenship, Mr. Taul has achieved the success which consists in 
accumulation of a substantial share of the world's goods and in an 



1306 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

honorable position among his fellows. Largely through his own efforts 
he has prospered as a farmer, and for the past four years has justified 
the confidence of the community through his work in the office of county 
collector. 

Soper J. Taul was born in Platte Township of Clay County. November 
22, 1877. His parents were Ben I. and Patsy Ann (Spencer) Taul. 
His father was born in Clark County, Kentucky, in 1821, and the mother 
in Nicholas County of the same state on August 26, 1832, and is still 
living, while the father died July 26, 1886. They were married in 
their native state — came out to Missouri before the war, the father com- 
ing through by land-working cows — and they settled in Clay County, but 
owing to the troubles incident to war times returned to Kentucky. When 
peace was restored they found permanent homes in Missouri, and the 
father took up farming east of Smithville. He started with 390 acres, 
and had an estate of 270 at the time of his death. For this time he was 
reckoned among the successful farmers. He was a democrat, and with 
his family worshipped in the Methodist faith. Of the eleven children, 
nine are still living, as follows: Elizabeth, wife of S. H. Lewis of 
Paradise. Missouri; James, of Clay County; Mollie, wife of Noah Neff, 
of Liberty ; W. K., of Kearny ; Margaret, deceased ; J. T., who is farming 
on the home place ; R. C, living at Paradise ; Maxie, wife of Hay den 
Settle, of Kearny ; Benjamin, of St. Joseph ; C. D., deceased ; and Soper J. 

The youngest of the family, Soper J. Taul was only nine years old 
when his father died, and as the necessities of the homestead demanded 
all hands, he stopped his schooling at an early age, having attended 
several winter terms in the country. He worked at home until his mar- 
riage, and when that event was celebrated at the age of twenty-one he 
started out to provide for his own family. On December 21, 1898, 
he married Minerva Davis, who was born in the same neighborhood 
November 12, 1877, a daughter of Cephas and Falitta Jane (Britt) 
Davis. Her mother is still living at the age of sixty-five. 

As a part of his earlier experience Mr. Taul had worked for three 
years, between the ages of fifteen and seventeen, at wages of 50 cents a 
day, so he had a thorough apprenticeship in the school of labor. After 
his marriage he continued on the home place a short time, then rented 
land for three years, after which he bought a place adjoining the old 
homestead. For about ten years he carried on his enterprise as a 
progressive farmer citizen, and still owns and operates a farm of 160 
acres north of Liberty. 

Mr. Taul has taken considerable part in democratic polities, and was 
the choice of his party and many friends for the office of county collector 
in the fall of 1910, and after four years of capable work was renominated 
and elected without opposition in i914. Mr. Taul belongs to the Knights 
of Pythias and Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and he and his wife 
are Methodists. They are the parents of two children: May Neff and 
Dorothy Eleanor. 

G. W. Stoner. Noteworthy among the oldest and best known real 
estate men of Northwest Missouri is G. W. Stoner, of Cameron, who has 
been a resident of that city since 1868, and during the time that has since 
elapsed has been conspicuously identified with the highest interests of 
town and county, ever using his influence to promote the public welfare. 
Mr. Stoner was born, January 13, 1835. in South Bend. Indiana, and 
when he was about twelve years old the family removed to Montgomery 
County, that state, locating not far from Crawfordsville. 

Jacob Stoner, his father, was a native of Virginia, was of German 
descent, and inherited in a large measure the habits of thrift and indus- 
try characteristic of his forefathers. Migrating with his family to 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1307 

Indiana in pioneer days, he bought land in Montgomery County, and 
in addition to carrying on general farming, he for many years had a 
well producing sugar orchard on his place. He married, in Botetourt 
County, Virginia, Polly Beath, who was of English ancestry, and to 
them five children were born, two sons and three daughters, and of 
these three children are living, as follows : David, a resident of Kansas ; 
Mariah Brawton, of Lathrop, Missouri ; and G. W., the subject of this 
review. Both parents died on the home farm in Indiana, the father 
dying at the age of seventy-seven years, he having survived his wife for 
a number of years. He was a republican in politics, and both he and 
his wife were members of the Christian Church. 

G. W. Stoner acquired his education in the district schools of his 
native county, and developed into manhood on the parental homestead, 
where he was trained to the habits of industry and thrift that became 
the foundation of his present success in business and have gained for 
him the respect of the community in which he lives. As a young man 
he was ambitious to take advantage of the opportunities offered in a new 
and undeveloped country, and in 1857 located in Daviess County, Mis- 
souri, where he followed farming for a few years. Settling in Cameron 
in 1868, he established himself in the real estate business, which he has 
since followed with deserved success, his dealings being extensive and 
profitable. Mr. Stoner has an intimate acquaintance with land values 
throughout the central west, his dealings in realty extending to all parts 
of Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas. 

He married, in 1862, more than fifty years ago, Susan Rogers, of 
Daviess County, Missouri, who has, indeed, proved herself a true help- 
mate and a most congenial companion. Three children blessed their 
union, namely: Jacob, Ida and B. F., but the last named, the youngest 
of the three, died in 1868. Jacob Stoner, the first born, died in April, 1912, 
his death being mourned as a public loss. He was one of the best known 
traveling salesmen of the state, and was also active in local affairs, having 
served his constituents most faithfully and ably in various offices, more 
especially as mayor of Cameron. For many years he was drum major 
in the Cameron Military Band, which was one of the finest musical 
organizations in this section of the country, and was often in demand 
throughout Missouri, playing in all its large cities. He was a member 
of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and of the Knights of Pythias. 
He married Alice Smith, a native of Missouri. 

Mr. G. W. Stoner is public spirited and a highly useful member of the 
community, active in advancing the things which make for the welfare 
and progress of town and county, being especially interested in the cause 
of education and religion. Both Mr. and Mrs. Stoner united with the 
Christian Church when young. 

General Benjamin M. Prentiss. For many years one of the most 
distinguished citizens of Missouri as well as of the nation was the late 
Gen. Benjamin M. Prentiss, who for twenty years lived at Bethany, 
where his death occurred on February 8, 1901. General Prentiss was 
a soldier of two wars, rose to the rank of major general, U. S. Volun- 
teers, during the Civil war and was the hero of the great battle of 
Shiloh. In his political career he was an associate of Lincoln and other 
distinguished leaders of Illinois, and in the later years of his life was 
one of the most admired orators and leaders in the republican party 
of Missouri. 

Benjamin M. Prentiss was born at Belleville, Virginia, November 
23, 1819. He was a direct descendant from Valentine Prentiss who 



1308 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

came to America from England in 1620. Another direct ancestor was 
the noted Elder Brewster, of the Mayflower colony. Valentine Prentiss 
(1) with his wife, 'Alice, came to Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1631. and 
died about 1633. His son John Prentiss (2) born in England, came over 

with his parents in 1631, married Hester ; died in 1691. His son 

Jonathan Prentiss (3), born July 15, 1657, married Elizabeth Latimer; 
died July 28, 1727. His son John Prentiss (4) , born 1705, married Sarah 
Christophers; died January, 1716-47. His son John Prentiss (5), born 
November 23, 1740, married Esther Richards; died November 22, 17 — . 
His son Henry Leonidas Prentiss (6), born July 4, 1788, married Rebecca 
May berry ; died December 24, 1849. 

Henry Leonidas Prentiss, father of General Prentiss, was born in 
New London, Connecticut, in 1788, and died at Quincy, Illinois, in 
1849. He was a public-spirited man and a politician. At one time he 
was a member of the Legislature from Wood County, Virginia. He 
married Rebecca Mayberry, and General Prentiss was one of two sons, 
the other being Henry Clay, who died in Knox County, Missouri. The 
daughters were Mrs. Amelia Adair, Mrs. Lucy Bowles, Mrs. Mary 
Goodno. 

General Prentiss spent his early childhood in Virginia, and from 
there his parents moved to Quincy, Illinois. His education came from 
the country schools of Virginia, and afterwards from a private military 
school. Migrating west in 1836, he located in Marion County, Missouri, 
and engaged in the manufacture of cordage. In the spring of 1841 
he went to Quincy and established himself in the same business with 
his father. During the Mormon excitement at Nauvoo, Illinois, he was 
in the service of the state, and at the opening of the Mexican war he 
was appointed adjutant of the First Illinois Infantry. With this regi- 
ment he served through the entire war, first as first lieutenant and aft- 
erwards as captain of Company I. which he commanded under Gen- 
eral Taylor at the battle of Buena Vista. 

It was during his residence at Palmyra, Missouri, that the mettle of" 
General Prentiss' character was tested. A small man in physical stature, 
but with extraordinary courage and force of intellect and will, he never 
hesitated in the presence of anyone to uphold his ideas of morals and 
politics. He possessed decided convictions on the subject of slavery 
and other economic questions which finally were settled by the ar- 
bitrament of war, and expressed himself characteristically and freely 
in whatever community he lived. Palmyra at that time was a hotbed 
of secession sentiment, and young Prentiss was constantly persecuted 
because of his anti-slavery views. In a contest of wits and logic he was 
an easy victor, but not all his battles were of that character. He fre- 
quently engaged in personal combat, though not as an aggressor, and 
it became almost a common practice for the southerners in that town to 
set upon the valiant young abolitionist the strongest bully who could 
be induced to attack him. So far as can be ascertained, there was never 
a case in which Prentiss did not prove himself master of the situation, 
and when he left Palmyra he had at least the thorough respect if not 
the friendship of every resident. After his return to Quincy and also 
after the war, General Prentiss was engaged in business as a commis- 
sion merchant and also as a manufacturer of cordage. With the out- 
break of hostilities between the North and South he was one of the 
first to respond with the offer of his services. At the first call for 
troops he sent a telegram to the governor of Illinois, tendering two 
companies, and has the distinction of having been the first officer com- 
missioned by the state. Beginning as a captain, he was promoted to 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1309 

major, from that to colonel, and then to the rank of brigadier-general 
before reaching the actual scene of hostilities. General Prentiss was 
placed in command at Cairo at the beginning of the war and established 
a blockade of the Mississippi River. While there he was waited upon 
by a delegation of Kentuckians, who protested against the landing of 
troops on Kentucky soil. This delegation reminded him that Kentucky 
was a sovereign state, the peer of Illinois, but to this General Prentiss 
replied that when the President called for troops to defend the Union, 
Illinois promptly furnished her quota, while Kentucky had failed to 
respond, and consequently her wishes were not entitled to the same 
consideration. 

After leaving Cairo General Prentiss was ordered by General Fre- 
mont to Jefferson City, Missouri, to take command of all North and 
Central Missouri. He fought at Mount Zion and a number of other 
minor engagements in the state. Subsequently being ordered to the 
field by General Halleck, he proceeded to Pittsburg Landing, Tennessee, 
where he arrived April 1st, and organized and took command of the 
Sixth Division, Army of the Tennessee. It was there that his reputa- 
tion as a military leader was secured beyond all peradventure. The 
historians of that great battle have all united in giving General Prentiss ' 
command credit for maintaining the integrity of the Union position 
during the first day, and thus insuring what amounted to a virtual vic- 
tory for the Union arms. It will be recalled that the other federal 
generals in council doubted that the Confederates were massed in force 
at Shiloh, and at his own request General Prentiss was permitted to 
send a small force forward to ascertain whether the enemy was not 
there in force. Five companies from General Prentiss' division were 
selected for that task, and these troops while reconnoitering received 
the first onslaughts of the enemy, arrested their charge and thus gave 
the Union army time to form the line of battle. The Confederates at- 
tacked in such force and with such energy that General Sherman's 
corps and all the other commands were compelled to give ground, and 
General Prentiss himself had to retire to a better position. At his com- 
mand his troops finally took position in the old Sunken Road, and 
there their resistance was so deadly that the Confederates called the 
place the "Hornet's Nest," and there the most sanguinary struggle 
of the day was "centered. It was while General Prentiss was holding 
this line that General Grant came up, and requested him to hold the 
road until sundown at all hazards. General Prentiss gave his promise, 
and he afterwards stated that again and again he looked for the setting 
sun, and was almost convinced from the slowness with which that lumi- 
nary moved toward the western horizon, that it had surely caught upon 
a snag. No reinforcements were sent to his hard-pressed troops, and 
at 5.30 in the evening General Prentiss and his 2,200 soldiers . were 
captured. For the following seven months he endured the rigors of 
Confederate prisons. It was during this time that newspapers pub- 
lished the report that the Confederates had surprised and taken Gen- 
eral Prentiss out of bed early in the morning on the first day. This 
report went all over the Union, and for a number of years remained 
without formal contradiction. General Prentiss declined to defend 
himself officially from the falsehood until 1880, when at the urging of 
his friends and in justice to the troops captured with him, he issued a 
formal statement as to the exact truth, and subsequently lectured in 
different parts of the country on that subject. Both General Grant 
and General Sherman in their memoirs published the truth about his 
capture and his heroic defense of the federal position, though for a 
number of years the calumny was allowed to persist without correction. 



1310 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

THE BATTLE OF SHILOH WITH SPECIAL REFERENCE TO THE SIXTH DIVISION, 
COMMANDED BY GENERAL PRENTISS 

"On the morning of April 6, 1862, the Union forces encamped at 
Pittsburg Landing consisted of five divisions, commanded respectively 
by: First, McClernand, 7,028 men; second, W. H. L. Wallace, 7,564 
men ; fourth, Hurlbut, 7,302 men ; fifth, Sherman, 8,830 men ; sixth, 
B. M. Prentiss, 5,463 men; total, 36,187 men. 

"About 20 per cent of this number did not engage in the action on 
account of sickness, detailed for other duty and temporary absence, 
leaving 28,950 on active duty ; with sixty-one regiments of infantry, 
three regiments of cavalry, and twenty-one batteries of artillery, exclu- 
sive of the Third Division, commanded by Gen. Lew Wallace, at Crump 's 
Landing, seven miles below, numbering 7,561 men, not engaged in the 
first day's battle. 

"Gen. U. S. Grant was in command of all Union forces in the 
vicinity of Savannah and Pittsburg Landing. 

"Gen. Albert Sydney Johnston was in command of all Confederate 
forces in Tennessee. 

' ' General Hickenlooper. ' ' 

SIXTH division 

"On the 26th day of March, 1862, General Grant, by Special Order 
No. 36, assigned General Prentiss to the command of unattached troops 
then arriving at Pittsburg Landing, with directions to organize these 
regiments, as they arrived upon the field, into brigades, and the brig- 
ades into a division, to be designated the Sixth Division. 

"Under this order one brigade of four regiments, commanded by 
Colonel Peabody, had been organized and was encamped on west side 
of Eastern Corinth Road, 400 yards south of the Barnes Field. An- 
other brigade, commanded by Colonel Miller, Eighteenth Missouri, was 
partially organized. Three regiments had reported and were in camp 
on the east side of the Eastern Corinth Road. Other regiments on their 
way up the Tennessee River had been ordered to report to General 
Prentiss, but had not arrived. 

"The Sixteenth Iowa arrived on the field on the .5th and sent its 
morning report to General Prentiss in time to have it included in his 
report of present for duty that day ; it was not fully equipped and did 
not disembark from the boat until the morning of the 6th. The Fif- 
teenth Iowa and Twenty-third Missouri arrived at the landing Sunday 
morning, April 6, 1862. The Twenty-third Missouri reported to Gen- 
eral Prentiss at his third position about 9 :30 A. M., and was placed in 
line at once as part of his command. The Fifteenth and Sixteenth Iowa 
were, by General Grant's order, sent to the right to reinforce 
McClernand. They reported to him at his fifth position in Jones' Field, 
and were hotly engaged from about 1 P. M. to 2:30 P. M. Hicken- 
looper 's Fifth Ohio Battery and Munch 's First Minnesota Battery and 
two battalions of Eleventh Illinois Cavalry had been assigned to the 
division and were encamped in the rear of the infantry. One company 
from each regiment was on picket one mile in front of the camps. On 
Saturday, April 5th, a reconnoitering party under Colonel Moore. Twen- 
ty-first Missouri, was sent to the front. Colonel Moore reported Con- 
federate cavalry and some evidences of an infantry force in front, but 
he failed to develop a regular line of the enemy. Prentiss doubled his 
pickets, and at 3 A. M. Sunday sent out another party of three com- 
panies of the Twenty-fifth Missouri, under Major Powell, to reconnoiter 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1311 

well to the front. This party encountered the Confederate- picket under 
Major Hardcastle in Fraley's Field at 4.55 A. M. These pickets at once 
engaged, and continued their fire until about 6 :30 A. M., when the 
advance of the main line of Hardee's Corps drove Powell back. 

"General Prentiss, hearing the firing, formed his division at 6 A. M. 
and sent Peabody's brigade in advance of his camp to relieve the retir- 
ing pickets and posted Miller's brigade 300 yards in front of his camp, 
with batteries in the field at right and left of the Eastern Corinth Road. 
In this position the division was attacked at 8 A. M. by the brigades of 
Gladden, Shaver, Chalmers, and Wood and driven back to its camp, 
where the contest was renewed. At 9 A. M. Prentiss was compelled 
to abandon his camp and fall back to his third position, which he occu- 
pied at 9 :05 A. M. in an old road between the divisions of Hurlbut 
and W. H. L. Wallace. Hickenlooper lost two guns in first position 
and Munch had two disabled. Each brought four guns into line at the 
Hornet's Nest. Prentiss was here joined by the Twenty-third Missouri, 
which gave him about one thousand men at his third position. With this 
force he held his line against the attacks of Shaver, Stephens and Gib- 
son, as described in account of Tuttle's brigade, until 4 P. M., when 
Hurlbut fell back and Prentiss was obliged to swing his division back 
at right angles to Tuttle in order to protect the left flank. When 
Tuttle's left regiments marched to the rear Prentiss fell back behind 
them towards the Corinth Road and was surrounded and captured at 
5 :30 P. M., near the forks of the Eastern Corinth Road. Hickenlooper 
and Munch withdrew just before they were surrounded, Hickenlooper 
reporting to Sherinan and becoming engaged in the 4 :30 action on the 
Hamburg Road. Munch 's battery reported to Colonel Webster was 
in position at mouth of Dill Branch, where it assisted in repelling the 
last attack Sunday night. 

"Maj. D. W. Reed. 
"Historian and Secretary. Shiloh National 
Military Park Commission." 

THE HORNET'S NEST 

"Slowly we retired from one defensible position to another, at each 
receiving the fire of well-served opposing battery, until we reached a 
roadway which ran at right angles to the one upon which we had been 
moving, well known as the "Sunken Road," having been cut some dis- 
tance through a low hill. Thus nature supplied a breastwork, a 
defensive line upon which to rally, with a prominent knoll upon which to 
place the battery, with front covered by almost impenetrable growth 
of underbrush. The Confederates made repeated charges and desperate 
assaults but the Union force could not be routed from their place of 
vantage. The dead and wounded fell like hail. A great number of 
the troops that fought like tigers in the "Sunken Road" were raw. had 
never been in battle before. The day wore on, the Union line slowly 
melting away, ammunition nearly exhausted. The enemy's lines were 
plainly seen crossing to the peach orchard in our rear, toward the only 
road over which escape was possible. Then General Prentiss informed 
me that he feared it was too late to withdraw his infantry, but I must 
pull out, and, if possible, reach the reserve forces in the rear. I bade 
the general good-bye, and under whip and spur, the remnant of our 
battery dashed down the road, barely escaping capture. Prentiss 
remained with his devoted followers, and with them accepted captivity 
rather than abandon the position he had been ordered to hold to the 
last. General Hickenlooper." 



1312 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

' ' Sbiloh was the severest battle fought at the West during the war, 
and but few in the East equaled it, for hard, determined fighting. I 
saw an open field, in our possession on the second day, over which the 
Confederates had made repeated charges the day before, so covered 
with dead that it would have been possible to walk across the clearing, 
in any direction stepping on dead bodies, without a foot touching the 
ground. On our side, National and Confederate troops were mingled 
together in about equal proportions, but on the remainder of the field 
nearly all were Confederates. On one part, which had evidently not 
been plowed for years, bushes had grown up, some to the height of 
eight or ten feet. There was not one of these left standing unpierced 
by bullets. The smaller ones were all cut down. 

"Gen. U. S. Grant." 
' ' The chivalry of the South was to be met by the sturdy manhood of 
the North. Perhaps neither Gettysburg nor any other battlefield of 
the war furnished a greater scene of courage and carnage than that 
afforded in and about that 'Peach Orchard.' It was simply an exhibi- 
tion of valor, and it was splendid. * * * Prentiss took his third 
position a few minutes after 9 o'clock, and here he was joined by the 
Twenty-third Missouri Infantry, which added about six hundred to his 
fragment of a division. In Prentiss' morning fights and retreat his 
command had dwindled to less than a thousand men, but these men 
gave a good account of themselves before the night fell. * * * There 
was much good fighting in different parts of the field, though not of 
such magnitude as in and about the 'Peach Orchard" and in front 
of the 'Hornet's Nest.' * * * The heroic stand of Prentiss and 
Wallace in the old road near Duncan field had served the Union cause 
well. Prentiss was a prisoner in the hands of the enemy, and W. H. L. 
Wallace lay mortally wounded on the field held by the Confederates, 
but the stubborn fight, waged from half-past nine in the morning until 
half-past five in the afternoon, taking the whole strength of the Con- 
federates to subdue the spirited resistance, had saved the day to the 
Federal Army. Maj. Geo. Mason, 

"Secretary Illinois Shiloh Battlefield Commission." 
"The first collision was in the quarter of Gladden 's brigade, on 
our right, with a battalion of five companies of the Twenty-first Mis- 
souri of Prentiss' division dispatched well to the front by General 
Prentiss, of his own motion, as early as 3 A. M. But for this incident, 
due solely to the intelligent soldierly forethought of an officer not trained 
for the business of war, the whole Federal front would have been struck 
wholly unawares, for nowhere else had such prudence been shown. 

' ' General Beauregard. ' ' 
"I think it is now generally conceded that but for the foresight of 
General Prentiss in sending Colonel Moore to the front, the Rebels 
would have reached Sherman's and Prentiss' camp before 6 o'clock. 
It is also conceded that the heroic fight made by Prentiss at 6 o'clock, 
in advance of his camp, was the most important event of the battle. 
He checked the enemy for more than an hour, and their heavy infantry 
and artillery firing made it so plain to the rest of the army that a battle 
was unexpectedly upon them, that they moved to its sound without 
orders. Colonel Andreas." 

"With Hurlbut gone, and Wallace gone, Prentiss was left isolated, 
struck in front, in rear, and upon either flank, cut off in every attempt 
to escape, about half -past 5 o'clock what was left of Prentiss' division 
surrendered. It was this division which had received the first blow in 
the morning, and made the last organized resistance in the afternoon. 
The whole Confederate line advanced, resulting at first in the confusion 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1313 

of the enemy, and then in the death of W. H. L. Wallace and the sur- 
render of Prentiss. These generals have received scant justice for their 
stubborn defense. They had agreed to hold their position at all odds, 
and did so until Wallace received his fatal wound, and Prentiss was 
surrounded and captured, with nearly three thousand men. This delay 
was the salvation of Grant's army. 

"Col. Wm. P. Johnston." 

"Prentiss' vigilance gave the first warning of the actual danger, 
and, in fact, commenced the contest. This spirited beginning gave the 
first alarm to the divisions of Sherman and Prentiss. The latter promptly 
formed his division and moved a quarter of a mile in advance of his 
camp, where he was attacked before Sherman was under arms. With 
the rawest troops in the army, his vigilance gave the earliest warning 
of danger, and offered absolute resistance to its approach; though 
broken in the advance, he rallied in fine with Hurlbut and Wallace 
and firmly held his ground until completely surrounded. 

"General Buell. " 

"The final victory of that battle was one of the most important 
which has ever occurred on this continent. It dissipated forever that 
nonsense of 'one southern man whipping a dozen Yankees.' It gave 
us the prestige which we had only to follow up, as we did at Corinth, 
Iuka, Vicksburg, Chattanooga, Atlanta, Columbia, and Raleigh — yea, 
to the end of the war — to insure absolute success. 

"General Sherman." 

After being exchanged. General Prentiss was commissioned a major 
general of volunteers for his gallantry at the battle of Shiloh. He 
served on the court-martial in the case of Gen. Fitz John Porter, and 
he was the last member of that court to pass away. At the close of 
this trial he was ordered to report to General Grant at Milliken 's Bend, 
by whom he was assigned the command of the eastern district of Ar- 
kansas, with headquarters at Helena. Here on the 4th of July, 1863, 
he commanded the Union forces in the battle of Helena, gaining a de- 
cided victory over the enemy, whose forces were equal to four times his 
number. 

The political career of General Prentiss began a number of years 
before the war. He was a republican from the organization of the 
party, and in 1860 was nominated by the Quincy district for Congress. 
During that year he spoke from the same platform with Oglesby, Inger- 
soll, Palmer, Yates and Lincoln, and was a companion of Lincoln when 
the latter spoke in his district. On the first occasion in which General 
Prentiss spoke with Mr. Lincoln, the future president made a charac- 
teristic speech, and said about all there was to be said. When he sat 
down "Captain Prentiss" was introduced as a candidate for Congress, 
and being sadly embarrassed by the presence of Mr. Lincoln, leaped 
from his chair and landed flat-footed on the table in the center of the 
stage. He did this to attract the attention of the audience and per- 
haps also it removed some of his embarrassment. When he started into 
his speech he began in his usual fiery and entertaining way and kept 
the audience laughing for a few minutes and then sat down. Lincoln 
with his ready sympathy had divined his predicament and understood 
the reason for his action, and at the conclusion of his speech leaned 
over and said, "Young man, when you come in contact with great 
men, rub up against them and you will find there is not much differ- 
ence after all. ' ' In that campaign General Prentiss was defeated, since 
that congressional district was not yet ready to accept the doctrines 
of a new party, but throughout the remaining years of his Illinois 
residence was in great demand as a speaker in the campaigns. 



1314 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

During his residence at Quincy, General Prentiss was appointed 
United States pension agent by General Grant, and filled the office 
eight years. In 1878 he moved to Missouri, spent a short time in Sulli- 
van County, and then engaged in the practice of law at Kirksville. 
After moving to Bethany in 1881 he continued the practice of law, 
and in 1888, after the election of President Harrison was appointed 
postmaster, and received the same honor from President McKinley. In 
1880 General Prentiss served as a delegate-at-large to the republican 
national convention which nominated General Garfield, and was a dele- 
gate to the national convention of 1884 which placed Blaine and Logan 
in the field as the national republican candidates and seconded the 
nomination of John A. Logan for president. He frequently attended 
the Missouri conventions of his party, and was one of the most influ- 
ential and popular leaders in the state. He took part in every cam- 
paign until his death. Those who recall General Prentiss as a political 
orator will agree with the opinion that no speaker of his time could 
stir up more enthusiasm among his followers, and at the same time do 
more to convince the lukewarm and disaffected. 

After the election of General Harrison, General Prentiss went to 
Washington, met the president, and was asked what he wanted. General 
Prentiss, considering his distinguished services was exceedingly modest, 
and his request was for the postmastership at Bethany, but, he said, 
he did not wish that office until the then incumbent's* term had expired. 
The president assured him that the office should be his, but expressed 
himself as desirous to accommodate General Prentiss with something 
more suitable. However, the latter declined any further favors. While 
in Washington he went to the office of General Noble, then secretary 
of the interior, and told the secretary that he was to be the postmaster 
of Bethany after a -few months, and in the meantime inquired if there 
was not some service that he could render during the interval. General 
Noble in response made him special agent of the general land office and 
sent him to Denver, Colorado. While there General Prentiss became 
so occupied with his duties that he almost forgot the Bethany post- 
office, until notified of the resignation of its former incumbent, returned 
just in time to receive his commission. In religion General Prentiss 
was a member of the Methodist Church. 

The first wife of General Prentiss was Margaret Sowdosky. Their 
children were: Harrison Tyler; Guy Champlain, who marched with 
Sherman to the sea and died in Quincy; Jacob Henry, who spent his 
last years in Bethany, where his family survive him; Ella, who married 
Doctor Blackburn and still lives in Bethany; Benjamin M., Jr., of 
Colorado; Clay, of Bethany. The oldest of these children. Harrison 
Tyler, known better as "Tip," was a drummer boy at Shiloh under 
General Sherman. The story is related that during the battle he met 
his father 's aide and inquired ' ' where is the old man ? " " He 's out there 
where you hear all that fighting," was the reply. "Well," said the 
drummer boy, "if he's out there one member of the family in the fight 
is enough. I'm going to the river." For many years after the war. 
Tip Prentiss was a river pilot on the Mississippi, and died in Bethany. 

General Prentiss' second wife was Mary Wortbington Whitney, a 
daughter of Joseph Ingram Whitney, who came from Maine. Mrs. 
Prentiss was born in Pennsylvania, December 16, 1836, and died in 
Bethanv Julv 28, 1894. Her children were: Joseph W., of Bethany; 
Arthur' Oglesby, who died in California; Edgar Worthington: and Mrs. 
Mary Cover, of Harrison County. 

Edgar Worthington Prentiss, who has spent most of his life in 
Bethany, was born in Quincy, Illinois, November 21, 1870. He has 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1315 

lived in Bethany since December 16, 1881. For a number of years 
he was the companion of his father during numerous political campaigns. 
While his father was postmaster at Bethany he served as assistant 
through both the Harrison and McKinley administrations, and then suc- 
ceeded his father in the office and was himself postmaster for two 
terms. Since leaving the Bethany postoffice Mr. Prentiss has engaged 
in business. 

On July 14, 1909, Mr. Prentiss was married at Bethany to Miss 
Lillian C. Neville, a daughter of James M. Neville. A short time 
previously Mrs. Prentiss had retired from her office as county super- 
intendent of schools, and about the same time Mr. Prentiss left the 
postoffice, their marriage marking the conclusion of their official career. 
Mrs. Prentiss was born in Harrison County, was for a number of years 
engaged in educational work, served in committees in the State Teachers' 
Association, and has been actively identified with musical and literary 
circles at Bethany. She is a graduate of the Bethany High School and 
the Warrensbrug State Normal School. Mrs. Prentiss is now regent 
of the Daughters of the American Revolution in the Elizabeth Harrison 
Chapter at Bethany. Mr. Prentiss and wife are active members of the 
Methodist Church ; he is a trustee and she is president of the Ladies ' 
Aid Society. 

Rev. George Sherman Murphy. D. D. A man of broad culture, 
earnest convictions, and strong character, Rev. George Sherman Murphy, 
pastor of the First English Lutheran Church at St. Joseph, is well 
known throughout this section of the county as an active and effective 
worker in all religious and charitable undertakings. He was born, 
March 4, 1865, near Lewistown, Mifflin County, Pennsylvania, a son 
of Joseph Murphy, and grandson of Andrew Murphy, both natives of 
Juniata County, Pennsylvania. His great-grandfather, Patrick Murphy, 
was born and reared in Ireland, and on coming to this country located 
in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, where he spent his remaining days. 
Andrew Murphy was a farmer by occupation, and spent his entire life 
in his native county. He was a man of great piety, and a faithful 
member of the Scotch Covenanter Church. 

Growing to manhood in Juniata County, Joseph Murphy embarked 
in mercantile pursuits when young, settling in Reedsville, Mifflin County, 
where he was actively and prosperously engaged in business until his 
death, while yet in manhood's prime, having been but thirty-one years 
old when called to the realms above. The maiden name of his wife 
was Mary Wherry. She was born in Mifflin County. Pennsylvania, a 
daughter of George and Sarah (Hoyt) Wherry, coming from German 
and English ancestry. She is now living with her son George, a bright 
and active woman, seventy-four years young. 

The only son of his parents. George Sherman Murphy attended the 
rural schools until fourteen years of age, and then began clerking in 
a store at Yeagertown, Pennsylvania, from that time being self-support- 
ing. He subsequently entered the employ of the William Mann Com- 
pany, proprietors of the largest axe factory in the world, located in 
Mifflin County, and there, as a metaLpolisher. earned money with which 
to advance his education. Entering Susequehanna University, at Selins- 
grove, Pennsylvania, at the age of twenty-three years. Mr. Murphy 
continued his studies there two years, and then became a member of the 
sophomore class of Wittenberg College, in Springfield, Ohio, and in 
1893 was graduated from that institution with second honors. He was 
immediately engaged as tutor in Greek at that college, and ere long 



1316 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

was advanced from tutor to professor of Greek, and occupied that chair 
until 1903. 

At the age of nineteen years Mr. Murphy had united with the 
Lutheran Church, and was licensed to preach at a meeting of the 
Wittenberg Synod, at Plymouth, Ohio, September 29, 1895, and 
ordained at a meeting of the East Ohio Synod, in Canal Dover, on 
October 21, 1900. His first charge was at Lucas, Ohio, where he had a 
successful pastorate. In 1906 he was called to St. Paul's Church, at 
Peabody, Kansas, where he was stationed six years. An enthusiastic 
worker while there, Mr. Murphy inspired his Congregation to such an 
extent that a church was built at a cost of $20,000, and was dedicated 
free of debt. 

In 1912 Mr. Murphy came to St. Joseph as pastor of the First 
English Lutheran Church. He at once set about raising funds for a 
new church, and that was completed and dedicated on January 18, 1914, 
a new parsonage also being finished at that time. The church building 
is a beautiful structure of stone, built in modern style, and containing 
various rooms for Sunday school and social meetings aside from the 
main auditorium. There is also a large kitchen and dining room, hand- 
somely finished and furnished, that add much to the equipment of the 
building. The entire cost of this handsome structure was $62,000, 
every dollar of which has been paid. 

On December 29, 1896, Mr. Murphy was united in marriage with 
Miss Rebecca Webber, who was born at Penn Orove, New Jersey, a 
daughter of William and Mary (Harris) Webber, and a lineal descendant 
on the maternal side of Roger Williams. Mr. and Mrs. Murphy have 
one child, George W. Murphy, born August 12, 1899. 

Fraternally, Mr. Murphy is a member of Clarke Lodge No. 101, 
Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Springfield, Ohio ; of Mitchell 
Chapter No. 14, Royal Arch Masons, of St. Joseph ; of Newton Com- 
mandery No. 9, Knights Templar, of Newton, Kansas ; of Wichita 
Council No. 12, Royal and Select Masters, of Wichita, Kansas; of Isis 
Temple, Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, of 
Salina, Kansas; and of all the bodies of the Ancient and Accepted 
Scottish Rite, thirty-second degree, St. Joseph, Missouri. He is also a 
member of the Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity. For six years Mr. Murphy 
was president of the Peabody, Kansas, Chautauqua. In June, 1914, 
the honorary degree of doctor of divinity was conferred on him by 
Midland College, Atchison, Kansas. 

Robert Hugh Miller. It is doubtful if. throughout the newspaper 
world of Northwest Missouri, there has been a better known or more 
greatly beloved figure than the late Robert Hugh Miller, of Liberty, 
who for forty years successfully guided the destiny of the Liberty 
Tribune. A pioneer citizen of Clay County, he started life as a poor 
boy, and worked his own way steadily upward through the force of 
sheer merit. Kindly natured and generous in his disposition and at all 
times thoughtful for others, he was a man in a thousand, whose friends 
were numbered by the hundreds and who was universally respected, 
admired and esteemed. Quiet and unassuming at all times, he was 
yet a man of infinite resource and absolutely fearless in his denunciation 
of whatever he believed to be an evil or an injustice. Talented and 
most capable, strong in good qualities and firm in his character, faithful 
to every duty which devolved upon him, a loyal and true friend, he 
was a credit at once to his forebears, his community and his craft, and 
when he passed away. February 14, 1911, he left a void in the hearts 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1317 

of those who knew him which time has not yet filled nor will for many 
years. 

Robert Hugh Miller was born November 17, 1826, in the City of 
Richmond, Virginia, a son of John E. and Mary (Rogers) Miller, the 
father a native of Scotland, and the mother a native of the Old 
Dominion, her parents being patriots of the Revolution. The father 
was a kinsman of High Miller, the eminent Scottish geologist and 
writer, author of "Old Red Sandstone." John E. Miller died in 1829, 
and soon thereafter the mother removed with her children to Glasgow, 
Barren County, Kentucky, from whence, three years later, she made 
her way to Paris, Monroe County, Missouri^ where, in order to keep 
her little family together, she secured a position as a school teacher, 
her son being among her pupils. She remarried in Missouri and died 
in 1870, and was buried in a secluded cemetery, but in later years 
the son had her remains carefully disinterred and laid to rest in the 
public cemetery at Bowling Green, Missouri, where a handsome monu- 
ment marks her grave. 

In 1840, when fourteen years of age, Mr. Miller was apprenticed 
to the printer 's trade in the office of the Patriot, a newspaper published 
at Columbia, Missouri, and when that sheet was discontinued Mr. Miller 
joined the force of the Statesman, where, under the editorship of the 
late Col. "William P. Switzler, he gained experience which was invalu- 
able to him in later years, and was thrown in contact with such men 
as Warren Woodson, James S. Rollins, Dr. William Jewell, James L. 
Stephens, old Doctor Duncan, the Todds, the Basses, the Clarksons, 
the Hickmans and the great lawyer, old Jack Gordon. Having com- 
pleted his apprenticeship, January 1, 1846, he set about securing a 
location wherein to establish a newspaper, and with the late John B. 
Williams chose Liberty, Missouri, as a field of operation and founded 
the Liberty Tribune. The first issue bore the date of April 4, 1846, 
and the partnership continued for less than a year, Mr. Miller buying 
Mr. Williams' interest, and from that time until Mr. Miller sold the 
Tribune plant to the late John Dougherty, in September, 1885, he 
continued as its sole owner, the last issue while he was in charge 
bearing the date of the last Friday in September. Hence, he was sole 
editor and proprietor of the Tribune for nearly thirty-eight years, 
continuously. 

In an article written by a lifelong friend, D. C. Allen, which was 
published in the Tribune at the time of Mr. Miller's death, Mr. Allen 
says, in part : " As can be understood, the Tribune remained stanchly 
whig until in 1852, when the whig party went down in defeat under 
Scott and Graham, leaving 'trailing clouds of glory' all over its past. 
With the characteristic devotion of old whigs to the names of Clay, 
Webster, Crittenden and their compeers, it declined to support the 
democracy in 1856 and 1860, but in those years gave its countenance 
respectively to Fillmore and Donelson, and Bell and Everett. After 
1860 it gave its adherence to the democratic party, and remained one 
of the truest democratic newspapers in Missouri. During the whole time 
of Mr. Miller's connection with the Tribune it gave its earnest advocacy 
to every measure calculated to advance the interests of his community 
and state. It stood for William Jewell College, first, last and all of the 
time. In 1860 it urged the people of the county to vote $200,000 in 
bonds for the construction of the Kansas City, Galveston and Lake 
Superior railroad, designed to connect Kansas City with the Hannibal 
railroad at Cameron. The tone of the Tribune was ever moderate and 
it was always on the side of law, of order, of faith, of the Constitution. 
Tn its columns, extending from April 4, 1846, until in September, 1885, 



1318 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

is stored very much the larger portion of the facts which go to making 
up the history of the people of our county, socially, educationally and 
politically. There is no contrivance which can measure the influence of 
those facts as they were gathered and disseminated. 

"The education of Mr. Miller did, not extend beyond the primary 
studies. This he supplemented by the education of the printing office, 
which had its advantages not elsewhere attainable. Above all, it stored 
his mind and memory with an infinite mass of facts. In addition he 
read a good deal outside of the printing office. All this made of him 
a man of extensive and valuable information. In estimating the char- 
acter of Mr. Miller, one must not forget a combination in him of very 
high qualities. These were the highest integrity, a strong sense of 
justice, tine courage, an unusual call to duty, deep tenderness of feel- 
ing, great reverence for the past, earnest devotion to principle, a lofty 
conception of the obligations of friendship — all under the control of 
strong, massive common sense. 

''His reverence for the past constantly urged him to seek out and 
accumulate objects of antiquity, curios connected with his own family, 
old papers and documents illustrating the history of the county and 
state, and family relics. He obtained every little object which had any 
association with his mother. He loved to gather articles connected with 
the Revolutionary war. His tenderness to persons, -especially the poor, 
and to dumb animals, could, if necessary, be shown by many facts. He 
could not endure ill treatment of dumb animals. His horse, his cows, 
his dog, any pet about the place, must receive proper attention. There 
seemed to be a sympathy and personal attachment between him and 
his old riding horse. He was a very hospitable man, loved the best 
food, and provided a great abundance of food in his household. He 
loved to sit down to his dinner table surrounded by his friends and 
kinfolks, with viands in lavish abundance. 

"It seems hardly necessary to add that he was a most valuable 
citizen. He was one of the most faithful of friends. No one can charge 
him with ingratitude. His word or promise was as good as gold. No 
one will pretend there was in our community a truer or more faithful 
man. He gave to charitable purposes as a prudent man should — that 
is, with discrimination and judgment — but he always gave where there 
was any merit. He was replete with kindness in his family and among 
his friends. He went in and out before the people of Clay County for 
sixty-five years. He was an appreciable part of the community. Since 
Mr. Miller retired from editorial work, he had allowed himself more 
ease and leisure than formerly. He was one of the most industrious, 
energetic men we have had in this county — during his earlier years 
constantly at work — and was gifted with rare business acumen. By 
1885 he had achieved a handsome competence. By prudence, good 
management and safe investment, before his death he had added to 
this. Mr. Miller was a man of great order and method. He had a 
place for everything and insisted that everything should be in its place. 
In his office work he demanded that everything be exact. He allowed 
no negligence. His pride was in the mechanical neatness and beauty 
of the Tribune. He was one of the rare few who made a fortune in 
the printing office. 

"At his death, he belonged to no denomination of Christians, but 
he was never known to utter a word against Christianity. Why or 
how he attained and retained this attitude towards the church is 
inscrutable — at least he left no explanation." 

Mr. Miller was married first June 28, 1848, to Miss Enfield (Enna) 
F. Peters, daughter of John R. Peters, of Clay County, and five children 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1319 

were born to this union: Millard Fillmore, who died in youth; Belle, 
deceased, who was the wife of J. J. Stogdall, of Liberty; Julia, who is 
the wife of Edwin Withers, of Liberty; Hugh, a resident of Kansas 
City; and Irving, a resident of Junction City, Kansas. Mr. Miller's 
first wife died December 3, 1867, and May 3, 1871, he was married 
to Miss Louise Wilson, daughter of Hon. John Wilson, of Platte County. 
Five children were born to this union : Roy, who died in early manhood ; 
Bessie, who married first a Mr. Day, and then L. Noel, and now resides 
at Glasco, Kansas; Ida, who is the wife of Prof. A. V. Dye, of Bisbee, 
Arizona; Clark, now a resident of Richmond, Missouri; and Mary, the 
wife of Harry Smith, of Richmond, Missouri. 

Mrs. Louise (Wilson) Miller was born in Platte County, Missouri, 
August 7, 1844, a daughter of John and Elizabeth (Trigg-Clark) Wil- 
son. Hon. John Wilson was born in Christian County, Kentucky, Feb- 
ruary 13, 1804, and about the year 1828 moved to Booneville, Missouri, 
where he married, and, entering the practice of law, became prosecuting 
attorney for all of Southwest Missouri. In 1841 Mr. Wilson came to 
Platte County, settling on the old Norton farm adjoining Platte City, 
where his name was enrolled as a practicing attorney of Platte Countv, 
July 13th of that year. In 1856, 1862 and 1864 he was elected to the 
Legislature of the state,, and opposed secession, but in 1865 voted 
against emancipation. In the latter year he was appointed county 
attorney, an office in which he served several years. In his early days 
he was an ardent whig and gloried in the fact that he was the first man 
to propose General Taylor for president. Mr. Wilson was a member 
of the circle of lawyers who framed the constitution of Missouri, and 
was associated with such leading men as Doniphan, Atchison, Burnett, 
Rees and Wood, and other history makers of the state. Far and wide 
he was known as "Hon. John Wilson from Platte," "The Old Line 
Whig" and "The Loud Voiced Orator." At different times his name 
was mentioned in connection with the offices of supreme judge, governor 
and United States senator. 

Mr. Wilson became the father of twelve children, of whom five are 
living at this time: James B., a resident of Kansas; Hon. Robert P. C, 
of Platte City; Charles B., of Oklahoma; John, of Kansas City; and 
Louise, -who is now Mrs. Miller. 

Elizabeth Trigg Clark, the mother of Mrs. Miller, was the daughter 
of Robert P. and Malinda (Trigg) Clark, the latter being a daughter 
of Col. Stephen and Elizabeth (Clark) Trigg, of Virginia and Ken- 
tucky. Colonel Trigg was a member of that distinguished Virginia 
family which furnished four congressmen to the nation. He was a 
member of two patriotic conventions that met at Williamsburg, Vir- 
ginia, in 1774 and 1776, and among his compeers are found Jefferson, 
Harrison, Randolph, Lee, Marshall, McDowell, Henry and Peyton. In 
1779 Colonel Trigg was sent to Kentucky by the governor of Virginia 
and after he had fulfilled his commission he decided to make the "Dark 
and Bloody Ground" his home. At the head of a band of brave and 
hardy men he pursued the Indians and established a barricade near 
Harrodsburg, known as Trigg's Station. Subsequently he was elected 
to the Legislature, was a trustee of the original towns of Louisville 
and Covington, and fell covered with blood and glory at the battle 
of Blue Licks, Kentucky, August 17, 1782. He married Elizabeth 
Clark, and had a family of nine children, of whom Elizabeth Clark, 
Mrs. Miller's mother, was the fifth in order of birth. 

Capt. Christopher Clark, of Colonial Virginia fame, married Penelope 
Massie, a granddaughter of Benjamin Ashley, Earl of Shaftesbury, 
died in 1741, leaving seven children, among them Micajah, his second 



1320 HISTORY OP NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

son, who married Judith Adams. The latter 's children were: Robert, 
"William and John. Of these, Robert married Susannah Henderson, 
and had a family of thirteen children, one of whom, Christopher, was 
a member of Congress from Virginia during Jefferson's administration. 
Another son, James, was a member of Congress from Kentucky in 
1812-16, and governor of his state in 1838. Another of the sons of 
Robert Clark, Bennett Clark, came to Missouri, settled in Howard 
County, and was the father of Robert P. Clark, the grandfather of 
Mrs. Miller. 

Gen. John P. Clark, Sr., was for many years a member of Congress, 
a Confederate state senator and a brigadier-general in the Confederate 
army. He was the grandfather of John B. Clark, Jr., who was also a 
brigadier-general of the Confederacy and a member of Congress from 
1872 to 1882; and of Robert C. Clark, now head of one of the public 
institutions of Missouri. Robert P. Clark, the grandfather of Mrs. 
Miller, was prominent in the affairs of Missouri as a territory, and was 
a member of the convention which framed the constitution under which 
Missouri was admitted to the Union as a state. 

Mrs. Miller, who still survives her distinguished husband and resides 
at Liberty, was educated at Platte City, and at the Ladies' College, 
Liberty. She is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolu- 
tion, and is well known in social circles of the city. 

Noah H. King. Years of familiarity with financial affairs gave to 
Noah H. King an experience that fitted him most admirably for his 
present position as manager of the Tootle Estate, the business of which 
runs into many millions of dollars, and in which work he has been en- 
gaged since January, 1910. Mention of this magnificent estate is made 
elsewhere in this work in connection with the sketch of the late Milton 
Tootle, Sr., who created the estate, so that further details concerning 
the scope and magnitude of Mr. King's activities will not be necessary 
at this point in regard to his connection with the Tootle affairs. 

Mr. King is not a Missourian by birth. He claims the State of 
Illinois for his natal state, and he was born there in 1873, the son of 
William A. and Elizabeth (Wilkins) King. The King family is directly 
allied with the family of which Austin A. King was a member. It 
will be remembered by Missourians that he was governor of the State 
of Missouri from 1848 to 1852 and furthermore that he was the first 
judge of Buchanan County, to which office he was elected in 1837. 
The family had its origin in Tennessee, the grandfather of Noah H. 
King having come to Buchanan County, Missouri, prior to Civil war 
days, and he was killed while serving as a soldier in the Union army. 

William A. King was born in Tennessee, and was engaged in farm- 
ing activities in Missouri practically all his m'aturer life, with the 
exception of two years spent in Illinois about the time of his marriage, 
during which time Noah H. of this review was born. 

Noah H. King was educated in the country schools of his home 
community, and reared on his father's farm, there remaining until 
1890, when he came to St. Joseph and started in business life as an 
office boy with the Buell Manufacturing Company, manufacturers of 
woolen goods in St. Joseph. The boy remained with them for three 
years, and in 1893 went with the State National Bank of St. Joseph. 
He continued with that fiscal institution until it was liquidated, in 
1896, when he became discount teller with the Tootle-Lemon National 
Bank, remaining with them until January 1, 1910, when he became the 
active manager of the Tootle estate, which position. he still is filling 
with all of satisfaction to those most concerned. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1321 

It will be seen that Mr. King's actual banking experience from the 
time he began up to the time when he became associated with his present 
business did not extend over more than seven years, but much of close 
familiarity with the business was crowded into that period. "While 
discount teller for the Tootle-Lemon National Bank he also served a 
term as manager of the St. Joseph Clearing House Association. 

Mr. King has also been connected with other business enterprises, 
among them being his association with the Davis Milling Company of 
St. Joseph, of which he 'has been secretary since 1910. 

Mr. King is fraternally identified by his relations with the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 40, of St. Joseph, and he is 
socially prominent as a member of the St. Joseph Country Club and 
the Highland Golf and Country Club. 

In 1898 Mr. King was married to Miss Mary Cannon, a daughter 
of Thomas Cannon of St. Joseph, who came to St. Joseph in about 
1870 and here engaged extensively in the starch and glucose business. 
He is now living retired in this city. Mr. and Mrs. King have a son, 
Horace J. King. The family home is at No. 2638 Folsom Street. 

James H. Meyer. Through a period of more than six decades the 
name of Meyer has been prominently connected with the history of Holt 
County. It is an honored name and one that is familiar to the people 
of this part of Northwest Missouri by reason of the honorable and useful 
lives of those who have borne it. James H. Meyer, of Hickery, is a 
worthy representative of the family whose history forms a connecting 
link between the past and the present. He saw Holt County in the days 
when its land was but little improved, its pioneer homes widely scattered 
and its evidences of development few. In the work of progress and de- 
velopment that has since wrought marvelous changes he has borne his 
part and today ranks among those valued and substantial citizens of the 
community who laid the foundation of the present prosperity of the 
county. 

James H. Meyer was born in Holt County. Missouri, December 31, 
1853, and is a son of Andrew and Mary (Secrist) Meyer. The father, 
a native of Germany, emigrated to the United States about 1835, and for 
several years, while seeking a capital with which to establish himself 
as a farmer, accepted such honorable employment as came his way, work- 
ing in the City of Saint Joseph when there were but two white men in that 
place. In 1849, attracted by the discovery of gold, he made his way 
across the plains to California with an ox-team, the journey consuming 
four months, and after sixteen months of hard and successful effort 
returned to Missouri with $6,000 in gold. This he invested, in 1850, in 
a farm of 440 acres, located about four miles south of Mound City. 
About ten acres of this land had been cleared, but there were few improve- 
ments, and the family home was a small log cabin with a clapboard roof, 
in the construction of which not a nail had been used. During the Civil 
war Mr. Meyer invested heavily in land, prospered wonderfully through 
his wise and judicious business dealings, and accumulated some two 
thousand three hundred acres of land, on which he made various valuable 
improvements. When his wife died he gave up active pursuits, and from 
that time until his own death lived among his children. He was a man 
of exemplary habits, a faithful member of the Presbyterian Church, and 
was highly esteemed by his fellow citizens who elected him county judge 
of Holt County. The thirteen children, all born in this county, were as 
follows: Anna E., who married W. A. Long; James H., who married 
Fannie L. Pointer; Mary M., who married Charles Corsaut and died at 
the age of twenty-one years; Alfred A., who married Edna Phillip; an 



1322 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

infant, deceased ; Willard P., who married Hettie Case ; Armilda C, 
who married Charles Corsaut ; George W., who married Mamie Fry ; 
Rohert F.. who married Lena Rosebury ; Charles, who married Anna Pat- 
terson ; Emma J., who married W. Rayburn ; Marvin E., who married 
Cora Henning; and Don C, who married Alma Duncan. 

James II. Meyer divided his boyhood between working on his father's 
farm during the summer months and attending the country district 
schools in the short winter terms, and thus grew to sturdy manhood and 
adopted the vocation of agriculturist. At the time of his marriage he 
entered upon a career of his own, settling on his farm in the vicinity of 
Mound City, in a small three-room frame house, which was destroyed by 
fire and replaced by the present modern residence. From time to time, 
following his father's example, Mr. Meyer added to his property, until 
at one time he was the owner of 100 acres, but of this has since sold 120 
acres to his son Logan, and eighty acres to his son William A. An ener- 
getic and skilled agriculturist, Mr. Meyer made a success of his under- 
takings, and at this time is living in semi-retirement on his farm. He has 
made a specialty of raising stock, horses, hogs and cattle, and has the 
reputation of being one of the best judges of stock in the country. He 
has ever been a friend of modern ideas, and has contributed to the de- 
velopment of the community by the erection of buildings, including the 
residence on the farm of his son William F. While not a politician, he 
has supported democratic candidates and policies, 'and has served for a 
period of twelve years as a member of the school board. With his family, 
he attends the Presbyterian Church. 

Mr. Meyer married Fannie L. Pointer, October 21, 1875, and to this 
union there have been born six children, as follows: William A., who 
married Cora Trimmer, and they have three children, Harvin A.. Earl 
and Dorothy, all born in Holt County; Ralph M., who married Mabel 
Terry and has four children, Galen, born in Nodaway County, and Ralph 
M., Jr., Lucy and Clinton, born in Holt County ; Logan A., who married 
Hattie Wakeley and has four children, Ellen, Mary, Hazel and William 
H., all born in Holt County; James H., Jr., who married Floy Seepen, 
has three children, Frances Marguerite and Thomas L., born in Wayne 
County, and David Winter, born in Florida ; Edgar R., who married 
Miriam Hayhurst, has three children, Errol and Barbara, born in Texas, 
and Ned H., born in Holt County; and Dr. Frances P., who married 
Virgil Carter, and has one child, Marguerite J., born in St. Joseph, 
Buchanan County, Missouri. 

Alvah Patee Clayton. St. Joseph as a city of trade and industry 
has been fortunate in the possession of a fine body of citizenship, includ- 
ing men of ability and integrity to direct the large enterprises which 
have given this city distinction among the larger centers of Missouri. 
During the last quarter of the century, one of these building builders 
and upholders of local prosperity has been Alvah Patee Clayton, presi- 
dent of the Sheridan-Clayton Paper Company, a former mayor of St. 
Joseph, bearing a name which has long had a distinctive place in the 
city's history, and one of the foremost Masons of Northwest Missouri. 
Mr. Clayton has had a long and varied career, which has made him 
both a witness and a participant of many eras of achievements and social 
and business advancement. 

The Sheridan-Clayton Paper Company, located at 302-308 South 
Third Street, and of which Mr. Clayton has been president since 1902, 
is the largest wholesale and jobbing house of its kind in St. Joseph, and 
has a history going back thirty years or more. The company makes a 
specialty of wrapping paper, stationery, school supplies, holiday goods, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1323 

toys, woodenware, and drug sundries. The territory over which its 
goods are distributed through a large force of traveling representatives 
comprises the states of Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Nebraska, 
Iowa. Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and Idaho. 

Alvah Patee Clayton is a native of the State of Ohio, born at Ashley, 
December 27, 1860, a son of James Wellington and Almira Elizabeth 
(Patee) Clayton. After his father's death in Ohio, in 1864, the mother, 
who was a daughter of Alvah Patee, and a niece of John Patee, both 
of whom helped make business and civic history in St. Joseph, herself 
came to this city, bringing her son Alvah in 1865, and she lived here 
until her death, December 24, 1912. Thus Mr. Clayton has been a 
resident of St. Joseph practically all his life. The public schools 
gave him his early education, and later he was a student in the Christian 
Brothers College at St. Joseph. His practical business career began 
with the old wholesale stationery firm of Williams Brothers, and though 
his identification with paper trade has not been continuous, it was that 
early experience which really gave him the start towards his permanent 
career. In 1881 Mr. Clayton engaged in the general merchandise trade 
at Eleventh and Penn streets, in St. Joseph, as a member of the firm of 
Skiles, Hull & Clayton. This partnership continued until 1884, in 
which year Mr. Clayton went on the road as traveling representative 
for the Beaumont-Sheridan Paper Company of St. Joseph. He sold 
paper for this firm over a territory with satisfactory success until 
1886. Then he was out of the paper business for one year, and was 
traveling salesman, representing R. T. Davis .Milling Company of St. 
Joseph. Returning to his old firm, which in the meantime had 
reorganized and taken the title of Ashton-Sheridan Paper Company, Mr. 
Clayton in 1888 himself bought a one-third interest in the business, 
and it was then reorganized and incorporated as the Sheridan-Clayton 
Paper Company, with John J. Sheridan as president and A. P. Clayton 
as vice president. Upon Mr. Sheridan's retiring from the business, in 
1902, Mr. Clayton became president, but the old title of the firm is 
still kept. 

Few business men have so popular a place in community and general 
social esteem as Mr. Clayton. Outside of the paper company, his busi- 
ness interests include the relation of vice president of the Park Bank 
of St. Joseph, director of the Bartlett Trust Company of St. Joseph, 
and director of the Mueller-Keller Candy Company of St. Joseph. Having 
long been prominently identified with business affairs, being considered 
one of the leading business men, and a man whose efficiency was beyond 
a question of doubt, Mr. Clayton was prevailed upon to accept the nomina- 
tion for the office of mayor, and was elected two terms, his period of 
service running from 1908 to 1912. He also served two terms as presi- 
dent of the St. Joseph Commercial Club, was president of the Lotus 
Club for two terms, and president of the Jefferson Club two terms. 
His interests in many lines are indicated by the various honorary 
memberships which have bestowed upon him, and these include honorary 
membership in the following orders : International Typographical Union ; 
International Bricklayers., Plasterers, and Masons' Unions; Interna- 
tional Plumbers' and Steamfitters' Union; Missouri State Retail 
Merchants' Association; Master Bakers' Association of America; Master 
Bakers' Association of Kansas. 

His Masonic record is also noteworthy. He has taken thirty-two 
degrees in the Scottish Rite, and in the work of the Mystic Shrine is 
one of the most accomplished men in the entire country, and known 
among Mystic Shriners from coast to coast. In 1906, Mr. Clayton was 



1324 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

elected to the exalted office of Imperial Potentate of North America, of 
the A. A. 0. Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, serving during the year 1907. 
His local membership is with Moila Temple, of the Mystic Shrine, and 
he was potentate for eight years, from 1899 to 1906. He has an honorary 
life membership in forty shrines in North America, and is an honorary 
member of Pacific Lodge of New York City, A. F. & A. M., a lodge 
composed of actors and theatrical managers. Perhaps his greatest dis- 
tinction in Masonic work was his activity in organizing, in January, 
1907, the first shrine in a Latin country, the Republic of Mexico. In 
January, 1908, he instituted and delivered the charter to Aneva Temple, 
A. A. O. N. M. S., at the City of Mexico, and conferred the order upon 
President Diaz and other prominent Mexicans. Mr. Clayton has been 
affiliated with the Masonic Order since he was twenty-one years of age, 
and is a life member of Charity Lodge No. 331, A. F. & A. M., receiving 
his life membership card for thirty years of active service. His other 
relations are with St. Joseph 's Chapter, R. A. M. ; Hugh DePayen Com- 
mandery No. 51, K. T., and all the Scottish Rite bodies, including St. 
Joseph Consistory No. 4, A. A. S. R. 

In 1887 Mr. Clayton married Miss Mattie Gunn, a daughter of Dr. 
Robert Gunn, a well known physician of St. Joseph, and also a very 
prominent Mason. They are the parents of three sons : Robert Griffin 
Clayton, Edward Smith Clayton, and Alvah Patee Clayton, Jr. Their 
home is at 208 North Nineteenth Street. 

Mr. Clayton's career has been a busy one, and filled with accom- 
plishments in various lines. His ability to do many things perhaps 
comes from his splendid physical and mental efficiency, and his stature 
of six feet two inches, with weight of more than two hundred and fifty, 
is suggestive of his general bigness, not only physically, but in every 
characteristic. He is one of the men of action, and of large and dis- 
tinctive influence in the city. 

Olaf T. Anderson. In the career of Olaf T. Anderson there are 
to be found lessons for the youth of any land. The son of wealthy 
and refined parents, he came to the United States as a youth of nineteen 
years to carve out his own career, and here, after a long period of 
struggle, he has eventually reached the goal of his ambition. For a 
number of years after his arrival, it seemed that fate had destined Mr. 
Anderson to ignominious defeat and failure. Time and again he fought 
his way to a substantial start in life, only to see his earnings swept away 
by disasters over which he had no control, but his native pride and his 
fine self-reliance would not allow him to admit himself beaten, and he 
kept persistently, doggedly and energetically working, until through the 
sheer force of his exertions he overcame obstacles, thrust aside discour- 
agements, and emerged triumphant, with a clear title to a position among 
American self-made men. Now, in the evening of life, with his struggles 
behind him, he may contentedly look back over the years of his arduous 
labors, secure in the knowledge that the success which is his has been 
honestly and legitimately gained, and that his position in the esteem 
and respect of those among whom he has labored rests upon no ques- 
tionable action. 

Olaf T. Anderson was born at Helsingburg, Sweden, March 9, 1847, 
a son of Anderson Bengtson and wife, natives of that country, where 
both died. There were five sons in the family: Peter, who died at the 
home of his brother, Olaf T. ; Bengt, who died at Des Moines, Iowa; 
Nels, who is a resident of Alta, Iowa; John, who lives at Butte, Mon- 
tana, and Olaf T., of this review. Mr. Anderson was educated in the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1325 

public schools of his native land and was given more than ordinary ad- 
vantages in this direction. It would have been possible for him to 
have remained at home, where his father would have placed him in 
business, but the young man was of an independent nature, and on 
reaching his nineteenth year decided to come to the United States in 
the search for fortune and position. Making his way to England, he 
there took a vessel which brought him to New York, and from that city 
he went to Kansas City, Missouri, and secured employment in the con- 
struction gang which was engaged in building a bridge for the Han- 
nibal & St. Joseph Railway. Here the misfortunes of the young for- 
eigner began, for unscrupulous persons stole all of his clothes and he 
was left destitute, although he was partly reimbursed by a kind-hearted 
section boss, who gave him five dollars. After a number of hardships 
he eventually made his way to the vicinity of Holt, in Clay County, 
where he purchased forty acres of land. There he labored faithfully 
for four years, but not being familiar with American methods, or soil 
and climatic conditions, his strenuous work failed to bring the desired 
results, and he lost all his holdings and was compelled to send to Europe 
for a loan. When this arrived, he felt that his fortunes might change 
in another locality, and he subsequently went to Nodaway County, Mis- 
souri, where in the vicinity of Guilford (to the east) he purchased a 
quarter section of land, on which he located in 1873. This was abso- 
lutely raw property, and by the time he had placed improvements 
thereon, he found himself deeply in debt, and again in 1875 was com- 
pelled to go to work again as a laborer. Mr. Anderson's next venture 
was in the Willamette Valley of Oregon, where he ditched and drained 
land through the winter for six months, and during this time it rained 
for fifty-three days, although Mr. Anderson lost, only one day's labor 
in this time. 

Returning to Nodaway County, Missouri, in 1876, with some small 
capital, Mr. Anderson within three years had cleared himself from debt 
and had purchased 160 acres of land, well stocked, making in all 320 
acres. It was at that time that his fortunes took a turn for the better, 
and from that time to the present his advance has been steady and con- 
secutive. In 1880 he sold this tract of land to a Mr. Jacob Pugh, and 
came to Gentry County, here buying sixty acres of land near Alanthus 
Grove, which he subsequently sold and went west to his cattle ranch, 
located seventy-five miles northwest of Garden City, Kansas. There 
he remained with some success until 1884, when he returned to Alanthus 
Grove and purchased seven farms, the greater part on time, as his cap- 
ital was but $3,000. This property comprised 900 acres, but later he 
disposed of a part of the property, retaining 404 acres in sections 25, 
30, 31 and 36, township 64, range 32, the only improvement on this 
land being fencing. Here he settled down to farming and stock-raising, 
and during the years that followed put in improvements valued at 
$15,000, all of which were paid for by the yield of the land. In 1914 
he sold this property to his daughter, Mrs. Augusta Pierce, for the 
sum of $50,000 cash, and March 1, 1915, took up his residence in his 
beautiful home which he had erected at Albany. 

While the greater part of Mr. Anderson's activities have been de- 
voted to agricultural pursuits, he has also been interested in a number 
of other ventures, and is at present a stockholder in the Farmers and 
Mechanics Bank at Stanberry and the First National Bank of Albany. 
In 1880 he was one of the organizers of the Mutual Insurance Com- 
pany of Gentry County, and is now a director of this concern, which 
handles about $2,000,000 worth of insurance. A republican in politics, 

Vol. Ill— 3 



1326 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

in 1905 he was nominated for the office of county judge, but owing to 
the great democratic majority in the county met with defeat. Frater- 
nally he is connected with Alanthus Grove Blue Lodge, No. 262, A. F. 
& A. M. He has been active in religious work, and is treasurer of the 
Baptist Church at Alanthus Grove. In every walk of life Mr. Ander- 
son has displayed a strict adherence to high principles, and no man of 
his community is held in higher general confidence and esteem. 

Mr. Anderson was married in 1873, in Clay County, Missouri, to Miss 
Johanna Pearson, of Sweden, whose parents, farming people, died in 
that country. To this union there have been born the following chil- 
dren: Augusta, the widow of John Pierce, who died September 15, 
1908, purchased her father's farm, which she rents for a yearly sum 
of $2,400, and is the mother of two children, Ruth and Bonnie ; Alma, the 
wife of W. R. Cook, has the following children : Beatrice, Lilian, Ches- 
ter, Stella, Mabel, Ray, Bertha, Emma, Gladys, Delbert and John, of 
whom Beatrice married Albert Wilson of Gentry County, and has one 
son and a daughter ; Emma, who became the wife of Tom Jennings, 
of Gentry County, and died June 19, 1906, at the age of thirty-three 
years, leaving one child, Bertha; Oscar, a farmer of Twin Falls, Idaho, 
married Kate Hall, and has three children, Olaf , Valeta and Nanny ; 
Mary, who married Harry Carter, a farmer of Gentry County, and 
has two children. Ross and Eileen ; and John, a farmer of Nodaway 
County, married Ethel Wilson and has two children, Geneva and Victor. 

William Roleke. Among the mayors of the various cities in North- 
west Missouri, perhaps none has a better record of administration than 
William Roleke, now chief executive of the City of Bethany. William 
Roleke has been identified with Bethany since 1886, is a successful busi- 
ness man, and at the same time one of the keenest observers, practical 
workers and leaders in local affairs. While never neglecting his busi- 
ness nor failing to provide for the needs of his own household, Mr. 
Roleke since taking out his naturalization papers as an American citi- 
zen has had a fair idea of polities, and has been both a thinker and an 
actor in his home town. 

William Roleke was bora in the Province of Hanover, Germany, in 
the City of Papenburg. He belonged to a family of the official class. 
His father, Karl Roleke, who was born in the same locality, entered 
the army at the age of sixteen, and after the required military service 
was appointed to a position in the civil service, and finally became a 
revenue officer. He was retired on a pension some twenty years before 
his death, which occurred in July, 1914, at the age of eighty-five. His 
wife, whose first name was Augusta, died in 1870. Only three children 
reached mature years; John, a business man in Hamburg, Germany; 
George, in business at Papenburg; and William. 

William Roleke attended school during the required time until four- 
teen years of age, and then began learning the tailor's trade in Papen- 
burg. He subsequently lived in the free City of Hamburg, and escaped 
the regular requirement of military service by "drawing himself out," 
as he explains it. William Roleke was born January 15, 1864, and in 
1886, at the age of twenty-two, left his native land, traveled about 
Northern Germany and in Belgium, "having a good time," as he ex- 
presses it, and at Antwerp, Belgium, took passage on the Belgenland 
of the Red Star Line, and landed in New York. He progressed leisurely 
through the states, stopping a time in New York, Chicago and St. Louis, 
and having some means was able to select his future home with care 
and a proper regard for future opportunities. It was after arriving 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1327 

in Bethany that Mr. Roleke mastered the English language, which he 
did readily enough, and eagerly embraced every opportunity to pre- 
pare himself for the responsibilities of American citizenship. He soon 
declared his intentions of naturalization, and cast his first vote as an 
American citizen for Grover Cleveland. He has since been affiliated 
with the democratic party in national politics. On coming to Bethany, 
Mr. Roleke entered the employ of his cousin, Herman Roleke, and sub- 
sequently they were in the tailor business as partners, under the firm 
name of H. and W. Roleke, for fifteen years. William Roleke since 
1903 has been sole proprietor of the business and has built up an estab- 
lishment that is the leading one of its kind in Harrison County. Mr. 
Roleke is also one of the directors and was one of the organizers of 
the First National Bank of Bethany. 

During his active business career and residence at Bethany, Mr. 
Roleke came to be known among his fellow citizens as an advocate of 
progressive improvement. His judgment in such matters was entitled 
to consideration since he studied the needs of the town and was pre- 
pared for discussion, and when the occasion arose was also a practical 
worker in any movement in which he took part. It was these qualifica- 
tions that first brought him election in 1908 to the office of mayor, and 
he has been reelected four times, having succeeded Mayor Cruzan in 
the office. His administration in the past six years has been respon- 
sible for all the modern improvements in Bethany. These include the 
laying of pavement around the public square and in some of the side 
streets and alleys, and also the concreting of Central Street. Another 
important municipal improvement was the construction of a new elec- 
tric light plant and the installation of a new filter system at the water- 
works, besides a general clean up of the town. Mr. Roleke was one of 
the first to advocate these public improvements, and Bethany citizens 
have kept him in office because they recognized his able leadership and 
ability to carry out constructive measures. His first election came by 
a small majority of thirty votes, but the confidence of the people in his 
work has been shown by his election the second time by a majority of 
two to one, while in the next election his vote was three to one, and 
the last time it was by almost a unanimous choice that he entered the 
office. 

Mr. Roleke has represented his local lodge of Knights of Pythias 
in the Grand Lodge seven times, is affiliated with both the subordinate 
lodge and encampment of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and 
is also a member of the Order of Yeomen. At Bethany on September 2, 
1888, Mr. Roleke married Miss Anna Schulze. She was born in Berlin, 
Germany, a daughter of Gustav Schulze, a capitalist. Mrs. Roleke came 
to the United States to visit her cousin, Herman Roleke, and at Bethany 
made the acquaintance of William Roleke and they were married here. 
Their children are : Dr. Helen, who is a graduate of the Kirksville 
College of Osteopathy, and for two years practiced at Joplin, Missouri, 
until her marriage to J. T. Parks, and they now live in Kansas. Carl, 
who is in the plumbing business at Bethany; and Catherine, a student 
in the Bethany High School. 

Samuel Bob Stockwell. One of the progressive, enterprising and 
intelligent stockmen and farmers of Harrison County, whose property 
is located in the vicinity of Bethany, is Samuel Bob Stockwell, who is 
one of the first generation removed from the founder of the family in 
this part of Northwest Missouri. His father, Shelton M. Stockwell, 
brought his family hither after the close of the Civil war, in 1867 to 



1328 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

be exact, from Ray County, Missouri, where he had spent a few years 
and where he had lived during the war, in which he served as a mem- 
ber of the Missouri State Militia. He had gone to Ray County to take 
up farming from Rush County, Indiana, having received a limited edu- 
cation in the district schools of the Hoosier state, and in Rush County 
was married to Amanda Ellis, daughter of Judge Ellis, a farmer and 
Christian preacher who came to Missouri and settled in Harrison County 
about the time of Mr. Stockwell's migration. Judge Ellis died here 
as did his wife, their home being located about six miles south of the 
Town of Bethany. 

On coming to Harrison County, Shelton M. Stockwell settled three 
miles west of Bethany, purchasing the Jo Riggs farm, on which he 
carried on farming and stock-raising in a thorough and successful 
manner, doing the substantial improvement necessary to make a pro- 
ductive farm and erecting buildings for the comfort of his family and 
the shelter of his stock, grain and implements. He was one of the early 
feeders here and for his own use bred the Poland-China hog, while 
the Short Horn cattle stocked his pastures and were of his own breeding. 
He was a man close to the people, his neighbors, without political am- 
bitions, although strong as a republican. He favored public education 
and always gave it his moral and financial support, although he had 
had but few advantages in his own youth, and in this respect his wife 
was much like him, although her opportunities had, perhaps, been a 
little greater. She still survives and resides at Bethany, her eighty- 
eighth birthday having occurred November 17, 1914. She is identified 
with the Christian Church, and Mr. Stockwell 's membership therein 
dated from early life. He was unfriendly to secret organizations, and 
in his intercourse with men never essayed to speak in public. Mr. 
Stockwell passed away, universally respected and esteemed, on his farm 
in Harrison County, July 13, 1895, when his community lost a strong, 
stirring and helpful citizen. The children of Shelton M. and Amanda 
Stockwell were as follows: Alonzo, a resident of Bethany; Belle, who 
is the wife of J. W. Kerlin, of Albany, Missouri; Viola, who married 
Charles McCoy, of White Oak Township, Harrison County; Alice, who 
is the wife of W. M. Claytor, also of White Oak Township ; Elizabeth, 
who is the widow of the late R. A. Cowan, and resides at Bethany; 
Jennie, who is the wife of J. B. Rhodus, of that place; and Samuel B. 

The father of Shelton M. Stockwell was a native of Bourbon County, 
Kentucky, who had all the Kentuckian's love for fine horseflesh and 
was a dealer in and breeder of that animal, also engaging in general 
farming pursuits. Some time after his marriage to Miss Goff, a Ger- 
man woman whose family was prominently known in Bourbon County, 
he moved to Rush County, Indiana, and there continued to be engaged 
as a farmer during the remainder of his 'life. He was also a local 
preacher of the Christian Church, and both he and his wife are buried 
in Indiana. Their children were as follows: Eliza, who became the 
wife of a Mr. Cowan and spent her life in Indiana ; Parson, who died 
in Missouri; Elisha, who died in Ray County, Missouri; Shelton M., 
the father of Samuel B., and born in Bourbon County, Kentucky ; Mar- 
garet, who married Hugh Cowan and died in Indiana ; and Robert, 
who passed away in Harrison County, Missouri. 

Samuel Bob Stockwell was born on the farm on which he now lives, 
December 28, 1870. His life as a boy and youth was brought into close 
connection with stock and he began buying cattle when he was but 
thirteen years of age, in the meantime securing his education in the 
community schools, and in which, to use Mr. Stockwell 's own words, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1329 

"he went as far as he could." He was about eighteen years of age 
when he became manager of the home farm, and eight years later was 
put in full control of it. He fed his first load of cattle in 1896, and 
has been identified with feeding every year since, his operations gradu- 
ally increasing in scope and importance until he is now accounted 
one of the leading stockmen of the county. Mr. Stockwell's ranch com- 
prises land in sections 12 and 13, in township 63, range 29, aggregating 
240 acres; in Bethany Township he owns land in sections 7 and 18, 
same township and range, aggregating 160 acres, all joining and mak- 
ing a handsome ranch devoted to horses, mules and cattle ; and he also 
operates a leased ranch near Hatfield, Missouri, an important part of 
his industry. 1339457 

In politics Mr. Stockwell is a republican, but he is entirely without 
political ambitions, and has never even attended local or other con- 
ventions. He cast his first presidential vote for Benjamin Harrison, in 
1892. Possessing a pleasing personality and being an intelligent and 
interesting conversationalist, Mr. Stockwell has formed many acquaint- 
ances in Harrison County and has retained them as friends. He is a 
member of the Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias, having taken some 
interest in fraternal matters, and with Mrs. Stockwell attends the Chris- 
tian Church, with which both are affiliated. 

Mr. Stockwell was married April 17, 1910, at Saint Joseph, Mis- 
souri, by Rev. M. M. Goode, to Miss Sadie J. Sutton, a daughter of 
John H. and Ellen (Hubbard) Sutton, of Rush County, Indiana. Mr. 
Sutton was reared in Davies County, Missouri, and has lived in Har- 
rison County since 1888, has been a prominent contractor for many 
years, and has four sons following the same line of work. The children 
of Mr. and Mrs. Sutton are : Leonard H., Henry G., Fred K., Ralph 
H., Mrs. Stockwell, Nell K., who is county superintendent of schools 
of Harrison County, John H., Jr., and Herbert D. 

George W. Barlow. In the many years of his active practice at 
Bethany, George W. Barlow has distinguished himself for solid ability 
as a lawyer, and at the same time has devoted much of his time and 
energy to the public welfare. Mr. Barlow began practice in Harrison 
County in September, 1879, and for many years has been known as 
one of the leaders of the local bar, and at the same time the community 
has often looked to his interest and support for many enterprises and 
movements that would advance the city and surrounding country. 
Among Missourian republicans, Mr. Barlow has been a strong and 
influential leader and has a large acquaintance with leading members 
of the party both in the state and throughout the nation. 

George W. Barlow came to Harrison County in 1869 and to the 
State of Missouri in 1865, at which time his parents settled in Chilli- 
cothe, Livingston County. They were from Jackson, Ohio, where George 
W. Barlow was born October 14, 1855. He was well educated in the 
public schools, but worked for his higher education, and after taking 
the normal course at the University of Missouri engaged in teaching 
school for forty months in Harrison County. It was through his pro- 
fession as a teacher that he first impressed himself upon this section, 
and came to know hundreds of people young and old. His work as a 
teacher was done in the country schools, and from the means acquired 
through that profession he took up the study of law and in 1878 was 
graduated from the law department of the State University. Having 
finished his education and training for his profession, Mr. Barlow re- 
turned to Bethany, and in September, 1879, formed a partnership with 
Thomas D. Neal, as Neal & Barlow. After the death of Mr. Neal he 



1330 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

formed a partnership with Judge George W. Wanamaker in 1882, and 
they were long regarded as the leading firm in Harrison County. Their 
associations continued until the elevation of Judge Wanamaker to the 
district bench in 1905. Since then Mr. Barlow has been in practice with 
his brother, Gilbert Barlow, and the firm was Barlow & Barlow from 
January 1, 1905, to January 1, 1914, at which time L. R. Kautz was 
admitted to the firm, which is now Barlow, Barlow & Kautz. 

Mr. Barlow entered politics as a republican, casting his first presi- 
dential ballot for Rutherford B. Hayes, and for nearly forty years has 
never missed a presidential election. He has been in many local con- 
ventions, was assistant sergeant-at-arms of the national convention at 
St. Louis in 1896, which nominated McKinley, was a delegate from his 
congressional district in 1908 and cast a vote for President Taft, and 
in 1912 was a spectator in the national convention at Chicago, and 
witnessed the turbulent scenes which marked the walkout of the pro- 
gressive element of the party. Mr. Barlow was chairman of the com- 
mittee on credentials in the famed Excelsior Springs District Repub- 
lican Convention of 1912, one of the first held in the state, and one 
whose acts were reported as important political news all over the 
country, and resulted in severe criticism. Mr. Barlow wrote a history 
of that convention from intimate knowledge of its inside workings, 
and published the article in the press dispatches just before the meet- 
ing of the republican leaders held in Indianapolis that year, and his 
article had an important bearing on the consultations in that meeting. 

As to his own public service, Mr. Barlow in the fall of 1888 was 
elected prosecuting attorney of Harrison County, and was reelected 
in 1890, having succeeded Judge W. H. Skinner in that office. His 
administration was one of aggressive and efficient service, during which 
time he convicted more men for crimes than had been the record of 
any of his predecessors. Mr. Barlow traced up through Pinkerton de- 
tectives one man charged with rape who had crossed the Gulf of Mex- 
ico, and after getting him back to the Missouri courts prosecuted him 
and sent him to the penitentiary for ten years. During his term, Mr. 
Barlow continued his partnership with Judge Wanamaker, who was 
his assistant in the office, and at the close of his second term resumed 
his large private practice. For many years Mr. Barlow has been local 
attorney for the Burlington Railway, and his firm now handles the 
litigation for that company. He was one of the organizers of the Grand 
River Coal & Coke Company of Harrison County, the largest corpora- 
tion in the county, and is a director and attorney for the company. Mr. 
Barlow was also one of the chief stockholders and builders of the Heil- 
bron Sanatorium at Bethany, and is still chief stockholder and treasurer 
of the company. He and his brother built in Bethany the Barlow Block, 
the best business building in the county. He is the owner of other 
property in the city, and has one of the best residences located in the 
midst of spacious grounds on Elm Street, and it is easily one of the 
most attractive homes in the county. The residence contains ten rooms, 
is modern throughout, and is finished in oak and walnut, with floors 
of heavy oak. 

Mr. Barlow was married October 9, 1879, in Bethany to Miss Eliza- 
beth Hockridge, daughter of Nelson A. and Maretta (Hart) Hockridge. 
The Hockridge family formerly lived in the vicinity of Utica, New 
York. Mrs. Barlow's great-grandfather, Daniel Wherry, whose remains 
are buried at Plessis, New York, was a Revolutionary soldier from 
that state. Mrs. Barlow was the oldest child, and other members of 
her immediate family are : William H., a farmer in Harrison County ; 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1331 

and Emma, who died as Mrs. F. H. Nally. Mr. and Mrs. Barlow have 
a daughter, Mabel, wife of L. R. Kautz, a young lawyer of Bethany, 
and they have a son, George Barlow Kautz. Mr. Barlow also has as 
a member of his family Maretta Barlow, the daughter of Mrs. Emma 
Nally, sister of Mrs. Barlow. She has been reared in the Barlow home 
since childhood, and is being educated and trained as carefully as if 
she were an own child. Mr. Barlow is a Knight Templar Mason and 
also affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, and some years ago served 
as judge advocate of the Missouri Division of the Sons of the Revolution. 

George W. Barlow comes from an old Virginia family. His grand- 
parents were George and Sarah (Ubanks) Barlow, both natives of 
Virginia and born about 1786 and 1789, respectively. They were mar- 
ried in 1811. George Barlow enlisted as a private during the War of 
1812, but was soon detached from the field service and sent out as a 
recruiting officer. He died in Jackson County, Ohio, in 1854, and his 
wife passed away in 1866. They were members of the Baptist Church. 

James Barlow, father of the Bethany lawyer, was born in Caroline 
County, Virginia, in 1832, and spent his active career as a farmer. In 
1836 his parents moved to Ohio, and he was married in Jackson County 
of that state to Miss Lucinda Nally, daughter of William and Patsy 
Nally, who were likewise from Virginia. James Barlow, in 1863, en- 
listed in Company I of the One Hundred and Seventy-second Ohio Vol- 
unteer Infantry, served as sergeant of his company, and was in several 
engagements before he was discharged in the fall of 1861. During 
the Morgan raid through Ohio he was captured, but was soon released. 
James Barlow was a republican, and one of the active influential men 
of Northwest Missouri after his removal to this state in 1865. He be- 
came a prominent Methodist Church leader in Harrison County, and 
built there a church largely by his own funds. His death occurred in 
April, 1907, and he is survived by his wife. Their children are : Emma, 
wife of Frank P. Burris of Harrison County; William C, assistant 
cashier of the Bethany Savings Bank; Henry A., a farmer in Harrison 
County; Lola, wife of John Ballard, of Bethany; Howard, of Daviess 
County, Missouri; Dr. Edward, a prominent physician at Pattonsburg, 
Missouri, where he died in 1902 ; Harvey K., a Harrison County farmer ; 
and Gilbert, who practices law in partnership with his brother, George W. 

Charles F. Daugherty. For twenty-five years Mr. Daugherty has 
been one of the active educators in Missouri, has been in all branches 
of public school work, from a country school to the organized city sys- 
tem, and since 1913 has been superintendent of the Bethany public 
schools. Mr. Daugherty early in life chose school work as his profession, 
and his experience and talent have constituted him an able executive, 
a successful worker among the young, and he has likewise taken a prom- 
inent part in the organized activities of teachers and has performed 
his part in raising the standard of education in this state. 

Mr. Daugherty began his work as a country teacher in the Carlock 
School near Dadeville in Dade County, Southwestern Missouri. His 
early training had been largely of the country, with a country school 
education, and he has a keen appreciation of educational conditions as 
they were in the rural districts twenty or thirty years ago. Early in 
his career he was a student for some time in the Ash Grove Christian 
College, alternating his work as a student with teaching in the country, 
and later was a student in Drury College at Springfield, in the Spring- 
field Normal, and also in the University of Missouri. He finished the 



1332 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

course in the normal schools, and is at the present time eligible to a 
degree at the State University. 

Professor Daugherty began his greatest school work as principal 
at Everton, and afterwards was at Republic, Fairplay and Willard, 
then became superintendent of the Monett schools, followed by a similar 
position at Deepwater, and for four years was supervising principal in 
the Joplin schools. Thus his early experiences were all in the South- 
west Missouri counties. From Joplin Professor Daugherty went out of 
the state for a brief time, and was superintendent at Fredonia, Kansas. 
Returning to Missouri, he became superintendent at Albany, spent 
three years there, and then accepted his present position at Bethanv 
in 1913. 

Aside from his regular work in the various schools mentioned, Mr. 
Daugherty has on various occasions been an instructor in county teachers ' 
institutes. He was at one time secretary of the Southwestern Teachers' 
Association, and in the Missouri Teachers' Association was a member of 
the committee on time and place in 1910 and 1913, and is now one of 
the directors of the School Peace League, which originated with the State 
Teachers' Association, and continues to work as an independent league 
for the preservation of peace among nations and people. Professor 
Daugherty has frequently appeared on the programs of state meetings 
with papers on educational topics, and is a man who has progressive 
ideas on school work, and his formal papers and informal discussions 
have always been worth listening to. Among his many papers and 
addresses there is no occasion to speak with particularity but an address 
on the subject of "Youth" delivered at the commencement exercises at 
Fairplay was considered by his friends and associates as probably one 
of his best efforts. Mr. Daugherty is a member of the executive board 
of the Athletic Association of Northwest Missouri. He drew up the 
courses of study for the schools of Deepwater, and at Fredonia, and is 
credited with having placed Fredonia, Deepwater and Albany on the 
eligible list of schools for affiliation with the higher state educational 
institutions. During his career as superintendent Professor Daugherty 
has graduated about one hundred and thirty pupils, and he states that 
twenty-six per cent of them have followed him into school work. During 
the past four years forty-five per cent of the graduates have entered 
colleges and universities for higher education. Out of a class of twenty- 
nine in 1914 at the Bethany High School, fifteen are now attending 
higher institutions of learning. Fourteen were graduated from the 
teacher's training course, and of this number one is now in the State 
University while twelve are teaching in Harrison County. Mr. Daugherty 
is unmarried. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows and the Rebekahs, the Knights of Pythias, and the Lodge, 
Chapter and Commandery of Masons. His church is the Christian. 

Charles F. Daugherty was born in Tazewell County, Virginia, Decem- 
ber 28, 1866. He has lived in Missouri since 1868 when his parents came 
to this state, spent a short time at Albany and tben went into Southwest 
Missouri and located in Dade County. Professor Daugherty grew up 
in Dade and Greene counties. Mr. Daugherty 's remote American ances- 
tor is said to have brought a cargo of silk to New York, and after selling 
it settled in North Carolina. He was a native of Ireland. The grand- 
father of Professor Daugherty was John L. Daugherty, who spent his 
life in Virginia, and was a local official and proprietor of a hotel at 
Tazewell, where he died. His children were : Isaac, James, David, John, 
George and Mary. George G. Daugherty, father of Charles F., was a 
native of Tazewell County, early in the war entered the Confederate 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1333 

service, was captured and in a northern prison until exchanged, then 
returned to his command and continued until the close of the war. He 
was a tailor by trade, and after coming to Dade County followed farm- 
ing until his death in 1881 at the age of fifty-six. George G. Daugherty 
married Mary Jane Gillespie, daughter of William Gillespie, a Virginia 
farmer. This family of Gillespies furnished also the maternal ancestors 
for James Gillespie Blaine, the great statesman and presidential candi- 
date of the republican party in 1884. George Daugherty and wife were 
members of the Methodist Church, South. His wife died in 1895. Her 
children were: John L., who died in Hiattville, Kansas, in 1908; James 
W., of Fort Collins, Colorado; Mrs. M. C. Potter, of Bolivar, Missouri; 
Charles F. Daugherty ; and Miss Maggie A., of Kansas City. 

Ashman H. Vandivert, M. D. One of the old and honored families 
of Harrison County, belonging to the pioneer age in this section, members 
of which have been identified with commercial, agricultural activities and 
various learned professions in this state and elsewhere for generations, 
is that of Vandivert. Dr. Ashman H. Vandivert, who is the son of a 
pioneer physician in Harrison County, has practiced medicine at Bethany 
for more than thirty-five years, and. by his native ability and devotion 
to his calling has won high distinction in his profession. 

The Vandivert family was established in America by Holland-Dutch 
ancestors, who came from Holland with Peter Stuyvesant and settled 
at New Amsterdam, now New York. During the Revolutionary war 
there were four New York soldiers named " Vandervoort. " The grand- 
father of Doctor Vandivert was Barnett Vandivert, who died in Jackson 
County, Ohio, at the age of ninety-six. He married a Miss Henry, and 
among their children were : Joseph, John, James, Barnett, Dr. Robert, 
Mrs. Moore, Mrs. Akin, and Samuel. Joseph was a graduate of the 
Mussey Medical College at Cincinnati, went South and entered the 
Confederate army when the Civil war came on, had a home in Mississippi, 
and after losing his family subsequent to the war went West and died 
at Empire, Colorado. The son Samuel came West and died in Harrison 
County, Missouri. Barnett moved to Illinois and died in the southern 
part of that state. John and James both died in Ohio, and the daughters 
spent their years in the same state. 

The late Dr. Robert H. Vandivert, father of Dr. Ashman H., came 
to Harrison County, Missouri, in 1856, locating in the country south 
of Bethany and spending most of his active career in that vicinity. He 
was born November 14, 1819, and it is believed that Pennsylvania was 
his native state. The family afterwards located in Muskingum County, 
Ohio, and he graduated in medicine from the Starling Medical College 
at Columbus about 1850, practiced in Muskingum County until his 
removal to the West, and made the journey to Missouri by railroad as 
far as St. Louis, and then by boat up the Missouri River to St. Joseph. 
He was accompanied by his wife and three sons. 

After coming to Harrison County, Dr. Robert H. Vandivert invested 
his surplus money in land, and after the war bought some large tracts 
in Daviess County. While busy with his profession, he did something 
toward the improvement of the land and was known as a farmer and 
stock raiser. The practice of his profession he carried on after the 
war until 1875. He was a member of the state militia until he passed 
the military age, and as a republican was present at the first meeting 
by that party in Harrison County in 1860 and was elected chairman. 
Just one week later, it is a matter of interest to note, the democrats 
organized for the campaign of 1860, and his brother presided over that 



1334 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

meeting. The senior Doctor Vandivert, in 1868, was elected to fill an 
unexpired term in the State Senate, and in 1870 was elected for the 
full term. His service for six years covered the period of the building 
of the Lincoln Institute, the colored school at Jefferson City, one of the 
early institutions of the kind for the race. While Doctor Vandivert 
was not gifted as a speaker, he was an organizer and worker, and a man 
of varied interests and did a large and important service to his com- 
munity and state. Fully impressed with the value of public education, 
he advocated schools as long as he lived, and educated his own children 
liberally. His oldest son, J. Worth, was graduated from the College 
of the Christian Church at Canton, and died as a lawyer at the age 
of twenty-six. Another son, Arthur Hubert, finished the course in 
pharmacy at the University of Michigan, but died as a farmer in 
Harrison County in April, ±913. Samuel W., another of his children, 
graduated from the law department of the University of Michigan, 
became district judge in Kansas, subsequently went East and while 
living in New Jersey became prominent as a lawyer in New York City, 
but is now engaged in the newspaper business at Russellville, Arkansas. 
Dr. Robert Vandivert was married in Belmont County, Ohio, to Agnes 
Hannah Berry, daughter of Samuel Berry. She died in June, 185S, 
leaving children as follows, some of whom have already been mentioned : 
Joseph Worthington ; Dr. Ashman H. ; Arthur H. ; Samuel W. ; Harriet 
Agnes, wife of Prof. Ben L. Remmick of the State Agricultural College 
of Kansas. While Doctor Vandivert was identified with the Christian 
or Disciples Church, his wife was an adherent of the Quaker faith. 

Dr. Ashman H. Vandivert was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, 
April 6, 1853, and was about three years of age when the family came 
to Northwest Missouri. His education was supplied by the public schools 
of Bethany, and in 1874, at the age of twenty-one, he took up the study 
of medicine in the office of Doctor Walker at Bethany. In 1877, 
Doctor Vandivert was graduated M. D. from the University of Michi- 
gan, then returned to Harrison County and has since been actively 
identified with his large practice in town and country, with the excep- 
tion of four years. In April, 1909, Doctor Vandivert was appointed 
by the board of control as a physician at Hospital No. 2 in St. Joseph 
and gave four years to that work. Doctor Vandivert is identified with 
the Harrison County Medical Society, and at one time served as vice 
president of the Missouri State Medical Association, and is a member 
of the American Medical Association. 

Doctor Vandivert is a republican and has been actively identified 
with the party. In 1888 was an alternate delegate to the National 
Republican Convention, and during his long professional career has 
endeavored wherever possible to serve his community with the disinter- 
ested public spirit which has always been his characteristic. He was 
for fifteen years a member of the school board of Bethany, finally 
resigning that office. Doctor Vandivert is a large, broad-shouldered 
man, and with his splendid physical make-up combines earnest sincerity 
in all his work, and has a highly successful and influential position in 
Harrison County. He is the owner of the Vandivert Drug Store at 
Bethany, is a stockholder in the Bethany Republican Printing Company, 
and owns farm lands in the vicinity. 

Doctor Vandivert was married, in June, 1878, to Rosa Templeman, 
daughter of William A. Templeman. At her death, in February, 1880, 
she left a daughter, Bessie Agnes, who is now a teacher in the public 
schools of Seattle, Washington. Doctor Vandivert was again married 
on September 29, 1886, to Emma Buckles. She was the oldest of nine 




/Vk**. * ^u^ "yryijj^^x^ 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1335 

children, all of whom are living, and was born near Grafton, Illinois, 
a daughter of William and Harriet (Ripson) Buckles, who were early 
settlers of Illinois, and her mother is still living. Doctor Vandivert 
and wife have the following children : Robert Henry, who died July 1, 

1912, while serving as foreman with the Arnold Construction Company 
at Evansville, Indiana, and was unmarried; Dr. William Worthington, 
who graduated from the University Medical College of Kansas City in 

1913, is in practice at Bethany, and married Lillian Guise of Dale, 
Indiana ; Ashman Hubert, the youngest, died in infancy. 

Dr. Joseph S. Halstead. At the time of this publication there are 
probably no men in the medical profession and very few citizens in 
Northwest Missouri who have so long a retrospect over the past as the 
venerable Dr. Joseph S. Halstead of Breckenridge. 

Doctor Halstead has farmed and practiced medicine in Caldwell 
County since 1860, though for a number of years his activity has been 
merely nominal, and he is now suffering from the infirmities of age and 
his time has been largely spent in retirement and in association with 
the past. Doctor Halstead was born at Louisville, Kentucky, March 4, 
1818. Incidental to the date of his birth it may be noted that Doctor 
Halstead is opposed to the proposed change for the date of inauguration 
of presidents. He says the nation has been observing his birthday every 
four years for ninety-six years, and he wants the same consideration he 
has always had. At the time of his birth James Madison was still Presi- 
dent of the United States. The greatest statesmen, soldiers and leaders 
in the field of the arts and literature during the nineteenth century 
in America were at that time hardly at the beginning of their careers. 
As a boy. youth and young physician in Kentucky, Doctor Halstead knew 
such great personalities as Henry Clay and Gen. Andrew Jackson, and 
met General Lafayette on his last visit to America. The span of this 
one man's life covers practically every phase in the development of the 
United States from the beginning of the era of westward expansion. 
Missouri was not admitted as a state until after he was born, and he 
was in the full pride of manhood when the Mexican war was fought 
and gave to the United States its great possessions in the Southwest. 

The father of Dr. Joseph S. Halstead was Alexander Halstead, who 
was born in Geneseo County, New York, and was a tailor by trade. He 
married Margaret Singer, a native of Philadelphia. They came to the 
West among the pioneers in the western movement and settled in Lex- 
ington, Kentucky^, and in 1832 moved to Jennings County, Indiana. The 
father died at the age of ninety-four and his wife aged forty-five. The 
mother was a member of the Methodist Church, and the father was a 
whig and later a republican. There were eleven sons and two daugh- 
ters. One of them, James C, served as a soldier in the Union army. 

Doctor Halstead grew up in Kentucky, acquired a good education 
for his time, and finished the course in the Transylvania College in the 
medical department in 1840. He began practice in Kentucky, and was 
married in 1852 to Margaret Wickliffe. For sixty-two years she has 
been his devoted companion arid wife, and is now eighty-five. Her great- 
grandfather was the noted Gen. Ben Logan of Kentucky. Doctor Hal- 
stead and wife became the parents of eight children, five sons and three 
daughters : Nat W., who is an attorney at Beardstown, Kentucky ; Anna 
Lucy Rozell, of Salt Lake City, Utah; Margaret B., of Chillicothe, Mis- 
souri; Joseph D., of Phoenix, Arizona, in the lumber business; Charles 
W., of Breckenridge, Missouri; Jasper N., a lumberman in Iowa; Logan, 
of Hamilton, Missouri ; Mary Clifford, of Breckenridge. The children 
were all well educated, and fitted for their respective spheres of useful- 



1336 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

ness in the world. Doctor Halstead has thirty-four grandchildren and 
twelve great-grandchildren. Of the large family covering four genera- 
tions, there have been only three deaths in sixty-two years, and one of 
them accidental. 

Doctor Halstead came to Caldwell County, Missouri, in 1860, took up 
the practice of medicine, and gave his services to the community through- 
out the Civil war and for a great many years afterwards. He is one 
of the old-style gentlemen, and has outlived practically all his contem- 
poraries, and now in his ninety-sixth year his mind and memory dwell 
chiefly in the scenes of a long distant past. He is fond of talking of old 
times, and particularly of events that occurred more than three-quarters 
of a century ago. 

One of the most interesting special articles that appeared in a recent 
issue of the Kansas City Star had Dr. Halstead as its subject under the 
title "Henry Clay's Family Physician Is Still Living in Missouri." 
Without repeating some of the matter of this article already covered, the 
following will add to the many interesting facts that should be preserved 
in a sketch of this venerable Breckenridge citizen : 

"Dr. Halstead Was living in Kentucky during the height of Henry 
Clay's greatness, except during part of 1841 and 1842, when he came 
up the river in a steamer and stopped at Richmond. Missouri. There 
he practiced medicine, but answered the call of his former practice and 
returned to Kentucky, where he remained until 1860. Then he returned 
and bought a section of land near Breckenridge, part of which he still 
owns. 

"To the Clay home Dr. Halstead was called many times and he 
has a very vivid remembrance of the occasion when the 'great pacificator' 
made his famous statement, ' I would rather be right than be president. ' 
A party of New England capitalists and manufacturers had called upon 
him to get him to modify his views in some particulars. ' It will defeat 
you if you don't,' they said. Then he dismissed them with the state- 
ment which has become history. 

"The cane of which the people of Breckenridge are so proud and 
which Dr. Halstead carries only on special occasions has engraved on 
the staghorn handle 'W. H. Jenifer, 1819.' Jenifer was representing 
Missouri in the fight for admission to the Union. Clay made a great 
speech which virtually brought the state in, and Jenifer gave the cane 
to Clay after the address, and told him its history. He had cut an olive 
branch from a spot near the birthplace of Cicero and had had a cane 
made of it. Clay prized it very highly and after his death Tom Clay, 
the son, gave it to Dr. Halstead. 

"Dr. Halstead was in Kentucky during the great cholera outbreak 
and his exposure and lack of sleep and food while waiting on the victims 
caused him to drop from a weight of 140 pounds to 92 pounds. This 
weight he never regained, and he figures curiously enough that that 
experience was beneficial rather than detrimental. 

"When he came to Missouri in 1860 for the second time, landing at 
Lexington with his wife and carrying his money in gold in saddlebags, he 
rode to Plattsburg and bought from the Government 640 acres of land 
near Breckenridge. This choice area was obtained for two dollars and 
a half per acre. Dr. Halstead says of his farm that its first owner was 
the King of Spain, the second Napoleon Bonaparte, with the United 
States third, and he was the fourth and first individual owner. When 
he came to Caldwell County it was with the intention of giving up 
medical practice and engaging as a farmer. However, the Civil war 
upset his plans. It left him the only physician in the county, and he 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1337 

proved himself a real neighbor, even though his farm often was raided 
in his absence." 

J. Lee Cross. One of the foremost attorneys of Clinton County, 
J. Lee Cross, of Cameron, belongs to a family distinguished for its many 
able members of the legal profession, his father and four brothers all 
being lawyers of note in Missouri. A native of Caldwell County, he 
was born, in 1868, in Mirabile, then a frontier village, being the eldest 
of the five sons of John A. Cross, founder of the well-known legal firm 
of Cross & Sons, of Lathrop, Clinton County, and of whom a brief 
biographical sketch appears on another page of this volume. 

Having completed his college course, J. Lee Cross, who inherited in 
no small measure many of the natural gifts of his distinguished father, 
began the study of law under the direction of his father, receiving 
advantages and training of exceptional value, he and his brothers seem- 
ingly imbibing legal knowledge in the atmosphere of law surrounding the 
Cross home. One of the first trials that made any very vivid impression 
upon the minds of the sons of John A. Cross was that of the Crusaders, 
which was won by their father, and made the name of Cross familiar 
and famous from the East to the West. In 1894 Mr. J. Lee Cross was 
admitted to the bar, and since taking up his residence in Cameron he 
has established a large and constantly growing practice, and is numbered 
among the esteemed and valued citizens of this section of Clinton 
County. 

Mr. Cross married Miss Maud Green, who was born in Fayette, 
Missouri, a daughter of the late W. J. Green. Fraternally Mr. Cross 
is a member of the Knights of Pythias. 

Carlton S. Winslow. The constantly increasing tendency of men 
learned in the law — the natural result of a profession which equips its 
followers for success in various lines of endeavor — to engage in occupa- 
tions outside their immediate sphere of activity, has resulted in numerous 
advantages, among these being the raising of commercial standards, an 
avoidance of legal complications, and a general simplifying of condi- 
tions through a knowledge of fundamental principles. In this con- 
nection, an illustration is given in the career of Carlton S. Winslow, of 
Bethany, a thoroughly learned .member of the Harrison County bar, 
who, as president of the Crescent Jersey Farm Company, is known as 
one of the leading stockmen of Northwest Missouri. 

Mr. Winslow was born February 9, 1860, in Rutland County, Ver- 
mont, and is a son of William L. and Julia (Cheedle) Winslow. The 
family is traced back to the Mayflower and to Massachusetts, and Mr. 
Winslow 's grandfather was Nathaniel Winslow, who was perhaps the 
founder of the Vermont branch. The grandfather, who was a farmer 
and passed his life in the Green Mountain State, married as his first 
wife Miss Clarissa Pettigrew, and their eight sons and two daughters 
were : Henry, who died in Vermont ; Russell, who died at Toledo, Ohio ; 
Ephraim, who spent his life near Monroe, Michigan ; Samuel, who spent 
the greater part of his life in Michigan but died in Vermont; Harris, 
who lived near Monroe, Michigan, and died there ; Stephen, who died in 
Vermont; Lewis I., who also passed away in that state; William L. ; 
Clarissa, who died at Deerfield, Michigan, as Mrs. Thomas Logan ; and 
Mary, one of the older children of the family, who married Mr. Pierce, 
and died near Petersburg, Michigan. 

William L. Winslow was born in Addison County, Vermont, where 
he was brought up as a farmer and secured his education in the public 
schools. He lived a quiet and uneventful life as an agriculturist and 



1338 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

was successful as a financier, winning prosperity from his business 
ventures. His connection with the Civil war was confined to his duties 
as selectman of his town in Vermont, in which capacity, whenever a 
draft was made for troops, he saw that the bounty was paid and the 
men raised. In politics he was a republican, he belonged to no frater- 
nity, and his religious faith was that of the Methodist Church, of which 
lie was a member. Mr. Winslow married Julia Cheedle, a daughter 
of an artisan and blacksmith who died in Vermont and whose wife was 
Minerva Snow. The Cheedle children were four in number: John; 
Elizabeth, who married Almon Cunningham; Timothy B. : and Mrs. 
Winslow. The last named passed away in 1907, at Bethany, and was 
laid to rest beside her husband in the Miriam Cemetery. Their children 
were: Jane E., of Hale Center, Texas, widow of John S. Pryor; Carlton 
S., of this review ; and Hattie A., the wife of U. G. Long, of Harrison 
County. 

Carlton S. Winslow was a lad of eight years when he accompanied 
his parents to Sherman Township, Harrison County, and remained 
under the parental roof until reaching the age of seventeen years, at 
which time he was sent to take a commercial course in Grand River 
College. Edinburg, Missouri. Succeeding this, he took up the study of 
law with Alvord & Faucett, of Bethany, with whom he completed his 
studies, and was admitted to the bar at Gallatin, February 3, 1880. before 
Judge Samuel A. Richardson. He was the first aspirant to be examined 
under the law requiring the presence of the entire bar in open court, 
and in his case there were about forty lawyers on hand, the greater 
part of a night being spent in completing the proceedings with this lone 
applicant. 

After securing his admission Mr. Winslow started seeking a place 
for locating, and after a brief stop at Concordia, Kansas, was induced 
to open an office at Atwood, Kansas, expecting the location of a land 
office there, but, being disappointed in this, came to Missouri and 
located at Bethany. He was associated first with Judge W. H. Skinner, 
as Skinner & Winslow, and later on with E. H. Frisby, as Frisby & 
Winslow. His primary cases were not of spectacular interest, and the 
very first one was tried at Atwood, Kansas, where he built the first 
house on the present townsite. He was defending cattle men and the 
conditions out there at that time demanded that cattle men carry pistols 
for personal protection, and on this occasion the court room was full 
of them. 

In 1886, Mr. Winslow left Bethany because of pulmonary trouble 
and sought the climate of Central Kansas, locating at Marion. While 
in Kansas he was the western attorney for Lord Scully, the English 
land baron. He was a factor in republican politics also, and aided in 
the overthrow of the populist, Judge Doster, from the district bench, 
after having urged his election as a republican four years before. Mr. 
Winslow continued his practice and carried on banking, recuperated his 
health so as to pass two examinations for life insurance, and left after 
six years and went to Chicago, Illinois. There he was associated with 
Frank M. Cox and Spencer Ward, as Cox, Winslow & AVard, and each 
of these men made a professional standing as a lawyer and a citizen. 
They were in civil practice and Mr. Winslow 's work was confined to 
corporation and chancery business. While in Chicago he was a member 
of the Hamilton Club, the leading republican organization of Chicago 
and one of the most prominent in the United States, and was a member 
of the republican committee of Lake View. Mr. Winslow left Chicago 
upon the death of his father, in 1899, and returned to Bethany, where 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1339 

he resumed the practice of law. He was for five years city attorney, 
and was the candidate of the Law and Order League before the primaries 
in 1914 for the office of prosecuting attorney of Harrison County. He 
is a past chancellor of the Knights of Pythias and was a member of the 
Illinois Grand Lodge for four years, and while in Chicago was the 
deputy for the district in which Evanston is located. 

Aside from his legal practice, Mr. Winslow has been extensively 
engaged in breeding Jersey cattle and handling his dairy farm, located 
two miles northwest of Bethany. His dairy barn in 32 by 54 feet, of 
brick, with concrete floors, mangers and gutters, and extends into a 
frame barn, 26 by 64 feet, with shed room and iron stanchions, accom- 
modating forty-three head of cattle. He built the second silo in the 
county. "Golden Jubilee's Lad," No. 94,792, a grandson of ''Golden 
Grand," No. 53,568, that splendid son of "Golden Lad," P. S. 1,242 
H. C, the most prepotent bull ever imported to this country, heads the 
herd on Crescent Jersey Farm. He has also a great-grandson of 
"Diploma," No. 16,219, sire of fifty-five in list, including "Merry 
Maiden," sweepstakes cow at the Chicago World's Fair, and of "Stoke 
Pogis of Prospect," No. 29,121, sire of sixty-nine in list. Mr. Winslow 
has recently added "Undulata Gamboge Chief," No. 120,886, from the 
herd of R. A. Long of Kansas City, Missouri. "Undulata Gamboge 
Chief," a son of "Fountain Chieftan," grand champion of Chicago 
National Dairy Show, 1911, which sold for $5,100, and a grandson of 
"Noble of Oakland," which sold for $15,000, and a great-grandson of 
"Gamboge Knight," which brought $6,700. 

Mr. Winslow was married July 7, 1880, to Miss Anna M. Bolar, a 
daughter of William and Eveline (Boyee) Bolar, farming people of 
Harrison County. Mrs. Winslow is the second in a family of thirteen 
children. One son has been born to Mr. and Mrs, Winslow, Waldo W., 
born April 16, 1881, educated in the grammar, high school and the 
academy of the Northwestern University, Chicago, and now a Harrison 
County farmer. He married Gertrude Wormouth, a county school 
teacher and resident of Kansas City, Missouri, where she graduated from 
the Manual Training High School. Two children have come to this 
union : Alexander, born in January, 1904 ; and Edith Ilene, born in 
February, 1912. 

William McCulloch Dunn. The distinguishing quality of Wil- 
liam M. Dunn during his residence of nearly fifty years in Bethany 
was his activity as a merchant. For nearly forty years Mr. Dunn was 
one of the men who sold goods and developed the commercial interests 
of Bethany. To his thorough experience and natural ability as a mer- 
chant, Mr. Dunn brought that integrity of character which always 
goes with the successful merchant, and his record throughout has been 
without a stain. He is now retired from merchandising, but is still a 
director in the Harrison County Bank at Bethany. 

William McCulloch Dunn was born in Washington County, Virginia, 
January 9, 1839. His early environment was that of a farm boy, his 
father being a small planter, and he grew up with the other children in 
the rural districts of old Virginia. His education came from one of 
the old Field schools of Virginia, and the building which he knew as a 
schoolhouse was constructed of logs with perhaps better than ordinary 
furnishings and equipments. By attendance at school he gleaned a 
knowledge of geography, grammar, history and physics and thus acquired 
sufficient knowledge to qualify him as a teacher. Not long after reach- 
ing manhood, the terrible struggle between the states began, and early 



1340 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

in the year 1861 he enlisted for service, and was for four years a 
member of the Southern army battling for the Confederacy. He was 
commissioned captain, quartermaster and paymaster, and assigned to 
the Thirty-sixth Virginia Regiment of Infantry. That regiment was a 
part of the army of Northern Virginia, but his first service was in 
Western Virginia and in the Mississippi Valley. In 1861 he participated 
in his first battle at Gauley, under the command of General Floyd, and 
was also present at Cloyd 's Farm and several other minor engagements. 
He was with the troops that in the early part of 1862 were concentrated 
along the Cumberland and Tennessee rivers, and was under the com- 
mand of Floyd at Fort Donelson. Just before the surrender of that 
post he and his command escaped by boat up the Tennessee River and 
he traveled on the same boat on which Generals Pillow and Floyd were 
partners. Later he saw service under the noted Gen. Jubal A. Early, 
up and down the Shenandoah Valley, and was at the battle of Winchester, 
Cedar Creek, and was captured at Waynesboro, but managed to make 
his escape a few minutes later, leaving behind all his money and his 
surplus clothes down to his tooth brush. He walked across the country 
to Lynchburg, and there joined Breckenridge 's command. Towards the 
end of the war his regiment was at Christiansburg on its way to Peters- 
burg and Richmond to join Lee's army, and the command was disbanded, 
its commander being then General Echols. Though in service for four 
years, Mr. Dunn escaped wounds, and was acting quartermaster of a 
brigade when the war closed. 

Mr. Dunn resumed civil pursuits in Virginia as a teacher, but a single 
term of that experience sufficed and he then turned to a more congenial 
field in commercial pursuits. It was in 1866, not long after the war, 
that Mr. Dunn came west and located in Bethany. He traveled by 
railroad as far as Chillicothe, and there took a stage across country to 
Bethany. Here he found a town twenty years old, with several hundred 
inhabitants, and the center of a good trading community. His career 
began as clerk for H. M. Cuddy, and after a year he became partner 
of Mr. Cuddy. A year later he bought an interest in the firm of 
Munson & McGeorge, and for several years the firm of McGeorge & 
Dunn had a large share of the local trade. Mr. McGeorge then sold out 
to Robert H. Dunn, a brother of William M., and the firm became 
William M. Dunn & Brother. Somewhat later a nephew, W. F. Cuddy, 
came into the firm, and it was then reorganized as Dunn Bros. & Co. 
After more than thirty years of active merchandising Mr. Dunn retired 
from the firm in 1902, and has since been engaged with his private 
interests. 

While a democrat, Mr. Dunn has never been identified with politics, 
except as a voter. Fraternally he is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. In 1870, at Bethany, Mr. Dunn married Miss 
Desdemona Munson, a daughter of Thomas Munson, who came to Mis- 
souri from Kentucky. When Mrs. Dunn died, in 1874, she left a son, 
William Victor, who for a time was associated with his father in business, 
then went to Kansas City, was a successful real estate dealer there and 
died March 12, 1907. William Victor Dunn married Louisa Morrison, 
and she is now living in Kansas City with her son, Stewart William 
Victor Dunn, aged fifteen. 

Mr. Dunn comes of an old Virginia family of Scotch-Irish stock, 
and besides his own record as a soldier of the Confederacy the descendants 
are entitled to membership in the patriotic societies that commemorate 
service in the early Colonial and Revolutionary wars. His grandfather 
was William Dunn, who came from Ireland and founded the family 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1341 

in Virginia. He reached America in time to take part in the Revolu- 
tionary war as a soldier. His children were : William ; John ; Doctor 
Samuel; Mary, who married Caleb Logan; Katie, who married Shaw 
Logan; Lydia, who married Jonas Smith. William Dunn of these 
children came to Missouri, but all the others spent all their lives in 
Virginia. 

John Dunn, father of the Bethany business man, was born in Wash- 
ington County, Virginia, and died there in 1845. He married Mary 
McCulloch, a daughter of Robert McCulloch and a granddaughter of 
Thomas McCulloch, the McCullochs having come originally from Scot- 
land. Grandfather Thomas McCulloch was a Colonial soldier during the 
Revolution and was killed in the battle of Kings Mountain. Robert 
McCulloch married Sarah Clark. Mrs. John Dunn died in Virginia 
in 1891, when nearly eighty-six years of age. She was a member of 
the Methodist Church. Her children were : Mary, who married David 
Cuddy, and spent her life in Virginia; Theophilus, who was a soldier 
in the Thirty-seventh Virginia Infantry during the war, was wounded 
in the battle of Kernstown under Stonewall Jackson, was for many years 
a Virginia merchant, came to Missouri in 1904 and now lives at Gilman; 
William M., who was next among the children; Robert H., of Bethany; 
and John F., who was also a Confederate soldier and is a farmer in 
Washington County, Virginia. 

Herman Roleke, who has lived at Bethany since 1880, and who has 
been a merchant tailor all these years, is, as his name would indicate, 
of German birth, his native province being that of Hanover and his 
town the city of that name. He was born April 2, 1862, and was reared 
in the home of a tailor, his father being Joseph Roleke, a tailor and a 
native of the same locality, where he spent his life as had his ancestors 
back to 1640. The family seems to have included a long line of 
mechanics, and all soldiered when needed by the fatherland, an uncle 
of Mr. Roleke being a distinguished German army officer during the 
Franco-Prussian war. Joseph Roleke married Amelia Schulze, and to 
them there were born seven children, of whom Herman, of this review, 
is the only one of the family to come to the United States. 

Herman Roleke secured his education in the public schools and the 
commercial college of Hanover, and learned his trade under the capable 
preceptorship of his father. He learned something of the opportunities 
in America from having a cousin who came over before the Civil war 
and was lost as an engineer in the Federal navy during that struggle, 
and while the young man, of course, did not gain his knowledge of 
America from that uncle, the impetus which started him westward and 
across the Atlantic was that given by the presence of the uncle here. 
Mr. Roleke sailed from the City of Bremen, Germany, on the German 
Lloyd steamer Rhein, bound for New York, and landed after a trip 
devoid of special incident some fourteen days later. Subsequently, 
while en route west he stopped at Chicago and Quincy, Illinois, and 
chanced to make some acquaintances before Bethany was reached, these 
influencing him to stop at this point. At that time this town was the 
end of the railroad and he was forced to stop here, so that he had an 
excellent chance of noting the opportunities and advantages, and finally 
decided to make this place his permanent home. For two years Mr. 
Roleke was employed at his trade for the old tailor here at that time, 
one McCurry, and then established a place of business of his own. 

During the next thirty-two years, Mr. Roleke 's history as a business 
man of Bethany is expressed briefly by a career of industry. He dis- 
played his interest in public affairs, was one of the promoters of the 



1342 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Young Men's Improvement Club, and was elected himself to the town 
council more than twenty years ago. The stimulating cry at that time 
was for macadam roads, electric lights and waterworks, and this was 
achieved by bonding the town, the first issue of bonds for any purpose 
by the corporation. After serving a term Air. Roleke refused to again 
become a candidate for the position of alderman, and his career was 
ended as a public official, although he has never ceased his "boosting." 
Mr. Roleke laid out the "Park Addition" to Bethany, being associated 
with McCollum Brothers in that movement. This comprised an addi- 
tion in the east part of the town, the best one here. Mr. Roleke subse- 
quently built Roleke Park, called by Bob Taylor, Hobson and other 
chautauqua men "Beautiful Roleke Park," and in it the chautauqua 
meetings of Bethany have been held for nine years. Mr. Roleke has 
built there one of the most beautiful landscape gardens to be found in 
Missouri, this comprising ten acres laid off by Mr. Roleke himself from 
a barren tract of land, and its improvements have given Bethany a park 
which rivals anything in the state in attractiveness. The Allen Park, 
in the east part of Bethany, is also a product of Mr. Roleke 's genius 
for park building. It is a small plaza at the junction of three streets, 
and is equipped with a fountain. The place was once a mere wallow 
and an eyesore to the town. When Mr. Roleke took up the question of 
making a park of it and urged it, as only he can, it assumed other shape 
than an "undesirable spot" rapidly. 

The laying out of the grounds of the County Home near Bethany 
also fell to Mr. Roleke 's lot. He was chosen for this labor by the 
County Court, and it, too, presents wonders in. the direction of land- 
scape beautification. He financiered and promoted the erection of the 
Pythian Castle, at Bethany, in 1900, built upon the mediaeval style of 
architecture and at a cost of about twenty thousand dollars. Quoting 
from the address of the grand chancellor of the Knights of Pythias of 
Missouri, with reference to this matter, we find the following: "I have 
not sufficient command of language to describe this building, nor space 
had I the words, but this I will say — it is and always will be a fitting 
monument to one of the best men and truest friends I ever knew, 
Herman Roleke." 

Mr. Roleke joined the Knights of Pythias in 1883, passed all the 
chairs here, and has been a member of the Grand Lodge since 1895. 
He has been grand master of the exchequer for eleven years, or treasurer 
of the Missouri Order. After ten years of service as such the honors of 
past grand chancellor of the state were bestowed upon him in honor of 
his labors. That occasion was marked by the presentation to Mr. 
Roleke of a solid gold emblem by the Grand Lodge with appropriate 
inscription as to his faithful service. 

In politics Mr. Roleke started out as a voter as a protective democrat, 
following Randall of Pennsylvania, but when the democratic party 
parted from Randall's lead he abandoned it and cast his lot with the 
republicans. He followed the fortunes of this party until 1896 when he 
voted for William J. Bryan. In 1912, having resumed republicanism, lie 
resented the methods used at the republican convention at Chicago and 
followed the cause of Colonel Roosevelt. 

Mr. Roleke was married at Bethany. Missouri, in March, 1882, to 
Miss Rachel Mainwaring, a daughter of Josiah Mainwaring, who came 
from Liverpool, England, in 1839 and married Elizabeth Henry. Mrs. 
Roleke was the youngest of six children living. To Mr. and Mrs. Roleke 
there have been born the following children still living: Helena, the wife 
of Earl Poland, of Bethany; Gertrude, the wife of Harvey J. Bnrris, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1343 

of Denver, Colorado ; Joseph, a resident of Sioux Falls, South Dakota ; 
Hazel, the wife of Alvin Bartlett, of Bethany, and Agnes, the youngest, 
who is single and resides with her parents. 

Alfred Carroll Reynolds, M. D. During the past twenty-seven 
years the name of Dr. Alfred Carroll Reynolds has been increasingly 
identified with the best tenets of medical and surgical science in Har- 
rison County. By many of the longest established and most conserva- 
tive families his skill, resource and obliging temperament have come 
to be regarded as indispensable, and there exist many who are indebted 
to him for their restoration to health, happiness and usefulness. Doctor 
Reynolds came to Harrison County, Missouri, in 1887 from Woodland, 
Iowa, where he had spent two years in the practice of his profession, 
going there from Davis City, that state. At the latter place he had 
practiced two years, and had gone there from the homestead farm in 
Marion County, Iowa, where he was born June 25, 1854, a son of 
Mortimer S. and Nancy (Nossaman) Reynolds. 

Silas Reynolds, the grandfather of Doctor Reynolds, was born in 
Virginia and there passed his entire life. His widow, who was formerly 
Minerva See, came to the West with her children, settled in Iowa, and 
there passed the remaining years of her life in Marion County. The 
children were : Mortimer S. ; Carroll ; Morris ; John ; Leaher, who 
became the wife of Jack Hegwood ; Lutitia, who married John DeMoss : 
and Jane, who became the wife of "Tap" Hegwood. Mortimer S. 
Reynolds was born in the Old Dominion State, in 1828, and during the 
early '40s migrated to the West, settling in Iowa, where he entered 
land in Marion County which he improved, and there made his home 
for many years. Later in life he came to Missouri and took up his 
residence near Martinsville, which was the scene of his abode for twenty 
years. He was a stalwart democrat, was a member of the Baptist 
Church, and a Master Mason. Mr. Reynolds married Mary Nossaman, 
a daughter of Adam Nossaman, who came to Iowa from Kentucky, but 
was formerly a resident of Indiana. Mrs. Reynolds' parents died near 
Indianapolis, Indiana, while her own death occurred at Martinsville, 
Missouri, in March, 1907. Her children were as follows : Dr. Alfred 
Carroll, of this notice ; Dr. Vernon, who is a practicing physician of 
Oklahoma ; Samantha, a resident of Harrison County, Missouri, and wife 
of Charles Chandler; Dr. Mortimer S., Jr.. a resident of Yates Center, 
Kansas ; Dr. Allen, who is a resident of Caledonia, Iowa ; Levi, who resides 
in Montana ; Ida, who became the wife of Mr. McConkey and died in 
Iowa, without issue; and Charles, who died single. 

Alfred Carroll Reynolds grew up as a country boy amid rural sur- 
roundings and secured his literary education at Pella, Iowa. He began 
his career as a farmer and took up the study of medicine with his 
brother, Dr. Vernon Reynolds, at Durham, Iowa, and took lectures at 
the Keokuk Medical School and the College of Physicians and Surgeons, 
Keokuk. After his graduation, in 1882, he established himself in prac- 
tice at Davis City, as before related. Doctor Reynolds belongs to the 
Harrison County Medical Society and the Missouri State Medical Society, 
and has always practiced in and among the rural precincts. His first 
location in Harrison County was at Martinsville, where he remained 
until February, 1914, and at that time came to Bethany. 

Doctor Reynolds was married in Marion County, Iowa, in February, 
1874, to Miss Hannah J. Teter, a daughter of Samuel E. Teter, of Iowa, 
who died in Marion County, this state, in 1881, leaving these children : 
Dr. Elda M., a practicing physician of Union Star, Missouri, married 



1344 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Nora Funk ; and three children who died in childhood. Doctor Reynolds 
married his second wife at Davis City, Iowa, in 1884, she being Miss 
Flora Norman, a daughter of Samuel and Kate (Robinson) Norman. 
The children in the Norman family were : Clara, the wife of Lemuel 
Grindle; and Mrs. Reynolds. Doctor and Mrs. Reynolds have the 
following children: Wilda, Wanda, Vaughn, Vern, A. C, D. 0. and 
Berman. 

Doctor Reynolds is identified with the Christian Church. He erected 
his home in the east part of Bethany, a residence of eleven rooms, on his 
iy 2 acre tract, and it is one of the splendid homes of this town. It would 
seem that Doctor Reynolds has taken a rather silent part in his com- 
munity affairs, but his profession and his business have absorbed his 
attention almost to the exclusion of other matters. For twenty years 
he has owned a farm, which he has operated, and also had a drug store 
at Martinsville and helped to promote the bank there as a stockholder, 
and is still such. He supports the candidates of the democratic party. 

George Wesley Barry, who for thirty-four years has been a factor 
in the commercial life of Bethany, came to this town and engaged in 
the harness business before he was twenty-one .years old and has been 
on duty every day since. He came from Gentry County, Missouri, 
where, near Darlington, he grew up and was educated, and was a school- 
mate of Woodson Peery, his seat-mate and now Northwest Missouri's 
eminent legal light, and George Holden, now prominent in business 
affairs of Albany, was another schoolmate. Mr. Barry began learning 
the harness maker's trade the day he was fifteen years of age, with 
George Pierce, of Albany, and remained in that shop until he completed 
his trade and engaged in business on his own account at Bethany. 

Mr. Barry's first store was located over Dunn Brothers' dry goods 
establishment, at Bethany, there being at that time five harness shops 
here, while since then there have been as high as seven shops at one 
time. He remained upstairs over the Dunns for several years and then, 
desiring larger quarters, moved to the old Elmo Hotel property, which 
he purchased. A few months later he bought a lot on Main Street 
and moved his store to it, and there, in 1890, he erected his new brick 
store, a one-story structure, which has been his establishment to the 
present time. Mr. Barry started into business at Bethany with a capital 
of about one hundred and fifty dollars, in addition to which he secured 
an advance of $100 worth of merchandise from his Albany employer. 
He brought a partner, Andrew Lord, from Albany, who was to share 
in the profits of the business with him, and they began business here 
May 17, 1878, but Mr. Lord became dissatisfied with the meagre earnings 
of their first two weeks, wanted full pay for more time than he had 
worked, and finally brought suit for a balance of $15, which Mr. Barry 
paid, thus setting Lord free. Some time later Mr. Barry took his 
brother in as partner and they were together twenty years, and still 
later he took in another brother, J. B. Barry, who died in the firm, since 
which time George W. Barry has been alone. 

George Wesley Barry was born in Lee County, Iowa, May 21, 1859, 
a son of William C. Barry. His grandfather, a native of Ireland, bear- 
ing the name of 'Barry, died in Maryland, the father of these children : 
William C. ; a son who disappeared many years ago and whom it is be- 
lieved went to California; Wesley, of Denver, Colorado; and James, 
a son by a second marriage, who lives near Chillicothe, Missouri. William 
C. Barry was born in Maryland, and as a child left his native state and 
went to Lee County, Iowa, where he grew up and was married to Nancy 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1345 

"Wells, who died at Bethany, Missouri, in 1881. After his marriage Mr. 
Barry moved to Pettis County, Missouri, and lived on a farm near 
Sedalia until the Civil war broke out, when he left his farm and returned 
to Iowa, there residing until about the time of the close of hostilities. He 
then went to Mount Vernon, Ohio, but soon returned to the West, and 
after a short stay in Iowa came to Gentry County, Missouri. Having 
acquired a good education in his youth, he secured employment as a 
teacher in the public schools, but finally established himself in the butcher 
business at Albany. * Prior to the Civil war Mr. Barry was a democrat, 
but at the time that struggle broke out he transferred his support to the 
republican party. His religious faith was that of the Presbyterian 
Church, while his wife, who was a daughter of Aaron W T ells, was a 
Methodist. Their children were as follows : William L., of Leon, Iowa ; 
George Wesley, of this notice; Belle, who married Mr. Hair, of Cali- 
fornia ; Anna, who married Mr. Horner, of Indiana ; Emma, who married 
Arden Butler and died at Darlington, Missouri ; Miss Hattie, whose 
home is in Chicago; Lou, who married Charles E. Fitch, of Wheaton, 
Illinois; Myrtie. who died single; Charles, of Trenton, Missouri; and 
J. Blaine, who died at Bethany. 

George Wesley Barry was married at Bethany, Missouri, March 20, 
1890, to Miss Ann Hubbard, a daughter of E. Little Hubbard, a native 
of Vermont, who came to Missouri as a pioneer and here engaged in 
farming and stock raising. There were five children in the Hubbard 
family : Wallace ; Henrietta ; Mrs. Barry ; Emma, who married W. S. 
Walker: and Ed. a resident of Bethany. To Mr. and Mrs. Barry there 
have been born four children : Gordon, who died at the age of seventeen 
years ; and Ross, Nell and Everett, all at home. 

In addition to his prosperous and steadily growing business at 
Bethany, Mr. Barry is the owner of suburban property in this vicinity, 
and is the proprietor of the only harness shop at Stanberry. He is a 
republican in politics, but is not an office seeker, and belongs neither 
to a secret organization or a church. He is a tall, muscular man, who has 
demonstrated his effectiveness in business, and who, at the same time, 
has established a reputation as a good and public-spirited citizen. 

William Frank Cuddy. Since the year 1875, when he wrapped up 
his first package of goods at Bethany, William Frank Cuddy has been 
connected with the mercantile interests of Bethany, and during this time 
has firmly established himself in the confidence of the people, both as a 
reliable and honorable merchant and as a thorough-going and progressive 
citizen. He was born in Washington County, Virginia, March 13, 
1854, where he grew up on a farm of modest size, and without the 
environment of slavery, being under the parental roof until of age, and 
his coming West was the first start he made in life independent of 
others. 

The Cuddy family originated in Ireland, from whence the progenitor, 
the grandfather of William Frank Cuddy, emigrated to the United 
States. Among his children there were no daughters, but his sons 
included Henry, Lilburn and David, the last named being the father 
of William F. David Cuddy was born in Washington County, Virginia, 
August 30, 1829, and died there December 15, 1911. He was a man of 
somewhat limited education, passed his life in the pursuits of the soil, 
and had no political career. He was originally opposed to secession, 
but when his state left the Union he lent it his moral support, and had 
two brothers who were soldiers in the Confederate army. Mr. Cuddy 
was a democrat in his political views, and he was an unwavering member 



1346 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and almost felt that members 
of other denominations would have difficulty in reaching their final 
reward. He was an exceedingly active man in the church and served 
prominently as an official and a church supporter. Mr. Cuddy married 
Mary J. Dunn, a sister of William M. and Robert Dunn, of Bethany. 
As estimated by her son she was the best woman that ever lived, and 
passed away at the age of seventy-two years, having been the mother 
of the following children: William Frank; Robert H., a resident of 
Washington County, Virginia; John H., who is ■associated with his 
brother in the store at Bethany; and four daughters who died in 
childhood. 

William Frank Cuddy came to Bethany, Missouri, with only a com- 
mon school education and with no business experience of any nature. 
He secured employment with the firm of McGeorge & Dunn, merchants, 
at a salary of $20 per month, and for eighteen months thus continued 
to be engaged, paying his board and supporting himself with these 
meagre wages. He was then offered and accepted $30 a month with 
the firm of Hubbard & Price, at that time located at Bethany, and 
continued to spend eighteen months with this firm also. Mr. Cuddy's 
uncle, William Dunn, then offered him a working interest in a store 
here whose stock he had purchased at a bankrupt sale, and Mr. Cuddy 
accepted his offer and assisted him in the disposition of the goods, 
his part of the profits from the arrangement being $1,200. On the 
closing out of this venture, Mr. Dunn gave him a working interest in 
the store or business of McGeorge & Dunn, and that arrangement con- 
tinued for perhaps five years and Mr. Cuddy invested his savings in 
the stock, which gave him a fourth interest in the business. When the 
firm was changed to Dunn Brothers & Company, Mr. Cuddy was a 
silent partner of it and he has clung to the store tenaciously for the 
whole period of nearly forty years without losing a day of unnecessary 
time. The firm of Cuddy & Dunn came into existence some twelve 
years ago, and Mr. Cuddy remains as the head of it. He has rarely 
identified himself with- other business enterprises, and has never con- 
nected himself with the official life of the town, although he is a director 
of the Harrison County Bank at Bethany. 

When Mr. Cuddy has participated in politics it has been merely 
as a democrat and as a voter. He cast his first vote for Tilden and 
Hendricks in 1876, and has never missed voting at a presidential elec- 
tion since, and has supported the regular nominee of the party, save 
when William J. Bryan was supporting the "Free Silver" issue, when 
he voted for Major McKmley for president. He supported Mr. Bryan, 
however, the last time he was a candidate and gladly gave his vote 
to Mr. Wilson in 1912, and is more than pleased with the condition of 
affairs under his administration. In church matters Mr. Cuddy has 
never identified himself with any particular religious denomination, but 
is an attendant of the Presbyterian Church, in which Mrs. Cuddy holds 
her membership. He belongs to no fraternal society save the Knights 
of Pythias. 

Mr. Cuddy was married at Osceola, Iowa, March 8, 1888, to Miss 
Jean Morrison, a daughter of James and Marian (Stewart) Morrison. 
The Morrisons and the Stewarts came from Glasgow, Scotland, and 
Mrs. Cuddy was oorn at Osceola, Iowa, in 1867. Her brothers and 
sisters were: James, who died in Iowa; Mrs. Louisa Lapsley and Mrs. 
Jessie Cuddy, both residents of Kansas City, Missouri; and Polly, who 
died as Mrs. Robert Cuddy. Mr. and Mrs. W. F. Cuddy have one 
daughter, Mildred, who is ten years of age. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1347 

Oscar 0. Meredith, M. D. The medical profession in Breckenridge 
has no stronger member than Doctor Meredith, who during the past ten 
years in his practice in that city and vicinity has built up a splendid 
reputation as a skillful physician and surgeon and enjoys a constantly 
growing prestige and influence throughout his home community. Doctor 
Meredith located at Breckenridge in 1905. He is a graduate of the class 
of 1903 from Eclectic Medical College of St. Louis, and spent his first 
two years after graduation at Cowgill, Missouri. 

Though Doctor Meredith has spent nearly all his life in this part of 
Northwest Missouri, he is a Hoosier by birth, born at Bloomfield, Greene 
County, Indiana, January 9, 1880. His father, Samuel G. Meredith, was 
a physician. In 1882 he brought his family to Northwest Missouri and 
he died in Cowgill at the age of sixty-two. Samuel G. Meredith married 
Rachel Pethtel, who was born in Ohio. Their family comprised five 
children : Edgar F., who is a resident of Kirkwood, Missouri ; Oscar 0. ; 
Forest Lee, of Webster, Iowa; Herma Jennie Griffing, of Gault, Mis- 
souri, and Effie Craig Butts, who died December 25, 1914. The parents 
were active members of the Christian Church, in which the father served 
as an elder, and was also affiliated with the Masonic order and the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 

Dr. 0. 0. Meredith received his education in the public schools, spent 
a year in the University of Missouri at Columbia, and previous to taking 
up the practice of medicine was for one year connected with the depart- 
ment of instruction in histology at the Eclectic Medical University of 
Kansas City, Missouri. Doctor Meredith took the full course in the 
medical college, and since graduating has devoted himself untiringly to 
the interests of his medical clients. 

In 1905 Doctor Meredith married Maud Foreman, a daughter of 
John P. Foreman. Doctor Meredith is affiliated with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, and is also a member of the Caldwell County 
Medical Society, the Missouri State Medical Association and the Eclectic 
State and National Medical Society, as was his father. He is and has been 
local registrar for preservation of vital statistics in registration district 
No. 94, Caldwell County, since 1910. He is a man of athletic build, has 
great vitality and energy as well as skill for the prosecution of his duties 
as a physician, and is one of the studious and hard-working members of 
the profession. 

Taylor Edward Stone. A resident of Harrison County since 1871, 
Taylor E. Stone came to this section of Missouri as a poor man, 
and his achievements of the past forty years are measured in the 
accumulation of a handsome farming estate, a beautiful city home at 
Bethany, where he has lived since 1900, and by valuable service to both 
the church and civic affairs of his home community. 

Taylor Edward Stone was born in Licking County, Missouri, July 
3, 1847. His father was Edward Stone, who came from Maryland and 
died in Ohio in 1862 at the age of one hundred and four years. He 
served as a soldier during the War of 1812 and afterwards in the Black- 
hawk war. As a result of his military experience he received three 
wounds. The Federal Government granted him a land warrant for his 
services during the War of 1812, but it was never commuted into land, 
and no trace of the document is now to be found. Edward Stone was 
three times married, and there were children by all the wives. His last 
wife was Mary Ellen Morris, who died in 1859 and is buried beside 
her husband at Hanover, in Licking County, Ohio. Her children were : 
Mary, who married John Harper; Lila, who married Burr Beard; 
Thomas, of Knox County, Ohio; Frank N., of Cleveland, Ohio; Taylor 



1348 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

E. ; Jesse, of Licking County, Ohio. By his former marriages Edward 
Stone had children named as follows : John, George, Theodore and Ivan, 
who spent their lives in Ohio; Jennie, who married Andrew Thomp- 
son; and Henrietta, who was the wife of George English. 

Taylor E. Stone was left an orphan during his boyhood, and reached 
maturity with only a country school education ; he learned no trade, 
and industry has been the key with which he has unlocked the door 
to prosperity. Before reaching his majority he went away from home 
to enlist in the Union army, and in 1864 became a private in Company 
G of the One Hundred and Ninety-seventh Ohio Infantry, under Captain 
Owens and Colonel Austin. His regiment was used chiefly for guard 
duty, at Baltimore and Washington and in the State of Delaware, being 
stationed at cities in the guarding of bridges, and at the close of the 
war Mr. Stone was at Dover, Delaware. On returning home from the 
army, he began work as a farm laborer at daily wages, and continued 
in that way until 1871, when he started west. A railroad took him as 
far as Osceola, Iowa, and as there was no railroads in Harrison County, 
Missouri, at that time, he came overland to join some friends in that 
locality. Here he easily found work on farms, though the wages were 
low, a dollar a day being a big price for labor at that time. Land in 
Harrison County at that time sold for $2.50 to $25 an acre, depending 
upon improvements. Mr. Stone located in Clay Township, began as a 
renter, and finally bought land in township 66 of range 26. It was 
unimproved, and Mr. Stone erected his first house with lumber hauled 
from Princeton. That was the nucleus around which he has since 
accumulated the possessions which mark him, as one of Harrison 
County's thrifty and substantial citizens. In that vicinity he still owns 
his quarter section of land, and lived there and engaged in general 
farming and stock raising until his removal to Bethany in 1900. Dur- 
ing the time his home was in the country, Mr. Stone assisted in the 
organization of a Presbyterian church in that community. In Bethany 
Mr. Stone has a splendid home, with large grounds. 

During the past fourteen years he has been very active as a citizen 
of Bethany, and is now in his fourth term as an alderman. During the 
eight years of his service all the important public improvements have 
been instituted at Bethany, including paving, installation of water- 
works and the removal of the plant from its old location, the laying 
of concrete sidewalks all over the town and many other improvements. 
When the Roleke administration came into power the municipality was 
issuing scrip to discharge its obligations, but the city is now practically 
out of debt, and in the meantime a large amount has been expended in 
local betterment. Mr. Stone takes much interest in Grand Army mat- 
ters, is an active member of the T. D. Neal Post, has attended the 
national encampment of the order, and in his home post has done much 
committee work in preparing for soldiers' reunions. He is affiliated 
with all branches of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, is a past 
grand of the lodge, is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and is 
assistant scout master of the boy scouts. His political action has identi- 
fied him with the republican party. Mr. Stone is one of the leading 
laymen in the Presbyterian Church, and one of the elders in the Bethany 
Church. He has been a member of the Presbytery and has attended 
the synods, and was a delegate to the convention at Decatur, Illinois, 
where the union of the old school and the Cumberland churches was 
consummated. 

In April, 1871, Mr. Stone married Miss Jennie Cullins, daughter 
of an Ohio settler. Mrs. Stone died in Bethany without children. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1349 

On December 29, 1907, he married Mrs. Hattie Hohr. Mrs. Stone is a 
daughter of William A. and Emeline Templeman, and represents two 
of the distinguished families of Northwest Missouri. 

William A. Templeman, who was born in Fauquier County, Vir- 
ginia, February 14, 1835, was brought to Harrison County, Missouri, 
as a child. His father, Thornton Hume Templeman, came to Missouri 
during the decade of the '40s and located at Bethany in 1853. Thorn- 
ton H. Templeman was a native of Virginia, and a son of Fielding 
Templeman, who was of Scotch ancestry. Thornton Templeman mar- 
ried Harriet Holmes in Stafford County, Virginia. On locating at 
Bethany he engaged in the dry goods business, and was postmaster of 
the town before and during the war. First a whig, he later entered the 
republican party, and his religious affiliation was with the Christian 
Church. His death occurred in 1874, and his devoted companion in 
the- home and in church work followed him a few years later. Their 
children were : William A. ; Sarah A., who married William Collier and 
died in Bethany; Frances, who married Joseph Collier, and is now 
Mrs. William Gale of Bethany; Mildred, married Jefferson Nordyke 
and died in Bethany. 

William A. Templeman acquired his education in the Bethany 
schools, and had his early experience in business in the store of his 
father. He afterwards acquired the store and was a merchant here for 
a number of years. He finally moved out to Colorado, and followed 
merchandising and mining at Leadville, and on his return to Bethany was 
a real estate man until his retirement. William A. Templeman con- 
ducted one of the early newspapers of Bethany, having been editor 
of the Bethany Union during the Civil war. He was a war democrat, 
and was enrolled with the state militia, and on one occasion accom- 
panied his company to Chillicothe to defend that town against threatened 
trouble. He served in the office of county collector and throughout his 
active career was one of the leading men of Bethany. He was an elder 
in the Disciples Church and superintendent of its Sunday school. 

William A. Templeman was married August 9, 1855, to Miss Emeline 
Allen. Their children were : Mrs. Rosa A. Vandivert, now deceased ; 
Mrs. Judge Wanamaker, of Bethany; John Allen, of Austin, Texas; 
Harriet, wife of Taylor E. Stone; Nancy, who died in childhood; Mrs. 
Emma Oxford; William Thornton, of Bethany; and Marian, wife of 
Virgil Yates of Bethany. 

Mrs. William A. Templeman was a daughter of the Rev. John S. 
Allen, and mention of his name recalls one of the most noted pioneer 
families of Northwest Missouri. He had come into this section when 
a number of the present counties were under the jurisdiction of Daviess 
County. Rev. John S. Allen was born in Overton County, Tennessee, 
June 26, 1814, a son of William and Mary (Copeland) Allen, Overton 
County farmers. John S. was one of a family of thirteen children, and 
judged by the standards of the time possessed a liberal education. In 
1832 he left Tennessee, settled in Illinois, and in Woodford County of 
that state married Nancy Childress, who was born in Kentucky, Novem- 
ber 4, 1813. From Illinois Reverend Allen was one of the leaders in a 
party of pioneers who came to Harrison County at the beginning of 
civilization in this section. The other members of that caravan were : 
John W. Brown, Thomas Tucker, Thomas Brown, W. R. Allen, C. L. 
Jennings, Ephraim Stewart and A. A. Allen, the last named being un- 
married. These families all settled near Bethany, and gave their char- 
acter as industrious, moral and religious people to the community. In 
this new country Reverend Allen soon constituted himself a leader not 



1350 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

only in his church but also as a citizen and business man. He was 
a strong Union sympathizer and attended the secession convention of 
Missouri as a delegate, where he used his influence to keep Missouri 
from joining the Confederacy. He was a democrat in politics. The 
work of this devout man was felt everywhere, both in Harrison and 
adjoining counties in the early days. His voice was raised for God 
throughout all these counties, and those converted under the spell of 
his preaching numbered legion. In business affairs he was a merchant, 
and was one of the organizers and for twenty years president of the 
First Bank of Bethany. John S. Allen's family comprised the follow- 
ing children : Mrs. William A. Templeman, who was born in Woodford 
County, Illinois, March 22, 1837, and grew up in the pioneer com- 
munity of Bethany; James R., who died in Bethany; Mrs. Dr. King 
of Bethany; Mrs. Elizabeth Roberts of Bethany; and Willard Cass, 
who died in Bethany. 

Thomas Jefferson Flint. An honored resident of Bethany, where 
he lives retired, Thomas J. Flint has spent the greater part of seventy 
years in Northwest Missouri, mainly in Daviess and Harrison counties. 
He knew this country when it was a wilderness, and few men still liv- 
ing have so broad a scope of experience and recollection in the things 
that made for development and history in this fair portion of Missouri. 
He has been a teacher, a soldier, a county official, a farmer and a 
merchant, and in the manifold relations of a long life has steered a 
course directed by the positive and high-minded qualities of his 
character. 

Thomas Jefferson Flint was born in Franklin County, Indiana, 
August 4, 1835. His grandfather, John Flint, was an Englishman, and 
with four brothers came to America about 1788, his settlement being 
in Maryland, while the others located in other colonies. He was a 
sailor, and was lost at sea while his family were living in Maryland. 
By his marriage to Temperance Humphrey he had the following chil- 
dren: John, who was lost at sea with his father ; Dorcas, who was born 
in 1795, married Samuel Davis and died near Mexarville, Indiana; 
Thomas, born in 1798, came to Missouri and settled on a farm in Har- 
rison County in 1838, was one of the first officials in Bethany when 
it was founded and later county clerk of Harrison County, and died 
on his farm here, but was buried in the McCleary Cemetery in Daviess 
County, where his brother George also rests; George, whose career is 
the subject of the following paragraph; Maria, born in 1804, married 
about 1822 Oliver Thurston and died near Mexarville, Indiana, in 1868 ; 
Joseph H., born in 1807, was a Baptist preacher and physician, and 
spent many years at Ottumwa, Iowa, where he died. 

Rev. George Flint, whose name deserves remembrance among the 
pioneers of Northwest Missouri, was born in Maryland, July 19, 1801. 
After the death of his father his mother brought her family to Hamilton 
County, Ohio, where she died about 1820. The circumstances of his 
youth in a new country and with a meagemess of family resources left 
him little opportunity for gaining an education, and his regular school- 
ing was confined to three months. His studious nature and ambition 
for a life of usefulness enabled him to overcome this handicap, and in 
time he became a man of intellectual attainments far above the average. 
By the light of a fire kindled by hickory bark, he studied arithmetic, 
grammar, geography and some history, consuming the contents of the 
limited store of books which he could buy or borrow, and eventually even 
entered the field of the classics, and was able to read both Greek and 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1351 

Latin. Both in early and later life he taught many terms of school, 
chiefly in the country districts. His talent as a conversationalist and 
public speaker led him into the ministry. As an illustration of his 
familiarity with the Bible, it is recalled that he once repeated from 
memory the whole of Paul's letter to the Hebrews, thirteen chapters. 
He was never identified with any secret order. In politics, before the 
war, he was a democrat, and in 1860 voted for Stephen A. Douglas for 
president, as did his sons, but his next ballot went to Mr. Lincoln, 
and his sons followed his example. 

Rev. George Flint brought his family out to Missouri in the early 
'40s, and entered land in Daviess County. About 1844 he opened a 
store on his land in Washington Township and continued as a merchant 
until 1849. Soon afterward, selling his farm, he moved to Saline 
County, and while there lived in the Town of Miami and was an active 
preacher. He organized the Christian Church at Arrow Rock and 
preached in Brunswick. While in Daviess County he organized a 
church in the Ford Schoolhouse, and the society afterwards erected a 
house of worship at Coffey. Soon after the close of the Civil war the 
Rev. Mr. Flint moved to Coffey, then an inland village, and remained 
there until his death, September 21, 1871. 

The maiden name of the wife of this early Missouri divine was 
Nancy Foster, of Hamilton County, Ohio. Her father, who was born 
in 1776, moved from Kentucky to Ohio, subsequently to Indiana and 
finally to a farm in Missouri, where he died in 1850. He married Rachel 
Thomas, who died in 1854. The Foster children were : Elizabeth, who 
became the wife of Ancel Terry and died near Coffey, Missouri ; Rachel, 
who married Thomas Flint and died in Harrison County, Missouri; 
John, who spent most of his life near Bethany as a farmer; Nancy 
Flint ; Nelson, who started from Daviess County to California in 1849, 
but died en route while near Cheyenne, Wyoming; and Thomas, who 
crossed the plains to California in 1850 and spent the rest of his life 
in and about Sacramento. 

The Rev. George and Nancy Flint's children were: William F., 
born April 4, 1828, in Hamilton County, Ohio, spent his life largely as 
a teacher and farmer, and also during the war served in the Missouri 
State Militia and afterward for a year was captain of Company F of the 
Forty-third Missouri Infantry; he married Mary Ann Ford, and left 
eight children. Rachel Temperance, born September 7, 1830, married 
John R. Maize, and died near Bethany in 1892, leaving seven children. 
Louisa Ann, born November 23, 1832, married Alanson Alley, and died 
near Bethany, July 12, 1874. The next in order of birth is Thomas J., 
of whom more is given in following paragraphs. Maria R., born January 
13, 1838, married Isaac N. Thomas and died in Bethany, October 25, 
1869. John Logan, born July 10, 1840, was a volunteer soldier of 
Company D of the Twenty-seventh Missouri Infantry, from which he 
was discharged for disability, in 1888 went to California, and now 
lives at Fowler. Andrew S., born September 21, 1842, in the flush of 
young manhood entered Company D of the Twenty-seventh Missouri 
Infantry, and died during the siege of Vicksburg. Asby C, born 
December 27, 1844, married Harlan T. Gerrish of Patoka, Illinois. 
Larkin S., born March 1, 1847, during the last year of the war served 
as fifer in Company F of the Forty-third Missouri Infantry, and is now 
a farmer near Bethany. 

The preceding account shows that Thomas Jefferson Flint comes of 
a family with excellent characteristics. His own career has been in 
keeping with his inheritance. He was about old enough when the family 



1352 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

moved to Missouri so that the journey left some impression on his boyish 
memory, and he grew to manhood in Daviess County, and attended the 
country schools. Later he was in the Bethany schools when Judge 
Howell was a teacher. At the age of eighteen he himself was recruited 
for service in the schoolroom, at wages of $15 a month. His first term 
was taught in the Glover School, now the Maize School. It was a log 
house, with mud-and-stick chimney and a big open fireplace into which 
the big boys rolled the logs on cold winter days. School was called at 
8 in the morning. Everything went by a code of rules, tacked up on 
the wall where all could see, and one of the Monday morning duties was 
the reading aloud of these rules for the guidance of the scholars. Boys 
and girls were not permitted to play together, a situation that prevailed 
when Mr. Flint and his wife were schoolmates together in Daviess 
County. The rules also forbade whispering, skating, snowballing and 
wrestling, scuffling and fighting. 

Mr. Flint abandoned the schoolroom and went from Daviess County 
into the army. In September, 1861, he enlisted in the Missouri State 
Militia in Captain Broomfield's company of six months' militia. The 
company marched out a few times during the following winter, but never 
came in sight of the enemy. In September, 1862, he enlisted in the regu- 
lar service, in Company D of the Twenty-seventh Missouri Infantry, 
under Capt. "William A. Talby and Col. Thomas Curley. He and his 
comrades were rendezvoused and drilled at Benton Barracks in St. 
Louis, and in January, 1863, proceeded to Rolla. There Mr. Flint was 
discharged after having contracted pneumonia, resulting in bronchitis. 
He came home to resume work in the schoolroom, and in the spring be- 
came a pupil again in the Bethany schools. In July, 1864, he reenlisted, 
entering Company F of the Forty-third Missouri, and was discharged 
June 30, 1865. His regiment was in no engagements during this time 
and was kept on duty in its home state. 

After the war Mr. Flint resumed teaching, and his last school was in 
the summer of 1868 in the Marlar district. About this time he became 
active in local politics, and after one term as treasurer of Daviess County 
was elected sheriff, serving four years. It was while he was in the 
office of county treasurer that the James boys killed Capt. John W. 
Sheets, mistaking him for Major Cox, whom they sought to kill to 
avenge his act in slaying the notorious Bill Anderson. At that time 
Mr. Flint was a Gallatin merchant, and had the county safe in his store 
there. He witnessed the flight of the bandits after they had completed 
their act of venegeance and had taken some of the funds of the local 
bank. After leaving the sheriff's office he resumed merchandising at 
Gallatin and was associated with John J. Broadbeck until 1882, when 
he left Missouri and located at Great Bend, Kansas. Besides keeping 
a store, he also did farming and proved up on a claim in Ness County. 
His home was in Great Bend for twenty years, and in the meantime 
he made two trips to California, visiting his brother. His return to 
Missouri was in 1904, and since then his home has been in Bethany, 
and he has been retired from active business. 

On September 4, 1859, Mr. Flint married Miss Lydia A. Adams, a 
daughter of William and Elizabeth (Beall) Adams, her father being a 
farmer from Henry County, Indiana. Mrs. Flint was the third of four 
children. At Great Bend, Kansas, Mr. Flint married for his second 
wife, on March 28, 1883, Mrs. Lucretia E. Crail, a daughter of Ruel 
and Mamie (Thomas) Nimocks, the former an Ohio man. Mrs. Nimocks 
was a cousin of Mr. Flint 's mother. The Nimocks children were : Mrs. 
Flint, born December 8, 1842 ; George, who was a Union soldier from 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1353 

Iowa, and died at Great Bend in 1902 ; Albert, of Barton County, Kan- 
sas; Link, of Vesalia, California; Frank, of Ottumwa, Iowa; Clara, who 
lives in Eldon, Iowa; Mrs. Vina Foster, of Eldon; and Mrs. Lucy 
Cramer, of Eldon. Mrs. Flint died August 27, 1903. On November 9, 
1904, he married for his present wife, at Bethany, Mrs. Sallie A. 
Zimmerlee, a daughter of Milton and Emily (Jones) Higgins. Her 
father came from Clarksburg, Indiana, to Daviess County, Missouri, 
where Mrs. Flint was reared. By her first husband, Edward Zimmerlee, 
she had the following children: Emily, wife of Charles Barnes, of 
Bethany ; Mattie, wife of William Hill, of St. Louis ; Maud, who married 
D. W. Coe, of New York City; and Katherine, wife of George H. 
Pannell, of Los Angeles. 

Mr. Flint has always acted with the republican party, and while in 
Kansas was active in the party. He was a delegate to the congressional 
convention at St. Joseph when Mr. Parker was nominated by the repub- 
licans of this district. He belongs to the Christian Church, in which 
he has served as elder. 

John Louis Cole. Half a century of honorable business activity 
and citizenship comprises a record such as any man should be proud 
to possess. It was nearly fifty years ago when John L. Cole of Bethany, 
then a young man, with hardly a dollar to his name, and with only 
manual labor as his dependence, came to Harrison County and began 
a career which has since brought him a generous success so far as his 
own material means are concerned, and has also identified his name with 
much that is profitable and worthy in the community. His career has 
in it much of encouragement for those who begin life under a handicap, 
and in the face of difficulties that discourage those lacking in self- 
reliance and industry. 

John Louis Cole was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, January 6, 1843, a 
son of Jacob and Mary C. (Smoker) Kohl. His father was a Pennsyl- 
vania German, and spelled his name in the true German manner. The 
mother was a native of Germany. Both the parents died of the cholera 
scourge at Cincinnati in 1849, and they left the following children: 
Sophia, who married Charles Lowe and spent her life in Indianapolis; 
Caroline, who married Henry Anderson and also lived in Indianapolis; 
Mary C, who became the wife of Dr. Samuel E. Strong and died at 
Ironton, Missouri; John L. ; and Dr. William C, who at the time of 
his death was a physician at the Hospital for the Insane at Jacksonville, 
Illinois, and left two children. 

After the death of his parents John L. Cole, then six years of age, 
was taken into the home of comparative strangers, and until eighteen 
years of age lived with Noah Boyce in Morgan County, Illinois. He was 
still under age when the Civil war broke out. In 1861 he enlisted, and 
was assigned to Company I in the Fourteenth Illinois Infantry. He 
joined his command at Rolla ; Missouri, whither it had gone to the front. 
His first captain was Captain Mitchem and later Capt. Ernest Ward. 
The first colonel of the regiment was John M. Palmer, a distinguished 
Illinoisan, and later Colonel Cam and finally Col. Cyrus Ball com- 
manded the regiment. The regiment went into Southern Missouri to 
reinforce General Lyon's army at Wilson Creek, but did not reach the 
battleground to participate in that crucial engagement, and the troops 
were then ordered South to Fort Henry and Fort Donelson. Mr. Cole 
began to see active service during the siege of Fort Donelson, and after 
the fall of that post proceeded to Shiloh. Subsequently the command 
made an effort to reach Vicksburg by way of Holly Springs, but the 



1354 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Confederates cut off their line of communication, and they had to 
retreat, and finally reached the vicinity of Vicksburg by way of the 
Mississippi River. In front of Vicksburg the Union forces were em- 
ployed in digging a canal to change the course of the river, and later 
Mr. Cole's command was engaged in the siege of the city, being posted 
southeast of the river stronghold. Mr. Cole says the happiest day of 
his life was when Pemberton surrendered the Vicksburg garrison. After 
some further employment in the campaigns of Mississippi, the Four- 
teenth Regiment joined Grant's army at Chattanooga, and was present 
but not in action during the battles of Missionary Ridge and Lookout 
Mountain. In the general advance toward Atlanta, the Fourteenth was 
assigned to McPherson's corps, and fought in the battle of Resaca, and 
in many of the other engagements during the almost continuous fighting 
between Chattanooga and Atlanta, including the battles of Buzzard's 
Roost, Dalton, Ringgold Gap, Peachtree Creek, where General McPher- 
son was killed, and then in front of Atlanta on July 22d and again on 
July 28, and finally at Jonesboro. Jonesboro was the last engagement 
in which Mr. Cole participated. He had enlisted on September 7, 1861, 
and his three year term expired just before the fall of Atlanta, but he 
remained twenty days over time because of inability to get through the 
lines to the North. Mr. Cole was discharged at Big Shanty. Although 
he had many close calls he came out unwounded. At Vicksburg he was 
on one occasion stationed behind a clump of sprouts as a sharpshooter 
using his gun against a picket in the rebel fort, and was fired on in return 
and the ball passed through the edge of his cap just above his ear. At 
Shiloh Mr. Cole's cartridge box was pierced by a'pullet. 

After leaving the army the veteran soldier, though still under age, 
returned to Illinois. Having no trade, he took Horace Greeley's advice 
to "go West and grow up with the country," and thus arrived in Har- 
rison County, Missouri, in 1865. His circumstances were such that he 
could be classed only as a "laboring man," he had no money, and unable 
to find employment, in a short time his feet were almost on the ground. 
Through the kindness of Mr. Casebolt, who is still living in this vicnity, 
he received a pair of boots, and thus protected his bare feet until the 
winter was over. That winter was spent in the home of William H. 
Bowler, a son-in-law of the man with whom Mr. Cole had spent his 
youth in Illinois. 

With the opening of the spring of 1866, Mr. Cole rented a farm, 
and with one horse which he owned and one that he borrowed put in a 
crop, and as his efforts were seconded by a propitious season, he seemed 
fairly started toward prosperity. Hogs were worth at that time 8 cents 
a pound, and he believed it wise to buy hogs and feed his corn to them. 
Corn was so cheap as almost to be a drug on the market, but after he 
had fed all his own crop and had bought 500 bushels more, the price of 
hogs had declined so that he was compelled to kill them and peddle the 
pork around his home vicinity at 4 cents a pound. Thus his first 
year proved almost disastrous, and he was left deeply in debt. He still 
possessed the sympathy and confidence of his neighbors, and the fol- 
lowing year rented a farm from Mr. Baber, raised another crop of corn, 
on the half shares, and again, on the advice of Mr. Baber, bought and 
fed hogs, and this year conditions were in his favor, and he more than 
made up for the losses of the previous season. With this varying suc- 
cess Mr. Cole continued as a renter for three years, and then bought 
eighty acres of land in Sherman Township. Forty acres were under 
fence and a poor house that deserved the name of shanty was the prin- 
cipal improvement. Mr. Cole engaged to pay $20 an acre 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1355 

for the property, and by several seasons of unflagging work struggled 
out from under the load of debt, and after that his progress toward 
success was marked by only the ordinary incidents and ups and downs 
of the Missouri farmer. The farm which he bought more than forty 
years ago was his permanent home, and he kept increasing his acreage 
until his accumulations were measured by 600 acres, and he 
continued as active manager and supervisor of this large estate until 
1902. That year Mr. Cole moved to the City of Bethany, and bought 
the old Doctor Vandivert home, which had later been the home of Gen- 
eral Prentiss. Aside from his large farming interests Mr. Cole was 
for a time interested in the Cole hardware store at Bethany, and was 
one of the organizers and is now president of the Harrison County Bank 
of Bethany. 

Although in politics he has been a vigorous advocate of the economic 
policies maintained by the republican party, Mr. Cole has been chiefly 
characterized through his. strict temperance views, and has refused to 
vote for any man who uses alcoholic drinks as a beverage. He has 
served as one of the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and 
since 1865 has been identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, in which organization he has served as noble grand. 

On May 31, 1871, Mr. Cole was married in Harrison County to Miss 
Ellen Meek. Her parents were "Rev. George W. and Mary (Chockley) 
Meek, her father a United Brethren minister who came to Missouri from 
Indiana. Mrs. Cole was the third in a family of seven children. The 
children of Mr. and Mrs. Cole are : William C, a hardware merchant 
of Bethany ; Charles L., who is now active manager of the home farm ; 
George E., a merchant at Carnegie, Oklahoma; Maud and Roy, twins, 
the former the wife of Dod Planck, a Sherman Township farmer, and 
Roy, a farmer in Harrison County. 

Henry Lewis George has been identified with the business life of 
St. Joseph for a period of forty-five years, and during this time it has 
been his privilege to realize many of his worthy ambitions and through 
the exercise of good judgment and business sagacity to wrest from his 
opportunities financial and general success. In Ms evolution from gro- 
cer 's clerk at a meager salary to the head of one of St. Joseph 's leading 
commission enterprises he has supplied an inspiring example of the 
compelling power of strong determination and perseverance and the high 
worth of homely, sterling virtues. Mr. George was born in the City of 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in November, 1849, and his family history, 
as traced in a genealogy now in Mr. George's possession, runs back sev- 
eral centuries in Austria. His great-great-great-grandfather, John 
George George, who spelled the name Jorger, was born in Austria about 
the year 1686, came to America with his brother Peter and here founded 
the family in Pennsylvania, where they were granted all the privileges 
allowed natural born British subjects. He became a land owner and 
spent the remainder of his life in Pennsylvania, where he passed away 
at a ripe old age, in the faith of the Lutheran Church. Peter George 
and his son, Joseph, served in the Revolutionary war, in Capt. Thomas 
Fitzsimmons' company, in the Third Battalion, commanded by Col. John 
Cadwalader, and participated in the battles of Trenton, Princeton, Bran- 
dywine and Monmouth and wintered at Valley Forge. The Third Bat- 
talion was delegated by General Washington for special service. Peter 
George subsequently took an active part in public affairs in Philadel- 
phia, where he was married to Sybella Rennin or Renninger. Joseph 
George, who conducted the Fox Chase Inn at Philadelphia prior to the 



1356 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Revolution, married Anna Barbara Somers, a daughter of Henry and 
Veronica Somers. 

The family name in Pennsylvania has been variously spelled, as 
Jorg, Jorge, Jarger, Jurigher, Jerger, Yerger, Yeriger, Yorger, Gerger, 
Georger and George. Peter George, the great-great-grandfather of 
Henry L. George, was born about 1720, in Philadelphia. Among his 
sons was Joseph George, who was born in that city about 1752, and the 
latter 's son, also named Joseph George, was born there October 24, 1785. 
He served as a soldier during the War of 1812 from August 26, 1814, 
until January 20, 1815, and was a lifelong resident of Philadelphia, 
where he was engaged in the mercantile business, handling leather goods 
and accessories. 

Joseph Stern George, the father of Henry Lewis George, was born 
in the City of Philadelphia, January 21, 1827, and was a natural me- 
chanic, working at one of the skilled trades as a young man and later 
becoming prominent as a city official of Philadelphia, where he spent his 
entire life, dying at the age of seventy-seven years. He married Har- 
riet Elizabeth Mulford, who was born of English parents, and she died 
at the early age of twenty-five years, Henry L. and Harriet being their 
only children. 

Henry Lewis George was reared and educated in Philadelphia and 
New York, and commenced his active career as a grocer's clerk at the 
age of fourteen years, when he received a salary of $2 per week. 
After one year he became employed with a firm engaged in the manu- 
facture of patent medicines, but when abo.ut fifteen years of age com- 
menced business with wholesale dealers in hosiery, underwear and gloves, 
and continued with them for more than five years. At that time Mr. 
George came to St. Joseph, Missouri, in which city he arrived on the 
9th day of September, 1869, and immediately entered the employ of 
R. L. McDonald & Co., with whom he continued for a period of twenty- 
seven years. In 1896 he engaged in the business of representing dif- 
ferent mills in the sale of their products, and this has continued to be 
his line of endeavor to the present time. The industry, purpose and 
ideals of Mr. George have tended to the most substantial in commercial, 
industrial and business life, as well as to the most elevating in ethical, 
educational and civic growth. He belongs to the constructive class of 
men, and to the non-visionary conservatives who hold fast to old truths 
until the excellence of new ones has been demonstrated. On the other 
hand, he is progressive and enterprising, keeps in close touch with the 
progress of the world, and has the courage to grasp opportunities and 
the ability to make the most of them. 

Mr. George was married January 23, 1884, to Miss Maggie Beattie 
McDonald, who was born in St. Joseph, daughter of Rufus L. and Mary 
(Wilson) McDonald, and to this union there have come three children: 
Mary Marjorie, who is the wife of Frazer L. Ford; Rufus Lewis, who 
died in infancy; and Harriet Louise, who is attending school. Mr. 
George is a member of Charity Lodge, F. & A. M. ; Mitchell Chapter 
No. 89, R. A. M. ; Hugh de Payne Commandery No. 51, K. T. ; St. Jo- 
seph Council No. 9, R. & S. M. ; St. Joseph Lodge of Perfection No. 6 ; 
Moila Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., St. Joseph ; St. Joseph Chapter Rose 
Croix No. 4, A. A. S. R. ; Albert Pike Council of Kadosh No. 4, A. A. 
S. R. ; St. Joseph Consistory No. 4, A. A. S. R. He is the oldest past 
master of his lodge, and is past high priest of Mitchell Chapter. Mr. 
George is a member of the Commercial Club, of which he was for four 
years president, is a member of the Sons of the Revolution, the Good 
Government League, and is also connected with the Benton and Country 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1357 

Clubs, in all of which he has been chief executive. He is an official 
member of the First Presbyterian Church, which he has served as deacon 
and elder for many years. 

Mr. George is the owner of the most valuable collection of Indian 
relics privately owned in the United States, an account of which recently 
appeared in the Kansas City Star, from which we quote the following : 
"Because a small basket, purchased ten years ago from an Indian res- 
ervation, merely as a souvenir of his Western trip, turned out to be a 
rare specimen, Harry L. George, of St. Joseph, Missouri, realized that 
the original Indian types of industry and art were rapidly passing and 
he began his collection of specimens of the North American tribes' 
handiwork, which is recognized as one of the most complete private col- 
lections in the United States. Mr. George places no price upon it. 'I 
could only estimate the sum of money I have spent in obtaining my 
specimens,' he says, 'and that gives no idea of the real value. Many 
of the pieces were made by tribes now extinct, and of course all of 
them will increase in value with time. In starting my collection I 
found that fifty-eight different tongues were spoken among the North 
American Indians, and my original intention was to get representative 
baskets from each of these families. But several of these are now extinct 
and among the fiftj-three now in existence some, owing to their geo- 
graphical location, are not now basketmakers. Thus, in order to get relics 
from each tribe, I have been forced to add pottery and bead- work to 
my collection. I have picked up many of my specimens during my 
travels through the West and Southwest, but most of them I have 
bought through agents and friends. I have obtained my specimens 
from every reservation in the United States and Alaska.' St. Joseph 
has no public museum and Mr. George has had a part of his collection 
placed in cases in the main public library. One of the central public 
schools has another portion of it, and the remainder Mr. George has 
in his home. The collection shows clearly to what almost unlimited 
uses the basket was put by uncivilized man. It was used for holding 
water, food and other precious objects in use in everyday life, for gather- 
ing articles of commerce and transporting them, for furniture and cloth- 
ing. The woven receptacles played an important part in the love affairs 
of the dusky people, in their religion, in their family life, and in the 
weird ceremonials they produced. Before the coming of the white man, 
basketry supplied nearly every necessity. The wealth of an Indian 
family was reckoned by the number and the beauty of the baskets they 
owned, and the highest virtue of woman was in her ability to make them. 
It was the most expert woman in basketry who brought the highest price 
when sold in marriage. 

"Among the ceremonial baskets in Mr. George's collection, perhaps 
the most interesting are his twenty-four tiny witch baskets, the largest 
of which, feather trimmed and greatly ornamented, measures two and 
one-half inches in diameter, and the smallest one, woven with a black 
and white design, is five thirty-seconds of an inch. It is indeed mar- 
velous basketwork when one realizes what short, fat fingers have woven 
the intricate and smoothly perfect little models. These special baskets 
were made by the Porno tribe of Northern California. In the collection 
are a number of their religious baskets which show the care and pains- 
taking labor which must have been expended upon their construction. 
There are several specimens used by the Hopi Indians of Northeastern 
Arizona in their famous dances. There are several ceremonials 

made bv the Hupa Indians of California, of which there are no dupli- 
voi. m— 5 " 



1358 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

cates and which are therefore very valuable. There is a basket with 
peach-stones carved and marked for dice. The game was played exclu- 
sively by the women. For a dice tray they used a large fine basket 
tray. Baskets played an important role in the etiquette of the red 
men. The Choctaw girls, in sending a gift of fruit or flowers, used a 
heart-shaped or double basket to convey a sentiment of sincerity. Mr. 
George has love baskets from several tribes and an exquisite specimen 
of the wedding basket of the Pomos. Specimens of cooking baskets no 
longer obtainable are found in the collection. They were of course not 
put over a fire. The food was placed in them and then clean, hot stones 
were put in. The heat from these stones, combined with constant stir- 
ring, cooked the food. These baskets are made of split cedar roots. 
Among the most fantastic specimens are baskets trimmed with shells, 
and other hard substances. The feather seems to have been one of the- 
most used basket decorations. The plant materials used vary with the 
geographical location of the tribes. Dyes used in basket making were 
made from roots and pigments of the earth. Among the most beautiful 
and interesting of the carrying baskets are the pappoose baskets. There 
are nineteen cradles and several miniature cradles which the Indian chil- 
dren used to carry their dolls in. Two Pima carrying baskets, one for a 
child and one for an adult, are beautiful examples of lace work among 
the Indians. These burden-bearing baskets consist of a framework of 
poles, about which a bag or bowl is woven of Yucca palm strings. The 
sticks are carefully wrapped with hair. These baskets are fastened to the 
forehead when carried by a beautifully beaded band. 

"Mr. George's object in the beginning was the collection of only 
baskets, but he found so many rare and beautiful Indian specimens of 
other articles, that his collection of these is as large or larger than that 
of the baskets. He has specimens of every sort of ornament, imple- 
ment and dish used by the Alaska Indians. His collection of Indian 
necklaces, each with a history of its own, some of them known, is almost 
complete in itself. The claws and bones of animals and birds, beads 
and bits of abalone pearl and bright feathers, are the materials used 
in the making of these." 

John E. Smith. The career of John E. Smith in Harrison County 
covers the period between the era of the log cabin and the undeveloped 
prairie, and the present day of the most modern improvements and fine 
fertile farms. Mr. Smith is now engaged in successful agricultural pur- 
suits in White Oak Township, his home being located in section 11, town- 
ship 63,' range 29, Harrison County, and was born in a log cabin in the 
same community, December 30, 1866, his parents being Edward and 
Frances R. (Clay tor) Smith. 

Edward Smith was born in 1826, in the State of Missouri, and 
acquired a scant education in the country schools. He came to Harrison 
County prior to the outbreak of the war between the North and the 
South, but did not serve in that struggle, although he had previously 
had military experience as a soldier during the Mexican war. Mr. Smith 
came to Harrison County from one of the counties of this Northwest 
Missouri section, perhaps Daviess County, where he had been brought 
up from a child, and where he had entered land which he exchanged 
with his brother for his first home in section 11, White Oak Township. 
His final home was in section 2, and he came to be one of the large 
landholders of his township, was chiefly engaged in stockraising and 
feeding and was an occasional shipper to market. In politics he was a 
democrat, but never sought public office. His religious affiliation was 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1359 

with the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and he took an active part 
in religious affairs, being an officer in the Shady Grove Church. Edward 
Smith was united in marriage with Miss Frances R. Claytor, a daughter 
of Henry Claytor, and she is now seventy-three years of age) and lives 
at New Hampton, Missouri. Mr. Smith died in 1900, the father of the 
following children: Adaline, who married James Coleman, and died 
at Saint Joseph, Missouri ; Price, who is a farmer of Bethany Township, 
Harrison County; Sarah, who died single; John E., of this notice; 
Thomas V., a resident of New Hampton ; Martha, also of New Hampton ; 
Samuel A., a farmer of White Oak*Township ; Mary and May, twins, 
the latter of whom lives in New Hampton, while the former died unmar- 
ried. 

Edward Smith was a son of Vincent Smith, who passed away in 
Harrison County prior to the Civil war. He married Miss Sarah Wright, 
who died at Blue Ridge, Harrison County, when nearly eighty years of 
age, and they became the parents of the following children: Vincent, 
who died in Harrison County and left a family ; Thompson, who passed 
away in Greene County, Missouri, leaving one child ; Edward, the father 
of John E. ; John W., a resident of Harrison County ; Oregon, who mar- 
ried Andrew Graybill and lives near Hatfield, Missouri ; Isabel, who mar- 
ried Alfred Thomas, and died at Blue Ridge ; Benjamin, a resident of 
Greene County ; Sarelda, who married Noah Dotson and died in Harrison 
County; Solomon, who is also deceased; Columbus, who lives at Saint 
Joseph; Susan, who married Thomas Shackelton, of Excelsior Springs, 
Missouri ; Marcus, of Springfield, Missouri ; and George, who died near 
Springfield, the next to the youngest child. 

John E. Smith received his education in the schools adjacent to his 
childhood home, and as he grew up performed the services of a sort of 
cowboy in caring for the family herds. When he entered upon his own 
career he was past his majority and began life as a farmer, and so 
ably have his affairs been conducted that he is now the owner of 238 acres 
of fine land in section 11 and 285 acres in section 12, and it is practically 
all in cultivation. His buildings are modern, commodious and substan- 
tial, his machinery of the latest manufacture, and the entire appearance 
of the farm is a reflection of its owner's enterprise and excellent man- 
agement. Mr. Smith handles stock quite largely as a feeder and occa- 
sional shipper, and is known as a good judge of cattle. He has a number 
of business interests, these including holdings in the stock of the Bank 
of New Hampton and of a mail order house in Minneapolis. Politically 
he is a democrat, but his activities in this line have been confined to. 
voicing his preferences through his vote. With his family he belongs 
to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

Mr. Smith was married April 5, 1904, to Miss Hattie Bender, a 
daughter of John W. and Margaret (Funk) Bender. Mr. Bender came 
to Missouri from Indiana, and is of German stock, as was also his wife. 
Of his twelve children, Mrs. Smith is the fifth in order of birth. Three 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Smith, namely : Clifton, Frances 
and Kenneth. 

William Van Leazenby. A resident of Harrison County since 1880, 
and now a farmer near Ridgeway, William Van Leazenby came to this 
part of Northwest Missouri from Pickaway County, Ohio, his native 
place, he having been born near the town of Mount Sterling, Ohio, in 
the same house in which his father's birth occurred, July 29, 1857. He 
is the eldest son of Isaac Leazenby, who married Mary Tanner, a daugh- 
ter of David Tanner, an agriculturist of Ohio. Isaac Leazenby was a 



1360 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

son of Joshua Leazenby, mentioned elsewhere in this work, in the history 
of the old, well-known and honored family. 

Isaac Leazenby was an agriculturist by vocation, and was an exhorter 
and class leader of the Methodist Church. He was decidedly a man of 
peace, and did much toward the prevention of trouble or animosity in 
his neighborhood. An extravagant instance of his endeavor to accommo- 
date a neighbor is shown in his loaning of his own wagon — when he was 
really using it — to a neighbor and then sending his sons off to borrow 
one elsewhere that his own work might be completed. He came to Mis- 
souri in 1SS1 and lived near Ridgeway during the rest of his life, dying 
January 21, 1887. His children were as follows: William Van, of this 
review ; Amanda, who married Jacob Frost and died at Grant City, Mis- 
souri; John W., of Ridgeway, who has served as county representative 
to the Missouri General Assembly twice ; Charles C, of near Cainsville, 
who is accounted one of the leading auctioneers of Harrison County: and 
George, who is a resident and business man of Idaho. 

William Van Leazenby grew up in his native locality and was edu- 
cated in the district schools, and learned the vocation of his father, that 
of farming. After his marriage, as long as he remained in Ohio, he 
lived on the property adjoining his old home, but, in 1880, having friends 
and relatives in Missouri, he came West as a means of improving his 
condition and located first near Cainsville, in Harrison County. He had 
a wife and child and money enough to make a payment on an eightj'-acre 
farm that he purchased in that locality, buying an eighty-acre tract which 
was partly improved. He remained on this land and farmed it until it 
became worth double what he had paid for it, and he then disposed of 
his interest therein and bought 280 acres in Marion Township, section 21, 
township 65, range 27. This farm was likewise started by settler Rey- 
burn, an Illinois man, but Mr. Leazenby purchased it of the Hall estate. 
In this locality Mr. Leazenby lived continuously for sixteen years, and 
when he left it it was a well-ordered place. Mr. Leazenby made deals 
and changes in land, disposing of some and buying other during the time, 
and still owns 240 acres there. He also erected barns, built fences and 
cross-fenced it, and made numerous other intelligent improvements, and 
left it as one of the handsome and valuable country places of that com- 
munity. 

From the Marion Township farm, Mr. Leazenby came to his father's 
old home, which he purchased, within a mile of Ridgeway. It contains 
eighty-one acres and he has restored it to a splendid state of cultivation 
and substantial improvement. Here he provided a separate home for his 
mother and cared for her during her last years, she dying March 6, 1912. 
Here he is continuing his general farming in addition to carrying on 
the other farm. In a modest way he has been growing Short Horn cattle 
and his Norman horses have scattered themselves, through his sire, about 
over a wide territory adjacent to Ridgeway. His exhibits of stock for 
prizes have occurred at local fairs and stock shows and he also holds 
annual farm sales to dispose of his surplus stock, which have become 
quite a yearly event and are largely attended. 

Mr. Leazenby is a Methodist, He was converted at the age of twenty 
years and is a trustee of the Ridgeway Methodist Church, and has ever 
given his strength to the work of the Sabbath school, which he has led 
in the capacity of superintendent and class leader. He was born a repub- 
lican, and while on several occasions he has scratched his ticket it has 
been in the interest of good men for local offices always. He has been 
a justice of the peace in both Marion and Grant townships, serving eleven 
years in that capacity, and entered thus officially into the regulation of 
public morals. Mr. Leazenby is one of the stockholders of the Harrison 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1361 

County Fair Association of Ridgeway, and for twenty years has been a 
Master Mason. 

Mr. Leazenby was married in February, 1879, his first wife being 
Sallie Keys, a daughter of Thomas Keys and Elizabeth (Beatty) Keys. 
They were farming people of Ohio and early settlers of Pickaway County, 
that state. Their children were as follows: Mrs. Leazenby; Jane, who 
died single; Amanda, who married Albert Miller, of Columbus, Ohio; 
and Ida, who married Mr. Smith and resides near that city. Mrs. Leazen- 
by passed away as a resident of Marion Township, having been the 
mother of the following children : Lizzie, who became the wife of Ed 
Girdner, and resides in the vicinity of Cainesville, Missouri ; Ethel, who 
became the wife of William Norwood, and resides at Ridgeway ; Minnie, 
who became the wife of Mack Burgin, is a resident of Marysville, Mis- 
souri ; Wilda, who became the wife of Herman Wasso, and is also a resi- 
dent of Ridgeway ; and Miss Laura, who is a student of the normal school 
at Marysville, Missouri. 

Mr. Leazenby was married the second time, August 26, 1900, to Miss 
Mary Harrison, a daughter of Henry and Catharine J. (M;lligan) Harri- 
son, who came to the State of Missouri in December, 1871, from their 
native East Tennessee and were farmers in Harrison County. Two 
children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Leazenby, Truman and Ray. 
The boys are being educated in Ridgeway High School. Mr. Leazenby 
has educated his daughters liberally, graduating them from the Ridge- 
way High School and preparing them for effective spheres of usefulness 
in church and society where they live. 

Grove E. Kelso. A newspaper which has had a fine and vitalizing 
influence in its community is the Hardin News in Ray County. Its editor 
and proprietor, Grove E. Kelso, is a newspaper man with ten years) of 
successful experience, was for a number of years identified with educa- 
tional affairs in Chariton County, and is one of the prominent citizens of 
his section of the state. 

A native of Chariton County, Grove E. Kelso was born near Mussell- 
fork, December 8, 1868. His father, Samuel S. Kelso, who is now living 
retired and one of the venerable citizens of Chariton County, was born 
in Richland County, Ohio, October 8, 1841. The mother's maiden name 
was Luella Frayer, who was born in Huron County, Ohio, August 15, 
1848, and died January 2, 1907. They were the parents of nine children, 
and there are seven now living, in widely diverse portions of the country, 
who are named as follows: Grove E. ; Mary, wife of William G. Pfeiffer, 
of Hugo, Colorado; Olive A., wife of Cornelius DeWese of Huntsville, 
Missouri; L. E. A. of Madison, Wisconsin; Warner E. of Missouri; Miss 
Meryl, of Hugo, Colorado; and Isaac E., of Quincy, Illinois. 

Samuel S.' Kelso, the father, grew up on an Ohio farm, attended the 
public schools and was educated perhaps more liberally than the average 
boy of his time. His career was identified with his home locality until 
the outbreak of the war. His record as a Union soldier was one of ex- 
ceptional experiences, hardship and length. He assisted in raising a 
company and enlisted in Battery D of the First Ohio Artillery. During 
a campaign in Kentucky he was captured, but was soon paroled and 
returned to his command. Later after the fall of Atlanta he was one 
of fourteen men who were captured on the morning that Sherman started 
his march to the sea. Then followed thirteen months of imprisonment 
and the endurance of almost unspeakable conditions at Libby and Ander- 
sonville, and when he was released in August, 1865, he was the only one 
of the fourteen prisoners captured with him who survived the terrible 
hardships and exposures of those notorious prisons. When he was re- 



1362 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

leased he was naked and too weak to walk. Returning to Ohio, he soon 
left that state and came west and located in Chariton County, Missouri. 
Having made some money and unsatisfied with his experience in this 
state, he then went back to Ohio, was married on December 26, 1867, 
and, brought his bride to Chariton County, where he bought land and 
engaged in the substantial business of agriculture. Subsequently he was 
identified with merchandising at Mussellfork, and for several years held 
the office of postmaster there. He is now living retired and enjoying 
•^he fruits of a long and well-spent career. 

Grove E. Kelso, the first child of his parents, and born soon after 
the establishment of the home in Chariton County, grew up in his native 
locality, attended the country district schools, and early became ambitious 
for an education and for a larger life than could be found on a farm. 
At the age of sixteen he left home, and spent one year in attendance at 
the Stanberry Normal School, and then found work as a teacher and as 
a farm laborer. With the means thus acquired he paid his way for two 
years in Central College at Fayette, leaving there in June, 1893. Then 
followed a period of work on the farm, and beginning with July, 1894, 
he entered upon a long and successful experience as an educator, being 
identified with school work for eleven years in Ray County, and much 
of the time at Hardin with one year in Rayville. 

Finally Mr. Kelso's energies were directed from education to journal- 
ism, and on January 2, 1904, he bought the Hardin News from Walter 
L. Bales. Since then he has given all his time to the publication of one 
of the livest papers of Ray County. Mr. Kelso as a result of his own 
experience and his broad outlook on life is in a position to afford a fine 
influence on local opinion through the columns of his paper, and main- 
tains a journal which not only publishes the news but exercises a high 
standard of civic and public morality. Politically his paper maintains a 
neutral position, though personally Mr. Kelso is republican. He has an 
active part in the improvement of commercial and civic conditions in 
his home town, and is a member of the trade extension committee of the 
Hardin Commercial Club, a director of the Hardin Building & Loan 
Company, and besides his newspaper he has the agency for several fire 
insurance companies and writes a large amount of business in and 
around Hardin. 

Mr. Kelso has fraternal affiliations with the Masonic order, the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America, 
and belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church South. On August 14, 
1901, he married Mrs. Pernie Swinney, a widow, who died August 10, 
1904. By her first marriage she had one son, Oliver K. Swinney, who 
now has his home in Ray County. On August 1, 1907, Mr. Kelso mar- 
ried for his present wife Miss Ida Kellenberger, who was born in Ray 
County, a daughter of George W. and Bertha (Hileman) Kellenberger. 
Her parents were both natives of Germany and now live at Hardin. 
Mr. Kelso and wife have one child, Bertha Luella, who was born Novem- 
ber 27, 1909. 

Willis G. Hine. Senior member of the law firm of Hine, Cross & 
Wells and vice president of the Wells-Hine Trust Company at Savannah, 
Willis G. Hine has had a long and successful career, beginning in the 
restricted sphere of farmer, student, teacher, and for more than twenty 
years as a lawyer of increasing distinction and business duties and civic 
responsibilities. Mr. Hine has a secure place in professional and business 
circles in Andrew County, and has done much for' their advancement. 

Willis G. Hine was born at Garden Grove, in Decatur County, Iowa, 
April 8, 1861, a son of Hiram and Evaline (Bradley) Hine. On both 




JfcZU* ^J.^^tu. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1363 

sides Mr. Hine comes of old and distinguished American citizenship. He 
holds membership, by right of ancestry, in the Missouri Chapter of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, and there were soldiers on both the 
paternal and maternal side in that war. His mother was born in Wood- 
ford County, Kentucky, May 6, 1840, a daughter of William Bradley, 
who in turn was a son of John Bradley, who was born in North Carolina 
in 1780, and emigrated with his father to Kentucky about 1784. Ken- 
tucky was then a wilderness and the Bradleys were pioneers in the 
' ' dark and bloody ground ' ' and assisted in wresting that fair state from 
the dominion of the wilderness and the Indians. The founders of the 
Bradley family were John and William, brothers, who emigrated from 
England in 1740 and located in Yadkin County, North Carolina. Sen- 
ator Bradley of Kentucky, one of the most prominent figures in Ameri- 
can public life for a number of years, was a cousin of Mr. Hine 's maternal 
grandfather. Three of Mr. Hine 's ancestors served on the American side 
during the War of the Revolution — Colonel AVebb of Maryland, Ebenezer 
Hine of Connecticut, and William Bradley, just mentioned. (Although 
William Bradley never enlisted, he was, however, at the battle of King's 
Mountain and served with Colonel Sumter.) William T. Bradley, the 
maternal grandfather, after his marriage brought his family out of Ken- 
tucky to Illinois in 1842, went to Iowa in 1843, when that state was 
still a territory, and in the following year entered Government land in 
Marion County, lived there until 1853, and then transferred his residence 
to Decatur County, Iowa, where he lived until death. Hiram Hine, 
father of the Savannah lawyer and banker, was born at Milford, Con- 
necticut, in 1840, and in the same year his parents went to Iowa, where 
they were likewise among the pioneers. His death occurred in 1880 at 
Garden Grove, and his wife passed away in 1886 at Fillmore, Missouri. 
His father was a farmer in early life, and later a merchant and brick 
manufacturer. In the family were three sons and three daughters who 
reached maturity, and three are now living. Willis G. is the oldest ; 
Florence is the widow of Franz S. Cole, of Rea, Missouri ; and Harry 
E. lives in Seattle, Washington. 

Willis G. Hine spent the first twenty years of his life in Decatur 
County, Iowa, and starting life with the inheritance of good qualities 
from his parents, has had to fashion his career largely through his own 
efforts. He was graduated from the Garden Grove High School in 1876, 
attended the Shenandoah Normal School of Iowa, and was in the State 
University for one year until the death of his father called him home. 
His first efforts in earning a living were as a teacher, and for two years 
he was principal of the schools at Humeston, Iowa, and for five years 
was principal of the schools at Fillmore, Missouri. During his residence 
at Fillmore Mr. Hine was admitted to the bar in 1887, and in 1888 was 
elected county surveyor of Andrew County, the duties of which office 
kept him employed about two years. Since 1891 Mr. Hine has been estab- 
lished as one of the lawyers at the county seat of Savannah. In asso- 
ciation with William B. Allen he organized the Allen & Hine Land and 
Loan Company, which subsequently became the Hine Land & Loan 
Company, and this business in 1914 was merged with the State Bank of 
Savannah and incorporated as the Wells-Hine Trust Company, of which 
Mr. Hine is vice president. As a lawyer he practiced alone until 1908, 
except a year or two with Judge James M. Rea, and in that year formed 
a partnership with Kipp D. Cross under the name of Hine & Cross, and 
on September 1, 1914, Walter B. Wells was admitted, making the firm 
style Hine, Cross & Wells. For several years Mr. Hine was vice president 
of the First National Bank of Savannah, and though he still retains his 
stock, resigned the office on September 1, 1914. For twenty-three years 



1364 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

in addition to his law practice he has been engaged in the land, loan and 
abstract business. 

Mr. Hine has been identified with the republican party since casting 
his first vote, has served as mayor of Savannah, and was on the school 
board twelve years. Since his nineteenth year his membership has been 
with the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is affiliated with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, enjoys associations with both the Chapter 
and Consistory branches of Masonry, was past chancellor of the Knights 
of Pythias during his residence in Iowa, and belongs to the Elks Club 
in St. Joseph. 

On August 15, 1887, Mr. Hine married Mary Gregory, who was born 
at Fillmore, Missouri, a daughter of Rufus K. and Masy (Crawford) 
Gregory. Her parents were married in Kentucky about 1847, came to 
Missouri in 1854, and spent the rest of their lives in this state. Mr. 
Hine and wife have three children : Raphael G., who was educated in 
the University of Missouri, now has charge of the insurance department 
of the W T ells-Hine Trust Company; Marjorie E., graduated B. A. from 
the Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois, in the class of 1913, 
receiving the Phi Beta Kappa degree ; Ruth is still in the Savannah High 
School. 

Walter T. Lingle. At different places in Northwest Missouri the 
name Lingle has for many years had familiar associations, especially with 
the grain and milling business. For the past ten years Bethany has been 
the center of operations, where the late Elmore Lingle located in 1904, 
after returning from Salt Lake City, and where he leased the Bethany 
mill and operated it as the Bethany Mill and Elevator Company until his 
death in 1911. The business has since been conducted by his son, Walter 
T. Lingle, who is one of the stirring young business men of Bethany. 

Elmore Lingle was born in Wauseon, Ohio, in 1842, the son of a 
farmer who spent his active life there, and was of German stock. Elmore 
was the third in a family of children, and one of his brothers is 0. B. 
Lingle, long a prominent business man of Cameron, Missouri. Elmore 
Lingle had a limited education so far as books and schools were con- 
cerned, but was a thoroughly competent man of affairs. During the war, 
when a young man, he entered the volunteer service in an Ohio regiment, 
was in the Atlanta campaign and then with Sherman on the march to 
the sea. He served as a private and the only serious injury he sustained 
was a sunstroke. He was a pensioner in later years, and always an inter- 
ested participant in Grand Army circles. While a stanch republican, he 
was never a practical politician. During his residence in Pattonsburg 
he was active in the Odd Fellows order, and his church was the Congre- 
gational. After leaving the army Elmore Lingle came out to Missouri 
and joined a number of Ohio people in Cameron, where he found em- 
ployment in a flour mill conducted by Mr. Cline, a veteran miller. Avhose 
enterprise has since been continued by his son and grandsons and is now 
one of the oldest mills under one continuous! ownership in that section 
of the state. Mr. Lingle eventually became associated with the Cline 
brothers, and many of the older residents remember the flour manufac- 
tured by the firm of Cline and Lingle. On leaving Cameron Mr. Lingle 
located at Concordia, Kansas, where with one of his former associates he 
bought a mill and continued its operation for seven years. Selling out, 
he moved further west, to Salt Lake City,, and there bought the plant 
of the Salt Lake Mill and Elevator, which was operated under his owner- 
ship five years. During that time he won the medal for the best flour 
on exhibition at the Utah state fair in 1899. After selling this mill Mr. 
Lingle returned to Missouri and took up business at Bethany. At Came- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1365 

ron Mr. Lingle married Miss Mary C. Cline, who was born in Williams- 
port, Pennsylvania, in 1850, a daughter of the pioneer miller in Came- 
ron, who was of Pennsylvania German stock. 

Walter T. Lingle, the only son and child of his parents, was born at 
Cameron, Missouri, June 13, 1877, and learned the milling business under 
the eye of his father, and is a thoroughly practical man in all its details. 
He attended the public schools of Cameron and made his education count 
toward a practical training for business. He was a student in the Mis- 
souri Wesleyan College at Cameron, and while there helped to dig out 
the trees for the athletic grounds. He also attended the Wesleyan School 
at Salina, Kansas. He was with his father in all the changes of busi- 
ness and locations, and became manager of the Bethany mill when his 
father died. He is also interested in the grain and feed business, owns 
a fourth interest in the Schmid Drug Company of Bethany, and a half 
interest in tbfi elp.vator at Garden Grove, Iowa. 

Mr. Lingle was married at Bethany in October, 1904, to Miss Emma 
Jennings, a daughter of John and Mary Jennings, who came to Missouri 
from Virginia, and spent their last days in Bethany. Besides Mrs. 
Lingle the Jennings children were Verne, Oma, Lillie and Jacob. Mrs. 
Lingle was born in Harrison County, Missouri, December 16, 1880. To 
their marriage have been born two children, Bedonna and Elmore. Mr. 
Lingle is a member of Lodge No. 204, Knights of Pythias. His wife is 
a member of the Presbyterian Church. 

Harvey Nally, M. D. A resident of Cainesville for a period of 
twenty-eight years, Dr. Harvey Nally has been one of the most important 
factors in the development of this thriving community of Northwest 
Missouri. While he has won distinguished eminence in the ranks of the 
medical profession, his activities have by no means been confined to his 
labors therein, for in the fields of finance and business, in the promotion 
of education and good citizenship and in the encouragement and support 
of movements which have contributed to the city's prestige in various 
ways, he has taken a most active and prominent part, and at all times 
his name has been synonymous with the maintenance of high principles 
and ideals. 

Doctor Nally was born in November, 1854, on a farm in Jackson 
County, Ohio, a member of a family which originated in England. His 
father, William Nally, was born in Westmoreland, Virginia, and when 
eleven years of age accompanied his parents to Jackson County, Ohio, 
where he engaged in agricultural pursuits. In the fall of 1865 he came 
to Missouri and settled temporarily four miles north of Chillicothe, Liv- 
ingston County, but in 1869 moved to Harrison County and settled seven 
miles southeast of Bethany. There he died December 31, 1888, at the 
age of eighty-two years. He was a republican in politics, but had no 
political aspirations, nor did he have a military record. He married in 
Jackson County, Ohio, Miss Patsy Gillespie, who died at the old home- 
stead, and their children were as follows: Mrs. Lucinda Barlow, of 
Bethany, Missouri ; Mrs. Sarah Gibbons, of Chillicothe, Missouri ; Susie, 
who is the wife of Edward Poor, of Jackson County, Ohio; W. J., of 
Saint Louis; W. S., a resident of Southwest Kansas; Moses, who died in 
Harrison County, Missouri, at the age of thirty-one years, leaving a 
family; 0. H., of Blue Ridge, Harrison County; Dr. Harvey, of this 
review ; and Frank H., who died in 1914, in Harrison County, leaving a 
family. 

Harvey Nally was eleven years of age when he accompanied his par- 
ents to Missouri, and his education was largely secured in the public 
schools here. Having chosen medicine as a profession, at the age of 



1366 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

nineteen years he went to the university and entered the medical depart- 
ment, which was then located at Columbia, and graduated with the class 
of 1876. On January 1, 1877, he came to Cainesville, applied himself 
faithfully to his practice, and has continued to do so to the present time. 
He is a member of the Harrison County Medical Society, the Missouri 
State Medical Society and the American Medical Association, and is 
local surgeon of the Burlington Railway, as well as city physician and 
health officer of Cainesville. 

In the business affairs of Cainesville, Doctor Nally has taken a promi- 
nent part. He was one of the organizers of the Cainesville Bank, in 
1883, and save a year or two has been a director during all these years, 
having seen the institution grow from a capital of $13,000, to one of 
$20,000, then to $30,000, and finally, in 1911, to $50,000. Its surplus is 
$12,000. and its officers are J. H. Burrows, president; G. R. Wilson, vice- 
president; H. T. Rogers, cashier, and Dr. Harvey Nally and T. O. Wick- 
ersham, assistant cashiers, the official board being composed of J. H. 
Burrows, S. N. Glaze, M. F. Oxford, G. R. Wilson, C. H. Woodward, 
H. T. Rogers and Harvey Nally. The stockholders are scattered' about 
over Harrison and Mercer counties and a few shares are held in Des 
Moines, Iowa. When the Cainesville Bank opened its doors for busi- 
ness, Mr. C. B. Woodward was cashier and bookkeeper and did all of 
the work of the bank for years, filling these positions until his death 
twenty years later. The first bank occupied an old frame building where 
the present new edifice stands, the latter being erected in 1897, and now 
a force of three in the institution is required to do the work, while an- 
other bank in Cainesville, with a capital of $25,000, requires the work of 
two. In 1913 the whole bank inside was refitted and furnished in marble, 
giving it a metropolitan appearance. 

Doctor Nally was identified with the drug business at Cainesville for 
twenty-five years as a partner of I. B. Woodward. He was also engaged 
in the dry goods business here as one of the firm of the Shaw-Nally Dry 
Goods Company, and in addition has been interested in the promotion 
of enterprises which promised something for the town, but which have 
since gone out of existence. Among the latter were the Enterprise Manu- 
facturing Company and the handle factory. He was one of the factors 
in securing the right-of-way for the Narrow-Gauge Railway here, and 
in company with J. H. Burrows brought the first railroad surveyor to 
Cainesville to look over the route. As they came down from Iowa the 
three mapped out in a general way the route of the new road, which was 
built, but later went into the hands of a receiver and was sold to the 
Keokuk & Western, which made a standard road of it and finally sold it 
to the Burlington System. 

Doctor Nally is a republican, having been brought up in that political 
faith. He has served as a school director here for twenty-seven years, 
and has seen the Cainesville system grow from a little frame building 
with two teachers to a high school of the first class, this being affiliated 
with the state educational institutions, while the equipment compares 
favorably with that of any school in this part of the state. He is a 
member of the Baptist Church, is a Master Mason, and also holds member- 
ship in the Odd Fellows and the Knights of Pythias. His life has been 
a busy and useful one, his labors have been of the greatest importance, 
and his activities are by no means over. His tall, erect and energetic 
figure is a familiar sight on the streets of Cainesville, and his frank and 
open countenance shows all the characteristics of the man who was born 
to be a leader. 

Doctor Nally was married at Cainesville, November 29, 1881, to Miss 
Charlotte E. Pickens, daughter of Enos Pickens, an early-day farmer who 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1367 

came from New York State, and Charlotte Ann (Earle) Pickens, of New 
Jersey. To Doctor and Mrs. Nally there have been born the following 
children : Dr. Enos Clifton, a graduate of the Cainesville High School 
and of the Northwestern Dental School, Chicago, who is engaged in 
practice at Rockford, Illinois; Hortense, the wife of F. D. Lawhead, of 
Cainesville; Bronna, who married Dr. H. A. Scott, of Cainesville; 
William H., engaged in farming near this place; and Eugene Field, a 
high school student at Cainesville. 



Rev. Joseph H. Burrows. The various and diversified activities 
which have enlisted the attention and talents of Rev. Joseph H. Burrows, 
of Cainesville, president of the Cainesville Bank and one of his com- 
munity's most prominent and progressive men, have extended over a 
long period of years, and in each of his fields of endeavor he has dis- 
played fidelity to high principles. Coming to Missouri in 1862, and 
settling in Harrison County, he established himself in business among 
the few small stores then located in Cainesville, and for forty years was 
identified as a member of different firms. His business was opened and 
conducted for many years as J. H. Burrows, and during that same period 
he was interested in a harness shop and collar factory conducted as Bur- 
rows & Truax. Burrows & Webb succeeded J. H. Burrows & Company, 
which was formed by the admission of J. B. Woodward into the house, 
and following Burrows & Webb came the firm of Burrows & Shaw. Bur- 
rows & Oden and Burrows & Neal did business together after that, and 
Mr. Burrows retired from the latter firm about 1901. In 1885 he formed 
a partnership with W. C. McKiddy, as a hardware and implement con- 
cern, and Burrows & McKiddy did business for twenty years. 

Rev. Mr. Burrows participated in the organization of the Cainesville 
Bank and has been a director thereof since, the - organization being 
effected in 1883, and for the past three years has been president of this 
institution. In 1881 the Enterprise Manufacturing Company was formed 
at Cainesville by the citizens and Rev. Mr. Burrows became president of 
the concern. The object of the factory was to manufacture cheap furni- 
ture, but the expensive building of brick, 40x100 feet, two stories in 
height, absorbed most of the paid in capital, and the venture entered 
upon its career cramped for ready money. This 1 feature, added to the 
fact that no cost price for manufacturing stuff was kept and the goods 
were being sold unconsciously for a time for less than cost, caused the 
concern finally to give up the struggle, and the building subsequently 
went into the hands of the coal company here. 

In procuring the railroad connection for Cainesville with the outside 
world, Rev. Mr. Burrows, associated with Doctor Nally, brought a sur- 
veyor over the route selected to demonstrate that it was practical, and 
they succeeded in raising the $10,000 bonus required, Rev. Mr. Burrows 
giving his private obligation for nearly twelve miles of right-of-way 
for the road. The station of Burrows on the road is one of the lasting 
monuments to him that has come to Rev. Mr. Burrows. This was a 
narrow-gauge road at first, but it was later standardized and is now a 
part of the Burlington System and the terminus of the Des Moines 
branch. Rev. Mr. Burrows moved to his present home, on the farm in 
Mercer County, in 1865 and has been here since. Here he became a 
stockman and a feeder, and bought and shipped stock extensively while 
he was merchandising. 

Rev. Mr. Burrows entered politics as a republican and his first cam- 
paign for office was for the Twenty-sixth General Assembly for Mercer 
County, in 1870, serving in that body and being reelected to the Twenty- 



1368 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

seventh Session, the first man to ever achieve the honor of reelection from 
this county. In the Twenty-seventh Assembly he, in connection with 
Captain Harmon of Nodaway County, wrote the present township organ- 
ization law twice, introduced it in the house and pushed it through as a 
law. He also introduced a number of temperance measures, and al- 
though none of these bills was acted upon, this was the earliest effort to- 
ward temperance legislation in the state. The body was democratic and 
elected Senator Bogee to the United States Senate, while the republicans 
supported Gen. John B. Henderson. Rev. Mr. Burrows' next election 
to the general assembly was in 1878, at which time he was the candidate 
of the "greenback" party. In 1880 he was nominated as the "'green- 
back" and "union labor" candidate for congress from the old Tenth 
District, which included the counties of Harrison, Mercer, Daviess, Grun- 
dy, Livingston, Linn, Chariton and Randolph. He opposed Col. Charles 
H. Mansur, the democratic candidate and defeated him by sixty-five 
votes, and entered the house of the Forty-seventh Congress, being the last 
man elected from the Tenth District as then composed. In this congress 
he introduced the bill which reduced letter postage from three to two 
cents an ounce, and was on the Pension Committee, the department of 
the interior and the improvement of the Mississippi River. Gen. J. 
"Warren Keifer was speaker of that house. His service in Congress con- 
cluded his public labors in politics, although he was renominated to 
succeed himself in the new congressional district, but the democratic 
majority of several thousand could not be overcome and he only made 
a skeleton canvass of the district. 

For the past twenty years Rev. Mr. Burrows has voted the prohibi- 
tion ticket and his campaigning has been purely local. He throws his 
influence toward the local option fights and has been a factor in winning 
a dry town at home. Rev. Mr. Burrows made a profession of faith in 
Christ February 14, 1867, at Cainesville, under the teaching of Elder 
John Woodward and was induced to take the floor and start preaching 
the next night. He was ordained three months later and served the 
Cainesville Baptist Church for more than thirty years. His knowledge 
of the Bible was only such as he hail acquired as a Sunday school pupil, 
and he therefore became a student at the same time that he assumed 
responsibilities as a minister. He has been pastor of the churches at 
Mount Moriah, Eaglesville. Blythedale, Mount Pleasant No. 2, Freedom 
Church, Pleasant Valley, Zion, Princeton, River View (Iowa), James- 
port, Jameson and Gilman City. He built the church at Freedom and 
organized and built the church and house at Pleasant Valley. Rev. Mr. 
Burrows has been clerk of the West for the Baptist Association for 
twenty-five years and moderator twelve years, and is at present acting in 
the latter capacity. 

Rev. Joseph H. Burrows was born in the City of Manchester, Eng- 
land, May 15, 1840, and came to the United States in 1842 with his 
parents, his mother passing away en route on a Mississippi River boat 
and being buried at Wellington's Landing. Louisiana, near New Orleans. 
The family settled at Keokuk, Iowa, and there made the brick and built 
the first brick house of that city. The father, who was a brickmaker and 
mason and came of a familv of that trade, was Thomas Burrows, born 
at Manchester. England, 1816. He died of cholera. July 19, 1851. at 
Keokuk, leaving Joseph H. and a brother alone. The mother was Mary 
(Pendleton) Burrows, and there were but two children in the family: 
William, who died in 1852 ; and Joseph H., of this review. 

After his father's death, Rev. Mr. Burrows came under the influence 
of his guardian uncle, James Burrows, and while he was a boy worked 
in a brickyard and secured his education in the high school at Keokuk. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1369 

He began his mercantile experience as a clerk at that place at a salary 
" of four dollars a month, but subsequently secured employment at six- 
teen dollars a month, and remained with his employer until hisi salary 
had been raised to thirty dollars a month. When he left Keokuk he 
went to Centerville, Iowa, and clerked for his father-in-law, lived there 
about two years, and was married in January, 1860. Leaving Iowa, 
Reverend Burrows went to St. John, Missouri, and opened a store with 
his brother-in-law, and the firm of Young & Burrows did business two 
years, following which the stock was moved to Cainesville, where Rev. 
Mr. Burrows began his permanent career. 

Rev. Mr. Burrows first married Miss Louisa A. Whittenmyer, a 
daughter of William Whittenmyer, and she died in February, 1862, with- 
out living issue. On November 16, 1862, he married in Appanoose 
County, Iowa, Miss Mary A. Shaw, a daughter of Lorenzo Shaw, who was 
a native of Orleans County, New York. Mr. Shaw married Cornelia 
Lewis, also of Orleans County, and their children were as follows: 
Charles, of Carrollton, Missouri ; George W., of Cainesville ; Albert, who 
passed away at Cainesville ; Ernest, a resident of this place ; Martha A., 
who married Lyman D. Westgate and resides at Wichita, Kansas; and 
Mrs. Burrows. The children of Rev. and Mrs. Burrows have been 
as follows: Alva Lewis, who died at the age of fourteen years; Gara M., 
who is the wife of S. P. Davisson, of Bethany, Missouri; Maggie 1 C, 
who is the wife of Herbert T. Rogers, of Gainesville; Minnie M., who is 
the wife of Charles E. Oden, of Cainesville ; Bertha G., who married 
William Lewis, of the firm of Lyster & Lewis, grocers of Cainesville ; and 
Williani J., who married Cora Oxford and resides at Gainesville. 

Rev. Mr. Burrows has been a Mason for almost fifty years. He 
joined Mercer Lodge at Princeton during the Civil war and belongs to 
the chapter there, as well as to the commandery at Bethany. He has 
also had an experience as a newspaper man, having helped to start the 
old Mercer County Advance, at Princeton, in association with A. 0. 
Binkley; aided in establishing the People's Press, a "greenback" paper 
at Princeton, and afterward merged into the Princeton Post; acted as 
editor of the Cainesville News for some six months, and also published 
The Searchlight, a religious paper issued at Cainesville, monthly, for 
two years. 

Rev. Mr. Burrows' talents as a preacher place him in demand for 
funerals, and he has preached more of them, far and wide, than any 
other minister of his section of the state. He also delivers addresses 
at celebrations, patriotic gatherings, Fourth of July meetings and old 
soldiers' reunions, and at all of them acquits himself with much credit. 
Rev. Mr. Burrows is the possessor of a most interesting "den," filled 
with books, geological specimens of rocks and woods gathered from 
different regions, stacks of old sermons he preached when young in the 
ministry, curios of historic interest, and walking sticks associated with 
the life of General Washington, together with other objects to which 
attach the greatest interest. This workshop he makes his sanctuary, 
where he loses himself in communion with the thoughts of men who 
now rest under passionless mounds. 

Edward S. Hubbard. Representing both through his father and 
his mother the good old pioneer stock of Harrison County, Edward 
S. Hubbard has spent practically all of his fifty-four years' in this 
community, where he has been an honored and successful business man, 
chiefly in farming and stock raising. He is well known in Bethany 
and vicinity, where he has been buying and shipping stock for a quar- 
ter of a century. 



1370 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

His father was the late Edgar L. Hubbard, who settled in Harri- 
son County more than sixty years ago. He was born in the state of 
Connecticut, October 3, 1816, and gained his education in the country 
schools at Higganum. As a young man he started out as a book sales- 
man, beginning in Alabama and traveled over the country, finally 
reaching Barton County in southern Missouri in 1846. There he bought 
horses and drove them through to Connecticut. Soon afterward he 
returned to Missouri and established himself at old Pattonsburg, where 
he was a merchant several years. While there he acquired a reputation 
for staking' California goldfield emigrants who were passing through, 
and finally made the trip across the plains himself. He went the 
southern route, taking teams, his destination being San Diego, but he 
finally reached Sacramento and engaged in mining in that district. 
It is a fact of some significance that of all the men he "grubstaked" 
for the mining venture, he never heard from more than ten per cent 
of them, though the common report is that frontiersmen of that time 
were strictly on the -square and lived up to their obligations scrupu- 
lously. He was absent in the west about two years, returning home by 
the Panama route. At Panama he laid out his money in Panama hats, 
shipped them to New Orleans, and there sold at a good profit. From 
that city he came up the Mississippi, and on reaching Pattonsburg 
resumed merchandising. 

From Pattonsburg he moved' to Harrison County in 1853, and con- 
ducted one of the pioneer stores in Adams Township. On his farm he 
opened a stock of goods, and also established a postoffice called Pleasant 
Ridge, of which he was postmaster as long as it existed. He lived there, 
improving his government claim, selling merchandise, and erected one 
of the best farm residences in northwest Missouri. This farm is now 
the property of his son Edward S. 

Edgar L. Hubbard was a man of small means when he moved to 
Harrison County, and his slow and continued progress brought the pros- 
perity which he finally achieved. He became one of the principal stock- 
men of the county, and was one of the first in this vicinity to feed and 
fatten stock for the outside markets. In the beginning he drove his 
cattle across country to Springfield and Bloomington, Illinois, and later 
marketed in Chicago, Avhere he became one of the familiar figures among 
the commission men at "the yards." He not only took his own cattle 
but bought extensively from his neighbors, and his experience enabled 
him to profit himself and help his friends get better prices. In 1868 he 
moved to Bethany and engaged in merchandising as one of the firm of 
Hubbard & Price. This was a general store, and was continued until 
1880, when W. H. Hillman succeeded to it by purchase. The remaining 
active years of his career Mr. Hubbard devoted to his farming interests. 
His death at Bethany on July 21, 1910, took away one of the most inter- 
esting and useful of the old-time citizens of Harrison County. 

During the war he was noted for his strong Union sympathies, but 
at that time was near fifty years of age, and gave no service except 
through moral support. His large country home was a sort of rendez- 
vous for the "war widows," and his substantial aid went out to them 
as he discovered its need. He was not a leader in politics, though a 
republican, and his only public position was as merchant and postmas- 
ter. His store was the central meeting point for the community, and 
much wisdom was expended there in the discussion of all manner of 
public questions. The merchant himself was not noted as a talker, 
though his convictions were well known and positive, and he was never 
known to essay speechmaking. He was identified with no church. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1371 

though his leanings were toward the old school of Presbyterians. He 
was a Mason. 

Edgar L. Hubbard was married at old Pattonsburg, Missouri, to Miss 
Elizabeth Brown, who died April 1, 1903, at the age of seventy-seven. 
She was a daughter of Major John B. Brown, a pioneer of Daviess 
County in 1843, and a granddaughter of John Brown. The latter was 
a revolutionary soldier, enlisting from New Jersey and serving with the 
Jersey Line. He was wounded at the battle of Cowpens, and afterwards 
drew a pension. After the war he moved out to Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, 
and died there. His wife was a Miss Bridges, and among their several 
children, Major Brown, who bore the name John Bridges, was the only 
one who lived for any length of time in Missouri. Major Brown was 
born in 1794 at Mt. Sterling, Kentucky, had little education, and was a 
soldier in the War of 1812. . He was married in that portion of Virginia 
now West Virginia, and from there came to Missouri. He brought a 
raft of salt down the Ohio and sold it at St. Louis. In Kentucky he 
had worked as a blacksmith, but after coming to Missouri was a farmer. 
During the war he was major of a regiment in the Union army, and 
saw some active service, and was ever afterwards known as Major 
Brown. He was interested in public matters, and was a republican, 
and his death occurred at Coffey, Missouri. His ten children were : 
Sarah A., wife of Boone Ballard ; AVilliam, who lives near Springfield, 
Missouri; Eliza A., who married Elijah Hubbard, of Jameson, Missouri; 
Austin, who died at Chadron, Nebraska ; Elizabeth J., who married 
Edgar L. Hubbard ; Napoleon B., who died at Gallatin, Missouri ; James, 
who died in the state of Nevada ; Marion, who died at Coffey, Missouri ; 
Mary, who married H. M. Cuddy and died in Bethany; and Eveline, 
who married James Ellis, of Liberal, Kansas. 

The children of Edgar L. and Elizabeth J. Hubbard were : Wallace, 
who died in Chicago, leaving a family; Emily, who died in infancy; 
Henrietta, who died unmarried; Ann, wife of George W. Barry, of 
Bethany ; Charles, who died unmarried in 1881 ; Edward S. ; and Emma, 
wife of W. S. Walker, of Bethany. 

Edward S. Hubbard was born on the old homestead in Adams Town- 
ship of Harrison County October 23, 1861. His boyhood home was 
close to town and he attended the Bethany schools, and for three years 
was a student in the University of Missouri. In a small matter of haz- 
ing he and others were detected, and on that account left school before 
graduating. He then located at Albany and associated with his brother 
Wallace made a set of abstract books for Gentry County. Failing health 
took him away from the activities of office and store, and he applied his 
productive years to farming in Harrison County, until his retirement 
in March, 1914. Mr. Hubbard owns the homestead, a fine place of seven 
hundred acres, devoted to stock farming. He has been an extensive 
feeder as well as a dealer in stock. Outside of the farm his interests 
have been few. He is a stockholder in the Harrison County and the 
First National banks of Bethany. Politically he is a republican, and is 
affiliated with the lodge, Royal Arch chapter and Knight Templar com- 
mandery of Masonry at Bethany. 

Mr. Hubbard was married in Harrison County in 1903 to Miss Hallie 
McDaniel. Her grandfather, Horatio McDaniel, was one of the early 
settlers of Harrison County. Heil father, Josephus C. McDaniel, mar- 
ried Anna. Matthews, and their children are: Harry, of Nodaway 
County ; Hallie Hubbard ; Lawrence, of Elba, Colorado ; Hazel, of Akron, 
Colorado ; and Marguerite, of Elba, Colorado. Mr. andl Mrs. Hubbard 
have a son, Edward Leander, born in 1908. 



1372 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Johx M. Dunsmobb, M. D. Having early familiarized himself with 
the rudiments of medicine and surgery, John M. Dunsmore, M. D., of 
Saint Joseph, is constantly adding to his knowledge by study and earnest 
application, and sterling merit has gained a position of note among the 
more skilful and successful physicians of Buchanan County. A son of 
John McArthur Dunsmore, M. D., he was born in Mitchell, Perth County, 
Province of Ontario, Canada, coming from Scotch-Irish ancestry. 

His great-great-grandfather on the paternal side was born in Scot- 
land, but as a young man settled in Londonderry, Ireland, where he 
spent his remaining days, and where his son John, the next in line of 
descent, was a lifelong resident. 

John Dunsmore, Jr., the doctor's grandfather, was born and reared 
in Londonderry, Ireland. Immigrating to America when young, he 
lived for awhile in Huntington, Province of Quebec, Canada. Subse- 
quently' removing to Perth County, Province of Ontario, he purchased 
a large tract of land, the improvement of which he superintended until 
his death, at the age of four score years. He married Mary McArthur, 
who was born in Scotland, a member of the well-known McArthur clan, 
and of their union eight children were born and reared. 

John McArthur Dunsmore was born at Huntington, Province of 
Quebec, in 1835. An apt student in his youthful days, with a decided 
preference for the medical profession, he was given excellent educational 
advantages, and was graduated from the McGill University, in Montreal. 
He was subsequently successfully engaged in the practice of medicine 
in Perth County for a full half century, continuing thus engaged until 
his death, at the age of seventy-eight years. The maiden name of his 
wife was Julia Hill. She was born at Mitchell, Perth County, a daugh- 
ter of James Hill, who was born in Yorkshire, England, and on coming 
to America settled in Perth County, Province of Ontario, where he con- 
tinued in business the remainder of his life. Mrs. Hill was born at 
Stirling Castle, Scotland, and with her parents came to Perth County, 
Province of Ontario, Canada, when a child. Mrs. Julia (Hill) Duns- 
more died when but forty years of age, leaving five daughters and 
one son. 

Brought up in Mitchell, his native city, John M. Dunsmore there' 
attended the public schools and the Collegiate Institute, after which he 
entered, the Medical Department of Trinity University, in Toronto, 
where he was graduated with the class of 1898, and was admitted as a 
fellow of the Toronto College of Physicians and Surgeons. In 1901 
Dr. Dunsmore located in Saint Joseph, where he has since been actively 
engaged in the practice of his chosen profession, making a specialty of 
the treatment of nervous diseases in which he has achieved marked 
success. 

Dr. Dunsmore married, in 1900, Frances Louise Gayfer, who was 
born in Ingersoll, Province of Ontario, Oxford County, Canada, a 
daughter of John and Mary (Clarke) Gayfer, both natives of the same 
county. The doctor and Mrs. Dunsmore have three children, Ruth, 
Jean, and Frances. The doctor is a member of the Buchanan County 
Medical Society; of the Missouri State Medical Society; and of the 
American Medical Association. Both he and his wife are members of 
Christ Episcopal Church. 

Hon. Rufus A. Hankins. No man in Colfax Township is more sub- 
stantially and honorably identified with the agricultural growth of his 
part of De Kalb County than is the Hon. Rufus A. Hankins, ex-asso- 
ciate judge. Opportunity in the conditions of the life of this progressive 
and enterprising agriculturist has never been allowed to knock more 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1373 

than once at the door, but has been turned to the best possible account 
both from a personal and community standpoint, and from modest 
beginnings and without the encouragement of financial assistance, he 
has come to be the owner of a handsome estate, which, in its tillage and 
general improvement, compares favorably with any in this part of the 
township. Judge Hankins was born in Monroe County, East Tennessee, 
January 19, 1856, and is a son of Edward E. and Julia A. (Stephens) 
Hankins, the latter the daughter of Absalom Stephens. His parents 
were born in the same state and county, where they were reared and 
married. At the outbreak of the war between the North and the South, 
Edward E. Hankins enlisted in a Tennessee regiment for service in the 
Confederate army, and served until nearly the close of hostilities, win- 
ning a captaincy by brave and faithful services, and finally meeting a 
soldier's death on the field of battle. In December, 1872, the mother 
brought her family to De Kalb County, Missouri, and here she passed 
the remaining years of her life. There were nine children in the family, 
of whom six still survive i Ruf us A., of this review ; John A., who is 
engaged in agricultural pursuits in Colfax Township ; Sophronia, who 
is the wife of N. J. Hunnicutt, of Texas; Martha C, who is the wife of 
John C. Marr, of Texas ; Alice W., who is the wife of Vernon Ramsey, 
also a resident of the Lone Star state ; Cordelia, who is the wife of 
Thomas H. Sparks, of Osborn, Clinton County, Missouri ; Amelia A., 
who became the wife of Lloyd Grubb, and is now deceased ; Edward, 
who died in De Kalb County, and one other child who died in infancy. 

Rufus A. Hankins was sixteen years of age when he accompanied 
his mother, brothers and sisters to De Kalb County. Here he completed 
his education which he had commenced in the public schools of his 
native state, and as a youth took up farming as his life work, remain- 
ing at home until he? reached the age of twenty-four years. When he 
started out upon a career of his own, he was just even with the world 
as to his finances, as his capital consisted of his ambition, his determina- 
tion to succeed and his inherent ability. At first he became a renter, 
and carefully saved his earnings so that by 1907 he made his first pur- 
chase of eighty acres of land in Colfax Township, on which he now 
resides, having put in numerous improvements of a modern and hand- 
some character, including his new residence, built in 1910, his commo- 
dious and substantial barn, erected in the fall of the same year, and his 
well-built outbuildings. In addition to general farming, he has success- 
fully handled hogs, cattle and mules, which he buys and feeds and ships 
to the various markets. As a business man. Judge Hankins is held in 
the highest esteem by all who have had transactions with him, and 
throughout this section he bears the reputation of a man of the highest 
integrity. 

In 1880 Judge Hankins was married to Miss Emma A. Squires, of 
De Kalb County, Missouri, and they have had the following children: 
Fred, who was given good educational advantages, was a telegraph 
operator for three years, and is now successfully engaged in farming 
in Colfax Township ; Lee, who is a graduate of the Chillicothe Business 
College, and now bookkeeper with the packing firm of Swift & Com- 
pany, at Kansas City, Missouri; Bryan E., who resides at home and is 
assisting his father in the operations of the homestead; Nova B., who is 
the wife of William M. Roberts, a farmer and stockman of Colfax Town- 
ship ; Lulu Grace, who is the wife of Andrew R. Seaton, of Grand River 
Township ; and Florence and Bessie, who are unmarried and reside with 
their parents. 

The members of this family are affiliated with the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and Judge Hankins is a member of the official board and 



1374 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

has been active in church work. Fraternally, he is connected with 
Osborn Lodge No. 317, Free and Accepted Masons. A democrat in 
politics, he served capably for one term as associate judge of De Kalb 
County, has been assessor of his township on several occasions, and at 
all times has been influential in local affairs. 

Col. Thomas E. Deem. To become an expert in any line of business, 
and attain the full measure of success, demands special study, training 
and experience, all of which Col. Thomas E. Deem, of Cameron, has had 
in mastering the art, or profession, of auctioneering. A young man, 
yet in manhood's prime, he has become widely known in many parts of 
Nebraska, Missouri, Iowa, and Illinois, where he has been identified with 
large and important stock sales, his genealogical knowledge of pedigreed 
horses, cattle and hogs being of great value to him as an auctioneer. 
He was born on a farm in Daviess County, Missouri, and is a birthright 
auctioneer, his father, Col. D. D. Deem, having been an auctioneer for 
thirty-two years, and being one of the best known men in that line of 
business in Northwestern Missouri. 

Brought up on the home farm, Thomas E, Deem received excellent 
educational advantages, and as a youth developed a strong liking for 
his father's occupation, and at the same time cultivated a clear, strong 
voice, which can be plainly heard a long distance, and is very effective. 
In addition to taking lessons from his father in auctioneering, Col. Deem 
made a special study of the different breeds of cattle, horses and hogs, 
becoming familiar with all the different pedigrees, and obtaining prac- 
tical information in regard to stock of all kinds. Thus equipped by 
study and training, he is considered one of the best judges of stock in 
the county, while his fair and square dealing as a crier of sales has made 
him one of the most efficient and popular auctioneers of this section 
of the country. He has made sales in many states adjoining Missouri, 
one of the largest having been at Peoria, Illinois. Col. Deem is only 
twenty-nine years of age, being one of the youngest men in his line of 
business, and one of the most successful, having already acquired an 
enviable reputation as a salesman of stock. 

Fraternally the colonel is a member of the Ancient Free and Ac- 
cepted Order of Masons; of the chapter, Royal Arch Masons; of the 
commandery, Knights Templar ; and of Moila Temple, of Saint Joseph. 
He also belongs to the Knights of Pythias. 

Isaac R. "Williams has been a member of the Savannah bar forty 
years. Combined with the strict interests of his profession, he has been 
engaged in business affairs, particularly in real estate, and a common 
saying among his associates that throws light on his activities is that he 
has earned more money than any man in Savannah, and yet has less 
than many whose success has been on a moderate scale. Mr. Williams has 
always spent liberally, has entered heartily into many projects and plans 
proposed for business and civic improvements, and enjoys a reputation 
based on integrity and the best qualities of citizenship. 

Isaac R. Williams was bom in DeKalb County, Missouri, October 1, 
1852, and thus represents a family of old settlers in Northwest Mis- 
souri. His parents were Thomas and Callista (Reece) Williams. They 
were both natives of Yadkin County. North Carolina. The father came 
to Northwest Missouri in 1845, and for several years was foreman of a 
hemp farm. The cultivation of hemp was in the early days one of the 
chief agricultural industries of this section of the state. In 1850 he 
returned to North Carolina, was married, and brought his bride to 
DeKalb County, locating near the Andrew County line, where he lived 




Vaa&utSiMzJl^ 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1375 

until his death on May 1, 1906, at the advanced age of eighty-three. His 
first wife, the mother of Isaac R., died when the latter was an infant. 
The father spent most of his life in farming, and was also prominently 
identified with public affairs. He served as a member of the County 
Court from 1851 until the outbreak of the war, and held the same office 
after the war, and throughout his career was active in behalf of the 
democratic party. In religion he was a Universalist. 

Isaac R. Williams is the only one living of the four children by his 
mother, and has two half-brothers. His early life was spent on the home 
farm, midway between Savannah and Maryville, and his education was 
acquired partly in the country schools with the freshman year at McGee's 
College. At the age of twenty-one he entered the law office of David 
Rea at Savannah, and was admitted to the bar in 1874. Since then he 
has been in very active general practice of the law, and is now one of 
the oldest members of the Andrew County bar. On March 1, 1887, he 
formed a partnership with Charles F. Booher, and for more than a quar- 
ter of a century the firm of Booher & AYilliams has had a recognized 
standing among the old and successful law firms of Northwest Missouri. 
Since the election of Mr. Booher to Congress eight years ago, his son, 
L. W. Booher, has assumed most of his responsibilities and work in the 
firm, but the title of the partnership remains the same as formerly. For 
the past twenty-eight years Mr. Williams has been financial correspondent 
for a number of eastern investors, and much of his time has been taken 
up with his extensive transactions in real estate and as an abstractor. He 
is a member of the St. Joseph Commercial Club, and in 1888 was one 
of the promoters of a street railway in that city. He has been identified 
with many business interests at Savannah and vicinity, and has always 
accepted the responsibilities of citizenship. For nearly a quarter of a 
century Mr. AVilliams served as mayor of Savannah. He has been a 
democrat since casting his first vote, and though his party was in a hope- 
less minority in Andrew County for many years, he accepted a place on 
the ticket in 1878 as candidate for prosecuting attorney and in 1892 for 
the Legislature, making the campaigns in order to keep up the party 
organization. For many years he has been an active member of the 
Christian Church. 

On December 24, 1876, Mr. Williams married Miss Emma Frances, 
who died May 16, 1913. Their daughter, Lily, is the wife of Dr. C. E. 
Rainwater, Ph. D., who is identified with the University of Chicago, 
and both he and his wife hold the degree A. M. from Drake University 
of Iowa. 

George T. Neff. With the live stock business on a large scale, mean- 
ing thereby the feeding of large herds of beef cattle, hogs and other 
stock, the ownership of land in quantities that would make a big ranch 
even in the semi-arid districts of the Southwest, and in dealing and 
shipping stock by the carloads, perhaps no name in Harrison County is 
more closely associated than that of Neff. George T. Neff, of Bethany, 
has been in the business for' years, but his father, who lives retired in 
California, is the real veteran of the industry. 

George T. Neff is a native of Harrison County, born in Fox Creek 
Township, August 2, 1866, and has had his home in Bethany since 1912. 
His father is Daniel B. Neff, a brother of Isaac Neff, of whom a sketch 
appears on other pages. Daniel B. Neff was born in Ohio in September, 
1842, and came out to Missouri some years before the war. Among his 
early experiences were his service in the volunteer army during the war. 
In 1862 he served in the Missouri State Militia in Captain Howe's com- 
pany, and in 1863 enlisted in Company I of the First Missouri Militia, 



1376 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

a cavalry organization. Although he had never learned the trade he 
was detailed as blacksmith, and worked for two years in that branch of 
the army. When his company was consolidated with Company M of 
the First Regiment, he was promoted to first sergeant. Most of his 
service was in Missouri, he took part in the fight at Marshall, and was 
in the pursuit of Price's army after its final raid into Missouri. At 
the close of the war he was mustered out. 

His life as a soldier was unmarked with wounds or capture, and on 
returning to civil pursuits he became a farmer and teacher, though as 
the latter his career was brief. He married and then established his 
home in Fox Creek Township, where year after year marked accumu- 
lating and increasing interests as a farmer and stockman. His location 
was in section 12, township 63, range 26, and that was the center of his 
substantial achievements. For a number of years he excelled in the 
raising of grain, but more and more turned his attention to feeding and 
dealing in cattle, and ranked as one of the largest shippers in Harrison 
County. He provided a market for other people's stock, and it is 
asserted that for a time about half the live stock, of all kinds, shipped 
out of Harrison County went through his agency as a buyer and shipper. 
He never gave any particular attention to pedigreed stock. When he 
retired it was with a rating as one of the most substantial men of the 
county, measured in part by his ownership of 3,000 acres of fine land. 
He left the farm at the age of about sixty, and somewhat later held a 
sale and disposed of one of the biggest bunches of stock ever offered at 
a public sale in the county. In November, 1912, Daniel B. Neff moved 
out to San Diego, California, where he has a comfortable and pleasant 
home for his declining years. 

More in business than in politics have all his activities been directed, 
and though a republican he has never sought nor held office. He is a 
Methodist, but a member of no fraternal order. In his prime he pos- 
sessed rather remarkable physical vigor, and even in his retirement his 
ambition for trading and money-making remains as keen as ever. He 
carries into age one valuable resource, and that is an interest in books 
and general affairs, and he has always been a wide reader, and has 
always retained an unprejudiced and impartial mind. Soon after his 
return from the army, November 2, 1865, he married in Harrison County 
Miss Nancy Ellen Wiley, who was born in Indiana December 2, 1844, 
and died November 4, 1911. She was a daughter of Wilfred Wiley, 
who lived in Johnson County, Indiana, and she came with her widowed 
mother in 1860 and located in Fox Creek Township of Harrison County. 
She was noted as an active Methodist, possessed a splendid voice in 
singing, and was a woman of strong and useful influence in home, 
church and community, and it was her efforts which brought her hus- 
band into the church. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel B. Neff had the following 
children : George T. ; Landa P., who married Dora Harvey and at his 
death in Bethany left two children ; Minta 0., who married Robert Kin- 
kade of Coffey, Missouri; Emma M., who married Albert Springer and 
died in Harrison County ; Joseph S., who married Ella Babymeyer, and 
who is a farmer on the old homestead; Addie O., the wife of William 
Kinkade of Sherman Township ; Eva L., wife of Frank Miller, near 
Harrisonville ; Essie M., of San Diego, California ; and Ona Ree, wife 
of Ross Tilley. 

George T. Neff, the oldest of the children, grew up on his father's 
large stock farm in Harrison County, and received his education in the 
Stephens district school. At the same time he was given a thorough 
drilling in farming and stock raising, and was a pupil and disciple of 
his father. Leaving home at the age of twenty-one he became an inde- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1377 

pendent farmer in Fox Creek Township, and later in Sherman Town- 
ship, and in his developing career followed somewhat closely along the 
lines in which his father was so successful. He has fed stock in large 
numbers on his land, and shipped in carload lots to the principal mar- 
kets. Although he still retains large interests as a farmer, Mr. Neff 
moved his family into Bethany two years ago in order to secure school 
advantages for his children. At Bethany he now conducts a meat and 
grocery business. Mr. Neff has taken no special active part in politics, 
and has never joined a secret order. 

He is the head of a happy family. In Harrison County on Decem- 
ber 17, 1889, he married Miss Cora B. Nighthart. Her father was Philip 
Nighthart, who was born in Hesse, Germany, October 10, 1833, and in 
1838 the family emigrated to America and settled among the pioneers 
in Sherman Township of Harrison County. Philip Nighthart went out 
to California when he was still a boy, following the gold discoveries of 
the days of 1849, but the most of his active years were spent in farming. 
He married Elizabeth Smith, who is still living at the Nighthart home- 
stead. Their children were thirteen in number, eleven of whom reached 
maturity, namely : Mary, wife of William Taggart ; Mrs. Neff, who was 
born July 9, 1869 ; Ida M., wife of Willard Bolar ; Calm G., of Sugar 
Creek Township in this county ; Flora A., who died in Oklahoma as the 
wife of John Miller ; John H., of Cypress Township, Harrison County ; 
Bess M., wife of Oscar Sanders, of Sherman Township ; Pearl E., wife 
of Pearl Puis ; Miss Velma ; Harrison ; and Goldie, wife of Roy Fordyce. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Neff are : Gladys Ona, a student in 
the University of Missouri; Kathleen, a senior in the Bethany High 
School ; Daniel Barnett ; and Maxine, who died at the age of four years. 

John H. Carpenter, One of the old and honored family names of 
Harrison County is represented in the courthouse at Bethany by the 
present county treasurer, John H. Carpenter. Mr. Carpenter has the 
ability, not in common with most men, of combining politics and busi- 
ness successfully, and was a successful Harrison County farmer before 
he became generally recognized as a factor in public affairs. 

He comes by this ability naturally, since his father, the late Judge- 
Alfred Carpenter, is well remembered by all the older generation as 
one of the ablest men of his time, while the grandfather, Cephus Car-* 
penter, back in Vermont, was a country lawyer and more especially dis- 
tinguished for the ability of his sons. Cephus Carpenter died in Ver- 
mont, and was the father of Ira, whose son, Senator Matt H. Carpenter, 
was one of the ablest public leaders from the state of Wisconsin ; John 
H. ; Bradford; Alfred; Stephen and Curtis, besides two daughters. 

Judge Alfred Carpenter was born in Washington County, Vermont,. 
March 13, 1810, and lived there until 1837. His was a fair education, 
but much reading and a keen interest in all public questions broadened 
his intelligence far beyond that of the ordinary man. When he left 
Vermont and started west, he stopped a time in Galena, Illinois, and 
then on to Jackson County, Iowa. . From Iowa he went west to Cali- 
fornia following the discovery of gold, encountering the Indians of the 
plains, later was a victim of the scourge of cholera, and after prospect- 
ing in California and being absent from home a year, returned by the 
Isthmus route. After nearly nineteen years of residence in Iowa, he 
moved to Missouri in 1856, locating and entering land on Yankee Ridge 
in Harrison County. His claim was in section 2, township 64, range 
27. He broke the land, fenced f\ and V^red there ten years. His next 
place was in section 28, tow~skLp 64 ;<mge 26, Trail Creek Township, 
where he lived until his death. He was a successful farmer, owned 



1378 • HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

half a section of land, and in material circumstances as well as in public 
affairs was one of the most substantial men of the locality. He died 
March 23, 1880, at the age of seventy. 

Judge Carpenter became a proponent of the abolition movement 
before he left New England, and everyone knew his convictions on the 
matter. He was a whig and then a strong republican, and a fervid 
admirer of William Lloyd Garrison and Wendell Phillips, the abolition 
orators of slavery times, and during the existence of that institution was 
one of the conductors on "the underground railroad," assisting many 
fugitive slaves to get beyond the jurisdiction of their masters. His 
first public service in Harrison County was as justice of the peace, and 
during the war. though past fifty, he enlisted in the Sixth Missouri 
State Militia, and remained about thirteen months, until discharged for 
physical disability "over age." His service was all as a private and 
■confined to the state. 

After the war he was chosen one of the county judges, and drew the 
lot which made him presiding judge, in which capacity he administered 
the fiscal affairs of the county eight years. It was during his adminis- 
tration that the first county farm was bought and the first county home 
ibuilt. At the same time the municipal townships were established and 
named. His term as judge began in 1861 and continued -until 1872. 
An important result of his official term was the placing of Harrison 
County on a sound financial basis, and the influence of that business- 
like term has continued and is said to be largely responsible for the 
freedom from indebtedness which the county now enjoys. After retir- 
ing from the office, he took little part in politics during the eight remain- 
ing years of his life. He assisted in the organization of the republican 
party in Harrison County, always attended county conventions, and 
was frequently honored as their chairman. 

Judge Carpenter had no special gift as a public speaker, though able 
to hold his own in any conversation or private debate. He was noted 
for his independence in both thought and action. There was never a 
time when he did not have a conviction on questions of importance, and 
he uttered his sentiments without reservation. His pro-slavery enemies 
referred to him as the "old abolitionist of Yankee Ridge." In mat- 
ters of religion he was considered by many an agncstic, though a believer 
in the immortality of the soul, and later in life he is said to have em- 
braced the doctrines of spiritualism. While not opposed to the prin- 
ciples of secret orders, he never had a membership in one. 

Judge Carpenter was married in Jackson County, Iowa, October 5, 
1810. to Miss Mary K. Cheney. Her father, Carmel C. Cheney, was a 
shoemaker in Milford, ■ Massachusetts, but after coming west was a 
farmer. He was prominent in Masonry, belonging to the chapter and 
commandery long before such organizations were effected in Harrison 
County, and had his affiliation with a lodge in Boston, Massachusetts. 
Mary K. Cheney, who died July 20, 1901, at the age of eighty-one, was 
born in Milford. Massachusetts, and was reared in a home of education 
and refinement. She possessed the intellectual and physical vigor of 
New England, was exceedingly industrious, and always retained her 
poise in whatever environment. When close to the age of four score, 
she was subpoenaed as a witness in court, and gave her testimony as 
composedly as if by her own fireside and in perfect English. 

Judge Carpenter and wife were the parents of thirteen children, 
and those reaching mature life were: Winfield S., who died while in 
Company G of the Twenty-third Missouri Infantry ; Annie U., who mar- 
ried Charles F. Fransham, and died in Harrison County; Carmel C, 
who was in the same regiment with his brother, and now lives at Moscow, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1379 

Idaho; Ruth P., who married Alexander Cochran, and. died at Pawnee, 
Kansas ; Martha W., who married Warren N. Stevens, and now lives at 
Iola, Kansas; John H. ; Mary A., deceased, who was the wife of Carl 
Wilson; Ida E., wife of Thomas Renfro, of Bethany; Alfred, of Fort 
Scott, Kansas ; Esther K., wife of John J. Ellis, and now lives in Idaho ; 
Sarah E., who married Thomas E. Bridge, deceased, and now lives at 
Chandler, Oklahoma ; Eldora, wife of George Wooderson, of Harrison 
County; and Schuyler C, of Mt. Moriah, Missouri. 

Mr: John H. Carpenter was born in Jackson County, Iowa, Decem- 
ber 14, 1851, and was about five years old when his father settled in the 
Yankee Ridge community of Harrison County. His education came 
from the country schools in Ridgeway and Mt. Moriah localities, 
and from his majority engaged in farming as his life work. His pos- 
sessions in material goods were those of a poor man when he married, 
and near Mt. Moriah he bought forty acres on time, and paid for it by 
industry and frugality. His present farm, to which he moved in 1890, 
is located in section 34, township 64, range 26. His election in 1908 
caused him to remove to Bethany. 

In view of his father's activities in a political way, he grew up in 
an atmosphere where public questions and politics were in constant dis- 
cussion, and since casting his first presidential vote for Rutherford B. 
Hayes he has never missed a general election. For twenty-one years he 
served his home township, Trail Creek, as clerk and assessor, and was 
the representative of Harrison County in the convention of assessors 
held at Jefferson City in 1894. He was in the township office when 
elected county treasurer in 1908. At that time he won out in the pri- 
maries in competition with five opponents, but had the primaries of 
1912 all to himself. Mr. Carpenter is a Methodist, and a member of the 
Knights of Pythias. 

July 27, 1879, he married Miss Mary Silby Prater, a daughter of 
William J. and Margaret E. (Bailey) Prater. Her father came from 
near Yandalia, Illinois, to Missouri in the fifties, and was a farmer 
and blacksmith at Mt. Moriah. Mrs. Carpenter was the first of six chil- 
dren by his first wife. Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter have two children, 
William A. and Edith, who died when four years old. 

Charles W. Leazenbt, who belongs to the pioneer settlers of the 
Mount Moriah community of Northwest Missouri, and whose life has 
been passed as a farmer and stockman almost within the atmosphere of 
his bringing-up, is a native of Pickaway County, Ohio, and was born 
July 22, 1853. His father was William Leazenby, one of the heads of 
this somewhat numerous pioneer family, and was born March 1, 1827, 
in the same county and under the environment of a Methodist preacher's 
home, his father being the Rev. Joshua Leazenby, who moved into Ohio 
among its pioneers and was born March 18, 1797. 

Following back to the original of the Leazenby forefathers, we find 
Thomas, the father of Rev. Joshua Leazenby, born July 1, 1751, in 
Dublin, Ireland, of Scotch-Irish blood and an only child, and who seems 
to have run away from home, according to tradition, at the age of twelve 
years. Making his way to America, we find from the best records acces- 
sible that he located in the Pennsylvania colony and there married Miss 
Elizabeth Bailey, they rearing a family of four children, among whom 
were Thomas and Joshua. In later years 'the old folks moved to Ohio, 
and their last years were passed in Pickaway County. 

Rev. Joshua Leazenby spent his life in the ministry, having much to 
do with the effective work of the pioneer Methodists of Pickaway County. 
He was an excellent type of the pioneer preachers of that day, wore his 



1380 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

"plug" hat, carried on his work on horsehaek, and possessed a greatly 
treasured library which contained among other books, Flavius Josephus' 
"History of the Jews," the works of Doctor Dick, and Baxter's "Saints' 
Rest." Like most pioneer preachers his emoluments were few, and as 
a result he left no large material estate, but the universal respect of 
his community went out to his memory when he was laid to rest, July 
29, 1836. Rev. Joshua Leazenby married Lucinda Toothaker, a member 
of a family of rugged, virile, thrifty people, of English stock. Lucinda 
Toothaker was born August 1, 1803, and died July 1, 1881. She was 
the mother of these children : James, born July 27, 1823, who died in 
Miami County, Kansas, leaving a family ; William, the father of Charles 
W., who died in Harrison County, Missouri, February 23, 1908 ; Rachel, 
who died in infancy; Alexandria, who died in childhood; Wesley, who 
spent three years as a soldier in the Union army during the Civil war, 
returned to farming and died as one of the successful agriculturists of 
Harrison County; and Isaac, born May 9, 1835, who died January 21, 
1887, leaving a family of several children. 

William Leazenby 's wife was Nancy Jane Coffman, who bore her 
husband two sons, Charles Wesley, of this review; and William Henry, 
whose career is sketched on another page of this work. 

Charles W. Leazenby was a child of three years when his parents 
made their journey by wagon from Ohio and settled on Yankee Ridge, 
near Ridgeway, Missouri, in August, 1856. The family lived in their 
covered wagon until their primitive log cabin was built, having the 
usual puncheon floor and clapboard door that were to be found on 
Northwest Missouri pioneer homes. After a few years, however, the 
family moved from this location and located at the Fransham farm, 
east of Ridgeway, and there resided about five years. Mr. Leazenby 
acquired his education from the country and in the Paola (Kansas) 
Normal School, and at the age of eighteen years began his career on his 
own account as a teacher. His first school was the "Stoner," now the 
"Banner," school, a district which was three by six miles and which 
sent to school then the well known Doctor Stoner, Rev.' U. G. Leazenby, 
the superintendent of the Crawfordsville (Indiana) district of the 
Methodist conference, and Anthony Skroh, one of the leading Bohemian 
farmers of Madison Township. Mr. Leazenby was paid twenty-five dol- 
lars a month for the first term, which pleased him much, and his board 
cost him two dollars a week. On Saturdays he usually worked for the 
farmer he boarded with and was allowed a dollar for his work, and 
when he had finished his school he had saved enough money to buy him 
a good mule. He rode this animal to and from his school for two or 
three years. Mr. Leazenby 's services were such as to be demanded again 
by the board at an increase of five dollars a month and he continued to 
teach in the country about Mount Moriah and in the schools of that 
village, spending his summers as a farmer, and teaching his last school 
at Melbourn in 1901. 

Mr. Leazenby bought his first farm in 1880, in Madison Township, 
and was married that year, and his first home was made where he now 
lives. This place was a virgin farm, without evidence of having been 
touched by the hand of man, and here Mr. Leazenby erected a small 
frame house, 16x21 feet, a story and one-half high, this serving him 
until the erection of his more substantial residence some years later. 
He engaged in improving, breaking out and raising stock successfully 
and some ten years ago became seriously interested in Short Horn cattle 
and Poland-China hogs, a stock which he has continued to exploit on 
his farm and in his community to the present time. He believes in the 
best blood for his stock, and his success with it has been so marked that 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1381 

his judgment would seem to be correct. Following the death of his 
parents Mr. Leazenby purchased his brother's interest in the old par- 
ental home and owns it now, this farm lying adjacent to his own pioneer 
home, his parents having moved to it in 1871. 

Mr. Leazenby is of republican stock. His father voted that ticket, 
and he himself cast his first presidential vote for Rutherford B. Hayes 
and has voted for every republican presidential candidate since, save 
in 1888 when Grover Cleveland ran the second time, when he voted for 
him. He was sadly disappointed in the defeat of James G. Blaine and 
of President Taft. Mr. Leazenby attended the republican state conven- 
tion at Jefferson City when Chauncey I. Filley was the acknowledged 
leader of the republican forces in Missouri. 

On May 2, 1880, Mr. Leazenby was married to Miss Ella M. Forbes, 
a daughter of J. H. and Fannie (Griswold) Forbes, who came to Mis- 
souri at the close of the Civil war from Elkhart County, Indiana. Mrs. 
Leazenby was born at Port Huron, Michigan, October 27, 1855, and was 
the third of seven children : Maurice, now a resident of Arkansas, who 
at the age of fifteen years answered the call for ' ' 100-day men ' ' during 
the Civil war, in 1861, and, re-enlisting, served for three years in the 
Union army; Iola, who became the wife of Eli Graves and now lives at 
Palisades, Nebraska ; Ella M., who is the wife of Mr. Leazenby of this 
review; Louise, who married Bedford Graves, of Eureka, Nebraska; 
Cora M., who is the widow of Hick Price, of Longmont, Colorado; 
Franklin, of Harrison County, Missouri; and George W., of Marshall- 
town, Iowa. 

Mr. and Mrs. Leazenby have the following children: Miss Bessie 
Ruth, born March 6, 1881, graduated at the head of her class at Bethany 
High School, in 1900, finished a course in the Kirksville Normal -with 
the degree of B. P., in 1904, in 1910 did special work in English in the 
summer school of the state university, began teaching after she had 
finished at Bethany, taught in the New London High School, two years 
in the graded schools of Joplin, one year in Gainesville High School and 
a year in New Hampton, and at Kirksville and Joplin was active in the 
work of the Young Women 's Christian Association ; Homer Wadsworth, 
born June 16, 1882, took his education from the country schools, has 
spent his life as a farmer, living adjoining the old homestead, and mar- 
ried Rhoda M. Trotter, their children being Charles Edwin, Mary Fern, 
Forrest Wayne and Richard Thurman; Miss Amy Jane, born August 
28, 1886, graduated from Bethany High School in 1904, spent two sum- 
mer terms in the state university, taught in the rural schools and in the 
Mount Moriah graded schools two years, holds a state certificate and 
finished first in her class at Bethany, and is now (1914 and 1915) tak- 
ing special work in the university; Miss Gladys Fern, born April 24, 
1891, graduated from Bethany High School in 1910, began teaching 
then in the rural schools, spent a term in the Maryville Normal school, 
and has also taken a year's work in the University of Missouri. 

Mr. Leazenby is a Mason, with a master's degree, and with his family 
is affiliated with the Methodist Church. He has given an impetus to the 
good roads movement, and was a deciding force in locating the Coal 
Valley Trail past his farm, having donated money and labor heavily on 
this road, far beyond the requirements of the law. He is a man of wide 
and varied information, entertaining and instructive in his conversa- 
tion, and the literary atmosphere of his home makes it a mecca for 
neighbors and strangers alike. 

John Brown Bryant. One of the younger men of Harrison County 
who have shown successful ability in business affairs and have also 



1382 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

made themselves useful iu a public way is John Brown Bryant, a son 
of Joseph F. Bryant, a prominent Northwest Missourian whose career 
is sketched at length on other pages of this work. 

John Brown Bryant was born in Bethany August 20, 1870, and 
has spent most of his life either in the town or the close vicinity. His 
education came from the city schools, supplemented by attendance at 
Woodland College in Independence, Missouri, and a commercial course 
in the old Stanberry Normal. His practical business career began at 
the age of twenty in the Cottonwood Valley National Bank at Marion, 
Kansas, where he remained two years. He returned to Harrison County 
to take up farming, and it was as a substantial farmer that he was 
known in this community for fifteen years. 

While on the farm, in 1904, he was elected a member of the county 
court from the south district as successor to Judge Taggart, and was 
re-elected in 1906. Judge Miller was presiding judge and his associates 
in the administration of county affairs were Judges Alley and Tucker. 
During those four years the board busied itself besides the routine 
affairs with repairing the bridges of the county destroyed or damaged 
in the notable flood of that time. They also improved the county farm, 
adding more land and constructing a substantial barn. Mr. Bryant's 
successor on the county board was Olin Kies. Besides his work as a 
county official Mr. Bryant also was a member of the Bethany school 
board a number of years. 

Having given up farming in the meantime and moved into Bethany, 
Mr. Bryant became interested in merchandising as a grocer three years, 
and then became a partner in the firm of Walker, Bryant & Company 
until they sold out to Chambers & Davis. Since then his business has 
been real estate and insurance, and he is also secretary and a director 
of the Bethany Savings Bank. Since leaving the county board he has 
taken only a nominal interest in politics, but still classifies as a repub- 
lican, the political faith in which he was reared. His fraternities are 
the Masonic, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Knights of 
Pythias. 

In Harrison County on December 23, 1891, Mr. Bryant married Miss 
Carrie E. Howell. Her father was the late Judge John C. Howell, who 
died while on the circuit bench including Harrison County. Judge 
Howell was born in Morgan County, Illinois, August 18, 1833, and died 
at Bethany, September 29, 1882, and had been identified with Northwest 
Missouri since childhood and for many years was a notable figure in law 
and politics. He was one of two children, his sister being Mrs. Carrie 
Carson. His father was a Kentuckian, but settled in Illinois, and on 
moving to Missouri first lived in Clinton County, but in 1847 went to 
Gentry County, where Judge Howell grew up. He completed his edu- 
cation at old Bethany College in what is now West Virginia, an institu- 
tion founded by Alexander Campbell. After entering law, he found 
himself rapidly promoted in favor and success, and as a democrat was 
elected to the circuit bench before the formation of the district in which 
Harrison County is now included. He was a Mason and a member of 
the Christian Church. Mrs. Bryant is the only child of Judge Howell's 
marriage to Belle Brown, who was born near Monroe, Wisconsin, and 
died at Bethany. Mr. and Mrs. Bryant have two children : Marie, who 
graduated from the Bethany High School in 1913 ; and Helen, now in 
one of the grades of the Bethany public schools. 

James Henry Morroway, M. D. A resident of Ridgeway since 
1900, where he is now in the possession of a large and profitable prac- 
tice, Dr. Morroway is an excellent type of the modern and successful 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1383 

physician. Through his practice he has contributed a large amount of 
individual service, has taken a part in the organized activities of the 
profession and with his thorough knowledge of public affairs and capac- 
ity for civic leadership has come into prominence in Northwest Missouri 
politics. 

James Henry. Morroway was» born in Tama County, Iowa, Septem- 
ber 23, 1879. His father is James Morroway, a railway contractor, who 
for many years has been identified with that line of business. James 
Morroway was born near New York City, of German- Austrian parent- 
age, the family having come to the United States about sixty years ago 
and settled in the vicinity of New York. James Morroway found his 
life work early in his career, began as foreman in construction work, 
and one of his early employments was as foreman in the construction 
of the New York postoffice. Coming west, he has since been identified 
with railroad contracting in Iowa. He still lives in Tama County. In 
politics he is a republican. James Morroway was married in Tama 
County to Mary Black, who came from Maryland. Their children are : 
James H. ; John, of Tama County ; Frank, of Tama County ; Mrs. George 
Kinney, of Iowa; Mrs. James Lamer of Belleplaine, Iowa; and Mrs. 
Philip Sevcik of Iowa. 

Dr. Morroway grew up in Tama County, finished his high school 
course in the county seat, and continued his education in a local acad- 
emy for two years. After a year of medical reading with Dr. H. H. 
Sievers at Tama, Dr. Morroway entered the Milwaukee Medical College, 
was there for one year, took a year of laboratory work in Chicago, and 
finished his course at the Creighton University in Omaha, where he was 
graduated M. D. in 1900. Dr. Morroway received the first prize in gen- 
eral surgery at Creighton, and in 1904 took postgraduate studies in the 
same institution. 

Dr. Morroway began practice at Ridgeway, and has since been stead- 
ily climbing into the first rank of Harrison County physicians and to 
influence as a citizen. He is a member and has served as secretary and 
treasurer, vice president and for two years as president of the Harrison 
County Medical Society. For a number of years he has been city physi- 
cian of Ridgeway and also sanitary inspector of the town. 

In politics Dr. Morroway is a stanch republican, and from that posi- 
tion has never been led astray by the arguments of so-called progressive- 
ism. While he w T ould perhaps claim no distinction as an originator, he 
has kept himself thoroughly posted on matters of current politics, and 
besides his capacity for leadership among men has competent views on 
state and national issues. He has attended various county, congres- 
sional and state conventions, and was a member of the famous Excelsior 
Springs convention of 1912 for the selection of presidential delegates to 
the National convention. In that campaign his party nominated him 
for Congress from the Third District, and he was renominated in 1914. 

Dr. Morroway is affiliated with the Masonic Order and the Knights 
of Pythias. In Tama County, Iowa, October 22, 1902, he married Miss 
Emily, daughter of John and Agnes Kozisek. 

Lake Brewer, M. D. The success and efficiency of women in the 
field of medicine are too well established to require any comment. While 
women physicians are not numerous in any one county, they are usually 
regarded as among the ablest and most successful in the field of local 
practice, and the few who are identified with the profession in Northwest 
Missouri are no exception to the rule. At Ridgeway in Harrison County, 
Dr. Lake Brewer is enjoying a large and growing practice and competes 
on equal terms with her brothers in the profession. Dr. Brewer repre- 



1384 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

sents one of the first families at Ridgeway, and was the first child born 
in that new town. 

Dr. Brewer's ancestors were Ohio people, who lived about Zanesville 
in Muskingum County. The grandfather was William Brewer, whose 
widow, Nancy Brewer, is still living at Springfield, Missouri. They had 
a family of five sons and a daughter. George W. Brewer, father of 
Dr. Brewer, was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, May 12, 1810, and 
was educated in the country schools. He came out to Missouri before 
the Civil war, and lived for a time near Independence. While there he 
entered Company H of the Thirteenth Missouri Cavalry, and subse- 
quently transferred from the militia to the regular volunteer army. He 
was a member of Colonel Sigel's regiment, and spent more than four 
years in the army, spending one year on the plains after the close of 
the war. He was bugler in his company. After the war George W. 
Brewer returned to Illinois, finished his education in the University of 
that state, and was a teacher in the public schools both' in Illinois and 
in Missouri. Mr. Brewer finally returned to Missouri, and located at 
Ridgeway when the town was founded, and followed merchandising 
there for a number of years. He was never identified with politics 
except as a republican voter. 

George W. Brewer was married in Champaign County, Illinois, Jan- 
uary 22, 1868, to Miss Delia Warner. She was born in Ohio, a daughter 
of Amasa Warner, also a native of that state. Amasa Warner was a son 
of Nathan Warner, who saw service as a soldier in the Revolutionary 
army. Amasa Warner married a Miss Lowery, a daughter of James 
Lowery, who was likewise a Continental soldier during the Revolution. 
The Warner family were farming people in Wayne County, Ohio. Mrs. 
George Brewer was reared in Champaign County, Illinois, was liberally 
educated, taught school in Vermilion County, and while there frequently 
saw Joe Cannon, then and afterwards one of the foremost leaders in the 
republican party. George W. Brewer and wife had one child, Dr. 
Brewer. 

Dr. Lake Brewer was graduated from the Ridgeway public schools 
in 1899 as valedictorian of her class. The same fall saw her entrance 
into the University of Missouri, from which she was graduated with her 
A. B. degree in 1903, and at the same time received a life certificate to 
teach. She continued her work in the medical department of the uni- 
versity, and during her junior year was assistant in the department of 
physiology. Dr. Brewer finished her medical course and was given the 
degree of M. D. in 1908. With this thorough training, Dr. Brewer 
returned to her native village, and opened an office for practice in the 
fall of 1908. Her work as a physician has been steadily growing in this 
community for the past six years and her ability in diagnosis and treat- 
ment is beyond question. Dr. Brewer is a member of the County Med- 
ical Society and its vice president, and is also a member of the Missouri 
State Medical Society and American Medical Association. Dr. Brewer 
recently erected one of the brick business blocks in Ridgeway and has 
her offices there. 

Albert Oscar Lair. One of the most earnest and enthusiastic pro- 
moters of the stock business as a buyer and shipper, and of agricultural 
pursuits at Ridgeway, Harrison County, is Albert Oscar Lair, who, aside 
from any prestige he may have received from connection with a fine 
old family, has mapped out his own fortunes with a certainty of intent 
and purpose which could have no other result than substantial suc- 
cess. He has lived in the state and county since 1892, when he came 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1385 

here from Illinois, where his birth occurred in Macoupin County, near 
Carlinville, March 9, 1860. 

The Lair family is of German descent and is frequently found in 
different parts of the country and in various spellings, one of the most 
popular of which is "Lehr." The grandfather of Albert Oscar Lair 
was Charles Lair, a Tennessee man by birth, who came to Macoupin 
County, Illinois, as a pioneer, took up agricultural pursuits, and passed 
his remaining years in the same vicinity where he is buried. He mar- 
ried Miss Louisa Morris, and their family comprised sixteen children, 
twelve of whom reared families, namely : John, the father of Albert 0. ; 
Elizabeth, who married James McGinnis ; Rebecca, who married Richard 
Nedrow ; Jeremiah j Betsy, who became the wife of Mr. Murray ; Thomas ; 
Richard; Polly, the eldest daughter, who became the wife of George 
Bridges ; Charles, who fought as a Union soldier during the Civil war ; 
Marion; and James Buchanan. Jeremiah Lair of this family was also 
a wearer of the Union blue during the war between the forces of the 
North and South. 

John Lair, the father of Albert Oscar Lair, was born in Macoupin 
County, Illinois, July 3, 1832, passed his life as a farmer, and died in 
the community of his birth, December 28, 1911. He married Miss Mar- 
garet Hart, a daughter of Nathan Hart, who was also a farmer, as 
well as a teacher and preacher of the Christian Church. He came from 
Kentucky to Missouri and passed his last years in the latter state. The 
children born to John and Margaret Lair were as follows: Jane, who 
became the wife of William Golding, of Portland, Oregon; and Albert 
Oscar. The mother passed away at Portland, Oregon, at the home of 
her daughter and son-in-law, in June, 1912. John Lair was a good, 
industrious and steady-going agriculturist, keeping steadfastly after 
what he started out to accomplish and winning success through per- 
sistence rather than by any brilliant coups. He had the reputation of 
being a man of strict integrity, and as a citizen was known to be a 
supporter of good men and progressive measures. 

Albert Oscar Lair spent his childhood and youth on a farm and 
acquired his education from the country district school. His home was 
under the parental roof until he was past his majority and at the time 
of his marriage he entered upon a career of his own as a farmer. About 
this time he moved from Macoupin County, Illinois, to the fertile farm- 
ing region of Sangamon County, in the same state, and there main- 
tained his home on a tract in the vicinity of Virden, where he con- 
tinued to carry on operations until he came to Missouri in 1892. 

When he reached Missouri, Mr. Lair purchased the Judge Reeves 
farm of 200 acres, the first farm sold in Harrison County at forty dollars 
an acre. This was generally thought to be the limit of land prices, 
and his neighbors declared he would never be able to sell it at that 
value, although Mr. Lair felt confident that he had not made a bad 
bargain. This was a well improved tract at that time, and is now one 
of the most beautiful properties in Grant Township. There he resumed 
his career as a general farmer and stockman, and entered upon a career 
in stock feeding. While he was on the farm he entered the business of 
stock shipping, his first experience in the business, and began it by 
shipping the stock from his own farm. This experience was of a nature 
calculated to encourage him in extending his business and he subse- 
quently entered this venture exclusively. In addition he added to his 
acreage, purchasing 195 acres adjoining his farm, known as the David 
Allen farm, and 395 acres now constitute his holdings in a body there. 
For the Allen farm he was forced to pay almost fifty dollars an acre. 
Mr. Lair left the farm in 1907 and moved to Ridgeway, where he has 



1386 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

since continued to bny and ship stock as a business, having taken but 
two vacation trips during these years, one to Canada and one into our 
Northwest Pacific Coast country. 

Mr. Lair's connection with Ridgeway, aside from his regular indus- 
try, has been as a butcher and market man, and as a contributor to the 
social and material affairs of the place which must, of necessity, have 
public support. He was reared a democrat and this ticket he has voted 
for as a man. He has filled the office of township trustee of Grant Town- 
ship, served his country school district as a director, and in each of 
his offices has displayed excellent executive ability and an earnest desire 
to aid his community's interests and those of its people. Like his wife, 
he is a member of the Methodist Church, and at this time is x a member 
of the official board of the church at Ridgeway. 

Mr. Lair was married October 1, 1884, to Miss Mary Jessamine 
Johnston, a daughter of Henry and Emeline (Adkins) Johnston. Mr. 
Johnston -was a native of Virginia, born May 13, 1815, near Natural 
Bridge, while Mrs. Johnston was born March 11, 1835. The father's 
death occurred in Macoupin County, Illinois, in December, 1912, while 
Mrs. Johnston passed away there in October, 1902. Their children were 
as follows: Elvira, a resident of Chicago, Illinois, and the wife of Ferd 
Richards ; George, who died in Macoupin County, Illinois, without issue ; 
Nancy, who became the wife of Oliver Lorton and resides at Virden, 
Illinois; Mary Jessamine, who became Mrs. Lair, and who was born 
November 5, 1859 ; Andrew, a resident of Springfield, Illinois ; and 
Sophia, who is the wife of William Fenstermaker, also of Springfield. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Lair there have been born the following children : 
Nathan Earl, who is his father's assistant in cultivating the old home- 
stead farm, married Bessie Carson and has a daughter, Avis ; Cyrus 
Albert, also carrying on farming on the homestead place, married Lela 
Taylor, and has one son, Forest Leroy; Sophie Emeline, who is the 
wife of Earl Sanford, of East End, Saskatchewan, Canada, and has 
one son, Oscar Kenneth ; and John Frederick, the youngest, a lad of 
twelve years, who is attending the Ridgeway public schools. 

Rev. Fielding Marvin, L\ D. One of the prominent ministers of the 
Methodist Church, South, Conference in Northwest Missouri is Rev. 
Fielding Marvin, now pastor at Savannah. Reverend Marvin is a son of 
the late Bishop Marvin, who for many years was regarded with peculiar 
veneration and respect by all members of the Southern Methodist Church 
and by his faith and works was a tremendous power for good in Mis- 
souri and all over the South. 

Rev. Fielding Marvin was born at LaGrange, Missouri, November 1, 
1849. His parents were Enoch M. and Harriet Brotherton (Clark) Mar- 
vin. The late Bishop Marvin was born in Warren County, Missouri, 
June 12, 1823, and his wife was born in St. Louis County of this state 
August 13, 1820. The Marvin family was established by two brothers 
who emigrated from England in 1635 and located in Connecticut. The 
grandparents on both sides came to Missouri about 1820 when Missouri 
was admitted to the Union and were prominent early settlers in St. 
Louis County and Warren County. The grandfather Marvin was a 
native of Connecticut, and left that state and lived in New York a short 
time before coming out to Missouri. The late Bishop Marvin was reared 
in Warren County and when about seventeen years of age began preach- 
ing in the Methodist Church and afterwards affiliated with the southern 
branch of that denomination. He had charge of a church in St. Louis 
and while there met Miss Clark, who had been reared in that vicinity, 
and they were married September 23, 1845. Many years of the active 



M 



r\ 




HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1387 

career of Bishop Marvin were devoted to the ministry. He was an 
itinerant worker and during the war was a chaplain in the southern 
army. In 1866 at the general conference at New Orleans he was elected 
a bishop, and gave his time to the duties of that office in various parts of 
the South and West until his death at St. Louis, November 26, 1877. 
His widow survived him and died at Fredericktown, Missouri, March 
16, 1882. Rev. Fielding Marvin was the only son, and the four daugh- 
ters of the parents are now deceased. 

Fielding Marvin was educated in the noted Pritchett Institute at 
Glasgow, Missouri, graduating A. B. in 1870, and afterwards receiving 
the degree of Master of Arts from the same institution. Mr. Marvin 
first prepared for the profession of law, studying law in the University 
of Virginia, and was admitted to the bar at St. Louis about 1875. After 
a few years' practice at St. Louis he joined the Missouri Conference of 
the Methodist Church, South, in 1889, and has filled many pulpits and 
appointments in the Missouri Conference during the past twenty-five 
years. Reverend Mr. Marvin came to the church at Savannah in the fall 
of 1913 and has done an effective work in building up his congregation 
and organizing all departments of church activity. While Rev. Willis 
Carlisle was pastor here a Bible Class was organized about two years ago, 
and this has been one of the best features of the church and a power for 
good in the community. At the present time it has about ninety mem- 
bers, composed of many of the prominent men in the town, and the 
teacher is Mrs. Sam W. Wells. 

Reverend Mr. Marvin is affiliated with the Masonic order. On October 
31, 1895, he was married by Rev. Charles H. Briggs at Franklin, Mis- 
souri, to Miss Georgia Casey. They are the parents of two sons : Mather 
Casey and Edwin L. 

James Walter Scott. Throughout his life James Walter Scott has 
been a resident of Gentry Count}', and for many years has been accounted 
one of its leading, influential and progressive agriculturists, financiers 
and business men. Among the great forces that bring success in life, 
one of the principal is unyielding tenacity of purpose. Action may be 
created for a time by dash and audacity and superficial cleverness, but 
these generally achieve no lasting success. Those who achieve the most 
satisfactory results are they who have gained their position through 
diligence and thoroughness in all things, and of this class Mr. Scott is 
an excellent type. He was born on the farm on which he now makes his 
home, September 22, 1870, and is a son of William Marshall and Cathe- 
rine M. (Combs) Scott. 

The late William Marshall Scott, who passed away near Ford City, 
Missouri, August 17, 1889, was one of the ante-bellum settlers of Gentry 
County, coming hither in 1866 from the mountain regions of the far 
West, whence he had gone in 1859 and spent some seven years in Cali- 
fornia and Nevada in mining operations. On his return to Missouri, 
he followed the trade of blacksmith as well as being engaged in agri- 
cultural operations, and in both lines was able to achieve success because 
of his persevering industry. Mr. Scott was born in Belmont County, 
Ohio, April 26, 1833, a son of Robert Scott, born in Ireland, and Mary 
(Stansberry) Scott, a native of Frederick County. Maryland. Among 
the issue of this old couple were: James B., who died near Ford City, 
Missouri, leaving a family; Moses and Fletcher, who met a soldier's 
death during the Civil war as a member of the Missouri militia ; Belle, 
w r ho married Porter Fore and died at Gentryville. Missouri ; Elizabeth, 
who married M. M. Embree and died at Albany, Missouri ; William M. ; 
and a daughter who died at Albany in young womanhood. William Mar- 



1388 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

shall Scott came to manhood with a common school education and learned 
the trade of blacksmith in Belmont County, receiving twenty dollars 
for his first year's work, forty dollars during the second, and sixty 
dollars for the work of the third year. In the spring of 1855 he went 
to Muscatine, Iowa, and in 1856 came to Missouri, stopping at Weston, 
Platte County, where he worked at his trade. In May of that same year 
Mr. Scott first visited Gentry County and remained here three years, 
and then proceeded to the gold regions of the West, as heretofore stated. 
In 1866, on his return to Missouri, he located on the farm which his 
son now owns, and here the remaining years of his life were passed. 
He confined his blacksmithing largely to his own work after locating 
near Ford City, and was numbered among the extensive farmers of his 
time, having 440 acres two miles east of the town. 

In his political beliefs William M. Scott was a republican. He was 
identified with no church, although he was a believer in the benefits of 
church work, but failed to ally himself with any religious denomination. 
Mr. Scott was married in Belmont County, Ohio, to Miss Catherine M. 
Combs, a daughter of Elijah Combs, July 3, 1866. Mr. Combs was a 
Missouri farmer and came from Ohio, but was originally from Fleming 
County, Kentucky, where Mrs. Scott was bom, as was also her mother, 
who bore the maiden name of Deborah Muncy. Mrs. Scott died in 1901, 
having been the mother of the following children : Mary L., a resident 
of Ford City ; James Walter, of this review, and the owner and occupant 
of the old homestead; Frank L., a resident of Fredonia, Kansas; and' 
Maude, who is the wife of Benjamin Newman, of Whitesville, Missouri. 

James Walter Scott has spent his entire career in the Ford City 
community. Following his course in the public schools of this vicinity, 
he entered the Stanberry Normal School, and when he laid aside his 
studies he began farming in earnest. While she lived he managed his 
mother's place, and since the death of his father he has done a vast 
amount of substantial improving. His generous home is of twelve 
rooms, is modernly heated and equipped, and its immaculate white ex- 
terior makes it a conspicuous mark for miles around, the residence 
standing on an eminence. Mr. Scott received his early lessons in cattle 
raising from his father, and he has been a growing factor as a feeder for 
years, shipping his own stock and securing excellent prices in the 
markets. He is also widely known in financial circles of Gentry County, 
being president of the Ford City Bank, which was organized in 1914, 
with a capital of $10,000, its vice president being Ben Boley and its 
cashier Don C. Dougan. In politics, Mr. Scott has always been a repub- 
lican, and fraternally he is a 'member of the Knights of Pythias, in 
which he has filled all the chairs in his lodge. In his community he is 
held in the highest regard by those who have had occasion to come into 
contact with him in any way, and as a citizen he has done much to 
advance the interests of Ford City and Gentry County. 

Mr. Scott was married in Gentry County, February 27, 1895, to Miss 
Ethel E. Easterly, a daughter of Philip and Alpha (Pennington) East- 
erly. Mr. Easterly came to Missouri from Tennessee, and was the 
father of the following children: Ida, who is the wife of Lewis Butler 
of Lewiston, Montana ; Maggie, who is the wife of Marion Burke, of the 
same city; Ethel E., who is the wife of James W. Scott; Grace, who is 
the wife of S. R. McConkey, of Albany, Missouri; Donna, who is the 
wife of Alexander Barger, of New Hampton, Missouri ; John R., a resi- 
dent of Gentry County; Hugh, a resident of the State of Idaho; and 
Philip, Jr., a resident of Lewiston, Montana. Five children have been 
born to Mr. and Mrs. Scott, namely: Stella K., Blanche E., Mildred, 
Marshall and Marion. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1389 

Rev. Alfred Noah Cave. As a minister of the Methodist Church 
and a farmer the Rev. Mr. Cave has been actively identified with Harri- 
son County since 1858, most of the time in Daviess and Harrison coun- 
ties. His father located on Sugar Creek in Harrison County in the 
spring of 1860. Rev. Mr. Cave was a soldier during the war, and comes of 
a family with a notable military record, beginning back in the days of 
the Indian wars in the colonies. 

Alfred Noah Cave was born in Fairfield County, Ohio, October 25, 
1810. His father, Alfred Noah, Sr., was born in Harrison County, 
Kentucky, April 25, 1814, and when a child his parents took him to 
Ohio and in 1833 settled in Fairfield County. In that state he grew up, 
with limited educational advantages, but with a superior intelligence 
and a gift for influencing people which he early employed in the work 
of the Methodist ministry. He was ordained by Bishop Waugh at 
Delphi, Indiana, and was soon in the ranks of the circuit riders who 
carried the message of Christianity to so many isolated communities in 
the early days. He rode circuits in Tippecanoe, Clinton, Montgomery 
and Jasper counties, Indiana, and attended many of the Indiana con- 
ferences. His work as a preacher continued almost to the month of his 
death. He was a man of talent, and gifted beyond the ordinary 
preacher. His sermons showed exact familiarity with the scriptures, 
and his knowledge of the old testament was almost as great as of the 
new. It is said that he could instantly name the verse and chapter of 
almost any quotation he heard from the Bible. 

It was in 1847 that he located with his family in Tippecanoe County, 
and later in Clinton County, Indiana, and from there some years later 
set out for Missouri. The journey was made by wagon, the caravan 
consisting of a horse team and a yoke of cattle, and during a season of 
hot rainy weather. Central Illinois, through which they passed, was 
almost as thinly settled as Missouri, and offered good opportunities for 
settlement, but the family came on to the fringes of civilization in North- 
west Missouri. The Mississippi was crossed at Quincy, and the first 
permanent location was a farm in Daviess County. The senior Cave, 
though living on a farm, practically devoted all his life to the min- 
istry. He was a factor in the erection of several Methodist churches 
in Harrison County, particularly that at Bethany, and was pastor there 
while it was in his circuit. His work was mainly in the rural churches 
of Daviess, Harrison and Gentry counties. 

As a young man Rev. Mr. Cave, Sr., was a whig, but joined the repub- 
licans at the organization of the party, gave his vote to Mr. Lincoln in 
1860, and regularly supported other nominees until his death. He was 
rather prominent in public affairs, served as county treasurer of Harri- 
son County from 1868 to 1870, was defeated in the latter year, but in 
1872 was the successful candidate and served four years more. During 
the Civil war he joined the Twenty-third Missouri Regiment at Rolla 
in the capacity of chaplain, and was with Sherman's army until the 
fall of Atlanta, when he resigned on account of ill health and returned 
home. 

Alfred N. Cave, Sr., was married in Fairfield County, Ohio, March 
1, 1833, to Miss Rebecca Anderson, who died in Clinton County, Indi- 
ana, in 1849. Her family has many interesting relations with American 
history. Her great-grandfather was William Anderson, who was born 
in the Scotch Highlands in 1693, and because of his connection with the 
uprising in behalf of the Pretender, Prince James, son of James II, 
had to flee from Scotland about 1715. He passed through England and 
emigrated to Virginia, joining other refugees from the wrath of the 
English sovereign. With remittances from Scotland he was able to 

Vol. Ill— 7 



1390 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

purchase lands in Virginia and Maryland, and the records state that in 
1738 he owned in Prince George County, Maryland, several plantations 
on Conegovhiege Manor, one of which, "Anderson's Delights," he later 
sold" to Dr. George Stewart- of Annapolis, Maryland. Soon after his 
arrival in America, William Anderson, discovered far up the Potomac 
River a beautiful valley, in which he built a hunting lodge, and which 
has since been known as the Anderson Bottom. When Hampshire 
County, Virginia, was established, it included this bottom, which was 
only five miles from Fort Cumberland. William Anderson was a born 
soldier, had many conflicts with the Indians and was prominent in 
Virginia military affairs. Soon after the beginning of the French and 
Indian war, he recruited a company for Braddock's army, and was part 
of the ill-esteemed colonials who at the disastrous Braddock's Fields 
in Western Pennsylvania helped in a measure to retrieve the terrible 
defeat administered by the French and Indians to the trained British 
regulars. William Anderson died at Anderson Bottom in Hampshire 
County in 1797, having been a devout member of the Episcopal Church. 
He was the father of four children, and his daughter Agnes married 
Capt. W T illiam Henshaw. 

Capt. Thomas Anderson, a son of the above and the grandfather of 
Mrs. Cave, was born in Berkeley County, Virginia, in 1733, and also ad- 
ded to the lustre of his family name in military annals. He took part in 
several Indian campaigns, and was with Governor Dunmore on his ex- 
pedition into the Ohio Valley for the subjugation of the Indians. When 
the Revolution came on, he entered enthusiastically into the Colonial 
service, and was in command of a company at Yorktown when the sur- 
render of General Cornwallis ended the war and made independence a 
fact. He married a Miss Bruce of Virginia, and all their four children 
were born at Anderson Bottom. Of their sons, AA 7 illiam, Joseph and 
Abner took up arms against Great Britain in the war of 1812, serving 
under Colonel Sanderson. 

Capt. James Anderson, a son of Captain Thomas and father of Mrs. 
Cave, was born in Hampshire County, Virginia, February 17, 1768, and 
although very young served for three months toward the close of the 
Revolution. After the war he located in Berkeley County, and became 
a merchant. While there Gen. Anthony Wayne was put in command 
of the army for the western Indian campaign, after two generals had 
suffered disastrous defeats at the hands of the red men. Captain Ander- 
son left his business, recruited a troop of horse, and joined Wayne's 
army, probably at Fort Cumberland, and was made an ensign. He 
was a great admirer of his strenuous and impetuous commander, and 
supported him with daring and usefulness. Having some skill in 
mathematics and drafting, he superintended the construction of most 
of the forts erected by General Wayne in the old Northwest Territory, 
now the states of Ohio and Indiana. He continued with the army until 
the final overthrow of the western Indians, and was present at the 
treaty of Greenville in August, 1795. At the engagement known as 
Fallen Timbers his gallantry won him promotion, and he was eventually 
commissioned a lieutenant and finally a captain. Late in life he joined 
several of his children in Clinton County, Indiana, and died there 
October 24, 1844. Capt. James Anderson married Priscilla House, and 
Rebecca (Anderson) Cave was one of their ten children, five sons and 
five daughters. 

The children born to Rev. A. N. Cave and wife were : James E., who 
was in an Indiana regiment during the Civil war, and died at Crawfords- 
ville, Indiana; Hiram L., who also was with an Indiana regiment, and 
died near Darlington, Indiana ; Priscilla J., who married Joseph Bounser 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1391 

and died at Cerro Gordo, Illinois ; Alfred N., Jr. ; and Elizabeth, who 
died at Chillicothe, Missouri, as Mrs. George Estep. Rev. Mr. Cave, Sr., 
after the death of his first wife married Elizabeth M. Loveless, daughter 
of Benjamin Loveless. She died without children at Bethany in April, 
1887. 

With such an inheritance, it would have been surprising if Alfred 
X. Cave, Jr., had not made his career one of useful service to his fellow 
men. Owing to the pioneer environment in which he was reared, he had 
limited educational advantages, and has depended largely on his own 
studies and reading and practical experience. His first serious work 
was when he became a Union soldier. He entered the army in 1861 
in Company F of Merrill's Horse, the Second Missouri Cavalry, Captain 
Hanna being in command of the company. During the first and second 
years the command was in different parts of Missouri, and in the fall 
of 1862 went into Arkansas, participating in the engagements at 
Brownsville and Arkadelphia. Returning to St. Louis, the regiment 
was sent to Nashville, but arrived too late to take part in Sherman's 
campaign to the sea. The command did guard duty in Tennessee, and 
at the close of the war received the surrender of part of Gen. Joe 
Wheeler's cavalry. Mr. Cave escaped without wounds. He was sergeant 
of his company, and when mustered out at Chattanooga had in his pos- 
session Governor Fletcher's commission as second lieutenant. 

In August, 1865, on his return home Mr. Cave began farming in 
Harrison County, and continued this business in Harrison County until 
1878, when he moved out to Kansas and spent two years in Republic 
County. On returning to Missouri he located in the vicinity of Bethany, 
and has had his home permanently in this community for over thirty 
years. Like his father, he has identified himself with church work, and 
has been known in this part of Missouri as a local preacher and in circuit 
work for many years. Politically he is a republican, and while politics 
has never been a hobby with him, he was honored in 1900 with election 
to the office of county treasurer, and gave four years of capable admin- 
istration of its affairs. He succeeded James Selby in the office. Since 
the war he has enjoyed many pleasing associations with old comrades, 
and about 1882 became a member of the Grand Army, has served as 
commander of T. D. Neal Post. No. 124, and attended one national Grand 
Army encampment, that at Chicago. 

On January 1, 1866, Mr. Cave married Miss Martha E. Meek, who 
was born in Wabash County, Indiana, and came to Missouri in 1856. 
Her father, George W. Meek, married Mary E. Shockey, and they lived 
for many years on a farm in Sherman township, and both are buried 
in the Fairview Cemetery in same township. Mr. Meek was also a 
minister of the United Brethren Church. Their children were : Mrs. 
Cave, born October 31, 1846; Griffith, who died in Harrison County; 
Sarah A., who died unmarried; Malinda E., who married John L. Cole, 
of Bethany ; Henry, who lives in Oklahoma ; Abram, who died at Enid, 
Oklahoma," leaving a family ; Reverend Paschal, of Blue Ridge, Missouri ; 
Ruey M., wife of William Parnell, of Mountain View, Oklahoma; and 
Emma J., wife of David Joseph, of Elk City, Oklahoma. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Cave are: Ollie M., who married 
William H. Swain, of Bethany, and is the mother of Marie; Rebecca 
Anna, who married David Bartlett of Harrison County, and is the 
mother of Alva and Kathryn ; Miss Mary, a teacher ; Eldora Lillie, wife 
of James Tippet, of Bethany, and the mother of Paul and Louis: and 
Etta May, who married Edwin Woodlin, of Kent, Washington, and has 
one child, Retta. 



1392 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

William Avery Miner. Conspicuously identified with the lumber 
and banking interests of Harrison County, William Avery Miner has 
grown into this situation and a condition of independence during a 
period of thirty years and as a result of his earnest efforts and the 
sheer weight and force of his characteristics. He has ever belonged to 
that class of men who accomplish something worth while each day of 
their lives and this always tells forcibly in the sum total of a finished 
career. Mr. Miner has been a* Missourian since his advent to the state 
in 1881. He followed his brother, Edgar S. Miner, here, to engage in 
the lumber business, and did so as a subaltern where salaries were not 
large or robust. While he had no capital, it was really the opportunity 
he was most in need of and he began right where the finger board of 
circumstances pointed out the highway of opportunity. Notwithstand- 
ing there was no tangible evidence indicating large results at the end 
of a long career where he started, yet the student of conditions saw 
clearly the outcome for one in control of a given territory to be pro- 
vided with the building material necessary to improve and develop it 
in accord with the modern method of homemaking. Seeing this situa- 
tion as the Miner brothers did, and being favored by the presence of 
a "friend at court" with the capital, in the person of B. M. Frees, of 
Chicago, Illinois, the application of their abundant industry was easily 
and readily encouraged to enter a combination for business which has 
ramifications over much of Northwest Missouri. 

Mr. Miner is a contribution to Missouri from the State of Wiscon- 
sin, having been born at Brodhead, Green County. May 8, 1861. He 
was reared at Monroe and educated in the high school there, and grew 
up in the home of a scholarly and intellectual father, and this fact had 
its influence in shaping the intellectual training of the son. When the 
guiding spirit of the home converted its professional atmosphere into 
a business one, the young man again profited in lessons of trade which 
capitalized his life, as it were, for an independent career. 

The Miners belong to one of the old New England families. Rev. 
Samuel Elbert Miner, father of William Avery Miner of this review, 
went into Wisconsin during its pioneer days, well equipped with educa- 
tional and other qualities which rendered his labors effective among 
the early builders of that commonwealth. Being a minister, he set about 
preparing the way for an effective campaign in the spreading of the 
Gospel, with establishing congregations and building churches, having 
caused the erection of the First Congregational Church, at Madison, the 
capital of the state. He was chaplain of the first constitutional con- 
vention of the state and his pastoral work was carried on for a period 
of many years. During his long and effective labors, he had at various 
times charge of the Congregational churches at Madison, Elkhorn, Wyo- 
cena, Brodhead and Monroe, but in his later years he gave up his minis- 
terial work and engaged in the retail lumber business. Reverend Miner 
was known not only in the affairs of the church and in business in his 
state, but in politics as well. His Yankee birth and rearing set his heart 
unalterably opposed to human bondage and when the question of the 
abolishment of slavery came to be agitated his radicalism placed him 
with the Abolitionists of his state. During the period of the Civil war 
he was appointed a member of the Sanitary Commission, and his duties 
took him into the South where Wisconsin troops were fighting the bat- 
tles of the Union, and when the Emancipation Proclamation was issued 
and the war entered upon a campaign to free the slaves he consented 
for his two sons, not yet of military age, to take their places in the 
ranks, and one of them lost his young life on the bloody field of Gettys- 
burg. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1393 

Rev. Mr. Miner was born at West Halifax, Vermont, in December, 
1815, and had a long line of New England ancestors who were factors 
in the colonial life of Stonington and Groton, Connecticut. His father 
was Samuel Holman Miner and his mother was Anna Avery, both born 
while the colonies were struggling for independence. The latter was a 
daughter of Capt. Thomas Avery, a first lieutenant in the First Con- 
necticut Regiment of Revolutionary troops. Samuel Holman and Anna 
(Avery) Miner were the parents of nine children, several of whom lived 
beyond the years of "three score and ten," and one of them passed the 
century mark of time. Rev. Samuel Elbert Miner married Maria C. 
Kelley, who died in July, 1861, and their children were as follows: 
Charles E., who died in the uniform of his country at Gettysburg, as a 
member of Colonel Custer's famous Seventh Michigan Cavalry, and is, 
buried in the National Cemetery there ; Edgar S., of Bethany, Missouri ; 
Mrs. Richardson, of Gilman City, Missouri; Mrs. B. F. Baker, a resi- 
dent of Clear Lake, Iowa; Mrs. F. W. Stump, of Redfield, South Dakota; 
and William Avery, of this review. 

AYilliam Avery Miner began his life in Missouri as a clerk in the 
Bethany yard of the Miner-Frees Lumber Company. This was the first 
unit of this concern's system of yards and was established there just 
ahead of the advent of the railroad to the county seat. When the road 
passed 011 to New Hampton, Mr. Miner followed and opened a yard for 
the company there, remaining until 1885 when the company purchased 
the yard at Ridgeway and he established himself at the latter point. 
Although the community had passed its fifth birthday it was still a 
"wooden town" and had some 260 people and the pioneer of them, S. 
D. Rardin, is still a factor in the social life of the place. 

Upon coming to Ridgeway Mr. Miner embraced the opportunity to 
share in the profits of the Miner-Frees concern and invested what capital 
he had accumulated on salary and thus secured a foothold which made 
the results of his labor more effective to himself. It is due to the per- 
sistent efforts of the Miner brothers that the Miner-Frees Company has 
forged ahead and is supplying the building demand in their line over 
a large area of this part of the State of Missouri. Their ten yards are 
located in Harrison, Gentry, Grundy and Daviess counties and each 
of the brothers has brought up his family in Harrison County and 
builded substantially and participated forcefully in the towns in which 
they reside. Besides his commodious house at Ridgeway, William A. 
Miner has been the builder of two brick structures among the substan- 
tial business houses here and his contributions otherwise in the life of 
the town have been liberal and frequent, including the platting of 
Miner's Addition, the Fairview Addition and the Sunnyside Addition 
to the town. 

In the field of banking, Mr. Miner has been almost a pioneer in Har- 
rison County. In June following his advent to Ridgeway, Miner Broth- 
ers & B. M. Frees started a private bank at Ridgeway known as the 
Ridgeway Exchange Bank. It was capitalized at $5,000 and William 
A. Miner was the cashier, with Ellis F. Hopkins, who subsequently be- 
came cashier, as bookkeeper. The institution started with a fire and 
burglar proof safe located in the lumber office, where it remained until 
1902 and in that year the brick building which houses its successor was 
erected. In December, 1902, the Ridgeway Exchange Bank had a paid 
up capital, of $15,000, and a surplus of $3,000, at which time it was 
converted into the First National Bank of Ridgeway, with a paid up 
capital of $30,000, and a list of more than thirty stockholders. In 
June, 1914, the bank increased its capital to $60,000 from earned sur- 
plus. When the bank was nationalized, Mr. C. C. Fordyce was chosen 



1394 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

its president, and when, he retired from that position in March, 1914, 
William A. Miner became his successor and still retains that office. Mr. 
Hopkins was succeeded as cashier by H. Ray Tull, and Mr. M. F. Neff 
has been vice president since its organization, while Mr. J. L. Chambers 
is assistant cashier and Mr. G. R. Bridges is bookkeeper. Mr. Miner 
is a stockholder of the Bank of Coffey, Missouri, and of the Bank of 
Mount Moriah, this state. Fraternally he has taken the York Rite 
degrees in Masonry, and is a member of Moila Temple, A. A. 0. N. M. S., 
St. Joseph. 

Mr. Miner was married in Harrison County, Missouri, in March, 
1883, to Miss Martha A. Spencer, who was one of the county teachers 
of that day. She was born in Harrison County and her father was John 
Spencer, one of the early settlers of Bethany and one of the officers of 
a pioneer log church of the town. Mr. Spencer came to Missouri from 
Muskingum County, Ohio, as a child and grew up around Pattonsburg 
where his parents had settled. He married Rachel Alley, whose father 
came to Harrison County in 1844 from Indiana, when this was still a 
part of Daviess County and when she was a child of nine years. The 
Spencer children were as follows: Mrs. Sarah E. Young, of Kansas 
City, Kansas; Mrs. Martha A. Miner; Mrs. Susan A. Tull, of Ridgeway, 
Missouri ; and G. William, a resident of the town of Bethany. 

The children of Mr. and Mrs. Miner have been as follows: Charles 
F., who resides at Ridgeway; Elbert S., who is associated with the 
Miner-Frees Company, a graduate of the law department of the Uni- 
versity of Missouri, class of 1907, married Miss Clella Bunch and has a 
son, William A., Jr. ; and Erwin Avery, who was educated at Missouri 
Valley College and in the State University, and is an aid in the business 
of his father. 

Hon. Benjamin Moore Ross. Through a long, eventful and active 
career, Hon. Benjamin Moore Ross, presiding judge of the district court 
of Gentry County, has been engaged in a variety of pursuits, all con- 
nected with the growing mercantile, agricultural and financial interests 
of this part of Northwest Missouri, where his signal services in public 
life have made him one of the conspicuous figures of his community. 
Born December 18, 1859, near Stanberry, Gentry County, Missouri, he 
is a son of John Adam and Margaret (Bradford) Ross, the former of 
whom was born in Nova Scotia, June 27, 1830. 

John James Ross, the grandfather of Judge Ross, was a deep sea 
fisherman of Nova Scotia until Ms removal in 1839 to Ohio, where he 
worked for wages for one year and then made his way west with his 
family by boat to St. Louis, thence to St. Joseph, and on inland to 
Gentry County, Missouri, at that time a territory partly covered with 
timber. By reason of his Canadian training, Mr. Ross sought timber 
lands for his locality, as a protection from the winter cold, and thus 
he was able to raise a crop the first year. He continued to develop and 
cultivate his farm until the outbreak of the Civil war, when he secured 
a lieutenant's commission in the Union army, serving under Captain 
Stockton until receiving his honorable discharge at the close of hostili- 
ties, and at that time returning to his rural home, where he resided 
until 1872. In that year he erected a residence on the property of his 
son. Samuel C. Ross, and there passed the remaining years of his life. 

John Adam Ross was a lad of ten years when he came to Missouri, 
and his education was secured in an early public school in Albany, 
Missouri. He was married in 1853 to Margaret Bradford, who died in 
1861, at the age of thirty-four years, and they became the parents of 
these children : Mrs. Savannah J. Floyd, of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma ; 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1395 

John B., of Baldwin, Kansas; Judge Benjamin Moore, of this review; 
and Mrs. Mary F. Witten, of Washington, D. C. Mr. Ross took for 
his second wife Martha Howell, who resided near Albany, Missouri, and 
they became the parents of children as follows : James H., of St. Joseph, 
Missouri; George A., of Washington, D. C; William Francis, of St. 
Joseph; Mrs. Ella Coffey, of Stanberry; Mrs. Myrtle Williams, of 
Marshall. Missouri ; Mrs. Martha R. Garman, of Denver, Colorado ; Mrs. 
Ollie R. Bray, of Denver, Colorado; Mrs. Esther Harlin, of Moberly, 
Missouri; and Thomas A., of Stanberry. 

Benjamin Moore Ross attended the country schools until 1879, in 
which year he entered Grand River College, which institution he attended 
five years, taking a complete academic course. This was supplemented 
by a course in the Stanberry Normal School, and thus excellently 
equipped, in 1884 he entered upon his career when he purchased the 
stock and good will of Thomas Peery, of Albany, forming a partnership. 
This partnership was continued until 1886, when Mr. Ross entered the 
Farmers and Mechanics Bank, as bookkeeper, and continued to be thus 
engaged until 1888, when he turned his attention to agricultural pur- 
suits, and moved to his father's farm, there remaining for eleven years. 
In 1899 Mr. Ross purchased an -interest in the live stock commission 
business of Johnson & Sage, and was actively engaged with this St. 
Joseph firm until May, 1901, when he returned to Stanberry and began 
to operate the farm close to this town, land which he had acquired 
jointly with his father. Here he has carried on extensive general farm- 
ing operations and has also been a leading breeder of and dealer in 
live stock, shipping several carloads each year to the markets. Mr. 
Ross is interested in financial matters as president of the Farmers and 
Mechanics Bank of Stanberry, one of the substantial institutions of 
Northwest Missouri, and is known as a banker of good judgment, fore- 
sight and acumen. He bears an excellent reputation in commercial cir- 
cles, and is held in the highest confidence by his business associates. Long 
a prominent and active democrat, Judge Ross became his party's candi- 
date for the district judgeship in 1908, to which office he was elected, 
and in 1910 took his present place on the bench as presiding judge. As 
a jurist he has been conscientious and impartial, greatly adding to the 
reputation secured by him in business circles. He has always been 
found at the forefront in movements which have been proposed to 
benefit the community in any way, and has given freely of his time, 
influence and means in their support. Fraternally, Judge Ross is con- 
nected with the Masonic Order, being a valued member of Stanberry 
Blue Lodge No. 34. 

Judge Ross was married at Albany, Missouri, January 27, 1886, to 
Miss Callie B. Hunter, daughter of John J. and Margaret (Moke) Hun- 
ter, of Paris. Illinois, who came to Gentry County, Missouri, in 1850, 
and became the owners of a large tract of valuable farming land. Mr. 
Hunter was well known as a public-spirited and patriotic citizen, and 
during the Civil war served gallantly as captain of a company of Mis- 
souri volunteers in the Union army. The following children comprised 
the Hunter family: George W., Mrs. Emma Culp, Albert L., Mrs. 
Annie D. Jones, Mrs. Nettie Wood, Mrs. Lura Storey, Mrs. Ida Gardner 
and Mrs. Callie D. Ross. To Judge and Mrs. Ross there have been born 
the following children : John P., a resident of Laramie, Wyoming, who 
married Grace Martin; Clarence D., who is engaged in a general mer- 
chandise business at Cushing, Oklahoma ; Margaret B., who married 
Melvin S. McEldowney, of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma ; and Marion, who 
resides with her parents. 



1396 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Daniel W. Martin, M. D. Few men are better known and have 
been more actively identified with affairs at Bethany and in Harrison 
County during the last forty years than Dr. Daniel W. Martin. Doctor 
Martin came to Northwest Missouri in 1871, and his home has been in 
Harrison County since February, 1874. "While he is well known as a 
physician, and particularly as a specialist in the treatment of cancer, he 
was in early manhood a Union soldier with almost a unique record, later 
a minister of the gospel, a vocation which he has, also followed in Mis- 
souri, and an active business man, especially as a dealer in real estate. 

Daniel W. Martin was born in Putnam County, Ohio, May 16, 1840, 
and has some interesting family history behind him. His grandfather, 
Danl Martin, was a native of Vermont, became a pioneer in Ohio, and 
died in Putnam County before Doctor Martin was born. He was a boy 
back in the Green Mountain State when the war for independence be- 
gan, and saw some active service in that struggle as an American sol- 
dier. He married Elizabeth Tougee, and among their ten sons and 
three daughters the following are given brief mention : Obediah, who 
spent his life in Ohio ; Uriah, whose life was passed in the same state ; 
Thomas, who lived in east central Ohio ; Robert, whose home was near 
Columbus; William, of Hancock County, Ohio; Dan, who became an 
early settler in Missouri and died in Sullivan County ; 'Calvin, who died 
in Allen County, Ohio; Maurice, who lived in Ohio; Lucretia Conklin; 
Mrs. Sprague; Mrs. Vaughn; and Jared A. 

Jared A. Martin, father of Doctor Martin, was never graduated from 
a school of medicine, but for many years was called Doctor Martin, was of 
a family of doctors and preachers, and perhaps the associations and tradi- 
tions of the family had something to do with his discovering, late in 
life, a special method of treating cancer, a discovery that is now utilized 
by his son at Bethany. The father spent some ten years at Saybrook, 
Illinois, as a specialist in treating cancer. He was born in 1820 on the 
same farm in Ohio on which his son Daniel W. first saw the light. His 
early career was without special incident, was spent as a farmer, and 
after the war he moved to Saybrook, Illinois, and farmed until taking 
up the special work in the field opened for him by his discovery. Poli- 
tically he was first a whig and then a republican, and voted the first 
republican ticket placed in the field in 1856. He was a strong friend 
of Horace Greeley before and during the war. He was a layman in the 
Christian Church. His death occurred at Saybrook, near the close of 
1894. He married Electa Scoville, whose father was a native of Ver- 
mont and died in Shelbyville, Illinois. She died in February, 1851, and 
her children were : Daniel W. ; Mrs. Lucy Chamberlain of Cincinnati ; 
Martha, who died unmarried ; Mary, who became the wife of Newton 
Nungesster and died at Cridersville, Ohio ; Gilbert, who died in Southern 
Missouri; Clark R., of Saybrook, Illinois; Mrs. Nancy Bains, who lives 
near Bloomington, Illinois; Jared, of Chicago; and Amanda, who mar- 
ried and died in Iowa. 

Dr. Daniel W. Martin grew up on an Ohio farm, and got most of 
his education from the common schools, and really prepared for his 
career after he had come home from the army. After reaching his 
majority he attended the seminary at St. Marys, Ohio, and pursued his 
medical studies in the Eclectic Institute of Cincinnati and the American 
Medical College of St. Louis, where he finished his course in 1877. 

In 1862 he volunteered for service in the Union army. He was in 
Company A of the Fifty-seventh Ohio Infantry, under Capt. William 
McClure and Col. Clark Rice, the regiment being in the Second 
Brigade, Second Division of the Fourth Army Corps. Most of his 
service was detached duty until May, 1864, when he was appointed 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1397 

chaplain of the regiment. On July 22 of the same year, during the siege 
of Atlanta, he was taken prisoner and sent to the infamous Anderson- 
ville stockade. After being kept there a few months, he was sent to 
the prison at Florence, South Carolina, and toward the end of the war 
was moved to Goldsboro, and when Sherman's army came through that 
region he was moved about until the prisoners were turned into the 
union lines at Wilmington, North Carolina. "While in the rebel prisons, 
Doctor Martin was exposed to outrageous treatment, from physical abuse 
by the notorious Wurz, to actual starvation, scurvy and gangrene. When 
he finally was released he weighed only ninety pounds, though his weight 
at enlistment was 170. After he had been in Andersonville he was put 
in line for exchange. While standing there it occurred to him as im- 
proper for him to accept liberty when about seven thousand of his 
comrades were lying about on the ground in the stockade scarcely able 
to get themselves a drink of water. With this prompting of sympathy, 
he stepped from the line and made a speech, reviewing the situation 
briefly, and asking for volunteers to stay with him in the stockade and 
accept the fortunes of the rest. One of his old schoolmates stepped to 
the front. This is perhaps the only case on record when prisoners, with 
the opportunity at hand to gain freedom, chose the harder lot to remain 
prisoners of war. They both remained until they and all their comrades 
were liberated, and his companion, Ernest Timbers, lived till a few years 
ago and died in Minnesota. After his release Doctor Martin was sent to 
Columbus, Ohio, where he was auditor in the paymaster's office until the 
business of the department was wound up, when he was discharged 
at Camp Chase and returned home. 

After the war and before entering medical school at Cincinnati he 
read medicine for two years in the office of Doctor Prince at Freiburg, 
Ohio. His first two years of active practice were spent in Monroeville, 
Indiana, and then for three years at Monterey, Ohio. On coming to 
Missouri in 1871 Doctor Martin had an office at Jameson in Daviess 
County until moving to Harrison County. For the past forty years he has 
practiced either in Bethany or with headquarters on his farm near the 
county seat. About twenty years ago he took up the special work of 
cancer treatment, as taught him by his father, and this and his office 
practice comprise his professional activity. 

Doctor Martin has taken no action in politics except as a voter of the 
republican ticket. For about thirty years he preached as a pastor of 
the Christian Church in Missouri, and practiced medicine at the same 
time. He began church work in Ohio soon after the war, and has thus 
combined the two most important vocations of human service — the 
care of both the soul and the body. Also for five years he owned a 
store at Blue Ridge in Harrison County, and previously a year in 
Bethany. For a quarter of a century he has been in the real estate 
business, buying and selling farms. During this period he bought 
extensively in Logan County, Kansas, and made a large profit out of 
those transactions. Near Bethany he owns several farms, aggregating a 
section, and all well improved. Dr. Martin began buying land with 
nothing but his credit, and the results have shown his judgment to have 
been little short of unerring. 

In December, 1860, Doctor Martin married Lucinda Harris. She 
became the mother of : Mrs. Josephine Wooley, of Kansas City ; Charles, 
of Oklahoma; Mrs. Flora Ford, of Bethany; Hattie, wife of John 
Looman of Kansas; James, who died in Wichita, Kansas; and Mrs. 
Fannie Conwell, of Bethany. Doctor Martin married for his second 
wife Mrs., Ruth F. (Hammons) Miller, born at Hillsboro, Illinois, 



1398 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

daughter of John Hammons, Sr., deceased. They have a daughter, 
Neima, wife of William Johnson, of New Hampton, Missouri. 

James A. Scammahorn. A resident of Canden Township in DeKalb 
County, the enterprise of James A. Scammahorn as an agriculturist has 
given him a high business standing in that community, and through 
many years of honest and persevering activity as a farmer and stock 
raiser he has acquired that material success which is the ambition of 
every right-minded man. At the same time he is known for his sterling 
citizenship and is a man of integrity in all his relations. Mr. Scamma- 
horn has been a lifelong resident of this section of Northwest Missouri, 
and has advanced himself from modest circumstances to a position of 
prominence among DeKalb county farmers, and at the present time is 
successfully engaged in the cultivation of 280 acres of productive land. 

James A. Scammahorn was born in DeKalb County, June 15, 1860, 
a son of Peter N. and Mary A. (Bacon) Scammahorn. Peter N. Scam- 
mahorn was born in Kentucky, and in 1850 he came to Missouri and 
joined the agricultural community and a tiller of the soil until his death 
December 16, 1913. He was a charter member of the Odd Fellows Lodge 
at Winston in Daviess County, and took an active part in public affairs 
at Maysville, of which town he was marshal for several years. His life 
was one of activity and industry, and he was held in high esteem with 
those who knew him because of his integrity, and honorable business 
record. In 1851 he married Mary A. Bacon. She was a native of Ken- 
tucky and came to Missouri in girlhood ; she died May 12, 1880. She was 
the mother of nine children, of whom five survive, namely : Elizabeth J., 
widow of Ben England and living in Breckenridge, Missouri; Liefa D., 
widow of John Kendrick, of Kansas City; Mary B., wife of Thomas 
Phelan, of St. Louis; Seth L. Scammahorn, yardmaster for Southern 
Pacific Railroad at San Antonio, Texas, and James A. 

James A. Scammahorn was reared in DeKalb County and spent his 
entire life in one locality. The district school of Hickory Grove fur- 
nished him with his education during the winter terms of his boyhood, 
while his summer months were devoted to acquiring the fundamental 
principles of farming. On February 1, 1880, he married Mary J. Thomp- 
son, daughter of Bradford and Mary A. (Redman) Thompson. Mr. 
Bradford Thompson was born in Tennessee and came to Missouri when 
he was a small boy. He was a tiller of the soil until he died in 1889. His 
wife, Mary A. Redman, was born in Kentucky and came to Missouri in 
girlhood. She died in 1907. She was the mother of nine children, of 
whom seven survive, namely: Emeline, widow of Robert Bird; Cindia, 
widow of Thomas Reed ; Sam Thompson, of Oklahoma ; Dave Thompson, 
of Oklahoma ; William Thompson ; America, wife of Oliver Ollson, and 
Mary. 

Mrs. Scammahorn was born in Adams Township, November 5, 1860, 
and was educated in what was known as the old Cope School. She had 
known her husband from childhood. After their marriage they moved 
to Daviess County, where Mr. Scammahorn bought forty acres of land 
in the bottom of Grand River, which overflowed continuously for four 
years. This left him in such bad circumstances that he moved to Cald- 
well County, living there one year. He then moved to DeKalb County 
and has since been a permanent resident. For several years he and his 
wife lived in a small one-room house, the frame of which had been hewed 
out and used as a barn, but by continuing industry and earnest it has 
eventually placed them in a position where they could afford a more 
commodious home, and from that time to the present Mr. Scammahorn 
has forged rapidly to the front, his position among his community's sub- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1399 

stantial men now being assured. For a number of years he was engaged 
in general farming almost exclusively, but in 1902 started to raise Brown 
Swiss cattle, registered for dairy purposes, and continued to devote a 
large part of his attention to this enterprise until selling them in 1910. 
Since that time his operations in stock have been of a general nature. Mr. 
Scammahorn's association, with the township has been for its betterment 
and a lesson in industry and patient application during the years of his 
adversity should be far reaching in their influence for good. 

Mr. and Mrs. Scammahorn' have had six children, of whom four sur- 
vive : Peter B., who was a student in the Quincy Business College, lost 
his wife, and has a child seventeen months old; Cora A. is the wife 
of Burton J. Ryan ; Iona J. is the wife of Arthur Ryan ; and Myrtle M., 
unmarried and living at home. For several years Mr. Scammahorn was 
a member of the Maysville Lodge of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. 

A. M. Bates. In the business and civic activities of Excelsior 
Springs during the past twenty years A. M. Bates has performed a 
more than ordinary successful and influential part. Mr. Bates came to 
the city a young man without capital, embarked in merchandising, laid 
the foundation for a business career, and is now one of the leading real 
estate men of Northwest Missouri. His administration as mayor of 
Excelsior Springs is remembered gratefully by the citizens, and as 
executive of the city he inaugurated many improvements which have 
helped to increase the fair fame of Excelsior Springs. 

Mr. Bates represents one of the old families in Clay County. The 
family has lived here through three generations, the first having come as 
pioneers, the second having carried on the development through the 
later decades of the last century, and Mr. Bates himself represents the 
third, and his position in the community adds to the reputation for 
progressiveness and enterprise which have long characterized the name. 

A. M. Bates was born in Washington Township of Clay County, June 
12, 1876. He was a son of Charles F. Bates, who was born in Ray 
County, Missouri, October 30, 1815, and is now living on his home- 
stead two and a half miles north of Excelsior Springs. Charles F. 
Bates was a son of William and Serilda (Nowland) Bates, the former 
of Virginia and the latter of Tennessee, who came as early settlers into 
Ray County, where the former died in 1884 at the age of sixty-five, 
while the grandmother is now living at Excelsior Springs at the advanced 
age of ninety years. Charles F. Bates married Elizabeth Miller. She 
was born in Ray County, three miles northeast of Excelsior Springs, 
March 21, 1819, and is still living. Her parents were William Andrew 
and Sallie (McKee) Miller, the former of North Carolina and the lat- 
ter of Kentucky. They came to Ray County about the same time as the 
Bates family. Charles F. Bates and wife were the parents of ten chil- 
dren, all of whom are living as follows : Robert L., of Excelsior Springs ; 
A. M. and Ava E.. twins, the latter the wife of Freeman Furman, of 
Excelsior Springs; L. E., of Excelsior Springs; Lucy, at home; Sallie 
Shoemaker, a widow living at Excelsior Springs; William, of Excelsior 
Springs; Ella, at home; and Frank, of Oklahoma. Charles F. Bates 
grew up in Ray County, was married there, and then moved to a farm 
five miles north of Excelsior Springs, and in 1873 came to his present 
location, which is the old Miller homestead. That home has been occu- 
pied by the family for more than forty years, and was originally entered 
directly from the Government by the great-grandfather of A. M. Bates, 
Frederick Miller, who died on the farm in May, 1872, at the age of 
seventv-eight. 



1400 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

A. M. Bates grew up on a farm, received his early education in the 
country schools, and lived at home until twenty-one. With money 
supplied him by his grandfather Bates, he then came to Excelsior Springs 
and made his first business venture in the purchase of a meat market, 
which he conducted for some time, and thus paved the way for a larger 
career. He and his brother R. L. Bates then bought a grocery store, 
and conducted a successful partnership for six years, at the end of 
which time the brother acquired the entire stock. Since 1900 Mr. 
Bates has been successfully engaged in the real estate business. He 
has platted and sold three additions to Excelsior Springs, and also 
owns a large amount of farm land in both Kansas and Oklahoma, and 
operates a large stock feeding farm in Oklahoma. Mr. Bates was one 
of the organizers of the First National Bank of Excelsior Springs, 
served as its first president, and is still a member of its board of 
directors. 

In 1898 Mr. Bates was first elected to the office of mayor of Excel- 
sior Springs, served for two years, and after that term was in the 
office as alderman for four years. In 1912 Mr. Bates was again the 
choice of the citizens for the office of mayor, and has led the city gov- 
ernment and cooperating associations of citizens in the movement for 
the making of Excelsior Springs a greater and better city. His service 
as mayor was concluded in the spring of 1914. Mr. Bates is affiliated 
with the Masonic Order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Modern Woodmen of America, the Knights of Pythias and the Benevo- 
lent and Protective Order of Elks. In politics he has always allied 
himself with the democratic party. 

On January 16, 1895, he married Sarabe McGlathlin, who was born 
at Brookfield, Missouri, in 1871, a daughter of John and Irene (Cris- 
field) McGlathlin, who came to Excelsior Springs in 1881, where her 
father was in the monument business and later real estate dealer. He 
died July 8, 1914, at the age of seventy-eight, while her mother passed 
away in 1906. To the marriage of Mr. Bates and wdfe have been born 
four children: Grace, Eugene, Harry and Donald. 

Joseph Rea. No publication purporting to touch consistently the 
history of Andrew County could justify its functions were there failure 
to pay a tribute of honor to the late Judge Joseph Rea, farmer, banker, 
lawyer and probate judge, for he left a deep and benignant impress upon 
the annals of this county, which represented his home from his boyhood 
days until his death, which occurred on the 28th of February, 1914. 
The judge was a scion of one of the most honored and influential pioneer 
families of Northwest Missouri, and in his sturdy physical and mental 
makeup he represented the best of the fine Scotch and Welsh strains of 
ancestry. 

Judge Rea claimed the old Hoosier State as the place of his nativity, 
but was a lad of six years at the time of his parents' immigration to 
Missouri. He was born in Ripley County, Indiana, on the 13th of No- 
vember, 1837, the second in order of nativity of the two sons and eight 
daughters of Jonathan and Lurana (Breden) Rea, the former of whom 
was born in North Carolina on the 26th of October, 1805, and the latter 
of whom was born in Kentucky, on the 7th of August, 1813, their mar- 
riage having been solemnized in Indiana. Of the ten children, all attained 
to years of maturity and reared children of their own, with the exception 
of one daughter, who died in infancy. The first to die of those who thus 
reached mature age was not summoned to the life eternal until thirty- 
seven years after the death of the parents, each of whom was forty-seven 
years at the time of death and both having expired from attacks of 




J 



J ^o^f,^ /g 



UtLX*. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1401 

pneumonia. That the second generation gave prolific progeny to the 
family line is evidenced by the statement that Judge Rea had nieces and 
nephews to the number of sixty-four. Jonathan Rea was one of the 
sterling pioneers of Andrew County, Missouri, where he developed a farm 
from the primitive wilds and where both he and his wife continued to 
reside on their homestead until the close of their lives. 

Judge Joseph Rea was reared to the sturdy discipline of the home 
farm and while assisting in its work and management during the years 
of his youth he attended the district schools during the winter terms and 
thus laid the foundation for the substantial superstructure of knowledge 
which made him in his mature years a man of strong intellectuality and 
distinctive judgment. After the death of his father, in February, 1854, 
he continued to remain on the old homestead with his mother and sisters 
until the devoted mother likewise passed away, in February, 1861, the 
family having become scattered after that time. Thereafter Judge Rea 
remained on the old home farm with William Pettyjohn, who had rented 
the property, and while actively concerned with the work and manage- 
ment of the place, he devoted as much time as possible to the study of 
law, the reading of which he had previously prosecuted under the able 
preceptorship of Judge William Heren, of Savannah, judicial center of 
the county, this ambitious work having been prosecuted when he was 
also attending the school conducted by Prof. George W. Turner. 

At the inception of the Civil war Judge Rea took a decided stand for 
the Union and became a member of the state militia, and after his mar- 
riage, in 1862, he soon subordinated his personal interests to enlist in 
the Fifty-first Missouri Volunteer Infantry, in which he rose from the 
position of private to the office of first lieutenant of Company B. He 
also served as assistant quartermaster and for a period of about two 
months was in charge of the Gratiot Street military prison, in the City of 
St. Louis. He continued in service until the close of the war, and there- 
after he continued to be identified with agricultural pursuits and stock- 
growing in Andrew County during the remainder of his active career, 
besides which he was engaged in the practice of law for a long period of 
years and gained prestige as one of the well fortified members of the bar 
of this part of the state. For twenty-four years he was the popular 
candidate presented by the democratic party for the office of probate 
judge, for which he was nominated for six consecutive times and to which 
he was elected three times. In each instance of election he had antici- 
pated defeat, and the anomalous condition was that at the time of each 
defeat he had anticipated victory. He served, and with characteristic 
loyalty and ability, three terms as judge of the Probate Court. Judge 
Rea was a man of forceful personality, inflexible integrity in all of the 
relations of life, and generous and considerate in his intercourse with his 
fellowmen, his strong mind and resolute purpose making him well 
equipped for leadership in public thought and action and his very nobil- 
ity of character gaining and retaining to him the confidence and high 
regard of all with whom he came in contact. He was a man of dignified 
presence, more than six feet in height and weighing about two hundred 
and twenty-five pounds in the prime of his life. Sincere with himself 
and others, he demanded a reason for the faith that was to be adopted 
by him, and though he ordered his life on the highest plane of integrity 
and honor he did not become formally a member of any religious organ- 
ization until about fifteen years prior to his demise, when he united with 
the Christian Church, of which he ever afterward continued a zealous and 
earnest member, his widow being one of the venerable and revered pio- 
neer women of the City of Savannah. Judge Rea was a brother of Hon. 



1402 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

David Rea, who was elected a member of Congress from the then Ninth 
District of Missouri in 1872, as candidate on the democratic ticket, and 
who was twice re-elected. Hon. David Rea entered the Union army at 
the beginning of the Civil war and rose to the rank of lieutenant-colonel 
of a Missouri regiment. 

In October, 1862, was solemnized the marriage of Judge Rea to Miss 
Sarah A. Muse, who was born in Fleming County, Kentucky, on the 27th 
of July, 1844, and who Avas five years of age at the time when her parents, 
the late Henry and Mahala Muse, came to Missouri and established their 
permanent home in Andrew County, within whose borders she has con- 
tinued to reside to the present time. Judge and Mrs. Rea became the 
parents of nine children, of whom the eldest is Judge James M., who is 
now serving as judge of the Probate Court of Andrew County, a position 
in which he is admirably upholding the high prestige of the name which 
he bears, individual mention of him being made on other pages of this 
work; Jonathan H. remains with his widowed mother in Savannah; 
Thomas B., who resides at South Omaha, is United States livestock in- 
spector of Nebraska ; Claude is a resident of Edmonton, British Columbia, 
where he is identified with the wholesale grocery business ; Ida is the wife 
of Henry S. Rector, a successful farmer near Tonganoxie, Leavenworth 
County, Kansas; Earl is a farmer and representative citizen of Saline 
County, Missouri, his homestead farm being situated two miles north of 
Marshall; Ellen, under the administration of her eldest brother, is the 
efficient and popular clerk of the Probate Court of Andrew County; 
Bettie died in 1903, at the age of twenty-five years; and Frank H. is 
special agent at Kansas City, Missouri, for the Home Insurance Com- 
pany of New York. 

James M. Rea. In an office that was signally dignified and honored 
by the services of his father, Judge Rea is maintaining the same high 
standard of efficiency and is one of the able and popular executives of 
the government of his native county. He is a son of the late Judge Joseph 
Rea, to whom a memoir is dedicated on other pages of this work, so that 
in the present article it is unnecessary to offer further review of the 
family history, though it may consistently be said that few names have 
been more prominent and represented greater influence in this history 
of Andrew County than that borne by him who is now serving as judge 
of the Probate Court of the county and who is known as a citizen of high 
civic ideals, as well as a man of broad mental ken, well fortified convic- 
tions and unquestioned integrity of purpose. 

In what is now known as the Fisher farm, about two miles northeast 
of the Village of Rea, named in honor of the family, Judge James Muse 
Rea was born on the 26th of August, 1863, a scion of one of the sterling 
pioneer families of Andrew County. He is the oldest of the children of 
Judge Joseph Rea and Sarah A. (Muse) Rea, the latter of whom main- 
tains her home at Savannah, the judicial center of the county, the death 
of her husband having occurred on the 28th of February, 1914. He 
whose name initiates this article has been a resident of Andrew County 
continuously from the time of his birth, save for an interval of one 
year, during which he was identified with the cattle business in Oklahoma 
and Indian Territory, in 1881. He attended the public schools of his 
native county until he had completed the curriculum of the Savannah 
High School, and in fitting himself for the profession in which his father 
achieved distinctive success, he entered the law department of Cornell 
University, at Ithaca, New York, in which he was graduated as a member 
of the class of 1892 and with the degree of Bachelor of Laws, his admission 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOl'RI 1403 

to the Missouri bar having been recorded in the year prior to his grad- 
uation. He engaged in the practice of his profession at Savannah and 
built up a substantial and representative law business, to which he con- 
tinued to devote his undivided attention until his election to the office 
of Judge of the Probate Court, in 1910. His father held this important 
office for three terms and for the same was virtually the "perpetual 
candidate ' ' of the democratic party, and he himself has given an adminis- 
tration marked by great circumspection and care, so that the many 
important interests presented for adjudication in his court have been 
handled most efficiently and to the satisfaction of those concerned. 

Judge Rea has been unswerving in his allegiance to the democratic 
party and has been one of its influential figures in his home county. He 
has been a student of economic and governmental affairs, both local and 
generic, and has never lacked the courage of his convictions. In 1912 
he circulated in Andrew County a petition in support of the initiative 
policy, to enable the people to adopt by vote or to defeat by the same 
process the single-tax policy, of which he is a stalwart advocate. He 
realized fully that the idea was one that was distinctly unpopular among 
the farmers and that his advocacy would possibly lose to him the political 
support of many of the sterling husbandmen of the county, but he held 
principle above personal advancement and lived up to his convictions. 
In the election of 1914 he was defeated at the polls on aocount of his 
convictions as to single taxes, but throughout the campaign no other than 
high encomium as a man and an officer were heard against him. 

On the 2d of June, 1910, was solemnized the marriage of Judge Rea 
to Miss Nellie Barr, daughter of Boyd and Mary Jane (Jenkins) Barr, 
honored pioneers of Andrew County, and the one child of this union is a 
winsome little daughter, Blanche, who was born on the 2d of January, 
1913. 

Jeremiah H. Bryan. The remuneration of an active, useful and 
helpful career is an honorable retirement from labor and a season 
of rest in which to enjoy the fruits of former toil. The individual who 
through consecutive endeavor, resolute purpose, sound judgment and 
unfaltering energy achieves success in the active affairs of life is 
eminently entitled to a period of leisure in which to carry out his 
individual desires and indulge those tastes from which he has been 
formerly withheld by the strenuous duties of business life. For more 
than forty years Jeremiah H. Bryan was prominently identified with 
the agricultural interests of Northwest Missouri, and his career was an 
honorable one, in which his indefatigable labor brought him a hand- 
some competence that now enables him to put aside the heavier burdens 
and find pleasurable recreation in his home and among his numerous 
friends. 

Mr. Bryan was born in Greene County, Virginia, December 18, 1840, 
and is a son of Robert and Lavina (Ganes) Bryan. The family origi- 
nated in Scotland and its founders in America settled in Culpeper 
County, Virginia, from whence Allen Bryan, the great-grandfather of 
Jeremiah H., enlisted for service in the American army during the 
Revolutionary war. Allen Bryan married a Miss Kendall, who was 
of English birth, and among their children was Jerry Bryan, the 
grandfather of Jeremiah H., who served valiantly as a soldier during 
the War of 1812 as a lieutenant. Robert Bryan was born in 1817, in 
Greene County, Virginia, grew to manhood in that vicinity, and in that 
county he married Lavina Ganes, who was born at Dayton, Rocking- 
ham County, in 1814. He then went across the line into Rockingham 



1404 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

County and there engaged in farming during the remainder of his life, 
and passed away at Dayton, aged sixty-five years, while the mother 
reached the advanced age of ninety-three years. They were faithful mem- 
bers of the old Baptist Church which was built in 1802, of chestnut logs 
and afterwards weatherboarded, and which is still standing as one of the 
old historical landmarks near Culpeper Courthouse. Of the eight chil- 
dren in their family, seven grew to man and womanhood, and four are 
living at this time : Jeremiah H. ; Robert, a resident of Roanoke, Vir- 
ginia ; George, who resides at Dayton, Virginia ; and Joe M., who lives 
at Warrensburg, Missouri. 

Jeremiah H. Bryan was reared in Rockingham County, Virginia, 
and received his education in the public schools, upon his completion of 
the curriculum of which he learned the trade of carpenter. He was 
thus engaged and in his twenty-first year when the war between the 
South and North broke across the country in all its fury, and young 
Bryan, casting his sympathies with his state, offered his services to the 
Confederacy and was accepted as a member of Company I, Seventh 
Regiment. Virginia Cavalry. His subsequent services in the ranks of 
the Gray covered a period of three years, three months and twenty days, 
and ended only when he was paroled at the time of General Lee's sur- 
render at Appomattox. Mr. Bryan's military record is one of which 
any soldier might well be proud, his engagements including such famous 
and sanguinary battles as Gettysburg, Second Manassas, Harpers Ferry, 
and all the engagements in which the greatly beloved "Stonewall" Jack- 
son took part ; the battle of Sharpsburg, where he acted in the capacity 
of courier for "Marse" Lee, Port Republic, where he acted in the same 
position for General Jackson, Brandy Station, Spottsylvania, Cedar 
Mountain and Petersburg, surely names to thrill the hearts of the brave 
boys who fought under the Bonnie Blue Flag. Mr. Bryan's service was 
filled with escapades and exciting adventures, and during his service 
around Washington he swam the Potomac River five times. He was 
also a. member of the party which slipped around in Grant's rear, at 
Sabona Church, capturing and running off 2,489 head of cattle, in 
spite of the Union general's 250,000 men. He w T as twice wounded by 
saber cuts, one across the back of his hand and the other across his 
forehead. 

When the fortunes of war resulted in the fall of the Confederacy, 
Mr. Bryan returned to his home, and for three months was engaged in 
teaching subscription school. Following this he resumed the trade of 
carpenter, at which he worked until 1868, but the stirring experiences 
of army life had bred in him the desire for more activity and excite- 
ment than could be furnished amid the environments of his home, and 
he finally left the parental roof and started for Barton and Saline coun- 
ties, Missouri, working at his trade and looking for a suitable place to 
locate permanently. He returned home for Christmas, 1868, but in 
the following spring returned to Missouri, and April 11, 1869, arrived 
at Richmond, Ray County, where he purchased eighty acres of land 
just to the north. He continued to work at his trade and to cultivate 
this land until 1874, when he traded this property for eighty acres of 
raw land, which is his present home. Here he settled down permanently 
to farming, although he continued to work at his trade until some fifteen 
years ago, and it is doubtful if there is a farm in Ray County that does 
not bear some evidence of his skill as a builder. From time to time he 
has added to his holdings, and with each purchase has cleared and im- 
proved the land, even to the planting of shade and fruit trees, and at 
present his holdings include 500 acres in Ray County, 100 acres in Car- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1405 

roll County, Missouri, and 500 acres in Texas. His buildings are of the 
most modern architecture and substantial construction, his improve- 
ments are the best to be obtained, and on his Texas property he has 
recently erected a pumping station worth $7,000. Everything he owns 
has been accumulated through the medium of his own efforts, and it is 
reasonable to believe that a better example of self-made manhood could 
not be found. Of recent years he has retired from the active work of 
the farm, which he has turned over to his sons and son-in-law, although 
he still takes a keen and active interest in the operation of his land 
and through his experience and good judgment aids in making it one 
of the most productive tracts in this part of the state. In business and 
social circles Mr. Bryan is held in the highest esteem; his name is an 
honored one in the commercial and financial world, and his word is 
considered as good as any parchment. He has taken a wholesome pride 
in the advancements which have marked his community's progress and 
development, to which he has contributed by his activities in the business 
world and as a co-worker in movements for the public welfare. • A life- 
long democrat, he has had no desire for public life, but is always ready 
to bear his share of the responsibilities of good citizenship. He is a close 
relative of William Jennings Bryan. The family is connected religiously 
with the Baptist Church. 

On April 24, 1867, Mr. Bryan was united in marriage with Miss 
Mary Frances Fridley, who was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, 
July 26, 1847, and to this union there have been born five children, of 
whom three are living: Jerry N., born March 1, 1877, who is carrying 
on farming in Ray County, Missouri ; John Robert, born Octoher 15, 
1881, a graduate of the University of Missouri civil engineering depart- 
ment, who is now county surveyor for Jackson County, Texas ; and Mary 
Ida, born August 20, 1884, who is the wife of William S. Mayers, living 
on the home farm in Ray County, and has one child. 

Irving Miller. Although the well-directed activities of Irving Mil- 
ler in Northwest Missouri belong to the past rather than the present, 
for he is now a resident of Kansas, they were such as to make his name 
well known and highly esteemed in business circles of Richmond and 
Brookfield, where for some fourteen years he was the proprietor of a 
clothing establishment. A man of excellent business ability, he bears 
a high reputation both in his old and new localities, and as a citizen has 
at all times shown himself helpful and public-spirited. Mr. Miller is a 
native son of Clay Comity, born at Liberty, November 26, 1864, his 
father being the Hon. Robert Hise Miller, Platte County's "grand old 
man," a review of whose career will be found on another page of this 
work. 

Mr. Miller was reared at Liberty, and received his primary educa- 
tion in the graded schools, following which he became a student at Wil- 
liam Jewell College. He did not graduate from this institution, how- 
ever, but entered upon his business career when still in his 'teens in the 
newspaper office with his father, who was the founder of the Liberty 
Tribune and its publisher for about forty years. After a short time 
Irving Miller left the field of journalism for that of commercial activity, 
his father assisting him to establish himself in the clothing business at 
Liberty, and later at Pleasant Hill, where he remained until 1891. At 
that time, seeking a wider field for his abilities, he went to Richmond, 
to which place he transferred his business, there passing a successful 
twelve years in the same line of business. He then disposed of his 
interests there and went to Brookfield, but after two years sold and 



1406 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

went to his present location, the town of Junction City, Kansas. Here 
for nine years his operations have met with satisfactory results and he 
is justly accounted one of the substantial merchants of that nourishing 
locality. 

Mr. Miller was married to Miss Ola M. Lowery, who was born at 
Clinton, Henry County, Missouri, September 16, 1871, and is a daugh- 
ter of James R. and Elizabeth R. (McEltheny) Lowery, natives of 
Harrodsburg, Kentucky, who in young married life came to Missouri 
and located at Clinton. In 1861 Mr. Lowery enlisted in the Confederate 
army for service in the Civil war under the noted southern General 
Price, and served until 1864, participating in a number of engagements. 
He was finally honorably discharged because of disability, having con- 
tracted a serious illness during his service. One daughter has been born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Miller: Miss Ozelle, of Liberty, who is well known in 
this city, where she has many friends, and is a popular member of the 
local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. 

Charles W. Dale. In the county that has been his place of abode 
from the time of his nativity Mr. Dale is now a representative agricul- 
turist and stock grower, his well improved farm being eligibly situated 
in Knoxville Township, Ray County, and his being an assured place in 
the confidence and respect of the people of his native county. He is a 
scion of a sterling old family of this section of Missouri and is a son of 
Moses G. Dale, of whom specific mention is made on other pages of this 
history, so that repetition of the family data is not demanded in the 
sketch here presented. 

Charles W. Dale was born on a farm near Swanwick, in Richmond 
Township, Ray County, Missouri, on the 25th of September, 1857, and 
his early associations were those of the old homestead farm on which he 
was reared to adult age, the while he duly availed himself of the advan- 
tages of the district schools, as well as of the high school at Richmond, 
the county seat. He continued to be associated in the work and man- 
agement of his father's farm until he had attained to the age of twenty- 
three years, and in the following year he assumed connubial responsibili- 
ties, besides initiating independent effort in connection with the great 
basic industry under the influences of which he had been reared. In 
1884 he removed to his present farm, situated north of the little village 
of Dockery, and upon the place he has made excellent improvements of 
permanent order, besides which he reclaimed a considerable portion of 
the land and under personal supervision brought the same under effec- 
tive cultivation. His farm comprises eighty-five acres of fertile land 
and he gives his attention to diversified agriculture and the raising of 
excellent grades of live stock. He has made no dramatic exploits in his 
career, but in a quiet and unassuming way has pressed forward to the 
mark of large and worthy achievement and has never wavered in his 
allegiance to the staunch industry which is the recognized basis of all 
generic prosperity. He is unwavering in his allegiance to the democratic 
party. He is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
his wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and a 
Rebekah. 

On the 5th of October, 1880, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Dale 
to Miss Olivia Magill, who was born in Richmond Township, Ray 
County, which has represented her home during the long intervening 
years, the date of her nativity having been February 8, 1862. She is a 
daughter of William and Mary C. (Haynes) Magill, the former of 
whom was born near Louisville, Kentucky, on the 3d of January, 1816, 
and the latter of whom was born in Tennessee, September 15, 1824. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1407 

Mr. Magill died on the 12th of December, 1905, and his widow still 
maintains her home in Ray County. Of their five children three are 
living : Sallie is the widow of Thomas Lusk and resides in Kansas City, 
Missouri ; Olivia is the wife of Mr. Dale of this review ; and Fannie is 
the wife of Rev. J. L. Joyner, of Whitney, Texas. William Magill was a 
son of William and Polly (Baughman) Magill, and the family came to 
Missouri in 1832, remaining for a few months in Saline County and, in 
the spring of 1833, removing to Ray County, where settlement was made 
near Swanwick, in Richmond Township. William Magill, Sr., one of 
the sterling pioneers of Ray County, was born February 27, 1777, and 
his death occurred in Ray County, Missouri, on the 27th of March, 1847. 
His wife was born November 7, 1780, and was summoned to the life 
eternal on the 23d of Januar}^, 1843, their marriage having been solemn- 
ized January 3, 1803. This worthy couple became the parents of seven 
children: Mrs. Olivia Hodges, the eldest of the children, was born 
November 20, 1803, and died November 22, 1897 ; Henderson Magill was 
born August 26, 1805, and died September 4, 1864; Baughman Magill 
was born April 27, 1807, and died September 14, 1833; Samuel P. 
Magill was born November 21, 1809, and died in 1894; Lorenzo Magill 
was born January 30, 1812, and died July 3, 1887 ; John F. Magill was 
born November 20, 1814, and died within the same year; William Magill, 
Jr., father of Mrs. Dale, was born January 3, 1816, and died December 
12, 1905, as has been previously noted in this context. The family is 
one that has been prominent in connection with the development and 
upbuilding of Northwestern Missouri and the name has ever stood 
exponent of the highest integrity as well as of productive industry. 
William Magill, Jr., first wedded Matilda Hamilton, who was born Jan- 
uary 18, 1827, and whose death occurred August 14, 1855, their mar- 
riage having been celebrated September 12, 1844. Of the six children 
of this union five are living — Baughman, of Triplett, Chariton County, 
Missouri ; Thomas and Henry, who still reside in Ray County, this state ; 
Margaret R., who is the widow of Benjamin F. Baber and resides at 
Richmond, Ray County ; Mollie, who is the widow of John L. Harrison, 
of Ray County; and John, who is deceased. On the 3d of February, 
1856, William Magill wedded Miss Mary C. Haynes, and she still sur- 
vives him, as has been stated in a preceding paragraph. Mrs. Mary C. 
(Haynes) Magill was reared and educated in Ray County and is a 
daughter of Joseph Haynes, who was a native of Murry County, Ten- 
nessee, and whose parents were born in North Carolina. William Magill 
was affiliated with the Masonic fraternity and both he and his wife were 
zealous members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Mr. and 
Mrs. Dale have three children, — Nellie, who is the wife of Thomas M. 
Shelton, of Ray County; Glen married Maud Watkins and is identified 
with agricultural pursuits in this county; and Grover, who remains at 
the parental home. There are two grandchildren, Robert and Eudora 
Dale. 

Joseph L. Ashby. For nearly sixty years a resident of Clinton 
County, Joseph L. Ashby is one of the citizens whose name and a brief 
record of whose career should be permanently recorded in- any history 
of Northwest Missouri. He had his part in the pioneer development of 
Clinton County, and has ably discharged his obligations in making a 
living and providing for home and family, .and has also discharged his 
duties to the general community with an efficiency which brings him 
honor. The Ashby homestead is one of the most interesting as well as 
most valuable farms in Platte Township, comprising 540 acres of land, 
an old and attractive residence grounds, and not least among the pic- 



1408 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

turesque features is the presence of thirty-nine different varieties of 
timber. One of the giant oaks on the farm is perhaps the largest tree 
of its kind in Clinton County. Mr. Ashby has lived in Clinton County 
since 1855. 

Joseph L. Ashby was born November 25, 1831, in Kentucky, and has 
passed the age of four score years. His father was Manzey Quincy 
Ashby, and of notable American ancestry. His grandfather was Na- 
thaniel Ashby, a son of Capt. Jack Ashby, who held a commission in the 
American army during the Revolutionary war and had previously gone 
with the Virginia troops under Washington with the British regulars 
against the French and Indians in western Pennsylvania, on the 19th of 
July, 1753, and was present at Braddock's defeat. He was selected by 
Washington to carry a message containing the awful results of the battle 
to Lord Fairfax, and the latter in turn was to send forward a messenger 
to Governor Dinwiddie. This Capt. Jack Ashby lived to be ninety-two 
years of age. The first of the family to come to America arrived on 
these shores in 1702. He was descended from Sir Edward Ashby, a 
Huguenot. In a later generation of the same family was Gen. T. Ashby, 
who held high rank in the Confederate army during the Civil war. 
Manzey Q. Ashby married Margaret Logan, who was of a Scotch-Irish 
family that settled in Kentucky. Of the children who reached maturity 
the following brothers and sisters of Joseph L. should be mentioned: 
Margaret, deceased wife of Samuel Woodson; Mary McKee, deceased; 
Ellen, wife of George Hamilton ; Archibald L., a writer and editor, who 
died in 1891. The father of this family died at the age of eighty-six. 
At one time he owmed as much as 25,000 acres of Missouri land, and 
was a man of unusual business judgment and ability. Physically he 
stood six feet and weighed 225 pounds. His wife died at the age of 
fifty-six years. 

Joseph L. Ashby was reared in Kentucky, acquired his education 
there, and in his early manhood found the opportunities for a long and 
useful career in Northwest Missouri. His first wife was Mary Evans, a 
daughter of Dr. Peter Evans, a pioneer physician of Kentucky. After 
her death Mr. Ashby married Olivia Dunham, and they became the 
parents of seven children: Adull; Alden, of Clinton County; Erskine 
Birch, of Excelsior Springs, Missouri ; Martha ; Margaret ; Olivia Beery, 
of Lawrence, Kansas ; and Jassamine. All, the children received the best 
of educational advantages. Mr. Ashby is a democrat in politics, is affil- 
iated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and for forty years 
has been a 'teacher in the Sunday school. His own life has been success- 
ful from every point of view, and he has always maintained a breadth 
of judgment and of observation, and has kept well informed concerning 
the great issues of life and world's affairs. 

S. S. Porter. Prosperity in all its meanings belongs to S. S. Porter, 
of Clinton County, where everyone knows him and he knows everybody. 
He has spent all his life there, and is first of all a very successful farmer 
and stockman, and according to the Quaker method of phrasing it is a 
birthright follower of that business. His father was prominent in the 
stock business in Northwest Missouri, and the name stands for success- 
ful operations in that line and for thorough public spirit in citizenship. 

S. S. Porter was born December 21, 1879, on his father's homestead 
in Clinton County, a son of .Benjamin F. Porter. Benjamin F. Porter 
was a son of Samuel S. Porter, of Clay County, Missouri. James Porter, 
a brother of Benjamin F., now living in Plattsburg, was a soldier in the 
Confederate army and lost a leg during the service. The wife of Ben- 
jamin F. Porter died when her son S. S. was fourteen years of age. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1409 

There were four children: Dr. Allen Porter, a prominent physician in 
Kansas City ; the second child is deceased ; S. S. is the third ; and Frank 
B. is a resident of Shoal Township, Clinton County. Benjamin F. Por- 
ter died at Osborn in 1911, at the age of seventy. He was one of the 
extensive cattle feeders, and at times had as many as 500 cattle and 
1,000 hogs. 

S. S. Porter was married November 19, 1902, to Florence Duncan. 
Her father, P. S. Duncan, was born in Clay County, Missouri, April 22, 
1844, a son of Stephen Duncan, a native of Bourbon County, Kentucky, 
and an early settler and stockman in Northwest Missouri. P. S. Duncan 
was married in Taylor County, Iowa, to Mary Severns, and they had five 
children: Florence, now Mrs. S. S. Porter; S. Stephen, who lives on 
the home farm; Leora, who married Wyatt Hord; Henry Clay; and 
Claud. Mr. and Mrs. Porter have four children : Mary Julia, Florence 
Hazel, Virginia Lula and Ben S. S. 

Mr. Porter and family reside in one of the comfortable residences 
of Clinton County, a fine house, of twelve rooms with all modern con- 
veniences. His farm is thoroughly equipped for stock raising, has many 
acres of blue grass pasture, a fine barn 40x60 feet, and each year he 
turns off a large number of cattle. He makes a specialty of Hereford 
cattle. Mrs. Porter is a member of the Christian Church. In politics 
Mr. S. S. Porter is a democrat. 

Aaron B. Conrow, proprietor of a flourishing hardware business at 
Richmond, is numbered among the selfmade men of Ray County. No 
fortunate family or pecuniary advantages aided him at the outset of 
his career. On the contrary, the close of the Civil war found him 
fatherless, his education was necessarily limited, and from his boyhood 
he has been dependent upon his own resources. Obstacles and difficul- 
ties have confronted him, but these he has overcome by determined 
effort, and as the years have passed he has advanced steadily to a posi- 
tion of prominence in the business world. Mr. Conrow was born in 
Richmond, October 28, 1858, and here has spent his entire life. 

Aaron H. Conrow, father of Aaron B., was born June 19, 1824, 
near Cincinnati, Ohio. He spent a part of his boyhood days at, or 
near, Pekin, Illinois, and from that place removed with his parents to 
Missouri and settled in Ray County. Here, through his own energy, 
he obtained a pretty thorough education, teaching school a part of the 
time in order to complete the same, and in this being very successful. 
He then chose the law as a profession and by rigid economy and per- 
sistent labor succeeded in making himself an eminent legist. On May 
17, 1828, he was married to Mary Ann Quesenberry, daughter of David 
H. and Lucinda Quesenberry, natives of Kentucky and early settlers of 
Ray County, and to this union there were born four children, of whom 
three are living: William S., rural mail carrier at Richmond; Aaron 
B. ; and Mamie, who is the wife of J. L. Farris, of Richmond, Missouri. 
The mother of these children passed away February 20, 1901. 

Aaron H. Conrow was appointed by the governor judge of the first 
probate court established in Ray County. From January, 1857, to Jan- 
uary, 1861, he was circuit attorney of the Fifth Judicial Circuit of Mis- 
souri, an office that had been previously filled by some of the most bril- 
liant lawyers of the state. He was an astute and successful advocate, 
a fine judge of law, and a man who never descended to the slightest 
artifice to gain the advantage over an opponent; although ingenious he 
was open and candid, and above all littleness. Judge Conrow was the 
preceptor of several young men who afterward became able and prom- 
inent lawyers, was ever the fast friend of education, and no man ever 



1410 HISTORY OP NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

contributed more liberally to the support of institutions of learning. 

A democrat eminently worthy to be trusted, in 1860 he was elected 
to the general assembly of the state, and was serving as a member of 
that august body at the outbreak of the war between the South and the 
North. Casting his fortunes with the Confederacy, he was instrumental 
in recruiting and equipping the first company organized in Ray County 
for the defense of the cause which he believed right, and ranked as 
colonel of the Murrain State Guards, an organization he had helped to 
create by his vote in the legislature. He was by a majority of his com- 
rades elected to represent his district (the Fourth Missouri) in the Con- 
federate congress, and in that capacity, as in all others, served with zeal 
and promptness. He was at the first meeting and at the final adjourn- 
ment of that body. At the close of the war the amnesty agreed upon 
did not include the members of the Confederate congress and, fearing 
that if he fell into the hands of the successful party his life would be 
forfeited, he went to Mexico, where, soon afterward, he was brutally 
murdered by a band of Mexican soldiers, on, or about, August 25, 1865. 
The last seen of this brave and distinguished man by his family was 
after the battle of Lexington, in which he bad taken part, following 
which he visited his home for a short time. 

Aaron B. Conrow was reared in Richmond, where he attended the 
public schools, but on account of the war his education was limited, 
although in later years his observation, wide experience and much read- 
ing have made him a very well-educated man with a broad knowledge 
of men and affairs. "When eighteen years of age he began his business 
career as a clerk in the store of his uncle, John Quesenberry, and in 
1878 began to carry on operations on his own account as the proprietor 
of a hardware store. This he continued to carry on successfully until 
1893, when under President Cleveland's second administration he was 
appointed postmaster of Richmond, an office which he held until 1897. 
In that year he was elected on the democratic ticket to the office of 
county recorder, and after his first term was re-elected, serving in all 
eight years to the satisfaction of the people of his community. When 
his public service was completed, Mr. Conrow returned to business life, 
purchasing the hardware stock of Jesse Child, at Richmond, and here 
he has since become one of the substantial business men of the city. He 
now has his own two-story building, where he carries a full and up-to- 
date line of hardware, stoves, harness and furniture, and through ener- 
getic effort and the intelligent use of modem methods has attracted^ a 
large and representative trade. Mr. Conrow is known as a public- 
spirited citizen who has ever had the best interests of his community at 
heart, and who is foremost in promoting movements for its welfare. In 
business circles his name is an honored one on commercial paper, and 
whether in business, public or private life, he has always merited the 
high esteem and confidence in which he has been held. 

On November 17, 1881, Mr. Conrow was united in marriage at Rich- 
mond to Miss Ellen Menefee, who was born January 27, 1862, in Ray 
County, Missouri, a. daughter of L. S. Menefee, a prominent attorney of 
Ray County who died during the Civil war. To Mr. and Mrs. Conrow 
there has been born one daughter: Forrestine, who resides with her 
parents. 

John H. Estes. During the eighteen years in which John H. Estes 
has been connected with the business interests of Richmond his career 
has been one of advancement. Coming to this city with many hundred 
dollars less than nothing, a practical stranger, with no influential friends 
or connections, he has so ably conducted his operations and so well 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1411 

directed his efforts that today he is the owner of the largest retail busi- 
ness in Ray County — the Estes Department Store. His life has been 
one of constant industry and indomitable perseverance, and forms an- 
other chapter in the story of selfmade American manhood. 

Mr. Estes was born on a farm in Caldwell County, Missouri, Octo- 
ber 19, 1860, and is a son of James and Mary C. (Ribelin) Estes. His' 
grandfather, William Estes, was born in Kentucky in 1802 and in 1820 
came to Missouri, first locating in Saline County, although shortly there- 
after he came to Ray County and located near Excelsior Springs. Fol- 
lowing this he moved to Platte County, and in 1840 located in Caldwell 
County. Mr. Estes was a slave owner and a successful farmer, and one 
of the fine old characters found among the sturdy pioneers of that day, 
a progressive, enterprising and observant citizen. In 1850 he went to 
California in quest of gold, but was only moderately successful, and his 
trip was saddened by the death of two sons on the plains. Shortly 
after coming to Missouri Mr. Estes was married to Miss Susanna Hiatt, 
who died in April, 1865 ; while he survived until 1894, and passed away 
at the advanced age of ninety-two years. 

James Estes. father of John H. Estes. was born in Ray County, 
December 23, 1828, and was reared in Caldwell County, where he at- 
tended the rural schools. He has spent his entire life in agricultural 
pursuits and has been successful in his ventures, being known as one of 
the substantial citizens of Polo, where he is living in quiet retirement. 
He married Mary C. Ribelin, who was born in Kentucky, October 30, 
1835, and died in 1902 ; and they became the parents of seven children, 
of whom five are living ; William M., a resident of Polo ; Louisa, the 
wife of D. W. Hill, of Polo; Laura C, the wife of Silas Conway, of 
Liberty: Cora L., the wife of A. J. Smoot, of Polo; and John H. 

John H. Estes was reared on his father's farm in Caldwell County, 
and there attended the rural schools, subsequently being a student of 
the graded schools of Kingston. In' 1882 and 1883 he attended the 
University of Missouri at Columbia, and then returned to his home and 
farmed until 1884, when he went to Lathrop, Missouri, and obtained a 
position as clerk, which he held for three months. Following this he 
went to Turney, Clinton County, Missouri, and purchased a one-half 
interest in the store at that point belonging to his employers, the firm 
then becoming Bohart, Goff and Estes; but after eight months at that 
place they moved the stock to Kingston, Missouri. In 1887 Mr. Estes 
formed a partnership with W. H. B. Carter under the firm style of 
Carter & Estes. and in 1889 they moved the stock to Polo. The business 
was conducted at that point until 1895, when through hard times and 
a loose credit business the firm was forced to' cease operations. This 
would have been enough to totally discourage the majority of men, but 
Mr. Estes was made of sterner stuff; and January 20, 1896, he arrived 
in Richmond with several wagon loads of merchandise which he had 
moved overland from Polo. At this time he was far in debt and the 
goods were not even paid for, but he courageously settled down to re- 
habilitate his fortune and to restore his good name in the business world. 
His first place of business was a small room on West Main Street, two 
doors east of his present location, where he started under his father's 
name. In two years time, so faithfully had he labored, that he had 
cleared himself of debt and purchased the John C. Brown mercantile 
stock. His original quarters he found much too small for his rapidly 
increasing business, and he moved to his present establishment, where 
he occupies a double storeroom, 40x150 feet, with a. basement 40x90 feet, 
and a balcony in the rear of the main floor 31x40 feet. He carries a 
stock valued at $50,000, including dry goods, men's furnishings, chil- 



1412 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

dren's clothing, ladies' ready-to-wear, shoes, hardware, graniteware, 
china, crockery, paints, wallpaper and millinery, the latter in the bal- 
cony. Twenty skilled clerks are regularly employed in this large enter- 
prise, and at rush times many more are added. Mr. Estes is a well- 
read, broadminded man and a booster for his city, his county and his 
state, being amply capable and ever ready to convince even the most 
skeptical why this is the best community in the world. He is a member 
of the board of trustees of the Association of Missouri Municipalities, 
which has been since its organization a state-wide association for the bet- 
tering of conditions in the smaller towns and cities and to give publicity 
to the great advantages of the State of Missouri. He has various outside 
interests and is the owner of valuable farming property in Colorado. 
On January 1, 1890, Mr. Estes was married to Miss Sophronia Isabelle 
Madden, who was born in Clinton County, Missouri, a daughter of James 
C. and Nancy (Hardwick) Madden. To this union there has been born 
one son, Earl C., a graduate of the University of Missouri, class 1913, 
and now engaged in business with his father. 



John Mount. A former soldier of the great Civil war, John Mount 
has lived in Northwest Missouri since 1871, when he. located in Ray 
County, but for many years has been a practical farmer of Davis Town- 
ship, in Caldwell County, and is now living retired at a comfortable home 
in Braymer. The same fidelity which marked his career as a soldier has 
characterized his later years of citizenship, and he is one of the highly 
esteemed men of Caldwell County. 

John Mount is a Tennesseean by birth, grew up in that state, but when 
the integrity of the nation was submitted to the fortunes of war he took 
the Union side, and in 1862 enlisted in Company K of the Second Ten- 
nessee Infantry, under Capt. J. D. Underdown and Col. James Carter. 
He saw his first active service at Cumberland Gap on April 25, 1862, 
and continued with the regiment until his honorable discharge on June 
15, 1865. For part of the time he was in the army of General Burnsides. 
On November 5, 1861, Mr. Mount was taken prisoner, and for several 
months suffered all the horrors and destitutions of Northern men in 
Southern prisons. He was confined for a time at Belle Isle, was in the 
Andersonville Stockade, and later at Florence, South Carolina. When 
he went into the army he weighed 160 pounds, but starvation, exposure 
and other sufferings reduced his weight- to 90 pounds before he was 
released and rejoined his comrades. At Andersonville he saw dozens 
of his comrades die of starvation and exposure, and he was a prisoner 
there when the commander was Major Wurtz, who was afterwards, 
because of his brutal treatment of the prisoners, tried and hanged by 
the United States Government. After his honorable discharge Mr. 
Mount returned to his Tennessee home. 

John Mount was born in Tennessee in 1840, a son of Samuel and 
Isabel (Underwood) Mount. His father was a native of North Carolina, 
but the family came from Pennsylvania, and the mother was a daughter 
of George Underwood, who saw active service in the "War of 1812. Samuel 
Mount died at the age of seventy-six. The children were: John; Ella 
McKnight, whose husband was a soldier ; Mary Petty ; Humphrey ; Martha 
Estes; Henderson; I. P., now deceased; George, deceased; Margaret; 
Napoleon B. ; and Rebecca. 

John Mount, a few years after the close of the Civil war, in 1871, 
located in Ray County, Missouri. In 1867 he had married, in Tennessee, 
Ella Thornburgh. She was born in Tennessee in 1842, a daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Moody) Thornburgh. Her father died at the age 




MR. AND MRS. JOHN MOUNT 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1413 

of eighty-four years. He was a farmer, and a member of the Methodist 
Church. After living in Ray County for a time Mr. and Mrs. Mount 
moved into Caldwell County, where he acquired a good farm four miles 
from Braymer, comprising 130 acres. He still owns this farm, but now 
rents it and has retired to a comfortable residence in Braymer. His farm 
is well improved, with good house and barn, and its cultivation gave him 
the prosperity which has enabled him to pass his later years in retirement. 
Mr. Mount is an active member of the Grand Army Post at Braymer, 
and is a strong republican in politics. His church home is the Methodist 
Episcopal. 

Of the children born to Mr. and Mrs. Mount only two are now living. 
A daughter, Clara Phillips, died in Oklahoma, leaving one child, William 
Earl. The son now living is Doctor Mount, a successful physician at 
Polo, Missouri. The daughter is Almeda Phillips, who lives in Caldwell 
County. Doctor Mount has one son, while Mrs. Phillips has three chil- 
dren, Roscoe, Velma and Ira. 

William G. Carter. A pioneer of Northwest Missouri and a farmer 
near Martinsville, William G. Carter has resided on the hill where is 
located his home since 1867. He came here from Gentry County, Mis- 
souri, where, near Lone Star, he was born October 23, 1841. His father 
was Vinson Carter, who settled in that county in the spring of 1811 and 
after the land was surveyed and sectionized he entered a tract and there 
spent the remaining years of his life in the peaceful pursuits of the 
soil, devoting himself to mixed farming. Vinson Carter died at the age 
of seventy-five years, in 1889, having been born January 4, 1814, and 
was buried in the Carter Cemetery, near his old home, his wife lying 
beside him. Before her marriage she was Patience Glendenning, a 
daughter of William Glendenning, who came to Missouri from Ohio in 
1841, and died about 1851, leaving two sons and four daughters. 

Vinson Carter was a native of Tennessee, born near White River, in 
which vicinity he resided until a young man. He married his wife in 
Putnam County, Indiana, for Greencastle was one of the Indiana towns 
of which he spoke familiarly. He was a man of fair farmer's educa- 
tion and the nearest he came to having a military experience was when 
he assisted in scaring the Indians out of Gentry County. When the 
republican party was organized he became an adherent of its principles 
and continued to support its candidates until his death. His only pub- 
lic service as an official was in the capacity of school teacher, but he is 
remembered as a citizen always ready to bear his share of respon- 
sibilities. In his religions faith, Mr. Carter was a Methodist and did his 
part in erecting the place of worship in his locality, in those times the 
community schoolhouse. He had no fraternal connections and was op- 
posed to secret orders, which were contrary to his belief. 

The children born to Vinson and Patience Carter were as follows: 
Elizabeth, born June 9, 1840, became the wife of Wesley Mock, and now 
resides near the home of her brother William G., in Harrison County, 
Missouri ; William G., of this review ; Susanna, born January 27, 1844, 
who became the wife of Jackson Dye and died in the vicinity of Grant 
City, Missouri ; Elijah Albert, born January 13, 1846, who is now a resi- 
dent of New Hampton, Missouri; John Lewis, born July 7, 1849, who 
resides near Lone Star, Missouri; a twin brother of John Lewis, who 
died in infancy ; Martha, born September 28, 1852, who became the wife 
of William Clellon, engaged in agricultural operations in the vicinity 
of Martinsville, Missouri; Milton Riley, born October 16, 1854, who is 
now a resident near New Hampton, Missouri ; Hiram Frank, born April 
27, 1857, who is carrying on farming on the old Carter homestead near 



1414 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Lone Star, Missouri; Jane, born September 1, 1861, who became the wife 
of Filmore Needles, and died in Gentry County. 

Vinson Carter was a son of Elijah Carter, who came to Missouri with 
his son, by way of ox-teams, and settled near the Carter Cemetery, in 
Gentry County, one of his daughters being the first person to be buried 
in that graveyard, the grave being made by her brother, Joseph. Among 
the children of Elijah Carter were : Betsy, who became the wife of John 
Glendenning ; Vinson, the father of William G. ; Leta, who married 
Richard Glendenning, a brother of John ; Joseph ; Nancy, who became 
the wife of John Glendenning, a brother of the mother of William G. 
Carter ; Katie, who married Hugh Ross ; a daughter who became the wife 
of Cubbige Needles ; Lewis ; Nathan, and Martha, who was first the wife 
of George Ross and after his death married Mr. Swank. 

William G. Carter received his education in the district school near 
Lone Star, his only schoolhouse being one of logs. During his first 
term in search of educational training he was forced to travel through 
the timber for a mile and one-half, following a "blazed" path, and 
as there were many wild hogs and other menaces to children roaming 
in the woods at that time, the neighbors were wont to accompany the chil- 
dren to and fro. Mr. Carter's first call from under the parental roof 
was when he entered the army for service during the Civil war, in 1861. 
He first enlisted for six months in Colonel Cragnor's regimen*, which 
rendezvoused at St. Joseph, and after his time had expired he spent 
a few months on the home farm and then entered the three-years service. 
His company was B, belonging to the Thirty-fifth Regiment, Missouri 
Volunter Infantry, and his first captain was Captain Scott, who, however, 
proved so incompetent that he resigned and^the company was without 
a captain until near the close of the war. The" first colonel of the Thirty- 
fifth was Kimball, and the second a West Point man named Foster, but 
the boys of the regiment did not like Foster's red tape and they succeeded 
in getting rid of him without an investigation, he being succeeded by 
Lieutenant-Colonel Fitch. 

The Thirty-fifth Missouri Infantry was organized at St. Joseph, and 
was sent to St. Louis for drill at Benton Barracks. The regiment 
went from there to Jefferson City for thirty days, then returning to St. 
Louis, and going thence down the Mississippi River to Columbus, Ken- 
tucky, and on to Helena, Arkansas. At the latter point it did guard duty 
for a long time, or until an expedition was formed to go down on the 
Yazoo River, in Mississippi, but was there but a few days when ordered 
back to Helena. It made next a trip to DuVall's Bluff and on its return 
was sent up the Red River from Helena, was mustered out at Little Rock, 
Arkansas, and was finally discharged at St. Louis, in 1865. Mr. Carter 
participated in the battle of Helena under General Prentiss, and there, 
as elsewhere, proved himself a brave and faithful soldier. 

When his military career was finished, Mr. Carter returned to his 
home and resumed his agricultural pursuits, becoming a farmer and 
stockman. At the time of his marriage he was possessed of $400 in 
money, a team of horses, two cows and a heifer. He lived on a rented 
farm the first year, in Gentry County, and in the spring following began 
his career as a farmer in Harrison County. Mr. Carter paid $3 an acre 
for 100 acres in section 5, township 61, range 29, and built a loghouse, 
twelve feet square, just opposite his present dwelling, and to this cabin he 
brought his wife, it continuing to be their place of dwelling for perhaps 
ten years. This primitive home was succeeded by a frame structure, in 
keeping with the progress of the times, and just before his youngest child 
married, Mr. Carter erected his present commodious and extensive home, 
this now being accounted one of the splendid residences of the county. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1415 

When Mr. Carter started farming in Harrison County, he broke the 
sod and planted corn, and about the only way he had of getting cash was 
from hogs and cattle, although even then little was secured as only meager 
prices were obtainable. He was energetic, thrifty and persevering, how- 
ever, and came to be the owner of 1,000. acres of land, and as his sons 
married, he helped them substantially to a start in life. Mr. Carter was 
one of the organizers of the Bank of Martinsville, of which he has been a 
director since its inception, and of which he is now president, managing 
its affairs with an ability which has done much to make it one of the 
strong financial institutions of Harrison County. He has also other 
business interests, and is a stockholder of the New Hampton Lumber 
Company. 

In political matters Mr. Carter is a republican, but has confined his 
activities in politics to casting his vote. He is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, in which he is active, and has served his congregation 
at Martinsville as an official. 

Mr. Carter was married February 22, 1866, to Miss Martha Wilson, 
a daughter of Adam and Matilda (McDonald) Wilson. Mr. Wilson 
came from Albany. Kentucky; to Missouri and settled first in Gentry 
County, but passed his final years in Harrison County, and died Sep- 
tember 12, 1897. at seventy-eight years of age, having been born May 30, 
1819. Mrs. Wilson passed away April 21, 1911. when almost ninety-two 
years of age. Their children were as follows : Elizabeth, who married 
William Clopton and lives at Jefferson, Iowa; Mary Ann, who died in 
childhood ; Mrs. Carter, born February 3, 1846 ; James, a resident of 
Carlyle, Kansas ; Harriet, who married Silas Ebersole, of Big Springs, 
Kansas ; John, of St. Joseph, Missouri ; Catherine, who married Sam 
Meredith, of Martinsville, Missouri; Ellen, who died as Mrs. Harvey 
Spillman; and Phebe, who became the wife of Tobe Coleman and died 
while a resident of Harrison County. 

The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Carter have been as follows : 
Lewis P., born July 11, 1868, a resident of Lake City, Iowa, married 
Carrie Thailor, and has six children. Dean, Edith, Frank, Gertrude, Sam 
and Fay; Adam H., born September 26, 1870, a farmer near Martinsville, 
married Fannie Young, and has five children, William Y., Raymond, 
Thomas, Edgar and A 7 elma ; Vinson A., born February 6, 1873, a farmer 
near Washington Center, Missouri, married Maud Scott, and has four 
children, Ray, Gladys, Alice and Mildred; Charles O., born November 23, 
1876. is a farmer near the homestead of his father, married for his first 
wife Rebecca Adair and for his second Myrtle VanHoozier, and had four 
children by his first wife, Clarence, deceased, Marie, Cora and Jessie, 
and one child by his second wife, Wayne; John R., born July 31, 1879, 
a farmer of Harrison County, married Femma Young, and has three 
children, Roy, Loren and Vondalena ; and Silas Franklin, born Novem- 
ber 5, 1881, a farmer on the property adjoining that of his father, 
married Fannie Creekmore, and has five children, Goldie, Lloyd, Lois, 
Gracie and Leslie. 



William Davidson. For more than forty years William Davidson 
has been identified with the splendid country about Worth. His earlier 
years were spent in the strenuous activities of the Middle West and Far 
West, and always as a busy and industrious citizen. Mr. Davidson has 
passed the age of three score and ten, and has a retrospect over the 
years that have gone that can be contemplated only with satisfaction, 
since in that time he has gained those prizes which are the dearest ambi- 
tion of mankind — ample material prosperity, provision for home and 
family, and the respect and esteem of a community. 



1416 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

William Davidson was born in Putnam County, Indiana, February 
22, 1841. His birthplace was near Mount Meridian, situated on the old 
National Road, a noted thoroughfare constructed before the time of 
railroads, from the eastern side of the Alleghenies across the states of 
Ohio, Indiana and Illinois to the Mississippi River and surveyed even as 
far as Jefferson City, Missouri. His grandfather was William Davidson, 
of Scotch-Irish stock, who was perhaps a native of Ireland and came to 
America prior to the Revolutionary war. He afterwards settled in Erie 
County, Pennsylvania. He was an uncle of Captain Lewis, noted in 
American history as one of the Lewis and Clark Expedition to the 
Pacific Coast in the early part of the eighteenth century. Among the 
children of William Davidson were : William, Thomas, Polly and 
Joseph. Some of his children lived near Zanesville, Ohio. 

Joseph Davidson, father of William, was born in Erie County, 
Pennsylvania, grew up there, and was educated in the schools of that 
section. When a young man he started West, locating in Illinois, and was 
identified with the early survey in that section of the country. While 
there he was first married. The children of this marriage were : Simon, 
who spent his life as a farmer and died at Boulder, Colorado, leaving a 
family ; Ann, who married a railroad man and is believed to have died 
in Nodaway County, Missouri; Medina, who married Robert Mann and 
spent most of her years in Iowa, but died at Boulder, Colorado; Joseph, 
who went out to California and died at Sonoma ; Allen, who also went 
west and died at Willis, California, leaving a family. Joseph Davidson 
removed from Illinois to Putnam County, Indiana, about 1838, and 
there married, after the death of his first wife, Elizabeth Albin. She 
was at that time the widow of John Collins. Her father, William 
Albin, came from Pennsylvania after living there many years to Ken- 
tucky, was one of the pioneers, and then settled in Putnam County, 
Indiana. The second Mrs. Davidson died in Worth County, Missouri, 
in 1885 at the age of seventy-six. Her children by Mr. Collins were: 
Thomas H. ; Sarah J., who married Jesse Wright and lives in the Province 
of Alberta, Canada ; T. H. Collins, who practiced law in Missouri twenty 
years and at Denver, Colorado, sixteen years, died in the State of Wash- 
ington, leaving a family. The children of Joseph and Elizabeth David- 
son were : William ; Angeline, who died in Gentry County, Missouri, as 
Mrs. Warren Hill; Frances, who married Fred Cassins and died at 
Cisco, California, leaving two sons; and Laura, who died unmarried. 
Joseph Davidson and family removed from Indiana in 1851 to Iowa, 
locating in Fremont, eight miles south of Sidney, where he spent the rest 
of his years, passing away in 1854, when about seventy years of age. 

William Davidson, who was ten years of age when the family came 
to Iowa, spent most of his early years on the frontier, where civilization 
had established few institutions, and his schooling was extremely limited 
owing to the absence of regular instruction in most of the neighborhood 
where his youth was spent. He lived for some years both in Iowa and 
Nebraska, but became of age in Missouri. He was in Gentry County, 
Missouri, at the beginning of the Civil war and in 1862 joined Company 
E of the First Missouri Cavalry of the Missouri State Militia under 
Captain Joseph H. Little and Colonel McFarran. This regiment acted 
under special orders for the guarding of the state after the Confederates 
had been driven off, and for a time it was stationed along the St. Joseph 
and Hannibal Railway, and had one small skirmish at Kirksyille. They 
were then south of the Missouri River, and remained at Lexington or in 
that vicinity until Mr. Davidson was discharged after having served 
eleven months. 

After his military experience Mr. Davidson sought entirely new 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1417 

fields of adventure. With an ox team and wagon he joined a caravan in 
Nebraska bound for Montana. His mother and sister accompanied him 
on this eventful journey. They were part of a train consisting* of about 
sixty wagons, and followed the Platte River route, through Wyoming, 
through Bridger Pass until reaching the road leading from Utah to 
Virginia City, and arrived in the latter place without delay or special 
incident. While there Mr. Davidson engaged in mining, but his pros- 
pecting brought him little substantial results. Dissatisfied with that 
section of the West, he left after a year and in the fall of 1864 arrived 
in Humboldt County, California. He engaged in stock raising with a 
location near the Eel River, and spent about nine years in that location 
with considerable profit. 

In 1873 Mr. Davidson returned to Missouri, his mother making the 
trip over the railroad, which had been constructed since they made their 
overland journey. On returning to Missouri Mr. Davidson bought land, 
a partly improved tract of 160 acres, in Section 18, including the old 
Smithton Village in Worth County. There he began his industrious 
career as a Missouri farmer. His home has been in that vicinity with 
the exception of eight years spent on the Kansas frontier in Sheridan 
County. He located there in 1890, bought a claim and engaged in both 
farming and stock raising. The decade of the '90s was a somewhat 
disastrous period for the farmers of Western Kansas, and in all the eight 
years spent there Mr. Davidson succeeded in raising only two crops,, and 
was finally compelled to leave owing to the persistent drought. The chief 
advantage of his residence there was that it enabled him to keep his 
children in school at Hoxie, near his home, and in the State Normal 
School. Returning to Worth County in 1898, Mr. Davidson moved to his 
present farm in Section 18, and his residence stands not far from the 
old townsite of Smithton, the former county seat, the site of which is 
included in his land. It is a matter of interest to note that Smithton 
was named in honor of Mrs. Davidson's father, Eli Smith! some facts 
concerning whose interesting career as a pioneer in this section of 
Missouri are found in succeeding paragraphs. At the present time 
Mr. Davidson owns and operates 500 acres in this part of the state, 
raising grain and stock. 

Mr. Davidson throughout his career has endeavored to perform those 
duties and obligations which are the part of good citizenship. His first 
presidential vote was cast for Abraham Lincoln in 1864, and he has 
never wavered from that political allegiance and has taken little stock in 
either the populist or free silver movements or the still later progressive 
propaganda. As to religious matters, one of his parents was a Baptist 
and the other a Christian, and he has compromised by choice of the 
Presbyterian faith, in which he has long held membership. Fraternally 
he is a Mason. 

Mr. Davidson was married at Independence, in Jackson County, Mis- 
souri, March 15, 1871, to Miss Esther Mary Smith, eldest daughter of 
Eli Smith, who came from New Lexington, Ohio, May 7, 1857. 

Eli Smith was of English descent, his father, James Smith, having 
come to America in an early day and settled in Washington County, 
Ohio, where he was married. Eli Smith was one of nine children. In 
1842 he married Sarah Stewart. The only child, Arthur Smith, born 
to this marriage, died in 1879, at Omaha, Nebraska. Sarah (Stewart) 
Smith died in 1846. In 1847 Eli Smith married Miss Julia Ann Skinner. 
The four children of this . marriage were: Esther Mary, Mrs. William 
Davidson, who was born in 1847 and died in 1910; Sarah Leanna, who 
is Mrs. H. C. Miller and lives at Seneca, Missouri ; Julia Amanda, who is 
Mrs. T. A. Chase and lives at Pasadena, California ; and James Jefferson, 
who died in infancy. 



1418 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

In 1857 Eli Smith moved from New Lexington, Ohio, and built a 
home on the Middle Fork branch of Grand River, situated in Worth 
County, Missouri. The site of this home later became the first county 
seat of Worth County. It was called Smithton in honor of its founder. 
Smithton remained the county seat of Worth County until about the close 
of the Civil war, when the county offices were removed to a more central 
location, at the site of the present Grant City. During the strenuous 
days that preceded the Civil war Smithton was the principal trading 
point in Worth County. The closest railroad was at St. Joseph, and all 
supplies were freighted overland from that point. Eli Smith was promi- 
nent in the pioneer affairs of North Missouri, both in its political and 
civil life. In the early part of the Civil war he enlisted in Colonel 
Cranor's regiment and held the office of quartermaster. Every movement 
for the betterment of North Missouri found Mr. Smith in the front ranks. 
As a temperance man he was uncompromising in his belief. After the 
close of the Civil war Mr. Smith was made a member of the assembly 
which drafted the new constitution of Missouri. 

In 1863 Mrs. William Davidson, then fifteen years of age, moved 
with her father to Lexington, Missouri, where Eli Smith engaged in the 
mercantile business. There Mrs. Davidson received a high school educa- 
tion, subsequently supplemented by a course in a private institution of 
learning. Esther Mary Smith, whose death, as noted, occurred in 1910, 
possessed in a high degree the sterling qualities of her father. No 
mother ever showed a more unselfish devotion to her family and felt 
more keenly the responsibilities of home. Unselfish to a fault, ever 
ready to assist in the relief of human suffering, she lived a life of beauty 
and love that only her family and friends could appreciate. She was a 
member of the Presbyterian faith, in early life took an active interest 
in church affairs, but with the increasing cares and responsibilities of her 
home exemplified there her beautiful Christian spirit and lived always 
a life of high ideals and beauty of character. 

While Mr. Davidson may regard with considerable satisfaction his. 
experiences and accomplishments in the world of material effort, he is 
justified in taking special pride in his children, all of whom are now 
useful members of society and employed as workers and home makers 
in different parts of the country. The children are : Arthur D., Chase 
E., Phebe E., Clarence, Grace L., Frank L., Elmer S., Muriel and 
Kathryn. 

Arthur D. Davidson, the oldest, was born in Worth County, Missouri, 
July 30, 1873, and died August 18, 1905, at the age of thirty-two. His 
boyhood days were spent in Missouri and Kansas, and in the latter state 
he attended high school and at the age of twenty took a commercial 
course in a Denver business college, graduating, and then returning to 
Hoxie, Kansas, and was employed for two or three years as bookkeeper 
in a bank, finally went to Oklahoma and was manager of a company 
store at that place, and the last year of his life was spent as cashier of a 
bank in Oklahoma. Phebe E. Davidson, who is the wife of Russell Green, 
of Midfields, Texas, was born in Worth County, spent her early life there, 
attended school at Hoxie, Kansas, and at Omaha, and after graduating 
from the normal school at Emporia, Kansas, engaged in teaching until 
her marriage. Chase E. Davidson, who is now a merchant at Worth and 
married Lucy Wilson, spent his boyhod days in Missouri and Kansas, 
attended a Kansas high school, later acquired a commercial training, and 
after returning to Worth was employed for a time as manager of a 
lumber company and finally engaged in the hardware trade. The son 
William C. Davidson is now a civil engineer with R. J. Windrow, of 
Waco, Texas, engaged in the building of public highways. He was 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST 'MISSOURI 1419 

graduated from the University of Missouri in 1905 in the civil engineer- 
ing course, took post-graduate studies in the same department, and was 
an instructor in the engineering department and was finally offered an 
assistant professorship. For two years he was connected with the office 
of the state highway engineer at Columbia (as deputy highway engineer) 
and from there went to Fort Worth, engaged in highway construction, 
and finally to Waco. The daughter Grace L. Davidson was born in 
Missouri, graduated from the Hoxie High School in Kansas, attended 
the Emporia Normal School, and for several years was a successful 
teacher. September 10, 1914, she married Mr. M. P. Hudson, of Grant 
City, Missouri. Frank L. Davidson, also a native of Missouri, received 
his education in Kansas and Missouri, graduating from the commercial 
college at St. Joseph, and is now identified with farming and stock 
raising. Elmer S. graduated from the St. Joseph Veterinary College 
and is now engaged in his profession and also in farming. Muriel David- 
son, who is now the wife of Fred Burnham, of Jourdanton, Texas, was 
born in Kansas, graduated from the Grant City High School, attended 
the normal at Warrensburg, Missouri, and after her return home taught 
school until her marriage. The youngest child, Kathryn, was born in 
Kansas, is a graduate of the Grand City High School, attended Chris- 
tian College at Columbia, and is now at home. The sons Frank L. and 
William C. are both members of the Masonic order, while Elmer and 
Chase are affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The 
daughters, Phebe E., Grace L., Muriel and Kathryn, are members of the 
Eastern Star. 

D. Harfield Davis. One of the builders of Gallatin from the time 
it was a village sixty years ago, D. Harfield Davis is best known as a 
successful druggist, and has sold goods to a widening circle of patronage 
in this locality for nearly six decades. A merchant who stays in one 
community and succeeds through such a period of time necessarily pos- 
sesses the best qualities of the business man — integrity, a settled policy 
of square dealing, and the ability to win and keep the confidence of his 
custom. The "good will" of such an establishment as the D. H. Davis 
Drug Company is worth more than capital and stock of many concerns. 
Along with the responsibilities of private business affairs, Mr. Davis has 
borne many of the burdens of citizenship and in the early days held such 
important offices as county treasurer and postmaster at Gallatin. 

D. Harfield Davis was born in Clark County, Virginia, one mile from 
the famous Lord Fairfax estate and near the city of Winchester, April 
26, 1836. His parents were Baalis and Eliza (Timberlake) Davis, both 
natives of Virginia, where the mother died. The Davis family is of 
English and Welsh extraction. Baalis Davis was a merchant in Vir- 
ginia and in 1855, accompanied by his son, D. Harfield, came out to 
Missouri. There are comparatively few men still living who have an 
accurate recollection of conditions in this state sixty years ago. All of 
Northwest Missouri was then isolated from railway communication and 
the only methods of transportation were by river and by the crude over- 
land wagon or horseback travel. In leaving Virginia the father and 
son traveled along the old Baltimore & Ohio Railway, the pioneer line, 
as far as Wheeling, West Virginia, and there embarked on a river boat, 
descending the Ohio River to Louisville, thence to St. Louis, and came 
up the Missouri by boat as far as the old river port of Waverly. At 
that point The New Lucy, on which they had traveled from St. Louis, 
lost her rudder and the rest of the trip to Gallatin was made with horse 
and wagon. On reaching Gallatin Baalis Davis and his son, D. Harfield, 
engaged in the drug trade, and with that line the son has been almost 



1420 HISTORY 'OP NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

continuously identified every subsequent year. Such a record in mer- 
chandising is rare in Missouri. 

In 1855, when they arrived, Gallatin had less than three hundred 
population, had one brick house and three stores. The entire county had 
only one other center of population boasting a name, and the inhabitants 
were very thinly scattered over this section. Most of the land was still 
owned by the Government. There were as yet no railroads, and Daviess 
County had no railroad, properly speaking, until 1878. About the time of 
the Civil war the old Hannibal & St. Joseph Railway was constructed 
across the northern part of the state, but that was some twenty miles 
or more south of Gallatin. In the early days all goods brought to Galla- 
tin were hauled in wagons drawn by oxen from Camden, on the Missouri 
River, a distance of seventy-five miles. 

In politics Mr. Davis has been a democrat, with continuous affiliation 
through nearly fifteen presidential campaign periods. While his party 
allegiance has been the same in fundamental principles, Mr. Davis was 
always a strong Union man and a supporter of the Federal Government 
during the time before, and during and after the Civil war, when differ- 
ences of opinion were very marked in this locality. During the war Mr. 
Davis served as treasurer of Daviess County. At one time more than 
forty-six thousand dollars were in his keeping. A report came to him 
that bushwhackers were liable to make a raid on the town at any time, 
and in anticipation of such a raid he took the money from the treasurer's 
vault and concealed it in the county jail, where it remained until all 
danger had passed. It is interesting to recall the times of Mr. Davis' 
service as postmaster of Gallatin. His first commission in that office 
was given by President Buchanan, who, it will be remembered, was 
elected President in 1856. During Lincoln's term Mr. Davis was con- 
tinued in office, and also held office for a part of Grant's administration. 
Mr. Davis was a member of the first Gallatin Common Council and 
for many years served as a member of that body and also of the school 
board. Another means of important service to the community was his 
purchase in 1869 of the local newspaper known as the Torchlight, the 
name of which he changed to the Gallatin Democrat. That journal is 
now one of the oldest publications in Northwest Missouri, has been con- 
tinuously under the name of the Democrat for forty-five years, and is 
perhaps as widely read and as influential as any weekly paper in North- 
west Missouri. Mr. Davis conducted the paper for three or four years, 
and then sold it and returned to the drug trade, with which he has been 
identified to the present time. His company is now the D. H. Davis 
Drug Company, but its management he has turned over practically to 
others. 

There is no merchant in Daviess County who has so long continuously 
been identified with business as Mr. Davis. His business record covers 
fifty-nine years, and his acquaintance is probably more extensive than 
that of any other man living in the county. He knows not only the 
greater part of the people, both young and old, who are now active, but 
his recollections teem with memories of men and women long since called 
to their reward and who were conspicuous actors in the early days. 
Practically every important change in the transformation of this country ■ 
from a wilderness has been witnessed by Mr. Davis, and he may properly 
be referred to as one of the human landmarks of the county. Mr. Davis 
is a bank director and owns considerable real estate in Gallatin. 

In 1858 Mr. Davis married Miss America Osborne, of Gallatin, a 
native of Covington, Indiana. She came to Daviess County, Missouri, 
with her father, Jesse Osborne, who was one of the pioneers. The five 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1421 

children of Mr. and Mrs. Davis were: Robert and William, now 
deceased ; Madora, Frank and Virgie. 

John C. Leopard. When the institutions of law and order were all 
fresh and new in Daviess County, the name Le*opard became identified 
with the local bar at Gallatin, and for practically sixty years the name 
has been associated with the best ability and achievements of the profes- 
sion. Father and son, the men of this name have practiced law, and 
during his time the older Leopard was considered from many quarters 
to be the ablest legal figure in this part of the state. The present John 
C. Leopard has spent all his life in Gallatin, and for many years has 
represented the best in his profession, both so far as private success and 
accomplishment in the broader fields of citizenship are concerned. 

John C. Leopard was born in Gallatin July 20, 1862, a son of John 
A. and Caroline (Cravens) Leopard. His father was born in Morgan 
County, Virginia, December 25, 1828, a son of Jacob Leopard, who spent 
all his life as a Virginia farmer. John A. Leopard died at Gallatin July 
30, 1905. Caroline Cravens was born in Rockingham County, Virginia, 
November 24, 1824, and died at Gallatin February 13, 1913. Both 
branches, both the Leopards and Cravens, were people of foremost ability 
and of distinguished influence in Northwest Missouri. 

The late John A. Leopard was graduated in law from Princeton 
University in 1850 and was one of the few college-bred men in the 
ranks of the early bar in Missouri. For two years following his gradua- 
tion he was associated professionally with a member of the Schley family, 
related to Admiral Schley, at Frederickstown, Maryland. In 1852 John 
A. Leopard set out for the West, having chosen Missouri as the state in 
which he would gain the honors and perform the services connected with 
his profession. By river boat chiefly he made his way to Lexington, 
Missouri, and thence crossed the country to Gallatin, which was then a 
small village chiefly conspicuous as a county seat, He established a law 
practice in the same year and followed his profession very actively 
until after the war. He finally retired to a tract of land two and a 
half miles northeast of Gallatin, built a log house in the woods, improved 
the land and continued to live there until his death. 

Fortunately it is not necessary to dismiss the character and career of 
this pioneer lawyer without a more adequate recognition of his attain- 
ments. At the time of his death in 1905 many tributes were paid to 
his memory by old friends and associates, and one that perhaps best esti- 
mates his position as a lawyer and his general character was that con- 
tained in a letter written by Judge H. C. McDougal of Kansas City, but 
formerly probate judge and one of the distinguished lawyers of Gallatin, 
and the essential paragraphs of this communication to the son of the late 
Mr. Leopard are herewith quoted : 

' ' The beautiful and touching tribute to his memory by his old friend 
and mine, D. Harfield Davis, printed in the Gallatin papers, inadvert- 
ently omitted the mention of your father's splendid scholarship, iron 
logic and rare powers as an eloquent, forceful, persuasive speaker before 
courts, juries and people. 

"When I came West and located in Gallatin nearly forty years ago, 
John A. Leopard was the ripest scholar, the widest, deepest, and best read 
member of the North Missouri bar. His diction, whether in private talk 
or speech, was always couched in- strongest and clearest English, while 
his iron logic in its irresistible force and power was like unto that of 
John C. Calhoun. Then there was a musically rhythmic ring and swing 
to his lofty eloquence and pathos, his classical and poetical reference, that 
charmed every thoughtful listener. 



1422 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

"I have since heard many able lawyers, in many courts, but have 
always believed that the most pleasing, eloquent and instructive law 
argument to which I ever listened was one made by your father in a 
land case before Judge Robert L. Dodge, then presiding in the old 
Common Pleas Court at Gallatin, back in '69. To me the marvel of it all 
was that his subject was that dryest of all dry legal questions, 'covenants 
running with the land,' and I do not yet understand how his wisdom, 
learning and logic enabled him to make so much out of it, but I can 
never forget the effect of that argument on court and bar. 

"The last public address I heard your father deliver was on the 
4th of July, '71, in front of the old court house at Gallatin. The bitter- 
ness of the Civil war still rankled in the hearts of the people, but by his 
charming personality, musical eloquence and fervent, patriotic appeal 
for peace and good will, he won the hearts of all and made each hearer 
feel that he was a better citizen. Soon after this he retired from the 
activities of life, quit the town, went to the farm and there amid the 
quiet of the home and family, the books, the magazines, the woods, flowers 
and birds he loved so well, like the sage and philosopher that he was, 
he calmly and fearlessly awaited the closing scene. 

"His heart and his manners were as simple and unaffected as those 
of a little child, yet he was a most unconscious and unambitious intellec- 
tual giant whose like has seldom come to gladden the soul and brighten 
the pathway of his friends." 

In September, 1854, the late John A. Leopard married Caroline 
Cravens. She was a daughter of Dr. John and Ruhama (Douden) 
Cravens, both natives of Virginia, where they were married. From 
Virginia they emigrated with their eight children in 1836 to the Far 
"West. In a covered wagon they arrived in Saline County, Missouri, in 
the vicinity of Marshall, and Doctor Cravens lived there for two years, 
farming and practicing medicine. In 1838 he brought his family to 
Daviess County and entered land formerly occupied by the Mormons, 
2!/2 miles northwest of Gallatin, in the beautiful Grand River 
Valley. A part of that land is still owned by his descendants. It was 
then a wilderness, a scene of great natural beauty, with wild game in 
the woods in superabundance, and with Indians still common and familiar 
visitors. Doctor Cravens lived at a little locality where he established 
a village known as Cravensville. He was the prominent figure there, 
and in the early days Cravensville was a rival with Gallatin for the 
honors of the county seat. The question was settled in favor of Gallatin, 
and Cravensville has long been only a memory. In 1850 Doctor Cravens 
himself moved to Gallatin, and built there the first brick dwelling, and the 
only one in the little village for several years. That house stood on the 
corner where the Farmers Exchange Bank is now located. Doctor 
Cravens practiced medicine until the close of the Civil war and then 
moved to a farm north of town, where his son, E. H. Cravens, now lives, 
and resided there until his death in March, 1882. His wife died in 
November of the same year. Doctor Cravens was a whig in politics and 
active as long as that party existed. During the '40s he served as a 
member of the Daviess County Court. 

John C. Leopard was fifth in a family of seven children. Oscar is 
now deceased, also Frank B., while Charles W. and Holmes D. are both 
bachelors living on the old home farm, and two died in infancy. John 
C Leopard received his early education in the country and in the Galla- 
tin schools and for three years was a student in the Normal College at 
Kirksville. Under the distinguished direction of his father he took up 
the study of law, and in 1883 continued his studies with J. F. Hicklin. 
In October, 1885, he was admitted to practice after examination before 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1423 

a committee appointed by the judge of the local courts, and in 1886 
entered a law office at Pattonsburg. Mr. Leopard practiced with growing 
success at Pattonsburg for ten years, and in 1896 his election to the office 
of prosecuting attorney of Daviess County caused him to remove to 
Gallatin, where he has since lived and practiced. He was reelected 
prosecuting attorney in 1898 and again in 1902 and served three terms. 
From 1908 to 1912 he gave a capable administration of the office of mayor 
of Gallatin, through two terms. In politics he has always been aligned 
with the democratic party. Mr. Leopard is affiliated with the Independ- 
ent Order of Odd Fellows and is a member of the Gallatin Commercial 
Club. 

On December 10, 1891, Mr. Leopard married Miss Mary E. May, of 
Pattonsburg, a daughter of Gabe May. Mr. and Mrs. Leopard have 
two children : Buel is now a teacher in the Jamesport High School, and 
Dean, who completed the classical course at the University of Missouri, 
is now in his second year in the law department of the State University, 
and has stood at the head of his class each year and is one of the edi- 
torial staff of the Missouri University Law Bulletin. 

Wesley L. Robertson. In Daviess County not to know "Wes" 
Robertson, the able and popular editor of the Gallatin Democrat, is 
virtually to argue one's self unknown. Mr. Robertson has been identified 
with the newspaper business from his boyhood days, when he gained 
admission to the fraternity through dignified and indulgently arbitrary 
incumbency of the exalted post of "printer's devil," in which capacity 
he doubtless manifested the usual independence and unconscious malevo- 
lence ever associated with the office. He is familiar with all practical and 
executive details of the business and as a publisher and editor has been 
concerned with the issuing of newspapers in various Missouri towns and 
cities, and few representatives of the "art preservative" have a wider 
acquaintanceship in this state. Mr. Robertson has been engaged in the 
newspaper business for more than forty years and is consistently to be 
designated at the present time as one of its most progressive and effective 
exponents in Northwest Missouri, the while his attitude is significantly 
that of a loyal and public-spirited citizen who is every ready to exploit 
local interests and to lend his influence in the support of measures and 
enterprises tending to advance the general welfare of the community. 

Mr. Robertson is a scion of staunch old American ancestry, and though 
his parents were natives of the State of New York he himself claims. 
New England, that cradle of much of our national history, as the place 
of his nativity. He was born at South Coventry, Tolland County, 
Connecticut, on the 30th of June, 1850, and is a son of David and Caro- 
line (Mitchell) Robertson. He was but seven years of age at the time 
of the death of his father, who was a farmer by vocation, and his early 
education was acquired in the country schools of his native state, this 
being supplemented by effective individual application and by the disci- 
pline of the newspaper office, — a training that has consistently been 
termed the equivalent of a liberal education. In 1865, at the age of 
fifteen years, Mr. Robertson accompanied his widowed mother on her 
removal to Missouri, and after passing one year on a farm in Putnam 
County they removed to Centerville, the judicial center of Appanoose 
County, Iowa, where, in 1868, Mr. Robertson gained his initial experience 
in connection with the mysteries of the "art preservative of all arts" 
by assuming the position of "devil" in the office of the Centerville Citi- 
zen. He became a skilled compositor and general workman, and in 1872 
he gave inception to his independent career as a newspaper editor and 
publisher, by purchasing the plant and business of the Princeton 



1121 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Advance, at Princeton, the county seat of Mercer County, Missouri. 
There he remained until 1881, when he sold the business and removed 
to Bethany, Harrison County, and became editor and publisher of the 
Bethany Broadaxe. In 1881 he disposed of his interests at that place 
and purchased the New Century, at Unionville, Putnam County. Of 
this property and business he later disposed and in 1886 he established 
his residence at Gallatin, Daviess County, where he purchased the Galla- 
tin Democrat, of which he continued editor and publisher until 1891, 
when he sold out and again indulged his itinerant journalistic proclivi- 
ties by removing to Plattsburg, Clinton County, where he appeared as 
editor and publisher of the Plattsburg Jeffersonian until 1897, when 
another sale and change was made by him. He purchased the "West 
Plains Gazette, at the judicial center of Howell County, but only three 
weeks later he retired from this association, and in 1898 he returned to 
Oallatin, where he formed a partnership with Robert J. Ball, the present 
postmaster of this city, and effected the purchase of the Gallatin Demo- 
crat, of which he had previously been editor and publisher, as already 
noted in this context. With this paper he has since been identified as 
editor and publisher and he has brought the same up to high standard 
as an exponent of the interests of the city and county and of the prin- 
ciples of the democratic party, of which he has long been a prominent 
and influential representative in Missouri, each of the papers with which 
he has been identified having been published at a county seat, and no 
publisher of weekly newspapers in the state having been more zealous 
in the effective advocacy of the party cause. The Gallatin Democrat is 
one of the leading organs of the party in Northwest Missouri, is modern 
in letterpress and general makeup, is ably edited and receives a consistent 
advertising patronage, the value of which is fortified by its circulation, 
which is now fully three thousand copies. The news and job departments 
of the plant have an excellent and up-to-date equipment, including a 
recently installed typesetting machine, and the business has been made 
distinctly prosperous and profitable under the able management of Mr. 
Robertson, whose personal success and advancement have been won 
entirely through his own ability and efforts, as he has been dependent 
upon his own resources from boyhood. In this connection it should be 
noted that his mother passed the closing years of her life at Centerville, 
Iowa, and was about sixty years of age when she was summoned to 
•eternal rest. 

Mr. Robertson has been an appreciative and valued member of the 
Missouri State Historical Society from the time of its organization and 
is at the present time a member of its executive committee. He is 
specially prominent and popular among the representatives of the news- 
paper fraternity in his home state, this being indicated by his service as 
president of the Northwest Missouri Press Association and as president 
of the Missouri Press Association, in each of which bodies he is still an 
active and influential figure. For five years Mr. Robertson was secretary 
of the Missouri State Board of Charities, as a member of which he was 
appointed by Governor A. M. Dockery. He is sincere, earnest, broad- 
minded and genial, resolute in the upholding of his convictions, and 
tolerant in his judgment, so that he naturally has gained and retained a 
host of friends in the state that has so long represented his home. Mr. 
Robertson is a prominent member of the Gallatin Commercial Club, is 
affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and both he and 
his wife hold membership in the Methodist Episcopal Church South. 

In 1872 Mr. Robertson wedded Miss Martha Mitchell, who died in 
1880. They became the parents of three sons, one of whom died in 
infancy; Albert M. is editor of the Capital Democrat, at Tishomingo, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1425 

Oklahoma, and Gay R., who was graduated at the University of Missouri, 
is a mechanical engineer by profession and is now in the employ of the 
Atlanta Ice & Coal Company, of Atlanta, Georgia. In 1883 was sol- 
emnized the marriage of Mr. Robertson to Miss Eppie Davidson, of 
Gainesville, Texas. They have no children. 

Robert J. Ball. In his rise from the position of ' ' devil " in a print- 
ing shop to that of postmaster of Gallatin, Daviess County, to the half- 
ownership of the Gallatin Democrat, the presidency of the Commercial 
Club of this city, and various other positions of trust and importance, 
Robert J. Ball has given a notable illustration of the exercise of American 
energy, ability, integrity and superior mental attainments. While it has 
been his fortune to be identified with Gallatin during the period of its 
greatest growth and development, much of this development has come 
as a result of his contributions to its interests. At any rate, he fills a 
large and influential place in the community. 

Mr. Ball was born at Gallatin, Daviess County, Missouri, May 25, 
1873, and is a son of Alonzo Conrad and Elizabeth Frances (Boggs) 
Ball, natives of Kentucky. Alonzo Conrad Ball was born March 8, 1823, 
at Lexington, Kentucky, and in 1854 came to Missouri, settling in Boone 
County, where he resided one year, his advent in Gallatin occurring in 
May, 1855. His ancestors on his father's side were of Irish descent, 
while his mother was of German descent and bore the maiden name of 
Sheeley. Mr. Ball's grandfather, the great-grandfather of Robert J. Ball, 
was a Revolutionary soldier, enlisted under Washington in Virginia,, 
and General Washington's mother was a Ball and of Irish ancestry. 
Alonzo C. Ball was married at Richmond, Kentucky, in 1849, to Elizabeth 
Frances Boggs, and the trip to Missouri was made partly by boat and 
partly overland. Mr. Ball was a carpenter and contractor, and one of the 
first of his vocation to come to Daviess County, his shop for many years 
being located on the southwest corner of the square, where the Fitterer 
grocery now stands. That he was highly esteemed in the community 
in which his home was made for many years is evidenced by a tribute 
by one of his friends, which appeared in the newspapers of Gallatin, 
and which said, in part, as follows: "Our friend Ball, with the impetu- 
osity of the Celtic race and breathing the chivalric air of the blue grass 
of Kentucky, could not be anything else than a unique character. Whilst 
Mr. Ball has occupied no public positions of trust, in his sphere of action 
he has been an independent, fearless character, having ideas and views 
of his own, a strong will and inflexible purpose to do and say what he 
believes to be right, regardless of all consequences. For us to know a 
man we must meet him upon a common plane and get in close com- 
munion with him and in touch with his aspirations and trend of mind. 
We have known A. C. Ball forty-nine years, always found him to be 
frank and outspoken. If a friend, a true one, and always ready to punish 
an enemy and had no compromise to make. A typical Kentuckian, 
strong in his likes and dislikes." Mr. Ball died May 1, 1908, and inter- 
ment was made at the Brown Cemetery, his comrades of Surgeon John 
Cravens Camp, U. C. V,, acting as honorary pallbearers. Mrs. Ball 
passed away October 19, 1901, having been the mother of nine children, 
as follows : Mollie, Sallie, Frank C. and Willie, who are deceased ; John 
H., who is engaged in contracting and building at Bridgewater, Massa- 
chusetts; Mrs. Lydia Thomas, a resident of Gallatin; Mrs. Maggie B. 
Edwards of Quincy, Illinois; L. D., who is proprietor of the hotel at 
Trenton, Missouri; and Robert J. 

Robert J. Ball received his education in the graded and high schools 
of Gallatin and in 1887 entered upon his career as "devil" in the office 



1426 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

of the Gallatin Democrat, of which Wes L. Robertson was owner and 
editor. From the time of his first connection with this paper a warm 
regard between employer and employe has been maintained. Mr. Ball 
rose to be foreman on the paper, then superintendent of the plant, and 
in 1898 bought a half-interest. As his partner, Uncle Wes Robertson, 
expresses it: "Mr. Ball reached the point in salary where he (Mr. 
Robertson) figured it would be better for him to sell a half interest and 
let Ball help foot the bills. ' ' With the exception of a short period when 
Mr. Robertson was identified with other ventures, the partnership has 
continued uninterruptedly to the present. 

Long an active worker in democratic politics, in 1913 Mr. Ball was 
chosen postmaster of Gallatin by Hon. J. W. Alexander, and since May 
1st of that year has ably discharged the duties of that office. His admin- 
istration has been marked by much improvement in the service, and he 
is proving one of the most efficient and popular officials that Gallatin 
has known. For some years Mr. Ball was secretary of the Democratic 
County Committee. Fraternally he belongs to the Royal Arch Masons, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of 
America and the Woodmen of the World. He is a member of the 
Northwest Missouri Press Association and its first vice president, and in 
January. 1915, will become its president by succession. He also holds 
membership in the Young Men's Christian Association and the Gallatin 
Commercial Club, and in 1914 was appointed president of the latter 
organization. The following is quoted from the Gallatin North Missou- 
rian, issue of November 19, 1914: ''From the 'devil' in a print shop to 
the presidency of the Gallatin Commercial Club. That is what we call 
making good, and such was the sentiment of every member of the club 
at the 6 :30 luncheon on Tuesday evening, when Robert J. Ball, post- 
master and junior editor of the Gallatin Democrat, was chosen the 
active head of the Gallatin Commercial Club, succeeding C. M. Harrison. 
The committee is to be congratulated upon their selection, as a better 
man could not have been chosen. Ball is a live wire, energetic, a tireless 
worker and a splendid fellow. The club can rest assured that their 
interests will be carefully safeguarded and that the organization will 
move along with plenty of the right kind of enthusiasm and spirit. Mr. 
Ball is a 'gingery' man and whatever he undertakes he puts 'ginger' into 
it and makes it a success. Then, too, he is self made and has come up 
the line through his own efforts. ' ' 

On March 5, 1896, Mr. Ball was married to Miss Theo M. Welden, of 
Gallatin, a daughter of C. H. Welden, a pioneer, ex-county official and 
prominent citizen of Daviess County. Four children have been born to 
Mr. and Mrs. Ball : Marjorie, Eleanor, Robert Welden and Conrad 
Luckey. Mr. Ball is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South. 

Too much credit cannot be given to Mr. Ball. He started at the 
bottom, without means, and through thrift, intelligence, perseverance and 
clean living has risen to a place high in the esteem of his fellow citizens. 
It is to such men that the community must look for its further devel- 
opment. 

John AY. McClaskey. In the spring of 1914 the citizens of Gallatin 
chose to the office of mayor a local business man who for upwards of 
thirty years had been known for his integrity and energy in pushing his 
individual enterprises, and it was on the basis of his thorough fitness for 
the office rather than any activity in polities that he was chosen to give 
Gallatin a thoroughly businesslike administration of its municipal 
affairs. Mayor McClaskey has spent practically all his life in Daviess 
County, represents families that were associated with pioneer things in 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1427 

this locality, and his own career has added some important particulars 
to the family record. 

John W. McClaskey was born at Auldberry Grove, in Daviess County, 
October 4, 1851, a son of Albert and Martha (Koger) McClaskey. Both 
his parents were natives of Kentucky. When Daviess County was still 
a wilderness, in 1838, there arrived as one of the pioneers James Koger, 
grandfather of the Gallatin mayor. He stopped at a place five miles 
north of Gallatin, in the midst of the woods, and made entry to and 
purchased 160 acres of land from the Government. Then followed the 
building of a log house in the midst of the timber, the felling of count- 
less trees to make an area for his plow, and gradual improvement along 
one line and another until he had perfected a homestead sufficient to 
provide all the material wants of the family. James Koger was a good 
business man, increased his land holdings, and lived in that locality until 
his death about 1859, his wife having died in 1856. The old Koger home- 
stead is now owned and occupied by a grandson. All the twelve children 
in the Koger family are now deceased except Joseph Koger, of Gallatin, 
and Mrs. Martha McClaskey died November 30, 1906. The McClaskey 
family has an interesting origin. Two brothers came from Scotland and 
crossed from the Atlantic seaboard over the mountains into Kentucky 
about the time Daniel Boone led the emigration into the western wilder- 
ness. It is believed that nearly all the McClaskeys in America are 
descended from either one or the other of these two brothers. Students 
of genealogy have come to the conclusion that the original name was 
Claskey, who were established in the lowlands of Scotland, and later & 
branch of the stock went into the Scotch highlands and in order to dis- 
tinguish themselves from the lowlanders took the prefix "Mc" and thus 
the American McClaskeys are descended from a highland clan of Scot- 
land. It was about 1845 that Albert McClaskey, with his brother, Joseph, 
emigrated from Kentucky to Daviess County, Missouri. These McClas- 
key brothers were millers rather than farmers, and they added to the 
pioneer industry of Daviess County by establishing a sawmill at Auld- 
berry, while later Albert operated a mill in Livingston County and lived 
there several years. In 1853 he went out to California as a gold seeker, 
making the trip overland, and died there about eighteen months after 
he left Missouri. Albert McClaskey and Martha Koger were married in 
Daviess County, and the latter lived continuously in this county from 
the arrival of her parents in 1838 until her death in 1906. The Gallatin 
mayor was the second of three children. His sister, Eliza Jane, first 
married Mr. Duskin and is now the wife of Joseph Lee, of Gallatin. 
His brother is James M. McClaskey, of Gallatin. 

John W. McClaskey grew up in the country district of Daviess 
County, and has some interesting memories of the first schoolhouses that 
he attended. The first temple of learning in which he was a pupil was 
a log cabin, at one end of which was a broad fireplace, and at the other 
end a log was left out of the wall to admit light and air. The floor was 
covered with puncheons, and the boys and girls sat on benches which 
were heavy slabs supported by pins driven into the under side. All the 
furnishing was crude, and he wrote his first copy lesson with an old- 
fashioned quill pen. During his school days and early youth he lived 
at home with his mother, who owned a farm, and when not in school was 
active in performing the chores and doing the work in the fields and at 
planting and harvest times. When he had learned all the local schools 
could supply in the way of education, he secured a certificate and took 
up the work of teacher, which he followed during the winter seasons, 
and continued to lend a hand at the farm during the summers. 

Mr. McClaskey established a home of his own by his marriage on 



1428 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

August 22, 1876, to Miss Virginia A. Smith. She was a daughter of 
George A. Smith, a resident of West Virginia, and was visiting relatives 
in Daviess County when she met and married Mr. McClaskey. After 
his marriage Mr. McClaskey began farming as a renter, and for several 
years continued to combine the vocations of agriculturist and school 
teacher. In 1881 he bought a farm four miles northwest of Gallatin, and 
conducted his own place until 1886. In that year he sold out. moved to 
Gallatin, and after one year in the lumber business, began buying and 
shipping live stock. In 1893 he established a bus and transfer line and 
was in that business until 1910. For the past five years Mr. McClaskey 
has been in the grain, feed and milling business. 

Mrs. McClaskey died September 20, 1888. She was the mother of four 
children : Forest D., Holly, Everett C. and Cloris. Holly and Cloris are 
now deceased. On January 8, 1909, Mr. McClaskey married Mrs. Fannie 
Estis Smith. By this marriage there is a daughter, Martha Y., born in 
January, 1910. Mr. McClaskey is a member of the Methodist Church, 
while his wife is a Baptist. He has been associated with the Masonic 
fraternity since 1883. 

While in politics his support has been regularly given to the demo- 
cratic party since casting his first vote forty years ago, Mr. McClaskey 
has never in any way indicated a desire for office, and it was only at the 
solicitation of his many friends that he consented to become a candidate 
for mayor, and all citizens have reason for congratulation on his election 
for a term of two years. 

Samuel Rathbun. Almost a lifelong resident of Caldwell County 
and for many years a progressive farmer in Davis Township, Samuel 
Rathbun has enjoyed the best elements of success, having acquired a good 
home, having given his family the comforts of living and education, and 
having steered an honorable and straightforward course throughout his 
own career. Mr. Rathbun owns and occupies a fine homestead of 222 
acres in Davis Township, and it is land on which he was born, and which 
his father entered from the Government, paying 12i/ 2 cents an acre. A 
fair valuation of the land at the present time would be over a hundred 
dollars an acre. Mr. Rathbun has the distinction of having been born in 
a log cabin, and that was the typical home in Caldwell County sixty or 
seventy years ago. The log cabin has long since disappeared, and in its 
place is now found a handsome modern country home of six rooms, fur- 
nished and equipped with taste and comfort. A beautiful lawn, with 
shade and evergreen trees and flowers are among the attractive features 
which are at once noted by the passing traveler. Other features of the 
equipment are commodious barns and sheds, and the farm is divided 
between pasture, meadow and grain fields, with thirty acres of good 
native timber, furnishing abundance of fuel. It is a model rural home, 
and there Mr. Rathbun and his good wife enjoy the comforts of life. As 
a farmer he has paid much attention to the raising of high grade hogs 
and cattle, and his success illustrates what can be done by the agriculturist 
in Northwest Missouri. 

Samuel Rathbun was born in Caldwell County, October 20, 1847. 
His father. Allen Rathbun, was one of the earliest pioneers, having come 
to Caldwell County in 1837, about the time the Mormons were driven out 
of this section of Missouri. He took up a tract of Government land, and 
the title to that farm has never been changed in name since it was deeded 
direct from the Government. Allen Rathbun was born in Cayuga 
County, New York, and comes of a family of mingled Scotch and English 
descent. Members of the Rathbun family have participated in practically 
all the wars of the American nation, beginning with the Indian troubles 




MR. AND MRS. SAMUEL RATHBUX AND DAUGHTER. MRS. LULU HUDSON 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1429 

and in the Revolution, the War of 1812, the Mexican war, and the Civil 
war. From New York the family moved to Ohio spent some years there, 
where the father of Allen Rathbun died and is buried. Allen Rathbun 
married in Ohio for his first wife Mary Ann Edmonds, and the four 
children of that union are all now deceased. His second wife was Eliza- 
beth Anderson, a woman of much strength and nobility of character, 
who became the mother of five children. The. son, John, was a soldier 
in the Thirty-third Missouri Infantry, and gave up his life for his country 
in 1863, when only eighteen years of age. The daughter, Martha Phillips, 
is now deceased. The son, Robert, is also deceased, leaving Samuel the 
only survivor. Allen Rathbun was born in 1805 and died on May 17, 
1862, and his second wife, Elizabeth, was born in 1819. Allen Rathbun 's 
third marriage was to Mary Mann, on August 16, 1855. The one daughter 
of this union, Sarah L. Phares, is still living, and twin boys died in 
infancy. Allen Rathbun was a man of intelligence and good judgment ; 
his word was regarded as sacred as his bond, and in the early community 
of Caldwell County, where he lived, he enjoyed the highest esteem of all 
who knew him. 

Samuel Rathbun grew up on the old homestead, was taught the value 
of hard work, and has always been a useful and independent member of 
the community. Mr. Rathbun recalls the first school he attended, which 
was kept in an old log house, with slab benches, a puncheon floor, and a 
fireplace at one end. There he received instruction in the three R's, 
and has since advanced his education by generous reading and by dealings 
with men and affairs. Mr. Rathbun has been frequently honored with 
positions of trust and responsibility in his community, and served for 
several years as a justice of the peace and kept a court before which all 
men were equal and treated with absolute impartiality and fairness. In 
1866 Mr. Rathbun left Caldwell County and spent a couple of years in 
farming in Dallas County, Iowa, but with that exception his residence has 
been practically uninterrupted in Caldwell County. 

In 1871 Mr. Rathbun married Miss Martha F. Thompson. Her father 
was Samuel Thompson, who came to Missouri from Indiana and made 
a fighting record as a soldier of the Mexican war. He also had two sons 
who were soldiers in the Civil war, named Samuel and William A. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rathbun are the parents of a daughter, Lulu, who was married 
October 29, 1914, to Ernest Hudson, and they now reside at the Rathbun 
homestead. A son, William Albert, was born September 1, 1873, and 
died November 20, 1878. 

Mr. Rathbun cast his first presidential vote for General Grant in 
1868, and has never deviated from the strict party lines maintained by 
the grand old party. He has throughout his life believed in and practiced 
the golden rule, and his home has always been a. center of attractive 
hospitality. He is a member of the Methodist Church, while his wife 
and daughter belong to the Christian denomination. 

George W. Lockridge. Probably no man in official service has done 
more for Daviess County during the last fifteen or twenty years than 
George W. Lockridge, who is the county surveyor and highway, engineer. 
From early youth he showed a genius for mathematics, and is a thor- 
oughly grounded and practical engineer, and is able not only to plan but 
to execute the construction of any work from a modern highway to a 
complex river bridge. He is a past master in his profession, and through 
it has contributed much to public improvement, especially in that 
important department, first-class highways. His home is at Gallatin. 

His family has been identified with Northwest Missouri from the time 
when Daviess County was a wilderness except in the few localities 



1430 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

improved by the vanguard of settlers. George W. Lockridge was born 
November 26, 1871, on his father's old farm three miles north of James- 
port, in Jamesport Township. His parents were John and Caroline 
Poage (Miller) Lockridge, both now living retired in Jamesport. The 
former was born in Jamesport Township in 1846 and the latter in Rappa- 
hannock County, Virginia, in 1845. The paternal great-grandfather, 
Lancelot Lockridge, was a native of Virginia and of an old family of 
that province, where he owned many slaves and employed them to work 
his extensive plantation. Grandfather Andrew Lockridge, who was born 
and married in Rappahannock County, about seventy years ago put his 
possessions in a covered wagon and made the long migration over the 
mountains and through the valleys and across the plains of the Central 
"West to Daviess County. The land he located and secured from the 
Government in section 15 of Jamesport Township, is still owned by his 
descendants. There the grandparents spent their remaining years, and 
both died in the same year, in 1854. 

At that time John Lockridge was eight years old, and during the 
following years the orphan boy lived at different times with Judge 
Robert C. Williams, whose wife was an aunt, and also with his uncle. 
Nathan Gillilan. To escape the turmoil and discord of the Civil war he 
accompanied his sister and brother-in-law to Des Moines, returning to 
Missouri when the war was over. He had then nearly reached his major- 
ity, and while living with his sister made plans to take possession of the 
100 acres which he had inherited from his father. The lumber for his 
first house, a story and a half structure, 16 by 32 feet, he hauled by 
wagon from Chillicothe, a distance of thirty-two miles. He possessed 
the industry and business judgment required for success in farming, and 
his prosperity is measured in part by the fact that .he increased his 
original 100 acres to 600, comprising one of the best country estates in 
Daviess County. A large part of this he has since distributed among his 
children, and is now enjoying the fruits of a well spent career in ease. 

John Lockridge married a Daviess County girl whose family is like- 
wise of pioneer stock and old Virginia ancestry. Her parents, James W. 
and Harriet P. (Allen) Miller, were born in Rappahannock County, Vir- 
ginia, and some years after their marriage came out to Daviess County, 
where their settlement was made subsequent to the Lockridges. Their 
location was on wild land in Jamesport Township, but after several years 
James W. Miller removed to Jamesport and became a clerk in the old 
Etter store. From there he went to Gallatin, and was for years the 
trusted and right-hand man in Etter 's One Price Cash Store. The only 
important break in his long mercantile experience was during the years 
from 1883 to 1886, when he devoted himself to the careful handling of 
the county clerk's office. 

Both the Lockridge and Miller families were of the old school Pres- 
byterian faith, and in politics all the men adhered to the democratic 
party. The seven children of John Lockridge and wife are: Charles 
Sidney, a farmer in Jamesport Township ; George W. ; Harry Tate, a 
farmer in Jamesport Township ; Homer, farming in the same locality ; 
Mrs. Hattie Hill, of Grand River Township ; Walter, who occupies the 
old homestead ; and John Franklin, who is chief train dispatcher with 
one of the Northwestern railroads, his headquarters being at Pocatello, 
Idaho. 

On the old homestead in Jamesport Township stood a schoolhouse 
attended by all the Lockridge children. The first teacher whom George 
W. knew was John C. Leopard. He took the usual curriculum of a 
country school, being noted for proficiency in arithmetic, and later was 
a student in the Gallatin High School. At the age of nineteen he took 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1431 

an examination and was granted a teacher's certificate, with which 
qualification he soon afterward appeared as the master at the Cole 
Springs School, and later had charge of the Griffith and Smith schools. 
His experience was then varied with employment in a drug store at 
Bancroft. In pursuit of more knowledge, he next entered the Grand 
River College at Gallatin, then under Rev. Dr. Pope Yeman, a noted 
Baptist clergyman. In the middle of his first term he definitely deter- 
mined upon civil engineering as his career, and at once entered the State 
School of Mines, at Rolla, where he was a student 2y 2 years, completing 
the general mathematical course. 

With this training, on his return to Daviess County he at once fitted 
into an unexpired term of county surveyor, was elected at the next 
regular election and continued in the office for eight consecutive years. 
As a side line, during two years of that time, he taught mathematics in 
Grand River College. His early experience in a drug store may have 
influenced his next move. After passing the examination before the 
state board and being qualified as a registered pharmacist, he formed 
a partnership with Dr. M. A. Smith, and for about eight years con- 
ducted a drug business in Gallatin, finally selling his interests in 1906. 
Going to Cameron he remodeled and opened a drug store for other 
parties, and was getting $20 a week for his work. In April, 1908, he 
resigned the position to begin work with the Dildine Bridge & Con- 
struction Company of Hannibal, which also had offices in Cameron. 
His first employment with this firm was in the capacity of a common 
laborer, but in a very short time he was promoted to foreman, and then 
went to Hannibal as superintendent of construction in the steel mills. 
He resigned this to become superintendent of construction on the rock 
road then being built between Hannibal and Palmyra. When this work 
was finished, he returned to Daviess County and resided at Pattonsburg 
until again elected to the office of county surveyor in 1912, with a major- 
ity of over nine hundred votes. Mr. Lockridge has saved the county 
thousands of dollars each year as a result of his expert knowledge, which 
enables him to do his own designing, purchasing of materials, and super- 
vising of construction. He draws all plans for bridges constructed in 
Daviess County. 

By marriage Mr. Lockridge is also connected with an early Daviess 
County family. His wife before her marriage, which was celebrated 
June 20, 1900, was Miss Minnie Frances Roger, of Pattonsburg. William 
G. Koger, her father, was born in Marion Township of Daviess County 
in 1851. and was the grandson on his mother's side of David Groomer. 
David Groomer, who came from Pennsylvania to Daviess County in 
pioneer times, is said to have had on his arrival only an old pony and 
$10 in cash. That was the beginning of a career which made him one 
of the wealthiest men in this part of Missouri, and at the time of his 
death he had 8,000 acres in Daviess County. Of this handsome estate 
1.800 acres were bequeathed to his two grandsons, who had lived with 
him from early childhood, one of them being William G. Koger. The 
latter, who is now living retired in Pattonsburg, is a director of the 
Daviess County Savings Bank there. Mr. and Mrs. Lockridge are the 
parents of two children : John William, born in 1903, and Mary Frances, 
born in 1908. 

Politically Mr. Lockridge has kept the same faith as his family, and 
has worked and voted with the democratic party. Originally a Presby- 
terian, he is now a Baptist, which is the church of his wife. He is a 
member of the Gallatin Commercial Club, of the Association of High- 
way Engineers, of the National Association of Retail Druggists, and 



1432 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

affiliates with the lodge and chapter and Eastern Star of Masonry, with 
the Knights of Pythias and the Order of Yeomen. 

Mr. Lockridge is a member and secretary of the highway commis- 
sion on the county seat highway, a sub-member of the committee of the 
Omaha and St. Louis trail, a state highway. His position of highway 
engineer is by appointment from the county board, and its duties fit in 
well with those of county surveyor. 

Elwood D. Mann. As a Gallatin business man Elwood D. Mann's 
career covers more than thirty years, and in tbat time he rose from the 
position of a clerk to president of a bank, and is now an active member 
of the firm of Cruzen & Mann, handling loans, abstracts and insurance. 
He represents the pioneer families of Mann and Drummond in Daviess 
County, and their residence in this section of Northwest Missouri covers 
nearly seventy years. 

Elwood D. Mann was born in Union Township of Daviess County, 
December 2, 1861. He is a son of Matthew R. and Margaret A. (Drum- 
mond) Mann, and his two grandfathers were Jonathan R. Mann and 
James P. Drummond. All these older members of the respective fami- 
lies were natives of Virginia. Both the Manns and Drummonds came to 
Daviess County about the same time, James P. Drummond having brought 
his family out to this section about 1847 or 1848, and in Union Township 
he took up a tract of Government land, but subsequently removed to 
Jackson Township, where for nearly fifty years he was an honored and 
useful citizen. His death occurred at Jamesport. On coming to Daviess 
County both these families settled in the midst of the woods and while 
transforming a forest into cultivated fields they endured and experienced 
the numberless incidents of pioneer life. Matthew R. Mann came to 
Missouri when about twenty-four years of age. His wife was brought to 
Missouri as a child of ten years and grew up in Daviess County, and 
was married there. Matthew R. Mann was an active farmer, and after 
his marriage continued to live in Union Township for many years, and 
finally retired an,d lived in Gallatin until his death on December 13. 1903. 
His widow is still living. Elwood D. Mann was the second of three chil- 
dren, the other two being Joseph A. of Gallatin and James W., who died 
October 10, 1903. 

It was on a Daviess County farm in the district schools that Elwood 
D. Mann had his early training, and on May 1, 1883, he began his real 
business career as clerk in a grocery store at Gallatin. On January l t 
1886, nearly three years later, he became associated with Oliver P. Wal- 
ters in the hardware business, and it was as a successful merchant that 
he was best knowm in that city until 1893. In that year he turned his 
attention to banking, being elected cashier of the Farmers Exchange 
Bank, and subsequently was promoted first to the office- of vice president 
and later to president, and altogether his banking experience covered 
seventeen years. In 1910 Mr. Mann engaged in the loan, abstract and 
insurance business, and that is the line along which he now concentrates 
his energies. On January 1, 1912, he formed his present partnership 
with N. G. Cruzen, a lawyer, under the firm name of Cruzen & Mann. 
Mr. Mann looks after the business end of the concern while his partner 
attends to the legal matters. 

In 1883 Mr. Mann married Miss May Miller. One child was born of 
this union, named Robert. Mrs. Mann died in February. 1902, and in 
the following year he married Miss Bessie Gillilan, a daughter of W. J. 
Gillilan, of Jamesport, who was a pioneer in that locality. 

Mr. Mann is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church South, and 
has fraternal affiliations with the Masons and the Independent Order of 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1433 

Odd Fellows. At the present time he is one of the executive committee 
of the Gallatin Commercial Club. In political matters he supports the 
democratic party, and has given some valuable service to his home city 
as a member of the council. He is one of the leading and reliable business 
men of Daviess County, and highly respected as a citizen. 

John Sebastian Brookshier, The present postmaster at Lock 
Springs, John S. Brookshier has lived in this part of Missouri all his 
life, represents two families that were among the pioneers of Livingston 
County, and in his business career has been identified with farming and 
with the management of a factory in Lock Springs, and in public affairs 
he has a number of times been honored with places of trust and respon- 
sibility. 

John Sebastian Brookshier was born on a farm in Livingston County, 
Missouri, January 26, 1860. His father, Leander Green Brookshier was 
born in Missouri February 22, 1839, and his mother whose maiden name 
was Mary Louisa Minnick was born in Virginia in 1839. Both the Brook- 
shiers and the Minnicks came into Northwest Missouri during the early 
days and founded homes in Livingston and Daviess counties. 

John Sebastian Brookshier grew up on a farm in Livingston county, 
obtained an education in the country schools, and after the close of 
school days engaged in farming with his father until the age of twenty- 
one. He then started out for himself, first as a farm hand, and after 
four years, in 1883, began working for Francis Cook in Lock Springs. 
There he learned the trade of handle maker, and in 1888 bought the shop 
of Mr. Cook, and for the succeeding ten years made that an important 
local industry, and manufactured many thousand handles of all kinds 
each year. In 1898 Mr. Brookshier resumed farming, and continued 
actively along that line until 1913, and still has farming interests to 
which he gives his attention. In 1913 Mr. Brookshier was appointed post- 
master of Lock Springs, and is now handling that office in a thorough and 
systematic manner. 

As a democrat, his first local office was constable, to which he was 
elected about 1894 and served four years. In 1898 Mr. Brookshier was 
elected a justice of the peace, and was reelected for two terms, serving un- 
til 1904. He is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church and 
fraternally is affiliated with the Blue Lodge in Masonry and with the 
Modern Woodmen of America. 

On December 24, 1885, Mr. Brookshier married Miss Julia R. Yeager, 
Her parents were Minor AY. and Emma (Woodward) Yeager. Mr. and 
Mrs. Brookshier have four sons, named Robert E., Harry Lee, Ralph 0. 
and Walter F. The son Robert married Stella Doak of Texas, while the 
rest of the sons live at home with their parents. 

Isaac Luther Wade. Since 1903 cashier of the Bank of Lock 
Springs, Mr. Wade is a public spirited and successful business man of 
that community, with which he has been identified excepting for about 
two years since 1889. He began life as a telegraph operator, was in the 
railway service for a number of years, and he has had a steady progress 
from small beginnings to a degree of accomplishment which put him in 
the list with the leading men of Southern Daviess County. 

Isaac Luther Wade w r as born in Clinton County, Illinois, March 18, 
1860, and his family are a combination of Irish and German stocks, and 
their early place of residence w T as Pennsylvania. His father, John Wade, 
was born in Pennsylvania in 1838, a son of John and Mary (Eshelman) 
Wade, both natives of Pennsylvania. John Wade, the grandfather, 
learned the shoemaking trade in Pennsylvania, and then moved out to 



1434 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Illinois, where he followed his occupation in Clinton County. Mr. 
"Wade's mother was Martha Mary (Yingst) Wade. She was born in Ohio 
in 1837, a daughter of John and Mary (Ogle) Yingst, both natives of 
Pennsylvania. John Yingst learned the trade of blacksmith in Pennsyl- 
vania, and finally moved to Clinton County, Illinois. 

Isaac L. Wade grew up in Clinton County, Illinois, acquired an edu- 
cation in the country schools, and in 1887 went to St. Louis and took a 
course in telegraphy. In the following year in 1888 the Wabash Rail- 
road made him station agent and operator at Sampsel in Livingston 
County, and in 1889 he was transferred to Lock Springs, where he took 
charge of the station. In 1897 he was sent to Pattonsburg, Missouri, 
as assistant station agent, but in 1899 returned to Lock Springs, and 
has since been out of the railroad service and engaged in business lines. 
For three years he was engaged in merchandising and also held the posi- 
tion of postmaster. In 1903 he was elected cashier of the Bank of Lock 
Springs, and has had the practical management of that substantial in- 
stitution up to the present time. The Bank of Lock Springs has a capital 
stock of $10,000, and enjoys the confidence and patronage of a large com- 
munity in and about that town. Besides his work as a banker Mr. Wade 
is dealing in insurance and also has a commission as notary public. 

Politically he has been identified with the republican party, and for 
a number of years has held a position as a member of the school board of 
Lock Springs. He belongs to the Methodist Episcopal Church, is a 
Blue Lodge Mason, and also affiliates with the Eastern Star, the Modern 
Woodmen of America and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 

In 1891 Mr. Wade married Miss Margaret Matilda Brookshier, a 
daughter of Thomas Benton and Elizabeth (Brooks) Brookshier. Mr. 
and Mrs. Wade are the parents of four children, all of whom have been 
well educated and are being trained for careers of usefulness. Their 
names are Raymond Brooks, Clarence Coleman, Ashley Brookshier and 
Miss Easter May. 

Rev. Walter Franklin Bradley. One of the ablest young minis- 
ters of the Presbyterian Church in Northwest Missouri is Rev. Walter 
Franklin Bradley, now stationed at Lock Springs in the southern part of 
Daviess County. He has been very active in church affairs during the 
past five years, and in October, 1912, was elected superintendent of the 
Quiet Hour of the Missouri Christian Endeavor Union and in October, 
1914, was chosen to the office of pastor adviser. In May, 1914, as a 
commissioner from the McGee Presbytery he sat in the general assembly 
of the Presbyterian Church in Chicago. 

One of a family of twelve children, eight of whom are still living, 
Rev. Mr. Bradley was born at Onaga, Kansas, February 20, 1884. His 
parents were George Samuel and Elizabeth (Thomas) Bradley. His 
father was born in Virginia April 11, 1846, and his mother in Indiana 
October 5, 1853, and both are still living, their homes being in Bethany, 
Missouri. The Bradley family is of English ancestry, and has been 
established in the United States for a century and a quarter. George 
S. Bradley was a soldier during the Civil war. He first enlisted at Pine 
Village, Indiana, for six months term, and was stationed principally on 
the Great Lakes. On receiving his honorable discharge he reenlisted, 
and was in the South fighting the battles of the Union for about three 
years. His services included participation in the great battle at Pitts- 
burg Landing, or Shiloh, and for a time he was stationed at Cumberland 
Gap and also at Nashville under General Thomas. In order to take ad- 
vantage of the offer by the Federal Government of homesteads to the 
old veterans, the father moved out to Onaga, Kansas, in 1872 and there 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1435 

acquired a quarter section of land. The family were among the first 
settlers at Onaga. George S. Bradley was a blacksmith by trade, and 
followed that work in connection with farming. In 1890 the family 
moved to Bethany, Missouri, where the father was active in his trade 
until 1914, and has since lived retired. 

Rev. Mr. Bradley acquired his early education at Bethany, graduat- 
ing from the high school in 1903, and then entered the Missouri Valley 
College at Marshall, Missouri, and graduated A. B. His professional 
studies were pursued in the Lebanon Theological Seminary, where he 
graduated in 1910 B. D. and in the same year was ordained a minister of 
the Presbyterian Church. For the past four years he has had charge 
of the church at Lock Springs and has been very successful in upbuilding 
the various church activities. His interests extend to many affairs out- 
side of his immediate responsibilities, and he is very enthusiastic on the 
subject of athletics. He affiliates with the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows. Rev. Mr. Bradley was married May 5, 1910, at Iago, Texas, to 
Miss Iva Gertrude Chapman, daughter of James Madison and Josephine 
(O'Brien) Chapman of Illinois. They have one child, James Chapman 
Bradley, born May 23, 1912. 

Philip A. Abbett. Now recognized as the leading merchant of Lock 
Springs, Philip A. Abbett has been engaged in business affairs in Daviess 
County upwards of thirty years, and the greater part of the time was an 
active member of the business community at Jamesport. His dealings 
as a merchant have commended him to the confidence of all people in 
his locality, and when the leading citizens are mentioned the name of 
Philip A. Abbett is sure to be in the list. 

Philip A. Abbett was born in Bartholomew County, Indiana. April 
15, 1855, and both his parents were natives of the same county. His 
father, William A. Abbett, was born March 26, 1832, while his mother, 
Mary (Barnhart) Abbett was born February 10, 1833. The parental 
grandparents, James M. and Lucy (Abbett) Abbett were natives of Ken- 
tucky, but became pioneers in Bartholomew County, Indiana, locating 
there about 1828 and securing land direct from the Government at a 
cost of $1.25 per acre. The maternal grandparents were Philip A. and 
Sylva Barnhart. The former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of 
Indiana. 

Philip A. Abbett grew up in Bartholomew County, acquired his early 
education in the country schools, and took a course of instruction in the 
Hartsville College in Bartholomew County. While Mr. Abbett has pros- 
pered as a merchant and has long been identified with business affairs, 
his early career was devoted to educational work, and he taught many 
terms of school. For eleven years he was engaged as a teacher in his 
native state, and in 1885 moved to Missouri and spent a year in teaching 
in Harris County. Since then all his time has been devoted to business 
affairs. At Jamesport in Daviess County Mr. Abbett was known as a 
grocery and hardware merchant for nineteen years, but finally disposed 
of his interests there and in 1906 moved to Lock Springs, where he 
opened a general store and has since enjoyed an extensive trade. At the 
same time he has a farm, and combines both activities. 

Mr. Abbett is a democrat in politics, and a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. Fraternally his relations are with the Masonic Lodge 
and the Knights of Pythias. 

On March 9, 1876, Mr. Abbett married for his first wife Anna. Lee- 
son, a daughter of James and Sarah (Young) Leeson. There are two 
daughters: Mrs. Eugene B. Russell and Mrs. Jean M. Wells, both of 
whom are now living in St. Joseph, Missouri. On October 9, 1901, Mr. 



1436 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Abbett married Mrs. Jennie B. Knotts, a daughter of Robert and 
Romanza (Carter) Brown. There are also two children by the second 
marriage, Robert W. being eleven years of age and Philip A. was born 
in 1913. 

George Washington Litton. One of the oldest merchants and busi- 
ness men of Lock Springs, George W. Litton has spent a lifetime of 
more than three score and ten years in this section of Missouri, is the son 
of a pioneer in Livingston County, and the activities of his own career 
include a service in the Civil war, many years of relationship with farm- 
ing, until about thirty-five yers ago he established himself in business at 
Lock Springs. 

George Washington Litton was born in Livingston County, Missouri, 
May 16, 1842. His parents were Thomas and Mary Ann (Brookshier) 
Litton. His mother was born in Tennessee, and his father was born in 
Kentucky in 1822, and when a very young man established his home as 
a pioneer in Livingston County, Missouri, in 1840, and he was married 
after coming to Missouri. On coming to Livingston County he took up 
a tract of eighty acres of Government land. It was situated in the midst 
of the timber, and his first task was cutting down trees to use in the con- 
struction of a log house. In that humble but characteristic home for the 
time all his children were born. In the early days supplies had to be 
freighted in by wagon from Spring Hill, Missouri, and he went through 
all the usual experiences, the hardships and the incidents of pioneering 
in a new country. Thomas Litton was a man of much enterprise and 
used his keen business judgment to acquire large holdings of land in 
Livingston County and that vicinity. In 1850 he paid $1,500 for 160 
acres adjoining his original homestead, and extended his work of im- 
provement to the new land. Later another tract was added, of 240 
acres, for which he paid $10 an acre. In 1863 he bought 160 acres in 
Daviess County, and that cost him $7 an acre. He was a stockraiser and 
besides a large estate left an honored name in his community. Thomas 
Litton was twice married. The children of his first wife, who died in 
1847, are : George W\, Elizabeth and Mary Ann. Later he married a 
Miss Myrier, a native of Kentucky, and there were nine children by the 
second union, those living being named: Eliza, Alexander, John S., 
Thomas, Sarah Ann. 

George W. Litton grew up in Livingston County on the old farm, at- 
tended the district schools, which offered a very limited curriculum of 
instruction, and in 1861, when nineteen years of age, at the beginning of 
the war, enlisted in the Confederate State Militia under General Slack. 
His service as a soldier lasted nine months, and he was in four of the 
Missouri engagements during the first year of the war. These were at 
Carthage, Wilson Creek, Dry Wood and Lexington. In the battle of 
Wilson Creek, one of the most decisive in the western theater of the war, 
he was wounded. He was discharged in 1861, returned home, and after 
the war took up an active career as a farmer in Livingston County. 

On May 21. 1865, Mr. Litton married Nancy Minnick, a daughter 
of John and Susan (Offield) Minnick, who emigrated from Virginia to 
Livingston County, Missouri, in 1842, and were also among the early 
settlers in that section. Mr. Litton has four living children, Mary, Jas- 
per, Isaac F. and Dora. The daughter Mary is the wife of John Bray 
of Lock Springs. Jasper married Allie Bray, and is an Idaho farmer. 
Isaac F. married Adda Jones, daughter of Benjamin Franklin and 
Marinda C. (Connor) Jones of Mooresville, Missouri. Dora is the wife of 
Edward Tye of Livingston County. 

From 1865 to 1880 Mr. Litton was one of Livingston County's rep- 




FAMILY GROUP OF MR. AND MRS. JOHN KELLY 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1437 

resentative farmers, and in the latter year moved to Lock Springs, and 
established a store for the sale of general merchandise. His store was 
burned out in 1909, but was soon afterwards replaced with a substantial 
brick building, which is now one of the best in the town. Besides 
his operations as a merchant, Mr. Litton has a good farm east of Lock 
Springs, and leases his land. Politically he is a democrat, and is a mem- 
ber of the Presbyterian Church, and in 1872, joined the Masonic Order 
and is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Though 
past the limit assigned by the Psalmist to human life, Mr. Litton is still 
in the best of health and his present vigor gives promise of many more 
years of usefulness. 

Mary Josephine Lane Kelly. In Davis Township of Caldwell 
County are to be found many homesteads that are not only valuable and 
attractive places from the standpoint of farming, but represent many of 
the most substantial families in this community. One of them, two miles 
out of Braymer, is the Kelly estate, now owned and occupied by Mrs. 
Kelly, whose husband was the late John Kelly, for many years actively 
identified with farming interests in this section. Mrs. Kelly occupies a 
home with 110 acres of land, and the original farm comprised 250 acres, 
but it has been divided, and Mrs. Kelly now occupies about half of the 
original acreage, with the old home. The Kelly homestead is a residence 
of seven rooms, attractively situated, and surrounded with barns, fields 
of grain, meadows and pastures, and all of it comprising almost an ideal 
rural residence. 

The late John Kelly was born in Fulton County, Illinois, September 
23, 1846. His father was Joseph Kelly, a native of Ohio, and the grand- 
father came from Ireland and was an early settler in Ohio. John Kelly 
was reared in Schuyler County, Illinois, was educated in the local schools, 
and was only seventeen years old when he volunteered for service in the 
Union army. He made an excellent record as a soldier, and then returned 
home to take up the practical duties of civil life, in which his record was 
not less noteworthy for the prosperity he won. 

Mr. Kelly married, in 1868, Mary Josephine Lane, who was born 
January 22, 1847, and was reared and educated in Illinois. Her father 
was Alfred Lane, an Illinois farmer, born in Kentucky, and a man who 
exemplified the best manners of the old-fashioned Kentucky gentleman. 
Alfred Lane married Lydia Stambaugh, who was of Pennsylvania German 
stock. Mr. Lane was a democrat in politics, and in religion affiliated 
with the German Baptist Church or the Dunkards. Mrs. Kelly's mother 
died at the age of forty-four. The children in the Lane family were : 
Adren; Mary Josephine Kelly; James C. ; Napoleon Bonaparte; John C. 
B. ; Rosa ; Amanda ; Elizabeth ; and Robert Lee, now deceased. 

After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Kelly lived for several years on an 
eighty acre farm in Illinois, and then sold out and came to Caldwell 
County, where he acquired 250 acres. He was a successful farmer and 
stockman and also operated during the season a threshing outfit. The 
improvements now seen on the farm are largely the result of his labors 
and enterprise. When he died, on April 5, 1908, he left a family of seven 
children, named as follows : Joseph, who is a capable young farmer operat- 
ing a place adjoining his mother's; Alfred E., who owns a valuable farm 
of 100 acres in Davis Township ; James, now deceased ; Iva McFee, who 
lives southeast of her mother; Cora M. Deam, who lives near Brecken- 
ridge, Missouri; AValter L., who is a young man in his twenties and a 
vigorous and successful farmer, assisting his mother in the management 
of the home estate ; and Lou, who lives at Canton, Illinois. 

The late John Kelly prospered during his residence in Caldwell 

Vol. Ill— 10 



1438 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

County, and deserved the high esteem in which he was held, since he made 
it a rule of conduct that his promised word should be as binding as a 
bond, and practiced the golden rule in all his relations with his fellow 
men. 

Nevin M. Wetzel, M. D. The president of the Daviess County 
Medical Society, Doctor Wetzel has been engaged in a large practice 
as physician and surgeon at Jameson and vicinity since 1903. His natural 
qualifications, his thorough training, and successful work have given him 
the high standing among the county's medical fraternity, so that his 
official position is an honor well deserved. 

Doctor Wetzel comes of a prominent old Pennsylvania family. Many 
of the name are mentioned for prominent activities in the Pennsyl- 
vania annals of colonial and revolutionary times as well as in the affairs 
of the state. Some years before the Revolution four Wetzel brothers, 
John, Henry, Lewis and Jacob, emigrated from Germany and found 
homes in the new world, and a large number of their descendants have 
been identified with Pennsylvania. Doctor Wetzel's grandfather was 
Joseph Wetzel, his great-grandfather, Philip Wetzel, and his great-great- 
grandfather, Peter Wetzel. Peter's grave in Pennsylvania is marked by 
a large boulder, on which is cut the enigmatic characters — "I II 17. " 
Doctor .Wetzel interprets this to refer to Isaiah II, 17, a passage that 
reads — "And the loftiness of men shall be bowed down and the haughti- 
ness of men shall be made low, and the Lord alone shall be exalted in 
that day." 

Dr. Nevin M. Wetzel was born November 9, 1869, in what is known as 
Nitney Valley, near Lamar, Union County, Pennsylvania, a son of 
Reuben and Matilda (Poorman) Wetzel. Both parents were born in the 
same locality, and the father was a farmer and stockraiser. In 1870 he 
brought his family from Pennsylvania, and after spending a year in 
Iowa settled in Daviess County, Missouri, in 1871, buying a farm two 
miles south of Jamesport. That was his home until about 1901, when he 
sold and bought another place three miles west of Jamesport, where he 
is still living, now in advanced years, at the age of eighty-three, having 
been born in 1831. The mother died in 1883. Her eleven children are 
named as follows: Alice, Mary, Olivia, Eva, Dr. Nevin, Cordelia, Reu- 
ben M., Ella and Etta, all of whom are living, while Lydia and Everett 
are deceased. The father is a republican and a member of the Presbyter- 
ian Church. 

It was probably from his sturdy line of ancestors that Doctor Wetzel 
inherited his faculty of persistent and sustained effort which has been 
an important factor in his progress and success. His education has 
been exceedingly liberal and thorough, but it was acquired by hard work, 
and he earned nearly all the means used to take him through his various 
courses. He was educated in the country schools and the Jamesport High 
School, had a two years normal and business course at Grand River 
College in Edinburg, and in 1893 finished a special teacher's course at 
the Chillicothe Normal. Then followed several years of successful teach- 
ing, six months in Livingston County and the remainder of the time in 
Daviess County. In 1896 he entered the Barnes Medical College at St. 
Louis, now known as the National University of Science and Arts, took 
the full course of four years, and was graduated M. D. April 12, 1900. 
It has been the ambition of Doctor Wetzel to secure the highest qualifica- 
tions in his service as a physician and surgeon, and following his gradu- 
ation he spent several years in further preparation, attending post- 
graduate course and doing hospital work at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, 
the Bellevue Hospital and Medical College of New York, the University 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1439 

of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia, and at Pittsburg. In the fall of 1903 
he located for active practice at Jameson, and almost from the beginning 
has had full demands upon his time and ability. In 1908 he attended 
clinics in Chicago, and so far as his busy career allows is a constant 
student. 

Doctor Wetzel has been honored for the past five years with the 
presidency of the Daviess County Medical Society, and is also a mem- 
ber of the Missouri State Medical Society and the American Medical 
Association. Politically he was formerly a republican, but is now aligned 
with the progressive movement. He and his wife are members of the 
Presbyterian Church. Doctor Wetzel was married October 4, 1910, to 
Miss Lillie Joachimi, of Versailles, Morgan County, Missouri. 

i 

John Earl Scott. The Bank of Jameson, in which Mr. Scott has 
been cashier for the past five years, is the central financial institution of 
that prosperous and thrifty community served by it in Grand River 
Township of Daviess County. The names of the men associated with 
it during the quarter century of its existence would quite fairly represent 
the list of solid and substantial citizens of this community. The Bank 
of Jameson was organized in 1889, and started out with a capital of 
$10,000, but since 1892 the capital has been $15,000. An index of its 
strength is its present surplus and undivided profits, totaling over 
twenty thousand dollars. The first officers and directors were : M. G. 
Netheron, president ; A. J. Selsor, vice president ; L. M. Brown, cashier ; 
R. J. Lownie, secretary; and Z. A. Kimball and E. J. Walls. Sev- 
eral changes in the personnel were made in 1910, and since then the 
officers have been: J. F. Brown, president; J. H. Gillespie, secretary and 
vice president; J. E. Scott, cashier; R, E. Irwin, assistant cashier. 

The Scott family has long and influentially been identified with Dav- 
iess County, John Earl Scott was born on his father's farm near Jame- 
son, November 15, 1880, a son of A. D. and Matilda J. (Brown) Scott, 
both of whom are still living, the former a native of DeWitt County, Illi- 
nois, and the latter of Harrison County. Missouri. The grandfather was 
Dr. Alexander K. Scott, who came to Daviess County many years ago and 
settled on a farm east of Jameson. Beside the improvement and cultiva- 
tion of this land, which is still owned by his descendants, he also served 
the community through his profession as a physician. Up to 1892 Mr. 
A. D. Scott owned and operated a farm east of Jameson and adjoining 
the old homestead in Grand River Township, but then moved into town 
and began merchandising. The firm has since become the A. D. Scott 
& Sons, handling a large general merchandise stock, with a custom that 
has been steadily growing for years. Mr. A. D. Scott has been one of the 
very successful men, and besides his large farm east of Jameson owns 
600 acres in Kansas and another tract in Oklahoma, and has stock in the 
Bank of Jameson. The father and sons have cooperated in their enter- 
prise, and their success serves to illustrate the truth of the Maxim, "in 
union there is strength." The active management of affairs has been 
turned over to the sons, who are all capable business men. The six 
children in the family are: Cordie ; John Earl; Jesse R.; Ray; Albert, 
who died in 1912 : and Laura. 

John Earl Scott had a thoroughly practical training for business, 
with an education from the public schools of Grand River Township. He 
gained a knowledge of merchandising in the Scott store at Jameson, and 
followed that with a business course in Chillicothe. For more than ten 
years most of his time has been given to banking. In 1903 he was elected 
assistant, cashier of the Bank of Jameson, but in 1906 resigned to accept 
the place of assistant cashier in the First National Bank of Gallatin and 



1440 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

a few months later was promoted to cashier of that institution. He re- 
mained with the Gallatin Bank until 1908, and after that assisted in the 
management of the Scott family interests at Jameson until January 18, 
1910, since which date he has filled the post of cashier in the Bank of 
Jameson. He is also a member of the firm of A. D. Scott & Sons. 

In 1905 Mr. Scott married Lulu J. Graham, a daughter of Charles J. 
•Graham of Jameson. Their two children are Richard Earl and Martha 
Lee. Mr. Scott is the present chancellor commander of Jameson Lodge, 
Knights of Pythias, and while a republican has never mingled in politics 
■with any ambition for office. 

Ben A. Yates. Since the year 1878, when he established himself 
in business at Pattonsburg, Ben A. Yates has associated his name with 
•every movement which has marked the city's growth and development. 
Primarily a business man, the needs of his adopted community found 
in him a liberal contributor of time, ability and energy, and his public- 
spirited services in office of importance have been such as to hasten his 
locality 's growth, elevate its ideals and add to its prestige. 

Mr. Yates was born in Rappahannock County, Virginia, August 21, 
1855, and is a son of James A. and Louisa (Kibler) Yates. The Yates 
family is of English extraction, its founder in America having emigrated 
to this country prior to the War of the Revolution, and several families 
settled in New York and Virginia, Richard Yates, the war governor of 
Illinois, having come from the latter branch. The Iviblers originated in 
Germany,, from whence Ben A. Yates' maternal grandfather came to the 
United States. The parents of Mr. Yates were both natives of Rappa- 
hannock County, Virginia, and there his father passed his entire life, 
teaching school in that and Page County. He died when Ben A. was 
still a small child, but the mother is still living, and since 1913 -has made 
her home with her son, although previous to that time she lived in her 
native county. 

Ben A. Yates received his education under the instruction of his 
uncle, Charles W. Yates, who was for fifty-two years a teacher and died 
in the schoolroom. After completing his studies, Mr. Yates secured em- 
ployment with the blind millionaire, Charles Broadway Rousse, who 
operated a chain of stores in Virginia, and with whom Mr. Yates re- 
mained for three years. In 1876, desiring to see something of the West, 
and believing that here better opportunities awaited the man of ambi- 
tion and energy, Mr. Yates came to Gallatin, Daviess County, Missouri, 
and in partnership with his cousin, R. G. Yates, began a grocery business. 
This association continued for two years, when Ben A. Yates disposed of 
his interests at Gallatin and came to Pattonsburg, here purchasing the 
Isaac McCulley hardware stock. Here he was successful in building up 
a large and representative business, through good management and hard 
and industrious labor, and continued to operate the enterprise alone 
until 1898, when he admitted to partnership his brother, W. Byrd Yates, 
and the firm adopted its present style of Yates Brothers. It is probable 
that this firm will be soon dissolved, however, as W. B. Yates has recently 
been appointed postmaster of Pattonsburg and will undoubtedly dispose 
of his business holdings that he may give his entire attention to his of- 
ficial duties. A large^ up-to-date stock is carried by this store, includ- 
ing all kinds of shelf and heavy hardware, stoves and agricultural imple- 
ments and machinery, and the various other articles which are to be 
found in a modern hardware establishment. On two occasions Mr. Yates 
has suffered severe losses by fire, but in spite of these setbacks has pros- 
pered satisfactorily, and his standing in business circles is that of a sub- 
tantial man at the head of a paying business. His many years of honor- 



HISTOKY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1441 

able and upright dealing have also gained him the name of a man of the 
utmost integrity, and his signature is an honored one on commercial 
paper. 

Mr. Yates was reared in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, and has been generous in his support of its movements. Frater- 
nally, he is connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in 
which he is the oldest, in point of membership at Pattonsburg, and with 
the Knights of Pythias, in which he has been for years and is at present 
district deputy. Politically Mr. Yates is a democrat, and at various times 
has been called upon to fill such important offices as mayor, alderman and 
member of the school board, and for the past twenty years has held his 
present position of city treasurer. His public service has been character- 
ized by a display of conscientious fidelity to duty and an interest in 
his community which has put personal ambitions aside. Personally, Mr. 
Yates is a polished, courteous gentleman, a credit to the name he bears- 
and to the community in which he has spent so many years. 

In 1880 Mr. Yates was united in marriage with Miss Minnie Gabel r 
of Kansas, who was born in Ohio, and to this union there have come two 
daughters: Helen G., who is the wife of Gilbert Gromer, of Pattonsburg; 
and Lee. who is the wife of Charles Agee, of Mount Ayr, Iowa. 

W. Byrd Yates, recently appointed postmaster at Pattonsburg, and a 
brother of Ben A. Yates, was born in Rappanhannock County, Virginia, 
January 19, 1852, and like his brother received his education under the 
instruction of his uncle, Charles W. Yates. When he was ready to enter 
upon a career of his own, he chose railroading as his sphere of activity, 
and until 1885 was employed on a run between Wilmington and Phila- 
delphia. In the year mentioned Mr. Yates was appointed to the United 
States Mail Service, under the administration of President Cleveland, and 
in this connection came to Missouri, continuing to act in the same ca- 
pacity until 1898, in which year he turned his attention to mercantile 
pursuits. With his brother, Ben A. Yates, he founded the firm of Yates-. 
Brothers, hardware dealers, a venture that succeeded and prospered, and 
which will only terminate because of Mr. Yates' appointment to the post- 
mastership by President Wilson. Mr. Yates is a stalwart and uncom- 
promising democrat and has long been an active and influential worker 
in the interests of his party. He is a Mason fraternally, and a member of' 
the Christian Church. 

In 1893, while a resident of Clinton County, Missouri, Mr. Yates was 
united in marriage with Miss Anna Wright, and four children have been 
born to this union : Mary, who is attending school at Lexington, Mis- 
souri ; and Dorothy, Virginia and Elizabeth, all residing at home. 

John Davis Dunham, M. D. Holding the distinction of being the 
oldest practicing physician of Pattonsburg, in point of continuous serv- 
ice, Dr. John Davis Dunham has ministered to the physical wants and 
needs of the people of this place since July 14, 1881, and during this time 
has also taken an active and helpful part in the movements which have 
contributed to the community's growth and development. His skill 
in his profession and his sympathetic nature have attracted to him a large 
professional business and given him high position in his calling, but his 
increasing duties have not deterred him from participation in affairs 
aside from his vocation. 

Doctor Dunham was born in Pike County, Ohio, February 28, 1855, 
a son of Dr. W. H. and Henrietta (Odell) Dunham, and a member of an 
old and honored family on both the paternal and maternal sides. The 
Dunham family originated in England, from whence two brothers came 
to the United States, one going to Michigan and one to Alabama, it being- 



1442 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

from the latter that Doctor Dunham is descended. His grandfather, 
Michael Dunham, emigrated from Alabama to Ohio. The Odell family 
came originally from Castle, Town and Church of, Odell, Derbyshire, 
England, and possessed a coat-of-arms. The Castle of Odell was one of 
the strongest in the world at the time of its erection and was presented 
to Walter the Fleming by William the Conqueror. From Walter the 
Fleming descended the entire family, and the name has been variously 
spelled in the public records as Wahul, Woodhul, Wodhul, Wodell, Odle 
and Odell. The Castle of Odell passed out of the family name about the 
year 1575, when Agnes Odell, the owner, married Richard Chetwodes. 
The Ashtons, about two hundred years ago, purchased the property and 
erected a house of modern style (French Chateau) within the west wall; 
the wall they preserved, owing to its great antiquity and strength. The 
interior of the house contains some of the rooms that formed part of the 
ancient stronghold, and the River Ouse flows on the east side, while the 
Village of Odell surrounds it. The foregoing record, being taken from 
the British Museum, is correct and authentic. 

The Odell family was founded in America by three Odell brothers, 
who emigrated to Baltimore, Maryland, in 1760, and one of these mi- 
grated to New York State, ex-Governor Odell being one of his descend- 
ants. The maternal great-grandfather of Dr. John D. Dunham was Maj. 
James Odell, who married and settled near Baltimore, Maryland, but in 
1800 migrated to Fairfield County, Ohio, and later went to Highland 
County, Ohio, where he is found raising a company of volunteers for 
service during the War of 1812. At the close of that struggle he went 
to the Territory of Michigan and later was elected a member of the first 
Constitutional Convention of that state. He died in 1845. 

William Odell, son of Maj. James Odell, and maternal grandfather 
of Dr. John Davis Dunham, was born at Hillsboro, Ohio, in 1806, and 
was seventeen years of age when he went to Virginia, in which state he 
engaged in teaching school. He served as a member of the Virginia 
Legislature in 1827 and 1828 and was a prominent man in his community, 
but in 1841 went to Pike County, Ohio, making the journey of 450 miles 
by wagon. There he passed the remaining years of his life. Among his 
children was a son, James F. Odell. who was land appraiser for Seal and 
Scotia townships, Pike County, Ohio, sheriff of Pike County, United 
States marshal, deputy sheriff and United States pension agent, and 
still a resident of Pike County. 

While in Virginia, William Odell was married to Sarah Caudy, who 
belonged to a Scotch-Irish family that came to America from Ireland. 
Her father, Capt. James Caudy, emigrated to this country in 1751, built 
a blockhouse, and with a company of volunteers protected the first set- 
tlers of Hampshire and Jefferson counties, Virginia. Caudy Castle, an 
inaccessible retreat in the mountains, 887 feet high, is always pointed 
out to sightseers who visit that part of Virginia. Another family con- 
nection of distinction enjoyed by Doctor Dunham is through his father's 
mother, who was a Pickerel, and whose father, Thomas Pickerel, served 
as a drummer-boy during the War of the Revolution. The Pickerels 
were likewise known for their religious fervor, and were the builders of 
the first Campbellite (Christian) Church in Ohio. 

Dr. W. H. Dunham, father of Dr. John Davis Dunham, was born in 
Brown County, Ohio, and for many years practiced medicine in Pike 
and Jackson counties, Ohio. During the Civil war he raised and com- 
manded as captain a company of volunteers, known as Company I, 
Thirty-sixth Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, with which he served 
for two years, his principal services being at Summerville and Gauley 
Bridge, Virginia. In 1864 he graduated from the Cleveland Medical Col- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1443 

lege, although he had been practicing for many years previous, and in 
1865 came to Cypress Township, Harrison County, Missouri, and pur- 
chased land, his family joining him here in the following year, June 9, 
1866. For many years Doctor Dunham continued to be engaged in the 
practice of his calling in connection with farming operations, but later 
removed to Kansas, where he remained for one year, and then made 
removal to Bentonville, Arkansas, where his death occurred, August 14, 
1900, aged seventy-seven years, three months, twenty days. Mrs. Dun- 
ham is still living at Bentonville. She is now eighty years of age, having 
been born in Virginia, September 14, 1834. The five children of Doctor 
and Mrs. Dunham still survive : Mary, Dr. John Davis W Frank 
and G. A. 

Dr. John Davis Dunham first attended the public schools of Harrison 
County, Missouri, and later became a student in Grand River College, 
at old Edinburg. In 1872 he attended the high school at Bethany, Mis- 
souri, but in the following year left his studies in order to engage in 
freighting between Wichita, Kansas, and Fort Sill, Oklahoma. During 
the winter of 1874 he entered the Keokuk College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons, Keokuk, Iowa, and was graduated from that institution with his 
degree of Doctor of Medicine, March 16, 1879, at that time beginning 
practice in Harrison County. He remained there, at Happy Valley, for 
two years, and something less than one year at Blue Ridge, and July 14, 
1881, came to Pattonsburg, which he chose as his permanent field of 
endeavor. He has never had reason to regret his decision, for here he has 
won success and standing in his profession, the esteem and respect of his 
fellow-citizens, and the reputation of being a helpful and stirring man in 
a progressive community. Aside from his calling, he has been engaged 
successfully in the drug business, having purchased a pharmacy Decem- 
ber 15, 1907, and since 1892 has been a registered pharmacist. 

Doctor and Mrs. Dunham are of the Presbyterian faith, but are not 
members of any church. Fraternally, he is connected with the Knights 
of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen of America and the Yeomen. Politi- 
cally a republican, he served one term as mayor of Pattonsburg, is now 
and has been for years health examiner of the city, and under the ad- 
ministration of President Benjamin Harrison was United States pension 
examiner. He is surgeon for the Quincy, Omaha & Kansas City and 
Wabash railroads, and of the latter is the oldest in point of service along 
the line. He has continued as a close and careful student and keeps 
fully abreast of the advances constantly being made in his calling, hold- 
ing membership in the Daviess County Medical Society, the Grand River 
Valley Medical Society, the Missouri State Medical Society, the Wabash 
Railroad Surgeons Association and the American Medical Association. 
On July 14, 1884, Doctor Dunham was united in marriage with Miss 
Sophia Niewvahner, of Jackson County, Ohio, and to this union there 
have been born two sons: Leslie H., who is now taking a medical course 
at the University of Missouri,. Columbia ; and John Dunham, Jr., who 
graduated from the high school at Pattonsburg in 1914 and is now taking 
post-graduate work there. 

Mrs. Dunham's ancestors were natives of Germany, and both her 
grandfathers, Niewvahner and Prior, were soldiers in the German army 
at Waterloo, the former being killed and the latter so seriously wounded 
that he died a few years later. Mrs. Dunham's parents, Henry and 
Mary (Prior) Niewvahner, were born in Hanover, Germany, the former 
emigrating to the United States about the year 1840, and landing at Balti- 
more, Maryland. For two years he followed steainboating and was then 
married and moved to Jackson Furnace, Ohio, where he was employed 
at the iron furnace, but later moved to Jackson Courthouse, Ohio, and 



1444 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

there lived retired until his wife's death in 1902. At that time he came 
to Pattonsburg to make his home with Mrs. and Doctor Dunham, but in 
the following year met his death when struck by a passenger train. 

Hon. Jacob M. Poage. One of the worthy pioneer residents of 
Pattonsburg, who by reason of a long carer of industry, careful manage- 
ment, patient endurance and upright dealing, has earned the respite from 
labor which he is now enjoying in circumstances of ease and comfort, is 
Judge Jacob M. Poage. Now that the period of his life in Daviess 
County reaches back over a period of forty-eight years, he is fortunate 
indeed in being able to review the past with the happy consciousness 
that he has discharged faithfully his duties in public and private rela- 
tions, and that he has borne his full share in building up the most im- 
portant interests and promoting the highest welfare of the locality among 
whose people he has lived so long. 

Judge Poage was born in Greenup (now Boyd) County, Kentucky, 
August 23, 1835, and is a son of Hugh Allen and Eliza (Murphy) 
Poage, the former born in Virginia and the latter in Pennsylvania. The 
mother died when Jacob M. was about three weeks old, the only child 
of his parents, while the father passed away at the home of his son in 
Daviess County, having come here about ten years after the advent of 
Jacob M. 

Judge Poage 's boyhood was passed in the mountainous, eastern part 
of Kentucky, where the soil was unproductive, the people poor, and the 
children forced to go to work at a tender age. The scene of his youth 
was the Ohio River, four miles from the Virginia state line, where the 
subscription schools were few and far between, his educational advan- 
tages being therefore very limited, although he has since been a reader 
and student and has added to his information by observation. He re- 
mained at home with his father until reaching the age of seventeen years, 
at which time he began to learn the carpenter 's trade and served a two- 
year apprenticeship thereto. He subsequently began to work at his trade, 
and was thus engaged when the Civil war came on. His sympathies 
being with the Union cause he enlisted in Company E, Fourteenth Ken- 
tucky Volunteer Infantry, and with that organization saw three years 
and four months of service in Kentucky, West Virginia, Tennessee, 
Georgia and Alabama, during which time he participated in numerous 
hard-fought engagements, including Cumberland Gap and the Atlanta 
campaign. As a soldier he proved himself courageous in battle and faith- 
ful to duty, and January 31, 1865, was honorably discharged with an 
excellent record. 

For the two years following his military service, Mr. Poage was 
employed at his trade in his native state, and there, in March, 1865, was 
united in marriage with Miss Margaret E. Savage, of Greenup County, 
Kentucky, a daughter of Nicholas and Mary (McCroskey) Savage, na- 
tives of the Blue Grass State. Mr. Savage was an extensive farmer and 
owned 400 acres of land in Greenup County, but during his later years 
disposed of his property and came to Daviess County, Missouri, with his 
wife, and here they passed their last days with their children, the father 
dying at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Fulwider, west of Pattonsburg, 
while Mrs. Savage died at the home of Mr. Poage. 

In the spring of 1867 Judge and Mrs. Poage came to Daviess County, 
Missouri, and spent the first summer in Benton Township, with William 
Savage, Mrs. Poage 's brother, whose wife had recently died, and for 
whom Mrs. Poage kept house. In the fall of the same year Judge Poage 
bought 160 acres of his present farm, that part on which the buildings 
are now located, but at that time there were only eight acres cleared, the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1445 

balance being in brush and timber. There was a small log cabin on the 
place, with one door, one window and a six-foot fireplace, and in this 
primitive home Judge and Mrs. Poage began their life in Daviess County, 
moving to the place March 4, 1868. Judge Poage immediately began to 
improve the property— as he says: "I first cleared all on top of the 
ground, and then underneath." From that time to the present he has 
labored faithfully to make this one of the finest properties in the 
county. Many improvements have been made and he has added to the 
farm until it now contains 300 acres, all of which he has improved and 
put under cultivation. His first land cost him $6.25 per acre, some of 
which he could now sell for $300 an acre ; one 80-acre tract, purchased 
subsequent to his first property, cost him but $2.50, while for other land 
he has paid as high as $20 an acre. All of his land could now easily bring 
$100 an acre. 

In 1871 Judge Poage built his present frame house, the lumber for 
which he brought to his farm from the City of Chicago, just previous 
to the great fire, and this was the first carload of pine lumber shipped 
into the Town of Pattonsburg. He also displayed his progressive spirit 
by buying and bringing here the first reaper and dropper. 

When Judge Poage bought his present farm, Pattonsburg had not 
been started, his nearest railroad being at Stewartsville, Missouri, thirty 
miles distant. The railroad did not come to Pattonsburg until 1871, at 
which time the present site of the city was covered with timber from 
Judge Poage 's east line to Main Street. East of Main Street the land 
had been broken and this the judge farmed until he could get his other 
land cleared. The timber was so heavy, in fact, and the roads so scarce, 
that it was customary, when starting on a journey, for the settlers to 
take along an axe, with which to cut their way through. After Pattons- 
burg was started, Judge Poage purchased ten acres of land across the 
road from his farm east of Poage Street, named in his honor, for $20 
per acre, and this property he laid off in lots and sold as such. Judge 
Poage now has four large barns on his farm, besides numberless out- 
buildings, as he has always been a firm believer in taking care of what 
he has raised. He has an outside wash house, an acetylene gas plant, tool 
sheds, stock sheds, feed grinding building, a large chicken house and a 
tenant house, and all are in the best of repair and condition. He also 
has five houses in the City of Pattonsburg, which he rents, and is a stock- 
holder in the Daviess County Savings Bank of Pattonsburg, and a mem- 
ber of the directing board of that institution. For many years past he 
has been an extensive feeder of cattle, and at the present time is feeding 
sixty head of spring calves. 

Judge and Sirs. Poage have been the parents of four children, namely : 
Mary Eliza, who was born in Kentucky and died in 1872 in Daviess 
County, Missouri ; Carrie Luella, who is the wife of Ollie AVeller and 
resides at Sherman, Texas ; Daisy J., who is the wife of Alonzo Bridges, 
of Bedford, Iowa ; and Nicholas L., who lives with his parents and is his 
father's assistant in his farming operations. Judge and Mrs. Poage and 
all of their children are consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South. Judge Poage is a Mason. In politics he is a democrat, 
and before the country school was consolidated with the city school, he 
served as director of the former for nine years. During the '80s he was 
elected and served four years capably in the capacity of county judge of 
Daviess County. 

It is Judge Poage 's opinion that it takes three classes of men to 
develop a country. The first class hunts, fishes and traps; the second 
class hunts, fishes, traps and clears out a little land; the third class, 
finding the game largely gone, clears and puts the land under cultivation 



1446 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

and makes a home for his old age. Judge Poage belongs to the latter 
class. He has always been a hard worker and is still disposed to carry 
on his share of the work. Being a carpenter by trade, he has been able 
to furnish a large part of the labor required in the construction of every 
building on the place, and there are at least twenty good, substantial 
structures, much of the timber for which he has taken from his own 
woods, cut, hauled to the sawmill and put in place in the building. Judge 
Poage represents a type of pioneer now fast disappearing. In his 
eightieth year he is still active in mind and body, and his recollection of 
early events makes him an interesting conversationalist. He is well pro- 
vided for in his declining years, and is passing them in peace and com- 
fort, with the respect and esteem of all men as an additional reward for 
a life of honest and well-meaning effort. 

George T. Netherton, M. D. The Netherton family was established 
in the wilds of Daviess County four score years ago, and Dr. George T. 
Netherton, now successfully practicing medicine in Gallatin, was himself 
born in this section of Northwest Missouri more than seventy years ago, 
and there are few men still living who have so close and accurate a recol- 
lection of early times and conditions. Doctor Netherton is an old soldier, 
for many years followed the business of farmer, and later in life took up 
the study and practice of medicine and has since enjoyed an extensive 
general practice. 

Dr. George T. Netherton was born in Daviess County August 23, 
1841, a son of James N. and Nancy (Thomas) Netherton. The parents 
were natives of Eastern Tennessee and were married there, and in 1834, 
with three children and with the parents of James Netherton, they all 
emigrated - to Northwest Missouri, making the entire trip by wagon. 
Their destination was the Grand River Valley in Daviess County, and 
they laboriously proceeded through the wilderness until they arrived at 
a point eight miles north of the present City of Gallatin. At that time 
only one other family lived north of them as far as the Iowa boundary, 
and this extreme settlement was only a mile and a half north of the 
Netherton place. The land in Daviess County had not yet been put on 
the market by the Government, and the Nethertons and the other pioneers 
who came about the same time were "squatters" and occupied the land 
without legal leave until the Government opened it for entry through the 
land office at Lexington, Missouri, where the Nethertons secured and paid 
for their claims. Their settlement occurred several years before the 
Platte Purchase, and there were as many Indians as white settlers in 
Northwest Missouri. In a country that is now a smiling landscape of 
farms and cities it is difficult, if not impossible, to conceive the condi- 
tions which existed when the Nethertons came. The country was divided 
between prairie and dense primeval forest, and for a number of years it 
was possible to shoot deer without going more than a quarter of a mile 
beyond the homestead. Doctor Netherton 's father built for the first 
habitation of the family a log house, which was covered with clapboards, 
split out of the native timber. This preliminary task having been 
accomplished, there remained before him the still heavier work of clear- 
ing a farm from the midst of the woods, and that work occupied him for 
many years, and he died on the old home place in 1868. His widow 
survived many years, passing away in 1894. Both were members of 
the Baptist Church, and the father was originally a democrat, but subse- 
quently joined the republican party. In their family were fourteen 
children, named briefly as follows: Catherine, deceased; Elizabeth J., 
deceased ; Rev. John L., who was the first male white child born in 
Daviess County and now lives at Montrose, California ; Henry, deceased ; 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1447 

Sarah A. Coffey : Dr. George T. ; James C, of Clinton, Henry County. 
Missouri : M. G., now deceased, who was at one time treasurer of Daviess 
County ; William B., who enlisted in the Forty-third Missouri Volunteer 
Infantry, was taken prisoner at Glasgow, Missouri, and subsequently 
died during service as a result of disease near Kansas City; Adelbert L., 
who lives at Gilman ; Iciphena Z., deceased ; Caroline, deceased ; and two 
that died in infancy. 

Doctor Xetherton was born on the old home farm in Grand River 
Township, and his earliest recollections are of log cabin homes, a com- 
paratively limited area of cultivation, most of the fields being thickly 
set with stumps, and practically all his education was acquired in school 
houses that had puncheon floors, split log benches, with instruction 
almost as crude as the furnishings. He lived at home and attended school 
until the outbreak of the war, and at that time was about twenty years 
of age. He was in the first command raised for service in Northwest 
Missouri, enlisting for a term of six months in a battalion organized by 
Major Cox. All his service was in this section of the state. In February, 
1862, Doctor Netherton enlisted in the First Missouri State Militia Cav- 
alry, being assigned to Company A, his commanding officers being Capt. 
Joseph H. McGee, Major Cox and Colonel McFarren. He saw a great 
deal of active service, and at the Battle of Mine Creek was shot through 
the left arm, and has never entirely recovered from that wound. He 
remained with his regiment until mustered out in February, 1865, being 
at that time a non-commissioned officer. 

With his return to Northwest Missouri Dr. Netherton bought a small 
tract of unimproved land, and in order to earn a living taught school 
while clearing up and getting his farm into a productive condition. He 
went on with his work until a hundred acres had been cleared, and his 
occupation was as a progressive and successful farmer for twenty-five 
years. Towards the close of his farming experience he attended one year 
of medical lectures at St. Joseph, and took two years in the Kansas City 
Medical College, from which he was graduated M. D. in 1897. He at once 
began practice at Gallatin, remained there until 1901, and then went to 
the Southwest and was in practice in one of the comparatively new 
counties of North Texas, Archer County, until 1908. Returning to 
Missouri, Doctor Netherton has since had his offices in Gallatin and still 
attends to large professional business. 

On August 2, 1866. Doctor Netherton married Miss Hannah Everly. 
of Daviess County. Her parents were John J. and Iciphena (Seat) 
Everly, the former a native of Pennsylvania and the latter of Missouri. 
The Seat family came from Tennessee to Morgan County, Missouri, 
among the pioneers, while the Everly family located in the same county 
in 1838 and in the fall of the same year moved on to Daviess County, 
where they were among the early settlers. Doctor Netherton and wife 
have two children : The son Charles 0. is now practicing as a veterinary 
surgeon at Gallatin. E. J. Netherton now has charge of the hog cholera 
serum preparation in the laboratory at St. Joseph. 

Doctor Netherton is a member of the Baptist Church, keeps up his 
associations with the old veterans as a member of the Grand Army of 
the Republic, and is affiliated with the Masonic and Odd Fellow frater- 
nities. As a young man his political sympathies were with the demo- 
cratic party, but after the war he became an active republican, and 
continued that affiliation until the Chicago convention of 1912. He 
broke away from the party in that year, served as delegate to the state 
progressive convention, and later was in the convention at Chicago which 
nominated Roosevelt and Johnson as progressive candidates for President 
and vice president. He is a thorough believer in progressive principles 



1448 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

and hopes for the ultimate success of the progressive party. Just fol- 
lowing the war Doctor Netherton served for a time as supervisor of regis- 
tration in Daviess County. 

Melvix A. Godman was one of the most venerable and interesting 
survivors of that group of early settlers whose gamut of experience ran 
back to the time when Daviess County was only emerging from the 
dominion of the wilderness. Considering his early lack of opportunity 
and the hard necessity which imposed continuous toil upon the shoulders 
of a child, he had a career of remarkable accomplishment and deserved 
all the honors paid him in his declining age. 

The birth of Melvin A. Godman occurred in Monroe County, Missouri, 
March 17, 1836. He was a son of John and Tabitha (Jones) Godman, 
both of whom were natives of Virginia, were married in Bourbon County, 
Kentucky, and about 1830 emigrated and established homes in the new 
country of Monroe County, Missouri. They made the trip in a covered 
wagon drawn by four horses. Two families comprised the party and 
most of them rode in the one wagon. They located near the old 'Town 
of Palmyra, where John Godman took up Government land in the midst 
of the woods, built a log house, and cleared off many acres and prepared 
them for cultivation. John Godman was a hard worker all his active 
career, but circumstances were conflicting, and he lived in a time when 
life was largely heavy toil and hardship, with few comforts and advan- 
tages. In 1844 he brought his family to Livingston County, Missouri, 
and again took up Government land a mile and a half east of Spring 
Hill. On that place was a small log cabin, and during the four years 
he lived there he did a large amount of improvement. In 1848 he came 
to Daviess County and five years later entered 200 acres of Government 
land located eleven miles north of Jamesport. That was his home until 
his death in 1875, while his wife passed away in 1S72. Melvin A. God- 
man was the eighth in a family of nine children, and all the others are 
now deceased, their names having been Ann, Eliza, Jane, Nancy, Allen, 
William, Caroline. Lucy and Mary Boone. 

Melvin A. Godman had no school advantages when a boy. owing to 
the fact that his home was first in Monroe County, then in Livingston 
County and then in Daviess County, all of which at the time were on 
the frontier. His entire attendance at any sort of school was limited 
to about three months, and his training for life was the result of practi- 
cal effort, swinging the axe in the woods, plowing the heavy virgin soil, 
and planting and harvesting crops. He lived at home with his parents 
until thirty years of age. having been married when twenty-two. In 
the spring of 1865 Mr. Godman bought of his father-in-law. Thomas 
Michals. 320 acres of partly improved land twelve miles north of James- 
port in Lincoln Township. There was a log cabin, and seventy acres 
had been broken, while ten acres were in pasture. All the rest of the 
heavy work of clearing and improvement was performed by Mr. God- 
man. who in time erected a substantial residence and barns, built line 
and cross fences, and with the steady industry which was his lifelong 
characteristic continued to accumulate and add to his estate until he was 
the owner of 810 acres of well improved land, divided into three farms, 
with three separate dwellings and other buildings. For many years 
he was a large cattle and hog raiser, and shipped extensively from his 
farm to the markets of Chicago. Kansas City and St. Joseph. Mr. God- 
man remained on that farm until February. 1891. when he moved to 
Jamesport and lived retired, and there he died November 27. 1914. 

On September 3, 1857, Mr. Godman married Miss Clara Michals. 
She was born in Montgomery County, Indiana, in 1840, a daughter of 







%^C<o&; 6L, /^^-^^ 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1449 

Thomas H. and Deborah (Cravens) Michals. Her father was born in 
Tennessee and went as a child to Kentucky, while her mother was a 
native of Kentucky, where they were married, and moved to Montgom- 
ery County, Indiana, about 1830, and thence in the fall of 1856 took the 
interesting journey which established them in a new home in Lincoln 
Township of Daviess County. They came to Missouri with two teams, 
one of horses and the other of oxen. Mr. Michals bought 320 acres, 
paying $5 an acre to its owner, who had secured the land direct from the 
Government. Only twenty acres had been broken by the plow, and after 
Mr. Michals had lived there some years he sold the place to his son-in-law, 
Mr. Godman, for $10 an acre and then returned to Indiana, lived- there 
three years, and on coming back to Missouri located in Saline County 
and a few years later returned to Lincoln Township, in Daviess County, 
where he died in 1879. His wife passed away at the home of Mr. and 
Mrs. Godman in 1882. Mrs. Godman was one of a large family of 
children, mentioned briefly as follows: Nancy "Williams; Solomon, who 
died while a soldier in the Mexican war ; Joel W., who also saw service 
in the war with Mexico; Cassie; Ann Endicott; Thomas B., Mrs. God- 
man, and several others that died in infancy. Mrs. Godman, like her 
husband, is the only survivor of her immediate family. 

The long companionship of Mr. and Mrs. Godman was blessed by 
the birth of eleven children, five of whom died in infancy, and the 
other six are: Perry A., of Jamesport ; Palmer F., of Lees Summit; 
Cassie, wife of P. V. Neighswenger, of Jamesport ; Atlanta A., wife of 
John K. Everly, of Jameson ; Belle, wife of John Meserva, of Trenton ; 
Amanda A., wife of Harry B. McCluskey, of Jamesport. 

From the time he located in Jamesport Mr. Godman divided half of 
his farm among his children, and sold the balance, and has invested to a 
considerable extent in Jamesport City real estate. He was a member of 
the Baptist Church, as is his widow, and in politics he was a democrat, 
but never sought office. It was the fortune of Mr. Godman to have seen 
Daviess County grow from an almost uninhabited section to a thickly 
populated district. After his marriage he did his trading largely at 
Chillicothe and Spring Hill, thirty miles away, and it required two days 
to make a trip to and from mill to get meal and flour. For many years 
after he came to Daviess County Jamesport was unoccupied Government 
land. There were no public schools, and the settlers supported schools 
by paying $1 a month per pupil, while the teacher boarded around. In 
spite of the deficiencies of his early training, Mr. Godman was thoroughly 
successful, largely due to his native intelligence and an experience which 
developed keen business faculties. 

Roscoe A. Morris. A resident of Savannah for a period of forty- 
three years, Roscoe A. Morris has been a witness to and a participant 
in the era of this city's greatest commercial growth. For thirty-four 
years he was engaged in the sale of agricultural implements, and is widely 
known to the trade all over this part of the state, but at the present time 
is living in retirement. Mr. Morris was born at Petersburg, Illinois, 
August 6, 1852, and is a son of Martin S. and Elizabeth (Wagoner) 
Morris. 

Martin S. Morris was born at Richmond, Kentucky, in 1817, and as 
a young man went to Illinois, becoming the owner of a large plow manu- 
factory at Petersburg, a business of which he was the directing head for 
a period of twenty-five years, or until coming to Savannah, in 1871. 
Here also he was engaged in making agricultural machinery, but finally 
retired from business, and died May 6, 1884. A lifelong republican, 
Mr. Morris took a particularly active participation in the movements 



1450 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

of his party, and was personally acquainted with many of the leaders 
of the organization in Illinois. One of these was War Governor Richard 
Yates, who was his intimate friend, and Roscoe A. Morris now has in his 
possession a letter from the governor, written to his father in 1850, and 
sent through the mails with a five-cent stamp and without envelope. Mr. 
Morris was also an intimate fried of Abraham Lincoln, and his son has 
also a letter from the martyred President, and well remembers accom- 
panying his father to the Lincoln home to congratulate the President 
upon his election. Mr. Morris was offered a number of high positions 
by Mr. Lincoln, but followed his fixed rule in declining office, and his 
only public service of importance was as revenue collector of the port 
of New Orleans, an office in which he served three years. While in 
Illinois Mr. Morris was an extensive land owner, and at one time was 
known as one of his community's most substantial men. He was frater- 
nally connected with the Masons. Mr. Morris was married at Springfield, 
Illinois, to Miss Elizabeth Wagoner, who was born in Pennsylvania, and 
she died January 24, 1900, at Savannah, at the age of eighty years. 
There were six sons and six daughters in the family, of whom Mr. Morris 
is the only son living, while three daughters also survive. 

Roscoe A. Morris attended the public schools of Petersburg, Illinois, 
until reaching the age of fifteen years, at which time he received his 
introduction to business methods in his father's plow works. He had 
just reached his majority when he came to Savannah, and here also was 
associated with his father for a time, but subsequently turned his atten- 
tion to the sale of agricultural implements, in which he was engaged for 
thirty-four years. This long period of unabated industry and well- 
directed effort culminated in the accumulation of a handsome competency, 
and in 1909 he retired from business cares, and since that time has lived 
quietly, enjoying the fruits of his labors. His name in commercial circles 
is an honored one, for he achieved his success through no underhand deal- 
ings, but ever maintained a high standard of business ideals. He is a 
public-spirited citizen, ever ready to give his support to progressive 
movements and enterprises, but his political activity has been confined 
to casting his vote for the candidates of the republican party. Like his 
father, he is a Mason. 

Mr. Morris was married in 1881 to Miss Emmazella Stark, who was 
born at Dowagiac, Michigan, July 11, 1858, and was ten years of age 
when she came to Savannah, Missouri, with her widowed mother. She 
is a daughter of Erastus and Anna (Riggin) Stark, the former born in 
New York and died December 19, 1863. He was a grandson of Gen. 
John Stark. Mr. Stark was a farmer and mechanic, and spent the active 
years of his life on his property in Michigan. Mrs. Stark was born in 
Virginia, November 25, 1817, and died at Savannah. Of the five sons 
and five daughters in the Stark family, three sons and four daughters 
still survive. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Morris, 
namely : Mrs. Josephine Dailing, who resides with her parents and has a 
son — Roscoe Morris ; and Martin S., residing on a farm four miles north 
of Savannah, who married Miss Laura Burns, of Andrew County. 

Homer L. Faulkner, As vice president of the Peoples Exchange 
Bank of Jamesport, and one of the best known and most extensive breed- 
ers of the old original Big Boned Spotted Poland-China hogs in Amer- 
ica, Homer L. Faulkner, proprietor of Highview Breeding Farms, 
occupies an important position in the business, agricultural and financial 
life of Daviess County, Missouri. His interests are large and of a val- 
uable character, yet his activities have not been confined to participation 
in affairs merely for his own benefit, but have branched out into matters 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1451 

concerning the public and community welfare, in the advancement of 
which he has always been ready to enlist his time, his energies and his 
means. 

Mr. Faulkner was born on the old homestead farm located south of 
Jarnesport, in Daviess County, Missouri, September 1, 1876, and is a 
son of Lewis M. and Salatha Jane (Siler) Faulkner. His father was 
born in Campbell County, Tennessee, and his mother in Whitney 
County, Kentucky, counties which adjoined, being on the border of their 
respective states. They were married in the latter county in 1854, and 
during the same year started on their long and tedious jurney in a 
covered wagon, drawn by an old mule and a blind horse, to Jackson 
Township, Daviess County, Missouri, where the family located on unim- 
proved land in the timber, and near a spring of water. There was plenty 
of good prairie land to be secured near at hand, but like most of the 
pioneers they feared the cold winters on the prairie and the least desirable 
land was taken first. Springs of water and material for rail fences were 
to be found in the rough timber country, and there also were secured 
the logs with which Mr. Faulkner built the little family home. After 
this he cleared, fenced and broke the land, and added to his original hold- 
ings until he had 400 acres, part secured from the United States Gov- 
ernment, part from the old Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad, and the 
balance from individual owners, all in Jackson Township. In addition 
to doing general farming, Mr. Faulkner was a raiser and breeder of 
thoroughbred Short Horn cattle. He and Mrs. Faulkner were devout 
members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and in politics the 
father was a democrat. He died in 1878, and Mrs. Faulkner survived 
him until 1905, being seventy years of age at the time of her demise. 
Homer L. Faulkner was the youngest of a family of twelve children, 
of whom eleven are still living: Lucinda, the one deceased, passed 
away in infancy ; Marion, who is a resident of Gray County, Texas ; 
Mattie, the wife of George D. Burge, of El Reno, Oklahoma ; Ferdinand, a 
resident of Swisher County, Texas; Samantha, who is the wife of Dr. 
J. G. Wingo, of Swisher County, Texas; King, a resident of Hood 
County, Texas ; Mollie, who is the wife of J. T. McClure, of Jamesport, 
Missouri; Robert, of Swisher County, Texas; Siler, of Gray County, 
Texas; Marvin and George, both . resident of Swisher County, Texas; 
and Homer L., of this notice. 

From his birth Homer L. Faulkner has been compelled to struggle 
against disadvantages, for he was born of exceedingly small stature, yet 
in spite of this he has succeeded far better than the majority of men. 
He received his education at the Jamesport public schools and the Gal- 
latin High School, this being followed by a course at Grand River Col- 
lege, Gallatin, and after his graduation returned to the home farm, 
where his mother resided, and engaged in general farming and the 
raising of thoroughbred Short Horn cattle. In the latter line he con- 
tinued until 1907, when he had a disposal sale, preparing to devote his 
entire time to his thoroughbred hogs, this business having increased so 
enormously as to demand his entire time and attention. He had begun, 
in 1893, his now famous herd with three thoroughbred old original Big 
Boned Spotted Poland-China sows. Since that time his business along 
this line has increased until he now owns the largest herd of this partic- 
ular breed of hogs in the world, selling hundreds of hogs, principally 
boars, all over the United States, Canada and Mexico, through mail 
orders, and also holding an annual sale of sows, at which the price per 
animal averages about $100. At his 1915 sale he sold sixty thoroughbred 
sows. 



1452 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Among the many famous boars which have come from Highview 
Breeding Farms may be mentioned "Budweiser," an animal owned by 
Mr. Faulkner for ten years, and the best advertised Poland-China boar 
in the world, and "Brandywine," one of the largest of the breed, 
weighing 1,060 pounds. Among the sows may be mentioned such famous 
animals as "Carrie Canton," "Miss Carrie/' "Lady Perfection" and 
"Teeumseh Girl." 

Mr. Faulkner has an excellent location for handling animals and 
sending them to various shipping points, Jamesport being located on 
the Rock Island Railroad, eighty-five miles northeast of Kansas City, 
and sixty miles northeast of St. Joseph, Missouri. His foundation stock 
came from the old spotted Poland breeders of Illinois and Ohio ; his hogs 
are all recorded with the Standard Poland-China Record, Maryville, 
Missouri, of which he is a director, and he furnishes a certified pedigree 
with every hog he sells. Of the more than four hundred hogs he sells 
annually, not over half of them are seen by their buyers prior to their 
purchase, for his hogs are so well known that they are largely sold by 
mail order. He sends out only first-class stock, guarantees everything 
as represented, and every hog a breeder, and as he has always been 
faithful to his obligations he has an honored name in commercial circles. 
Mr. Faulkner is the owner of 160 acres of land in Jackson Township, 
forty acres of which was a part of his father's home place and pur- 
chased from the old Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad. 

In March. 1901, Mr. Faulkner was married to Miss Ocie Owens, of 
Coffeyburg, Missouri, a daughter of John S. Owens, now a farmer in 
Iowa. Three children have been born to this union : Hazel Ray, Rich- 
ard and Thomas Benton. In 1908 Mr. Faulkner took up his residence 
at Jamesport. which has since continued to be his home. In January, 
1912. he was one of the organizers of the Peoples Exchange Bank of 
Jamesport. and at its organization was elected active vice president, a 
position which he has continued to hold to the present time. The growth 
of this bank mav be realized by a glimpse of the following figures: 
Resources January 10. 1912, $25.337.33 ; October 21. 1913. $80.680.32 ; 
March 1. 1911. $115,102.23. On the last named date the following state- 
ment was issued : Resources, loans and discounts, $80,164.15 ; overdrafts, 
$348.72 : furniture and fixtures. $2,600 ; cash and sight exchange, $31.- 
989.06 : total, $115,102.23. Liabilities, capital stock, $20.000 ; surplus, 
$3,500 : undivided profits. $586.62 : deposits. $91,015.61. The officers are 
as follows : John W. Thompson, president ; H. L. Faulkner, vice presi- 
dent; George B. Koch, cashier: and these gentlemen and the following as 
directors: John Gildow. J. A. Smith, W. F. Burge and J. F. Kesler. 
Their new building, which they have recently occupied, is one of the 
most commodious and handily arranged bank homes in this part of the 
state, a feature of which is a large farmers' room, provided with an old- 
fashioned fireplace, library tables, comfortable seats and every other 
convenience which is found in all up-to-date banking institutions. 

Politically. Mr. Faulkner is a democrat, but he has never sought or 
accepted public office. He is a member of the Commercial Club of 
Jamesport. of which he has served one year as secretary; is fraternally 
connected with the Royal Arch chapter of the Masonic order and the 
Odd Fellow lodge and encampment, and is also a member of the Standard 
Poland-China Record Association of America, and has for the past three 
years been a member of the board of directors, a most important posi- 
tion. During the sixty years that the Faulkner family has resided in 
Daviess County, its members have made an enviable record for straight- 
forward and honorable participation in those things which have made 
its agricultural and business history, and Homer L. Faulkner is proving 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1453 

himself a worthy representative of a name that has always been held 
in the highest esteem. 

Robert V. Thompson, M. D. Though a native of New York State, 
Doctor Thompson spent most of his youth on a small farm in Livingston 
County, Missouri, and is a successful physician and business man whose 
ambition and energy guided him in his early search for opportunity. 
Doctor Thompson now occupies a prominent position in business affairs 
at Jamesport as president of the Commercial Bank of that city, and 
except as business interests have interfered has been in active practice 
as a physician and surgeon for twenty-five years. 

The Commercial Bank of Jamesport, of which Doctor Thompson is 
now the president, was organized in. 1892 as the Farmers and Merchants 
Bank. It began with a capital stock of $30,000, and the first officers were : 
T. B. Yates, president ; W. F. Phipps, cashier, and W. I. Jones, assistant 
cashier. Doctor Thompson was one of the original board of directors. 
In 1904 the capital stock was increased to $50,000, and in 1911 there 
was a consolidation of this with the First National Bank of Jamesport, 
at which time the name was changed to its present form. .The capital 
stock was then increased to .$80,000. It is one of the soundest banks of 
Northwest Missouri, as a brief glance at some items from an official state- 
ment in October, 1914, will indicate. The total resources aggregated 
$417,514.64, and besides the capital of $80,000 the bank's surplus and 
profits aggregated nearly twenty thousand dollars. An important feature 
of the general statement is the amount of deposits, which at that time 
totaled upwards of $290,000. The personnel of the officials and directory 
include many of the best known men in Daviess County. Besides Doctor 
Thompson as president, the vice president is Ben F. Wood, a banker of 
long experience ; James Guerin, secretary, and W. T. McClure, cashier. 
Other names from the list of directors are C. G. McKinley, H. J. Kesler, 
T. K. Hays and W. C. Pogue. 

Robert V. Thompson was born February 27, 1864, in Chemung 
County, New York, a son of Richard and Hester (Booth) Thompson. 
His father was a native New Yorker and of English descent, while his 
mother was born in England and was brought to America by her parents 
when one year of age. Richard Thompson was a miller by trade, fol- 
lowed his vocation in New York State, but died when Doctor Thompson 
was but four years of age. In 1868 the widowed mother brought her 
children out to Livingston County, Missouri, and bought a small slightly 
improved farm, which with the assistance of her older sons she broke up 
and improved, and that little homestead was the place where she ended 
her days, her last years being spent in comfort and plenty, passing away 
in 1898. Doctor Thompson was the ninth among ten children, and one 
daughter and three sons are still living. 

Doctor Thompson grew up on the little Livingston County farm, 
attended the common schools in the country districts, and for a time 
was a student at Avalon College. His early medical studies were car- 
ried on under the direction of Dr. T. W. Foster, with whom he remained 
two years, and then entered the Missouri Medical College at St. Louis, 
graduating M. D. in March, 1889. Doctor Thompson began his practice 
of medicine at Jamesport and has been one of the favorite physicians 
of the city the greater part of a quarter of a century. Three years after 
beginning practice he took a post-graduate course at the Chicago Poli- 
clinic, and then returned and practiced regularly until 1897. In that 
year he was elected cashier of the old Farmers and Merchants Bank of 
Jamesport and took an active part in the bank's affairs for two years. 
He then resigned to resume his practice, but after three years again 



1454 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

acquired an interest in the bank and was again its cashier for seven 
years. In 1909 he was elected president, and devoted all his time to the 
active management of the institution for three years, and since 1911, 
though still retaining his post as president, has continued the work of 
his profession. At one time Doctor Thompson owned a large amount of 
Missouri farm lands, but - his investments in recent years have been 
turned to the irrigated district of Colorado, where he now has some 
valuable interests. 

In his professional associations he is a member of the Daviess County 
Medical Society, Grand River Valley Medical Society, the North Missouri 
Medical Society and the Missouri State Medical Society. While never 
active in politics for the sake of an office, Doctor Thompson has never 
avoided the responsibilities of citizenship, and has filled elective offices 
as coroner of Daviess County two terms, mayor of Jamesport one term, 
and as a member of the city council several terms. He is now and for 
seventeen years has filled the office of director and treasurer of the 
Jamesport School Board. In politics he is a democrat, and is affiliated 
with the Knights of Pythias. 

Doctor Thompson was married February 11, 1891, to Miss Jennie 
Nickell. Her father, Rev. W. N. Nickell, who has been identified with 
the Missouri Presbytery throughout a long career as a minister, is now 
Presbyterian clergyman at Lowry City, Missouri. To the marriage of 
Doctor Thompson and wife have been born three children : Blanche, 
wife of J. Frank Smith, of Colorado ; Victor, who also lives in Colorado ; 
and Mary Frances, still attending school. 

George Dowe Harris, M. D. While he is one of the younger physi- 
cians of Daviess County, Doctor Harris has had unusual success since 
beginning practice at Jamesport about four years ago, and in 1914 was 
honored by election to the office of vice president of the Missouri Eclectic 
Medical Society. Through his grandparents on both sides Doctor Harris 
is identified with pioneer times in Northwest Missouri, since the f amiliies 
have lived here seventy years or more, and the first to come had to hew 
homes out of the wilderness. 

George Dowe Harris was born in Grundy County, Missouri, January 
1, 1884, a son of James P. and Jennie (Anderson) Harris, his father a 
native of Grundy County and his mother of Livingston County. The 
paternal grandparents, Jesse and Mary (Embrey) Harris, natives of 
Kentucky, where they were married, left that state more than three 
quarters of a century ago, drove overland with wagon and ox team to 
Grundy County, Missouri, where Jesse Harris was one of the very early 
arrivals, and entered a section of Government land in Jefferson Town- 
ship. This land, it is interesting to note, is now owned by Doctor Harris' 
father, who inherited it from its first settler. A log house was the first 
home of the Harris family in Missouri, and it was built by Jesse Harris, 
assisted by his neighbors. The old house is still standing, an interesting 
relic of bygone days, and in a good state of preservation. Jesse Harris 
was a hard working farmer, improved his land, and remained on the 
old place until he died. The Harris family have been members of the 
Baptist Church for generations. 

The doctor's maternal grandparents were George Washington and 
Jean (Leeper) Anderson, who were also from Kentucky, the state which 
furnished so many early settlers to Northwest Missouri. They were mar- 
ried there and not long after the Harrises made their journey also came 
to Northwest Missouri, locating in Livingston County. The family and 
many of their household goods were conveyed in a covered wagon. 
During the excitement over the California gold discoveries George W. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1455 

Anderson made two trips across the plains with wagon and ox team. 
Before coming to Missouri he had been a teacher in Kentucky, and in 
Livingston County served for more than twenty years as justice of the 
peace. Although a farmer by occupation, he never owned any land. His 
death occurred in Grundy County, just a mile from the Livingston 
County line, having moved to that locality a short time before his death. 
He was a stanch member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, a class 
leader, and would travel many miles to attend the early camp meetings 
and revivals. 

James P. Harris, father of Doctor Harris, was born on the old farm 
in Grundy County July 22, 1839, and has spent practically his entire 
lifetime, covering three-quarters of a century, on the same place. As a 
boy he attended a school supported by subscription and kept in a log 
cabin, which had a fireplace at one end, split slab benches, puncheon 
floors, and the open space that by courtesy was called a window was 
covered with greased paper. It was the custom for the family of each 
pupil in school to furnish one load of wood, and that wood was prepared 
and placed in the fireplace by the boy pupils. James P. Harris lived at 
home with his parents throughout their lives, and inherited the farm. 
His first wife was Elizabeth Crockett, and the two daughters by that 
marriage were: Alice Ann, now deceased, who was the wife of Lewis 
Saltzman, and was the mother of thirteen children, eleven of whom are 
living, and among them are two sets of twin girls and triplet boys ; and 
Polly, wife of Silas Chumley, of Grundy County. After the death of 
his first wife he married Jennie Anderson, who died shortly after the 
birth of her son, now Doctor Harris. The father then married Miss 
Ella Anderson, a sister of his second wife. 

Doctor Harris, while a member of a substantial family and reared in 
comforts far superior to those enjoyed by his father, has had to work 
out his own salvation, and paid his own expenses for his higher profes- 
sional training. He attended the country schools of Grundy County, 
and in 1902 entered the normal school at Chillicothe, remained there one 
year, and the next four years were spent in earning money as a country 
school teacher during the winter months and as a farmer in the summer. 
In 1907 he again entered the normal at Chillicothe and graduated the 
same year. The following fall saw him a student at the Eclectic Medical 
School of Cincinnati, Ohio, and after two years there he entered a regular 
school of medicine, the Bennett Medical College of Chicago, where he was 
graduated M. D. in 1911. Prior to his graduation and for some follow- 
ing months he served as an interne in Jefferson Park Hospital at Chi- 
cago, his service in that connection altogether being about six months. 
In July, 1911, Doctor Harris returned to Missouri and located at James- 
port, where he became associated in practice with Dr. Charles Gordon 
McKinley, under whom he had received his first instruction in medicine. 
This is one of the best known firms of physicians and surgeons in Daviess 
County, and they have a large general practice both in Jamesport and 
in the surrounding country. 

Doctor Harris has professional associations with the Daviess County 
Medical Society, the Missouri State Medical Society, the Missouri Eclec- 
tic Society, of which he was elected vice president in June, 1914, and 
the National Eclectic Society. He is also serving as a member of the 
Jamesport Board of Health, and is an examiner for several life insur- 
ance companies. His church is the Baptist, while in politics he is a 
republican, and affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. On December 
24, 1911, Doctor Harris married Miss Myrtle Sebastian, of Jamesport, a 
daughter of James E. and Marticia Sebastian, her father being a Daviess 
County farmer. 



1456 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

George W. Hill. In the election of George W. Hill to the office of 
mayor in 1914, the citizens of Jamesport honored a man who has been 
identified with this part of Daviess County nearly sixty years, and who 
has always shown public spirit in community affairs and marked efficiency 
as a business man. His prosperity came from long continued operations 
as a farmer near Jamesport, and being now retired with an ample com- 
petence he has had the leisure and experience to give Jamesport an able 
administration of municipal affairs. 

George W. Hill was born in Pocahontas County, West Virginia, 
November 11, 1843, and the same county was the birthplace of his par- 
ents, William P. and Elizabeth (Poage) Hill. His father was a black- 
smith by trade, and followed that occupation during his career in West 
Virginia. It was in the year 1855, when the present Jamesport mayor 
was about twelve years of age, that the Hill family left West Virginia, 
made part of the trip by wagon, part of it down the course of the Ohio 
River, and finally arrived by these combined methods of water and 
overland transportation in Daviess County, Missouri. William P. Hill 
had the vigor and enterprise of the true pioneer. He preempted 160 acres 
and bought another 160 acres lying west and south of the present site 
of Jamesport. That was only the beginning of his accumulations as a 
landholder, and at the time of his death his estate aggregated 1,300 acres, 
and was worth many times what he paid for his first land in this section. 
He was the builder of the first home occupied by the family. It was a 
house small in dimensions and with few comforts, and was constructed 
of round logs. The fall after his arrival he built a hewed log house, and 
then with these provisions for his family he proceeded to clear up the 
land, fence and improve it, and in the course of years the log buildings 
gave way to a substantial frame residence and barn, and there were few 
men in Daviess County more prosperous. William P. Hill was born in 
1818 and died at the old homestead in Daviess County in 1882, while his 
wife was born in 1816 and died at Jamesport in 1906, when in her 
ninety-first year, being active and clear-minded to the last. George W. 
Hill was the second in a family of eight children, the others being men- 
tioned briefly as follows: John, who died on the home farm; Nancy, 
deceased, who was the wife of G. B. Kimball ; Jane, who died of cholera 
shortly after the family came to Missouri; Sampson L., deceased; Mary, 
wife of Samuel Leonard, of Jackson Township ; Jennie, deceased ; and 
Davis, of Gallatin. 

George W. Hill has depended upon his native intelligence and a keen 
faculty of observation for his education, since all his regular schooling 
was compressed within the first eleven years of his life. He attended the 
schools for several winters in West Virginia, but after the family came 
out to Daviess County, owing to limited school facilities, he applied him- 
self to the more practical duties of clearing up a new farm. He con- 
tinued with his father until twenty-six years of age, and was then mar- 
ried and started for himself. Mr. Hill was married August 26, 1868, 
to Mrs. Addie (Leonard) Moore. He then began farming for himself 
on a place three miles southwest of Jamesport, on 160 acres of partly 
improved land. That was the scene of his activities until his final retire- 
ment from farming as a business, though the prosperity that grew with 
his continued efforts resulted in additions to his original ownership until 
he had 400 acres. Nearly all of this land has been well improved, and 
it has a group of good, substantial buildings. However, it is interesting 
to note that as Mr. Hill spent his first years in Daviess County in a log 
house, he also started housekeeping for himself in a similar home. 

In 1891 his wife died, and in 1893 he left the farm and moved to 
Jamesport, and about that time married Mrs. Ella M. (Jones) Tonkrey. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1457 

Her death occurred in 1898, and in the following year he married her 
sister, Mrs. Lizzie (Jones) Power. Mr. Hill has two children, both by 
his first wife: William L., who owns a portion of his father's old farm 
and is active manager of the entire estate; and Fondie E., wife of Orphus 
Critten. of Gilmer, Texas. Mr. Hill is a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, South, and has fraternal associations with the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows. 

Politically he is a democrat, and until recently the only office he con- 
sented to hold was that of school director in his home "district in the 
country. He was prevailed upon to become a candidate for the office of 
mayor of Jarnesport and was elected in April, 1914, for a term of two 
years. 

When Mr. Hill came to Missouri Jarnesport was still in the future, 
and he has witnessed practically every improvement from the erection 
of the first buildings through the various changes which have developed 
a thriving and prosperous little city. When he was a boy very little of 
the land was improved, and the settlers carried their grist sixteen miles 
to mill, that being an undertaking that required a day each way. coming 
and going. There were no railroads within 100 miles, and all the 
country was a paradise for hunters, abounding in wild game, including 
deer, turkey, prairie chicken, etc. Mr. Hill himself has experienced prac- 
tically all the inconveniences, discomforts, pleasures and incidents of 
pioneer times, and is one of the intelligent, prosperous and public-spirited 
citizens of this community. 

William Carson Elder. In the service of the Burlington Railway 
as its agent at Albany since January 12, 1886, Mr. Elder has had per- 
sonal supervision of nearly all the merchandise shipped in and out of 
that thriving Northwest Missouri community during the past thirty 
years. For a number of years he performed his official duties almost 
unaided and with his own hands handled most of the freight that came 
in or went out over that road. While his relations with the community 
have thus been of an interesting and important nature, he has also been 
a constructive business man, and is interested in several of the local 
enterprises that constitute the business activities of Albany. 

William Carson Elder was born in Warren County, Illinois. December 
18. 1860. His boyhood was passed in the manner of boys at that time, 
with school attendance, recreation in baseball and other outdoor games, 
and with a practical experience as clerk in his father's store at Gerlaw. 
In 1879 he began his career as railroader with the Burlington Company 
as an extra man on the St. Louis division of the road. At Gerlaw he 
acquired the art of telegraphy, and his first regular station was at 
Alsey, Illinois. He was transferred to Mount Ayr. Iowa, on a letter 
from W. C. Brown, now president of the New York Central Lines. 
From there he was transferred to Hummeston as agent, subsequently in 
the same capacity to Ridgeway, Missouri, and in 1886 to Albany. This 
station had had several agents before Mr. Elder came, but he now has one 
of the longest continuous records in one place with this division of the 
Burlington system. 

On coming to Albany Mr. Elder worked in a small office about 8 by 10 
feet, and only at times was given a helper. Still though the business of 
the station grew with the general development of the town and surround- 
ing district, the adequacy of the station and its facilities was not materi- 
ally improved until 1911, when two new rooms were built. Albany at that 
time was a division point. During the early years traffic was light and 
the train often came in with only an engine and two or three merchandise 
cars, and very frequently Mr. Elder did all the work of handling the 



1458 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

freight, at the same time looking after the duties of the telegraph room 
and the clerical matters. Since then his responsibilities have increased 
and he now has five aids on the payroll and all of them are kept busy. 

Mr. Elder has the distinction of having shipped the first carload of 
coal into Albany for the retail trade in 1887. He has been in the coal 
business ever since, and subsequently added grain. Five years ago he 
began putting up natural ice, and is now at the head of the Artesian 
Ice Company, while his grain and coal business is conducted under the 
name Elder Grain and Coal Company. His company and the Albany 
Milling Company ship all the grain marketed at this point. 

While these duties and activities have made him a useful factor in 
the community, Mr. Elder has also been a leader in local affairs. When 
the aldermanic body was doubled he was elected an alderman and 
served two terms. During that time the electric light committee had him 
as chairman four years, and many important extensions to the plant 
were made. While a citizen who endeavored to do his full share in 
community improvements, Mr. Elder is not a politician, and confines his 
interest along that line to voting with the republican party. 

Mr. Elder is a member of the Methodist Church and of the Order of 
Railway Telegraphers. At Albany on April 25, 1888, he married Miss 
Lola C. Twist. Her father, Frank Twist, was a Union soldier, a carpen- 
ter by trade, and came to Missouri from Ohio, though born in New York 
State. Mr. and Mrs. Elder had the following children : Frank Cleo, who 
died at the age of three years. Frederick Alonzo, who married Bernice 
E. Jones and has a son Donald Franklin, and a daughter, Anna Kathlyn ; 
Harry T., of Seattle, Washington; Morris D., his father's assistant in the 
railroad office; Paul Shamblin ; Clarice May; Margaret Frances; and 
Alice Kathryn. 

Mr. Elder has an interesting ancestry. His paternal grandfather, 
David Elder, who died at Mount Ayr, Iowa, at the age of seventy-two, 
was a native of Ohio, and spent all his active career as a farmer. He 
was a member of the United Presbyterian Church, and of Scotch 
stock, his father having been born in Scotland. David Elder married 
Isabel Wray. Their children were : John ; William ; Clark ; A. Alonzo ; 
James, who was killed in the battle of Stone River during the Civil war ; 
Rebecca, who married William Campbell, of Kenton, Ohio; and Margaret, 
who married R. J. Lawhead of Mount Ayr, Iowa. 

The maternal grandfather of Mr. Elder was John Hogue, a son of 
James Hogue. James Hogue was born in Ireland in 1754, came to 
America at the age of fifteen, and a year later found work at Carlisle, 
Pennsylvania. From that community a few years later he enlisted for 
service during the American Revolution in Captain Henrick 's Rifle Com- 
pany, and in three days was on his way to Boston. At that city his com- 
pany was assigned to the Quebec expedition under General Benedict 
Arnold, made the arduous campaign to the St. Lawrence, participated 
in the battle and the storming of the heights, and was taken a prisoner 
after General Montgomery was killed. The British threatened to send 
all the English, Irish and Scotch back to England to be hanged as trai- 
tors unless they enlisted and fought against the Americans. Before the 
prisoners were sent off James Hogue and Thomas Walker escaped, were 
recaptured, again escaped, and while living among the French the British 
authorities again apprehended him, and tried him by court martial and 
sent him to England. While being taken to prison in England he got 
loose from his captors, hid for a time in a cellar, and then traveled over- 
land towards London. While on the way he met the king's brother, 
the Duke of Gloucester, who asked him and his companions what ship 
they belonged to. They explained to the duke that they had permission 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1459 

to go by land to London. In London they were once more captured, 
made their escape and James Hogue was finally put aboard a British 
ship bound for Halifax, subsequently sent to Charleston, South Carolina, 
then back to Halifax, and there was put on board an English privateer 
which fell in with an American vessel and in the engagement the British 
ship was captured. Mr, Hogue quickly made friends with the captain of 
the American ship, finally reached Baltimore, and was assigned to service 
on the American frigate Trumbull. After about five and a half years of 
service in the many vicissitudes between the English and Americans, 
he reached Philadelphia, and was granted as pay for his work in the 
patriot cause a ticket for forty shillings. In 1784 James Hogue moved 
from Pennsylvania to Kentucky and in 1788 to Butler County, Ohio. 
which was his home until 1826. One of his children was John Hogue, 
maternal grandfather of William C. Elder. 

Mr. Elder's father was A. Alonzo Elder, who died in Albany, Mis- 
souri, December 31, 1895, at the age of fifty-seven. He had come to 
Albany a few years previously, and was associated with his son in the 
coal and grain business. He was born in Canton, Ohio, in 1838, came 
to Illinois in childhood, took up a career as a farmer, and in that state 
married Sarah Hogue, daughter of John and granddaughter of James 
Hogue. She died in Tarkio. Missouri. The children of A. Alonzo Elder 
and wife were : William C. ; Margaret I., wife of Clark McConnell of 
Fairfax, Missouri; Anna Lee, wife of William H. Kendall of Tarkio, 
Missouri. 

William Samuel Walker. More than threescore years and ten have 
passed since the Walker family became identified with Harrison County. 
In this Middle West country that is a long time to be resident of one 
locality, and the associations with the name are as honorable as they are 
long continued. Almost exactly seventy years after William S. W T alker 
was brought to the county as an infant he became postmaster of Bethany 
by appointment from President Wilson on June 6, 1913. The date of his 
first arrival in the county was July 4, 1843, and with the exception of his 
army service and several years during the war decade he has lived in 
Northwest Missouri ever since. 

William Samuel Walker was born in North Carolina October 16, 1842. 
His grandfather, William Walker, was a native of Ireland and founded 
the family in America, locating in North Carolina, where he died a 
number of years before the Civil war. He owned slaves and operated a 
plantation in Rockingham County. His children were : James, who 
spent his life in North Carolina ; John, who died in North Carolina ; Dan- 
iel ; and Jesse, who was last heard of in Indiana. 

Daniel Walker was born in Rockingham County, North Carolina, in 
1810. and died in 1864 at the age of fifty-four. He had perhaps the or- 
dinary education of men of the time, and was trained to farm pursuits. 
Soon after the birth of his son William he started with wagons and teams 
for Missouri, where he entered a tract of government land in Butler 
Township of Harrison County, and for the next twenty years was suc- 
cessfully identified with agriculture and the improving of his land. The 
old homestead is situated in section 9, township 63. range 29. Daniel 
Walker was a quiet unassuming farmer citizen, and had no military or 
political record, though a regular supporter of the democratic party and 
decidedly in sympathy with the southern cause and during the war fur- 
nished a son to the Confederate army. More of his time and attention 
were given to church matters. He was an active Presbyterian and helped 
erect the Matkins Church in Harrison County, and was one of its elders. 
He was likewise positively committed to the advancement of education. 



1460 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

and as a trustee of his district helped to provide school facilities in a 
pioneer country. He died from a bronchial affection when he should 
have been in the prime of his life. 

Daniel Walker married Mary M. Edminston, a daughter of Samuel 
and Mary (Gilson) Edminston, both of whom were of North Carolina. 
Mrs. Walker died in Andrew County, Missouri, at the age of sixty- 
four. Her children were: AVilliam S. ; John G., a farmer in Butler 
Township, Harrison County; James, who died unmarried; and Newton, 
who died in West Haven, Connecticut, leaving a family. 

William Samuel Walker grew up in the new country of Harrison 
County, and the outbreak of the war between the states found him just 
coming into manhood. His education had been finished in the country 
district near home, and soon after leaving his books he enlisted in Com- 
pany G of the First Missouri Cavalry, in the Confederate army. The 
company was raised in Harrison County and its first commander was 
Captain Patterson and the second Captain Enyart, while the regiment 
was first commanded by Colonel Childs and subsequently by Colonel 
Elijah Gates. From the rendezvous at Gentryville the regiment went 
to the front at Lexington where it did its first fighting as part of the 
army of General Sterling Price. From Lexington the army fell back 
into Arkansas, and Mr. Walker participated in the battle of Cross Hol- 
lows, better known in history as Pea Ridge or Elkhorn. The entire 
army then was transferred to Memphis, but arrived too late for the 
battle of Shiloh, though it took part in the battle at Corinth, and then 
moved to the vicinity of Vicksburg, where Mr. Walker was in the 
Baker's Creek or Champion Hills fight. At that point, May 16, 1863, 
he was with a squad of his comrades who were captured by the Third 
Kentucky Regiment. The prisoners were taken to Camp Morton, In- 
dianapolis, and thence started for Point Lookout, Maryland. At Har- 
risburg, Pennsylvania, Mr. Walker made his escape just a month after 
his capture. The box-car in which he was riding was waiting in the 
yards for another train to pass, when an Irishman came by and asked 
if the boys wanted water. He took Walker's hand and gave it a squeeze 
and whispered that if he made his escape the Irishman would be on 
hand to do all he could for him. It Avas dusk, and while the car-doors 
were locked, the prisoners had cut holes to let in air, and these apertures 
were large enough to crawl through. Walker and a companion made 
the passage without being discovered, and, following directions, on reach- 
ing a little hedge gave a cough, which was answered by the Irish friend. 
The latter took them to his own home, put them upstairs in a double 
tenement house, the other side of which was occupied by Union people, 
and there Mr. Walker discarded his Confederate uniform and was given 
a hat and trousers instead. After spending the night there Mr. Walker 
went to the iron furnace in the city, and was given work. That was 
June 17th, and he remained in the furnace two months, and then worked 
in the harvest fields until September 1st, and then went south to Ken- 
tucky. Near Maysville he hired out to a farmer named Henry Jeffries, 
and became so much one of the family and so intimate that when Mr. 
Jeffries accused him of being a Confederate he admitted the truth of 
the suspicion on the assurance that the fact would not get beyond the 
knowledge of the family circle. After that he was treated in the same 
kindly manner by this Union friend, and lived in Kentucky, was mar- 
ried, and in 1867 left the state with his young wife and returned to 
Missouri. 

On reaching the community where he had spent his boyhood Mr. 
Walker took up farming and followed it actively for five years. He 
then went to Andrew County to a farm, and later for ten vears was a 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1461 

merchant at King City. During his residence there he served as a mem- 
ber of the council, and was otherwise active in local affairs. In 1898 
Mr. Walker returned to Harrison County and at Bethany became a 
member of the firm of Slemmons & Walker Brothers, the principals of 
which were his sons and his son-in-law. Mr. Walker was bookkeeper 
of the concern until he retired to accept the duties of the local post- 
office. 

Politically Mr. Walker has always been a democrat, and cast his 
first presidential vote for Horatio Seymour, later voted for Horace 
Greeley, and for every democratic candidate since. He is an original 
Wilson man, and had two competitors for the postmastership, and suc- 
ceeded B. P. Sigler in that office. He has given an excellent administra- 
tion of the local office. He is a past grand of the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and has sat in the grand lodge. His church home is the 
Presbyterian. He owns one of the substantial homes of Bethany, 
located in front of the Christian Church, and his family are located in 
the same neighborhood. 

Mr. Walker was married in Kentucky about war times to Kate Cal- 
vert, who died at Bethany in 1900. Their children were : Mary, wife 
of J. B. Slemmons, of Bethany; Robert L., who married Elizabeth 
Walker, is a member of the firm of Slemmons & Walker Brothers ; James 
M., who married Nancy Clark, is also of the same firm; George P., who 
married Lois Barnes, also a partner in the firm. For his second wife 
Mr. Walker married Miss Emma Hubbard, a daughter of Edgar L. 
Hubbard and a sister of Edward S. Hubbard, an old and prominent 
family elsewhere mentioned in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Walker had 
two children, Ralph L. and Walter, the latter dying at the age of 



Riley Napoleon Funk, of New Hampton, is one of the successful 
agriculturists of Harrison County and a native of the locality. He 
was born on his present farm, December 13, 1869, and has spent his 
entire life on this property. Here he lived as a schoolboy, here he 
passed his youth and secured his first impressions of work and here 
he began life when he married. His farm, which his father purchased 
at the close of the Civil war and on which he spent his last years and 
died, is situated in section 17, township 63, range 29, where Mr. Funk 
is the owner of 190 acres of good land, and forty acres in section 11. 

Martin Funk, the paternal grandfather of Riley N. Funk, was born 
December 25, 1800, and was of German descent of Rockingham County, 
Virginia, his remote ancestor being one of four brothers who came to 
America from Germany and probably settled in the Old Dominion 
State. There is no record of their having owned slaves and few of 
them deviated from the beaten path of agriculture. They were Men- 
nonites originally, and one Henry Funk, of the earlier members of the 
family, published an almanac in Virginia, and was one of the few who 
became a scholarly man. Martin Funk was a man of fair education and 
a democrat in politics, but was not a confessed member of any church 
nor did he have any military or political history. His life was passed 
amid the peaceful pursuits of the soil, and his death occurred in June, 
1881, when he was eighty years of age. • 

Nathaniel Funk, the father of Riley N. Funk, was born August 25, 
1826, and as a child went with his parents to Henry County, Indiana, 
where he was reared, educated and married. He did not serve in the 
army during the Civil war, as the township in which he resided made 
up the money necessary to provide the troops called for by the Govern- 
ment, and in 1865 came to Harrison County, Missouri. Mr. Funk was 
a democrat, but in no sense was a politician and ran for no office. 



1462 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

although he held that of postmaster, when the office was located in his 
house, before the location of the Town of "Hamptonville," now New 
Hampton, which latter place was laid out the same month Riley N. Punk 
was born. Nathaniel Funk was one of the substantial men of his com- 
munity and was called upon to aid in the erection of the first churches 
of the locality. He aided in the building of the Foster Church, being 
one of its chief contributors, and never failed to donate to such worthy 
objects. He was a Universalist in religious belief, and having no such 
organization here he divided his church labors. Mr. Funk belonged to 
no secret order; his friendship for education was shown by his capable 
and faithful service as a member of the district school board. 

Nathaniel Funk lived a long and active life, and died December 
23, 1909. He married the first time Eliza J. Courtney, a daughter of 
John Courtney, of Indiana, and to them there were born three children: 
Joseph, a leading farmer of Harrison County ; Mart, of El Paso County, 
Colorado ; and Margaret, who became the wife of J. W. Sevier, of Port- 
land, Oregon. Mr. Funk's second marriage was to Miss Catherine 
Huffman, who was born August 15, 1832, and died in June, 1890, daugh- 
ter of Jonathan Huffman, a Virginia man who passed away in Rocking- 
ham County, that state. Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Funk : Riley N., of this notice ; Gillie A., who is the wife of Sam Clay- 
tor, of Harrison County; and Sam T., a farmer of New Hampton. 

Riley N. Funk has passed his life as a farmer, and has been success- 
ful in his ventures, having also identified himself with a number of busi- 
ness ventures, including the public or farmers scales of New Hampton 
and the farmers lumber yard, in both of which he is a stockholder. He 
has taken enough interest in public affairs to gain the name of being a 
good citizen, and gives his political support to the democratic party. 
A Methodist in his religious belief, he is one of the trustees of Shady 
Grove Church. Mr. Funk was married February 14, 1894, to Miss 
Margaret A. Smith, a daughter of Edward Smith and a sister of John 
E. Smith, a sketch of whose career and family will be found in this 
work. To Mr. and Mrs. Funk there have been born the following chil- 
dren : Kathryn Frances, born November 26, 1894, was educated in the 
New Hampton High School and the Maryville Normal School, and is 
now a teacher in the public schools of Harrison County; and Estella 
Alice, born September 6, 1897; Nora Thelma, born October 16, 1899; 
Hazel Agnes, born March 14, 1901 ; Roberta Moe, born September 17, 
1 902 ; Garland Edward, born June 3, 1904 ; Marie Pearl, born August 15, 
1906. All these children except the two youngest, Garland and Marie, 
are members of the South Methodist Church with their parents. Mr. 
Funk is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Lodge No. 285, of New 
Hampton. 

Gen. Robert Wilfon. Among the stalwart men who helped to shape 
the destinies of the state, few have played a more important part than 
Gen. Robert Wilson, who spent the latter years of his life on his farm in 
Andrew County, a short distance north of St. Joseph. Sympathetic with 
the heeds and aspirations of the people, clear and fixed in his own ideas 
of expediency and right, and giving expression to his ideals both by 
precept and example with force and dignity, his was a character of 
inestimable usefulness during the formative and tempestuous years 
of the state's first half century. 

Born near Staunton, Virginia, November, 1800, Robert Wilson lived 
there until he came to Missouri in 1820. Settling in Howard County, he 
taught school for a time and later found employment in the office of the 
Circuit Clerk. Subsequently he was appointed postmaster of Fayette 
and in 1823 was elected Judge of the Probate Court. In 1828 he was 
elected clerk of the Circuit and County Court, which office he continued 




DR. NICHOLS' SANATORIUM, SAVANNAH 




(^JZ^L* yfce/^<^^ 




HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1463 

to hold until 1840. Meantime he had studied law under his • brother 
General John Wilson and had been admitted to the bar. In 1837 on 
the outbreak of the so-called Mormon war, he was appointed brigadier 
general of the state forces by Governor Boggs and was instrumental, by 
his firm and judicious conduct of affairs, in ridding the state of a pop- 
ulation so generally obnoxious to its citizens. In 1844, Randolph 
County having been formed and he having removed to Huntsville, he 
was sent therefrom to the State Legislature. Removing thence to 
Andrew County in 1852, he was elected in 1854 to represent that district 
in the Senate and re-elected in 1858, although he was a whig and the 
district strongly democratic. 

In the early part of 1861, General Wilson was chosen as a union 
delegate to the convention called by the state to determine its attitude 
regarding secession and at its first session, February 28th, he was elected 
vice-president with Sterling Price as president. Subsequently Price 
having fled to join the Confederacy, General Wilson succeeded to the 
presidency and presided over the convention's deliberations until its 
close. In January, 1862, he was appointed by Acting Governor Hall to 
the United States Senate to fill the unexpired term of Waldo P. John- 
son expelled, and discharged the duties of that office for two sessions 
until the election of B. Gratz Brown. 

After retiring from the Senate, General Wilson though keeping in 
close touch with public affairs devoted himself to agriculture, in which 
his interest was intense. While on a visit to his old surroundings in 
Central Missouri, he was stricken with pneumonia and passed away 
May 10, 1870, at the home of his nephew, Capt. Ben Wilson, at Mar- 
shall, leaving behind a record that was unblemished as to both public 
and private life and one that was unusually rich in evidences of the 
highest usefulness to his fellow-men. 

In 1825 General Wilson was married to Margaret Snoddy who died 
in 1836, leaving him three children, John, who was graduated from 
Yale in 1847 and who died in St. Joseph in 1858 ; James, who was edu- 
cated at Centre College, Danville, Kentucky, and who died in St. Joseph 
in 1906, and Mary Ann who in 1855 was married to Rufus L. McDonald 
of St. Joseph and who still survives. 

Perry Nichols, M. D. As one scans the progress of medical science 
during past ages and more particularly during the present and preceding 
century, amazement and admiration are aroused and faith grows where 
doubt once prevailed. While marvelous things have been accomplished 
in the domain of medicine there have been a few ills that afflict mankind 
that, until recently, have seemed entirely resistent to every treatment 
and perhaps none have been more dreaded and fatal than cancer. The 
general reader is not unacquainted with the progress of research along 
the line of cure for this cruel disease, which attacks every class, irrespec- 
tive of wealth or station, and, if humane and sympathetic, must feel 
keenly regret and disappointment when one heralded cure after the other 
has been swept aside as entirely inadequate. Hence great interest all 
over the country has been aroused by the astounding success which has 
attended the scientific treatment and cure of cancer by one who has made 
the study of this scourge of mankind his life work, Dr. Perry Nichols, 
founder of the Nichols' Sanatorium, located at Savannah, Missouri. 

Perry Nichols was born at Shellsburg, Benton County, Iowa, March 
20, 1863, and is a son of Ira S. and Anna (Carrier) Nichols. The father 
was born in New York and the mother in Vermont. They were married 
in Wisconsin and then moved to Benton County, Iowa, and there spent 
the rest of their lives. They had two sons, Frederick and Perry, both 
residents of Savannah. 



1464 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

The duties pertaining to the cultivation of the home farm claimed 
Perry Nichols until he was about twenty years of age. He had, however, 
excellent educational opportunities, attending school at Iowa City, after- 
ward spending two years in the Iowa State University, in the meanwhile 
pursuing his medical studies and in 1901 was graduated from the medical 
department of the University of the South. He immediately entered 
into practice at Watertown, South Dakota, three years later removing to 
Hot Springs and three years afterward came to Savannah. For the past 
eighteen years he has devoted his attention almost entirely to the treat- 
ment and cure of cancer and maintains his sanatorium at Savannah, 
Missouri. The sanatorium was incorporated June 25, 1914, with a 
capital stock of $500,000. It is under the management of the following 
staff: Perry Nichols, B. S., M. D;, formerly professor of malignant dis- 
eases in the Lincoln Medical College, Lincoln, Nebraska, president; W. A. 
Stearns, vice president; J. H. Reaugh, treasurer; Edith Eason, secretary. 
The board of directors is made up of the above officials and also W. H. 
Bailey, M. D., Ella Nichols and Lydia Reaugh. Dr. W. H. Bailey is 
medical director. 

Doctor Nichols lives a busy life, but will never complain as long as he 
sees the beneficent 'results arising from his enterprise and his scientific 
discoveries. It was only after many years of research and diligent study 
that he discovered a safe and sane cure for the malignant disease of 
cancer without the use of the surgeon's knife and the miraculous cures 
that he has performed entitle him to the gratitude of thousands of 
patients and should give him eminent standing among the benefactors 
of mankind. His institution is modern in every way, with skilled medical 
practitioners and corps of trained nurses, and the location of the building 
is in a section where may be found every requirement of health. Al- 
though Doctor Nichols has built up this enormous business in but a few 
years and has comfortable accommodations for many patients, coming 
from every section of the country, at the present writing (1915) he is 
contemplating further extension, which means still further humanitarian 
usefulness. 

Doctor Nichols has three children and all are pupils in the high school. 
They are George, Helen and John. 

Harry Philip Woodson has been a constant factor in the upbuild- 
ing of the City of Richmond for more than thirty years. As the 
directing head of important mercantile enterprises bearing his name, 
and later in the management of his father's estate and the manifold 
interests of his own, he has given employment to many men and has 
directed their energies into channels that have brought adequate 
rewards to themselves, to their employers and to the city in which they 
have lived and labored. Mr. Woodson belongs to an old and honored 
family, whose • members have been prominent in various walks of life, 
and a short review of its members follows. 

H. P. Woodson was born March 23, 1859, and is a son of Thomas D. 
Woodson, the latter a son of Robert S. and Hulda Ann (Young) Wood- 
son. Thomas D. Woodson was born at Woodsonville, Hart County, 
Kentucky. March 10, 1828, and died at Richmond, Missouri, August 
28, 1902. His father was born in Goochland County, Virginia, Novem- 
ber 26, 1796, and moved with his parents to the present site of Wood- 
sonville, then in Barren County, Kentucky, in 1804. The great-grand- 
father, Thomas Woodson, was born in Goochland County, Virginia, on 
the River James, twenty miles above the City of Richmond, Virginia, 
December 2, 1772, and died in Woodsonville, Kentucky, February 14, 
1857. He was the founder of Woodsonville, once a bright and attractive 
village situated on a high plateau overlooking the surrounding country, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1465 

on the south bank of Green River, in Hart County, Kentucky. The 
great-grandmother of H. P. Woodson was also a native of Virginia, 
born May 2, 1776, and died in the same village in Kentucky, July 21,' 
1844. His grandmother was born in Rockingham County, Virginia' 
and died at Richmond, Missouri. Matthew Woodson, the great-great- 
grandfather of H. P. Woodson, was born in 1731, and married Elizabeth 
Levilian, the only child of John Peter Levilian. Jesse Saunders, the 
great-great-grandfather through his maternal grandmother, married 
Mary Levilian, the only child of Anthony Levilian. The paternal great- 
great-grandparents, the great-grandparents and the grandparents were 
all members of the old school Baptist Church. Mr. Woodson's grand- 
parents had a family of nine children, of whom three died in infancy, 
the others being: Jane Ann, who married John H. Ardinger, a mer- 
chant of Woodsonville, Kentucky, who later .moved to Lexington, Mis- 
souri, and there became a prominent citizen ; Philip J. ; Martha A., who 
became the wife of Austin A. King, governor of Missouri from' 1848 
to 1852; Elizabeth L., who became the wife of Dr. Shelby A. Jackson, 
of Ohio County, Kentucky; Robert Hyde, who joined the Confederate 
army at the outbreak of the Civil war, was wounded at the battle of 
Champion Hills, Mississippi, fell into the hands of the enemy and died ; 
and Thomas D. 

Thomas D. Woodson volunteered for service in 1847 in the Mexican 
war. joining the Fourth Kentucky Infantry, in the company of which 
first Pat Gardner and afterwards Thomas Mayfield were captains. At 
the close of his service he received his honorable discharge and came to 
Missouri, locating at Kingston, Caldwell County, where he established 
himself in the mercantile business. In the spring of 1852 he left 
Kingston and crossed the plains with a train of ox-wagons to the gold 
fields of California, but in January, 1854, returned to his Missouri home 
and again entered mercantile pursuits at Kings.ton. Like many other 
formerly successful men of his day, Mr. Woodson was ruined by the 
Civil war, and he accordingly disposed of what small interests he still 
had at Kingston and in 1863 came to Richmond, which city continued 
to be the scene of his activities during the greater part of the balance of 
his life. For one year he clerked for the firm of Wasson & Hughes, 
and then went into business on his own account, conducting a store 
until 1878, in which year he sold out to Holt & Hughes. In 1868 he 
assisted in the organization of the Ray County Savings Bank, of which 
he became president, a position which he continued to retain for ten 
years, and in 1878, when he decided to concentrate his entire energies 
upon the banking business, he was made president of the institution and 
continued as such up to the time of his death. He was also actively 
engaged in farming and stock raising and was the owner of large tracts 
of land in Ray and adjoining counties. A man of excellent business 
abilities, he bore a sterling reputation for honesty, uprightness and hon- 
orable dealing. On December 5, 1854, Mr. Woodson was married to Miss 
Sabina L. Hughes, a native of Clark County, Kentucky, who was born in 
1830 and died April 11. 1871, and to this union there were born three 
children : Lydia A., who was born September 27, 1855, single and a 
resident of Richmond ; Harry Philip ; and Virginia Elizabeth, born 
September 11, 1870, and now the wife of Dr. Robert Sevier, a prominent 
physician and surgeon of Richmond. Thomas D. Woodson was a devout 
and constant worker in the Methodist Church, South, attended all gen- 
eral conferences and annual conferences for years, and was a power 
in the upbuilding of the church at Richmond, being a member of the 
board of curators for years. He donated $12,000 for the purpose of 
building AVoodson Institute, succeeded in firmly establishing it by un- 
tiring effort, and it was finally named in his honor. He was one of Ray 



1466 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

County's grandest men, his name was untarnished, his friends were 
legion and his life was not lived in vain. 

H. P. Woodson was reared in Richmond, where he secured his early 
education in the common schools. He then went for one year to the 
University of Missouri, following which he entered his father's store as 
a clerk, having determined to learn the business from the bottom. In 
1879 he went to Carrollton, Missouri, and purchased an interest in a 
store with John Guitar, but after one year, on account of failing health, 
was compelled to go to Texas. After one year spent in the Lone Star 
State, Mr. Woodson returned to Richmond and purchased the interest 
of Mr. Hughes of the firm of Holt & Hughes, and about twelve months 
later Mr. Holt sold his interest to W. H. Darneal, the firm then becoming 
Darneal & Woodson. Subsequently, three years later, Mr. Woodson 
bought Mr. Darneal's interest, but still later this was sold back to him, 
and the firm of Woodson & Darneal continued in active business until 
1905. Mr. Woodson then disposed of his share to Mr. Darneal, who 
still conducts the business, and since that time Mr. Woodson has devoted 
his attention to looking after his father's estate and his own large 
interests. 

On November 16, 1881, Mr. Woodson was married to Miss Stella H. 
Galtney, a native of Mississippi, who at her parents' death came to Mis- 
souri to make her home with her sister, who was the wife of Capt. James 
L. Farris. She died June 6, 1912, at the age of fifty-two years. Four 
children were born to this union, namely: Thomas D., a graduate of 
Richmond High School, Woodson Institute, the University of Missouri 
'and the medical department of Washington University, St. Louis, spent 
one year at Washington, D. C, taking a medical course of one year to 
fit himself for army work, and is now stationed at Washington, D. C. ; 
James R. and Harry P., Jr., who are successfully engaged in the lumber 
business in Texas; and Clara G., who resides with her father. 

Mr. Woodson is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, is a member of the church board of trustees and stewards, and 
has attended several general conferences. He is a member of the board 
of curators of Central College, and in every movement for the advance- 
ment of education, religion, morality and good citizenship takes an 
active and helpful part. His entire career has been marked by constant 
advancement, and he is proving himself a worthy representative of the 
honored name he bears. 

Roy E. Powell. A man of less than forty years, yet with fully 
twenty-five of them spent in the trade and profession of newspaper work, 
Roy E. Powell has a high standing among the press fraternity of North- 
west Missouri. He is editor of the Holt Rustler, and has been connected 
with various papers in this section of the state and in Nebraska. 

Roy E. Powell was born at Fillmore, Andrew County, Missouri, May 
21, 1875. His father Job Powell was born in Massachusetts, July 29, 
1829, of good New England stock, and is now living at the venerable 
age of eightv-five in Fillmore, Missouri. A blacksmith by trade, he had 
a career filled with the vicissitudes of the world. When eleven years old 
he was apprenticed or bound out to his uncle, a blacksmith. In a few 
years the boy was a capable workman, but the uncle, who was somewhat 
of the avaricious type, withheld from his apprentice his small wages, 
and the youth rebelled at the age of seventeen and ran away from his 
master. In 1858 he came west to St. Louis, and thence came by boat into 
Northwest Missouri, locating in Andrew County. He responded to the 
first call for three-year men in the Civil war, and enlisted on August 21, 
1861, in the engineer corps of the Twenty-fifth Missouri. Later he was 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI i 46 7 

transferred to the regimental band, and served until honorably dis- 
charged shortly before the close of the war at Atlanta, Georgia. He 
was offered $150 to re-enlist as a substitute, but refused and came home 
to resume his business as a blacksmith. For many years that trade con- 
tinued his source of livelihood, and he was located at Fillmore, Mary- 
ville, Cameron and again at Fillmore, where he finally retired in 1899, 
but at this writing is still hale and hearty. Many years ago he served 
as a justice of the peace in Andrew County, has been a republican since 
the party came into existence, and is a member of the Presbvterian 
Church. His first wife was a Miss Hart, a Massachusetts girl, who left 
one child, Laura E., wife of W. W. Spicer, of Fillmore, Missouri. By 
his second marriage there was also one daughter, Rosa A., wife of B. F. 
Middaugh, of St. Joseph, Missouri. His third wife was Elizabeth Nodie, 
who was born in Maryland September 9, 1839, and is still living. Her 
five children are: Ursula A., wife of James E. Bell, of Maryville; Bes- 
sie L., wife of Elmer Calhoun of Richmond, Oklahoma; Roy E. ; John 
E., of Kearny; and Lucy, widow of George Thompson, of Kansas City. 

When Roy E. Powell was five years old his parents moved to Cam- 
eron, Missouri, in 1883 to Gallatin, and from there to Maysville. In 
these places he acquired his common schooling, which terminated when 
he was thirteen, and he then began working for himself. Five years 
of practical apprenticeship with D. F. Jones of the DeKalb County 
Herald gave him a foundation equipment as a printer and newspaper 
man. He then went to Nebraska and for five years was connected with 
the Pawnee City Republican, then spent a year on the Daily Call at 
Excelsior Springs, and on June 20, 1907, came to Holt and leased the 
Rustler. At the end of nine months he bought the plant, and has since 
continued this well known Clay County journal, which has been estab- 
lished about twenty-five years and is now more prosperous and influen- 
tial than ever. 

On April 12, 1899, Mr. Powell married Kate Good. She died De- 
cember 1Q, 1911, aged thirty-six, leaving two children: Lena and 
Catherine. On August 11, 1912, Mr. Powell married Miss Jeanette 
Reece, who was born at Lathrop, Missouri, daughter of Thomas J. and 
Alice (Eby) Reece. Her parents are now living in Holt. Fraternally 
Mr. Powell is affiliated with the Masonic order, the Independent Order 
of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America. In politics he 
is a Democrat and he and wife are members of the Christian Union 
Church. 

Hon. Frank Reiley. Of so forcible and stirring a personality as 
Hon. Frank Reiley, the biographer speaks the most who says the least. 
An outline of his career needs no furbishments or extravagant embel- 
lishments, his life having worked itself out simply and harmoniously 
and being a record of opportunities recognized, grasped and made the 
most of. Entering upon his career when but a lad, through his own 
efforts, he has worked himself to a position where he plays an import- 
ant part in the commercial and agricultural life of his community and 
to the enviable office of presiding judge of De Kalb County. 

Judge Reiley was born in Johnson County, Iowa, February 18, 
1869, and is a son of William and Ann M. (Ellenberger) Reiley, natives 
of Pennsylvania. They were reared in their native state, and after their 
marriage, during the early '60s migrated to Iowa, where they passed 
the remaining years of their lives in the pursuits of the soil. Judge 
Reiley was twelve years of age at the time of his father's death, and his 
educational advantages were limited to attendance at the public schools 
up to that age, when he entered upon his struggles with the world. 



1468 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

As a youth he learned the trade of machinist and became a stationary 
engineer, a capacity in which he was working at the time of his mar- 
riage to Miss Mary C. Miller, of Andrew County, Missouri. In 1901 
Judge Reiley came to De Kalb County and invested his capital of $150 
in a mercantile business, but two years later came to Clarksville, where 
he bought out an established business, and has continued to conduct it 
to the present time. In addition to this he is the owner of 120 acres of 
farming land in De Kalb County, and all of his earnings have been 
accumulated through his own individual effort. In politics he has ever 
been a stalwart republican, and has taken an active part in the public 
affairs of this part of the state. He was elected judge of the District 
Court, and after serving as such two years was elected presiding judge 
of De Kalb County, a position he has continued to retain. In his judicial 
capacity Judge Reiley has shown himself a fair, impartial and thor- 
oughly informed jurist, whose services upon the bench have been of a 
nature such as to commend him to his fellow-townspeople and to firmly 
establish him in general confidence. He has been foremost in the sup- 
port of all measures and movements which have contributed to the wel- 
fare of his adopted locality, and education and religion have found 
in him an active co-worker. With his family, he attends the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. He has been interested in fraternal affairs for 
some years, and at present is a valued member of Lodge No. 476, Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. Widely known throughout De Kalb 
County, he has friends in every locality, and as official and citizen is 
held in the highest esteem. 

Judge and Mrs. Reiley have three children : William A., Violette 
and Mamie, all of whom are students in the Clarksdale public schools. 

Noah R. Spillman. Not only is Noah R. Spillman the architect of a 
substantial fortune, acquired through enterprise and earnest endeavor 
in the field of agriculture, but in its acquisition he has maintained the 
reputation for industry and reliability established in Worth £ounty by 
his pioneer father, Charles W. Spillman, who journeyed Missouriward 
from Kentucky about 1845, since which time the family has been well 
and favorably known in this locality. Noah R. Spillman was born in 
Worth County, Missouri, January 11, 1861, and is a son of Charles W. 
and Susan (Walker) Spillman. 

Henry Spillman, the grandfather of Noah R. Spillman, was born 
in Culpeper County, Virginia, where he passed his entire life, being en- 
gaged in the pursuits of the soil. He was the son of Henry Spillman, 
who emigrated to Virginia with his two brothers, George and William. 
The grandfather married Annie Tapp, the daughter of a soldier of the 
War of 1812 who was given a land warrant by the Government for 5,500 
acres, which has never been adjusted in the interest of his posterity, 
although it is believed that the grant was laid near Lexington, Ken- 
tucky, and that a part of that city now covers the ground. Henry 
and Annie (Tapp) Spillman were the parents of the following children: 
William, who died single ; Robert, who married a Satterwhite ; George, 
who married Catherine Abbott; John, who married Nancy Harris; 
James, who married Nancy Shepherd; Henry, who married Nancy 
Webb ; Thomas, who married Elizabeth Whiteside ; Francis, who mar- 
ried Eliza Abbott; Charles, who married for his second wife Susan 
Walker; Nancy, who married Elisha Robertson; Mary, who married 
William Satterwhite ; and Annie, who married Jackson Fletcher. 

Charles W. Spillman was born in Virginia, in 1824, and at the age 
of five years was taken to Trimble County, Kentucky, where he grew 
to manhood, securing a somewhat limited education and learning the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1469 

trade of stone mason. About 1845 he came to Worth County, Missouri, 
to devote himself to agricultural pursuits, settling on a property located 
in section 25. township 65. range 30. He was a democrat on his political 
views, but did not hold office nor take an active part in public life, 
nor did he have any military record. He was just a plain, unassuming 
hard-working citizen, a man of intense loyalty to his friends and °a 
devout member of the Missionary Baptist Church. His death occurred 
in March, 1907. He was married to a Miss Rowlett, who died leaving 
five children, of whom the first born was Newton, who became the father 
of William P. Spillman. a review of whose career will be found on 
another page of this work. Mr. Spillman 's second wife was Mrs. Susan 
(Walker) Murphy, the widow of Joseph Murphy, by whom she had 
two children : Amanda, who married, and died at Hominy, Oklahoma ; 
and Martha, who married Henry Franklin and resides at that place. 
Mrs. Spillman was a daughter of Harris Walker, who came from Ken- 
tucky as a pioneer to Worth County, where he was engaged in agricul- 
tural pursuits until his death at the age of seventy-six years. Mrs. 
Spillman passed away in April, 1891, being the mother of the following 
children: Noah R., of this review; Cordelia, the wife of Ransom 
Stormer. of Harrison County, Missouri; Elizabeth, who married George 
Webb, also of that county ; Harris, who is engaged in farming in Worth 
County : Alice, who is the wife of James Owens of Worth County ; 
Kittie, who is the wife of John Owens, also of this section ; Missouri, 
who married Frank Stufflebean. of Worth County ; Gertrude, who mar- 
ried William Van Hoozer. of Martinsville, Missouri; Arabella, who mar- 
ried Jacob Stormer. of Harrison County; and Melissa, who became the 
"wife of Charles Bowen and died in 1911. 

Noah R. Spillman grew up on the old homestead where his father 
had settled upon coming to Worth County, and his education was 
secured in the district school. A lad of industry and ambition, during 
the long summer months he worked faithfully on the home place, and 
before reaching his majority began to make his own way in the world, 
first accepting employment as a farm hand at $15 per month, and later 
earning promotion to $20 for the same period. While thus working he 
added to his meagre income by trading in stock, and so successful was 
he in this line that he was able to purchase his first tract of land in 
section 36. on which he made a number of improvements and there re- 
sided for several years. At the time of his father's death he purchased 
the interests of the other heirs of the estate and moved to his old home, 
but later went to New Hampton, Missouri, where he was associated 
with his brother in the business of shipping and dealing in stock. 
Finally, in 1910, he came to his present farm, in section 36. Allen 
Township, where he has improved a handsome and valuable property. 
His hard and persistent labors have been rewarded with a full measure 
of success, and today he is recognized as me of the substantial men of 
his community, a title honestly earned. 

Mr. Spillman was married' in Gentry County, Missouri. October 9, 
1880, to Miss Matilda Adams, a daughter of William and Delila (Wood^ 
Adams, who came to Missouri from Illinois. The children in the Adams 
family were : Mary, who is the wife of William Hunter, of Harrison 
County, Missouri ; Clark, a farmer of that county ; Mrs. Spillman, who 
was born November 13, 1858: John W.. a resident of Gentry County, 
Missouri: Willis, also of Gentry County; Wood, of Harrison County; 
Lizzie, the wife of Reverend LeGroom, a Methodist Episcopal minister 
of Gentry County; Bella, the wife of John H. Shoffner, of Worth 
County: Charles F.. of Gentry County: and Miss Delia. Mr. and Mrs. 
Spillman have had the following children : Pearley. who is the wife of 



1470 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Joseph North of Worth County, has a son — Wilbur ; Charles C, a farmer 
of Worth County, married Miss Lou Wilson, and has three children — 
Jellene, Velma and Clifford ; William W., who married Maggie McNeace 
and has three children — Ruth, Verdie and Merl; Emmet, a farmer in 
Worth County, married Jennie Zimmerman and has a son — Garnard; 
Vernie, the wife of Benjamin Lykins; Laura, the wife of Jesse Allen, 
of Gentry County ; and Lawrence C. A democrat in politics, Mr. Spill- 
man began his political activities as a young man in the county conven- 
tions of the earlier times, and is now an influential factor in his party's 
activities in Worth County. He is a devout member of the Missionary 
Baptist Church of New Harmony, and takes a helpful part in its asso- 
ciation work. 

Charles Milton Adams. Among the citizens of enterprise and 
progressive spirit who are ably representing Worth County's agricul- 
tural interests Charles Milton Adams holds deservedly high place. A 
resident of Northwest Missouri for a long period of years, he has become 
the owner of a handsome property in the vicinity of Worth, and his 
long and useful career has been characterized by industry, integrity 
and public spirit, qualities which commend him to his fellow-citizens. 
He is a native of Edgar County, Illinois, and was born March 23, 1852, 
a son of Joseph and Sarah (White) Adams. 

Joseph Adams was born in Kentucky, and was there engaged in 
farming until 1832, in which year he went to Illinois with his parents, 
the family settling on the grandfather's homestead .in Edgar County. 
A graduate of the common schools, he was reared amid agricultural sur- 
roundings, and after his first marriage, to a Miss Moore, engaged in 
farming on his own account. After the death of his first wife, Mr. 
Adams was married to Miss Sarah White, the daughter of a Revolution- 
ary soldier and pioneer of Coles County, Illinois, where he owned a farm 
of 160 acres. In 1856 Mr. Adams took his family by ox-team to Mis- 
souri, and there rented land from his brother Samuel, a tract in Worth 
County which is now owned by L. G. Elliott. Here he remained until 
1862, when, because of the Civil war, he left his crops and stock and 
returned to Coles County, Illinois, where he rented land. This trip 
was made from Worth, the family traveling north through Iowa, cross- 
ing the Mississippi River at Fort Madison, and thus avoiding the ' ' bush- 
whackers," who were numerous in Northwest Missouri, although the 
trip consumed three weeks. Mr. Adams was an invalid and .was not 
able for service in the army. His sympathies were with the South, 
but because of his family he took the oath of allegiance and thus secured 
a pass from the Government. In the fall of 1869 he disposed of his 
Coles County interests and returned with his family to Worth County 
in the same manner, and again took up his residence in the house which 
he had left. In later years he purchased a small farm close by, and 
there passed the remaining years of his life, dying February 8, 1895, 
while Mrs. Adams survived him only one year. Joseph Adams served 
during the '50s as constable, but was not a seeker after public office. 
In his early years he was a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, 
but after coming to Missouri joined the Presbyterian faith. He and 
his wife were the parents of four children: Charles Milton, Thomas 
J., Lillie and Lewis Monroe. 

On returning from Illinois the second time, Charles Milton Adams 
attended the public schools until 1869, and then turned his attention to 
farming, beginning to work for wages in 1878. He was married on 
November 22d of that year to Miss Rachel Ellen McCord. daughter of 
William and Eliza Jane (Carmichael) McCord, of Greenville. Mercer 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1471 

County, Pennsylvania. William McOord was a native of Pennsylvania, 
and came to Missouri with his father, Robert McCord, making the trip 
by team to St. Louis, and then by steamer on the Missouri River. He 
purchased 320 acres of land, located in township 62, section 32, range 
32, at that time all prairie land and known as the Thomas Jacks farm, 
and in addition to this subsequently purchased three eighty-acre tracts 
and one forty-acre tract of land. He cleared and fenced his property, 
and there continued to be engaged in farming during the remainder of 
his life, passing away in 1898. Mrs. Adams' mother was born in Mercer 
County, Pennsylvania, a daughter of John and Maggie (Garvin) Car- 
michael, the former a native of Scotland and the latter of Ireland. 
There were six children in the McCord family : Maggie, Lizzie, Rachel 
Ellen, Cora, Olive and John. 

Mr. Adams has continued to follow farming and stock raising in 
Worth County and has been substantially successful in all of his opera- 
tions, being possessed of thrift, industry and a comprehensive knowledge 
of the principles of agricultural work. He is a valued member of Ox- 
ford Lodge', of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of which he is 
past noble grand. In political matters he is a democrat, but public life 
has held out but few attractions to him, he being content to devote 
himself to his soil cultivating activities. He has been the father of 
the following children: William J., who married Mattie B. Moore, 
of Gentry, Missouri, and has three children, Goldie and Gladys, twins, 
and Mildred ; Elizabeth, who has been for some years a popular school 
teacher of Worth County; Edson, who married Daisy Laing, of Worth 
County, and has two children, Doyle and Charles Blaine ; Jessie, who 
married Wilbur Wilhite, a farmer of Worth County, and has one child, 
Cecil; John L., who is engaged in farming operations with his father; 
Katherine, who resides at home; and Vittoria, who graduated from 
St. Joseph Central High School, class of 1914, and is now engaged in 
teaching school. 

Chakles G. McKinley, M. D. While his chief work during a resi- 
dence in Jamesport since 1891 has been as a successful physician and 
surgeon, Doctor McKinley is also the owner of a fine farm and gives 
attention to its supervision and is a banker. Throughout a professional 
career of more than thirty years he has rendered a skillful and kindly 
service to a generation of patients, and has been a factor in the useful 
citizenship of each community which has represented his home. 

Charles Gordon McKinley was born on a farm near Clarksburg, 
West Virginia, August 29, 1852. He comes of that fine Scotch-Irish 
stock that did so much to people and give vitality to the institutions 
and society of the Allegheny frontier before the beginning of western 
expansion. One of his ancestors was Colonel McKinley, who com- 
manded a regiment during the Indian border wars about the time of 
the Revolution, and was captured and beheaded by the Indians, who in 
order to strike further terror to the settlers put his head on the end of 
a pole and exhibited it during their raids. Doctor McKinley 's uncle 
was William McKinley, a soldier in the War of 1812, and the doctor 
has a cousin relationship with the late President William McKinley. 
Doctor McKinley's parents were Edmund and Caroline (Reed) McKin- 
ley, who had a farm near Clarksburg, West Virginia, and during the 
boyhood of Charles G. moved to another farm in Lewis County of. the 
same state, where the parents lived until their death. 

Doctor McKinley acquired his early education in the common schools 
of Lewis County, following which he attended the Alfred Center College 
at Alfred Center, New York, and from that entered the Eclectic Medi- 



1472 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

cal Institute of Cincinnati, graduating M. D. in 1883. Doctor McKinley 
began his practice of medicine at French Creek, West Virginia, re- 
mained there until 1891, and in that year established his office in James- 
port, where he has since been permanently identified with his profession. 
Some years ago he took post-graduate work in orificial surgery in Chi- 
cago, and although his practice is of a general nature both he and his 
associate, Dr. G. D. Harris, who has been his partner since 1911, spe- 
cialize more or less along the line of orificial surgery. 

After coming to Jamesport Doctor McKinley bought two farms, 
comprising 240 acres. He gives a general supervision to this property, 
and besides the staple crops raises a good deai of stock. Doctor McKin- 
ley is a stockholder and director of the Bank of Jamesport, and has 
been interested in that institution a number of years. 

Doctor McKinley is an active member of the Jamesport Commercial 
Club, is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias, and in politics is a repub- 
lican. For sixteen years he served as United States Pension Examiner 
at Jamesport. He is a member of the Missouri State Eclectic Society, 
of which he is an ex-president, and of the National Eclectic Society. 

On February 12, 1885, he married Miss Martha M. Thorpe, of French 
Creek, Upshur County, West Virginia. To their marriage have been 
born three daughters, Georgie E., at home ; Vesta, wife of Harold Lewis 
of Grundy County; and Letha, wife of Walter Scott of Jamesport. 

James Scott. A resident of Martinsville or its vicinity since 1867, 
James Scott came to this locality in that year from Lanarkshire, Scot- 
land, where for many generations the Scotts had resided, being, in the 
main, farming people, although James was identified with mercantile 
pursuits as foreman at Glasgow for ten years prior to coming to the 
United States. He was born in the Parish of Stonehouse, July 22, 1835, 
and is a son of James Scott, who died in the Martinsville community in 
1881, at the age of eighty-four years. The father was born in Lanark- 
shire, Scotland, and in active life was a farmer, but in the United States 
was little more active than a retired citizen. He married Lucy Camp- 
bell, a descendant of the Campbells of Argyle, Scotland, and she died 
at Martinsville in 1886, at the age of eighty-six years. The children 
born to James and Lucy Scott were as follows : Miss Jeanie, a resident 
of New Hampton, Missouri; Janet, who married Robert Stone, of Har- 
rison County ; James, of this review ; Archibald, a resident of Bethany ; 
Elizabeth, who is the widow of Michael Cochrane, of New Hampton, 
Missouri; and Thomas, who is engaged in agricultural pursuits near 
Martinsville. 

James Scott acquired a liberal education after going to Glasgow, in 
which city he attended the lectures at the Mechanics Institute. Suc- 
ceeding this, he connected himself with a grain and provision establish- 
ment and went from a menial position to the foremanship of the liouse, 
and when he was thirty-two years of age left his native land, sailing 
from Glasgow aboard the steamer St. Andrews, bound for Quebec. He 
was accompanied by his parents and the journey was made without un- 
toward incident, and from the Canadian city he crossed over to the 
United States at Port Levi and went then on to St. Joseph, Missouri. 
He had two brothers here, whom he joined at Martinsville. 

Mr. Scott had not come to the United States to settle, but merely 
to see his parents safely located, as he had promised them, but when he 
had looked about and was offered a quarter section of land for $400, 
he was induced to buy it and later to cultivate it and undertake its im- 
provement and operation. He secured no crop the first year and in after 
years, when he would have sold the land from sheer discouragement, he 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1473 

could not, so he just retained it and made himself a permanent part of 
the county. Mr. Scott farmed the place until six years ago, and during 
this time made many substantial improvements, also secured other lands 
as the years went by, and added another quarter section, making him 
the owner of a half a section in section 9, township 64, range 29, the tract 
lying one and one-half miles north of Martinsville. In his operations, 
Mr. Scott first entered the stock business in a small way with young 
cattle, and his success, coming slow but surely, enabled him to advance 
from them to "feeders," and he finally became a feeder of stock, a line 
in which his prosperity continued. 

Mr. Scott took out citizenship papers after five years of residence 
at Martinsville, soon assumed an interest in educational matters, and 
was for many years a member of his district board. He united himself 
politically with the republican party and voted first for General Grant 
for President in 1872 and has not missed a presidential election since, 
always supporting republican candidates. He has never become con- 
fused by blatant politicians and their theories, but has gone along in a 
modest way, making a success both of his citizenship and of his private 
affairs. In church matters Mr. Scott is a Presbyterian, having been 
brought up under that influence in Scotland. He has served the Mar- 
tinsville Church as an officer since the congregation was organized, and 
is an elder therein at this time. 

Mr. Scott was married in Harrison County, Missouri, in June, 1868, 
to Miss Elizabeth Murray, a Scotch woman, who was born in .the same 
shire as her husband, and came to America during the year she was mar- 
ried. Her father was Alexander Murray, a merchant and her mother 
was formerly Elizabeth Baird, and of their children two sons and two 
daughters came to America. To Mr. and Mrs. Scott there have been 
born the following children: Elizabeth Baird, who graduated from 
Park College, Missouri, taught then in Bethany school, was elected 
county school commissioner of Harrison and served two years, was then 
employed in the public schools of Kansas City as a teacher in the 
grades, and was finally transferred to the manual training high school 
as teacher of English literature and now acts in that capacity ; Jeanie, 
who married Elmer Baldwin, a farmer near Martinsville, and has three 
children, Margaret, Truman and Eleanor; Lucy Campbell, who is the 
wife of Hinton Van Hoozier, a farmer, and has two children, Elizabeth 
and Eldon. The children were all given excellent educational advan- 
tages, were reared in an atmosphere of culture and refinement, and 
were carefully and thoroughly trained to accept and dignify the honor- 
able positions in life to which they have been called. 

Hon. Joseph L. Bennett. In 1856 there arrived at Savannah, Mis- 
souri, one who was destined to take an important part in the development 
and upbuilding of Andrew County. There was nothing in his appear- 
ance, however, to justify the belief that such was the case, for he had 
just completed a long and arduous journey from Louisville, Kentucky, 
having traveled from that city to St. Louis, Missouri, then on to Weston 
by boat, and because of the shallowness of the river had been compelled 
to complete his trip by stage. Moreover, he was practically at the end 
of his resources, his cash capital being in the neighborhood of twenty-five 
dollars. This was the modest and unassuming advent of Judge Joseph L. 
Bennett in Savannah ; but in the fifty-eight years that have intervened 
happenings have occurred that have developed the poor and untried 
youth even as they have developed the wild and unproductive county. 
While the latter has become one of the most fertile, stirring and progres- 
sive sections of Northwest Missouri, the former has taken his place as one 



1474 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

of his community's most substantial men, a successful agriculturist, a 
capable financier and business man,'and a citizen who has been repeatedly 
called upon to represent his fellow men in public positions of trust. 

Judge Joseph L. Bennett was born in Spencer County, about twenty- 
five miles south of the City of Louisville, Kentucky, February 29, 1836, 
and is a son of Joseph H. and Susan W. (Overton) Bennett, and a 
grandson of John and Charlotte (Drake) Bennett, members of a family 
which originated in New Jersey. Joseph H. Bennett was born in the 
Jersey Blue State, February 24, 1799, and as a young man went to 
Kentucky, where he was married August 29, 1821, to Miss Susan W. 
Overton, who was born in Kentucky, October 8, 1798. Mr. Bennett was 
a carpenter and cabinetmaker, and in addition owned a small farm in 
Spencer County, which he cultivated for a number of years. He was an 
industrious, capable and persevering man, and through a life of earnest 
endeavor accumulated a competence. He was also a man of some import- 
ance in public affairs, and for thirty years served in the capacity of 
assessor of his county. He was a democrat in his political affiliations, and 
both he and his wife were members of the Baptist Church. The father 
died at Louisville, Kentucky, November 22, 1888, while the mother passed 
away at Spencer, that state, October 22, 1872. They were the parents of 
twelve children, as follows: John E., born in 1822, when sixteen years of 
age went to Baton Rouge, Louisiana, there taught school for some years 
while reading law, was admitted to the bar and engaged in practice until 
his death in 1849 ; Fannie C, born November 20, 1823, married Gideon 
G. Jewell, who is now deceased; Sarah Ann, born April 13, 1825, died 
August 15, 1847; Joseph D., who died in infancy, October 1, 1826; 
Samuel C, born September 6, 1828, who died December 18, 1875 ; Susan 
M., born August 18, 1829, married James Tansill, and is now a widow and 
resides in Chicago; Charlotte A., born January 27, 1831, died July 28, 
1847 ; Julia A., born May 12, 1833, died October 2, 1857 ; Judge Joseph 
L., of this review; Nancy J., born July 14, 1839, married James H. Ben- 
nett, deceased, and is now a resident of Savannah ; James H., born 
November 24, 1841 ; and Bernard, born January 24, 1844. 

Joseph L. Bennett received his early education in the public schools 
of his native place, was reared to young manhood on the home farm, and 
as a youth carefully saved his earnings that he might secure a start for 
himself in some new and undeveloped region where land was cheap. 
Accordingly, in 1856, he left the parental roof and journeyed to St. Louis, 
as before related, where he boarded the boat and paid his fare as far as 
St. Joseph. The river was found to be too low for navigation, however, 
and the steamship company sent its passengers on to their destination 
by way of stage coach, and it was thus that Mr. Bennett came to his new 
home. From that time to the present, with the exception of one year, 
1857, in Kansas, he has been a resident of Andrew County, and this has 
been the scene of his labors and of his success. From the time that he 
secured his first tract of land farming and stockraising have continued 
to be his chief occupations, and for "several years he devoted his attention 
to the raising of Short Horn cattle, in addition to which he was for 
eighteen years hog buyer for a large St. Joseph packing company, al- 
though he resided during this time on his farm adjoining the City of 
Savannah. He was for many years a partner with his brother-in-law, 
S. R. Selecman, in farming on Selecman Heights, Savannah, but Mr. 
Bennett disposed of twenty-one acres of his interests in 1897 in this 
property, which was platted by W. G. Hine. While residing in the 
country Mr. Bennett was the owner of a beautiful home, but this was 
destroyed by fire in 1905, and he now resides in his present modern resi- 
dence, at the corner of Third and West Bennett avenues, in Bennett's 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1475 

Addition, a residence district of Savannah which he platted himself. In 
the line of finance Mr. Bennett was the original organizer of the State 
Bank of Savannah, in 1887. and was its president for a number of years. 
In various ways he has assisted in the development and growth of his 
community, and as a citizen he is known to be progressive and public- 
spirited. A lifelong democrat, in 1887 and 1888 he served very capably 
in the capacity of collector of revenue of Andrew County, and in 1881 
was appointed county judge to fill a vacancy and served ably for two 
years. Judge Bennett, however, is primarily a business man, and while 
he has always shown fidelity in discharging the duties of citizenship, he 
has not been a seeker for public favors. 

Judge Bennett was married August 1, 1857, to Miss Martha S. Selec- 
man, who was born in Kentucky. February 8. 1841, and came to this 
county with her parents, Henry and Mary Selecman, in 1811. She died 
March 15. 1891, without issue. Judge Bennett has reared and educated 
three children of his relatives, and now has three more under his charge 
who are being trained to man and womanhood under his wise direction 
and being given the advantages of superior mental training. Judge 
Bennett was married the second time, October 9, 1895, to Miss Elizabeth 
E. Gore, a native of Andrew County, and a daughter of Green L. and 
Emeline Gore, both of whom are deceased. 

Mr. Bennett was converted, in 1851, in Spencer County, Kentucky, 
and is a member of the First Baptist Church of Savannah, which was 
organized in 1902. And of this church Mrs. Bennett is also a member. 
Mr. Bennett is one of the trustees of the church, and he and other trustees 
selected and paid for the present site. In this connection it is with 
pleasure that we state: "Mr. Bennett has been one of the most liberal 
contributors to the Baptist Society. ' ' 

Lee J. Eads, M. D. By a career of kindly and capable service to the 
community in his profession as physician and surgeon. Dr. Lee J. Eads 
has become known all over the country about Hamilton, and is a man 
who, once known, is not easily forgotten. He combines with a thorough 
ability in his chosen calling a striking physical presence, stands six feet 
four inches, and weighs more than two hundred pounds. He is a man 
of powerful build, of great energy, and his splendid physique has stood 
him in good stead in his untiring devotion to the welfare of his patients. 
Doctor Eads located at Hamilton in 1901. He is a graduate of the 
Louisville Medical College with the class of 1889. 

Doctor Eads was born at Montieello, Kentucky. March 18, 1868. a 
son of William T. Eads. AYilliam T. Eads was a brother of the well- 
known Colonel Eads. who built the great Eads Bridge, the first structure 
to span the Mississippi River at St. Louis. The Eads family came orig- 
inally from Virginia, and furnished many men prominent both in peace 
and in war. The first ancestors in America were three brothers who 
came from England before the Revolutionary war. Doctor Eads' grand- 
father. Jacob E. Eads. was a native of Virginia, and moved from there 
to Louisville. Kentucky. He married Ada Norman, who was of a Protest- 
ant Irish family. Jacob B. Eads and wife had sixteen children, nine sons 
and seven daughters. Doctor Eads' grandmother was Esther G. Steven- 
son, a cousin to Hon. Adlai Stevenson, who was vice president of the 
United States with Grover Cleveland as President, and was also a cousin 
to the Hon. L. J. Stevenson, a Kentucky congressman living at Mount 
Sterling in that state. Doctor Eads was one of a family of eleven chil- 
dren, and one of three brothers still living. His brother J. B. Eads is a 
well-known physician at Paris. Kentucky, while William is living in 
Lexington, Kentuckv. A sister Sallie P. Rexroat lives in Kentucky; 



1476 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

another sister, Ann E. Eads, lives at Lexington: Bettie P. Dugan is a 
resident of Shaf ter, Kentucky ; Fern lives in Earlville, Kentucky, and the 
last of the daughters is Fannie P. The father of this family was a farmer, 
a democrat in politics, and a member of the Baptist Church. His death 
occurred at the age of fifty-two, while his wife is still living at the age 
of seventy-four. 

Doctor Eads grew up in Kentucky, was a farmer boy in that state, 
and when he reached his majority he stood six feet four inches in height 
and weighed 220 pounds. He was as athletic as he was large and pow- 
erful, and excelled in many forms of sport, particularly in boxing. Such 
was his skill in this work that he was at one time urged by the champion 
of the world, John L. Sullivan, to take up the sport as a profession. 
However, his ambitions kept him in a different line, and one more serv- 
iceable to the country. He attended high school, also a college at Monti- 
cello, Kentucky, and afterwards graduated from the Louisville Medical 
College. 

Doctor Eads married Mantle Richardson, a daughter of Rev. Samuel 
Richardson and Edith (Thonrpson) Richardson. Mrs. Eads died in 
1895 at the age of twenty-six, and left one son, Lee S. Eads. who was 
born in 1894 and is now in his third year at the University of Missouri 
in Columbia. In 1900 Doctor Eads married his present wife, Sula E. 
Dunagan, of Brownstown, Kentucky. She was a daughter of Jefferson 
and Mary (Simpson) Dunagan. By his second marriage Doctor Eads has 
one son, Elton C, born April 14, 1902. Doctor Eads is a democrat in 
politics, and has taken much part in Masonic affairs, having served as 
high priest of the Royal Arch chapter. He is also affiliated with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and with his wife belongs to the 
Eastern Star. They are members of the Methodist Church. 

Frank N. Browxlee. One of the popular young citizens of Mound 
City is Frank N. Brownlee, whom the people of Holt County have known 
for several years in his capacity as an auctioneer. Mr. Brownlee is a 
man of wide and varied experience, has traveled over many states, both 
east and west, and from an early age it has been his ambition to render 
a service of value, and in his chosen work he is one of the most successful 
judges of livestock and general auctioneers in this part of Missouri. 

Frank N. Brownlee was born at Peoria. Wyoming County, New York, 
December 16, 1883. His parents are David and Mary (Noble) Brownlee, 
and his father has for many years been engaged in farming in Wyoming 
County, New York. The old homestead comprised 120 acres of land, 
and in its improvements and general character was a typical New York 
farm. There was one other child in the family, Edna, now the wife of 
John D. Greenleaf. 

Frank N. Brownlee remained with his parents until the age of twenty- 
one years, grew up on a farm, and has close practical familiarity with 
all branches of farming, and that experience has been valuable to him 
in his profession. As a boy he attended the country schools, and received 
as good an education as could be had. Though reared on a farm, his 
inclinations were for a more active and broader career, and his first posi- 
tion after leaving the farm was with the Lock Insulator Company, with 
which concern he remained a year. For the following year he traveled 
as a representative of the International Harvester Company, and in that 
time he broadened his acquaintance among farmers and gained a thor- 
ough knowledge of agricultural implements. It was while engaged in 
this work that he conceived the idea of taking up auctioneering as a 
profession, having been influenced in this direction through his acquaint- 
ance with a number of the largest livestock breeders in the country. He 









HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1477 

took a course in the Missouri Auction School, graduating and receiving a 
diploma, and his services were soon in demand as a judge of stock, and as 
an auctioneer he has since traveled over all the country, making sales 
for some of the largest breeders in the country. ' 

In 1911 Mr. Brownlee came to Oregon, in Holt County, and while 
there conducted a number of important sales for livestock men. Ill 
health compelled him to leave his vocation, and he acted on the advice 
of his physician and went to California, where he at once found work 
in crying sales for a number of large breeders. While in California he 
was also in the commission business. After recovering his health he 
spent some time in Oklahoma, as an auctioneer, and then returned to 
Holt County and located in Mound City, his headquarters being in the 
Gladstone Hotel. His prepossessing manner, his thorough knowledge of 
his business, and a successful record have ingratiated him in the confi- 
dence of Holt County people, and he has conducted a number of sales 
with satisfaction to all parties. His recommendations are of the best, and 
in his field of work has professional engagements both in Holt County and 
surrounding district. 

Mr. Brownlee is a thorough booster and has shown the same quali- 
ties of enterprise in Mound City and Holt County that have made him a 
factor in other communities. While in California he was an active mem- 
ber of the Chamber of Commerce of San Bernardino, and he has many 
friends in that state. Mr. Brownlee was reared in the Presbyterian 
Church, and in politics is independent, voting for the man rather than 
for the party. 

R. L. Cason. An ever increasing prosperity has rewarded the efforts 
of R. L. Cason sjnce he embarked in agricultural pursuits in young 
manhood. To his agricultural labors at that time he brought an earnest 
purpose and a strong physical equipment, which counteracted in large 
degree the disadvantages of a poor education and the lack of capital, 
and through the years which have passed he has advanced himself, step 
by step, to a position of substantiality among the men who have main- 
tained the high agricultural standards of Holt County. At the present 
time he is the owner of a handsome property comprising 338i^> acres, in 
which are to be found improvements of the most modern character. 

R. L. Cason was born in Howard County, Missouri, September 2, 1863, 
and is a son of J. M. and Melvina (Cropp) Cason. The parents were 
natives of Virginia and were married in Missouri, becoming the parents 
of six children, of whom four still survive. The first settlement of the 
Casons in Howard County was in Sheridan Township, where the father 
purchased a tract of land comprising 250 acres, upon which some im- 
provements had been made, from a man named Liggett. Here the father 
was engaged in cultivating the soil when the Civil war broke out and 
he enlisted for service, becoming captain of an infantry company in a 
regiment of Missouri volunteers. He met a soldier's death in 1865, when 
he was drowned in the Red River. The widow was thus left alone with 
her little family, but her troubles were not over, for in some manner she 
incurred the enmity of a band of guerrillas known as the Kansas Jay- 
hawkers, who burned her home, and R. L. Cason, then being a baby, 
was nearly burned to death, being rescued at the last moment. He grew 
up under the teaching of a good Christian mother, but was not able to 
attend school, as his services, were constantly needed in the support of 
the family, and thus his education has been entirely self -acquired. The 
Howard County farm, which was of very fertile soil, was sold in 1882 
for $25 per acre and at that time the family moved to Holt County and 
the mother settled on what is known as the John Davis farm. One year 



1478 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

later she sold to W. C. Andes, later moving to the John Martin farm, in 
Lewis Township, where she died. R. L. Cason left that property to go 
and live with his father-in-law, and finally settled on his present land, 
a tract of 144 acres in South Benton Township, in the cultivation of which 
he has met with very satisfying success. He has made various improve- 
ments of a most substantial character, and his buildings are among the 
most modern to be found in this section. He is now accounted a well- 
to-do man, and the abundant means he has acquired are the result of the 
energy, sound judgment, tenacity of purpose and wise management with 
which he has conducted his operations. 

Mr. Cason was married to Miss Minnie F. Hutton, daughter of Wash 
Hutton and Caroline Hutton. and they have had the following children : 
Daphene, who married Professor Rock; Mildred, who married George 
Kuhn : Ruby ; Russell, deceased ; Mar jorie ; John, and one who died in 
infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Cason are members of the Christian Church. He 
has always been a friend of education, realizing the handicaps under 
which he labored by a lack of training in this direction, and has con- 
sistently supported movements which have bettered the school system of 
his community. Largely through his encouragement and efforts, the new 
school house was erected in South Benton Township, and for seven years 
he served as an active and helpful member of the school board. Mr. 
Cason is the owner of property aggregating 33Sy 2 acres, and he has been 
the largest taxpayer of his township. Fraternally, he is connected with 
the Odd Fellows and the Masons, in both of which he has warm friends. 

Robert L. Minton. At no time, perhaps, in the history of the world, 
has there been more call than at present for the use of the qualifications 
and the exercise of the talents of the practitioner of, the law. Putting 
aside the great national problems that at present are being fought out in 
foreign lands, and which, it is reasonable to suppose, will finally have to 
be settled in courts of arbitration and largely through eminent jurists, 
the changing conditions of industrial and social life in America bring 
new questions to the courts such as were once unthought of. To meet such 
conditions the lawyer must be well equipped indeed, not only in the 
fundamentals of the law, but in every line to which the activities of life 
penetrate. It means a great deal, therefore, when a young man is 
acknowledged to be a leading member of the bar of his county, and such 
is the position of Robert L. Minton, attorney-at-law at Mound City. He 
was born in Minton Township, Holt County, Missouri, December 15, 
1883, and is the son of Dr. I. M. and Mary E. (Shepherd) Minton. 

Both the Mintons and Shepherds were very early settlers in Holt 
County. The paternal grandfather, Henry Minton, was born in the Yil- 
lage of Mintonville, Casey County. Kentucky, and from there, in 1847, 
moved to Holt County, Missouri, and settled at a point on the Missouri 
River, called Minton 's Bend. There he entered land and spent the 
remainder of his life. He took part in the Mexican and later the Civil 
war. The Shepherds belonged to the Old North State and the maternal 
grandfather of Mr. Minton left North Carolina at the age of eighteen to 
become a resident of Holt County, Missouri, where members of the family 
still reside. The following children were born to Dr. I. M. and Mary E. 
(Shepherd) Minton: Zoe M., who married Dr. Charles H. Thomas; 
William H., physician and surgeon, who married Mayme L. Catron, 
daughter of J. G. Catron, of Bigelow Township, Holt County; Robert L., 
and George A., who still resides on the old home place in Minton 
Township. 

Robert L. Minton was afforded excellent educational advantages, first 
attending the local schools and afterward the high school at Oregon, the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1479 

county seat of Holt County, and from that institution he entered the 
Missouri State Normal School at Kirksville, from which he was grad- 
uated in 1903. Following 1903 he taught school and farmed, studied law 
in the office of Senator Wilson, of Platte City, in 1906, then entered the 
law department at Ann Arbor of the University of Michigan, where, 
after two years of application, he was graduated in June, 1908, and in 
the following year was admitted to the bar, locating for practice at Mound 
City. He has built up a substantial practice and has secured a number 
of important clients through his sound knowledge of the law and close 
attention to their interests. 

Mr. Minton was united in marriage with Miss Eleanor G. Breier, a 
daughter of John B. Breier, of St. Louis County, Missouri, who for twelve 
years was superintendent of schools of that county. They have one child, 
a son, Marion J., who was born October 16, 1913. Mrs. Minton is a 
thoroughly educated and highly accomplished lady, a graduate of the 
Ferguson schools, of the Kirksville Normal School in 1903, and of 
Chicago University in 1908. She is interested in many of the questions 
that concern the women of today and both she and her husband take 
part in the pleasant social life of Mound City. 

In politics Mr. Minton could be nothing but a democrat, for he was, 
as it were, reared in the cradle of democracy, the family belonging to 
that political party as far back as he can trace. His fraternal connec- 
tions include membership in the W. O. W., at Fortescue, Missouri; the 
Odd Fellows and local Masonic Lodge at Mound City, of which lodge he 
has been several times master. He is also a member of Moila Temple, 
A. A. O. N. M. S., of St. Joseph, Missouri. 

William Erwin. For many years the Erwin family have been sub- 
stantial farming people, good citizens, kindly neighbors, and representa- 
tives of morality and religion in Holt County. 

William Erwin, whose record is that of a successful young farmer 
in Benton Township, was born in Holt County on the farm that is still 
his home on February 8, 1874. His parents are Goldman and Margaret 
Erwin. They were married in Holt County, and became the parents of 
eight children, six of whom still survive, and all were born on the old 
homestead. The father on locating in Holt County first settled on land 
adjoining the present farm, now known as the Jim McNulty farm. This 
estate comprises eighty acres of land, all of which has been well improved 
under the united labors of both Goldman Erwin and his son, and under 
the present management of William Erwin is one of the most profitable 
farms, considering its size, in Holt County. Both parents are still 
living and in good health. The father's people originally were Ken- 
tuckians. and during the war lost all their property, and had to begin 
over again. The mother was born in Jackson County, Missouri. William 
Erwin is the only son left on the old farm, and realizing his duty to his 
parents has never married. 

The Erwins were originally members of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, but now affiliate with the Christian Church. The politics 
of the family has always been democratic. Both Goldman and William 
Erwin are citizens who have worked for the good of the community, and 
both have served on the local school board, the son being now clerk of the 
board. The father in the early days was a teacher, and kept school in 
Holt Countv. The father is a Mason and the son affiliates with the Odd 
Fellows at Mound City. The parents and the son have all the comforts 
of a good country home, and the only other member of the family living 
with them is a niece, who has been a member of the household since 
childhood. 



1480 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Jacob Bohart. Apart from the piling up of great wealth or conquer- 
ing high position in the public view, there are distinctions of a quieter 
and more satisfying kind that are none the less difficult of attainment, and 
yet are possible to a long and well ordered life such as has been that of 
Jacob Bohart, for many years a resident of Holt County. Mr. Bohart 
represents a family that came into Northwest Missouri before the country 
was legally open to settlers, and he is himself one of the older native sons 
of this section. His young manhood fell during the Civil war, in which 
he served, and he has been the witness of many remarkable changes. He 
had already reached the summit of life and had his children grown or 
growing up about him when the modern twentieth century was ushered 
into Northwest Missouri. 

Jacob Bohart was born on a farm sixteen miles east of St. Joseph on 
July 25, 1845. His parents were Phillip and Martha (Russell) Bohart, 
who were married in Buchanan County, Missouri. Both the Boharts and 
Russells were pioneers. Grandfather Elijah Russell, who was a native of 
Scotland, came into the country surrounding the old trading post at 
St. Joseph as early as 1833. He put up a building and lived as a squatter 
for a time. That was before the opening of the Platte Purchase, and 
the soldiers of the United States tore down his first dwelling in an 
endeavor to drive him from the country. He remained, and restored the 
building, and spent the best part of his life in this section. Phillip 
Bohart was also a pioneer settler in Buchanan County, moved from there 
to Andrew County, and after a few years sold out and bought a new 
home in Holt County. Phillip Bohart was a native of Germany, and a 
member of the Lutheran faith. He was in many ways an exemplary 
character, and is said to have never used a profane word in all his life. 
On coming to Holt County he first settled on what is known as the 
Beaver farm, and later bought land of his own, improved it with build- 
ings, cleared up the fields, and lived there quietly and industriously until 
his death on February 17, 1866. During his residence in Holt County 
he served on the school board. There were seven sons and two daughters 
in the family. 

Jacob Bohart grew up in these different localities of Northwest Mis- 
souri, and as the schools at that time had limited sessions and the duties 
of home were considered more important than literary instruction, his 
early training was limited. He was still a boy when the great Civil war 
threw the entire nation into confusion, and for three months towards the 
close of the struggle he served with the State Reserves. Mr. Bohart 
lived at home until his marriage to Martha A. Gibson. She was born two 
miles north of the Village of Oregon, a daughter of John C. Gibson, a 
native of England, and Sarah Noland, who was a native of Kentucky. 
Mr. Gibson was a prominent citizen, served as county judge and was 
active in the republican party. 

After his marriage Mr. Bohart settled on his present farm, which now 
comprises 120 acres. However, he at one time owned much more land, but 
has divided his possessions among his children. Mr. Bohart and wife 
have two daughters: Anna Lizzie married F. C. Burnett, and they have 
three sons, Russell B., Dwight B. and Jay; the daughter Orrie May 
married Marion F. Wilson, and they have a son. Kenneth. Jacob Bohart 
has long been regarded as one of the substantial men of Holt County, 
and while his material prosperity has been represented by a large farm 
with improvements all of his own construction, he has likewise been 
public spirited in his relations with the community. In polities he is a 
democrat, and he and his family are active in the Christian Church. 
Mr. Bohart is still a resident of the old homestead, but has retired from 
active business. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1481 

George Kaufman. Now owner of a well improved farm estate, and 
a prosperous and contented agriculturist in the vicinity of Mound City, 
George Kaufman has had a career of varied activity, has lived in many 
localities in Northwest Missouri and in adjoining states, and has had to 
work out his own prosperity. While he has enjoyed many kindly friend- 
ships in his progress through the world, Mr. Kaufman had practically 
nothing given him, and his own industry has constituted his best capital. 

George Kaufman was born at the little community known as Irish 
Grove, near Milton, in Atchison County, Missouri, November 3, 1870. 
His parents were Joseph Ruel and Hanna S. (Baker) Kaufman, who 
were married in Morrow County, Ohio, and were of Pennsylvania Dutch 
stock. They moved out from Ohio to Atchison County, Missouri, about 
1869, locating near Milton. Joseph R. Kaufman for a long time con- 
ducted a sawmill. While he owned a small farm, his favorite activities 
were in mechanical lines and especially in work which kept him much 
outside and away from home, and it was his idea that more money could 
be made that way than' by the quiet, persistent, stay-at-home farming. 
He finally lost his life by being struck with a piece of machinery while 
digging a well. He was a man who provided generously for his large 
family, which comprised eleven children, nine of whom still survive. He 
never used liquor, was a member of the Dunkard Church, and at one time 
taught school, served as road overseer, and was also a justice of the 
peace. His widow now lives at Guide Rock, in Nebraska. 

George Kaufman was educated in Atchison County, and had some 
higher schooling for a brief term. With the conclusion of his school 
days he lived with his mother on several different farms. On the advice 
of a cousin at Maitland, Mr. Kaufman found a job that gave him employ- 
ment on a farm for a year, after which he returned and engaged in 
farming and stock raising with his mother a year, and then resumed 
employment with his former employer. At the end of two years Mr. 
Kaufman made a purchase of thirty-three acres near Newpoint, but after 
a year, during which he had made a little money, he sold out and began 
working by the year for about two years with William Kneal at Newpoint. 

On December 31, 1905, Mr. Kaufman married Miss Anna Schull, 
daughter of William Schull. After his marriage he continued to work 
for William Kneal for one year, after which he was employed by Phillip 
Schull, his wife's uncle. Mr. Kaufman then moved to Barton County, 
Missouri, bought a farm there, and cultivated it for two years. Being 
dissatisfied with that locality he returned to Mound City, lived there 
from March to August, and then located with his brother-in-law, Frank 
Schull, on the farm just opposite the old Schull homestead. That was his 
location for two years, after which he bought his present place of seventy- 
five acres, all of it improved land, and he is now well situated, has good 
land and good improvements, and is one of the contented and prospering 
farmers of Holt County. 

Mr. and Mrs. Kaufman have two children : Avis May, born April 
6, 1907; and Hazel Grace, born August 5, 1911, both natives of Holt 
County. Mr. Kaufman is a member of the Presbyterian Church and in 
politics a republican, while his father was a democrat. 

Orlifp V. Sells. As manager of the Mutual Telephone Company of 
Andrew County Mr. Sells has proved essentially to be "the right man m 
the right place,'" and his well ordered executive policies have been potent 
in bringing the telephone system up to a high standard of efficiency. Mr. 
Sells was born on a farm in Clay Township, Andrew County, on the 22d 
of October, 1871, and is one of the well known citizens of this section of 
the state, where his circle of friends is coincident with that of his acquaint- 



1482 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

ances. He is a son of James P. and Mary (Joy) Sells, both natives of 
Ohio and both of whom came to Missouri about the year 1865, their 
marriage having been solemnized in this state, where the father was long 
a substantial and representative farmer and stock grower. His devoted 
wife was summoned to the life eternal in 1908, at the age of seventy years, 
and after years of earnest and fruitful endeavor he is now living retired 
in the City of Los Angeles, California. Of the three children, Orliff V. is 
the eldest; Frank is now a resident of Colorado; and Lee maintains his 
home at Laclede, Linn County, Missouri. 

Orliff V. Sells has never faltered in his loyalty and allegiance to the 
county of his birth and has been a resident within its borders all his life, 
his early years having been compassed by the conditions and influence 
of the home farm and his educational advantages having included those 
of the high school in Savannah, judicial center of the county. That he 
made good use of the opportunities thus afforded is shown by the fact 
that for some time he was found numbered among the successful and 
popular teachers in the district schools of his home county. Thereafter 
he engaged in the insurance business, and for nine years he has been 
actively identified with the telephone business. He has been the progres- 
sive and valued manager of the Mutual Telephone Company since 1907 
and the service of the system has been brought up to its present admirable 
status not less through its excellent physical equipment than through his 
efficient management. 

Mr. Sells is a staunch democrat in a county that has long been a 
republican stronghold, and thus it was but a normal political exigency 
that he met defeat at the polls when he appeared as his party 's candidate 
for the office of county clerk. He served six years as city collector of 
Savannah, which has been his place of residence from the time he retired 
from the pedagogic profession, and he was for eight years a member of 
the board of education. He and his wife are zealous and valued members 
of the Baptist Church at Savannah, and he is serving both as clerk and 
treasurer of the same. 

In 1898 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Sells to Miss Alice Cobb, 
who likewise was born and reared in Andrew County, a daughter of Amos 
Cobb, and the four children of this union are Vincent, Harold, Raymond 
and Margaret. 

Benjamin Shafer. Enterprise, thrift and industry are the charac- 
teristics of Benjamin Shafer 's career as a farmer in Northwest Missouri. 
He now has one of the well improved farms in Benton Township, and 
he and other members of the family throughout their residence in this 
section have identified themselves with the things that mean better life 
and general improvement of the community. 

Benjamin Shafer was born in Berks County, Pennsylvania, March 
22, 1849, a son of John and Ellen (Smith) Shafer. His parents were 
married in that state, and there were ten children, three of whom are 
now deceased. John Shafer during his residence in Pennsylvania was 
engaged in the manufacturing of brick. On coming "West, he first settled 
in Iowa, subsequently entered land from the Government in Nebraska, 
and finally traded that land for unimproved acreage in Holt County, 
Missouri. All this land was in the timber, and it was left to the labors 
of his sons to clear it up. Altogether the estate comprised 466 acres. 
The buildings were erected by the sons, and the greater part of the lands 
put in cultivation. 

That was the home of Benjamin Shafer for eight years, and he then 
traded for 130 acres in his present farm. Here again he has gone through 
the task of improving new land, erecting good and substantial buildings, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1483 

and thus all his property represents the substantial efforts of his own 
career. 

Benjamin Shafer married Mary Hahn, daughter of Richard Hahn. 
The children are : Anna Bell, who married Bert Mead, and they are 
the parents of five children; Frank married Nellie Lester and has two 
children ; Estella, who married Mose Keef er, and has four children, one of 
whom is deceased ; David Allen is unmarried ; Minnie Nora is the wife of 
Charles Fields and the mother of three children. The family are mem- 
bers of the Christian Church, while Mr. Shafer 's father was a Lutheran. 
In politics they are democrats. Benjamin Shafer has served as school 
director, and has always shown a willingness to work with his neighbors 
for those things which are the result of organized effort in a community. 

Robert Bagby. A native son of Holt County, one of the progressive 
young farmers of Hickory Township, Robert Bagby has made consider- 
able progress along the road to success, is able to compete on terms of 
equality with other farmers in his section, and while looking after his 
private interests also lent his aid to community improvements and bet- 
terment. 

Robert Bagby was born in Holt County May 13, 1881, a son of Joseph 
Paxton and Nancy (Rogers) Bagby. The parents were married in Iowa 
and had a family of eight children, four of whom are now living. Robert 
Bagby married Daisy McKenney, daughter of Thomas and Jane (Wil- 
liams) McKenney. Mr. and Mrs. Bagby have two children, Helen and 
Harry, both of whom were born in Holt County. 

Robert Bagby grew up on his father's farm, received a fair education 
in the local schools, and learned farming under his father's direction. 
The farm he now occupies in Benton Township was one bought by his 
father a number of years ago, and most of the improvement were placed 
here by the elder Bagby, though Robert has also done his part. Robert 
Bagby is a member of the school board, and in politics a democrat, the 
same party with which his father affiliated. 

W. W. Murray. One of the successful farmers of Holt County, Mr. 
Murray came to this section a few years ago after a varied experience, 
spent partly back East, where he was born and reared, and after work in 
the City of St. Joseph. Mr. Murray is a practical farmer, a thorough 
business man, and has a position of influence and usefulness in his com- 
munity. 

W. W. Murray was born in Holt County May 30, 1872, a son of 
Charles and Hannah (Taylor) Murray. Both families came originally 
from Pennsylvania, and the maternal grandfather settled in Holt County 
near Forbes in the very early days. Charles Murray was born in Penn- 
sylvania, spent his life as a farmer, and he and his wife died within 
eleven days of each other. They left six children. 

W. W. Murray was nine years old when he lost his parents, and then 
lived with different relatives, who expected him to pay his own way by 
practical work, and in consequence he found himself face to face with the 
serious responsibilities of life at an early day and his education was 
much neglected. Since early youth he has been a worker, always self- 
reliant, and among other experiences was employed for three years with 
the street car company in St. Joseph. 

Mr. Murray married Ida M. Andes, of the old family of that name in 
Holt County. He and his wife now occupy the old Andes homestead, and 
have 280 acres, located in Hickory Township. Mr. Murray raises a good 
deal of stock, and keeps his farm improved up to the standards set by 
Northwest Missouri agriculturists. He and his wife have four children : 



1484 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Marie, Harold, Willard and Lila, all of whom were born in Holt County 
except Marie, who was bom in St. Joseph. The family are members of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and at the present time Mr. Murray is 
serving on the local school board. In politics he is a democrat. 

Dr. E. M. Miller. While Doctor Miller is regarded as one of the 
ablest physicians at Mound City, his varied business interests in that 
locality have obliged him in recent years to give up much of his practice, 
except such as he can attend to in his office, and he is now one of the 
leaders in progressive affairs in Holt County. 

Dr. E. M. Miller was born at Troy, Ohio", October 6, 1869, a son of 
H. H. and Hesther (Enyart) Miller. His father was a farmer, and was 
also engaged in the milling business, and handled large quantities of wal- 
nut timber. Doctor Miller spent the first fifteen years of his life on a 
farm, and in that time attended country schools. After that he was 
reared in the City of Troy, and attended the high school there. His 
higher education was acquired in the West, and he has both the bachelor's 
and master's degrees from Baker University of Kansas. Doctor Miller 
is a graduate M. D. from the Ensworth Medical College at St. Joseph, 
having taken his degree in 1897. He was also connected with that insti- 
tution for seven years as one of the lecturers. 

Since coming to Mound City Doctor Miller has built up a large prac- 
tice as a physician, but soon became closely identified with business 
affairs. He organized the Holt County Telephone Company, and was 
associated with George W. Meyer, R. E. Decker, R. W. Neill and others in 
the reorganization of the Mound City Electric Light Company, and has 
been president of the company for the past ten years. He has been iden- 
tified with the Mound City Commercial Club since its organization, and 
was one of the leaders in the Commercial Club campaign which brought 
about the paving of the business section of Mound City. Since coming 
to Mound City Doctor Miller has been surgeon for the Chicago, Bur- 
lington & Quiney Railroad. 

Doctor Miller was married in Mound City to Anna L. McCoy, daugh- 
ter of Thomas W. and Laura (Keedy) McCoy. Their three children were 
all born in Mound City and are named Margaret, Edwin and Robert. 
Doctor Miller is at the present time serving as a member of the school 
board, and is deserving of much credit for his work in securing the 
erection of the present handsome school building, which is to cost about 
fifty thousand dollars and will be completed and ready for occupancy in 
the spring of 1915. Doctor Miller served as one of the trustees of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, and has been quite active in democratic 
politics, having been a member of the board of managers of Hospital 
No. 2 under Governor Joseph W. Folk. Fraternally his associations are 
with the Masonic Lodge No. 294 at Mound City, with Scottish Rite 
Masonry up to and including the thirty-second degree, and with the 
Temple of the Mystic Shrine at St. Joseph. He is also a member of the 
Woodmen of the World. 

William Canaday. It is difficult to realize the epochs of the nation 's 
history covered by the span of William Canaday 's long life. This vener- 
able resident of Harrison County, now living retired at Ridgeway, was 
born more than ninety-two years ago, when James Monroe was presi- 
dent of the United States. During his young manhood in Illinois he 
heard Abraham Lincoln plead cases at the bar, at that time hardly 
known beyond the limits of that state. William Canaday cast his first 
presidential vote about the time of the invention of the telegraph, and 
whereas in these later davs of his life he is able to read news of the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1435 

European war only a day after the event, during his youth it required 
some six weeks to two months to transmit news from the Old World to 
the New. William Canaday was one of the first settlers in Northwest 
Missouri, has lived in Harrison County for sixty years, and has wit- 
nessed practically every phase of development here. During his activ- 
ity his identity with Harrison County was both extensive and substan- 
tial. Ae a farmer he was in command of large interests, and was equally 
successful as a financier. When the evening of life brought him the 
feebleness of old age he laid down the implements of toil, and is now 
living in the spirit and among his remaining friends of a, vigorous past. 
William Canaday was born in Ohio on April 15, 1823. The family for 
three generations have been pioneers, building homes and improving 
land along the frontier. His grandparents were Walter and Annie 
(Hussey) Canaday, who were of Southern stock and Quakers in religion. 
From Alabama they moved north into Ohio, making the journey with 
a two-wheeled cart, in which were their two children Mary and John, 
the parents walking behind this vehicle. After they settled in High- 
land County, Ohio, other children were born, namely : Nathan, who be- 
came a physician and spent his active career at Pekin, Illinois; Chris- 
topher, who moved out to Lowell Mills, Iowa, and in 1845 started over 
the Oregon trail to the Northwest and nothing more was ever heard of 
him. The daughter Mary above mentioned married Frederick Barnard, 
and they spent their lives at Bloomington, Illinois. 

John Canaday, father of the venerable Ridgeway citizen, was born 
in Alabama in 1801, and was a baby when the family moved north to 
Highland County, Ohio, He grew up in Highland County, was there 
married to Sary Purteet and established a home, and during the later 
'20s made plans for removal to the frontier State of Illinois. He ex- 
plored that country on horseback, and for six weeks was away from 
home, his whereabouts being unknown. He finally decided to bring his 
family to Illinois, and in 1828 started West, with three yoke of cattle 
and a carriage. The wagon drawn by the oxen was of the old prairie 
schooner type, and behind came the carriage drawn by the family horse, 
and bringing up the procession at the rear was the family cow. They 
crossed Indiana during the winter of 1829, stopped for a time at George- 
town, Illinois, and while there a daughter was born. At Georgetown the 
carriage was sold to a widower who wanted the vehicle in order to 
satisf.y a widow, who had promised him her hand provided he could 
purchase a carriage. The money received for the carriage was in- 
vested in part in a sod plow, mounted on wheels. Thus when the fam- 
ily again took up its line of march for the chosen location in South 
Central Illinois, a plow took the place of the carriage behind the wagon, 
and ' ' old brindle ' ' was tied behind the plow. The family became prac- 
tically the first settlers at Short Point, then in Tazewell County, but 
later McLean County, twelve miles south of where Bloomington now 
stands. With his oxen John Canaday plowed the first furrow of sod 
ever turned over in that county, and was also the first white man to use 
his ax in felling a tree in the same locality. The family were settled in 
the midst of the Kickapoo Indians, who were their only neighbors. John 
Canaday sought out Government corners, and entered 160 acres of half 
timber and half prairie land in the vicinity of the present village of 
Heyworth. He constructed a rude log house, and while farming was 
his' basic activity, he also set up as a merchant, starting the first store 
in that whole country, with goods purchased at St. Louis. Pekin, 
forty miles away, was the nearest postoffice, and when a letter came to 
the 'family they had to pay 25 cents postage. Soon after getting his 
household and business affairs fairly started, John Canaday was stricken 



1486 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

with illness, and was given medicine, prescribed by a traveling doctor, 
which undoubtedly hastened his end. He died on June 3, 1835, and 
after that his widow capably carried on the family affairs. 

John .Canaday, Sr., married Sarah Purteet, a daughter of George 
Purteet, who lived in Kentucky when his daughter was born. The chil- 
dren of John and Sarah Canaday were: William Canaday, the subject 
of this sketch; Phebe, who married Robert Turner, and who died in 
Daviess County, Missouri; and Nancy, who married Allen Turner, a 
brother of Robert, and died in Blythedale, Missouri. After the death 
of her first husband Sarah Canaday married Benjamin Slatten, who 
subsequently became one of the early settlers of Harrison County, Mis- 
souri, and died at Bethany, Missouri, in 1868, where his descendants 
became prominent as farmers. The Slatten children were : Martha, who 
died in childhood ; Joseph P., who spent his life in Harrison County, and 
though a man without an education acquired an immense landed estate 
at Bethany, Missouri, and died February 27, 1914 ; Hester, who married 
Samuel Travis and who died in Oklahoma, September 25, 1914. Mrs. 
Slatten, the mother of William Canaday, died in her eighty-sixth year. 

Thus William Canaday grew up in a frontier community in Illinois, 
being six years of age when his father and mother moved from Ohio 
to that state, and all his early associations were with the type of civil- 
ization which the present generation knows only from books. His first 
experience in school was a week spent some six miles from home, his 
mother calling for him at the end of the time. He prayed not to be sent 
back, and his mother consented and kept him at home. William Cana- 
day as a boy and youth read the Bible for three purposes, first to learn 
his letters, second as a text book to learn to read, and finally to learn 
his duty to man and to God. He was something of a student, desired 
an education, but was forced to get it largely by self-study. In spite of 
these deficiencies, he was qualified to teach school one winter, and 
through his varied experience became a man of wisdom if not of book 
learning. 

On March 24, 1842, he was united in matrimony to Miss Elizabeth 
Leeper, of McLain County, Illinois. She was born in Flemming County, 
Kentucky, September 17, 1824, the daughter of Samuel and Nancy 
(Prine) Leeper, who moved to Muskingum Count v, Ohio, in the fall of 
1830, and in the fall of 1834 to the State of Illinois. Her father's fam- 
ily consisted of nine children, Charles, Elizabeth Leeper Canaday, the 
subject of this sketch, William, Thomas, Huston, Nancy Jane Buck, 
Margaret, Mary Gossard and Martha Gossard, all of whom are deceased 
except Mrs. Nancy Jane Buck and Mrs. Mary Gossard. Elizabeth Cana- 
day was the mother of seven children, namely : John Canaday, Eagleville, 
Missouri, born in McLain County, Illinois, December 17, 1842, married 
to Martha M. Dale, May 4, 1862, and they are the parents of ten chil- 
dren: Anna, Joseph A., William A., Stella Vanzant, Charles, Samuel, 
Elmer, Clara Heckenlively, Hattie Johnston (deceased), and Laura 
Drew. Christopher Canaday, Blythedale, Missouri, born in McLain 
County, Illinois, October 26, 1847, married to Angeline Brower, July 
3, 1870, and they are the parents of four children : John T., Harvey P., 
Mabel Baldwin, and Myrtle Richardson. Phoebe A. Poynter (deceased), 
born January 6, 1853, in McLain County, Illinois, married William A. 
Poynter. Joseph W., born July 29, 1856, in Harrison County, Missouri, 
married A. V. Willis in 1880 and they are the parents of three children : 
Maude Reeves, Bess Scott, and Carl B. Canaday. Carrie B. Canaday 
Hungate, born in Harrison County, Missouri, August 29, 1869, married 
H. M. Hungate, and they have six children : Helen, Olga, Bryan, Lynn, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1437 

Lolita, and Maxine, all of Columbia, Missouri. Charles, and Benjamin 
who died in infancy. 

William Canaday, after his marriage began farming, and in 1854 
came out to Missouri and prepared the way for his later settlement by 
purchasing and entering fourteen forties of land in Colfax Town- 
ship. He brought his family from Illinois the following year, and thus 
began his permanent relations with Harrison County. His success as a 
farmer was encouraging, and he proved his foresight by investing his 
surplus in cheap lands, and as his children came of age he was able to 
give each one a farm. When he finally decided to quit business, he 
converted a magnificent estate into cash, a large part of which was dis- 
tributed among his children with enough reserved for his own use to 
the end. For a number of years William Canaday was engaged in the 
banking business at Bythedale, was a charter member of the bank, and 
his family also had large interests in the institution for a number of 
years. Since 1909 Mr. Canaday has spent his years in quiet retirement 
at Ridgeway. 

In public affairs his stand has been conspicuous in behalf of tem- 
perance, and he has always been an opponent of tobacco in all its forms. 
As a citizen he is first a patriot, and of secondary consideration have 
been party ties. William Canaday cast his first vote for President for 
James K. Polk in 1844, and in 1860 voted for Douglas for President. 
Although he made the acquaintance of Abraham Lincoln as a young 
man and heard him try cases at the bar, and while the great war Presi- 
dent was entertained in the Canaday home in Illinois, he never received 
the ballot of AYilliam Canaday. He also knew Mr. Lincoln's wife and 
played with her as a child at the home of her father, Doctor Todd. 

When the war came on Mr. Canaday in 1861 entered military service 
in behalf of the Union and assisted in the protection of his state, though 
without regular enlistment, until 1864, when he was commissioned first 
lieutenant of Company E in the Forty-third Missouri Infantry, under 
Colonel Hardin. The regiment was sent to duty at Chillicothe, and a 
portion of it was subsequently captured by General Price's Confederate 
troops at Glasgow, Missouri. Mr. Canaday received his discharge with 
the rank of quartermaster as the close of the war, and had never partici- 
pated in a real engagement. 

About the year 1856, two years after he came to Harrison County, 
William Canaday was elected justice of the peace and served continu- 
ously until 1862, when he was elected county judge. In August, 1864, he 
enlisted in Company E, Forty-third Missouri Volunteer Infantry, being 
first lieutenant in said company. He has been more or less active in 
Grand Army matters and attends the local meetings of his old comrades 
whenever convenient. He has participated in the programs, often mak- 
ing talks and singing songs for their entertainment. Mr. Canaday was 
one of the organizers of the Taylor Grove Christian Church on February 
19, 1859, and has been identified with that church ever since. His 
means have been liberally bestowed on religious activities in Harrison 
County, and it is said that he has helped build more churches than any 
other resident, and his donations for that purpose have always been 
liberal. 

On July 10, 1907, Elizabeth Canaday died at her home in Blythe- 
dale, Missouri, aged eighty-two years and now lies interred in the Blythe- 
dale cemetery. She was a pioneer in every sense of the word and to her 
carefulness and efficiency is to a large extent, due the prosperity of 
William Canaday of whom this sketch speaks. 

On January 6, 1909, Mr. Canaday married Mrs. Jennie Reed, who is 



1488 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

a daughter of John and Margaret (Brooks) Shirts, who came to Mis- 
souri before the war. 

William Canaday is uow spending his declining years at his home in 
Ridgeway, Missouri, where he is faithfully and devotedly cared for by 
his wife and is happy and contented in his old age. 

W. J. Clark. For more than forty years the Clark family enterprise 
and influence have been active factors in business, public affairs and the 
social activities of Hamilton. W. J. Clark is postmaster of that city, 
a well-known business man, who has capably administered the local post- 
office for the past six years. His brother, E. E. Clark is equally promi- 
nent as a banker, though educated for the law, and other members of the 
family have contributed their share of useful work to the community. 

Mr. W. J. Clark was first apointed to the office of postmaster May 27, 
1908, by President Roosevelt. At the end of the first four years, to the 
complete satisfaction of all patrons of the office, he was reappointed by 
President Taft in May, 1912, and still has two years to serve. The 
Hamilton postoffice has been brought into a high state of efficiency, hav- 
ing two assistant clerks, besides five rural carriers. The postoffice at 
Kingston, the county seat of Caldwell County, is served as a star route 
by the Hamilton postoffice. The postoffice now is housed in a building 
on which more than two thousand dollars were spent in fixtures, and it 
is one of the best equipped offices in Northwest Missouri in a town of its 
size. 

W. J. Clark, who has lived in Hamilton since 1870, was born in the 
State of Connecticut, and 'comes of an old New England family. He was 
born December 2, 1865, a son of Henry Clark, who was a miller. The 
first American of the family was Abraham Clark, one of the signers of 
the Declaration of Independence in 1776, but the family had been 
identified with this country during the Colonial era. Henry Clark 
moved to Northwest Missouri in 1870, and was prominently known at 
Hamilton as proprietor of a flour mill for a number of years. He mar- 
ried Aurelia Eldridge, also of Connecticut. She was born in the same 
house in which her son W. J. first saw the light of day. Henry Clark 
died at the age of seventy-two. During the war he had performed im- 
portant service in raising two companies of recruits for the Union army. 
He was a republican in politics, and lived a long and useful life. Of the 
family four children grew up : Charles H., who died at the age of twenty 
years; Frank, who died February 19, 1913, at Hamilton; Elmer E.; 
and W. J. 

W. J. Clark was reared in Hamilton, received his education in the 
local schools, and for about twenty years was engaged in the newspaper 
business. He has long been regarded as one of the wheel horses of the 
republican party in Caldwell County, and has assisted a number of men 
to public office. Fraternally his affiliations are with Blue Lodge, No. 224, 
A. F. & A. M. ; Royal Arch Chapter, No. 45 ; and also with Lodge No. 
212 of the Knights "of Pythias. 

Mr. W. J. Clark was married May 5, 1891, at Hamilton, to Miss 
Anna Rogers, of an old and well-known family of Caldwell County, 
daughter of David C. Rogers. They have one son, Francis E., who grad- 
uated from the Hamilton High School in 1911, attended the Missouri 
School of Mines at Rolla for one year and is now a student in the State 
Agricultural College at Manhattan, Kansas. 

Elmer E. Clark, who is cashier of the Hamilton Savings Bank, has 
for more than twenty-five years been identified either with his profession 
as a lawyer or in banking. The Hamilton Savings Bank was organized 
in 1877, 'and the present officers are: S. L. Wonsettler, president; John 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1489 

N. Morton, vice president; J. R. Ckeskier, second vice president; and 
E. E. Clark, caskier. Tke capital of tke institution is $60,000, and its 
surplus and undivided profits of nearly $50,000 indicates tke conserva- 
tive management which kas always keen ckaracteristic of tkis institution. 

Mr. Clark was korn Oetoker 29, 1862, in Connecticut, a son of tke 
late Henry Clark, for many years engaged in tke milling kusiness 
at Hamilton. Mr. Clark kas lived in Hamilton since ke was 
eigkt years of age, and after finisking tke puklic sckools grad- 
uated from tke Ann Arkor Higk Sckool in 1884, took two years 
literary course in tke University of Mickigan, tken entered tke 
law department of tke University of Mickigan and was graduated witk 
tke class of 1888. Locating at Arkansas City, Kansas, ke opened a law 
office with H. D. Cummings, and remained tkere akout a year. Tkougk 
prepared for tke law, ke found banking a field of work more to kis in- 
clination, and returning to Hamilton, Missouri, ke accepted a position 
with tke Hamilton Savings Bank, and of which institution ke is now 
caskier. 

Mr. Clark was married in 1892, to Nellie Austin, daugkter of Oliver 
Austin, an old and well-known citizen of Caldwell County. Mr. Clark 
is a republican, is affiliated witk Knigkts of Pytkias Lodge, No. 212, and 
kas always exerted kimself for tke benefit of tke community wken any 
enterprise was undertaken in tkat direction. 

Frank Clark. No historical sketch of Hamilton, Missouri, covering 
recent years would be complete without mention of Frank Clark — a man 
who left kis impress upon all Hamilton's business, political and social 
life for more tkan forty years. He came to Hamilton with his father, 
Henry Clark, in 1870. He was tken a young man of eighteen but very 
soon Thereafter became actively associated with his father in the milling 
business. He mastered the minutest details of this business and in 1874 
bought out his father's interest in tke mill. Four years later, September 
28, 1878, kis mill burned to tke ground and without a dollar of insur- 
ance. Tken it was tkat kis true mettle appeared for witkin six montks 
ke kad a new tkree-story and basement brick mill fully equipped and in 
running order. Four years later it was completely changed over to the 
roller process, which was then just coming in vogue. This mill and tke 
accompanying elevator ke continued to operate witk signal success for 
many years. 

In 1893 ke turned kis attention to tke electric light business and, se- 
curing a twenty-year franchise from the City of Hamilton, erected w T kat 
was at tkat time a tkorougkly modern and up-to-date electric ligkt plant. 
Tkis business ke kept fully abreast of tke times and continued to conduct 
it up to tke time of kis deatk. 

He was one of tke original organizing stockkolders of the Hamilton 
Savings Bank, which institution was organized in 1877, and of which he 
had been vice president for a number of years prior to his death. 

Politically, Mr. Clark was an ardent republican and always took an 
active part in matters political altkougk ke never keld nor was even a 
candidate for political office. Fraternally, ke was a member of Blue 
Lodge, No. 224, A. F. & A. M.; Royal' Arch Chapter, No. 45; and 
Kadosh Commanderv No. 21. He was also a member of Hamilton Lodge 
No. 212 Knights of Pythias. 

Warmhearted, kindly dispositioned, generous to a fault, kis friends 
were limited only by kis acquaintance and in kis passing Hamilton lost 
a splendid citizen wko kad spent practically kis wkole life witk ker and 
striven ever for ker advancement. 



1490 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Frank Clark was born in Vernon, Tolland County, Connecticut, Oc- 
tober 22, 1852 ; was married in Willington, Connecticut, October 22, 1871, 
to Miss Netta L. Eldredge; and died at Hamilton, Missouri, February 
19, 1913. 

Walter C. Myers, M. D. No other profession is of such ancient 
dignity as is that of medicine and it invites to its service men of learning 
and ability, often returning but few rewards in material things for 
the preparation and self sacrifice it demands, and not always bestowing 
the honors fairly won. Nevertheless the call to this profession is insistent 
and it seems, sometimes, as if the call might be an inherited one, for in 
many families other and more promising careers are presented only to 
be turned aside by several generations for that of the healing art. Of 
such ancestry is Dr. Walter C. Myers, an eminent physician and surgeon 
of Savannah, whose medical knowledge and achievements reflect credit 
upon his ancestors. 

Walter C. Myers was born January 26, 1876, at Uhrichsville, Tus- 
carawas County, Ohio, and is a son of J. C. and Martha A. (Campbell) 
Myers, the latter of whom was born at Allegheny City, Pennsylvania, and 
died at Troy, Kansas, in 1910. The father of Doctor Myers was born at 
Uhrichsville, Ohio, and is now a leading practitioner of dentistry at 
Troy, Kansas. He began the study of his profession with Doctor 
McKinley, who was a resident of Uhrichsville and an uncle of the late 
President William McKinley, and afterward completed his course at 
Columbus, Ohio. His brother, Dr. James Myers, is a retired physician 
of Hutchinson, Kansas, and his uncle, Dr. John Myers, was an eminent 
early physician and surgeon near New Philadelphia, Ohio. He married 
into a medical family, four of his wife's brothers being physicians, two of 
whom, Doctor William and Dr. 0. B. Campbell, resided in St. Joseph, 
Missouri, but the latter is now deceased. Of the three children born to 
his parents, Walter C. is the only son. He has two sisters.: Mary Elberta, 
who is the wife of R. B. Castle, of Kansas City; and Adaline E., who is 
the wife of Oscar Dubasch, of Troy, Kansas. 

Walter C. Myers was two years old when his parents, in 1878, moved 
to Highland, Kansas, two years later settling permanently at Troy, where 
he passed his boyhood and educational training, completing the high 
school course. From childhood he believed that his mission was to 
become a physician, this impression being so strong that his boyish com- 
rades dubbed him "doctor" in their play. He was happy in having 
a tender, devoted and ambitious mother, and it was at her knee he 
learned his first lessons in anatomy and physiology and through her 
encouragement decided to become a medical student under his uncle, Dr. 
0. B. Campbell, at St. Joseph, Missouri, and in 1898 was graduated from 
the Central Medical College of that city, and for ten years was engaged 
in a general practice at Rea, Andrew County, Missouri, during that time 
continuing his studies and scientific investigations and taking post grad- 
uate courses as opportunity offered. In 1906 he spent the summer in 
special laboratory work, in Chicago, and after he came to Savannah, took 
a regular post graduate course in the New York Post Graduate College 
in 1906, also took a clinical course under Doctors Mayo, at Rochester, 
Minnesota, subsequently taking a special course on tuberculosis, at Chi- 
cago, under Doctor McMichael. In fact, whenever friends miss him or 
patients clamor for him during certain portions of the summer, when 
many of both think of recreation in some chosen restful place, they may 
easily guess that he is hard at work in some famous distant clinic or, 
in their interest, spending days and nights in study with his test tubes 
and microscopes. The effect of this constant investigation and close study 




~)4cuu^ a 




"hod 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1491 

at first hand has given him qualifications that have proven far reaching 
in his ministrations to the sick of Savannah and probably Andrew County 
has never had a more competent health officer. He has served one term 
also as county coroner, elected on the republican ticket, but has never 
been very active in the political field. 

Doctor Myers was united in marriage in September, 1913, to Miss 
Georgia Newman, who was born at Savannah, Missouri, and is a daughter 
of William Newman. Doctor and Mrs. Myers have one son, Victor Camp- 
bell Myers. Doctor Myers is a valued member of the Buchanan County, 
the Missouri State and the American Medical associations. A man of 
cultivated tastes he enjoys congenial companionship in many circles and 
has the pleasing personality that wins friends. Fraternally he is identi- 
fied with the Masons, the Odd Fellows at Savannah, and the Elks at 
St. Joseph. 

Judge James Riley Cheshier. When James Riley Cheshier was 
elected presiding judge of the Caldwell County Court, he overturned a 
precedent that had stood for nearly half a century, ever since the Civil 
war. He was the first democrat to be honored with that important office 
in all that time, and his election is a splendid tribute to his individual 
character as well as to his leadership in the party. Judge Cheshier has 
been a resident of Caldwell County, prominent as a farmer, stock man 
and banker for many years, and came to this section of Northwest Mis- 
souri on October 17, 1857. 

He was born January 3, 1817, in Jefferson County, Tennessee. His 
father, William E. Cheshier, was a native of Ohio, of Scotch and Eng- 
lish ancestry. He married Susan Spencer who was born in Jefferson 
County, Tennessee, of an old Tennessee family of Irish and Scotch an- 
cestry. Judge Cheshier was ten years of age when the family came over- 
land from Tennessee to Northwest Missouri. They made that journey 
with wagon and teams, and were seven weeks before finally coming to a 
halt in Caldwell County. This section of Missouri at that time was al- 
most a wilderness, and wild game was more plentiful than domestic ani- 
mals are at the present time. There were six children in the family. 
Judge Cheshier 's brother, J. M. Cheshier, lives at Glendale, Washington. 
A sister, Mary Jackson, lives in Caldwell County. The father died at the 
age of sixty-three. The Cheshier family during the early days in Cald- 
well County was noted for its hospitality, and there was welcome for 
everyone who opened the door of that generous home. The father was 
a man of extraordinary physical energy, and had probably no ecpal in 
this part of the country as a rail splitter. He stood 6 feet 2 inches, 
weighed 185 pounds, and the same strength and endurance which made 
him conspicuous in the handling of the ax were displayed in his other 
activities. He spent his last years in the home of his son, Judge Cheshier. 
The mother died at the age of thirty-seven. 

Judge Cheshier was reared on a farm, and trained his muscles and 
his mind at the same time, alternating between the work of the home- 
stead and attendance at the country schools. Like his father, he became 
adept in the handling of an ax, and has split many hundreds of rails. 
At the age of twenty-eight he established a home of his own by his mar- 
riage to Harriet A. Hill, who was born in Montgomery County, Mis- 
souri, a daughter of Rev. Arthur Hill, a missionary Baptist minister who 
did work all over Central Missouri. After his marriage Judge Cheshier 
lived northwest of Cowgill on forty acres of land, having bought that 
on time, and after paying out on it, sold and bought other land until he 
had developed a fine farm of 240 acres. That farm is still in his pos- 
session, and is one of the best kept places and one of the most com- 



1492 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

fortable country estates in Caldwell County. In 1911 he turned its 
management over to his son-in-law, and has since been busied with his 
banking and official affairs. He has served as a stockholder and director 
in the Cowgill Bank, and also in the Hamilton Savings Bank, of which 
he is vice president. As a judge he has made an admirable record, is a 
man of steadfast convictions as to correct principles of individual and 
social conduct and entered upon his office with the complete confidence 
of the county, and nothing in his record has dispelled the trust which was 
thus manifested in his ability. Judge Cheshier was formerly affiliated 
with the Masonic Lodge at Polo, and later became a member of the Cow- 
gill Lodge. 

Judge Cheshier and wife have two daughters : Pearl L. is the wife of 
Clarence Brown, and they live on Judge Cheshier 's fine farm near Cow- 
gill. The daughter Camora is at home, and has been a successful teacher. 
Both the daughters were educated at Stevens College in Columbia, the 
older graduating in 1910 and the younger in 1911. 

Neill D. Johnson, M. D. Representing the first class ability and 
skill of his profession and enjoying a large general practice at Hamil- 
ton and vicinity, Doctor Johnson is a physician and surgeon who since 
graduating from the Chicago Homeopathic College of Medicine in 1903 
has taken front rank in his profession. He located at Hamilton in 1912, 
and has since built up a large practice. He began his work with an 
excellent equipment, and the test of real practice found him qualified 
for this important service among the social professions. 

Dr. Neill D. Johnson was born at Leroy, McLean County, Illinois. 
His father, Rev. Archibald Johnson, was a prominent minister of the 
Presbyterian Church. He was born in Dickson County, Tennessee, of 
an old Tennessee family, and married Sallie Davis, daughter of Rev. 
James E. Davis. The Davis family located in Southern Illinois at Mount 
Vernon during the Black Hawk war. Rev. Archibald Johnson subse- 
quently moved out to Ottawa, Kansas, and died in that state in 1872 
at the age of sixty-four years. He spent many years in the work of his 
Master, and his name is gratefully remembered in a number of localities 
in different states. He was a republican in politics, and one of his sons, 
William T., served during the Civil war with the Chicago Light Artil- 
lery, and died in service. The mother of the family died at the age of 
eighty-seven years. There were five sons and three daughters in the 
family. 

Doctor Johnson was thirteen years of age when his parents moved 
out to Kansas, and finished his education in Missouri and in Indiana. He 
was ordained as a minister of the Presbyterian Church, and spent about 
twenty-five years in its service, being located for several years at Topeka, 
Kansas. He later turned his attention to the study of medicine, was 
graduated in 1903, and has thus been a contributor to the world's work 
through two great professions. 

Doctor Johnson was married in 1880 to Jane R. Chase, a daughter of 
Rev. Moody Chase, a cousin of Hon. Salmon Chase, who was a member 
of Lincoln's cabinet during the Civil war. Doctor Johnson has one son, 
Archie. 

Doctor Johnson at Hamilton has one of the best equipped medical 
offices in Northwest Missouri, with half a dozen rooms employed for 
specific purposes, and with a thorough equipment of medical and sur- 
gical appliances. He is a specialist in the treatment of the eye, and it is 
for his*skill as an oculist that many patients resort to him from remote 
parts of the country. 



HISTORY. OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1493 

D. M. Clagett, M. D. Though Doctor Clagett has been through the 
toils and hardships of an arduous medical practice at Winston for more 
than forty years, he is still hale and hearty and looks after a large 
practice and is held in high esteem by everyone in that section of Mis- 
souri. When Doctor Clagett located at Winston it was a settlement not 
far removed from pioneer conditions, and in the early days he had to 
travel over all sorts of roads, and was the kindly family physician who 
brought professional service and cheer and comfort to many an isolated 
home. For many years he carried on his practice without the aid of 
the telephone and other modern facilities which have lightened the bur- 
dens of the doctor, and he is now one of the oldest members of his pro- 
fession in Daviess County. 

Dr. D. M. Clagett was born at Natchez, Mississippi, March 24, 1S46, 
a son of Hezekiah and Elizabeth (Shipp) Clagett. His father was born 
in Fredericton, Maryland, and his mother at Lexington, Kentucky, and 
the grandparents on both sides were Virginians. Doctor Clagett acquired 
his early education at St. Louis, Missouri, where he attended the public 
schools, and is a graduate of the St. Louis Medical College. In 1872 
he moved to Winston, and has been in practice there ever since. When 
he located in Winston the Rock Island Railroad had been constructed 
through the village only about a year, and many of the homes in the town 
were built of logs. The surrounding country was largely a wilderness of 
bald prairie, and the whole country was just emerging from the condi- 
tions which had prevailed for untold centuries. 

Doctor Clagett is a democrat in politics, and was one of the early 
coroners of Daviess County, having held that office until 1876. He is a 
member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and is a Blue Lodge Mason. 

On January 1, 1873, Doctor Clagett married Miss Mary A. Wood, a 
daughter of James and Martha (Osborn) Wood, who lived in Colfax 
Township in Daviess County. Of the four children born to the doctor 
and his wife, James, Virgil and Mattie died in childhood. The son is 
Dr. Oscar F. Clagett, now engaged in the successful practice of medicine 
at Carbondale, Colorado. Doctor Oscar married Miss Effie E. Stevens, 
and both were born at Winston, Missouri. She is a daughter of John S. 
and Bettie (Burch) Stevens. 

William Lafayette Houpt. Following are the more important 
scenes and phases in the life of one of Harrison County's finest old-time 
citizens, a pioneer of Fox Creek Township and the oldest living settler 
in that section of Harrison County and" the only settler living on the land 
he entered and patented from the Government, Though nearly eighty, 
Mr. Houpt looks ten years younger, and both mind and body are active 
and he still keeps himself in the harness, though prosperity and comfort 
were assured to him many years ago. 

William Lafayette Houpt was born in Sullivan County, . Indiana, 
within four miles of the Wabash River, about half way between Terre 
Haute and old Vincennes, on September 11, 1835. That was a pictur- 
esque landscape of heavy woods and prairies during his youth, and he 
was well trained in woodcraft and pioneer economy, though of formal 
schooling he had almost none. At the age of seven his father took him a 
mile and a half through the woods, blazing a trail for his following, and 
entered him in the first subscription school taught in that locality. An 
old hunter's cabin at the head of a small branch was the temple of 
learning, and even this he was not permitted to attend the full term 
taught by Professor Moore. His father was injured, and all hands were 
needed at home, including the young pupil who became practically head 
of the household in the absence of his father. Though his school days 



1494 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

were a small portion of his youth, Mr. Houpt retains an accurate and 
interesting impression of the old school. The benches were of white 
walnut or poplar logs, with holes bored on the underside for the wooden 
pins or legs with the tops smoothed off, but no backs. He was seated on 
a bench so high that his feet could not touch the floor. One day he went 
to sleep and dropped his book, and though he jumped down and quickly 
recovered the property his fault was observed and the teacher punished 
him by splitting a quill and hanging one on each ear. These remained 
until removed by the teacher, and Mr. Houpt testifies that such punish- 
ment will not fail to keep a child awake. The only book he ever took 
to school, save for four days, was an old speller, and at the age of eight 
was able to spell every word between its covers. He never owned an 
arithmetic in his life. 

With the responsibilities thrust upon him by his father's injury, he 
remained at home, grubbed land and farmed, and had only a few of 
the intermissions of toil that relieved the monotony of Indiana pioneer 
days. At the age of eighteen he was given a horse by his father, and 
went with his Grandfather Correll to another frontier bounded by the 
great Missouri. In 1854 they left Indiana in a wagon and camped by 
the roadside every night during the ten days they traveled until reaching 
Harrison County, Missouri. His mother's brother having written how 
the old "bucks" would approach a cabin and stamp their feet, Mr. 
Houpt was keenly excited over the prospect and came out to Missouri 
to hunt deer. The journey had only one incident of specially good or 
bad fortune, and that was the loss of the horse given him by his father. 
Up to January, 1855, he did nothing but hunt through the splendid 
game preserves then existing everywhere in Northwest Missouri. After 
this he took a job of making 5,000 rails. This was a work for which he 
had no experience. In Indiana all the work he had done in the timber 
was clearing away the tree tops where railmakers had felled the trees, 
but in Missouri finances were such as to introduce him through practical 
necessity to this new and untried field of labor. His aggregate experi- 
ence as railmaker covered about fifteen years, and he believes that 
he made in this time about thirty-five thousand rails. He cut and 
split all the rails for the fencing of the eighty acres he entered from 
the Government. This labor and corn cutting and mowing hay with a 
scythe were about the only kind of work in the new country that offered 
profit to man with only his hands as capital. In those early times in 
Northwest Missouri Mr. Houpt mowed hay and put it in the shock at 50 
cents an acre. He had a fork with tines made of ash wood, and in that 
way earned the money by which he bought a spinning wheel for his home. 
With the increasing growing of grain, he found still another means of 
earning money, by swinging the cradle. When only twelve years of 
age, back in Indiana, he had taken his first lessons with the cradle, and 
was an expert in the handling of that implement. The first one he used 
had been brought by his father from North Carolina, and his own old 
cradle, used forty years ago, now hangs in the shop at his home. 

Where Mr. Houpt now resides he entered an 80-acre tract in section 
6 of range 63, town 26, and had to borrow every cent of the preemption 
fee. He had occupied this land before entering it, and erected his cabin 
on Trail Creek. It was made of small white oak logs, 14 by 16 feet, 
and he carried the logs himself and put in his own puncheons. That 
was his home for twenty-five years before he felt able to build a better 
residence. His first team was one that he watched grow from bull 
calves, and they proved their value by breaking his land, which accom- 
plished he sold the oxen to finish payments on the land. When the store 
of grains and crops ran low, he supplemented his food supply with meat 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1495 

from the forest, and the first four winters in Missouri he hunted deer 
almost constantly for their hams and hides, for which there was a 
ready sale. The hams brought from fifty to seventy-five cents per pair 
and dry hides 12 cents per pound. 

After overcoming the first obstacles and proving his ability to live 
by service in this new country, Mr. Houpt entered two other forties, 
and subsequently bought 160, and altogether these comprise his farm 
estate today. All his buildings were put up on Trail Creek, and the cen- 
ter of his farm industry is a beautiful dell, the banks of the creek being 
studded with splendid walnuts and oaks. All these trees have grown up 
since 1863, in which year a fire devastated all the timber in this region 
and destroyed the building improvements on the Houpt Farm, making its 
owner poor. 

During the war Mr. Houpt was in the Missouri State Militia, en- 
tering the state forces under the arrangement for "armed neutrality." 
He was with the Fifty-seventh Mounted Infantry, in Company E, un- 
der Captain Prather and Col. James Neville. His service was all over 
the state, but much of the time in Southern Missouri engaged in a sort 
of guerrilla warfare with Quantrell's men. In politics Mr. Houpt cast 
his first vote for Stephen A. Douglas for President in 1860. but his 
opposition to slavery and his admiration for Abraham Lincoln caused 
him to vote for the latter in 1864, and he has regularly supported the 
republican presidential nominees ever since. In a modest way he as- 
sisted in making Harrison County the banner Republican County it is, 
but has never felt able to assume the responsibilities of office himself, 
and has declined various honors of this kind. He was never a strong 
Roosevelt man, and his own principles of action were unchanged in the 
party split of 1912. To quote his own language, "He has never per- 
mitted any Bull Moose to kick up its heels in his pasture." In the days 
of convention work following the war he had a regular function, and 
was always in the county meetings when his influence was needed. 

Almost since he came to Missouri Mr. Houpt has enjoyed the relations 
of his own household and fireside. He was married August 26, 1856, to 
Miss Jincy Morgan, whose parents were Kentuckians. To this marriage 
the following children were born : John, who was robbed and killed in 
Colorado, being unmarried; Miss Susan, of Joplin, Missouri; Arch A., 
a farmer in Cherokee County, Kansas ; Mary, wife of Philip Usrey, of 
Redondo Beach, California ; Rhoda, who married David Elder, of 
Oklahoma; Charles S., whose home is at Castle Rock, Washington; Mrs. 
Vira Elsmer, of Joplin: and Clara, wife of Charles Rankin, of Joplin. 
In January, 1889, Mr. Houpt married for his second wife Mrs. Rosa 
Keech, and of their union is one daughter, Miss Altha, living at home. 
Mrs. Houpt, who was a daughter of John and Maggie (Morris) Kinzie, 
was born near Berne, Switzerland, October 16, 1846, and by her first 
marriage her children were : Alice, wife of Edgar Ross, of Mammoth 
Springs, Arkansas ; Mary, wife of Emil Linstrum, of Tarkio, Missouri ; 
and Katie, wife of John Gates, of Harrison County. 

To conclude this sketch some reference should be made to Mr. Houpt 's 
family in its' earlier generations. His grandfather was a native of Ger- 
many, and on coming to America settled in Pennsylvania, where he mar- 
ried a Scotch girl named Albright. They moved to South Carolina, and 
later to Indiana, where both died. Their children were: John W., 
father of the Harrison County citizen; Jacob, who died in Sullivan 
County, Indiana ; Henry, who also died in that county ; Thomas, who died 
in early life leaving a family ; Sarah, who married John Correll and spent 
her life in Indiana; Adaline, who married Maurice Miles and died in 
Indiana ; and Angeline, who died unmarried. 



1496 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

John W. Houpt, the father, was born in North Carolina before the 
Carolinas were separated into states. He grew up in Roane County, and 
in pioneer times came to Indiana, and lived there until most of his 
• family moved on west to Kansas, and he then followed and died in 
Graham County in 1902. He was married in North Carolina to Margaret 
Correll, a daughter of Samuel Correll. The latter 's father was from 
Scotland and a farmer, while Samuel was a wagon-maker in Indiana. 
Mrs. John W. Houpt died in Sullivan County, Indiana. Her children 
were: William W. ; Mary, who married William Adkisson and died in 
Gove County, Kansas ; Eliza, who married P. G. Adkisson, of Oklahoma ; 
James F., who died in young manhood in Indiana; Thomas S., who 
lives in Graham County, Kansas; Harvey, of Nebraska; and Alvin, who 
lives near his brother Harvey. 

Harry M. Davis. Four generations of the Davis family have added 
to the development of those communities wherein they had their resi- 
dence, in so far as authentic record is available, and a fifth generation 
is being reared to take its place in public and private life. That repre- 
sentative of the family with which this review is most deeply concerned 
is Harry M. Davis, a son of James A. Davis and grandson of Nathaniel 
Davis. He was born in Richmond, Missouri, on a spot now occupied by 
the Richmond Hotel, on July 25, 1857, and there was reared to the age 
of twenty. His father, James A. Davis, was born in Ray County, 
Missouri, on November 27, 1837, himself a son of Nathaniel Davis, born 
July 31, 1807, in Washington County, Tennessee, where the family was 
long established. 

When Nathaniel Davis was five years old he removed with his par- 
ents to Knox County, Tennessee, and there he spent his youth and was 
reared to manhood. When he was twenty-two years old he entered the 
University of East Tennessee and was graduated with honors from that 
college in 1832. He then came to Ray County, Missouri. At that time 
Ray County, and, indeed, the whole State of Missouri, was then regarded 
as the far West, and by many the wild West. He was prepared for 
hardship and his intention Avas to carve out his destiny in a new land. 
How well he succeeded, the affection of his old friends and the respect 
and esteem in which he was held by the people of the entire county 
will bear eloquent testimony. His character was without taint and his 
very name was a synonym for integrity, honor, hospitality and charity. 
He was an eminently successful physician, skillful, prompt and always 
to be depended upon. He was here through the exciting period of the 
Mormon war, as the excitement of the time was designated,, and was 
compelled to seek safety, for a time leaving his home. 

In the fall of 1837 Nathaniel Davis married Miss Maria A. Allen, a 
native of Pennsylvania, and she died in the year 1878, aged seventy-six 
years. Of her six children, all are living, James A. being the father of 
the subject of this review. 

James A. Davis attended the common schools of his native com- 
munity and finished his training in Richland College. In 1862 he 
engaged in the mercantile business, in company with James F. Hudgus 
and Thomas H. Bayliss, continuing until 1864, when he withdrew from 
the firm and went to Salt Lake City, Utah. He remained there for a 
year, then returned to Richmond and resumed business for five years. 
At the end of that time he began to devote himself to farming activities, 
and he was thus occupied for three years, when he was appointed to the 
post of deputy county collector under Thomas Fowler. He also served 
through the administration of A. M. Fowler, successor to Thomas 
Fowler, so that his service in the office covered a period of five years. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1497 

In 1878 Mr. Davis was elected on the Democratic ticket to the office 
of county collector, in which he had shown his capability as deputy, 
and he was reelected in 1880, in 1882 and in 1884, discharging the 
duties of his office in a manner highly creditable to himself and to the 
county. 

In 1887, following the expiration of his last term, Mr. Davis organ- 
ized the Exchange Bank of Richmond, whereupon he was elected cashier 
and served in that office until 1900, at which time he retired from active 
business. He has since lived a life of practical retirement in Richmond. 

In 1890 Mr. Davis built the Eagle Mill at Richmond, and he and 
his son, Harry M. Davis, operated the plant for two years, when they 
sold it to its present owner, 0. N. Hamsaler. 

Mr. Davis married on May 15, 1861, Miss Mary Tripplett, a native 
of Rappahannock County, Virginia. She died on November 26, 1864, 
leaving one child, Carrie, now the wife of Frank Clark and living in 
Ray County, Missouri. 

On May 15, 1866, he again married, Miss Allen M. Hughes, of How- 
ard County, Missouri,- becoming his wife. She was born in 1843, and 
still lives. To them were born seven children : Harry M., whose name 
heads this review; Frank, also a resident of Richmond. Missouri; Katy, 
deceased; Lucy N., the wife of F. M. Hyffaker, of Chicago; Allie, who 
married C. W. Harrison, of New York City; James A., Jr., of Rich- 
mond ; and Estelle, the wife of Dr. E. M. Cameron, of Richmond. 

When Harry M. Davis was twenty years old he went to Chicago to 
add something to his education, and there he took a rigid course in busi- 
ness training in the Bryant & Stratton Business College. Returning 
home when he had completed his commercial studies, he soon after 
went to Kansas City, and there he took a position as traveling salesman 
for Barton Brothers, a wholesale shoe house, and for five years there- 
after he worked for that concern. He then returned to Richmond and 
during the next two years he was engaged in the milling business with 
his father. In 1892 he joined a Mr. Bates in the purchase of a lumber 
yard, and for the next seven years operated the yard under the firm 
name of Bates & Davis. In 1899 Mr. Bates disposed of his share to 
L. T. Child, and then Mr. Davis and Mr. Child incorporated the busi- 
ness under the firm name of Davis & Child, with a capital of $10,000. 
Mr. Davis became president of the firm, and they have since continued 
in operation, increasing the capitalization as the demands of the business 
grew. The business is now capitalized at $30,000, and the establishment 
is making steady progress. Everything in the building line is carried 
by Davis & Child, the yard itself being under the personal supervision 
and management of Mr. Child. 

In 1906 Mr. Davis was elected to the office of county collector and he 
served for four years. At the end of. his term of office he turned his 
attention to farming, and he is now operating a farm comprising a full 
section of land, 380 acres of which he owns. He makes a specialty_ of 
jacks, mules and hogs', and has been very successful in his breeding 
enterprise. . 

It is not too much to say that Mr. Davis is a man who has the genuine 
confidence and esteem of the public, and that he is one of the most 
prominent and popular men in these parts. He proved an excellent 
public official, and if he could be induced to enter the lists in political 
conflict, it is morally certain that he would find continued favor with 
the people as an official. Fraternally he is a member of the A. F. and 
A. M. and of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 

On December 30, 1891, Mr. Davis married Miss Edwina Menefee, 
who was born in the house where she now lives in the year 1874. She 



1498 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

is a daughter of Berrien J. Menefee, a native of Culpeper County, 
Virginia, born there on January 22, 1832, and who died on December 
30, 1890, at Richmond. His parents were early settlers in Missouri. 
Mr. Menefee was twice married. His first wife was Cynthia Cole, who 
died and left two children, Kate, the wife of James S. Lightner, and 
Henry R., of St. Louis, Missouri. His second wife was Miss Elizabeth 
Newland, a native of Pike County, Missouri. She is living and for 
the past eighteen years has been housekeeper at Central College, this 
state. There were five children of this second marriage: Newland 
lives in the West; Mrs. Davis was the second born; Emma is the wife 
of R. L. Tracy, of Albany, Oregon; Susie married M. W. Little, of 
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma ; and Berrien is the wife of H. F. Blackwell, 
of Lexington, Missouri. 

Berrien J. Menefee was a soldier of the Confederacy, serving as lieu- 
tenant in Company D, First Missouri Cavalry. In 1861 he went across 
the plains in company with James A. Davis, father of the subject, return- 
ing, together with Mr. Davis, in the following year. For twenty-five 
years he was a merchant in Richmond, operating a hardware and imple- 
ment store. He dropped dead of heart disease while busy about the 
store one day. 

Mr. and Mrs. Davis have no children, but they have reared the child 
of a sister, Catherine Allen, now fifteen years of age, and attending school 
at Lexington, Missouri. 

Jodia A. Magraw, M. D. Owning a name that has been honorably 
identified with Harrison County for sixty years, Doctor Magraw was 
long known as an educator, but since 1902 has been a successful physi- 
cian at Gilman City. Most of his life has been spent in the service of 
others, and as a physician he is kindly, even tempered, and a skillful 
counselor and friend to his widening circle of patients. 

Doctor Magraw was born on a farm- in Adams Township, Harrison 
County, November 22, 1859. There he grew up, had a farm training 
and environment, an education from the district schools, later supple- 
mented from the Kirksville State Normal and the old Stanberry Nor- 
mal, where he was graduated in 1892. He had been teaching for some 
years, and that was his regular profession for twelve years thereafter. 
His country school work was done in his native county, and his last 
teaching in a graded school was at Valparaiso, Nebraska, where he 
located in 1894. He took up the study of medicine at Cotner University 
in Lincoln, Nebraska, and was graduated M. D. in 1899. In that school 
he was demonstrator of anatomy one year and during 1901-02 filled the 
chair of diseases of children. After three years of practice at Pleasant 
Hill, Nebraska, Doctor Magraw returned to Missouri, and located in the 
same locality in which he had been reared. His office and home have 
been in Gilman City since 1902. He has membership in the Harrison 
County and the State Medical societies. 

Doctor Magraw 's grandfather was John Magraw, who was born at 
Germantown, Pennsylvania, the son of a Scotch father and. of an Irish 
mother. When he was seven years old these parents died of yellow fever, 
being victims of the only epidemic of that scourge which ever reached 
as far north as Philadelphia. The three orphan children were reared 
in different homes. The daughter married a Mr. Latta and spent her 
life in Ohio. The other son became a resident of West Virginia, and 
among his well known descendants still in that state is former Governor 
Magraw, a grandson. John Magraw was reared in the East, served as 
a soldier in the War of 1812, and afterwards moved west and died in 
Fayette County, Illinois, at the age of eighty-five. He married an 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1499 

orphan girl, Elizabeth McGnire, and their children were: Eleanor 
who married Samuel Sidener, of Fayette County, Illinois; James, who 
died in Fayette County; John D., father of Doctor Magraw; Joseph, 
who died in Fayette County, leaving a family ; and David, who died in 
Macomb, Illinois. 

John D. Magraw, who was born in Knox County, Ohio, May 9, 1830, 
began active life with only a country schooling, but all his life was a stu- 
dious reader. In 1855 he came to Missouri and entered land in Adams 
Township of Harrison County, and improved it and made the home where 
his children grew up. He died in Gilman City March 31, 1905. In poli- 
tics he belonged to the old know-nothing party that existed before the 
war. and was one of the two men in his township to cast votes 'for 
Abraham Lincoln in 1860. He volunteered for service in the Union 
army, being rejected on account of a crippled arm, but had a place in 
Company G of the Fifty-seventh Missouri Militia, being called out for 
brief periods only. He was one of the party leaders among the repub- 
licans of his locality, never aspired to office, and for about a dozen 
years served as justice of the peace. He was an active Methodist. 

John D. Magraw was married in Harrison County, March 13, 1857, 
to Miss Matilda J. Miller. Her father. Dr. Benjamin C. Miller, was a 
native of Ohio, and from the vicinity of Kokomo, Indiana, came to Mis- 
souri in 1855. He had practiced medicine in Indiana, but in Harrison 
County became a farmer until his death in 1876. His wife was Elvira 
DeYore, and of their eight children the following are mentioned : Jack- 
son Greene, who was named in honor of Gen. Nathaniel Greene : Matilda 
J. ; Rebecca A., deceased, who married John T. Price and left a family in 
Harrison County; Samantha E., who married John H. Myers; Alice, 
the wife of Mandrid Hart, lives at Carlsbad, New Mexico ; John A., of 
DeKalb County, Missouri; and Samuel J., of Ariekaree, Colorado. The 
children of John D. Magraw and wife were : Walter G., a farmer in 
Adams Township, Harrison County ; Dr. J. A. ; Altha, a teacher in the 
high school at Maysville ; Naomi, wife of Charles McClary, a Gilman 
City merchant. There are no grandchildren by any of these. 

Doctor Magraw was married at Albany, Missouri, December 28, 
1899. to Rose M. Selby. a daughter of Joshua J. and Mary E. Selby and 
a sister of Columbus 0. Selby, mentioned on other pages of this work. 
Doctor Magraw is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, having filled all chairs in the lodge, and is past chancellor in the 
Knights of Pythias. He is a member of the Christian Church. Besides 
his profitable practice, he owns property in Gilman City and a farm 
near by. Doctor Magraw is a man of excellent physical presence, is 
alert, and full of life and hope. 

— ■» Walter Clement Childers. While Walter Clement Childers, of 
Grant City, is a newcomer in the ranks of Northwest Missouri journal- 
ism, his accomplishments in other lines of business endeavor, and as a 
public official, may be taken as an assurance that in his new venture he 
will meet with a full measure of success. He has been a resident of Grant 
City since his first election to the office of county clerk in 1906, a posi- 
tion which he still retains, and has been owner and editor of the Worth 
County Times since January, 1914, and is, all in all, considered one of 
his community's stirring and helpful citizens. Mr. Childers is not a 
native of Worth County, but has resided here since his infancy, having 
been brought here from" Jay County, Indiana, where he was born Novem- 
ber 8, 1876, a son of James" H. and Hannah fYanSkyock) Childers. 

The paternal grandfather of Walter C. Childers spent his final years 
in Jay County, Indiana, to which locality he had gone from Adams 



1500 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

County, Ohio. He was of English stock, the first of the name in this 
country having come from England early in our national history, and 
while it is not definitely known where the progenitor settled, it is 
established that his posterity early located in Ohio. James H. Childers 
was born in Adams County, Ohio, and received a somewhat limited 
education in the public schools. He was brought up in the same man- 
ner as the majority of Ohio farmers' sons, and although a cripple spent 
a busy life and achieved some success through his energy and perse- 
verance. Coming to Missouri in 1877, he located two miles and a quar- 
ter north of Isadora, in Worth County, where he established himself in 
the nursery business and later also spent some years as a salesman. 
Mr.- Childers held no political office, although he was a staunch and 
lifelong democrat. He was identified with no religious denomination, 
although he firmly believed in churches and contributed his share to 
their movements. Mr. Childers' fraternal connection was with the Odd 
Fellows. He died in Worth County in February, 1902. Mr. Childers 
married Miss Hannah Van Skyock, daughter of Jonathan VanSkyock, a 
member of a Dutch family of Jay County, Indiana, and sister of Wash- 
ington VanSkyock, who was one of the early pioneers of that county. 
She is still living, making her home among her children, and is seventy- 
eight years of age. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Childers were as 
follows: Dr. Allen G-. T., a practicing physician of Mullhall, Oklahoma; 
John Calvin, who is engaged in agricultural pursuits in Worth County ; 
Stephen M., who is carrying on operations on the old homestead farm 
in this county ; and Walter Clement, of this review. 

Walter Clement Childers lived in the country until attaining his 
majority, and acquired an ordinary education in the rural schools. 
Later he attended the Stanberry Normal School, where he prepared 
himself for the vocation of educator, and engaged in work in the rural 
districts, his first school being the Piatt Dell School. After three years 
passed in the country, Mr. Childers became principal of the school at 
Athelstan, Iowa, a position which he retained for a like period, and then 
deciding upon a career in a profession, entered the Highland Park 
Law School, at Des Moines, Iowa. After one year, however, Mr. 
Childers gave up his legal studies and engaged with his brother in the 
general merchandise business at Athelstan, Iowa, but in 1906 made the 
race for county clerk of Worth County, and was elected to that office 
in November of the same year, as the successor of W. P. Spillman. His 
energetic, capable and faithful services during his first term earned him 
repeated reelections and he has continued to serve his county in this 
capacity to the present time, much to the satisfaction of his fellow 
citizens. He has handled the affairs of his office conscientiously and 
well, and his record is one deserving high commendation. 

In January, 1914, Mr. Childers purchased the Worth County Times, 
a democratic weekly and the only democratic paper in Worth county. 
During the forty years of its life it has had several owners, chief and 
oldest among whom is E. S. Garver, from whom Mr. Childers purchased 
the plant. This is equipped with linotype, good imposing stones, mod- 
ern press and all utensils and appurtenances to be found in an up-to- 
date plant, and is operated by gasoline power. Mr. Childers is endeav- 
oring to give to the people of Worth County a clean, reliable newspaper, 
and to mold public opinion along the lines of advancement and helpful- 
ness in education and good citizenship. 

Mr. Childers cast his first presidential vote in 1900 for William Jen- 
nings Bryan and has since consistently supported democratic principles. 
His convention work has been confined to local matters, and he has 
served as chairman of the democratic central committee, during the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1501 

campaign of 1908, and has been also a member of the congressional 
committee. Fraternally, he is connected with the Independent Order of 
Odd Fellows, and is a Master Mason and a member of the Modern Wood- 
men of America. His religious connection is with the Missionary Bap- 
tist Church. He has been connected with a number of business inter- 
ests which have contributed to the growth of Grant City's importance, 
and at the present time is one of the owners of the city electric light 
and power plant. 

On August 4, 1901, Mr. Childers was united in marriage with Miss 
Emma Weese, a daughter of Leonard and Nancy J. (Martin) Weese, 
whose children were as follows: Edith, who is the wife of P. S. Round,, 
of Hanson, Idaho; Dr. W. W., a practicing physician of Ontario, Ore- 
gon ; Emma, who is now Mrs. Childers ; Elmyra, who became the wife 
of R. B. Hill, and is a resident of Nampa, Idaho; and Guy, who resides 
at Hanson, that state. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Childers, namely : Tessie Helen and Vilas Evan. 

B. L. Ralph. Now living quietly on his farm, which is partly within 
the city limits of Savannah, B. L. Ralph has had a varied business career 
which has taken him into all the states west of the Mississippi River, as 
far north as Alaska, during the Klondike mining excitement, and as far 
south as Old Mexico. He has done a great deal of work in a constructive 
way, has prospered as a business man, and is a good substantial citizen. 

B. L. Ralph was born near Albany in Gentry County, Missouri, 
January 1, 1863, a son of George S. and Mary J. (Twedell) Ralph. His 
father was born in Ohio, June 30, 1824, and his mother in Illinois, 
February 15, 1829. Left an orphan, his father came out to the Platte 
Purchase in Northwest Missouri in 1846, while his wife came with her 
parents to St. Joseph, Missouri, in 1848, and they were married in 
Gentry County, where the father spent his active career as a farmer. 
The mother is still living at Albany. Their three children are B. L. 
Ralph ; William, of Gentry County ; and Ida, wife of J. W. Worden of 
Gentry County. 

B. L. Ralph spent the first twenty-three years of his life in Gentry 
County, lived on the old farm with his parents, and in the meantime had 
gained the fundamentals of an education in country schools. Among 
other experiences of his lifetime he has done a considerable amount of 
school teaching, teaching for two winters in his home district, and after 
moving to Andrew County in 1884 taught a country school one winter. 

In 1886 Mr. Ralph was married in Savannah to Amy M. Cobb. She 
was born in England, August 25, 1870, and at the age of four years came 
with her parents, Amos and Harriet (Brand) Cobb, who settled in 
Savannah. After their marriage Mr. Ralph moved west, locating in 
San Luis Park, Colorado, took up a homestead, and assisted in the build- 
ing of irrigation ditches. After a year spent there he returned to Mis- 
souri, and became foreman on mason work during the construction of the 
Chicago Great Western Railroad through Savannah. His next venture 
was in the wholesale and retail oil business at Maryville, and subse- 
quently he was connected with the Standard Oil Company, and went 
out to Kansas and was located at Salina for nine years. He was interested 
there in the Lee Mercantile Company, a wholesale grocery firm. After 
selling out, Mr. Ralph was one of the men attracted to the far North by 
the gold discoveries in Alaska in 1897. He went over the Dyea Trail and 
down the Yukon River to Dawson City. This was a trip fraught with 
many difficulties and dangers. The party had to whipsaw the lumber 
used" for the construction of boats, and there were times when provisions 
were scanty and when all manner of difficulties threatened them. Mr. 



1502 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Ralph spent fifteen months in prospecting in the Yukon Territory, and 
returned to Skagway, a distance of seven hundred miles, by dog team, 
making that trip in twenty days. He arrived home in the spring of 
1898. With his brother-in-law, Charles B. Cobb, he engaged in masonry 
contracting along the line of the Chicago Great Western, and did all the 
masonry contracting on that system. Since giving up his contracting 
business Mr. Ralph has looked after his farming business. He has twenty- 
two acres with his home partially in the corporate limits, and another 
place of 220 acres outside. 

Mr. Ralph is a democrat in politics, and is affiliated with both the 
York and Scottish Rite branches of Masonry, including the thirty-second 
degree and the Shrine. He and his wife are the parents of two children : 
Mildred and Elizabeth. 

William H. Richter. Here is a name which, introduced into Har- 
rison County in 1855, has for sixty years been identified with some of 
the most substantial improvements and activities in agriculture and 
stock raising. Many people recall the old pioneer, James Richter, whose 
equal as a hunter and trapper never lived in this section of the country. 
The Richter Stock Farm near Gilman City has for a number of years 
been the home of some of the finest Shorthorn cattle raised anywhere in 
the country, and many farms not only in this state but elsewhere have 
received the nucleus of their high-grade stock from this place. 

James Richter was the son of German parents, and was born aboard 
a sailing vessel while en route from a German port to the United States 
in 1813. His parents located in Maryland, and while he was still a 
child moved out to Wayne County, Indiana, where they were among the 
earliest settlers in that old Quaker community. His father died there in 
1819, and the widowed mother, whose name was Melcher, lived at 
Hagerstown, Indiana, until her death. Among their children were: 
John, William, Leonard, James and two daughters whose names are not 
now recalled. All these children lived in Wayne County, Indiana, with 
the exception of James. 

James Richter grew up in the new country of Eastern Indiana, and 
had his education in the country schools. When a young man he moved 
to Fulton County, in Northern Indiana, and took up government land 
among the Miami and Pottawatomie Indians. He lived among these 
Indians as a neighbor, and when as a tribe they were removed to White 
Cloud, Kansas, he was appointed by the United States Government as 
commissary sergeant of the commission that moved them west. While 
in Fulton County James Richter cleared up an 80-acre farm and fol- 
lowed and became expert in the woodcraft of his Indian neighbors. In 
that section of Indiana his home was in a low, swampy country, char- 
acterized by heavy malarial fogs and swarms of mosquitoes. All the ani- 
mals of the primeval forest could be found, including wild hogs, and 
his life there was spiced with hunting and other outdoor sports. From 
his Indian friends in Fulton County James Richter learned to trail 
game with the same exquisite art employed by the red men of the forest, 
and after he came to Harrison County he proved his skill by trailing 
wolves even without tracks for six miles to their den, a feat that no man 
could accomplish without Indian training and instinct. During the last 
years of his life in Harrison County he was a trapper and hunter, and 
his piles of skins showed his prowess. In the month of November after 
his seventy-fifth birthday he caught furs to the value of $130 in one 
month. 

When James Richter came to Missouri in 1855 he entered land in 
Sherman Township of Harrison County, in section 29, township 63, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1503 

range 27. This he improved from the prairie sod, and his log house, 
sixteen feet square, was the first one built standing on the prairie between 
Bethany, in Harrison County, and Bancroft, in Daviess County. During 
the first year spent there he hired men to break fifty acres, the work 
being done with great sod plows, drawn by seven yoke, of cattle to each 
plow. He produced from that virgin soil fifty bushels of corn to the acre. 
His work as a farmer was confined to grain raising, since the handling 
of stock would have interfered with his hunting pursuits. In the early 
days, as proof of the cheapness of land in this vicinity, it was customary 
for him to give an 80-acre tract of land to a man for a year's work. 
His home in Sherman Township was a headquarters for early hospi- 
tality, and every older resident of Harrison County is familiar with 
the place. James Richter lived there from the time he came to Harri- 
son County with the exception of a time spent at Edinburg in order to 
give his daughters an education. 

Politically James Richter was an old line whig and then a repub- 
lican. He had firm convictions on currency questions, took a good citi- 
zen's interest in politics, and voted for only one democrat in all his 
life. In 1860 he cast his ballot for Abraham Lincoln at a time when it 
required considerable courage and independence to openly support 
such a candidate in Missouri. He was a loyal Union man during the 
war and had previously been counted as a sympathizer with the conduc- 
tors of the "underground railroad." When quizzed as to what he would 
do if he saw a fugitive negro, he replied that he would say "Go it, 
darkey, get away if you can." And when asked what he would do if 
he saw the master come along hunting the darkey and was asked as to 
his whereabouts, he replied that he would say : ' ' Catch him if you 
can." He was never in public office, and though not a member of a 
church, was a moral man and never failed to give aid in the construc- 
tion of pioneer churches, was a generous contributor to the poor and 
needy, and is remembered for his charitable character. 

James Richter died February 25, 1894, when past eighty years of 
age, and he and his wife sleep side by side in the Odd Fellows Cemetery 
at Bethany. He was first married in Fulton County, Indiana, to Eleanor 
Gordon. Her father, Robert Gordon, was of the well known Gordon 
clan of Scotland, was a school teacher, and died in Fulton County. 
Indiana. Among other children one is the mother of Doctor Walker, of 
Bethany. James Richter and his first wife had the following children : 
Marie E., wife of S. A. Pettit, of Steamboat Springs, Colorado ; and 
William H. James Richter married for his second wife Belinda Cham- 
bers, who died at Bethany, and is buried in the Odd Fellows Cemetery. 
She died in March, 1899. Of this marriage the children were : Ella, 
who spent her life in Harrison County and married William McCollum ; 
Dr. Louisa M., of Los Angeles, California ; and Sarah Etta, who married 
John Smith, of Los Angeles. 

William H. Richter was born in Fulton County, Indiana, September 
9, 1848, but from the age of seven grew up on his father's farm in 
Harrison County. His father had walked all -the distance from Indiana 
to Missouri to enter his land, and then in 1855 the entire family started 
out to take possession of the new home. They made the journey with 
a covered wagon, which was the primitive method of travel, and on 
arriving found the country almost destitute of social advantages. There 
were no schoolhouses, and William H. Richter first attended a select 
school kept in a private home by Mrs. Hannah Boyce. He was also a 
pupil in the old Ground Hog schoolhouse, a log cabin located on Polecat 
Creek, and in 1858 became a pupil in the newly organized Spring Hill 
school district. There he attended school in a frame house built for the 



1501 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

purpose, the first frame sclioolhouse of Harrison County. As an illus- 
tration of the backwardness of educational facilities in this county at the 
time, Mr. Richter recalls having witnessed the spectacle of two young 
men, one nineteen and the other twenty-one, both learning their ABC's 
in this school. Mr. Richter for three years attended the old Grand River 
College at Edinburg, and had his home with his parents until the age of 
twenty-one. At the age of twelve years he commenced transacting busi- 
ness for his father and under his instructions, such as paying the taxes, 
buying stock and collecting small debts, which was a great help in after 
years. At the age of fourteen he was sent by his father to the State of 
Nebraska alone, with team and wagon, a distance of 100 miles across a 
wild country, in places twenty miles without a house in sight, a trip 
which he made, there and back, in safety. 

Part of his early career was devoted to teaching, and he taught in 
country schools for seven winters, occupying himself with farming in 
the summer. He then turned his attention exclusively to farming, and 
has lived on his present place since June, 1871. His land lies in sec- 
tions 11 and 12, and forty years ago it was all raw prairie. For the 
eighty acres which comprised his first home he paid by raising corn at 
15 cents a bushel, the first crop paying for the land. He broke up the 
sod and fenced his fields, and there he and his wife spent their first years 
in a log house with a puncheon floor. In that humble cabin their first 
child was born. Later the cabin gave way to a more comfortable frame 
house, and that was the home while the children were growing up and 
being educated. In 1910 the farm was improved by the construction 
of an attractive farm residence, one of the conspicuous places now in 
that locality. From time to time as needed barns and other buildings 
and conveniences for stock have been added, and his equipment for the 
handling and housing of his blooded cattle is now complete. His farm, 
or ranch, as it may properly be termed, has grown from an 80-acre 
tract to 490 acres, and has for many years been noted as a thoroughbred 
stock farm. 

Mr. Richter began handling Shorthorn cattle in 1896, starting his 
herd with "Gold Standard" and "Minnie's Eagle," of the George Neff 
herd. He has also added strains from the Duncan and Bellows herds, 
and his stock is now exclusively made up of the "Choice Goods" strain 
of the Bellows herd. Mr. Richter 's fine stock has found its way into 
other states, into Nebraska and as far west as Washington, and in 
Missouri he has furnished the nucleus for many herds. His active 
management of the farm and the stock continued until he reached the 
age of sixty, and at that time he turned over the business to his sons, 
and they continue it under their father's name. 

Mr. Richter is a republican, having voted for only one democrat in 
his life, and has served as township collector. Although a man of Chris- 
tian principles, he has never affiliated with any one denomination. On 
June 1, 1871, Mr. Richter married Mrs. Jennie Elwell, widow of Capt. 
George W. Elwell, and a daughter of David B. Manville. Mr. Manville, 
who now lives at Gallatin, Missouri, at the venerable age of ninety- 
three, was born in Morrow County, Ohio, July 3, 1821. His father, 
Fleming Manville, settled near Valparaiso, Indiana, about 1855, and died 
there in 1863. Fleming Manville married Sallie Steward, and they 
became the parents of eleven children. David B. Manville came out to 
Missouri in the fall of 1859. He was a teacher in early life, but later 
followed farming, and was a republican in politics. He married Mary 
B. Lounsberry, who was born in New York State and died in Harrison 
County. Her children were : Mrs. Richter, who was born July 18, 1845 ; 
and James Harvey, who died at Bethany, leaving two sons. Mrs. Rich- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1505 

ter by her marriage to Captain Elwell has a daughter, Mary E., wife of 
William H. Hockridge. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Richter are: 
Frank M., who was born June 8, 1872, was educated in the public schools 
and in the Chillicothe Business College, and for several years has been 
actively associated with his brother as a farmer and stock man. Frank 
Richter married Hattie Carr, and they have a son, William Edward. 
James George, the second son, was born August 24, 1884, is one of the 
firm of stock men and farmers of which his father is the head, and by 
his marriage to Ruth Vosburg has a daughter, Edna Jane. 

Hon. David J. Heaston. In the death of Judge David J. Heaston, 
which occurred July 21, 1902, at Bethany, there passed from life's activi- 
ties one of the unique and forceful characters of Harrison County and 
one who had been a resident here from the year 1859. He was an 
eastern man, having been born in Champaign County, Ohio, March 22, 
1835, and in 1839 was taken by his parents to near Winchester, Indiana' 
where he grew to manhood and received his education in the public 
schools. In addition to the elementary schools, he attended Asbury 
University, at Greencastle, Indiana, and owing to his limited means was 
obliged to teach school to secure the funds with which to pursue his 
higher education. In 1857 he entered college at Oxford, Ohio, and spent 
a year there, and prior to this time had read law for about a year with 
Judge Jeremiah Smith, of Winchester, Indiana, continuing his legal 
studies while he taught school. In 1858 he was admitted to the bar in 
the Circuit Court at Winchester and was prepared, to enter his profes- 
sion with credit and with confidence of success. 

It was in the spring of 1859 that Judge Heaston decided to come into 
the great valley of. the Mississippi, and accordingly, in that year, estab- 
lished himself at Bethany, where he was shortly afterward licensed by 
Judge McFerran. During the Civil war he was commissioned colonel of 
the state militia, having always been a great Union man and wielding 
great influence for the flag. In 1861 he took editorial charge of the 
Weekly Union, of Bethany, at the request of its owners, and through 
this connection his influence for the Government was made felt. He 
was a clear, terse and energetic writer and soon placed the paper at the 
head of journalistic efforts in this section. Judge Heaston was elected 
captain of the first company organized in response to the call of the 
governor, and when the enrolled militia of the county was formed into 
the Fifty-seventh Regiment he was commissioned colonel of the same. 

In politics Judge Heaston was always a democrat, and died in the 
faith. He canvassed the County of Harrison in 1860 in behalf of Stephen 
A. Douglas for President and did a like service for every democratic 
candidate for that office until he died. He was a delegate to nearly 
all the democratic state conventions from the war on, and in 1872 was 
a delegate to the national democratic convention at Baltimore, assisting 
in the nomination of Greeley and Brown, the standard-bearers of that 
year. In 1876 he was the elector for his congressional district on the 
democratic ticket and, being elected, he attended the electoral college 
and aided in casting the electoral vote of Missouri for Tilden and 
Hendricks for President and vice president. 

In 1870 Judge Heaston started a democratic paper at Bethany, known 
as The Watchman, and conducted it with success for three years. In 
1877, in connection with B. F. Meyer, he started a democratic paper in 
Harrison County — the county being without such a paper at that time — 
known as The Broad-Axe. This he edited with his accustomed vigor 
until 1884, and under his editorial management the paper acquired a 



1506 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

state reputation as a fearless and able exponent of democratic doctrines 
and principles. 

In 1878 Judge Heaston was elected a member of the state senate 
from the fourth district by a large majority, his counties being Ray, 
Caldwell, Daviess and Harrison, and served as chairman of the com- 
mittees on Public Printing and Federal Relations, in addition to doing 
other important committee work. His qualifications as an able attorney 
brought him forward prominently as one of the revisionists of the state 
statutes in 1879, and in the special session of 1882 he presented a bill for 
the redistricting of the state into congressional districts which, after 
a warm struggle, was adopted in the democratic caucus decisively and 
became a law as he introduced it. He became a candidate for congress 
upon his record in the senate and his other public work, and after a 
lively and interesting campaign came within a very few votes of the 
nomination. 

During all this time, notwithstanding his heavy and important edi- 
torial labors, his official duties and political work and aspirations, he 
read law assiduously and practiced his profession vigorously. He was 
longer in the practice than any other member of the profession when he 
left it, and was honored with the title of ' ' The Father of the Bar. ' ' 

Judge Heaston was made a Mason at Winchester, Indiana, where he 
grew up, taking the master's degree in June, 1857. He received the 
Royal Arch degree at Gallatin, Missouri, in 1866, and the order of Knight 
Templar at Trenton in 1882, while the Council degree was conferred 
upon him at St. Louis in 1885. He served as worshipful master, as 
high priest and as eminent commander, and frequently represented the 
lodges in the grand bodies of the state as a delegate. He was for many 
years district deputy grand master for his Masonic- district and spent 
much time delivering lectures and building up the order. 

In September, 1866, Judge Heaston joined the Christian Church at 
Bethany, and became a member of the committee which was in charge 
of the building of the new church. In all walks of life he was always 
an exemplary citizen and did much to build up the religious, educational, 
moral and industrial phases of his county and town. No man was held 
in higher esteem than he and when he passed away his sterling advice 
and kindly counsel were greatly missed by those who had benefited 
thereby and who knew the man, his great mind and his earnest heart. 

On January 17, 1861, Judge Heaston was united in marriage with 
Miss Margaret E. Monson, a daughter of Thomas Monson, then sheriff 
of Harrison County, Missouri. Of the six children of this union who 
grew to mature years, Sarah Catherine is the wife of Ed L. Dunn, of 
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, and has one child, Ed L. Dunn, in the real 
estate and loan business in Oklahoma City ; Truman ; Heaston ; Leonard 
who is a resident of Oklahoma City and register of deeds there, 
married May McClure in 1888, and has two children, Bert, a dealer in 
automobiles, and Victor, in high school; George W. died unmarried, 
February 14, 1902; and Warren L. married Allie Crickett and died 
December 27, 1900. 

For over forty-three years Judge Heaston was a resident of Bethany 
and in all that time his honesty and probity of character were never 
questioned. In all matters pertaining to the material prosperity of his 
city and county his assistance, financially and otherwise, could always 
be counted upon and he was also an earnest advocate of all movements 
tending to elevate humanity and make society and home better and 
happier. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1507 

Hon. Alexander M. Dockery. During the past thirty years there 
has hardly been a man, woman or child in Northwest Missouri who has 
not been familiar by constant repetition with the name of Alexander M. 
Dockery, whose career of public service has kept him almost constantly 
active in district, state and national affairs through an entire generation. 
For sixteen years Mr. Dockery represented the Third Missouri District 
in congress, and since the beginning of the present administration has 
held the post of third assistant postmaster-general. 

His active public service has obscured the fact, except in his home 
town of Gallatin and among his more intimate friends, that Mr. Dock- 
ery began his career as a physician, and besides several other degrees 
is entitled to the letters M. D. Alexander M. Dockery was born in 
Daviess County, Missouri, February 11, 1815. His parents were Rev. 
Willis E. and Sarah E. (McHaney) Dockery, his father having been a 
distinguished minister of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mr. 
Dockery, who is the only survivor of three children, was liberally edu- 
cated in Macon Academy at Macon, Missouri, and in 1863 entered the 
St. Louis Medical College and was graduated in March, 1865, M. D. 
He later attended lectures at Bellevue College in New York and the 
Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, and did his first practice at 
Linneus, Missouri, and from 1867 to 1874 practiced at Chillicothe. He 
was recognized as a thoroughly equipped and skillful physician, and 
might have attained distinction in the profession had he not chosen 
other lines of endeavor. 

In March, 1874, having abandoned practice, Mr. Dockery removed 
to Gallatin and became associated with Thomas B. Yates in the estab- 
lishment of the Farmers Exchange Bank, an institution which has had 
a solid career of forty years. He served as its cashier until 1882. Prior 
to his election to Congress Mr. Dockery served as county physician of 
Livingston County from 1870 to 1874, was president of the board of 
education at Chillicothe in 1870-72, was a member of the board of cura- 
tors of the University of Missouri from 1872 to 1882, and at Gallatin 
was a member of the city council 1878-81, and mayor during 1881-83. 

From 1878 until his election to Congress Mr. Dockery was chairman 
of the democratic congressional committee of the Tenth District, in 
1880 was chairman of the congressional convention at Brunswick, and in 
1882 at the convention in Cameron was nominated for representative in 
Congress. Altogether there were six men in the field for the nomina- 
tion, and it was one of the most exciting conventions held in that district 
for many years. The deciding ballot was twenty-eight. The opposition 
had been unable to unite, since Mr. Dockery was the second choice in 
all the counties. His election from the Third District came in Novem- 
ber, 1882, and he continued as representative in Congress from March 4, 
1883, to March 4, 1899. In the successive seven conventions Mr. Dockery 
was renominated without opposition. During his career in Congress Mr. 
Dockery was a member of the Committee on. Claims, Committee on 
Accounts, Committee on Postoffices and Post Roads four years, and for 
the last ten years of his service in the house was a member of the Com- 
mittee on Appropriations and had charge of the District of Columbia 
and the legislative, executive and judicial appropriation bills. From 
1893 to 1895 he was chairman of what is known as the '"Dockery Com- 
mission," which, among other notable achievements, devised the present 
accounting system of the national treasury. This system has been in 
successful operation since October 1, 1894. During the World's Fair 
at Chicago he was chairman of a special committee appointed by the 
house to investigate and simplify methods of business. This commit- 
tee's elaborate report served as a basis for the work of organization of 



1508 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

the Louisiana Purchase Exposition at St. Louis. While a member of 
the Committee on Postoffices and Post Roads Mr. Doekery was instru- 
mental in securing the installation of the second fast mail train service 
in the United States, from New York to Kansas City by way of St. 
Louis. In 1886 Mr. Doekery was chosen permanent chairman of the 
democratic state convention of St. Louis. 

At the conclusion of his eighth term Mr. Doekery declined a renomi- 
nation in order to enter the race for governor in 1900. He was nominated 
by acclamation in June of that year in the convention held in a large 
tent at Kansas City, the nominating speech being made by Hon. W. S. 
Cowherd, of Kansas City. In the following November he was elected 
Governor of Missouri against his republican opponent, Joseph Flory, of 
Moberly. Taking his oath as governor January 14, 1901, Mr. Doekery 
was chief executive of his native state four years. After retiring from 
the governor's chair in 1905 he continued active in democratic politics, 
being chairman of the state convention in 1906, and in 1912 was elected 
treasurer of the democratic state committee and reelected in 1914. At 
the beginning of President Wilson's administration Mr. Doekery was 
appointed third assistant postmaster-general, his appointment being 
confirmed by the senate March 13, 1913, and he entered upon his duties 
March 17th. As third assistant postmaster-general he has supervision 
and control of all the fiscal affairs of the postal service, including the 
postal savings system, amounting in volume to more than three hundred 
and sixty million dollars yearly. 

In 1906 Governor Doekery was awarded the degree LL.D. by the 
University of Missouri. In the interval between his term as governor 
and his recent promotion to the postoffice department, Mr. Doekery 
proved himself a citizen of force and influence in his home city of 
Gallatin. He served as a member and president of the board of educa- 
tion from 1908 to 1912, was president of the Gallatin Commercial Club 
from its organization in 1908 to 1914, and has been president of the 
Daviess County Chautauqua Association since its organization in 1909. 
He was also chairman of the building committee which supervised con- 
struction of the new courthouse, and of the committee which supervised 
construction of the new Gallatin schoolhouse. Of his local civic activi- 
ties Governor Doekery probably takes most pride in his work as ex-officio 
road overseer in his county, a service which he has performed gratui- 
tously but none the less effectively at various times during the past 
thirty years. Governor Doekery was married April 14, 1869, to Miss 
Marv E. Bird, daughter of Greenup Bird. All of the seven children of 
their marriage died in infancy. His wife died at the executive mansion, 
Jefferson City, January 1, 1903. 

Governor Doekery has some interesting fraternal relations. In 1880 
he was elected eminent commander of Kadosh Commandery No. 21, 
Knights Templar, at Cameron; in 1881 was elected grand master of 
Missouri Masons; in May, 1883, was chosen grand high priest of the 
Royal Arch Masons of Missouri, and since 1886 has been a member of 
the board of directors of the Masonic Home of Missouri, being chairman 
of the executive committee the greater part of the time. In May, 1910, he 
was elected grand master of the Missouri Odd Fellows, and this gives 
him the unusual distinction of being the only person in the state who 
has been grand master of both Missouri Masons and Missouri Odd Fel- 
lows. Since May, 1910, he has been president of the Odd Fellows Home 
Board of Liberty. 

Columbus L. Kunkel. Among the steadfast, upright and highly 
honored citizens of Nodaway Township, Holt County, is the representa- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1509 

tive farmer and stock grower whose name initiates this paragraph and 
whose well-improved farm gives ample voucher for the industry and well- 
directed energy which he has brought to bear in its improvement and 
various operation. Mr. Kunkel is a native of Holt County, which has 
been his home from the time of his birth to the present/ and he is a 
representative of one of the sterling pioneer families of this favored 
division of the state. 

Columbus L. Kunkel was born on the old homestead farm of his 
father in Xodaway Township, Holt County, and the date of his nativity 
was February 2, 1857. He is a son of William M. and Elizabeth A. 
(Robinson) Kunkel, of whose eight children — four sons and four daugh- 
ters — five are living. William M. Kunkel was born near Gallon, Craw- 
ford County, Ohio, on the 20th of June, 1832, and about the year 1845 
he accompanied his parents on their removal from the old Buckeye 
State to Missouri, the journey having been made with team and wagon 
to the Mississippi River, and from St. Louis to St. Joseph by boat, the 
latter place being the point from which they made their way to their 
destination in Holt County. Jacob Kunkel. grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch, purchased a relinquishment claim to land that had been 
entered from the Government by the original owner, and he there insti- 
tuted the reclamation of a farm in the midst of a virtual wilderness. 
Both he and his wife passed the residue of their lives on this old home- 
stead and there their son William M. became, with the passing of years, 
one of the substantial and successful farmers and stock raisers of the 
county. He made excellent improvements on the place and there con- 
tinued to reside until 1880, when he removed .to the Village of Newport, 
this county, where he has since followed the shoemaker's trade, though 
he has reached the age of more than eighty years, this trade having 
been learned by him under the direction of his father. He is one of the 
well known pioneer citizens of Holt County and his circle of friends is 
coincident with that of his acquaintances. He is a republican in poli- 
tics and both he and his wife, who likewise is of venerable age, are zealous 
members of the Evangelical Church. 

Columbus L. Kunkel was reared to adult age on the old homestead 
farm which was the place of his birth and his early educational advan- 
tages were those afforded in the public schools of the locality and 
period. As a boy he began to assist in the work of the farm, and during 
the long intervening years he has found both satisfaction and profit in 
his continued identification with the basic industries of agriculture and 
stock growing. His present homestead, which comprises 178^ acres, is 
under excellent cultivation and he has here maintained his residence 
since January 2, 1879. The land was obtained from the Government 
by his great-uncle, Henry Kunkel, a brother of the grandfather of the 
present owner, and by him was sold to Joseph Anselman, who was the 
father of Mrs. Kunkel, wife of him to whom this review is dedicated : Mr. 
Anselman became the owner of the property in the autumn of 1865, and 
of the buildings now on the place the only one that was not erected by 
the present proprietor is the old house that was built by Mr. Anselman 
and which stands to the rear of the newer and essentially modern resi- 
dence. On this old homestead Mr. Anselman continued to reside until 
his death, in December, 1882, and here also his devoted wife passed the 
closing years of her life. In the winter of 1866 Mr.. Anselman was 
associated with others in the founding of the Evangelical Church near 
his old home, and of this church Mr. Kunkel and his wife are zealous 
and valued members. Mr. Kunkel has served as a member of its board 
of trustees and as superintendent of its Sunday school, in which depart- 
ment he now holds the office of assistant superintendent. He is a staunch 



1510 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

republican in polities but has bad no ambition for the honors or emolu- 
ments of public office. In a fraternal way he is affiliated with the 
Woodmen of the World. 

In the year 1878 was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Kunkel to 
Miss Eliza Anselman, who was born and reared in Holt County, her 
father, Joseph Anselman, having been a native of Germany, whence he 
emigrated to the United States when he was twenty years old. In about 
1866 he came to Missouri and settled on the farm now owned by his 
son-in-law, Mr. Kunkel, as previously noted in this sketch. He became 
the father of three sons and seven daughters, and of the number four are 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Kunkel became the parents of ten children, all 
of whom are living except one, Norman, who died at the age of fourteen 
months. The names of the surviving children are here entered in the 
respective order of birth: Adolph E., Beryl S., Mabel A., Julia, Jesta 
M.. Harrison, Dale D., Ruby and Charlene. Mabel A. is the wife of 
Roy Hardman and Charlene is the wife of Wesley Mart. 

B. F. Praiswater. Northwest Missouri has been the home of Mr. 
Praiswater all his life, and from a farmer boy he graduated into inde- 
pendent activities as an agriculturist, and for many years has been one 
of the most substantially situated citizens of Hickory Township, in 
Holt County. 

B. F. Praiswater was born in Andrew County, Missouri, December 
30, 1856, a son of Samuel and Susan (Nease) Praiswater. He was one 
of seven children, of whom five are still living. His father was born 
and reared in Tennessee, moved from there to Indiana, and then came 
to Missouri. His first land was an unimproved place, and for some 
time before buying he worked as a renter. He lived in Andrew County 
about ten years, and the first place he came to in Holt County was down 
near Newpoint on the Nodaway River. That farm stands today as a 
monument to his active labors in clearing up and developing a farm. 
Both parents were members of the Presbyterian Church, and in politics 
he was independent, a man of excellent character, and never sought the 
honors of public office. He saw some active service in the state militia. 

B. F. Praiswater married May Ludema Trimmer, daughter of John 
Q. and Elizabeth Marian Trimmer. There were twelve children in the 
Trimmer family, six of whom are still living. Mr. and Mrs. Praiswater 
are the parents of four children : Lula May, wife of W. A. Richardson, 
and has two children, Wayne A. and Wilma R. ; John married Iva Drehen, 
and has one child, Leroy L. ; Joseph B. ; and Francis. All the children 
were born in Holt County. 

Mr. Praiswater is one of the most extensive land holders in Holt 
County, and in his career has shown unusual capacity and judgment as 
a business man. He is the owner of 326 acres altogether in Missouri, 
and has 960 acres in Chase County, Nebraska. Mr. Praiswater has per- 
fected the improvements on his home farm, and now has one of the most 
attractive homesteads in this section of Holt County. He is a member 
of the Presbyterian Church, and has served his district on the school 
board. In politics he is independent. In his church he has worked 
actively and has been a deacon and is now an elder. 

James Bccher. One of the best known residents of Lewis Township 
in Holt County was the late James Bucher, who died at his home there 
September 1, 1913. He was an industrious and thrifty farmer, a man 
who had lived in Holt County nearly half a century, and while winning a 
competence for himself and family had also played the part of a good 
citizen and was a father and husband and friend to those immediately 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1511 

dependent upon him. Mrs. Bueher still survives and resides at the old 
farm, and represents one of the oldest and most prominent pioneer fam- 
ilies of Holt County. 

The late James Bueher was born at South Bend, Indiana, April 4, 

1860, and was about five years of age when he came to Holt County. He 
and Mrs. Bueher were married in this county, and before her marriage 
she was lone Curtis, daughter of John Curtis, a pioneer settler in Holt 
County. Mr. and Mrs. Bueher became the parents of four children:. 
Earl, died at the age of nineteen ; Bessie, died when one year of age ; 
Hazel is still living; and Paul is a young farmer and married Grace 
Dooley. 

The late Mr. Bueher during his many years of residence and farming 
activities acquired a fine estate, the home farm now comprising 320 
acres. He improved it extensively, and for a number of years the family 
resided in the large square farmhouse, which is now the home of the 
widow. It is a modern structure, situated in the midst of a big lawn, 
enclosed with an iron fence. All the buildings are substantial, and kept 
in fine repair. 

The late Mr. Bueher was a member of the Christian Church, and for 
twenty-two years acted as superintendent of the Sunday School. Mrs. 
Bueher 's father was also one of the active members of the church in his 
community, and her mother is still living. Mr. Bueher was a man of 
excellent habits, and left an honored name to his family. For several 
years he served on the school board, in polities was a republican, and was 
affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern 
Woodmen of America. 

Daniel Fuhrman. Representing the substantial German-American 
citizenship which has done so much to improve- and develop the agricul- 
tural resources of this country, Daniel Fuhrman has spent nearly all his 
life in Holt County, the family having come here about forty-five years 
ago. As a farmer he is regarded as one of the most efficient and pros- 
perous in Lewis Township, and has also done his part in affairs of 
public importance. 

Daniel. Fuhrman was born in Adams County, Indiana, October 24. 

1861. His father, Christopher Fuhrman, was born in Germany. There 
were seven children in the family. In 1868 the parents located in Holt 
County, and came to the farm now occupied by Daniel Fuhrman. At 
that time the land was almost unimproved, and a log house was the first 
habitation. After living there a few years the father put up a frame 
house that is still standing, located some distance from the present resi- 
dence of Daniel Fuhrman. standing on the North Road in the hollow. 
This farm was the scene of the activities and the home of both parents 
until late in life when they moved to Oregon and spent their last years 
in that town. The father was a man of good habits, and though be- 
ginning his career in Northwest Missouri a poor man. he left a property 
which was good evidence of his industry and successful management. 
All the fields in the farm were broken up as a result of his own labor 
at the plow. 

Daniel Fuhrman grew up in Holt County, and acquired his education 
in such schools as existed at that time. He trained himself by practical 
work for the career which has brought him a satisfying degree of pros- 
perity, and is now the owner of 160 acres and has done much to improve 
the place and increase its value. His business is that of general farming 
and stock raising, and he is sharing in the general prosperity which 
Northwest Missouri farmers have enjoyed in recent years. 

Mr. Fuhfman married for his first wife Jesta Price, daughter of H. R. 



1512 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Price. By this union there were three children : Edith, wife of Albert 
Noellsch; Florence: and Edna. After the death of his first wife Mr. 
Fuhrman married Mary Noellsch, daughter of John Noellsch. By this 
marriage there is one son, Roy. All the children were born in Holt 
County and either have homes of their own or are preparing themselves 
for useful places in the world. Mr. Fuhrman is a member of the 
Evangelical Church, has served for three years on the school board, and 
in polities is a republican. 

Josiah Ellingsworth. One of the well-known and highly respected 
residents of Andrew County is Josiah Ellingsworth, now living retired 
in Rochester Township, for many years after completing his honorable 
service as a soldier in the Civil war, having been a farmer in Missouri. 
He is a native of this state, born on his father's homestead on Shoal 
Creek, near Mirabile, in Caldwell County, July 1, 1841. His parents 
were James and Elizabeth (Estis) Ellingsworth. 

James Ellingsworth and wife were natives of Maryland and married 
in that state. In 1833 they moved to Quincy, Illinois, and from there, 
in 1837, to Caldwell County, Missouri, where Mr. Ellingsworth secured 
a homestead on Shoal Creek, and there his first wife died when their 
son Josiah was ten years old. His second marriage was to a Mrs. 
Green, a widow, and in 1852 they moved to DeKalb County near Mays- 
ville, and in 1867 he died on his farm near Stewartsville. He was a 
man of solid worth and was widely known, was a stanch democrat in 
politics and a consistent member of the Christian Church. To his first 
marriage the following children were born: Margaret, who is deceased, 
was the wife of Thomas Williams: Josiah; Martha, who is deceased, was 
the wife of W. N. Tucker; James, who is deceased, served almost four 
years in the Civil war as a member of the Twenty-fifth Missouri Regi- 
ment; Elizabeth, who died at the age of four years; and William, who 
now lives in Washington, served three years of the Civil war as a member 
of the Twelfth Missouri Volunteer Cavalry. One daughter, Lucy, 
was born to the second marriage. She was the wife of Louis Davis and 
is now deceased. 

Josiah Ellingsworth was reared on the home farm and went to school 
in boyhood as opportunity offered. At the outbreak of the Civil war 
he was at Sardis, in Mason County, Kentucky, on a visit and great 
excitement prevailed there, people taking sides as is usual in such cases, 
no one being permitted to be neutral. At once companies were raised 
for both the Federal and Confederate armies and Mr. Ellingsworth 
enlisted in the former, in Company A, Sixteenth Kentucky Volunteer 
Infantry, in which he served out a first enlistment of ninety days. On 
September 23, 1861, he enlisted for three years, in the same company 
and regiment, and the first battle in which he participated was that 
of Ivory Mountain in Kentucky, on November 8, 1861. Then followed 
others thick and fast, including the siege of Knoxville, all the engage- 
ments of the Atlantic campaign in which his regiment, as a member 
of the Twenty-third Army Corps, took part, following which came Nash- 
ville with two days of fighting, and the fierce battle of Franklin. He 
fought in two engagements after his time of enlistment expired, serving 
until February 28, 1865. In some ways he and his brothers were very 
fortunate. They served in different regiments and faced thousands 
of dangers but all lived to return home without suffering wounds, and 
Mr. Ellingsworth was not once posted on the sick list. On two occasions 
he- was knocked down by the explosion of shells in his vicinity and at 




0&UXS7L- (lsl>lsUVl- 




HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1513 

the time was blinded and deafened, suffering loss of hearing in his right 
ear. 

After his military life was over Mr. Ellingsworth returned home and 
for forty years engaged in farming, residing on one farm, in Sherman 
Township, DeKalb County, one-half mile from the Andrew County 
line, where he owned 170 acres. After selling his farm property he 
moved to St. Joseph, where he resided for two years, in 1912 coming 
to the home of his son, Hugh 0., at Helena, where he has since resided, 
surrounded with all the comforts dear to his age. 

Mr. Ellingsworth was married in October, 1867, to Miss Missouri 
Graham, who was born in Andrew County in February, 1840, and 
died on the farm in October, 1896. Her parents were Alexander and 
Elizabeth (Miller) Graham, the former of whom was born in Scotland 
and came first to Canada and then to Andrew County, Missouri. Mr. 
and Mrs. Ellingsworth had two sons: Hugh 0., who is in business at 
Helena, Missouri; and Charles, who died when aged eight months. 
Hugh 0. Ellingsworth married Miss Belle Dixon, and they have one 
son, Everett. 

In politics Mr. Ellingsworth has always been a republican but has 
never consented to hold a public office. For many years he has been an 
Odd Fellow. His interest in the Grand Army of the Republic has 
never failed since he united with this noble organization, and it is but 
reasonable to suppose that these old soldiers find much of interest to 
quietly discuss as they, from the peaceful country their valor and 
patriotism won, watch another generation on the battlefields across 
the ocean. Knowing well what a soldier's life is, they can give a kind 
of sympathy that no others can. Mr. Ellingsworth is a member of the 
Baptist Church. He has a fund of recollections of early days that are 
interesting and instructive to those permitted to listen to their recital. 

Wesley Zachman. In connection with the presentation in this his- 
tory of individual records concerning many of the representative farm- 
ers of Northwest Missouri, it is specially gratifying to note that there is 
a very appreciable percentage of this class who can claim as their native 
places the counties in which they are successfully pursuing their agricul- 
tural and live-stock enterprises and carrying forward the admirable work 
that had been instituted by their fathers. Such application is to be made 
in connection with the career of Wesley Zachman, who is one of the sub- 
stantial farmers and popular citizens of Holt County, where he was born 
on the farm which is now his place of residence, in Nodaway Town- 
ship, the date of his nativity having been April 25, 1868, and the same 
indicating definitely that he is a representative of a pioneer family of 
this county. He is a son of Henry and Mary f Anselman) Zachman, who 
came from Ohio to Holt County about the year 1864 and who now reside 
in Oregon, the county seat, the father having retired after long years of 
earnest and productive application to agricultural pursuits. Upon com- 
ing to Holt County Henry Zachman purchased a portion of the present 
homestead farm of his son Wesley, a considerable portion of the land 
having previously been brought under cultivation, though the per- 
manent improvements on the place were otherwise of inferior order, as 
may be realized when it is stated that the only barn on the farm was a 
primitive log structure. He made excellent improvements on the home- 
stead, upon which he erected the present substantial and commodious 
house and barn, and with the passing years he added to his farm until 
he accumulated a valuable estate of 271 acres, — the present area of the 
place. Since the farm came into the possession of Wesley Zachman he 
has manifested the same progressive spirit and mature judgment that 



1514 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

characterized the course of his father and has made numerous improve- 
ments, including the erection of a silo of the best modern type. He is 
wideawake and energetic as an agriculturist and stock-grower and well 
merits recognition as one of the essentially successful and representative 
farmers of Northwest Missouri. 

Henry Zachman has ever been found enrolled as a stalwart advocate 
of the principles of the republican party, and both he and his wife are 
earnest members of the Evangelical Church. Of their nine children, the 
first two of whom were born prior to the removal from Ohio to Mis- 
souri, six are now living. 

In his political allegiance Wesley Zachman is a republican and he has 
shown a lively interest in public affairs of a local order, though he has 
had no ambition for political preferment. He has served at several 
different times as a member of the school board of his district, and of the 
Evangelical Church in their home community both he and his wife are 
most zealous and valued members, he having served as a member of its 
board of trustees and as superintendent of the Sunday school for fif- 
teen years, besides having held the position of classleader for several 
years. 

On November 15, 1894, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Zach- 
man to Miss Effia A. Hardman, w T ho was born in Ohio, October 31, 
1876, but who was a child at the time of the family removal to Holt 
County. She is the only daughter of Daniel and Jane (Bissel) Hard- 
man, the former of whom died in 1903, after having been for many years 
one of the substantial farmers and honored citizens of Holt County, 
where his widow still resides. Mr. Hardman was a consistent member of 
the Christian Church in which his widow likewise holds membership. 
They became the parents of three children, but one of the two sons is 
deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Zachman have three children, whose names, with 
respective dates of birth, are here recorded : Dwight, April 26, 1897 ; 
Harland, November 15, 1900; and Rhonald, August 28, 1903. 

George Kurtz. A representative of one of the well known and 
highly honored pioneer families of Holt County, Mr. Kurtz has been a 
resident of the county from the time of his birth, has had the good 
judgment to avail himself of its natural resources and advantages and 
stands today as one of its popular citizens and substantial farmers. His 
well improved homestead comprises 100 acres of most fertile and pro- 
ductive land and is eligibly situated in Nodaway Township. 

Mr. Kurtz was born on his father's pioneer farm in this county, on 
the 1st of February, 1859, and is one in a family of thirteen children, all 
of whom are living except two. He is a son of Isaac and Mary (See- 
man) Kurtz, all of whose children were born in this county, w T ith whose 
civic and industrial development and upbuilding the family name has 
been closely and worthily identified. Isaac Kurtz came to Holt County 
in an early day and settled on a tract of wild land about one mile east 
of the present homestead of his son George, of this review. His original 
domicile was a primitive house of only two rooms, but with the passing 
of the years his ability and energy became manifest in the very appear- 
ance of his farm, which he reclaimed to cultivation and upon which he 
erected good buildings, this place continuing to be his home until his 
death, as was it also that of his wife. He eventually accumulated a 
valuable landed estate of 320 acres and was one of the substantial farmers 
and influential citizens of the county at the time of his death. His suc- 
cess was the result of close application and good judgment, as he started 
his independent career as a youth without financial resources or other 
fortuitous influences. He reared a large family of children and gave 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1515 

to them the best possible educational advantages, while his sterling in- 
tegrity of purpose gained and retained to him the good will and con- 
fidence of his fellow men. His political allegiance was given to the 
republican party but he had no desire for public office of any descrip- 
tion. 

George Kurtz was reared to maturity on the home farm and is in- 
debted to the public schools of his native county for his early educational 
advantages. He. has never wavered in his allegiance to the basic in- 
dustry of agriculture and has become one of its successful and progres- 
sive representatives in Holt County. He purchased his present farm in 
1887, and has made all of the improvements now in evidence on the 
place, the farm having had only a small dwelling of primitive type 
when he purchased the property. He gives his attention to diversified 
agriculture and raises live stock upon a minor scale, as an effective 
supplement to other departments of the farm enterprise. He is a stalwart 
supporter of the principles of the republican party, takes a lively inter- 
est in public and general civic affairs of a local order and has served as 
a member of the school board of his district. 

The maiden name of Mr. Kurtz's wife was Emma Derr, and she was 
born in Cumberland County, 1 Pennsylvania, being a daughter of the 
late Ferdinand and Sarah (Kissinger) Derr. Mr. and Mrs. Kurtz be- 
came the parents of six children, of whom three are living, — Ida, born 
September 28, 1880; Ernest, born April 22, 1888; and Esamiah May, 
born February 24, 1890. 

James E. Buntz is one of the representative farmers of the younger 
generation in his native county, where he is associated with his father 
in the management of their fine homestead farm of 160 acres, in Holt 
County. His father was a carpenter by trade and erected the present 
attractive and commodious residence building on the farm before the 
property came into the possession of the son, who has since made many 
other substantial improvements on the place. 

James E. Buntz was born at Mound City, Holt County, on the 10th 
of August, 1879, and is a son of Andrew J. and Mary (Bucher) Buntz, 
both of whom still reside on the home farm. He is indebted to the pub- 
lic schools of the county for his early educational advantages and as a 
farmer he has displayed marked progressiveness and enterprise, besides 
which he has deep appreciation of the attractions and advantages of his 
native county and finds pleasure in his association with its civic and 
industrial interests. He is a republican in his political proclivities and 
has served as road overseer of his district. Both he and his wife are 
members of the Evangelical Church and he is affiliated with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows. 

At the age of twenty-four years Mr. Buntz was united in marriage to 
Miss Blanche Stephenson, daughter of George Stephenson, concerning 
whom individual mention is made on other pages of this work. The one 
child of this union is a winsome little daughter, Marjorie. Mr. and Mrs. 
Buntz are popular factors in the social life of their home community 
and have a wide circle of friends in the county which has been their home 
from the time of their birth. 

Christian Meyer. Born on the fine farmstead which is now his 
place of residence, in Nodaway Township, Mr. Meyer has gained secure 
status as one of the enterprising and successful agriculturists and stock- 
growers of Holt County, and is a scion of one of the well known and 
highly honored pioneer families of this county. He was born on the 12th 
of February, 1875, and is a son of Gottlieb and Anna (Mart) Meyer. The 



1516 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

father came to Holt County about the year 1846 and settled on the farm 
now owned by his son Wesley. On the place at the time it came into 
his possession was a primitive log house of the type common to the 
pioneer days, and the land was virtually in its wild state. Indefatigable 
industry and well regulated policies brought to Gottlieb Meyer a gen- 
erous measure of success as the year passed by, and he became eventually 
the owner of a valuable landed estate of 310 acres, the while he was 
known as one of the representative farmers and sterling citizens of the 
county in which he long maintained his home and in which he con- 
tinued to reside on his farm until his death. He erected excellent build- 
ings and made other substantial improvements that indicated his progres- 
siveness and thrift, and he was about seventy years of age at the time of 
his death. His wife still survives him and is more than eighty years of 
age. — known and revered as one of the noble pioneer women of Holt 
County. Mr. Meyer was a stalwart adherent of the republican party and 
was a consistent member of the Evangelical Church, of which his widow 
has been a devoted communicant for many years. 

Christian Meyer was reared to manhood on the old homestead oc- 
cupied by his brother Wesley, and in connection with its work he early 
gained benignant fellowship with honest toil, the while he duly availed 
himself of the advantages of the public schools. He has continuously 
been identified with agricultural pursuits on the old homestead and is 
one of the energetic and successful farmers of his native county, his 
landed estate comprising 155 acres of excellent land and his attention 
being given to diversified agriculture and stock-growing. His farm came 
into his possession in 1900 and he is fully appreciative of the advantages 
that have been afforded him for productive effort in his native county, 
where he is recognized as a loyal and public-spirited citizen. Mr. Meyer 
gives his alliegiance to the republican party, is affiliated with the Modern 
Woodmen of America, and both he and his wife are zealous members of 
the Evangelical Church of their neighborhood, he being a trustee of the 
same. 

In 1902 Mr. Meyer wedded Miss Estelle Belle Miller, who was born 
and reared in Andrew County, Missouri, and who is a daughter of Elmer 
Miller. Mr. and Mrs. Meyer have three children. — Paul A., Beatrice M. 
and Elmer Ray. 

Wesley Meyer. One of the well improved and eligibly situated 
farms of Holt County is that which figures as the birthplace and present 
residence of Wesley Meyer, who is a scion of. a family that has been one 
of prominence in the industrial and civic development of this county, his 
father having settled on the present homestead fully fifty years ago and 
having achieved success through earnest and honest endeavor. 

Wesley Meyer was born on his present homestead, on the 8th of July, 
1872. and is a son of Gottlieb and Mary (Mart) Meyer, the former of 
whom was born in Ohio, of German parentage, and the latter of whom 
was born in Germany. The marriage of the parents was solemnized in 
Holt County and here were born their four children, — Grant, Albert, 
Wesley, and Christian. Gottlieb Meyer was reared and educated in the 
old Buckeye State and about the year 1844 he came to Holt County, Mis- 
souri, the long overland journey having been made with a wagon and 
ox team. He was fortified with ambition and resolute purpose; but his 
financial resources when he came to this county were merely nominal. 
He purchased from a man named Nichols the present homestead farm of 
his son Wesley, erected on the same a log cabin and then essayed the 
' arduous task of reclaiming a farm from the wild state. Industry and 
good management brought to him with the passing years definite and 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1517 

well merited success, and at the time of his death he was the owner of a 
valuable landed estate of 310 acres. He erected on his farm the present 
house and barn, and the son has since made other excellent building im- 
provements on the place, which gives evidence of thrift and prosperity. 
Wesley Meyer has 160 acres of the landed estate accumulated by his 
father and he gives his attention principally to the raising of excellent 
grades of live stock, though the agricultural department of his farm en- 
terprise likewise is given the careful supervision that entails due returns. 
He is indebted to the public schools for his early educational discipline 
and his progressiveness and energy have given him place as one of the 
substantial and representative farmers and stock-growers of his native 
county. He is a republican in his political allegiance, as was also his 
father, and for several years past he has served as a member of the school 
board of his district. He and his wife are members of the Evangelical 
Church. His mother still remains with him in the old homestead and to 
whom he accords the deepest filial affection and solicitude. She is a 
member of the German Methodist Episcopal Church. 

In 1900 Mr. Meyer wedded Miss Daisy Hershner, who likewise was 
born and reared in Holt County, where her father was a pioneer settler. 
Mr. and Mrs. Meyer have five daughters : Hazel, Frances, Maudene, Alice 
and Ruth, and the family is one of marked popularity in the social activ- 
ities of the home community. 

James Curtis. For three score and ten years the Curtis family has 
had homes in Holt County in Lewis Township. In the pioneer times the 
family did its part with an industry which resulted in the clearing up 
and improvement of many acres in this fertile section, and in all the years 
that have elapsed the name has been associated with honorable activity 
in business, with material prosperity and good citizenship. 

James Curtis, a son of the pioneer settler, was a child when the fam- 
ily came into his part of Northwest Missouri, and his range of recollec- 
tion extends as far back as perhaps any other living resident in Lewis 
Township. James Curtis was born in Marion County, Indiana, not far 
from Indianapolis, on August 25, 1839. His parents were James and 
Jane (Beelen) Curtis, his father a native of Kentucky and his mother of 
Marion County, Indiana. They were the parents of seven children : 
Thomas, John and James ; Mary, wife of Robert Kane ; Minerva, widow of 
Jake Meyer ; Hannah, widow of Napoleon Irwin ; and Rebecca, widow of 
Clark Proud. 

In 1845 the father and his family sold their interests in Indiana, put 
their household goods in wagons, and made the long overland journey to 
Holt County, Missouri. The entire trip was accomplished with wagons 
and teams, they settled on land that is now included in the fine farm 
of James Curtis. The father on arriving at once applied himself to the 
heavy task of creating a pioneer home. He built a log cabin, and that was 
the habitation until a better residence could be erected. There were no 
railroads in that part of Missouri for a number of years, and the only 
high roads were little more than Indian trails. In fact, the Indians still 
lived in that section and around the settlers' cabins the wolves howled at 
night and there was plenty of wild game that could be stalked and killed 
by the expert riflemen. On coming to the county the father first bought 
eighty acres, paying about six dollars an acre. All the land was prairie, 
but it was a heavy task to turn over the virgin sod and prepare the 
fields for planting. In that vicinity the parents continued to live through 
the rest of their years, and the mother died when about sixty-six years 
of age and the father at the advanced age of eighty-three. At the time 
of his death he was the owner of 150 acres of land, and all of it was well 

Vol. Ill — I." 



1518 ' HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

improved and represented a valuable homestead. The father was a man 
of exemplary habits and for many years an active worker in the Christian 
Church. Politically in early days he had followed the fortunes of the 
whig party, and from that went into the republican organization., 

James Curtis spent his boyhood on the old home farm, had schooling 
from such schools as were maintained in this part of Holt County during 
the '40s and '50s, and on reaching manhood applied himself industriously 
to the work of farming, which has been the basis of his prosperity. He 
married Elizabeth Cottier, daughter of John Cottier, and Catherine Cal- 
low, born on the Isle of Man. Mrs. Curtis was also born on the Isle of 
Man. They are the parents of four children : Seth, who married Eliza- 
beth Markt ; Catherine, wife of E. T. McFarlan and the mother of Eugene 
and Catherine; Maud, wife of Fred Campbell, and the mother of a 
daughter Kathleen ; and Clarence, who died in infancy. 

Mr. Curtis now has a splendid homestead, built up around the nucleus 
of the old estate owned by his father. All the improvements in build- 
ings have been put here by his own efforts and management, and he is 
now the owner of 360 acres, constituting a splendid farm, devoted to gen- 
eral agriculture. Mr. Curtis is a member of the Christian Church, is a 
republican in politics, and has served as a director on the home school 
board. 

Scott Carson. Of the men who have participated actively in the 
great growth and development of Holt County during the past four dec- 
ades, none are better or more favorably known than Scott Carson, the 
owner of 160 acres of good land, secured through the medium of indi- 
vidual effort. It has been Mr. Carson's fortune to have realized many of 
his worthy ambitions and to secure a standing in the community that 
makes him one of its representative men, not alone as a farmer who has 
always supported progressive methods and high standards, but as a citi- 
zen who has the welfare of his township and county at heart. 

Scott Carson was born at Kokomo, Howard County, Indiana, Novem- 
ber 7, 1858, and is a son of Henry S. and Elizabeth (Markland) Carson. 
He had one brother, two sisters and one half-brother, the mother having 
been twice married. Henry S. Carson was a farmer throughout a long 
and reasonably successful career, and spent his early life in Howard 
County, Indiana, where he was the owner of a small property. In Novem- 
ber, 1864, he came to Northwest Missouri in search of a new home on 
which to locate, it being said at that time that it cost more to improve a 
farm than it did to purchase it. Finally he decided upon an eighty-acre 
tract, totally unimproved, which lay a little to the west of the present 
home of Scott Carson. The original house, built of logs, and boasting of 
but one room, continued to be the family home for five years, but the pass- 
ing time brought about a decided change, and new and substantial build- 
ings succeeded the straw sheds, while a commodious, modern home was 
erected as the family residence. Here Henry S. Carson continued to fol- 
low agricultural pursuits for twenty years, or until within a short time of 
his death, when he retired from active labor, retired to his home at 
Maitland, and there passed away. Both he and Mrs. Carson were devout 
members of the Christian Church, and in political matters he was a 
republican. 

Scott Carson was about six years of age when he came with the 
family to Holt County, and here he grew to manhood on the home place, 
being thoroughly and effectively trained in the various pursuits with 
which the successful farmer must be familiar. When he was ready to 
enter upon a career of his own he was well prepared for his chosen 
calling, and as the years have passed he has well demonstrated the bene- 




PEOPLES EXCHANGE BANK, JAMESPORT 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1519 

fits of an early training, when combined with industry, energetic labor 
and well-directed management. During his career he has accumulated 
a tract of 160 acres of fertile land, which he devotes to general farming 
and the raising of a good grade of stock, and here he has erected a set of 
good buildings, attractive in .appearance, well arranged, and thoroughly 
equipped with comforts and conveniences. A life of honorable dealing 
has made Mr. Carson's name an honored one in commercial circles. In 
political matters he is a republican, and as such has been elected a mem- 
ber of the district school board of Hickory Township. Fraternally, he 
holds membership in the lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
at Newpoint. Mr. Carson was formerly a member of the Christian 
Church. 

Mr. Carson was married to Miss Mahala C. Howard, who was born 
in Kentucky, daughter of Benjamin Howard, and to this union there 
have come five children: Elwin Edwards, Roxie May, Fred Blaine, 
Sarah Grace and Ruth, all born in Holt County, with the exception of 
Roxie, who was born in Southwest Nebraska. 

George B. Koch. As the popular Jamesport banker, George B. 
Koch requires no introduction to banking circles of Northwest Missouri. 
For a young man who has not yet passed his thirtieth birthday Mr. 
Koch has accomplished considerably more than the range of his years 
would lead one to expect. He was the organizer, is the chief stock- 
holder, and practically the head of the Peoples Exchange Bank of 
Jamesport, an institution which in service and equipment has few su- 
periors among the country banks of this state. Mr. Koch is a young 
man of broad outlook, of untiring industry, and his work shows him 
possessed of unusual ability as an organizer. With all this he possesses 
the genial manner which makes friends and holds them in bonds of 
steel. 

George B. Koch was born October 22, 1885, in Clinton County, 
Missouri, a son of Jeremiah and Mary (Ward) Koch. His father was 
a native of Pennsylvania and his mother of Illinois. The former spent 
most of his life as a farmer. Some years ago he removed to Hample, 
Missouri, engaged in merchandising, served as a justice of the peace, 
and under the administrations of McKinley and Roosevelt was postmaster 
of that village, although his own party affiliations were with the demo- 
crats. He possessed many admirable qualities of character, was success- 
ful in business and provided generously for his home and family. He 
and his wife were the parents of two children, and the other son, Alvin, 
lives in Kansas City. 

George B. Koch received his education in the public schools of Clin- 
ton County, in William Jewell College at Liberty, where he was gradu- 
ated in 1906, and from the Gem City Business College at Quincy, Illinois. 
He had already chosen banking as his profession, and his success therein 
is largely due to the fact that he has pursued the object of his ambition 
without pause since entering active life. He was first in banking at 
King City, Missouri, where he was cashier of the First National Bank. 
He filled that position until the fall of 1911, and then came to James- 
port and took the lead in organizing the Peoples Exchange Bank, of 
which he has since been cashier and is now the largest stockholder. 
Besides his banking interests Mr. Koch owns considerable improved real 
estate in Jamesport. 

The Peoples Exchange Bank has a building which in point of equip- 
ment may properly deserve some consideration in this brief article. 
There are few bankers anywhere in Missouri that have a banking house 
equal to this, and it would do credit to a city of large population. The 



1520 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

building stands on a foundation 30 by 80 feet, is built practically fire- 
proof, and besides its exterior attractions as one of the notable business 
blocks of the little city, its interior arrangement is of special note. The 
finishing is in Circassian walnut. Among other features one of the first 
to attract the casual visitor is the ' ' farmers-' corner, ' ' a particularly cosy 
place for the patrons to rest and discuss business, politics and other 
current matters, while sitting' before the open fire in the old-fashioned 
fireplace. There is also a rest room for the benefit of the ladies who 
are patrons of the bank. The building is fitted with lavatories for the 
guests, a private water supply and sewer system, with hot water, heat, 
electric light, and the safety devices comprise the latest standard equip- 
ment of burglar proof safes and vaults. 

Mr. Koch was married July 27, 1910, at King City to Miss Anna 
Claxton, who was born in Missouri. They have twin children, born 
October 23, 1914, named George B., Jr., and Mary Anna. Politically 
Mr. Koch is a democrat. Of a social nature, he finds time to belong to 
the following fraternities : The Scottish Rite Masons, the Mystic Shrine, 
the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Knights of Pythias, the 
Modern Woodmen of America, with his wife has membership in the 
Eastern Star and the Pythian Sisters, and he is also state treasurer of 
the Order of Yeomen. Mr. and Mrs. Koch are members of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church at Jamesport, and he is president and treasurer of 
the board of trustees. He has a large acquaintance with men in banking 
circles, and his varied experience has given him a thorough insight 
into all the details of the business. At his age he has much to work 
for and attain, and those who know him predict that he is far from having 
reached the climax of his career. 

G. W. Glenn experienced numerous hardships and discouragements, 
and it would be hard to find an individual who is more deserving of 
credit for lifting himself above the limitations of a responsible and 
cheerless youth. Early thrown upon his own resources, with his only ad- 
vantage a somewhat limited education of the district school kind, he ap- 
plied himself so earnestly and ambitiously to the securing of a competence 
that he was able to rise, step by step, to a position of independence, and 
today he is numbered among the substantial men of his locality. 

G. W. Glenn was born in Highland County, Ohio, April 1, 1857, and is 
a son of James W. and Mary A. (Garrett) Glenn. The father, an agri- 
culturist all his life, brought the family from the Buckeye State to Mis- 
souri in 1868, settling first in Holt County, about one and one-half miles 
south of Maitland, on a tract of 160 acres, which had been partly im- 
proved. Such improvements as there were, however, were of the most 
primitive kind, the house consisting of two rooms, while the other build- 
ings included a few straw sheds. The father settled down here to make a 
comfortable home for his family, but did not live to see his labors bear 
fruit, as he passed away about four or five years after his arrival. Later 
the farm was disposed of to William Shields, the mother married William 
Calloway, and the boys branched out for themselves. The children, all 
born in Ohio, were as follows: Emma, who married George Haigh; G. 
W., of this notice ; Elwood, who married Ella Hinton ; Elmer Ellsworth, 
who married Lillie Lowper ; and Mattie, who married James Carlile. 

G. W. Glenn was eleven years of age at the time the family came to 
Missouri, and he had already received an indifferent public school train- 
ing. For several years he attended the district school here, but the ill- 
ness and subsequent death of his father made it necessary that he go 
to work, and his education was thus neglected. In later years, however, 
he has added to his mental training by reading and observation, and is 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1521 

today considered a very well informed man. On taking his place among 
the world 's workers, Mr. Glenn first was employed by a farmer, Freeman 
Lib'bie, for about four years, then becoming a renter on his own account. 
He lived on several properties at various times after his marriage, and 
then became a land owner. He has charge of 480 acres of good land, all 
devoted to general farming and stock-raising, in both of which enter- 
prises Mr. Glenn has met with well-earned success. He is known as a 
man of intelligence, both in his farming work and as a citizen, and can 
be depended upon to support good and progressive movements. In politi- 
cal matters he is allied with the republican party, but has not found time 
to enter actively into politics, or to seek public preferment. 

Mr. Glenn was united in marriage with Miss Augusta Liddy, and to 
this union there have been born four children, all in Holt County : 
Florence, who became the wife of Emmett Hodgins, a farmer of Holt 
County ; and Charles W., Mattie and Freeman, who are single and reside 
with their parents. 

J. T. Nolan. In the fine rural community of Lewis Township in 
Holt County the Nolan family have been residents for more than three- 
quarters of a century. Mr. J. T. Nolan was born in this section and has 
spent a long and active career here as a farmer and useful citizen. It 
was his father who was the pioneer, and whose name appears on the 
records as an official actor in the first governmental activities of this 
county. As a family the Nolans have been close to the soil, enjoyed peace 
and prosperity, and their lives have been led along the paths of quiet 
industry and they have helped to make the community what it is today. 

J. T. Nolan was born on the farm that he now occupies and which was 
his father's homestead on October 4, 1849. His parents were Harmon G. 
and Emilie (Hensley) Nolan. His father came to Holt County about 
1838, soon after the Piatt Purchase and before the land had been sur- 
veyed. Indians were numerous, wild game abundant on the prairies and 
in the forests, and his early experiences were full of pioneer incidents 
and hardships. He put up a log cabin in the midst of the woods, entered 
his land direct from the Government, and lived to see a wilderness trans- 
formed into a landscape of smiling farms. He and his wife came to 
Northwest Missouri from Jackson County, this state, and the parents 
were married in Independence, Missouri. In the early days all the 
grain raised on their farm and those of the neighbors was taken to market 
at Independence, and later to river ports higher up the Missouri. Nearly 
thirty years passed away before the first railroad was built, in 1868, 
through Forrest City, and by that time markets had been well established 
in different sections and the country very much changed from the time 
Harmon Nolan had first seen it. There were twelve children in the fam- 
ily, of whom ten grew to maturity. Both parents were of Irish descent, 
and died on the farm now occupied by their son J. T. 

Mr. J. T. Nolan grew up in Holt County, was educated in the local 
schools, and after reaching manhood married Fannie Cooper, daughter 
of George Cooper. To their marriage were born three daughters, Elma, 
Stella and Lela, all born on the home farm. After the death of his first 
wife Mr. Nolan married Frances Alkire, who at that time was the 
widow of West Dorsey. Mr. and Mrs. Nolan have two boys, Nelson and 
Guy, who were also born on the home farm. 

Mr. Nolan has eighty acres of land, has made many improvements, 
and has an attractive farmstead, with comfortable means of living. Mr. 
Nolan's father was one of the early county judges of Holt County, and 
had the distinction of being foreman of the first grand jury ever em- 
paneled in this county. During the Civil war he was captain of a 



1522 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

company recruited to the strength of 115 men known as the Silver Grays. 
While they did not get into active service, they were well drilled and 
always ready to guard the peace and security of the homes in this sec- 
tion of the state. Harmon Nolan was a man of fine character, and while 
he started life with nothing except willing hands, he at one time owned 
320 acres in the home place, eighty acres in section 16, another eighty 
northwest of the home, and some forty acres besides that. He also at one 
time owned 160 acres in Kansas. Politically Harmon Nolan was an active 
democrat, and his son affiliated with that party until his recent change, 
as a result of his mature judgment, to the republican ranks. Mr. Nolan 
has done his part in public affairs, and for forty years has served as a 
member of the local school board. He is a member of the Christian 
Church. Both parents now rest in the Nolan graveyard, on the opposite 
side of the road from the son's home, and altogether there are about a 
hundred interments in that cemetery. 

Richard Wornall. Few names have been longer, more prominently 
and more worthily identified with the annals of Missouri 's history, than 
that of Wornall, and the earliest pioneer of that name came to Missouri 
in 1844, landing at the foot of Main Street on the 12th of April, at what 
was then known as Westport Landing. 

For many years previous Richard Wornall had been a successful 
farmer in Shelby County, Kentucky, and was looked upon as one of the 
leading representatives of this all-important and basic industry. It was 
but laudable ambition that prompted in him the desire to achieve afflu- 
ence and a position of social and commercial priority, but the speculative 
enterprises in which he embarked resulted disastrously and entailed such 
pecuniary loss and financial embarrassment that he found it necessary 
to dispose of his fine landed estate in order to pay his indebtedness and 
preserve his unsullied reputation for integrity and honesty, his character 
having eminently justified his reputation. With undaunted courage, he 
came to Missouri and set to himself the work of retrieving his fortunes in 
a new community and under conditions that typified the pioneer epoch in 
the history of this commonwealth. 

On the confines of what is now Kansas City he purchased land at five 
dollars an acre, and this property is now appraised at almost fabulous 
valuation, as may well be understood. At the time of his removal to this 
state his family consisted of his wife and their two sons, John B. and 
Thomas, a daughter, Sarah E., having died at the age of fourteen years. 
Both Richard Wornall and his wife continued to reside on their Jackson 
County homestead until her death; he then returned to Kentucky and 
two years later remarried and continued to reside here, Winchester, 
Clark County, until his death in 1864. 

Of his two sons who came to Missouri, his youngest son, Thomas, did 
not long survive his mother, dying with pneumonia only a few years after 
their landing at Kansas City. 

John B. Wornall was born in Clark County, Kentucky, on the 12th 
day of October, 1822, and was a son of Richard and Judith Wornall. 
Richard Wornall removed with his family from Clark to Shelby County, 
Kentucky, in 1824, and purchased a farm four miles north of the historic 
old town of Shelbyville. This fine old homestead was near the old Burke 
Baptist Church, and in the services conducted in this somewhat primitive 
edifice John B. Wornall gained his early impressions of the spiritual 
verities and planted the seed of that deep Christian faith that guided and 
governed his entire life thereafter. He was further fortified for char- 
acter building through the counsel and admonition of parents of deep 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1523 

religious convictions and high sense of duty and responsibility, the gentle 
consideration and intrinsic piety of the devoted mother having left a 
gracious and abiding influence upon the lives of her children who ever 
accorded to her the utmost filial love and solicitude while she was living 
and revered her memory after she had passed forward to the "land of 
the leal." John B. Wornall became a man of broad information, wide 
intellectual ken and mature judgment, but his education was gained 
largely through self-discipline and active association with men and af- 
fairs, for in the days of his boyhood and youth the scholastic advantages 
afforded in the vicinity of his home were very meager, there having been 
no academy or other institution of higher learning within many miles 
of the old homestead plantation in Kentucky, where conditions were still 
to a large extent those of the pioneer days. After having resided for 
nineteen years on the Shelby county farm, John B. Wornall came with 
the family to Missouri and established a home in Jackson County, within 
whose limits is situated Kansas City, which metropolitan community 
was then represented by an obscure village known as "Westport 
Landing. ' ' 

On the 12th of June, 1850, Jno. B. Wornall, who was a young man 
at the time of the family removal to Missouri, was united in marriage 
to Miss Matilda Polk, daughter of William Polk, of Kentucky, and she 
died within a year after their marriage, leaving no issue. On the 20th 
of September, 1854, was solemnized the marriage of Mr. Wornall to 
Miss Eliza S. Johnson, daughter of Rev. Thomas Johnson, and of the six 
children of this union two are living, Frank C. and Thomas J. Mrs. 
Wornall was summoned to the life eternal July 5, 1865, within a short time 
after the birth of her son Thomas J. Wornall, to whom a later sketch 
is dedicated, and later John B. Wornall wedded Miss Roma Johnson, a 
daughter of Reuben Johnson, of Howard County, Missouri. Of the three 
sons born of this union, one died in infancy, and the two surviving are 
John B., Jr., and Charles Hardin. Mrs. Wornall survives her honored 
husband and still resided in the beautiful old family homestead, at Sixty- 
first Street and Wornall Road, Kansas City. 

John B. Wornall was ever the zealous supporter of the cause of popu- 
lar education and his influence in all the relations of life was benignant 
and pervasive. He was a patron of the arts and sciences and he held 
the highest of civic ideals, the while his inspiring faith was one of liber- 
ality in both action and financial co-operation. He was for more than a 
quarter of a century a member of the board of trustees of William Jewell 
College, at Liberty, the judicial center of Clay County, and for more 
than twenty-eight years of this period he was president of the board, 
besides which he contributed $10,000 as an endowment fund for the 
institution. Neither from choice or inherent predilection was Mr. Wor- 
nall a practical politician, but his ability and many sterling qualities 
so commended him to his fellow citizens that he was not permitted to 
escape official preferment. In 1869 at the democratic convention for 
the Fourteenth senatorial district, then comprising Cass, Bates and Jack- 
son counties, he was nominated by acclamation for representative of the 
district in the state senate, to which he was elected by a large and grati- 
fying majority and in which he served four years, his record having 
been in every respect admirable and marked by evidences of his earnest 
wish to foster the best interests of the state and its people. He was not 
a brilliant speaker but was looked upon as one of the most reliable, sub- 
stantial and far-sighted members of the deliberative body of the legis- 
lature. In his speeches on the floor of the senate and his utterances in 
the councils of the committee room he was invariably direct and sin- 
cere, resolute in his upholding the principles and measures which his 



1524 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

judgment approved, and never compromising with a signally acute con- 
science for the sake of expediency. About the time of the close of his 
senatorial career, Mr. Wornall 's name was prominently brought forward 
in connection with the candidacy for governor of the state and though 
the overtures made in this direction came from strong and influential 
sources he insisted upon withdrawing in favor of another candidate, 
Charles Hardin, his bosom friend, for the distinguished office. 

In 1872 Mr. Wornall was elected president of the Kansas City Na- 
tional Bank, and he retained this post until the institution resigned its 
charter and closed its business. He was instrumental in organizing the 
Bank of Kansas City, now incorporated as the National Bank of Kansas 
City, and of this institution he was president for many years prior to his 
death. In 1872 and 1873, as a mark of respect and as indication of his 
influence and high standing in the Baptist Church, he was twice and 
successively elected moderator of the Missouri General Association of this 
denomination, this being the highest honor conferred by that body. For 
eleven years he served as moderator of the Blue River Association of his 
church, in which he was ever a zealous and devoted member. Within the 
climacteric period of the Civil war Gennison and 1,400 of his men took 
possession of the home of Mr. Wornall, both the farm and the residence, 
and in this occupation by military forces the family were deprived of 
the use of all save one room of the house. Mr. Wornall was informed that 
on Saturday morning he would be shot, and the intervening four days 
he and his devoted wife passed in prayer to the Throne of Grace. Gen- 
nison finally sent for Mr. Wornall, on Saturday morning, and after 
cursing him with noteworthy fluency said to him : " I came to kill you 
but why in hell I can % I don 't know. Pray your God for me, ' ' follow- 
ing with the statement that if Mr. Wornall would go with him and figure 
up the damages done by the invader and his men everything would be 
paid for in gold. This generous recompense was made and Mr. Wornall 
even had to intervene, and beg clemency for a private who had shot a 
pig the same morning and whom Gennison had threatened to execute. 

Secure in the high regard of all who knew him, a man of lofty ideals 
and noble character and one whose career was marked by large and 
worthy achievement, Hon. John B. Wornall passed to his reward on the 
24th of March, 1892, shortly after he had passed the psalmist's allotted 
span of three score years and ten. 

Thomas Johnson Wornall, the subject of this sketch, was born at 
Ninth and Main Streets, Kansas City, Missouri, on the 28th day of June, 
1865. He was a son of John B. Wornall and Eliza Johnson Wornall, and 
in 1869 his parents moved to where the Densmore Hotel now stands, 
between Ninth and Tenth on Locust Street, so far out that their friends 
talked of their then being in the country. In 1876 the family moved to 
what was known as the Stockdale Farm, or more generally known as the 
Wornall Farm. He was reared on this farm, educated at the country 
school nearby, and after having attended high school at Eleventh and 
Locust, in Kansas City, for a year and a half, started into William Jewell 
College in 1882. 

After four years at William Jewell College, he was married on the 
19th of May, 1886, to Miss Emma Lee Petty, only child of L. T. Petty, 
a widower living eight miles northeast of Liberty, and half way between 
that and Excelsior Springs. 

Mr. Petty came from that sturdy Virginia stock, and immigrated by 
land with his mother, two brothers and three sisters — two brothers having 
preceded him. Mr. Petty having lost his wife some eight years previous, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1525 

and having but one child, it was deemed best for all concerned that Mr. 
Wornall quit the old home and move over here, which he did. 

Out of the union of this family were born four children, but Lindsay 
P. died in infancy. Thomas J. Jr., attended school in the country, also 
the high school in Liberty, and graduated from William Jewell College 
in 1910. He was married on October 30, 1911, to Miss Floy Crews of Lib- 
erty, Missouri, and they have a girl and boy, Sue Melva and Lindsay 
Petty, and are residing at present on part of the old farm, known as 
the "George Petty Farm." A daughter, Lucy Lee Wornall, was born 
on the 4th of September, 1891, and died in January, 1906, passing away 
in her fifteenth year. She was by nature one of the sweetest children that 
ever lived, uniting with the Baptist Church when she was nine years of 
age, and through her sweetness of character, leading both her brothers 
to Christ before she was called to her Heavenly Home. She was a nat- 
ural musician, and while never taking lessons, had composed over forty 
pieces before her death. Their next child, Richard Bristow Wornall, Avas 
born the 26th clay of November, 1893. He attended Liberty High School, 
two years at William Jewell, one year at Culver, and one year of mining 
engineering at Rolla, and is now taking a four year course in agriculture 
at the University of Missouri at Columbia. 

Mr. Wornall naturally loving agricultural pursuits, and especially 
the raising of fine stock, and showing the same, has spent the greater part 
of his life in these pursuits. 

In 1897, having disposed of his cheaper cattle, he started in to build a 
herd of Shorthorn cattle, the equal to any in the world. As a steer 
feeder, previous to '96, he had topped Chicago market nine years out of 
ten, and using the same judgment in picking his breeding herd, he en- 
tered the show ring in 1899. And in 1899 and 1900 won first in herd over 
Shorthorns and all other beef breeds, Grand Champions for two years at 
Iowa, Minnesota, Milwaukee, Indiana, Illinois, St. Louis, and American 
Royal, without a single defeat in a two years' unbroken record that has 
never been equaled before or since. 

He continued in the show ring until he dispersed his herd in 1906, 
winning more than his share of the premiums wherever shown. In 1897 
he helped form the Association of Fair Managers, he having in 1902 
been chosen secretary and general manager of the American Royal Live 
Stock Show. This association of fair managers is composed of repre- 
sentatives from every state fair and national exposition, including five 
in foreign countries. Mr. Wornall has held the position of chairman 
of the executive committee two years, vice president two years, and 
president two years. 

While not caring especially for politics, except to help his friends, 
yet in 1905 he was unanimously nominated, and the republicans refusing 
to nominate anyone against him, was unanimously elected to the senate 
from the Fifth district. 

He was appointed, by Governor Dockery, chairman of the Junketing 
Committee, and afterwards appointed chairman of Appropriations Com- 
mittee, a distinguished honor, since the same had never before been held 
by a new member. He was chairman of the Inauguration Committee of 
the induction of Governor Folk to his seat. He was the author of the 
Wornall Demurrage Bill, which sought to give the farmers and grain 
men more time to unload their grain, but at the same time prohibiting 
them from using railroad cars as warehouses. This bill was the hardest 
fought of any in the three sessions of the Legislature by Senator Wornall, 
and was the first anti-railroad bill passing the Missouri state senate in 
sixteen years. His interest in agriculture led him to look after the needs 
of the experiment station at Columbia, and he increased their appropria- 



1526 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

tion from $45,000, the session previous, to $187,000, and through his 
efforts both the agriculture building at Columbia, costing $100,000, and 
the college gymnasium, costing $70,000, were the direct results. 

His ability as an organizer was shown in the passage of the appro- 
priation bills in the senate, with but one dissenting voice, and that on a 
clause of militia, in forty-five minutes, appropriating over nine million 
dollars. But the absolute fairness to each institution was the cause. 

After his term in the senate had expired, and refusing to again stand 
for election, he was importuned by friends all over the state to permit 
the use of his name for that of governor, but having served, as he con- 
sidered, his duty to his state, and having had the extreme pleasure of 
occupying the same seat as his father, he desired no further honors. 
However, Governor Hadley honored him by appointing him one of the 
curators of the Missouri State University. He was chosen on the Exec- 
utive Committee at the School of Mines, Rolla, and served as chairman 
and was chosen a member of and chairman of the Executive Board at 
Columbia, and served in that capacity until the close of his term. 

The most signal honor that has been paid him was being chosen 
unanimously as member of the Executive Committee, and then as chair- 
man of the Conference on Education in Missouri, Secretary of Agricul- 
ture Houston being one of the vice presidents, and Dr. A. Ross Hill, of 
Columbia, another. 

Mr. Wornall has been one of four delegates-at-large for sixteen years 
to the National Association of Stockmen, the most powerful organization 
of its kind in existence. 

These honors have come to him unsought, but he has put forth his 
best efforts in every way to serve at the best of his ability, and the results 
can show for themselves. 

In 1901, with two friends he visited Europe and brought all the 
champion Shorthorns home with them, which sold in the sale ring in 
Chicago on November 7th of that year, making an average of $1,122.00, 
being the highest average of any breed since the New York Mill Sale 
of 1872. 

He is at the present time living in Liberty, Missouri, where they 
moved in 1901 for the education of their children. 

John Richard Webb. In the person of John Richard Webb is found 
a sample of that material which has brought Harrison County into the 
limelight as a prosperous agricultural center. Endowed with more than 
average ability and backed by shrewd business judgment and determina- 
tion, this progressive farmer has worked his way to the ownership of a 
handsome property, located two miles south of Mount Moriah, which he 
is devoting to cattle feeding and the growing of horses, mules and hogs. 

John R. Webb is a son of the late Joseph Webb, and now occupies 
the old Webb homestead on which he was born March 8, 1866. He re- 
ceived his early education in the district schools and this was supple- 
mented by attendance at Grand River College, now Gallatin College, 
which was then situated at Edinburg. When he finished school he re- 
turned to the homestead, and soon thereafter embarked upon a career of 
his own on a quarter-section of his father's estate, his subsequent success 
in life having been made as a cattle feeder and a grower of horses, mules 
and hogs. As a shipper he has used the railroad to some extent, and as a 
trader he is known widely all over the county. He has added some 
twelve hundred acres of land to his original holdings, the chief of which 
tract or tracts is a grass farm, his plan being to grow and buy young 
stock that will become ready for shipment off his pasture land. In 1914 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1527 

Mr. "Webb replaced the old home which had been erected by his father 
with a more pretentious and modern structure, suggestive of the bunga- 
low, with six rooms and closets, and including bath and running water, 
with all other modern improvements. 

Mr. Webb was married in Harrison County, Missouri, April 22, 1893, 
to Miss Dora Weathers, a daughter of William H. and Ellen (McKinley ) 
Weathers, the latter the daughter of an Illinois family. Mr. Weathers 
came from Toledo, Illinois, where he was born, to Missouri prior to the 
outbreak of the Civil war. His family comprised the following children : 
Mollie, who became the wife of James S. Graham, of Bedford, Iowa; 
Hannah, who became the wife of Bud Ferguson, of Gilman City, Mis- 
souri ; Dora, born November 30, 1869, and now the wife of John R. 
Webb ; Ida, who became the wife of D. Plank, of Bolton, Missouri ; Etta, 
who became the wife of Anderson Foster, of Bolton, where her parents 
now reside; Alonzo, also of Bolton; and Frank, who is a resident of 
Blue Ridge, Missouri. To Mr. and Mrs. Webb there has been born one 
daughter, Catherine Marie, born September 23, 1897, who is now the 
wife of Clay Criger. 

Mr. Webb's political affiliation is with the democracy, his father 
having belonged to that party, but his only activities are as a voter at 
elections. He has, however, taken an interest in those things which have 
affected his community, and may always be depended upon to support 
beneficial movements and enterprises. His long residence in this vicinity 
and his wide business connections have given him an extensive acquaint- 
ance, and he is universally known as a man of integrity and high princi- 
ples. With his family, he is identified with the Baptist Church. 

. — ^ Richard Franklin Craven. Forty-two years ago, when he first 
came to Gentry County, Richard Franklin Craven was the happy pos- 
sessor of $24 in cash and a two-year-old colt. These were his material 
possessions, but far more valuable than either were his ambition, his 
determination, his indomitable spirit and his intense energy, charac- 
teristics which have since combined to form the medium through which 
he has worked out his success. Today he is one of the most sub- 
stantial of Albany's residents, possessed of a handsome competency and 
the esteem and respect of his fellow-citizens, and a short review of his 
career should be of interest to every admirer of American self-made 
manhood. 

Mr. Craven was born October 16, 1854, in Ray County, Missouri, and 
is a son of Dr. Franklin and Annie (Campbell) Craven, and a grandson 
of Richard Franklin Craven, who reared a large family. Franklin 
Craven was born at Knoxville, Tennessee, April 19, 1817, and died in 
Missouri, November 23, 1901. He was not an educated man, being unable 
to either read or write, came to Missouri in young manhood and devoted 
himself to agricultural pursuits throughout his career. His title of 
"Doctor" was given him merely because he was the seventh son of his 
parents. He and his brother Wyatt were soldiers in the Mexican war, 
while Joel and John Craven were other brothers who reared families in 
Ray County, Missouri. ' ' Dr. ' ' Franklin Craven was married in Tennes- 
see to Miss Annie Campbell, who was born in Indiana, and she died in 
1857. leaving the following children: James, who died in Ray County, 
Missouri, leaving a family ; Nancy, who became the wife of John Craven ; 
Wyatt, who spent his life in Ray County; Clementine, who became the 
wife of John Metcalf and lives at Syracuse, Kansas ; Jerre, a resident of 
Bates County, Missouri ; Elizabeth, who became the wife of A. W. Wyman 
and spent her life in Ray County, owning Excelsior Springs, which was 
opened up on their farm ; Jackson, who died as a young man ; Henley, 



1528 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

who passed away in early life ; Hulda, who married James Grace and 
died in Gentry County, Missouri ; Julia, who married Doctor Kelley and 
died in Kansas City, Missouri ; and Richard Franklin, of this review. 
Franklin Craven was married the second time to Mrs. Narcisis Wilson, 
and they became the parents of three children, namely : John F. Craven, 
0. W. Craven and Anna Craven. 

Richard Franklin Craven grew up at Excelsior Springs where he 
resided until about nineteen years of age, when he came to Gentry 
County. His education was of the ordinary kind, finishing at a four- 
months' term in Gentry County, the best he ever had. He was brought 
up on a farm and that vocation he took up when a man, and has continued 
to be engaged in tilling the soil to the present time. When Mr. Craven 
began life independently he settled at Siloam Springs. He had worked 
for an uncle to secure the cash and colt before mentioned, and these con- 
stituted his capital when he faced life on his own accord. Mr. Craven 
had made up his mind to leave the old home where some turmoil and 
discord had resulted from the coming of a stepmother and subsequent 
children, and also because he had awakened to the fact that his social 
companions at home were not the most desirable. He came to Gentry 
County because his brother and sister lived here, and with the latter he 
located for a time, and in that locality was married. With his young wife 
he started to keep house in the most primitive manner, aided by good 
friends, and for several years was a renter, but soon gained a place of 
his own and his substantial building toward the top continued from year 
to year. Hard work stared Mr. and Mrs. Craven in the face from the 
start, but they accepted the challenge, fought hard and held fast until a 
condition of financial independence came to them. Mr. Craven bought 
his first land, a tract of forty acres, near Siloam Springs, and to this he 
added until he had gathered 160 acres of timbered bottom, as tine soil 
as there is in the county. It was at first covered with a heavy growth of 
timber, and hazel brush ten feet high, and the grubbing and clearing of 
this formed the real labor of his early life. It was all cleared in time and 
the fertility of the soil has responded to the touch of the plowman and 
yielded abundantly, never failing Mr. Craven until the big flood on 
Muddy Creek overran it, took the crop and seeded it somewhat to burrs. 
His wife was the great factor in the economy of the household and Mr. 
Craven attributes to her the credit for their combined success. Mr. 
Craven stayed with his farm actively until overtaken by the afflictions 
of sciatica when his physical troubles began. He was occupied for the 
next two years trying to rid himself of the disease through the medium 
of medicine, doctors and medical springs, but finally decided to leave 
the farm exposures and take up his residence at Albany, a course which 
he followed, now being the owner of a small tract adjoining the town, 
where he has a comfortable home. 

In his political life, as he expresses it, Mr. Craven has been "just a 
voter." His political training was of the democratic faith, his people 
having espoused that cause for generations back. He is liberal with his 
ballot, or franchise, in the matter of selecting men for public office and 
reforms his ticket to suit the best interests of the county before he votes 
it. His only political service, if it may be termed as such, was as an 
alderman of Albany. It devolved upon the council of which he was a 
member to take care of the load placed upon the town as a result of 
whisky prosecutions and the burden of the water tower, and these serv- 
ices it ably discharged. In church matters Mr. Craven was brought up 
under a righteous influence, so far as morality went, but his father 
never allied himself with the church until sixty-five years old. His teach- 
ings, however, were of the right kind in the matter of instilling principle 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1529 

into his children. Mr. Craven and his wife joined the Missionary Bap- 
tist Church at Siloam Springs, and he officiated with it from that time 
until he left the locality. They are now members of the Albany Baptist 
Church. 

Mr. Craven was united in marriage in September, 1875, with Miss 
Mary Ann McGill, daughter of Frank M. and Catherine (Davis) McGill, 
farming people of Gentry County who are well known here. Frank M. 
McGill died April 2, 1909, being seventy-seven years, seven months .and 
twenty-seven days old. Catherine Davis McGill died at the age of eighty- 
one years, seven months and five days. There were eight children in the 
McGill family, those growing to maturity being : Nancy, who became the 
wife of Mat Chilton ; Mrs. Craven ; John W. ; William ; Martha, who mar- 
ried Giles Parman; James F.; and Rilla, who married Charles McNees. 
Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Cravens : Katie Lee, who 
is the wife of Bert Williams, of Kansas City, Missouri ; James, a resident 
of Conard, Montana; William V., who resides at McFall, Missouri; 
Charles F., engaged in farming at Siloam Springs; and John F., who 
resides at the old home place. 

Rev. Henry A. Sawyers, D. D. During the last quarter of a century 
one of the leading figures in the Presbyterian Church of Northwest 
Missouri has been Rev. Henry A. Sawyers, now pastor of the First 
Presbyterian Church at Savannah. Reverend Sawyers began his pas- 
torate work in Missouri at Cameron in July, 1890, was pastor of the 
church there about four and one-half years, in November, 1894, took 
charge of the church at Oregon, in February, 1903, became pastor of 
Hope Presbyterian Church in St. Joseph, and in May, 1912, left that 
charge to accept his present pastorate in Savannah. Along with the 
duties of active pastoral work Reverend Sawyers has served as moderator 
of the Presbytery of St. Joseph and the Synod of Missouri, and repre- 
sented the St. Joseph Presbytery in the general assembly of the Pres- 
byterian Church, United States of America, four different times, at 
Saratoga, New York, in 1894 ; at St. Louis, Missouri, in 1900 ; at Colum- 
bus, Ohio, in 1907 ; and at Atlanta, Georgia, in 1913 ; also with his wife 
was a delegate to the International Christian Endeavor Convention in 
New York City in 1892, and again in San Francisco in 1897. For more 
than twenty years he has served as chairman by regular annual election 
of the home mission work in the Presbytery of St. Joseph, and is also 
chairman of the Vacancy and Supply Committee, which exercises a gen- 
eral supervision over vacant churches and provides them with ministers. 

Henry A. Sawyers was born near Woodsfield in Monroe County, 
Ohio, February 22, 1859. He was born on a farm and was the son of 
a farmer, the late William Orr Sawyers, and his wife, Agnes (Kirker) 
Sawyers. His father, who spent his last years in Missouri, died at his 
home three miles west of Maryville October 1, 1914, when past eighty- 
five years of age. His life was as useful as it was long. He was born 
on a farm near Bellaire, Ohio, November 22, 1828, the son of parents 
who were of Scotch stock and natives of the north of Ireland. William 
O. Sawyers spent most of his life in Eastern Ohio in the valley of the 
Ohio River, and when three years of age his parents moved to Monroe 
County not far from the site of Woodsfield, the county seat, and as a 
boy he could stand on the hills of his home farm and see the smoke- 
stacks of steamboats passing up and down the Ohio. He attended a log 
schoolhouse in that community, settled down on a farm after his mar- 
riage, reared all his family there, and in December, 1894, when already 
advanced in vears, moved to Northwest Missouri in order to be near his 



1580 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

children. All his education had come from attendance at a subscription 
school, and what he lacked of book knowledge was made up by keen 
observation and experience in dealing with men and affairs. Of his 
character it has been said : ' ' His sense of fairness and justice was strong 
and although fearless and of a positive temperament he never sued any- 
one or was sued in his life and was often called upon to adjust differences 
between people. He lived a clean, religious, moral and temperate life. 
These qualities, joined to a witty, social nature, surrounded him always 
with a host of friends." His ancestors had for generations been Pres- 
byterians, and early in life he united with the Pleasant Ridge United 
Presbyterian Church in Ohio, and later with the Presbyterian Church 
at New Castle in that state, and subsequently became identified with 
the Maryville Presbyterian Church. In all these different congregations 
he was made a ruling elder. On April 22, 1858, William 0. Sawyers 
married Agnes Kirker, and they became the parents of ten children, 
two of whom were twins. Agnes (Kirker) Sawyers, who died at her 
home near Maryville on Thanksgiving Day, November 26, 1908, was 
born on an old family homestead near Belfast in County Antrim, 
Ireland, June 26, 1837, and was a child of three years when her parents 
came to America and settled in Ohio. She was reared partly in a 
brother's home in Baltimore, Maryland, and married Mr. Sawyers in 
Belmont County, Ohio. William 0. Sawyers and wife lived together as 
man and wife for more than half a century, and in April preceding the 
death of Mrs. Sawyers celebrated their golden wedding anniversary 
among their children, grandchildren and friends. The surviving chil- 
dren of this fine old couple are : Rev. Henry A. ; John K. and William 
G., both of Maryville, the latter a prominent lawyer; Robert J., a farmer 
west of Maryville ; Lulu M., wife of T. M. Neff ; Jennie B., wife of Wilbur 
Snyder; Christina S., wife of Lawrence Gault ; and Miss Elizabeth A. 
When William 0. Sawyers died he was survived by nineteen grand- 
children. 

Rev. Henry A. Sawyers grew up as a farmer boy in Eastern Ohio, 
attended country schools, and at the age of sixteen became a teacher, 
continuing that work for three years and was in one school for five 
terms. He entered as a student of Franklin College, New Athens, Ohio, 
in 1879, and was graduated B. A. in 1883, and later received the degrees 
Master of Arts and Doctor of Divinity from the same institution. In 
the fall of 1883 Doctor Sawyers entered Lane Theological Seminary of 
Cincinnati, and was graduated in 1886. After leaving college he had 
served as a supply and in evangelistic work until graduating from the 
seminary, and his first pastoral charge was at Auburn, Indiana, where 
he remained from May, 1886, until July, 1890, when he came to Mis- 
souri and began the activities which have already been outlined. Rev- 
erend Sawyers has long been esteemed for his talent as a pulpit orator 
and ability as pastor. A large number of his sermons have appeared 
in periodicals and their publication in book form in the near future 
will prove a welcome addition to religious literature. Reverend Sawyers 
and his wife have some valuable interests in St, Joseph, consisting of 
some pieces of real estate, and also considerable farming land. Reverend 
Sawyers is independent in politics. 

On September 2, 1886, he married Miss Martha Elizabeth Scott, 
She was born in the same section of Ohio where some of his early days 
were spent, near Cadiz in Harrison County. Her mother after becoming 
a widow moved to New Athens in the same county in order to educate 
her children, and while Mrs. Sawyers was attending college at Franklin 
College she met her future husband. She was graduated there in 1885, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1531 

two years after Mr. Sawyers took his degree, and they were members of 
the same literary society. Mrs. Sawyers is a daughter of Alexander 
Foster and Eleanor (Barnes) Scott, natives of Ohio and Pennsylvania, 
respectively. Her father was the son of a Presbyterian minister, was 
an active church worker and also an extensive land owner with large 
estate in Ohio, Iowa, Missouri and Nebraska. He died in Ohio when 
Mrs. Sawyers was a babe. Her mother was born September 1, 1826, 
and died September 10, 1894, as a result of a railroad accident. Mrs. 
Sawyers is of Scotch-Irish Presbyterian ancestry on both sides of her 
parentage. On her father's side she belongs to the sixth generation 
born in this country, many of whom have attained distinction in both 
church and state. Her own grandfather, Rev. Abraham Scott, and his 
brother, Rev. James Scott, were among the first and most successful 
pioneer preachers of Eastern Ohio. The same is true of her mother's 
people. Her mother's grandfather, Isaac McKissic, was a soldier of the 
Revolutionary war under Washington. Rev. Samuel Davis, D. D., an 
uncle of her mother, succeeded Dr. Jonathan Edwards as president of 
Princeton University. 

Reverend Sawyers and wife are the parents of six children, mentioned 
briefly as follows: Lucile, born December 30, 1887, is a graduate of 
the Central High School at St. Joseph, of the Normal Training Class in 
that school, was for three years a student in Park College, Parkville, 
Missouri, and for several years has been teaching in St. Joseph. Paul 
Henry, born September 5, 1889, spent two years in Park College, now 
holds a responsible position with the Standard Oil Company at St. 
Joseph, and on September 18, 1912, married Miss Litta Roelfson of 
Maryville. Eleanor Marie, born September 20, 1893, is a graduate of 
the Savannah High School, and on November 18, 1914, became the 
wife of Karl Emil Zimmerman of Amazonia, Missouri, and they now 
reside on a farm near Maryville. William Orr, born April 7, 1898, is a 
junior in high school. Agnes, born October 4, 1901, and Scott Kirker, 
born August 6, 1903, and are both students in the grade schools. 

Rev. Abxer Norman. A loved and revered clergyman of the United 
Brethren Church in Northwest Missouri, Mr. Norman has been a resident 
of this state for nearly forty years and he labored with much of zeal and 
consecrated devotion in the ministry until impaired health compelled his 
retirement, in 1911. He has in the meanwhile been actively concerned 
with the great basic industry of agriculture in this section of the state 
and now resides upon and gives supervision to his excellent farm prop- 
erty, in Worth County, his home being on Route No. 3, of the rural free 
mail delivery from the Tillage of Gentry, in Gentry County. Honored 
alike for his sterling character and worthy accomplishment, Mr. Norman 
has the further distinction of having served as a loyal soldier of the Union 
in the Civil war. His life has been one of earnest and worthy achieve- 
ment and it is gratifying to present in this history a brief review of 
his career. 

Mr. Norman was born in Vermilion County, Indiana, on the 3d of 
February, 1830, and in 1834 his parents removed to Henry County, 
Illinois, where he was reared on a pioneer farm in the midst of a virtual 
wilderness and where his early educational advantages were those 
afforded in the primitive country schools of the period. His father was 
one of the early settlers of Henry County, where neighbors were few and 
widely separated and where Indians and wild game were much in evi- 
dence. In a reminiscent way Mr. Norman recalls the fact that when his 
father essayed the construction of his rude log house on the embryonic 
farm in Henry County he was assisted by kindly and considerate neigh- 



1532 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

bors, if so they may be designated, who came from Henderson Grove, a 
place twenty-five miles distant, and aided him in building his humble 
abode. 

Mr. Norman is a son of Charles and Parthenia ( Arrowsmith) Norman, 
the former of whom was born in Virginia, at the foot of the Blue Ridge 
Mountains, in January, 1801, and the latter of whom was a daughter of 
Wesley Arrowsmith, of Bourbon County, Kentucky. Wesley Arrow- 
smith was born in North Carolina, and was a farmer by vocation, though 
never a slaveholder. He finally removed from Kentucky to Illinois, and 
he passed the closing years of his life in Mercer County of the latter 
state. Charles Norman accompanied his father, Moses Norman, from 
Virginia to Bourbon County, Kentucky, where his marriage was solem- 
nized. As Lincoln said of his own ancestral record, it was composed of 
the "short and simple annals of the poor," and this was essentially true 
in the case of Charles Norman, who received most limited educational 
advantages and who passed his mature life as a hard-working farmer. 
He was a man of sterling character and excellent judgment and did his 
part in connection with the development and progress of the State of 
Illinois, prior to removing to which he had been a pioneer in Vermilion 
County, Indiana, lying along the Illinois line. He reclaimed a farm in 
Henry County, Illinois, near the Mercer County line, and there he con- 
tinued to reside until his death, which occurred in 1892, after he had 
attained to the patriarchal age of ninety-one years, his wife, Parthenia, 
who had been a devoted helpmeet, having died in 1871. Of their children 
the eldest was Wesley, who was a farmer and carpenter by vocation and 
who was a resident of Nodaway County, Missouri, at the time of his 
death, several children surviving him ; Sarah became the wife of Alden 
Pearce and her death occurred in the State of Ohio; Moses removed 
from Illinois to Iowa and finally established his residence in Worth 
County, Missouri, where his death occurred and where he left a number of 
children ; Abner, of this review, was the next in order of birth ; Elizabeth, 
who became the wife of Horace McMullen, died at Farragut, Iowa, as did 
also her sister Mary, who was the wife of William McMullen ; Perlina, 
next older than Mary, became the wife of Solomon Sayre and her death 
occurred in Hardin County, Iowa ; Melissa, the wife of Charles Richmond, 
died in Mercer County, Illinois ; Charles served as a soldier in the Civil 
war, as a member of the One Hundred and Second Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry, and he passed the closing years of his life as a farmer in Mercer 
County, Illinois, where he died a bachelor ; Parthenia is the wife of John 
McElheiny, of Rock Island, Illinois; Andrew Jackson died in infancy; 
and Aaron, a bachelor, died in Mercer County, Illinois. 

As previously intimated, the early associations of Rev. Abner Norman 
were those of the pioneer farm of his father in Henry County, Illinois, 
and he has maintained during the long intervening years a deep appre- 
ciation of and allegiance to the great basic industry of agriculture, the 
foundation on which has ever rested much of our national prosperity. 
Mr. Norman was about thirty-one years of age at the inception of the 
Civil war and he soon made all other associations and interests secondary 
to the call of patriotism. In Henry County, Illinois, in 1862, he enlisted 
as a private in Company H, One Hundred and Twelfth Illinois Volunteer 
Infantry, Col. Thomas Henderson having been in command of the regi- 
ment and Capt. George W. Shrof, the commander of Company H. The 
regiment was assigned to the Twenty-third Corps of the Department of 
the Ohio, and was ordered to camp at Covington, Kentucky. Thence it 
proceeded to Lexington, that state, where it was stationed during the 
winter of 1862-3, in the spring of which latter year it crossed the moun- 
tains to Knoxville, Tennessee, where it was besieged by the forces under 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1533 

General Longstreet, and where Mr. Norman was wounded, by being shot 
in the mouth, the injury involving the loss of his front teeth. After being 
confined for a time in the hospital at Knoxville he was sent back to Illi- 
nois, as a nurse with a number of wounded men, and after an incidental 
visit of sixteen days at his home he rejoined his regiment at Lexington, 
Kentucky. In the spring of 1864 the command again crossed the moun- 
tains and at this time it joined Sherman's army at Buzzard's Roost, 
from which point it participated in the further operations of the Atlanta 
campaign until the fall of Atlanta. When Hood made his flank move- 
ment the Twenty-third Corps, of which Mr. Norman's regiment was a 
part, was cut off from the main body of the army, encountered Hood's 
forces at a point about seventy miles distant from Atlanta and thence 
fought him all the way to Nashville. Mr. Norman took part in the battles 
of Franklin and Nashville, and when Hood had been driven back across 
the Tennessee River the Twenty-third Corps was again separated from 
the main army and proceeded to Alexandria, Virginia, whence it went on 
transports to Fort Fisher, North Carolina, to assist in bringing into full 
Union control the Cape Fear River. In this connection it participated in 
the taking of Fort Anderson and Wilmington. From the latter point the 
command started across to Goldsboro, and it finally met Sherman's army, 
with which it was consolidated and marched to Raleigh and Greensboro, 
the latter place being the stage on which General Johnston surrendered 
his army and at which the troops under General Sherman were dis- 
charged. Some of the gallant soldiers returned by rail to their native 
states and others by water, as the surrender of Generals Lee and Johnston 
marked the close of the great fratricidal conflict. Mr. Norman made his 
way to the City of Chicago, where he received his pay and he then 
rejoined his family, on the 8th of July, 1865, after nearly three years 
of valiant and loyal service in behalf of the cause of the Union. 

Prior to his enlistment Mr. Norman had been in active service as a 
preacher of the United Brethren Church, his conversion having occurred 
when he was twenty-seven years of age, under the zealous exhortation of 
Rev. Joshua Dunham. Immediately after thus expressing his Christian 
faith, Mr. Norman began to give close attention to Bible study and his 
initial work in the ministry was that of a local preacher with a license 
from the quarterly conference, his first sermon having been delivered in 
the Hermitage schoolhouse in Henry County, Illinois. He was active in 
work of this order at the time when he went forth to battle for the 
integrity of the nation, and his final ordination as a clergyman of the 
United Brethren Church occurred at Shields' Chapel, in Fulton County, 
Illinois, under the direction of Bishop Edwards. His first regular charge 
was at Tylerville Mission, and while the incumbent of this pastorate he 
gave his attention also to the work of his farm. 

In 1876 Mr. Norman came from Illinois to Nodaway County, Missouri, 
where he purchased land near Gaynor, but in 1879 he removed to Worth 
County and established his home in the Village of Sheridan. He has been 
the owner of his present farm since 1883, the same being known as the old 
Joe Hall farm and comprising 120 acres of excellent land. Prior to com- 
ing to Missouri he had been for four years a resident of Fulton County, 
Illinois. The first ministerial work done by Mr. Norman in Missouri was 
that of traveling for two years through the district virtually represented 
by the activities of the United Brethren Church organization at Hopkins, 
Nodaway County, and for the two succeeding years the headquarters of 
his zealous and effective labors were at Grant City and its circuit. He 
later was in the Albany circuit, and his last regular work in the pulpit 
was on the Grant City circuit, with which he was identified at four 
different periods. He was serving as presiding elder of his district when 



1534 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

he received a stroke of paralysis, the incidental infirmity compelling 
his virtual retirement from the active work of the ministry soon after- 
ward, in 1911. 

Mr. Norman has never had any desire to enter the turbulence of prac- 
tical politics and has held himself measurably independent of strict 
partisan lines, though his convictions in a general way have been indicated 
by his support of the republican party in national elections. On one 
occasion he was thus questioned by a church brother : ' ' Brother Norman, 
I have heard you preach many a time and you have stayed at my house 
many times, but you have never told me your political views. Now to- 
night when you preach I want you to tell us what your politics are." 
When he had finished his sermon that evening Mr. Norman said to his 
congregation that he had nearly forgotten one thing. A brother had 
asked him to state his politics before he dismissed the congregation and 
he would respond to this request by saying that his politics were : ' ' Christ 
first, Christ second, and Christ all the time." 

While he has passed by far the three score years and ten marked in 
the span of life allotted by the psalmist of the Old Scriptures, Mr. 
Norman in appearance and mental and physical vigor gives denial to 
the years that have passed over his head — this showing that his has 
been a career of right living and right thinking. Though his naturally 
vigorous constitution was impaired to some extent by the hardships of 
his army life and certain physical disorders marked his course as a result, 
the ailments finally disappeared and in the gracious twilight of his long 
and useful life he is enjoying excellent health. Mr. Norman has shown 
much business acumen and circumspection and has made judicious invest- 
ments in consonance with the means at his command. In 1893 he removed 
to Oklahoma, where he took up a homestead claim of land in Garfield 
County, eleven miles south of Enid. He perfected his title to this home- 
stead and purchased another quarter section adjoining, so that he became 
the owner of a valuable tract of 320 acres, the property being now in the 
hands of his younger children. 

In Rock Island County, Illinois, on the 18th of January, 1855, Mr. 
Norman wedded Miss Mary J. Crist, daughter of William Crist, who was 
a gallant soldier in the war of 1812 and also in the Black Hawk Indian war 
and who carried in his body seven bullets as perpetual mementos of his 
military service. Mrs. Norman was summoned to the life eternal on the 
4th of May, 1899, and concerning the children of this union the following 
brief data are entered : Arminda is the wife of Abram Cox, of Chanute, 
Kansas; John M. died at Sheridan, Missouri, and is survived by one 
child; Ella is the wife of John Mantonya, of Fairview, Illinois; and 
George maintains his home at Eldorado Springs, Missouri. On the 8th 
of March, 1900, was solemnized the marriage of Rev. Abner Norman 
to Miss Mary E. Glick, daughter of Frederick Glick, whose father, 
Theobald Glick, immigrated to America from Germany. Frederick Glick 
wedded Miss Bettie Cole, and Mrs. Norman was one of their seven 
children. Mr. and Mrs. Norman have three children — Nellie, Abner 
Clarence, and Cecil Catherine. 

James Franklin Scott. The president of the Scott Mercantile Com- 
pany at Blythedale is a Northwest Missouri citizen whose career has illus- 
trated the best elements of substantial accomplishment. The man who 
has a willing industry and some readiness and versatility in adapting 
himself to the changing circumstances of life is always sure of success. 
The world always has something for such a man to do, and he will be 
certain to use each successive position as a stepping stone to better things. 

James F. Scott was born in Floyd County, Indiana, April 18, 1852. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1535 

His childhood was spent in the country and his education such as the 
country school gave him. His father had a farm and country blacksmith 
shop, and in the latter this son learned a trade, and for about three years 
ran the shop. Just before twenty years old he married, and supported 
his life household chiefly by his trade. In 1876 he came west, landing in 
Davis City, Iowa, worked as a journeyman for a time, and then did a 
drayirig business between Davis City and Leon. Without capital, he 
bought the line on time, and at the end of two years was induced by its 
former owner to turn his attention to merchandising. This substantial 
benefactor in his business career was J. E. Teale, a merchant and man 
of wealth in Davis City. He had acquired a very favorable impression 
of young Scott, and one day told the latter it was to his interest to take 
up the line for which he was best fitted by nature, since he would un- 
doubtedly succeed. His offer was accepted by Mr. Scott, who worked four 
years on a salary and in that time gained a thorough knowledge of 
merchandising. Then a working interest in the store was given him, 
and he managed the firm of J. F. Scott & Company two years. 

In the meantime his acquaintance in the county had brought him a 
popularity that caused the democrats to nominate him for the office of 
auditor of Decatur County. Entering the race in the face of a normal 
republican majority of 600, he justified the faith of his friends and sup- 
porters and was elected in 1883 and made an excellent record in the 
courthouse for the next two years. 

Leaving Davis City after about ten years, he for four years was in 
the real estate business at Independence, Missouri, and next enjoyed the 
keen competition of business in a big city, and for about four years was 
identified with the Metropolitan Hotel Company of Kansas City, Missouri, 
as its manager. During the last thirty-five years, with few interruptions, 
he has been in active business affairs. On leaving Kansas City and 
identifying himself with the Blythedale country, his first work was as a 
farmer. For three years he conducted a farm three miles south of town, 
and then in 1897 became a hardware merchant. The scope of his enter- 
prise as a merchant has been greatly expanded since he started here 
seventeen years ago. The beginning was with a stock valued at $1,500 on 
the site of the corner building of his present headquarters. Mr. C. B. 
Neville subsequently became associated with him, but after a few years 
his interests were acquired by Mr. Scott and sons, and they also bought 
out W. H. Scott, a brother, who had previously been one of Blythedale 's 
leading dry goods merchants. There were several separate enterprises 
under joint management at first, but gradually the proprietors have 
worked a consolidation, and now have a single store building of two 
rooms with a frontage of seventy-five feet, besides another large room 
which is occupied by the furniture store. Under its present title of 
Scott Mercantile Company it is in every sense of the word a department 
store and carries the largest stock of any department store in Harrison 
County, and the only one of its kind in Blythedale. Everything in gen- 
eral merchandise is handled, including dry goods, clothing, shoes, fur- 
niture, hardware, automobiles, groceries, etc. 

Besides the upbuilding of this enterprise, Mr. Scott has in other ways 
identified himself with the substantial improvement of the town, notably 
in the erection of the best home, a twelve-room modern residence, con- 
structed in 1909. For a number of years a member of the school board, 
it was largely his aggressive fight for better school facilities that gave 
the town its present school edifice. Twice he led the progressive citizens 
in elections and twice was defeated, but the third time his cause won, 
and now the four-room brick building is one of the attractive features 
of the town. During his residence in Harrison County, he has been com- 



1536 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

paratively inactive in politics except so far as local interests could be 
served. He is a past noble grand of the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, and his family have long been identified with the Christian 
Church. 

Mr. Scott's grandfather was John A. Scott, a native of Virginia and 
a minister of the Christian Church. In young manhood he located in 
Kentucky, and married Annie Reasor, whose people lived about Shelby- 
ville. From Kentucky he became a pioneer in Indiana, and died near 
New Albany. His children were : Reasor, who spent his life in Indiana ; 
James G., who lived and died in Indiana ; Robert, whose career was lived 
in the same state ; Rev. Harbert, mentioned below ; Vardeman, who lived 
in Indiana ; John, of the same state ; David, a cooper, whose work was all 
done in the same state; Moses R., also a cooper, and a resident of one 
county all his life; Emily, who married Samuel McCutcheon and died 
in Pawnee, Missouri ; Elizabeth, who married Thomas Akers and died in 
Indiana. 

Rev. Harbert Scott, father of the Blythedale merchant, was one of 
seven brothers, all of whom were preachers except one, who was a deacon 
in the family denomination. As already indicated, Harbert Scott was 
also a farmer and blacksmith, and was born near New Albany, Indiana, 
January 25, 1829. His life was one of great industry and with a sense 
of responsibility to his fellow men which he fulfilled by devoted service 
to the ministry while providing for the material wants of his family by 
hard labor. He lived on one farm half a century, until his death in 1911. 
He was a democrat in politics. He married Nancy McKinley, who died 
in 1911, just thirty days after her husband. Her father, James Mc- 
Kinley, who married a Miss Packwood, came from Virginia, and was a 
farmer and tanner at Borden, Indiana. Reverend and Mrs. Scott had the 
following children: James F.; Jincy, wife of T. J. Bell, of Pawnee, 
Missouri ; Miss Eliza, of Jeffersonville, Indiana ; William W., of St. 
Joseph, Missouri; Carter, of Davis City, Iowa; Winfield H., of Eufaula, 
Oklahoma; John R., now treasurer of Clark County, Indiana; Samuel 
L., superintendent of schools in Clark County; Emma and Lizzie, 
twins, the former Mrs. Henry Temple of Jeffersonville, Indiana, and 
the latter Mrs. Charles Emery, of New Albany; Zenas E., principal of 
schools at Asbury Park, New Jersey; Eva, wife of Harry E. Pickens, 
of New Albany; and Glenn E., superintendent of schools in Floyd 
County, Indiana. 

Mr. James F. Scott has a fine family of his own. He was married 
April 14, 1872, to Miss Olivia Taylor, daughter of Jonathan Taylor, 
whose wife was a Miss Horner. Mr. Taylor was a boat carpenter on the 
Ohio River. His children were: Goodrich, of Bloomington, Indiana; 
Laura E., wife of Albert Scott, of Greenville, Indiana; Olivia, wife of 
James F. Scott, born September 30, 1852 ; Susie, who married Joseph 
Scott, of Kansas City ; and Henry, of Blackwell, Oklahoma. 

Mr. and Mrs. Scott's children are: Cortez A., who married Norah 
Morgans, is general salesman for Kansas for the Wlieeler & Motler Mer- 
cantile Company, of St. Joseph, Missouri, and a stockholder in the above 
concern and also a stockholder in the Scott Mercantile Company of 
Blythedale, Missouri, his home being in Topeka, Kansas; Archie E., who 
is a member of the Scott Mercantile Company and president of the 
Farmers and Merchants Bank of Blythedale, married Bessie Canady; 
Winnie E. is the wife of Elza Jones of Blythedale, a prosperous farmer; 
Miss Dee Etta, of Kansas City ; Ralph F., of the Scott Mercantile Com- 
pany, married Winnie Craig; and Susie E. is the wife of Glenn H. Dale, 
a practicing lawyer at DeQueen, Arkansas. Mr. and Mrs. Scott have 
seven grandsons and four granddaughters. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1537 

Ezra H. Fbisby. The entire career of Ezra H. Frisby, one of the 
substantial business men and public-spirited citizens of Bethany, and 
one who has taken an active part in the upbuilding of this locality, has 
been spent in the community in which he now lives, he having been born 
near Bethany, in Harrison County, October 17, 1862, a son of Capt. 
Jonathan C. and Sarah J. (Briggs) Frisby. 

The grandfather of Ezra H. Frisby was born in Pennsylvania, where 
the family was located in the Pennsylvania Dutch settlement, and during 
the pioneer days, prior to the War of 1812, moved to Muskingum County, 
Ohio. In his latter years he was a Baptist minister, and his death oc- 
curred near Bloomington, Illinois, the grandmother passing away in 
1871, in Harrison County, Missouri. They were the parents of two 
children: Jonathan C. and Russell. By a former marriage the grand- 
father was the father of a son, James M., who died at Centerville, Iowa, 
and a daughter, Sarah, who married a Mr. Smith and died near Oska- 
loosa, Iowa. 

Capt. Jonathan C. Frisby was born in Muskingum County, Ohio, 
April 19, 1817, and was given but little schooling, attending the district 
schools two terms of four months each, and walking six miles for that 
meager training. From Zanesville, Ohio, he went to Bloomington, Illi- 
nois, and in 1858 came to Harrison County, Missouri, where he engaged 
in farming and established a place for himself among the modestly sub- 
stantial agriculturists of his locality. During the Civil war he was a 
captain in the Missouri militia, being identified with the Home Guards, 
and furnished a son for the Union army, James 0. Frisby, who served 
three and one-half years and was honorably discharged after a valiant 
service, without wounds or capture. Captain Frisby was once county 
judge of Harrison County, from 1868 to 1870, and was a member of the 
republican party from the time of its organization. Fraternally he was 
a Master Mason. He was widely known throughout Harrison County, 
and was particularly noted for his strong physique. In addition to 
general farming, he was engaged in buying and shipping stock at an 
early day, driving it to Chillicothe, Missouri, and Burlington, Iowa, for 
shipment. Captain Frisby married Sarah J. Briggs, a daughter of John 
Bowles and Catherine (Eveland) Briggs, natives of Muskingum County, 
Ohio, and she died August 4, 1894, Captain Frisby surviving her until 
June 20, 1903. They were the parents of the following children : James 
0., who died at Bethany, Missouri, December 25, 1894, leaving a widow 
and two sons ; Aclnah H., of Supply, Oklahoma ; Catherine, who became 
the wife of Dr. Jackson Walker, of Bethany; Perry, who died in New 
Mexico; and Frank, who died at Bismarck, North Dakota, both leaving 
families ; Jennie, who married Asa M. Wood, of Overland Park, Kansas ; 
and Ezra H. 

The boyhood of Ezra H. Frisby was passed in the vicinity of Bethany, 
where he secured his early education in the public schools, following 
which he graduated from Bethany High School and entered the law 
department of the University of Michigan, where he was graduated with 
his degree of Bachelor of Laws in 1883. Having completed his education, 
he was admitted to the bar of Michigan in the fall of 1882, and to the bar 
of Missouri in 1883, the latter upon examination before Judge Goodman. 
He was admitted to the bar in Marion County, Kansas, in 1886, but 
never practiced his calling except in Missouri. Mr. Frisby associated 
himself with Judge S. W. Vandivert, as Vandivert & Frisby, which 
combination was dissolved by the judge's removal to Kansas, and for 
some years Mr. Frisby practiced alone. His second partnership was 
with Judge Daniel S. Alvord, as Alvord & Frisby, which covered a period 
of twelve years and was dissolved by the death of Judge Alvord, and 



1538 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

Mr. Frisby's present partnership with his son, Frank M., was formed 
in 1911. 

Mr. Frisby's first important law ease was his prosecution and con- 
viction of Freeman J. Cochran for the murder of Stanbrough, the 
prisoner being convicted and sent to the gallows. Another murder case 
which he prosecuted was that of Mrs. Frances M. Linthicum for the 
killing of her child, but the jury brought in an acquittal. In his political 
life Mr. Frisby is a republican, and his first presidential vote was cast 
for James G. Blane, since which time he has never lost an opportunity 
of voting for presidential candidates of his party. He was secretary of 
the county central committee for several years and his campaign work 
comprises speeches in local campaigns. He attended the national re- 
publican convention at Chicago in 1908, when Taft was nominated, and 
was present as a spectator at the St. Louis convention in 1904, when 
Colonel Roosevelt was nominated for President. Mr. Frisby was elected 
county attorney of Harrison County in 1888 and again in 1890, and 
succeeded in office George W. Barlow. He was elected to the State 
Senate in November, 1904, at a special election to fill the term of 
Lieutenant-Governor McKinley, and filled this term with one session of 
the Legislature, his district comprising the counties of Harrison, Mercer, 
Grundy, Putnam and Livingston. His entry of the Senate marked his 
service in a democratic body and a republican house, and he served just 
the one term and then retired. Mr. Frisby was made a member of the 
Committee on Education, the Committee on Penitentiary and Reform, 
which started the work on the new buildings at Jefferson City, and the in- 
vestigating committee which was sent to St. Louis to investigate the 
Kerns-Niedringhaus senatorial contest. 

Mr. Frisby was one of the organizers of the Harrison County Bank 
and has been a director thereof since its inception, acting in a like 
capacity with the Bethany Savings Bank, was one of the incorporators of 
the Bethany Hardware Company, and president of the Bethany Printing 
Company, also holding large shares of stock in various other corporations 
of the town. He has had farming interests all of his life and at the 
present time has six different properties in Harrison County, being also 
extensively interested in wheat raising near Regina, Saskatchewan, 
Canada, where he is cultivating some 4,000 acres of land. As a builder of 
Bethany he erected his residence on the corner of Brush and East streets, 
and also is the owner of eight business houses here. In various ways and 
in numerous positions he has assisted in the material, industrial and civic 
development of this town. During four years he was city attorney, and 
from 1886 until 1890 he served in the capacity of mayor, but during this 
time nothing more was done beyond the routine business, although his 
administration was an exceptionally able and prosperous one. Fraternally 
Mr. Frisby is a Knight Templar Mason and belongs to the Knights of 
Pythias. His boyhood was passed under the influence of Christian 
parents of the Presbyterian faith. 

On April 20, 1885, Mr. Frisby was married at Eureka Springs, 
Arkansas, to Miss Eva M. Tucker, a daughter of James G. Tucker, 
formerly of Harrison County, Missouri, and a native of Bethany. Mr. 
Tucker married Rhoda J. Howell, and both now reside at St. Joseph. 
Mr. Tucker is a native of Virginia and passed the active years of his 
life as a farmer. His children. were four in number: George M., Thomas 
O., Mrs. Frisby and Lee. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. 
Frisby, namely : Miss Lane, a graduate of the New England Conserva- 
tory of Music, attended Northwestern University, Chicago, and Randolph- 
Macon College, Macon, Virginia; Frank M., schooled in Missouri Univer- 
sity, where he took a literary course, and the L T niversity of Michigan, 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1539 

where he graduated from the law department in 1898, since which time he 
has been engaged in practice, with his father since 1911 ; and Miss Lottie, 
who died in 1912, while attending the Bethany High School. 

James Kennish. One of the successful farmers of Holt County and 
a citizen always held in high esteem 'is James Kennish, who has spent 
most of his life in the vicinity of Mound City. Mr. Kennish is a man of 
thorough industry, has applied his energies to the complicated tasks of 
farming with the best results, and in all his relations stands honorably 
toward his community. 

Mr. Kennish is a Manxman, that is, a native of the Isle of Man, 
where he was born June 8, 1862. His parents were William and Catherine 
(Kello) Kennish, and their family comprised thirteen children, one of 
whom died young. When James was a child they emigrated to America, 
and first lived near Oregon, Missouri. They possessed exceedingly modest 
means, and in 1872 acquired a tract of 240 acres about six miles north- 
west of Mound City. It was unimproved land, excepting a small acreage 
under plow, and the father showed great enterprise and determination 
against obstacles in providing for his family and improving his farm. 
That was the home of the parents as long as they lived. 

James Kennish acquired a country school education, and worked for 
his father a number of years. Finally he and his brother, Thomas, rented 
the home place on shares, and finally Mr. Kennish bought a quarter 
section of land east of Mound City. In 1897 he married Gertrude Strat- 
ford Saunders. They have two children, Lois and Johnnie, both of whom 
were born in Holt County. 

Mr. Kennish lived on his first farm until 1900, and then rented a half 
section for two years and then bought 240 acres of this half section. He 
now has a farm of 240 acres, all in a body, and he is one of the representa- 
tive and prosperous farmers of Holt County. His work has been along 
general farming lines, and there are few men in Holt County who have 
surpassed him as a producer of regular staples, and as a breeder of 
Poland China hogs he stands in the front rank. He has also handled 
Shorthorn cattle, and makes a practice of breeding and raising only the 
best grade stock. Mrs. Kennish is a member of the Methodist Episcopal 
Church. In politics Mr. Kennish is a republican. Of Mr. Kennish 's 
family, his brother, John, is a member of the Utilities Commission, having 
been appointed by the governor, and lives in Jefferson City, Robert is 
deceased, Thomas lives on a part of the home farm, Edward is a farmer in 
Arkansas, Anna and Maggie live in California, Christian is a resident of 
Colorado, Catharine lives in Mound City, Ellen resides near Mound City, 
Jennie resides on a part of the home farm, and Alice lives with her 
brother, Edward, in Arkansas. 

William Lorin Webb. In Harrison County, on the road between 
Bethany and Cainsville known as the Coal Valley Trail, is a farm home 
that suggests the solid comforts of country life and the enterprise of a 
successful citizen. For the past six decades there has been no family 
whose general position and activities have been more useful in the com- 
munity than the Webbs. The farm just referred to belongs to William 
L. Webb, who has lived in this section all his life, having been born on 
the old Webb homestead two miles south of Mount Moriah, December 19, 
1856. 

His father was the late pioneer Joseph Webb, who came into Missouri 
in 1844 and a dozen years later settled in Harrison County. The grand- 
father was Jonathan Webb, who was born in Connecticut while the 
Revolutionary war was in progress, and whose activities were identified 



1540 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

with the tilling and management of the soil. After his marriage he was 
crippled by a fall from a loft onto a cook stove, and remained so for life. 
His career was spent in several states of the Middle West, and from 
Iowa he moved to Harrison County not long before the war and lived 
there with his wife until his death at the age of eighty-nine. He married 
Elizabeth Henisey, of English stock, and she lived to eighty-two, and both 
are buried at Mount Moriah. Of their children one daughter married a 
Mr. Smith and lived in Iowa ; Catherine married Henry Levan and lived 
in Nevada ; Mrs. Millie Warnock had her home in Iowa ; Ephraim, whose 
home was in Columbus, Ohio, was a preacher and for many years in the 
employ of the railroads at the union station there, and was so well thought 
of that the company built him an overhead room for holding his preaching 
services; Jonathan was a farmer whose life was spent about Mount 
Moriah ; and Edward, who lived and died on a farm at Warren, Missouri. 

Later generations in Harrison County will do well to remember and 
honor the memory of such men as the late Joseph Webb. He was born 
in Wayne County, Pennsylvania, June 24, 1820, and during his youth, 
which was spent partly in his native state and partly in Ohio, all his 
schooling was compressed in not more than three months. He came to 
know several states and many localities along the frontier, and was living 
in Iowa when he became of age. There he bought twenty acres of land, 
paid for it from his wages of $8 a month as farm hand, and after 
locating his parents there and thus giving them the means of providing 
for themselves, he set out to make his independent fortune. Working 
here awhile and there awhile, he finally reached the vicinity of St. Louis. 
Out of his earnings he bought a horse to transport himself from place to 
place, and when near St. Louis loaned this animal to a stranger to drive 
cattle and as he was sick at the time that was the last he saw of his 
horse. When he recovered he began chopping cordwood at 25 cents a 
cord, and in this way began working back to financial independence. He 
remained for some time in St. Louis County, working for farmers, and 
eventually acquiring a team and some other property. An interest in a 
threshing outfit proved the most profitable venture so far. During the 
several years he operated the machine he showed such industry and 
application that even his marriage called him away from his duties only 
one evening, when he drove to St. Charles and was back in the following 
morning. 

His first visit to Harrison County was made on horseback, and during 
an inspection of the country about Mount Moriah he discovered the knoll 
upon which he subsequently settled, and then rode to Bethany to enter 
the land. Collins Hamilton, a carpenter on the river nearby, was hired 
to build his first house, a log building, with a very few comforts and 
conveniences, and with only a dirt floor the first winter. Most. of his 
children, if not all of them, were born in that home. On moving from 
St. Charles County, he headed a considerable cavalcade, consisting of two 
yoke of cattle, a horse team and an extra horse pulling a phaeton, with 
a darky and an Irishman as drivers of the teams. He also had $500 in 
money, and during the first winter Mr. Webb and the Irishman split out 
rails and hauled them sufficient to fence in 100 acres. This land having 
been enclosed and broken up the following spring, he planted his first 
crop of corn and began a successful career of farming in the new country 
of Northwest Missouri. The range was then open and a large part of 
his profits came from the cattle and other livestock that he kept in 
increasing numbers on the pastures. He employed system and con- 
servatism in the management of his business affairs, but usually bought 
any kind of stock that his neighbors offered for sale, and in this way his 
dealings became extensive. His first important venture was the buying of 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1541 

100 head of work steers, which he fattened and drove to Osceola, Iowa, 
as the shipping point. He continued feeding and shipping his own stock, 
and buying and fattening others, and was a regular and large shipper to 
the Chicago market for a number of years. The profits which came to 
him he invested in land, and as fast as he added a farm to his holdings 
he rented it. He loaned a large amount of money, and some land came to 
him through mortgages. On the whole, he was a buyer more frequently 
than a seller. One of his policies was to buy all the corn offered by his 
neighbors, and he frequently had rows of rail pens piled high with corn 
that cost him 10 cents a bushel, and this he either kept until better prices 
could be secured or fed to his hogs and cattle. In his granary was always 
a supply of wheat for his bread, and so far as known there was never 
a time when he did not have an ample margin of corn beyond the needs 
of his stock. Apparently everything he touched turned to money under 
his management, and his land holdings at one time comprised 2,000 acres 
nearly in one body. 

As a citizen he was patriotic and at the outbreak of the Civil war tried 
to enlist. Sometime before during an illness he had been salivated and 
his teeth came out, a condition which rendered him incapable of duty as 
a soldier. His physician at Princeton, to whom he reported for examina- 
tion, told him to go home and not think of enlisting because he could 
not eat, let alone bite a cartridge and do other things required of a 
soldier. Failing to go himself, he sent a substitute, Robert Baker, and 
also provided seven mounts from his stock for the militiamen of the state. 
Politically he confined his interest to casting a vote for democratic candi- 
dates, while his father and brothers were all republicans, the former 
originally a whig. He was a Missionary Baptist in church affairs, and 
also a Knight Templar Mason. 

A few years after the war Joseph Webb engaged in merchandising 
at Cainsville with J. H. Burrows, and that was a successful partnership 
for several years, and later was at Mount Moriah for several years. Still 
later he became identified with banking, first at Lyons, Kansas, where 
his son-in-law, Mr. Deupree, organized a bank. Later he joined another 
son-in-law, J. W. Pulliam, at Little River, Kansas, in the organization of 
a bank, and when his youngest daughter married G. W. Hanna his 
assistance was extended to the latter in the establishment of a bank at 
Galvia, Kansas. Mr. Deupree, Jo Slatten, Joseph Bryant and Mr. Webb 
organized banks at other points in Kansas, and they were successful in- 
stitutions until the panic of 1893 and the crash of small banks all over the . 
West, when their "second loans" brought bankruptcy, and Joseph Webb 
was a heavy loser. Joseph Webb was a man of strenuous activity all his 
life. While not of large physique, he weighed 180 pounds, was stout as 
a mule and could lift 900 pounds, only one man in Missouri having ever 
proved his superior in this feat of strength. He was always in the lead 
when work was to be done, and he could never bear to see anyone idle. 
His own children were put into the harness of practical work at an early 
age, and he impressed them with the value of time. If a rain drove his 
workers to shelter, he always had some task ready to hand until the 
weather cleared. If nothing else, there was wood to chop or stable to 
clean. 

Joseph Webb married his first wife in St. Charles, Missouri, but she 
died in nineteen months without children. His second wife, whom he 
married in 1854, died in seven months. In February, 1856, in St. Charles 
County he married Elizabeth Cockrell. She became the mother of eleven 
children, and the eight who grew up are mentioned : William L. ; Martha 
L., wife of E. A. Deupree, of Dora, Missouri; Charles T., a farmer of 
Mount Moriah; Mary C, wife of J. W. Pulliam of Lyons, Kansas; Joseph 



1542 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

E., of San Diego, California; J. Richard, a farmer at Mount Moriah; 
Sarah E., wife of George W. Hanna, of Kansas City ; and James A., of 
Bethany, Missouri. 

The extensive business relations of Joseph Webb furnished a scene of 
action already prepared for his son, William L. Webb. He obtained an 
education from the country schools, but began farming when eight years 
old. Plowing was about his first important service, and by the age of 
fifteen he was counted as a full hand in the harvest field. His father 
used him a great deal in his stock operations, and he often went to Prince- 
ton for the thousands of dollars needed to pay for the stock when it was 
assembled at such points as Clinkinbeard's, at Cheney's near Ridgeway, 
and also at Mount Moriah where Joseph Webb put in the first scales. 
Until the railroad came the shipping was done through Osceola, Iowa, and 
later from Princeton. Among other experiences Mr. Webb became ac- 
quainted with merchandising and spent two years of his early manhood 
in running a store at Mount Moriah, and this was a practical addition 
to his general education. 

When Mr. William Webb married he located on one of the tenant 
places of the family homestead, and the next year came to his present 
farm. At the time there was a fairly good house, but it burned and was' 
replaced by the present residence. Much of his 260 acres Mr. Webb 
rents, but in the course of thirty years all the improvements represent 
his practical work and judgment. He is a stockholder in the Bank of 
Mount Moriah, to which his father stood in a similar relation. Mr. Webb 
was the pioneer in using the road drag along his own highway, known as 
the Coal Valley Trail. He is a democrat in state and national questions, 
but supports the man who will give service on local matters. He has 
served as secretary of Mount Moriah Lodge of Odd Fellows, and his 
household is represented through his wife and daughter, Zoe Louise, in 
the Methodist Church. 

April 24, 1881, Mr. Webb married Miss Carrie Mumma, the youngest 
child of John and Mary (Blount) Mumma, Her father died at Win- 
chester, Indiana, and was buried at his birthplace, Middletown, Ohio. 
His wife was a daughter of Ambrose Blount, who was a doctor and who 
had a son, a famous dentist at Springfield, Ohio. After the death of 
John Mumma his widow came to Missouri in 1869 and married George 
Stewart of Mount Moriah, where she spent her last days. The other chil- 
dren besides Mrs. Webb were : Charles, of St. Joseph ; Ambrose, who was 
killed while a soldier in the Union army ; Eliza, who married Daniel Kent 
and died in Harrison County ; John, of Kansas City ; Mary, who married 
Elias M. Riley and died in Harrison County, leaving a daughter, Mrs. 
Doctor Stoughton, of Ridgeway. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Webb 
are mentioned briefly as follows: James Edwin, who was killed by a 
horse when four and a half years old; William Earl, a farmer, who 
married Grace Coffman and has two children, Joseph Paul and Freida 
Elizabeth ; and Miss Zoe Louise, who graduated from the Bethany High 
School and attended the University of Missouri at Columbia, and is now 
teaching in the Mount Moriah schools. 

Will C. Baldwin. Harrison County has profited by the stable citi- 
zenship and unfaltering industry of the Baldwin family since 1857. 
Practically all bearing the name have been interested in agriculture, 
but their services have been extended also to business, finance, politics, 
education, religion and society. Will C. Baldwin, a resident of Martins- 
ville, president of the Farmers' Insurance Company, and widely known 
as a farmer, is the representative of the third generation of Baldwins 
in Harrison County. He was born in his present locality in Dallas 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1543 

Township, October 4, 1860, and his old home is still in the family, it 
having been entered from the United States Government by his father 
in 1857. 

Ezra Baldwin, the grandfather of Will C. Baldwin, entered the land 
upon which Martinsville is now situated and made that his home until 
he passed away in 1884. He was a New York man, born in that state 
in 1800, and was there given good educational advantages, eventually 
adopting the profession of law, at Detroit and in other cities of Michigan. 
At one time he was a member of the Michigan Legislature, and prior 
to the organization of the republican party gave his support to the whigs. 
Mr. Baldwin came West to secure homes for his children from the public 
domain, and what little he had to do with affairs in Harrison County 
was as a farmer. Mr. Baldwin was a good business man and died leaving 
a landed estate. He married Mary McClung, an Irish girl, born in 
County Armagh. Ireland, who came to the United States in 1819, 
when she was twenty years of age, and she passed away in 1886. Their 
children were as follows: Ezra T., the father of Will C. Baldwin; 
Edward, who was a resident of Texas when the Civil war came on, served 
in that struggle as captain o*f a company of Texas troops in the Con- 
federate service, returned successfully to his home and took up the 
practice of law, and spent his latter years in Harrison County, Missouri, 
where he died ; Sarah, who gave many years of her life to school teach- 
ing, married George Raines, and died near Mount Ayr, Iowa; and 
Alexander, who died unmarried. 

Ezra T. Baldwin, father of Will C. Baldwin, was born at Birming- 
ham, Michigan, March 24, 1837, and spent his boyhood in that city and 
at Detroit, where his father practiced law. He was given the privileges 
of a liberal education, and this assisted him greatly in after years, when 
it enabled him to surpass the business qualifications of the average of 
his fellowmen in Missouri. He was early able to see the future of Mis- 
souri lands, and acquired a great amount of other land adjacent to his 
original entry, mentioned before, becoming one of the leading farmers 
of his part of Harrison County, and at his death deeding his property 
to his children in common, in which form it still stands. Mr. Baldwin 
was residing in this county when the great struggle between the North 
and the South swept across the country, and he gave his support to the 
Union, not only morally, but as a soldier. For several years of the war 
he held the rank of lieutenant, and his service was principally in Mis- 
souri, but although evidence has it that he was at all times a brave and 
faithful soldier, in later years he would say little about his service, and 
he seldom took part in the meetings or activities of the Grand Army 
of the Republic. In political matters he was a republican, and was an 
active man in that sphere, attending numerous conventions and state 
meetings, particularly in early days. In 1872 he was elected to the office 
of county treasurer of Harrison County, but with the expiration of his 
four-year term his public services ceased. As a business man, Mr. Bald- 
win was one of the main factors in the organization of the Bank of 
Martinsville, and at the time of his death was its chief executive. Fra- 
ternally, his connection was with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, 
assisted to organize the lodge at Martinsville, and filled its chief chair 
for a long period. A man of determination and initiative, he always 
had his plans ready and complete and followed them to the letter, while 
he left behind him a record worthy to be studied by posterity, for his 
great success was built up on nothing more than his disposition to 
achieve. 

Mr. Baldwin was united in marriage with Miss Margaret Clark, a 
daughter of Thomas Clark, who lived and died in Ohio, and who was 



1544 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

engaged in agricultural pursuits. Mrs. Baldwin passed away in 1878, 
at the age of forty-two years, having been the mother of four children, 
as follows : Will C, of this review ; Elmer, who is a successful farmer 
and owns a property in the vicinity of Martinsville; Miss Lucile, who 
is engaged in teaching public school in Harrison County; and Miss 
Hattie May. 

William C. Baldwin had access to the Stanberry Normal after the 
public schools, and after his graduation therefrom, in 1884, entered upon 
his career as a public school teacher. This he followed for some eight 
years, doing work at Martinsville and became popularly known, but 
during this time did not discard the vocation of farmer, an occupation 
in which he had been reared. At the time of his marriage he located at 
his present home, where he has continued to reside to the present time 
and to be successfully engaged in farming and stock raising, pursuits 
for which he has demonstrated great adaptability. 

Mr. Baldwin was married May 20, 1886, to Miss Hattie Robins, a 
daughter of John Robins, an old pioneer of Linn County, Iowa, where 
Mrs. Baldwin was born in 1868. There were four children in the Robins 
family, namely : Mrs. Baldwin ; Will ; Libbie, the wife of Bert Pletcher ; 
and Ella, the wife of L. Roberts. Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin have one child : 
Marie, who is the wife of Will Ross, the latter the active farmer of the 
Will C. Baldwin homestead. 

Mr. Baldwin is a republican in politics, but has held no public office. 
He is a valued and popular member of the local lodge of the Independent 
Order of Odd Fellows, in which he is past grand. His religious con- 
nection is with the Martinsville Presbyterian Church, and for several 
years has served as elder. The Farmers Insurance Company of Harrison 
County, of which Mr. Baldwin is president, was organized in 1897, at 
which time he became a member of the board of directors. He was made 
president of this institution' in 1912, and has represented it in the con- 
ventions of the Farmers' Mutual Insurance Association of Missouri on 
various annual occasions. He has written business for this company for 
the west half of Harrison County since the time of its organization. 

Robert Russell. A Holt County citizen whose enterprise is ex- 
hibited in the ownership of a fine farm in Liberty Township, which repre- 
sents the accumulations of his active experience, Robert Russell is a native 
of Holt County, and represents one of the pioneers of this section of 
Missouri. 

He was born at Oregon, Missouri, December 9, 1858, a son of R. H. 
and Mary (Crowley) Russell. He was one of a family of seven children, 
and after the death of his mother, his father married Susan Bishop, and 
there were three children by that union. R. H. Russell came to Missouri 
from Miami County, Ohio, and founded a home in Holt County when it 
was just emerging from the wilderness. 

Robert Russell married Bettie Cottrell. They were married in Oregon, 
where Mrs. Russell was born, a daughter of John and Matilda (Kennedy) 
Cottrell. Mrs. Russell had one sister and one brother, and after her 
mother's death her father was again married and had a child by the 
second wife. Mr. and Mrs. Russell are the parents of two children, both 
of whom were born in Holt County. Their names are Leila and Cleve. 
The son married Ruth Vance, and has one child, Marcell. 

After his marriage Mr. Russell began to provide a living for his family 
by working for others, and some years later settled on a farm of his own 
two miles east of Oregon. He cleared it up and did some improvement, 
then sold at an advantage, and continued buying and selling and im- 
proving land until he located on his present farm in 1901. Previously 




^"■^^ 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1545 

he and his family had spent two years in California. The present Russell 
farm in Liberty Township comprises 120 acres, and practically all its 
improvements represent the management of Mr. Russell. Mr. Russell 
has served on the school board of Holt County, and in politics is a 
democrat. 

William Henry Winningham, M. D. Many of the men in the med- 
ical profession today are devoting themselves in a large measure to the 
prevention of disease as well as its cure. In this way their efficiency as 
benefactors has extended much beyond the scope of the old-fashioned 
practice when the doctor was related to his patients only as an individual. 
One of the ablest representatives of this type of modern physician, 
who has enjoyed special prestige as a physician and surgeon, is Dr. Wil- 
liam H. Winningham of Trenton. Doctor Winningham for the past two 
years has served as city and county physician, and is a man of broad 
attainments and has given much practical service to the community 
through his professional work. He comes of an old Northwest Mis- 
souri family, and its members have been prominent in the professions 
and in business and public affairs. 

William Henry Winningham was born in Harrison County, Missouri. 
His father, Isam Winningham, was born in the same county in 1844. 
Grandfather John Winningham was a native of Kentucky, came to 
Missouri and after a short residence in Boone County moved to Har- 
rison County, where he was one of the pioneers. He entered land 
from the Government about two miles northeast of the present site of 
Bethany. Possessing means and exceptional enterprise, in 1849 he fitted 
out a train of ox teams and made the overland journey to California. 
In that state he disposed of his teams and other merchandise, and re- 
turned east by sea around Cape Horn. Subsequently he ventured twice 
more into the wilds of the West. On the third trip he loaded his wagons 
with bacon and boots, much in demand among the mining population of 
California. Arriving there he disposed of his goods at a profit, but lost 
his life while returning home. His wife, whose maiden name was Melinda 
Boyd, was left a widow with seven young children, and had considerable 
trouble to keep them all together and give each a substantial education 
and training for life. She spent her last days in Gentry County. Her 
children were: Charles, Isam, Frank, Sharpe, Julia, May and Sarah. 
Charles lost his life while a soldier in the Confederate army; Frank 
embraced the profession of medicine and for upwards of half a century 
practiced in Harrison County. Sharpe is still a substantial farmer of 
Harrison County. Julia married William Buzzard and lives at Cedar 
Edge, Colorado. Sarah died unmarried, and Mary married Dr. F. M. 
Burgin, who for about fifty years was a physician in Harrison County. 

Isam Winningham grew up in Harrison County, was a young man 
when the war broke out, and at the age of seventeen enlisted for service 
in the Confederate army, his and his family's sympathies having been 
with the South. He fought under General Price in the important cam- 
paign in Southwestern Missouri and Northwestern Arkansas and was 
severely wounded at Pea Ridge, the culminating battle of that campaign. 
After a few weeks he recovered and with that exception fought with his 
command through all its campaigns and battles until the close of the 
war. Returning home he resumed farming at the old homestead, and in 
1880 moved to Albany, where he was engaged in the hardware trade until 
1900. Selling out, he then continued his business enterprise, although 
at a good old age, and at Edinburg operated a feed mill until his death 
in 1904. His life was terminated through the explosion of a boiler in 
his mill, and thus both grandfather and father of Doctor Winningham 



1546 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

lost their lives while in the active work of their careers. Isam Winning- 
ham was married in Benton County, Arkansas, to Nannie Neill. She was 
born at Nashville, Tennessee, and her father, John Neill, moved to 
Arkansas in 1851. He brought his family with him and with teams and 
wagons penetrated the wilds of Northwest Arkansas and established a 
pioneer home in Benton County. Benton County was then and for many 
years afterwards located on the frontier, there was no railroad within a 
hundred miles, and Nannie Neill was thus reared in the midst of pioneer 
surroundings. Benton County was in the direct path of the important 
campaign of the early Civil war which terminated in the battle of Pea 
Ridge, and Nannie Neill met her future husband while he was lighting 
under General Price, and they were married some time during the prog- 
ress of the war. She is still living, her home at Edinburg, and has reared 
four children: William Henry, May, wife of C. S. Horr. of Kansas City; 
Katie, wife of David Witten ; and Amie, wife of Charles Warner. 

Doctor Winningham received his early education in the country 
schools and subsequently attended the Albany High School and the Stan- 
berry Normal. When he was nineteen years old he taught his first term, 
and had already determined upon medicine as his profession. He began 
the study of medicine with Dr. G. F. Peery of Albany, and subsequently 
entered Marion Sims Medical College, now the medical department of 
the St. Louis University. He graduated M. D. March 23, 1893. His 
initial practice was in Albany, and in 1893 he moved to Edinburg and 
in 1905 established his office at Trenton. Doctor Winningham has never 
been content to fall into a rut in practice, and has been a constant student 
and a close observer ever since beginning practice. In 1901 he took post- 
graduate work in the Chicago Polyclinic, and in 1904 did further work 
in St. Louis and several times since then has absented himself from his 
local business long enough to enjoy the opportunities of the larger cities 
and hospitals. 

In August, 1895, Doctor Winningham married Miss Nannie Floyd 
Witten, who was born in Daviess County, Missouri, a daughter of William 
and Pamelia Witten. Mrs. Winningham died in 1899, and left two 
daughters, Elizabeth and Helen. Elizabeth died when fourteen years 
old, and Helen is now a student in the Trenton High School. Doctor Win- 
ningham has membership in the Grundy County and Missouri State 
Medical societies and the American Medical Association. Fraternally 
he is affiliated with Trenton Lodge No. Ill, A. F. & A. M. ; Royal Arch 
Chapter No. 66 at Trenton; and Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery No. 
24, Knights Templars. He is also affiliated with Lodge No. 801 of the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, with the Knights of the Mac- 
cabees and with Edinburg Lodge No. 394, 1. 0. O. F. Doctor Winningham 
has served as city and county physician for the past two years, and has 
done much to safeguard public health and improve the public knowledge 
and practice of sanitation in this community. 

Godfrey Marti. A resident of Holt County for thirty years, Godfrey 
Marti is the owner of a large and finely improved farm near Mound City. 
His career has encouragement for young men who start without resources 
except those contained in themselves. Mr. Marti was foreign born, came 
to this country in young manhood, had no capital, and began his career 
as a renter, steadily prospered and thriftily turned his surplus into more 
land, until he now finds himself independent and with ample provision 
for the future of himself and family. 

Godfrey Marti was born in Switzerland May 15, 1864, a son of John 
and Rose (Schorer) Marti. The parents were born and married in 
Switzerland, and after seven children were born to them, six daughters 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1547 

and one son, they all emigrated to America in 1883. They came directly 
to Northwest Missouri, settling in Holt County. The father died in Holt 
County in 1909, and the mother is now seventy-two years of age and 
living with a daughter in Wisconsin. Both parents were members of the 
German Methodist Church, and the father now rests in Mount Hope 
Cemetery. 

Godfrey Marti had a limited education, and learned the English 
language after coming to America. Hard work constituted the lever by 
which he elevated himself into prosperity. For several months after 
reaching Northwest Missouri he worked as a laborer for others, and then 
for two years was a renter. With such means and credit as he could 
acquire, he bought a small piece of land, and has kept adding in small 
amounts until his present farm comprises 300 acres. His original pur- 
chase consisted of 120 acres in section 6 of Liberty Township. It was 
considered an improved farm, though the improvements were poor as 
compared with those at present. The old house burned down, and Mr. 
Marti has replaced it with a comfortable modern dwelling, and has also 
erected a good barn. 

Mr. Marti married Mary Schneider, daughter of George Schneider. 
They are the parents of five children : John. Frances, Anna, Herman 
and -Lester, all of whom were born on the Marti farm. Mr. Marti and 
family are members of the German Methodist Church, and in politics he 
is a republican, the same party with which his father affiliated. 

J. E. Ward. Long known as an enterprising and successful farmer 
in Holt County, J. E. Ward came to this section of Northwest Missouri 
about thirty-five years ago, and has since been identified with the com- 
munity about Mound City and vicinity. Mr. Ward in early life had to 
struggle hard for what he got, and since coming to Northwest Missouri 
has found ample reward for his industry, and is one of the men of sub- 
stantial influence in Holt County. 

J. E. Ward was born in Parke County, Indiana. September 21. 1848, 
a son of John E. and Margaret (Mulhallen) Ward. The. parents were 
married in Western Indiana, where the father was a blacksmith. Seven 
children comprised the family, and three of them are now deceased. 
When J. E. Ward was nine years of age the father died, and the family 
was thus left without a head, and the children had to bear an important 
share in the supporting activities. They had previously moved to Pervia 
and from there went to Marshall County, Illinois, where the father died. 
The family then moved out on the prairie thirteen miles east of Lacon, 
Illinois, the county seat of Marshall County, and remained there until 
1879. J. E. Ward began work there as soon as his strength permitted. 
His education came from the local schools, and as a boy he was hired out 
to others and had a thorough experience as a farm workman. The little 
homestead in Illinois on which the family lived comprised eighty acres. 
Mr. Ward lived there until about 1879 and after selling the Illinois land 
came to Northwest Missouri. 

Mr. Ward has 240 acres in Holt County, and when he first settled on 
it, it had no improvements. His mother lived with him until her death. 
Mr. Ward married Catherine Cottier, daughter of Thomas Cottier, one 
of the oldest and best known early settlers of Holt County. To their 
union have been born five children : Walter D., born January 5, 1883 ; 
Thomas C, born Februarv 8, 1885 ; Minerva, born July 25, 1890 ; Clifford 
G., born October 18, 1893 ; and Harold C, born January 12, 1896. All 
the children were born in Holt County, received their education in the 
local schools, and are now useful members of society. At the time of 
their marriage Mrs. Ward's father gave them 120 acres of land, 



1548 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

unimproved, on which they located and improved the same, also 
adding to it another 120 acres. All the improvements have been made by- 
Mr. Ward. In 1913 his house of seven rooms and contents burned to the 
ground, causing a loss of about four thousand dollars, with small insur- 
ance. But the same year he rebuilt his present residence at a cost of 
about thirty-five hundred dollars, a modern house of nine rooms. 

The family worship in the Christian Church. Mr. Ward has taken 
an active part in local affairs, for a number of years has served on the 
school board, and while originally a republican in politics, with his father 
a whig voter before him, has recently become a democrat. 

John G-. Fries. The great Empire State has contributed in large 
degree to the citizenship of Northwest Missouri, and those who claim New 
York as the place of their birth have, as a rule, been found to be men of 
industry, ability and energetic nature. All, however, have not met with 
the success that has attended the efforts of John G. Fries, who is accounted 
one of the leading farmers of Holt County, and the owner of 250 acres of 
land in Benton Township. When he first came to Northwest Missouri, 
Mr. Fries was possessed of little save his native industry and determina- 
tion, but through intelligent and well-directed effort he has steadily ad- 
vanced himself to a position of substantiality among the men of his 
adopted community. 

John G. Fries was born November 14, 1850, at Callicoon, Sullivan 
County, New York, and is a son of George and Minnie Fries, natives of 
Germany. The parents of Mr. Fries emigrated to the United States and 
were married in New York. They settled at Callicoon, New York, where 
the rest of their lives was passed in the pursuits of the soil. One of a 
family of eleven children, John G. Fries secured a common school educa- 
tion in his native state and grew up amid agricultural surroundings, so 
that it was but natural that he should adopt farming as his life work. 
He was still a young man when, with his brothers, he sought the broader 
opportunities of the West, coming to Northwest Missouri and settling 
in Holt County, near the Village of Oregon. The brothers settled on a 
tract of 250 acres of raw land, on which there had been made no im- 
provements, and through hard and industrious labor converted it into a 
valuable and productive property. Later their interests were divided 
and John G. Fries went to Atchison County, Missouri, where he pur- 
chased a modest property and as the years passed added to it from time 
to time until he had a large and valuable farm, on which he made many 
improvements. He eventually became satisfied that Holt County offered 
a better field for his labors, and in 1913 he returned to this county, taking 
up his residence in Benton Township, not far from Mound City. Here 
he has continued to be engaged in general farming and feeding stock, and 
through good management, a thorough knowledge of modern agricultural 
methods and tireless perseverance, has put 250 acres of land under a high 
state of cultivation and is accounted one of his community's substantial 
men. He has made many improvements of an up-to-date character and 
his farm reflects his industry and ability, his buildings are commodious 
and substantial, and his stock well fed and content. He has 340 acres of 
land in Dale Township, Atchison County, Missouri, in addition to his 
250 in Holt County, and is a general farmer and stock raiser. His busi- 
ness ability has enabled Mr. Fries to secure the best of prices in the local 
markets for his product, and those who have had business transactions 
with him know him as a strictly reliable and honorable man of business. 
While he is not a politician, he takes a keen interest in those things which 
affect the welfare of his community, and may be counted upon to support 
good and beneficial movements. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1549 

Mr. Fries was married to Miss Rosa Brown, who was born in Henry 
County, Indiana, a daughter of Isaac Brown, their union being solem- 
nized October 11, 1884. Mr. Brown was one of Henry County's promi- 
nent citizens, serving as justice of the peace and township trustee for a 
number of years, and was the father of three daughters and four sons. 
Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Fries, all in Atchison 
County, namely : Sarah Sylvia, Mammie N., John J. and Lawrence. 
Mrs. Fries is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and, like her 
husband, is widely and favorably known in Benton Township. 

David F. Romine. A worthy representative of a sturdy pioneer 
family of Holt County, Missouri, is found in the person of David F. 
Romine, who is now carrying on successful agricultural operations on 
the old homestead place in Bigelow (now Minton) Township. Here he 
has spent his entire career, and while he is still in the prime of man- 
hood, he has witnessed some remarkable changes and developments in 
this agricultural region. Mr. Romine was born on the farm on which 
he now resides, February 20, 1872, and is a son of George and Mar- 
guerite (Martin) Romine. 

George Romine was born of honorable parents who were in modest 
financial circumstances, and during his boyhood was forced to undergo 
numerous hardships and to give up many of the pleasures which the 
average American youth considers his birthright. Reared in a farming 
community, he labored in the fields and secured such educational ad- 
vantages as the district schools afforded in the winter months, and thus 
continued until the outbreak of the Civil war aroused his patriotism and 
he enlisted for service as a private in an Indiana regiment of volunteers. 
When the war had closed, spent with his long and arduous service, Mr. 
Romine looked for a field in which his labors might bear fruit, and 
eventually deciding upon Missouri as a promising locality, came to this 
state in 1866 and settled on an unimproved farm in Holt County. Here, 
with his young wife, he resolutely set to work to conquer the unpromising 
conditions. The first shelter for the family was a one-room cabin, the 
one room serving as dining-room, living-room and bedroom, to which a 
small lean-to kitchen was later added, which, to the mind of the young 
mother, made this a most wonderful home. The energetic and industrious 
labors of the couple soon were rewarded, however, and a more pretentious 
residence was built, this being followed by various other buildings, each 
erected according to the increase in the owner's prosperity. A man of 
exceptional native talent, George Romine was not alone able to improve 
and cultivate his farm and to place himself as a substantial citizen 
among the farmers of Bigelow Township, but found the time and the 
inclination to assist in movements for the public welfare, and never 
refused his support to those enterprises which his judgment told him 
were for the general good. During his lifetime he accumulated 320 
acres of valuable land, all through his own unaided efforts, and this 
was gained through the most honorable dealing, so that no person of his 
community had aught but well to say of him. When he died, at the age 
of fifty-six years, Bigelow Township lost one of its best and most public- 
spirited men. A republican in politics, he was not a seeker for public 
preferment, but for twenty years rendered most valuable service as a 
member of the school board. He had put in his application for entrance 
into Masonry, but died just prior to taking his degree. Mr. Romine was 
married in Washington County, Missouri, to Miss Marguerite Martin, 
who survives him, and they became the parents of four children : Cora, 
who became the wife of John Scott ; Charley, who is deceased ; one child 
who died in infancy; and David F. 

Tol. Ill— 17 



1550 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

David F. Romine attended the public schools of Bigelow Township, 
and has passed his entire career on the property which he now occupies. 
He has continued the work commenced by his father, and through an 
intelligent use of modern methods has been able to achieve a gratifying 
success. His farm presents an attractive appearance, the house being 
painted white, while the barns and outbuildings are red, and everything 
about the place denotes the presence of able management. Mr. Romine 
is a republican, but is a modest and unassuming man and has not sought 
the doubtful honors to be found in the political arena. 

Mr. Romine married Miss Ida Hutchinson, daughter of A. C. Hutchin- 
son, of Holt County. They have no children. 

R. C. Brownlee. The Bank of Fortescue, though recently estab- 
lished, has already made a record for the successful handling of finances 
and through the personnel of its officers and directors has furnished a 
substantial service to the business community in that section of Holt 
County. The bank opened its doors for business in July, 1914, and 
occupies a small frame building near the depot. The executive officers 
and directors of the institution are as follows : A. W. Van Camp, presi- 
dent; John E. Slater, vice president; R. C. Brownlee, cashier; George 
W. Hinkle, J. F. Iden, George H. Minton, J. E. Alkire. Mr. Van Camp, 
the president, has long been one of the substantial business men in the 
vicinity of Fortescue, is a large owner of farm property, and was actively 
engaged in farming, and has served as county judge. The bank was 
organized under a state charter, with a capital of $10,000. It offers a 
general banking service to the community. 

R. C. Brownlee, the cashier, has active charge of the institution, and 
has lived in Fortescue since the bank started. Mr. Brownlee comes from 
Horton, Kansas, where he was born and educated, and was a student 
for a time in the University of Kansas. Mr. Brownlee gained his ex- 
perience as a banker at the Bank of Horton, and his father, John W. 
Brownlee, is a farmer and president of the Horton Bank. R. C. Brown- 
lee married Maud L. Clem, daughter of Daniel Clem of Horton. Mr. 
Brownlee is affiliated with the Masonic order at Horton, Kansas. 

John F. Iden. A resident of Holt County nearly fifty years since 
early childhood, John F. Iden has the material accumulations and in- 
terests of the thoroughly successful man of affairs. In his early years he 
went through all the arduous toil necessary to clear off the forest and 
prepare the land for cultivation, and from his success as a farmer has 
broadened his interests to include extensive land holdings and relations 
with banking and other business enterprises. 

John F. Iden was born in Platte County, Missouri, near the City of 
Atchison, Kansas, May 24, 1862. His parents were George "W. and 
Nancy L. (Yocum) Iden, who were married in Platte County. One of 
the seven children is now deceased. In 1866 the family moved to Holt 
County, and the father died here when the son, John P., was twelve 
years of age. The first location was on the farm now owned by John F. 
Iden. Some time after George "W. Iden had taken possession, it turned 
out that the previous occupant's possession was based upon "a squatter's 
right," and that title had never been properly acquired from the 
Government. Thus George "W. Iden had to buy the farm a second time, 
and its title now is directly validated by the Government. The land 
was entirely unimproved when the family located there, and the greater 
part was covered with heavy timber, some of the trees measuring from 
six to seven feet in diameter. There were a few rude buildings on the 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1551 

farm, but the commodious and well arranged structures now found there 
are the result of Mr. John F. Iden's enterprise. 

Mr. Iden was married to Sarah R. Edwards, daughter of Hay den 
Edwards. They have one child, Zetha Maud, who was born October 
28, 1896. 

In his home place Mr. Iden has ninety-six acres, besides 110 acres 
west of Bigelow and twenty acres next to the river. Some years ago he 
was one of the organizers of the bank at Forteseue and is still serving as 
one of its directors, and later bought the grain elevator at Forteseue, 
and is now engaged in the grain business and coal and implement trade 
at Forteseue. Mr. Iden was formerly a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, and his mother was a devout adherent of that church. 
Fraternally he is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows 
at Mound City and the Modern Woodmen of America. He has served 
as road overseer and director of the school board. His politics is demo- 
cratic, though his father was' a republican. 

Guy Jones is one of the reliable and industrious farmers and stock- 
raisers of Holt County, classed with the rising generation of agricultur- 
ists, who are acknowledged to be as broad and scientific in their methods 
and as fruitful in valuable results to the community as the workers in 
any other branch of modern industry. At the present time Mr. Jones is 
engaged in the cultivation of 640 acres of fine land in Bigelow Township, 
a large part of which is devoted to pasture, where he raises large herds 
of thoroughbred cattle, in addition to which he feeds and ships hogs. He 
is well known to the people of his community as a progressive and 
energetic citizen, who can at all times be depended upon to support 
beneficial measures. 

Mr. Jones was born in the vicinity of Big Lake, Holt County, Missouri, 
May 30, 1882, and is a son of Henry and Julia (Chaney) Jones, who 
are living on an adjoining farm to that occupied by their son. Henry 
Jones came to Missouri from the East at an early date, and here 
for many years has followed the pursuits of the soil, being accounted 
a substantial farmer and helpful citizen of this progressive section of 
Northwest Missouri. Guy Jones was given a good education in the 
public schools, and this was supplemented by attendance at a business 
college, where he took a commercial course. He is the only child of his 
parents, although by his father's previous marriage, to Lucinda Green, 
he has two half-sisters, Minnie and Addie. Mr. Jones was brought up 
on the farm and thoroughly trained by his father in the various methods 
of successfully conducting agricultural operations, so that he arrived 
at man's estate well fitted to enter upon a career of his own. He 
remained, however, under the parental* roof until the time of his mar- 
riage, in 1907, when he moved to his present farm of 640 acres, where 
he has continued to make his home, having developed it into one of the 
most valuable and attractive country places in this part of the county. 
The improvements have all been made under his supervision, the barns 
and sheds are of modern construction, well equipped within and with- 
out, roofed with tin and furnishing excellent facilities for the feeding 
of cattle, and the home, while not large, is well kept up and attractive. 
The buildings are well arranged, and everything about the place suggests 
the presence of able and intelligent management. While Mr. Jones 
has done some general farming, the greater part of his attention has 
been devoted to feeding and shipping stock, chiefly Hereford cattle and 
Duroc-Jersey hogs. His efforts have met with a most gratifying suc- 
cess, and he* is justly named as a business man of more than ordinarily 
keen perceptions. In political matters he is a democrat, but his activi- 



1552 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

ties iu public life have not extended beyond that interest which is felt 
by every good citizen in the welfare of his community. Fraternally he 
is connected with the Woodmen of the World, and also is prominent 
in Masonry, having attained the Shriner degree and being a member of 
the Temple at St. Joseph. Mrs. Jones is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church. 

Mr. Jones was married in 1907 to Miss Hazel Spellman, of Mound 
City, Missouri, daughter of Mathew and Elizabeth (McRoberts) Spell- 
man, who came to Missouri from Canada. Mrs. Jones has one brother and 
one sister : Earl, who married Anna Evans and is a resident of St. 
Joseph ; and Grace, who is single. 

Platt Hubbell, the senior member of the firm of Hubbel Brothers, at 
Trenton, Missouri, was born in Myers Township of Grundy Couuty 
on January 12, 1870. 

His father was the late Loring W. Hubbell, who was born in Tren- 
ton Township of Grundy County, December 18, 1815. 

The Hubbell family in America has a continuous record of lineage 
going back to Richard Hubbell, who was born in England in 1627, and 
on coming to America settled at Fairfield, Connecticut. There is a book 
entitled "History of the Hubbell Family," showing that men of that 
name have had a modest part in the work of developing this nation. 

The late Loring AV. Hubbell was educated in the public schools of 
Grundy County, and when he was a young man commenced teaching, 
a vocation to which he devoted the best years of his life, although at 
the same time he was a farmer. Finally he located in the City of 
Trenton, and operated in real estate and insurance until his death on 
August 18, 1913. The position he held in the community can best be 
described in the words of a review which appeared in the Trenton Daily 
Republican at the time of his death : 

"Loring W. Hubbell lacked little of living the allotted period of 
three score and ten, being just sixty-seven years and eight months of 
age on August 18, the day of his death. Born and reared in Grundy 
County, he never sought to change his place of residence. He died 
within a quarter of a mile of the spot where he was born. During his 
latter years his bodily infirmities kept him from taking part in the 
active affairs of life. As the world views it, be never sought position, 
place or power. He chose to cultivate the modest yet endearing graces 
of mind and heart, rather than to attempt the achievements which men 
applaud. His most pronounced trait of character was his advocacy of 
the importance of education. He believed that the mind and soul are 
so inseparably intertwined that the cultivation of the mind is one step 
in the direction of cultivating the soul in the immortality of which he 
firmly believed. He has often quoted the words of Plato, 'A house 
that has a library in it has a soul.' This trait of his character is illus- 
trated by the fact that when a young man he taught school and for 
several terms taught a Bible class in the Christian Church, of which 
he was a member. He helped his own children to get a practical educa- 
tion, thus benefitting them more than if he had left them a vast estate 
without an education. In the active part of his life he did what he could 
to increase the efficiency of the public schools. Until his eyesight failed 
he was a habitual reader, and thus kept in touch with current events. 
In his early life he was an industrious student and received a liberal 
education. In his student days he saw the leading artists of the opera 
and the drama on whose attainments he was pleased to dwell. He 
advocated fraternity among men. as witnessed by his membership in the 
Knights of Pythias. He made his life useful by doing the plain, un- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1553 

pretentious things which helped others. For instance, he took a leading 
part in preserving the burial places of the dead. He said, 'If we love 
the living we will provide a suitable resting place for their earthly 
remains.' 'If we love the dead we will preserve their graves as sacred 
shrines. ' His ever patient and cheerful disposition endeared him to all 
who knew him. To his immediate family earth cannot replace the loss 
of him." 

The late Loring AV. Hubbell married Nannie M. Browning. Her 
father, John M. Browning, was born in Kentucky, and from that state 
in 1858 came to Missouri accompanied by his family, their journey being 
made across the country with teams and wagons. He located in what 
is now Myers Township of Grundy County, and bought land six miles 
east of Spickard. He there built a log house, which served his family 
as a home for several years. He was successful as a farmer, added to 
his land and improved his home, planted a good many fruit trees and 
surrounded himself with all the comforts of rural life. He served as a 
soldier in the Union army during the Civil war, Mr. Browning mar- 
ried Jane McBride Ewing, who was born in Kentucky and who survived 
her husband some years. They reared several children. Nannie M. 
Hubbell died March 19, 1905, and a brief estimate of her life was given 
in a Trenton paper, which will be appropriately quoted herewith : 

"Nannie M. Hubbell was born on February 2, 1853, near Sherburne, 
in Fleming County, Kentucky. Her maiden name was Nannie Metcalf 
Browning. With her parents she came to Grundy County, Missouri, 
when she was a little girl. Though only a child when she removed from 
Kentucky, she vividly recalled and fondly cherished the men and mem- 
ories of her native state. She became a member of the Christian Church 
when quite young, and ever afterward remained an earnest toiler in 
the vineyard of righteousness. In addition to her regular church work, 
she made many private individual appeals for a higher life. Many per- 
sonal, yet unpretentious, acts of charity attest the sincerity of her pur- 
poses. She became a member of several fraternal orders, to which she 
was closely attached, and in which she was an industrious worker. Among 
these are the Knights and Ladies of Security, the Rathbone Sisters and 
the Eastern Star. She was married to L. W. Hubbell on November 20, 
1867. She leaves four children, named Piatt, George, Hallie and Alida, 
together with their father. . . . She had a wide circle of personal, 
lifelong friends. Devotion to the duties that lay nearest to her was a dis- 
tinguishing trait of her character. Her highest pleasure was in humbly 
rendering service. To render self-sacrificing, simple service to the per- 
sons and the causes she loved was to her a perpetual joy. The cares 
of her home and family and others she chose to serve kept her from using 
any system in her reading. Yet in the midst of her toil and cares she 
read much of the best literature and highly appreciated good thought, 
in whatever form it might be expressed. She had a natural aptitude for 
music. Her originality in arranging and combining the moderate means 
and small influences within her reach for the accomplishing of generous 
purposes was an impressive quality of her mind. She did not climb 
the Heights of Earth, but, walking with her Savior as her guide, she 
trudged along in the lowly valley path. On Sunday, March 19, 1905, 
after a lingering illness, she w T earied of her many burdens and, reclining 
upon them for a couch to rest a while, passed into that silent slumber 
from which she shall not be awakened until the resurrection morn. To 
those by whom she was known and loved, earth cannot replace the loss 
of her." 

Admitted to the bar in 1891, Piatt Hubbell began practice at Tren- 
ton. For some years he and his brother George have, been in partnership, 



1554 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

and they occupy a good suite of offices on Main Street. Theirs is consid- 
ered one of the most complete law libraries in the north part of the state, 
and it includes many special works on railroads and other specialties. 
The Hubbell Brothers are not corporation lawyers, and most of their 
cases originate among the plain people. They have fought many impor- 
tant cases to a successful conclusion, and have a reputation for serving 
the best interests of their clients. A brief examination of court cal- 
endars shows that the Hubbell Brothers practice not only in Grundy 
County, but in many adjacent courts and even in the states of Iowa and 
Kansas. A number of cases in which they have been employed have been 
adjudicated in the Appellate Court and have set valuable precedents in 
Missouri law. 

Piatt Hubbell was married at St. Joseph, Missouri, March 4, 1909, to 
Maude Irene Ray. They are the parents of three sons, Ray, Paul and 
Ernest. Mr. Hubbell and wife are members of the Christian Church, and 
he is affiliated with Trenton Lodge No. Ill, A. F. and A. M., and with 
other fraternal orders. 

George H. Hubbell. Junior member of the firm of Hubbell Brothers, 
attorneys, at Trenton, George H. Hubbell was for several years a success- 
ful educator in Northwest Missouri, and since turning his attention to 
the law has gained a secure position in the profession. 

He was born on a farm in Jackson Township, Grundy County, May 
24, 1878, a son of Loring W. and Nannie Browning Hubbell, the details 
of which prominent family in Northwest Missouri are to be found in a 
preceding article. George H. Hubbell attended country school as a boy, 
and in 1897 graduated from Avalon College. Three years were spent in 
the work of teaching in the country districts, and for two years he was 
principal at the Third Ward School at Trenton. He also did a great deal 
of private tutoring in preparing pupils for advanced schools, and was 
particularly successful in this work. Walter E. Reno, who later grad- 
uated from the Annapolis Naval Academy, was one of the young men 
who came under his supervision at that time. At Avalon College Mr. 
Hubbell took a course in stenography with a view to becoming a court 
stenographer. While teaching he devoted much time to the study of law, 
and eventually determined upon that as his chosen profession. He was 
examined and admitted to practice on November 12, 1902, and in 1904 
formed his present association with his brother Piatt under the firm name 
of Hubbell Brothers. They have in the last ten years built up a large and 
prosperous legal business. 

On October 20, 1907, Mr. Hubbell married Essie Pearl Barnes of Tren- 
ton. Mrs. Hubbell is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, while 
her husband affiliates with the Christian denomination. He is well known 
in fraternal circles, having affiliation with Lodge No. 801, B. P. O. E.; 
with Aerie No. 721, Fraternal Order of Eagles ; with Modern Woodmen 
of America ; and with Lodge No. 38, Knights of Pythias. From April 19, 
1912, to May 28, 1913, Mr. Hubbell was president of the Second District 
Pythias Association, comprising the counties of Grundy, Mercer, Putnam, 
Schuyler, Sullivan and Adair. Mr. Hubbell has made a careful study of 
the ritual in the Knights of Pythias and is a constant advocate of its 
teachings and principles as one of the best mediums to attain better cit- 
izenship and stronger manhood. He is a republican, having cast his 
first vote for William McKinley. In November, 1906, Mr. Hubbell was 
elected prosecuting attorney, and by re-election in 1908 served two terms 
in that office. 






HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1555 

Lot Brown. One of the most valuable and beautiful of the many- 
valuable and handsome properties of Holt County, is the property of 
Lot Brown and son, an 800-acre tract lying in Bigelow Township, known 
as Walnut Meadow Farm. Here is to be found every improvement which 
makes country life attractive ; its owner has spared no pains in developing 
and beautifying it, and the result of his labors is a country home that 
probably equals any in point of beauty in Northwest Missouri. Mr. 
Brown is a member of that class of individuals whom nature has endowed 
with versatile talents. Primarily a railroad man, with little previous 
experience in agricultural pursuits, when he came to his present problem 
he at once entered upon a career of success that equalled his achieve- 
ments in his former field of endeavor, and from that time to the present 
has continued to be known as one of Bigelow -Township's most sub- 
stantial farmer-citizens. 

Lot Brown was born at Rockford, Nebraska, and is a son of William 
and Abigail (Waite) Brown. His parents, both members of old and 
prominent New England families, were married at Providence, Rhode 
Island, and as a young married couple came to the West, taking up 
their residence in Nebraska, where they spent the remaining years of 
their lives and both passed away. Educated in the public schools of his 
native state, Lot Brown early adopted railroad work as his line of 
endeavor, and worked his way from position to position in this field to 
a place of prominence with the Burlington System. He had a large 
force of men under his employ, and continued as a railroad man unti! 
1906, when he turned his attention to the management of his farm, and 
from that time to the present has steadily developed into a skilled and 
progressive agriculturist. Walnut Meadow Farm, Mr. Brown's 800-acre 
tract, was formerly a part of the estate of Mr. Brown's uncle, E. A. 
Brown, who was widely known in Northwest Missouri as "Parson" 
Brown. He came to this part of the state in 1870 as a poor man, and 
through wise investment and continued successes became the owner of 
some ten thousand acres of land, a large part of which he put under 
cultivation. 

Since his arrival here, Lot Brown has erected an entirely new set of 
buildings, which are accounted among the best in the township, if not 
in the county, substantial and commodious in character, attractive in 
appearance, handsomely furnished, and with every modern equipment 
known for comfort and convenience. The residence is set well back, 
with a well-kept grove to one side, and this is one of the show places of 
the county. Mr. Brown's agricultural operations have been largely con- 
fined to the raising of alfalfa, and each year he gets out about five crops. 
He is a republican in politics, but has taken little save a good citizen's 
part in public affairs. Mrs. Brown is a consistent member of the 
Baptist Church. 

Mr. Brown was married to Miss Anna Wilcox Payne, of Nebraska 
City, Nebraska, daughter of Robert Payne, and to this union there have 
been born two children : Robert, born at Nebraska City, who is promi- 
nent in Masonic circles, having attained the Shriner degree; and Miss 
Lucy Ellen, who was born at Chicago. Both children reside with their 
parents. 

C. S. McKee. One of the men active in commercial affairs at Bigelow 
is C. S. McKee, now at the head of a large general merchandise estab- 
lishment which has made a progressive growth since it was founded here 
about fourteen years ago. Mr. McKee has spent most of his life in this 
section, represents an honored family, his father having been long promi- 
nent in business affairs, and through his own career has done much to 



1556 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

increase the business facilities of Bigelow. It was in 1900 that Mr. 
McKee engaged in merchandising on a small and modest scale at Bigelow. 
His first location was in an old frame building just across the street 
from where his now large store stands. He subsequently moved his stock 
to the W. 0. W. Building, and was located there about six years, and 
in July, 1913, moved to his present quarters. His store is larger and 
more modern in every respect than his previous location, and conse- 
quently he is better prepared to handle the trade which has been steadily 
growing since he began business. 

C. S. McKee was born at Savannah, Missouri, November 22, 1875. 
His father, H. N. McKee, has lived in Holt County since 1877. He estab- 
lished a grain elevator and began the buying and selling of grain at 
Bigelow when that was one of the most important railway stations in 
this part of Missouri. Previous to the building of the branch road to 
Skidmore and Mound City, all the farmers in that vicinity hauled grain 
from a radius of twenty-five miles to Bigelow. H. N. McKee thus had 
important relations with the producing community and at times handled 
as much as thirty-five cars of grain in a single week. H. N. McKee 
married Sarah Scott. They were married in Iowa, and she was born in 
Pennsylvania. There were eight children in the family, all of whom 
were born in Northwest Missouri. 

Mr. C. S. McKee married Edna E. Bridgman, daughter of J. F. 
Bridgman. They are the parents of four daughters. Mr. McKee is 
affiliated with Camp No. 35 of the Woodmen of the World, and with Holt 
Lodge No. 31 I. 0. 0. F. Mr. McKee has served on the local school 
board and was mayor of the town, and he and his family are members 
of the Christian Church. 

George W. Poynter. The Bank of Bigelow for thirteen years has 
given ample facilities to the town and surrounding country at Bigelow. 
The officers and directors have all been men of substantial position in 
the community, and Ihe bank has been the medium for a large share of 
the general commercial transactions of the community, has offered a safe 
service in the conservation of surplus funds, and has been conducted 
throughout on stable and conservative lines. The bank was organized 
November 22, 1901, by W. H. Poynter, W. M. Poynter and A. W. Chun- 
ing. Mr. Chiming was its first president. The original directors 
included John C. Hinkle, C. C. Catron, and T. 0. Davis. The capitaliza- 
tion was $10,000 from the beginning. J. F. Bridgman succeeded Mr. 
Chuning as president and still holds that office. John C. Hinkle has been 
vice president since the organization of the bank, and the position of 
cashier has been held by George W. Poynter since the bank opened its 
doors for business thirteen years ago. 

The Poynter family has long been prominent in affairs in this sec- 
tion of Northwest Missouri. George W. Poynter 's father was born in 
Hart County. Kentucky, and also the grandfather was born in the 
same state. George W. Poynter 's mother was Margaret C. Stauton. 
There were seven sons and one daughter in the family, all of whom are 
living. George W. Poynter first married Mabel Graham, who died at 
Kansas City in April, 1912, leaving a son and a daughter. Mr. Poynter 
subsequently married Jennie McKee of Craig, Missouri. Mr. Poynter and 
his father are both affiliated with Masonry, the father at Avalon, Mis- 
souri, and the son belongs to the Blue Lodge at Oregon, the Royal Arch 
Chapter at Rockport, and the Lodge of Perfection at St. Joseph. In 
politics Mr. Poynter is a democrat. 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1557 

J. R. Krusor. The community of Bigelow has been well served 
through the general merchandise and hardware and implement house of 
J. R. Krusor & Company. The head of this firm is a thorough merchant, 
understands his business and the needs of the people, and has ener- 
getically and successfully endeavored to supply those needs, not only 
by handling reliable goods but by affording his own judgment and 
integrity in all his relations as a merchant. The present business of 
J". R. Krusor & Company was established at Bigelow by R. W. Graham 
on November 1, 1912, and on June 1, 1913, Mr. Krusor bought out the 
stock and has since continued under the firm name of J. R. Krusor & 
Company. 

Mr. Krusor began business as a general merchant at Craig, Missouri, 
in 1909, and sold out his interests there on moving to Bigelow. Mr. 
Krusor was born four miles northeast of Craig on a farm, a son of Michael 
and Emerald (Callaway) Krusor, and was one of three children. As a 
boy he grew up on a farm, received a training in the country schools, 
and lived the life of a farmer until twenty-two years of age, when he 
engaged in selling merchandise. Mr. Krusor 's father was one- of the 
early settlers in the vicinity of Craig, and both parents are now deceased 
having passed away on the old homestead. Mr. Krusor married for his 
first wife Elva Cook, daughter of P. G. Cook. To that union were born 
two children : J. R., Jr., and Vera, both of whom were born at Craig. 
Mr. Krusor 's present wife is Florence, daughter of W. G. Sping. They 
have in their home five children, named as follows: Gomez Garcia, 
Joubert, Mattie, Fredia and Louis Sping. In politics Mr. Krusor is a 
democrat. 

John Coughlin. Few men have contributed more practical encour- 
agement to the farmers of Holt County than has John Coughlin. whose 
hay and grain establishment has been one of the chief commercial factors 
of the Town of Bigelow since his arrival here in 1909. With a variety 
of experience to back him in his project, Mr. Coughlin came to this 
community, and within the short space of five years has advanced so 
rapidly in business circles that he is now known far and wide as the 
"Hay King," and is doing business with farmers in every part of the 
county. His career is another instance of the strong call of the soil and 
its varied interests rising superior to other callings, for Mr. Coughlin 
resumed his connection with agriculturists and agricultural products 
after some years spent in other pursuits. He has had no reason to regret 
his decision, for he has not only succeeded in a material way, but has 
also gained and held the respect and entire confidence of those with 
whom he has had business dealings. 

By birth Mr. Coughlin is a Kansan, and comes of a family which 
originated in Ireland. His birthplace was the Town of Silver Lake, in 
the Javha.wker State, his natal date June 12, 1870, and his parents John 
and Mary (Collopy) Coughlin. The parents were married at Warrens- 
burg, Missouri, but shortly after their marriage removed to Kansas, and 
there the father took up land, on which he established a home for his 
family. He, however, never followed agricultural pursuits, being 
throughout his life a railroad man. Both he and his wife are now 
deceased. They were honest and hard-working people, lifelong mem- 
bers of the Roman Catholic Church, in which they reared their family 
of six children, and in the faith of which they themselves died. 

John Coughlin was reared on the home farm in the vicinity of Silver 
Lake, Kansas, and secured his education in the public schools of that 
community. His early activities were devoted to tilling the soil, but sub- 
sequently he went to Kansas City, Missouri, where he secured employ- 



1558 HJSTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

ment as a member of the police department, and continued as an officer 
for three years and eight months. In 1909, Mr. Coughlin came to Bigelow 
and established himself in business under his own name as a dealer in 
hay and grain, although from the first he has made a specialty of the 
former. He rapidly became one of the prominent factors in this line 
of endeavor here, and soon his reputation extended all over this part of 
Northwest Missouri, winning for him the sobriquet of ' ' the Hay King. ' ' 
He not only does a large business in handling the product of the agri- 
culturists of this county and adjoining ones, but is himself a large raiser 
of the product, his fine farm of 810 acres, in Bigelow Township, being 
devoted exclusively to raising hay. Primarily a business man, with large 
interests to demand his attention, Mr. Coughlin has had little time to 
devote to public matters, although he takes a good citizen's interest in 
the welfare of his community. He was reared in a republican atmos- 
phere, but is himself a democratic voter. Mr. Coughlin has never 
married. 

W. H. Wilson. Prominent among the old and honored families of 
Holt County, one which has been identified with the growth and develop- 
ment of Bigelow Township, and particularly with the agricultural 
interests, is that bearing the name of Wilson. A worthy representative 
of the family is found in the person of W. H. Wilson, the owner of fifty- 
five acres of well cultivated land, and a citizen who at all times has 
taken an active part in the movements which have made for progress and 
advancement. Mr. Wilson was born in Bigelow Township, Holt County, 
Missouri, December 25, 1878, and is a son of John R. and Serilda (East- 
ridge) Wilson. 

The paternal grandparents of Mr. Wilson, Daniel A. and Lydia 
Wilson, were among the very earliest settlers of this county, and were 
honored and respected people of their community, where their lives were 
passed in the cultivation of the wild soil. Among their children was 
John R. Wilson, who was born in Holt County, here received his educa- 
tion in the primitive schools which marked the pioneer period, and grew 
up amid the surroundings of that day, becoming accustomed to the hard 
and unceasing toil through which this section was developed into one of 
the most fertile in Northwest Missouri. A man of excellent habits, indus- 
trious, energetic and persevering, he was able to accumulate a satisfying 
competence, his homestead consisting of eighty acres of land, in addi- 
tion to which he had other interests. While achieving a personal success, 
he gained also the esteem and respect of his fellow citizens, and retained 
their regard to the last. The substantial set of buildings which he erected 
on his property was destroyed by fire, but has since been replaced by a 
new set. Fraternally, Mr. Wilson was connected with the Odd Fellows, 
in which he had numerous friends. He was a republican, although not 
active, and in his religious views belonged to the Methodist Episcopal 
Church, to which Mrs.' Wilson also belongs. She still survives at the age 
of fifty-three years, but at this time is not in the best of health. There 
were three children in the family, all born in Holt County : Anna, who 
died in infancy; Lydia E., who became the wife of Oliver J. Nolan, and 
has three children, Clarence, Glenn and Orville; and W 7 ". H., of this 
review. 

W. H. Wilson was educated in the district schools, and has always 
resided on the old homestead, where he now has fifty-five of the original 
eighty acres. He is carrying on general farming operations, and is con- 
sidered one of the practical and intelligent farmers of his locality, ready 
to embrace innovations and new methods and at all times capable of 
recognizing opportunities and carrying them through to a successful con- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1559 

elusion. He is a republican in politics, and has served his community 
capably in the capacity of school director, a position which he now holds. 
Fraternally he is affiliated with the Woodmen of the World, the Yeomen 
and the Modern Woodmen of America, and his religious belief is that 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. His many friends throughout this 
section testify to his popularity. 

Mr. Wilson was married in 1902 to Miss Estelle Lease, daughter of 
L. L. and Katherine (Wagner) Lease, early settlers of Holt County. 
Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Wilson on the old Wilson 
homestead in Bigelow Township, namely: Daisy, Oscar and Beatrice. 

L. A. Meadows. The Meadows family has been identified with Holt 
County since pioneer times, and L. A. Meadows, of the second genera- 
tion, has for the past quarter of a century or more been a prosperous 
farmer in the vicinity of Maitland. His good citizenship is indicated 
by the fact of his service in connection with local affairs and movements 
for the benefit of the community, and his enterprise is reflected in the 
attractive and valuable farm of which he is proprietor. 

L. A. Meadows was born as one of a family of nine children, in 
Appanoose County, Iowa, March 11, 1857, a son of Sidney S. Meadows, 
and Elizabeth Ann (Scarborough) Meadows, who were of German 
ancestry. His father was born in Kentucky, February 27, 1818, and 
died in Holt County, January 6, 1892. His mother was born in Ten- 
nessee, December 5, 1826, and died January 8, 1911. 

The father came to Holt County at an early day, 1865, was a poor 
man at that time, had a very limited education, and as one of the pioneers 
through hard work and overcoming of obstacles developed a fine farm 
and provided generously for his large family of children. His first place 
of settlement was six miles north of Oregon. He was a member of the 
Baptist Church. Mr. L. A. Meadows has lived on his present homestead 
since 1887. It comprises 240 acres of land, and is improved with good 
modern buildings. The chief feature of his industry is stock raising, 
which he carries on in connection with general farming. For the past 
fourteen years he has been a member of the Maitland Independent School 
Board,- and has done much to improve the schools in his community, and 
is always ready to cooperate with any movement that means better living 
conditions. 

Mr. L. A. Meadows was married to Mary Lydia Weller, daughter of 
Jacob and Katharina Weller, January 26, 1887. Their family consists 
of three children, Marvin P., Cassius and Lillie, all being born in Holt 
County. 

Alonzo Meadows. More than forty-five years ago the Meadows 
family became identified with Holt County, settling on lands that had 
been little touched with the ax and plow of white men, and since that 
time many hundreds of acres have been transformed into cultivated 
fields by their labors. Alonzo Meadows represents the second generation 
in residence in Holt County, having come here when a boy, and is now 
one of the leading citizens of Clay Township. 

Alonzo Meadows was born in Appanoose County, Iowa, April 10, 
1854, a son of Sidney S. and Elizabeth (Scarborough) Meadows. His 
father was born in Estill County, Kentucky, and was married there. 
There were nine children in the family. The father was a carpenter in 
earlier years but subsequently took up farming. On moving to Iowa he 
acquired some prairie land, broke it up and cultivated it for several 
years, and in 1867* moved to Holt County. His first location was a farm 
five miles north of Oregon, comprising 200 acres. Some improvements 



1560 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

had been made, but the father went ahead with characteristic energy and 
in time placed it entirely under cultivation with the exception of forty 
acres of native timber. The farm had a house which at that time was 
one of the most substantial in the neighborhood, but the father erected 
the barn and did a great deal to increase the general value of the prop- 
erty. His next home was another farm about two miles farther north, 
and containing a quarter section of land. His chief improvement there 
was the building of a barn. After those two experiences in farm develop- 
ment, the father bought the northeast quarter of section 14 in Clay 
township, paying $10 an acre for land that could hardly be classed as 
improved. He continued his enterprising labors, erecting buildings, cul- 
tivating the land, and lived there until his death at the age of seventy- 
two. While a believer in religion, he was a member of no church, and 
in politics a republican. Starting life poor, through his native thrift and 
industry and good habits he acquired a competence and did well by his 
children. 

Alonzo Meadows was thirteen years of age when the family moved to 
Holt County, acquired his education in the district schools, and was well 
trained by his father for the practical career of farming which he has 
followed. He married Anna Riley, daughter of William Riley. By this 
marriage there were two children: Dillard, who married Ida Younger, 
and has one child, Wilma Marion ; and Sydney, who married Nellie 
Landon. After the death of his first wife Mr. Meadows married Hettie 
Riley, daughter of Sanford and Louise (Keetley) Riley. By this union 
there is a large family of ten children, as follows : Cortez, who married 
Linda Campbell; Lelah, unmarried; Lemuel J., who married Edna 
Borring ; Ninah ; Dwight ; Lester ; Clyde ; Freeman ; Donald ; and Fredah 
May. All the children were born on Mr. Meadows' fine homestead of 
160 acres. This land represents his individual success as a farmer, and 
all the improvements have come from his hands. Besides this estate he 
owns 162 acres in DeKalb County. His occupation is that of general 
farming and stock raising, and all the facilities on his place, including 
barns and domestic structures, are modern and equipped with excellent 
conveniences. In politics Mr. Meadows is a republican. 

Jambs B. Wright, M. D. Through his work and attainments Doctor 
Wright has earned a place as one of the eminent physicians of Northwest 
Missouri. The Wright Hospital at Trenton, of which he was the founder 
and which has been conducted under his supervision for some years, has 
afforded facilities to the profession and to the general public which have 
been greatly appreciated, and it is one of the most valuable institutions 
of its kind in the state. Through his hospital and by his large private 
practice Doctor Wright has contributed a valuable public service both to 
Trenton and to Grundy County. The hospital occupies a commodious and 
handsome brick building, and has every equipment and appliance needed 
for the modern hospital, and its establishment filled a long- felt want in 
the city. 

James Buchanan Wright, was born at Xenia, Greene County, Ohio, 
a son of Albert Wright, who was born on a farm in Loudon County, 
Virginia, in 1808. Grandfather William Wright was born in Pennsyl- 
vania, moving from that state to Loudon County, Virginia, where he 
spent the rest of his life. Albert Wright moved west and located at 
Xenia, Ohio, and was employed there as a contractor and builder for 
many years. In 1873 he came out to Grundy County, Missouri, and 
established his home on a farm in Washington Township. He lived 
there until his death in 1895. Albert Wright married Elizabeth Ann 
Davis. She was born in Pennsvlvania in 1810 and died in 1890. Her 





'/Ltff f(/h- 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1561 

five children were: John A., a farmer in the State of Washington; 
Sarah A., widow of Charles H. Snyder; William H., deceased; Maggie 
E., deceased, and James B. 

Doctor Wright received his early training in the public schools of 
Ohio, and like many successful members of the profession entered and 
prepared for his chosen vocation after some years spent as a teacher. 
While teaching he began the study of medicine, and finally entered the 
Missouri Medical College, where he was graduated doctor of medicine 
in the class of 1883. For a number of years Doctor Wright had a large 
country practice at Spickard, and in 1896 moved to Trenton. In 1903, 
in order to afford his own practice the much-needed hospital facilities, 
and as a result of his long experience, he established the Wright Hos- 
pital at Trenton. Doctor Wright is a member of the Grundy County 
Medical Society, is a councilor to the fourth district in the Missouri 
State Medical Society, a member of the Mississippi Valley Medical 
Society and the American Medical Association. Outside of his 
profession he is also a director in the Farmers Exchange Bank at 
Trenton. Fraternally his affiliations are with Trenton Lodge Xo. 
Ill, A. F. and A. M. ; Godfrey de Bouillon Commandery Xo. 24, 
Knights Templars; has taken thirty-two degrees of the Scottish rites, 
belongs to the consistory, and also to the mystic shrine. His wife 
was an active member in the Eastern Star. 

On November 30, 1880, Doctor Wright married Eva Fox. She 
was born in Wisconsin, a daughter of Myron and Lamira Fox. Mrs. 
Wright, who died in September, 1913, was a very talented woman, a 
leader in social circles, and in many ways set high standards of culture. 
She was skilled in the use of brush and pencil, and the walls of her 
home was decorated with her own paintings, and she also did much 
work in the painting of china. With a large knowledge of general 
literature, she was a fluent writer, and her place in Trenton society 
has not been filled. 

Chaeles C. Limpp is member of a prominent family in Holt County, 
and he and his brothers and sisters make up a. large and useful relation- 
ship in the country community about Mound City. The father of the 
family was the late John G., and his career deserves some special men- 
tion in any account of Holt County. 

His career was one of success. Many things constitute success, and 
it was not only in his material possessions, ample though they were, that 
the success of John G. Limpp was measured. He was born in Germany, 
December 29, 1829, and came to America in 1851, without the knowl- 
edge of the English language and with only $2 in his pocket when he 
reached St. Louis. In order to get money to carry him to St. Joseph, 
which was his destination, he worked for a time on a railroad. Arriving 
in St. Joseph he found work with a German farmer in Buchanan County 
at wages of $15 per month. While this position enabled him to make a 
living, it did not present opportunites to learn the English language, 
which was a first and important step toward a larger career of useful- 
ness. After a year, accordingly, he found employment with an American 
named Boone, who had a large plantation, most of the work being per- 
formed by slaves. The German hand learned to speak English from 
these slaves. During the two years of his employment on the Boone 
plantation, John G. Limpp was assigned the duties of "breaking hemp," 
which, as all familiar with the cultivation and working up of that prop 
know, was a task requiring unusual strength and skill. It was difficult 
to get men to perform that kind of labor, and John G. Limpp served a 
full apprenticeship. 



1562 HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 

At the age of thirty Mr. Limpp married Helen Lee Hinman. She 
was of Scotch parentage and of Canadian birth, and at the time of her 
marriage was employed in Buchanan County, where she met the young 
German whom she subsequently married. After his marriage John G. 
Limpp took up farming, but in a short time the war broke out, and he 
was one of many Germans who fought for their adopted country, enlist- 
ing in the Twenty-ninth Kansas Infantry and serving till mustered out 
at St. Louis. 

At the close of the war John G. Limpp came to Holt County and 
bought eighty acres of land, to which he soon added another eighty. 
After a period as a farmer he engaged in the brewery business at Forrest 
City for a time, but soon returned to agriculture. Selling his original 
farm, he bought eighty acres that is still included in the large Limpp 
homestead. The price paid for that land at that time was $15 per acre. 
It was in this vicinity that John G. Limpp spent the rest of his days, a 
prosperous farmer, and with growing accumulations that made him one 
of the large land owners and substantial men of the county. While get- 
ting material prosperity he discharged the obligations of citizenship, and 
dealt squarely with all men, so that none could begrudge him his well 
won prosperity. John G. Limpp was brought up in the faith of the 
German Lutheran Church, was a man of excellent habits, and though a 
hard worker attained the good old age of eighty-three. He was useful 
in his community, and for many years served on the school board. For a 
long time the three directors of the Blair neighborhood school were John 
G. Limpp, Andrew Meyer and Uriah Blair. John G. Limpp had nine 
children, and six of them attended that school. In politics he was an 
ardent republican. 

John G. Limpp and wife had nine children in all, mentioned briefly as 
follows: Fannie, the only one now deceased, was the wife of Charles 
Patterson ; Mary, who married James. Poynter ; Rosena, who married 
Alexander Swope; Emma, the wife of S. Stevenson; Laura, the wife of 
Walter Smith ; John R., who married Irma Durrett ; Anna, wife of George 
Chriswell; Grace, who married Bert Patterson; and Charles, who mar- 
ried Maud Gillis. 

Charles C. Limpp, who has now taken his place among the productive 
workers in Holt County, was born here August 6, 1882. At the present 
time he is engaged in farming 200 acres of land, a portion of the original 
estate acquired and largely improved by his father. Mr. Limpp has 
three children: Helen, Earl and Wilma. Mr. and Mrs. Limpp are 
members of the United Brethren Church, and he is at the present time 
serving on the school board and is a republican in politics. 

0. D. Hardman. What may be accomplished when one is young, 
strong, clear of brain and studiously inclined, in this twentieth century, 
is being demonstrated by 0. D. Hardman, who is engaged in cultivating 
120 acres of land in Hickory Township, Holt County. The agricultural 
community of Northwest Missouri has undergone a wonderful trans- 
formation in the past several decades, but methods and returns have 
not yet reached their ultimately high standard, and it is to such progres- 
sive, energetic and industrious young farmers as Mr. Hardman that 
Holt and the surrounding counties must look for the advancement which 
will bring about improved conditions. In the meantime he is steadfastly 
carrying on his labors in tilling the soil and in building up his substantial 
position in the community. 

Mr. Hardman was born in Ottawa County, Kansas, March 17, 1884, 
and is a son of Albert and Mattie (Goodwin) Hardman. The family 
was founded in Holt County about the year 1880 or 1881, and a short 



HISTORY OF NORTHWEST MISSOURI 1563 

time later went on to Ottawa County, Kansas. However, the father had 
become so favorably impressed with Northwest Missouri, that after a 
short time in Kansas he returned to Holt County, settling on a farm 
located north of the Town of Newpoint. There he continued to be 
engaged in farming and stockraising until failing health caused his retire- 
ment and removal to Idaho, where his death occurred. He was a man of 
industry and enterprise, of fidelity to engagements and of strict integrity 
in all dealings, and won a reputation that made his name an honored one 
in business circles. The mother, who still survives, is a woman of many 
excellencies, both of mind and heart. There were three children in the 
family: Laura, who became the wife of W. H. Huntsman; Ola, who 
married Charles Conn ; and 0. D., of this review. 

0. D. Hartman was brought up amid the farming locality of Holt 
County, and here, during the winter months, attended the district 
schools. Being the only son in his father's family, he was early called 
upon to share in the duties and labors of the farm's management, and 
thus received a training in his youth that has since proved invaluable 
to him. He was married in Holt County, to Miss Pansy Kunkel, a 
daughter of Benjamin Franklin Kunkel, who was a well-known farmer 
and pioneer settler of Hickory Township. Mr. Kunkel was married 
several times, as was also his wife, and they had a number of children, 
but Pansy was the only one by their union. Mrs. Hardman was born 
and reared on the farm which she and her husband occupy, and which 
is known as the Kunkel homestead. This is one of the old properties 
of this township, the first buildings thereon having been erected some 
forty years ago by one Huntsman. When Mr. Hardman first located on 
this land, the ' tract consisted of but forty acres, but to this original 
acreage he has added from time to time until he now has 120 acres, all 
under a good state of cultivation. His improvements consist of a modern 
residence, substantial barn and good outbuildings, the farm is well fenced 
and drained, the live stock is of a high grade and everything about the 
property denotes good management and well-directed industry. 

Mr. Hardman is a republican in his political views, and is fraternally 
an Odd Fellow. His religious connection is with the Christian Church, 
while Mrs. Hardman is a Presbyterian. 

W. N. Hodgin. An energetic, purposeful and intelligent participa- 
tion in the affairs which have made up the history of Holt County since 
the occupation of this part of Northwest Missouri by the Indians, entitles 
W. N. Hodgin, of Hickory Township, to a place among the representa- 
tive citizens of his community. A member of a pioneer family of agri- 
culturists, the greater part of his career has been devoted to the pur- 
suits of the soil, and his careful management and discriminating use of 
modern methods have eventuated in crowning his labors with a measure 
of success that should be as gratifying as it is well earned. 

W. N. Hodgin is a product of Holt County, Missouri, born in the 
vicinity in which he now resides, August 20, 1