(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Children's Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the Ohio falls cities and their counties : with illustrations and bibliographical sketches"

Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2010 with funding from 

The Institute of Museum and Library Services through an Indiana State Library LSTA Grant 



http://www.archive.org/details/historyofohiofal02will 



F 


1778. 




1 




HISTORY 


OF 


• 


THE OHIO FAL: 


ls err. 


[ES 




AND THEIR COUNTIES, 






WITH 

ILLUSTRATIONS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 




VOL. II. 






CLEVELAND, O. : 






L. A. WlLLTAMS & CO. 




L 


1882. 




4 



Prefatory Note. 



The thanks of the compilers and publishers of this volume are cordially rendered to the 
large number of prominent citizens, in all three of the counties with which it deals, for their 
invaluable aid and co-operation in the difficult labor of collecting, for the first time, the annals 
of the region about the Falls of the Ohio. That section of the book relating to the precincts of 
Jefferson county has been prepared by Mr. Cole, of Cincinnati ; the Floyd county work was 
done by Mr. N. N. Hill, Jr., of Newark, Ohio; that for Clark county by Mr. M. L. Bevis, of 
Preston, Hamilton county, Ohio, except the Jeffersonville chapters, which were prepared by 
Messrs. A. R. Wildman and Walter Buell, of Cleveland, Ohio. The General History of the 
Indiana counties was chiefly written by the compilers in general charge of the work. The 
biographical work is by various hand 1 ;. It is hoped that all parts will prove satisfacto- 
ry, in the points of accuracy, fullness, and mechanical execution, to the generous patrons of 
the enterprise. 

Cleveland, Ohio, May 27, 1882. 



CONTENTS. 



HISTORICAL 



PRECINCTS OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, KENTUCKY. 

PAGE 



Seatonville 


9 


Fairmount 


'3 


Meadow Lawn 


16 


Two Mile 


16 


Jeflfersontown . 


22 


Middletown 


2 9 


Shardine 


32 


Anchorage 


32 


Springdale 


36 


Cane Run 


38 


Fisherville 


39 


Harrod's Creek 


42 


Spring Garden 


44 


Shively .... 


45 


Johnstown 


46 


Oilman's .... 


46 


O'Bannon 


50 


Boston .... 


52 


Valley 


55 


Woods .... 


57 


Cross Roads 


58 



GENERAL HISTORY OF CLARK AND FLOYD 
COUNTIES. INDIANA. 

( HAPTER. PACK 

I. — Geology of Clark and Floyd Counties . 7 
II. — Old Geographical Designations— The Clark 

Grant — Congress Lands ... 8: 
I II. —Organization of Floyd County . . 8 
IV. -Organization of Clark County . . 9 
V. — Military Record of Clark and Kloyd Coun- 
ties ..... Q- 



NEW ALBANY AND FLOYD COUNTY. 
CHAPTER. 

VI. — City of New Albany — General History 
VII. — New Albany — Ferries and Steamboats . 
VIII. — Education in New Albany . 
IX. — The Press of New Albany 
X. — New Albany — The Churches 
XI. — New Albany — Bench and Bar . 
XII. — New Albany — Commercial Interests 
XIII. — Notes of New Albany 
XIV. — Mew Albany Township 
XIV. — Franklin Township 
XV. — Georgetown Township 
XVI.— Greenville Township 
XVII. — Lafayette Township 

CLARK COUNTY AND JEFFERSONVILLE. 
XVIII— Bethlehem Township 
XIX. — Carr Township 
XX. — Charlestown Township 
XXI. — Monroe Township 
XXII. — Oregon Township 
XXIII. —Owen Township 
XXIV. — Silver Creek Township 

XXV. — L'tira Township 
XXVI. —Washington Township 
XXVII.— Wood Township 
XXVIII.— Jeffersonville— Civil History 

XXIX. — Jeffeisonville — Social and Religious 
XXX— Jeffersonville — Industrial 
XXXI. — Jeffersonville- -Biographical 
XXXII.— Notices of leffersouville— ClarksvilU 
XXXIII. — Union Township 
XXX IV.— Miscellaneous Biographies 

XXXV. — Clark County Settlement Notes 
XXXVI. —Floyd County Settlement Notes 
Appendix 



167 

173 
179 
186 



262 
278 
302 

318 
327 
334 
356 
369 
375 
383 
394 
411 
422 
428 
439 

45' 
469 
498 
5°3 



553 
5°9 



BIOGRAPHICAL, 



Alderson, B. S. 
Armstrong. William G. 
Armstrong, Colonel John 
Brigham, R. S„ M. I> 
liarnelt, Allen . 
Cartwright, Colonel Noah 
Dravo. Frank S. 



60 


Dorsey, Elias 


487 


Dorsey, Leaven I .. 


520 


DePauw, W. C. 


521 


Dailey. Reuben 


344 and 345 


Daily, Hon. David \\ 


61 


Dean. Argus, . 


60 


Dickey, Rev. Jolin M. 



230 

483 



CONTENTS. 





PAGE 




PAGE 


Field, Dr. Nathaniel . 


471 


Moorman, Alanson 


67 


Ferguson, Dr. H. H. 


486 


Ormsby Colonel Stephen 


5'3 


Fogg, William H. 


400 


Plasket, William 


520 




62 


Redman, Robert L. . 


facing 232 


Garr, S. L. . 


63 


Read, James G. . 


473 


Gale, Robert H.. M. D. . 


S12 


Roach, Edmund 


515 


Gwin, Josiah 


523 


Sprague, Joseph W. 


473 


Herr, A. G. 


64 


Shelby Family .... 


476 


Hobbs. Edward D. 


66 


Sands, William 


522 


Hoke, Andrew 


66 


Thomson. James W. . 


482 


Howard, Captain James 


469 


Warder, Luther F. 


478 


Honneus, Frederick H. C. 


513 


Whicher. Captain James S. 


491 


Keigwin, William * . 


490 


Zulauf, John 


470 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Map of ]effeii;on county, Kentucky . 
"The Turrets" — Residence of Thomas 
nedy . . . . 

Residence of Frank S. Dravo 
Portrait of Colonel Stephen Ormsby . 
Residence o r Hon. E. D. Hobbs . 
Portraits of L. L. Dorsey and wife 
Residence of L. L. Dorsey 
Portraits of B. S. Alderson and wife . 
Portrait of S. L. Gaar 
Portrait of John F. Garr 
Portrait of John Herr 
Portrait of A. G. Herr . 
Residence of A. G. Herr . 
Portrait of Elias Dorsey 
Portrait of Andrew Hoke 
Portrait of Alanson Moorman and wife 
Map of Clark and Floyd counties, Indi 

ana . 
Portrait of J. W. Goslee 
Portrait of Mrs. J. W. Goslee . 



PAGE. 
Frontispiece 
S. Ken- 
facing 17 
facing 24 
facing 29 
facing 33 
between 48 and 49 
between 48 and 49 
facing 60 
between 62 and 63 
between 62 and 63 
between 64 and 65 
between 64 and 65 
between 64 and 65 
between 66 and 67 
between 66 and 67 
between 68 and 69 

between 70 and 71 
between 80 and 81 
between 80 and 81 



Residence of late Captain ]. W. Goslee 
Portrait of W. C. De Pauw 
Portrait of Robert L. Redman 
Portrait of Allen Harnett 
Portrait of George Schwartz 
Portrait of John Zulauf 
Portrait of Joseph W. Sprague 
Portrait of James Howard 
Portrait of Dr. Nathaniel Field 
Portrait of James G. Read 
Portrait of Governor Isaac Shelby . 
Portrait of L. F. Warder 
Portrait of ]. W. Thomson 
Portrait of Reuben Dailey 
Portrait of H. H.. Ferguson, M. D. 
Portrait of William G Armstrong 
Portrait of R. H. Gale, M. D. 
Portrait of F. H. C. Honneus . 
Portrait of David W. Daily 
Portrait of Rev. Rezin Hammond 
Portrait of Edmund Roach 



PAGE. 

between 84 and 85 
facing 230 
r acing 232 
acing 345 
acing 396 
acing 459 
acing 463 
acing 469 
acing 471 
acing 473 
acing 476 
"acing 478 
acing 482 
acing 483 
acing 486 
acing 488 
acing 512 
acing 513 
acing 514 
between 516 and 517 
between 516 and 517 



History of the Ohio Falls Counties, 



PRECINCTS OF JEFFERSON COUNTY, 



SEATONVILLE PRECINCT. 

The land in this precinct is poor in sections, 
the country very uneven, hills and ravines 
predominating. The roads are also very irregu- 
lar, and generally take the course of the 
creeks, the bed of which constitutes the high- 
way. Now and then some road angles across 
the country, and through the wood land, but in 
many places, especially in the southern part, 
there are none save some bridle-paths, leading to 
and from the neighbors' houses. 

The original mistake made in granting patents 
to possession of lands on merely paying a fee of 
ten dollars, with the privilege of as much land 
in lieu of same as the speculator would map out, 
has always caused much trouble. 

With such liberties it is easy to see how ambi- 
tious speculators would seek out this land, blaze 
a few trees, as indices to the boundary lines, no 
mattrr how irregular that might be, and then 
have the same recorded properly in the archives 
of the State. The numerous surveys, the irregu- 
larity of laid out farms frequently led to serious 
trouble. Claims would overlap each other until 
as many as twelve or fifteen owners could be 
found for one dry spot of earth. No sooner 
would some stranger from another State secure 
his possessions with a snug cottage than would 
come along an owner of some parcel of his 
ground with a right prior to his. 

These things were tolerated at first with a 
patience characteristic of a man always wanting 
to be at peace with his neighbor, but the pest of 
prior claims was not removed until the shot gun 
was called into requisition, and it became a 
serious matter for any one to saddle a good 



price on his right of priority and claim land or 
money. 

The early settlers of this precinct left but lit- 
tle record of themselves save mere threads of 
traditionary events. They usually, as was the 
case always at first, settled along the water 
courses, or near perennial streams of water. In 
an early day attractions were probably as great 
in this section of the country as were found any- 
where in the county. Louisville had abundance 
of water, but good land was found at Seatonville, 
and as for the metropolis of the State, there* was 
as much likelihood of the latter place being that 
city as the former in the minds of the first set- 
tlers. 

One of the first settlers of this 'precinct was a 
Mr. Mills, of Virginia, who came in a very early 
day, riding an old gray mare, for which he was 
offered ten acres of land, now the central portion 
of Louisville city. One of his sons, Isaac by 
name, born in 1796, was an early settler of this 
part of the country, also. 

The Funks — John, Peter, and Joseph — were 
early settlers in this precinct. John and Peter 
owned a mill near Seatonville, probably the first 
in the county. Of this family of brothers, 
John and Joe had no children, but Peter has de- 
scendants living at the present time. 

George Seaton, was born near Seatonville, April 
3, 1781, and died July 6, 1835, and from him 
the village of this precinct takes its name. They 
were a family of marked characteristics, and have 
descendants living at the present time, and did 
much to advance the interests of the new settle- 
ments. George Seaton was one of the first 
magistrates of the precinct. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Fielding Wigginton, at thirteen years of age, 
came herein 1803, but finally settled in Bullitt 
county, where he died. A name to be revered 
as among the early settlers was a Rev. William 
P. Barnett, a minister of the Baptist church for 
over forty years. He was married twice, his sec- 
ond wife being the mother of John Wigginton's 
wife. 

The Bridwells were also very early settlers. 
Mr. John Wigginton's mother was one of this 
family. 

Hezekiah Pound came from New Jersey in 
an early day, and settled upon a tract of land a 
little southeast of Seatonville, where J. M. Pound 
now lives. 

At that time there was a sentinel station where 
Mr. George Welsh now lives. His son John 
Pound was born in this precinct July 31, 1784, 
and died August 26, 1851. He married a Miss 
Paulina Boyer November 18, 1808, and had 
eight children. The grandfather was in the Rev- 
olution, and several of his children were in the 
War of 1812. 

In the southern part of the precinct, on Broad 
river, Mr. George Markwell settled in a very early 
day. He was a native of Wales, and after com- 
ing here entered three or four hundred acres of 
land. The stone at the head of his grave on the 
old homestead, owned now by John B. Mark- 
well, gives his birth date as 1 75 1. He died in 
December, 1828. Jane, his wife, died at the 
age of seventy-two, and lies by his side. His 
sons, born in the 1780's, are also buried in this 
yard. 

A prominent man of this precinct, from whom 
also prominent families have descended, was a 
Mr. Wish, who settled near Seatonville at a very 
early day. 

FIRST MILL. 

The first mill built in this precinct was by a 
Mr. Mundell, on Floyd's fork, one-half mile be- 
low Seatonville. This was probably before the 
year 1800. Mr. Mundell operated by the water 
power gained by this stream both a saw-mill and 
a grist-mill. The Funks finally purchased this 
property more than sixty years ago, and operated 
these mills for a number of years. The new 
mill was built as early as in 1832. 

Mr. Isaac Mills worked there as a stone 
mason. The mill was in successful operation as 
late as in the year 1876, when it stopped. 



Mr. Mills built in the year 1866, a saw-mill, 
and in 1870 attached to it a grist-mill, both of 
which are in good condition. The saw-mill has 
a capacity of three thousand feet. The grist- 
mill runs two buhr of stones — one for corn and 
the other for wheat. 

The first church in this precinct was the Old- 
school Baptist church on Chenoweth run. This 
church was in successful operation by that de- 
nomination up to the year 1820. 

Rev. John G. Johnson, an old Baptist 
preacher, ministered to the people in an early 
day. The building was a simple log structure, 
probably thirty by forty feet, and stood where the 
graveyard now is. Among the very early preach- 
ers might be mentioned the names of William 
Hub, Zaccheus Carpenter, Rev. Mr. Garrett, 
the Wallers, Rev. Andrew Jackson, Rev. A. 
Mobley, and Richard Nash. The church 
built in 1849 or '850, is a frame, thirty-five by 
fifty. The membership at the present time is 
about one hundred and sixty. Elder Clif- 
ton Allen is at present the preacher to this 
congregation. The elders of the church are 
Jeff Young, George W. Welsh, and H. C. Mills; 
Kenner Mills, superintendent of the Sabbath- 
school. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Radham Seaton, the first of that family in 
Kentucky, and grandfather of Charles A. and 
W. Chesley Seaton, came to Jefferson county 
from Virginia. Soon after his arrival he married 
Mary Curry, daughter of Thomas Curry, a native 
of Virginia, by whom he had four children : Sarah, 
Thomas C, Elizabeth, and Kenner, who was 
born April 17, 1797. Radham Seaton had four- 
teen brothers and two sisters. His wife's mother 
was Sarah M'Carthy, whose sister, Margaret Chen- 
oweth, was scalped by the Indians at her home 
near Linn Station, in the noted Chenoweth mas- 
sacre. Radham Seaton died when about forty 
years old, from injuries received while logging. 
His son Kenner lived on the home place and was 
a farmer. He was married September 26, 1833, 
and had seven children, of whom four are living. 
He died in the room in which he was born on the 
26th of August, 1872. C. A. Seaton was born 
January 8, 1836, and W. Chesley, October 22, 
1847. These brothers were educated in the 
common schools, and have until recently been 
farmers. In 1872 the elder of these brothers 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



erected a building and engaged in general mer- 
chandise business. The brother afterwards be- 
came a partner. The village of Seatonville was 
founded by them, and the precinct received 
their name. C. A. Seaton is now serving a 
second , term as magistrate of this precinct, 
besides serving as deputy marshal of the 
county, an office to which he was elected last 
August. January 24, 1856, he married Mary E. 
Kelly, a native of Jefferson county, and daughter 
of Captain Samuel Kelly, an officer in the War 
of 181 2. She has borne him seven children, of 
whom one boy and three girls are living. VV. 
Chesley, in August of 1878, was elected deputy 
sheriff of Jefferson county, and is now officiating 
as such. On November 4, 1868, he was married 
to Sally Johnson, a native of the county and 
daughter of George Johnson. They have but 
one child. Dr. John S., son of Kenner Seaton, 
was born July 16, 1813, and died August 19, 
1879. 

Henry C. Mills, a twin brother of Mrs. Mary 
Johnson, was born May 7, 1827. He is a son 
of 'Squire Isaac Mills, a native of Virginia, who 
was one ot the pioneers of Kentucky, a stone 
mason by trade, a farmer by occupation, and 
long known by the title of 'squire, having 
held the office of magistrate. He came to this 
county when about sixteen years of age, and 
afterwards married Sarah Wilch. He died 
November 14th, 1859, and she on February 26, 
1875. Henry W. Mills married, during No- 
vember, 1853, Elizabeth Seaton, daughter of 
Kenner Seaton. This marriage resulted in ten 
children, of whom eight are living. She died 
November 19, 1880. His occupation has always 
been the same as was his father's. In 1866, he 
built a dam at Seatonville and erected a saw-mill, 
to which, in 1870, he added a grist-mill, which 
he has since operated in addition to his farm. 

J. VV. Jean was born in Henry county, Ken- 
tucky, April 10, 1821. His father came to this 
county at a very early day, where, in about 1814, 
he was married, and then moved to Henry coun- 
ty, and then to Crawford county, Illinois, where 
he died in 1828. The mother of J. VV. Jean was 
Catharine Myers, who was born in Jefferson 
county, Kentucky, March 13, 1798. When eight 
years of age he came to Jefferson county, where 
he has since resided. He learned the saddler's 
trade, beginning when sixteen and finishing when 



twenty, and carried on a shop at Jeffersontown 
for thirty years. Some eight years ago he moved 
upon his farm a half-mile southeast of Seaton- 
ville, and has since engaged in farming. On 
February n, 1847, he married Sarah Seaton, 
who was born in this county March 3, 1828, by 
whom he has had eleven children, of whom 
eight are living. Her father, Kenner Seaton, 
was born April 23, 1781; married Fehruary 3, 
1863, and died July 6, 1835. Her mother was 
born February 20, 1783, and died December 14, 
1863. 

A. H. Funk, a son of Peter Funk, was born 
October 7, 1822. Peter Funk was of German 
descent and was born at Boonsboro, Maryland, 
August 14, 1782. He early came to Jefferson 
county, and married Harriet Hite, a native of 
this county. They had seven girls and five 
boys. A. H. Funk was married June 4, 1849, 
to Ellen A. Taylor, a native of Spencer county, 
by whom he had nine children, of whom two 
boys and five girls are living. He was regularly 
apprenticed to learn the miller's trade, serving 
some five years. For thirty years he worked at 
his trade in a mill on the old homestead — one 
that has been in existence over a century. He 
and his family are members of the Christian 
church. 

James T. Reid is of English descent, and is 
the oldest child of John Reid, a native of Mary- 
land. John Reid emigrated to this county when 
seventeen years old. He married Esther Gil- 
liland, who was born in county Down, Ireland, 
in 1825. He was a tailor by trade, but devoted 
the greater part of his life to farming. James 
T. Reid was born March 25, 1826. On Febru- 
ary 24, 1848, he married Rebecca H. Beard, 
who was born in Jefferson county, Kentucky, 
May 4, 1833. They have had thirteen children, 
of whom three boys and seven girls are living. 
Mr. Reid's life long occupation has been that of 
a farmer, and he is one of the largest farmers of 
the eastern part of the county. He is a reading 
and a thinking man ; was a few years since 
elected magistrate, but resigned after serving two 
years. 

J. W. Omer was born in Jefferson county on 
February 13, 1836. He is the seventh of twelve 
children of Jacob Omer, who was born in Penn- 
sylvania in 1795, and when one year old his 
father emigrated to Kentucky, and preempted 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



the land on a part of which J. W. now lives. 
The records show that this farm was taken up 
by — Hamer. This name was spelled according 
to the way it was pronounced, and it became 
Araer, and then Omer. Jacob Omer married 
Persilla Curry in 1823. She was born May 5, 
1804, and died February 10, 1880. They had 
twelve children. J. W. has always been a farmer 
and is a member of the Christian church. On 
December 12, 1869, he married Rebecca Har- 
rison, of Jefferson county, Kentucky. She died 
September 12, 1878, leaving six children. On 
October 8, 1879, he married Alwetta Bruce, of 
Gallatin county, Kentucky. 

J. M. Markwell was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, on February 15, 1826. He is the 
seventh of eight children of William Markwell, 
who was also a native of the same county. His 
grandfather was one of the first settlers. His 
mother was Rhoda Pound, who was born in Nel- 
son county, in 1793, but came to Jefferson 
county when quite young. J. M. Markwell is a 
farmer by occupation. On September 20, 1855, 
he was married to Catharine W. Markwell, who 
was born in Shelby county, January 7, 1839. 
They have seven children, four boys and three 
girls. He is a member of the Baptist church. 

Fred Pound was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, April 7, 1817. His father, John 
Pound, was born in New Jersey, July 31, 1789; 
his father coming from Scotland. John Pound 
came to this county when a boy, perhaps a 
dozen years old, and always was a farmer. On 
November 10, 1808, he married Mary Boyer, of 
Jefferson county, who was born March n, 1783. 
Five of their children lived to maturity. Fred 
Pound has followed his father's occupation. 
On October 7, 1838, he married Elizabeth C- 
Taylor. She was born in Spencer county, 
Kentucky, January 27, 1820. She bore eight 
children, of whom six are living — two boys and 
four girls. Dr. T. P. D. Pound, the second 
son, was born May 28, 1844. He attended 
McCowan's Forest Hill academy, and graduated 
at the Louisville Medical college in 1875, and is 
practicing near the homestead, in Seatonville 
precinct. He married Alice Stoul, of the same 
county, November 27, 1873. R. M. J. Pound 
was born June 28, 1841. He was educated in 
the same school as was his brother, and in i860 
graduated at the Louisville Law school, and 



practiced for five years in that city. Since 1861 
he has been, save the time spent in Louisville, en- 
gaged in teaching. Since 1870 he has been man- 
aging a farm in Seatonville precinct. On April 
10, 1870, he married Apphia M. Seaton, of Hall, 
Morgan county, Indiana. She is the daughter 
of Allen Seaton, a native of Kentucky. 

J. W. Wiggington was born in Bullitt county, 
Kentucky, August 18, 1827. He was the fourth 
of nine children of F. Wigginton, who was 
born in 1787 in Virginia, and came to Ken- 
tucky when about nine years old. He mar- 
ried Jane Bridwell, a Virginian, then of Nel- 
son county. J. W. Wigginton came to Jef- 
ferson county in 1848, where he remained for 
five years, and then removed to Spencer county, 
and remained several years in this and five years 
in Bullitt, and then returned to Jefferson county, 
where he is engaged in farming, which has been 
his lifelong occupation. In December, 1848, 
he married Elizabeth J. Barnett, who was born 
in Jefferson county, Kentucky, March 23, 1833. 
She is the daughter of Rev. W. P. Barnett, 
who was a native of Washington county. His 
wife was Sarah H. Royer, a native of Old- 
ham county. J. W. Wigginton is the father of 
eight children — three boys and five girls. He 
and his wife are members of the Baptist church. 

'Squire J. W. James is a native of Spencer 
county, Kentucky. He was born September 15, 
1839, and is the second of three children of W. 
James, who was born in Washington county, 
Kentucky, in 1804. W. James married Eliza- 
beth Markwell, in 1830. She was born in Jef- 
ferson county, in 1810. The James were pio- 
neers from Maryland, and the Markwells from 
Virginia. Mr. W. James was a farmer, as is his 
son J. W. 'Squire J. W. James was educated in 
the public schools. In 1864 he came to Jeffer- 
son county, and began farming in this precinct. 
He is now changing his farm into a fruit farm. 
In 1857 he married Ellen Reasor, daughter of 
James A. Reasor, of Spencer county, who was 
formerly a resident of this county, and author of 
a valuable work on the treatment and cure of 
hogs. In 1874 and 1878 J. W. James was 
elected magistrate, and has served with credit 
in that capacity. He and his wife are members 
of the Baptist church. 

Major Simpson Seaton Reynolds was born in 
Jefferson county, at Middletown, August 29, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i3 



1842. He is the oldest son of Thomas M. S. 
Reynolds, who was born in Orange county, Vir- 
ginia, February 22, 1818, and was a farmer by 
occupation. He came to Kentucky in 1840, 
and settled at Middletown. On July 28, 1841, he 
married Elizabeth H. Seaton, daughter of Judge 
George Seaton, of Jefferson county. She was 
born July 13, 1823, in Seatonville precinct. This 
marriage was blessed with thirteen children, of 
whom all are living, save William Wallace. The 
wife and mother died April 22, 1880. The fam- 
ily, in March of i860, moved to Saline county, 
Missouri, where they resided for fifteen years, 
when they removed to Nebraska, and settled 
near Lincoln, where Mr. Reynolds is conducting 
a large stock farm. Major Reynolds was edu- 
cated in the common schools of Kentucky and 
Missouri, but was prevented from taking a con- 
templated college course by the breaking out of 
the war. He enlisted in General Marmaduke's 
escort, with the rank of captain, and was after- 
wards promoted to the rank of brevet major. 
On October 16, 1864, he married Adah T. 
Guthrie, daughter of D. T. Guthrie, then of 
Missouri, but a native of Virginia. His present 
wife's name is Harriet, a daughter of Colonel 
Brown, of Virginia. At present Major Reynolds 
is engaged in stock raising, being a partner of 
Lieutenant Governor Cams, of Seward, Ne- 
braska. 



FAIRMOUNT PRECINCT. 

This section of the county contains some good 
land, an abundance of water, and has' the advan- 
tages of the Bardstown pike, which highway runs 
through it from north to south. It has also 
many good orchards, and all kinds of fruits are 
thoroughly cultivated. The yield of fruits and 
berries forms one of the staple products and con- 
stitutes one of the industries of the people. 
Lands once rich in alluvial soil have for a period 
of one hundred years been cultivated in corn and 
wheat, and other agricultural products, without 
rest or recuperation of the soil, and in some 
localities the exhaustion has been great. Other 
lands have been rested, crops of different kinds 
made to alternate in such a way that what was 
taken out by one kind of grain was, in part at 
least, restored in nourishment by the substitu- 
tion of some other kind. These natural ad- 



vantages were, however, a detriment during the 
late war. Soldiers of either army were fre- 
quently on these grounds, not in battle array, but 
in camp. The citizens were between the two 
forces, and from the circumstances were com- 
pelled to support both. Food was abundant, 
and the art of cooking well understood, and it 
was not unusual for a squad of men, or an entire 
company, to march up to a house and make de- 
mands for subsistence. To refuse these requests 
was but to submit finally under terms more humili- 
ating. Raids upon orchards, whiskey, and 
horses, were of frequent occurrence, and the oft- 
repeated story will be handed down by tradition 
in time to come. 

THE FIRST STORE 

in this precinct was probably built in 1840 
by A. C. Hays and his brother Charles. It was 
built at Hays' Springs, sixteen miles from Louis- 
ville. The partnership of these brothers contin- 
ued until i860, their business flourishing dur- 
ing the time. At this time one of the brothers 
went out, and the business was continued by the 
other until 1870. Since that time different ones 
have had possession. 

The post-office was for many years at Hays' 
Springs, for the accommodation of the public in 
this precinct. It is now Fairmount. 

MILLS. 

The first mill was built by John Smith on 
Cedar creek. He came to the county as 
early as 1780, bought a thousand acres of land, 
but afterwards went to Indiana, where he died in 
1830. At the time this mill was in successful op- 
eration there was but one store and a bakery in 
Louisville, and Mr. Smith supplied the town with 
flour. He had an overshot wheel, plenty of water 
at that time (since then the stream has almost 
dried up), two run of stones — one for corn and 
the other for wheat, and a good patronage for 
many miles around. The city of Louisville 
needed but two sacks of flour each week for con- 
sumption at that time, which was usually supplied 
by strapping a bag of flour on a horse, mount- 
ing a boy on top of that, and sending through the 
thickets to the village. By starting early he 
could usually find his way there and back by 
nightfall. Mr. J. B. Smith, when a mere lad ten 
years of age, performed this journey twice a 
week and carried flour to Louisville for several 



u 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



years. There was attached to this grist-mill a 
good saw-mill. The millwright, a Mr. Kirkpatrick, 
who was by the way, a good one, also attended 
to the saw-mill. The mill was finally purchased 
by Mr. Jacob Shaeffer, who run it very success- 
fully; but after he turned it over to his son-in- 
law, a Mr. John Berne, for some reason it went 
down. 

Mr. J. B. Smith erected a grist-mill on Cedar 
creek in 1851, and two or three years afterwards 
a saw-mill. The business was good, but the 
troublesome times of the war came on and the 
mills were both burned. In 1859 he again built 
both mills, putting in an engine and running by 
steam this time. But in 1867 the property suf- 
fered by fire the second time. Mr. Smith has 
been importuned many times by his neighbors 
to rebuild, but having suffered twice the results 
of incendiarism, at a cost of several thousand 
dollars, he declined to do so. 

Mr. J. B. Smith married a Miss Nancy Bell, 
daughter of Robert Bell, who was one of the 
first shoemakers in the precinct. He had no 
shop, but would take his awl and last and go 
from place to place seeking work. 



The old Chenoweth Run Baptist church, es- 
tablished as early as 1792, was the original place 
of meeting in an early day for religious worship. 
The Revs. Waller, Gupton, and Jackson were 
some of the first preachers. 

About 1820 the Reformed church was substi- 
tuted, and that church has now becom# the 
Christian church. The division that followed, 
however, caused a new building to be erected in 
this precinct on Cedar creek, and to which there 
have been additions and a growing membership 
up to this time. It now aggregates ninety-five 
members. Rev. Columbus Vanarsdall is their 
pastor; J. T. Bates, Sabbath-school superintend- 
ent; Vanarsdall, moderator; J. W. Maddox, clerk. 
Mr. Maddox has been clerk of this church for 
over twenty years. The deacons are: John T. 
Bates, W. V. Hall. Trustees are: R. W. Hawk- 
ins, W. V. Hall, J. W. Maddox. The old build- 
ing was erected some forty years ago. Mrs. 
Maddox, mother of J. VV. Maddox, now dead, 
was an untiring Christian worker, both in and 
out of church work. She was a member of many 
years standing in this church. 



The Presbyterian church is an old organization 
also, having a history that reaches back to 
1800, when Rev. James Vance, one of the 
first preachers, ministered to this people. The 
Revs. James Marshall, Harvey Logan, James 
Hawthorne, William King, William Rice, and 
others since that time have preached here. The 
new building was erected in 1870. Rev. S. S. Tay- 
lor is the pastor in charge. The elders are: Wil 
liam Morrison, W. Johnson, Peter Baker, and 
Joseph Becker; the deacons are: Moses Johnson, 
Thomas Moore, Clarence Sprowl. William Mor- 
rison is the superintendent of the Sabbath- 
school. The membership is about seventy. 
This church has suffered in the bitter contest be- 
tween the North and the South, and the division 
caused in its membership then still continues to 
exist. 

The Northern church still continues to hold 
services in the same house occasionally. A Rev. 
Mr. McDonald is their preacher. The elders 
are: Noah Cartwright, William Berry, and Jef- 
ferson Rush. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Francis Maddox was born in Culpepper 
county, Virginia, July 14, 181 1. His father, 
John Maddox, came with his family to Shelby 
county, Kentucky, in 1816, where he remained 
until his death. He married Mary M. Suther- 
land, a Virginian. Francis was the fourth of six 
children, four boys and two girls. He received 
only a limited education in the subscription 
schools, and has always worked at farming. It 
was nearly thirty-two years ago that he moved to 
his present farm in Fairmount precinct, Jefferson 
county, Kentucky. In 1836 he married Harriet 
N. Craley, by whom he had ten children, three 
boys and three girls now living. John, the oldest 
of the boys, is now managing his farm as a fruit 
farm. John W. on October 7, 1862, married 
Lucretia J. Shaw, daughter of Robert W. Shaw, 
of Jefferson county. They have four children. 
Mr. John Maddox is one of the teachers of the 
county. He began teaching when nineteen, and 
has taught more or less since. He was born 
December 27, 1840, and his wife October 13, 
1845. 

L. T. Bates was born in Jefferson county on 
June 18, 1843. His father, a farmer, was born 
in the same county July 19, 1806. He married 
Rebecca Wells, a native of Bullitt county, by 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



'5 



whom he had seven children, five sons and two 
daughters. L. T. Bates is a fanner, at which he 
has always been engaged in Fairmount precinct. 
On October 3, 1868, he married Sarah M. John- 
son; she was born October 13, 1848. Her father, 
Jacob Johnson, was born on the White river, 
Indiana, August 6, 1809. He was a blacksmith 
by trade, but during later life was a farmer and 
nurseryman. Jacob Johnson died in 1875. He 
married February 21, 1823, Sarah Guthrie, 
who was born in Jefferson county May 4, 1805; 
she was the youngest daughter of James Guthrie, 
a native of Delaware. James Guthrie came to 
Kentucky in 1781. After residing a few years in 
Kentucky he returned to the East and married 
a Miss Welch, who lived but a short time. He, 
about 1786, married Eunice Paul, nee Cooper, a 
Jersey woman. They had nine children. She 
died in 1850. 

J. B. Smith was born in Shelby county, Ken- 
tucky, on April 3, 1810, but was reared in Jeffer- 
son county. He is the oldest of thirteen chil- 
dren of Adam Smith, who was born at Lynn 
station. The father of Adam, John Smith, 
came from Pennsylvania, and was one of the first 
settlers of Jefferson county. Adam aided his 
father to erect and run a mill on Cedar creek. 
Adam married Sally Ballard in 1809. J. B. 
Smith, like his father, is a miller by trade, but 
has not milled any since his mills burned some 
fourteen years ago. On July 26, 1835, he mar- 
ried Nancy Bell, a native of Jefferson county, 
and daughter, of Thomas Bell, of Virginia, who 
was a soldier in the War of 1812. Mrs. Smith 
died March n, 1880. 

Frank O. Carrithers was born in Sullivan 
county, Indiana, December 25, 1835. When 
about two years of age his father moved to 
Bullitt county, Kentucky. His father, Charles 
T. Carithers was born March 12, 1809, in Spen- 
cer county, Kentucky. He married Elizabeth 
Dunbar, who was born in that county, January 
30, 1810, and died February 19, 1881. There 
were five children: John A., Frank O, Nancy J., 
Mary E., and Andrew T. Frank O. was edu- 
cated in the home schools and academies and 
has followed the calling of his father — farming. 
He moved to Fairmount precinct about sixteen 
years ago, where he has since managed a large 
stock and grain farm. On January 8, 1858, he 
married Sidney Ann Mills. She was born April 



22, 1837, and was a daughter of Isaac Mills. 
Their children are — Charles I., William T., Al- 
fred, George E., Adam Clay, Sarah E., Robert 
F., and Mary J. He is a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church, and his wife of the Re- 
formed. 

Dr. A. R. Grove was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, June 5, 1835. He is the eighth of 
nine children of Isaac Grove, who was born 
August 7, 1796. In 1816 he married Celia 
Pierpoint. In 1826 they moved from Culpeper 
county, Virginia, to Kentucky. When quite 
young the medical profession presented attrac- 
tions to the doctor, and after receiving a first- 
rate academical education he began the study of 
medicine, meanwhile' spending considerable time 
in teaching. His instructor was Dr. J. S. Seaton, 
of Jeffersontown precinct, with whom he re- 
mained two years, until 1857, attending lectures 
at the Kentucky School of Medicine, and gradu- 
ating in the spring of 1857. Immediately after, 
he was elected resident graduate of the city hos- 
pital, which position he held two years. In 
1859 he began to practice medicine in Jefferson- 
town precinct, Jefferson county, Kentucky, where 
he remained until 1861, when he removed to 
Hay's Spring, in the precinct where he yet re- 
sides and is still engaged in professional duties. 
Besides his practice he is one of the largest 
farmers of the county. On August 26, 1843, 
was born Frances Hays, whom he married De- 
cember 3, 1 86 1. This marriage has been blest 
with four children, three of whom are living — 
Mary'E, Charles I., and Lillie Belle. 

R. W. Hawkins was born in Franklin county, 
Kentucky, March io, 1822. His father, Moses 
B. Hawkins, was born in Orange county, Vir- 
ginia, in 1 79 1, and when eighteen, moved 
to Franklin county, Kentucky. He, in 181 6, 
married Lucinda Hawkins, by whom he had two 
children. In about two years she died, and in 
1820 he married Pamelia Alsop, a native of Cul- 
peper county, Virginia. By this wife he had 
twelve children, R. W. being the second. When 
R. W. was a small boy his father removed into the 
woods near Memphis, where they remained for 
some time. When he was about of age he re- 
turned to his native county and attended the 
Kentucky Military institute. During these years 
he was engaged at teaching also. After leaving 
the institute and while teaching he began read- 



I 6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



ing law, but the business he was then engaged 
upon did not permit him to finish this profession. 
He after this was engaged in trade at Bridgeport, 
and afterwards founded the town Consolation. 
In 1852 he came to Jefferson county and has 
since been engaged as a fruit grower and farmer. 
On December 24, 1850, he was married to Martha 
J. Porter, daughter of Dr. James Porter, of Fair- 
mount. She was born June 13, 1826. Theyhave 
had eight children — four boys and three girls liv- 
ing. Mr. Hawkins is of English descent, being a 
descendant of Sir John Hawkins, who] was admiral 
of the British navy during Queen Elizabeth's 
reign. His ancestors were among the first ac- 
cessions to the colonies of Newport and James- 
town. 

H. H. Tyler was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, August 20, 1854. He is the second 
child of Answell Tyler, who was born in Indiana 
in about 1815, and died in 1865. He was ap- 
prenticed to learn the wheelwright's trade, but ran 
away and came to Kentucky when about fifteen. 
He was a wheelwright and cooper by trade 
but worked principally at the first and at farming. 
He married Mary, daughter of Robert Welch, 
on May 9,1850, and was the father of four boys, 
of whom three are living. H. H. Tyler married 
Rosa Funk, daughter of A. Funk, of Seatonville, 
on December 23, 1875. She was born February 
25, 1855. They have two boys and one girl. 
Both are members of the Christian church. 



MEADOW LAWN PRECINCT. 

The general supposition has been that that 
portion of Jefferson county lying above Louis- 
ville is far more healthy and fertile than this por- 
tion. For want of drainage it has not been so 
conducive to health, but since the country has 
been undergoing a marked change in the way of 
improvement, the malarial and other noisome 
vapors are disappearing, the land is increasing in 
fertility and value, and the former peat bogs and 
swamp have become well cultivated farms that 
now bespeak prosperity. 

The soil, generally medium or fair, can still be 
improved by drainage and many of the advan- 
tages are yet undeveloped. The precinct is very 
irregular in shape, has a breadth in one place of 
some eight miles and at the extreme or southern 



end of this political division is but about a 
mile in width. 

One hundred and fifty votes are polled here. 
The schools — of which there are some good 
ones — are patronized by a floating attendance of 
one hundred and fifteen scholars. 

Mill creek flows through the northeastern por- 
tion of the precinct, but Pond stream, with its 
numerous little tributaries, drains most of its soil. 
It has also good highways, the Salt River road 
being the principal one. A branch of the Louis- 
ville, Nashville & Cincinnati Southern railroad 
traverses its entire length from north to south, 
affording good opportunities for reaching the 
city. 

Some farms under a good state of cultiva- 
tion are found here and there; that of Alanson 
Moorman is very large, consisting of some twelve 
hundred acres. He also, as do some others, 
pays considerable attention to the cultivation of 
fruit. 

The citizens of this precinct have ever been 
zealous of their spiritual welfare and have had 
organizations of a religious character since a 
time out of mind. The eldest religious society is 
probably the Methodist. This- society has 
a building near Valley Station, erected some 
forty years ago. The membership is large, con- 
sisting of some eighty persons. 

The Baptist society is not so old, the organi- 
zation having been effected only about fifteen 
years ago. Rev. Mr. Powers is yet, and proba- 
bly was their first minister. The membership is 
about one hundred and fifty. They have a good 
and handsome church building. 

There is also a Campbellite church in the pre- 
cinct. 



TWO MILE TOWN. 

One of the most prominent and useful of the 
early settlers of this part of the county was Mr. 
George Hickes. Probably no man of Jefferson 
county did more for his part of the section of 
country, or was more public-spirited, than was 
this man. The history of Two Mile Town is, to 
a great extent, the history of his life. The first 
saw-mill, the first grist-mill, the first carding- 
machine and fulling-mill, as well as the first 
church organization, were established principally 
by his energy and perseverance. He it was who 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



17 



first saw the necessity of cultivating and encour- 
aging all varieties of the choicest fruits, and he 
early took the opportunity of visiting Pennsyl- 
vania to secure plants and trees for this pur- 
pose. He had a like desire to encourage the 
raising of the best of stock, and accordingly took 
measures in this direction, which to-day have 
reached results that point to the noble spirit 
manifested by a self-sacrificing man. 

The people of Two Mile Town revere the 
name of this man. He was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1762; was without resources to gain a 
livelihood save his own hands; married in the 
course of time, and he and his wife Paulina 
moved to Ohio, where he afterwards purchased a 
farm, and after putting the same under repair 
sold it at a good round figure — such is the re- 
ward of industry — and moved to Kentucky and 
settled upon a four hundred acre tract of land, the 
homestead being where Mrs. Hickes now resides. 
He came to this region about 1790. The In- 
dians had been troublesome, but the block and 
station-houses of so frequent use previous to 
this time were less resorted to by the inhabitants. 
Buffaloes were still numerous and roved be- 
tween the cane brake and the prairie, but they 
all disappeared before the year 1817. Bears were 
plentiful, and as they made visits up and down 
Bear Grass creek, would occasionally pounce 
upon a hog. Wildcats and panthers often ex- 
hibited their fondness for young pigs, and it was 
difficult to preserve sheep from their ravages. 

The division of land in this part of the county, 
the same as in all Kentucky, was irregular and 
always located with reference to the wish of the 
proprietor regardless of regularity or of the shape 
or form of other tracts adjoining. This not 
only occasioned crooked roads and ill-shaped 
tracts, but, owing to confusion of titles, much 
trouble. This was a matter of so much conse- 
quence that it deterred or retarded emigration 
rather more than the fertility of the soil hastened 
it for a time. 

Mr. Hickes having purchased his land, built 
a stone house about the year 1796, the first of 
the kind in the county. It was built of stone 
taken from the creek and quarry near by, and 
was so substantially built as to withstand the 
storms of nearly a century of time, and is stili 
standing as a monument to the enterprise and 
industry of that day. In later years an addition 



was built to this structure, increasing its size. 

The first business enterprise was a carding and 
fullingmachine. The mill was built on Bear Grass 
creek, on land now owned by E. J. Hickes, Esq. 
Previous to this time this whole region of Ken- 
tucky, and probably the State itself, had not the 
advantages afforded by such a mill. Thecommon 
hand-card was used, the spinning-wheel, and 
hand-loom. Flax was raised, each family raising 
a half-acre or an acre, as family necessity re- 
quired, the same pulled in season; then bleached, 
afterwards broke, hackeled, and the tow and flax 
separated — bags, pants, and coarse cloth made of 
one, while the more delicate, stringy fibers of the 
other were woven into bolts, out of which a 
finer quality of goods was made for sheets, shirt- 
ing, etc. This additional enterprise not only 
benefited the early settlers of this immediate 
neighborhood, but brought custom from other 
portions of the State. 

The early settlers were also in much need of 
some device for grinding their corn and wheat. 
Previously the hand-mill was used. This con- 
sisted of many devices — any process in which 
sufficient friction could be brought to bear on the 
grain to pulverize or grind it was in use. Some 1 
would own a pair of stones, and by a singular 
device would have one fastened to one end of a 
pole, the other end being so fastened into the 
crack of the wall or ceiling as to allow suffi 
cient motion for the upper stone to be revolved 
upon the lower. Sometimes a pestle attached to 
a swinging pole, was made to descend in a mortar 
made of a stone or stump, and sometimes the 
corn was parched, then eaten. Wheat was fre- 
quently boiled; in short, various were the methods 
devised to reduce the raw material to a palatable 
state. No greater improvement was needed at 
that time than that of a gristmill, and Mr. 
George Hikes with his usual foresight erected a 
building on the south branch of the Bear Grass 
for this purpose. 

This mill was patronized by citizens of the 
whole country — and yet in that early day the 
settlements were so sparse it was not kept busy. 
To economize time and at the same time further 
the interests of the new settlement in another 
and much needed direction a saw-mill was at- 
tached, being likewise the first of the kind in the 
country. 

Previous to the erection of this mill, huts or 



i8 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



houses were made of hewed logs or logs un- 
dressed and as they came from the forest. The 
cracks, if filled at all, were chinked with blocks 
of wood or chips, then daubed with mortar made 
of mud. The window spaces were rather longer 
than broad — there being the space of one log 
nearly the length of the house left for a series of 
glass, fitted in one continuous chain of window 
sash. Beds were improvised by the use of one 
forked stick at suitable distances from the sides 
of the room and from the corner, into the forks 
of which the ends of the railing and end board 
or stick were laid, with the other ends mortised 
into the side walls of the cabin. Upon these 
was laid a net work of wood, and upon the latter 
beds of such material as they then had to make. 

The saw-mill furnished boards out of which 
not only frame houses were in part constructed, 
but all kinds of furniture — tables, chairs, benches, 
floors, etc. — assumed a neater, more tasteful 
form, and many were the uses made of lumber. 

George Hikes had four sons: Jacob, John, 
George, and Andrew; and three daughters. 
Jacob, the eldest son, married and settled just 
northwest of the homestead, and received as a 
.part of his patrimony the fulling machine; George, 
the grist-mill; John, the carding machine; and 
Andrew, land, it being part of the homestead 
place. 

TAN-YARD. 

No attempt was made in early days to dress 
and cure hides or skins, but in the course of 
time William Brown started a tan-yard near Jef- 
fersonville — the first probably in Kentucky. 
This yard was also of great use and marked an 
important event in the improvement of the age. 

BREWERY. 

From the day Noah got drunk the people of 
every clime have tippled at the glass. Whether 
or no, the sons of Kentucky would make no excep- 
tion to this rule. If they drank much whiskey, 
however, they said it was pure and would do no 
harm, besides there was no market for corn, 
save as it was made into liquor and that was 
made for drink. Their beverages were unadul- 
terated, and a tonic just before breakfast was a 
good incentive to rise early and work till 8 
o'clock, and then it became a good appetizer for 
the morning meal when taken at that hour. 

Colonel Doup, seeing the need of a brewery, 



erected one on the Bardstown road, between 
'Squire Hikes' and the city. Barley and hops 
•unadulterated were used for making beer. In 
the course of time — civilization advanced — the 
inventive genius of man made rapid progress 
in the fine art of murder; why not improvement 
in the manufacturing of beverages? Conse- 
quently corn or oats was found to serve just as 
well, provided beech shavings were used to fur- 
nish the color. Corn and oats were not as good 
as hops or barley, but they were cheaper, and the 
eye was so pleasantly deceived by the appear- 
ance of the article that the excuse was substi- 
tuted for the taste. Colonel Doup was not 
successful, however, and the enterprise in all its 
purity went down. His beer was not intoxicating 
enough to supply the demands of the frenzied 
trade. 

In later years George Hikes established a dis- 
tillery, but that also failed, for some cause or 
other, and since that time Louisville has been 
taxed for the miserable little quantity con- 
sumed in this precinct. It were better by far 
that breweries and distilleries such as were estab- 
lished by these men, had succeeded. There 
would have been less crime committed than 
there is now, in consequence of there being 
no poisonous beverages to indulge in. The 
pure whiskey then was used extensively and 
mixed with herbs and roots as an antidote to 
malaria, and the treatment was efficacious. 

MAGISTRACY. 

Each precinct of Jefferson county is under the 
official jurisdiction of two justices of the peace. 
It has ever seemed necessary to a true conditicn 
of peace that force be at hand. The one is the 
complement to the other, and can be used in 
enforcing obedience to the other. 

The early records belonging to this depart- 
ment of county government have been lost, but 
tradition points to George Hikes as one of the 
first justices of the peace in the precinct. He 
held the office for a time, and it is probably 
needless to remark that during his magistracy 
the people ever found a true friend in the inter- 
ests of right and justice. Colonel Doup filled 
this position also for a number of years under 
the old constitution, and each of these men be- 
came sheriff of the county, that office always 
bting filled by the oldest representative of the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



19 



magisterial court composed of the justices of 
the several precincts. 

When the old constitution was changed and 
the judges of all the courts were elected by the 
people, George W. Hikes, the son of George 
Hikes and father of the present' Squire Edward 
J. Hikes, was the first justice of the peace of 
Two Mile Town, and served in that capacity 
twelve to sixteen years. He died in June, 1849. 
His father, George Hikes, died in the year 1832. 

AN INCIDENT. 

The peace of Two Mile Town has had but 
little cause for complaint outside of a few cases, 
the people having been usually the friends of 
law and order; but previous to the war there 
crept into the precinct a pest that was short- 
ly abated. One Paschal Craddock settled 
near where the present George Hikes now 
resides. His nature was bold and aggressive, 
but his workings were effected through accom- 
plices, he himself never participating directly. 
The greatest fault this man possessed seems to 
have been that of an inordinate desire to steal 
and drive off stock of all kinds. The citizens 
would miss a hog, a sheep, or a steer from their 
drove or flock and the country would be scoured 
after the missing animals, but always with no 
success — and sometimes not only one animal 
would be gone but he would enter premises after 
night and frequently take his pick from droves. 
As usual, every fault finds the man out, nor was 
this an exception. The thefts were so enormous 
that they seemed like the operations of band- 
its, and the neighbors took steps towards sup- 
pressing the evil. The act of driving sixteen hogs 
from a neighbor's sty into his own, preparatory to 
an early killing on the next morning, was the last 
grand theft sufficient to arouse the vengeance of 
the precinct. A meeting of the citizens was held 
and Mr. Craddock and two of his accomplices 
received timely warning that they must leave the 
neighborhood within the space of six months. In 
view of his property they also accompanied this 
order with an offer to buy him out, the people 
offering to give him a good price for his land. 
This money was raised by subscription. 

The two accomplices took the hint and left 
the country, but Craddock, with a stubbornness 
equal to his meanness, failed to comply, and ere 
he lived out his six months a little stray ven- 



geance overtook him, and Paschal Craddock was 
no more. 

COLORED CITIZENS. 

The negroes, in number about the same as 
previous to the war, are making some advance- 
ment over their former condition. The emanci- 
pation act found this a people who took no care 
of themselves — no thought of the morrow — and 
were without parallel imprudent and improvi- 
dent. They had been accustomed during their 
servitude to have their wants attended to by 
others; their sick were visited by hands com- 
petent to administer, and nurses were supplied 
by their superiors. A due regard was had for 
clothing that always kept them comfortable and 
warm. Such was their condition before the war, 
and after that event their want of a dependence 
found them almost helpless. 

The negroes, as a general thing, had been 
friends to their masters in this precinct. Masters 
who regarded them property by right of in- 
heritance, and speculated but little in negro 
traffic, and who did for these ignorant people 
many acts of kindnesses, are remembered 
even to this day. This people have made 
some progress, and under leadership of a few • 
who are above the average, are advancing rapidly. 
They built themselves a comfortable church 
building in 1870, receiving much help financially 
from the white citizens. This building cost about 
four hundred dollars, and is situated on the 
Newburg road. Their first preacher was a colored 
man, formerly a slave for Mr. Kellar. He had 
been taught to read by Mrs. Hikes. He was 
named after Mr. Kellar (Mrs. Hikes' father), who 
was a friend to the colored people. Harry King, 
now ninety years of age, bought by Mr. Hikes, 
when he was thirty years old, is at present their 
pastor. He has been . now sixty years in Mr. 
Hikes' employ. The membership of this church 
is about one hundred. 

The first church in the precinct was built by 
the Baptist society about the time George Hikes 
came to the county, Rev. Mr. Walker being one of 
the first pastors in charge. The question of close 
communion was one which gave the organization 
some trouble, and was the real cause of the final 
overthrow later on. The first building was a 
stone structure erected about the year 1798-99, 
on the north bank of Bear Grass, on the Taylors- 
ville pike. The attendance upon service at this 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



point necessitated the membership coming so 
far that when the country got older the congre- 
gation divided up, forming out of this one church 
three new societies, one of which still retains 
the name of Bear Grass, and is located at the 
original site. 

Jeffersontown and Newburg are the localities 
at which are situated the other branches. 

A COINCIDENCE. 

A remarkable coincidence worthy of record is 
found in the history of two women of this pre- 
cinct. Their history in brief is this : Mrs. Heck- 
embush and Mrs. Bammer, strangers to each 
other, left Germany, their native country, at the 
same time, sailed over in the same vessel, each 
sold her passage way from New Orleans to Louis- 
ville, both coming to this precinct; both joined 
the Methodist Episcopal church the same day, 
and were married the same day. Each had one 
son, and both died on the same day. 

SCHOOLS. 

The school system of Kentucky needs some 
improvement before the State can have as 
good schools as are found in some of her sister 
States. There have been good teachers who 
always, in spite of any legislation, succeeded in 
working up an educational interest in this direc- 
tion, and such has been the case here. 

The first school of this precinct, of which the 
oldest representative has any recollection, was 
taught about the year 1792 by Professor Jones. 
The building, a rude affair, was built where the 
Bardstown pike makes a turn near the toll-gate, 
or where George W. Hikes now lives. The win- 
dows were generally long and made by leav- 
ing out one log. A big ten-plate stove that 
would take wood three feet long, and desks 
made of slabs laid on pins put in the wall. 

School generally began about seven o'clock in 
the morning and was kept up till late in the even- 
ing. There was no school law, but each parent 
paid a subscription tax in proportion to his finan- 
cial ability. Teachers generally boarded "round," 
and in this way one good turn was made to 
serve another. 

The books in use then were Webster's spelling 
book, Pike's arithmetic, Kirkam's grammar, 
no geographies or readers, but some history, or 
probably the life of Washington, was used as a 
substitute for a reader. Afterwards the New and 



the Old Testaments were used for advanced 
scholars. 

The original methods for instructing pupils 
were quite severe, it generally being conceded 
that what could not be taken in by close applica- 
tion of the mind should be "strapped on the 
back." This method of applying knowledge, 
however, worked in other ways than in 
the right. An aged citizen, in speaking of 
the schools, says that the fear that attended 
the pupils, especially those quite young, was 
was so great that in consequence many egregious 
blunders were made that otherwise would not 
have been. In reading a passage in Webster's 
spelling book which reads: "The farmers 
were plowing up the field," he made a blun- 
der by saying "the farmers were blowing up the 
field," the mistake made being due to the con- 
stant dread at the time that he would receive a 
blow from his teacher's ferrule did he make a 
mistake, but like the orator who wished 
to say "he bursted his boiler," got it "he biled 
his burster." 

After the district schools were established, in 
1 84 1 or 1842, more rapid progress was made in 
the cause of education. Mr. Games Yorston 
taught at this time, for a period of seven years. 
His methods of instruction were different, as 
was also his system of government. The col- 
ored people have a school in the precinct also. 

The land in this precinct grows the bestof grass. 
Advantage has been taken of this fact, and many 
of the fields turned into pasture lands for cows. 
There are one-half dozen good dairies in Two Mile 
Town alone. There are also good orchards, and 
some attention is paid to the raising of all kinds 
of fruits, the same as vegetables. The market fur- 
nished at Louisville is of great advantage to gar- 
deners. Early in the season produce is shipped 
North ; but as the southern crop is exhausted 
first, later in the season products can be shipped 
South. This is particularly true as regards small 
fruits and vegetables. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Edward J. Hikes was born April 29, 1817, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky, and has ever resided 
upon the old homestead with the exception of 
four years in Illinois. His father, George 
Hikes, came from Pennsylvania in 1790. Mr. 
Hikes was married in 1838 to Miss Paulina 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Keilar, of Moultrie county, Illinois, daughter of 
A. H. Keilar, of Oldham county, Kentucky. 
This union has been blessed with ten children, 
only seven of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hikes are members of the Christian church, as 
are also their children. Mr. Hikes is magis- 
trate at the present time and is highly esteemed 
by his fellow citizens. 

W. W. Goldsmith, M. D., was born in this 
State July 4, 1823. When nine years of age he 
went to New York city where he lived till he was 
twenty-seven, then came to Kentucky and 
located in Jefferson county. Mr. Goldsmith 
studied medicine in New York and graduated in 
1844. He was married in 1846 to Miss Ellenor 
Godman, of Baltimore, Maryland, daughter of 
John D. Godman, of Philadelphia. They have 
have had five children. Mr. Goldsmith's father, 
Dr. Alban Goldsmith, taught the first class in 
medicine in Louisville, and was well known in 
medical circles. The place where Mr. Gold- 
smith now lives was once used as a block-house 
by the old settlers when in danger of the Indians. 

William H. Fredrick was born March 16, 
1820, in Jefferson county, Kentucky, and ever 
has been a resident of this State. His father, 
Samuel Fredrick, was a native of Jefferson 
county. His grandfather, August Fredrick, 
came from Germany in an early year, and settled 
in Jeffersontown precinct and was one of the pio- 
neers of this part of the State. His mother was a 
daughter of Abijah Swearinger, who \ias one of 
the early settlers on Floyd's fork. Mr. Fredrick 
was married, September 24, 1843, t0 Mrs. A. 
Voel, widow of Samuel A. Voel, of Jefferson 
county. Her maiden name was Chrisler, being 
a daughter of Fielding Chrisler, a brother 
of Jesse Chrisler, of Harrods Creek. Mrs. 
Fredrick has had a family of eight children, 
six of whom are living. Mr. Fredrick is a Free 
Mason. He has represented the county in the 
Legislature two sessions, and is now Senator 
from Jefferson county. The district in which he 
was elected is composed of Jefferson county and 
the first and second wards of Louisville. 

Mathew Meddis, one of the old residents of 
Jefferson county, was born June 5, 1804, on 
Floyd's fork, and has ever resided in the county. 
His father, Godfrey Meddis, came from Mary- 
land in an early day. He died in New Orleans 
in 1815. Mr. Meddis, the subject of this sketch, 



was married July 28, 1836, to Miss Effa Seaton, 
of Jefferson county. They have six children 
all of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Meddis 
are members of the Christian church; also two 
of the children. 

William O. Armstrong was born February 23, 
1845, in Louisville, and resided in the city till 
1874, when he moved into the country where we 
now find him most pleasantly situated on a farm 
of one hundred acres of good land. His house 
is located on the highest point of land between 
Louisville and Bardstown. Mr. Armstrong was 
married November 10, 1870, to Miss Sally 
Womack, of Middletown precinct. They have 
four children : Bessie L., Georgie V., Willie F., 
and Mary E. Mrs. Armstrong is a member of 
the Christian church. 

Robert Ayars was born May 22, 1804, in Salem 
county, New Jersey. He remained here till 
1822, when he went to Pennsylvania, where he 
was engaged in some iron works till 1829, when 
he came to Louisville, and was in business about 
three years. He then bought a farm upon which 
we now find him. It contains three hundred and 
twenty-five acres. He was married June 14, 
1832, to Miss Elizabeth Hikes, of Jefferson 
county. They have had eight children, five of 
whom are living. Mr. Ayars was formerly a 
Free Mason, and has served as magistrate nearly 
thirty years. 

Edward B. Ayars was born July 9, 1843, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky. His father, Robert 
Ayars, resides but a short distance from him. 
Mr. Ayars was married April 24, 1873, t0 Miss 
Georgie B. Hikes, an adopted daughter of George 
Hikes. They have three children. Mrs. Ayars 
is a member of the Christian church. Mr. Ayars 
is a Free Mason. He served four years in the 
Federal army in the Second Kentucky regiment. 

Paul Disher was born June 7, 1816, in Baden, 
Germany, and emigrated to America in (835, 
and at once came to Kentucky, and settled near 
Louisville, where he resided several years, then 
moved into the country where his widow and 
family now live. He was married April 19, 
1845, to Miss Teresia Huber, of Germany. 
They have nine children. Mr. Disher died 
August 17, 1872. He was a member of the 
Catholic church. 

Charles Wetstein was born July 23, 1844, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky. His father, Jacob 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Wetstein, came from Switzerland in about 1825, 
and settled in Kentucky.where he lived till 1877, 
when he went to Switzerland on a visit and died 
in his native country. Mr. Wetstein was mar- 
ried in 1 87 1 to Miss Carrie Bannger, of Jeffer- 
son county, daughter of John E. Baringer. 
They have had two children. One is living. 
Mr. and Mrs. Wetstein are members of the 
Methodist church. He is also a Knight of 
Honor. 

Frederick Baringer was born August 8, 1818, 
in Jefferson county, and has ever resided in the 
State. His father, Jacob Baringer, was a native 
of Germany, and came to America in 1817, and 
was one of the old settlers. Mr. Baringer has a 
farm of seventy-three acres of excellent land. He 
was married in 1843 t0 M ' ss Catherine Basler, 
of Louisville. They had four children. He 
was married the second time in 1859 to Miss 
Sophia Edinger, of Pennsylvania, daughter of 
George Edinger. They had five children by 
this marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Baringer are mem- 
bers of the Methodist church. 



JEFFERSONTOWN PRECINCT. 

The history of the earliest or original settlers 
of this section is but traditionary. It would be 
gratifying always to know who first spied out the 
land, afterwards moved to the place; how and 
from whence he came; where he settled, and in 
order take up each of the new comers and treat 
of their arrivals similarly, but the remoteness of 
these events precludes such mention. We can 
only reach the times of the Revolution, and 
learn something in regard to the settlers in 
general. 

Probably as early, and certainly not long 
after the survey made by Captain Thomas Bul- 
litt, agent for Mary and William College, in 
1773, the Tylers settled in this precinct near 
Jeffersontown. There were three of these men 
— Moses, Robert and Ned. They experienced 
hardships common to all early settlers, and to 
Indian warfare. 

Nelson Tyler, son of Moses, was born in 1790; 
and died in 1874 "X the advanced age of eighty- 
four years. One descendant of the Tylers mar- 
ried a Shaw, and afterwards, while hunting 



horses early one morning, was himself with a 
negro servant, captured by the Indians and mur- 
dered. His wife was taken prisoner; was treated 
very well, and afterwards taken to Canada, where 
under the British she received worse treatment 
than at the hands of the Indians. 

James Guthrie, an old settler in the southern 
part of this precinct, was born in 1749. His 
father, William Guthrie, was a native of Ireland. 
James Guthrie came to Kentucky in 1780; was 
an Indian fighter, and as was the custom in those 
days, had recourse to his block-house to defend 
himself against their wily attacks. He built a 
stone house at Fern creek — still standing — in 

1794, which in 1812 was badly shaken by an 
earthquake, and after many years became unsafe 
in consequence. 

William Goose, Sr., was also an early settler, 
coming to Jeffersontown about 1790, from 
Pennsylvania. The Blankenbakers, a large family, 
came about the same time. Mr. Goose was 
a wagon -maker. The Zilharts were also very 
early settlers. Phillip and George erected a 
wagon-shop, the first of the kind in Jefferson- 
town. Mr. Goose had a family of eight children. 
The late William Goose was the first wheel- 
wright in the village, and made spinning-wheels, 
also chairs, and did cabinet work. Jacob Hoke 
was also an early settler, coming here as early as 

1795. He purchased of Colonel Frederick 
Geiger four hundred acres of land and erected a 
stone house, now the property of William O. 
Ragland, in 1799. This house is still standing. 
At that time there was a block-house on Colonel 
Anderson's tract of land, at Lynn Station, 
which had been of service to the early settlers, but 
the last raid of the Indians was made about this 
time, when seeking some horses, after which the 
settlers lived without being disturbed. Colonel 
Geiger came from Maryland about the year 
1796-97. He was colonel in the War of 1812, 
and fought at the battle of Tippecanoe. His 
regiment was made up of men around Louisville. 
He sold here and moved down where Wash 
Davis now lives, where he had between three and 
four hundred acres of land. He was of some 
kin to the Funk family, and married the second 
time, his last wife being Margaret Yenawine, who 
was also related to A. Hoke's wife. William 
Shaw, who was killed, bought one hundred acres 
of land off the Sturges farm, and settled on 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



23 



Chenoweth run, just above Andrew Hoke. His 
son William was taken prisoner when a man, but 
escaped, came home and later participated in 
the battle of Tippecanoe, where he was shot 
and afterwards died from the effects of the 
wound. George Pomeroy came in 1791-92. He 
was also chased by the Indians but not captured. 
He settled near Mr. Hoke's place, on the run. 
His son, James Pomeroy, was a distinguished 
teacher in the Jeffersontown school for many 
years. 

Major Abner Field settled here about 1790, a 
mile and a half west of Jeffersontown. His 
sons, Alexander and John, became distinguished 
men in the Government employ. 

The Funks were very early and settled at the 
Forks of Bear Grass. The son of John Funk 
(Peter) was major of the horse at the battle of 
Tippecanoe. Joe Funk was a captain at that 
time and afterwards a colonel in that war. 

James H. Sturges came as early as 1776. He 
then owned the place now in the possession of 
A. Poke. His name was cut in the bark of a 
tree with the date of 1776. His sons became 
eminent men. William H. Pope married his 
daughter, and was afterward one of the clerks of 
the county court. 

Martin Stucky, Philip Ziihort, Dr. Ross, and 
the Warwicks, were all early settlers in this pre- 
cinct. 

MILLS. 

Funk's Mill on Floyd's fork below Seatonville, 
was the oldest one, and was patronized exten- 
sively until Augustie Frederick built one just 
below Jeffersontown about the year 1800. He 
had also a saw-mill near Jeffersontown. The 
stream now is hardly strong enough to turn a 
grindstone, such having been the effect of clear- 
ing the lands on the creeks and rivulets. 

CHURCHES. 

In a very early day the German Reformed 
society built a small log church, very plain in 
style, which they used some few years. Rev. 
Mr. Zink, a Lutheran, preached to this people for 
several years. Sometimes other preachers would 
call this way. The old church was torn down 
and a union church was built by all the denom- 
inations in 1816. This was made of brick. 
The walls were not built solidly owing to the 
brick not having been burnt as they should 



have been, and in a few years the building was 
worthless, and a stone church was built by the 
same denominations about the year 1820, and 
soon after this, the Lutheran denomination, feel- 
ing able of themselves, built a church. The 
present pastor of this church is Rev. J. E. Lerch. 
The church has a membership of about seventy- 
eight. 

The German Reformed established in 1809, is 
still in a flourishing condition. The Lutherans, 
established before 1800, is the church that is 
non est 

The Methodist Episcopal society built a large 
brick church building just before the war, and 
the society was a flourishing one for a number of 
years. 

The New-school Baptists bought their church 
occupancy in the Masonic hall from the Presby- 
terians about ten years ago. 

The Presbyterians, who were originally strong, 
have about lost their identity. 

The Christian church has just put up a large 
new building. Their first building was erected 
about 1856, but the organization dates farther 
back than that. 

The colored people have two churches, a Bap- 
tist and a Methodist, both of which are flour- 
ishing. 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

The Farmers' and Fruit Growers' association 
was established in 1880. The society put up a 
shed two hundred feet long at Fern City, on 
grounds in all comprising fifteen acres of land, 
and fenced the whole. The officers of this asso- 
ciation for the present are: President, John 
Decker; vice president, E. J. Hikes; secretary, 
Bryant Williams ; treasurer, Moses Johnson. 
There is also a board of twelve directors. The 
success of this enterprise was guaranteed to the 
people of Jeffersontown last year, when the 
most sanguine expectations were realized. 
Fruits, vegetables, and everything, in fact, raised 
and manufactured by farmers and their wives, 
graced the tables at this fair, and much en- 
couragement was given to agriculturists in at- 
tendance. 

ORIGINAL PRICES. 

In early days the people of this part of the 
county paid for calico fifty cents per yard, corn 
twenty to twenty-five cents per bushel, wheat 
fifty to seventy-five cents per bushel, oats twenty 



?4 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



to twenty-five cents per bushel, rye fifty cents 
per bushel. Hired help could be had for six or 
seven dollars per month, and other articles in 
proportion. 

THE LOUISVILLE AND TAYLORSVILLE PIKE 

was commenced in 1849. Mr. Andrew Hoke 
was one of the original directors, and still serves 
in that capacity. Mr. Ed. Brisco is president of 
the company. Dr. Stout is secretary. There is 
also a board of directors. 

JEFFERSONTOWN 

now has a population of three hundred and fifty. 
It was laid out in 1805 by Mr. Bruner, and at 
first called Brunersville. One of the first settlers 
of this town was George Wolf. He afterwards 
moved to Indiana, and his sons became distin- 
guished men in politics. 

THE WAR OF l8l2. 

There were many men who volunteered from 
this precinct for that war. It would be impossi- 
ble to give, with data at hand, a complete list of 
those who did go. A company of men was 
raised round about Jeffersontown. Captain 
Quiry, who raised this company, paid his men 
for enlisting, a bounty of fifty cents. A number 
of the citizens also participated in the Mexican 
war. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

J. A. Winand, son of Jacob Winand, was born 
in Jefferson county January 20, 1836. Jacob 
was the son of Phillip, who was a Pennsylvanian 
and was born in 1798 in Jefferson county. He 
married in 1824 Christiana Hoke, daughter of 
Adam Hoke. John A. Winand was educated in 
the common schools and has always been a 
farmer. January 20, 18.57, he married Sarah 
Briscoe, daughter of 'Squire Jacob Briscoe, of 
Jeffersontown precinct, in which precinct they 
live. They have six children — William A., J. 
Edward, Blanche, Mollie, Anna, and Lillie P. 

William L. Hawes is of German descent and 
was born October 25, 1815. His father, Jacob 
Hawes, went to Jefferson county from Bourbon 
county, Kentucky, when William was six years 
old. Jacob Hawes, in 181 2, married Fannie, 
daughter of David Omer. William was educated 
in the common schools, and his occupation 
from boyhood to the present time has been that 
of a farmer. In 185 1 he married Matilda, 
daughter of John Nett, long a resident of the 



county. She was born in Jefferson county in 
1825. They have five children, two boys and 
three girls. He is a member in good standing 
of the Baptist church. 

Franklin Garr was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, November 21, 1836. He is the 
seventh son and eleventh child of twelve chil- 
dren of Benjamin Garr, who was born in Virginia 
in 1789. He married Nancy Smith, a native of 
that State, January 8, 1815. In 1828 they came 
to Jefferson county. Franklin Garr was educated 
in the common schools. His occupation is that 
of farming. In 1859 he married Mary Cheno- 
with, daughter of Steven O. Chenowith. She 
was born in 1838. They had but one child, 
Charley, born July 29, 1863. Mrs. Garr departed 
this life in 1867. Mr. Garr resides upon and 
manages his farm in Jeffersontown precinct. 

Jacob Wells was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, March 23, 1817. His father was 
John H. Wells, a native of Virginia, and a sol- 
dier of the War of 1812. He married, in 1813, 
Amelia Fox, who was born in South Carolina 
July 8, 1793. They had eleven children, of 
whom eight grew to maturity. When Jacob was 
eleven years old his father moved near Mount 
Washington, Bullitt county, at which place he 
received his education. He learned the stone- 
mason's trade of his father, and worked at this 
for many years. For ten years prior to the war 
he and his brother, N. P. Wells, carried on a 
tombstone establishment in Jeffersontown. At 
this time Jacob Wells retired from business. 
N. P. Wells was born at Mount Washington 
December 17, 1829. He learned the stone- 
cutter's trade, and has been in that business since 
1850, and now has a shop at Jeffersontown. He 
married Elizabeth Leatherman, daughter of 
Joseph Leatherman, of Jefferson county. She 
was born April 15, 1842. 

A. E. Tucker was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, July 10, 1848. He is the third child 
of Hazel Tucker, an old-timer of the county and 
precinct. Hazel Tucker was born in Spencer 
county in May, 1796. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation, and married Nancy Cooper, by whom 
he had six children. He was a member of the. 
Baptist church. He died May 23, 1875. Al- 
bert was educated in the Jeffersontown college, 
and like his father is a farmer. On March 12, 
1874, he married Mary Jones, who was born in 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



2 5 



November, 1848. They have three children — 
William, Thomas, and Mabel. 

John Nelson Tyler was born in Jefferson pre- 
cinct, Jefferson county, on September 28, 1825. 
He is the fifth of eight children of Allen Tyler, 
a native of the same county. The father of 
Allen was Moses Tyler, who, with his brothers, 
William and Edward, immigrated into the same 
county during Indian times from Virginia. 
William was for a time a captive of the natives. 
Allen married Phcebe Blankenbaker, daughter of 
Henry Blankenbaker, of Virginia. Allen Tyler 
was born February 28, 1794, and died Novem- 
ber 30, 1874. Phcebe was born November 13, 
1792, and died December 8, 1857. John Nel- 
son Tyler was educated in the common schools, 
and is a farmer by occupation. He married 
Rhoda Ann Quisenberry, a native of Jefferson 
county, by whom he has five children — Lucy 
Ann Beard, Malissie Alice, William Thomas, 
Jane, and Minnie Belle. 

William Goose is of German descent, and was 
born in Tefferson county, Kentucky, December 
8, 1804. He is the third son and sixth child 
of William Goose, who was a native of Pennsyl- 
vania, *and who came to Kentucky about 1796. 
Before leaving Pennsylvania he married Catha- 
rine Yenawine. He was a wagon-maker by trade, 
and built many of the farmers' wagons formerly 
used in Jeffersontown precinct, but was also a 
farmer. He was the father of eight children. 
The subject of this sketch was educated in the 
common schools, and when fifteen was appren- 
ticed to learn the wheelwright's (spinning wheel) 
and chair bottoming trades. He served four 
years at Jeffersontown, and then engaged in these 
businesses in the same place for about six years. 
He then began farming on the place where he 
now resides in Jeffersontown precinct, and was 
a farmer during the days of flax growing and 
hand-spinning. In 1827, he married Fanny 
Willard, who was born in Jefferson county, De- 
cember 22, 1 80 1, and by whom he has nine liv- 
ing children — Preston, Harrison, Anderson, 
Luther, Rufus, James, Adaline, Amanda, and 
Mary Ann. William Goose has been a member 
of the Lutheran church for over sixty years. 
James M. Goose was born March 28, 1838; was 
educated in the common schools, and is a farmer 
by occupation. In 186 1 he married Mary, 
daughter of Henry Willard, of Jefferson county 



'Squire A. G. Watts, son of Peter Watts, a 
Revolutionary hero who came into Kentucky in 
1779, was born in Boyle county, Kentucky, 
December 16, 1802. The 'squire's education 
was received in the common schools and at the 
Transylvania college. He has lived in various 
parts of Woodford and Shelby counties engaged 
at farming, and at Louisville managing hotels, 
and at one time was engaged in trade at Cin- 
cinnati. He was proprietor of the Beers house, 
Fifth street, Louisville, and then of the Oakland 
house, at Oakland. He was deputy United , 
States marshal under Blackburn, and continued 
for six years under him and Lane. In 1849 he 
moved to Middletown, where he was postmaster 
and proprietor of the Brigman house, and where 
he remained for six years. He then came to 
Jeffersontown, where he has acted as magistrate 
and police judge. In Shelby and Jefferson 
counties he has served as magistrate for thirty- 
four years. On May 15, 1822, he married Judith 
Ann Ayers, of Woodford county, and in Novem- 
ber of the same year his wife died. In June, 
1825, he married a Virginia lady, Lucy Robin- 
son by name, by whom' he had seven children, 
one living to maturity. He and his wife are 
honored members of the Methodist church. 

George W. McCroeklin was born in Spencer 
county, April 23, 1845. He is a son of Alfred 
McCroeklin, a native of Nelson county, and his 
mother was of the same county. Her name 
was Maria Smith, daughter of John Smith. 
George was reared upon a farm and received his 
education in the district schools. His occupation 
has been that of a farmer and stock dealer. 
March, 1875, he began farming in Jeffersontown 
precinct of Jefferson county, and two years after- 
ward became the superintendent of the alms 
house. In February, 1870, he married Susan 
Maretta, a native of Spencer county, by whom 
he has four children: Maria, Agnes, Alfred, and 
John. In religion he is a Catholic. 

William Cleary was born near Londonderry, 
county Donegal, Ireland, November 18, 1818. 
He received a classical and mathematical educa- 
tion, and was a graduate of the Royal high 
school of Raphoe, his native town. When 
twenty-two he came to Philadelphia. He spent 
the winter of 1840-41 in teaching at Hydestown, 
New York, and in the spring of 1841 came to 
Louisville. During the next few years he was 



2 6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



professor of mathematics in St. Mary's college, 
in Marion county, and taught private school in 
Cape Girardeau, and afterwards was an in- 
structor in St. Vincent's college and prepara- 
tory theological seminary, of Missouri, then 
under Bishop Kendrick's charge. In 1848, 
while sojourning in Shelby county, Kentucky, 
he was licensed to practice law, but was en- 
gaged in this profession for only a short 
time — some four years. In 1849 he married 
Mrs. John Kennedy, nee Fannie Thomas, a 
native of Spencer county, by whom he had two 
sons — William Grerry and James. She was born 
May 12, 181 2. In 1849 he bought the farm 
where he now lives, in Jeffersontown precinct, 
where he has since resided. He conducts his 
farm as a grain farm, and makes a specialty of 
blooded horses. He has, among other fine 
horses, a Hamiltonian stallion, half brother of 
Maud S., called Lee Boo, and Desmond, a run- 
ning horse. 

Frederick Stucky was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, November 13, 1801. He is the sixth 
of nine children of John Stucky, a native of 
Germany, a resident of Maryland, and one of 
the pioneers of Kentucky. His mother was 
Mary Meridith, a native of Kentucky. When 
quite small his parents moved to Gibson county, 
Indiana, where they remained until their death. 
This was when Mr. Stucky was about nine years 
of age. When twelve he was apprenticed to learn 
the tailor's trade in Vincennes, Indiana, serving 
seven years. He then returned to Kentucky, 
his sole wealth being contained within a 
bundle carried in a handkerchief. He for the 
next eighteen years worked at his trade in Jeffer- 
sontown. His health failing, he moved upon 
the farm where he now lives, and where he 
has resided for over forty years. This farm is 
the same that his father and grandfather lived 
on, to which he has added other farms, 
and he is now even beyond "well-to-do." 
He married Louisa H. Myers, a daughter of 
Jacob Myers. She was born in Jefferson county, 
April 26, 1808, and died April 30, 1880. They 
had twelve children, of whom there are three 
daughters and four sons living. He is a mem- 
ber of the Methodist church. 

Captain C. L. Easum was born in Jefferson 
county, Kentucky, December 30, 1832. He is 
the second son of Harman Easum, who was 



born in the same county October n, 1805. 
Harman Easum was a carpenter by trade and 
worked at this in connection with farming. On 
July 14, 1828, he married Sarah B. Shain, a native 
of Bullitt county, but reared in Pleasant Hill, 
Mercer county, Kentucky. They had four chil- 
dren : John W., Charles L., Sarah J., and Eliza- 
beth Ellen. The father was killed October 12, 
1875, by a railroad accident in Rockland county, 
New York. C. L. Easum was educated in the 
common schools and graduated from the law de- 
partment of the Louisville university. He prac- 
ticed law in Louisville until 1861. In September 
of this year he enlisted in company E, Fifteenth 
regiment Kentucky volunteers, and at the organi- 
zation of the company was elected second lieuten- 
ant. He served in Kentucky, Tennessee, Ala- 
bama, and Georgia, and was mustered out in 
January of 1865. During this time he was pro- 
moted to the captaincy of the regiment (1863). 
Since the close of the war he has been upon the 
old homestead farm, which he manages as a fruit 
farm. On June 21, 1871, he married Isabella 
F. Collins, of Orange county, Indiana. Her 
father was Thomas H. Collins, a captain in the 
commissary department of the Army *>f the 
Potomac. This marriage was blessed with six 
children: Mary L, John W., Harman, Julia G, 
Roberta T., and Ida P. He, though a Repub- 
lican, was elected magistrate in 1875, and again 
in August of 1878 — serves till 1883. In 1870 
he was theRepublican candidate for county at- 
torney against Albert I. Willis. 

A. R. Kennedy was born in Jefferson county, 
September 15, 1841. He is the third of five 
children of John Kennedy, a pioneer of Ken- 
tucky from Maryland. He was a farmer by oc- 
cupation and after coming to the State married 
Fanny Thomas, of Spencer county. He died in 
1847. His widow afterwards married William 
Cleary, of Jeffersontown precinct. A. R. Ken- 
nedy was educated in the common schools and 
at Oldham academy. He is a farmer; one also 
interested in fine cattle, having a small but 
choice herd of Jersey cattle. On May 4, 1862, 
he married Josephine Seabold, a native of the 
county. She was born July 1, 1844. L. E. 
Kennedy is next younger than A. R., and was 
born November 8, 1844. He was educated in 
the common schools and at the Notre Dame 
university, South Bend, Indiana, and is a farmer. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



27 



Dr. S. N. Marshall was born in Spencer 
county, Kentucky, October 14, 1830. His 
father was a pioneer of Spencer county, and a 
farmer. Before emigrating from Maryland he 
married Drusilla Jenkins. The doctor was the 
youngest of six children, three sons and three 
daughters. S. N. Marshall was educated in the 
Shelby county academy and the St. Mary's col- 
lege, Spencer county, finishing his course in 
1847. He then road medicine with Dr. A. C. 
Wood, then of Shelby, but now of Davis county, 
Kentucky. He finished his medical education 
at the old Louisville university, receiving his 
diploma in 1851. He located at Wilsonville, 
on Plum creek, Shelby county, where he 
remained for fifteen years. He then removed 
to Jeffersontown, where he has since resided, and 
practiced his profession. On May 17, 1855, he 
married Drusilla Carpenter, a native of Shelby 
county, and a daughter of Calvin Carpenter, a 
farmer. This union resulted in five children, of 
whom four are living — Mollie D., Willie, Thomas 
Ti, and Calvin. The doctor is a member of the 
Presbyterian church, and his wife of the Chris- 
tian. 

Samuel Hart was born in Louisville, Ken- 
tucky, October 26, 1808. He is the seventh 
of nine children of William Hart, who came tp 
Louisville from Maryland prior to 1800. His 
father was both a tanner and a marble-cutter. 
He resided at Louisville till his death, which oc- 
curred when Samuel was a small child. William 
Hart was married in Pennsylvania to Elizabeth 
Hinkle, of that State. Her father John Hinkle, 
Peter Yenawine, and others, came down the 
Ohio in a flat boat at the same time. He crossed 
the mountains with a one-horse cart. After ar- 
riving at Louisville, he was offered the Gault 
house property for his one old horse, when he 
declared to the would-be trader that he "wouldn't 

give 'old Bob' for the whole d n town!" 

Elizabeth Hinkle Hart married John Miller, and 
died at Jeffersontown. Samuel Hart was appren- 
ticed to learn the tinner's trade, and after fin- 
ishing his trade, carried on a shop at Jefferson- 
town for a number of years. He built the Jeffer- 
son house at that place, and conducted this 
house and a grocery until 1855, when he sold 
out and moved upon the farm where he now re- 
sides. In 1834 he married Rebecca Frederic, 
born November 1, 1817, a native of the county, 



and daughter of Joseph Frederic, who was killed 
by A. Churchill. By this marriage he had two 
children, of whom George is living. In 1837 he 
married Sarah Finley, by whom he had four 
children. On November 27, 1850, he married 
Carthage Swope, by whom he had fifteen chil- 
dren, of whom eight are living. He went to 
school in the first court-house erected in Louis- 
ville. He was an old-line Whig, but never a 
Democrat. 

J. C. Walker was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, October 29, 1830. He is the second 
of nine children of Thomas Walker, who was 
born in the same county in 1796. He married 
Lucy Garr, whose father's name was Nicholas, 
and who came from Virginia in 18 10. J. C. 
Walker was educated in the common schools 
and is a farmer. On May 18, 1865, he married 
Elizabeth Blankenbaker, daughter of Levi Blank- 
enbaker. They have four children, three of 
whom are now living — William L., Charley M., 
and Thomas W. 

Mrs. C. Snyder was born July 8, 1834, on the 
ocean when her parents were coming to this 
country. John Rechtold, her father, was born 
in Kurhessen, Germany. After emigrating to 
America he settled in Maryland, and in 1838 
came to Louisville, Kentucky, where he remained 
but a year, when he removed upon the farm in 
Jeffersontown precinct, where his daughter now 
resides. He was a shoemaker by trade, but 
worked at farming after coming to Kentucky. 
Catharine was the second of seven children. In 
1 85 1 she married Fred Snyder, a native of Hesse 
Darmstadt, Germany. He was born in 18 18, 
and came to America in 1844. He first settled 
in Indiana, where he remained until his mar- 
riage. Here he worked at farming. The union 
of Fred and Catharine Snyder was blessed with 
six children — Mary E., John W., Emma, Charles, 
Martha, and Gussie. Mr. Snyder died in 1873. 
Both himself and wife were members of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. 

William Gray was bom in Shelby county, March 
4, 1799. His father, Robert Gray, was born near 
Dublin, Ireland, and came to this country when 
about eighteen years old, remaining in Pennsyl- 
vania for a time. In that State he married Miss 
Furney, and then came to Jefferson county 
and settled on the Bear Grass, near the work- 
house; but on account of the unhealthiness of 



2& 



HISTORY OF THE OHiO FALLS COUNTIES. 



the place he remained there but two years, when 
he removed to Shelby county, where he died 
some forty-five years ago at the age of ninety- 
five. While residing near Pittsburgh he married 
Mary Yabo, by whom he had eleven children. 
William Gray was reared and educated in Shelby 
county, where, also, he spent the greater part of 
his life as a farmer. About thirty years ago he 
sold out and removed to Jefferson county. 
When a few days less than nineteen he married 
Sarah Allen, by whom he had thirteen children, 
of whom A. J., Amanda, and Matilda are now liv- 
ing. The wife died September 8, 1879. He 
has been a member of the Baptist church for 
fifty-eight yeais. 

In 1865 E. Walter Raleigh was married to 
Amanda Gray. She was born April 23, 1841, 
and he March 30, 1833. Mr. Raleigh was edu- 
cated in the Asbury university, Greencastle, In- 
diana. He is a carpenter by trade, and served 
a three years' apprenticeship. He has engaged in 
the mercantile business considerably, at one time 
in Louisville. He served two years in company 
F, Thirty-first Indiana. After the war he was 
for four years superintendent of the alms-house 
in Jefferson county. During late years he has 
been engaged in farming. 

Mrs. J. Landram, daughter of John Barr, was 
born in Jefferson county January 4, 1822. Her 
father was also a native of the county. He mar- 
ried Ellen Tyler, daughter of William Tyler 
and sister of Sarah Tyler. They had but one 
child, and dying in 1822, their child was reared 
by its grandparents. She was married to J. 
Landram in 1842. He was a native of Spottsyl- 
vania, Virginia, and came to Kentucky about 
1839, when about twenty-one years of age. He 
was a graduate of Louisville Medical college, 
and practiced in Harrison county, Indiana, until 
the time of his death, December 31, 1853. They 
had three children — Joseph, Mary Francis, and 
Letitia Alice. 

C. K. Sprowl was born in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, October 5, 1850. He is the third 
child of Dr. R. C. Sprowl, who was born at 
Charlestown, Clarke county, Indiana, on January 
8, 1820. His father was a prominent farmer of 
that county. Dr. Sprowl received a liberal edu- 
cation and was a graduate of the Louisville 
Medical university. When quite young he settled 
in Utica, Indiana, remaining but a short time. 



He then located at Middletown, where he prac- 
ticed medicine till 1869, when he' removed to 
the farm where his son now resides, in Jefferson- 
town precinct. On March 30, 1845, ne married 
Mary R. Vance, who was born in Jefferson coun- 
ty, Januury 31, 1835. She was the daughter of 
Dr. Robert G. Vance, an old-time practitioner of 
Middletown, also largely engaged in farming. 
They had four children : Robert Vance, William 
Henry, C. K, and Edwin R. C. K. was edu- 
cated in B. H. McGown's academy, at Anchorage, 
and at Forest Home. His occupation is that of 
a farmer and fruit grower. On November 29, 
1876, he married Lula E. Finley, daughter of 
George Finley, a well known teacher of the 
county. They have two children: Edgar Vance, 
and Clarence Irwin. Dr. Sprowl was justice of 
the peace for ten years, and a member of the 
Presbyterian church, of which he was an elder. 
He died July 23, 1876, and his wife in 1859. 

A. J. Vogt was born in Germany, in the year 
1849. At the age of thirteen he came to Amer- 
ica with his father, John Vogt, with whom he 
resided till his death, which occurred in 1864. 
They settled in Louisville, where A. J. Vogt was 
engaged in tanning. In 1881 he purchased a 
stock of groceries and began merchandising on 
the Taylorville pike, six miles from the city. In 
1874 he married Kate Schuler, by whom he has 
three children. 

Morris Stephens was born in Baden, Europe, 
May 10, 1822. His father immigrated to this 
country when Morris was about six years old, 
and settled in Jackson county, Pennsylvania, 
and then went to Indiana. His name was John 
Stephens. Morris Stephens served an appren- 
ticeship at the bakery and confectionery business 
at Philadelphia, commencing when seven years 
old and serving seven years. He ran away on ac- 
count of difficulty about wages. When sixteen he 
came to Kentucky and worked at his trade for 
two years; then for twelve years followed the river, 
and was employed in the Louisville house for 
three years. In 1848 he began business for himself 
and built the Bakers' hall at Louisville, which he 
managed himself for two years. He then sold 
out and moved upon the farm where he now 
lives, in Jeffersontown precinct. In 1841 he 
married Sarah Seabolt, daughter of George S. 
Seabolt, of Jefferson county. Morris Stephens 
is a member of the Baptist church. 




^e^e/efty^®*™^ 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



29 



Byron Williams was born in Jefferson county, 
April 20, 1839. Moses Williams, his father, was 
born in Georgia, and knew not his age, his early 
life having been spent with the Cherokee In- 
dians. When probably twelve he came to this 
county, and when quite a young man enlisted in 
the War of 1812 under Captain Kelly. In 1815 
he was married to Elizabeth Bishop, who was 
born in Bullitt county, August 26, 1798. They 
had nine children, four boys and five girls. After 
obtaining his education Byron Williams erected a 
saw-mill, which he run for about twelve years. 
About eight years ago he sold out this business 
and bought a store near his home in Jefferson- 
town precinct, since which time he has been 
engaged in merchandising, and managing his 
farm. On June 25, 1863, he married Mary A. 
Coe, of Bullitt county, by whom he has had five 
children, of whom one boy and two girls are liv- 
ing. This wife died September 28, 1878. On 
February 5, 1880, he married Nora Johnson, 
who was born in this county November 9, 1850. 
He has been postmaster since entering trade. 

Noah Cartwright was born in Pike county, 
Ohio, March 14, 1833. He was the eighth of 
nine children of Rev. William H. Cartwright, 
who was born in Maryland, but who was brought 
to Shelby county, Kentucky, when an infant. 
William H. Cartwright was married in 18 14 to 
Sarah Stillwell, a native of Shelby county. He 
was a soldier in the War of 181 2. Noah Cart- 
wright graduated in 1858 from the Miami uni- 
versity. He then began teaching in Jefferson 
county, Kentucky. In i860 he took charge of 
the Columbus Masonic seminary, remaining'in 
charge one year, when he left and raised and 
armed company E, Fifteenth regiment, of which 
he was appointed captain. Afterwards he was 
promoted to the office of major. He resigned 
on account of ill-health, since which time he has 
been an active and efficient worker in the com- 
mon schools. Since 1865, save a brief interim, 
he has been county examiner. Since 1880 he 
has not taught on account of heart disease. 
In 1869 he married July T Rush, who was 
born in Jefferson county, February 25, 1839. 
She is a daughter of Joseph Rush. They have 
five boys and two girls living. Mr. Cartwright is 
the largest fruit grower of the vicinity. For 
twenty-six years he has been a member of the 
Presbyterian church. 



MIDDLETOVVN PRECINCT. 

The most remarkable feature in regard to the 
history of this precinct is that it is the oldest one 
in the county — at one time the largest — it 
being originally very large, and also the center of 
commercial activity for this part of the State, 
and having the oldest post-office in the State. 

Indeed, the citizens of this locality will readi- 
ly remind you that in the days of 1800 and 
during the War of 1812 the people of Louisville 
came here to buy goods and do business; that 
commercial products for trade were shipped to 
the mouth of Harrod's creek, there reloaded and 
transported to Middletown, where dealers in 
wares, goods, or produce from Louisville and 
other little towns could come and buy at retail 
or wholesale rates as they chose. 

All was activity then. A number of wholesale 
and retail establishments were doing a large busi- 
ness. There were manufactures of various kinds 
in leather, wood, and cloth; merchants, whole- 
sale and retail; grocers, blacksmiths, hatters, 
milliners, shoemakers, carpenters, etc., and the 
country was thickly settled, which, with the com- 
ing in of the farmers to the town, would lend a 
smile to the venders of merchandise that must 
have seemed, financially, quite significant. 

The town is not in an unhealthy locality, al- 
though in the low valley of the headwaters of 
Bear Grass. It was laid out originally by old 
Billy White, a prominent pioneer of that locality, 
and who sold out the lots for the erection of 
business houses. This little place — once twice 
the population it is to-day — increased in size and 
importance until the natural advantages of Louis- 
ville attracted some attention, and the business 
men began to center there. Then it was that 
Middletown, in spite of the fact that il was the 
most healthy locality of the two places, began to 
decline. This new era of the rise of Louisville 
and fall of Middletown began about the year 
1820, and by 1840 the full destruction of this 
commercial emporium, as such, was completed. 
This was forty years ago, and the place still wears 
the grim visage it did then. 

The little village with its two hundred and fifty 
population still has pleasing reminiscences, it be- 
ing on the oldest pike in the State, and near the 
scene of Floyd's massacre (see general history), 
and in a locality where stirring events of an 



3° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



early day occurred. Since the building of this 
pike (1820) the stage coach, the herald of 
progress, always brought its full share of news. 
The stranger found in his host the person of 
Martin Brengman, a native of the town, who 
kept the tavern many years. Brengman and 
his son John Brengman supplied the traveler with 
bed and board, and a good drink, pure and in- 
vigorating, for a period of nearly fifty years, be- 
ginning about 1800. There was an excuse then 
for drinking whiskey, as the making of corn into 
whiskey was a necessity to get rid of the corn, 
and there was no other way of getting rid of the 
whiskey but to drink it. Then it was pure. 
People then were not so much civilized as now, 
and did not know how to adulterate the 
beverage. The regular stage route lay from 
Louisville through Middletown to Frankfort 
and other points east, and one line of coaches 
not being adequate for the business, com- 
petitive lines were run, but after the advent of 
the railroad this mode of travel lost its usefulness 
and was discontinued, since which time there 
has been no attempt to renew the iudustries 
of the place, save in the building of a turn- 
pike a few years ago, connecting this point 
with the town of Anchorage, in which work the 
placing of the cobble and gravel was successful, 
but in face of all travel the weeds and grass 
peep up here and there between the pebbles that 
seem to contest their right, by usage and com- 
mon custom, to the place. 

The Chenoweth family were residents of this 
precinct, likewise the Williamsons. One son, 
John Williamson, now living at the advanced 
age of ninety years, run the gauntlet at one 
time. This occurred near the present residence of 
Dr. Fry. The two walnut trees near the house 
mark the starting and terminating points of the 
race in this contest, distant fifty paces. 

The first physicians of the place were Drs. 
Wood and Collins, who practiced litre previous 
to the year 1805, and were followed by Drs. 
Chew and Glass, who staid until 1830 and 1832, 
when Dr. Glass died and Dr. Chew moved to 
Connecticut. Drs, Young and Vance practiced 
from that time until about 1840, then Dr. Bemis 
and Dr. Fry until 1852, when they gave place to 
Drs. Witherbee and Goldsmith, who were again 
followed by Drs. S. O. Witherbee and Fry. 

The Methodist Episcopal church was built. 



here about 1800, and was, for a pioneer society, 
in a flourishing condition. The oldest resident 
pastor of this congregation was Rev. James 
Ward, who had served the church for full fifty 
years when he died in 1854, eighty years of age. 
The society is still in existence, Rev. Alexander 
Gross being the minister in charge, but since the 
building up of the Methodist societies at Anchor- 
age and other places the church is not so strong 
as formerly. 

The Old Presbyterian church was established 
here also in an early day, and flourished until 
the society was organized in Anchorage, when 
their interests were transferred to that place. 

The Christian society have had a representation 
here for many years, and have a church building 
and an organized society. 

Among the prominent citizens of the place 
may be mentioned Drs. Fry and Witherbee. 

Abraham Fry came from Maryland and settled 
here as early as 1795, purchasing at that time 
two hundred acres. He came with his wife's 
people. Her name was Miss Mary Smizer. He 
married again in 1814, his second wife being 
Miss Susan Whips. 

Dr. William Fry, A. M., M. D., was born in 
1S19 ; was educated at the Transylvania univer- 
sity, graduating from the literary course and in 
medicine in 1834 ; was two years in the city 
hospital of Louisville as its resident physician. 
He came here in 1840, practiced medicine six- 
teen years, then went to Louisiana where he 
practiced medicine eleven years, then returned 
and has since resided in Middletown. He was 
married in 1842 to Miss Margaret Brengman, 
who died in June, 1872, and has a family of four 
daughters now living. 

Dr. Silas Witherbee, M. D., born November 
23, 1846, in Northern New York State, was ed- 
ucated at the St. Lawrence university and came 
to Kentucky in 1865, and has since controlled 
the practice of medicine in the Middletown pre- 
cinct, and is well fitted in point of ability and 
experience to successfully carry out the calling 
of this profession. He was married in 1874 to 
Miss Mary Beywroth, daughter of Judge Bey- 
wroth of Mississippi. Dr. Witherbee has been 
for the past four years a magistrate of Middle- 
town precinct. He purchased his property in 
Middletown in 1876, and has since made exten- 
sive repairs upon it. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



3« 



BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Hamilton Ormsby was born in Jefferson 
county September 17, 1832. His grandfather, 
Stephen Ormsby, a native of Ireland, was among 
the first settlers in the county ; was the first 
circuit judge in this district, also represented the 
district in Congress in the time of Clay. His 
son Stephen, the father of Hamilton Oimsby, 
was a prominent citizen. He was in the Mexican 
war, serving as colonel. He died in April, 1869, 
aged about sixty-five years. Hamilton Ormsby 
owns four hundred and fifty acres, and does a 
large farming business. He married, in 1852, 
Miss Edmonia Taylor, of this county. They 
have six children — Edward, William T., Nannie, 
wife of Robert W. Herr; Stephen S., J. Lewis, 
and Edmonia. The family belong to the Chris- 
tian church. 

Abraham Fry came to this county from Mary- 
land about the year 1795, and settled at Fry's 
Hill, on Goose creek. His wife, Susan (Whipps) 
Fry, bore him a large family of children, only 
three of whom are now living, viz: John, Nancy, 
and William. The names of those living at the 
time of Abraham Fry's death in 1S21 were: 
John, Sally, Nancy, Abraham, Elizabeth, Mary, 
and William. Dr. William Fry was born in 
1819. He was educated at Lexington, Ken- 
tucky. H2 was physician to the Louisville hos- 
pital two years, commencing in 1S38. He prac- 
ticed in Louisiana eleven years; the remainder of 
the time he has been practicing in Jefferson 
county, where he is widely known and respected. 

L. L. Dorsey, Jr., an old and highly respected 
citizen, was born in Middletown precinct Febru- 
ary 17, 1818. He married Miss Lydia Phillips. 
They have six children living, viz: Rosa, 
Nannie, Clark, Mattie, Robert, and Lydia. 
Mr. Dorsey has a fine farm and a beau- 
tiful home. His farm consisted originally of 
three hundred acres, afterwards of over one 
thousand acres, a part of which he has disposed 
of. He has done a large business for many 
years, raising high-bred trotting horses. He is 
one of the leading farmers of the county, and 
socially stands high. His father, Elias Dorsey, 
came from Maryland when a boy. The farm of 
Mr. Dorsey has been in possession of the family 
about one hundred years. 

Dr. Sjlas O. Witherbee was born in St. Law- 
rence county, New York, in 1846. He was 



educated at the St. Lawrence university, Canton, 
New York, and at the College of Physicians and 
Surgeons, New York city. He came to Middle- 
town in 1867, and has since practiced here with 
good success. He practices in quite an extensive 
territory, and is highly esteemed as a man and a 
physician. Dr. Witherbee is a member of the 
Episcopal church. He holds at present the office 
of magistrate. 

Joseph Abel came to this county very early. 
He married Catherine Hartley, a native of Mary- 
land. They had fourteen children, ten of whom 
grew up, and but two of whom are now living — 
Mrs. Ann Bull, widow of William Bull ; and Mrs. 
Margaret Kane, widow of Charles Kane. Mr. 
Abel was a prominent farmer and a worthy man. 
He died in 1843, in the ninety-fourth year of 
his age. Mrs. Abel died in 1822, at the age of 
fifty-one. 

B. F. Morse was born in Berkshire county, 
Massachusetts, in 1S09, and was brought up in 
Ashtabula county, Ohio. He came to Jefferson 
county in 1836; kept store several years, and 
has since been engaged in farming. Mr. Motse 
has four hundred acres of good land, well im- 
proved. He has about two thousand trees in 
his orchards. He raises stock and grain princi- 
pally — usually keeps thirty to forty head of cattle, 
one hundred and twenty-five sheep, and six or 
more horses. Mr. Morse is one of our most 
thrifty farmers, as well as a respected and worthy 
citizen. 

Mrs. Ruth W. Tarbell was born in Dover, 
New Hampshire, in iSro. She was the daughter 
of Obadiah and Sarah Whittier, her father being 
an uncle to the poet, John Greenleaf Whittier. 
Ruth Whittier married for her first husband Dr. 
S. A. Shute, of New* Hampshire. Her second 
husband was Mr. A. Tarbell, a leading and ac- 
tive citizen of this county — to which he came 
from New York State about the year 1841. For 
many years he was extensively engaged in stock- 
buying here, and was highly honored as a man 
of business enterprise and social worth. Mr. 
Tarbell died in 1868, aged sixty-four years. Mrs. 
Tarbell resides at Middletown, which has now 
been her home for twenty years. Only two of 
her children are now living — Maria A. Tarbell, 
and Mrs. Ruth A. Blankenbaker. 

Stephen M. Woodsmall was born in Jefferson 
county, in 1826. His father, Captain John 



3* 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Woodsmall, came here from Spencer county, in 
1816. He reared seven children, five of whom 
are living. S. M. Woodsmall is the youngest 
son. He married Miss Cynthia Ji. Baird, of 
Spencer county, in 1848. They have five chil- 
dren — Sally M., James W., Molly A., Sabina, 
Mattie M. Mr. Woodsmall and family belong 
to the Christian church. He held the office of 
magistrate four years; was census enumerator 
in i860 and 1880. 

John Downey was born in Jefferson county, 
Virginia, in 1810, and came to Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, in 1834. He settled on Harrods 
creek, where he resided until 1853, when he 
moved to his present residence near Middletown. 
Mr. Downey has three hundred and fifteen acres 
in two tracts, and does a good farming business. 
He was married in 1834 to Miss Ruth Owens, of 
this county. They had twelve children, four of 
whom are living — Lizzie, Charles John, Edward 
Hobbs, and Mary Louisa. Mr. Downey and 
family belong to the Methodist church. He has 
been a Mason many years. He held the office 
of magistrate two terms. 



SHARDINE PRECINCT. 

This precinct presents the form of a regular tri- 
angle, having its apex within the city limits of 
Louisville, and bounded on the east and west 
by the two railroads that run southerly. Its 
early history is more traditional than that of any 
other political division in the county, the early 
settlers having all left, and the once marshy, boggy 
lands being afterwards taken up by the thrifty, 
well to do German population who now have 
highly cultivated farms and live in a flourishing 
condition. They have settled in this portion of 
the county quite recently, comparatively, and 
will in couiseof time have their lands all drained 
and their farms fertile and rich. 



ANCHORAGE 

is a small election precinct set apart a few years 
since,.without any magisterial prerogatives, for 
the convenience of its citizens when voting for 
county, State, or other officers. The municipal 
town of this precinct is the village of Anchorage, 



formerly Hobbs' Station, upon the Louisville, 
Cincinnati & Lexington Short Line railroad, 
twelve miles from Louisville. It is a beautiful 
little village and has a few good dwelling-houses, 
two churches, the Bellwood seminary, and the 
Kentucky Normal school. 

This station was formerly called Hobbs, 
but after the advent of Captain Sosle, in honor 
of his services as a captain of a boat it was 
named Anchorage. It has the advantages af- 
forded by seven daily passenger trains each way 
from Louisville, three from Cincinnati, two from 
Lexington, together with freight and express 
facilities equally advantageous to all points. 

For history of early settlements and prominent 
citizens of this precinct see biographies. 

We give below a history of its schools, 
churches, and of the Central Kentucky Lunatic 
asylum. 

This last named institution had its origin in a 
house of refuge, founded in 1870. The author- 
ities of the State appointed a committee consist- 
ing of Dr. Vallandingham, R. C. Hudson, and 
S. L. Garr k who erected the main building — sixty 
by thirty-four feet, at a cost of fifty thousand 
dollars. 

The few cases for discipline, and the increased 
demand for suitable accommodations for the 
unfortunate persons who became bereft of 
reason, induced the State to transform the 
house of refuge into an asylum, and the wisdom 
of that act has been verified in the number of 
inmates it has since received and treated success- 
fully. This change was made in the year 1872. 
A board of commissioners appointed a medical 
superintendent, and erected additional buildings 
from time to time, until its capacity is suffi- 
cient to accommodate the present number of five 
hundred and fifty inmates. 

The main building, 60 x 134 feet, was erected 
in 1870, at a cost of about fifty thousand dollars. 
After being used a short time for the Home for 
the Friendless it was converted into an asylum in 
1872, and run as it was at that time, until 1875, 
when the wings were erected, each one being 
120 x 36, and each having a capacity for holding 
about seventy patients, but owing to the crowded 
condition the superintendent has been under the 
necessity of placiug in each wing about one 
hundred patients. 

The main building with the two principal 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



33 



wings, are in good repair, also the east and west 
buildings which are separate structures, entirely 
disconnected from the main building and its 
wings. The west building has been of late years 
entirely remodelled, and is a convenient and 
comfortable building, probably the most so of any 
about the place, and has a capacity for fifty pa- 
tients. 

Just north of this west building some one hun- 
dren and fifty feet, stands a temporary wooden 
building, where some seventy-five persons are 
confined, and are as well cared for as possible by 
competent attendants. This house is not a suit- 
able place for epileptics and idiots, it being a 
hot tinder-box in the summer time, and ex- 
tremely cold in winter. 

The constant watch and care exercised over 
these poor, helpless, unfortunate creatures by Dr. 
Gale and his assistants, obviates this disadvan- 
tage to a degree. Probably no man could be 
easily found who has a warmer heart and would 
watch over the inmates as constantly with a 
singleness of purpose in alleviating their wants, 
than the present superintendent. A visit to the 
asylum will convince the most skeptical that in 
point of cleanliness, diet, cheerfulness, and kind- 
ness on the part of the officers towards the in- 
mates, and the zealous care exercised over 
them to contribute to their happiness and com- 
fort, that there is no better institution in the 
land. 

It is worthy of remark that Dr. Gale is not 
only eminently fitted in point of ability to fill the 
responsible position he holds, but that his warm 
heart toward these unfortunate beings commends 
his unceasing labors in their behalf to every 
friend of the institution in the State. 

There is also another temporary building of a 
similar character, built of the same kind of ma- 
terial, and heated in the same manner, wherein 
are confined all the colored patients of every 
class. This is situated some two hundred and 
fifty yards further north. These buildings are of 
wood, and heated by steam, which makes of 
them perfect tinder-boxes; and if by accident a 
fire should get started therein no power on earth 
could prevent the loss of human life among these 
* imbeciles. 

The slaughter-house is west of the main build- 
ing, covered with a tin roof, well painted, and 
with a smoke-stack forty feet high. It has three 



rooms — the slaughter-room proper and all neces- 
sary appliances for handling any kind of animal; 
a hide-room, where all the hides are preserved, 
and a soap-room, with a well constructed furnace 
and kettles, in which all the tallow is rendered 
and soft-soap made. Thorough ventilation is 
secured through properly constructed flues con> 
nected with the stack. Chutes and garbage 
platforms, from which all the offal from butcher- 
ing and the kitchen garage are consumed, 
which entirely frees the building and surround- 
ings from all bad odors. The capacity of this 
building is ample for all the wants of the in- 
stitution. 

The spring house was made out of a cave, just 
north of the main building. This cave was still 
further excavated and a brick and cement sewer 
made, some one hundred and seventy feet long, 
through which the water supply for the reservoir 
comes, and in which an excellent milk-houses 
fourteen by twenty feet, was constructed, having 
a natural stone ceiling. The floor was divided 
with walks and troughs of brick and cement, 
filled with water, ten inches deep, at a uniform 
temperature of sixty-five Fahrenheit, in which 
one hundred and twenty gallon-jars or cans can 
be placed daily, and the milk kept sweet and 
fresh throughout the year. The entire floor out- 
side the milk-house is paved with brick, and a 
brick wall, with a cut-stone coping, mounted with 
a neat iron, extends across the mouth of the 
cave. This, with the natural stone walls, cov- 
ered with overhanging vines and moss, make 
this one of the most attractive places about 
the premises. The institution has also other 
buildings which we need barely mention. An 
excellent wooden ice-house, built upon the 
most approved plan, with a capacity of four 
hundred tons; a wood-house, 20 x 40 feet ; 
a carpenter- shop that was formerly used for 
storing straw, with a shed of ample dimensions 
for storing lumber; a cow-house, with a capac- 
ity for forty cows|; this house has been rendered 
perfectly dry and comfortable by placing a six- 
teen-inch concrete floor, covered with two-inch 
cypress boards and a brick pavement, laid in ce- 
ment mortar, around on the outside, three feet 
wide, which carries off all surface water. There 
are other buildings, such as stables, corn-cribs, 
ice-houses, shops, etc. 

The reservoir has been lately added, and in 



34 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



addition the fire service added, as a precaution- 
ary measure for the protection of property and 
patients. 

The cost of these buildings up to the present 
time aggregates the sum of $300,000. 

The farm upon which these buildings are lo- 
cated consists of three hundred and seventy-nine 
acres. The original farm of two hundred and 
thirty acres cost $20,000. The grounds in front 
are very well improved and in good repair. 
Those in the rear are rough, owing to their 
natural conformation, as well as to the rubbish 
strewn over them. The convalescents are doing 
some work leveling down these rough places, 
making macadamized roads, etc., and in time, 
with the two hundred evergreens and forest 
trees which are growing vigorously, will look 
beautiful. These trees came from the nurseries 
of President S. L. Garr, and Commissioner 
James W. Walker — a handsome donation, from 
these liberal gentlemen. 

Good picket and tight plank fences enclose 
and partition off the grounds. 

The comfort and good general condition of 
the inmates and institution are due largely to 
the efficiency and ever watchful care and atten- 
tion of the medical superintendent, Dr. R. H. 
Gale, whose management the board highly en- 
dorses. Many improvements have been added 
by him that are worthy of a visit to the asylum 
to see. His new and improved coffee apparatus, 
in which can be made, in thirty minutes, one 
hundred and twenty gallons of the very best 
quality of coffee at a cost of less than ten cents 
per gallon; his system of heating halls, protec- 
tion against epileptics and idiots getting burned; 
his wire cribs, etc., etc.; all of which give en- 
tire satisfaction, and provide much comfort and 
usefulness to the institution. 

The officers of Central Kentucky Lunatic 
asylum for 1881 are: Board of commissioners 
— S. L. Garr, president ; James Bridgford, K. 
K. White, A. Barnett, C. B. Blackburn, G. A. 
Owen, Wesley Whipps, A. G. Herr, C. Bremaker. 
Medical superintendent — R. H. Gale, M. D.; as- 
sistant physician, G. T Erwin, M. D.; second as- 
sistant physician and druggist, F. T. Riley; stew- 
ard, R. C. Hudson; matron, Miss Mary B. 
Gale; secretary, William Terry; treasurer, R. S. 
Veech. 

The following table shows the proportion of 



vhite and colored persons who have been in- 
nates of the asylum : 







l| 


7 — 


~} — 





November ist, 1880 — 














2 
225 

227 


4 

157 

161 






6 




*9 
29 


49 
49 


45° 
462 




Received up to November ist, 1881. 














8 

76 


1 
49 






9 

141 




8 


8 


Total 


84 


S° 


8 


R 


150 


Discharged recovered — 








1 
23 












10 


2 


2 


37 


Total 


24 








38 


Died— 








Paying patients 


2 
21 


1 
12 






3 
35 




2 






23 

7 
257 

264 


'3 

4 






38 


Remaining November ist, 1881 — 








35 

35 


4& 
4< 


525 
536 


Total 


iSS 



METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The Methodist people of Anchorage precinct 
worshiped at Middletown until in 1876, when 
Mr. Hobbs started an enterprise which gave 
the members of this society in Anchorage 
one of the most beautiful church buildings in 
the State, there being nothing like it in the coun- 
try. It is a gothic structure covered with slate, 
having stained glass windows, and furnished with 
the highest wrought black walnut furniture. The 
frescoing was done by Z. M. Shirley, deceased, 
a donation made by him just before he died, 
and a work worthy of a lasting remembrance of 
this man. He never lived to enjoy the first ser- 
vices in a building in which he took so much 
interest. 

This building, the Memorial Chapel, should be 
seen to be appreciated. It furnishes an ever- 
lasting monument to the persons who erected 
it. The grounds and the principal donation in 
money was made by Mr. E. D. Hobbs. Mr. 
Hughes and Mr. S. L. Garr also contributed 
largely. 

Rev. Gross Alexander is the pastor at this time. 
Rev. Mr. Overton was the first minister who 
officiated in the new building, and was succeeded 
by Rev. G. W. Lyon. The trustees are: Mr. 
W. T Lewis, S. J. Hobbs, Ed. D. Hobbs, S. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



35 



L. Garr, and William Hughes ; Stewards : E. 
D. Hobbs, S. L. Garr. 

THIS BELLWOOD SEMINARY 

was originally a school established by Dr. W. W. 
Hill about the year i860. Dr. Hill run this 
institution about ten years under the chartered 
name of the Louisville Presbyterian Orphanage 
Asylum, erected the main building and school- 
house at a cost of about fifteen thousand dollars, 
but transferred his interest to another party in 
1870, who sold it in turn to the Presbyterians, 
who changed the name, added some improve- 
ments, employed an able corps of teachers, with 
Professor R. C. Morrison as principal and presi- 
dent of the faculty, and have been successful in 
building up an institution worthy of the name it 
bears. They have at the present time ninety- 
six boarding pupils, and in all an attendance of 
one hundred and twenty-five this term. There 
are also one or two other private schools in this 
precinct. 

The following comprise the faculty and officers 
of the Bellwood Seminary: Professor R. C. 
Morrison, principal and president of faculty, 
Latin and mathematics; Mrs. Daniel P. Young, 
lady principal and business manager; Rev. E. W. 
Bedinger, chaplain and teacher of moral science 
and evidences of Christianity; Miss Emily C. 
Kibbe, history and astronomy; Professor T. W. 
Tobin, natural science; Miss Lottie Cox, normal 
teacher; Miss Lavinia Stone, literature, composi- 
tion and elocution; Miss Annie Frierson, instru- 
mental music; Miss L. J. P. Smith, instructor in 
vocal music; Miss Julia Stone, German, French, 
painting, and drawing; Mrs. Mary Kibbe, pri- 
mary department; Mrs. Eliza Scott, matron; 
Miss Sue Metcalfe, assistant matron; W. M. 
Holt, M. D., attendant physician; Bennett H. 
Young, Louisville, Kentucky, regent. Rev. Stu- 
art Robinson, D. D., R. S. Veech, Esq., Hon. 
H. W. Bruce, W. N. Haldeman, Esq., George 
C. Norton, Esq., and Bennett H. Young consti- 
tute the board of trustees. 

THE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH 

of Anchorage is a fine brick structure erected 
about the year i860, under an enterprise carried 
out by Dr. W. W. Hill, at a cost of about nine 
thousand dollars. The society have from time 
to time made additions to the building that has 
increased the cost to about fifteen thousand dol- 



lars, and has a membership of about one hun- 
dred and thirty. Rev. E. \V. Bedinger is the 
present pastor. R. C. Morrison and James 
Robinson are the elders ; W. Boyd Wilson and 
George Hall, the deacons. The trustees are: 
Mr. W. B. Wilson, James Robinson, Lewis Mc- 
Corkle. This society is an outgrowth of the 
Middletown church. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Jefferson Marders was born in this county 
June 12, 1803, and lived here all of his life. He 
was a farmer when young; afterwards was in the 
mercantile business at Middletown several years. 
His father, Nathan Marders (born 1772, died 
1862), was an early comer from Virginia. Mr. 
Jefferson Marders married Miss Ruth A. Glass, 
who was born in Middletown, July 30, 1814. 
She was the daughter of Joseph Glass, who was 
born in 1779 and died in 1826. Mr. and Mrs. 
Marders had only one child, Eliza Jane, born 
September 23, 1837. Mrs. Marders died June 
29, 1859. Mr. Marders died October 11, 1876. 
Eliza J. married Dr. E. A. France in 1853. Dr. 
France was born in Roanoke county, Virginia, 
in 1825, and died in 1855. They had one child, 
Mary A., the wife of E. C. Jones, of Louisville. 
Mrs. France married James R. Hite in 1857. 
They have three children, William M., Albert, 
and Hallie. 

C. W. Harvey, M. D., was born in Scottsville, 
Kentucky, June 6, 1844. He was brought up in 
Louisville, attended the Louisville university, 
and graduated from the Medical Department 
course of 1865-66. Previous to graduation he 
practiced two years in the Louisville dispensary. 
He commenced practice in Maury county, Ten- 
nessee, where he remained four years. He then 
practiced ten years at Middletown, and in 1879 
removed to Anchorage, where he is now the 
leading physician. Dr. Harvey is a member of 
the Methodist church. He is Master of Masonic 
lodge No. 193, and is the chief officer of the 
Foresters. 

Captain James Winder Goslee, in his lifetime 
one of the most honored and respected citizens 
of this county, was born in Henry county, Ken- 
tucky, in 1815. He came to this county in 1853, 
and resided here until his death, which occurred 
April 2, 1S75. He was on the river from the 
time he was eighteen years of age until i860, 



3<5 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



serving as pilot and commander of different 
vessels. When only nineteen years of age he 
was commander of the Matamora. He married, 
December 31, 1839, Miss Catherine R. White. 
She was born in this county February 10, 1821. 
They had but one child, Emma, who died in her 
twenty-first year. Captain Goslee met his death 
in a frightful manner, being killed by a railroad 
train. The old mansion where Mrs. Goslee re- 
sides has been in possession of her family for 
three generations. The place was settled by her 
maternal grandfather, Martin Brengman, about 
the year 1794. Her father, Minor White, was 
born in this county in 1795. 

John N. McMichael was born in Chillicothe, 
Ohio, December 25, 1800. His parents, James 
and Eleanor (Dunbar) McMichael, moved to 
Louisville in 1802. John N. is the oldest of 
three children, and the only survivor. The 
others were named Mary Ann and Adeline. His 
father died in 1805, and his mother in the sixty- 
third year of her age. J. N. McMichael was ap- 
pointed a constable in 1827, served four years, 
and then was sheriff for six years. He was next 
city marshal for two years. With C. Miller he 
started the first coal office in Louisville. He 
was quite extensively engaged in this business for 
five years. At the end of this time he moved to 
the country and has since devoted himself to 
agriculture. Mr. McMichael has served as mag- 
istrate six years, also as police judge at Anchor- 
age two or three years. He and his wife belong 
to the Baptist church. He married Miss Nancy 
C. Hargin, of this county, in 1832. They have 
eight children living, viz: John W., Thomas H., 
George C, Charles C, James G., Nellie (married 
William B. Rogers, New Orleans), Nancy C, and 
Mollie. 

A. Hausman, proprietor of the Star grocery 
at Anchorage, was born in Germany in 1842, 
and came to this country at the age of seventeen. 
He was brought up a mechanic; afterwards 
worked at stone masonry and boot and shoe 
making. In 1859 he came to Kentucky, and in 
1862 to Louisville, where he made boots and 
shoes until 1866, when he moved to Anchorage, 
continuing in the same business, to which he 
added the duties of a country store keeper. Mr. 
Hausman was the first merchant in Anchorage, 
and still continues the only one. He is a self- 
made man. Starting in business with only $25 



capital he has prospered well, and is now doing 
a good business. The loss of his wife, Annie 
(Linnig) Hausman, in March, 1881, was a severe 
blow to him. They had lived together happily 
for seventeen years and brought up a large fam- 
ily of children. 



SPRINGDALE PRECINCT. 

This precinct received its name in honor of 
one of the finest springs in the county, having 
an even temperature the year round of fifty-four 
degrees Fahrenheit. There is one spring at 
Dorsey's camp ground which has an even tem- 
perature of fifty degrees. The spring above 
mentioned is under the dwelling house of the 
old homestead of James Young, who settled 
here very early on a large tract of land, com- 
prising in all some eight hundred acres; but up 
to the year i860 this precinct was a part of 
Harrod's Creek. 

Mr. Young, upon coming to this part of the 
county, decided to build him a dwelling house. 
His son, also financially interested, concurred in 
the same, but each party decided on grounds or 
knolls on the either side of the spot finally chosen, 
and not agreeing one with the other, they com- 
promised by each meeting the other half way, 
where they found rather marshy ground. After 
excavating sufficiently for a cellar, they discov- 
ered this spring, which has given them since that 
time a pure, cold and limpid stream of water. 
The house was built in 1828, and is still stand- 
ing. The land was purchased by Young from 
John Dorothy, who secured it by patent from 
the Government. 

Among the distinguished settlers of this pre- 
cinct was the well known William White, who 
was born in Virginia in 1763. He came to Mid- 
dletown, which place was surveyed and laid out 
under his direction, and was a member of 
the State Legislature. His son, Miner White, 
was born in the year 1795. He cleared the 
lands and also settled upon a tract in Spring- 
dale; built mills on Goose creek, near this 
little place, being the first of the kind in the 
county. One was a saw-mill, to which was after- 
ward added a grist-mill. Still later the lower 
mill, farther down the creek was built, to which 
was added a distillery. These mills have long 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



37 



since gone down, but served the day for which 
they were built right well, doing custom work 
wholly. 

Goose creek is a short, lively stream, having 
its headwaters in springs and small streams but 
a few miles from its mouth, and furnishes an 
abundance of water ten months in the year. A 
number of good mill sites are found on this 
stream, but, strange to say, no mills are operated 
at this time. A man by the name of Allison 
built a mill quite early, and run it for many years, 
but a score of years and more ago it was used as 
a school-house. 

Edmund Taylor owned a large tract of land 
between the branches of this stream. Dabney 
Taylor, a grandson of Hancock Taylor, who was 
a brother of Zachary Taylor, is a wealthy, well- 
to-do farmer at Worthington, this precinct. 

Patrick Bell also settled in Springdale on a 
large tract of land, afterwards owned by Dr. Bar- 
bour. A Mr. Mayo afterwards owned it. 

Lawrence Young, of Caroline county, Vir- 
ginia, born in 1793, was a prominent man of this 
precinct. He came with his father, James 
Young, settled here on a large tract of land, and 
became a noted horticulturist, and edited the 
Southern Agriculturist many years before he died. 
He also had a green-house, and cultivated 
flowers, as well as the various kinds of trees and 
fruits. He was a noted teacher, and taught at 
Middletown such men as Mr. E. D. Hobbs and 
L. L. Dorsey, being his pupils. He studied law in 
Transylvania college, where he took the full 
collegiate course, but was not successful in the 
profession, and abandoned it for the school- 
room. He was known by pomologists as an au- 
thority in that science also. He was married in 
1823, and died in 1872. His son, 'Squire Wil- 
liam Young, a well-to-do young farmer now re- 
siding at Springdale, became the first magistrate 
in the precinct when it was organized in 1868. 
It was simply a voting precinct in i860, but was 
not, by an act of the Legislature, made a magis- 
terial peecinct until the year 1868. 

There are at present no mills, and but one 
church, and but school in the precinct. The 
church is a missionary one, lately established, 
and is Presbyterian. The school-houseis in 
one corner of the precinct. 



BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

William W. Young, an old resident of Jeffer- 
son county, was born June 24, 1828, near Mid- 
dletown. When very young he came to Spring- 
dale in company with his parents, and settled 
upon the fine farm where we now find him. His 
father and mother came from Virginia in an early 
day. Mr. Young was married November 23, 
1853, to Miss Ann A. Chamberlain, of Jefferson 
county. They have had six children, five of 
whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Young are mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian church. 

Benjamin L. Young, brother of W. W. Young, 
was born July 27, 1840, in Jefferson county, 
Kentucky. He has always been engaged in 
farming, and has a farm of one hundred acres. 
Mr. Young was married in 1869 to Miss Clara 
Stone, of Louisville, daughter of E. M. Stone. 
They have four children. Mr. and Mrs. Young 
are members of the Methodist church. 

Philip D. Barbour, one of the oldest and well- 
known residents of Jefferson county, was born 
January 18, 1818, in Orange county, Virginia, 
and when an infant came to Kentucky with his 
parents, who settled in Fayette county. They 
lived here but a short time, when they went to 
Oldham county. Mr. Barbour, the subject of 
this sketch, resided here twenty-five or thirty 
years, and then came to Jefferson county, 
Springdale precinct, where he is now living 
on a fine farm of six or seven hundred acres. 
Mr. Barbour was married in 1841 to Miss 
Comfort Ann Dorsey, of Jefferson county. 
This marriage was blessed with three children. 
Mrs. Barbour died in 1847. Mr. Barbour was 
married a second time, in 185 1, to Miss Fannie 
Butler, of Orange county, Virginia. They have 
had eight children. Mr. and Mrs. Barbour are 
members of the Christian church. 

William L Harbold, M. D., was born August 
13, 1819, in Jefferson county, Kentucky. Mr. 
Harbold studied medicine in the Kentucky 
School of Medicine, and graduated in 1852. 
He has practiced ever since, though he has given 
some attention to farming. He was married in 
1846 to Miss Fannie Close, of Oldham county. 
They have had nine children, five of whom are 
living. Mrs. Harbold died in November, 1878. 
Mr. Harbold is a member of the Baptist church, 
as was Mrs. Harbold before her death. Mrs. 
Judith S. Harbold, his aged mother, is now liv- 



3« 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



ing with her son William. She was born in 
Madison county, Virginia, in 1799, and came to 
Kentucky in 1805. 

James S. Kalfus was born July 14, 1843, in 
Louisville, where he lived till 1870, with the ex- 
ception of a short time in Texas. Since 1870 
he has resided in Springdale precinct, Jefferson 
county. He was married in October, 1869, to 
Miss Cornelia Warren, of Boyle county. J. W. 
Kalfus, his father, was in business a long time in 
Louisville, and was well known in the business 
circles of the city. 

Elijah T. Yager was born May 6, 1 841, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky, and has ever re- 
sided in the State. His father, Joel, was a na- 
tive of Virginia; also his mother. Mr. Yager 
married Miss Lydia Mount, January 21, 1864. 
She was born in Oldham county, September 8, 
1844. They have four children. Mr. and Mrs. 
Yager are members of the Christian church. 

Hugh McLaughry was born October 17, 
1815, in Delaware county, New York, and lived 
here during his boyhood. When about twenty 
years of age he went to Chicago a,nd Milwaukee, 
and lived in these places three years. He then 
came to Kentucky, and located in Louisville, 
where he was engaged in mechanical business for 
eight years. He then went to Oldham county, 
where he resided about eighteen years upon a 
farm. He then came to Jefferson county where 
we now find him. He married Miss Nancy 
Cameron, of Clark county, Indiana. They have 
had four children — only one living. 

John Simcoe was born February 13, 1841, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky. His father, Jerry 
M. Simcoe, came from Virginia in about 1810, 
and settled upon what is now known as the Clark 
farm. Mr. Simcoe has always followed fanning 
as an occupation. He was married in 1877 to 
Miss Annie White, of Jefferson county. They 
have one child. Mr. and Mrs. Simcoe are 
members of the Reformed church. 

W. D. S. Taylor, a prominent and well known 
citizen of Jefferson county, was born July 8, 
1806, in what is now called Oldham county. 
His parents came from Virginia in a very early 
day. His father was a brother of President 
Taylor, also of General Joe Taylor. He was 
married August 18, 1827, to Miss Jane Pollock 
Barbour, daughter of Philip C. S. Barbour, of 
Oldham county. Mrs. Taylor was born Nov- 



ember 14, 18 1 2, in Virginia. They have had 
eight children, five of whom are living: Elizabeth 
S., born September 21, 1830; William P., born 
January 6, 1833; Margaret A., born March 14, 
1835; Hancock, born March 2, 1838; Manlius, 
born October 14, 1840; Alice H, born July 28, 
1844; Dabney Strother, born August 20, 1851; 
Willis H., born in 1846. William, Margaret and 
Willis are deceased. 

Hancock Taylor was born March 2, 1838, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky. In i860 he went 
to Phillips county, Arkansas, and remained there 
till April, 1861, when he enlisted in the Fifteenth 
Arkansas regiment. After the war he returned 
to Crittenden county, Kentucky, where he lived 
three years and a half. He then came back to 
Jefferson, where he has since resided. He was 
married October 12, 1865, to Miss Mary H. 
Wallace, of Louisville. They have had seven 
children — six living at the present time. Mr. 
Taylor is a Master Mason. He represented 
Jefferson county in the Legislature in the years 
1877 and 1878. 



CANE RUN PRECINCT. 

The history of this precinct is that of a 
few individuals who were prominently identified 
in the history of Louisville and the county. 
Of these prominent persons may be men- 
tioned William Merriwether, his son Jacob, and 
his grandson William Merriwether, Major John 
Hughes, Judge John Miller, Benjamin Pollard, 
and Samuel Garr. Mr. William Merriwether 
emigrated from Virginia as early as 1805, and 
settled upon a large tract of land consisting of 
about eight hundred acres. He was a captain 
in the Revolutionary war, and was wounded at 
the battle of Monmouth, and after coming here 
assisted in building the fort at Louisville. He 
settled in the south part of Cane Run, and raised 
a family of four sons and one daughter. He 
died in 1843. 

His son, Jacob Merriwether, now member of 
the lower house in the State Legislature of 
Kentucky, was born in 1800, in Virginia; came 
with his parents to Kentucky, in 1805, remained 
upon his father's farm until eighteen years of age, 
when he went to St. Louis and performed clerical 
duties in the county clerk's office under General 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



39 



O'Fallen. At this time St. Louis was far in the 
interior, and a good trading place with the In- 
dians. Theie he remained, visiting the various 
Indian posts throughout the Northwest, going 
up the Missouri river on the first steamboat that 
ran on those waters. He remained in the fur 
trade with the Indians until 1823, when he re- 
turned to Kentucky and married, that year, Miss 
Sarah A. Leonard, and settled where he now 
lives. He was elected to the lower house of 
the State Legislature of Kentucky in 1S35; was 
re-elected and held the position until 1840, when 
he was defeated for Congress in the hard cider 
campaign, and was again defeated for the same 
office in 1848. In 1844 he was one of the 
Presidential electors. In 1849 he was elected to 
draft the new constitution for the State of Ken- 
tucky, which position he held until the death of 
Henry Clay, in 1853, and was then elected to 
the United States Senate. In 1853 he was ap- 
pointed by President Pierce as Governor of New 
Mexico. In 1857 he resigned, and in 1859 was 
elected to the State Legislature, and became 
speaker of the House of Representatives in 
1861. He was again defeated for Congress by 
John Harney, after which he retired to private 
life until 1879 when he was again taken up by 
the citizens of his county and elected to the 
Legislature. 

His life has been an eventful one. He is now 
an active man eighty two years of age; has ever 
been regarded by his constituents as an able, 
efficient, and truscy representative of their in- 
terests. He has raised a family of four children, 
now living. 

His son, William H. Merriwether, born in 
1825, was reared on the farm, and married in 
1857 to Miss Lydia Morselle, and lives on part 
of the farm purchased by his grandfather in 
1805. He was appointed deputy marshal in 
1861, and re-appointed in 1862 and 1863. In 
1864 he was appointed marshal by President 
Lincoln, which position he held in 1868. In 
1870 he was appointed clerk of the United 
States court, and held that position until 1876, 
when he became interested in a real estate agency, 
which business he still pursues. He was origin- 
ally a Democrat, but since i860 has been a Re- 
publican. 

Major John Hughes, a prominent man of this 
precinct, served in the Revolutionary war, and 



was a settler on the Ohio river six miles below 
Louisville, where he had purchased a tract of a 
thousand acres of land. 

Judge Miller had settled on the upper end, 
about four miles from the county court-house, 
on a large tract of land. 

Benjamin Pollard settled in the southern 
part. 

The citizens of this precinct never had a 
church until the year 1863, when St. James' 
was built, about four miles below Louisville, by 
the Episcopalians. The society is and has been 
small, the membership now being about forty. 
Mr. William Cornwall has been the leading and 
most active man, probably, in this organization. 



FISHERVILLE PRECINCT. 

The land in this precinct is generally good. 
Along the valley of Floyd's fork it is rich 
and well adapted to grain raising. The high 
lands are better adapted to the raising of stock. 

The capital town of this country is Fisherville, 
a neat, white-washed little place on Floyd's fork, 
which sometimes in its forgetful and excited con- 
dition overflows the whole place. The town 
was named in honor of Robert Fisher some forty 
years ago, and is in point of appearance above 
the average modern village. There are not only 
good houses here, but a thrifty looking class 
of dwelling habitations are dotted over the entire 
precinct, and especially in the valley of Floyd's 
fork. The Raglins, Gillands, Beards, Driskils, 
and many others might be mentioned. In short, 
many of the houses are elegant. 

The Louisville, Fisherville and Taylorsville 
turnpike winds its length through the precinct 
and the town ; also pikes of shorter length made 
for the convenience of neighbors are found here 
and there. 

The Gillands were early settlers of this place, 
and became wealthy. John Henry Gilland, one 
of the first magistrates, came early and settled 
near Boston when Fisherville and Boston were 
together. Dr. Reid's father, Matthew, was an old 
settler. His wife w_as a Gilland ; also Mike and 
Billie Throat, Billie Parns, Allen Rose, who 
became quite wealthy, Adam Shake, father, and 
the Carrithers and Seatons were among the early 
settlers of this place. 



4° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



The Shroats were German Baptists from Penn- 
sylvania, and preached long before the church 
was brought to Fisherville from Floyd's fork. 
This church was moved about 1852, and is a 
frame, two stories in height, the Masons occupy- 
ing the second floor. Rev. William Barnett was 
one of the early preachers in the old brick church 
before it was removed. Following him were 
Rev. William Hobbs, Worl, Hunter, Cole- 
man, and Fountain. Rev. W. E. Powers is the 
present pastor. The church is numerically weak. 
The officers are Edwin Shouse, moderator ; 
John Davis clerk ; John Scearce and A. J. 
Conn, deacons. 

The Reformed Church is one-half mile east of 
Fisherville, and is a good, respectable building, 
erected at a probable cost of twenty -five hun- 
dred dollars, in 1881. This organization is an 
outgrowth of the old Baptist organization, and 
like other churches of its kind had its origin 
some time after Campbell made his visit to this 
part of the State. The principal actors identi- 
fied in the pros and cons of that day on this 
question were Calvert, a "hard-shell" Baptist, 
James Rose, Joseph Sweeney, and some others. 
Rev. Mr. Taylor preaches for this people at this 
time twice a month. Robert Taylor, Higley, 
and La Master are the elders. William Dribkill 
and R. Sando Carpenter and Tyler Carpenter 
are the deacons, and Stephen Taylor clerk. 

MILLS. 

Robert Fisher is the owner of the present 
mills in Fisherville. His father owned the origi- 
nal mill in this place. 

The abundance of water in the creek during 
all the months of the year, and the reputation of 
the mills throughout the county, brings much 
custom to this little place. 

EAST CEDAR HILL INSTITUTE 

is located twenty miles east of Louisville, and 
two miles east of Fisherville, on the Fisherville 
and Buck Creek turnpike, in a community 
whose people are remarkable for their intelli- 
gence and morality. It is in a healthy section 
of country, and where there is fine natural 
scenery. 

The institution was founded in 1869 by Mrs. 
Cleo F. C. Coon, a highly educated lady, and of 
marked refinement and culture. She is the 
daughter of R. R. Clarke, a relative of George 



Rogers Clarke. Her grandfather came to the 
county as early as 1782, and her father was born 
in 181 1, in Nelson county, came here in 183s, 
and settled on four hundred and fifty acres 
of land. Mrs. Cleo F. C. Coon received her 
education in Shelbyville, Kentucky, in the select 
school of Miss Julia Tevis, graduating from that 
institution in 185 1. She taught at different 
places, until, in the year 1869, in her father's 
house, a large commodious farm dwelling, she 
opened a school with about fifty pupils, and her 
success in the work has been increasing from 
year to year since that time. The government 
exercised in the management of the school; her 
course of study, scientific and classical; the so- 
cieties and social circles under the guidance of 
a marked intellectuality: the low rates of tuition; 
the large list of pupils graduated from the insti- 
tution, together with the religious features of the 
school, compare favorably with similar enter- 
prises. Mrs. Coon has, from time to time, been 
erectings such building and making such addi- 
tions as were found necessary. Her corps of 
teachers is competent and experienced. The 
names are: 

Literary Department — Mrs. Cleo F. C. Coon, 
principal, and teacher of higher mathematics and 
English branches; Professor H. N. Reubelt, 
teacher of languages, mental and moral science; 
Miss Mollie E. Grubbs, teacher of algebra, read- 
ing, English grammer, and writing; Miss Emma 
A. Rose, M. E. L, teacher of higher arithmetic, 
and intermediate classes. 

Musical Department — Miss Alice M. Bailey, 
principal teacher; Miss Katie M. Reubelt, M. E. 
L., assistant teacher. 

Ornamental Department — Miss Lulie M. 
Myers, teacher of drawing, painting, wax, and 
worsted work, and lace. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

John B. Sceares was born May 24, 181 2, 
in Woodford county, Kentucky. His father, 
Robert Sceares, was a native of Pennsylvania 
and came to Kentucky in an early day, being one 
of the pioneers of the State. Mr. Sceares has 
followed farming for several years, though he 
was formerly engaged in milling. He was mar- 
ried in 1834 to Miss Permelia Sale, of Woodford 
county. They had one child. His second 
marriage occurred in 1839, to Miss Permelia 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



4i 



Shouse, of Henry county. He had five chil- 
dren by this marriage. His third marriage took 
place in 1857, to Miss Juliette Jones, of Scott 
county. This union was blessed with eleven 
children, four of whom are living. Mr. Sceares 
is a member of the Baptist church, also a Free 
Mason. 

John H. Gilliland was born December 24, 
1838, in Jefferson county, Kentucky, where he 
has ever resided. He is at the present time en- 
gaged in farming, has about three hundred and 
fifty acres of excellent land, and a beautiful 
home. He married Miss Sally F. Crutcher of 
Spencer county, October 12, 1865. They have 
had three children, two now living — Thomas B., 
Alice C, Mattie K. Mattie is deceased. Mr. 
Gilliland is a Free Mason. 

Thomas Gilliland was born June 24, 1813, in 
Shelby county, Kentucky, and came when very 
young to Jefferson county with his parents. His 
father, Thomas Gilliland, was a native of Ireland 
and came to America about the year 1800. 
Thomas Gilliland, Jr., was married in 1840 to 
Miss Margaret Blankenbaker of Shelby county, 
daughter of Lewis Blankenbaker. He was mar- 
ried in 1876 to Miss Lizzie Townsend of Fisher- 
ville precinct. They have one child, Thomas 
Hampton, who was born September 12, 1877. 
Mr. Gilliland is a Free Mason. 

James Robison was born May n, 1835, in 
Jefferson county, and has ever resided upon the 
old homestead in Fisherville precinct. His 
father, William Robison, was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1 79 1, and moved to Kentucky when 
eight years of age, with his parents, and settled in 
Spencer county. In 1833 William Robison 
moved into Jefferson county, where he died 
June n, 1876. Mr. James Robison has fol- 
lowed farming the greater part of his life, and 
has a good farm of two hundred and fifty acres. 
He was married January 12, i860, to Miss Ruth 
C. Moore, daughter of Simeon Moore, of Jeffer- 
son county. Mr. Robison is a member of the 
Presbyterian church ; Mrs. Robison a member 
of the Methodist church. Mr. Robison is mas- 
ter of the lodge of Free Masons at Fisherville. 

William Carrithers was born October 22, 1807, 
in Spencer county, Kentucky. His father was a 
native of Pennsylvania and came to Kentucky in 
an early day. His grandfather, as also his grand- 
mother on his father's side, came from Ireland. 



Mr. Carrithers is engaged in general farming, 
and has about one hundred and eighty acres of 
land. He was married January 12, 1830, to 
Miss Hannah Y. Davis, of Spencer county. Of 
this union one child was born. His second 
marriage was to Miss Elvira Fredrick, April 12, 
1832. They had eleven children, six living at 
the present time. His third marriage was 
November 13, 1878, to Mrs. S. E. Burton, of 
Boyle county, Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Carri- 
thers are members of the Presbyterian church. 

Elisha Walters, an old and substantial citizen, 
was born in Lincoln county, Kentucky, December 
1, 1814, where he resided till 1836, when he 
went to Spencer county, living there till 1841, 
then came to Jefferson county. His father, 
Thomas Walters, came from Virginia, as did his 
grand-parents, in early times. Mr. Walters was 
matried January 6, 1842, to Miss Rebecca Rhea, 
of Jefferson county. They have had twelve chil- 
dren, ten of whom are living. Mrs. Walters 
died February 19, 1881. She was a member of 
the Cumberland Presbyterian church. Mr. 
Walters is a church member, also a Free Mason. 

Daniel McKinley, an old and respected citizen, 
was born October 5, 1805, in Shelby county, or 
what is now known as Spencer county. He 
came to Jefferson county in 1833, and lived in 
the county till his death, which occurred April 
25, 1881. He was married December 13, 1827, 
to Miss Kezia Russell, of Nelson county, Ken- 
tucky. They have had thirteen children, seven of 
whom are living. Mrs. McKinley was born 
November 1, 1808. She is a member of the 
Presbyterian church. Mr. McKinley was also a 
member. 

Daniel B. McKinley was born January 24, 
1844, in Jefferson county, Kentucky. He is a 
son of Daniel McKinley. He was married in 
1869 to Miss Mildred Day, of Spencer county, 
daughter of Richard Day. They have had four 
children — Carrie, Hallie, John, Lizzie. Lizzie 
is deceased. Mrs. McKinley died March 7, 
1877. Mr. McKinley is a member of the Pres- 
byterian church. 

Colman E. Drake was born February 19, 
1832, in Spencer county, Kentucky. His father, 
Benjamin Drake, was a native of Pennsylvania, 
and came to Kentucky when the country was 
wild. Mr. Colman Drake came to Jefferson 
county in 1869. His farm lies in Spencer and 



4- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Jefferson counties. It contains one hundred 
and sixty acres. He was married in 187 1 to 
Miss Marietta Stevens, of Garrard county, Ken- 
tucky. They had one child, but she died when 
very young. Mrs. Drake died September 17, 
1872. She was a member of the Christian 
church. 

Robert Carrithers was born November 19, 
18 1 2, in Shelby county, though what is now 
Spencer county. He lived there till 1834, when 
he came to Jefferson, where he has ever since 
resided. His father came from Pennsylvania. 
Mr. Carrithers was married in 1833 to Miss 
Edna Stalland, of Spencer county. They had 
nine children by this marriage. He was again 
married, in 1856, to Miss Elizabeth J. Russell, 
of Spencer county. They had three children 
by this marriage. Mr. Carrithers is a member 
of the Cumberland Presbyterian church; Mrs. 
Carrithers of the Methodist church. 

Squire McKinley was born November 28, 
1820, in Shelby county. His father, James Mc- 
Kinley, was a native of Kentucky. He died in 
1863. Mr. S. McKinley learned the carpenter's 
trade when young and followed this occupation 
for a short time. He was married in 1844 to 
Miss Mary McKinley, of Spencer county. They 
had two children by this marriage — James S. and 
John W. He was again married, in 1854, to 
Mrs. Sophia Drake. They had nine children by 
this marriage — Sarah B., George C, Ivanhoe, 
Charles E., Cynthia K, Marietta, Benjamin F., 
William F., also a girl not named. Mrs. Mc- 
Kinley is a member of the Methodist church. 



HARRODS CREEK 

is a fertile, rolling tract of land along the river's 
edge, north of Louisville, extending from the 
suburbs of that city to the northern limit of the 
county. Like most precincts, its contour or 
form is irregular, being much greater in length 
than in width. 

It has good advantages in the way of a turn- 
pike that runs through it, going from Louisville 
to Oldenburg. Also in the Narrow Guage rail- 
road, formerly built by the citizens of the pre- 
cinct, and which afterwards passed into the 
hands of a company. This latter road, with 
its reasonable rates of travel, affords the citi- 



zens fine opportunities for carrying on mercantile 
pursuits in the city. 

Among the early settlers may be mentioned 
the Wilhites, who were probably among the first, 
James Taylor, relative of Colonel Richard Tay- 
lor, who came in 1799, and settled near the 
present town of Worthington upon a tract of a 
thousand acres or more of land. He was early 
identified with the political history of the county, 
and was clerk of the county court. He had a 
brother who served in the Revolutionary war. 
He was the grandfather of Dr. N. Barbour, of 
Louisville, and was a native of Virginia. 

Thomas and Richard Barbour were early set- 
tlers here, locating on large tracts of land just 
above Harrod's creek. Richard Barbour was 
among the first magistrates of the precinct, and 
held the office for a long time. Thomas Bar- 
bour, his brother, and father to Dr. Barbour, was 
an early representative of this county in the Leg- 
islature. He married Mary Taylor, a cousin of 
Zachary Taylor, and raised a large family, Dr. 
Barbour being the only living representative of 
the family at this time. He built a large flour- 
ing mill (to which was attached a saw-mill) about 
the year 1808-09, an d ' ater on one was built 
lower down by Glover. These mills were greatly 
advantageous to the county, furnishing a ready 
market for the grain, which would be ground 
and then shipped to New Orleans. Mr. Barbour 
died in 1820. He had two sons, Thomas and 
James, who were in the War of 181 2. The 
Barbour mill was run until about the year 1835, 
when it went down. 

Andrew Mars and his cousin Andrew Steel 
were early settlers also, locating on lands oppo- 
site Twelve-mile island. 

' Dr. William Adams was the first resident 
physician of the precinct. He, as was the cus- 
tom in those times, obtained a general experi- 
ence, mostly by the practice of medicine. He, 
however, attended lectures in the Transylvania 
college, but never graduated. His advent to 
the place was about the year 1825. Ten years 
afterwards Dr. N. Barbour practiced the medical 
profession there, and continued the practice un- 
til in 1872, when he removed to Louisville, 
where he has an extensive practice. Dr. Bar- 
bour is a graduate of the Ohio Medical college, 
Cincinnati, receiving his degree of M. D. from 
that institution in 1835. He afterwards took a 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



43 



course of lectures in medicine in Philadelphia. 

CHURCHES. 

The subject of religion early engrossed the 
attention of the people of this part of the 
county, but no building or regular society was 
organized until about the year 1820. 

The Taylors and Barbours were Episcopalians 
but the Presbyterians erected a biick church 
this year, and they connected themselves with 
that organization. 

Dr. Blackburn, of Tennessee, a scholarly gen- 
tleman, was one of the first pastors of this 
society. Some of the names of the corporate 
members are here appended — Andrew Mars, 
Thomas Barbour, Robert and Edwin VVoodfolk, 
John D. Lock, and some of the Wilhites. The 
building as erected remained until about the 
year 1850, when owing to its crumbled condition 
it was replaced by another. The Rev. Dr. 
McCowan, a learned'and an excellent gentleman, 
preached here some eight years. 

The church is not as strong in its membership 
as it was at one time, but is still in existence, 
the Revs. Thomas Christler and Alexander 
Dorson being the pastors at the present time. 

The colored people organized a society known 
as the Greencastle church in 1875; J. Wilhite 
officiating at that time. The building was erected 
at a cost of one thousand dollars, and the society 
has a membership at this time of one hundred 
and nine. They are known as the Mission 
Baptists. Rev. E. J. Anderson is the present 
pastor. 

The town of Harrods Creek was laid off quite 
early, and divided up into small lots. It was 
formerly known as the Seminary land. It, how- 
ever, was never built up and remains to-day only 
a few straggling houses. 

Harrods Creek Ferry was formerly an import- 
ant wharf; this was in the palmy days of Middle- 
town and when Louisville was deemed an un- 
healthy village. Goods were shipped and landed 
at this harbor until, probably, about the year 
1810, when the metropolis of the county was 
moved to the Falls of the Ohio river, and the 
principal trade went there. 

Harrods creek and Big Goose creek are the 
principal streams of this precinct. They each 
furnish an abundance of water the year round, 
and near their mouths run close together and 
parallel for a mile or so. Harrods creek stream 



empties into the Ohio river ten miles above 
Louisville, and where it is about forty rods wide. 
About a fourth of a mile from its mouth it dips 
at an angle of about seven degrees, giving it an 
appearance of falls. It has been stated that this 
creek, like many others in the State, has subter- 
ranean passages, through which a part of its 
waters flow without crossing the falls. 

Goose Creek waters formerly turned a grist- 
mill for Mr. Allison, and still farther down a 
saw-mill that was run for many years, but there 
has been no mill on this stream for full thirty 
years. The old grist-mill, after it was abandoned, 
was used for a time as a school-house. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

Abraham Blankenbaker was born July 13, 
1796, in Mercer county, Kentucky, where he 
lived till he was five years of age, when he went 
to Shelby county in company with his parents 
and resided there till 1822. He went to Louis- 
ville and lived there till 1853. He then moved 
to Harrods Creek, where his family now reside. 
Mr. Blankenbaker died March 22, 187 1. He 
was married to Miss Anna Close, of Oldham 
county, Kentucky, June 16, 1833. This union 
was blessed with five children, though only one 
survives. Mr. Blankenbaker was an exemplary 
man and was highly esteemed by all who knew 
him. 

Jesse Chnsler, one of the well known residents 
of Jefferson county, was born April 9, 1799, in 
Madison county, Virginia, and lived there till he 
was five or six years of age, when he came to 
Kentucky with his parents. He lived in Louis- 
ville about twenty-five years and was engaged in 
the grocery and banking business in the mean- 
time; he then went to Harrods Creek, where we 
now find hin: most pleasantly situated. He was 
married December 12, 1838, to Miss Mary L. 
Cleland, of Mercer county, Kentucky. They 
have had seven children, five of whom are living. 
Mr. and Mrs. Chrisler are members of the Pres- 
byterian church. Mr. Chrisler is a well known 
and respected citizen. 

John T. Bate was born December 30, 1809, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky, and has ever re- 
sided near his old home. He has followed 
farming as an cccupation the greater part of his 
life, though he was engaged in manufacturing 
several years. His farm contains five hundred 
acres of excellent land. Mr. Bate was married 



44 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



December 25, 1834, to Miss Ellenor A. Lorke, 
of Oldham county, Kentucky. They have had 
two children, Octavius L. and Clarence. Octa- 
vius is deceased. Mrs. Bate died about forty- 
one years ago. Mr. Bate has been magistrate 
twenty years and is highly esteemed by all of his 
fellow citizens. 

James Trigg was born November 17, 1816, in 
Oldham county, Kentucky, and resided there till 
1849, when he went to southern Kentucky, 
where he was engaged in farming till 1863, when 
he came to Jefferson county, where we now find 
him most beautifully situated on a farm of 
ninety-five acres. Mr. Trigg was married April 
17, 1849, to Miss Mary W. Harshaw, of Oldham 
county. They have had three children, two of 
whom are living. Mrs. Trigg died in 1873. Mr. 
Trigg is a member of the Christian church. 

Alexander B. Duerson was born August 9, 
1825, in Oldham county, Kentucky, and re- 
mained there until 1856, when he moved to Jef- 
ferson county, where he now resides upon a farm 
of two hundred and eighty-five acres. Mr. Duer- 
son was married in 1855 to Miss Mary A. Lyle, 
of Natchez, Mississippi. They have had four 
children. Mr. and Mrs. Duerson are members 
of the Presbyterian church, as is, also, their 
daughter. Mr. Duerson is deacon of the church 
at Harrods Creek, and is a most worthy man. 

F. S. Barbour was born August 27, 1843, in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky. He has always re- 
sided upon the homestead farm, which contains 
two hundred and sixty-five acres of excellent land, 
part of which is on Diamond island, in the Ohio 
river. Mr. Barbour was married December 31, 
1867, to Miss Annie S. Cleland, of Boyle coun- 
ty, Kentucky. They have had four children, 
three of whom are living. Mr. and Mrs. Bar- 
bour are members of the Presbyterian church. 

T. J. Barbour, a brother of F. S. Barbour, was 
born March 25, 1842, in Jefferson county, and 
still resides at the old homestead. He has long 
been an invalid, being troubled with the spinal 
disease. He is a member of the Presbyterian 
church. 

William Barrickman was born February 24, 
1824, in Oldham county, Kentucky, where he 
resided until he was twenty-one years of age, 
when he went to Jefferson county and lived there 
three years. He afterwards resided in different 
counties of the State until 1877, when he moved 



to Harrods Creek. Mr. Barrickman was mar- 
ried in 1870 to Miss Bettie Carpenter, of Bul- 
lock county, a daughter of Judge Carpenter. 
They have had five children, four of whom are 
living. Mr. Barrickman has a farm in company 
with Judge DeHaven, which contains four hun- 
dred acres of excellent land. He is engaged in 
stock-raising, chiefly, and is considered a success- 
ful farmer. 

Glenview stock farm, one of the largest in the 
county, is situated six miles from Louisville, and 
is a large and beautiful place. Mr. J. C. Mc- 
Ferren, the present owner, bought the place 
about thirteen years ago. He does an extensive 
business, and is widely known. His farm con- 
tains eight hundred and eighty-five acres. He 
keeps from one hundred and fifty to two hundred 
head of trotting horses. His stock is among the 
most celebrated in the country. Mr. McFerren 
has one of the most beautiful residences in this 
county. His farm, with the stock now upon it, 
is worth at least three hundred and fifty thousand 
dollars. Mr. McFerran is a native of Barren 
county, Kentucky. 



SPRING GARDEN PRECINCT. 

This precinct was formerly called Spring 
Grove. It lies adjacent to Louisville and incon- 
sequence its history is mostly blended with the 
history of that city. 

The noted, well known George Rogers Clarke 
was a large land holder near the once beautiful 
springs of this place. So were the Churchills, 
Phillipses, Ballards, Stamfords, and others so 
prominently connected with the history of the 
county and State. General George Rogers 
Clarke, of Albemarle county, Virginia, came to 
the county in 1775; was a captain in Dunmore's 
army, and was offered a commission afterwards 
by the British authorities, but had the interest of 
the struggling colonies too much at heart to be- 
tray his country. He came to Kentucky to bring 
about a satisfactory connection between the two 
States. His history will be found in another 
portion of the work. He was never married. 

Hon. Elisha D. Staniford, M. D., was a native 
of this portion of the county. His father also 
was a native of Kentucky, and his mother was 
of Irish descent. Dr. Staniford was born 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



45 



December 31, 1831. He studied medicine 
under Dr. J. B. Flint, and graduated in the Ken- 
tucky School of Medicine; was for years presi- 
dent of the Red River Iron works, of the Louis- 
ville Car Wheel company, of the Farmers and 
Drovers' bank, president of the Saving and 
Trust company, and held other very important 
positions. He was also at one time member of 
the Senate, and was also a member of the House 
of Representatives. 

The Churchills, of Louisville, were also resi- 
dents of this precinct. The family is a large 
one and formerly constituted one of the most 
prominent ones in Virginia, extending back some 
two hundred years. William Churchill, being 
a church warden, by his last will, made in 
17 1 1, left a sum of money, the interest of which 
was to be used for the encouragement of the 
ministry, to preach against the raging vices of 
the times. Samuel C. Churchill came to the 
precinct when eight years of age, in 1784. 
His father, Armstead Churchill, married Eliza- 
beth Blackwell and settled in Spring Garden, 
on a large tract of land. His son, Samuel C, 
father of S. B., married Abby Oldham, only 
daughter of Colonel William Oldham. Colonel 
Oldham was a Revolutionary soldier, and was in 
command of a Kentucky regiment when St. 
Clair was defeated in 1791. Samuel C. Church- 
ill was a large and extensive farmer, and devoted 
himself solely to his farm. S. B. Churchill was 
born in this precinct in 1812; was educated at 
the St. Joseph's college, Borgetown, Kentucky; 
went to St. Louis and edited the St. Louis Bulle- 
tin for many years; was Representative to the 
Missouri Legislature in 1840; delegate to the 
Charleston convention in i860. He returned to 
Kentucky in 1863, and was elected to the State 
Legislature from Jefferson county. In 1867 he 
became Secretary of State under Governor 
Helm, and continued in office under Governor 
Stevenson. His brother, Thomas J. Churchill, 
was a captain in the Mexican war, a major-gen- 
eral in the Confederate army, and after the war 
Governor of Arkansas. 

Spring Garden precinct, being contiguous to 
the city, gives the citizens the advantages of 
school and church — ; there being no church 
buildings in this portion of the county. The 
land is of good quality and the agricultural in- 
terests well eveloped. p 



SHIVELY PRECINCT. 

Among the early settlers of this precinct 
should be mentioned the name of Colonel Wil- 
liam Pope, who was one of the early settlers of 
the State. He arrived at the falls of the Ohio 
river in 1779, and, like other adventurers, with 
his young family occupied the fort at the 
entrance to the canal. He was a native of 
Farquier county, Virginia, the son of William 
Pope, of Virginia ancestry, whose wife was Miss 
Netherton, and by whom he had three sons, 
of whom William was also one of the pioneers of 
the new State, and lived to a great age, dying in 
1825. Colonel William Pope married Penelope 
Edwards, and his four sons became distinguished 
men. John was at one time Governor of the 
Territory of Arkansas and also a member of Con- 
gress. William Pope, the second son of the 
pioneer, was a wealthy farmer in this vicinity, a 
man of splendid business talents and great in- 
dustry, and amassed considerable fortune. He 
married Cynthia Sturgus, who was the mother of 
Mrs. Ann Anderson, the wife of Larz, son of 
Colonel Richard C. Anderson, of Revolutionary 
fame. Her only son was Richard C. Anderson, 
named in honor of her grandfather. The de- 
scendants of the Pope families are numerous, and 
were many of them quite prominent men. 

Major Abner Field was a very early settler in 
this portion of the State, and was one of the first 
representatives in the Virginia House of Bur- 
gesses. He married a daughter of Colonel Wil- 
liam Pope. His first son, Dr. Nathaniel Field, 
is a prominent physician of Jeffersonville, Indi- 
ana. 

Christian William Shiveley, was also a very 
prominent and early settler of this precinct, and 
in honor of whom the precinct was named. He 
built his mill about the year 1810. He settled 
on a large tract of land, then a wilderness. 

Thereweremany other prominent citizens in this 
precinct of whom may be mentioned the Kissiger 
family, Fulton Gatewood, Squire Thornburry, a 
magistrate; Matthew Love, John Jones, who kept 
the tan-yard for many years; Amos Goodwin, 
Leonard Gatewood, school teacher; the Town- 
sly's, and others. 

The salt works in this precinct were quite im- 
portant in an early day. People come for salt at 
that time from a hundred miles distant. Joe 



4 6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Brooks, John Speed, and D. Staniford operated 
here a long time. Jones' tan-yard, built about 
the year 1807, was near the salt works, and the 
old Shiveley tavern, on Salt River run, was the 
stopping place for the traveler — the stone meet- 
ing-house, built about the year 1820, stands 
on the Salt River road, and was used by all de- 
nominations. 

^n an early day religion and dancing occupied 
much attention. The earthquake that occurred 
in 181 1 seems to have jarred the religious feel- 
ings of the community consMeiably. Everybody 
then imagined the world was surely coming to an 
end and joined the church, but the next winter 
the fiddle and not the preacher held sway, and 
the heel and toe kept time to the music almost 
constantly. The earthquake was severe and pro- 
duced considerable commotion. 



JOHNSTOWN PRECINCT. 

is the same in character and quality of land and 
surface of the country as the other precincts 
south of Louisville, being marshy and filled with 
ponds. This was specially true in an early day 
before any draining was done. 

While these ponds were not tillable, they fur- 
nished the opportunity of much amusement to 
the young men who loved sport, and as they 
were filled with ducks, these places were of fre- 
quent resort. On one occasion, however, they 
were the cause of furnishing a bit of Indian 
history. 

Among the earliest settlers of this portion of 
the county was the Lynn family, and on one 
occasion the young men left home for a 
season of sport, and visited the ponds as usual 
for game. Not taking any precaution against 
the Indians, they were captured by a roving band 
of savages and carried over into Indiana. The 
forced visit made in company with the dusky 
warriors was not altogether to their liking. But, 
making the best of their imprisonment, they 
feigned such friendship for their red brothers, and 
so much liking to a roving life, that in the course 
of a few months they succeeded in gaining the 
entire confidence of their captors, and on one 
occasion, when left with the squaws while the 
warriors were hunting, took French leave, and 
came home. 



OILMAN'S PRECINCT. 

This precinct lies just east of the city of 
Louisville, and embraces some of the richest and 
most fertile lands in the county, and it may be 
truly remarked, some of the finest in the great 
State of Kentucky. 

It has natural boundary lines on its south, east 
and north sides in the streams of Bear Grass and 
Big Goose creeks. The former of these streams 
skirts the whole of its southern and southeastern 
sides, and the latter its northeastern boundary. 
The precinct of Harrod's Creek lies just to its 
north. The Louisville & Cincinnati railroad runs 
through the entire length of this division, having 
stations every mile or so apart, giving the citi- 
zens an opportunity of living in their beautiful 
homes in the country and of carrying on busi- 
ness in the city. Trains run so frequently, both 
in the morning and evening, th.at a large portion 
of these people are professional or business men 
whose business is in the city. A ride over the 
road through this precinct shows a grandeur and 
magnificence of country life rarely beheld. 
Large, elegant and costly edifices may be seen 
on every side. Here are also large, valuable 
farms under the highest state of cultivation. 
The Magnolia stock farm established by A. 
G. Herr in 1864, is probably as fine a farm 
as can be found in the State. It was so 
named by George D. Prentice as early as 1841, 
from the number of magnolias that grew upon 
it. It was not established as a fancy stock farm 
until as above stated, when Mr. Herr began 
raising the finest thoroughbred stock, for which 
this farm has made a reputation throughout the 
States and Canada. 

The Eden stock farm, under the proprietor- 
ship of Mr. L. L. Dorsey, has likewise attained 
for itself a reputation not unenviable. 

The roads leading to various places in this 
precinct are in a better condition and more 
direct than in some of the precincts of the 
county. The Lyndon and Goose Creek turn- 
pike road, put through in 1873, and the one "lead- 
ing from Louisville give the people good high- 
ways, and with the railroad, excellent opportuni- 
ties for reaching Louisville. 

The remoteness of settlement renders it im- 
possible to give dates of the original patents of 
lands taken in this section of the county, but it 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



47 



is known the attention of emigrants to the county 
was attracted to this section as soon as else- 
where. 

The Bullitts, Taylors, Bateses, Herrs, Brecken- 
ridges, Chamberses, and a host of others, since 
familiar names to every household, settled here 
in an early day, opened up the wilderness, raised 
large families, and have long since departed. 
The record left by these pioneers is mostly of a 
traditionary character. We aim to give but the 
reliable facts. 

The Indians were troublesome to a degree, 
and the whites were under the necessity of build- 
ing stations and block-houses to defend them- 
selves against their attacks. Abbott's station 
was one of these points, built in an early 
day. It was afterwards owned by Mr. Herr, 
who purchased the property of Abbott's widow. 
Of the massacres which took place here we 
have but little that is reliable. The Indians 
would, however, cross the river from Indiana, 
steal horses, and sometimes make depreda- 
tions upon the whites. They, on one of 
these raids, barbarously massacred a white wom- 
an and cut off her breasts. This event took 
place on A. G. Herr's place. There is also on 
this farm in a charcoal pit a place where the In- 
dians made their arrow-heads of flint. Where 
this stone was obtained by them is not known, 
as there are no flint quarries known in the county, 
and probably none this side of Canada. 

Of the early settlers who came to this section 
of the county John Herr was among the first. 
He was a yourg man of no means, and came 
with Mr. Jacob Rudy. His possessions were in 
Continental scrip, $60,000 of which, when sold 
brought him but the paltry sum of $14. 
Mr. Herr finally amassed a considerable fortune, 
owning before he died about one thousand acres 
of land. He married Miss Susan Rudy and had 
lived, at the time of his death in 1842, to the 
advanced age of eighty two years. 

Colonel Richard Taylor, father of Zachary 
Taylor, was an old settler in this precinct. His 
distinguished son lies buried near the old place, 
with a suitable monument to mark his last resting 
place. Colonel Taylor served through the Revo- 
lutionary war. He came from Virginia and set- 
tled on a large plantation in 1785, and here it 
was that Zachary Taylor spent twenty-four yearsof 
his life. His brother Hancock, who had a lieu- 



tenancy in the United States army, died in 1808, 
and the vacant commission was assigned him. 
He was made captain in 1810, and served at 
Fort Harrison, and for gallantry was promoted 
to major. He served in the Black Hawk war in 
1832, and in 1836 in the Florida war, where he 
was promoted to general, and in 1840 was made 
chief in command of all the forces in the South- 
west, and soon aftei took command of all forces 
in the Mexican war. He was nominated by the 
Whig National convention, assembled in Phila- 
delphia in 1848, as a candidate for the Presi- 
dency of the United States, and took his seat 
March 5, 1849, and died next year (see biogra- 
phy). One of the descendants of Colonel Rich- 
ard Taylor, bearing the same name, is a real 
estate broker in Louisville. 

Colonel Stephen Ormsby, one of the first 
judges of the county court, settled upon a large 
tract of land. 

Major Martin, a farmer, was an old settler. 
He had a brother who married a sister of W. C. 
Bullitt. 

David L. Ward was an extensive salt trader, 
making trips to New Orleans. He at one time 
owned one of the first water mills on Goose creek. 
This property was erected by Mr. Leaven Law- 
rence, and run by him for some years, being the 
first used ; and with its coming a new era was 
marked in the advance made over the old fash- 
ioned hand or horse mill. It was situated on 
Goose creek, north of Lyndon station. After 
Ward purchased it he failed. 

Alex. P. Ralston owned one on Bear Grass at 
an early day, and sold it in 1804 to Colonel 
Geiger. These mills received custom for many 
miles around. 

Edward Dorsey was an old settler. He, how- 
ever, did not come to the precinct before 181 2. 
He purchased a large tract of land near O'Ban- 
non station. He was a native of Maryland. 

Colonel Richard Anderson, father of Richard 
C. Anderson, Jr., was a distinguished citizen who 
settled here at an early period. He was a mem- 
ber of Congress, serving with honor to his con- 
stituency and credit to himself for a number of 
years, and was afterwards honored by a position 
as Minister to one of the South American States. 
He was married to a Miss Groatheny, and his 
only child, now dead, married John T. Gray. 
Colonel Anderson settled on the Shelbyville pike. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



William Chambers will be remembered, not 
only as an early settler of this portion of the, 
county, but on account of his wealth. He mar- 
ried a Miss Dorsey, and afterwards, in conjunc- 
tion with General Christy, purchased a large 
quantity of land near where the central portion 
of St. Louis city is now. 'I he increase in value 
of his land made him immensely wealthy, and 
upon his death he left property to the value of a 
million of dollars to his only daughter, Mrs. 
Mary Tyler. 

Norborn B. Bealle, one of the wealthy citizens 
of the pioneer days, was a large land holder, 
owning probably a thousand acres of land. He 
lived in grand style; owned a fine, large, resi- 
dence. He was the father of three children. 

Of the earlysettlers who left numerous descend- 
ants is Mr. James S. Bates, a very worthy man, 
and a good, influential citizen. He was an 
exceedingly large man, weighing four hundred 
pounds. He also owned a large tract of land, 
a great many slaves, and raised a large family of 
children, who left many descendants now living. 
He was a dealer in real estate, and sometimes 
made very hazardous ventures. 

PHYSICIANS. 

There have not been many professional men 
in the precinct, owing to the contiguity of the 
place to Louisville. People in an early day 
would, however, sometimes need a doctor, and 
to supply the demand Dr. Gualt settled among 
them and plied his calling. He was their first 
physician, and remained some time. 

No record has been kept of the magistracy of 
Oilman, but we have in tradition the services of 
one man, John Herr, Jr., who filled this office 
for a period of forty years. He was born No- 
vember 20, 1806, and died in 1863. He was a 
quiet, unobtrusive man in his manner, but 
influential and a very successful man in several 
respects. In 1854 he was selected by his dis- 
trict to represent them in the Legislature, and ac- 
quitted himself with credit. He held various 
positions of trust, and owned the fine farm now 
the property of A. G. Herr, the noted stock 
dealer. He was the son of John Herr, Sr., be- 
fore mentioned, and one of four brothers who 
lived to an honored, useful old age. 

Alferd, the youngest brother of this family, is 
the only one living. He is a man of some con- 
siderable influence and of property. 



There are others who figured quite extensively 
in the history of this precinct — the Bullitts, 
Breckinridges, Browns, Colonel William Cro- 
ghan, father of Major John Groghan, the hero of 
the War of 181 2, and others. 

CHURCH. 

One, if not the first, of the original organiza- 
tions of a religious character in the precinct, 
was a Baptist society, on Bear Grass. This 
society had its place of meeting first in Two Mile 
Town — it being encouraged in that precinct by 
Mr. George Hikes, who settled there about 
1790-94. One of the first pastors was Rev. 
Mr. Walker. The congregation was made up 
of the citizens, not only of their own precinct 
but of Jeffcrs'ontown, Gilman, and other places. 
In the course of time the question of close 
communion was one which gave the organization 
some trouble and caused its entire overthrow. 

The first building was a stone structure, erect- 
ed about the year 1798-99, on the north bank 
of Bear Grass. Rev. Ben Allen was also one of 
the divines who ministered to the people spirit- 
ually in an early day. 

The membership, however, became numerous 
and the questions arising concerning communion 
made a split, a portion of the church going to 
Jeffersontown and a portion to Newburg, but the 
old church still retains the name of the Bear 
Grass church and remains on the original site. 

BEAR GRASS. 

This stream of water, so frequently mentioned 
previously, is a considerable one, named to retain 
the original idea of wealth represented by the 
lands and surrounding country through which it 
flows. It has a number of good mill sites, and 
furnishes an abundance of water ten months in 
the year, and supplies water for a number of 
grist-mills, and one paper-mill. It rises from 
eight different springs, and like other streams in 
the State sometimes disappears for a quarter of 
a mile or so and then emerges. Near the city 
it runs parallel with the Ohio for a distance of 
about half a mile, and enters the river at Louis- 
ville. 

At the mouth of the creek is one of the best 
harbors on the Ohio, perfectly safe and com- 
modious for vessels of five hundred tons burthen. 
During seasons of the year when the waters are 
the most depressed there can be found here water 
twelve feet deep. 




K 
9 



^ 

ev 




HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



49 



Albert G. Herr was born in this county and 
has always lived here. His father, John Herr, 
was born here, and his grandfather, also named 
John, was one of the first settlers. Mr. Herr is 
the proprietor of the Magnolia stock farm, so 
named by the poet Prentice forty years ago. 
His stock and farm are widely celebrated. The 
farm contains two hundred and six acres. Mr. 
Herr's residence is most beautiful, and his gar- 
den is filled with a great variety of choice ex- 
otics. Mr. Herr does an extensive business 
breeding Jersey cattle, trotting horses, Berkshire 
hogs, and Silesian Merino sheep. 

Dr. H. N. Lewis was born at St. Matthews in 
1856. His lather, Dr. John Lewis, practised in 
this county thirty years and was eminently suc- 
cessful. He died in 1878, and his son succeeds 
him in his practice. Dr. Lewis was educated at 
the Louisville high school, and graduated in 
medicine from the Louisville Medical college, 
also from the Hospital Medical college. He 
now does a good business, and is looked upon as 
a rising young physician. He is a gentleman in 
every sense of word and richly deserves success. 

Benjamin Lawrence came to this county from 
Maryland, in very early times, and settled on 
what is now L. L. Dorsey's Eden Stock farm. 
He was an excellent farmer and a prosperous 
business man. His sons, Samuel and Leben — ■ 
the former the grandfather of Theodore Brown, 
now residing here — were upright and worthy 
men, highly successful in business. Samuel 
Lawrence was the father of Benjamin and Elias 
Lawrence, who were among the prosperous mer- 
chants and most esteemed citizens of Louisville. 
Urath G. Lawrence, their sister, became the wife 
of James Brown, the father of Theodore and 
Arthur Brown. She was a lady widely known 
and beloved for her hospitality, benevolence, 
and high moral integrity, None but good words 
were ever spoken of her. 

James Brown came from eastern Maryland 
about the year 1800. He was a clerk in the salt 
works of David L. Ward, at Mann's Lick, Bul- 
litt county. He afterwards bought land on Bear 
Grass creek, and became one of the richest men 
of the county. At one time he owned nineteen 
hundred acres in the county. He was a man of 
good judgment, of the strictest integrity and 
honesty, and was noted for his benevolence and 
public spirit. His modest demeanor and manli- 



ness won for him hosts of devoted friends. He 
died in 1S53, aged seventy-three years. Theo- 
dore Brown was born in 182 1, and lives on what 
was once a part of the old farm. He has two 
hundred and fifty acres of land and a pleasant 
and beautiful home. He has been for forty 
years a member of the Protestant Episcopal 
church. Arthur Brown, his brother, and the 
youngest of the three surviving members of his 
father's family, was born in 1834. He married 
Miss Matilda Gait, daughter of Dr. N. A. Gait, 
who was the son of Dr. William C. Gait, who came 
from Virginia to Louisville in very early times. 
Mr. Brown has six children — J. Lawrence, Alex- 
ander G, Arthur A., William G, Harry L., and 
Matilda G. Mr. Brown is now serving his sec- 
ond term as magistrate. He is engaged in farm- 
ing. Mr. Brown is a member of the Episcopal 
church. 

John C. Rudy was born in this county in 
1822. His father, Daniel Rudy, was one of the 
early settlers here, Louisville being but a small 
village when he came. Daniel Rudy died in 
1850, aged seventy-five, and his wife, Mary 
(Shibely) Rudy, in 1852, at the age of sixty-five. 
Mr. J. C. Rudy lived upon the old farm until 
recently. Rudy chapel was named for his father, 
and built chiefly by his means. Mr. Rudy is a 
good farmer, and owns two hundred acres of 
land. He held the office of magistrate eight or 
ten years. He is a member of the Methodist 
church. He married Miss Priscilla Herr in 
1852. They have four children living — Ardell, 
George F., James S., and Taylor. 

Mrs. Ann Arterburn, widow of the late Norbon 
Arterburn, was born in this county. She was 
the daughter of John Herr, an old resident here. 
Her husband was also a native of this county. 
They were married in 1840, and had eight chil- 
dren — Orphelia, Bettie, Emma, William C., 
Edward, Anna, Clifton, and an infant son. 
Orphelia, Bettie, Edward, and Clifton are now 
living. Mr. Arterburn died April 9, 1878, aged 
sixty-five. Mrs. Arterburn still resides upon the 
place where she was born. Her sister, Mrs. 
Emily Oldham, widow of the late John Oldham, 
lives with her. 

Joseph Raymond was born in county Sligo, 
Ireland, August s, 1804. In 1831 he came to 
Quebec, and soon afterward to Kentucky. He 
settled in Louisville and engaged in gardening, 



5° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



his present business. Mr. Raymond was mar- 
ried in 1835 to Miss Margaret Drisbach, a na- 
tive of Philadelphia. They have had four chil- 
dren — Mary Ann, who died when three months 
old; Jacob B., died in his twenty-third year; 
George Frederick, resides in this precinct; 
Thomas P. lives with his father. Mr. Raymond 
is a member of the Methodist church, and of 
the order of Odd Fellows. 

James Harrison, the oldest man living in this 
county having Louisville for a birthplace, was 
the son of Major John Harrison, who came to 
this county in 1785. Major Harrison was mar- 
ried at Cave Hill in 1787 to Mary Ann Johnston. 
They had five children — Sophia J. (married 
Robert A. New), Benjamin I., Colonel Charles 
L., Dr. John P., and James. James is the only 
survivor. James Harrison was born May 1, 
1799, and has always lived in this county. He 
has been engaged in the practice of law in 
Louisville since 1842, and stands high in his 
profession. 

George F. Raymond was born in Jefferson 
county, December 4, 1840. He received a good 
common school education, and was brought up 
a farmer. He was married in 1862 to Miss Eliza 
McCarrell, of Washington county, Kentucky. 
They had eight children, five of whom are liv- 
ing — Margaret, Mary (deceased), Carrie, Ruth 
(deceased), George (deceased), Joseph, James, 
and William. Mr. Raymond has served as mag- 
istrate fourteen years. 

Captain William C. Williams was born in 
Louisville, April 4, 1802. His father was a 
Welshman, who came to this country in 1788. 
Captain Williams followed farming the most of 
his life. He furnished capital for several busi- 
ness enterprises, but took no active part himself. 
His residence is an elegant mansion a few miles 
out of town. He was one of the wealthiest citi- 
zens of the county. He owned twenty-six houses 
in Louisville, including some fine business 
blocks. He was elected a captain of militia in 
1823-24. For fifty years he was a member of 
the Masonic fraternity. Religiously he was con- 
nected with the Christian church. He married 
Miss Hannah Hamilton May 27, 1857. They 
had sixteen children, four of whom were: David 
M., John H., Mrs. Fannie W. Fenley, and Mrs. 
Mary E. Tyler. Captain Williams died in his 
seventy-ninth year, September 13, 1880, widely 



known and everywhere respected throughout this 
section. 

I. B. Dorsey, son of L. L. Dorsey, Sr., is a 
leading farmer and respected citizen. Edward 
Dorsey, father of L. L, came here from Mary- 
land about the year 1800. L. L. Dorsey, Sr., 
had three sons, but the subject of this sketch 
only, lived to grow up. Mr. I. B. Dorsey has 
a farm of two hundred and twenty acres, and is 
engaged in raising grain. The land taken up by 
his great-grandfather has been held by represen- 
tatives of the Dorsey family since the time of 
the first comer of that name. Mr. Dorsey was 
married in i860 to Miss Sarah Herndon. Their 
children are: Susan, Mary, Amanda, Lewie, 
Sally, Rhodes, George, and Eveline. Mr. Dorsey 
is a member of the Christian church. 



O'BANNON PRECINCT. 

O'Bannon (originally Williamson) precinct, 
was established in 1813-14, the first magistrates 
being E. M. Stone and Miner W. O'Bannon. 
J. M. Hampton and Miner W. O'Bannon are the 
magistrates at the present time. 

Bushrod O'Bannon, deceased, and Miner 
O'Bannon, now resident of the place, were the 
sons of Isham O'Bannon, a native of Virginia, who 
was born in 1 767, and came here in 1816, first set- 
tling in Shelby county. In 1830 he settled his 
estate upon his seven children, three daughters 
and four sons; one daughter now being eighty- 
one years old, and the average age of the four 
children now living being seventy-five years. 

J. B. O'Bannon owned here an extensive tract 
of four hundred acres ot land, which he im- 
proved. He was the first president of the Farm- 
ers' and Drovers' bank, president of the Farmers' 
Mutual Insurance company, and owned consid- 
erable stock in the railroad, was director in the 
Louisville City bank, and was the founder of 
the Methodist Episcopal church in this place, 
which has, however, gone down since his death, 
owing to the members of the church dying off 
and moving away. It was first called O'Ban- 
non's chapel, but against his wish, and was an 
outgrowth of the Salem church. It was a neat 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



5* 



structure, built in 1869, under the Rev. Mr. Hen- 
derson's appointment to this place. Mr. J. B. 
O'Bannon died in 1869. 

M. W. O'Bannon was born in Virginia in 18 10. 
He was the son of Isham O'Bannon, who moved 
to Shelby county, Kentucky, in 1816; thence to 
Jefferson county in 1831, where he resided until 
his death in 1845. Mr. M. W. O'Bannon was a 
merchant of Shelbyville from 1834 to 1838. In 
1840 he went to Marshall, Saline county, Mis- 
souri, where he resided until 1863, farming and 
practicing law. During the unpleasantness con- 
sequent upon the outbreak of the war, Mr. 
O'Bannon was obliged to leave Missouri. He re- 
turned to this county, where he has since resided, 
a prominent and respected citizen. He has been 
thrice married. In 1835 ' le married Miss Jane 
Richardson, of Lafayette county, Kentucky. She 
died in 1838, leaving two daughters, one since de- 
ceased — Mary Adelaide, who died in 1847 m tne 
twelfth year of her age ; Jane Richardson, born 
in 1838, is the wife of J. R. Berryman, Marshall, 
Missouri. His second wife was Miss Julia Bar- 
nett, of Lafayette county, Missouri. She died in 
1843, having borne one son, who died in infancy. 
In 1847 he married Mrs. Elizabeth (Harrison) 
Payne, formerly from Woodford county, Ken- 
tucky, but at that time residing in Missouri. 
Mr. O'Bannon has held the office of justice of 
the peace six years. 

John Williamson was an early settler of this 
precinct, owning at one time a couple of thousand 
acres of land, also a distillery on Floyd's fork. 
He raised his own corn for distillery use. He 
was an active, large-hearted, and clever man. 
His daughter by his first wife married Bushrod 
O'Bannon. His second wife was the widow of 
Ed Dorsey, and from this union owned all his 
lands except four hundred acres. 

In this precinct is the old Chenoweth spring 
house, built by Mr. Chenoweth as early as 
the summer of 1782. It is near Williamson's 
station, and on the farm now owned by John 
Williamson, and was built for a fort and as a 
refuge for the Chenoweth family in case of an 
attack from the Indians. The house was made 
of unhewn stone, packed in mortar made simply 
of lime, water and gravel. The cement thus 
made one hundred years ago appears as durable 
to-day as it was when the house was erected, and 
the stone, so nicely and evenly laid, presents a 



surface as perpendicular and smooth on both 
the in- and outsides as most stone houses built 
in then ineteenth century, and so solidly are the 
walls built it is not improbable it will stand yet 
one hundred years longer before the crumbling 
process begins. 

THE CHENOWETH MASSACRE. 

Richard Chenoweth first built Fort Nelson, 
which bankrupted him. He was disappointed in 
the Government refusing assistance in this mat- 
ter, and came here in 1782, after the Floyd's 
Fork massacre, and built for himself this fort, 
and just above it the cabin where he lived with 
his family. At that time there were no out set- 
tlements except Lynns, Bear Grass, Harrods 
creek, and Boone's stations. The family con- 
sisted of himself, his wife Peggy, who was a 
brave woman — and who was a McCarthy before 
marriage — Thomas, James, Alexander, Millie, 
and Naomi, the last named being at that time 
about two years old. He had also some few 
persons constantly about them as guards, and at 
this time Rose and Bayless were with the 
family. 

About dusk one evening in midsummer, while 
this little family were talking over the past at 
their evening meal, they were suddenly surprised 
by sixteen Indians, belonging to the tribe of 
the Shawnees, suddenly opening the door and 
rushing in. Rose, being nearest the entrance- 
way, jumped behind the door as soon as it was 
swung open, and in the dreadful excitement 
which followed passed out undiscovered and 
effected an escape. Bayless was not killed out- 
right and was burned at the stake at the spring 
house, just a few feet distant. The old man 
was wounded and his daughter Millie toma- 
hawked in the arm, but they escaped to the fort. 
The old man, however, survived and lived many 
years, but was afterwards killed by the falling of 
a log at a house raising. James, a little fellow, 
was, with his brothers Eli and Thomas, killed at 
the wood-pile. The daughter Millie afterwards 
married a man named Nash. Naomi, the little 
girl, crept to the spring house and took refuge, 
child like, under the table. An Indian after- 
wards came in and placed a fire brand on it, but 
it only burned through the leaf. In the morning 
a party of whites were reconnoitenng and sup- 



52 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



posed the Chenoweth family all killed, and upon 
approaching the scene discovered the little girl, 
who stood in the doorway, and told them upon 
coming up that they were all killed. The 
mother was scalped and at that time was 
not known to be alive, but she survived the 
tragedy many years and did much execution 
after that with her trusty rifle. Her head got 
well but was always bare after that. 

John Williamson, Jr., owner of the property 
upon which the Chenoweth Spring-house fort 
now stands, was born in 1796, and still lives at 
this advanced age, having a mind and memory 
clear as crystal. His father, John Williamson, 
came with his father, John Williamson, from 
Virginia, and settled at the Lynn station in 1781. 
During the massacre of that year the Indians at- 
tacked the fort, killed the grandfather, Mr. Wil- 
liamson's oldest uncle, and made captive his 
father, who was taken that night to Middletown, 
where he saw the scalps of his father and oldest 
brother stretched, over a hoop to dry, and knew 
for the first time of their murder. His legs and 
feet being sore, the Indians made leggings of 
deer skins and tied them on with hickory bark. 
He was then ten years old and remained with 
the Indians in all four years before he made his 
escape. He was adopted into the Tecurnseh 
family, the father of that noted chief being the 
Shawnee chief of that party, and the one who 
adopted him. He was taken to Chillicothe, and 
there granted his liberty on condition that he 
could run the gauntlet. A fair chance was given 
him, and he would have succeeded had it not 
been for a log at the end of the race that pre- 
vented his mounting it successfully, and he was 
struck by a war-club. He was next taken by 
two Indians and washed in the river. This was 
for the singular purpose of washing all the white 
blood out of him. It was done by two Indians 
who alternately dipped and ducked him until 
breath and hope were gone, and he was 
then pronounced Indian and trained in their 
hunting grounds and by their camp fires. 
He attempted several times to make his es- 
cape, but falling in his purpose would return. 
He was finally purchased of the Indians for 
twenty-four gallons of whiskey. After his return 
to Louisville he fought the Indians for seven 
years ; was in Wayne's army and the battle of 
the river Raisin, where he was again captured, 



taken to- Detroit, and burned at the stake. His 
daughter Elizabeth married Major Bland Ballard, 
an old Indian fighter and uncle of Judge Ballard, 
of Louisville. The second daughter married a 
Mr. Smith, who also participated in the Indian 
wars. Ruth, who afterwards married a Mr. 
Hall, was quite young at the time of the massa- 
cre. George and Moses were born after that 
time. James was thirteen years old when mur- 
dered, and John ten years old when captured, 
and his son, John Williamson, is now in the 
eighty-seventh year of his age, and although mar- 
ried the second time has no children. 

PROFESSOR M'GOWN'S SCHOOL. 

Dr. McGown, deceased, was a prominent 
man in O'Bannon precinct. He was born in 
1805, was the youngest child of his father and 
the mainstay of his widowed mother. He was 
a circuit-rider and preached for a number of 
years. He finally established a school here in 
1S60, put up large buildings and carried it on 
quite successfully until his death, which occurred 
in 1876. 



BOSTON PRECINCT. 

This part of the county is ever memorable in 
the Long Run Indian massacre which preceded 
the terrible defeat sustained by General Floyd, 
who the day after with thirty-four of his men 
attempted the burial of the victims of the 
massacre. And also will this precinct not for- 
get the lamentable disaster which occurred just 
one hundred years thereafter, lacking eight days, 
in the giving way of the bridge over Floyd's fork, 
sending a loaded train of cars twenty feet 
into the terrible abyss below, killing eight per- 
sons outright and dangerously wounding many 
more, many of whom were of the most promi- 
nent representatives of this precinct. Floyd's 
defeat occurred September 17, 1781. The 
names of those who fell are not known, nor is 
there much that is definite. The facts given 
were furnished by Colonel G. T. Wilcox, a 
prominent citizen of northern Middletown pre- 
cinct, who is a descendant of 'Squire Boone, 
being his grandson, and gleaned some facts rela- 
tive to the terrible tragedy from Isaiah Boone, 
his uncle, and son of 'Squire Boone. 

He was at Floyd's defeat. His father had 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



S3 



built at a station on Clear creek two miles east of 
where Shelbyville now is. His father, with several 
others, had left Boonesboro in 1779 and settled 
in Boone's station. There was a station on 
Bear Grass called Bear Grass, three miles east of 
Louisville, and one eight miles from Louisville 
called Linn station was on the place afterwards 
owned by Colonel R. C. Anderson. 

Boone's station at that time was the only 
station between Linn's and Harrods creek. 'Squire 
Boone's station was about twenty-two miles east 
of Linn's station. Bland Ballard and Samuel 
Wells at that time lived in the station and 
General Floyd lived in that of Bear Grass. 
There were two couple to be married in Linn 
station. Bland Ballard and a man named Corris 
went from Linn station to Brashear's station, 
near the mouth of Floyd} fork, now Bullitt 
county, after a Baptist preacher, John Whitaker, 
to marry them. This was the first legal marriage 
in this part of the county. In going over Bal- 
lard discovered an Indian trail and was satisfied 
there was a large body of savages. He retraced 
his steps to Linn station and sent word to Bear 
Grass station, and then went to Boone's station 
that night. They held a meeting and agreed to 
leave the station and go to Linn station. There 
were a number of large families in Boone's sta- 
tion at that time, viz., the Hintons, Harrises, 
Hughes, Hansboros, Bryans, Vancleves, and 
many others. They could not all get ready to 
move the next day, but some were determined 
to go. Squire Boone was not ready and could 
not prevail on them to wait another day. So 
Major Ballard conducted this party, leaving 
Squire Boone and a few families to come the 
next day. When Ballard's party reached Long 
run he was attacked in the rear. He went back 
to protect that part of the train and drove the 
Indians back and held them in check as long as 
he could. In going back he saw a man and his 
wife by the name of Cline, on the ground. He 
told Cline to put his wife on the horse and hurry 
on. They were in the bed of Long run. Bal- 
lard returned in a short time to find Cline and 
his wife still on the ground. He put her on the 
horse and gave the horse a rap with his riding 
whip, and as lie did so an Indian pulled a sack 
from the horse. Ballard shot the Indian and 
hurried to the front. Here he found a great 
many killed and the people scattered leaving 



their cattle and losing their baggage and many 
horses. Some reached Linn's station that night, 
and a few Boone's. Boone and his party re- 
mained in his station several days after that be- 
fore they went down to Linn's. A few of the 
names of the killed on Long run are the two 
Miss Hansboro, sisters of Joel Hansboro, a Mr. 
McCarthy, a brother of Mrs. Ric Chenoweth, 
and a Mrs. Vancleve, an aunt of Colonel G. T. 
Wilcox. 

The next day General (then colonel)John Floyd, 
Colonel (then captain) Wells, and Bland Ballard 
(afterwards major), and thirty-four others from 
Linn's and Bear Grass stations went up to bury 
the dead When they reached Floyd's fork, Bal- 
lard said to them: "You send a few men and as- 
certain where the Indians are." He was, however, 
overruled, and on they went. At the head of the 
ravine they were surrounded, and sixteen of their 
men were shot down at the first fire. Fourteen 
were buried in one sink. They began to retreat. 
Isaac Boone said when \hey reached the fork he 
discovered an Indian following him. He raised 
his gun, the Indian stepped behind a tree. Just 
at that time General Floyd and Colonel Wells 
came in sight, Floyd on foot and Wells on horse- 
back. Wells said to Floyd: "Take my horse." 
Floyd, being large and fleshy, was much ex- 
hausted. They took to the bushes, and reached 
the place selected should they be defeated. It 
was near where Thomas Elder's new house now 
stands, on the Shebyville pike, about three miles 
above Middletown. For some time prior to this, 
General Floyd and Wells were not friendly. 
Isaac Boone said: " General, that brought you 
to your milk." The general's reply was: "You 
are a noble boy; we were in a tight place." 
This boy was then but fourteen years of age, and 
was at that lime in Sims' station. The occurrence 
took place in September, 1781. 

'Squire Boone's wife's maiden name was Jane 
Vancleve. Enoch Boone, their youngest son, 
was born at Boonsboro, October 15, 1777, being 
the first white male child born in Kentucky. He 
died in Meade county, Kentucky, in 1861. 
'Squire Boone died in 1815, and was, by his re- 
quest, buried in a cave in Harrison county, In- 
diana. Sarah Boone, mother of G. T. Wilcox, 
was the only daughter of 'Squire Boone. She 
was married to John Wilcox in 1 791, and he 
settled upon, surveyed and improved land pat- 



54 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



ented in the name of Sarah Boone by her father, 
four miles north of Shelbyville. 

The Wilcox family had a paternal parentage 
in George Wilcox, a Welshman, who emigrated 
to North Carolina in 1740. He married Eliza- 
beth Hale, and by her had six children — George, 
David, John, Isaac, Eliz, and Nancy, who came 
to Kentucky in 1784. George, Jr., married 
Elizabeth Pinchback; David married Sarah 
Boone, sister, to Daniel Boone; and John mar- 
ried Sarah Boone, daughter of 'Squire Boone, 
and mother of G. T. Wilcox. 

A WRECK. 

The second lamentable disaster which filled 
the minds of these citizens with dismay and 
horror occurred on the 8th of July, 1881, at 
Floyd's Fork railroad bridge. The passenger 
trains on the road running between Shelby- 
ville and Louisville were unusually crowded, it 
being at the time of the exposition in the last 
named city. The trair^ returning to Shelbyville 
was late, owing to some unaccountable delay, 
and was running with more than ordinary speed. 
It reached the bridge crossing Floyd's fork about 
8 o'clock in the evening. A cow was standing 
on the track just in front of the bridge, but before 
she could be whistled off the engine struck her, 
knocking her off and killing her instantly. The 
shock threw the engine off the track, and, being 
close to the bridge, struck the corner of that 
structure in such a way as to demolish it. The 
train was still running at a high speed, all this 
happening in less time than it takes to write it. 
The bridge went crashing down into the water a 
distance of twenty feet or more. The engine, from 
the impetus given by its weight and rapid motion, 
leaped full twenty feet from where it first struck 
the bridge, bringing the tender, baggage car, and 
passenger coach down with it in a mingled mass 
of timber, its load of human freight, and all. 
Heavy timbers from the bridge fell on every 
side and on the crumbled mass of coaches, 
that now resembled a pile of kindling wood. 
The terrible crash made by the falling of this 
train was heard for miles around, and instinct- 
ively the citizens surmised the difficulty and 
immediately set out for the scene of the disas- 
ter. Telegrams were immediately despatched to 
Louisville and Shelbyville for assistance, and it 
was not long before help gathered in from every 



quarter, and the work of removing the ruins be- 
gan. The heavy timbers had first to be removed 
before some bodies could be recovered, and the 
night was well nigh spent ere all were secured. 
Some were crushed immediately to death, others 
injured, and some only fastened in by the heavy 
weights over them, and strange to say some were 
not in the least hurt, save receiving a jar, incident 
to the occasion. Unfortunately this number was 
small. 

The names of those killed are given below: 
Phelim Neil, of Shelbyville, president of the 
road; William H. Maddox, city marshal of 
Shelbyville; Robert Jones, shoemaker, of Shelby- 
ville, and the father of a large family; Walker 
Scearce, of Shelbyville, a young man very suc- 
cessful in business, whose death was much 
regretted; Humbolt Alford, a resident of Boston 
and a fine young lawyer of Louisville; James 
Hardin, a resident of Boston and a highly re- 
spected citizen; a Mr. Perry, of Louisville, a 
boarder in the family of George Hall, near Bos- 
ton; and a gentleman from California, name not 
known. 

Among those not hurt was a small girl named 
Mary Little, who sat near a gentleman who was 
killed. She made her way out unscathed save 
in the loss of her clothing, which was greatly 
damaged by the water and considerably torn, 
presenting herself before her mother's door with- 
out a hat, and in a somewhat sorry plight. Mr. 
George Petrie, the conductor, was badly hurt 
at the time. There were about forty passengers 
in all, and but few escaped death or injury. 

The officials of the railroad were prompt in 
rendering aid to the unfortunate ones, paying off 
all claims against them for the loss the sad mis- 
hap had occasioned, though the misfortune was 
not due in the least to any mismanagement of 
theirs. 

Boston is a small place of only some ten fam- 
ilies. The precinct was formerly a part of 
Fisherville. Esquire Noah Hobbes has been one 
of its magistrates, serving in that capacity for 
sixeen years. His associate is William Raglin. 
His son J. F. Hobbes was school commissioner 
six years. 

The old Baptist chuich on Long run is one of 
the oldest churches west of Lexington. This so- 
ciety was organized during the pioneer times. 

Rev. Henson Hobbes, a Virginian by birth, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



55 



and a good man, officiated here as minister 
and died in 1822 or 23. He had four sons all 
preachers. He was among the first settlers on 
the ground. The old church building was a 
frame. The one now in use is of brick and was 
built full thirty years ago. 

The Methodist Epicopal church was built but 
four years ago. 

The following may be mentioned as among 
the early preachers of Boston precinct: Revs. 
Sturgeon, Hulsey, Joel Hulsey, John Dale, and 
Matt Powers, who has been preaching now in 
the Baptist church for twenty years. Rev. John 
Whittaker was among the early preachers, being 
here during the time of the massacre. 

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTES. 

John L. Gregg was born in Shelby county, 
July 7, 1838. His father, William Gregg, was 
one of the early pioneers of Kentucky. Mr. 
Gregg has a farm of four hundred and eighty acres 
of excellent land. He is engaged in general 
farming. He was married September 15, 1859, to 
Miss Susan Hope, of Shelby county. They have 
seven children. Mr. and Mrs. Gregg are mem- 
bers of the Baptist church. He is a Free 
Mason. 

John T. Little was born November 26, 1832, 
in Jefferson county, and has always resided in 
the State with the exception of six years in John- 
son county, Indiana. His grandfather, Joseph 
Keller, a native of Virginia, was an early pioneer, 
and the old stone house in which he lived is still 
standing, and a crevice made by an earthquake 
in 1810 or 1812, is yet quite noticeable. His 
father, John Little, was born in Maryland, about 
forty miles from Baltimore. In 1S66 Mr. Little, 
the subject of this sketch, went to Louisville, 
where he was engaged in the grocery business 
and as manufacturer of plug tobacco about ten 
years, then moved to Boston precinct where he 
is still in business. Mr. Little was married in 
1866 to Miss Eliza Cochran, of Louisville. They 
have two children. 

A. G. Beckley was born in Shelby county in 
1810, and resided here until 1855, when he came 
to Jefferson county and settled in Boston precinct 
on a farm of two hundred and fifty acres of excel- 
lent land. His father, Henry Beckley, was a native 
of Maryland, and came to Kentucky in an early 
day. He was married December 18, 1832, to 



Miss Jane Boone Wilcox, of Shelby county. 
Daniel Boone, the "old Kentucky pioneer," was 
a great-uncle of Mrs. Beckley. She was his 
nearest relative in Kentucky at (he time of his 
burial. Mr. and Mrs. Beckley have had six chil- 
dren, three of whom are living: Sarah A., John 
H., George W., Rasmus G, Edwin C, William 
R. Sarah, John, and Edwin are deceased. 
George was captain in the First Kentucky regi- 
ment. Mr. and Mrs. Beckley are members of 
the Baptist church. 

Noah Hobbs was born in Jefferson county, 
August 12, 1 818. His father, James Hobbs, 
was a native of Shelby county. Mr. Hobbs, the 
subject of this sketch, worked at the carpenter 
trade till he was about forty years of age. He 
came upon the farm, where we now find him, 
twenty-four years ago. He was married in 1840 
to Miss Elizabeth Frazier, of Shelby county. 
They have had three children, only one of whom 
is living: Alonzo, Horatio C, and James F. 
Alonzo and Horatio are dead. James F. is a 
Free Mason, and was school commissioner six 
years. Mr. Hobbs has served as magistrate 
sixteen years. 

A J. Sturgeon was born in this county in 1841. 
His father, S. G. Sturgeon, an old resident, was 
born here in 18 n. Seven of his children are 
now living, viz : Sarelda, wife of R. T. Proctor, 
of this county; A. J. Sturgeon; Melvina, wife of 
David Cooper, Shelby county; Robert S.; Flor- 
ence, wife of George Cochran, of this county; 
Simpson, and Katie. A. J. Sturgeon married 
Miss Sue D. Elder, of this county, in 1866. 
They have six children: Maudie, Eugene, Adah, 
Nellie, Edward, and Lois. Both Mr. and Mrs. 
Sturgeon are members of the Baptist church. 
Mr. Sturgeon also belongs to the Masons and 
Knights of Honor. He has been deputy assessor 
three years. 



VALLEY PRECINCT. 

George W. Ashby was born in Spencer county, 
Kentucky, in the year 182 1. In 1855, or when 
in his thitty-fifth year, he came to Jefferson 
county and located in Valley precinct near Val- 
ley Station on the Cecelia branch of the Louis- 
ville & Nashville lailroad. In the year 1857 he 
was married to Miss Eliza J. Kennedy, of Jeffer- 



5« 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



son county. She died in 1875, leaving besides 
her husband a family of three children. The 
father of George Ashby was Mr. Beady Ashby, 
who came to Kentucky when a boy. 

.William L. Hardin was born in Jefferson 
county, Kentucky, in the year 1829. He has 
been thrice married : in 1854 to Miss Elizabeth 
Philipps, a daughter of Mr. Jacob Philipps of 
Jefferson county; in i860 to Mrs. Swindler; 
in 1875 to Miss Mollie Finley, of Louisville. 
They have a family of four children. The first 
representative of the Hardin family who settled 
in the county was the grandfather of the subject 
of this sketch, Mr. Jacob Hardin, who came to 
the Falls of the Ohio seventy or seventy-five 
years ago. The father of William L. Hardin, 
Benjamin Hardin, was born in Jefferson county. 
Mr. Hardin lived the early part of his life in 
Louisville, where he worked at his trade, that 
of a plasterer, since which time he has lived on 
his farm near Valley Station. 

Mansfield G. Kendall was born in Lower 
Pond settlement, near where Valley Station now 
stands, September 9, 1815. In 1847 he was 
married to Miss Eliza Jones, a daughter of Cap- 
tian Henry Jones, of Jefferson county. The result 
of this marriage was a family of five boys, two of 
whom are still living. Henry J., who lives on 
the old homestead, follows the mercantile busi- 
ness. The other, Lewis, is a farmer. Mr. 
Kendall followed the business of a wagon-maker, 
until his retirement a few years since. His 
father's name was Raleigh Kendall, who settled 
in Lower Pond many years previous to the birth 
of the subject of this sketch, "when there were 
only four or five families in that region. Mr. 
Henry Kendall married Miss Margaret M. Lowe, 
of Springfield. Lewis married Miss Frederica 
Trinlere, of New Albany. 

Lynds Dodge was born in the State of New 
York in the year 1829. When yet a young man 
he came to Jefferson county, Kentucky, and 
contracted for the building of the first ten miles 
out from Louisville of the Louisville & Nashville 
railroad. He has followed contracting, with the 
exception of a short time spent on the river. 
He married Gabrella Walker, of Jefferson county. 
They have eight children. Warren Dodge is 
well known as the merchant and postmaster at 
Valley Station. 

Frederick Rohr, Esq., was born in Baden, 



Germany, in the year 1828. In 1852 he came 
to Kentucky. He was married to Miss Mar- 
garet J. Smith, who died in 1878, leaving a 
family of two daughters. 'Squire Rohr is one of 
the foremost men in the neighborhood in which 
he lives, and is well deserving the good name he 
bears. 

Henry Maybaum was born in Prussia in the 
year 1833. His father, Charles Maybaum, emi- 
grated to America in 1834. He first settled in 
Ohio, where he remained until 1847. In that 
year he removed to Louisville, where for a num- 
ber of years he followed tanning. He died in 
Upper Pond, in 1863. Henry was married in 
1862 to Miss Mary Toops, of Indiana. She 
died in 1S64, leaving one daughter, Emma. He 
was again married in 1866 to Miss Sarah A. 
Hollis, by whom he has two children. He is in 
the general mercantile business at Orel, on the 
Cecelia branch of the Louisville & Nashville 
railroad. 

Elias R. Withers was born in Hardin county, 
Kentucky, in the year 181 1. In 1838 he moved 
to Louisville, where for thirty-seven years he 
lived, acting as a steamboat pilot between that 
city and New Orleans. At the close of that 
time, or in 1855, he bought the farm which 
he still owns and on which he resides near 
Orel. He was married in 1838 to Miss M. J. 
Davis, of Louisville. They have six children, 
five of whom are living. 

Alanson Moorman was born near Lynchburg, 
Virginia, in the year 1803. He is the youngest 
of eight children of Jesse Moorman, who came 
from Virginia to Kentucky in 1807, and settled 
in Meade county. In 1827 Mr. Moorman was 
married to Miss Rachel W. Stith. They have 
ten children living. Since coming to this county 
he has been engaged principally in farming his 
large estate on the Ohio river near Orel. Mr. 
Moorman is widely known as a man of ability 
and strict integrity. 

Mrs. Mary C. Aydelott is the widow of George 
K. Aydelott. He was born at Corydon, In- 
diana, October 24, 1S20. In the fall of 1843 
he moved to Kentucky and located in Meade 
county, where he followed farming until the year 
1864. In that year he bought the farm which 
is still the residence of his family, on the Ohio, 
twelve miles below Louisville. On the 23d day 
of November, 1843, he was married to Miss 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



5 7 



Mary C. McCord, of Strasburgh, Shenandoah 
county, Virginia. Mr. Aydelott died December 
3, 1880, leaving a family of three sons and one 
daughter. The eldest, Robert H, is a member 
of the firm of McCord, Boomer & Co., of Louis- 
ville. The second, George W., has been five 
years connected with the hat trade in New 
Albany, but is now running the home farm. The 
others are at home. 

George Alsop was the first of the Alsop family 
in Kentucky. At an early day he -came from 
Virginia, bringing with him a family consisting 
of his wife and several children. He, however, 
left one son, Henry, in Virginia. He there 
married Miss Mary Jones, and in the year 1828 
followed his father to the West. They had five 
children, three sons and two daughters, one of 
whom, Gilford Dudley, went to Louisville in 1831, 
to learn the cabinet business, he then being four- 
teen years of age. He was married in 1842 to 
Miss Nancy H. Moore, a granddaughter of Col- 
onel James Moore. They have six children 
living, all but one married. Mrs. Alsop died in 
1876, in her sixtieth year. 

The first representative of the Lewis family in 
Kentucky was Mr. Thomas Lewis, who came 
from Virginia at a very early day, bringing with 
him his family, consisting of two sons and one 
daughter. The sons were Henry and James, 
who lived and died on their farms m Lower 
Pond settlement. Henry married a Miss Myrtle, 
of Virginia. He died in 1836, his wife following 
some years later. They left six children, four of 
whom are still living. One of these is Mr. 
Thomas Lewis, who was born in 1809; was mar- 
ried, in 1837, to Miss Margaret Morris, of Eliza- 
bethtown, Kentucky; she died in 1867, leaving 
beside her husband a family of seven children, 
six of whom are still living; four are citizens of 
Jefferson county, one in Florida, and one' in Vir- 
ginia. 

Edmund Bollen Randolph was born in Jeffer- 
san county in 1837. He was married in 1872, 
to Mrs. Elizabeth Anderson, of Jefferson county. 
She is the daughter of Mr. John Griffith. 'Squire 
Randolph is the son of Mr. William Randolph, 
who settled in Jefferson county about the begin- 
ning of the present century, and who was one of 
the county's most prominent early time men. 
He was a pensioner of the War of 181 2, and 
was one of " Mad " Anthony Wayne's soldiers. 



He was killed by being thrown from a buggy in 
1859, at the advanced age of ninety three years. 
Anthony Miller is the seventh of ten children 
of Robert Miller, who came to Jefferson county 
in about the year 1800. Anthony Miller was 
born February 5, 181 6. He served, when a 
youth, an apprenticeship at the plasterer's trade, 
and has since worked at it considerably during 
the greater part of his life. In connection with 
this he has farmed, and has lived on his farm in 
Valley precinct for the last thirty-five years. On 
the 4th of July, 1842, he was married to Ellen 
Camp, a native of Louisville. He is the father 
of nine children, five of whom are living — Cas- 
sandra, Myra, Anthony, Weeden, and Will. 



WOODS PRECINCT. 

John Harrison, Esq.. was born in Shelby 
county, Kentucky, in 1809. When he was about 
eleven years of age his father, William Harrison, 
moved to Jefferson county, where he lived until 
his death, which occurred about thirty years ago. 
'Squire Harrison was married September 4, 1834, 
to Miss Mary Ann Kendall, a daughter of 
Raleigh Kendall, of Lower Pond. They have 
six children living, all married. He was for nine 
years a justice of the peace, having been elected 
to the office four times. Has also been assessor 
of Jefferson county for sixteen years and has 
held many offices in the gift of the people. 

Captain Eli P. Farmer was born in Monon- 
galia county, West Virginia, in 1819. In 1823 
his father came to Kentucky and located in Jef- 
ferson county. He was, however, a Kentuckian 
by birth, being born near Lexington, in 1791, 
and was one of the pioneers of the State. He 
was married to Miss Sarah Price, of Virginia, 
by whom he had six children. Two are still 
living ; one is in Texas ; the other, the subject 
of this sketch, Captain Farmer, was married 
in 1845 to Miss Sarah A. Gerking, of Jefferson 
county, by whom he has eight children, four of 
whom are married. He was an officer in the 
Thirty-fourth Kentucky infantry, and served 
about one year in the First cavalry. 



5« 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



CROSS ROADS. 

Thomas Milton Beeler, Esq., was born in 
Jefferson county, Kentucky, in 1833. His father 
was John C. Beeler, who came with his father, 
Charles Beeler, to Mann's Licks at a very early 
day, supposed to have been somewhere in the 
nineties. The grandson and subject of this 
sketch was married in 1855 to Miss Margaret A. 
Standiford, a daughter of 'Squire- David Standi- 
ford, who was one of the earliest settlers of 
Jefferson county, and for a long time a magistrate. 
Squire Beeler has been blessed with a family of 
nine children — all now living. He has filled the 
magistrate's office for six years. 

The first representative of the McCawley family 
in Kentucky was James McCawley, who came to 
Jefferson county from Virginia, when it was still 
included in the State of Virginia. From an ac- 
count of provisions purchased for the use of the 
fort at Harrodsburg from December 16, 1777, to 
October 18, 1778, we find that he was living in 
that neighborhood at the time. From there he 
came to Jefferson county. In after years he 
went back East, and returned, bringing with him 
the first wooden wagon ever seen in this region. 
His cabin was located on the place now owned 
by his grandson, Dr. B. F. McCawley, near the 
little creek which still bears his name. He was 
frequently attacked by the Indians, and at one 
time lost a valuable horse by their cornering the 
animal between the chimney and the side of 
his cabin. He fired at them, with what effect he 
never knew. Colonel William McCawley, son 
of James McCawley, was born on McCawley's 
creek in 1807, and was a lieutenant colonel, and 
afterwards colonel of Kentucky State militia. 
He was a farmer by occupation. His wife was 
Miss Hench, of a Virginia family, who died in 
1838. Colonel McCawley died of cholera at 
his home, in July, 1850. They left two sons and 
two daughters, the oldest of whom, Colonel 
George W. McCawley, was killed while leading 
the seventh charge of the brigade he was com- 
manding, against Hooker's corps at Peach Tree 
creek. The second, Benjamin F. McCawley, 
was born at the McCawley homestead in 1837. 
In 1858 he graduated at the Kentucky School of 
Medicine, since which time he has lived on the 
old homestead, practicing his profession. He 
was married in 1865 to Miss Teresa Schnetz, of 
Kansas. They have five children. 



John Terry was born in Virginia in 1810. In 
181 1 his father, Joseph Terry, emigrated to 
Kentucky, settling on McCawley's creek, in Jef- 
ferson county. He was married in 1830 to Miss 
Margaret McCawley, daughter of Joshua Mc- 
Cawley, of the same county. She died in 1865, 
leaving seven children, all of whom are married; 
the youngest of whom, Taylor Terry, married 
Miss Annie E. McCawley, and now lives on the 
home place. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Young is the widow of Mr. 
Theodore W. Young, who was born in Lexington 
in 1818. When he was a young man he came to 
Louisville. He was a tanner by trade and began 
thetanning business on Pennsylvania run, in Jeffer- 
son county. This he followed up to the time of 
his marriage to Miss Pendergrass in 1831. He 
then settled on the old Pendergrass farm, where 
he lived until the time of his death, in 1875. 
Mrs. Young is the daughter of Mr. Jesse Pender- 
grass, and granddaughter of Colonel James F. 
Moore, of Salt Licks fame. Her brother, Com- 
modore Pendergrass, died while in command of 
the navy yard at Philadelphia during the Rebel- 
lion. Her grandfather, Garrett Pendergrass, 
was killed by Indians at Harrodsburg when on 
his way to Louisville in the year 1777. Mr. and 
Mrs. Young were blessed with a family of nine 
children, four of whom are married and citizens 
of Jefferson county and the city of Louisville. 

Mr. Alexander Heatley was born in Scotland 
in 1806. In the year 1837 he emigrated to 
Louisville, where he lived for a short time, after 
which he acted as overseer for Mr. Cocke, near 
the city. He was married in 1836 to Miss 
Jenette Cockburn, of Dundee, Scotland. Mrs. 
Heatley died in 1871, leaving three chil- 
dren, two daughters and one son. The latter 
is dead. One daughter is at home, the other, 
Mrs. Mitchell, in Mississippi. Mr. Heatley now 
lives on his farm on the Shepardsville pike, south 
of the city of Louisville. 

Mrs. Martha Farman was born in Madison 
county, Kentucky, in the year 1840. She is the 
daughter of Mr. James Logsdon, who came to 
Jefferson county in 1850, and made it his home 
up to the time of his death, which occurred in 
August, 1875. His wife, Matilda, followed him 
about four years later. Mrs. Farman is the wife 
of Mr. F. L. Farman. They have a family of 
four children: Matilda, Emma, Ella, and Annie. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



59 



Ann Eliza Brooks is the only daughter of Isaac 
and Catharine Brooks. Mr. Brooks was born in 
Pennsylvania in 1798, and came with his father 
to Bullitt county, Kentucky, when but a boy. 
He was married in 1823 to Miss Catharine Fry, 
then in her eighteenth year. Mr. Brooks died 
of consumption in 1844, Mrs. Brooks surviving 
him thirty-five years. They left, besides the 
subject of this sketch, two sons, the eldest of 
whom, Shepard W., is a citizen of Bullitt county; 
the other, James B., lives in Kansas. 

Mr. Edmund G. Minor was born in Nelson 
county, Kentucky, March 7, 1827. He is a son 
of Major Spence Minor, a soldier of 181 2, who 
came to Kentucky with his father from Loudoun 
county, Virginia, in 1797. His mother was Miss 
Mary Guthrie, a daughter of General Adam 
Guthrie, who was a soldier against the Indians, 
and came to Louisville at a very early day. Mr. 
Minor has been twice married — in 1851 to Miss 
Sarah Stone, and in 1854 to Miss Mary Wagley, 
who was born October 13, 1833. She is the 
daughter of George and Eliza Wagley, of Frank- 
fort. They have seven children. Mr. Minor's 
business is that of a farmer, although he was 
marshal of the chancery court in 1880, and has 
been deputy since 1875. 

Mrs. Susan G. Heafer is the widow of Mr. 
George VV. Heafer, who was born in Abottstown, 
Pennsylvania, in 1791. In 1812 he emigrated 
to Kentucky, stopping at Louisville, where he 
lived until 1829. In 1823 he removed to his 
farm near Newburg post-office, where he lived 
until the time of his death, which occurred in 
July, 1877. He was married in 1827 to Miss 
Susan G. Shiveley, a daughter of one of Jeffer- 
son county's earliest settlers — Philip Shiveley. 
They had two children, one son and one daugh- 
ter. The son, George R. C. Heafer, was mar- 
ried to Miss Julia Jones, of Jefferson county. 
Both he and his wife are dead, leaving a family 
of three children. The daughter is Mrs. Joseph 
Hite, of the same county, and has nine children. 
Mrs Heafer is now in her seventy-third year and 
still lives on the old homestead. 

Mr. William K. Cotton was born in Indiana 
in 1805. In 1826 he came to Kentucky, first liv- 
ing in Spencer county, where he remained until 
his removal to Louisville in 1853. In i860 he 
bought the JohnSeabolt farm on Fern creek, nine 
miles from the city. He was married in 1828 



to Miss Lydia McGee, a daughter of Patrick 
McGee, of Spencer county. They had two chil- 
dren, a son, Dr. J. P., and a daughter, 
Trajetta, wife of Mr. Lyman Parks, who died in 
1880. Mr. Cotton died in 1878; his wife in 
1879. Dr. James P. Cotton was born in Jeffer- 
son county, Kentucky, in 1829. He graduated 
at the Louisville university in the class of 1853 
and 1854. He practiced his profession until 
he arrived at his thirtieth year, since which time 
he has been engaged upon his estate in fruit 
farming on a large scale. 

The first member of the Hawes family who 
settled here was Mr. Peter Hawes, who was born 
in Maryland, and came to Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, at a very early day, settling on Floyd's 
fork. His son, Benjamin, was born in 1793 and 
died in 1869. Benjamin left a family of eight 
children — Isaac \V., James, Benjamin, Jessie R., 
Peter, Harrison, and Mrs. Kyser. 

Mrs. Mary A. Johnson is the widow of Mr. 
William M. Johnson, who was born in Scott 
county, Kentucky, in 1818, and died in 1878. 
Mr. and Mrs. Johnson were married in 1842, 
her maiden name being Seabolt. They were 
blessed with a family of six children, all of whom 
are married. 

Mr. William P. Welch was born on Pennsyl- 
vania run, in Jefferson county, Kentucky, August 
7, 1797. His father, Andrew Welch, emigrated 
to that settlement about one hundred years ago. 
He had married, before leaving Pennsylvania, 
Miss Eleanor Patterson. He left a family of 
eight children, of which William is the only sur- 
viving member. William was married, in 1848, 
to Mrs. Elizabeth J. Cunningham, a daughter of 
Mr. Elijah Applegate, of Jefferson county. They 
have had one child, Eliza Eleanor, who married 
Thomas B. Craig, and died in July, 1880. Mr. 
Welch remembers early incidents very well, and 
well remembers being in Louisville before there 
were any pavements in the city. 

The first representative of the Robb family in 
Kentucky was Mr. James Robb, who came to 
Mud Creek, Jefferson county, from Penn- 
sylvania. He was originally from Kentucky. 
He left eleven children, all of whom settled in 
Indiana excepting Henry, who spent most of his 
eventful life of eighty-three years in Jefferson 
county, Kentucky. He was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 177S, and was twice married. His first 



6o 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



wife was Miss Elizabeth Standiford, by whom he 
had one child. After her death, and in the year 
1846, he was married to Mrs. Maria Montgomery, 
a daughter of Mr. William Pierson, of Jefferson 
county. By this marriage he had two sons, Henry 
D., and James P. Mr. Robb's younger days were 
spent in the salt business, he being formany years 
superintendent of the famous Brook's Salt Works. 
The elder son, Henry D., was married in 187 1 
to Miss Joetta Brooks, daughter of S. M. Brooks, 
of Bullitt county. They have three children :Vir- 
gie R., Edith Pearl and Henry D. Although so 
young a man, Hon. Henry Robb has represent- 
ed the people of his district in the Legislature 
and filled many offices with honor to himself 
and to those he represented. He is one of the 
rising men, with the greater part of his threescore 
years and ten yet before him. 



General Biographies. 



B. S. ALDERSON. 

B. S. Alderson, one of the successful farmers 
of the county, was born near Richmond, Virginia, 
April 3, 181 5. When he was about a year old a 
colony of his relatives, including his father, John 
A. Alderson, moved to Maury county, Tennes- 
see. When sixteen he went to Natchez, Missis- 
sippi, where for about eight years he was operat- 
ing in stocks, trading and bartering with who- 
ever would sell or buy. He next went to New 
Orleans and took a one-third interest in a pro- 
duce house in that city, and became the agent of 
the house on the road. 

In 1848 he came to Louisville, where he man- 
aged the Hotel de Rein as proprietor for a period 
of five years. A tornado swept him out, and about 
thirty-one years ago he purchased the West Wood 
farm, where he has since resided. 

February 4, 1843, he married Nancy Seebolt, a 
daughter of George S. Seebolt, an old resident 
of the county, who was born about 1787, in 
Montgomery county, on the 25th of December 
of that year. He was a prominent man among 
the Indians. His father, George S. Seebolt, 



moved upon the waters of Chenoweth run. He 
had been in Louisville six years previous to this, 
with his family, and entered a large tract 
of land, commonly known as the Phelps tract, 
but during his absence other parties came in and 
settled upon it. It not being in the mind of 
Mr. Seebolt to remove them he hunted up other 
waters near Jefifersontown, as the main object in 
that day was to get near some permanent stream 
of water. Mr. Alderson is the father of seven 
children, of whom four are living. Mr. Alder- 
son's farm consists of two hundred acres of good 
land, about two miles west of Jeffersontown, and 
is under a very high state of cultivation, as is 
shown by the cleanly condition of fences, rows, 
and fields, as well as the good repair in which 
the buildings are kept. Mr. Alderson has an ab- 
horrence of debt, it being a rule with him to 
discharge his dues to others with exactness. 



FRANK S. DRAVO, 
proprietor of the Diamond Fruit farm, of Jeffer- 
sontown precinct, is of French descent, but was 
born in Huntingdon county, Pennsylvania, 
August 13, 1829. He is the fourth of ten chil- 
dren of Michael Dravo, also a native of Penn- 
sylvania, his father being born in France. Mr. 
Dravo has a good education — receiving first a 
good primary education, afterwards graduating 
from Alleghany college, Pennsylvania. Upon 
leaving school he became associated with his 
father and brothers in the coal trade at Pittsburgh, 
Pennsylvania, under the firm name of Dravo & 
Sons. In 1856 he came to Louisville, Kentucky, 
where he had charge of a branch of the coal 
business of J. T. and F. S. Dravo, which he 
carried on successfully until i860, when he 
sold his interest in this enterprise, and became 
from that time on extensively engaged in farm- 
ing. Besides the Diamond Fruit farm he owns 
several other large tracts of land in the vicinity 
of his home. He has the largest fruit farm in 
Jefferson county, consisting of thousands of 
apple, peach, pear, and other kinds of trees. 
His grounds of the manor place are arranged 
with a vi~w to utility and beauty, and his home 
is one of the most attractive and handsomely 
arranged in the county or State. 

On February 3, 1857, he married Margaret F. 



fc 




5fe 



IS 




HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



61 



Seabolt, the youngest child of Jacob Seabolt, a 
well known resident of the county. By this wife 
he had two children — A. B. and George M. 
This wife died February 3, 1878. 

On January 1, 1880, he married Anna Seabolt, 
daughter of John Seabolt. 

Mr. Dravo is a member of the Methodist 
Episcopal church of Jeffersontovvn, and is a 
gentleman whose integrity and real worth give 
him the esteem of all. 



COLONEL NOAH CARTWRIGHT, 

of Fern Creek, was born March 14, 1833, in 
Highland county, Ohio. His father, William A. 
Cartwright, was a native of Maryland. He was 
born in 1792 or 1793, came to Kentucky where 
he was raised to manhood, then married, and 
moved to Pike county, Ohio. He was in theWar 
of 1 812, and fought in the battle of the Thames 
under General Harrison. He was a cousin of 
Rev. Peter Cartwright, and, like him, devoted 
his life to the ministry — having during that time 
built two churches on his own account, and 
preached the gospel fully sixty years before he 
died. About the year 18 16 he married Sarah 
Stilwell, of New Jersey, and by this union had 
ten children, all dead now but Mary Ann, Peter, 
Job, Noah, and Elizabeth. Noah, the subject of 
this sketch, spent his youth on a farm, and when 
twenty years of age began the profession of 
teaching. He afterwards attended South Salem 
academy, but after being there but one year was 
elected an associate professor by the directors 
of that institution. After remaining here one 
•year and a half he determined to complete 
his studies, and according to this purpose en- 
tered Miami university in 1856, and was put 
into the junior class. He graduated in the 
spring of 1858, an honor to himself and to the 
institution, having attained an average in scholar- 
ship during that time of 99.96, and one of 100 
on punctuality, making a general average of 
99.98. 

After graduating he came to Kentucky, and in 
i860 became identified as principal of the Ma- 
sonic Seminary in Columbus. The usual suc- 
cess heretofore experienced attended him in this 
enterprise. Teaching had been selected as his 
chosen profession, and he entered into the work 



with his usual energy, embarking with capital 
to the full extent of his financial ability. Un- 
fortunately the war broke out soon after this 
time, and Mr. Cartwright was obliged to leave 
his adopted town by order of those who opposed 
the Union cause, and in so doing lost all his 
earthly possessions. He was, however, under 
the necessity of entering the Confederate army, 
' which he did for a time, doing picket duiy in 
the meanwhile. He came to Fern village, in 
April, 1 86 1, and immediately went to work and 
raised a company, and, with Bryant Williams as 
lieutenant, entered the Union army. Being 
ordered out of the State when Buckner made 
his raid, he was first marched to Bowling 
Green, then to Nashville, to Huntsville, and 
back on BuelPs retreat and was engaged in the 
battle of Perryville, where twenty-nine of his 
company were killed and wounded ; he was at 
the battles of Stone river, Chickamauga, Murfrees- 
boro, and other places. At Chickamauga he was 
an officer of the Fourteenth Army corps. At 
Stone river he was promoted to major, and in 
July was promoted to the lieutenant colonelcy 
of the regiment. He also served for a time as 
inspector of commissary stores, and was also in 
attendance on court martials fo» a time. After 
the battle of Chickamaugahe was detailedto take 
one hundred wagons into the Confederate coun- 
try and get the same filled with corn. After this 
hazardous service was performed he resigned his 
commission and returned home. Colonel Cart- 
wright had seen hard service in the war. He lost 
a finger in battle, had the heel of his boot shot 
off, holes shot in his sleeve, and his rubber can 
teen badly perforated with bullets, but received 
no further injury. His health gave way — rheu- 
matism being the immediate cause of his resig- 
nation. 

After returning home he resumed farming and 
also teaching, directing his energies in that pro- 
fession in the school of Jefferson county, and has 
held the office of county examiner since 1876. 
In 1880 he completed the building of his large 
and elegant residence, a structure beautiful in 
appearance and designed by himself, and lives 
with his family in the enjoyment of a comfort- 
able home. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



ELIAS DORSEY. 

Elias Dorsey, brother of Leaven Lawrence 
Dorsey, was born in Maryland in 1797; and when 
a mere youth came with his father to Jefferson 
county, where the family settled. Mr. Dorsey 
experienced the many inconveniences of living 
in a sparsely settled country, but he grew up to 
manhood, possessing many valuable traits be- 
longing to good citizenship, and became not 
only a thorough business man but very influen- 
tial. He was always a Democrat, and in view 
of his unflinching political qualifications, his 
friends at one time forced him upon the ticket 
as a candidate for the State Legislature, against 
the wishes of himself and of his family. He 
was defeated by a small plurality, which ended his 
political career. He was a successful farmer, as 
the proprietorship of the valuable Eden stock 
farm would of itself suggest. There were in 
this one tract of land eight hundred acres, the 
same afterwards owned by Elias and L. L. Dor- 
sey, his two sons. Mr. Dorsey was married 
twice. His first wife, Miss Sallie Booker, was 
married to him when he was quite young. They 
reared a family of thirteen children, of whom all 
grew to maturity^save one, who died in youth. 
The eldest never married and died at the age of 
twenty-seven. Another son also died when about 
twenty-five years old, unmarried. 

Mr. Dorsey, after the death of Mrs. Sally Dor- 
sey, his second wife, went to Illinois, then a wil- 
derness almost, and purchased a large tract of 
land consisting of twenty thousand acres, where 
he lived until he died. His body was brought 
back and placed in the cemetery at Louisville. 

Mr. L. L. Dorsey, Jr., his son, now living on 
the Bardstown pike near the city, was born Feb- 
ruary 17, 1819. About the year 1845 he mar- 
ried Miss Lydia Phillips, and lived until recently 
on the Eden stock farm. He has lately pur- 
chased the magnificent house and farm above 
mentioned, where he will spend the remainder 
of his days in the enjoyment of a retired life. 
Mr. L. L. Dorsey, with but a single exception, 
has been one of the largest stock raisers in the 
country. He* devoted much of his time to this 
calling both before and since the late war. 



JOHN F. GARR. 

John F. Garr, of Cane Run precinct, an early 
settler and prominent citizen of the county, was 
born February 24, 1806, in Spoltsylvania county, 
Virginia. He is a descendant of Abraham Garr, 
of German parentage, who with his brothers 
John and Andrew emigrated to America and 
settled on large tracts of land in Spottsylvania 
county previous to the time of the Revolutionary 
war. These brothers in course of time separated, 
and their descendants are found in most of the 
States from the Atlantic to the Pacific. They 
were of marked traits of character, long lived 
and prolific, and have indelibly impressed their 
habits of thrift and economy upon each of their 
succeeding generations. John Garr, son of 
Abraham and grandfather of John F. Garr, 
moved to Madison county, Virginia, when a 
young man, and settled upon a beautiful rolling 
tract of land on Robinson river, a branch of the 
Rappahannock near the mountains of the Blue 
Ridge. He was an early settler of this county, 
and was the first owner of a corn and hominy 
mill. He lived prior to the struggle for inde- 
pendence, and died comparatively a young man, 
his death being caused by a horse throwing him 
violently against a tree. He was the father of 
six sons : Lawrence, Abraham, John, Aaron, 
Felix, and Benjamin ; and three daughters — 
Mrs. Rosa Wayman, Mrs. Peggie House (Mr. 
Moses House, her husband, was killed in the 
battle of Tippecanoe), Mrs. Dina Cook, and 
Mrs. Susan Garr. He purchased land near 
Danville, Kentucky, where Lawrence and John 
settled. Abraham moved to Indiana ; Rosa 
Wayman died in Kenton county, Kentucky, on 
Sulphur creek ; Benjamin died on Bear Grass 
near Chenoweth run; Susan also died near 
Louisville; Aaron, the father of John F. Garr, 
came to Kentucky in 1835 and settled on a 
tract of two hundred and twenty acres of land 
near Anchorage, the same being now owned by 
Simeon L. Garr, h»6 youngest son. This land 
was purchased of John Downey. Aaron Garr 
had three sons : John F., Mark F., deceased, 
a citizen of California, and S. L. Garr, president 
of the board of commissioners of the Central 
Kentucky Lunatic asylum. 

John F. Garr received his education in a term 
of twelve months' school under the professor- 




•?« Cjy'- . Jcd/jtz-dic^) 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



63 



ship of Tacket, who was proprietor and principal 
of a seminary in Virginia. In 1832 he set out 
for Jefferson county, Kentucky, in company 
with Jacob Garr, his father's cousin, who married 
his aunt Susan Garr, and after a four weeks' ride 
in a little two-horse wagon reached his destina- 
tion, selecting the farm he still owns and on 
which he has since that time resided. This 
land wa's purchased of a Mr. Morns, who owned 
some sixteen hundred acres in this immediate 
vicinity at thai time, and was the original of this 
farm. Mr. Garr found his land covered with 
timber, beech, walnut and poplar predominat- 
ing, which had to be cleared, off to make ready 
for the cultivation of the soil. Being of a hardy 
character and already inured to hardships, he 
shouldered his axe and its ringing sound was 
heard until sufficient space of ground was made 
ready for the plow. Wood at that time was 
the only fuel used in the stove and fire-place, 
and it was cut into suitable length for that purpose, 
hauled to the village and sold at prices then 
ranging from two to four dollars per cord. 
Soon after his arrival he earnestly set himself 
at work to build a house, and one now visit- 
ing his present large, commodious and sub- 
stantial habitation would little think it was 
erected fifty years since. The poplar logs, then 
so abundant, were shaped and saddled and 
afterwards the whole structure was neatly weath- 
erboarded, giving it the appearance of a large 
frame house — better than brick, being warmer 
in winter and more comfortable in summer. 
The work of cutting this timber, hewing the logs, 
and fashioning the house, was done by Mr. Garr 
himself. 

This house was erected just previous to his 
marriage, which occurred in the year 1834, his 
wife being Miss Lucy Yager, daughter of Jesse 
Yager of Oldham county, a prominent pioneer 
of Kentucky, and whose native State was Vir- 
ginia. This marriage has been blest with four 
children. Mrs. Elizabeth Miller, the oldest, is a 
resident cf Williamsburg, Indiana. Thomas B., 
the oldest son, is also married. His wife was Miss 
Bettie J. Speer, daughter of James Speer, for- 
merly sheriff of Oldham county, Kentucky. He 
resides in Louisville. The two youngest, James 
Polk and Simeon L, are unmarried. Mr. Garr 
is a quiet, unostentatious man, and cares little 
(or political preferments. He was, however, 



sent by voters of his county to the State Legisla- 
ture, where he officiated as a member of the 
lower house during the first sitting of the Legis- 
lature under the new constitution. Mr. Garr is 
wholly a domestic man, has been successful in 
business, is a good citizen and a man whom his 
church, his neighbors and the citizens generally 
have reason to be proud of. 

The three sons, T. B., J. P., and S. L. Garr, 
are very extensively engaged in the manufacture 
of the Mahogany Navy, a very fine quality of 
tobacco. They operate under the firm name of 
the Garr Brothers, 610-616 Hancock street. 
Their Eagle Tobacco works are extensive, hav- 
ing a capacity of three thousand pounds per day. 
They run a force of seventy-five men. Their 
building is a large three-story brick ; was for- 
merly owned by Samuel Richardson, who used 
it as a woolen mill. It was purchased of J. S. 
Willett by the Garr Brothers in 1872, and by 
them enlarged to its present size. 



S. L. GARR, 

President of the Board of Commissioners of 
Central Kentucky Lunatic Asylum and proprie- 
tor of the valuable Southern Hope Nurseries, 
Anchorage, was born in Madison county, Vir- 
ginia, October 5, 18 15. His father, Aaron Garr, 
was a native of Virginia and an extensive farmer. 
He came with his family to Jefferson county, 
Kentucky, in 1835, and died in 1844 at seventy- 
two years of age. He was a plain man, made 
no ostentatious showing, and lived many years a 
worthv member of the Baptist church. His 
oldest son, John F. Gair, a farmer living a short 
distance east of Louisville, was a member of the 
State Legislature in 1857. Mark F. Garr, 
another son, now dead, lived in California. 

Mr. S. L. Garr, the subject of this sketch, re- 
ceived a good education in the common and 
public schools of his native county, afterwards, 
completing his course in the University of 
Bloomington, Indiana. 

In 1837 he became united in matrimony to 
Miss Eliza Yager, daughter of Jesse Yager, an 
old and prominent settler of Oldham county, 
Kentucky. By this marriage he became the 
father of three children, the oldest, Mrs. Laura 
Virginia Gaines, a resident of Jefferson county; 



64 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Preslie Neville Garr, captain of a company in 
the Confederate service, was a young man of 
more than ordinary nerve and bravery, and was 
promoted from the ranks to the captaincy of his 
company, the position held in 1864, when he 
was killed; he was leading his command in per- 
son when making a grand charge on the. enemy. 
The youngest son, William O. Butler Garr is also 
dead. 

Mr. Garr was married to his second wife, Miss 
Eliza R. Farnsley, in 1852. She was the daugh- 
ter of the well known and extensive farmer, 
Alexander Farnsley, below Louisville. The 
issue ot this marriage was one child, Erasmus D. 
Garr, who died when four years of age. 

Mr. Garr has identified himself, in a public 
spirited way, with the interests of his country- 
men in politics, by his prominence in matters 
of public concern, and by his service of 
seventeen years as chairman of the county Dem- 
ocratic committee, and by the unflagging interest 
taken in the Central Kentucky Lunatic Asylum. 
His superior judgment and good sense have 
always commended him to positions of honor 
and responsibility, but with a feeling akin to a 
repugnance for office has with but few excep- 
tions acceded to the wishes of his friends. In 
1856 he was nominated by the Democratic party 
as a candidate for the Kentucky State Legisla- 
ture, but was defeated. He has been frequently 
solicited by the Governor of the State to serve the 
public inteiest in various capacities, but invari- 
ably declined. His interest in the promotion of 
the Central Lunatic asylum will leave him a record 
in the history of that institution as one of its 
founders, and for many years during its early 
existence as its warmest supporter. 

In 1870, in connection with Dr. Vallandigham, 
and R. C. Hudson, was appointed by Governor 
Leslie to take measures preparatory to the 
erection of a house of refuge. These three 
gentlemen took the matter in hand in a business 
manner, and after visiting various State institu- 
tions of the kind purchased a plan ot the present 
building from an architect at Lancaster, Ohio, 
and erected the main building, one hundred and 
twenty by sixty feet, superintending the work 
themselves. In 1872 it was decided by the State 
authorities that the house should be changed in 
its purposes and made an asylum for the insane 
of this portion of the State, since which time 



Mr. Garr has been one of its officers, serving in 
the capacity of commissioner until 1879, when 
the board made him, in honor of his fit- 
ness and distinguished services, president of the 
institution. 

In the capacity of president of the asylum Mr. 
Garr serves the interests of the State free of 
charge, and devotes much of his time at the in- 
stitution. His presence among the inmates is 
always a welcome one to them; he has a kind 
word and a cheerful manner for them all, and 
the interest manifested in their welfare, and the 
frequent generous donations made from his 
bounty to alleviate. their wants, not only endears 
him to them as their worthy friend and benefac- 
tor, but entitles him to an everlasting regard on 
the part of the great State of Kentucky. 

Mr. Garr has also been a successful fruit 
grower, some years before and since the war. 
His large farm, embracing the Southern Hope 
nurseries, is well adapted in soil and means of 
propagation to raise thrifty, healthy and vigorous 
trees, and his twenty years and more experience 
in testing fruits, and in their cultivation, and 
careful attention to business, merits the extensive 
patronage he receives everywhere. His stock 
embraces fruit and ornamental trees, small fruits, 
vines, trees, roses, etc., of the most approved 
varieties and those most worthy of general culti- 
vation, and he recommends nothing till he has 
found it worthy, and is satisfied with its merits 
after he has tested in his grounds. 



A. G. HERR, 

proprietor of the fine, large and valuable Mag- 
nolia stock farm, is a son of Hon. John Herr, 
Jr., once a member of the State Legislature, and 
for forty years a magistrate of his precinct, and 
grandson of John Herr, one of the most promi- 
nent of the early settlers of Jefferson county. 
He was born on the Magnolia stock farm, near 
Lyndon, December 30, 1840, and although yet 
but a young man, has been instrumental in effect- 
ing such changes and making improvements 
for the public good, that his record of the past 
indelhbly stamps him as a progressive and public 
spirited citizen of the county. He has spent his 
whole life on the place he was born, receiving a 





<z^A^/ 




MAGNOLIA STOCK FARM. Resii* 




of A. G. HERR, Lyndon P. O., Jefferson Co., KY: 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



65 



good common school education in his father's 
district. 

After becoming of age, and having a voice in 
those things affecting the public welfare, he 
turned his attention to the much needed im- 
provements of highways — a matter that should 
have received attention many years previous. 
He first forced the issue upon the people for the 
opening up of a pike from St. Matthews east, 
a distance of three and a half miles. He 
met with considerable opposition in regard to 
this enterprise, but obtained a charter from the 
State government, and then undertook to build 
it by taxation, then by subscription, but the 
burden of the work and outlay rested upon him 
alone, and after it was finished at a cost of six- 
teen thousand dollars, he donated the road to 
the Shelbyville & Goose Creek Turnpike com- 
pany, who erected gates, charge toll, and keep it 
in repair. 

During the same year (1873) he also forced a 
county road from Lyndon station, through farms 
to Goose Creek turnpike, thence through farms 
to Brownsboro pike, thence to the river, a dis- 
tance of six miles. 

As much as the improvements on highways 
were needed, there was not such disposition to 
assist Mr. Herr as there probably should have 
been at the time, and in these matters he was 
left to carry the work through himself, or let it 
go by default. He chose to do the former, and to- 
day is gratefully held in remembrance for per- 
forming his duty. 

In 1877, he built an elegant little structure for 
a school-house, located it to suit the convenience 
of his neighbors, and paid the cost — eight 
hundred dollars — out of his own pocket. 

Mr. Herr is best known by the people of the 
county, and by the fancy stock men of the 
United States by the Magnolia stock farm he 
owns. 

This farm consists of two hundred and six 
acres of land of the best quality, and was thus 
named by George D. Prentice forty years ago, 
from the quantity of magnolias that grew upon 
it. Mr. Herr established the farm — upon the 
basis it is now run, in 1864, and built the magnifi- 
cent mansion in' 1877. It is a double house, 
square in form, two stories and attic, with a hall, 
eighteen feet in width. 

His farm is stocked with thorough breeds from 



a horse down to an imported goose. Here may 
be found the finest display of Jersey cattle, 
Yorkshire hogs, Silesian Merino sheep, as well as 
horses for the race track or trotting match, and a 
magnificent display of poultry. 

He has lately sold two cows for fifteen hundred 
dollars each. He also sold, a short time since, 
four calves and three cows for the snug sum of 
thirty-seven hundred and twenty-five dollars, the 
highest price ever paid west of the Alleghanies. 

He frequently attends the St. Louis exhibition 
of fine stock, and generally carries off rich 
rewards in the way of medals and prizes. 

He used to regard fifty dollars as a good price 
for a hog, but has since that time paid as high as 
fifteen hundred dollars for a sow. 

In 1879 Mr. Herr was appointed by Governor 
Blackburn as one of the commissioners of the 
Central Kentucky Lunatic asylum. This appoint- 
ment was received after the Governor had made 
a tour amongst the various institutions of the 
State, and was convinced that the institution and 
the interests of the State were being sadly neg- 
lected, and determined on making a radical 
change in the board of commissioners, and know- 
ing A. G. Herr's indefatigable energy as a public- 
spirited man, and having every reason to believe 
that this neglect would be immediately obviated 
by appointing him as one of the commissioners 
did so. The wisdom of this appointment we 
will soon see. 

After Mr. Herr received his appointment he 
inspected the premises and its workings, and 
discovered that the institution was entirely at the 
mercy of the Short Line railroad, as to the trans- 
portation of its freights. 

On the one article of coal it was not only pay- 
ing freight on eighty or ninety thousand bushels 
of that commodity per year from Louisville to 
Anchorage, but two and a half cents per bushel 
to cart it from the latter place to the asylum, a 
distance of one and a half miles. The former 
board had made the Short Line railroad a prop- 
osition to connect the asylum with the road, and 
the lowest bid was $13,000. This did not suit 
Mr. Herr, and determining to bring the Short 
Line to better terms, decided that the institution 
should do its own hauling, and that he would 
build two and a half miles of pike, and con- 
nect tne asylum with the Goose Creek pike, 
making in this way good connection with Louis- 



66 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



ville. This was too much for the railroad, and 
the company decided that they would furnish 
iron and cross ties and labor to complete the 
road to the engine-house at the asylum without 
cost, if the institution would do the grading, and 
say nothing about the $13,000. 

This connection not only saves the State 
$9,000 in completing the road (the grading cost- 
ing the sum of $4,000), but it is a permanent 
saving to the State in carting eighty thousand 
bushels of coal each year, which at two and a 
half cents per bushel would amount to $2,000 
annually. 

Mr. Herr was married the 2d of November, 
i860, to Miss Mattie E. Guthrie, daughter of 
James Guthrie, of Henry county, and has had 
by this marriage four children, two boys and two 
girls — Ada, Fannie, James Guthrie, and A. G. 
Herr, Jr. 



' EDWARD D. HOBBS, 
engineer, railroad president, and agriculturist, 
was born in 1810, in Jefferson county, Kentucky. 
He was educated mainly in Louisville, his family 
having removed to that city in 1820; from 1830 
to 1835 he was engaged as city engineer; was the 
founder of the Louisville Savings institution; es- 
tablished the first real estate agency in that city; 
in 1840 removed to his farm, near Anchorage; 
was elected to the Legislature in 1843, a "d was 
twice re-elected; was elected to the State Senate 
without opposition in 1847, but resigned before 
the expiration of the term; was president of the 
Louisville & Frankfort railroad company from 
1855 to 1867, and administered the affairs of 
that road with great ability, being one of the 
most successful railroad men in Kentucky. 

In 1867 he retired to his farm and has since 
devoted his attention mainly to agricultural pur- 
suits, giving much of his time to horticulture and 
fruit growing. Although an invalid for a great 
part of his life, before he was thirty years of 
age he had accumulated a considerable fortune. 

Religiously he is associated with the Methodist 
Episcopal church, and has been noted for his 
integrity of character, his sound judgment and 
business skill, and is universally beloved and es- 
teemed as one of the most energetic and valuable 
men in this part of Kentucky. 



Mr. Hobbs was married, December 4, 1832, 
to Miss Henning, daughter of Samuel Henning, 
the brother of James \V. Henning, of Louisville. 
In 1839 he was married to Miss Craig, daughter 
of John D. Craig, of Georgetown, Kentucky, 
and from this marriage has five living children. 



ANDREW HOKE. 

One of the oldest living representatives of Jef- 
fersontown precinct is Andrew Hoke. He was 
born in this precinct November 17, 1801, and 
although in the eighty-first year of his age he 
still continues to make a hand at the plow or in 
the harvest field. His health and strength are 
living examples to attest the virtue of a life when 
temperate in all things. His memory is remark- 
ably good and singularly clear for one of his age. 
He is a descendant of one Jacob Hoke, who 
emigrated to the colonies in an early day from 
Germany. His grandfather, Andrew Hoke, par- 
ticipated in the battle of Trenton, on that event- 
ful Christmas day when Washington crossed the 
Delaware and captured a thousand Hessians — a 
stroke so bold, an event so important, as to in- 
delibly impress it on the student of American 
history. He was at Braddock's defeat and 
surrender, and saw it all. Andrew Hoke 
and his family came to Kentucky in 1795, 
in November of that year, and settled, first in a 
log hut near where Andrew Hoke now lives, and 
afterwards built a stone house. The log house 
stood on the old dirt road leading from Louisville 
to Jeffersontown. The stone house stlfl stands. 
His grandfather, Andrew Hoke, purchased about 
four hundred acres of land from Colonel Frede- 
rick Geiger, and after building his house lived in 
it until 1800, when he died. He had two sons, 
Jacob and Peter. Jacob, the father of the sub- 
ject of this sketch, who married Catherine Ris- 
singer, of Carlisle, Pennsylvania, built the stone 
house now occupied by William O. Ragland, in 
1799. He had three sons — John, now in the 
eighty-second year of his age, is deaf and dumb. 
Jacob, the youngest, moved to Indiana in 1831, 
and died in 1866. John, the oldest, is the pic- 
ture of health, and enjoys life, notwithstanding 
his affliction. He attended the Danville Institu- 
tion for the Deaf and Dumb for a period of 




(5/t*f,>yQ?&/> t </ 




C^foe&i^&dk^ 



?f<^) 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



67 



three years. He makes his home with his 
brother Andrew. 

Andrew Hoke has been married four times. 
His first wife was Miss Julia Susan Funk. They 
were married the 27th of August, 1824, and had 
in all six children. Three only are now living — 
Mary, Henry, and John. The second wife was 
Elizabeth Yenawine, to whom he was married the 
5th day of March, 1835. Of this union one 
child, Edward, is living. He was married again 
on the 8th of July, 1841, to Caroline Hummel, 
who died on the 22d of July the year following. 
He was married the fourth time to Caroline Ma- 
tilda Folk, who still lives. Of these children 
Robert H., Fannie L, Emory, and William A. 
are living. Robert H. and Fannie L are 
married. Mr. Hoke built his house in 1828. 
The structure, which was made of brick, is still 
in very good condition. Mr. Hoke was one 
of the movers in the Taylorville turnpike road, 
and is still one of the directors of the company. 
He has been for a number of years a member of 
the Presbyterian church, and has shown in the 
long, eventful life he has lived, the virtue there 
is in Christianity. He lives within the quiet re- 
treat of his own home circle, owes no man a dol 
lar, is in peace with his neighbor, and is ready at 
the proper time to pass over. 



LEAVEN LAWRENCE DORSEY, 

one of the oldest living representatives of Gilman 
precinct, was born in Maryland, December 31, 
1799. His father, Edward Dorsey, came with 
his family to Jefferson county about the year 
1 8 10, and settled upon a tract of land at O'Ban- 
non station, where Mr. Dorsey also moved after 
his marriage with Susan O'Bannon, January 25, 
1820. Miss O'Bannon was a native of Virginia. 
Her father moved to this State when she was 
but ten or twelve years old. She is still living, 
but the infirmities of old age have gradually 
• crept upon her, until now she is an invalid. Mr. 
Dorsey has been helpless during the past eighteen 
years. 

About the year 1838 they settled upon a 
large tract of three or four hundred acres of 
land, where they reside at the" present time, one 
and a half miles from Lyndon station, and where 



Mr. Dorsey erected a large, elegant residence at 
that time. 

Mr. and Mrs. Dorsey have been members of 
the Methodist church for full three score years. 
They have always been quiet citizens, unobtru- 
sive in their manners, caring aught save living 
holy, Christian lives. There are three children 
living from this union — Eveline, Mary, and Bush- 
rod — all married. The former married Dr. G. 
W. Bashaw, and lives near Lyndon station, and 
is now enjoying a retired life. The second 
daughter is a widow. 

Mr. L. B. Dorsey was born January 31, 1828, 
and was married October 25, i860, to Miss Sallie 
E. Herndon, of Henry county, Kentucky, and 
from this union has eight children; the eldest 
daughter, Mrs. Susie Winchester, is the only one 
married. Mr. Dorsey and family are members 
of the Christian church. He resides on the old 
Dorsey homestead. 



ALANSON MOORMAN, 
son of D. Moorman, was born in Campbell 
county, Virginia, November 18, 1803, being the 
youngest child of four sons and four daughters. 
His father was born in Albemarle county, Vir- 
ginia, December 15, 1762, and was of English 
descent, and of a name purely Saxon in origin, 
"Moor," signifying the commons or prairies of 
that country, and "man" of, or "Moorman," as 
is given in the highest book of British authority 
on the derivation of English names. The deriva- 
tion of most names is from place or occupation. 
In the Royal Heraldic office in London may 
be found a certified copy of the heraldry of the 
family. This goes to show that the family was 
respectable, in what we may term ancient times, 
there being no heraldic designs or family records 
of the serfs or lower classes. The Moorman 
motto on their coat of arms is Esse quam rideri, 
"To be, not seem to be." The name is spelled 
in the coat of arms as it is now, viz: Moorman. 
The descendants of this family are numerous, 
and are found both in England and America, 
and without exception a very respectable class. 
Some are in government affairs, some following 
professional pursuits, and others agriculture, 
trade, and commerce. Long before the Revolu- 
tionary war, to avoid Quaker persecutions, two 



68 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



brothers of this family emigrated to America, 
and settled in one of the southeast counties of 
Virginia. Their descendants emigrated to the 
counties of Albemarle, Campbell, Bedford, and 
other counties of the State. 

There is a river in Albemarle county known 
as the Moorman river. 

The family in Virginia is now most numerous 
in Campbell and Bedford counties, though many 
of the same name live in other counties of the 
State, and the numerous heads of families now 
scattered through the Middle, Southern, and 
Western States, are descendants of the two 
brothers previously noticed. 

D. Moorman, father of Alanson Moorman, was 
married to Elizabeth Heth, February 15, 1785, 
and raised from this union a family of eight 
children. D. Moorman moved to Kentucky 
from Albemarle county, Virginia, in 1807, and 
settled on the Ohio river, above Bradenburg, 
then Hardin county, now Meade, about forty 



miles below Louisville, then a comparative wilder- 
ness. The family was large. Then the country 
was but sparsely settled, while here and there a 
roving band of Indians were seen frequently. 
The employment then was for years in clearing 
up the forest that they might have corn-meal for 
bread. Fish were abundant, as was the wild game 
in the woods. 

Upon arriving at manhood Mr. Moorman mar- 
ried Rachael Steth, daughter of Benjamin and 
Phoebe Steth, and has raised up seven sons and 
three daughters. 

In 1 86 1 he sold out his Meade county posses- 
sions, and settled upon a large tract ot land near 
Valley Station. He and his son also own an 
orange grove in Florida which is now becoming 
valuable. 

Mr. Moorman has been very successful in 
every undertaking in his life. His sons are now 
carrying on farming, and he himself has retired 
from active pursuits of life. 




ajidrti . V%s or / jj/ce<n. 




^ > \~~~ )L ^' 



eei-ioief-jz . 



<Haple ami llorf Counties. Indiana, 






I m 







GENERAL HISTORY. 



CHAPTER I. 

GEOLOGY OF CLARKE AND FLOYD COUNTIES.' 
A GENERAL VIEW. 

The counties of Clarke and Floyd are divided 
by a line extending from the point of union of 
Clarke, Washington, Floyd, and Harrison coun- 
ties, in a southeasterly direction to its intersec- 
tion with Silver creek, and thence along this 
stream to its junction with the Ohio river. They 
are bounded on the north by Jefferson and Scott 
counties, on the west by Washington and Har- 
rison, and on the south and east by the Ohio 
river. 

The geological series represented within this 
territory probably embraces a larger range of 
strata than is found in any other portion of the 
Stat% Beginning with the upper beds of the 
Cincinnati group of the Lower Silurian, as seen 
in the northeastern part of Clarke county, it 
includes all the intermediate formations to the 
pentremital limestone of the sub-carboniferous 
at Greenville, in the western portion of Floyd 
county. The rock strata of this district were 
originally deposited horizontally, but at present 
are very much elevated in the northeastern bor- 
der on the Ohio river. These formations have 
the appearance of having been built up from 
the southwest, resting uniformly one upon the 
other, the lower always reaching farther east 
than the formation immediately above, thus pre- 
senting to the geologist, on a grand scale, a wide 
field for investigation. The outcrop of so many 
different formations in this field is doubtless 
owing to the Cincinnati uplift and to the effect 
of erosion, which has constantly been doing its 
work in wearing away the strata. 

Life abounded in the ancient Silurian sea which 

•Abridged from the accounts of Dr. E. T. Cox and Pro- 
fessor William W. Borden, in the State Geological Reports, 
with important corrections by the kindness of Major W. T. 
Davis, of Louisville. 



once covered the territory through which a portion 
of the Ohio river and some of its affluents now 
flow, between corn covered hills. The coral 
reefs of these ancient seas are now seen as 
limestone beds, covered with the stems and 
heads, and long, gracefully waving and delicately 
fringed arms, which belong to forms of a life so 
old that the most exalted imagination of the 
poet and geologist can have no adequate concep- 
tion of the lapse of time since they were pos- 
sessed of life. 

DESCRIPTIVE GEOLOGY IN DETAIL. 

The lowest series of rocks exposed in the dis- 
trict of Clarke and Floyd counties is seen in the 
northeastern part of the former county. The 
upper strata of the Cincinnati group here out- 
crops at the mouth of Begg's run on the Ohio 
river, on tract No. 77, Illinois Grant, one mile 
and a half north of Fourteen Mile creek. Begg's 
run is fed by springs at the summit of the bluff, 
some three hundred feet above the Ohio river. 
The stream, by constant abrasion, has worn a 
narrow and romantic channel through strata after 
strata to the river. In this locality the rock is a 
hard, shaly, blue limestone, carrying an abun- 
dance of characteristic fossils, which are exposed 
at extreme low water. The following section was 
obtained immediately below the entrance of this 
stream into the river : 

Comiferous limestone, 12 feet; yellow rock, 
magnesian limestone, 20 feet; "Grandad" lime- 
stone, used for building purposes, 4 feet; gray 
crystalline limestone, Niagara, 14 feet; crinoidal 
bed, 6 feet; magnesian limestone, 20 feet; blue 
and yellow clay shale, 8 feet; stratified magnesian 
limestone, 75 feet; blue shaly marlite, 100 feet; 
dark blue shaly limestone, Cincinnati group, 20 
feet — total, 279 feet. 

The upper part of this section, from No. 6 up 
ward, corresponds with the section at Utica, in 
Clarke county, where the rocks are quarried for 



1 3 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



lime and building purposes. The bluffs are here 
capped with corniferous limestone. 

The outcrop of the Cincinnati group here first 
exposed is on Camp creek; fourteen miles farther 
up the river it is one hundred and eighty feet 
above the bed of Camp creek, and two hundred 
and fifty feet above low water in the Ohio. The 
elevation of the strata from that point to Marble 
Hill, six miles distant, and on the line of Jeffer- 
son county, will add about fifty feet more to this 
number. The magnesian limestone, which com- 
prises the bluffs on the river below the latter 
point, becomes the surface rock at many places 
on the bank of Camp creek, and is in detached 
masses fifteen to twenty feet thick, and liable at 
any time, as their foundations wear away, to be 
precipitated into the valley below. 

The characters of the Madison rocks, which 
belong to the Cincinnati group as exposed on 
the bluffs of Camp creek, are a thin, stratified, 
dark-blue crystalline limestone, with intermediate 
layers of a lighter-colored, coarse-grained lime- 
stone. At this point this formation carries an 
abundance of characteristic fossils. The Marble 
Hill marble stratum is also recognized here by- 
its fossils, although in a disintegrating state. The 
beds of the Cincinnati formation are here well 
exposed. The dip of the strata in this region is 
to the southwest at the rate of about 22 feet to 
the mile. In places along the banks of the 
Ohio river the rocks show in magnificent cliffs, 
some 200 or 300 feet high. 

The Marble Hill stone was formerly much 
used for building, but has long ceased to be em- 
ployed for this purpose. The lines of light yel- 
low in the interstices and between the shells, 
being composed of a salt of iron, which is oxi- 
dized on exposure, destroys the value of this 
stone. The best tests of building stone are mois- 
ture, atmosphere, freezing, and thawing. Although 
this stone has not proven to be valuable for out- 
door work, it is well adapted for inside ornamen- 
tation, and may be worked into mantels, table- 
tops, and other useful articles. It takes a good 
polish and is quite handsome, being filled with 
fossil spiral shells, which appear in fine contrast 
with its dark ground. 

THE CLINTON GROUP. 

Immediately overlying the rocks of the Cin- 
cinnati formation is occasionally found a gray 



and yellow stratified sandstone, which probably 
belongs to the Clinton group of the Ohio and 
New York geologists. It varies greatly. Some- 
times it is soft, and at other times hard, and 
difficult to work. Its thickness averages twenty 
feet. It occurs at the summit of the ridge at 
Camp creek, and continues to Marble Hill. 

THE NIAGARA GROUP. 

The rocks belonging to this epoch are so called 
from their appearance in great force at Niagara 
Falls. They are conspicuously displayed in 
Clarke county along the line of the Ohio river, 
and occasionally occur in the neighborhood of 
Charlestown, the county seat. The lowest out- 
crop of the Niagara is seen at extreme low water 
on the falls of the Ohio, near the whirlpool on 
the Indiana side. A characteristic Halysites 
catenulatus, or chain coral, is here occasionally 
obtained. These rocks extend in a northeast- 
erly direction to Utica, on the Ohio river, seven 
miles above, where they are quarried for the 
manufacture of lime. Some further notice of 
them is made in connection with our history of 
that township. The "yellow rock" here forming 
the top of the Niagara appears to be a magnesian 
limestone. At the head of Begg's run it is weath- 
ered into large, irregularly shaped masses, pre- 
senting on the bluffs a columnar and castellated 
appearance, which in some instances resembles 
the ruins of an ancient temple. One well-poised 
block, six feet in diameter, is termed "the head 
of the corner." This, with two other limestones 
of the Utica quarry, was used in building the 
great railway bridge at Louisville. 

The gray crystalline limestone of this section 
contains immense numbers of corals, character- 
istic of the Niagara limestone of the New York 
geologists; among which the beautiful chain 
coral, Halysites catenulatus, is quite conspicuous. 
It presents, wherever exposed on the river, a 
good face for quarrying. There is usually but 
little stripping required. The stone is easy ot 
access, is convenient to the river for transportation, 
and is extensively used for building purposes. 
Some numbers of it are sufficiently firm and dur- 
able to answer the purpose of heavy masonry. 
The lime burned from this bed and sold under 
the name of Utica lime, has acquired by long 
use a high reputation, and wherever known is 
used in preference to all other brands. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



73 



The upper bed in this section is shaly and un- 
stable for building purposes, yet when burned 
produces a good article of lime, which is highly 
esteemed for the purpose of purifying coal gas. 
The crinoidal bed of the Niagara is worked with 
the other members of the Utica quarry, and in it 
are found many beautiful fossils of interest to 
the geologist. The remains of crinoids are abun- 
dant, yet perfect specimens are rare. Perhaps 
the most notable species is Caryorcrinus ornatus, 
as this crinoid is here frequently found in a state 
of perfect preservation. 

A section of the Niagara at Charlestown 
landing exhibits a greater elevation of the strata 
on the river than at Sharp's quarry, below the 
landing, and the elevation gradually increases to 
the Mound Builder's fort, one mile above, to 
the mouth of Camp creek, and to Marble hill, 
in the edge of Jefferson county. There is an 
outcrop of the gray crystalline limestone on .the 
southwest side of Fourteen Mile creek, near the 
summit of the hill, and on the road from Charles- 
town to the Mound Builder's fort, in Tract No. 
76, Illinois grant. The fossils characteristic of 
this rock can here be collected without difficulty, 
as they are weathered out and lie scattered over 
the surface. Another exposure may be seen 
northwest of Charlestown, at Nine-penny branch, 
opposite Tunnel mill, on the road to New Wash- 
ington. 

CORNIFEROUS LIMESTONE. 

This, immediately overlying the be.ds of the 
Niagara formation, constitutes in the southwest- 
ern part of Clarke county, the falls of the Ohio. 
The beds have here a thickness of twenty-two 
feet, and extend across the river in a southerly- 
direction, forming a series of rapids, on a direct 
line of one mile and a half. The river flows 
over the outcropping edges of the strata and 
along the dip, which is almost west. These 
strata belong to the Corniferous and Niagara 
series. A section at the whirlpool exhibits: 

1. Soil and clay. 

2. Spirifergregaria bed 3 feet N > 

3. Crinoidal bed, nucleocrinus... 3 Je* I Corniferous 22 feet. 

4. Gray limestone, full of corals. 4 feet 1 

5. Black coral bed(?) 12 feet; 

6. Gray crystalline limestone ) Niaeara 

with Halysites catenulatus.. 3 feet J ' ** 

Total 25 feet. 

The general color of this limestone here, as in 
New York, is a dark gray ; but disseminated be- 
tween the layers more or less bitumen is found, 



which gives to the surface in such places a darker 
appearance. It is hence called "black rock" by 
the quarrymen. 

The locality of the falls has long been known 
as the collector's paradise. The rocks are the 
coral reefs of the Paleozoic ocean, and they 
contain myriads of fossil forms which exhibit the 
exquisite workmanship of the Creator. The 
corals are in the greatest profusion, many 
being of an immense size and delicate texture. 
The species are very numerous. Crinoids are 
comparatively rare. 

The dip of the corniferous limestone being 
about twenty-one feet to the mile, it disappears 
beneath the hydraulic limestone at Beach's mill 
below the falls. At Fourteen Mile creek, twelve 
to fifteen miles above the falls, it attains an ele- 
vation of two hundred and fifty feet, and caps 
the bluffs almost the entire length of the creek, 
affording a fine field for the amateur collector of 
fossils, and a good stone for the manufacture of 
lime and the building of fences. In the neigh- 
borhood of Charlestown it is well exposed on 
the headwaters of Pleasant run, but disappears 
one mile below, in the bed of the stream, where 
it is replaced by the Niagara. At Skaw's mill 
and the Black Diamond cement mill at Silver 
creek it is seen beneath the hydraulic limestone. 
On the Sinking fork of that stream it outcrops 
in various places. This formation has been re- 
peatedly found to contain small caves, some of 
them one-half to one mile and a half in length, 
with an abundance of stalactites and some evi- 
dence of cave life. There is no doubt, if the 
floors of these caves were dug into, that the re- 
mains of extinct animals might be obtained, 
with perhaps relics of the Mound Builders. 

HYDRAULIC LIMESTONE. 

This is the most important rock, in an eco- 
nomical point of view, in the district composed 
of Clarke and Floyd counties. 

The lithological, stratigraphical, and paloeon- 
tological characteristics of this stone should be 
well understood by the citizens of these coun- 
ties, where its outcrop may be seen in the banks 
of almost every stream. Its horizon is immedi- 
ately above the corniferous limestone and below 
a forty-two to forty-eight inch bed of crinoidal 
limestone, which is overlaid by the New Albany 
black slate. It frequently occurs as the surface 



74 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



rock. The color is usually a light drab, but 
sometimes it is of a much darker shade. The 
top layers of the hydraulic stone are marked at 
various points by a dentritic crystalization of 
magnesia or lime. The upper beds contain 
cherty or hornstone concretions, with spicula of 
sponges and desmids. The characteristic fossils 
of the hydraulic or cement limestone are Atrypha 
reticularis, Spirifer, Owenii, S. euritines, S. vari- 
cosa, hadro phylleim d'Orbignyi. The stone is 
without cleavage, and breaks with a conchoidal 
fracture. The average thickness of the strata is 
about twelve feet, and the bed is divided accord- 
ing to its hydraulic properties, into quick, medium, 
and slow setting. The quick setting variety is 
well marked at J. Speed's quarry, on Silver creek, 
by a seven foot stratum, which diminishes in the 
time required to set, towards the bottom. The 
medium stone is from two to three feet thick, 
and imperfectly parted from the slow setting 
stone, forming the lower part of the quarry. 
The lines of demarcation between the separate 
beds, although well marked in some cases, are 
rather assumed lines of division. 

On the lines where the corniferous or Niagara 
are the surface rocks, the cement is wanting, 
that is, it has been worn away by erosion. The 
beds follow the line of Silver creek from the 
falls to the junction of the West fork, bearing 
east on the line of Pleasant run, thence west of 
Charlestown with a more easterly belt following 
the Vernon branch of the Ohio & Mississippi 
railroad, as at Watson, and terminating northeast 
of Charlestown on Allen Barnett's land, but ap- 
pearing again at a few points north of Fourteen 
Mile creek on the same line, as at J. McMillan's. 
The most western belt follows the line of Sinking 
fork, cropping out on that stream, and to the 
west of it, as at J. Davie's tract No. 169. West 
of this it disappears below the New Albany black 
slate. The most workable beds are on tracts 
Nos. 169 and 150, lands of L>r. Taggart ; No. 
132, lands of Collins McCoy, deceased; ana 
Cement mill tract No. 130, Illinois Grant; and on 
Pleasant run and a narrow belt east of Charles- 
town, thence to the falls. The cement rock ap- 
pears on the headwaters of Fourteen Mile creek, 
and disappears beneath the New Albany black 
slate two miles north of G. W. Matthews' tract 
No. 152, also at A. M. Tucker's tract No. 153, of 
the Grant. The cement reaches far in the 



direction of William Kirkpatrick's, formerly the 
residence of Ex-Governor Jennings. The out- 
crop of this formation has been traced on fifty 
tracts of the Grant, each containing five hundred 
acres, making twenty-five thousand acres of ex- 
posed workable beds. This estimate does not 
include twenty thousand acres more, which may 
be reduced by means of shafts and tunnels. 
There is but a small portion of the county in 
which the hydraulic limestone may not be found. 
Indeed, it is in quantity practically inexhaustible, 
and, on account of its value for the manufacture 
of cement, will always be a source of profitable 
industry. 

There are at present (1873) m tne county six 
firms engaged in the manufacture of hydraulic 
cement. The stone was first used for this pur- 
pose at Verey's (now Beach's mill) at Clarksville, 
on the Falls of the Ohio. 

The strata containing it outcrops in the river- 
bank beneath the mill, and the hydraulic stone 
is here fourteen feet six inches thick, as will be 
seen by the following section: 

1. New Albany black slate 5 in. 

2. Crinoidal limestone 4 ft. 2 in. 

3. Dark, impure limestone, con-' 

taining concretions of horn- 
stone, with spicula of 
sponges 11 in. 

4. Upper cement 

bed 4 ft. 1 in. 

5. Middle cement 

bed 6 ft. 

6. Lower cement 

bed 3 ft. 6 in. 

Comiferous limestone 6 ft. 

Total thickness 25 ft. 1 in. 

The dividing line between the corniferous and 
the hydraulic is not distinctly marked. The beds 
in the quarry are separated by lines of fracture, 
making occasional floors. The stone increases 
in hydraulic properties from below upwards, and 
is designated by the manufacturers as slow, 
medium, and quick setting. It has no distinct 
lines of cleavage, and breaks with a conchoidal 
fracture. The extreme upper beds contain con- 
cretions of hornstone, with spicula of sponges. 
The overlying crinoidal bed is persistent, and 
contains a good many fossils, which are difficult 
to obtain in good condition. It cleaves well, 
but is hard to work. It is used in constructing 
the outer wall of the kilns in which the cement 
stone is burnt. 

The hydraulic limestone originally extended in 
one unbroken stratum across the river, but has 



Hydraulic lime- 
stone 14 ft. 6 in. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



75 



been eroded, and now only a small portion of 
the original mass remains on Rock island, near 
the center of the stream. Here there is a good 
exposure, and the rock is extensively quarried at 
Rock island, which is below Goose island. The 
cement rock may be traced, at a low stage of 
water, to the Kentucky shore. That used at the 
cement mills on that side is obtained from the 
bank of the river close by. 

HYDRAULIC CEMENT. 

The manufacture of hydraulic cement consti- 
tutes one of the most important industries of 
Clarke county. The cement is shipped to all 
parts of the Western and Southern States, and 
sold under the name of Louisville cement. 

The many uses to which cement has been put 
in Europe greatly impressed Professor E. T Cox, 
the Indiana Commissioner to the Vienna Expo- 
sition, with its importance. There it is exten- 
sively used for laying pavements, in ornamenting 
buildings, making statuary, and so on. He is of 
the opinion that the Indiana cement, commonly 
called Louisville cement, may be profitably used 
for similar purposes in this country. Occasion- 
ally in calcining the cement the rock is over 
burned, making what is called a cinder; and it 
is here suggested that this cinder, ground in con- 
nection with the other stone, will improve the 
quality of the cement. The manufacture of 
cement opens an interesting and wide field for 
investigation. Various grades of cement are 
already manufactured, and there can be no doubt 
but new combinations of stone may be found in 
Clarke county that will equal the Portland or 
Roman cement of Europe. 

CRINOIDAL LIMESTONE. 

This stone immediately overlies the hydraulic, 
and is seen at almost every locality where the latter 
outcrops or is quarried for cement. It is a hard, 
gray, crystalline limestone, containing agreat many 
fossils, principally crinoids, and also pentremites 
of the carboniferous type, intermediate between 
P. florealis (Godenii) and P. pyriformis (Say). 
The fossils of this limestone have been carefully 
studied and described the late Major Sidney S. 
Lyon. Collectors in the neighborhood of the 
falls have also enriched their cabinets with the 
fossils of this rock. The collection of James 
Knapp, M. D., of Louisville, is undoubtedly the 
most complete in these fossils, and his collec- 



tion of corals made at the falls is the most ex- 
tensive in the country.* A very nice collection 
of falls fossils is also in the possession of Sam- 
uel L. S. Smith, M. D., of New Albany. 

The crinoidal limestone seldom attains a 
greater thickness than five feet. It is a poor 
stone for the manufacture of lime, but serves a 
useful purpose in the erection of kilns for cal- 
cining cement, and is a reliable guide for denot- 
ing the position of the hydraulic. 

NEW ALBANY BLACK SLATE. 

The black slate is largely exposed at New Al- 
bany, and takes its name accordingly. It is 
usually of a jet-black color, and occurs in thick 
beds; but after being exposed to the weather it 
exhibits a thin, laminated cleavage, and assumes 
a pink, drab, or mottled color. It contains sul- 
phuret of iron in concretionary forms, and also 
in needle-shaped crystals and cubes, familiarly 
known as "fools' gold," or "sulphur balls." It 
is very persistent over a large extent of territory. 
It lies at the base of the range of hills known as 
the "Knobs," and has been traced from the out- 
crop in Clarke and Floyd counties through Ken- 
tucky in a semicircle to Portsmouth, Ohio. At 
one time it rested uniformly over Clarke and 
Floyd counties. The Vernon branch of the 
Ohio & Mississippi railroad passes over the 
black slate south of Charlestown, and cuts it at 
several points below and above Lexington, in 
Scott county. On the west of Charlestown there 
is an outlier of the formation seventy to seventy- 
five feet in thickness. The Jefferson ville, Mad- 
ison & Indianapolis railroad passes over the 
black slate until it reaches White river in Jack- 
son county, Indiana. At Memphis and Henry- 
ville, on the line of this road, the black slate is 
largely exposed, and may be seen in the bed of 
the streams and extending some distance up the 
surrounding side-hills. Numerous so-called cop- 
peras banks are met with in this formation. One 

* Possibly so, when this was written; but not so now. The 
active collectors at present are Major William J. Davis. 
Henry Nettleroth, W.J. McComathy, J. T. Gaines, and O. 
B. Thiess. The collections of the first two are unrivaled. 
They are the Paleontologists of the Kentucky State Survey, 
and are engaged in the preparation of profusely illustrated 
reports on the Fossil Corals and Shells of Kentucky, which 
will soon be in print. The Report of Major Davis on Corals 
will contain a full description of two hundred and sixty 
species found bedded in the rocks at the falls, of which one 
hundred and four are new, first found and described by this 
investigator. 



76 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



of these localities on Silver creek, three miles 
from the mouth, is mentioned in the Navigators' 
Guide, an old work published at Pittsburgh, in 
1813, as furnishing "copperas as good as any 
brought to this country." A noted copperas 
bank is found on Miller's fork of Silver creek, 
below Henryville. 

At the foot of the Knobs near New Albany 
Dr. Clapp bored through the bed of bituminous 
slate, and found it to be one hundred and ten 
feet thick. In many places it has been cut 
through and entirely removed by weathering and 
glacial action, so as to leave exposed the under- 
lying encrinital limestone. The valleys of denu- 
dation have a general direction of northwest and 
southeast. It is being constantly mistaken for 
the bituminous shale which is often found asso- 
ciated with stone coal; and it is a difficult matter, 
in some instances, to convince the people living 
within the vicinity of its outcrop that it will not 
turn to coal if followed to a distance in the 
hills. It contains from ten to twenty per cent, 
of volatile matter, and there are found in the 
deposit in places thin bands of coal from a half- 
inch to one inch thick. 

Dr. Newberry thinks that these shales derived 
their bitumen from sea-weeds, and calls attention 
to the fact of finding in them vast quantities of 
fucoidal impressions. So far inquirers have only 
succeeded in finding in the New Albany black 
slate a few small Lingula and Decina. 

In Clarke county there is resting immediately 
on the top of the black slate about four inches 
of hard, greenish, mottled limestone; and this 
is succeeded by the gray argillaceous shales, 
with bands of iron-stone. There are also found 
resting on the black slate large trunks of limbs 
of coniferous trees, the vegetable matter having 
been replaced by silica in the form of black 
flint. A portion of one of these petrified trees, 
fifteen feet long and two and a half feet wide, 
has been placed in the Indiana Exposition build- 
ing. 

Wells have been sunk at various points in 
this formation for mineral oil or petroleum; but 
without reaching it in any quantity. It con- 
tains a small percentage of bitumen, and burns 
quite readily when thrown into a hot fire, so 
long as the inflammable matter lasts. The bitu- 
minous character of the slate has misled a great 
many persons, and caused them to expend large 



sums of money in searching in it for coal. It 
has no economical value whatever at present. 
A few years ago it was thought it would make 
a good roofing material, ground and mixed with 
coal-tar and spread on felt. A mill was erected 
at New Albany by Dr. Samuel Reid & Co., for 
the purpose of its manufacture, and large quan- 
tities of slate were ground and shipped to all 
parts of the country. It answered the purpose 
for which it was intended for a time; but ulti- 
mately it cracked by exposure to the weather. It 
was at last discarded as worthless. 

In examinations oT the black slate is invari- 
ably found a ferruginous limestone capping it, 
varying from ten to thirty irlches in thickness. 
This limestone is very persistent, and marks the 
top of the black slate over a large portion of In- 
diana and Kentucky. It has a fetid odor when 
struck, and breaks with an uneven fracture. It 
is compact and durable, and has been used in 
several sections for masonry, as at Memphis and 
Henryville, where it outcrops to a large extent. 
At Blue Lick post-office, on the land of Thomas 
McDeitz, Jr., in the bed of a branch of Silver 
creek, is one of the best exposures of this stone. 
Characteristic fossils are rarely detected in this 
stone, beyond a few crinoidal stems. But, no 
doubt, the age of the black slate will be ulti- 
mately determined by the discovery of fossils in 
this formation, which, from its position, is the 
equivalent of the ganoitite limestone of Rock- 
ford, Indiana. 

IRON-STONE. 

From six to ten bands of manganiferous iron- 
stone have been traced over a very large area in 
the counties of Clarke and Floyd, occupying a 
geological position in the gray and greenish 
shales immediately over the " New Albany 
black slate.* These ore-bands are found also 
in Scott and Jennings counties. 

They are enclosed in twenty to twenty-five 
feet of soft shale, and are from two to three feet 
apart, and are from two and one-half to ten 
inches thick. The readiness with which these 

*A black bituminous shale, similar to that underlying this 
ore, is found in Ohio occupying a similar position with refer- 
ence to the under and overlying rocks, and Dr. Newberry, 
State Geologist of Ohio, has referred it to the Genesee epoch; 
but, not feeling quite sure as to the accuracy of the conclu- 
sion to which this able geologist and paleontologist has ar- 
rived, I have thought best to speak of it, in this State, as the 
New Albany black slate. — Dr. Cox. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



77 



shales decompose, under the influence of drain- 
age water and atmospheric agencies, has given 
rise to numerous cone-shaped hills, commonly 
called "knobs," and from this circumstance also 
geologists have given to the rock-strata of which 
they are composed, the names of knob shales, 
knob sandstone, limestone, etc., so that we may, 
with like propriety, designate the ore as knob 
iron ore. 

Owing to the extensive washes which have cut 
through the shales, the iron-stone is exposed in 
a great many places throughout the knob region, 
and it may be mined or collected from the 
ravines already weathered out, at a small cost. 
Samples from nine distinct bands have been 
tested for iron, and complete analysis made from 
the bottom and middle bands with the result of 
finding 28.48 per cent, of metallic iron in the 
former (sample from near Henry ville), and 29.12 
in the latter (from Stewart's farm, near Henry- 
ville). Other tests yielded the following results, 
beginning with the topmost layer or band : No. 
1, 26.41 percent.; No. 2, 26.66; No. 3, 30.51; 
No. 4, 28.20; No. 5, 29.12; No. 6, 29.74; No. 7, 
29.23; No. 8, 27.17; No. 10, 28.48. From these 
it will be seen that the raw ore contains from 26.41 
to 30.51 per cent, of iron, and the analyses of the 
bottom and middle bands also show from 5.124 
to 6.928 per cent, of the metal manganese. The 
average per cent, of combined iron and man- 
ganese in calcined ore is 52.72 per cent., conse- 
quently two tons of such ore will make a ton of 
pig iron. The great value which attaches to these 
ores is mainly due to the large per centage of 
manganese which they contain, and, if properly 
treated in the smelting furnace they will yield a 
highly manganiferous pig iron, if not a true 
spiegeleisen, which metal is found to be indis- 
pensable in the manufacture of Bessemer or 
pneumatic steeL Its value is dependent upon 
the quantity of manganese which it contains. 
From 7.5 to 10 per cent, is of very fair quality; 
and this percentage is fully within the capabilities 
of the knob ore. 

THE KNOB MEASURES OF KENTUCKY. 

These are the Silicious group of the Tennes- 
see Geological reports. They extend over the 
western part of the district composed of Clarke 
and Floyd counties, and constitute the broken 
range called the "Silver Hills" by the first settlers. 



These hills or knobs extend from a point on the 
Ohio below New Albany to the northern line of 
Clarke county. At the latter locality the range 
is called the Guinea Hills. The knobs, as their 
names imply, rise abruptly from the black slate 
to a height of four or five hundred feet above 
the general level of the country. The margin of 
the outcrop of the knob formation is very irreg- 
ular, especially on that portion west of Henry- 
ville, outliers being seen some distance from the 
main body. One of these, called the Round 
Top knob, is near the fruit farm of Colonel John 
F. Willey, another at Piney point, south of Obe- 
diah Nowbind's, Buzzard Roost point to the 
east, and also Crow's Nest point to the west of 
Nowland's. .The horseshoe range of knobs, en- 
tirely disconnected from the main body, are 
about one mile in extent, and on land owned by 
John Richardson. The prolongation of the 
knobs northeast of Henryville comprise several 
benches of table-land. Where the base of the 
knobs cover a considerable area the top is usual- 
ly flat, especially if the harder numbers of the 
formation represent their summits. 

The New Providence shale ties at the base of 
the knobs and immediately above the ferrugin- 
ous limestone just mentioned ; and has a 
thickness of eighty to one hundred and twenty 
feet. As the line of the knobs is followed to 
the northwest it becomes thinner, until at the 
Guinea hills it is only fifty to sixty feet. It is 
a fine, greenish-colored, marly slate, that pulver- 
izes when dry without difficulty. It contains a 
great variety of fossils identical with those ob- 
tained at Button Mould knob, seven miles south 
of Louisville. The corals are well represented 
by a number of Bryozoans. The shale is fissured 
in places, and the cracks are usually filled with 
transparent sulphate of lime, or gypsum. 

As many as six to ten bands of carbonate of 
iron have been found in this formation, in a ver- 
tical space of about twenty feet. The lower 
band is usually on a level with the drainage of 
the country. These bands will average from 
four to six inches in thickness, and are separated 
from each other by from two to four feet of soft 
shale. They have a great persistency, and may 
be seen cropping out along the side of all the 
ravines. The following partial analysis of a por- 
tion of what appears to be the average of these 
ore bands, found on the farm of John Stewart, 



78 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Esq., north of Henry ville, as taken from a paper 
published by the State Geologist, will serve to 
show their commercial value: The mass of the 
ore is of a bluish gray color, enclosed in a coat- 
ing of red oxide of iron one-eighth to one-fourth 
of an inch thick. This coating is very rich in 
iron, but was entirely excluded from the portion 
analyzed, so that the yield of the entire mass will 
be a little better than here reported. The net 
results are given in parts of ioo; carbonate of 
iron, 49.720; peroxide of iron, 2. 171. This 
will serve to show its richness. By roasting, this 
ore will lose thirty per cent, of volatile matter, 
which will increase the iron to thirty-five per 
cent., and the manganese to 3.571. A portion 
of the sulphuric acid would be eliminated, but 
the phosphorus will be increased to about .485, 
which is rather large. However, it is not im- 
probable that a portion of the latter highly inju- 
rious ingredient may be taken out along with the 
silica in the slag; and, owing to the large per- 
centum ot manganese, if not a spiegeleisen, at 
least a valuable Bessemer pig may be made from 
these ores. Owing to their leanness, these ores 
should be roasted before being shipped to the 
furnaces. 

Thomas Montgomery has on his land, tract 
No. 274 of the Grant, three and a half miles 
from Henryville, a good exposure of iron ore. 
The ore in this bank was examined 'forty years 
ago by an iron master from Pennsylvania, John 
Works. He pronounced it good; made prepa- 
rations to erect a furnace, but the project was 
finally abandoned. 

The ore crops out in almost every ravine in this 
region, and is everywhere of the same general 
character, containing about the same quantity of 
iron. Another deposit of considerable extent is on 
the land of Allen Barnett, near Broom hill, on the 
Louisville, New Albany & Chicago railroad. 
Some of it has rather a peculiar structure, and is 
made up entirely of an aggregation of coarse par- 
ticles of hydrated brown oxide. It is what is 
usually denominated "kidney ore," and is scat- 
tered profusely over the surface. The whole 
country at the base of the knobs, where the 
New Providence shale outcrops, is rich in iron 
ore. It accumulates in the ravines and valleys 
by the washing down of the formation which con- 
tained it, and is generally easy of access. 

It is probable that this shale, on account of 



its mineral constituents and being highly fos- 
siliferous, will make a good fertilizer. A great 
number of mineral springs flow from the fissures 
occurring in this formation, the waters of which 
possess decided medicinal virtues. Some of 
their waters have a similar composition to that 
from which the celebrated Crab Orchard salts of 
Kentucky are manufactured; and their use has 
produced good results in certain diseases where 
a simple alterative or cathartic was required. 

This shale, at the base of Caney knob, below 
New Albany, is capped by a thin stratum of fer- 
ruginous sandstone, while in the northwestern 
part of Clarke county it is covered by a thin fos- 
siliferous limestone, composed of an aggregation 
of crinoidal stems. Specimens of the stone, 
ground and polished, exhibit a fine variegated 
surface. Above this hard band of shale is a blu- 
ish, friable, micaceous shale, which is recognized 
to be the true knob shale. It ranges in thick- 
ness from one hundred and twenty to one hun- 
dred and .sixty feet, and extends half-way or more 
up the sides of the knobs, and in many cases, 
where they are conical, it forms the summit. In 
other places it is frequently capped with massive 
sandstone or beds of impure limestone, contain- 
ing crinoidal stems. In these shales are fossil 
worm-tiacks, fucoids, and concretions of iron 
ore of large size, often containing brachiopods. 

The massive knob sandstone, where capping 
these shales, is from fifty to eighty feet thick, in 
beds of various thickness. The upper part is 
composed of ferruginous layers ten to fifteen 
inches thick, and contain ripple-marks on the 
under side. It hardens on exposure, and is 
used about New Providence for doorsteps and 
many other purposes. 

Above this is the first knob limestone. It has 
a gray color with crystalline structure, containing 
in some parts concretions of chert, and varies in 
thickness from twenty to sixty-five feet. This is 
the stone extensively quarried <near Mooresville, 
for building purposes about New Albany. 

Just above this fossiliferous limestone are 
found a number of thin layers of bituminous 
shale, containing an occasional coal-plant fossil. 
The impure limestone capping these formations 
resembles the Devonian hydraulic limestone of 
the cement region, and, if properly tested, it will 
probably be found to answer the same purpose. 
It underlies the white sand which is mined for 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



79 



glass-works in New Albany, near the intersection 
of Washington, Clarke, Floyd, and Harrison 
counties. 

The members composing the knob series do 
not retain the same character throughout the 
district. They are not as uniform in composi- 
tion as the formations below them, and vary great- 
ly in thickness and color, and are thicker at the 
western than at the eastern outcrop. 

The pentremital limestone has a thickness of 
twenty-five to fifty feet in the neighborhood of 
Greenville, where it outcrops near the summit of 
the hills. It contains many fossils. The soil 
immediately covering it is a tough, tenacious 
clay, colored with oxide of iron. Several good 
quarries are worked near Greenville, some of 
them developing the true St. Louis limestone. 

Near the top of the hill towards Mooresville, 
beds of from ten to twelve feet of very soft, 
bright-colored, ochreous sandstone are exposed, 
portions of which make a good mineral paint. 

SOME ELEVATIONS. 

Buck creek, a branch of Indian creek at 
Mooresville, near the summit of the knobs on 
the Vincennes pike, is elevated one hundred feet 
or more above New Albany. The Corydon plank 
road, just above the eastern portal of the railway 
tunnel, is four hundred and fifty-seven feet above 
the miter-site at the Louisville and Portland canal. 
The elevation of the summit on which Edwards- 
ville stands, at the point where the tunnel line 
crosses, is five hundred and seventy-one feet 
above the same. This is the highest point on 
the knobs, and is distant from State street, New 
Albany, five and one-half miles. The elevation 
of the headwaters of Little Indian creek, at a 
point near the western portal of the tunnel, is 
four hundred and twenty-nine feet. 

NATIVE WOODS. 

The timber of the hills consists of chestnut, 
white, red, black, and post oak, black and white 
hickory, pine, poplar, dogwood, water maple, 
sumach, and gum-tree. In the valleys and low- 
lands are the walnut, chestnut, white, blue and 
prickly ash, shell-bark hickory, beech, elm, syca- 
more, wild cherry, sassafras, red and white mul- 
berry, pawpaw, persimmon, sugar maple, and 
sugar-tree, and many other varieties, some of 
which have become almost or quite extinct as 
settlement has progressed. Camp and Fourteen- 



mile creeks are noted localities for buckeye trees, 
many of which measure three to four feet in di- 
ameter and go fifty or more feet to their first 
limbs. Persimmon trees abound on the clay 
lands about Henryville. Beech and white oak 
grow numerously on the flats of the slate lands. 

SUMMARY. 

In the foregoing remarks have been enumer- 
ated the lithological, stratigraphical and, to some 
extent, paleontological characteristics of the rocks 
of Floyd and Clarke counties, including forma- 
tions from the Lower Silurian to the Sub-carbon- 
iferous. A section from the western line of 
Floyd to the eastern part of Clarke, on the Ohio 
river, shows these formations well developed in 
the following order and thickness: 

Soil and clay 20 to 40 feet. 

Knob limestone, Keokuk group 80 feet. 

Knob sandstone \ Kinderhook group 344 

Knob shale f feet. 

New Albany black slate ") 

Crinoidal limestone > x 40 feet. 

Hydraulic limestone. J 

Corniferous limestone, Upper 

Helderberg group 22 feet. 

9. Utica limestone I v J 5 2 ^ eel 

10. Magnesian limestone j iMagara group | 3o fget 

11. Madison limestone Cincinnati group 207 ft. 

The minute divisions of the groups in the 
above sections are not always accurately defined 
and are not everywhere present. They thin out 
in some localities to a knife edge. Especially is 
the latter the case in the neighborhood of the 
falls, where the characteristic fossils of the 
Niagara, corniferous, and Hamilton formations 
may be obtained within a vertical space of a few 
feet. 

SOME POINTS OF ECONOMIC GEOLOGY. 

The glass sand, lying in very compact beds 
at the summit of the knobs and near the in- 
tersection of Clarke, Floyd, Washington, and 
Harrison counties, is a fine, white-grained sand, 
used in the manufacture of plate glass at New 
Albany, by Messrs. W. C. DePauw & Co. This 
formation is of very great economical value, and 
is destined to play an important part and to add 
materially to the wealth of that portion of dis- 
trict under investigation. Its geological position 
is immediately above the sub-carboniferous hy- 
draulic limestone, as already indicated in previous 
sections. These beds of sand have been traced 
in isolated patches from a point south of Spur- 
geon hill, in Washington county, in a southeast- 
erly direction, to the present workable beds. 
The width of the sand formation increases as 



So 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



the summits of the hills become broader and 
more level. No doubt the white sand on the 
Ohio river hills below New Albany, in Harrison 
county, is a part of the New Providence beds, 
and that this formation marks the shore line of 
an ancient beach, which extended northeast- 
wardly in the direction of the Ohio valley. 

The sand beds are very uniform in thickness 
and quality. The quarry of the Star Glass works 
at the summit of the knobs, three and a half or 
four miles distant from New Providence, and 
three hundred and fifty to four hundred feet above 
the Louisville, New Albany & Chicago railroad, 
has been worked extensively. Following is a 
section of the beds at this quarry: First, soil 
of a stiff clay loam, two to four feet; second, 
yellow sand, colored by the overlying clay, one 
to two feet ; third, white sand, used for glass 
manufacture, sixteen feet; fourth, fragments of 
chert, with bryozoa, six inches; fifth, hydraulic 
limestone, at the bottom of the cut, four 
feet. 

The surface of the ground above the quarry is 
heavily timbered with white oak. The stripping 
is continued until the third bed of the section is 
reached, where the sand is mined by blasting, in 
the same manner as is pursued in quarrying hard 
rock. After being thus loosened, it is easily re- 
moved with a shovel. 

The sand used by the New Albany Star Plate 
Glass Work company, of which Mr. W. C. De 
Pauw is president, when required for the manu- 
facture of plate glass, is washed in an ascillating 
trough to free it from a small amount of impuri- 
ties. Ten or more men are employed in quairy- 
mg and washing the sand, and they can prepare 
it as fast as twenty-five wagons can haul it to the 
station of New Providence, four miles distant. 
The larger quantity is shipped to the Star Glass 
Works, at New Albany, but some shipments are 
made to Louisville and Cincinnati. A bushel of 
sand weighs one hundred pounds or more before 
washing, and ninety pounds afterwards. 

An outcrop of the sand occurs on the land of 
Michael Brock; another on the farm of R. G. 
Scott and Mr. Jonathan Miller, all in the same 
neighborhood. 

The shipment of sand and cement has necessi- 
tated the establishment of numerous cooper- 
shops through the counties composed of this 
district. Some of these shops are operated by 



steam and are on a large scale, manufacturing a 
large number of barrels yearly. 

BRICK CLAY. 

The clays of Clarke and Floyd counties fur- 
nish the very best material for making brick, 
many thousand of which are manufactured every 
year in the neighborhood of New Albany and 
Jeffersonville. No doubt, if returns were at 
hand from all these yards, a very large capital 
would be found employed in this business. The 
material employed is a clean, tough alluvial clay, 
containing sufficient iron to give the bricks a 
fine red color. Formerly Louisville was largely 
supplied with brick from these yards. 

POTTERY. 

Another important branch of industry, at New 
Albany, Jeffersonville, and Port Fulton, is the 
manufacture of salt-glazed pottery, commonly 
called stone-ware. The material used is an allu- 
vial blue clay obtained from the lowlands in the 
vicinity of the works. It is also used in the 
manufacture of drain-tiles, an industry yet in its in 
fancy in this region. 

RUNNING WATERS. 

The lands of Clarke and Floyd are well watered 
by never failing springs and numerous small 
branches, which rise in the knobs and flow into 
the creeks that empty into the Ohio. The 
creeks are numerous, but few are large. The 
chief of them in Floyd county are Falling run, 
Middle, Knob, Big and Little Indian, and Buck 
creeks. Between this and Clarke county, but 
principally belonging to the latter, is Silver creek 
with its numerous branches, the finest inland 
water of this region. Other streams in Clarke are 
Fourteen-mile creek, so called because emptying 
into the Ohio fourteen miles above Louisville; 
Owen and Camp creeks, below Bethlehem; 
Wolf Run creek, Cany and Miller's fork, Cane 
run, and Blue Lick, tributaries of the north fork 
of Silver creek; Dry and South forks, Persim- 
mon, Indian Camp, Turkey, and Knob runs, 
affluents of the west fork of Silver creek, and 
others too unimportant for mention here. 

SOIL, NATURAL PRODUCTIONS, ETC. 

That the underlying or outcropping rocks in a 
very great measure determine the nature of the 
soil, is plainly seen in Floyd and Clarke counties, 
where there are extensive outcrops of so many 
different formations, each giving rise to a charac- 




(S 



r#. 




v^f 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



8i 



teristic soil. A striking illustration of this may 
be learned from a passage in our history of 
Bethlehem township, Clarke county. A few 
miles back from the headwaters of Camp creek, 
therein mentioned, the lands are wet, and the 
soil is light-colored clay that holds water. In 
the vicinity of New Washington the soil is a 
light clay and sand, and has a better drainage. 
The land here is well adapted for growing grass 
and wheat, and in some localities excellent corn. 

From the mouth of Fourteen-mile creek, reach- 
ing as far down the river as Utica and the Sink- 
ing fork of Silver creek, the land is rolling and 
much broken, especially on the river. The pre- 
dominating rocks are corniferous and cement 
limestones, the base of a limestone soil; and this 
is the "blue-grass region" of the county. 
Charlestown is situated right on the summit of 
the corniferous limestone, from which flow 
abundant, never-failing springs. The drainage 
of the country is excellent. The easy-weathering 
limestones render the soil of this region not only 
well adapted to blue-grass, but likewise better 
suited to a variety of crops than any other part 
of the county. Its soil is also well adapted to 
clover; and in some localities, especially on the 
river, fruits of all kinds are grown in great pro- 
fusion. 

A part of the land in Utica township has not 
only the wash of the corniferous and Niagara 
limestone of this region upon it, but is in good 
part a river terrace, composed of altered drift, 
sand, and gravel, with numerous aboriginal 
kitchen heaps. This is a noted tract for maiket 
gardens, and it is also favorable to corn and grass. 
Wheat does well, and ripens earl)'. 

On the lands just west of Jeffersonville the 
New Albany black slate cuts off the limestone. 
The soil here is an ash-colored clay, except when 
mixed with decomposed slate, which darkens 
its color and increases its fertility. Drainage 
is imperfect on the flat land, but good where it 
is rolling; and with proper tillage this soil is 
very productive. 

The slate lands in Clark county are discon- 
nected, appearing on one farm and absent from 
the next, or even present and wanting on different 
parts of the same farm. When in large bodies 
they give rise to beech and white oak flats, in- 
clined to be wet and difficult to drain. 

The land about Memphis is well timbered, 



and the bottom lands produce good corn and 
grass crops. The highlands here are clay, and 
yield generous returns to fertilizers. 

South and west of this is the Blue lick region, 
whose soils are derived chiefly from the New 
Providence shale of the knobs — a soft, light- 
colored, arenaceous clay-stone, containing some 
sulphate and carbonate of lime, with magnesia. 

The soil about Henryville (which is forty feet 
below the top of the New Albany slate) is clay to 
the base of the knobs, belonging to the altered 
drift and alluvium in the creek bottoms, where 
the soil is very productive. The clay land is 
light-colored in the valleys, but changes to deep 
ochre shades towards the knobs. 

The New Providence valley is about eight 
miles long, and one to two miles wide. The 
shifting of the bed of Silver creek, which forms 
it, has created a rich surface loam, enriched by 
decaying leaves and other vegetable matter from 
the hill sides, with a deep subsoil of gravel. It 
is well suited to all staple farm products, which 
are not here materially affected by drouth. Ap- 
ples do well, and strawberries and other small 
fruits grow in great perfection. The water in the 
streams and shallow wells of this valley is noted 
for its softness. It does not even decompose 
soap, and is much in request for laundry pur- 
poses. 

The line of the knobs, and the river bluffs, are 
found as the best fruit-growing region of southern 
Indiana or the West, as shown by the success of 
the orchards situated on the elevated lands below 
New Albany, and thence to Morrisville, Scottsville, 
New Providence, and as far north as Salem, in 
Washington county, and the walnut ridge west of 
Salem. This includes the southern and westerp 
knobs. The northern range above Henryville, 
going toward Vienna, in Scott county, and the 
river bluffs, from Utica to Marble Hill, in Jef- 
ferson county, are all favorably situated for fruit 
growing; especially peaches, for the tender buds 
are not liable to be injured by spring frosts, 
which are confined to the valleys below, and sel- 
dom reach as high up the hillside as the orchards. 

Extensive orchards are planted on the hills 
above Henryville. The business of peach-grow- 
ing is becoming one of the leading industries in 
this part of the State. The peach orchards of ' 
Messrs. Willey and his son-in-law, Mr. Poindex- 
ter, at Chestnut flats, have from fifteen to twenty- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



five thousand peach trees. Owing to a good ex- 
posure afforded the knobs, the peaches here 
growing have a fine color, and no doubt better 
flavor than fruit grown in the valley. 



CHAPTER II. 



OLD GEOGRAPHICAL DESIGNATIONS— THE 
CLARKE GRANT— CONGRESS LANDS. 

NEW FRANCE. 

This is probably the first geographical designa- 
tion for any subdivision of the North American 
continent including the present tract of Clarke 
and Floyd counties. The Ohio and Indiana 
country was already claimed by the French, in 
the seventeenth century, as an integral part of 
their great North American possessions, "New 
France," by virtue of the discovery of the Ohio 
river by her brave explorer, Robert Cavelier, 
Sieur de la Salle, and the earlier voyage (1640) 
of the Jesuit Fathers Charemonot and Brebceuf, 
along the south shore of Lake Erie. With the 
Iroquois also claiming it they were constantly at 
war, and the claims of the confederate tribes to 
the territory weighed nothing with the aggressive 
leaders of the French in the New World. When, 
some time in the first half of the eighteenth cen- 
tury, the French built a fort on the Iroquois 
lands near Niagara Falls, the Governor of Canada 
proclaimed their right of encroachment, saying 
that the Five Nations were not subjects of Eng- 
land, but rather of France, if subjects at all. 
But, by the treaty of Utrecht, April 11, 17 13, 
Louis XIV., Le Grand Monarque, renounced in 
favor of England all rights to the Iroquois coun- 
try, reserving only the St. Lawrence and Missis- 
sippi valleys to France. Boundaries were so 
vaguely defined, however, that disputes easily 
and frequently arose concerning the territories 
owned by the respective powers; and in 1740, 
the very year after that in which the Ohio Land 
company of the Washingtons, Lee, and others in 
Virginia, was organized under a grant from 
George II., to occupy half a million actes west of 
the Alleghanies, Ue Celeron, the French com- 
mandant of Detroit, led an expedition to the 
Ohio, dispatched by the Marquis de la Gallis- 



soniere, commander-in-chief of New France, 
and buried a leaden tablet "at the confluence 
*of the Ohio and Tchadakoin" (?) "as a monu- 
ment of the renewal ot possession which we 
have taken of the said river Ohio, and of all 
those that therein fall, and of all the lands on 
both sides, as far as the sources of said rivers" — 
a sweeping claim, truly. He ordered the English 
traders out of the country, and notified the 
Governor of Pennsylvania that if they "should 
hereafter make their appearance on the Beautiful 
river, they would be treated without any delicacy." 
The territorial squabble which then ensued led 
to the French and Indian war of 1755-62, which 
closed by the cession to England, on the part of 
France, of Canada and all her American posses- 
sions east of the Mississippi, except some fishing 
stations. Thus this region at length passed into 
the undisputed possession of the British crown. 

IN THE PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 

In 1766 (though some confidently say 1774*), 
the British Parliament insisted upon the Ohio 
river as the southwestern boundary and the Mis- 
sissippi river as the western limit of the dominions 
of the English crown in this quarter. By this 
measure the entire Northwest, or so much of it 
as afterwards became the Northwest Territory, 
was attached to the Province of Quebec, and 
the tract that now constitutes the State of Indiana 
was nominally under its local administration. 

BOTETOURT COUNTY. 

In 1769 the Colony of Virginia, by an enact- 
ment of the House of Burgesses, attempted to 
extend its jurisdiction over the same territory, 
northwest of the river Ohio, by virtue of its royal 
grants. By that act the county of Botetourt was 
erected and named in honor of Lord Botetourt, 
Governor of the Colony. It was a vast co'untry, 
about seven hundred miles long, with the Blue 
Ridge for its eastern and the Mississippi for its 
western boundary. It included large parts of 
the present States of West Virginia, Ohio, In- 
diana, and Illinois, and was the first county or- 
ganization covering what are now Clarke and 
Floyd counties. Fincastle, still the seat of coun- 
ty for the immensely reduced Botetourt county, 
was made the seat of justice; but so distant from 
it were the western regions of the great tract, 

*As Isaac Smucker, in the Ohio Secretary of State's Re- 
port for 1877. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



»3 



that the thoughtful Burgesses inserted the follow- 
ing proviso in the creative act: 

Whereas, The people situated on the Mississippi, in the 
said county of Botetourt, will be very remote from the court- 
house, and must necessarily become a separate county as 
soon as their numbers are sufficient, which will probably hap- 
pen in a short time, be it therefore enacted by the authority 
aforesaid, that the inhabitants of that part of the said county 
of Botetourt which lies on the said waters, shall be exempted 
from the payment of any levies to be laid by the said county 
court for the purpose of building a court-house and prison 
for said county. 

ILLINOIS COUNTY. 

Government was still nominal, however,so far as 
the county organization was concerned, between 
the Ohio and Mississippi rivers; and the Indians 
and few white settlers within those borders were 
entirely a law unto themselves. After the con- 
quest of the Indiana and Illinois country by Gen- 
eral George Rogers Clarke in 1778, the county 
of Illinois was erected by the Virginia Legislature 
(in October of the same year) out of the great 
county of Botetourt, and included all the territo- 
ry between the Pennsylvania line, the Ohio, the 
Mississippi, and the northern lakes. Colonel John 
Todd was appointed the first county lieutenantand 
civil commandant of the county. He perished 
in the battle of Blue Licks, August 18, 1782; 
and Timothy de Montbrun was named as his 
successor. At this time there were no white 
men in Indiana, except a few Indian traders and 
some French settlers. 

The Legislature of Virginia, at the time Illi- 
nois county was created, made provision for the 
protection of the country by reinforcements to 
General Clarke's little army. By another enact- 
ment passed in May, 1780, the act of 1778 was 
confirmed and somewhat amended, and further 
reinforcements ordered into the wilderness. 
West Illinois county, however, was not destined 
to make any large figure in history. 

CONFLICTING CLAIMS. 

At the preliminary negotiations for peace in 
Paris in November, 1782, between England and 
her revolted, successful American colonies, both 
France and Spain, for similar reasons of discov- 
ery and partial occupancy, filed their protests 
against the claim of either of the lately contend- 
ing parties to "the Illinois country." It can nof 
be too often repeated, to the everlasting honor 
of General Clarke, that it was his conquest in 
1778 that determined the controversy in favor of 



the infant republic, and carried the lines of the 
new Nation to the Mississippi and the northern 
lakes. Otherwise the east bank of the Ohio, or 
possibly even the Alleghanies, would have 
formed its western boundary in part. The final 
convention signed at Paris, September 3, 1783, 
confirmed the claim of the United Colonies as 
made good by the victories of Clark. 

On the 20th of October, 1783, the Virginia 
Legislature, by solemn enactment, transferred all 
her rights and titles to lands west of the Ohio to 
the General Government. Illinois county was 
thus virtually wiped out. 

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORY. 

After the title of the United States to the wide 
tract covered by Illinois county, acquired by the 
victories of the Revolution and the Paris treaty, 
had been perfected by the cession of claims to it 
by Virginia and other States and by Indian 
treaties, Congress took the next step, and an im- 
portant one, in the civil organization of the 
country. Upon the 13th of July (a month 
which has been largely associated with human 
liberty in many ages of history), in the year 1787, 
the celebrated act entitled "An ordinance for 
the government of the territory of the United 
States northwest of the river Ohio," was passed 
by Congress. By this great organic act — "the 
last gift," as Chief Justice Chase said, "of the 
Congress of the old Confederation to the coun- 
try, and it was a fit consummation of their glori- 
ous labors" — provision was made for various 
forms of territorial government to be adopted 
in succession, in due order of the advancement 
and development of the Western country. To 
quote Governor Chase again: "When the settlers 
went into the wilderness they found the law al- 
ready there. It was impressed upon the soil 
itself, while it yet bore up nothing but the forest." 
This measure was succeeded, on the 5th of 
October of the same year, by the appointment 
by Congress of General Arthur St. Clair as 
Governor, and Major Winthrop Sargent as Secre- 
tary of the Northwest Territory. Soon after 
these appointments, three territorial judges were 
appointed — Samuel Holden Parsons, James 
Mitchell Varnum, and John Armstrong. In 
January the last-named, not having entered upon 
service, declined his appointment, which now fell 
to the Hon. John Cleves Symmes, the hero of 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



the Miami Purchase, of which Cincinnati is now 
the chief city. The appointment of Symmes to 
this high office gave much offence in some 
quarters, as it was supposed to add to his oppor- 
tunities of making a great fortune in the new 
country. It is well known that Governor St. 
Clair's appointment to the Northwest Territory 
was promoted by his friends, in the hope that he 
would use his position to relieve himself of 
pecuniary embarrassments. There is no evi- 
dence, however, that either he or Judge Symmes 
prostituted the privileges of their places to such 
ends. 

All these appointments being made under the 
articles of confederation, they expired upon the 
adoption and operation of the Federal constitu- 
tion. St. Clair and Sargent were reappointed to 
their respective places by President Washington, 
and confirmed by the Senate on the 20th of Sep- 
tember, 1789. On the same day Parsons and 
Symmes were reappointed judges, with William 
Barton as their associate. Meanwhile, on the 
9th of July, 1788, the Governor arrived at Mari- 
etta, and proceeded to organize the Territory. 
He and the judges, of whom Varnum and Par- 
sons were present, constituted, under the ordi- 
nance, the Territorial Legislature. Their first 
law was proclaimed July 25th, and on the 27th 
Governor St. Clair issued a proclamation estab- 
lishing the county of Washington, to cover all 
the territory to which the Indian title had been 
extinguished between Lake Erie, the Ohio and 
Scioto rivers, and the Pennsylvania line, being 
a large part of the present State of Ohio. Mari- 
etta, the capital of the Territory, was made the 
seat of justice for Washington county. The 
next civil division proclaimed was Hamilton 
county, proclaimed January 4, 1790, with Cin- 
cinnati (now for the first time so-called, the pre- 
vious name having been Losantiville) for its 
county-seat. It was an immense tract, of which 
but a small remnant is now left, territorially re- 
garded, in the county of that name at the south- 
western corner of Ohio. It was named, of course, 
from Colonel Alexander Hamilton, the first Sec- 
retary of the Treasury. 

A few years afterwards, two new counties were 
created in the Northwest Territory — Wayne 
county, now, as reduced, in Michigan; and 
Knox, which is still, as greatly reduced, in Indi- 
ana, but then included everything west of Ham- 



ilton county, on a line drawn from Fort Recov- 
ery, nearly on the present Ohio boundary, to the 
mouth of the Kentucky river. It, of course, 
included the present teritory of Clarke and Floyd 
counties. Vincennes was the county seat. 

THE CLARKE GRANT. 

This was a reservation made in the deed of 
cession by Virginia of her lands in the North- 
west Territory, to the United States, of a tract 
not exceeding one hundred and fifty thousand 
acres, to be apportioned to General George Rog- 
ers Clarke and the officers and soldiers of his regi- 
ment who were at the reduction of "Kerskaskias 
and St. Vincent's" (Kaskaskia and Vincennes) 
in 1778. The grant was made by the Legisla- 
ture of that State January 2, 1781. A sword had 
previously, in September, 1779, been voted by 
Virginia to General Clarke. In the same act 
(of 1 781) reservation for grants to her soldiers 
in the Continental line was made of the military 
district in Ohio, between the Scioto and the 
Little Miami. 

The grant was to be laid off on the northwest 
side of the Ohio river, in such place as the ma- 
jority of the officers entitled to the land-bounty 
should choose. They selected the tract adjacent 
to the rapids, upon which almost the whole of 
Clarke county, and parts of the counties of Floyd 
and another, are now laid off; and the reserva- 
tion was accordingly made. Many interesting 
particulars concerning it will be noticed subse- 
quently in this volume, in the history of the 
townships of Clarke county. 

THE CONGRESS LANDS. 

After the second treaty of Fort Stanwix, Oc- 
tober 22, 1784, and the treaty of Fort Mcintosh, 
January 21, 1785, had confirmed to the United 
States the Indian titles to the Western lands, 
Congress provided, by ordinance, for their survey 
and sub-division. This was the third ordinance 
of the kind reported to Congress, and bears date 
May 20, 1785, by which time Virginia, New 
York, and Massachusetts had ceded their several 
claims to the territory northwest of the river 
Ohio to the United States. Under this act, 
whose principles of survey are still substantially 
In vogue, the territory purchased of the Indians 
was to be divided into townships, six miles 
square, by north and south lines crossed at right 
angles by others. (It is an interesting fact that 




Anchorage Place, Residence of the late C 




W. GOSLEE Anchorage, Jefferson County, Ky, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



85 



the first ordinance reported, May 28, 1784, pro- 
posed townships often miles square; the second, 
brought in April 26, 1785, would have made 
them seven miles square). The first north and 
south line was to begin on the Ohio, at a point 
due north of the western termination of the 
southern boundary of Pennsylvania, and the first 
east and west line at the same point, and extend 
throughout the territory. The ranges of town- 
ships thus formed were to be numbered from the 
Pennsylvania line westward; the townships them- 
selves from the Ohio northward. Each town- 
ship was to be sub-divided into thirty-six parts or 
sections, each, of course, one mile square. 
When seven ranges of townships had been thus 
surveyed, the Geographer of the United States 
was to make a return of them to the board of 
treasury, who were to take therefrom one-seventh 
part, by lot, for the use of the late Continental 
army, and so of every seven ranges as surveyed 
and returned. The remaining six-sevenths were 
to be drawn for by the several States, in the pro- 
portion of the last requisition made upon them, 
and they were to make public sale thereof in the 
following manner: 

Range first, township first, was to be sold en- 
tire, township second in sections, and so on al- 
ternately; while in range second, township first 
was to be sold in sections, and township second 
entire, retaining throughout, both as to the ranges 
and townships, the principle of alternation. The 
price was to be at least one dollar per acre in 
specie, "loan office certificates reduced to specie 
value," or "certificates of liquidated debts of the 
United States." Five sections in each township 
were to be reserved, four for the United States 
and one section for schools. All sales thus made 
by the States were to be returned to the board of 
treasury — a council of three, who had jurisdic- 
tion over the public lands, which was subse- 
quently, under the Constitution, vested in the Sec- 
retary of the Treasury, and finally in the General 
Land Office. 

This ordinance also supplied the method of 
dividing among the Continental soldiers the lands 
set apart to them, reserved three townships for 
Canadian refugees, secured to the Moravian In- 
dians their rights, and excluded from sale the 
territory between the Little Miami and the 
Scioto, in accordance with the provisions made 
by Virginia in her deed of cession in favor of 



her own troops. Many points in this law were 
afterwards changed, but its great features re- 
mained.* 

Six land districts were established, with an 
office for registry and sale in each. The Jeffer- 
sonville district had jurisdiction of all the public 
lands east of the second principal meridian and 
south of the line dividing the townships num- 
bered nine and ten nftrth. The land office was 
of course at Jeffersonville. 



CHAPTER III. 

ORGANIZATION OF FLOYD COUNTY. 

When Floyd county was created in 181 9 
Corydon was the capital of the State, and the 
Legislature was in session there. New Albany 
was growing so rapidly, its people, and especially 
its proprietor were so ambitious for its success 
and prosperity, and its prospects were so flatter- 
ing that a determined effort was made to estab- 
lish a new county that the young, ambitious 
town might be made a county seat. Clarke and 
Harrison counties then occupied the territory 
now belonging to Floyd, and both were large 
counties. The line between them followed the 
top of the Silver hills. In the winter of 1818-19 
the citizens of the town sent some of their most 
influential men to Corydon to lobby for the es- 
tablishment of a new county ; among them was 
Nathaniel Scribner, who lost his life, dying on 
his way home as elsewhere mentioned. They 
were successful, however, in persuading the 
Legislature that a new county was needed, and 
early in the winter commissioners were appointed 
by Jonathan Jennings, then Governor of the 
State, to designate the bounds of the new county. 
This duty was performed, the boundaries of the 
county designated, the county divided into three 
townships, and their report submitted February 
S, 1819. 

COUNTY SEAT. 

New Albany having thus secured a new 
county, the next movement was to secure the 
county seat. Its rival for this honor was the 
village of Greenville, then the equal in size and 
population of New Albany. Strong induce- 

*Annals of the West, edition of 1847, 269-70. 



SO 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



merits were held out by both villages, and for 
some time the chances were pretty evenly bal- 
anced, the scales tipping a little toward Greenville 
as being the more centrally located of the two. 
New Albany labored under the disadvantage of be- 
ing located at the extreme edge of the county.and 
Greenville was also open somewhat to the same 
objection, though better located in this respect 
than New Albany. The arguments which de- 
termined the location of the county seat finally 
at New Albany were its situation on the river, 
the great outlet for trade and commerce, and at 
the foot of the falls, its prospects for becoming a 
city, and last but not least, the power of the al- 
mighty dollar in the affairs of men. The pro- 
prietors of New Albany were not rich, but they 
were comparatively so, and were enabled to 
bring a greater weight of money, brains, and in- 
fluence to bear upon the subject than the Green- 
ville parties. If they could not give money they 
could give property, and it was through such in- 
fluences as these that finally derremined the lo- 
cation of the county seat at New Albany. 

The following from the earliest records of the 
county commissioners will throw some light on 
this subject: 

At a special meeting of the board of commissioners for the 
county of Floyd, and State of Indiana, convened at the 
house of Seth Woodruff, Esq., in New Albany, on the 4th 
day of March, 1819. 

Present — Clement Nance, Jr., Jacob Piersol. 

Ordered by said commissioners that the following bond re- 
port be entered, to wit: 

Know all men by these presents that we, John Eastburn, 
Seth Woodruff, Joel Scribner, James Scribner, and Smith 
& Paxson, and all of the county of Floyd and State of In- 
diana, are held and firmly bound unto Charles Paxson, Cle- | 
ment Nance, Jr., and Jacob Piersol, county commissioners 
for the county of Floyd, and their successors in office in the I 
sum of $25,000, good and lawful money of the United 
States. To which payment well and truly to be made to the 
commissioners aforesaid we bind ourselves and each of us by 
himself, our heirs, executors, and administrators jointly and 
severally firmly by these presents, sealed with our seals, and 
dated this, the 4th day of March, A. D. , 1819. 

Now the condition of the above obligation is such that if 
the above bound, John Eastburn, Seth Woodruff, Charles 
Woodruff, Joel Scribner, James Scribner, and the firm of 
Smith & Paxson, shall, within four months from the date 
thereof, pay to the commissioners of said county the sum of 
$2,250; and in eight months from this date a like sum of 
$2,250; and in twelve months from this date a like sum of 
$2,250; and in sixteen months from this date a like sum of 
$2,250; and deed or caused to be deeded in fee simple to 
said county four lots in the town of New Albany, lying at 
corners of Lower and Upper Spring streets, or where they 
unite in State street, each lot being one hundred feet square, 
two of which are to be disposed of for the benefit of said 



county, and the other two to be retained and known as the 
public ground for said county for the purpose of erecting a 
court-house and other public buildings thereon for said county 
— then the above obligation to be void, else remain in full 
force and virtue. 

The above document was signed by all parties 
concerned, and the record continues: 

We, the undersigned commissioners, being appointed by 
the Legislature of Indiana to fix the permanent seat of jus- 
tice for the county of Floyd, do, in consideration of the 
aforesaid sum of $9,000 secured to said county.and four lots 
within New Albany, by John Eastburn, Seth Woodruff, 
Charles Woodruff, Joel Scribner, James Scribner, and Smith 
& Paxson, as set out in their aforesaid bond or obligation, 
establish the seat of justice for said county of Floyd on the 
public ground in said town of New Albany. 

Given under our hands and seals at New Albany, this, tbe 
4th day of March, 1819. 

John Cawter, 
William Hoggatt, 
Henry Ristine. 

The above named commissioners were allowed 
three dollars per day each, and were engaged 
from six to nine days in fixing the county seat. 

This arrangement seemed to be final as to the 
location of the county seat, but later, in 1823, as 
will be seen further on in this chapter, the matter 
was reopened, the above contract not having been 
fulfilled. Commissioners were appointed by the 
State to relocate the county seat, but the matter 
was finally adjusted by the citizens. 

During the first years of its existence the 
county had little government except that given 
it by the county commissioners, and little use 
for county records except to keep the pro- 
ceedings of the commissioners and an oc- 
casional case in Judge Floyd's court. The com- 
missioners were Jacob Piersol, Clement Nance, 
Jr., and Charles Paxson. Their meetings were 
frequent; there was much to do to get the 
machinery of the new county in motion and 
working smoothly; the larger part of their time 
was taken up for several years in the establish- 
ment of new roads and the appointment of super- 
visors and other necessary officers. Their powers 
and duties were much more extended than at 
present. 

THE FIRST COURT-HOUSE. 

The first meetings of the commissioners were 
held in Judge Seth Woodruffs tavern, located 
on Main street between Upper Third and Fourth. 
This was the largest frame building in town at 
the time, became the county court-house and 
was headquarters for all county business. Wood- 
ruff himself was the principal man in the new 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



87 



county. He was a large framed, large brained, 
rough, uncultivated, but withal a kind-hearted 
man — a Jerseyman — who came west with a 
family and plenty of surplus energy, physical 
strength, and go-aheaditiveness, and while he 
lived made his presence felt in the community. 
He was no negative quantity, but a man of force 
and fine presence — a Baptist preacher, a tavern 
keeper, a plasterer and bricklayer by trade, an 
associate judge, a justice of the peace, and in 
fact almost everything required by a new county 
and a new town. He was a man of strong con- 
victions and whatever he believed he believed 
with all his might, and could not understand for 
the life of him why other people should differ 
from hini. He was sure he was right, 
and those who differed with him must of 
necessity be wrong, and therefore subjects 
for his aggressive and powerfully placed argu- 
ments. Whatever he did he did with all his 
might, and so enveloped his subject and work 
that he must necessarily control it or ruin it. His 
decisions in court were positive, and the other 
judges must coincide with him or there was 
trouble; his religion he believed to be the only 
true religion, and those who did not accept it 
were heretics and on the broad road to death 
and ruin. He believed himself capable of run- 
ning the new county and town and conducting 
all their affairs; and throwing open his house to 
the public, the commissioners, the courts, and all 
the county officials, he thus succeeded in inject- 
ing his opinions and not a little of his surplus 
human nature into all the county and town 
affairs. His house was two stories in height, and 
so arranged up stairs with folding doors that two 
or three large rooms could be thrown into one, 
which became the first court room in New 
Albany and also a place of meeting for the Bap- 
tists. Woodruff was the second bricklayer in 
town, a man named Smith being the first, and 
much of their work is yet standing; Smith was 
probably the best workman: Woodruff used to 
say that he would take down and rebuild one of 
Smith's chimneys for the extra brick he could 
get out of it; but it is said that WoodrufFs chim- 
neys would smoke sometimes. 

Woodruffs tavern was used for a court-house 
until the erection of the first court-house in 
1823, with the exception of a short time when 
the court occupied the basement of the Presby- 



terian church. Most of the old tavern stand was 
taken down about 1832 and a brick building put 
up in its place, but it was known generally as 
Woodruff's tavern until 1850, though its proper 
name was the New Albany Hotel. After 1850 
it was known as the DePauw House. It is yet 
standing, a large, square, dirty, dilapidated look- 
ing brick building, and has been empty and 
deserted for some years. 

THE SECOND COURT-HOUSE. 

Early in 1820 the people of the county deter- 
mined to have a court-house. The Scribners had 
placed at the disposal of the town and count)', for 
public purposes, four large lots or squares at the 
intersection of State and Spring streets, and upon 
one of these the new court-house was to be built 
in accordance with the afore-mentioned agree- 
ment between the county commissioners and 
Messrs John Eastburn, Seth Woodruff, Joel 
Scribner, James Scribner, and Smith & Paxson, 
who had entered into bonds of $25,000 to see 
that the work was done. Accordingly, on the 
15th of February, 1820, the following entries ap- 
pear on the commissioners' records: 

Ordered, that the treasurer pay William Norman ten dol- 
lars for drawing a plan of the Court House. 

Ordered, that the building of the Court House and Gaol be 
sold at public sale to the lowest bidder on the 3d Monday in 
March next on the public square. Plans of the building can 
be seen at the store of Messrs. Paxson & Eastburn. 

The commissioners ordered the above notice 
to be published three weeks in the Indianian, 
published at Jeffersonville, and at the same time 
in the Indiana Gazette, published at Corydon, 
and one notice to be posted on Seth Woodruff's 
door. The manner of publication of this notice 
is pretty good evidence that Patrick's paper, the 
first one published in New Albany, was not issued 
at that early date in 1820. It was, however, 
started some time in that year, as it was there in 
the fall. 

The sub-contractors for the work were Charles 
Paxson, Charles Woodruff, Christopher Arm- 
strong, and Seth Woodruff. The sale did not 
take place on the third Monday in March, as or- 
dered, but on the 20th of April, and the job was 
bid off by Charles gaxson and others, as above 
named, for $7,860. According to the contract, 
they were to "well and truly build a good and 
sufficient Court House and Gaol in New Albany," 
according to the plan exhibited on the day of 
sale. This they failed to do. They had not 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



figured closely enough, and had taken a larger 
contract than they were able to complete. They 
went forward with the work, but when they saw 
that the money would give out long before the 
work was done they threw up the job, and it went 
back into the hands of the original bondsmen. 
Thus the years 1820 and 182 1 went by and the 
county had no court-house; the consequence 
was the courts complained, and the people com- 
plained, which resulted in the reappointment of 
commissioners by the State to relocate the 
county-seat of Floyd county. This brought the 
people of the town to terms, as it was probably 
intended to do, and the commissioners imme- 
diately entered suit against the original contrac- 
tors for $9,000, for the purpose of completing 
the court-house. William P. and Joel D. 
Thomasson were attorneys for the commis- 
sioners. 

The commissioners to relocate the county-seat, 
appointed by the Legislature April, 1823, were 
Allen D. Thorn, Armstrong Brandon, Hugh Mc- 
Pheters, John Carr, and Edward Moore. The 
people had held public meetings and made ex- 
traordinary efforts to raise money for the purpose 
of holding the county-seat; and Greenville began 
again to hope there was a prospect after all, 
through the negligence of the New Albanians, of 
seeming the seat of justice. But when the com- 
missioners made their appearance at New Al- 
bany the people were ready with a large subscrip- 
tion (large for those days) to back up their orig- 
inal contractors, and go on with the completion 
of the county buildings. The amount sub- 
scribed by the citizens was $2,456.50, and the 
lot or public square deeded by the corporation 
to the county for this purpose was valued at 
$800, making the total subscription $3,256.50, 
which sum, it was thought, would be ample for 
the completion of the buildings. A new bond 
was given, on which the sureties were James 
Scnbner, Ashel Clapp, David M. Hale, Abner 
Scribner, Garret McCann, Joel Scribner, Thomas 
Sinex, S. C. Miller, I. Starkey, Wicome Halle, 
Harvey Scribner, Elias Ayers, Joseph Cannon, 
Mason C. Fitch, R. S. Strickland, and Caleb 
Newman. These were among the best and 
wealthiest citizens of the town, and personally 
pledged themselves for the payment of the sub- 
scriptions. Thus the commissioners were satis- 
fied, and New Albany retained the county-seat. 



The following list of names of the subscribers 
to the fund for building the first court-house is 
given as much for the names of the old citizens of 
New Albany, and a desire for their preservation, 
as to show the manner in which such things were 
done in the early days of the county's history 

AMOUNT 
NAMES. SUBSCRIBED 

Harvey Scribner $ 10. 

Henry Rinecking 10. 

P. F. Tuley 

Joel Scribner, 6 16-100 acres land . . 180. 

Mary L. Miller 3. 

Lathrop Elderkin 10. 

J oseph Cannon 20. 

R. S. Strickland, work or materials 10. 

R. W. Nelson 10 

Elias Avers, in brick or other material 60, 

Mason C. Fitch 20. 

Henry Weber 1 

John Huston 1 

James Lyons, in work or material 10. 

Willis N. Brown 

John Spalding 15. 

Francis N. Moore 

James Howard, one month carpenter work 

Joseph Cannon 10. 

Walter W. Winchester 10 

Phebe Scribner and Phebe Strong, real estate 45 

John Hancock 2. 

John Goshart 10. 

Thomas H. Letcher, in brick laying 25, 

Isaac Brooks 5 

Thomas Wright, in labor 1 

John Doyle 5. 

David M. Hale, in cash or material 50. 

Jacob Marcell 

Edward Brown, in hauling 

Henry Selp, carpenter work 6. 

H. Bogert 20 

Asa Smith, mason work 10 

Jacob Oatman 

William Baird 

Samuel Wilson 25 

Joshua Wilson 30 

Daniel Doup 15. 

Caleb C. Dayton, in shoemaking 10. 

Hiram L. Miller, one week carpenter work 9, 

William B. Crawford 

Alpheus B. Rowley 50 

Joshua Wilson, to be paid at the completion of 

building 7° 

Joel Leek 

Jacob Bence 

George Clark 5 

Thomas Hancock 

James Hancock 

Jacob Marcell, smith work 10. 

H. Clapp, lot 31, Lower First street 45 

H. Clapp, in labor or materials 

H. Clapp, in labor 5 

James B. Moore 

Jesse Hickman 6. 

John Shirley 6, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Philip Beamgard 

Joseph Day 

George McCulloch 

John Harkin 

Samuel Jackson 

Henry Turner, in labor 

John Rose 

Warren Bucklin 

Samuel Marsh 

Daniel Seabrook. . .• 

H. Bogert 

Joel Scnbner, lot 27, Lower First street 

David M. Hale, labor 

James Besse 

Samuel C. Miller 

Abraham Brown 

Isaac Sproatt 

William Drysdale 

Wicome Hale 

Joel D. Thompson 

Abner Scribner, lot 2, Upper Elm, and lot 5, Lower 
Elm 

Abner Scribner, lots 30 and 37, Upper Elm 

Abner Scribner, lot 15, Lower Spring 

Francis Vary, in lime or hauling 

Levi Vary, labor 

Joseph Brindley, mason work 

Garret McCan, smith work 

Caleb Newman 

Seth Woodruff, bell and cupola 

Seth Woodruff, lot 37, Lower High (Main) street. . . . 

James Scribner, lot 30, Lower Market 

James Scribner, one-fourth section land 

Obadiah Childs, carpenter work 

Darius Genung 

Daniel Lane, hauling 

John Nicholson, mason work 

John Connor, to be paid when building completed. . 

John A. Bright 

James W. Breden 

George Starkey 

Benjamin Shreve 

Margaret Shelby, to be paid in corn or other produce 
at the market price, delivered in New Albany. . . . 

Richard Comly, carpenter work 

Caleb C. Dayton, shoemaking 

Zephaniah Smith 

Charles Russell, work or material 

Josiah Akin 

S. K. Gillchrus 

William Smith 

John Abbott 

John Sanders 

David H. Williams 

Abraham Brown, labor 

M. O. Fitch, administrator of Charles Paxson, de- 
ceased 

Seth Woodruff for G. W. Barclay 

John Miles 

Garret McCan, in blacksmithing 

Robert Chamberlain 

William Beeler. carpenter work 

Daniel Wilson, by his agent, A. Clapp 

John S. Doughton '. 

James McCrum, nails 



John A. Bright 10.00 

John Jones 50.00 

Hugh Ferguson 10.00 

William Ferguson 10.00 

William Gamble, by his agent, Henry Bogert 5.00 

Thomas Sinex, carpenter work 15.00 

J. Starkey 20.00 

At a special session of the commissioners held 
May 31, 1823, it was ordered that Caleb New- 
man be appointed to superintend the building of 
the courthouse; his duties, as denned, being to 
collect the money from the subscribers, purchase 
the materials, pay the hands, and personally su- 
perintend the construction of the building. He 
was also authorized to sell the lots that had been 
donated, except the public square upon which 
the building was to be erected. He was required to 
report at each meeting of the board of commission- 
ers, and entered into bond of $1,500, with John 
Hancock as surety, for the faithful performance 
of his duties. He was to follow the published 
plan of the court-house, except to make the walls 
two feet higher. Mr. Newman went forward 
with the building of the court-house but did not 
complete it, and for some reason was superseded 
in August, 1824, by Thomas Sinex, who contin- 
ued to superintend the work until it was com- 
pleted, which was in November, 1824, except 
the cujxila, which was to be erected by Seth 
Woodruff. Upon finishing the building and fil- 
ing his account, it appeared that $67.55 was due 
Mr. Sinex. 

The building was a square, two-story brick, 
with a four-sided roof sloping up to the center, 
upon which was a cupola and bell. It was a sub- 
stantial building; stood about where the present 
building stands, and answered the purpose for 
which it was designed about forty years, when the 
business of the county had increased to such an 
extent as to require a new one. It was freely 
used in early days for public meetings, elections, 
and religious meetings. The cupola was not put 
up for several years after the building was other- 
wise finished, as appears by the following entry 
on the commissioners' records, dated March 5, 
1827: 

Ordered, that David M. Hale be appointed a committee to 
request that Seth Woodruff (who subscribed for the court- 
house, the building of a suitable cupola thereto) to com- 
plete said subscription, and superintend the putting up of the 
cupola; and said Hale is also appointed to finish one of the 
upper rooms of the court-house for the use of the jurors, and 
make an addition to the bar table, and fix a convenient desk 



9° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



thereon for the use of the clerk during the sessions of the 
court. 

These last mentioned improvements cost fifty 
dollars. 

THE PRESENT COURT-HOUSE. 

This beautiful and substantial structure was 
built during the years 1865-66-67. It is built 
of limestone from the Bedford quarries in Law- 
rence county, Indiana, and cost when completed 
$127,700. The style of architecture is Corinthi- 
an. The order for its erection was issued by the 
commissioners in March, 1865, and the corner- 
stone was laid July 1 ith of the same year with 
appropriate Masonic ceremonies. The building 
is sixty-four feet front by one hundred in depth, 
forty-five feet in height, and fire-proof. 

In the copper box placed in the corner-stone 
were placed, the following articles: Portraits of 
Presidents Andrew Johnson and Abraham Lin- 
coln, Edward Everett, Stephen A. Douglas, Her- 
schel V. Johnson, and John Bell ; a copy of 
Harper's Weekly containing an account of the 
assassination of President Lincoln; various de- 
nominations of script, both Federal and Confed- 
erate; a large number of coins of various kinds; 
portraits of the Governor of the State, and names 
of the members of Congress for this district, 
United States senators from Indiana, senator and 
representative from Floyd county, judges of the 
circuit and common pleas courts, county clerk, 
sheriff, treasurer, recorder, county commissioners, 
county auditor, all city officials, architects and 
builders, editors of the Ledger, officers of the 
masonic fraternity officiating; ccpies of the daily 
and weekly Ledger, a number of other news- 
papers and some other articles. Dr. Thomas R. 
Austin was the officiating officer and delivered 
the address. 

THE JAILS. 

The first jail was built on the public square 
near where the present one is, and was a log 
building, erected by Seth Woodruff. In May, 
1819, the following entry is found on the com- 
missioner's records : 

Ordered, that Seth Woodruff, Esquire, be employed to 
build a jail to be set on the Public Square in the town of 
New Albany, agreeably to the following dimensions: Said 
Jail to be twelve feet square with a shingled roof thereon; to 
be built of logs hewed one foot square; seven feet high be- 
tween the floors; the floors and ceiling to be of hewed logs 
one foot thick and pinned down to the timbers; for which he 
is to receive fifty dollars out of the county treasury. 



And it is further ordered that the said Woodruff be and is 
hereby appointed to make a good and sufficient door two 
feet square, lined with iron, for the above mentioned jail." 

The above mentioned door " two feet square " 
was hung so as to drop down like the door of a 
chicken-coop and was secured by a padlock. 
Mr. Seabrook says: "as a general thing the pad- 
lock was lost and the door was secured by prop- 
ping it with a nail." Soon after the time that 
the great county of Floyd ordered a fifty dollar 
log jail, the following entry appears : 

Ordered, that Charles Paxson employ some fit person to 
erect a fence fifty feet square, out of good white oak timber, 
five feet in height, for a public pound on the Public Square on 
which the jail now stands. 

The cost of this public pound was $20, and 
Thomas Sinex was appointed pound keeper. 

Whether the log jail was torn down by some 
unruly criminal or whether its limited space of 
twelve feet square was insufficient for the crimi- 
nal population of the county does not appear, 
but in May, 1823, the following entry appears: 

Ordered, that the house belonging to the estate of Joseph 
Brindley, deceased, on lot 31, Upper High street, be made 
use of for one year for a gaol. 

The probability is that the old log jail stood 
there until another was built in 1829, but having 
but one small room it was often found necessary 
to have some other place to confine criminals. 

May 2, 1826, the following appears on the 
record : 

Ordered, that three persons be appointed in each town- 
ship in the county to circulate subscription papers to solicit 
donations for the purpose of building a county gaol on one 
of the Public Squares of New Albany. 

The persons appointed were David Sillings, 
Jacob Bence and John Rice, of Franklin 
township ; Harvey Scribner, Preston F. Tuley, 
and Elias Ayers, for New Albany township, and 
Aaron Hey, James H. Mills, and William Wil- 
kinson for Greenville township. For some rea- 
son this project failed to produce a new jail, and 
the years went by until January 5, 1829, when 
the subject is again referred to in the commis- 
sioners' records, as follows : 

Resolved, that for the purpose of ascertaining the best plan 
for building a permanent gaol for the use of the county 
David M. Hale, Caleb Newman and William Wilkinson be 
and they are hereby appointed to devise and report at the 
next meeting of the commissioners sepaiate plans for a gaol, 
and the probable expense of building the same. 

March 29, 1829, the commissioners having 
examined the different plans, that of David M. 
Hale was accepted. From this it appears that 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



9i 



the " plan upon the ground is to be 54x16 feet ; 
criminal department is to be sixteen feet square 
and to be built of hewn stone ; the remainder of 
said house upon the ground and the second story 
is intended for a poor house and gaol keeper. 
The debtor's department is to be immediately 
above the criminal. See plan." 

Ordered, that Richard Comly be appointed to superintend 
the building of the same; and $300 is hereby appropriated 
for building the same. 

Thus was secured the first substantial "gaol" 
in the county and which answered the purpose 
until the present substantial brick and stone 
building was erected in 1858, on the northeast 
corner of State and Spring streets, at a cost of 
$15,000. 

ANOTHER COUNTY BUILDING. , 

This is the county infirmary building, located 
two and a half miles north of the city near the 
railroad. The county secured a farm here of 
one hundred and sixty-seven acres about 1838. 
It contained a log house to which a log addition 
was added in 1842. Soon afterwards, however, 
a large frame house was built on the ground, 
which is yet standing. The present brick build- 
ing was erected in 1875. Prior to the establish- 
ment of the poor farm the paupers were 
"farmed out," that is, they were kept by the 
farmers of the county who were paid something 
by the county in addition to labor they were able 
to secure from the pauper. As indicated above, 
they were kept at the jail until places could be 
found for them. 



CHAPTER IV. 

ORGANIZATION OF CLARKE COUNTY. 

Clarke enjoys the proud pre eminence of 
standing in the second generation of Indiana 
counties. Knox, created by proclamation of 
General Arthur St. Clair, Governor of the terri- 
tory northwest of the river Ohio, away back in 
the nineties, was, as is pretty well known, the 
original county, covering nearly the whole of 
what is now Indiana, with much more superficial 
area to the westward. It was, indeed, one of 
the four counties into which the great Northwest 



Territory was divided, and the only one west of 
the then great county of Hamilton, whose boun- 
dary toward the setting sun was the line pre- 
scribed as the limit of Indian occupancy by the 
Treaty of Greenville, from Fort Recovery, near 
Wayne's battle-ground, hard upon the present 
Ohio State line, straight to the mouth of the 
river Kentucky. 

No county by its formation intervened in 
Southern Indiana between the original Knox 
and the original Clarke counties, the latter of 
which, like the former and the other primal sub- 
divisions of the Northwest Territory, was the 
child, not of legislative enactment, but of guber- 
natorial proclamation. Since Knox was erected, 
Indiana Territory had been carved out of the 
mighty Northwest, and the young but already 
famed general from Cincinnati, William Henry 
Harrison, by and by to become the hero of Tip- 
pecanoe, had been made Governor of the vast 
tract stretching from the Greenville boundary 
line (Fort Recovery to the Kentucky) westward 
to the Mississippi and northward almost indefi- 
nitely. On the 3d day of February, 1801, many 
months before the State of Ohio had been cre- 
ated, it was deemed that the time had arrived 
for a new sub-division in southeastern Indiana. 
Upon proper representation to his excellency, the 
Governor and commander-in-chief, at his head- 
quarters and Territorial capital in Vincennes, he, 
upon the day named, issued his proclamation 
erecting the county of Clarke "out of that part 
of the county of Knox lying within the following 
boundaries, to wit: Beginning on the Ohio, at 
the mouth of Blue river, thence up the said river 
to the crossing of the same by the road leading 
from Vincennes to Clarksville, thence by a 
direct line to the nearest part of White river, 
thence up the said river to that branch thereof 
which runs towards Fort Recovery, and from 
the head spring of said branch to Fort Recovery; 
thence along the boundary line between the In- 
diana and Northwestern Territory to the Ohio, 
and down the Ohio to the place of beginning." 

This was a great county, not far from one-fifth 
of the present tract of Indiana. Its boundaries 
can be traced with approximate accuracy upon 
any good, detailed map of the State, especially if 
it shows the principal roads and indicates, as 
some do, the old Greenville treaty line. The 
exact place of crossing the Blue river by the 



$2 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Vincennes and Clarksville road may now be 
rather difficult to determine; but it could not 
have been very far from the present crossing of 
the main road from the old capital to Jefferson- 
ville or New Albany. Otherwise the lines, with- 
out much trouble, can be run with tolerable cer- 
tainty. They included not only the present 
counties of Clarke and Floyd, which make up 
but a moderate fraction of the original Clarke, 
but also, in whole or in part, Harrison, Washing- 
ton, Jackson, Scott, Jefferson, Jennings, Ripley, 
Decatur, Franklin, Bartholomew, Shelby, Rush, 
Fayette, Union, Henry, Randolph, Wayne, and 
very likely other counties. It was a noble tract, 
an embryo State, in territorial area. 

THE COUNTY-SEAT. 

No other name could have been so fitly applied 
to a county including the Clarke Grant and the 
residence of the hero of the Northwest — he to 
whom the fact is due that the country embraced 
in it was then and is now under the flag of the 
United States — than that of General George 
Rogers Clarke, the compatriot and friend of Har- 
rison; and Clarke county, of course, it became by 
the latter's nomination. It would have been 
strikingly appropriate, also, if Clarksville on the 
Ohio, the place founded by the conqueror, and 
at this time his personal home, had been made 
the county-seat. It is probable, however, that 
geographical considerations, those of convenience 
to the straggling population — which, however, 
was nearly all within a few miles of the river — 
determined the site of local government, in the 
first instance; and it was settled at Springville, 
then a hopelul hamlet a mile and a quarter 
southwest of Charlestown, the subsequent county- 
seat, and nearly four miles from the river at the 
nearest point. This place has fallen into greater 
decay than even Clarksville, not one of the prim- 
itive houses remaining, nor any visible sign that 
ever a village was. there. It is now simply open 
country. 

THE FIRST COURT. 

Here, however, as the designated capital of 
the new county, assembled in solemn conclave, 
on the 7th day of April, 1801, the first court in 
Clarke, being the court of general quarter ses- 
sions of the peace, composed, under the com- 
mission of Governor Harrison and the seal of the 
Territory of Indiana, of Justices Marston Green 



Clarke, Abraham Huff, James Noble Wood, 
Thomas Downs, William Goodwin, John Gibson, 
Charles Tuley, and William Harwood, Esquires 
— all, as may be seen elsewhere, good names in 
the early history of the county. Samuel Gwathmey 
also took his seat as clerk of this court and pro- 
thonotary of the court of common pleas, and 
clerk of the orphans' court of this county. 
General W. Johnson, "Gentleman," on his own 
motion, was admitted as an attorney-at-law in 
the court on production of his license and admin- 
istration of the prescribed oath. 

THE FIRST TOWNSHIPS. 

At this earliest term it was ordered that the 
immense county be divided into three townships, 
as follow : 

The first to begin on the Ohio, opposite the month of 
Blue river; thence up the Ohio to the mouth of Peter Mc- 
Daniel's spring branch; from thence to [in] direct course to 
Pleasant run, the branch on which Joseph Bartholomew lives, 
and down that branch to the mouth thereof, thence down 
Pleasant run to where the same enters into Silver creek; 
thence a due west course to the western boundary of this 
county; — to be called and known by the name of Clarks- 
ville Township. 

The second to begin at the month of Peter McDaniel's 
spring branch; thence up the Ohio to the mouth of Fourteen 
Mile creek; thence up the main branch thereof to the head; 
and from thence a due west course to the county line, and 
from thence with the same to Clarksville township, and with 
the line thereof to the Ohio at the place of beginning; — to 
be called and known by the name of Springville Town- 
ship. 

The third one to begin at the mouth of Fourteen Mile 
creek; thence with the line of Springville township to the 
county line; thence with the same to the Ohio river; and 
thence down the same, to include the remaining part of the 
county to the place of beginning; — to be called and known 
by the name of Spring Hill Township. 

This division, rude and insufficient as it may 
now appear, was doubtless all that was then de- 
manded by the conditions of white settlement. 
Every one of these township names, as such, it 
will be observed, has disappeared in the recon- 
struction of the county and its townships from 
decade to decade. More concerning these old 
sub-divisions will be found hereafter in the town- 
ship histories. 

Mr. Charles Floyd was appointed by the court 
"constable of the county" for the township of 
Clarksville. William F. Tuley received similar 
appointment for Springville, and Robert Wardel 
for Spring Hill. 

, MORE COURT PROCEEDINGS. 

At the next day's session of the general court 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



93 



Robert Hamilton, also "Gentleman," after the 
fashion of that time, was admitted to the Clarke 
county bar. 

Joshua Lindsey, on his own motion, was rec- 
ommended to "His Excellency the Governor of 
this Territory," as a proper person to keep a 
tavern in Springville for one year. Samuel Hay 
and George Wood were his sureties. 

Under "an act to regulate county levies," the 
court appointed Joseph Bartholomew for one 
year, Peter Stacey for two years, and Joseph 
Stewart for three years, as commissioners to as- 
certain and lay the tax levy for the county. Isaac 
Holman and Charles Bags were appointed "to 
appraise each house in town, town lots, out-lot, 
and mansion-house" in the township of Clarks- 
ville; William Combs, Sr., and Absalom Little 
for Springville; and John Bags and John Owen 
for Spring Hill. 

Leonard Bowman and William Wilson were 
made "supervisors of the public roads and high- 
ways" for Clarksville; Elisha Carr and George 
Huckleberry for Springville; and John Petit and 
Jesse Purdue for Spring Hill. Commissioners 
to settle their accounts, respectively, were George 
Hughes, James Davis, and Francis McGuire, for 
Clarksville; John Clegham, George Woods, and 
Nicholas Harmon, for Springville; and Abraham 
Huff, "Esquire" (one of the honorable court), 
William Plaskel, and William Brinton, for Spring 
Hill. 

Under "an act regulating enclosures," Philip 
Dailey, Peter Stacey, and Isaac Holman were 
named fence viewers for Clarksville; Kauf- 
man, Nathan Robertson, and Frederick Rice, for 
Springville; and Jonathan Thomas, Christopher 
Fefler, and Jacob Heberick for Spring Hill. 

Overseers of the poor for these townships, 
severally, were Benjamin Redman and Isaac 
Holman; George Huckleberry, Sr., and Abraham 
Little; and William Plaskel and John Bags. 

It was ordered that the ferry-keepers on the 
Ohio in the county observe the following tariff of 
rates: For a man, woman, or child, twelve and 
one-half cents; each horse twelve and one-half 
cents; every head of neat cattle three years old 
and upwards, twelve and one-half cents; all cattle 
under that age, nine cents; each sheep, goat, or 
hog, four cents; every wagon or four wheeled 
carriage, $i; and for every other carriage of two 
wheels, fifty cents; for goods, wares, merchan- 



dise, lumber, etc., $i for each boatload. Lower 
rates were made for the ferry at the mouth of 
Silver creek. This ferry was taxed twenty-five 
cents for the year; the ferries across the Ohio 
were required to pay from $4 to $7. George 
Hughes then kept the former; the others were run 
by Major Robert Floyd, Samuel Oldham, Rich- 
ard Ferrel, and James N. Wood. 

THE EARLY ROADS. 

On due petitions, orders were made for the 
view and survey of roads from Clarksville to the 
most, convenient landing above the rapids of 
Ohio (Jeffersonville had not yet even a name to 
live); from the ferry of James N. Wood (Utica) 
to Springville; and from the house of Abraham 
Hoff to Springville. The viewers in the several 
cases were Henry Fail, Sr., George Hughes, and 
Leonard Bowman; Joseph Bartholemew, Thomas 
Ferguson, and Francis McGuire; and John 
Owens, John Bags, and George Woods. The 
surveyors, respectively, were William Wilson and 
Charles Tuley (the latter for both the second 
and third roads asked for). 

The court then adjourned "until court in 
course" — the July term. An intelligent and 
vigorous beginning of county administration of 
government had begun. 

THE COUNTY SEATS. 

Springville was soon succeeded as the county 
seat by Jeffersonville; then Charlestown became 
the county seat; and finally, in September, 1878, 
after a sharp struggle, the records and offices 
were returned to Jeffersonville, where they are 
probably permanently located. Some details 
concerning these removals will appear in our 
histories of the townships. 



CHAPTER V. 

MILITARY RECORD OF CLARKE AND FLOYD 
COUNTIES. 

The military record of the two counties of 
Floyd and Clarke is practically inseparable. In- 
timately neighbored as they are, in territory and 
interest, in patriotism and faithful service during 
periods of conflict, they should go down in his-. 



94 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



tory closely interlinked. Although some com- 
panies were raised exclusively in each of the 
counties, yet many others drew their officers and 
men almost indifferently from one county and 
the other; and commands from the two coun- 
ties are often found serving together in the same 
regiment. The rosters and records of Floyd and 
Clarke are found so closely associated upon the 
pages of the adjutant general's reports and else- 
where, that it would be exceedingly difficult, even 
were the compiler disposed to do so, to sepa- 
rate them and make a distinct history and set of 
rosters for each county. The glorious story of 
both has therefore been made one. 

THE ANCIENT RECORD 

the old relation of wars and fightings about the 
Falls of the Ohio, and the movement of martial 
expeditions therefrom in the times that tried 
men's souls, has been told in our chapter on the 
Indians in the general introduction to this his- 
tory, in the first volume of the work, and in the 
military record of Jefferson county. It is there 
related with sufficient fullness, and no part of it 
need be repeated here. We are not aware that 
anything specially remains to be said for this side 
of the river, concerning bloody conflicts or the re- 
cruiting of forces for the field of battle, until the 
well-remembered period of 

THE MEXICAN WAR. 

In the spring of 1846, the government of 
Mexico, still claiming jurisdiction over the terri- 
tory of Texas between the Rio Grande and the 
Neuces, caused its army to invade that district, 
which was held by the United States government, 
by virtue of the recent annexation of the Lone 
Star State, to be the soil of the Federal union. 
The invasion was met and repelled by the army 
of the United States, under General Zachary 
Taylor, formerly a resident of Louisville, at Palo 
Alto on the 8th of May, and the next day at Re- 
saca de la Palma. Four days thereafter the 
Federal Congress by resolution declared that, 
"by the act of the Republic of Mexico, a state 
of war exists between that Government and the 
United States." May 22d, President Polk called 
upon the States for volunteer recruits for the 
army to the total number of forty-three thousand 
five hundred. Indiana was summoned to fur- 
nish three regiments of infantry and, under the 
proclamation of Governor YVhitcomb, they were 



speedily raised, and the First, Second, and Third 
Indiana regiments were organized and sent into 
the field. The next year, under the call of Au- 
gust 31, 1847, for two additional regiments from 
Indiana, the Fourth and Fifth were recruited 
and sent forward. From the numbers of these 
Mexican battalions the Indiana regiments in the 
late war took their point of departure, none of 
them bearing a number earlier than the Sixth. 

The only muster-roll we have been able to 
procure, of soldiers from this region in the 
Mexican war, is that of Captain Sanderson's 
company in the Second regiment of Indiana 
volunteer infantry, which we have by the kind- 
ness of Colonel W. W. Tuley, of New Albany, 
who was a private in the company, and published 
an interesting history of it in the Public Press 
of that city, for December 14, 1881. It was 
originally an independent volunteer company, 
formed in New Albany in 1844, and named the 
Spencer Greys, in honor of Captain Spencer, a 
brave Indianan who fell at Tippecanoe. William 
L. Sanderson, a colonel in the late war, was cap- 
tain; Stewart W. Cayce and James C. Moodey, 
lieutenants. Sanderson was a good drill master, 
and the corps soon became "the crack com- 
pany" of the State. Upon the outbreak of the 
war, nearly all its members volunteered for the 
United States service, into which the company 
was sworn July 20, 1846. Captain Sander- 
son and Lieutenant Cayce retained their places 
by re-election; but Thomas S. Kunkle was chosen 
second lieutenant, in place of Judge Moodey, 
who declined to go, and Henry Pennington was 
after made an additional second lieutenant. The 
roll of the company was as follows : 

captain Sanderson's company. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain William L. Sanderson. 
First Lieutenant Stewart W. Cayce. 
Second Lieutenant Thomas S. Kunkle. 
Additional Second Lieutenant Henry Pennington. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Aug. M. Jackson. 
Sergeant R. F. Freeman. 
Sergeant Thomas Gwin. 
Sergeant George W. Lapping. 
Corporal Benjamin F. Scribner. 
Corporal George W. Smith. 
Corporal Enos Taylor. 
Corporal Thomas V. Stran. 

PRIVATES. 

William Aikin, William J. Austin, Goodheart Abbott, 
William Abbott, George Adams, Frank Bailey, [ames Bailey, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



95 



Michael Burris, William Bell, Isaac Buzby, Samuel Buchan- 
an, Larkin Cunningham, Hiram W. Catlin, William Cook, 
William Canada, Lewis Coulter, Jesse Fox, Samuel Finley, 
Thomas Frazier, Berry Gwin, James F. Gwin, Charles H. 
Goff, Albert L. Goodwin, John M. Hutchings, Martin 
Howard, Daniel Howard, John Howard, Thomas Howard, 
Samuel Howard, William Hopkins, John Hitch, Luther N. 
Hollis, George Hoffman, August E. Hughes, Henry Hardy, 
Alexander M. Jackson, Granville Jackson, William Lee, 
William H. Lilly, Edwin R. Lunt, John T. Lewis, Walter 
J. McMurtry, John M. Laughlin, Conrad Miller, Joseph 
Morgan, Nathan McDowell, John N. Mitchell, fames B. 
Mulkey, Henry M. Matthews, Richard S. Morris, Emanuel 
W. Moore, John D. McRae, Harvey Paddock, William Pitt, 
Wesley Pierce, Hiram J. Reamer, Warren Robinson, 
Thomas Raper, David Rice, Apollos Stephens, Luther Steph- 
ens, Thomas W. Sinex, James Smith, Calvin R. Thompson, 
William W. Tuley, John Taylor, James Taylor, Thomas J. 
Tyler, Luke Thomas, James Wininger, James B. Winger, 
James Walts, Henry W. Welker, Charles Wright, Miles D. 
Warren, Philip Zubrod. 

The company was soon called to the field with 
its regiment (which, by the way, was encamped 
near New Albany. Captain Sanderson here came 
near being elected colonel, but, it is alleged, was 
cheated out of his election). It encamped for 
ten days on the New Orleans battle-ground, 
and spent several months at Camp Bel- 
knap, a few miles up the east bank of the 
Rio Grande, then marched into the interior 
and took prominent part in the battle of Buena 
Vista, February 22, 1847, in which Captain San- 
derson was seriously wounded. Bela C. Kent, 
Esq., now a leading citizen of New Albany, was 
also on this field as an independent rifleman. 
The company was mustered out at New Orleans 
in June of the same year, and reached home on 
Independence day, where it had a grand wel- 
come. 

Colonel Tuley gives the following account of 
the survivors of this company and of the field 
officers of the regiment, so far as he knows of 
them : 

General Lane, the first colonel, died recently in Oregon. 
Of the officers, Second regiment, Major Cravens, of Wash- 
ington county, alone survives. All of our commissioned 
officers are dead except Lieutenant Pennington, who resides 
in this city. The sergeants are all dead except George W. 
Lapping, of this city. The corporals all reside in this city, 
but Enos Taylor, and he may be living or dead. William 
Akin is one of the firm of Akin & Drummond, founders, 
Louisville. William J. Austin is in Florida. William Bell 
died last year at Oxford, Indiana. Calvin E. Thompson, E. 
W. Moore and Sam Finley are in Iowa. William Cook is in 
Bowling Green, Kentucky. Berry Gwin, Alexander Jackson, 
John McLaughlin, Conrad Miller, Wesley Pierce, H. J. 
Reamer. William W. Tuley, James Taylor and Miles D. 
Warren are all residents of this county. J. F. Gwin lives in 
northern Indiana; John M. Hutchings, the Howards, 



William H. Lilly, in Clarke county, Indiana; Nathan Mc- 
Dowell, at Glasgow, Kentucky; James B. Mulky is practicing 
law at Bloomington, Indiana; Richard S. Morris at Galves- 
ton, Texas; William Pitt, dead. Where the others are, or 
whether living or dead, I know not. 

THE WAR OF THE REBELLION. 

On the 15th day of May, 1861, the second 
day after the fall of Fort Sumter and the very 
day of the issue of President Lincoln's proclama- 
tion calling out seventy-five thousand of the 
militia of the States to aid in quelling the insur- 
rection. Governor Morton tendered to the 
President a contingent of ten thousand men 
from Indiana. The quota assigned to the State 
under the call, however, was something less 
than half this number, being six regiments of 
infantry or riflemen, numbering in all, as these 
commands were then organized, but four thou- 
sand six hundred and eighty-three men who 
would be received for a three months' term of 
service. The ranks of these regiments were 
filled instantly, and a large number of surplus 
companies were formed. These were organized 
by the Governor upon his own responsibility, 
into five more regiments, which were sworn into 
the service of the State to be used in its defense, 
if necessary, or for the general service, for the 
period of twelve months. The Legislature, at its 
next session, not only supported the action of 
Governor Morton, but went further, and author- 
ized the formation of six such regiments. 
Meanwhile, on the 21st of May, on the further 
requisition of the General Government, three of 
the regiments formed from the overflow under 
the three months' call had been transferred to 
the United States service and were mustered in 
for the period of three years. The subsequent 
calls by proclamation of the President of July 3 
and August 4, 1862; of June 15, 1863 (under 
which four regiments of six months' men were 
sent to East Tennessee); October 17, 1863; 
February 1, March 14, July 18, and December 
19, 1864, were responded to most patriotically by 
the gallant people of Indiana; and the contin- 
gents were in general, rapidly formed and sent 
to the several scenes of action. Nearly every 
Indiana soldier volunteered. A light draft was 
made under an order of October 6, 1862, but it 
was afterwards learned that the men drafted 
were not then actually due from the State. On 
the 30th of November, 1863, under the call of 
the Government for colored volunteers, six com- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



panies were raised in Indiana, numbering five 
hundred and eighteen men, who were received 
into the Twenty-eighth regiment of United States 
colored troops. 

The rosters, hereafter published, will show that 
a full share of these, as of all other troops raised 
in the State, went from Floyd and Clarke 
counties. In the credits for veteran volunteers 
made up March 29, 1865, the former county 
had one. If this seem a small number, it 
should be noted that seven other counties of the 
State had only as many, and four counties had 
but two each. We give this figure here, partly 
to point the contrast between this isolated acci- 
dental credit, as it were, and the hundreds who 
became veteran volunteers from the two coun- 
ties, and the thousands who enlisted in the Fed- 
eral service for longer or shorter periods. 
Already, by the 19th of September, 1862, when 
the war had been in progress but sixteen months, 
it was ascertained that Clarke county had one 
thousand six hundred and twelve of her sons in 
the field, and that the total enrollment of those 
remaining of suitable age for military service was 
two thousand seven hundred and eighty-two, of 
whom two thousand two hundred and ninety- 
seven were subject to draft; and that the corres- 
ponding figures for Floyd county were one thou- 
sand and sixty seven, three thousand three hun- 
dred and twenty-nine, and two thousand eight 
hundred and eighty-four, a very honorable 
showing, truly. (It may be added just here that 
the return of Indiana militia made to the United 
States Government after the war, April 6, 1867, 
exhibited a total of four thousand, five hundred 
and fifty-five capable of doing military service in 
Clarke county, and four thousand two hundred 
and nine in Floyd). It is very gratifying to be 
able to record that so far as is now remembered 
there was no disloyal expression at any of the 
early war-meetings in these counties, while trea- 
son was outspoken in certain of the adjacent 
counties. 

FURTHER OF THE HOME WORK. 

Recruiting for the Union armies was begun 
very early and very efficiently in Clarke and 
Floyd counties. It was greatly stimulated by 
the organization at Jeffersonville of the first 
camp made by a Kentucky regiment forming for 
the Union army. This offered an excellent op- 
portunity to many patriotic Indianians, who were 



unable to find places in the first regiments from 
this State or for any other reason preferred to en- 
list in a regiment in another State, to enlist in 
the noble command being recruited by General 
Rousseau, of Louisville. As will be seen by 
lists published at the end of the rosters of Floyd 
and Clarke county commands, a considerable 
number of officers in this and other Kentucky 
regiments were residents of Jeffersonville or 
New Albany. Doubtless a much greater num- 
ber of enlisted men from these cities and the 
adjacent country went into regiments from Ken- 
tucky and other States; but unhappily there are 
no means of identifying or naming them; and 
their honor must remain unsung, except in a 
general way, in this history. We are able to 
present the names of Indiana officers in Ken- 
tucky regiments only by the enterprise of the 
adjutant general of that State, who, in his report 
for the war period, took pains to make an alpha- 
betical fist of all officers in the service with Ken- 
tucky commands, and their places of residence. 

THE INDIANA LEGION. 

The elaborate report of the adjutant general 
of the State of Indiana for the war, in eight 
octavo volumes, makes especial mention of Col- 
onels John T. Willey and John N. Ingham, of 
Clarke county, and Colonels Benjamin F. Scrib- 
ner and William W. Tuley, of Floyd, for their 
services in aiding to raise the Indiana Legion in 
the fall of 1861. This organization of the State 
militia was formed under an act of the State 
Legislature, passed May nth, of that year, in 
view of the war then imminently impending. It 
was not, however, put upon a war footing until 
the autumn of 1861, on account of the scarcity 
of arms, every gun that could be procured up to 
that time being needed to equip troops for the 
United States service. September 10th Governor 
Morton commissioned Major John Love, of In- 
dianapolis, major general, and Colonel John 
L. Mansfield, of Jeffersonville, brigadier general, 
for the purpose of organizing the Legion. Com- 
panies were formed in nearly every county. They 
were grouped in two divisions, each commanded 
respectively, by Major Generals Mansfield and 
James Hughes (both promoted from brigadiers). 
The regiments of the Legion formed in Floyd 
and Clarke counties (full rosters of which will be 
found below), were assigned to the Second bri- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



7 



gade of the Second division of the Legion, com- 
manded at first by Brigadier General Hughes, 
and after his promotion to the command of a 
division, by Brigadier General Henry Jordon. 

The admirable report of the adjutant general 
of the State (General W. H. H. Terrell) for the 
war period, gives the following account of the 
organization and services of the Floyd county 
regiment : 

"seventh regiment, third brigade. 

"From the report of Colonel E. A. Maginness, 
it appears that this regiment was organized under 
command of Colonel B. F. Scribner, during the 
spring of 1861, and consisted at that time of 
eighteen companies, numbering in the aggregate 
nine hundred men, most of whom were uni- 
formed, but not more than three hundred armed. 

"During the first four months the most satis- 
factory progress was made in company and 
battalion drill, but protracted delay in procuring 
arms and accoutrements created general dissatis- 
faction, while the organization of two regiments 
of volunteers in this county and vicinity for the 
United States service absorbed many of the 
officers and men who had been the most active 
members of the Legion. Every company contrib- 
uted much of its best material to the two regi- 
ments, and several of them were thus entirely 
deprived of commissioned officers. From these 
causes most of the companies were disorganized, 
and the efficiency of those who retained their 
organization was seriously impaired. Here, as 
elsewhere, the Legion served the noble purpose 
of educating young men for active service and 
in infusing martial enthusiasm into the public 
mind. 

"Colonel Scribner entering the United States 
service as colonel of the Thirty-eighth Indiana 
volunteers, the command of the Seventh passed 
to Colonel William W. Tuley in September, 
1861. During the incumbency of Colonel Tuley 
he was requested by General Anderson, then on 
duty in Kentucky, to send Knapp's artillery com- 
pany of his command to a point opposite the 
mouth of Salt river, and to keep it supported by 
at least one company of infantry. The request 
was complied with, the artillery remaining on 
duty at the point designated about three months, 
during which time three infantry companies par- 
ticipated in the duty of supporting it, relieving 
each other from time to time. One company- 



was subsequently sent to Indianapolis to assist 
in guarding prisoners at Camp Morton, in which 
service it continued several months. 

"Upon the resignation of Colonel Tuley in 
September, 1862, Colonel Maginness was placed 
in command. He found the regiment, with the 
exception of four companies, 'utterly broken up,' 
and 'even these four companies very much shat- 
tered' — a condition which was not much im- 
proved at the date of his report, in December 
following. Colonel Maginness attributes the 
early dissolution of the organization to the 'ut- 
terly and fatally defective law that gave it birth,' 
a law 'which discovers no inducements to allure, 
nor penalties to compel men to join the organi- 
zation.'" 

The following partial account of the services 
of the large regiment raised chiefly in Clarke 
county is also given in the same document: 

"eighth regiment, third brigade. 

"No detailed report of the inception and pro- 
gress of the organization in Clarke and Scott 
counties has been made by any of the officers 
commanding, nor has this office been furnished 
with reliable data relative to the services per- 
formed by this regiment, or any of the companies 
attached thereto. Tames Keigwin, of Jefferson, 
was first appointed to the colonelcy, under 
commission bearing date August 30, 1861, 
but almost immediately vacated the office to 
accept the lieutenant-colonelcy of the Forty- 
ninth Indiana volunteers. Colonel John N. 
Ingram held the command from September 6, 
1861, to October 13, 1862, when his resignation 
created a vacancy which was filled by the ap- 
pointment of John F. Willey. This officer re- 
ports twelve companies in Clarke and five com- 
panies in Scott counties at the close of 1862. 
Portions of the command were frequently called 
out to repel threatened incursions of Kentucky 
guerrillas, and the regiment rendered good service 
in guarding the shoals on the Ohio, when the 
water was low and the danger of invasion im- 
minent. With resident rebel sympathizers, of 
whom there were a considerable number in tliese 
companies, the Legion unquestionably exercised 
a restraining influence. It was a prolific nursery 
for the volunteer service, a quickener of patri- 
otic impulses, and conservator of genuine loy- 
alty." 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Colonel WiUey reports the services of his 
command for 1863-64, as follows: 

"We had five battalions, and were called into 
service by order of the Governor, June 20th, to 
meet the raid under Captain Hines. June 21st, 
relieved from duty; June 22d, a false alarm; were 
sent to guard White river bridge: June 24th dis- 
missed the command; July 6, 1863, called into 
service by Lazarus Noble, adjutant-general; ren- 
dezvoused at Jefferson; July 7th, dismissed the 
command; July 8th, met at Jefferson to repel 
Morgan raid; were in line of battle, but no enemy 
came; July 15th, relieved from duty and com- 
mand dismissed; June 9, 1864, called into 
service, by order of the Governor, to meet a 
raid in Kentucky by Morgan; dismissed June 
25th; August 10th, called companies A and H 
to picket the Ohio river in the vicinity of the 
Grassy flats, to stop guerrillas from crossing under 
rebel Jesse; pickets fired on by guerrillas; re- 
turned the fire, but no one hurt; dismissed 
August 20, 1864. We had two battalion drills 
in April, 1864, one regimental drill in May, and 
one in October. The regiment is well drilled 
for militia, and is ready and willing to turn out 
whenever called on." 

THE DRAFT IN CLARKE AND FLOYD. 

The draft assignment to Clarke county was 
very light — only ten to Silver Creek township; 
and to Floyd county was not great — but twenty- 
four to Lafayette township, and two hundred and 
twenty-nine to New Albany. T. D. Fouts was 
appointed draft commissioner; John Stockwell, 
marshal; and W. F. Collum, surgeon for Clarke 
county. The corresponding appointments in 
Floyd were Jesse J. Brown, Henry Crawford, and 
William A. Clapp. 

May 1, 1863, Colonel J. B. Merriwether, of 
Jefferson, was appointed provost marshal for the 
Second Congressional district, and served until 
his honorable discharge, July 31, 1865. His ser- 
vices of course, reached far beyond the light 
duty connected with drafts in this case, as, it will 
be noticed, they also reached some months be- 
yond the close of the war. 

It should be noted here, to the enduring honor 
of both these counties, that there were no de- 
serters whatever in Clarke county for the drafts 
under the calls of July 18th, and December 19, 
1864; and but three from Floyd county. 



THE SCARE OF 1862. 

The advance of a Confederate army under Gen- 
erals Heath and Kirby Smith into Kentucky in the 
late summer and early fall of 1862, naturally ex- 
cited the liveliest apprehensions in all the counties 
of Indiana and Ohio bordering upon the great 
river. There was good reason for fear, although 
finally no foot of soil of either State was touched 
by the enemy during this movement. So close 
and threatening, however, were their demonstra- 
tions back of Covington, that they gave some 
color to the somewhat fanciful title given to this 
period in that quarter as "the siege of Cincin- 
nati." Many days before this, on the 5th of 
August, 1862, a military order had been issued 
proclaiming martial law in all the towns and 
counties of Indiana on the Ohio river, closing all 
places of business in them at 3 o'clock in the 
afternoon of every day, and requiring all able 
bodied whites between the ages of eighteen and 
forty-five in these counties to organize in com- 
panies, elect officers, and report to the command- 
ing officer of the legion in their respective coun- 
ties, armed with such weapons as could be pro- 
cured, and paying strict attention to drill and 
discipline. These orders were cheerfully and 
pretty thoroughly obeyed in most quarters — no- 
where more so than in the two counties which 
are the subject of this volume; and these meas- 
ures, it is believed, were among those which de- 
terred the enemy from attempting the crossing of 
the Ohio. Among the most noticeable steps 
taken in this region, were the planning of works 
and the actual planting of batteries upon the 
heights of New Albany, under the direction of 
Colonel Carrington and Major Frybarger, in 
order to cover with their fire the lowlands and 
fords of the river west of Louisville. 

THE MORGAN RAID. 

The next year — in the historic month of July, 
1863 — the enemy came vastly nearer, furnishing 
by far the most exciting episode of the war to 
nearly the whole of southern Indiana and Ohio. 
For the first and last time during the long con- 
flict, the Confederate was present in armed force 
upon the soil of Floyd and Clarke counties, 
though only for an instant, as it were, and upon 
or near the northern borders of the counties. We 
refer to the raid of John Morgan and his bold 
riders, which carried consternation through a 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



99 



wide tract of the Northland during a few hurried 
days, and then ended in wild flight and utter 
disaster on the banks of the upper Ohio. We 
give the story from the beginning of the rapid 
march to the exit from Indiana into Ohio, as 
found in the admirable and truly monumental 
work of Whitelaw Reid, entitled Ohio in the 
War, and published in 1868 by Messrs. Wilstach, 
Baldwin & Co., of Cincinnati. It should previ- 
ously be observed, however, that Morgan under- 
took the movement against the express order of 
his superior, General Bragg, then commanding 
the Confederate army at Tullahoma, who had 
given him orders to make a demonstration in 
Kentucky, capturing Louisville if he possibly 
could, and going whithersoever he chose in the 
State, but by no means to cross the Ohio. Mor- 
gan determined, however, upon his own respon- 
sibility, to disregard the injunction, and so in- 
formed his second in command, Colonel Basil 
W. Duke, now an attorney in Louisville. He 
sent scouts to examine the fords of the upper 
Ohio, where he thought he should cross on his 
return, unless Lee's movement on Pennsylvania 
should make it expedient for him to keep mov- 
ing eastward until he could unite his force with 
the army of Northern Virginia. We now follow 
Ohio in the War: 

"On the 2d of July he began to cross the Cum- 
berland at Burkesville and Turkey Neck bend, 
almost in the face of Judah's cavalry, which, ly- 
ing twelve miles away, at Marrowbone, trusted to 
the swollen river as sufficient to render the 
crossing impracticable. The mistake was fatal. 
Before Judah moved down to resist, two regi- 
ments and portions of others were across. With 
these Morgan attacked, drove the cavalry into 
its camp at Marrowbone, and was then checked 
bythe artillery. But his crossing was thus secured, 
and long before Judah could get his forces gath- 
ered together, Morgan was half way to Colum- 
bia. He had two thousand four hundred and 
sixty men, all told. Before him lay three States — 
Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio — which he meant to 
traverse ; one filled with hostile troops, the 
others with a hostile and swarming population. 

"The next day, at the crossing of Green river, 
he came upon Colonel Moore, with a Michigan 
regiment, whom he vainly summoned to sur- 
render, and vainly strove to dislodge. The fight 
was severe for the little time it lasted ; and 



Morgan, who had no time to spare, drew off, 
found another crossing, and pushed on through 
Campbellville to Lebanon. Here came the last 
opportunity to stop him. Three regiments held 
the position, but two of them were at some little 
distance from the town. Falling upon the one 
in the town, he overwhelmed it before the others 
could get up, left them hopelessly in his rear, 
and double-quicked his prisoners eight miles 
northward to Springfield, before he could stop 
long enough to parole them.* Then, turning 
northwestward, with his foes far behind him, 
he marched straight for Brandenburgh, on the 
Ohio river, some sixty miles below Louisville. A 
couple of companies were sent forward to cap- 
ture boats for the crossing; others were detached 
to cross below and effect a diversion ; and still 
others were sent toward Crab Orchard to dis- 
tract the attention of the Union commanders. 
He tapped the telegraph wires, thereby finding 
that he was expected at Louisville, and that the 
force there was too strong for him ; captured a 
train from Nashville within thirty miles of Louis- 
ville ; picked up squads of prisoners here and 
there, and paroled them. By ten o'clock on the 
morning of the 8th, his horsemen stood on 
the banks of the Ohio. They had crossed Ken- 
tucky in five days. 

" When the advance companies, sent forward to 
secure boats, entered Brandenburg, they took 
care to make as little confusion as possible. 
Presently the Henderson and Louisville packet, 
the J. J. McCoombs, came steaming up the river, 
and landed as usual at the wharf-boat. As it 
made fast its lines, thirty or forty of Morgan's 
men quietly walked on board and took posses-' 
sion. Soon afterward, the Alice Dean, a fine 
boat running in the Memphis and Cincinnati 
trade, came around the bend. As she gave no 
sign of landing, they steamed out to meet her, 
and, before captain or crew could comprehend 
the matter, the Alice Dean was likewise trans- 
ferred to the Confederate service. When Mor- 
gan rode into town a few hours later, the boats 
were ready for his crossing. 

" Indiana had just driven out a previous invader 
— Captain Hines, of Morgan's command — who, 
with a small force, had crossed over " to stir up 
the Copperheads," as the rebel accounts pleas- 

*Some horrible barbarities to one or two of these prison- 
ers were charged against him in the newspapers of the day. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



antly express it. Finding the country too hot 
for him, he had retired, after doing considerable 
damage ; and in Brandenburg he was now await- 
ing his chief. 

"Preparations were at once made for crossing 
over, but the men crowding down incautiously to 
the river bank, revealed their presence to the 
militia on the Indiana side, whom Captain Hines' 
recent performance had made unwontedly watch- 
ful. They at once opened a sharp fusilade across 
the stream, with musketry and an old cannon 
which they had mounted on wagon-wheels. Mor- 
gan speedily silenced this fire by bringing up his 
Parrott rifles; then hastily dismounted two of his 
regiments and sent them across. The militia re- 
treated and the two rebel regiments pursued. Just 
then a little tin-clad, the Springfield, which Com- 
mander Leroy Fitch had dispatched from New 
Albany, on the first news of something wrong down 
the river, came steaming towards the scene of ac- 
tion. Suddenly "checking her way," writes the 
rebel historian of the raid, Colonel Basil Duke, in 
his History of Morgan's Cavalry, "she tossed her 
snubnose defiantly, like an angry beauty of the 
coalpits, sidled a little toward the town, and 
commenced to scold. A bluish-white, funnel- 
shaped cloud spouted out from her left-hand 
bow, and a shot flew into the town, and then, 
cranging front forward, she snapped a shell at 
the men on the other side. I wish I were suf- 
ficiently master of nautical phraseology to do 
justice to this little vixen's style of fighting ; but 
she was so unlike a horse, or even a piece of 
light artillery, that I cannot venture to attempt 
it." He adds that the rebel regiments on the 
Indiana side found shelter, and that thus the 
gunboat fire proved wholly without effect. After a 
little Morgan trained his Parrotts upon her; and 
the inequality in the range of the guns was such 
that she speedily turned up the river again. 

"The situation had seemed sufficiently danger- 
ous. Two regiments were isolated on the Indi- 
ana side; the gunboat was between them and 
their main body; while every hour of delay 
brought Hobson nearer on the Kentucky side, 
and speeded the mustering of the Indiana mi- 
litia. But the moment the gunboat turned up 
the river, all danger for the moment was passed. 
Morgan rapidly crossed the rest of his command, 
burned the boats behind him, scattered the mi- 
litia and rode out into Indiana. There was yet 



time to make a march of six miles before night- 
fall. 

"The task now before Morgan was a simple one, 
and for several days could not be other than an 
easy one. His distinctly formed plan was to 
march through southern Indiana and Ohio, 
avoiding large towns and large bodies of militia, 
spreading alarm through the country, making 
all the noise he could, and disappearing again 
across the upper fords of the Ohio before the 
organizations of militia could get such shape and 
consistency as to be able to make head against 
him. For some days, at least, he need expect 
no adequate resistance, and, while the bewilder- 
ment as to his purposes and uncertainty as to 
the direction he was taking should paralyze the 
gathering militia, he meant to place many a long 
mile between them and his hard riders. 

"Spreading, therefore, all manner of reports as 
to his purposes and assuring the most that he 
meant to penetrate to the heart of the State and 
lay Indianapolis in ashes, he turned the heads of 
his horses up the river towards Cincinnati ; scat- 
tered the militia with the charges of his advanced 
brigade; burnt bridges and cut telegraph wires 
right and left ; marched twenty-one hours out of 
twenty-four, and rarely made less than fifty or 
sixty miles a day. 

"His movement had at first attracted little at- 
tention. The North was used to having Ken- 
tucky in a panic about invasion from John Mor- 
gan, and had come to look upon it mainly as a 
suggestion of a (ew more blooded horses from 
the " blue-grass " that were to be speedily im- 
pressed into the rebel service. Gettysburg had 
just been fought; Vicksburg had just fallen; 
what were John Morgan and his horse-thieves? 
Let Kentucky guard her own stables against her 
own outlaws! 

"Presently he came nearer and Louisville fell 
into a panic. Martial law was proclaimed; bus- 
iness was suspended; every preparation for de- 
fense was hastened. Still, few thought of danger 
beyond the river, and the most, remembering the 
siege of Cincinnati, were disposed to regard as 
very humorous the ditching and the drill by the 
terrified people of the Kentucky metropolis. 

" Then came the crossing. The Governor of 
Indiana straightway proclaimed martial law, and 
called out the legion. General Burnside was 
full of wise plans for "bagging" the invader, of 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



which the newspapers gave mysterious hints. 
Thoroughly trustworthy gentlemen hastened with 
their 'reliable reports' of the rebel strength. 
They had stood on the wharf-boat and kept tally 
of the cavalry crossed ; and there was not a man 
less than five thousand of them. Others had 
talked with them, and been confidently assured 
that they were going up to Indianapolis to burn 
the State-house. Others, on the same veracious 
authority, were assured that they were heading 
for New Albany and Jeffersonville to burn Gov- 
ernment stores. The militia everywhere were 
sure that it was their duty to gather in their own 
towns and keep Morgan off; and, in the main, 
he saved them the trouble by riding around. 
Hobson came lumbering along in the rear — riding 
his best, but finding it hard to keep the trail; 
harder to procure fresh horses, since of these 
Morgan made a clean sweep as he went; and 
impossible to narrow the distance between them 
to less than twenty-five hours. 

"Still the purpose of the movement was not di- 
vined — its very audacity was its 'protection. 
General Burnside concluded that Hobson was 
pressing the invaders so hard, forsooth, that they 
must swim across the Ohio below Madison to 
escape, and his disposition for intercepting them 
proceeded on that theory. The Louisville pack- 
ets were warned not to leave Cincinnati, lest 
Morgan should bring with them his artillery and 
force them to ferry him back into Kentucky. 
Efforts were made to raise regiments to aid the 
Inciianians, if only to reciprocate the favor they 
had shown when Cincinnati was under siege ; 
but the people were tired of such alarms, and 
could not be induced to believe in the danger. 
By Sunday, July 1 2, three days after Morgan's 
entry upon northern soil, the authorities had ad- 
vanced their theory of his plan to correspond 
with the news of his movements. They now 
thought he would swim the Ohio a little below 
Cincinnati, at or near Aurora; but the citizens 
were more apprehensive. They began to talk 
about a "sudden dash into the city." The 
mayor requested that business be suspended and 
that the citizens assemble in their respective 
wards for defense. Finally General Burnside 
came to the same view, proclaimed martial law, 
and ordered the suspension of business. Navi- 
gation was practically stopped, and gun-boats 
scoured the river banks to remove all scows and 



flat-boats which might aid Morgan in his escape 
to the Kentucky shore. Later in the evening 
apprehensions that, after all, Morgan might not 
be so anxious to escape, prevailed. Governor 
Tod was among the earliest to recognize the dan- 
ger; and, while there was still time to secuie in- 
sertion in the newspapers of Monday morning, 
he telegraphed to the press a proclamation call- 
ing out the militia. 

"It was high time. Not even yet had the au- 
thorities begun to comprehend the tremendous 
energy with which Morgan was driving straight 
to .his goal. While the people of Cincinnati 
were reading this proclamation, and considering 
whether or not they should put up the shutters 
of their store-windows,* Morgan was starting out 
in the gray dawn from Sunmansville for the sub- 
urbs of Cincinnati. Long before the rural popu- 
lation within fifty miles of- the city had read the 
proclamation calling them to arms, he was at 
Harrison (Hamilton county, Ohio, on the State 
line), which he reached at 1 p. m., Monday, July 
13th." 

The end of the terrible race for life is thus 
told: 

"Until he reached Pomeroy he encountered 
comparatively lit tie resistance. At Camp Denni- 
son there was a little skirmish, in which a rebel 
lieutenant and several privates were captured; 
but Lieutenant Colonel Neff wisely limited his 
efforts to the protection of the bridge and camp. 
A train of the Little Miami road was thrown off 
the track. At Berlin there was a skirmish with 
the militia under Colonel Runkle. Small militia 
skirmishes were constantly occurring, the citizen 
soldiery hanging on the flanks of the flying in- 
vaders and wounding two or three men every 
day, and occasionally killing one. 

"At last the daring little column approached 
its goal. All the troops in Kentucky had been 
evaded and left behind. All the militia in In- 
diana had been dashed aside or outstripped. 
The fifty thousand militia in Ohio had failed to 
turn it from its pre-determined path. Within 
precisely fifteen days from the morning it had 
crossed the Cumberland — nine days ftom its 
crossing into Indiana — it stood once more on 
the banks of the Ohio. A few hours more of 

•Many thousand men wholly disobeyed the orders, and 
kept their stores or shops open through the day. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



daylight, and it would be safely across, in the 
midst again of a population to which it might 
look for sympathy if not for aid. 

"But the circle of the hunt was narrowing. 
Tudah, with his fresh cavalry, was up, and was 
marching out from the river against Morgan. 
Hobson was hard on his rear. Colonel Runkle, 
commanding a division of militia, was north of 
him. And, at last, the local militia in advance 
of him were beginning to fell trees and tear up 
bridges to obstruct his progress. Near Pomeroy 
they made a stand. For four or five miles his 
road ran through a ravine, with occasional inter- 
sections from hill roads. At all these cross-roads 
he found the militia posted; and from the hills 
above him they made his passage through the 
ravine a perfect running of the gauntlet. On 
front, flank, and rear, the militia pressed; and, 
as Morgan's first subordinate ruefully expressed 
it, "closed eagerly upon our track." In such 
plight he passed through the ravine; and shaking 
clear of his pursuers for a while, pressed on to 
Chester, where he arrived about i o'clock in 
the afternoon of the 18th of July. 

"Here he made the first serious military mis- 
take that had marked his course on Northern 
soil. He was within a few hours' ride of the 
ford at which he hoped to cross; and the skir- 
mishing about Pomeroy should have given him 
ample admonition of the necessity for haste. 
But he had been advancing through the ravine 
at a gallop. He halted now to breathe his 
horses and to hunt a guide. Three hours and a 
half thus lost went far toward deciding his fate. 

"When his column was well closed up, and his 
guide was found he moved forward. It was 
eight o'clock before he reached Portland, the 
little village on the bank of the Ohio nearly op- 
posite Burlington island. Night had fallen — a 
night of solid darkness, as the rebel officers de- 
clared. The entrance to that ford was guarded 
by a little earthwork manned by only two or 
three hundred infantry. This alone stood be- 
tween him and an easy passage to Virginia. 

"But his evil genius was upon him. He had 
lost an hour and a half at Chester in the after- 
noon — the most precious hour and a half since 
his feet touched Northern soil ; and he now de- 
cided to waste the night. In the hurried coun- 
cil with his exhausted officers it was admitted 
on all hands that Judah had arrived — that some 



of his troops had given force to the skirmishing 
near Pomeroy — that they would certainly be at 
Buffington by morning, and that gun-boats 
would accompany them. But his men were in 
bad condition, and he feared to trust them in a 
night attack upon a fortified position which he 
had not reconnoitered. The fear was fatal. 
Even yet, by abandoning his wagon-train and his 
wounded, he might have reached unguarded 
fords a little higher up. This, too, was men- 
tioned by his officers. He would save all, he 
promptly replied, or would lose all together. And 
so he gave mortgages to fate. By morning 
Judah was up. At daybreak Duke advanced 
with a couple of rebel regiments to storm the 
earthwork, but found it abandoned. He was 
rapidly proceeding to make dispositions for cross- 
ing, when Judah's advance struck hin:. At first 
he repulsed it, and took a number of prisoners, 
the adjutant general of Judah's staff among them. 
Morgan then ordered him to hold the force on 
his front in check. He was not able to return 
to his command till it had been broken and 
thrown in full retreat before an impetuous charge 
of Judah's cavalry, headed by Lieutenant O'Neil, 
of the Fifth Indiana. He succeeded in rallying 
and reforming his line. But now advancing up 
the Chester and Pomeroy road came the gallant 
cavalry that, over three States, had been gallop- 
ing on their track — the three thousand of Hob- 
son's command — who for nearly two weeks had 
been only a day, a forenoon, an - hour behind 
them. 

"As Hobson's guidons fluttered out in the little 
valley by the river bank where they fought, every 
man of that band that had so long defied a 
hundred thousand knew that the contest was 
over. They were almost out of ammunition, ex- 
hausted, and scarcely two thousand strong; 
against whom were Hobson's three thousand 
and Judah's still larger force. To complete the 
overwhelming odds, that in spite of their efforts 
had at last been concentrated upon them, the 
ironclad gun-boats steamed up and opened fire. 
Morgan comprehended the situation as fast as 
the hard-riding troopers, who, still clinging to 
their bolts of calico, were already galloping to- 
ward the rear. , He at once essayed to extricate 
his trains, and then to withdraw his regiments by 
column of fours from right of companies, keep- 
ing up meanwhile as sturdy resistance as he 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i°3 



might. For some distance the withdrawal was 
made in tolerable order; then, under a charge of 
a Michigan cavalry regiment, the retreat became 
a rout. Morgan, with not quite twelve hundred 
men, escaped. His brother, with Colonels Duke, 
Ward, Huffman, and about seven hundred men 
were taken prisoners. 

"This was the battle of Buffington Island. It 
was brief and decisive. But for his two mistakes 
of the night before, Morgan might have avoided 
it and escaped; yet it cannot be said that he 
yielded to the blow that insured his fate without 
spirited resistance and a courage and tenacity 
worthy of a better cause. Our superiority in 
forces was overwhelming, and our loss trifling. 

" And now began the dreariest experience of 
the rebel chief. Twenty miles above Buffington 
he struck the river again, got three hundred of 
his command across, and was himself midway in 
the stream when the approaching gunboats 
checked the passage. Returning to the nine 
hundred still on the Ohio side, he once more 
renewed the hurried flight. His men were worn 
down and exhausted by long continued and enor- 
mous work ; they were demoralized by pillage, 
discouraged by the scattering of their command, 
weakened most of all by the loss of faith in 
themselves and their commander, surrounded by 
a multitude of foes, harassed at every hand, 
intercepted at every loophole of escape, hunted 
like game night and day, driven hither and 
thither in their vain efforts to double on their 
remorseless pursuers. It was the early type and 
token of a similar fate under pursuit of which 
the great army of the Confederacy was to fade 
out; and no other words are needed to finish the 
story we have now to tell than those with which 
the historian of the army of the Potomac (Swin- 
ton) describes the tragic flight to Appomattox 
Court House: 

" Dark divisions sinking in the woods for a- 
few hours' repose, would hear suddenly in the 
woods the boom of hostile guns and the clatter 
of the troops of the ubiquitous cavalry, and had 
to be up to hasten off. Thus pressed on all 
sides, driven like sheep before prowling wolves, 
amid hunger, fatigue, and sleeplessness, continu- 
ing day after day, they fared toward the rising 
sun: 

Such resting found the soles of unblest feet." 

Yet to the very last the energy this daring 



cavalryman displayed was such as to extort our 
admiration. From the jaws of disaster he drew 
out the remnants of his command at Buffington. 
When foiled in the attempted crossing above, he 
headed for the Muskingum. Foiled here by the 
militia under Remkle, he doubled on his track, 
and turned again toward Blennerhasset Island. 
The clouds of dust that marked his track be- 
trayed the movement, and on three sides the pur- 
suers closed in upon him. While they slept in 
peaceful expectation of receiving his surrender 
in the morning, he stole out along a hillside that 
had been thought impassable — his men walking 
in single file and leading their horses; and by 
midnight he was out of the toils, and once more 
marching hard to outstrip his pursuers. At last 
he found an unguarded crossing of the Mus- 
kingum at Eaglesport, above McConnellsville; 
and then, with an open country before him, 
struck out once more for the Ohio. 

This time Governor Tod's sagacity was vindi- 
cated. He urged the shipment of troops by rail 
to Bellaire, near Wheeling; and by great good 
fortune Major Way, of the Ninth Michigan cav- 
alry, received the ordeis. Presently this offi- 
cer was on the scent. "Morgan is making for 
Hammondsville," he telegraphed General Burn- 
side on the twenty-fifth, "and will attempt to 
cross the Ohio river at Wellsville. I have my 
section of battery, and shall follow him closely. " 
He kept his word, and gave the finishing stroke. 
"Morgan was attacked with the remnant of his 
command, at 8 o'clock this morning," announced 
General Burnside on the next day, July 26th, "at 
Salineville, by Major Way, who, after a severe 
fight, routed the enemy, killed about thirty, 
wounded some fifty, and took some two hundred 
prisoners. " Six hours later the long race ended. 
"I captured John Morgan to-day, at 2 o'clock p. 
m. " telegraphed Major Rue, of the Ninth Ken- 
tucky cavalry, on the evening of the 26th, 
"taking three hundred and and twenty-six prison- 
ers, four hundred horses and arms." 

Salineville is in Columbiana county, but a few 
miles below the most northerly point of the State 
touched by the Ohio river, and between Steuben- 
ville and Wellsville, nearly two-thirds of the way 
up the eastern border of the State. Over such 
distances had Morgan passed, after the disaster 
at Buffington, which all had supposed certain to 
end his career, and so near had he come to 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



making his escape from the State, with the hand- 
ful he was still able to keep together. 

This raid occurred at a perilous time for Jef- 
fersonville and New Albany, where $4,000,000 
worth of Government stores were deposited ^nd 
awaiting movement. These cities were in the 
District of Kentucky, and so under the orders 
of General Boyle, commanding at Louisville; 
but General Hughes assumed to order out the 
companies of the Legion and the minute-men, 
to defend the threatened district. Before Mor- 
gan had reached the Ohio Knapp's batteiy, 
from New Albany, the artillery ef Floyd county, 
was ordered to move on a steamer to the mouth 
of Salt river to prevent Morgan's crossing there. 
As he crossed many miles below, they saw noth- 
ing of him. General Hughes went to Mitchell, 
on the Ohio & Mississippi railroad, and got to- 
gether a force of two thousand militia, to resist 
any rebel demonstration that might be made in 
that direction, moving thence, by rail, eastward 
to Vernon, as the march of the rebels passed on. 
New Albany was left in command of a Federal 
surgeon, Major Thomas YV. Fry. To him Col- 
onel Lewis Jordan, who had four hundred men 
of the Legion in front of a portion of Morgan's 
force near Corydon, appealed urgently for rein- 
forcements. Fry referred the request to General 
Boyle, in Louisville, at least sixteen hours before 
the whole rebel command had come up and con- 
fronted Jordan's lines. The latter sent repeated 
requests for aid, but no attention seemed to be 
paid to them, and after a gallant and hard fight, 
the colonel had to surrender his little band. 
Morgan then marched his right wing through 
Greenville, in the northwest part of Floyd 
county, and through New Providence, in Clarke; 
while his left wing took the direction of Paoli, 
Orange county. Scouts and squads of the 
enemy also pushed from the main body south- 
ward here and there, and in at least one case 
came down even to the Ohio, which they struck 
at a point between Jeffersonville and Utica. 
Some incidents of that part of the raid which 
traversed these two counties will be found in our 
histories of the townships. 

On the afternoon of the same day that Mor- 
gan reached this vicinity, a brigade of infantry 
and a battery of artillery, the whole commanded 
by General Manson, was placed on board the 
cars at Jeffersonville, to be hurried out in the 



hope of intercepting or pursuing the raider; but 
they were stopped and disembarked by order of 
General Boyle before leaving the depot, he 
doubtless realizing the futility of pursuit, now 
that Morgan had passed, or perhaps thinking 
that the force would yet be needed for the pro- 
tection of the Government stores and buildings 
at New Albany and Jeffersonville. 

Little harm seems to have been done by the 
raiders in their passage thought Clarke county; 
but from Floyd county claims for damage, 
amounting in all to $30,291.61, were presented 
for payment by the State of Indiana; of which 
a little more than one-third, or $11,188.71, were 
allowed. 

Again, in June, 1864, upon the occasion of 
Morgan's last invasion of Kentucky, the militia 
of this region were called out, the Harrison 
and Floyd counties regiments of the Indiana 
Legion, and the two New Albany batteries en- 
camped at that place — likewise the Clarke county 
regiment at Jeffersonville — ready to move to the 
protection of Louisville, or for other service, at a 
moment's notice. Adjutant General Noble came 
personally from Indianapolis to New Albany to 
see that the men of the Legion were in proper 
condition, and that the batteries were in good 
shape for movement or action; but, happily, the 
services of none of them were required. 

BOUNTIES AND BENEFITS. 

The following is an exhibit from the first 
volume of the adjutant-general's reports for 
1861-65 of the amounts expended in Clarke and 
Floyd counties for local bounties, the relief of 
soldiers families and miscellaneous purposes con- 
nected with the war: 



CLARKE COUNTY. 



Townships. 



Bounty. Relief. 



Jeffersonville (including city) $39,000. 

Utica 10,000 

Charlestown 8 ,34 

Owen 1,820 

Bethlehem 1,538 

Washington 3.982 

Monroe 6,000, 

Silver Creek 3. 120 

Wood 5<5°° 

Oregon 4 ,500. 

Carr 2,885 

Union 4.500. 

Besides $3,680 for bounties, $2,377.52 for re- 
lief, and $261.47 for miscellaneous expenditures 
on war account, from the county at large, making 



00 


$1,565.00 


.00 


400.OO 


CO 


552-O0 


00 
•45 




359-45 


DO 


586.00 


OO 
OO 




150.00 


CO 
DO 




486.00 


OO 


25.00 


OO 


176.00 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



io 5 



several totals of $94,916.45, $6,776.97, and 
$261.47, and a grand total of $101,954.89. 

FLOYD COUNTY. 

Locality. Bounty. Relief. Mis. 

New Albany City $ 14.813.74 $ 4.803.76 $930 

New Albany township 71,027.90 74,427.50 

Greenville township 9,800.00 2,563.00 

Georgetown township 1,830.00 

Lafayette township 3,500.00 1,325.00 

Franklin township 7,970.00 834.00 

County at large 17,750.00 



Totals $124,861.64 $85,780.26 $930 

And a grand total of $211,571.90 for this 
county, and of $313,526.79 for the two counties. 

Under the act of the State Legislature bearing 
date March 4, 1865, for the benefit of soldiers' 
families, the State auditor, August 10th of the 
same year, provided for the distribution to 203,- 
724 beneficiaries, of the total sum of $1,646,- 
809.92. Of this amount $19,173.84 fell to 
2,373 needy ones in Clarke county, and $18,- 
640.56 to 2,307 beneficiaries in Floyd. 

It may be noted here that, in the closing year 
of the war, Jesse J. Thomas, of New Albany, 
was appointed the director from the Ninth dis- 
trict for the Indiana Soldiers' Home. 

May 9, 1 861, Governor Morton wrote to Gen- 
eral McClellan that Louisville ought to be com- 
manded by batteries on the Indiana side, as a 
security for the good conduct of that city. Two 
pieces of heavy ordnance were accordingly sent 
to New Albany, but none for Jeffersonville. The 
latter place afterwards went to some extent into 
the manufacture of gun-carriages, Dawson & 
Marsh, of that city, in 1863, furnishing the Gov- 
ernment with twelve, at two hundred and fifty 
dollars each. 

On the 2d of October, 1861, Governor Morton 
had all the arms in the arsenal at Indianapolis 
sent down to Jeffersonville for distribution to the 
Home guards of this part of Indiana and also of 
Kentucky. 

At one time in the early part of the war, goods 
that it was supposed were destined for the 
enemy, were stopped in transit at New Albany. 

In 1861 the Jeffersonville, Madison & In- 
dianapolis railroad carried on war account 6,109 
men, exclusive of regiments going to the field, 
for which it was paid the sum of $9,413.66. 
The Louisville, New Albany & Chicago road 
similarly carried 9,105, and was paid $9,149.42. 

The Indiana regiments which rendezvoused 



and organized at New Albany during the war 
were the Twenty-third, under Colonel William 
L. Landrum, under authority issued June 24, 

1861, mustered into service July 29, 1861, and 
out .of service July 23, 1865; the Fifty-third, 
under Colonel Walter Q. Gresham, authorized 
in October, 1861, mustered in February 26, 

1862, mustered out July 21, 1865; the Sixty- 
sixth, under Colonel Roger Martin, mustered in 
August 19, 1862, and out June 3, 1865; and the 
Eighty-first under Colonel William W. Caldwell, 
authorized August 13, 1862, mustered in August 
29, 1862, and out June 13, 1865. The Jeffer- 
sonville regiment was the Forty-ninth, organized 
by Colonel John W. Ray, under authority granted 
August 23, 1861. It was mustered into service 
November 21, 1861, and out of service June 13, 
1865. The Fifth Kentucky regiment of infantry, 
under Colonel Lovell H. Rousseau, was also or- 
ganized here, as before noticed, at Camp Joe 
Holt. 

The whole number of troops furnished the 
Union armies by Indiana during the late war 
was 208,367; of these 652 commissioned officers 
and 23,764 enlisted men were killed in action or 
died of disease; 10,846, sad to say, deserted the 
flag; and 13,779 remain unaccounted for. 

THE ROSTER. 

The distinguished adjutant general of the 
State at the close of the great struggle, General 
William H. H. Terrell, builded better than he 
knew for the local historian in the preparation of 
his magnificent report for the war period. This is 
in better shape, for the purposes of the historian, 
than any other report of the kind that has fallen 
under the eye of the writer of this history. It 
contains, not only full rosters of the regiments 
and other commands that were recruited in In- 
diana during the war, but also, where the officers 
or clerks of the companies have done their duty, 
full memoranda of the residences of officers and 
men. It is thus practicable — which it is not 
generally possible to do in adjutant generals' re- 
ports of the war — to identify soldiers as certainly 
belonging, at the time of their enlistment 
or discharge at least, to one or the other 
county of the State. It is to be regretted, how- 
ever, that in some cases the residences of the 
men of an entire company or regiment have 
been omitted from the rolls; and, if any Clarke 



io6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



or Floyd county officer or man does not find his 
name in the following lists, when he should be 
there, his censure must light upon those who 
long ago should have recorded his residence 
upon the roster of his command. Every line of 
every one of the eight thick volumes of the re- 
port has been carefully scanned in the effort to 
miss no name which should be embraced in 
this roll of honor; and in some cases, when 
the residence of officers has been ascertained to 
be in these counties, the presumption has pre- 
vailed that their commands were also bodily from 
the same region, and their rolls have been cop- 
ied accordingly. If any one finds that he in 
this great catalogue experiences the peculiar sort 
of fame of which Byron spoke, "to have your 
name spelt wrong in print," he must also refer 
the fault to some one back of the compiler and 
publishers of this book. Every name has been 
copied with care, and it is believed, exactly; and 
the proofs of this chapter have been laboriously 
compared with the original copy. It is hoped 
in this way approximate exactness has been 
attained in nearly all cases. 

For the substance of the regimental and other 
brief histories, and in a few cases for the text 
itself, we are also indebted to the admirable 
report of General Terrell: 

FEDERAL APPOINTMENTS. 

The following named officers from Floyd and 
Clarke counties were commissioned by the Pres- 
ident of the United States: 

Walter Q. Gresham, of New Albany, major-general of 
volunteers by brevet, commissioned August 15, 1865, mustered 
out April 30, 1866. 

Benjamin F. Scribner, of New Albany, brigadier-general 
of volunteers by brevet, commissioned August 8, 1864, re- 
signed August 21, 1864. 

John S. Simonson, of Charlestown, brigadier-general of 
volunteers by brevet, and colonel in the regular army; com- 
missioned March 13, 1865. 

DeWitt C. Anthony, of New Albany, brigadier-general of 
volunteers by brevet, commissioned March 13, 1865, resigned 
as colonel March 24, 1864. 

Daniel F. Griffin, of New Albany, brigadier-general of 
volunteers by brevet; commissioned March 13, 1865, resigned 
as lieutenant-colonel November 8, 1864, now dead. 

Augustus M. Van Dyke, of New Albany, major of volun- 
teers by brevet; commissioned March 13, 1865; mustered out 
as assistant adjutant-general of volunteers September 19, 
1865. 

Thomas B. Prather, of Jeffersonville, captain of volunteers 
by brevet, commissioned May 19, 1865, mustered out June* 
29, 1865. 

George A. Bicknell, of New Albany, first midshipman on 
probation at the Newport Naval academy, from December 2, 



1861; son of Hon. George A. Bicknell, Sr. , now a judge of 
the supreme court of Indiana. 

NINTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

(Three years' service.) 

Company D — George D. Box, Jeffersonville; substitute. 

Company G — Charles W. Mitchell, New Albany; substi- 
tute. 

Company I — William Goforth. Clarke county, drafted; 
Edward Abbott, James H. White, Noah Brown, Clarke 
county, substitutes. 

Company K — Columbus Blinkenbaker, Georgetown, 
drafted. 

ELEVENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

(Three years' service.) 
Unassigned recruits — Charles Benson, John Smith, 
Clarke county. 

TWELFTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

(One year service.) 

This' regiment was organized from the surplus 
companies that reached Indianapolis in answer 
to the call for six regiments of three months' 
troops, and was accepted for State service for one 
year, on the nth of May, 1861, with John M. 
Wallace as colonel. On the nth of June it left 
Indianapolis for Evansville, where it occupied 
the camp lately vacated by the Eleventh regi- 
ment. July 1 8th orders were received from the 
War department for its transfer to the United 
States service for the rest of its term of service, 
and on the 23d it left Evansville for Baltimore. 
Reaching that place on the 27th the Twelfth 
went next day to Sandy Hook, Maryland, near 
Harper's Ferry, where it was assigned to Aber- 
crombie's brigade of General Banks' army of the 
Shenadoah. While here Colonel Wallace re- 
signed, and Lieutenant-Colonel Link was pro- 
moted to his place. The regiment remained 
in camp in Pleasant Valley, near Maryland 
Heights, until the 6th of August, when it moved 
with the army to Hyattstown, and encamped 
there for a time. General Joe Johnston was re- 
poited near Leesburgh, on the opposite side of 
the Potomac, with a large force, and this march 
was made with a view to prevent his crossing. 
The following month marches were made to 
Darnestown, Nolan's Ferry, Seneca Creek, and 
Tuscarora Creek, and in October to Point of 
Rocks, Hyattstown, Urbana, and Frederick. 
On the nth the regiment left the last named 
place, and advanced through Boonsboro and 
Middletown to Williamsport, Maryland. On the 
13th the several companies were stationed at 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



107 



Williamsport, Dams No. 4 and 5, Sharpsburg, 
and other points on the Maryland side of the 
Potomac, where they engaged in picket and out- 
post duty until March, 1862, during which time 
skirmishes and picket firing across the river were 
frequent. On the nth of December the enemy 
captured a captain and seven men who had 
crossed to the Virginia shore at Dam No. 4, to 
see if they were really there. They found out. 
March 1, 1862, the Twelfth itself crossed the 
Potomac and marched to Winchester ; on the 
nth had a skirmish near that place, and the 
next morning was the first regiment to enter the 
town, which had been evacuated the night before. 
On the 21st it marched to Berryville and thence 
across the Shenandoah and over the Blue Ridge, 
through Snicker's Gap to Aldie. After the vic- 
tory at Winchester Heights on the 23d it moved 
back to the Shenandoah, where it was met with 
orders to retrace its steps southward toward Warr- 
enton Junction, which it reached on the 3d of 
April, crossing the first battlefield of Bull Run 
en route. Here it remained until May 5th, 
when it moved to Washington and was there 
mustered out of service on the 14th of the same 
month. 

The regiment was reorganized for the three 
years' service in the following August, under 
Colonel Link, and early took the field again. 
As but few Floyd or Clarke county men were 
in its ranks, we will not turther follow its fortunes. 

COMPANY A. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Thomas G. Morrison, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant John W. Moore, New Albany. 
First and Second Lieutenant John A. M. Cox, New 
Albany. 

[All the following-named were also of Floyd county, i 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant William France. 
Sergeant Paul H. McDonald. 
Sergeant David M. Jordan. 
Sergeant Alonzo C. Clark. 
Corporal Thomas Beasley. 
Corporal James E. Riley. 
Corporal Winfield S. Whitman. 
Corporal Charles Armstrong. 
Corporal Middleton C. Tucker. 
Corporal William L. Mullineau. 
Musician Marshall Green. 
Musician Fernando Taylor. 

PRIVATES. 

Jacob C. Atkinson, John Oscar Beard, Philip Best, Benja- 
min Broker, Walter P. Brown, William D. Carter, William 
H. Chapman, Lorenzo A. Clark, William M. Cox, John Dell, 



Adam Delord, John S. Detrick, Henry Dillon, Milton C. 
Dodson, Levi W. Evans, Andrew H. Fabrique, John Fields, 
Andrew Flannigan, Joseph C. Frank, Samuel J. Gardner, 
James M. Graham, William J. Glossbrenner, William F. 
Haigh, Peter Hallam, William Harley, Eugene Hefferman, 
Alexander Hennage, Silas Hill, Alexander B. Hoskins, Ed- 
ward G. Hughes, William Jacobi, Lawson H. Kelly, George 
Knott, Amos Lang, James H. Lemmon, Francis L. Lipp- 
mann, Julius E. Liter, Samuel D. Love, Courtland Marsh, 
Zarne Marsh, John N. Meyer, John G. Meyer, Robert F. 
Minshall, Joseph C. Monin, William Munz, William Mc- 
Gonnigal, Michael Naughton, David Oakes, Eliphalet R. 
Pennington, Augustus J. Raignel, Michael Romelsberger, 
Thomas Q. W. Sage, Alpha R. Shaipe, William 
Sharpe, Henry L. Sherman, John Shotwell, Lewis 
H. Smith, John W. Stewart, George Stoker, Charles A. 
Thomas, John Thorne, Louis P. Tronselle, Augustus 
Wealthy, Joseph Zellar, Louis M. Chess, James W. Chess, 
Albert Grove, William Hinton, William Higbee, Henry C. 
Jones, Louis Mulholland, Lewis S. Nelson, James H. 
Smith. 

[Three-years' Service.] 

COMPANY C. 

Private James Dougherty, substitute. 

COMPANY F. 
Private Daniel M. Hicks, substitute. 

COMPANY G. 
Private Charles Frederick, drafted. 

COMPANY H. 

PRIVATES. 

John T. Kelly, John A. Mansfield, substitutes. 
COMPANY I. 

PRIVATES. 

Samuel Price, George Reester, substitutes. 
COMPANY K. 

PRIVATES. 

Enoch Bostwick, John Smith, substitutes. David Ballard, 
Clarke county, unassigned recruit. 

THIRTEENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

[Three-years' Service. ] 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Quartermaster Thomas H. Collins, New Albany. 
Adjutant Saxey Ryan, Jr. 

COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second and First Lieutenant Moses M. Gordon, George- 
town. 

COMPANY H. 

PRIVATES. 

John Conrad, William H. Howard, Marion Rhotan, 
Clarke county, recruits. 

[Re-organized Regiment.] 
COMPANY C. 
Private Jonathan W. Bell, Jeffersonville. 
COMPANY I. 

PRIVATES. 

Henry Lawson, Floyd's Knobs; John G. McKee, New 
Albany. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



COMPANY K. 
Private James Smith, Jeffersonville. 

FIFTEENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

[Three-years' Service.] 

COMPANY H. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Lieutenant Alexander Burnett, New Albany. 

SIXTEENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

[One-years' Service.] 

This regiment was organized at Richmond, 
Indiana, under Colonel Pleasant A. Hackleman, 
in May, 1861, for one years' service within the 
State. When, however, the news of the Bull 
Run disaster fell upon the country, its services, 
without limitation as to place, were offered to the 
General Government. On the 23d of July it 
broke camp, and was the first to march through 
Baltimore after the attack made there upon the 
Massachusetts and Pennsylvania troops. At 
Harper's Ferry it was assigned to Banks' army. 
About the middle of August it moved with that 
force through the valley of the Monocacy to 
Hyattstown, and in the latter part of the month 
marched thence to Darnestown. It remained 
there until the battle of Ball's Bluff, October 21, 
to the sound of whose cannon it moved to Ed- 
ward's Ferry, crossed the Potomac in canal- 
boats, and joined a force there fronting the 
enemy. The pickets were attacked the next af- 
ternoon, and two of the regiment killed. It was 
soon after placed in line of battle on the bluff, 
and took part in a brisk engagement, from which 
the enemy retired during the night. On the 
23d the Sixteenth covered the retreat of the 
Union forces, and was the last to recross the 
Potomac, two men being drowned during the 
movement. It encamped on Seneca creek until 
December 2d, and then took up winter quarters at 
Frederick City. In the spring of 1862 it partici- 
pated in the forward movement of the army, 
and about the middle of March built a bridge 
across the Shenandoah at Snicker's Ferry, in the 
short space of four hours. March 2 2d the Blue 
Ridge was crossed, but recrossed at once after 
hearing of the battle of Winchester, and then 
crossed again, marching successively to Aldie, 
Warrenton, and finally to Washington, where it 
was mustered out May 14th. Its reorganization 
for three years was promptly undertaken, and 
completed August 19th, at Indianapolis; but, as 



the Clarke county company does not reappear 
in it, we do not continue this sketch. 
company c. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain James Perry Gillespie, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Henry B. Austin, Xew Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Charles P. Williamson, New Albany. 
[The remainder are also of Floyd county. J 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant John Murry. 

Sergeant James Albert Noe. 

Sergeant Columbus Moore. 

Sergeant Wilson Morris. 

Sergeant Michael Parker. 

Corporal Henry Jones. 

Corporal David Moore. 

Corporal John C. Roster. 

Corporal Robert Parent. 

Corporal Seth Hawkins. 

Corporal Michael Angelo. 

Corporal Donald Cullen. 

Musician William H. Isaacs. 

PRIVATES. 

Thomas Ashby, Lewis P. Baxter, Charles W. Bruder, 
Michael Brazelle, John Bowers, William Byland, James 
Brennen, James Bush, William Cenida, James M. Chase, 
Robert R. Chess, Hezekiah Cleveland, AndrewJ. Constable, 
Edward Crandall, George Dorn, Lyman Davis, Asa Dean, 
Stephen Dutton, Henry Donnell, Colin Devenish, Jacob El- 
lenbrand, William M. Emery, John Englert, Columbus En- 
gland, William Finch, James E. Fitzgerald, Philip Golden, 
William Golden, William Gardner, Harrison Goins, Michael 
Howard, James M. Jolley, Hamilton Kelley, Isaac N. Seffler, 
Bartlett Lermond, Lafayette Lindley, George W. Morgan, 
Joseph Morris, James McHaugh, Henry Noland, Timothy 
O'KiefT, Thomas Paient, John W. Parsons, Charles Pender- 
guist, William Pfeiffer, William Rakestraw, Roland Riley, 
Elisha Rose, William Rose, Charles Sour, George W. Stout, 
John Sims, Harry Seymour, Thomas Teaford, Lorenzo True- 
blood, Joseph Weaver, James Williams, Joseph Wild, Wil- 
liam Webb, Edward Wells. 

SEVENTEENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

The Seventeenth was organized at Indianapo- 
lis in May, 1 861; mustered into service June 12th, 
and started for Western Virginia July 1st. Most 
of its service, however, was with the Army of 
the Cumberland. It was at Shiloh and Corinth; 
engaged Forrest sharply and routed him at Mc- 
Minnville, Tennessee; was in the march to the 
Ohio with Buell's army and fought the enemy's 
rear guard at Mumfordsville; returned to Nash- 
ville in November, 1862; was in the actions at 
Hoover's Gap and Ringgold, the desperate fight 
at Chickamauga, and the battles of the Atlanta 
campaign; captured Macon, Georgia, with three 
thousand prisoners, sixty pieces of artillery, etc., 
and did post duty there until mustered out of 
service, August 8, 1865. It had a public recep- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



109 



tion at Indianapolis upon its return. Its great 
services were accomplished with the remarkably 
small loss of 30 officers and 66 men killed, 13 
officers and 176 men wounded — total 258. 

Adjutant Greenbury F. Shields, New Albany. 

COMPANY A. 
George Allison, Sylvestor Galton, Memphis, recruits. 

COMPANY C. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Sergeant and Second Lieutenant {and first lieutenant 
company K) Edward G. Mathey, New Albany. 
PRIVATE. 
Christopher Bobeiich, New Albany. 
COMPANY F. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal Lafayette Carnes, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

Adam Feisner, Charles Feisner, James Holeston, New 
Albany; Charles Lougtier, George Shannon, Jeffersonville. 

(Three years' service). 

Recruits, John P. Boling, Jeffersonville; John Shannon, 
New Albany. 

COMPANY I. 
James Handy, Jeffersonville, recruit. 
COMPANY K. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal and Secor.d Lieutenant Henry K. Smith, Green- 
ville. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal Anton Hillan, New Albany. 
Musician Silas McClung, Greenville. 

PRIVATES. 

William H. Best, Jeffersonville; John N. Brown, New Al- 
bany, Mathew Churchman, Greenville; James Clark, Jefferson- 
ville; Jacob Floyd, Greenville; Philo Highfill, Georgetown; 
William and Montgomery Ingram, Greenville; George W. 
Knasel, New Albany; recruit Charles M. Scott, Greenville. 

EIGHTEENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
(Unassigned recruits!. 
Thomas Dunlap, John J. West, Clarke county. 

TWENTY-FIRST REGIMENT (FIRST HEAVY ARTIL- 
LERY. ) 
Thomas Perry, Jeffersonville recruit. 

TWENTY-SECOND REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

(Three years' service). 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Colonel Jefferson C. Davis, Charlestown. 

This command rendezvoused t Madison, 
under Colonel Jefferson C. Davis, of George- 
town, then a captain in the regular army, but 
subsequently a distinguished division and corps 
commander. August 17th it was transported 



to St. Louis, where it joined Fremont's army, 
and was sent up the Missouri to the relief of 
Colonel Mulligan, who was beleaguered at Lex- 
ington. It moved with Fremont to Springfield 
and Otterville; was in the affair at Blackwater, 
and marched in January with Curtis' expedition 
against Sterling Price, participating in the battle 
of Pea Ridge, in which it bore a prominent part, 
losing nine killed and thirty-two wounded, in- 
cluding Lieutenant Colonel Hendricks. Its 
most famous engagements thereafter were at Per- 
ryville, Stone River, and Mission Ridge, and it was 
in a number of minor engagements. After the 
reorganization as a veteran regiment, it took part 
in the Atlanta campaign, the march to the sea, 
and the final marches and battles northward. It 
was mustered out at Washington early in June, 
and publicly welcomed at Indianapolis on the 
1 6th of that month. 

COMPANY A. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal Eugene Jones, Jeffersonville. 
COMPANY D. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain David W. Dailey, Georgetown. 

Captain Isaac N. Haymaker (also second lieutenant), 
Georgetown. 

Captain James M. Parker (also first lieutenant), George- 
town. 

Captain Thomas H. Dailey (also second and first lieuten- 
ant), Georgetown. 

First Lieutenant William H. Raits, Georgetown. 

The following-named were all of Clarke 
county: 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Joseph B. Rowland. 

Sergeant David N. Runyan. 

Sergeant John B. Watkins. 

Sergeant Patrick H. Carney. 

Sergeant James Simonson. 

Corporal Benjamin F. McEwen. 

Corporal William R. Goer. 

Corporal George W. Smith. 

Corporal Charles C. Winters. 

Corporal John B. Butler. 

Corporal George G. Taff. 

Corporal Wash W. Nandair. 

Corporal James H. Wilson. 

Musician Maurice Hall. 

Musician Edward Phillepy. 

Wagoner Martin V. Bridges. 

PRIVATES. 

George W. Bard, Westerfield Baxter, Loran M. Bartle, 

Wesley Bowen, Markius C. Beisbe, Green Burgess, Eleivins 

! Burwell, Samuel H. Campbell, Alfred Caughman, William 

Christian, Harvey Clapp, Samuel Covert, Silas Covert, 

Thomas Cowling, Edward N. Conner, Harman Cously, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



William Crilciifield, Martin L. Critchrield, Thomas H. 
Dailey, Henderson Davis, William Deitz, John Q. Dixon, 
Thomas Donlan, George W. Eads, William E. Gable, 
Martin Gavin, James Gaylord, Andrew J. Geltner, Charles 
J. Giles, James A. Guire, Henry Hines, Lewis Harker, 
Marion Harrison, Carter Harrison, Walter Harrison, John 
F. Haynes, William Harman, Joseph' Hayburn, Ephraim 
Harman, Andrew J. Horde, Peter Hoffman, James H. 
Kane, Benjamin F. Kenny, Volney B. Kenny, Ebenezer 
Kelse, Peter Kizer, Enoch Lockhart, Henry Lonnis, Thomas 
J. McMillan, Lemuel L. Mitchell, Thomas Moore, George 
W. Montgomery, Nathaniel Montgomery, George W. 
Morris, Joseph D. Officer, Calvin R. Ogle, Milton C. Olivar, 
Lewis H. Olivar, Joseph C. Overman, Miles B. Patrick, 
James M. Parker, Philip Phifer, Alexander N. Rutherford, 
James H. Ridge, Benjamin F. Shoots, Henry H. Sickley, 
Robert P. Slazdin, Joseph H. Slazdin, William Sooper, 
Samuel K. Stearns, William Stone, Harrison Slurdivan, 
William A. Steirhem, Charles B. Still, William Stewart, 
Belshazer Swinger, George W. Tieman, John Tipps, George 
W. Trumbull, William W. Walters, John C. Watterson 
Samuel L. Wells, Laban J. Williams, William W. Wheeler. 

COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant Samuel H. McBride, New Albany. 

COMPANY F. 
Daniel Pascall, Jeffersonville, recruit. 

COMPANY H. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal Preston Holmes, New Albany. 
Musician Thomas P. Knowland, Charlestown. 
Private Oliver Grazier, Jeffersonville. 

TWENTY-THIRD REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

(Three years' service.) 
The Twenty-third was almost wholly a Floyd 
and Clarke county regiment. It was organized 
and mustered into service at New Albany July 
29, 1861, under Colonel William L. Sanderson. 
Early in August it moved to St. Louis, and thence 
to Paducah. In the attack upon Fort Henry it 
was placed upon gunboats, one of which", the 
Essex, exploded its boilers during the action, by 
which several members of Company B lost their 
lives. On the second day of the battle of Shiloh 
the Twenty-third was engaged as part of General 
Lew Wallace's division, losing one officer and 
fifty men killed, wounded, or missing. During 
the siege of Corinth it formed part of the reserve 
stationed at Bolivar, and remained at that point 
through the summer of 1862. In September it 
went to Iuka, and took part in the re-capture of 
that place, when it was ordered to proceed to 
Hatchie Bridge, but arrived too late to take part 
in the engagement there. In November it 
marched down the Mississippi Central railroad, 
and after the capture of Holly Springs by Van 



Dorn moved to Memphis. February 21, 1863, 
it proceeded down the river to take part in the 
movement on Vicksburg, and was engaged with 
Grant's army prior to the march to the rear of the 
doomed city. April 2d, volunteers were called 
for from the several companies, and placed on 
board the transport J. W. Cheeseman to run the 
Confederate batteries at Vicksburg, which was 
accomplished without loss of life, though with 
considerable harm to the vessel. While moving 
to the rear of the place, the regiment was en- 
gaged at Thompson's Hill, and again a few days 
after, with some loss in both cases. May 12th 
it was in the battle of Raymond, and charged 
the enemy, taking many prisoners, but losing 
one-third of the number engaged. At Champion 
Hills it was the first to arrive in aid of Hovey's 
division, soon after the battle opened, and took 
active part in the battle. May 24th it partici- 
pated in the attack and capture of Jackson, 
Mississippi. During the siege of Vicksburg it 
was upon the front line, and lost in all five 
officers and fifty men killed and wounded. It 
had then a comparatively quiet fall and winter 
until February 3, 1864, when it moved with 
Sherman's great raid into Mississippi, and assisted 
in destroying the railways on the line of march. 
At Hebron, Mississippi, the regiment re-enlisted, 
and soon after the raid took its veteran furlough 
home. At the expiration of this it was ordered 
to Bird's Point, Missouri, and thence to Clifton, 
Tennessee. During the Atlanta campaign it was 
united with the Seventeenth corps at Ackworth, 
Georgia. From this time it was engaged nearly 
every day in skirmish or battle until Atlanta 
was taken. October 3d it started with the force 
in pursuit of Hood, who was marching to the 
rear of Sherman, but returned to Atlanta, and 
took part in the march to the sea, during which 
it was several times engaged in brisk skirmishes. 
It accompanied the corps from Savannah to 
Beaufort, and thence, in January, 1865, on the 
march through the Carolinas. It lost four men 
wounded in the battle of Bentonville, the last 
fought by Sherman's grand army. On the 4th of 
March it reached Goldsborough, North Carolina, 
and after the surrender of Johnston's army took 
up its line of march for Washington. It was 
transported thence to Louisville, and remained 
on duty until July 23d, when it was mustered 
out of service. On the 25th the regiment ar- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



rived at Indianapolis, and was prominent in the 
reception given that day to the Twenty-third, 
Thirty-third, Forty-second, and Fifty-third Indi- 
ana regiments in the Capitol grounds. Ad- 
dresses were made upon this occasion by their 
late commander, General Sherman, by Gov- 
ernor Morton, and other eloquent speakers. A 
few days thereafter the command received its final 
discharge, and the men dispersed rejoicing to their 
homes. It had suffered mortal loss, during its 
entire term, to the number of three hundred and 
forty-five killed in battle and died of wounds, 
and one hundred and seventy-nine died of dis- 
ease — a total loss, by death, of five hundred and 
twenty-four officers and men. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Colonel William L. Sanderson, New Albany. 

Colonel George S. Babbitt (also lieutenant colonel), New 
Albany. 

Lieutenant Colonel DeWitt C. Anthony, New Albany. 

Lieutenant Colonel William P. Davis (also major), New 
Albany. 

Lieutenant Colonel George S. Babbitt, New Albany. 

Major Henry C. Ferguson, Charlestown. 

Major Alonzo Tubbs, New Albany. 

Adjutant Eugene Commandeur, New Albany. 

Adjutant Shadrach R. Hooper, New Albany. 

Adjutant John J. Howard, New Albany. 

Quartermaster Isaac P. Smith, New Albany. 

Quartermaster Jacob C. Graves, New Albany. 

Chaplain John D. Rogers, New Albany. 

Surgeon Thomas D. Austin, New Albany. 

Assistant Surgeon Nathaniel Field, Jeffersonville. 

Quartermaster Sergeant William H. Hale, New Albany. 

Commissary Sergeant Christian G. Zulauf, New Albany. 

COMPANY A. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Frederick Pistorius, New Albany. 

Captain Thomas Krementz (also first lieutenant), New 
Albany. 

Captain Michael Koch, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Leopold Neusch, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant William P. Orth (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Christian C. Zulauf, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant George Diechert, New Albany. 
[The remainder of this company was from Floyd county]. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Adam Schmuck. 
Sergeant George Diechert. 
Sergeant John Deitz. 
Sergeant Henry Lever. 
Sergeant Charles Schmick. 
Corporal Louis Hoffman. 
Corporal William McKinley, Jr. 
Corporal Michael Coch. 
Corporal Frank Mutz. 
Corporal Frederick Dillinger. 
Corporal Leopold Neusch. 



Corporal Frederick Bruder. 
Corporal Charles Goodman. 
Musician Julius Blessin. 
Musician John Munsch. 

PRIVATES. 

Edward Adam, Christian Abele, Robert August, Henry 
Beararch, Peter Binger, August Bowvier, Frank Briggerman, 
Frank Bruner, Andrew Carle, Jacob Deibal, Philip Deis, 
Jacob Enderlin, Peter Fillion, Andrew Fox, George Frank, 
Anton Graf, Peter George. John M. Graff, George Ger- 
shutz, Joseph Heirizman, John Hess, Christian Holschward, 
Louis Holhs, John Holler, Tobias Hert, Frederick Heardt, 
August Ikey, Felix Knoell, Jacob Koch, Joseph Konig, 
Casper Knauer, Henry Kempf, Harman Kresia, August 
Krell, John Knunin, Jacob Korns, Henry Kilinger, Frank 
Long, Conrad Lotes, Peter Lotz, John Leming, Louis Lehr, 
AdamMorsch, Charles Mentz, George Mudwiler, John Mud- 
wiler, Frederick Norman, Charles Nestel, John Offerman.John 
Prensy, Benjamin Purviance, Robert Porter, Peter Pope, 
Samuel Probst, Joseph Pfiefer, Henry Robertius, James 
Reardon, Joseph Richart, Frank Rainer, John D. Shirner, 
George Seilenfuss, JohnSandlewick, Paul Stein, Fedele Schub- 
nell, Frank Schmidt, Henry Stouts, Frederick Silcher, An- 
ton Steffan, William Steinberger, Gottlieb Spatig, John 
Thran, Philip Trukes, Henry Willard. John Wich, Charles 
Wagner, Max'millian Wunsch, Daniel Wolf, John Wood, 
William Williard, Christian Widereau, Peter Weber, Jacob 
Young, John Zeller. 

COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain William W. Caldwell, Jeffersonville. 

Captain William M. Darrough (also first lieutenant), Jef- 
fersonville. 

Captain Michael Whalen (also first lientenant), Jefferson- 
ville. 

Captain Frederick Wilkins, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant Henry C. Foster (also second lieutenant), 
Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant Phiiip Pflanzer, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Daniel Trotter, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Martin Muthig, Jeffersonville. 
[This was a Clarke county company throughout.^ 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Mike Whalen. 
Sergeant Henry C. Foster. 
Sergeant Charles Trotter. 
Sergeant Frederick Wilkins. 
Sergeant Albert Weifels. 
Corporal George Mcllvane. 
Corporal Eli Triber. 
Corporal William Burke. 
Corporal John G. Smith. 
Corporal Patrick Howlett. 
Corporal Oliver Smith. 
Corporal George M. Brown. 
Corporal Henry Stephens. 
Musician John W. Thompson. 
Musician Theodore Alpha. 

PRIVATES. 

James Anderson, Patrick Brown, William Baker, Thomas 
Bailey, Henry Brosch, Frederick Bowman, Michael Burns, 
Conn Boyle, John M. Comsin, Samuel Crowder, Daniel 
Campbell, Anthony Coyne, Patrick Cassedy, Thomas Caugh- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



lin, John Coyne, William Donalos, Lawrence Delaney, Pat- 
rick Doyle, Daniel Dwire, Hugh Dennigan, George Ehvell, 
Charles Erb, Ottoway B. Evans, Peter Frank, Gottlpib Frank, 
John Gouber, Peter Gippert, Jacob Grant, Louis Gauntner, 
Alfred Hash, Lawrence Hanley, Thomas Herbert, John 
Hahn, Christopher Hahn, William Henry, Frank Holfiner, 
Leopold Hess, Henry Harnen, Jerry Hylard, Harrison Hoy, 
Louis Habrik, George S. Idell, Jefferson Jones, John Jen- 
nings, Hugo Knoth, Joseph Kichner, Peter Kern, Frank 
Lyons, Samuel Loninger, Michael Linch, Julius Lamb, 
Benjamin Lubeck, John Lavacomb, Thomas Mansfield, 
Thomas Murray, Samuel Messenger, Martin Missinger, 
Dedrich Matfield, John Miller, Alfred Martin, Martin Mutig, 
Samuel McCurdy, Peter McGrery, Sylvester A. McKenzie, 
Timothy O'Conner, William O'Neal, Philip Pflantzer, John 
Pfoff, Henry Petty, Thomas R. Roach, ]ohn Rader, Charles 
Ramin, William Sponci, Christian Seifried, Charles Slefer, 
Carl Stacker, John Toolis, James A. Timmonds, John Tobin, 
John H. Talbott, Otto Waltz, John H. Williams. 

COMPANY C. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain David C. Kay, Greenville. 

Captain Marion W. Smith (also first lieutenant), Green- 
ville. 

Captain William R. Mead (also sergeant) Greenville. 

First Lieutenant Hiram Murphey (also second lieutenant), 
Greenville. 

First Lieutenant William T. Rodman, Greenville. 

Second Lieutenant John Jackson {also first sergeant), 
Greenville. 

Second Lieutenant George B. Spurrier, Greenville. 
[The rest of the company were Floyd county men.] 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Isaac H. Easton. 
Sergeant John M. Latter. 
Sergeant William J. Morris. 
Corporal Benjamin F. Morris. 
Corporal Jeremiah Monks. 
Corporal Benjamin F. Welker. 
Corporal Phillip J. Zubrod. 
Corporal Philip W. Royse. 
Corporal Rufus H. Keller. 
Corporal Andrew J. Moore. 
Corporal Joseph Merchant. 
Musician Harrison H. McClellan. 
Musician Charles H. Kepfly. 

PRIVATES. 

John M. Akers, William H. Ashly, James Ashly, Joseph 
Ansley, William J. Berly, David L. Blankenbaker, Elijah 
Burton, Henry Bower, James Bovvers, Jacob R. Butterfield, 
William Campbell, James M. Campbell, William H. Cum- 
mines, Samuel T. Collins, ]ohn H. Cooley, George W. 
Cook, William H. H. Dollins, Pleasant C. Dollins, Wood- 
ford Davis, Benjamin Dodd, Young D. Davenport, John B. 
Dudley, John W. Ellis, John F. Eaton, Miller C. English, 
William Fullenlove, John Gross, Samuel Gross, George M. 
Henry, Edward Harrison, William B. Hinckley, Granville 
Holtsclaw, George W. Harmon, Henry Jones, Robert J. 
Johnson, Thomas W. Keffly, Jacob Kentick, John P. Kite, 
Joseph Linder, Martin Linder, Stephen Lukenville, Samuel 
C. Lukenville, Thomas Lewis, William C. McClelland, 
Daniel T. Mclntyre, James A. Mclntyre, Thomas I. Motts- 
enger, David Mead, Daniel McKenzie, Andrew Norman, 



George W. Newland, Jacob E. Navil, James F. Okes, Geb- 
hart Oexinrider, John Pennington, Jonathan Pence, Jacob 

A. Palton, Squire S. Riley, James W. Rose, Francis M. 
Rozse, William T. Rodman, Newton W. Rodman, Benja- 
min M. Rodman, Joseph Sutherland, Andrew J. Sutherland, 
Aquilla Standiford, William A. Slater, Lewis Smith, Hiram 

B. Stevenson, Bela Spurner, George W. Summers, John T. 
Steele, William Stewart, Perry Swain, George B. Sease, 
Aaron Smith, George B. Spurrier, James M. Tibbatts, Harbin 
H. Waltz, Henry H. Wilcoxson, Willis G. Whittaker, 
George L. Walker, James D. Watts. 

COM TAN Y D. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain George S. Babbitt, Mew Albany. 
Captain John W. Hammond, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant William Strain, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Madison M. Hurley, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Garrett E. Riggle, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Nelson T. Gailey, New Albany. 
[This was a Clarke county company.] 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergant D. M. Roberson. 
Sergeant |ohn W. Hammond. 
Sergeant James Totten. 
Sergeant Garrett E. Riggle. 
Sergeant Charles R. Mesfield. 
Corpoial William Dailey. 
Corporal George Walker. 
Corporal William S. McCluxe. 
Corporal William T. Roberson. 
Corporal John Osbom. 
Corporal John W. Portlock. 
Corporal Leonidas L. Ayres. 
Corporal Henry Elijah. 
Musician J. Angele. 
Musician B. M. Bessinger. 

PRIVATES. 

W. T. Arnas, H. Brown, A. N. Beach, Cyprian Bennett, 
Edward Pary, Samuel H. Bell, John Bailey, John Cinna- 
mon, Alonzo Chamberlain, Thomas Crawford, John Cole- 
man, Francis M. Coleman, Patrick Dewitt, William R. Dodd, 
Thomas Dulanty, Andrew Dunn, Jack Doll, Miles Finegan, 
Andrew J. Fisher, S. Fisher, Nelson S. Gailey, Haw Gibbs, 
Jefferson Gondson, John W. Gondson, John B. Graham, 
James P. Gott, Michael Gorman, Timothy Haley, William 
H. Harrison, Abraham Hedges, Barney Henrytree, John 
Hickey, Thomas S. Harriss, S. Hischlay. Daniel H. Johnson, 
Thomas J. Johnson, Stewart Kellems, Fred Kreamer, Mar- 
shall Kemp, William H. Long, John R. Longert, Jonas 
Longert, David Lance, Joseph McNeely, Frank McKee, 
Hugh McMomeany, James Macandaran, James Murray, 
John Murray, Richard Murray, Daniel Miseniller, Henry 
Mulvaney, James Martin, John Nesbett, Robert Pipes, John 
Patterson, Thomas P*. Paniss, S. B. Portlock, James W. 
Robertson, John M. Robinson, George Russell, James Shean, 
Jerry Shea, Henry Sharps, John Snellbaker, Elijah Shepley, 
William Stewart, Samuel Strain, James Tigert, David Ten- 
nison, Henry Tennison, George Townsend, Fred Tuikey, 
William H. H. Toney, James Tnell, Charles E. Villier, 
Alfred Williams, Albert M. Wright, Hampton Wade, 
Thomas Walls, Asbury Williams, Alfred Young, Martin C. 
Younger. 

Recruit — Stewart Kellems, Mew Albany, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



113 



COMPANY E. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 
Captain Thomas Clark. New Albany. 
Captain John J. Hardin. New Albany. 
First Lieutenant David T. McQuiddy, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant David Long. New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Louis P. Berry. New Albany. 
(The remainder were from Floyd county). 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Milton J. Lewis. 
Sergeant William H. Dean. 
Sergeant Thomas P. Moore. 
Sergeant John J. Hardin. 
Sergeant John W. Edmondson. 
Corporal David V. Balthis. 
Corporal David G. McCann. 
Corporal Shadrach K. Hooper. 
Corporal Edward Roberts. 
Corporal John A. Morton. 
Corporal John B. Baldwin. 
Corporal Lafayette W. Pfrmmer. 
Corporal J onah L. Reed. 
Musician Addison Joselyn. 
Musician Richard N. Fox. 

PRIVATES. 

Hezekiah Allen, Daniel Brooks. Henry L. Boyden, Wil- 
liam R. Burton. Alexander S. Banks, Theodore Berwanger, 
William H. Brown, Joshua Brown, Joseph W. Barkwell, 
Robert B. Benton, Benjamin F. Carby, Jesse A. Carter, 
John H. Cramer. Jacob Case. William H. Cisco, John W. 
Coffin, Preston Davis, Edward Delaney, Oscar B. Dunn, 
Joshua Davis. Edward M. Davis, William Elgen, Jeremiah 
Emmery, Nathan Evans, John Fisher, Hugh Farrell, Wil- 
liam Flynn, Charles Groves, Frank M. Griggs, Andrew J. 
Hampton, John F. Howerton, A. G. Hitchcock, Christian J. 
Hurst, Silas F. Hoar. Andrew J. Hays, Francis G. Har- 
mondson, Alexis Lemon, Cyrus B. Lewis, David Long, Henry 
B. Martin, John L. Martin, Walter R. Mears. Charles F. 
Master. George W. Martin, William M. Mix, Benjamin F. 
Non-ell, George W. Nutting, William H. Neelv, George 
W. Owens, Ichabod Overly, Willis Pruett. Richard R. Pond, 
William A. Pond, Edward A. Pond, James Pollock, Robert 
H. Patridge, Hezekiah Pray, James Robertson, Matthew 
P. Robertson, Bart Robbins, Henry C. Rodgers, Samuel 
B. Rogers, Eli B. Stephenson, William M. Spaul- 
ding, Ephraim C. Smith, Benjamin C. Smith, Samuel W. 
Stratton, Albert A. Show, Zephaniah Sawtelle, William R. 
Sidwell, Frederick Stoch, Peter W. Shank, R. H. 
Simpson, Christian Strattbrug, Robert W. Tunt. John Troy, 
Dennis Teaford, Benjamin W. Wilson, John H. Warren, 
Martin B. Warrell, John T. Withers, David Wheat. 

COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain William P. Davis, New Albany. 

Captain John S. Davis (also first lieutenant), New Albany. 

Captain William L. Purcell. New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Harvey C. Moore (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Richard Burk (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant William H. Hale, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Charles W. Speake (also first sergeant). 
New Albany. 



Second Lieutenant George W. Grosshart, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant John T. Goodrich, New Albany. 
(The rest of the company was from Floyd). 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant James H. Curts. 
Sergeant Richard Burk. 
Sergeant George W. Grosshart. 
Sergeant Jerry Brooks. 
Corporal Benjamin F. Cornelius. 
Corporal Harvey Long. 
Corporal William L. Purcell. 
Corporal Daniel Cook. 
Corporal Harrison C. Hess. 
Corporal John H. McCartney. 
Corporal Andrew H. Gochee. 
Corporal Charles Rogers. 
Musician John A. J. Nichols. 
Musician John Gresham. 

PRIVATES. 

William Bliss, Solomon Blice, John E. Barbee, Paul 
Burkhart, James M. Bins, Silas M. Brown, Columbus Bolin, 
George L. Bratton, William J. Cearns, William Creamer. 
Frank Creamer, Norman Cunningham, Phillip Dietrich, 
Francis M. Davidson, Benjamin Dawson, Michael Devainey, 
James V. Darkiss, John Duffey, John Funk, Henry P. Fran- 
cis, Thomas B. Ferrell, Isaac Free, Simon B. Gresham, 
Lewis Gillman, Jacob Graves, John T. Goodrich, Riley Gib- 
son, Charles L. Green, Peter Harvey, Thomas H. Haidin, 
John Henry. Roger Hartegan, William Hitner, John High- 
fill, Deealin S. Jocelyn, George A. Jones, Richard Jones, 
Benjamin B. Johns, Thomas Johns, Miles James, Charles 
Jarvis, Robert Jennings, Sylvester M. Kron, John W. Kron, 
William L. Kerr, George A. Long, Cravan Long, John H. 
Long, Thomas W. Lane, Isaac Lefler. Edward Labree, 
John S. Levi, Martin J. G. Mowrey, John Mars, David 
Mars, Martin Montgomery, John McCullum, Thomas Mc- 
Intire, James Mclntire, James McCollan, John Neary, Wil- 
liam A. Purkhiser, August Petty, Isaac N. Purcell, Ephraim 
J. Potts, Joseph Porter, Smith Reasor. Jr., William Reasor, 
Morgan Reasor, Oscar Rager, Henry L. Stinson. Aaron 
Suiton, David Sage, Thomas Stewart. William Tirrell, 
Charles Tucker, Eugene Vollette, Sebastian Wessell, John 
Wooton, Thomas J. Wells, Marion Welton, Thomas Wil- 
kinson, Thomas Williamson, George Windling. 

COMPANY G. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Alonzo Tubbs, New Albany. 
Captain Anthony S. Bauer, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Samuel C. Mahlon, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Abraham D. Graham, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Conrad H. Hiner, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant William McCarty, New Albany. 
(It was a Floyd county company throughout). 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant William S. Daniels. 
Sergeant James H. Rice. 
Sergeant J ohn W. Dermore. 
Sergeant Ab. Graham. 
Sergeant Robert Gardner. 
Corporal Peter C. Edmondson. 
Corporal Greenberry Dorsey. 
Corporal William J. O'Neil. 
Corporal Thomas J. Healstead. 
Corporal George \V. Newton. 



U4 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Corporal John Fogarty. 

Corporal Anthony S. Bauer. 

Corporal Francis M. Tubbs. 

Musician John H. Wade. 

Musician Jacob W. Cassell. 

PRIVATES. 

John K. Blackburn, Conrad Bates, Theodore S. Barton, 
Christian Boss, Timothy Bochan, Henry Burt, Salem Centis, 
Edward Cozle, John Carter, Patrick Duffy, Isaiah Davis, 
James A. Deubo, James B. Dennison, James G. Donlow, 
John Freedman, Lewis Ferrir, Barney Flynne, Isaac Green, 
Benjamin H. Graham, Patrick Grey, Hazel Gott, John A. 
Green, Adam A. Gott, James Hamsten, Edward Harrison, 
Walter [. Hippie, Andrew J. Hand, Iraton P. Hungate, 
George S. Kendall, John Keeton. Richard W. King, 
Alexander B. Lankford, William C. McMahell, William 
McCall, Garret McCall, William McCarty, William Mad- 
inger, James Miller, Stephen Murphy, Patrick Mansfield, 
Jacob T. Myers, John W. Newton, James Newton, Martin 
Ohiner, Daniel O'Donnell, Neal O'Brien, James Perry, Wil- 
liam S. Potter, Elisha Prime, August Pfeiffer, Henry Robin- 
son, Elhannan H. Reynolds, George W. Riley, Frank Seltz, 
William H. Stroud, Arthur Sellers, William Sadler, Charles 
Spencer, Henry Sharon, James Sherman, Edmund Scott, 
John Seve, Noah Syre, John Syre, Charles H. Stewart, 
James Taylor, Samuel Thurston, Isaiah Thurston, James 
Tussey, Patrick Tobin, Thomas Tobin, Martin Tobin, Wil- 
liam Thomas, James Uhlrick, Lyman Warren, William 
Wild, James H. Wyble, Samuel N. Wyble, Asa C. Williams, 
Thomas Watson, James Whitten, Clemens Wahlbrink, 
David Walker. 

COMPANY I. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Henry C. Ferguson. 

Captain James N. Wood. 

Captain Benjamin F. Walter (also first lieutenant). 

First Lieutenant Joshua W. Custer (also second lieuten- 
ant). 

First Lieutenant David Moore. 

Second Lieutenant Henry C. Dietz. 

Second Lieutenant Frank M. Crabtree. 

Second Lieutenant Claiborn M. Delton. 

[The foregoing were from Charlestown; the residue were 
from Clarke county J. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Henry C. Dietz. 
Sergeant Frank M. Crabtree. 
Sergeant James D. Rose. 
Sergeant Richard Reynolds. 
Sergeant James N. Wood. 
Corporal Joseph Vanmeter. 
Corporal Frank D. Crew. 
Corporal Alpha Walter. 
Corporal William H. Kimberlin. 
Corporal George Hudson. 
Corporal George A. Neville. 
Corporal David Pratt. 
Corporal John Meyers. 
Musician James S. Knowland. 
Musician George W. Knowland. 

PRIVATES. 

Andrew Amick, Benjamin F. Andrews. Frank Bowers, John 
W. Baldwin, John H. Bane, William A. Barton, Charles F. 



Bollawig, John D. Boyd, Geoige Bowman, William Butter- 
field, Ambrose H. Caldwell, Richard Clegg, Joseph Cole, 
William M. Cory, Milton C. Cory, James Cosgriff, 
Thomas Cozzins, William C. Cozzins, John Cozzins, 
David Coshaw, William Covert, Elisha D. Custer, James R. 
Cunningham, Alexander Davis, William T. Davis, Clai- 
borne M. Delton, Joseph Deering, Peter Dexter, John 
Dillon, Michael Easter, George Field, Alonzo Francory, 
William S. Flood, Louis Goodline, Charles Henrite, Mack 
Hooker, John F. Howard, Henry Hopson. Jonathan Hus- 
ton, Alexander Holman, Reuben C. Hart, Thomas J. Huff- 
man, George W. Idner, David H. Johnson, Jacob Kael- 
hopper, Almus Kennedy. Jacob Kimberlin, Benjamin F. 
Kimberlin, Alexander Lewis, John Mead, Henry Madden, 
Darius Marshall, James Mathis, John R. McDaniel, Peter 
L. McDaniel, Daniel B. McDonald, William H. M. Mc- 
Donald, John A. McWilliam, David McGregor, George M. 
Gawley, Silas M. Neely, Edward Metz, James Mont- 
gomery, J osiah Mullen, David Moore, Thomas J. Morgan, 
John Pratt, Enoch Pratt, Levin Reed, Joseph Richard- 
son, Solomon F. Rose, David Sullivan, William Sibert, 
Samuel E. Smith, William St. Clair, Samuel P. Stark, James 
Stark, Jacob Steiner, John Stone, Allen Vest, Louis A. 
Voegle, Mithew A. Watt, Lafayette Wood. 

COMPANY K. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Vincent Kirk. 

Captain James F. Stucker. 

First Lieutenant Jerome Beers. 

First Lieutenant Russell B. Woods. 

First Lieutenant Jesse Poe. 

Second Lieutenant Silas E. Warden. 

Second Lieutenant Samuel C. Collins. 

Second Lieutenant John Fess. 

[All of New Albany. It was wholly a Floyd company J. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Samuel C. Collins. 
Sergeant Charles F. Ross. 
Sergeant Edward P. Bruner. 
Sergeant Lafayette Frederick. 
Sergeant James F. Stucker. 
Corporal William H. Kirk. 
Corporal Charles Edwards. 
Corporal Joseph P. Doubet. 
Corporal George W. Nunemacker. 
Corporal George W. Evelseger. 
Corporal David E. Craig. 
Corporal Thomas F. Garrettson. 
Corporal Lew W. Johnson. 
Musician Russell B. Wood. 
Musician George Muir. 

PRIVATES. 

Charles August, William Andrew, William H. Akers, 
Henry L. Benedict, Charles J. Beers, John W. Blake, James 
W. Bird, Henry Brock, Frank M. Boston, James Cleave- 
land, Adam Clark, Patrick Cunningham, Martin Consory, 
Julius Dontaz, Frank Dontaz, James Davis, William H. 
Daily, William H. Dawson, Lorenzo D. Emery. Alexander 
G. Ewing, Malen James Elliott, John Fess, Ewell Ford, 
Jacob G. Ford, Samuel A. Fergitt, C. C. Frederick, George 
W. Fox, George Goldsby, Isaac Gibson, William S. Gibson, 
Ira C. Gunn, Anthony Gainer, Richard Humdhrey, James 
M. Harryman, John Halenback, George Hale, Lewis A. 
Hollis, William H. Hillyard, John C. June, William H. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



"5 



Kirk, William H. H. McDonald, Norman M. McCartney, 
Ephraim Muir, Charles W. Muir, Joseph Moran, Conrad 
Miller, Jr.. John Murray, Joseph H. Nelson, Thomas H. 
Nash, George M. Patterson, George Pfeiffer, John Pilliworth* 
Jesse Poe, Burton Parsons, Robert George Ross, Henry H. 
Royce, Nelson Roberts, Samuel Roby, Andrew J. Schwartz, 
William Seamster, James G. Smith, Jesse Smith, Wilford 
Sanders, John O. Sandback, Laban Sittisen, John Slider, 
Joshua Swincher, William Thompson, William Turnboy, 
Philip Tool, James C. Vanderbilt, John M. Wallace, Charles 
W. Wood, James B. Whalen, John Watterman, Joseph P. 
Wooley, Thomas J. VVooldridge, Joseph P. Warfield, David 
Wyman, John T. White, John Moore, Edward McConnel, 
Webster McDonald. 

TWENTY-FIFTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY G. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant Mahlon E. Williamson. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant and corporal Mahlon E. Williamson, New 
Albany. 

TWENTY-SIXTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY E. 
Private John T. Miller, Jeffersonville. 

TWENTY-SEVENTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY C. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant and Captain John T. Boyle. 

THIRTIETH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY A. 

PRIVATES. 

George Andre, Martin T. Byron, Joseph Carrel, Wash L. 
Moffitt, Milt W. Miles, August Mainlail, James M. McFall, 
Henry Willcutt, all of Jeffersonville. 

THIRTY-FIRST REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY C. 
Recruits— John B. Brown, George W. Bimley, John Brewster, 
Halbey B. Fransley. James M. Keon, John C. Keon, Jeffer- 
sonville. 

COMPANY D.* 
Private James N. Anderson, New Albany. 

COMPANY F. 
Recruit Robert McKim, Floyd county. 

THIRTY-SECOND REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY E. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Lieutenant Max Hupfaup (also second lieutenant, 
company G), Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY H. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Franz Kodalle, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Nathan Levy, Jeffersonville. 
First Lieutenant Stephen Schutz (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Ernst Meyer, New Albany. 



COMPANY I. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Captain William Seivers, Jeffersonville. 

Not a single enlisted man in this command, 
either the old or the reorganized regiment, has his 
place of residence named in the report. Most of 
company H, apparently, were from Floyd county. 

THIRTY-THIRD REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY C. 
Recruit John B. McClaskey, Jeffersonville. 

THIRTY-FIFTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY I. 
Recruit William Brown, Jeffersonville. 

THIRTY-EIGHTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

This regiment was also recruited very largely 
in these two counties. Both its colonels were 
New Albany men, and most of the other officers 
were from that city, Jeffersonville, or Charlestown. 
General Walter Q. Gresham, of Corydon, now 
judge of the United States district court for In- 
diana, was its first lieutenant colonel. The Thir- 
ty-eighth rendezvoused at New Albany, and was 
mustered into service September iS, 1861. 
Three days afterward it moved to Elizabethtown, 
Kentucky. The fall and winter were occupied 
at Camp Nevin, on Nolin's fork of Barren river, 
and at Camp Wood, on Green river, near Mum- 
fordsville. In February, 1862, it accompanied 
Buell's army in the movement on Bowling Green 
and Nashville, reaching the latter place March 
6th. After a rest of about twenty days it 
marched to Franklin, thence to Columbia, and 
thence to Shelbyville, where it staid till May 1 ith, 
making from time to time rapid marches to pre- 
vent or obstruct the raids of Morgan's cavalry. 
Mai 13th it had a skirmish with the enemy near 
Rogersville. On the 29th it moved toward Chat- 
tanooga, and reached the opposite bank of the 
Tennessee June 7th, whence it returned to Shel- 
byville, and presently was advanced to Steven- 
son, Alabama. Its next movement was to 
Dechard, where it remained from August 17th 
until Bragg crossed the Tennessee, when it fell 
back to Nashville and thence marched northward 
with Buell's army. The Thirty-eighth was en- 
gaged in the campaign through Kentucky, taking 
part in the action at Perryville, where it sustained 
the heavy loss of twenty-seven killed, one hundred 
and twenty-three wounded and seven taken pris- 
oners. It was then sent to Bowling Green, where 



n6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



it arrived November 2d, and was placed in the 
First division of the Fourteenth corps. Early the 
next month it returned to Nashville, and was 
thence pushed to the front at Murfreesboro, 
where it took part in the great battle of Stone 
River, losing fourteen killed and eighty-six 
wounded. After this it encamped at Murfrees- 
boro until the Chattanooga campaign opened. It 
was engaged in the lively skirmish at Hoover's 
Gap, losing one man killed and fifteen men 
wounded; and subsequently in the battle of 
Chickamauga, where its losses footed nine kille d, 
fifty-nine wounded, and forty-four missing, being 
a large percentage of the number engaged. Re- 
turning to Chattanooga the Thirty-eighth re- 
mained inactive until the 23d and 25th of No- 
vember, on which days, respectively, it took part 
in the battles of Lookout Mountain and Mission 
Ridge.' The following winter was passed at Ross- 
ville and Chattanooga. The regiment re-enlisted 
at Rossville, December 28, 1863, and on the 3d 
of the next January left for home on its veteran 
furlough, three hundred and sixty strong. It 
reached Indianapolis, January 9th, and returned 
to Chattanooga February 26th. The next month 
it removed to Tyner's Station, and the next to 
Graysville, Georgia. May 7th it started with the 
grand army on the Atlanta campaign, and was in 
all the skirmishes and battles of that memorable 
movement. At Jonesboro the Thirty-eighth 
carried the rebel works at a single dash. In the 
charge the color-bearer was killed just as he was 
planting the standard inside the works, when 
Lieutenant Redding, of Salem, seized the color 
and carried it through the rest of the day. The 
regiment lost one hundred and three killed, 
wounded and missing in this campaign. Octo- 
ber 4th it marched in pursuit of Hood as far as 
Gaylersville, Alabama, whence it returned to At- 
lanta, and in November moved with the army of 
Georgia on its campaign to the sea. It remained 
in Savannah until February 5th, and then started 
on the march to Goldsboro. It was in most of 
the actions of this campaign, including the af- 
fair at Bentonville. From Goldsboro it moved 
to Raleigh, and thence, after Johnston's surrender, 
to Richmond, Alexandria, and Washington, aver- 
aging thirty-two miles a day, and being but six 
days on the way. From the Federal capital the 
command was transported to Louisville, and 
there, after a short period of further service, was 



mustered out July 15, 1865. It also had an en- 
thusiastic reception at Indianapolis, and was soon 
afterwards finally released from its long and ardu- 
ous service. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel Benjamin F. Scribner, New Albany. 

Colonel Daniel T. Griffin (also major and lieutenant col- 
onel). New Albany. 

Lieutenant Colonel James B. Merriwether (also major), 
Jeffersonville. 

Major Joshua B. Jenkins, Jeffersonville. 

Major William C. Shaw, New Albany. 

Adjutant Daniel T. Griffin, New Albany. 

Adjutant George H. Devol, New Albany. 

Quartermaster John R. Cannon, New Albany. 

Surgeon William A. Clapp, New Albany. 

Assistant Surgeon Thomas C. Mercer, Utica. 

Sergeant Major George H. Devol, New Albany. 

Commissary Sergeant Michael T. Griffin, New Albany. 

COMPANY B. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain Charles B. Nunemacher, New Albany. 
Captain William C. Shaw (also first and second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Andrew McMonigal. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant William O. Shaw, New Albany. 
Musician Alvia Chamberlain, New Albany. 
Musician Craven Chamberlain, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

Henry Hunter, George Knight, New Albany; William 
Labry, Floyd Knob; Andrew McMonigle, New Albany; Re- 
cruits Henry Barker, New Albany; Reuben Edwards, Ed- 
wardsville; Henry Hunter, Andrew Huim, Stephen White- 
man, New Albany. 

[But few of the names in this roll have a place of residence 
attached]. 

COMPANY C. 



James Saldkill, Charlestown; recruits Peter J. Morrison, 
John P. C. Morrison, New Albany. 

COMPANY E. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Musician John Clyne, New Albany. 
COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Wesley Conner, Charlestown. 

Captain William M. Pangburn (also first lieutenant), 
Charlestown. 

Captain Joshua B. Jenkins (also first and second lieuten- 
ant), Jeffersonville. 

Captain Benjamin Parke Dewey (also first lieutenant). 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Stephen L. Cole, Charlestown. 

First Lieutenant Thomas R. Mitchell, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Thomas H. Adams, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Michael T. Griffin, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Elias Daily, Charlestown. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



t'7 



NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

(This was almost wholly a Clarke county company) 
First Sergeant Thomas H. Adams. 
Sergeant William M. Pangburn. 
Sergeant Robert Watson. 
Sergeant John M. Plaskate. 
Sergeant Uriah McConnell. 
Corporal William Tucker. 
Corporal Fred M. Goss. 
Corporal Elias Daily. 
Corporal Milton Buttorf. 
Corporal Robert Latta. 
Corporal William P. James. 
Corporal Chester Allen. 
Corporal Alban V. Huckleburry. 
Musician Perry Tucker. 
Musician William Rockey. 
Wagoner William Eversole. 

PRIVATES. 

John Abbott, Samuel Amick, George Apperson, A. P. Al- 
ford, John A. Bozer, Lewis Bernard, Benjamin Baker, Daniel 
Baker, I. T. Baugh, Henry Briggs, James Buttorf, Daniel 
Cleveland, Enoch Causey, David Cole, Charles Cole, L. I. 
Clapp, James Chappel, Isaac N. Carlin, Edward Carney, H. 
S. Carter, Isaac Dailev, Robert Dailey, James Dailey, August 
Davis, Elevin C. Elsey, Henry Frank, Isaac H. Flint, James 
Ford, Benjamin Ferguson, Bruner Gusgind, Jacob Hartman, 
Samuel Helton, Alfred Hamlin, Herman Hammelman, 
Alexander L. Justice, John James, Frank S. James, James F. 
Jarvis, M. B. Jenkins, John Kemple, Jacob Kemple, Elijah 
Kemple, Thomas Kelly, James Kelly, Mortimer Lewelyn, 
Samuel A. Lewelyn, B. F. Lewis, A. Lonnesberry, William 
H. Marberry, Thomas R. Mitihek, LukeMcMahon, William 
Morris, Robert G. Morris, James H. Matthews, John W. 
Overman, Levi R. Pettit, William Pitman, Elva Perry (New 
Albany), John Rouff, W. R. Roberts, Valentine Steinman, 
Jesse Stoutzman, Christian Staffinger, William Stansberry, 
John Sanders, Thomas J. Schinler, Thomas ]. Smith, 
George Tlrrell, John Vest, Fred Velter, Christian Williams, 
Frank Williams, Joseph A.Williams. George Waughman, 
A. H. Young. Recruit, George W. French. 

COMPANY H. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Gabriel Poindexter, Jeffersonville. 

Captain Alexander Martin (also first lieutenant), New 
Albany. 

Captain Leander C. McCormick (also second and first 
lieutenant), New Albany. 

Captain Victor M. Carr (also second and first lieutenant), 
Jeffersonville. 

Captain Andrew J. Crandall (also first lieutenant), Jeffer- 
sonville. 

First Lieutenant Samuel W. Vance, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Joseph J. Leach, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Andrew J. Howard, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Thomas Cain, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Samuel F. Smith, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant L. C. McCormick, New Albany. 
Sergeant Victor M. Carr, Jeffersonville. 
Sergeant Andrew J. Crandall, Jeffersonville. 
Corporal Thomas Cain, New Albany. 
Corporal Joseph L. Leach, Jeffersonville. 



Musician James E. Ryan, Jeffersonville. 
Wagoner William Marshall, Utica. 

PRIVATES. 
William Brady, Jeffersonville; James N. Leach, New 
Albany; Samuel F. Smith, New Albany; James Williams, 
Jeffersonville. Recruits, James F. Crandall, Basil P. Call, 
William Holland, William B. Pooley, William Piercey, Jef- 
fersonville; William A. McCafferty, Enoch T. Leach, George 
J. Schenk. 

[Most of the names in this roll are without notes of resi- 
dence.] 

COMPANY I. 

PRIVATES. 

Charles F. Roynon, George W. Southard, New Albany. 

COMPANY K. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First (also second) Lieutenant George L. Newman, New 
Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant George G. Newman, New Albany. 
[Many names in this company have no residennce at- 
tached.] 

FORTY-SECOND REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY B. 
Recruit, George P. Dantic, New Albany. 

COMPANY D. 
Recruits, Aaron E. Allane, Dennis Conway, James Dewyer, 
Jonathan B. Newkirk, Samuel Pittman, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY G. 
Recruit, Charles F. John, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY I. 
Recruit, Alvey E. Hodge, Floyd Knob. 

COMPANY K. 
Recruits, Frank Lauman, Patrick O'Brien, Solomon 
Rosenbarger, George W. Sigler. 

FORTY-FOURTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 
COMPANY A. 
Recruit, George W. Rankins, New Albany. 

FORTY-NINTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY.) 

(Three years' service.) 
This was the first Indiana regiment to rendez- 
vous and organize at Jeffersonville, from which 
place it was largely officered, especially on its 
field and staff. Its commander was Colonel 
John W. Ray, son of one of the pioneer Method- 
ist preachers, and long a resident of that place, 
but since the war an eminent lawyer and public 
man in Indianapolis. It was mustered into ser- 
vice November 21, 1861, and moved for the in- 
terior of Kentucky December nth. On the 
13th it reached Bardstown, where a camp of in- 
struction was formed. January 12, 1862, it 
started for Cumberland Ford, arriving February 



n8 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



15th, and remaining there until June. It was 
here severely afflicted by sickness and lost many 
of its men. On the 14th of March several com- 
panies were engaged in a skirmish at Big Creek 
Gap, Tennessee, and nine days thereafter in a 
fruitless attempt to capture Cumberland Gap. 
June 1 2th it marched under General Morgan 
again upon the Gap, and occupied it on the 18th, 
the enemy having evacuated it without a fight. 
Here the Forty-ninth encamped until the night 
of September 17th, when the Federal troops in 
their turn abandoned the works, as the Confed- 
erates had cut off their lines of communication, 
and prevented the garrison from obtaining sup- 
plies. It was with Morgan's command during 
the entire letreat to the Ohio through Eastern 
Kentucky, subsisting most of the time upon 
green corn. The march continued sixteen 
days, when Greenupsburg was reached October 
3d. Crossing the river the regiment encamped 
and refitted at Oak Hill, Ohio, and pres- 
ently was moved to Western Virginia, up the 
Kanawha as far as Coal Mouth. Returning 
from this expedition it was embarked, November 
17th, in transports at Point Pleasant, for Memphis, 
which city was reached on the 30th. Decem- 
ber 19th it embarked with Sherman's army on 
the expedition to Vicksburgh, landing at Chicka- 
saw Bayou on the evening of December 26th, and 
engaged in the five day's battle that followed. 
In that it lost fifty-six killed and wounded. 
The attempt to storm the rebel works proved 
unsuccessful, and the regiment re-embarked on 
transports and left Chickasaw Bayou January 2, 
1863, for Milliken's Bend. From this place it 
started by steamer on the expedition against Ar- 
kansas Post, in the reduction of which place, on 
the nth of January, it performed full part. Re- 
turning to Young's Point the Forty-ninth assisted 
in digging the canal across the Point, and 
remained in the neighborhood until April 2d, 
when it moved with General Grant to the rear of 
Vicksburg, and participated in the battles of 
Port Gibson, May 1st; Champion Hills, May 
16th; Black River Bridge, May 17th, and the 
siege of Vicksburg, including the assault on the 
works, May 2 2d. After the fall of the city it 
marched to Jackson, being fully engaged in the 
seven days' fighting in the movement. It was 
then moved back to Vicksburg, and thence to 
Port Hudson, whence it proceeded to New Or- 



leans, and was there assigned to the Department 
of the Gulf. From Berwick's Bay it took part 
in the expedition up the Teche, going as far 
as Opelousas. Once again at New Orleans it 
left in transports for Texas December 10th, on 
the 14th reaching Decroe's Point, on the Mata- 
gorda peninsula. It then moved to Indianola, 
where one hundred and sixty seven men and 
four officers of the regiment re-enlisted February 
3, 1864. The next month it moved to Mata- 
gorda island, where it encamped until April 19th, 
and then embarked to reinforce General Banks 
at Alexandria, Louisiana. Here skirmishing 
went on until May 13th, when the entire force 
fell back to the Mississippi. From New Orleans 
the Forth-ninth returned to Indiana on its vet- 
eran furlough, getting to Indianapolis July 9th. 
At the end of its play-time the regiment was or- 
dered to Lexington, Kentucky, and remained 
there for some months after the close of the war. 
Finally, September 13th, 1865, at Louisville, it 
was mustered out of service. The next day it 
arrived at Indianapolis, with two hundred and 
sixty-one men and seventeen officers, and was 
finally discharged from military service. It had 
marched eight thousand miles, and fought al- 
most innumerable battles and skirmishes. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel John W. Kay, J effersonville. 

Colonel James Keigwin (also lieutenant colonel), Jefferson- 
ville. 

Colonel James Leeper (also major and lieutenant colonel), 
Charlestown. 

Lieutenant Colonel Arthur J. Hawke (also major). 

Adjutant James M. Gwin, Memphis. 

Adjutant Beverly W. Sullivan, Jeffersonville. 

Quartermaster Charles H. Paddock, Jeffersonville. 

Quartermaster George W. Pettit, Jeffersonville. 

Surgeon Edward F. Bozelt (also assistant surgeon), Jeffer- 
sonville. 

Assistant Surgeon J. A. C. McCoy, Jeffersonville. 

Assistant Surgeon John H. Thomas, Jeffersonville. 

Assistant Surgeon William Z. Smith, Greenville. 

COMPANY A. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Captain Arthur J. Hawke, New Albany. 

L N*o places of residence of enlisted men given. J 
COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John W. Kane, Jeffersonville. 
Captain James W. Thompson, (also second lieutenant), 
Jeffersonville. 
Captain David Hogan, Jeffersonville. 
First Lieutenant Thomas Bare, Charlestown. 
First Lieutenant James M. Waters, Jeffersonville. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



119 



Second Lieutenant George F. Howard, Jeffersonville. 
Second- Lieutenant Richard F. Dilling, Jeffersonville. 

The remainder of this company was mostly 
from Clarke county. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant James C. Wheat. 
Sergeant David Hogan. 
Sergeant Samuel H. Smith. 
Sergeant John P. Glossbtanner. 
Corporal George W. Pettit. 
Corporal Hiram F. Butler, 
Corporal William R. Bozer. 
Corporal William G. Hilton. 
Corporal James Walters. 
Musician Mark P. Butler. 
Musician Thomas Marbury. 

PRIVATES. 

Cyrus S. Chapman, John Flackerstane, Michael Fox, Levi 
Frailey, Timothy Frooley, Stephen W. Gibbs, Thomas Mc- 
Cauley, Charles K. Morgan, Richard Pile, Beverly W. Sulli- 
van, William ]. Simons, William J. Sparks, Jeffersonville; 
John Wilson, James P. Pettit, William Koons, Charlestown; 
Hardin Rasor, William Rackor, New Albany; William C. 
Fawn, New Washington; Josephus Lee, Memphis; Lewis 
C. Pound, John Richter, J. W. Scott, John Salmon, Jonathan 
Wininger, Hibernia; Edwin S. Holmes, David Hoding, 
Martin Hurst, Vatchel Low, August Marmur, James Mc- 
Williams, Thomas Robinson, Julius Rummings, Clarke 
county. Recruits, Thomas B. Hill, Eldrich Ogden, Base 
Ogden, John Otter, Chris C. Peasley, Frank Sharp, John 
Trotter, Silas Veach, Jeffersonville; Thomas A. Stutsman, 
John M. Stutsman, Thomas J. Bozer, Hibernia. 

COMPANY C. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John Nafins, New Albany. 
Csptain John McWilliams, Greenville. 
First Lieutenant Isaac Buzby. 

First Lieutenant James Fulvard (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant George Denny, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Fred. P. Bethel, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant James T. Wilcoxon, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Fred P. Bethel, New Albany. 
Sergeant Henry C. Hopper, New Albany. 
Sergeant George Denny, New Albany. 
Sergeant George W. Smith, Greenville. 
Corporal Edward Session, New Albany. 
Corporal James M. Allen, New Albany. 
Corporal Isaac Searles, Bennettsville. 
Corporaljohn W. Williams, Greenville. 
Musician John Denny, New Albany. » 

Wagoner John F. Bird, Floyd county. 

PRIVATES. 

Thomas Alexander, James Bassett, Comodore Bassett, 
George Birger. Rufus Bowman, John Cendy, Michael Fisher, 
Charles Franconie, Isaac Hendricks, Enoch Jinkins, Joseph 
W. Jones, Thomas Morgan, Sr., Thomas Morgan, Jr., 
Franklin Ragin, Jesse Ragle, Charles E. Robertson, James 
W. Robertson, Charles Rix, Bennettsville; Asbry Atkins, 
David Dodd, John W. Lamb, Galena; John H. Bruner, 
James Curns, William Denny, Harrison Devorne, Porter F. 



Devorne, Charles T. Jack, Jeremiah Knight, Matthew Raf- 
ale, Dennis Shane, Theodore Smith, New Albany; Thomas 
Hickman, Georgetown; John P. Nerreyton, David Merry- 
wether George Hollis, William T. Kimball, Floyd's Knob; 
George W. Layle, Lafayette Miller, Isaac Miller, David 
Miller, Greenville. Recruits — William H. Ansel, John H. 
Bertsch, William M. Cox, Peter Curns, Ross Cosgrove, John 
G. Ealey, Pulaski F. Gathers, Edward C. Greenwood, John 
Hogan, Tillani Hollis, Charles W. Utzman, New Albany; 
Charles E. Scott, Greenville; Henry Lufft, Edwardsville. 
COMPANY D. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain James Leeper, Charlestown. 

Captain James R. Ferguson (also first lieutenant) Jeffer- 
sonville. 

First Lieutenant Upshur S. Reynolds, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant James H. Morgan, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant William H. Sharp (also second lieuten- 
ant), Henryville. 

Second Lieutenant James A. C. McCoy, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant James S. Ryan, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Henry J. Smith. |effersonville. 

Sergeant James S. Ryan, Henryville. 

Sergeant Joseph C. Drummond, Memphis. 

Corporal William W. Sharp. 

Corporal William W. Vanscamper, Henryville. 

Corporal Thomas Dillon, Memphis. 

Corporal Jones Elbert, Memphis. 

Corporal William C. Friend, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal William C. Wroughton, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal John C. Jasper, New Albany. 

Musician Thomas B. Mathers, Memphis. 

Musician Joseph M. Hurrell, Blue Lick. 

Wagoner William A. True, Jeffersonville. 

PRIVATES. 

Bennett T. Atkins, John M. Clark, James W. Crummins, 
John Enlow, Abel Enlow, Michael Felter, James R. Fergu- 
son, John Harris, William McComb, Elias Puckett, James 
H. Richardson, Henry J. Smith, John R. Stephan, Reuben 
J. Stutsman, John Veasev, AlexanderVeasey, Isaac Wascom, 
Henryville; William|Blakely, Noble Blakely, Ira H. Rose, John 
J. Rose, John Swagert, Milton Stone, Benson Tevis, Samuel 
Yesley, Blue Lick; William O. Wyatt, John Trotter, John Sun- 
dry, Samuel F. Smith, Floyd Ross, William B. Powell, Wil- 
liam C. Messenger, Josephus P. Hiler, Felix Hanlin, George 
Golden, Patrick Fitzgerald, John Edwards, Christian C. 
Clark, Jeffersonville; James W. Baxter, Hiram H. Beard, 
Jonah E. Cooper, Charles H. F. Jasper, Frank M. Jasper, 
Melworth Marlow, New Albany; Henry Woodward, James 
F. Smith, Upshard S. Smith, Wesley Middleton, Marshal 
England, Henry Coffman, Burnhardt Butt, Memphis; James 
H. Covert, Lewis M. Smith, Newmarket; Oliver Robinson, 
Andrew J. Mathers, Charlestown. Recruits — Charles Bache, 
George W. Broy, Phil. Golden, Andrew J. Golden, Jerome 
B. Hiler, William J. McCoy, Frank Milligan, Robert Wyatt, 
Jeffersonville; William Zeller, Matthias C. Roach, James 
McGregor, Alexander C. Lewis, Samuel D. Lewis, Hender- 
son Davis, Robert J. Bigge, Luke S. Becket, Henryville; 
David Carroll, New Albany; Hamilton L. Smith, New- 
market; John Kelly, Winfield S. Kelly, Otisco; James H, 
Davis, Charlestown;. Otheniel Prentice, Blue Lick. 

COMPANY E. 

NON-COMMISSIONF.D OFFICERS. 

Musician Thomas Killick, New Albany. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Musician Joseph Glancer, Jeffersonville. 
Recruits— Robert M. Francis, John Wingard, New Al- 
bany. 

COMPANY k 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Lieutenant August H. Letourmy (also second lieu- 
tenant), Memphis. 

COMPANY K. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First (also second) Lieutenant William V. Gross, New 
Albany. 

First (also second) Lieutenant David Hogan, Jefferson- 
ville. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Musician Thomas J. Pugh, New Albany. 
Musician George S. Peyton, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 
William V. Gross, New Albany. Recruit — Theodore S. 
Payton, New Albany. 

FIFTIETH REGIMENT. 

This was organized at Seymour, September 12, 
1 861; Cyrus L. Dunham, of New Albany, 
colonel. It left camp October 25th, and marched 
to New Albany, recruiting at several places where 
it halted. Christmas-day it crossed the Ohio 
and marched to Bardstown, where a camp of in- 
struction was formed. Thence it moved to 
Bowling Green. After Nashville was taken, the 
regiment was scattered along the Louisville & 
Nashville railroad, and remained on this duty 
till September, 1862. August 20th a detach- 
ment of twenty men was attacked by one thou- 
sand of Morgan's cavalry, in a stockade near 
Edgefield Junction; but repulsed the enemy three 
times, and finally forced him to retire with some 
loss. In September the Fiftieth marched to re- 
lieve Mumfordsville, and was there captured with, 
other forces by General Bragg on the 14th of that 
month. It was paroled and sent to Indianapolis 
till exchanged. November 1st it started again 
for the field, reaching Jackson, Tennessee, on 
the 10th, and there forming part of the Sixteenth 
corps. December 31st it was engaged all day 
with Forrest's cavalry at Parker's cross-roads, and 
captured five hundred prisoners and seven guns. 
During the rest of the winter it encamped near 
Jackson, moving to Memphis the next spring. 
Thence it was transferred to Arkansas, where it 
had a skirmish at Little Rock. Marching 
thence September 10th, to Lewisburg, in that 
State, it there remained in garrison till May 17, 
1864. March 2d of that year three hundred and 
fifty of its number "veteraned." It was engaged 



with General Steele's Camden expedition in the 
battles of Terre Noir, Prairie Leon, Red Mound, 
Camden, and Saline River. It returned to Lit- 
tle Rock May 5th, and staid till the last of July, 
when its veteran furlough began, and it was trans- 
ported to Indiana. Returning in September, it 
did garrison duty at Little Rock for several 
months. December 31st the non-veterans were 
discharged, and four hundred and fifty veterans 
and recruits remaining were consolidated into a 
battalion of five companies. January 5, 1865, it 
started with General Carr's command on a ten 
day's expedition to Saline river. The next 
month the battalion left Arkansas to join Canby's 
army besieging Spanish Fort, near Mobile. April 
10th it took part in the capture of Mobile, and 
the next day was engaged at Whistler's Station. 
May 26, 1865, it was merged in the Fifty-second 
regiment, which remained in service until Sep- 
tember 10th, when all were mustered out at Mont- 
gomery, Alabama, sent to Indianapolis at once, 
and discharged. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel Cyrus L. Dunham, New Albany. 
Major Bannister Compton, New Albany. 
Major John Hungate, New Albany. 

Adjutant Thomas H. Jones (also adjutant of the residuary 
battalion). 

COMPANY F. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John Hungate, New Albany. 

Captain Isaac A. Craig (also second and first lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Benjamin F. McClintoch, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Thomas H. Jones, New Albany. 
[The remainder of the company was from Floyd county. J 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Thomas H. Jones. 
Sergeant Henry H. Poison. 
Sergeant John S. Cobb. 
Sergeant Jere F. Pittman. 
Sergeant William M. Holson. 
Corporal Thomas I. Truelock. 
Corporal William McDonald. 
Corporal James Miller. 
Corporal Joseph Smith. 
Corporal Joseph Smith. 
Corporal John R. Rivers. 
Corporal James W. D. Bradish. 
Corporal William B. Grigsby. 
Corporal David E. Rook. 
Musician Michael M. Critchfield. 
Musician Robert D. Longert. 
Wagoner Sarnuel Dougherty. 

PRIVATES. 

Brazilla Abel, John Abel, William H. Abel, Silas A. 
Adams, Mart V. Archer, Leonard H. Archer, William A. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Atkinson, Emmitt Bartlett, ]ohn Bell, Andrew J. Blalock, 
Ptolmy Bledsoe, John T. Brown, Henry Brobst, William S. 
Buchanan, Daniel O. Burgess, Benjamin B. Case, John A. 
Chopot, Obadiah Cleveland, Jesse J. Collier, Nicholas Cook, 
Philip M. Cutshall. Thomas B. Cummins, Andrew J. Cum- 
mins, Archibald Dougherty, William H. Dougherty, Benja- 
min Dooley, Thomas Duysdale, Rasebery Drennen. Alexan- 
der Gobbel, Solomon B. Grainger, Wilson S. Gregory, Isaac 
Guthrie, Daniel Helmstutlar, Hiram M. C. Hobson, Jediah 
Hunter, Robert W. Hughes. George W. Jackman, William 
Jenkins, Harrison Johnson, William Kahler, John P. Kirk. 
Daniel L. Lambdian, Jonathan D. Leonard, William H. 
Longert, William D. Lynch, John Mason, James Marlev, 
Elias McDonald. John R. McMickle, Joseph P. Miller, 
George B. Miller, Thomas Morgan, James B. Xewkirk, 
Thomas Pedo, Bedford Phillips, John Phillips, Robert Pitt- 
man, Enoch Prewett, Joshua Prewett, Singleton Rawlings, 
Joel O. Ray, Chester C. Rook, John Raverty, John Ruby, 
Claudius Standiford, Ephraim Standiford, Alexander Shofe, 
George D. Smith, Mart M. Stout. William P. Strain, Wil- 
liam M. Taylor, James H. P. Tarr, Lafayette Thorpe, John 
Trinkle, Mart Venerable, John S.Walls, Richard N. Wellman. 
Jere Wellman, Richard Wheat, Calvin R. Wood, Eanis 
Wells, Jason Veitch. 

[The list of rectuits includes no notes of residence, and we 
are unable to locate any of them in Floyd or Clarke county.] 

FIFTY-SECOND INFANTRY (RE-ORGANIZED). 
COMPANY A. 
Private Arthur H. Neal, New Albany. 

COMPANY B. 
Private John Fipps, New Albany. 
COMPANY D. 
PRIVATES. 

Obadiah Cleveland, Thomas Morgan, New Albany ; Cyrus 
B. Garlinghouse, Bethlehem. 

FIFTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

The Fifty-third organized in part at New Al- 
bany in January, 1862, and was filled up Febru- 
ary 26th by recruits raised from the Sixty-second. 
Walter Q. Gresham, of Corydon, now judge of 
the United States district court, was made 
colonel. The first movement of the command 
was to Indianapolis, where it guarded rebel 
prisoners at Camp Morton till March 15th. It 
was then started for St. Louis, and thence went to 
Savannah, Tennessee. April 15th it joined the 
forces moving on Corinth. After Corinth was 
evacuated, marched to Lagrange, and joined ex- 
peditions from that place to Holly Springs and 
other points. It was then at Memphis until 
September, then at Bolivar, then moved again on 
Corinth, and, October 5th, participated in the 
battle of the Hatchie, during which it made a 
courageous crossing of the burning *bridge and 
charged the rebel line. It marched under Grant 
into Northern Mississippi, returned to Moscow, 



Tennessee, and again to Memphis, where it staid 
till April, 1863. It then moved to Young's 
Point, Grand Gulf, and Chickasaw Bluffs, where 
it joined the army before Yicksburg. It took an 
honorable part in the siege, and afterwards 
marched to Jackson with the force which oc- 
cupied that city July 1 6th. Returning to Vicks- 
burg, it was sent to Natchez, and quartered there 
about three months. August nth, Colonel 
Gresham was commissioned brigadier. The 
next month the Fifty-third, now in the Seven- 
teenth corps, accompaned an expedition into 
Louisiana, where an important fort was taken 
and other injury done. It was at Vicksburg till 
February, 1864, and then marched with Sherman 
in the Meridian campaign. On the return three 
hundred and eighty-three of its men re-enlisted, 
and they took their veteran furlough the next 
month. 

From Vicksburg the regiment was sent with 
its division to Georgia, and joined Sherman at 
Acworth, June 6th. During the rest of the At- 
lanta campaign it was heavily engaged at Kene- 
saw Mountain, Nikajack Creek, Peach-tree Creek, 
near Atlanta, July 2 2d. In the last fight it suf- 
fered greatly, losing its commander, Colonel 
Jones, and many other officers and men. After 
Atlanta was occupied it aided in the pursuit of 
Hood, but got back in time to join in the famous 
march to the sea and through the Carolinas. At 
the close of the war it moved from Goldsboro by 
Raleigh and Richmond to Washington, and was 
thence transported to Louisville, where it was 
mustered out July 21st, 1865. It was in the 
public reception of returning regiments at In- 
dianapolis, July 25th, and was soon after dis- 
charged. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Major and Lieutenant Colonel Henry Duncan, New Al- 
bany. 

Lieutenant Colonel Andrew H. Fabrique, New Albany. 
Chaplain William W. Curry, New Albany. 

COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain and First Lieutenant A. H. Fabrique, New Al- 
bany. 

First Lieutenant John M. Austin, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal John M. Austin. 

COMPANY D. 
COMMISSIONED OFFIGERS. 

Captain Seth Dailey, Charlestown. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Captain William Howard (also second lieutenant), Jeffer- 
sonville. 

First Lieutenant John L. Gibson (also second lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant James A. Engleman, Georgetown. 

[ This company appears to have been raised in Floyd and 
Harrison counties, but there are no means furnished in the 
roll for distinguishing the men fromeach region.] 

COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Rufus A. Peck, New Providence. 

Captain John W. Heistand (also first lieutenant), New 
Providence. 

Captain George H. Beers (also second and firstTieutenant), 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Henry Pennington (also second lieuten- 
ant), New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Royal M. Gibson, Providence. 

First Lieutenant Neville A. Lartigue, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant George H. Beers. 
Sergeant William H. Smith. 
Sergeant Royal M. Gibson. 
Sergeant Neville A. Lartigue. 
Sergeant James A. Berkey. 
Corporal Ezek. C. Lane. 
Corporal Francis M. Miller. 
Corporal Oliver Q. Trueblood. 
Corporal William Rockwood. 
Corporal William J. Morris. 
Corporal Palmer Bailey. 
Corporal Jeff Potts. 
Corporal Larkin Kennedy. 
Musician George H. Pennington. 
Musician John W. Heistand. 

PRIVATES. 

James W. Ashings, John Bruce Allen, Robert Allen, 
David C. Alois, Lyman Alton, David A. Baker, George N. 
Bailey, David Butterfield, Alfred Bagshaw, Napoleon B. 
Boss, Jasper N. Brannaman, William H. Baynes, Thomas 
Butler, James M. Carnes, George Canner, Richard M. 
Clark, Isaac S. Cutshaw, Francis M. Crockett, George W. 
Clipper, Samuel K. Darkies, Patrick Dunihue, Alfred L. 
Elliott, Martellus M. Evans, Benjamin F. Emery, John 
Ebeling, William R. P. Eades, Joseph Fisher, James Gib- 
son, Thomas Gibbons, John Hedrick, Jacob Haxton, John 
Herral, George W. Hamilton, John Hoke, Michael Jones, 
Jacob Volney Jamison, Joseph E. Kite, Martin C. Luken- 
bill, Washington Linder, Nathaniel Linder, John Mann, 
Joshua T. Morris, Martin H. Miller, Jonathan Minton, 
Isaac Minton, William C. Morgan, John McCosky, Samuel 
Newby, Thomas Piers, John Overshiner, William H. Pickler, 
Hugh T. Prentice, George Powers, John F. Rodman, Moses 
Russle, John M. Rutherford, Philip Shadrion, George Shoe- 
maker, Frederick Schliecher, Cornelius Standiford, Thomas 
C. Stucher, Peter Smith, Thomas J. Smith, William R. 
South, Fielding R. Seale, Francis Tartarat, William W. 
Taylor, Joshua G. Trueblood, Isaac N. Thomas, John M. 
Tatlock, Abram Tatlock, Leonard M. White, Spencer C. 
Walker, George Wright, Telle Weeks, Andrew York. 

[The roll furnishes no means of determining the residence 
of recruits to this company.] 



COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Captain Henry Duncan (also second and first lieutenant), 
New Albany. 

COMPANY K. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Henry Pennington, New Albany. 
Captain Eben Knight (also second lieutenant), New 
Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

Additional enlisted men — Thomas S. Dryman, William H. 
Duncan, Clarke county; Henry Achord, Floyd county. 

FIFTY-EIGHTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY B. 

PRIVATE. 

Recruits, Adolphus Banct, Paul L. Banct, Peter Fatig, 
Robert Fenwick, Lawson Stone, New Albany; Orin A. 
Searles, Floyd's Knobs. 

COMPANY C. 
Private Harbin Kepley, J efTersonville, recruit. 
COMPANY E. 

PRIVATES. 

Albert G. Austin, New Albany. Recruits, Joseph Singer, 
Joseph Greenor, New Albany; John W. Swartz, Bennettsville. 

THE FIFTY-NINTH REGIMENT 

was recruited late in 1861, and early in 1862, and 
mustered in February 1 ith, at Gosport. At New 
Albany it was equipped with Enfield rifles, and 
on the 1 8th started by river for Cairo, there em- 
barking for Commerce, Missouri. It was the 
first regiment to report to General Pope for the 
Army of the Mississippi. February 25th it 
moved to Benton, and was there brigaded with 
four other Indiana regiments. Early in March 
it shared in the siege of New Madrid, and was 
one of the first commands entering the place. 
April 7th it crossed the Mississippi, and marched 
to Tiptonville, aiding to capture five thousand 
prisoners. Its subsequent movements were to 
Fort Pillow, Cairo, and Hamburg, Tennessee, 
Corinth, Boonville, Clear Creek, Ripley, Jacinto, 
Rienzi, and other points. October 3d and 4th 
it was heavily engaged at Corinth. January 3d 
to March 1, 1863, it was on guard duty near 
Memphis, and then went to Helena, Arkansas. 
March 12th it started with the Yazoo expedition, 
returned April 10th, and going to Milliken's 
Bend on the 15th. On the 24th it started for 
Vicksburg, and was engaged subsequently at 
Forty Hills, Raymond, and Champion Hills. 
Its skirmishers were the first to enter Jackson, 
and its battle-worn flag was soon floating from 
the State capitol. It joined in the siege of 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



I2 3 



Vicksburg^and suffered severely in the assault of 
May 22d, when one hundred and twenty-six 
men were killed or wounded. July 4th it was 
in the column which marched into Vicksburg, 
and remained until September 13th, when it was 
sent to Helena, and thence to Memphis, Corinth, 
and Glendale. October 19th it started for Chat- 
tanooga, and shared the glory of the Mission 
Ridge victory. It was afterwards in the Atlanta 
campaign and the marches to the sea and' north- 
ward, and was mustered put at Louisville July 
17th. It had received seven hundred and 
seventy-seven recruits during its service, and lost 
seven hundred and ninety-three, and had traveled 
thirteen thousand six hundred and seventy-nine 
miles in its various campaigns. 

FIFTY-NINTH INFANTRY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Major Elijah Sabin, New Albany. 
COMPANY C. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 
Captain Thomas Riley. New Albany. 

PRIVATE. 
John Byrne, Xew Albany. 

COMPANY D. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant William B. Lyons, New Albany. 
COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant (also private) Samuel W. Taylor, New 
Albany , 

COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Wilford H. Wellman, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Thomas Riley, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

Joseph Self, John E. Stanley. 

COMPANY G. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain (also second and first lieutenant) Ephraim J. Hol- 
lis, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant William B. Lyons, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Paley W. Fitzgerald, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal John Thurston, New Albany. 
PRIVATES. 

George D. Byorly, Andrew Hogg, James \V. Mahuran, 
Ebenezer L. Mahuran, George W. Newman, Lewis N. Rit- 
ter, William T. Ritter, David Stover, Joseph Woods, Loren- 
zo Wood, New Providence; Paley Fitzgerald, Frederick 
Kooek, Alexander Williamson, New Albany. Recruits — 
George W. Adamson, William H. Morton, Thomas New- 
comb, Luther D. Whitten, New Albany; Thomas M. 
Harlin, Jeffersonville. 



COMPANY H. 
Private George J. Pullern, New Albany. 
COMPANY K, 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant Howard Webber, New Albany. 

PRIVATE. 

Additional enlisted man, William Holmes, New Albany. 
SIXTY-SIXTH REGIMENT. 

It was raised in the Second Congressional dis- 
trict, with the celebrated Lew Wallace, of Crawfords- 
ville (already a major general), as its first colonel 
under provisional appointment; rendezvoused 
at Camp Noble, New Albany; was hastened into 
service August 19, 1862, by the danger menacing 
Cincinnati, and marched at once for Lexington, 
Kentucky. It was in the ill-starred action near 
Richmond on the 30th, when most of the regi- 
ment were captured and paroled. The entire com- 
mand was reunited at New AlbanySeptember 10th 
was refitted at Indianapolis in November, and 
started for the field again December 10th. At 
Corinth, Mississippi, it joined the First brigade 
of Dodge's division, and remained in garrison 
till August 18, 1863. Six companies (B, C, D, 
E, G, and I) were engaged at the battle of Col- 
lierville October 11, 1863. Moved October 29th 
to Pulaski, Tennessee, and staid till spring. 
With the Second division, Sixteenth corps, in 
late April, 1864, it went to join in the Atlanta cam- 
paign. It was engaged at Resaca, Lay's Ferry, 
Rome Cross-roads, Dallas, Kenesaw, before At- 
lanta, and at Jonesborough. Near Atlanta its 
division was transferred to the Fifteenth corps, 
and started for Rome September 26th, returning 
in time, however, to join in the "marching 
through Georgia." It reached Washington 
through the Carolinas and Virginia May 24, 
1865, and was there mustered out June 3, 1865. 
Upon arrival at Indianapolis it was publicly wel- 
comed, June 1 2th, in addresses by Governor 
Morton and others. Some of its recruits served 
with the Fifty-ninth until the muster-out of that 
regiment July 17, 1865. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel DeWitt C. Anthony, New Albany. 
Lieutenant Colonel (also adjutant and major) Thomas G. 
Morrison, New Albany. 

Major John W. Gerard, New Albany. 
Adjutant William H. Mahon, New Albany. 
Quartermaster Campbell Hay, Jeffersonville. 
Quartermaster Thomas C. Hammond, Charlestown. 
Surgeon Nathaniel Field, Jeffersonville. 



124 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Surgeon James C. Simonon (also assistant surgeon)' 
Charlestown. 
Quartermaster Sergeant William H. Day, New Albany. 
Commissary Sergeant Edward A. Cobb, New Albany. 

COMPANY C. 

PRIVATES. 

James G. Rowth, James N. Rowth, New Albany. 
COMPANY D. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant William H. Day, New Albany. 

COMPANY E. 
Private Aaron Rigler, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY. G. 
Private John M. Merryweather. 

COMPANY H. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Second Lieutenant David Simpson, New Albany. 

PRIVATE. 

Harrison T. Gandy, New Albany. 
COMPANY I. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John W. Gerard, New Albany. 

Captain James N. Payton (also first lieutenant), New Al- 
bany. 

Captain Charles P. Sisloff (also second lieutenant), New 
Albany. 

First Lieutenant Winfield S. Whitman (also second lieu- 
tenant), New Albany. 

First Lieutenant John B. Parker, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Alexander B. Hoskins, New Albany. 

[The following named were also of New Albany, with the 
exception noted. The residences of many of this company 
are not given on the roll], 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Charles R. Sisloff. 

Sergeant William F. Haigh. 

Corporal Middleton C. Tucker (Jeffersonville). 

Corporal James H. Smith. 

Corporal Abraham McCoblan. 

Musician William K. Shipman. 

Wagoner Asahel M. Pyburn. 

PRIVATES. 

Martin Ashby, Bernard Brady, Walter P. Brown, Henry 
H. Baxter, Calvin Carpenter, Ephraim Carnes, Lee Carpen- 
ter, Alfred Danton, William Grimes, Dieu. D. Hinneux, 
Robert Hinton, Charles E. Jones, John Kelly, Henry B. 
Leach, Leonard Leach, John E. Lavey, Harvey Money, 
William C. Miller, Patrick O'Brien, William A. Smith, 
Michael Shine, Jacob Schester, John Whitten, Robert O. 
Whitten, William Whitten, Michael F. Wemyss, Michael 
Waters, Joseph Weaver. 

SIXTY-EIGHTH INFANTRY COMPANY A. 

George W. Townsend, recruit, New Albany. 

SEVENTIETH INFANTRY. 

John Graves, recruit company H, New Albany. 



SEVENTY-FIRST REGIMENT (SIXTH CAVALRY). 

COMPANY M. 

PRIVATES. 

Andrew Hand, William Holmes, New Albany. 

SEVENTY-SEVENTH REGIMENT (FOURTH CAVALRY). 

Organized at Indianapolis August 22, 1862. 
Four companies were promptly sent to Hender- 
son, Kentucky, and the rest to Louisville, to aid 
in the campaign against the Confederate invad- 
ers. The former battalion had skirmishes at 
Madisonville August ,26th and October 5th, and 
another at Mt. Washington October 1st, suffering 
some loss. The other battalions encamped for 
a time near Madison, Indiana, and presently 
crossed near Vevay and marched to Frankfort, 
arriving about October 24th. Its next station 
was at Gallatin, Tennessee. On Christmas a 
fight was had with John Morgan near Munford- 
ville, in which he was beaten. January and 
February, 1865, it moved to Murfreesboro, and 
operated thereabout for several months, having 
a sharp skirmish at Rutherford's creek March 
10th. The battalions were united this spring, 
and took an active part in the Chattanooga cam- 
paign under Rosecrans. It was at the battle of 
of Chickamauga, and again engaged September 
23d, and then November 1st, at Fayetteville, 
Tennessee. It was in east Tennessee during the 
winter of 1863-64, in advanced position, and 
bore conspicuous part in the affairs at Mossy 
Creek, Tabbot's, and Dandridge, for which it 
was highly praised in the official reports. January 
24th, 1864, in a sharp action at Fair Garden, in 
which the second battalion of the Fourth 
charged the Confederate skirmish line, and the 
first joined in a sabre charge on a battery, cap- 
turing it and a large number of prisoners, Lieu- 
tenant Colonel Leslie, of this regiment, was 
killed, but the enemy was thoroughly routed. 
In May it moved with Sherman's cavalry against 
Atlanta, and fought the enemy at Varnell's Sta- 
tion, Burnt Church, and Newman. In October 
it was engaged at Columbia, Tennessee; the next 
month was on duty near Louisville, in January 
at Nashville, and in February at Waterloo, Ala- 
bama. It was in Wilson's campaign through 
that State, sharing in the battles of Plantersville 
and Selma. In May it went to Nashville, and 
remained in the Provisional Cavalry Camp at 
Edgefield until mustered out, June 29, 1865. 
The men were paid off and discharged shortly 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



'25 



after, and scattered northward to their homes, 
preferring not to return in a body. 
company D. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Warren Horr, -Charlestown. 

Captain Samuel E. W. Simonson (also first lieutenant), 
Charlestown. 

Captain Richaid F. Nugent (also first lieutenant), Charles- 
town. 

First Lieutenant Thomas B. Prather, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Edmund J. Davis, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Isaac M. Koons, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Albert Taggert, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Enoch S. Boston, Jeffersonville. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Thomas B. Prather, Charlestown. 
Company Quartermaster Sergeant Isaac M. Koons, 
Charlestown. 

Company Commissary Sergeant Alban Lutz, Charlestown. 

Sergeant John Andrews, Charlestown. 

Sergeant William H. Dunlevy, Charlestown. 

Sergeant William M. Gibson, Charlestown. 

Sergeant Thomas E. Hill, New Albany. 

Corporal William Johnson, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal John T. Kelly, New Albany. 

Corporal George W. King, New Albany. 

Corporal William M. Burns, New Albany. 

Corporal John T. Littell, New Albany. 

Corporal Washington P. Butts, New Albany. 

Corporal John W. Cass, Memphis. 

Bugler David Ferrier, Charlestown. 

Bugler William F. Blankenbaker, Charlestown. 

Farrier and Blacksmith Charles H. Harris, Charlestown. 

Farrier and Blacksmith Joseph Newby, Henry ville. 

Saddler W 7 illiam D. Teeple, Charlestown. 

Wagoner George W. Gibson, Charlestown. 

PRIVATES. 

Reuben Bottorff, John F. Brown, James W. Bennett, 
James H. Cartner, John W. Coons, James R. Demar, Mil- 
ton R. Davis, William T. Dawkins, Edward Fitzgerald, 
Samuel Ferrier, Thomas Gifford, Newton F. Gibson, Thomas 
B. Gibson, Jacob Gibson, Joseph M. Haas, Andrew J 
Hackleberry, John J. Hazeburn, Henry Howard, James M 
Harris, George W. Kirk, Crassey L. Key, George Littell 
John C. Lutz, Samuel Mills, Isaac W. Noe, Richard F 
Nugent, Thomas J. Roger, Elijah J. Sommers, Thomas B. 
Suttle, Thomas Strieker, Alexander B. Smith. John W. Salt- 
kill, William A. Trimble, Albert Taggart, Joseph M. Tillord, 
James M. Vanhook, John J. Weber, Jesse Washburn, George 
D. Watson, William H. Young, Charlestown; Gideon W. 
Ware, George C. Shapard, Anthony Rapp, Henry Miller, 
Charles Northam, William Mower, James W. Jacobs, 
Thomas J. Jacobs, Worden P. Fields, John A. Blakeslee, 
Jeffersonville; Banonia Beggarly, Louis W. Beggarly, James 
O. Beggarly, Clinton Beggarly, Thomas Scott, Providence; 
Louis P. Bailey, Louis S. Cass, Samuel Harris, Memphis; 
James M. Covert, Oregon; Thomas L. Dunahue, Maranna 
Dunahue, William H. Defenbaugh, New Washington; El- 
wilt Enlow, Whitman Gordon, William E. Jones, James A. 
Robertson, Cornelius Sargent, New Albany; John Long, 
Bethlehem; Martin L. Prather, Utica. Recruits, James H. 
Boyer, William J. Badger, Lewis Badger, James S. Conner, 
John Douglas, Andrew J. Gillespie, William H. Gillespie, 



Samuel K. Hough, John Massmar, John Wilson, Jackson 
M. Thompson, Charlestown; Hugh Bell, Charles Breedlove, 
John J. Crawford, Benjamin F. Hedrick, William M. Mass- 
ingale, Gideon Spraberry, Jesse F. Spraberry, William R. 
Spraberry, William Spearman, William Stamy, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First (also second) Lieutenant Henry Lodge, New Albany. 

EIGHTIETH INFANTRY REGIMENT. 

COMPANY K. 

PRIVATES. 

John Topy, James Topy, New Albany. 

EIGHTY-FIRST REGIMENT. 

The Eighty-first rendezvoused at Jeffersonville 
with William W. Caldwell, of that place, as colo- 
nel, and was mustered in August 29, 1862. It 
left at once for Louisville, and was there till 
October 1st; then joined Buell's army and 
rharched against Bragg, but did not take part in 
the battle of Perryville, though on the field. 
Moving to Nashville it was assigned to the Third 
brigade in General Jefferson C. Davis' (First) 
division, and staid there till December 26th, 
when it moved with the army on Murfreesboro, 
and had its first fight at Stone River. It was in 
the right wing when the rebels made their head- 
long charge upon it December 31st. Its brigade 
held the position until both flanks were uncov- 
ered by the Federal retreat, when it had also to 
fall back. The Eighty-first lost eighty-eight men 
in this action, of whom forty-four were "miss- 
ing." After the battle it encamped at Murfrees- 
boro till June 26th, and then started in the move- 
ment on Chattanooga. It was engaged at Liber- 
ty Gap and at Chickamauga, where it lost 8 
killed, 59 wounded, and 22 missing. It was at 
Chattanooga till October 25th; at Bridgeport, 
Alabama, till January 26, 1864, and at Ooltewah, 
Tennessee, till the opening of the Atlanta cam- 
paign. In this the regiment was engaged at 
Rocky Face, Resaca, Kingston, Bald Knob, 
Kenesaw, Marietta, Jonesboro, and Lovejoy's. 
After the occupation it remained in Atlanta till 
October 3d, when it joined in the pursuit of 
Hood to the rear of Sherman's position. Octo- 
ber 31st it left Chattanooga as train guard, and 
marched to Pulaski, Tennessee, and thence to 
Franklin, where it fought in the action of Scho- 
field's forces against Hood's. December 15th 
and 1 6th it bore part in the battles before Nash- 
ville, and followed in the pursuit to the Tennes- 



126 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



see river. Ic then marched to Huntsville and on 
to Strawberry Plains, East Tennessee: thence to 
Bull's Gap, and April 3, 186=;, started with an 
expedition into North Carolina. It was returned 
to Nashville on the 22d, and there staid till June 
13th, when it was mustered out. Reaching In- 
dianapolis two days after, it was the recipient, 
with others, of a grand welcam? home in the 
capitol grounds. Of the 927 men with which it 
began service, there were remaining 250, with 
27 officers. Its recruits were transferred to the 
Thirty-first Indiana veterans, and served in Texas 
till the muster out, in November, 1865. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel (also adjutant) William "W. Caldwell, [effersonville. 

Major and Lieutenant-Colonel Leonidas Stout, New Al- 
bany. 

Major and Lieutenant-Colonel Edwin G. Mathey. New 
Albany. 

Major William G. Richards, New Albany. 

Major William D. Evrilt, Charlestons. 

Adjutant Aug Jocelyn, New Albany. 

Adjutant Join J. Gallagher, Jeffersonville. 

Quartermaster William H. Daniel, New Albany. 

Chaplain Peter St. Clair, New Albany. 

COMPANY A. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Leonidas Stout, New Albany. 

Captain (also first lieutenant) Henry E. Jones, New Al- 
bany. 

Captain (also first lieutenant) Spencer H. McCoy, New 
Albany. 

First Lieutenant Thomas W. Teaford, Georgetown. 

Second Lieutenant Wilford M. Allen, Greenville. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Thomas W. Teaford, Georgetown. 
Sergeant Jesse D. Teaford, Georgetown. 
Sergeant Philip Rosenberger, New Albany. 
Sergeant William Nance, New Albany. 
Corporal James M. Laughlin, New Albany. 
Corporal Hezekiah Cleveland, New Albany. 
Corporal John W. Speak, Greenville. 
Corporal Tilford M. Allen, Greenville. 
Corporal Tilford H. Sherlv, Edwardsville. 
Corporal John C. Carroll, Memphis. 
Musician Josiah T. Little, Sellersburg. 
Musician Willard Stockdale, New Albany. 
.Wagoner James Williams, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

James M. Akers, Elisha W. Allen, Benjamin S. Bell, John 
Blise, Emanuel Blise. Greer W. Davis, James Dicks, George 
W. Fisher, John Joyce, John R. Kennedy, Charles G. T. 
Leppert, David F. Lewis, Richard McCuffrev, Spencer H. 
McCoy, Silas Quick, Hardin B. Roberts, Andrew J. Ross, 
George Robinson, William Stoll, David Stepp, John W. Tur- 
ner, James W. Turner, Martin Young, New Albany; Wil- 
liam H. Wright, Louis T. Teaford, Alexander Sampson. 
Robert P. Minton, Eliphalet Hickman, George Burkhart, 
Lafayette Burkhart, Georgetown; John T. Adkins. George 



\V. Allen, Claiborne Sloan, Thomas Gray, Bennettsville; 
John W. Wright, John L. McCoy, Calvin Bottorf, Sellers- 
burg; C. E. Fisher, Henry C. Tyler. Edwardsville; Christ 
Gaustine, Thomas J. Martin, William H. Tibbets, Green- 
ville; William R. Merrill, Blue Lick; Solomon Simpson, 
Henry H. Ward, Muddy Fork; George W. Sweeny, New 
Providence. Recruit, George W. Teaford, Georgetown. 

COMPANY B. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain (also second and first lieutenant) Andrew J. How- 
ard, JefTersonville. 

Captain (also second and first lieutenant) William H. H. 
Northcott, Jeffersonville. 

Captain Eugene M. Schell (second and first lieutenant also). 
JefTersonville. 

Captain Leonard H. Tuttle (also first lieutenant), Utica. 

First Lieutenant William H. Morgan, Henryville. 

First Lieutenant George W. Alpha, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant James Wilson, Utica. 

Second Lieutenant George W. Clark, Henryville. 

Second Lieutenant Charles Ashton, Utica. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant W. H. H. Northcott, Jeffersonville. 
Sergeant Peter H. Bohart, Henryville. 
Sergeant James Mitchell, Henryville. 
Sergeant Samuel Gardiner, JefTersonville. 
Sergeant Emery W. Bruner, Utica. 
Corporal John Gallagher, JefTersonville. 
Corporal Eugene M. Schell, JefTersonville. • 
Corporal George W. Alpha, JefTersonville. 
Corporal Alpin S. Piather. Utica. 
Corporal James Wilson, Utica. 
Corporal Henry H. Pratt, Henryville. 
Corporal Matthew Mahan, Clark county. 
Musician C. E. W. Glossbrenner, Jeffersonville. 

PRIVATES. 

Charles Ashton, Uriah Bennett, Gabriel Bell, William D. 
Blizzard, Melvill W. Bruner, George T. Fry, Benjamin Ham- 
mond, James W. Hooper, John W. Jacobs. John M. Laws, 
Charles McCormick Joseph G. Snider, Amos Summers, 
Leonard H. Tuttle. Utica; William T. Young John T. 
Sneed, George W. Scott, Thomas Powell, Robert L. Parki- 
son, James S. Norris, John S. Midcap, George McCarty, 
John Maley, Morton Long, James N. Seclar, Alexander G. 
Green, James H. Ford, Michael Fannon John Dunn, Peter 
Cosgrove, Dunmick Bishop, JefTersonville; Joseph Byer, 
John Cole, John W. Cowling. Francis M. Daily, William 
Devansa, William Detrich, Cyrus Decamp. Sargent W. 
Evans, Cornelius Fields, Daniel J. Green, Wesley Gross, 
Henry H. Gray, James W. Houseworth, William Kemple, 
Henry Kemple, Robert Kirk, Joseph Koener, John Lam- 
bert, John Laws, George W. Lewellan, Frederick Lotz, Mil- 
ton A. Mahan. John O. McClure, Samuel L. McHenry, 
Daniel O'Harra, William Sample, Andrew J. Stoner, Levi 
Sturdevant, Peter Stein, Daniel Stoner, Amos St. Clair. Ar- 
thur St. Clair, Elisha W. Thompson. Louis Thompson, John 
P. Walker. Joseph Walker, Henryville. 

COMPANY C. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain (also first lieutenant) Anthony Moltwiler, George- 
town. 

First Lieutenant Daniel K. Starr, Georgetown. 

Second Lieutenant Elijah R. Mitchell, New Providence. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant A. Mottwiler, Georgetown. 
Sergeant David B. Starr, New Albany. 
Sergeant David G. Hudson, New Albany. 
Corporal Benjamin Buzby, New Albany. 
Corporal John W. Flickner, Edwardsville. 
Corporal Zonawine Sloan, Edwardsville. 
Corporal Lyman Davis, Georgetown. 
Corporal Jesse H. Watts, Georgetown. 
Corporal John J. Grandell, Georgetown. 
Corporal George W. Wolf, Georgetown. 
Musician Francis M. Zonawine, Edwardsville. 
Musician Lafayette Lydica, Edwardsville. 
Wagoner John Swartz, Edwardsville. 

PRIVATES. 

Henry Atkins, William Atkins, New Albany; Jacob Baker, 
James W. Byerly, Albert Cayce, John Churchman, William 
Cochran, Cyrus Crandall, Nathaniel Crandall, George W. 
Davis, Samuel Daugherty, Spurgeon Duncan, Jefferson En- 
gleman, Adam J. Eddleman, A. J. Fox, J. R. Fox, Jesse B. Har- 
mon, Elijah Harmon, George W. Hedrick, John Hedrick, 
Moses Harper, Manaples Kepley, Isaac Kepley, Francis M. 
Lansford, Lafayette Mosier, Robert C. Miller, William Tip- 
ton, Henry Tipton, William Thomas, Hamilton Treswriter, 
James P. Tyler, John H. Tyler, William H. Tyler, Roily 
Tyler, Jeie Utz, George W. Watts, David W. H. Wolf, 
Georgetown; Henry C. Whitson, Martin Stover, Preston 
Sparks, Moses Shoemaker, Ezekiel Porter, Ephraim McNa- 
mara, Louis A. Morel!, Peter Moody, George M. C. Littell, 
Harry Denny, William Coats, George W. Brown, John S. 
Brown, New Providence. 

COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Edward G. Mathey (also second and first lieuten- 
ant), New Albany. 

Captain James M. Graham (also second and first lieuten- 
ant), New Albany. 

First Lieutenant James Wilson, Utica. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal James M. Graham, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

John G. Davis, Newton Gordon, August Jocelyn, John 
Johnson, William H. Martin, New Albany. 

COMPANY G. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Captain Elijah R. Mitchell, New Providence. 
COMPANY H. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Captain William J. Richards (also first and second lieuten- 
ant), New Albany. 

COMPANY I. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain William D. Eviitt, Charlestown. 
Captain John Carney, Charlestown. 
First Lieutenant John C. McCormack, Charlestown. 
Second Lieutenant John Schwallier, Charlestown. 
Second Lieutenant George T. Peters, Charlestown. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

[The rest of this company, from the residence of its offi- 
cers, is presumed to have been from Clarke county]. 
First Sergeant Edmund T. Bower. 



Sergeant Thomas L. Cole. 
Sergeant Andrew Dunn. 
Sergeant John M. McCormick. 
Sergeant George T. Peters. 
Corporal John A. Mitchell. 
Corporal William H. T. Hostetler. 
Corpoial Jackson D. Murry. 
Corporal Amos Murry. 
Corporal Andrew J. Nicholas. 
Corporal Clayland Long. 
Corporal John S. Robertson. 
Corporal George W. McConnoughy. 
Musician James A. Stuart. 
Wagoner William A. Mitchell. 

PRIVATES. 

Henry B. Abbott, John F. Adams, Samuel Adams, Wil- 
liam H. Barrett, Conrad Bolls, Dennis R. Bottroff, Martin 
B. Bottroff, Nathan A. Bowyer, John A. Bowyer, William A. 
Bower, Nathan Brooks, John A." Buchanan, Albert N. Car- 
roll, John Canny, JamesJ . Cole, Thomas J. Cole, George 
Cook, George W. Conn, William Coons, Benjamin F. 
Curtis, John L. Delahunt, Christian Ditsler, David D. 
Divine, John W. Edwards, William H. Fifer, Allen Fisher, 
Andrew J. Fisher, James Franey, Andrew J. Fullilove, John 
Garrick, George W. Gifrin, Charles Green, Charles T. Hall, 
George Hall, Michael Hannay, George Harlman, Thomas 
L. Henthorn, Amos M. Henthorn, John M. Hostetler, 
Elisha Hobbs, William Hooker, Miles C. Hodgin, John H.' 
Hutchings, Hanbury Hughes, Andrew J. Izzard, George G. 
Jenkins, Thomas J. Jones, James Kelley, Thomas Know- 
land, Henry W. Lamppin, Henry Lutz, Albert Matthews, 
Hamilton McCormick, Robert W. McMurry, William P. 
Miller, Frederick W. Miller, Thomas J. Murry, John Owens, 
William C. Patterson, William A. Percy, William Plasket, 
James T. Prent, William H. Robertson, James N. Ross, 
Jacob A. Salmon, John M. Scott, Henry Shouldis, Elijah F. 
Smith, James F. Smith, Alva R. Topflinger, Joseph W. 
Topflinger, John M. Vought, William D. Vought, William 
A. L Watson, William P. Watson, Isaac Watson, Augustus 
Welty, Thomas J. Yarbrough. 

Recruits — Milton B. Cole, Martin W. Cowsey, Thomas 
W. Gray, John Long, Alonzo M. Starks. 

EIGHTY-SECOND REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY A. 
PRIVATES. 
James A. Robison, New Albany; Daniel Taft, Thomas 
F. Warner, New Washington. 

COMPANY D. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
First Lieutenant David B. Adams, Georgetown. 

EIGHTY-SIXTH REGIMENT (INFANTRY). 

COMPANY C. 
PRIVATES. 

Charles W. Haxton, Jeremiah Haxton, New Albany. 
NINETIETH REGIMENT (CAVALRY). 
COMPANY M. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
First Lieutenant Matthew Clegg, Henryville. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Matthew S. Clegg, Henryville. 



128 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 






Sergeant William A. Craig, Henrvville. 

.Sergeant Daniel W. Layman. Henrvville. 

Corporal James A. Clegg, Henrvville. 

Corporal Charles W. Bailey, Blue Lick. 

Corporal Edward W. Bagshaw, Memphis. 

Corporal John C. Smith, Memphis. 

Blacksmith Benjamin F. Atkins, Blue Lick. 
PRIVATES. 

William L. Belding, George W. Brooker, Blue Lick ; 
Charles R. Durmet, Memphis; Willford Fields, Aaron O. 
Good, Joseph B. Layman, James Rillay, Benjamin Pevler, 
Nelson Quick, John K. Clegg, all of Henryville ; Christian 
Josling, New Albany; Phillip Philbough, Georgetown. 

NINETY-FIRST REGIMENT (INFANTRY), 

raised in the First Congressional district in 
August, 1862 — only seven companies — which 
were mustered in October 1st. The battalion 
did guard duty at Madisonville and Smithland, 
Kentucky, till June 15, 1863, when it went in 
pursuit of John Morgan. It then camped at 
Russellville. The same summer the regiment 
was filled up by the addition of three companies of 
six months' men, of which company K was one. 
Its subsequent service was mainly with Sherman 
in Georgia. It was engaged near Cumberland 
Gap, February 2, 1864; at Pine Mountain, New 
Hope Church, Kenesaw, Decatur, Peach-tree 
Creek, the right of Atlanta, and Utoy Creek, in 
the Atlanta campaign. It was in the pursuit of 
Hood and the battles of Franklin and Nashville. 
Transferred to North Carolina, it aided in the cap- 
ture of Wilmington, and moved to Goldsboro 
and Raleigh. At Salisbury, North Carolina, it 
was mustered out June 26, 1865, and started for 
Indianapolis, where it had an enthusiastic public 
welcome. It had lost eighty-one killed and 
wounded, and returned with nineteen officers 
and three hundred and fifteen men, its recruits 
having been transferred to other regiments. In 
the winter of 1864, the three companies of six 
months' men, upon the expiration of their term, 
were replaced by three of one year recruits, form- 
ing new companies H, I, and K. 
company 1. 
[One year service]. 

Private John Archanbau, New Albany. 
COMPANY K. 

[Six months service.] 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Willett M. Wilcox, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant George W. C. Self, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant John P. Smith, New Albany. 
j^The rest of this company is presumed to have belonged 
to Floyd county.] 



NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Phillip Miller. 
Sergeant Benjamin H. Briggs. 
Sergeant John M. Daniel. 
Sergeant Henry Friedley. 
Sergeant Thomas Griffith. 
Corporal Martin Gary. 
Corporal Fred Murphy. 
Corporal Thomas E. Beard. 
Corporal John Johnson. 
Corporal Walter Knibbs. 
Corporal Peter Richards. 
Corporal George M. Miller. 
Corporal Luckey Smith. 
Musician John P. Brooks. 
Musician Charles Barker. 
Wagoner William Nesbitt. 

PRIVATES. 

William Allen, Richard J. Abbott, William Binkley, Ly- 
man Brooks, John Boxer, Robert Burns, Henry Bullitt, 
Thomas Burton, Miles Berry, Charles H. Bliss, Ewing D. 
Carr, David Catner, John Cotrell, John Claspill, Columbus 
Duggings, Alfred Derramore, Bnitus Ehrlich, William Eg- 
bert, Silas Elliott, George Fultz, August Fisher, Jacob Gabel , 
Andrew Hand, William Howard, Allen Hutchins, William, 
Johnson, Samuel D. Johnston, Henry Kelter, William Linn 
John Luty, Thomas E. Langdon, John Miller, Elijah Miller 
Joel Morgan, Teuch McCeary, Hamilton McCormick, Wil- 
liam Minninger, George Moss. Elias Nantz, George W. 
Plants, George H. Pennington, Alfred Redform, Henry Rice, 
Simon Rice, David Rodeffer, Frank M. Rumington, John 
Roney, David W. Rowland, Charles Robertson, Richard 
Stringer, Malton Simond, Austin B. Smith, Henry Storm, 
John W. Sowers, James Stocksdale, James Shroyer, John 
Leib, Polk Turner, Jacob Trice, Thomas Vaughn, John 
Veirs, Samuel Wiseman, Peter Wise, William Wilson, Jacob 
West. Henry Webster, Harvey Winters. 

Recruits — Jacob Anstott, James Kirkham, William J. 
Ross. 

NINETY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

This was raised in the Third Congressional dis- 
trict and mustered in at Madison in the fall of 
1862. It served in Sherman's army in Northern 
Mississippi and Tennessee, and on railroad guard 
duty the next February and March near Mem- 
phis; in Louisiana with General Sherman's 
Fifteenth corps, in the movement on Jackson, 
Mississippi, and the siege of Vicksburg: in sever- 
al expeditions into Mississippi, and in the dis- 
astrous affair at Brice's Cross Roads, June 10, 
1864, where it was stampeded with a total loss 
of two hundred and fifty-three, of whom one 
hundred and eighty-four were prisoners. Trans- 
ferred to Nashville in December, it was engaged 
in the defeat and pursuit of Hood, and went into 
winter quarters at Eastport, Mississippi, till 
February 6, 1865. It shared actively in the 
siege of Spanish Fort, near Mobile, and the 
storming of Fort Blakely. It was then stationed 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



129 



at Montgomery and Gainesville till ordered 
home. August 10, 1865, it was mustered out at 
Memphis. Of its original nine hundred and 
twenty-three, it had but eighteen officers and two 
hundred men left. Companies I and K were 
detained in service till October, i86t;. 

Major James F. McCurdy, New Albany. 

COMPANY B. 
Private William Robinson, New Albany. 
Recruit — George W. Dean, New Albany. 

COMPANY G. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Lieuter-.ant Campbell Welch, New Washington. 
Second Lieutenant Francis Hall, New Washington. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Frank Hall, New Washington. 

Corporal William M. Dickey, New Washington. 

Corporal Sol D. Rogers. 

Corporal James H. Clapp. 

PRIVATES. 

William J. Turner, Joshua M. Tull, New Washington; 
Samuel H. Amrick, Joel Albright, James A. Brinton, Wil- 
liam R. Cole, James A. Curtis, William R. Clapp, Henry J. 
Clapp, William F. Clapp, John H. Cartner, Robert F. Daily, 
William H. Dorman, Chambers Fields, John T. Hutchings, 
William R. Laswell, Benjamin F. Lemon, Albert Rush, 
James M. Smith. 

Recruits — William Cartner, Oregon; William M. Sturde- 
vant, Memphis. 

COMPANY H. 
PRIVATES. 
George W. Dean, Fidell Shadinger, New Albany. 
COMPANY K. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain I^atayette Frederick (also first lieutenant), Ga- 
lena. 

Captain William Lamb, Galena. 
First Lieutenant Pleasant Lang, Galena. 
Second Lieutenant Martin V. Mallory, Galena. 
First (also second) Lieutenant Frederick Miller, New 
Albany. 

First Lieutenant William M. Gregg, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant William F. Brown. 
Sergeant Charles Wells. 
Sergeant Pleasant Lang. 
Sergeant Martin V. Mallorv. 
Corporal John B. Compton. 
Corporal William H. Merryman. 
Corporal Michael J. Naville. 
Corporal Harrison C. Lamb. 
Musician Alexander Dodd. 

PRIVATES. 

Richard Dunn, John W. Faulkner, Conrad Hiser, Conrad 
Kingberger. Peter Merkel, Benjamin S. McCord, Robert F. 
Minshall, August Sperzel, Lewis Sperzel , George W. Slythe, 
facob Wells, William Wells, James M. Watkins, David 
Williams. 



[The following were recruits]. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal William Gregg, New Albany. 

Corporal William C. Atkins, New Albany. 

Corporal Levi T. Hand, New Albany. 

Sergeant Charles F. Roger, Floyld's Knobs. 

Musician Joseph Drysdale, New Albany. 
PRIVATES. 

James N. Revis, Galena; August F. Ambom, Brewer 
Bird, Adam Bower, Lewis Bir, Jacob Bailey, William G. 
Chamberlain, William P. Cortiner, Valentine Hellwic, Frank 
Hatfield, August Kriger, Frank L. Lipman, F.dward 
Money, Samuel Morris, Lewis S. Nelson, William H. 
Perry, Julius S. Perry, John Rister, Samuel R. Smith, Fred- 
erick Sellers, Michael Sohn, Charles A. O. Schrader, William 
Wedge, Joseph Zollars, John W. Athon, Samuel McKeek, 
New Albany; John R. Yarbrough, William G. Yarbrough, 
Jeffersonville; Curtis Atkins, William H. Cochran, Samuel 
R. Davis, William Foust, Paul E. Gruguard, Walter Moore, 
Jasper Richards, Floyd's Knobs; Isaac Metcalf, Thomas M. 
Martin, Greenville. 

THE ONE HUNDRED AND SEVENTEENTH REGI- 
MENT 

was recruited for six months' service in July and 
August, 1863, and mustered in at Indianapolis 
September 17th. It was sent to Kentucky, join- 
ing a brigade of six months Indiana troops, and 
marching thence in October to East Tennessee. 
Near Greenville it remained until November. 
On the 14th it was in imminent danger of cap- 
ture at Church Mountain Gap, but escaped by 
leaving all baggage and making a forced march 
to Bean's Station. It was then in ganison at 
Cumberland Gap, Strawberry Plains, and May- 
nardsville until near the end of its term. "The 
winter campaign of the six months men in East 
Tennessee," says the Report, "for hardships and 
real suffering was perhaps more severe than that 
of any other winter campaign of the war. The 
One Hundred and Seventeenth suffered its share 
of these privations, marching over mountains, 
crossing streams, and enduring the severest ex- 
posure without shoes, and at times living upon 
quarter rations." The regiment was discharged 
at Indianapolis about the middle of February, 
1864. 

COMPANY E. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain William H. H. Strouse, Greenville. 
First Lieutenant George W. Smith, Greenville. 
Second Lieutenant Jona Peter, New Albany. 
The promotions of these officers are not shown, no mus- 
ter-out rolls having been received by the adjutant general. 
The company was wholly from Floyd county.] 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant James S. Hagans. 



i3° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Sergeant George W. Lukenbill. 
Sergeant Nelson Lukenbill. 
Sergeant Robert Lappenfield. 
Sergeant George W. Brown. 
Corporal Hiram B. Stevenson. 
Corporal Leonard Southerland. 
Corporal. Josh Win. 
Corporal Walter P. Davis. 
Corporal Theodore Mosier. 
Corporal Jeremiah Floyd. 
Corporal Isaac Metcalf. 
Corporal John Sigler. 
Musician Charles E. Scott. 

PRIVATES. 

Bennett Andrew, John Arnold. Thomas Byerley. Frank T. 
Bradberry, James Buley, James M. Brown, James Bunch, 
George Burgess, Robert Boston, Wade Broomfield, Jonathan 
Boston, George Barker, Charles H. Dodge, Thomas Dodge, 
Oscar F. Davis, Pennington R. Eliphalet, George Elliott, 
Levi Elliott, William P. Ellis, John Flemings, Thomas 
Flemings, James H. Foster, Marshall Gardner. Jesse Gibson, 
Matthew Graham, Charles P. Harmon, Alexander W. Hed- 
den, Edward B. Henry, William Henry, Finley A. Hancock, 
Thomas W. Hedgecock, William C. Jones, William H. 
Johnson, John Lownery, John K. Low, Warden Lincoln, 
John H. Mulvania, John Moore, Daniel F. McCrey, George 
Mosier, Isaac Moss, William B. Moore. George O'Neal, 
William Mylinger. Thomas McKinster, Isaac Nelson, Wil- 
liam Palson, Evans Pavay, Volney Phillips, Jonathan Poe, 
Elijah Perkiser, James H. Rollens. John W. Rollings, Henry 
H. Royce, Alvin C. Roll, Peter Rising, Michael Rising, 
Marion Royce, William Redman, John T. Radcliff, Charles 
Rowlings, James Suppenfield, Elias Siglar, Thomas G. 
Strange, Noah U. Sutherland, William L. Swartz, William 
H. H. Smith, Warren Taylor, George Thornbaugh, Isaac 
Thackara, Daniel Underwood, Isaiah Williams, Conrad S. 
Whitman, John Wright, Moses Wingby, Haw Wingby, 
Newton Webb, Joseph Yunt, John Zigler. 

ONE HUNDRED AND NINETEENTH REGIMENT 

(SEVENTH cavalry). 

COMPANY M. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Thomas W. Gibson, Charlestown. 
Corporal George Lutz, Charlestown. 

PRIVATES. 

Benjamin Matthews, Oliver N. Ratts, Charlestown. 
ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTIETH REGIMENT. 
COMPANY I. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal Edward Griffin, Springville. 

PRIVATES. 

Joshua Winders and Alfred Winders, Springville. 
ONE HUNDRED AND TWENTY-FIFTH REGIMENT 

(TENTH cavalry). 
This had two camps of rendezvous — at Vin- 
cennes and Columbus. February 2, 1863, it was 
fully organized, but did not take the field until 
May 3d, when, without horses and armed as in- 
fantry, it started to Nashville and Pulaski, Ten- 



nessee, where, and at Decatur, Alabama, it was 
engaged in guarding railroads during the Atlanta 
campaign. September 28th it fought the battle 
of Pulaski with Forrest, and a detachment at De 
catur had a four-days' fight with Hood's men in 
October. In that campaign the remainder was 
in action at Nashville, Little Harpeth, Reynold's 
Hill, and Sugar Creek. After Hood's retreat the 
Decatur battalion fought, at Flint River, Indian 
Creek, Courtland, and Mount Hope, and cap- 
tured a valuable supply train, ten guns, and one 
hundred and fifty prisoners. The detachments 
joined in February, and went to New Orleans, 
and thence to Mobile Bay, where it aided in the 
reduction of Spanish Fort and Fort Blakely. It 
then marched through Montgomery and Colum- 
bus to Vicksburg, where it did garrison and pa- 
trol duty to the end of its service, August 31, 
1865. It had twenty-eight officers and five hun- 
dred and nineteen men upon arrival at Indian- 
apolis September 5th. 

COMPANY E. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John W. Bradburn, Jeffersonville. 
First Lieutenant Jasper F. Dunlap, Jeffersonville. 
First Lieutenant John F. Leftvvick, Jeffersonville. 
First Lieutenant John T. Dunlap, Jeffersonville. 
Second Lieutenant Franklin G. Wall, Jeffersonville. 
[The rest nearly all Clarke county men.] 

PRIVATES. 

David Adams, James R. Arthur, William A. Boin, John 
Boley, John Craswell, Hudson B. Brady, James M. Brooks, 
James M. Brown, James C. Bryant, Peter Burke, Leonard 
Carr, Gideon C. Childers, James C. Clark, Mart V. B. Clark, 
Seymour Clendenin, Thomas B. Cooper, William C. Craw- 
ford, Patrick Cruley, William Daniel, James A. Dixon, 
Michael Devaney (Floyd county), Rufus Dodd, Thomas 
Dowdy, Patrick Dowling, John Dugan, Walt F. Eversoll, 
John R. Floyd, Mart Fuly, Eli R. Flurry, James Few, John 
Gentry, fames W. Harris, Carter Harris, William Harris, 
James Harris, Julius C. A. Hargett, William H. Heasley, 
George W. Holt, James Herrel, Alexander D. Huron, An- 
drew J. Heckimbottom, Putnam C. Hickman, Patrick 
Hines, William Howington, Polk Howington, Lewis Huber, 
Robert Humble, James M. Hunt, Daniel Hyatt, Nicholas 
C. Jones, Thomas Jarred, Patrick Joyce, Joseph Ring, 
James Kelley, Lorenzo D. Solar. John H. Leftwick, Sterling 
B. Lucas, -James Mack, Michael Moser, John A. May, Wil- 
liam Mann, Thomas McCandless, William McCaw, John T. 
McDaniel, Claiborne P. Millican, Hezekiah McGrady, Mart 
Mahan, Hugh Murphy, Barney McCardle, James New- 
comb, William W. Porter, James Patton, John J. Pritchett. 
Zebediah Payne, William C. Reed, James W. Ray, Isaac 
Roberts, William H. Robertson, AndrewJ. Rowill, James 
S. Sanders. James Sartain, John Squires, James M. Selvage, 
Allen Slaten, Samuel Stout. Mart V. B. Smith, William G. 
Sprucill, Francis M. Thomas, Powell C. Thompson, Richard 
Towns, Franklin G. Wall, Thomas.J. Weatherly. James S. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



131 



Wade, John White, Robert M. (or W.) White, William S. 
Webster, George Wilburn, Humphrey Williams, John 
Willis. 

[No addresses are given with names of recruits to this com- 
pany.] 

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-FIRST REGIMENT 
(THIRTEENTH cavalry). 
This was the last cavalry command raised in 
Indiana. Recruiting for it was begun in Sep- 
tember, 1863, and continued till April 29, 1864, 
when it was mustered into service at Indian- 
apolis. It left the next day for Nashville, and 
joined a camp of instruction there till May 31st, 
when it was sent to garrison duty at Huntsville 
Here it was in several skirmishes and on the 
1st of October held its position against the en- 
tire force of General Buford. October 16th 
companies A, C, D, F, H, and I, started for 
Louisville, whence they were ordered to Pa- 
ducah. In November they moved from Louis- 
ville to Nashville, and were presently in the bat- 
tles of Overall's Creek and Wilkinson's Pike, 
and in twelve skirmishes, with an aggregate loss 
of 67 out of 325. The other companies served 
as infantry in the battle of Nashville, after which 
the regiment was united, and assigned to the 
Second brigade, Seventh division of - the Cav- 
alry corps. February 11, 1S65, it started on 
transports down the Mississippi, and disem- 
barked finally at Mobile Bay, where it reported 
to General Canby and assisted in the operations 
against the forts and defenses of Mobile, also 
running a courier line to Florida. April 17th, 
after the fall of Mobile, it started on the long 
Grierson raid through Georgia, Alabama, and 
Mississippi, reaching Columbus, in the last- 
named State, May 22d. The regiment then did 
garrison duty at Macon and on the railroad till 
June 6th, when it returned to Columbus, and 
staid till late in the fall, when it moved to Vicks- 
burg, and was there mustered out November 
18, 1865. A week afterwards it was handsomely 
received at Indianapolis, returning with 23 offi- 
cers and 633 men. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Lieutenant Colonel (also major) Ranna S. Moore, New 
Albany. 

Major Leonidas Stout, New Albany. 
Quartermaster Edward A. Cobb, New Albany. 
Commissary John B. Ruter, New Albany. 

COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Jacob Herman, New Albany. 



Second Lieutenant (and first sergeant) Jacob Miller, New 
Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Company Quartermaster Sergeant William Gehlback, New 
Albany. 

Sergeant Thomas Crawford, New Albany. 
Corporal Gideon B. Vandyke, New Albany. 
Corporal George E. Herman, New Albany. 
Corporal John W. J. Smith, New Albany. 
Corporal David E. Craig, Memphis. 
Bugler George H. Cook, New Albany. 
Saddler Jacob Sherrer, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

Samuel Aladice, John M. Abbott, Benjamin F. Applegate, 
Martin L. Armstrong, Joseph H. Byrns, James M. Blake, 
Oscar Burton, Thomas Ferry, William W. Hockersmith, 
August Jocelyn, John C. June, William L. Kerr, Andrew 
Knoyer, Andrew V. McBarron, Pinckney C. Nance, John 
Ryan, Frank M. Rakestraw, William Smith, James Stock- 
dale, John Tomlinson, Lewis Weiland, William A. Wood, 
Andrew York, New Albany; John Folsom, Thomas J. 
Sloan, Memphis; Joseph Briggs, Jonathan T. Burge, Provi- 
dence; Jesse Cronk, Galena. Recruits, Albert G. Gibson, 
Thomas J. Scott, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY D. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal Harbin H. Moore, New Albany. 
' Corporal James R. Appleby. New Albany. 
Farrier and Blacksmith John W. Harris, New Albany. 
Saddler John F. P. Money, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 
Samuel Dennis, Andrew Degnan, Henry T. Francis, Willis 
G. Heth, Joseph Hubler, James Hudson, John Keafer, 
Michael Lemuel, New Albany. 

COMPANY E. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain Charles F Bruder, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant (also first sergeant) Charles W. Bruder, 
New Albany. 

First Lieutenant (also second lieutenant) John Michaels, 
New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant William Haun, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Company Quartermaster Sergeant John B. Ruter, New 
Albany. 

Sergeant Joseph L. Hanger, New Albany, 
Sergeant John F. Norrington, New Albany. 
Sergeant John Mickels, New Albany. 
Corporal Frank Curran, New Albany. 
Corporal Gottlob Burckle, New Albany. 
Corporal Harrison Robinson, New Albany. 
Wagoner Lewis H. Milholland, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

William Alvah, Charles Barron, Charles Bowen, Thomas 
Butler, James Dunn, George Fishback, James S. Grosehart, 
William L. Gilchrist, John Harriott. Eugene Heffman, Fred- 
erick Hans, George Howard, John Johnson, John Kelly, 
Patrick Kingswell, Daniel Lappe, Jacob Manin, Thomas 
McNeal, John Mack, Charles W. Randall, Phineon Sears, 
James M. Sneed. John J. L. Thurman, Englebert Volmer, 
James H. Yarbrough, New Albany; William Bottoms, Solo- 
mon Miller, Josiah T. Mullen, Edwardville; Christ Thomas, 
Georgetown. 



132 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



COMPANY H. 
Private — Thomas Yarbrough, New Albany. 

COMPANY L. 
Private — Benjamin J. Armstrong. New Albany. 

COMPANY M. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Dillon Bridges, Charlestown. 
Captain George P. Bunce (also first lieutenant) Charles- 
town. 

First Lieutenant James M. Ross, Charlestown. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant David Loring. 

Company Quartermaster Sergeant Joseph D. Bridges. 

Company Commissary Sergeant James M. Ross. 

Sergeant Ephraim C. Wilson. 

Sergeant Jeremiah A. Powell. 

Corporal John B. Miller, New Albany. 

Corporal David L. Weir, Memphis. 

Corporal Henry C. Farward, Otto. 

Corporal William Hardirhan, Otto. 

Bugler James H. Wier, Memphis. 

Bugler Theodore F. McCletlan, Memphis. 

Saddler Frank Temper, New Albany. 

Wagoner William Watson, JefTersonville. 

PRIVATES. 

George Anstall, William M. Barnes, George W. Bradley, 
James Fenston, George Haybour; recruit Sylvester A. Mc- 
Kenzie, Charlestown; James Andrews, John Benson, John 
Holland, John Simon, Thomas Simonson, Clairborne Wooli- 
fer, John Woolford, New Albany; Joseph Calivary, Jacob 
Sehr, Nicholas Sehr, Alfred Sloan, Moses Pruit, John S. 
Sholl, Memphis; John England, Alexander Gorsage, William 
H. Harriman, John B. Stoner, Andrew Stoner, Jacob Stoner, 
Otto;JosephBoyce, George Rogers, JefTersonville; Enoch M. 
Bennett, Jefferson Montgomery, Utica; Mack Hooker, New 
Washington; recruits, John R. Brewer, Christ C. Brewer, 
Henryville; William Norman, Floyd county. 

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

(One hundred days' service). 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Erastus Baird, Clarke county. 
Corporal Henry Sharpe, Clarke county. 

PRIVATES. 

Benjamin Bawisley, Juan Brayward, Edward Geisert, 
Theodore Low, Elmadores Pool, Richard Whitson, Jacob 
Whitson, Clarke county. 

ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-SEVENTH REGIMENT. 

This was one of eight regiments raised in the 
spring of 1864, under a call for hundred-days' 
men, to relieve the veterans on garrison and 
guard duty, and enable them to take the field. 
The One Hundred and Thirty-seventh was 
mustered in at Indianapolis May 27th. Five 
companies were from the Third Congressional 
district, and five from other parts of the State. 
The regiment was sent to Tennessee, and with 
the other hundred-days' commands from Indiana, 



was kept guarding railroads for somewhat more 
than their period of service, when, about the 1st 
ot September, they were returned to Indianapolis 
and discharged from service. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Lieutenant Colonel Thomas D. Fouts, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY D. 
Private Taylor Miller, Clarke county. 

COMPANY E. 

PRIVATES. 

Joel M. Conn, John W. Cunningham, James F. Cunning- 
ham, John C. King, Clarke county. 

COMPANY F. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Dennis F. Willey, Clarke county. 

PRIVATES. 

William Adams, George D. Allhands, Silas Bottorff, Henry 
Bowen, John H. Cole, Newton J. Conn, Addison G. Conner, 
George W. Crum, William W. Crum, John Davis, John 
Francis, James Gusamore, William C. Hanlin, Thomas G. 
Harris, John Hudson, Joseph Jones, Pinkenv L. Justice, 
George W. Koons, Thomas J. Lewman, William Long, 
James P. McGee, Robert McMillan, Thomas L. Mont- 
gomery, Anson Nicholson, Isaac M. Perry, James Rush, 
Lambert Rush, George A. Smith, Arthur C. Stockwell, 
Thomas A. Stutsman, Elisha W. Thompson, Thomas C. 
Williams, Clarke county. 

[The remainder of the company was from Jefferson and 
Scott counties.] 

THE ONE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-NINTH REGI- 
MENT 

was also recruited for one hundred days, and 
mustered in at the State capital June 8, 1864. 
New Albany and Metamora consolidated their 
recruits for it to form one company (B). It was 
shortly sent southward, and performed in Ten- 
nessee similar duty with other regiments of its 
class during its term of service, and a little more. 
(One hundred days' service). 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Chaplain Allen W. Monroe, New Albany. 
COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Lieutenant and Captain Allen W. Monroe, New 
Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

James T. Adams, Charles Beck, Lewis Bravelt, James Bo- 
lander, Marks B. Colvin. Randy Davis, George Decary, Hutch- 
ins Barham, George Evans, Victor Emery, Thomas Faurote, 
Alexander Hildrath, William Hinaman, Charles Humes, 
George Humes, John Lee, Isaac Lockwood. Elmire Mc- 
Guire, Clark Mclntire, Hiram Oliphant, John T. Reed, 
George Reisinger, Edward P. Smith, John J. Smith, Henry 
Seep, Charles H. Trooney, Absalom Wiley, Alfred Wright, 
James Wright, Floyd county. 

[The rest of the company was raised in Franklin county.] 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



133 



ONE HUNDRED AND FORTIETH REGIMENT. 

[One years' service]. 

COMPANY E. 
Private Theodore R. Best, Jeffersonville. 
ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-THIRD REGIMENT. 

[One years' service]. 
This was the second of eleven regiments raised 
in the winter of 1864-65, for one year's service. 
It was recruited in the Second Congressional 
district, and mustered in at Indianapolis March 
6, 1865. Three days afterwards it started for 
Harper's Ferry, where it was assigned to the 
First brigade, First Provisional division, Army of 
the Shenandoah. It was stationed at Halltown, 
Winchester, Charlestown, Stevenson Depot, and 
Opequan creek, engaged in guard duty, until Au- 
gust s, 1 865, when it was mustered out. On the 9th 
it reached Indianapolis, with thirty-seven officers 
and eight hundred and forty men, and two days 
after shared in a soldiers' reception in the capi- 
tal grounds, where it was addressed by Lieuten- 
ant Governor Baker, General (now United States 
Senator) Benjamin Harrison, and others. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Lieutenant Colonel John T. McQuiddy, New Albany. 
Lieutenant Colonel Henry C. Ferguson, Charlestown. 
Major Thomas Clark, New Albany. 
Adjutant Henry B. Spencer, New Albany. 
Assistant Surgeon Thomas C. Neat, New Albany. 

COMPANY A. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain 1 homas Clarke, New Albany. 

Captain Frank Hopper (also first lieutenant). New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Andrew F. O'Neil, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant James Fullyard, New Albany. 
Sergeant Gorham Tuffts, New Albany. 
Sergeant Thomas J. Reed, New Albany. 
Sergeant Isaac Gowen, New Albany. 
Corporal John C. Thurman, New Albany. 
Corporal James G. Rowley, New Albany. 
Corporal George A. Graham, New Albany. 
Corporal James H. Faxon. New Albany. 
Corporal James L. Miller, Galena. 

PRIVATES. 

Augustus Bresson, Edward Buckley, James Cooper, Wil- 
liam P. Dixon, John Feco, Lawrence Fogle, Thomas M. 
Gardner, William S. Gibson, Powell Henn, Joseph Huber, 
Wiliiam Higbee, Zachariah T. Hanev, William A. Jackson, 
Joseph Kelso, Michael Murphy, Joseph McLaughlin, Robert 
G McLaughlin, H. R. McKinley, Andrew F. O'Neil, Elisha 
Prime, George W. Phipps, Jefferson Reisinger, Joseph Ran- 
dolph, Hugh F. L. Smith. Henry Vance, vVilliam H. Wood, 
George Widering, Peter Wise, New Albany; Lewis Baron, 
George W. Lyons, Peter Pey, Adam Stumber, Joseph Smith, 
Joseph Thomas, Lavia Vevia. Floyd's Knobs; Robert H. 



Stroedtham, Charles H. Merryman, Theodore Ingram, 
Francis Fatix, Henry Conrad, Galena; James F. Blossom, 
Jesse K. Engleman. William N. Hopper, Isham Jones, James 
P. Richards, Greenville; Jacob Cook, Sutherland Mayfield, 
Lafayette Holmes, Edwardsville; Matthew Rady, Greenville. 

COMPANY B. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Henry C. Ferguson, Charlestown. 

Captain Floyd G. Ogden (also first lieutenant), Utica. 

Second Lieutenant John F. Bullock, Charlestown. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant Lafayette Wood, Bennettsville. 

Sergeant Francis J. Steraheim, Charlestown. 

Sergeant Solomon F. Rose. Blue Lick. 

Sergeant David L. Gwin, Memphis. 

Corporal John Williams, Memphis. 

Corporal Oscar J . Randall, Memphis. 

Corporal Stephen F. Hardin, Muddy Fork. 

Corporal William Stone, Muddy Fork. 

Musician David D. Coombs, Memphis. 

Musician James Hughes, Memphis. 
PRIVATES. 

Jacob Anslatt, Barney Carney, George W. Crum, Jacob 
Doll, William Dawson, Joseph Eichle, Andrew Graves, Wil- 
liam C. Hanlin, Frederick Hebner, Allen Hutchings, William 
McCombs, Hamilton McCormick, William Masmer, William 
L. Noe, James M. Parker, David W. Rowland, William M. 
Robertson, Joseph H. Smith, William A. Woirall, Charles- 
town; William R. York, William W. Wood, Ogilvie B. 
Spencer. Henry T. Sparling, John Miller, Abner McDonald, 
John McCarty, Jesse Leeds, George S. Idell, James Huston, 
Thomas Holden, William H. Hawkins, Charles E. Carle, 
JeffersonviUe; Benjamin F. Alexander, Sellersburg; Eli 
Baker, Benjamin Beyle, Benjamin Carter, Elim L. Guernsey, 
Memphis; Charles Bassett, William Bell, David Chriswell, 
Robert H. King, John Shay, Jasper Wood, Bennettsville; 
James W. Wilson, George Maywood, Barney Hamilton, 
Utica; Alonzo C. Cooley, Josiah McCory, Henry H. Plum- 
mer, Henry Stone, Muddy Fork; George W. Stinson, New- 
Albany; Francis M. Dinetz, Blue Lick. 

COMPANY C. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant Gordon Warnick, JeffersonviUe. 

PRIVATE. 



Jacob J. Miller. 



COMPANY E. 



NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Wagoner Benjamin Johnson, Edwardsville. 

PRIVATES. 
Martin Ang, New Albany; Gilbert P. Gunn, Edwardsville; 
James Holstclaw, New Albany; John W. Johnston, Dale 
Keith, Edwardsville; Enoch S. Lewallen, Theodore Routh, 
New Albany; George W. Routh. William H. Sillings. Ed- 
wardsville. 

COMPANY F. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant William B. Peter, Galena. 
Sergeant Robert Sappenfield, Greenville. 
Sergeant John W. Brazeman, Galena. 
Corporal William D. Morris, Greenville. 
Corporal George Hopper, Greenville. 



•34 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



PKIVATEb. 

fames M. Craig, New Albany; Nelson Lukebill, Philip 
Martin, Thomas Taylor, Isaac Woods, Greenville; Aaron 
Zigler, New Washington. 

COMPANY G. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Henry H. Ewing, |effersonville. 

First Lieutenant John F. Wilson, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Joseph F. Place, Providence. 

Sergeant Marcus D. French, Jeffersonville. 

Sergeant Elisha C. Rose, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal William E. Ross, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal William Norman, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal George W. Ross, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal William Mathews, Jeffersonville. 

Corporal Henry B. McAkins, Charlestown. 

Corporal Alexander Fordyce, New Providence. 

Musician James Hilton, Jeftersonville. 

Wagoner Franklin Gibbs, Jeffersonville. 
PRIVATES. 

John Bradley, John H. Beeler, Daniel Cleveland, John 
Carr, Asa Chambers, Beechard E. Demming, Edward 
Fletcher, Levi Frothingham, Mathew Faucett, William P. 
Galvin, George W. Golden. John Gray, Richard Green, 
James Kining, John Lutz, James Lang, Robert Lang, Peter 
F. Seclar, William M. Minter, Franklin Mason, Greenberry 
N. Rose, Taylor Rose, George W. Reed, William Rodgers, 
John M. Rodgers, Isaac Ronzee, Samuel Stevenson, Thomas 
Sullivan, George Sisum, James A. Stevens, Shades Trammel 
George Williams, Richard Wilson, James Whitesell, Andrew 
Wilson, John Wallace, Jeffersonville; Jefferson Rice, Isam 
Pruett, William E. Mathias, William Hinton, John F'. Ham- 
den. Hiram Forrister, Albert Forrister. Lew H. Durking, 
Zaehariah Brumsfield, New Albany; George D. Jacobs, 
Charlestown; Robert Newman. New Providence; Erasmus 
Bennett. Eli Hilton, Utica. 

COMPANY H. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Stephen S. Cole, Charlestown. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant John W. Hanlin, Oregon. 

PRIVATES. 

Joel Amick, Hugh Goben, Andrew J. Maixwell, Jesse 
Smith, William Watson, James Watson, Samuel Wagoner, 
Samuel N. Hillard, Jeffersonville; Abner Reggs, Henryville; 
William L. Carter, Blue Lick; James Conley, New Albany; 
Enoch A. Maloy, Memphis. 

COMPANY K. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

First Lieutenant James Nicholson, New Albany. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant Frank Creamer, New Albany. 
Corporal Rolin B. Perry, New Albany. 
Corporal Morgan D. Jones, New Albany. 
Wagoner Barney Shine, New Albany. 

PRIVATES. 

William H. Akers, Jerry Brooks, Thomas Eurles, Jacob 
Fess, Michael Groshart, Robert Johnson, William Love, 
Charles W. Marsh, John Morton, James M. Melton, Ezek 
Mezingill, William H. Proctor, James M. Riley, Claiborne 
Sigler, Henry H. Sigler, William Sharp, John W. Wells. 



Bartlett Witlon, New Albany; Hudson J. Martin, jertersun- 
ville. 

ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-KIFTH REGIMENT. 

(One-year service. ) 

COMPANY A. 

Private James Jackson. 

COMPANY R 
Nathan Cooper, David Oliver, Jeffersonville, recruits. 
COMPANY F. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant John M. Ratliff, Jeffersonville. 
COMPANY G. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Sergeant Robert Brown, New Albany. 
ONE HUNDRED AND FORTY-SIXTH REGIMENT. 

(One-year service.) 

COMPANY A. 
PRIVATES. 

Elias C. Ball, John Brooks, Joseph Denham, New Albany. 
COMPANY I. 

PRIVATES. 

Elisha Dodge, Robert Phillips, Greenville. 

TWENTY-EIGHTH REGIMENT UNITED STATES 
COLORED TROOPS. 

Six companies of this regiment were organized 
at Indianapolis in April, 1864, as a part of the 
quota of the State, but were turned over to the 
United States as a battalion of the Twenty-eighth. 
It left the city April 24th, for Washington, and 
was jjlaced in a camp of instruction at Alexan- 
dria, where it underwent a series of drills in 
preparation for active field service. On the 2d 
of June it embarked for White House, on the 
Yorktown peninsula, where it took part in an en- 
gagement on the 21st. With Sheridan's cavalry 
it had a toilsome and circuitous march through 
the Chickahominy swamps to Prince George's 
Court House, during which it sustained much loss 
from frequent skirmishing with the enemy. At 
the Court House it was assigned to Thomas' 
brigade, Fenero's division, Ninth army corps, 
and with it moved to the neighborhood of the 
Appomattox, where it took full part in the Pe- 
tersburg campaign. > It was in the terrible battle 
of'the Crater," and lost nearly half the number 
engaged. The shattered ranks were presently 
recruited, and four more companies were sent 
from Indiana, filling the regiment. At Hatcher's 
Run it was prominently engaged, and lost a 
large number. It was then transferred to the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



135 



Twenty-eighth corps, Army of the James, and 
put on duty in the quartermaster's department at 
City Point, where it remained until the final op- 
erations against Richmond. It was among the 
first Federal troops to occupy that city, was de- 
tained for three days at Camp Lee, and then 
sent to City Point again, to guard prisoners. It 
there staid until the corps was ordered to Texas, 
and arrived at Brazos Santiago July 1, 1865. It 
was disembarked at Indianola on the 5th, and 
was on duty at Corpus Christi until November 
8th, when it was mustered out of service. It re- 
turned by New Orleans and Cairo to Indianap- 
olis, reaching there with thirty-three officers and 
nine hundred and fifty men. January 8th — Bat- 
tle of New Orleans day — a public reception was 
given the Twenty-eighth at the tabernacle, where 
speeches of welcome were made by Governor 
Baker and others, and responses by Lieutenant 
Colonel Logan, Chaplain White, and Lieutenant 
Holahan. The next day the regiment was dis- 
charged from service. 

COMPANY A. 
Recruits, Charles Bowles, James Botts. Henderson Pete, 
Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY B. 
Recruits, George Con, Henry Daniels, Jesse Gassaway, 
Jackson Harriss, Philip Simcoe, Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY D. • 
Privates, Doctor McClure, Oliver Prine, Joseph Williams, 
New Albany. Recruits, Edward Coleman, Levi Hillman, 
Thomas Linsey, Charles Williams. Jeffersonville. 

COMPANY E. 

Private William Scott," Clarke county. 
COMPANY G. 

Recruits, Thomas Jackson, James Walker, Jeffersonville. 
COMPANY I. 

Privates, Roily Douglass, James Gibson, Jackson Guthrie, 
Edward Johnson, Joseph Robinson, Matlock Spencer, Jack 
Towsey. Jeffersonville. Recruits, George Stinson, Charles 
Williams, Jeffersonville. 

Unassigned recruits — George Coldow, John Harrison, 
Thomas C. Jackson, Ed Johnson, John Williams, Edward 
Wilson, Samuel Woods, Clarke county; William McAtee, 
Jack Robertson, Alexander Samuels, William Wallace, 
Richard Graham, Floyd county. 

EIGHTH REGIMENT UNITED STATES COLORED 
TROOPS. 
PRIVATES. 

Recruits — William Ayres, Alexander Allen. Alfred Braher. 
William Cox, Bill CAiipbell, James Dert, John Foster, 
Newton Finley, Phil Gibson, Robert Howard, John Hamell, 
Henry Harrison, Joe Hilligoss, Charles Henry, Henry John- 
son, Martin Luther, Samuel McHenry. Dansberry Umdock, 



Theodore Myers, James M. Ragan, John S. Smith, James 
Stewart, John Warner, Joseph Walker, Clarke county; 
Jerry Williams. James W. Thompson, George Smith, James 
Stewart, Enoch Machum, William Mars, Joseph E. Jinkes, 
John Jackson, Elijah Hart, John Foster, Charles Evans, 
David Barrett, Floyd county. 

THIRTEENTH REGIMENT UNITED STATES COLORED 
TROOPS. 
PRIVATES. 

Recruits — George Christian, William Johnson, Floyd 
county; Pleasant Morris, Clarke county. 

FOURTEENTH RHODE ISLAND HEAVY ARTILLERY, 

UNITED STATES COLORED TROOPS. 

PRIVATES. 

Jeremiah Baker, John Cahill, Nicholas Chinn, Moses Fry, 
Richard Howard, Archibald Kelly, Calvin Reed, George 
Washington, Edward Wallace, Jeffersonville. 

UNASSIGNED COLORED RECRUITS. 
PRIVATES.' 

Colonel Brown, Henry Clay, John Cosbey, John Turner, 
Jacob Dosier, (substitute), Floyd county; Joseph Carroll, 
Joe Hawkins, George White, Jerry Willis, John Page (sub- 
stitute), Ned Street (substitute), Clarke county. 

TENTH BATTERY, LIGHT ARTILLERY. 

PRIVATES. 

Michael Gessler, Fred. Hammer, John Ruppert, John H. 
Southard, New Albany. 

TWELFTH BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY. 

This was recruited at Jeffersonville, organized 
at Indianapolis, December 20, 1861, and mus- 
tered in January 25, 1862. February 22d it pro- 
ceeded to Louisville, where it was temporarily 
assigned to General Thomas' division in Buell's 
army, and with it marched to Nashville, arriving 
on the 6th of March. On the 29th it advanced 
across the country with a detachment of Buell's 
command to Savannah, on the Tennessee; but 
did not reach Pittsburg Landing in time to take 
part in the action. Here Captain Sterling re- 
signed (April 25th), and was succeeded by Sec- 
ond Lieutenant White. In May and June the 
battery shared in the movement against Corinth, 
and after the evacuation of that place went with 
the Army of the Cumberland into Northern Ala- 
bama as far .east as Stephenson, and thence 
moved to Nashville, getting there August 18. 
It was here stationed in Fort Negley, in charge 
of the siege guns of the garrison, and remained 
there the rest of its term. November 5th the 
city was attacked by the united forces of Breck- 
enridge, Forrest, and Morgan ; and the men of 
the Twelfth, handling skilfully the guns of the 
fort, rendered important service in repelling the 



136 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



attack. After Chickamauga was fought, half of 
the battery, under Lieutenant Dunwoody, was 
sent to Chattanooga, and arrived in tim". to share 
in the victories of Lookout Mountain and Mis- 
sion Ridge, after which it returned to Nashville. 
Forty-eight men of the battery re-enlisted in Jan- 
uary, 1864. The service of this year was com- 
paratively uneventful, except on the 15th and 
16th of December, during the battle before Nash- 
ville, when it was actively engaged. Thirty non- 
veterans were mustered out December 23d, at the 
expiration of their term. January 5, 1865, Cap- 
tain White resigned, and Lieutenant Dunwoody 
was commissioned to his place March 1st. The 
battery was kept well recruited, and had more 
men at the end of its service than were properly 
allowed to light batteries. July 1, 1865, it 
reached Indianapolis for muster out and dis- 
charge, with five officers and one hundred and 
seventy men, and was relieved from further duty 
on the 7th of that month. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain George W. Sterling, Jeffersonville. 

Captain James E. White (also second lieutenant), Jefferson- 
ville. 

First Lieutenant Wilfred H. Wilford, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant Adam A. Steadier, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant George Leach, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant James W. Jacobs (also second lieutenant), 
Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant Moody C. Dustin, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant George W. Linch (also second lieutenant), 
Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Samuel B. Glover, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant James D. Robinson, Jeffersonville. 

Second Lieutenant William Getty, Utica. 

Second Lieutenaut Joseph Shaw, Utica. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant George W. Gilson, Charlestown. 

Quartermaster Sergeant James E. White. 

Sergeant Joseph Kelly. 

Sergeant George Link. 

Sergeant James D. Robison. 

Corporal James C. Richards. 

Corporal Squire Gill. 

Corporal Moody C. Dustin. 

Artificer Marshall White. 

Artificer James W. Jacobs. 

Artificer Samuel Hanson. 



Villa Bucha, William Brendell, Thomas Chambers, Mat- 
thew Carroll, Louis Dolfert, Calvin A. Gibson, George 
Greene, Charles S. Idell, Pleasant Ingram, Abner Kelly, 
Michael Lavey, Aciel B. Morgan, Anthony McGlaird, David 
L. May, William Mitchell, Hemy Plister, Richard Powell, 
Benjamin Roach, Josiah Reeder, Joseph Snider, David S. 
Stafford, John W. Shield. 



The following were recruits : 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal Moses Lease, New Albany. 
Corporal Joseph Shaw, Utica. 
Corporal John M. Cross, Charlestown. 
Bugler Webster Marsh, Utica. 
Wagoner Thomas Marsh, Utica. 

PRIVATES. 

William H. H. Fletcher, George M. Goss, James Martin, 
Jeffersonville ; Joseph Bier, John Hozier, Jr., Robert Hedge- 
cock, George W. McCulley, New Albany; James Briggs, John 
Briggs, Charles Herrick, William T. Hutchinson, John 
Hooper, Darius G. Hogg, Thomas J. James, Jeremiah 
Lewis, John I. Cloud, James D. Irwin, William Getty. 
Henry C. Marsh, Benjamin F. Potter, Peter C. Perry. James 
M. Swartz, all of Utica ; Peter Bottorf, Anthony Bowers. 
Newton F. Gibson, James A. Haas, James B. Jacobs, David 
Noftskey, John B. Randals, all of Charlestown; Frank J. 
Deitz. Michael H. H. Dillon, John S. Good, Thomas Idner, 
James T. Staton, George W. Koons, Clinton Thompson, 
James Young, Zachariah Young, Memphis. 

FOURTEENTH BATTALLION (LIGHT ARTILLERY). 

Recruit — Oscar Galliger, New Albany. 

There were probably many Clarke and Floyd 
county men in other batteries, but most of their 
rolls furnish no means of naming and locating 
them. 

INDEPENDENT BATALLION. 

(Thirty days' service.) 
This was composed chiefly of militia men in 
the Indiana legion, who volunteered in July, 
1862, for thirty days under a special call of the 
President, to guard rebel prisoners confined at 
Camp Morton, Indianapolis. It was not fully 
organized with field and staff officers, but was 
commanded by Colonel D. G. Rose, of the Fifty- 
fourth regiment, commandant of the military 
prison. The following company was altogether 
from New Albany. 

THE DAVIS ZOUAVES. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Hezekiah Brown. 

First Lieutenant William A. M. Cox. 

Second Lieutenant Willett Wilcox. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

First Sergeant George W. Celf. 
Sergeant Henry C. Wicks. 
Sergeant Benjamin F. Brocker. 
SergeantWiatt W. Wicks. 
Sergeant Theodore Beard. 
Corporal John W. Seabrook. 
Corporal John March. 
Corporal William Garrett. 
Corporal George W. Scales. 
Musician Benjamin Lemmon. 
Musician Charles Griggs. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i37 



PRIVATES. 

John Abbott, Miles Ashby, Henry Baxter, Oscar Benton, 
James M. Blake, John W. Blake, William Cavender, George 
W. Chase, James Cooper, Silas A. Day, Alfred Derramore, 
John Donaldson, James Duffy, John Ealy, Nathan N. 
Evans, Charles Fits, Charles Frederick, Oscar W. Galhgher, 
George Graham, Creighton Humes, James H. King, Henry 
Kotter, William Logue, John Luty, George W. Lukenbill, 
George Martin. John J. McNally, Charles Marsh. Frank 
Meyer. George Minsch, Robert F. Minshall, Frederick 
Murphy, Andrew Plowt, Henry Robinson, Dallas Sanford, 
Charles Sinking, Edward Smith, James Stockdale, Joseph 
Sullivan, John H. Wardrip, George Whiteman, Stephen 
Whitman. 

FIRST ARMY CORPS (HANCOCK'S CORPS.) 

This was raised under an order of the War 
department November 28, 1864, for one years' 
service, of men who had served honorably not 
less than two years, and were therefore not sub- 
ject to a draft. The corps was to comprise not 
less than twenty thousand infantry, and was 
raised from the country at large. The following- 
named persons was credited to Clarke county-: 

EIGHTH REGIMENT. 
Private Nicholas Reuter. • 
And the following to Floyd county: 

FIFTH REGIMENT. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICER. 

Corporal Sylvester Webber, New Albany. 
NINTH REGIMENT. 
NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Sergeant George Deichert . 
Corporal Henry Brock. 

PRIVATES. 

Joseph Gang, George Townsend. 

FIRST UNITED STATES VETERAN VOLUNTEER 
ENGINEERS. 

Organized under act of Congress approved 
May 20, 1864, from the volunteers in the Army 
of the Cumberland serving or having served as 
pioneers, pontoniers, or engineers. 

COMPANY B. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Corporal James W. Turner, New Albany. 
Artificer Daniel T. Davis. 

PRIVATE. 

William Coats, New Providence. 

COMPANY E. 

NON-COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Sergeant William Friend, New Albany. 
Artificer Benjamin F. Ferguson, Clarke county. 

UNASSIGNED MEN. 
Edward P. Curtis, John A- Elkins, George Lehr, James 
A. Riley, Floyd county. 



William Grimes, Harman Lamb, George W. Lamb, Clarke 
county. 

SEVENTEENTH REGIMENT (INDIANA LEGION). 

This was composed mainly of the militiamen 
of Floyd county. Only the names of officers are 
given in the adjutant general's report. Some 
notice of its history is given in the introduction 
to this chapter. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 
Colonel Benjamin F. Scribner, New Albany. 
Colonel William W. Tuley, New Albany. 
Colonel Edward A. Maginniss, New Albany. 
Lieutenant Colonel James F. Curdy, New Albany. 
Major William W. Tuley, New Albany. 
Major E. Q. Naghel, New Albany. 
Quartermaster Jesse J. Brownoak, New Albany. 

ANDERSON RIFLES. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Daniel F. Griffin, New Albany. 

Captain Alf B. Collins, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant William H. Mahan, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant John Creed, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Edward A. Maginniss, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Edward Faucett, New Albany. 

CITY GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Aug M. Jackson, New Albany. 

Captain Frank Lewis, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Eugene Commandeur, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant James Lindley, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant James F. McCurdy, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant John Stacey, New Albany. 

RINGGOLD ARTILLERY. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John W. Gerard, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Charles W. Cottorn, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant John S. Beggs, New Albany. 

NATIONAL ZOUAVES. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Thomas Clark, New Albany. 

Captain Lute Tuttle, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Edward L. Pennington, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant George W. Carney, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Alonzo Tubbs, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Thomas F. Sage. 

NATIONAL BLUES. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain John Clelland, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant James Nicholson, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Charles Burder, New Albany. - 

SANDERSON GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Benjamin F. Scribner, New Albany. 
Captain Thomas S. Kimble, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Thomas S. Kimble, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Frank A. Lewis, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Frank A. Lewis, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant John W. Renshaw, New Albany. 



138 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



GREENVILLE RIFLEMEN. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain David G. Kay, Greenville. 

First Lieutenant Marion W. Smith, Greenville. 

Second Lieutenant Hiram Murphy, Greenville. 

SIXTH WARD GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Edward L. Pennington, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Isaac Busby, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Isaac F. Barnett, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Peter Wise, New Albany. 

NATIONAL GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John P. Frank, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant John Dietz, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Edward Volz, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Frank Schmidt, New Albany. 

TULEY LIGHT GUARD. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Joseph St. John, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant John Stilwell, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Charles East, New Albany. 

GEBHART INFANTRY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain J. F. Gebhart, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Thomas Kiementz, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Lawrence Weber, New Albany. 

GERMAN ARTILLERY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Adam Knapp, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Louis Schneider, New Albany. 
First Lieutenant Adam Weimer, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Chris Weber, New Albany. 
Second Lieutenant Fred Hammer, New Albany. 

STEUBEN GUARD. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Fred Pistorius, New Albany. 

Captain John Hahn, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant John Hahn, New .Albany. 

First Lieutenant Frank Kodalle, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Charles Pfestch, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Charles Pfestch, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant Peter Bock, New Albany. 

DAVIS ZOUAVES. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Hezekiah Brown, New Albany. 

First Lieutenant Willett M. Wilcox, New Albany. 

Second Lieutenant James M. Mason, New Albany. 

FRANKLIN HOME GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Daniel A. Smith. 
First Lieutenant Walter L. Smith. 
Second Lieutenant James A. H. Alton. 
[Residences not given]. 

GREENVILLE MOUNTED INFANTRY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain Thomas J. Williams, Greenville. 



First Lieutenant James Taylor, Greenville. 
Second Lieutenant William T. Miller, Greenville. 

EIGHTH REGIMENT, INDIANA LEGION. 

[This was composed of companies from Clarke and Scott 
counties]. 

FIELD AND STAFF. 

Colonel James Keigwin, Jeffersonville. 

Colonel John M. Ingram, Jeffersonville. 

Colonel John F. Willey, Memphis. 

Lieutenant Colonel Samuel C. Taggart. JefTersonville. 

Lieutenant Colonel Thomas D. Fouts, JefTersonville. 

Lieutenant Colonel Warren Horr, Charlestown. 

Adjutant Josiah W. Gwin, JefTersonville. 

Adjutant James Ryan, JefTersonville. 

Quartermaster Melvin Weir, Jeffersonville. 

Surgeon David H. Combs, Jeffersonville. 

JEFFERSON ARTILLERY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain George L. Key, JefTersonville. 

First Lieutenant Reuben Wells, JefTersonville. 

Second Lieutenant James Wathen, Jeffersonville. 

BATTLE CREEK GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Benjamin F. Lutz, JefTersonville. 
Captain John F. Willey, Jeffersonville. 
Captain Dennis F. Willey, JefTersonville. 
First Lieutenant Isaac M. KcJons, JefTersonville. 
First Lieutenant George W. Luman, Jeffersonville., 
First Lieutenant Oscar F. Lutz, JefTersonville. 
Second Lieutenant Oscar F. Lutz, Jeffersonville. 
Second Lieutenant Alban Lutz, JefTersonville. 
Second Lieutenant S. L. Jacobs, JefTersonville. 

UNION HOME GUARDS. 

COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain James M. Gwin, Memphis. 
Captain Josiah W. Gwin, Memphis. 
Captain Joseph C. Drummond, Memphis. 
First Lieutenant Joseph C. Drummond, Memphis. 
First Lieutenant Josiah W. Gwin, Memphis. 
First Lieutenant William C. Combes, Memphis. 
Second Lieutenant William C. Combes, Memphis. 
Second Lieutenant John C. Peden, Memphis. 

CLARKE GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John M. Ingram, Jeffersonville. 

First Lieutenant James G. Caldwell, JefTersonville. 

Second Lieutenant Gabriel Poindexter, Jeftersonville. 

OREGON GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 
Captain Frank M. Carr, Oregon. 
Captain Jesse Summers, Oregon. 
First Lieutenant William W. Watson, Oregon. 
First Lieutenant Wilshire Minor, Oregon. 
Second Lieutenant Cornelius B. Ruddle, Oregon. 
Second Lieutenant Joseph Carr, Oregon. 

ELLSWORTH ZOUAVES. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain William W. Caldwell, JefTersonville. 
First Lieutenant Thomas Gray, JefTersonville. 
Second Lieutenant George W. Brown, JefTersonville. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



139 



THE UNION COMPANY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Benjamin S. Henderson, Hibemia. 
First Lieutenant John D. Noe, Hibernia. 
First Lieutenant Jacob P. Bare, Hibernia. 
Second Lieutenant Aaron Cross, Hibernia. 
Second Lieutenant Caiid Scott, Hibernia. 

HENRYVILLE GREYS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Cyrus M. Park, Henryville. 

Captain J. S. Ryan, Henryville. 

First Lieutenant Luke S. Becket, Henryville. 

First Lieutenant James V. Herron, Henryville. 

Second Lieutenant J. A. C. McCoy, Henryville. 

Second Lieutenant H. H. Prall, Henryville. 

Second Lieutenant Alexander D. Briggs, Henryville. 

HOOSIER GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain John T. Hamilton, New Hope. 

Captain John J. Bane, New Hope. 

First Lieutenant Chesterfield Hutsell, New Hope. 

Second Lieutenant Edward W. Thawley, New Hope. 

Second Lieutenant John J. Bane, New Hope. 

Second Lieutenant William K. Matthews, New Hope. 

UTICA ROUGH A^ID READY GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Jesse Combs, Utica. 

First Lieutenant Moses H. Tyler, Utica. 

Second Lieutenant Thomas J. Worrall, Utica. 

SILVER CREEK GUARDS. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain E. W. Moore, Sellersburg. 
First Lieutenant George Bottorff, Sellersburg. 
Second Lieutenant John F. Downs, Sellersburg. 
Second Lieutenant P. J. Ash, Sellersburg. 

CHARLESTOWN CAVALRY. 
COMMISSIONED OFFICERS. 

Captain Warren Horr, Charlestown. 

First Lieutenant Isaac Koons, Charlestown. 

Second Lieutenant Benjamin F. Perdue, Charlestown. 



CHAPTER VI. 

THE CITY OF NEW ALBANY— GENERAL HISTORY. 
EARLY HISTORY. 

Regarding the first settlement of the territory 
now occupied by this city, the reader is referred 
to the chapter on New Albany township; though 
it may here be briefly stated that the original 
tract comprised eight hundred and twenty-six 
and one-half acres of land, lying between the 
Grant line and the foot of the knobs, which was 



entered, or purchased of the Government, at the 
land office in Vincennes, by Colonel John Paul, 
of Madison, Indiana. Paul, who was a sagacious 
business man, was induced to enter this land as . 
early as 1808 because of its proximity to the 
foot of the falls, which it was then thought would 
in time be utilized for manufacturing purposes; 
and also because of its proximity to Clarke's 
Grant and the settlement at Clarksville, as well 
as for its intrinsic value, agriculturally consid- 
ered. 

Time showed the wisdom of the purchase. 
Clarke's Grant, adjoining the tract on the east, 
was very soon occupied by settlers, largely by 
soldiers of Clarke's army. This Grant was sur- 
veyed and apportioned in 1784, and contained 
150,000 acres, 1,000 of which were set apart for 
the village of Clarksville. One of Clarke's sol- 
diers, named Whitehill, owned a hundred acres 
within the Grant, in the corner where the line in- 
tersects the river and adjoining the Paul tract. 
Next to and east of Whitehill, Epaphras Jones, 
another of Clarke's soldiers, owned one hundred 
acres. On the north side of the John Paul 
tract the land was taken up by Judge Shelby, of 
Charlestown, and Charles London, a pioneer 
from Virginia, elsewhere mentioned. The two 
last-mentioned were not within the Grant. All of 
these tracts of land were long since included in 
the city limits; the best portion of the city, the part 
which includes the finer residences, now occu- 
pies the tracts originally owned by Jones and 
Whitehill, it being that portion of the city above 
Ninth street. 

THE SCRIBNERS. 

The city was founded by the Scribner broth- 
ers — Joel, Abner, and Nathaniel — all good busi- 
ness men and Yankees. Since the name of 
Scribner is intimately connected with the growth 
and development of the city, is woven all 
through the warp and woof of its history, and 
yet occupies a high place on its roll of honored 
citizens, a brief sketch of the family seems ap 
propriate in this place. 

The family was originally from England. The- 
name there was Skrivener, and later Scrivener, 
and has been traced back to Benjamin Skrivener, 
who, in the quaint language of the time, "tooke 
to wiffe" Hannah Crampton, daughter of John 
Crampton, of Norwalke. They were married 
March 5, 1679, or 1680. From this couple 



140 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



came the Scribners of America, branches of the 
family being located in different parts of the 
country, where many of the name have occu- 
. pied high positions in the various pursuits of 
mankind — business, literature, arts, science, and 
war. The firm giving name to Scribner's 
Monthly, (now the Century), belong to the same 
family. 

Nathaniel Scribner, Sr., was the progenitor of 
the New Albany branch of the family. He 
must have emigrated to this country sometime 
prior to the Revolutionary war, as he was en- 
gaged in that conflict, being captain of a com- 
pany of Connecticut volunteers. He was 
wounded in the war; was subsequently a pen- 
sioner of the Government, and died in 1800. 
He settled in Connecticut, but subsequently re- 
moved to Dutchess county, New York, where 
Joel, one of the founders of New Albany, was 
born. The family comprised twelve children, 
namely: Eliphalet, James, Jemima, Joel, Phoebe 
and Martha (twins), Esther, Elijah, Elizabeth, 
Nathaniel, Anna, and Abner. Mr. William A. 
Scribner, son of Joel, during his life collected 
some history of the family, and writes as follows 
regarding a time as long ago as he could remem- 
ber: "We were then living in a country village 
called Weston (probably in Fail field county), 
Connecticut. Of my grandfather, Nathaniel, 
Sr., I know nothing except that when my father 
was a young man his father was engaged in 
building a merchant mill in Milford, Connecti- 
cut, ten miles west of New Haven." Nathaniel, 
after living awhile in New York State, must have 
moved back to Connecticut, for it appears in the 
biography of his son, Joel, that the latter "was 
born at South East, Dutchess county, New 
York, in 1772," but was married in Milford, Con- 
necticut. 

Eliphalet Scribner, the oldest son, went to the 
West Indies about 1800, where he amassed a 
fortune, it is said, in merchandising, but subse- 
quently lost it by the sinking of one of his own 
ships, while on a voyage to England with a valu- 
able cargo. 

James, the second son, married and lived for 
a time in the State of New York, some fifty or 
sixty miles above the city; but two or three years 
after his brothers founded New Albany he joined 
them, his wife having previously died. He 
brought his two sons with him, Alanson and 



Isaac, and arrived in time to be elected the first 
treasurer of Floyd county, which office he held 
at the time of his death. He did not live long 
after his arrival, his death occurring in 1823. 

It was Joel who first formed the resolution to 
improve his fortunes in the Great West. This 
was in 181 1. He was then a resident of New 
York city, having been there engaged in the 
grocery business for three or four years. "Fam- 
ily groceries," probably, as a business, did not 
prove as remunerative as he desired, and, form- 
ing a partnership with his brother-in-law, William 
Waring, they left New York city on the 8th of 
October, 181 1, having made up their minds to 
settle in the then village of Cincinnati, in Ohio. 
Waring was a practical tanner and currier, and 
their object was to establish a tannery and to 
connect with the manufacture of leather that of 
boots and shoes. This party of emigrants con- 
sisted of William Waring and wife, his brother 
Harry (unmarried), four children, and Joel Scrib- 
ner and wife, with their children — Harvey, Wil- 
liam, Augustus, Lucy Maria, Mary Lucinda, 
Eliphalet, Julia Ann, and Phoebe. It was a 
long, tedious journey in those days, from New 
York city to Cincinnati, the journey being made 
by wagon, stage, and river, and soon after their 
arrival in the future Queen City the War of 1812 
began and upset their calculations. The War- 
ings went off to the war. 

Duiing the fall of 1812 Joel was joined by his 
younger brothers, Nathaniel and Abner, and in 
December, 1812, or January, 1813, they all 
started on an exploring expedition down the 
river, probably with a view of entering some land 
in the then wilds *of Indiana Territory. Abner 
was the shrewd business man of the Scribner 
brothers, and was somewhat differently consti- 
tuted from the rest of the family — "an odd 
sheep" in the flock. He was lame, club-footed; 
and in those pioneer days, when whisky flowed as 
freely as water and everybody drank more or 
less, Abner would occasionally imbibe a little of 
the ardent, but never drank to excess. His 
brothers were probably strictly temperate, as well 
as rigid members of the Presbyterian church. 
Abner was quick-witted, bold, pushing, quick in 
decision, and energetic and persistent in execu- 
tion — a born leader among men. He inherited 
from his grandfather a propensity for milling, 
building mills, and looking up mill-sites. His 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



head was full of this business, and he built a 
number of mills before he died. No country 
was good for anything in his eye without plenty 
of mill-sites. Mills he considered the founda- 
tion of all public prosperity. There is no doubt 
whatever that when their boat reached the falls 
of the Ohio, Abner, looking down the long 
stretch of rushing water, exclaimed: "What a 
tremendous water-power ! What a place for a 
mill!" and suggested that they land and find out 
who owned the land on the Indiana shore; for 
they did not wish to own any land in a slave 
State. They found no chance, even at this early 
date, to enter land near the Falls; it was already 
occupied for several miles. Clarke and his sol- 
diers had taken the latger part of it, and John 
Paul had secured the remainder from the Grant 
to the foot of the knobs. If they went beyond 
the John Paul tract they would, as they sup- 
posed, lose any benefit to be derived by the 
water-power of the Falls; so they determined to 
try to purchase John Paul's interest. Eight 
thousand dollars was the price, as they ascer- 
tained by a visit to Colonel Paul, at Madison — a 
very large sum of money for those days, and the 
brothers were not wealthy at that time. They 
were all young and full of life and vigor, however, 
and they determined to risk purchasing it, Abner 
strongly advocating it and also the laying-out of 
a town on the purchase. Abner was always en- 
thusiastic over the prospects of their new town. 
He seemed to believe that the "world would one 
day revolve around New Albany." He would ex- 
patiate on the great water-power for manufactur- 
ing purposes, and succeeded in making himself 
believe, and was at least partially successful in 
making many other people believe that New Al- 
bany (named after Albany, New York,) would 
become in time the largest interior city on the 
continent! 

It must have been about this time that Abner 
secured the position of supercargo or consignee 
at New Orleans for his West India brother, 
Eliphalet. The latter was then at the height of 
his prosperity, and sent one of his ships to New 
Orleans with a cargo of sugar consigned to his 
brother Abner. In connection with this transac- 
tion and the establishment of New Albany, 
General Benjamin F. Scribner, now a resident of 
New Albany, a gallant Union soldier in the late 
war, and recently United States Consul at one of 



the seal islands of the Northwest, relates the fol- 
lowing anecdote: General Scribner, happening 
in Washington one day to be introduced to Gen- 
eral Dent (father-in-law of General Grant), Mr. 
Dent immediately inquired if he was related to 
Abner Scribner, of New Albany, and on being 
informed that General Scribner was Abner's son, 
General Dent went on to relate with a great deal 
of interest, that being when a young man a com- 
mission merchant in New Orleans, he met Abner 
Scribner at a certain hotel there, and the latter 
was desirous of disposing of a cargo of sugar, 
consigned to him by his brother Eliphalet, the 
ship containing the sugar having already entered 
the Mississippi river and approaching the harbor 
of New Orleans. Abner presented the manifests 
showing the amount of sugar on board, and suc- 
ceeded in selling the entire cargo to General 
Dent for $20,000, receiving the cash in hand. 
With this money Abner came up and paid for 
the land they had purchased of John Paul. 
Through some unaccountable accident the cargo 
of sugar never reached the harbor of New Or- 
leans, but went to the bottom of the Mississippi, 
the ship sinking just outside the harbor, and the 
cargo becoming a total loss to Mr. Dent, who 
had just paid for it. Not long afterwards Dent and 
Abner Scribner met in Louisville, when the former 
during the conversation remarked: "Abner, that 
was a bad thing for me — the purchase of that 
cargo of sugar before its arrival in the harbor." 
"Yes, Mr. Dent," replied Abner, "it was a bad 
thing for you, but a good thing for me." With 
this money the Scribners were enabled to pay for 
their land and to survey and open up for sale 
the lots of their new town. 

Some years later, when their town was growing 
and the brothers were in a prosperous condition, 
an opportunity occurred by which they were en- 
abled to reciprocate the kindness and generosity 
of their brother Eliphalet in furnishing the money 
to establish their town. A ship belonging to 
Eliphalet having (as before mentioned) sunk in 
mid-ocean, carrying down a valuable cargo, he was 
so embarrassed financially that he sent an agent 
to New Albany with a note of $20,000 to receive 
the endorsement of the brothers, which was 
given; but it is said that Eliphalet died before 
he entirely recovered from the loss. 

In the new town the Scribners, of course, be- 
came very influential. Joel, the elder of the 



142 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



three, and the only unc who brought a family to 
this wilderness home, became the first postmas- 
ter, the first clerk of the new county, also auditor, 
and held various other offices. All the early 
records of the county commissioners for several 
years are in his handwriting, and are plainly 
written. He died of bilious fever in October, 
1823, brought on, no doubt, by the malaria inci- 
dent to the swampy condition of the new coun- 
try, dying, therefore, a martyr to his undertaking. 
The bouse in which he lived is yet standing on 
Main street. He was a very pious man, a Pres- 
byterian, and highly esteemed by his acquaint- 
ances. He was a quiet business man and a good 
counselor. 

Joel and Nathaniel went back to New York to 
settle up their affairs in 1815, making the journey 
on horseback. On this occasion they brought 
back with them their sister Esther and Nathan- 
iel's betrothed, Miss Elizabeth Edwards. They 
were married soon after their arrival here. Es- 
ther soon after married David M. Hale, of New 
Albany, subsequently a prominent man in all the 
affairs of the new town. Elizabeth Scribner was 
married to Mr. Wood in 1818, and the two 
brothers-in-law subsequently formed a partnership 
and went into business for a time in Vincennes. 
Dr. Ashel Clapp.also a prominent citizen of New 
Albany, married one of the Scribner sisters. 

During the session of the Legislature at Cory- 
don in the winter of 1818-19, Nathaniel Scrib- 
ner and John K. Graham were sent by the 
people of New Albany to lobby for the establish- 
ment of a new county, and it was on this occa- 
sion that Nathaniel lost his life. His health had 
been somewhat impaired before starting on the 
trip, and as the weather was quite severe 
and the journev had to be made on horseback 
its exposure and hardship were more than he 
was able to bear. On their return he was com- 
pelled to stop at the house of Richard Watson, 
two and a half miles east of New Albany, where 
he died in December, 1818. 

Abner, the youngest and only remaining 
brother of the three founders of the town, was 
continually engaged in mill building until his 
death. He made a discovery, at one time, on 
Ottawa creek, Kentucky, of a beautiful fall of 
water. The water poured over a cliff of rocks 
at just the right height and volume to furnish a 
splendid power. The temptation was too great 



for Abner, and he purchased the site for a mill, 
intending to place his water wheel under the fall. 
He erected here a very fine brick mill, which 
cost him seventeen thousand dollars, a very large 
sum for those days; but Abner determined to 
have the finest mill in all the West, and so it 
was. When the mill was finished and ready for 
operations, it was found that the water did not 
strike the wheel at the exact angle desired, and a 
dam was constructed for the purpose of turning 
the current slightly to one side. The result was 
fatal to the project. The water sank, and the 
fall disappeared forever. The ground in this 
region being full of caves, the water probably 
found an opening into one of them, and disap- 
peared. Thus the mill was a total loss. Abner 
died of yellow fever in Memphis, Tennessee, in 
1827, where he had erected his last mill. 

Thus it will be seen that the Scribner brothers 
did not live long after establishing their new 
town, but they lived long enough to stamp so 
thoroughly upon it their individuality that it re- 
mains to this day. They were public-spirited 
men, and were foremost in all benevolent and 
liberal enterprises for building up and bettering 
the community in which they lived. Their 
money, influence, and energy were freely spent 
in whatever contributed to the building up of 
their town and to the interest of its inhabitants; 
and their children stepped into their shoes when 
they were gone, and continued to work for the 
welfare of the city. 

They had much to contend with in the estab- 
lishment of their town, built as it was upon the 
borders of a slave State, and so exposed to the 
evil influences of slavery and the ignorance com- 
monly begotten by that institution. Many of 
the people who came to the new town from the 
South were ignorant, and brought with them 
their superstitious notions and false ideas of life. 
These were hard to combat, and the Scribners, 
who were educated and came from the land of 
churches and'Puritan ideas, labored hard to fill 
up their city with emigrants from New England, 
New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and other 
Northern States; and their efforts were not with- 
out success. Hundreds of Eastern families, im- 
bued with the spirit ot freedom and enterprise, 
came to the new town; in fact, the New En. 
gland element was continually and largely in the 
majority, and has always ruled the town and 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i43 



city; the result is seen in a city of churches and 
schools, and the high moral and intellectual 
character of its citizens, and in the moral tone 
of the entire community. It will be seen that 
the Scribners first gave sixty lots in their new 
town for school purposes, and sixty for church 
purposes, besides establishing a permanent fund 
of five thousand dollars for schools. This shows 
the spirit with which they entered upon their 
work, and their efforts in this direction never 
flagged. It is not easy at this time to sum up in 
figures or words the amount of good accom- 
plished in these energetic preliminary steps taken 
by the Scribners; but the general result is plainly 
visible to the stranger who may sojourn even for 
a few days in the now beautiful city. 

EARLY SETTLEMENT, ETC. 

At the time the Scribners purchased the site- 
of New Albany, there were several squatters upon 
the land. John Aldrich, the hunter and trapper, 
had probably disappeared, but McGrew and the 
colored man who lived with him were on " Mc- 
Grew's point;" old Mr. Trublood was living with 
a considerable family in a log hut on Falling run, 
and had a little log mill in the neighborhood of 
the present depot of the Louisville, New Albany 
& Chicago railroad ; his son, Martin, and James 
Mitchell were occupying a cabin which stood on 
the site of the present Carpenter house, on Main 
street, and were running a ferry, though it is not 
likely that there was much business in that line 
at that time — an occasional hunter and Indian 
was to be ferried across. In addition to these, 
Elihu Marsh, a Terseyman and a Baptist with a 
considerable family, had erected a cabin and 
squatted near Trublood's mill. These were prob- 
ably all that were then occupying the original 
plat, but Jonathan Carson occupied a cabin fur- 
ther north, near the Shanty spring. The whole 
tract was covered with a dense forest, except in 
the immediate neighborhood of the cabins men- 
tioned, where little clearings had been made. 

The Scribner purchase comprised fractional 
sections two and three, " together with the sole 
right of ferriage across the river from said land." 
As soon as the purchase was made the brothers 
returned to Cincinnati and prepared to move 
their family and effects to their chosen home. 
On the 2d day of March, 1813, the first tree was 
cut by the Scribners by way of commencement 



in clearing a place for their cabin, to be occupied 
by Joel and his family, William Waring and family, 
and the two younger brothers of Joel Scribner 
as boarders. This particular spot was just above 
what is now Captain Samuel Montgomery's resi- 
dence, on Main street (corner of Sixth and 
Main). Mr. William A. Scribner, who died 
April 16, 1868, wrote thus regarding this settle- 
ment : 

On the 2d day of May, just two months from the day on 
which the first tree was cut, the two families before mentioned, 
to wit, my father's and William Waring's, landed at the 
place now known as the Upper Ferry landing, and found 
this dwelling house of two months in building to be a double 
log cabin, with quite a wide hall between the two buildings, 
a large kitchen attached to one of the wings, as yet in an un- 
finished state, and although made of green logs just from 
the woods, we were of course compelled to occupy it in the 
condition it was in, make the best of it, and finish it up dur- 
ing the following summer. 

The same writer says regarding the condition 
of the ground, etc.: 

The entire bottom was heavily timbered with poplar, birch, 
and sugar; and the surface of the ground thickly covered 
with spice-wood, green-briar, pawpaw, and other varieties of 
underbrush so thick that when the leaves were out one could 
not see a rod ahead. 

The first thing to be done was to procure a surveyor and 
commence the survey and platting of the town. I can hardly 
tell where the proprietors found the gentleman who had the 
honor of doing it, but his name was John K. Graham, and 
my first recollection of him is that he moved his family into 
a small cabin built alter we came here, located some two or 
three hundred yards this side (west) of ours; and I soon be- 
came acquainted with him, as I often assisted him as chain- 
carrier. After some time he bought a tract of land some 
three or four miles north, and moved to it. 

The plat of the future city made at this time 
by John K. Graham included but an insignificant 
portion of the present site. It extended east and 
west from Upper Fifth to Lower Fifth streets, 
and north and south as follows: From the river 
to Spring street for all that portion below Lower 
First street, and from the river to Oak street for 
all that portion above Lower First. This was 
the regular plat. In addition, however, tiers of 
out-lots were laid out from Spring and Lower 
Fifth street to the river and Lower Eighth street. 
Another tier of out-lots was laid out from Upper 
Fifth to the Grant line, running on that line from 
Oak street to '.he river. These out-lots averaged 
from one to one and a half acres in size. They 
were soon included in the plat of the town. 
From this small plat the city has grown in every 
direction, but principally east and north, though 
it has extended west down the river, its length 



144 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



from east to west being now from two and a half 
to three miles. Its width is not so great, though 
the upper part of the city extends northward 
more than a mile from the Ohio. 

As soon as the Scribners were ready for the 
sale of lots, they issued the following in the form 
of a poster or handbill : 

"NEW ALBANY. 

"This town is just laid out, with spacious streets, public 
squares, markets, etc. It is situated on the bank of the 
Ohio river, at the crossing place from Louisville to Vincennes, 
about two miles below the f.ills, in the Indiana Territory, and 
affords a beautiful and commodious harbor. The beauty of 
the prospect is not surpassed by any in the western country. 
The bank adjoining the liver is high, and not subject to in- 
undations. At the distance of six hundred and sixty feet 
back from the bank is a second rise of about twenty feet, 
from which there is an extensive view up and down the river. 
There is a sufficient number of excellent and never-failing 
springs for the supplying of any number of inhabitants. 

"These advantages, together with that of the country 
around being dry and clear of any stagnant waters, being a 
sufficient distance below the Falls to avoid the fogs and any 
noxious exhalement arising therefrom in the warm season, 
and the winds generally blowing up the river at that time, 
area sufficient reason to induce a belief of the healthfulness 
of the situation. 

" The advantages New Albany has in point of trade are 
perhaps unrivaled by any town on the Ohio, as it is im- 
mediately below all the dangers which boats and ships are 
subject to in passing over the Falls, and is the only eligible 
situation for a depot for all the exports and imports of a 
great part of the territory, and may export and import while 
the river is low and the market good, as well as when the 
river is high. 

"From the vast quantity of excellent ship.-timber, the 
great abundance of iron ore within a few miles, and the 
facility with which hemp is raised, it is presumed this will be 
one of the best ports in the United States for the building of 
vessels as well as the loading of them. The erection of a 
saw-mill to go by steam is contemplated this fall, and a grist- 
and flour-mill next summer. 

" Lots will be sold at auction on the first Tuesday and 
Wednesday in November next. The terms of payment will 
be one-fourth ready money, and the remainder in three an- 
nual installments, tobe secured by deed of trust or otherwise; 
one-fourth part of each payment tobe paid into the hands of 
trustees (to be chosen by the purchasers) until such payments 
shall amount to $5,000. the interest of which to be applied to 
the use of schools in the town for the use of its inhabitants 
forever. 

"Manufactories of iron, cotton, hemp, wool, etc., are 
much wanted, as is all kinds of mechanism. 

"The Proprietors. 

" New Albany, July 8, 1813." 

It will be seen by the above advertisement 
what inducement the Scribners were enabled to 
hold out to settlers in their town, and what their 
own ideas of its future was. The "sufficient 
number of excellent springs " proved more valu- 
able than they probably then supposed. This 



spring water seems to lie underneath the entire 
city at a distance of twenty-five to thirty feet, 
and the water is pure and exhaustless. Without 
doubt, however, there were swamps and more or 
less malaria about New Albany, as in every new, 
uncleared, and uncultivated country. The 
Whitehill tract, now built over by beautiful 
residences and by business and manufacturing 
establishments, was at that time densely wooded 
and contained more or less swampy ground, 
which so remained for long years afterwards, to 
the great detriment of the health of the city. 
There were also spots of marshy ground to the 
north of the plat, some of which have not yet en- 
tirely disappeared. Like every other new place 
in the West, it was for many years an unhealthy 
town, but is now, and has been for years, per- 
haps as healthy a location as any on the river. 

The circular, it will be noticed, sets forth the 
great advantages of the place as a trading point, 
and its brilliant prospects commercially. In this 
the proprietors did not exaggerate, and have not 
probably been greatly disappointed, as it grew 
rapidly into a manufacturing city, and still con- 
tinues such; but the circular indicates that the 
proprietors supposed that New Albany would 
become headquarters for much of the river trade 
below, as well as a great shipping point for pro- 
duce bound down the river, on account of being 
located below the falls. At the time the town 
was laid out but one steamboat, the "Orleans," 
had passed down the river, and although it was sup- 
posed the Ohio would become the great highway 
of commerce, it was also thought that the falls 
would be an insurmountable barrier, and that 
the commerce of the river would divide at this 
point, Louisville getting the up-river business, 
and New Albany all that below the falls. This 
beautiful air-castle, however, vanished with the 
completion of the Louisville and Portland canal, 
which passes around the falls, thus enabling the 
largest steamboats with their cargoes to pass in 
safety. The canal was not expected nor thought 
of when New Albany was laid out, hence there 
was much calculation on a great city that could 
never be realized. 

The quantity and quality of ship-timber found 
on the Silver hills caused New Albany to be- 
come an important ship-building point, as will be 
seen in another chapter. 

According to announcement the sale of lots 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i4S 



took place on the first Tuesday and Wednesday 
of the following November. The deed, however, 
for the land upon which the town was platted 
was not made to the Scribners by John Paul 
until October 13, 1813. 

The following extraccs are from the manu- 
script of William A. Scribner: 

During the summer of 1813 they had a number of men 
hired to cut and clear the plat, build cabins, and grub under- 
growth, especially on the streets, and the proprietors began 
the building of a steam saw-mill, and afterward connected a 
grist-mill with it. This mill was on the lot where the foundry 
of Lent, South & Shipman now stands. 

[The Jeffersonville, Madison & Indianapolis station has 
since occuDied this site"]. 

Of the other buildings, one among the first after the family 
residence was a large square cabin for a school-house on one 
of the four public squares of the town on each side of the in- 
tersection of State and Spring streets, not far from where the 
court-house now stands, which said building was also occu- 
pied frequently for a meeting-house uutil we could build a 
larger one. 

The first public sale of lots in the town of New Albany 
took place on the 2d and 3d days of November, by which 
time there were several log-cabin residences along down 
Main street fiom the one we occupied, reaching as far down, 
perhaps, as Lower Second street, and in the course of the 
summer quite a number of families had moved in. 

The first lot sold at the above-mentioned sale 
was to William B. Summers, and the deed ap- 
pears by the records in the recorder's office to 
have been placed there November 15, 1813. 
It was lot number nine on Upper Main street, at 
the southeast corner of Upper Main and Pearl 
streets. Its size was sixty by one, hundred and 
twenty feet, and the price paid for it was two 
hundred and fifty dollars, " lawful money of the 
United States." The lots next recorded are 
those of David Poor, six in number. These lots 
were located as follows: Lot two, on the north- 
west corner of State and Water streets: lot six, 
on the northeast corner of Water and Lower 
First streets ; lot two, Lower Market street, north 
side from the alley to the corner of Lower First 
street; and lots two, four, and six, Lower First 
street, west side, from the Plummer property to 
the alley, between Main and Water streets. 
The price paid by Poor for these lots was seven 
hundred and twenty-five dollars. A considerable 
number of lots were disposed of at that time. 

THE NEW ALBANY PIONEERS. 

The following names appear among the earliest 
settlers of the town: Francis A. Hutcherson, 
from Kentucky, 181 5; Stephen Seabrook and 
his two sons, 1814; Samuel Marsh, 1814; 



Hopson, 1812; McCleary, 1812; James 

Crook, 1815; John Jones, 1816; James Mc- 
Afee, ; James R., Henry B., and Pleasant 

S. Shields, 1817; David Hedden, 181 7; Green 
H. Neil, 1 81 7; Howell Wells, 181 7; Matthew 
Robison, 1817; John Nicholson, 1810; Dr. 
Ashel Clapp, 181 8; and John K. Graham. 
These are in addition to the Scribners, and those 
already mentioned. Of these, only David Hed- 
den and Daniel Seabrook, one of the sons of 
Stephen Seabrook, are now living. The latter 
resides on Main street, and is a fine specimen of 
the early pioneers of New Albany. He has 
seen nearly a century on earth, but yet meets his 
friends with a cordial shake of the hand, a smile, 
and a cheerful "good-day." His step is remark- 
ably firm for one of his age, his complexion clear, 
and eye bright, giving evidence of a well-spent 
life ; but his speech gives evidence of age. 

The following is clipped from the New Albany 
Ledger as some of the early recollections of 
Daniel Seabrook: 

August 26, 1814, New Albany, then a village of six log 
houses, received three emigrants whom the villagers welcomed 
with the greatest cordiality. These were Stephen Seabrook, 
Daniel Seabrook, and Samuel Marsh, Sr. They came over 
the mountains from New Jersey to Pittsburg, where they 
took passage on a flat-boat for Cincinnati. At Cincinnati 
they purchased a small skiff, and in this they descended the 
Ohio to Louisville. Stephen and Daniel Seabrook came over 
the falls in the skiff to New Albany, while Mr. Marsh 
walked down on the Indiana side from Jeffersonville, then a 
village six years old. 

The next day after their arrival, Mr. Marsh and the 
Messrs. Seabrook purchased property. Mr. Marsh pur- 
chased two lots on Water street, running from Broadway 
eastward to the alley; the Seabrooks purchased the lot on 
Main street now occupied by Mr. Daniel Seabrook, and lying 
between West Second and Broadway. Upon this lot they 
built a residence, and on it Daniel Seabrook has resided con- 
tinuously for sixty-seven years. 

When Mr. Seabrook arrived at New Albany, the village 
contained six log houses. The Scribners, the proprietors of 
the town, lived in a double cabin on the lot on Main street, 
between Slate and Pearl, now occupied by H. N. Devol's 
stove and tin-store. Work had been commenced that season 
on the present hotel building at the comer of Main and West 
First streets, by David Hale, which, when completed, was 
called "Hale's Tavern." This was the first frame house 
built in New Albany. 

Mr. Seabrook worked at carpentering first, and afterward 
at boat-building. He worked upon the first steamboat built 
around the Falls of the Ohio. He prospered in his business, 
for he was industrious and frugal, and accumulated consider- 
able property. He says the first post-office in New Albany 
was established in 1814, and was kept in a cabin at the south- 
east corner of Main and State streets. 

Daniel Seabrook is now in the ninety-second year of his 



146 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



age. He is quite feeble, but cheerful and happy. He has 
seen a large and prosperous city grow up from the wilderness. 

The writer of this further interviewed Mr. Sea- 
brook, and the following is the substance of what 
the veteran pioneer said regarding the early 
days of New Albany : The Seabrooks are from 
Monmouth county, New Jersey. Stephen and 
his two sons, Daniel and James, came here in 
1814. James died in a few years after their ar- 
rival. The father bought a little property in the 
new town, and entered a quarter-section of land 
out on the Silver Hills, but did not stay long 
enough to become attached to the new country, 
and went back to his old home in New Jersey, 
where he staid until his death. His sons re- 
mained, but Daniel was soon left alone by the 
death of his brother. Daniel and James accom- 
panied their father, on his return journey, as far 
as Cincinnati, the journey being made on foot. 
Here they separated forever, and the two boys 
walked back to New Albany, where they rented 
a log cabin of the Scribners for two dollars per 
month, in which they lived until they could erect a 
cabin on the lots they had purchased. They built 
a hewed-log cabin down on the flat near the end 
of Lower Third street, which he says was the first 
of the kind in the place. There were five or six 
round-log cabins on Main street at the time, 
mostly built by the Scribners, for the temporary 
accommodation of the incoming settlers. 

Joel Scribner was then building a double log 
house nearly opposite the stone bank on Main 
street. A little log building had been erected 
on the rear end of the same lot, in which the 
Scribners kept the post-office. The High Street 
house was being built at that time by David M. 
Hale, who married into the Scribner family, and 
when finished was known as "Hale's Tavern." 
Another cabin stood on Main street, on the op- 
posite side of the street from the Scribners, and 
a little further east. The man who lived in it 
kept a "doggery," and it was known as the 
"Lick." They were then engaged in cutting the 
timber out of Main street, and the stumps and 
logs were very thick, the latter being rolled to 
one side and piled upon either side of the road- 
way. Very little if any clearing had been done 
anywhere on the plat, except on Main street, 
and all the cabins on the plat stood on this 
street except a little one down by the river occu- 
pied by Stroud, the ferryman. The ferry landed 



about where the upper ferry now lands, and con- 
sisted of a scow propelled by oars. The Scrib- 
ners afterward established a horse-ferry. It was 
constructed by fastening together two flat-boats 
or scows and laying a deck over both. They 
were placed far enough apart to admit a large 
wheel or propeller between them, in the center. 
This wheel was turned by horses working upon a 
tramp-wheel, such as was ordinarily used for grind- 
ing corn in those early days. John Nicholson, 
one of the earliest pioneers before mentioned, 
was the village wag. He could make more fun 
in the same space of time than any other man in 
the country. He happened on this ferry-boat 
one day, and finding on board a rather stolid- 
looking personage from some back county in 
Kentucky, he pretended that he was captain of 
the boat, and in conversation with the country- 
man ascertained that he was looking for some- 
thing to do, and offered him the position of 
"bailer" on the ferry-boat. The man readily 
agreed for a stipulated price to occupy his time 
in bailing out the "captain's" leaky boat. The 
"captain" thereupon lifted the door or hatch that 
covered an opening between the two boats and 
set the young man to work with a pail to bail 
out the Ohio river. It is said the man worked 
some "hours before he was made aware of the 
joke that had been played upon him. 

Nicholson played a great many practical jokes, 
and was one *f the queer chaps of the village. 
When at a certain party all the young men were 
taken suddenly ill, it was generally believed 
that Nicholson had placed a little croton 
oil in the whiskey bottle, though cer- 
tainly nothing could be proven. He was 
an unmarried man for a good many years 
after he came to New Albany, but finally married 
at- the age of forty. His wife had a hard time 
to get along, for John didn't believe in work; his 
constitution required an immense amount of rest. 
He could whittle store-boxes and tell stories with 
the best of them; kept a pack of hounds and 
several guns, and spent a great deal of time 
hunting, which, however, he never turned to any 
profit. His wife kept boarders down on the flat 
near the river. He came from Salt river, Ken- 
tucky, and was a stone-mason by trade, but sel- 
dom worked, remaining out in the woods often 
for several days at a time with his gun and 
dogs. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



147 



THE FIRST HOTEL. 

Elihu Marsh, who had been here several years 
when Mr. Seabrook came, kept the first tavern 
in the new town, in a little log house on Main 
street, just east of the stone bank. Hale's 
tavern opened soon after. 

In addition to the early settlers already 
named, Mr. Seabrook adds the following names: 
Elias Marsh, Mr. Genung, the blacksmith; 
Mr. Sproud, the ferryman ; Henry Bogart, whose 
daughter, Mrs. Waring, yet resides in the city, 
and Benjamin Conner. Elias and Samuel 
Marsh were from Staten Island, and the former 
was the first blacksmith, and erected a hewed- 
log shop near where the Jeffersonville, Madison, 
& Indianapolis station now stands, in 1814, 
but before he could get fairly to work he con- 
tracted the fever and ague from the malaria of 
the swampy bottom near the river. An Indian 
doctor came along, from whom he was induced 
to take some medicine, of which he died in 
about an hour. This was probably the first death 
in the town. Genung was the next blacksmith, 
and is well remembered by all the older settlers. 
He was a man of family, and lived on the bluff 
overlooking the river about the end of Upper 
Fifth or Upper Sixth street. Some of his 
descendants are yet living here. 

Benjamin Conner had a family and lived in a 
cabin just north of the first plat of the town. 
His son Thomas became connected with the 
ferry, and in time accumulated considerable 
property out of the business. This family has 
been connected with the fe'ry from that time to 
the present, the name ''Thomas Conner," ap- 
pearing on the steam ferry-boat now plying be- 
tween New Albany and Portland. 

When Mr. Seabrook first came to the town he 
engaged in making oars and poles for propelling 
skiffs and flat-boats on the river. Considerable 
trading was then done with New Orleans by- 
means of flat-boats or scows; no other means of 
transportation for heavy freight had been brought 
into use so far down the river. Parties would 
load a flat-boat with pork, flour, whisky, and the 
products of the chase, and transport the cargo 
to New Orleans for sale. These boats would 
carry fifty to seventy-five tons. After disposing 
of their cargo and boat in New Orleans, they 
would return on foot or by stage, or perhaps pur- 
chase a horse or mule to ride home. Sometimes 



the boat could not be sold or traded to advan- 
tage, and in such cases it was often brought back 
up the river by means of the poles and oars that 
Mr. Seabrook made. There was on each side 
of the flat-boat a board about a foot wide, called 
a "running board," upon which the men would 
walk in "poling" the boat. The poles were 
eighteen feet long, with a ball on the end to 
place against the shoulder in pushing the craft 
in coming up the river. The poleman would go 
to the bow and, standing on the running-board, 
strike the bottom of the river with one end of 
his pole, placing the other against his shoulder, 
and walk toward the stern, thus shoving the boat 
forward. When the water was too deep for 
poling, a party would go ahead with a skiff, carry- 
ing a line, which would be made fast to a tree 
on shore as far ahead as possible, and thus the 
boat would be drawn forward by this line. In 
this and various other ways the boat was slowly 
and toilfully worked back from New Orleans 
to New Albany, the journey often occupying 
three months or more. By keeping the boat 
closely to the shore, the pole could generally be 
used. This flat-boating, however, did not con- 
tinue many years before steamboats came into 
use and put an end, for the most part, to other 
neans of river transportation. 

OTHER FIRST THINGS. 

Mr. Seabrook thinks the first steamboat built 
here was the Ohio, constructed by Joseph Mc- 
Clarey for Captain Henry Shreve, in 18 16. 
Roberts & Dehart built the second one the same 
year. 

Paxscn & Eastburn were about the first mer- 
chants, their stoie being on the corner of Main 
and Pearl streets. 

The first brick house in the village was erected 
by Sproud, the ferryman, near the river. It was 
quite a small building, about fourteen feet square. 

The Scribners built the first mill. It stood 
where the Jeffersonville, Madison & Indianapo- 
lis station now is. 

Mr. Seabrook attended the first election held 
in the county. It was at Lewis' house, in the 
northern part of the township, and was a very 
exciting election, as the people were to decide 
whether they should have slavery in Indiana 
Territory. Everybody turned out at this election, 
Mr. Seabrook and several others going up in a 



148 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



canoe, to which they attached horses, there being 
snow on the ground. It was an excellent sub- 
stitute for a sleigh. (What Mr. Seabrook has to 
say about many other matters will be found in 
other chapters). 

The first post-office stood on the lot on the south- 
east corner of State and Main streets, where 
Bently's office now is. In those early days they had 
but one mail a week, and that every Sunday morn- 
ing, when it stopped hereon the way to Vincennes 
from Louisville. When the roads were bad, and 
they were generally bad in the days before the 
country was cleared and bridges made, the mail 
was carried on horseback, the carrier having two 
horses, one of which he rode, and the mail was 
carried on the other, which he drove before him 
with a single line. 

The Scribner double log cabin was located 
where Judge Houk now lives, on Main street 
above Sixth, near where Dr. Sloan resides. 

The first well dug in New Albany was on the 
corner of Pearl and Main streets. It was long 
since filled up, as it was in the way of grading 
the street. 

The first hatter in the town was Isaac Brooks, 
who located here prior to 1818. This was a con- 
siderable business in an early day, but hats after 
a time began to be manufactured so extensively 
and cheaply that small manufacturers had to go 
out of the business, and such a thing as a hat- 
ter's shop has not been known here for more 
than a quarter of a century. 

Mr. Hedden thinks Genung (before men- 
tioned) was the first blacksmith. His shop was 
on the northwest corner of Upper Main and 
Fourth streets. 

THE FIRST CHILD. 

It has been repeatedly asserted, orally and in 
print, that Mrs. Waring, daughter of Henry Bo- 
gert, one of the earliest settlers, was the first 
white child born in New Albany. This is a mis- 
take according to the testimony of the lady her- 
self, who is yet living, her dwelling being one of 
the oldest buildings in the city, and occupying 
the southwest corner of Lower First and Main 
streets. She says (if this be a matter of import- 
ance) that several children were born in the town 
before she was. Among them she mentions Maria 
Strong (now Vandeventer), who is living in Mo- 
bile, Alabama ; also Nancy Marsh. Mrs. Van- 
deventer is about six weeks older than Mrs. 



Waring. The way the story became gen- 
erally circulated was from a remark made by 
some one at Mrs. Waring's wedding, to the 
effect that she was the first while child born, 
reared, educated and married in the new town. 
This list of accomplishments was soon abbrevi- 
ated in popular tradition to "born." 

John Austin is said (as appears by a map 
of the county published in 1876) to have been 
the first white child born within the county limits. 
There is little doubt, however, that John Al- 
drich was the first, as is narrated elsewhere. 

Harriet Scribner was born in New Albany in 
February, 1815, and was therefore among the 
first children born in the town. 

Among the living pioneers, as before stated, is 

DAVID HEDDEN, 

who occupies a beautiful residence, one of the 
results of a long life of honest toil, upon the hill 
in the eastern part of the city. The house stands 
upon the spot where Epaphras Jones built his 
house, and around which he endeavored to 
build up the town of Providence. Mr. Hed- 
den has given much valuable information regard- 
ing the early days of New Albany, which is in- 
corporated in various historical chapters on this 
city. Among other items he states he had oc- 
casion in an early day to return to his old home 
in New Jersey, and set out for that place August 
10, 1825, being compelled to make the trip by 
stage and river. Just before starting he met 
Abner Scribner on the street, and the latter in- 
forms d him that he had an important message 
to send East. Abner was a little under the in- 
fluence of liquor, and said in a confidential way: 
" Do you know that they have made great im- 
provements in the East since we left there ? 
They say now their land there is very rich — much 
ahead of ours. Why, you remember when we 
left that country the honey-bees had to get down 
on their knees to reach the buckwheat blossoms, 
but they say they cannot now reach them by 
standing on tip-toe !" With this'important mes- 
sage for his eastern friends Abner limped sol- 
emnly away without a smile. Mr. Hadden 
always considered Abner a little wild, but very 
smart. Joel, he says, was a very excellent man, 
but thinks Nathaniel was the business man of 
the brothers. Harvey Scribner, a son of Joel, 
succeeded his father as postmaster of the village, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



149 



and Harvey was in turn succeeded by General 
Burnet. The latter received his title from his 
connection with the militia. He is still living in 
California. 

TOWN PLAT ALTERATIONS AND EXPLANATIONS. 

It appears by the records that the first plat of 
New Albany was not placed on record for three 
years after the town was laid out, to wit: Novem- 
ber 13, 1816. The record begins thus: 

Plat of the town of New Albany, being plat of fractional 
sections numbered two and three, in township three, south of 
range six east; proved November 13, 1816. 

Then follows the plat of the town, from which 
it appears that Water street is one hundred feet 
wide, extending along the river; the next street 
running parallel was called "High" street (now 
usually called Main), and is eighty feet wide; the 
next parallel street is Market (upon which are 
located the two long market-houses), also eighty 
feet wide; the next is Spring, eighty feet; the 
next Elm, sixty teet; and the next Oak, thirty 
feat. Of the streets running north and south, 
State extended through the center of the plat, 
while the streets below it (down the river) were 
called Lower First, Lower Second, etc.; and the 
streets above State were designated Upper First, 
Upper Second, Upper Third, and so on. Upper 
First and Upper Second are now generally known 
as Pearl and Bank streets. 

The plat was first recorded in the records of 
Clarke county, to which this territory then be- 
longed, and was sworn to before George Ross, 
justice of the peace. Subsequently the Scrib- 
ners caused the following "alterations and ex- 
planations" to be added to this record: 

Alterations and explanations by Joel Scribner, Nathaniel 
Scribner, and Abner Scribner, the original proprietors of the 
town of New Albany, agreeably to their original intentions 
on laying out said town, and not fully expressed and marked 
on the original plat, as first recorded. 

All those lots which are designated by the word church 
written upon them, are to be appropriated to the support of 
the First Presbyterian church established in Mew Albany; 
and all those lots designated by the word school written up- 
on them are appropriated for the support of a school for the 
use of the inhabitants of the town. The slip of ground or 
square on the bank of the river is reserved by the proprie- 
tors, their heirs, and assigns forever, the exclusive right of 
ferrying from Upper and Lower Water streets, between the 
boundaries of fractional section number two, of town three, 
south of range six east, which boundaries are agreeably to 
those in the license given by the court to John Paul. All the 
narrow spaces running through the blocks of lots are alleys, 
all of which are twenty feet wide. The four squares on the 
corners of Upper and Lower Spring streets and State streets, 



which are blank upon the original plat, are each one hundred 
and twenty feet square, and are designed for the benefit of 
the public in said town. Joel Scribner, 

In behalf of the firm of J., N. & A. Scribner. 

The lots marked "church" referred to above 
were No. 7, Lower Fifth street; No. 9, Lower 
Fourth; No. 40, State; No. 30, Upper First; No. 
7, Upper Third; No. 13, Upper Third; No. 29, 
Upper Third; No. 26, Upper Spring; No. 7, Up- 
per Fourth; No. 15, Upper Fourth; No. 35, Up- 
per Elm; No. 35, Upper Spring; No. 30, Upper 
Fifth; and a whole squaie of ground between 
Lower Matket and Spring streets, on Lower 
Third. 

The lots marked "school" were two numbered 
twenty-eight and twenty-seven, on the Public 
Square, fronting on State street, and one num- 
bered nineteen on Upper First street. In addi- 
tion to the Public Square, upon which the county 
buildings now stand, a whole square was reserved 
on Lower Third sireet, between High and 
Market, and designated as "the Public Prome- 
nade and Parade Ground." This spot is still in 
use as a public park. 

New Albany was very unhealthy for many 
years after it was laid out, on account of the sur- 
rounding marshy land and the thickets of un- 
derbrush and fallen logs, which dammed up the 
streams and made continual pools and lakes of 
stagnant water; especially was this the case on 
portions of the Whitehill tract. 

NEW ALBANY IN 1819. 

In 181 7 this place had so far advanced in 
population that on January 1st of that year it 
was made a town, by act of the General Assem- 
bly. Dr. McMurtrie, in his Sketches of Louis- 
ville, published in 18 19, thus speaks of it: 

New Albany is situated opposite or rather below Portland, 
in the State of Indiana and county of Floyd, of which it is 
the seat of justice. The town was laid out by the Messrs. 
Scribner, who were the proprietors, in 1814. It is built upon 
the second bank of the river, from which it presents a very 
interesting appearance, many of the houses being whitened, 
and one belonging to Mr. Paxson, built of brick and designed 
with considerable taste, meeting the eye in a most consp c- 
uous situation.* The bottom or first bank is rarely over- 
flowed, and the one on which the town stands, being twenty 
feet higher, there hardly exists the possibility of its ever 
meeting that fate. 

For some time after it was laid out New Albany, like 
other places in the neighborhood, increased but slowly, con- 
flicting opinions and clashing interests retarding its growth. 

"This house is yet standing, on the southwest corner of Pearl and 
Main streets, and belongs to A. M. Fitch, a relative by marriage of 
Charles Paxson. 



15° 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



The many natural advantages it possesses, however, have at 
length surmounted every difficulty, and its progress of late 
has been unequalled by any town on the Ohio of so modern 
a date. The good health generally enjoyed by the inhabit- 
ants (which I think is partly owing to the excellent water 
made use of, which is found in natural springs to the number 
of fifteen or twenty within the town plat, and which can 
anywhere be obtained at the depth of twenty-five feet), the 
great road from this State to Vincennes passing through it, 
and the quantity and quality of ship timber which abounds 
in the neighborhood, are the principal causes which have 
contributed to this advancement. 

It contains at present one hundred and fifty dwelling 
houses, which are generally of wood, it being impossible to 
procure brick in quantities suited to the demand. The num- 
ber of inhabitants amounts to one thousand, and from the 
influx of population occasioned by the demand for workmen 
at the ship-yards, etc., it must necessarily increase in a much 
greater ratio than heretofore. The only public work of any 
description that is worth notice, is the steam grist- and saw- 
mill, belonging to Messrs. Paxson & Smith. Three steam- 
boats have been launched from the yards, and there are three 
more on the stocks. The inhabitants are all either Meth- 
odists or Presbyterians, the former having a meeting-house, 
and the latter have contracted for a church, which is to be 
built immediately. There* is a free school in this place 
which has been partly supported by the interest of five 
thousand dollars, a donation from the original proprietors 
for that purpose; but increasing population requiring more 
extensive modes of education, other institutions are projected. 
Upon the whole, New Albany bids fair to be a wealthy and 
important town, as it is becoming a depot wherein the inhab- 
itants of the interior of Indiana draw their supplies of dry 
goods and groceries, and, consequently, to which they send 
their produce in return. 

In a foot-note the same writer says: 

At a little distance from the town, issuing from under a 
stratum of greenstone, is a spring of water containing a 
large quantity of sulphuretted hydrogen, which inflames on 
being brought into contact with a candle; and if the spring 
be covered with a close box, furnished with a pipe and stop- 
cock so as to condense the gas, it continues to burn until it is 
purposely extinguished. 

This was known as "the boiling spring," and 
for many years was considered as very valuable, 
whenever capital could be employed to develop 
it; but it disappointed all expectations. Dr. 
Ashel Clapp and others, about 1824, attempted 
by boring to find coal there. They went down 
about two hundred feet, but all attempts to 
utilize the spring failed and the gas long since 
disappeared. 

It will be seen by the above extract that in six 
years the village had grown to be a place of one 
thousand people, and that shipbuilding was then 
the most important industry. Indeed, this busi- 
ness seemed to have given the village a start it 
might never have secured without the proximity 
of good shipbuilding timber. It also had "one 
brick house." Dr. McMurtrie no doubt over- 



looked the little fourteen-foot-square brick build- 
ing down near the river — the first one built in 
the place. And he says nothing about the 

TAVERNS OF THE PLACE 

at that time; but as these are always important 
in the building up of a new town they must not 
be overlooked. There is little doubt that the 
first "place of entertainment" on the present 
site of New Albany was Mrs. Robinson's tavern, 
mentioned in our chapter on New Albany town- 
ship, located in what is, now the northern part of 
the city. It was there some time before the 
town was laid out, and served as a stopping place 
for the mail and for all travelers between Louis- 
ville and Vincennes. Just when it disappeared 
is not known. 

The second tavern was that of Elihu Marsh, 
as before stated. This was, no doubt, the first 
tavern in the new town, and was opened in 1814, 
David M. Hale's tavern opening the same year. 

Prior to the laying out of the town no license 
was probably exacted bf these tavern keepers; 
but after the incorporation of the village and the 
formation of Floyd county in 18 19, they were 
not only required to pay license, but compelled 
to enter into bond with security for the faithful 
performance of their duties, as the commission- 
ers' records show. 

Hale's tavern, on High street, was built of logs, 
but subsequently (in 1823) a frame addition was 
made. The house has been repaired and added 
to, and has been used as a tavern from that day 
to this. It is on the corner of Lower First and 
Main. 

Seth Woodruff early opened a tavern on Main 
street. It was certainly there prior to 18 19, for 
on May 18th of that year the following appears 
upon the commissioners' records: 

Seth Woodruff, upon petition, was licensed to keep tavern 
in New Albany, on entering into a bond of $500, with Wil- 
liam L. Hobson as secuiity. The tavern is ordered to be 
taxed $20. 

The records further show that, "May 19, 1819, 
Summers B. Oilman is licensed and permitted to 
keep tavern in the town of New Albany, for one 
year from the 27th day of March last." Mr. 
Oilman also gave a bond of $500 with Anderson 
and Elihu Marsh as sureties. His tax was 
also $20 a year. The same date "Paul Hoge 
is licensed to keep tavern in the town of 
New Albany tor one year from the twenty- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



151 



fourth day of April last." The bond and tax were 
the same as in the other cases, and Henry Tur- 
ner, Sr., was security. On the same date David 
M. Hale is licensed in the same manner, with 
Charles Paxson as security; and Hugh Ferguson 
was also licensed at the same time, with Sylvester 
Perry as security. Same date (May, 1819) 
Wyatt P. Tuley is licensed to keep tavern in 
New Albany, with Thomas Sinex and Paul Hoge 
as sureties. In November of the same year 
Jacob Miller is licensed to keep tavern on the 
Vincennes road, probably at or in the neighbor- 
hood of the present village of Mooresville. In 
1820 John Lamb appears as a tavern-keeper, 
with Thomas Aborn and Enoch Townsend as 
sureties. Wyatt P. Tuley, Seth Woodruff, and 
David M. Hale continue to appear on the rec- 
ord as tavern-keepers for many years. Wood- 
ruff was probably longer in that business than 
any of his contemporaries. After 1820 the 
names of James Howard, William Drysdale, 
Adam Spidler, and others appear as tavern- 
keepers in New Albany. 

Mr. Thomas Collins, who came to New Al- 
bany in 1827 and is yet a resident, says that in 
that year the taverns in active operation in the 
town were Hale's, on High street; the New Al- 
bany hotel, kept by Charles A. Clark on Main 
street, between Upper Third and Fourth streets; 
and the Swan, kept by Mrs. Marsh on the cor- 
ner of Upper Fourth and Water streets. The 
Swan was a good-sized frame building, with 
double porches in the front (the style of nearly 
all the taverns of that day), and overlooking the 
river. It was pleasantly situated, was a very good 
house for the time, and commanded considera- 
ble patronage. The most conspicuous thing 
about it, perhaps, was the sign, upon which a 
large white swan was painted. Clark was at that 
time keeping the old Woodruff tavern. This 
was then the largest house in the town. It was 
a frame building, erected by Woodruff, was a 
popular place of resort, and became, in fact, the 
center of attraction for the town and country. 
The commissioners held their meetings here for 
several years; the first courts were held within 
its walls and all the county business transacted, 
as well as being continually open to the traveling 
public. Woodruff himself was one of the most 
prominent of the pioneers, as will be seen else- 
where. Apportion of this building is yet stand- 



ing. About 1832 the frame was moved back 
and a large brick building erected in front of it, 
which is yet standing, though no longer used as 
a hotel. More interesting reminiscences of the 
early days of New Albany are centered around 
this spot than any other in the city. The tav- 
erns kept pace with the city in improvement un- 
til they became "hotels," and at present there 
are several good ones in the city. 

MILLS 

were probably of even more importance in the 
building up of the new town than taverns, and 
the erection of a mill was among the first consid- 
erations of the proprietors. Abner Scribner was 
especially anxious for a mill, even before the 
cabins were erected; but a first-class mill, such 
as the Scribners desired, could not be put in 
operation, notwithstanding all the advantages of 
the place, without great labor and no little ex- 
pense. 

Mr. Trublood's little mill on Falling run 
answered the purpose for a time, and was the 
first on the town plat. 

Mills had been erected at the falls and were 
within easy access of the people of New Albany; 
but the Scribners determined that their people 
should go to no other place to mill. Trublood's 
mill was a primitive affair, the buhrs being man- 
ufactured of native "nigger-heads," and was in 
operation but a few months in the year, owing 
either to high water, which would wash away the 
dam, or to drouth, which would almost dry up 
the stream. 

The first two mills erected by the Scribners 
were failures. Mr. Daniel Seabrook tells about 
these mills. It seems that a man named Parker 
came along soon after the town was laid out, 
represented himself as a mill-wright, and pro- 
posed to build a steam-mill, engine and all, for 
the Scribners if they would furnish the money. 
He succeeded in persuading them that he under- 
stood his business, and they put him to work. 
He first visited a primitive foundry, then located 
somewhere on Salt river, Kentucky, where he 
succeeded in getting cast an iron cylinder and 
several heating tubes, both the cylinder and pipes 
being cast in two pieces. The pieces were 
brought over to New Albany and put together, 
but when done it was found that they did not fit, 
a large crack appearing in the joints. This crack 
Parker filled with lead, thus making the pieces 



152 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



tight. His next move was to manufacture a 
wooden boiler. Parker employed Daniel Sea- 
brook and his (Seabrook's) brother-in-law, Samuel 
Marsh, to make this boiler, which they did out 
of hewed timber ten inches wide and eight 
inches thick. These men were ship-carpenters 
and succeeded in getting the boiler water-tight. 
It was bolted together and strongly hooped. 
Into this the flues, before mentioned, were placed, 
they being about twenty inches in diameter. 
When the engine was finished, ready for opera- 
tion, a fire was built, and as soon as the flues 
became heated the lead that filled the cracks 
melted and ran out, and the machine which had 
cost so much time, labor, and money, was a 
complete failure. 

Not discouraged with this, however, the Scrib- 
ners immediately discharged Parker and went to 
Pittsburgh, then the nearest point where steam- 
boilers were manufactured, and purchased a 
small engine. This was about 1815. They 
erected a little mill structure on the spot where 
the Jeffersonville, Madison & Indianapolis depot 
now stands, into which they placed one small 
set of buhrs and two saws for sawing lumber. 
But this was before the days of steamboats or 
steamboat building at New Albany; the mill had 
little to do in the way of grinding, and the mills 
at the falls doing so much better work, this mill 
also proved a failure. Mr. Seabrook says it only 
ran a few months, when it was abandoned and 
the building was occupied most of the time as a 
"roosting-place" for hogs The saw-mill part 
was run occasionally, and when it burnt down 
some years later, a large pile of logs was left on 
the ground to rot. 

This was the commencement of the milling 
business in New Albany, a branch of industry 
which has attained to large proportions, as will 
be seen by reference to another chapter of this 
work. 

ROADS AND BRIDGES. 

There was no road through the first plat of 
New Albany when it was made; the highway 
was the river. The road from the falls to Vin- 
cennes passed some distance north of the town. 
This road first followed up the old Indian trail 
— or, in fact, the trail was the only road through 
the country for many years prior to the beginning 
of the present century. When settlers began to 
gather about Trublood's mill and the spring 



there, the road deflected from the old trail so as 
to accommodate this settlement, and in a short 
time that portion of the old trail between Clarks- 
ville and the Gut ford was almost entirely aban- 
doned, the travel going by way of Robinson's 
tavern, from which the road passed north and 
again joined the trail within New Albany town- 
ship, not far from the foot of the knobs. After 
New Albany was laid out this road branched 
into the town and thus became the first outlet 
for those in the village, except by river. 

A road from Oatman's ferry, which was located 
a short distance below New Albany, was also one 
of the first made. 

The following, from the records of the com- 
missioners, dated May 17, 1819, shows what 
roads were earliest established in the county, and 
the names of a few prominent pioneers in con- 
nection with them: 

Ordered, that Jacob Bence be appointed supervisor of 
the following roads, to wit: Beginning on the road at New- 
man's ferry, on the river Ohio, running to Corydon, and con- 
tinuing on as far as the county line, and so much of the road 
lying in said county as runs from George Clark's to the 
Grassy valley, in Harrison county. And all the lands in 
Franklin township, lying under the knobs and south of the 
road leading from Newman's ferry to Corydon, over the 
knobs, including Thomas Smith and William Bailey, north 
of said road, do assist him in keeping the same in repair. 

Ordered, That Michael Swartz be appointed supervisor 
of so much of the road leading from Oatman's ferry to 
Vincennes as lies in Franklin township, and the hands living 
on Big Indian creek are required to assist him in keeping the 
same in repair. 

Anderson Long was, in like manner, appoint- 
ed supervisor of so much of the road leading 
from Oatman's ferry to Corydon as lies in Floyd 
county, beginning at the forks of the road on 
the top of the knobs. John Merriwether was 
appointed supervisor of so much of the road 
beginning on the Oatman road and leading to 
Greenville as lies in Franklin township. Samuel 
Miller was appointed supervisor of so much of 
the road beginning at Oatman's ferry and leading 
to Vincennes as lies in New Albany township. 
William L. Hobson was appointed supervisor of 
the road leading from New Albany to and in- 
tersecting the State road at Jacob Miller's, or so 
much thereof as lies in New Albany township. 
John Scott was appointed supervisor of so much 
of the State road leading from Gut ford, on 
Silver creek, to Jacob Miller's as lies in New 
Albany township. David Edwards was appoint- 
ed supervisor of "all that part of the road lead- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



153 



ing from New Albany that intersects the State 
road at Jacob Miller's and within Greenville 
township; and also all that part of the State road 
beginning at the line dividing the township of 
New Albany and Greenville east of the knobs, con- 
tinuing on said road west to the line that divides 
ranges Five and Six west of said Miller's." Jacob 
Frederick was appointed supervisor "of all that 
part of the State road beginning at the line di- 
viding ranges Five and Six, and continuing west 
to the line that divides the counties of Floyd 
and Harrison." John Lopp was made supervisor 
"of all that part of the road leading from Oat- 
man's ferry to Engleman's mill and through 
Lopp's land, beginning at the line dividing the 
townships of Greenville and Franklin, on said 
road, extending westwardly to the line dividing 
Harrison and Floyd counties." Maurice Morris 
was appointed supervisor "of all that part of the 
State road in Floyd county west of Greenville, 
and also all that part of the road leading from 
Samuel Kendall's to Salem." 

Following is a report made by Josiah Akin and 
the other commissioners appointed to view a route 
for a new road leading out of New Albany, made 
to the county commissioners at their session in 
August, 181 9: 

Floyd county, State of Indiana. 
We, the undersigned, having been appointed by the Board 
of Commissioners at their May term, held in New Albany, 
in order to view and make way for a Public road to be opened 
on a route from said Town to John Lopp's — to comply with 
said order we viewed and reviewed said route, and do report 
that we have marked by Blazes and chops the way as follow- 
eth, viz: Beginning at the corner of Joel Scribner's post- 
and-rail fence, at the lower end of High street, New Albany, 
and running thence on the west side of the line of the out- 
lots of said Town, on a direction to the Boiling Spring on 
Falling Run; thence with a road laid out by Joel Scribner 
crossing the Knobs; thence as near to the straight line as 
possible to Isaac Lamb's, running through his improvement 
by consent; thence on a direction to said Lopp's, running 
through an improvement of D. H. Allison by consent. We 
are of the opinion the opening and establishing that as a 
Public Highway would be of Public utility. 

James McCutchan, 
Josiah Akin, 
Jonathan Slythe. 

Ordered, That Josiah Akin be allowed one dollar for 
one day's service rendered in viewing a route for a road to be 
opened from New Albany to John Lopp's. 

It appears that David M. Hale was appointed 
supervisor to open so much of the above-men- 
tioned road as lies in New Albany township; 
Asa Smith, supervisor to open that part lying in 



Franklin township; and David H. Allison, super- 
visor to open that part lying in Greenville town- 
ship. 

In 1820 commissioners were appointed to view 
and lay out the line for a portion of the State 
road from New Albany to Hindoostan Field. 
The commissioners were: F. Shotts, John G. 
Clendenin, and John Eastburn; and there the 
report was filed with the commissioners Septem- 
ber 27, 1820. 

In November, 1822, the report of the com- 
missioners appointed by the Legislature to view 
and mark out the route for the New Albany and 
Vincennes road, appears on record. The com- 
missioners were : John McDonald and John G. 
Clendenin. Several changes were early made in 
the road before it was finally located and fixed as 
it now stands. Prior to the laying out of New 
Albany it followed the Indian trail from Clarks- 
ville; after that it passed through New Albany, 
and thence up through the woods to the trail 
again, as before stated. Subsequently it was 
laid out further west, and passed over the knobs 
before striking the old trail ; and for many years 
this was the customary route of travel between 
New Albany and Vincennes. This is now known 
as the "old State road," and has been partly 
abandoned, though portions of it still remain. 
The new road now used was opened about 1832. 
It was macadamized and made a toll road, cost- 
ing a great deal of money. The section over the 
knobs alone is said to have cost $100,000. It 
is still a toll road. The old State road is the 
one mentioned in the above extract as being laid 
out by McDonald and Clendenin in 1822. 

The present excellent macadamized toll road 
from New Albany to Corydon was surveyed and 
established in 1823; the commissioners ap- 
pointed by the Legislature being Levi Long, 
D. O. Lane, and William Boon. A most ex- 
cellent and substantial stone-arched bridge spans 
Falling run on this road. This little stream has 
here cut a very deep channel, requiring an arch 
and bridge of unusual height. Money was ap- 
propriated for building this bridge in 1828, and 
also for building two other bridges across the 
same stream ; one on the new State road, then 
in course of construction from New Albany to 
Vincennes, and one on the old State road before 
mentioned. These bridges were generally com- 
pleted within the next five years. 



154 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



The above-named were the first roads located 
in the county, and gave New Albany abundant 
outlet to the interior. The roads in the county 
will compare favorably with any in the State. 
Mr. Cottom, in his work on the interests of New 
Albany, thus writes regarding the turnpikes: 

While New Albany is well provided with river navigation, 
her citizens have not been unmindful of their connections 
with such portions of the interior as are inaccessible by river 
or rail. With a liberal enterprise that has always been a 
characteristic of our wide-awake people, they have provided 
excellent turnpikes in several directions, that give the citizens 
of the county and neighboring towns facilities for reaching 
the city, and afford splendid drives for those having leisure 
and inclination to take advantage of these well-paved roads. 
More turnpikes are needed, but these will doubtless be pro- 
vided in due time, as there is a willingness manifested on all 
sides to engage liberally in such public enterprises as mak- 
ing good macadamized roads; and the law of the State is 
very favorable to such improvements, providing that the 
lands benefited by them shall be especially taxed to aid in 
their construction. 

Regarding the great railroad bridge connect- 
ing the two cities of New Albany and Louisville, 
the same writer spys : 

New Albany is united to Louisville by the magnificent iron 
bridge that spans the Ohio river at the Falls. Trains cross 
this bridge from New Albany and Louisville, on the Louisville 
& New Albany railroad, every hour in both directions, and 
so great is the travel by this route between the two cities that 
it will be but a short time until the trains are run every half 
hour, and perhaps oftener. 

The Ohio river bridge is probably the finest structure of 
the kind in America, and was built at a cost of over two' mil- 
lions of dollars. Another bridge is projected to span the 
Ohio between the east end of New Albany and the west end 
of Louisville, and there is little doubt that this bridge will be 
opened for travel in a few years. It is contemplated to give 
tracks for steam cars, street railroad, vehicles, and footmen. 
The two bridges will virtually make New Albany and Louis- 
ville one city in interest, if not in identity. 

The above was written in 1873, and now (Oc- 
tober, 1 881) the corner-stone of the new bridge 
has just been laid with imposing ceremonies. 
There were some six or eight thousand people 
present to witness the ceremony, which com- 
menced at 3 p. m., October 29th. 

Colonel Bennett H. Young, president of the 
bridge company, delivered the introductory, after 
which Charles W. Cottom, city editor of the 
Ledger, was introduced, and delivered the in- 
augural address, which was followed by the lay- 
ing of the corner-stone by the Masonic Grand 
Lodge of Indiana, Right Worthy Grand Master 
Calvin W. Prather, of Jeffersonville, conducting 
the ceremony. Lieutenant Governor Hanna, of 
Indiana; Hon. Henry Watterson, of the Courier- 



Journal; Colonel R. M. Kelley, of the Louisville 
Commercial; General James A. Ekin, of Jeffer- 
sonville; Mr. N. T. DePauw and Hon. J. J. 
Brown, of New Albany, and Hon. G. W. Marr, 
of Louisville, followed with brief addresses. 

THE JONES TRACT. 

Epaphras Jones was-one of the most eccentric, 
perhaps, of the early pioneers of New Albany. 
As before stated he, by virtue of being one of 
General George Rogers Clarke's soldiers, owned 
one hundred acres of land joining the Whitehill 
tract on the east and bounded on the south by 
the river. This eccentric person attempted to 
build up a town in opposition to New Albany, 
calling the place Providence. Of this "neck ot 
woods," including also the Whitehill tract, Mr. 
Thomas Collins thus writes: 

At that time (1822) the town limits were Upper and Lower 
Fifth streets for the eastern and western boundary, with the 
river on the south and Oak street on the north. The adja- 
cent grounds were fields for farming purposes or forest. 

The State ofVirginia, just before the cession of the land 
belonging to her and known as the Northwestern Territory, by 
Legislative enactment made a donation of the lands com- 
mencing near what is now Upper Ninth street, on the river 
bank, and running north to a short distance beyond what is 
known as the Muddy fork of Silver creek, thence north of 
east through Clarke county, to within a short distance of the 
Scott county line, thence south to the river, to General 
George Rogers Clarke and the soldiers of his command. A 
considerable portion of these lands remained in a wild state 
until within the last few years. The one hundred-acre tract 
immediately outside the town limits, originally belonging to 
Epaphras Jones, was covered heavily with timber, some of 
the trees measuring from five to seven feet in diameter. This 
forest in later years afforded delightful promenade grounds 
and conveniences for public gatherings of all kinds. In these 
woods, and within the two squares above and below Eleventh 
street on Main, the Whigs had their barbecue in 1840, just 
prior to the election of General Harrison to the Presidency. 
In 1842-43 the clearing of the land began, and in 1844 Hon. 
Benjamin Hardin, of Kentucky, made the last political speech 
upon these grounds and under these grand old trees. The 
entire one hundred acres, and perhaps four times as much 
more adjoining on the two sides, are now a part of the city. 

The spot upon which the barbecue was held is now the 
site of some of the finest residences of the city, and the De- 
Pauw American Glass Works now covers the ground upon 
which Ben Hardin made his speech. On the grounds on that 
occasion were George D. Prentice, of the Louisville Courier 
journal ; Charles N. Thurston and William P. Thomasson, 
both popular lawyers of the Louisville bar, and many other 
celebrities. This was in 1844, during the contest between 
Henry Clay and James K. Polk for the Presidency, in 
which Mr. Polk was the successful candidate. The canvass 
of 1840 inaugurated the thorough organization and drilling 
of parties, the public processions and gorgeous displays that 
have since continued to be the prominent features of both 
parties during the canvass prior to a Presidential election. 
The organization of parties by the foundation of clubs in 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



155 



wards and townships was then first adopted : and the first 
club of which the writer of this had any knowledge was 
formed in this cily and called the "Tippecanoe Club," in 
honor of the battle of Tippecanoe and of General Harrison 
and his comrades. Within three months from the time of 
its organization there were clubs to be found in every county 
in this State and in most of the States of the Union. 

Epaphras Jones built his house toward the 
northern end of his hundred-acre tract, upon the 
hill overlooking the river and a vast scope of 
level country in every direction. Such is the 
view at present ; but when Epaphras Jones 
flourished here, the view was much obstructed by 
forest trees in almost all directions. It was a 
beautiful spot, however, upon which to build a 
house, being a little south of where Graham's 
nursery now stands and west of Vincennes 
street. 

David Hedden's house, as before mentioned, 
stands upon the spot. Jones' house was a long, 
low frame building. Fortunately, just before its 
removal for the purpose of erecting the present 
fine and commodious residence, one of Mr. 
Hedden's daughters made a drawing of the old 
Jones mansion, which the family have carefully 
preserved. It is a long, story-and-a-half frame. 
It was first boarded up and down, then subse- 
quently weather-boarded over this ; some fine old 
forest trees stood in front of it. Jones had been 
a drummer-boy in the army of Washington dur- 
ing the Revolutionary war, and in fact possessed 
a good deal of military spirit, having been con- 
nected with the army many years, and was with 
General Clarke in his Vincennes expedition. For 
this last service he received the land, and settling 
here he called the place Providence because he 
felt himself providentially cast on this spot. He 
was eccentric on the subject of religion ; consid- 
ered the Indians as the lost tribes spoken of in 
the Bible, and consequently almost worshiped 
them. He regarded them as far in advance of 
the white race in many things. After his retire- 
ment from the army and settlement here, he ap- 
peared as a " gentleman of the old school" — that 
is, he was quite dressy, wore a blue coat with 
bright metal buttons, gaiters and knee-buckles, 
powdered wig, ruffled shirt-front, cockade, cane, 
etc., etc. He had been a traveler in Europe 
and nearly every part of the world, was well edu- 
cated, a good conversa'.ionalist, polite, genial, 
good-hearted, religious, and in every way, bar- 
ring a few eccentricities, a companionable and 



superior gentleman. He was born in New 
England — one authority says in Rhode Island 
and another Connecticut — and was twice mar- 
ried, bringing his first wife from New England, 
who died here. He subsequently married Miss 
Ann Silliman, of this place. He was very ener- 
getic, fussy, and full of business. He proposed 
building up a town in opposition to New Albany, 
and considered that, being nearer to Louisville, 
he had a better prospect of making his town a 
respectable suburb of that city than had New 
Albany, then a little village a mile or more below 
his residence. But he had the Scribners to work 
against, and the opposition was too formidable ; 
his town never grew to be anything, hardly a 
petty hamlet. He was nervous over the progress 
of New Albany, and used to walk down to that 
village every morning, ostensibly for a morning 
walk, but really to see how much New Albany 
had grown during the night ! He cleared a road 
through the woods from his house to the river 
and established a ferry, which, Mr. Hedden says, 
amounted to no more than a skiff for carrying 
passengers. He tried hard to make his ferry a 
success, however, hoping to get people and 
freight from Louisville in the way of crossing 
there, instead of at New Albany. He also, after 
a time, built a warehouse on the river and a sort 
of landing called Jones' Landing ; and a little 
later induced some one to erect a saw-mill near 
by, which, however, did not prove a permanent 
success. In order more effectually to cut off 
New Albany, he secured the right of way through 
lands to the north of his tract, and attempted to 
build a road from his ferry to intersect the State 
road or Indian trail in the northern part of the 
township. The whole country was then densely 
and heavily wooded, and this was no small under- 
taking ; but he put hands at work cutting the 
trees down even with the surface of the ground, 
and making a broad track through the forest for a 
distance of two miles from the river. He was 
compelled to give up this project, however — 
probably it was two expensive. It never became 
a road, but Vincennes street, of the present New 
Albany, occupies the line of this old road, and 
his ferry was at the foot of that street. He had 
his town regularly surveyed and platted, and 
some of the streets graded. He succeeded in 
selling a few lots and gathering a few settlers 
around him ; but after a time, when New Albany 



156 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



began to grow more rapidly, he gave up this 
scheme of building a town. 

Later in life Mr. Jones undertook the produc- 
tion of silk from silk worms, but death overtook 
him before he was enabled to make this a suc- 
cess. He was buried on his own ground, and 
the place was subsequently known as "Jones' 
Graveyard," at the upper end of Market street. 
He talked on religious subjects a great deal for a 
few years prior to his death, and would get much 
excited over the subject of the "New Jerusalem." 

THE WHITEHILL TRACT. 

During the days of his struggles to build up a 
town, the Whitehill tract was lying a desolate 
waste, full of frog-ponds and malaria, between 
his residence and New Albany. Whitehill never 
occupied the land, and died somewhere in the 
East. The property was held by his heirs and 
continued to increase in value as New Albany- 
grew, until the town began to grow around it, 
when it was cut up into lots and sold. This was 
between 1830 and 1840. It was conveyed by an 
agent of the Whitehill heirs named McBeth, and 
most of it was purchased at first by Judge 
Charles Dewey, of Charlestown (then State su- 
preme judge), Mason C. Fitch, and Elias Ayres. 
They subdivided it into smaller tracts and lots 
to suit purchasers, and the ground, as well as 
that of Jones, was long since swallowed up by 
the city. 

NEW ALBANY IN 1 849. 

The following is from the Indiana Gazetteer, 
published in 1849, an ^ gives a picture of New 
Albany at that date: 

New Albany, either the first or second town as to popula- 
tion in the State, and the seat of justice for Floyd county, is 
beautifully situated on the Ohio, two miles below the falls, 
in latitude thirty-eight degrees eighteen minutes north, and 
longitude eight degrees forty-nine minutes west. It was laid 
out in the summer of 1813, with wide streets running nearly 
east and west parallel with the river, and others crossing 
them at right angles, the most of which have been well mac- 
adamized and the sidewalks paved. In 1834 the population 
of New Albany was estimated at two thousand five hundred; 
in 1840 it was four thousand tw : o hundred and twenty-six; 
and at this time is over seven thousand. The number of 
houses is about twelve hundred, of which one-fourth are 
brick. Steamboat building and repairing is carried on to a 
large extent there, and in the different kinds of mechanical 
business connected with it, about five hundred hands are 
constantly employed. There are in the city three iron foun- 
dries and machine shops on a large scale, for the manufact- 
ure of 'steam engines and machinery; one brass foundry; 
one patent bagging factory for the manufacture of hempen 
cloths, which cost fifty thousand dollars; and a marine rail- 



way, which cost forty thousand dollars. There are also two 
printing offices, a branch of the Stale bank, about one hun- 
dred and twenty stores and groceries; two Methodist, two 
Presbyterian, one Christian, one Episcopalian, one Lutheran, 
and three Baptist churches; and the means to facilitate the 
instruction of the young and the communication of knowl- 
edge are highly creditable to the public spirit and liberality 
of the citizens. Anderson's Collegiate Institute, chartered 
by the Legislature; the Old-school Presbyterian Theological 
seminary; two large district school buildings, erected at the 
public expense at a cost twelve thousand dollars; a city 
school endowed by the original proprietors, and a large num- 
ber of private schools, are in operation, and all generally well 
conducted. The railroad to Salem, and intended to be car- 
ried still further, will soon add largely to the business and 
prosperity of New Albany. The enterprise, industry, mo- 
rality, and public spirit which have heretofore contributed so 
much to its growth, will not fail to carry it onward hereafter. 

The following extract is from C. W. Cottom's 
pamphlet: 

In i8t4 a large number of families removed to New Alba- 
ny, and from that time forward, notwithstanding the near- 
ness of Louisville and the start that town had gained in pop- 
ulation and business, the contiguity of Jeffersonville and 
Shippingport, and the laying-off and settlement of Portland 
on the opposite side of the Ohio, with the active competition 
those towns offered, New Albany had a steady and substan- 
tial, though not rapid, growth. 

July 14, 1839, New Albany was incorporated as a city, P. 
M. Dorsey being the first mayor, Henry Collins the first re- 
corder, Hon. John S. Davis the first city clerk. Edward 
Brown, Sr. , the first treasurer, David Wilkinson the first col- 
lector of taxes and city marshal. Of these officials Hon. 
John S. Davis only survives, and has risen from the position 
of city clerk to be one of the first lawyers in the State. 

The first councilmen elected in 1839 were Patrick Crowlay, 
James Collins, Israel C. Crane, Edward Brown, Hezekiah 
Beeler, Samuel M. Bolin, Henry W. Smith, Randall Craw- 
ford, Absalom Cox, William Underhill, Preston F. Tuley, 
and E. VV. Benton. Of these Hezekiah Beeler is the sole 
survivor. 

The valuation of the property of the city for taxation in 
1836 was $1,760,735, and the rate of taxation sixty-five cents 
on the $100 of valuation. The population was four thousand 
two hundred. At this time New Albany was famous, as at 
present, for the heallhfulness of her situation, and began to 
grow more rapidly, many important establishments in me- 
chanics and manufactures, steamboat building, and mercan- 
tile interests having sprung up. In 1839 an eminent citizen 
of Boston visited the town and wrote back to the leading 
newspaper of that city as follows : "The scenery from the 
hills surrounding this charming town is beautiful and grand 
beyond description, and cannot fail toentiance and enrapture 
the traveler. The wide expanse of country, the sparkling 
La Belle Riviere, winding tortuously on its course from a 
point ten miles distant up the stream, to an equal distance 
below the city; the falls, with their never-ceasing yet musical 
roar; Jeffersonville and Louisville at their head; broad fields 
crowned with the glories of a golden *harvest, and forests 
wreathed in carmine-tinted and yellow and green foliage; the 
Silver hills stretching away to the northeast, and intervening 
slopes and fields, and densely wooded glens, with the river 
hills towering from four to six hundred feet skyward to the 
west, form a view of grandeur and beauty such as is nowhere 
else to be witnessed and enjoyed in Indiana." 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



157 



In 1850 the population of the city had increased to eight 
thousand one hundred and eighty-one, and the increase in 
the material interests of the city was proportionately ad- 
vanced; in i860 the population was twelve thousand. 
THE STATUS. 

At the present time (1882) the population of 
the city is about eighteen thousand. The follow- 
ing extract regarding New Albany is from a 
directory of the city published in 1868: 

The city is situated at the foot of the Falls upon a high 
bench above the overflow, except by extreme high water, 
such as that in 1832. At that time that portion upon the 
immediate bank of the rivet was inundated, but all the rest, 
forming the greater portion of the city, was then and always 
will be free from overflow. At the lower end of Main street 
a spur of the knobs overlooks the city and surrounding coun- 
try, and would furnish a site for waterworks of unsurpassed 
utility and general fitness. * * * * * 

New Albany being at the foot of the Kails, it was early 
seen that she possessed some natural advantages, in respect 
to trade on the river below, which could not be held by her 
proud sister at the head of the Falls and on the other side of 
the river; and, notwithstanding the many disadvantages 
incident to her close proximity to that wealthy and powerful 
city, whose shadow chilled and perhaps stunted her growth 
for a time, she has gradually grown apace, gained strength, 
and developed her proportions. As a shipping point the ad- 
vantages of New Albany have long been acknowledged, and 
since the completion of the New Albany & Salem railroad to 
Michigan City, that branch of business has greatly increased. 

INCORPORATED AS A CITY. 

The following is an extract from the Act to in- 
corporate the city of New Albany, and to repeal 
all laws in force incorporating the town of New 
Albany, approved February 14, 1839: 

Section i. Be it enacted, etc., That so much of the 
county of Floyd as lies within the following boundaries, to 
wit: "Beginning on the Ohio river at the mouth of Falling 
Run creek, thence up the centre of the channel of said creek 
to the bridge at the Boiling spring; thence in a right line to 
the southwest corner of the Griffin tract; thence with the 
west line of said tract to the northwest corner thereof; thence 
with the north line of said tract to the northeast corner there- 
of; thence in a right line through Leonard's spring on the 
Shilby tract, and onwards until it meets with the pro- 
duced line of Jones' clay turnpike; thence southerly along 
said produced line and the middle of said clay turnpike, to 
the Ohio river, and thence with said river to the place of 
beginning, extending across said river as far as the jurisdic- 
tion of said State extends, and the persons residing within 
said boundaries, are hereby created a body corporate and 
politic, by the name and title of the city of New Albany, and 
by that name may have perpetual succession, sue and be 
sued, plead and be impleaded, defend and be defended 
against, at law and in equity, in all courts and places, and in 
all matters whatsoever, contract and be contracted with." 

The above boundaries have been changed and 
extended to meet the requirements of the growth 
of the city. Changes were made January 26, 
1847; February 14, 1853; February 6, 1854; 



March 7, 1854; September 4, 1854, and July 22, 
1867. 

CITY OFFICERS. 

The following is a list of the officers chosen by 
the people of New Albany to administer its af- 
fairs and execute its laws, from the time it was 
incorporated as a city until the present: 

MAYORS. 

P. M. Dorsey 1839-40 

Shepard Whitman 1840-43 

Silas Overturf 1843-44 

James Collins 1844 

William Clark 1844-47 

William M. Wier 1847-49, 1850-52 

John R. Franklin 1852-53, 1859-63 

Joseph A. Moffatt 18 53-55 

Jonathan D. Kelso '855-56 

Franklin Warren 1856-59 

Dumer M. Hooper 1863-65 

William L. Sanderson 1865-68 

William Hart 1868-71 

Thomas Kunkle 1871-74 

William B. Richardson 1874-75-77 

Solomon Malbon 1877-79 

Bela C. Kent ' i87_9-8i 

COUNCILMEN. 

FIRST WARD. 

Patrick Crowley 1839-40 

James Collins 1839-40, 1855-56 

E. W. Benton 1839-40 

Leonee Hoover 1840-45 

William C. Conner 1841-42 

G. C. Shively 1842-43 

John Austin 1842-43 

John Miller 1842-43 

Thomas Sinex 1843-46 

James E. Sage 1843-44 

George Gresham 1844-48 

Oliver Cassell l8 45"47 

Thomas Conner 1846-47 

William Clark 1847-48 

Peleg Fiske 1847-48 

A. P. Willard 1848-49 

Alexander McCartney 1848-49 

Isaac Hunt 1849-50 

James B. Russell 1849-50 

Martin H. Ruter 1849-50 

James C. Mordy 1850-53 

James Montgomery 1850-51 

I. P. Smith 1850-51 

H. R. Mathias 1851-52 

Blaine Marshall 1851-52 

Apollos Cassell 1852-53 

Stewart Sanford 1852-54, 1856-58 

Charles Van Dusen l8 53-54 

Hiram Wilson '854-55 

V. A. Pepin 1855-56 

J. B. Powell 1855-56 

L. G. Mathews 1857-58 

Benjamin Lockwood ^1858-60 

John McCulloch 1862-64 

Daniel Sittason 1862-65 



'58 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



E. M. Hubbert 1865-67 

Christopher Fox 1867-69 

John S. Davis 1869-77 

Henry Wagner 1869 

James Pierce 1869 

George Beck 1872-74, 1877-79 

M. M. Hurley 1874-76 

George F. Penn t876-8o 

A. J. Kistler 1879-81 

SECOND WARD. 

Israel Crane 1839-40 

Edward Brown 1839-40 

Hezekiah Beeler 1839-40 

P. C. Smith 1840-42 

James Brooks 1840-41 

Silas Overturf 1840-41 

Jacob Loughmiller 1841-42 

William M. Wier 1841-45 

David Hedden 1842-45 

John P. Frank 1843-44 

H. M. Dowling 1844-45 

P. M. Wilcox 1845-47 

Stephen Beers 1845-46 

V. A. Pepin 1846-47-1852-53 

John S. McDonald 1847-48-49-50, 1852-53 

John Loughmiller 1847-48 

P.M.Kent 1847-48 

Samuel H. Owen 1848-50 

Alfred S. Rager 1848-49 

Oliver Dufour 1849-50 

J ohn S. Davis 1850-52 

Francis Jennings 1850-51 

GeorgeV. Howk { JS** £jj£g 

Henry Turner 1851-52 

William S. Culbertson 1851-52 

Bela C. Kent 1853-54, 1856-57 

Adam Knapp '854-55 

George Gresham 1855-56-57-59 

David Crane '855-56-57-59 

John Renshaw 1859-61, 1863-65, 1869 

John H. Lee .' 1861-65 

G. C. Carmon 1865-69 

Prof. James Brown 1867-69 

Edward Ford 1871-73 

Edward M. Hubbert 1872-76 

Sherman Frisbie l ^73~75 

Emery L. Ford 1874-76 

H. A. Gifford 1875-77 

Jacob Hangary 1876-78 

William Dunbar 1877-81 

Frank Dishman 1878-80 

Louis Veinia 1881- 

William Dunbar 1881- 

THIRD WARD. 

Samuel M. Bolin 1839-40 

Henry W. Smith , 1839-40 

Randall Crawford 1839-40 

Peleg Fiske 1840-41 

Henry Bogart. ... . 1840-42 

William L. Sanderson 1840-42 

Thorn us Danforth 1841-42 

J. M. Morrison 1842-43 

John Sloan 1842-43 

John C. Conner 1842-43 



John G. Hoff 1843-45 

Abram Case , 1843-48 

Benjamin Gonzalles 1843-44 

N. H. Cobb 1844-46-47-49 

William Plumer 1845-48-49-50 

Jacob Hise 1846-47 

George H. Harrison 1848-49 

James Brooks 1849-150 

John K. Woodward 1849-50, 1852-53 

George V. Hawk 1850-51 

John McBnde 1850-52 

Peter R. Stoy 1850-51 

William B. Lent 1851-53 

William H. Fogg 1851-52 

L. H. Naghel 1852-53 

John S. Davis 1853-54. 1856-57 

William M. Wier 1857-59 

Augustus Bradley 1854-55, 1857-69 

Ed. Q. Naghel 1855-56, 1865-67 

P. M. Wilcox 1855-56 

John B. Winstandly 1856-57, i867-"7 

James M. Rawlins. . ,. 1857-58 

Samuel H. Owens 1858-63 

Ludwig Hurrle 1863-65 

Charles H. Fawcett 1869-71 

John Renshaw 1869-70 

Wesley G. Hammond 1871-73 

John H. Butler 1872-74 

P. M. Kepley 1873-75. 1879-81 

Alfred Hofield 1874-78 

Frank Hoffer '875-77 

James G. Harrison 1877-79 

Charles E. Schiveley 1878-80 

Philip Kepley 1881 

Ferdinand Hollman 1881 

FOURTH WARD. 

Absalom Cox 1839-40 

William Underhill 1839-40, 1843-55 

Preston F. Tuley 1839-40, 1849-50 

David M. Hall 1840-42 

John Evans 1840-41, 1848-49 

Dumer M. Hooper 1840-41 

William Plumer 1841-42 

John Thompson 1841-44, 1846-49 

Charles Tyler. 1842-43 

Seth Woodruff 1843-44 

Peleg Fiske 1844-46 

John Q. A. Smith 1844-46 

Joseph A. Moffatt 184549 

Andrew Schollars 1846-47 

T. C. Shiveley 1846-47 

John B. Anderson 1849-50 

Louis H. Brown 1849-50 

William Jones 1850-51 

John Miller 1850-53 

James Pierce '850-53 

William B. Lent l8 54-55 

Peter R. Stoy 1854-55 

S. S. Marsh 1855-56 

John F. Anderson 1855-56 

A. W. Bentley 1856-57, 1858-61 

C. A. Dorsey 1856-57, 1858-60 

E. Q. Naghel 1857-58. 1859-63 

Benjamin South '857-58 

John W. Girard 1861-62 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



'59 



Charles Sackett 1863-67 

John H. Dorst 1862-69 

John Shrader 1867-69 

John B. Winstandley 1869-71, 1875-77 

John Endris 1869-70 

M. McDonald 1871-73 

Lewis Vernia 1872-74 

Frederick Wunderlich 1872-73 

Michael Doherty 1873-75 

Thomas J. Fullenlove 1874-76 

Israel P. Parks 1876-78 

John J. Richards 1878-79 

Reuben P. Main 1877-80 

Robert C. Knoefel 1879-81 

FIFTH WARD. 

James Pierce '853-55. 1863-68 

John Bushnell '853-55 

John W. Roberts ' 1855-57 

Wesley G. Pierce 1855-61 

D. M. Hooper 1857-59 

W. P. Swift : 1859-63 

Thomas F. Jackson 1861-71 

Alexander Webster 1868-69 

Peter R. Stoy 1869-79 

George H. Devol 1871-73 

Frank E. Dishman 1873-76 

James Slider 1876 

Charles E. Jones 1876-80 

George P. Hnckely 1876-77 

Charles E. Wible 1879-81 

John Newhouse 1881 

SIXTH WARD. 

Jonathan D. Kelso 1853-54 

Thomas Humphreys 1853-54 

George M. C. Townsend 1854-59, 1869-71 

Joseph St. John 1854-5S. 1857-61, 1867-73 

Aaron Lyons 1856-57 

Dewitt C. Hill 1856-57 

William Jones 1858-65 

Charles Wible 1861-67 

John Busby 1867-69 

Epaminondas Williams 1872-74, 1875-77 

Joel Cogswell 1873-74 

William Terry 1874-75 

Jacob Alford 1874-76, 1877-79 

Henry Koetter 1876-78 

William H. Stephens, Sr 1878-81 

Charles C. Jones 1879-81 

RECORDER. 

Henry Collins 1839-43 

Peter A. Roan 1843-47 

(Office abolished). 

CITY JUDGE. 

Henry Collins 1848-52 

George V. Howk 1852-53 

(Office abolished). 

Jacob Herber 1873-74 

(Office reinstated and again abolished). 

CITY CLERK. 

John S. Davis 1839-42 

Joseph P. H. Thorton 1842-44 

Stewart C. Cayce '844 

William A. Scribner 1844-52 



Elijah Sabin 1852-55 

Robert Williams 1855-56 

W. W. Tuley 1856-61 

Robert M. Wiei 1861-67 

Mathew I. Huette 1867-77 

William B. Jackson 1877-81 

TREASURER. 

Edward Brown 1839-44 

Thomas Danforth 1844-50 

Abram Case 1850-51 

Samuel M. Dorsey 1851-55. 1859-61 

Michael Streepy i85<;-56 

William M. Wier 1856-57 

Theodore J. Elliott 1857-59 

George Gresham 1861-67 

Solomon Maibon 1867-75 

Samuel M. Wier 1875-81 

COLLECTOR. 

David Wilkinson 1839-40 

Peter A. Roan 1841-43 

Martin C. Foster 1843-46 

Stewart C. Cayce 1846-48 

Obediah Childs 1848-50 

(Office abolished.) 

CITY MARSHAL. 

David Wilkinson 1839-40, 1849-51 

Jacob Anthony 1840-41 

Martin C. Foster 1841-44 

Augustus Jocelyn 1844 

Robert Mercer 1844-45 

James Newbank 1845-48, 1855-56 

William B. Green 1848-49 

Jeremiah Warner 1851-53 

Paul E. Slocum 1853-54 

Samuel M. Bolin 1854-55 

Berry Gwin 1856-58 

Thomas Akers 1858-71 

Thomas Kendall 1871-75 

David W. Carpenter 1875-81 

ASSESSOR. 

J. C. Jocelyn 1847-56, 1858-66 

Reuben Robertson 1856-58 

A. W. Monroe 1866-69 

Lyman S. Davis 1869-71 

John E. Meyer 1871-73, 1875-77 

George Cook '873-75 

Theodore Marsh , 1877-79 

(Office abolished). 

«TY ATTORNEY. 

James C. Moodey 1843-46 

John S. Davis 1846-47 

Theodore J . Barnett 1847-48 

P. M. Kent 1849-50 

Elijah Sabin 1850-51 

William S. Hillyer 1851-52 

D. C. Anthony 1852-54, 1855-56 

M - c Kerr 1854-55 

John H. Stotsenburg 1856-59 

F. G. Dannacher 1859-61 

Alexander Dowling 1861-65, 1871-75 

William F. L. Morgan 1865-67 

James V. Kelso 1867-71, 1877-79 



i6o 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Jacob Herter '875-77 

David W. I.afollette 1879-81 

CIVIL ENGINEER. 

Horace B. Wilson 1850-56 

L. B. Wilson 1856-58 

John Taylor 1858-63 

George M. Smith 1863-77 

Hart Vance 1877-79 

Charles O. Bradford 1879-81 

STREET COMMISSIONER. 

Martin C. Foster 1842-43, 1844-46 

Seth Woodruff. 1 843-44 

James Newbanks 1846-47 

John Bruner 1847-48, 1849-52 

G. C. Schively, Sr 1848-49 

John Farrel 1849-53 

F. A. Hutcherson 1853-55 

D. M. Hooper 1855-56 

William Bosley 1856-57 

Jacob Evans 1857-63 

Fred Ailer 1863-69 

Charles McKenna 1869-73 

John F. Anderson '873-75 

Mike Doherty 1875-77 

David W. Miller 1877-81 

CITY WEIGHER. 

A. E. Taylor 1847-48 

Isam Key 1848-49 

John Watkins 1849-50, 1851-55 

C. A. Dorsey 1850-51. 1859-64 

Eli Harlan 1855-56 

Thomas Boardman 1856-59 

Samuel Sisloff 1864-81 

CHIEF OF FIRE DEPARTMENT. 

V. A. Pepin 1853-54 

William M. Wier 1854-55 

Charles Wible 1855-56 

Peleg Fiske 1856-57 

Ed Q. Naghel 1857-59 

Jasper Blvthe 1859-62 

Thomas Akers 1862-63 

John H. Dorst 1863-64 

Stephen Stuckey 1864-65 

William B. Plumer 1865-67 

William Merker 1867-78 

Everett Wattam 1879-80 

William Merker 1881 — 

CHIEF OF POLICE. 

D. B. Star P 1870-71 ' 

Joel D. Smith 1871-73 

William A. Carpenter '873-75, 1878-79 

Benjamin Bounds 1875-76 

David W. Carpenter 1876-78 

Thomas E. Spence 1879-80 

Thomas Smithwick 1881 — 

FIRE DEPARTMENT AND WATER WORKS. 

For more than half a century the town and 
city were without water-works, and for forly years 
the fire fiend was fought by volunteer fire com- 
panies in the usual way — first with the old leather 



bucket and later with hose and hand engines, and 
still later with steam engines. In the early days 
when a fire occurred the men ranged themselves 
in lines from the fire to the nearest water, and 
the leather buckets were passed rapidly along the 
line from hand to hand, until the fire was extin- 
guished. As the city grew the dangers arising 
from fire increased in proportion, as did also the 
city's efforts to organize and more thoroughly 
prepare for fighting the fiery element. In 
1854, it is ascertained that the city con- 
tained, five well organized and equipped fire 
companies, numbering in all three hundred 
and sixty-five members, with $20,500 worlh of 
material for the extinguishment of fires, includ- 
ing steam and hand engines, hose, hose-carts, 
ladders, etc. It was not until 1865 that the city 
began to pay its firemen for their services, and 
since that time the fire department has been 
considered a paid one. 

As at present constituted, the material of the 
New Albany fire department consists of but one 
steamer, which is retained principally for use in 
case of possible failure of the water-works dur- 
ing a fire; one hook-and-ladder truck, and three 
reel-carriages. The department, including all 
expenses, is sustained at an annual cost of about 
$12,000. Fire-plugs are placed at convenient 
distances throughout the city, and the larger 
number of families keep in their houses a suf- 
ficient amount of hose to put out an ordinary 
fire on their premises without the aid of the fire 
comj^any. William Merker has been for many 
years the chief engineer. 

The present water-works were constructed in 
1875; the coinjxiny formed for that purpose con- 
sisting of Messrs. Morris McDonald, Hiram C. 
Cannon, John F. Gebhart, John K. Woodward, 
Jesse J: Brown, William S. Culbertson, and Rob- 
ert G. McCord. These gentlemen associated 
themselves together under the corporate name 
of The New Albany Water-Works. The ordi- 
nance passed by the city council at that time 
stipulates "that the cavjacity of the proposed 
water-works shall be such as to supply water upon 
demand during any hour of any given twenty- 
four, and for three hundred and sixty-five days 
of each year during the prevalence of fire in said 
city." Hydrants were to be conveniently dis- 
tributed throughout the city by the company, 
and drinking hydrants to be maintained at each 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



161 



of the public parks. The company not being 
able to complete the works within the time first 
specified in the contract, the time was extended 
by the council to July i, 1876, and the works 
were finally accepted by the council August n, 
1876. The following regarding these works was 
published in the New Albany Ledger-Standard 
in 1877: 

There is no city possessing superior water-works to New 
Albany. Thev are on the high-pressure system. The res- 
ervoirs, two in number, are located on top of the knobs 
about five thousand feet from and about two hundred feet 
ahove the city, giving a force to project water to the height 
of one hundred and fifty-five feet. The pump-house is about 
four thousand feet distant from the reservoirs. The water is 
taken from the Ohio river, and is raised two hundred and 
sixty-seven feet above low-water mark. The erection of the 
works began during 1875, and were completed so far as to 
supply the city, July 1, 1876. On July 12th the first test of 
the efficiency of the works, as a fire service, was made. At 
this test eight streams of water, one inch in diameter, were 
thrown simultaneously for one hour to an altitude of one 
hundred and twenty-five feet. The capacity of the works is 
ample for forty-five thousand people, and can be easily in- 
creased when consumption requires it. The engine and en- 
gine room are specimens of beauty and substantiality. 
The reservoirs are united by one heavy seam, and are ar- 
ranged to settle and clean the water before passing into the 
city pipes. There areover fourteen miles of distributing pipe 
laid, upon which there ire one hundred and thirty fire- 
hydrants. The price for water is but half that charged by 
other cities in the West and South. This, in itself, is a great 
consideration for those using large quantities of water for 
manufacturing purposes. 

The works are owned by a stock company, and have cost 
thus far about two hundred thousand dollars. The officers 
are: J. F. Gebhart, president; W. N. Mahon, secretary; 
F. Scheffold, superintendent; Charles Fitch, Sr., engineer, 
J. J. Brown, W. S. Culbertson, G. C. Cannon, R. G. Mc- 
Cord, J. K. Woodward, Morris McDonald, and J. F. Geb- 
hart, directors. 

While building the works, many persons apprehended that 
the pipes would not be sufficient to sustain the pressure, but 
all such apprehensions were without foundation. Not a 
single break has occurred in the entire distributing system. 
The pipes were made by Messrs. Dennis Long & Co., of 
Louisville, Kentucky, which is the largest manufactory of its 
kind in the United States. * * * * 

By the building of water-works, New Albany has obtained 
large advantages over other cities. The city being nearly 
level, an equal pressure of water is maintained throughout all 
its parts. Many of the manufactories have abandoned force- 
pumps, and use only the natural pressure of the water to 
force itself into the boilers, thereby saving machinery and ex- 
pense. In the matter of fire insurance, prices have been re- 
duced twenty to fifty per cent, from former rates. Steam 
fire-engines are no longer appreciated, fire-hydrants being far 
more efficient. Persons wishing to run small machinery, can 
do so by the use of water motors, at a cost of not more than 
fifty cents per day per one-horse-power. The water is soft 
and well adapted for all manufacturing purposes, as well as 
for family uses. In short, no city possesses more efficient 
water-works than New Albany. 



THE GAS COMPANY. 

A number of attempts were made to furnish 
the city with gas before the work was fully and 
finally accomplished. The first company was 
formed in April, 1851, with a capital of $50,000; 
works were erected, and the city first lighted 
with gas December, 1853. The charter of this 
company had twenty years to run, and having 
expired a new company was formed in 1870, 
acting by authority granted by the city council. 
By an ordinance passed March 22, 1870, author- 
ity was granted to Washington C. DePauw, Nel- 
son Fordice, and George V. Howk, and their 
associates, who were generally interested in the 
old company, to form a new company with the 
corporate name of The Gas Light and Coke 
company of New Albany. Their charter ex- 
tended twenty years from April 1, 187 1. In 
1873 Mr/- Cottom thus wrote of the city gas- 
works : 

There are now nine and one-half miles of main-pipe laid 
down, and at nearly every meeting of the city council, peti- 
tions for the extension of the gas are received and granted. 
Water, Main, Market, and Spring streets, that traverse the 
city from east to west its entire length, are lighted by gas; 
also a large number of cross streets. This is done at the 
public expense and requires three hundred and fifteen street 
lamps, lighting one hundred and five squares. All the 
churches, public halls, and other public buildings are lighted 
by gas. Few cities in the West possess equal, and none 
superior advantages in regard to light. 

BOARD OF HEALTH. 

The first board of health was authorized by 
the city council, and organized August 21, 1S55. 
Since that time the city has been generally kept 
in excellent sanitary condition. At this date 
(1881) Dr. John Sloan is president of the board. 

BENEVOLENT, SECRET, AND OTHER SOCIETIES. 

Societies of every kind are plentiful in the city; 
those of a benevolent and charitable character 
being especially conspicuous and strong. Head- 
ing the list of charitable institutions is the 

old ladies' home, 
an account of which appears in the Ledger- 
Standard of November, 1873, as follows: 

Never was there a time or season more fitting than the 
present to inaugurate and set into active operation an insti- 
tution that will touch all hearts with sympathy and good-will 
as the Widows' Home, which opened yesterday in our city. 
The very name is suggestive of comfort, good cheer, and 
contentment. 

Eleemosynary institutions in this or any other country are 
rarely conceived and supported and endowed by a single in- 
dividual, which is done in the instance which we are about 



162 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



to mention. But wherever they are found, they are monu- 
ments along the track of the ages to mark the progress of 
civilization, humanity, Christianity. A heart imbued, ex- 
alted, and sublimed, with plans and purposes to relieve and 
rescue suffering humanity in this sin-sick world, lives not only 
to some purpose, but carries with him the spirit and precept 
of our Divine Lord and Master. 

Mr. William S. Culbertson, our esteemed fellow-towns- 
man, has to-day, by the erection of this Widows' Home, 
reared unto himself a monument that shall be more enduring 
than the marble which will decorate his own tomb some dis- 
tant day. He is now the prince of gift-makers. He does 
this good deed in a quiet, unostentatious manner. We chal- 
lenge the parallel in munificence within the boundaries of our 
State, or anywhere this side of the Alleghanies. 

Mr. Culbertson possesses among his many rare traits, a 
quick, intuitive grasp of mind, which reduces everything to a 
speedy practical turn, whether it be business or benevolence. 
His charity begins at home, where he can see the good it 
does. It was no doubt in such a mood as this that he con- 
ceived and executed the enterprise which to-day has resulted 
in ornamenting our city with a building worthy of the name 
of "Widows' Home." The selection of that class of worthy 
ladies whose unfortunate circumstances have bereft them of 
the comforts of home and made them too often friendless 
and alone, was certainly eminently proper and wise. Alas, 
how often these truly deserving and praiseworthy women 
have suffered the pangs of penury and want, suffered of dis- 
ease and misery, suffered for home, suffered for friends, and 
"found them not." Each and all of us know many instances 
in life, similarly situated, wherein Mr. Culbertson's benevo- 
lence would be to them as a beacon light to a home-bound 
sailor. 

The situation of the Widows' Home, among the costly 
and pleasant residences on Main street, was judicious, as 
there is nothing to distinguish it from any other large and 
handsome private dwelling. Two gates and one carriage 
way are entrances, through iron and stone fence of desirable 
pattern, which lead to this mansion and abode of widows. 
The neatly sodded turf, serpentine and gravel walks, together 
with easy rising stone steps, lead up to the doorways. Iron 
verandas, bay windows in front, massive balconies in rear, 
and ample ground stretching out to view, together with other 
conveniences, form no inconsiderable part of the external 
surroundings. In the artistic merits of painting, much taste 
has been displayed. There are four stories, including the 
basement and attic, which are no inferior parts of the domi- 
cile. Fifteen or sixteen rooms, high ceilings, large and airy, 
comprise the apartments. What renders these rooms more 
particularly desirable is the front view given to so many of 
them. The kitchen has all the modern utensils usual to such 
culinary establishments. A dumb waiter, a cellar full of 
coal, wash-room, bath-room, water-closet up stairs, wide 
halls, easy flights of stairs, are the features of this establish- 
ment. All are papered and painted. The doors are superbly 
done. We never saw any before done as these are. Gas 
chandeliers and burners are abundant all over the house. 
The heating arrangement has been peculiarly regarded, 
and nopart of the building in use has been omitted in 
this particular. The carpets are of tasteful pattern and 
produce a pleasing effect to the rooms. The bedsteads are 
iron, of unique pattern, furnished by some Boston firm. 
They are single beds three feet and a half wide. The iron 
bedstead is the most popular now of any throughout En- 
gland. The diBing-room, 26 x 16 feet, is, as it should be, 
one of the pleasantest rooms— wainscotted and otherwise 



decorated to make it serviceable. The sleeping apartments 
are commodious, cheerful, and well ventilated. Very few 
people in our city occupy dwellings near so luxurious as our 
friends here. The visitor goes over the Home feeling really 
this is a home indeed. Nothing stingy, nothing mean, be- 
cause it would be cheap, can be detected in any part of the 
workmanship, but every part is grand, massive, just the thing 
for ages. Mr. Bane, the supervising architect and builder, 
has embodied the magnanimity of the generous giver, who 
never did anything by halves in his life. The Widows' 
Home will accommodate thirty or more inmates. Mr. Cul- 
bertson has already endowed it to the amount he deems 
necessary, but if, on experience, he finds the amount insuffi- 
cient, he will make the provision ample to run it long after 
his death. It will not be sectarian in religion, though re- 
ligious services will be held therein daily. The rules and 
regulations respecting the moral and religious government of ' 
the inmates certainly seem more generous and tolerant than in 
institutions of this kind generally. Miss Mary Baldwin, a 
daughter of Captain Baldwin, Sr., will be matron, and the 
selection of this lady was very proper, on account of her 
many estimable qualities, besides her good judgment in 
household matters. Under the advisory counsel of Mr. 
and Mrs. William S. Culbertson, who will be sole directors, 
we cannot doubt but that the Widows' Home will become 
an institution of much good, but the honor which shall be 
reflected from so praiseworthy a benefaction as Mr. Culbert- 
son's may be imitated in some other form equally substantial 
by others of wealth, who are citizens of our city. 

Next to the Old Ladies' Home comes the 
orphans' home, 
a charitable institution which does the city much 
credit. It is situated on the southwest corner of 
Bank and Spring streets, and was established 
three or four years ago by charitably inclined 
ladies of the city. It has been since its establish- 
ment in charge of the ladies of the different city 
churches. The building, a commodious brick, was 
presented to the society by Mrs. W. C. DePauw. 
It is in charge of a matron, and quite a number 
of homeless children are being cared for and 
educated here. The officers are Mrs. Augustus 
Bradley, president; Mrs. Martha Mahon, secre- 
tary; Mrs. Haskins, treasurer, and Mrs. Mary 
P. McClain, matron. 

Steps are being taken to erect a new home 
above Vincennes street, between Oak and Elm, 
in which New Albany's philanthropist, William 
S. Culbertson, is prominently interested. 

MASONIC. 

The ancient and honorable fraternity of Free 
Masons is in a most flourishing condition in the 
city,' twelve lodges of various kinds and degrees 
being at present in active operation. 

The first lodge of Masons established here 
was known as Ziff lodge, No. 8, and was organ- 
ized September 14, 181 8. Dr. Asahel Clapp 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



163 



was influential in securing the organization, and 
was chosen the first worshipful master. Charles 
Paxson was the first senior warden, and Lathrop 
Elderkin was the first junior warden. The 
charter for this lodge was granted by the Grand 
lodge then in session at Madison, Indiana, with 
W. H. H. Sheets, M. W. G. M., and W. C. 
Keene, secretary. 

Ziff lodge was sustained a number of years, but 
failed for some reason, and far a few years New 
- Albany was without a lodge of Masons. The 
present New Albany lodge, No. 39, took the 
place of the Ziff lode in 1834. The lodge for a 
short time worked under a dispensation granted 
by the Grand lodge October 3, 1833; the 
charter was granted and the lodge regularly insti- 
tuted December ir, 1834. The first officers 
were Stephen Whiteman, W. M.; William Hurst, 
S. W., and Alexander McClellan, J. W. The 
present officers of this lodge are J. Peters, W. 
M.; Frank Brooks, S. W.j J. J. Richards, J. W.; 
M. A. Wier, treasurer; F. D. Connor, secretary; 
J. M. Nichols, S. D.; L. R Huckely, J. D.; 
Louis Lash, tyler. The times of meeting are on 
the first and third Thursdays of each month. 

Jefferson lodge, No. 104, came into exist- 
ence in 1849, dispensation being granted Oc- 
tober 20th of that year. The lodge received 
its charter May 29, 1850. The charter members 
and officers were Thomas Oscar Johnson, W. M.; 
Francis A. Hutcherson, S. W.; William H. Fogg, 
J. W.; Peter Tellon, treasurer; Ed F. Shields, 
secretary; William Hart, S. D.; A. Baxter, J. D.; 
and P. Y. J. Armstrong, tyler. The present of- 
ficers of this lodge are Thomas Deming, W. M. ; 
J. B. Mitchell, S. W.; B. B. Stewart, J. W.; W. F. 
Tuley, treasurer; C. O. Bradford, secretary; R. 
E. King, S. D.; Robert Morris, J. D.; and G. L. 
Eisman, tyler. The times of meeting are the 
second and fourth Thursdays in each month. 

The third lodge in the city, known as DePauw 
lodge, No. 338, was organized April 27, 1867, 
and meets the second and fourth Tuesdays in 
each month. The officers are F. M. Tribbey, 
W. M.; Joseph Jutton, S. W.; Levi Pierce, J. W.; 
Stephen Scharf, treasurer; T. E. Fogle, secretary; 
James Atkinson, S. U.; John Pierce, J. D.; and 
John B. Crawford, tyler. 

Besides those named, there is a German lodge 
known as Pythagoras lodge, No. 355, which 
meets the first and third Wednesday in each 



month. Its officers are A. F. Sharff, W. M.; 
Joseph Reibel,.S. W.; A. Hoffield, J. W.; Freder- 
ick Wunderlick, treasurer; G. Gerst, secretary; 
Jacob Kreutzer, S. D.; Charles Sloemer, J. D.; 
and Henry Denny, tyler. 

The four above-named lodges are known as 
Blue lodges of the Ancient York Masons. 

Of the higher masonic bodies, there are the New 
Albany Chapter, No. 17, of Royal Arch Masons; 
Indiana Council, No. 1, of Royal and Select Mas- 
ters; and New Albany Commandery, No. 5, 
Knights Templars. The first-named was or- 
ganized May 24, 185 1, its meetings being held 
the second Monday of each month. The officers 
at present are Joseph Jutton, M. E. H. P.; S. W. 
Wells, E. K; H. J. Needham E. Scribe; Robert 
Brockman,C. H.;F.T. Wilson, P. S.;T. E. Fogle, 
R. A. Cap.; L. L. Pierce, G. M. Third V.; W. P. 
Davis, G. M. Second V.; D. E. Sittason, G. M. 
First V.; Henry Beharrell, treasurer; M. D. Con- 
diff, secretary; B. Crawford, G. and J. J. Indi- 
ana Council, No. 1, was organized January 7, 
1854. It meets the third Monday in each 
month. Its officers at present are Joseph Jutton, 
master; S. W. Wells, Dep. I. M.; W. P. Davis, 
P. C. W. K.; E. E. Sittason, C. Guard; H. Be- 
harrell, treasurer; M. D. Condiff, Rec; and T. 
B. Crawford, Sen. The New Albany Com- 
mandery, No. 5, Knights Templars, was organ- 
ized December 22, 1854, and meets the fourth 
Monday in each month. Its officers are H. J. 
Needham, Com.; W. Breyfogle, Gen.; W. P. 
Davis, Capt. Gen.; Robert Brockman, prelate; 
Seth W. Wells, S. W.; D. G. Hudson, J. W.; H. 
Beharrell, treasurer; M. D. Condiff, recorder; T. 
E. Deshinan, sword bearer; Joseph Jutton, 
standard-bearer; F. Wilson, warden; T. B. Craw- 
ford, sentinel. 

The Masonic General Relief committee, for 
purposes of benevolence, was organized January 
28, 1868. 

Added to the above lodges are the following 
lodges of Scotish Rite Masons, to-wit: De Mo- 
lay Consistory, No. 5; Mount Moriah Chapter 
Rose Croix, No. 5; Burning Bush Lodge of Per- 
fection, No. 7; and Zerubabel Council Princes 
of Jersualem. DeMolay Consistory, No. 5, 
meets the first Wednesday in March, June, Sep- 
tember, and December. The officers are : J. G. 
Shields, 33°, commander in chief; S. Albert, 32 , 
First L. C; John Nafus, 32°, Second L. C; C. C. 



164 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Haskins, 32°, M. and G. O; J. P. Hannan, 32°, 
G. C; M. D. Condiff, 32°, G. C.^nd K. of S.; 
Henry Beharrell, 33°, G. T.j C. F. Cutter, 32°, 
G. E. and A.; George. Ehrhart, 32 , G H.; H. 
J. Reamer, 32°, G. S. B.; Louis Goodbub, 32 , 
G. C. of G.; L. L. Gorner, 32°, G. S. 

Mount Moriah Chapter Rose Croix, No. 5, 
meets the first Wednesday in February, May, 
August and November. The officers are: 
George H. Koch, 32°, M. W. and P. M.; George 
Ehrhart, 32°, S. W.; J. P. Hannan, 32°, J. W.j J. 
Losey, 32 , G. O; H. Beharrell, 32°, treasurer; 
M. D. Condiff, 32°, secretary; H. J. Reamer, 
32°, H. O. S. P.; VV. W. Tuley, 32°, M. of C; 
L. L. Gormer, 32°, C. G. 

Burning Bush Lodge of Perfection, No 7, A. 
and A. S. Rite, meets the first Monday in each 
month. George H. Koch, 32°, T. G. P. M.; 
J. P. Hannan, 32°, B. P., Louis Goodbub, 32°, 
G. S. W.j Frederick Wunderhch, 32°, G. J. W.; 
C. C. Haskins, 14 , G. O.; M. D. Condiff, 32°, 
G. S.; H. Beharrell, 32°, G. T.; George Ehrhart, 
32°, G. M. of C; John Nafus, 32 , G. C. of G; 
H. J. Reamer, 32°, G. H. P.; L. L. Gormer, 
G. T. 

Zerubabel Council, Princes of Jerusalem, 
meets first Wednesday in January, April, July, 
and] October. The officers are: George M. 
Ehrhart, 32°, M. E. Sor. P. G. M.; John P. 
Harman, 32°, D. G. M.; Louis Goodbub, 32°, 
M. E. S. G. W.; George H. Koch, 32 , M. E. J. 
G W.; M. D. Condiff, 32°, G. Sec. K of S. 
and A.; H, Beharrell, 32°, G. Treas.; W. W. 
Tuley, 32°, G. M. of C; H. J. Reamer, 32 , 
G. M. of E.; L. L. Gorner, 32°, Gen Sen. 

All the Masonic lodges above named met at 
their hall, located on the southwest corner of 
Pearl and Market streets. The Independent 
Grand Imperial Council of the Red Cross of 
Rome and Constantine, for the State of Indiana, 
holds its annual meetings in June in New Albany. 

In addition to the above, there is a colored 
lodge known as St. John lodge, No. 8, Free and 
Accepted Masons, whose meetings are held the 
first Monday in each month, at their hall on the 
west side of State street, between Elm and Oak. 
This lodge claims to work under dispensation 
granted by the Grand lodge of England. 

INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS. 

There are eight lodges of this order in the 
city, and the Mutual Benefit Association. 



The first lodge of Odd Fellows here, and the 
first in the State of Indiana — New Albany lodge, 
No 1 — was organized November 12, 1835, and 
was re-organized August 13, 1851. It meets 
every Monday evening. Charles W. South, N. 
G. ; William Scales, R. S.; J. B. Friend, treasu- 
rer. 

New Albany lodge, No. 10, meets every Thurs- 
day evening. William R. Graves, N. G; George 
Larke, V.*G.; J. W^ Buck, secretary; C. E. Jones, 
P. S.; I. G. Strunk, treasurer. 

Hope lodge, No. 83, meets every Friday even- 
ing. E. W. Fawcett, N. G.; R. M. Wilcoxson, 
V. G; Andrew Fite, R. S.; J. B. Banks, P. S.; J. 
W. Seabrooks, treasurer. 

Humboldt lodge, No. 234 (German), meets 
every Wednesday evening. Jacob Weber, N. 
G; M. Fronmiller, V. G; Jacob Young, R. S.; 
Charles Fogel, P. S.; John Irion, treasurer. 

Jerusalem Encampment, No. 1, meets every 
first and third Tuesday in each month. L. Bir, 
C. P.; George Edmondson, H. P.; George Lark, 
S. W.j Alexander Webster, J. W.; James Phillips, 
S.; W. M. Mix, F. S.; E. Wattam, treasurer. 

Pierce Encampment, No. 100, meets every 
second Wednesday in each month. Christ 
Whiteman, C. P.; George Webler, H. P.; Conrad 
Kraft; S. W.; Philip Schneider, S.; Stephen 
Scharf, treasurer. 

Ruth lodge, No. 1, Daughters of Rebekah, 
meets every second and fourth Tuesday in each 
month. 

New Albany Degree lodge, No. 1, meets every 
second and fourth Saturday in each month. 

Odd Fellows Mutual Aid Association of New 
Albany, meets first Thursday in each month. 
J. B. Mitchell, president; Llew Russell, vice 
president; William M. Mix, secretary; Charles F. 
Jones, treasurer. 

The place of meeting of the above-named 
lodges is at their hall on Market street, north- 
east corner of Bank. 

The following colored lodges of the city claim 
to work under charter granted by the Grand 
lodge of England : 

Edmonds lodge, No. 1544, meets first and 
third Tuesday in each month at hall, west side 
State, between Elm and Oak. 

St. Paul's lodge, No. 1540, meets second and 
fourth Wednesday in each month at hall, north- 
east corner Lower Fourth. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



165 



KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

The first society of this secret and benevolent 
order in New Albany was instituted in Septem- 
ber, 1870, since which time its growth has been 
so rapid that there are now three lodges in this 
city. Their hall is situated on State street, be- 
tween Main and Market. 

Friendship lodge, No. 10, meets on every 
Wednesday evening. C. M. Nutt, C. G.; John 
Stafford, V. C; Thomas Park^ P.; Louis Brown, 
K\ of R. and S.; J. B. Banks, M. of F.; Andy 
Weir, M. of E.; Theodore Deming, trustee; Nor- 
man Campbell, P. C. 

Ivanhoe lodge, No. 15, meets every Monday 
evening. P. C. Smith, C. C; George H. Ed- 
mondson, V. C; Albert Young, P.; H. M. 
Cooper, K. of R and S.; R. Robinson, M. of 
R; P. H. Barrett, M. of E.; John Seabrook, 
trustee; H. Stacy, P. C. 

Rowena lodge, No. 28, meets every Friday 
evening. Brewer S. Senix, C. C. ; E.A. Graham, 
V. C; George H. Beers, prelate; James W. 
Buck, K. of R. & S.; W. A. Loughmiller, M. of 
F.; James Phillips, M. of E.; E. Wattam, trus- 
tee ; W. A. Manor, P. C. 

' KNIGHTS OF HONOR. 

New Albany lodge, No. 922, meets every 
Tuesday night at hall, Cannon block, east side 
of Pearl, between Main and Market street. 

Osceola lodge, No. 47, meets every Wednes- 
day night at hall, Cannon block, east side Pearl, 
between Main and Market. 

IMPROVED ORDER OF RED MEN. 

Pawnee tribe, No. 37, meets every Wednes 
day evening at hall, Market, northwest corner of 
Pearl. 

TEMPERANCE SOCIETIES. 

Red Ribbon Reform club meets every Thurs- 
day evening at hall, south side of Main street, 
between Pearl and Bank. C W. Cottom, presi- 
dent ; W. H. Stevens, secretary and treasurer. 

Ladies' White Ribbon club, meets the first 
Tuesday in each month, at hall, Bank, southeast 
corner of Spring. 

Ladies' Christian Temperance union, meets 
every Thursday afternoon, at hall, southeast cor- 
ner of Spring. 

TEMPLE OF HONOR AND TEMPERANCE. 

Dudley Temple of Honor and Temperance, 



No. 7, organized in 1848, meets every Wednes- 
day evening, atjhall, Nos. 273 and 275 Main. 

New Albany Council No. 3, Temple of Honor 
and Temperance, meets the second and fourth 
Mondays of each month, at 273 and 275 Main. 

Excelsior Social Temple No. 8, Temple of 
Honor and Temperance, meets every Friday 
evening of each month, at hall, 273 and 275 
Main. 

New Albany Puritas lodge, No. 15, Independ- 
ent Order of Good Templars, meets every Tues- 
day evening, at hall, Pearl, southeast corner of 
Spring. Organized in 1856. 

YOUNG MEN'S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION. 

This society was first organized about 1858, and 
made considerable progress prior to the war. 
That great struggle caused the suspension of 
many enterprises, and among others, the Young 
Men's Christian association of New Albany. In 
1868 it was again organized, with the follow- 
ing officers: D. W. Voyles, president; William 
Day, vice president; William C. Shaw, recording 
secretary; Charles Stewart, corresponding secre- 
tary; and James G. Shields, treasurer. For some 
reason this organization was not a permanent 
one, and it was a third time organized June 9, 
i87r, and became a corporate body October 17, 
1871. The association has a large and active 
membership, a library, and a public reading- 
room, where a large number of newspapers and 
periodicals are on file for the accommodation of 
the public. 

SOCIETY OF NATURAL HISTORY. 

This society was organized in 1866, with John 
Sloan, M. D., president, and E. S. Crosier sec- 
retary. The society has a considerable collec- 
tion of specimens of the stone age, shells, fishes, 
birds, reptiles, and insects of various kinds, as 
well as in mineralogy, fossils, geology, Indian 
remains, etc., and the nucleus of a library. 

OTHER SOCIETIES. 

There are many other secret and benevolent 
societies in the city, of which the following are 
the principal: American Bible society; Meth- 
odist Episcopal Church Extension society; Ger- 
man American School society, organized in 1866; 
Workingmen's Library association; New Albany 
Medical society; New Albany Township library, 
with about fifteen hundred volumes; American 
Protestant association; St. Joseph's Benevolent 



1 66 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



society; United Order of American Mechanics; St. 
Patrick's Benevolent society, organized in 1866; 
the Druids (German), organized in i860; New 
Albany Rifle club; First German Benevolent so- 
ciety, organized in 1851; Harugari society; Jae- 
ger Verein; French Benevolent society; Inde- 
pendent Turner society, organized in 1868; Ship 
Caulkers' and Carpenters' union, organized in 
1863; Engineers' association; Puddlers' union; 
Typographical union; Glass Blowers' union; 
Cordwainers' union, and many other unions of 
the several trades. 

AGRICULTURAL SOCIETY. 

The first society of this character here was or- 
ganized in May, 1857. It officers were, Thomas 
H. Collins, president; William B. Lent, vice- 
president; Noah H. Cobb, treasurer; Peleg Fiske, 
recording secretary; W. W. Tuley corresponding 
secretary. At their first meeting the members 
discussed the propriety of having a field exhibi- 
tion the coming fall, and also the propriety of 
purchasing ground for that purpose, a committee 
reporting that ground suitable could not be had 
at less than from $150 to $400 per acre. Sub- 
sequently Thomas H. Collins, Martin Verry, and 
Thomas Dewey were appointed a committee to 
purchase grounds " whenever sufficient money 
was subscribed by the citizens of the county to 
pay for them." Many members advised against 
holding a fair alone, as the county was too small, 
and advocated uniting with Harrison or Clarke 
counties. 

In the spring of 185S the present fairgrounds 
were purchased — or sixty-three acres were pur- 
chased at that date, nine acres being subsequent- 
ly added. The sum of $7,500 was paid for this 
ground, or was to be paid for it, and $3,000 were 
immediately expended in the erection of suitable 
buildings and in preparing the grounds for use. 
The first fair was held in the fall of 1858, and 
the second in the fall of 1859, neither of which 
was so successful as to enable the society to get 
out of debt. In the spring of i860 the society 
made an effort to get the State fair to the New 
Albany grounds, and in order to accomplish this 
object agreed to raise $5,000 for a premium list 
and give the State fair all the receipts. This was 
a bad bargain for the society, and was instru- 
mental, together with the breaking out of the 
war, in successfully ruining the society. The 
State fair did well, taking away $8,000 gate 



money. The ground was heavily mortgaged, 
and the society was unable to pay for it. No 
fairs were held during the war, and nothing done 
in the way of settling up affairs; and in 1866-67 
the mortgage was foreclosed and the property 
passed into the hands of the original owner, 
David Hedden. During the war the grounds 
were used as a camp for the soldiers. They have 
since changed owners, passing from Mr. Hedden 
to Bela C. Kent, a/id then to W. C. DePauw, the 
present owner. No fairs have been held since 
those named, and no agricultural society is at 
present in existence in the county. The grounds 
are in good shape for a fair, having an amphi- 
theater and all the necessary buildings, an ex- 
cellent race track a mile in length, and a good 
fence around the whole. The grounds are only 
partly cleared, and in the grove of fine trees are 
held picnic parties and public meetings of 
various kinds. 

CEMETERIES. 

Mr. Cottom thus writes regarding the cem- 
etries of New Albany: "There are in the vicinity 
of the city four cemeteries. These are the North- 
ern burial-ground, under the control of the city, 
but really the property of lot owners. This is 
a most beautiful cemetery, very finely laid off, and 
ornamented with forest trees, evergreens, and 
flowering shrubs. It contains a large number of 
very fine monuments and other memorials of the 
departed, who there await in the silence of death 
the great awakening. It has been a public burial 
ground for over thirty years. The St. Mary's 
cemetery is owned by the St. Mary's Catholic 
church, and is a beautifully laid off and orna- 
mented burial ground. 

"Holy Trinity Catholic cemetery is also loca- 
ted near the city, and is a beautiful spot. 

"The Soldiers' National cemetery is located 
a short distance east of the city, upon an eminence 
overlooking one of the finest landscapes around 
the falls of the Ohio. Within this cemetery three 
thousand galla nt soldiers, who lost their lives in 
the late civil war, sleep in death, to hear of wars 
no more. The Government has decorated this 
cemetery in a manner to make it one of the most 
beautiful in the country. An elegant house stands 
upon the grounds, in which the sexton of the 
cemetery, a soldier appointed by the Govern- 
ment, resides. A large number of wealthy and 
prominent citizens have formed a cemetery asso- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



167 



ciation under the name of Forest Hill cemetery, 
and will purchase from two hundred to two hun- 
dred and fifty acres of land, which they will plat 
and decorate in a manner to make it as attractive 
as any cemetery grounds in the country. The 
capital stock of this company is $150,000. 

THE TAX ASSESSMENT FOR 1 88 I. 

Floyd county — Number of polls, 2,481; male 
dogs, 1,269; female dogs, m; value of lands, 
$1,121,045; value of improvements on lands, 
$275,300; value of lots, $1,981,165; value of im- 
provements on ' lots, $2,239,433; corporation 
stock, $979,275; personal property, $2,546,345; 
total taxables, $9,142,565. The total taxes to 
be collected on this assessment is $76,117.61. 
Of this the city of New Albany has the following: 
Polls, 1,498; male dogs,395; female dogs, 152: 
value of lots, $1,924,295; improvements on lots, 
$2,098,205; corporation stock, $979,275; per- 
sonal property, $1,463,350; total $6,465,125, 
upon which the taxes are $47,300.87. 

POPULATION. 

The following table shows in a condensed form 
the population of New Albany, at the dates 
named: in 1840, 4,226; in 1847, 5>996; in 1 &5°t 
8,181; in 1852, 10,968; in 1853, 13,500; in 1854, 
16,590; in 1870, 15,396; in 1880, 17,570. 



CHAPTER VII. 

NEW ALBANY— FERRIES AND STEAMBOATS. 
FIRST FERRIES. 

"Ferry rights" were among the most import- 
ant considerations in the purchase of land on the 
river bank, and were always mentioned in the 
deed conveying the land, and thus transferred 
from one owner to another. It was many years 
before ferrymen were compelled to pay for the 
establishment of a ferry other than as above 
mentioned, but during these years there was lit- 
tle to be made out of the business. Ferries that 
were established prior to the establishment of the 
town or county were not compelled to pay 
license. 

There is little doubt that Moses McCann was 
the first regular ferryman in this neighborhood; 
but his landing was at Clarksville, then the only 



village on this side of the river for many miles. 
There was no occasion for any one to cross the 
river at any other point for a number of years 
after Clarksville was established. 

Martin Trublood, son of the old miller, was 
probably the first to establish a ferry at New 
Albany. This was prior to the purchase of the 
ground by the Scribner brothers, and was mainly 
for the convenience of the few squatters around 
Trublood's mill on Falling run. After the 
Scribners purchased the land of John Paul they 
had control of all ferry rights along the river at 
this point as far as their land extended. It is 
probable that the first man to secure the right to 
run a ferry of the Scribners was a Mr. Sproud, 
and no doubt Martin Trublood retired from the 
business at that time. "Sproud, the ferryman," 
was a well-known character for a number of the 
first years of the existence of the new town. 
Although Trublood's ferry was the first at New 
Albany, it was not the second one in this neigh- 
borhood ; that honor probably belongs to the 
Oatmans, who established their ferry prior to 
1 81 1, probably as early as 1808, or even earlier, 
below New Albany some two or more miles. 
The Oatmans entered some land below the John 
Paul tract and were in the habit of carrying emi- 
grants across at that place long before there were 
any permanent settlers on the site of New 
Albany. This subsequently became a noted 
crossing place, and "Oatman's ferry" is promi- 
nently mentioned in all the early records of the 
county. 

Stroud's ferry landed about where the ferry- 
landing now is, at the foot of Bank street. It 
was superseded by a ferry established by the 
Scribners themselves, this ferry being propelled 
by horses working on a tramp-wheel as before 
mentioned. 

As all the early ferries have been mentioned 
in the early history of New Albany township and 
city, it is not necessary to go into details here. 
John Connor early took hold of the ferry busi- 
ness in New Albany, and. was succeeded by his 
son, Thomas, who has continued it to this day. 
Epaphras Jones, Caleb Newman, and Charles 
Paxson were among the earliest ferrymen here. 
After the establishment of the county in February, 
1819, the records of the county commissioners 
show what ferries were established. The subject 
of ferries came up in the following spring, as 



i68 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



soon as the ice was out of the river. Then it 
was that all the ferries along the river within their 
jurisdiction were granted licenses upon applica- 
tion, entered upon the records, taxed, and thus 
became regularly established and recognized. 
Thus it appears that Oatman's ferry, "established 
on fractional section number seven, township 
Three, south of range Six east," is made a public 
ferry, at the third meeting of the commissioners, 
in May, 1819. At the same meeting the peti- 
tion of "Charles Paxson, Mary W. Smith, Phoebe 
Ann Smith, Rebecca Smith, and Catharine 
Smith, heirs of Stephen Smith, for a ferry across 
the river Ohio at New Albany," was considered, 
and the ferry established under the name of 
Charles Paxson & Co., John Connor's ferry 
having been previously established and made a 
public ferry. The records further state that Mr. 
Connor, feeling himself aggrieved by the establish- 
ment of Paxson's ferry so near to his own, appeals 
to the court for redress of grievances, entering 
into bond of five hundred dollars, with Sylvester 
Perry, Thomas Aborn, William L. Hobson, 
Elijah Matthews, Joseph Whitcomb, Abraham 
Buskirk, and Thomas Hand as sureties. 

At this same meeting Caleb Newman's ferry 
was also recognized as a public ferry. 

It was during this meeting, also, while the 
commissioners were upon the subject of ferries, 
that they established the rates to be charged by 
ferrymen in carrying passengers and freight. 
The following is copied from the records: 

Ordered, that the following rates be established and 
observed at all the ferries in Floyd county on the Ohio 
river, viz: For each four-wheeled carriage and wagon, fifty 
cents; for every horse of said wagon or carriage, twenty-five 
cents; for a two-wheeled carriage or cart, thirty-seven and a 
half cents; for a single horse, mule, or ass, twelve and one- 
half cents; for every person except the driver with the team, 
twelve and one-half cents; for every head of neat cattle, 
twelve and one-half cents; for every sheep, hog, or goat, 
six and one-fourth cents; for every barrel of flour or liquids 
when taken over without a carriage, twelve and one-half 
cents; and all other articles in the same proportion. 

Other ferries were established from time to 
time, at different points along the river. Thus it 
appears that in May, 1827, Peleg Underwood 
is granted a ferry-right across the river from 
New Albany. In May, 1824, William Wright is 
granted a ferry-right across the mouth of Silver 
creek, at the place where John Carson and Rich- 
ard Aston's old ferry had been, mentioned in an- 
other chapter. 



In May, 1821, Epaphras Jones sent a petition 
to the commissioners asking for a ferry-right 
across the river from his town of Providence, 
which, however, was at that time refused. In 
August of the same year Mr. Jones was more suc- 
cessful, and the application is granted with the 
statement that "the ferry is to be across the river 
Ohio from his land in the town of Providence, 
situated on lot letter D in the Illinois or Clarke's 
Grant in New Albany township." 

In 1824 Caleb Newman's ferry is vacated. In 
May, r82i, the following appears on the records: 
"Ordered, that the ferries be taxed as follows: 
Smith & Paxson's, $15; John Connor's, $15; 
George Oatman's, $10; Snider's, $5; Newman's 
$5." This record probably includes all the fer- 
ries then in existence and within the jurisdiction 
of the commissioners. Quite a number of per- 
sons engaged in the ferry business from time to 
time. At present there are two fine steam ferry- 
boats running, and the business is managed by 
Moses Irwin. These boats have attachments for 
fire purposes, and in cases of fire in the neigh- 
borhood of the river banks render most efficient 
service. The new bridge, whose corner stone 
has just been laid will, probably, somewhat re- 
duce the ferry business, and may put an end to it. 

STEAMBOATING. 

McMurtree, in his Sketches of Louisville, 
published in 1819, says the first boat to 
pass down the Ohio river was the Orleans, 
a small boat of about four hundred tons, 
constructed and owned by Mr. Fulton. It 
left Pittsburgh, where it was built, in December, 
1812, [October, 181 1,], and arrived in New Or- 
leans about the 24th of the same month. As it 
passed New Albany, some of the inhabitants 
who had never seen nor perhaps heard of such a 
thing, were greatly frightened at the whistle, as 
the little boat let off considerable steam in the 
neighborhood of the Falls, it being supposed to 
be a somewhat difficult and dangerous undertak- 
ing to pass this natural obstruction. At this 
time the southwestern country, along the Lower 
Mississippi river, was being shaken with the 
great earthquake, and the little boat arrived at 
New Madrid just in time to witness the great 
shaking-up of that place. This great earthquake 
began December 16, 181 1, at 2 a. m., and the 
earth continued trembling, without much inter- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



169 



mission, until about May, 18 12, a period of nearly 
five months. The greatest destruction was in 
the neighborhood of New Madrid, but the 
shocks were very unpleasantly felt at New Al- 
bany, and hundreds of other places along the 
Ohio and Mississippi rivers. The Orleans con- 
tinued running on the Lower Mississippi, be- 
tween Natchez and New Orleans, about two 
years, when it was wrecked near Baton Rouge. 
Mr. McMurtree gives the name, number, date, 
and tonnage of all the boats built on the river 
prior to 1819, when his book was published. 
From this it appears that but two boats were built 
at New Albany prior to 18 r 9; these were the 
Ohio (No. 1 8), built in 1 818 by Messrs. Shreve & 
Blair, and the Volcano (No. 20) by Robison & 
DeHart, in the same year. The first was about 
one hundred and forty feet long and a boat of 
four hundred and forty-three tons, and the last of 
two hundred and fifty tons. The carpenter who 
built the Ohio was Joseph McClary, and Samuel 
Marsh did the carpenter work on the Volcano, as- 
sisted by his brother-in-law, Daniel Seabrook, yet 
living in New Albany. Captain Henry Shreve, 
of the Ohio, was long and popularly known on 
the Ohio river as a successful captain, and as a 
builder of many steamboats. Mr. Seabrook says 
the lumber for the Ohio and Volcano was sawed 
out by hand with "whip-saws," there being, it 
seems, no mill in successful operation at that 
time. 

In the year 1819 two boats were built in New 
Albany, but the name has not been ascertained. 
From 1820 to 1825 but one boat appears to have 
been built here, but from the latter date to 1830 
twelve were built. It was about this time ascer- 
tained that the very best of ship timber existed 
on the bottoms north of New Albany, and there 
being a demand for steamboats, the business grew 
and developed rapidly. Six of these twelve boats 
were built by Washington Garrison, who hailed 
from Cape May. He located his establishment 
at Gut ford on Silver creek, in the midst of the 
best ship timber. It is said his boats were 
roughly built, but strong and substantial. As 
fast as they were completed he floated them down 
Silver creek to the Ohio, where he sold them. 

The following table taken from a map of the 
county published in 1S54, gives the tonnage, 
value and number of boats launched at New 
Albany up to the date the map was issued: 



1 


No. 


Tonnage. 


Value. 




4 
1 
12 
'7 

33 

54 
69 
59 


880 

130 

2,124 

4,381 

8,294 

15.768 

23.087 

26,652 


$ 75,856 

11,206 

183,089 

377.642 

714.942 

1,359,202 

1,990,099 

2,297,403 


From 1820 to 1825 






From 1840 to 1845 






Total 


24., 


81.316 


$7,009,439 





It will be seen from this table how rapidly the 
business of ship-building developed, and to what 
great proportions it grew. From the following 
communication, published in the Ledger-Stand- 
ard in 1877, it will be seen this list is continued 
until 1867 : 

Sometime since we endeavored to set forth the advantages 
of an enterprise that was conceived to be practical, which 
would prove of immense profit to the city, especially the re- 
tail trade, and afford employment to a large number of men. 
Reference is made to the revival of the boat-building interests 
of New Albany. The former reputation of the ship-yards 
located here and the master builders who gave them direc- 
tions, was unsurpassed by that of any locality in the country. 
In a large degree the characterof the floating palaces, so many 
of which at one time plied the western and southern rivers, was 
due to the very excellent timber which was to be found north 
and west of the city, and which is known to possess qualities 
vastly superior to that used in localities farther up the Ohio. 
There are various reasons given by practical men for this 
superiority, which are unnecessary to rehearse, since the fact 
is indisputable. Nor is the timber alone worthy of attention. 
The well known reputation of our engine builders will not be 
forgotten by those who have a memory of the power which 
was obtained and the superior manner in which it was util- 
ized in the excellent construction of the great motors, which 
was applied in the propulsion of these crafts. 

In recurring to this subject again, it is hoped that we shall 
be able to present such facts before the public as will satisfy 
those interested, not only of the feasibility of the enterprise, 
but that shall convince them that other and most important 
facts, that the establishment of a well appointed boat-yard 
here will prove remunerative. To this end the following table 
has been prepared, giving the number of steamers built at 
this port, extending over a period of twenty years, including 
a portion of the years 1847 and 1867, with the tonnage and 
total cost; from which can be drawn some crude notion of 
the amount of money annually distributed among the peo- 
ple. Prior to the first year named, it is possible that a 
greater number of steamers had been constructed at this 
port, since the first steamer built here was something over 
thirty years before 1847. It is probable that some of these 
were not so costly as the latter steamers, as greater speed, 
luxury, and comfort have been the prominent objects in the 
construction of steamers of late years. Among those built 
prior to 1847, may be named such steamers as the Louisiana, 
Mississippi, Randolph, Homer, Orleans, Sultana, Diana, 
Shakspeare, Belle Sheridan, and dozens of others, some of 
which for speed, capacity, and durability, stand without 
rivals at the present day. The t#ble below gives the year in 
which the boats were built, the names assigned them, ton- 
nage, and cost. These facts have been gathered from the 



170 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



best data attainable at this time, and will be found suffi- 
ciently valuable for all practical purposes, having passed un- 
der the revision of experienced men. 

1847. 

NAME. -TONS. 

Luna No. 2 320 

Hecla 430 

Lowndes, Jr 350 

Olive 500 

Montgomery 585 

Conqueror 630 

General Lafayette 600 

Daniel Pratt 340 

C. E. Watkins 250 

Iroquois 580 



Monroe t 300 

Atlantic 400 

Clara 250 

Uncle Sam 650 

Kouma 275 

Tom Brown 275 

Forest Monarch 300 

Mohican 591 



Dove 300 

Captain Greenlow 420 

Nashville 710 

Belle Key 750 

Bunker Hill No. 3 550 

America 850 

Anna 200 

B.C. Oglesby 325 

Anna Simmington 230 

Mary Clifton 330 

Isabella 290 

Tribune 290 

Texas 130 

Oregon 610 

Empire 650 

1850. 

Cora No. 2 400 

Cherokee 500 

Swan 300 

Sarah Gordon 300 

Julia Dean 400 

Cuba 325 

Ophelia 250 

New Latona 530 

Bulletin 



43° 

Saxton 280 

Magnolia 895 

Martin Hoffman 310 

Brilliant 400 

18SI. 

Diving-Bell Boat 170 

Glendy Burke 620 

Fashion No. 2 500 

Fashion ' ' Mobile " 530 

Bell Gates » 300 

Bee 270 

J . M. Clendenin 310 



COST. 

$27,000 
36,000 
36,000 
45,000 
50,000 
30,000 
45,000 
32,000 
22,000 
40,000 



$28,000 
35,000 
25,000 
40,000 
25,000 
25,000 
28,000 
45,000 



$25,000 
35,000 
55,000 
60,000 
40,000 
65,000 
22,000 
30,000 
22,000 
35,000 
23,000 
23,000 
15,000 
40,000 
45,000 



$10,000 
45,000 
40,000 
30,000 
22,000 
18,000 
30,000 



NAME. TONS. 

Texas Ranger 260 

Ambassador, " Mobile" 438 

P. F. Kimball 430 

George Collins 320 

Black Diamond 275 

Francis Jones 210 

Reindeer 320 

l8 S 2. 

Lucy Robinson 300 

Eclipse "Extra" 1,288 

Volante 275 

Argyle 300 

E. Howard 537 

Octavia 270 

Belle Gould 280 

Sallie Carson 275 

Piota 300 

Sallie Sharon 310 

Cremona 290 

Magnolia "Mobile" 290 

Sam Dale 610 

H. R. W. Hill 956 

Opelousas 220 

Eliza Battle 500 

Tishomingo 275 

I853- 

Eastport 587 

A. L. Shotwell 1,050 

John M. Stockwell 300 

Robert J. Ward 800 

Sangamon 200 

Alida 200 

Lucy Bell 250 

Laurel Hill 550 

Sultana 300 

Lucy Robinson 300 

Huntsville No. 2 946 

Peter Tellon 800 

Antelope 700 

Four snag boats 18,000 

l8 54 . 

Eclipse 400 

S. F. J. Trabue 650 

Belle Sheridan 680 

T. S. Archer 500 

T. C. Twitchell 610 

Fannie Bullitt 550 

Judy Towns 300 

l8SS- 

W. N. Shipman 300 

R. W. Powell 450 

Rapides 600 

Niagara 700 

J . E. Woodruff. 270 

Republic 300 

Choctaw 768 

William Dickenson 270 

Scotland 300 

Kate Dale 300 

Pelican 220 



$22,000 
38,000 
35,000 
24,000 
25,000 
15,000 
35,000 



$25,000 
140,000 
22,000 
26,000 
40,000 
20,000 
27,000 
27,000 
25,000 
25,000 
23,000 
35. 000 
45,000 
65,000 
20,000 
35.000 
20,000 



|,000 

:,ooo 
>,ooo 
;,ooo 
;,ooo 
!,ooo 
i.odo 



$35,000 
45,000 
40,000 
38,000 
50,000 
3S.ooo 
25,000 



$25,000 
35.000 
40,000 
45,000 
20,000 
25,000 
45,000 
20,000 
25,000 
25,000 
18,000 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



171 



NAME. TONS. 
I8 5 6. 

James Montgomery. . . .' 650 

Governor Powell 400 

White Bluff 250 

Henry [ . King 350 

J. N. Eaton 300 

Saracen 280 

Cora Anderson 250 

H. D. Newcomb 056 

Chancellor 350 

John Warner 2S0 

Arkansas Traveler 130 

Legrande 250 

Bloomer 220 

Bell Memphis 400 

St. Charles 295 

St. Nicholas 295 

Prima Donna 295 

Alice Vivian 295 

John Briggs 250 

Baltic 737 

W. S. Ewing 400 

Boneta 200 

I857- 

Baltic, tow boat 600 

Alice Parrott 250 

C. W. Dorrance 350 

E. H. Fairchild 610 

New Uncle Sam 1, 100 

B. L. Hodge 400 

Vicksburg . . .'. 825 

Caddo Belle 300 

W. Burtor. 300 

Pacific 730 

1858. 

W. V. Gillam 300 

Submarine No. 11 75 

Submarine No. 12 75 

Bell Boat Southerner 30 

J . D. Perry 300 

B. J. Lockwood 350 

John Raine 700 

Piota 200 

Aline 200 

1859. 

Black Hawk 300 

Empire Parish 300 

Lizzie Simmons 700 

Magnolia 900 

Cherokee 400 

Arkadelphia City 200 

Jim Barkman 300 

Peytona 650 

General Quitman 900 

Sennie Kirk 200 

i860. 

W. S. Berry 400 

B. J . Adams 400 

James Battle 550 

L. C. Ferry 350 

W. M. Levy 250 

Mary Keene 765 



$45,000 
35,000 
18,000 
28,000 
2^,000 
22,000 
20,000 
50,000 
28,000 
22,000 
12,000 
18,000 
18.000 
35,000 
45,000 
45,000 
45,000 
45 .000 
32,000 
60,000 
35.COO 
15,000 

$40,000 
32,000 
40.000 
40,000 
85,000 
45,000 
70,000 
25,000 
25,000 
60,000 



$25,010 
10,000 
000 
000 
000 

OOG 
OOO 
OOO 
OOO 



$35,000 

40,000 

OOO 
OOO 

OOG 
OOO 



$45,000 

45' 00° 
50,000 
40,000 
30,000 
75,000 



NAME. TONS. COST. 

Acadia 200 $20,000 

Iberville 400 45,000 

Ben South, ferry 75 10,000 

Nina Simms. ., 250 30,000 

DeSoto 300 35,000 

T. W. Roberts 400 45,000 

Magenta 940 75,000 

1861. 

Louisville 300 $35,000 

1862. 

Glasgow 350 $40,000 

Des Arc 350 40 ,000 

1863. 

Gunboat Tuscumbia 800 $150,000 

Huntress 220 28,000 

1864. 

Woodford 600 $ 60,000 

Leviathan I1300 125,000 

Magenta 800 80,000 

Avenger 240 25,000 

Vindicator 200 25, 000 

Luna 200 25,000 

Burd Levi 220 28,000 

Cora S 220 37,000 

Huntsville 220 32,000 

1865. 

St. Charles 400 $50,000 

Montana 300 35,000 

St. Nicholas 400 50,000 

Lucretia 240 25,000 

Emma Brown 150 25,000 

Sarah 240 25 ,000 

Jennie Browne 150 25,000 

St. James 400 50,000 

1866. 

Will S. Hays 300 $25,000 

Mary Ament 150 25,000 

Frank Bates 450 55 ,ooo 

R. E. Lee 1,227 180,000 

Empire ■ 300 35,000 

1867. 
Legal Tender 450 $55, 000 

Total cost $7,347,000 

The above comprises a list of two hundred and four 
steamers built at this point during the twenty years, at a cost 
of $7,347,000. Nearly the whole of this vast sum was ex- 
pended in this city; and the profit upon the trade which it 
indicates went into the pockets of manufacturers, mechanics, 
merchants, and laborers. Now let us see who are the parties 
that have been benefited by the business. First in the list 
we note the ship-yards, of which, during a portion of the 
time, there were five, employing in the aggregate four hun- 
dred and fifty mechanics and laborers direct. The founders 
employing about two hundred skilled mechanics and their 
assistants; the cabin builders were another class of contrac- 
tors, who gave employment to a large number of workmen: 
the furniture men were also largely benefited and gave em- 
ployment to numerous mechanics and laborers; the tin and 
copper-smiths came in for a liberal share of the necessary 



172 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



work in completing an outfit for steamers; while the black- 
smiths, with numerous employes, cut a very considerable 
figure in the construction of these vessels. 

The Chandler's, etc., comprising the many smaller estab- 
lishments at which were obtained the various necessary 
articles for outfits, employed hundreds of men; and in the 
aggregate came into possession of large sums of the grand 
total expended. 

These are the parties most directly interested in this enter- 
prise, giving employment to from two thousand to two thou- 
sand five hundred able-bodied mechanics, artisans, and 
laborers. Upon the labor of these men depended from eight 
to ten thousand of the population for support — no inconsider- 
able city as to numbers. Besides, the building of such a 
large number of steamers at this point attracted numerous 
men who are engaged as officers and employes, so that it is 
safe to say that twelve thousand of our population in a large 
degree depended upon the business of steamboat building 
for support. As a matter of course, this large number of 
people collected together gave employment to merchants and 
mechanics, who were indirectly benefited by the trade which 
arose for the demand for the necessaries of life. It would be 
difficult to determine what were really the profits thus directly 
and indirectly gained by people of all classes in the city. 
But it was large, and those who remember the prosperous 
days of fifteen years ago, know that many of the mechanics 
had built themselves comfortable homes, and were in the en- 
joyment of more than the usual share of happiness. They 
will be remembered too, as among the most worthy and 
thrifty of our people. In this one branch of industry there 
has been a most marked change within the past ten years. 
The ship-yards have been idle, the foundries closed, the 
smith shops almost gone to wreck, and hundreds of idle men 
are wandering around the streets, while others have removed 
from our midst. 

While this marked decline in the ship-building interest 
here has been apparent, it is known that other localities, less 
favored, have been busy. There is a cause for this, which is 
patent to many of our people. Just prior to the war, the 
system of credit was very extensively practiced by the master 
builders, and the war caused the loss to these enterprising 
men of thousands of dollars, so crippling them that they 
were compelled to abandon the business. Had it been pos- 
sible that these men could have received temporary aid, they 
could have drifted over their calamities and continued their 
business. 

Now the need is a comparatively small amount of capital, 
at either a very low rate of interest, or, for that matter, with- 
out interest, to enable them to once more open their yards 
and manufactories, with an assurance that they would not be 
cramped in carrying out their contracts, which would enable 
them to invite owners of steamboat shares to give them a 
visit and invite competition for the construction of the large 
number of steamers which are annually set afloat on the 
western and southern rivers. 

A few years ago a feeble effort was made to organize a 
company here to renew the business of steamboat building, 
but the means were entirely inadequate, and nothing was ac- 
complished. If this locality is to be benefited by this prof- 
itable business a sufficient sum must be placed at the disposal 
of competent men to secure the necessary machinery for the 
building of sheds, the erection of ways, and for other modern 
appliances, to enable a company to enter in competition with 
builders at other points. How much will be required for this 
purpose can only be known to experienced men. Probably 
.rom $75,000 to $100,000 would be ample. Such a sum judi- 



ciously applied would prove more profitable to every business 
interest of the city than an equal amount in almost any branch 
of manufactures. The mechanics, the skill, the timber, and all 
other needed material is at hand, and what is now required 
is the necessary capital. 

There is not a business man in the city but is interested 
in this matter. Every owner of real estate, every landlord, 
and in fact all classes have an interest in building up manu- 
factories in this city, which will attract population and wealth, 
and none of these manufactories are of more importance - 
than that of steamboat building. Within a short time 
Messrs. Hill & Co. have opened a yard at this point, and 
have made one contract. This yard will be supplied with all 
the necessary machinery to enable it to compete with the 
most favored yards in the country. We understand that it is 
the design of the proprietors to connect a ship-joiner's estab- 
lishment with the yard, unless some one of our master build- 
ers shall undertake it. Messrs. Hill & Co. are accomplished 
master builders, and have had large experience, and it is 
hoped they will meet with that degree of encouragement and 
success to which they are entitled. 

It will be seen from the' above table that ship- 
building at New Albany advanced steadily until 
1856, at which time it reached its zenith, and 
from which time it began steadily to decline. In 
that year (1856) twenty-two boats were built, and 
the business kept up fairly until the war came 
and nearly put an end to it. After the war had 
progressed two or three years, there was much 
demand for steamboats by the Government and 
from other sources, and plenty of money to carry 
on business of all kinds, and the ship-building 
revived in 1864, promising to become as great 
as ever; but the collapse of the rebellion caused 
a collapse in the ship-building at New Albany, 
and it has never revived. The expected revival 
of the business, according to the above commu- 
nication, upon the advent of Hill & Co. in 1867, 
did not occur, and few if any steamboats have 
been built since 1867. Messrs. Murray & Co. 
are the present ship builders of New Albany, but 
they are principally engaged in building flat- 
boats and barges for the transportation of coal 
and other heavy freight. These boats are towed 
by steamers, and carry immense loads. 

The steamboat business north of Mason and 
Dixon's line has greatly decreased in the last 
score ot years, owing in great part to the nu- 
merous railroads, and the consequent cutting of 
freight rates; and also to the more rapid transit, 
and the growing desire of the people to save 
time, do business rapidly, and get through the 
world as rapidly as possible. Steamboats are too 
slow for the age. Men can so utilize their time 
now that it becomes of more value than cheap 
transportation. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



173 



CHAPTER VIII. 

EDUCATION IN NEW ALBANY. 
THE EARLY SCHOOLS. 

The proprietors of New Albany, coming as 
. they did from a land of schools and churches, 
where the moral and secular education of the 
young was considered a matter of primary im- 
portance, endeavored from the first to implant 
this idea in the wilderness, and immediately set 
about laying a solid foundation upon which to 
build the educational institutions of the infant 
city. The seed thus early sown and carefully- 
nurtured has grown and flourished, until the 
schools in New Albany have been pushed to the 
front rank of the schools of the State. 

The first school-house was erected by the 
Scribners, and was a large square cabin standing 
on one of the public squares of the city. The 
site of this building is on State street, opposite 
the court-house, the large brick building belong- 
ing to John Briggs and John Mann now occupy- 
ing the lot. The old school-house is yet in ex- 
istence, and should be preserved. It stands on 
the corner of Lower First and Spring streets, be- 
ing used as a blacksmith shop. John Aston re- 
members this building, and says Stephen Beers 
taught school here in 181 7. School-houses were 
not generally constructed on the lots donated by 
the Scribners, but the lots were sold from time 
to time for the benefit of the schools. In 1820 
a log school-house stood out on the commons 
north of the village, in the neighborhood of 
Trublood's old mill. It was in use many years, 
but caught fire and butned to the ground while 
the school was in progress. About this date a 
man named Corcelius was teaching a "select" 
school in the village, in the upper part of James 
Anderson's dwelling, located on the northeast 
corner of Pearl and Main streets. Corcelius after- 
ward became a doctor, and moved away from the 
village. These were the first schools of which 
anything is known at present. The first school- 
house was used for religious meetings and public 
gatherings of every kind. 

As a brief history of the schools is given in 
a communication which follows, it is only neces- 
sary he'e to state that they grew and developed 
as rapidly as schools everywhere in the new 
country, and perhaps, owing to peculiar advan- 
tages, more rapidly than in most other places. 



From a map of the county published in 1854, it 
is ascertained that there were at that date in the 
city, one high school, six primary schools, 
twenty-eight teachers, and three thousand one 
hundred and two children enrolled. The value 
of public school property was $55,000. In ad- 
dition to the public schools and the Scribner 
high school, there was Ayers' university, then in 
a flourishing condition, and three colleges, to- 
wit : the Asbury Female college, Anderson's 
Female college, and the New Albany Theologi- 
cal seminary. 

The Directory of 1868 speaks as follows re- 
garding the schools of that date : 

There are eight schools including the Scribner high school 
The cost of school buildings is seventy thousand dollars ; five 
thousand five hundred and fifty-five scholars are enrolled, 
and there are thirty-five teachers. The schools are graded, 
and all classes are taught, the pupil beginning at the A, B, 
C, passing through many classes and departments, and final- 
ly graduating in the high school, after which he is prepared 
to enter the freshman class of any college. In addition to the 
public schools of the city there are twelve private schools, 
some of them, notably Townsley's academy and Morse's 
academy, equal to any private schools in the State. The 
St. Mary's (Catholic) high school building is the finest in the 
city except DePauw college, it being fifty by seventy feet, 
and five stories in height. It cost twenty thousand dollars. 
Here pupils are given a thorough scientific course. The 
higher branches are also taught in many of the private schools 
of the city. 

This Catholic school is more especially men- 
tioned in the history of the Catholic church, in 
another chapter of this work. 

AN OFFICIAL HISTORY. 

In 1879 H. B. Jacobs, then and now superin- 
tendent of the schools of New Albany, furnished 
the following at the request of the State superin- 
tendent of public instruction : 

It is evident that the founders of New Albany were 
thoroughly imbued with the idea that the happiness and per- 
manent prosperity of a community depend largely upon the 
intelligence of its people, and that the education of youth 
was an object of the highest importance, for very early in the 
history of the town steps were taken to raise funds for edu- 
cational purposes. The town was laid out by Joel, Abner, 
and Nathaniel Scribner, who purchased the original plat, 
comprising an area of eight hundred and twenty-six acres, of 
John Paul. Lots were sold by the Scribner brothers at pub- 
lic auction November, 1813. In the advertisement of the 
sale there was a stipulation that " one-fourth part of each 
payment upon the lots sold should be paid into the hands of 
trustees, to be chosen by the purchasers, until such payments 
shall amount to five thousand dollars, the interest upon 
which to be applied to the use of schools in the town, for the 
use of its inhabitants forever." 

Upon a petition of the citizens of the town the Legislature 
passed an act entitled, "An act incorporating the New 



174 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Albany school,'' which was approved January 8, 1821. By 
this act Seth Woodruff, John Eastborn, Charles Woodruff, 
Samuel Miller, and Samuel Marsh were incorporated a body 
politic and corporate by the name and style of the "Presi 
dent and Managers of the New Albany school." They were 
appointed to serve until the first Monday of the following 
May, at which time and annually thereafter the citizens of 
the town were to meet at the place where the school was 
kept and elect five trustees, who were householders and resi- 
dents in the town." The provisions of the act referred to, 
with several supplements to it, were strictly observed by the 
different boards of trustees that were successively elected 
during a long series of years. Proper steps were soon taken 
to organize a school, employ a competent teacher and in 
every way carry out the design of the founders of the town. 

The first school was opened in the fall of 1823, with John 
A. Spaulding as teacher. It was continued in successful 
operation, without much change in the plan at first adopted, 
until 1838, when an assistant teacher was employed, ^nd 
separate departments for the male and female pupils or- 
ganized. 

With a part of the accumulation of the interest on the 
money donated by the Scribner brothers as a sinking fund 
for the use of the schools, the Scribner high school, a neat 
two-story brick building on the corner of Lower First and 
Spring streets, now known as the Boys' high school of New 
Albany, was built during the summer of 1849. 

It will be seen by this brief account that the early settlers 
of New Albany, even while it was yet a very small forest 
town, nestling on the banks of the majestic river that flows past 
a now prosperous city, manifested a deep interest in the edu- 
cation of the youth within her borders. 

The first school established grew in importance and effi- 
ciency until 1853, and, together with the district schools or- 
ganized under the old district or local school law, furnished 
school accommodations for all the children of school age in 
the town. 

From the time of the passage of the district school law, to 
which we have just referred, until 1853, the schools of the 
city were controlled by three separate boards of trustees. 
The one had control ofthe Scribner school fund, and the city 
schools, and the other two bodies, acting under the district 
law, had control, in separate districts, of what are now called 
common schools. The latter bodies organized a number of 
ungraded schools in different parts of the city, and erected 
several brick buildings, one of the most substantial of which 
is the Main Street school-house, which was built under the 
supervision of Hon. John B. Winstandley, who was one of 
the trustees when it was erected. 

In February, 1853, the city assumed control of the district 
or common schools within her borders. During the summer 
of the same year the president and managers of -the New Al- 
bany public schools passed a preamble, setting forth that they 
believed that the intention of the original donors of the 
Scribner fund can be carried out as well under the present 
law and organization of the common schools of the city as 
under their management, and upon the passage of an appro- 
priate resolution, all funds, property, books, notes, etc., in 
their possession were transferred and assigned to the city of 
New Albany for the use of the common schools, since which 
time all public schools of New Albany have remained as one 
corporate body, and have been under control of one manage- 
ment. 

The board of trustees, or superintendents as they were 
then called, under whom the schools were consolidated, were 
Judge T. L. Smith, Charles Van Dusen, Dr. P. S. Shields, 



V. A. Pepin, and James Collins. They soon began to make 
arrangements for grading all schools under their control, in- 
cluding the necessary arrangements for establishing a central 
high school, and on the first Monday of September, 1853, a 
complete system of graded schools was organized. The 
high school, however, was not opened until the first Monday 
of the following October. The first teachers of the New Al- 
bany High school were George H. Harrison, principal, and 
Miss Eunice Elderkin, assistant. The schools thus organized 
were continued in session till July, 1854, a period of ten 
months; and although numerous difficulties, consequent 
upon inaugurating a new system, were encountered, the re- 
sults of the year were entirely satisfactory, and the success of 
the system was apparent. There were twenty-eight teachers 
employed — six males and twenty-two females ; the number 
of pupils enrolled was 1,570, with an average attendance of 
970. 

During the summer of 1854 better and more extensive ac- 
commodations were provided for the schools. A new three- 
story brick building was erected, and two smaller buildings 
rented, and on the eighteenth day of September all the schools 
ofthe city were again opened. But in the fall of the same 
year the supreme court of the State declared the one 
hundred and thirtieth section of the law entitled, "An act to 
provide for a general and uniform system of common 
school," unconstitutional. By this decision the taxes levied 
for the support of the schools could not be collected, and the 
superintendents found that the money in their possession was 
sufficient to pay the expenses of the school foronlyhalf the year. 
They petitioned the common council for aid, but without 
success, and Friday evening, February 2, 1855, the schools 
were closed until the law was so amended as to enable the 
superintendents to reopen them. 

It will be observed that the graded schools of New Albany 
were commenced under very favorable auspices, but owing to 
the decision of the supreme court referred to, and a subse- 
quent decision declaring the first section of the act of 1855, 
entitled an Act to authorize the establishment of free public 
schools in the incoiporate cities and towns of the State, un- 
constitutional, they were kept in an unfinished condition for 
a long time and could not be made efficient for the want of 
funds. The trustees (the school officers were called trustees 
after May, 1865,) had no power to levy and called a local tax 
for tuition purposes, and hence the length of the term each 
year depended entirely upon the amount of funds received 
from the State department. The schools were opened at ir- 
regular times, and when the money in the treasury was ex- 
hausted they were closed sans ceremonie. 

August 16, 1855, Charles Barnes, of Madison, Indiana, was 
elected to the double office of principal of the high school 
and superintendent of all the schools of the city, at a salary 
of $1,000 per annum from and after the time his services were 
required. He did not enter upon his duties until the open- 
ing ofthe schools January 1, 1856. Mr. Barnes was re-elect- 
ed in July, 1856, and was connected with the schools unti 
May, 1857. July 2, 1867, Professor James G. May, a teacher 
of experience and scholarly attainments, was elected to suc- 
ceed Mr. Barnes. Professor May he'ld this position over two 
years. The schools were opened September 5, 1857, but 
were closed January 29, 1858, immediately upon receiving 
the second decision of the supreme court mentioned above, 
and the rooms were rented to the teachers in which to open 
private schools. 

In the spring of 1862 a number of the school buildings ot 
the city were leased to the United States for hospitals for 
sick soldiers by John R. Nunamacher, Esq., president of the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



i75 



board of trustees, through Captain W^ Jenks, assistant quar- 
termaster of the United States army. The Government oc- 
cupied the buildings for a little more than a year, when, upon 
the request of the trustees, they were vacated and turned over 
to the school officers. They were thoroughly cleansed and 
refitted, and on the first Monday of September, 1R64, the 
schools, which had been closed for over three years, from ]une, 
1861, to September, 1864, were again reorganized; and as 
the law in the meantime had been amended so that the trus- 
tees were enabled to obtain more funds for tuition purposes, 
they have been continued regularly in session a full term each 
year ever since. 

• At a meeting of the trustees held July 30, 1864, Professor 
George P. Brown was elected to fill the position formerly 
held by Mr. Barnes, and at a subsequent period by Professor 
May. Miss Ada Farrington was elected assistant teacher of 
the high school. The duties of the double office held by Mr. 
Brown becoming too great for one individual to perform with 
credit to himself or justice to the schools, in January, 1865, 
the trustees elected Virgil P. Hall assistant principal of the 
high school. By the election of Mr. Hall, Professor Brown 
was enabled to devote all his time to the general supervision 
of the schools. Aptil 17, 1865, Mr. Brown tendered his 
resignation as superintendent of the New Albany schools to 
the board of trustees, which they accepted, and from that 
date until 1873 the schools of the city were conducted without 
a general superintendent. 

The public schools made slow progress for a number of 
years after they were reorganized, and although they kept 
open ten months each year, they were not as efficient as they 
might have been. During the period of three years — from 
1861 to 1864 — that they were closed, a number of private 
schools were organized and were in a flourishing condition 
long after the public schools were reopened. They were 
patronized by many of our best and wealthiest citizens, so 
that in 1868 there were only two more teachers employed, 
and only about three hundred more pupils enrolled in the 
schools than in 1854, yet there were double the number of 
children of school age in the city; and as late as 1870 only 
twenty-eight per cent, of the school children attended the 
public schools. 

In the fall of 1870 the male and female pupils of the high 
school were separated, and the female high school organized 
in another building, which had been especially fitted up for 
that purpose with J. M. Bloss as principal and Miss Maggie 
Hamilton and Miss Fannie Fawcett assistant teachers. Mr. 
W. W. May was elected principal of the boys' h'gh school, 
and Miss C. C. Warren assistant. About this period new 
life was infused into the schools and they have gradually im- 
proved ever since. Each succeeding year has added to their 
efficiency and popularity, and to-day all classes of our citi- 
zens send their children to the public schools. All the pri- 
vate schools, except the parochial (Catholic) schools, have 
been closed; and consequently the attendance at the public 
schools has greatly increased. As to thoroughness and uni- 
formity of instruction, methods of discipline and economical 
management we will let others speak. There are in the city 
thirteen school buildings — ten brick and three frame. They 
furnish accommodations for fully thirty-three hundred pupils. 
Three of the buildings mentioned are used for the colored 
schools of the city- The number of pupils enrolled in the 
schools this year is about thirty-one hundred. There are 
fifty-six teachers employed, to wit: One music teacher, six 
in the high school, and forty-nine in the grammar, interme- 
diate, and primary departments. Since the establishment of 
separate high schools for male and female pupils eight classes 



have graduated at each school. The total number of female 
graduates is one hundred and forty-three. The number of 
male graduates is forty-nine. 

The people of New Albany point with just pride to the 
graduates of their high schools. Three of the male gradu- 
ates have gone to the United States Military academy at 
West Point, where they have taken honorable positions in 
the classes; while a large number have either entered one of 
the professions, or are filling responsible positions in banking 
or other business houses. Of the female graduates twenty- 
eight are now teaching in the schools of the city, and others 
are teaching elsewhere, while not a few are at the heads of 
interesting and happy little families. Dr. J. B. Reynolds is 
principal of the boys' high school, and Dr. George P. Weaver 
of the female high school. 

The system of graded public schools now in successful op- 
eration in New Albany is complete and thorough in every 
particular. These schools afford the poor and rich alike su- 
perior advantages for giving their children an excellent prac- 
tical education, and no man who lives in the city can have the 
least excuse for permitting his sons and daughters to grow up 
in ignorance. 

In the history of these schools some of the most intelligent 
and influential men of the city have filled the position of 
trustee. In June, 1873, the trustees elected H. B. Jacobs 
(the present incumbent) superintendent. 

In closing this brief history we wish to state that during 
an experience of nearly eighteen years in school work, we 
have never labored with school officers who discharged their 
duties more conscientiously than those with whom we have 
been associated during the last six years, viz: Colonel W_ 
W. Tuley, Colonel W. P. Davis, E. S. Winstandley, and 
Charles H. Fawcett. 

Mr. Jacobs is yet (1881) superintendent of the 
schools of New Albany, and no important 
changes have occurred since the above statement 
was made. The number of teachers in the 
schools is now fifty-four, a reduction of two in 
the high school having been made. 

Following is a list of the trustees of the New 
Albany public schools from the time it was in- 
corporated as a city until the present: 

SCHOOL TRUSTEES. 

Ashel Clapp 1839-40 

Ashbel Steele 1839-40 

William Plumer 1839-42, 1844-51 

William M. Wier 1839-40, 1853-55 

Obadiah Childs I ^39-43 

Abram Case 1841-42, 1843-52 

Seth Woodruff. ■ 1841-44 

Israel C. Crane 1841-42 

Elias Thomason 1842-44 

R. R. Hickman 1842-43 

Noah H. Cobb » 1843-52 

David Crane 1843-48 

Henry M. Doroling 1844-51 

Peter A. Roan 1846-47 

Salem P. Town 1846-47 

John Brunner 1848-51 

William A. Scribner 1851-52 

Michael Streepy 1851-52 

P. S. Shields 1852-53, 1855-57 



i 7 6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



T. L. Smith 1852-53 

Charles VanDusen 1852-53 

V. A. Pepin 1852-53 

James Collins 1852-53 

Jesse J . Brown 1853-55 

R. R. Town 1853-55 

George V. Howk 1853-54 

Thomas Humphrey 1853-54 

Hiram Wilson 1853-54, 1857-58 

Horace B. Wilson 1854-55 

Peter R. Stoy 1854-63 

John D. Rodgers 1855-58 

Charles Wible 1855-61 

Thomas R. Austin 1855-61 

John Loughmiller 185S-57 

William Jones' ! 1855-59 

William C. Conner 1855-60 

John R. Nunemacher 1855-63 

Thomas Rucker 1855-56 

I. P. Smith 1856-58 

E. Sabin 1857-58 

John Q. A. Smith 1857-65 

John Culbertson 1858-59 

John B. Ford 1858-59 

William A. Tabler 1858-61 

James A. Doll 1858-59 

Joseph St. John 1858-62 

James Johnson 1859-65 

George W. Laping 1859-61 

P. M. Wilcox 1859-61 

Augustus Bradley 1859-60 

James G. Marshal 1860-61 

Daniel Snively 1860-61 

D. W. Lafollette 1861-68 

William Cooper 1862-65 

E. Benjamen 1863-65 

Wesley Pierce 1863-65 

Elijah N'ewland 1365-72 

James V. Kelso 1865-68 

George Lyman 1868-72 

W. P. Swift 1868-73 

W. W. Tuley 1872-79 

I. S. Winstandley 1872-79 

M. A. Wier 1873-74 

W. P. Davis 1874-78 

Charles H. Fawcett 1878-81 

M. McDonald 1879-82 

G. E. Sackett is the present secretary of the school board. 

MR. COTTOM'S ACCOUNT. 

In 1873 Mr. Cottom wrote as follows regard- 
ing the schools : 

There are in the city ten elegant and very large brick 
school buildings, and one frame school building. The value 
of these buildings is about $150,000, and they furnish ac- 
commodations for fully three thousand pupils. Eight of the 
buildings are used for the primary, intermediate, and gram- 
mar schools, and one as a male high school, and one as a 
female high school. The system of grading is a most perfect 
one, and works admirably and efficiently. Tuition is abso- 
lutely free in all departments; and the pupils who pass all 
the grades and graduate through the high school receive a 
thorough English and scientific education, and are compe- 
tent for any department of business, or for any of the pro- 
fessions. The city has erected a first-class brick edifice as a 



school-house for the colored inhabitants of the city, who have 
the same rights to admission in their own schools as the 
whites have into theirs — the same law governing both. 
Forty-five white and two colored teachers are employed in 
these public schools, while the average attendai.ce of pupils 
is about two thousand three hundred. The annual cost of 
the schools is not far from $30,000, and the total number of 
school children in the city entitled to the privileges of the 
schools is seven thousand one hundred and thirty. The 
schools are managed by a board of three school trustees, 
elected by the city council, which secures to them perma- 
nency, and the best educators in the way of teachers. 
AS THEY ARE NOW. 

The following list shows the present number 
and character of the schools, and location of the 
school-houses : 

Male high school — situated on Lower First 
street, southwest corner of Spring. J. B. Rey- 
nolds, principal; S. A. Chambers, assistant. 

Female high school — situated on Spring 
street, northeast corner of Bank. Dr. George 
Weaver, principal ; Mrs. Maggie Shrader, first 
assistant ; Miss Fannie Fauoett, second assistant. 

Upper Spring street school — situated on North 
side of Spring street, between Upper Fifteenth 
and Vincennes. William Rady, principal. 

Independent German-American school — sit- 
uated on Market street, between Upper Eighth 
and Ninth. J. B. James, principal. 

Upper Main street school — situated on Main 
street, between Upper Seventh and Ninth. John 
R. Weathers, principal. 

Upper Fourth street school — situated on Up- 
per Fourth street, between Spring and Elm. 
John T. Smith, principal. 

Upper Eleventh street (colored) school — sit- 
uated on Market, southwest corner of Upper 
Eleventh. William J. Scott, principal. 

Lower Second street (colored) school — situat- 
ed on Lower Second, southwest corner of Elm. 

Lower Market street school — situated on Mar- 
ket street, between Lower Fifth and Sixth. Miss 
Sue E. Hooper, principal. 

Lower Spring street school — situated on Spring 
street, between Lower Fifth and Sixth. Jacob 
B. Starr, principal. 

Lower Albany school — situated on the west 
side of Jackson street, between Second and Third. 
E. T. Leach, principal. 

West Union school — situated on Jackson 
street, west of Hildreth. William S. McClure, 
principal. 

West Union (colored) school — situated on 
Pearl street near Union. J. B. Jones, principal. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



177 



In the last report of the State superintendent 
of public instruction, much valuable statistical 
matter is found regarding the schools of the 
State and the different counties. From this it is 
ascertained that the number of children enrolled 
in Floyd county in 1878 was 9,116, an increase 
of 629 in the county in the last ten years. There 
are in the county 148 square miles: the number 
of children to the square mile on an average be- 
ing 61. That but little more than fifty-four per 
cent, of the children of the county is enrolled 
in the public schools seems a somewhat startling 
statement, and shows that there is much room 
for improvement in the school laws. Out of 
the 9,116 children in the county the number who 
did not attend school in 1878, was 4,107. This 
state of affairs cannot but lead to more stringent 
laws, and probably to compulsory education. On 
this subject the report contains the following: 

It is not enough that the State makes by its laws a system 
of schools possible. The system must be a compulsory sys- 
tem. The State should compel the location, establishment, 
and maintenance of a sufficient number of schools for the 
education of all its children. 

If it were left to each locality to establish schools or not 
at its will, the system would in no sense become a general 
system. A permissive system would soon beconie no system 
at all. 

There were 689 colored children in the 
county, of whom less than fifty per cent. (325) 
were enrolled in the public schools. The enum- 
eration of children in the city of New Albany in 
1878 was 6,342. The length of the school year 
was 127 days. The number of teachers in Floyd 
county was 91. Throughout the State the aver- 
age pay of teachers in the city was $3.17, and 
the average pay of teachers in the country $1.80 
per day; this average of country teachers was ex- 
ceeded in this county, it being $2.10. The 
amount of Congressional school fund, arising 
from the sale of every sixteenth section, was 
$14,753-50, or $1.62 per capita. 

SELECT SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES. 

Many schools of this character have been es- 
tablished from time to time in New Albany, but 
most of them, after a brief career, have either 
been compelled to close for want of proper sup- 
port, or have been merged into the public 
schools. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH SEMINARY. 

The Methodist Episcopal church started a 
seminary here about 1835, with the expectation 



of making it a permanent establishment for the 
education of young people in their religious 
faith, as well as in secular matters. A frame 
building was erected on Market street, on the 
corner of the alley below. State, west side. The 
school was placed in charge of George H. Har- 
rison, from Ohio, and was continued with varying 
success for something less than ten years. The 
building has long since disappeared from this 
site, having been moved to Spring street, above 
Thirteenth, where it is now occupied as a tene- 
ment house. 

Anderson's female college. 

This was an important educational institution 
in its day, but long since disappeared. It was a 
private school started by John B. Anderson about 
the time the above mentioned seminary went out 
of existence. A commodious brick had been 
erected fronting the park for a private dwelling; 
Anderson purchased it, and, building an addi- 
tion, opened at first a school for girls, but after a 
few years the building was enlarged and a depart- 
ment for young men added. The noted Confed- 
erate general, John Morgan, was one of his pupils 
at one time. The school was continued until about 
1854, when Mr. Anderson went into the printing 
business and gave up teaching. The school was 
closed, and buildings converted into a board- 
ing house, in which condition they are found at 
present. 

Soon after the closing of Anderson's college 
Rev. Mr. Woods started a select school on the 
corner of Lower Fifth and Market streets. He 
erected here a brick building for this purpose, 
and continued the school three or four years. 

AYERS' UNIVERSITY. 

The New Albany Theological seminary, or 
Ayers' university as it was generally called, was 
started with the most flattering promises of fut- 
ure success about 1847. Elias Ayers was the 
founder, and gave $15,000 as an endowment 
to the institution. This gentleman was a great 
friend of the cause of education, making a 
donation of a large sum to Hanover college, lo- 
cated in Jefferson county, in this State. Build- 
ings for the purpose were erected on the corner 
of Seventh and Elm streets. The institution 
was intended for the education of ministers of 
the Presbyterian church, and was conducted 
here several [years,' [but for some reason was 



i 7 8 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



moved to Chicago about 1854-55. Rev. Dr. 
McMasters was president, and Rev. James 
Woods and Dr. Scoville were professors. 

Two years after the removal of the school to 
Chicago a Mr. Hines occupied the buildings with 
a select school, but for many years the buildings 
have not been used for school purposes. They 
are now occupied as private dwellings, and for 
an undertaking establishment. 

DE PAUVV COLLEGE FOR YOUNG WOMEN. 

This is a living and live institution of to-day, 
though it has had its ups and downs in life, and 
has only survived by being more fortunate than 
its contemporaries above named in finding stead- 
fast and powerful friends to assist in time of 
trouble. The institution is the property of the 
Indiana conference of the Methodist Episcopal 
church, and occupies a pleasant and command- 
ing situation in the most beautiful part of the 
city, being on Main street at the corner of Ninth. 
The building, or a portion of it, was erected in 1852 
for a young ladies' boarding-school, under the 
name of the Indiana Asbury Female college. 
The institution struggled along for fourteen years 
under many discouragements, its principal 
trouble being a debt and mortgage that hung 
over it and continually threatened its existence. 
During that time five different presidents had 
charge of it at different periods, but the accumu- 
lation of debt retarded its progress, prevented its 
success, and finally resulted, in 1866, in the 
transfer of the property to other owners. 

In the above-named year the Methodists de- 
termined to celebrate the anniversary of Ameri- 
can Methodism by a repurchase of their college, 
and, through the liberality of the citizens of New 
Albany, and especially by the munificence of 
Hon. W. C. DePauw, the object was realized 
and the college presented, free from debt, to the 
Indiana conference, and accepted by that body. 
Rev. Erastus Rowley, D. D., a graduate of Union 
college, New York, was elected president, and 
the college reopened in September, 1866. 

Under the stimulus of the good times succeed- 
ing the war, the college began a prosperous 
career. As the number of students increased, 
additional room was much needed, and again 
Mr. DePauw came to the rescue, erecting, at 
the expense of $10,000, a large, handsome, and 
commodious wing to the building, and the name 



of the institution was changed to DePauw Col- 
lege for Young Ladies. The name has been 
since slightly changed, as will be seen above. 
Since that time Mr. DePauw, by the donation of 
a well-selected and valuable library and other 
gifts, has added much to its success and useful- 
ness. At the present time the college is free from 
debt, and its friends are sanguine of its future 
success. About two years ago the building was 
partially destroyed by fire; but being refitted it is 
more commodious and attractive than before. 

The building is of brick, three stories in height, 
with main building in center and two wings, its 
capacity being sufficient to accommodate seventy 
students with room and board, and as many 
more day pupils. During the first ten years of 
its existence, forty-eight young ladies graduated 
at the institution, and since it changed to 
DePauw college, seventy-three young ladies have 
been enrolled on its graduating list. 

At present it is in charge of Mr. F. A. Fried- 
ley, a graduate of Asbury University of Green- 
castle, Indiana, who is now in his second year. 
Revl W. R. Halstead had charge for one year 
prior to Mr. Friedley becoming principal. Last 
year there were sixty-eight students; this year 
about ninety, with eight teachers. There are 
five school-rooms and two recitation-rooms in 
the building. The rooms for boarding pupils 
and teachers are all carpeted and comfortably 
furnished. 

This is probably, with one exception, the only 
strictly Protestant female college in the State. 
It is the purpose of its trustees to make this an 
institution that shall embrace every advantage of 
Roman Catholic schools in discipline, and at the 
same time impart a thorough and substantial 
education. The very best teachers are employed 
to give instruction on the piano, organ, guitar, 
and in vocalization, through whom this has be- 
came one of the most popular departments of 
the institution. The government is of a mild 
and parental character, equally removed from 
weakness and austerity. Pupils boarding in the 
institution are treated as members of the family 
of the president, and submit to such wise regula- 
tions as will, in his judgment, most promote 
their interest and that of the college. The 
domestic and social life of the College is com- 
mitted to the responsible direction of the resident 
lady teachers, under the supervision of the presi- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



!79 



dent. The president resides in the college 
building, and with his family presides at the same 
table with the pupils. 

The following-named gentlemen are the pres- 
ent officers of the institution : VV. C. DePauw, 
president; A. Dowling, secretary; P. R. Stoy, 
treasurer; W. C. DePauw, P. R. Stoy, Rev. G. 

D. Watson, Rev. J. L. Pitner, S. J. Alexander, 
M.D., J. H. Conner, Asa Iglehart, W. H. Sul- 
livan, J. H. Forman, M. A. Wier, J. G. Harrison, 

E. R. Day, F. E. Dishman, Rev. I. N. Thomp- 
son, J. A. Wood, M. Wood, A. Dowling, board 
of trustees. 



CHAPTER IX. 

THE PRESS OF NEW ALBANY. 
, THE FIRST PAPER. 

The history of the press of New Albany, as 
of probably every other city, shows a continued 
succession of failures. It would seem that the 
business of printing, especially newspaper print- 
ing, were one of the most precarious in which 
men could engage. It is difficult, perhaps im- 
possible at present, to enumerate all the news- 
papers that have been started in New Albany 
since it was laid out in the woods in 1813. 
Nearly all, however, of importance, have left 
some record behind, enough to establish the 
most prominent fact — that of repeated failure be- 
fore final success was assured. 

So far as can now be ascertained, Ebenezer 
Patrick was the pioneer publisher; but the name 
of his paper has been lost. It has been repeat- 
edly stated, both orally and in print, that the 
Microscope was the first journal published here; 
but this has been ascertained to be a mistake. 
The first number of the Microscope, at this time 
in possession of a lady of New Albany, bears 
the date of April 17, 1824. It was then printed 
at Louisville, and was subsequently brought to 
this place. Mr. David Hedden, yet living, says 
he came to New Albany in 1820, and Ebenezer 
Patrick was then publishing a paper, his office 
being in the upper part of a two-story double 
log cabin that stood on the corner of Bank and 



Main street, where the stone bank now stands. 
He does not remember the name of the paper, 
but says it had only been published a few 
months when he came, and did not last long — 
perhaps a year or two. John Anderson was a 
compositor in the office. The lower part of this 
cabin was occupied as a saloon, and kept by a 
man named Abbot. Patrick's paper failed prob- 
ably for want of patronage, as the settlements 
were few and far apart at that early period, and 
New Albany was a mere hamlet of log cabins, 
surrounded by dense woods. Patrick was an 
erratic sort of a fellow; he never remained long 
in one place or at one business. It is under- 
stood that after leaving New Albany he went up 
to Salem and tried to establish a paper there 
called the Tocsin. He was unsuccessful, how- 
ever; after a few years' trial became a Methodist 
preacher, and drifted around considerable until 
about 1850, when he committed suicide in Tip- 
pecanoe county by cutting his throat. He had 
a son who went to Kansas, and was somewhat 
prominent there during the political troubles be- 
fore the war. His son was a Free Soiler. 

It is not unlikely, however, that the Micro- 
scope was the second paper published in New 
Albany, and it has something of a history. The 
initial volume, containing the first year's issue, is 
now in the hands of Mrs. Waring, of this city. 
It was a sensational sheet, and being driven out 
of Louisville by a mob, sought refuge in New 
Albany. It was a small six-by-ten-inch paper, 
publised weekly, by T. H. Roberts, alias "Tim 
Tickler, Jr." According to the first number, 
dated, as before mentioned, April 17, 1824, it 
appears to have been published by "Johnston & 
Roberts, No. 12 Van Buskerk's row, Third Cross- 
street, Louisville." That the reader may under- 
stand somewhat of the character of the paper, 
which must be considered one of the pioneer 
papers of New Albany, the opening address of 
the editor is here given verbatim, as follows : 

" To the Public, our Friends and Patrons.' 

ADDRESS— Ladies & Gentlemen— Belles & Beaux— Old 
& young — Rich & Poor — Wise & Simple — Be on your beauti- 
ful guard ! — * * * * — . Here I come 
like the point of a Coulter-plough to tear up, root and 
branch, Immoral Customs — False principles and Evil habits 
— Like so many old rotten roots which have prevented the 
growth and vegetation of their opposite virtues, in the field 
of Science, of Religion, and Literary Knowledge — See what 
rapid strides I make, from Maine to Georgia, and from the 
Atlantic to the Rocky Mountains — I level hills and fill up val- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



lies! thus making all a beautiful plain, where the sweet Ivy 
may twine round and bloom with the Honey-suckle — the 
Rose shed its fragrance and be forever renewed by the life 
and mildness of eternal Spring; unsullied by the pestifer- 
ous breath of Courtezans, or the exhalations of pestilential 
Brothels. 

To be serious gentle reader, I wish you to understand, that 
I have just furnished myself with a complete set of Optic 
glasses, together with the necessary Mirrors and Reflectors to 
suit every state of human life, from the school-boy to the 
1 Slipper d pantaloon,' by the aid of which I can condense 
space, and compress distance, so as to become familiar with 
the transactions of men, however remote or concealed. The 
proud statesman and cunning office-hunter may smile sarcas- 
tically, but 1 can assure them that I have a Concavo-convex, 
that will expose their vile machinations to the world. 

The enemies of the Union of the American States, shall 
have their due : I have a high polished Convex glass to suit 
them. 

Traitors and political vagabonds of every kind shall be 
duly looked after, and a regular account given of them, 
through a highly polished Concave glass, invented for the 
purpose by Tom Seestraight of Georgia memory 
1776. 

Libertines, B\a.ck-Legs and Corner-Loungers are informed 
that I have a set of Concave glasses purchased expressly to 
suit them. 

One concave glass of curious workmenship, for the pur- 
pose of examining the inside of Magistrate's offices. 

One large high-polished Concave»glass with a double Re- ' 
flector, for inspecting Miscellaneous subjects — such as the 
practice of some ill-bred men have of staring at modest 
women — peeping under their bonnets — whistling as they pass, 
&c. 

One neat little Convex glass to inspect the quality of Dirks, 
Dirk-knives and Little Bull-Dogs with the intention of carry- 
ing them concealed. Invented and patented by Peter Peace- 
able, L. L. D. & F. R. S. 

The Ladies, O, how I blush for having placed you last; 
but though last you are not the least provided for by me, as 
I have reserved that highly polished, large and elegant Con- 
vexo-concave glass, invented, improved and patented by Jer- 
emiah Candid of Sincerity School, Long Knogg, for the ex- 
press -purpose of shielding you from the vile aspersions, and 
ill demeanor of the other sex. 

Thus furnished with the necessary implements of warfare, 
I advance to the contest with the zeal of a patriot; well know- 
ing the strength of my antagonists. To the good and wise 
I would beg leave to drop a word — you have nothing to fear 
from the weapons which I carry; they are blunted in your 
presence, and if attempted to be hurled at you, they will re- 
coil with double force upon myself. To exalt virtue to 
her prerogative in the human heart — to award the meed 
of praise where merit speaks it due is my ostensible object; 
in doing which, I shall tear the flimsy garments from the 
hypocrite, and direct the finger of scorn at vice and im- 
morality. TIM TICKLER, JR., Esq. 

Louisville, April, 1824. 

A paper of the character indicated in the 
above address is always, to use a common phrase, 
"in hot water," and Mr. Timothy Tickler's bed was 
not one of roses. Mr. Johnston appears very 
soon to have retired from the firm, when the 
paper was published by T. H. Roberts, M. D., 



until in September, 1824, when for good and 
sufficient reasons the editor concluded to move 
his office to New Albany. Such freedom of the 
press as Mr. Roberts desired was not to be found 
in Louisville; he soon got into all sorts of trou- 
ble, and his life was openly threatened. But in 
proportion as his troubles grew the circulation of 
his paper increased, until its patronage was quite 
extensive, considering the sparseness of the 
population. Quite a number of citizens of New 
Albany took it. It had no regular subscription 
list, but people bought it freely, in order to find 
out what Tim Tickler had unearthed during the 
week. 

In the issue of September 22, 1824, the editor 
places the following paragraph at the head of his 
editorial column: 

Distant editors who exchange with us will please forward 
their papers to New Albany, Indiana. 

He then proceeds to explain the reason of the 
change, the first paragraph of the explanation 
reading as follows: 

Be it remembered that on the night of the 4th of Septem- 
ber, 1824, a mob of unprincipled vagrants made an attack 
upon my office in the town of Louisville, broke open the 
door of the printing office, then and there did rob me of a 
POCKET-BOOK containing $12 Commonwealth Paper, 
ONE DOLLAR on the bank of the State of South Carolina, 
and sundry papers; broke my printing press and destroyed 
my type; broke down the door of my bed-chamber and 
struck several times at me with an axe, forced me from a 
sick bed, dragged me to the, river, where they proposed hid- 
ing their diabolical deed by sinking my body in the river with 
a stone ! ! ! And but for the interference of one man, they 
would have completed their deed of cruelty, and put Turks 
and Indians to blush ! ! 

Mr. Roberts had the leaders of the mob ar- 
rested and although the evidence appeared con- 
clusive, they were cleared by the jury, and fail- 
ing as he thought to obtain either justice or pro- 
tection at Louisville he removed his establish- 
ment — what was left of it — to New Albany. He 
claimed damages in money stolen and type and 
material destroyed to the amount of two hun- 
dred and sixty dollars and seventy- five cents, and 
remarks that the good citizens of Louisville 
"kindly subscribed a sum nearly sufficient to 
repair all my losses and relieve me from the dis- 
tress incident on the destruction of my office 
and the stoppage of my business." 

Thus under adverse circumstances did the 
second paper appear in the future city. The 
tone of the Microscope appears to have been 
rather low, and probably Mr. Roberts received 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



his just deserts; at least but little if any sympa- 
thy was shown by the better classes of people at 
his unceremonious removal. 

Roberts continued the publication of the Mi- 
croscope at New Albany a year or more, during 
which time he went so deeply into the private 
affairs of people, especially in Louisville, that he 
came near being again mobbed. A party came 
over from that city for that purpose, but Roberts, 
being apprised of it, secured a sufficient force in 
New Albany to protect him, and the would-be 
mobbers were driven again to the other side of 
the river. Roberts died some thirty years ago. 

TWO OTHER PAPERS. 

During the next few years after the Microscope 
went out of existence, two or more papers were 
published here. One was calied the Crescent, 
and one the Aurora. The latter was edited 
by Edward P. Shields, who afterwards became 
professor in Princeton college. The Crescent 
probably followed the Microscope, and was 
conducted by Settle & Nelson, Cooper Nelson 
bein^ the editor. Reuben W. Nelson was prob- 
ably also interested in the paper. He was a 
practicing lawyer, and a smart, sprightly, go- 
ahead bachelor, who died in 1828 or 1829. Settle 
was originally from Ohio but came to this place 
from Kentucky. He died in Louisville within 
the last decade. 

VARIOUS WHIG AND REPUBLICAN PAPERS. 

(jThe next venture in the newspaper business 
was by the Collins brothers — James, Henry, and 
Thomas — the latter of whom is yet living in 
New Albany, an old and much respected citizen 
and a justice of the peace. They called their 
paper the New Albany Gazette. It was Whig in 
politics, and the first really political paper started 
in the town. It continued to be published many 
years under various names — as the Gazette, the 
Bulletin, and the Commercial — and by many dif- 
ferent owners, and finally ceased to exist in New 
Albany about 1870. It supported the Whig 
party as long as that party existed, then was kept 
up as a Republican paper. 

The Gazette was started in November, 1830, 
the same week in which the first number of the 
Louisville Journal (now the Courier-Journal) 
made its appearance. The Collins brothers were 
originally from Virginia, but came here from 
Kentucky. Henry Collins was a lawyer, and 



seemed to be the principal manager of the paper 
for several years. He died here in 1S52. After 
a few years the entire establishment was pur- 
chased by Thomas Collins, and in 1837 Mr. 
Collins started the Daily Gazette, the first of the 
kind established in the State. The daily and 
weekly Gazette grew quite prosperous under his 
management, notwithstanding the competition of 
the Democratic paper, the Argus, which came 
into existence about this time. 

In 1839 Ignatus Mattingly came to New Al- 
bany from Lexington, Kentucky. He was a 
practical printer, and, forming a partnership with 
William Green, they purchased the Gazette of 
Mr. Collins, and Messrs. Matungly & Green 
continued editors and proprietors of the same 
until 1845, when, being unable to pay for it, the 
office went back into the hands of Thomas Col- 
lins, who was an endorser on their paper. Mat- 
tingly is still in the printing business at Ply- 
mouth, Marshall county, Indiana. Mr. Collins 
kept the paper only a few months, when, in 
January, 1846, he sold it to Leonard Green, his 
brother-in-law and a* brother of William Green. 
The new editor employed Theodore J. Barnett 
to edit the paper until he sold it in 1849 to Col- 
lins & Green — Thomas Collins and William 
Green. Under Leonard Green the name of the 
paper was changed to the Daily and Weekly Bul- 
letin. The Greens were Hoosiers, born in Clarke 
county, Indiana, and after leaving New Albany 
they established a paper in Bedford, in this 
State. Leonard died in Texas in 1855 or 1856, 
and William is now publishing a paper in Brook- 
ville, Indiana. 

In 1852 Collins & Green sold out to Milton 
Gregg & Sons, who changed the name of the 
paper to the Tribune. Gregg was from Law- 
renceburg and Madison, in both of which places 
he had been publishing papers. He was a 
strong, vigorous writer, a man of a good deal of 
ability, and a staunch Whig. The Greggs con- 
ducted the paper with considerable success four 
or five years, when the family nearly all died, 
and the paper went out of existence. Subse- 
quently J. P. Hancock, a man of literary tastes 
and habits, who had also married a literary 
woman, undertook to revive the paper, but with 
indifferent success. Mrs. Hancock was the 
author of two or three works of fiction, and in 
their hands the paper assumed a literary rather 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



than political character, so it was not a success. 
They conducted it perhaps six months, when it 
again became extinct. 

During the greater part of the war the Repub- 
licans were without an organ in New Albany; 
but in the summer of 1864 a joint stock company 
was formed, principally through the efforts of J. 
P. Luse, since connected with the Indianapolis 
Journal, for the purpose of establishinga Republi- 
can paper in New Albany on a sound basis. Some 
of the material of the old paper was probably used, 
but new type and new presses were purchased, 
and the New Albany Commercial established. Its 
first editor was William B. Curry, an energetic 
young man, a Universalist preacher, a gentle- 
man, a scholar, and a vigorous writer. He did 
not, however, succeed in making the paper pay 
largely, and it became financially embarrassed at 
one period, so that it was compelled to suspend 
for a time. Mr. Curry took sick, and retired 
from the editorial chair. He subsequently went 
into politics, became a high officer in the -State 
government, and is yet living at Indianapolis. 
At that time the office was on the corner of State 
and Main streets, where the stocking factory now 
is. After Curry left and the paper had been 
dormant a few weeks, J. P. Luse took hold of it 
with Messrs. Schuyler and Harriott, and the 
paper was conducted by these gentlemen with 
considerable success for two or three years, when, 
about 1870, it was removed to Louisville, where 
it is yet published as a Republican paper, and 
known all over the country as the Louisville 
Commercial. 

Mr. Luse is a Hoosier and a graduate of the 
State university at Greencastle. When Andrew 
Johnson became President he was appointed 
collector of customs at Louisville, and has since 
been engaged in newspaper enterprises in In- 
diana. His partners in New Albany, Schuyler 
and Harriott, came from Lafayette together. 
Mr. Harriott is now living in the northern part of 
the State. 

The Republicans cf New Albany and vicinity 
seem not yet to have recovered sufficiently from 
the blow given by the removal of the Commercial 
to start another paper, devoted principally to party 
interests. Democracy being in the majority here, 
is able to sustain a paper; but the Republicans 
still look to Louisville for their nearest political 
reading. 



DEMOCRATIC JOURNALS. 

The first paper to support Democratic princi- 
ples in New Albany was started in the fall of 
1836, and was called the Argus. Dennison & 
Hineline were the editors and proprietors. They 
were from New Jersey; the former was club- 
footed, a fair but not a high-toned writer. Hine- 
line was a man of considerable ability; and after 
getting through with the Argus, which he did in 
only two years, he went back to New Jersey and 
published a paper there, and subsequently be- 
came a member of the Legislature of that State. 
They purchased new type and material for the 
Argus, and established their office on High street, 
above Third. About 1838 they sold out to 
Hutchens & Thompson (Charles W. Hutchens 
and George W. Thompson). This partnership 
continued only a few months, when Hutchens 
sold his interest to a brother-in-law named Virden, 
and retired from the paper. Mr. Hutchens was 
a practical printer from Ohio. He went from 
New Albany to Louisville, where he worked at 
his trade awhile. The last that was heard of him 
by his friends here he was in Paducah, Ken- 
tucky. Thompson was a Virginian, and also 
went to Louisville, where he worked some years 
in the Democrat office. Virden & Thompson 
conducted the paper a few months, when the 
former sold out his interest to the latter, who be- 
came the sole proprietor. Virden got into some 
difficulty with Prentice, of the Louisville Journal, 
which very likely caused his retirement from this 
vicinity. For something published in the Jour- 
nal he threatened to shoot Prentice on sight. 
The latter heard of the threat but paid no atten- 
tion to it. One day he saw Virden sitting in an 
eating-house, and walked in to see whether Virden 
would "shoot him on sight." Courage was one of 
the well-known characteristics of Prentice. Vir- 
den did not appear to see Prentice at that time, 
thus showing the white feather so conspicuously 
that he was not able thereafter to live comforta- 
bly in the community. Thompson continued 
publishing his paper until 1841, when he was 
compelled to suspend. Not long after Jared C. 
Jocelyn used the press and materials for a time 
in an effort to establish a literary sheet, which 
was, however, unsuccessful. This paper was 
called the Register, and was issued for nearly 
two years. Jocelyn was a Connecticut Yankee, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



183 



but came here from Ohio. He was subsequently 
a magistrate, and died here about 1868. 

In 1843 or 1844 the press and material were 
purchased by P. M. Kent, and the name of the 
paper changed to the Southwestern Democrat. 
Kent was a Marylander, but came here from 
Vevay, Indiana. He is yet living, and is in 
White county, in this State, farming. He con- 
nected the Democrat only a short time, when 
(about 1844) he sold out to Charles D. Hineline, 
who in turn soon sold to Bradley &: Lucas (Au- 
gustus Bradley and Oliver P. Lucas). This firm 
conducted the paper but a single year, when 
they sold out to Norman & Bosworth. Mr. 
Bradley is yet a citizen of New Albany, the pro- 
prietor of a large flouring-mill, a man of much 
ability and experience in public affairs, having 
been county auditor and member of the Legis- 
lature, and held also other offices of trust and 
profit. He was the first president of the New 
Albany & St. Louis Air Line railroad. Mr. Lu- 
cas has been a member of the school board of 
Louisville for the last twenty years. 

Norman & Bosworth changed the name of 
the paper to the Ledger, a title that has clung to 
it to the present time. Bosworth soon retired, 
and Phineas M. Kent took his place, putting in 
considerable capital; and the firm became Nor- 
man & Kent. John B. Norman continued with 
the paper up to the day of his death, and con- 
tributed greatly to its permanent success. He 
was an Englishman, but came here from Indian- 
apolis. His partners changed frequently, among 
them being L. G. Mathews and James M. Mor- 
rison. The latter continued with the paper un- 
til his death. He had been a chair-maker to the 
time of engaging in the printing business. When 
he died the surviving partners purchased the 
widow's interest, and the firm became Norman 
& Mathews. 

In 1877 the following history of this paper 
appeared in the Ledger-Standard : 

With the present issue of the fifty thousand copies of the 
Ledger-Standard, it is deemed proper to speak fully of the 
advantages New Albany possesses in the industrial and 
manufacturing points of view. While other interests are 
spoken of elsewhere in these columns, none are of greater 
importance in a community than the printing-press. In almost 
every business in which there has been achieved , by enterprise 
a nd energy, instances of success so marked as to excite imi- 
tation and competition, it may be safely asserted that ten 
failures may be recorded for each such conspicuous success. 
Of no business does this statement hold good with more 



emphasis than of newspaper undertakings. The failures are 
numerous, and not seldom ruinous ; the average successes 
are but moderate ; and yet there are instances ol exceptional 
and brilliant success in newspaper enterprises that are worthy 
of note. Among the most marked and prominent of these in 
the West is the Ledger-Standard. The history of this paper 
affords a prominent illustration of what enterprise, liberality, 
and correct business management will achieve. 

The first number of the Daily Ledger was issued on the 
21st of September, r849, from the second-story of an old 
building which was then situated on the northeast corner of 
Pearl and Main streets, and the present site of the Mer- 
chants' National bank. It was established by Phineas M. Kent 
and John B. Norman, and was nearly the size of the Daily 
Ledger-Standard. The location of the office, for the space 
of about twenty-five years, was changed but three times, and 
in that time there were but few changes in proprietorship. 
For over twenty years John B. Norman gave his undivided 
attention to the paper, and was the leading spirit that gave 
it tone and character. He was editor and chief proprietor 
from its birth until the time of his death, w r hich occurred 
October 30, r86o. The interest of Mr. Norman was dis- 
posed of to L. G. Matthews, junior partner in the firm, who 
in June, r872, transferred the paper to Merrill & Moter, and 
they consolidated it with the Standard August 14, r872, and 
a stock company was formed, composed of C. E. Merrill, C. 
R. Moter, Josiah Gwin, ]. V. Kelso, and Charles E. John- 
ston. 

The Standard was born in troublous times — almost in the 
midst of the greatest and«nost depressing panic that has ever 
swept over this country, but, Minerva-like, it sprang into be- 
ing full grown, equipped for work, and shoulder to shoulder 
with the veterans of newspaperdom. Its firing was heard all 
along the line, and its thousands of readers felt that a new 
power had arisen. With the staunch and trustworthy old 
Ledger it was at once a worthy competitor in circulation, a 
model of typographical neatness, editorial ability, and dash 
as a local newspaper. The first number of the Daily 
Standard was issued July 3t, 187T, from our present quarters, 
and the weekly issue began August 9th following. The 
Standard was established and owned by Josiah Gwin, James 
V. Kelso, and Charles E. Johnston, who continued as pro- 
prietors until the Ledger material was removed to the office 
of the former, corner of Main and State streets. The two 
papers combined were then named . 

THE LEDGER-STANDARD. 

A short time after the consolidation, Messrs. Merrill, 
Moter, Kelso, and Johnston retired from the company, their 
respective stock being purchased by Messrs. James P. Apple- 
gate, Jonathan Peters, Josiah Gwin, and Adam Himer. An 
election of officers was held, resulting as follows: Jonathan 
Peters, president; James P. Applegate, secretary; Josiah 
Gwin, manager and treasurer. There has been no change in 
the officers of the company, all having been re-elected from 
year to year since. Shortly after the consolidation of the 
two papers, very extensive additions were made to the ma- 
terial of the office throughout, and much of the earnings of 
the concern have been added to the original capital stock, in- 
creasing it from twenty-one thousand dollars to thirty thou- 
sand dollars, about twenty-five thousand dollars of which is 
paid up. Among the most extensive additions was a com- 
plete bindery, which furnishes something like fifteen counties 
in the State with records and blank books. New type was 
also furnished for the job and news department; and it can 
be said without boasting that the Ledger-Standard, in all its 



1 84 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



departments, is one of the most complete blank-book manu- 
facturing, printing, and job offices in the West. 

The building is" probably better adapted for the business 
for which it is used than any other in the city. The dimen- 
sions are 20 x 95 feet, four stories high, including the base- 
ment. The basement is used as a newspaper and job press- 
room, and is excellently lighted. Here is a ten-horse-power 
engine, used for running two large cylinder presses, of the 
Cottrell & Babcock and Taylor patterns, and a quarto Gor- 
don. Besides, there is a large stock of paper, fuel, and ap- 
paratus used in running the presses, cleaning the forms, 
etc., etc. 

The floor above the basement, or properly the first story, 
contains the counting-room, which is about 20 x 40 feet in 
size, and the job-room, 20 x 55 feet. The counting-room is 
supplied with all necessary furniture, and the shelves are 
well filled with printers' stock, blank books, and articles used 
in job printing and blank-book manufacturing. The job 
office contains hundreds of fonts of type, from agate to the 
largest poster size, cabinets, stands, cases, imposing stones, 
proof press, a Gordon press, and many other needful articles, 
too numerous to mention. 

Upon the second floor are the editorial rooms, completely 
furnished with furniture, extensive and valuable libraries of 
books pertaining to the newspaper business. On the same 
floor the bindery and stock rooms are situated. The bindery 
is complete in every respect, and is supplied with ruling ma- 
chine, large power paper-cutter, presses, board-cutters, tools, 
and in fact everything used in the manufacture of blank 
books. The stock room contains' a large stock of papers 
and readv-made records of the various sizes and patterns. 

The upper story is occupied as the news-room. It is 
large, roomy, and probably the lightest in the city, being 
lighted from both sides and front and rear by large windows, 
and not obstructed by other buildings. The room contains 
stands, cases, imposing-stones, type, and other material to 
run half a dozen ordinary papers. A hoisting apparatus 
connects with the lower rooms, and the forms are lowered 
four stories safely and rapidly to the basement. 

That the condition of the company may be known, we 
hereby submit the annual report of the company for the year 
ending December 31, 1876: 

Capital stock authorized $30,000 00 

Amount of capital stock subscribed and paid up 
to date (including all engines, presses, materi- 
al, material and fixtures in said printing office 
and machinery and fixtures in bindery, and fix- 
tures, furniture and library in editorial rooms 

and counting rooms) 25,300 00 

Material on hand not included in above 850 00 

Bills and accounts receivable !5.54 2 36 

$41,692 36 
LIABILITIES. 
Bills and accounts payable $ 5,216 08 

Total surplus over all liabilities $36,476 18 

THE "LEDGER" AGAIN. 

August 15, 1881, the name of the Ledger- 
Standard was changed to the Ledger. The 
change called forth the following letter from Mr. 
John W. McQuiddy, who ran the first power- 
press and first steam-press in New Albany. The 



letter is full of interesting reminiscences of the 
later days of the Ledger : 

Immtors Ledger: — The recent change made in the name 
of your excellent paper calls up some reminiscences which 
may possess some interest. 

During the winter of 1853-54 Mr. John B. Norman, then 
the proprietor and editor of the Ledger, purchased a power- 
press of the cylinder pattern, known as the Northrop press — 
a cheap affair and very difficult to manage. In February, 
1854, I was sent by Mr. George Thompson, then foreman of 
the Louisville Democrat, with a letter of introduction to Mr. 
Norman, in which I was recommended as a qualified and 
competent power-pressman. I was received by Mr. Nor- 
man in his characteristic quiet style. The result of the inter- 
view was an engagement to run the presses in the office, 
which at that time consisted of the power-press and a hand- 
press. 

I was then living in Louisville. On Monday morning, 
February 3, 185^, I came over and went to work. I was an 
entire stranger in the city, but soon became attached to those 
with whom I came in daily contact in my duties about the 
office, and have ever since held them in the highest esteem. 
Mr. Norman was editor, book-keeper, put up his mails, and 
made a hand on the paper. Mr. C. W. Cottom was local 
editor, type-setter, and general utility man. Sam William- 
son was job workman, D. Mcintosh, Henry Heath. William 
Hardy, and Edward W. Sinex compositors. Of these ail 
are living except Mr. Norman and Mr. Williamson. Mr. 
Sinex is still with the Ledger, and has been continuously in 
the service of its various proprietors since the first issue of the 
paper. In the spring of 1874 Mr. Hugh Gordon, who had 
during the winter been employed on the steamer Peter Tel- 
Ion, returned to the office and continued to act as foreman of 
the news and job department until his death in 1868 — a faith- 
ful employe and a true friend. 

The office in 1853-54 was located on Main street, on the 
north side, between Pearl and Bank streets, in the two upper 
stones of the three-story building on the corner of the alley. 
The paper was small, had been established but a few years, 
and was by no means a pronounced success as a dailv. The 
proprietor worked hard, and the result was the establishment 
of one of the best papers and one of the most flourishing 
printing-offices in the State. Mr. Norman was a practical 
printer, and never hesitated to take a case when necessary. 
Before he died the office had immensely increased in patron- 
age, and the old power- and hand-press had been superseded 
by two new and improved power-presses. 

Before, however, this success had been reached, Mr. Nor- 
man associated with him Messrs. James M. Morrison and 
L. G. Matthews, and a large share of credit is due those 
gentlemen, to whom the business affairs of the office were 
entrusted. The office was moved to Pearl street, to the 
three-story building in the rear of the New York store, occu- 
pying the entire building. Soon the business increased so 
rapidly that the late David Crane w r as induced to add a third 
story to his building, and the presses were moved in and 
steam power introduced to the establishment. The business 
continued to grow, and soon it became necessary to rent the 
third story of the corner building and the one next below, 
and when no more buildings in that locality were to be ob- 
tained, DePauw's Hall, corner of Pearl and Spring, was 
fitted up expressly for the Ledger, and the office moved into 
it*. This building was used from the cellar to the garret. 
Messrs. Norman and Morrison having died, Mr. Matthews 
became sole proprietor, who shortly after the last removal 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



185 



sold the newspaper to Merrill and Moter. These gentlemen 
consolidated the Ledger with the Standard, and the paper 
was called the Ledger-Standard. 

During the sixteen years I was connected with the Ledger 
many fellow-craftsmen were employed on the paper and in 
the various departments; among them I may mention Aug. 
Jocelyn. as foreman of the job department; A. M.Jack- 
son, foreman of the news department, and afterwards assist- 
ant editor; William Bodenhammer, afterwards editor of the 
Noblesville Ledger, and Dewees Heneks, all good workmen 
and men of intelligence. Mr. Heneks was something of a 
poet. On one occasion the carriers were unable to get a New 
Year's address written. But one day was left before it was 
needed. Heneks, ascertaining the trouble, said he would 
get them up one. He immediately went to his case, and in 
the course of an hour produced, without copy, one of the 
best addresses ever published by the paper. All of these are 
dead. 

The best years of my life were devoted to service on the 
Ledger. My relations with its proprietors were always pleas- 
ant, and I became closely attached to it; and the restoration 
of the old name struck a responsive chord, which induced 
me to write the foregoing. May the paper profitably con- 
tinue to furnish the news for the good people of Floyd coun- 
ty and surrounding country for many years to come. 



Mr. W. C. Cottom still continues to do faith- 
ful work on this paper in the editorial depart- 
ment. 

GERMAN PAPERS. 

The German element in and around New 
Albany is a strong one, thus creating a demand 
for a paper printed in the German language. 
Several of this kind have been started from time 
to time, and two are now in existence in the city. 

The first German paper was started here about 
1850. It was called the Sun, but soon became 
permanently eclipsed and nobody seems able to 
tell when or where. In 1861 a second German 
paper made its appearance, called the New 
Albany Democrat. It was published by.Messrs. 
Weiss & Lauber, at the southwest corner of 
State and Market streets. It closed about six 
months after the first issue, for the reason, it is 
stated, that it could not get compositors on 
account of the war. The office of the Democrat 
was transferred to Evansville in 1862, and there 
became the Evansville Democrat, which is still 
a flourishing paper. 

The third German paper to make its appear- 
ance in New Albany was the Deutsche Zeitung, 
the present paper. It is a weekly, eight page 
sheet, and was started June 28, 1875, by Otto 
Palmer, a wide-awake, active German, who is 
editor, proprietor, publisher, compositor, etc., 
and fills all these positions in the front room of 
his own dwelling on Pearl street, between Elm 



and Oak. His paper is Democratic in politics, 
the Democratic German population in the county 
being about five thousand, including children. 
It is a five column quarto, printed in the German 
language, and has remained in Mr. Palmer's 
hands since it was established. 

About a year after the Zeitung was established 
another German paper was started by F. W. A. 
Reidel, of the German Protestant church. It is 
called the New Albany Das Echo der Gegenwart 
und der Zeitgeist, and is a liberal Christian, unde- 
nominational journal, printed in German, and 
devoted to a record of religious progress and 
other matters interesting to the German commu- 
nity. It is semi-monthly. Mr. Reidel, who 
came here from Cincinnati, where he had been 
connected with a paper, began his labors in the 
German church about 1870. He purchased a 
press and the type, and for the first three years 
had his paper printed in Louisville; after that it 
was transferred to his own dwelling in this city, 
on Bank street, between Elm and Spring, from 
which place it is yet issued. 

OTHER PAPERS. 

In 1875 J. H. and W. S. Conner started a 
job-printing establishment in the rear end of J. 
H. Conner's drug store, on Spring street. After 
confining themselves to job printing about two 
years they issued the Saturday Herald, simply 
an advertising sheet, which has since been con- 
tinued. In 1880 the office and material were 
purchased by J. H. Conner, who is at present 
sole proprietor. 

The next year (1881) was a propitious one for 
the establishment of newspapers in New Albany, 
two entirely new ones having made their appear- 
ance. The first of these is the Weekly Review, 
the first number of which was issued February 
19, 1881. It is a six-column folio, and devoted 
to the interests of the colored people. It is is- 
sued by the Review Publishing company, a 
stock association composed entirely of col- 
ored people. The Rev. Richard Bassett is the 
business manager, and W. O. Vance the editor. 
It is Republican, but makes neither politics nor 
religion prominent specialities. It is compar- 
atively prosperous, having a circulation of about 
eleven hundred. 

The Public Press was established June 22, 
1881, by Messrs. Josiah Gwin & Sons. It is a 



1 86 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



weekly eight column folio, and Democratic in 
politics. It is published at No. 61 Pearl street. 
Mr. Gwin has long been connected with the 
press of New Albany, and it will be remembered 
started the Standard in 187 1, which was sub- 
sequently consolidated with the Ledger. Mr. 
Gwin retained his interest in the Ledger-Stand- 
ard until February 14, 1881, when he sold it to 
Captain John B. Mitchell, now clerk of the 
county. Mr. Gwin was county recorder nine 
years and has been prominent in the affairs of 
New Albany. » 

Mr. Thomas Collins started an agricultural 
paper here in 1858, called the Review of the 
Markets and Farmers' Journal; which however, 
he only published about six months. No doubt 
other efforts were made from time to time to es- 
tablish papers in New Albany, but the above re- 
view includes all the publications that amounted 
to anything. 



CHAPTER X. 

NEW ALBANY— THE CHURCHES. 

There are at present in the city twenty-three 
churches, viz: nine Methodist, four Presbyterian, 
two Baptist, two Christian, two Catholic, one 
Episcopal, one United Brethren, one German 
Evangelical, and one Universalist. As intro- 
ductory to the history of these churches, it may 
be well to give the following extract from Mr. C. 
\V. Cottom's Material Interests of New Al- 
bany, published in 1873: 

New Albany may justly be termed the city of churches. 
Ever since the city was founded it has been distinguished for 
the religious character of its citizens and its church privileges. 
The first religious meeting held in the city was under the 
auspices of tire Methodists. It was held in a little log cabin 
in which spruce beer and ginger cakes were sold by a widow 
woman named Reynolds, and the meeting was brought 
about in a very singular manner. A gentleman named Elam 
Genung started out one moonlit evening, after the day's labor 
had ended, to take a walk in the forest, in the midst of which 
the few cabins then constituting the town were built. He 
heard the widow lady who kept the cake and beer shop sing- 
ing a (to him) familiar' religious hymn. He was attracted by 
her sweet voice to the cabin, and as he entered it she ceased 
singing. He requested her to repeat the hymn, and as she 
did so joined with her in singing it. At its close he asked 
her if she was a church member. She replied she had been 



in the East, before she came to Indiana Territory, a member 
of the Methodist Episcopal Church. 

"I, too, was a Methodist before I came here," replied 
Genung, "let us pray." 

The singing had drawn a dozen or more of the settlers to 
the cabin, and had touched every heart by its sweet tender- 
ness, waking memories of homes far away in the East, and 
religious privileges that were held dear and sacred, and when 
prayer was proposed all entered the cabin, and there, under 
the giant trees, the silver moon pouring down a flood of 
mellow light over the scene, the first public prayer was 
offered in New Albany. One who was present at that meet- 
ing says of it : "It was an occasion to be remembered for 
a long lifetime, for God came down among us in his first 
temples, the trees, and all were blessed." 

There is but one survivor of that first religious meeting in 
New Albany, and her feet are still traveling the "straight 
and narrow pathway " she that night, now more than fifty- 
five years ago, found it so pleasant to walk in. At the close 
of this meeting another was announced for the night of the 
same day the following week. At that meeting a Methodist 
class was formed, and this continued to meet until June, 20, 
1817, when the Methodist Episcopal church was regularly 
organized in New Albany by Rev. John Shrader, and the 
first sacrament of the Lord's Supper administered by him in 
a hotel kept by a widow lady named Hannah Ruff. On No- 
vember 25, i8t7, the first Methodist church in the town was 
dedicated by Rev. John Shrader. There are now in the city 
ten Methodist church buildings, two of them Methodist mis- 
sions. 

The next church organized here was the First Presbyter- 
ian. The organization was effected on the 7th of December, 
1817, with nine members. The first meeting was held in 
Mrs. Scribner's residence, being now a portion of what is 
the Commercial hotel — formerly High Street house. The 
first communion of the Pi esbyterian church of New Albany 
was solemnized on the day of the organization. Rev. D. C. 
Banks officiating at the ceremony. The first baptism 
solemnized in New Albany was that of the infant daughter 
of Dr. Asahel and Elizabeth Clapp, Lucinda Ann, yet living 
in this city, and the wife of Mr. W. C. Shipman. There are 
now in New Albany three Presbyterian churches and two 
Presbyterian Mission churches. The next religious society 
organized in the city was the Baptist church, the organiza- 
tion taking place, as near as we can learn, in the autumn of 
1821. From this brief sketch it will be seen that the pioneers 
of New Albany were scarce installed in their log cabins when 
they commenced the organization of churches. This early 
religious work gave a moral and Christian tone to society in 
the then village, which has "grown with its growth and 
strengthened with its strength." Now New Albany can 
boast nearly thirty churches, and in the superior cultivation 
and moral and religious character of her society is not sur- 
passed by any city in America. 

THE RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS. 
The following embraces a full list of the several religious 
denominations of the city, and the number of church edifices: 
Presbyterian, three regular and two mission churches, valued 
at $125,000: Methodist (white), seven regular, one German, 
two mission, colored two; property of all valued at $140,- 
000; Baptist (white), one ; colored, two; value of property, 
$30,000; Protestant Episcopal, one regular and one mission 
church, valued at $25,000; Lutheran German Evangelical, 
and German Evangelical (Salem), with property valued at 
$50,000; Catholic, two large churches, one German, the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



187 



other Irish, and with property valued at $135,000; Christian 
church, valued at $30,000; United Brethren church, valued 
at $3,000; Universalist church, valued at $20,000. The 
Southern Methodist church worship in the Universalist 
church. There is a society of Spiritualists in the city that 
meets in one of the public halls. There is also a small 
society of Second Adventists. 

WESLEY CHAPEL. 

This proves to have been the first church in 
the city, of any denomination, though it did not 
receive its present name for more than twenty 
years after it was established, or until after the 
separation which took place when the Centenary 
church came into existence. During all the first 
years of its life it was simply known as the 
Methodist church of New Albany, the Method- 
ists of this place worshiping in one building for 
nearly a quarter of a century. Aaron McDaniels, 
the father of Rev. William McDaniels, at present 
residing in New Albany, came to the town in 
December, 181 7. There was, says the son, no 
Methodist church here at that time, but within a 
few months, that is during the year 18 18, a 
church was organized. He says that Widow Ruff 
then occupied a large frame dwelling, the best 
house in the town at that time, and in her house, 
she being a devoted Methodist, the first Method- 
ist class was organized. This statement differs 
somewhat from that in the extract above quoted, 
but is probably correct, as Mr. Daniels has all 
his life been a devoted Methodist, the greater 
part of it being spent in preaching, and probably 
understands the history of the Methodist church 
in this city better than any other person now 
living. The year was probably 181 8 instead of 
181 7, as stated in the above extract. Mr. 
Daniels' father was one of the members of this 
organization; he was a ship-carpenter and came 
from Philadelphia to Maysville, Kentucky, 
thence to New Albany where he found employ- 
ment in the ship-yards. Peter Stoy, Henry 
Pitcher, Edward Brown, and Obediah Childs 
were also members of this class. Stoy and 
Pitcher were also from Philadelphia, and carpen- 
ters too, and worked at ship and house building. 
Mr. Brown was from Baltimore and was engaged 
in buying and selling cattle and other stock for 
many years. Their place of meeting was usually 
at Widow Ruff's house, but was sometimes at 
the house of Obediah Childs, and it was here, 
says Mr. Daniels, that the first Methodist prayer 



meeting in New Albany was held, being led by 
Aaron Daniels. 

Among the first ministers of the Methodist 
church through this region were Revs. John 
Schrader, John Strange, Peter Cartwright, Charles 
Holliday, George Locke and William Shanks. 
These were all pioneer Methodist preachers, and 
during the greater portion of their lives were 
found in the front rank of advancing pioneer 
settlers. Their labors were in the wilderness 
among wild beasts and savages, encountering 
always great danger, hardship, and suffering for 
the purpose of advancing their religious views 
and establishing churches. The name of Peter 
Cartwright is especially well known in Ohio and 
Kentucky, and indeed throughout the Ohio val- 
ley, and his charactei and power as a preacher 
are well known. He was "a diamond in the 
rough," a natural orator, a man without educa- 
tion or polish, but a giant in intellect as well as 
physical strength. Indeed, the same may be 
said of most of these early preachers, of other 
denominations as well as Methodist, but Cart- 
wright was probably superior to most of them, 
and so fearfully in earnest in his religious labors 
that he left an imperishable memory behind. 

Rev. John Schrader, as above stated, organ- 
ized the first Methodist class in New Albany. 
He was perhaps one of the best known of the 
pioneer Methodist pieachers in this county, as 
he spent most of his life here. He subsequently 
organized a church in Greenville township in this 
county, which built a log church known as Schra- 
der's chapel, one of the oldest in the county. 

It must have been soon after the first Method- 
ist class was organized that the church was erect- 
ed. It was a small frame building and stood on 
the lot where the Wesley Methodist church par- 
sonage now stands. It was probably built in 
1818, for it was standing there in 18 19, accord- 
ing to McMurtrie's Sketches of Louisville, pub- 
lished in that year. Speaking of New Albany 
he says: "The inhabitants are all either Meth- 
odists or Presbyterians, the former having a meet- 
ing house, ard the latter have contracted for a 
church, which is to be built immediately." 

The native forest trees had to be cleared away 
for the erection of this first Methodist church, 
which cost, perhaps, five hundred dollars, though 
most of the labor upon it was voluntary. This 
building was in use by all the Methodists of the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



town and country around for a dozen years or 
more, when they erected a brick church on the 
corner of First and Market streets, which is yet 
standing. A frame addition has been placed in 
front of it and it is used for mercantile purposes 
by Dr. August Kncefel. In. this building the 
Methodists worshiped for twenty years or more. 
During the years between 1830 and 1840 it in- 
■ creased so in numbers, and the town grew away 
from it to the eastward so rapidly that it was 
thought best to have another church building. 
The town became ? city iti 1839, and those liv- 
ing in the upper part of the city desired the new 
church to be erected in that direction for their 
accommodation. This was accomplished in 
1839, when the Centenary church was erected. 
Both congregations continued under one charge, 
however. Two years later, when they separated, 
two churches were organized, and the old church 
was thereafter known as Wesley chapel. They 
continued worshiping in the old brick church on 
the corner of First and Market until 1854, when 
the congregation had grown so large that it was 
necessary to erect a new building, and the pres- 
ent beautiful and substantial brick structure was 
put up on the north side of Market street, be- 
tween Lower Second and Washington streets. 

From the forty-ninth annual report of the In- 
diana conference, which held its session in New 
Albany commencing September 8, 1S80, the fol- 
lowing facts regarding Wesley chapel are gleaned: 
Total number of members, 482; value of 
church, $20,000; value of parsonage, $1,500; 
improvements during the year on church and 
parsonage, $1,306. The church gave tor mis- 
sion work $80.25, and the Sunday-school gave 
for the same $19.89. The church gave for other 
benevolent purposes $59.20. The current ex- 
penses of the church — sexton, gas, fuel, etc. — 
were $366. Rev. Joseph S. Woods is pastor. 

The Sunday-school was one of the first es- 
tablished in the city and is yet in a flourishing 
condition. 

CENTENARY METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The origin of this church appears in the his- 
tory of Wesley chapel above given. In 1875 
this church had printed in a little paper called 
the Centenary Advocate such items in her his- 
tory as it was desirable to have preserved. These 
items are here given in part as follows: 



One hundred years alter the opening of the Old Foundry in 
London, 1739, Centenary church was built. Methodism had 
extended herself, in the mean time, over England, Scotland, 
Ireland, and the whole of the United States and Canada. 

The old society, since called Wesley chapel, then worshiped 
in the quaint old building now occupied by Dr. Aug. Knaefel 
as a warehouse for drugs. 

Both churches united in the building of the new house, 
the division not taking place till two years after it was com- 
pleted. The original construction of Centenary differed 
somewhat from the present appearance. There was then no 
recess in the rear, and no vestibule in front. The stairways 
to the main audience room ran up on the outside with no pro- 
tection from the weather. 

A wide gallery ran across the front end inside. As first 
built the church had no spire and no bell, there then being a 
strong prejudice on the part of many persons against such 
things. 

The stand, the altar-railing, the seats and even the windows 
and doors were of quite a different style of architecture from 
what they now are. The pulpit was quite high, and minis- 
ters ascended to it by a considerable flight of steps. 

All this seems quite curious and out of taste to the youth 
of this day (1875), bw. at that time, Centenary was con- 
considered to be, and really was a great improvement on the 
church buildings that preceded it. Our Puritan fathers, in 
the reaction against the fripperies and fopperies of the Eu- 
ropean churches, had gone to an absurd extreme of plainness 
and severity. Their houses of worship were unadorned 
within and unpainted without; even a stove or a fire-place 
was not allowed to invade their sacred precincts, it being 
supposed that the fire of God's love would keep truly pious 
worshipers warm, ana all others deserved to freeze. A re- 
action against this unreasonable plainness has taken place; 
but, at the time of which we speak, it was in the first stages 
of the transition. 

After the church was completed the two pulpits,— those of 
Wesley and Centenary, — were occupied alternately by the 
preacher in charge, and his assistant. This arrangement, 
however, closed at the end of the second year, since which 
time Centenary has been an independent charge. 

The following are the names of the pastors 
of Centenary church from the first to the present 
time: John C Smith, two years; William 
Knowles, assistant, one year; Silas Rawson, assist- 
ant, one year; Richard Robinson, two years; 
Isaac Crawford, two years; Allen Wiley, two 
years; T. H. Rucker, two years; Williamson Ter- 
rell, two years; C. B. Davidson, two years; John 
C. Smith, one year; L. C. Berry, Thomas H. 
Lynch, one year; B. F. Rawlins, two years; S. J. 
Gillett, two years; Daniel Mclntire, two years; 
Elijah Fletcher, one and one-half years; R. L. 
Cushman, one and one-half years; N. P. Heth, 
two years; James Hill, three years; H. R. Nay- 
lor, three years; S. L. Binkley, two years; J. S. 
Woods, two years; W. F. Harnard, one year; Dr. 
James Dixon, one year; Dr. George D. Watson, 
two years; E. T. Curnick, present pastor. 

L. C. Berry, having been elected to the presi- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



dency of a college, his year was filled out by Dr. 
Lynch, then president of Asbury Female college, 
now DePauw college, of this city. Jatnes Hill 
was the first preacher after the pastorate was 
changed from two years to three. One of the 
most notable revivals in this church took place 
under his administration. Other churches also 
had an unusual awakening about this time, such 
a one as the cit> had never before witnessed. 
Though some have fallen away, there are very 
many persons in the various churches who date 
their religious life from that period, and whose 
conduct has evinced the sincerity and reality of 
the change. James Hill has been a remarkably 
successful minister. 

The presiding elders who have served the 
church in this district are as follows: \V. McK. 
Hester, Daniel Mclntire, William C. Smith, 
John Kerns, William V. Daniels, John J. 
Hight, C. B. Davidson, John Kiger, Edward 
R. Ames and Enoch G. Wood. During the 
years the first of these were in active service 
there were no railroads in Indiana; they went to 
their various appointments on horseback, carry- 
ing the needed clothing and books in their sad- 
dle-bags behind them. Many of the most noted 
preachers composed their sermons while slowly 
making their way through dense forests along 
some Indian trail. From an old manuscript it 
is ascertained that the salary of the pastors, in- 
cluding rent of the house, for the years 1840-45 
averaged $461. The rent was $65 per annum. 
The salary of Bishop Ames, then a presiding 
elder residing in New Albany, was about the 
same. The amount paid by Wesley chapel as 
her share of his claim in the year 1845 was 

$55-4°- 

The Indiana conference then included the 
whole State, and a district was, in some cases, 
halt as large as the conterence now is. 

Weddings in churches were not so common in 
the earlier years of the church as at present. Prob- 
ably the first marriage in the Centenary church was 
that of Mr. Augustus Bradley, yet living, and 
with his worthy wife still a faithful worker in the 
church. This event took place September 13, 
1846. Calvin Ruter, then superannuated, and a 
very noted minister, officiated at the wedding. 

The location of the church is on the north 
side of Spring street, between Upper Third and 
Fourth. 



CENTENARY SUNDAY SCHOOL. 

Immediately on the opening of Centenary 
church the Sunday-school was organized. The 
first superintendent was Robert Downey. He is 
still living and resides at Chicago, Illinois. He 
was an old superintendent, having filled that 
office in Wesley chapel as far back as 1829. 
The following is a list of the superintendents, 
though probably not in the exact order in which 
they served: Robert Downey, Dr. E. S. Leon- 
ard, James E. Sage, James Johnson, Dr. R. R. 
Town, George A. Chase, John N. Wright, M. M. 
Hurley, John C. Davie, Jefferson Conner, Henry 
Beharrel, Sr., Dr. Thomas H. Rucker, Jared C. 
Jocelyn, John D. Rodgers, J. H. Conner, James 
Pierce, William W. May. 

The first secretary of Centenary Sunday-school 
was Louis W. Stoy, and the first librarian was 
J. R. Parker. Andrew Weir was secretary for 
about five years, but by lar the senior in this 
office is J. R. Parker, who served the Sunday- 
school as secretary about twenty years in all, 
leaving that place and assuming the one he now 
holds about a year since. 

For a number of years the Sunday-school was 
held in the basement, but the room was so dark 
and uncomfortable that, for a few years, the 
school was held in the audience room above. 
In the year 1867 the floor of the old room was 
lowered about four feet, iron columns were sub- 
stituted for the old wooden ones, and the whole 
interior refitted, so that it is now one of the 
neatest Sunday-school rooms in the city. 

The managers of the school from the begin- 
ning took an active part in the uniform lesson 
movement, at once adopted the system, and lent 
their in influence introducing it elsewhere. Cen- 
tenary is entitled to the credit of having one of 
the oldest and best sustained teachers' meetings 
in the State of Indiana. 

MAIN STREET METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

This is an offspring of Wesley chapel, and 
was established about 1847, being first called 
Roberts' chapel, in honor of Bishop Roberts, 
who was serving in this part of the State at that 
time, and who was a very popular and earnest 
worker in the church. As the old church, 
Wesley chapel was generally known, before it 
received its present name, as the "Old Ship," so 
this little chapel was often called the "Yawl." 



190 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



At first it was a "mission," or simply a Sunday 
school, established here because there were many 
children in the neighborhood that the good 
people of the church hoped to bring under the 
influences of the church. The church owned a 
lot here, and about the date above mentioned, a 
small frame house was purchased, moved upon 
the lot and a Sunday-school opened. This 
school was continued with marked success for 
several years, and meanwhile preaching was oc- 
casionally had at the house. As Methodism 
grew and strengthened, and the other two 
churches became filled with members, regular 
preaching was maintained at Roberts' chapel and 
a separate church organized there. By the aid 
of the present church and the people generally 
the present neat brick church edifice was erected 
in 1877, at a cost of something more than four 
thousand dollars. The total value of church 
property now here, including parsonage, is about 
six thousand dollars. The membership at pres- 
ent is one hundred and twenty-eight, and the 
Sunday-school, established in 1847, is still in a 
flourishing condition. 

The church is located on Main street, between 
Lower Fifth and Sixth streets. 

VINCENNES STREET METHODIST EPISCOPAL 
CHURCH. 

This church is located on the corner of Mar- 
ket and Vincennes streets, and was formerly 
known as the Ebenezer church. This church 
was erected to accommodate the Methodists of 
the town of Providence, mentioned elsewhere. 
Epaphras Jones undertook to build a town here 
and gathered about him a few settlers, among 
them the family of Grahams, who were Method- 
ists. For many years the Methodists of this 
part of the town and city attended the Wesley 
chapel and the Centenary, but the nearest of 
these two churches was a mile away, and a de- 
sire was thus created for a church nearer home ; 
and the Methodists up here especially .felt the 
need of a Sabbath school in the neighborhood. 
There were many children who could not or did 
not go to the Sabbath school down town, so 
Mrs. Ferdinand Graham (now Mrs. Inwood and 
yet living) determined to try starting a Sabbath 
school in her own house. This she successfully 
accomplished, about 1850, with about fifteen 
children to start with. This was the beginning 
of a Sabbath school that has kept up in this 



neighborhood from that day to this. The school 
soon increased to foity or more scholars; more 
than her dwelling could well accommodate, and 
thus it was determined by the people of the 
neighborhood to erect a church, not only for the 
accommodation of this flourishing school, but for 
preaching also. A subscription paper was circu- 
lated and the money for building the present 
frame church soon raised. It was erected in 
1 85 1, and since that has been repaired and 
added to somewhat. This church grew and 
flourished, and became a large church compara- 
tively, but probably received its death blow when 
the Johns Street church was erected, about 
1857. This latter church, standing between the 
Vincennes Street church and the Centenary, 
drew to it the larger part of the congregation. 
One pastor served both churches for a time. 
After some years this church was unable to pay 
its pastor and the society disbanded. After this 
the church building was rented to the German 
Methodists for five years, and they undertook to 
build up a church here, but also failed, keeping 
it only two years. There has been no preaching 
by the Methodists here for several, years. The 
Sabbath school has for some years been in the 
hands of the Presbyterians, who rented the 
church and established a mission. The school 
numbers about forty or fifty scholars and is reg- 
ularly attended. One of the earliest preachers 
in this church was an eccentric character named 
Garrison. One of his peculiarities was that he 
would not accept any pay for preaching ; he did 
not believe in ministers laboring for money ; he 
thought the Lord would provide for him if he 
was faithful in preaching the gospel. He was 
frequently urged to take pay for his preaching 
but refused it ; the consequence was he was 
very poor and was compelled to give up preach- 
ing for fear of starvation. 

JOHNS STREET METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

This building is located on Eleventh street, 
between Spring and Market. It is a substantial 
brick, and was built about 1857. Mr. John 
Conner donated the lot upon which it stands, 
and its first members and originators were mem- 
bers of Centenary and Ebenezer churches. The 
donation of the lot and the number of Method- 
ists living in the neighborhood were the induce- 
ments for building the church, though its estab- 
lishment probably caused the downfall of Eben- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



191 



ezer. Its first minister was William B. Mason, 
and some of its first members were Mrs. William 
Akin, Miss Sue Shively, Mrs. Genung, Mrs. Kate 
Petre, James Turner, Mrs. Martha Turner, and 
others. Eleventh street is sometimes known as 
Johns street, so named in honor of Mr. John 
Conner, the donor of the church lot. At the 
time the church was built Rev. John Krciger was 
presiding elder on this circuit, and the same gen- 
tleman is at this time acting in the same capacity. 
J. Ravenscraft and Robert Kemp, both now 
ministers, were also among the original members, 
as was also James Forman, who was the first 
Sabbath-school superintendent. Mr. Kemp was 
also among the first superintendents of the Sab- 
bath-school. 

The ministers of this church have been as fol- 
low: William B. Mason, J. H. Ketcham, Joseph 
Wharton, Lee Welker, Benjamin F. Torr, George 
Telle, Charles Cross, J. J. Hite, John Julian, 
J. H. Klippinger, George F. Culmer, William 
McKee Hestor, T. D. Welker, Ferdinand C. 
Iglehart, Henry J. Talbot, Hickman N. King, 
Francis Walker, E. T. Curmick, and Dr. Walter 
Underwood, the present minister. The present 
membership of this church is about two hundred 
and thirty. 

The organization of the Sabbath-school was 
coeval with that of the church, and has been 
kept up with a good degree of success, the mem- 
bership at present being about one hundred and 
twenty. 

KINGSLEY MISSION. 

This religious institution was established 
through the munificence and great interest in the 
Methodist church of Hon. W. C. DePauw, a 
wealthy and influential citizen of New Albany. 
In 1864 the Episcopalians, desiring to build a 
new church, sold their old one to the Lutherans, 
who in turn sold it to Mr. UePauw, who caused 
it to be moved out on Vincennes street, where 
he is the owner of considerable properly. He 
placed the building on one of his vacant lots, 
put it in good repair, and opened a. "mission 
school," or Sunday-school. There were many 
children in this part of this city that did not at- 
tend the Sabbath -schools down town, and Mr. 
DePauw hoped that much good could be ac- 
complished here by the establishment of a 
school. He has not, probably, been disap- 
pointed, having labored faithfully himself for the 



establishment and permanent success of the 
school. He has been the superintendent of the 
school since it started, attending every Sunday 
afternoon, with Mr. J. H. Conner as assistant. 

The mission was named in honor of Bishop 
Kingsley. Meetings tor preaching and prayer 
are frequently held at the mission house, and 
like the other mission mentioned it may, as it is 
hoped, become an established and regularly or- 
ganized church. 

THE GERMAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

The organization of this church occurred 
prior to 1850. Before this the German Method- 
ists had never felt themselves strong enough to 
support a church, and had been attending the 
English churches. The originators of the first 
organization were the Dirkings, the Meistors, the 
Ehrharts, and probably some others. The fol- 
lowing list of names appears on the church rec- 
ord: Frederick Dirking and his wife Anna, John 
G. Smith, Frank Graf, Agnes Graf, Christian 
Dirking, Catharine Dirking, Eva Graf, Frederick 
Sieveking, Christiana Sieveking, William Arns- 
mann, Catharine Arnsman, George Ehrhart, Anna 
Ehrhart, Gerhard Niehaus, Anna Maria Niehaus, 
Adelheit Neihaus, Barbara Newbaur, Catharine 
Fuhrmann, Conrad Helm, Barbara Helm, Simon 
Knauer, Anna M. Knauer, John Knauer, An- 
dreas Menzinger, Gotleib Menzinger, John Mor- 
gen, Elizabeth Morgen, Anna C. Zeilmann, 
Henry Jesberg, Phillip Seitz, Jacob Green, 
Phillip Sharf, T. Seitz, and Frederick Dauber. 

The few German Methodists at first met for 
prayer and conference at each other's houses, 
and after forming a class, their meetings were 
held in one of the city school-houses until 1863, 
when their present church edifice was erected. 
They have had but three regular pastors, the first 
being Rev. Mr. Heller, the second, Rev. Mr. 
Moot, and the third and present pastor, Rev. C. 
Fritchie. The church building is a neat, sub- 
stantial brick located on Fifth street, between 
Market and Spring. It is 40 x 70 feet in size, 
high ceiling, and comfortably furnished. The 
society is in a flourishing condition, having, at 
present, about one hundred and seventy-five 
members. 

The Sunday school was organized in the early 
days of the church organization, and still contin- 
ues in a flourishing condition, with a membership 
of one hundred and fifty. 



192 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



COLORED METHODIST CHURCHES. 

In addition to the above Methodist churches 
there are in the city two colored churches of this 
denomination, known as Jones chapel and Cros- 
by chapel. The colored element has always 
been an important one in the city. In an early 
day there was quite a community of.colored peo- 
ple in what was known as West Union, north of 
the town of New Albany. Here the first colored 
Methodist church was organized about 1840, and 
flourished more than a quarter of a century. 
Their services were conducted in the houses 
of the members for a few years, when they erect- 
ed a frame church, known as Bridges chapel. 
In 1859 a few colored people of this congrega- 
tion having located in New Albany, determined 
to establish a church here. They first organized 
with ten members, and their meetings for several 
years were held in their houses and in the school 
house. About 1872, the old church in West 
Union having been abandoned, was taken down, 
and a portion of it used in building the present 
church, known as 

CROSBY CHAPEL, 

so named in honor of Bishop Crosby. It is located 
at the corner of Lower Second and Elm streets. 
The first pastor of this church, after locating in 
New Albany, was Rev. W. A. Dove. He was 
succeeded by Rev. Charles Burch, F. Myers, R. 
K. Bridges, J. W. Malone, T. Crosby, Jesse Bass, 
Morris Lewis, Richard Titus, A. Smith, and H. 
H. Thompson, the present pastor. The present 
church building cost about one thousand dollars. 
The present membership is about one hundred. 
The Sunday-school of this church was organized 
in West Union about the time of the church or- 
ganization, and has been kept up since. 

JONES CHAPEL, 

named in honor of Bishop Jones, is located on 
the corner of Lafayette and Spring streets, the 
proper name being Zion African Methodist Epis- 
copal church. Mr. Jones is at present and has 
been for years a very popular bishop. An old 
colored preacher from Louisville, known as 
Father R. R. Briddle, was the principal organizer 
ot this church, meetings for organization being 
held on the corner of Lower Fourth and Main 
streets, in what is known as London hall. He 
remained with the church four years, and was 
followed by Elder Bunch, during whose pastor- 



ate the present church building was erected in 
1872. The ministers who followed Mr. Bunch 
were Elders Foroaan, J. B. Johnson, Samuel 
Sherman, and William Chambers, the present in- 
cumbent. The membership of this church is 
about one hundred and fifty, and the church 
property is valued at $2,000. The organization 
of the Sunday-school was coeval with that of the 
church, and now numbers about forty scholars. 

FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

The following history of this church is chiefly 
abridged from a centennial sermon delivered 
June 25, 1876, by the pastor, Rev. Samuel Conn, 
D. D.: 

In 1816 there was but one settled Presbyterian 
pastor within the limits of Indiana and Illinois 
Territories, and half a dozen missionaries. New 
Albany was a village of three years old with a 
population of about two hundred. On the 16th 
of February, 1816, the few Christians of the 
Presbyterian faith and order living at New 
Albany and Jeffersonville met at the latter place 
and organized the Union church of New 
Albany and Jeffersonville. The minister offici- 
ating was Rev. James McGready, a Scotch-Irish- 
man from Pennsylvania, who, after laboring in 
the Carolinas and Kentucky, had been commis- 
sioned by the general assembly to do missionary 
work and found churches in the Territory of 
Indiana. The Lord's supper was administered, 
and the following members were enrolled: Gov- 
ernor Thomas Pos°y and wife, John Gibson and • 
wife, James M. Tunstall, James Scribner, Joel 
Scribner, Phoebe Scribner (the mother of Joel), 
Esther Scribner (the sister of Joel and afterward 
Mrs. Hale), and Anna M. Gibson. Thomas 
Posey and Joel Scribner were chosen elders. 
A little later Mary Meriwether (wife of Dr. 
Meriwether) and Mary Wilson (a widow) were 
added to the number. 

Within a short period the Jeffersonville mem- 
bers all withdrew. Thomas Posey and wife re- 
moved to Vincennes; John Gibson and wife 
removed to Pittsburg, and united with the church 
there; and James Tunstall, Mary Wilson and 
Anna M. Gibson joined the church at Louisville; 
leaving only four members, all of whom resided 
at New Albany, namely: Joel, James, Phcebe, 
and Esther Scribner. 

The church having thus lost the character of 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



193 



a "union church," it was proper that it should 
be re-named and re-organized. The members 
assembled, therefore, on the 7th of December, 
181 7, in the back parlor of Mrs. Phcebe Scrib- 
ner's house, being what is now the middle part 
of the old High Street house, or Commercial 
hotel. The moderator of the meeting was the 
Rev. D. C. Banks, pastor of the church at Louis- 
ville, by whom many of the earlier churches of 
Indiana were organized. It was then "Resolved 
that, as all the members of this church residing 
at Jeffersonville have withdrawn, and all the 
present members reside in New Albany, the 
Union church shall, from this time, be known as 
the First Presbyterian church of New Albany." 
At the same time Jacob Marcell and Hannah, 
his wife, were received as members of this 
church, from the church at Elizabethtown, New 
Jersey; and Stephen Beers and Lydia, his wife, 
and Mary Scribner (wife of Joel), were received 
on letter from the church at Louisville, Ken- 
tucky. The church then proceeded to vote for 
two additional elders, and Jacob Marcell and 
Stephen Beers were unanimously elected and 
subsequently ordained and installed as ruling 
elders. These, together with Joel Scribner, con- 
stituted the session. 

The Lord's supper was administered as is 
usual, in connection with the re-organization, and 
"there being no communion service, two large 
pewter plates, belonging to Mrs. Phcebe Scribner, 
were used for the bread, and, being of a very 
fine quality, were considered very appropriate." 

The church closed the year 181 7 with nine 
members, whose names have all been mentioned. 
The church had no regular preaching until the 
autumn of 18 18, but were dependent upon occa- 
sional supplies from missionaries and others. In 
October, 1818, Rev. Isaac Reed began his labors 
as stated supply with this congregation, and 
remained until October, 18 19. During his min- 
istry twenty-five members were received, and at 
the close of 1819 there were thirty-two in com- 
munion. Up to the time of Mr. Reed's arrival 
there had been no additions to the church from 
the world, but his work was so greatly blessed 
that of the twenty-five received during his stay 
fourteen were admitted on profession of their 
faith, the first of such additions being Calvin 
Graves, received on examination October 3, 
)8i8. Mrs. Elizabeth Scribner — then the widow 



of Nathaniel Scribner, and afterward the wife of 
Dr. Asahel Clapp — and the late Dr. William A. 
Scribner, were among those who were received 
in 1819, upon evidence of a change of heart. 

Under Mr. Reed, a small church building was 
also erected — a very plain frame structure, about 
forty feet long and thirty feet wide, having un- 
plastered walls, and with rough board floors, seats, 
and pulpit. The congregation had been occu- 
pying it only a few months when it was destroyed 
by fire. After this they worshiped, for a time, 
with the Methodist brethren, and at the house of 
Mr. Joel Scribner — the present home of Mrs. 
Dr. Scribner. The congregation becoming too 
large for Mr. Scribner's house, they afterward 
went to the old court-house — a rough, half-fin- 
ished building, which remained in that condition 
until it was replaced with a new one. 

In February, 18 19, a confession of faith and a 
solemn covenant were adopted by the congrega- 
tion, and these were to be subscribed by all ap- 
plicants for admission. The confession included 
all the points of the Calvinistic system, in its 
strict integrity. A few years later a simpler and 
briefer confession was substituted, but, like the 
former one, it contained the main doctrines of 
the confession of faith. 

In this year, also, a Sabbath-school was organ- 
ized in connection with this church, which is 
believed to have been the first Sabbath-school in 
Indiana, and was certainly the first in New 
Albany. The distinguished honor of inaugurat- 
ing this enterprise belongs to Mrs. Nathaniel 
Scribner and to Miss Catharine Silliman — after- 
ward Mrs. Hillyer, and a sister of Mrs. Lapsley. 

At the close of Mr. Reed's year he was com- 
pelled to abandon the field on account of the in- 
ability of the church to support him, Nathaniel 
Scribner, the principal supporter, having been 
removed by death. The church was again 
dependent upon occasional supplies until 1822. 
The congregation, however, met regularly for 
worship on the Sabbath, one of the elders lead- 
ing and reading a sermon. These meetings were 
said to have been very profitable, and were 
remembered with the greatest interest by those 
who engaged in them. At the close of the year 
T820 there were thirty-five members; in 1821 
thirty-three, and the same number at the close of 
1822. 

After various unsuccessful attempts to secure 



194 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



a minister, the church succeeded in employing 
the Rev. Ezra H. Day. He commenced his 
labors as stated supply in October, 1822, and 
died at his post, September 22, 1823. At the 
end of that year the number of communicants 
was reduced to twenty-four. 

The month following the death of Mr. Day 
the congregation met with another grievous blow 
in the loss by death of Joel Scribner, a ruling 
elder from the beginning, and the life and main- 
stay of the church. 

The church was now seeing its darkest days, 
the loss of nine prominent members by death 
and removal leaving it in a truly destitute and 
afflicted condition. Of the twenty-four mem- 
bers remaining there was not one, actually re- 
siding in New Albany, who would pray in public. 
It was then that the female members came to the 
front, and several ladies, among whom were Mrs. 
Hale, Mrs. Ayers, Mrs. Robinson, and Mrs. H. 
W. Shields, met in Mrs. Hale's room at the High 
Street house to organize a female prayer-meeting 
and gather up whatever material might be left. 
This prayer-meeting has been a source of blessed 
influence and spiritual power during almost the 
whole of our church's history. 

The church remained without the regular ser- 
vices of a minister from the death of Mr. Day 
until July, 1824, when the Rev. John T. Hamil- 
ton became stated supply, and acted in that ca- 
pacity until February, 1828. ' Mr. Hamilton gave 
the congregation one sermon in two weeks and 
received a salary of $160 a year, of which $100 
were contributed by Mr. Elias Avers. Near the 
close of his ministry here, Mr. Hamilton re- 
moved his family to Louisville, where he engaged 
in teaching, and preached there three times while 
he preached once here. Thirteen members were 
received under him, of whom seven were ad- 
mitted upon profession of faith and six upon 
certificate from other churches. At the date of 
his resignation there were twenty-seven members 
in the communion of the church. 

It was during Mr. Hamilton's ministry that the 
Female Bible society of this church was formed, 
an institution which has had a vigorous and use- 
ful existence and which still survives. It was 
organized at the house of Mrs. Phoebe Scribner, 
September 20, 1824. The first officers were 
Mrs. Margaret Robinson, directress; Mrs. Ayers, 
treasurer; Mrs. Hannah W. Shields, secretary. 



Mrs. Joel Scribner, Mrs. Abner Scribner, and 
Mrs. Jones constituted the executive committee. 
The names of sixty-six ladies appear upon the 
original list of subscribers. At first it was nom- 
inally a union society, but soon passed entirely 
into the hands of the Presbyterians, although 
the name of The Female Bible Society of New 
Albany, was not changed for that of The^Female 
Bible Society of the First Presbyterian church 
of New Albany, until 1844. From the beginning 
until now, this society has been the means of 
great good, and a very large amount of money 
has been raised for the dissemination of the 
word of God. Besides the regular annual col- 
lections, extraordinary offerings were frequently 
made. I may mention a jubilee offering of $100 
in 1866, in thankful acknowledgment of the com- 
pletion of the fiftieth year of the American Bible 
society; and one of $267 in 1868, for the pur- 
pose of sending Bibles to Spain, then happily 
opened for the first time for the free circulation 
of the Scriptures. 

The next installed pastor was the Rev. Ashbel 
S. Wells. He was born in Vermont in 1798; 
was graduated at Hamilton college, New York, 
in 1824. After a short course in Auburn Theo- 
logical seminary, he was ordained as an evangel- 
ist by the presbytery of Oneida, and came with 
his wife, as the pioneer of the Western Fraternity 
in Auburn seminary, and as a missionary of the 
American Home Missionary society, and under 
the direction of the Indiana Missionary society, 
to the village of New Albany, where he arrived 
in May, 1828. He was warmly welcomed by the 
few remaining members of the church, and 
earnestly desired to stay and labor with them. At 
a meeting in the court-house Mr. Ayers proposed 
that Mr. Wells' salary should be raised by sub- 
scription, and the whole amount of four hundred 
dollars for the first year was subscribed upon the 
spot. There were at this time only twenty-seven 
members and very little wealth. 

After laboring among the congregation for six 
months, Mr. Wells was installed as pastor, by 
Salem presbytery, December 17, 1828, Rev. John 
T Hamilton preaching the installation sermon. 
Mr. Wells' ministry was the turning point in the 
history of this church. He received one hun- 
dred and thirty-eight members into its com- 
munion; at the close of his pastorate, the num- 
ber of members was one hundred and thirty-one. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



'95 



The new church having been so far completed 
that it could be used, was dedicated February 26, 
1830. The dedicatory sermon was preached by 
the Rev. J. M. Dickey, the father of the Pres- 
byterian church in Indiana; and Rev. Leander 
Cobb assisted in the service. The church was 
situated on State street, between Market and 
Spring, on the ground now occupied by Mr. 
Mann's mill, and Mr. Loughmiller's store. It 
was a one-story brick building, with a steeple and 
a bell, and was very creditable to a small place 
and congregation. 

In April, 1832, Mr. Wells requested leave of 
presbytery to resign his pastoral charge, and the 
relation was accordingly dissolved. At the same 
time Messrs. Ayers and Adams resigned their 
office as ruling elders. 

After Mr. Wells' departure the church secured 
a new minister almost immediately. On Sabbath, 
i2thof June, 1832, the congregation met after 
public worship, and gave a call to the Rev. 
Samuel K. Sneed to become the pastor of the 
church, and he entered immediately upon his 
duties. Mr. Sneed's ministry was a period of 
great activity and continuous growth, but a time 
also in which there was frequent occasion for 
discipline. Under his ministrations one hun- 
dred and thirty-nine members were added to the 
church. 

One of the first things to be done was to 
strengthen the session, William Plumer being the 
only active elder remaining. On October 7, 
1832, six additional elders were chosen, viz: 
James R. Shields, Jacob Simmers, Harvey Scrib- 
ner, Charles Woodruff, John Bushnell, and 
Mason C. Fitch. 

In November, 1835, ^ r -' Sneed began preach- 
ing at a private house in the neighborhood of 
the present Mount Tabor church; usually, on 
every alternate Tuesday evening. At the same 
time he formed a Bible class of young persons, 
who met on Sabbath afternoon. Many serious 
impressions were produced by these means, and 
in a short time almost all the members of the 
class were indulging in hope in Christ. In the 
summer of 1836 a few of the members of the 
New Albany church purchased three acres of 
ground for about $60; and an acre more was 
donated by an unconverted man whose farm 
adjoined. This plat of ground was set apart as 
a camp-ground and solemnly named Mount Ta- 



bor, in commemoration of the place where our 
Saviour was supposed to have been transfigured. 
Camp meetings were held here annually, and 
sometimes twice a year, until 1843. 1 ne f" rst 
camp-meeting was held in June, 1836, when 
quite a number were awakened and converted, 
among them the donor of part of the land. An- 
other was held in September, 1837; and, as the 
result, thirteen persons were received into the 
church upon examination. Upon the division 
of the church the camp-meetings were continued 
under the auspices of the Second church, and 
the direction of Mr. Sneed, and a house of wor- 
ship was erected at Mount Tabor in 1838. 

Although Mr. Sneed had received a call at the 
beginning of his labors in this church, he was not 
installed as pastor until June 14, 1837. Diffi- 
culties and dissatisfaction, chiefly of a personal 
nature, and involving a difference of view be- 
tween the pastor and a portion of the people, led 
to a division of the church in November, 1837. 
The presbytery granted permission for the organ- 
ization of a Second church; and one hundred 
and three of the members, including Jacob Sim- 
mers, one of the elders, went into the new enter- 
prise. A committee of presbytery was appointed 
to make an equitable distribution of the church 
property. The Second church became con- 
nected with the New School body. An excellent 
state of feeling has always been preserved, how- 
ever, between the two churches; and into the 
same brotherly circle came the Third church, 
upon its organization, in 1853. 

Mr. Sneed remained with the Second church 
until 1843, when he removed and took charge of 
the Walnut Street church, in Evansville, as stated 
supply. 

At the division, the First church was left with 
seventy-one members, including Elders William 
Plumer, M. C. Fitch, J. R. Shields, Charles 
Woodruff, and John Bushnell. Elias Ayers and 
Benjamin Adams, who had retired from active 
service in the eldership, were also among the 
number. 

December 18, 1837, Rev. W. C. Anderson, of 
the presbytery of Washington, was unanimously 
elected pastor, at a salary of $800; and a call 
was forwarded to him, signed by Rev. W. L. 
Breckenridge. On the first Sabbath of February, 
1838, he entered upon his duties as stated sup- 
ply, but seems never to have been installed pastor. 



196 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



The church was entirely united and ready for 
work. At the end of the first pastoral year 
thirty-six persons had been received into mem- 
bership, and the number of communicants 
amounted to one hundred and two; the attend- 
ance at Sabbath services and prayer-meetings had 
doubled; the tone of piety in the church was 
plainly elevated, and the benevolent contribu- 
tions were greatly increased. The second year 
was likewise prosperous; twenty-seven members 
were added to the church; perfect union pre- 
vailed in the session and congregation; no exer- 
cise of discipline was required; and, though it 
was a year of great financial embarrassment, the 
contributions of the church were larger than 
ever before, amounting to $2,865, including 
$1,500 for the support of the minister. The 
third year, however, was one of great deadness, 
the pastor being sick and unable to attend to his 
duties during a large part of the time. Ninety- 
seven persons were added to the roll during Mr. 
Anderson's connection with the church. Ill 
health compelled him to resign his position in 
November, 1841, and his loss was deeply re- 
gretted by all. 

Upon Mr. Anderson's departure the church 
was without a pastor for a year, but was supplied 
by Drs. Wood and Matthews, professors in the 
theological seminary. Through their faithful 
labors, this year of vacancy was one of the rich- 
est in results in the history of the church, forty- 
nine members being received, chiefly upon pro- 
fession of faith. 

In December, 1842, Rev. F. S. Howe was 
unanimously elected pastor, at a salary of $600. 
He never accepted the call, but continued to 
supply the church until April, 1844. During his 
stay twenty-three persons were added to the 
church. 

The Rev. Daniel Stewart was elected pastor, 
with the usual unanimity of this church, June 6, 
1844, the salary being increased to $800. Mr. 
Stewart was graduated at Union college, New 
York, in 1833, and at Princeton Theological 
seminary in 1838; and, previous to coming to 
New Albany, he had passed through a short 
pastorate at Balston Spa, New York. During 
his pastorate here one hundred and three mem- 
bers were received, the last year being one of 
precious revival. 

With the sanction of the session, the pastor 



began, in 1848, giving two lectures a week in the 
theological seminary, upon ecclesiastical history. 
In 1849 he made application for a dissolution of 
the pastoral relation, that he might accept a reg- 
ular professorship in the seminary; and the con- 
gregation, expressing the highest regard for him 
and undiminished confidence, reluctantly acqui- 
t esced in his decision. He remained in the the- 
ological seminary until 1853, when the professors 
resigned and gave the institution, which had been 
under synodical control, into the hands of the 
general assembly. 

Rev. John M. Stevenson, D. D, was the next 
pastor. He was born May 14, 181 2, in Wash- 
ington county, Pennsylvania; was graduated at 
Jefferson college, Pennsylvania, in 1836, and was 
ordained April 14, 1842, while professor of Greek 
in Ohio university. He resigned his professor- 
ship and took charge of the Presbyterian church 
in Troy, Ohio. Having lost his health at Troy 
he resigned his charge in 1846, and accepted an 
agency for the American Tract society. He ar- 
rived at New Albany September 15, 1849, an( i 
began his labors at a salary of $i,ooo. 

An outpouring of the spirit began in De- 
cember, 1853, which lasted for several months, 
and resulted in the addition of a large number 
of members to the church. 

A new church edifice began to be spoken of as 
early as 1850, and preliminary steps were taken 
for its erection. The old church on State street 
was torn down in the spring of 1851; and the 
congregation worshiped through that summer in 
the second story of Mr. James H. Shields' iron- 
store, on State street, between Main and the 
river. In the fall of 185 1 they began holding 
services in the lecture room, which had been fin- 
ished. The present church building was com- 
pleted, with the exception of the spire, in 1854, 
and dedicated in the spring of that year. The 
spire and bell were added fifteen years later, 
during Dr. Anderson's second term of service. 

The whole number of members received un- 
der Dr. Stevenson was two hundred and one. 
His pastorate was the longest in the history of 
the church, lasting nearly eight years. He re- 
signed in June, 1857, in order that he might ac- 
cept the position of secretary of the American 
Tract society. He was an excellent preacher 
and a man of superior executive ability. 

Dr. Thomas E. Thomas occupied the pulpit 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



197 



for several months after Dr. Stevenson's resigna- 
tion, but relinquished his position and left the 
town in April, 1858, to the great regret of the 
congregation. During his stay James W. Sprowle 
and Silas C. Day were chosen elders, and were 
inducted into office January 10, 1858. On the 
same day the first deacons of the church were 
ordained and installed. These were Thomas S. 
Hall, William C. Shipman, Alfred W. Bently, 
James H. Shields, and Miles D. Warren. 

Rev. R. L. Breck was unanimously elected 
pastor July 19, 1858, and was installed on the 
17th of April, 1859. He was a man of most 
gentle and courteous manners, a good pastor, 
and highly successful and popular, until the 
beginning of the war. His feelings, however, 
were with the South, and, on this account, a con- 
tinuance of the relation became undesirable, and 
it was dissolved, in May, 1861. During his 
pastorate one hundred and five members were 
added to the roll. 

After an interval of more than a year, in 
which Rev. S. S. Potter supplied the church, Dr. 
J. P. Safford took his place in the succession, 
being chosen pastor in October, 1862. His elec- 
tion was unanimous, like that of all his prede- 
cessors and successors. He was born at Zanes- 
ville, Ohio, September 22, 1823; was graduated 
at Ohio University in 1843, ar >d at Princeton 
Theological seminary in 1852, and was ordained 
pastor of the First Presbyterian church, Frankfort, 
Kentucky, February 19, 1855. He began his 
work in this church in December, 1862, and was 
installed on the 23d of April, 1863. One hun- 
dred and thirty-four members were received by 
Dr. Safford into the church by examination and 
certificate. 

A short time before Dr. Safford's arrival, the 
Mission chapel Sunday-school began its career. 
It was organized by A. W. Bentley, May, 1861, 
in the United Brethren church, corner of Spring 
and Lower Seventh streets, and was intended for 
soldiers' children and the destitute classes. In 
August, 1862, the school was compelled to seek 
new quarters; it was held for a few weeks in the 
lecture room of this church, and afterwards in the 
second story of a building on the corner of Main 
and Lower Fourth streets. In 1866 a small 
building, which had been attached to one of the 
Government hospitals, was donated for its use; 
and about thirteen hundred dollars were con- 



tributed by various persons in the city, for the 
purpose of moving it to its present location, 
making additions to it and fitting it up. After 
1866 the school was supported by this church, 
which also supplied its officers and most of its 
teachers; but it did not come under the control 
of the officers of this church until 1870, when 
they purchased the ground and assumed all the 
responsibilities. From its beginning until 1870 
Mr. Bentley was the efficient superintendent. 
Since then it has had a series of excellent 
superintendents and a corps of devoted teachers. 
The Mission-school bell is the same one which 
formerly summoned the worshipers to the old 
State Street church, and it has lost none of its 
music. It was the first large bell cast in New 
Albany, and is said to be one of the best bells, 
for its weight, in the country. 

Dr. Safford gave up the pastoral charge of this 
congregation in June, 1867, and removed to 
Ohio. 

In August, 1867, Dr. W. C. Anderson, a 
former minister of the church, returned and re- 
mained as stated supply until July, 1869. Eighty- 
three members were received during his term of 
service. A rich outpouring of God's spirit was 
received in 1868. 

Dr. Anderson was a man greatly beloved. He 
was a wise expounder of the word of God and an 
interesting preacher. Upon his removal from 
New Albany, he spent some time in Europe in 
the unavailing search for health, and died in 
Kansas, August, 1870, much lamented. 

Rev. Samuel Conn, D. D., began his regular 
labors with this church on the first Sabbath in 
July, 1870, and was installed on Sabbath even- 
ing, October 30, 1870, Rev. Dr. Lapsley, of the 
Presbytery of Nashville, preaching, by request, 
the installation sermon. Within this pastorate, 
to July, 1876, ninety-four members were added, 
of whom fifty-one were received upon examina- 
tion, and forty-three upon certificate. Hand- 
some and commodious church parlors were at- 
tached to the lecture-room; additions have twice 
been made to the Mission-school building, and a 
comfortable parsonage was purchased. The 
present membership of the church [January, 
1882,] is about two hundred and twenty-five, 
and the strength of the Sabbath-school one 
hundred and forty members. The officers of 
the church are as follows : Pastor, Rev. J. W. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Cloakey ; ruling elders, John Bushnell, Silas C. 
Day, Harvey A. Scribner, James M. Day, and 
John F. Gebhart; deacons, James R. Riely, 
Robert G. McCord, Samuel W. Vance, James 
W. Snodgrass, and John E. Crane; trustees, 
John Bushnell, William S. Culbertson, and Silas 
C. Day. 

William H. Day is superintendent of the Sab- 
bath-school, with Mrs. Mary L. Bragdon as as- 
sistant. Of the Mission Sabbath-school John F. 
Gebhart is superintendent, and Mrs. Charlotte 
P. Needham assistant. 

Forty young men or more, who subsequently 
became ambassadors for Christ, were members 
of this church for a longer or shorter time. Some 
are scattered over the United States, and others 
laboring on missionary ground. A majority of 
them were connected with it only during their 
course in the Theological seminary. Among 
this class the most conspicuous name is that of 
Dr. Jonathan Edwards, a man of commanding 
intellect, who has occupied various high posi- 
tions. Others, although brought to Christ else- 
where, had their home here and were connected 
with the church for a longer time. It does not 
take a long memory to recall Dr. S. F. Scovel, 
for some time chorister here, afterwards the able 
pastor of the First Presbyterian church in Pitts- 
burgh, Pennsylvania, and Joseph S. Potter, a 
missionary in Persia. Still others were trained 
here in the knowledge of Christ, and here made 
their profession of faith in His name. The first 
of these was Allan Graves, who was received 
upon examination in 1828. The next was Dr. 
Charles W. Shields, pastor for some years of the 
Second Presbyterian church of Philadelphia, and 
then professor in the College of New Jersey. 
"A scholar, and a ripe and good one." 

The next was Dr. John M. Worrall, pastor of 
the First Presbyterian church, Covington, Ken- 
tucky, one of the ornaments of the American 
pulpit. Then comes Edward P. Shields, who, 
after spending one year in the New Albany 
seminary, went to Princeton to have the best 
possible back-bone inserted into his theology, 
and fell so in love with the Jersey flats that he 
has clung to them ever since. He became pas- 
tor of the Presbyterian church, Cape Island, 
New Jersey. Others are Edward P. Wood and 
John R. Wood, sons of Dr. James Wood. The 
atter of these two brothers was a man of sweet 



and gentle nature, who died in the bright day- 
dawn of a most promising ministry. 

The total number of communicants in this 
church to July, 1876, was 1,252, of whom 714 
were received upon examination, and 538 upon 
certificate. Four hundred and thirty-five were 
males, and 817 females. 
» The following is a complete list (to the middle 
of 1876) of those who had held the office of 
ruling elder in the First church, with dates of 
their election: 

Thomas Posey, 1816; Joel Scribner, 1816; Jacob Marcell, 
1817; Stephen Beers, 1817; Elias Ayers, 1827; Benjamin 
Adams, 1828; William Plumer, 1831; Mason C. Fitch, 1832; 
Charles Woodruff, 1832; Harvey Scribner, 1832; Jacob Sim- 
mers, 1832; James R. Shields, 1832; John Bushnell, 1832; 
W. A. Scribner, 1847; Pleasant S. Shields, 1847; David 
Hedden, 1847; James W. Sprowle, 1858; Silas C. Day, 1858; 
F. L. Morse, 1870; Thomas Danforth, 1870; Harvey A. 
Scribner, 1870, James M. Day, 1875; John F. Gebhart, 
1875- 

THE SECOND PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

As has been observed from the record of the 
First church, this church came into existence in 
November, 1837. It was organized on the 24th 
of that month by authority of the undivided 
Presbytery of Salem, in session at Livonia, and 
was originally composed of one hundred and 
three members, who had been connected with the 
First church. Of the causes of the serjaration 
Mr. Conn, in the history of the First church, 
merely says: "It is enough to say that difficulties 
and dissatisfaction, chiefly of a personal nature, 
and involving a difference of view between pastor 
and a portion of the people, led to a division." 
This church became what is known asNew-school 
Presbyterian. 

On Sunday, December 3, 1837, the church 
first met for public worship in the court-house. 
Rev. S. K. Sneed, who had been for some time 
pastor of the First church, was the pastor in 
charge, and so continued until 1843. The 
second meeting of this church was held at the 
house of Mr. James Brooks on the 4th of De- 
cember, 1837, at which time the officers of the 
church were elected. On the 5th the presbyterial 
commission appointed to divide the church 
property, assigned to the Second church the fe- 
male seminary on Upper Fourth street, in which 
building, suitably remodeled, religious services 
were held nearly twelve years. This building 
was subsequently disposed of to the German Pres- 
byterians, who used it as a place of worship, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



199 



until their church was merged into other organi- 
zations, after which it was occupied as a German 
school. 

The first communion season of this church 
was observed January 7, 1838, and for several 
years the Lord's Supper was administered every 
month with occasional exceptions, after which it 
was celebrated bi-monthly on the second Sabbath 4 
of the month, beginning with January. 

Camp-meetings were favorably regarded dur- 
ing the earlier history of this church, and were 
repeatedly held amid the beautiful groves of 
Mount Tabor, during which many members 
were added to the church. The church con- 
tinued to increase rapidly in strength until in 
1849 it became evident that more ample accom- 
modations were needed, and the building of the 
present beautiful church on the corner of Main 
and Upper Third streets began that year. It was 
enclosed in this year and the basement first oc- 
cupied for services in the spring of 1850. August 
1, 1852, the whole building having been finished 
and paid for, it was publicly dedicated to the 
service of God, Rev. W. S. Fisher, D. D., 
preaching the dedicatory sermon. The church 
edifice is of brick, one of the finest in the city, 
having a clock in the tower, and cost $24,500. 
In 1853, the growth of the city and congregation 
having made it desirable that the Third Presby- 
terian church should be organized, twenty-four 
members of the Second church were, on the 31st 
of October, at their own request, dismissed for 
that purpose and efficient aid was rendered them 
by the Second church in erecting a house of 
worship. 

In i860 the benevolent efforts of this church 
were thoroughly systematized ; certain causes 
being specified for public presentation at stated 
periods, and in addition a monthly payment be- 
ing solicited from every member in behalf of 
home and foreign missions. The system exer- 
cised has, beyond doubt, greatly augmented the 
charitable gifts of the church. 

A female prayer-meeting was formerly an ele- 
ment of considerable strength in the church, 
and the continued weekly prayer-meeting is a 
never-failing source of spiritual comfort. For 
many years, also, the church has observed a 
week of special prayer near the beginning of the 
new year, and at different periods of its history 
there have been times of more protracted effort. 



It is said that during the great revival of 1842 
one hundred and fifty persons were converted, 
of whom, however, but eighty joined this church, 
the remainder following their preference for 
other denominations. As the fruits of a revival 
in 1849, over fifty new members were received; 
in 1853 seventy-six were received, and in 1867 
thirty-six persons joined during a revival. Up 
to that time the church had received seven hun- 
dred and forty-two persons in all into the church 
since the first organization. Up to the present 
time the whole number enrolled on the church 
books is about one thousand. The present 
membership is about three hundred and sixty. 

It has been customary to grant the pastor an 
annual vacation of six weeks, during which the 
pulpit has usually been filled by ministers resi- 
dent in the city. It was occupied in 1865 for 
several months by Rev. D. M. Cooper, while the 
pastor was in Europe. The church partly sup- 
ported the Rev. T. S. Spencer from February to 
September, 1862, as a city missionary; and in 
February, 1867, they jointly, with the First 
church, employed Rev. William Ellers in that capa- 
city. In seasons of revival, when pastoral cares 
and duties were greatly multiplied, the temporary 
services of many different clergymen were se- 
cured. The eloquence of Rev. Lyman Beecher, 
D. D., gave its charm to some of the camp-meet- 
ings held at Mount Tabor. Rev. J. T Avery 
rendered essential aid during the protracted 
effort in 1842. Similar help was given by Rev. 
James Gallagher in 1849; the Rev. Henry Little, 
D. D., in 1853; Rev. W. W. Atterbury in 1858, 
and Rev. F. R. Gallagher in 1867. 

A Sabbath-school has been maintained from 
the beginning, and has ever been regarded as 
the nursery of the church, from whose classes its 
choicest accessions have been received. The 
management of this institution has always been 
in the hands of the session, and under the care 
of the pastor, through the more immediate con- 
trol of its interests has been exercised by a suc- 
cession of superintendents. In addition to the 
school held every Sabbath in the year in the 
church, mission schools have attracted the con- 
tinual attention of the congregation, and several 
have been established at different times. A 
mission school, which had for some years been 
sustained as a union school by the various 
churches in the city, was, by unanimous consent 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



of its officers, placed under the especial care of 
the Second church in 1861. This was probably 
their first effort in this direction. A great many 
children were thus reached who might otherwise 
have been neglected. 

A mission Sabbath-school for the benefit of 
the colored children was formed by authority of 
the session in 1867, which did much good work 
among those for whose benefit it was organized. 
In 1872 a third mission was started, which, un- 
der its present management, is known as 

STATE STREET CHAPEL. 

It is located at the corner of State and Clay 
streets. A zealous Presbyterian, Joseph W. Gale, 
now of Boston, Massachusetts, has the honor of 
originating this mission school. He was an 
agent for the establishment of Sunday-schools in 
the New Albany presbytery (then the Salem pres- 
bytery), and believing the neighborhood of the 
present school a good one for Sunday-school 
work, he secured an empty house in which the 
school was first opened. The building was a 
small one, and at the end of six months Mr. 
Gale found his efforts so successful that a larger 
house was necessary to accommodate his scholars. 
He went to some of his brethren of the Presby- 
terian church, among whom were John Lough- 
miller and William E. Allison, and together they 
leased of W. C. DuPauw a vacant lot for ten 
years, upon which the present building was 
erected. It is a frame building, about thirty-five 
by fifty feet in size, and cost $2,400, the money 
being mostly contributed by the Presbyterians. 
William E. Allison became superintendent, and 
has continued in that position ever since. Satis- 
factory progress has been made, and the mem- 
bership of the school is at present about one 
hundred. It is thought that a fourth Presbyte- 
rian church will soon be established at this place. 

The regular Sabbath-school of the Second 
church now numbers about two hundred mem- 
bers. 

Following is a list of officers of the Second 
Presbyterian church from the first to the present: 
Pastors — Samuel K. Snead, frofn November, 
1837, to May, 1843; E. R. Beadle, D. D., from 
August, 1843, to J ul )' l8 45J John Black, D. D., 
from August, 1845, t0 August, 1846; John M. 
Bishop, from November, 1846, to October, 1850; 
John G. Atterbury, D. D., from August, 185 1, to 



July 1866; Horace C. Hovey, Dr. Daniel Stew- 
art, Dr. Dickson, Charles Little, and Rev. Good- 
low, the present incumbent. Elders — Jacob 
Simmers, from 1837 to 1848; John Loughmiller, 
1837; James Brooks, from 1837 to 1866; Wil- 
liam C. Conner, from 1837 to i860; Ralph H. 
Hurlbut, from 1844 to 1857; James M. Haines, 
,. from 1852 to 1853; J. N. Graham, from 1852 to 
1857; Charles N. Hine, from 1857 to i860; 
Walter Mann, i860; Edward H. Mann, i860; 
Charles A. Reineking, 1866; William H. Lewis, 
W. M. Lewis, A. S. McClung, W. E. Allison. 
Deacons — James M. Hains, 1848 to 1852; 
Jesse J. Brown, 1848; Walter Mann, 1848 to 
i860; Charles A. Reineking, 1852 to 1866; 
John M. Renshaw, 1852; John T. Creed, 1859; 
John Mann, 1859; W. Henry Lewis, 1867; S. 
Addison McClung, 1867; C. H. Conner, G. C. 
Graves, John Hutton, W. J. Hisey. 

THIRD PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 

This church originated in the Second church, 
and was organized in November, 1853. Rev. 
John G. Atterbury was then pastor of the Second 
church, and on the evening of the 6th of Novem- 
ber, just prior to the separation, he preached a 
sermon which was subsequently published in 
pamphlet form, and from which a few extracts are 
taken. In a prefatory note the reasons of the 
separation are fully set forth. In the summer of 
1853 it seems to have become the general con- 
viction of the officers and membeis of the Second 
church that it was their duty to make a contribu- 
tion to the evangelical instrumentalities of the 
city. The church had greatly prospered, there 
having been continual and steady accessions to 
their numbers and increase of their means. The 
population of the city had increased until it was 
largely beyond the measure of church accommo- 
dation. An entirely new suburb in the north- 
eastern part of the city was rapidly filling up, in 
which there was no house of worship. An eligi- 
ble lot in that quarter had recently been do- 
nated to the church by the heirs of the late 
Judge Conner in fulfillment of the intention of 
their venerable father. The money was prompt- 
ly subscribed to build a house upon this lot, and 
its erection at once begun. As the completion 
of this building drew near, the pastor and session 
made application to the presbytery for the ap- 
pointment of a committee to constitute a new 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



church of such of their numbers as might volun- 
teer for that purpose. Up to this time it was 
not known who would offer themselves for this 
enterprise, with the exception of one or two per- 
sons who had early agreed to lead in it. A nat- 
ural reluctance was felt by the members to leave 
the fellowship with which they were so pleasantly 
connected, and the pastor under whose ministra- 
tions they were sitting. The obligation of the 
church to colonize was obvious enough, but not 
so the obligation of any particular persons to go 
off in the execution of the enterprise. Necessa- 
rily it was left to the individual sense of duty. 
On Monday evening, October 31st, a meeting 
was called in the lecture room of the church, at 
which time twenty-four persons, members of the 
Second church (ten males and fourteen females), 
offered themselves in the formation of the new 
church; and having received the proper certifi- 
cates of dismission, were thereupon formerly 
constituted a separate church, under the name of 
the Third Presbyterian church of New Albany. 
It appearing in the course of the week that 
these members would not be able to occupy the 
new house, as had been expected, on the follow- 
ing Sabbath, Mr. Atterbury took occasion to 
preach the printed discourse before referred to 
before the whole congregation as they worshiped 
together for the last time before separation. 
The following extracts are from this sermon: 

Two churches that have hitherto been one are worshiping 
together this day (November 6, 1853) for the first and last 
time ere they separate to their respective fields. Since last 
Sabbath a portion of your number have solemnly covenanted 
to walk together and labor together as a separate church of 
Jesus Christ, and henceforth will not form a constituent part 
of this congregation. 

Sixteen years since this church began its distinctive history 
with little that was promising in human judgment. The 
feeble band came out from the parent church under the in- 
fluence of domestic alienation, bringing with them little else 
but faith in God and devotion to principle. They were most- 
ly poor in this world's goods, but some of them, we believe, 
were rich in faith and heirs of the promises. They brought 
with them little social influence. They had none of that 
prestige whose power is felt in churches as in all other so- 
cietias. All this they left behind. They were viewed as an 
insignificant band, not so much for number as position, and 
little was anticipated for them but a struggling existence. 

To-day the church is "two bands," not divided by strife 
or alienation, but separated in love. Every step and turn in 
its history has been attended with tokens of Divine favor. 
It has waxed strong unexpectedly each year. Crises that 
threatened it with disaster have been overruled for its pros- 
j6 



perity. The spirit of the Lord has been poured out upon it 
repeatedly, and multitudes have been added by conversion 
from the world; multitudes of others from churches abroad 
and at home have united themselves with its interests. At 
this time, after all the removals and deaths and diminutions 
that spring from various causes of change incident to human 
society, it numbers over three hundred members. . 

It is asked why this division? Why not remain together in 
one body? I answer, because God has so greatly prospered 
and enlarged us that it has become expedient for the spiritual 
interests of the whole and all its parts to divide the body. I 
answer again, because by. a division we can hope to accom- 
plish more in behalf of the great object for which God has 
established a church in the world and has so greatly pros- 
pered this particular congregation. 

Let me add a few words in reference to our separation. 
We are now become ' ' two bands, " each henceforth having 
its distinct and separate field. Let there be no strife between 
us, for we are brethren. Let us not forget that though two 
bands we are of one family. Our strength will be found in 
our affectionate oneness. Though our specific fields are 
separate, the interests we prosecute are identical. We regard 
you who go out, not as expatriating yourselves, not as be- 
coming aliens, not as occupying a position of rivalry, but as 
going forth in the name of the whole church to do a work 
which the Lord has called upon his church to do. It is men- 
tioned in the history of the church at Antioch that "As they 
ministered to the Lord and fasted, the Holy Ghost said, 
separate me Barnabas and Saul for the work whereunto I 
have sent them." And the church promptly gave up these 
brethren and sent them away on their missionary field. So do 
we, the pastor, officers, and members of this church feel, that in 
obedience to the voice of God, speaking to us in his provi- 
dence, we have separated you, dear brethren, and now send 
you away to the work whereunto you are called. It will ever 
appear upon the records of our presbytery, that, at the 
instance of the pastor and session of this church, their com- 
mittee was appointed to organize this band. 

The present pastor of this church is Rev. C. 
Hutchinson. The church is in a flourishing 
condition and maintains a large, healthy Sabbath- 
school, with a library of over five hundred vol- 
umes connected with it. The church edifice is 
of stone, very substantial, and cost something 
more than twenty-thousand dollars. 

THE BAPTIST CHURCHES. 

After the Methodists and Presbyterians the 
Baptists were probably next to cultivate the field 
of religion in New Albany. Preachers of this 
denomination were among the first religious 
teachers in the county, but were not sufficiently 
numerous in New Albany to form a church until 
some years after the Methodists and Presby- 
terians. The pioneer Baptists came to be known 
in later times as "Hard-shell" from the peculiarly 
stern and unyielding quality of their religion. 
The Baptists in New Albany were largely from 
Kentucky and other Southern States, though not 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



a few were from the East. Among the latter was 
Seth Woodruff, a leader in this denomination in 
New Albany, and he might also be called a repre- 
sentative man among the Hard-shell Baptists, as 
well as a representative pioneer. He was from 
New Jersey, and was a man of considerable 
natural ability and force of character, but en- 
tirely uncultivated. He was comparatively with- 
out education, but made his way in the world 
through the superabundance of his physical and 
mental energy ard great will-power. He became 
a Baptist preacher and held the Baptist church 
here in his iron grasp for many years, running it 
pretty much to suit himself. He was also promi- 
nent in county affairs and his name became the 
most familiar one on the early county records. 
It was Woodruff who organized the 

FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH 

of New Albany, about the year 1825, and it was 
mainly through his efforts that a large and active 
church was built up here, and which continued 
fairly united and prosperous until 1835, when 
trouble came which divided the congregation. 
Soon after the organization the society erected a 
frame "meeting-house" on one of the public 
squares of the town. This building was in use 
until 1853, when it was destroyed by fire, and 
was never rebuilt by the old church society, 
which was at that time weak, having been torn 
to pieces by the dissensions of a few years be- 
fore. 

As Mr. Woodruff had been instrumental in 
building up the church, so he was probably the 
cause of its division and downfall in 1835. He 
had been a trusted and honored leader, his will 
had generally been recognized as law in the 
church, and he was able with his native elo- 
quence and strength of mind, for many years, to 
hold his followers together; but there came a 
time, after the church had grown strong in num- 
bers and intelligence, when men grew tired of 
listening to the sermons of Mr. Woodruff, or at 
least desired a change. They wished the Gospel 
presented in a new and perhaps more attractive 
way, and therefore voted for a new pastor. This 
was borne for some time with ill concealed im- 
patience by Mr. Woodruff and some of his de- 
voted followers, but after a time produced a 
division in the church. Mr. Woodruff declined 
to abdicate the position he had filled so many 
years, or the power he had struggled so hard to 



possess. It is said that he often insisted on 
occupying the pulpit to the exclusion of the 
regular pastor. This state of affairs could not 
be long endured and a large portion of the mem- 
bers withdrew and formed what has since been 
known as Park Christian church. Forty-three 
members were engaged in this enterprise, as 
appears by the records of the latter church. 
The church building was sold at auction, and 
purchased by the Baptists for $1,010. After the 
secession of these members the First Baptist 
church struggled along for ten years more, when 
trouble came again, and in 1844 the 

SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH 

was organized. But few, if any, facts can be 
gleaned from the records of the Baptist church, 
and properly so, perhaps, regarding the troubles 
of the church or the history of the causes that 
not only led to divisions, but nearly swept the 
old church out of existence; but the above lets 
simply a glimmer of light upon these causes. The 
following regarding the formation of the second 
church is taken from the records: 

The members of the regular Baptist church of New Al- 
bany, whose names are hereunto annexed, after mature de- 
liberation, came to the conclusion that a second Baptist 
church of the same order and faith, situated in the upper 
part of tiie city, would be a most efficient means of promot- 
ing the dissemination of the Gospel and religion of our Lord 
Jesus Christ. 

It was, therefore, resolved that we present our considera- 
tions to the church for a hearing. It was accordingly done 
at one of the regular meetings of said church, and after dis- 
cussing the subject at several church meetings it was finally 
resolved, on the third Saturday in October, 1844, by said 
church, that the following members have the privilege of 
forming themselves into a new church to be styled the Second 
Baptist church of New Albany, Indiana. 

Following is the list of names of the members at the or- 
ganization of this church: Oliver Cassell, John Knepfly, 
Charles Barth, Charles Roose, Alfred Scott, Caroline Cas- 
sell, Mary Montgomery, Martha J. Johnson, Magdaline 
Knepfly, Nancy Barth, Hannah Hutching, Mary Tubbs, 
Elizabeth Murphy. . 

The record further says: 

On Saturday afternoon, November 23, 1844, the following 
brethren assembled as a council with reference to the forma- 
tion of a Second Baptist church in New Albany: 
«Rev. G. G. Gates, from the First Baptist church of New 
Albany; C. Van Buskiik and Absalom Cochell, Irom the First 
Baptist church of Louisville, Kentucky; Rev. T. S. Mal- 
com, C. Forbes, A. S. Woodruff, and C. C. P. Crosby, from 
the Second Baptist church of Louisville, Kentucky; Rev. 
William C. Buck, from the East Baptist church of Louis- 
ville, Kentucky; John McCoy, and Thomas E. Veatch, from 
the Baptist church of Jeffersonville, Indiana. 

Rev. William C. Buck was appointed moderator, and Rev. 
T. S. Malcom clerk. Prayer was offered by Rev. T. S. Mai- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



203 



com. A letter of dismission was read dismissing thirteen 
members of the Baptist church in New Albany for the pur- 
pose of constituting a new church of the same faith and 
order, of whom the following ten were present: Oliver Cas- 
sell, John Knepfly, Charles Barth, Caroline Cassell, Mary 
Montgomery, Martha Johnson, Magdaline Knepfly, Xancy 
Barth, Mary Tubbs, and Elizabeth Murphy. 

The articles of faith, church covenant, and rules of de- 
corum were read, to which the members of the proposed 
church gave their assent ; thereupon it was moved and sec- 
onded that we proceed as a council to re-organize this as a 
separate and distinct church of Jesus Christ. The right 
hand of fellowship was given by the members to each other 
and to the council. 

Prayer was offered by Rev. G. G. Gates for the blessing of 
God upon the new- church. 

This closed the proceedings, and the Second 
Baptist church entered upon its career. Soon 
after the organization the following members 
were received by letter: Susan Knight, Aman- 
da Tubbs, William Pusey, Rev. Sidney Dyer, 
Abigail T. Dyer, and Ann Wilson. . 

The first preaching was November 26, 1844, 
by Rev. T. S. Malcom, of Louisville. 

A second meeting was held December 1, 1844, 
at which Elder Smith Thomas preached. 

The first deacons were John Knepfly and 
Oliver Cassell; the latter was also the first clerk, 
and the former the first treasurer, and is yet liv- 
ing in New Albany. 

The first permanent pastor was Rev. Sidney 
Dyer, chosen at a meeting held January 31, 
1845, the compensation being $300 per annum. 
He was from the South Baptist church, New 
York. 

The society secured a room on Main street, 
where its meetings were held. The separation 
of the churches did not seem to end their 
troubles; both congregations were rendered too 
weak to sustain two regular pastois, and both so- 
cieties felt that something was wrong, and that 
the cause of Christianity was not being advanced 
as it should be by a Christian church, so in 
November, 1845, propositions were made look- 
ing to a reconciliation and to the reuniting of the 
two churches. 

Nothing came of this effort, however, and 
again, as appears by the record July 12, 1846, a 
committee from the First church made a proposi- 
tion to the Second church to again unite with 
them ; the proposition was considered, but the 
matter was again postponed. These frequent 
failures created ill feeling, and the churches be- 
came more widely separated than ever. Many 



of the members of both churches desired to re- 
unite, but others were stubborn, and this feeling 
produced the present or 

BANK STREET BAPTIST CHURCH, 

now the only white church of this denomination 
in the city. May n, 1848, as appears by the re- 
cords, several members belonging to both 
churches, presented the following memorial: 

Several members of the regular Baptist church in New Al- 
bany, being for a long time under a painful conviction that the 
cause was not advantageously, nor the denomination fairly 
represented before the community by that body ; believing 
also that the recent exclusion of their minister and one of 
their deacons was not only hasty but without sufficient cause, 
being effected by the zeal of a few prejudiced persons; and 
having frequently seen points of discipline and other business 
transactions decided in the same manner by that body to the 
grief of many, believed themselves, in humble reliance upon 
God, called upon by his providence to constitute a new 
Baptist church in this city. 

-As several ot these members, at one of the meetings of the 
church, did ask for letters of dismissal, but were refused such 
letters, though acknowledged to be in full fellowship and 
regular standing, they thereupon agreed to organize them- 
selves into a regular Baptist church to be called the Bank 
Street Baptist church. 

The organization of this church was effected 
by choosing for pastor Rev. George Webster; 
for deacons, Oliver Cassell and John Knepfly; 
clerk, John Woodward; treasurer, Benjamin 
Williams; trustees, Samuel Montgomery, John 
Knepfly, and John Woodward. 

This organization seems in a short time to have 
absorbed the best elements of the other two, and 
resulted in their dissolution. 

The old First church, however, continued to 
hold its organization for a number of years, and 
had occasional but no regular preaching. In 
1878, under the preaching of Rev. William 
Hildreth, of the Bank Street church, the two 
churches were united, the old church turning 
over its property to the Bank Street church. 
This church seems to have been united and 
harmonious since its organization. 

As soon as organized,- the society purchased 
a lot, 48x60 feet in size, on the corner of 
Bank and Spring streets, and during the sum- 
mer of 1848 erected thereon a brick church, 
which served the purposes of the congregation 
until 1878, when the present beautiful brick 
structure was erected. 1 he old church was sold, 
and is now in use as a warehouse. The new 
church was dedicated January 4, 1880, the de- 
dicatory sermon being preached by Rev. John A. 



204 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Broadus, of Louisville. The church is said to 
possess the finest auditorium in the city, and 
cost about ten thousand dollars. The church 
membership is at present about two hundred and 
sixty. 

The Sabbath-school was established many 
years ago, and now has an active membership of 
about one hundred and forty. 

THE SECOND BAPTIST (COLORED) CHURCH. 

This is located on Upper Fourth street, be- 
tween Main and Market, and was organized 
March 28, 1867, by Rev. C. Edwards, a colored 
minister of considerable ability, who continued 
its pastor nine years. Some of the original mem- 
bers of this church were George Cole, David Cole, 
Isabella Williams, Unitary Murphy, E. Howard, 
A. McCrutcher, G. D. Williams, M. Sales, and 
Simon Hall. The organization took place in 
Woodward hall, on Main street, where meetings 
were held until a lot was purchased on Second 
street, where the society erected a frame church 
about 1868, which cost about $1,800. This 
church building was occupied until 187 1, when 
they purchased of the Lutherans the old brick 
church on Fourth street, erected about 1840 by 
the Presbyterians, which they have since oc- 
cupied, and which cost them about $2,500. The 
society still owns both church buildings, renting 
the first one for a private residence. The society 
has been a prosperous one, and now numbers 
about three hundred members. Rev. Richard 
Bassett is the present pastor, succeeding Rev. 
C. Edwards. 

The Sabbath school was organized in the fall 
of 1867, and now numbers about one hundred 
members. 

st. Paul's episcopal church. 

This was the next religious society to organize 
after the First Baptist church. The following 
extract is taken from the first records of this 
church: 

At a meeting of the citizens of New Albany, held at the 
house of Lathrop Elderkin in said town, on the nineteenth 
day of July, 1834, agreeably to a notice given and in con- 
formity to an act of the Legislature ol the State of Indiana 
friendly to the Protestant Episcopal church— was formed the 
Parish of St. Paul's church, of New Albany, county of Floyd, 
and State of Indiana; subject to the powers and authority of 
the Protestant Episcopal church of the United States of 
America, and subject to the laws of the same. Rev. Dexter 
Potter was called to the chair, and L. Elderkin appointed 
clerk. 



At this meeting the following officers were also 
elected: Lathrop Elderkin, warden; Joseph 
Franklin and A. S. Barnett, vestrymen; and 
Joseph Franklin, Alexander S. Barnett, and La- 
throp Elderkin, trustees. This ended the pro- 
ceedings of the first meeting for the organization 
of St. Paul's church. 

Prior to this meeting occasional services had 
been held at the houses of the members, and fre- 
quent meetings for prayer and conference. 

Two days after this first meeting (July 21, 
1834,) the following appears on the record: 

We, whose names are hereunto affixed, deeply impressed 
with the importance of the Christian religion, and earnestly 
wishing to promote its holy influences in the hearts and lives 
of ourselves, families, and neighbors, do hereby associate 
ourselves together under the name, style, and title of the 
Parish of St. Paul's church, in the town of New Albany, 
county of Floyd, and State of Indiana, and by so doing bind 
ourselves to be entirely subject to the power and authority of 
the Protestant Episcopal church in the United States of 
America, and subject to the laws and canons of the same. 
At New Albany this, the 21st day of July, 1834. 

L. Elderkin, 
A. S. Burnett, 
Joseph Franklin, 
C. H. Bessonett, 
William White. 

Among other names signed to the above, and 
who thus appear as the original members of this 
church are the following, who are yet living: 
Mrs. Anastasia Robinson, Mrs. Elizabeth Senex, 
Mrs. Charlotte Riddle, Charles L. Hoover, and 
George Lyman. 

At a meeting of the trustees held in Septem- 
ber, 1834, it was resolved to purchase lot twenty- 
six on State street for $250, paying half October 
1st and half January 1st following. 

At a meeting held April 20, 1835, C. H. Bes- 
sonett and Lathrop Elderkin were elected war- 
dens, and Joseph Franklin, William White, and 
C. H. Bessonett trustees. These meetings were 
generally held at the hotfsis of the members. 
The following is the report of an important bus- 
iness meeting taken from the church record: 

At a meeting of the congregation of St. Paul's, in the 
village of New Albany, held at the office of W. Griswold on 
Easter Monday, March 27, 1837: 

Present, Rev. Ashbel Steele, Messrs. Franklin, Robinson, 
William White, Brown, Griswold, Beers and S. White. 

On motion, Rev. Steele was called to the chair, and W, 
Griswold appointed clerk. 

On motion, resolved that we proceed to elect by ballot five 
trustees agreeably to the laws of Indiana, who shall be con- 
sidered as vestrymen of this church for the ensuing year. 

Whereupon the Rev. Ashbel Steele, Stephen Beers, Joseph 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



205 



Franklin, William Robinson and Whitney Griswold were 
elected trustees. 

On motion, resolved that we proceed to elect by ballot two 
wardens for the coming year; whereupon Stephen Beers and 
William Robinson were duly elected. 

On motion, the following preamble and resolutions were 
unanimously adopted: 

Whereas, The general convention of the Protestant Epis- 
copal church of the United States of America have appointed 
the Right Rev. Jackson Kemper, D. D. , missionary bishop 
of the States of Missouri and Indiana; and 

Whereas, The board of Domestic Missions of said 
Church have designated New Albany as a missionary sta- 
tion and appointed the Rev. Ashbel Steele as missionary to 
said station, therefore 

Resolved, That we hail with delight and gratitude to Al- 
mighty God the new impulse given to the cause of missions 
and the church in our western land, and that we do consider 
ourselves as under the supervision of the Right Rev. Jack- 
son Kemper as missionary bishop. 

Resolved; That we gratefully recognize the appointment of 
Rev. Ashbel Steele as missionary of the station, and that he 
be the pastor of St. Paul's church, New Albany, according to 
the canons and usages of the Protestant Episcopal church of 
the United States of America. 

Resolved, That we will cheerfully co-operate with the said 
general convention, board of missions, bishop, and pastor in 
the great and good work in which they are engaged. 

At a meeting held in March, 1837, Rev. 
Ashbel Steele, Stephen Beers, Joseph Franklin, 
S. White, and W. Griswold were appointed a 
building committee, and empowered to adopt a 
plan for a new church, and proceed to the erec- 
tion of the same. They sold the lot on State 
street and purchased a lot on Spring, between 
Bank and Upper Third streets, where they pro- 
ceeded to erect their first church. It was a frame 
building, very comfortable and commodious for 
the time, and cost about five thousand dollars. 
This church building was occupied from 1837 to 
1864, when they, having determined to erect a 
new church building, sold the old one to the 
Lutherans, who in turn disposed of it to Mr. W. 
C. De Pauw, who moved it out on Vincennes 
street and established the Kingsley mission. 

The church had previously secured the present 
lot, on Main street, between Upper Sixth and 
Seventh streets, where the present St. Paul's 
church was erected in 1864-65, the corner-stone 
being laid by Bishop Smith, of Kentucky, the 
senior bishop of the United States at the time. 
It was consecrated by Bishop Joseph C. Talbot. 
It is frame building, and cost about fourteen 
thousand dollars. There are at present about 
three hundred members of this church in the 
city, but only about one hundred and fifty regu- 
lar communicants. 



The Sabbath-school was organized soon after 
the organization of the church, George Brown 
being the first superintendent. This school has 
greatly prospered and numbers now some three 
hundred members. It is divided into two 
schools, called the mission school and the parish 
school. Both schools are conducted at the 
church, the parish school in the morning and 
the mission school in the afternoon of each Sun- 
day. The former is under the immediate charge 
of the rector. The mission school was for many 
years held in the lower part of the city. Charles 
L. Hoover was superintendent of the school 
about thirty years. The following list comprises 
the names of the rectors of St. Paul's Episcopal 
church: Ashbel Steele, J. B. Britton, B. \V. 
Hickox, William K. Saunders, Edward Lonsbery, 
T. H. L. Laird, J. B. Ramsdell, J. N. Goshorn, 
John Martin, John A. Childs, J. S. Wallace, 
J. E. Purdy, Dr. Thomas G. Carver, D. D., Dr. 
David Pise, D. D., John A. Gierlow, F. B. 
Dunham, and Walter Scott, the latter just called 
to the charge. 

PARK CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 

The organization of this church followed close- 
ly that of the Episcopal, being organized May 
19, 1835, by forty-three members (or rather se- 
ceders) of the First Baptist church of New Al- 
bany. The causes of the division of the Baptist 
church were numerous, and some of them have 
been mentioned in the history of that church; 
but among others the following extract from an 
address of Elder Hobson, of Louisville, may be 
mentioned: 

It is claimed by the members of this church that they dis- 
card all human creeds and rely alone upon the Bible as the 
rule of faith and church government; and that obedience to 
all that is required of man in the New Testament is necessary 
to salvation. This and some minor considerations caused 
the split between this people and what is known as the Reg- 
ular Baptist organizat on. 

The following is a list of members of the first 
organization of the first Christian or Disciple 
church in New Albany: 

Isaac S. Ashton, Samuel C. Miller, Robert Luckey, John 
Miller, Ashbel Smith, Henry Moore, Nathaniel Webb, Mary 
Ann Wells, Elizabeth Beck, Nancy Miller, Mary Ann Smith, 
Hannah Garvey, Matilda Duncan, Lucy Brazleton, Caleb C. 
Dayton, Elizabeth Dayton, Elizabeth Beebe, Perry Garvey, 
Edward C. Duncan, Peter Sallkild, Eli Brazleton, Isaac 
Ramey, D. W. Voshall, Sophia Moore, Charlotte Carter, 
Melinda Sassel, Rebecca Akin, Charlotte Scribner, Abigail 
Brown, Lydia Shanon, Elizabeth Akin, Priscilla Akin, Mary 
Ramey, Sophia Ashton, Sarah Hallock, Nancy Draper, 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



.Sarah Lacan, Lovina McCoy, Sarah Monroe, Amelia Webb, 
John Bell, Sarah Bell, Isaac Hough, Julia Hough, Matilda 
Hough, Jacob Cassel, Thomas J. Murdock, Julia Ann Mur- 
dock, Nathaniel Price, Ann Price, Mary Ann Montague, B. 
O. Austin, Cynthia Rickey, James G. Spalding, Ann Cham- 
berlain, Sarah Sowards, Sarah Anthony, Elizabeth Guffey, 
Sister Sanford, and Nancy Luckey. 

The first forty-three on the above list seceded 
from the First Baptist church. 

The following regarding the origin of this 
church is taken from the church record : 

State of Indiana, New Albany, May 19, 1835. 

WHEREAS, The Baptist church of the town of New Al- 
bany did, on the 1st day of December, in the year of our 
Lord one thousand eight hundred and thirty-three, for divers 
causes as to the then members did appear, amicably and 
unanimously enter into the following agreement, as appears 
from records found recorded in the record book of said 
church, in the words following, to wit: 

Whereas, There has been existing in this church for some 
time past some difficulties which seem to threaten the peace 
ot the church, to remedy which we have agreed to unite upon 
the Scriptures alone as the only infallible rule of our faith 
and practice, and from this day do agree to exercise in our- 
selves a spirit of Christian forbearance and recognize in each 
other the same fellowship that existed in the church twelve 
months ago when we met together in love and hailed each 
other as brethren and sisters in the Lord; and 

Whereas, It has been made manifest that some of our 
brethren have not lived in accordance with said agreement, 
but have been living at variance with the spirit of the same, 
and have used their influence to separate or divide said 
church, which has rendered her, as a body, and as individu- 
als, a distressed people for many months past; and 

Whereas, Said church, in her distress, at her stated 
meetings on the 16th day of May, A. D. 1835, did agree to 
divide the time as relates to the use of the meeting-house, as 
appears from a copy of said proceedings in the words fol- 
lowing: • 

"The reference respecting the house was taken up, there- 
fore, and we have agreed to divide the time, brother Wood- 
ruff to let us know which time he would occupy on Sunday, 
the 24th inst. 

"The above is a true copy from the minutes. 

"Isaiah Townsend, 
"Clerk of the Baptist church of New Albany. 

"B. O. Austin, Recorder." 

Now be it known that we do lament that such a division of 
time has appeared necessary, notwithstanding we do enter- 
tain toward those brethren who have thus destroyed our 
peace and have drawn away some of our brethren and sisters 
from the preceding agreement as aforesaid, the most friendly 
regard, and stand ready, whenever circumstances will admit, 
to walk with them upon principles set forth in the first above- 
mentioned agreement, and recorded as aforesaid, and are re- 
solved, by the help of the Lord, to live in accordance with 
the same, and in order that we may know what persons — 
members of said church — are still resolved to keep in good 
faith the above and first-named agreement, have mutually 
agreed to enroll our names this the 19th day of May, A. D. 
1835- 

The forty-three members of the Baptist church 
who signed the above agreement soon after pro- 



ceeded to organize a Campbellite or Disciple 
church as they were then called, but now known 
as the Christian church. A special meeting was 
called for June 27, 1835, over which Samuel C. 
Miller was chosen to preside, and the body then 
ptoceded to the election of officers. Isaac S. 
Ashton was chosen bishop, John Miller deacon, 
and B. O. Austin clerk. During the next few 
months the following were the chosen officers of 
the church: Nathaniel Price, bishop; Ashbel 
Smith and Caleb C. Dayton, deacons; D. G. 
Stewart, elder; and Henry Moore, deacon. 
Thomas J. Murdock was given a certificate as 
minister of the gospel. 

A question of some difficulty was now to be 
settled — the division of the church property, in 
which both congregations (Disciple and Baptist) 
were interested. Conference committees were 
appointed by both congregations, and August 
23, 1836, it was agreed that the property should 
be sold at auction to the highest bidder, the two 
churches to be the only bidders. The agreement 
stipulated that the successful bidder was to have 
possession of the church and to pay for the same 
within one month from the date of sale. It was 
ratified by both churches, and signed by Thomas 
Herndon, Isaiah Townsend, and Thomas B. 
Walker on the part of the Baptist church; and 
Ashbel Smith, Caleb C. Dayton, and John Mil- 
ler on the part of the Disciples. In accordance 
with the agreement the property was sold Sep- 
tember 1, 1836, to the Baptist church for $1,010, 
and the Disciples immediately made prepara- 
tions for the erection of a new church. The 
following is from the records : 

New Albany, September 28, 1836. 

After the committee had settled with the Baptist church 
concerning the meeting-house and given them full and entire 
possession, the brethren met to consult and make the neces- 
sary arrangements for building a convenient and comfortable 
house of worship. For the furtherance of the same the 
following brethren, viz., Isaac S. Ashton, Jacob Cassel, D. G. 
Stewart, and John Miller were chosen a committee for the 
purpose of selecting a suitable lot that could be obtained for 
the above named purpose. Said committee found one situ- 
ated on the corner of Lower Third and Market streets and 
purchased the same for the sum of fifteen hundred dollars, 
said lot being sixty feet front and running back from Market 
street one hundred and twenty feet. The lot contained two 
small frame dwellings which were moved to the rear of the 
lot, fitted up and sold to |oseph Underwood for the sum of 
nine hundred dollars, with sixty by sixty feet off the rear end 
of the lot, reserving the front on which to erect the church. 

The brethren then proceeded to collect material with 
which to build. They also drew up a subscription paper to 






HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



207 



be circulated for the purpose of raising funds for building 
purposes, but not being able to raise a sufficient sum by sub- 
scription to complete the house the brethren called a special 
meeting foi the purpose of devising the best means to effect 
that object. After various plans were proposed and rejected, 
they finally agreed that each one should be taxed according 
to his property, or what he was worth, and that each brother 
should estimate his own wealth. The whole being added 
together it was ascertained that three per cent, on the sum 
total would pay the debt. The brethren thereupon executed 
their notes individually payable to C. N. Shields, Jacob Cas- 
sel, and Isaac N. Ashton, committee for the three per cent., 
and the committee were to attend to the liquidation of debts 
arising from the building of the meeting-house. 

The work of building the new church went 
forward rapidly during the fall of 1836, and 
when completed it cost $4,667.87, which amount 
was made up from the following sources: From 
the sale of their portion of the Baptist church 
property, $1,010; from the sale of a portion of 
the church lot to Mr. Underwood, $900. Some 
private subscriptions were obtained, and the re- 
mainder was made up from the three per cent. 
fund, so that the church was paid for as soon as 
finished. The following extract is from the rec- 
ords of the church : 

Lord's DAY morning, January 15, 1837. 
The Deciples of Christ met for the first time in the new 
brick meeting house situatedton the corner of Lower Third 
and Market streets in the city of New Albany, Indiana. 

Elder D. G. Stewart was the first minister, 
though not regularly appointed. He resigned 
November 12, 1837, and Thomas Vaughn was 
authorized in his place December 24, 1837. 
Vaughn was followed by J. E. Noyes, who in 
turn was succeeded by James Shilder. None of 
the above named were regularly appointed pas- 
tors. It was not until 1858 that the first regular 
pastor, J. J. Moss, was called. 

The old brick church was used until 1867, 
when it became necessary to build anew, and it 
was taken down and the present beautiful struct- 
ure erected, the congregation, meanwhile, wor- 
shiping in the Universalist church, which they 
rented for two years, from September 1, 1867. 
The building committee was John E. Noyes, D. 
W. Lafollette, Isaac Craig, T. F. Jackson, and 
A. D. Graham. Davis R. Robertson and O. 
Sackett were subsequently added to the commit- 
tee, and in May, 1869, the contract was made 
with John F. Anderson to do the brick work, 
and with McNeff & Sackett for the carpenter 
work. The old building was somewhat unsafe, 
and for the two years the church occupied the 



Universalist's building the members were some- 
what divided as to the manner of disposing of 
the old church; hence the building committee 
was not appointed until April 7, 1869, after 
which the building of the new church went rap- 
idly forward. The corner-stone was laid with 
imposing ceremonies July 13, 1869, Elder Dr. 
Hobson, of Louisville, preaching the sermon. 
The following list of articles was deposited in 
the corner-stone: One copy of the New Testa- 
ment (Anderson's translation) ; Christian Record 
of June, 1869; Christian Standard, of July 3, 
1869; Apostolic Times, of May 20, 1869; 
Christian Pioneer, of May 27, 1869; American 
Christian Review, of April 20, 1869; New Al- 
bany Evening Ledger, of July 12, 1869; New 
Albany Commercial, of July 13, 1869; a list of 
the members of the church, three hundred and 
eighteen in number, and one silver and one 
paper dime. 

The building is a beautiful gothic structure, 
forty feet front on Market street, by ninety-five 
feet in depth, with ceiling twenty-four feet in 
height, and cost about twenty thousand dollars. 

The church and Sabbath-school are healthy 
and well sustained at the present time. 

CENTRAL CHRISTIAN CHAPEL. 

On the 17th of January, 1875, this churchheld 
its first anniversary, a short sketch of the pro- 
ceedings and of the church history being pub- 
lished at that time. • From this it appears that 
the church was organized on the evening of 
January 15, 1874, with thirty members, and its 
first regular meeting held on the succeeding Sab- 
bath. Overseers and deacons were chosen at 
this meeting, and J. L. Parsons was selected as 
its first regular pastor. The Universalist church 
edifice was rented for a time until the new church 
could be built. A lot was soon purchased on 
Upper Spring street, between Fourth and Fifth, 
upon which the present beautiful and com- 
modious house of worshiD was erected in the 
months of May and June, 1874. But fifty-five 
days were occupied in building this church. It 
is a frame Gothic structure, with stained glass 
windows of beautiful pattern, baptistry, dressing 
rooms, and study. It is carpeted and other- 
wise handsomely furnished. It was formally 
dedicated July 12, 1874, John C. Miller, of In- 
dianapolis, preaching the discourse. The property 



:o8 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



with furniture cost $6, ioo. The cunent ex- 
penses of this church are defrayed by voluntary 
contributions, hence the seats are all free. Up 
to the present time the church has had but 
two regular pastors, Rev. John P. Tully suc- 
ceeding Mr. Parsons and being the present 
pastor. Mr. Tully is now in his fourth year of 
service. One hundred and thirty-nine persons 
were added to the church during the first year of 
its existence, and the membership is at present 
two hundred and twenty-seven. 

The officers of the church at present are A. 
C. Williamson and Ozem Sackett, overseers; 
George E. Sackett, James S. Peake, Isaac Craig, 
Joseph Pratt, J. W. Bracken, C. Ellis, and W. 
T. Ellis, deacons. 

A Sunday-school was organized immediately 
upon the organization of the church, and great 
interest has been kept up, so that at present it is 
one of the most efficient in the city. It secured 
the prize — a beautiful silk banner — in 1879 at 
Columbus, Indiana, for general efficiency. The 
school numbers at present two hundred and 
sixty scholars. 

GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN AND REFORMED 
CHURCH. 

This was the next Protestant church organized 
in New Albany after the Park Christian church. 
It was organized in October, 1837. The first 
meeting for organization was held on State 
street at the dwelling of one of the members, 
where the church was organized by Henry Evers, 
who became the first pastor. The first trustees 
were John Plies, Henry Kohl and John H. 
Radecke; these, with thirty others, were the orig- 
inal members, and nearly if not quite all of them 
have passed away. The names of a few are yet 
prominent, however, in New Albany, among 
them being Niehaus, Frank, Merker, Bertsch, 
Reineking, Meyer, Schaffer, Lindner and others. 
The first property of this congregation was on 
State street near the bridge over Falling run, 
where a lot was purchased upon which a small 
brick church edifice was erected, in which the 
congregation worshiped about twenty years. At 
the end of that time they purchased of the Epis- 
copalians the lot and frame church belonging to 
that denomination, situated on the site of the 
present German Lutheran church, on Spring 
street, between Bank and Upper Third. In this 
frame building services were held until 1S69, 



when the present beautiful brick building was 
erected at a cost of about $18,000. The old 
brick church building remained in possession of 
the congregation a number ot years, but was sold 
and is now used as a business house. When 
preparations were made for building the present 
church the old frame building was purchased by 
the Methodists, who moved it to Vincennes 
street where they established a mission Sunday- 
school. The neat frame parsonage attached to 
the present church was erected in 1873, at a cost 
of $2,500. 

The following pastors have been connected 
with this church: Henry Evers, George Brau- 
dan, Carl Daubert, Henry Trulsen, Frederick 

Dulitz, Carl Blecken, Alois Anker, Kling- 

sohr, F. A. Frankenbery, Carl Mayer, Frederick 
Abele, Christopher Uroung, F. W. A. Riedel, 
Carl Nestel, John Bank, and Gottlob Deitz, the 
present incumbent. 

The membership is at present about two hun- 
dred, only about half of whom are full members. 
The congregation has been a member of the 
American Evangelical Synod of North America 
since 1865, in which year it was united with a 
small German Presbyterian congregation which 
had been struggling along for several years. A 
. Sunday-school has been connected with the 
church nearly ever since its organization, and is 
yet in a flourishing condition with a membership 
of one hundred and sixty. The present superin- 
tendent is John Baer. 

UNITED BRETHREN CHURCH. 

This society, known as the United Brethren 
in Christ, was organized in 1848, and a church 
building erected on Spring street at the corner of 
Lower Sixth, which is yet standing, a weather- 
boarded, weather-beaten frame on a brick founda- 
tion. The first pastor was Rev. Daniel Shuck, and 
during his pastorate about forty people were mem- 
bers of the church. Mr. Shuck was succeeded 
by Rev. John W. Bradner, under whose preach- 
ing the membership increased to about one hun- 
dred. Subsequently the interest in the church 
declined until at present there are but twenty- 
eight members. No regular preaching and no 
Sunday-school has been held here for a number 
of years. Occasionally services are held and 
hopes entertained that it may yet start into new 
life. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



209 



UNIVERSALIST CHURCH. 

This church was organized at' Woodward hall, 
corner of First and Main streets, in 1857. Quite 
a number of people holding this religious belief 
early settled in and around New Albany, most 
of them being from the Eastern States and 
among the most intelligent and cultivated of the 
citizens. When the Rev. Mr. Moss was preach- 
ing for the Disciples, he made a remark intended 
for the ears of the Universalists, that he intended 
to make them renounce their doctrine or the 
Bible; or, in other words, he would create against 
them a public sentiment that would compel them 
to join an orthodox church or be considered in- 
fidels. The Universalists were not at that time 
organized, but they were people of means and 
education. They immediately sent to Louisville 
for W. W. Curry, a Universalist preacher of that 
place, and withal a very smart man, subsequent- 
ly an editor and at present in one of the depart- 
ments at Washington. Mr. Curry responded to 
the call and came over to New Albany to defend 
their faith. A public discussion took place at 
the Disciple church lasting some ten days, and 
then was continued some time in Louisville, al- 
ways to crowded houses. Neither denomination, 
however, received a death blow by this discus- 
sion, but the Universalists certainly became 
stronger and more aggressive, and out of it grew 
the organization of their church and the erection 
of the present church building. The church 
edifice is located on Spring street between Upper 
Third and Fourth, and cost ten or twelve thous- 
and dollars. W. W. Curry was their first pastor, 
and so continued until the war called him into 
the service of his country. Among the principal 
originators of the church were John Kemble, 
Benjamin Lockwood, John Noyes, Dr. Lewis 
Nagle, Edward Nagle, John W. McQuiddy (the 

old newspaper man), Kelso, and a few 

others. The church was erected about i860, 
and preaching continued more or less regularly 
until 1879, since which time there has been no 
Universalist services held in the house, with an 
occasional exception. The building has been 
frequently rented to other denominations, and it 
is now in use by a society calling themselves 
"Southern Methodists." 

THE HOLY TRINITY (CATHOLIC) CHURCH. 

The Catholic church of New Albany came 



into existence about 1836 ; prior to this time, 
however, and, indeed, at a very early date, Catho- 
lic services had been held at the houses of the 
Catholic people by priests traveling from one 
point to another. The first Catholic church in 
the county was the St. Mary's, located in Lafay- 
ette township near Mooresville, and to this the 
early Catholics of New Albany resorted. The 
Rev. Father Neyron was one of the earliest 
Catholic priests engaged in the establishment and 
building up of St. Mary's church. It is believed 
that Father Badden who, it is said, was the first 
Catholic priest ordained in America, was the first 
to say mass within the limits of this county. 
He was a Frenchman, and traveled much 
throughout the United States, but especially in 
the West, establishing Catholic churches and 
schools. He did not have any particular abode 
during many years of his life, but lived about 
among the brethren. Later his headquarters 
were in Kentucky. He and Father Louis Neyron 
secured the site, and established Notre Dame 
college at South Bend, Indiana. Father Abel, 
of the church at Louisville, was also one of the 
earliest priests to visit New Albany, and minister 
to the religious requirements of the few Catholics 
in the town. For many years Father Badden 
came to New Albany at least once a month, and 
held mass, and after a time, when Father Neyron 
and Father Abel came, services were held at the 
houses of the Catholic members at New Albany 
once a week or oftener. 

Among the first Catholics in New Albany was 
Louis Brevette, a Frenchman, who kept a grocery 
on the corner of Lower Fourth and Main streets, 
at whose house Catholic services were generally 
held in New Albany. Another of the first 
Catholics in town was Nicholas Specker, also a 
Frenchman and groceryman ; another was Mr. 
Ferry, a laborer, and a little later came Henry 
Trustage, a shoemaker. There were some others 
whose names cannot now be recalled. All were 
poor and unable to raise the means to build a 
church, and therefore contented themselves with 
regular attendance at St. Mary's church, and oc- 
casional meetings at each other's dwellings. 

In 1836 they had grown sufficiently numerous 
to be able to erect a church building, which, with 
some help by the Catholics of other churches, 
they succeeded in doing on the corner of Seventh 
and Market streets. It was a long, low, frame 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



building and is yet standing on the rear end of 
the same lot, and is used by the sisters as a 
school building. This lot is about one hundred 
feet front. When this church was built there 
were quite a number of Catholic people in town, 
among whom were the following: Jacob Massie, 
Nicholas Cortz, Henry Trustage (who owned 
property and kept a shoe store on State street), 
John Gladden, Henry Cotter, Henry Vohart, 
Coonrod Broker, Adam Knapp, Charles Mc- 
Kenna, John Gerard, John and Michael Dough- 
erty, John Mullin, Timothy Flannagan, Mathias 
Flannagan, Patrick McGuire, Gasper T. Yoke, 
John Thy, Barney McMannus, Daniel Orman, 
Lawrence Orman, John Pendergast, James Or- 
man, Patrick Leyden, Thomas O'Brien, Thomas 
Riley, 1 and probably a few others, all of whom 
were heads of families. 

It was not until 1850 that the Catholics of 
New Albany were strong enough to contemplate 
the erection of a new and more commodious 
church edifice. Father Louis Neyron was at 
that time the officiating priest. He was a live, 
active, energetic Frenchman, who had been en- 
gaged in the Napoleonic wars, and it was princi- 
pally under his management, guidance, and 
assistance that the present building known as the 
Holy Trinity church was erected. So deeply 
was he interested in the success of the under- 
taking that he put about eight thousand dollars 
of his own money into the building, and is yet 
receiving a yearly income from this investment. 
He is now quite aged, and for many years has 
been connected with the Notre Dame college at 
South Bend. Holy Trinity church probably 
cost thirty thousand dollars, which at that date 
was a large sum of money to put into a building. 

At the present time about three hundred fam- 
ilies are connected with this church, and more 
than three hundred children attend the Catholic 
schools, five teachers being engaged. There are 
three school-houses and two dwellings, one of 
the latter for the teachers and one for the sisters. 
Both the church and the parsonage are situated 
on one lot, and both are brick, the latter costing 
about five thousand dollars. It was erected in 
1871. 

The Catholic church had a rapid growth from 
the date of the building of the new church 
edifice, and was probably nearly equally divided 
in nationality between the Irish and Germans. 



About 1854-55 the German Catholics, feeling 
themselves strong enough to support a church of 
their own, established 

the st. mary's German catholic church. 

The building is located on the corner of 
Spring and Eighth streets and is one of the finest 
and most substantial churches in the city. Prior 
to the building of Saint Mary's church meetings 
were held several years in the parent church, 
Father Weitz being the priest during the greater 
portion of the time services were held here, 
though Father Monsheno was the first pastor of 
the German organization. 

After a few years upon appeal by the Ger- 
mans, the bishop divided the church property, 
giving one half of it to the Germans and requir- 
ing the parent church to pay for the same. With 
the fifteen thousand dollars thus secured they 
erected their present building, and have since 
made some additions. This is at present the 
largest congregation of any denomination in the 
city, there being about five hundred families con- 
nected with it. Father Edward .Fealer was very 
active in the building of the new building and 
was the first officiating priest. He was suc- 
ceeded by Father Casper Doebenir, who in turn 
was succeeded by the present pastor, Father I. 
Cline. 

In 1879 this church erected a very fine school 
building for boys on Eighth street, between Elm 
and Spring, costing them about $8,000. On the 
same lot upon which the church stands, but 
fronting on Elm street, stands what is known as 
St. Mary's Female academy, a first-class Catholic 
institution under the charge of the society of Sis- 
ters of St. Francis to whom the building belongs. 

It is a commodious brick building five stories 
in height and cost originally $24,000, but was 
purchased by the Sisters for $18,000, and is kept 
for the sole use and benefit of the German Cath- 
olic church, under whose supervision and general 
control it remains. A large number of Catholic 
children, not only of New Albany, but the sur- 
rounding country and from distant points are ed- 
ucated here. The male and female apartments 
of the different Catholic schools are separate, the 
larger boys being under charge of male teachers 
while the smaller children and the girls are under 
charge of the sisters. 

The entire property of this church is probably 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



valued at $50,000 or $60,000. Both churches 
maintain several schools and are very prosper- 
ous. 



CHAPTER XI. 

NEW ALBANY— BENCH AND BAR. 
FROM THE RECORDS. 

The following extracts from the proceedings 
of the commissioners regarding early court mat- 
ters and early legal proceedings are deemed 
proper in this connection. The duties of the 
commissioners were varied and much more ex- 
tended than at present, and included much busi- 
ness now belonging exclusively to the courts. 

At a regular meeting May 17, 1819, S. Hob- 
son and John V. Bubkirk were appointed con- 
stables for one year for New Albany township, 
Patrick Leyden for Franklin, and Syrenus Em- 
mons for Greenville township. At the same 
date the first lister of Floyd county made his re- 
turn of the county levy for the ensuing year. 

Ordered, That Dr. Ashel Clapp be appointed overseer of 
the poor for New Albany township, in place of C. Woodruff, 
who is absent. 

May 19, 1 819, the first county seal was pro- 
cured by Joel Scribner, as appears by the follow- 
ing entry: 

Ordered, That the county treasurer pay Joel Scribner 
ninety-six dollars and seventy-five cents when in funds, it be- 
ing for books and county seal procured by him as per bill 
rendered. 

At the regular meeting at Seth Woodruff's, 
August 9, 18 1 9, it was — 

Ordered, That Caleb Newman be allowed sixty-five cents 
for his services at the polls of election. 

At the February session of 1820 the treasurer 
was ordered to pay Clement Nance, Sr., $12 for 
his services as probate judge at the last Decem- 
ber term. 

November 10, 18 19, the county treasurer, 
James Scribner, submitted his report of the re- 
ceipts and expenditures of the county during 
the year. The receipts were $251.11, and the 
disbursements $208.97, leaving a balance in the 
hands of the treasurer of $42.14. The total 
amount of the tax levy was $803.29, Sheriff Bes- 
ser being the tax collector. 



The first grand jurors of the county were 
Charles Paxson, James Hickman, Ashel Clapp, 
Jacob. .Yenawine, James B. Moore, Absalom 
Little, Joseph Whitcomb, Joseph Benton, Isaac 
Wood, Joshua Cooper, Thomas Akers, Wyatt P. 
Tuley, Apollos Hess, Robert Stewart, Mordecai 
Childs, and George McDougal. Each of them 
received $3.75 for his services at the December 
term of court in 1819. 

At the February session of 1820 Seth Wood- 
ruff was paid $14 for services as judge of the 
probate and circuit courts; he was also paid $30 
for the use of his house for the meetings of the 
commissioners for the year 18 19. 

At the May term of 1820 Sheriff James Besse 
was ordered to take the enumeration of the in- 
habitants of the county over twenty-one years of 
age. 

At the August session of 1820 the county 
treasurer was ordered to pay "James Besse, sheriff, 
$197.50 for services of two men to guard the 
gaol," from May 28th to August 15th, or at the rate 
of $1.25 per day. At this term Daniel H. Al- 
lison appears as commissioner. 

May 22, 1821, "Ordered, that the county treas- 
urer pay the trustees of the Presbyterian church 
$10 for the use of their house for the meetings 
of the commissioners during this term." At this 
session a poll tax of fifty cents was levied on all 
male citizens over twenty-one years of age, and 
twenty-five cents on each work ox in the county. 

The August session of 182 1 was held at the 
Presbyterian church, where they also met in No- 
vember of the same year, but "for convenience" 
adjourned to the house of Seth Woodruff, then 
kept by Apollos Hess. Wyatt P. Tuley is al- 
lowed $10 for house rent and firewood for the 
September and December terms of the Floyd 
county circuit court, which was held at Seth 
Woodruff's. 

At the February session of 1821 Preston F. 
Tuley is paid $12 for his services as an officer 
of the circuit court of the September and De- 
cember terms. Clement Nance is paid $10 and 
Seth Woodruff $14 for services as associate 
judges at the previous September term of court. 

At the August session of 1823 Harvey Scrib- 
ner was appointed treasurer in place of James 
Scribner deceased. Harvey Scribner was, there- 
fore, the second treasurer of the county. He did 
not seem to like the place, however, and resigned 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



in November of the same year, and Edward 
Brown was appointed in his place. Brown held 
the place but a short time when he was suc- 
ceeded in February, 1824, by Richard Comly, 
who served as treasurer of the county until 1828. 

In August, 1824, Walter W. Winchester ap- 
pears as a commissioner in place of Mr. Nance. 

In September, 1824, by an act of the Legisla- 
ture, the office of county commissioner was 
abolished, and the justices of the peace in each 
county were required to take the place of the 
commissioners by meeting and organizing for 
business as a body. This organization was 
known as the county board of justices. The 
first body of this character that assembled in 
New Albany was composed of Chailes Woodruff, 
David Sillings, and Jacob Bence, of Franklin 
township; David S. Bassett, Rowland S. Strick- 
land, 1 and Lathrop Elderkin, of New Albany 
township; and William Wilkinson, of Greenville 
township. They met at Seth Woodruffs tavern 
on the 6th of September, 1824, and organized 
by electing Lathrop Elderkin president. Their 
second meeting, in the following November, was 
at the new court-house. 

November 8, 1825, John K. Graham is au- 
thorized to make a map of New Albany, provided 
the corporation will bear half the expense, the 
whole expense being $6. 

The board of justices did not last long, and 
was again superseded by the commissioners, 
which office has been continued to the present. 

THE FIRST COURT. 

The following is the first entry in the records 
of the Floyd county circuit court: 

Be it remembered, that this, the ioth day of May, A. D. 
1819, being the day appointed by an act of the Assembly, en- 
titled an act to amend the act entitled an act to divide theState 
of Indiana into four circuits, and to fix the time for holding 
courts; and an act entitled an act for the formation of a new 
county out of the counties of Harrison and Clarke, which 
last-mentioned act directed that the court should be holden 
at the house of Seth Woodruff, Esq., in the town of New 
Albany, on the day and year above mentioned. 

The Honorable Davis Floyd, president of the second cir- 
cuit, appeared, and 

Present the Honorable 

Davis Floyd. 

The proceedings of this court were not ex- 
tensive at this sitting, the court contenting itself 
by merely appointing the necessary officers to 
get the machinery in motion, and admitting to 
practice the few attorneys present. 



Isaac Van Buskirk appeared and produced a 
commission signed by Governor Jonathan Jen- 
nings, appointing him judge of the circuit court. 
Joel Scribner appeared with a similar commission 
appointing him clerk of said court, and James 
Besse with a commission appointing him sheriff 
of the county. These were the first officers of the 
county. 

The lawyers admitted to practice in this court 
at the first session were John F. Ross, Reuben 
W. Nelson, Isaac Howk, Mason C. Fitch, Wil- 
liam P. Thomasson. James Ferguson, John A. 
Dunbar, Hardin H. Moore, Experience P. Storrs, 
Timothy Phelps, Henry Hurst, and John H. 
Farnham. Mason C. Fitch was appointed the 
first prosecuting attorney of the county. 

EARLY TRIALS. 

One of the most important trials in this court 
in the beginning of its history was that of Dah- 
man for the murder of Notte, an account of 
which appears elsewhere. 

In the early days of New Albany there were 
many trials, generally before justices of the 
peace, in which the defendant was a runaway 
slave, or at least generally supposed to be. So 
near was it to the borders of a slave State that 
slaves were frequently escaping across the river, 
and many others who had been freed by their 
masters became residents of the place, and some 
of these were occasionally arrested and attempts 
made to force them back into slavery, which 
caused trouble. So many people from Pennsyl- 
vania and the New England States were settled 
here that the general sentiment of the people 
was averse to slavery, and inclined to assist the 
slave to freedom rather than retard his efforts in 
that direction. 

In the spring of 182 1 a negro named Moses 
was arrested here by a party of Kentuckians, 
who were about taking him across the river as a 
runaway slave. The negro protested that he was 
a free man, born in the adjoining county of 
Clarke, but his protestations were of no avail, 
and he was taken to the river bank to await the 
arrival of the ferry-boat. It happened that 
Judge Seth Woodruff had been across the river 
and was returning on the same boat that was to 
convey the prisoner across. Immediately on 
landing the prisoner sought Mr. Woodruffs pro- 
tection. The judge was something of an abo- 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



213 



litionist, and a man with a keen sense of justice 
and of great physical strength. He immediately 
informed the Kentuckians that the man could 
not be taken across the river in that way; he 
must have a hearing — a fair trial before he could 
be given up. He was not opposed to men 
claiming their own property, but the question as 
to whether the negro was their property must be 
thoroughly investigated. Woodruff was backed 
by a few friends, and the Kentuckians, not being 
strong enough to resort to force, were compelled 
to return with their captive and stand trial. The 
trial was at Woodruff's tavern before 'Squire Bas- 
sett, and the negro was able to prove very con- 
clusively that he was born in Clarke county, and 
had never been a slave. He was declared by 
'Squire Bassett to be a free man. Meanwhile 
other Kentuckians had arrived, and all were well 
armed and determined to take the negro right or 
wrong, so when the decision was rendered a 
general and desperate fight took place for his 
possession, but the excitement had been consider- 
able, and the New Albanians had gathered in 
considerable numbers to see that 'Squire Bassett's 
court was not overawed. The Kentuckians were 
beaten and compelled to retreat without their 
man. Quite a number were hurt in the melee, 
but fortunately nobody killed. Subsequently 
the negroes, understanding that they would find 
protection in New Albany, flocked in there in 
such numbers that they became a nuisance, and 
the people at one time gathered and shipped a 
squad of them down the river with positive in- 
structions not to return. 

THE LAWYERS OF THE COUNTY. 

The following regarding the bar of New Al- 
bany is, substantially, from a manuscript on the 
subject furnished by Mr. Thomas Collins, one 
of the oldest residents of New Albany, he hav- 
ing settled in the place in 1827: 

When the county of Floyd was formed the 
first court was held at Seth Woodruff's tavern, 
Judge William Floyd presiding. The lawyers in 
attendance were from the adjoining counties of 
Harrison and Clarke, and of those in attendance 
Reuben W. Nelson was the first to locate in the 
town. He was a good lawyer and highly es- 
teemed. He was editor of the Crescent. His 
death occurred a short time after his settlement 
here. 



About this time Lathrop Elderkin located 
here and began the practice of law; he was 
elected justice of the peace, and continued in 
office several years until he died. He was a 
gentleman of good education and many good 
qualities, but a careless manager. He had the 
good will of the citizens in a great degree. 

Hardin H. Moore early established himself 
in practice here. He was better qualified, both 
by education and inclination, for politics than for 
law, though he was very successful in his prac- 
tice, and was considered almost irresistible be- 
fore a jury. As a politician he was usually suc- 
cessful among those who knew him, and fre- 
quently represented his friends and neighbors in 
the State Legislature, but his efforts for higher 
positions were always failures, always receiving, 
however, respectable support. His last canvass 
was made against Hon. John Carr, of Clarke 
county, for Congress, and failing he left this sec- 
tion and went to New Orleans in 1833, where he 
died. 

Randall Crawford came to the town about 
1827-28; he was a scholar and a well read law- 
yer, perhaps the peer of any other in the State; 
a close student, and a man of good habits, but 
he lacked those social qualities so necessary to 
rapid advancement. Sternly honest and loyal to 
his clients, he slowly but surely made his way to 
a large practice and a handsome competence. 
He was an ardent Republican, and was placed 
upon the electoral ticket for Fremont in 1856, 
and industriously canvassed the district in the 
interest of his party. He was not an orator, 
though the matter of his discourses was always 
good and sound; his delivery was cold, impas- 
sive, lacking that spirit and fire that are neces- 
sary to carry a political audience with the 
speaker. He died about the close of the war. 

Henry Collins came to the town in 1830, and 
established the Gazette newspaper. He was a 
lawyer, and, in addition to his editorial duties, 
practiced his profession. He continued thus 
five years, when he gave up the paper, and ap- 
plied himself solely to the practice of law. He 
was a straightforward man, rather blunt in his 
manner, but with his friends social and jocose. 
He was exceedingly careless in his dress, rarely 
paying attention either to his own or other peo- 
ple's clothes. At one time when he was called 
to Bedford in some case, he met some of the 



214 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



first lawyers in the State, among whom were 
Richard W. Thompson, late Secretary of the 
United States Navy, and Major H. P. Thornton, 
who was his friend and former preceptor. The 
major, who was somewhat fond of dress, and al- 
ways wore his best, thus accosted him: 

"Henry, why the deuce do you not wear better 
clothes when you go away from home?" 

"Well," replied Mr. Collins, "it makes no 
difference; nobody knows me here." 

"But you do not wear any better clothes at 
home?" retorted the major. 

"It makes no difference again," replied Mr. 
Collins; "everybody knows me there." 

Henry Collins was elected recorder of the 
city under its first charter, and continued in this 
office until he died in 1852. 

James Collins, a brother of Henry, came to 
New Albany in 1833, from Orange county, where 
he had commenced the practice of law. He 
was the opposite of his brother in most all things 
except devotion to his friends. He and Randall 
Crawford had the bulk of the law business in 
New Albany for several years; they being on one 
side or the other of three-fourths of the cases 
before the courts. He was a good speaker and 
well read in his profession, but like most men of 
his time and profession gave much of his time 
to politics. He served six years in the Legis- 
lature — two years in the lower House and four 
years in the Senate. He was elected by the 
Legislature agent of the State in 1848, and after 
the expiration of his term settled down again to 
the practice of his profession. In 1869 his 
health failed him and he retired to his farm in 
Washington county, where he died in 1881. 

Major Henry P. Thornton, one of the 
oldest lawyers in the_State, settled in New Albany 
in 1836. He was a man of great physical 
powers, and when sixty-five years of age would 
mount his horse and ride forty miles a day on his 
circuit without apparent fatigue. He was a 
lawyer of considerable ability but not enough of 
a student to keep pace with the more studious of 
the profession, yet he was fairly successful. He 
was several times elected by the Legislature to 
the clerkship of the House of Representatives, 
and also to the position of secretary of the Sen- 
ate. He removed from this city to Bedford 
about 1853, where he died at the age of nearly 
ninety years. 



John S. Davis also came to this place in 1836 
and engaged in book-keeping for the large gro- 
cery house of Tuley & Brother, a position he 
held until he formed a partnership with Major 
Thornton in the practice of law. He always 
managed his cases with great shrewdness, and 
ranked high as a criminal lawyer; but with him 
as with others in the profession, he dabbled too 
much in politics to make a complete success as a 
lawyer. As a politician he was noted for his 
ability in organizing his party, and always man- 
aged his canvass so well that he generally secured 
a majority, or, at least, greatly reduced the ma- 
jority of his opponents. He was several times 
elected to the Legislature from this county. In 
1847 he was a candidate for Congress against T. 
J. Henley, who had been elected two years pre- 
viously, and was now a candidate for a second 
time. The majority in the district was largely 
Democratic, being about seventeen hundred, but 
Davis was only defeated by forty-seven votes. 
An indefatigable worker in the party harness, his 
vote always exceeded the vote of his party. Al- 
though filling many positions his friends were 
unable to give him the position he most desired. 
In 1876 he was a candidate before the nominat- 
ing convention for Congress in opposition to 
Judge Bicknell, but was defeated. The same 
convention nominated him for judge of the cir- 
cuit court, to which office he was elected and 
retained until his death in 1880. He was a man 
of positive character and had many warm friends 
and some enemies. His loss was greatly de- 
plored by a large circle of friends and acquaint- 
ances. 

Theodore J. Barnett came to New Albany 
in the same year (1836), and was engaged on 
the editorial staff of the New Albany Gazette, 
and practiced law at the same time. He was a 
man of splendid attainments — an excellent writer, 
a fine speaker, and a superior scholar. He was 
ever ready to write an essay or make a speech, 
and his efforts in either direction would always 
command readers and listeners as would no 
other speaker or writer of his time, unless, per- 
haps, Joseph S. White, on the forum, or George 
D. Prentice on the tripod. He went from New 
Albany to Indianapolis in 1841 and assumed the 
editorship of the Indiana Journal. Remaining 
there only a year or so he returned to New Al- 
bany, where he remained a few months, then 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



215 



took his departure for New York city, and has 
since resided in the East, part of the time in 
Washington city. He was a genial, kind-hearted 
gentleman, and with his talents and industry 
should have occupied a high position in the 
State and Nation, but his erratic or vacillating 
disposition was the stumbling-block in the way 
of his advancement, and thus his splendid talents 
went for nothing. This defect in his disposition 
destroyed all the good that a genius like his 
might have accomplished. He is yet living, 
though quite aged, and retains the respect and 
good wishes of all who know him. 

It was also in the same year, 1836, that a 
young lawyer by the name of Groves settled in 
New Albany. He remained but a short time 
when he removed to the northern part of the 
State. He was here long enough, however, to 
find himself a wife in the person of Miss Dorsey, 
a daughter of P. M. Dorsey, then mayor of the 
town. 

The year 1836 seems to have been prolific 
in the advent of lawyers into New Albany. 
Young Mr. Griswold also came in this year. He 
was a most amiable and cultured young man, 
well read in his profession, and a graduate of 
one of the best law schools in the country; but 
his somewhat aesthetic tastes and fine moral sense 
were not calculated for the profession of law in 
a backwoods town, and he remained in New Al- 
bany but a short time. Returning to New York 
he prepared himself for the ministry, and in 
1 844 went to St. Louis to take charge of a church 
in that city. He was a thorough gentleman and 
a Christian. 

William McKee Dunn, at present advocate- 
general of the United States Military court, came 
to this city from Madison, Indiana, in 1838. He 
was a good lawyer, fine speaker, and did good 
service for the Whigs in the canvass of 1840. 
He made many friends here, but removed to his 
old home in 1842, since which time his career 
has been one of usefulness to the country. 

Peter A. Roane, a young man of good nat- 
ural ability, but uneducated, began the study of 
law with John S. Davis in 1836, and was admit- 
ted to practice in 1840. In 1839 he was elected 
city recorder, and held the office one term, after 
which he devoted his entire time to his practice 
until his death, which took place after a practice 
of four or five years. 



Thomas L. Smith located in New Albany 
about the year 1839, and was immediately taken 
in hand by the Democratic party, being the only 
lawyer of that faith in the city except Mr. 
Groves, to whom an old farmer said one day, 
"Groves, you may have been bred to the 
law, but I be blessed if the law will ever be 
bread to you." But Mr. Smith was a lawyer as 
well at a politician, and soon obtained an excel- 
lent practice in his profession, as well as made 
himself popular with his party. He had some 
literary taste and ambition, also, and wrote a text 
book for schools in which the rudiments of law 
were explained, and which became a valuable 
acquisition to the teachers' and pupils' library. 
He was several times before the people as a can- 
didate for office, and as the parties were pretty 
nearly tied hereabouts he would sometimes be 
elected and at other times defeated, but at all 
times he received a flattering vote. He served 
as judge of the supreme court of the State one 
term, at the expiration of which he retired to 
private life, his health having failed. He died 
at a ripe old age much lamented by a large circle 
of friends. 

Phineas M. Kent settled in New Albany in 
1841 ; went into the printing business and also 
opened a law office. He, however, paid little 
attention to the law, his tastes leading him into 
editorial life. 

Ashbel P. Williard was teaching school in 
Kentucky in 1844. Having some reputation as 
a ready and forcible speaker he was invited by 
the Democracy to make public addresses during 
that political campaign in which Henry Clay and 
James K. Polk were the opposing candidates. 
Mr. Williard so pleased his party that he was 
urged by the Democracy of New Albany to lo- 
cate here. This he did and began the practice 
of law, forming a partnership with Randall Craw- 
ford. It was not long, however, before he 
yielded to the political siren and left his practice 
for the hustings. He was elected to the Legisla- 
ture and afterward made Lieutenant-governor. 
In 1856 he was elected Governor over Oliver 
P. Morton, and died during his term of of- 
fice. Mr. Willard was an ardent friend and 
liberal enemy. He had his faults, but he also 
had his virtues, and no one retained a atronger 
hold on his party than he. When he died the 
Democracy felt that they had lost a champion. 



2l6 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



James C. Moody came here from Washington, 
Pennsylvania, in 1842. He was a lawyer of fair 
ability and a gentleman of good address; his 
success in his chosen profession, however, was 
somewhat retarded by his desire to accumulate 
wealth rapidly, or make his fortune at a dash. 
He consequently indulged considerably in specu- 
lation. Becoming dissatisfied here he removed 
to St. Louis, where he subsequently became a 
judge of one of the courts. In later years he 
gave way to the vice of intemperance, which has 
destroyed some of the brightest minds of the 
country. He died from his excesses soon after 
the close of the war. When himself he was 
companionable and kind. 

George V. Howk removed to New Albany from 
Charlestown in the adjoining county in 1849. He 
was a young man of promise and has occupied 
many positions of trust, having been elected to 
the offices of city attorney, councilman, Senator 
in the State Legislature, and is at present one of 
the supreme judges of the State. He is a man 
of ability and an indefatigable worker. 

Robert A. Wier studied law with Judge 
Howk, and after completing his studies was 
admitted into partnership with his preceptor in 
1854. He was very popular but died before his 
powers were fully developed. 

William T. Otto, a practicing lawyer, came 
to the city in 1848, and began practice in con- 
nection with John S. Davis. He had been here 
but a short time when he was made presiding 
judge of the circuit court, the district embracing 
the counties of Washington, Scott, Clarke, Floyd, 
and Harrison. The terms of holding court were 
one and two weeks in each of the counties except 
Floyd, the term in this county being extended to 
three weeks. Judge Otto was a man of fine 
attainments, a first-class lawyer and an upright 
judge. Personally he was very popular, but 
being a Whig in politics, and there being a large 
Democratic majority in this judicial district, he 
was defeated for a second term by Hon. George 
A. Bicknell. He resumed the practice of law 
and continued at the bar until 1861, when he 
received an appointment in the Interior depart- 
ment at Washington, to which place he moved 
and where he has since remained. Judge Otto 
was a gentleman of easy and polished manners, 
much respected for his many good qualities as a 
man, and was rated by his contemporaries as one 



of the best lawyers among them. He was origi- 
nally from Philadelphia. 

Judge George A. Bicknell came from Phila- 
delphia and settled in Lexington, Scott cpunty, 
Indiana, where he remained a few years in the 
practice of his profession, when he removed to 
New Albany, 'and soon took first rank in his pro- 
fession in this place. In 1854 he was elected 
judge of the circuit court for this district, and 
continued to serve in that capacity until 1876, 
when he was elected to Congress from the Third 
Congressional district. He served two terms in 
Congress, but was defeated for the third term in 
the nominating convention of his party by Mr. 
Stockslager, of Harrison county. At the session 
of 1 88 1 the Legislature passed an act creating a 
commission to bring up the business of the 
supreme court of the State, which was very much 
in arrears. Judge Bicknell was appointed on 
this commission, a position he yet holds. Judge 
BicknelPs retiring and rather exclusive habits 
peculiarly fitted him for the position of judge, 
and it is questionable if any other ever gave more 
general satisfaction. His decisions were received 
with confidence and quietly acquiesced in. 
Socially he was a good conversationalist and a 
man of pleasant manners. 

Michael C. Kerr was a native of the Keystone 
State, and came to New Albany in 1848, while 
yet a young man just entering upon the practice 
of his profession. He had studied law at Louis- 
ville, and when he came here he became as- 
sociated with Judge Thomas L. Smith in the 
practice. His inclination, however, led him into 
politics, and his law business was in consequence 
somewhat neglected. He was a hard student, 
and did not confine himself in this regard to the 
law; he was ambitious, intellectually bright, ener- 
getic, but with more of these qualities than of 
physical strength. He was quite popular with 
the people, and his first office was that of prose- 
cuting attorney for the city, being elected by a 
handsome majority over his Whig opponent, 
though the Whigs at that time had a clear ma- 
jority of two hundred in the city. Subsequently 
he was selected to represent the county in the 
State Legislature. From 1862 to 1864 he was 
reporter for the State supreme court. In the fall 
of 1864 he was elected to Congress from the 
Third Congressional district, and continued in 
the National House of Representatives four con- 



.HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



217 



secutive terms. He was re-elected in 1874 for a 
fifth term, and in December 1875, he was made 
Speaker of that body, which position he held at 
the time of his death. He was a genial, kind- 
hearted gentleman, full of noble impulses, and 
his death was a severe loss to his friends and his 
country. 

Thomas M. Brown, then located at Memphis, 
Tennessee, and John H. Stottsenberg, of New 
York, both young men, formed a partnership and 
opened a law office in New Albany in 1854. Mr. 
Brown was one of the most persevering of stu- 
dents, devoted to his profession, and determined 
to make of himself a first-class lawyer. He was 
quite successful. After he was fairly established 
in his business he married the daughter of Hon. 
John S. Davis, who lived but a few years after- 
ward, and died leaving two daughters to his care. 
Mr. Brown continued steadfast in his profession 
and in devotion to his family, caring little for 
political honors, though once elected to the Leg- 
islature. He was in love with his profession, and 
quite successful. His death was distressingly 
sudden, though not entirely unlooked for. For 
several years he had been suffering with disease 
of the lungs, and the day of his death was in his 
office attending, as usual, to his duties, and in 
the afternoon started for home. Reaching the 
upper part of the city, and when within a few 
blocks of his home, he fell, and expired before 
those who were conveying him to his house 
could reach it. He was a Christian gentleman, 
an honest, faithful advocate, a good neighbor 
and steadfast friend. 

John H. Stottsenberg, who is still a resident 
of the city, is much the same type of a man as 
his partner, Mr. Brown. In this partnership, 
which was dissolved only by the death of Mr. 
Brown, there seemed to be a mutual feeling of 
regard and respect, a unity of sentiment, and a 
similarity of tastes rarely found in a partnership. 
The business was conducted so quietly and 
earnestly as to become the subject of remark, 
and to bring a large patronage. Mr. Stottsen- 
berg continued the practice of his profession af- 
ter the death of his partner, and soon became 
one of the leading members of this judicial cir- 
cuit. Two or more years ago he was appointed 
by the Legislature one of the commission to re- 
vise the State laws, and has been constantly em- 
ployed in this labor since that time. He is a 



gentleman of superior business qualifications, 
pleasing manners and strict integrity. 

The foregoing rather imperfect sketches in- 
clude those lawyers whose nativity was not with- 
in the limits of this judicial circuit, but who 
came from a distance and settled here for the 
purpose of prosecuting their business. The fol- 
lowing are brief sketches of those of the same 
profession who are to the manor born, and among 
them will be found some of the most talented 
and reliable in the profession : 

DeWitt C. Anthony, now about fifty-two or 
fifty-three years of age, is a well read lawyer and 
a good political speaker. He studied under 
Randall Crawford. 

Judge D. W. LaFollette is a son of Robert 
LaFollette, who is said to have been the first 
settler of Floyd county. He was born Septem- 
ber 13, 1825, and graduated at the law school of 
the State university; was admitted to practice in 
1849, and settled in New Albany, soon after 
forming a partnership with James Collins. In 
1858 he was elected judge of the court of com- 
mon pleas of Floyd county, and in 1872 was ap- 
pointed by the Governor judge of the circuit 
court, but declined this honor and became prose- 
cuting attorney of the district. In 1873 he was 
appointed one of the law professors in the State 
university and filled the chair one year. Since 
that time he has devoted himself to the practice 
of his profession in New Albany, where he sus- 
tains a good reputation as a lawyer and citizen. - 

Alexander Dowling stands in the first rank 
of lawyers m the city. His father, Dr. Dow- 
ling, removed to this city in 1836, when the sub- 
ject of this paragraph was a child. Mr. Dowling 
studied law under Judge John S. Davis, and be- 
gan the practice in 1868 or 1869. He is a fair 
speaker but relies more upon his thorough 
knowledge of the law than upon his forensic 
powers. 

Thomas L. Collins and Alfred B. Col- 
lins about the same time, having studied law 
under their father, James Collins, were admitted 
to practice. They soon after removed to Salem, 
the county seat of the adjoining county of Wash- 
ington, where A. B. Collins was twice elected to 
the Legislature, and in 1877 Thomas L. Collins 
was appointed judge of the circuit composed of 
the counties of Washington and Jackson. 

James Gh"ormley was a student in the office 



2l8 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



of Hon. M. C. Kerr, and was admitted to the 
bar in 1S65. He was a young man of promise, 
but after a few years' practice died of consump- 
tion. 

Simeon K. Wolf, son of George I. Wolf, one 
of the first settlers of the county, and who twice 
represented the courty in the Legislature, studied 
law in Corydon, and was elected to the Legis- 
lature from Harrison county. In 1870 he re- 
moved to New Albany, and entered into partner- 
ship in the practice of law with James V. Kelso 
and Alanson Stephens. In 1872 he was elected 
to Congress, and after serving one term settled 
down to the practice of his profession. 

William W. Tuley is a native of New Al- 
bany, and among its best lawyers. The name 
Tuley has long been a familiar one in the place, 
the family being among the earliest settlers. 
Mr. Tuley's father was one of the first sheriffs of 
the county, and represented the county in the 
State Senate from 1837 to 1S40. Colonel W. 
W. Tuley was elected clerk of the circuit court 
in 1863, and retained that office eight years, 
when he began the practice of law with Judge 
Howk. When the latter was made judge, he 
formed a partnership with Judge LaFollette, 
where he is found to-day in the successful practice 
of his profession. 

Judge Cyrus L. Dunham was a colonel in 
the late war, and at its close settled in New Al- 
bany, where he practiced until elected judge of 
the criminal court. During his term of office 
he removed to Jeffersonville, where he died in 
1874. Judge Dunham was very popular with 
the people, and was sent to Congress three terms. 
He was kind-hearted and generous in his dis- 
position, but at one time yielded to his appetite 
for drink to such an extent as to lose his popu- 
larity, although he reformed and continued stead- 
fast to the end. 

James V. Kelso, when a small boy, came 
with his father to New Albany from Madison, 
Indiana. He has, by perseverance and close 
study, secured a prominent position among the 
attorneys of the city. 

Jacob Herter came to this city during the 
war, and became a student in the office of Judge 
Dunham. He began practice with his preceptor 
and continued in this connection a few years, 
when he was elected to the office of city judge, 
which position he filled very satisfactorily to the 



people and with credit to himself. At present 
he is deputy city attorney. 

Thomas J. Jackson is not a native of ihe 
city, but studied his profession here. He is a 
young man of social habits and kind disposi- 
tion. 

Edwin G. Henry, an educated and studious 
young man, located here about 1870, and is 
steadily working his way to a practice. 

Jacob Hisey came to the city from Corydon; 
studied law with Hon. M. C. Kerr; was admitted 
to practice a few years since, and is building up 
a profitable business. 

Samuel B. Kerr, son of the late M. C. Kerr, 
began the practice of law here since his father's 
death. He was elected to the Legislature in 
1880, and made an industrious and promising 
member of that body. 

Seth Woodruff, one of A. Dowling's pupils, 
and son of Israel C. Woodruff, of this city, after 
a short term of practice here removed to Texas, 
where he is building up a lucrative practice. 

George B. Cardwell studied under John H. 
Stottsenberg, and has been practicing three or 
four years. He promises a successful career. 

Many other lawyers located here from time to 
time, but remaining only a short time they did 
not become identified with the interests of the 
city. In every city there is a floating population 
representing every trade and profession, whose 
doings cannot properly be entered in the city's 
history. 

murder trials. 

Quite a number of trials for murder have oc- 
curred in the county, and a number of convic- 
tions have been secured, but only three persons 
have been hung, the others escaping the extreme 
penalty of the law by means only known to the 
parties most directly interested. 

Dahman was the first person hung after the 
formation of the county. A Norwegian named 
Notte had established himself in the bakery 
business on the southeast corner of Upper High 
and First streets, where he was frequently vis- 
ited by Dahman, who was also a Norwegian. 
They were on intimate and friendly terms. One 
night they temained together until a late hour, 
and when the world outside and in were asleep 
Dahman murdered the baker for some reason 
known only to himself, probably for money and 
the little property he possessed, and putting the 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



219 



body in a large coffee-sack sunk it in the river. 
The next day Dahman asserted that Notte had 
gone over the river (which was true in one sense) 
and began removing Notte's goods and effects 
from the room he had occupied. 

A few days after some fishermen were hauling 
in their lines and drew to the surface the sack 
and body of Notte. This led to an investiga- 
tion, and Dahman was arrested. He made his 
escape, however, and for some time nothing 
could be heard of him. In an incautious mo- 
ment he attempted to communicate with his fam- 
ily, and his whereabouts was discovered. He 
had made his way to Canada. James Besse was 
then sheriff of the county, and he and John 
Eastburn went to the Canada border to try to ar- 
rest him. Arriving there they ascertained that 
Dahman was in the neighborhood, but how to get 
him across the river and within the jurisdiction 
of the United States, was the problem. As the 
Norwegian had communicated with his wife, and 
might reasonably expect a visit from her, Besse 
dressed himself in women's clothes and walked 
up and down the river bank in plain view of the 
opposite shore, while Eastburn went across and 
informed the murderer that his wife was waiting 
to see him. Dahman, seeing a woman on the 
opposite shore, as he supposed, fell into the trap, 
made his way across, was arrested, brought to 
New Albany, tried in May, 1821, and sentenced 
to be hung July 6th following. He was accord- 
ingly executed near the site of the present jail. 
His wife subsequently married a colored man 
named Joshua Wilson, who owned a fine farm on 
the river bank about three miles below the city. 
This place is now occupied by Cecilia B. Stoy. 
The jury in the trial of Dahman were John Chew, 
Joseph Kirk, Charles Berkshire, John Hickman, 
Elihu Tharp, Levi Brown, Hubertus Schmidt, 
Joseph Thackery, Henry Weber, Thomas Burns, 
Patrick Burns, and Thomas Thomas. Mason 
C. Fitch was the prosecuting attorney, and Wil- 
liam P. Thomasson attorney for the prisoner. 
This was before they had any court-house in New 
Albany, and the trial was held in the basement 
of the Presbyterian church. 

The execution of Lamb was the second in the 
county. He lived in the neighborhood of Green- 
ville in this county, and was making his way 
home one hot summer day when he overtook a 
man about two miles from Greenville and the 



two traveled together some distance when 
they sat down to rest in the shade of some 
trees at the roadside, about one mile from 
where the toll-gate now stands, on what is known 
as the Shirley road. While here they began 
playing cards, apparently for amusement, but 
soon got into a quarrel which resulted in blows 
during which Lamb seized a club and striking 
the man a heavy blow on the head felled him to 
the earth, and he did not rise again. After a 
little while Lamb started to go away when 
hearing the man groan he returned and taking 
off his coat put it under the man's head for a 
pillow and left him. The man died and when 
the body was discovered Lamb's coat was recog- 
nized and led to his arrest. He was sent to 
Charlestown for safe keeping, but with three 
other prisoners broke jail and escaped. Instead 
of going away, however, he returned immediately 
to his home, where he was recaptured and re- 
turned to jail. At the next term of court he was 
tried, found guilty, sentenced, and subsequently 
hung. Nothing is at present known of his fam- 
ily. 

The next case in which capital punishment 
was administered in the county was that of Peter 
Gross for killing a man in Clarke county. He 
was brought here for trial on change of venue. 
The trial lasted but a short time, the evidence 
being conclusive; he was condemned and hung 
in 1849 near tne turnpike bridge on the Vin- 
cennes road. 

In the earlier days of the court some of the 
best legal talent in the State were found in at- 
tendance; among them such men as Charles 
Dewey, Isaac Howk, father of Judge Howk, of 
the supreme court; John W. Payne, Jeremiah 
Sullivan, Samuel Judah, William P. and John H. 
Thomasson, and others of note both from this 
State and Kentucky. 



CHAPTER XII. 

NEW ALBANY— COMMERCIAL INTERESTS. 

Regarding the mercantile, manufacturing, and 
other business of New Albany much has been 
written; and very much more may be said than 
space can be found for in a work like this. It 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



has proved itself by far the 'argest manufacturing 
city in the State and its capacities in this direc- 
tion are unlimited. From the day the town was 
laid out in 1813 to the present the fact of its ex- 
cellent situation for a manufacturing city has 
been kept continually before the people, and this 
has, in a great measure, perhaps, determined the 
location of some of its largest manufacturing 
establishments. The shrewd, far-seeing Yankee 
who laid it out and settled it knew that the im- 
mense commerce of the "Beautiful river" would, 
in a great measure, divide at the falls, and that a 
city located below the falls would, to a certain 
extent, become a natural terminal point. Upon 
this subject Mr. Cottom writes as follows, in 
1873: 

For at least seven months in the year New Albany is the 
head of navigation on the lower Ohio river. The falls are a 
barrier to navigation during all seasons of the year except 
that of high or ordinarily high water, and steamboats are 
unable to pass over them. With the grand railroad system 
that centers here (of which particular mention is made else- 
where), New Albany is bound to become, within a very short 
time, the most important shipping point on the Ohio river 
below the falls; and this fact, and the existence of the ob- 
struction of the falls above referred to, must compel all 
steamers, except those running in the local packet trade (and 
those, too, to some extent,) to make New Albany the port at 
which they receive all southern bound cargoes and discharge 
for re-shipment all eastern and northern bound freights. The 
high rates of toll upon steamboats charged by the Louisville 
and Portland canal around the falls precludes all, or nearly 
all, steamboats from the use of that improvement. Freights 
from the East, southward bound, are brought here by rail for 
re-shipment by boat southward, while freights from the South, 
the great staples of tobacco, cotton, sugar, and molasses, in 
particular, are brought here by boat for re-shipment East 
and North. This gives to New Albany an immense com- 
mercial advantage, which will continue to increase each year 
as the prosperity of the South becomes more fullv developed 
and permanently established. It will add, too, very largely 
to the wealth and importance of New Albany, as this city 
will not only become noted as a re-shipping point, but by 
the very force of circumstances, not to mention the well 
known enterprise and energy of her citizens, will become 
equally noted as a place for the interchange, the purchase 
and sale of the commodities, agricultural and manufactured, 
of the two sections of the Union. The city is located upon 
the verge of both sections, and will become a great entrepot 
to the trade of both. 

The river trade of New Albany will compare favorably 
with that of any western city of equal population. The Sec- 
retary of the United States Treasury gives the river trade of 
the city for 1869 as twelve millions of dollars; for 1871?, as 
thirteen million five hundred thousand dollars; for 1871, as 
fifteen millions of dollars. This, we are told, does not in- 
clude the local packet business, which, if added, would 
swell the aggregate for 1871, to not far from sixteen millions 
of dollars, while the value of the trade for 1872 will reach not 
far from seventeen millions. Here, of itself, is an immense 
trade; but to this is to be added the railroad, manufacturing, 



mechanical, mercantile, live stock, and produce, and general 
trade of the city, and not least, by any means, its coal and 
other mineral trade. 

EARLY BUSINESS MATTERS. 

Like every other city, in its infancy New 
Albany struggled through many years of hard- 
ship and adversity before it developed into a 
business town, and its struggles did not end even 
with its development into a business city. It 
was fortunate at the start in securing a class of 
settlers that were educated business men, who 
came here because they found an opening on 
the highway to wealth and prosperity. There is 
little doubt that its first merchants and traders 
were Messrs. Paxson & Eastburn, both from the 
East and both influential and highly honored 
citizens, and always taking part in every move- 
ment for the development of the place. East- 
burn was a young man from Bucks county, Penn- . 
sylvania ; Charles Paxson was from Philadelphia, 
where he had been engaged in merchandising. 
He purchased some lots in the new town and 
settled here in 181 7 with his family, the children 
being Catharine, Stephen, Phoebe, and Anna 
Maria, who are all living at this time except 
Stephen. One of the daughters married Mason 
C. Fitch, a prominent lawyer of the place, else- 
where mentioned, and is yet residing in New 
Albany. This family journeyed to Pittsburgh and 
thence down the Ohio in a pirogue to New Albany. 
They were accompanied by a German with his 
two sons, the boys having been bound to the ser- 
vice of Mr. Paxson for three years in considera- 
tion of his having paid their passage to America. 
In coming over the falls their "dug-out" became 
unmanageable and the Dutchman, father of the 
boys, fell overboard and was drowned. Mr. Pax- 
son purchased a lot on the corner of Main* and 
Pearl streets, southwest corner, where he built a 
combined brick store-room and dwelling house. 
When he began this brick building there was no 
structure of that character in the town, but before 
it was completed Stroud, the ferryman, had erect- 
ed a small brick building, the first in town. The 
Paxson building is yet standing ; the family lived 
in the upper part of the building while the lower 
was occupied as a store. Paxson & Eastburn 
continued business here several years, trading 
largely with New Orleans, shipping furs, peltry 
and whatever produce the country afforded, 
and bringing back goods for exchange, as money 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



in those days was very scarce and exchange was 
the rule with the merchants. On one of his 
business trips to New Orleans Mr. Paxson died 
of yellow fever in that place. Mr. Eastburn's 
health at this time was in a delicate condition 
and the business was closed up, the goods 
being disposed of at auction, the son-in-law of 
Mr. Paxson, Mason C. Fitch, being administrator. 
At the sale while Mr. Eastburn was bidding on a 
book against Fitch, he became so much excited 
that he dropped down in the room and died in a 
few minutes. He had been sick some time with 
chills and fever, and was much reduced in 
strength. He was about thirty-five years of age, 
with no family. This ended the first mercantile 
venture in New Albany. 

Elias Ayers was also one of the first mer- 
chants of the place, and came here from Louis- 
ville, where he had been in the same business. 
His store was located on Main street near that 
of Messrs. Paxson & Eastburn. Mr. Ayers was 
here in the mercantile business many years, and 
became wealthy, very influential, was identified 
with all the material interests of the place, and 
was considered a large-minded, liberal-hearted 
gentleman; being much associated in later years 
with educational matters, and a liberal contrib- 
utor to all educational and benevolent institu- 
tions, not only in New Albany but other places. 

Mr. Oliver Cassell, who came to New Albany 
in 1826, and who is yet a resident, says at that 
date New Albany was not much of a town. It 
consisted of a cluster of houses on Lower Fourth 
street and in that neighborhood — the bulk of the 
town being below State street. Straggling houses, 
however, extended as far as east as Upper Fourth 
street, beyond which point it was all woods; the 
woods including all the eastern part of the city, 
now the most beautiful part. The business was 
mostly on Main street, between Lower First and 
Upper Second streets. There was also a little 
business on State street. The principal business 
firms at that time were Elias Ayers, James R. 
Shields & Brother, Alexander S. Burnett, after- 
wards mayor of the city, and James Brooks, all 
on Main street. These all kept what was then 
known as country stores; that is, they carried 
general stocks — everything needed by a miscel- 
laneous community. 

Steamboat building was also largely engaged 
in for that early date. Peter Tolone and Martin 



Himes were the principal men in the business. 
Morton & Cox, from Cincinnati, established the 
first foundry here some time prior to 1826, as it 
was in full blast at that time, though, as a matter 
of course, not doing a large business. This es- 
tablishment was the pioneer of a business that 
has since been much extended, and which at 
present gives employment to a large number of 
hands and a large amount of capital. They 
erected a building for their purpose on the cor- 
" ner of Front (River) and Bank streets. It was 
a frame building about 40 x 60 feet in size. 
They manufactured castings and machinery and 
did a repairing business. 

Mr. Thomas Collins, who came to the city in 
1827, says the merchants at that time were Elias 
Ayers, near the corner of Pearl and Main, on 
Main street; William Drysdale, on Main, below 
Upper Second; William and Jefferson Conner, 
on north side of Main, between Upper First and 
Second; Alexander S. Burnett, on the north side 
of Main, between State and Upper First; Henry 
B. Shields, noith side Main, between State and 
Upper First; Hale & Fitch, southwest corner of 
Pearl and Main; James R. Shields, south side of 
Main, between Upper First and Second. These 
were all engaged in the dry goods and general 
merchandising business. The only drug store 
was kept by Robert Downey on the northeast 
corner of Pearl and Main streets. Those en- 
gaged in a general grocery and produce business 
were James Comby, on Pearl, between Main and 
Market streets; Dorsey & Stephenson, on the 
south side of Main, between Lower First and 
State streets; James Lyons, on the southwest 
corner of Market and Pearl, and Henry B. Wil- 
son on the southwest corner of Main and Second 
streets. Charles Woodruff was engaged in the 
hardware business on the south side of Main, 
between Lower First and Second streets, and 
Bartlett Hardy kept stoves and iron castings next 
door to Woodruffs. These were about all that 
were engaged in the mercantile business at that 
time, and all these carried more or less mixed 
stocks. 

A year later Ralph and Crovel Richards es- 
tablished a dry goods store at the southeast 
corner of Upper Second and Main streets, and 
James Conner one of the same character on the 
south side of Main, between Upper First and 
Second streets. 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



Henry Bogert was among the first business 
men of the place, settling here in 1814. His 
daughter, Mrs. Waring, still resides here. 

STAR GLASS WORKS. 

John B. Ford probably has the honor of 
originating the manufacture of glass in New Al- 
bany. Prior to his appearance in New Albany 
Mr. Ford was a resident of Greenville, in Green- 
ville township, where he was prominently con- 
nected with various enterprises for the building 
up of that village. His residence there being in 
close proximity to the great sand bed that lies in 
Washington county near the Floyd county line, 
probably led to inquiries by him concerning the 
manufacture of glass from this sand, and culminat- 
ed finally in the establishment of the glass works of 
John B. Ford & Co. in 1865. He was a good 
talker and succeeded in persuading some capi- 
talists in New Albany that this sand bed should 
be utilized, and that New Albany was a most ex- 
cellent point for the manufacture of glass. They 
secured a block ot ground on the river bank be- 
tween Upper Ninth and Tenth streets, upon 
which they erected a frame building and began 
the manufacture of window glass. The works 
were soon disposed of for some reason to Messrs. 
Samuel Montgomery and Henry Hennegan in 
whose hands they burnt down in 1866. This 
firm soon rebuilt the works and resold them to 
Mr. Ford, taking the steamer Dexter in the 
trade. The manufacture of glass at this time 
was not a success, however, owing probably to 
lack of both experience and capital, and the 
works were soon abandoned. 

In February, 1867, Mr. Ford having secured 
help in the way of capital again established the 
works on a very much larger scale than before. 
These works were known as the New Albany 
Glass works. John B. Ford & Co. purchased 
ground on the river bank between Eleventh and 
Thirteenth streets, where the firm erected some 
very extensive buildings. The following extract 
from a directory of New Albany, published in 
1868, gives a fair idea of the extent of these 
works: 

New Albany Glass works, John B. Ford & Son, proprietors, 
were established in February. 1867, and occupy six build- 
ings, three of which are brick. The one used in the manu- 
facture of window glass is sixty-five by eighty-five feet; an- 
other for cutting the same is fifty by one hundred and fifty- 
four feet; then there are two buildings each twenty by one 
hundred feet, one used for a warehouse, and the other for 



silvering and finishing plate-glass mirrors; then another ware- 
house forty by one hundred feet, and a bottle-house sixty-five 
by eighty feet, which is entirely new. The firm employs one 
hundred and twenty hands, four teams, and consumes in their 
year's work (ten months) one hundred and sixty-five thousand 
bushels of coal; five hundred tons of soda ash; one thousand 
five hundred tons of sand; nine thousand bushels of lime, and 
six hundred barrels of salt. This does not include the stock 
in use in the manufacture of hollow ware. Value of manu- 
factured goods $300,000 per annum. 

It will be seen from the above that the New 
Albany Glass works were established on a some- 
what extensive scale. In 1873 Mr. Cottom thus 
writes of these works: 

The New Albany Glass works have suspended, and part of 
the buildings converted to the use of other manufacturing com- 
panies. They were upon an extensive scale, and the last year 
operated employed a capital of $100,000, gave employ- 
ment to one hundred and sixty-five workmen, paid in yearly 
wages $75,000, and turned out an annual product of the 
value of $250,000. 

In 1872 the buildings and grounds of the New 
Albany Glass works passed into the hands of W. 
C. De Pauw, and became a part of the Star 
Glass works, which had been established by Mr. 
De Pauw. The Star works thus became the only 
glass manufacturing establishment in the city, 
and so remains to-day. With the addition of the 
grounds and buildings of Messrs. Ford & Co. it 
became one of the most extensive establishments 
of this character in America. In 1873 Mr. Cot- 
tom thus writes of these works: 

They cover an area of fifteen acres with their buildings and 
necessary grounds, and manufacture the best quality of plate, 
glass, m all respects equal to the very best French and En- 
glish plate, and also window glass, fruit jars, and bottles. 
The manufacture of plate-glass in America is yet an experi- 
ment 50 far as it relates to profitable returns upon the very 
large investment of capital it requires to operate such works. 
There can, however, be little doubt that the experiment now 
making in New Albany in the manufacture of first quality of 
plate-glass will prove successful, inasmuch as the capital em- 
ployed, the extent of the buildings, and the amount and 
superiority of machinery used, will compare favorably with 
the like conditions in the extensive plate-glass works of 
Europe. 

The buildings of the Star Glass works are as follows : 
Main building 580 by 115 feet indimensions, containing eight 
smoothers and eight polishers, twenty-one furnaces and 
ovens, cutting and p icking-rooms and offices; one building 
(in the course of erection) 300 by 125 feet in size, for a cast- 
ing-house; one building 40 by 50 for ovens for roasting and 
calcining gypsum, and for crushing and pulverizing emery 
and limestone, and a warehouse 260 by 46 feet. Tne Plate- 
glass works have a capacity for the production of 1,000 feet 
per day of the finest quality of polished plate, 92 by 180 
inches in size. The window glass houses, two in number, 
are 60 by 80 feet in size. There are two bottle and fruit jar 
houses, each 60 by 80 feet; one flattening-house, 80 by 130 
feet; cutting-house, 20 by 80 feet; pot-house, 40 by 100 feet; 
mixing-house, 40 by 40 feet; sand-house, 50 by 50 feet; 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



223 



house for grinding fruit jars, 20 by 30 feet; warehouse, 30 by 
no feet; steam box factory, 70 by 130 feet; store-house, 16 by 
16 feet; office, 20 by 40, feet. 

Four large steam engines, receiving power lrom eight large 
boilers, are required to run the machinery for this vast es- 
tablishment. These extensive works have a capital $550,000; 
employ 250 opeiatives; annually pay $125,000 in wages, and 
the value of their products the past year was $720,000, and 
will probably considerably exceed $1,000,000 for the year 
1873. These works are the only ones of importance in 
America at present engaged in the manufacture of polished 
plate-glass. W. C. DePauw, the wealthiest and most enter- 
prising capitalist in Indiana, is president of the company. 

Regarding the manufacture of glass at these 
works the following is taken from the Ledger- 
Standard of 1877: 

The Star Plate-glass works of New Albany, Indiana, are the 
most extensive and elaborate on the American continent, em- 
bracing three divisions of glass-making, viz: Polished plate, 
window glass, and fruit jars. 

The works are established on what was originally supposed 
to be an abundantly large property upon the bank of the 
river, but which has since been added to, until the present 
area — which is as completely covered with buildings as is safe 
— includes about fifteen acres and even this has not proved 
sufficient, but to use a common expression is still growing. 

The plate-glass department, which includes the melting 
furnaces and annealing ovens, the beds on which the glass is 
formed into plates, the ovens for re-calcining the plaster of 
Paris, the ovens for calcining and preparing the polishing 
material, the rooms for grinding and preparing the emeiy, 
the grinding, smoothing and polishing rooms, the cutting 
rooms and the plate-glass warerooms, are all contained in 
one building. 

Glass is the result of the combination by fusion of silex, 
pure sand with an alkali, and sdme ingredients for purifying, 
coloring, or tempering. These materials are subjected to an 
intense heat in fire-clay vessels called pots, which are placed 
in huge furnaces, where they can be closely watched. When 
the fusion is complete the glass-blower inserts the lower end of 
a straight hollow iron rod into the molten mass, to which a 
portion of the waxy material adheres. Now withdrawing 
the rod, he blows a huge bubble of glass. By constantly 
twirling the rod and other manipulations only understood by 
the blowers, such as inverting it in the air, swinging in a circle, 
etc., the brittle bubble assumes the shape of a long evenly 
formed cylinder, or huge bottle, the neck being fast to the rod. 
Now, by heating the other end, while the thumb closes the 
mouth-piece, the bottom of the bottle is softened, the air in 
the cylinder is expanded , and the glass opens at the other 
end. A few more twirls and the cylinder is ready to be sepa- 
rated from the rod. This is accomplished by rubbing the 
junction of the glass and rod with a small bar of cold iron, 
the sudden, uneven contraction breaking the glass at that 
point. Another separation is made at the shoulder or neck, 
by encircling the cylinder with melted glass. A perfect cylin- 
der or tube of glass is thus left, from ten to fourteen inches 
in diameter, and from sixty to seventy-two inches in length. 
This is now split from end to end on the top, and carried to 
the flattening oven, when it is placed upon a revolving table. 
The heat softens the glass, which soon assumes the form of 
a flattened sheet, and is carefully smoothed down by means 
of a long-handled block of wood. It is then placed in a 
cooling oven or "leer," where it gradually cools, and it is 



then cut with diamonds into the required sizes for window 
panes. 

The fruit jars are handled similar to window glass, except 
that it is blown into iron moulds. When the bubble is of the 
proper size, the blower places it within the open mould, 
closes the latter by stepping upon a lever, and blows with 
sufficient force to perfectly fill all the indentations of the 
mould, at the same time withdrawing the pipe sufficiently to 
weaken its hold upon the jar. Removing the foot the mould 
opens, and the jar is raised by the pipe. A V shaped recep- 
tacle lies near by, with an iron edge at its farthest extremity, 
into which, with a dexterous movement, the jar is dropped, 
the thin glass being broken by the iron edge. The assistant 
now steps forward with a rod, attached to which is a metallic 
case, and this is slipped over the jar. The jar is now ready 
for the annealing oven, and from thence is taken to the filers, 
who rasp off the rough edges from the top, when they are 
wheeled to the grinding room and run through the grinders, 
then washed, and are ready for packing, preparatory to ship- 
ment. , 

Plate-glass is properly poured, or cast glass. A smooth 
iron table with adaptable guides for size and thickness re- 
ceives the melted glass, as it is poured in mass from the pot. 
A hugh, heavy roller then travels the length of the table, 
and the mass is uniformly spread like dough under a rolling 
pin. It is now pushed upon a traveling table, wheeled to 
and slid into the annealing oven, to remain until properly 
cooled. It is now "rough plate." It then goes through the 
process of grinding, smoothing, polishing, cutting, etc. 
This completes it as polished plate. Many Similar establish- 
ments started in this country have failed in attempting the 
manufacture of polished plate-glass. Men of large means 
and possessed of abundant brains, have experimented for a 
number of years and lost fabulous sums of money, and after 
all were obliged to abandon the enterprise. The science is 
new in this country; but it has been left to W. C. DePauw 
to demonstrate the fact that polished plate-glass can be made 
equally successful here as in Europe. Mr. DePauw has in- 
vested fully a 'million dollars in his enterprise and it is gener- 
ally understood that he has at least succeeded after years of 
incessant toil and investment, to make as good plate-glass as 
may be found in the world. 

His employes are the most experienced men that can be 
found, his machinery and appliances the very best, and with 
the same facilities (and in some instances better) that Euro- 
pean manufacturers have to make their polished plate, Mr. 
DePauw duplicates their 1 glass and sells it to the American 
market at a cheaper rate than the imported glass is offered. 
The reward that the gentleman so richly deserves is certainly 
not far off if it has not already arrived. 

Important improvements are constantly going on about 
the glass works. A new dock has been built to admit the 
large coal and sand barges that are being constantly unloaded 
to supply the furnaces. Over two hundred and fifty men are 
employed about the different departments, each person mov- 
ing under the direction of experienced directors, a hive of in- 
dustry that is seldom seen, even in cities of large metropoli- 
tan proportions. 

The following from the Courier-Journal of 
August 24, 1881, gives a picture of the present 
Star Glass works: 

DePauw's American Plate-glass works of 188 1 is not what 
it was a year ago. It has been increased from year to year 
until now the buildings cover twenty-five acres of ground. 



224 



HISTORY OF THE OHIO FALLS COUNTIES. 



The greatest manufactory in New Albany, or in Indiana, is 
DcPauw's American Plate-glass works, owned and operated 
by W. C. DePauw. Take the glass works out of New Al- 
bany and every man, woman, and child who works for a liv- 
ing would feel its loss. The merchant who sells his goods to 
the workman, and the farmer who sells to the merchant 
would all feel it sensibly. But it is hard to tell whether this 
loss would be greater than that of Mr. DePauw him- 
self, whose money and business tact are used in every great 
enterprise in this city. Constantly improving his manufac- 
tories, never curtailing their capacity, he is, beyond doubt, 
a great benefactor to New Albany, and the nerviest business 
man in Indiana. Always helping to start some public im- 
provement, or great enterprise, he invests his money as fast 
as he earns it, giving the workman employment and remun- 
eration for his services. Mr. DePauw has stock in every 
manufactory in New Albany, and he has frequently invested 
in enterprises which other men would dare not touch, and in 
most instances has made money. 

The largest of his enterprises is the New Albany Star 
Glass works, which annually pays out more money than any 
institution around the Falls, keeping hundreds of men em- 
ployed, and distributing its wares to all parts of the world. 
The class of workmen engaged are mostly mechanics, who 
do much to build up a city, erecting neat little homes here 
and there. 

Although Mr. DePauw has an interest in all the great 
manufactories of New Albany, he takes particular interest 
in the glass works, this property being his own. The works 
employ from 1,500 to 2,000 men. The capacity is 1,400,000 
feet of polished plate-glass per annum, 150,000 boxes of 
window glass,. and 30,000 gross of fruit jars. 

MILLS. 

The early mills of New Albany have been 
mentioned in another chapter, Trublood's 
"little log mill" on Falling run being the first. 
Water-power mills being the only ones that 
could be brought into use during the very early 
days of New Albany, not many were erected in 
its immediate vicinity on account of the want of 
good water power. True, the falls would fur- 
nish good power of thi